(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "20th century history of Springfield, and Clark County, Ohio, and representative citizens"

Book^q? n6 



20IS CENTURY HISTORY _. 



Springfield, and ClarK County, Ohio 



REPfiESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



EDITED AND COMPILED 
BY 

HON. WILLIAM M. ROCKEL 

SPRINGFIELD, OHIO 



"History is Philosophy Teaching by Examples" 



PUBLISHED BY 

BIOGRAPHICAL PUBLISHING CO. 

GEO. RICHMOND, Pres. C. R. ARNOLD. Sec'y and Treas. 

CHICA.GO, ILLINOIS 

1908 






y^^v /o 



7 



o 

i 



pvctzcc 



The aim of the publishers of this volume and of the author of the history 
has been to secure for the historical portion thereof full and accurate data respect- 
ing the history of the county from the time of its early settlement, and to con- 
dense it into a clear and interesting narrative. All topics and occurrences have 
been included that were essential to this object. Although the original purpose 
was to limit the narrative to the close of the year 1906, it has been found ex- 
pedient to touch on many matters relating to the year 1907, and also, in some 
meastire, to the current year 1908. 

It is impossible to enumerate here all those to whom thanks are due for 
assistance rendered and kindly interest taken in this work. We woiild, however, 
make mention of Benjamin T. Prince, A. M., Ph. D., and W. B. Patton, M. D., 
as the respective authors of special and valuable articles herein printed. In the 
preparation of the history reference has been made to, and in some cases ex- 
tracts taken from standard, historical and other works on the different subjects 
treated of. 

The reviews of resolute and strenuous lives which make up the biographical 
part of this volume, and whose authorship is for the most part independent of 
that of the history, are admirably calculated to foster local ties, to inculcate 
patriotism, and to emphasize the rewards of industry dominated by intelligent 
purpose. They constitute a most appropriate medium of perpetuating personal 
annals and will be of incalculable value to the descendants of those commemorated. 
These sketches replete with stirring incidents and intense experiences, are flavored 
with a strong human interest that will naturally prove to a large portion of the 
readers of this book its most attractive feature. 

In the aggregate of personal memoirs thus collated will be found a vivid 
epitome of the growth of Clark County, which will fitly supplement the historical 
statement, for its development is identified with that of the men and women 
to whom it is attributable. The publishers have endeavored to pass over no 
feature of the work slightingty, but to fittingly supplement the editor's labors 
by exercising care over the minutest details of publication, and thus give to the 
volume the three-fold value of a readable narrative, a useful work of reference, 
and a tasteful ornament to the library. We believe the result has justified the 
care thus exercised. 



Special prominence has been given to the portraits of representative citizens 
which appear throughout the volume, and we believe that they will prove not 
its least interesting feature. We have sought in this department to illustrate the 
different spheres of industrial and professional achievement as conspicuously as 
possible. To all those who have kindly interested themselves in the successful 
preparation of this work, and who have voluntarily contributed most useful in- 
formation and data, or rendered other assistance, we hereby tender our grateful 
acknowledgments. 

THE PUBLISHEES. 

Chicago, 111., July, 1908. 



mote 



All the biographical sketches published in this volume were submitted to 
their respective subjects or to the subscribers, from whom the facts were primarily 
obtained, for their approval or correction before going to press; and a reasonable 
time was allowed in each case for the return of the typewritten copies. Most of 
them were returned to us within the time allotted, or before the work was printed, 
after being corrected or revised ; and these may therefore be regarded as reasonably 
accurate. 

A few, however, were not returned to us; and, as we have no means of know- 
ing whether they contain errors or not, we cannot vouch for their accuracy. In. 
justice to our readers, and to render this work more valuable for reference purposes, 
we have indicated these imcorrected sketches by a small asterisk (*), placed 
immediately after the name of the subject. They will all be found on the last 
pages of the book. 

THE PUBLISHEES. 



Contents 



CHAPTER I. 

Peehistoric Matter 19 

A Tale of the Airly Days — Geological Formation — Limestone Formation — Coal, Oil and Gas — Glacial 
Drift — Singular Growth of Timber — ^Prehistoric Man — Prehistoric Animals — Mounds and Mound Builders 
— The Bechtle Mound. 

CHAPTER II. 

Topography 32 

Character of the Surface — ^Elevation Above Lake Erie — Mad River — ^Tributaries of Mad River — Little 
Miami and Other Streams — Character and Fertility of the Soil — Timber — Comparative Table of Crops. 

CHAPTER III. 

Indian Occupation 44 

In a Condition of Nature — Erie Indians — Iroquois — Twightwees — Shawnees — Indian Villages — ^Battle of 
Piqua — Tecumseh — Indian Character — Indian Fighting — Indian Incidents, etc. 

CHAPTER IV. 

The Old Northwest 61 

The Old Northwest — Settlement by the French — French Settlement in Ohio — French Dominion — English 
Dominion — Important Part in the Revolution — ^United States' Control — Ordinance of 1787 — Arthur St. 
Clair. 

CHAPTER V. 

State and County Government 72 

Ohio — -Admission of State — County and Township Organization — Organization of Counties— Formation of 
Clark County — Systems of Survey — The U. S. Rectangular Survey — Miami Rivers Survey — Virginia Mili- 
tary Survey — Pre-emption Lots — Table of Measurements — Name of Boundary- — Selection of County Seat 
— ^New Boston — George Rogers Clark. 

CHAPTER VI. 

Pioneers and Pioneer Days 89 

No Time Like the Old Time — The Squatter — The Pioneer and His Times — First Settlers and Settlements — 
Present Pioneers — Wild Animals and TTieir Extinction — John Paul, the First Settler — Johnny Appleseed 
and Other Characters — Simon Kenton — Gen. Anderson's Address at the Ohio Centennial. 

CHAPTER VII. 

County Politics and Roster of Officials 109 

Whigs and Republicans in Politics — Vote at Presidential Election — Close Calls and Defeats — Log Cabin 
Campaign — Pre-eminence in Politics — Civil War Spirits — War Politics — Political Meetings — Garfield and 
Pendleton Debate — Keifer-Bushnell Contest — Unsuccessful Candidates — Plug Hat Brigade — Incidents At- 
tending Elections Under Former Laws — State Officials — Apportionment to Congress — Congressional Dis- 



, CONTENTS 



tricts — Jlembers of Congress — State Senators — Representatives — Common Pleas Judges — ^Probate Judges 
— Clerks of Court — Prosecuting Attorneys — Sheriffs — Auditors — Treasurers — Recorders — Surveyors — Coro- 
ners — County Commissioners — Infirmary Directors. 

CHAPTER Vin. 

MiscEiiAUEous Notable Events 127 

Centennial of the Battle of Piqua — Springfield Centennial — Underground Railway — White Rescue Case — 
Springfield's First Riot — The Second Riot — Cyclones — Freshets — The Great East Street Shops — The Cru- 



CHAPTER IX. 

COtTNTY BmLDlNGS, ETC 145 

Court House — East County Building — ^^Vest Countj' Building — County Jail — Soldiers' Monument — County 
Infirmary — Children's Home — ^Agricultural Society. 

CHAPTER X. 

Public Roads aud Highways 154 

Condition of Roads Indicative of Advancement — Indian Trails, etc. — Early Roads — ^Military Route — 
Corduroy Roads — ^National Roads — Toll Pikes — Stage Coach Trip Through Springfield in 1834 — Dickens' 
Ride Through Ohio in 1842. 

CHAPTER XI. 

Rajxeoads and Tbaction Lines 170 

Building of Railroads — First Railroad — ^N. Y., P. & 0. — Springfield, Jackson & Pomeroy — ^I., B. & W. — 
Present Railroad Systems — Traction Lines — Street Railways — Telegraph — ^Telephone; Bell Company, 
Home Company. 

CHAPTER XII. 

Mtt.t. s 179 

The Old Mill — Mills op Mad River: Medway Mills, Eagle City Mills, Rector's Mill, Kizer Mill, Hertz- 
ler's-Snyderville Mill, Woodbury Mill, Ross Mill, Nauman Mill, Croft Mill, Snyder's Mill, Grisso Mill 
Leflel's Mill, Kneisley's Distillery, Rubsam's Mill, Enon Mill — Buck Cbeek: Lagonda Mill, Rennick- 
Bechtel Mill, Kitt Mill, Hunter Mill, Dawson-Runyan Mill, Cartmell JOll, Perrin Mill, Warder Mill, 
Croft Mill, Baldwin Mill, Barnett Mill, Wilson-Moorefield Mill, Rabbits-Olds Mill, Buckeye Works-P. P. 
Mast Co., Pitts Threshing Machine Shop, Snyder Hydraulic, Foos Oil Mill — Beavee Ceeek — Teibutaey 
OF Buck Ceeek: Demint's Mill, Lingle Mill, Fisher Mill, Foos Mill, Lowry Mill, Filler Mill — Mtt.t. 
Ceeek : Rebert Mill, Paden's Mill, Leflfel Saw Mill — Donnell's Ceeek : Dormell's Mill, Lowrey's Mill, 
Baisinger Mill — Rock Run — Chapman's Cbeek: Lance's Mill, Seitz Mill, Chatterlen Mill, Enoch's 
Mill, Dibert's Mill — Honey Ceeek: Black's Mill, Rayburn Mill, Paul Mill — Little Miami Riveb: 
Clifton Mills, Knot's Mill, Burk's Mill — Muddy Run: Shellabarger Mills, Partington Mill — Miscella- 
neous. 

CHAPTER XIII. 

Featebnax Homes and Philantheopic Institutions 197 

Be Kind — Ohio Masonic Home — Odd Fellows' Home — Knights of Pythias' Home — Oesterlen Orphans' Home 
— Clark Memorial Home. 

CHAPTER XIV. 

Mtt.ttaby History of Speingfield and Claek County, Ohio 206 

Paper Read by Gen. J. Warren Keifer at First Centennial of Springfield — ^Revolutionary and Territorial 
Times— War of 1812-1815— Mexican War, 1846-1848— Civil War, 1861-1865 — Second Ohio Infantry — Third 
Ohio Infantry — Sixteenth Ohio Infantry — Thirty-first Ohio Infantry — Forty-fourth Ohio Infantry — Seventy- 
first Ohio Vol. Infantry — Eighty-sixth Ohio Infantry — Ninety-fourth Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and 
Tenth Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Ohio — One Hundred and Forty-sixth 



CONTENTS 



Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Krty-seeond Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Fifty-third 
Ohio Infantry — Sixteenth Ohio Independent Battery — Seventeenth Ohio Independent Battery — Squirrel 
Hunters, 1862 — First Kentucky Infantry — United States Navy— United States Military Academy — Spanish 
War, 1898. 

CHAPTER XV. 

Townships 221 

Bethel — German — Ureen — Harmony — Madison — ^Mad Eiver — Moorefield — Pike — Pleasant — Springfield. 

CHAPTER XVI. 

Villages , 318 

AUentown — Beatty — Bowlusville — Brighton — Brottensburg — Catawba — Clifton — Cortsville — Dialton — -Dolly 
Varden — Donnelsville — Durbin — Eagle City — Enon — Harmony — Hennesy — Hustead^ — -Lawrenceville — ^Lagon- 
da — Limestone City — Lisbon — ^Medway — ^New Boston (see Chapter 5) — New Carlisle — ^New Moorefield — 
Northampton — Owltown — Pitchi,n — Plattsburg — Selma — Sugar Grove — South Charleston — Tremont City — 
Vienna — ^Villa — Windsor. 

CHAPTER XVII. 

City of Springfield ( I ) 358 

Distances from Springfield to Other Cities — Springfield in 1907 — Location, etc. — Naming and Platting of 
the City— Plats and Additions to City — Early Settlements — Selection as County Seat — Early Events — • 
Council with the Indians — Early Customs — "Sleepy Hollow" and Old Virginia — Eaelt Settlers: James 
Demint, Griffith Foos, Robert Renniek, John Daugherty, John Ambler, Cooper Ludlow, Walter Small- 
wood, Pierson Spinning, Rev. Paul Henkle, Ira Paige, Maddox Fisher — Condition in 1828 — Condition 
in 1832 — A^illage Days, 1834-1850 — Condition in 1S50 — City Government — Roster oe Officials: Presi- 
dent of Council — Mayors of City — Solicitors — Treasurers, City Clerks — Police Department — Chiefs of Po- 
lice — Police Judges — Police Prosecutors — Police Clerks — Board of Public Safety — Roster of 1907 — Fibe 
Department: Volunteer — Paid Fire Department — Roster of Present Department — Public Buildings: 
Market House — City Hall — City Jail and Station House — Public Library — Hospital — Postoffice — ^Post- 
masters — Snyder Park — Fountains, etc. — Hotels: Foos Tavern — Lowry Hotel- — Ludlow Hotel — Ross Tav- 
ern, Hunt's Hotel — MacElroy Hotel — ^Norton Hotel — Werden Hotel — Buckeye House — Hagenbach Hotel- 
Murray — Cherry House — Williss House — ^National Hotel — American and Western Houses — Lagonda — 
Bookwalter Hotel — Arcade Hotel — Palace Hotel — Palmer House — Opera Houses: Black's Opera House 
— Grand Opera House — Fairbanks' Theatre — The New Sun — Office and Store Buildings: Kizer — Old 
King — Union Hall — Commercial — Bookwalter — Buckingham — Mitchell — Arcade — Johnson — Zimmerman — 
— Gotwald — King — Bushnell — Wren's Department Store — Fairbanks — ^Dial — Financial Institutions : Mad 
River National Bank — First National Bank — Citizens' National Bank — Lagonda National Bank — Spring- 
field National Bank — Springfield Savings Bank — Springfield Building and Loan Associaton — ^Merchants 
and; Mechanics' Building and Loan Association — Other Associations — American Trust and Savings Com- 
pany — Manufacturing Industries: Defunct Industries — Paper Mill — Oil Mill — Woolen Mills — 
Car Shops — Threshing Machines — Sewing Machines — "Whitely, Fassler & Kelley — Champion Ma- 
chine Co. — The A. C. Evans Co. — Champion City Manufacturing Co. — Tricycle Factory — ^Pres- 
ent Industries — International Harvester Co. — P. P. Mast Co. — American Seeding Co. — Thomas Manu- 
facturing Co. — Springfield Metallic Casket Co. — Crowell Publishing Co. — Good & Reese Co. — James Leffel 
& Co. — Wickham Piano Plate Co. — Bettendorf Metal Wheel Company — Robbins k Myers Co. — Foos Manu- 
facturing Co. — Springfield Machine Tool Co. — Tha 0. S. Kelly Co. — Springfield Malleable Co.— Mast, 
Foos & Co. — Indianapolis Switch & Frog Co. — ^Miller Improved Gas Engine Co. — Patric Furnace Co. — 
Trump Manufacturing Co. — Springfield Gas Engine Co. — The E. W. Ross Co. — Foos Gas Engine Co. — 
Heating and Lighting Plants: Gas — Electric Light — Home Lighting, Power & Heating Co. — The 
People's Light, Heat & Power Co. — Ansted t Burk — Barnett Flouring Mills — Stone and Lime Industries 
— Springfield Breweries — Summary of Industrial Matters: Machinery, Material & Supplies — Gas & 
iSteam Engine Group — Iron & Steel Products — Manufacturing Publishers — Manufacturing Florists — Medi- 
cine, Chemical and Coffin Companies — General Factories — Miscellaneous Factories — ^Mercantile Affairs: 



CONTENTS 



Retailers — Rroceries — Dry Goods — Clothing — Druggists — Jewelers — Shoes — Meats, etc. — Livery Men — Hat- 
ters — Hardware Stores, etc. — Books and Book Binderies — Cemeteeies: Columbia Street Cemetery — 
Greenmount Cemetery — Ferncliff Cemetery — Catholic Cemeteries — Lagonda Avenue Cemetery — St. Ber- 
nard's Cemetery — Cavalry Cemetery — The Press: First Paper, The Farmer — The Republic — Press Re- 
public—The News — Mad River Democrat — Transcript — Democrat — Gazette — Morning Sun — Farm & Fire- 
side — Farm News — Poultry Success — Springfield Journal Adler — Miscellaneous — Editors, etc. — Societies: 
Commercial Club — Lagonda Club — Country Club — Literary Clubs — Men's Literary Club — Young Men's 
Literary Club — Miscellaneous Clubs — Women's Club — Authors — Masons — Odd Fellows — Knights of Pythias 
— Miscellaneous — Trades and Labor Organizations. 

CHAPTER XVIII. 

Spbingfield ( II ) EnucATiOJr — Schools .■ 455 

Early History — Location, Principal and Enrollment of the Various School Buildings (1907) — -Private 
Schools Other Than Wittenberg College — Parochial Schools — Wittenberg College. 

CHAPTER XIX. 

Spbingfield { III ) Chubches 474 

(Genera! History from paper of Dr. Kay.) 

Center Street Methodist— High Street M. E. Church— St. Paul's M. E.— Clifton Avenue M. E.— Grace 
M. E.— North Street A. M. E.— Wiley A. M. E.— Allen Chapel A. M. E.— Methodist Protestant Church 
— The Christian Denomination — Disciples' Church of Christ in Springfield — LTnited Presbyterian — First 
Presbyterian — Second Presbyterian — Third Presbyterian Church — Protestant Episcopal — The Heavenly 
Rest Protestant Episcopal — First Baptist — Trinity Baptist — The Blessed Hope Baptist — St. John's Bap- 
tist Church (colored) — LTniversalists — First Lutheran — St. John's German Evangelical Lutheran — Zion's 
Lutheran — Second Evangelical Lutheran — Third Lutheran Church — Fourth Lutheran Church — Fifth Luth- 
eran — St. Luke's Evangelical Lutheran — Cavalry Evangelical Lutheran — St. Raphael's Catholic — St. Ber- 
nard's Catholic — St. Joseph's Catholic — United Brethren — Lagonda Avenue Congregational Church — First 
Congregational — Jewish Congregation — Seventh Day Adventists — Christadelphians — Grace Reformed — 
Church of Living God — Young Men's Christian Association — Young Women's Christian Association — 
Central Y. M. C. A. 

CHAPTER XX. 

Bench and Bab 514 

Early Courts — Common Pleas — Common Pleas Judges — William A. Rodgers — William White — James S. 
Good — Charles R. ^^^lite — F. M. Hagan — John C. Miller — Jacob Kreider Mower — ^A. H. Kunkle — Probate 
Court Judges — Circuit Court Judges — Police Court Judges — Early Lawyers — Members in 1852 — Samson 
Mason — Charles Anthony — Samuel Shellbarger — George Spence — Samuel A. Bowman — Members in 1864 — 
Members in 1881 — Sometime Members — General Keifer — A. P. Linn Cochran — Bar Association — ^Library 
— Members in 1908. 

CHAPTER XXI. 

The Medical Peofessiost of Clark County 536 

(By Dr. W. B. Patton.) 
Sources of Information — Medical Districts — Richard Hunt — William A. Needham — Isaac Hendershott — 
Job Haines — Organization of Medical Society — Re-organized 1850 — Second Re-organization — Robert Rodg- 
ers — ^Dr. Berkely Gillette — Dr. Andrew Bruce — Benjamin Winwood — Alexander Dunlap — Isaac Kay — John 
H. Rodgers — H. H. Seys — Buckinghams — Andrew McLaughlin — Present Society — Hospital. 



ITnfeex 



Biograpblcal 



PAGE 

Albin, Edgar W 704 

Albin, George 704 

Allen, Aaron 682 

Allen, Aaron T 682 

Allen, Aydon 727 

Allen, William 727 

Anderson, J. Fred 534 

Ansted & Burk Co 590 

Anthony, Gen. Charles .... 525 

Anthony, .Joseph 525 

Arbogast, Clarence W 803 

Arbogast, William H 803 

Bacon, Henry 525 

Bahin, Michael J 60S 

Baird, Edwin M 946 

Baird, Milton J 1019 

Baird, Samuel E 946 

Baird. William J 1020 

Baker, Dr. Alonzo A 771 

. Baker, Adam 717 

.Baker, Andrew J 761 

. Baker, Asa M 797 

Baker. Daniel 761 

■ Baker, Jacob 672 

Baker, Jonathan D 852 

Baker, Moses M 853 

Baker, Samuel 796, 1036 

Baker, Seipio E 683 

- Baker, Silas 1036 

Baker, Sidney G 796 

Baldwin, William 723 

Ballard, Charles E 534 

Ballentine, James V 586 

Ballentine. William 1047 

Bateman, H. E 817 

Battin, Charles S 788 

Battin, David 735 

Battin, John 735 

Battin, Samuel R 735 

Bauer, Charles 713 



PAGE 

Bauer, Charles A 974 

Bauer, Charles L 975 

Bauer, Jacob 733 

Bayley, William 671 

Beard, David B 823 

Beard, George A 534 

Beard, .John B 823 

Becker, John H 699 

Becker, Joseph A 90S 

Bevitt, W. P 530 

Bird, A. Van 811 

Bitner, William H 812 

Blose, Daniel 1030 

Blose, John Henry . 1030 

Bobo, Norton V 940 

Boggess. Carey 534 

Bookwalter, F. M 636 

Bower, Eli C 825 

Bowers, Harvey 835 

Bowers, Philip 835 

Bowlus, Charles J 1023 

Bowlns, .John L 1044 

Bowman, Border 534 

Bowman, E. 534 

Bowman, J. E 534 

Bowman, Samuel A 529 

Branson, Nathan V 739 

Brenner, Harry A 534 

Brown, .John S 913 

Bruce, Dr. Andrew 542 

Buckingham, Dr. E. M...538, 541 

Buckingham, Dr. John 543 

Buch waiter, Edward L 580 

Bunyan, George D 909 

Bunyan. Dr. G. H 538 

Bunyan, William 909 

Burk, John W 590 

Burkhardt. Ernest 714 

Burnett, A. G 525, 530 

Burnett, John 925 

Burnett, John D 530 



PAGE 

Burnett, Richard 925 

Burnett, Hon. William R 925 

Burnham, M. T 530, 534 

Burton, James 1033 

Burton, William H 1033 

Busch, Albert F 534 

Bushnell, Gov. Asa S 547 

Bushnell, John L 893 

Butcher, John 890 

Butcher, John, Sr 890 

Byevs. A. T 530 

Bymaster, Charles 669 

Byraaster, George W 661 

Byle, Jacob 824 

Callison, David F 693 

CaUison, Earl E 693 

CaUison, Robert 693 

Calvert, R. G 718 

Campbell, W. G 732 

Carroll, Robert W 525 

Cartraell, Nathaniel M 690 

Cartmell, Thomas J 690 

Cartmell, William B 781 

Chamberlain, Isaac 968 

Chamberlain, Walter N 968 

Cheney, Col. Milton 1054 

Chinn, B 530 

Circle, Lawrence D 919 

Circle, William L 919 

Clark, Emerson E 815 

Clark, James 815 

Clark, .John David 815 

Clark. O. 615 

Clarke, Charles E 615 

Click, Emanuel 926 

Click, Frank 926 

Clingerraan, J. B 730 

Cochran, Aaron 529 

Cochran, A. P. Linn 531 

Cochran, David M . 529 



10 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Coffin, Elijah G 603 

Coffin, Philander 603 

Cole, John M 534 

Cole, Milton 530 

Coleman, J. L 745 

Coleman, Randolph 530 

Collier, John 954 

Collier, John W 954 

Collins, Clement V 533, 534 

Collins, Dr. Elijah T 832 

Collins, James M T04 

Collins. M. I-I., M. D 832 

Collins, Thomas 751 

Colvin, Chase 746 

Cooke, Dr. Jesse 538 

Constantine, C. W 530 

Cotter, George S 1047 

Coverdill, J. R 525 

Crabill, Joseph F 1010 

Crabil), Joseph, Jr 723 

Crabill, P. P 573 

Crabill, William, Jr 773 

Craig, Harley 939 

Craig, Harry 93'J 

Craig, Joseph B 525 

Craig, William 930 

Grain, John A 663 

Grain. John B 663 

Crane, Joseph H 510 

Grawmer, John P 868 

Crowell, John S 620 

Gushing, William 525 

Davisson, Elijah L 648 

Davisson, George W 600 

Davisson, Lemuel 600, 648 

Dean, George 566 

Detrick, Harrison L 641 

Detrick, Philip 641 

Deuwell, Graham 530 

Dial, Enoch G 523 

Dial, E. G 530 

Dial, George S 532, 534 

Dickason, Samuel 737 

Diekason, Walter 737 

Diffendal, L. F 1043 

Dillahunt, Alexander N ..... . 833 

Dillahunt. George W 833 

Downey, Harry C 65S 

Downey, W. C 658 

Drake, Cyrus 754 

Drake. Thomas 1034 

Drake, Willis J 1034 

Drake, AVilliam 754 

Drake. William M 754 

Dufeey, A. L 665 

Dugdale, W. H 530 

Dunlap, Dr. Alexander 542 



PAGE 

Dunlap, Charles 530 

Dunn. Charles P 1042 

Durkee, Geo. W 728 

Durkee, Marcus 728 

Ebersole, Jacob 851 

Ebersole. Joel 851 

Eichelbarger, James T 816 

Elder, Robert 1034 

Elder, Walter N 534 

Elliott, .T. S 848 

Elvin. John R 087 

Ernst, George K 681 

Ernst, Noah 681 

Estle, Orson D 691 

Estle, William H 691 

Evans, Charles 531 

Evans, Milton L 980 

Fairbanks, N. H 903 

Feirstine, Henry L 1051 

Feree, Adam W 597 

Feree, Peter 597 

Finch. Absalom 850 

Finch, Elbeit 859 

Fisher, Henry 73S 

Fisher, John H 738 

Fissel, Frederick 702 

Fistner, Charles W 887 

Flatter, J. L 654 

Florence, Edward H 770 

Flynn, E. P 870 

Foos, Gustavus S 575 

Foos, John 525 

Foos, Robert H 596 

Foos, William 587 

Foos, William F 598 

Foster, Mack 890 

Frantz, Benjamin 634 

Frantz, Daniel 634 

Frantz, Martin 634 

Freeman, H. E 642 

Frey, George 525, 531 

Frey. George H., Jr 964 

Frey. George H., Sr 879 

Frey. Samuel C 879 

Fried, Charles C 867 

Frock. Jeremiah 811 

Frock, Samuel 811 

Fuller, Charles E 871 

Fuller. James C 872 

Garlough. Alvah T 764 

Garlough, Benjamin F 731 

(Jarlough, Jacob 731 

Garlough. James T 599, 764 

Garlough, Jesse E 509 

Garst, Dr. Elias 538 



PAGE 

Garst, Dr. Michael 538 

Garver, Benjamin C 627 

Gai-ver, John N G27 

Geigev. Frank W 532, 534 

Geiger, Henry 571 

Geiger, Hezekiali R., D. D... 571 

Geis. Charles 862 

Gerlaugh, Arthur 973 

Gerlaugh, Charles L 973 

German, Adam 916 

German. .John 605 

German, Peter 605 

Geron, Adam 758 

Geron, Peter 75S 

Gilbert, C. F 976 

Gillette, A. H 530 

Gillette. Dr. Berkeley 541 

Goodall, Stephan C 662 

Goode, Frank C 530 

Goode, James S 518 

Goodfellow, John 804 

Goodfellow, Thomas 804 

Goodwin, James P 534 

Gordon, William, Sr 795 

Gordon, AVilliam R 795 

Gotwald, Dr. D. K 544 

Gower, John H 690 

Gram, Harry G. R 534 

Gram. Jacob 994 

Gram, William J 994 

Grant, Clifton P 534 

Grieser, George 1027 

Griest. Nathan 993 

Griffith. William H 534 

Grimjje, Frederick 516 

Grube, Adam 980 

Gundolf. William 932 

Gwyn. Edward 722 

Gwyn. Edward C 722 

Haddix, Frank 953 

Haddix. George 953 

Haddix. John 953 

Hagan, Edward 5.34 

Hagan, Francis M 5-52 

Hagan, Francis M.. Jr 534 

Hagan. John B 529 

Haines, Dr. Job -537 

llalsey. James S 523 

Hanna, J. J 530 

Hardman, .Jonathan 61.3 

Hardman. Peter 613 

Hardman. William 613 

Harner, Jacob M 534 

Harraman, A. C 103S 

Harris, Lucius M 626 

Harrison, D. A 529 

Harshman, Ephraim F 788 



INDEX 



11 



PAGE 

Harshman, J. S 1042 

Hartman, Elmer C 1053 

Hartmau, Gideon 1011 

Hartman, Peter 1011 

Harvvood, Frank C 1008 

Harwood, Thomas E 1007 

Hatfield, James Hon 57S 

Hatfield, Nathaniel 578 

Hauk, Columbus B 09G 

Hauk, James N 996 

Hays, Edward A 7G8 

Hays, Samuel 76S 

Heistand, Abraham 863 

Heistand, Christian L 881 

Heistand, Dr. C. M 544 

Helf rich, John E 597 

Helfrich, Michael 597 

Helman, Cyrus S 604 

Hendershott, Dr. Isaac .537 

Hess, John 742 

Hess, Thomas M 742 

Hicks, J. William 799 

Higgins, Patrick J 534 

Hill, William D 531 

Hinkle, John 864 

Hinkle, Michael 864 

Hinkle, Saul S 529 

Hirons, .John B., M. D 1046 

Hiser, Charles H 617 

Hiser, Daniel B 617 

Hockman, Milton H 664 

Hodge, Andrew 721 

Hodge, Asa W 721 

Hodge, J. Milton 721 

Hoffman, Martin C 767 

Holt, Hon. George W 516 

Homan, James 530 

Hopkins, E. B 893 

Horner, W. R 530 

Horner, William R 534 

Houck, Edwin S 534 

Houston, Leon H 1016 

Houston, Robert 538 

Houston, Thomas F 1016 

Houston, William L 1016 

Howett, Daniel 895 

Howett, Joseph R 895 

Humbarger, John W 915 

I-Iurabarger, Wm 915 

Hunt, James M 525 

Hunt, Ralph 574 

Hunt, Dr. Richard 537 

Hunt, Maj. William 574 

Hunter, Lemuel 771 

Hunter, William 771 

Hurd, Alya B 910 

Hypes, Hon. Oran F 933 

Hyslop, Wilham W 1022 



PAGE 

Jaynos, Sully 534 

Jenkins, Da\id Benton 807 

Jenkins, Frederick 905 

Jenkins, Wilbert S 904 

Jenkins, Wiley 904 

Jewett, George W 525 

.Johnson, Rev. E. Roger 938 

Johnson, George F 10.54 

Johnson, .Tames 565, 818 

Johnson, Hon. James, Jr.... 818 

•Johnson, O. B 530 

.Johnson, Robert 565 

Johnston, Floyd A 534 

Jones, Alf 692 

Jones, Clark E 752 

Jones, F. 637 

Jones, Rooney W 1026 

Jones, Newton R 1027 

Jones, William Wallace .... 753 
Jones. Z. B ; 692 

Kappenbarger, Conrad 948 

Kauffman, Christian 1021 

Kauffman, Mrs. Elizabeth . . . 824 

Kauffman. Levi 1020 

Kay, Charles S 92S 

Kay, Dr. Isaac 1018 

Kedzie, George L 1015 

Keifer, Benjamin F 787 

Keifer, Horace C 781 

Keifer, Joseph 556, 787 

Keifer, Hon. J. Warren 556 

Keifer, William W 534 

Kelly, Edwin S 862 

Kelly, John 594 

Kelly, Hon. Oliver S 593 

Kell.v, O. W 595 

Kennedy, Dr. George F 541 

Kershner. James K 975 

Kiblinger, Daniel 1007 

Kiblinger, Jacob M 1007 

King, David, Sr 905 

King, Robert Q 906 

Kinnane, James J 784 

Kissell, Harry S 964 

Kissell. Samuel J 684 

Kisseli, Silas G 684 

Kitchin. Erasmus J 555, 762 

Kitcliin, .T. Forest 534 

Kitchin, James H 555 

Kitchin, Stephen 702 

Kneisly, Aaron S ; 876 

Kneisly. Daniel 876 

Kobelanz, Frederick 956 

Kobelanz. John H 956 

Krapp, Frank M 754 

Kunklo, Albert H 522, 534 



Lawrence, D. D 731 

Laybournc, Lawrence . . . 532, 534 

Laybourn, Lewis J 792 

Layton. Joseph 516 

Layton, John A 847 

Layton, William 847 

Layton, William A 847 

Leatherman, Charles 977 

Leatherman, John W 977 

Lef evre, Robert M 715 

Leffel, Charles Nelson 550 

Jjeffel, Frederick 550 

Lenhart, Abraham 653 

Lenhart, Adam 653 

Lindenmuth, John H 805 

Link, A. C 534 

Linn, .James A 791 

Linn, William R 791 

Little. Joel L 985 

Littler, John H 523 

Loftus, M. J 1052 

Loreuz, Julius F. W 534 

Loveless, Charles 661 

Loveless, Herbert E 658 

IjOwtj, James E 729 

Lowry, Robert M 730 

Ludlow, Charles 947 

Ludlow, Dr. John 942 

Ludlow, T. W 739 

Lutz, Lafayette R 585 

Lutz, John 585 

Lutz, Michael 585 

Lynch, Edward J 534 

McClellan, Jacob L 992 

McClintock, Albert, M. D... 827 

McClintick, Eli F 998 

McConkey, Capt. Alexander . . 608 

McConkey, Archibald 608 

McConkey, Daniel 611 

McCormick, T. J 747 

McGaffey, John 529 

McGarry, .Jacob R 531 

McGregor, Howard 534 

Mclntyre, Dr. A. H 544 

McKee, Elza F 534 

McKenny. James L 806 

McKenzie, Francis E 647 

Mclkinley, Walter 657 

JIcKinney. Cyrus 806 

JIcKinney, Samuel 806 

McKinnon. Daniel 516 

McLaughlin, Dr. A. C 541 

McLean, Hon. John 515 

McNemar, R. R 525 

Mahar, William T 534, 535 

Malone. James B 535 

jMartin, Abraham 958 



12 



INDEX 



I ^ PAGE 

Martin, Christian 5SS 

Martin. David 95S 

Martin, Emanuel J 5SS 

Martin, Oscar T 532 

Martin, P. B 530 

Martin, Paul C 535 

Martin, William A 644 

Martz, B. F 530 

Mason, Rodney 525 

Mason, Gen. Samson 525 

Mast, Hon. Phineas P S86 

Mattinson, Thomas S59 

Maughan, Patrick L 656 

Maughan, Patrick 656 

JIaxson, Jesse 1 996 

Mellinger. Benjamin F 901 

Mellinger, Il.irry S 839 

Mellinger, .Tolm E 961 

Mellinger. .Tohn H S39 

Merritl, Charles H SSO 

Merritt, Edward SSO 

Michael, Adam 756 

Michael, Alexander 1018 

Michael. Simon 756 

Michael. Walter S 1018 

Mickle, Charles E 1046 

Miller. Charles D 957 

Miller, Charles R 956 

Miller, Dayton 956 

Miller, Emanuel 1006 

Miller, Dr. E. Calvin 755 

Miller, J. J 530, 535 

Miller, .Tohn M 1006 

Miller, Joseph 755 

Miller, Sloses 956 

Miller, Oliver H 535 

Miller, Oliver J 702 

Miller, Samuel 702 

Miller, Seba H 535 

Miller. William 965 

Minnich, Cassius W 783 

Minnich, .Tohn 783 

Minnich, Peter S44 

Minnich, Thomas B S44 

Milligan. Hon. Melvin L 1029 

Mills. John 836 

Mitchell, .Tames B 583 

Mitchell, Ross .583 

Mitzel. Jacob S69 

Morris. Charles E 524 

Mosher, F. E 66t 

Slower. Jacob Krieder 522 

Muff, Stewart A 1055 

Mumtord, Tunis F 1023 

Mumford, William H 1023 

Murdock. Dr. William 53S 

Nave, Enoch K 671 

Nave. .Jacob, Sr 671 



PAGE 

Nave, Jacob, Jr 671 

Neer, William H S21 

Neer. Nathan S21 

Needham, Dr. William A 537 

Neff. Jacob D 791 

Neff. .Jacob, Sr 792 

Newberry, W. S 530 

Nickelson, Andrew 937 

NickelEon, Charles 937 

Nisley, Charles L 1048 

Norton. Percy 530,535 

Oglevee, J. F 530 

Olinger. C. S S55 

Olingor. George W 976 

Olinger, Joseph C 976 

Olinger, William H 978 

Otstot, Daniel 780 

Otstct. John 1031 

Otstot, John F 987 

Otstot. William 1031 

Otstot, William T 780 

Owen. Di-. Edward 538 

Overholser, Moses 988 

Overhclser, William H 988 

Oxtoby , Henry 1049 

Paden. James 625 

Paden, W. 625 

Paine, Thomas A 984 

Parmenter, J. W 939 

Parrish, Orrin 516 

Parsons, Israel 955 

Parsons, John W 955 

Partington, Charles 1012 

Partington, James 1012 

Patric. Charles E 697 

Patric. Richard F 697 

Patterson. Charles H 842 

Patterson, Malcolm IT 842 

Patton. Dr. William B S61 

Pearson, Joseph 930 

Pearson. William 930 

Pease, Calvin 515 

Pierce, Darwin 920 

Pierce. Edwin 920 

Pemberton. Philip E ' 762 

Penqiiite, James 567 

Penquite, Samuel H 567 

Penqnite, William 567 

Pei-rin. -John M 789 

Petre. Charles H 741 

Petre, Lewis . ., 741 

Phieger. Edward 854 

Phleger. Edward C 848 

Phlegpr. John L S-54 

Phillips. Lewis 764 

Pierce. Charles H 003 



PAGE 

Piles, James S 530 

Plummer, John L 535 

Prince, Benjamin F 1032 

Pringle, Thomas J 531 

Procter, Joseph R 917 

Proctor, William 917 

Prosser, George 950 

Prosser, John S 950 

Rabbitts, Charles 899 

Rabbitts, James H 633 

Rabbitts, William S 747 

Rader, Michael 635 

Rader, Philip 635 

Rankin, James F 589 

Rankin, John 589 

Rankin, Stacy B 589 

Rawlins, George C 532 

Ray, John 1025 

Ray. Lewis 1025 

Redmond, Harry G S2S 

Redmond, Judson 828 

Reynolds, Henry 5S6 

Reynolds, Dr. John H 5S6 

Reynolds, William W 995 

Rice, Claude F 882 

Rice, William 684 

Richards, Edward 782 

Richards, John A 782 

Richardson, George C 529 

Ricks, John T 943 

Ridgely, Charles T 1045 

Ritchie, Charles N 1024 

Ritchie, Edward H 983 

Robbins, Dr. James 538 

Roberts, James H. 669 

Roberts. Reuben M 628 

Roberts, Thomas H 669 

Robinson, Walter E 535 

Roekel, Adam 677 

Rockel. Henry 732 

Roekel, Peter 677 

Rockei, William M 677 

Rockhill, C. B 530 

Rodgers, A. D 525 

Rodgers, Dr John H .543 

Rodgers, Richard H S.57 

Rodgers, Dr. Robert 541 

Rodgers, Robert C 835 

Rogers. William A 517, 525 

Rolfes, Frank H 698 

Rolfes, Frank H., Sr 698 

Roller, Charles E 836 

Roller, Sylvanus 836 

Ruby. Harry W 618 

Runyan, George 553 

Runyan. Hejiry 800 

Runyan, J. Milton 800 



INDEX 



13 



Runyan, Thomas W 551 

Rust, Daniel 1048 

Russell, Hugh 998 

Russell, Hugh, Sr 999 



Scarff, John J 

Scarff, William N. 
Schaefer, Henry L. 
Schaefer. Leonard . 



... 897 
... S97 
... 693 
... 093 

Schaffner. John D 774 

Schaffner, Peter 774 

Sohaus. W. H 854 

Schuster, C. A 919 

Scifers. Reuben 962 

Scott, W. A 530 

Seitz, Amos 617 

Seitz, Andrew 617, 827 

Seitz, Henry 828 

Seys, Dr. H. H 543 

Sharon, Joshua D 529 

Sharp, John 928 

Shellabarger, David E 927 

Shellabarger, Ephraim 927 

Shellabarjrer, George 953 

Shellabarger, Isaac 953 

Shellabarger, Samuel 526 

Sherlo, Garrett 769 

Shouvlin, P. J §79 

Showers, Frank 530 

Shroyer, David 80S 

Sieverling, William H 629 

Silvers, Eli F 817 

Skillings, Eben 748 

Skillings, Lewis 607 

Slaughter, George H 840 

Smith, Adolphus H 991 

Smith, Amos 562 

Smith, Arthur Z 965 

Smith. Charles C 937 

Smith, Christian M 887 

Smith, David J 645 

Smith, Eli 563 

Smith, Howard S 740 

Smith, J. Quincy 645 

Smith, Lewis H 70I 

Smith, Oscar L 701 

Smith, Peter 887 

Smith, Roger V 535 

Smith, Russell 878 

Smith, Seth W 699 

Smith, T. A 878 

Snaufer. Jacob 643 

Snodgrass, Andrew 784 

Snodgrass, Joseph F 783 

Snyder, Christian 858 

Snyder, D. H S43 

Snyder, Eli 797 

Snyder, Felty 797 



Snyder, Fred , 816 

Snyder, Henry 843, 858 

Snyder, John Jacob 816 

Snyder. Samuel 957 

Snyder. Steven D 797 

Snyder, William L 858 

Spence, George A 885 

Spence, George 526 

Spence, Mark 885 

Stackhouse, W. H 988 

Stafford, Finley 680 

Stafford, George 938 

Stafford, Horace W ,... 535 

Stafford, Joseph H 680 

Stafford, Robert F 938 

Steinbarger, George S 1041 

Stevans, Dr. W. G 763 

Stewart, Chase 562 

Stewart, Charles F 922 

Stewart, David W 898 

Stewart, Earl 535 

Stewart Family 561 

Stewart, Frank E 638 

Stewart, James G 535 

Stewart, John T 1009 

Stewart, Oscar N 636 

Stewart, Peri-y 898 

Stewart. Perry H 636 

Stewart, Samuel 562 

Stewart, William C 674 

Stickney, John 875 

Stickuey, Henry 875 

Stickney, William T 875 

Stipp. Abraham 682 

Stipp, Martin L 682 

Stockstill, Dr. J. n'. 538 

Stoner, Adam 894 

Stone, Dr. John C 538 

Stotts, Roseoe G., M. D 841 

Stroup, Jesse 5.54 

Studebaker, Peter 655 

Studebaker, Samuel 655 

Sullivan, John W 1043 

Sultzbach, Howard 1008 

Sultzbach, Joseph 941 

Sun, Gus 888 

Swaidner, John S 694 

Swan, Joseph R 516 

Swartzbaugh, Theodore 934 

Tarbutton, Jesse 802 

Tatman, Joseph 516 

Tateman, Stewart L 73S 

Taylor, Birch R 913 

Taylor, Daniel R 849 

Taylor, John 966 

Taylor, Lewellen 966 

Tehan, George W 535 



PAGE 

Thackery, .Joseph H 779 

Thackery, William 646 

Thomas, A. H 662 

Thomas, Hon. John H 549 

Thomas, Thomas P 860 

Thomas, William 860 

Thomas, Hon. William S 896 

Tindall, Robert A 789 

Tindall, Thomas 789 

Tipple, George J 984 

Titus, Harley 872 

Titus. James P 872 

Todd, James 761 

Todd, Samuel A 761 

Todd, William B 7.58 

Torbert, Hon. James L . . . 516, 523 

Toulmin, Harry A 914 

Troupe, Toppy 657 

Trout, John F 716 

Trout, Joseph D 1002 

Trout, O. B 535 

Trout, Philip 716 

Troxell, William 948 

Turner, Edwin B 779 

Tuttle, Caleb 864 

Tuttle, George 831 

Tuttle, George W 767 

Tuttle, Rev. Harvey H 707 

Tuttle, Isaac 742 

Tuttle, Jacob 770 

Tuttle, James 630 

Tuttle, John 712, 742 

Tuttle, Sylvanus 630, 707 

Tuttle, William E 831 

Tuttle, William H 877 

Tuttle, W. F 633 

TSvichell, Clayton H 642 

Twichell, Smith S 641 

Ulery, Rev. George 740, 834 

Ulery, Isaac 834 

Ulery, Joseph 1036 

Ulery, Jlrs. Mary Ann ..... 716 

Ulery, Samuel 740 

Underwood, J. B 525 

Vale, William S 10.52 

Van Bird, A 811 

Van Bird, Silas 811 

Van Horn. Joseph 726 

Verity, Henry 979 

Verity, Luella 979 

Verity, Sarah E 979 

Vinal, Harvey .525 

Voges, Herman 757, 758 

Volmer, Jacob 1000 

Wade, C. E 725 

Waddle, Joseph M 593 



14 



INDEX 



Waddle. William 593 

Walhay, William 856 

Walhay, Wilson 856 

Walker, Willis S 530 

Wallace. Edward S 531 

Wallace. Ira W 718 

Wallace, Thomas D 1050 

Weaver, Joseph 822 

Weaver. Hon. Walter L 909 

Weisel, Benjamin F 687 

Weltj'. J. .Terome 535 

West, David E 790 

West, Louis 790 

Wheeier, Ebenezer 665 

Wheeler, Elliott D 665 

Wheeler. John 665 

White, Charles R 518 

White. Fletcher 530 

White, William 517, 525 

Wickham, Henry 666 

Wildman, Alvin E 900 

Wildnian, Edward 903 

Wildman, John 900 

Wildman, William 903 

Wilkinson, .John A 799 

Willis. F. W 530 



Willis, W. H 530 

Wilson. H. Blair 525 

Wilson. John H 618 

Wilson, Hugh 826 

Wilson. Michael B 714 

Wilson, Michael 714 

Wilson. William S 826 

Winger, Hon. Amaziah 611 

Winger, .Jacob 612 

Winwood. Dr. Benjamin 542 

Wise, Charles F 1005 

Wise, John H 798 

Wise, Lewis 798 

Witmeyer, W. W 535 

AVood, Albert 725 

Wood. Isaiah 725 

Wood Jam.es J 1050 

Wolf. Amos 530 

Wraight. Henry G 798 

Wray, Edmund 595 

Wray, William 595 

Wren Co.. The Edward 1049 

Wren. James K 1049 

Xanders. Enos W 572 

Xanders, William 572 



PAGE 

Yakey, C. F 530 

Yeazell, Abraham 577 

Yeazell, George 577 

Yeazell, Jacob 564 

Yeazel, John A 564 

Yeazell, Joseph Milton 576 

Yeazell. William M 606 

Yeazell, William 606 

Young. Charles Adam 841 

Young, Charles Addison 945 

Young, Dr. H. H 541 

Young, Jacob 745 

Young, .John 841 

Young. Lemuel L 745 

Young, Luther F 524, 535 

Zeller, John M 907 

Zerkle, Samuel S 1038 

Ziegler, George L 921 

Zimmerman, Albert L 535 

Zimmerman, George 929 

Zimmerman, John L 673 

Zimmerman, Samuel 929 

Zinn, Gold W 616 

Zinn, Peter S 616 



HUuettations 



PAGE 

American Seeding Co 162 

Amphitheatre-Fair Grounds 296 

Ansted & Burli Company's Plant 174 

Arcade Building, Springfield 408 

Black Opera House 192 

Bookwalter Block, Springfield 408 

Bretney Tannery, Springfield 192 

Bridge Across Mad River 98 

Buckingham Block, Springfield 408 

Bushnell Block, Springfield 520 

Bushnell School, Springfield 466 

Center Street M. E. Church, Springfield 488 

Central Engine House, Springfield 528 

Chillicothe Street, So. Charleston 328 

Champion Chemical Company's Plant 184 

Champion Works, International Harvester Co 212 

City Building, Springfield 150 

City Hospital, Springfield 434 

Clark, Gen. George Rogers 66 

Clark County Children's Home 434 

Clark County Court House 150 

Clark County Infirmary 150 

Clark Memorial Home for Aged Women 296 

Clark County Historical Society Building 118 

Country Club, Springfield 296 

County Officers' Building 150 

Crowell Publishing Go's Building, Springfield 408 

Bast Side Main Street, New Carlisle 340 

Elmwood School, Springfield 466 

Factory Street Engine House, Springfield IIS 

Fairbanks Buildings and Lagonda Bank, Springfield 520 

Friends' Meeting House, Selma 328 

First Congregational Church, Springfield 502 

First Baptist Church. Springfield 38, 488 

First Lutheran Church, Springfield 488 

First Presbyterian Church, Springfield 488 

Foos Manufacturing Company's Plant 136 

Foos Gag Engine Co., Springfield 174 

Gen. Whiteman's Old Stone House, Clifton 244 

Gotwald Building, Springfield 520 

Harmer, Gen. Josiah 66 

Harrison, Gen. William H 66 



PAGE 

High School Building, Springfield 520 

High Street M. E. Church, Springfield 118 

High School, So. Charleston 328 

House Built by .John Paul 244 

High School, Plattsburg 350 

Hotel, Catawba 340 

.Jesse Boyd Hotel 98 

Jefferson School. Springfield 466 

Johnson Building (Wren's Store) Springfield 520 

Judge Halsey Property, Springfield 38 

Kelly Plant, Springfield 212 

King Building. Springfield 408 

Knights of Pythias Home 202 

Lagonda Club, Springfield 434 

Masonic Building, New Carlisle 340 

Masonic Home, Springfield 434 

Mast, Foos & Co., Plant, Springfield 192 

Metallic Casket Co 162 

M. E. Church, Catawba 502 

M. P. Church, Catawba 340 

New Sun Theatre, Springfield 192 

New Zimmerman Building, Springfield 520 

Odd Fellows' Home, Springfield 202 

Oesterlen Orphans' Home 118 

Oil Mill on Buck Creek 270 

O. K. House 270 

Old Brick House, W. Main St., Springfield 192 

Old Cartmell Residence, Pleasant Township 244 

Old City Hall, Springfield 38 

Old Court House 38 

Old Episcopal Church 118 

Old Mill at New Carlisle 244 

Old Pennsylvania House, Springfield 270 

Old Saw Mill 270 

Old Schoolhouse-Hopewell School 98 

Peoples' Home, Plattsburg 350 

Post Office, Springfield 528 

P. P. Mast & Go's Office, Springfield 408 

P. P. ilast Plant, Springfield 192 

Presbyterian Church, So. Charleston 328 

Present Station House, Springfield 528 



16 



INDEX 



Residences. 

Battin, Samuel R.. Madison Township IIS 

Bushnell, Mrs. A. S., Springfield 540 

Crowell, J. S., Springfield 540 

Evans, Milton L., German Township 981 

Fogs, William, Springfield 78 

Geron, Peter, Moorefield Township 759 

Haddix, Frank, Mad River Township 952 

Hodge, Asa W., Moorefield Township 720 

Mast, P. P., Springfield 78 

Mitchell, Ross, Springfield 78 

Parmenter, J. W., Springfield 78 

Roller, Charles E., Bethel Township 837 

Thresher, .John, Lagonda, Springfield 244 

St. Bernard's Church, Springfield 502 

St. Charles' (Catholic) Church, So. Charleston ... 502 

St. Clair, Gen. Arthur 66 

St. John's Lutheran Church, Springfield 502 

St. Raphael's (Catholic) Church, Springfield 488 

St. Raphael's School, Springfield 118 

School Building, New Carlisle 340 

Selma Special School, Selma 466 

Soldiers' Jlonument, Springfield 150 

Sinking Creek Church, Springfield Township 244 

Snyder Mill, Springfield Township 270 

Springfield Malleable Iron Co 162 



PAGE 

Springfield in 1832 98 

Stand Pipe, Springfield 38 

Town Hall, Catawba 340 

Town Hall, Cliiton 98 

Thomas Manufacturing Co., Springfield 350 

Travelers' Rest, Springfield Township 270 

United Presbyterian Church, Springfield 488 

View in Fernclifi: Cemetery, Springfield ^6 

View in Snyder Park 206 

View on Little Miami, near Clifton 296 

Warder Public Library, Springfield 434 

Water Works Pump House, Springfield 528 

Wayne, Gen. Anthony 66 

Western School, Springfield 38 

Wickham Piano Plate Co., Springfield 350 

Wittenberg College, Potir Views of 384 

Dormitory 

Hamma Divinity Hall 

Main College Building 

Zimmerman Library 



Y. M. C. A. Building, Springfield 
Y. AV. C. A. Building, Springfield 



502 
434 




_QryMc^ 



Bistorp of Clark Countp. 



CHAPTER I. 



PREHISTORIC MATTER. 

A Tale of the Airly Days — Geological Formation — Limestone Formation — Coal, 
Oil, and Gas — Glacial Drift — Singular Growth of Timber — Prehistoric Man 
— Prehistoric Animals — Mounds and Mound-Builders — The Bechtle Mound. 



A Tale of the Aiely Days. 

Oh ! tell me a tale of the airly days — 

Of the times as they ust to be; 
"Filler of Fi-er" and "Shakespear's 

Plays" 

Is a 'most too deep for me! 
I want plane facts, and I want plane 

words, 

Of the good old-fashioned ways, 
When speech run free as the songs of 

birds 

'Way back in the airly days. 

Tell me a tale of the timber-lands — 

Of the old-time pioneers; 
Somepin a pore man understands 

With his feelin's 's well as ears. 
Tell of the old log house, — about 

The loft, and the puncheon flore — 



The old fi-er jjlace, with the crane 
swung out. 
And the latch-string through the door. 

Tell of the things just as they was — 

They don't need no excuse! 
Don't teach 'em up like the poets does, 

Tel theyr all too fine fer use! — 
Say they was 'leven In the fambily — 

Two beds, and the chist below. 
And the trundle-beds that each helt three, 

And the clock and the old bureau. 

Then blow the horn at the old back-door 

Tel the echoes all halloo, 
And the children gethers home one 't more, 

Jest as they ust to do : 
Blow -fer Pap tel he hears and comes. 

With Tomps and Elias, too, 
A-marchin' home, with the fife and drums . 

And the old Eed, White and Blue! 



20 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Blow and blow tel the sound di-aps low 

As the moan of the whipperwill, 
And wake up Mother, and Ruth and Jo, 

All sleepin' at Bethel Hill: 
Blow and call tel the faces all 

Shine out in the back-log's blaze, 
And the shadders dance in the old hewed 

wall 

As they did in the airly days. 

Riley. 

Geological Formation. 

In a work of this character only a cur- 
sory vie.w of the geological formation of 
the county could properly be given. 

According to the geological map of 
Ohio, the dividing course of the lower and 
upper Silurian rock are within the boimds 
of this county, the entire bed rock of 
Ohio being Trenton limestone, which is 
the first in formation in the lower Silu- 
rian period. This rock takes its name 
from a picturesque and well-lmown local- 
ity in Trenton Township, Oneida County, 
New York. It has generally been re- 
corded in Ohio as being found at a depth 
of from one to two thousand feet. 

The Utiea Shales are the second in for- 
mation after the Trenton limestone and 
Professor Orton says, "In the wells of 
Springfield, Urbana, and Piqua it is found 
in undiminished thickness, but in some 
more calcareous in composition." 

As to what may properly constitute 
the geological scale applicable to Ohio, 
the following is taken from a work of 
Prof. Orton: 

"A brief review of the scale and struc- 
ture of the State will here be given, but 
before it is entered upon, a few funda- 
mental facts pertaining to the siibject will 
be stated. 



"1. So far as its exposed rock series 
is concerned, Ohio is built throughout its 
whole extent of stratified deposits or, in 
other words, of beds of clay, sand and 
limestone, in all their various gradations, 
that were deposited or that grew in water, 
There are in the Ohio series no igneous 
nor metamorphic rocks whatever; that i&, 
no rocks that have assumed their present 
form and condition from a molten state 
or that, subsequent to their original for- 
mation, have been transformed by heat. 
The only qualification which this state- 
ment needs pertains to the beds of drift 
by which a large portion of the State is 
covered. These drift beds contain boul- 
ders in large amount, derived from the 
igneous and metamorphic rocks that are 
found around the shores of Lake Supe- 
rior and Huron, but these boulders are 
recognized by all, even by the least ob- 
servant, as foreign to the Ohio scale. 
They are familiarly known as 'lost rocks' 
or 'erratics.' 

"If we should descend deep enough be- 
low the surface we should exhaust these 
stratified deposits and come to the granite 
foundations of the continent which con- 
stitute the surface rocks in parts of Can- 
ada, New England and the West, but the 
drill has never yet hewed its way down to 
these firm and massive beds within our 
boundaries. 

"The rocks that constitute the present 
surface in Ohio were all formed in water, 
and none of them have been modified and 
masked by the action of high tempera- 
tures. They remain in substantially the 
same condition as that in which they were 
formed. 

"2. With the exception of the coal 
seams and a few beds associated with 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



21 



them, aud of the drift deposits, all the 
formations of Ohio grew in the sea. 
There are no lake or river deposits among 
them, but by countless and infallible signs 
they testify to a marine origin. The 
remnants of life which they contain, often 
in the greatest abundance, are decisive 
as to this point. 

"3. The sea in which or around which 
they grew was the former extension of 
the Gulf of Mexico. When the rocks of 
Ohio were in process of formation, the 
warm waters and genial climate of the 
Gulf extended without interruption to the 
borders of the great lakes. All of these 
rocks had their origin under such con- 
ditions. 

"4. The rocks of Ohio constitute an 
orderly series. They occur in widespread 
sheets, the lowermost of which are co- 
extensive with the limits of the State. As 
we ascend in the scale the strata con- 
stantly occupy smaller areas, but the last 
series of deposits, viz., those of the Car- 
boniferous period, are still found to cover 
at least one-fourth of the entire area of 
the State. Some of these formations can 
be followed into and across adjacent 
States, in apparently unbroken continu- 
ity.' 

"The edges of the successive deposits 
in the Ohio series are exposed in innumer- 
able natural sections, so that their true 
order can generally be determined with 
certainty and ease. 

"For the accumulation and growth of 
this great series of deposits vast periods 
of time were required. Many millions of 
years must be reckoned in any rational 
explanation of their origin and history. 
All of the stages of this history have 
practically unlimited amounts of past 



time upon which to draw. They have all 
gone forward on so large a scale, so far 
as time is concerned, that the few thou- 
sand years of human history would not 
make an appreciable factor in any of 
them. In other words, five thousand years 
or ten thousand years make too small a 
period to be counted in the formation of 
coal, for example, or in the accumulation 
of petroleum, or in the shaping of the 
surface of the state through the agencies 
or erosion." 

Limestone Formation. 

The limestone cropping out around the 
City of Springfield and west along Mad 
River, and in some other places of the 
county is what is known as Niagara shale, 
and constitutes some of the finest build- 
ing stone and lime to be found anywhere, 
and in the geological survey of Ohio it 
is spoken of as follows: 

"We come next to what has been de- 
nominated the Springfield Stone, viz. : the 
building-stone courses which form so con- 
stant an element in the Niagara rocks of 
Ohio at this horizon. It is separated from 
the West Union limestone by a distinct 
boundary. As this portion of the series 
is so well developed and exhibited in the 
Springfield quarries, it seems appropriate 
to designate it as the Springfield lime- 
stone, and this name has accordingly been 
attached to this division in all portions 
of Southwestern Ohio in which it is 
shown. It is a prominent member of the 
Highland County series, as will be seen 
in the report of the geol ogy of that county, 
subserving there the same purpose as a 
building stone that it does here. 

"The Springfield limestone is a mag- 



22 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



nesiau carbonate, containing generally 
about fifty per cent of carbonate of lime, 
and forty per cent of carbonate of mag- 
nesia. Some of the remaining substances 
--a small percentage of silica, and also 
of alumina — stand in the way of its be- 
ing burned into an approved lime. There 
is, however, no uniformity in its composi- 
tion. 

"The prevailing color of this rock in 
Clark County is a light drab, though, sev- 
eral blue courses occur. To the south- 
ward, the. rock is mainly blue. The desir- 
ability of the light-colored stone for fine 
work is sometimes lessened by faint red- 
dish streaks through its substance. 

' ' The thickness of this division is never 
more than twenty feet, and seldom ex- 
ceeds fifteen feet in this portion of the 
state. At Holcomb's, it is thirteen feet. 
Like the other members of the series, it 
expands to the southward, reaching at 
Hillsboro its maximum in Ohio of forty- 
five feet. 

"Beginning in the Springfield quarries 
at the bottom of the series, we find sev- 
eral heavy courses, from ten to eig'liteen 
inches thick, overlying the West Union 
cliff.' These lowest courses are blue in 
color, and, despite their massive appear- 
ance, are generally treacherous as build- 
ing-stones. "Where exposed to the 
weather, they lose, in a few years, their 
dressed surfaces, their seams continually 
widen, and, in a word, they show them- 
selves to be undergoing a state of certain, 
though slow, disintegration. 

' ' The blue courses generally, even when 
found above the lowest beds, show the 
same tendency, and should at least be 
carefully tested before being used in 
structures where they can be attacked by 



atmospheric agencies. The drab courses 
are almost all durable building stones in 
all ordinary situations. Making up as 
they do the bulk of this division, they fur- 
nish an invaluable supply of building- 
stone to Springfield and the adjacent 
country. ' ' 

Coal, Oil .\nd (Jas. 

The Carboniferous and SuVcarbonifer- 
ous formations in Ohio occupy the greater 
portion of the eastei'n and southeastern 
part of the state. Although numerous 
attempts have been made, no gas or oil 
has been found in this county in paying 
quantities. 

In 1865 gas was discovered in Pike 
Township but not in paying quantities. 
After oil and gas had been discovered 
in the Lima district in 1884, the matter 
was again discussed and brought up in 
our county and Judge Mower and others 
became interested, and a well in the vicin- 
ity of the former one in Pike Township 
was again sunk, but only what is known 
as a "pocket" was discovered. This 
was in 1890. 

In 1887, a well was sunk in the old 
Frey stone quarry immediately north of 
Buck Creek and east of Fountain avenue, 
and a "pocket" of gas was discovered, 
probably producing more gas than any 
other well that had been sunk in the coun- 
ty, for some time afterward it was allowed 
to burn and go to waste, when finally it 
was piped into Mr. Frey's house and was 
for some time used by him for domestic 
purposes. 

In 1892, P. P. Mast sunk a well in the 
western part of Springfield, and in 1888, 
William N. Whitely also sunk one near 
what is now the Foos Gas Engine Works, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



23 



a few squares east of the C. C. C. & St. 
L. depot. 

Wells have also been sunk near the 
village of New Carlisle, south of Vienna 
and west of Brighton, the latter two to 
the depth of 1,650 feet, but without pay- 
ing results. When the Mast well was be- 
ing dug, Dr. Lisle, a chemist of this town, 
made observations which were the subject 
of an article in the press at that time 
from which the following extract is made : 

"Dr. Lisle has closely followed the well, 
and has analyzed the drillings as they 
have been brought up. He has 225 pack- 
ages of them all completely labeled. No 
small amount of labor is represented in 
the collecting, and when the tube is filled 
it will make a valuable study of 'the earth 
beneath.' " 

The first three feet is drift, or ordinary 
soil, which is followed by 150 feet of 
Niagara, including about 30 feet of lime- 
stone, cap rock, chalk, etc. 

The third division is 15 feet of bluish 
clay. Next' is 20 feet of Medina shale of 
fine reddish structure which rests on Clin- 
ton rock. Through this the drill steadily 
worked its way 175 feet down; then came 
a deep bed of shales, a fine grained, slaty 
deposit, and the casing was lowered 769 
feet before another solid stratum, the well- 
known Trenton, was reached. This, on 
thorough ]3enetration, was found to be 
633 feet thick and here, properly, the 
search should have ended. The State 
Greologist says, after long observation, 
that if Trenton rock does not contain a 
substance called dolomite, which is com- 
posed of calcium carbonate and magne- 
sium carbonate in equal proportions, 
there is no gas there. An analysis of the 
Trenton rock bored through in the Mast 



well -showed that it was composed of 80.84 
per cent calcium carbonate, 9.11 magne- 
sium carbonate and the rest insoluble mat- 
ter. The proportion was convincing as 
to the absence of gas, but the syndicate 
was induced to probe further toward the 
nether regions by the fact that gas was 
found in the ^Vliiteley gas well, which was 
sunk about four years ago until St. 
Peter's rock was reached. Still no gas. 
After prodding this solid formation 36 
feet further the job was given up. 

The salt water was struck at a depth of 
1,815 feet. It is decidedly saline. A 
quantity of white sulphur and drift was 
precipitated from the sample, and the test 
naturally showed the presence of sulph- 
ureted hydrogen. 

At 326 feet an odorless gas was met 
with, which burned five feet above the 
casing. At 580 feet another pocket was 
penetrated. 

The temperature at 1,953 feet was 93 
2/10 Fahrenheit, which accords with the 
theoretical rate of increase below the 
earth's surface. 

As was noted above, gas was struck at 
a depth of 2,000 feet in the Wliiteley well. 
The flow was continuous, but too light 
for material use, and the well has been 
plugged up. A depth of 2,533 feet was 
reached before the drill rested. Gas was 
first struck at 550 feet in blue shale. 

It is curious to note the thicknesses of 
the strata. In the Whiteley well the drift 
was 125 feet deep. West of the city Clin- 
ton rock comes to the surface. 

The Pettigrew well, which is located in 
the quarry at the foot of Plum street, 
was drilled four years ago (1887). It 
is 1,200 feet in depth, and also yields a 



24 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



light flow which has been found insuffi- 
cient for use. 

The Frey well drilled in Frey's quarry, 
shortly after the Pettigrew, is perhaps 
the most important. 

A depth of 1,700 feet was reached and 
salt water encountered. It yields a steady 
flow, and recent examination shows the 
pressure to be 185 pounds. Mr. Frey 
uses it in his residence. 

From these observations made by Dr. 
Lisle, Prof. I). H. Suavely has prepared 
the following scale of geological forma- 
tion which by his kind permission is in- 
serted. 



subject has been one of speculation 
to geologists. Prof. Geiger says there is 
gas in Clark County's ai*ea and he can 
locate it on geological principles. He re- 
cently proposed to Mr. Mast that he 
(Prof. Geiger) should select a location, 
giving satisfactory reasons for doing so. 
If Mr. Mast should find gas there he 
should properly remunerate the professor, 
and if not, the obligation should be an- 
nulled. Mr. Mast may yet decide to act 
upon the proposition. Hitherto the loca- 
tions of the wells have not been made 
scientifically and the proceeding outlined 
above would be watched with interest. 



3 ft. 

150 ft. 

15 ft. 

20 " 

175 ft. : 
769 ft. 



633 ft. 

70 ft. 
36 ft. 



t^ 


00 


N 


00 


00 


0^ 


00 








'-' 


•^ 


Q 


, 


. 


< 






^ 












00 












<u 






u 






3 












a. 






p. 






<a 













•a 






d 


^ 


: 





n 


^ 







t> 


t^ 




CO 




c^ 



















>, 





>> 


.^ 


-M 




J3 


nj 


u 


^ 


IS 



Drifts 

Limestone 
Niagara 
Bluish Clay 
Medina Shale 

Clinton Rock 



Shales 



Trenton Rock 

Shales Limestone 

St. Peters Rock 1S71 ft. 



All of which indicates that there must 
be gas somewhere in this region. The 



GLACI.4L, Drift. 

Clark County is in the line of the 
glaciers descending from the north in the 
glacial drift period, and to this fact owes 
the richness of its soil. The rock founda- 
tion being -limestone, this valuable in- 
gredient became thoroughly mixed in the 
surface. Upon this question Professor 
Orton says : 

"The other great division of the soils 
of Ohio, viz., the drift soils, are by far 
the most important, alike from their 
greater area and their intrinsic excellence. 
Formed by the commingling of the glacial 
waste of all the formations to the north 
of them, over which the ice has passed, 
they always possess considerable variety 
of composition, but still in many cases 
they are strongly colored by the forma- 
tion underneath them. Whenever a 
stratum of uniform' composition has a 
broad outcrop across the line of glacial 
advance, the drift beds that cover its 
southern portions will be found to have 
been derived in large part from the for- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



mation itself, and will thus resemble na- 
tive and sedentary soils. Western Ohio 
is underlaid with Silurian limestones and 
the drift is consequently limestone drift. 
The soil is so thoroughly that of lime- 
stone land that tobacco, a crop which 
rarely leaves native limestone soils, at 
least in the Mississippi Valley, is grown 
successfully in several counties of West- 
ern Ohio, 100 miles or more north of the 
terminal moraine." 

Scattered granite bowlders are found 
in almost every part of the county, in- 
creasing in number toward the noi-th- 
western part of the county. However, in 
no place are they found in such great 
quantity as to seriously impede agricult- 
ure. North, in Champaign County, the 
surface is more thickly covered with them, 
in some places making a serious impedi- 
ment in the way of the agricultural use 
of the soil. There is much to suggest in 
the formation of the Mad River Valley 
that between the hills upon the sides of 
this valley there flowed a mighty stream 
from the north, merging into a raging, 
roaring torrent from rock to rock south 
of the Masonic Plome, west of the city. 
There is no evidence of any volconic ac- 
tion in the formation of the soil of this 
county. 

This drift has been found to vary wide- 
ly in the depth of its formation in places 
not far apart, near St. Paris, Champaign 
County, Ohio. It has its maximum depth 
of 530 feet, while in the digging of the 
Mast well not more than 20 miles away, 
it was found to be only three feet. At 
the White! ey well within less than a mile 
from the Mast well, the drift was l'^5 
feet. 



SI^TGULAR Growth of Timber. 

Undoubtedly the soil formation has 
much to do with the kinds of timber that 
has grown thereon, and a rather sing-ular 
matter in reference to the growth of tim- 
ber has been observed along the borders 
of the Mad River Valley, more especially 
that part of it which is north of the City 
of Springfield. On the hills and uplands 
west of the valley the timber is beach, 
poplai', sugar, oak, hickory and walnut. 
While on the east side of the valley there 
is not a beach or ]3oplar tree to be found 
and only occasionally a sugar, the pre- 
vailing timber being oak and hickory. 
From this fact the lands east of the river 
have received the designation as the 
"oaks" or the "oak hills" while the land 
west including German and Pike Town- 
ship has been designated as the "beech." 

Prehistoric Man. 

While remains presumed to belong to 
another race may have been discovered 
in this county, there is no particular evi- 
dence of the existence of the prehistoric 
man, and upon this matter it may be In- 
teresting to quote Prof. Wright's opinion. 
It is the opinion now of scientists that 
man did exist in the glacial period. Prof. 
Wright says : 

"In my original 'report upon the 
Glacial Boundary of Ohio, Indiana and 
Kentucky,' I remarked that since man 
was in New Jersey before the close of the 
glacial period, it is also probable that he 
was on the banks of the Ohio at the same 
early period; and -I asked that the ex- 
tensive gravel terraces in the southern 
part of the State be carefully scanned bv 



26 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



archaeologists, adding that when ob- 
servers became familiar with the forms 
of these rude implements they would 
doubtless tintl them in abundance. As to 
the abundance, this prophecy has not been 
altogether fulfilled. But enough has been 
already discovei'ed in Ohio to show that 
man was here at that early time when 
the ice of the glacial period lingered on 
the south side of the water partings be- 
tween the lake and the Ohio River. Both 
at Loveland, and at Madisonville, in the 
valley of the Little Miami, Dr. C. L. Metz, 
of the latter place, has found this ancient 
type of implements several feet below the 
surface of the glacial terraces bordering 
that stream. The one at Madisonville was 
found about eight feet below the surface, 
where the soil had not been disturbed, 
and it was in shape and appearance al- 
most exactly like one of those found by 
Dr. Abbott in Trenton, N. J. These are 
enough to establish the fact that men, 
whose habits of life were much like those 
of the Eskimos, already followed up the 
retreating ice of the great glacial period 
when its front was in the latitude of Tren- 
ton and Cincinnati, as they now do when 
it has retreated to Greenland. Very like- 
ly the Eskimos are the descendants of 
that early race in Ohio. 

Prehistoric Animals. 

There is no doubt that prehistoric ani- 
mals, if T may use the term in that way, 
those that existed in the mammalian 
period or age, wandered over mucb of 
the territory occupied by this county, the 
remains of mastodons having been found 
in the lands west of the Urbana Pike, near 
the Franklin School House, and in the 



valley of Buck Creek, not far. from Ca- 
tawba Station, and near the Columbus 
Road, on a farm of William E. Yeazell, 
in the southeastern part of Pleasant 
Township, and also near Brooks Station. 
Some of these remains are in a fair state 
of preservation and I believe are now in 
possession of Wittenberg College. 

Mound and Mound-Builders. 

That there was a race of people in- 
habiting this county prior to the red men, 
is abundantly testified to by the mounds 
that are scattered over this coimty. I 
think they number not far from forty. 
Who or what these people were, or what 
object they had in view in making these 
various works can only be conjectured. 
The largest of these mounds is the one- 
situated near Enon, this county. 

It is frequently referred to as "Knob 
Prairie Mound," and is on the line of 
march of General Clark on his way to the 
battle of Piqua. His officers ascended its 
summit to reconnoiter the surrounding 
county. This mound is several hundred 
feet in circumference with a height of 
forty-five or fifty feet and is located in a 
level field and shows forth quite promi- 
nently. Some years ago the mound was 
dug into and one of the investigators gives 
the following as a description of what 
they found. 

"We found top soil all the way for 
thirty feet, when we came to a cave of 
curious construction; it was the shape of 
a bake-oven, and high enough for a man 
to stand upright in the center. It tapered 
down on the sides. On one side there was 
a door, that had evidently led from a 
ground entrance into the cave. In the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



27 



middle of. the cave was a pile of dirt and 
stone resembling an altar; on these were 
bones, charcoal and some pieces of de- 
cayed wood, and one piece of partly 
charred wood in a good state of preserva- 
tion. This wood was preserved, but the 
bones would not stand moving. After 
the party had satisfied their curiosity, 
they cut their names and the date on the 
altar, filled up the excavation and left." 

One of these mounds was situated in 
the City of Springfield and is well de- 
scribed by Hon. 0. T. Martin as follows : 

"A few rods east of the intersection of 
Spring and Washington Streets, there was 
a mound of earth about fifty yards in size 
across its base and of conical shape. 
About this period (1818), several white 
oak trees and clusters of bushes stood up- 
on its side, and a number of large stumps 
indicated that other trees had grown 
nearer its .apex." 

During the work upon the Dayton & 
Sandusky Railroad in 1847, this mound 
was entirely removed for the earth it 
contained. As the delvers in it penetrated 
its interior, they found it had been the 
burial place for a former generation of 
people. It was a huge sepulcher full of 
human bones. As the bones had by this 
period of time to a great extent be- 
come intermingled with the earth, the 
entire mass was carted to the railroad 
and formed part of the road bed. While 
the work was in progress, there was 
picked up what seemed to have been a 
section of the lower jaw bone of a wild 
animal containing a stout, crooked tusk 
or tooth. The bone had been ground away 
so as to be firmly grasped by a human 
hand. It had no doubt been used as an 
instrument of warfare. A few days after 



it had been taken from the ground, it 
crumbled into dust by action of the air 
upon it. 

There are several of these mounds in 
Spring-field. One being what is now used 
as the Soldier's Mound in the cemetery, 
and is described as follows by Prof. 
Snavely in giving an account of some in- 
vestigations made there. 

"After sinking the shaft four or five 
feet from the top a hard shell of baked 
clay was struck, and a hole made therein, 
which revealed an oven-shaped chamber, 
or vault, in which appeared large quanti- 
ties of bones, ashes, charcoal, etc. The 
bones, when taken in the hand, crumbled 
to dust, and could be blown away with a 
breath. Among the skeletons were found 
a wooden chain — apparently black locust 
— about seven inches long, of perhaps five 
or six links, and a fine bone of about 
three by • one and a half ' inches in size. 
The size of the vault can be estimated 
from the statement that one could turn 
a ten-foot rail around endwise on the in- 
side quite readily. The hole was left open 
for some, years afterward and finally 
closed of its own accord, as it appeared 
when the ground was sold for cemetery 
purposes. What became of the relics is 
forgotten, as are also the names of the 
students who made the investigation." 

Another eye witness of a later date and 
excavation says: "In digging the graves 
for the burial of soldiers, burnt clay, ashes 
and charcoal were found, and also wood 
that had thoroughly decayed almost be- 
yond recognition was discovered and 
seems to have served the, purpose of pro- 
tecting the burnt clay, which may have 
been used for burial purposes, but no 
hollow place or any evidence of one were 



28 



HISTOKY OF CLARK COUNTY 



noticed. Still, as the first row of graves, 
where these relics were found, begins at 
twenty-two feet from the center of the 
new monud, and as the center of the old 
mound is sixteen feet south and three feet 
west of it there may be a possibility that 
the burnt clay, which was found in dig- 
ging the graves, is at the limit of the 
vault and the rotten wood was the rem- 
nant of the protection afforded during the. 
construction of the old mound. 

"In forming the new mound no in- 
vestigation was made of the interior of 
the old mound, but a record was made of 
the exact location. 

"It is 410 yards north from the margin 
of the creek at an elevation of 100 feet, 
or, in exact figures, from engineer's sur- 
vey, height of level surface base above 
creek level. 102 feet; height of top of 
mound, 107.5 feet, which made the Indian 
mound at the time of survey, 1863, 5.5 
feet high and had a probable diameter of 
30 or 32 feet." 

The present mound is 200 feet in diam- 
eter and the center is 16 feet north and 
3 feet east of the center of the Indian 
mound : and in height 7 feet, and sur- 
mounted by an iron flag-staff, 112 feet 
high, and 8 feet in the ground. 

The same person gives the following 
contribution as to Bechtle Mound situate 
near the park. 

The Bechtle Mound, 

is located about four-fifths of a mile 
(4,200 feet) from the cemetery mound, 
nearly southwest. It is about the same 
distance from the highest point of Gray's 
Hill, nearly south of the mound (from 



which we may now look), and also the 
same distance to the Indian burying 
ground (gravel pit), in Snyder's prairie, 
north of M^est. 

It is about one and one-tenth miles 
(5,775) feet to the mouth of the Lagonda 
(Buck) Creek, southwest; the same dis- 
tance to the mouth of Mill Run, east, and 
to the hill on which Wittenberg College 
stands. 

It is about one and three-fifths miles 
(8,450 feet) to the mouth of Mill Creek, 
southwest ; to the Indian burying ground 
on Snyder's hill, northwest; and to the 
hill on which the public library stands, 
southeast; near which site stood another 
mound some forty years ago. 

Other distances and directions can be 
compared, with equal or greater inter- 
est and satisfaction. These mounds were 
not placed here at random by an ignorant 
people, any more than the great pyramid 
of Egypt was placed in its situation by 
ignorance and superstition. 

The mound is situated on the south side 
of the creek, distant 750 feet: its sum- 
mit is 70 feet above the level of the water. 
It crowns the east end of a clayey ridge, 
which is some 500 feet in length and 
about 28 feet above the adjoining level 
surface. This level surface extends south 
to Main and High Streets, and from 
Factory Street to near the Hydi-aulic, on 
the west; an area of about half a square 
mile, chiefly red clay. 

Possibly the beds of clay which were so 
extensively used in the manufacture of 
modern brick, were also utilized by the 
prehistoric people in their manufacture 
of pottery, and in the burial of their dead. 

The mound has an elevation of 12 feet 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



29 



above the surface of the ridge on which 
it rests. Its north and south diameter is 
69.8 feet at base. And its east and west 
diameter is 63.8 feet. The circumference 
is 210 feet; and its contents approximate- 
ly are 1,750 cubic yards. 

In shape it is nearly a cone ; the south 
side is somewhat irregular. The top is 
depressed in the center, caused possibly 
by the interior sinking, as no knowledge 
of any extended excavation exists. 

Large trees still surround it and have 
a growth of several hundred years; but 
that does not indicate any age of these 
earth works; for all accepted authority 
places the Mound Builders' era too far in 
the remote past to make timber growth a 
factor of much importance. The latest 
authority places the era at 800 years ago 
A. D. 1092. 

According to the classification, this is a 
sepulchral mound, but the theory is ad- 
vanced that the site was a king's throne 
and dwelling place, a signal station, and. 
at his death, the mound was erected over 
the remains. So, it may also be classed 
as a memorial or monumental mound. 

One of the most noteworthy features 
is the fact that, as an observation station, 
it affords a tine view of the river valley 
nearly to Westville, with Tremont, Eagle 
City, the bridge over Mad Eiver and 
farms between; also of the creek and its 
valley, for several miles ; the city and pub- 
lic buildings; and the fine residences on 
the ridge along West High Street; part 
of the Millcreek Valley, and hills beyond ; 
the river valley for miles towards Dayton ;' 
and the vicinity of Enon, Snyder's and 
Cold Springs, near Tecumseh's birth- 
place. 



THE MOUNDS NEAR ENON AND IN HARMONY 
TOWNSHIP. 

The mound near Enon, the railroad 
cut at the south boundary of the Masonic 
Home grounds ; this mound and the ceme- 
tery mound are all in a nearly direct line 
southwest and northeast, so that smoke 
or light can be easily seen at either place, 
day or night, if such signals were made. 
The springs near this mound, with 
those along the creek to Market Street 
and beyond, one or more near every street 
that terminates or crosses at the creek, 
their relation to the construction of these 
earthworks, and their value in the serv- 
ice of a dense population in their vicinity, 
could be interestingly reviewed in support 
of the opinion that Springfield and the 
vicinity was a favorite and endearing 
locality to the Mound Builders, as well as 
to its present inhabitants. 

And concerning a mound on the New- 
love farm in Harmony Township, Prof. 
Suavely gives the following description: 
"To describe one of the most interest- 
ing of these hunting grounds is the object 
of this paper. Between the old London 
road, three miles east of Harmony and 
the national road, eight miles east of 
Springfield, on the Newlove farm, is what 
people now generally call an 'Old Indian 
fort.' A half-mile northeast, just beyond 
the eight-mile stone, the national road vvas 
cut through a large Indian mound, part 
of which still remains. Nearly a half 
mile south of this mound and about tiie 
same distance east of the 'old fort,' are 
several artificial depressions, or large pit- 
holes and near these was once an Indian 
trail whose direction was from northwest 
to southeast. 



30 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



"To the south of the 'old fort,' about 
a half mile among the hills, stands the 
Newlove residence, built many years ago, 
and here is the key to the whole situation. 
This valley is about three-fourths of a 
mile long nearly due nortli and south, and 
is nearly closed at the north end by the 
eastern elevation curving abruptly to the 
west, and bj' boggy land between it and 
the western elevation. 

" It is at this end of this valley, and on 
the west side, that the earthworks are 
situated. It may also be stated here that 
the boggy land extends for a long dis- 
tance east and west from this point, and 
borders Beaver Creek, which flows west 
between here and the national road and 
joins the Lagonda (Buck) creek six miles 
below. 

"The abrupt curve of the eastern eleva- 
tion of the valley also slopes gradually 
toward the creek, and makes the only na- 
tui'al fordable place for several miles up 
or down the stream. This ford was used 
often, not only by the Indians, but by the 
early settlers, and, no doubt, by the buf- 
falo, deer and other wild auimals as well. 

"The 'old fort' or rather enclosures, 
consist of two elliptical embankments, and 
resemble somewhat, on a large scale, the 
tracks of a horse's front feet, made while 
standing or in a leap against the side of 
the hill. Both are of the same area, but 
the bank and ditch of the one north are 
not so high or deep as the one south, and 
it is on more level ground. The western 
half of the one north is under cultivation. 
The remainder of both is covered with 
heavy timber, as are both sides or borders 
of the valley. Both 'toe' to the south 
of west, or rather the longest diameters 
are in that direction. The openings or 



entrances face toward the east — a little 
'north of east — and can be seen plainly 
from the top of the mound a half mile 
northeast, and from the crest of the hill 
range between. 

"The construction of these earthworks 
is the most remarkable because it has a 
striking miniature resemblance to the con- 
struction of that part of the earthworks 
at Newark — the southern elliptical en- 
closure in which the fair grounds are now 
located. The area contained by that is 
over twenty-five acres, while one of these 
contains over one acre. 

"The southern enclosure consists of an 
ellliptical ditch twenty feet wide and 
from five to seven feet deep, the excava- 
tions having apparently thrown upon the 
outside, making an embankment from four 
to six feet high, and at present from twen- 
ty to twenty-five feet wide. The distance 
■ from the bottom of the ditch to the top 
of the embankment, therefore, is from 
nine to thirteen feet. The ends of the 
ditch do not meet at the east by some 
thirty or forty feet, nor do the ends of 
the embankments by twenty-five or thirty 
feet, making a wide entrance to the island- 
like inside, which gradually slopes or as- 
cends to the opposite end, upon which is 
a small mound. 

"The outside circumference is 1,020 
feet. The long diameter is 325 feet and 
the short diameter 234 feet. A rectangle 
of three or four acres would likely con- 
tain both enclosures, as the one north is a 
duplicate of the one south, but shallower. 
The distance of each enclosure bank (at 
their nearest approach to each other) is 
but twenty or twenty-five feet. 

"Those who, for the first time, view 
this 'old Indian fort' as a means of de- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



31 



fense against an outside enemy, are 
disappointed, because the most ignorant 
combatant would hesitate to go or remain 
inside, if an enemy were upon the out- 
side. It has too much the appearance of 
a trap. In fact it is a trap. The wliole 
surrounding landscape of nearly two 
square miles, is a huge trap, or typical 
ambush, the culmination of the Indian 
hunting grounds, and at the same time the 



West Point of most of his military train- 
ing; for whether game or enemies were 
decoyed or driven into similar localities 
and enclosures, in the succeeding contest 
and almost certain slaughter, the native 
Indian was at home in all the detail of 
conquest and capture. ' ' 

These descriptions of Prof. Snavley's 
appeared in the newspapers several years 
ago and are used by his kind permission. 



CHAPTER II. 



TOPOGRAPHY. 



Character of the Surface — Elevation abovo Lake Erie- — Mad River — Tributaries 
of Mad River — Little Miami and Other Streams — Character and Fertlity of 
the Soil — Timber — Comparative Table of Crops. 



Character of Surface. 

The surface of Clark County is what 
might be termed undulating. The risings 
from the valleys attending Mad River, the 
Little Miami, and their tributaries, are 
hardly suflficient to be properly designated 
as hills, although it may be used to des- 
ignate the broken surface of this county 
in comparison with that of the valley. 
This rough or broken land is, with but 
few exceptions, found on the edges of the 
valleys. After the heights of these 
broken lands or ridges have been reached, 
a plateau or stretch of level land is found 
which extends to the beginning of the 
next valley. The hills, if I may term 
them such, valleys, and plateaus, are not 
confined to any particular part of the 
county. 

Immediately west of the city of Spring- 
field, in what is now called Aberfelda 
Park, the roughness of the surface is such 
as to make as fine natural scenery as can 
he found anywhere in central Ohio. The 
stream called Eock Run extends up 



through it and is fed by several very fine 
springs, and affords some very beautiful 
miniature water falls. 

The ridge of rocks and rising land along 
the west side of the valley of Mad River, 
passing the birthplace of Tecumseh be- 
tween Aberfelda and Medway, with its 
varied forms of timber and vegetable 
growth, especially in the autumn of the 
year when the leaves assume a variegated 
hue, present a view beyond the criticism 
of nature's most fastidious lovers. 

Here it should not be forgotten that the 
entrance to Ferncliif Cemetery in the 
City of Springfield has been pronounced 
by extensive travelers not to be excelled 
anywhere. In other parts of the coun- 
ty from the elevated lands, magnificent 
views of the valleys of Mad River and 
Buck Creek can be obtained, sometimes 
extending for miles and miles. 

There is some broken land south of 
Enon and along the north fork of the 
Little Miami, north of Selma. A consid- 
erable stretch, also, will be foimd east 
of Vienna, and smaller portions east and 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 33 

north of Lawrenceville ; along Cliapmans Mad River is the principal stream with- 

and Bonne! s Creek and in various other in the county. The origin of the name 

parts. Perhaps the largest extent of has never been satisfactorily explained, 

what might be termed hill land is found In Gist's journal, 1749, it is referred to 

in the northern and western parts of as Made Creek, it probably receiving its 

Pleasant Township around the village of name from the fact that while it is gen- 

Catawba. Very seldom, however, is any erally a placid and harmless stream,''yet 

of this broken land of such a character as frequently after long and unusual rains 

to unfit it for agricultural purposes ; much it becomes a stream of considerable 

of it, being of the limestone formation, is mag-nitude, a ruinous, raging torrent 

quite fertile. of water, "mad" in the true sense of the 

The entire county casts its surface term. In the Shawnese language it was 

water into the great Mississippi water- called Athe, ne, sepe, meaning a flat or 

shed, being drained directly by the big smooth stone river. It enters the county 

and little Miami Rivers and their trib- in the northeastern corner of German 

utaries into the Ohio. Township from Champaign County, 

Elevations Above Lake Ekie ?""'" south through German Township, 

tor a short distance, forming the bound- 
Erie Railroad at Bowlusville 393 feet, ary line between it and Moorefield Town- 
Springfield Sta- ship, then through its western part of 

^^°" 335 " Springfield Township, then forming the 

Pan Handle Railroad at Enon. .451 " boundary line between Bethel and Mad 

■'' " Hen- River Township, to the Greene County 

^^^^(iy's 458 " line a short distance east of the Mout- 

Pan Handle Railroad at Selma.510 " gomery County line. 

South The following as to its characteristics 

Charleston 553 " is a quotation from Beers' history: 

Pan Handle Railroad at Spring- "The valley of Mad River is the most 

field Station 418 " topographical feature of the county. 

BigFour Railroad at Moorefield. 448 " Rising in the island of Huron Shale 

Lake Erie above sea level, 573 feet. (black slate) just east of Bellefontaine, 

Ohio River at Cincinnati, 134 feet be- its source has an altitude of 1,438 feet 

low Lake PJrie. above the tide water, which is as great as 

Mad River. *^^^* ^^ ^"^ °^^^^^^ P°^°* ^^ ^^^^ State. The 

. ' stream then passes over the edge of the 

'The rivers how they run Carboniferous limestone, over a eonsid- 

Through woods and meads in shade and erable outcrop of Helderberg limestone, in 

■'^T Champai^gn County, and finds its way to 

Sometimes swift, sometimes slow, Clark Countv over a flat tract of country 

Wave succeeding wave, they go which is underlaid bv the Niagara lime- 

A various journey to the deep stone, but at such depth that it is nowhere 

Like human life in endless sleep." exposed in the bed of the stream. Swampy 



34 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



borders of considerable extent are found 
along its course in Champaign and the 
northern part of Clark Counties, which 
help to bestow upon the stream its com- 
paratively permanent character. These 
borders, locally called 'cat-head prairies,' 
consist largely of vegetable accumula- 
tions, and are peculiarly retentive of 
moisture. Ditches draw the water but for 
a very short distance on either side, and 
therefore it is almost impossible to drain 
these tracts. 

"The tributaries of Mad River share 
in the peculiarities that it possesses, in 
the districts through which they flow. 
Those that enter the river near Spring- 
field have wrought out picturesque and 
beautiful valleys in the Cliff limestone, 
as, for instance, Buck Creek and Mil] 
Creek, which crosses the Dayton Pike two 
miles below the city. The configuration 
of the valley at the .junction of Mill Creek 
a;id Mad River indicates a long-continued 
history, in which the streams have oc- 
cupied very different geographical rela- 
tions from those now to be observed. A 
solitary remnant of their denuding action 
is found in a little island of Cliff rock, of 
three-fourths of an acre in area, that rises 
thirty feet above the general level in the 
angle between the two streams. 

"Almost all the streams of the county, 
great and small, have their springs, and 
earlier courses in drift deposits. They 
flow for awhile, many of them, indeed, 
through their whole extent, in broad and 
very shallow valleys that they have 
wrought in the surface accumulations of 
clay and gravel. In such cases, the width 
of the valleys is greatly disproportioned 
to their depth. On the eastern side of the 
county, the descent of a few feet — not 



more than twenty-five feet below the gen- 
eral level — brings us to a broad, flat plain, 
one-half of a mile in width, perhaps. A 
stream of insignificant proportions 
meanders through the valley, but seems 
lost in the expanse. Indeed, the single- 
spanned bridge in the midst of a level 
tract is often our only intimation that we 
are crossing a valley. The several forks 
of the little Miami in Green and Madison 
Townships furnish good examples of this 
sort. It may be noted, in passing, that 
these broad and shallow valleys constitute 
some of the finest agricultural districts of 
the county. 

' ' The present topography of the county 
is to be mainly attributed to erosive 
agencies, which are still in progress. All 
that is wanting to complete the horizontal 
plain of rock which originally filled the 
area of the county has been carried away 
by running water. The surface of the 
county has been worn and chiseled by 
these agencies to a degree quite beyond a 
ready recognition, for these channels have 
been silted up by the drift deposits so as 
to be greatly reduced in dimensions, or 
even wholly concealed from view, vmless 
some accidental section exposes them. 
The present surface of the county is ir- 
regular, through a considerable portion 
of it, the gravels and clays having been 
left in hills and hollows ; but it is certain 
that the rocky floor has a far more un- 
even surface. 

"The lowest land in the county is found 
in the valley of Mad River, in the south- 
western corner of Mad River Township. 
It is about 325 feet above low water mark 
of the Ohio River at Cincinnati. From 
this lowest level, taken as a floor, the 
whole county is built up to the extent of 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



35 



100 feet, with the upper-most beds of the 
Blue Limestone or Cincinnati group. 
The average thickness of the Clinton lime- 
stone, the next story of the county, does 
not exceed twenty-five feet, and the heav- 
iest single section of the Niagara group 
gives seventy-five feet in addition to these 
measurements. The deposits of the drift 
formation are built up in many instances 
from 75 feet to 100 feet above the rocky 
floor. 

"The highest land of the covmty, then, 
is 'from 600 to 625 feet above low water 
mark at Cincinnati, or from 1,025 feet to 
1,050 feet above tide water. Some isolated 
points may exceed even this elevation by 
a few feet. The summits of Pleasant 
Township have probably as great an ele- 
vation as any land in the county. 

"The sand and gravel are left over the 
surface of the coimtry in picturesque 
knolls and ridges, which add greatly to 
natural beauty, and which, in the ad- 
vantages they offer for building sites and 
road materials, form no mean element in 
its desirability for human habitation. 
These knolls and ridges are not the rem- 
nants of more extensive beds that covered 
the whole face of the country originally, 
as might be thought at the first inspec- 
tion, but they were deposited where we 
find them, and in the same form that they 
now possess. 

"This is dearly proved by the lines 
of deposition that their sections fur- 
nish. The ridges often inclose basin- 
shaped depressions of small extent, which 
can be accounted for in no other way than 
as the results of the original deposition 
of the surrounding masses. These de- 
pressions are particularly noticeable in 



the northeastern corner of the county, 
near Catawba." 

In pioneer and subsequent days the 
water of this stream was utilized in va- 
rious places for mill power, most of which 
have now been abandoned. 

From Springfield south, the soil in the 
valley is underlaid with gravel, and does 
not need artificial drainage to fit it for 
agriculture. From the city north artifi- 
cial drainage is needed in many places to 
bring the soil in a condition for a high 
state of cultivation. However, the river 
having an average fall of eight feet to the 
mile this is not difficult of accomplish- 
ment. 

Mad River is not what is known as a 
navigable stream, although it is stated 
that David Lowry early in the last cen- 
tury took a boat from presumably this 
side of Medway down to Cincinnati. In 
1825, however, it is known that John Jack- 
son, who married Nellie Lowry, built a 
flat boat on the north bank of Donnel's 
Creek and in high water he launched it, 
taking three or four of his children, and 
floated down the Mad Eiver, thence to the 
Miami, and then to the Ohio and Miss- 
issippi, settling in Tennessee. 

Tetbutakies of Mad Kiver. 

From its central and important posi- 
tion in the topography of the county, Mad 
Kiver has a considerable number of tribu- 
taries entering into it in this county vary- 
ing in size and importance. The first that 
enters the river as we come up the stream 
is Muddy Run. This stream has its origin 
in the west part of Grreen Township, not 
far north of Hustead, and flows in a 
southwesterly direction in Mad River 



36 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Township, entering into the river a short 
distance above the Montgomery line. The 
valley is narrow and its borders some- 
what hilly. 

Mud Creek is a stream on the west side 
of the river and enters into the river in 
Miami County, and extends north through 
the western part of Bethel Township. 
The lands are tolerably level and the 
stream somewhat sluggish. 

Jackson Creek empties into the river 
about a mile and a half above Medway 
and extends north through Bethel and 
Pike Township almost paralleling Don- 
nel's Creek. It is hardly anything more 
than a wet weather stream. 

Donnel's Creek enters into Mad River 
about a mile up the stream from Jackson 
Creek. It receives its name from Don- 
nel, an early settler along its banks. It 
extends north through Donnelsville, pass- 
ing North Hampton, and some of its 
branches extend as far as Dialton in Pike 
Township. It is larger than Jackson 
Creek, but not generally fed by springs 
and sometimes becomes almost dry in 
periods of drought. 

Rock Rim is the name of the next creek 
that enters Mad River. Like the two 
previous ones it has its entrance from 
the north or west side and enters the river 
about three-quarters of a mile above 
Durbin, and extends up through Gei'man 
Township. Its principal branch is known 
as ]\Iiller Creek, it is fed by springs and 
by reason of its very great fall atforcled 
in earlier times a considerable number 
of mill sites. 

Thus far we have but one stream to 
enter the liver on the south or east side. 
The next one, however, comes from that 
direction and is designated Mill Creek. 



This empties into the river about three- 
quarters of a mile south of the National 
Road. It has several branches and re- 
ceives considerable of its flow from 
springs and afPords excellent water for 
grazing purposes. Formerly there were 
some mills upon it. 

About half a mile above where Mill 
Creek enters the river, and a short dis- 
tance south of the National Road, west 
of Springfield, Buck Creek, its principal 
tributary, enters into Mad River. The 
Indian name of this stream is Lagonda. 
In size it is about half that of the river. 
It extends northeasterly through the city 
and township of Springfield and through 
the township of Moorefield near the vil- 
lage of New Moorefield, having its source 
near Mechanicsburg in Champaign Coun- 
ty. It is a spring-fed stream and always 
furnishes a considerable water-flow. 

Almost in the center of Springfield, 
Buck Creek has a tributary called Mill 
Run. It has now, in the main part of the 
city, been covered over and is used jsrin- 
cipally for sewer purposes. It has its 
source east of the city, south of the Big 
Four railroad. In former times it was 
considered of sufficient importance to af- 
ford mill privileges. 

A short distance above the city of 
Spring-field, not far from the present 
water works, there enters into Buck 
Creek, Beaver Creek. This creek is 
almost as large as that into which 
it enters. Like Buck Creek it re- 
ceives considerable of its waters from 
springs. The main source of Beaver 
Creek is not far from Brighton in the 
eastern part of the county. Within a few 
miles of where Beaver Creek entei's into 
Buck Creek it receives Sinking Creek, its 






^^toOSBBW 





,1 


w 


' 


Cu 


u 


o 


- 


£3 




>.w 




t-'E 




Cfl^j 




^^ 




AND REPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



39 



principal tributary. This Creek has its 
source in the southern part of Pleasant 
Township. 

A short distance above New Moorefield 
another branch is received by Buck 
Creek. This branch extends easterly 
around south and east of Catawba. The 
valley of Buck Creek is not very wide but 
in many places is very fertile. About 
half or three-quarters of a mile south of 
the bridge across Mad River, on the St. 
Paris Pike, Pondy Creek enters from the 
west into Mad River. It has its source 
a mile or so north of Lawrenceville. For 
a shoi't distance from its source it flows to 
the northeast, coming within less than a 
mile of Chapman's Creek, south of Tre- 
.mont City; thence south parallel to the 
River, It has a tiirbulent little branch en- 
tering it about two miles from its mouth 
called Dry Run. Both of these streams are 
what may be called dry-water streams. 
About half a mile north of the Eagle City 
mill, Mad River divides, one part flowing 
around to the east for about two miles 
until it again enters the river. This is 
called the prong, the main part of the 
river being taken south past the mills at 
Eagle City. Into this prong, perhaps 
half a mile north of the Eagle City Road, 
enters a stream which, as now composed, 
includes the waters of Moore's Run and 
Kenton Creek, originally Kenton Creek 
only. This stream is a fresh-water stream 
having its source north of Villa in Moore- 
field Township. It receives its name from 
the fact that Simon Kenton at one time 
lived in that immediate vicinity. Its orig- 
inal name was Jarbo's creek, named from 
Phillip Jarbo, who was Kenton's brother- 
in-law. 

Originally Moore's Run entered into 



Mad River about a quarter of a mile south 
of the Tremont Road, and extended in a 
northeasterly direction up into Cham- 
paign Coimty. Recently, however, it has 
become diverted from its original channel 
and now joins with Kenton Creek. Its 
waters are almost entirely of spring form- 
ation, and consequently its flow of water 
is very regular, and it affords an excel- 
lent stream for stock watering purposes. 

Immediately south of the Tremont 
Road, Chapman's Creek enters into the 
river. It has its source in Champaign 
County, within a few miles of St. Paris. 
It received its name from Chapman, an 
early resident. It is a stream of consider- 
able fall and of some size during rainy 
weather. It is not of spring formation 
and therefore not very reliable for mill- 
ing purposes. 

Not far south of the county line, 
Storms Creek enters the river, and it ex- 
tends through a small portion of this 
county. It receives its name from Mr. 
Storms, an old resident. 

On the east side of the river not far 
from the county line enters Cedar Creek. 
This creek has its formation a few miles 
north of Champaign County. Storms 
Creek is much similar to Chapman's 
Creek in the source of its water supply, 
while Cedar Creek is much similar to 
Moore's Run and affords a constant sup- 
ply of pure spring water. 

The Little Miami and Other Steeams. 

The Little Miami River has its source 
in branches having their beginning in 
Springfield, Harmony and Madison Town- 
ships and leaves the county a few miles 
east of the village of Clifton. Along this 



40 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



stream between Clifton and Yellow 
Springs the river flows through a gorge 
thirty or forty feet deep and in some 
places less than twenty feet in width and 
affords the finest piece of natural scenery 
around this part of the state. The north 
fork of this stream has its source not far 
from the village of Plattsburg, and enters 
the main channel not far from the county 
line, being about twenty miles in length. 

The Lisbon fork has its source near the 
east comity line not far from where the 
C. C. C. & St. L. Railroad Company en- 
ters, and unites with the south fork a few 
miles west of South Charleston forming 
the river proper, the south fork flowing 
around south of South Charleston and 
having its source a few miles east of 
South Charleston near the C. C. C. & St. 
L. Railway. 

There is a little stream called Massie's 
Creek which flows in a southwesterly , 
direction in Madison Township and en- 
ters the Little Miami River in Greene 
County. Honey Creek is a branch of the 
Big Miami, having its source in several 
branches which have their beginnings in 
the northern part of Pike Township. It 
passes through the village of New Carlisle 
and leaves the county west of that place. 
It has a considerable flow of water, much 
of which is of spring formation. Its val- 
ley forms some of the richest soil to be 
found in the Miami Valley. 

Chakacter and Quality of the Soil. 

The fertility of the soil of the Miami 
Valley has long been recognized as being 
of a high grade, as the following quota- 
tion from Howe bears evidence: 

"Long before any permanent settle- 
ment was made in the Miami Valley, its 



beauty and fertility were known to the 
inhabitants of Kentucky and the people 
beyond the Alleghanies, and repeated ef- 
forts were made to get possession of it. 
These efforts led to retaliation on the part 
of the Indians, who resented the attempt 
to dispossess them of their lands, and the 
continuous raids back and forth across 
the Ohio River to gain or keep control of 
this beautiful valley, caused it to be called, 
until the close of the eighteenth century, 
the "Miami Slaughter-house." The re- 
port of the French Major, Celoron de 
Bienville, who, in August, 1749, ascended 
the La Roche or Big Miami River in 
bateaux, to visit the Twightwee villages 
at Piqua, has been observed, but Gist, the 
agent of the Virginians, who formed the 
Ohio Land Company, was probably the 
first person who wrote a description in 
English of the region surrounding Day- 
ton. Gist visited the Twightwee or Miami 
villages in 1751. He was delighted with 
the fertile and well -watered land, with its 
large oak, walnut, ash, wild cherry and 
other trees. 'The country,' he says, 
'abounded with turkey, deer, elk, and most 
sorts of game, particularly buffaloes, 
thirty or forty of which are frequently 
seen feeding in one meadow; in short, it 
wants nothing but cultivation to make it 
a most delightful country. The land upon 
the Great Miami River is very rich, level 
and well timbered, some of the finest 
meadows that can be. The grass here 
grows to a great height on the clear fields, 
of which there are a great number, and 
the bottoms are full of white clover, wild 
rye and blue grass.' It is stated by 
pioneer writers that the buffalo and elk 
disappeared from Ohio about the year 
1795. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



41 



"The development of the Miami Valley 
has shown that the glowing accounts of 
the early explorers as to the fertility of 
the soil were not too highly colored. The 
'Mad River Country,' as this region was 
called by the first pioneers, was the syn- 
onym for all that was desirable in farm- 
ing lands. 

The soil in every part of the county 
is more or less mixed with limestone 
di'ift. In the valleys it is of a red, dark 
color, and adapted to the raising of corn. 
In the southern part of the county around 
Medway, considerable tobacco is grown. 
In Pike and German townships, while 
good crops of corn and wheat can be 
grown, the soil is particularly adapted to 
the growing of oats. In many parts of 
Mad River Valley the soil is of that rich 
loamy character that gives a profitable 
growth to potatoes. The county being 
ramified in every dii'ection with streams, 
as the description heretofore given will 
show, makes it exceedingly well adapted 
for pastu.rage puiposes, and while the 
land has become almost too valuable to be 
used for stock-raising purposes, yet a 
growing city makes a considerable de- 
mand for products of dairy, and that in- 
dustry is growing rapidly. 

Timber. 

In reference to the kind of timber that 
would naturally grow upon the soil in 
Clark County, the following from Prof. 
Orton can be read with profit : 

"The native forests of the drift regions 
were, without exception, hard-wood for- 
ests, the leading species being oaks, 
maples, hickories, the walnut, beech and 
elm. The walnut, sugar maple and white 



hickory and, to quite an extent, the burr 
oak, are limited to warm, well-drained 
land, and largely to limestone land. The 
upland clays have one characteristic and 
all-important forest tree, viz., the white 
oak. It occupies vastly larger areas than 
any other single species. It stands for 
good land, though not the quickest or 
most generous, but intelligent farming can 
always be made successful on white oak 
land. Under-draining is almost always 
in order, if not necessary, on this division 
of our soils. The regions of sluggish 
drainage, already referred to, are oc- 
cupied in their native state by the red 
maple, the elm, and by several varieties of 
oaks, among which the swamp Spanish 
oak is prominent. This noble forest 
growth of Ohio is rapidly disappearing. 
The vandal -like waste of earlier days is 
being cheeked to some degree, but there 
is still a large amoimt of timber, in the 
growth of which centuries have been con- 
sumed, annually lost. 

"The character of the land when its 
occupation by civilization was begun in 
the last centui-y was easily read by the 
character of its forest growths. The 
judgments of the first explorers in regard 
to the several districts were right in every 
respect but one. They could not do full 
justice to the swampy regions of that 
early day, but their first and second-class 
lands fall into the same classifications at 
the present time. In the interesting and 
instructing narrative of Col. James 
Smith's captivity among the Indians, we 
find excellent examples of this discrimi- 
nating judgment in regard to the soils of 
Ohio as -they appeared in 1755. The 
'first-class land' of that narrative was the 
land occupied by the sugar tree and wal- 



42 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



nut, and it holds exactly the same place 
today. The 'second-class land' was the 
white oak forests of our high-lying drift- 
covered districts. The 'third-class' land 
were the elm and red maple swamps that 
occupied the divides between different 
river systems. By proper drainage, many 
of these last named tracts have recently 
been turned into the garden soils of Ohio, 
but, for such a result, it was necessary to 
wait until a century of civilized occupation 
of the country had passed. These facts 
show in clear light that the character of 
the soil depends upon the geological and 
geographical conditions under which it 
exists and from which it has been de- 
rived. ' ' 

To particularize, in this county it may 
be said that the oak predominates, the 
white oak being the principal variety, al- 
though there was a considerable amount 
of red, black, pigeon, swamp and other 
classes of this variety. 

In the fine red soil along the valleys 
there are very fine specimens of black 
walnut, there being also found a scatter- 
ing of butternut or white walnut. The 
oak forests were generally interspersed 
with hickory of the shell bark and other 
varieties. In the lands west of Mad River 
were found some sugar groves, but they 
were not plentiful enough to make the 
maple syrup industry a profitable one. 
Scattered sugar trees are found in almost 
all parts of the county. The beech and 
poplar variety are almost exclusively con- 
fined to the uplands of Pike and German 
Townships. Along Mad River there are 
some magnificent specimens of sycamore 
from five to six feet in diameter. The 
buckeye is also occasionally found. 

In the low bottom land, gray and swamp 



ash and the elm of white variety pre- 
vailed. The gray or harder ash is also 
found scattered in the uplands, it being 
the same particularly with the growth of 
oak. Elm is also found in the uplands. 

The sassafras and dog-wood likewise 
are usually found in what is known as oak 
land. The cottonwood, willow and quak- 
ing asp are generally confined to the low 
lands. The wild cherry is found scat- 
tered in many parts of the county. 

Occasionally trees of gTim, ironwood, 
mulberry, hackberry and persimmon will 
be found in the various parts of the coun- 
ty, while pawpaw bushes were mostly 
found in the forests of the beech and 
poplar, and the hazelbush in the oak grove. 

Some fine specimen of linn are also 
found, principally where the poplar and 
sugar grow. The wild crab-apple, black 
and red haw are, or rather were, found 
scattered here and there over the county. 
The blackberry bushes grow to profusion 
in many places. 

At one time no doubt at least four- 
fifths of the 200,000 acres of this county 
was covered with timber. Now, possibly 
less than one-tenth can be found to be in 
that condition and very little ia the con- 
dition that nature left it. 

Timber of the variety not indigenous to 
this county has been transplanted in va- 
rious places with success notably the 
South Carolina poplar and the catalpa. 

COMPAKATIVE TaBLE OF CrOPS. 



Acres. 


Bushels. 


Weight. 


ISSO 


1905 


1880 


1905 


1880 


1905 


Wheat 33,889 


2fi,05fi 


741, .813 


464.266 






Rye 21.'-i 


I.SIS 


3,672 


24,368 






Oats 4.295 


15,229 


144,035 


498,913 






Buck- 












•n-Seat 2S 


20 


375 


209 






Corn 43.821 


40,217 


1,458,50,1 


1,930,147 






Mea- 








tons 


tons 


dow 10.605 


12,040 






12,382 
tons 


20,243 
tons 


Clover 9.724 


14,707 


6,377 




6,858 


19,804 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



43 











lbs. 




Cultivatpcl 




npoe 










Innrt 108.100 


Flax 1,720 


reported 


14,437 




132,600 




PiiPtiiro 


Pota- 












land 40,279 


toes l.lliT 


824 


81,025 


76,352 


lbs. 


lbs. 


Wooci- 

lanrt .■54,861 


Tobacco 42 


194 






76.458 
lbs. 


121.622 

lbs. 


Waste 

land 3,237 


Butter 








469,461 
lbs. 


520,853 
lbs. 


Total 192,780 


Cheese 








680 


1,800 


Wool 



203,700 116,091 



CHAPTER IIL 



INDIAN OCCUPATION. 



In a Condition of Nature — Erie Indians — Iroquois — Twightwees — Shatvnees 
Indian Villages— Battle of Piqua — Tecumseh — Indian Character — Indian 
Fighting — Indian Incidents, etc. 



In a Con"dition of Nature. 

Mui'at Ha] stead lias given a beautiful 
description of the natural condition of 
Ohio, which is particularly applicable to 
the part in which Clark Covmty is lo- 
cated, when he says "The French were 
truthful, as well as tasteful, when they 
named the Ohio, 'The Beautiful River.' " 
In the grand old days of the wilderness, 
the "game" crossed the famous stream, 
finding fords in the absence of floods. The 
buffaloes that roamed through the shady 
paradise, between the great river and the 
lake, knew well the wide water that 
divided and united the valley; and their 
mighty feet made roads for the herds to 
seek, wading or swimming to the salty 
waters they loved, and the blue grass that 
was agreeable in its nutritious assimila- 
tion. The daiiity families of the Virgin- 
ian deer were pleased to sport in the 
bright streams. The southern squirrels 
gathered in armies and invaded the north, 
and, in frisky array, their noses and tails 
telling that they held steadily on their ap- 



pointed course. Their tails were • very 
helpful sails — for squirrel squadrons. 
There were "bear wallows" on the clay 
hills, where the vigorous animal made bath 
tubs for his personal use. The bear was 
the predecessor of the hog. In the deep 
woods there were showered an ample sup- 
ply of acorns and beech nuts, hickory 
nuts and walnuts, and haws, red and blue ; 
vines loaded with the grapes named for 
their fond lovers the fox and the crow. 
There were wild crab apples that only the 
frost could mellow, and pawpaws, the 
temperate zone banana of the color of 
golden butter; and the surveyors of the 
new lands of promise, reported (and the 
story grew as it spread) that the legs 
of their riding horses were crimsoned 
with the blood of raspberries that stood 
on the slopes among the sugar trees. 
Some of the berries were red and some 
were yellow, and all had a delightful 
flavor. The May apples blossomed white 
over the brown fallen leaves, that each 
year added to tlie fruitfulness of the land. 
There were two tall and delicate trees, 



xiND REPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



45 



held in high, favor and having an ahnost 
oriental repiitation, as it seemed they 
should have been the pride and luxury of 
the tropics. The mulberiy and persim- 
inon are witnesses testifying in Ohio that 
there is no monopoly of sweetness in the 
forests of the torrid zone. One ought not 
to forget that the Ohio woods, before 
they were despoiled, held groves of the 
slippery elm tree, which, however, was 
more than matched by the fragrance of 
the sassafras and the blazing tints of the 
red buds, seeming luminous growth of the 
American beauty roses, that lit up the hill 
sides with a springtime glory srtrpass- 
ing the exquisite fires the frost kindles 
in October. Beside the red bud, whose 
name is most inadequate (for it is worthy 
the gardens of Persia the poets paint) 
stood the dogwood, a gnarled and sturdy 
undergrowth, blossoming in the sunshine 
of spring as if the trees were of wands 
bursting into enchanting bloom, when the 
tires of summer poured white light to 
illumine saplings bending under fairy 
snow drifts, gathered on the boughs 
burdened with beauty.'-' 

Erie IifroiANS. 

In all probability the Erie Indians were 
the immediate successors of the mound 
builders. Much of history in reference to 
this fact rests in tradition but this seems 
to be now accepted as the nearest solu- 
tion to the truth that can be obtained. 
Some historical data exists that about 
1640, the Eries ranged over Ohio. 
Whether the mound builders were ex- 
terminated or removed to the south, or 
degenerated in the savages of prehistoric 
times, is a question that still remains un- 
solved. 



The first authentic account of the Ohio 
wilderness is from the French explorers. 
The Eries held the country to the south 
of Lake Erie, how far is not known. They 
were a powerful and numerous people 
living in fortified villages, and tradition 
credits them with being the most enlight- 
ened of all the Indian tribes of North 
America, excepting only the Aztecs of 
Mexico. 

Teoquois. 

The Iroquois, frequently designated as 
the Five Nations, as including the Mo- 
hawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Senecas and 
Cayugas, were the foes of the Eries.* 
About 1660 the Iroquois surprised the, 
Erie warriors, stormed their fortifica- 
tions and after the custom of the victors, 
carried away and adopted the women and 
children of their vanquished foes. This 
tribe of Indians claimed all the land north 
of the Ohio River, and as such tribe at 
one time ceded their interest in these lands 
to that part of the. United States which 
was then included in the state of New 
York, a controversy arose as to whether 
Ohio really belonged to Virginia by rea- 
son of the conquest and explorations made 
by Clark and others, or whether it be- 
longed to New York by virtue of the treaty 
made with the Iroquois. There is consid- 
erable controversy over the fact as to 
whether they really ever occupied much, 
if any, of the State of Ohio, but if so 
l>Tohably very little of the territory now 
within Clark County. 

History shows that whatever the 
Iroquois may have done, or claimed, as 



*Abont 17,12 the Tuscaroras, who had been driven 
from North Carolina by the British, joined the confed- 
eracy, which thereafter was commonly known as the 
Six Nations. 



46 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



to the conquest of this section, the tribes 
that were afterwards found in central 
Ohio — the Wyandottes, Delawares, Shaw- 
nees, Miamis and others did not concur 
therein. 

While the Iroquois were a powerful con- 
federation, it is said that they were at 
no time a numerous people. At the time 
of their greatest affluence they are said 
not to have numbered more than 25,000 
and at the time of our revolution prob- 
ably less than 15,000, and after their con- 
flict with the western tribes they slowly 
drew back, claiming the title but really 
relinquishing it. 

TwiGTWEES. (Miamis.) 

This tribe or nation of Indians were oc- 
cupants of the Miami Valley as early as 
1749, as the following quotation from 
Gist's Journal will show: 

"The Great Miami river was tirst 
known as Rock River, called by the French 
Riviere de la Roche, from its rocky bed. 
When the Miami nation emigrated to it 
from the Wabash, it took their name. Its 
head approached near that of the Maumee, 
which empties into Lake Erie, and was 
the original Miami, but changed by the 
whites to avoid confusion. The two rivers 
with a portage between their waters, 
formed one of the principal canoe routes 
between the Ohio and the Lake. It was 
that by which Celeron (see next chapter) 
went from Ohio to Detroit. The Twigt- 
wees were Miamis, of which nation the 
Piekwayliness and Pyankeshees, later 
mentioned, were also tribes. They were 
once a very powerful nation, and claimed 
to have held the land between the Scioto 
and the Wabash, from the Ohio to the 



lakes, beyond the memory of man. They 
were the only Northern Indians who had 
not at some time been subdued by the Six 
Nations, and had so harassed them when 
they had extended their conquest of other 
nations to the Mississippi that they had 
to relinquish their hold there and restrict 
themselves to their former limits. They 
had been faithful allies of the French 
from their first appearance on the lakes, 
and equally persistent enemies of the 
English, until a few years prior to this 
time, when they had changed their al- 
legiance, moved from the Wabash to the 
Miami, and became friendly to the Eng- 
lish. For this and in retaliation for their 
treaty with Groghand and Fist, the 
French waged a destructive war against 
them, taking their fort and burning their 
villages in 1752." 

It is probable that the Miami Indians 
to a certain extent occupied at one time 
parts of Clark County. 

Shawnees. 

But whatever we may say about Indian 
occupation of Clark County, we know 
that the Shawnees were the immediate 
predecessors of the white man, that it was 
with this tribe that the historic battle of 
Piqua was fought in 1780 by General 
Clark, and some historians say that this 
tribe or nation of Indians were the im- 
mediate followers of the mound builders, 
but this rests only on tradition. 

The centennial of this battle of Piqua, 
Avhich was held in 1880, brought forth a 
great many historical matters in reference 
to the Shawnee Indians, and a letter of 
particular importance which is found in 
Beer's history, from Prof. Royce of the 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



47 



Smithsonian Institute, gives moi'e facts 
about this tribe than can be found else- 
where. He says, "the Shawnees were the 
Bedouins, and I may almost say the 
Ishmaelites of the North American Tribes. 
As wanderers they were without rival 
among their race, and as fomenters of dis- 
cord and war between themselves, and 
iheir neighbors their genius was marked. 
Their original home is not, with any great 
measure of certainty, known. It is alto- 
gether improbable that it ever will be." 

Of them Gen. Keifer in his welcome 
address at the centennial said : 

' ' On these grounds, 100 years ago, were 
the then principal villages of the Shawnee 
Indian tribe. This tribe had occupied dif- 
ferent portions of the now territory of 
the United States during nearly three 
hundred years of preceding history, and 
it was the most warlike of all the Indian 
tribes. It had rarely been at peace with 
the other tribes until it went to war with 
the whites. Their chiefs possessed more 
sagacity and more of the true spirit of 
warriors than the chiefs of other tribes. 
Their traditions were of war, extending 
back to a time when they, in search of con- 
quest, 'crossed a sea' to this continent. 
In this tribe alone did the latter tradition 
prevail. Here the head chiefs made their 
home. On account of the abundance of 
game, the richness of soil, the pure water 
from the numberless perennial springs, 
the large quantities of fish which then 
aboimded in the limpid waters of Mad 
Eiver and its tributary streams, the facil- 
ity for engaging in favorite sports upon 
the river and the then open prairies, these 
aboriginal people had become more than 
ordinarily attached to this place as a 
home. The acquisition of these lands may 



have been at the cost of many of their 
chiefs and braves. Here were the graves 
of their ancestors and those dear to them. 
They followed the natural instincts of 
mankind in defending this country against 
the aggressions of the white race." 

