515 2

POS .975 .2

> Library of Princeton University. Presented by X

Princeto dalla

INAUGURATION OF

WOODROW WILSON

AS PRESIDENT OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY

OCTOBER THE TWENTY-FIFTH

M DCCCCII

Digitized by the Internet Archive in 2010 with funding from Princeton Theological Seminary Library

ORDER OF PROCESSION

MR. SUSSEX D. DAVIS, Chief Marshal

First Division

The Honorable Grover Cleveland and the Governor of the State

The President-elect of the University and the Chancellor of the State

The Retiring President of the University and the Reverend Henry van Dyke, D.D., LL.D.

The Right Reverend the Bishop of Washington

Second Division

Professor Henry B. Fine, Marshal

Delegates of Universities and Learned Societies in the order of seniority of foundation of the Institutions represented



Ont 28:911 ([]

Third Division

Mr. Junius S. Morgan, Marshal The Guests of the University

Fourth Division

Mr. Charles W. McAlpin, Marshal
The Trustees of the University

Fifth Division

Professor Henry D. Thompson, Marshal

The Faculties of the University and Princeton Theological Seminary

Sixth Division

Mr. Francis Larkin, Marshal The Class of 1879

Seventh Division

Captain Francis G. Landon, Marshal Representatives of the Alumni and Undergraduates

ORDER OF EXERCISES

Alexander Hall, II A. M.

His Excellency Franklin Murphy, Governor of New Jersey
Presiding

Music March from Athalie Mendelssohn
Hymn Veni Creator Spiritus Bach
Invocation, by the Reverend Henry van Dyke, D.D., LL.D.
Administration of the Oaths of Office and presentation of the Charter to the President of the University by the Chancellor of the State
Address by the Reverend Francis Landey Patton, D.D., LL.D., the Retiring President of the University
Address for the Board of Trustees by the Honorable Grover Cleveland
Inaugural Address by the President of the University
Hymn Ein' Feste Burg Luther
Benediction, by the Right Reverend the Bishop of Washington
Music Coronation March Kretschmar
The audience is requested to remain standing until the Academic Procession

The audience is requested to remain standing until the Academic Procession has left Alexander Hall.

INAUGURATION COMMITTEE

C. C. Cuyler, '79, Chairman
J. McNaughton Thompson, '94, Secretary

TRUSTEES

John A. Stewart
M. Taylor Pyne, '77
James W. Alexander, '60
Cyrus H. McCormick, '79
Bayard Henry, '76
Simon J. McPherson, '74
Henry W. Green, '91
David B. Jones, '76
John L. Cadwalader, '56
John D. Davis, '72
Alexander Van Rensselaer, '71

FACULTY

Dean of the Faculty
Dean of the Graduate School
Cyrus F. Brackett
William Libbey, '77
Henry B. Fine, '80

FACULTY, continued

William F. Magie, '79 Henry D. Thompson, '85 John Grier Hibben, '82 Henry van Dyke, '73 Junius S. Morgan, '88

ALUMNI

A. Pennington Whitehead, '50 Colonel A. A. Woodhull, '56 Sussex D. Davis, '59 William M. Johnson, '67 William Scott, '68 Adrian H. Joline, '70 William B. Hornblower, '71 Charles Scribner, '75 George A. Armour, '77 John A. Campbell, '77 Robert Bridges, '79 Cleveland H. Dodge, '79 A. Woodruff Halsey, '79 Robert H. McCarter, '79 Rudolph E. Schirmer, '80 Philip N. Jackson, '81 Charles W. McAlpin, '88 Albert G. Milbank, '96 Robert Garrett, '97