There were probably several branches 
of the Shawnee tribe or nation. At the 
time that the white occupation of Ohio 
began they were no doubt in possession of 
Central Ohio, as a number of villages bear 
names evidencing that fact. From the time 
of 1780 we find them engaged more or 
less in wars between the Indians and the 
whites and as parties to treaties with the 
white people. In 1790 they suffered from 
the expedition of Gen. Harmar, but after- 
wards had a share with the Miamis in his 
final defeat. In 1791 they rejoiced over 
the defeat of St. Clair, and in 1794 they 
were made to feel the effect of General 
WajTie's victory. They were parties to a 
treaty of peace that was made in 1786 at 
the mouth of the Great Miami and in 1795, 
by the treaty of Greenville, they sur- 
rendered much of their territory, com- 
prising about two-thirds of Ohio and a 
portion of Indiana. In 1805 they were 
ag'ain parties to a treaty wherein they 
ceded to the United States a large tract 
of country lying north and west of the 
Greenville treaty line, and east of the 
north and south of a line twenty miles 
west of the Pennsylvania, and in 1805 they 
with their tribes granted a right of way 
for two roads, one running from Meigs 
on the Maumee on the western reserve 
and one from Fremont south to the Green- 
ville treaty line. With their chief, Tecum- 
seh, they were defeated in the battle of 
Tippecanoe in 1811. 

In 1817 they were parties to a treaty 



48 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



and lost the entire Indian Territor)" with- 
in the present limits of Ohio. In return 
for what they gave they were granted cer- 
tain resei*vations, one of which was a tract 
ten miles square near Wapakoneta, a tract 
adjoining of twenty-five miles on Hog 
Creek, as well as a tract of forty-eight 
square miles surrounding Lewistown. 
(There was an earlier Wapakoneta, which 
was located on Mad River near where a 
small stream enters, about two and one- 
half miles south of West Liberty.) 

In the war with the Mingos and Shaw- 
nees, in 1818 there was added a tract, 
twenty miles square, to the reserve at 
Wapakoneta, and fourteen miles to the 
one at Lewistown. By the treaty of 1831, 
the Lewistown reserve was ceded to the 
United States, as well as those at Wapa- 
koneta and Hog Creek, and this was the 
last of the lands over which the Shawnees 
claimed any title in Ohio, they agreeing 
to move west. For this purpose a tract of 
60,000 acres of land was granted to the 
Lewistown band of Shawnees in the north- 
east corner of Indian Territory, which 
has been their most recent place of resi- 
dence. 

Such has been the fate of the Shaw- 
nees, who once occupied this valley. 
When first known to the whites, they were 
a numerous and warlike people of 
Greorgia and South Carolina. They aban- 
doned or were driven from that locality, 
and located in Pennsylvania and took part 
in the tragic scenes of the Wyoming Val- 
ley. 

They fought on Braddock's field, at 
Point Pleasant, and along the whole line 
of the Western Frontier, and lastly, we 
find them on the Wabash at Tippecanoe. 
Their traditions, if carefully preserved, 



would have embraced a hundred battle- 
fields in as many separate districts, which 
now embrace eight or nine sovereign 
states, with a population of from eight to 
ten millions of people. The last Indians 
removed from Ohio in 1841. 

Indian Viliages. 

The Indians in selecting a site for vil- 
lages, usually gave preference to fertile 
lands bordering upon streams of water. 
The location of only two Indian villages 
is known to have been in Clark County. 
In Beer's history it is said that on a 
farm of the Smiths perhaps one-half of 
a mile west of the village of New Carlisle 
there stood the village of Chinchima. 
This village was located on Honey Creek. 
It might have been a Miami village, as 
the Miami s seem to have been in occu- 
pancy of the lands along the Miami River. 
The other village in Clark County was 
that of Piqua which was the scene of the 
historic battle of General Clark, which 
will be subsequently narrated herein. The 
location of this village is well described 
in the history given of that battle. The 
result of the battle was that the Indians 
practically abandoned the territory now 
comprised in this county. Afterwards 
they established another village which 
they likewise called Piqua, and this was 
at the place where the city of Piqua in 
Miami County is now located. They also 
had another town of the same name with- 
in the boundary of what is now Pickaway 
Coimty. The fact that the Indians gave 
these same names to villages in different 
localities has caused considerable confu- 
sion in reading Indian history, it some- 
times being hard to distinguish which one 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



of the different places is meant. There 
were quite a number of villages leading- 
north on Mad River; about two and a 
half miles south of West Liberty was 
Wapakoneta, next was the town of Mac- 
a-cheek, then three miles northwest from 
Mac-a- cheek, on the west side of the river, 
was Pigeon Town; Wapatomica near 
Zanesfield was nest. Blue Jacket was 
where Bellefontaine now is. Three miles 
above was Buckingahelas, and nine miles 
Solomon's Town. 

They also had a town or village three 
miles north of Xenia, which was called 
Chillicothe, and another town of the same 
name where the city of Chillicothe is now 
located in Ross County. Historians have 
disting-uished these two by calling the one 
near Xenia "Old Chillicothe." This lat- 
ter place was destroyed by an expedition 
from Kentucky, a year previous to the 
battle of Piqua. As the battle of Piqua 
IS the first and only battle that has ever 
occurred so far as we know upon Clark 
County ground a description of the same 
cannot be otherwise than interesting. 

During the Sha^vnee Centennial of 1880 
the Hon. Thomas F. McGrew prepared a 
paper on the subject, and from the fact 
that he was not only long a resident of 
this place, but was also learned and cau- 
tious in a matter of this kind, I think it 
may be considered the most reliable that 
can be found anjTvhere and I insert it 
herewith. 

Battle of Piqua. 

_ "The old Indian town of Piqua was 
situated about five miles west of the pres- 
ent site of the city of Springfield, Ohio, 
on the north bank of Mad River. In e-o- 



49 

ing there from the city named, you pass 
down Mad River until you reach a point ' 
where the stream runs in a westerly direc- 
tion out into a large basin or prairie, 
which gives some evidence of having one 
time been the bottom of a small lake. 

"At the time the Indians occupied the 
place, the prairie was about three miles 
long and one mile wide. It is now fenced 
off into farms under the highest state of 
cultivation. At the upper end of this 
beautiful open landscape, the river grace- 
fully bends round and silently flows to the 
south; then again toward the west, con- 
tinuing in the latter direction until it 
reaches the lower end of the prairie, 
where it sweeps around to the northwest' 
and is soon lost to sight in the forest be- 
low. 

"At the time referred to, on the south 
side of the river was another prairie, 
bordered by the low hills in the distance! 
Over this prairie ran the road from the 
old Indian town of Chillicothe, about 
twelve miles south of Piqua, and reached 
the river on the south bank, nearly op- 
posite the latter town. 

"About two-thirds of the distance down 
the prairie, on the north side of the river, 
further progress was obstructed by what 
might be called a willow swamp, stretch- 
ing across the prairie from the southwest 
to the northeast, and stopping about one 
or two hundred yards short of a limestone 
cliff, rising out of the north border of the 
basin or prairie. 

"Behind the willow swamp was located 
the town of Piqua, and behind the town 
was a round-topped hill, rising up 100 
feet from the level of the plain. From the 
crown of this hill the country might be 
overlooked for as much as five miles up 



50 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



and down the river. The general ap- 
pearance of the locality, in its almost 
primitive wildness, must have been of 
unsurpassed loveliness. 

"The rocks on the north side of the 
prairie rose up out of the same like a 
stone wall, twenty-five or thirty feet high, 
running down in the direction of the 
round-topped hill back of Piqua, before 
reaching which it was suddently cut off, 
leaving an open space between the hills 
and rocks. This was covered with a 
growth of forest trees of a low and bushy 
growth. It was impossible to pass up over 
this wall of rocks in large companies, ex- 
cept in one or two places, where they in- 
clined to drop to the level of the prairie. 

"At one point, there was an opening 
cut down from the point of the cliffs, and 
quite through them to the lowlands, by 
some natural force, and was so narrowed 
that not more than one person, certainly 
not more than two, could pass up or down 
through the cut at the same moment of 
time. This place was concealed from ob- 
servation by a heav}^ undergrowth of 
timber, and could be easily obstructed, and 
could check the advance of a victorious 
army. 

"The approach to the lower part of the 
town was defended by a stockade fort, 
not common with Indians as a means of 
defense. It included a space of about two 
acres. The hill, the wall of rocks, the 
open plain, carpeted with wild flowers of 
all color; the silver line of the river, the 
hills far off in the distance, crowned with 
forest trees, and the long line of Indian 
wigwams, marking their locations by 
curling wreaths of smoke, as it rose up 
from the fires, with here and there a 
cornfield, indicated that the Indians had 



selected this place not only for its natural 
strength, but as well for its fertility and 
beauty. 

' ' The Indian children of the town could 
play before the cabin doors in the low- 
lands, free from the apprehension of 
danger, while the warrior on the hill-top 
might sweep the whole country on the 
lookout for an approaching enemy, and, 
by an agreed signal, warn the whole tribe 
in a moment. 

"In August, A. D. 1780, Piqua was quite 
populous. In addition to the Shawnees, 
300 Mingoes were there as allies to aid in 
the defense of the place. Piqua is said to 
have contained, at one period, nearly four 
thousand Shawnees. 

"The town was built after the manner 
of French villages. The houses extended 
along the river more than three miles, and 
were in many jolaces more than twenty 
poles apart. 

"The celebrated, hardened villain, 
Simon Girty, was the leader of the Mingo 
braves, as allies of the Shawnees. He 
had been educated in, and had adopted 
with savage delight, all the cruelties prac- 
ticed by the Indians, and stood near, two 
years later, in the presence of his old 
friend Colonel Crawford, and derived 
fiendish enjoyment from witnessing his 
agonies while burning at the stake. Per- 
haps he remembered, even in the presence 
of this awful event, that the hand of one 
of the daughters of Crawford had been 
denied to him before he deserted to the 
Indians. This would be dreadful revenge, 
but Grirty was a dreadful savage. A pris- 
oner among the Indians, who met with the 
scoundrel, described him as a man with 
dark, shaggy hair, low forehead, ' con- 
tracted brows, meeting above Ms short, 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



51 



flat nose, gray, sunken eyes, and tliin, com- 
pressed lips, with a wicked expression of 
countenance that made him seem the 
picture of a villain. C. W. Butterfield 
writes that, 'all the vices of civilization 
seemed to center in him, and by him were 
ingrafted upon those of the savage state, 
without the usual redeeming qualities of 
either. ' He moved about through the In- 
dian country during the war of the Revo- 
lution and the Indian war which followed, 
a dark whirlwind of fury, desperation and 
barbarity. 

"In the refinements of torture inflicted 
upon helpless prisoners, as compared with 
the Indians', theirs seemed to be merci- 
ful. In treachery, he stood unrivaled. 
The prisoner who became his captive must 
abandon all hope of pity, and yield him- 
self to the club, the scalping-knife and the 
indescribable agonies of the stake. No 
Indian, drunk, was a match for him. He 
swore horrid oaths. He appeared like a 
host of evil spirits. He was called a beast, 
and a villainous, untrustworthy cur dog. 
This savage, compounded of all the 
meaner qualities that could or might dis- 
figure the life of a human being, it has 
been affirmed, had in some rare moments 
better emotions. He met with his former 
acquaintance, Simon Kenton, while the 
latter was a prisoner of the Indians, under 
sentence of death, and called him his dear 
friend, and interfered and saved his life. 
He looked the scoundrel with a gloomy 
stare, while 'o'er his eyebrows hung his 
matted hair.' 

' ' The celebrated chief of the Shawnees, 
Catahecassa, or the Black Hoof, was born 
in Florida and had bathed and fished in 
salt water before he settled on Mad River. 
He was present at the defeat of Braddock, 



near Pittsburg, in 1755, and was engaged 
in all the wars in Ohio from that time 
until the treatji^ of Greenville, in 1795. He 
was a man of sagacity and experience, and 
of fierce and desperate bravery, and well 
informed in the traditions of his people. 
He occupied the highest position in his 
nation, and was opposed to polygamy and 
the practice of burning prisoners. He 
was a man of good health and was five 
feet eight inches in height. He died in 
Wapakoneta at the age of one hundred 
and ten years, A. I). 1831. Without be- 
ing able to find it so stated, after some 
investigation, in so many words, I believe 
that this Indian was the chief leader in 
the defense of Piqua when the place was 
invested by Gen. Clark. To prevent, if 
such a thing could be possible, almost con- 
tinual depredations of the Indians upon 
the border population, an expedition was 
organized to mai'cli against their towns 
on Mad River. This army rendezvoused 
at the place where Covington, in the State 
of Kentucky, now stands. It ascended the 
Ohio River from Louisville in transport 
boats, whicli also brought provisions and 
stores. 

"On the opposite side of the river they 
built a block-house, in which to store' pro- 
visions and form a base of supplies. This 
house was the first one built on the site 
where the city of Cincinnati, now stands. 

"On the 2nd of August, A. D. 1780, 
Gen. George Rogers Clark moved with 
an army of 1,000 men from the point 
named to the Indian towns on Mad River, 
located in and near to the terirtory which 
is now included in Clark County, Ohio. 
The distance to be marched was about 
eighty miles, through an untracked for- 
est, over which, with great labor, the 



52 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



soldiers cut and bridged, when found nec- 
essary, a road for the passage of horses 
and pack-mules, and one six-pound can- 
non. 

''The soldiers marched without tents, 
beds or personal baggage. Their rations 
for a thirty-days campaign were six 
quarts of corn, one gill of salt, with what 
green corn and wild game they might pick 
up on the march. Any meat they ob- 
tained w^as cooked on sticks set up be- 
fore the fire. Sometimes green plums and 
nettles were cooked and eaten by the men. 

"The impression obtained, not only in 
the settlement, but with the soldiers, that 
if the army was defeated none of the men 
w^ould escape, and that in such events the 
Indians would fall on the defenseless 
women and children of Kentucky and 
massacre them, burn their towns and their 
villages, and lay waste their country. It 
seemed to be a choice either that the 
white settlers or the Indians must be de- 
stroyed, and both parties regarded it in 
the same light, and acted with the calm- 
ness and bravery usual to forlorn hopes, 
formed of soldiers commanded to en- 
counter some desperate exigency. Daniel 
Boone, the pioneer Indian tighter, acted 
as a spy for the expedition.* The skill 
and vigilance which entered into the cam- 
paign will be demonstrated by a presenta- 
tion of the manner, form, and conduct of 
the army while on the march. 

"It was separated into two divisions. 
General Clark commanded the first and 
Colonel Logan the second. Between thest^ 
two columns marched the pack mules and 
the artillery. The men in each division 
were ordered to march in four lines, about 



*Thif: statement is doubted as Boone was then sup- 
posed to have been in the east. Ed. 



forty yards apart, with a line of flankers 
on each side, about the same distance 
from the riglit and left lines. In the event 
of an attack from the enemy in the front, 
it was to halt, and the two right lines 
■would "nheel to the xight, and two left 
lines wheel to the left, and the artillery 
would advance to the front, the whole 
forming a complete line of battle. The 
second division would form in the same 
manner, and advance or act as a reserv^e. 
By calling in the right and left flanking 
parties, the whole force would present a 
line of battle in the form of a square, with 
the pack mules and the baggage in the 
center. In case of an attack on either 
flank, or the rear^ the same maneuver 
Avould put the army in the most favorable 
position for defense or assault. 

"On the 6th day of August, A. D. 1780, 
the army arrived at the Indian town of 
old Chillicothe, only to find it burned and 
the inhabitants gone. On the 7th, some 
days sooner than the Indians had ex- 
pected, it drew up in front of Old 
Piqua. A soldier had deserted to the In- 
dians before the army arrived at the 
mouth of the Licking, and gave notice of 
the approaching expedition. The attack 
commenced about 2 o'clock p. m. on the 
8th day of August, and lasted until 5 in 
the evening. The assaulting forces were 
divided into three separate commands. 
One, imder the command of Colonel Lynn, 
was ordered to cross the river' and encom- 
pass the town on the west side. To pre- 
vent this move from being successful, the 
Indians made a powerful effort to turn 
the left wing of the assaulting party, 
which Colonel I;ynn successfully defeated 
by extending his force a mile to the west 
of the town. Colonel Logan, with 400 men 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



under his command, was ordered to march 
up the south side of the river, concealing, 
if possible, the move from the observation 
of the Indians, and cross over the stream 
at the upper end of the prairie, and pre- 
vent their escape in that direction. Gen- 
eral Clark remained in command of the 
center, including one six-pounder cannon. 
He #as to assault the town in front. 

"This disposition of the forces, with a 
simultaneous assault made by the separ- 
ate commands, promised, if well executed, 
the capture of the town and a complete 
rout of the Indians, with the death of a 
great number. According to the custom 
of the times, no prisoners were made. All 
that were captured were put to death. 

"The Indians, according to their plan 
of defense, could not safely retreat, if de- 
feated, over the round-topped hill, for the 
elevation would bring them within sight 
and range of the American rifle, and the 
cannon with the command of Gen. Clark, 
which, in appearance and sound, created 
more fear than it did harm. 

"Neither could they escape out of the 
upper end of the prairie, for Colonel 
Logan and his 400 men had been sent to 
intercept them there ; nor to the north, for 
this route was too much obstructed by the 
rocks ; nor to the west or lower part of the 
town, the location of the stockade fort, for 
at this point the battle raged with the 
greatest fierceness, under the command of 
Colonel Lynn. The constant crack of the 
rifle in its deadly work, the shouts of the 
white soldiers, the yells of the Indians, 
the screams of the wounded and dying, 
the distant roar of the cannon, disclosed 
this to be the point where defeat was to 
be accepted or victory won. 

"Simon Girty, who never was a con- 

3 



stant friend to any party, 'gnashing his 
teeth in impotent rage,' ordered his 300 
Mingo Indians to withdraw from what 
may have appeared to him an unequal 
fight.* 

"This moment of time, near the same 
hour of the day one hundred years ago, 
was a dark and doubtful crisis in the 
history of that part of our country which 
is now regarded as the most beautiful, 
fertile and thickly populated part of Ohio. 

"If Clark's army had been defeated, we 
cannot doubt that every white soldier 
would have been put to death, and the 
State of Kentucky invaded by the Indians, 
and what would have followed on the 
border can only be conjectured by what 
we have heen told in the history of In- 
dian wars. 

"The Shawnees, disheartened by the 
withdrawal of their allies, and pressed by 
the fierce, rather desperate fighting of 
the whites, which they denominated 'mad- 
ness,' or fate, so reckless were the sol- 
diers in exposing their lives (and against 
such 'madness' the Indians never con- 
tend), gave up the fight and slowly fell 
back up the prairies, partly concealed by 
the tall grass, the wigwams, and the trees 
in the willow swamp. They fought as they 
retreated, not for victory, but for their 
lives, until they reached the rocks, be- 
neath which they had concealed their 
women and children. 

"Their situation was now worse than 
it had been at the commencement of the 
conflict, for they had passed all the low 
ground, making a retreat to the north 
practical, with the exception of the open- 



♦ButterfieM. in his history of thp Girtvs. savs that 
there were no Mingoes in Piqua at the time it was at- 
tacked by Clark and Simon Girtv was not there nn 
122. 40G. Ed. ■ *^ 



54 



HISTOEY OF CLABK COUNTY 



ing cut down from the top of the cliff 
already described, and up through this, 
tradition claims, they marched out into 
the hills. If Colonel Logan had executed 
his part of the plan with greater rapidity, 
the Indians would have been cut off from 
this place of retreat, and a great number 
of tliem put to death. Some persons as- 
sert that Colonel Logan marched to a 
13oint where Mad Eiver meets with the 
waters of Buck Creek before he crossed 
the river, and then marched down the 
east side thereof to execute his part of 
the general plan. He marched about three 
miles, accgrding to all the authorities, and 
this is the distance from the site of the 
Old Piqua to the 7Uouth of Buck Creek. 

"It follows that, if he did go so high 
up the river as the point named, that he 
would have travelled six miles before he 
could bring his men into action. 

"This view of the maneuvering, after 
looking over the location of the battlefield, 
seems so unmilitary that I cannot accept 
it. I presume that he made a detour from 
the river, that his force might not be ob- 
served, as secrecy was one of the condi- 
tions of success. To accomplish his part 
of the general plan, he may have marched 
three miles, but certainly not six. Let 
this point be settled as it may, there is 
no dispute about the fact that when he 
got his men into position, the battle had 
been fought and won, and the Indians 
gone. The loss was about equal — twenty 
men on each side. 

"On the 9th of August, the stockade 
fort, the shot-battered cabins, and the 
corn fields, were destroyed. On the 10th, 
General Clark, with his army, left for 
Kentucky. This campaign left the Indians 
without shelter or food. They had to hunt 



for their supi^ort and that of their fam- 
ilies, leaving them no time for war, and 
the border settlements lived in peace and 
without fear. 

"This once powerful nation of the 
Shawnees had resided near Winchester, 
Va., then in Kentucky and in South 
Carolina, after that on the Susquehanna, 
in the State of Pennsylvania. From this 
last-named point they emigrated to the 
banks of the Mad Eiver, and remained 
until driven from Piqua by General 
Clark. 

"The Shawnees are now no more. The 
nation which gave birth to the great 
chiefs so intimately connected with the 
early history of Ohio, such as Blue Jacket, 
Black Hoof, Cornstalk, Captain Logan, 
Tecumseh, and the latter 's vagabond 
brother, the Prophet, has gone out of his- 
tory." 

Tecumseh. 

Tecumseh was no doubt the most 
noted man that ever sprimg from the 
Shawnee tribe of Indians, of whom 
E. O. Eandall, who is most excellent 
authority, said, "With the exception 
of Grant and Sherman, he was, in 
my opinion, the greatest warrior born 
within the borders of Ohio. He was more 
than a mere fighter; he was a diplomatist, 
orator and a natural leader of men; he 
watched what he knew was a hopeless con- 
test, but fought bravely to the last; he 
was idolized by his followers and re- 
spected by his foes." 

There is no question but that he was 
born at this old Shawnee town of Piqua, 
he himself having pointed out that site as 
his birthplace, during his lifetime. On 
the centennial dav of this memorable bat- 



AND EEPRESENTATTVE CITIZENS. 



55 



tie, and I know of no one who could speak 
more authoritatively, for he himself was 
born in that immediate locality, General 
Keifer said: 

"Who were there on that memorable 
day? There were here (at their birth- 
place) the three ten-year-old brothers — 
triplets — with their Creek mother, two of 
whom became famed in the bloody history 
of the West. The names of those boys 
were Tecumseh (a cougar crouching for 
his prey), Ellskwatawa (an open door), 
afterward named and recognized as the 
Prophet, and Eumskaka." 

Elsewhere in history I found it said : 

"His father, Puckeshinwa, was a mem- 
ber of the Kisopok tribe of the Swanoese 
nation, and his mother, Methontaske, was 
a member of the Turtle tribe of the same 
people. They moved from Florida about 
the middle of the last century to the birth- 
place of Tecumseh. In 1774, his father, 
who had risen to be chief, was slain at the 
battle of Point Pleasant, and not long 
after, Tecumseh, by his bravery, became 
the leader of his tribe. In 1795 he was 
declared chief and then lived at Deer 
Creek,' near the site of the present City of 
Urbana. He remained here about one 
year, when he returned to Piqua, and in 
1798, he went to White River, Indiana." 

James, a British historian, in his ac- 
count of the battle of the Thames, de- 
scribes him as follows: 

"A Shawnee, five feet ten inches high, 
and with more than the usual stoutness. 
He possessed all the agility and persever- 
ance of the Indian character. His carriage 
was dignitied; his eye penetrating; his 
countenance, even in death, betrayed in- 
dications of a lofty spirit, rather of the 
sterner cast." This writer was describ- 



ing an oflScer of the English army. His 
national pride would incline him to a 
favorable estimate of an Indian chief who 
served in the English army, and in that 
light we must regard his portraiture of 
Tecumseh. "I have met," says Thomas 
F. McGrew, "and conversed with an early 
settler in Clark County who remembered 
his personal appearance, and described 
him as nothing above that of an ordinary 
Indian . ' ' 

Tecumseh was born about 1768 and was 
killed at the battle of the Thames, Octo- 
ber 5, 1813, being then forty-iive years 
of age. His first prominent appearance 
was in the attack on Fort Recovery (near 
Greenville, Ohio) in 1794. 

About 1805 his brother, Ellskwatawa 
set himself up as a prophet, denouncing 
the use of liquor, and all food and man- 
ners introduced by the whites. He and 
Tecumseh then attempted to imite all the 
western tribes into one nation to resist 
the whites, extending from the lakes to 
the Gulf of Mexico, and soon had 10,000 
Indians gathered at Greenville. 

General Harrison required them to 
move, as it was beyond the Indian limit 
fixed by treaty. 

In 1811 he was in the south getting the 
Creeks and Seminoles to rise and, by 
promise of English aid, to overthrow the 
United States authority. 

The battle of the Thames was fought 
October 6, 181.3. In this battle Tecumseh 
held the title of Brigadier General from 
the British, and he is buried not far from 
that battlefield. He seems to have had a 
presentiment that he would not survive 
this battle, for it is said that laying aside 
his sword and uniform in the conviction 
that he might fall he put on his hunting 



56 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



suit and was soon killed. Col. K. M. 
Johnson is said to have shot him, but it 
was not known for some days by the 
Americans. All historians do not agree 
as to Tecumseh's ability or his general 
character. Tliat he was an Indian pos- 
sessed of the peculiarities of that race is 
no doubt true ; that he was at times cruel 
and vacillating is beyond dispute, but gen- 
erally I think it may be accorded to him, 
that if not classed in the high rank that 
Eandall puts him, yet he was beyond ques- 
tion the most distinguished Indian that 
ever had his birth within the borders of 
this county. 

Indian' Chaeacter. 

Greneral Anderson in his address at the 
Ohio Centennial thus speaks of the gen- 
eral character of the red man. 

"Let us now try to fonn some estimate 
of the party of the second part, of the 
noble red man. He is a survival of the 
stone age, and probably belongs to the old- 
est race of man. He is brave, patient, en- 
during, loyal to his tribe, and fairly 
honest, imtil demoralized by evil associa- 
tion. On the other hand, he was cruel, 
revengeful, lazy, and unreliable. The 
curse of Reuben is upon him. 'Unstable 
as water, he cannot excel.' Naturally 
the Indian has a warlike and not peace- 
ful characteristic. "We used to hear 
stories of a handful of white men stand- 
ing off hordes of howling savages. The 
fact is, that under the conditions of 
frontier warfare, the Indians are, man 
for man, equal to the white men. Suc- 
cess in war does not depend on the half- 
hour's fighting, but on weeks or months 
of hard campaigning. Trained in war- 



fare from his boyhood, a master in wood- 
craft, and a past master in stratagems, 
the Indian is a better campaigner than 
any, except the best trained soldier." 

Indian Fighting. 

And of his fighting, the authority last 
quoted from says : ' ' The character of the 
Indian fighting in the heavily wooded 
country of Oregon and AYashington was 
very similar in character to the Indian 
warfare in Ohio in its pioneer days. 
Colonel Shaw, an experienced Indian 
fighter in that part of the country, gave 
the writer this statement of his ex- 
perience. 'The Indians,' he said, 'fight like 
wolves or other wild animals which hunt 
and fight in droves. As the wolves attack 
with great fierceness wounded animals, so 
the Indian, by some instinct of fight at- 
tacks the weakest part of your line, and 
if they have made any impression crowd 
on that point.' 'This,' he said, 'they do 
without orders.' While this is true, their 
chiefs have been known in battle to give 
orders by flashes from old mirrors." 

Indian Incidents. 

It will be interesting to know of a few 
of the incidents that occurred between the 
earlier settlers and the Indian inhabit- 
ants. 

In Mr. McKinnon's letter read at the 
Shawnee Centennial, I find the following: 

' ' One day, soon after we settled on Buck 
Creek, and father and the older boys were 
away from home, four Indians — ^two 
young men and two older ones — came to 
our house and called for their dinners. 
Mothdr provided a dinner for them, and 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



57 



while they were eating she asked one of 
the young men if they were at the burn- 
ing of Colonel Crawford. He said that 
the two of the old ones were. She then 
told him that Colonel Crawford was her 
grandfather. When he notified the other 
ones of this fact they all immediately 
stopped eating and appeared somewhat 
alarmed ; but she told them to go on with 
their eating and not be uneasy. She then 
asked them if they could tell her about 
the death of Major Harrison. They told 
her that he had been squibbed to death 
with powder at Wapatomica, near Xanes- 
field, liOgan County. She then told them 
that Harrison was her father." This re- 
port fully corroborated one given by a 
man named Trover, I think, who was a 
prisoner at the same time with Major Har- 
rison. He said he had seen Harrison's 
body black and powder-burned. 

Another Indian trouble was in the time 
of Governor Tiffin. He was advised of 
the coming trouble and he sent word to 
Tecumseh at Wapakoneta to meet him in 
council at Springfield, with eighty war- 
riors, the picked men of the Shawnee 
tribe. I remember one of them in par- 
ticular, a man by name of Goodhunter, 
who had formerly camped near our house, 
when on a hunting expedition. He was 
as tine a specimen of perfect physical man- 
hood as I ever saw. The council was held 
and the pipe of peace was smoked. The 
following incident occurred in connection 
with the smoking. A Dr. Hunt had a clay 
pipe and Governor Tiffin used it for the 
occasion. When he had filled the' pipe 
and started it, he passed it to Tecumseh 
who looked at it a moment and then 
throwing it away he brought forth his 
tomahawk-pipe, and after starting it 



handed it to Governor Tiffin. I heard 
Tecumseh 's speech as he made it through 
an interpreter, and I never heard a finer 
orator than he appeared to be. 

Another incident is given by Mr. Baker 
in his historj^ of Mad River Township. 

"About 1805, a friendly Indian, en- 
camped on the headwaters of Mill Creek, 
near the present site of Emery Church, 
was visited by three men from this town- 
ship. The visit was made in the guise 
of friendship; they were kindly received 
and entertained ; they engaged the Indian 
in shooting at target, and taking advant- 
age of him when his gun was empty, shot 
him down without any other provocation 
than the fact that he belonged to the 
hated Indian tribe." 

The following is given by the late John 
Eoss, of German Township, as alluding to 
Tecumseh and the state of affairs when 
he was in his glory. 

"In those days, Indians were very num- 
erous and quite hostile, so that the set- 
tlers lived in constant dread of them, 
many times being compelled to collect to- 
gether for mutual protection. In 1806, 
during one of their outbreaks, all the 
whites for miles around collected at a 
place a few miles southwest of Spring- 
field, since known as Boston, where they 
built a blockhouse. Colonel Ward, Simon 
Kenton, and a few other of the prominent 
men of the party, went out and made a 
treaty with the Indians, which was kept 
about two years, or until 1808, when this 
treaty was renewed at the then village of 
Springfield. The militia and many other 
of the settlers met about sixty Indians, 
among whom were five or six chiefs, prin- 
cipal among whom was old Tecumseh. 
Mr. Eoss remembered him as tall, lithe 



58 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



figure, of good form, and fine, command- 
ing appearance. He made a speech at the 
treaty, which, for an Indian, was remem- 
bered as being full of oratory, and re- 
markable for ease and grace of delivery. 
A white man had been murdered, for 
which the murderer was demanded, or the 
whole tribe would be held accountable. 
'Can you,' asked Tecumseh, 'hold your 
whole people accountable for a murder 
committed by one of your bad men! No, 
then you cannot hold us accountable.' " 

Mr. McG-rew gives an incident not so 
much to the credit of Tecumseh 's bravery. 

"As an illustration of his morals and 
honor, in his early life, I give the follow- 
ing incident: It was communicated to 
me by a friend, who obtained the same in- 
formation from an early settler in Clark 
County, that Tecumseh traded with a 
white man a much-worn saddle for one 
that appeared better. The white man re- 
paired the saddle which he obtained in the 
trade, and by the use of his own skill 
and materials, made it look the better one 
of the two. When Tecumseh next met 
this white man with the repaired saddle, 
he treacherously claimed it as his own. 
The white man invited him to settle the 
right of ownership by a personal conflict, 
which the Indian very cowardly declined." 

In Mr. Martin's history of Springfield, 
a description is given of the trial of three 
Indians who killed a white man about the 
year 1807, a few miles west of Urbana. 
This trial was held opposite the old Foos 
Tavern. Tecumseh was present. After 
a full and patient inquiry into the facts 
of the case, it appeared that the murder 
of Myers was the act of a single Indian, 
and not chargeable to either band of the 
Indians. Several speeches were made by 



the chiefs, the most prominent of which 
was that by Tecumseh. He gave a satis- 
factorj^ explanation of the action of him- 
self and the Prophet in calling around 
them a band of Indians; disavowed all 
hostile intentions toward the United 
States, and denied that either he or those 
under his control had committed any de- 
predations upon the whites. His manner 
of speaking was animated, fluent and 
rapid, and, when understood, very forci- 
ble. 

The council then terminated. During 
its session, the two tribes of Indians be- 
came reconciled to each other, and peace 
and quiet was gradually restored to them- 
selves in various feats of activity and 
strength, such as jumping, running and 
wrestling, in which Tecumseh generally 
excelled. At this time, Tecumseh was in 
the thirty-eighth year of his age, five feet 
ten inches high, with erect body, well de- 
veloped and of remarkable muscular 
strength. His weight was about one hun- 
dred and seventy pounds. There was 
something noble and commanding in all 
his actions. Tecumseh was a Shawnese; 
the native pronunciation of the name was 
Teeumtha, signifying "The Shooting 
Star." He was brave, generous and 
humane in all his actions. 

Among others who were present at this 
council were Jonali Baldwin, John Hum- 
phreys, Simon Kenton, Walter Small - 
wood, John Daugherty and Grriffith Foos. 

We give here an incident which will 
illustrate their dislike to manual labor. 
A company of Indians were fishing near 
the residence of Gen. Benjamin White- 
man near Clifton, when one of them be- 
came engaged in a wrestling match with 
a mulatto in the General's employ. The 



AND EEPRESENTATTVE CITIZENS. 



59 



Indian proved to be the better man, giv- 
ing the mulatto a heavy fall, after which 
he was unable to get up. The Indian be- 
came anxious as to the etfect of the acci- 
dent, and asked of the G-eneral, "What 
you do with me if me kill Ned?" The 
General replied, "You must work in his 
l^lace. " The Indian looking at Ned, and 
thinking the matter over, replied, "Me 
would rather you would kill me, General." 

North American Indians. 

As descriptive of the life of this race, 
which is now fast passing away, the fol- 
lowing beautiful passage from the writ- 
ings of Charles Sprague will not be with- 
out interest. 

"Not many generations ago, where you 
now sit, encircled with all that exalts and 
embellishes civilized life, the rank thistle 
nodded in the wind, and the wild fox dug 
his hole unscared. Here lived and loved 
another race of beings. Beneath the same 
sun that rolls over your head, the Indian 
hunter pursued the panting deer; gazing 
on the same moon that smiles for you, the 
Indian lover wooed his dusky mate. Here 
the wigwam beamed on the tender and 
helpless; the council-fire glared on the 
wise and the daring. 

"Now they dipped their noble limbs in 
your sedgy lakes and now they paddled 
their light canoe along your rock shores. 
Here they warred ; the echoing whoop, the 
bloody grapple, the defying death song, 
all were here; and when the tiger-strife 
was over, here curled the smoke of peace. 
Here, too, they worshipped; and from 
many a dark bosom went up a pure prayer 
to the Great Spirit. He had not written 
his laws for them on tables of stone, but 



he had traced them on the table of their 
hearts. 

"The poor child of Nature knew not 
the God of revelation, but the God of the 
universe he acknowledged in everything 
around. He beheld him in the star that 
sank in beauty beliiud his lonelj^ dwell- 
ing; in the sacred orb that flamed on him 
from his raid-day throne; in the flower 
that snapped in tlie morning breeze; in 
the lofty pine that had defied a thousand 
whirlwinds; in the timid warbler that 
never left his native grove; in the fear- 
less eagle whose untired pinion was wet 
in clouds; in the worm that crawled at 
his feet; and in his own matchless form, 
glowing with a spark of that light to 
whose mysterious source he bent in hum- 
ble though blind adoration. 

"And all this has passed away. Across 
the ocean camea pilgrim bark, bearing 
the seeds of life and death. The former 
were sown for you; the latter sprang up 
in the path of the simple native. Two 
hundred years have changed the character 
of a great continent, and blotted forever 
from its face a whole peculiar people. 
Art has usurped the bowers of Nature, 
and the anointed children of education 
have been too powerful for the tribes of 
the ignorant. Here and there a stricken 
few remain; but how unlike their bold, 
untamed, untamable progenitors. The 
Indian of falcon-glance, and lion-bearing, 
the theme of the touching ballad, the hero 
of the i^athetic tale, is gone; and his de- 
graded offspring crawl upon the soil 
where he walked in majesty, to remind 
us how miserable is man when the foot of 
the conqueror is on his neck. 

"As a race they have withered from the 
land. Their arrows are broken. Their 



60 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



springs are dried up, their cabins are in 
the dust. Their council-fire has long since 
gone out on the shore, and their wai'-cry 
is fast dying away to the untrodden West. 
Slowly and sadly they climb the distant 
mountains and read their doom in the set- 
ting sun. They are shrinking before the 
mighty tide that is pressing them away; 
they must soon hear the roar of the last 
wave which will settle over them for- 



ever. Ages hence, the inquisitive white 
man, as he stands by some growing city, 
will ponder on the structure of their dis- 
turbed remains, and wonder to what man- 
ner of persons they belonged. They will 
live only in songs and chronicles of their 
exterminators. Let these be faithful to 
their rude virtues as men, and pay due 
tribute to their unhappy fate as a 
people." 



CHAPTER IV. 



THE OLD NORTHWEST. 



"he Old Northivest — Settlement by the French — French Settlement in Ohio — 
French Dominion — English Dominion — Important Part in the Revolution — 
United States' Control — Ordinance of 1787 — Arthur St. Clair. 



The Old Northwest. 

That part of the United States located 
between the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers 
includes that part of our great common- 
wealth which historians now designate as 
the "Old North West." It comprises 
265,878 square miles and was subsequent- 
ly divided into Ohio with 39,964 square 
miles, Indiana with 33,809 square miles, 
Illinois with 55,414 square miles, Michigan 
56,451 square miles, Wisconsin 53,924 
square miles, and that part of Minnesota 
lying east of the Mississippi estimated to 
contain 26,000 square miles, making a 
grand total of 170.161,867 acres. It is 
really and truly the heart of our country. 

Its admission into the Union if I may 
so use the term is the beginning of a new 
era in the life of our commonwealth. All 
the original states were named after per- 
sons or objects in the old country — the 
new states were strictly American, their 
names being commemorative of the Amer- 
ican race that preceded the white man in 
the occupation of the lands. 



Within its boundaries are found the 
great cities of Chicago, Cleveland, Cin- 
cinnati, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, Min- 
neapolis and St. Paul, and many others 
of considerable consequence. Through 
its boundaries a constant stream of com- 
merce is carried on between the states of 
the colonies and the great west, beyond 
the Mississippi. Without any disparage- 
ment to either that part of the country 
which lies to the east or the west, it may 
be said with respect to all the great events 
that have happened since this great 
Northwest became a part of this govern- 
ment she has furnished a large propor- 
tion of the means and men by which and 
whom they were accomplished. Especially 
is that true in regard to all matters occur- 
ring within the last half century. Six 
presidents have come from the states 
within the old Northwest, namely: Wm. 
H. Harrison, Ulysses S. Grant, Ruther- 
ford B. Hayes, James A. Grarfield, Ben- 
jamin Harrison, and William McKinley. 

This territory was beautiful in nature 
as well as important in civilization. Two 



62 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



hundred years ago, save a few Jesuit 
priests and French explorers, it was, in 
the sole possession of the red man. The 
bison roamed over the prairies of Illinois, 
the deer fed in the valleys of Ohio, the 
bear climbed unmolested the hills of Mich- 
igan and Minnesota and the howl of the 
wolf re-echoed in the untrodden wood- 
land. Fish abounded in the many fresh 
waters and the beaver and other animals 
were plentiful. With the priest and the 
explorer there came the pioneer trader 
and hnntei-, a man of intrepid fearless- 
ness, but not as a general thing of very 
lofty ideals of justice or morality. 

Settlement by the Feench. 

In the growth of civilization it has been 
observed, without the ability to give any 
very good reason therefor, that it has 
always had a tendency to push to the 
westward. The French having settled in 
Quebec and around Lake Champlain, fol- 
lowing this rule or law, if such it may be 
termed, were soon pushing on further in 
the unknown west. 

Sault St. Marie, still a point in our 
time as a place to behold a wonderful pas- 
sage for ship tonnage from our northern 
lakes, was established in 1765 by Mar- 
quette. Tins is the oldest village in the 
northwest, fourteen years older than 
Philadelphia, and established 120 years 
before a settlement was made at Marietta, 
Ohio. 

This was an age in which the chevalier 
sought to show his fealty to his king and 
honor to his people by the countries he 
might discover and "by the right of dis- 
covery," attach them to the crown of his 



royal master. No danger was so great 
or task too hard to stifle or retard this 
then existing passion. 

In 1666 La Salle came to Canada, and 
going across from Lake Erie went down 
the Kankakee and along the river of the 
Mississippi to St. Louis, which he reached 
in 1674, and later came up the Ohio at 
least as far as Louisville. It is import- 
ant not to forget that the Mississippi Val- 
ley was laid open to the knowledge of the 
world by a voyager who plowed from the 
Atlantic to the Gulf. On April 9, 1682, 
La Salle and his little party stood on the 
Mississippi not far from its mouth, be- 
side a column bearing the arms of France, 
and with appropriate ceremony took 
formal possession for his royal master 
Louis X, of the coimtry of Louisiana, 
"from the mouth of the Ohio River along 
the Mississippi and the rivers that flowed 
into it from its source beyond the country 
of the Sioux to its mouth at the sea." 
This territory was particularly known as 
Illinois, of which Old Kaskaskia was the 
capital. In 1721 it was the seat of a 
college and a monastery. This town at 
its best was claimed to have had from 
two to three thousand inhabitants. 

The French are not good colonizers, 
and for this reason this country did not 
proceed as rapidly in civilization as the 
English colonies along the Atlantic coast. 
The industries of this western settlement 
were furs, peltries and agriculture. 

In 1705, 20,000 hides were said to have 
been shipped from the Wabash. In 1746 
the Wabash country shipped 600 barrels 
of flour to New Orleans. These events 
occurred almost 100 years before Ohio 
was admitted into the Union as a state. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



63 



Feench SettI/Ement in Ohio. 

Ohio was hardly in the track of either 
the French pi'iest, trader, or explorer, yet 
at an early date a settlement was made 
on Lake Erie. In 1749 Celeron De Bien- 
ville, a French explorer, acting under the 
order of the governor-in-chief of New 
France to drive back intruders, made an 
exploration into the central part of this 
state. He had under him a chaplain, 
about 30 soldiers, as many Indians, and 
about ]00 Canadians. This expedition 
crossed over from Canada and embarked 
on the muddy waters of the Ohio, and 
down to the mouth of the Great Miami, 
thence making his way up that stream as 
far as Piqua. He burned his canoes, and 
crossed over on ponies to the other side 
of the water, and thence returned to 
Montreal. He planted several plates of 
lead at the mouth of various rivers, among 
others the Kanawa, Muskingum and 
Great Miami, signifying a renewal of pos- 
session of the country One of these 
plates was found at Marietta in 1798 by 
some boys on the west bank of the Mus- 
kingum and one at Kanawa in 1846, by a 
boy playing on the margin of the river. 

The following is a translation of the 
inscription on the plate: "In the year 
1749, reign of Louis XV, King of France, . 
we, Celeron, commandant of a detachment 
by Monseiur the Marquis of Gallisoniere, 
commander-in-chief of New France to 
establish tranquility in certain Indian vil- 
lages of these cantons, have buried this 
plate at the confluence of the Toradakoin, 
this twenty-ninth of July, near the river 
Ohio, otherwise Beautiful River, as a 
monument of renewal of possession which 
we have taken of the said river, and all 



its tributaries; inasmuch as the preced- 
ing Kings of France have enjoyed it, and 
maintained it by their arms and treaties ; 
especiallj^ by those of Ryswick, Utrecht, 
and Aix La Chapelle. " 

This explorer visited the town which 
was cabled Pickawillany, which was sit- 
uated in the northern part of Miami coun- 
ty about nine miles southwest of Sidney. 
This place was considered as the first 
trading post of English occupation in 
Ohio. It was destroyed by the French 
and Indians in 1752. Just when the town 
or trading post of Pickawillany was estab- 
lished, is not definitely known, but it was 
sometime prior to the first French ex- 
pedition. It is said that at one time it 
contained 400 Indian families, and was 
the residence of the principal chief of the 
Miami confederacy. 

About seventeen years after the de- 
struction of Pickawillany, a French trader 
by the name of Loramie established a 
store about fifteen miles north of the site 
of Pickawillany. and this place became a 
prominent spot in history, and a promi- 
nent point in the boundaries of the Green- 
ville treaty, and also in giving the boun- 
daries of early counties. 

AVhether or not there was ever a French 
settlement in this county rests only in 
tradition, but tradition has it, and has 
some probabilities to support its truthful- 
ness, that not far from the ancient Indian 
village of Piqua in this county there was 
a French trading post. 

French Dominion. 

These acts of La Salle and De Bien- 
ville by methods acknowledged by the 
civilized world at that time, gave France 



64 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



a lawful dominion over this great north- 
west. The inhabitants of the colonies, 
however, were not unmindful of the fertil- 
ity and value of this country. The trad- 
ing territory offered by the fur bearing 
animals that inhabited southern Michigan 
had not escaped the notice of the Dutch 
trader. With characteristic determina- 
tion push he was constantly widening his 
territorial claims in the direction of this 
French dominion. 

The Iroquois Indians, while perhaps 
never in actual possession of much of the 
territory of Ohio and the Northwest, yet 
claimed title to all that country. . This 
tribe of Indians had in 1684 at Albany 
placed themselves under the protection of 
King Charles, and in 1726 they conveyed 
all their lands in trust to England to be 
in'otected by that government. This gave 
a ground of contention between the Eng- 
lish and the French settler. Beginning 
at the trading post of Pickawillany, it wa?. 
continued with French success in the 
memorable defeat of General Braddock 
at Ft. Pitt in 1753, and was crowned with 
English triumph on the heights of 
Abraham in the battle of Quebec, Septem- 
ber 13, 1759, between the English general 
Wolfe and the French General Montcalm. 
By the treaty of 1763 the king of France 
renounced all pretension which he had to 
such territory and ceded all his rights 
thereto to the British crown. 

ExGLisH Dominion. 

The English were now the undisputed 
masters of this great northwest. What 
real benefit it was to them is a serious 
question, for we find that in the short 
space of twentj' years they were com- 
pelled to surrender it to the government 



formed by the thirteen colonies. How- 
ever, this English domain was of very 
great importance regarded in the light of 
its development by people from the Eng- 
lish colonies. While considerable ill will 
might still be found among the French 
settlers, the English colonists, ingratiat- 
ing themselves into the good will of some 
of the Indians, by making accusations 
against the French of wronging them and 
with their characteristic pusli, were suc- 
cessful in many of their dealings with the 
savages and enabled to make rapid head- 
way in the settlement of various places. 
The fact seems to be, however, that the 
French as a general rule, were kindlier 
in their dealings with the Indians than 
were the English colonists. 

Had it not been for these settlements 
made by persons from the English col- 
onies, and had it not been that this ter- 
ritory was under dominion of the English 
when the treaty was made, acknowledg- 
ing the United States as an independent 
government, this great northwest would 
not have been included, and it did remain 
for sometime afterward a cjuestion, just 
how far north the English Government 
did surrender her dominion to the United 
States. It was a mater of considerable 
controversy and was not finally settled 
until the war of 1812. 

Important Paet in the Revolution. 

The taking or keeping of this northwest 
territory upon the part of revolutionary 
forces, has been frequently recognized as 
one of the most important events in Amer- 
ican history. 

Mr. E. 0. Randall gives it very great 
importance when he says : 

"The Northwest Territorv was the 




GEN. ARTHUR ST. CLAIR. 



GEN. JOSIAH HAMAR. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



67 



great background of the Revolution. The 
fiendish proposal of the British ministry 
to secure the scalping knife and the toma- 
hawk in aid of the mother country against 
her rebellious child, called forth from the 
elder Pitt another of his immortal bursts 
of eloquence. But the British power 
would not abandon its brutal plans. The 
military posts of the British, on the lakes 
and the rivers of the Illinois countrj^, were 
rallying centers for the western savages, 
who were provisioned, armed and infu- 
riated against the Americans, and sent 
forth on expeditions of massacre and 
rapine. Deeds of bravery and patriotism 
were enacted in the Ohio Valley more 
romantic than the often rehearsed events 
in the Atlantic colonies. The soil of Ohio 
was the scene of a large share of the 
struggle for existence of the new-born 
republic. The career of the colonists 
from Lexington and Concord was chiefly 
a series of victories during the years 1775 
and 1776 to the autumn of 1777, when the 
clouds grew heavy and the storm gathered 
in the South. The northern army of 
Gates had disbanded after the surrender 
of Burgoyne (October 7). Howe occupied 
Philadelphia and comfortably quartered 
his army therein. With his soldiers the 
winter of 1777-78 was a period of exultant 
gaiety. He only awaited the milder 
weather of spring that he might dispatch 
a few regiments to Valley Forge and dis- 
perse or destroy the remnant forces- of 
"Washington that were well nigh ex- 
hausted by the hunger and cold of that 
terrible winter. The cause of human 
liberty seemed doomed to inevitable de- 
feat. General Howe held the Americans 
at bay east of the Alleghanies. The 
British cause was being strengthened in 



the northwest. General Hamilton, in his 
headquarters at Detroit, proposed to an- 
nihilate any assurance of success the 
Americans might hope for beyond the Al- 
leghanies. But there was a Washington 
in the West as well as in the East. He 
was George Rogers Clark, a huntsman of 
the trackless forest interior of Kentucky, 
who with the soul of a patriot, the bravery 
of an American soldier and the mind of 
a statesman, hastened on foot, through six 
hundred miles of wilderness, to Williams- 
burg, the capital of Virginia. There he 
obtained audience with Patrick Henry, 
then governor of Virginia. Clark pro- 
posed to strike the vast power of Great 
Britain in the northwest and save that 
magnificent territory to American in- 
dependence. His plans were appreciated 
and approved, but troops could not be 
spared him from the Continental army; 
they were needed to a man in the East. 
Clark gathered two hundred Virginia and 
Pennsylvania backwoodsmen, and while 
the sun of spring was melting the snows 
of Valley Forge and hope and courage 
were again animating the heart of Wash- 
ington, Clark set out on that famous ex- 
pedition for the capture of the interior 
northwest posts of Great Britain. It was 
the campaign of the "rough riders" of 
the Revolution. It was the dash of 
Sheridan in the Shenandoah. It was 
Sherman's "march to the sea," through 
the interior of the enemy's country. This 
campaign of Clark broke the backbone of 
British strength in the west. The British 
posts of Illinois and Indiana were all 
taken save Detroit. The Northwest was 
secured and preserved to the United 
States." 
However much or little these victories 



68^ 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



of General Clark and other meil had in 
procuring an acknowledgment of inde- 
pendence, one thing remains sure, and that 
is that the great northwest became a part 
of the United States acknowledged by the 
Treaty of 1783. ■ 

United States Contbol. 

Much of the old northwest remained in 
ignorance of the consequences of the polit- 
ical events that were then enacting at the 
time that the treaty of Paris was made, 
and neither the United States nor Great 
Britain fully understood the extent or the 
true location of the boundaries that were 
assigned in the treaty acknowledging the 
independence of this country. There was 
consequently more or less friction be- 
tween this and the mother country in ref- 
erence to some of these boundaries which 
were not finally overcome until the termi- 
nation of the War of 1812. The English 
were jealous of the growing power of this 
country, and for some time, no doubt, felt 
little disposed to assist us in settling 
questions relating to the territory of this 
great northwest. This feeling was man- 
ifested more about Detroit and the Lakes 
than elsewhere, and probably had its 
share of influence in bringing on the War 
of 1812, which finally setled all contro- 
versies. However, long before the Treaty 
of 1785 and continuing up until the adop- 
tion of the Ordinance of 1787, there was 
considerable contention between the col- 
onies as to the ownership of various parts 
of this northwest. Virginia claimed it 
by right of conquest, which had been 
made through means furnished by her 
and her patriotic Governor, Patrick 
Henry, to General George Rogers 



Clark. New Y^ork made a claim based 
largely upon the treaty made with the 
Iroquois Indians, who claimed all this 
northwestern country, they ceding to 
her therein all their right and title to that 
country. Massachusetts and Connecticut 
made clainis resting upon royal grants 
made to them, in which grants the terri- 
tory was made to run east and west be- 
tween certain degrees of latitude without 
any particular termination of their west- 
ern boundary. All these contentions be- 
tween the colonies were compromised in 
concessions, or reservations of lands for 
certain purposes when the Ordinance of 
1797, organizing the great northwest into 
a territory, was passed by the United 
States Congress, or rather by Congress of 
the colonies, for the United States Gov- 
ernment in its present form had not yet 
come into existence. 

Ordinai^ce of 1787. 

The Ordinance of 1787 establishing this 
northwest territory has been credited as 
being one of the greatest state papers. 

Lord Chatham, in the British Parlia- 
ment said that "for solidity of reason, 
force of sagacity and wisdom of conclu- 
sion under a complication of difficult cir- 
cumstances, no nation or body of men 
stand in preference to the general Con- 
gress of Philadelphia." 

Daniel Webster said: "We are ac- 
customed to praise the law givers of antiq- 
uity, we hope to perpetuate the fame of 
Solon and Lycurgus, but I doubt whether 
one single law of any law giver, ancient 
or modern, has produced effects of more 
distinct, marked and lasting character 
than the Ordinance of 1787. We see its 



AND REPEESENTATTVE CITIZENS. 



69 



consequences at this moment and we 
shall never cease to see them, perhaps, 
while the Ohio shall flow." This ordi- 
nance provided that the territory north- 
west of the Ohio River was to be divided 
into not less than three nor more than 
five states. While making ample provi- 
sion for securing to .the inhabitants the 
right to worship according to the dictates 
of their conscience, and preserve to them 
the liberty of person guaranteed by the 
writ of habeas corpus, and the right of 
property and person determined by trial 
by .jury, and recognizing the necessity of 
schools and education, the most import- 
ant provision was that in relation to 
slavery. The part that the United States 
played in the final eradication of that in- 
iquitous institution can hardly be de- 
termined. This provision was in Article 
Six of the ordinance and was as follows : 
"There was to be neither slavery nor in- 
voluntary servitude in the said territory, 
otherwise than for the punishment of 
crimes whereof the party shall have been 
duly convicted." It was further provid- 
ed — probably as a balm to soothe the in- 
jured feelings of some slave holder — 
' ' That any person escaping from the same 
from whom labor or service is lawfully 
claimed in any one of the original states, 
such fugitive shall be lawfully reclaimed 
and be brought back to the person claim- 
ing his or her labor as aforesaid." 

To whom credit should be given for this 
provision upon the great question of 
slavery the following from Bancroft may 
be read with interest: 

"Thomas Jefferson first summoned 
Congress to prohibit slavery in all the ter- 
ritory of the United States : Rufus King 
lifted up the measure when it lay almost 



lifeless on the ground, and suggested the 
immediate instead of the prospective pro- 
hibition: a Congress composed of five 
Southern States to one from New Eng- 
land and two from the Middle States, 
headed by William Grayson, supported 
by Richard Heniy Lee, and using Nathan 
Dane as scribe, carried the measure to 
the goal in the amended form in which 
King had caused it to be referred to a 
committee; and as Jefferson had pro- 
posed, placed it under the sanction of an 
irrevocable compact." 

If the slave holder had realized the full 
consequences of this prohibition of slavery 
clause in the Ordinance of 1787, the op- 
position would have been more strenuous 
than it was, but he did not realize then 
what a great power the northwest would 
exercise in the future history of our coun- 
try. Having the guarantees of property 
and person secured by this great ordi- 
nance, the settlement of the northwest be- 
gan in earnest and continued with 
rapidity. 

ARTfirR St. Claik. 

Shortly after the adoption of the or- 
dinance Congress elected as the first 
governor of this great territory a young 
military officer who had shown both 
patriotism and military talent. 

The following beautiful and pathetic 
statement in reference to that distin- 
guished man is taken from Governor 
Nash's address at the Ohio Centennial. 

"Fellow-citizens, I have a story that 
I desire to tell you. It is a storj^ of 
patriotic effort and yet it seems to me 
that it furnished the best example of the 
ingratitude of republics of any that has 
come within mv knowledge. 



70 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



"In 1758 there was a young Scotchman 
about to leave his home. He was a gradu- 
ate of the Universitj' of Edinburgh. He 
was thoroughly educated, he was tall, 
handsome and twenty-three years of age. 
He enlisted in the army of the king of 
Great Britain and became an ensign in 
one of his regiments. He left his home 
in Scotland and came to America under 
Amherst. In the French-English War he 
served faithfully and bravely before the 
walls of Louisburg. For gallantly in that 
action he was promoted to the position 
of second lieutenant in his company. 
Then a few years later he was joined to 
the command of the great and gallant 
Wolfe in the final struggle between the 
French and English, for the possession of 
Canada. Upon the Plains of Abraham, 
in the attack upon Quebec, he was one of 
the brave soldiers who followed the gal- 
lant Wolfe, who fell upon that bloody 
field. One of the color bearers fell, bear- 
ing down with him the colors of his regi- 
ment. This lieutenant seized those colors 
covered with blood and carried them 
bravely until the end of that conflict, 
which has been told in history and sung 
in song for nearly one hundred and fifty 
years. 

' * That brave Scotchman was Arthur St. 
Clair the first governor of the North- 
west Territory. He resigned from the 
English army; he became the husband of 
a loved wife; he was endowed with ample 
fortune, and in 1766 he went to western 
Pennsylvania, near Pittsburg, and set- 
tled among her beautiful hills and became 
one of the leading pioneers of this west- 
ern countrJ^ 

* ' Time went by ; the Revolution for our 
freedom commenced and St. Clair was 



called upon by John Hancock in 1775 to 
raise a regiment to engage in our great 
struggle for liberty. He responded as a 
patriotic man always resjoonds. At this 
time he wrote to an intimate friend: 'I 
hold that no man has a right to withhold 
his services when his country needs them. 
Be the sacrifice ever so great, it must be 
yielded upon the altar of patriotism.' 

"He raised a regiment of Pennsyl- 
vanians. He joined in the expedition of 
Arnold against Montreal for the capture 
of Canada. He was there barely in time 
to save the army of Arnold from utter 
rout. Then he was called by Washington 
to New Jersey. He was then made a ma- 
jor-general in the Revolutionary army. He 
engaged with Washington in the battles 
of Trenton and Princeton. There he gave 
advice to our gallant chief which was es- 
teemed most highly. After those victories 
he returned to the northern territory and 
with his command sought to stay the in- 
vasion of Burgojme. He was through all 
those conflicts which finally resulted in 
the surrender of Burgoyne and his army. 
Then he joined Washington, again be- 
came his faithful adviser, was a favorite 
of Alexander Hamilton, was a friend of 
LaFayette, the brave Frenchman who 
came to our rescue. By them all he was 
esteemed and honored. At Valley Forge, 
Washington called upon this brave gen- 
eral, with his fortune to come to the 
rescue of his army. With his own money 
he assisted in feeding Washington's sol- 
diers; with his own money he partially 
clothed them; by his patriotism he im- 
poverished himself. 

"Later, when the war was over, he be- 
came president of the Continental Con- 
gress. He was its president when the Or- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



71 



dinance of 1787 was framed. In the mak- 
ing of its provisions he took an active 
part. That ordinance became the law of 
this territory. Then the Continental Con- 
gress saw fit to elect Arthur St. Clair as 
the governor of the territory, whose or- 
dinance he helped to frame. For four- 
teen years he remained here as the gover- 
nor of the Northwest Territory. His 
labors were very irksome. The value of 
what he did for our pioneers can never 
be over-estimated. At length there came 
the time in 1802 when he must retire from 
office. He went back to his beloved Penn- 
sylvania hills. 

"He was an old man, yet he sought to 
recuperate the fortune which he had lost. 
He pleaded with Congress to restore the 
money to him which he had expended up- 
on the army that gave us our liberties; 
but that Congress, poor and impoverished, 
too, made the lame excuse that St. Clair's 



claims were outlawed, and they were not 
paid. 

"He went back to his home in Pennsj^l- 
vania and lived in a hovel with his 
widowed daughter. At last one day, with 
some truck that might give him the 
sustenance of life, he started with his 
pony and cart to a nearby town and on 
the way a wheel fell into a rut. The aged 
general was thrown from the cart upon 
the stony ground and severely injured. 
There he lay nearly a day before he was 
discovered and rescued. In a few days 
he died. He was by his Masonic brothers 
buried in a little country graveyard at 
Greensburg. They erected a plain, brown 
sandstone monument over his tomb and 
inscribed upon it these words : 

"Thp earthly remains of General Arthur St. Clair 
are deposited beneath this humble monument ; which is 
erected to supply the place of a nobler one, due from 
Ins covintry. 

"It is too late to do justice to St. Clair, but we can 
honor his memory by erecting over that lonely grave 
the monument which is due from his country." 



CHAPTER V. 



STATE AND COUNTY GOVERNMENT. 



Ohio — Admission of titate — County and Township Organization — Organization of 
Counties — Rormation of Clark County — Systems of Survey — The U. S. Rec- 
tangular Survey — Miami Rivers Survey — Pre-emption Lots — Table of 
Measurements — Name of Boundary- -Selection of County Seat — New Boston 
— Georqe Roaers Clark. 



Ohio. 

The sun never shone on a country more 

fair, 
Than beautiful, peerless Ohio, 
There's life in a kiss of her rarified air, 

Ohio, prolific Ohio. 
Her sons are valiant and noble and bright, 
Her beautiful daugliters are just about 

right, 
And her babies, God bless them, are clear 

out of sight — 
That crop never fails in Ohio! 

Our homes are alight with the halo of 
love, 
Ohio, contended Ohio: 
We bask in the smiles of the heavens 
above — 
No clouds ever darken Ohio. 
Our grain waves its billows of gold in 

the Sim, 
The fruits of our orchards are equalled by 
none, 



And our pumpkins, some of them, weigh 
most a ton — 
We challenge the world in Ohio! 

Our girls are sweet models of maidenly 
grace. 
In this modern Eden, Ohio, 
They are pei'fect in figure and lovely in 
face. 
That's just what they are in Ohio. 
Their smiles are bewitching and winning 

and sweet, 
Their dresses are stylish, yet modest and 

neat, 
A Trilby would envy their cute little feet. 
In beautiful, peerless Ohio. 

When the burdens of life I am called to 
lay down, 
I hope I may die in Ohio. 
I never could ask a more glorious crown 

Thau one of the sod of Ohio. 
Aiid when the last trump wakes the land 
and the sea 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



73 



And the tombs of the earth set their pris- 
oners free, 
You may all go aloft if you choose, but 
for me, 
1 think I'll just stay in Ohio. 

LuciEN Seymour. 

Admission of State. 

While no one will doubt the integrity 
and patriotism of General St. Clair, yet 
in the light that we now have, most of us 
will agree that some of his ideas upon 
fundamental principles were hardly in ac- 
cord with those underlying a free govern- 
ment, but to that reason all his difficulties 
with the Territorial Assembly cannot be 
attributed. Ho was a Federalist, they 
were Republicans, and to that reason, per- 
haps, as much as anything else, may be 
attributed his unpopularity with the Leg- 
islative Assembly. 

Prior to 1800 all the northwest consti- 
tuted a territory by that name. In this 
year was organized the territory of In- 
diana with Gen. William H. Harrison as 
governor, leaving practically in the old 
territory that part which was later 
formed into the State of Ohio. There 
never was a territory by the name of 
"Ohio." The official name was "The 
Eastern Division of the territory of the 
United States northwest of the River 
Ohio." At the time Indian Territory was 
created, that which was left within the 
bounds of the present state of Ohio had 
sufficient population to become a state. 
Those in opposition to Governor St. Clair 
conceived that it would be easier to get rid 
of him by having Ohio admitted as a state, 
than to have him removed as governor of 
the territory. It would perhaps be un- 



just to say that this was the sole motive. 
The territory was rapidly filling up and 
naturally the people desired to assume the 
dignity given to statehood. By an Act 
of Congress thirty-five members repre- 
senting the counties of Trumbull, Jeffer- 
son, Belmont, Washington, Fairfield, 
Ross, Adams, Clermont and Hamilton, on 
the basis of one member for each twelve 
hundred inhabitants were called together 
in Chillicothe in November, 1802, and 
formed a constitution on that day for the 
state of Ohio! On this basis at the time 
these thirty-five delegates were selected, 
the state then had a population of 10,500. 
The exact date of the admission of the 
state is a matter of some confusion, but 
March 1, 1803, is generally considered to 
be the true date when Ohio became a state 
and the territory ceased its political ex- 
istence. 

County and Township Organization. 

In the older states there were two kinds 
of local organization, one which prevailed 
in New England, which was known as the 
town system, and the other prevailing in 
Virginia, known as the county system, 
which have been very well described by 
Hinsdale. 

"The mingling of elements from all 
parts of the Atlantic slope in the new pop- 
ulation, and particularly the appointment 
of New England and Middle State men 
in about equal numbers to Territorial of- 
fices, decided the character of the local 
institutions now found in Ohio. Two rad- 
ically different types of local government 
are fonnd in the old States — the town sys- 
tem and the county system. As the names 
indicate, the first assigns the major part 



74 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



of iDolitical power to town or townshii") 
officers, the second to county officers. 
Tliese systems are traceable to England. 
The founders of New England came from 
towns and cities, and they naturally set 
up municipal institutions ; the founders of 
Virginia came from the English counties, 
and as naturally set up county institu- 
tions. That the one would be more con- 
genial to a civic democracy, the other to 
a landed gentry, goes without the saying. 
As is well known, Mr. Jefferson strove to 
introduce the New England system into 
Virginia, and made it the subject of fre- 
quent eulogy. 'These wards, called town- 
ships in New England,' he said, in 1816,. 
'are the vital principle of their govern- 
ments, and have proved themselves the 
wisest invention ever devised by the wit 
of man for the perfect exercise of self- 
government and for its preservation.' 
Again, in 1810, he speaks of 'the large, 
lubberly divisions into counties,' of the 
Middle, Southern and Western States, 
'which can never be assembled.' Local 
government in the Middle States is a com- 
promise of the town and county systems ; 
the county is more than in New England, 
and the town more than in the South. 
Governor St. Clair was from Pennsyl- 
vania, Judge Symmes from New Jersey, 
General Putnam from Massachusetts ; and 
the three established in the Territory lo- 
cal institutions that are a sort of cross on 
the compromise and town systems. 

Okgakizattox of Counties. 

"Before the state was admitted into 
the union counties were formed by proc- 
lamation of the governor. In this man- 
ner there were ten counties organized, to- 
wit, Washington in 1788, Hamilton 1790, 



Wayne 1796, Adams and Jefferson in 
1797, Ross 1798, Trumbull, Clermont and 
Fairfield 1800, and Belmont 1801. Which 
one of these ten counties included our 
county remains somewhat of a question, 
resulting chiefly from the fact that the 
old boundary lines have in time passed 
away. It is interesting to know that the 
county of Washington originally included 
almost all of eastern Ohio. It began on 
the bank of the Ohio Eiver, where the 
western boundary line of Pennsylvania 
crosses it, and running with that line to 
Lake Erie; thence along the southern 
shore of said lake to the mouth of Cuya- 
hoga River; thence up said river to the 
portage between it and the Tuscarawas 
brancli of the Muskingum; thence down 
that branch to the forks at the crossing 
jilace above Ft. Lawrence; thence with a 
line to be drawn westerly to the portage 
on that branch of the Big Miami on which 
the fort stood that was taken by the 
French in 1752, until it meets the road 
from the lower Sha^vnees town to San- 
dusky; thence south to the Scioto Eiver; 
thence with that river to the mouth; 
thence up the Ohio River to the place of 
beginning." 

The Ft. Lawrence referred to above was 
a fort built near the north line of what is 
now Tuscarawas County and not far from . 
the village of Bolivar. It was an import- 
ant point in Lord Dunmare's war. The 
correct spelling of the name of this fort 
is "Laurens," as it was named after Gen- 
eral Henry Laurens, who was then, in 
1778, president of Congress: 

The "fort that was taken from the 
French in 1752," referred to in the de- 
scription of Washington County, was at 
the village of Pickawillany ; and the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



"Lower Sliawnees town" no doubt re- 
ferred to the towns of the Shawnees on 
the Scioto River, in centra-distinction to 
those on the Miamis and Mad River, and 
this would then make the Scioto River the 
western boundary line of Washington 
County and therefore would not include 
Clark County. 

A¥hen Hamilton County was organized 
it was described as "beginning on tlie 
bank of the Ohio River at the confluence 
of the Little Miami and down said Ohio 
River to the mouth of the Big Miami, and 
up said Miami to the standing stone forks 
or branch of said river, and thence with 
a line to be drawn due east to the Little 
Miami and down said Little Miami to the 
place of beginning. ' ' 

Where this "standing stone forks" was 
upon the Big Miami I am unable to say, 
from the fact, however, that the Little Mi- 
ami hardly assumed the dignity of a river 
within the present boundaries of Clark 
County. It is not likely that the original 
boundaries of Hamilton County included 
much of this county. However, when 
Wayne County was organized it followed 
the lines of Washington County up to the 
point where it turned south to meet and 
follow the Scioto River, to-wit, where the 
line drawn from Ft. Laurens to Picka- 
willany crossed the road to Sandusky-, 
and this point is referred to in the estab- 
lishment of Wayne County as the eastern 
boundary of Hamilton, so it seems that, 
if not by proclamation, yet by a general 
assumption, that Hamilton County was 
made to include all west of the western 
boundary of Washington County and 
south of the southern boundary of WajTie 
County, thus including Clark County, and 
that the entire state of Ohio was at that 



75 

time, to-wit, 1796, covered by the three 
counties, Washington, Hamilton and 
Wayne. 

In 1798 Ross County was formed, and 
took its territory from the counties of 
Washington and Hamilton. It had its 
western boundary in a line drawn due 
north from the mouth of Elk River or 
Eagle Creek; there was a ford there 
across the Ohio River. This creek or riv- 
er empties into the Ohio in Brown Coun- 
ty, and if a line be drawn due north you 
will find it included the half or more of 
Clark County in the formation of Greene 
County. 

When Greene County was formed, in 
1803, it was taken from Hamilton and 
Ross. The territory now in Greene Coun- 
ty was described as follows : "Beginning 
at the southeast corner of the county of 
Montgomery, running thence east to the 
Ross County line, in the same course con- 
tinued eight miles into the said county of 
Ross: thence north to the State line 
(State line here referred to, I presume 
means the south boundary line of the 
Greenville Treaty) : thence westernly with 
the same to the east line of Montgomery 
County: thence with the said boundary 
line of Montgomery to the beginning." 

The upper part of this territory was in 
turn taken to form Champaign County, 
which took all of Greene County now in- 
cluded in Clark County, together with a 
strip six miles on the east off Madison, 
Franklin County having been originally 
taken from Ross, and Madison from 
Franklin. 

FORMATTOK OF ClaRK CoUNTY. 

AVhen Champaign County was organ- 
ized in 1805, the tem]wrary seat of justice 



76 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



was fixed at the town of Springfield at the 
house of George Fithian until the perma- 
nent place could be fixed by law. Urbana 
was laid out in the same year that the 
County of Champaign was formed, and 
being perhaps nearer to the center of the 
territory, and augmented largely by the 
self-interest of the persons who had plat- 
ted the town,, the county seat was removed 
to that place. Urbana had assumed to be 
a place of considerable importance in the 
war of 1812 ; it was a government military 
post and the army of General Hull, from 
Dayton, and that of General McArthur, 
from Chillieothe, met there on their way 
to Detroit, but Springfield was also grow- 
ing, and, the rivalry of the two towns be- 
came rather sharply developed, and it was 
not long until the agitation for the forma- 
tion of a new county began to be felt. 

December 24th, 1814, Mr. McBeth of 
the House of Representatives presented 
petitions from the inhabitants of Cham- 
paign, Madison, Miami, and Greene Coun- 
ties, praying for a new county. Mr. New- 
el presented remonstrances from the in- 
habitants of Champaign. Afterwards the 
matter was referred to committees and 
passing over the usual matters occurring 
in legislation of that kind, on Monday, 
December 15, 1817, the bill admitting the 
county was read for a third time; it re- 
ceived upon its passage in the Senate sev- 
enteen ayes and ten nays. On December 
23rd it was passed in the House and on 
December 25, Christmas Day, 1817, the 
County of Clark received its existence. 
The fight had been long and not free from 
acrimony, almost all of the distinguished 
men of the time were arraigned on one 
side or the other. Naturally the citizens 
of Springfield were very much elated over 



the passage of the act and held a celebra- 
tion in a tavern kept by Cooper Ludlow on 
the northwest corner of Main and Factory 
Streets. 

SYSTEMS OF SURVEY. 

The U. S. Rectangular Survey. 

"The struggle for independence of the 
thirteen American colonies with Great 
Britain, although a successful one, left 
the colonies with a heavy burden of debt 
to ])ay. The fact, however, that several 
of the colonies (now states had an inter- 
est in what) was tlien known as the North- 
west Territory, proved one of the most 
powerful influences which kept the new 
born nation from dropping to pieces, and 
a fruitful means to assist in clearing oflp 
the burden of debt. 

Tlie four states, Massachusetts, Con- 
necticut, New York and Virginia, which 
claimed all the land north of the Ohio Riv- 
er, west to the Mississippi, agreed to give 
it to the United States, to be disposed of 
for the common good, and in 1787 Con- 
gress passed an ordinance for the govern- 
ment of this territory, and also for estab- 
lishing a definite method for the survey 
and sale of these lands, which were now 
designated as "Public Lands." 

The plan arranged by James Mans- 
field, surveyor general of the Northwest 
Territory, adopted by Congress in 1802, 
and called the United States Rectangular 
Survey, may be briefly described as fol- 
lows : 

First, a north and south line is run 
through the tract determined upon to be 
surveyed. This line begins at some prom- 
inent or easily distinguished point, and is 






^^ 


•^"jf^'ifc*:^. ■'-' 


^^^^^ffif 




igjl^^ ^O^ffiLtov. f , 


i 


^Ki'iKct^. 


jSp^^'^p^i 


1 




/" 




1 


ra|^:> : 


^ 


r"^' ..:v<^. 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



79 



designated as a "principal meridian." 
Then a line running east and west, at 
right angles with the first line, is run 
through the tract, called the "base line." 

The first principal meridian west of 
Washington is the west boundary of Ohio, 
which was run north from the mouth of 
the Great Miami river. It is 80° 51' longi- 
tude west from Greenwich. 

Lines are then run north and south par- 
allel to the principal meridian, and six 
miles apart, which divide the territory 
into long north and south strips, called 
ranges, which are numbered in their 
order, 1, 2, etc., east of the meridian, also 
the same west of it. Across these are run 
lines six miles apart, parallel to the base 
line, cutting the territory into long east 
and west strips called Towns, and these 
are numbered north and south from the 
Base Line. 

By this "cross-lining" the territory is 
divided into squares, six miles on a side. 
Each of these squares is a congressional 
township. Such "townships" sometimes, 
but often do not, correspond to the civil 
townships, which are known by popular 
names. The only designation of congres- 
sional townships is their range and town 
numbers. 

After the tract is thus surveyed into 
townships six miles square, the townships 
are divided into thirty-six tracts, called 
"sections," each containing one square 
mile, more or less. 

The sections are rim off very much as 
were the townships, using each town- 
ship's east range line and south town line 
as bases. Commencing one mile west of 
the southeast corner of the township, 
the surveyor runs north a mile, then east 
a mile to the east range line and corrects 



back to the northwest corner of the sec- 
tion. He sets a quarter post (or half mile 
post) on the west line of the section at 
forty chains north of the starting point, 
and sets the quarter post on the north line 
of each section half way between the 
northwest and northeast section corners. 
The surveyor proceeds to run off the re- 
maining sections on the east tier, up to 
the north line of the township, placing 
the last section corner where his north 
and south line intersects that north town 
line, whether this point is east or west 
of the section corner previously estab- 
lished in the township survey. The dis- 
tance between the two corners, if any, is 
called the "jog," and is recorded. 

The government sub-divisions of the 
section (although they are not actually 
surveyed by the government surveyor) by 
which the lands are sold, are "quarter" 
sections or 160 acres, "half-quarter" sec- 
tions or 80 acres, and "quarter-quarter" 
sections or 40 acres. The section is di- 
vided into quarters by running a straight 
line north and south, and one east and 
west between the quarter posts on the 
sides of the section. The quarter sec- 
tions are "halved" by running a straight 
line north and south or east and west 
(whichever way it is wished to divide it) 
from points midway by measurement of 
opposite sides. The quarter sections are 
quartered by running lines north and 
south and east and west between points 
at the center of each side of the quarter 
section. Other smaller sub-division can 
be made on the same principle. 

It will be seen from this that if a sec- 
tion is perfectly square and contains the 
exact number of acres, that this method 
would sub-divide it into tracts of equal 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



areas, but it hardly ever occilrs that a sec- 
tion is exactly square or contains the 
exact number of acres. Consequently it 
almost always occurs that the sub-divi- 
sions "will differ more or less in quantity. 





N.!'2.N.E.>-4 
80A. 


160 A. 








syz.nzM 

80 A 


40 A. 
N.Wi'4 
S.W. -'a 


40A. 
N.E.'/4. 

S.W.'/4- 


S.E.s-4 
80A 


E'/2 

S.E.i'4 
80 A 






40A 
S.W. !^ 
S.W. '/4. 


40A. 
S.E H 

S.W.V4 







Yet the government has established this 
as the only method by which the sub-divi- 
sions shall be made, and making the eight 
corners established on the exterior lines 
of each section "the corners," however 
incorrect they may be. 

The sub-divisions of the section in the 
preceding diagram, as it is divided into 
the ' ' Government Descriptions, ' ' are each 
described in brief on the diagram. 

Miami Rivers Suevey. 

The above title describes the more elab- 
orate system of survey in northern parts 
of Ohio and thence west to the Pacific. 
The survey of that part of Clark County 
which is sectionized illustrates a step in 
the development of that system. The land 
between the jSIiami rivers, north of 



Symmes' purchase, was surveyed (1802 
and prior) as government land, by Col. 
Israel Ludlow, who platted Cincinnati 
and Dayton. This survey was in six 
mile townships, which Colonel Ludlow 
divided into squares of two miles, and 
which were afterward sub-divided in- 
to sections one mile square, "more or 
less." Ludlow used "towns" and 
"ranges" in reverse order to the plan 
above described. In this countj^ the towns 
are the north-south tiers, numbered east- 
ward from the Great Miami, and the 
ranges are the east- west rows, numbered 
northward. The sections are numbered 
from the southeast corner of the town- 
ship, north, and the successive westward 
tiers in the same order. Many sections 
are divided, instead of into regular sub- 
divisions, into preemption tracts, land 
taken up at the time of the survey. Some 
of these preemption lines still figure in 
descriptions. Complete descriptions of 
regular sub-divisions in the sectionized 
pai-t of Clark Coimty are the same as 
above described, except that instead of 
range east (or west) town north (or 

south), the statement is "range , 

town, Miami Rivers survey." 

The sections of ,this survey are ir- 
regular, and generally contain more or 
less than 640 acres, according to the orig- 
inal plats. Those assumed to contain 640 
acres generally overrun in modern sur- 
veys, as do the section lines. The mode 
of survey, though quite primitive, was a 
wonderful improvement on the 

ViRGiNT.A. Military Survey. 

Beyond the Little Miami and Ludlow's 
Line, the lands were taken up on warrants 
issued by Virginia to her soldiery. An 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



81 



irregular tract, estimated to contain the 
number of acres called for, was laid out 
by the surveyor where the claimant de- 
sired, the only rule being to keep off a 
previous survey. Even this rule could 
hardly be maintained, and the tracts often 
overlap. Each tract was numbered, but 
not the same as the land warrant. Some- 
times a tract bears two or more numbers. 
^ The surveys of these tracts are on record, 
but the recorded length of lines cannot be 
depended upon. 

The Ludlow Line, which forms part of 
the boundary of the Military Lands, and 
the lands between the Miami Eivers, was 
run north from the headwaters of the Lit- 
tle Miami River, in a course at that time 
20 west. Another line was run for the 
same purpose by Roberts, but afterward 
discarded. The beginning of this line is 
in Madison Township, and was supposed 
to run from the head waters of the Little 
Miami River to the head waters of the 
Scioto. However, now it only extends to 
a point where it intersects what is known 
as the Greenville treaty line, a few miles 
above Bellefontaine. 

"Preemption" Lots. 

"Preemr)tion" lots are small parcels 
of land scattered here and there through 
the entire tract known as the Symmes' 
Purchase. The history of these lots seem 
to be this : During the time the surveyors 
were running out the public lands, if any 
member of the party, for himself or his 
principal, desired to select and secure a 
choice lot of land, he did so, and the lines 
and corners, were immediately established 
by the surveyors in the tield, and the 
•'field notes" of these special surveyors 



were incorporated with the notes of I'h.e 
general survey, thus enabling the wouM- 
be owner to locate and describe his chosen 
tract at the Government Land office 
Nearly all of the old preemption lines anc' 
corners have disappeared, and are known 
only to the professional surveyor, who 
prizes them as monuments and reference 
data. 

The surveyed townships are not iden- 
tical with the civil townships; for in- 
stance, the civil township of Springfield 
is composed of thirty-six sections (one 
entire township) known as "Town 5, 
Range 9," and fourteen whole and three 
fractional sections in Town 4, Range 9. 

Name and Boundary. 

Just who suggested the name that 
should be given to this territory is a 
problem that remains hidden in the mys- 
teries of the past. It was certainly ap- 
propriate that some county in Ohio should 
bear down to posterity the name of that 
distinguished general who had done so- 
much upon Ohio Territory in assisting 
the cause of the Revolution. And if any 
territory should be so named, what would 
be more appropriate than that that county 
which had within its borders the location 
of one of his most famous battles should 
be the favored one. The Act granting 
this county described the boundaries as 
follows : 

"That so much of the counties of 
Champaign, Madison and Green as comes 
within the following boundaries, be and 
the same is hereby erected into a separate 
county, which shall be known by the name 
of Clark, to-wit: beginning on the line be- 
tween the counties of Miami and" Cham- 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



paign, on the north boundary of the fifth 
tier of sections in the tenth range be- 
tween sections thirty-five and thirty-six, 
thence east with the sectional line between 
the fifth and sixth tier of sections in said 
range, to the line between the United 
States land and the Virginia Military 
Land, thence eastwardly to the line of 
Madison Connty; thence southwardly to 
the line of Madison County to a point on 
said line six miles north of the southeast 
corner of Champaign County; thence 
diagonally so as to intersect the south 
line of Champaign County two miles west 
of the southeast corner of said county; 
thence west with the line of Champaign 
County one mile; thence south five and a 
half miles into Madison County; thence 
west to the line of Greene County; thence 
to continue west five miles in said county 
of Greene; thence north one-half mile; 
thence west to the line between township 
four and five in the eighth range; thence 
north with said township line to the line 
between sections three and four; thence 
west with said sectional line to the line 
of the third township; thence north with 
said line to the sectional line between the 
fourth and fifth tier of sections in said 
range; thence westwardly with said line 
to the east Ime of Montgomery County; 
thence north with the line between the 
counties of Miami and Champaig-n to the 
IDlace of beginning." 

The boundaries were afterwards 
changed in a slight manner near Clifton, 
so as to place the residence of General 
Whiteman in Greene County, he not de- 
siring to be cut off from that old county. 
This old residence is still standing a 
short distance east of Clifton. It will be 
observed in this description of Clark 



County that it is taken from Greene, 
Champaign and Madison. An interesting 
question then will be, "What part of the 
present count}" was taken from these 
three?" 

The township line between Springfield 
Township and Green Township, extend- 
ed east and west, will foi'm the dividing 
line of that which was taken from Cham- 
paign and that which was taken from 
Greene, that north having belonged to 
Champaign, and that south to Greene 
County. 

"When Champaign County was formed, 
a distance of six miles was added to it on 
the east from Franklin County, out of 
which latter county, Madison was after- 
wards formed. 

This would have made a jog in the 
eastern boundary line of Clark County 
when taking in a part of Greene County, 
therefore with some slight changes the 
Clark County line was continued south 
in the same direction as its eastern boun- 
dary line, five and one-half miles into 
Madison County, and thence west through 
Madison County to the Greene County 
line, so that, about one-half or more of 
Madison Township off of its eastern end 
in this county was taken from Madison 
County. The county is twenty-nine miles 
long from east to west and about seven- 
teen miles wide from north to south and 
contains 412 square miles. 

Ski;Ectton of County Seat. 

The establishment of Clark County 
from the counties of Greene, Champaign 
and Clark, was not the only question that 
the Legislature had to contend with at 
the time the county was organized. Quite 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



83 



a settlement had grown iip on and near 
the location of the Indian village of 
Piqua. This town was called New Boston, 
and it was a formidable rival to Spring- 
field in the settlement of the county seat 
of Clark County. 

General Keifer informs me that it 
lacked but two votes of being chosen as 
the seat of justice for our county, so we 
can well understand what a slight cir- 
cumstance, such as two votes, might have 
changed the destiny of our now thriving 
city of Springfield. Chosen as it was, the 
county seat, the people of Springfield had 
a double reason to be grateful and thank- 
ful for what the Legislature had then 
done. 

In Mr. Martin's history of Springfield, 
it is said, "It will be sufficient to state 
here that the accomplishment of this ad- 
vanced movement was due largely to the 
efforts of Madox Fisher, who as a suc- 
cessful lobbyist visited Chillicothe, where 
the legislature was in session, and by per- 
suasive effort finally succeeded in having 
the bill passed which only provided that 
Springfield should be the county seat. 
When he returned from Chillicothe with 
news of the successful measure he was re- 
ceived with shouts of gratification. 

As a reward for his efforts, Madox 
Fisher was appointed post-master, which 
at that time was an office more of honor 
than of profit. 

That some must die that others may 
live is well illustrated in the fate of New 
Boston. It now exists not even in the 
memory of the present generation. By 
looking upon the map of Clark County 
gotten out by Colonel Kizer in 1850, it 
will be seen that this village is platted 
along Mad River, about i/o or % of a mile 



on this side of what is now known as 
Snyders Station, and where the Valley 
Pike leaves the banks of Mad River to- 
ward the west. 

. New Boston. 

New Boston was laid out by Henry 
Bailey in November, 1809. Jonathan 
Donne] was the surveyor. The inlots 
were 5 poles wide by 10 poles in length; 
the outlots 22x29 poles. The streets were 
four poles wide and the alleys one pole. 
This plat of Boston was abandoned by 
order of Court of Common Pleas of this 
county, December 1.3, 1866. Thus it will 
be seen that the New Boston like its pre- 
decessor Piqua has absolutely disap- 
peared; the part of Bethel Township in 
which it was located was a precinct des- 
ignated by the name of Boston. The 
following letter gives the best description 
of this town that I know of: 

"Mr. T. F. McGrew— Dear Sir: If 
you wish to say anything in your address 
about Boston on the occasion of the cele- 
bration at the place where the town of 
Boston was located, I will here state what 
I remember of it in its prosperous days. 
Just after you pass the toll-gate, near 
the place named, the turnpike road turns 
more directly to the west, and it runs in 
nearly a straight line parallel with the 
river, imtil it slopes down to the lower 
lands forming the long stretch of river 
bottom. It was on this little piece of 
table land that the town of Boston was 
located. The old wagon road ran south 
and parallel with the present turnpike, 
and it was along this road in a single line 
that the town of Boston once stood. The 
houses were not more than ten or a dozen 



84 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



in number and they were scattered along 
the road for a distance of perhaps forty 
rods, most of them on the south side, and 
were nearly all built of logs. One house 
on the south side was a frame house, 
where a tavern was kept by a man by the 
name of French. The last house on the 
west end of the street was an old log 
house, when I first remembered the place, 
about the year 1818. It stood on the edge 
of the sloping ground that goes down 
abruptly into. the prairie bottom. At that 
time there lived in this old house a man 
and his wife by the name of Powell, who 
always excited my boyish cui'iosity on ac- 
count of their extreme old age, as I then 
passed frequently through the village on 
my way to the house of my aunt, who 
lived a short distance below. 

At this period of 1818, the town of Bos- 
ton was a competitor for the county seat 
of justice; and after it was located at 
Springfield, the town of Boston lost its 
prestige, and began its work of decline. 
The houses, poor at the best, one by one 
went into decay, and disappeared, and it 
must be at least a quarter of a century 
since the last one disappeared that stood 
there in 1818. Tlie graves of some of its 
citizens are now inclosed with an old 
picket fence, near the decayed town's lo- 
cation. 

Yours truly, 

John Ludlow." 

George Rogees Claek. 

We have already in giving a descrip- 
tion of the battle of Piqua and the im- 
portant events enacted in the northwest 
during the War of the Revolution, had 
occasion to speak of the distinguished 



military talent and patriotism of George 
Rogers Clark; liowever, as our county 
received its name from him, it will cer- 
tainly not be inappropriate to give a more 
extended sketch than is contained in the 
places referred to. 

George Rogers Clark was born in Al- 
Ijemarle County, Virginia, November 19, 
1752, and died at Locust Grove, near 
Louisville, Kentucky, February, 1818. He 
was of a good, though not prominent fam- 
ily, and was a brother of Captain William 
Clark, whose great journey with Caj)tain 
Lewis in their noted trip across the Rocky 
Mountains was one of the great distin- 
guishing events in the colonization of 
what is uow known as the north and the 
northwest portions of this country. In 
honor of that event the World's Fair at 
Portland v. as held in 1905. 

General Clark's education was the 
meager one offered by the cabin schools 
of Virginia in his time, but he had shown 
a marked talent for mathematics and 
geography and at the age of seventeen had 
chosen surveying as an avocation that bet- 
ter suited his gifts and his love of ad- 
venture. 

When liOrd Punmore's War broke out 
with the Indians he volunteered, and as a 
non-commissioned officer had conducted 
himself with such bravery and had shown 
such marked military talent that he was 
offered a commission of lieutenant in the 
British army : but the spirit of the Revo- 
lution was in the air and -although the 
offer was a very tempting one, especially 
to one of his military spirit, patriotism 
was stronger and he declined. He had 
tasted and felt the fire of frontier fight- 
ing and had found himself in love with its 
hazards and perils. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



85 



In the spring of 1775, yielding to his 
love of adventi;re, he found himself witTi 
Daniel Boone and other early kindred 
spirits in the "Blue Grass Regions" of 
Kentucky. During his visit there he was 
temporarily placed in coinmand of the 
militia of that country. ■ At this time 
there had been but three settlements in 
all Kentucky. These were only small 
groups of log cabins surrounded by stock- 
ades continually exposed to the attacks 
of tier^ce and cunning Indians. The lives 
of Boone, Kenton, Logan, Harrod, and 
Todd fully attested their war-like spirit. 
Clark fought the Indians, hunted the wolf, 
bear and panther, and explored the 
wilderness, and like other pioneers had 
many hair-breadth escapes. It was no 
doubt by reason of the natural ability of 
General Clark that he was chosen to com- 
mand the militia of that rude settlement. 

In the fall of 1775, he returned home 
and for some time he contemplated enter- 
ing military service with the Virginia 
Continentals, but the fascination of the 
unbounded wilderness of the west with its 
perils, was more to his liking than serv- 
ices, in the regular organized army; but 
that was not all that induced him to again 
try his fortunes in the west. He had 
dreamed of a great empire. He realized 
perhaps better than most men of his time 
the boundless resources of the country, 
imknown yet, beyond the Alleghanies. 

So in the spring of 1776 he again took 
up his perilous trail to the wilds of "Ken- 
tucky. Upon his arrival he visited all 
the settlements and proposed a meeting 
of the colonists at Harrodstown, for 
the purpose of forming some plan of de- 
fense and military aid and furthermore, 
to formulate an effective appeal for aid 



to the jaarent state, Virginia. This hav- 
ing been done he returned to his mother 
state and visited Jefferson who was then 
governor and pleaded for aid to pursue 
his desired object. 

The revolutionary war was now taxing 
all the energies of the east and the col- 
onists had thought little of this western 
country, but Clark's persistence and firm- 
ness had never faltered. His official char- 
acter was recognized. Kentucky was de- 
clared a county of Virginia and Clark 
himself was made a major of the Virginia 
militia. An order was also obtained by 
Clark directing 500 pounds of powder to 
be delivered at Fort Pitt for the use of 
the settlement. 

To transport this munition to Ken- 
tucky, a perilous trip was taken down the 
Ohio. Embarking on a flat-boat, he and 
his colleague Jones, with five other men 
launched out secretly for Fort Pitt early 
in the spring of 1777. Scarcely were 
they beyond sight of Fort Pitt when they 
discovered that Indians were running 
along the shore. The savages at every 
bend of the stream tried to cut Clark's 
men off, and they constantly augmented 
in numbers. All of Clark's men, with the 
exception of Jones, counseled the aban- 
donment of the boat and escape into the 
woods while their lives were yet their own. 
To do this however would have been to 
have abandoned Clark's cherished object. 
While almost exhausted from constant 
vigil, Clark managed to elude the savages 
in the night and ran the boat into a creek 
in the boundaries of Kentucky, hastily 
concealing the powder on shore, and with 
his companions pushed on to the settle- 
ment for aid. The nearest place, however, 
was too weak to send aid, so leaving Jones 



86 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



and his men behind, Clark, guided by the 
famous Indian fighter, Kenton, whom he 
had found at this first settlement, started 
out for Harrodstown. Here Clark got 
help and bi'ought his powder safe into 
the heart of the wilderness whose con- 
stant warfare had won for it the name of 
the "Dark and Bloody Land." 

As soon as he had returned to Ken- 
tucky he dispatched two young hunters 
to spy out the Illinois country which was 
the name given to all beyond the Ohio 
River. From these spies he gathered that 
the French in the settlements there were 
not very enthusiastic in their loyalty to 
the British Crown, and he came to the 
conclusion that a successful expedition in- 
to that country would wrest all of that 
territory from the British Government. 
The same patriotism that led him to de- 
cline the lieutenant's commission in the 
British army fired him here in a scheme 
of subduing the entii'e northwest. It had 
such effect upon him that he again under- 
took the perils attendant upon a trip to 
his native colony. 

Patrick Henry was then governor of 
Virginia. Henry's patriotism was of that 
dash and spirit that easily led him to 
endorse what to his friends seemed the 
visionary scheme of Clark, but Virginia 
was so much engaged then in the Revolu- 
tionary warfare at home that her re- 
sources were almost exhausted, and the 
state was not able to give Clark the as- 
sistance he desired. Governor Henry 
consented, however, to lend Clai-k the 
weight of his name, and authorized him 
to raise seven companies of fiftj' men 
each among the settlers of the Alleghany 
Mountains, and as an incentive to the 
military men, they were each promised 



300 acres of land to be selected from the 
richest valleys of the conquered terri- 
tory. Thus originated the "Virginia 
Military Lands," between the Scioto and 
the Miami Rivers, part of which are in 
Clark County. 

In May, 1778, Clark re-crossed the 
mountains and again recruited his forces. 
Governor Henry had advanced him 1,200 
pounds and an order on the command- 
ment at Fort Pitt for all the powder he 
might need, together with supplies. 

From this Fort the little band of 250 
men — adventurers and settlers — em- 
barked on flat-boats, and on May 27th, 
the flotilla reached the falls of Ohio, 
where they established a post, which 
afterwards became the city of Louisville. 
I cannot go into detail of all of General 
Clark's adventures and expeditions of 
heroism, they are certainly not sui'passed 
in American history. 

The first object of attack was the settle- 
ment of Kaskaskia. Having met three 
American hunters who had recently re- 
turned from that trading post, Clark 
learned that the fort there was strong 
and in good repair. That there was a 
force there three times as strong as his 
own, and that a large number of Indians 
friendly to the British and hostile to the 
Americans, had recently been in confer- 
ence with the commandant at the post, 
did not deter General Clark. 

After several days of perilous travel 
they reached the banks of the Kaskaskia 
River, three miles below the town, the 
strictest silence being enjoined under 
penalty of death. 

When night was well advanced, Clark's 
men crept up to the town and after divid- 
ing the company into two divisions, one 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



87 



long straggling column surrounding the 
town, the other consisting of picked men, 
was led by Clark himself straight to the 
walls of the fort. When everything was 
in readiness, Clark crawled to within a 
few feet of the stronghold to recon- 
noiter. He discovered that a ball given 
by the officer of the garrison was in prog- 
ress. Under cover of the river bank 
some of his men were directed to come 
forward and seize the two sentinels at 
the gate, if possible without causing an 
alarm, and now Clark who was very fond 
of adventure entered by the rear gate 
alone, and making his way to the door of 
the ball-room, leaned against the door 
jamb and watched the merry festival. So 
high ran the mirth-making spirit that it 
was some time before Clark was dis- 
covered. Then an Indian chief who sat 
on the floor saw him and made a frightful 
war-cry. Upon hearing this cry Clark's 
men came rushing into the fort and seized 
the officer. The scene was highly dramatic 
and greatly to Clark's taste. 

The pretty mirth-loving French girls 
shi'ieked and swooned upon the floor and 
the captured officers swore loud and long, 
uttering creole oaths, amidst the hair- 
raising war whoops of the visiting Indian 
chiefs. Fortune had favored the brave; 
the victory was theirs. Not a gun was 
fired. In two hours Clark was in com- 
plete possession. 

Clark's conduct here gives a pretty 
good index of his character and love for 
the spectacular. For two days his 
haughty and stern attitude added to the 
terror of the simple folk and then, when 
they were crouching at his feet, calling 
him "Sovereign Lord," he suddenly flung 
off his sternness and waxed mild and for- 



giving. He discoursed to them the joy 
of a free country which should be theirs 
if they would forswear British rules and 
become citizens of a new Republic. The 
fickle French were now enraptured. Clark 
completely won their hearts and dazzled 
their understanding. The color-loving 
Creole girls tore ujt their gowns to make 
flags, and the stars and stripes were flut- 
tering everywhere. The yong men organ- 
ized a militia with which to fight for their 
new coimtry. This was his first conquest 
in the northwest. 

General Hamilton, who countenanced,- 
if he did not aid in the cruelties of the 
Indians not surpassed by them anywhere, 
was commandant at the British post at 
Detroit. He learned of this bloodless con- 
quest of Kaskaskia, by General Clark, 
and determined to check that adventurous 
and successful general in his career of 
conquest. 

In the next spring he set out with quite 
an expedition, with the object in view not 
only to regain the lost country, but also 
to destroy Clark and sweep the settlers 
from the country and capture Fort Pitt. 
He made vast preparation, laid in great 
stores, and hastened toward Vincennes. 
This fort was in command of a Captain 
Bowman but was not prepared to resist 
so large an expedition as Hamilton's and 
capitulated. Hamilton had hoped to push 
on to Kaskaskia and capture Clark, but 
the hardships of winter prevented it. 

When Clark heard of this move of 
Hamilton's he recognized at once his 
critical position, but met the situation 
with his usual resourceful skill. With a 
bravery, dash and hardiness that has 
seldom been equ:alled, he took up offensive 
operations against the enemy, and after a 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



campaign in wLiicli liis troops suffered 
every hardsliip and privation, lie once 
more signalized his ability by capturing 
Hamilton. This stroke was a decisive 
one, and thereafter Clark's forces held 
authority over the entire northwest, ex- 
cept Detroit. The American colors were 
again hoisted over old Vincennes and the 
fort, in honor of Virginia's patriotic 
governor, was re-christened Fort Henry. 

Clark was now about twenty-seven 
years old, a period when most men have 
only begnn their careers of usefulness. 
Virginia made him a brigadier general 
and granted him a tract of land in Ken- 
tucky. Congress only presented him with 
a sword, and a vote of thanks. 

It is a matter of regret that a man 
capable of such achievements should not 
have entered into one of the many use- 
ful careers that were then opening to men 
of his ability, but his temperament was 
such that he could not settle down and 
habituate himself to the calmer scenes of 
a peaceful life, and unfortunately, more- 
over, this nervous temperament of his led 
him to the use of intoxicants. Besides, 
he felt the government had never properly 
recognized his services, it not having even 
reimbursed him for the money he had 
spent. He was stung by the taunts and 
jealousy of the regular army officers. 



And allowing these matters to sour his 
temper and give a morose tinge to his 
disposition, he gradually lost the esteem 
and resi:)ect of his subordinates. Broken 
by ill health and bowed down by disap- 
pointment he retired to private life in bit- 
terness and passed his remaining years 
in obscurity and poverty. 

A few years before he died, friends 
called attention to Clark's condition and 
the Legislature of Virginia with a flow 
of words which would have been more 
appreciated if it had been accompanied by 
a draft of money, sent him a jeweled 
sword. The old general's anger was 
aroused. "When Virginia needed a 
sword, I gave her one^ she now sends me 
this toy; I want bread," and he thrust 
the blade of the costly gift into the ground 
and broke it. 

Clark never married. In the height 
of his distinguished career he became en- 
gaged to a daughter of the Spanish 
governor of St. Louis District, but when 
that general in an interview betrayed a 
spirit of pusillanimity Clark promptly 
broke the engagement, declaring with 
heat, "I will never be the father of a 
race of cowards.". And thus ended the 
life and career of Gen. George Rogers 
Clark. 



CHAPTER VI. 



PIONEERS ANfD PIONEER DAYS. 

No Time Like the Old Time — The Squatter — The Pioneer and his Times — First 
Settlers and Settlements — Present Pioneers--Wild Animals and Their Ex- 
tinctiow — John Paul, the First Settler — Johnny Apple-seed and other Char- 
acters — Simon Kenton. 



No Time Like the Old Time. 

' ' There is no time like the old time, when 
yon and I were young, 

When the bnds of April blossomed, and 
the birds of springtime sung ! 

The garden's brightest glories by summer 
Sims are nursed, 

But, oh, the sweet, sweet violets, the flow- 
ers that opened first! 

There is no place like the old place where 

you and I were born. 
Where we lifted first our eyelids on the 

splendors of the morn. 
From the milk-white breast that warmed 

us, from the clinging arms that bore. 
Where the dear eyes glistened o'er us that 

will look on us no moi-e! 

There are no times like the old times — 

they shall never be forgot! 
There is no place like the old place — keep 

green the dear old spot! 
There are no friends like our old friends 

— may Heaven prolong their lives ! 
There are no loves like our old loves — 

God bless our loving wives!" 



The Squatter. 

As an iutermediate link between the 
passing away of the Indian and the com- 
ing of the white man, trenching on the 
border line of both periods, there ap- 
peared in the settlement of the northwest 
the unique character of the squatter, an 
individual who had little respect for the 
laws of God or man. Wherever he took 
off his hat and made his bed, that he 
claimed as his own. He knew nothing of 
the laws recognizing society, he cared 
nothing for those relating to morality. 
Very often too lazy and indolent to look 
after the cares of the household, he mar- 
ried a squaw solely for the purpose that 
she might perform that drudgery. A 
dare-devil fellow who enjoyed a fight as 
much as a frolic. He loved the products 
of the still, and sometimes raised energy 
enough to have a small one of his own. 
If he had any occupation at all, it was of 
that kind that excited his love of sport, 
such as hunting and trading. 

As soon as his liberties were curtailed, 
he moved on to a country that would allow 



90 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



liim to exercise his own sweet will. Some- 
times he was a fugitive from justice from 
the older colonies and at other times he 
had drifted into this mode of living easily 
because he did not have talent and energy 
enough to enter into a more respectable 
one. 

As the pioneer came he vanished. To 
have given him the title of "pioneer" 
would have been as much a misnomer as 
to have mentioned him as one of "the 
400" of society. 

The Pionrer and his Times. 

The pioneer was an entirely different 
kind of person, and came to the new coun- 
try with entirely different objects in view. 
He usually brought his family with him, 
if not, he married in his proper station. 
He was a patriot and respecter of per- 
sons, a believer in religion, and an en- 
courager of the cause of education. The 
first thing that he did was to build him- 
self a home, and the ownership of the 
home has always been regarded as one of 
the great safeguards of American liber- 
ties. Very often he came from the col- 
onies across the mountains in a wagon 
bringing all his belongings with him, and 
while he was putting up his humble log 
cabin his family lived in the wagon. The 
log cabin of the pioneer was a structure 
peculiar in its arrangement and ar- 
chitecture. There Avas what is known as 
the single and double cabin, but the single 
cabin was the one usually constructed. 
This had at one end a large fireplace 
chalked up with mud, where brick or stone 
was not available. At each side, in the 
middle of the cabin there was a door. 
These doors were very often placed in 



the middle of the cabin, for the purpose 
of taking the horse through in drawing 
large logs into the house that were put in 
the fireplace. These cabins usually did 
not have an upstairs, but if they did, 
sometimes the stairway was on the out- 
side. The roof was made of clapboards, 
that is, a thin board split out of timber 
about three or four feet in length. The 
logs out of which the cabin was con- 
structed were notched at the corners to 
fit into each other, the spaces in between 
were filled with mud, or daubed, as it was 
then styled. If a floor was made in the 
cabin, it was made of logs split in two, 
which were called puncheons. The door 
was fastened by a latch inside and a 
string was passed through a hole up above 
to the outside and all that was required 
when they wished to lock the house was 
to pull in the string. 

A good many people of this generation 
have not seen the real log cabin. The 
double log cabin was merely two cabins 
put together end to end. As a rule one 
room was all that the cabin contained, un- 
less some additions were put to it. In 
this age of convenience we can hardly 
realize how the pioneer lived. If he 
wished to read, provided he was able, and 
if he had anything to read, his light at 
nig'ht was furnished by the burning of 
a pine knot, or if he was dwelling in more 
luxury, he might have a grease lamp or 
possibly a tallow candle. If the good 
housewife forgot to keep the fire going, 
considerable dmieulty was experienced in 
making a new one by the friction method 
of rubbing sticks together or that of 
striking flint, or if neither one of these 
methods were successful, possibly a live 
coal might be carried from a neighbor's. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



91 



If a new garment was I'equired, flax 
was to be raised which had to be 
"broken" and the fibers woven into home- 
spun, or if garments for winter were de- 
sired the wool had to be carded and then 
spun and knit into the desired articles, 
such as womases, stockings and suspend- 
ders. If the flour bin was empty, the hus- 
band would take his horse, throw a sack 
of wheat over his back and proceed to 
the mill, sometimes possibly fifty or seven- 
ty-five miles away, give his toll and re- 
ceive flour. If new articles for the house 
were wanted, trips to Dayton or Cincin- 
nati were required, Money was a thing 
that was hardly known. The pioneer 
lived largely by way of barter and ex- 
change. To keep the time of day they 
usually watched the course of the sun. 
Clocks were a rarity. One that now 
would cost a dollar was then worth an 
ox. If they did not have shoes to wear 
to church they went bare-footed, and yet 
with all these inconveniences they lived 
perhaps as happily as the average man 
of today. After the spot of ground was 
cleared and cabin reared, the ground was 
fitted for cultivation. Among the first 
things that were planted were trees of 
the fruit-bearing variety, and one of the 
first luxuries of the early days was cider. 
Boot beer was also a favorite beverage, 
and home-brewed ale ; and the community 
was not settled long before there ap- 
peared a "still" in the neighborhood. The 
scarcity of money for articles necessary 
in good housekeeping or good farming 
made the pioneers dependent upon each 
other and perhaps more friendly and 
sociable in their way than the people of 
the later and more advanced civilization. 
In the erection of their cabins and other 



buildings, a social gathering was usually 
made and all came in to lend a helping 
hand. So in making clearings it was a 
usual thing to have a log-rolling and when 
all was through with, ending in a good 
social time. Necessity made them invent- 
ors of many of their needed articles. 
Sugar was made from , the sap of the 
sugar tree, while honey was found in bee 
trees. The bear and the deer before their 
final extinction furnished food. One of 
the earliest animals which proved useful 
to the pioneer was the hog, the mast in 
the woods furnished all his needed food, 
and he required little other attention. 

The pioneer by necessity was a jack of 
all trades, but principally he was an agri- 
culturist. His acres of land, fitted for 
that avocation, were few, yet from the 
rude implements at hand it was sufficient 
to take up all his time and ingenuity. In- 
stead of plowing his land with a gang- 
plow drawn by four spirited horses, 
breaking two furrows at once or possibly 
a larger number from an immense plow 
drawn by a traction engine, he broke his 
soil with a "jumper" and one horse, or 
possibly a wooden side-board plow drawn 
by oxen. When he cut his wheat, his 
sickle and himself were the implements 
employed. When he threshed it, he used 
the flail or tramped it out with the horse 
or ox. Cleaned it by shaking it with a 
wooden fork or with a sieve held in his 
hand. After the sickle came the cradle, 
then the reaper, where the grain was 
raked off by hand; then the self -raker, 
followed by the dropper; this by the 
marsh harvester which was a machine car- 
rying two men upon the platform who 
bound the sheaves of wheat as it was ele- 
vated up to them ; after this came the self- 



92 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



binder using wire for binding material, 
until today we have the binder with twine. 
The same advance can be noticed in the 
culture of corn, first a rude mark was 
made upon the ground with some kind of 
a plow, and the grain was dropped and 
covered with a hoe, afterwards it was 
covered with a plow, called a straddler 
or straddle-jack, then came the drill, 
where by drilling one row, the corn being 
let out by press of the thumb; then the 
two-horse planter, on which a person sat 
and dropped the corn, up to our present 
machine, where it is planted in blocks by 
means of a check-roller or wire. 

The pioneer often combined the trades 
of cobbler and blacksmith with that of his 
other trades. If he did not perform these 
trades for the use of others he did a great 
deal of his own work. The blacksmith 
was one of the most useful callings for 
the pioneer of the vicinity. His place of 
business was usually combined with a 
general repair shop for almost every- 
thing that was used in the house or upon 
the farm. The collection in the Historical 
Society Rooms of this county will repay 
a visit from anyone, containing as it does 
specimens of the many rude implements 
and utensils that our pioneer fathers and 
mothers were required to use. Theirs 
was a different age from ours. We could 
no more carry on our present state of 
civilization with the meager instruments 
and implements they had at hand, than 
they could have performed the required 
duties of their time with what we have on 
hand at the present time. 

FiEST Settlers and Settlements. 

After the raid of General Clark, with 
the results of the battle of Piqua, fol- 



lowed by the victories of "Mad" Anthony 
Wayne, resulting in the treaty of G-reen- 
ville, settlers began to flock into this part 
of the State of Ohio. 

The first white child that was born in 
our state was christened Mary Hecka- 
welder, the daughter of a Monrovian mis- 
sionary, and was born April 16, 1781, in 
the Monrovian towns on the Muskingum 
River. 

The first white child born in Clark 
County so far as is definitely known was 
Jesse Chapman, who first saw the light 
in the year 1800 near the town of Tre- 
mont City. It is possible that children 
were born about the same time, to some 
of the six families that came with Simon 
Kenton in 1790, but of this we have no 
record. It is possible that there were 
white people of the squatter variety in- 
habiting the Indian village of Piqua or 
at a trading post, which tradition says 
was at one time located near the entrance 
of Buck Creek into Mad River, prior to 
any of the dates or settlements that may 
be given, but so far as we know, a man 
by the name of John Paul was the first 
actual settler in Clark County. It is 
known that in 1790 he was living at the 
forks of Honey Creek a short distance 
above the present village of New Carlisle. 
How long prior to that time he had lived 
there is not known. Some writers seem 
to think that there is some doubt about 
his settlement, but Mr. Young who wrote 
the history of Bethel Township in Beer's 
History of Clark County gives it as an 
undoubted fact. (See subsequent sketch.) 

In 1795 David Lowry and Jonathan 
Donnel came into this county and settled 
in Bethel Township, Mr. Lowry near the 
mouth of Donnel Creek, named after his 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



93 



friend Donnels and Mr. Donnel somewhat 
further east. A tombstone in the posses- 
sion of the historical society fixes 
Lowry's death in this county. Mr. J. 
E. Lowry, jjresent county commissioner, 
can trace his ancestry to this pioneer. 
Both Lowry and Donnels were Pennsyl- 
vanians. Donnels was a surveyor. Both 
of these pioneers married after they came 
into this county. Mr. Donnels, in a fit of 
temporary insanity, committed suicide 
close to where the Moores Limestone 
Quarry is now. 

The next record of any settlement we 
have in this county was in 1796 when two 
persons by the name of Kreb and Brown 
made a settlement a little beyond where 
the Big Pour Eailroad crosses Mad River 
south of Springfield, the second time, and 
it is not far from what is now known as 
Limestone City. This settlement is 
known in history as Kreb's Station. No 
mark exists at this time of its locality. 
Tradition has it that a noted character, 
"Johnny AppLeseed" visited this local- 
ity and planted some of his trees. 

The next person to make a settlement 
within this coimty, so far as we know, 
was James Gralloway. He came from 
Pennsylvania to Kentucky, and from Ken- 
tucky to what is now Mad Eiver Town- 
ship, not later than 1798. Mr. Galloway 
was a blacksmith and settled on a track 
of 400 acres of land one mile and a quar- 
ter directly south of Enon. 

After Galloway came John Humphreys 
and Simon Kenton, in 1799. With these 
two came James Demint, the founder of 
Springfield, Philip Jarbo, William Ward, 
John Eichards, William Moore and one 
other whose name is unknown. They first 
settled near the Mad Eiver bridge on the 



National Eoad west of Springfield. Here 
it is said fourteen cabins were raised and 
a place for retreat made in case of In- 
dian hostility. It seems that this place 
was not occupied very long. Jarbo and 
Ward, and Kenton shortly thereafter 
moved up along what is now known as 
the Urbana Pike, Kenton and Jarbo set- 
tling near the Hunt and Cassilly farms. 
Humphrey and Demint came up Buck 
Creek and founded Springfield. In 1800 
John Judy, a native of Switzerland, set- 
tled in Harmony Township. He came to 
Kentucky and afterward, in 1794, to 
Greene County, and in his next move set- 
tled about two miles east of the present 
site of Plattsburg. In 1802 Joseph Cof- 
fey emigrated from Pennsylvania. He 
came in a true pioneer style with an ox 
and a cart. He brought with him such 
articles as were necessary to pioneer life, 
together with his wife and two sons. His 
first stopping place was a short distance 
above Cincinnati, but on May 1st, he came 
to his final location on the forks of Buck 
Creek about a mile south of Catawba. 

Next in point of time, so far as we know, 
came the Inlows, Henry stopping at Don- 
nelsville and Abraham settling on section 
six about two miles and a half northwest 
of Pitchin. He was a Marylander. Sam- 
uel and Andrew Black came to Pike Town- 
ship in 1806, settling on section 25 a mile 
north of the south line of that township. 

In 1807 George Buffenbarger came and 
located on the head waters of the Little 
Miami in Madison Township. 

Just when a settlement was made by 
the Stormses around and above Tremont 
City and German township it is not de- 
finitely known, but William Chapman and 



94 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



William Eoss came near Tremont City in 
1798. 

From tlie time these different settle- 
ments in the different parts of the countj' 
were made other settlements rapidly fol- 
lowed, and it was not many years until the 
county was dotted all over with settle- 
ments made by the hardy pioneer. 

PEESE:NrT PlONEEES. 

At the County Fair held in 1907, the 
following pioneers registered: 

Name. Age. 

J. F. Hamm..... 78 

Geo. Eamsey 80 

Sanf ord Flinny 84 

John Gesty 87 

Wm. Hunter 76 

John Weller 90 

E. L. Holman 80 

Hute Hansy 82 

S. D. Hatcher 79 

Silas Baker 84 

Wm. Thomas 76 

B. B. Littleton 78 

D. E. Shellabarger 80 

Eev. W. H. Guss 77 

F. H. Snyder 78 

Geo. Slurey 75 

L. K. Darrys 78 

Wm. N. Wins 85 

C. H. Wilson 78 

Harvey Strain 77 

Sebastian Gerhardt 77 

John Cabell 76 

J. G. Hatfield 86 

Wallace Collins 75 

George 0. LTrquart 75 

Abraham Short 84 

Abraham Martin 80 

W. U. Chamberlain 84 

Peter Perry 87 

David Crabill 78 

E. E. Stewart 86 

E. B. West 75 



Michael Shawver 75 

W. H. Crabill 81 

H. P. Mead 75 

John Teasel 77 

Edward Eeding 75 

J. D. Williamson 78 

John Kruft 75 

David Compton 83 

J. Adewalt 75 

David Fremont 82 

Wm. Foster 75 

Joseph Spun 84 

Gus Compton 80 

John Cord 76 

John Stevenson 79 

H. W. Swipe 91 

James Balentine 84 

Wm. Fealey 78 

Wm. Wilkinson 78 

J. D. Otstot 85 

T. S. Poling 82 

To this might be properly be added as 
pioneers : 

Name. Age. 

Eoss Mitchell 83 

John Foos 82 

Geo. H. Frey 82 

Joseph Byers 92 

Eebecca Bvers 93 

Wm. A. Barnett 82 

Adam Grube 74 

Wm. H. Heist 87 

Eev. John G. Black 84 

Henry D. Bradbury 82 

E. G." Coffin ■. 77 

Abraham Weaver 85 

Sarah Morris 84 

Sarah Baker 94 

Nancy Leas 79 

Esther Craig Fryant 91 

Jas. D. Cadwallader 77 

Benjamin Strausburg 90 

Job Ervans 83 

Joseph Pearson 80 

John Yeazell 77 

J. Harvey Arbogast 73 

Dr. Ales. W. Laybourn 89 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



95 



Dr. Isaac Kay 79 

Henry Deam 82 

Daniel Hupp 80 

Geo. W. Hastings 81 

Michael Hinkle 74 

Ales. McConkey 76 

Jacob B. Lisle 78 

John W. Parsons 77 

J. R. Athy 75 

Benjamin Keifer 84 

Lncinda A. Frankenburg 84 

W. Brand Todd 78 

David Enoch 82 

Samuel Circle 80 

Samuel E. Deffenbach 80 

Samuel R. Battin '. 78 

Pierce Crabill 84 

Robert Tindall 83 

D. T. Gibson ' 80 

Elizabeth Eebert 80 

Oscar N. Stewart ; 75 

Eobert Johnson 76 

J. S. Kitchen 77 

Thomas Wingate 81 

Cornelius Baker 85 

J. L. Kidder 80 

Dr. John H. Rodgers 74 

Joseph Wallingsf ord 84 

Jas. Wallingsford 80 

Eeuben Scifers 75 

Jacob Mitzel 77 

John Eay 94 

J. T. Eidgely 77 

Mary E. Gard 83 

E. M. Kissell 85 

Lewis Skillings 77 

Jeremiah W. Maurice 75 

Christian Brosey 77 

David Stewart 75 

Eobert J. Beck 76 

Lewis Patrick 77 

Wm. M. Harris 76 

Geo. W. Bymaster 75 

Among these should also be mentioned 

Joseph Leffel now seventy-four years of 
age, forty-six inches in height and weigh- 
ing sixty-five pounds. Mr. Leffel was 



born in this coimty, his father being 
James P. Leffel, formerly residing in Lef- 
fel 's Lane, a man six feet and two inches 
in height, and the mother weighing 200 
pounds. Mr. Leffel is perfect in form, his 
head, body, legs, feet and hands all being 
proportionately small. He is the father 
of three living children and is a well- 
known poultry dealer. 

(See Bethel Township for list at Pio- 
neer meeting, 1907, and the history of 
the various townshii^s for mention of their 
pioneers.) 

Wild Animai^s an^d Theie Extinction. 

Tliat the fertile valleys of Mad Eiver 
and the liittle Miami afforded pasturage 
for the buffalo and elk, as well' as for 
other herbivorous animals, is not ques- 
tioned. 

While there is no definite knowledge 
of the time when the buffalo and elk 
ceased to be inhabitants of our county, 
the best information that we can get on 
tliat subject is that they were last known 
to be iii this part of Ohio about the year 
1795. The red deer was known to be here 
as late as 1843. A bear was killed in Mad 
Eiver Township in 1810, and a brown 
bear was found in Green Township as 
late as 1825. The writer's grandmother, 
when she was a girl about the year 1820, 
in driving cows home through the forests 
saw a she bear and two cubs cross her 
pathway a short distance away from her. 
She paid no attention to it and the bear 
paid no attention to her. 

Jesse Demint, son of James Demint, 
the founder of Springfield, shot a panther 
on the roads north of Buck Creek, Spring- 
field, Ohio, which measured nine feet in 



96 



HISTOEY" OF CLARK COUNTY 



length. The date is not known, but it 
was not later than 1815, and it was the 
last panther seen in this vicinity. 

Opossums, raccoons, and ground-hogs 
were found in various places in greater 
or less numbers. These have not become 
entirely extinct yet, as occasionally an 
opossum will, be found as well as a 
"coon." Ground-hogs are more or less 
frequent. Wild turkeys are known to 
have existed in this county as late as 
1857. 

Squirrels were in abundance, the gray 
squirrel being the one noticed at an early 
date. The red or fox squirrel came at a 
later jDeriod, probably about 1850. The 
vigilance of the hunter and the thought- 
lessness of the Legislature in permitting 
them to be killed, have all but extermi- 
nated these pretty animals in this county. 
-The streams and ponds in the spring 
time of the year alwaj^s afforded a plenti- 
ful sight of wild geese and wild ducks. 
It is related upon unquestioned authority, 
that less than seventy-five years ago the 
wild pigeon came in such great numbers 
along some of the swamp lands in the 
northern part of the county for their 
roosting and resting for the night, that 
trees were broken down by their weight, 
and the settler of that time would come 
to this swamp and kill them with sticks. 
Until within tw'enty-five years great flock^ 
of this bird were frequently seen in va- 
rious places in this county, but such a 
sight now is a rare one. The quail, or 
partridge, as it is sometimes called, was 
also frequently found but is now fast 
disappearing; unless protected in some 
way it will not be long until it will be 
entirely extinct. 



John Paul the First Settler. 

We have before referred to the fact 
that John Paul was the first white set- 
tler, so far as is definitely known, in Clark 
County. In a recent issue, January 16, 
1908, of the Neiv Carlisle Sun, Mr. Julius 
C. Williams, himself a pioneer, has given 
a A^ery good history of Mr. Paul in which 
he states the means of his information, 
and I deem that I can do no better than 
to quote this article for the history it 
gives of the early times as well as the 
life of the person whom so far as is known 
was the first white settler of this county. 

Mr. Williams says: 

"All the printed histories have to say 
of this man Paul is, that he and his fam- 
ily were surprised and killed by the In- 
dians somewhere north of Fort Washing- 
ton, now the city of Cincinnati, sometime 
in 1789 or 1790. So far as location is con- 
cerned the student of history is left to 
judge for himself where the massacre took 
place. Some few persons who have taken 
a deeper interest in the early history of 
the Miami Valley have delved into early 
traditions and have sought to show that 
Mr. Paul and his family met death at the 
hands of the Indians somewhere near the 
forks of Twin Creek. The part Mr. Paul 
and his son, John Paul, Jr., played in the 
making of Clark County, would indicate 
that the slaughter must have taken place 
somewhere within the county's borders. 

' ' One son and one daughter of the Paul 
family escaped being slaughtered by the 
Indians. They remained where the father 
had built the first cabin in Clark County 
and continued to farm, the son, John, dy- 
ing at the age of ninety-one years in 1851. 
He was buried in the New Carlisle eeme- 




— — l— — . 




XJVVN IIALl,. CLJI'TON 



BRIDGE ACROSS MAD RIVER 
(On Old National Road West of Springfield) 





JESSE BOYD HOTEL ON OLD COLUM- 
BUS STAGE ROAD (Built Isis) 



OLD SCHOOL HOUSE— HOPEWELL 
SCHOOL 

South of Springfield on the Old Clifton Road 





SPRING! 

'I he engraving is a reproduction from a drawing made by an English gent'eman who visited 
Mr. Jeremiah Warder, I'ebruary 2:;, is:;2. The view i« from a point directly in front of what was 
formerly the Mitchell-Thomas Hospital on E. Main street, beyond the R. R. crossing, looking 
westward. The most prominent building in the center is the old Werden House, now Henry Block. 
On the right is the Old Court House. The residence on the left was the first house occupied by 
Jeremiah Warder, now the home of the Misses Bnrrowes. East High St.. opposite Christ's Episcopal 
Church. The view in the foreground was on the line of the National Road, then in process of con- 
struction. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



99 



tery where now a marble slab marks his 
last resting place. Mr. Benjamin Sud- 
doth who, until death at the age of eighty- 
nine years, two years ago, was one of 
the pioneer residents of the county and 
lived with John Paul, Jr., for a period of 
thirty years during his early life. In this 
way Mr. Suddoth heard Mr. Paul tell the 
story of the massacre many times and be- 
came quite familiar with all details re- 
garding the death of John Paul, Sr., his 
wife and three children. Mr. Suddoth 
related the following narrative of the 
Paul family to the writer a number of 
times, going to the Paul farm and point- 
ing out the exact location of the original 
cabin and the place where the slaughter 
took place. 

"Mr. Suddoth heard John Paul, Jr., 
relate many times the experiences he had 
with the Sha'WTiee 'Indians and heard him 
tell of the slaughter of his father, mother 
and other members of the family. Ac- 
cording to the boy's story of his father's 
life, Mr. Paul, Sr., was a member of the 
Kentucky Squirrel Hunters who marched 
with General Greorge Rogers Clark against 
the Indians at the Battle of Piqua. One 
division of Clark's army pursued the In- 
dians westward from Piqua, near what is 
now Durbin, imtil they came to Honey 
Creek. Here, near the forks of the creek 
on what is now the Joseph Kable farm, 
the last stand was taken with the Indians 
against Clark's men. This fact is borne 
out from the finding of cannon balls and 
musket balls that compare with those 
found in the battlegrounds of Piqua. 
After the skirmish the Indians disap- 
peared in the forests toward the west, and 
Clark's men retreated to the south, going 
back to Kentuckv. 



"When Mr. Paul, Sr., who was with 
tliis division, visited the valley in the 
vicinity of the forks of Honey Creek he 
was very much impressed with the fertil- 
ity of the soil and thereupon resolved to 
bring his family from Kentucky and set- 
tle at this point. Soon after the organi- 
zation of the Northwest Territory by the 
Ordinance of 1787, John Paul gathered 
his family into his wagon and they started 
northward from Cincinnati to find, if pos- 
sible, the place where he had visited in 
his skirmish with the Indians while with 
the Squirrel Hunters. 

"The journey northward must have 
been fraught with many hardships, as 
many times it became necessary to use 
the axe to cut their way through the 
tangled forest. Mr. Paul and his farh-' 
ily, on their lonely journey, followed the 
Miami River as far as Dayton, then took 
up the banks of Mad River and proceeded 
northward toward the point of the former 
battle. Many nights the Indians prowled 
about the little wagon, around which one 
member of the family always stood guard 
while the others slept lest they be taken 
by surprise and lose their lives during a 
night attack of the treacherous Redskins. 

"After many days of such experiences, 
Mr. Paul and his family reached the 
place with which he had been so im- 
pressed during his former visit to Clark 
County. 

"All members of the family at once set 
about to erect the cabin. Little did these 
folks think that right then and there they 
were building the first cabin in what is 
now Clark County. The cabin must have 
been a rude affair compared with our 
houses of the present, and there were 
none of those 'modern conveniences' so 



100 



HISTOKY OF CLARK COUNTY 



desired by the present-day tenant. There 
is evidence that the cabin was built 
hastily, as Paul well knew that there 
were Indians in the vicinity and it was 
his desire to protect his family from 
their probable attacks. 

"A stockade was constructed about 
the cabin, just at the base of a small hill 
which extends either way from the point 
where the cabin was built. 

"The nest thing in order was to clean 
a small patch of ground on which corn 
and some vegetables could be raised. 
The first winter was spent in clearing a 
plot of ground which lay immediately 
north of the cabin and between the forks 
of the creek. When spring came, every 
day saw Mr. Paul and his family earn- 
estly working in this truck patch to pro- 
vide supplies for the long winter that was 
to follow. 

' ' One day in the summer of 1790, when 
the family was thus engaged in the patch 
north of their cabin, there was a sudden 
war hoop came piercing from the woods 
nearby and a small band of Indians could 
be seen hurrying from tree to tree making 
their way toward the cabin. Instantly 
the Paul famih^ started for the cabin to 
make ready for defense, but no sooner 
had they started than a half-dozen of the 
screaming Indians in full war paint cut 
ofC their escape, all the time firing into 
the terror-stricken little family. In quick 
succession the father, mother and three 
of the children were pierced by the bullets 
of the Eedmen and fell mortally wounded 
to the ground. The son, John, picked up 
his father and started to drag him to the 
cabin, but the father gasped to him, 
'Save yourself, I am dying, you can't help 
me.' 



"In the excitement of the moment and 
their haste to secure the scalps of the 
white settlers and get back into cover, the 
Indians did not notice John and his sis- 
ter, and they made their escape to the 
cabin. A moment later, however, there 
was a crash from one of the port-holes in 
the cabin from John's trusty musket and 
one of the Indians who was engaged in 
scalping the father and mother fell dead. 
Another flash, a whiff of smoke and the 
second Indian fell mortally woimded be- 
side the bodies of their slaughtered vic- 
tims. This so terrified the remainder of 
the Indians that they withdrew to the 
woods a short distance away, carrying 
the bodies of their dead members with 
them, but leaving the bodies of the Paul 
family, five in all, laying on the ground 
minus their scalps. 

"For two long days' following this at- 
tack, John and his sister remained at the 
port-holes in the cabin, rifles in hand, 
ready to pierce the heart of the first Eed- 
skin who would dare to show his face from 
the neighboring woodland. On the third 
day, there having been no further signs 
of an attack, the sister and brother, ven- 
tured out where lay the bodies of the 
loved ones and buried them on the spot 
where they met death. 

"John and his sister continued to live 
in the cabin, and oftentimes saw the In- 
dians skulking along the creek nearby, 
but they were neA^er molested by an or- 
ganized band after this time. Mr. Sud- 
doth stated tliat it was no uncommon oc- 
currence for John Paul to be riding about 
his farm on horseback and to shoot an In- 
dian when he saw one, as Mr. Paul was 
regarded as one of the trustiest shots 
with a rifle with whom the Indians had 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



101 



ever contended. It is said that Paul 
often came riding up to the door of his 
cahin with the body of an Indian thrown 
cross-wise on the saddle, his heart pierced 
by one of John's rifle bullets. 'There's 
another of them damn Redskins,' was the 
remark, it is said, he would make when 
bringing home his trophy. 

•'That this account of the massacre of 
the Paul family is the most authentic so 
far recorded cannot be doubted, as the 
details are more complete and compare 
very favorably with existing circum- 
stances in later years. The point where 
the cabin was erected and where the sub- 
sequent massacre took place is near the 
forks of Honey Creek, about one mile 
northwest of New Carlisle. A brick house 
has been erected on the spot and the farm 
is owned by Fissel Brothers, nurserymen, 
of this place. Near the cabin was a 
spring and today the spring still sends 
out its bubbling stream as it did years 
ago, though the ground round about it 
has become neglected and has the ap- 
pearance of a swamp. Mr. Carson, who 
lives on the farm, says he finds many In- 
dian arrows and other relics as he plows 
in the fields around the slope of the hill, 
serving as further evidence that this spot 
was no strange location to the Redmen 
who loved to fish and hunt along tlie 
stream. 

"At the Centennial celebration in War- 
ren County a few years ago a contest was 
conducted and a prize offered for the best 
authentic account of the family that 
raised the first corn in the Miami valley. 
It was here shown that John Paul, the 
subject of this sketch, produced the first 
corn in the Miami valley as early as 1792. 

"Mr. Paul, Jr., was also one of the 



founders of the Honey Creek Presbyte- 
rian church. That he was a remarkable 
character and was the first pioneer set- 
tler of Clark County is beyond dispute. 
Mr. Suddoth, to whom the writer is in- 
debted' for much of the information con- 
tained in this interesting sketch, was also 
regarded as a man of his word and the 
story he related is beyond question one 
of the important connecting links in the 
early history of Clark Comity." 

Johnnie Appleseed and Othee 
Chaeactebs. 

Johnnie Appleseed, whose real name 
yfas Chapman, was an eccentric character 
who wandered over the midland counties 
of Ohio in the early part of the last cen- 
tuYj. He received his sobriquet from his 
peculiar calling, if I may term it as such. 
Even in the times in which he lived, his 
habits were such as to term him eccentric. 
He lived the roughest life, often sleeping 
in the woods. He was quick and restless 
in his motions and conversations. His 
beard and hair were long, his clothing was 
mostly old, given him generallj^ in ex- 
change for his apple trees. Without any 
compensation other than that of being al- 
lowed to indulge his eccentricities, he 
went from place to place planting apple 
trees wherever his fancy might suggest. 
He planted nurseries in Licking County 
and Riclnnond County and in other places 
of which we now have no knowledge. 
That his wanderings sometimes took him 
through Clark County is more than prob- 
able. People bearing the same name — 
and it is said in his biography that he had 
a large number of relatives in various 
parts of Ohio — resided near Tremont 



102 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



City where the creek flowing through 
that village is given his family name, and 
we are informed that his wanderings ex- 
tended as far as the state of Indiana. 

Tradition has it that he planted an 
orchard at what was formerly known as 
Kreb's Station, which was located near 
the western end of where the second Big- 
Four Bridge crosses Mad River south of 
Springfield. On these wanderings he 
either carried the apple shrubs or the 
seeds with him, planted or gave them 
away just as his fancy might dictate. A 
harmless character, whose peculiar but 
well resulting efforts, humble though 
they might have been, have left behind a 
kindly memory, and won for him a fanxe 
that people in more distinguished call- 
ings have often failed to win. 

The famous renegade Simon Girty was 
probably at no time a resident of this 
county, otherwise than as a guest of some 
of the Indians at Piqua. A fairly good 
sketch of his life is given in the descrip- 
tion of the battle of Piqua, although ac- 
cording to the best authorities now, he 
was not at that battle. 

Likewise the famous Indian tighter and 
scout, Daniel Boone, was at no length of 
time a resident of this county", although 
engaged in Indian excursions that took 
him through the Miami and Mad River 
Valley. He is credited with having been 
present at the battle of Piqua, but the 
better authority is that he was not there 
at the time the battle was fought, being 
in North Carolina with his people. Many 
others doubtless, who have been promi- 
nent in forming the history of this 
county, will fail to receive mention in any 
historical work. Each pioneer performed 
duties that were proper and necessary in 



his day, and while all men have not shone 
with equal luster, nor have received the 
recognition that transmits their names 
and records to posterity on history's 
page, the fact j-emains that they were 
useful and necessary factors in the early 
history of this county. 

It is said upon good authority that 
when Gen. McPherson fell in front of At- 
lanta, the surprise was so great that for a 
few moments he was deserted by all but 
a single private, who staid to attend him. 
History has searched in vain for that pri- 
vate 's name in citing the incident. So 
in our county histories while many of the 
incidents will be cited and remembered, 
the names of the individuals may never be 
known. The roster of county officials will 
give the names of a large number of per- 
sons who in various .ways participated in 
the up-building of our county, and so in 
the descriptions of various trades and 
callings there will appear the names of 
those most prominent in such respective 
tields of industry. Sketches of members 
of the bar and of the legal profession will 
also give publicity to the names of some 
who were or have been prominent in local 
history, and others, again, may be found 
in the biographical sketches published in 
the latter part of this volume. 

Simon Kexton. 

A monument stands on the right side 
of the State House at Cohunbus. Upon 
its pedestals stand the bronze statues of 
eight of Ohio's sons — of Grant, Sheridan, 
Sherman, McPherson, Hayes, Garfield, 
Stanton and Chase. This monument 
with its heroic figures stood in front of 
the Ohio building at the Columbian Cen- 
tennial. 



AND BEPBESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



103 



" 'These are my jewels,' was Ohio's 
challenge ; did any state answer ! Not one. 
Yet these men only represented one epi- 
sode in her history, one hrief period of 
four years out of her full century. Mark 
you ; we could put another monument with 
eight other of her sons, who would repre- 
sent all the different periods of her career. 
I suggest that Eufus Putnam, the revolu- 
tionary hero who led the first of emi- 
grants who settled on her soil, should 
have the first place. Next I would place 
by his side a statue of Ohio's typical pio- 
neer, Simon Kenton; then I would place 
our first president, William Henry Har- 
rison, the hero of Tippecanoe. For the 
next pedestal I would suggest Thomas 
Ewing, a great lawyer and statesman, and 
a cabinet minister under several admin- 
istrations; then Thomas Corwin, gov- 
ernor, senator and inspired orator. Then 
should come another of our presidents, 
McKinley, the well-beloved, who repre- 
sented American manhood in the turning- 
point of our history." 

Gen. Anderson's Address at Ohio 
Centennial. 

If Simon Kenton is entitled to such a 
distinguished honor as the quotation 
above gives him it certainly would not be 
inappropriate considering his pioneer 
residence in this coimty, in a work of this 
kind, to give a brief sketch of his life. 

Simon Kenton was born in Culpeper 
County, Va., on the 3d day of April, 1755, 
and died near Zanesfield, Logan county, 
Ohio, on the head waters of Mad River, 
on April 29, 1836, aged eighty-one years. 
A great many biographies give Fauquier 
County, Virginia, as the county of his 
birth, but Culpeper Coimty is given as 
the proper county on his monument. "We 
know little of his parentage or his early 
life, otherwise than his parents were poor 



and that he was never taught to read and 
write. At an early age, some say sixteen 
years, he became the suitor for the affec- 
tions of a young lady of his neighborhood. 
In this he had a rival and chivalric-like, 
wliether by agreement or by way of ban- 
ter, a contest was agreed upon between the 
rivals, in John L. Sullivan style, to deter- 
mine who should be the favorite one. 
From Kenton's fiery and fighting quali- 
ties, it may be well conjectured that he 
would not fail to accept such an offer, al- 
though he might have realized that his 
strength was not equal to that of his ad- 
versary, and so it turned out, for Kenton 
was the vanquished one. He was not 
a man to accept defeat without some 
thought of revenge, so he awaited his ap- 
pointed time, and when he became a man 
the rivals again met. This was about the 
year 1771. It can be conjectured that, 
having suffered the thoughts of his defeat 
to rankle in his bosom for so long a time, 
Kenton engaged in this battle with the 
full strength of his manhood and deter- 
mined to wreak vengeance at all hazards. 
It seems that his adversary's hair was 
long, and after they had clinched and 
rolled around upon the ground Kenton 
managed to bring his opponent's head 
close to a sapling and by a quick turn 
locked his hair around the branches. 
Then having him at his mercy, he pom- 
meled him to his heart's content; and he 
kept up this punishment so long that when 
he left his victim he thought he was dead. 
With this fear in his mind, suspicion, and 
prompted also by his love of adventure, 
he came westward to where there was a 
clustering settlement near Harrods, or 
Boone's Station, in Kentucky. It may 
be presumed from what we afterwards 



104 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



learned, that he possessed the common 
idea prevailing- among the people of his 
class, that to steal from an Indian was no 
wrong, for in 1778, about the first of Sep- 
tember, he and two others set off for the 
express purpose of obtaining horses from 
the Indians. They crossed the Ohio and 
proceeded cautiously until they had come 
to what is now Chillicothe, without any 
adventure. In the night they fell in with 
a drove of horses that were feeding on 
the prairies. They were prepared with 
salt and halters, and at length succeeded 
in catching seven. With these they trav- 
eled as speedily as possible towards the 
Ohio River, reaching the ford at Eagle 
Creek, now in Brown County. There 
they found the waves of the river so high 
that they could not force the horses 
across. The Indians at daybreak had dis- 
covered the loss of their jDroperty and im- 
mediately commenced pursuit. One of 
Kenton's companions was killed and the 
other made his escape, Kenton himself 
being captured. The next morning the 
Indians prepared to return to their In- 
dian village. ^Vlien read.v they got one 
of their wildest horses and tied G-en. Ken- 
ton on its back. The horse lunged and 
plunged in various ways, but finally be- 
coming satisfied that he could not get rid 
of his rider, quietly submitted and fol- 
lowed the Indians. In about three days 
they reached Old Chillicothe. Here he 
was made to run the gauntlet. Having 
been informed by one who knew the cus- 
toms of the Indians, that if he could break 
through the Indian lines and arrive at the 
Council House before he was over-taken, 
they would not force him to run the 
gauntlet the second time, he attempted 
the feat and would have succeeded, had 



he not met a fresh Indian near the Coun- 
cil House. This Indian saw him coming 
and threw him down and held him until 
his caiDtors came. The next thing that 
the Indians did was to decide his method 
of punishment. After consultation they 
decided that he should be punished with 
death, which in the Indian method, meant 
burning at the stake; and it was further 
decided that his place of execution should 
be at Wapatomika, now near Zanesfield, 
Logan Count}', and which, as it turned 
out afterwards singularly enough, was 
the place where he finally died a peaceful 
death. I am not sure that the Chillicothe 
first spoken of was the Chillicothe in 
Ross County or the old Chillicothe situ- 
ated three miles above Xenia. Anyway, 
on their route they were to ]3ass through 
what was then the Indian village of Piqua 
in Clark County, and thence up the valley 
through the oth?r villages alous' ^lad 
River. At these various villages Kenton 
was required to run the gauntlet. At one 
of these places he made an attempt to 
escape and got about two miles from the 
town when he accidentally met some In- 
dians on horse back and was by them re- 
captured. It was after this recapture 
that he met with the famous Simon Girty. 
It seems that previously Kenton and 
Girty were quite warm friends. When 
Kenton went to Kentucky he had assumed 
the name of Butler. Having had his face 
blackened, which among the Indians was 
a sigTi that the death sentence had been 
passed, he was not at once recognized. 
After Girty recog-nized him he did all in 
his power to have the death sentence an- 
nulled, but in this he was unsuccessful, 
and Kenton was a second time sentenced, 
when the great Mingo chief. Logan, took 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



105 



an interest in his welfare and it was 
finally decided to send him to Upper San- 
dusky. There after some more proceed- 
ings had been gone through, he was ran- 
somed and finally was enabled to secure 
his freedom. After .this thrilling experi- 
ence he revisited his old home and was 
probably not with General Clark in the 
battle of Piqua. The first that we know 
of him again was about 1784 when he 
came with Captain Logan in the raid that 
he made against Mac-i-chesk and other 
Indian villages along Mad River. He 
then served in various Indian wars and 
was a major in the army of General 
Wayne, whose conquest of the Indians re- 
sulted in the treaty of Greenville. Of his 
life in Kentucky we know little, other 
than that that section seemed to be a place 
of his abode when not engaged in Indian 
Excursions. 

In 1799 he with six other families em- 
igrated to Clark County, first settling 
near where the National Road crosses 
Buck Creek west of the city. Afterwards 
he and his brother-in-law, Philip Jarbo, 
no doubt following the old Indian trail to 
Sandusky, moved up to what is known as 
the Hunt farm in Moorefield Township, 
Kenton's cabin being a short distance 
west of the present Hunt residence close 
to the Urbana Pike and Philip Jarbo 's 
about a mile east along the little stream. 
Some biographies say that in 1802 he 
moved to Urbana, but this I think is a 
mistake. Wlaere he resided in Moorefield 
Township was then or was a short time 
afterwards considered Champaign Coun- 
ty, and from this fact probably comes the 
other statement that he lived in Urbana. 
If he did live in Urbana it was but for a 
very short time, for in the year 1806 he 



moved to what were then the rapids of 
Buck Creek, and where the village of La- 
gonda now stands. Here he built a grist- 
mill and attached thereto a carding ma- 
chine which for want of perfect machinery 
did not prove a success. He also built the 
first saw-mill upon the same site, the first 
in the county. His love of adventure, 
patriotism and military spirit led him to 
abandon or leave this mill property in 
1812, to join the army of this country in 
the second war with Great Britain. In 
this war he was a brigadier general of 
militia, serving under General Wm. H. 
Harrison. In the year 1820 he moved to 
his final earthly home, situate near 
Zanesfield in Logan County, Ohio. That 
he was a resident of this county in 1818, 
or at least that he was supposed to be, 
would appear from the fact that at the 
June term of Court of Common Pleas of 
this coimty, process was issued for him. 
At his place near Zanesfield he erected 
a small house and resided there until his 
death, which occurred as heretofore 
stated. Through the efforts of one of his 
life-long friends of Urbana, in 1865, his 
remains were removed to Oakdale Ceme- 
tery at that place, where a monument was 
erected to his memory, which bears this 
inscription on the north side— "Erected 
by the State of Ohio 1884," on the south 
side "1775-18.36." On the north side is a 
wolf's head, on the south side an Indian, 
on the west side a bear's head, and on the 
east side a panther. 

At the time of his death he was draw- 
ing a pension of $20.00 a month and was 
a member of the Methodist Church. 

He was described as being of fair com- 
plexion, six feet one inch in height. He 
stood and walked very erect, and, in the 



106 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



prime of life, weighed about 190 pounds. 
He never was inclined to be corpulent, 
although of sufficient fullness to form a 
graceful person. He had a soft, tremu- 
lous voice, very pleasing to the hearer. 
He had laughing gray eyes, which ap- 
peared to fascinate the beholder. He was 
a pleasant, good-humored, and obliging 
companion. When excited or provoked 
to anger (which was seldom the case) 
the tiery glance of his eye would almost 
curdle the blood of those with whom he 
came in contact. His rage, when aroused, 
was a tornado. In his dealing he was per- 
fectly honest; his confidence in man and 
his credulity were such that the same 
man might cheat him twenty times, and if 
he professed friendship he might cheat 
him still. 

Another who knew General Kenton at 
Zanesfield describes him as follows : 

"General Kenton, in the prime of life, 
according to his own statement, was red 
haired and his face was badly freckled. 
He walked with a slight limp, because of 
a cut inflicted in his left foot caused by 
an Indian tomahawk. Although nearly 
seventy years old when he took up his 
abode near Zanesfield, his hair was not 
entirely whitened, and here and there, 
until the day of his death, were evidences 
of its former ruddy color. He was over 
six feet tall and in younger days weighed 
about one hundred and ninety pounds. 
His eyes were changeable, now gray, but 
when he was roused to anger they as- 
sumed a greenish hue. As his years fled, 
displays of temper became infrequent. ' ' 

The following very interesting sketch 
appears in the sketches of Springfield by 
R. C. Woodward : 

"My first visit to Springfield and the 



Mad River Country was in October, 1832. 
I took lodging with Colonel Warden, then 
keeper of the National, for the night. 
When I entered the two-horse hack in the 
morning, I found seated therein a very 
elderly and dignified gentleman, who at 
the first glance commanded my respect. 
By his side sat a lad)^ much yoimger in 
appearance than himself. We three 
formed the load. The lady and myself 
soon fell into a running conversation, and 
I found her to be a very agreeable and 
companionable traveler. Among other 
facts, she told me that Springfield was 
so named at her suggestion, on account 
of the many delightfu.1 and valuable 
springs within and around the plat lo- 
cated for the town. While we chatted, 
the old gentleman sat in silence, and, as 
his grave appearance was not. of a charac- 
ter to invite conversation, with a young 
and bashful man, I had to be content, for 
the while, with looking at him, and won- 
dering who he was ! At length, however, 
when we came into the neighborhood of 
Major William Hunt's, I ventured to ask 
him if he were 'going far north.' He 
said, 'No.' The lady then said they were 
going to their home near Zanesfield, Lo- 
gan County. This question happened to 
break "the ice a little, and the gentleman 
became somewhat talkative — in a slow 
way. He told me he had been to New- 
port, Ky., to attend a meeting of pioneers 
appointed fifty years before, but that the 
cholera had thwarted the meeting. He 
pointed out along the verge of the road, 
nearly opposite the Half-Way House 
(now the residence of L. L. Young), the 
path along which the Indians had once 
escorted him, a prisoner, on the way to 
Zanesfield, to make him run the gauntlet, 



AND EEPBESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



107 



and gave me sundry snatches of detail as 
to bis ear]}^ hardships in the backwoods, 
and adventures with the Indians, so that 
by the time we came to Urbana, we had 
all become quite free talkers. All the 
time, I did not take any hint as to who he 
was, though I tried hard to study him out, 
and thought I had been familiar with his 
history from my boyhood. When we 
landed at TTrbana, at the house kept by 
Daniel Harr, Esq., the people collected 
pretty freely around the hack, all anxious 
to see and speak to him whom, as I soon 
learned, I had been traveling with, and 
whom I had, till then, known only in his- 
tory — the celebrated i^ioneer, SIMON 
KENTON, and his excellent lady." 

The reports about Kenton's life and 
his final home are somewhat confiicting 
with respect to the fact as to whether he 
resided alone or with some relative. It 
would seem from the statements of Mr. 
Woodward, that during sometime of his 
residence there, his wife was living, and 
yet other statements seem to indicate 
that, at least at the time of his death, he 
was living alone. On a stone at the cor- 
ner of what used to be his log cabin, close 
to the Indian town of Wapatomika, Zanes- 
field, Ohio, these words are carved, "This 
is the comer stone of Simon Kenton, do 
not remove it." This is all that remains 
now to indicate the place where this old 
hero spent his last days. The following 
from the pen of William Hubbard, a 
newspaper editor of Bellfontaine, is 
worthy of quotation : 

Tread lightly, this is hallowed ground; 

tread reverently here ! 
Beneath this sod in silence sleeps the 

brave old pioneer 



Who never quailed in darkest hour, whose 

heart ne'er felt a fear; 
Tread lightly, then, and here bestow the 

tribute of a tear. 

Ah ! can this be the spot where sleeps the 

bravest of the brave? 
Is this rude slab the only mark of Simon 

Kenton's grave! 
These fallen palings, are they all his in- 

grate country gave 
To one who periled life so oft, her homes 

and hearths to save? 

Long, long ago, in manhood's prime when 

all was wild and drear 
They boimd the hero to a stake of savage 

torment here — 
Unblanched and firm, his soul disdained a 

supplicating tear — 
A thousand demons could not daunt the 

Western Pioneer. 

They tied his hands, Mazeppa-like, and 

set him on a steed. 
Wild as a mustang of the plains, and, 

mocking, bade him speed ! 
They sped that courser like the wind, of 

curb and bit all freed. 
O'er flood and field, o'er hill and dale, 

wherever chance might lead. 

But, firm in every trial hour, his heart 

was still the same — 
Still throbbed with self-reliance strong, 

which danger could not tame. 
Yet fought he not that he might win the 

splendor of a fame, 
Wliich would in ages long to come shed 

glory on his name. 



108 HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 

He fought because lie loved the land And ever in the fiercest and thickest of 

where first he saw the light — the fight, 

He fought because his soul was true and The dusk and swarthy foeman felt the 

idolized the right; terror of his might. 



CHAPTER VII. 



COUNTY POLITICS AND ROSTER OF OFFICERS. 



Whigs and Republicans in Politics — Vote at Presidential Election — Close Calls and 
Defeats — Log Cabin Campaign — Prominence in Politics — Civil War Spirits 
- — War Politics — Political Meetings — Garfield cmd Pendleton Debate — Keifer- 
Bushnell Contest — Unsuccessful Candidates — Plug Eat Brigade — Incidents 
Attending Elections Under Former Laws — State Officials — Apportionment to 
Congress — Congressional Districts — Members of Congress — State Senators 
— Representatives — Common Pleas Judges — Probate Judges — Clerk of Court 
— -Prosecuting Attorneys — Sheriffs — Auditors — • Treasurers — Recorders 
— Surveyors — Coroners — County Commissioners — Infirmary Directors. 



Whig and Repi^blicans in Politics. 

An investigation of the organization of 
states and counties and the formation 
of the general government more than a 
century ago, will show that in the direc- 
tion of politics men were much the same 
then as now. We are inclined to hold up 
the past and decrj^ the present. Looking 
back we see only statesmen and patriots. 
Looking around us today we see only 
"grafters" and persons who are inclined 
to look only to the realization of their 
own personal ambitions, but an honest 
comparison would make the man in public 
life today just as good as he was a hun- 
dred years ago. In politics our people 
have always been alert and active. An 
early exhibition in that direction was the 



fight that was made in the Legislature for 
the organization of the county, and from 
that day to this, our people, through their 
representatives in various branches of 
governmental affairs, have made them- 
selves felt in the political history of our 
commonwealth and nation. From the 
fact that the emigrants to this county 
came from the regions of Kentucky, 
Maryland and Virginia, with quite a 
sprinkling from New England, New Jer- 
sey and New York, it would be naturally 
inferred that the origiual 'political com- 
plexion of this county would be Whig, 
and so it was. The '\¥hig party at that 
time, if not opposed to slavery, did not 
favor it, and from that party sprang the 
Eepublican party, and thus it will be 
seen that naturally our county would be 



110 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Republican in polities today as it was 
Whig in years gone by. It has wavered 
less in this respect than almost any county 
in' the state ; ever since its organization it 
has cast a majority vote for the Presi- 
dential candidates of either the "Whig or 
the Republican party. 

Vote at Peesidential Election. 

As indicative of the political complex- 
ion of this county, the following vote at 
Presidential elections will be interesting: 
In 1832 Henry Clay, a Whig, received 
1,963 votes; Andrew Jackson, Democrat, 
730. In 1836 William H. Harrison, Whig, 
received 1,696 votes and Martin Van 
Buren, Democrat, 713 votes. In 1840 
William H. Harrison, Whig, received 
2,382 votes, and Martin Van Buren 894 
votes. In 1848 only the pluralities are 
given. Zachary Taylor, Whig, received 
a majority of 1,132 over Lewis Cass, Dem- 
ocrat. In 1860 Abraham Lincoln, Repub- 
lican, received 2,865 votes and Stephen A. 
Douglas, Democrat, 1,581. In 1868 U. S. 
Grrant, Republican, received 3,384 and 
Horatio Seymour 1,878 votes. In 1872 
U. S. Grant, Republican, received 4,235 
votes and Horace G-reeley, Democrat and 
Liberal Republican, 2,751 votes. In 1876 
R. B. Hayes, Republican, received 5,136 
votes and Samuel J. Tilden, Democrat, 
3,536. In 1880 James A. Garfield, Re- 
publican, received 6,229 votes and W. S. 
Hancock, Democrat, 4,179. In 1888 Ben- 
jamin Harrison, Republican, received 
7,128 and Grover Cleveland, Democrat, 
5,858. In 1892, Benjamin Harrison, Re- 
publican, received 6,151, and Grover 
Cleveland, Democrat, 5,226. In 1896 
AVilliam McKinley, Republican, received 



7,667, and William J. Bryan, Democrat, 
6,382. In 1900 William McKinley, Re- 
publican, received 8,806, and William J. 
Bryan, Democrat, 6,243. In 1904 Theo- 
dore Roosevelt, Republican, received 
9,355, and Alton B. Parker, Democrat, 
4,565; Silas C. Swallow, Prohibitionist, 
345; Eugene V. Debs, Socialist, 764, giv- 
ing to Roosevelt a plurality of 4,790, the 
largest plurality that was ever given to 
any candidate in the county. 

Close Calls and Defeats. 

Notwithstanding the fact, however, 
that the county has been heavily Repub- 
lican or Whig, once in a while that party 
would have a close call for its candidate, 
or receive a defeat. Notably in this line 
was the congressional campaigTi of 1868 
between John H. Thomas and J. J. 
Winans, of Xenia, in which Winans was 
elected by a plurality of ninety-nine. In 
the county election of 1886, upon the re- 
turn of the votes cast for sheriff as made 
on the evening of election, William B. 
Baker, who was a candidate for re-elec- 
tion for sheriff, appeared to be defeated 
by nine votes and was so considered until 
the Canvassing Board in going over the 
returns discovered that the precinct of 
Selma, which had just been created, had 
been over-looked and that that precinct 
gave a majorit}^ of sixteen votes in favor 
of Baker, and thereupon Baker was de- 
clared elected by the bare plurality of 
seven votes. 

Daniel Raffensberger, a Democrat, was 
elected sheriff in 1846. Jacob Seitz, 
Democrat, was elected Commissioner in 
1867, and John H. Blose, Democrat, in 
1872, was also elected connnissioner. Two 



AND EEPEESENTATTVE CITIZENS. 



Ill 



years previous to this Blose had defeated 
S. A. Bowman, one of the most distin- 
guished members of the Spring-field Bar, 
as a member of this county to the Con- 
stitutional Convention. This is about the 
extent of the success of opposition can- 
didates-in Clark County. In 1886, strange 
as the combination seemed at the time it 
was made, the Democrats and Prohibi- 
tionists united and elected Chas. E. Gillen 
as county commissioner. Gillen, however, 
was a Prohibitionist and not a Democrat. 
In the roster of county officials it ap- 
pears that H. S. Showers, a Democrat, 
was recorder, but that was by appoint- 
ment and not by election. So Madison 
over served seven weeks by appointment 
from a Democratic governor as probate 
Judge in the early part of 1891. S. S. 
Cox, a Democrat, represented this con- 
gressional district in Congress in 1863-5, 
the only Democratic member of Con- 
gress that ever represented Clark County. 

Log Cabin Campaign. 

Although a period of sixty-eight years 
has elapsed, the exciting political times of 
1840 have not been forgotten. The log 
cabin campaign will be remembered even 
longer than the present generation. Gen- 
eral Harrison was particularly popular in 
Ohio, having served as its first represent- 
ative in Congress and in various wars and 
in other capacities throughout the west. 
The Whigs were particularly exasperated 
at General Jackson's conduct in the veto- 
ing of the National Bank Act. They 
looked upon Van Buren as his especial 
protege; besides, the stringent times that 
had intervened, made a canvass against 
Van Buren 's re-election particularly im- 



portant and one calculated to arouse the 
feelings of the people. Van Buren was 
looked upon as an aristocrat, and Harri- 
son as belonging to the hardy race of 
pioneers. Enthusiasm ran to an ex- 
traordinary degree for Harrison in Ohio. 
Miniature log cabins were built and 
hauled around in parades. There was 
one such in Springfield. A vast barbecue 
was held, and fifteen to twenty thousand 
people were present. General Harrison 
himself was here and made a speech; 
later on a noted delegation was made up 
from Harmony Township and traveled 
all the way to Columbus to attend a mon- 
ster Harrison meeting. This delegation 
had a canoe that was thirty-four feet 
long and wide enough to seat two per- 
sons comfortably on cross seats. It was 
placed on a large wagon and driven to 
Columbus. Singular as it may seem to 
us, this was the twentieth of February 
when weather is not usually agreeable for 
that kind of campaigning. Flags were 
flying, songs were sung and there was a 
general exhibition of enthusiasm for 
"Tippecanoe and Tyler too." Arriving 
at Columbus, a grand parade took place, 
and it has been doubted whether the city 
of Columbus ever witnessed a day so full 
of enthusiasm before or since. In one 
]3art of the procession iDerched upon the 
roof of a cabin sat General Anthony. 

Prominence in Politics. 

Owing to the very great popularity of 
Governor Vance, of Urbana, who was a 
member of Congress at the time Clark 
County was organized, it was sometime 
before one of our citizens became a mem- 
ber of the lower national law-making 



112 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



body. It was not long, however, before 
two men became prominent in state and 
national affairs, and in 1835 General 
Mason was sent to Congress and served 
in that body for eight years. General 
Anthony served in the Ohio Senate and 
House of Representatives a number of 
years during which he was presiding of- 
ficer of one of those bodies. He took a 
very great interest in the Whig campaign 
of 1840, and upon General Harrison's 
election he was made United States dis- 
trict attorney for the state of Ohio. 
Mason and Anthony were recognized all 
over the state as distinguished men in the 
Wliig party, and in 1849 General Mason 
also served as United States district at- 
torney for Ohio. In 1842 John Gallagher 
was representative from this county and 
was speaker of the Lower House at Co- 
lumbus. 

From the time of Mason and Anthony 
our state has received more or less prom- 
inence from the distinguished ability and 
services of the Hon. Samuel Shellabarger 
in Congress of the L^nited States, Judge 
William ^Vhite on the Supreme Bench of 
Ohio, and General J. Warren Keifer. 
With all due consideration for the lustre 
and renown which rightfully belong to 
other citizens of our county, perhaps no 
one stands above General Keifer — dis- 
tinguished as a soldier and general in the 
Civil War (1861-1865), member of the 
Ohio Senate (1868-80), in Congress from 
1877-1885, two years (1881-83) speaker 
of that body, major-general in the Span- 
ish-American War (1898) and after an 
interregnum of twenty years, 1905, 
again a member of Congress, in which ca- 
pacity he is still acting. 

Neither should it be forgotten that 



more or less prominence was given our 
locality from the fact that one of its best 
citizens, a most congenial and affable 
gentleman, Asa S. Bushnell, was governor 
of our state in 1895. 

CmL Wab Spirit. 

Generally, upon the dissolution of the 
Whig party, its inembers became mem- 
bers of the Republican party. Clark 
County having been so largel}^ Whig in 
its political proclivities, it was natural 
that upon the dissolution of that party its 
members would follow the same course, 
or one similar to that which they had 
heretofore followed, and this was the 
case. Clark County became as thor- 
oughly Republican as it had been Whig. 

Considerable abolitionist feeling pre- 
vailed in this part of Ohio. The routes 
of various "under-ground railroads" 
were through the territory of this county, 
and the feeling against slavery was par- 
ticularly strong. When Fort Sumpter 
was fired upon, the people arose, we 
might say en masse, in support of the 
Union cause. When President Lincoln 
called for 75,000 volunteers, Clark Coun- 
ty's quote was filled with extraordinary 
speed. 

A meeting was called at once over which 
Judge William Wliite presided and the 
late J. K. Mower officiated as secretary. 
At this meeting a committee was appoint- 
ed to report at a subsequent one over 
which General Mason presided. At this 
meeting appropriate resolutions were 
adopted to sustain the government with 
all the power the people possessed, and 
during the entire continuation of the war. 
Perhaps in no place in the union was the 



AiTD EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



113 



spirit of the people more strongly in fa- 
vor of President Lincoln than with us. 
However, there was a very respectable 
opposition, most of whom had voted for 
Stephen A. Douglas in 1860. Neither 
Breckenridge nor Bell received much of 
a vote in the county. Some of this op- 
position was composed of Democrats who 
had been in that party a long time. There 
were some of the Whigs who did not fol- 
low the majority of that party into the 
Eepublican party, but who, by reason 
probably of sympathj^ with the states 
from which they had emigrated, became 
members of the Democi'atic party. The 
Democratic party comprised a member- 
ship of divergent elements, some of which 
were not entirely free from sympathy for 
the cause of the confederacy. This feel- 
ing was more or less strong in the town- 
ships of German, Pike and Mad Eiver. 

The spirit of the times was such that 
the majority would hardly grant the 
minority the right to express their own 
convictions or manifest their feelings on 
any matter in opposition to the Repub- 
lican party without accusing the person 
manifesting such independence of being 
a "rebel" or a "Confederate sympa- 
thizer. ' ' 

Vallandingliam's arrest and subse- 
quent deportment to Canada aroused con- 
siderable sympathy for him, although 
conceded that his actions were not politic 
nor such as would have been advisable in 
one who was in thorough sympathy with 
the Union cause. It was a time when 
men's feelings were appealed to more 
often than their judgment. Many Demo- 
crats became Union soldiers, serving in 
various capacities with abilities and pa- 
triotism excelled by none. 



Wab Politics. 

Possibly in no state in the Union was 
there a hotter time politically during the 
war than in Ohio. Chase and Stanton, 
both former Democrats, had become 
members of Lincoln's Cabinet. Valland- 
ingham, while exercising what he claimed 
as "the right of free speech," was ar- 
rested and deported to Canada ; his cause 
was then taken up by the Democracy and 
he was nominated, in his absence, for 
governor. The Republicans nominated 
John H, Brough, and the nature of the 
canvass was such as would naturally 
cause a high spirit and feeling to prevail. 
Brough was elected by the unheard-of 
plurality at that time of 101,000. Pre- 
vious to the Brough campaign a notable 
canvass was made for Congress between 
S. S. Cox and Samuel Shellabarger. Cox 
was an exceedinglj^ bright and witty pub- 
lic speaker residing at Columbus. Shella- 
barger was an able lawyer of Springfield. 
Both had previously served in Congress. 
By the re-districting made in 1861 they 
were both thrown in the same Congres- 
sional district and were named by their 
respective parties as candidates again for 
Congress. 

A notable meeting was held in this 
campaign near Bowlusville in the north- 
ern part of this county, one of its features 
being an immense barbecue. The Demo- 
crats of that and the surrounding vicin- 
ities contributed liberally of their means 
to make it a .great success. It was the in- 
tention to feed those present. Tables 
were set and ropes put around with the 
purpose of permitting the women to go 
inside the ropes and serve the dinner to 
those outside. This arrangement did not 



114 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



suit tlie crowd and the ropes were broken 
down and each one helped himself to what- 
ever he could get. 

Thomas A. Hendricks of Indiana, S. S. 
Cos, Daniel Vorhees, and a number of 
other distinguished Democrats were pres- 
ent. It was estimated tliat 65,000 people 
were there, but like most estimations of 
the sort this is doubtless an extreme. Mr. 
Cox always attributed his election to the 
success of this meeting. 

In the Brough-Vallandingham cam- 
paign the Democrats of German Town- 
ship forined an eighty- six horse wagon 
team to attend a political meeting. Each 
horse had a rider who was dressed in 
some patriotic costume. Upon the wagon 
were women representing the Goddess of 
Liberty, and various matters of that kind. 
The Republicans were not behind the 
Democrats in party demonstration and 
political meetings. 

'PoLiTiCAi, Meetings — Gaefield and Pen- 
ULETON Debate. 

Springfield and its vicinity has for a 
long time in political raatters been of suf- 
ficient importance to those managing 
jjarty campaigns to secure from them 
some of the noted political speakers of the 
day. In former times General Harrison, 
Henry Clay, and Thomas Corwin made 
political addresses in this city, and per- 
haps every governor that has ever been 
elected by the Republican or Whig parties 
appeared before a Springfield audience. 

Formerly, and until a quite recent 
time party managers sought to influence 
the voter by the demonstrations made at 
these political meetings. It was a com- 
mon thing to have parades in which as 



much of a displaj^ as possible would be 
made. 

A large portion of the Democratic i^arty 
was composed of Germans and Irishmen, 
while a considerable portion of the Re- 
publican party were of the negro denomi- 
nation. These two elements were always 
antagonistic and generally during these 
parades some participant would be the 
recipient, somewhere along the line, of 
a brickbat or some other missile of a like 
character. Speeches and speakers were 
often forgotten by most of the paraders. 
Cannons were fired, fireworks blazed 
forth to impress upon the mind of the 
voter the importance of casting his vote 
for a certain candidate. 

In 1877 during the governorship cam- 
paign between Judge West and R. M. 
Bishop, a series of debates were arranged 
for between James A. Garfield and George 
H. Pendleton. Garfield was then a leader 
of the House of Representatives, and 
Pendleton a senator from this state. Both 
were leading and talented men and fairly 
representative of their parties. Pendel- 
ton had been the nominee of his party for 
Vice-President. 

The debate was held in Black's Opera 
House, and it was the general opinion of 
those who were present that Garfield was 
more than a match for Pendleton. 

John Sherman frequently made 
speeches in Spring-field and was always 
enthusiastically received; so was William 
McKinley whose speeches were always of 
a serious kind, scholarly and thoughtful 
throughout. 

One of the most favorite speakers that 
frequently visited Springfield was Gen. 
Wm. H. Gibson, of Tiffin, whose power to 
entertain an audience was never excelled 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



115 



by a political speaker in Ohio, at least 
since the times of Tom Corwin. 

In 1888 Thomas B. Reed made a speech 
at the Fair Groimds. 

Blaine was here, I think, in 1876. In 
1884 when he ran for the Presidency he 
stopped at South Charleston but did not 
come to Springfield. He was a very great 
favorite here, especially with the younger 
element of Republicans. 

President Roosevelt came through here 
when he was a candidate for Vice-Presi- 
dent. 

Democrats of almost equal prominence 
have visited the city but not so frequent- 
ly as Republicans. 

Vice-President Hendricks on several 
occasions was here. 

Perhaps one of the most popular speak- 
ers for the Democrats was S. S. Cox, 
former representative in Congress. Will- 
iam J. Bryan was here during each time 
that he ran for the Presidency. 

The canvass of 1880 was a spirited one 
in this county. A noted Republican meet- 
ing was addressed by "Bob" Ingersol, 
and later in that campaign Samuel Shella- 
barger made his last political speech in 
Springfield. William N. Whitley was 
then in the height of his manufacturing 
career and contributed both his means and 
efforts in this campaign. 

Keifek-Bttshnell Contest. 

General Keifer was one of those politi- 
cians who did not meet with success with- 
out an effort and opposition. He was 
nominated for Congress the first time 
over Judge William Lawrence, then in 
Congress, and present circuit judge 
Walter Sullivan, Gen. R. P. Kennedy, and 



Geo. M. Eichelberger. This was in 1876. 

In 1878 Judge Lawrence had not yet 
given up the idea of being returned to 
Congress, but Keifer was re-nominated. 

In 1880 Gen. R. P. Kennedy of Belle- 
fontaine, Col. W. R. Warnock, Coates 
Kinney, and others, had Congressional 
aspirations and sought nomination, but 
were unsuccessful. In 1882, Keifer be- 
ing Speaker, the opposition did not man- 
ifest itself. 

When Keifer was elected to Congress 
be recommended as post master one John 
A. Shipman. The latter made a reason- 
ably good ofiicial but was not a particular- 
ly popular citizen. When his first term 
expired some protest was made against 
his re-appointment, but he was re-ap- 
pointed. In 1881 Keifer was elected 
speaker of the House of Representatives 
and necessarily his time was considerably 
taken up by his duties at Washington and 
perhaps he did not pay as close attention 
to his constituents as he otherwise would 
have done ; anyway, opposition developed, 
and in looking around for a candidate it 
was decided that General Bushnell should 
contest the nomination in 1884. 

Bushnell had lived in Springfield for a 
long while, married into a prominent fam- 
ily, was popular and at that time was 
practically the head of one of the largest 
mariufacturing establishments of the city. 

General Keifer had by some rulings in 
Congress excited the opposition of Gen- 
eral Boynton, who was special corres- 
pondent of the Cincinnati Commercial, 
and through tliat paper the latter relent- 
lessly pursued General Keifer. Keifer 's 
fighting spirit would not let him withdraw 
and thus we had the most memorable con- 
test for political votes that this county 



116 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



ever witnessed. It was finally left to a 
primary, the most pernicious method, 
when money is or may be used, that could 
be adopted, and considerable was spent 
by both participants. Bushnell finally 
prevailed in carrying the county. The 
Congressional convention was held in this 
city and the feeling of opposition among 
the Keifer adherents was so strong and 
bitter that it prevented the delegations 
from the other counties casting their vote 
at any time for Bushnell. John Little, 
of Greene County, finally received the 
nomination. 

Wliile Bushnell did not receive the 
nomination, the result of his canvass gave 
him much prominence, and paved the way 
to the governor's chair. In this conven- 
tion Clark County could have nominated 
Geo. M. Eichelberger, Champaign Coun- 
ty's candidate, and because she did not, 
secured that county's political enmity, 
which a score of years has not entirely 
effaced. 

The effect of this canvass in Republi- 
can politics was felt for a number of 
years, but was fast fading away before 
Governor Bushnell died, and at the time 
that Genera] Keifer was- a candidate 
again, in 19U4, the county was enthusias- 
tically for him, and he was renominated 
in 1906 without opposition. 

Unsuccessptjl Candidates. 

In the Congi'essional and judicial dis- 
tricts, as generally mapped out, Spring- 
field was the largest city in the district. 
Being fr'om a reliable Republican county, 
it would naturally claim recognition from 
the candidates for those positions. 

In 1884 when General Keifer was de- 



feated as the choice of this coimty Asa S. 
Bushnell was the candidate. 

In 1886, the county in the meantime 
having been placed in another Congres- 
sional district, and by reason of General 
ivennedy's popularity in this county, no 
candidate was presented. 

In 1890 Edward S. Wallace was the 
choice of our delegation. The Congres- 
sional ('onvention met at Washington C. 
H. After casting a large number of votes, 
each county for its own candidate, the 
Convention adjourned without nomina- 
tion. 

A second convention was called and 
proceeded in much the same manner as 
The first, but finally, after a large numlior 
of ballots had been cast and the delegates 
tired out. aboiit 2 o'clock in the morning 
of a night session "Bob" Doan, of Wil- 
mington, was made the candidate. 

At this convention General Keifer 
might have been nominated, but those in 
control of the Clark County delegation 
would not permit that result. 

When the Circuit Court was first estab- 
lished, J. K. Mower, afterwards Common 
Pleas judge, was Clark County's candi- 
date without success, and when Judge 
Williams declined to be candidate for re- 
election because nominated for Supreme 
judge. Judge Chas. R. White was pre- 
sented as the choice of this county, like- 
wise without success. 

In 1899 Chase Stewart, former pros- 
ecuting attorney, and representative from 
this county, made a very respectable but 
unsuccessful campaign for attorney gen- 
eral of the state. 

Not only in Republican politics has our 
county been prominent, but on several oc- 




^H^M 





ACTiJKV STREET ENGINE 
HOUSE, SPRIN GE1EL11 



OLD ]-:piscopal church 



ST. RAPHAEL SCHOOL. 
SPRINGFIELD 





resh:)Ence of saail'i-:l r. i;attl\, 

MADiSON TOWNSHIP 



OESTERLEN ORPHANS' HOME,, 
SPRINGFIELD 





n!iiiMffl|»,\|li|!l!ll I 



HIGH STREET M. E. CHURCH, SPRINGFHUHO CLARK COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY BUILDING 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



119 



casions tlie opposition, have come to 
Springfield for their candidates. 

Notable in this respect was the action 
of the Prohibition party. On at least 
three different occasions that party came 
here for their candidates for governor — 
at one time nominating Eev. M. J. Firey, 
the distinguished Lutheran minister, at 
another time, in 1885, Dr. A. B. Leonard, 
a noted Methodist divine, and in 1881, A. 
E. Ludlow, an old time and prominent 
manufacturer. vVt one time the Prohibi- 
tion ticket received as high as seven hun- 
dred votes in this county. 

In 1881 the Democrats nominated Hon. 
John W. Bookwalter, a prominent manu- 
facturer and distinguished traveler, of 
this city, for governor, who was defeated 
in the election by Governor Charles 
Foster. 

Pi.xjG Hat Brigade. 

For a number of years prior to his 
nomination for President James G. Blaine 
had a very respectable following among 
the Eepublicans of this county, and when 
he finally received the nomination in 1884 
there was very great enthusiasm among 
his followers. While this state had en- 
dorsed John Sherman for the Presidency 
and while many recognized his very great 
ability, yet it could not be said that he 
was at any time the choice of the people 
generally. 

In the campaign that followed Blaine's 
nomination, the famous "Plug Hat 
Brigade" was organized. It took its 
name from the hat, which was the only 
uniform required of its members. This 
was a white plug, in imitation of the hat 
that Mr. Blaine frequently wore. The or- 
ganization was a popular one and no re- 



quirements were essential to become a 
member otherwise than to be a Eepubli- 
can. 

The club made a number of important 
trips to other cities and at one time sent 
seventeen hundred members to a large 
meeting that Blaine was holding in In- 
dianapolis, Indiana. In the succeeding 
campaign, when Harrison was a nominee 
for President, a second trip was made to 
Indianapolis. 

When E. P. Kennedy was a candidate 
for Congress, a trip was made to Belle- 
fontaine, and when McKinley was a can- 
didate for President, a like excursion 
was made to Canton, so that the organiza- 
tion became famous in the Eepublican 
political circles throughout the state. 
The last demonstration that the club made 
was the one to Canton to call upon Mc- 
Kinley in 1896. It was an important 
factor in all the Eepublican political cam- 
paigns from 1884 to 1896. 

Incidents Attending Eusctions Undek 
FoEMER Laws. 

Casting our ballots now under the pro- 
visions of the law known as the Austi'alian 
Ballot Law, we hardly realize the methods 
formerly in use in the conduct of elec- 
tions. 

Not many years ago the ballots repre- 
senting the candidates of the various 
parties, which were then gotten out by 
the parties or candidates themselves, were 
of a different style. Sometimes decorated 
with the photo of the individual candi- 
date, and so made that judges of election 
might easily detei-mine the partyism of 
the ticket from its characteristics. This 
was by law changed in order to prevent 



120 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



fraud and all tickets were required to be 
printed on the same kind of paper, but 
the parties themselves took charge of the 
printing and distribution of the tickets. 

An exciting time was usually had in 
selecting judges to conduct the election, 
for upon their decision might depend the 
results of the ballots. 

The Board of Election officers were 
selected and organized on the morning of 
the election, and w^hiehever party could 
insure the presence of the largest number 
of adherents at the time the polls were 
opened, was in a position to select the 
judges. So there was quite a spirited con- 
test in getting a number present at the 
opening of the polls. They would line up 
in separate ranks, a count would be taken 
of those present at that time, and the 
majority would choose the election offi- 
cers. This method, of parties taking 
charge of the election in this way and 
printing their own ballots, gave ample 
opportunity for the opposition to claim 
fraud. 

As an example showing what might 
happen, the writer knows of an all-night 
ride to correct an apparent mistake in the 
ballot. On the night before the election, 
somewhere between ten o'clock and mid- 
night, it was discovered that the name of 
the supreme judge had been mis-s^ielled, 
and the party managers were afraid that 
this might afl'eot his election. So new 
ballots were printed and these were or- 
dered distributed throughout the county. 
The writer took the route leading north 
through Moorefield Township, leaving 
some of the ballots at John Sultzbaugh's, 
on the TTrbana Pike, who was then 
a .judge of election of Mooretield Town- 
ship, .and then proceeded on up to Tre- 



mont and left those for that precinct with 
Dr. Frank Reigel; thence to Lawrence- 
ville, where E. G. Coffin then resided, 
rousing him from his morning slumbers ; 
and thence to North Hampton, arriving 
there before the polls had opened at sis 
o'clock in the morning. Under the pres- 
ent system such occurrences necessarily 
are avoided. 

Until 1885 the state and county elec- 
tions were held in October, and whenever 
a president or members of Congress were 
to be elected we had two elections in the 
fall, one in November and one in October, 
and until 1905 all municipal and township 
officers were elected in April of each year. 
In 1904 the spring elections were abol- 
ished, and all officers were chosen at the 
fall election held on the first Tuesday 
after the first Monday in November. 

Tn 1906 another change went into ef- 
fect, and now state and county officers 
are elected in the even-numbered years, 
and city and township officers in the odd- 
numbered years. 

State Officials. 

This county has never furnished very 
many state officials. Asa S. Bushnell was 
Governor from ] 896-1900. William 
White, supreme judge, 1864-1881. Au- 
gustus N. Summers, supreme judge from 
1904 to this date. John F. Oglevee, state 
auditor, 1881-1887. R. F. Hay ward was 
for several years Sergeant-at-Arms of the 
State Senate. Thomas L. Calvert is now 
secretary of the State Board of Agricult- 
ure. 

ApPOjaTIONMENT TO CoNGEESS. 

The United States constitution provides 
that representatives shall be apportioned 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



121 



among the several states according to 
their respective numbers, and that the 
number of representatives should not ex- 
ceed one for every thirty thousand, but 
each state shall have at least one. This 
constitutional provision is likely to re- 
quire, after the return of each census, 
changes in the Congressional districts of 
the state; for it is not often that a state 
will retain for a score of years the same 
relative population to other states of the 
union. If the parties in power were ab- 
solutely fair in dividing the states into 
districts, there perhaps would never be a 
change of districts between the returns 
of the census. However parties are not 
fair in this matter, and by an ingenius ar- 
rangement the counties can be so placed 
that the minority party will not have its 
fair proportionate number of Congres- 
sional representatives. From this fact it 
is not an uncommon thing for a change 
in the complexion of our State Legis- 
lature to mean a change in the boundaries 
of our various Congressional districts. 

When Congressional districts are made 
unfairly, or changed by reason of such 
unfairness, and then made unfairly to the 
other party it is called "gerrymander- 
ing," this tei'ra being derived from Gerry, 
a Massachusetts man who first employed 
such tactics. The map of our state some- 
times presents some verj^ queer looking 
boot-leg situations after the gerrymander 
has gotten in his work. 

On examination of the list of counties 
of the various districts in which Clark 
County has at various times appeared, it 
will be noticed that in the two decades 
from ] 872-1892, there were no less than 
six different divisions of the state made 
for Congressional purposes. This hap- 



pened because of a frequent change of the 
political complexion of our Legislature, 
and while General Keifer was first in Con- 
gress, from 1876-1884, during four suc- 
cessive terms, it so happened that his 
Congressional district was changed at 
each time he was elected. 

Congressional Districts. 

Since the organization of the State, 
Clark County has been in various Con- 
gressional districts, and received several 
different designations. 

From 1832-1842 it was in the Tenth 
district, composed of Union, Hancock, 
Hardin, Ijogan, Chamj^aign, Clark and 
Greene Counties. 

From 1842-1852 it was in the Fourth 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Miami, Clark, Champaign, Madi- 
son, Union, and Logan Counties. 

From ] 852-1862 it was in the Eighth 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Clark, Champaign, Logan, 
Union, and Delaware Counties. 

From 1862-1872 it was in the Seventh 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Greene, Clark, and Franklin 
Counties. 

From 1872-1878 it was in the Eighth 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Madison, Clark, Miami, Logan, 
and Champaign Counties. 

From 1878-1880 it was in the Fourth 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Greene, Clark, Champaign, 
Logan, and Union Counties. 

Froin 1880-1882 it was again in the 
Eighth Congressional District, which was 
composed of Madison, Clark, Miami, 
Logan, and Champaign Counties. 



122 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



From 1882-1884 it was in the Eighth 
Congressional District composed of Clark, 
Pickaway, Champaign, Logan, and Madi- 
son Counties. 

From 1884-1886 it was in the Eighth 
Congressional District, composed of 
Champaign, Clark, Greene, Clinton, and 
Fayette Counties. 

From 1886-1890 it was in the Eighth 
Congressional District, composed of 
Clark, Pickaway, Champaign, Logan, and 
Madison Counties. 

From 1890-1892 it was in the Tenth 
Congressional District, which was com- 
posed of Clark, Clinton, Fayette, Greene, 
and Ross Counties, 

From 1892 to the present date it has 
been in the Seventh Congressional Dis- 
trict, which is composed of Miami, Clark, 
Madison, Fayette, and Pickaway Counties. 

MEMBEKS OF CONGEESS. 

Joseph Vance, Urbana 1818-1835 

Samson Mason, Springfield ... 1835-1843 

Joseph Vance, Urbana 1843-1847 

R. S. Canby, Bellefontaine 1847-1849 

M. B. Corwin, Urbana 1849-1851 

Beni. Stanton, Belief ontaine ... 1851-1853 

M. B. Corwin, Urbana 1853-1855 

Benj. Stanton, Bellefontaine . . . 1855-1861 
Sam'l Shellabarger, Springfield 1865-1869 

S. S. Cox, Columbus 1863-1865 

Sam'l Shellabarger, Springfield 1865-1869 

J. J. Winans, Xenia 1869-1871 

Sam'l Shellabarger, Springfield 1871-1873 
Wm. Lawrence, Bellefontaine. .1873-1877 
J. Warren Keifer, Springfield . 1877-1885 

John Little, Xenia 1885-1887 

R. P. Kennedy, Bellefontaine. .1887-1891 

R. E. Doan, Wilmington 1891-1893 

G. W. Wilson, London 1893-1897 

W. L. Weaver, Spring-field 1897-1901 

Thos. B. Kyle, Troy 1901-1905 

J. Warren Keifer, Springfield. .1905- 



'28, 
'30, 



STATE SENATOES. 

George Fithian. . . .1818-'21, '23, '24, 
James Coolev, Clark Co 

\ '22, '23, '25, '26, 

John Daugherty, Clark Co 

'26, '27, 

Samson Mason, Clark Co . . . '29 
Abraham R. Colwell, Clark Co. 

'31, '32, 

Charles Anthony, Clark Co 

'33, '34, 

John H. James, Clark Co 

'35, '36, '37, '38, 

Elijah Vance, Butler Co '36, 

Joseph Vance, ChamiDaign Co 

'39, '40, 

Alex. Waddle, Clark Co '41, 

JoseiJh Ridgway, Jr., Franklin Co.. 

'42, '43, 

Alfred Kelley, Franklin Co. . '44, '45, 
Jennet Stutson, Franklin Co. '46, '47, 
Harvey Vinal, Clark Co. '48, '49, '50, 

John D. Burnett, Clark Co '52- 

Heniy W. Smith, Madison Co. . . . '54 
.Tames C. Brand, Champaign Co . . '56 

Saul Henkle, Clark Co '58 

Richard A. Harrison, Madison Co. '60 

S. S. Henkle, Clark Co '62- 

A. P. Howard, Champaign Co...'64- 

Toland Jones, Madison Co '66 

J. W. Keifer, Clark Co '68- 

Aaron P. Howard, Champaign Co.. 

'70 

Wm. M. Beach, Madison Co '72- 

A. Waddle, Clark Co '74 

W. R. Warnock, Champaign Co . . '76 

Geo. W. Wilson, Madison Co '78 

Thos. J. Prhagle, Clark Co '80 

Moses M. Savre, Champaign Co . . '82- 
S. W. Durfliiiger, Madison Co...'84- 

Thos. J. Pringle, Clark Co '86- 

Thos. A. Cowgill, Champaign Co. '88- 

Thos. B. Wilson, Madison Co '90- 

D. W. Rawlings, Clark Co '92- 

S. M. Mosgrove, Champaign Co . . '94- 

Wm. M. Jones, Madison Co '96- 

John L. Plummer, Clark Co 

Evan P. Middleton, Champaign Co.. 

• '00 



'25 

'27 

'29 
'31 

'33 

'35 

'39 
'37 

'41 
'42 

'44 
'46 
'48 
'51 
'54 
'56 
'58 
'60 
'62 
'64 
'66 
'68 
'70 

'72 
'74 
'76 
'78 
'80 
'82 
'84 
'86 
'88 
'90 
'92 
'94 
'96 



98- '00 



'02 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



123 



Nelson Riggins, Madison Co '02- '04 

Orrin F. Hypes, Clark Co '04-' 

, REPEESENTATIVES. 

Reuben Wallace 1817- '20 

John Daugherty '20, '21, '22, '23, '24, '25 

Samson Mason '23- '24, '45- '46 

James Foley '25, '26, '27, '28, '29 

J. A. Alexander '26- '27 

Charles Anthony '29- '31, '37- '38, '47- '48 

Ira A. Paige '31- '33 

W. V. H. Cushing '33- '37 

Alexander Waddle '38- '40 

Aqnilla Toland '40- '41, '43- '44 

S. M. Wheeler '40, '41, '42 

John M. Gallagher '42- '43, '44- '45 

Isaac Houseman '42- '43 

Sam'l B. Williams '46- '47 

Jesse C. Phillips '48- '49 

Henry W. Smih '48- '50 

John D. Burnett '49- '51 

Jas. Rayburn '50- '51 

Samuel Shellabarger '52- '54 

Wm. Goodfellow '54- '56 

John H. Littler '56- '58 

Andrew D. Rogers '58- '60 

John Howell '60- '62 

R. D. Harrison '62- '66 

Henry C. Huston '66- '68 

Perry Stewart '68- '70 

J. K. Mower '70- '72 

Benjamin Neff '72- '76 

J. P. Oglevee '76- '80 

N. M. McConkev '80- '82 

E. G. Dial...." '80- '82 

John H. Littler '82- '86 

Geo. C. Rawlins '86- '90 

John F. McGrew '90- '94 

D. W. Rawlings '90- '92 

Geo. Elder '94- '98 

Chase Stewart 1896-1900 

S. B. Rankin 1898-1902 

0. F. Hypes 1902-1904 

Earle Stewart 1904- 

Jas. Hatfield 1906- 

C0MM03!f PLEAS JUDGES. 

*Orin Parish 1818-1820 

* Joseph H, Crane 1820-1828 

*Xot resiflents of this county. 



*Geo. W. Holt 1828-1834 

* Joseph R. Swan 1834-1845 

James L. Torbert 1845-1852 

William A. Rogers 1852-1855 

*Baldwin Harlan 1855-1856 

Wm. ^Vhite 1856-1864 

Mas; M. Smith 1864-1875 

*Moses Barlow 1864-1875 

James S. Good 1875-1885 

Chas. R. White 1885-1890 

F. M. Hagan 1890-1891 

John C. Miller 1891-1901 

J. K. Mower 1901-1906 

Albert H. Kunkle 1906- 

PEOBATE JUDGES. 

James S. Halsey 1852 

James L. Torbert 1857 

Jolm H. Littler 1859 

Enoch G. DiaL 1870 

John C. Miller 1876 

W. M. Roekel 1891 

J. P. Goodwin 1897 

F. W. Geiger 1903 

CLEBK OF COURT. 

John Layton 1818- 

Thos. Armstrong 

Saul S. Henkle 

Jas. S. Halsey -1851 

Harvey Vinal 1851- 

Absalom Mattox -1873 

Ed. P. Torbert 1873-1881 

Jas. H. Rabbitts 1881-1891 

D. H. Cushing 1891-1900 

J. B. Clingerman 1900-1906 

Fred Snyder 1906-- 

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY. 

Zepheniah Piatt 

George W. Jewett 

Samson Mason .1818 

Charles Anthony 

James L. Torbert 

Charles Anthonv 

William White ' 1848 

John S. Hauke 1854 

James S. Goode 1858 

John C. Miller. 1862 

Dixon A. Harrison 1864 



124 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Thomas J. Pringle 1868 

Walter L. Weaver 1875 

George C. Rawlins 1877 

Walter L. Weaver 1881 

Chase Stewart 1889 

H. W. Stafford 1895 

John B. MeGrew 1901 

Lawrence Laybourn 1907 

SHERIFFS. 

Cvrus Ward 1818-1819 

Thomas Fisher 1819-1822 

Thomas Armsrong 1822-1824 

John A. Alexander 1824-1826 

Wm. Sailor 1826-1830 

Wm. Berrv 1830-1834 

John Lattimer 1834-1838 

Wm. Berry 1838-1842 

Absalom Mattox 1842-1846 

Daniel Raffensberger 1846-1848 

Henrv Hallenbaek 1848-1852 

Joseph Mclntire 1852-1856 

John E. Lavton 1856-1860 

James Fleming 1860-1864 

Cvrus Albin 1864-1868 

E. G. Coffin 1868-1872 

Cornelius Baker 1872-1876 

E. G. Coffin 1876-1880 

Jas. Foley 1880-1884 

Wm. B. Baker 1884-1888 

A. J. Baker 1888-1892 

T. E. Lott 1892-1896 

Thos. Shoeknessy 1896-1900 

Floyd Routzahn 1900-1904 

Wm. Almony 1904- 

AIIDITOES. 

John Daugherty 1818-1819 

David Higgins 1819-1821 

William Wilson 1821-1826 

Jas. S. Halsey 1826-1836 

S. M. Wheeler 1836-1838 

Reuben Miller 1838-1856 

John Newlove .1856-1871 

Jno. F. Oglevee 1871-1875 

Quincy A. Petts 1875-1881 

0. F. Serviss 1881-1891 

E. T. Thomas 1891-1893 

L. F. Young 1893-1899 



A. H. Hahn 1899-1905 

James A. Linn 1905- 

TKEASURERS. 

John Ambler 1818-1828 

Cvrus Armstrong 1828-1846 

William Berry . : 1846-1847 

S. B. Williams 1847-1855 

Wm. C. Frye 1855-1859 

Theo. A. \'Vlck 1859-1863 

Thomas R. Norton 1863-1867 

Theo. A. Wick 1867-1871 

Richard Montjoy 1871-1872 

Wm. S. Field 1872-1873 

Wm. C. Frye 1873-1875 

John W. Parsons 1875-1879 

W. S. Wilson 1879-1883 

John W. Parsons 1883-1887 

Geo. W. Collette 1887-1891 

J. J. Goodfellow 1891-1895 

J. M. Todd 1895-1899 

P. M. Stewart 1899-1905 

C. W. Arbogast 1905- 

KECOEDEES. 

David Kizer 1818-1825 

Saul Henkle 1825-1835 

Isaac Hendershot 1835-1842 

Isaac Lancy 1842-1847 

Saul Henkle 1847-1848 

Robert Beach 1848-1853 

John H. Thomas 1853-1856 

Isaac Hendershot 1856-1862 

H. S. Showers 1862-1863 

W. S. Miranda 1863-1864 

Ashley Bradford 1864-1883 

S. A." Todd 1883-1891 

M. M. McConkev 1891-1897 

Jos. W. Allen 1897-1903 

Frank Mills .....1903- 

suE^^;Y0ES. 

William Wilson 1818- '30 

Reuben Miller '30- '36 

Wm. A. Rogers '36 

Samuel Harvev '37 

John R. Gimn '38- '42 

Thomas Kizer '42- '60 

J. D. Moler '60-'63 

Thomas Kizer '63- '66 

Wm. Brown '66-'70 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



125 



J. Donglas Moler 70-72 

Thomas Kizer 72-78 

Chandler Robbins 78- '80 

Frank P. Stone '80- '82 

Wm. Sharon '82- '97 

S. Van Bird 1897- 

coronEes. 

John Hunt 1818 

Wm. Needham '28 

Harvey Humphreys '34 

John Hunt '38 

Morton Cary '54 

Cyrus Albin '63 

Isaac Kay '64 

James Fleming '65 

Reuben Miller '66 

W. B. Hoffman '68 

Oscar F. Bancroft '70 

Biddle Boggs '72 

E. G. CofSn '74 

Jas." Kinney '76 

J. L. Coleman '78- '85 

J. M. Bennett '85 

J. G. Webb '89 

J. M. Austin '91 

Henry Sehaeifer 1895 

J. M. Bennett 1899 

J. D. Thomas 1903 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 

Jolm Black 1818- '31 

James Foley, Moorefield Tp '18- '25 

Enoch B. Smith '18- '20 

John Heaton '20- '26 

John Layton, Mad River Tp '26- '30 

Pierson Spining, Springfield Tp. . . '26- '27 
John Whiteley, Springfield Tp 

;27-'34, '36- '42, '48- '49 

Wm. Werden, Springfield Tp 

'30- '33 '38- '41 

Elnathan Cory, Bethel '. . '31- '40 

Oliver A rmstrong, Springfield . . . '33- '36 

Wm. Holloway '34- '38 

Melyn Baker, Mad River '40- '49 

Adam Shuey, Springfield '41- '47 

Robert Turner '42- '48 

Wm. Whiteley, Springfield 

:....'47-'48, '49- '56 

Samuel Black, Pike '49- '51 



Adam Baker, German '49- '52 

Ezra D. Baker, Mad River '51- '57 

Jas. F. Whiteman, Green '52- '58 

Sam'l W. Sterrett, Pike '56- '65 

Daniel 0. Heiskell, Madison '57- '63 

D. L. Snyder, Springfield '58- '61 

L. B. Sprague. Harmony '61- '64 

David Havward, Springfield '63- '67 

E. B. Cassily, Moorefield '64- '72 

Perry Stewart, Green '65- '67 

Wm. 0. Lamme, Bethel '67- '70 

Jacob Seitz, Springfield '67- '68 

Wm. D. Johnson, Green '68- '74 

N. M. McConkev, Pleasant '70- '76 

H. G. Miller, Mad River '72-75 

J. H. Blose, German '74- '77 

George H. Frey, Springfield '75- '80 

Edward Merritt, Madison '76- '79 

*Mark Spenee, Pike '77 

John Scarff, Bethel '77- '81 

Leon H. Houston, Madison '79- '81 

Jonathan S. Kitchen, Spring-field. .'80- '86 

D. G. ^Corv, Bethel '81- '84 

D. W. Rawlings, Moorefield '82-Jan., '89 

W. H. Sterrett, Pike '84- '90 

C. E. Gillen, Springfield '86- '89 

R. N. Elder, Green '89- '95 

J. H. Dalie. Springfield '90- '96 

J. B. Trumbo, Bethel '91- '97 

Milton Cheney, Madison 1895-1901 

* Aaron Spangler, Springfield. 1896-1897 

Jacob Hinckle, Springfield 1897-1905 

J. B. Grain, Bethel 1897-1903 

*J. H. Collins, German 1903-1905 

J. E. Dowry, Bethel 1905-1906 

Henry Wraight, Springfield. . .1905- 

S. S.'Twiehell, Moorefield 1901-1907 

N. M. Cartmell, Pleasant, 1906- 

J. E. Dowry, Bethel 1907- 

INFIRMARY DIRECTORS. 

Joseph Perrin 1836-1842 

Chas. Cavileer 1836-1842 

Cvrus Armstrong 1836-1842 

J. W. Kills 1842-1864 

Joseph Osborne 1842-1876 

Devi Dattrop 1842-1853 

Peleg Coates 1853-1858 

*r)iecl in office. 



126 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Jasper W. Peet 1858-1861 

Wm. Eby 1861-1874 

Alex Ramsey 1864-1878 

J. D. Stewart 1864-1878 

J. T. May 1874-1878 

E. B. Oassilly 1876-1877 

Sam'l Rhodes 1877-1881 

Adam Lenhart 1881-1885 

John E. Layton 1878-1881 

Isaac Kindle 1878-1888 

Geo. W. Alt 1881-1885 



John Goodfellow 1885-1885 

Jas. Buford 1885-1891 

B. F. Flago 1891-1898 

R. J. Beck 1896-1905 

Chas. Butler 1891-1897 

John E. Stewart 1892-1898 

Marshal] Jackson 1897-1903 

R. B. Canfield 1898-1904 

G. H. Logan 1903- 

Geo. W. Bymastei* 1904- 

R. T. Kelley 1905- 



CHAPTER VIII. 



MISCELLANEOUS NOTABLE EVENTS. 



Centennial of the Battle of Piqua — Springfield Centennial — Underground Railway 
— White Rescue Case — Springfield's First Riot — The Second Riot — Cyclones 
— Freshets — The Great East Street Shops — The Crusades. 



Centennial op the Battle of Piqua. 

Unless care is taken to preserve his- 
torical matter by printing and publica- 
tion, it would surely be lost, and we would 
thus have no record of the past, save a 
few broken and disconnected facts, or 
fancies, transmitted to us by the unreli- 
able medium of tradition. We of today 
have a proper realization of this fact, 
and now that printing is so much cheaper 
than formerly, and the art of illustration 
proportionately advanced in quality and 
decreased in price, much more is expected 
in this direction; and still more may be 
expected in the future, especially as a re- 
sult of the historical centennials, such as 
that of which we now have occasion to 
write. 

But a few years ago, the centennial of 
the admission of the State of Ohio was 
held in Ohillicothe. Proceedings of it 
were published and formed a most admir- 
able history of many of the events of our 
state. 



In 1870 the Mad River Valley Pioneer 
and Historical Association was formed 
and before that body, in January, 1871, 
Dr. John Ludlow read a paper entitled, 
"The Early Settlements in Springfield." 

In the organization of this society the 
Eev. A. H. Bassett, who was its first presi- 
dent, well stated the object of the associa- 
tion as follows: "To rescue from obliv- 
ion interesting facts and important in- 
formation would seem a duty which we 
owe to those who come after us. The 
present is indebted to the past, so the 
present should provide for the future. 
Today has the benefit of yesterday's ob- 
servation and experience; so should to- 
day preserve and carry forward its ac- 
cumulated information for the benefit of 
tomorrow. ' ' 

This organization had but a short dura- 
tion, but imbibing its spirit, the Hon. 
Thomas F. McGrew prepared a paper 
describing the battle of Piqua, being the 
same heretofore used in this work. This 
paper attracted wide attention and sug- 



128 HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 

gested the propriety of celebrating the an- jj^^Jj""^^- 

niversary of that battle. Reading Communications Capt. D. C. Ballentine 

There being no more suitable and better Music. ' 

Tn 1 . ,• • ■ , .1 An Historical Sketch Tliomas F. McGrew 

qualuied association m existence, the Music. 

Clark County Veteran Memorial Associa- 2ln't" '^'°- ^- ^- ^''"°° 

tion took the matter up, and Captain SSS"! . ^^^'ff I"!"!' Rev. du po, 

Steele, who was then engaged in the writ- 
ing of Beer's History and who was ae- Col. Eobert L. Kilpatrick, with efficient 
tive in historical matters moved that a staff, Chief Marshal of the Day. Signal 
committee be appointed to consider the Code — red and white pennant and national 
feasibility of the project. The motion flag at half mast, where Clark's men were 
prevailed and Captain Steele, Col. How- buried and site of the old stockade ; solid 
ard D. John, Andrew Watt, D. C. Ballen- red guidons, outlines of old stockade fort; 
tine and William H. Grant were appointed diagonal red and black guidons, Indian 
as a committee. line of defense, right wing ; orange-col- 

A number of sub-committees were ap- ored guidons, triangular, Lynn's corn- 
pointed to carry out the project, the fol- mand, Gen. Clark's right wing (between 
lowing being the program : these opposing lines the conflict was the 

hottest) ; blue guidons, triangular, center 

Peogeam. of Clark's command; white guidons, 

Monday morning. August 9, 1880-As- triangiilar, Logan's command; large 

sembly of all organizations at their re- ^«'^^^^- ^^S' with white crossed cannon, 

spective quarters at 8 o'clock A. M. For- s^^PPOsed position of Clark's gun; broad 

mation under direction of Chief Marshal, swallow-tailed pennant, red, on top of 

on High Street, with right resting on ^^'^' ^^^^^^ ^'^'^^^ ^^^^lon; large red flag 

Limestone, at 8 :45. Eeception of Gover- ^^^^ ^^^*^ ^'^" «^ ^«P °^ «1^^^' ^V^mng to 

nor Foster and party and invited guests ^^^^"^ ^^ ^«^^^ ^^^^^ ^^^^^^^ ^^'^ ^^P" 

bv the Council Committee and Veteran P«'^^<^ ^« ^^^« escaped; national colors, 

Memorial Association. Parade-East on ^"^^« P^^^^' speaker's stand. 

High street to Linden avenue, counter- ^^^"^ Battle-The exercise of the day 

march west to Spring, north to Main, west ^'^^ conclude with a mimic battle, to 

to Market, where the column will divide, terminate m the destruction of the In- 

and the portion which is mounted and in "^'^^ quarters. Persons represented: 

carriages will continue the march to the ^^^- ^^°^S'^ ^^^^^"^ Clark-Col. Harvey 

battle grounds; those on foot will move ^^^^^^ ^°^- ^^J^^-Gol. Peter Sintz; Col. 

to the depot and take the cars for Pontoon Logan-Capt. Perry Stewart; Col. Floyd 

Bridge. Upon arrival at the grounds, the ^^^P^" ^^^^^^ ^^^•"'- Slaughter— Capt. 

following program will be obsem^ed at -^^i- Knecht. 

the stand- '^^^^ program was carried into full ex- 
ecution. The celebration was held upon 

invocation Rev. T. J. Harris the old battle-grouud, UpOU a hot cloud- 

Address of Welcome Gen. J. Warren Keifer ^^^^ AugUSt day. It had been Well ad- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



129 



vertised and an immense concourse of 
people assembled, some placing it as high 
as twenty thousand. General Keifer made 
the address of welcome, which was re- 
sponded to by Governor Poster. Thomas 
F. McGrew read a valuable paper suit- 
able to the occasion. This was followed 
by an address of Gen. W. H. Gibson, who 
was then adjutant general of Ohio. He 
in turn was followed by Col. T. M. Ander- 
son of the United States Army. Hon. 
Stephen Johnson of Piqua also made some 
remarks. Mr. Johnson's mother was a 
lady of Kentucky, and was a friend of 
Daniel Boone; she was also acquainted 
with Teeumseh. Letters were read from 
Judge Force, Prof. 0?ton, M. M. Munson, 
Greenville ; Dr. J. J. Musson, St. Paris ; 
Isaac Smucker, Newark; C. W. Butter- 
field, Wisconsin; President Hayes, Sen- 
ators Thurman and Pendleton, Mayor 
Noble of Tiffin; William Patrick, of tlr- 
bana, and Theophilus McKinnon of Lon- 
don. These letters are published entire 
in Beer's History and give much valuable 
historical information about our county. 

After the dinner hour was over, the ex- 
citing events of the day took place. There 
was a sham battle fought upon the 
grounds, the purpose of which was to il- 
lustrate and bring vividly before the mind 
the events that occurred one hundred 
years before and, as can be attested by 
those who were present, it was excitable 
in the true sense of the term, soldiers ap- 
pearing here and there representing as 
best they could the hardy ranger of 
Clark's command, or the fierce Indian of 
one hundred years ago. 

How closely the imitation contest re- 
sembled the original battle, may remain a 
question, but most assuredly it gave an 



instructive lesson to all in the history of 
our county, and brought before the people 
as had never been done before, the one 
great important military event that hap- 
pened on Clark County's soil. 

The Spki:ngfiel,d Centenniai.. 

When the time arrived when we could 
properly hold another centennial we had 
a Historical Society, the Clark County 
Historical Society having been formed in 
1897. This organization, early in 1900, 
took up the question of celebrating the 
centennial of our city of Springfield. 
Somewhat doubtful of the power of its 
own influence, the society sent forth a 
paper urging the importance of holding 
such an event, and had attached thereto 
the signatures of B. F. Prince, the presi- 
dent of the society, C. J. Bowlus mayor . 
of the city, Joseph Spangenberger, presi- 
dent of the City Council, John W. Burk, 
president of the Board of Trade, and W. 
H. Schaus, president of the Commercial 
Club. In response to this paper a number 
of citizens met in the Council Chamber, 
on the evening of March 13, 1900, and ap- 
pointed a general committee of seven to 
have charge of such celebration: This 
committee was composed of Judge F. M. 
Hagan, Prof. B. F. Prince, Dr. John H. 
Rogers, Capt. E. L. Bookwalter, Mr. John 
Foos, W. H. Schaus, and D. P. Fox. 

At the first meeting of the committee 
it organized by electing Judge Hagan 
president. Dr. Prince secretary, and D. 
P. Fox treasurer. 

A number of sub-committees were ap- 
pointed. It was finally determined to have 
a celebration at the Fair Grounds and an 
entire week was devoted for that purpose. 
The following program was formulated: 



130 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



SUNDAY, AUGUST 4. 

RELIGIOUS DAY. 

Rei\ George H. Fullerton, D. D.. Chairman. 

Exercises at 2 :30 p. m., at the Pair Grounds. 
Doxology — "Praise God, From Whom All Blessings 

Plow." 

Invocation By Rev. W. H. Sidley 

Anthem By the Choir 

Reading of Scriptures. ..By S. P. Breckenridge, D. D. 

Pra.ver By Rev. C. M. Van Pelt 

Hymn — "All Hail the Power of Jesus' Name." By 

the Choir. 
Historical Paper — "Origin of the Churches and Other 

Religious Organizations of the City and Clark 

County" By Dr. Isaac Kav 

Hvmn — "My Country 'Tis of Thee." By the Choir 

Benediction By Rev. A. C. JMcCabe. D. D. 

(Music for these ser\'ices was furnished by an old- 
fashioned choir of five hundred voices.) 
MONDAY, AUGUST 5. 

FOBMAI, OPENING DAY. 
Governor A. S. BushneU. Chairman. 

Parade at 10 :.30 a. m. of all City Officials, Police 
and Pire Departments, Manufacturers and Com- 
mercial Interests. 

An Exhibition by the Police and Pire Departments 
at the Pair Grounds. 

Opening Address By Judge P. M. Hagan 

Paper — "A Century of Commercial Life." 

By O. P. Hypes 

Paper — "Incorporation of Springfield and City Gov- 
ernment" By D. Z. Gardner 

Paper — "Our Manufacturing- Interests ; History and 

Present Conditions" By ^Y. S. Thomas 

TUESDAY, AUGUST 6. 

PIONEER DAY. 
.4.. P. L. Cochran, Esq.. Chairman. 
Paper — "Bench and Bar".... By Hon. Wm.'M. Rockel 
Paper — "History of the Medical Profession of 

Clark County" By Dr. H. H. Seys 

Interesting speeches by some of the first and oldest 
settlers of Clark County. 

AVEDNESDAY, AUGUST 7. 

•MILITARY DAY. 
General J. W. Keifer, Chairman. 
Parade at 10 :30 a. m. of all soldiers" and sailors' 
organizations and soldiers of all wars of Clark 
County. 
Address — "Camp Pires and Military Maneuvers" 

By General Keifer 

THURSDAY, AUGUST 8. 

FRATERNAL DAY. 

Judge F. M. Hagan, Chairman. 

Paper — "Praternal Organizations" By P. M. Cartmell 

Exhibition Drills 

By Boys and Girls of Masonic, I. O. O. P. and Pythian 
Homes. 

Display of Secret Societies By Uniformed Ranks 

Paper — "The Press" By Clifton M. Nichols 

PRIDAY, AUGUST 9. 

LABOR AND AGRICULTRAL DAY. 
R. h. Holman, Chairman. 
Parade by all labor organizations of the city. 

Paper — "Labor and Labor Organizations" 

By T. J. Creager 

Paper — "Early Agriculture in Clark County".... 

By J. C. Williams 

SATURDAY, AUGUST 10. 

EDUCATIONAL AND WOMAN'S DAY. 
MORNING. 
Mrs. F. M. Hagan, Chairman. 
Display by Members of City and County Schools. 



Paper — "Woman's Clubs".. By Mrs. E. L. Buch waiter 

Paper — "Women's Work for Charity" 

By Mrs. Amaziah Winger 

Prtper — "Woman's Work in the Civil War" 

By Mrs. Clifton M. Nichols 

AFTERNOON. 
Prof. John S. Weaver, Chairman. 
Paper — "A Century of Educational Work in Spring- 
field" By Prof. W. H. Weir 

This program was carried out in detail, 
the proceedings were duly published un- 
der the editorship of Dr. Prince, and make 
a very valuable collection of historical 
matter relating to Clark County. Va- 
rious displays were made on the Fair 
Grounds illustrative of both past and 
present, articles in former use presenting 
•an interesting contrast with those manu- 
factured at this time. The Historical So- 
ciety displayed its collections, and many 
of our people were surprised at the large 
amount of historical matter in the posses- 
sion or at the command of that society. 
The schools of the city also made a dis- 
play which was very creditable. 

The papers prepared by the various 
persons whose names appeared on the 
program, showed much care and research, 
and they have collected and preserved in 
an accessible form a vast amount of use- 
ful historical information for the benefit 
of those who are interested in such mat- 
ters. 

When the year 1918 rolls around the 
centennial of Clark County will no doubt 
be observed with appropriate ceremonies. 

ITndbrgeound Railway'. 

The word "railway" ordinarily con- 
veys to the mind a road laid with rails 
for the purpose of conveying cars from 
one place to another, and the name "un- 
derground railway" would seem to be a 
misnomer, but it very appropriately de- 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



131 



scribes the institution it stands for — that 
is, a pathway used by persons who were in 
stealth and secrecy moving from one place 
to another, and was more particularly ap- 
plied to the route which fleeing slaves took 
to escape from their masters, leading from 
the Southern States to the Canadian 
boundary line. 

On the question of slavery diverse 
views were held by our people, some con- 
sidering that the slave was property, and 
was entitled to protection as such, and 
that the master of the slave had the same 
right to pursue and recover a fleeing 
slave, no matter where found, as he would 
have to recover any other kind of prop- 
erty. Others, however, took the view that 
there could be no propei'ty in a human 
being and that the law could grant no 
rights in property of that kind; and that 
hence they were perfectly justified in us- 
ing all the means in their power to assist 
a runaway slave in evading the pursuit 
of his master. 

Clark County seemed naturally adapted 
for a roadway of this kind. The early set- 
ters, as well as the aboriginals, in going 
from Kentucky to the Lakes, either 
crossed the Ohio Eiver at Cincinnati and 
then followed the Miami and Mad River 
Valley, or they crossed at the ford in 
Brown County, prominent in early his- 
tory, being a point where Eagle Eiver en- 
ters into the Ohio, and thence went north 
through what are now the counties of 
Brown, Clinton, Greene, Clark, Cham- 
paign, and Logan or Union, and on up 
to the lakes. In these counties there was 
a large settlement of persons from Mary- 
land, Virginia and Kentucky, many of 
whom had left their old homesteads in 
order to avoid living in the atmosphere of 



slavery with its disagreeable associa- 
tions. These men naturally became 
strong in their opposition to the institu- 
tion and to its upholders. Not much is 
known now of this "railway" in Clark 
County, but it is known that Selma, in the 
southern part of Madison Township, was 
one of the main stations of the road. 
There was there a large settlement of 
Hieksite Quakers, which sect was particu- 
larly violent in its opposition to slavery. 
From Selma the slaves, some of them, 
came through Springfield, but a more 
direct route was up through Mechanics- 
burg, or Marysville. Among the stopping 
places upon this route, it is said was that 
of John T). Nichols, 127 S. Mechanic 
street. The citizens of Clark County were 
considerably wrought up over a contro- 
versy which arose in 1857, in which our 
sheriff, then John E. Layton, was in- 
volved. 

Sometime in the latter part of 1856, one 
Addison White, a slave, had escaped from 
his home in Kentucky. By means of the 
underground railway he had gotten as 
far, in 1857, as Mechanicsburg, Cham- 
paign Coimty. This slave was described 
as being a man of great physical streng-th, 
over six feet in height, and weighing over 
200 pounds, and with a spirit to defend 
himself under all circumstances. A few 
years previous to this time Udney H. 
Hyde had made of his place one of the 
stations of the underground railway. He 
then resided in Mechanicsburg and up to 
May, 1857, he had helped 513 slaves in 
their race for freedom. 

In the spring of 1857 Mr. Hyde moved 
out of the village to a farm about two 
and a half miles away. Addison had left 
a wife, who Avas a free woman, in Ken- 



132 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



tucky. In order to conceal his location, 
his letters were mailed at Springfield and 
those from his wife were sent to the same 
place. In someway not absolutely known 
the authorities became strongly of the 
opinion that Addison was at the Hyde 
residence. About two weeks before the 
attempted seizure, a man by the name of 
Edward Lindsey came to the home of Mr. 
Hyde and sought work which was given 
him. No doubt this man was a spy, for 
he disappeared on the morning of the first 
visit of the marshals and was never heard 
of again. 

On the 21st of May, 1857, B. F. 
Churchill and John C. Elliot, deputy mar- 
shals, accompanied by Captain John Pof- 
fenbarger, United States deputy marshal 
from Champaig-n County, with five Ken- 
tuckians, appeared about srmrise at the 
home of Mr. Hyde for the arrest of Addi- 
son. The fugitive slave was the first to 
discover them. He saw them entering the 
gate of the door-yard, and it didn't take 
him long to understand what it meant. 
It seems that about this time Mr. Hyde, 
who was then building a new house, lived 
in a double log house which had a loft 
above. To enter this loft there was an 
opening just large enough to admit one 
person. Here the slave took refuge armed 
with a large revolver. 

The marshals got a glimpse of the slave 
entering the house, saw the loose boards 
which made the floor of the loft, and mov- 
ing them, fired a shot gun through the 
crack to terrify the slave aboA^e. Elliott, 
one of the marshals, then mounted a lad- 
der with a double-barrel shot gun in his 
hands. When the marshal's head ap- 
peared above the floor the slave fired at 
him and the ball struck the barrel of the 



marshal's gun, making a mark on his 
cheek and taking a nip off his ear. Mr. 
Hyde who was lying in bed with a broken 
ankle, gave instructions as to what should 
be done. One of his sons had been seized 
by the marshals, but a daughter about 
fourteen years of age was at home, and 
she was directed to go to the house of 
another son and ask him to send word to 
friends in Mechanicsburg. She accom- 
plished this mission, although the mar- 
shals' bullets were flying thick and fast 
about her. The brother hastened to Me- 
chanicsburg and aroused the people. Be- 
fore long quite a mob appeared, and after 
a short pai'ley the marshals concluded 
that a retreat was about the most advis- 
able course of action on their part. 

The slave was then secreted success- 
ively in other places. Mr. Hyde, who 
was satisfied that charges would be 
brought against him for harboring a 
slave, put himself in hiding for the nest 
six or eight "months, and while the United 
States authorities were very anxious to 
get him in their clutches they were not 
able to do so. 

About six days after the attempted ar- 
rest of the slave, the United States mar- 
shals Elliott and Churchill reappeared in 
Mechanicsbui'g for the purpose as they 
declared of arresting Mr. Hyde. As soon 
as their presence was observed, it was 
suspected that they were there for that 
purpose, and they were followed by 
Charles and Edward Taylor and Hiram 
Outridge. The officers went to the house 
of the senior Hyde and in some way a 
controversy arose between the Marshals 
and these followers, and the United States 
officers arrested them without a warrant. 
They allowed them to change their cloth- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



133 



ing and prepare somewhat for their jour- 
ney. The Mechanicsbnrg people gave the 
prisoners to understand that if they did 
not want to go they would release them, 
hut the officers said they intended to take 
them to IJrbana for preliminary examina- 
tion, and Urbana not being an unfriendly 
place, this was accepted as satisfactory. 
However, after the United States officers 
had gone some distance towai'ds Urbana 
they changed their course and proceeded 
towards the south. One of the follow- 
ers, Mr. Caldwell, whom the marshals had 
threatened, proceeded to Urbana and se- 
cured a warrant for the arrest of the mar- 
shals on the ground that they had inter- 
fered with him on the public highway. A 
Mr. F. W. Greenough proceeded in an- 
other Avay and filed a Avrit of habeas cor- 
pus before Samuel B. Baldwin, judge of 
the Probate Court of Champaign County. 
This writ of habeas corpus was directed 
to the sheriff of Champaign County and 
it had also been placed in the hands of 
sheriff John E. Layton, of Clark County. 
The United States officials with their pris- 
oners, it had been learned, were proceed- 
ing toward South Charleston. Sheriff 
Layton with deputy sheriff William 
Compton, met the United States officials 
at South Charleston and seizing their 
bridles prevented them from going fur- 
ther. Sheriff Layton attempted to serve 
the writ on Churchill, but was knocked 
down by a stroke from a Colt revolver 
and was so badly beaten that he suffered 
from the assault all of his subsequent life. 
Deputy Marshal Elliott fired some shots. 
About the same time the Urbana officers 
appeared and the deputy marshals 
thought it wise to depart. 

This assault on Sheriff Lavton gave 



another feature to the case. Soon after 
a warrant was issued by J. A. Houston, 
justice of the peace, of South Charleston, 
for the arrest of the United States mar- 
shals. This warrant was placed in the 
hands of E. G. Coffin, who was constable 
then of that court. He, accompanied by 
a large crowd, began the race after the 
United States Marshals. He had not gone 
very far before he was joined by sheriff 
Mclntire of Greene County, in whose 
hands a writ of habeas corpus had also 
been placed. During the entire night the 
pursued and the pursurers were making 
the best headway they could, passing- 
through Greene County into Clinton Coun- 
ty, and about the hour of sunrise, near 
the little village of Lumberton, the mar- 
shals with their prisoners were overtaken. 
Some of the party escaped, but the rest 
with the four prisoners from Mechanics- 
burg, were taken in charge by constable 
Coffin. They returned to South Charles- 
ton, where they were arraig-ned before 
Justice Houston's Court, found gTiilty and 
bound over to the Court of Common Pleas 
on' the evening of the 28th. On the next 
morning they were brought before the 
probate judge of Clark County, James L. 
Torbet, and adinitted to bail in the sum of 
$150. As soon as Churchill and Elliott 
were released they were again arrested on 
a warrant charging assault with attempt 
to commit a murder on May 30th, and 
trial was had. J. S. Haucke was attorney 
for the state and J. M. Hunt for the de- 
fendants. They were bound over to the 
Court of Common Pleas in the sum of 
$1,500. Other arrests were made and 
the prisoners were compelled to remain 
in jail for a good many hours. 

Judge Humphrey H. Leavitt, who was 



134 



inSTOEr OF CLARK COUNTY 



United States district attorney of Ohio, 
ordered that they be released from cus- 
tody of Clarl: County and brought before 
him. Then arose the question that has 
presented a good many difficulties as to 
the jurisdiction of State and United 
States Courts. 

On July 16th Judge Leavitt decided 
that the United States officers were prop- 
erly discharging their duties and ordered 
their discharge. In -the following July, 
the prisoners who were originally arrested 
by the deputy marshals, were again ar- 
rested on warrants and taken before the 
United States District Court in Cincin- 
nati. Two of them, Gutridge and Hyde, 
were dismissed, but Edward and Charles 
Taylor were held and gave bail for their 
appearance in court. Extraordinary ex- 
citement was created all over the State of 
Ohio, and especially in Clark County, by 
these proceedings. The people had been 
aroused on the slavery question to an ex- 
tent never before observed. The assault 
upon Layton and proceedings generally 
left its impress on our people, and no 
doubt had much to do with the extensive 
anti-slavery feeling that afterwards de- 
veloped here. The case dragged along in 
the United States Court for some time, 
and tinally it was proposed by the owner 
of the slave that $1,000' should be paid 
him, when the cases would be dropped. 
The people in Clark County were much 
opposed to this course, but Mr. Udney H. 
Hyde who had not been molested, but who 
had been in hiding on account of this af- 
fair agreed, and the monej^ was raised. 

It may be a matter of interest to those 
not familiar with such proceedings, to 
know something of the form of an instru- 
ment which granted to a slave his free- 



dom. The following is a copy of the Deed 
of Manumission, which was granted to 
Addison White. 

DEED OF MANUMISSION. 
Filed Novembek, 1857. 

' ' Know all men that I, Daniel G-. White, 
of Fleming County, Ky., in consideration 
of the sum of nine hundred and fifty dol- 
lars on hand paid to me by John A. 
Corwin of Champaign County, Ohio, in 
behalf of Addison ^Hiite, a negro man, 
aged about thirty-tive years, who is my 
slave under the laws of Kentucky, and 
who has left my service, do hereby free, 
acquit, release, and manumit the said 
Addison White, my slave as aforesaid, 
and give and assign him to freedom to 
go and to do as he pleases during his 
life, without constraint or obligation of 
any nature by and to me at any time or 
place or under any circumstances what- 
ever. And I hereby covenant and agree 
with the said John A. Corwin and the 
said Addison White that the right of the 
said Addison Wliite to visit, or reside in 
the State of Kentucky or elsewhere, shall 
be free and unrestrained, except by the 
laws of Kentucky or the laws of the place 
where he may be and sojourn, and with- 
out any claim of mine or any other per- 
son upon his libertj^ or upon his per- 
sonal services. In witness whereof I have 
hereunto affixed mv name and seal this 
12th day of November, A. D. 1857, at the 
City of Covington in the State of Ken- 
tucky. 

(Seal.) Daniel G. White. 

Attest : 

Alexander Cowan, 

W. W. Johnson." 

I am indebted for much of the data 
contained in the above account of the res- 
cue case, to a very interesting paper of 
Dr. B. F. Prince, that appeared in the 
July number, 1P07, of the Quarterly of the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



137 



Ohio Archaeological and Historical So- 
ciety. 

Springfield's First Riot. 

Wliile our neighboring cities of Ur- 
bana, Bellefontaine, and Xenia had wit- 
nessed mob law, it was our boast and 
pride that such a thing had never hap- 
pened in Springfield, and we did not think 
that it ever could occur ; but communities 
like individuals, when attacked by a dan- 
gerous disease, require drastic means of 
relief, and do not realize how deep seated 
some treacherous diseases in government- 
al affairs may become until a sudden 
erujation brings the disorder prominently 
to view. No person had ever suffered the 
penalty of death for the commission of 
a capital offense in this county, and people 
had become rather of the opinion that no 
matter how brutal a murder might have 
been committed, thd full penalty of the law 
would not be applied. For some time pre- 
vious to 1903 our community seemed to 
be overwhelmed by a deluge of crimes. 
Within the period of one year more than 
twelve murders had been committed, quite 
a number of them by colored people. For 
some time Springfield seemed to be the 
rendezvous of disreputable colored people 
from Kentucky, and other points within 
and without the state. They came to 
Springfield probably because there was a 
large colored population here, and also for 
the reason that no colored line had been 
drawn against them in the shops and in 
the pursuit of other avocations. But the 
colored man, ever eager to assert and 
maintain his equal rights with the white 
man, had frequently come into collision 
with the latter. Furthermore, while a 



number of colored people had made reput- 
able citizens, there were a number of the 
younger and more foreign element that 
had justly made themselves obnoxious to 
the white people, and this had created 
more or less of a' race feeling. Added to 
this, there was a controversy and conflict 
of authoritjr between our Police Court and 
the Court of Common Pleas, which did 
not tend to elevate either in the minds of 
right-thinking people, and which resulted 
to the detriment of their authority among 
the lower classes. By reason of the las 
enforcement of police laws, resulting no 
doubt from the inadequate realization of 
crime that was committed, then common 
among our citizens, a number of disreput- 
able saloons and other places where dis- 
reputable people congregated, had been al- 
lowed to exist with very little molestation ; 
and so on March 6, 1904, when Richard 
Dixon, a dangerous colored man from 
Kentucky, shot and killed without jDrovo- 
cation Police Court Bailiff Charles Collis, 
it took very little encouragement to arouse 
a spirit that placed his life in the hands of 
a mob. The murder was without the least 
semblance of provocation. Dixon had 
been in trouble before and it seems had 
conceived a hatred against the court bai- 
liff. Collis was an exemplary iDolice of- 
ficer and a well-liked citizen and as soon 
as the report had become thoroughly cir- 
culated that he was dead, some of those 
who had known him very well suggested 
that they take the law in their own hands. 
It was rumored in the afternoon that an 
attempt would be made to lynch Dixon, 
but the idea was scouted by the better 
class of citizens. However, in the evening 
a howling and hooting mob gathered 
around the jail clamoring for the life of 



138 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Dixon. To tlae on-looker this mob ap- 
peared to be composed of boys and a class 
of men that would not go to much risk in 
a matter of that kind. None or scarcely 
none of the citizens of the better type 
were at all engaged in its work. It was 
composed of mechanics and a set of hood- 
lums who had a natural antipathy to the 
colored man, together with a desire to be 
mixed up in a rumpus should one occur. 
The officers at the jail attempted to pro- 
tect the prisoner, however, not escaping 
criticism by reason of their failure so to 
do. The sheriff made repeated requests 
to the crowd to desist, but finally about 11 
o'clock, a more determined set of men 
seemed to take charge of the proceedings. 
Taking a railroad iron, they burst open 
the door and secured the prisoner. Half 
dead, he was dragged up to the corner of 
Fountain Avenue and Main Street, where 
he was hung to a telegraph pole and his 
body riddled with bullets. 

The next morning everything seemed 
quiet and the mob seemed to have expend- 
ed its force. However, in the evening the 
crowd gathered again, and this time with 
the purpose of destroying the disreputa- 
ble saloons, set fire to a row of buildings 
on Washington Street facing the railroad, 
east of Spring Street, and they were 
burned to the ground, the fire department 
being powerless to save them. Other 
places were likewise threatened and the 
situation became serious. In this condi- 
tion of affairs the militia was called out, 
and on March 10th there were about 600 
troops in Spring-field, the city being placed 
under martial law. The loss by this fire 
was about $14,000. The militia was in the 
city about a week, when things calmed 
down and business went forward in it usu- 



al way. At no time was there any danger 
to the ordinary citizen, except such as 
might result from fire caused by some 
hoodlums. An attemjDt was afterwards 
made to convict some of the persons en- 
gaged in this riot, but it was not success- 
ful. 

The Second Riot. 

After the "levee" was burned by the 
rioters in 1904, a large number of disrep- 
utable people who had lounged about that 
thoroughfare took up their quarters in the 
neighborhood of what was known as the 
"Lone Tree Saloon" on East Columbia 
Street, which locality became the "bad 
lands" of our town for a while. 

On February 26, 1906, two negroes 
named Ed. Dean and Preston Ladd got 
into a difficulty at this saloon, which was 
termed the ' ' Jungles, ' ' and cut a fellow by 
the name of Sulkins. They then went 
over into the railroad yards and because 
M. M. Davis, a brakeman, did not reply to 
a question they asked him just as they 
thought he should, shot him. Davis did 
not die immediately, but it was stated at 
once that his life was in a precarious con- 
dition. The mob gathered together the 
next evening, and before it could be con- 
trolled set fire to the disreputable build- 
ings surrounding the "Jungles" on East 
Columbia Street, and again the militia 
was called out to protect the property in 
the City of Springfield. While both of 
these riots were to be deplored, they were 
not nearly so bad as they were reported to 
be by some of the outside papers. At no 
time was the life of a reputable citizen in 
danger and at no time was there a general 
disposition on the part of the people to 
violate the law. 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



139 



These manifestations of the mob spirit 
were probably due to the manner in which 
a large number of our people regarded 
the enforcement of the laws. Many of our 
citizens had expressed sentiments favor- 
able to the methods of Judge Lynch. Fre- 
quently it could be heard said, when mob 
law was spoken of, that if the accused par- 
ty were guilty, that was the best course 
to be taken. 

After this last riot a number of the riot- 
ers were arrested, but because some of 
them were young, or by reason of the 
sickly sentimentality exhibited by some of 
our best citizens, they were not punished ; 
nothing was done after either of these ri- 
ots that resulted in the punishment of the 
participators. However, since that time 
there has been a more strenuous enforce- 
ment of the ordinary police laws in regard 
to crimes, and at this writing the record 
of the county promises soon to be broken 
and at least one person will pay the pen- 
alty of his crime in the electric chair. 

Storms a"nd Cyclones. 

So far as we are able to learn at this 
time, Clark County has been visited by a 
few cyclones or tornadoes. Frequently 
there is a high wind in certain localities, 
which may unroof a few houses or destroy 
frail buildings. In some parts of the 
county there is a growth of timber, indi- 
cating that at one time the older growth 
might have been destroyed by cyclonic in- 
strumentality, but of this there is no cer- 
tainty. 

In 1833 a cyclone passed near Enon, 
completely demolishing the house of Mr. 
Ezra D. Baker, likewise the house of Dr. 
Bessey, which stood near the former resi- 
dence of David Shellabarger, and several 



other houses in the community suffered 
likewise. 

In September, 1885, a cyclone visited 
the northwestern part of the county near 
Dialton ; houses were unroofed and grow- 
ing corn was blown down in every direc- 
tion and forests were destroyed. 

The course of the cyclone was not very 
wide; a short distance east of Dialton it 
seemed to go up and spend its force in 
the heavens. 

In 1892 a cyclone visited the southern 
part of Springfield, having its greatest 
force in what is known as the Tibbetts 
Addition, from Grrand Avenue south. 
About fifty houses were injured more or 
less. No one was killed in any of these 
cyclones, some having a miraculous es- 
cape. 

On July 27, 1906, a hail storm visited 
Spring-field and to the northwest in Ger- 
man Township, in some places complete- 
ly destroying the corn and oat crop. 
Some fields of corn were mown down as 
if cut with a scythe, this appearance being 
notably so with respect to that of Will- 
iam Hyslop in German Township. 

Freshets. 

In September, 1866, and March, 1867, 
Mad Eiver rose higher than it was ever 
known to do before. It swept across the 
National Eoad west of the city to the 
depth of three feet or more. A person 
whose name is not now remembered at- 
tempting to cross on horseback was swept 
off of the road and lodged in some trees 
below, and was rescued with some dif- 
ficulty. The horse swam on down to the 
Big Four Eailroad and was pulled up 
with ropes onto the railroad embankment. 

Another extraordinary freshet of Mad 



140 



HISTORY OF OL,\RK COUNTY 



River occurred in 1897, when the water 
became as high, or very nearly so, as in 
1867 and 1868, and again an accident hap- 
pened on the National Road west of the 
city, when a young man, in attempting to 
cross the National Road on horseback, 
by reason of a hole being washed out at 
the edge of the road, lost his horse's foot- 
ing and they w;ere both rescued with great 
difficulty. By this last freshet, the east- 
ern part of town along Columbia and 
North Streets became flooded, some 
houses having as much as three and four 
feet of water in them. 

In the spring of 1886 the citizens of 
Springfield were somewhat startled when 
they took up their morning paper and saw 
the announcement that the bridge across 
the Big Four Railroad on East High 
Street had been washed away during the 
previous night. It was more than could 
be realized by those who were acquainted 
with the surroundings, how this bridge, 
situated on high land, crossing no stream 
and not being in proximity to any very 
large stream, could possibly be washed 
away, but the facts showed that, while the 
bridge itself was not washed away, the 
west end embankment was so undermined 
as to become unfit for use, and a large 
amount of the railroad track had been 
washed away. During the night before 
there had been a cloud burst or something 
of that nature and Mill Run having been 
sewered through the city to a certain ex- 
tent, could not carry away the water in its 
ordinary channel and it was therefore di- 
verted, following the Y, in the Big Four 
under this bridge, coming down with very 
great force. Once since the same thing 
has occurred, the damage, however, not 
reaching such a serious extent. 



While not in the nature of freshets or 
cyclones, it might not be improper to here 
mention the fact that in 1889, while quite 
a number of persons were being baptized 
by immersion in Buck Creek, the bridge 
on North Limestone Street gave away and 
quite a number of persons who were stand- 
ing on the bridge were precipitated into 
the creek and some seriously injured. A 
number of suits were brought against the 
city, but no recovery was had in any of 
them and none of the injuries resulted fa- 
tally. 

The Geeat East Street Shops. 

From 1870 until 1880 the manufactur- 
ers of the Champion reapers and mowers 
enjoyed very great prosperity. Within 
this decade, three mammoth establish- 
ments were making this machine exclus- 
ively. The Lagonda Manufacturing es- 
tablishment, which was founded early in 
the fifties, was now controlled by Mr. Ben- 
jamin F. Warder and Asa S. Bushnell, 
and through royalties paid to the Whitley, 
Fassler and Kelly Company was now 
making this machine. 

Shortly prior to 1870 the new Champion 
machine company was organized, the mov- 
ing spirits in which were Amos Whitley, 
Robert Johnson, W. W. Wilson and Dan- 
iel P. Jeffreys. This company likewise 
was engaged in manufacturing the Cham- 
ijion Machines. The old company of 
Whitley, Fassler & Kelly, which began the 
manufacture of this machine back in the 
fifties, was located where the Arcade 
building now stands. This firm was com- 
posed of Wm. N. Whitley, Oliver S. Kel- 
ly and Jerome Fassler. The machines 
that they put on the market principally 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



141 



were the reaping machines of the self -rak- 
ing and dropping attachment kind, and 
mowers of various styles. The outlook 
for the future for the Champion 
machines was bright and it seemed 
that the old plant, located where the 
Arcade now stands, was entirely too 
small and that a larger plant should 
be erected. The partners, however, could 
not agree on this matter, so William N. 
Whitley purchased the interest of the oth- 
er partners, and in the deal the old shops 
were taken by Mr. Kelly, who soon there- 
after began tearing them down and erect- 
ing the Arcade Building. This was in 
1881. Mr. Whitley bought a large tract 
of land between the Big Pour Railroad 
and what is now Eastern Avenue, extend- 
ing from East Street to the Burnett Road. 
Immediately east of East Street was a 
considerable elevation. This was leveled 
down and erection of the Great East 
Street Shops was begun. 

The work was carried on with great en- 
ergy. Cellars were dug and walls put in 
for the entire front and the north wing in 
a very brief time, and much of the brick 
work was laid during the cold weather. 
This building had a frontage on East 
Street of 624 feet, and Avas four stories 
in height, with a basement. Enormous 
wings extended off from the main build- 
ing toward the east, the north wing being 
the warehouse part, 1,140 feet in length, 
with a Taasement under the entire length. 
Four other wings were built toward the 
east of various lengths. A mammoth mal- 
leable plant was erected on Eastern Av- 
enue covering more than two acres of 
groimd si^ace. A pattern shop four stor- 
ies in height was erected east of this mal- 
leable shop. North of these were placed 



buildings designed to be rolling-mills; so 
that, taking it all and all, it constituted 
the largest shop in the world devoted ex- 
clusively to the manufacture of reapers 
and mowers. At one time there were two 
thousand people employed. It had not 
been open long, however, until Mr. Whit- 
ley had some trouble with the labor organ- 
izations, and that was in 1886. In 1887 
occurred the great Harper failure of Cin- 
cinnati. It seems that Mr. Whitley had 
indorsed some of Harper's paper and 
Harper had indorsed some of Whitley's 
paper in return. Allien Harper went un- 
der through his speculations, Whitley was 
called on to pay these indorsed notes. 
This, together with the trouble caused by 
the labor unions, compelled an assignment 
in 1887. Genera] Keifer was made as- 
signee and proceeded to close out the bus- 
iness. Before he had been thus engaged 
very long he aroused the antagonism of 
Mr. Whitley, and finally gave up the du- 
ties of assignee. Afterwards George H. 
Frey was appointed, and the great East 
Street shops, costing $1,200,000, were put 
up at auction and bid in by vice-president 
Fairbanks for the sum of $200,000. 

Hard times had arrived and the works 
stood idle for some time. There having 
been some discord in the Krell-French Pi- 
ano Company, manufacturers of pianos 
of Cincinnati, one of the partners came 
to Springfield and through the efforts of 
our local capitalists was finally induced to 
locate here and purchased the north wing 
of this East Street establishment for the 
purpose of manufacturing pianos. The en- 
tire building was renovated and fitted for 
its new use. A ceremonious opening was 
held and citizens were invited to an ex- 
hibit of the company's product, the Krell- 



142 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



French Piano. A few days afterwards, on 
February 9, 1902, from some unknown 
source, the building caught fire and the 
entire north wing, whicli the Krell-French 
Piano Company had purchased, together 
with the whole front and some other por- 
tions immediately attached thereto, 
burned to the ground and has never yet 
been rebuilt. 

In other parts of this mammoth estab- 
lishment there have been located the In- 
dianapolis Frog & Switch Company, the 
Fairbanks Tool Company, and the Kelly- 
Springfield Eoad Roller Company. 

It can hardly be said that the building 
of this great shop was of any material 
benefit to the city of Springfield. For a 
long time it was idle and it seemed rather 
to be a hindrance than a help to real prog- 
ress. However, its burning was a matter 
of sincere regret to every citizen of 
Springfield, and all were obliged to sym- 
pathize with Mr. William N. "Whitley, who 
viewed the burning structure with tears 
streaming down his face. 

The Ckusades. 

For many years the saloon traffic has 
been a source of comment, contention, 
argument and persuasion among the peo- 
ple of Ohio. The evil of the traffic was 
presented in such strong terms by its ad- 
versaries that the Constitutional Conven- 
tion in 1851 provided that no law should 
ever be passed licensing the traffic in this 
state. 

In 1870 a call for a new constitutional 
convention had been made and soon there- 
after members were elected to that body. 
It was well known that the question of li- 



cense or no license would again be sub- 
mitted to the people. 

Springfield, while not worse than other 
cities of its size, had its fair portion of 
saloons and the influence of the men who 
had become connected, as workers, with 
our vast and increasing manufacturing 
plants, tended, if anything, to augment 
the ranks of the liberal element in the 
community. The churches were alive to 
the existing conditions. The temperance 
element throughout the state had invited 
Dr. Dio Lewis, of Boston, a very distin- 
guished and eloquent advocate of temper- 
ance, to make addresses in various places 
in Ohio, and in the winter of 1873-]874 
tEere arose in the southern part of this 
state the novel campaign against the whis- 
key traffic, which was termed the "Wo- 
man's Crusade." It began in Hillsboro, 
the last of December, and in a few months 
had extended to other states. In the large 
cities it was not very successful, but in 
small villages results were sometimes 
summary, in some cases the crusaders 
closing almost every saloon. 

The incidents attendant on this work in 
Hillsboro gave it wide notoriety. The 
method pursued by the crusaders was to 
go to a saloon and offer prayer that the 
saloonists might repent. 

J. C. Van Pelt was the keeper of the 
saloon "Dead Fall" at the Union Depot 
at New Vienna, and was said to be the 
wickedest man in Ohio. He was a tall, 
solidly-built man, with a red nose and the 
head of a prize fighter, and was noted for 
his bull-dog pluck. 

When the ladies assembled at the 
"Dead Fall," he threatened all manner 
of things against them if they came again, 
and the next day decorated one of his sa- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



143 



loon windows with whiskey bottles ; in an- 
other appeared an ax covered with blood. 
Across the door empty flasks were sus- 
pended, and near them a large jug bear- 
ing the name of "Brady's Bitters," while 
a representation of Van Pelt was seen in 
the act of throwing a club. All this had 
no effect, however, upon the ladies. About 
fifty of them began praying, when he 
seized a bucket of muddy water and threw 
its contents against the ceiling, from 
which it came down on the praying 
women, the crusaders standing to their 
post. This conduct on the part of the sa- 
loon keeper won for the crusaders the 
sympathy of the people, and Van Pelt was 
arrested and staid in jail several days. 
However, his saloon continued running. 
Upon Van Pelt's release he was more bit- 
ter and determined. He attended their 
meetings, publicly argued and disputed 
with them at length on question after 
question. Finally, however, he began to 
weaken and offered to sell his place of 
business, but the feeling was such at the 
tiine that no buyers presented themselves. 
The ladies continued to visit the saloon 
and he continued to harass them with 
blasphemous language, calling the women 
brutes and names of like character, but 
the women still persisted, and finally, to 
the surprise of everyone, at one of their 
prayer-meetings in the saloon. Van Pelt 
appeared and made a complete surrender 
of his stock and fixtures, yielding, as he 
said, on love and the work of these women, 
and the whiskey and beer were rolled out 
upon the sidewalk and emptied in the gut- 
ter and Van Pelt took up the cause of 
temperance. 

On February 11th Dr. Dio Lewis and 
this reformed saloon-keeper, J. C. Van 



Pelt, appeared before a Springfield audi- 
ence. Prior to this time, in 1873, a peti- 
tion signed by over 600 women had been 
presented to our City Council to prohibit 
the sale of beer and whiskey, and on Jan- 
uary 6, 1874, a woman's temperance asso- 
ciation had been formed, a petition for 
which had been circulated by Mrs. E. I, 
Stewart, who was afterwards known at 
home and abroad as "Mother Stewart." 

These meetings produced a very intense 
interest and continued unmolested with- 
out intermission for about twenty weeks. 

When Dr. Dio TjCwIs and Van Pelt were 
in the city, the first praying band went 
out and visited the "Lagonda House Sa- 
loon." All these matters created intense 
excitement. The crusaders visited other 
saloons. Their method was to go inside 
the saloon and pray, if permitted, if not 
upon the sidewalk outside. Some few sa- 
loons closed, and the impression made up- 
on the people was considerable. 

Afterwards, in 1877, when the fame of 
Murphy had reached Springfield, a new 
impetus was given to the temperance 
movement, and a number of people at- 
tended what was then called "The Mur- 
phy Meetings." A badge of membership 
was a blue ribbon tied upon the lapel of 
the coat. These blue ribbons were prom- 
inent decorations of a number of prom- 
inent citizens for a considerable length of 
time and very great good was done by this 
movement. In 1880 Edward S. Wallace, 
who became a follower of Murphy, ran in- 
dependently for mayor and was elected. 

Spring-field had a number of intensely 
active, energetic temperance women, but 
one of whom attained renown above all 
others— Mother Stewart, by her winning 
ways and persuasive personality, became 



144 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



known all over the world as a most noted 
temperance advocate. She made ad- 
dresses in almost every county in Ohio 
and in a. large number of other places 
throughout the United States, and upon 
invitation of the temperance people in 
Great Britain she made a visit to that 
country and was received with honors 
never before or since accorded to any 
American woman. She is still living at 
this writing, in retirement, at the ripe old 
age of ninety-one. 

Other temperance advocates of Spring- 
field have been noted in Ohio history and 
on three or more different occasions fur- 
nished candidates for governor on the 
Prohibition ticket. 

Dr. M. J. Firey was a strenuous and 
life-long fighter of the evil of intemper- 
ance. He took it upon himself as a duty 
which he could not evade, and whenever 



he had the opportunity he did everything 
in his power against the liquor traffic. 

Dr. A. B. Leonard for a time was pas- 
tor of the Center Street Methodist Church 
and has since become a Bishop, while a 
minister here was no less strenuous in 
his opposition to the saloon than Dr. 
Firey. He was a very eloquent speaker 
from the rostrum. 

A. R. Ludlow, an old time citizen of 
this place, who has since departed from 
this life, joined in the temperance move- 
ment and was equally strenuous in his op- 
position to all matters connected with the 
saloon traffic. 

It is Stated in Beers ' history, that from 
the formation of the Murphy meetings in 
1877 to December, 1880, 15,621 persons 
had signed the pledge. At one time the 
Prohibition ticket of Clark' County re- 
ceived 800 votes. 



CHAPTER IX. 



COUNTY BUILDINGS, ETC. 

Court House — East County Building — West County Braiding — County Jail — Sol- 
diers' Momment — County Infirmary — Children's Borne — Agricultural So- 
ciety. 



Court House. 

While Springfield was for a short time 
the county seat of Champaign County, it 
did not in that capacity receive sufficient 
attention to be provided with a court 
house. Prior to the organization of Clark 
County in 1806, there was one term of 
court held in Springfield. A single case 
was tried — that of Robert Eoenick, for 
killing an Indian. The act was justified 
by some and condemned by others, but the 
jury granted a verdict of "not guilty." 

For more than four years after the or- 
ganization of the county in 1818, regular 
sessions of the court were held at a tav- 
ern of John Hunt on Main Street. In 
March, 1819, the commissioners gave pub- 
lic notice that on the 22d propositions 
would be received for a site on which to 
erect a county building. 

On April 12th, Maddox Fisher and 
about forty others pledged themselves to 
pay the sum of $2,115 toward the erec- 
tion of a court house, provided the same 



was erected on the Common, or Squarq, 
which Demint had reserved for the public 
use of lot owners of his plat. 

This square includes what is now occu- 
pied by the Court House, the Soldiers' 
Monument, the Historical Society Build- 
ing and the County Officers' Building. 

Upon receipt of the pledges of Fisher 
and others, the commissioners decided to 
accept the site selected by them, and or- 
dered Col. John Daugherty, the surveyor, 
to find the true lines of the square, and 
not long after the commissioners adopted 
a plan furnished by Mr. Fisher and John 
Ammon for the erection of a building for 
the sum of $3,972, the work to be done by 
January 1st, 1820. This contract was only 
to include the walls and roof. 

In 1821 a further contract was made 
for the floors, windows, etc., and through 
various stages the building was continued 
until its. completion in 1828, and in ac- 
cordance with the custom of early days, a 
bell was hung in the cupola and this gave 
its first warning to the people of Clark 



146 



HISTORY OF CLABK COUNTY 



County that the court was in session, on 
October 25, 1828. 

This building was used for court pur- 
poses until 1878, a half century, when it 
was sold to former Probate Judge J. H. 
Littler, for $50.00. Long prior to that 
time it was recognized that the court 
house finished in 1828 was entirely inad- 
equate for the need of the people of Clark 
County. 

The building was not more than thirty- 
five or forty feet square, with hip roof and 
a cupola thrust up through the center of 
the roof. A very good picture of the old 
court house adorns the court room of our 
present court building. 

In 1877 a proposition as to the building 
of a new court house and its location was 
submitted to a vote of the people. One of 
the principal bones of contention con- 
nected with the erection of a new court 
house had been, up to this time, with re- 
spect to where it should be located. As 
far back as in 1852, the commissioners 
had acquired the lot upon which the Post 
Office Building is now located, and had 
constructed a jail thereon, with the inten- 
tion ultimately of also erecting a court 
house there, but the friends of "Sleepy 
Hollow" would not without strenuous op- 
position agree that the old court house 
site should be abandoned; so at the time 
that the vote for a new court house build- 
ing was submitted, a question of the site 
was also submitted to the voters and the 
champions of "Sleepy Hollow" pre- 
vailed ; but the opposition, probably, made 
themselves felt in the amoimt that was 
voted for a court house. 

It would have been a wise policy, and 
also good business sense, if a sufficient 



amount had been voted to have erected a 
court house large enough to include all 
the county offices. 

With the money at the command of the 
commissioners the present court house 
was begun in 1878 and finished in 1881. 
Architecturally it is a handsome building, 
but its arrangement inside could hardly 
be worse for the purposes for which it was 
built, and sooner or later it will require a 
remodeling to bring it up to the needs of 
our city and county, and to accord with 
the modern ideas of buildings and the ar- 
rangements properly belonging to a court 
house. For the money expended, no coun- 
ty ever received a handsomer or a better 
building. Its stone finish outside and its 
walnut finish inside are all that could be 
desired. The court house and the jail, 
with furniture and $10,000 paid for 
ground, are said to have cost not more 
than $115,000. 

East County Building. 

As a make-shift until a new court house 
could be had, or better arrangements 
made, a building was erected in 1868 on 
the southeast lot of the square, which was 
used as offices for the treasurer, recorder, 
auditor, commissioners and board of ag- 
riculture. This building at first was two 
stories in height. Afterwards a wing or 
addition was made running back almost 
doubling its original capacity, which 
served for the purpose for which it was 
erected, until 1904, when the county offi- 
cers moved into the present building situ- 
ated on the opposite side of the street. 
This building is now used by the Clark 
Countv Historical Societv. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



147 



West County Building. 

Shortly after the erection of the East 
County Building, a building very much 
similar was erected on the west side of 
the street, on the lot now occupied by the 
county officers ' building in which the Pro- 
bate Court and other offices are located. 
This West County Building was used by 
the Probate Court, county surveyor's of- 
fice and county commissioners, and like- 
wise for a while by the clerk and sheriff. 

During the erection of the new court 
house from 1878-1881 court was held in 
this west building in the room upstairs 
over the Probate Court office. 

The building erected in 1869 was torn 
down in 1900 for the erection of the pres- 
ent commodious building now located up- 
on that site. This building was erected 
and furnished at a cost of about $110,000. 
It is modern in every respect and reflects 
credit to the architect that designed it, and 
the people who were instrumental in its 
erection. As a specimen of architecture 
it is not excelled by any building in our 
county. 

County Jail. 

The jail is a complement of the court 
house. The first one in our town was a 
log and plank building on Fisher Street. 
It was on the east side about half way 
between Main and Columbia Streets, and 
it was erected by the citizens of the west 
end of the town, then called "Old Vir- 
ginia." 

The people of this vicinity petitioned 
the county commissioners and agreed to 
build a jail sixteen feet square and one 
story high, for such price as the board 
might see fit to pay. It was finished in 



1818. It is said that the first jailor, 
whose name was Abraham B. Mereness, 
to assist him in his duties kept a black 
bear chained to a stake near the jail door. 
A black man named Jackson being con- 
fined in that jail pried off the door, threw 
it into Mill Run and set out for parts un- 
known. 

This jail was finally demolished and an- 
other one was erected on the lot now oc- 
cupied by the Soldiers' Monument oppo- 
site the court house. It was built of oak 
timbers, hewed square, and bolted togeth- 
er. The floor was of like material, cov- 
ered with several courses. The ceilings 
were built much in the same manner, 
though not quite so thick. Then over the 
outside of these there was built a brick 
wall inclosing the whole of the entire 
building, giving it a respectable appear- 
ance. It was two stories high, and the 
brick work was extended to the south of 
the jail far enough to enclose sufficient 
space for several county offices. 

This jail was torn down in 1869 to make 
room for the Soldiers' Monument. How- 
ever, previous to this time it had been 
abandoned for jail purposes, as it was said 
in speaking of the court house, that it was 
the original intention of some to build a 
court house and jail combined, and with 
that object in view a building was begun 
about the year 1850 upon the lot where 
the Post Office is now situated, and was 
continued until 1852 far enough to com- 
plete the jail. This fourth jail was built 
of stone and brick, the labor being largely 
done by the day and superintended by the 
county commissioners. This jail was 
pulled down about the year 1880 and much 
of the stone taken therefrom used in 
building the present court house and jail. 



148 



HISTORY OF CL.^K COrjNTY 



It was from this jail that the murderers 
of Daniel Hertzeler escaped. Just how 
they ever received their freedom has nev- 
er been definitely known, but they made 
their escape in such a complete way that 
they were never afterwards re-arrested, 
or their whereabouts discovered. The 
present jail was erected at the same time 
that the present court house was erected, 
the county now owning the lot out to the 
alley. A large part of the ground now oc- 
cupied by the jail was purchased for the 
sum of $10,000. It has served its purpose 
very well and seems to have been suf- 
ficient for the confinement of criminals. 
No escapes have been made, unless by 
neglect of some one in charge. Here was 
enacted an exciting scene when the riot- 
ers took from within it Henry Dixon in 
1904. 

Soldiers' Monument. 

For some time it had been felt by the 
people of our county that some fitting 
tribute should be paid to the memory of 
the "Boys in Blue" who had so nobly rep- 
resented this county in the Civil "War of 
1861-65. It is said that Clark County fur- 
nished more than 3,000 soldiers to the 
Civil war. 

A vote was taken upon the question and 
it was decided that this recognition should 
take the shape of a monument to be placed 
upon the lot where the old jail was lo- 
cated. The statue was modeled by J. A. 
Bailey and cast by Henry H. Lovie, of 
Philadelphia. It is made of antique bronze 
and stands upon a pedestal of Quincy 
granite which weighs over thirty tons. 
The height of the figure is eight feet five 
inches, and the whole height of the monu- 
ment is twenty-one feet and a few inches. 



It was dedicated May 30, 1870. The en- 
tire cost of monument and base was $10,- 
000. The late Judge Mower was chair- 
man, and the orator, the late Judge Cox, 
of Cincinnati. 

On several occasions a movement has 
been started to remove this monument 
from its present location to the mound 
in the cemetery ; at no time, however, has 
the movement been of sufficient force to 
accomplish that result, and until the plot 
of land iipon which it is situated is needed 
for some other county purpose, it is like- 
ly that the monument will stay where it 
is. It ^eems that its present location is 
not an inappropriate one, and that it can 
serve the purpose for which it was erected 
just as well where it is as it would if 
moved to the cemetery. 

County Infibmaky. 

In 1833 the Board of Coimty Commis- 
sioners passed a resolution to purchase a 
lot suitable for the erection of a poor 
house, and the following January, 
Joseph Parrott conveyed 48.54 acres to 
Clark County. To this was added in 
1839 the tract upon which the Children's 
Home is located, and an infirmary was 
erected. This infirmary has been en- 
larged and remodeled and in its remodeled 
condition is still used for infirmary pur- 
poses. In 1836 the first board of direc- 
tors met and organized. Today the 
ground is quite valuable, and on several 
occasions it has been seriously urged that 
the grounds be sold and an infirmary be 
erected upon a larger tract of land, which 
could be purchased, from the proceeds of 
such sale, at a farther distance from the 
city. This no doubt will happen before 
many years roll around. 





SOLDIERS' MONUMENT, SPRTNGFIELD 



CLARK COUNTY COURT HOUSE 





COUNTY OFFICERS' BUILDING 




CITY BUILDING. SPRINGFIF:lD 



CLARK COUNTY INFIRMARY 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



151 



When the present buildings become un- 
fit for infirmary purposes, either by rea- 
son of their age or from insufBciency of 
room, it is likely that some other place 
will be selected. From the record we find 
that John Boss, of Bethel Township, was 
the first person to be admitted, that Den- 
nis Jones was the first superintendent, 
and that Francis Elliott was appointed to 
succeed him in 1842. The records are not 
complete, but in 1861 Christopher La- 
bourn was re-appointed superintendent. 
In 1863 W. H. Ford was superintendent 
and he served until 1876. Then Isaac 
Curl was elected to that position and he 
in turn was superseded in 1878 by James 
Fleming, and in 1892 William H. Hughes 
was elected to that position and served 
until 1902, when A. 0. Huffman was chos- 
en ; he was succeeded in 1907 by the pres- 
ent superintendent, Edgar W. Albin. 

Childeen's Home. 

For some time philanthropists had dis- 
cussed the problem as to the manner in 
which orphan children should be taken 
care of. It was realized that the present 
child makes the future man or woman, and 
that if society is to be improved and civil- 
ization advanced, the child must be prop- 
erly cared for. A large number of or- 
phans left by soldiers who lost their lives 
in the war of 1861 served to bring this 
matter to prominence before the people, 
and in 1866 the legislature passed an act 
permitting counties to erect homes for 
such children. 

The commissioners of our county sub- 
mitted the matter to a vote in 1875 and it 
was carried by a large majority and in 
1877 they selected the present site, which 



is north of the city of Springfield, east of 
the Urbana Pike, about one-half mile 
north of the corporation line. It is on a 
tract of land bought by the county from 
Richard Rodgers in 1839, and was for- 
merly used -as a wood lot for the infirm- 
ary. It is well chosen and the buildings 
erected are commodious and properly ar- 
ranged for the purpose intended. 

In 1878 the trustees for the home were 
appointed, Frederick Holford, Clifton M. 
Nichols and E. B. Cassilly being the first 
persons to fill that position. In March of 
the same year William Sloan was ap- 
pointed superintendent and his wife as 
matron. In 1880 Nathan M. McConkey 
and wife were appointed to succeed Mr. 
and Mrs. Sloan, and they served until the 
death of Mr. McConkey in 1885. Adam 
Lenhart and his estimable wife were ap- 
pointed superintendent ^and matron re- 
spectively of that institution. It is con- 
ceded by all who have come in contact 
with the management of that institution, 
that the persons in charge of it are admir- 
ably adapted for the positions they occu- 
py and the benefit received by the com- 
munity and society at large is beyond es- 
timation, and the good accomplished by 
the institution is fully up to the expecta- 
tion of those who urged its original erec- 
tion. 

The original building for the orphans' 
home cost $20,000.00. It is a large com- 
modious structure made of brick. Since 
that time other buildings and improve- 
ments have been added until the total ex- 
penditure has reached the sum of $45,678. 
Immeasurable good has been accom- 
plished, and a large number of children 
have been put into good homes, and many 
adopted by respectable people. 



152 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Great care has been exercised by those 
in charge in seeing that persons who ap- 
ply for children, either to be apprenticed 
or adopted, be persons of a suitable and 
proper character. Since the home has 
been opened it has furnished a place of 
temporary abode for 1,546 children. The 
present number in the home is sixty-sev- 
en and the cost per capita is $122. The 
woods surrounding the home has been 
trimmed out and shows a most beautiful 
grove. In the southwest corner a part 
has been set off in which to bury the little 
ones that have come to the institution and 
have gone thence to their final home. 

A school has been conducted in this 
building and the children are taught in a 
substantial way the rudiments of knowl- 
edge, and in all respects the institution 
has been the success hoped for by its 
founders. 

Clark Cor:^rTY Ageicultueal Society. 

On the 25th of January, 1840, a meet- 
ing was held at the court house for the 
purpose of organizing a county agricult- 
ural society. Of this meeting John R. 
Lehman was chairman. On motion of Ira 
Paige a committee consisting of Ira 
Paige, Matthew Bonner, Charles Ward, 
William H. Harris, Anthony Bird and 
John H. Cartmell were appointed by the 
chairman to report the names of persons 
for office. This committee reported John 
R. Lehman for president; James Bogle 
for vice-president; W. W. Spencer, re- 
cording secretary; Benjamin Moore, for 
corresponding secretary; Adam Stewart, 
treasurer; S. G. Moler, W. G. Serviss, 
John A. Alexander, executive committee. 

Prior to this time there had been an ag- 



ricultural society organized in the village 
of South Charleston, in 1837, of which 
Roland Bi'own was president and Alexan- 
der Waddle secretary. I am not aware 
how long this society was in existence, but 
perhaps not very long after the organiza- 
tion of the Clark County society; for we 
are told that for some time after the or- 
ganization of the Clark County society 
the fair was held in various parts of the 
country. This society, organized in 1840, 
held fairs for several years, but was nev- 
er on a very substantial basis. In 1853 
the society was reorganized and ten acres 
of land were purchased from William 
Huntington for the sum of $120 per acre. 
Afterwards additional tracts were bought 
until the sum total amounted to forty-six 
acres. In ]870-71 the Ohio State Fair 
was held on these grounds and for that 
purpose an additional tract was rented 
from George Spence and George Dibert. 
In those days the state fair was moved 
every two years from place to place. 
Soon thereafter it was located permanent- 
ly in the city of Columbus, where, with 
State aid, very tine grounds have been ac- 
cpiired. The Clark County society having 
become involved and its members seeing 
no way in which they could be relieved un- 
less the grounds were to be sold, the prop- 
osition was made that if the county would 
assume the indebtedness, which then 
amounted to little over $12,000, the so- 
ciety would deed the grounds to the coun- 
ty and the fair could be conducted in such 
manner as the law would provide. This 
proposition was submitted to a vote of 
the electors of the county and having re- 
ceived a majority vote in the affirma- 
tive, in due time these grounds were trans- 
ferred to the countv which now holds title 



AND REPEE'SENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



153 



to the same. By a law then in force or 
soon after passed, the directors were 
elected by the electors of the various 
townships, two from each township. 
Only persons were entitled to vote who 
held tickets for the next fair; it being 
thus sought to interest not only persons 
in the fair, but to place the management 
of the fair in the hands of the persons 
that were interested in its welfare. In 
this manner the directors were elected un- 
til some four years ago, when it was dis- 
covered that there had been a change in 
the law and that they would have to be 
selected in some other manner. Accord- 
ingly the directors are now elected by the 
parties that hold tickets, but they are not 
divided among the townships in the man- 
ner that they formerly were. 

Some twenty or more years ago an as- 
sociation was formed called The Spring- 
field Trotting Association, and this or- 
ganization leased the grounds for their 
purpose for twenty-five years, and at once 
began to grade the race course. After 
spending in that manner some six or eight 
thousand dollars, the association went 
under, and the Agricultural Society re- 
ceived the benefit of the expenditures that 
they had made. A great many of our 
citizens who are interested in such mat- 
ters have on different occasions served 
on the agricultural board, usually a 
thankless task; S. Van Eii'd has been the 
obliging secretary for a number of years, 
H. L. Rockfield is president. The grounds 
being situate within the corporate limits 
of the city, are now quite valuable, and 
every once in the while some person sug- 
gests that they should be sold or convert- 
ed into a park. Neither of these sugges- 



tions has, however, at any time struck a 
popular chord, and the probability is that 
it will remain for some time the property 
of the county, and that for years we will 
annually visit the "County Fair" in its 
old-time location, dating back to our child- 
hood days, and that the merry-go-round 
and the big snake and hairy man and 
armless child will amuse our children and 
grandchildren as they amused us in the 
years that are gone. Some criticism is 
annually dealt out to the directors on the 
charge that the fair has gone to horse- 
racing and that agricultural matters are 
largely forgotten; but if such is the case 
it is because the people themselves dis- 
play more interest in that direction. The 
fair is not supported in any manner by 
taxation and the management must pro- 
vide the kind of attraction that ensures 
attendance. The more that come, and the 
more the gate receipts are swelled, the 
more can be paid in pi*emiums and the 
better will be the exhibits. 

Officers (1907). 

H. L. Rockfield President 

C. W. Minnich Vice-President 

S. Van Bird Secretary 

F. J. Johnston Treasurer 

Board of Directors. 

F. J. Johnston, Pike 1909 

E. W. Xanders, German 1908 

J. S. Nicklin, Moorefield 1909 

N. W. Lemen, Pleasant 1908 

Chas. Snyder, Harmony 1909 

Geo. Reid, Springfield 1908 

H. L. Rockfield, Springfield City. . . .1908 

C. W. Minnich, Bethel 1909 

Silas Printz, Mad River 1908 

J. E. Johnson, Green 1909 

M. Cheney, Madison 1908 



CHAPTER X. 



PUBLIC ROADS AND HIGHWAYS. 

Boad Map of Ohio, 1810 — Condition of Roads Indicative of Advancement — Indian 
Trails, etc. — Early Roads — Military Routes — Corduroy Roads — National 
Roads — Toll Pikes — Stage Coach Trip Through Springfield in 1834 — Dick- 
ens' Ride Through Ohio in 1842. 



Condition of Eoads Indicative of Ad- 
vancement. 

Before the building of railroads all 
commerce carried on from place to place 
was necessarily transported over roads 
or highways, or lakes and rivers. Neces- 
sarily the construction of good highways 
became a matter of the supremest im- 
portance, and thus we find that it engaged 
the attention of our statesmen who gave 
their earnest efforts to the solution of the 
problem until the railroad came. Then 
for a time it seemed to be less a subject 
of public attention, but it has always been 
one that has received more or less atten- 
tion because of its affecting directly a 
larger number of people than almost any 
other as regards their welfare, comfort 
and happiness. Indeed the advancement 
that a community or people make in this 
respect has been taken to indicate the 
degree of their advancement in civiliza- 
tion. A distinguished writer has said: 
"If you wish to know whether society is 



stagnant, learning scholastic, religion a 
dead formality, you may learn something 
by going into universities and libraries; 
something also by the work that is doing 
on cathedrals and churches, or in them; 
but quite as much by looking at the roads. 
For if there is any motion in society, the 
road, which is a symbol of motion, will 
indicate the fact. When there is activity, 
or enlargement, or a liberalizing spirit 
of any kind, then there is intercourse and 
travel, and these require roads. So if 
there is any kind of advancement going 
on, if new ideas are abroad and new hopes 
rising, then you will see it by the roads 
that are building. Nothing makes an in- 
road without making a road. All creative 
action, whether in government, industry, 
thought or religion, creates roads." 

HOEACE BiTSHNELL. 

■ Indian Trails, Etc. 

It is a singular thing demonstrated in 
the modern building of railways, that the 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



155 



pathways made by the great wild ani- 
mals that formerly roamed over our 
country are those which are best adapted 
for the building of roads required by 
modern civilization. Upon this point 
Archer Butler Hulbert in the introduc- 
tion of his "Historical Highways of 
America," says: "It was for the 
great animals to mark out what be- 
came Imown as the first thoroughfares of 
America. The plunging buffalo, keen of 
instinct, and nothing if not utilitarian, 
broke great roads across the continent on 
the summits of the watersheds, beside 
which the first Indian trails were but 
traces through the forests. Heavy, fleet 
of foot, capable of covering scores of 
miles in a day, the buffalo tore his roads 
from one feeding ground to another, and 
from north to south on high ground. 
Here his roads were swept clear of the 
debris in summer, and of snow in winter. 
They mounted the heights and descended 
from them on the longest slopes, and 
crossed each stream on the bars at the 
mouth of its lesser tributaries. * * * 
"But the greatest marvel is that these 
early pathfinders chose routes, even in the 
i-oughest districts, which the tripod of 
the white man cannot improve upon. A 
.rare instance of this is the course of the 
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad between Graf- 
ton and Parkersburg, West Virginia. 
That this is one of the roughest rides our 
palatial trains of to-day make, is well 
known to all who have passed that way, 
and that so fine a road could be put 
through such a rough country is one of 
the marvels of engineering science. But 
leave the train, say at the little hamlet 
of Petroleum, West Virginia, and find on 
the hill the famous old thoroughfare of 



the buffalo, Indian, and pioneer, and fol- 
low that narrow thread of soil westward 
to the Ohio River. You will find that the 
railroad has followed it steadily through- 
out its course, and when it came to a more 
difficult point than usual, where the rail- 
road is compelled to tunnel at the strategic 
point of least elevation, in two instances 
the trail runs exactly over the tunnel. 
This occurs at both 'Eaton's tunnel' and 
'Gorham's tunnel.' " 

There is no doubt but that the red man 
had a number of trails or paths over va- 
rious parts of this county. As he planted 
his villages generally along the river val- 
leys, his movements would be, as ours are 
today, from village to village, sometimes 
following the streams of water and at 
other times going across the table lands 
from one valley to another. 

We know from Simon Kenton's ad- 
ventures, when in captivity among the In- 
dians, that a trail came up Mad River, 
through what was then the Indian village 
of Piqua, to the city of Spring-field, prob- 
ably crossing Buck Creek not far from 
the present Limestone Street, thence 
north near the Urbana Pike leading on to 
the villages of Wapakoneta and Wapa- 
tomika. 

We know also that there was a trail or 
pathway leading from old Chillicothe 
down to about where Goes' Station is 
now, and up through Enon through the 
ancient village of Piqua, for it was over 
this route that General Clark and his 
troops came on their march to the famous 
battle there fought. Then no doubt there 
was also a trail or Indian path that led 
to the southeast, its ultimate object be- 
ing the Little Miami River further to- 
wards its source, and no doubt there was 



156 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



another trail or pathway leading from 
where the old village of Piqua was lo- 
cated, passing not far from the present 
location of New Carlisle to the Indian 
villages on the Big Miami, and possibly 
there may have been a trail southwardly 
from the city of Springfield reaching the 
Little Miami River and afterwards the 
Indian villages down on the Scioto. 
While we do not know that there were any 
other trails in the eastward direction, yet 
there may have been one running that 
way. 

Early Roads. 

Whether the Old Columbus Road or 
the road leading from here through the 
Yellow Springs is the oldest, is somewhat 
of a doubtful question. That there were 
roads leading from Springfield east to- 
wards Columbus or south through Yel- 
low Springs before any record of such 
roadways was made is unquestioned, for 
we know that Griffith Foos and his com- 
panions came to Springfield from Frank- 
linton. This Franklinton was a town laid 
out west of the forks of the Olentangy 
and the Scioto Rivers in 1797. It is there- 
fore older than Columbus and it is now 
absorbed by that city and is usually des- 
ignated as West Columbus. We also 
know that a great many of the settlers 
in this county came from Kentucky, either 
up the Big Miami from Cincinnati 
through Da3^ton, or by fording the Ohio 
River not far from the entrance of Eagle 
Creek in Brown County, and in close 
proximity to Maysville, Kentucky, and 
up north through Greene County. It 
seems that under our early laws the com- 
mon pleas judges had jurisdiction over 
road matters, and thus we find that one 



of the orders made, I think, in the No- 
vember term of the Court of Common 
Pleas sitting at Franklinton, viewers were 
appointed to lay out a road from Frank- 
linton west to Springfield. At what time 
of the year 1803 this order was made I 
do not know. Neither am I aware of how 
soon thereafter the order was carried into 
execution and a road laid out. 

In Beer's history it is stated that a 
wagon road was surveyed in 1803 between 
Dayton and Springfield, and that two 
years after the road had been located be- 
tween Spring-field and Dayton, Captain 
Moore and his brother Thomas taking the 
contract to open the road from Franklin- 
ton to Springfield. That the arrival of 
the construction corps was greeted with 
as much enthusiasm by the citizens of 
Springfield as when in after years they 
welcomed the railroad and locomotive; 
that when within a few miles the con- 
tractors made a frolic of the job and in- 
vited all the people to come and help 
them, so that they might g6 into Spring- 
field in one day, the event being celebrated 
by a supper and immense ball at Foos' 
Tavern. 

In the November term of the Court of 
Common Pleas, 1803, sitting at Xenia a 
view of the road was ordered commenc- 
ing from Spring-field and passing- through 
Yellow Springs. James Galloway, Jr., 
was surveyor. 

The old Clifton- Road was no doubt one 
of early date, as was the one leading- to 
Urbana and another one leading- south- 
west through the village of Piqua or New 
Boston. 

Some of these roads were afterwards 
laid out by direction of the county com- 
missioners, and there we find that the rec- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



157 



ords show that the Urbana Road was laid 
out in 1823, Yellow Springs 1821, Old 
Clifton 1830, Possum 1829, Springfield 
and New Carlisle in 1867, Garther Pike 
1867, Davidson Pike, 1880, Mad River 
Valley 1843. 

The old Boston road led west from 
Boston (Piqua) past the Paul mill, near 
New Carlisle, up past the farm of Horace 
W. Stafford to the Miami River, and was 
no doubt upon the route taken by the In- 
dians, when going from one village to an- 
other. At a very early day a road was 
laid out southeast through a point near 
S. Charleston to Chillicothe. (See Pike 
Township for route of Captain Black 
coming from Virginia.) 

Military Route. 

No very great armies have ever crossed 
the soil of this county. In the war with 
Great Britain in 1812, General Hull 
started from Dayton on the 15th of June 
and marched north to Detroit. At Ur- 
bana he received a considerable reinforce- 
ment. It has been contended by some that 
in his march from Spring-field to Urbana 
he came up the Mad River Valley, either 
on the east or west side, to some point 
between Donnelsville and Springfield, and 
then went up over the hill lands not far 
from Lawrenceville and up that way to 
Urbana. Indeed, there are persons liv- 
ing along this route who assert that old 
people have formerly told them that along 
here passed Hull's Army. It seems to 
the writer however that this is probably 
a mistake. In Lossing's history it is 
stated that General Hull moved north 
through Staunton and Urbana and that 
he was from there on four months hew- 



ing his way through the unbroken forests 
to reach his destination. We find that 
the Staunton mentioned was the name of 
the first platted town of Miami County 
and that it was located about one mile 
east of Troy. 

So, taking this statement, it would be 
next thing to an impossibility that Hull's 
army passed over any part of Clark Coun- 
ty. In addition to this, the writer has in- 
terviewed General Keifer, who was born 
near the route that is supposed to have 
been taken by Hull through Clark Coun- 
ty, and he says he is satisfied that Hull's 
army did not pass along the supposed 
route in this county ; that his mother who 
was about thirteen years old at that time 
told him frequently of her trip to Day- 
ton to see Hull's Army, and that his 
father, who was some fifteen years older 
than his mother and then living in the 
vicinity, had never seen Hull's Army at 
all. General Keifer further said "that 
if the army would have passed through 
that neighborhood he would surely have 
been told of the fact by his parents." 

Of course, in the battle of Piqua, 1780, 
General Clark's troops came as far north 
as the location of this battle, but after it 
was over they did not proceed further, 
but returned to their ' Kentucky homes, 
having been gone less than a month. 

Tradition has it that later in the year 
1812, General McArthur passed through 
the eastern part of the county, not far 
from Catawba, in his journey from Chil- 
licothe, then the capital of Ohio, to Ur- 
bana, which seems to have been a general 
starting point for the trip further north. 
It is probable, however, that McArthur 's 
trip did not occur until some time after 
Hull's. During the same war some Ken- 



158 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



tucky troops came up through the east- 
ern part of Moorefield Township, like- 
wise having IJrbana for their immediate 
destination. 

CoEDUROy EOADS. 

As a matter of course the early high- 
ways through the county were nothing 
more than passageways cleared of obstruc- 
tions, and naturally these ways would be 
laid out along the lines of least obstruc- 
tion, and likewise where the streams could 
easily be forded. Timber being very 
plentiful, it was used extensively in the 
construction of the early roads. If there 
was a bog or marshy place tO' be passed 
over, timber was cut down and dragged 
into such places, and usually laid cross- 
wise of the proposed road. This kind of 
a road received the name of corduroy. 
As civilization advanced, material of a 
more substantial character was used, and 
the corduroy road has now so completely 
passed out of existence that very few of 
the present generation know what the 
word means. You may rest assured that 
its surface was not one of extraordinary 
smoothness but possessed as large a pro- 
portion of "ups and downs" as one can 
well imagine. The writer well remem- 
bers driving when a boy over roads of 
this kind in various parts of the county. 

National Road. 

The old national pike which extends 
through this entire county was first con- 
ceived by Albert (xallatin. As early as 
1806 commissioners were appointed by 
President Jefferson to take the matter 
under consideration, and in 1811 a con- 



tract for the first ten miles west of Cum- 
berland, Maryland, was laid, and in 1818 
it was completed to the Ohio River at 
Wheeling. It was not, however, opened 
through Springfield until 1832. 

In locating this road, in many places 
Indian and Buffalo trails were followed, 
mostly because they afforded the best 
course and the shortest routes. The busi- 
ness done over this road was tremendous, 
often as much as twenty or thirty wagons 
following each other carrying immense 
burdens. The advent of steam and the 
growth of railroads, however, cut short 
the building of this thoroughfare to its 
western extremity, which was originally 
intended to be Indianapolis and, possibly, 
St. Louis. It was never worked up, how- 
ever, further than a short distance west 
of this county at a place called Brant. 
Indeed the grading stopped near the west 
line of Springfield Township. Bridges 
and other works of that kind were con- 
structed further west. Five good covered 
bridges built at that time are still stand- 
ing and in good order — at Donnels Creek, 
Jackson Creek — Mad River, Buck Creek, 
and Beaver Creek. Along this highway 
there soon arose a large number of small 
villages and hotels, or taverns as they 
were then called. Specimens of these 
still exist in this county, notably in the 
villages of Brighton, Vienna and Har- 
mony. For a number of years this road 
remained in the control of the United 
States Grovernment, afterwards it was 
ceded to the state and it in turn to the 
various counties through which it ex- 
tended. 

Toll gates were placed on this thorough- 
fare and toll collected until 1883. In the 
earlv eighties however all the toll roads 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



159 



were purchased by the county or were 
made free from this toll. 

Toll Pikes. 

About the tune of and after the con- . 
struction of the National Road private 
enterprise took up the question of build- 
ing roads in the various parts of the coun- 
ty. In 1843 John Minnich and others re- 
ceived a charter for what became the long- 
est toll road in the county leading from 
Dayton to Westville, about three miles 
west of IJrbana, being a total of thirty- 
four miles. At a later date a pike was 
built toward llrbana by E. B. Cassily and 
associates, and another road .was built 
from Springfield to South Charleston and 
one to New Carlisle. Parties using the 
public highways today hardly realize tlie 
amount of annoyance that has been done 
away with by abolishing the toll gate and 
making the roads free. No matter how 
short the distance travelled or how cold 
or inopportune the time, when you came 
to the toll gate you had to stop and pay 
the stipend demanded and it was not a 
' small amount. The writer remembers 
that the toll on the Urbana Pike, from 
Springfield to the County line, for a horse 
and buggy was 25c round trip, a sum 
which now would pay the fare on the 
electric line for the round trip over the 
same distance. Along in 1867, in pur- 
suance to laws that had been previously 
passed, a number of free turnpikes were 
constructed throughout , the county, the 
expense being met by taxing the land own- 
ers whose property lay on each side of 
said roads. Recently the travel by auto- 
mobiles has caused the question of good 
roads to be agitated more thoroughly 



than heretofore. Perhaps it is too much 
to say that this agitation is alone due to 
the automobiles, for even prior to the re- 
quirements of this class of travel, the sub- 
ject of good roads seemed to have new life 
infused into it, and the legislature has 
accordingly made provision for state aid. 
G-enerally speaking, however, it may be 
said that the roads of Clark County are 
in a reasonably good condition. Perhaps 
no locality in the state is blessed with a 
more plentiful supply of first class ma- 
terial both in the way of limestone rock 
and natural gravel than is our county. 
There is today about 320 miles of county 
turnpikes. Added to this may be some 
500 additional miles of township and coun- 
ty roads. 

In Mr. Hypes ' address at the City Cen- 
tennial he divides these roads up among 
the townships, as follows: Bethel Town- 
ship 39 miles; German Township 33 
miles; Green Township, 55 miles; Har- 
mony Township 50 miles ; Mad River 
Township, 47 miles ; Moorefield Township 
49 miles; Madison Township 66 miles; 
Pike Township 30 miles ; Pleasant Town- 
ship 45 miles; Spring-field Township 84 
miles. 

The Stage Coach. 

With the coming of steam there van- 
ished from our county one of the most 
picturesque conveyances of travel — the 
stage coae]]. It was a large lumbering 
wagon with springs, a good imitation 
of which most of the present generation 
have seen in Buffalo Bill's street parade, 
sometimes having as many as six horses, 
usually but four, however. The routes 
of these stages through Clark County 
were principally east over the National 



160 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Eoad, south over the road to Yellow 
Spring's or down by Enon and west over 
the National Eoad and north over the 
Urbana Pike. They ceased running on 
the National road in 1853. The ease with 
which travel was performed would hardly 
compare however with the Pullman coach 
of today. A poet has described it as fol- 
lows: 

Jolting through the valley, 

Winding up the hill, 
Splashing through the "branches," 

Eumbling by the mill ; 
Putting nervous "gemmen" 

In a towering rage; 
What is so provoking 

As riding in a stage? 

Feet are interlacing 

Heads severely bumped, 
Friend and foe together 

Get their noses thumped: 
Dresses act as carpets — 

Listen to the sage — 
"Life's a rugged journey 

Taken in a stage." 

As descriptive of a stage coach journey 
through this county, the following is taken 
from a tour that was made in 1834 by a 
Mr. Eeed, from Great Britain, who trav- 
eled from Sandusky south to Cincinnati. 
Commencing with that part of his jour- 
ney at Columbus, he says : 

"Columbus has a good location in the 
heart of the State. It contains about 4,000 
persons, and is in a very advancing con- 
dition. This indeed is true of all the 
settlements in this state and you will 
hardly think it can be otherwise, when I 
inform you that forty years ago there 



were only 500 persons in the whole ter- 
ritory, and that now there are about a 
million. 

"The inn at which we stopped is the 
rendezvous of the stages. Among others 
there were two ready to start for Cin- 
cinnati. On seeking to engage my place 
the inquiry was, 'Which will you go by, 
sir? the fast or slow line?' Weary as 
I was of the slow line, I exclaimed, 'Oh, 
the fast line, certainly ! ' I quickly found 
myself enclosed in a good coach, carry- 
ing the mail, and only six persons inside. 
In this journey we had but three. 

"Eough Traveling. — In demanding to 
go by the fast line I was not aware of all 
the effects of my choice. It is certainly a 
delightful thing to move with some rapid- 
ity over a good road: but on a bad road, 
with stubborn springs, it is really ter- 
rible. For miles out of Columbus the 
road is shamefully bad : and as our horses 
were kept on a trot, however slow, I was 
not only tumbled and shaken as on the 
previous day, but so jarred and jolted as 
to threaten serious mischief. Instead, 
therefore, of finding a lounge, or sleep, 
as I had hoped, in this comfortable coach, 
I was obliged to be on the alert for every 
jerk. And after all I could do, my teeth 
were jarred, my hat was many times 
thrown from my head, and all my bruises 
bruised over again. It was really an 
amusement to see us laboring to keep our 
places. 

"Jefferson. — About noon we paused at 
the town called Jetferson. We were to 
Avait half an hour; thei'e would be no 
other chance of dinner ; but there were no 
signs of dinner here. However, I had 
been on very short supplies for the last 
twenty-four hours, and considered it my 




AMERICAN SEEDING CO. 




SPRINGFIELD MALLEABLE IRON CO. 
(Superior Drill Co. Division) 




.METALLIC CASKET CO. 
THREE IMPORTANT MANUFACTURING PLANTS. SPRINGFILD 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



163 



duty to ecit if I could. I applied to the 
good woman of the inn^ and in a very 
short time she placed venison, fruit-tarts 
and tea before me, all very clean and the 
venison excellent. It was a refreshing 
repast, and the demand on my purse was 
only twenty-five cents. 

" 'How long have you been here?' I 
said to my hostess, who stood by me fan- 
ning the dishes to keep off the flies. ' Only 
came last fall, sir.' 'How old is this 
town?' 'Twenty-three months, sir — then 
the first house was built. ' 

"There are now about 500 persons set- 
tled here, and there are three good hotels. 
There is something very striking in these 
rapid movements of life and civilization 
in the heart of the forest. 

"Noble Forests. — On leaving Jefferson 
we plunged again into the forest, and to- 
ward evening we got on the greensward 
or natural road. This was mostly good 
and uncut, and we bowled along in 
serpentine lines, so as to clear the stumps, 
with much freedom. The scenery now, 
even for the forest, was becoming unusu- 
ally grand. It repeatedly broke away 
from you, so as to accumulate the objects 
in the picture, and to furnish all the 
beauties of light, shade and perspective. 
The trees, too, were mostly oak, and of 
finest growth. Their noble stems ran up 
some hundred feet above you, and were 
beautifully feathered with verdant foliage. 
There they ran otf in the distance, park- 
like, but grander far, in admirable group- 
ing, forming avenues, galleries, and re- 
cesses, redolent with solemn loveliness; 
and here, they stood before you like the 
thousand pillars of one vast imperishable 
temple for the worship of the Great In- 
visible. "Well might our stout forefathers 



choose the primitive forests for their sanc- 
tuaries. All that art has done in our finest 
Gothic structure is but a poor, poor imita- 
tion. 

"Yellow Springs and Springfield. — "I 
passed in this day's ride the Yellow 
Springs and Springfield. The former is 
a watering-place. There is a fine spring 
of chalybeate and an establishment cap- 
able of receiving from 3 50 to 200 visitors ; 
it is resorted to for the purpose of health, 
hunting and fishing. Springfield is a 
flourishing town, built among the hand- 
some hills that abound in this vicinity. 
It is one of the cleanest, brightest, and 
most inviting that I have seen. But all 
the habitations were as nothing compared 
with the forest. I have been traveling 
through it for two days and nights, and 
still it was the same. Now, you came to 
a woodman's hut in the solitudes; now a 
farm; and now to a village, by courtesy 
called a town or a city; but it is still the 
forest. You drove on for miles through 
it unbroken; then you came to a small 
clearance and a young settlement; and 
then again 3^ou plunged into the wide, 
everlasting forest to be with nature and 
with God. This night I had also to travel 
and, weary as I was, I was kept quite on 
the alert. 

"A Thunderstorm. — I had longed to 
witness a storm in the forest and this was 
to happen eai^lier than my anticipations. 
The day had been hot, but fine ; the night 
came on sultry, close and silent. The 
beautiful fire-flies appeared in abundance; 
summer lightning began to flash across the 
heavens. All this tim_e clouds were mov- 
ing from every part of the circumference 
to the center of the sky. At length they 
formed a heavy, dense, black canopy over 



164 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



our heads, leaving the horizon clear and 
bright. The lightning, which at first ap- 
peared to have no center, had now con- 
solidated their forces behind this im- 
mense cloud, and were playing round its 
whole circle with great magnificence and 
brilliancy; continually the prodigious 
cloud was getting larger and darker, and 
descending nearer to us, so as powerfully 
to awaken expectation. The splendid 
coruscations which played round its mar- 
gin now ceased and all was still. In an in- 
stant the forked lightning broke from the 
very center of the cloud; the thunder, 
deep and loud, shook the earth, and rolled 
and pealed through the heavens; the 
heavy rain dashed in unbroken channels 
to the ground, and the mighty winds 
burst forth in their fury and roared and 
groaned among the giant trees of the 
wood. There were we, in the deep forest 
and in the deep night and in the midst 
of a storm such as I had never witnessed. 
Oh, it was grand! God's own voice in 
God's own temple! Never did I see so 
much of the poetic truth and beauty of 
that admirable ode, 'The choice of the 
Lord,' etc. It ceased as suddenly as it 
began. The winds which bore the cloud 
away left all behind calm; and the fire- 
fly, which had been eclipsed or affrighted, 
reappeared and sparkled over us in the 
profound darkness, and presently the 
stars of a higher sphere looked forth 
benignantly on the lower elements and all 
was peace. ' ' 

DiCKEN^s' Stage Coach Eide, 

In 1842 Charles Dickens, the celebrated 
novelist, made a tour of some of the Amer- 
ican states goina* as far west as St. Louis. 



A description of this trip is given in his 
"American Notes." From Pittsburg he 
went to St. Louis and returned to Cincin- 
nati by boat. From Cincinnati he went 
to Columbus, and thence north until he 
struck the old Mad Eiver and Lake Erie 
Railroad, which was built as far as Tiffin. 
His description of this journey is cer- 
tainly interesting as regards the stage 
coach and the country through which he 
traveled. Nothing is said as to whether 
or not he came by way of Spring-field, but 
probably he did. In narrating his trip 
from Columbus to Spring-field he says : 

"Our place of destination in the first 
instance is Columbus. It is distant about 
a hundred and twenty miles from Cin- 
cinnati, but there is a macadamized road 
(rare blessing!) the whole way, and the 
rate of travelling- upon it is six miles an 
hour. 

"We start at eight o'clock in the morn- 
ing, in a great mail coach, whose huge 
cheeks are so very ruddy and plethoric, 
that it appears to be troubled with a 
tendency of blood to the head. Dropsical 
it certainly is, for it will hold a dozen 
passengers inside. But, wonderful to add, 
it is very clean and bright, being nearly 
new; and rattles through the streets of 
Cincinnati gaily. 

"Our way lies through a beautiful 
country, richly cultivated and luxviriant 
in its promise of an abundant han^est. 
Sometimes we pass a field where the 
strong- bristling stalks of Indian corn look 
like a crop of walking-sticks, and some- 
times an enclosure where the green wheat 
is springing up among a labyrinth of 
stumps; the primitive worm-fence is imi- 
versal, and an ugly thing it is; but the 
farms are neatly kept, and, save for these 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



165 



differences, one might be travelling just 
now in Kent. 

"We often stop to water at a road- 
side inn, which is always dull and silent. 
The coachman dismounts and fills his 
bucket, and holds it to the horses' heads. 
There is scarcely ever anyone to help 
him; there are seldom any loungers 
standing round ; and never any stable 
company with jokes to crack. Some- 
times, when we have changed our team, 
there is a difficulty in starting again, 
arising out of a prevalent mode of break- 
ing a young horse; which is to catch him, 
harness him against his will, and put 
him in a stage-coach, without further 
notice; but we get on somehow or other, 
after a great many kicks and a violent 
struggle ; and jog on as before again. 

"Occasionally, when we stop to change, 
some two or three half-drunken loafers 
will come loitering out with their hands 
in their pockets, or will be seen kicking 
their heels in rocking-chairs, or lounging 
on the window-sill, or sitting on a rail 
within the colonnade. They have not 
often anything to say, though, either to 
us or to each other, but sit there idly 
staring at the coach and horses. The 
landlord of the inn is usually among them, 
and seems, of all the party, to be the least 
connected with the business of the house. 
Indeed, he is with- reference to the tav- 
ern, what the driver is in relation to the 
coach and passengers; whatever happens 
in his sphere of action, he is quite indif- 
ferent, and perfectly easy in his mind. 

"The frequent change of coachmen 
works no change or variety in the coach- 
man's character. He is always dirty, sul- 
len and taciturn. If he is capable of 
smartness of any kind, moral or physi- 



cal, he has a faculty of concealing it which 
is truly marvelous. He never speaks to 
you as you sit beside him on the box, and 
if you speak to him, he answers (if at all) 
in monosyllables. He points out nothing 
on the road, and seldom looks at anything; 
being, to all appearance, thoroughly 
weary of it, and of existence generally. 
As to doing the honours of his coach, 
his business, as I have said is with the 
horses. The coach follows because it is 
attached to them and goes on wheels ; not 
because you are in it. Sometimes, to- 
wards the end of a long stage, he sud- 
denly breaks out into a discordant frag- 
ment of an election song, but his face 
never sings along with him ; it is only his 
voice, and not often that. 

"He always chews and always spits, 
and never incumbers himself with a 
pocket handkerchief. The consequences 
to the box passenger, especially when the 
wind blows towards him, are not agree- 
able. 

"Whenever the coach stops, and you 
can hear the voices of the inside passen- 
gers; or whenever any bystander ad- 
dresses them, or any one among them; 
or they address each other; you will hear 
one phrase repeated over and over and 
over again to the mofet extraordinary ex- 
tent. It is an ordinary and unpromising 
phrase enough, being neither more or 
less than 'Yes, sir;' but it is adapted to 
every variety of circumstances, and fills 
up every pause in the conversation. Thus : 

"The time is one o'clock, noon. The 
scene, a place where we are to stay to 
dine on this journey. The coach drives 
up to the door of an inn. The day is 
warm, and there are several idlers ling- 
ering about the tavern, and waiting for 



166 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



the public dinner. Among them, is a stout 
gentleman in a brown hat, swinging him- 
self to and fro in a rocking-chair on the 
pavement. * * * 

"The conversational powers of the com- 
pany having .been by this time pretty 
heavily taxed, the straw hat opens the 
door and gets out; and all the rest alight 
also. We dine soon afterwards with the 
boarders in the house and have nothing 
to drink but tea and coffee. As they are 
both very bad and the water is worse, I 
ask for brandy; but it is a Temperance 
Hotel, and spirits are not to be had for 
love or money. This preposterous forc- 
ing of unpleasant drinks down the re- 
luctant throats of travellers, is not at all 
uncommon in America, but I never dis- 
covered that the scruples of such wincing 
landlords induced them to preserve any 
unusually nice balance between the qual- 
ity of their fare, and their scale of 
charges; on the contrary, I rather sus- 
pected them of diminishing the one and 
exalting the other, by way of recompense 
for the loss of their profit on the sale of 
spirituous liquors. After all, perhaps, 
the plainest course for persons of such 
tender consciences, would be, a total ab- 
stinence from tavern-keeping. 

"Dinner over, we get into another ve- 
hicle which is ready at the door (for the 
coach has been changed in the interval), 
and resume our journey, which continues 
through the same Irind of country until 
evening, when we come to the town where 
we are to stop for tea and supper; and 
having delivered the mail bags, at the 
Post Office, ride through the usual wide 
street, lined with the usual stores and 
houses (the drapers always having hung 
np at their door, by way of sign, a piece 



of bright red cloth), to the hotel where 
this meal is prepared. There being many 
boarders here, we sit down, a large party, 
and a veiy melancholy one as usual. But 
there is a buxom hostess at the head of the 
table, and opposite, a simple Welsh school- 
master with his wife and child, who 
came here on a speculation of greater 
promise than performance, to teach the 
classics; and they are sufficient subjects 
of interest until the meal is over, and 
another coach is ready. In it we go on 
once more, lighted by a bright moon, un- 
til midnight, when we stop to change the 
coach again, and remain for half an hour 
or so in a miserable room, with a blurred 
lithograph of Washington over the smoky 
fire-place, and a mighty jug of cold 
water on the table; to which refreshment 
the moody passengers do so apply them- 
selves that they would seem to be, one 
and all, keen patients of Doctor Sangrado. 
Among them is a very little boy, who 
chews tobacco like a very big one; and a 
di'oning gentleman, who talks arithmetic- 
ally and statistically on all subjects, from 
poetry downwards; and who always 
speaks in the same key, with exactly the 
same emphasis, and with very grave de- 
liberation. He came outside just now, 
and told me how that the uncle of a cer- 
tain yoimg lady who had been spirited 
away and married by a certain captain, 
lived in these parts ; and how his uncle 
was so valiant and ferocious that he 
shouldn't wonder if he were to follow the 
said captain to England, "and shoot him 
down in the street, wherever he found 
him;" in the feasibility of which strong 
measure I, being for the moment rather 
prone to contradiction, from feeling half 
asleep and very tired, declined to ac- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



167 



quiesce; assuring him that if the uncle 
did resort to it, or gratified any other 
little whim of the like nature, he would 
find himself one morning prematurely 
throttled at the Old Bailey; and that he 
would do well to make his mil before he 
went, as he would certainly want it before 
he had been in Britain very long. 

"On we go, all night, and by-and-by 
the day begins to break, and presently the 
first cheerful rays of the warm sun came 
slanting on us brightly. It sheds its 
light upon a miserable waste of sodden 
grass, and dull trees, and squalid huts, 
whose aspect is forlorn and grievous in 
the last degree. A very desert in the 
wood, whose growth of green is rank and 
noxious like that upon the top of stand- 
ing water ; where i^oisonous fungus grows 
in the rare footprint on the oozy ground, 
and spouts like witches' coral from the 
crevices in the cabin wall and floor; it is 
a hideous thing to lie upon the very thres- 
hold of a city. But it was purchased 
years ago, and as the owner cannot be 
discovered, the State has been unable to 
reclaim it. So there it remains, in the 
midst of cultivation and improvement, 
like ground accursed, and made obscene 
and rank by some great crime. 

"We reached Columbus shortly before 
seven o'clock, and stayed there to re- 
fresh that day and night; having excel- 
lent apartments in a very large unfinished 
hotel called the Neill House, which were 
richly fitted with the polished wood of 
the black walnut, and opened on a hand- 
some portico and stone veranda, like 
rooms in some Italian mansion. The 
town is clean and pretty, and of course 
is 'going to be' much larger. It is the 
seat of the State legislature of Ohio, and 



lays claim, in consequence, to some con- 
sideration and importance. 

"There being no stage-coach next day, 
upon the road we wished to take, I hired 
'an extra' at a reasonable charge, to carry 
us to Tiffin, a small town from whence 
there is a railroad to Sandusky. This 
extra was an ordinary four-horse stage- 
coach, such as I have described, changing 
horses and drivers, as the stage-coach 
would, but was exclusively our own for 
the journey. To ensure our having horses 
at the proper stations, and being incom- 
moded by no strangers, the proprietors 
sent an agent on the box, who was to ac- 
company us the whole way through; and 
thus attended, and bearing with us, be- 
sides, a hamper full of savoury cold meats 
and fruit and wine, we started off again 
in high spirits, at half past six o'clock 
next morning, very much delighted to be 
by ourselves, and disposed to enjoy even 
the roughest journey. 

"It was well for us that we were in this 
humour, for the road we went over that 
day was certainly enough to have shaken 
tempers that were not resolutely at Set 
Fair, down to some inches below Stormy. 
At one time we were all flung together in 
a heap at the bottom of the coach, and at 
another we were crushing our heads 
against the roof. Now one side was 
down deep in the mire, and we were hold- 
ing on to the other. Now the coach was 
lying on the tails of the two wheelers; 
and now it was rearing up in the air, in 
a frantic state, with all four horses stand- 
ing on the top of an insurmountable em- 
inence, looking coolly back at it, as 
though they would say 'unharness us. It 
can 't be done. ' The drivers on these roads, 
who certainly get over the ground in a 



168 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



manner wMch is quite miraculous, so 
twist and turn the team about in forcing 
a passage, corkscrew fashion, through the 
bogs and swamps, that it was quite a 
common circumstance on looking out of 
the window to see the coachman with liio 
ends of a pair of reins in his hands, ap- 
parently driving nothing, or playing at 
horses, and the leaders staring at one un- 
expectedly from the back of the coach, ay 
if they had some idea of getting up be- 
hind. A great portion of the way was 
over what is called a corduroy road, whicJi 
is made by throwing trunks of trees into 
a marsh and leaving them to settle thert. 
The very slightest of the jolts with which 
the ponderous carriage fell from log to 
log was enough, it seemed, to have dis- 
located all the bones in the human body. 
It would be impossible to experience a 
similar set of sensations, in any other cir- 
cumstances, unless perhaps in attempting 
to go up to the top of St. Paul's in an 
omnibus. Never, never once that day was 
the coach in any position, attitude, or 
kind of motion to which we are accus- 
tomed in coaches. Never did it make the 
smallest approach to one's experience of 
the proceedings of any sort of vehicle 
that goes on wheels. 

' ' Still, it was a fine day, and the tem- 
perature was delicious, and though we 
had left Summer behind us in the west, 
and were fast leaving Spring, we were 
moving towards Niagara and home. We 
alighted in a pleasant wood towards the 
middle of the 'day, dined on a fallen tree, 
and leaving our best fragments with a 
cottager, and our worst with the pigs 
(who swarm in this part of the country 
like grains of sand on the sea-shore, to 



the great comfort of our commissariat in 
Canada), we went forward again, gaily. 

' ' As night came on, the track grew nar- 
rower and narrower, until at last it so lost 
itself by instinct. We had the comfort of 
knowing, at least, that there was no dan- 
ger of his (the driver) falling asleep, for 
every now and then a wheel would strike 
against an unseen stump with such a jerk 
that he was fain to hold on pretty tight 
and pretty quick to keep himself upon the 
bos. Nor was there any reason to dread 
the least danger from furious driving, 
inasmuch as over that broken ground the 
horses had enough to do to walk; as to 
shying there was no room for that; and 
a herd of wild elephants could not have 
run away in such a wood, with such a 
coach at their heels. So we stmnbled 
along, quite satisfied. 

"These stumps of trees are a curious 
feature in American travelling. The 
varying illusions they present .to the un- 
accustomed eye as it grows dark, are 
quite astonishing in their number and 
reality. Now, there is a Grecian urn 
erected in the center of a lonely field ; now 
there is a woman weeping at a tomb ; now 
a very common-place old gentleman in a 
white waistcoat, -wnth a thumb thrust into 
each ann-hole of his coat; now a student 
poring on a book ; now a crouching negro ; 
now a horse, a dog, a cannon, an armed 
man; a hunchback throwing off his cloak 
and stepping forth into the light. They 
were often as entertaining to me as so 
many glasses in a magic lantern, and 
never took their shapes at my bidding, 
but seemed to force themselves upon me, 
whether I would or not; and strange to 
say, I sometimes recognized in them 
counter parts of figiires once familiar to 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



169 



me in pictures attached to childish books, 
forgotten long ago. 

"It soon became too dark, however, 
even for this amusement, and the trees 
were so close together that their dry 
branches rattled against the coach on 
either side and obliged us all to keep our 
heads within. It lightened too for three 
whole hours, each flash being very bright 
and blue and long; and as the ^'ivid 
streaks came darting in among the crowd- 
ed branches, and the thunder rolled 
gloomily above the tree tops, one could 
scarcely help thinking that there were 
better neighborhoods at such a time than 
thick woods afforded. 

"At length, between ten and eleven 
o'clock at night, a few feeble lights ap- 
peared in the distance, and Upper Saii- 
dusky, an Indian village, where we were 
to stay till morning, lay before us. 

"They were gone to bed at the log inn, 
which was the only house of entertain- 
ment in the place, but soon answered to 
our knocking, and got some tea ?or u? 
in a sort of kitchen or common room, 
tapestried with old newspapers, pasted 
against the wall. The bed-chamber to 
which my wife and I were shown was a 
large, low, ghostly room, with a quantity 
of withered branches on the hearth, and 
two doors without any fastening, opposite 
to each other, both opening on the black 
night and wild country, and so contrived 
that one of them always blew the other 



open; a novelty in domestic architecture, 
which I do not remember to have seen be- 
fore, and which I was somewhat discon- 
certed to have forced on my attention 
after getting into bed, as I had a consid- 
erable sum in gold for our travelling ex- 
penses in my dressing-ease. Some of the 
luggage, however, piled against the pan- 
els, soon settled this difficulty, and ray 
sleep would not have been very much af- 
fected that night, I believe, though it had 
failed to do so. 

"My Boston friend climbed up to bed, 
somewhere in the roof, where another 
guest was already snoring hugely. But 
being bitten beyond his power of endur- 
ance, he turned out again and fled for shel- 
ter to the coach, which was airing itself 
in front of the house. This was not a 
very politic step, as it turned out, for the 
pigs scenting him, and looking upon the 
coach as a kind of pie with some manner 
of meat inside, grunted around it so hid- 
eously that he was afraid to come out 
again, and lay there shivering till morn- 
ing. Nor was it possible to warm him 
when he did come out by means of a glass 
of brandy; for in Indian villages the leg- 
islature, with a very good and wise inten- 
tion, forbids the sale of spirits by tavern- 
keepers. The precaution, however, is 
quite inefficacious, for the Indians never 
fail to procure liquors of a worse kind 
at a dearer price from travelling ped- 
lers. " 



CHAPTER XI. 



RAILROADS AND TRACTION LINES. 

Building of Railroads — First Railroad — N. Y. P. & 0. — Springfield, Jackson S 
Pomeroy — I. B. S W.— Present Railroad Systems — Traction Lines — Street 
Railways — Telegraph — Telephone; Bell Company, Home Company. 



Building of Railroads. 

"Singing through the forests, 

Rattling over ridges, 
Shooting under arches, 

Rumbling over bridges ; 
Whizzing through the mountains, 

Buzzing o'er the vale, 
Bless me ! this is pleasant, 

Riding on the rail." 

It has been observed by those who have 
made a study of such matters, that many 
of our great lines of transportation fol- 
low the "trail" made by wild animals or 
by the original inhabitants. There is no 
doubt but that one of these trails extend- 
ed from the Ohio River, at a point where 
Eagle River enters it in Brown County, 
north through the City of Spring'fleld, and 
to Sandusky City on the Lake. This trail 
may have been joined in or near our city 
by another one leading from Cincinnati, 
and thus we find that the earliest rail- 
roads in Ohio follow this trail from Cin- 



cinnati to Sandusky. About the time that 
railroads came into existence, the canal 
system of our state was being agitated. 
Several canals had been projected or 
partly built making connection between 
the Ohio River and Lake Erie at Cleve- 
land. 

Before the advent of railways to 
Springfield, goods were received in Cen- 
tral and Southern Ohio by way of the 
National Road running east and west 
through Ohio by way of ^Vheeling and 
Baltimore, by four-horse coaches. The 
time was four or five days, or, if that 
route was not taken, the other one pre- 
senting itself was by way of Lake Erie, 
using the Buffalo and Erie Canal. When 
Buffalo was connected with the Hudson 
River, both by canal and railway, it was 
at once seen that a railway from San- 
dusky to Cincinnati would furnish an ex- 
peditious method of transporting mer- 
chantable articles from the East to Cen- 
tral and Southern Ohio. 



AND REPEESENrATIVE CITIZENS. 



171 



As early as 1817 the legislature con- 
sidered a resolution relating to a canal 
between Lake Erie and the Ohio River, 
and on June 5, 1832, the Cincinnati, San- 
dusky and Cleveland Railroad, or, as it 
was then known, the Mad River & Lake 
Erie, was granted a charter, and in 1837 
the Little Miami Railroad was begun. 
The construction of the Mad River & 
Lake Erie Railway, like most railroad 
building of that time, did not progress 
very rapidly and the line did not reach 
Spring-field until 1848. 



Lake Erie Railroad at Springfield to 
form a continuous line from Cincinnati 
to the lake. 

In 1850 the Columbus & Xenia Railroad 
was built which now forms a part of the 
Pennsylvania system running through 
South Charleston and with which the 
Little Miami is connected. 

In the same year the Cincimiati, San- 
dusky & Cleveland Railroad was extend- 
ed to Dayton and we then had two com- 
peting railroads to Cincinnati, the latter 
road making connection at Dayton with 




' First Raileoad. 

The first railroad to enter Springfield 
was the Little Miami Railroad, and this 
event happened on Thursday, the 1st day 
of August, 1846, the "locomotive Ohio" 
being the one which drew the first train 
of cars into our city. The Mad River & 
Lake Erie entered on September 2, 1848. 
The locomotive bi'inging its first train of 
cars on this road was called the "Sen- 
eca. ' ' 

It was the aim of the Little Miami by 



making connection with the Mad River & 
the C. H. & D. The first train left for 
Dayton in 1851. In that year construc- 
tion of the railroad from Springfield to 
London was begun, which was completed 
in 1853. 

Likewise the railroad from Springfield 
to Delaware, which was then designated 
as the Springfield, Mt. Vernon & Pitts- 
burg Railroad, had its inception in the 
same year, 1851. 

Afterwards the road from Springfield 
to London was continued under a charter 



172 



HISTOEY OF CLABK COUNTY 



of the Columbus, Springfield & Cincinnati 
Railroad, and the first train ran fiom 
Spi'ingfield to Columbus in 1871. 

N. Y. P. & 0. 

In 1864 the Atlantic and Great Western 
Railroad was constructed in Clark Coun- 
ty. The intention of its promoters was 
to form a through line from the Atlantic 
to the Pacific Ocean. It was built as a 
broad-gauge line, being one foot wider be- 
tween its track rails than the ordinary 
road. Those in charge of its construction 
did not look upon Spring-field as a city 
of sufficient importance to make the con- 
nection of their line with it a profitable 
enterprise, therefore they did not go 
through the city, a mistake which, long 
before this, has caused regret to those in- 
terested in its fortunes. Its gauge was 
afterwards changed to that of the stand- 
ard width, and its name to the New York. 
Pennsylvania & Ohio, and it is now known 
as the "Nypano" and is under lease and 
control of the Erie system. 

Springfield, Jackson & Pomeeoy. 

In September, 1874, the Spring-field, 
Jackson & Pomeroy Railroad was organ- 
ized and was intended to extend from 
Springfield to the Ohio River. It was one 
of the first narrow-gauge roads in the 
state. Quite a number of Springfield cit- 
izens invested in the stock of the compan}' 
and many of them found, after the rtiil- 
road was wound up by a receiver, that 
they were compelled to pay a second time 
under the constitution liability that then 
applied to a stockholder in a corpora- 
tion, the full amount of their original 



stock. This road was open in 1878 and 
had but a short life, for in 1879 it was 
sold at a receiver's sale and its gauge was 
changed to that of standard width, 'incl 
it was then called the Ohio Southern Rail- 
road. 

I. B. & W. 

In 1881 the railroad was finished be- 
tween Springfield and Indianapolis, be- 
ing a continuation of the road that ex- 
tended from Peoria to Indianapolis, and 
was known as the I. B. & W. This road, 
after going through the usual vicissi- 
tudes attending- new railroads, was finally 
merged into the present Big Four system. 
The last railroad that was built in Spring- 
field was an extension of the Ohio South- 
ern from Spring-field to Lima. This oc- 
curred in the year 1893. 

Present Railroad Systems. 

Out of these various originally con- 
structed railroads we now have but four 
systems entering the city — the C. C. C. & 
St. L., known as the Big Four, now con- 
trolling by lease or purchase the lines 
leading from this city to Sandusky and 
Cleveland by way of Columbus and by 
way of Delaware, Cincinnati and Indian- 
apolis; the Little Miami, forming- a part 
of the P. C. & St. L., or Panhandle sys- 
tem; the N. Y. P. & 0., which has freight 
connections in the city over the D. T. & I., 
and is a part of the Erie system ; and the 
D. T. & I. Railway, which is the old Ohio 
Southern with a northern termination of 
what was formerly the Ann Arbor & Lake 
Michigan Railway. 

The total mileage of railwavs in Clark 




THE ANSTED & BURK COMPANY- SPRINGFIF.T.D 




THE FOOS GAS ENGINE CO?iIPANY, SPRINGFIELD 



AND EEPEBSENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



175 



County is about 125 miles, with, an as- 
sessed value of $1,346,000. 

For a, number of years citizens of 
Springfield have been clamoring for bet- 
ter depot facilities, and at this writing it 
seems that proper buildings may be erect- 
ed in the near future. 

There are thirty-eight passenger trains 
in and out of the city daily over the C. C. 
C. & St. L. Railroad, four over the D. T. 
& I., four over the P. C. & St. L., and 
eight over the Erie. 

The following from Dicken's descrip- 
tion of a ride on the New England Rail- 
road in 1842, not inappropriately de- 
scribes some of the experiences on a rail- 
road train at this day. 

"The train calls at stations in the 
woods, where the wild impossibility of 
anybody having the smallest reason to 
get out, is only to be equalled by the ap- 
parently desperate hopelessness of there 
being anybody to get in. It rushes across 
the turnpike road, where there is no gate, 
no policeman, no signal; nothing but a 
rough wooden arch, on which is painted, 

' ' WHEN THE BEI-L RINGS LOOK OUT FOE. THE 

LOCOMOTIVE." On it whirls headlong, 
dives through the woods again, emerges 
in the light, clatters over frail arches, 
rumbles upon the heavi'' ground, shoots 
beneath a wooden bridge which inter- 
cepts the light for a second like a wink, 
suddenly awakens all the slumbering 
echoes in the main street of a large lown, 
and dashes on hap-hazard, pell-mell, neck 
or nothing, down the middle of the road. 
There — ^with mechanics working at their 
trades, and people leaning from their 
doors and windows, and boys flying kites 
and playing marbles, and men smoking, 



and women talking, and children crawl- 
ing, and pigs burrowing, and accustomed 
horses plunging and rearing, close to the 
very rails — there — on, on, on — tears the 
mad dragon of an engine with its train of 
cars, scattering in all directions a shower 
of burning sparks from its wood fire; 
screeching, hissing, yelling, panting, un- 
til at last the' thirsty monster stops be- 
neath a covered way to drink, the people 
cluster round, and you have time to 
breathe again." 

Tk.4Ctton Lines. 

The first traction or inter-urban line 
that entered Springfield was the Dayton 
branch of the D. S. & U., in 1899. Later 
this line was extended to Urbana and 
Bellefontaine, and in 1901 the line to 
Columbus, which is known as the C. L. & 
S., was completed. They were both a 
part of one system and were finally sold 
by receivers, and are now known as the 
I. C. & E. inter-urban line. 

In 1903 the traction line leading from 
Springfield to Xenia was completed, and 
in 1904 the S. T. & P., a road leading from 
Spring-field to Troy, was finished. 

In the same year a road was organized 
as the Springfield, South Charleston and 
Washington C. H. Railroad, which by 
lease enters into the city over the Xenia 
road, and was completed as far as South 
Charleston. It is now in the hands of a 
receiver, with great uncertainty as to 
what may be its future. 

A line has been projected leading from 
Springfield south to Clifton and Cedar- 
ville, with the object in view of ultimately 
reaching Cincinnati, which has been pro- 
moted by Mr. George H. Frey, Jr., of this 



176 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



city, and will probably be built sooner or 
later. 

Another line was i^rojected south to 
Clifton and Washington C. H., but this 
has been definitely abandoned. 

The result of construction of these 
various traction and railroad lines is that 
Springfield is one of the most accessible 
cities in the state and this fact has con- 
tributed very largely in securing the loca- 
tion of the fraternal homes now in our 
locality. 

Street Railways. 

The first street railway built in Spring- 
field was under an ordinance passed June 
8th, 1869, and was put in operation the 
following year. It extended from Foun- 
tain Avenue west on High Street to Isa- 
belle, and down Isabelle to Main, where 
it reached the power house ; i. e., a stable 
for the mules. 

To accommodate the State Fair, which 
was held here in 1870, a line was extend- 
ed west to and south on Western Avenue 
to the Fair Grounds. During fair times 
it was quite a success, but afterwards 
hardly had suflicient revenue to furnish 
horse feed. The mule and the empty car 
did not give much indication of what the 
street car service of Springfield some 
day might prove to be. 

During the winter months it will be re- 
membered that the donkeys had trouble in 
pulling the ears up the Limestone Street 
hill. To facilitate the handling of traffic 
an extra pair of mules was stationed at 
Pleasant Street and hooked on as the cars 
began to go up the long incline. 

About 1873 the entire line was sold, 
including horses and cars, for $2,000 to 



Charles H. Harris. By reason of George 
Silence being one of its early promoters 
it was given the name of "Spence's Short 
Line. ' ' It had a precarious existence un- 
til its final absorption by the Citizens' 
Street Railway Company, organized in 
December, 1882. 

On Febi'uary 16, 1883, at a meeting of 
the stockholders of the Citizens' Railway 
Company, Asa S. Bushnell was instructed 
to ascertain from the owners of the street 
car line what they would take for the 
property. The directors of the Citizens' 
Company were D. W. Stroud, B. H. 
Warder," A. S. Bushnell, W. A. Scott and 
Ross Mitchell. Mr. Bushnell reported at 
a subsequent meeting that the property 
could be secured for $14,000. He was 
authorized to make an offer of $13,000, 
and the owners, P. P. Mast and D. W. 
Stroud, accepted it and gave a deed for 
the property. This railway in the hands 
of the new owners commenced street car 
extension in earnest and made extended 
improvements in various directions. I. 
Ward Frey built the first electric line in 
1891, leading from an addition that he had 
laid out in the south and called Lands- 
downe, north on Center to High, then 
east on High to Fountain Avenue, and 
north on Fountain Avenue to McCreight 
Avenue. 

The Citizens' Street Railway was pur- 
chased by the S]5ringfield Railway sys- 
tem, which was organized in 1892. In 
Jnne of this year application was made to 
run all cars by electricity, and this com- 
pany absorbed the Frey line and now owns 
and controls all the street car lines in the 
city, having one central transfer station 
at the corner of High and Limestone 
streets. The mileage of this road in the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



177 



city is about thirty miles and it furnishes 
very convenient access to all parts of the 
city. Oscar T. Martin is president and 
John H. Miller manager of the company. 



ing located at No. 
Street. 



105 South Limestone 



TELEPHONE COMPANIES. 



Telegraph. 



Bell Company. 



The first telegraph system was in- 
stalled in Spring-field in 1848 by Ira An- 
derson, under the old Pittsburg, Cincin- 
nati and Louisville Company, generally 
called the O'Reilly Line. This line was in 
operation during the presidential canvass 
of 1848. George H. Frey, Sr., set up the 
next instrument in 1849. This was the 
Cincinnati and Sandusky Company's 
property, better known as the Morse Line. 
These two companies consolidated into 
the Western Union Telegraph Company 
in 1849. In 1864 Mr. John W. Parsons, 
now superintendent of the Masonic Home, 
took charge. Mr. Parsons was connect- 
ed with the telegraph business as a mes- 
senger boy from 1852. 

In 1863 the Atlantic and Pacific Com- 
pany opened an office, James P. Martin- 
dale, now a resident of South Charleston, 
conducting the atfairs of this company 
for a time. 

The American Union Telegraph Com- 
pany opened up in 1880, and in 1881 all 
these lines were consolidated with the 
Western LTnion, which controls the major 
part of the business to this day, George 
R. Carter being now manager and having 
been for a number of years. In connec- 
tion with the Western Union there is con- 
ducted the American District Telegraph 
Company and the Postal Telegraph Cable 
Company, and they have had an office at 
No. 110 South Limestone Street for some 
years, the other telegraph companies be- 



The first telephone company to operate 
in this city was organized July, 1880, and 
operates the Bell system. It is controlled 
by the Central ITuion, with its headquar- 
ters at Chicago. It has a long distance 
communication with almost every city in 
Ohio and pretty generally throughout 
Clark County, having branch exchanges 
at Enon, Harmony, New Carlisle, North 
Hampton, New Moorefield, Pitchin, South 
Charleston, Tremont City, Thackery and 
Vienna Cross Roads. The service of this 
company is now reasonably good. Major 
R. B. Hoover has been manager of the 
Bell System, with the exception of an in- 
terregTium of about five years, since 
1891. 

The Bell Telephone occupy nice quar- 
ters of their own on East High Street, 
next to the Lagonda Club Building. This 
company moved into their present build- 
ing, which cost, including ground, about 
$40,000, on March 4, 1900. 

SPRINGFIELD-XEISriA TELEPHONE CoMPANY. 

For a time the Bell system and service 
was subject to a great deal of complaint. 
Repeated efforts upon part of the citizens 
to have the company better the service 
seemed to have no effect. This resulted 
in the formation of what is now known 
as the Home Telephone System. This 
company was organized in 1900; Mr. 
Juvenal and John B. and S. F. McGrew 



178 



HISTOEY OP CLAEK COUNTY 



were very prominent in its organization. 
Afterwards it was purchased by the 
Springfield-Xenia Telephone Company, 
Governor Bushnell being interested in 
this line. This company has succeeded in 
securing a very large list of subscribers 
in the city and in various parts of the 
county. It is not so well equipped with 
branch offices throughout' the county as 
the Bell system, but at this time both sys- 



tems are offering and furnishing reason- 
ably good service to the citizens of 
Springfield and Clark County. Of the 
Home Telephone Company the officers for 
1907 were E. C. Gwynn, president; S. F. 
McG-rew, vice president; E. E. Mills, 
treasurer; Delos Odell, secretary. In 
1901 the office building for the company 
was erected on Center Street, between 
Main and High Streets. 



CHAPTER XII. 



MILLS. 



The Oi.d Mill — Mills of Mad River: Medivay Mills, Eagle City Mills, Rector's 
Mill, Kizer Mill, Hertzlers-Snyderville Mill, Woodbury Mill, Ross Mill, 
Nauman Mill, Croft Mill, Snyder's Mill, Grisso Mill, Leffel's Mill, Kneis- 
ley's Distillery, Rubsam's Mill, Enon Mill — Buck Cbeek: Lagonda Mill, 
Rennick-BecMel Mill, Kitt Mill, Hunter Mill, Datvson-Runyam Mill, Cart- 
mell Mill, Perrin Mill, Warder Mill, Croft Mill, Baldtvin Mill, Barnett Mill, 
Wilson-Moor efield Mill, Rabbitts-Olds Mill, Buckeye Works-P. P. Mast 
Co., Pitts Threshing Machine Shop, Snyder Hydratdic, Foos Oil Mill — Beavee 
Creek, Tributary op Buck Creek: Redmond's Mill, Taylor's Mill, Benson's 
Mill, Haney's Satv Mill, Smith-Baird Mill — Mii,l Run, Tributary of Buck 
Creek: Demint's Mill, Lingle Mill, Fisher Mill, Foos Mill, Lowry Mill, 
Filler MM— Mill Creek: Rebert Mill, Paden's Mill, Leffel's Satv Mill — 
DoNNELLS Creek : Donnells Mill, Lowrey Mill, Baisinger Mill — Rock Run 
— Chapman's Creek: Lance's Mill, Seitz Mill, Chatterlen Mill, Enoch's 
Mill, Libert's Mill — Honey Creek: Black's Mill, Rayburn Mill, Paul Mill 
— Little Miami River: Clifton Mills, Knot's Mill, Burke's Mill — Muddy 
Run : Shellabnrger Mills, Partington Mill — Miscellaneous. 

The Old Mill. And talked with Nelly, the miller's girl, 

TT p ,1 , ^ ,. -, ■., -r . ^ As T waited my turn at the door. 

Here irom the brow ot the hill 1 look, ajimix -, ^ ■ t j. ^ 

m, 1 1 _,j. p , 1 n , And while she tossed her ringlets brown, 

Through a lattice ot boughs and leaves, k i n- j. i i t j.± ^ ^ 

r. ,1 ,1 -n -xi •; 1 T J? And flirted and chatted so tree, 

On the old grav mill with its gambrel root, „, ^ -,.-,. , ,-, i i • i, 

.1,1 ., , , . The wheel might stop, or the wheel might 

And the moss on its rotting eaves. o i » o 

I hear the clatter that lars its walls, ^, '^ ' ■,, ,, 

. -, ,, 1 . , , -I it was all the same to me. 

And the rushing water s sound, 



And I see the black floats rise and fall 
As the wheel goes slowly round. 



'Tis twenty years since last I stood 
On the spot where I stand today, 
I rode there often when I was young. And Nelly is wed, and the miller is dead, 



With my grist on the horse before, And the mill and I are gray. 



180 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



But both, till we fall into ruin and wreck, 
To the fortune of toil are bound ; 

And the man goes and the stream flows. 
And the wheel moves slowly round. 

In the absence of facilities for trans- 
porting the necessities of life, the erec- 
tion of mills producing these necessities 
became one of the first industries in which 
the pioneer was engaged. In this age we 
can hardly conceive of the importance of 
an industry of this kind. 

Prior to the introduction of railways 
the means for transporting articles from 
one part of the country to another was 
either by water or by wagons drawn by 
horses, and when we consider further 
that the first railway that entered the city 
of Springfield did so in 1846, we begin to 
realize the importance of the various 
mills that had been erected up to this 
time upon Mad River and its triliutaries 
for the purpose of converting grain into 
flour to supply the necessities of the im- 
mediate neighborhood, and into whiskey 
to be in that condition more easily sold 
and transported to other communities. 
The average fall of the Valley of Mad 
River through Clark County is from 
eight to ten feet to the mile. Some of its 
tributaries have a much greater decline, 
and no doubt the fact that Mad River and 
its tributaries afforded favorable oppor- 
timities for the erection of mills contrib- 
uted largely to an early settlement of 
this county. Prior to the introduction of 
railways and the building of mills it was 
necessary to haul flour by wagon ways 
from Dayton and Cincinnati to the 
South, and as far as Sandusky to the 
North, to which place it was taken by 
boat from the place of its manufacture. 



A very large number of mills and dis- 
tilleries were erected along the streams 
in this county and a very few of them are 
in active operation to this day. At many 
places they have rotted down and have 
been taken away, and almost every sign 
of their former existence has disappeared. 

MILLS OF MAD RIVER. 

Mbdway Mills. 

Probably the first mill that was built 
on Mad River in Clark County was 
erected by Archibald Steele, who settled 
in the village of Medway in 1807. It was 
a grist-mill and nothing very definite is 
known at this time further concerning it. 
A few years afterwards a man by the 
uame of McQueen built a saw-mill and 
grist-mill a short distance above Medway, 
which was afterwards owned by Mr. Ja- 
cob Hershey. It was torn down in 1832 
and never rebuilt. 

Eagle City Mills. 

The second mill that was built upon 
Mad River in this county was a saw- and 
hemp-mill erected in 1808 by .laeob Kib- 
linger, where the present mill at Eagle 
CitV is located. About 1820 Daniel Kib- 
linger and Ira Paige built a grist mill at 
the same point, which they operated until 
1832, when it was purchased by Merri- 
weather and Clark, who ran it until 1837, 
when it was sold to Adam Baker. He was 
succeeded by Baker and Haroff and they 
by Kiblinger and Stoner, and afterwards 
it became the property of Bryant and 
O'Rourke, and was latterly owned by S. 
R. Hockman, who continued it as a grist- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



181 



mill until his death about 1900. It was 
operated for a few years afterwards by 
his heirs, then sold to W. S. Neese, who 
finally disposed of it to H. L. Detrick, 
who is conducting it at this time as a 
grist-mill. A saw-mill was until a few 
years ago operated at the same point. 
At one time whiskey was distilled here. 

Eectob's Mill. 

Prior to 1810 Charles Rector built a 
small distillery at the mouth of Storm's 
Creek in the northern part of German 
Township on Mad River. Later he put up 
a grist- and saw-mill at the same place. 
This mill was afterwards operated for a 
number of years by Gersham Gard. The 
mill has long since disappeared. A race 
running north into Champaign County is 
the only evidence of the use of mill power 
at a former period at this place. 

KizER Mill. 

In 1810 Phillip Kizer built a grist-mill 
on Mad River somewhere not far from 
Tremont City. As to any matters con- 
cerning it in detail, little is known of it 
at this time. Indeed its exact location 
cannot be determined. At a later time he 
aided a still. Many of the stills that weve 
added to these mills at an early date were 
of the very limited character. 

Hektzler's Snyderville Mill. 

About 1818 John and James Leffel 
erected a grist-mill at a point on Mad Riv- 
er, which has at various times been known 
as Hertzler's Mills, Tecumseh Mills and 
Snyderville. John Leffel died soon there- 
after, and it was continued by James un- 
til about 1831. He sold it to a Mr. Min- 



ard, who became embarrassed, and the 
property was sold at sheriff's sale to the 
late Daniel Hertzler, who ran the mill and 
distillery for about twenty years and 
amassed a large fortune. It changed 
hands afterwards on several occasions 
and is now the property of Henry Sny- 
der's heirs. It stands there, a monument 
of its former greatness, idle and inactive. 

WooDBUKY Mill. 

About 1830 John Shartle .built a grist- 
mill, to which was afterwards added a 
distillery, a short distance below Med- 
way. This mill was known as the Wood- 
bury Mill. It continued in operation as 
a grist-mill until some fifteen or twenty 
years ago when its active use was aban- 
doned. It is still standing. 

Ross Mill. 

Somewhere about the year 1830 Charles 
Ross built a mill a short distance south of 
where the Eagle City Mills are now lo- 
cated, in what is now a field a short dis- 
tance east of the St. Paris Pike and pret- 
ty nearly opposite the road leading east 
from the Valley Pike. This mill was af- 
terwards operated as a carding-mill by a 
man by the name of Shearer. All signs 
of the former location of this mill have 
been obliterated, the spot where it stood 
being now in the midst of a cultivated 
field. 

Natjman Mill. 

About the year 1830 a grist-mill and 
distillery was built on Mad River on the 
Nauman farm in Section 7. It is not 
known at present who built the mill. A 
few years afterwards it was purchased by 



182 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Andrew Seitz, Sr., tlie father of Jacob 
Seitz, a recent inhabitant of the city of 
Springfield. Nothing is known of its ojd- 
eration after the Seitz family left it. A 
depression in the ground where the for- 
mer races were located is all that is left 
to indicate its former location. 

Ckoft Mill. 

In 1830 George Croft built a grist- and 
saw-mill and distillery on the lands lately 
owned by Martin Snider, in Bethel Town- 
ship, on a race supplied from Mad River. 
This mill was operated by Mr. Croft and 
his sons for a number of years, and at a 
later period was operated as a grist-mill 
by Martin Snyder. It is now abandoned. 

Snyder's Mill. 

The flouring mill oiDerated now by 
William L. Snyder, west of the city of 
Springfield on Mad River, was erected by 
Elijah Harnett in 1825, and was after- 
wards sold to Henry Snyder, the grand- 
father of the present proprietor. Mr. 
Snyder, Sr., build a distillery, which was 
operated by the sons, J. and D. L. Snyder, 
up to 1862. Here the Snyders gathered 
the nucleus of their great fortune. The 
mill was destroyed by fire in 1854, and 
afterwards rebuilt. At present it is used 
as a grist-mill exclusively. 

Geisso Mill. 

This mill is located near Rock Run, 
where it enters Mad River southwest of 
the city. It was built in 1831 by Peter 
Sintz, Sr., and improved in 1880 by John 
and Samuel Arthur. After Mr. Sintz had 



managed it for some time he leased it to 
George Grisso. It experienced various 
vicissitudes, until it was finally purchased 
by the Arthurs, who ran it for some time, 
and then it ceased to perform its function. 
At odd times feed has been ground there 
ia recent years. It now is the property of 
the Springfield and Dayton Traction 
Company. . 

Leffel's Mill. 

In 1833 Andrew Leffel built a grist-mill 
a short distance above what is now known 
as the Rubsam Mill on Mad River and 
very close to the railway bridge. It was 
operated by Mr. Leffel for about ten 
years. He sold it to James Robinson, who 
attached a distillery to it, and both mill 
and distillery were destroyed by fire about 
1850, and were never rebuilt. There is 
no visible evidence of the place where 
this mill was located. 

Kneisley's Distillery. 

In 1839 Kiblinger and Kneisley built 
a mill east of Tremont City, and what 
was perhaps the largest distillery on Mad 
Rivor. A grist-mill and saw-mill were at- 
tached to it. The industry caused the 
building of quite a number of houses in 
the immediate vicinity and it afterwards 
received the name of Owl Town (see vil- 
lages). Not later than 1859 this establish- 
ment became the property of Daniel Blose, 
his son, John H. Blose, and his brother- 
in-law, Jacob Seitz. They conducted it 
for several years as a distillery and mUl 
with very great profit. 

About 1865 the distillery part was 
abandoned and afterwards a grist mill 




^/:^ ^-^ cffl=( <ii^ Q ^ 

- fmmlSimmi CMn/ (■d ^^ 






i 



r? 



V 



^kC 




AND REPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



185 



•was carried on by Mr. J. H. Blose and 
C. F. Eohrer, but not for any great length 
of time, and now there is not a vestige 
of either distillery, grist- or saw-mill left 
upon the premises. Nothing there indi- 
cates the industry that formerly existed, 
excepting depressions where the water- 
ways were formerly located. 

Rubsam's Mill. 

This mill is located south of the rail- 
road bridge on Mad Eiver, west of the 
city. It was originally built by Daniel 
Hertzler in 1865 and was completed and 
ready for operation at the time that Mr. 
Hertzler was murdered. Samuel Huff- 
man, a son-in-law of Hertzler, ran it un- 
til 1869, when Mrs. J. W. Rubsam, a 
daughter of Mr. Hertzler, became the 
owner. It is still standing, but not in 
active operation and probably never will 
be. 

Enon Mill. 

Not far from Enon, fed largely by the 
spring that opens up on the Harshman 
farm, a mill was located at an early date 
by Mr. Layton, but this likewise has long 
since passed out of existence. A still was 
conducted there also. 

BUCK CREEK. 

Buck Creek seemed to afford mill pow- 
er for perhaps as large a number of mills 
as Mad River. 

Lagonda Mill. 

Probably the first use of the waters of 
Buck Creek for milling purposes was at 
Lagonda in 1806, when Simon Kenton 



established his mill there. This was a 
grist-mill, and had attached thereto a 
carding-machiae, which did not prove a 
success, owing to the want of perfect 
machinery. The grist-mill was small, and 
the machinery was run by hand. Kenton 
left this mill in 1812 and it afterwards be- 
came the property of Prickett and Beeze- 
ly and later on was purchased by Jere- 
miah Warder. 

Rennick-Bechtel Mill. 

Near where the spring is in Snyder 
Park Robert Rennick, in 1807, built a 
grist-mill. There is some divergence of 
opinion as to the date on which this mill 
was erected. Mr. Ludlow, in his history 
of Springfield, states that it was built as 
early as 1802, but Mr. Woodward, in his 
sketches, thinks it was probably built 
after Kenton built the mill at Lagonda. 
It was a flour- and grist-mill. It was 
either afterwards purchased by Mr. Hen- 
ry Bechtel or was destroyed, and Mr. 
Beehtel built a new one in practically the 
same place. There is nothing there now, 
to indicate a former mill site. 

KiTT Mill. 

In 1814, or possibly as early as 1812, 
Peter Kitt erected a distillery on the large 
spring on a farm of the late J. T. War- 
der, near Lagonda. How extensive a bus- 
iness this mill was engaged in is not 
known. 

Hunter Mill. 

The next mill that was erected on Buck 
Creek was built in Pleasant Township, in 
the year 1819, by William Hunter. This 
has been abandoned. This mill was lo- 



186 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



cated about one and a half miles west of 
Catawba. In later years it was run by 
John W. Yeazell. It has been abandoned 
for some time. It is now owned by a Mr. 
Tavener and occupied as a sheep stable, 
hay bam, etc. 

Dawson-Runyan Mill. 

Some time earlier than the Hunter MiU 
was that of the mill built by Mr. Dawson, 
near the present site of the grist-mill 
owned by J. M. Runyan on Buck Creek, 
south of Catawba. This was a small mill 
for grinding com. There was also a 
carding-machine in connection therewith. 
The present mill of J. M. Runyan was 
built by William Speakman. 

Cartmell Mill. 

In 1822 Nathaniel Cartmell built a 
grist-mill in Pleasant Township on Buck 
Creek. This was situated a short dis- 
tance further west than the Hunter Mill. 
There was afterwards added to it a wool- 
en-mill and distillery. 

Peeein Mill. 

About 1820 up near where the present 
power-house of the street railway is sit- 
uated Joseph Perrin built and operated 
a saw-mill. 

Wardee Mill. 

■ In 1830 Jeremiah Warder purchased 
the entire then existing village of Lagon- 
da, consisting of eight or ten buildings, 
saw-mills, woolen-factory and grist-mill, 
for $3,000. He erected a new large mill 



on the south side of the creek. The old 
mill was transformed into a distillery. 
This mill was finally taken down about 
the year 1867. 

Ceoft Mill. 

Not far from this time (1830) Mr. John 
Croft became the possessor of a mill or 
mill site located about a mile and a half 
up the stream from Lagonda, conducting 
it as a mill and distillery, in a small way, 
for a good many years. Latterly a saw- 
mill was at this place. Both now have 
gone out of existence. This mill was 
originally built by a man named Ross. 

Baldwin Mill. 

Somewhere about 1836, possibly at an 
earlier date, a mill which was afterwards 
known by the name of the Baldwin Mill, 
was erected on the west branch of Buck 
Creek not far south of the county line. 
It derived its name from the Baldwins, 
who became its owners and who ran it for 
many years. It was a grist-mill, but has 
long since ceased operation. Its location 
was close to where the Machanicsburg 
Pike crosses this branch of the stream. 

Baenett Mills. 

In 1840 Samuel and James Bamett 
purchased the waterway ujjon which were 
afterwards built the Barnett mills, now 
owned and operated, by Anstead, Burk 
& Co. The Barnetts operated this mill as 
a grist mill for more than a half-century. 
It has been enlarged and the business has 
been very much extended by its present 
owners. Where the present Buckeye 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



187 



Shops are, a linseed oil mill was oper- 
ated at one time. 

WiLSON-MoOKEFIELD MlLL. 

In 1840 Hugh Wilson started a still- 
house where the grist-mill is now located 
in the village of New Moorefield. This 
was operated in 1861. The grist-mill 
was afterwards built here and for a long 
time went by the name of the Yeazell Mill. 
It is still in active operation, John W. 
Yeazell being the present owner. 

Rabbitts-Olds Mill. 

In 1847 Charles Eabbitts and Mr. Olds 
built a woolen-mill, which they operated 
until 1874. The building was afterwards 
occupied by Blount and Wilson and was 
taken down a few years ago. 

Buckeye Woeks-P. P. Mast Co. 

In speaking of the mills of Buck Creek 
it is in order to say something about what 
is now known as the P. P. Mast Company, 
as this corporation uses part of the mill 
power of the creek in the operation of its 
works. In 1841 the Barnetts sold James 
Leffel one-twelfth part of the watei*- 
power and the same amount to Richard 
Rodgers. Leffel started a saw-mill and 
foundry, and afterwards he and An- 
drew Richards built and operated a cot- 
ton-mill and machine-shop, which aft- 
erwards passed iato the hands of the 
P. P. Mast Company. Richard Rodgers 
sold his power back to James Barnett, 
who built a linseed oil mill, which he sold 
to John Foos. This mill was also ab- 
sorbed by P. P. Mast Company, and in 



1847 the Barnetts leased land and power 
to Muzzey & Andrews, who operated a 
planing mill. This was afterwards sold 
to Samuel Kindelbarger and then sold to 
the P. P. Mast Company. In 1846 the 
Barnetts leased land and power to Oily 
Taylor, who built a linseed oil mill, which 
afterwards became the property of Smith 
& Dew, then passed to Smith & Boucher, 
then to Steele, Layman & Co., and finally 
to the P. P.^Mast Company. 

Pitts Theeshing Machine Shop. 

In 1842 John A. Pitts, inventor of the 
Pitts Separator, came to this city from 
Rochester, New York, and bought land 
and power from the Barnetts and built 
shops for the manufacture of the Pitts 
Separator, which is now the property of 
0. W. Kelly Company. It was operated 
after his death by his sons, and then 
passed into the hands of James W. Rein- 
hart, Charles P. Ballard and L. H. Pur- 
sell. 

Snyder Hydeaulic. 

In 1865 J. and D. L. Snyder constructed 
a hydraulic for the purpose of utilizing 
the waters of Buck Creek. This hydraulic 
commenced at the east end of the present 
park and ran down along the south and 
east lines of said park near Main Street. 
Part of it is utilized now for park pur- 
poses. The boating-pond and other 
features of the park are located on this 
hydraulic. Their intention was to build 
a mill and distillery, but just about that 
time the governmental tax became so high 
on whiskey that the original purpose 
was abandoned ; and steam power having 
become more universal in its use the 



188 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



water power was never developed to its 
full extent. The same was leased for 
some time by Mr. John Foos and the St. 
John Sewing Machines were manufact- 
ured at a shop not far from Main Street. 
This burned down along in the early 
eighties and some time thereafter the 
water was turned off of the hydraulic. 

Foos Oil Mill. 

Perhaps the most recent mill con- 
structed on Buck Creek is what is known 
as the old Foos Oil Mill on the cliffs im- 
mediately west of Factory Street. It is 
now occupied by a laundry. 

Mr. John Foos in 1861 purchased the 
Barnett Oil Mill which had been erected 
in 1842 on Warder Street and in 1863 he 
bought the Steele, Layman & Company 
Oil Mill, which was built by Oily Taylor 
in 1846, and was also located on Warder 
Street. The machinery from these mills 
was removed in 1870 to the mills on the 
cliffs. This was operated by him until 
about 1890. 

BEAVER CREEK. (Tributary of Buck 
Creek.) 

Redmond's Mill. 

Undoubtedly the first mill erected on 
Beaver Creek is that which is known at 
present by the name of Redmond Mill and 
is located about four miles east of Spring- 
field and half a mile north of the National 
Road. The first mill built at this place 
was erected about the year 1808 by John 
Foster. A man by the name of Buckles 
was the next owner. He connected a dis- 
tillery with it. Buckles sold it to John 



Ree, and Ree in 1835 sold it to Robert 
Rodgers, who built a saw-mill in connec- 
tion in 1837. In 1839 the whole premises 
were destroyed by fire. The grist-mill 
was rebuilt by Mr. Rodgers in 1840. In 
1847 Thomas McCormick bought a half 
interest. About the year 1858 Lewis 
Huffman bought the mill, and in 1866 it 
was sold to Judson Redmond for $8,000. 
This mill is still in active operation. It 
is sometimes called the Junction Mills, 
because it is situated at the junction of 
Beaver Creek and Sinking Creek. 

Tayi.oe's Mill. 

The next mill that was built on Beaver 
Creek was built by James Taylor in 1830. 
At first it had a carding and fulling-mill 
in connection with it. This was operated 
up to 1845, when it was abandoned. In 
1849 it was remodeled by Charles Mor- 
gan, who purchased it of Taylor's ad- 
ministrators, who owned it until 1869. It 
was then purchased by Samuel Taylor, 
who occupied it until its abandonment a 
few years ago. In 1875 it was burned 
down, being struck by lightning. The 
next year it was rebuilt. It is not in use 
at this time, having been completely aban- 
doned. 

Benson's Mill. 

Shortly after the erection of the Taylor 
mill, Oliver Armstrong and Pierson 
Spinning, in the year 1832, built what 
was afterwards known as Benson's Mill. 
This mill was situated on the east side of 
the old Columbus Road, where Columbus 
Avenue now touches that road. Arm- 
strong and Spinning operated it until 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZEiXS. 



189 



1852, when it was purchased by Mr. J. M. 
Benson. He made improvements and op- 
erated the mill until the eighties, when it 
was abandoned. It afterwards was de- 
stroyed by fire. There is nothing at pres- 
ent to indicate its former location, which 
was about one mile down the stream from 
Taylor's Mill excepting the indications 
of the former race-bed. A still was car- 
ried on here. This mill was burned 
in 1885. These mills were about the only 
mills on Beaver Creek that assume the 
position of grist-mills. There were a 
large number of saw-mills. 

Haney's Saw-Mill. 

In 1830 James Haney on Beaver Creek, 
south of Vienna, erected a saw-mill which 
was operated for about 35 years. In 1839 
James Goodfellow and Zephania Sexton 
built a saw-mill on Beaver Creek about 
two miles down the stream from the 
Haney Mill. This mill was operated for 
a number of years latterly by Mr. Eras- 
tus Bennett, but it is not now in opera- 
tion. 

Smith-Baied Mill. 

In 1845 Eobert Smith built a saw-mill 
about a mile further down the stream and 
immediately south of the National Eoad, 
between that road and the Springfield 
and Columbus Traction Line. This mill 
was operated until about the year 1890 
when it was likewise abandoned. 

MILL EHN. (Tributary of Buck Creek.) 
Demint's Mill. 

The first mill to be erected in Clark 
County of which we have a reliable date 
was the one erected by James Demint, 



the founder of Springfield, in 1803, at the 
mouth of Mill Eun. It was a grist-mill, 
as stated in Beers' History and was of 
small proportions, but was a very great 
convenience to the settlers of the neigh- 
borhood. It seems to the writer, how- 
ever, that he has seen it elsewhere stated 
that a still was conducted in connection 
with this mill; but if so it was no doubt 
in a limited way. The capacity of this 
mill was about twenty-five bushels of 
corn every twenty-four hours. 

LiNGLE Mill. 

In 1809 John Lingle built a mill for 
the making of gun powder and not far 
from where Mill Eun enters into Buck 
Creek. 

FisHEK Mill. 

In 1814 Maddox Fisher built a mill not 
far from the mouth of Mill Eun. Wheth- 
er it was a grist- or cotton-mill, or both, 
is not known. It was destroyed by fire 
in 1834. It was probably a cotton-mill. 
In the lower part of this mill Ira Paige 
about 1814 started a woolen factory, and 
continued it for fifteen years. 

Foos Mill. 

In 1817 Griffith Foos had a small mill 
in operation where the shops of the Foos 
Gas Engine are now located. This mill 
was, as far as we know, an oil-mill and 
was afterwards removed to East Street, 
about where the Common Sense Engine 
Works were built, now occupied by the 
Herb Medicine Company, and was used 
as a cotton manufactory and afterwards 
as a flax-mill. 



190 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



LowKY Mill. 

In 1827 on Mill Run between OolumMa 
and North Streets, James Lowry, J. W. 
Kills and Dr. Ambrose Blount built a 
paper-mill. It was run until 1836 as a 
hand paper-mill when it was changed into 
a machine mill and so run until 1861, 
when it was purchased by William D. 
Hill. In 1864 Marshfield Steele pur- 
chased this property and remodeled it in- 
to a tobacco factory, which was operated 
under the name of J. W. Kidder & Co. 
until 1869. It was afterwards used as a 
foundry and machine-shop and general 
job shop until 1880, when it was re-built 
by J. B. Blister for the manufacture of 
tables. It was afterwards torn down and 
the ground is now occupied by dwelling 
houses. 

I'tller Mill. 

In 1834 a flouring-mill was built on the 
ground where the Foos Oil-Mill formerly 
stood on the corner of Linden Avenue and 
Monroe Street. It was operated until 
1871, when it was bought by E. R. Hot- 
tenspiller & Co., and used by them as a 
hominy-mill in 1873. The mill was de- 
stroyed by fire and the ground afterwards 
purchased by the Champion Bar & Knife 
Company, it being at present occupied by 
the Foos Gas Engine Company. 

Mill Creek. 

Mill Creek enters Mad River from the 
south, opposite the Masonic Home 
grounds, west of the city of Springfield. 

Rebert Mill. 

This mill was formerly located on Mill 
Creek opposite the present farmhouse 



of George Left'el and at the junction of 
Possum Road and the Rebert Pike. It 
was the location of a mill early in the 
history of this county, as pioneers nar- 
rate that they went to that locality to 
get flour, but the history of that mill has 
passed into oblivion. By whom it was 
built or operated is not known. The mill 
operated by Mr. Rebert, from whom it 
took its name, was erected in 1838 by 
Samuel Todd. He was succeeded by Ed. 
Swope, and he in turn by John Rench and 
Henry Baker. In 1852 it was purchased 
by Andrew Rebert from John Rench. Mr. 
Rebert conducted a general milling busi- 
ness there for about twenty years. It 
was afterwards rented to Aaron Reasor, 
then to Frederick Creamer, afterwards to 
Samuel Louk. For more than fifteen 
years past, it has been out of operation 
and has been taken down and the material 
utilized for other purposes. At one time 
it had a capacity of about thirty barrels 
of flour per day. 

Paden's Mill. 

In 1844 James Paden built a woolen- 
factory on Mill Creek, not far from where 
the Enon Pike crosses this stream and 
Possum Road. He carried on a carding, 
spinning, and weaving industry up until 
1868. The business was afterwards con- 
ducted by his son Paden until about the 
year 1880. It has been abandoned. It 
was a factory about two stories high with 
a Leffel wheel. 

Lefpel's Saw-Mill. 

About 1840 William Harris erected a 
saw-mill on Mill Creek, which was on the 
Fairfield Pike about half a mile west of 





• AfAST, FOOS & CO PLANT, SPRINGFIELD THE P. P. MAST PLANT, SPRINGFIELD 





THE NEW SL'N TIIEATRI'. SPRINGFIELD 





OLD BRICK HOUSE, W. MAIN ST., SPRINGFIELD BRETNEY TANNERY, E. MAIN ST., SPRINGFIELD 



AND EEPBESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



193 



Beatty. It was afterwards owned and 
run by Reed Wright, finally it was pur- 
chased by the late James P. Leffel. At 
one time a steam-engine was attached to 
it, thus giving it steam power. This mill 
has also been abandoned. 

DoNNELs' Creek. 

Donnels' Creek empties into Mad River 
about six miles below the city of Spring- 
field, and flows north through Bethel & 
Pike Townships not far from the villages 
of Donnelsville and North Hampton. 

DoNNEi^s' Mill. 

The first mill that was erected on this 
creek was by Jonathan Donnels as early 
as 1804. It was swept away by a freshet. 
It was a rudely constructed building of 
logs and was used as a saw-mill. This 
mill was located about half a mile north 
of the mill afterwards erected by David 
Lowry. 

LowRY Mill. 

In 1808 David Lowry built a grist-mill 
on Donnels' Creek. This mill was located 
about half a mile north of the Valley Pike 
and was close to Mr. Donnels' mill. The 
dam erected in the stream backed the 
water up and interfered with Donnels' 
power. They had a law suit about the 
matter and Donnels recovered damages. 
Mr. Lowry added a frame saw-mill some 
time aftenvard, and in 1820 he put up a 
frame grist-mill. This mill was run until 
1846, when the dam was washed out and 
he retired from business. His son David 
W. continued it for about five j^ears when 
it was abandoned. Some evidence of its 
former existence may still be seen op- 



posite the present residence of County 
Commissioner J. Ed. Lowry. 

Baisingee Mill. 

In 1820 Peter Baisinger erected a saw- 
mill on Donnels' Creek, not far from the 
village of North Hampton. It was later 
converted into a steam mill by G-eorge 
Cost and afterwards owned and operated 
by Jacob K. Minnick. It is not now in 
active operation. 

ROCK RUN. 

Rock Run is a tributary of Mad River, 
emptying into that stream a short dis- 
tance below the first bridge over Mad 
River on the Valley Pike. It extended 
north into German Township and had 
more feet of fall than any other stream 
of the county. A number of mills were 
located on this stream, the history of 
which cannot be accurately given. 

CHAPMAN'S CREEK. 

Chapman's Creek enters Mad River 
about a mile and a half south of the 
Champaign County line. It is a rapid 
little stream, not affording very great 
water-power at this time, but at an early 
date quite a number of mills were locat- 
ed there. This creek was named after 
William Chapman, who erected in 1802 
a grist-mill about where the village of 
Tremont is now located. What the ca- 
pacity of this mill may have been or how 
long it was operated, or by whom, is not 
now known, but it was probably located 
upon or near the site of the present Seitz 
Mill, where in 1836 John Ross erected a 
small distillery. 



194 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Lance's Mill. 

About the year 1830 a Mr. Lance built 
a distillery between Tremont City and 
Mad Eiver, about where the residence of 
Michael Sullivan stands now. This was 
operated for a number of years in a limit- 
ed way as a distillery. David Enochs, still 
living in this vicinity, operated it at one 
time. Some of the milling they had done 
for them elsewhere. The malt was 
stirred by hand in a tub. It was taken 
down about 1860. 

Seitz Mill. 

The present Seitz Mill was eretced by 
Andrew Seitz and cost about $5,000. It 
was operated by him, together with his 
sons Henry and Amos, until his death, 
since which time it has been carried on 
by Amos Seitz and is still in active op- 
eration. It was purchased by the Seitzes 
from a man by the name of Hoefer. 

Chatteklen Mill. 

At a very early date about three- 
quarters of a mile west of Tremont City, 
opposite the present residence of Samuel 
Magart, an Englishman by the name of 
Chatterlen had a carding mill. This was 
destroyed by fire and it was never re- 
built. 

Enoch's Mill. 

On the south side of the creek, not far 
from the residence of J. S. Peneten and 
William Funkliouser, was erected in 1820 
by Henry Enoch, father of David Enoch, 
who is still living and residing near Tre- 
mont, a grist-mill. There was conducted 
with it a still. How long this was op- 
erated is not now known, but it has many 



years been abandoned. Some time after 
the construction of the mill William 
Enoch, a brother of Henry, built a grist- 
mill nearly opposite the present residence 
of Michael Shawver. This was operated 
for some time but has long since been 
abandoned. A depression in the ground 
near the saw-mill conducted there at this 
time by the Shawvers indicates the ex- 
istence of a mill in that vicinity at one 
time. 

Dibeet's Mill. 

About three-quarters of a mile west of 
these Enoch's mills (the exact date is not 
known), a mill of some kind had been 
erected. About 1860 Jacob Dibert erected 
a large fiouring-mill, which was operated 
by him until his death. It was after- 
wards for a time operated by John H. 
Blose and Johnson P. Weaver. It is at 
present the property of McClellan Ballen- 
tine. It has not for some years been in 
operation as a flouring-mill, although at 
times feed has been milled. Steam power 
has been added. The mill, however, at 
this time is practically abandoned. In 
former times there was a small saw- and 
grist-mill operated at this place. Still 
further up the stream on this creek at an 
earlier date were several saw-mills which 
are not in operation at this writing. 

HONEY CREEK. 

This creek is not a tributary of Mad 
River, but flows into the Big Miami. It 
has its source in Pike Township, flows 
south in Bethel and around New Carlisle 
and leaves the county to the west of that 
village. In earlier times it afforded con- 
siderable water-power. However, not 



AND BEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



195 



so many mills were located on it as on 
some other streams of less magnitude. 

Black's Mill. 

In 1814 James Black constructed a 
grist-mill on the east fork of Honey- 
Creek, in the locality that has recently 
been designated Dodo. It is still, I think, 
in the Black name but not in operation. 

RAyBUEN Mill. 

In 1836 William Eayburn built the old 
mill still standing on Honey Creek a short 
distance northeast of New Carlisle. At 
one time there was both a grist-mill and 
saw-mill here in operation ; now it is only 
used for milling grain and is known as 
the McKee Mill. 

Week's Mill. 

At one time there was a mill located 
where Charles Smith & Son now operate 
a steam- mil] for grinding. For a long 
time it was in the name of Weeks. As a 
grist-mill it has ceased operation for 
many years. Just when it was built, or 
by whom, is not known to the writer at 
this time. 

Paul Mill. 

There is some tradition that when John 
Paul located up near the forks of Honey 
Creek above the Eayburn Mill, some kind 
of a mill was erected by him at that point, 
but this, as above said, only rests on tradi- 
tion, and nothing more at this time is 
known. However, Paul lived in this vicin- 
ity and like most early settlers he may 
have had a diminutive mill, if nothing else. 



LITTLE MIAMI EIVEE. 

This river has its source in this county, 
not far northeast of Charleston, and 
leaves it at the village of Clifton. 

Clifton Mills. 

As early as 1800 Mr. O. Davis built a 
grist-mill where the present mill is now 
located at Clifton. This mill afterwards 
became known as Patterson's Mill and 
later on was the property of Mr. E. E. 
Stewart, and for the past ten years was 
conducted by a Mr. Armstrong. It is still 
in active operation. 

Knot's Mill. 

About 1836 Peter Knot had a tanyard 
in operation along this stream north of 
Clifton and a saw-mill was conducted in 
connection therewith. 

Bueke's Mill. 

In 181.5 a man by the name of Burke 
erected a grist-mill on the Little Miami, 
about a mile south of Plattsburg. There 
may have been a distillery connected with 
this, for we find that in 1831 George 
Weaver conducted a distillery near Lis- 
bon and at one time Thomas Stites man- 
aged a distillery one and a half miles 
north of Lisbon. There were probably 
some other mills located on this river of 
which we have no knowledge at this time. 

MUDDY EUN. 

This stream flows through Mad Eiver 
Township, entering Mad Eiver in the 
southwestern part of the township. 



196 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNT f 



Shellabarger Mills. 

This mill is located about a mile and 
a quarter south of Enon. This mill was 
built by Jacob Shellabarger who came to 
this locality in 1814 and the mill was 
erected shortly thereafter. At one time 
there was a distillery attached, and a 
saw-mill was also located there. In early 
times it was of very great importance to 
the community, and was an important 
place of business. Jacob Shellabarger 
sold it to John Fisher, brother of Mad- 
dox Fisher, and Fisher sold it to Ben 
Myers, and he to Daniel Hertzler, and 
then it became the property of Hostetter, 
and for some time was called the Hos- 
tetter mills. It afterwards came into the 
possession of John Shellabarger, brother 
of Samuel, the ex-member of Congress, 
and distinguished statesman, and later 
Ephraim Shellabarger became the pro- 
prietor. It could well be called the Shel- 
labarger Mills, as on three different oc- 
casions it was in the Shellabarger family. 
It has been abandoned for some time. 

Partington Mill. 

The Partington Woolen Factory was 
located on the north fork of Muddy Run, 
not far from the present residence of 
Mr. Jenkins. It was principally pro- 
pelled by the water from a very large 
spring which had a fall of about twenty- 
five feet. A paper-mill was formerly 
erected at this place by Samuel Siming- 
ton. The dates of the erection of these 
various mills are not known at this time ; 
thev have long since been abandoned. 



Miscellaneous. 

We find that some other mills of vari- 
ous kinds were conducted in the county. 
In 1812 David Hanna had a distillery on 
Sinking Creek, and in 1824 Henry Wolfe 
built and operated a distillery on Sec- 
tion 6 on Sinking Creek and at one time 
a distillery was operated by Adam Clark 
north of the Israel Everhardt farm in 
Pleasant Township. At one time a mill 
was erected on the Crain farm ia Section 
33 in Bethel Township. Asa Rice erected 
a saw- and grist-mill near Vienna in 1854. 
A tannery was erected by Robert Wat- 
kins on what is now the J. E. Bowman 
farm (formerly belonging to Israel Hol- 
lingsworth), in Green Township in 1815, 
and was run up until about 1830. In 
various places throughout the county 
saw-mills have been erected and conduct- 
ed until the timber ran out, and then 
abandoned. There was such a mill one 
time on the Urbana Pike on the E. B. 
Cassily farm. The waters were probably 
conducted through the old race construct- 
ed by Simon Kenton for a grist-mill in 
1799. There was also a saw-mill on the 
old Staley farm now belonging to Mr. 
Drum, east of Tremont City and east of 
Mad River at a point where the old 
Moore's Run Channel emptied into Mad 
River. 

In 1829 Abraham Smith built a saw- 
mill at Donnelsville which was conducted 
for many years ; there was also a saw-mill 
for a time on the John Detrick farm in 
Bethel Township. 



CHAPTER Xlll. 



FRATERNAL HOMES AND PHILANTHROPIC 
INSTITUTIONS. 

Be Kind — Ohio Masonic Home — Odd Fellows Home — Knights of Pythias Home- 
Oesterlen Orphans' Home — Clark Memorial Home. 



Be Kind. 

Be kind to thy father, for wheii thou wast 
young, 
Who loved thee as fondly as he? 
He caught the first accents that fell from 
thy tongue, 

And joined in thine innocent glee. 

Be kind to thy father, for now he is old, 

His locks intermingled with gray, 
His footsteps are feeble, once fearless 
and bold ; 

Thy father is passing away. 

Be kind to thy mother, for, lo! on her 
brow 

May traces of sorrow be seen : 
Oh, well may'st you cherish and comfort 
her now, 

For loving and kind hast she been. 

Eemember thy mother, for thee will she 
pray 

As long as Grod giveth her breath; 
With accents of kindness then cheer her 
lone way, 

E 'en to the dark valley of death. 



The charitable teachings of the lowly 
Nazarene are nowhere better exemplified 
than in the three fraternal homes that 
overlook the city of Springfield from its 
surrounding hill-tops. Neither in any 
way could the three great fraternal or- 
ders of the Masons, Odd Fellows, and 
Knights of Pythias, better exemplify 
their teachings than in the founding of 
these homes, carried, on as they are for 
the shelter and protection of those who 
are not able to care for and protect them- 
selves. No other community has been so 
distinguished as to be chosen by three 
such prominent and influential orders as 
a fit and satisfactory place in which to 
exemplify their teachings of charity on 
so large and practical a scale. Such an 
honor might well be coveted by any com- 
munity. In time, the city of Springfield, 
with all its commercial and manufactur- 
ing industries, will not receive more last- 
ing renown or benefit from any of these 
industries than from these benevolent in- 
stitutions. It is hard to explain why this 
community should have been so favored, 
except by taking into consideration what 



198 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



may be due to the beauty of its natural 
surroundings and to the enterprise of its 
people. But with due allowance for these 
reasons that Springfield has not been se- 
lected also by the great state of Ohio as- 
a proper location for some of its insti- 
tutions is likewise difficult of explana- 
tion. Possibly in the past some one may 
have been negligent in failing to present 
its claims upon a favorable opportunity. 
One of the strongest arguments present- 
ed to the committee that selected the sites 
for these fraternal homes lay in Spring- 
field's fine railroad facilities, bringing all 
parts of the state within easy reach — 
facilities surpassed by no city in the 
state and equalled by but one — Colum- 
bus. If that argument was sufficient to 
cause these fraternal homes to be located 
here, it should have had some influence 
in securing the location here of some 
state institution; but usually such state 
institutions are located at certain par- 
ticular places by reason of some political 
"piTll." We did not have the "pull." 

Ohio Masonic Home. 

The first one of these fraternal homes 
which was located in our county is that 
belonging to the Masonic fraternity, al- 
though the Knights of Pythias erected 
one cottage before the Masonic building- 
was erected. At the meeting of the Grrand 
Chapter of Eoyal Arch Masons in Ohio, 
in 1888, a home to care for the old Ma- 
sonic brethren and their wives was sug- 
gested by "W. B. Hillman, who was then 
Grand High Priest of the Grand Chapter. 

A committee was afterwards appointed 
to visit various localities throughout the 
state and select a suitable location for the 
building of a proposed home. 



Governor Bushnell, although at that 
time not a Mason himself, saw the pos- 
sibilities of Spring-field in that direction 
and the great benefit an institution of 
that kind would confer upon the city, and 
with his characteristic liberality proposed 
a subscription of $10,000 for the purpose 
of buying a suitable site, in that way 
bringing a strong influence to bear upon 
the location of the home. An option was 
secured on what was then kno"RTi as the 
Leffel farm of 154 acres, immediately 
west of Mad Eiver, on the National Pike 
west of the city. This farm had a beauti- 
ful natural location, permitting the build- 
ing to front to the "east," to which 
quarter every Master Mason looks for 
authority, and which would overlook the 
Mad Eiver valley and have in plain view 
the spires and steeples of the city of 
Springfield. 

Along the National Pike, upon this 
farm, there was located an old brick 
building used in stage coach days as a 
hotel. Over the doors of this old hos- 
telry there were painted the magic let- 
ters 0. K., "Oil Korrect." Suffice it 
here to say, that sufficient money was 
raised by the citizens to purchase this 
tine tract of land. In 1895 with appro- 
priate Masonic ceremonies, which were 
witnessed by a large concourse of people, 
perhaps never surpassed in magnitude 
in our city, the corner stone of the build- 
ing was laid and the latter was dedicated 
to the benevolent purposes for which it 
was intended. It was opened for the re- 
ceipt of patients in 1897. Our honored 
townsman, John W. Parsons, was select- 
ed as superintendent and his estimable 
wife as matron. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



199 



The entire cost of this large stone 
castle, resembling nothing else so closely 
as the typical medieval structure of the 
feudal barons, was about $125,000. Since 
that time the surroundings have been 
further beautified, and its location gives 
it a view not surpassed in the state of 
Ohio. 

In 1905 a hospital cottage costing $14,- 
000 was erected. The number of resi- 
dents of this institution at present is 161 
— sixty-five males, forty-two females and 
fifty-four children. The home is sup- 
ported by per capita tax of the Grand 
Lodges and voluntary contributions, and 
the cost per capita is $160 per annum. 
Edward Harford of this city is treasurer 
of the Board of Directors. 

The total disbursements for the year 
past were $.35,890.46 ; receipts $39,756.71 ; 
balance on hand $3,866.25. There is $74,- 
149.33 in the endowment fund. 

Odd Pei.TjOws Home. 

To the Daughters of Rebekah may be 
given the credit of starting the work that 
ultimately resulted in the erection of a 
home for Odd Fellows' orphans and mem- 
bers. In 1891 the Rebekah Assembly de- 
cided that such a home should be estab- 
lished, and the president of the assembly 
wrote long letters to each representative 
of the Grand Lodge, wherever located in 
the state, urging him to do what he could 
for the establishment of such a home, as 
the favorable vote of the Grand Lodge 
was necessary before the enterprise qould 
be undertaken. In April, 1892, the Rebe- 
kah Assembly decided to send their presi- 
dent, in company with two other sister 
Rebekahs. to the Grand Lodge to obtain 



permission for this, or rather, to present 
clearly the needs of the homeless children, 
and point out the duty of the brethren to 
them. The Grand Lodge had a recess and 
listened carefully and attentively to the 
pleadings of this sister, and before they 
adjourned they voted for the establish- 
ment of a home. 

Committees were appointed to select 
a location. The Masonic Home having 
been located in this city, the interest of 
our people had been aroused upon the 
subject of fraternal homes, and through 
local representatives the task of securing 
this home also was gone at with a vim. 
The Fay farm immediately north of the 
Clark County Infirmary had some time 
previously come into possession of a per- 
son who was now desirous of disposing 
of it and who offered it at a very moder- 
ate figure. The natural elevation upon 
which it stood, commanding a beautiful 
view to the south, impressed itself upon 
the committee, and our citizens having 
raised sufficient money to purchase the 
site, the home was located there. The 
land consists of seventy-nine acres, some 
having been bought in addition since the 
original purchase was made. The present 
building was dedicated October 27, 1898. 
It cost $73,000, the money being raised by 
an assessment of one dollar upon each 
Odd Fellow. Since that time, in 1898, a 
new power-house and laundry building, 
at a cost of $10,000, have been added. 

The original design was to make the 
institution a home for children only. The 
Grand Lodge was caring for aged mem- 
bers in a small home down near Cincin- 
nati, which was known as the Royssmoyne 
Home, but they had no place for the wives 
and widows, hence arrangements were 



200 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUxVTY 



made for the erection of an addition of 
sixty-one ]-ooms to the original building. 
This addition cost $55,000 and was com- 
pleted in 1904, representing a total cost 
in buildings of $138,000. The home is 
supported by a per capita tax upon the 
Odd Fellows of the state, which is now 
forty cents each, or ten cents per quarter. 

The Rebekahs are not assessed for any 
certain amount, yet they have furnished 
four out of every five rooms in the build- 
ing. The present number of residents is 
218, there being forty-three adult males, 
twent^'-three adult females, eighty-nine 
boys and sixty-three girls. 

The cost per capita for running the in- 
stitution is $120. E. B. Turner is the 
present superintendent and his wife is 
matron. The buildings are of red pressed 
brick, with terraces and cupolas and a red 
tile roof, presenting a very imposing 
picture. 

Knights op Pythias Home. 

Oh ! what shall I do when the night comes 
down 
In its terrible blackness all over the 
town? 
Shall I lay me down 'neath the angry sky? 
On the cold hard pavements alone to 
die? 
When the beautiful children their prayers 
have said. 
And mammas have tucked them up 
snugly in bed. 
No dear mother ever upon me smiled — 
Why is it, I wonder, that I 'm nobody's 
child! 

That this young and growing fraternal 
order should have built the first home for 



the care of its orphans, erected in the 
state of Ohio by fraternal orders, is an 
honor of which it may be duly proud. The 
idea had suggested itself to several of 
the prominent members prior to the meet-, 
ing of the Grand Lodge in 1892. To no 
one however did it present itself so force- 
ably as to "Bob" Love, and everyone 
who knew this whole-souled genial "K. of 
P." recognized at once that when he took 
hold of anything there would be some re- 
sult. A resolution was passed by the 
Grand Lodge and appropriate committees 
were appointed to select a site for the lo- 
cation of a home to take care of the 
orphan children of the members. At this 
time the old McCreight homestead, im- 
mediately north of the city, was placed 
upon the market bj^ the heirs and all that 
part north of McCreight Avenue and west 
of Fountain Avenue was otfered for 
Knights of Pythias Home purposes at the 
price of $25,000. The fact that two homes 
had already been located in the city and 
that our citizens had been taxed by volun- 
tary contributions to a large extent, might 
have prevented a less vigorous organiza- 
tion than the Knights of Pythias, or hav- 
ing less enterprise among its membership 
than is the case in this town, from under- 
taking the task of raising sufficient money 
for the purchase of a site for another 
home. But it seems that the spirit of giv- 
ing was abroad, and the enthusiasm of 
our citizens in favor of these fraternal 
buildings was so great that the money was 
finally raised, though not without effort. 
The plan of buildings adopted by the 
Grand Lodge of the Knights of Pythias 
was entirely different from that of the 
Masons and Odd Fellows, in that it con- 




KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS' HOME, SPRINGFIELD 




ODD FELLOWS' HO.AIE, SPRINGFIELD 



AND EEPRESENrATIVE CITIZENS. 



203 



templated, when completed, a number of 
buildings and was based very largely up- 
on what is known as the cottage plan. 
The first cottage was erected in 1894,^ at 
a cost of $8,000. To this eight additional 
buildings have been added; the main ad- 
ministration building costing $75,000, the 
dining room and auditorium $25,000, two 
cottages each $17,000, power house and 
coal cellars $6,000, barn $4,000, employees' 
cottage $2,000, hospital building $4,000, 
making a total of $146,000. The last of 
these buildings was completed and dedi- 
cated in June, 1904. 

The site of this home is equal in beauty 
to that of either the Masonic or Odd Fel- 
lows institutions. Within the corporate 
limits, immediately north of the main part 
of the city, it has all the advantages of a 
city location, while the ground is so 
situated as to give it plenty of country air. 
On the north end of the tract of eighty- 
four acres is a beautiful natural grove of 
forty-four acres. The number of resi- 
dents at present is 214, boys 109, and girls 
105. 

The first superintendent was Mr. 
Thomas H. Collins, his wife being inatron. 
Afterward the present very able and aif- 
able E. M. Le Fevre and his helpful wife 
were made superintendent and matron 
respectively. Even since its organization 
until the present year Zac Taylor, who 
was very attentive to his duties, was a 
member of the board of directors. 

The total value of the grounds, build- 
ings and equipments at this time is not 
far from $.300,000. 

The question of a home for aged and 
infirm members, has been brought up, and 
no doubt, in the not far distant future 



some action will be taken in this direc- 
tion. Whether or not this home will be 
located here and carried on in connection 
with the present orphan's home, is a mat- 
ter not yet decided, but it is not unlikely 
that such may be the case. 

Much of the credit for securing the lo- 
cation of these fraternal homes in our 
vicinity is due to two men — Governor 
Bushnell, through his generous subscrip- 
tion to the Masonic Home, and P. M. Cart- 
mell, who in a thorough and painstaking 
inanner collected and presented statistical 
information showing the ready acces- 
sibility of this city to and from all parts 
of the state, with other weighty considera- 
tions calculated to influence favorable ac- 
tion in behalf of Springfield. 

Oesteelen Orphans' Home. 

Not only have fraternal orders foimd 
Springfield a desirable place in which to 
locate homes, but the Lutheran Church 
has also come to the same conclusion. In 
1904 Mrs. Amelia Oesterlen, a wealthy 
Lutheran lady of Findlay, Ohio, by her 
last will and testament left a fund of 
about $30,000 to be used in the erection 
and maintenance of a home for orphan 
children of Lutheran parentage. Wlien 
this bequest became available, those in 
authority began to seek a proper site for 
the home. The large Lutheran following 
in Springfield, together with the influence 
of Wittenberg College, no doubt, had 
miich to do with the committees' selec- 
tion of Springfield, but the fact that the 
three great fraternal organizations had 
f oimd Springfield to be a suitable place 
in which to locate their respective homes, 
no doubt had its ei¥ect with the Lutherap 



204 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



committee in coming to the conclusion it 
did. 

Several locations in and about Spring- 
field were suggested to the committee, but 
finally it was decided to purchase the old 
Zimmerman farm just beyond the city 
limits, north of Lagonda. This farm is 
very nicely situated and had upon it very 
commodious buildings. It contained 108 
acres and was purchased in 1905 at a 
cost of about $12,000. The Home is of- 
ficered and managed by a board of trus- 
tees selected by various Lutheran bodies, 
and supported by the Lutheran Synods 
of Wittenberg, Miami, Eastern Ohio, 
Northern Indiana, and Olive Branch. 

It was opened for the acceptance of in- 
mates on June 6th, 1905. The house has 
been remodeled and a number of other 
improvements made, involving an expen- 
diture of about $3,000. 

The first superintendent was Rev. A. 
J. Kissell and Mrs. Delia Etta Kissel, his 
wife, was matron. In December, 1905, 
the matron died, and in the following- 
April the superintendent resigned his po- 
sition, and the present efficient official. 
Rev. W. M. Havey, of Spencerville, In- 
diana, was selected as superintendent and 
his wife as matron. The present number 
of inmates is twenty-two, fifteen males 
and seven females. 

As at present arranged the members 
of this "Home" family attend Sunday 
School and church sei'vices in the Fifth 
Lutheran Church. The home is pros- 
perous and bears ample evidence that in 
time it will fulfill the generous expecta- 
tions and hopes of its founder. 

Rev. S. E. Greenewalt is president. Rev. 
J. H. Zinn vice-president. Rev. H. S. 



Lawrence secretary, and John L. Zim- 
merman, Esq., treasurer, respectively, of 
the Board of Directors. 

Claek Memorial Home. 

This home is designed for aged women 
who are willing to comply with its con- 
ditions and who wish to have a pleasant 
home for the remainder of their lives. 
It is a substantial brick building at No. 
616 North Limestone Street. It was 
founded in 1899 by Mrs. Charlotte S. 
Clark in memory of her son. The prop- 
erty was purchased and remodeled and 
on the 16th of November in that same 
year, it was opened for inspection by 
the public and has been occupied ever 
since for the purpose it was intended. It 
cost $3,000 to remodel the house and 
$2,000 to furnish it. At one time Hon. 
John W. Bookwalter, who has just re- 
cently sent a check for $2,500 to be dis- 
tributed to the poor of this city, sent a 
like check for $2,500 to cancel the in- 
debtedness on this home. Money and en- 
dowments from other sources have been 
also received until a small but substan- 
tial fund of that character is now held 
by the institution. 

Mrs. Winger, widow of Capt. Amaziah 
Winger, has given very substantial aid 
to the home and no doubt will continue 
to do so during her lifetime. Mrs. 
Charles Stout has also been very atten- 
tive to the wants of this institution. Ev- 
ery few years the home adopts a novel 
way of raising funds. Having interested 
in its behalf all the pretty girls in town, 
they designate a certain day as "Tag 
Day," on which the girls set out to catch 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 205 

every wayfarer, insisting that he pur- the wiles of the first one he meets, and 

chase a tag. The men recognize that the purchase a tag. As high as $1,500 has 

easiest way to get rid of the importuni- been raised in this way on a certain day. 

ties . of these fair ladies is to succumb to Elmina Shaffer is matron of the home. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



MILITARY HISTORY OF SPRINGFIELD AND 
CLARK COUNTY, OHIO. 

Paper Read hy Gen'l J. Warren Keifer at First Centennial of Springfield: — Rev- 
olutionary and Territorial Times. War of 1812-1815 — Mexican War, 1846- 
1848 — Civil War, 1861-1865 — Second Ohio Infantry — Third Ohio Infantry — 
Sixteenth Ohio Infantry — Thirty-first Ohio Infantry — Forty-fourth Ohio 
Infantry — Seventy-first Ohio Volunnteer Infantry — Eighty-sixth Ohio Vol- 
unteer Infantry — Ninety-fourth Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Tenth 
Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Tiventy-ninth Ohio — One Hundred and 
Forty-sixth Ohio Infantry — One Hundred and Fifty-second Ohio Infantry — 
One Hundred and Fifty-third Ohio Infantry — Sixteenth Ohio Independent 
Battery — Seventeenth Ohio Independent Battery — Squirrel Hunters, 1862 
— First Kentucky Infantry — United States Navy — United States Military 
Academy — Spanish War, 1898. -,, ". 



Paper Read by Gten. J. Waeren Keifek 

AT the Febst Centennial, op 

Springfield. 



( In this paper Clark County will be referred to 
as though it had an organized existence from the 
earliest times, although its territory was a part of 
Hamilton County prior to 1800 ; then of Greene until 
1S05 ; then of Champaign until 1817, when it was or- 
ganized.) 



My Friends 'and Neighbors : 

The duty of summarizing the military 
history of Clai'k County has led me to 
study the annals of her people — a people 
springing, originally, from all national- 
ities and tongues, with varied race char- 
acteristics, but "who, in time, became so 
composite, in blood and character, as to 



be able, if occasion required, to deny any 
national or race origin, or to boast that 
the blood of all nationalities run in the 
veins of its citizens. 

How impressive is the history of her 
people. They early came here with ex- 
alted hopes and high ambition; they, with- 
in the limits of their aspirations, succeed- 
ed in the main, then passed to the great 
beyond, leaving to us a heritage of ex- 
ample and valor. Our blood-kindred and 
earliest friends were of these. What sad 
reflections might we summon; but this is 
not the time nor the occasion. The priva- 
tions, struggles and sufferings of the 
early settlers were largely forgotten by 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



207 



their descendants, they being almost 
selfishly willing to enjoy the fruits of 
what they accomplished for education, 
civilization and Christianity, without 
awarding to them full credit. 

But this is not a day for sad rem- 
iniscences and serious reflections, but 
for cheerfulness and hopefulness, for re- 
joicing — even for boasting. 

The task assigned me is an inspiring 
and a pleasant one, because of the splendid 
history Clark County has made in all the 
wars in which our country was engaged 
in the nineteenth century. Her people, 
willingly and loyally, responded to all 
calls of danger and duty, and went forth 
to uphold constitutional liberty and the 
natural rights of man. Her sons fought 
and died on every important campaign 
and in every great battle in the last one 
hundred years in which our country was 
engaged. 

The blood of her sons has crimsoned 
the soil of, and their bones have bleached 
on the great battlefields of the Republic. 
They have heroically borne on high the 
starry flag of Washington, the purest and 
proudest emblem of human liberty, both 
on land and sea; only lately participating 
in carrying its protecting folds to the re- 
lief of endangered and imprisoned Christ- 
ians in far-otf imperial China's walled 
capital. Wlierever glory in the cause of 
humanity has been won throug'h deeds of 
valor and by bloody sacrifice, Clark Coun- 
ty's soldiers and sailors must justly be 
awarded a share, and so as to this na- 
tion's standing in first place among the 
greatest powers of the world. 
. This day marks the end of a century in 
the existence of our city, covering the 
most eventful epoch in the history of the 



world, having reference to the advance- 
ment of science and the fine arts, to ma- 
terial and moral progress, and wealth; 
to the liberation of man and the elevation 
of woman, and the best growth of a purer 
civilization. All these things seem, in 
the providence of God, to have required 
hmnan sacrifice. As a purer atmosphere 
succeeds violent electrical storms, so 
purer liberty succeeds overthrown op- 
pression. 

In the nineteenth century (substantially 
the period of Springfield's existence) the 
map of the world has often changed, and 
our new nation, inspired by liberty for 
m.an, has developed in usefulness and 
taken its place among the controlling 
powers of the earth. That which was 
protected by law and by public sentiment, 
sometimes claimed to be maintained by 
Divine sanction — the slave trade, since 
Springfield was settled, became piracy 
(1820) and the whole institution of 
slavery, upheld by Christian nations 
through the centuries, has passed away, 
in large part, throughout the civilized 
world. A war for humanity has been de- 
clared and successfully terminated. A 
list of controlling events is too long for 
production here. 

Wliat part did the citizens of this city 
and Clark County have in determining 
these great questions'? Small as Clark 
County is, in comparative area and num- 
bers, it has had her soldiers and sailors 
ready to rush to battle and sacrifice wher- 
ever duty and country called in all our Re- 
public's wars. 

Springfield was born amid savageiy, 
and her earliest settlers were in constant 
'danger of the tomahawk and scalping 
knife. The battle at Piqua Indian vil- 



208 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



lage, on Mad River (six miles west of 
Springfield, August 8, 1780), drove back 
the federated Indian tribes for a few miles 
only, leaving them to roam over this coun- 
try for a third of a century longer. 

The early inhibitants of what is now 
Clark Comity were, perforce, soldiers for 
the defense of their homes, and were sub- 
ject to be called into temporary service 
at any time. The region round about here 
was, on account of its healthful perennial 
springs, rich pastures, quantities of fish 
in the pure waters, wild fruits, berries 
and nuts, abundant deer, bear, turkeys 
and other wild game necessary to sustain 
man in a savage state, much coveted by the 
Indian tribes, and they fought for it with 
a desperation seldom witnessed in other 
parts. It was the ancestral home of more 
than one fierce tribe. At the Piqua Shaw- 
nee Indian village, Tecumseh and the 
Prophet, sons of a Shawnee chief, were 
born. They became the most famous of 
the Indian war chiefs, and they waged 
war on the frontier settlers longer than 
others of the wild tribes. 

Simon Kenton, a spy, guide, scout, 
hunter, and Indian fighter for forty-five 
years, resided for a time within the pres- 
ent limits of Springfield. 

"Within these limits have been held 
councils with Indians to settle real or 
pretended grievances, notably one attend- 
ed by TecTmiseh and other great Indian 
war chiefs in 1807. 

Revoll^tionary and Tereitorial Times. 

There came to what is now Clark Coun- 
ty, as to other parts of the "West, some 
Revolutionary soldiers, bringing with- 
them their patriotism and generally their 



poverty. Their love of liberty was, how- 
ever, put in practice, and, by example, 
these veteran soldiers did much to build 
up peaceful communities. "William Baird 
(Harmony ToTvmship), Merrifield Vicory 
and Andrew Pinneo (Springfield Town- 
ship), Abraham Rust (German Town- 
ship) and "William Holmes (Bethel Town- 
shijD) are of the soldiers of the Revolution 
who settled, lived and died in Clark Coun- 
ty, and who left descendants to honor 
their names by a life of usefulness. There 
were, doubtless, others of the Revolution- 
ary "War, whose names are unknown to 
me, who did likewise. 

Some of those who were with General 
Anthony "Wayne (Mad Anthony) in his 
campaign to the Maumee and in the bat- 
tle of Fallen Timbers (1794) and at the 
Treaty of Greenville (1795), and who 
were in other Indian expeditions, settled 
and died in Clark County. 

In territorial times, and long after the 
State of Ohio was admitted (1802) into 
the Union, it was a requirement of law 
that all able-bodied men within certain 
ages should muster, at least annually, un- 
der officers, generally of their own selec- 
tion, thus to familiarize them with move- 
ments in organized bodies and with arms 
in their hands. These musters were gala- 
days, and were not always conducted, in 
the then wild state of society and free- 
dom of habits, with that regard for peace 
and propriety conducive to military 
discipline.. As the militia were not gen- 
erally armed, save with their own rifles, 
or, for want of them, with sticks and corn- 
stalks, the training in the manual and use 
of .arms for war was little. In time these 
militia musters fell into disrepute, be- 
came unpopular, and were by common 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



209 



consent discontinned, then abolished by 
law. Some distinguished citizens had 
rank in the militia as brigadier-general, 
notably Samson Mason and Charles 
Anthony, both of whom were distin- 
guished lawyers of Springfield, and each 
left sons who liaA'e served in the. United 
States Army in time of war. 

Passing, for want of detailed informa- 
tion, too lightly over the worthy pioneers, 
who almost constantly acted in the semi- 
capacity of soldiers, being on gTiard with 
rifles in hand, whether in field, at church, 
or home, to guard against Indian mas- 
sacres, we go to the history of wars on a 
large scale. 

We must remark that the annals of our 
young Eepublic are surpassingly bloody. 
From Lexington to Appomattox (1775- 
1865), almost one year ,out of five, not 
counting our constant Indian wars, was, 
on an average, a year of war. 

Wae or 1812-1815. 

The War of 1812 became necessary to 
secure commercial and maritime rights 
denied to this nation by Great Britain. 

The incomplete list of names of sol- 
diers and sailors of Clark County of that 
war is still too long to be here given. 
Colonel John Dougherty, Major James 
Neely, Captains John McPherson, Arthur 
Layton, Samuel Black, Philip Kizer and 
Samuel Stewart, and Lieutenants Will- 
iam Ward, Nathaniel Williams and Will- 
iam Lamme, of the cavalry and infantry, 
and Captain Benjamin Hathaway, of the 
navy, from this county, were in that war ; 
and among others who served from Clark 
County, principally on the then extreme 
Western frontier, fighting the English 



and their savage allies, may be mentioned 
(Pleasant Township) Charles Botkin, 
Jonathan and William Curl, A. McCon- 
key, William H. Hunter, Joseph Coffey, 
Amos Neer; (Moorefield Township) Ho- 
ratio Banes, William Hunt, James Foley, 
John Humphreys, Andrew Hodge, Simon 
Kenton, and Abraham Yeazell; (Pike 
Township) Andrew Black, James Black, 
Obediah Lippencott, James Fuller, 
Thomas Stafford; (G-erman Township) 
Benjamin Frantz, G. Gard, David Kizer 
(father of Thomas Kizer, long County 
Surveyor of Clark County), Jacob Kib- 
linger, David Jones, Benjamin Morris, 
John Ross, John Pence, John, Philip, and 
Samuel Baker; (Bethel Township) El- 
nathan Cory, James and Jonathan Don- 
nell, John Forgy, Jacob Fross, William 
Hustler, John Hay, Peter Sheets, Will- 
iam Layton, Benjamin P. Gaines, Abra- 
ham Smith, George Lowman, David 
Lowry, W. G. Serviss, Michael Minnick, 
William Crawford, John Paul (supposed 
to be the first settler of this county), 
John Wallace, Sr., Hugh Wallace, and 
Henry Williams; (Spring-field Town- 
ship) Louis Bancroft, John Kelly (father 
of Oliver S. Kelly, a successful manufac- 
turer, now an honored citizen of Spring- 
field), Samuel Lisle, David Hughes, Jo-" 
seph Keifer (father of J. Warren Kei=- 
fer). William Minach, J. W. Ross (killed 
at the Battle of Thames), Andrew Pinneo 
(probably the same who served in the 
Revolution), and Nathan Reddish; (Har- 
mony Township) John and Peter Baird, 
Hamilton Busby, William Foreman, John 
Judy, Edward Rice, Nathan Smith, Will- 
iam Osborn and Jacob dinger; (Madison 
Township) Conrad Critz, Isaac David- 
son, Philip Hedrick, Enoch Jones, John 



210 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



McCoUum, and David Vance; (Greene 
Township) George and Samuel Albin, 
Jacob Garlough, Thomas Mills, John T. 
Stewart (father of Captain Perry Stew- 
art, of the Civil War), 0. S. Stewart, 
George Sronfe, James Todd, Joseph 
Weller, and Benjamin AYliiteman; (Mad 
River Township) Melyn Baker, Samuel 
Davis, Richard Hughel, Daniel Mead, 
Daniel Jenkins, and Rule Peterson. 

We have named but few, for as many 
as five hundred are reported to have en- 
listed in the War of 1812 from Clark 
Coimty, and many more who served hon- 
orably in that war, later settled in the 
county and were of its best citizens. 
Among whom were Archibald Mitchell 
(father of Captain James A. Mitchell, 
killed in the Civil War), the ancestor of 
distinguished soldiers of later wars ; also 
Adam Rockel,* Benjamin Wilson, Peter 
Sager, William Donovan (buried at 
Bethel Church), and Christian Overhalt- 
zer. 

Mexican Wae, 1846-1848. 

The enlistments fi'om Clark County for 
the Mexican War — a war to acquire ter- 
ritory to devote to slavery — were but 
few, Andrew F. Biddle and Edward 
Boggs, George Cox, Isaiah Cheney, Dan- 
iel Harsh, and Adam Evans are of the 
number. Vincent Nowotay and others 
who served in that war later settled in 
the county. Captain Simon H. Drum, a 
graduate of West Point, appointed from 
Springfield, was killed fighting a battery 
of the Fourth Artillery, U. S. A., just in- 
side of Belen Gate (Garita de Bel en) in 
the final assault and capture of the 



"Grandfather of the editor. 



walled City of Mexico (September 13, 
1847). His body is buried in Ferncliff 
Cemetery. 

Civil Wak, 1861-1865. 

The number of residents of Clark 
County who, as officers, soldiers and sail- 
ors in the regular and volunteer service, 
joined the army or navy on the Union 
side in the Civil War, and who, having 
joined from other places, afterward be- 
carde residents of the county, can only be 
approximately estimated. This number 
will reach about twenty-five hundred and 
fifty (2550), not counting double enlist- 
ments. Those included in this number 
who enlisted elsewhere will hardly ex- 
ceed the large number, residents of the 
county, who were credited elsewhere, still 
leaving about 2550, the actual number of 
residents of the county who joined the 
army or navy in that war. Some of these 
were found in the regular army or navy, 
but for the most part they belonged to 
volunteer organizations, principally the 
following : 

Second Ohio Infantry. 

Captain Edwin C. Mason's company, 
enlisted here within twenty-four hours 
after President Lincoln's first call for 
volunteers (April 15, 1861), became Com- 
pany F of the Second Ohio Infantry 
(three months), and it fought under Cap- 
tain David King at the first Bull Run 
(July 21, 1861) and many from this coun- 
ty served with the regiment in the South- 
west in the three-years' sei-vice. Edwin 
C. Mason later became Colonel of the 
Seventh Maine, then still later of the One 




THE KELLY PLANT, SPRINGFIELD 




INTERNATIONAL HARVESTER CO., CHAMPION 
WORKS, SPRINGFIELD. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS, 



213 



Hundred and Seventy-sixth Ohio. He 
was appointed (1861) captain ta the reg- 
ular army, and was retired a few years 
before his death with the rank of Colonel 
and brevet brigadier-general. Mason dis- 
tinguished himself in the Civil War, then 
in the Modoc Indian War. 

Captain James R. Ambrose, of this 
city, commanded a company in the Sec- 
ond Ohio in the three-years' service. 
This regiment did much heavy tighting 
and hard camj)aigning. 

Third Ohio Infantry. 

Captain James C. Vananda enlisted 
here, about April 20, 1861, what became 
Company D, Third Ohio Volunteer In- 
fantry, a three-months and three-years 
regiment. This company fought at Rich 
Mountain (July 11, 1861), in about the 
first battle of the war ; at Elk Water and 
Cheat Mountain, in West Virginia, and 
campaigned and fought in Kentucky, 
Tennessee and Alabama, notably at Per- 
rysville, Kentucky (October 8, 1862), and 
at Stone's River, Tennessee, and it was 
captured on the Streight raid in Ala- 
bama in 1863. 



Thirty-first Ohio Infantry. 

Captain William H. Wade (since for 
several terms in Congress from Mis- 
souri) took from this county Company K, 
Thirty-first Ohio Infantry, and it saw 
much hard service and fighting in bloody 
campaigns and battles, principally in the 
Southwest, including Corinth, Perrysville 
and Stone's River (1862), Chickamauga 
and Missionary Ridge (1863), and the At- 
lanta campaign, etc., in 1864. 

Captain William H. H. McArthur, of 
this county (grandson of General and ex- 
Governor Duncan McArthur), was of 
this regiment. 

Forty-fourth Ohio Infantry. 

This regiment was organized on this 
Fair Ground in 1861, and it contained 
many Clark County men (Hugh Blair 
Wilson, its Lieutenant-Colonel, was of 
Springfield), and it saw service in West 
Virginia, Kentuclcj^ and Tennessee. Later 
it became the Eighth Ohio Cavalry, and 
as such served with distinction in Vir- 
ginia campaigns and battles. Major 
Charles H. Evans was of this regiment; 
also Lieutenant-Colonel August Dotze. 



Sixteenth Ohio INPANTRY^ 

Captain Philip Kershner took a Spring- 
field comjDany into the Sixteenth Ohio 
Infantry, where it saw much service in 
West Virginia and in the Southwest, par- 
ticipating in many battles and sieges. 
This regiment came to be commanded by 
Colonel John D'Courcey, of royal En- 
glish blood, afterward sitting in the 
House of Lords as Lord Kinsale. 



Seventy-first Ohio Volunteer Infantry. 

, The Seventy-First Ohio was organized 
in 1861. Colonel Rodney Mason, of 
Springfield, was its first commander. 
Company I, commanded by Captain Sol 
J. Houck, was organized in this county. 
Captain William S. Wilson (New Car- 
lisle), now of Spring-field, commanded a 
company in this regiment. It fought at 
Shiloh and in many battles and campaig-ns 
under Grant and Sherman. 



214 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Eighty -SIXTH Ohio Volunteer Infantry. 

Howard D. John, of Springfield, en- 
listed Company B of this three-months' 
regiment, organized about June 1, 1862. 

Ninety-fourth Ohio Infantry. 

Companies A and G of this regiment 
were of Clark County, commanded re- 
spectively by Captains Perry Stewart and 
Charles C. Gibson. David King (once of 
the Second Ohio) was first Major, then 
Lieutenant-Colonel of this regiment. 
Captain Amaziah Winger succeeded Cap- 
tain Stewart in the command of Company 
A. Lieutenants Hezekiah Kershner and 
Henry C. Cushman were of this com- 
pany; also George and Eobert N. Elder, 
Jacob A. Hinkle, Eichard Leedle and 
other excellent soldiers and citizens. 
Nathan M. McConkey succeeded Gibson 
as Captain of Company G. George W. 
Wilson (since a dis'tinguished lawyer, 
London, Ohio, and two terms in Congress) 
was a First Lieutenant in Company G of 
this regiment. The regiment fought in 
Kentucky and Tennessee (1862-1863) and 
was in Sherman's Atlanta campaign and 
with his army from "Atlanta to the Sea" 
(1864) ; then m.arched and fought up the 
Atlantic coast through the Carolinas and 
to the end of the rebellion. 

One Hundred and Tenth Ohio Infantry. 

This regiment (Colonel J. Warren 
Keifer) had two companies (I and C) un- 
der Captains Luther Brown and Nathan S.' 
Smith enlisted from Clark County. They 
saw much service in the Virginias and 
in Maryland, and participated in many 



battles and campaigns. The regiment 
was in. the battles at Winchester, and 
in New York City to put down riots 
and to enforce the draft, and in the battle 
of Orange Grove, Virginia (1863) ; and it 
was in the Wilderness campaigTi under 
Meade and Grant; in the battle of 
Monocaey, and imder Sheridan in the 
Shenandoah Valley (1864), and it was en- 
gaged in the sieges of Eichmond and 
Petersburg; in the last assaults at the 
latter place, and it fought and partici- 
pated in the last general field battle 
(Sailor's Creek) and campaigTi of the 
war, resulting in the surrender of Lee 
at Appomattox, April 9, 1865. Captain 
William A. Hathaway, of this county, was 
killed and buried at Monocaey. Captain 
Thomas J. Weakley (now of Dayton) was 
of Company I. 

One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Ohio. 

This (a' six-months regiment) was com- 
manded by Colonel Howard D. John, of 
this county. Its Company C was com- 
manded by Captain Eichard Montjoy. 
William J. Irwin and Charles Anthony 
were Lieutenants in that company; 
Charles H. Pierce was its orderly ser- 
geant. These and others of that company 
are well known as of our best citizens. 
This regiment performed valuable and 
hard service, and did fighting, chiefly 
(1863) at and about Cumberland Gap, 
Kentucky. 

One Hundred and Forty-sixth Ohio In- 
fantry. 

Two companies (D and I) of this one 
hundred dav regiment were enlisted and 



AND EEPEESBNTATIVE CITIZENS. 



215 



officered from Clark County about May 2, 
1864, and Thomas W. Bown was its Ma- 
jor. Captain Alfred Miller, First Lieu- 
tenant Thomas E. Stewart and Second 
Lieutenant Harvey H. Tuttle were the 
officers of Company I), and Captain Al- 
fred "Bown, First Lieutenant Valentine 
Newman and Second Lieutenant Elijah 
G. Coffin were the officers of Company I. 
The officers and men of these companies 
were mostly from South Charleston and 
vicinity, and their service was mainly at 
Fayetteville, West Virginia. 

One HtTNDKED and Fifty-second Ohio In- 
fantry. 

In this regiment were a part of the one 
hundred days men from Clark County, 
wlio patriotically responded (May, 1864) 
to an emergency call for troops. Many 
of our citizens went to the field under this 
call. This regiment saw hard service and 
did good campaigning in Virginia and 
West Virginia. It was in the memorable 
Hunter raid, up the Shenandoah Valley 
in June, 1864. Captains Asa S. Bushnell 
and Charles A. Welch each commanded 
companies (E and K) from Clark County 
in this regiment. Benjamin H. Warder 
was a first lieutenant in K Company. In 
E Company were A. P. Linn Cochran, 
John C. Miller, Clifton M. Nichols and 
George C. Eawlins, together with others 
of our most distinguished citizens. 

One Hundred and Fifty-third Ohio In- 
fantry. 

Colonel Israel Stough (once Captain 
Fortj'-Fourth Ohio), from Clark County, 
commanded this (a hundred day) regi- 
ment, which was organized in May, 1864, 



on the same call with the One Hundred 
and Fifty-Second, and, like it, contained 
many of the county's best citizens. Cap- 
tains James I. McKinney and Harrison 
C. Cross commanded companies (E and 
F) made up of men of this county. The 
regiment did duty along the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad. A detachment of it en. 
gaged the enemy at Hammack's Mills, 
North River, West Virginia, and was cap- 
tured; some were held as prisoners, and 
a few died in Andersonville, Georgia, and 
Florence, Alabama, prisons. 

Sixteenth Ohio Independent Battery. 

This battery was enlisted and mustered 
in (1861) from Clark County. It was 
commanded by Captain , James A. 
Mitchell, of Spring-field, who descended 
from the Revolutionary and War of 1812 
soldier stock, already mentioned. This 
battery served principally along the Mis- 
sissippi. Captain Mitchell lost his life in 
the Vicksburg campaign (Champion Hill) 
while serving under Grant. 

In this company served Lieutenant Ed- 
ward H. Funston (since a Representative 
for several terms in Congress from Kan- 
sas), of New Carlisle, the father of now 
Brigadier-General Frederick Funston, U. 
S. A., famed for, among other things, the 
recent capture of Aguinaldo in the Phil- 
ippine Islands. General Funston was born 
in New Carlisle, this county, his mother 
being a Mitchell. 

Seventeenth Ohio Independent Bat- 
tery. 

This battery was composed, principally, 
of Clark County men. Besides its Captain, 
Ambrose A. Blount, Lieutenants William 



216 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Hunt, Jr., Absalom H. Mattox and 
Jeremiah Yeazell, of the county, were its 
officers. This battery campaigned and 
f ought chiefly down the Mississippi, at 
Arkansas Post, on the Vicksburg cam- 
paign, and at Mobile, Alabama. 

Squibeet. Hunters, 1862. 

When Cincinnati was threatened (Sep- 
tember, 1862) by the Kirby Smith raid, 
Clark County furnished her full share of 
those patriotic citizens who, without mili- 
tary training and poorly armed, rushed to 
camp and were thence taken to Cincin- 
nati to aid in the defense of that then im- 
periled cit^^ Among those who thus went 
to war were the most estimable and promi- 
nent of our citizens. 



At one time (1864) during the Civil 
War, three-fourths of the men of the re- 
quired age, fit for duty, and above fifty 
per centum of the voting population of 
Clark County were in the military and 
naval service of the United States. 

There were many who enlisted in the 
Union Army from other places, even 
other states, who, after serving valiantly 
in the Civil War, came to live among us. 
These we love to adopt, honor and claim 
as our own. Colonels R. L. Kilpatrick, 
Aaron Spangler (One Hundred and Tenth 
Ohio), James E. Stewart (each now de- 
ceased), and Captains Edward L. Buch- 
walter and R. A. Starkey and Rev. 
George H. Fullerton, D. D. (Chaplain 
First Ohio Infantry) are among this 
number. 



FiKST Kentucky Infantry. 

Captain Ralph Hunt, early in 1861, en- 
listed in Clark County wliat became Com- 
pany C of the First Kentucky Infantry, 
in which it performed heroic and valuable 
service in many battles and campaigns in 
West Virginia and in the Southwest. 



Others, as officers, soldiers and sailors, 
of Clark County's sons served with great 
credit in vohmteer organizations not men- 
tioned, and in the regular army and navy. 
Of those from Clark County who were 
distinguislied as surgeons, may be men- 
tioned Majors Henry H. Seys, of the 
Third and Fifteenth, and John H. Rod- 
gers, of the Forty-fourth and One Hun- 
dred and Fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry 
regiments, still living. 



United States Navy. 

There have been at least two sons of 
Springfield who have, through education 
and distinguished services, reached high 
rank in the United States Navy. 

Reed Werden and Joseph N. Miller 
each graduated at the Naval Academy, 
each served with distinction on many 
seas and in the Civil War, and each was 
rewarded with the rank of Rear- Admiral. 

Admiral Werden also did good service 
in the Mexican War (1846-1848) and Ad- 
miral Miller in the Spanish War (1898) ; 
the former died in 1886, and the latter is 
still living. 

Others of Springfield who were grad- 
uated at the Naval Academy hold good 
rank and deserve mention for their high 
attainments and successful career. Lieu- 
tenant Clarence Williams, now in the 
United States Navv, is of this number. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



217 



United States Military Academy. 

A number from the county have been 
graduated at West Point, but none, how- 
ever, have reached high rank in the army. 
One, John (Jack) Williamson, was grad- 
uated in the same class with U. S. Grant, 
and he shortly after enjoyed at his home 
here a personal visit from Lieutenant U. 
S. Grant, since the most distinguished 
soldier of any age. Williamson resigned 
from the army and died comparatively 
young. 

We do not jDretend to exhaust the list 
of men from Clark County, who fairly 
won lasting fame in the military and 
naval service. Among the rank and file 
were some of the best and bravest; and 
the Ohio rule of claiming great men ap- 
plies to Clark County. All persons born 
or who have ever lived -in the county, 
however short the time, and regardless 
of where they lived, when, or the circum- 
stances under which they reached distinc- 
tion, are, under this rule, Clark County 
men. 

From Big Bethel to Appomattox, 
wherever bloody sacrifices were to be 
made, on river, sea or land, men of Clark 
County were found ready to make them. 

,They fought and fell under McClellan, 
Rosecrans, McDowell, Thomas, Sheridan, 
Sherman, Meade and Grant, and under 
the many other equally brave comman- 
ders of the Union Army. These volun- 
teer citizen-soldiers shed their blood at 
Bull Run (1861-1862), at Antietam, at 
Winchester (1862-1863), at Gettysburg, 
Orange Grove (1863), and in the many 
other large and small engagements in 
Virginia and on the eastern theatre of 
war prior to 1864; and they fought and 



died at Fort Donelson, Shiloh, New Or- 
leans, luka, Corinth, Perrysville, Stone's 
River (1862), Vicksburg, Missionary 
Ridge and Lookout Mountain (above the 
clouds), Chickamauga, Knosville (1863), 
Resaca, Kenesaw, Peach Tree Creek, 
Jonesboro, and in the battles around At- 
lanta and on the march from Atlanta to 
the sea; at Franklin and Nashville, and 
on other sanguinary and bloody fields in 
the West and Southwest (1864) ; again, 
in the East, in the battles of the Wilder- 
ness, at Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor and 
around Richmond and Petersburg, Vir- 
ginia; at Monocacy, Maryland; Opequon, 
Fisher's Hill and Cedar Creek, in the 
Shenandoah Valley (1864), and at Five 
Forks and in the assaults on the fortifica- 
tions and over the ramparts around Rich- 
mond and Petersburg; at Bentonville, N. 
C. ; at Sailor's Creek (the last general 
field engagement of the Civil War) ; at 
Appomattox and Mobile (1865), and on 
the hundreds of other fields of carnage, 
all to preserve the integrity of the Union 
of Washington and his patriot compeers 
of the Revolution of 1776, and the Con- 
stitution, resulting, under the providence 
of God, in destroying slavery (the curse 
of the ages) in our Republic, where it 
had existed for two hundred and fifty 
years. 

The number of soldiers and sailors of 
the Civil War from the county, killed or 
who died of wounds and disease contract- 
ed in the service, cannot be ascertained. 
For the most part they were buried 
where they fell, and many were subse- 
quently transferred to National Ceme- 
teries. In each of these cemeteries will 
be found the names of soldiers or sailors 
from this county, marked by a grateful 



218 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



country on headstones, and recorded in 
registers. 

Any attempt at a list of soldier dead, 
buried in private cemeteries and grave- 
yards, must be a failure, and will prove 
unsatisfactory. 

I have seen a fairly complete list of 
such dead, showing the names of about 
one hundred and seventy buried in Bethel 
Township; about one hundred and sixty 
in Madison Township, and I have seen 
only an imperfect list from Mad River 
Township. From other townships no lists 
have been accessible to me. 

A still incomplete list of fifty soldiers 
buried in Greenmount Cemetery, Spring- 
field, shows many once familiar names of 
worthy men, among whom I can here men- 
tion only Lieutenant Jerry Klinefelter, 
Major James C. Vananda, Captains Will- 
iam E. Monroe and David Sparks ; a like 
incomplete list of about two hundred sol- 
diers and sailors buried in Ferncliff 
Cemetery shows still other familiar, hero- 
ic names, among which are : Lieutenant- 
Colonel E. M. Doty, Colonel Howard D. 
John, Colonel J. P. Sanderson, Major 
Luther Brown, Major Andrew J. "Will- 
iams (TJ. S. A..), Captains Hezekiah Win- 
ger, Levi M. Einehart, W. P. Cummings 
(U. S. A.), W. A. Stewart, Thomas P. 
Clarke and William H. Drum, U. S. A. 
(killed at City of Mexico), and General 
Edwin C. Mason, TJ. S. A. 

The soldiers buried in Clark County 
belonged to many of the volunteer regi- 
ments of the Union Army; to many in- 
dependent companies or batteries, and to 
the regular army or navy, and to all arms 
of the service; generally they died where 
they fell or in military hospitals of 
woimds received in battle, or of disease 



contracted in war service; some, there 
buried, died of starvation in Southern 
prisons. They sigTiify the full measure 
of self-sacrificing loyalty, heroism, su- 
preme effort, suffering and death, entail- 
ing upon family and friends an untold 
measure of sacrifice, suffering and sor- 
row. 

Have not the good people of Springfield 
and Clark County patriotically performed 
their highest duty to establish, preserve, 
perpetuate and advance the cause of polit- 
ical and civil liberty in our whole coun- 
try 1 

Without the bloody sacrifices and hero- 
ic achievements of the Civil War, by which 
human slavery was overthrown and the 
rights of man were up-built, and the 
spirit of Christian love was more uni- 
versally spread throughout the civilized 
nations of the earth, a war for humanity 
(Spanish War) would not have been pos- 
sible. 

Spanish War, 1898. 

On the call (1898) of President William 
McKinley for vohmteers for the war to 
compel Spain to surrender her sovereig-n- 
ty over Cuba, because of her long-con- 
tinued inhumanity to its inhabitants 
(Spanish subjects). Springfield and Clark 
County contributed their full share of sol- 
diers and sailors, and many more of their 
young men were impatient because they 
were not accepted. Colonel Charles An- 
thony commanded the Third Ohio Volun- 
teen Infantry in the Spanish War. 

Captain William H. Bradbury's com- 
pany (Ohio National Guard) became Com- 
pany B, of the Third, and Captain Horace 
E. Smith's became Company E, of the 
Tenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry; Captain 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



219 



E. R. Rudd's became Company A, Ninth. 
Battalion (colored) of Infantry, and a sec- 
tion of Company — , Second United States 
Volunteer Engineers (Lieutenant Arthur 
Balentine) also went from this county. 
Large numbers of others went to the 
Spanish War from this county, as officers 
and soldiers or sailors in the army or 
navy, joining other organizations or the 
volunteer staff departments. Carl K. 
Mower became a Captain and Commis- 
sary of Subsistence and served with credit 
in Porto E-ico and elsewhere; later he be- 
came Captain in the Forty-First United 
States Volunteers and served with distinc- 
tion in the Philippine Island, and he 
now holds an appointment in the United 
States Army. 

Horace C. Keifer was appointed (June, 
1898) by the President a Captain in the 
Third United States Volunteer Engi- 
neers, and he performed, by assignment 
of the War Department, the duties of an 
aide (often other staff duties) on the 
staff of Major-General J. Warren Kei- 
fer, in Florida, Georgia and Cuba, for 
about one year. Many of the Spanish 
War soldiers, and others of the county, 
enlisted in volunteer organizations in 
1899 for service in the Philippines, and 
they have there performed excellent and 
hard service; some went into the regular 
army and others into the United States 
Navy. 

In the above eleven years of war (ex- 
eluding all Indian wars) of the nineteenth, 
century, Clark County has valiantly 
borne her full part in bearing the flag 
of our country to victory on land and 
sea. No sacrifice has been too great for 
her citizens to willingly make. We may 
be justly proud and boastful of Clark 



County's war history, and we can feel 
sure that if exigencies arise which again 
bring war, that, inspired by high and 
worthy example, her sons will valorously 
do their duty in a just cause, in uphold- 
ing our blood-baptized stars and stripes, 
long so sacredly emblematic of organized 
liberty to mankind. 

With all the significant things accom- 
plished at the cost of blood and treasure 
in the nineteenth century, future genera- 
tions will not be contented to "mark 
time" over the grave of the past, but, in- 
spired by the great deeds and discov- 
eries and progress made manifest to 
them, will "quick step" forward and at- 
tain to yet other, higher, more useful and 
better things. 

Would to God we could foretell the 
events and the progress of the twentieth 
century, and write with the pen of proph- 
ecy Springfield's history as it will be on 
her second centennial. 

Thus, briefly and imperfectly, we have 
presented you Clark County's military 
history, believing it equal, all things con- 
sidered, to that of any other county in 
this State or Nation. 



rin the address delivered by General Keifer he has 
modestly refrained from speaking of himself, save in 
a brief foot note, yet he is the most conspicuous figure 
in the military history of our county, and should, 
therefore, have some notice in this volume. At the out- 
break of the war. in 3861. General Keifer was a law- 
yer in Springfield, having been admitted to the bar m 
1S5S He volunteered at the beginning of the war 
and was appointed Ma.ior of the Third Ohio Volun- 
teer Infantry. In the first year of the war he was 
in a number of battles in West A^rgmia. In lebru- 
ary tsr>2. he was made Lieutenant-Colonel and was 
on "active duty in Kentucky and other states In Sep- 
tember lSr)2, he was appointed Colonel of the One 
Hundred and Tenth Ohio. His regiment was trans- 
ferred to Virginia, where he fought in many battles, 
suffering severe wounds and many hardships m the 
service' He was brevetted a Brigadier-General in 
ilS(i4 and in 1SG.5 Maior-General for "gallant and dis- 
tinguished services." He served altogether four years 
and two months. After his return to Springfield he 
entered upon his profession, in which he was emi- 



220 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



nently successful. He became a member of the State 
Senate for two years ; was sent to the National House 
ot Representatives for four terms, and during the 
third term served as Speaker. At the outbreak of the 
Spanish War he was appointed a Major-General, and 
faithfully discharged the duties assigned him. General 
Keiter is a conspicuous figure in all that pertains to 
the welfare of our city. — Editor Springfield Centen- 
nial.] 



Since the above was written, Capt. 
Carl K. Mower received a commission in 
the regular army and served but a short 
time in that capacity dying suddenly in 



the spring of 1904. The prospects of a 
brilliant military career were thus cut off 
in the early decease of this well-known 
young man of our county. His death was 
a severe blow to his father, then Com- 
mon Pleas Judge, who survived him but 
a few months. 

Arthur Ballentine received a commis- 
sion of Lieutenancy in the regular army 
and is still serving in that capacity. 



CHAPTER XV. 



TOWNSHIPS. 

Bethel — German — Green — Harmony — Madison — Mad River — Moorefield — 
Pike — Pleasant — Springfield. 



BETHEL TOWNSHIP. 

BOUNDAEIES AND CrEBKS. 

Bethel Township occupies the south- 
western part of the county west of Mad 
Biver. It is bounded on the west by its 
southern extremity for a distance of two 
miles by Montgomery County, and thence 
for a distance of seven miles by Miami 
County. On the north are Pike and Ger- 
man Townships; on the east a neck of 
Springfield Township, and diagonally in 
a southwestern direction it is bounded by 
Mad Eiver. It might not be an unjust 
comparison with the other townships to 
say that it has a higher per cent of ex- 
ceedingly fertile land than any other 
"ownship in the county and has more of 
niat might be termed bottom land. As 
before said, along its entire southeastern 
side it has the valley of Mad Eiver of 
varying width, then Donnels Creek, which 
goes throiigh the township north and 
south near Donnelsville. About one mile 
and a half west is Jackson Creek, like- 
wise extending through the township. In 
the southwestern part is Mud Creek. 



Honey Creek enters the township to the 
northeast of New Carlisle, circulating 
around that village to the south and west, 
and flowing thence into Miami County. 
Along this stream is some exceedingly 
fertile land. 

Chops. 

Along the Mad Eiver Valley down 
towards Medway and in some other parts 
of the township a considerable quantity 
of tobacco is grown. Up along the Na- 
tional Eoad and the old Carlisle Pike the 
growing of berries of various kinds forms 
quite an industry. Elsewhere the staple 
crops are grown. The township has 
three villages of considerable impor- 
tance — New Carlisle in the western part, 
Donnelsville toward the central eastern 
portion along the National Eoad, and 
Medway in the southern part. (See Vil- 
lages.) 

EOADS. 

The National Pike extends through the 
center of the township from east to west. 
Along the vallev of Mad Eiver is the Mad 



222 



HISTOEY OP CLARK COUNTY 



Eiver Valley Pike, built in 1847, and ex- 
tending east and west and north of the 
central part of the township, is what is 
known as the old Carlisle Pike. These 
roads are the principal thoroughfares to 
the City of Springfield. There are about 
forty miles of public roads in the town- 
ship. The township is provided with 
other roads of good quality. The In- 
dianapolis branch of the Big Four ex- 
tends through the township, having its 
principal stopping place at New Carlisle, 
and the Spring-field & Dayton Traction 
Company have a branch from their head 
lines at Medway, extending to New Car- 
lisle, the main branch following the Val- 
ley pike to Medway, thence across the 
river to Osborn. These are all the rail- 
roads in the township. The Dayton 
branch of the Big Four and of the N. Y. 
P. & 0. E. E. are just across the river in 
Mad Eiver Township. There are no man- 
ufacturing industries of any particular 
importance in the township at this time. 
Formerly the mills along Mad Eiver 
formed an industry of their own kind, 
to wit, distilling whiskey and making 
flour, the plentiful growth of timber also 
furnishing material for various saw- 
mills and cooper shops. (See Mills.) 

This township claims the distinction of 
having had the earliest settlers, as the 
former Indian village of Piqua and the 
later one of Boston were in its territory. 

Voting Peecincts. 

It is laid out into three voting pre- 
cincts designated by the name of the thi'ee 
prominent villages of the township. Not- 
withstanding the fact that it has these 
three villages, its population has not in- 



creased very rapidly in the last half cen- 
tury. 

Population. 

In 1850 its population was 2,898; in 
1870, 3,086; in 1880. 2,131; in 1890, 3,407; 
]900, 3,295. 

Acres and Assessed Value. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres, and the assessed valuation of 
the real estate and personal property of 
the township as divided into school dis- 
tricts : 

Acres. Real Estate. Personal. Total. 

Bethel Township 20,8.51 $926,490 .$.528,480 ?1,4.54,970 
Bethel & Springfield 

School Dist. . . 319 12,760 4,790 17,550 
N. Carlisle Sch. 

Dist 2,315 9.5.320 36.420 131,740 

N. Carlisle Town 162 215,600 128,610 344.210 

Donnelsville Town 39 29.230 14.7.50 43,980 



23,676 $1,279,400 $713,056 $1,992,450 

Politics. 

Bethel Township has at all times been 
either Whig or Eepublican in politics, 
except that in 1848 Cass had a majority. 
Lincoln carried the township by two hun- 
dred, and it has continued substantially 
Eepublican to about that extent. The 
Donnelsville precinct, however, is more 
Democratic than the others. 

Old Settlees. 

The date of the first settlement of 
Bethel Township is somewhat obscure, 
but from indubitable evidence we are able 
to say that John Paul was living at the 
forks of Honey Creek in 1790, and that 
some evidence points just as clearly to 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



223 



an earlier period. Relatives still remem- 
ber hearing Mr. Paul speak of crossing 
the Ohio Eiver at the point where Cincin- 
nati now stands, before any settlement 
was made there ; that his father was killed 
by the Indians soon after crossing the 
river. The remainder of the family es- 
caped. The same night Mr. Paul went 
back, found the body of his father (which 
had been scalped), and buried it. Mr. 
Paul wandered on with the rest of the 
family, himself the eldest, a brother and 
sister, they making their final stop on 
what is now i^art of Section 29. Mr. Paul 
died in 1853, aged ninety years. The older 
citizens well remember that the habits of 
caution and care necessarily acquired in 
the dangerous times, remained with him 
as long as he lived. 

David Lowry was the next settler in 
the township. He was bom in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1767, and in 1795 he settled in 
Section 3, Bethel Township. He after- 
wards bought the whole of Section 14, 
which he sold and then entered land in 
Section 9, where J. E. Lowry now lives. 
He was married in 1801 to Sarah Ham- 
mer, of Miami County, Ohio, who died in 
1810, leaving four children, viz., Sarah, 
Nancy, Susan and Elizabeth. All are now 
dead but Susan, who is the wife of John 
Leffel. In 1811, he married Mrs. Jane 
Hodge, whose maiden name was Wright, 
by whom he had four children — Martha 
S., David W., Robert M. and Sarah E., all 
are now living. He died September 9, 
1859, and his widow followed him to the 
grave AugTist 15, 1867. He was a robust, 
enterprizing Christian pioneer, and did 
much toward the growth and civilization 
of his adopted county. 

Jonathan Donnels, a native of Lycom- 



ing County, Penn., was the companion of 
David Lowry, and was a sui-veyor. He 
settled on Section 33, where Leander 
Baker now lives, in 1795. In 1797 he re- 
turned to Pennsylvania, brought out his 
brother James, who was then but eight 
years old, but was a great help to him in 
his cabin. Jonathan married and was the 
father of five cjiildren, of whom John 
moved to Oregon, where he died; Jona- 
than is living in Iowa ; Elizabeth married 
George Layton; and Lucinda, who also 
married and moved to Michigan. Mr. 
Donnels' last years were embittered by 
family troubles, and, in a fit of temporary 
insanity he hung himself on the Holcomb 
limekiln (now Moores) farm in Spring- 
field Township, whither he had moved 
after selling his old home. He was a man 
of sterling traits of character, generous 
and whole-souled, and was very well read 
for those early days, and was indeed one 
of the noblest of Clark County's pioneers. 
His brother, James Donnels, who came in 
1797, grew up under his care and married 
Mary Hopkins, settling where John Leffel 
formerly lived. He had eight children, 
among whom we may mention as the latest 
survivors — Susaji, the wife of Jesse Boyd ; 
Eliza, the wife of Lewis Huffman; and 
Jonathan. Mr. Donnels moved to the 
northeast corner of Springfield Township; 
thence to the Jesse Boyd farm in Har- 
mony Township: and finally to the farm 
where his son Jonathan formerly, resid- 
ed, and which is now owned by E. 0. Bow- 
man, where he and his wife died. 

Hugh Wallace was born in Kentucky 
August 14, 1778, came to Bethel Town- 
ship about 1798, and began working for 
David Lowry, with whom he stayed sev- 
eral voars. He was married to Margaret 



224 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Smith, who died in 1814, and he then mar- 
ried Eleanor Richison, who was born in 
the Northwest Territory in 1793, and had 
nine children, seven yet living. He was 
in the war of 1812, and died in 1864. , His 
widow died in 1875. 

Joseph Tatman was born in Virginia 
in 1770, and his wife Rebecca in North 
Carolina in 1772. They came to Brown 
County, Ohio, in 1798, and, in 1801, to this 
township. He was appointed Associate 
Judge after the county was organized, 
and held that office several years. He was 
also a member of the Legislature. They 
had thirteen children. He died in 1827, 
and his wife in 1864. 

Jacob Huffman, a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, settled in the eastern corner of the 
township in 1802. He died December 1, 
1842, aged seventy-two years, and his wife 
Catherine, died in August, 1866, aged 
eighty years. They had ten children who 
grew up— five yet living, viz., Henry, 
Reuben, Martha, Rachael and Samuel. He 
built a fine stone house which is yet stand- 
ing and is now the property of Mrs. J. 
A. Myers. 

Greorge Croft was born in Pennsylvania 
in 1771, and was married in Virginia, in 
1799, to Mary Critz, of that State. In 
1804 they came to Bethel Township with 
two children, and seven were born to them 
afterward. Mrs. Croft died in February, 
1846, and her husband, after remarrying, 
died in October, 1855. George Croft and 
family, from Virginia, in 1808, settled near 
the valley pike. He began distilliag, and 
kept it up for forty years. Two sons as- 
sisted the father at that business, and 
George, a cripple, picked up a knowledge 
of shoemaking and went from house to 



house, stopping a week at a place, cob- 
bling and making shoes. 

Thomas Cory was born in Essex Coun- 
ty, N. J., in 1738. He came to Ohio in 
a very early day, and settled in Warren 
County, whence he came to Bethel Town- 
ship, this county, in 1803, bringing his son 
Elnathan, with whom he lived until his 
death in 1813. 

Elnathan Cory was bom in Essex Coun- 
ty, N. J., January, 1776. He came to this 
township with his father in 1803, and en- 
tered the northwest quarter of Section 
34. During the war of 1812, he was an 
extensive contractor for furnishing the 
Government with army supplies. He 
married Hannah Jennings in June, 1800, 
and by her had eleven children, of whom 
eight lived to adult age — Judge David J. 
Cory, Eliza Miller, Rhoda W. Cross and 
Sarah Smith, and three died in infancy. 
Mrs. Cory died August 20, 1834, and her 
husband June 8, 1842. 

Abraham Brooks Rail was born in Es- 
sex County, N. J., September 9, 1776, and, 
at the age of eleven years, ran away from 
home with an expedition bound to West- 
ern Pennsylvania. In 1789, he went to 
Cincinnati, where he worked with his 
uncle in a mill for three years, when he 
commenced learning the brick-layer's 
trade. In 1798, he returned to his 
Eastern home, where he married Eliza- 
beth Lambert. In October, 1804, he 
again came to Cincinnati with his wife 
and one child, and, in the December 
following, came to this township, where 
he entered the northwest quarter of 
Section 33. He continued to work at 
his trade during the summer months 
until 1825, when he retired to the quiet 
of his farm. He had eleven children. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



225 



nine of whom lived to be married. He 
died April 20, 1864, and his wife March 
28, 1844. 

William Layton, with a large family of 
children — Joseph, Robert, Arthur, John, 
William, Jr., Polly, Sally and Betsey — 
eame to this township in 1803, settling in 
Section 2, on the Mad Biver, not far from 
the mouth of Donnels' Creek. He was a 
Pennsylvanian, and died on that farm. 
The descendants of this family are among 
the most prominent people of the county, 
Joseph having been judge of the court, 
John being one of the first clerks of the 
county and a county commissioner, and 
John E., the son of John, was sheriff 
from 1856 to 1860. 

Henry Williams and his wife, Elizabeth, 
came from Virginia with four children 
in 1805, and settled on the land formerly 
occupied by their son. Rev. Henry Wil- 
liams, the father of J. C. Williams. They 
had nine children, five of whom were 
born after they came to this county. Mr. 
Williams was a soldier in 1812, and died 
in 1845, his wife having died in 1820. 

Greorge Keifer was born in Maryland 
in 1769, and was there married, in 1799, 
to Margaret Hivner, a native of that 
state, born in 1772. They came to this 
township in 1811 and bought a large tract 
of land, which was the birthplace of 
Tecumseh, the noted Indian chief. They 
had five children — Mary, Sarah, John, 
Catherine and Joseph (father of General 
J. Warren Keifer), who all grew up on 
this farm, and here the parents died, leav- 
ing descendants who have since become 
prominent in county, state and national 
affairs. 

John McPherson came about 1800, and 
settled on Section 21. John Forgy, James 



Forgy and Presly Forgy came in 1806. 
Their father, John Forgy, came much 
earlier and settled in Mad River Town- 
ship. Samuel McKinney came about the 
same time; he was a prominent music 
teacher in the early times. In about 1803 
came John Wallace, Sr., from Kentucky; 
he was the father of James Wallace, many 
years a prominent merchant, and Dr. 
Joseph Wallace, late of Springfield. 
Leonard Hains, Reuben Wallace and John 
Crain, Sr., came first to the county in 
1802, and settled in Bethel in 1806. 
George Lowman came in 1810; the next 
year he built the "stone house," which 
for many years was a wonder, and the 
only house other than wood in the west- 
ern part of the county. Joseph Reyburn, 
William Holmes, John Crue, Abraham 
Keever, Joseph Butler, Edward Riggs, 
Olivei- Walker, William McCoy, Jacob 
Bingerman, Benjamin Pursell, John Jack- 
son, Jacob Loofborow, John Whalen, 
Ezekiel Paramee, all came to Bethel prior 
to 1810. This list is doubtless incomplete, 
as at this late day it is impossible to get 
a full account of the early times. 

Among the old settlers who came later 
than the above, mention might be made 
of the following and their places of set- 
tlement: Jacob Fundex-burg, on Section 
9; John Richinson, on Section 9, and 
Jacob Leffel, who settled on Section 17 
about 1817. He was a native of Virginia, 
and had a large family, two of whom, 
John and Peter, noW deceased, resided in 
Bethel Township, and James in Spring- 
field. Jacob had the following brothers : 
Samuel, Daniel, Anthony, John, James P. 
and Thomas, who have all left descend- 
ants in this county, who are well known 
and respected; in fact, Leffel is a name 



226 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



that is a household word throughout the 
state, having gained a world-wide celeb- 
rity from the invention of the turbine 
water-wheel by James Leffel, who was 
long a resident of Springfield, and who 
died in 1865. 

William Taylor and family, from Penn- 
sylvania, settled in Bethel in 1795. The 
family consisted of his wife, Susan, and 
eleven children — five boys and six girls. 
Taylor bought three or four sections of 
land, and gave each of his family a farm. 
Daniel, a son, was a noted hunter, and it 
is said that during their first winter, him- 
self, father and oldest brother killed over 
four hundred deer. John Husted, a 
Virginian, arrived at Bethel about 1808, 
with a large family of boys and girls. 
The old man followed farming. Solomau 
Husted. a son, was one of the most skill- 
ful g-unsmiths in the country, and men 
came thirty to forty miles to have g-uns 
made for them. Moses, another son, was 
a chopper of cord-wood all his life, and it 
would have been in order to find that he 
died on a log. Michael Minniek located 
south of what is now Donnelsville; he had 
three sons ; one was a carpenter, and built, 
in 1825, the house in which Mrs. Minniek 
resides. 

Henry Brandenburgh, a settler on 
Jackson Creek about 1812, was the second 
distiller in Bethel. He was a trader in 
flour and bacon, and made several trips 
to dispose of his wares in the New Orleans 
market. Joseph McKinney and family 
located in 1804 or 1805 on the line of the 
National Road west of Donnelsville. 
Most of the families thus briefly noticed 
were more or less related, and formed a 
scattered colony. 

Thomas Williams came to this region 



in 1796, and entered on a hunter's life. 
He owned no land, and was regarded as 
a Western Arab, spending his time in the 
forest and visiting the settlement to dis- 
pose of furs and obtain supplies of am- 
munition. John, James and William 
Lamme settled between Medway and Don- 
nelsville. 

Eapxy Events. 

As before stated, probably the first set- 
tlements in the county were made in this 
township, there being a probability of a 
French settlement at Piqua, but even 
confining our investigations to white set- 
tlers, we find that John Paul came to 
Honey Creek in 1790. He had the dis- 
tinction of being the first white settler 
of this county, so far as is known. The 
probabilities are that the first mill on Mad 
River was built at Medway. The first 
schoolhouse was built as early as 1805. 
John Layton was the first Justice of the 
Peace, elected in 1804 and held office un- 
til 1830. Among the early marriages 
perform^ed by him was that of Joseph 
Keifer to Mary Smith. This was the mar- 
riage of General J. Warren Keifer 's 
parents. 

Melyn Layton was born in 1806 and 
Elisha Layton in 1804. 

The land of this township is all what 
is known as Congress lands. 

More Recent Inhabitants. 

Silas Trumbo was born in Virginia in 
1812, came to this township in 1814 and 
lived here until his death a few years 
ago. He was the father of J. B. Trumbo 
and kept a store in Donnelsville for many 
years. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



227 



Findlay Shartle was born in Montgom- 
ery County in 1S21, and came to Bethel 
Township in Mareli 1831, settling in what 
is now known as Shartle 's Hills, below 
Medway. He died a few years ago at an 
advanced age. 

Christian Brosey, who is still residing 
near Medway, was born in Germany in 
1831 and came to Clark County in 1841. 
J. C. Williams, a prominent resident of 
this township, is the son of Henry and 
Ellen Williams and was born seventy 
years ago south of New Carlisle and 
has resided in the township all his life. 
The late Judge II. H. Williams, of Troy, 
was his brother, as was also E. S. Wil- 
liams, who served as a member of Con- 
gress from the district in which Troy 
was at that time located. Mr. J. C. Wil- 
liams was recently mayor of New Car- 
lisle. 

J. V. Forgy was born in this township 
tM^o miles south of New Carlisle and now 
resides in the village of New Carlisle, be- 
ing connected with the bank there. His 
date of birth is March 4, 1833. 

Martin Snider was a long time resi- 
dent of this township, his farm being near 
Donnelsville station on the Big Four. 
He was born in York County in 1812, and 
died about the year 1903. His brother, 
Samuel, likewise a long time resident, died 
a few years later. 

William Wise was born in Montgom- 
ery Coimt)'' in 1840. Was a son of Felix 
and Martha Wise. William lives near 
Medway, Ohio, and has been Justice of 
the Peace for thirty or more years. 

Daniel Hertzler was formerly a well- 
known citizen of this township, residing 
on a farm lately occupied by L. J. M. 
Baker. He was murdered there in the 



fight with some burglars in 1867. Mr. 
Hertzler at the time of his death was prob- 
ably the wealthiest man in the township. 

County Officials. 

Bethel Township has furnished a fair 
proportion of the public officials of this 
county in early times. Reuben Wallace 
was a member of the Ohio Legislature. 
William G-. Serviss and Joseph Tatman 
were each associate judges. Dr. Benja- 
min Neff was a member of the legislature. 
John E. Layton, sheriff; Stephen B. Will- 
iams, treasurer, and William E. Lamme, 
county commissioner. At a later date D. 
(x. Cory, J. J. Scarft", J. B. Trumbo and 
J. B. Crain served in that capacity. 

J. E. Lowiy, who served one year by 
appointment, will take his position as a 
regularly elected official in the position 
of county commissioner this fall. 

People of this township pride them- 
selves a good deal upon the fact that 
General Keifer is a native, and recently 
they have felt proud of the distinction 
and honors conferred upon General Fred 
11. Funston, who was boi^n in the village 
of New Carlisle. Ed. H. Funston, his 
father, was a member of the legislature 
of Kansas, having been a former resident 
of that place. 

John S. Raybourn, a former member of 
Congress of Pennsylvania and now mayor 
of Philadelphia, is a native of New Car- 
lisle, and, as before mentioned, Judge 
Williams, of Miami County,' and his 
brother, E. S. Williams, were also natives-. 

Oi,D Persons. 

At the pioneer meeting held in New 
Carlisle on the 18th of August, 1907, the 
following pioneers were present: 



228 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



J. J. Scarff, 84; G. W. Gantz, 80; Mrs. 
Dr. Miranda, 86; Daniel Harnish, 84; 
Amos Aley, 74 ; Robert Black, 85 ; Samuel 
Brown, 72 ; Irvin Stockstill, 88 ; Mrs. S. S. 
Stockstill, 85; C. M. Maguire, 84; Peter 
Syler, 89; Jacob Kissinger, 74; Mrs. D. 
G. Cory, 78 ; B. fe. Scarff, 71 ; J. C. Kester, 
76; Mrs. Clias. Black, 80; Mrs. Sarah 
Wolf, 78 ; J. V. Forgy, 74; Jacob E. John- 
ston, 75; Mrs. C. M. Maguire, 84; J. G. 
Black, 87 ; Mrs. Newson, 88 ; Mrs. Annett . 
Kestor, 77; John Sibert, 72; Jacob Rail, 
78; John A. Collins, 80; J. I. Stafford, 
76 ; Dr. R. C. Hanover, 87 ; Andrew Monk, 
76; Walter Chamberlain, 86. 

Trustees of Bethel Township. 

J. I. Stafford, 1882-1890 ; J. B. Trumbo, 
1882-1891; Henry Harnish, 1882-1890; I. 
K. Funderburg, 1890-1893; T. 0. Quick, 
1890-1896; Thos. Swauger, 1893-1902; 
G. K. Schower, 1896-1902; W. S. Vale, 
1902 to present time ; J. D. Neff, 1902 to 
present time; C. W. Minnich, 1892 to pres- 
ent time; Jacob Mess (elect). 

Treasurer. 

B. Neff, 1882-1892; C. H. Neff, 1892- 
1894; H. S. 'Forgy, 1894 to present time. 

Clerks. 

H. N. Taylor, 1882-1890; B. M. Low- 
man, 1890-1892; A. R. Eshelman, 1892- 
1896; J. M. Pierce, 1896-1900; J. E. John- 
son, 1900 to the present time. 

Members of Schooi, Board. 

C. B. Wallace, J. B. Trumbo, Albert 
Koontz, Arthur Gerlough, W. N. Scarff. 



Justices of the Peace Since 1871. 

Silas Trumbo, 1871-1889; T. Wones, 
1872 ; William Wise, 1872-1899, 1902, 1904; 
T. B. McNeal, 1873; Cyrus Lowman, 1876- 
1879, 1885-1888, 1894; Charles Foster, 
1882; Thomas McKee, 1897; W. D. 
Lowry, 1892; George W. Brown, 1895; 
Adam Frantz, 1895; George W. Pierce, 
1898; George Patterson, 1898-1904; H. N. 
Taylor, 1901; A. P. Mitchell, 1904; T. J. 
Miranda, 1904. 

CHURCHES. 

Dr. Young, in Beers' History, has 
given very extended notice of the churches 
of this tcmiship, to which I am indebted 
for much that is herein given. 

The Christian Church at New Carlisle 
was probably the tirst of its kind that was 
established north of Dayton. The time of 
its formation is not known exactly, but it 
was probably as early as 1800. The 
building in the village was erected about 
1827. Among the early pastors were 
Revs. Stackhouse, Worley, Purveyance, 
McCoy, Potter, Symonton, Baker, Reeder 
and latterly Isaac N. Walker, William H. 
Daugherty, MeClain, Curley, T. W. Me- 
Kinney, Prof. A. L. McKinney, J. G. 
Bishop and present pastor Rev. Thomas 
Week. This church has a long and in- 
teresting history. 

Presbyterian Church, New Carlisle. 

The Presbyterian Church, or Honey 
Creek Church, as it was called at an 
early date, was also one of the land-marks 
of the early times. There was occasional 
preaching here prior to the time the 
church was erected. The first meeting- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



229 



house was built of logs in the cemetery 
south of New Carlisle about 1815. There 
the congregation continued to worship 
until 1828, when the present building was 
erected in the village. This building was 
remodeled in 1866. Rev. A. Steele was 
pastor until 1831 ; Rev. William Gray un- 
til 1841; Rev. E. R. Johnson until 1862; 
then came Rev. Lusk, Rev. Gr. Beatty, Rev. 
B. Graves, Rev. Thomas, Rev. G. M. 
Haerr, Rev. H. P. Corry. The present 
pastor is Rev. Dr. Wood. 

Methodist Episcopal Chxjrch, New 
Carlisle. 

The best information at hand is to the 
effect that the Methodists began to have 
meetings in this neighborhood at the 
house of Giles Thomas as early as 1812. 
A small church was built on the south- 
west comer of Pike and Jackson Streets, 
and the present meeting-house was erect- 
ed in 185.3, and improved in 1869. 

Among the early pastors may be men- 
tioned William Rapper, James Findlay, 
George Maley, Joshua Boucher, William 
Simons, Joseph Lawes. At one time it is 
said that Lorenzo Dow preached a ser- 
mon here. Among other persons who 
have served as pastors may be mentioned 
N. W. Newson, Rev. J. McKay Shultz, 
McDonald, McDowell, Elsworth, Tuff and 
the present pastor, Rev. J. W. Patton. 

Baptist Church, New Carlisle. 

The Bai:)tist Church was organized 
sometime prior to 1834. In 1850 a com- 
fortable brick church was erected. In 
1864 they purchased the old Presbyterian 
Church and refitted it for their own wor- 
ship. 



The pastors at this church have been 
the Revs. David Leatherman, David 
Pilbum and Henry Frantz. 

Mennonite Brethren i5r Christ Church, 
New Carlisle. 

Since 1898 or '99 a sect calling them- 
selves Saints or Mennonite Brethren in 
Christ, have built and sustained a church 
in this village. The pastors have been 
Rev. Andrew Good, Rev. Jasper Huffman, 
Rev. G. W. Grimes and Rev. T. A. Scott. 

Bethel Baptist Church. 

This church was located near the 
branch of Donnels' Creek, north of Don- 
nelsville. The elders of this denomina- 
tion convened on April 20, 1822. The 
first meetings of the church were held in 
the cabins of the members. In 1836 the 
question of building a church began to be 
agitated, and the building was completed 
in 1837, costing *700. In 1879 it was de- 
termined to build a new house, and the 
23resent structure was dedicated January 
25, 1880. Elder William Sutton was the 
first iDastor. Hezekiah Smith became 
pastor in 1824. In 1826 John Guthrie 
was pastor. He was succeeded by Wil- 
liam Tuttle, T. J. Price, Abram Buckles 
and Willis Hance, who continued until 
1843. In 1844 T. J. Price again became 
pastor and so continued until 1876. He 
was succeeded by W. R. Thomas. 

Old School Mennonite Church. 

This church began to be formed in the 
spring of ]'858, David and John Neff be- 
ing particularly prominent in its organ- 
ization. In 1862 John M. Kreider was 



230 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



the regularly ordained minister. The 
members worshiped in schoolhouses un- 
til 1867, when they built their church, 
which is located on the New Carlisle and 
Dayton Pike, three miles south of New 
Carlisle. Revs. Christ. Herr, John 
Mouck and Christ. Brenner officiated at 
this church. 

Methodist Episcopal Chuech, 
donnelsville. 

This organization was first formed at 
Donnelsville in 1815 by a meeting at the 
house of the father of Jeremiah Leffel, 
who lived about two miles north of the vil- 
lage. Shortly after the village was laid 
out the congregation erected their church 
in the village of Donnelsville. 

LuTHEEAN Church, Donnelsville. 

About 1830 members of this denomina- 
tion first met at the house of Jacob 
Snyder. Later a house was built on the 
Valley Pike and was known as Croft's 
Church, because it was on the farm of 
Geo. Croft, who was instrumental in its 
erection and support. Sometime in the 
seventies this congregation erected a sub- 
stantial and commodious house in the 
village of Donnelsville. 

Schools. 

The schools of this township are 
among the best in the county, New Car- 
lisle having had a very, very select school 
for a number of years. 

The township has a high school at Olive 
Branch and is now erecting a fine new 
building. 

The following is a list of the teachers 
for the coming year : 



Superintendent, H. H. Howet; music 
supervisor, G. W. Warner; high school 
principal, Alice L. Tate; No. 1, Medway, 
principal, J. E. Baruhart ; primary, Nellie 
Stafford ; No. 2, Helmer, principal, Madge 
Crane; primary, Bessie Fross; No. 3, 
Olive Branch, principal, Cora Souders; 
primary, Berdella Furray; No. 4, Valley, 
Julia Fail-child; No. 5, Tecumseh, Edith 
Brodbreck ; No. 6, Bethel, Walter Funder- 
burg; No. 7, Advance, Ida Frantz, No. 8, 
Mt. Pleasant, principal, E. C. Lohnes; 
primary, Ethel Horn ; No. 9, Donnelsville, 
principal, G. W. Mumford; primary, 
Bertha Knott; No. 10, Centennial, yet to 
elect ; No. 11, Union, W. K. Mumford. 

One room is dropped at Bethel and 
Walter Funderbui'g will take the pupils 
of both. 

The primary room at Helmer was re- 
opened after several years, with all pupils 
in one room. 

New CaeIjIsle. 

Superintendent, Alfred Ross; music, 
Mrs. Viola Dadon; principal, Ada Koontz; 
eighth and ninth grades, Miss Sylvia 
Timmins ; sixth and seventh, Miss Carrie 
Fissel; fourth and fifth, Miss Stella 
Soward; second and third, Miss Mary 
Morris; first grade. Miss Ella Gilbert. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 : Males, 
348; fern-ales, 312; total, 660. 

New Carlisle District: Males, 126; 
females, 127 ; total, 253. 

GERMAN TOWNSHIP. 

BOUNDAEIES. 

German Township is located in the 
northern tier of townships of Clark Coun- 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



231 



ty, having Pike Township on the west and 
Moorefield Township on the east, Cham- 
paign County on the north and Spring- 
field and Bethel Townships on the south. 
Mad Eiver forms a part of its eastern 
boundary line. It is not known how it re- 
ceived the name of ' ' German. " It is sup- 
posed, however, that at an early time 
there was a considerable German popula- 
tion in the township and that this result- 
ed in the name of G-erman. We know 
that at a comparatively early date there 
was quite a German settlement in and 
around Lawrenceville, and almost all the 
Virginians were of German descent. 

Surface. 

A strip of a few miles in width at 
places along the eastern part is in the 
Mad River Valley. The remainder of the 
township is upland, covered originally 
largely with beech and poplar timber. A 
ridge "of hills leads along the Mad Eiver 
Valley to these uplands, and after the 
summit is reached the land is again com- 
paratively level. Some of the most fertile 
land in the county is found in the Mad 
Eiver bottom, in and around Tremont 
and on the uplands west of Lawrenceville. 

BOADS. 

The Mad Eiver Valley Turnpike was 
constructed in 1843-7 and goes through 
the entire township, following the course 
of Mad Eiver. It was constructed from 
Dayton to AYestville and for a long time 
was a toll-pike; afterwards the pike lead- 
ing from Springfield to Lawrenceville and 
known as the St. Paris Pike was built. 



Tliis was likewise for a time a toll-pike. 
It leads across the long bridge south of 
Eagle City. Other roads were after- 
wards constructed under the free turn- 
pike law. All told there are thirty-three 
miles of roads in the township. 

The only railroad is the D. T. & I., 
which follows the Mad Eiver Valley to 
Tremont City and then goes up along 
Chapman's Creek. The S. T. & P. trac- 
tion runs through Law^renceville and west 
to Northampton. 

Politics. 

The township is divided into two voting 
precincts, Lawrenceville and Tremont 
City. The political complexion of the 
township is Democratic, and, generally 
speaking, has been so since the birth of 
the party. During and immediately after 
the Civil War of 1861-5 it was largely so. 
The year 1848, when General Taylor, 
Whig, was elected, is the only time that its 
majority vote was not for the Democratic 
candidate. 

While some of the early settlers came 
from Kentucky, such as the Chapmans, 
Eosses, Rectors and McKinleys, the prin- 
cipal settlers of this township were Vir- 
ginians of German descent, with some 
Pennsylvanians. The township had an 
existence as a part of Champaign County. 

Popiii-ATioisr. 

The township has not made much prog- 
ress with respect to increase of popula- 
tion in the last half century. In 1850 the 
population was 1,904; in 1870, 1,908; 1880, 
2,100; ]890, 2,058; 1900, 1,995. 



232 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Acres and Assessed Value. 

The following shows the number of 
acres and assessed valuation of the real 
and personal property of the township : 

Real Personal 
Acres Estate Property Total 

Oprman Township 18,012 $677,450 $309,290 $ 986,740 
German and 
Springfield Town- 
ships ^School Dist. 408 17,660 6,010 23,670 
Tremont City 

School Dist ... 2,748 165,600 115.350 280,950 



21,168 $860,710 $430,650 $1,291,360 

Old Settlers. 

Archibald McKinley settled in Section 
17. His family was composed of Ms 
wife Polly, several daughters and sons — 
Archibald, Westley, William and James. 
Mr. McKinley did not live long, dying a 
few years after his emigration to the 
West. His children were associated with 
the early progress made in the, township. 
In 1798 William Chapman and William 
Eoss, with their families, came, the for- 
mer from Virginia and Ross from Mason 
County, Kentucky. Chapman, his wife 
and two or three children reared their, 
cabin on the farm now owned by E. 'E. 
Gard in Section 10, having entered that 
and several other sections in this vicinity. 
To this couple, in the year 1800, was born 
a son, Jesse Chapman, the first white 
child born in the territory now compris- 
ing this township. This was another 
Methodist family, with its head a local 
preacher, who, however, in later years, 
joined what was then called the New Light 
Church. 

The members of this church were gen- 
erally known as New Lights, which title 
did not suit Mr. Chapman, and some of 
the brethren, on meeting him for the first 



time after the change had taken place, ad- 
dressed him in substance as follows: 
"Well, so you are a 'New Light,' are 
you?" "No," says Mr. Chapman, "I am 
an old light newly snuffed." This man 
was one of the active and enterprising 
men of his day. He was well known over 
the county and highly esteemed by all, 
and whatever "Billy" Chapman said was 
thought to be "law find gospel." He left 
the township in 1818, going to Missouri, 
where he died in 1822. His son Jesse re- 
mained in this neighborhood until about 
1840, then going to the Pacific coast. 
The daughter of the son of the last named 
Chapman married U. S. Grant, Jr., son of 
the late President and great soldier. 
"Billy" CJhapman, as he was known far 
and wide, was one of the early inn or tav- 
ern keepers of this part of the county. 
Living on the direct road between Dayton 
and ITrbana, he had an extensive custom 
from the wagoners. 

William Ross, though not a native of 
the "Blue Grass" State, emigrated from 
Kentucky in 1797 to Ohio, stopping tem- 
porarily in Warren County, and remained 
about one year, thence moving to the 
vicinity of Tremont, entering a section of 
land just north of that village. At the 
age of thirty years, he was united in 
marriage with Winnef ord Rector, a sister 
of Charles Rector, above mentioned, 
which union was blessed with eight chil- 
dren, seven of whom were born in Ken- 
tucky, namely: William, Elijah, Nancy, 
Elizabeth, John, Presley and Mary, 
Charles having been born after their ar- 
rival. The father resided on what is now 
known as the north farm of Geo. W, 
Berry, where he built, in 1812, the first 
frame house in this region of the conn- 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



233 



trj^ It was quite a modern house, two 
stories high, with a shingle roof, with tin 
spouting, tlie latter being put up by 
Daniel Harr, a son-in-law, of Urbana. 
This house was still standing until a few 
years ago. Elijah farmed this ground 
with his father until 1825, when he moved 
out of the township and Charles took his 
place. Later Presley bought out Charles' 
interest and there died in 1852. He had 
previously farmed the present J. S. Gard 
place, and John resided on the Blose 
land, and William, Jr., at one time on the 
same property. This pioneer. Father 
Ross, has a remarkable history. When 
but five years old, while fishing with a 
white man, he was kidnapped by two In- 
dians, and was about to be burned, having 
been sent to gather the fagots by which 
the burning was to be accomplished, 
when there happened along a French 
trader and interceded in the boy's be- 
half, giving- them each a blanket and 
thereby saving his life. Ross was taken 
by the trader to Detroit, where he was 
made a page to the trader's daughters. 
In those days it Avas fashionable for the 
French ladies to wear very long trails, 
which were carried by pages. He had 
been gone for years and given up his 
parents as dead, when during the French 
and Indian war, his brother John was 
among the soldiers at Detroit, and there 
seeing the boy, recognized him and 
took him home. Mr. Ross was a great 
Methodist, and his house was the preach- 
ing place for that denomination for years. 
He was a valuable man in the community. 
His sons settling around him and being 
industrious soon made a visible mark in 
the forest. His son John served in the 
War of 1812; was among the first to 



marry in the township, being united to 
Miss Rachel Wallace in the year 1806. 
He lived to the advanced age of four- 
score and four years. 

The settlement was increased in 1801 
by the coming of Jacob Kiblinger, a na- 
tive of Virginia, who purchased eighty 
acres of land and returned to his native 
state, and, between the years of 1801 and 
1805, made four trips to this vicinity, 
moving several families of the Kiblingers 
and Fences. Among the latter was a 
John Pence. These all became permanent 
settlers in Gennan Township. Jacob 
Kiblinger, Sr., father of the one above 
mentioned, erected the first saw and 
hemp mill, located on Mad River, near 
where the "Eagle Mills" now stand, in 
this section of the country. Another from 
the "Bhie Grass" region came in 1802, 
in the person of Elijah Weaver, a native 
of Virginia. In 1807 he married Mary 
McKinley, and settled in the northeastern 
part of the township. They had a son, 
Newton, born to them in 1810, who was 
the father of .Johnson P. Weaver, still 
living. Elijah died three years later. 
Virginia again responded to the call for 
emigrants, and, in 1804, sent forth David 
Jones and family, consisting of his wife, 
Margaret, and the following children: 
Mary, Margaret, James M., Lydia and 
Kiziah. Mr. Jones purchased land on 
Chapman's Creek, about one and a half 
miles west of the village of Tremont. 
Mr. Jones died in his ninety-fifth year; 
his wife died in 1850, in her seventy-third 
year. His mother lived to be one hun- 
dred and nine years old. At one hundred 
and three she walked a distance to attend 
church and at that age could knit nicely. 
James M., a child, died at Tremont 



234 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



August 16, 1880, and several are in this 
township. S. H., a son of James M., is 
still living in Tvemont. 

The following year emigrated from Vir- 
ginia Daniel Gentis, entering 160 acres 
of land in Section 23. He had a large 
family of children, the boys settling in 
the neighborhood, and did much to de- 
velop the country. Job Gard came about 
the year 1803, or perhaps a little later. 
He was a native of New Jersey, but had 
emigrated to Kentucky and from that 
State to the township of German, settling 
in Section 17. This family on their ar- 
rival was composed of eight persons, in- 
cluding the wife, Elizabeth, and six chil- 
dren — Gersham, Daniel, Simon, Rachel, 
Sarah and Phoebe. Quite a number of 
the descendants of this family are now 
living in the township, and are among the 
substantial men of the community. The 
father erected several mills along Mad 
River in an early day ; was in the War of 
1812; a very useful citizen, an active 
pioneer and business man. The settle- 
ment was augmented in 1805 by the fam- 
ilies of Philip Kizer, George Glass, Daniel 
Gentis and Abraham Zerkle. Kizer set- 
tled east of Tremont, having come from 
Virginia ; served in the "War of 1812 as a 
captain. Zerkle was from Virginia, and 
entered land in Section 9. The Weavers, 
William and Christopher, were very early 
settlers in this locality, coming about the 
beginning of this century. William 
Haller, from personal knowledge of sev- 
eral of these pioneers, speaks of them as 
follows: "William Ross was of medium 
stature and had wonderful strength and 
endurance. Charles Rector was larger, 
was strong and very hardy. These men 
and families were fitted for a new coun- 



try life and were valuable Christian men. 
Weaver was also a man of fine stature, an 
upright and Christian man." 

The pioneers of 1806 were Daniel Kib- 
linger and Thomas Nauman, Jr., the for- 
mer hailing from that State in after years 
designated as the "Mother of Presi- 
dents," whence so many of our pioneers 
came. Nauman, too, was a native of 
Virginia, and came to this vicinity on 
horseback and made his home with 
Matthias Friermood, who was a settler at 
a still earlier date. In 1809 Thomas 
Nauman, Sr., and family settled in the 
township. He was one of the patriotic 
men who, just prior to the War of 1776, 
assisted in throwing overboard the cargo 
of tea in Boston Harbor. In 1810 Felty 
Snyder, of Virginia, effected a settlement 
in this locality. Benjamin Morris, from 
the same State, came the year previous, 
and, in 1810, entered 160 acres in the 
southern part of the township. He 
served in the War of 1812. He died at 
an advanced age. Samuel Baker and 
John Keller were added to the colony in 
the year 1811 ; and the next year Rudolph 
Baker and Benjamin Frantz, the former 
being from Virginia and the latter from 
Pennsylvania. Frantz was another who 
served his country in the war then waged 
by the mother country. 

Virginia continued to send forth her 
sons, Samuel Meranda emigrating in 
1814, purchasing a tract of land where 
Jefferson Meranda now lives, and, in 
J 816, came Matthias Rust and Frederick 
Michael. Jacob Maggart, his brother 
David, and Philip Goodman are also 
numbered with the pioneers of the town- 
ship. At a very early day, Jeremiah 
Simms and familv came to this section of 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



235 



the county, but the country was so new 
and thinly settled that they returned to 
Virginia and again came out in about 
1806, and entered a quarter-section of 
land in the southern part of the town- 
ship (Sintz neighborhood); He was a 
valuable man, being a blacksmith by 
trade, a mechanic then greatly needed in 
the settlement. One of his sons, Jere- 
miah, Jr., was a local preacher, and 
preached the. first sermon in Rector 
Church, which was delivered over the re- 
mains of Catharine Peck in the year 
1822. George Welchans and William 
Enoch, the former of Pennsylvania and 
the latter from Virginia, settled here in 
1808. John Kemp, of Virginia, and 
Thomas Hays, . a native of Kentucky, 
came in 1809, the former settling on Sec- 
tion 14, and the latter on Section 25. In 
1812 Oden Hays, a son of the one men- 
tioned, was lost in a snowstorm and was 
afterward found dead in a hollow log on 
Section 32. Joseph Perrin came from 
Virginia in 1810. Jacob, Henry and Mar- 
tin Baker were all early settlers of Ger- 
man Township, and natives of Virginia. 
Jacob settled on Section 14 in 1813, died 
in 1821, and is buried in the Lawrenceville 
Cemetery. His sons, Philip, Henry, 
Jacob, Martin, John and Samuel, as well 
as three daughters, i*esided in this town- 
ship. Andrew and Emanuel Circle set- 
tled in the southeastern part of German, 
on Mad Eiver, at an early day. They 
were natives of Virginia, and have de- 
scendants yet living in the township. 
Benjamin Eeam, of Pennsylvania, settled 
with his family on Section 32 after the 
War of 1812, in which he served; and, in 
3816, John Lorton and his wife, Rachel, 
natives of Kentucky, settled in this part 



of Clark County; also Matthias Staley, of 
Maryland, who was a carpenter by trade, 
came in 1S20, and each of these last men- 
tioned pioneer families have descendants 
now residents of German Township. 

Among others who we may well call 
pioneers wei'e Adam Eockel, a soldier of 
the War of 1812, and Philip Kern, natives 
of Pennsylvania, who settled on Section 9 
in 1822. Mr. Eockel married Polly Baker, 
daughter of Philip Baker, who had five 
children born to her, viz: Peter, Henry, 
William, Harriet and Mary. Mr. Eockel 
died at the advanced age of ninety in 1884, 
and his wife in 1886. Mr. Kern married 
the sister of Mr. Eockel, and their son, 
Adam, resided until his death, about 
1888, upon the old place. John Beamer 
came from Virginia, in 3816, settling on 
Section 13. His wife was Elizabeth 
Mulholland, and they had three children, 
viz: Thomas, Valentine and Eliza, 
the latter the wife of Dr. McLaughlin, of 
Tremont, died in 1892. Mr. Beamer 
and wife died on the old homestead. An- 
other family w^ell worthy of mention is 
that of William Ballentine, a native of 
Ireland, who came to Ohio in 1831, and in 
1832 settled in German Township, where 
he died in 1851. His wife, Nancy Nail, 
was also a native of Ireland, where they 
were married. Of their union were born 
twelve children, one of whom is living, 
James V., aged eighty-four. 

David Kizer was born in Shenandoah 
County, Virginia, December 20, 1779; 
married to Eva Nawman, June 23, 1806; 
died December 31, 1847, and was buried 
in Green Mount Cemetery. His wife was 
born July 11, 1787, and died September 
8, 1869. ' 

Mr. Kizer came to Clark County in the 



236 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



year 1809, and settled on Section 7, 
Town 4, Range 10, M. R. S., in what is 
now German Township (it was then 
called Boston), and took an active part 
in the public affairs of that day. He was 
chosen justice of the peace in 1811; was 
"out" in the War of 1812, and upon the 
establishment of this county in 1818 was 
appointed its first recorder, to which office 
he was several times re-elected. 

Mr. Kizer brought a small library of 
books with him, and, being inclined to 
scholarly habits, his house became the 
headquarters of the literary element of 
the neighborhood. 

The children of this pioneer were 
Phoebe, born May 20, 1807; Rebecca, 
born May 29, 1809; Lydia, born April 15, 
1811; Thomas, bom December 18, 1812, 
who was county surveyor for more than 
twenty years; Susannah, born August 17, 
1815, and Eli, born January 25, 1823. All 
are now deceased. 

First Events. 

Jesse Chapman, born in 1800, was the 
first white child born in this towmship 
and perhaps in the county. The first 
marriage recorded was that of Thomas 
Pence to Mary Ross in 1801. The first 
schoolhouse was erected about a mile 
west of Tremont in 1803. The first mill 
was built near the entrance of Storm's 
Creek into Mad River prior to 1810. 
(See mills.) 

Most of the early settlements of this 
township were made along Mad River 
and Chapman's Creek these streams af- 
fording the mill power, which was con- 
sidered of great importance to the early 
settlers to grind their wheat into flour 
and convert their corn into whiskev, there 



being no shipping facilities. So along- 
Mad 'River and Chapman's Creek there 
sprang up a large number of grist mills 
and distilleries, also carding mills, and 
as the land of the township was well cov- 
ered with timber, saw-mills were found 
, quite frequently on these streams. 

In addition to the settlers mentioned 
above, whose names are mostly included 
in Beer's History, others might be men- 
tioned with more or less particularity. 
Dr. Andrew McLaughlin was a citizen of 
Tremont for many years. Born in Con- 
cord Township, Champaign County, Ohio, 
of Scotch descent, he commenced the 
practice of his profession in Tremont in 
1836 and continued there until his death 
in the early eighties. Everybody in that 
vicinity knew Dr. "Mac," as he was 
familiarly called. He was a large, portly 
man, weighing 340 pounds. He was an 
expert in fever cases, his ability in this 
class of cases no doubt resulting from his 
large practice in that line in a newly in- 
habited country. One of his peculiar 
characteristics was his habit of whistling. 
While he whistled no particular tune, it 
was of such strong tone as to be heard 
for miles. He left no offspring. He died 
in the fall of 1882. 

Another doctor of that vicinity about 
the same time was Dr. Hiram Senseman, 
whose widow rectotly (1907) died. Dr. 
Senseman was a graduate of Jefferson 
University, Pennsylvania, and settled in 
Tremont in 1853 and continued there un- 
til he died in 1883. He was a learned 
man and successful in his profession. 

John Kiblinger, frequently called 
"Curly" Kiblinger, by reason of his curly 
hair, was long a well known resident of 
this township, ser^^ing upon the Agricul- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



237 



tural Board and in other positions of that 
character. He was born in 1816 on the 
farm where he died, near Eagle City, in 
the earlier part of the nineties. He was 
of very lively disposition and for some- 
time was owner of the Eagle City Mills. 

Long time residents of this township 
were Adam and Christian Neff, brothers, 
who came to this township from Virginia 
in 1832, settling south of Tremont City, 
and resided in this vicinity until their 
deaths. Adam was prominent in church 
and agricultural matters. His first wife 
was a daughter of an early settler, Isaac 
Turman. They were both honored cit- 
izens in their time, and died in recent 
years. Adam died in 1885 and Christian 
in 1894. ■ 

A very noted character at this time was 
the Rev. "Johnnie'' Pence, an ordained 
minister of the German Reform Church. 
He commenced preaching at about 1827 
and continued in that avocation until his 
death in the eighties, although more than 
eighty years of age. 

Jacob Mitzel was a Pennsylvanian, who 
emigrated to this township in 1852, and in 
1860 was married to Elnora, daughter of 
Adam Neff . He is still living a short dis- 
tance west of Tremont City and is one 
of the best farmers in the township. 

The Gard family is rather a noted one 
of this township, .the father, Gersham 
Gard, having come to this township as 
early as 1805. He had a large family, 
all of whom now are deceased except Eli, 
who still resides in Tremont. Silas H., 
deceased some years ago, lived south of 
this village, and Dr. John S. north. 
Emerson E., the owner of the Tremont 
City elevator, is a son of Silas H. They 
were an active, progressive family, inter- 

13 



ested in the welfare of the township gen- 
erally. 

John E. Lorton was township treasurer 
for some years and lived near Lawrence- 
ville, having been born there in 1827; he 
died a few years ago. 

C. F. Rohrer, an active member in local 
affairs in this township for a number of 
years, who lived a few miles north of 
Tremont City, died recently. 

Emanuel Hause was for many years a 
blacksmith and still lives in Lawrence- 
ville. He came from Pennsylvania in 
1848. He lived for a time in Lawrence - 
ville and afterwards moved onto a farm 
and again back to the village. 

Jesse Mead, a farmer, active in fine 
stock, lived east of Tremont City along 
Mad River until his death in 1880. 

The Adam Baker family came from 
Pennsylvania in 1836 and settled near 
Eagle City Mills. This family was prom- 
inent in Clark County. Two of their 
sons, William and Cornelius, and one 
grandson, A. J., having been sheriffs of 
the county. 

Some of the old pioneers of the town- 
ship now living are James V. Ballentine, 
84: Silas Baker, 84; George Ramsey, 80; 
David Enoch, past 82, and Henry Deam, 
over 80. 

Adam Rockel, the ancestor of the 
Rockel family of this county, came with 
his father, Peter Rockel, to this township 
in 1822 and settled one mile south of 
Tremont City, wh?re he lived until his 
death in 1884. His son Henry, now past 
seventy years of age, resides in Tremont. 

Politics. 

German Township being Democratic in 
politics did not furnish many county 



238 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



officials; liowever, the elder Adam Baker 
was a county commissioner in 1849. In 
1871 John H. Blose was elected a member 
of the constitutional convention, and in 
1874 he was elected as a Democrat for 
one term as county commissioner. Mr. 
Blose is still living, and perhaps we might 
say is one of the most, if not the most, 
distinguished residents of this township). 

Mr. Blose was born in Champaign 
County in 1838 and was married in 1857 
to Caroline, daughter of David Stein- 
barger. 

In 1903 Joseph H. Collins was elected 
county commissioner as a Republican. 
He was re-nominated for a second term 
in 1905, and died before he had tilled the 
full length of his first term. Mr. Collins 
was a Virginian by birth and came to 
this township in 1860, and in 1864 mar- 
ried Mary E. Rockel, daughter of Adam 
Rockel. 

The following persons have served in 
the past as .iustiee of the peace: John 
Goble, Hugh H. Frazier, John McCauley, 
Philip Kizer, William Enoch, Peter Min- 
nich, George Michael, Joseph Underwood, 
Elias Darnell, Samuel Bechtle, J. S. Gard, 
Thomas Elliott, Michael Bowman, Jacob 
Argobright, Peter McLaughlin, William 
W. Lee, Eli Kizer, Alexander Michael, L. 
Bechtle and James V. Ballentine. 

Justices of the peace since 1871 : 

Alexander Michael 1871-1S74 

.Tohn H. Blose 1872, resided 1878-1890 

Jacob Argobriglu 1872-1875 

John S. Gard 1873-1870 

Lafavette Bechtle 1876-1879 

James V. Ballentine 1880-1880 

John H. Hartman 1880-1892 

Jacob Hartman 1892-189."> 

W. S. Neese 1S93-1902-1905 

D. R. Shuman 189.0-1898 

Perrv E. Circle 1898-1901 

A. L. Rust lS99-190r> 

F. P. Blose 1904-1908 

J. B. Minnich 1904-190S 

C. E. Zerkle (elect) 



For a number of years past Dr. J. H. 
Reynolds, of Lawrenceville has been 
township clerk, D. Benton Jenkins was 
township clerk, 1894-1898, and Americus 
James, treasurer, 1895-1897, and the fol- 
lowing have served as township trustees : 

John E. Lorton 1881,1883,1884 

J. P. Weaver 1882, 

John Wilson 1883, 

Peter Snyder 1883-1892 

Michael Shawver 1883-1885 

Henrv Titer 1885-1893 

Samuel Arthur 1S86-18S8 

David Enoch 1889-1890 

Henrv Fisher 1891-1900 

C. H. Bailev 189.3-1901, 1905 

Harvey Bowers 1902-1904 ' 

H. C. Fisher 1902-1905 

(Resigned and C. H. Bailev appointed.) 

Emanuel Mitzel 1894- 

N. B. Wagoner 1905- 

Michael Rader 1905- 

Oscar J. Rockel (elect) 

Churches. 

Formerly churches were organized in 
various parts of the country districts, 
but in later years the tendency has been 
to abandon these country churches and 
centralize religious worship in villages 
and cities. Thus we find that at this 
time the principal churches of the town- 
ship are in the villages of Tremont and 
Lawrenceville. 

The congregations now controlling the 
Methodist Episcopal Church in Tremont 
is the successor of that congregation that 
in 1820 built a log church just over the 
county line north. This church was after- 
wards succeeded by a frame building, 
which is still standing, not far from the 
Valley Pike, north of Tremont City. The 
congregation, however, moved itself to 
Tremont City in 1838 and there built a 
brick structure, which was taken down in 
1880 and replaced by the present struc- 
ture. It has recently been remodeled and 
is now in good condition, the Rev. Wiant 
being the present pastor. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



239 



Sometime before the log church above 
referred to was built, the Methodists in 
the southern part of the township had an 
organization and in 1852 they built a log 
meetinghouse. This structure was after- 
wards torn down and the present church, 
which is known as Simms Chapel, was 
erected in 1854. There is a cemetery ad- 
joining this church. 

The Lutheran and German Reform 
people built a union church at Lawrence- 
ville about the year 1821 and continued to 
use it jointly until 1844, at about which 
time the Lutherans built a church on the 
Valley Pike, opposite from the Eagle 
City Mills. This Lutheran church was 
afterwards destroyed by fire. There is a 
cemetery surrounding its former location. 
The German Reform Church at Lawrence- 
ville is in flourishing condition at this 
time, having recently been remodeled and 
reconstructed. The Rev. J. C. Paul is 
the present pastor. 

In 1863 the German Reform Church or- 
ganized a congregation in Tremont City, 
the Rev. Jesse Richards being the organ- 
izer. This church is still in flourishing 
condition, a cemetery surrounding its 
location, and the Rev. Woerner is pastor. 

About 1827 or '28 the Rev. John Pence, 
heretofore referred to, commenced preach- 
ing in the neighborhood a few miles this 
side of Dialton, and this resulted in the 
formation there of a church of the reform 
denomination. It was called Jerusalem. 
The first structure was a huge log one; 
this was afterwards torn down and a 
brick one built and this was likewise de- 
stroyed by fire, and a few years ago the 
congregation built a new church in the 
village of Dialton. There is a cemetery 



surrounding the location of this old 
church. 

Schools. 

The schools of German Township have 
been recognized for some time as being 
equal to any in the county. This town- 
ship was among the first, if not the first, 
to have a township high school, such a 
school having been established in 1874 at 
Lawrenceville. It still aifords advanced 
educational privileges for the pupils of 
the township. The first schoolhouse was 
built in this township a short distance 
north of Tremont City upon the lands of 
Mr. Sager. This was in 1803, and it is 
said that Peter Oliver, of Kentucky, was 
the first schoolmaster. In recent years 
the sub-district formerly comprising the 
locality in which Tremont City is situated 
has been laid off to itself as a special 
school district. The lower part of the 
township forms a joint sub-district with 
the schools of Springfield township. The 
following constitute the present school 
board of the township: Charles Smith, 
president; 0. J. Rockel, clerk; S. S- 
Snyder, E. Z. Zerkle and W. H. Shawver. 

The following are the teachers for the 
"present year: Superintendent, J. W. 
Coleman ; assistant high school teacher, 
Clyde Xanders; No. 1, Jackson, Orris 
Haulman; No. 2, Mt. Zion, F. P. Blose; 
No. 3, Eureka, Irwin Baker; No. 4, 
Lawrenceville, A. L. Rust; No. 5, "Willow 
Dale, G. W. Kohler ; No. 6, Beech Center, 
W. G. Griest ; No. 7, Beech Crossing, Miss 
Jessie Miller; No. 8, Beech Knob, Grover 
Circle; No. 9, Deers, A. W. Blose; No. 10, 
Fairview, Miss Carol Hutchinson. 



240 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Tkemont. 

Superintendent, T. J. Heck; high 
school, assistant and seventh and eighth 
grades, F. E. Peneton; fourth, fifth and 
sixth grades, AV. S. Neese; first, second 
and third, Mary Hutchinson. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 : Males, 
237; females, 186; total, 423. 

Tremont City: Males, 63; females, 
59; total, 122. 

GREEN TOWNSHIP. 

Boundaries. 

Grreen Township is located immediately 
south of Spring-field Township, west of 
Madison and east of Mad River Town- 
ships and north of Greene County. In the 
greater part of the township the land is 
laid out as Congress land, only that south 
of the Little Miami River being a part 
of the Virginia Military Reservation. 
The township was formed in 1818, upon 
the organization of the county. It takes 
its name from Greene County, it being 
territory that upon the formation of 
Clark County was taken from Greene 
County, the line between this and Spring- 
field Township having been the former 
line between Greene County and Cham- 
paign County. When the territory in this 
county was a part of Greene County it 
formed a part of Bath Township. 

Streams. 

Across the southeastern part of the 
county flows the Little Miami River. 
The valley is not A^ery wide, but is quite 
fertile. Not far from the Greene County 
line east of Clifton the Little Miami River 
forks, and a branch called the North Fork 



of the Little Miami flows up through the 
center of the township past Pitchin. 
Mill Creek flows in a northwesterly direc- 
tion through the northwestern part of the 
township. These streams cause the town- 
ship to be very well watered and suit- 
able for agricultural and grazing pur- 
poses. 

Timber. 

The land was originally very nearly all 
covered with timber, there being occa- 
sionally a small patch of prairie along 
some of these streams. This timber con- 
sists of white, black and burr oaks, hick- 
ory, walnut and ash. A very fine quality 
of timber was originally found on a great 
deal of the land. In the underbrush was 
found the hazel, plum, crab-apple, thorn 
and grajDevine. In addition to these 
streams of water there are some very fine 
springs. 

Crops. 

The land is adapted for the raising of 
those crops which are most familiar in 
Clark County, to-wit: Wheat, corn and 
oats. The village of Clifton on the south 
is partly located in this township and 
partly in Greene County. Pitchin is the 
principal village and is situated a little 
north and east of the center of the town- 
ship. Cortsville is located in the extreme 
southeastern part. (See villages.) Green 
has less mileage of railroads than any 
other township of the county, excepting 
Pleasant and Pike. 

Roads, Etc. 

The Columbus branch of the Panhandle 
crosses the extreme southeastern corner 
of the township, and the Springfield 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



241 



branch the northwestern corner. The 
Springfield and Charleston traction line 
touches the northern part of the town- 
ship. The township is well provided with 
ordinary roads. A good many of them, 
however, are laid out in a crooked line, 
seemingly following the course estab- 
lished by the old Indian trails. The Clif- 
ton Pike leads directly north and south 
about two miles west of the center, and 
the pike leading from Spring-field to Selma 
runs in a diagonal direction through the 
eastern part of the township. These two 
pikes furnish the chief avenues leading to 
the city of Springfield. There are fifty- 
five miles of roads in the township. 

Population. 

Like other townships in the county, 
Green has not increased in population 
very rapidly. In 1850 it had 1,386; in 
1870, 1,464: 1880, 1,524; in 1890, 1,532, 
and in 1900, 1,425. 

Acreage and Assessed Valxje. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres of land in the township and the 
assessed valuation of the real estate and 
personal property as the same is divided 
for school purposes : 

Real Personal 
Acres Estate Property Total 

Gi-pen l«,o61 $571,840 $296,900 $ 848,740 

„ „ ,, ™ r^ T^- ^ /./^rr trroon a oaCi •>-! Ron 



Gr. & M. T. Sc. Dist. 605 
Clifton School . . 2,374 
Clifton Town ... 19 
Selma School . . . 3,024 



17,830 

89,790 

8,090 

107,560 



6,860 
22,980 

3,870 
46,680 



24,690 
112,770 

11,960 
154,240 



Total 24,-583 $795,110 $377,290 $1,172,400 

Politics. 

A considerable number of the early 
settlers came from Pennsylvania others 
from Virginia and Maryland. Ever since 
the organization of the township its vote 



has been against the Democratic party. 
During Whig times the plurality in favor 
of the Whigs was usually about one hun- 
dred. After that party went out of ex- 
istence, and the Eepublican party came in, 
the majority ran as high as 250 at times 
in favor of candidates of that party. The 
township being of the same political com- 
plexion as the county, it has been enabled 
to furnish a large proportion of the pub- 
lic officials. 

Eakly Settlebs. 

It is supposed that settlements were 
made in Green Township as early as 
1800, but there is no evidence of any 
permanent settlement until 1804, at which 
date Abraham Inlow settled on Section 
6, Township 4, Range 8. He was born in 
Maryland March 25, 1777, and, in 1804, 
came with his father, Henry Inlow, to 
Donnelsville, where he remained a short 
time, then coming to Green Township. 
His parents returned to Kentucky, whence 
they had come, and there died. Mr. 
Inlow was married twice, and had four 
children by his first marriage, all of 
whom are dead; his second wife was 
Margaret Foley, who had eight children — 
Jemima, Catherine, Anna and Margaret 
grew to maturity, but Anna is now the 
only survivor. Mr. Inlow died October 4, 
1840, and his wife, who was a native of 
Kentuckj^ and the daughter of Daniel and 
Catherine Foley, died November 7, 1872. 

In 1805 Thomas Luse and his parents. 
Justice and Mary Luse, came to this 
township and settled on Section 32, where 
Justice and his wife died. Thomas was 
born in Kentucky in 1797 ; he was married 
to Nancy Funston, a native of the town- 
ship, born in 1816, and who is yet living 



242 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



here. They had eleven children, nine of 
whom are yet living. Mr. Luse died in 
1878, much respected. 

Ebenezer Wheeler settled on Section 
12, Township 4, Range 8, m 1806. He 
was born in New Jersey September 15, 
1782, and came with his father to Cin- 
cinnati in 1800. He married Joanna 
Miller in 1803 ; in 1810 or 1811 he removed 
to Urbana, Ohio; thence, in 1815, to In- 
diana, returning to his farm in this 
township in 1820, where he died in 1862, 
in his eightieth year. 

Jacob Hubble settled on the same sec- 
tion as Mr. Wheeler in 1806. In the same 
year Samnel and John T. Stewart settled 
on Section 15, Township 5, Range 8, 
where they bought and improved 500 
acres of land. They were natives of 
Dauphin County, Pennsylvania. The for- 
mer was born in 1775, and was married in 
1807 to Elizabeth Elder. He was at 
Hull's surrender as a captain of a militia 
company, and died on his farm in this 
township in 1854. John T. was born in 
1781; was married in 1815 to Ann Elder, 
who became the mother of ten children, 
nine of whom are living. He died in 
April, 1850, and his widow in September, 
1880. 

In 1808 James B. Stewart, a brother of 
the former two, settled in Section 6, 
Township 5, Range 8. He was also from 
Pennsylvania, born in 1777, and was mar- 
ried to Anna Beaty in 1807, in Butler 
County, Ohio. He lost his eyesight when 
a young man, and died in 1828; his son, 
John B., resided on a part of the farm, 
moving to Pitchin before his death. 

In the same year as James B. Stewart 
came, the whole of Section 18 was pur- 
chased by John H. Garlough, a native of 



Germany, who emigrated to Maryland, 
there married, and with his wife came to 
Ohio about 1790, and to this township in 
1808. His descendants still own nearly 
all of his purchase. He was killed in 
1820 by a vicious bull while engaged in 
building a grist-mill. His son Jacob fell 
heir to the homestead; he was born in 
1796; married Nancy Luse, daughter of 
Justice Luse, about 1821, and died in 1878, 
aged eighty-two, leaving many descend- 
ants who do credit to his name. The fam- 
ily are noted for longevity, all living to 
ripe old age, much beyond the allotted 
time of man. 

Samuel Kelly and Timothy Stratton 
came in 1808, the former settling on Sec- 
ton 30, Township 5, Range 8, and the lat- 
ter on Section 29. 

Grabriel, George and William Albin 
came about 1810, settling in the western 
part of the township. George was in the 
War of 1812, and died in 1872. 

In 1811, Seth Smith located on Survey 
615. His son Seth was born in Tennes- 
see in 1798, and died on the farm his 
father purchased seventy years ago, in 
1876, leaving four children. The whole 
family were peace-loving Friends, and did 
much for the moral welfare of this com- 
nmnity, their descendants being- now 
prominent in social and business circles. 

Arthur Forbes, a patriotic Irishman, 
who fled from English oppression, set- 
tled on Section 27 about 1811. He reared 
a large family and lived to a ripe old age, 
dying about 1848. Like all Irishmen, he 
loved liberty and hated tyranny. 

Thomas Mills settled on Section 23, 
where his son John now resides, in 1812. 
He was born in Virginia, in 1785, and in 
1790 came with his parents to Kentucky, 



.■tx% 




SINKIXf; CRl'll'K CFlURCtr, SPRTNGFIKLD 
'lOVVNSilll' 




HOUSE BUILT BY JOHN PAUL, FIRST SET- 
TLER IN CLARK COUNTY 
(The spot on which man and woman are standing 
was the site of his first cabin, Ijnilt in 1780) 




(;i'N. W'illTI'iMAN'S OLD STOXI': IfOUSIC 
CLd'TON' 




THE OLD CARTMELL RESIDENCE, PLEAS- 
ANT TOWNSHIP 
(Over 100 years old) 





HOiVri': OF JOHN THRASHER, LAGONDA, 
SPRINGFIELD 



OLD MILL AT NEW CARLISLE 
t Built 1)y Mayor Reyburn's grandfather) 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



245 



where lie was married, thence to Ohio at 
the date above mentioned, dying in 1865. 
He was prominent in township affairs at 
an early day. 

Early settlers in this township were 
William and John Gondy, who came in 
1808 ; they were natives of Pennsylvania, 
who first settled in Hamilton County, 
Ohio, in 1803, whence they came to Clark. 
Many of their descendants are living 
thronghont the coimty. 

Eobert Elder, Sr., came from Dauphin 
County, Pennsylvania, in 1813, and bought 
from Mr. Funk fractional section No. 10, 
which contained about six hundred acres, 
on which he and his family settled; this 
land is yet owned in the family. Mr. 
Elder died October 3, 1825, and his wife 
September 20, 1827. Two of his sons yet 
reside in the township — Robert and John, 
the former being in his eightieth and the 
latter in his seventy-fourth year, and the 
name is largely represented by worthy 
descendants. 

James Stewart, a cousin of those pre- 
viously mentioned, came in 1813, and 
bought the land upon which his sons, 
Elijah, James F. and David, now live. 
He was bom in Pennsylvania about 1782, 
and there married to Jane Elder, a sister 
of Samuel and John T. Stewart's wives, 
and died on the homestead in G-reen Town- 
ship, in 1852, aged seventy. 

In ]816, William Estle settled in the 
township; he was born in New Jersey in 
1791, and there married in 1813, eight 
children being the fruits of this union. 
He died in 1859, and his wife in 1877. 

Stephen Kitchen, a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, settled in Warren Connty, Ohio, 
at an early day, and in 1818 came with his 
family to this township, settling on the 



farm where his son Abraham has resided 
for more than half a century. Stephen 
went to Illinois, and was there drowned 
in the Illinois River. 

James Todd came in 1818; was ma;r- 
ried in 1819 to Betsy Garlough, of 
which union four sons and five daughters 
are the fruits; the sons are John 
H., W. Brand, Samuel A. and James, 
and the daughters are all living near 
the old home. Mr. Todd was born 
in Pennsylvania in 1797, and his wife 
in Maryland in 1799. He came with his 
parents to Ohio in 1806, settling on a 
stream in Warren County, which has since 
been known as Todd's Fork. Thence he 
came to this township, where he was mar- 
ried, and settled on Section 18, in the 
northern part of the township. He died 
in 1863. His widow is yet living on the 
old homestead, being now in her eighty- 
third year. He was a soldier in the war 
of 1812; was a millwright and carpenter, 
and had an extensive acquaintance. 

Thomas Tindall was born in England 
in 1786, and came with his family to 
Green Township in 1819, where he died in 
1856, his widow dying in 1872. -They left 
a large family of children, who are well 
known in the count;^''. 

In 1824, James and John Anderson, na- 
tives of Scotland, but claiming no re- 
lationship, came here from Greene Coun- 
ty, where they had settled in 1819. James 
settled on section 33, and John on 28, both 
living to a ripe old age, leaving large and 
prosperous families. James died in 1864, 
aged eighty -four; his son "Squire" 
James Anderson died in 1906, and was a 
man of moral worth and strict integrity. 

"Among the other early settlers of 
Green were William Barnes, on Section 



246 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



33; George Weaver and George Hemple- 
man. on Section 10; David and Thomas 
Littler, Robert Laing, Lewis Skillings 
(wlio lived but a short time in this town- 
ship, moving across the line to Spriug'field 
Township), John Baldwin, Gideon, and 
Charles Bloxain, Josiah Bates, William 
Marshall, John Wade, Wesley and Jack- 
son Allen, John Nagley and James Mason, 
nearly all of whom were from Virginia, 
and came for the purpose of making a 
home in the then dense forest of Ohio. 
Those men must have had rare courage, 
to undertake such a task, and posterity 
will ever honor their memory." 

Early Events. 

The death of John H. Garlough in 1810 
was the first and his grave is the oldest 
in the Garlough Graveyard. A Mrs. Wil- 
son, of a family run in by the Indians, 
who killed one child, died by over-exer- 
tion and fear in 1813. 

The first frame house raised iu the 
township was Seth Smith's in 1817. The 
mill at Clifton was built about 1800. John 
Stewart built the first brick hoiase in 1823. 
Other brick houses were built by James 
Stewart in 1828, Gabriel Albin in 1830 and 
Ebenezer Wheeler in 1833. 

The Baptist organization built a rough 
log church house in 1807, on the north 
bank of the Little Miami, a short distance 
from Jolm Whiteman's house. The In- 
dians vacated the township about the com- 
mencement of the War of 1812. Their 
last camping ground around here was on 
the south bank of the Little Miami just 
below where the north fork entered that 
stream. 

Verv little of manufacturing or mill in- 



dustry appeared at any time in this town- 
ship. At one time there was a saw-mill 
over at Allentown, also one at Pitchin and 
on the Little Miami. 

The market for the farmers' products 
at this time is principally in Springfield 
although in the southeastern part some 
of the products are taken to Selma, and 
in the southwestern part to Yellow 
Springs. 

Recent Inhabitants. 

Among the present old pioneers of the 
township are Mrs. Eichelberger, aged 
88; John G. Hatfi.eld, S6; John Weller 
aged 90. 

The persons active in the affairs of this 
township to date are descendants of the 
pioneers that are mentioned in the ac- 
count above given, which is taken from 
Beers' History and was complied by 
Perry Stewart, son of John T. Stewart, 
tJian whom no one was better prepared 
to write such a history. Perry Stewart 
was bom in Green Township on June 6, 
1818, and was the eldest son of John and 
Anna (Elder) Stewart. His father came 
to this township from Pennsylvania in 
1806. His mother the daughter of Robert 
and Ann Elder who came to this town- 
ship in 1813. This Stewart family was 
a remarkable one in more than one re- 
spect, there having been born as brothers 
and sisters of Perry Stewart (Perry be- 
ing the eldest), E. R. Stewart, still liv- 
ing aged 86; Samuel Stewart, Charles 
Stewart, James M. Stewart, still living, 
Thomas E. Stewart, Julianna Stewart 
Anderson, Oscar N. Stewart, still living, 
and W. C. Stewart, still living. Perry, 
or, as he was usually called, Captain 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



247 



Perry Stewart, died in the fall of 1906. 
He was married in 1844 to Miss Rhoda 
Wheeler who was also born in this town- 
ship and had a large family of children, 
Charles F. being the present township 
clerk, and Pearl having been treasurer 
of this county. Captain Stewart acquired 
his military title in the War of the Re- 
bellion, having been eommdssioned cap- 
tain of the ninety-fourth 0. V. I. He was 
afterwards, in 1S65, chosen county com- 
missioner, and in 1867 representative to 
the General Assembly from this county. 
His brothers were all good citizens, James 
having been probate judge of Greene 
County, and Charles in his lifetime a 
member, for a number of years, of the 
County Agricultural Board. 

Chase Stewart, an attorney in the city 
of Springfield, is the son of Samuel, who 
moved to Hardin County. Earle, the 
present representative from this county 
to the Legislature, is the son of Thomas 
E. . 

Descendants of the Stewart family are 
inter-married in this township, so that 
there is a very large family connection, 
the present representative, James Hat- 
field, and CovTuty Commissioner R. N. 
Elder, recently deceased, having married 
daughters of Captain Perry Stewart. 

Another family that has left a very 
large connection in this township was the 
Garlough family. John P., a life-long 
resident of this township and for many 
years squire, died in 190.5. James T., son 
of Jacob Garlough, born in 1834, having 
held numerous township positions, died in 
1904. 

The Kitchen family, of which Abraham 
was the ancestor, is still represented in 
the township by the children of E. J. 



Kitchen, the brother I. N., who died in 
]898, having lived near Selma in the 
southern part. J. S. Kitchen is still liv- 
ing and resides in the City of Springfield. 

Robert Tindall, born in this township 
in 1825, the son of James and Sarah Tin- 
dall, is still living and in good health; so 
is John Weller, who was born in Mary- 
land in 1817, and came to this township in 
1836. 

Squire James Anderson, who was born 
in 1815 in Scotland, came to this town- 
ship when four years of age and lived 
here until his death in 1906. He was one 
of the recognized prominent farmers of 
The county. He held a number of public 
positions in the township and was known 
to be a careful, shrewd, thoughtful man. 
He was particularly prominent in the or- 
ganization of the Farmers' Mutual In- 
surance Company, of which he was presi- 
dent for a number of years. He left a 
large fortune Imt no direct descendants. 

The Elder family is another family 
which has a large connection in this town- 
ship, R. N. Elder having been county com- 
missioner. The Todd family is another 
one of distinction in this township. 
James Todd, the father of Captain S. A. 
Todd, who was county recorder, came to 
this township in 1818. Captain Todd was 
born in 1836; his mother was Elizabeth 
Garlough. Mayor James M. Todd, of this 
city, is connected with the Todds of this 
township. 

James R. Littler was likewise a lifelong 
resident of this township, having been 
born in Clifton in 1837. 

He is still living, is a veteran of the 
Civil War, and for the last thirty years 
has conducted a blacksmith shop in the 
village of Pitchin. 



248 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



POLITICAL. 

By reason of the township being strong- 
ly in accord in political matters with the 
majority of this county, a large number 
of the public officials have come from this 
township. 

County Officials. 

In 1838 Stephen M. AVheeler was coun- 
ty auditor and was likewise representative 
in 1840 and 41. John T. Stewart in 1837- 
8 was associate judge of the Common 
Pleas Court. Perry Stewart was county 
commissioner in 1866-1867, and repre- 
sented this county in the legislature in 
1868-1869. "William D. • Johnson was 
county commissioner in 1869-1875. J. S. 
Kitchen was county commissioner 1880- 
1886. R. N. Elder was commissioner, 
1889-1895. Samuel Todd, recorder 1883- 
1891; George Elder, representative 1894- 
1S98. Others closely connected were 
Chase Stewart, prosecuting attorney 
1889, and later representative; Earl 
Stewart, at present representative ; James 
M. Todd, treasurer 1895, and at pres- 
ent mayor of the city; P. M. Stew- 
art, treasurer in 1889; James Hat- 
field at present member to the General 
Assembly. In addition to these, while not 
living in the township at the time of their 
election yet generally recognized as Green 
Township products, were T. E. Lot, 
sheriff 1892-1896, and Thomas Shocknes- 
sey, 1896-1900. 

Township Offici.u.s. 

Clerks — In township affairs Thomas E. 
Stewart was township clerk from 1882- 
1889 and C. F. Stewart from that time to 
the present date; S. G. Stewart (elect). 

Treasurers — Oliver Gaiiough, 1883- 



]889; James Hatfield, 1889-1893; and M. 

A. Hatfield to this date. S. T. Luse, elect. 
The following is a roster of trustees 

from 1882— R. N. Elder, 1882-1885; D. 

B. Shaffer, 1882-1883; B. P. Garlough, 
1882-1884; H. C. Johnston, 1884-1889; C. 
F. Stewart, 1885-1889; R. F. Marshall, 
1885-1888; M. E. Hatfield, 1886-1891; 
Michael- Shocknessy, 1888-1899; James 
Cowan, 1889-1895; James T. Garlough, 
1891-1902; N. H. Wright, 1895-1897; Sam- 
uel Harris, 1897-1903; H. C. Johnston, 
1899-1905; E. K. Nave, 1903-1907; 0. D. 
Estle, 1903-1907; C. F. Tindall, 1905- 
1907; Chas. Wise (elect). 

Justices of the Peace from 1871 — J. F. 
Stewart, 1871-1877; J. S. Kitchen, 1871- 
1879; Thomas E. Stewart, 1877-1880, 
1894-1903; J. P. Garlough, 1879-1900; 
John B. Patton, 1880-1886; William H. 
Shafer, 1884-1887; R. T. Kelley, 1885- 
1891, 1900-1906; Wm. 0. Paden, 1903- 
1906; Wm. H. Coon, 1903-1906; E. W. 
Stewart, 1905-1908. 

Churches. 

The first church that was organized was 
of the Baptist denomination. Assisted 
by Presbyterians, the Baptists built a 
church for a meeting house in 1807 a 
short distance north of the old Gen. Ben- 
jamin Whiteman's house. This was a log 
structure. The Baptists occupied it un- 
til 1830. In 1811 the Presbyterians or- 
ganized a church, the Rev. James Welsh 
having been instrumental in the organi- 
zation. In 1827 a brick church was built 
near the west fence of the cemetery, and 
in 1854 the present church was 'built in 
Clifton. The former pastors of this 
church were Peter Montfort, 1813-1817; 
Andrew Poague 1817-1840 ; Moses Russel 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



249 



1840-1863;, A. R. Colmary 1864-1869; T. 
M. Wood 1870-1871; E. S. Weaver 1871- 

In 1818 the Methodist Episcopal 
Church was organized and had a church 
sonth of Springfield on the Yellow 
Springs Pike, afterwards another church 
was built a short distance north in 1837, 
on what was then Adam Mayne's farm 
and afterwards this organization built 
Emery Chapel, which is ia Springfield 
Township, in 1852. 

In 1845 the old Ebenezer Church still 
standing on the west side of Yellow 
Springs Pike, was built by the Christian 
Church organization, which was estab- 
lished in 1839. This property has been 
recently sold and the church organization 
abandoned. 

At an early date Melyn D. Baker, Isaac 
M. Walker, and Jacob Reeder were 
pastors of this church, the Rev. N. Sum- 
merbell having been its last pastor in 
1880. The church at Pitchin, of the Meth- 
odist Protestant denomination, was or- 
ganized in 1833 by Rev. Saul Hinkle. It 
was known as Concord church and is still 
in active use. The Rev. M. M. Campbell 
is the present pastor. 

In 1840 the Free Will Baptist Church 
was organized on a lot owned by Abra- 
ham Kitchen, known as Pleasant Grove. 
The church is still standing which was 
built in 1859. The Rev. Titus is the pres- 
ent pastor. 

In 1844, an anti-slavery Methodist or- 
ganization built a church at Cortsville and 
afterwards a Free Presbyterian organi- 
zation was established here. This church 
in recent years has been occupied by the 
colored Baptist Church organization. 

In 1860 on the Yellow Springs Pike in 



the extreme southwestern part of the 
township was organized ' ' Wones ' ' Chapel 
named after the Rev. Timothy Wones who 
was its organizer. This has been aban- 
doned for a number of years. 

Schools. 

The township was formed into school 
districts as early as 1819. The schools 
were established principally and carried 
on by subscriptions, and the school- 
houses were built on the donation plan 
up to 1840. The schools of the township 
are in a flourishing condition. 

The following is a list of teachers for 
the coming year. Superintendent C. C. 
Kail. No. 1 and 2 became a part of Selma 
District: No. 3 Pleasant Ridge, Esther 
Mattison; No. 4, Liberty, closed, and the 
pupils transferred to Pitchin; No. 5, 
Pitchin, principal, Jane McCartney; pri- 
mary Mabel Knott: music, George 
Zeigler. 

Special District — No Superintendent. 
Miss Alice Patton, Hopewell; Allentown, 
open; Peacock, A. B. Sparrow. 

Clifton— Superintendent, H. C. Ault- 
man; assistant high school teacher J. C. 
Marshall; intermediate, Emma Spahr; 
primary, Lucy Stewart; music, George 
Zeigler. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males 
77; females 62; total 139. Special Dis- 
trict—Males 53; females 54; total 107. 
Clifton— Males 88; females 86; total 174. 

HARMONY TOWNSHIP. 

BOTJNDABIES. 

Harmony Township is east of Spring- 
field Township, south of Pleasant and 
north of Madison Township, and bounded 



250 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



on tlie east bj^ the Madison County line. 
Territorially it is the largest township 
in the county. It existed in name and 
formed a part of the township in Cham- 
paign County prior to the establishment of 
this county. How it received the name of 
Harmony is not now known. The western 
part of the towiiship consists of Congress 
lands. The eastern part of Military 
land, being that part which is east of the 
Ludlow line, which appears a little to the 
northwest running through the township 
from a point about one mile west of its 
southern boundary. Both Beaver Creek 
and the Lisbon fork of the Little Miami 
have their source in the eastern part of 
the township. 

Ckeeks. 

Beaver Creek flows in an westerly direc- 
tion, leaving the township not far from 
the village of Harmony. The Lisbon fork 
of the Little Miami flows southwesterly 
past the village of Lisbon. In addition to 
these streams, the north fork of the Little 
Miami extends out close to Plattsburg. 
These various streams make the town- 
ship suitable for either agriculture or 
grazing, and these we find are the leading- 
industries. In the extreme eastern part 
of the township the land is quite rolling, 
but in no place is it sufficiently hilly as 
to become untillable. 

Soil-Crops. 

The valleys of these little streams are 
quite fertile and the township contributes 
largely of the staple products of this coun- 
ty, the sheep industry being extensively 
conducted in the eastern part. 

The principal settlers seem to have 



been from Virginia with a considerable 
sprinkling of Kentuckians. 

Roads. 

Through the northern part of the town- 
ship, in early times, there was a road 
established leading from Springfield west- 
wardly toward Columbus, which is still 
called the Old Columbus Road. This road 
lost much of its former importance upon 
the establishment of the National Road, 
which runs the entire length of the town- 
ship, and at an early date gave much im- 
portance to the villages of Brighton, 
Vienna and Harmony, which were located 
on it. It is still the public thorough- 
fare of the northern part of this 
township leading to Springfield. The 
Springfield and Charleston Pike extends 
across the lands of the southern part of 
the township and the McArthur Free 
Turnpike leads north and south from Lis- 
bon via Plattsburg, Vienna and Catawba. 
It was built in 1868 by John McKinney. 
In addition to the three villages before 
mentioned, Plattsbui'g and Lisbon are 
located in this township, giving to the 
township more prominent villages than 
any other township in the county (see 
villages). Fifty miles of improved roads 
are within the township. 

Railroads. 

The Columbus branch of the Big Four 
Railway runs through the entire town- 
ship from east to west very near its cen- 
ter, and the Spring-field and Columbus 
Traction line now follows the National 
Road in the northern J)art of the town- 
ship, and the D. T. & I. R. R. crosses 
the southwest corner of the township. 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



251 



Voting Peecincts. 

The township has recently been divided 
into two voting precincts, the western part 
having its place of voting at Harmony 
and the eastern part at Plattsburg. 
There may be a further division of the 
eastern precinct, constituting a new vot- 
ing place at Vienna in a not far distant 
future. 

Population. 

Harmony Township has not as large a 
population now as it had in 1850. On that 
date there were 1,929 people residing in 
this township ; in 1870, there were 1,821 ; 
in 1880, 1,846 ; in 1890, 1,819 ; and in 1900, 
1,830. 

ACKBAGE AND ASSESSED VaLUE. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres and the assessed value of the 
real and personal property as included in 
the various school districts of the town- 
ship: 

Real Personal 
Acres Estate Property Total 

Harmonv Tp. 27.189 $ 027,850 ¥491,930 $1,419,780 

^•ScL^'dIs? 1,223 37,610 12,100 49,710 

^'•l^strf/t ^''''°' 75C. 26,080 9,940 36.020 

Vienna Sch biVt' 2 413 77.590 48,410 126,000 

Vienna To«?.^;214_ 5a930_ 63,475 114,405 

31,705 .$1,120,0.50 $617,855 $1,74.5,915 
POUTICS. 

This township has always been in favor 
of the political candidates that were in 
opposition to the Democratic party. 

In 1840 William Henry Harrison re- 
ceived 266 votes and Martin Van Buren 
but 48. In 1863 John Brough for gover- 
nor, received 357, and C. L. Vallandigham 
only 34; and the township has in recent 
years been Eepubliean to the extent of 
200. 



Old Settlees. 

Thomas Chenoweth settled in the vicin- 
ity of Lisbon as early as 1803, and in 
1815 laid out the village of Lisbon. He 
was a Virginian. He accumulated con- 
siderable property by farming. He was 
the father of three sons and three daugh- 
ters. He died, on the farm where he had 
spent a long and useful life, February 25, 
1856, in his seventy-ninth year. 

George Weaver settled near Lisbon in 
1808, and erected a distillery some years 
later. He operated as a distiller for a 
number of years, and removed to Madison 
County about the year 1831. 

John Merideth was a soldier of the Rev- 
olution. He came to Ohio from Hanip- 
shire County, Virginia, in company with 
Hamilton Busbey, in the fall of 1815, de- 
scending the Ohio in a flat-boat to Cin- 
cinnati, and traversing the wilderness by 
wagon to their destination. He settled 
at Lisbon in the fall of that year, and 
if not the first, he was one of the first, 
merchants of that place. During his busi- 
ness career, as a matter of convenience, 
he issued a proprietary scrip as curren- 
cy This home-made medium was easily 
imitated and the result was that he was 
compelled to redeem more than he issued. 
After a number of years, he removed to 
Urbana and became cashier of a bank. 
Later he removed to Miami County, and 
died in 1839, at the age of ninety-one. His 
youngest son attained distinction as a 
general during the late Civil War. 

Hamilton Busbey was a Virginian, and 
was born in Hampshire County in 1792 
He emigrated to Ohio in company with 
John Meredith in 1815, settling at Lisbon, 
where he remained" for ten years. He 



252 



HISTORY OL^ CLARK COUNTY 



then bought and occupied a farm near the 
present village of Plattsburg. He served 
the township in various official capacities. 
He was the father of a large family. Mr. 
Busbey died in Coles County, Illinois, De- 
cember 16, 1847, aged fifty-five. 

Joseph Morris was an early settler near 
Lisbon; was one of the early school 
teachers of the village, and was a minister 
of the Baptist Church, for a period of 
half a century. He raised a large family 
of children, who inherited the noble 
traits of their father, and who filled well 
their stations in life. 

John Craig, a Revolutionary soldier, 
was born February 15, 1758; entered the 
army in 1775, and was discharged in 1780. 
He came to the township in 1808, and died 
in Springfield ToAvnship, at the home of 
Lewis Skillings, Sr. He was a man of 
moral worth and sterling integrity. 

John Heaton settled east of Lisbon as 
early as 1815; was a farmer, and served 
as a Justice of the Peace for twenty-one 
years. His sons, Henry, James, Abraham 
and Abner, were residents of the town- 
ship, and worthy citizens. Mr. Heaton 
died November 22, 1861, at the age of 
eighty-two. 

John Judy, Sr., was born in Basle, 
Switzerland, about 1760. He came to 
America at the age of ten, with his 
father's family, who settled on the south 
branch of the Potomac. He came to Ken- 
tucky at the age of twenty-two, and mar- 
ried Phoebe Lamaster. About 1794, he 
came to what is now Grreene County, Ohio, 
and about the year 1800 he came into the 
territory of what is now Harmony Town- 
ship, and settled two miles east of the 
present site of Plattsburg, now the farm 
of Matthew Bonner. Here he reared a 



family of children. About 1831, he re- 
moved to Union County, Ohio, where he 
died at an advanced age. 

The Turner brothers, Thomas, James, 
Robert, William, David and Samuel, 
were settlers near the Madison County 
line, coming into the township in about 
the year 1808. They were natives of 
Maryland. They took an active interest 
in the organization of the township. 
Robert served as a Justice of the Peace 
and as County Commissioner. Their 
descendants are among the prominent citi- 
zens of LTnion County. "There was not 
a black sheeyj in the flock." 

"Col." Thomas Eathbum was born in 
Rhode Island in 1782, and came to Ohio 
in 1811, settling at Brighton the same 
year. Served some years as Justice of 
the Peace, and also as Colonel of militia. 
Died in 1869, in his eighty-eighth year. 

Samuel McMillan, settled on Beaver 
Creek, near the present site of Brighton, 
in 1811. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
and also served the township as a 
magistrate. 

Enoch King was from Pennsylvania, 
and in the year 1812 or 1813, settled a 
mile east of where Plattsburg now stands. 
He was a farmer of good repute, and was 
the appraiser of real estate of the town- 
ship in 1840. He was twice married; had 
a large family, thirteen of whom grew to 
maturity. Enoch, John and David, sons 
of the second wife, are residents of the 
township to this day. Mr. King died in 
1865, aged seventy-one. His widow and 
daughter Mattie reside on a portion of 
the home farm. 

John Osborn was a native of Green- 
brier County, Virginia ; he moved to Ken- 
tucky in 1790, and thence to Ohio in 1812, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



253 



occupying the lands on which Plattsburg 
was afterward located. His sons, Will- 
iam, Levi, Jesse and Elijah, were in after 
years worthy and prominent citizens of 
Harmony Township. He died August, 
1847, aged eighty-seven. 

William Osborn, oldest son of John 
Osborn, came to the township with his 
father in 1812, having been born in 1787. 
His first wife was Jane McDonald; his 
second, the widow of James McArthur. 
Mr. Osborn was one of the original found- 
ers of Plattsburg, and built the brick 
hotel on the principal corner. He was a 
man of great energy and extraordinary 
business capacity, and dealt largely in 
stock and real estate. He died October 
37, 1870, aged eighty-three. A suitable 
sketch of his life and character is found 
in Turf, Field and Farm of October 25, 
1870, written by Hamilton Busbey, editor 
of that journal, and a native of Harmony 
Township. 

Mack McDaniel was a Kentuckian. He 
settled near the site of Plattsburg in 181o, 
and died in November, 1832, at the a.9'e 
of eighty-one. 

Benjamin Hathaway was from Massa- 
chusetts, and served in the War of 1812, 
and was a Captain in the navy. He be- 
came a citizen of the township in 1815. 
His storj^ of his life is a mixture of fact, 
romance and mystery, but he was withal 
a man of great integrity and intelligence. 
His son Benjamin was colonel of a regi- 
ment of militia, and a school teacher of 
repute. The senior Hathaway died Janu- 
ary, 1861, aged eighty-two years. 

James Haney settled on Beaver Creek 
in 1810, and built the first saw-mill in the 
township. The remains of the mill and 
race can yet be seen. 



A man named Burke erected a mill on 
the Little Miami about 1815. -It was a 
small aifair, and could only be operated 
to advantage during the rainy seasons, 
but it was considered valuable in those 
days. 

Col. William Foreman, born in Ken- 
tucky in 1791, came to Ohio and settled 
in Harmony Township in 1812. He was 
the father of eleven children, a colonel of 
militia, served as township treasurer for 
several years, and was the owner of a 
large estate. He carried on a tannery on 
the old London Road, three miles west of 
Plattsburg, for many years. He resided 
in Harmony Township fifty-eight years 
and died Februai:j^ 19, 1871, aged eighty- 
one. 

William Henry was from Kentucky. 
He settled on the Little Miami, one and 
one-half miles north of Lisbon, in 1814. 
He was a man whom many remember 
kindly. 

James McDaniels settled two miles 
north of Lisbon in 1815. His nativity is 
in doubt. He took an active part in the 
campaign of 1840, and at a mass meeting 
at Springfield on the 18th of June of that 
year, he was selected as one of the cor- 
nermen in the erection of a log cabin on 
the occasion. 

Robert Reid settled on the Little Mia- 
mi, on the farm now owned by Mrs. J. 
P. McGrew, in 1815. He took an active 
part in the affairs of Harmony Township, 
serving' as clerk and trustee. 

James Spragne was a Canadian; he 
settled west of Lisbon, on the Little Mia- 
mi, about the year 1815. He was the 
father of L. B. Sprague and Darius 
Sprague, former residents of Harmony 



254 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Township, and of Dr. James Sprague, of 
London, Ohio. 

Edward Rice was one of the early set- 
tlers of Harmony Townshiij. He came 
to Ohio with his wife in 1809, from Mas- 
sachusetts, which was also his wife'^ 
birthplace, and settled on the farm south 
of the present village of Harmony, known 
as the Patten farm, in 1812. He was a 
man well informed, took an active inter- 
est in the public affairs of the township, 
and was a township trustee for several 
years. Four of his sons were residents 
of Springfield Township and city. His 
son, Asa, now deceased, built a steam 
saw- and grist-mill in Vienna about 1854. 
Mr. Rice died January 10, 1842, and his 
wife Lucy October 22, 1877. 

Gabriel Cos settled on a farm adjoining 
Harmony Village about the year 1813. 
He farmed some and kept hotel south of 
the village. He was a Freemason, and 
when he died was buried by that order. 

James Donnels settled on the Jesse 
Boyd farm on the old Columbus road in 
1808. He was a farmer and amassed con- 
siderable wealth. His only son James, 
now deceased, lived on the farm now 
owned by E. A. Bowman, immediately 
east of Harmony, in the house built by his 
father about the time the National Road 
was finished. 

David Hannah was a Virginian. He 
settled on Sinking Creek, in the north- 
western part of the township, in the year 
1815, and carried on a distillery for sev- 
eral years. In his day he was regarded 
as the largest and most powerful man in 
the township. 

John Nichelson settled on Beaver Creek 
in 1806. He had five sons — four of whom 
passed away years ago. Isabel, the eldest 



daughter, married Moore Groodfellow, 
and this is regarded as the earliest mar- 
riage in Harmony Township. Daniel 
Jones married one of the daughters, and 
the third died unmarried. 

Andrew Nichelson came to the town- 
ship with his father John Nichelson, in 
1806, being then three years old. Before 
he was of age, he purchased and paid for 
a tract of eighty acres of land, thus lay- 
ing the foundation for the vast wealth 
which he afterward possessed. He was 
twice married, and was the father of a 
large family^eleven of whom became 
men and women. His first wife was 
Rachel Hammond ; she died in 1852. His 
second wife was Mrs. Angeline Yeazell, 
nee Spencer, whom he married in 1854. 
He was a man much esteemed for his 
many charitable acts, a life-long and con- 
sistent member of the Christian Church, 
and was widely known as one whom noth- 
ing could divert from the path of recti- 
tude. He died July 23, 1880, in his sev- 
enty-eighth year. 

Moore Goodfellow was a native of Ire- 
land. He settled on Beaver Creek on 
lands now owned by Charles Snyder, in 
1810. His wife was Isabel Nichelson; 
they were married in 1808. Their chil- 
dren were William, John, Thomas, Mary 
Ann, Isabel, Samuel, Elliott, Rachel, 
Rhoda and Moore. His offspring, with 
their descendants, have held prominence 
in the township in business, political and 
social circles for nearly three-quarters of 
a century. He died September 16, 1860. 

Henry Oxtoby, Sr., was a native of 
Yorkshire, England, as was also his wife, 
Elizabeth Cook. They were married and 
had four children in their native land. 
They emigrated to America in 1803, lo- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



255 



eating first in the State of New York. 
In 1814, they came to Ohio and purchased 
160 acres of land near Oxtoby Station. 
For this land Mr. Oxtoby paid $2.25 per 
acre; it has since sold for $100 per acre. 
The senior Oxtoby died in 1838, his wife 
in 1836 ; the children have since followed, 
Henry only a few years ago. ' 

William Baird was a native of Hagers- 
town, Md., born March 16, 1762. He 
moved to Kentucky in 1794, and thence 
to Ohio in 1808, settling on Beaver Creek 
lands latterly owned by his son William 
D. Baird. He served in the Revolution- 
ary war. He left three sons and four 
daughters at his death. Mr. Baird was 
present on the occasion of a treaty made 
with the Indians in 1809 at Spring-field, 
and saw the celebrated warrior and chief 
Tecumseh. He was also personally ac- 
quainted with Daniel Boone and Simon 
Kenton of historic fame. 

Benjamin Foreman, James Parks, War- 
ham Stasy, Lewis Fee, Nicholas Storms, 
John and George Jones, Allen Gilbert, 
Matthew Spencer, John H. and George 
Dynes, were all settlers of Beaver Creek 
section, in the vicinity of the National 
Road. 

James Burns and Daniel Jones and 
family were early settlers near Lisbon. 
Thomas Stites was an early settler one 
and a half miles northwest of Lisbon, 
and managed a distillery for some years. 

Jacob Girard, Thomas Whittredge and 
Isaac Dillon were early settlers near Lis- 
bon. Robert Thorp, Sr., and family set- 
tled in the southwestern part of the town- 
ship in 1819; they came from England. 
James Price came in 1820, died in 1846. 

Isaac Chamberlain settled near Lisbon 
about the year 1815, and kept a public 



house for several years. His children 
were Stephen H., George, Walter, Mary, 
Caroline and Sarah. 

John Whiteley settled in the neighbor- 
hood of Fletcher Chapel, near the west- 
ern line of the township. He served as 
justice of the peace of Harmony Town- 
ship for several successive years. He 
was also a commissioner of the county. 
His sons — ^William, Joseph, Andrew and 
Abner — have become noted throughout 
Christendom as inventors and manufac- 
turers. Mr. Whiteley died June, 1845, 
aged sixty-four. Andrew was the father 
of William N. Whiteley, the great reaper 
inventor. 

Christopher Laybourn was born in En- 
gland, in 1745; there married, in 1777, to 
Margaret Newlove, born in 1758. In 
1794, he with his wife and six children 
emigrated to New York, where they lived 
eighteen years, during which time he was 
mayor of New York City two years. In 
1812, he and family came to Clark Coun- 
ty, settling in the southwestern part of 
this township, now known as the Thorp 
farm. He afterward moved to the farm 
in Section 25, where he died in 1842, his 
wife having died in 1825. He was a 
school teacher and a man of good educa- 
tion. 

John Judy, Jr., was the second son of 
.lohn Judy, Sr., and was born in a block- 
house near Flemingsburg, Ky., in 1791. 
He came to Ohio with his father's family 
and settled on the "Judy farm" on the 
head waters of the Little Miami near the 
Madison County line. His wife was Ly- 
dia Hull. He served in the War of 1812 
as a private; served Harmony Township 
as a magistrate, and was a captain of a 
company of militia. He built one of the 



256 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



first brick houses in the country, and kept 
the "Black Horse Tavern," the first 
hotel in the township. He was a man of 
integrity and lived and died a consistent 
member of the Free-Will Baptist Church. 
He removed to Illinois about 1860, and 
died December 1, 1874, aged eighty-three. 

Dr. William Amphlet located in the 
western portion of the township in an 
early day. He was an Englishman by 
birth, well educated, skillful in his pro- 
fession and owned a library of great 
value. 

Dr. J. B. Lingie was born in Spring- 
field in 1813, and settled at Vienna as a 
physician in 1836. He was a successful 
practitioner, and seiwed the township of- 
ficially as justice of the peace, treasurer 
and clerk. He died in 1878. 

Washing-ton and Josiah Wilson came to 
this township with their mother Temijer- 
ance (Judy) Wilson, about 1813, where 
Michael Wilson, Jr., was born shortly 
afterward. This family became one of 
the wealthy and influential ones of the 
township and wielded an influence for 
good. 

Mention is made of other physicians 
who have practiced their profession at 
Vienna. Harry H. Yound, Hames 
Sprague, Dr. Norris, Dr. Hunter, Will- 
iam IT. Banwell, E. H. Smith. 

The merchants of Vienna have been 
Caleb Barret, Daniel Brown, Emanuel 
Wayne, D. B. Farrington, W. S. Funston, 
fieorge W. Ryan, D. 0. Heiskill, J. M. 
Bennett. W. T. Harris, J. A. Widdicombe, 
Samuel Frock. 

William Pool and wife came with their 
son-in-law, Edward Rice, to this township 
in 1812, where both died; they were na- 
tiA^es of Massaclmsetts. 



Eakly Events. 

The first marriage we have recorded 
in the townshi]i is that of Isabel Nichel- 
son to Moore Goodfellow in. 1808. The 
first schoolhouse was erected on the Good- 
fellow farm in 1808. The first church con- 
structed of hewn logs, was erected on a 
farm of Samuel Goodfellow in 1809. At 
an early date a grist-mill was erected by 
a man by the name of Burke on the Miami 
two and a quarter miles south of Platts- 
burg. Caleb Barret was the first store- 
keeper at Vienna Cross Roads. He moved 
his store to this place from the old vil- 
lage of Windsor where he had a store as 
early as 1825, on the Old Columbus Road. 

The fi.rst saw-mill was built in 1830 by 
James Haney on Section 11 on Beaver 
Creek. At an early date Isaac Chamber- 
lain built a hotel at Lisbon. The manu- 
facturing industries of this township have 
never been very extensive. 

Formerly there was a tannery three 
miles west of Plattsburg known as the 
Forman tannery. Another tannery was 
located in the northwestern ]3art of the 
village of Vienna, and was carried on by 
D. W. Hinkle. In several places in the 
township distilleries were conducted in a 
small way, there being one on the Old 
Columbus Road. At present there is a 
grain elevator at Plattsburg and the En- 
terprise Manufacturing Company con- 
ducts the business of making blankets, 
etc., at Vienna. 

Recent Inhabitants. 

In addition to those spoken of above, 
whose records were found in Beers' His- 
tory, the following persons have been 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



257 



more or less prominent in this town- 
ship. 

James Wallingsford was born in this 
township in 1826, on the farm then be- 
longing to his father and situated on the 
National Road between Vienna and Har- 
mony. This road crossing was in early 
times given the name of Buena Vista. 
Mr. Wallingsford has been an active char- 
acter and was for a long time a resident 
of this township, but is now living in the 
toAvnship of German. For a long time he 
was an auctioneer and occasionally does 
business of that kind yet, although seven- 
ty-seven years of age. His brother Joseph 
Wallingsford, who was born at the same 
place, lives in the city of Springfield and 
is now eighty-four years of age. 

Michael Wilson, deceased, was born in 
this township in 1814. He was married 
to Lavina Henry in 1835. He died in 
1879, leaving a very large family. 

Abraham Weaver was born in Virginia 
in 1823 ; he married Miss Sophia Sprague 
in 1847, and has resided in this town- 
ship ever siiice. 

Joseph C. Olinger was one of the large 
land owners in the eastern part of this 
township and came here in 1846 from the 
State of Virginia. He died in 1894. C. 
S. Olinger, attorney, of Springfield, is one 
of his children. 

William Troxell, now deceased, moved 
to this township from Pike Township in 
1837. In 1847 he was married to Mrs. 
Margaret Brooks. She dying, he was 
married a second time, in 1874, to Dora V. 
Shriack. Mr. Troxell was for a long time 
an active and energetic citizen, accumulat- 
ing about 600 acres of land. He died 
about the vear 1890. 



John Goodfellow who is still active and 
resides in Vienna, being connected with" 
the Enterprise Manufacturing Company, 
is a native of this township and the son 
of Thomas G-oodfellow. Manly Goodfel- 
low, a brother of John and still residing 
in this township, .was born in 1843. 

A. N. Brooks, whose death occurred in 
1906, was bom in this township in 1835 
and carried on a grain business for many 
years at what is known as Brooks Sta- 
tion. 

Alexander C. Patton was born in Bel- 
mont County in 1838 and died July 10th, 
1899. He lived a short distance south of 
Harmony from 1869 until his death. 

Jacob Volmer a resident of this town- 
ship, near the village of Harmony, was 
born in 1840 in Muskingum County. Was 
married to Mrs. Olive Stephens in 1870. 
In 1866 he became interested in wagon 
making and entered into parkiership with 
John Ulerick of Harmony, which they 
operated for a number of years. 

David King, now a resident of the city 
of Springfield, was bom in this township 
in 1843 and held the position of justice 
of the peace for some time. 

John McCoy was born in Mad River 
Township, this county, in 1853. He was 
married to Mary Roberts in 1878. Mr. 
McCoy has been a resident of this town- 
ship for a number of years, conducting 
a store in Vienna and is now connected 
with the Enterprise Manufacturing Com- 
pany. 

The Kirkhams still occupy a prominent 
position in township affairs as also do 
the Nichelsons. William Harris, now de- 
ceased, was for a long time resident of 
tlie Village of Vienna, as is J. S. Rice, who 
is still living at that place. C. 0. Hays 



258 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



is a prominent farmer in the southern 
part. 

Trustees of Harmony Township — 
Jacob Vollmer, 1881-1884; Moore Goodf el- 
low, 1881-1884; A. C. Patton, 1881, 1884- 
1889; Abraham Weaver, 1882-1885; Geo. 
J. Tippie, 1884-1887; John A. Stewart, 
1885-1888; F. S. Wilson, 1887-1893; 
Charles Mitsch, 1888-1891 ; Wm. Bennett, 
1889-1896; E. A. Bonner, 1891-1894; J. 
P. Franklin, 1893-1899 ; Milton Alexander, 
1895-1901; Samuel Ramsey, 1896-1903; 
Joseph Weaver, 1899-1902; C. A. Snyder, 
1901-1904; Jacob Stoll, 1902-1907; Geo. 
C. Agle, 1903-1907; Wm. M. Kirkham 
1904-1907. 

Treasurers — John Goodfellow, 1881- 
1895; W. S. Bennett, 1895-1901; R. W. 
Jones, 1901-1904; L. M. Finch, 1904- . . . . 

Clerks— Jas. H. Glover, 1881-1887; 
Chas. S. Beesley, 1887-1891 ; John McCoy, 
1891-1900; t). W. Coberly, 1900-1904; 
Arthur Robbins, 1904-Oct. 1906; Louis 
West, 1906-.... 

Justices of the Peace since 1871 — 
Thomas Goodfellow, 1871; Almon Brad- 
ford, 1871-1877; Abraham Weaver, 1872; 
William Hains, 1873 ; W. T. Harris, 1876 ; 
M. H. Dynes, 1879, resigned; G. W. 
Keeler, 1880-1886 ; David King, 1881, 1887, 
1896; Henry A. Campbell, 1884-1887; 
Abel Laybourn, 1890-1893; D. Wilson 
Wright, 1890; E. fl. P. Arnold, 1896; 
James Viuce, 1899-1902, 1904; W. H. 
Willis, 1899-1902, 1904. 

Members of the Board of Education — 
Chas. .E. Davey, Washington Wilson, 
Henry Beard, Geo. Agle, Chas. Hayes. 

Members of Vienna Special District 
Board of Education — Henry E. Bennett, 
John Goodfellow, Howard Logue, Jacob 
Stoll, W. G. Harris. 



CHURCHES. 

Lisbon Baptist Chtjech. 

About 1811 a log house of worship was 
built on the bank of Little Beaver Creek. 
In 1820 the society had increased to si:s:ty- 
six. In 1833 a movement was started to 
build a new house, and in that year a 
church was built. In 1866 it was again 
determined to build a new church and the 
site was selected not far from Lisbon. 
This church was completed in 1867 and 
dedicated in that year by D. Shepherd- 
son. In 1875 it was wrecked by a storm. 
Rev. David Kerr of the City of Spring- 
field is pastor. 

Fletcher Chapel. 

In 1814 the Methodists began to hold 
services at the residence of Henry Oxtoby 
and others in the neighborhood. About 
1822 Henry Oxtoby, Joseph Newlove, 
John Stickney, Louis Skillings and others 
began to erect a small brick house. The 
house stood near but not on the present 
site of Fletcher Chapel. In 1848 the pres- 
ent brick chapel was built. The building 
committee was composed of Henry Oxto- 
by, Jolin Newlove and John Cozier. The 
charge is connected with the Moorefield 
charge, the Rev. M. E. Echols being the 
present pastor. 

Christian Church, Plattsburg. 

In 1846 a denomination of Christians 
aided by a number of T^niversalists built 
the "Peoples House" in Plattsburg. 

In later years the Christian denomina- 
tion has taken it in charge, Rev. Hook 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



259 



being the present pastor. The Christian 
Church in Vienna was organized in 1858 
and was built in the following year. The 
Rey. Mr. Hook is the pastor of the same 
at this writing. 

Vienna Methodist Church. 

The Vienna Methodist Church was first 
organized in 1835. In 1842 the brick 
structure was built. J. Dolby is the pres- 
ent minister. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at 
Brighton was built about the year 1889 
and has been attached to the charge of 
Grace Chapel at Springfield, the Rev. Al- 
fred M. White being the present pastor. 

The Methodist Protestant Church near 
the village of Harmony was organized in 
1828 and in 1846 a house of worship Vas 
erected, which was succeeded by the pres- 
ent one in 1878. The Rev. M. M. Camp- 
bell is the present pastor. 

Schools. 

One of the first schoolhouses in the 
township was built at Lisbon about the 
year 1815. Another stood near the old 
Forman tannery three miles west of 
Plattsburg, and another in the settlement 
three miles south of Plattsburg. Some of 
these houses were erected by contribu- 
tions, teachers being employed in the 
same way. 

The first brick schoolhouse of the town- 
ship was erected about 1824 at Platts- 
burg. The first one in Vienna in 1845, 
which was afterwards succeeded by a 
brick one. A few years ago a township 
high school was organized and a build- 
ing for that purpose was erected in the 
village of Plattsburg. 



The following are mentioned as early 
teachers in the township, Joseph Morris, 
William Rogers, Charles Chaney, William 
Webbe, James C. Busby, Lemuel Brooks, 
Hugh King, Joshua Judy, B. C. Hatha- 
way and others. 

The following is a list of the teachers 
for the coming year : 

Superintendent, David Neer; high 
school principal, Carlyton Henry; high 
school assistant. Myrtle Wildasin ; music, 
S. S. Hause. Harmony, principal D. W. 
Coverly; primary, Clara Walker; 
Sprague, Wana McMahon ; Brighton, Mrs. 
Wilson ; Tanyard, Jessie Goodf ellow ; Lis- 
bon, Anna Porter; Jones, Little Walker; 
Newlove, Addie McMahon; Wilson, Glen- 
na Agie; Plattsburg, principal, open; pri- 
mary. Grace Porter; Oxtoby, Isabelle 
Thomas ; Dunn, Clara Wilson. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males 
200; females 212; total 412. 

Vienna — Males 52; females 49; total 
101. 

MADISON TOWNSHIP. 

Boundaries. 

Madison Towmship is located in the 
southeastern part of the county, bordered 
on the east by Madison County, on the 
south by Greene County and on the west 
and north by Green and Harmony Town- 
ship^ '\^'Tien Clark County was organ- 
ized, the territory comprising this section 
was taken from Madison and Greene 
Counties, about one-half from each. That 
part of the township which was in Greene 
County was called Vance Township, tak- 
ing its name from early settlers. When 
the township was formed on the organiza- 



260 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



tion of this county, it was called Madison 
from the fact that a large portion of it 
was taken from that county. Its width 
from north to south is five and one-half 
miles, and its average length from east 
to west seven and a half miles. Only a 
small portion of the lands in the north- 
ern part are what is known as Congress 
lands, the rest, being south of the Little 
Miami Kiver, were included in the original 
Virginia Military survey. The lauds of 
the township are tolerably level, sufficient- 
ly rolling however to afford good drain- 
age; much of it is of very fertile char- 
acter. 

Timber. 

While much of the land was originally 
covered by timber of the kind usually 
found in this county, yet there was a con- 
siderable quantity of it that was of a 
prairie character, being covered by long 
grass. The Indians fired this grass an- 
nually and thus destroyed much of the 
young timber growth. 

Crops. 

The crops usually grown in this town- 
ship are those which predominate in the 
county, to-wit, wheat, corn and oats. 
Stoekraising has always been quite an in- 
dustry of this township. The growth of a 
large number of sheep together with fine 
short-horn and well-bred road horses, 
have given this township a distinction in 
that line for a good many years past. 

ElVERS. 

The main branch of the Little Miami 
River has its source neaK the northeast- 
ern part of this township and flows in a 



westerly direction until it reaches the 
Green Township line. In the southern 
part is found Massie's Creek, so that the 
lands are reasonably well watered, which 
with its general fertility makes the town- 
ship very excellent for grazing purposes. 

Roads. 

The original roads of this town- 
ship followed the Indian trails or led to 
and from the Military reservations and 
are not very harmonious in detail. The 
West Jefferson, South Charleston and 
Xenia turnpike afforded convenience for a 
good deal of travel from Columbus and 
South Charleston, through Xenia to Day- 
ton in early times. 

The Spring-field and South Charleston 
Pike was finished in 1866; this is yet 
one of the principal thoroughfares from 
the township to the city of Springfield. 

The Charleston, Jeffersonville and 
Washington Pike was built in 1868. These 
roads were originally built as toll pikes 
and were afterwards purchased by the 
county. The main branch of the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad, leading from Columbus 
to Cincinnati, goes through the two vil- 
lages of this township. South Charleston 
and Selma, almost diagonally in a south- 
western direction; the D. T. & I. leading 
from Springfield diagonally across the 
township in a southeasterly direction. 
These two railroads give to the principal 
village of the township, South Charles- 
ton, splendid railroad facilities and make 
it a good place for the marketing of prod- 
ucts. South Charleston is said to be the 
most important transfer-station on this 
division of the Pennsylvania Railroad. 

In 1904 the Springfield and Charleston 



AM) REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



261 



Traction line was finished as far as South 
Charleston. Cars are now running every 
two hours between Springfield and this 
place, and are well patronized. 

Villages. 

The township has two villages — Selma 
and South Charleston. Likewise it has 
been divided into two voting places, each 
forming a district surrounding one of 
the villages, and known by the names of 
the village. The original settlers of this 
township seem to have come principally 
from Kentucky and Virginia. 

Population. 

By reason of the growth of South 
Charleston, this township has made some 
increase in population in the last half 
century. In 1850 it was 1,476; in 1870, 
1,965; 1880, 2,396; 1890, 2,204; 1900, 2,281. 

Acreage and Assessed Valuation. 

The following total will show the num- 
ber of acres and assessed valuation of the 
real and personal property of the town- 
ship, as divided among the various school 
districts. 

Acres. Rpjil PersoDnl Total. 
Estate. Property. 

Madison Tp. ..16,785? 528,920 $256,680 ? 785.600 
Selma's School 

Pist. 2,677 111,960 140,990 252,950 

S. Charleston 

Snhool Dist. 6,068 219,271 143,1.50 362,420 

S. Charlest'n town 389 241,370 -327,070 568,440 



Total 25,919 $1,101,520 $867,890 $1,969,410 

Politics. 

This township has always been strongly 
against the Democratic candidates for 
President. 

In 1832 Clay carried it by 131, in 1836 
Harrison by 152, and in 1840 Harrison 



by 143; in 1868 Grant had 176, and thus 
the majority has continued in favor of 
the Republican candidates. 

Pioneers. 

' ' George Buff enberger was a Virginian. 
He and family came to Ohio and settled 
in Madison Township as early as 1807, 
locating on the head-waters of the Little 
Miami. He owned a large tract of valu- 
able land, raised a large family of chil- 
dren, and was characterized as the most 
eccentric man of his generation. He pos- 
sessed great wealth, yet was careless, and 
often shabby in his dress, and defied 
the ordinarj' custom of civilized life. 
Christopher Lightfoot was a man of fine 
education, and a Scotchman. He settled 
where William Watson now lives, south 
of the Little Miami depot, some years be- 
fore South Charleston was laid out, and 
was one of the projectors of that village 
when it was incorporated as a village in 
1816. He was a school teacher and 
surveyor. 

"Elijah Pratt was probably the first 
phj^sieian of Madison Township. He was 
practicing as early as 1818. He lived 
northeast of South Charleston. He was 
from New England. 

"John Kolso was among the first jus- 
tices of . the peace of the township. He 
I'ved rn th'' J-^mestown Road, on lands 
now owned by PauUin's heirs. He reared 
a large family of children, all of whom are 
non-residents of the township. 

"William Holloway was an early set- 
tler near Selma, on the McDorman farm. 
He was a Quaker, and for many years 
filled the office of justice of the peace 
creditablv. 



262 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



"William Willis was an old and devout 
Quaker, and kept a hotel two miles west 
of South Charleston, on the State road 
from Xenia to Columbus, where Caleb 
Harrison formerly lived. This place, be- 
ing on so commonly traveled a road, from 
Cincinnati to Columlms, was widely 
known, and was a favorite stopping-place 
for the distinguished men of the early 
times. Between the years 1830 and 1840, 
while Tom Corwin was a member of Con- 
gress, and was comiDelled to reach the na- 
tional capital on horseback, he made this 
hotel a regular stopping-place. He was 
sometimes accompanied by Henry Clay, 
of Kentucky, on similar trips, and the 
high old times had at the 'Old Willis 
Hotel,' by these distinguished guests 
often tried the patience of the quiet host. 
The house, a one-story log building of 
three rooms, still stands. 

"Mungo Murray was a Scotchman, and 
located on Section 12, on the northern 
border of the township, in 1817. His sons, 
James, George and Peter, were gentle- 
men of rare business qualifications. The 
last named built the 'Murray House,' of 
Springfield, and was at one time of the 
foremost of the business men of that city. 
The elder Murray died in August, 1830, 
at the age of fifty-five years. John Mc- 
Collum was a native of Virginia. He 
settled two miles south of South Charles- 
ton in 1814, on the farm now owned by 
D. V. Pringle. He was twice married. By 
the second marriage he became the father 
of eight children — Eebecca, Henry, John, 
Alvira, Evaline. Minerva, Seth 0. and 
Eussel B. He died in 1848, aged seventy- 
three. His wife died in December, 1871, 
aged eighty-seven. 

"David Vance was a Kentnekian. He 



settled in Madison Township in 1808 or 
1809, one mile Avest of South Charles- 
ton, on the farm now owned by James 
Pringle. He was a cousin of Joseph 
Vance, tenth governor of Ohio. His sons 
— Ephraim., John, Daniel, Joseph, Elijah 
and Elisha — were worthy citizens. The 
last two were twins. 

"James Pringle, Sr., came from Ken- 
tucky and settled in Madison Township in 
1812, on Section 16, formerly owned by 
D. 0. Heiskell. His wife was a Vance. 
Th6y raised a lar-ge family of children, 
who in after years filled well their sev- 
eral stations in life. Their sons were 
Thomas, David, William and James. Mr. 
Pringle died in August, 1867, aged eighty- 
four. 

"Isaac Davisson, about 1810, settled a 
short distance East of South Charleston. 
He married Sarah Curl in 1808. His 
father, Isaac Davisson, Sr., was an early 
settler of Warren Coimty. Isaac, Jr., 
and his bride made their wedding tour on 
horseback, Mrs. Davisson using a feather 
bed for a sidesaddle. They passed through 
Springfield on their way from Todd's 
Fork, in Warren County, to their new 
home, near Catawba. At this time 
Springfield had but a few houses, and 
these were in the brush. After spending 
the first three years of their married life 
in Pleasant Township, they located in 
Madison, as stated. He purchased fifty 
acres of land, and in time added several 
hundred acres to his estate. He was of 
Methodist stock, as well as his wife, and 
in the years that followed their coming 
to the neighborhood, the early preachers 
held meetings in their humble cabin, and- 
to the end of his days his devotion to the 
Master and his zeal for the church never 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



263 



waned. His wife still lives, and has 
passed the ninetieth milestone in the 
eventful race of life. They raised a large 
family of children; twelve of these lived 
to become married — they were William, 
Obadiah, Lemuel, Mary, Elizabeth, Nancy, 
Sarah J., Margaret, Julia Ann, Maria, 
James G. and Daniel. 

"Phillip Hedrick and his wife (Foley) 
settled on the north bank of the Little 
Miami in 1811, on the farm now owned 
by K. P. Truitt. Mr. Hedrick was a Ken- 
tuckian; bis wife, a Virginian. He 
bought 600 acres of land at $1.25 per acre. 
Tbe husband and wife died in 1838 and 
1825, respectively. They were married 
in Kentucky and five children were born 
to them in that State. Their children 
were Samuel, Lewis, David, Isaac, Henry, 
Joseph, Anna, Mahala and Rebecca. He 
assisted to lay out South Charleston in 
1815. 

"Charles Paist was a native of Dela- 
ware County, Pennsylvania. He was 
married to Abigail Perkins, of "Wilming- 
ton, Ohio. He settled on the head-waters 
of Massie's Creek on the Columbus and 
Xenia Road, in 1815, and there built a 
store and carried on merchandising sev- 
eral years. He was the first merchant of 
i\radison Township. He moved to South 
Charleston in 1824, and there continued 
merchandising for some time. He served 
one term' as association judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas, and was one of 
the leading Abolitionists of his time, beT 
ing far in advance of the public senti- 
ment of that day. The first anti-slavery 
address ever made in South Charleston 
was made from the porch of his residence 
on Columbus Street. He was a medley 
of contraditions, being a Democrat, a 



Quaker, an Abolitionist and an ardent fol- 
lower of Tom Paine. His children- 
Isaac, William, Charles and Mary (Mrs. 
D. 0. Heiskell) — inherited the sterling 
qualities of the father. He died in 1858, 
aged sixty. His wife died the next year, 
aged fiftj'-eight. 

"Robert Houston was born in Scott 
County, Kentucky, April 11, 1800. At the 
age of twelve years he came to Ohio with 
his parents. He studied medicine at 
Springfield, Ohio, and began the practice 
of his profession at South Charleston in 
July, 1821. He married Eliza Pearce 
November 25. 1822, and became the father 
of twelve children. He continued the 
practice of medicine forty-four years 
successively in this village. In 1865 he 
removed to Champaign County, Illinois, 
where he died July 11, 1872, aged seventy- 
two years. He was an ardent Wliig, a 
zealous Republican and for nearly fifty 
years was a consistent and useful member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

"Samuel Thomas and family came to 
Madison Township about 1814, where he 
remained until his death in 1867, his wife 
dying in 1871 . He was a native of Dela- 
ware, born in 1785, and was married in 
Warren County, Ohio, to Mary St. John, 
a native of New York, born in 1783. They 
had nine children, and their eldest child, 
John, is now residing in the township, at 
the age of seventy-two." 

Regent Inhabitants. 

Among those who have lived in this 
township and been prominent in public 
affairs more recently than the old 
pioneers above mentioned are the follow- 
ing: 



264 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



John Rankin, deceased about 1903, was 
a long- time resident of this township. He 
was born December 16, 1811, in Maryland. 
In the spring of 1845 in connection with 
his brother Albert, he opened a dry goods 
store in South Charleston, conducting this 
enterprise until 186.5. In 1863 he organ- 
ized the First National Bank of South 
Charleston. This bank was continued as 
a national bank imtil 1877, then was re- 
org-anized as the Bank of South Charles- 
ton, with Mr. Rankin as president. He 
continued as such until his death. He 
was married in 1S55 to Charity A. Fuller- 
ton. The bank has been continued by his 
sons, Stacy B. Rankin and James F. 
Rankin. 

Stacy B. was born in South Charleston 
and was married there to Fannj^ Kemper 
in 1897. He was elected as a member of 
the legislature and has been secretary of 
the Ohio Bankers' Association since 1891 
and cashier of the Bank of South Charles- 
ton since 1882. He was Ohio's commis- 
sioner at the St. Louis Exposition. James 
F. was born in South Charleston in 1861 
and in 1894 was married to Netty 
Kemper. He is connected with his 
brother in the banking business. 

The Houston family has been long 
prominent in this township, L. H. 
Houston being recognized today as one 
of the largest land owners of Clark Coun- 
ty. For many years he and his bi'other, 
E. D. Houston, have conducted a general 
store in Charleston, and with them have 
been associated in later years a younger 
brother, Foster B. L. H. Houston is the 
president of the Citizens' Bank, served 
one term as county commissioner and in 
1890 was on the City Board of Equaliza- 
tion from this district. 



Leonard B. Sprague, deceased, prob- 
ably ten years, was active in stock-raising 
and the raising of fine horses. He took 
very great interest in agricultural atfairs 
and for many years was secretary of the 
Clark County Society. Dr. E. T. Collins, 
deceased, was a native of Moorefield 
Township, this county, born January 12, 
1818. He began the practice of medicine 
in South Charleston in ].841, and married 
Miss Sarah L. Houston in 1845, and con- 
tinued there until the time of his death, 
which has occurred within the past ten 
years. His son, Dr. Milton Collins, still 
resides in this village, his only, sister hav- 
ing met with a fatal accident on the 
Springfield and Charleston traction line 
in 1905. Dr. Collins acquired consider- 
able property in his lifetime. 

Michael Way was prominent in town- 
ship affairs from 1868 until his death 
about 1890. His son John likewise served 
in numerous capacities and died in 1906. 

Seymore Harold has been a resident of 
this township for some time, being a na- 
tive of Madison Coimty. 

David T. Colvin was born in Frederick 
County, Virginia, February 18, 1829, and 
was married in 1853 to Maria Larkin, 
and died in 1886. He was an active, ag- 
gressive farmer during his lifetime. 

Henry Bateman is a wealthy, influential 
resident of this township, living in South 
Claarleston. 

Amos and Charles Briggs were influ- 
ential natives of this township, residing 
south of Charleston. The Calverts and 
Wildmans are prominent in the vicinity 
of the village of Selma. 

E. H. and William Florence, A. F. 
Taft, now deceased, Alfred A. Bowen, 
Edward Merritt, deceased, and his son 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



265 



Charles, the Comries and Murrays, all 
had and have their part in the welfare of 
tliis township. L. W. Haughey, now de- 
ceased, was for a long time actively en- 
gaged in the banking business in Charles- 
ton. 

Almon Bradford, who was bom in 
1830 in New York, moved to Charleston 
about 1880 and still lives at the ripe old 
age of seventy-seven in Cedarville. 

Benjamin Woosely was a large land 
owner and was born on October 30, 1815, 
and died in 1887. 

S. R. Battin was born in Columbiana 
County March 3, 1829, became a resident 
of this township in 1874 and still sur- 
vives. He is president of the Clark Coun- 
ty Farmers' Insurance Association. 

Colonel Milton Chanej^ now a resident 
of South Charleston, was for a time coun- 
ty commissioner. 

CorNTY Officials. 

Madison Township has furnished some 
very good officials for county service, 
considering the importance of the town 
in her midst and the certainty of her Ee- 
publican majority, not more than she de- 
serves. 

Alexander Waddle, Sr., was a member 
of the House of Representatives in 1838- 
1840, and of the State Senate from 1840- 
1842. Alexander Waddle, Jr., was a 
member of the State Senate, 1874-1876. 
Stacy B. Eankin was a member of the 
House, 1897-1901. Thomas J. Pringie, 
who originally came from that township, 
was a member of the State Senate two dif- 
ferent times, 1880-1882 and 1886-1888. 
D. 0. Heiskel was county commissioner 
from 1857-1863 ; L. B. Sprague from 1864- 
1866. I am not sure that Sprague was a 



resident of this township at that time. 
He might have been a resident of Har- 
mony Township. Edward Merritt was 
county commissioner from 1876-1879; 
Leon H. Houston from 1879-1882. Mr. 
Houston was also a member from this 
district of the State Board of Equaliza- 
tion in 1890. Milton Chaney was com- 
missioner from 1895-1901. Thomas L. 
Calvert is at present secretary of the 
State Board of Agriculture. Stacy B. 
Eankin was likewise commissioner from 
Ohio to the St. Louis Exposition. 

Absalom Mattox was county clerk prior 
to 1873. While not sure, yet I think he 
was a one-time resident of this township. 

Township Officials. 

The following are given in older records 
as having served in official capacity in 
reference to township affairs between 
1816 and 1855: 

William Holloway, Eobert Phares, 
Isaac Vandeventer, Adam Peters, Thomas 
Green, P. Sellers, John Kelso, James Wil- 
son, Charles T. Arthur, Simon Armstrong, 
John Mitton, Eees Ellis, James Woosley, 
William Smith, Enoch Wilkins, Calvin 
Hale, John Curtice, Robert F. Evans, P. 
Hedrick, Francis Crispin, Gilbert Pierce, 
Clement Shockley, Samuel Briggs, Joseph 
Briggs, Isaac Dalyrimple, Jesse Ells- 
worth, William Beauchamp, John Eeed, 
Eowland Brown, Seth Saint John, David 
Wilson, Eulass Ball, Isaiah Hunt, Jesse 
Griffith, William L. Warner, Greenfield 
Dooley. Christopher Fox, John B. Mad- 
den, Absalom Mattox, E. H. Broadbury, 
John Packer, Gregory Bloxsom, Cephas 
Atkinson, Matthew Crispin, George Ben- 
nett, John W. Johnson, Charles Paist, 
David Morgan, Epaminondas Hutton, G. 



266 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



W. Jones, Jacob Critz, George Hemple- 
man, Jefferson Nagiey, D. V. Pringle, 
Joshua D. Truitt, Griffith F. Sweet, T. F. 
Houston, Calderwood Hill, John Rankin 
and Washington Buffenbarger. 

Township Trustees since 1881: A. G. 
Pratt, Milton Cheney, M. H. Collins, 
*William Florence, John Heiskell, *E. H. 
Florence, W. H. Brown, Thomas L. Cal- 
vert, W. H. Lott, E. H. Bush and *Howard 
S. Smith. 

Township Clerks since 1881: Michael 
Way, W. J. Hudson, W. H. Rowe, E. P. 
Flynn, F. G. Norton and *John S. Brown. 

Township Treasurers since 1881: E. 
D. Houston, John Heiskell, Abihu Raines, 
Harry P. Thomas, 0. L. Stephenson and 
'Frank D. Hill. 

Justices of the Peace since 1871: 
Thomas P. Miller, 1871; A. F. Taft, 1871- 
1877, 1881; William H. Lott, 1872-1875; 
Washington Buffenbarger, 1876; Michael 
Way, 1877-1880; Webster Barrett, 1878; 
Lawrence Heiskell, 1883; Almon Brad- 
ford, 1883, 1892 : William J. Hudson, 1884- 
1890; E. S. Steinraan, 1886, 1896; A. C. 
Scanland, 1887-1890; William Cheney, 
1895-1901; Henry Schickendantz, 1897- 
1900; I. H. Thorne, 1903; William War- 
rington, 1904; John B. Allen, 1905. 

CHURCHES. 

The churches of this township are al- 
most entirely confined to the villages of 
South Charleston and Selma. ' 

Methodist Episcopal. 

The Methodist Episcopal denomination 
first began to hold services in the neigh- 
borhood of Charleston about 1814, when 



*Present officers. 



Isaac Davisson invited William Irwin and 
Jonathan Minchell to come to their house 
and preach once in four weeks. 

In 1821 South Charleston was placed 
on Paint Creek circuit and became a reg- 
ular preaching place. Rev. Moses Traitor 
is said to have been the first preacher. 
Services were continued at Mr. Davis- 
son's house for several years. In 1828 a 
frame church was erected on the site of 
the present one, 30x40 feet in size. The 
first Sabbath school was organized in 
1830 by Rev. W. T. Snow in 1847 and 1848 
and a new brick building, the one still 
standing, was erected. Among the min- 
isters of this congregation may be men- 
tioned the Revs. Finlay, Roberts, Gatch, 
John Collins, Russel, Biglow, W. H. 
Eaper, Dr. Taylor, Frank Wilson, Dr. 
McCann and Jonathan E. Chaplin. The 
Rev. S. B. Smith ^vas its pastor about 
1881. Rev. G. W. Voris is the present 
pastor. 

Weslf.y Chapel. 

This was the name of the church, like- 
wise of the Methodist denomination, 
which was located nearly five miles east 
of Springfield and which was erected in 
1847. Such records as are now accessible 
state that the charge belonged to the 
Urbana District: that those who contrib- 
uted to its erection were William H. 
Harris, Absalom Foley, Henry Shugh, 
David Hayward, C. Moler and others. 
In the year 1874, the society was disband- 
ed and the property disposed of. 

Presbyterian. 

This society was organized in 1822, the 
Rev. William Dickey having the same in 
charee. In the vear 1833 a frame church 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



267 



was erected which was afterwards used 
as a residence. The Rev. John S. G-allo- 
way was minister from 1835-1844 ; James 
Pealan, 1844-1849, and W. Edwards, 
1849-1851. 

Dr. Haight, who came to this church in 
1859, was the first resident minister un^ 
der whose leadership a large brick church 
was built. 

In 1862 Eev. H. S. Smith became the 
pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. S. 
Jewett. Afterwards S. M. Showfield and 
Rev. Kelsey became the ministers. In 
1876 Rev. James S. Kemper was the 
pastor. 

Rev. J. K. Gibson is the present pas- 
tor. In 1902 the congregation erected a 
beautiful new church, which is indeed an 
ornament to the village. Dedication serv- 
ices were recently held in the building. 

Catholic. 

The Catholics have a large and flour- 
ishing cliurch in the village of Charles- 
ton. The first services here were held in 
1850, when Father Howard celebrated 
mass in the hotel. Along and after this 
time a section house of the Little Miami 
railroad was iitilized for church purposes. 
In 1858 Father Blake made arrangements 
to get the old Presbyterian Church. In 
1865 the lot upon which the present 
church stands was purchased. The cor- 
nerstone was laid in that year and dedi- 
cated in 1866 by J. B. Pur sell. Rev. John 
Kennedy was pastor in 1873. The Rev. 
William Grennen in 1874. It was during 
his pastorate that the residence was pur- 
chased for the priest. Eev. C. M. Leard- 
ing became pastor in 1877. The church 
is active and numbers' about eighty fam- 



ilies in its fold. The Rev. J. M. Keely is 
the present pastor. 

In 1906 a ma,gnificent church was erect- 
ed upon a site neighboring that of the old 
church, and it is probably the most im- 
pressive building in the town. Steps are 
now being taken for the construction of 
an elegant parsonage. 

Selma Methodist. 

The first services were held by this de- 
nomination about 1828. In 1830 they 
erected a church which went by the name 
of Brooks' Meeting House. About the 
year 1842 this church became divided on 
the slavery question. The extremists 
withdrew and organized a society at 
Cortsville. Those who remained, in 1855 
built what was known as the Gravel 
Church, which still stands on the site 
of the old Brooks' Meeting House. 
Among the numerous pastors who served 
this church were: Revs. Levi White, 
John Black, William Simmons, Andrew 
Murphy, Joseph Newson, Allen W. Tib- 
betts, J. Verity, J. B. Ellsworth, David 
Whitmer, Stephen F. Koney, H. Stokes, 
M. P. Zinc, J. L. Gregg and W. Q. Shan- 
non. Rev. G. W. Voris is the present 
paBtor. 

Friends. 

The vicinity of Selma was settled by 
people who belong to the society desig- 
nated as Friends. The original organi- 
zation came into existence in 1822 and 
worshiped near the residence of Samuel 
C. Howell, three-quarters of a mile 
northeast of the village of Selma. In 
1828 there was a division, one society call- 



268 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



ing itself Orthodox and the other Hicks- 
ites. 

Orthodox — A branch calling themselves 
Orthodox left the Hicksites in possession 
of the meeting house, and for some time 
met at the residence of John Wildman, 
whose house was one mile east of Selma. 
This branch was the larger one of the 
two, and in 1832 they determined to erect 
a house and purchased one and one-half 
acres of land for this purpose near the 
village of Selma and built thereon a 
prominent frame church. Here they wor- 
shiped until the year 1871, when they 
built the house still occupied by them. 
It is a brick structure, 40x52 feet. Han- 
nah Smith is a minister at this place. 

Hicksites — The Hicksites remained in 
the original property. Here a division 
again occurred among the members in 
1843 on account of the slavery question. 
Extremists held the church property for 
several years and then became extinct. 
The building, with the ground on which it 
stood, was abandoned. The conservative 
portion built a house about a mile north- 
east of the former one in 1544. Thomas 
Merritt, Joshua Harrison, Isaac Ward- 
ner and Thomas Branson each helped in 
building this church. The organization 
is still in active operation, regular serv- 
ices being held here twice a week. 

African Methodist Episcopal. 

The colored Methodists in the vicinity 
of Selma organized in 1870, building a 
frame church in 1875. Among the pas- 
tors who have served in this congrega- 
tion may be mentioned William Johnson, 
Edward Taylor, James Eoss, Benjamin 
Combash and John Hammond. In South 



Charleston this sect has had a church for 
a quarter of a century. A colored Baptist 
church was organized in South Charles- 
ton in 1895, but owing to fiinancial condi- 
tions was forced out of activity, and its 
building sold and used for purposes other 
than religious. Bev. William Coleman 
was its first pastor. 

SCHOOLS. 

The first schoolhouse was built south 
of the village of South Charleston, near 
the Little Miami railroad and about 1816 
was taught by a man by the name of Fair- 
child. The next schoolhouse was built 
about a mile northeast of the town; here a 
Mr. Lanfield taught for some time. The 
next was west of the town, not far from 
the Pringle residence. Moses Pierce 
taught he]'e awhile. 

Prior to 1830 the schools were kept up 
by subscription, but in about a year's 
time they were supported by taxation. 
The township has three sub-districts ; one 
is that of the townshijo proper, the others 
South Charleston and Selma. South 
Charleston is now building a new school- 
house which is to cost $35,000. 

Selma organized a special school dis- 
trict a few years ago and in 1905 erected 
its present commodious structure. Five 
original school districts are centralized in 
this school, the building costing $15,000. 

The following are the teachers in the 
various school districts for 1907-8: 

Madison Township. 

Superintendent, C. M. Kissell; music 
supervisor, S. B. Jackson; No. 1, Cope- 
land, Mrs. Ella Curry; No. 2, Briggs, 




UIJ) PI•:NNS^ LVANIA IIOUSI':, SPRING- 
FJF.LD 




O. K. HOUSE 

(Formerly stood on the ground now occupied by 

the Masonic Home) 




TRAVELERS' REST, SPRINGFIELD 
TOWNSHIP 
Built 1S:?S 




SNYDER MILL, SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP 
Built 1S25 




OIL MILL ON BUCK CREEK, SPRINGFIELD 
TOWNSHIP 




OLD SAW MILL 

Built about 1825, where Mill Run falls into Lagonda 

Creek 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



271 



Fanny Westlake; No. 3, Pierce, J. E. 
Runyan; No. 4, Oak Grove, Vinton Bus- 
ier; No. 5, Thorp, Bessie Severs; No. 7, 
Cartilage, C. M. Kissell. 

South Chaeleston. 

Superintendent, Harry Paxton; high 
school principal, Mrs. E. W. Bradley; 
high school assistant, Lena Knott; sixth 
grade, Helen Black; seventh grade, Anna 
Luden; fifth grade, Jane Martin; third 
grade, Pearl Heizer; second grade, 
Catharine Seanlan; first grade, Elizabeth 
Van Meter; music, W. H. Lewis. 

Selma. 

Superintendent, Edward Brantner; as- 
sistant high school teacher, Henry Laff- 
erty; grammar grades, Edith Wilson; in- 
termediate grades, Frances Gugenheim; 
primary, Lametta Mills. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males, 
90; females, 95; total, 185. 

South Charleston— Males, 194; females, 
163; total, 357. 

MAD ETVER TOWNSHIP. 

Boundaries. 

Mad River Township is situated in the 
southeastern part of the county. It has 
roughly the shape of a triangle. It no 
doubt takes its name from the river 
boundary on the west. It is bounded on 
the south by Greene County, on the west 
and north by Bethel and Springfield 
Townships, from which it is separated by 
Mad River, and on the east by Spring- 
field and Green Townships. Territorial- 
ly it is one of the smallest .townships in 



the county. The lower part was origin- 
ally a part of Greene County, when this 
county was formed from Greene and 
Champaign Counties. The entire length 
of the township from east to west is about 
nine miles. The boundary along Mad 
River is about eleven miles. The width is 
about six and a half miles from north to 
south. 

Soil. 

While there are some abrupt hills up 
along Mud Run, yet generally speaking 
the land is tolerably level ; at some places, 
especially in the lower part, it is quite so.- 
The valley of Mad River is several miles 
in width. It is drained principally by 
Mad River along its north and south 
side, Mud Run in its center and southern 
portion, and Mill Creek in its northeast- 
ern part, although this stream does not 
directly touch the township. These 
streams make the township good for 
grazing purposes. There are a number of 
large springs in different parts of the 
township, which add materially to its 
value for grazing purposes. One such 
spring is situated north of Enon, in what 
was latterly known as the Harshman 
farm. This spring was large enough in 
former times to be utilized for milling 
purposes at or near Enon Station. There 
was another large spring on Mud Run, 
which was known as the Partington 
Spring. At an early time there was a 
woolen factory there. The Galloway 
Spring was on the land south of Enon, 
and Cold Springs is up in the northern 
part, not far from Limestone City. No 
doubt at these springs were frequently 
found the camping places of the aborigi- 
nees. 



272 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



TiMBEE. 

Most of the land of this township was 
originally covered with timber, principal- 
ly of the oak kind. There was some hick- 
ory and walnut; likewise in some places, 
although not very plentiful, were the pop- 
lar, beech, ash and kindred varieties. 

Crops, Etc. 

The staple crops of corn, wheat and 
oats are grown in this township. There 
are no particular industries, unless it be 
those made by lime quarries. Formerly 
the mills along Mud Run and Mad Eiver 
presented quite an industrial appear- 
ance to the neighborhood immediately sur- 
rounding them; yet these are now prac- 
tically all abandoned. There is an ele- 
vator at Enon Station on the Big Four 
railroad. 

Industeies. 

The Victor Eubber Tire Shops are lo- 
cated near what is known as the old 
Hertzler Mill, but are not doing much at 
present. In the northeastern part of the 
township are located Limestone City and 
the various stone quarries, particularly 
those of the Mills Brothers and the 
Moore's Lime Company. One of the 
marked features of this township is the 
Prairie Knob Mound, near Enon, it be- 
ing the largest mound in the county and 
is located out in a level field several hun- 
dred feet in circumference and about 
forty feet in height. There are forty- 
seven miles of public highway. 

Eg ADS. 

The Springfield and Dayton Turnpike, 
which is the principal road leading 
through the township, was surveyed as 



early as 1805, but was not finally built 
until 1835, and after that time was the 
principal thoroughfare between Spring- 
field and Dayton, the route leading rather 
in a southwesterly direction and going 
through Fairfield. At this date it fur- 
nishes perhaps the best driveway between 
the city of Springfield and Dayton. At a 
later date the Eebert Pike was built. 
This road runs in a meandering way, 
parallel to the Dayton Eoad, entering 
Springfield on Southern Avenue, the 
Fairfield Pike leading off of the Yellow 
Spring Pike at Beatty, and is somewhat 
parallel to these pikes also. The Yellow 
Springs Pike leads from Springfield to 
Yellow Springs and touches this town- 
ship at its extreme southeastern corner. 
Enon is the principal village of the town- 
ship. 

Hennesy, a small village, is situated in 
the southeastern part and Limestone City 
in the northeastern. 

It is supposed that General Clark's 
army, on its way to the battle of Piqua 
in 1780, passed through this township not 
far from the present Dayton Eoad. 

Population. 

Mad Eiver Township in population for 
the last half century has just about been 
holding its own. In 1850 it was 1,707; 
1870, 1,883; 1880, 1,812; 1890, 1,750; 
1900, 1,847. The increase of population 
in the last decade has been due probably 
to the settlement in and around Lime- 
stone City. 

Acreage and Assessed Valuation. 

The following table will show the num- 
ber of acres and the assessed valuation of 
the real and personal property, as dis- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



273 



tributed around in the various school dis- 
tricts : 

Acres. Real Personal Total. 

Estate. Property. 

Mad River Tp. 12,423 $47«,020 ?34G,320 $ 822,340 
Mad River 

Scliool Dist. . . 8,778 324,160 177,570 501,780 

Enon T 5 35,440 23,760 59,200 



Total 21,206 ipS3r),620 $547,650 $1,383,270 

Politics. 

This is considered one of the Demo- 
cratic townships of the county, although 
the plurality is not very large, ranging 
from twenty-five to tifty. 

Old Settlees. 

The first settler within the limits of the 
territory now comprised in Mad River 
Township was James Galloway, on Sec- 
tion 5, Range 8. Mr. Galloway came in 
an early day; the exact date is not fully 
determined, but not later than 1798. He 
came from Pennsylvania to Kentucky, 
and, on account of the insecurity of land 
titles at that time in Kentucky, owing to 
military claims, he removed with his wife 
to Ohio, as above stated, taking a tract of 
400 acres, partly upland and partly rich 
bottom, along the Muddy Run. Mr. Gal- 
loway was a blacksmith, and brought with 
him an anvil and a few tools and as he was 
the only blacksmith for many miles around 
he had a good run of custom. His principal 
customers for a few years were Indians, 
who were then on friendly terms with the 
whites. There is a story about the anvil 
which he brought with him that we will 
relate, not vouching for its truth, however. 
It is that he made a "lizard," a kind of 
sled, from the fork of a tree and placed 
the anvil on it and drove in pins to hold 
it in position and fastened the lizard or 
sled to his horse's tail and thus hauled 

1.5 



Lis anvil from Cincinnati to Muddy Run. 
Mr. Galloway was a soldier in the Rev- 
olutionary War. The next settlers after 
Mr. Galloway were Joseph and Robert 
Layton in 1801. They came from Penn- 
sylvania, and Joseph settled on a part of 
Section 32, now known as the Rubsam 
farm. Robert Layton settled on a part of 
the same section, on what is known as the 
AVilliam Layton farm. Joseph Layton 
was elected one of the first trustees of the 
township; was afterward elected justice 
of the peace, and became one of the first 
judges of the Court of Common Pleas of 
Clark County. In 1801 Abel Crawford 
came from Kentucky and settled on Sec- 
tion 27, Range 9, on what is now the 
property of Henry Snyder. On this farm 
there is an excellent spring of cold water, 
and a delightful grove. Being convenient 
to the railroad, it is in the summer season 
a favoiite resort for picnics and Sunday 
school excursions, and as a pleasure re- 
sort is known as the "Cold Springs." 
The same year James Woods, from Penn- 
sylvania, settled on the Joseph Layton 
tract, already described; also in 1801 
William Parmer, from New York, settled 
on what is the Stilwell Springs. The 
same year Christian Miller came from 
Kentucky and settled on what is now 
known as the J. H. Barringer land. Sec- 
tion 18, Range 8. Shrofe, from Ken- 
tucky, and Christian Shrofe, his son, set- 
tled about the same time on the Bunyan 
place. Section 22, Range 8; also Myers 
and Spencer, son-in-laws of Shrofe. 
Samuel Davis came from New Jersey in 
!I803, and settled in the west part of the 
township. About 1805 Moses Miller, 
from old Spring-field, Hamilton County, 
settled on the land now belonging to the 



274 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



heirs of Melyn Miller, Section 36, Range 
8. A iDart of the farm is still occupied by 
the widow of ]\Ielyn Miller; also Uriah 
Blue, on the Hake, now the L. J. M. Baker 
farm. Section 28, Range 8. About the 
same time and from the same place came 
Reuben Winget and settled on what is 
now the Reuben Shellabarger farm, Sec- 
tion 6, Range 8. The same year Melyn 
and Jonathan Baker came from Butler 
County, the former entering Section 31, 
Range 9, and settled on the north part of 
the section, on what is known as the 
Daniel Baker tract. Mr. Baker came 
from New Jersey to the present site of 
Cincinnati in 1790, and bought 200 acres 
of land on Walnut Hills. He afterward 
sold out and removed to Butler County, 
and thence to Clark. In those days the 
log cabins of the old settlers were thrown 
open to receive the families of those who 
came among them to settle, for such time 
as was necessary, with the assistance of 
the neighbors, to erect a similar structure 
for themselves. Melyn Baker, on sev- 
eral occasions, entertained new arrivals 
until they could erect and occupy their 
o-RTi cabins. About the year 1807 Richard 
Hudjul and family and Henson Reeder 
and family were welcomed to the hos- 
pitalities of his primitive abode during 
the time they were building their own 
equally humble residences. 

Reeder came from Hamilton County, 
and, after trying several locations on this 
side of the river, he removed to Bethel 
Township and settled on the John Crain 
farm. About 1806 DeWitt settled near 
where the Enon Station is now located; 
removed after a short time, and joined 
the Shakers. About the same time Dmiel 
Mead came from Massachusetts and set- 



tled also near the present site of the Enon 
railroad station. 

In 1805 Jacob Reeder came from Ham- 
ilton County and settled on a tract of 
land adjoining what is still known as the 
Elder Reeder farm. At the same time 
came Stephen Reeder, father of Eider 
George Reeder, and settled on a tract of 
about 200 acres, which included what is 
now known as the Elder Reeder farm, 
Section 13, Range 9. At the same time 
came Rule Petersen from Hamilton 
County; also John Brocaw from Hamil- 
ton County, and also settled on the tract 
years ago known as the Reed farm, Sec- 
tion 14, Range 9. In 1808 John Ambler 
came from New Jersey and settled on the 
Partington place, Section 24, Range 9 ; he 
afterward moved to Spring-field and en- 
gaged in the sale of the first goods that 
were sold in that little village. At the 
same time Thomas Collier, from Ireland, 
settled on what is now known as the 
Cyrus Drake farm, Section 29, Range 8. 
In 1809 Elias Vickers, a Christian min- 
ister, came to the township. In the same 
year John Tenney, from England, set- 
tled on what is now the Coffield place, on 
Muddy Run, Section 11, Range 8. John 
Ruse, a native of Maryland, came about 
1812 ; his wife, Sarah, was from Pennsyl- 
vania, and. previous to their coming to 
Mad River, had lived in Greene County, 
Ohio. The first preacher was Thomas 
Kyle; after him, Reuben Dooly, William 
Kinkaid, David Purviance, Francis Mont- 
fort and Barton W. Stone; some of these 
were noted men in their day, having been 
able ministers in the old-school Presby- 
terian Church, and claiming the right of 
private interpretation of the Scriptures, 
independently of the acknowledged stan- 



AND BEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



275 



dard of the cliurdi. They rejected the 
authority of her courts and claimed to ac- 
knowledge no authority but the Bible 
alone in matters of conscience and re- 
ligious duty. Barton W. Stone, above 
- named, was a leading spirit in the contro- 
versy that ensued. 

Early Events. 

The first church was erected in the 
township in 1806 and was called Knob 
Prairie Church. The first schoolhouse 
was built in 1806, a short distance north 
of Enon, near the former residence of 
Daniel Baker on the Spring-field and Day- 
ton Pike. The first teacher was named 
Samuel Grillalan. The first tavern of the 
township was built in 1812 by William 
Donnels, about one mile and a half south- 
west of where the village of Enon is now 
located, on the old Dayton and Spring- 
field road. It was nicknamed "Hickory 
Tavern." About 1818 John and James 
Leffel built the first grist mill at what is 
now known as Snyderville. 

An Englishman by the name of Part- 
ington at an early date had a woolen mill 
near the headwaters of Mud Run. The 
earliest known marriage was that of John 
Layton to Elizabeth Baker by Matthew 
Donnels, justice of the peace of the 
township in 1805. A tannerj'' was erected 
by William Smith in 1816. The first 
death was that of Mrs. Broadis in 1806. . 

D. Miller erected the first frame bam 
in 1818 and the first brick house in 1824. 
J. Layton and A. Crawford were the first 
distillers, and James Galloway set out the 
first orchard in 1800. 

Mad River was crossed in a canoe until 
the building of a frame bridge in 1840, 
north of Enon. As early as 1809 Thomas 



Barton manufactured gunpowder on a 
small scale by hand. He was located 
south, near the Clark and Greene County 
line. 

The first store was established about 
the same time that the first grist mill was 
erected by James Leffel in 1818. 

Recent Inhabitants. 

Among others who have been active, 
and might at this time be almost classed 
as pioneers of this township, are the fol- 
lowing : Samuel Arthur was born in this 
township October 20, 1853 on the place 
formerly known as the Dillahunt farm. 
His father, Joseph G. Arthur, came to 
this township in 1829 and married Nancy 
A. Albin, who was a native of Clark 
County. Joseph G. Arthur died Septem- 
ber, 1887. George Arthur, the attorney, 
residing in Springfield, who was a some- 
time resident of this township, is a broth- 
er of Samuel. Samuel Arthur was mar- 
ried in 1875 to Rosabella MeClure, daugh- 
ter of George and Harriett MeClure. Mr. 
Arthur resides in the northern part of the 
township. 

George W. Huntington was born in 
Springfield Township in 1839, the son of 
William Huntington, who came to this 
county in 1835 and died in 1886. George 
W., in 1870, married Miss Anna Hill. He 
lives up along Muddy Run. 

J. R. Athy was born in this township 
in 1833, son of John Athy. He was 
married to Eliza J. Ashen, of Champaign 
County. He still is living and resides 
northeast of Enon. 

A. H. Smith, Jr., is the son of A.,H. 
Smith, Sr., who became the owner of 
about 1,200 acres in and around about 
Enon in 1856. He died in 1902 at the age 



276 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



of eiglitj^-eiglit years. Mr. Smith, Sr., 
was quite an active character in his time. 
Adolphus, Jr., was born in Cincinnati in 
1850, and was married in 1871 to Sarah 
Shellabarger, daughter of Reuben Shella- 
barger. He resides on the old homestead 
near Enon. 

Silas W. Printz was born in Springfield 
Township April 13, 1848, and married in 
April, 1879, to Miss Charlotte Jenkins.. 
Mr. Printz is one of the active, energetic 
men of the township. He resides east of 
Enon on the Rebert Pike. 

William Layton was born in this town- 
ship November 15, 1845, the son of John 
A. Layton, who was a pioneer of this 
township and who died in 1877. He was 
married to Angeline Wolfe. Mr. Layton 
resides in the eastern part of the town- 
ship. 

Walter Rue is a native of this town- 
ship, being the son of W. R. Rue, who was 
likewise bom in this township in 1815. 

J. K. Dunkel was for a long time a resi- 
dent of the city of Spring-field and came 
to this township about 1850 and now re- 
sides in Springfield. John B. Dunkel was 
likewise a resident of this township for 
some time. 

Melyn B. Miller was born in Cincinnati 
in 1801 and died in this countj^ in 1854. 
Melyn H. Miller was born August 28, 
1836. He was the brother of Abraham P. 
Miller, who was born in this township in 
1839 and died in the year 1897. 

John Howell was for a considerable 
time a resident of this township, owning 
a large tract of land in the eastern part. 
H^ was an active, energetic man, at one 
time president of the Lagonda Bank at 
Springfield, and also served this county 
in the legislature. He died a few years 



ago at an advanced age. His son, Ralph, 
lives on the old farm. 

The Shellabarger family were natives 
of this township, several of the brothers 
having been active in its affairs, Samuel 
being a member of Congress. D. E., a son 
of Ephraim, was bom here October 13, 
1826, and in October, 1847, he married 
Rosanna Johnston; he is still living in 
Enon, probably next to B. F. Keifer, the 
oldest man in the township. 

Silas Kissel lived in the northern part 
of this township for some years. He died 
in 1906. Jacob Baker, a Marylander, had 
lived in the northern part of the township 
for the past twenty years. 

J. J. Arthur, south of Enon, has been 
active in township affairs. Daniel Baker, 
who wrote the history of this township 
for Beers' History, resided for a great 
number of years about one mile north of 
Enon. He has been deceased a few years. 

F. M. Hagan, attorney, of the city of 
Springfield, was born in this township in 
1844, his grandfather having come to the 
township in 1815. 

B. F. Keifer, brother of General J. 
Warren Keifer, was bom in Bethel Town- 
ship in 1821 and moved to this township 
in 1854, where he now resides. He was 
married in 1846 to Emeline F. Henkle. 

County Politics. 

While Mad River Township in its polit- 
ical complexion has not generally been 
in accord with that of the county general- 
ly, a respectable number of public officials 
have come from or claim this township as 
their home. 

The most distinguished citizen ever 
born in this township was Samuel Shella- 
barger, who served eight years in Con- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



277 



gress for this district and afterwards 
practiced law in Washington until his 
death. As a statesman he won the ap- 
proval of such an eminent public man and 
competent critic as James G. Blaine. As 
a lawyer he was recognized as one of the 
leading practitioners of the Supreme 
Court at Washington. (See chapter on 
Bench and Bar.) 

J. H. Littler, who was probate judge of 
Clark County for a number of years and 
a member of the legislature, was a some- 
time resident of this township. 

John Howell was a member of the leg- 
islature in 1860 and 1862. 

Melyn Baker was county commissioner 
in 1840-1849; Ezra D. Baker from 1851- 
1857; Horatio S. Miller from 1872-1875. 
F. M. Hagan, who has served as city 
solicitor of the city of Springfield and as 
postmaster, and who for a time was judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas, is a na- 
tive of this township; as are 0. F. Serv- 
iss, who was auditor for ten years, and. T. 

D. Wallace, who was postmaster in 
Springfield under President Cleveland's 
second administration. 

GeorgeArthur was the Democratic nom- 
inee for Congress in this district in 1876. 

The following is a list of some who 
have served as township officials : 

Justice of the Peace — John Coffield, 
3871-1874; T. J. Barton, 1871-1874; Aaron 
Morehouse, 1872-1875; D. S. Hustead, 
1874-1877; 0. F. Serviss, 1875-1878; 
Daniel Baker, 1875-1878; J. J. Arthur. 
1875-1884, 1895-1904; Z. Taylor, 1876- 
1879; David Hustead, 1878, resigned; 
Samuel Knott, 1879-1882, 1885-1888; 
Daniel Winget, 1879-1889, 1898-1901; A. 

E. McCain, 1882-1885; Geo. W. Coffield, 
1882-1895; A. H. Smith, Jr., 1889-1892- 



1898-1901; Edward Brantner, 1895-1898; 
Ralph Howell, 1897-1900; W. H. H. 
Turner, 1901-1904; Joseph A. Arthur, 
1904-1907; Samuel A. Brantner, 1905- 
1908; Samuel Winget (elect). 

Township Trustees — A. H. Smith, Jr. 
1882-1883, 1887-1898, 1902-1905; A. P 
Miller, 1882-1882; Samuel J. McClure, 
1882, 1884, 1886-1887; John Arthur, 1883 
G. J. Kissell, 1884; Josiah J. Arthur 
1884-1886; George W. Coffield, 1885-1894. 
Ezra D. Miller, 1885, 1899-1901; Henrv 
Hass, 1888-1889; H. L. Feirstine, 1890 
S. W. Printz, 1891-1902; E. S. Beard 
1895-1897; J. E. Drake, 1898; John A 
Miller, 1899-1900; D. B. Beard, 1901- 
1907; William E. Rebert, 1903-1904; Wil- 
liam A. Layton, 1905-1907; C. R. Miller, 
1906-1907; A. H. Smith, Hiram Lemder- 
muth (elect). 

Township Clerks— Daniel Baker, 1882, 
1884; A. B. Dunkel, 1883, 1887-1904, 1906; 
A. P. Kidwell, 1885 ; F. A. Duckwell, 1886 ; 
Dan Humer, elected, resigned and A. B. 
Dunkel reappointed, 1905; A. B. Dunkel, 
resigned and Kvle M. Dunkel appointed, 
1907. 

Township Treasurers — J. B. Dunkel, 
1882-1894; J. S! Harshman, 1895-1896; 
Dr. Elwood Miller, 1897-1900; Dr. R. C. 
Hebble, 1901-1907. 

Present Board of Education (1907) — 
J. H. Lindemuth, president; C. P. Johns- 
ton, clerk ; S. N. Miller, George W. Dilla- 
hunt and J. B. Smith. 

Churches. 

Knob Prairie Church was the first one 
that was erected in this township. It was 
built in 1806 by the Christian denomina- 
tion on a tract of land donated by Judge 
Layton situated on a rocky bluff over- 



27J 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



looking the prairie on the old road, now 
vacated, leading from Yellow Springs 
across what is known as the "Broad 
Ford" on Mad River to New Carlisle. 

Mr. Baker's description of this church, 
which follows, is a good general descrip- 
tion of the churches at that day: 

' ' This church was built of hewed logs ; 
was about 24x32 feet; the floor was laid 
with puncheon, and the door was also 
made of the same material. Puncheon 
was made by splitting a log into flat 
pieces, two or three inches in thickness, 
straightening their edges and facing their 
flat sides as in hewing. As the use of 
puncheon went out with the introduction 
of saw-mills, so also the term, which was 
only of local origin, became nearly obso- 
lete. The windows consisted of holes cut 
out through the logs, and, as glass was 
not then considered an absolute necessity, 
nor was it ever a procurable commodity, 
greased paper was pasted over the open- 
ing to admit the light into this primitive 
temple, where the early pioneers assem- 
bled to worship God, in a building erected 
for the purpose of protecting them from 
cold and storm, and not for style and vain 
show. This building was also furnished 
with puncheon seats, as it was considered 
a great step in advance for the worshipers 
to have a place to sit down during divine 
service. This period was many years be- 
hind the age of backs and cushions, which 
would doubtless have been regarded as a 
manifestation of wicked pride and luxu- 
rious ease incompatible with the rough 
and hardy customs made necessary by the 
exigencies of those times. The building 
was covered with clapboards, and was, 
when completed, an object of pride, and 
considered an achievement worthy of the 



time and the occasion for which it was 
erected. The surrounding grove was 
once a great camp-meeting ground; the 
people came for thii'ty or forty miles, with 
tents, remaining several days to attend 
the meetings. This old log structure 
served its day and was replaced by a more 
commodious frame structure, with plas- 
tered walls and ceiling, panel doors and 
regular glass windows. This building 
has long since been torn away, the society 
having built a commodious brick building 
in the village of Enon." 

When this church was abandoned the 
Christian denomination built a Christian 
Church in Enon, the first resident minis- 
ter being Elder Ladley. Rev. Mr. Jones 
is the present pastor. 

The next church to be erected was near 
the Greene County line in 1816; it was 
afterwards torn down and a brick build- 
ing built upon the same location. 

In 1840 the Methodist Episcopal organ- 
ized in a small log house which stood in 
a grove between Enon and what was then 
the residence of Ezra D. Baker. This 
house has long since disappeared and a 
church was built in the village of Enon, 
corner of Broadway and Pleasant Street. 
It is still occupied by them and has a 
flourishing congregation. The first reg- 
ular ministers of this church were Levi 
P. Miller and Noah Huff. The first local 
resident minister was Frederick Snyder. 

Schools. 

The schools of Mad River Township 
are abreast of those of the county gen- 
erally, the townshij^ having a high school 
department and employing a superintend- 
ent. The first schoolhouse in the town- 
ship was built in 1806, about thirty yards 



AND RBPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



279 



east of where Daniel Baker recently re- 
sided, near the old Dayton and Spring- 
field Road; and the first schoolhouse in 
Enon was built on North Xenia Street, of 
brick, one story, and is or was until a few 
years ago still standing and occupied as a 
dwelling house. The next schoolhouse 
was built on South Xenia Street, a two- 
story brick building, having three rooms, 
two below and one above. The schools of 
Enon are in the special school district. 

The following are the teachers for the 
coming year : 

Superintendent, J. R. Clarke; 0. P. 
Hause was elected high school assistant 
and music super^dsor; 0. H. Rust, of 
Boone Station, was moved to the gram- 
mar grade of Enon in the jDosition left 
vacant by E. C. Lohnes; C. S. Ryan, of 
Moorefield Township, goes to the gram- 
mar grade at Boone Station; Boone Sta- 
tion, primary, Gertrude Dillahunt; Enon, 
primary, Alma Nickle; No. 3, Blue Stem, 
Maud Sheley; No. 4, Maple Grove, 
Beatrice Jones; No. 5, Spread Eagle, 
Elizabeth Sehulte ; No. 6, Oakland, Mabel 
Dillahunt. 

Mad River Special : Superintendent 
and music supervisor, 0. P. Hause; Cen- 
ter, Sara Denlinger; Rocky Point, Wil- 
liam Pownell; Sulphur Springs, Flossie 
Lehman; Oak Grove, O. P. Hause. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 : Males, 
151; females, 147; total 298. 

Mad River Special District: Males, 
95; females, 71; total, 166. 

MOOREFIELD TOWNSHIP. 

Boundaries. 

Moorefield Towmship is immediately 
north of Springfield Township and is 



bordered on the west by German, on the 
east by Pleasant Township and on the 
north by Champaign County. 

I am not advised whether it had an ex- 
istence as a part of Champaign County 
prior to the organization of Clark County 
in 1818. At this latter date, however, it 
was organized with substantially its pres- 
ent boundaries, a corner being added 
afterwards in the southwest part, making 
Mad River the boundary line between it 
and German Township. It was named 
"Moorefield" after a place of that name 
in Virginia, from which a large number 
of the settlers along its central and east- 
ern parts came. 

Streams. 

It trenches into the valley of Mad 
River, the southeastern part coming into 
direct contact with the river and the 
northwestern part having the valley of 
one of its small tributaries called Moore's 
Run. 

A short distance east of the center. 
Buck Creek flows through the township 
from north to south, and in the extreme 
southeastern part it is touched by Sink- 
ing Creek. 

Crops and Timber. 

These various streams make it a very 
well-watered territory, suited for grazing 
purposes, and it was largely devoted to 
that purpose by the early settlers, es- 
pecially those living in the Buck Creek 
Valley. Some of the land in these valleys 
was originally swamp, but is now mostly 
drained. The upland of the township is 
what is called oak land and was original- 
ly covered with timber of that and kin- 



280 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



dred varieties. Practically all of the 
land is tillable and fertile, producing the 
usual crops that can be grown in this 
climate. 

The Foleys, Yeazells and Clarks have 
been from an early time extensive stock- 
raisers. 

Roads. 

The Springfield and Urbana Turnpike 
extends through the western part of the 
township not far from its western line 
and the Clark and Union Turnpike leads 
north from Lagonda, following the val- 
ley of Buck Creek through the entire 
township. 

Gravel being abimdant, the roads are 
generally in good condition. Almost 
fifty miles of public roads are in this 
to^vnship. The Big Four and Erie rail- 
roads touch its western extremity, the 
stopping jDoint being Bowlusville, and the 
Delaware branch of the Big Four leads 
up the Buck Creek Valley, stopping at 
New Moorefield. The township has three 
villages — Bowlusville, New Moorefield 
and Villa. (See villages.) 

Voting Precincts. 

It is divided into two voting precincts, 
east and west, one being located at New 
Moorefield and the other at Kenton 
School House on the Urbana Pike. By 
reason of the trade of the township com- 
ing to Springfield directly over the two 
pikes heretofore mentioned, not much in- 
tercourse is carried on between the people 
residing in the western part of the toAvn- 
ship and those in the eastern. The town- 
ship is eight miles wide east and west and 
five miles north and south. 

The Buck Creek vallev was settled by 



Virginians principal]y,and that part north 
along the Urbana Pike by Kentuckians. 
The Virginia settlers were more of Eng- 
lish than of German descent. 

Population. 

Like other townships its population has 
been almost at a standstill for the last 
half century, it being 1,312 in 1850; 1,268 
in 1870; 1,345 in 1880; 1,307 in 1890; and 
1,435 in 1900. 

Acreage and Assessed Valuation, 

The following table shows the number 
of acres and the assessed valuation of the 
real and personal property in the town- 
ship and various school districts. 

Real Personal 
Acres Estate Property Total 

Moorefield 20,903 $782,110 $550,040 $1,332,150 

M. & Or. School 

Districts 2S7 9,160 16,080 25.240 

M. & Spr. School 

Districts 280 10,430 2,800 13,230 

M. & Spr. City 

School Dist. .. 738 34,5.50 17,350 51,900 

M. & Urbana 

School Dist. .. 1,596 67,160 19,920 87,080 

Total 23,810 $903,410 $606,210 $1,509,600 

Politics. 

As the settlers of this township came 
from a different part of the old dominion 
than those of German Township, it has 
followed that in political complexion the 
township has been different and at almost 
all elections, the majority vote has been 
against the Democratic party. In former 
times it was Wliig, latterly Republican, 
generally in the neighborhood of one hun- 
dred. 

Old Settlers. 

The township began to be settled in the 
latter part of the eighteenth century. In 
1799, a colony of five settlers, with their 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



281 



■wives and children, left their friends in 
Kentucky and settled in this township, 
along the Urbana Pike, which was then a 
cleared path cut through the forest. (See 
Roads.) Their names were Philip Jar- 
bow, William Ward, Simon Kenton (the 
renowned Indian fighter), John Richards 
and William Moore. Ward settled in sec- 
tion 32, on the place now occupied by Mr. 
Sultsbach, which is four miles north of 
Springfield. He brought his wife and 
fourteen children with him, but his wife 
dying, he married again, and had four 
more children born to him of the second 
marriage. Kenton was also married, and 
settled on land on the road adjoining 
Ward oh the north. During the first year 
of ' their settlement here, Kenton dug a 
canal (where afterwards was Cassilly's 
saw-mill) intending it for a mill-race, but, 
on account of the water supply being in- 
sufficient, the project was abandoned, and 
no mill built. Jarbow settled in a dense 
oak wood, next to Kenton, where the trees 
were so thick that, tradition says, a man 
could go over the whole clearing without 
touching the ground, by stepping from 
stump to stump. This little band of en> 
igrants seemed to be of an enterprising 
nature, for it is said that Jarbow, shortly 
after his settlement, constructed a "still" 
and manufactured whiskey for himself 
and neighbors, working on shares. This 
was probably the first spirituous liquor in 
the township. He continued business 
through his whole life, and thus disposed 
of the surplus corn of the neighborhood. 
In 1802, some other families left their 
homes of ease and comfort in the "Old 
Dominion" to seek their homes in West- 
ern wilds. These were Richard Robinson, 
James Bishop and Benjamin Cornell. 



Robinson had a family of fifteen children, 
and his wife Sarah. He settled on the 
farm now known as the "Yeazell place." 
Bishop also had a family of fifteen chil- 
dren, and his wife, whose name was 
Nancy. He settled on the farm afterward 
owned by James Foley. Cornell had a 
family consisting of his wife, Rose, and 
fourteen children. In the same year came 
Jonathan and James Paige, from Ken- 
tucky, and settled in the township. In 
1803, James Foley, a native of Virginia, 
born 1779, came to the county, selected 
land in Moorefield Township, upon which 
he settled permanently in 1805. In 1808, 
he married Mary Marsh, also a native of 
Virgiaia, born in 1784, to whom were 
born Griffith, Catherine, Susan, John and 
James. Mr. Foley was one of the first 
county commissioners on the erection of 
the county in 1818, and served several 
years; was also in the Legislature two 
terms, and became one of the largest land 
owners in Clark County. He died in 1864, 
aged eighty-four. John Ward settled in 
the township about the same time as 
Foley. Judge John R. Lemon settled on 
Section 2, in the southeastern part of the 
township in 1808 ; he was also a Virginian. 
In the same year, David Crabill and his 
wife Barbara came from Virginia and 
settled on Buck Creek. They had born to 
them twelve children; several yet survive, 
and are among the leading families of the 
county. David was a native of Virginia, 
and his wife of Pennsylvania ; her maiden 
name was Bear, and he was in the War of 
1812. Thomas ^.''oss, a native of Virginia, 
settled where Nathan Marsh formerly 
lived, in 1808. Silvanus Tuttle and his 
wife, Mary (Brown) Tuttle, came to Ohio 
from Virginia ,in 1806, settling first in 



282 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Champaign County, close to Catawba Sta- 
tion, and, in the spring of 1808, remov- 
ing to the sontheastem part of Mooretield 
Township, where both died, he in January, 
1.843, aged eighty-two, and his wife in 
IVIay, 1848, aged eighty-five. Of their 
numerous family, Eunice, Thaddeus, 
Hetty, Thomas, John, Doras, Caleb, 
Zebedee and David, all are dead. The 
Tuttles incline toward the Baptist Church, 
and many of them are actively identified 
with that denomination. 

In 1808, Charles Rodkin and John Eun- 
yan settled in the township, and Jacob 
Richards a couple of years previous; all 
were from Virginia. In 1811, Horatio 
Banes came with his parents, Evan and 
Lina Banes, and settled in Section 10, 
where his father died in 1827, and his 
mother in 1836. They had three sons, all 
now deceased. Horatio was born in 
Virginia in 1791, and was married in this 
county in 1824, to Polly Miller, by whom 
he had nine children. He died in 1868. 
He was prominent in township affairs. 
Henry Bosart and his wife, Elizabeth, set- 
tled on Section 21 in 1811; his wife died 
in 1817, and he in 1841. His son, T. L. 
Bosart, became a well known and lead- 
ing farmer of his township, and his grand- 
son, Lewis W. Bosart, who lives in Spring- 
field, still owns the old homestead; James 
Clark was born in Virginia, and there 
married to Martha Davis, of that state, 
to whom were born Rebecca, John, 
Charles M., William, Ellen, Eliza, Juliana 
and Wallace. They came to Coshocton 
County, Ohio, in 1806, and about 1811 to 
this township, afterward moving to Cham- 
paign County, where they died. Mr. Clark 
excelled as a cooper. His sons, John, 
Charles M. and William, now deceased. 



were well knowTi and prominent citizens 
of Clark County. Seaton J. Hedges set- 
tled close to the Champaign County line 
at an early day. He married Harriet 
Miller, and was afterward remarried 
twice; he died on his farm. In 1810 
Abraham Yeazell and his wife, Mary, na- 
tiA^es of Virginia, who settled in Clinton 
County, Ohio, at an early day, came to 
this township, settling in the southeast- 
ern part. They had fourteen children. 
Mr. Yeazell died January 2, 1832, and his 
wife September 22, 1828, and the family 
is one of the best known and most ex- 
tensive in Clark County. Dennis Collins 
was born in Virginia in 1771, and there 
married to Mary Thomas, born in New 
Jersey in 1774. They had fifteen chil- 
dren — Dr. Collins, Sr., now deceased, of 
South Charleston, being one of the num- 
ber. In 1796 they moved to Kentucky, 
and in 1811 to Champaign County, Ohio, 
settling in Moorefield Township in 1813, 
where he died in 1826, and his wife in 
1843. John Marsh was born in Virginia 
in 1794; came to this township about 
1818; he was married, in 1833, to Maria 
Dye, to whom were born three children 
now deceased — Nathan, Mary J. and John 
D. He was a very successful farmer, and 
accumulated a large estate, dying in 1837 
much re.spected. 

In 1812, Ward, Banes and Foley went 
to Detroit to recruit Hull's army there. 
They must have gone with a large force 
of Kentuckians who passed through the 
settlement that year under Colonel Wick- 
liff, to re-enforce Hull's army, but they 
arrived just after Hull's cowardly and 
ignominious surrender. Ward and Foley 
busied themselves during their lives in 
amassing titles of lands, in addition to 



AND BEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



283 



that of their first purchase. They would 
enter large tracts and make the first pay- 
ments ; then they held it until, hy selling a 
part, they conld with the proceeds pay the 
balance due. "VVTfien Ward was first mar- 
ried, Moses Henkle, the minister, came 
to take dinner with him the first Sabbath 
after he had entered the hymeneal state. 
They only had one gallon pot in the house ; 
in this they boiled the potatoes, and, after 
they were done, boiled the coffee in the 
same pot. Then they baked the bread on 
the lid of the pot, before the fire, and 
roasted the wild turkey, which they had 
saved for the occasion, on a spit in front 
of the fire, hanging it on a peg driven in 
the logs above the fireplace. They ate 
from a table made by sawing off one end 
of a big log and driving three pegs in it 
for legs. The chairs were made by Mr. 
Ward, being constructed in the same man- 
ner as the table, but minus the legs. 

In 1807 Alexander McBeth, his wife 
Rachael, and eight children, came from 
Pennsylvania and settled on the old Col. 
Ward farm, more recently known as 
Frank Brook's place. In 1810 Mr. Mc- 
Beth built a brick house, which was the 
first one in the county, and i>robably in 
any county adjoining. We have very 
vague information concerning a man 
named McDaniels, who came into the 
township previous to 1806 but of his his- 
tory or family nothing can now be learned, 
all traces of him having long ago disap- 
peared. Moses Henkle, another early set- 
tler, came previous to 1810, and built a 
little log house near the former residence 
of Mariah Jones. He was of German 
descent, and came from Pennsylvania. 
He had two daughters and several sons, 
all of whom are now scattered and their 



history lost. The father was buried in 
Pleasant Hill Graveyard. One of his fam- 
ily was the first county clerk of Clark 
County. 

The first to bear the glad tidings to the 
people and disseminate the truths of the 
Gospel in the township was the Eev. 
Robert Miller, an American by birth, but 
of Scotch descent. His grandparents em- 
igrated from Scotland in 1738. His father 
served in the Revolutionary War, in which 
he lost his life. Robert was born in 
Prince George County, Maryland, August 
19, 1767. He moved to Virginia in 1793 
and in 1797 removed to Kentucky. He 
came to this state and township in 1812, 
and settled on land now occupied as a site 
for the new Moorefield Methodist Church. 
He was a Methodist preacher by profes- 
sion — one of those dauntless, energetic, 
Methodist preachers that characterized 
that denomination in early pioneer days. 
He was the prime mover in the organiza- 
tion of the Moorefield Church, in 1812, for 
which he preached a number of years. He 
was twice married, having four daughters 
and five sons (two of the latter afterward 
became ministers) by his first wife, and 
three boys and one girl by the second 
wife. In 1816, he built a large new log 
house, to which he added an extra room 
especially for church services, as they 
then had no meeting-house. This house 
stood where the residence of A. W. Mum- 
per is now located. 'When the project of 
building the first church was in debate, 
Mr. Miller donated the ground for church 
and graveyard, gave $100 (which was one- 
sixth of the whole cost), solicited the bal- 
ance, and afterward split the lath for the 
new building, and painted it when com- 
pleted. In 1834 he died, with this odd. 



284 



HISTORY OF €LAEK COUNTY 



though characteristic, speech on his lips: 
'•] am g'oing to heaven as straight as a 
shingle." He was buried in the ground 
he had given to the church twenty-two 
years before for a burying-ground, where 
his body molders while his spirit is at 
rest. It will be well to mention some of 
his co-workers in the church work, as they 
were also early residents of the township. 
Among them were Saul Henkle, who, in 
1818, when the county was organized, was 
the first clerk; Hector Sanford, John 
C] origan and Dennis Collins. A com- 
paratively early settler, and one whose 
name is well known throughout the town- 
ship, was Judge Daniel McKinnon, a 
Virginian, who came to this section in 
1808, and settled on the ground where New 
Moorefield now stands, in Sections 3, 4, 
9 and 10, corner. He had a family con- 
sisting of his wife, three girls and five 
boys, all of which children are now scat- 
tered over the country outside of the town- 
ship. The father died on the land he en- 
tered, and was buried in the old grave- 
yard. Michael Arbogast came to Moore- 
field in 1811, from Pendleton County, Vir- 
ginia, and entered a half-section of land 
on Buck Creek. He had five sons and 
two daughters, who were left fatherless 
by Mr. xVrbogast's death, which occurred 
in 1813, two years after his entrance into 
the settlement. His early demise pre- 
vented him from making the paAineuts on 
his land, and his widow found herself 
very much in debt, but, by industry, 
economy and extreme frugality, she suc- 
ceeded in meeting all demands made. Her 
third son, Eli, was born in 1799, before 
they left Virginia. In 1823, he married 
Miss Nancy Henkle, also a Virginian, who 
was then twentv-two vears old, and thev 



had born to them nine children. For 
twelve years after marriage, they lived on 
rented land, but in 1835 Mr. Arbogast 
bought the property in Section 21, where 
he subsequently resided. 

Early Evejstts. 

One of the first births in this township 
was that of Margaret Ward, daughter of 
William, born in 1804. Eliza Foley was 
born in 1807. In 1810 Alexander McBeth 
just across the Champaign County line, 
along what is now known as the Urbana 
Pike, built the first brick house in this 
country. The first schoolhouse was prob- 
ably built in 1812, north of Springfield 
on the Urbana Pike, on Avhat is known as 
the Frank Brook's farm. This house was 
built of logs. Probably the first dwelling 
Jiouse of the township was the one erected 
by Simon Kenton in 1799, on the Urbana 
Pike, close to the present Hunt residence. 
It is related that during the War of 1812 
a large force of Kentuckians marched 
through the township imder Colonel Wiek- 
liffe to re-enforce the American army at 
Detroit. John Ward, Horatio Banes and 
James Foley went along with this delega- 
tion but arrived in Detroit too late, as 
Hull had already surrendered. 

The death of an old man by the name 
of McDaniels, in 1808, is the first re- 
corded. 

Mills were erected on Buck Creek, and 
Kenton attempted to erect one on Moores 
Eun. (See Mills.) 

Rece^tt Tn"habitants. 

Of those who were more recently active 
in the affairs of this township may be 
mentioned the following: 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



285 



James Clark, who was a life-long resi- 
dent of this township and for many years 
township treasurer, was a son of John D. 
Clark, who came to this county when but 
a child. He was born in 1838 and died in 
1906. He was a noted stock-raiser, at one 
time being the owner of Mohawk whom he 
sold to his father for $25,000, and also of 
Fanny Foley, sold to John D. Rockefeller 
for a handsome price. 

S. H. Bowlus came to this township, set- 
tling north near the county line, in 1853. 
He was born in Maryland in 1819 and died 
in November, 1896. Charles J. Bowlus, 
sometim.e mayor of Springfield, was his 
grandson. 

Thos. C. Wilson was born in Kentucky, 
September, 1806, and came to this county 
with his parents about 1815, and in 1856 
he bought the farm where they first lived, 
north of New Moorefield along the county 
line. He died in 1894. His son, James 
P., succeeded to the ownership of the 
home farm, he dying in 1903. 

Nathan and John Marsh, Jr., were 
former residents of this township. 
Nathan was born in 1833 and died in 1900. 
He was an extensive stock-dealer in his 
time. In 1859 he was married to Catha- 
rine, daughter of Jacob Yeazell, who still 
survives. 

Joseph Sultzbaugh was born April 30, 
1812, in York County, Pennsylvania, and 
came to Moorefield Township, settling on 
the Urbana Pike in 1856, whei'e he died in 
1886, leaving a very large family. He 
was prominent in matters pertaining to 
the public. 

Mayor William T. Hough was a promi- 
nent early citizen of this township, born 
in Virginia in 1811, and coming to Moore- 
field Township in 1833, and died about 



1893. His son John T. Hough is a resident 
of the township at this time, formerly 
holding the position of township trustee. 

The Baldwins were early inhabitants of 
this township, William having been born 
in 1834. His grandfather located here 
about 3809. For a while William Baldwin 
lived in Kansas, but for a number of 
recent years was justice of the peace of 
the township. His brother Frank was 
born upon the place where he still resides, 
north of New Moorefi-eld, in 1841. He has 
always resided in this township and for a 
number of years has been justice of the 
peace. 

A well known resident of this township 
is Abraham W. Mumper, who lives near 
the Champaign County line. He was born 
in Miami County in 1842 and came to this 
township as a prominent resident about 
the close of the war. He was married in 
1868 to Miss Sarah Hutton. 

Reuben Scifers was born in Virginia in 
1843 and located in Champaign County in 
the same year. He bought the farm upon 
which he now resides, a short distance 
above Springfield, in 1868. 

A pioneer who resided in this township 
the latter days of his life was Reuben 
Huffman. He was bom near the old In- 
dian village of Piqua in 1802. He moved 
into this township in 1877, and died in the 
early eighties. His son Oscar recently 
died in the village of New Moorefield, hav- 
ing kept a store there for some years. 
Several of his children lived in the vicin- 
ity. 

R. L. HoUman, born in Massachusetts in 
1828, came to this township in 1875 and 
purchased his present farm on the Urbana 
Pike about five and one-half miles north 
of Springfield. 



286 



HISTOEY OF CL;.RK COUNTY 



William T. Hunt, a native of New Jer- 
sey, settled on the Urbana Pike, on what 
is now known as the old Hunt homestead, 
about the year 182S. He was quite promi- 
•nent in early affairs and died about the 
year 1870, leaving a large family, five boys 
and six girls. Ralph, the eldest, was a 
captain in the Civil "War. William went 
south and died some years later. Robert, 
George and Edward died on the home 
farm. The eldest daughter became the 
wife of E. B. Cassilly, the next daughter 
the wife of Mr. Tiers. These are both 
now widows and residents of this county. 
Meta became the wife of Chandler Rob- 
bins. Elnora, Rose and Virginia still live 
on the home farm. Jacob Yeazell, Jr., 
was a grandchild of x\braham and Mary 
Yeazell and the son of Jeremiah Yeazell, 
who was born in 1806, and came to this 
township while a boy, settling on the farm 
now owned by Ross Mitchell. Jacob was 
born in 1 842 just over the line of Pleasant 
Township. To distinguish him from an 
uncle who had the same name he is known 
as Jacob Yeazell, Jr. Jacob Yeazell, Sr.. 
was a son of Abraham Yeazell hereinbe- 
fore referred to, and a brother of John 
■W. who now lives in New Moorefiield. 
Jacob Yeazell, Sr., was born in Clinton 
County in 1809 and died a few years ago 
at the advanced age of ninety-one years. 
His wife, who was a daughter of John 
and Jane Foley, was born in 1810 and died 
when more than ninety-one years of age. 
They had a family of seven children. 
Eliza J. married Jonathan Donnel and is 
still living in Springfield; Catharine W. 
was the wife of Nathan Marsh, late of 
Champaign County. John A. recently 
died; James E. lives in Dayton; William 
H. lives in this township; Sarah E. mar- 



ried Henry Weaver and George W. re- 
sic es with his family in Springfield Town- 
ship. 

Pierce Crabill, son of David Crabill be- 
fore spoken of, is still living on the old 
farm in the southern part of the town- 
ship at the advanced age of eighty-four 
years. His brother William, Sr., is liv- 
ing in the City of Springfield. 

Leonard Karg was born in German}^ in 
1826, and came to Moorefield Township 
in 1855 and lived there until his death in 
1904. His place of residence was im- 
mediately south of the Champaign Coun- 
ty line on a farm now occupied by his son 
Sam. 

County Officials. 

Moorefield Township, being of the same 
political complexion as the county, has 
furnished a fair proportion of the public 
oflicials. 

James Foley above spoken of was coun- 
ty commissioner in 1818, also was repre- 
sentative in the State Legislature. E. B. 
Cassilly, county commissioner from 1867- 
1872, was for some time a resident of this 
tOAvnship, residing on the Urbana Pike 
immediately south of the Hunt farm, upon 
the farm which is still in the name of 
his daughter. James Foley was elected 
sheriff in 1881 and was a resident of this 
township and afterwards moved to 
Springfield. He was a grandson of the 
James Foley above referred to. 

Peter Rockel was born in German 
Township one mile below Tremont City 
in 1831, and became a resident of this 
township in 1867. He resided there until 
his death in 1896. He was justice of the 
peace a number of years, more familiarly 
known as "Squire Rockel." 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



287 



J. H. Thomas, afterwards a rich manu- 
facturer of the city of Springfield, was 
formerly a resident of this township, and 
was elected recorder in 1853. Mr. 
Thomas was born in Maryland in 1826. 
His residence in this township was as a 
member of his father's family, he going 
to the city of Springfield immediately 
after his leaving college. 

Douglas W. Eawlings was a native of 
this state, born in Champaign County in 
1843. His father was James Eawlings 
and settled in this state in 1823, taking 
up a tract of land in Urbana Township. 
Mr. Eawlings was a veteran of the Civil 
War and elected County Commissioner in 
1882, afterwards served as a member of 
the General Assembly and also as state 
senator, and died in 1895. 

Smith S. Twichell was born in New 
York in 1836; married in 1868 to Miss 
Virginia, daughter of Seaton Hedges, and 
became a resident of Moorefield Township 
in 1875 ; was elected county commissioner 
in 1900. 

Justice of the Peace since 1871 — Milton 
M. Miller, 1871 ; Peter Eockel, 1872-1875 ; 
James Foley, 1872, resig-ned; James M. 
Hodge, 1873; Gabriel W. Banes, 1875; S. 
S. Twichell, 1876; Frank Baldwin, 1878- 
1884; 1896-1902; 1904; G. B. Hunt, 1878; 
J. L. Little, 1881-1887; William Baldwin, 
1887-1890; Thomas Lesher, 1890; H. B. 
Moler, 1890; Thomas Langen, 1893; John 
W. Yeazell, 1893; Charles E. Little, 1894; 
Jacob Snaufer, 1897; A. D. Heindel, 
1901; P. li. Maughan, 1904; B. F. Weigel, 
1907. 

Township Trustees— J. B. Croft, 1880- 
1881; Wm. H. Crabill, 1880-1882; J. C. 
Beard, 1880-1883; L. H. Eoberts, 1881- 
1882; Jacob Yeazell, 1882-1885; John 



Sultzbach, 1882-1886 ; Moses Kiger, 1883- 
1884; John B. Hough, 1884-1885; J. S. 
Swaidner, 1885-1886 ; Jacob Yeazell, 1886- 
1888; S. S. Twichell, 1886-1899; Leonard 
Karg, 1888-1891; Frank Erter, 1891 to 
Sept. 1st same year (resigned) ; E. K. 
Hunt, Sept. 1st, 1891-1892 ; Adam Stoner, 
1892-1903; Eeuben Scifers, 1895-1898; 
Jacob Snaufer, 1898, term expires Jan. 
1908; J. L. Phleger, 1899-1900 (resigned) ; 
J. H. Engle, 1900 to Jan. 1st, 1906; Geo. 
K. Ernst, 1903, term expires Jan. 1st, 
1908; Lera Bowers, 1906, term expires 
Jan. 1st, 1910; Geo. Otstot (elect). 

Township Clerk— G. D. Brinkman, 1880, 
to Nov. 17th, 1884 (resigned) ; J. S. Simp- 
son, Nov. 17th, 1884, term expires Jan. 
1908. 

Township Treasurer— ^James Clark, 
1880, to Mar., 1906, died; J. L. Phleger, 
Mar., 1906, term expires Jan., 1908. 

Board of Education — John H. "Wilson, 
A. D. Heindel, C. 0. Baker, Frank Wones, 
•Tohn A. Yeazell (deceased, no appoint- 
ment made to fill vacancy). 

Churches. 

There are in this township but four 
churches, each of different denomination. 
The Methodist Episcopal, Protestant 
Methodist, Baptist and United Brethren. 
The Methodist Episcopal was the first or- 
ganized in 1812. This church was first 
built on the road a short distance south 
of the present residence of Abraham 
Mumper and was known as the Miller 
Church and is now called Moorefield 
Chapel. Afterwards a church was built 
in the village of Moorefield, regular serv- 
ices are held in both churches, Eev. M. E. 
Eshels being pastor of both churches. 



288 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



The Protestant Methodist Church was 
organized in 1846 and a few years later 
a church was built in Section 15, im- 
mediately south of the farm now belong- 
ing to Mrs. Dimond. Is still standing 
with regular services. It is known as 
Pleasant Hill Church. M. M. Campbell is 
the present pastor. 

The Baptist Church was organized in 
1879 and was dedicated in 1880. It was 
situated on the Clark and Union Turn- 
pike, two miles north of New Moorefield. 

The last church that was built in the 
township was that of the United Brethern 
in Bowlusville. This church was built 
about the year 1886. It is in good condi- 
tion. A. H. Lehman is the present pastor. 

Schools. 

The first schoolhouse of this township 
was built in 1812, north of Springfield on 
the Urbana Pike, on what is now known 
as Frank Brooks farm, and was a log 
structure. An early school teacher of the 
township, who taught as early as 1810, 
was named Redwood. Squire Lemon 
taught in the western part of the town- 
ship .a few years later. The schools are 
all well managed and in good condition, 
the township, however, having no high 
school. 

The following are the teachers for the 
present year: Supervisor, D. I. Mc- 
Dowell. New Moorefield, grammar, D. I. 
McDowell; primary, Zelphia Stephenson. 
Union, grammar, Clyde McCuUough; pri- 
mary, Edna Jones. Kenton, Ollie Gard. 
Franklin, A. L. HuUinger. Hunter, Em-, 
ma Spahr. Kennedy, Elinor Boolman, 
Oak Dale, Alice Arthur. Yeazell, C. C. 



Runyan. Oak Dale and Kennedy were 
reopened. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males 
150; females 131 ; total 281. 

PIKE TOWNSHIP. 



BOL'NDAKIES. 

Pike Township is located in the extreme 
northwestern part of Clark County. It is 
the only township in the county having 
Vv'hat is usually considered the correct di- 
mensions of a township, it being six miles 
square, and containing thirty-six square 
miles. It has for its boundaries, Miami 
County on the west. Champaign County on 
the north, German Township on the east 
and Bethel Township on the south. Noth- 
ing is known now as to the origin of its 
name. 

Sl^eface. 

Practically the entire township is up- 
land, rolling but not hilly. The soil is 
generally fertile and reasonably well- 
drained naturally. A very great improve- 
ment has been made, however, on much of 
this "beech land" by under-drains. Orig- 
inally it was covered with timber, the pre- 
x'ailing type being beech, sugar, ash, 
hickory, poplar, walniit and different 
varieties of oak. The oak was not so 
plentiful, however, as on the east side of 
the Mad Eiver Valley. 

Crops. 

In the western part of the township 
limestone crops out of the surface. The 
soil is very well adapted for the raising 
of oats, corn and wheat, however, these 
cereals being grown with profit. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



289 



Streams. 

The township has no stream of water 
of any considerable size; however, Don- 
nels' Creek, Jackson's Creek, and Honey 
Creek extend through the township, flow- 
ing in a southern direction. These 
streams are now often dry in the summer 
time. At an early date there were saw- 
mills on these various streams at different 
places. (See Mills.) 

Roads. 

There are about 30 miles of improved 
roads in this township. 

No steam railroad enters the township 
and until the S. T. & P. Traction line was 
built a few years ago, no railroad of any 
kind entered the township. This road en- 
ters the northeast corner and goes through 
the villages of North Hampton and Dial- 
ton, these being the only villages in the 
township. There are only two voting 
precincts, one at North Hampton and the 
other including the southern part of the 
township. Like the other townships of 
the county the early settlers came prin- 
cipally from Virginia and Kentucky, some 
coming from Maryland and Pennsylvania. 

Population. 

The township has had a very slow 
growth in population in the last half cen- 
tury. In 1S50 its population was 1,471; 
1870, 1,582; 1880, 1,758; 1890, 1,758; 1900, 
1,533. 

Acreage. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres and the assessed valuation of the 
real and personal property of the town- 
ship. 



Aotes. Real Personal Total. 

Estate. Property. 
Pikd Township ...23,375 .'F825,240 $42.5,400 $1,2.50.640 

It will be noticed from this table that 
the entire township makes but one school 
district as the table is made according to 
school districts. 

Politics. 

While the various townships of the 
county seem to receive their early set- 
tlers from the states, yet some townships 
have voted in favor of the Democratic 
candidates from a very early date, and 
Pike is one of that number. It was 
strongly in favor of Jaclcson in 1832, bnt 
pretty close between Harrison and Van 
Buren in 1840, and was carried by Taylor 
the Whig candidate in 1848, since which it 
has steadily given a Democratic majority 
in the neighborhood of from 50-75. 

Or.D Settlers. 

The following information in regard to 
the Old Settlers is derived from a histor- 
ical work previously published. 

Unlike the neighboring townships, Pik? 
was not settled, comparatively speaking, 
until a later day. It was not until the 
year 1805 that we have any trace of a set- 
tlement in Vv'hat now comprises this sub- 
division. This year cam.e from Virginia 
two brothers, Andrew and Samuel Black, 
who together selected and later entered 
Section 25, dividing it between them, the 
former coming in possession of the south- 
ern half. They returned to their Virginia 
home, where Andrew had left a wife and 
one child. Samuel was an unmarried 
man. The following year (1806), after 
due preparation had been made, Andrew, 
accompanied by his family and brother. 



290 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



again turned his course westward for the 
bhosen spot of their future home. Upon 
the southern half of Section 25 was 
erected the first cabin in the township; 
it was the rude log pole cabin of the 
day. The work of the pioneer here began. 
Soon the space of five acres was dead- 
ened and the underbrush cleared, and the 
first crop of corn planted, which was care- 
fully cared for by these first comers, but 
the squirrels were so numerous that, 
despite the effort on the part of these men, 
the entire crop was almost consumed by 
them. However, the gathering season 
came, and as the result of their labor but 
three bushels were gathered; this was 
garnered up in the bin (then the loft of 
the cabin), for future use. The season 
for its dem.and soon approached, and 
Andrew contemplated a journey to the 
mill, but imagine his surprise on looking 
for the treasure to find that the entire 
yield had been destroyed by mice. So 
much for the first settlement and first 
crop. These men were both natives of 
Montgomery County, Va. Andrew was 
bom March 6, 1783, and was united in 
marriage, December 20, 1804, with Susan- 
nah Ross, who was also a native of Mont- 
gomery County, Va., born December 7, 
1781. They were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children; Samuel A., Mary, 
James, William, Thomas, Jane, Andrew, 
Edward and Susannah. Father and 
mother Black died on the homestead Oc- 
tober 18, 1854, and September 25, 1845, 
respectively, and their remains rest in 
what is now known as the Black Cemetery. 
The brother Samuel died in the year 1814, 
and was interred in the same burial- 
ground. He served as Captain in the War 
of 1812, where he contracted the fatal 



disease of consum_ption, which terminated 
in his death. (See memoranda at end of 
history of township.) Andrew also per- 
formed some service as a scout in that 
war. 

The next settlement of which we could 
gain any knowledge was effected in Sec- 
tion 19, by Adam Verdier, some time dur- 
ing the year 1806. Mr. Verdier was a 
man of family, having married Elizabeth 
Mercer. Both were natives of Jefferson 
County, Virginia, where they were mar- 
ried and whence they emigrated to the 
township of Pike. They left Virginia as 
early as 1804 or 1805, but stopped for a 
while in what is now Montgomery Coun- 
ty, in this state. The southeast quarter 
of Section 19 was entered by Mr. Verdier. 
In later years he became quite a heavy 
land owner, possessing nearly five hun- 
dred acres in Cham^paign County, and a 
half-section in Shelby County. The 
mother died in 1858, and the father some 
years previously. Both are buried in the 
Black graveyard. 

For a few years after the coming of the 
above-mentioned pioneers, we have little 
knowledge of settlements made, and of 
those making them. William Simms and 
Samuel Brandenburg, the latter from 
Kentucky, entering land in Section 13, 
were early settlers of Pike, but the dates 
of their comiiig and further knowledge of 
them we have been unable to obtain. In 
the year 1811, the little colony was in- 
creased by the arrival of Thomas Staf- 
ford and family. They too hailed from 
the state late known as the "Mother of 
Presidents," coming from Giles County, 
Va., and entering the northwest quarter 
of Section 31, and there beginning the 
work of the pioneer. Mr. Stafford was 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



291 



a native of England, and, at the age of 
ten years, arrived in Virginia, in which 
state he married Catharine Williams, a 
native thereof. This couple, with three 
children — Peggie, Nancy and George W. 
— emigrated to this vicinity on horseback, 
making the journey in twelve days. In 
after years, there were born to the 
parents, the following children: Eliz- 
abeth, James, Melinda, Thomas, Susan, 
John, Henry, Joseph, Catherine, William 
and Lueinda. The father reached the age 
of eighty-two years, and the mother fifty- 
four. They lived and died on the home- 
stead, and are buried in Miami County. 
The former served as a scout in the War 
of 1812. Ralph Stafford, a brother of 
Thomas, accompanied the latter, but en- 
tered land in Miami County and in later 
years came to Pike Township and here 
died. During this same year (1811) came 
from Virginia, James and John Black, 
brothers of Andrew and Samuel Black 
above mentioned. James made a tem- 
porary stay, and his brother Andrew then 
entered the southeast quarter of Section 
20, on which land he resided until his 
death, in the year 1853. He was born Au- 
gust 17, 1789. His wife's name was Catha- 
rine. They were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, all of whom were born in Pike 
Township, namely, Mary, Matthew, Su- 
sannah, Catharine, Dorcas, Joseph, Sam- 
uel, James, Julia and John A. John was 
united in marriage with Elizabeth Ross, 
and they were blessed with eight children. 
He entered the northwest quarter of Sec- 
tion 19, and there lived and died. A little 
later came William Black, Sr., uncle of 
the Blacks jiist spoken of. He was from 
the same part of Virginia, and was quite 
an old man when he came out. He en- 



tered the northwest quarter of Section 13, 
and there ended his days. About the year 
1813, another of the Stafford brothers, 
George by name, came from the Stafford 
neighborhood in Virginia, and entered the 
west half of Section 31. His wife was 
Catharine Fair. They reared a large fam- 
ily of children. The same year (1813), 
James Fuller and his family left Mont- 
gomery County, Va., stopping one year 
in Kentucky, thence proceeding to the 
vicinity of New Carlisle, in Bethel Town- 
ship, where he remained about two years, 
and thence into Pike Township, entering 
the west half of Section 21, for which he 
paid $2 per acre. His children were 
Ellen, Sarah, James C, Moses, Bradley 
and Rhoda, of whom James C, recently 
deceased, lived on the old homestead. The 
mother died in 1844, and the father in 
February, 1872, the latter in his eighty- 
fourth year. Both are buried in the Black 
graveyard. Northrup Fuller, the father 
of James, settled in Section 22, a little 
later entering the southeast quarter. Be- 
sides the son mentioned, there were the 
following children : John, Moses, Obadiah, 
William, Robert and Sarah, all settled in 
Clark County, and the greater part of 
them in this township. In the year 1812, 
Benjamin Carmin and family came from 
the State of Maryland and entered land 
in what is now Pike Township, where he 
resided until his death, which occurred 
in the year 1827. Mr. Carmin was a na- 
tive of Blackford County, Md., and his 
wife of Virginia. About the year 1816, 
Jacob Frantz settled in Section 7, the 
northeast quarter of which had been en- 
tered by one Hanline; at least the patent 
was granted to Mr. Frantz as the assignee 
of the Hanline heirs. It seems, the per- 



292 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



son entering it was not able to meet the 
payments, and the land was purchased by 
Mr. Frantz, and the grant given as afore- 
said. Louis Ray and family emigrated 
from the State of Virginia in the year 
1812, stopping at Cincinnati, where they 
remained one year; then came to Clark 
County, locating near Springrfield, and 
four years later purchased land in the 
vicinity of North Hampton, Pike Town- 
ship. He married Elizabeth Ziglar, and 
raised a family of ten children, three of 
whom are now living. The southwest 
quarter of Section 3 was entered about the 
year 1815 or 1816, by George Overpeck, 
another Virginian. His wife was Martha 
Currene, both natives of that state, which 
they left in the year 1807, going to Miami 
County on Indian Creek, thence to Spring- 
field Township, and up into Pike as afore- 
said. They were Methodists, and their 
house served as the place of worship 
for years. Mr. Overpeck raised a 
large family, consisting of the follow- 
ing named children: Mary, Susan, 
Margaret, Ruth, William, Elizabeth, 
])Iaria, Samuel, Isaac, Phebe and Greorge. 
The father died in January, 1846, 
and the mother in January, 1866. Both 
were buried in Asbury graveyard. 
William Spence and family settled in the 
vicinity of North Hampton in the year 
1818, they having emigrated from Eng- 
land in 1816, stopping in Cincinnati two 
years. There were thirteen children born 
to the parents. The Bixlers, Basingers, 
Forgys and Letfels were also early set- 
tlers. The Basingers were from Virginia. 
The southeast quarter of Section 9 was 
entered by Obediah Lippincott, who with 
his wife Margaret Reed came from New 
Jersey about the year 1810, first stopping 



in Warren County; thence going to 
Greene County and to Pike Township. 
They were born in the years 1786 and 
1787 respectively. Both are buried in As- 
bury graveyard. The Priests were early 
settlers, too. John in an early day em- 
igrated to Kentucky (from Virginia), and 
thence to this vicinity, entering the north- 
west quarter in Clark County. 

New Jersey was again represented, and 
this time in the person of Jesse and Sarah 
(Sutton) Maxon and family, who are quite 
early settlers in Clark County, having set- 
tled on Mud Run prior to 1815, and a few 
years later traded their land there for the 
southwest quarter of Section 15. Thus 
ends a meager sketch of some of the 
pioneers of Pike Township, who made 
possible the high state of civilization, and 
advancement she has today attained. It 
may be thought that too much prominence 
has been given to some and too little said 
of others, and very probably no mention 
made of some deserving prominence, but 
we assure our readers that under the cir- 
cumstances and the meager source from 
which to obtain facts, the best has been 
done that at this late day could be. Most 
of the above settlers have left worthy 
descendants, who still reside in the town- 
ship. 

Eari;Y extents. 

So far as is known Samuel Black, son 
of Andrew Black, was the first white child 
born in Pike Township, in January, 1815. 
The first hotel in the township was built 
and kept by Alexander Johnson in North- 
ampton about 1833. In 1834 a log hotel 
was built two miles south of Northampton 
at the cross roads bv John Thomas. This 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



293 



was what is known as the "Black Horse 
Tavern. ' ' 

The first mill was built by James Black 
in 1814, on Honey Creek, Peter Baisinger 
about the year 1820 had a mill on Don- 
nels' Creek. This was later known as the 
"Northampton Mill," owned by Mr. Min- 
nich. (See Mills.) 

Recekt Resideistts. 

In addition to the persons given hereto- 
fore as early settlers of the township, 
there might be added the following, who 
have been active citizens, some now de- 
ceased and some still living. 

Madison Over, who wrote the article 
on this township for Beer's History, was 
born in German Township on the 15th 
day of December, 1841, son of Elias and 
Sarah Over. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools and at Wittenberg College 
and taught for about thirteen years. He 
was married in 1865 to Mary J. Jenkins. 
For some time he was a resident of North- 
ampton and served as justice of the 
peace. In 1886 he was a nominee for 
sheriff on the Democratic ticket, being 
defeated by only nine votes. He after- 
wards removed to the city of Springfield 
and in 1890 was the Democratic candidate 
for probate judge, being defeated by about 
700 votes. There occurring a vacancy 
upon the resignation of Judge Miller, he 
was appointed by Governor Campbell and 
served for seven weeks. He was assist- 
ant postmaster of Springfield (T. D. Wal- 
lace, postmaster) during President Cleve- 
land's second administration. He died 
some four or five years ago. His mod- 
esty forbade him to have any biographical 
sketch in the history of this county, which 
he assisted to write. 



George A. Spence is a wealthy land 
owner of this township, born in 1852, son 
of Mark Spence who was a former county 
commissioner of Clark County, and died 
in 1878. Mr. Spence was married to Anna 
Friermood in 1880. He resides upon the 
home farm, a short distance north of 
Northampton. John Spence was a resi- 
dent of this township for more than three- 
quarters of a century. He was born here 
March 21, 1824, and died in 1906. He was 
the son of James and a brother of Mark. 
He was married in 1853 to Miss Louisa 
Bailey. S. S. Jenkins, still a resident of 
this township, was bom in Champaign 
County in 1848, son of David and Eliz- 
abeth (Michael) Jenkins. Mr. Jenkins 
has served a number of times in various 
township positions. A. J. Funderburg 
was for four years a member of the board 
of elections of the county. 

Duncan Thackery was for many years 
a resident of this towjiship. He was an 
Englishman, born in Yorkshire, England, 
December 10, ]813, and emigrated with 
his parents to Champaign County in 1829. 
He was married to Susan Ray, who still 
survives, and who was born in 1820. He 
died about 1897. He was an active, ag- 
gressive farmer and amassed a consider- 
able fortune, which was inherited by his 
children who still reside in this commun- 
ity. 

Among the old pioneers of this town- 
ship is John Ray, who was born in Cin- 
cinnati in 1813, the son of Lewis and Eliz- 
abeth Ray. He has lived in this town- 
ship all his life, and is perhaps at this 
time the oldest man in the township. 

Daniel R. Taylor, present postmaster 
of Northampton, was born in Virginia, 
Dec. 31, 1835, and came to this township 



294 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



in 1880, as a minister of the German Re- 
form Clinrch, and preached in a number 
of charges. He was at one time mayor 
of St. Paris, and served in the War of 
the Rebellion ; likewise filled the position 
of justice of the peace of this township. 

William H. Sterritt who now resides in 
New Carlisle, and who was county com- 
missioner of this county for two terms, 
1884-1890, was for many years a resident 
of this township. 

Other old time residents were Wiley 
Jenkins, who died a few years ago at the 
advanced age of ninety-one years; Will- 
iam K. Jordon, who was justice of the 
}5eace for some time; John Miranda who 
was quite active in township affairs from 
1850-1870; (during the hot political times 
of the war i^eriod Samuel Sterrett was 
the recognized leader of the Republicans 
and John Miranda of the Democrats) ; 
Edward Wones now deceased, grandson 
of Lewis Ray ; William Myers now a resi- 
dent of the city of Springfield, some time 
clerk of this township; James C. Fuller, 
Samuel Baker, Charles S. Black, William 
Black, Jacob and John Myers, Moses Sut- 
ton, Peter Zinn, Daniel Ream, and others 
have been active in the affairs of this 
township. Horace W. Stafford, former 
prosecuting attorney of Clark County, is 
a native of this township, the son of J. 
R. Stafford, deceased. 

County Officials. 

Pike Township having been of the 
]~)emocratic persuasion politically, did not 
furnish a very large supply of county of- 
ficials: Samuel W. Sterritt was county 
commissioner from 1856-1865. Mark 
Spence was elected in 1877, but died 



shortly after taking this position. W. H. 
Sterritt occupied the position from 1884- 
1890, and if Madison Over had been con- 
sidered a resident of this township while 
serving as probate judge this would in- 
clude all that filled county positions from 
this township. 

TOWKSIIIP Officiai-s. 

Referring to the historical records col- 
lected by Over, we find the following men- 
tioned as those active in township affairs 
prior to 1880. 

It seems that there are no township 
records preserved in the office of the town- 
ship clerk of Pike Township of an earlier 
date than the year 1828. The first com- 
mission of James Johnson as justice of 
the peace is dated in 1830. That of John 
Black is dated in the year 1834, though he 
seems to have been in office earlier. 
George Cost was first elected in 1837, and 
Henry Long in 1838. The commission of 
Joseph B. Craig is dated April 10, 1843, 
and Samuel W. Sterrett 's first commis- 
sion is dated Oct. 15, 1844. Samuel J. 
Sims was elected in 1847, and James 
Spence in 1848. Thomas P. Thomas was 
commissioned November 28, 1855; and 
previous to him John Miranda served 
from 1845-1855, was again elected in 1858,. 
and served until 1867. Thomas F. Hard- 
acre was elected in 1859, and the commis- 
sion of William K. Jordan bears the date 
of November 8, 1860. Samuel Mock was 
elected in 1866, and William Jenkins in 
1867. Afterward John A. Black and John 
W. Cost served as justices of the peace. 
Madison Over, was elected in 1879, and 
Thomas Swonger in 1880. Many of the 
above officers were re-elected, some for 





AMPHlTI-lIiA i kh, lAIR GROUNDS 



COUNTRY CLUB. SPRINGFIELD 





VIEW IN FERNCLIFF CEMP;TERY, SPRINGFIELD CLARK MEMORIAL HOME FOR AGED WOMEN 





VIEW ON LITTLE MIAMI. NEAR CLIFTON 



VEIW IN SWDER PARK 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



297 



several terms. Among tlie earlier names 
of those who have filled the office of town- 
ship clerk, contemporaneous with the 
above justices of the peace, may be men- 
tioned James Black, George C. Homer, 
Jacob Harner, John Miranda, George 
Cost, Simon Spence, Andrew Clark, Philip 
Marquart, Asher B. Health, J. E. Lippin- 
cott, J. E. Pennimore, Jeremiah Ream, 
William Jenkins, P. M. Hawke, S. S. Jen- 
kins, and William Myers. The above six- 
teen persons have served Pike Township 
as clerk for the period of about fifty 
years, and have left the reputation of hav- 
ing been upright and efficient officers. 

The following is a roster from the year 
1880 up to the present : 

Township Trustees — John Myers, 1880 ; 
J. L. Rust, 1880-1881; P. S. Zinn, 1880- 
1881; B. K. Minnieh, ISSl; L. I. Lowman, 
1882-1884; Phillip Morningstar, 1882; 
John T. Maurice, 1882, 1884-1888; John 
Morningstar, 1883-1901; J. T. Nicholas, 
1883; Ezra Jenkins, 1885; Jos. Ulrey, 
1886-1890; Samuel Sigler, 1888-1891; J. 
W. Richeson, 1890-1899; S. S. Jenkins, 
1891-December 31, 1907 ; L. R. Lutz, 1899- 
December 31, 1907; William Gundolf, 
1901-Deeember 31, 1907; W. H. Gerin, F. 
F. Jenkins (elect). 

Justices of the Peace — William Jenkins, 
1871, 1873; John A. Black, 1872-1877; 
Samuel Mock, 1875; J. W. Cost, 1876; 
Madison Over, 1879-1885 ; Thomas Swan- 
ger, 1880; Arnold Kester, 1881, resigned; 
Joseph ITlery, 1883; J. P. Mock, 1886- 
1898; G-. W. Harley, 1887; William 
]\[yers, 1890; Daniel R. Taylor, 1893, 
1905; John W. Ryman, 1894-1903; La 
Fayette Fields, 1901-1904; 0. B. Minnieh 
(elect). 

Township Clerks — William Myers, 



1880-December, 1893; George S. Schantz, 
December, 1893-April, 1894; W. S. Jen- 
kins, April 1894, to present time. 

Township Treasurers — Daniel Ream, 
1880-1881; Frederick Jenkins, 1887-1897; 
AVilliam Morningstar, 1887-1897; W. A. 
Ream, 1897-1899; J. W. Flick, 1899-1901; 
John Morningstar, 1901-1904; C. E. Pul- 
ler, 1904-January, 1906; G. W. Barnhart, 
January 1, 1906, to i^resent. 

Members of Board of Education — P. 
Jenkins, president, term expires January 
1, 1908; N. V. Bobo, terms expires Janu- 
ary 1, 1908; S. S. Jenkins, term expires 
January 1, 1910; W. 0. Baisinger, term 
expires January 1, 1910; L. Fields, term 
expires January 1, 1910; W. S. Jenkins, 
clerk, term expires January 1, 1908; G. 
W. Barnhart, treasurer, term expires 
January 1, 1908. 

Churches. 

The pioneer Methodist organization of 
this township was the Beech Grove Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, which was organ- 
ized in 1803 by the Rev. Jesse Goddard. 
The first house of worship was built on 
the site occupied by the present chapel, in 
1840. George Otewalt, Joseph Stott and 
W. P. Black were the organizers. The 
following persons have served as minis- 
ters of this church: Revs. Laws, Els- 
worth, Conry Newson, Musgrove, Fields, 
Creighton, Dinkins, Williams, Purkiser, 
Brown, Black, Robinson, Peck, Whitmer, 
Verity, Jackson, Rector, Edgar, Kirk, 
Fidder, Cheney, Shultz, Peak, Deam, 
Prince, Baker, Zink and A. D. Raleigh. 
This church is located about four miles 
northwest of Northampton In the Ster- 
rett neie-hborhood. 



298 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



The Asbury Methodist Episcopal 
Church was organized in 1830. The first 
church was built about the year 1839, and 
was replaced in 1858 by the present build- 
ing. This church is situated a short dis- 
tance north of Northampton. A move- 
ment is on foot at present to build a new 
church. Rev. S. M. Griffith is at present 
pastor. 

The German Reformed Church in 
Northamj^ton was dedicated in 1858. 
Some of the first members of the church 
were George Cost, D. R. Zinn and Jacob 
Ross. The first minister who preached 
was the Rev. B. H. Winters. The first 
trustees were Peter Marquart, Peter 
Baisinger and Harrison Miller. The fol- 
lowing have been ministers of this 
church : Jesse Richards, Shaw, Swander, 
Winters, Shael, E. R. Taylor, Jesse 
Stiner and others. The present minister 
is Rev. J. C. Paul. 

Emanuel Church of the German Re- 
formed denomination was organized by 
the Rev. Jesse Stiner about 1854. Wiley 
Jenkins, Jonas Michael and Daniel R. 
Zinn were among the first members. The 
present pastor of this church is likewise 
Rev. J. C. Paul. This church is located 
northwest of Northampton about two and 
a half miles. 

The Christian Church was organized 
in 1839. Among the original members 
were John Priest, Andrew Clark, Nancy 
and Mary Clark. John Richeson and their 
families. In 1852 the present building 
was erected. This church is located in 
the northwestern part of the township, 
about one mile east of the Miami County 
line. 

Liberty Church, Brethren in Christ, 
was organized by George. Ulery and Isaac 



Nyswander in 1875, and the present build- 
ing was constructed in 1876 at a cost of 
about $1,200. It is situated in the south- 
ern part of the township in LTlery settle- 
ment. 

The German Baptist Church was or- 
ganized as early as 1816 by Elder Chris- 
tian Frantz, the first elder of this local- 
ity. This church is located south of 
Northampton. The congregation is in a 
large and flourishing condition. It is 
known as a Dunkard organization. Aaron 
Frantz is the .present pastor. 

Sometime about 1885 there was a divi- 
sion in this church and the conservatives 
built a church in the southeast part of 
the township. Henry Dresher, James 
Hansborough, David Leatherman, et al., 
were instrumental in this movement. 
Jacob Sandy and Louis Pfeiffer are min- 
isters. 

The German Reformed Church, which 
is now located at Dialton, was formerly 
in German Township and was moved to 
Dialton, where the new edifice was erect- 
ed in 1890, the old one having been de- 
stroyed by fire. The Rev. J. C. Paul is 
minister at this church at the present 
time. It is in a fl.ourishing condition and 
the organization is actively enjoying their 
fine new church. 

Schools. 

The first building used as a school- 
house was situated three-quarters of a 
mile east of where Andrew Black former- 
ly resided, and James Black was the first 
teacher. 

The first school teachers from this 
township were, so far as known, Ira 
Wood, Joseph Morrison, William Wilson, 



AND EEPKESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



299 



James Black, Archie Mitchell, David 
Morris and Mary Ebersole; more recent- 
ly, William Myers, S. S. Jenkins and 
others. Well known citizens have taught 
in various parts of this township. The 
township has no centralized school dis- 
trict designated as a high school. The 
following are the teachers for the coming 
year : 

Superintendent and music supervisor, 
K. C. Hause; No. 1, Black Horse, Nellie 
Fimderburg; No. 2, Northampton, prin- 
cipal, K. C. Hause ; primary, Mary Bobo ; 
No. 3, Dialton, principal, F. L. Riegel; 
primary, Nellie Spence; No. 4, Yale, W. 
0. Jenkins; No. 5, Center, D. R. Zerkle; 
No. 6, Liberty, Oscar Thomas; No. 7, 
Pike, Leota Bucher; No. 8, Triumph, M. 
0. Mitchell; No. 9, Honey Creek, Harry 
Maxson. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males, 
257 ; females, 203 ; total, 458. 

Memoranda of the Joueney of Samuel 
AND Andbew Black, First Settlers of 
THE Township, on Their First Trip. 

Memorandum of the route we travelled, 
setting out on Thursday, 23d of May, 
1805: From Blacksburgh to Union, 45 
miles; to G-reenbrier Eiver, Alderson's 
Ferry, 14 miles; to McClung in Walker's 
Meadows, 10 miles; to Montgomeries, top 
of Suel Mountain, 14 miles; to Huff's, 
foot of Gauley Mountain, 27 miles; to 
Gauley River, 10 miles ; to top of Little 
Gauley Mountain, 11 miles; to the 
Kanawha, 10 miles ; to the Mouth of Elk, 
20 miles, where we crossed on Tuesday 
following; thence to the mouth of Cole 
River, 12 miles, crossing the Kanawha; 
thence to Ward's on Guindot, 30 miles ; to 



the Ohio, 8 miles ; to Twelve Poles Creek, 
8 miles; to the Big Sandy River, 4 miles; 
thence crossing the Ohio on Thursday 
following, and down it to opposite the 
mouth of Little Sandy Creek, 20 miles; 
thence to the Little Scioto, 12 miles; 
thence across the hills to Big Scioto 
River, 9 miles; to Mr. S. Wright's on the 
Cherry Fork of Ohio Brush Creek, 40 
miles, where we arrived on Saturday, the 
first day of June, in Adams County (after 
crossing the Ohio we passed through 
Gallia and Scioto Counties). Thence, 
after spending a few days in viewing the 
neighborhood, we set out for the Miamis, 
to New Market, in Highland County, 18 
miles; to Lebanon, 40 miles, in Warren 
County, on Turtle Creek; thence to Day- 
ton, 25 miles, in Montgomery County, on 
Big Miami; thence to Stantown (Staun- 
ton), 21 miles; up Miami to Lower Picka- 
way (Piqua), 6 miles; to Upper Picka- 
way (Piqua), 3 miles, on Miami; thence 
returning down past Stantown (Staun- 
ton) to Jacob Saylor's, on Indian Creek, 
a branch of Honey Creek, 19 miles; to 
Tenix's at the forks of Mad River, 16 
miles; to Dayton, 22 miles; to Price's, on 
Twin Creek, the way we went, 30 miles, 
17 on a straight line; thence to Vieltown, 
22 miles; thence to Cincinnati, 33 miles; 
thence to Bulskin Creek, 40 miles; thence 
to the Ohio at the mouth of Brochen, 4 
miles, where we crossed; thence to the 
Wrights ', in Burben County, 44 miles ; to 
Paris, 4 miles ; to Lexington, 18 miles ; to 
Nicholasville, 12 miles; to Kentucky 
River, 8 miles; to Lancaster, 16 miles; to 
Crab Orchard, 12 miles; to Faris' 26 
miles ; to Johnstown, 29 miles ; to Divise's, 
foot of Cumberland Mountain, 30 miles; 
to Bean's Station, .30 miles; to Rodgers- 



300 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



ville, 23 miles; to W. Armstrong, 12 
miles; to North Fork of Holstein, 15 
miles ; thence to Abington, 40 miles ; 
thence to Evonsliam, 60 miles; to Blacks- 
burgh, 47 miles, where we started from. 
Said Samuel Black was also a captain 
in the War of 1812, and kept a memo- 
randa of military accounterments re- 
ceived and how disbursed. This memo- 
randum book is now in the possession of 
Horace W. Stafford, Esq. From this 
book the following is taken : 

Captain Black's Company. 



First Drafts — 
John Black, 1st Sergt. 
William Smith, 2d Sergt. 
Henrv Williams, 1st Corp. 
Daniel Leffel, 2d Corp. 
Levy Williams 
Francis Kell.v 

Substitutes — 
John Hays 
James Buckhanon 
John Conklin 



Robert Russell 
Henry Morris 
Abner Kelly 
William McCoy 
Presley Forgey 
Hugh jr. Wallace 

James Hametton 
Benjamin Evans 
.James Black 



Captain Lingle's Company. 



First Drafts- 
Robert Smith 
Henry Buzzert 
Joseph Mclntire 

Substitutes — 
Abner Hall 
Robert Blany 



David Liard 
Thomas Murphy 
Hugh Read 

Daniel Goble 



Captain Cox's Company. 



First Drafts- 
Edward Armstrong 
.John Wood 
Alexander Elliott 

Substitutes — 
John H. Moore 



Henrv Hanford 
William Bert 
William Dill 

Benjamin Kitter 



Ensign Clavengeb's Company. 



First Drafts- 
Jonathan Donald 
Layton Palmer 
Samuel Smith 
John Albin 
John Simmons 
Thomas Gilliland 
Substitutes — 
William Harrison 
James Broaddus 
William Williams 



John Price 
James Hays 
John Elliott 
John Sintz 
John Minick 



Ebenezer Melvin 
John Hides 
Peter Minick 



Captain Black also kept during part of 
the time a diary, and the date of Novem- 



ber 19th is particularly interesting as 
showing what happened to some of his 
company : 

"November 19th. We were employed 
in cutting down some timber about the 
tents and making a barrier against the 
smoke round the fire-place. The two men 
sent back from Finley to look after the 
two men left at the Rapids, returned and 
found them not. A soldier of Captain 

Kussel's company, by the name of 

Murphy, dies and is buried. A general 
parade in the evening, at which General 
Tupper makes a farewell address to the 
troops, considering himself not at liberty 
to command longer, in consequence of an 
arrest being forwarded from G-eneral 
Harrison. After night two spies arrived, 
who had been at General Winchester's 
camp, and also had been at the Rapids 
after the army left there, and says that 
not far from where the two men were left, 
they found a man killed, scalped and 
stripped naked, lying on his face. The 
same was supposed to be James Buck- 
hanon, the man left with the sick man, 
who was Zadock Wood. (A cool day and 
windy; the smoke very bad on the eyes.) " 
Further on we find the following : 
"November 23d. The following men 
are missing since the expedition to the 
Rapids : Killed — Aaron Scribner, of 
Captain Barrett's company; Jeremiah 
York, of Captain Shendledicker's com- 
pany; Zadock Wood and James Buck- 
hanon, of Captain Black's company; 
Jacob Young, of Captain Jonston's com- 
pany; William Shotwell, of Captain 
Evans' company; Joseph Hopkins, of the 
Artificers; Isaac Perrigin, of Captain 
A. Shephard's company, slightly wound- 
ed; William Vinyard, of Captain Hin- 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



301 



ston's company, badly wounded in the 
shoulder. This account taken by Mr. 
Phillip Waldron, of Captain Armstrong's 

company. A man by the name of 

Boots was buried out of Captain Arm- 
strong's company. I obtained a yoke of 
oxen to draw wood for the battalion. 
Mr. Ellis comes into camp for his son, 
who has been very sick. (Wet and rain- 
ing in the morning; after the day rises, 
turns to snow and continues on till 
night.) " 

This diary ends with December 18th 
and 20th: 

"December 18th. Two men buried this 
evening out of Colonel Safford's regi- 
ment. Sergeant Black and Smith returns 
to camp accompanied by Mr. Samuel 
Alexander and Mr. George Koss. (A 
very pleasant day.) 

"December 20th. Left camp at Mc- 
Arthur's Blockhouse for home, where I 
arrived on the night of the 21st, 1812. 
Found all my family well." 

PLEASANT TOWNSHIP. 

BorNDAEIES. 

Pleasant Township is situated in the 
extreme northeastern part of Clark coim- 
ty.^ Is bounded on the north by Cham- 
paign County, on the east by Madison 
County, on the south by Harmony Town- 
ship and on the west by Moorefield town- 
ship. It is not known how it received the 
name of Pleasant, otherwise than from 
the fact that it appeared as an exceed- 
ingly pleasant place to live to the early 
settlers that came to this part of the 
county. It is five miles wide and about 
eight and a half miles on the northern 
boundary. 



Streams. 



The land around Catawba is somewhat 
hilly, but in the southern portion it is not 
quite so hilly, but all is more or less 
rolling. Sinking Creek has its source 
south of the center and flows westerly 
through the southwestern part of the 
township. The south branch of Buck 
Creek flows south of the village of 
Catawba and west into the main channel 
in Moorefield Township. Some of the 
branches of Beaver Creek have their 
source in the southern part and the 
branches of Deer Creek drain the eastern 
part of the township, flowing down 
through Madison County. The fact that 
so many of these streams have their 
source in this township indicates its high 
elevation, and there is no doubt but it is 
the highest in the county. 

Crops. 

These streams afford facilities for 
grazing purposes, and that industry is 
largely carried on in the township. The 
soil is generally fertile; particularly is 
this the case with respect to that of the 
valleys, and the crops which are suitable 
to the land in this county are grown. 



Timber. 

The timber that covers these hills and 
valleys is that which is common in this 
county, to-wit : Oak, hickory, maple, ash, 
walnut, etc. 

The Ludlow line passes through the 
coimty west to Catawba, the pike leading 
south from Catawba to Vienna being on 
this line. The lands west of these lands 



302 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



are Congress lands, and those east are 
military survey. In this military survey 
a distinguished Virginian by the name of 
L'ailey held a large tract of land, the last 
of which were disposed of by the writer 
about 18S8. 

Roads. 

The old Columbus Road runs through 
the southern part of the township ; it was 
an early route to the city of .Springfield 
and is yet much used, although after the 
establishment of the National Road a mile 
or so south, that road is less frequently 
used. 

A good pike was built from Vienna to 
(^'atawba, and in the eastern part of the 
county was the Houston fee road; gravel 
being reasonably well at hand, the roads 
are in fair condition. Forty-five miles of 
public roads are found in the township. 

The only railroad touching the town- 
ship is the Delaware branch of the Big 
Four. This goes across a small portion 
of the northwest corner, the station close 
to Catawba being known by that name. It 
has only one village, thai of Catawba (see 
villages), being singularly different in 
this respect from all the other townships 
of the county, and the residents have 
never seen fit to have established more 
than one voting precinct. 

PoprT,ATio]sr. 

The early settlers of this township 
were from different states of the union; 
some from Pennsylvania, others from 
Kentucky, and still others from Virginia. 
Like the other townships of the county the 
population has not advanced; in fact, it 



has receded a little. In 1850 it was 1;540 ; 
in 1870, 1,553; 1880, 1,585; 1890, 1,597; 
1900, 1,437. 

Assessed Valuation. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres and assessed valuation of the real 
and personal property of the township, as 
the same is divided into school districts: 

Real Personal 

Acres Estate Property Total 

Pleasant Tp 25,177 $727,080 $205,570 $ 932,650 

P. & Harmony 

School nist. . . 961 33,110 8,030 41,140 

Catawba Village . 118 44,800 17,7.50 62.550 



26,256 $804,990 $233,350 $1,036,340 

Politics. 

At no time in the history of this town- 
ship has a majority vote been cast in 
favor of the Democratic candidates. It 
has steadily given a majority to the op- 
posing candidates, these majorities in- 
creasing in favor of the Republican can- 
didates, at times reaching as high as 250. 

Old Settlees. 

The most reliable records now accessi- 
ble give the following in regard to the old 
settlers : 

In 1802 Joseph Coffey, then living in 
the state of Pennsylvania, becoming dis- 
satisfied with the prospect presented to 
himself and family in the rough region 
where he lived, determined to remove to 
the then almost uninhabited, but to him, 
inviting West. 

He accordingly pursued his journey 
westward to a point about nine miles 
north of Cincinnati, where he remained 
during the year; but, as malarial diseases 
were alarmingly prevalent in that local- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



303 



ity, he made suecessful preparations for 
a second removal. 

Loading into an ox cart such articles 
as the necessity of pioneer life required, 
he, together with the other members of 
his family, consisting of his wife and two 
sons, Tatom and Joseph, commenced the 
tedious, and we may safely add, perilous 
journey toward the north. 

He had conceiA^ed the idea that he 
might find a more healthy location near 
the source of the Little Miami, or some 
one of its tributaries. 

The journey was pursued for several 
days through the unbroken forests infest- 
ed by Indians, until he reached what 
seemed to be the object of his search. May 
6, 1803. 

Here, near an Indian camp, he halted 
upon the summit of a hill overlooking a 
rich valley, through which a stream of 
water coursed its way. At the base of 
this hill gushed forth the cool waters of a 
beautiful spring. 

This is the place where the first pioneer 
of Pleasant Township settled, and is now 
the site of the residence of this pioneer's 
grandson, G-eorge Coffey. 

The first morning after the arrival of 
this family — May 7 — it was discovered 
that a snow several inches deep had fallen. 

A sort of rude tent was hastily con- 
structed and in this the first few months 
of the family life were spent. 

The pioneer had, in this time, made ar- 
rangements for building a cabin. He was 
assisted in its erection by Thomas and 
Jesse Pierce, then living in Champaign 
County, and by two or three Indians. 

This was the first cabin built by a white 
settler in this township. 

Soon after his arrival the pioneer, 



leaving his family alone in the tent, start- 
ed out in search of food, and, luckily, at 
the cabin of a neighbor over in German 
Township, he obtained a small amount of 
corn, which, however, had been somewhat 
damaged by the early frosts of the pre- 
ceding autumn. 

In possession of his supply of corn, he 
proceeded to Simon Kenton's Mill, where 
it was ground into meal, with which he 
returned to his family. The mill of 
Kenton was on the present site of La- 
gonda. In the autumn of 1803 Isaac 
Agmond and his family came to this 
township and built a cabin where Mart 
Mahar now lives. At this point was an- 
other Indian camp, the two being con- 
nected by an Indian trail. In 1804 Archi- 
bald McConkey and family, accompanied 
by the father of Mrs. McConkey, removed 
here from Kentucky. The wife and moth- 
er performed the journey on horseback, 
carrying with her the three children — 
Alexander, Elizabeth and Daniel — the 
wardrobe and lighter effects of the fam- 
ily. The other members of the party 
travelled on foot. It may not be amiss to 
state that a cow was also brought from 
the Kentucky home, and perhaps the only 
one in the little company of pioneers. 

Archibald McConkey soon built a cabin 
a short distance to the east of Joseph 
Coffey's, on the farm afterward owned by 
his son-in-law, Mahlon Neer. Three 
daughters of these parents — Margaret, 
Nancy and Mary — ^were born here. 

The other families settling here in this 
year were those of Samuel Latferty, 
Henry Dawson, William Plendricks, the 
father-in-law of Mr. Laiferty, and George 
Metsker. 

Lafferty and Hendricks were the joint 



304 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



owners of the farm on Buck Creek, where 
they lived, and which they afterward sold 
to Nathaniel Cartmell, from whom it re- 
ceived its present name, "the old Cart- 
mell farm." 

The Lafferty family consisted of the 
parents and one daughter — Catherine. 
Hendricks and Lafferty were from Vir- 
ginia. Metsker lived on the farm now 
owned by William Hunter, and better 
known as the Lofland farm. 

Henry Dawson settled on what to the 
present day is called the Dawson farm. 
The children of this family were Ellen, 
George, Jolm, Richard, Harriet and Eliza- 
beth. Henry Dawson, the father, had 
served in the Revolution as lieutenant. 

He removed to this locality from Ken- 
tucky, from which place he brought sev- 
eral fruit trees, carrying them in a Dutch 
oven. They were the first of their kind 
to produce fruit in this locality. It may 
be necessary to state that one or two of 
those apple trees, one near the Dawson 
cabin, are still living. 

Solomon Scott came in 1805, from Vir- 
ginia, as did also Jonathan Hunter, with 
a large family. The sons and daughters 
were named respectively William, George, 
Jonathan, Jeremiah, James, Elizabeth, 
Mary, Nancy, Rachel and Sarah. 

Jonathan Hunter located upon Section 
22, which he purchased soon after. 

On the 29th of June, 1805, Constantine, 
wife of Henry Dawson, died. This was 
the first death that occurred among the 
pioneers. A grave was prepared near the 
cabin home, and the little company of 
neighbors and friends, amid wild forest 
scenes, performed the humble rites of 
burial, while the bereaved family wept 
the irreparable loss. 



Sarah Coffey, wife of Enos Neer, was 
bom May 29, 1808, and was the first 
female born here. 

William, the fourth son, was born Jan- 
uary 11, 1811. 

Soon after Jonathan Baldwin was mar- 
ried to Sarah, daughter of Solomon Scott. 
William Hunter and Blanche Hendricks 
were married February 1, 1807. 

There is an interval of a few years, 
during which no accession was made to 
this early settlement; but, from the year 
1808 to 1812, and about that time, the 
spirit of enterprise seemed to have pre- 
vailed in the older settlements, and a 
number of fearless men, with their fam- 
ilies, joined the brave and hardy pioneers. 

The men who came at this time were 
Nathaniel Cartmell, David Wren, Peter 
Arbogast, Andrew Baumgai'dner, George, 
Joseph and Abraham Runyan, William 
Curl, Edmond West, George, Richard and 
Charles Botkin, Jonathan Jones, W. T. 
Hunt, Andrew Hodge, Absalom Clark, 
Thomas and Philip Tunks and George 
Jones. 

David Waltman and Simon Ropp came 
about 1820. Nathaniel Cartmell settled 
on Buck Creek, as before mentioned. 

Peter Arbogast, Andrew Banmgardner, 
Andrew Hodge, Abraham and Joseph 
Runyan, William Curl and George Jones 
formed the first settlement at Asbury. 

Edmund West lived on the farm now 
owned by William Waltman. The Tunks 
brothers, Philip and Thomas, located on 
the two adjoining farms, one now owned 
by the heirs of Henry Arbogast and the 
other by John McClenen. Philip estab- 
lished a tannery at the latter place. It 
was doubtless of the most primitive kind, 
as was also the distillery a short distance 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



305 



to the north, at a house now owned by- 
Israel Everhart. Absalom Clark lived at 
this place, engaged in the management of 
the distillery. 

Thomas Tunks subsequently sold his 
claim in 1816 to Oeorge Botkin, Philip 
disposing of his to Mathew Shaul some 
time later. Charles and Eichard Botkin 
lived near each other. A cabin where 
George Coffey now lives was the home of 
Eichard, while that of Charles was situ- 
ated a short distance west of the present 
dwelling of Armstead Tavenner. 

Near the residence of Samuel H. Grove 
may still be seen the log cabin, once the 
home of David Waltman, whose farm ad- 
joined that of his pioneer neighbor, Simon 
Eopp, he having built a cabin on the farm 
now owned by Jonathan Page. 

Jeremiah Curl, the father of Mrs. Wil- 
liam Coffey, and Brazill Harrison were 
early settlers. The former located on the 
north side of Buck Creek Valley, a short 
distance to the southwest of the present 
residence of Albert Cheney, and the lat- 
ter on the Columbus Eoad, at a cabin on 
the eastern part of the farm now owned 
by Nelson Hammond. It will be noticed 
that the first settlements were established 
in the western part of the township. This 
circumstance deserves a brief explanation. 
The eastern portion of the township, it 
will be remembered, was in Virginia mil- 
itary land, and one hinderance to its set- 
tlement was the question of conflicting 
claims — a difficulty peculiar to these lands 
—and another, was the fact that large 
tracts were owned by Thomas M. Bailey, 
who, like most land speculators, deferred 
the sale of his lands for a great many 
years ; hence the settlement of the Bailey 



lands has been of comparatively recent 
date. 

The first neighborhood was formed, as 
may be readily supposed, by the families 
of Joseph Coffey, Archibald McConkey, 
Isaac Agmond, Henry Dawson, Samuel 
Lafferty, William Hendricks and Jon- 
athan Hunter. The second was that near 
Asbury, comprising the families located 
there from 1808 to 1811. Those forming 
the first neighborhood in the eastern part 
of the township were the following: 

Samuel West, Henry Curl, Otho Arbo- 
gast, David Eunyan, William Neer, 
Lemuel Davisson and Nicholas McCauley. 
The latter, an earlier settler than many 
of the others, lived ©n the farm afterward 
owned by S. E. Dickson. Amos Neer 
came to this township from Virginia in 
1817. 

Eaely Events. 

Cornelius Palmer built the first black- 
smith shop in this township not far from 
where Nathan Neer formerly resided. 
The first saw-mill was built by George 
Dawson near where the grist-mill of J. M. 
Eunyan is at present located. The first 
grist-mill was built on Buck Creek about 
1819 by William Hunter. The Cartmell 
mill, which was situated further west on 
the same stream, was built about three 
years later by Nathaniel Cartmell. 

Henry Dawson was the first cooper. 
William T. Hunter was the first cabinet- 
maker and undertaker and lived for many 
years in a log house near the recent resi- 
dence of S. N. Conway. The first tavern 
was built in Catawba in 1838. The first 
place of burial was on the western part 
of the old Dawson farm. The first cabin 
was built by Joseph Coffey and was de- 



306 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



scribed as being sixteen feet in length by 
fourteen in width. It was provided with 
a huge fire-place, built of stone, the chim- 
ney being composed of sticks and clay. 
The rude door turned upon wooden hinges 
secured to their places by wooden pins. 
Rough slabs, split from the forest trees, 
served as a floor, and a piece of oiled 
paper, attached to a light frame in an 
opening in the wall, admitted the light. 

The Springfield Republic, founded in 
1817, was the first paper patronized by 
the early settlers. 

The first election in the township was 
held at the house of Joseph Coffey and 
resulted as follows : Joseph Coffey, 
Andrew Hodge, trustees; Samuel Laffer- 
ty, clerk; Henry Dawson, treasurer; Sol- 
omon Scott, justice of the peace. 

The first marriage was that of John 
Gilmore, of Urbana, to Miss Ellen Daw- 
son, in 1805. The first school was taught 
by Jesse Reese in 1810. The first church 
in the Asbury neighborhood was built 
about 1824; the one at Mt. Vernon in 1825. 

Dr. W. Owens was the first resident 
physician. 

The first white child born was John 
Coffey, June 29. 1805; second, William 
Lafferty, May 25, 1806. 

The first female birth was Sarah 
Coffey, May 28, 1808. 

The first death was that of Constantine 
Dawson, June 28, 1805. 

PeOMINENT CiTIZlENS. 

Among those who have more recently 
been active in affairs of this township, 
the following may be mentioned : 

I]li Hunter was born in this township 
September 24, 1847, the son of Lemuel 



Hunter, who was also born in this town- 
ship in 1814. "Squire" Hunter was mar- 
ried in 1876 to Lucinda J. McClintock, 
and a few years ago remodeled the resi- 
dence on the old homestead, where he has 
resided his entire lifetime. He is very 
active in the affairs relating to his town- 
ship. 

Daniel T. Grordon was born in Cham- 
paign County in 1835, son of John W. 
Gordon, and came to this township about 
1860. In 1861 he was married to Sarah 
E. Grove, daughter of John Grove. Mr. 
Gordon died in 1907. 

A well-known character of this town- 
ship is "Uncle Joe" Pearson, who was 
born in London February 12, 1827. He 
came with his father to this country in 
1832 and has resided here ever since the 
war. He is a strenuous character, active 
in his Republicanism. For a long time 
he conducted a hotel in Catawba and as 
its host became acquainted with all who 
had business at that village. He was mar- 
j'ied in 1848 to Nancy Golden, and his 
first wife having died of cholera the year 
following, he was married to his second 
wife, Mary S. Palmer. Mr. Pearson is a 
man of positive character, honest and just 
in his dealings, and is living the life, in 
old age, of a person who has the con- 
sciousness of having performed his duty 
as he saw it. 

The Runyan connection in this town- 
ship is a large one. J. Milton has been 
active in township affairs; was born in 
the village of Catawba June 20, 1841, 
the son of Henry Runyan, and has re- 
sided at his present place of residence 
since 1856. 

Israel Everhardt has been a long time 
a resident of this township. He was born 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



307 



in Loudin County, Virginia, 1811, and 
came to this village in 1861. 

The McConkey family for a long time 
have been active in this township. The 
ancestor, Archibald McConkey, was born 
in Ireland and came to Catawba in an 
early day and lived until 1890. The 
father of Daniel McConkey was born in 
Kentucky in 1805 and died in 1856. Alex- 
ander was the fourth of this family. 
Nathan M. was a school teacher in this 
township for many years, served as coun- 
ty commissioner and at the time of his 
death was superintendent of the Orphans' 
Home. Enos died a few years ago. Alex- 
ander is still living in Moorefield. 

The Neer family is likewise a large one 
in this township. In fact, it seems that 
everybody is related either to the Neers, 
Eunyans, Hunters or McConkeys. Luther 
is a descendant of Amos Neer and came 
to Catawba in 1818. He was born two 
miles southwest of Catawba November 
12, 1855, and married in 1879 Molly J. 
Loveless. He is an active farmer, own- 
ing a large tract of land. William H. is 
the son of Nathan Neer. He was born in 
the western part of this township in 1822 
and married Mary A. Hunter, who was 
born in the same neighborhood. William 
H. was married to Anna E. Cartmell 
December 29, 1874. She was the daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel M. Cartmell and a sister 
of P. M. Cartmell, of Springfield, Ohio. 
Charles F. Neer was born southwest of 
Catawba in 1856, a son of Nathan, and 
was married in 1882 to Lida A. Conway, 
daughter of N. S. Conway. Alonzo W. 
Neer is a brother of Charles P. 

The Hodge family is another promi- 
nent family. James M. was born in 1837 
and married in 1864 to ]\Iary A. Hunter, 



and afterwards became the possessor of 
the old Jim Foley farm in Moorefield 
Township. They are both recently de- 
ceased. William Hodge was born No- 
vember 14, 1826, and married in 1850 to 
Dorcas H. Botkin. 

George W. Coffey, the son of William 
Coffey, was born July 26, 1837 ; -married 
in 1865 to Margaret A. Ferguson, and 
now lives in the village of Catawba. 

Thomas Wingate was bom January 24, 
]827, in Maryland, and came to Catawba 
in 1865, since which time he has conduct- 
ed a general store in that village; was 
married January 16, 1853 to Miss Mary 
Lafferty. William E. Yeazell was born 
in Moorefield Township in 1829, and mar- 
ried in 1850 to Lydia Bennett. He be- 
came quite a large land owner in the 
southern part of the township, and died 
in 1906. 

Amos Smith, a quite prominent farmer 
in the southern part of this township, was 
born June 16, 1848, his father being Eli 
Smith, who was born in Harmony Town- 
ship in 1823. Amos was married on Jmie 
25, 1872, to Catharine Wyatt. 

Among others might be mentioned in 
connection with Pleasant Township af- 
fairs Samuel West, now living toward the 
southwestern part; Aquilla West, recent- 
ly moved to London; W. L. Houston, a 
prominent land owner in the same section, 
recently deceased ; the Cartmells, Joneses 
and others. 

Dr. M. E. Hunter was a practicing 
physician in the vicinity of Catawba for 
more than half a century. Dr. Stephens 
is at present actively engaged in that pro- 
fession. Dr. Beach and Dr. Bloyer were 
one time residents. 



308 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



County Officials. 

Pleasant Township being strongly Re- 
publican in recent years has furnished a 
fair number of the county officials. N. M. 
MeConkej^ served as county commissioner 
from 1870-1876, and as representative 
from 1880-1882, and at the time of his 
death was superintendent of the Orphans ' 
Home. His son, M. M. McConkey, was 
recorder from 1891-1897. 

The present coroner. Dr. J. D. Thomas, 
was a. resident of this township at the 
time of his election, and N. M. Cartmell, 
who is now one of the county commis- 
sioners, is likewise a resident of this 
township. 

At an early date, in 1826-1830, William 
Saylor was sheriff. 

Township Officials. 

The following are mentioned in a for- 
mer history as having served in official 
capacity in township affairs : 

Samuel Lafferty, Joseph Coffey, Henry 
Dawson, William Coffey, Cornelius Arbo- 
gast, Henry Curl, Joseph Wilkinson, 
Daniel McConkey and J. V. Cartmell. 
And among those thus serving at a more 
recent date may be recorded the names of 
D. H. Eandall, Otho Arbogast, G-eorge 
Yeazell, Matthew Neer, Joseph Pearson, 
Jonathan Page, William Hardman, John 
McClenen, John W. Yeazell, Luther Jones, 
Enos McConkey, George Coffey, N. M. 
McConkey, J. H. Baldwin and John Q. 
Skillman. 

The number of years served by the 
trustees of Pleasant Township, from 1880 
to 1907— H. L. McConkey, one year; 
Martin Mahar, one year; F. M. Silvers, 



two years; Daniel Gordon, five years; A. 
J. Eust, ■ one year ; J. M. Eunyan, three 
years; T. W. Eunyan, two years; Enos 
McConkey, three years ; W. J. Baird, 
three years ; J. M. Yeazell, six years ; 
C. A. Wright, three years; S. P. Hedge, 
six years ; William H. Neer, six years ; 
Jesse Tarbutton, three years; George 
Coffey, six years; James Fitzgivens, 
three years; Charles McClenen, four 
years ; J. H. Page, four years ; Alf . Jones, 
five years ; William Neer, three years ; T. 
M. Hunter, two years. C. H. Eunyan, 
township clerk. 

Justices of the Peace since 1871 — John 
Skillman, 1871-1874; J. W. Yeazell, 1872; 
Joseph Baldwin, 1875, 1885; William 
Jobes, 1877-1883; N. S. Conway, 1878- 
1893; Eli Hunter, 1886-1892; J. M. Eun- 
yan, 1895-1904-1908; Enos McConkey, 
1896; Alf. Jones, 1897; T. M. Hunter, 
1900; Harry Jones, 1903; F. H. Mahar 
(elect). 

Churches. 

Mt. Vernon — The first places of wor- 
ship were located in some of the early 
schoolhouses. In 1825 a church was built 
at Mt. Vernon. This was located about a 
mile and a half west of Catawba. The 
church has long since been abandoned. In 
1828 the first Sunday school was organ- 
ized by Moses Henkle. 

Asbury Chapel, Methodist Episcopal — 
The first church built in the Asbury 
neighborhood was in- the year 1824, and 
was called Asbury in honor of a bishop of 
that name. The names of two of the early 
preachers were Strange and Goddard. 
The services are still conducted in the 
Asburv Chui'ch, which is connected with 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



309 



the Moorefield charge, Rev. M. E. Echols 
being the pastor. 

Methodist Episcopal Churches— At a 
later day the Methodist Episcopal organ- 
ization built a church in Catawba. This 
church is active, and, like most village 
churches, draws large crowds from the 
surrounding country, having about three 
hundred members and two hundred en- 
rolled in the Sunday school. The Rev. J. 
Dolby is the present pastor. 

Under the control of the Methodist de- 
nomination also is the chapel at Pleasant 
Grove, situated about two miles southeast 
of Catawba, and Nation Chapel, located 
on the Catawba and London Pike in 
the Houston-West neighborhood. These 
churches belong to the same charge as the 
Catawba church belongs to. 

Methodist Protestant— The Methodist 
Protestants have a church and an active 
congregation, located in the village of 
Catawba, the Rev. M. M. Campbell being 
pastor of the same. 



Putnam and Samuel Lafferty were teach- 
ers. 

Schools have been conducted success- 
fully for a number of years, Catawba be- 
ing considered as the central place of ed- 
ucation of the township, although there is 
no township high school. 

The following are a list of the teachers 
for the coming year : Superintendent, N. 
W. Lemen, for a term of two years; No. 
1, Vernon, Lottie West; No. 2, Asbury, 
Theresa L. Slagie: No. 3, Catawba, prin- 
cipal, N. W. Lemen; intermediate, A. G. 
Pearson; primary, Grace Davis; No. 4, 
McConkey, F. M. Tavenner ; No. 5, Pleas- 
ant Chapel, Forest Mahar; No. 6, Pleas- 
ant Hill, open; No. 7, National Chapel, 
Alice Fenton ; No. 8, Oak Grove, J. Omer 
Hedges; No. 9, Bodkin, J. E. Runyan. 
Salary $50, term eight months. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males, 
169; females, 133; total, 302. 

SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



Schools. 

The first schoolhouse built in this 
township was situated on the north bank 
of Buck Creek, in about 1810. Jesse 
Reese is said to have been the first teach- 
er. His immediate successor was John 
Dawson. The second schoolhouse was sit- 
uated on the north bank of said stream 
at the branch of the road. Edward Watts 
was the first teacher. 

John Harvey taught a school about 
1811 on the place where Kemp Coffey 
now resides. One of the early school- 
houses was built at Mt. Vernon, and in 
1815 there was one built in the Asbury 
neighborhood. At this latter place Israel 



BOUNDAKIES. 

Springfield Township is the center 
township of the county. It is bounded 
on the north by Moorefield Township, 
east by Harmony Township, south by 
Green Township and west by Mad River, 
Mad River Township and Bethel and 
German Townships. There is a neck run- 
ning out west of the city of Springfield, 
which has for its boundary Mad River 
Township on the south, Bethel on the 
west and German on the north. It is six 
miles wide. It is eight miles east and 
west; including the neck on the west, it 
runs two miles further. The township 
was organized shortly after the creatioji 



310 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



of the county in 1818. A township by the 
same name existed before the creation of 
Clark County. Just what its territorial 
extent was at that time is doubtful. From 
some reports that were made by the coun- 
ty commissioners on April 25, 1818, it 
would seem that some part of Springfield 
Township was in Greene County prior to 
the organization of Clark, but the better 
opinion now is tliat the south line of 
Springfield Township marks the boundary 
line that formerly existed between Cham- 
paign and Greene County. The township 
no doubt received its name from the city 
of Springfield, which was then a large 
A'illage in its midst. Springfield city is 
not in the center of the township, much 
of the larger portions of the township be- 
ing east and south of the city. 

Soil. 

The lands are quite fertile, much of it 
being bottom land and the rest is what is 
known as second bottom land. None of it 
is so hilly but that it can be easily culti- 
vated. Along the western portion there 
is the Mad Eiver Valley and possibly 
along the bluffs on the west side of this 
valley for a short distance the land might 
be considered too hilly for cultivation, 
l)ut this is so small in extent as to hardly 
merit consideration. 

Creeks — Ceop. 

Buck Creek flows through the township, 
forking a short distance above Lagonda, 
v/here Beaver Creek enters, and along 
the attendant village of these streams 
is some quite fertile soil. In the south- 
western part of the township Mill 



Creek flows in a northwestern direction 
through the entire township, and in the 
southeastern part of the township is 
found the north fork of the Little Miami. 
Sinking Creek enters into Beaver Creek 
in the northeastern part of the township 
and Eock Eun flows through the neck in 
the western part of the township, so it 
will be observed that the lands of the 
township are naturally well watered and 
suitable for grazing and dairy purposes, 
and a suitable portion is being used for 
dairies to supply the city of Spring-field; 
otherwise the standard crops are grown 
in addition to garden truck to supply the 
markets in the city of Springfield. 

There were formerly quite a number of 
villages just outside the coi'porate limits 
of Springfield in this township, but prac- 
tically all of these have been taken inside 
the corporate limits, with the exception of 
Beatty in the southeastern portion and 
Sugar Grove west of Mad Eiver. La- 
gonda was the most prominent, but in 
the last extension (1882) of the corporate 
limits of Springfield it was taken in as a 
part of that city. (See villages.) 

Mad Eiver and Buck Creek and some 
of the tributaries of these streams afford- 
ed power which was used for milling pur- 
poses by the early settlers. (See mills.) 

TiMBEE. 

The lands of the township were mostly 
occupied by timber which prevails gen- 
erally in this county, oak perhaps being 
the prevailing type, especially upon the 
lands south and east of the city. Upon 
the lands west there were some beech and 
sugar trees and in the valleys some wal- 
nut. Onl-^ in recent years has the town- 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



311 



ship been divided into voting precincts, it 
now having two, East and West, the 
Urbana Pike being the dividing line north 
of the city and the Selma Pike south. 

Roads. 

There are eighty-nine miles of public 
roads in this township, more than in any 
other township in the county. As a mat- 
ter of course all railroads entering the 
city of Spring-field go through this town- 
ship. (See railroads.) 

Population. 

The population of this township, in- 
cluding the city of Springfield, was in 
1850, 7,002 ; 1870, 15,540, of which 12,652 
were in the city ; in 1880, 24,455, of which 
20,730 were in the city; 1890, 34,845, of 
which 31,895 were in the city; 1900, 41,- 
861, of which 38,253 were in the city. 

AcEEAGE, Etc. 

The following table shows the number 
of acres and the assessed valuation of the 
real estate and personal property, as the 
same is apportioned in school districts in 
the city of Springfield, including the en- 
tire township (1906) : 

Real Personal 

AcreFs Estate Property Total 

Sp'gfield Tp. 22.773 $ 1,125,230 $ 717,760 ?1,S42,990 
Spr. and Har. 

Seh. Dist. 1„S04 69,950 43,760 113,710 
Spr. & City 

Sch. Dist. 1,846 279,720 289,470 569,190 
City of .Spring- 
field 2,645 13,789.310 6,888.570 20,678,880 



Total 29,068 $1.5,261,210 $7,939,560 $23,204,770 

PoiJTlCS. 

As this township constitutes a political 
division outside of the city of Springfield, 
and yet has some officers that are elected 



by the voters of the entire township, it 
has a political complexion separate from 
the city, and this is Republican, when a 
full vote is had— perhaps from 150 to 200. 
The offices that belong to the township 
are those of trustees, justice of the peace 
and constable. The officers are elected 
by the votes of the city and township. 
Separate from these is the school board, 
which is elected by the voters of the 
school district, which does not include the 
city of Springfield. Much of the history 
of the early settlement of this township is 
embodied in the general history of the 
county and that of the city of Springfield. 

First Settlers. 

The first settlement of the township ■ 
was no doubt that made by Kenton, De- 
mint and their companions out along Buck 
Creek just before it enters Mad River, 
in 1799. Afterwards Kenton went up 
into Moorefield Township, but in a few 
years he was back again in Springfield 
Township at Lagonda, Demint and Hum- 
phreys going up into what is now the city 
of Springfield. 

The following account of the early set- 
tlers of this township is taken from 
authentic records, most of it having been 
previously published, but having been 
corrected up to date: 

James Rea was a Pennsylvanian, who 
settled, about the year 1802, where 
Harvey Tuttle now lives. His sons were 
James, John and Andrew. John suc- 
ceeded John Buckles,, an owner of a fiour- 
ing-mill on Beaver Creek, on the site of 
"Junction Mills" (Redmonds). Mr. 
Rea improved the race, and in 1835 was 
succeeded by Robert .Rodgers. Peter 



312 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Sintz, Sr., was bom in Pennsylvania in 
April, 1776, and was the son of Nicholas 
and Margaret (Metzger) Sintz, he a na- 
tive of Germany and she of Pennsylvania. 
In boyhood Peter moved to Virginia with 
his parents, and in 1802 he came to 
Springfield. In 1804 he married Eliza- 
beth Critz, a native of Maryland, to 
whom was born seven children, viz : 
Margaret, Nicholas, Mary, G-eorge, Snsan, 
Peter and Elizabeth. He built his cabin 
in Section 23, on the farm where his 
daughter Susan recently resided on the 
Clark and Miami Pike. He accumulated 
a large estate and died September 30, 
1858, and his wife November 15, 1865. 
His parents also settled here, his mother 
dying in 1822 and his father in 1823, 
Susan, the daughter, dying about 1894 
and Peter, Jr., a son, a few years later. 

In the spring of 1802 James and John 
Eeid came from Virginia and selected 
land in Section 10, then went back to their 
native state, and the same fall returned 
to Springfield with the whole family, viz : 
John, Joseph, Nancy, Thomas, Betsey, 
James, William, Robert and George. 
They first built a cabin in the village on 
the site of Myers' livery stable, opposite 
the Sun office, and began to clear the land 
in Section 10, where in a year or two they 
erected a cabin and removed to it, and 
where George Reid, a grandson of James, 
now resides with his family in a fine brick 
residence, which has displaced the rude 
log structure of the pioneer days. 

Cooper Ludlow was born in New Jersey 
in 1783 ; was married in 1803 to Elizabeth 
Reeder, and in 1804 settled three miles 
west of Springfield, where he opened a 
tannery. To Elizabeth Ludlow was born 
Ellen, Mary, Stephen, John and Jacob; 



and, she dying in 1813, her husband was 
married in 1815 to Elizabeth Layton, who 
had born to her Joseph, Jason, Silas, 
Abram, George, Cornelius, James, Cath- 
erine and William. Cooper Ludlow died 
in 1832. Abram, the last surviving son, 
died in 1906. 

John Perrin was born in Washington 
County, Maryland, in 1778, and there mar- 
ried to Amelia Ingram, a native of that 
county, born in 1778. In 1806, he and 
family came to Springfield, and he pur- 
chased the whole of Section 3. His family 
consisted of six children, viz., Edward, 
Joseph, John, William, Minerva E. and 
Emery, the two former of whom were 
born before coming to this county. He 
died in 1848, and his wife in 1847, and his 
sons John and William were among the 
leading citizens of the township. A grand- 
son, John, lives on the home farm south 
of the city. 

About the year 1806 Edward Arm- 
strong settled on Section 5, now owned 
by Ed. L. Buchwalter. He built and op- 
erated a distillery for a time, and his wife 
was an excellent woman, and a Baptist. 

In 1806 John Dugan settled in the east- 
ern part of the township. He was born 
in Somerset County, Pennsylvania, June 
4, 1787 ; was married to Polly Hall, a na- 
tive of Kentucky, born in 1792, of which 
union the following children were the is- 
sue: Sarah, William, Margaret, James 
and John. Mr. Dugan died July 2, 1868, 
and his wife July 21, 1867. 

Francis and Isabel Best, natives of Vir- 
ginia, settled on the site of P. P. Mast's 
residence in 1806, where they died. They 
had ten children — six sons and four 
daughters. 

John and Jane Snodgrass came from 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



313 



Kentucky in 1806, settling in Section 11. 
He died in May, 1826, aged sixty-three, 
and his wife in May, 1859, aged eighty- 
seven. 

John Hatfield was horn in Virginia in 
1798, and in 1799 his father, Nathaniel, 
came with the family to Kentucky, thence 
to Greene County, Ohio, in 1805, and in 
1806 to Section 7, in the south part of 
this township, where he died in 1812. In 
1821 John married Eva Garlough, daugh- 
ter of John Gi-arlough, twelve children be- 
ing born to this union. In 1853 he re- 
moved to a farm in Green Township. 

Andrew Benson was born in Bath Coun- 
ty, Virginia, in 1781; came to this town- 
ship in 1806; was married to Sarah Een- 
nick, also a Virginian, born 1796, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Mary Eennick, March 
26, 1812. They had six children; four 
lived to be grown. Andrew died Novem- 
ber 28, 1826, and his wife February 28, 
1848. 

George H. Benson, a brother of An- 
drew's, was born in the same county and 
state in 1787; came to this township in 
1807, and married, in 1818, Isabel Een- 
nick, also a daughter of Eobert and Mary 
Eennick. She was born in this township 
in 1801, and had ten children ; eight grew 
to maturity. She died March 28, 1866, 
and her husband February 27, 1877. 

Nathan Eeddish was born in Maryland 
in 1783; came to Greene County, Ohio, 
previous to 1808 ; was married to Matilda 
Miller, and in 1810 settled on Section 14, 
Springfield Township, where he engaged 
in a tannery, which he carried on until 
1834. He was married three times; had 
five children by his first, but none by his 
second wife, and three by his last wife, 
who was Harriet Oxtoby, the sister of 



Henry Oxtoby. She was born in England 
in 1792, and died in 1874. Dr. John Eed- 
dish is now the only surviving child of 
Nathan Eeddish. 

Lewis Skillings came to this county in 

1810, settling in the northeast part of 
Green Township, and in a few years 
moving across the line into this township, 
where he died in 1869. His wife, Anna 
(Craig) Sldllings, came to this county in 
1808, and died in 1866. Both were mem- 
bers of the "Fletcher Chapel," and have 
left worthy descendants, who honor their 
name. 

In 1810 Matthew and Jane Wood came 
from Kentucky and settled where George 
Alt now lives. He died in 1830, and his 
wife in 1856. 

Isaac Wood was born in New York in 
1771 ; was married to Jane Corey, of New 
Jersey, in 1797, who was born in 1779, 
coming to this county in March, 1812, set- 
fling in Section 15, Springfield Township, 
removing the following years to Section 
9. They had thirteen children. Isaac 
Wood died in 1825, and his widow in 1871. 

John Foster was an early settler on 
Beaver Creek, and built the original mill 
on that stream, at the site of "Junction 
Mills" about 1808, and, during and after 
the war of 1812, operated this rude mill 
successfully. 

William Hall was a staid Baptist, and 
an early settler of the eastern part of the 
township. 

Peter Printz was born in Maryland in 

1811, and came with his parents, in 1815, 
to this township, settling in Section 1, in 
the southwestern part of the township. 
He there grew up, and married Catherine 
Kelly in 1841, who had born to her eleven 
children. She was a native of this county. 



314 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



and yet resides on her husband's estate. 
Both Peter and his parents died on this 
farm. 

In 1815, Adam and Maria Alt, of Mary- 
land, settled in this township, where he 
died in 1876. 

Herbert Huffman settled in the north- 
eastern part of the township as early as 
1815, and possibly earlier. He died in 
1820, and his wife, Sarah, in 1842. 

Luke Byrd was a Baptist preacher of 
excellent repute, who settled in 'the east- 
ern part of the township in 1816. He 
died August 31, 1823, aged fifty-five, and 
his wife, Catherine, in September, 1835, 
aged seventy-two. They reared a numer- 
ous family, who, with their descendants, 
occupy prominent places in business and 
social circles of the township. 

Benjamin Foos lived on Section 4, 
Township 5 ; was an active business man, 
and died in the prime of life. 

Moses Bishop was born in Pennsylvania 
in 1804; came to Ohio with his parents 
in 1806, and, in 1816, from Warren Coun- 
ty to the eastern part of this township. 
His parents were from New Jersey, and 
had five children, Moses, Margaret, David, 
Delila and Edward. 

One of the most eccentric pioneers of 
the township was Andrew Pinneo, who 
was born in Vermont in 1770; came to 
Green Township, Clark County, Ohio, in 
1816; thence to Section 8, Springfield 
Township. He married Esther Waters, 
of Vermont, who had seven children. Mr. 
Pinneo was in the War of 1812, and died 
about 1859, his wife having died about 
1843. 

John Stickney, an Englishman, born in 
1780, came to the township in 1819, where 
he carried on the blacksmith's trade. 



which he had learned in his native land, 
where he was also married to Sarah Cook. 
He and wife were earnest Methodists, he 
dying in 1850 and she in 1867. His grand- 
son, Wm. J., now resides on the old home- 
stead in the southeastern part of the town- 
ship, on Section 3, and is one of the lead- 
ing farmers of the county. 

In 1820, Henry Wolf and his wife Eliz- 
abeth (Haller) Wolf, with their family, 
settled in Section 6, in the northeastern 
corner of the township. They were from 
Virginia, and he built and conducted a dis- 
tillery for a number of years. They had 
nine children, and Samuel, the seventh 
child, now resides upon the old home- 
stead. 

Caleb Tuttle was the fourth son of Sil- 
vanus and Mary (Brown) Tuttle, who 
settled in Moorefield Township in 1808. 
He was born in Virginia May 14, 1799, 
and, March 21, 1822, married Mary 
Prickett, daughter of Nicholas Prickett, 
one of the pioneers of the country. By 
this union he became the father of Sil- 
vanus, Isaiah, David, William H., Thom- 
as, Catherine, Eliza, Margaret, Mary E., 
Eachel and Laura. 

John Buckles came to the township from 
the southern part of the state,- and op- 
erated a flouring-mill and stillhouse on 
Beaver Creek, near the present site of 
"Junction Mills." He was the father of 
a large family. James, David, Robert, 
Thomas, William, John and Abraham 
were his sons. The father was a Baptist, 
and his sons James and Abraham were 
ministers of that denomination. 

More Recent Inhabitants. 

Others who have been more or less 
prominent in township affairs may be 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



315 



mentioned, as the following: Eev. H. H. 
Tuttle, who was born in this county Sep- 
tember 20, 1842, son of John and Margaret 
Tuttle, was married in 1870 to Laura J. 
Luse, and is still living in the township. 
Silas Bird, who was the father of S. Van 
Bird, the present county surveyor, came 
to this township in 1816; was married to 
Margaret Tuttle, daughter of Caleb and 
Mary Tuttle, in 1848 ; has been dead some 
twelve years. Henry Stickney was a long 
time resident of this township, having been 
born November 26, 1821, at the place near 
where he died, which is now occupied by 
his son William J. He was married No- 
vember 11, 1851, to Isabella J. Baird. He 
has likewise been deceased some ten or 
twelve years. William Eice was born in 
this county, February 17, 1833, and died 
in 1907. He was the son of Edward and 
Lucy Rice. He was married January 13, 
1856, to Matilda Goudy. He lived near 
the Greene County Line. 

John McClintoch was for a long time 
a resident of this township south along 
the Yellow Spring Pike, on the farm now 
owned by Mrs. Matthews. He died in 
1869. 

James P. Leffel, who lived south of 
Leffel's Lane, came to this township at 
an early date and became quite wealthy, 
owning 1,600 acres of land. He died in 
1887. He was the father of Colonel Jo- 
seph Leffel, of this city, who is still liv- 
ing. Michael Leffel, who lived on the Ke- 
bert place south of the city, was born 
March 20, ]822, and died in 1894. He 
was married in 1844 to Elizabeth Cosier. 
Another son, Reuben, was born in this 
county May 9, 1836, and was married in 
1858 to Rachel McClellan. He moved 
south of the city on the farm now owned 



by W. M. Rockel, in 1862, and died in 
1896. 

John H. Kobelantz, living north of the 
city of Springfield, was born on his pres- 
ent residence, March 15, 1839, and was 
married December 21, 1871, to Anna M. 
Snyder. 

William H. Berger was born in Penn- 
sylvania, January 21,, 1830, and settled 
near Lagonda in 1838. He was married 
March 18, 1852, to Mary J. Jackson and 
died in 1907. He was a well-known citizen, 
active in many capacities. 
_ George H. Reed, who lives east of the 
city, was the son of James Reed and died 
in 1857. George was married in 1870 to 
Eunice E. Bird. Mr. Reed is active in 
township affairs, having served upon the 
board of education, as assessor, and in 
other capacities. 

Judson Redmond, the owner of Red- 
mond mills, was born in New York in 
1824 and was married October 10, 1846, 
to Harriet Hinman. 

William T. Otstot is a life-long resident 
of this township, having been born on the 
farm where he now lives, December 16, 
1837, and married January 2, 1868, to 
Mary A. Willis. Mr. Otstot has served as 
township trustee and in other official posi- 
tions. 

Charles H. Petre, in the southern part 
of the township, is the son of the pioneer 
Louis Petre and lived all his life upon 
his present farm. Quite a number of the 
Crabill family live in this township, their 
father, Thomas V. Crabill, having been 
an early pioneer and accumulated a large 
tract of land. The sons living are Will- 
iam, David, James, John, Milton and Jo- 
seph. 

Geo. W. Bymaster was born in Penn- 



ne 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



sylvania in 1833 and came to Clark County 
in 1862 and resides at Sugar Grove. He 
was united in marriage to Mary Jane Til- 
ton. He is at present county infirmary 
director. 

J. and D. L. Snyder, brothers, were 
prominent residents of the west end of 
this township. They came here with their 
father, Henry Snyder, and located on the 
site of the present mills. During their 
lifetime they amassed a large fortime. 
John died, leaving a fine bequest to the 
City Hospital, and the park was donated 
by them. A brother, William, died before 
these brothers. 

Peter Sintz, living in the Sugar Grove 
neighborhood, was a life-long resident of 
this township, having died some ten or 
twelve years ago. John T. May kept a 
toll-gate along the Urbana Pike for many 
years. Daniel Young resided north of the 
city. 

The Paiges — William and Ira — live 
south near the Green Township line and 
others have been more or less prominent 
in township affairs. 

Justices of the Peace. — Anthony Byrd, 
1834, 1837, 1852, 1855, 1858 ; Reuben Mil- 
ler, 1835, 1840, 1843, 1856, 1859, 1862, 1868, 
1871 ; J. S. Halsey, 1836 ; A. D. Merriness, 
1837 ; John E. Leman, 1838 ; Samuel Mott, 
1838 ; John Whiteley, 1843 ; Samuel Par- 
sons, 1844, 1850 ; William Whiteley, 1846, 
1849; Pierson Spinning, 1846, 1849, 1854, 
1855; John Coffield, 1850; Alfred D. 
Coombs, ]853; James S. Christie, 1857, 
1860 ; Joseph D. Wood, 1861, 1864, 1865, 
1868; D. A. Harrison, 1863; George C. 
Eichardson, 1863; Charles Evans, 1857; 
J. J. Smith, 1873, 1885; Alden H. Gillett, 
1874; Henry HoUenback, 1877-1883; Will- 
iam H. Burnett, 1879 ; Frank Eightmyer, 



1883; William A. Stout, 1885-1888-1894; 
John G. Breckenridge, 1886 ; J. J. Miller, 
1888; John B. Clingerman, 1891-1897; 
Harry D. Brydon, 1897-190'0; W. Y. Ma- 
har, 1899-1900; A. C. Harriman, 1902- 
1908; Eoger V. Smith, 1903-1908; John 
M. Cole, 1903 (did not qualify). 

Township Trustees (since 1881) — ^Will- 
iam Davidson, 1881-1883; Joe Harrison, 
1881, 1883-1886; George Zimmerman, 
1881-1885 ; W. T. Otstot, 1882, 1884-1885 ; 
Wm. Craig, 1886, 1889-1897; John M. 
Stewart, 1886, 1898-1900; Wm. Berger, 
1887-1890; Thomas O'Brien, 1887, 1888; 
H. C. Williamson, 1887, 1888; Geo. 
H. Dalie, 1889-1901; Samuel Hough- 
ton, 1890-1892; John Crabill, 1892, 1893; 
D. H. LeFevre, 1893-1907; J. N. Tuttle, 
1894-1896; Wm. Myers, 1897-1899, 1903- 
3907; T. F. Nave, 1900, 1901, 1904-1907; 
Geo. Bymaster, 1-902, 1903. John H. 
Kobleantz member elect. 

Present Board of Education (1907) — 
President, Joseph Crabill, Jr., Fred 
Hirtzinger, John Otstot, J. W. Jenkins, 
Wm. Hyslip. 

Township Treasurers — John W. Par- 
sons, 1879-1883; W. S. Wilson, 1883-1885 
David M. Burns, 1885-1887; John W. Par 
sons, 1887-1888 ; J. F. Walter, 1888-1890 
11. H. Cumback, 1891-1893; J. J. Goodfel- 
low, 1893-1895 ; J. M. Todd, 1895-1899 ; P 
M. Stewart, 1899-1903 ; Anthony Haesler 
3903-1905; Clarence Arbogast, 1905-1907 

Churches. 

Probably the first denomination to erect 
a Church in this township were the 
regular Baptists, who organized a society 
in 1816. The original members were 
Nathaniel Eeeves, Mary A. Eeeves, John 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



317 



Buckles, Mary Buckles, Nicholas Pricket, 
William Haugii, William Beesely and 
James Buckles. This organization built 
a log church a few rods from the site of 
the Union Meeting House built at a later 
date. It was on the opposite side of the 
bid Columbus Eoad. They continued to 
worship here until 1840, when the prop- 
erty was sold to Caleb Tuttle. The so- 
ciety continued its organization until 1848, 
when it was abandoned. 

Reg-ular Baptist Church — In 1831 a 
number of Free-Will Baptists were joined 
by a number of citizens of various beliefs 
in the building of an undenominational 
church, that should be free to all chris- 
tians. This church was built on the old 
Columbus Road in the eastern part of the 
township on Section 6. The principal 
members of the society were James Don- 



nel and wife, John Bishop and wife, 
James Bishop and wife, Nathaniel Bees- 
ley and wife and John Pricket and wife. 
Between the years of 1840 and 1860 the 
Presbyterians maintained stated services 
here. It has been stated that the noted 
Mormans, Joe Smith and Eigdon, once oc- 
cupied the pulpit in this meeting-house. 

It is also said that the regular Baptists 
had undisputed services on the first Sab- 
bath and the Saturday before, the Pres- 
byterians the second Sabbath and the 
Saturday before, and the Free-Will 
Baptists the third Sabbath and the Satur- 
day before. Services are still continued 
in this organization. This church was re- 
paired last year (1907) at an expense of 
$650. Regular services are now held here, 
Rev. H. H. Tuttle being the pastor. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



VILLAGES. 



Allentown — Beaity — Bowlusville — Brighton — Brottensburg — Catawba — 
Clifton — Cortsville — Dialton — Dolly Varden — Donnelsville — Dur- 
bin — Eagle City — Enon — Harmony — Hennessy — Ilustead — Loav- 
renceville — Lagonda — Limestone City — Lisbon — Medway — New Bos- 
ton (see Chap. 5) ' — Neio Carlisle — New Moorefield — Northampton — 
OivUoivn — Pitchin — Plattsburg — Selma — Sugar Grove — South 
Charleston — Tremont City — Vienna — Villa — Windsor. 



Al;LEKTOWN. 

Allentown is the name given to a cluster 
of houses located on what is now called 
the Jackson Road, in Green Township, 
and about half a mile east of the Yellow 
Springs Pike; perhaps less than a mile 
from Hustead and about seven miles from 
Springfield. 

In 1834 or '35 Aaron Allen erected a 
steam saw-mill at this place. It was kept 
in operation by himself and son until 1852, 
when it burned down. It never reached 
sufficient importance to have a school- 
house or church and is now in consider- 
able decay. It at no time exceeded fifteen 
families. The schoolhouse sometimes go- 
ing by that name is half a mile east. 

Beatty. 

Beatty is located about three miles 
south of the City of Springfield at the 



junction of the Fairfield Pike and the Yel- 
low Spring Pike. At its lower edge is lo- 
cated Emery Chapel and likewise a car 
barn and sub-station of the Springfield 
and Xenia Traction Company. 

The Fairview Floral Greenhouse is its 
only industrial establishment. To the 
north there has recently been laid out 
some building lots in an addition called 
Fairmont. 

Its school facilities are at what is 
termed Possum Schoolhouse. Tradition 
says that when the first schoolhouse built 
here was opened for school, an opossum 
presented himself as the first pupil, hence 
the name "Possum." It has a postof- 
fice and rural delivery, both, the postof- 
fice being kept there mainly for the bene- 
fit of the floral company. 

The P. C. & St. L. Railroad stops at 
the southern end, at a station called Em- 
ery. Its present name was taken from 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



319 



former inhabitants and was adopted when 
the postoffice was established. This place 
was formerly called Chambersburg. 

Jacob Kershner had a blacksmith shop 
in a very early day, a short distance north 
of where Emery Chapel is now located, 
and in the thirties a log schoolhouse stood 
almost where the chapel is located. Cliff 
Haley is the present postmaster. Will- 
iam E. Melvin conducts the blacksmith 
shop. 

A short distance below this place, in 
the thirties, Adam Mayne conducted a 
tavern called ' ' Traveller 's Eest. ' ' It was 
freely patronized during stage-coach 
days. 

BOWLUSVTLLB. 

Bowlusville is located about eight 
miles north of the City of Springfield on 
the Big Four and Erie Eailway, about 
three miles west of the pike leading to Ur- 
bana. It was laid out in 1863, in a plat 
of lots nmnbering from one to seventeen, 
by Captain Samuel H. Bowlus, from 
whom it received its name. 

Its former name was Lawrence Station, 
it being thus named after Judge Law- 
rence of Bellefontaine. It has one store 
and elevator conducted by John L. Bow- 
lus. The United Brethren denomination 
have a church, built in 1888, located in the 
east part of this village, Eev. A. H. Leh- 
man being the present pastor. John L. 
Bowlus is postmaster. Mr. Bowlus made 
several strenuous attempts to sell lots, but 
without any material result. 

Brighton. 

Brighton is located on the National 
Eoad thirteen miles east of Springfield. 
The Springfield and Columbus traction 



line goes through the village. It owes its 
location to the fact no doubt of the build- 
ing of the National Eoad, and is in the 
northeastern part of Harmony Township. 
It was platted by David Eipley and Mar- 
vin Gager in 1834, lots 1-32, and in 1835 
another plat was added of lots 32-67. 
Afterwards an addition was added by 
Rathburn, lots 9-24, situated in the north 
of the National Eoad, and east of the road 
leading north was latterly vacated, only 
to be replatted by Jerome Stephenson in 
1881. The first house was built on the 
northeast corner by John Buckland and 
was by him occupied as a hotel. About 
the same time Joseph Eobinson built a 
saw-mill just east of the village. Gager 
and a man by the name of Alpin built a 
frame house on the southeast corner 
about the same time. In 1836 David Eip- 
ley built a two-story brick building on 
the northwest corner, which was used for 
several years as a hotel. A postoffice 
was established here called Brighton Cen- 
ter, in 1836, and Joseph Eobinson was 
the first postmaster. It was discontinued 
after two years, until about ten years ago. 
Then a postofSce was again established 
under the name of Orchard,- to be in time 
discontinued upon the mtroduction of 
free delivery. A carding-mill was built 
here in 1837 by George Snodgrass. 

Martin Gager, who was a blacksmith, 
built a shop about the time that the vil- 
lage was platted, or previous thereto. In 
1842 he attached a distillery to the same. 
A saw-mill was erected by Joseph Eobin- 
son, which was operated for some time. 
After the National Eoad was opened, the 
village thrived, and until the building of 
the railroad from Springfield to Colum- 
bus its hotels were frequent stopping 



320 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



places for travellers and teamsters. Like- 
wise it was a regular stopping place for 
the stage-coacli, the mail being delivered 
in that way. The recent location of the 
traction line through the village has given 
it a new lease of life and it shows evidence 
of returning prosperity. A traction sub- 
station is located here. 

Brottensbuegh. 

Brottensburgh is the name of a village 
that exists only in history. It was lo- 
cated about three-quarters of a mile this 
side of Enon, where the road turns north 
towards the river. In 1818 John and 
James Leffel erected a grist-mill on Mad 
River. Considerable traffic was carried 
on in that direction and quite a cluster of 
houses, principally made out of logs, were 
erected at this place and occupied by per- 
sons employed in the mill. In 1837 the 
postoffice was established at this place 
and J. R. Miller was postmaster. 

This was before Enon was of sufficient 
importance to demand a postoffice, and 
the nearest place to get mail was at 
Springfield. 

Historically this site of Brottensburgh 
may be remembered, because it was at one 
time the property of the noted and 
eccentric Lorenzo Dow. This noted 
preacher traveled frequently through 
parts of Ohio, prior to his death in 1834. 

Upon the establishment of Enon, Brot- 
tensburgh gradually went out of existence, 
until at this date nothing whatever re- 
mains to indicate its former location. 

Catawba. 

The village of Catawba is located in the 
northwestern part of Pleasant Township, 



on the road leading from Vienna to Me- 
chanicsburg, about fourteen miles from 
Springfield. It was regularly laid out by 
Cass and Marsh upon the lands owned by 
George Dawson, in 1838. Prior to this 
time there was considerable of a settle- 
ment at this place. Henry Neer built the 
first house in the village. The second was 
built by Miller Williamson, a blacksmith. 
William Pearson, a carpenter and cab- 
inet-maker, built the first frame house. 
In 1831 Joseph Newlove established a 
store in a small room on the site where 
Joseph Pearson recently had his store. 

In 1833 the postoffice was established 
and Herriman Chamberlain, who had suc- 
ceeded Newlove in his store, became the 
first postmaster. The first name for the 
place was Newburg, but there being an- 
other place of that name in the state, it 
was called Buck Creek. The first tavern 
was opened in 1838 on the southwest cor- 
ner of Champaign and Pleasant Streets. 
John Neer and Joseph Pearson were the 
first mail carriers. Letter postage at that 
time was twenty-five cents, payable at the 
office of delivery, if carried four hundred 
miles. 

Prominent inhabitants of this village in 
recent years have been Thomas Wingate, 
who has had a store here since 1865 ; N. S. 
Conway, now deceased, and Joseph Pear- 
son had the hotel and the store connected 
from 1875 until 1896, and lives there a 
retired life. The late Dr. M. R. Hunter 
was the practicing physician of this place 
for half a century. 

There are two churches and an excel- 
lent graded school. The village is incor- 
porated. Its inhabitants enjoy a culture 
and refinement beyond that usually found 
in co.untry villages, and it is their boast 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



321 



that no saloon ever did or could exist in 
their midst. 

The strong temperance sentiment, to- 
gether with the anti-slavery feeling that 
formerly existed here, have made this a 
stronghold of the Republican party. 

Some years ago Mr. Joseph Pearson 
erected a hall for services for public meet-" 
ings, the store underneath being occupied 
for many years by Mr. C. H. Runyan. 
Mrs. Fralick now has a general store 
there. 

The most stately residence is probably 
that of Mr. Eli Hunter. The village is 
situated on the crest of a ridge, which 
commands an excellent view of all the sur- 
rounding country. The nearest railroad 
facilities are on the Big Four at Catawba 
Station, abo'ut three miles to the north- 
west. 

The census of 1900 gives Catawba 231 
residents, the population being less in 
number than it was in 1880. 

C. H. Runyan is the present postmas- 
ter. J. E. Bumgardner is present mayor. 

Clifton. 

Clifton was platted by Bates and Lewis 
in 1840, in lots numbering 1-84. When 
Clark County was first laid off, the en- 
tire present village of Clifton was placed - 
within the boundaries of this county, but 
General Whiteman had but recently built 
a house, which is the old stone residence 
still standing a short distance east of 
Clifton. He did not wish to be taken out 
of Greene County and the boundary was 
afterwards changed so as to put his house 
back in Greene County. Although the 
place was not platted until 1840, yet from 
the fact that a mill was erected here by 



Owen Davis in 1800, there was no doubt of 
somewhat of a settlement here before the 
plat was made. It received its name prob- 
ably from the beautiful cliffs immediately 
west along the Little Miami River. The 
mill is now in Greene County, and is run 
by Mr. Preston. 

The village is almost due south of the 
city of Springfield, about eight and one- 
half miles. It has two grocery stores, an 
opera house, and a graded school build- 
ing of four rooms. The county line runs 
through the school building, the district 
being a special district composed of ter- 
ritory in both counties. The village con- 
tains three churches, the Methodist, 
Presbyterian, and United Presbyterian. 
The first church in this neighborhood was 
built by the Baptists, with the help of the 
Presbyterians. It was a log house built 
in 1807 on the north bank of the Little 
Miami, about eighty rods east of General 
Whiteman 's house. Its population at the 
last census was 262. 

Present Officials— A. H. Ellis, Mayor; 
G. E. Burney, D. A. Clark, B. Z. Luse, 
R. H. Sparrow, Richard Sparrow, Coun- 
cilmen ; W. M. Cultice, Marshal. 

COBTSVILLE. 

Cortsville appears to have been plat- 
ted, but the record of the plat is not in the 
recorder's office in this county. In 1830 
Robert Cort began the erection of a car- 
penter shop and residence for William 
Marshall. In 1835 he and Mr. Marshall 
became partners and built a small store- 
house at the crossing of the first road 
leading north from Selma into Green 
Township. This was the beginning of 
Cortsville, which is located in the south- 



322 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



eastern part of Green Township, about 
eleven miles from Springfield. 

Cort and Marshall died about 1843, and 
the business passed into the hands of 
other parties, but it was finally abandoned 
about 1852. There is a blacksmith shop 
there and a small grocery store and per- 
haps twelve to fifteen residents. In the 
time of the toll roads, there was a toll-gate 
at this place. There is a colored Baptist 
Church and the population at this time is 
principally composed of colored people. 
At one time there was a postoffice at this 
place but this was transferred to Selma 
in 1845. 

Dt.ilton. 

Dialton is a comparatively youth- 
ful place. No plat was ever made of 
that village. It is located in the north- 
eastern part of Pike Township half 
a mile south of the Champaign Coun- 
ty line and one mile east of the boun- 
daries of German Township. It owes 
its classification as a village to the 
establishment of a postoffice in that place 
in 1865, and was named after former 
Judge Dial, for his efforts at a previous 
time to have the office established there. 
The settlement had its origin in the build- 
ing and operation of a steam saw-mill at 
this place, in 1851, by Jacob M. Myers 
and Jonathan Lehman. For many years 
this was the principal industry of the 
town, the mill afterwards being con- 
verted into a hub and spoke factory. At 
one time twenty-two men were employed. 

"William Michael kept a grocery on the 
corner for many years. He was the first 
postmaster of this place. The village is 
thirteen miles from Springfield. The S. 



T. & P. traction company now goes 
through it. The Baker Brothers conduct 
a general store here. 

Doi>LY Vaeden. 

Dolly Varden is the name given to a 
plat of lands laid out by Simington Buf- 
fenbarger in 1872, lots 1-7, and in 1876 
lots 7-22. It was doubtless named after 
the locksmith's prettj^ daughter in Charles 
Dickens' novel of Barnaby Eudge. It is 
about seven and a half miles southeast of 
Springfield on the road leading westward 
one-half mile north of South Charleston, 
about three and a half miles from that 
place in Madison Township. It never ac- 
quired any particular prominence. The 
Spring-field and South Charleston Trac- 
tion line runs through it and there is a 
stopping place there for convenience of 
the neighbors. 

The schoolhouse is the principal build- 
ing. There are probably twenty-five or 
thirty people living in this place. It never 
reached sufficient importance to have a 
postoffice. 

DONNELSVILLE. 

Donnelsville was first platted in 18.30 
b}^ James Donnel, from whom no doubt 
it received its name. This plat included 
lots 1-36 on l3oth sides of the National 
Eoad. Afterwards, in 1844, Abraham 
Smith made an addition to the north of 
this first addition of 38-54, and in 1859 
John Leffel platted some lots. This vil- 
lage is located on the National Eoad, 
seven miles west of Springfield. Not far 
east of the Center of Bethel Township 
there is a voting place known as Don- 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



323 



nelsville Precinct. Settlements were 
made at this place some time prior to its 
establishment as a village. For many 
years Silas Trnmbo conducted a general 
store in this village. He Avas succeeded 
in that business by J. B. Trumbo, who still 
conducts the store. 

Trumbo is a native of this township 
and served as County Commissioner in 
'1891-1897. The village has two churches 
— Methodist, organized about 1819 at the 
house of the father of Jeremiah Left el, 
north of the village, the building being 
moved there about the time the latter was 
laid out; and the Lutheran, organized 
about 1830. There are ssveral other sub- 
stantial residences in this village located 
east along the National Pike. The census 
of 1900 gave it a population of 200, being 
forty-three less than the census ten years 
previously gave it. 

Its transportation facilities are afford- 
ed by the Big Four Railroad, at a station 
called Donnelsville, aboirt two miles to the 
southwest, and by the Dayton and Spring- 
field Traction line, which can be reached 
on the Valley Pike one mile south of the 
village. 

DURBIN. 

Durbin is the name given to the station 
at the crossing of the Big Four and Erie 
Railway, about three miles southwest of 
Springfield. It was named after Greneral 
Durbin Ward who was general counsel 
for the Erie Railway at the time (1880) 
that the "Big Four" made its crossing 
here. It is also reached at present by the 
Dayton and Springfield Traction Line, 
and at this writing the Erie Railway 
transfers its passengers at this point to 

18 



a special car on the traction line, and in 
that way reaches Springfield. It has 
hardly assumed the dignity of a village, 
yet there are perhaps fifteen or twenty 
houses in the immediate vicinity. The 
schoolhouse was erected here in 1905. 

Eagle City. 

Eagle City is the name given to the 
postoffice located at what was formerly 
known as the Baker Mills, latterly owned 
by Mr. S. E. Hockman, and is located on 
Mad River about four miles north of the 
city of Spring-field, a short distance off 
of what is known as the St. Paris Pike. 
The name was given when the postoffice 
was established there about 1885. 

Since free delivery has been established, 
the office has been abandoned, but the 
place still retains its name. Its only in- 
dustry is the mill which is now owned by 
n. L. Detrick. The D. T. & I. R. R. runs 
not far west of this place and stops at the 
road crossing. 

In 1851 the Society of Bethel was or- 
ganized and steps were taken to build a 
house of worship on the site of Section 25, 
on the old Clifton Road. Richard Kelley 
served as teacher and Sabbath school 
leader for a number of years. It was 
abandoned in 1880. 

In 1835 a hoiise of worship was built 
near the present Emery Chapel, and it is 
said to have been the first church built by 
the Methodists in that part of the coun- 
try. Previous to this the people had held 
their worship in an old log church called 
Ebenezer, which stood in the same neigh- 
borhood. The first chapel was christened 
Emery Chapel, but it was frequently 
called by the name of Maine's Meeting 



324 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



House, from Adam Maine, who lived in 
the immediate neighborhood. This house 
was succeeded b}^ the joresent Emery 
Chapel in 1853. It is located on the Yel- 
low Spring Pike, immediately south of 
the village of Beatty, and is built of brick. 
Services are still held here. 

People living in the settlement known 
as Eockway built a church, which has 
been under the control of the Lutheran 
denomination and is still in active opera- 
tion. 

In the present year, 1907, a denomina- 
tion calling themselves ' ' Saints or Church 
of the Living God ' ' have erected a church 
a short distance this side of Eockway 
Chapel on the National Pike, west of 
Springfield. Services were first held here 
on October 28, 1907. The structure is a 
frame dwelling and cost $2,500.00. 

In 1888 Locust Grove Chapel was 
erected. This chapel is located on what 
is usually known as the Gillett Eoad, 
about three and a half miles- southeast of 
the city of Springfield. Sunday school 
and occasional services are held here. 

Schools. 

Springfield Township has no high 
school, the pupils taking advantage of the 
Spring-field city high school under the 
provisions of the Patterson law. 

The following is a list of the teachers 
for the coming year : 

Superintendent, J. M. Collins ; super- 
visor of music, W. H. Ijewis ; No. 1, Eidge, 
Clara Kempler; No. 2, Eeed's, John Cope- 
land; No. 3, Sinking d'eek, Effie Valen- 
tine; No. 4, Congress, Bessie Umpleby; 
No. 5, Cross Eoads, J. M. Collins, prin- 
cipal; Maggie Hinkle. primary; No. 6, 



Benson's, P. E. Eunyan; No. 7, Possum, 
Eedmond Higgins, principal; Bessie Gar- 
rison, primary; No. 8, Mill Creek, J. W. 
Arthur; No. 9, Eockway, C. E. Collins, 
principal; Glenna Suavely, intermediate^ 
Ella Kissell, primary; No. 10, Snow Hill, 
Pearl Weatherford, principal; Beatrice 
Kaufman, primary; No. 11, Victory, Fay 
Stafford; No. 12, Locust Grove, Margie 
Black; No. 13, Durbin, W. S. Maxwell. 

Enumeration of pupils for 1907 — Males, 
450 ; females, 388 ; total, 838. 

Enost. 

Enon is the principal village in Mad 
Eiver Township, and is located on the 
Springfield and Dayton Turnpike, seven 
and a half miles southwest of the city of 
Springfield. It was originally platted in 
1838, the time that the Springfield and 
Dayton road was laid out, and was at the 
intersection of the road leading from 
Xenia to New Carlisle. Elnathan Cory 
and E. D. Baker made the first plat of 
lands 1-60. 

In 1842 Mr. E. D. Baker made a second 
plat, the lots in which were numbered 
from 6-79, and another plat in 1845. 

In 1847 David Cross platted an addi- 
tion of lots 1-20, and in 1849 David 
Funderburg made an addition of lots 
which he numbered 117-135. There were 
settlements in this vicinity prior to its 
being platted as a village. 

In 1812 William Donnels built the first 
tavern in the township about one and a 
half miles west of the village. It was 
known as the "Hickory Tavern." The 
first hotel was built in Enon by Franklin 
Cook in 1838. It was built of stone and 
rough cast and for three-quarters of a 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



325 



century was used for that purpose. A 
few years ago it was destroyed by fire. 

The first church erected in this town 
was the Methodist Episcopal, the or- 
ganization being formed about 1840. Rev. 
Hamilton is now pastor. 

The first sehoolhouse was built on 
North Xenia Street. The next school- 
house was built on South Xenia Street. 
It has another church called the Chris- 
tian Church, of which Rev. Jones is now 
pastor ; two grocery stores, at present one 
conducted b}' A. B. Dunkle and the other 
by Aaron Dellinger. Peter Hardman is 
the present postmaster. 

For many years John Baney carried 
the mail between Enon and the railroad 
station. 

The town enjoys the distinction of a 
fine Knights of Pythias hall, erected in 

1889 by Adolphus H. Smith, Jr. The 
census of 1900 gives the village a popula- 
tion of 295, a decrease of 36 over that of 

1890 and a decrease of 67 over that of 
1880. 

The village is thriving, however, and 
contains some very pleasant countrj^ 
homes. Immediately northeast of it is the 
celebrated Knob Mound, the most distin- 
guished mound in Clark County. The 
railroad facilities to this village are fur- 
nished at Enon station one-half mile to 
the north, where the Big Four and Erie 
Railroads parallel each other. The Day- 
ton and Spring-field Traction line can also' 
be reached on the Valley Pike one and 
one-half mile to the north. This village is 
located on or near the route that General 
Clark took on his way to the battle of 
Piqua in 1780, and it is said that his 
military staff reconnoitered from the top 
of the mound in this vicinity. 



The first house was built by Jesse 
Rhodes. The first merchant was John R. 
Miller. He came here at an early date 
from Brottensburg. After him came 
Stephen Wilson from Hertzler's Mill. 
Other merchants were Melyn Miller, 
Conrod Kurtz, Robert Gaston, J. L. 
Conklin, afterwards in Springfield; he 
was burned out here. David Zigler, Smith 
and Ohlwine, John H. Littler, Anthony 
Beam, John Goodwin, Miller and Wolfe, 
H. Strauss, John Wallace and others. 
Mr. Wallace Robinson, Kennedy and 
Miller Baker were tailors, Joseph Sipes 
Nelson Hardman, T. J. Barton, John Hall, 
Wm. Pottle and Franklin Roch were 
blacksmiths. James Vanostrain and Wm. 
D. Miller made the celebrated Miller plow. 
William Barton, Silas Chappell, Peter 
Miller, Edwin Barton and others ran a 
cooper shop. The first physician in the 
town was named "Hoylt. " 

H.\BM0NY. 

Harmony is situated on the National 
Road near the west line of Harmony 
Township, six miles from Springfield. It 
was platted originally in 1832 by Lay- 
bourn Newlove, lots 1-13, and in 1851 John 
Walker made an addition to the village on 
the north side of the road. 

Joseph Newlove and Robert Black were 
early hotel keepers of this village. About 
the year 1835, Harvey Ryan built a tan- 
nery there. He was succeeded in busi- 
ness by F. & N. Schoenberger and they 
in turn by John H. Larimer. The works 
have now been abandoned. 

The first sehoolhouse was built here in 
1835, John Newlove being the teacher. 
During the time that stage coaches passed 



326 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



over the National Eoad, the village had a 
bright and stirring appearance, bnt after 
the railroads came, this kind of travel 
ceased and Harmony lost much of its 
energy. About 1890 a postoffice was lo- 
cated at this place which was called Wise- 
man. This office was abandoned when the 
Rural Delivery was inaugurated. Re- 
cently the Springfield and Columbus trac- 
tion line has been built through this vil- 
lage and it has again assumed an air of 
some importance. Its population would 
not exceed seventy-five. The cholera of 
1852 almost wiped this village out of ex- 
istence. 

Hennessy. 

Hennessy is a station on the Pennsyl- 
vania Railway, in the southeastern part 
of Mad River ToAvnship, one-half mile 
north of the south line of Clark County, 
and the same distance east from the Yel- 
low Springs Pike. It is nothing more than 
a cluster of houses and a stopping place 
for trains on the railroad. 

At what time it first received its name 
is not known, but as it appears on Colonel 
Kizer's map in 1850, it must have been 
shortly after the Little Miami Railroad 
was built. 

Htistead. 

Hustead is situated on the Yellow 
Springs Pike six and one-half miles south 
of Spring-field and it receives its principal 
importance from the fact that the post- 
office is located there and a small grocery 
store. 

The name is taken from persons resid- 
ing in the neighborhood. It is located in 
the Eastern part of Mad River Town- 
ship, very close to the border line, be- 



tween it and Green Township. The popu- 
lation is about twenty-five. Its name does 
not appear upon the map prior to 1880. 
Mr. H. H. Turner is postmaster at pres- 
ent. 

IjAWRENCEVILLE. 

Lawrenceville is located six and one- 
half miles northwest of the city of Spring- 
field, in German Township, on the road 
leading from Springfield, known as the 
Coblentz Road. Its first plat of lots was 
made in 1843, numbered 1-15, by Emanuel 
and Margaret Circle. The place was then 
called Noblesville, and it continued to 
have that name until it acquired a post- 
office and then, it being found that there 
was another Noblesville in this state, its 
name was changed to Lawrenceville, 
after Judge Lawrence who was then a 
member of Congress from this district. 
A store was built in 1836 by Elias Over. 
A few years later three Germans, named 
Rice, Bipple & Rice built and operated a 
pottery. This industry has long since 
been abandoned. 

In 1905 John Rust laid out an addition 
of lots numbering from 1-2. The S. T. & 
P. Traction line having in the year 1905 
been built through this village, consid- 
erable stimulus has been given to its 
growth, and smaller tracts of land are of- 
fered in its surroundings for sale at this 
time. The high school built in 1874 for 
Gennan Township is located here, as well 
as a Reformed church, desigTiated as 
Mount Pisgah. This church was built by 
the Lutheran and Reformed denomina- 
tions in 1821. The town has never been 
incorporated. There are probably 150 
people living there. It has one store and 
blacksmith shop. James V. Ballentine, 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



eighty-four years of age, was born in its 
vicinity and still resides in Lawrenceville. 
In 1907 the Traction Company built a 
station, in which Napoleon Wagner at- 
tends to selling tickets, cigars, etc., and 
C. H. Bailey conducts a general store. 

Lagonda. 

Lagonda while still preserving its name, 
is fast losing its identity as being now 
a part of the city of Springtield; yet at 
one time it almost held the position of a 
rival to Springfield. In Edwards' His- 
torical A^tlas of Clark County the follow- 
ing is given: 

"From the manuscript of William H. 
Berger, the following facts have been 
compiled. The first building erected in 
Lagonda was about 1800. James Smith 
was the first white man to pass through 
the valley, accompanying a party of In- 
dians. The journey occurred in 1760, and 
Smith saw elk and buffalo. Simon Ken- 
ton and others settled north of Spring- 
field in 1799. A mill was wanted; the 
Government offered thirty acres of land 
to any mill builder. Kenton built a mill, 
but got no land. Kenton's claim was 
deeded July 29, 1814, to William Ward, 
Sr. Caleb Tuttle, when a boy, took wheat 
to Kenton's mill, and, standing on a 
block, bolted the flour by turning the cloth 
with a winch. Kenton sold, December 5, 
one-fourth to William Beesley and 
Nicholas Eicket. The former erected a 
saw-mill with a butter-churning attach- 
ment, and both worked in unison. Eicket 
now built a frame mill near the old site, 
and put in two sets of burrs. Mrs. Tuttle 
ran this mill while her father was sol- 
diering to the northward. Indians came 



329 

round offering for sale cranberries. 
Beesley put up a carding and fulling- 
mill. During 1812 and 1814, Peter Eitt 
ran a distillery; it was built on the farm 
of J. T. Warder and run by M. Murray. 
On August 1, 1830, Jeremiah Warder pur- 
chased the village of Lagonda for three 
thousand dollars. The old mill was used, 
but was soon turned into a distillery. 
Warder erected a large mill south of the 
creek, and built a dam, which supplied the 
water-power for saw-mill, factory, still, 
and grist-mill. The grist-mill had a large 
patronage and ran for forty years. John 
Hunt was storekeeper in 1828. Mulhol- 
land was a jeweler. C. McLaughlin and 
George Warder were early storekeepers 
in a house which finally took fire and was 
consumed. The first English school in 
the neighborhood was taught in a small 
log house about one and a half miles 
north by east of Lagonda, on Mr. Cra- 
bill's farm. Later the school was moved 
into the Baptist Church, half a mile north 
of the village. During 1845 Eev. William 
J. Shuey taught the first school in La- 
gonda, with thirty or forty pupils. Next 
year a three hundred dollar house was 
erected by Nicholas Nimsgern. In 1858, 
a house thirty by forty-five was erected, 
at an expense of twelve hundred dollars. 
In 1867, a sixteen hundred dollar house 
was erected. A church was built in 1871, 
at a cost of thirty-five hundred dollarsj 
by the W. B. C. membership, one hundred 
and twenty-five. Dr. William A. Need- 
ham of Vermont, came to Springfield 
Township, and lived in a log house near 
Lagonda, in the year 1814. This person 
was well known and a popular physician 
of the times." 
Later there was a postoffice established 



330 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



there, with Henry C. Laybourn as post- 
master. This was abandoned when the 
corporation limits of Springfield were ex- 
tended in 1882. 

Wm. H. Berger died in 1907 having 
spent his lifetime in the vicinity of 
Lagonda. 

Limestone City. ' • 

Limestone City is located about three 
miles southwest of the city of Spring- 
field, immediately south of the Big Four 
Railway. It is not far from where Krebs 
Station was located in early history of 
this county. It was platted by George 
Sintz in 1886. It is principally occupied 
by persons working in the various stone 
quarries in that locality. The quarries 
accessible from this point are those of E. 
R. and "William Mills, the Moores Lime 
Company and the W. D. Moores Lime 
Company. Its population is probably 
from fifty to seventy-five persons. It 
takes its name from its surrounding lime- 
stone quarries. 

IiISBON. 

Lisbon is situated near the south line 
of Harmony Township on the road lead- 
ing from South Charleston to Spring-field 
and is about ten and one-half miles from 
Springfield and two miles from South 
Charleston. It is one of the oldest vil- 
lages in the county, having been platted 
in 1815 by Ebenezer Pattoeh and James 
Cheneworth. The latter was a Virginian 
and settled there as early as 1803. Ai 
one time it promised to be a village of 
considerable importance, but later the 
drift of population seemed to be towards 
its successful rival South Charleston, and 
this became more so after the building 



of the Little Miami Eailway. Today but 
little evidence of its old-time importance 
remains. 

In 1820 there was a schoolhouse built 
at this place, and later on Isaac Chamber- 
lain kept a hotel here, and a grocery store 
was also once conducted in this place. 

Nothing remains now but the black- 
smith shop and the schoolhouse. On the 
original plat there were fifty-six lots. The 
church in the neighborhood, known as the 
Lisbon Church, is of the Baptist denomi- 
nation, the Eev. David Kerr of Spring- 
field being the present pastor. 

Medway<' 

Medway is located on the Valley Pike, 
and is so called because it is nearly mid- 
way between Dayton and Springfield. 

In 1807 Eev. Archibald Steele built a 
grist-mill near this locality, which was the 
origin of the village. Mr. Steele in 1816 
made the only plat of lots that was ever 
made for this village. It consisted of 
eighty-nine lots on each side of what is 
now the Valley Pike, and the town has 
been built along these lines. It always 
has been a village of considerable pros- 
perity, as it is situated in one of the rich- 
est valleys in Ohio. 

Eecently the Springfield and Dayton 
traction line has been built through it, and 
they have erected here a power-house 
v/hich supplies power for the entire sys- 
tem, being one of the largest power-house 
plants in the country. This has added 
considerable importance to Medway, as 
the car barns are located there and a num- 
ber of men, working on the traction line 
as motormen, conductors, and in other 
capacities, have made their homes there. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVB CITIZENS. 



531 



The traction line lias also located one 
of its parks along this line, which is des- 
ignated by the name of Tecumseh, and is 
a frequent place for picnics and other out- 
ings from the Citj^ of Springfield and 
Dayton. A branch line has been bnilt 
leading to New Carlisle, so while the old 
industries connected with the various 
mills upon Mad River located in this vicin- 
ity have passed away, a new and import- 
ant one has come, and Medway bids fair 
in consequence to become a village of con- 
siderable importance in the future. It 
has a graded school and two churches-, 
Methodist and Mennonites. There are 
several stores which compare favorably 
with those carried on in villages of this 
character. It is not incorporated, but it 
is probably safe to say that it has a popu- 
lation of about 300. It is twelve miles 
from Springfield and is in the southern 
part of Bethel Township forming a 
precinct known as Medway Precinct. 

The first house was built by Jacob 
Hershey, who was also the first post- 
master of the village; he was then the 
proprietor of the "McQwen Mills." (See 
Mills.) 

The Methodist Church was erected here 
in 1842.. Newton Dunkel conducts a 
grocery and is postmaster at this time. 
William Lansinger is the manager of the 
blacksmith shop, Mrs. Zilkey conducts 
the hotel and Mrs. Heil the restaurant. 

NEW CARLISLE. 

Location. 

In the selection of the site for this 
pleasant village we have another illustra- 
tion of the influence that a running stream 



had upon our forefathers a hundred years 
ago, but if this was a factor in the early 
location of this village it has long since 
ceased to be a useful one. However this 
may be, New Carlisle is located upon as 
fine a plat of fertile territory as can be 
found in the Great Miami Valley, and this 
no doubt had its influence upon the mind 
of the early settlers. Besides it is in all 
probability located not far from one of 
the Indian trails that lead from the old 
village of Piqua (New Boston) over to the 
Indian villages upon the main part of the 
Miami River. 

Dr. Young in a former history of this 
county, says that the Indian village of 
Chinchima was located on the Smith farm 
immediately west of town. Honey Creek, 
a branch of the Big Miami, has its source 
north of the village some five or six miles, 
and meanders down and around the vil- 
lage going west into Miami County. 

Surroundings. 

New Carlisle is situated on a plateau, 
some twenty-five feet above the bed of this 
stream, which affords to it excellent 
drainage. On this stream the original 
proprietor built a mill as far back as in 
1836, but it has long since been a thing 
of the past. We have no particular ad- 
vice at this time that the lands surround- 
ing the village were in a condition other 
than is usually found in this fertile val- 
ley, and no doubt they were originally 
covered with walnut, oak, hickory and 
timber of like character. It has been pre- 
viously stated, in giving the history of 
the county, that probably the first set- 
tler was John Paul who afterwards built 
or located a mill situated a mile or three- 



332 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



quarters northeast of this village, but the 
founder of the town was William Eey- 
bourn. 

When^ Laid Out. 

It is said by Dr. Young that it was tirst 
laid out in 1810, and the first location was 
about 80 rods west of the present town 
(this was in the northwest corner of the 
Stockstill addition), and it was called 
York, and that in 1812 Eeybourn made 
his plat and called it Monroe. This plat, 
however, does not seem to have been re- 
corded until 1816. In 1828 the name was 
changed to New Carlisle. This original 
plat of Eeybourn 's was lots from 1-54 
and extended from the lower part of the 
town up along Main Street to Lincoln 
Street. One lot wide on the west of the 
street and two lots wide on the east. We 
do not know much about Mr. Eeybourn, 
except that afterwards one of his descend- 
ants went east and was recently the mayor 
of Philadelphia. Afterwards, in 1833, 
John Hay platted lots numbering 55-74, 
this plat of lots running north on Main 
Street above Eeybourn 's plat to Lake 
Avenue and then south on Church Street 
to Washington Street. In the same year 
Elnathan Corry platted lots 75-133, lot 
75 being on the southwest corner of Wash- 
ington and Church Street, and the plat 
ran from Washington Street as far west 
as Scott Street, south to Madison Street 
and some few lots further south along 
Church Street. In 1842 Corry made 
another addition of lots 134-181. This 
plat was west of Scott Street and be- 
tween Jet¥erson and Madison. For forty 
years there was no other platted addition 
made to the village. New life having been 
infused into the community by the 



building of what was then the I. B. 
& W. E. E. in 1881, in 1882 J. N. 
Stockstill made an addition of lots 
numbering 182-281 which includes that 
part of the village bound on the north 
by Lake Avenue on the west by 
Clay Street and on the south by Wash- 
ington and on the east by Church Street, 
further south by the alley between Church 
and Adams Streets. The same year Forgy 
& Mitchell made a plat of lots numbered 
282-300, being the western part of the 
town south of Tippecanoe Pike or Jeffer- 
son Street. In 1884 Sarah Smith, in the 
west part of the town opposite to the 
Forgy & Mitchell addition, laid out lots 
301-321. In 1887 B. H. Eannels laid out 
lots 322-359, this addition being north of 
Washington Street and west of Clay. 

Itstcobpoeation. 

The village is about sixteen miles north- 
east of Dayton and twelve miles west of 
Springfield. It was incorporated in 1831, 
but not being fortunate enough to be lo- 
cated on a road that was traveled much 
by stage coaches nor railroad prior to 
1881 its growth was necessarily slow. Its 
natural surroundings, however, were such 
that in early times its founders had hopes 
that it might ultimately be chosen as the 
county seat, but its location was not cen- 
tral enough to make it a formidable fac- 
tor in the final settlement of this ques- 
tion. It grew, however, and became noted 
as one of the most attractive villages in 
this part of the state, but the absence of 
railroad facilities after the railroads 
came was a serious drawback to its 
growth. It was strictly an agricultural 
communitv. When the I. B. & W. was 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



333 



built in 1881 tEe people were aroused 
from their lethargy and built up great 
expectations for the future, which has in 
a measurable degree been fulfilled. The 
village took on new life, made extensive 
improvements and now is one of the live 
villages of the county, compelling South 
(Charleston to put on her spurs to keep 
her rank as second in size among the vil- 
lages of this county. 

Population. 

The population we find has increased 
but very little. Going back as far as 1880, 
we find that the census gave the village 
872, in 1890, 958; 1900, 995. 

When the Dayton & Springfield Trac- 
tion Line was built, a spur was con- 
structed from Medway to New Carlisle, 
and so the people now have good facilities 
for reaching either Springfield or Dayton. 

EaeijY Residents. 

It is said that Jonathan Taylor and 
J. S. Mussey were early merchants of the 
place and that it had three churches, built 
as early as 1830, and that Dr. Robbins was 
the physician in that year. 

Elnathan Corry was the grandfather of 
our fellow townsman J. Quincy Smith and 
lived at this old homestead. The Corry 
family has been prominent in the affairs 
of the village from that date until the 
present. Among other old time residents 
may be mentioned Cyrus Lowman, whose 
father built the second stone house that 
Avas erected in Clark County. Cyrus lived 
in the vicinity of the village and during 
his entire life of more than fifty years 
was closely identified Avith its affairs. 



Another old time settler and one of great 
prominence in the village was Dr. John 
N. Stockstill. He commenced the practice 
of his profession in this village in 1842. 
He has been dead some fifteen years. The 
old homestead still standing on Main 
Street in its day was one of the finest 
residences of the town. Another old time 
physician of the place who was here for 
a half century was Dr. Isaac Miranda, 
who came here in 1851. During his life- 
time he was prominent in township and 
village affairs. Another person who is 
well remembered by the oldest people of 
the village is E. T. Weakley. He was a 
Virginian, proud of his ancestry and 
strong in his Democratic principles, set- 
tling here in an early date, and posses- 
ing considerable wealth. The politics of 
the village are generally Republican, but 
Mr. Weakley and Dr. Miranda ably ad- 
vocated and maintained the principles of 
the Democratic party. Mr. Weakley as- 
sisted in the organization of the New 
Carlisle Bank, and was well known in this 
and sui-rounding counties. 

Horace N. Taylor was a life-long resi- 
dent of this place. His father, Ezra G., 
came here in 1829 and from that time on 
until his death was one of the leading 
citizens. The younger Taylor for quite a 
while conducted a store under the firm 
name of Garver and Taylor. He was 
postmaster under Benjamin Harrison and 
for a long time was township clerk. He 
has been dead for some five or six years. 
Dr. Benjamin Neff was quite an active 
and distinguished citizen of this place 
from the time that he came here in the 
early 60s until his death in the early 90s. 
He represented this county in the state 
Legislature from 1871-1875, and conducted 



334 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



a drug store where T. J. Marinda is now 
located. His son Charles for some time 
was cashier of the New Carlisle Bank. 

Perhaps the most noted enterprise 
that the town ever had was the Smith 
Nursery. This was formed originally by 
Wm. H. Smith who came here in 1864, and 
in 1890 the industry had grown to be 
quite an extensive one. Some time after 
Mr. Smith died, and this industry has 
ceased to be an important factor of the 
village. 

Another person who was for a long 
time an active business man from this 
town, conducting a nursery likewise, was 
Thomas Brown, who commenced the busi- 
ness as early as 1846, and continued it as 
late as 1884. W. U. Sc^rff south of the 
village is now extensively engaged in this 
business. 

A person who brought considerable dis- 
tinction to the village of New Carlisle 
was the Kev. Thomas Harrison, who came 
here in 1852 and took charge of the select 
school that had been organized two years 
previously by the Eev. Berger. This 
school was afterwards called the Linden 
Hill Academy. Mr. Harrison was a 
thinker of some power, as his works in 
defense of religion and the Bible prove. 
His fame became noised around and his 
school became somewhat distinguished, 
sending forth a number of persons who 
were afterwards prominent in various 
walks of life. He remained here until 
1865, when the school was abandoned, be- 
ing succeeded by the New Carlisle High 
School, and the Eev. Harrison took up 
other fields of labor. 

The Eev. Henry Williams while living 
south of the village deserves more than a 
passing notice by reason of his long and 



continued pioneer pastorate in this vicin- 
ity. He was the father of a number of 
children disting-uished afterwards in pub- 
lic life. H. H. Williams being Common 
Pleas judge of Miami County, E. S. Will- 
iams a member of Congress from that 
county, and J. C. Williams having served 
as Mayor of this village and being still 
living, an honored citizen of the place. 

Banks. 

The first banking concern that New 
Carlisle had was known as the Bank of 
North America, and was organized in 
1852, by Phil Baker, Wm. Eobinson, Wm. 
Timmons, David Lehman, J. C. Stafford 
and Ezra Gr. Taylor, the latter being 
cashier. [t was founded on Virginia 
bonds, and went under in about one year. 
It was located in a blue brick building, 
corner of Washington and Main Streets. 

The New Carlisle Bank was organized 
in 1883 by C. S. Forgy, E. T. Weakley, 
Samuel Hamlet, Dr. Isaac Miranda, Dr. 
Benjamin Neff and others with a capital 
stock of $15,000. Charles H. Neff was its 
first cashier and C. S. Forgy its first 
president. For a time afterwards Sam- 
uel Hamlet was president. It subsequent- 
ly became the property of J. V. Forgy, 
j. Q. Smith, Mrs. M. M. Saylor and C. 
H. Saylor, the present owners. Mr. Her- 
bert S. Forgy is cashier. The last state- 
ment shows that it had $96,000 deposits. 

The First National Bank of New Car- 
lisle commenced business March 3, 1903. 
The original directors were I. K. Funder- 
burg, Frank Fissel, Fed. D. Shelton, Dr. 
Cook, Charles McGuire and Isaac Free- 
man and W. A. Higgins. The above also 
constitute the present board, except that 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



335 



J. I. Stafford has taken the place of I. K. 
Fuuderbui'g. It was organized under the 
United States banking laws, which per- 
mitted National Banks to organize with 
$25,000 capital. According to its last 
statement, it had $56,903 of deposits and 
$95,834 of assets. The present officers are 
Frank Fissel, president, Dr. Cook, vice- 
president, and William Fissel, cashier. 
Mr. William H. Sterrett has been one of 
the moving spirits of this institution. 
Prior to 1906, Mr. Pierce was cashier. 

In 1882 Charles F. King started a 
building and loan association, of which 
Chas. McGuire has been secretary for a 
number of 3''ears. 

MANUFACTraiNG InDUSTEIES. 

The first mill was built by William E. 
Eeybourn in 1836, northeast of the vil- 
lage. Latterly the one owned by a Mr. 
Meeks was built at this place. There is 
now conducted at this location, by C. A. 
Smith & Son, a feed store; steam-power 
however is used. 

The next mill was built' near the rail- 
road after the building of the I. B. & W. 
Eailway. It was erected by a Mr. Eals- 
ton, the village raising a bonus of $5,000. 
Afterwards it was conducted by the 
Pierces, the Funderburgs, later by John 
0. Brown, and finally by a man by the 
name of Eosell. Then a mill was built 
by David Nysewander and Joshua Eust 
as a woolen mill ; it was afterward owned 
by John Collins, Isaac Funderburg and 
John Scarff. Both of these structures 
were burned down. The Superior Pump 
Factory was built in the eighties; John 
M. Winger and others were interested in 
it. 

Now there is conducted at the railroad 



station an elevator and general imple- 
ment business, by Stewart A. Muff; also 
another elevator by J. B. Peffley. 

FlEES. 

Much of the business part of New Car- 
lisle owes its modern appearance to the 
three disasterous fires that have visited 
the village in a space of ten years. 
The first, which occurred in 1889, 
burned out the buildings on the west 
of Main Street, north of the hotel. 
Afterwards in 1891 a fire broke out in a 
stable behind the City Hall and all that 
part was burned out from and including 
the City Ilall down to the Odd Fellows' 
Building. Then, in November, 1896, a 
conflagration, supposed to have orig- 
inated in a small feed store from fire used 
in a jollification over McKinley's election, 
burned all that portion of the village lo- 
cated between the Weakley Block and the 
Odd Fellows' Building. The most notable 
loss in this last fire was that of the Opera 
House, which had been built by Mr. Bert 
Lowman and the Stockstill boys. It was 
a very commodious building for the vil- 
lage of New Carlisle, costing $15,000, and 
was a serious loss to the community 
for'^the reason that, not having proved a 
business success, it will probably be many 
years before the village has another build- 
ing so elegantly equipped for entertain- 
ments or presenting so handsome an ap- 
pearance. Since these various fires all 
the space burned has been built up. 

Hotels. 

The hostelry now known as the Carlisle 
Inn was the first hotel of the village, and, 
according to information now available, 
was established by John A. Hay, prior 



336 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



to 1830. He was successively followed as 
landlord by James Mitchell, William 
Forrer, Sheldon Weakley, George G-arst 
and by the present proprietor, J. M. Kis- 
singer. General Fred Funston was born 
in this hotel. The next hotel was one es- 
tablished by a man by the name of Vance 
in 1840. Afterwards Joe Keef was land- 
lord of this hotel and later William 
Forrer, and it then ceased running. On 
the present location of the Staley House 
was formerly a hotel by the name of the 
Panly House. 

The Staley House is at present conduct- 
ed by Mary A. Staley. Recently, imme- 
diately south of the New Carlisle Bank, 
the Holwager House has been opened, 
the same being conducted by Elizabeth 
Holwager. 

Post Office. 

I am not advised as to when the post 
office was established, but the following 
information in regard to the successive 
postmasters is kindly given by the pres- 
ent postmaster. Dr. E. C. Miller: 

Buchanan's administration from 1856 
to 1861 , Thomas Wise, postmaster. Abra- 
ham Lincoln's administration from 1861 
to 1865, Eichard Hubbard, postmaster, 
and on down to his death in 1873; then 
Mrs. Hubbard, his wife, filled the office as 
postmistress until Grover Cleveland's ad- 
ministration, when T. J. Miranda was ap- 
pointed postmaster and served a short 
term. He resigned and Frank Hughes 
was appointed in 1887 and died in 1888, 
when H. N. Taylor was appointed and 
served over seven years. Then Grover 
Cleveland began his second term and A. 
M. Kissinger was appointed and served 
four years, and on June 25th, 1900, E. C. 



Miller was appointed and his second term 
expires December 13th, 1908. New Car- 
lisle was a fourth-class office up to and 
during a part of Taylor's service as post- 
master, and then it was made a third- 
class. When the present incumbent, E. C. 
Miller, became postmaster in 1900 there 
was one rural route connected with the 
office — J. F. Brubaker, carrier — and the 
salary of the office was $1,200. At the 
present time there are five routes, and the 
salary of the postmaster is $1,600. The 
post office building occupies one of the 
most prominent corners in the town, it 
being leased to the department for ten 
j'ears, and on October 1st, 1906, there was 
installed a complete and up-to-date set of 
post office fixtures; room heated by fur- 
nace and lighted by the latest improved 
gasoline lighting system. The staff at 
present is as follows: E. C. Miller, 
postmaster; Thomas E. Miller, assistant 
postmaster; J. F. Brubaker, carrier. No. 
1 ; W. H. Kilpatrick, No. 2 ; W. C. North, 
No. 3; E. P. Funderburg, No. 4, and B. W. 
Quick, No. 5. The rural routes alone col- 
lect and deliver nearly a half-million 
pieces a year; this does not include the 
general delivery in the town. 

Attorneys. 

Charles M. King, who founded the New 
Carlisle Building & Loan Association in 
1883, was perhaps the first attorney who 
had his office located in this village. In 
the following year he went back to 
Springfield, where he died in 1885. 

About 1885 B. H. Eannells located in 
the village and continued in the active 
practice here for some ten or fifteen 
years, at this time residing, however, it 
is believed, in Dayton. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



337 



About 1890 Horace W. Stafford, who 
had recently been admitted to the bar, 
opened an office in the village and con- 
tinued here for a year or so, when he 
moved to Springfield and afterwards be- 
came prosecuting attorney of the county. 

In 1895 W. S. Robison located in the 
village and for a time was actively en- 
gaged in the law practice. Afterwards he 
accepted services for the traction com- 
pany, in which line of practice he is still 
engaged. 

For a time Mr. Swadner, now located at 
Osborne, kept an office in this village. 

Pioneer Association. 

In 1889 the New Carlisle Pioneer As- 
sociation was organized. About the same 
time there were other pioneer associations 
organized throughout the county, most of 
which have long since ceased to exist. 
The New Carlisle association, however, 
continues in active operation, Mr. J. C. 
Williams being president at this time. 

Annually, about the 18th of August, 
this association holds its meetings, gener- 
ally in the Smith Grrove, west of the vil- 
lage. At the last meeting (1907) Senator 
Foraker delivered one of his forcible and 
eloquent addresses. 

In the history of Bethel Township will 
be found a list of the pioneers who were 
present at that meeting. General Keifer, 
a native of Bethel Township, introduced 
Senator Foraker. It was a beautiful day 
and the meeting was a decided success. 

Newspapers. 

On several occasions newspapers were 
started or gotten out in the village, but it 



remained for J. M. Hoffa, in 1883, to es- 
tablish the present "New Carlisle Sun" 
upon a substantial basis. He continued 
there for some six or eight years, when 
the property passed into the hands of 
other parties and finally became the prop- 
erty of the present proprietor, Mr. J. A. 
Alexander. It is a paper that well repre- 
sents the village. However, owing to the 
daily rural delivery and other facilities 
for circulating the papers of Springfield 
and Cincinnati, it is a matter of con- 
siderable difficulty to maintain a news- 
paper in a A'illage of its size. 

J. C. Williams has materially contrib- 
uted to the success of this paper by his 
timely articles on matters of public in- 
terest. 

Cemetery. 

The New Carlisle Cemetery Associa- 
tion was organized October 3, 1856, and 
is located immediately south of the vil- 
lage, and presents a very creditable ap- 
pearance. 

J. V. Forgy is president of the organi- 
zation at this time; J. I. Stafford, secre- 
tary, and E. C. Miller, treasurer. The 
last report showed that there were no 
debts and a balance of $900 in the treas- 
ury. The custodian is Jethro Davis. 

Present Establishments. 

In the grocery line, Robison & Ray are 
located west of the post office on Jefferson 
Street, J. N. Corry on Jefferson Street 
and Mr. Hitchcock on the same street; 
Black Brothers and J. W. Martin on Main 
Street ;-C. D. Shelton, notions, etc. 

Among dry goods dealers there is C. F. 
McGuire, who likewise runs a boot and 



338 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



shoe store; Trostle & Son conduct a fur- 
niture establishment ; Helvie & Doom are 
undertakers ; George Hahn and Mart Kis- 
singer run livery barns ; Isaac Ulery and 
Brown Miller Brothers conduct a hard- 
ware business ; Mr. Baker and Ink Make- 
ly have tin and stove stores ; Cort Frahne 
conducts a cement block manufactory; 
Elias Clase a feed store; C. S. Goodall has 
a lumber yard; J. H. Brown & Mull, W. 
S. Hatten, Frank Ulerick and A. A. 
Stephens conduct blacksmith shops ; T. J. 
Miranda and W. A. Higgins, drug stores ; 
Simon Cradlebaugh has a machine shop 
on Clay Street and Smith & Son where 
the old mil] used to be; Samuel Reller is 
proprietor of a confectionery and restau- 
rant ; T. F. Hess is a cigar manufacturer. 

Physicians. 

The present physicians of the town are 
Drs. Ben Davis, Frank Stafford, J. H. 
Cook and C. E. Evans. In the past there 
have been Drs. Miranda, Stockstill, 
Shackleford, Hood, Robbins, Weinans and 
Smith. 

Mayors or the Village. 

The fire two years ago having de- 
stroyed all the official records, the follow- 
ing is given from memory and tradition 
as a list of some of the persons who have 
served as mayors: Richard Hubbard, 
James Stafford, Dr. H. H. Young, Dr. 
Fred McNeil, Cyrus Lowman, Dr. J. G. 
Hensley, Maurice Motz, A. P. Mitchell, 
George W. Pierce, W. E. Robinson, H. B. 
Rannels, J. C. Williams, W. H. Sterrett, 
J. W. Martin and the present incumbent, 
A. P. Mitchell. 



Secret Organizations. 

New Carlisle has the distinction of 
having the oldest Masonic lodge in Clark 
County. New Carlisle Lodge No. 100 was 
chartered January 5, 1831. Previous to 
this time there had been a Masonic or- 
ganization in Spring-field, but that organi- 
zation, during the anti-Masonic feeling 
created by the abduction of Morgan, lost 
its charter, and when a new lodge was 
organized in Springfield it was after the 
creation of the New Carlisle lodge. Dur- 
ing the excitement created by the Morgan 
abduction the New Carlisle lodge thought 
it prudent not to meet for a time. In the 
meantime some of the jewels and the 
charter were secreted along the banks of 
Honey Creek, the charter having been 
only discovered and returned to the lodge 
at a comparatively recent date. New Car- 
lisle Chapter No. 57 was chartered No- 
vember, 1868, and New Carlisle Council 
No. 30 afterward. 

Caritus Lodge No. 505, Odd Fellows, 
was instituted in 1872, and the New Car- 
lisle Encampment No. 222 in 1880; since 
which date Tecumseh Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias, Honey Creek Council No. 195, 
junior, and the Grand Army of the Re- 
public, Friendly Sons of Rest and other 
organizations have come into existence. 

Other matters of interest relating to 
churches, schools and early inhabitants 
will be found in the history of Bethel 
Township. At this time the question of 
natural gas is being agitated, an ordin- 
ance having been passed allowing the 
granting of a franchise in the village; 
likewise a water works system is in con- 
templation, and New Carlisle bids fair to 





lAST SIDI-. MATX STREET, NEW CARLISLE 





MASONIC BUILDING, NEW CARLISLE 



TOWN HALL, CATAWBA 





HOTEL, CATAWBA 



SCHOOL BUILDING, NEW CARLISLE 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



341 



become an up-to-date, modern village in 
every respect. 

The hourly service upon the traction 
line to Spring-field and Dayton make it a 
very desirable residence locality. At the 
last election the following persons were 
selected as officials for the village : 

Mayor, A. P. Mitchell. 

Clerk, J. E. Johnston. 

Council, J. W. Marshall, F. B. Ulrick, 
A. C. Fraber, C. M. Evans, John Shets 
and H. S. Porgy. 

Marshal, Myron Kester. 

Treasurer, Thomas Swanger. 

Cemetery trustees, E. C. Miller, J. I. 
Stafford and J. V. Forgy. 

New Mooeefield. 

New Moorefield is the principal village 
of Moorefield Township and is located on 
the Clark and Union Turnpike, seven and 
a half miles northeast of Springfield. Its 
name does not appear on Colonel Kizer's 
map, made in 1850, and it was probably 
about this time that the place received its 
name. It is on Buck Creek and the Dela- 
ware branch of the Big Four railway. 

In 1840 there was a mill built by Hugh 
Wilson at this place, and in 1850 he start- 
ed a store. In 1842 there was a saw-mill 
started near the same place. These have 
been succeeded by ia grist-mill, which is 
now operated by John W. Yeazell. The 
township house is located at this place. 
The first platted addition was made by 
Eliza Yeazell in 1883, lots numbering 1-27, 
and was principal!}^ that part that is 
south of the turnpike. 

In 1892 Louise D. Wilson platted an ad- 
dition in said town. The Methodist 
Church and the schoolhouse, together 



with the township building, are the prin- 
cipal buildings of the village. Demont 
Stepheson and Oscar Huffman severally 
conduct groceries. The village was never 
incorporated. It has a population of per- 
haps 150. 

Dr. Banes was the first physician, and 
Dr. McClintock attends to the people now 
in that capacity. 

Northampton. 

Northampton is located in Pike Town- 
ship, one mile west of the eastern bound- 
ary of said township, three miles from 
the northern boundary and ten miles from 
Springfield on the Clark and Miami Turn- 
pike. It enjo3^s the distinction of being 
the only village ever platted in Pike 
Township. The first plat was made by 
Peter Baisinger in 1829, with lots num- 
bering 1-16. 

In 1834 George Cost made a second ad- 
dition of lots from 17-24. In 1905 the 
Zinn heirs made a plat in addition to this 
town. The first merchant of .the village 
was Joseph Smith, who built a frame 
house here in the year 1830. 

The recent construction of the S. T. & 
P. Traction Line through this village has 
given it a marked impetus ; it bids fair to 
become a village of considerable impor- 
tance. 

The Knights of Pythias and Junior 
Orders both have erected good halls. The 
population of the village is now probably 
about 200. The Knights of Pythias hall 
was built in 1893, costing $1,500, and was 
remodeled in 1899. Junior hall was built 
in 1905 and cost $3,500. In addition the 
village h^s several stores. D. R. Taylor 
is postmaster. 



342 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



OWLTOWN. 

Owltown is the name of another village 
that has passed oi¥ the map. It was lo- 
cated about one mile east of Tremont City 
on Mad Eiver. Here, in 1839, was built 
by Kiblinger and Kneisley the largest dis- 
tillery in Clark County, and with the dis- 
tillery was also erected a grist-mill and 
likewise a saw-mill, and at one time there 
was also a cooper shop here and nine or 
ten dwelling houses. This distillery was 
run with great success, and as late as 
1864, under the name of Blose, Seitz & 
Blose. During the time that the " still "- 
house, mill and saw-mill were in operation 
it presented a scene of great activity, 
there being from tifteen to twenty-five 
men at work. In connection with the still- 
house, to take the refuse slop, there were 
large hog pens attached, feeding as many 
as three thousand hogs. 

The village received its name in this 
manner. For a long time the housewives 
of the neighborhood had been missing 
their poultry, and naturally attributed the 
loss to marauding owls. They finally dis- 
covered that the owls were in the shape of 
human beings and that the boys at the 
still-house had taken the chickens and 
roasted them in the furnace. Thereafter 
the place was called "Owltown." After- 
wards the distillery ceased operation and 
in a few years the grist-mill likewise, un- 
til now not a vestige of its former exist- 
ence remains. Immediately east there 
were two covered bridges across Mad 
River, displacing two old open wooden 
bridges, erected in 1865-7. At the west 
abutment of the east bridge Jesse Mead 
was drowned about 1888. When the cov- 
ered bridges were removed in 1904 for the 



construction of the one iron bridge, some 
Urbana parties ran over the west abut- 
ment of the west bridge one night about 
3 o'clock a. m. with an automobile and 
one person was killed outright. Suit was 
brought against the county and about 
$7,000 was collected. The present iron 
bridge was constructed in 1904, while 
Joseph H. Collins was commissioner. 

PiTCHIN. 

Pitchin is located southeast of Spring- 
field about six and a half miles, in Greene 
Township, on the pike leading to Selma. 
On the map gotten out by Colonel Kizer 
in 1850 it is desigTiated as Concord, de- 
riving that name no doubt from that of 
the Methodist Protestant Church located 
on this spot, which is identical. It is said 
that it received its name of Pitchin in the 
following manner: Formerly a man by 
the name of Ambrose ran a saw-mill there 
and to every one that applied for work 
when he was building it he would reply, 
"Pitch in." This is what an old citizea 
relates. 

In Everett's Atlas, 1875, this is found: 
"It seems that one David Bennett started 
a grocery, and opening a keg of beer told 
all to 'pitch in,' hence the name." 

The first Imilding was erected here by 
Green Porter, he building a residence and 
a blacksmith shop in 1845. 

In 1846 the Methodist Protestant 
Church, before referred to, was built. In 
1854 George Hansbrough built and oper- 
ated a steam saw-mill, which was run for 
a number of years after by John G. Hat- 
field and Aaron Dean. The population of 
the village was given as 120 in 1880 and 
probably it does not exceed that number 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



343 



at this date. For a long time G-ranville 
Elliott ran a grocery store here and J. H. 
Littler a blacksmith shop. E. L. Nave 
conducts the grocery at this time. A hall 
for general entertainments was erected 
about the year 1891. The schoolhouse con- 
sists of three departments. 

The Springtield and Charleston Trac- 
tion is about half a mile north of the 
village. 

Plattsbukg. 

Plattsburg is located near the center of 
Harmony Township, nine miles west of 
London and eleven miles east of Spring- 
iield. It was platted in 1852 by William 
Osborne and Amaziah Judy, lots num- 
bered 1-16 being taken from Mr. Os- 
borne's lands, and from 17-30 from Mr. 
Judy's lands. 

Boliyer Judy built the first warehouse 
an^ station on the railroad in 1853. A 
brick hotel was erected on the northwest 
corner by William Osborne. The People's 
house of worship was erected in 1846 by 
the Universalists and Christians. 

The brick schoolhouse was erected 
here as early as 1825. It was succeeded 
by another one built in 1848^ A township 
high school building was erected here in 
]904. 

Campbell & Price conduct a general 
store and the elevator for the purchase of 
grain. Their store burned down in 1905, 
but was promptly rebuilt. Eev. Mr. Hook 
is pastor of the church, which is now un- 
der the control of the Christian denomina- 
tion. 

Selma. 

Selma is located in the southwestern 
part of Madison Township on the Penn- 
sylvania Eailroad. It was laid out in 

19 



town lots in 1842 by Dr. Jesse Wilson. 
The State road from Springfield to Hills- 
boro crosses the Xenia and Columbus 
Pike at this place, and early made it a 
crossing of some importance ; so much so 
that it was deemed proper to plat it even 
before the road was built, and in 1845 the 
post office was transferred from Corts- 
ville to this place and Dr. Wilson was the 
first postmaster. The first merchants 
were probably the firm of Lans & White. 
In 1844 a storehouse was put up on the 
site now occupied by John Scanlan by W. 
G. Thorpe. 

A branch of Massey's Creek, called 
Willow Branch, flows through this village. 
The railroad was located a little north of 
the village as originally platted and 
through what was then known as swamp 
land at an early date. 

The old school building having been 
torn down, a special district was created 
in 1905 and the present very fine school 
building was erected at a cost of $15,000. 
Five original sub-districts are centralized 
in this school and it is giving good satis- 
faction. 

In 1888 a new precinct of Selma was 
created and in 1896 the present town hall 
was erected at a cost of $600.00. About 
1890 E. G. Calvert erected the elevator 
and is at present conducting the grain 
business there. Eobert Elder conducts a 
general store. Mr. Black runs a black- 
smith shop and William Grant is a hay 
merchant. Dr. Baumgardner is the vil- 
lage physician. 

There are three churches, the Friends, 
Methodist Episcopal and African Meth- 
odist. 

The original society of Friends was or- 
ganized in 1822, near the residence of 



344 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Samuel Howell, three-quarters of a mile 
northeast of Selma. In 1826 this society 
here and elsewhere divided; one was 
known as the Orthodox and the other the 
Hieksites, the Orthodox branch leaving 
the Hieksites in possession of the meeting- 
house and whatever property the original 
society owned at the time of separation, 
and in 1832 this branch numbered 220 
members and built a frame church where 
they worsliipped until 1871, when they 
built their present house of worship at a 
cost of $4,300. 

The other branch, to-wit, the Hieksites, 
continued to worship in their own church 
property until 1843, when this branch also 
had a division, and the building on the old 
ground was abandoned. A conservative 
portion began a house of worship a mile 
northeast of the former one. 

The first TNIethodist Church here was 
erected in 1830. The African Methodist 
Episcopal Church was built in 1875. 
Selma was known all over the country in 
slavery times as a station for the under- 
ground railway. 



tion is on the north, but this is but little 
used at the present time, as this railroad 
transfers its passengers to the city of 
Spring-field on a traction car coming- from 
Durbin. The station for the Masonic 
home is located here, and on this place 
was formerly the old Sugar Grove Hotel, 
which gave to the surroundings the name 
of Sugar Grove. This hotel building was 
erected in 1840 by Daniel Leffel. It was 
once destroyed by fire and afterwards re- 
built by Colonel Peter Sintz, and torn 
down a few years ago, when the Masonic 
Home was built. On this hotel immedi- 
ately over the door as the paint scaled off 
could be seen the letters 0. K., abbrevia- 
tion of "All Korrect." The origin of 
this expression is given in Howe's His- 
torical Collections of Champaign County, 
there having been a banner at a Whig- 
political meeting in 1840 which read, 
"The People Is All Korrect." There are 
perhaps all told one hundred people resid- 
ing here. The traction line has been re- 
surveyed to go around the hill by way of 
the station on the Erie Eailway. 



Sugar Grove. 



SOUTH CHAELESTON. 



Sugar Grove is west of Springfield, 
just beyond Mad Eiver, and were it not 
for the fact that Mad Eiver makes such a 
natural boundary line, it would before 
this have been absorbed in the city of 
Springfield. 

The first plat was made by Peter 
Schindler on behalf of the Spring-field 
Brick Manufacturing Company, in 1874. 
The main part of it was laid out by John 
H. Thomas in 1880, lots numbering 5-61. 

There are several stores now along the 
National Eoad. The Erie Eailwav Sta- 



South Charleston has the distinction of 
being the largest town or village in the 
county next to Springfield, although New 
Carlisle follows it very closely in this re- 
spect. Whether it had an identity before 
the first plat of lots was laid out in 1815 
by Conrad Critz is not now known. 
Neither is the historian of today able to 
give any reason for the name that it 
bears, nor can he say definitely why the 
town was originally laid out. It is located 
not far from the main channel of the Lit- 
tle Miami Eiver, that river having its 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



345 



source as recognized in history a few 
miles a little north or east of the village. 
Indian trails and early roadways were 
inclined to follow river valleys, and so we 
find that an early roadway went through 
or near this village leading up the Little 
Miami Valley and either going towards 
Columbus or Sandusky not far from 
where South Charleston is now located. 
One of the early roads laid out in this 
vicinity is the road leading directly south 
and directly north, the former dating 
from 1823 and the latter 1830. Lisbon 
was laid out the same year that South 
Charleston was and for a long time was 
its rival, but as the state increased in 
growth and population and the travel 
from Columbus towards Cincinnati be- 
came greater, South Charleston had the 
advantage in its locality, and when the 
P. C. & St. L. Railway Company was 
built in 1848, Lisbon could no longer be 
considered a rival to this village. Until 
the building of the Springfield, Jackson & 
Pomeroy Railroad, in 1878, much of the 
trade of South Charleston went to the 
towns of London and Xenia, it being about 
the same distance from these various 
towns. Prior to the establishment of 
Clark County, in 1818, the land upon 
which the village is now located was 
mostly, if not all, in Madison County. It 
is usually said to be twelve miles from the 
city of Springfield. 

Plats. 

It is mostly, if not all, located on land in 
the Military Survey, and not on Congress 
lands, and from this fact a peculiar con- 
dition of things exists, namely, that but 
one street — the Jamestown Road, from 



Columbus Street to Jamestown Street — . 
runs with the compass. This is a short 
street, being due north and south. As be- 
fore stated, Conrad Critz made the first 
plat in 1815 containing lots 1-32. The 
center of this plat was about where the 
Miami Hotel is now located. In 1824 
Christopher Lightfoot laid out lots 33-60. 
This plat of lots adjoined that of Critz 's 
along Chillicothe Street. In 1849 Wil- 
liam S. Warner made an addition of lots 
61-67 immediately south of the Critz plat. 
In the next year on Chillicothe Street, 
south of Jamestown Street, Robert Hous- 
ton laid out lots from 68-75 and in 1851 
Jacob M. Smith made an addition of lots 
from 83-88 near the extremity of James- 
town Street, and in the same year at the 
junction of the Xenia Pike and the Clif- 
ton Road, Edward Garrett laid out an ad- 
dition. In the same year Edward Evans 
made a plat of lots at the junction of 
Jamestown Street and the Jamestown 
Road. In 1855 Plasted & Moore laid out 
quite an addition to the Jamestown Road 
and Chillicothe Street and gave a number 
to their own addition of lots from 1-59; 
and in 1871 Henry E. Bateman made an 
addition of lots, which were numbered 
from 1-11. As late as 1906 Marion Kes- 
inger made a plat in this town. There is 
not much regularity in the lots in the 
village. Some, on principal streets, were 
sold by metes and bounds. 

In Beers' History it is stated that the 
early settler remembers a large pond that 
extended out and along where the town 
hall is now located, and that it was a fine 
place for duck shooting and that the fol- 
lowing persons were early residents of 
the village: David Vance, John Briggs, 
Nathan IjOw, James Pringle, Sr., Isaac 



346 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Davisson, Jesse Ellsworth, Jeremiah 
Bodkin, Samuel Thomas, Seth Saint John, 
John McCollum and Christopher Light- 
foot. 

Early Events. 

Conrad Critz built the first cabin in the 
village. The first roadway was laid out in 
1815. John Kelsey was the first justice 
of the peace. A man by the name of 
Surlot kept the first store in the village, 
and a person by the name of Best was the 
proprietor of the first tavern. 

Ephriam Vance was the second keeper 
of a public house. Robert Halsted was 
the first resident doctor, and Eli Adams 
the first shoemaker. The first preacher 
in the vicinity was a man by the name of 
Trader, who preached in 1818 in the cab- 
in of Jeremiah Sutton. Daniel Cutler, 
alDOut 18,30, built a saw-mill run by oxen. 
Tlie first burial in the Charleston Ceme- 
tery was that of Mary Lott, in 1825. The 
first election for township officers was 
held September 19, 1818, at the house of 
George Searlott. Moses Pierce is said to 
have been the first school teacher. James 
Woolsey is said to have built the first 
two-story frame building, and Phillip 
Hedrick the first brick building, and it is 
likewise said that E. Rowan and GTeorge 
Hempleman were engaged in the distill- 
ing business at an early date, but the loca- 
tion of the distillery is not known; prob- 
ably it was a miniature aiTair. 

The wi'iter is not aware as to when the 
post office was established in this place, 
but the followTDg persons have served 
as postmasters: Absalom Mattox, K. 
Brown, Asbury Houston, John Buzzard, 
1857; Milt Houston, 1861; R. B. McCol- 
lum, 1869; Levi Burnsides, 1885; T. J. 



Hicks, 1889 ; George Wilkison, 1893 ; E. P. 
Plynn, 1897. 

The nature of the land surrounding this 
village is such that it has always been 
l^rominent in stock-raising, and one of the 
first agricultural fairs of Ohio outside of 
Hamilton County was organized here in 
1837. 

PoPXJLATIOJSr. 

While South Charleston is splendidly 
located, its growth, like that of many 
other villages, has not been very rapid. 
In 1850 its population was 413; 1860, 516; 
1870, 818; 1880, 933; 1890, 1,041; 1900, 
1,096. While it may not have increased in 
population rapidly, yet for its size it is 
one of the wealthiest villages in the 
state of Ohio, having palatial residences 
which would do credit to a city of much 
larger size. And while it has had no par- 
ticular manufacturing industry (although 
historians state that as early as 1825 
Clement Stickley conducted a tannery in 
its western suburb), it has always been 
a good distributing center, by reason 
largely of the elevator and general busi- 
ness conducted by the Houston Brothers, 
which is one of the leading establishments. 
Of recent years the building of the rail- 
roads and traction lines have added much 
to its desirability as a place of residence. 
The traction line was built from here to 
Springfield in 1904, and is now known as 
the D. T. & I, Railroad. It was built from 
Spring-field south through Washington C. 
H. in 1878. 

B.-VNKS. 

The wealth of this place is well indi- 
cated by its two thriving banks. While 
one of these banks is called the Citizens' 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



347 



and the other the Bank of South Charles- 
ton, yet they are more generally known 
by the names of the "Houston" and 
"Rankin" banks, taking these names 
from persons who are the principal stock- 
holders. The Bank of South Charleston, 
as it is now called, is the successor of the 
First National Bank of South Charleston, 
which was organized in 1863, with L. W. 
Haughey as president and Milton Clark, 
cashier. In 1877 it ceased to be a national 
bank and took its present name, John 
Eankin becoming president and Mr. Clark 
continuing as cashier. Mr. Rankin con- 
tinued to be president until his death, 
which occurred a few years ago, and the 
bank is now managed by his two sons, 
Stacy B. Rankin as president and James 
F. Rankin as cashier, S. C. Arbuckle and 
T. S. Orbison being tellers. The bank has 
always been recognized as a thoroughly 
safe and well managed institution. 

In 1879 L. H. Houston, with others, or- 
ganized the Citizens' Bank, and has con- 
tinued to act as its president until the 
present time, Mr. Houston being recog- 
nized as one of the best business men of 
Clark County. Edwin D. Houston is now 
vice president and W. A. Malsbary cash- 
ier. The following persons, in addition to 
the Houstons, appear in the directory: 
Alex Comrie, J. S. Kitchen, Ann K. Clark, 
Peter Comrie and James Vince. 

In 1891 the Mutual Home and Savings 
Association was organized and continued 
in operation until the spring of 1904, at 
which time, owing to irregularities in 
management and the defalcation of an of- 
ficer, the business of the concern was dis- 
continued and the depositors received but 
sixty-six cents on the dollar of their sav- 
ings. 



Newspapers, Etc. 



Since 1840 South Charleston has prided 
itself as having a local newspaper, that 
being the time that what is now known as 
the South Charleston Sentinel was organ- 
ized. Various persons in the past have 
edited this paper. E. P. Flynn held that 
position prior to the time he became post- 
master. Ralph Harrold is now editor and 
proprietor. In the '50s the paper was 
published by a man named Whorton, as- 
sisted by "Artemus Ward." The paper 
ceased publication during the war. When 
the war closed it was resumed under the 
name of the Charleston Banner, edited by 
A. N. Barlow. His successors were M. H. 
Young, E. B. Zartman, Wells Trader, 
Harvey Rice, Hamilton Smith, Toney 
Bratton, Westley Rowe (when the paper 
took its present name), E. P. Flynn and 
Ralph Harrold. 

In 1897 W. R. Montgomery, a practical 
printer, now deceased, established the 
South Charleston Echo, which became 
quite a rival to the Sentinel for public 
patronage. Mr. Montgomery died in 
1906, and the paper is no longer issued. 

South Charleston prides itself in a 
number of churches. (See history of 
Madison Township.) And during the 
present year there is being built a new 
sclioolhouse, which will be a credit to the 
village. It has a very fine town hall, 
which was erected in 1877 at a cost of 
$25,000. Artemus Ward, when a journey- 
man printer, worked on the South 
Charleston paper, and Whitelaw Reid, 
afterwards distinguished as a journalist 
and now minister to St. James, was at 
one time superintendent of the schools 
and resided here. 



348 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Hotels. 

The village has two hotels. The Miami 
House dates its history from near the 
time that the village was originally laid 
out, that locality furnishing a stopping 
place for travelers before the building of 
railroads. Thurman Johnson is the pres- 
ent landlord, Mr. Furgeson and S. H. 
Carr having preceded him. 

In 1871 several of the enterprising- 
people of the village organized what is 
now known as the Ackley House, which 
is the principal hotel of the village at this 
time, and is one very creditable to a vil- 
lage the size of South Charleston. For 
more than thirty years B. F. Dodds wel- 
comed the guests to his hostelry; before 
him was Mr. See ; Mrs. Emeline Clark is 
now the manager. Wliere Heilman's Inn 
is now located, near the railroad, was for- 
merly a tavern called Gallagher's Place. 

Mercantile. 

As far back as 1861 the Houston broth- 
ers founded a business in grain, groceries, 
wool and produce. It was continued in 
their name until 1904, in which year it 
became a corporation; Leon H. Houston 
is the principal manager and is ably as- 
sisted by his brothers, Edwin and Foster. 

A. Clemans bought out the old McCul- 
lom grocery store in 1896 and in 1905 
F. E. Murray established his store and in 
1906 Barmann & Hamm established their 
store and they have recently bought what 
is known as the Milikin Block, where 
they will conduct their business on and 
after January 1st. 

Barmann & Scheetz have been in the 
meat business since 1895 and "W. E. 



Cook since 1906. J. E. Wheeler formerly 
conducted the bakery now owned by G. H. 
Flowers, and C. H. Wentz a saddler and 
harness shop. For twenty-five or thirty 
years W. H. Brown conducted a dry goods 
store opposite to the Ackley House. H. E. 
Gross carries on a dry goods store, as 
does Pierce Simmerman. Besides these 
there is one novelty store, one bowling 
alley, one jewelry store, two pool rooms, 
two plumbing shops, five saloons and 
three restaurants. 

Professional Men. 

Thirty years ago Hamilton Smith was 
an attorn ey-at-1 aw in this place. After- 
wards he became the owner of the news- 
paper, and having disposed of that enter- 
prise, he went away and has since died. 
I'oUowing him was Lawrence Heiskel, 
whose father, Daniel 0. Heiskel, was an 
old i-esident of this township and lived a 
short distance south of the village. Mr. 
Heiskel afterwards moved to Port Wil- 
liam, where, I believe, he still resides. 

Some ten or twelve years ago Charles 
E. Ballard opened a law office in this vil- 
lage and was a resident here for a time. 
He afterwards established his main office 
in Springfield, still retaining the office in 
this village and coming here every Tues- 
day. John L. Dickey for some time had a 
law office in this village, but afterwards 
removed to Springfield. James B. Ma- 
lone, a native of this place, was recently, 
admitted to the bar and has opened an 
office in Springfield. To him the writer 
is indebted for many of the facts concern- 
ing the village history. 

E. T. Collins was a resident physician 
of this village for more than a half- 




Il' WICKIIAM PIANO PLATE CO., SPRINGFIELD 




THE THOMAS MANUFACTURING CO., SPRINGFIELD 





HIGH SCHOOL, PLATTSBURG 



■THE PEOPLES' HOUSE," PLATTSBURG 



AND EEPEE3ENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



351 



century. He was born in Moorefield 
Township in 1818, and commenced prac- 
ticing in this village in 1845, and was per- 
haps the best known physician that South 
Charleston ever had. He amassed con- 
siderable wealth and died some years ago. 
Dr. M. H. Collins is his son. Dr. W. H. 
Barnwell commenced the practice of med- 
icine in this village in 1871 and remained 
here for a considerable period. Dr. T. J. 
Farr came here in 1872 and Dr. William 
H. Graham in 1900. They are still in 
active practice. Dr. J. J. Moores is also 
a practitioner in this village. Dr. H. E. 
Conklin plies the vocation of a dentist. 
Dr. J. M. Immel being a veterinary sur- 
geon. 

Other Persons Eecently Prominent. 

E. B. McCollum was a native of this 
township and for a long time conducted a 
grocery store here. For some time he 
was postmaster of the village. With him 
in the grocery business was his brother 
Seth. 

A person well known in this vicinity 
twenty-five or thirty years ago was J. M. 
Jones. He married the daughter of 
James Pringle, and his daughter Ethel 
became the wife of Ed. Houston. Mr. 
Jones was an ardent Sunday school man, 
making addresses at many Sunday school 
celebrations or conventions; so much so 
that he received the nickname of "Sun- 
day School Jones." After his wife died, 
about 1893, he and his son Pringle went 
west and engaged in other enterprises. 
He has been dead some three or four 
years. 

For a long time E. C. Jones conducted 
a drug store in our village. At one time 



he was in partnership with A. N. Barlow 
in editing what was then known as the 
"South Charleston Banner." Laban W. 
Haughey came to this village in 1849 and 
continued an active business until his 
death a few years ago. He amassed 
quite a fortune. He was known as a 
quiet, courteous gentleman, of very good 
business qualifications, and was the first 
president of the Bank of South Charles- 
ton. 

Milton Clark came to this village in 
1849 and first went into the drug business, 
then the grain and grocery trade. After- 
wards he was railroad express agent and 
then cashier of the South Charleston 
Bank. He was another of the substantial 
citizens of the town. He is now deceased. 

A well known character of this town for 
many years was Michael Way. He 
seemed to have a knack of obtaining pub- 
lic positions, at different times being 
mayor, justice of the peace and assessor. 
He was a shoemaker by trade. He came 
to the village before the war and has been 
dead some fifteen years. His son John, 
who likewise held a number of public 
positions, died a few years ago. 

Alonzo F. Taft was one of the old-time 
merchants of this village. Mr. Taft was 
mayor of the village within recent years 
and is still living and in good health. 

James Pringle, while not living within 
the village limits, was a well known per- 
son in and about this place, having been 
born in its proximity. He made a busi- 
ness of dealing in Clydesdale and Perch- 
eron horses and met his death some ten 
or twelve years ago in a railroad accident 
on the edge of the village. 

Among other persons who have been 
actively engaged in village affairs may be 



352 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



mentioned Isaac Landacre, who for 
long time was engaged in the brick busi- 
ness, likewise now deceased. Henry E. 
Rateman and Seymore Harrold are re- 
tired farmers. 

John W. Warrington, now a distin- 
guished attorney of Cincinnati, was born 
near this village. His brother, William 
Warrington, is now justice of tlie peace. 
Another brother, Charles Warrington, 
formerly a well-known attorney of the 
Queen City, has, on account of ill-health, 
resided in South Charleston. 

Political. 

The best information at hand indicates 
that tlie village of South Charleston was 
chartered before the organization of 
Clark County, to-wit, in January, 1816. 
The writer has no information as to the 
various persons who liave served as pres- 
ident of council or as mayors of tlie vil- 
lage, other than it is known that some 
twenty-five or thirty years ago Michael 
Way was mayor and after him came Wil- 
liam Barrett, Almon Bradford, S. E. Hud- 
son, William Cheney, Lou Diffendal, to 
the present mayor, J. B. Allen, W. L. 
Wentz being now clerk. 

At the recent (1907) election Jason 
Mercer was elected mayor and W. L. 
Wentz, clerk; T. S. Orbison, treasurer: 
Charles Dut¥ey, marshal, and Ed. Hous- 
ton, Aquilla Carr, Peter Hill, L. C. Lewis, 
L. H. Holdren and George Slaughter, 
members of council. The salary of these 
officials is not large, being fixed by a re- 
cent ordinance as follows: Mayor, $150 
per year; marshal, $100; clerk, $150, and 
treasurer, $75. 



MlSGELL-ANEOUS. 

The South Charleston Cemetery was 
purchased by the town council in 1855. 
It is situated a short distance north of the 
village, in a very pleasant location. The 
Catholics also possess a cemetery about a 
mile east of town. 

South Charleston has its fair share of 
secret societies. Clark Lodge No. 166, I. 

0. 0. F., was chartered July 18, 1850. 
The charter members were John A. Skin- 
ner, Pressly Jones, Isaac P. Paist, Daniel 
Smith, William Paist, Jr., Michael 
Lidigh and William L. Warner. 

South Charleston Encampment No. 200, 

1. 0. 0. F., was organized May 31, 1876. 
The charter members were Eobert S. Ful- 
ton, Greorge E. Armstrong, William Wat- 
son, S. B. Hoadly, Edward Eott, Dar- 
win Pierce, Abihu Eaines and George W. 
Jones. 

Fielding I-odge No. 192, A. F. & A. M., 
South Charleston, was chartered October 
13, 1850. The original petitioners were 
John A. Skinner, E. W. Steele, Alex 
Eowand, G. W. Jones, William Paist, 
Jr., Daniel Bruner, David Morgan and 
James R. Bailey. 

Recently charters of the following or- 
ganizations have been established : Catli- 
olic Order of Foresters, Daughters of 
America, Junior Order of American Me- 
chanics and Sons of America. A lodge of 
the A. P. A.'s had but a short life here 
some years ago. 

Teemont City. 

Tremont City is located on the Mad 
Eiver Valley Turnpike, seven miles north 
of Springfield, about two and a half 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



353 



miles west of the Urbana Pike. It is in 
the northeastern part of German Town- 
shop. There was a settlement here early 
in the Nineteenth Century. It was orig- 
inally called ClarJvsburg- and as such was 
platted, aecording to references in old 
deeds, by John Ross. This plat had a tier 
• of lots on each side of Main Street, west, 
beyond the mill. The northeast corner 
of Main and Mulberry Streets, was lot 
one. The hotel comer was lot sixteen. 
This plat seemed not to have been rec- 
ognized, or at least was changed by 
subsequent persons. At what date it 
was made is not definite. It was re- 
corded in 1S38. It is known that as 
early as 1836, where the Seitz Mill is now 
located, that there was a small carding- 
raill, and in that year John Ross erected 
a small distillery there. Afterwards Mr. 
Lance erected another distillery a short 
distance .east of the village, where the 
residence of Michael Sullivan is now lo- 
cated. In 1843 Samuel Bechtle and 
others made a plat, somewhat re-arrang- 
ing the original plat of lots. This plat in- 
cluded the ground running west of Main 
Street to Seitz 's Mill and north to the 
Methodist Church and east to the second 
lot beyond the hotel. 

In 1845 Benjamin Turman laid out a 
plat. This extended north from the 
Methodist Church along both sides of 
Mulberry Street, and in 1847 Gabriel Al- 
bin laid out an addition to the lots from 
1-6. This was the land immediately east 
of the Reformed Church. 

In 1870 Daniel B. Morris purchased a 
tract of land belonging to Christian Neff, 
east of the village, and laid out an addi- 
tion of lots, 66-138. And in 1877 John H. 
Blose made an addition on the north of 



the Morris addition in lots number 139- 
196. In 1836 the Rosses, John and Wil- 
liam, kept a dry goods store where the 
Knights of Pythias Hall is now being 
erected. In 1837 John Hupp erected a 
hotel, which was demolished by Gus 
Yfeigel to erect his residence. The post 
office was established in 1839 and the 
name of the town was then changed from 
Clarksburg to Tremout. 

The name of this place was originally 
Treemount and signified that the burg 
was located at the foot of a large hill 
upon which there were a number of large 
trees at an early date. 

The towns of Fremont and Tremont 
were so alike in their spelling, especially 
the first letters of each— T and F— when 
made in writing, that very much mail 
which was sent to Tremont went to the 
larger place, Fre'mont, and to avoid this, 
about the year 1879, the word "city" was 
added to Tremont and thus we have its 
present name of Tremont City. The in- 
dustries of the place have not been very 
many. While possibly as far back as 
1802 there was some kind of a mill erect- 
ed somewhere near where Seitz 's Mill 
now is. Up to the present time the run- 
ning of mills has been the principal in- 
dustry. In the '80s there was a chair 
factory established and later a steam 
saw-mill in the north part of the town, 
and afterwards a table factory. These 
have all vanished, the chair factory hav- 
ing been moved to Urbana and the table 
factory to Richmond, Indiana. For a 
long time the village's progress was re- 
tarded because suitable ground could not 
be obtained for its enlargement and also 
because it had no railroad facilities. 
In 1893 the D. T. & I. Railroad was 



354 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



built, and shortly thereafter Mr. Emerson 
E. Gard erected the elevator at that place, 
which is now conducted by Omer Snyder. 
When the post office was first established 
in 1839, Dr. McLaughlin was postmaster. 
During the war period Daniel B. Morris 
served in that position. Afterwards 
came J. E. Fennimore, John McKinley, 
Walter McKinley, Ras. Nichols and E. B. 
Hinton, the present postmaster. . There 
is one rural delivery, J. R. Elvin being 
the carrier. 

For a long time Dr. McLaughlin and 
Dr. Senseman attended the sick of the 
community. Both were rather noted in 
their profession. Dr. McLaughlin, a 
physician of the old school, was consid- 
ered the best fever doctor in the county. 
Dr. Senseman being more of a specialist 
in pulmonary diseases. Later came Dr. 
A. H. Nesbit and a brilliant yoimg doctor 
by the name of Hughes, who was here for 
a few years. The present physicians are 
Dr. Hirons and Dr. Neece. 

The first brick schoolhouse that was 
built in the town was built in 1835. This 
was near where the residence of Joe Rit- 
ter is now. This schoolhouse was torn 
down in 1865 and a two-story building 
erected, which was used until the present 
school building was erected, 1885. 

The old Methodist Church was built in 
1838 and the present one erected at the 
same place in 1880. The German Re- 
formed Church "on the hill" was organ- 
ized in 1863, the Rev. Jesse Richards, who 
is still living, being instrumental in its 
organization. For some time past a de- 
nomination known as "Saints" have oc- 
cupied the hall in the northern part of the 
village, but recently it has become dis- 
organized. 



Liberty Hall was erected by a stock 
company some time in the later seventies. 
It is a very substantial structure. When 
first erected it had a nice stage, with 
suitable paraphernalia, but it seems that 
the town was hardly large enough to sup 
port an entertainment hall. Before the 
war a hall was erected close to where Gus 
Weigel now resides known as an Armory 
Hall. This served as a place of entertain- 
ment quite a number of years; later it 
was particularly used by the Grange. At 
this writing the Knights of Pythias have 
about completed a commodious hall on 
the southwest corner of Main and Mul- 
berry Streets, upon what was the site for 
many years of Carter's store. 

The hotel on the southeast corner is at 
present unoccupied. It first became a 
hotel site in the early '30s, Peter Ferree 
being the landlord in 1846. He was suc- 
ceeded in 1859 by George Heller, and he 
by Jeremiah Ilges in 1867. Later there 
came Emanuel Masonhammer and Jacob 
Sanders; afterwards came David Carter, 
Jr. and Sr., J. E. Fennimore, Josiah 
Faber and Mrs. Adelia Genell. In .the 
forties John Balentine erected this hotel 
and conducted it for some time. 

David Carter, who ran a grocery store 
where the Knights of Pythias Hall is now 
located, was for many years a merchant 
of this place, having at one time a store 
north of the office of Dr. Senseman; 
Daniel B. Morris for a number of years 
conducted a store a little north and op- 
posite to the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
The oldest merchant in the town and one 
who continued longest in the business was 
the late Daniel H. Thomas, who com- 
menced keeping store here as early as 
1861 and continued until his death in 1907. 



AND RBPEESENTATIVE CITIZENb 



355 



Mr. Thomas was a man of some ability, 
but mingled very little with the world, it 
being a rare thing to see him outside of 
his store building, but by the application 
of good business principles he acquired a 
considerable fortune. 

Later Captain Lafayette Bechtle had a 
grocery store on the northeast corner of 
the square and was followed some time 
afterward by Mr. Jasper E. Ward and C. 
T. Rohrer, and he by the present oc- 
cupant, Erasmus Nichols. 

J. E. Fennimore conducted a drug 
store for a number of years, and at the 
same place Adelia Genell had a grocery 
from 1898-1906, Josiah Faber having like- 
wise carried on a grocery store at the 
same place. For a number of years Wal- 
ter McKinley has been conducting a store 
upon North Mulberry Street. 

Grus Weigel & Son conduct a general 
butchering business, and J. H. Breneman 
is conducting a poultry business ; he also 
deals to some extent in live stock. 

Among the older settlers now may be 
mentioned Eli Gard, 75; David Enoch, 
past 82, and Sarah Morris, 87; Henry 
Dean, 82; William E. Woodward, Henry 
Rockel, Daniel B. Morris and John H. 
Blose. 

Not only the Knights of Pythias, but 
the Redmen and the Maccabees and the 
G. A. R. have thriving societies. The 
Grange was organized here as early as 
1876, Hugh Staley being secretary at this 
time. 

The village was never incorporated and 
has a population, however, of about 350. 
In 1902 a special school district was 
formed of what was formerly a special 
district, including the village and sur- 
rounding country. This school is graded, 



having high school, with a total enumera- 
tion of 122 pupils. 

Vienna. 

Vienna is situated on the National Road 
ten and one-half miles from Springtield. 
It was platted by John H. Dynes in 1833. 
At the time that this plat was made the 
National Road had been surveyed, but not 
yet made. In 1904 another plat was add- 
ed by Charles Arbogast of lots 57-64, and 
in the same year John Goodfellow platted 
an addition. The first house built in this 
place was erected by a person by the name 
of Taylor and was situated in the west 
part of the village; like many of the build- 
ings of that day, it was of the log cabin 
character. Caleb Barrett was the first 
merchant, who began business here in 
1834 and continued for about twenty-three 
years. At an early date Emanuel Mayne 
erected a hotel building on the southeast 
corner. This property was sold m 1836 
to Daniel Brown. 

In 1839 Mayne built a building on the 
northwest comer and managed it for 
some time as a hotel and in after years 
David Davis and Andrew Ryan, William 
Johnson and others kept public entertain- 
ment at this place. In 1837 D. W. Hinkle 
built a tannery in the northeastern part 
of the village, which he continued until 
1852. About 1848 William Golden and 
Garner Melntire biiilt a brick shop on the 
north side of East Main Street for a 
tavern. These various businesses have 
been abandoned. In 1850 the Odd Fel- 
lows erected their building on West Main 
Street. This was remodeled in 1870. The 
brick storehouse on the opposite side of 
the street, built in 1849 by W. S. Funston, 



356 



HISTORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



was demolished by an explosion of powder 
in 1871. About 1898 Charles Snyder 
bnilt the large storeroom on the north- 
west corner. The Knights of Pythias 
building- south ■ of the traction line was 
built about fifteen years ago and was very 
substantially remodeled in 1907. 

William Harris, now deceased, was 
storekeeper in this place for many years, 
and likewise tilled the place of justice of 
the peace and postmaster. 

For the past ten years John McCoy has 
conducted a grocerj^ in this village, this 
grocery having its location in the Snyder 
building. The Enterprise Manufacturing 
Comioany, composed of John McCoy, John 
Goodfellow and Dr. E. H. Smith, com- 
menced business in the year 1900. The 
industry is principally that of manufac- 
turing blankets and is now in a prosper- 
ous condition. It gives employment to 
from ten to twenty persons. 

McCoy & Goodfellow conduct a general 
implement store. For many years James 
S. Rice has conducted a saw-mill located 
in the eastern part of the town. 

The Spring-field & Columbus Traction 
Company goes through this village, leav- 
ing the National Road a short distance 
west of the town, and going south, and 
afterwards coming back on the road. 
This village enjoyed prosperity in stage- 
coach days. After the railroads were 
built a good deal of the former business 
was transferred to Plattsburg. Since the 
building of the traction line, however, the 
village has assumed a renewed appear- 
ance, and considerable improvement has 
manifested itself in the last few years. 

Many of the Catawba people drive their 
horses to this village and take the trac- 
tion ears from here to Spring-field. The 



first post office was established in 1838. 
13y reason of there being some other post 
office by the name of Vienna the office at 
this place was called Vienna Cross Roads. 
The first postmaster was Caleb Barrett. 
In stage-coach days, existing for almost 
twenty, years after the establishment of 
the post office, the mail was carried daily 
on the National Road by four-horse stage 
coaches, and after the railroad was built 
it was for a time supplied from West Jef- 
ferson in a one-horse coach. Latterly the 
people got their mail from Plattsburg. 

The Odd Fellows Lodge was instituted 
in 1859. The Christian Church was built 
in the same year at a cost of $1,200. The 
Liethodist Episcopal Church was first es- 
tablished here in 1835. In 1836 George 
Jones built a large two-story brick build- 
ing two miles west of Vienna on the north 
side. In 1848 this property was pur- 
chased by Phillip Weaber and fitted up 
as a hotel and was conducted in that ca- 
pacity until the stage coaches were aban- 
doned. This is now used as a private res- 
idence. 

The first schoolhouse at Vienna was 
built in 1835. It was succeeded by a brick 
building in 1845. In 1866 the present 
brick house was built. 

Formerly the coopering business was 
quite an industry of this place. Samuel 
Sullivan came here in 1837, and with his 
son-in-law, Zaehariah Jones, carried on 
the business as late as 1880. Mr. Sulli- 
van died in 1898 at the ripe old age of 
ninety-eight years. 

Clark & West, merchants, in the Snyder 
l)uilding, had a severe fire on the night of 
October 23, 1907. 

Dr. D. H. Thomas is present mayor. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



357 



Villa. 

Villa is located in the southern part of 
Moorefield Township, on the Clark and 
Union Turnpike, two miles north of La- 
gonda. It has never been platted, and the 
name was given to a cluster of houses 
built on small portions of land surround- 
ing the pike crossing at that place. It 
afterwards reached the dignity of a post 
office, and Joel Little was the first post- 
master. There is at present a small 
store there and a blacksmith shop. Since 
the free delivery the postoffice has been 
abolished. 

Windsor. 

There is no way at present of determin- 
ing the former location of Windsor, ex- 
cept from the plat of lots that was made 
by Simeon Bardwell in 1816. This plat 
contained 105 lots and was located in the 
northwest quarter of Section 24, Town 6 
and Range 9. This would locate Windsor 
between schoolhouse No. 5, in the north- 
western part of Harmony Township along 
the Columbus Road and the western line 
of Section 24, and not far from where the 



road turns north through Pleasant Town- 
ship, on the lands of C. A. Neer. The 
only record we have of anj' business ever 
being conducted in this place is that prior 
to 1825 Caleb Barrett conducted a store 
here, which was abandoned by him after 
the completion of the National Road, 
when he removed to Vienna. Windsor 
was located about seven and one-half 
miles east of Springfield on the old Colum- 
bus Road. At one time there was a 
blacksmith shop there. Windsor was 
known by name by all early travelers, and 
was a landmark of travel in those days. 

Mr. John Jones built a house here at 
an early date, and put a paved walk in 
front of it, which was then quite a dis- 
tinguishing feature. An Englishman 
came along, and, with a little more pom- 
posity than Jones thought proper, in- 
quired where Windsor was. Jones told 
him to look around and he would find it. 
The Englishman then inquired where the 
mayor was. Jones replied, "I can't tell 
you where the mare is, but I am the 
horse." The old house is still standing, 
having been moved across the road, and 
is used for a sheep stable. 



CHAPTER XVII. 



CITY OF SPRINGFIELD. 

Distances from Springfield to Other Cities — Springfield in 1007 — Location, etc. — 
Naming and Flatting of the City — Plats and Additions to City — Early Settle- 
ments — Selection as County Seat — Early Events — Council with the Indians — 
Early Customs — "Sleepy Holloiv" and Old Virginia — Eaely Settlers: 
James Demint, Griffith Foos, Robert Rennick, John Daugherty, John Ambler, 
Cooper Ludloiv, Walter SmaUicood, Pierson Spinning, Rev. Paul Henkle, Ira 
Paige, Maddox Fisher — Condition in 1828 — Condition in 1832 — Village Days, 
1834-1850 — Condition in 1850 — City Government --'P.ost^b. op Officials: 
President of Council — Mayors of City — Solicitors — Treasurers, City Clerks 
— Police Department— Chiefs of Police — Police Judges — Police Prosecutors 
— Police Clerks — Board of Public Safety — Roster of 1907 — Fire Depart- 
ment : Volunteer — Paid Fire Department — Roster of Present Department — 
Public Buildings: Market House — City Hall — City Jail and Station House — 
Public Library — Hospital — Postcffice — Postmasters — Snyder Park — Foun- 
tains, etc. — Hotels: Foos Tavern — Loivry Hotel — Ludlow Hotel — Ross 
Tavern — Hunt's Hotel — MacElroy Hotel — Norton Hotel — Werden Hotel — 
Buckeye House — Hagenbach Hotel-r-Murray — Cherry House — Williss House 
— National Hotel — American and Western Houses — Lagonda — Bookivalter 
Hotel — Arcade Hotel — Palace Hotel — Palmer House — Opera Houses: Black's 
Opera House — Grand Opera House — Fairbanks' Theatre — The New Sun — 
Office and Store Buildings: Kizer — Old King — Union Hall — Commercial — 
Bookivalter — Buckingham — Mitchell — Arcade — Johnson — Zimmerman 
— Gotwald — King — Bushnell — Wren's Department Store — Fairbanks — 
Dial — Financial Institutions : Mar? River National Bank — First National 
Bank — Citizens' National Bank — Lagonda National Bank — Springfield Na- 
tional Bank — Springfield Savings Bank — Springfield Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation — Mercliants and Mechanics' Building and Loan Association — Other 
Associations — American Trust and Savings Company — Manufacturing In- 
dustries: Defunct Industries — Paper Mill — Oil Mill — Woolen Mills — Car 
Shops —Threshing Machines — Seiving Machines — Whitely, Fasslqr S Kelley 



AND EEPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 359 

— Champion Machine Co. — The A. C. Evans Co. — Champion City Manufac- 
turing Co. --Tricycle Factory — Present Industries — International Harvester 
Co. — P. P. Mast Co. — American Seeding Co. — Thomas Manufacturing Co. — 
Springfield Metallic Casket Co. — Crowell Publishing Co. — Good & Reese Co. 
— James Leffel £ Co. — Wickham Piano Plate Co.-Bettendorf Metal Wheel 
Company — Rohbins S Myers Co. — Foos Manufacturing Co. — Springfield Ma- 
chine Tool Co. — The 0. 8. Kelly Co. — Springfield Malleable Co.— Mast, Foos 
S Co. — Indianapolis Switch d Frog Co. — Miller Improved Gas Engine Co. — 
Patric Furnace Co. — Trump Manufacturing Co. — Springfield Gas Engine 
Co. — The E. W. Ross Co. — Foos Gas Engine Co. — Heating and Lighting 
Plants: Gas — Electric Light — Home Liahtinq. Pon-er d Heating Co. — The 
People's Light, Heat S Poxver Co-. — AnstedSBurk — Barnett Flouring Mills 
— Stone and Lime Industries — Springfield Breiveries — Stjmmaky of Indus- 
triajj Matters: Machinery, Material d Supplies — Gas S Steam Engine 
Group — Iron d Steel Products — Mamifacturing Publishers — Manufacturing 
Florists — Medicine, Chemical and Coffin Ccrinpanies — General Factories — 
Miscellaneous Factories — Mekcantile Affairs : Retailers — Groceries — Bry 
Goods — Clothing — Bruggists — Jewelers — Shoes — Meats, etc. — 
Livery Men — Hatters^ — Hardware Stores, etc. — Books and Book Binderies — 
Cemeteries: Columbia Street Cemetery — Greenmount Cemetery — Ferncliff 
Cemetery — Catholic Cemeteries — Lagonda Avenue Cemetery — St. Bernard's 
Cemetery — Calvary Cemetery. T-h.^ Press: First Paper, The Farmer — The 
Republic — Press Republic — The News — Mad River Democrat — Transcript — ■ 
Democrat — Gazette — Morning Sun — Farm d Fireside — Farm News — Poul- 
try Success^Springfield Journal Adder — Miscellaneous — Editors, etc.^-^o- 
ciETiEs: Commercial Club — Lagonda Club — Country Club — Literary Clubs — 
Men's Literary Club — Young Men's Literary CVuh — Miscellaneous Clubs — 
Women's Club — Authors — Masons — Odd Fellows — Knights of Pythias — 
Miscellaneous— Trades and Labon Organizations. 

Distances From Springfield to Other Jackson 108 

Kansas City 097 

Cities. London ^^0 

Mammoth Cave -l.i 

Miles Mechanicsburg 18 

Bellefontaine 82 New Orleans 1,000 

Boston (Mass) 822 New York 712 

Buffalo 348 Niagara Falls 370 

Burlington 341 Omaha 723 

Chattanooga 415 Philadelphia 592 

Chicago 2S1 Pittsburg 238 

Cincinnati 80 Salt Lake City 1.^43 

Cleveland 1(>5 Sandusky ^135 

Columbus 45 San Francisco 2.<;37 

Cresline 88 Savannah 1,220 

Davton 24 St. Louis 421 

Delaware .50 Toledo 139 

Detroit 204 Troy 24 

Franklin 41 Urbana 14 

Galveston 1.444 Washington C. H 35 

Horse Shoe Bend 3r^3 Washington, D. C 532 

Indianapolis 130 Xenia 20 



360 



HISTOEV OF CLARK COUNTY 



Speingfield in 1907. the searching ej^es of the pioneer had ever 

r'opuiation 45.000 sazed npon. 

Assessed Valuation $l'3.0l 10.000 -,-,», \-,- t^ • -,,-^r^ , ■, 

Area in Acres 5,760 VV hen bimon Kenton m 1/ /9 was taken 

Efe^ation'^ Above 'iMde'waterV in ■i>et^^'.■.^'.■.^^■i^ooo a captive through the vai'ious Indian vil- 

fmpTo\%d^ Streets; ■MiierV////;/;;////////;//.".^ 73 iag'es he traversed from Old Chillicothe, 

¥^\'eTtrlL.^unll' .*.^!".'..:::::".:::::::::::::il no^'th of xenia, np through the old in- 

wTtlf jiafns.^Miie^'': *^"'' ' ! ! ' ' ! ! ! ] ! ] ! ! '. ! ! ! ." ! ! ii ^' ^^" village of Piqua north along the Ur- 

Sewers. Miles Constructed 12 bana Pike, theiice through Urbaua to the 

Sewers. Jliles T.nder Construction 120 _ . . 

Street Raiiwa.v, Miles 30 Indian villages of Wapakoneta up to 

Traction Line Terminals 6 ,,-. . • i \ ^ , ■ t 

vSteam Railways, Systems , 4 Wapatomica, he was no doubt impressed 

Manufacturing Industries 325 •J_^ i_t i i t j ^ j} 

Capital Invested $15,000,000 With the beautv and natural resources or 

Number of Waee Earners. Men 8.000 j.i,' n i -j. i i i i.i i 

Number of Wage Earners, W'oraen .500 thlS ValleV, and it Was probably through 

Value ^of i-JoduYtr.': .-'".°.".'.'!^: .•.■.:;:;: : :$?i;ooo;ooo l^is instrumentality that the live families, 

including his brother-in-law, Jarbo, and 
More than one half the product is rep- Demint, came from Kentucky in 1799 and 
resented under the classification* of agri- first located west of the city near Buck 
cultural implements, but one city in the Creek, building some twelve or fourteen 
United States, Chicago, exceeding Spring- block houses. Kenton later on went fur- 
field in this industry. ther up the old Indian trail along which 

he had been led while a captive, and built 

liOC-iTioN, Etc. . his cabin not far from the present Hunt 

residence. Demint likewise went further, 
No doubt to many a citizen of Spring- stopping north of Buck Creek near the 
field, viewing it now as a city of 45,000 or location of the present school building, 
more, • the query has presented itself, and close to a beautiful spring of clear 
"'Why was a town located upon this ciystal water, there building for himself 
site?" For, as viewed today, the natural the first house that stood in the city of 
advantages are not many, otherwise than Springfield. Inhabitants of Spring-field 
as it is located in a fertile country and today can hardly realize the wild, pic- 
inhabited by an active, intelligent class of turesque appearance of site of the city 
people. No great river bears its com- of Springfield as nature made it. 
merce on its bosom to and from wharves ; Along the north bank of Buck Creek, 
no great mines of coal or iron are found or as the Indians were prone to call it, 
in its locality; but to the pioneer of one "Lagonda," was a ledge of over-hanging 
hundred or more j^ears ago in this local- rocks of limestone formation. On the 
ity these things did not present them- south was a piece of apparently level 
selves as necessities. Springfield owed its tableland. Along where High Street now 
location, no doubt, to the site appearing is located it appeared quite rough and 
to man at that time as a desirable one for hilly. 

a village, if not for a city. It was on a Mill Eun, now arched over and hidden 

never-failing crystal water stream run- in its greater portion through the city, 

uing through one of the finest valleys that was then a placid spring water stream 



AND REPRESENTATrVE CITIZENe 



361 



with boggy, miry prairie land, for several 
rods beyond each side of its banks. 

Buck Creek was easily forded at the 
present Ijimestone Street Crossing, but 
in the condition of nature the surround- 
ings were such that persons might easily 
be upon one side of the stream and not 
discover a house or dwelling on the other, 
and thus it appears that when G-riffith 
Foos and his party first came through 
what is now the city of Springfield, they 
stopped at a spring located not far from 
the present intersection of Main and 
Spring Streets and then went on their 
way down into the Mad River Valley with- 
out discovering the hut that Demint had 
built on the rocks and ledges north of the 
creek. Plenty of good fresh water was 
one of the essentials that the pioneer first 
looked for in the location of his habita- 
tion. 

Foos and his companions were im- 
pressed with the desirability of locating 
in this valley on the site of Springfield, 
in absolute ignorance that another had al- 
ready determined to locate here. Another 
important factor in selecting this site as 
a location for a city and which operated 
no doubt largely upon the mind of the 
pioneer, were the advantages afforded by 
the waters of Buck Creek and Mill Run, 
which could be utilized for mills of va- 
rious descriptions. This was before the 
age of steam and no other source of power 
than water suggested itself to these pio- 
neers. 

These mills, of which a great number 
were afterwards located upon the streams 
flowing tlirough the city of Springfield 
and the surrounding country, were a great 
factor in the increase of its population. 
In an early day, when the surplus corn 



must be hauled to Cincinnati or Sandusky 
to be finally marketed, and flour to meet 
the necessities of the family must be pur- 
chased and hauled from the same places, 
the local mill to convert the one into the 
finished product of whiskey and thus find 
a home as well as a foreign market, and 
to make flour to meet the necessities of 
the family, was of immeasurable import- 
ance to the pioneer. 

The following description of the scenery 
and surroundings of Spring-field was writ- 
ten by Dr. John Ludlow for a former his- 
torical work. 

"The scenery had all the irreg-ularity 
and variety of a iNTew England landscape, 
without its hardness and abruptness. For 
several miles east and south of the new 
village of Springfield, the country was an 
midulating plain, which in the summer 
was covered with tall grass, mixed with a 
great variety of flowers, among which a 
species of wild pea, very fragrant but 
now extinct, was abundant. The coimtry 
north for miles was an unbroken forest of 
large trees in great variety. The beauti- 
ful and never-failing stream called Buck 
Creek, or Lagonda, fringed its northern 
border with clear, running water. Mad 
River, with its rapid current, was within 
a couple of miles of its northwestern boun- 
dary. The 'Rocks,' or the perpendicular 
bluffs, filled with deep strata of solid lime- 
stone on either side of Buck Creek as it 
advanced toward its. junction with Mad 
River, were covered with cedars, hanging 
vines, ferns, mosses and flowers ; the wild 
grape-vine hung from the stately trees 
and dipped its tendrils into the placid 
stream below: the sycamore bent its pro- 
jecting boughs over its banks, while the 
sugar, maple and mulljerry, towering 



362 



HISTOEY OF CI.AEK COUNTY 



above, with the dogwood, redbud, spice- 
wood, butternut, buckeye and other trees, 
with their variegated leaves, formed a 
beautiful and attractive picture. Near 
the mouth of Mill Eun, a little rivulet 
which flowed near the south and west lines 
of the village, the scenery was unusually 
attractive and romantic. The little 
stream went tumbling over the rocks in 
order to reach the brief valley below and 
empty its waters into Buck Creek. On 
each side of this cascade, there were high, 
projecting rocks, covered with honey- 
suckles and wild vines and beautiful ferns, 
which hung down in festoons as a curtain 
to the chasm below, which was taller than 
a man's head. On the east sid'e of this 
chasm, there was a large spring of water 
flowing from a round hole in the rock, 
with a strong current, remarkably cold, 
and depositing a yellow sediment. On 
the west side, there was another spring of 
delicious water, which, in after years, 
slaked the thirst of little fishing and 
picnic parties, who found delight on the 
banks of Buck Creek in the wild and pic- 
turesque valley." 

Naming and Platting of the City. 

James Demint, after he had finished his 
house, which was of the double-log cabin 
variety and located on the south part of 
the grounds of the northern school 
building, began to think seriously of lay- 
ing out lots for a city. 

Demint had entered and held by cer- 
tificate from the government a tract of 
land of considerable size, south of Buck 
Creek and west of Spring Street. His- 
torians are not all agreed as to whom 
should be given the credit for furnishing a 



name to the embryo city. Some state that 
it was named by the wife of the founder, 
but Mr. Woodward in a narrative of his 
meeting in later years with Simon Kenton 
and his wife, says that Mrs. Kenton told 
him that she suggested the name for the 
city, and it was because of the innumer- 
able and beautiful fresh water springs 
that were to be found in that vicinity. 

Not long after Demint had arrived on 
the site of Springfield there came to his 
cabin a young surveyor by the name of 
John Daugherty, and to him was as- 
signed the duty of making the first plat of 
the town. This was commenced by him in 
March, 1801 . The land immediately south 
of the creek presented itself as the best 
adapted by nature at that time for a town 
plat, and the principal streets were made 
to run parallel with the creek. 

Columbia Street was made the prin- 
cipal thoroughfare. Main Street was des- 
ignated as South Street. Lot number 1 
is where the D. T. & I. depot is now lo- 
cated. The numbers ran south on both 
sides of Limestone Street up to High 
Street. Where the county buildings are 
now, a public square was laid out, and 
this was the center of the first plat. 
These lots were six rods wide and twelve 
rods long 99x198 feet. Later on Demint 
made other additions running west to the 
first alley beyond Shaffer Street and 
north to Cedar Street. 

It is said of the founder of Springfield 
that while he was "a man of some ability 
and possessed of many good qualities, yet 
he had a passionate fondness for whiskey 
and gambling. That he would frequently 
mount his fine bay horse for a visit to 
neighboring towns, where he usually in- 
dulged in a prolonged spree. On these 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



363 



visits lie would supply himself with a new 
deck of cards and eagerly engage with 
anyone for small wagers. That at one time 
when he was playing with a man who had 
a fine deck of cards, he took such a fancy 
to them that he decided to purchase them, 
but the owner refused to sell them. Mr. 
Demint offered him a deed for any lot in 
the plat of Springfield that he might 
select, for the cards, and he was induced 



to part with the treasure. An exchange 
was made and the consideration for one 
of the finest and most valuable blocks in 
the city was once a gambler's deck of 
cards." 

Since Demint 's plat of the city of 
Springfield was made, there have been 
many additions, a list of which shows the 
development of the city, with the names of 
those who had faith in its future. 



James Demint 
James Demint 
James Demint 
.Tames Demint 
Giffith Foos 
David Lowry 
P. A. Sprigman 
.James Lowry 
Wallace & Cavileer 
Jeremiah Warder 
Jacob W. Kills 
Joseph E. Anthony 
Josiah Spencer 
John A. Grain 
Grant & others 
Hannah Reeder 
Robt. Rodgers 

Nevvbolt Crocket 
Wm. & G. L. Foos 
Mary S. R. Turner 
Oliver Clark 
Burkley Gillett 
John W. Baker 
Houck & Small wood 
John M. Gallagher 
Dr. Robert Rodgers 
Peter Murray 

Peter Murray, Assigned 
Peter Murray, 2d 
John Kenney 
John Patton 
Letitia Baker 
John A. AVarder 
Patton & Gowdy 
Saul S. Henkle 
White Rodgers 
White Rodgers 
Ramsey & Steele 
Harvey Vinal 
Henry Ruhl 
Jonathan Bruner 
Pierce & Edmondson 
W. H. Spencer 
Geo. Dibert 
Dr. Robert Rodgers 
Jacob Hubeu 
Elizabeth Clark 
Wm. H. Houck 
Wm. Houck & P. Slack 
Wm. G. Brain 
Wm. S. Thompson 
Dr. Robt. Rodgers 
E. N. Tihbetts 
Thomas & Mast 
Hay ward ,& Sherills 
.T. li. Baumes 



No. of Lots. 
1- 96 
102-225 
103-225 
225-295 
296-300 
301-316 
317-337 
338-403 
404-412 
413-426 
427-431 
431-447 
448-476 
477-498 
499-521 
522-567 
568-579 
579-595 
596-603 
604-646 
646-677 
700-712 
713-733 
734-738 
739-748 
749-762 
763-770 
770-812 

813-822 
823-828 
829-847 



990-1057 
1058-1080 
1081-1101 
1102-1109 
1110-1123 
1124-1142 
1143-11.58 
1159-1179 
1180-1189 
1190-1205 
120.5-12,32 
1233-1262 
1263-1273 
1294-1305 
1306-1322 
1323-1334 
1.33.5-13.52 
13.53-1424 
142.5-1432 
1433-1437 
1438-1496 



Date. Part of City. 

1803 Around Court House. 

1805 W. of Center N. of Main. 

1814 

Not found 



1832 
1832 
1832 
1833 
1835 
1843 
1846 
1847 
1847 
1848 
1848 
1848 
1848 
1850 
1848 
1848 
1849 
1849 
1849 
1849 
18.50 

issi 

1851 

18.54 
1853 
1853 
1853 
1853 
1849 
1853 

18.54 
1854 
1854 
1854 
18.54 
1854 
18.54 
1860 
1865 
1864 
1865 
1S66 
1867 
1867 
1867 
1868 
1868 
1868 
1868 
1868 
1869 



E. High. 

W. High near Center. 

High E. of Fountain. 

S. of High, W. of Fountain. 

E. Main N. side. 

E. Main S. to High. 

W. of Mill Run. " 

W. North near Factory. 

Main S. E. of Yellow Springs. 

Between Bridge & Gallagher. 

S. Center. 

S. of Clifton. 

N. of Ansted & Burk Mill. 

W. of Fisher on Columbia. 

E. High at York. 

W. Columbia at Isabella. 

S. Factory at Pleasant & Clarke. 

N. of Clifton along Vine. 

S. Center. 

N. Clifton along Mill. 

E. of Gallagher. 

N. of Main along Murray. 

No. of Main, Water to Creek. 

N. of Main, Water to Creek. 

N. of Main, Water to Creek. 

W. of I'ountain Ave., at Mulberry. 

S. of Clifton, Pearl & Gallagher. 

E. of S. Fountain at Pleasant. 

Penn & High. 

Pearl along Euclid to Clifton Ave. 

E. High. 

Between Y'ork & East N. of Summer to R. R. 

Between York & East N. of Summer to R. R. 

E. of Limestone along Euclid. 

s! 'of 'iligh bt.' Plum' & 'Race.' 

Bt. Miami & Plum along Pair. 

S. of W. High. 

S. of W. Washington. 

W. of Yellow Springs along Dibert. 

E. of N. Limestone along Chestnut. 

W. of S. Limestone & N. of Liberty. 

S. Center. N. of Liberty. 

S. Limestone, E. along Maple & Liberty. 

S. Fountain opposite jliller. 

E. of Scott along Pleasant. 

W. .N'orth, west of Y'ellow Springs. 

N. Limestone E. along Stanton. 

N. of Euclid from Tavlor to Pearl. 

N. of Chestnut. E. of Elm. 

S. CpTiter along Clark. 

N. of Clifton between Taylor & Scott. 



364 



HISTORY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Middleton & Rawlins 
Geo. Spence 
J. W. Wertz & Son 
Wm. Grant 
Lewis S. Clarlc 
Edwin L. Honck 
Andrew Gowdy 
Thomas Sliarpe 
Leuty & Spence 
Thiomas C. Stewart 
Wm. Jlilhollin 
Jolin L. Petticrew 
Chas. Eabbitts 
Steele & King 
Lewis S. Clark 
Oliver S. Clark , 
David Shaffer's heirs 
Dr. Robt. Rodgers 
Dr. Robt. Rodgors 
Jeremiah Toland 
Coffin & Whitehead 
Coffin & Whitehead 
Geo. Dibert 
Jabez Seggar 
Coffin & Whitehead 
Cassilly & Frey 
Jabez Seggar 
I. B. Rawlins 
Edwin L. Houck 
Wm. H. Houck 
John Grube 
Coble & Shattles 
Anna Warder 
Chas. Rabbitts 
W. D. Miller 
Chas. Stroud 
Andrew Gowdy 
Mitchell's heirs 
Mary B. Green 
J. P. & K. Reinheimer 
Miller & Uotsenpillar 
Wm. T. Melntire 
P. P. Mast 
Spencer & Davisson 
R. S. Spencer 
Geo. H. Frey 
Bechtle heirs 
Nancy Gowdy 
J. J. Snyder 
Rice & Johnson 
E. R. Hotsenpillar 
Chas. Stroud 
Thalls. Davis & Goode 
Peter Butzer 
Geo. Hils 
E. N. Tibbetts 
.Johnson & Scott 
Pringle & Johnson 
C. & C. & P. Grube 
M. M. Tiers 
Geo. H. Frey 
McCreight heirs 
Robt. Johnson 
Lorimer & Wolfe 
.Tas. Dorv's heirs 
Wm. AVhitely 
Arthur Cole's heirs 
A. B. Allen 
Wittenberg College 
Chas. Kellar 
Geo. Brain's heirs 
Smith & Thompson's 
Edwardsville 
Hastings H. & Webb 
P. Q. King 
Benj. Seever 
S. H. Gard 



No. of Lots. 


Date. 


1-197-1524 


1869 


1525-1641 


1869 


1042-1664 


1868 


1665-1092 


1869 


169.S-1713' 


1869 


1714-1749 


1869 


17.50-17.53 


1870 


17.54-1774 


1870 


1775-1806 


1870 


1807-1812 


1870 


1813-1816 


1870 


1820-1825 


1870 


1826-1838 


1873 


1839-18.53 


1872 


1854-1874 


1873 


1875-1896 


1873 


1897-1902 


1873 


1903-1999 


1873 


2043-2049 


1873 


2000-2004 


1873 


2005-2042 


1S73 


2176-21S7 


1878 


2049-2142 


1874 


2143-2175 


1871 


2176-2187 


See above. 


218S-2211 


1874 


2212-2239 


1874 


2240-2250 


1874 


2257-2318 


1874 


2319-2330 


1874 


2331-2388 


1874 


2339-2354 


1875 


2355-2480 


1874 


2.512-2528 


1875 


2528-2557 


1875 


2558-2589 


1875 


2590-2.599 


1875 


2613-2626 


1876 


2627-2637 


1876 


2638-2665 


1876 


2666-2681 


1876 


2682-2705 


1876 


2711-2765 


1876 


2766-2777 


1876 


2778-2796 


1876 


2796-2812 


1875 


2813-2851 


1878 


28.52-2.S61 


1879 


2862-2947 


1879 


294S-29S0 


1880 


2987-3040 


1881 


3041-3146 


1881 


3147-3167 


1881 


3168-3189 


1881 


3190-3218 


1881 


3119-3251 


1882 


3252-3380 


1882 


3381-3422 


1882 


3423-34.33 


1882 


3434-3456 


1881 


3457-3466 


1882 


3467-3636 


1882 


3637-3672 


1882 


3673-3688 


1882 


3689-3709 


1882 


3710-3726 


1882 


3725-3757 


1882 


37.58-3771 


1882 


3772-3791 


1882 


3792-3852 


1882 


3853-3924 


1882 


3925-4013 


1882 


4014-4316 


1882 


4317-4348 


1SS2 


4349-4366 


1883 


4367-4395 


1883 


4396-4429 


1883 



Part of Citij. 

E. Main S. of R. R. Crossing. 

S. of High along Liyht to Shaffer S. to Fair Grounds. 

Bt. Chestnut & Maple Avenues. 

N. Yellow Springs to Plum. 

From Factory W. on Fair. 

S. Yellow Springs bt. Clark & Pleasant. 

Along Gallagher. 

E. of East & S. of Kenton. 

W. North from Shaffer to Western Ave. 

S. E. corner Yellow Springs & Clark. 

S. E. corner of Yellow Springs & Jefferson. 

S. W. corner Race & High. 

N. Limestone West side S. of Creek. 

Clifton Avenue opposite Maple. 

West Clark W. of Factory to R. R. 

West Clark W. of Factory to R. R. 

N. side W. Main W. of Shaffer. 

S. of Stanton Ave., from Mason St. 

E. to Mill Race. 

S. E. of Clifton St. and Scott. 

Bt. Columbia and North E. of Spring. 

Bt. Columbia and North E. of Spring. 

S. of Fair Grounds to Southern Ave. 

S. of E. High along Forrest Ave. 

N. Limestone W. along Cassilly. 

Mound S. to R. R. 

W. of East. 

S. Yellow Springs Southern Ave. to State. 

Southern Ave. : Limestone to Factory. 

N. E. cor. of Yellow Springs and Mulberry. 

Bt. W. Main & High. , 

Between R. R. & Creek. 

S. E. corner of McCreight & Limestone. 

Eden Ave., & W. Pleasant. 

S. Shaffer W. side. 

Liberty & Gallagher. 

N. W. corner of Plum & Mulberry. 

Clifton St. bt. York & Taylor. 

Dibert Ave., from Yellow Springs to R. R. 

S. Limestone. N. W. to Maple. 

Front St. bt. Creek & Race. 

E. of George Street from R. R. to Maiden Lane. 

E. North to Warder & Creek. 

E. of Water S. of Creek. 

Fountain Ave., W. to Center N. <.f College. 

A\\ of Bechtle Ave.. S. of Maiden Lane. 

Gallagher. 

S. of Main on AVestern Ave., AV. side. 

N. AA'. cor. Pearl & Southern Ave. 

Near Old Dayton Road. 

From Plum on State to Yellow Springs. 

N. of AA'. Columbia & Western Aye. 

W. Cedar N. to Creek. 

S. Y'ellow Springs E. at Grand. 

Pearl E. to Taylor in Grand. 

Oak Street, X. of S. Clifton St. 

AA'est of the above. 

N. Race. 

N. Limestone & E. Cecil. 

N. of College, l^'oiritain & Center. 

McCreight Ave.. S. to Cecil, AV. of Limestone. 

S. of Clifton opposite Laurel. 

On Ward AA'. of Center. 

Limestone to Clifton on Grand Ave. 

East. Harrison & Alound. 

Limestone to Clifton on Southern. 

Southern Ave. from A'ellow Springs to R. R. 

S. W. cor. I'^actory & Ferncliff. 

S. of Clifton Ave., East side. 

E. High S. side. 

Maiden Lnne to Snvder Park. 

Lagonda Ave., E. of R. R. 

Clifton, opposite City Hospital. 

College Ave. & Center. 

S. Amelia Street near old Dayton Road. 

S. Limestone AA'. to Factory, along Grand. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



365 





No. of Lots. 


Date. 


J. B. Rubsam 


4430-4468 


1883 


Kerslmer & Spence 


4469-4508 


1883 


Wm. H. Houck 


4509-4556 


1884 


liobt. Johnson 


4557-4596 


1885 


G. L. Frankenstein 


4507-4603 


1885 


J. P. Reinheiraer 


4604-4607 




Geo. Brain 


4608-4705 


iss6 


Robbins ife Myers 


4706-4719 


1886 


Geo. Brain 2d 


4720-4779 


1886 


McCreight heirs 


4780-4789 


1886 




No. of Lots. 


Date. 


G. J. C. Hils 


4790-4822 


1887 


W. & A. J. Hilker 


4823-4873 


1886 


Honry Hnbert 


4874-4895 


1887 


Wm. Perrin 


4876-4922 


1887 


Wm. Maitland 


4923-4932 


1887 


Lena Marmion 


4933-5008 


1887 


John Ludlow's heirs 


5009-5090 


1887 


Kershner's heirs 


5091-5095 


1887 


S. A. Bowman 


5096-5111 


1887 


I. Ward heirs 


5112-5164 


1887 


P. Lohners heirs 


5165-5257 


1888 


Geo. Spence 


5258-.5285 


1888 


Houck it Coleman 


5286-5373 


1888 


H. J. Punk 


5374-5425 


•1888 


F. M. Hagan, Ass. Miller 


5426-5436 


1888 


L. F. Young, Ass. Goblentz 


5437-5443 


1890 


G. H. Frey 


5444-5460 


1886 


B. IL Warder 


5461-5499 


1890 


A. S. Bushnell 


5500-5510 


1891 


I. Ward Frey 


5511-5522 


1891 


J. W. Bookwalter 


5523-5548 


1891 


L F. McNally 


5549-6222 


1892 


O. V. Hensley 


6223-6329 


1892 


W. H. C. Goode 


6330-6348 


1892 


Robt. Johnson 


6349-6355 


1893 


J. L. Zimmerman 


6356-6377 


1893 


Oschwald 


037S-C393 


1893 


G. S. Dial, Adm'r Stronger 


6394-6451 


1892 


B. 0. Hagan, Ass. A. B. Smith 


6452-6530 


1896 


J. L. Little 


6531-6553 


1898 


S. H. Gard 


6553-6572 


1899 


Perrin et al. 


6573-6775 


1900 


Smith & Thompson 


6794-6823 


1900 


A. M. Rilevs 


6824-6850 


1901 


W. PI. Houck 


6854-6958 


1901 


I. Ward Frey 


6959-7011 


1902 


Geo. H. Brain heirs 


7012-7125 


1902 


C. N. Slyer 


7126-7147 


1902 


Real Estate Co., H. D. Keefers 


7155-7195 


1902 


Anton Singers 


7196-7247 


1902 


W. H. Berger 


7248-7290 


1903 


Brain et al. 


7291-7562 


1905 


H. D. Keefers 


7563-7580 


1905 


J. W. .Tames 


7581-7598 


1906 


Brain-McGregor 


7599-7668 


1907 


A. C. Link et al. 


7669-7740 


1907 


E. G. Banta 


7741-7766 


1907 


Lewis S. Clark 


7767-7900 


1907 


Geo. Brain's heirs 


7901-7966 


1907 


Lots Not Consecvtively N umlered . 


Date. 


A. Ratfensberger 




1869 


Penfield 




1870 


Riceville 




1871 


Benj. Seevers 




1874 


J. Bauers 




1873 


Lewis Jenkins 




1876 


Hester A. Neel 




1875 


Florenceville 




1880 


T. Fetseh 




1880- 


S. Siglar 




1880 


W. H. Berger 




1880 


E. T. & P. Dudley 




1881 


W. H. Berger 




1881 


C. Retter 




1882 


O. y. Hensley 




1892 



Part of City. 

N. Race near Creek. 

S. of W. Southern Ave. 

Limestone W. on Southern & Factory. 

Shaffer, (irant & Cedar. 

Pleasant, Cliftou & Spring. 

Dibert Ave. & L. M. R. R. 

Sheridan, Green, Mound & Ludlow. 

S. of Lagonda Ave. near R. R. 

E. Harrison. 

N. of McCreight Ave. 

Part of City, (Streets, etc. 

Tellow Springs to R. R. on Euclid. 

W. of Western Ave. N. of Maiden Lane. 

E. High. 

S. Limestone W. on Perrin 

E. High 

N. Limestone E. side. 

E. High S. on Ludlow. 

East Street. 

Park Place. 

Fountain to Center N. of Ward. 

Park to R. R. 

S. Dayton Pike. 

S. Fountain .-Vve. W. to Western Ave. 

N. Shaffer. 

Old Dayton Road. 

W. of Main & Thompson. 

Fountain. Ward & College. 

E. Main, North Greenmount. 

Lagonda A\ie. & R. R. 

Woodlawn. 

Lagonda Ave. E. R. R. 

E. Main, Florence, Belmont iS: Columbus Ave. 

West of S. York. 

Main, Columbia & Western Ave. 

Rice, Clifton & Southern. 

Pearl. Rose, Clay & Catharine. 

N. of Lagonda Ave. on Park Ave. 

W. Pleasant and Old Dayton Road. 

N. Western Ave., Cedar, Shaffer & Grant. 

Clay St. 

W. Grand. 

Highlands. 

S. of Snyder Park. 

South of Ferncliff Cem. 

E. of S. Limestone. 

North of Eastern Ave. 

Blmwood. 

Pearl, Catharine, Clay & Fremont. 

Lagonda Heights. 

S. of Highlands. 

Hill Top. Lagonda. 

Kenwood Heights. S. E. of City W. of Belmont. 

N. of Park Ave. 

W; Columbia, R. R. & Snyder. 

Columbus Ave. c& Florence St. 

Old B. H. Warder homestead. 

Clifton & Wheldon Lane. 

Grand Ave. to State, Plum to Fountain. 

Harrison S. to Sheridan. 

Part of City. 

E. Springfield. 

South Clifton. 

Rice & Pearl. 

W. Main. 

Near Lagonda Shop. 

W. Main near R. R. 

W. High and Walter. 

Lagonda Ave. to R. R. at Florence St. 

E. Main & Florence. 

W. Main & Siglar. 

Lagonda Ave. 

Pearl & Rice 

Lagonda Ave. 

E. of Clifton Ave. N. of Johnson Ave. 

S. E. of City. 



366 



HISTOEY OF CLAEK COUNTY 



Lots 'Not Consecutively Numbered. 

I. Ward Frey 

Jas. B. Thompson 

I. Ward r'rey 

Ziehler 

M. & J. Donnelly 

W. H. McCain 

I. Ward Frey 

John Melking 

Early SettijEments. 



We have before referred to the fact that 
in 1801 Griffith Foos had camped near the 
junction of Main and Spring Streets and 
had gone on down the Mad River Valley 
without discovering the hut of Demint on 
the north of Buck Creek, and that it was 
only after he and his companions had 
gone up the valley and crossed over the 
tableland and came down Buck Creek that 
they found Demint 's cabin. 

Foos and his companions stopped here 
for several days. They were well pleased 
with the country and Demint offered them 
land at a very reasonable price and in- 
formed them of his intention of laying out 
the town. Mr. Foos and his party re- 
turned to Franklinton, a village now part 
of Columbus, where he and his com- 
panions had left their families, and with 
them returned to the city of Springfield. 
This was in 1801. Soon after Mr. Foos 
returned he began the erection of a house 
to be used as a tavern. This building 
was located on the south side of Main 
Street, a little west of Spring Street. It 
was open to the public in June of that 
year and continued to be a public hostelry 
until 1814. From this time on, the town 
began to show some evidence of what it 
might become in the future, and in 1804 
it contained about a dozen houses all built 
of logs. These houses, as given in Beer's 
History, were located as follows : 

Near the southeast corner of Main and 



Date. 


Part of City. 

S. of City (Landsdowne). 


1892 


1882 


W. Main, S. in Siglar. 


1897 


Landsdowne. 


1897 


W. Main. 


1900 


E. Main & Buxton Ave. 


1901 


Melrose. 


1902 


Landsdowne. 


1905 


S. Limestone next to Landsdowne. 



Market Streets a man named Fields kept 
a small repair shop. "West and almost op- 
posite was a cooper shop owned by John 
Tveed. On the northeast corner of the 
same street stood a log house, and a short 
distance west on the south side of what is 
now Main Street, near Primrose Alley, 
was a larger log structure, occupied by 
Charles Stowe of Cincinnati as a gen- 
eral store. Another log house was on the 
northeast comer of Limestone and Main 
Streets, and Colonel Daugherty's large 
log house was nearly opposite. A large 
two-story log-house, which in the time 
of Indian incursions was used as a block- 
house, stood near the southeast corner 
of High and Limestone, not far from 
what is known as the Old Buck- 
eye corner. Near the public square was 
another cabin in which two Frenchmen, 
named respectively Duboy and Lucroy, 
sold goods suitable mostly to the Indian 
trade. The two taverns conducted by 
Foos and Lowrey, with two or three other 
cabins on Columbia Street, composed the 
village of S|)ringfield. 

This hotel of Lowrey 's was a large two- 
story hewn log house on the first alley 
west of Limestone Street, about half way 
to High Street. 

Selection .^vs Coiitstty Seat. 

One of the most important events that 
occurred in the early history of Spring- 
field was its selection as the seat of justice 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



367 



of the county which had just been organ- 
ized. This was in 1818. Springfield had 
for its competitor the town of New Bos- 
ton, located on the site of the old Indian 
village of Piqua, and had very little to 
boast over its competitor for the race was 
so close that Springfield only won by. two 
votes. This gave new impetus to its 
growth for soon thereafter the county 
buildings were erected and court was held. 
(See County Buildings.) 

EarijY Events, Etc. 

As already stated, the first log house 
was erected by James Demint, and the 
first tavern was put up in 1801 by Grif- 
fith Foos. The first frame house was 
erected in 1804 on the northeast corner 
of Main and Factory by Samuel Simming- 
ton. This house was destroyed by a wind 
storm before its completion. The first 
brick house was probably erected by Will- 
iam Ross. It was a two-story brick build- 
ing on the southeast corner of Main and 
Market Streets. 

This building was at first occupied as 
a dwelling and store and afterwards as a 
hotel known as Ross ' tavern. This build- 
ing was standing as late as 1869, when it 
was removed to make room for the build- 
ing now occupied by Theodore Troupe's 
drug store. 

A very respectful authority, however, 
gives credit to John Ambler for having 
built the first brick house. His building 
was located on the north side of Main 
Street, about half way between Factory 
and Mechanic Streets and was built in 
1815. This building is still standing and 
occupied by Charles T. Davis as a resi- 
dence upstairs, and as a millinery store 
and restaurant in the lower floors. 



The first school was conducted by Na- 
thaniel Pinkeret in 1806. He opened a 
school in a log house on the northeast 
corner of Main and Market Streets. This 
building was not erected entirely for 
school purposes. 

In 1813, at about where Shaffer's Feed 
Store is located on W. Main Street, Sam- 
uel Smith conducted a school, and the first 
building erected for religious services was 
directly across the street from Smith's 
school building, about opposite the drink- 
ing fountain on Center Street. 

The first mill was eercted by Demint 
in 1803. 

The first store was opened by a Mr. 
Stowe from Cincinnati. He brought with 
him a small stock of goods. The second 
store was opened bj' two Frenchmen in a 
cabin near the public square. Samuel 
Simming-ton may not have conducted the 
store in his frame house, for Pearson 
Spinning bought that property in 1812 
and kept a store there for many years. 

John D. Nichols kept the first book- 
store in 1830 and 1831. The postofSce was 
first established in 1804; others seem to 
think that a postoffice was not established 
until 1814. Robert Rennick was the first 
postmaster. The first date is the correct 
one, for we are informed elsewhere that 
in 1804 a mail route was established, 
which went from Cincinnati through Leb- 
anon, Xenia, Spring-field and Urbana; 
thence to Piqua; thence down the Miami 
to Dayton, Franklin, Hamilton and Cin- 
cinnati. This was a weekly delivery. The 
first daily mail arrived in the city of 
Springfield in 1828 and came by four- 
horse coach. The first newspaper was 
established in the city of Springfield in 
1817 and was called the "Farmer." 



36'8 



HJ STORY OF CLARK COUNTY 



The first bank was organized in tlie 
winter of 1846 and 1847 and was tlie pred- 
ecessor of tlie present Mad River Bank. 

The first census was taken in 1820 and 
showed that there were 510 inliabitants of 
the city of Springfield. 

James Shipmau was the first tailor, 
Walter Smallwood the first blacksmith, 
and Cooper Lndlow the first shoemaker. 

In 1803 a road was surveyed between 
Franklinton, a village near Columbus, to 
Dayton. This road was made to pass 
through what was then known as South 
Street, now Main Street, and did not pass 
through Columbia Street because of the 
extensive swamp lying at the east end of 
this street. The laying out of this road 
led to the building of the business por- 
tion of Springfield on Main Street and it 
became the main thoroughfare from the 
vicinity of Columbus to Dayton. 

The first wife of the founder, Demint, 
died in 1803 and was buried in the old 
graveyard on C'olumbia Street. 

Maddox Fisher came from Kentucky 
in 1813 with $20,000 in money. He pur- 
chased twenty-five lots near the public 
square from Demint at $25 a lot. 

Quite a number of mills were erected at 
an early date. (See Chapter on Mills.) 

CovNCiLS With Indians. 

A notable event, which is recorded by 
all historians, is the following: 

"One Myers was killed near Urbana by 
a party of wandering Indians, and a fam- 
ily named Elliott, living on Mad River, 
was visited by an Indian of Tecumseh's 
tribe, who demanded a butcherknife of 
them, was refused, , and told to leave. 
Mrs. Elliott was soon after out getting 



firewood in the door-yard, when a rifle- 
shot was heard and a ball whistled 
through the front of her sunbonnet and 
grazed the skin upon her throat. These 
acts, coujiled with the gathering together 
of the Indians under the Shawnee 
brothers, induced a panic among the 
people of this and other counties. The 
bold and warlike organized into com- 
panies. The tavern of Foos was made a 
temporary stronghold, while many fam- 
ilies left in haste for their previous homes 
in Kentucky. The whites demanded the 
aggressors : the Indians denied knowledge 
of their committal, and it was left to a 
council to be held at Springfield. The 
commissioners for the whites were Gen- 
eral Benjamin Whiteman, Major Moore, 
Captain Ward, and two others. The In- 
dians were led by Tecumseh, Round Head, 
Black Fish, and other chiefs. The council 
took place in a maple-grove across the 
street from the tavern. The Indians had 
come in two bodies ; the band of Tecumseh 
from towards Port Wayne, and one from 
the north, some seventy in number, in 
charge of MePherson. Each party, un- 
friendly to the other, charged them with 
the deeds unlawfuj. MePherson 's party, 
by request, had left their arms at a dis- 
tance, but Tecumseh and his braves re- 
fused to disarm themselves, the chief say- 
ing that in his tomahawk was his pipe, 
and it might be needed for a smoke. 

"Just arrived from Pennsylvania was 
a tall, slim young man known as Dr. 
Richard Hunt. Anxious to conciliate, this 
person advanced and offered Tecumseh 
his dirty-looking clay pipe with short 
stem. The chief stepped proudly for- 
ward, received the offering carefully be- 
tween thumb and finger, looking ^with 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS, 



369 



sparkling eye of contempt at it, eyed the 
owner a moment to his extreme discom- 
liture, then flung the pipe, with a loud 
grunt, over his head and away from him. 
The Indians carried the point and re- 
tained their arms. 

"Inquiry showed that the murder of 
Myers was an individual act. Speeches 
were made, hostilities disavowed, recon- 
ciliation effected, and quiet to the settle- 
ments, for the time, restored. The In- 
dians stayed three days in town and 
amused the settlers by feats of agilitj^ 
Whiteman, above named, had long made 
the forest his home and the Indian his 
acquaintance. A companion of Kenton 
and Boone, he had learned many savage 
dialects, and, at the council, conversed 
with Tecumseh in the Shawnee tongue 
with freedom." 

Eaely Customs. 

"In these days of ready-made clothing, 
close-fitting dresses, convenient and cost- 
ly furniture, excellent thoroughfares by 
rail and pike, hostility to the sale and use 
of liquors, fine houses and places of busi- 
ness, physicians on call, and car or hack 
to convey to or from desired localities, it 
is both curious and useful to revert in our 
history to the humble and arduous lives of 
the old pioneers, and therein learn a les- 
son for present needs. During these daj'^s 
of which we write, there was a condition 
of complete social equality; the exclusive- 
ness of caste and the claims of aristocracy 
were not known, and the broad line of 
distinction was run between the worst 
class and the people in general. Their 
occasions of fellowship and good will 
were the old raisings of log and bent, the 



sharp contests for rapid execution of 
parts of the work at log-rollings, and 
sportive gatherings for corn-huskings. 
Their sports were shooting at a mark and 
exercises calling for muscular exertion, 
and races ran in competition prepared for 
races for life in contests with the savages. 
Rollicking amusements among the young 
were untranmieled and innoqent. All 
sought for ])leasurable enjoyment, and 
were happy in seeing others happy. Dress 
was common to rich or poor, the men 
went clad in liunting-shirts of linen made 
from self-raised and manufactured ma- 
terial, .-ind Buckskin pants; the women 
dressed themselves in garments of their 
own handiwork,— these, according to new- 
ness, were com_mon or holiday dresses. 
The bridal costume was a medium Amer- 
ican cotton check, which then cost a dol- 
lar per yard and took five 3-ards for the 
pattern. Silks, satins, alpacas, and fancy 
goods were not in the market or posses- 
sion. The interior of a cabin was simple 
in the extreme. Over the broad fireplace, 
held by wooden hooks, rested the trusty 
rifle; bedsteads were often no more than 
forked sticks driven into the earthen 
floor, with cross-poles for the clapboards 
or the cord. For cooking there was a pot, 
kettle, and fryingpan. ITpon the table, a 
few plates and dishes held the food. For 
seats, some had split-bottomed chairs, but 
stools and blocks were in general and sat- 
isfactory use. No mention have I made 
of carpets; this smooth, swept earth or 
puncheon floor were all that was needed. 
The battalion drills on muster-days, elec- 
tions, celebrations, and all public occa- 
sions were enlivened by free use of whis- 
key, pure from the home stills. Hunting, 
now regarded as a pastime, was to them a 



370 



HISTOEr OF CLAEK COUNTY 



business to secure the winter's meat, and 
corn-pones formed part of every meal. 
Flour was purchasable at Chillicothe, 
Zanesville and at Cincinnati. Groods were 
high ; they were hauled in wagons to Pitts- 
burg, floated down the Ohio to Cincinnati, 
and thence hauled or packed up. Tea re- 
tailed at $2 to $3 per pound; coffee at 
75 cents; and salt brought $10. to $12 
per hundred pounds; calico was $1 per 
yard; whiskey was $1 to $2 per gallon, 
and the Indians were excellent customers. 
Storekeepers are said to have given liquor 
free to encourage purchasers." 

Sleepy HoLiiOw and Old Virginia. 

Many of us in this period of the his- 
tory of our city have no doubt wondered 
why the vicinity of the Court House went 
by the name of "Sleepy Hollow." It 
seems that in earlier times Mill Run made 
a natural division of the city. This 
stream, especially south of Columbia 
Street, ran through a miry bog, and cross- 
ing it was a matter of some difficulty. 
Perhaps the best crossing was on Colum- 
bia Street, as the surface there was closer 
to the rock than elsewhere and of a more 
substantial condition. 

A number of enterprising Virginians 
became possessors of a good portion of 
the young city that was southwest of the 
stream. They built hotels, established 
schools and churches and considered 
themselves more enterprising than their 
neighbors on the other side of Mill Run, 
for which reason they soon gave to the 
latter locality the nickname of "Sleepy 
PIollow," and this name has continued at- 
tached to it until the present time, and 
with a good deal of aptness, for scarcely 



any business has been conducted in the 
immediate surroundings of the original 
square laid out by Demint. At this date 
there is nothing on Columbia Street with- 
in two squares of the Court House, ex- 
cepting two livery stables, a carriage shop 
and a saloon. The people of "Sleepy 
Hollow" in turn designated that part west 
of Mill Run as "Old Virginia." This 
name has been lost as applied to that 
vicinity in the growth of the city. 

Early Settlers. 

From Mr. Martin's collection in a 
former work, we have gathered some use- 
ful information in regard to a number of 
the early settlers of Spring-field. These 
sketches bear evidence of a painstaking 
effort to give a truthful narrative. 

James Demint. 

Not much is known of the antecedents 
of James Demint. He came with Kenton 
and the others to the vicinity of Spring- 
field in 1799. In 1800 he built his log 
cabin north of the crystal waters of Buck 
Creek. 

In 1801 he began a plat of the future 
city. About this time also he conducted 
a still, no doubt in the rude and limited 
fashion of the early pioneers. In 1804 
he built his grist mill at the mouth of 
Mill Run. This was an enterprise of 
great importance in view of the growing 
crops, though the mill was but a rude af- 
fair, having a capacity of grinding twen- 
ty-five bushels of corn in every twenty- 
four hours. Before this there were no 
mills nearer than Ijebanon. 

In 1803 Demint 's first wife died and he 



AND BEPKESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



371 



remarried. His widow afterwards became 
the wife of a teamster who lived for sev- 
eral years west of the city of Springfield 
on the Old Dayton Road, by the name of 
John Rust. Demint added two more plats 
to the city of Springfield. He was a large 
consumer of the products produced by his 
own industry, and frequently went away 
on prolonged sprees. H-e died suddenly 
about the year 1817, at the tavern of the 
widow Fitch in TJrbana. This is the sum 
and substance of our knowledge of the 
founder of Springfield. 

Griffith Fogs. 

Griffith Foos is entitled to almost equal 
honors with Demint in the founding of 
the city, for without knowledge of 
Demint 's having already built a habita- 
tion, he had conceived and acted upon the 
idea that it was a good place in which 
to make a settlement. Of better habits 
and with more industry than Demint, he 
supplied that energy and industry that 
were required to ensure to the embryo 
city a permanent existence. He came to 
Springfield in 1801 and immediately be- 
gan the erection of a house to be used 
as a tavern. It was the first tavern in 
the City of Springfield and the second 
house to be erected. So far as we know, 
it was located on the south side of Main 
Street, a little west of Spring. He opened 
it in June, 1801, and continued it until 
1814. 

Foos, in 1817, built an oil mill on Mill 
Run, about where the Foos Gas Engine 
works are now located. He died in this 
city in 1858. He was an uncle of Gus, 
"Wm. and John Foos. 



Robert Rennick. 

Robert Bennick was one of the party 
that originally came to Spring-field with 
Demint and was a joint owner with 
Demint in the western part of Spring- 
field, and when the same was set-off in 
severalty he became possessed of that 
part west of what was then called Yellow 
Spring Street, now Plum. He built a mill 
in 1806 on Buck Creek, a short distance 
below where the spring is now located in 
Snyder Park. He was the first post- 
master. 

JoHJsr Daugherty. 

This personage has been before re- 
ferred to as coming to Springfield about 
1800 and making the first plat of this 
town. He was an active Virginian, quite 
an industrious, enterprising citizen, and 
held various ofBces. He died a few miles 
south of Springfield in 1832. 

John Ambler. 

John Ambler came to Springfield in 
1808 and immediately engaged in the mak- 
ing of brick and the building of houses. 
In 1812 he was a merchant and kept a 
tavern nearly opposite the Mad River Na- 
tional Bank. He is credited with having 
built the first brick house in Springfield. 
This house is still standing and is oc- 
cupied by Mr. Davis, 142 W. Main Street. 
When Clark County was organized he be- 
came the first treasurer and kept his office 
in his residence on W. Main Street. He 
died shortly after his term of treasurer 
had expired. The mother of the late John 
Shipman was his daughter. 



372 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



Cooper Ludlow. 

Cooper Ludlow came to the vicinity of 
Springfield in 1805. He was a tanner by 
trade. In 1812 he moved to Springiield 
and kept a tavern on the corner of Main 
and Factory Streets. The late Dr. John 
Ludlow was a son by a first wife and the 
late Abraham Ludlow by his second wife. 
His residence for many years was where 
the high school building is now located. 

Walter Smallwood. 

This person came to the City of Spring- 
field in ISO-l, bringing his wife with him 
from Virginia, and purchased a lot on the 
south side of ^Main Street and erected a 
residence a short distance west of Center 
Street. They 'lived in this town until 
1852, when they moved to Missouri, where 
he died in 1869. 

PiEKSON Spinning. 

This person came to Springfield from 
Dayton in 1812. He bought a frame house 
that Mr. Simington had erected and con- 
ducted therein a store until 1834. In 1827 
he built a residence on the east side of 
Limestone Street, where Bennett & Young 
now have a printing office, south of the 
Citizens' Bank. He afterwards built the 
brick residence on the southwest corner 
of High & (xallagher Streets, now occupied 
by Mrs. Dr. Titlow. He died in this city 
in 1857 in his seventy-first year. Some 
of his grandchildren are residents of the 
city at this time. 

Eev. Saul Henkle. 

The first minister of the Methodist 
church to locate in Springfield was the 
Kev. Saul Henkle. He came here with his 



wife in 1809. Li 1827 he edited and pub- 
lished a religious paper called the "Gospel 
Trumpet." In 1830 he was elected county 
clerk. He died in 1837. 

Ira Paige. 

Ira Paige came to Springfield in 1814 
and a short time thereafter established a 
woolen factory on the lower floor of 
Fisher's Mill on Mill Eun. This was con- 
ducted by him for about fifteen years. He 
represented the county in the Lower 
House of the Legislature. He died in 
1847 in his fifty-eighth year. His son 
Algeron lived south of Spring-field upon 
the farm where his grandchildren still 
reside. 

Maddox Fisher. 

Maddox Fisher came to Springfield 
from Kentucky in 1813. He is said to 
have brought a considerable sum of money 
with him and purchased twenty-five lots 
from Mr. Demint in the vicinity of the 
public square. In 1814, he built a cotton 
factory near where Mill Eun empties into 
Buck Creek. He was prominent in mat- 
ters of a township character. He assisted 
in building the first court house, jail, and 
was perhaps the most distinguished lob- 
biest Springfield had in causing it to be 
chosen as a county seat, and in the estab- 
lishment of Clark County. In 1825 he 
built a residence on the lot where Dr. 
Eogers now lives. He served as post- 
master in 1824. In 1830 he erected the 
Fisher Block, afterward enlarged and re- 
built, on the southwest corner of Main and 
Limestone Streets, and now owned by 
his grandson, C. W. Fisher. He died in 
1836 in his sixtv-fifth vear. 



AND EEPRESENTATIVB CITIZENS. 



373 



Oliver Aemstkong. 

Oliver Armstrong was born in Benning- 
ton, Vt., in 1783 and came to Clark Coun- 
ty in 1814. He was prominent in city and 
county affairs for a number of years. 
Mrs. Greorge Frankenberg, who is still re- 
siding in this city, is his daughter. She 
is now past eighty-three years of age. 
His son Cyrus was for twentj' years treas- 
urer of the county. 

Other early settlers here were Granny 
Icenberger, Joel Walker, Marifield Vic- 
tory, James Wallace, Dr. Needham, 
Elijah Beardsley and Major Christy. 
Sketches of Generals Mason and Anthony 
will be found in the article entitled 
"Bench and Bar" contained herein, and 
the lives of early physicians in the 
article treating on that profession. The 
roster of public officials of the county 
will likewise show the names of many 
who were prominent in city affairs 
during the early period, and so may be 
found in the history of the churches of 
the city more or less information about 
the ministry. 

The folluwing is a list of persons buried 
at Ferncliff who were born prior to 1800 : 



'Name. 


Nativity. 


Birth. 


Death. 


Aae. 


John Bacon 


Connecticut 


1797 


1870 


73 


Adam Baker 


Pennsylvania 


179.5 


1863 


68 


James Barnett 


Pennsylvania 


17S7 


1861 


64 


Samuel Barnett 


Pennsylvania 


1791 


1869 


78 


Henry Bechtle, Sr. 


Maryland 


17S2 


1839 


57 


Geo. H. Benson 


Virginia 


1787 


1877 


90 


Wm. Berry 


Virginia 


179S 


1879 


81 


Geortre Brain 


England 


1784 


1851 


66 


Pr. Georce Brown 


Pennsylvania 


1792 


1871 


79 


Chas. Cavalier 




1787 
179.5 


1850 

18,54 


63 


Oliver Clark 


Massachusetts 


59 


.John Dclsworth 


England 


1798 


1880 


83 


.Tames Foley, Sr., 


Virginia 


1779 


1863 


84 


.fohn Foley 


" 


1777 


1845 


68 


.Tames Hiimnhreys 


" 


1791 


1858 


67 


John Huranhrevs 


Ireland 


1704 


1857 


94 


Riohard W. Hunt 


New Jersey 


1790 


1848 


58 


Michael Kaufman 


Pennsylvania 


1788 


1872 


84 


Mary ICeifer 


Ohio 


179f! 


1849 


53 


Jacoli Kershner 


JIarvland 


1777 


18.53 


76 


David Ivin? 


Ohio 


1799 


1879 


80 


Frederick ICobelanz 


Germany 


179S 


1880 


82 



Nainr. 


Nufiriti/. 


Birth. 


Death. . 


Age. 


John N. Kurtz 


Pennsylvania 


1792 


1852 


60 


David Lowry 


Pennsylvania 


1767 


1859 


92 


Jane Lowry 


\'irginia 


1778 


1867 


88 


Sampson Mason 


New Jersey 


1793 


1869 


96 


Reuben Miller 


Pennsylvania 


1797 


1879 


82 


Thomas Montjoy 


Ireland 


1797 


1866 


69 


Thomas IT. Jloore 


Ireland 


1792 


1872 


80 


Nimrod Morgan 


Kentucky , 
Bishop M.E. Ch 


1793 


1881 


89 


Thomas A. Morris 


. 1794 


1874 


80 


Edmond Ogden 


England 


1789 


1868 


79 


Sarah Paige 


New York 


1799 


1877 


78 


Baker W. Peck 


New .Tersey 


1791 


1873 


81 


Joseph Perry 


Pennsylvania 


1782 


1852 


70 


Phoebe PI. Petts 


New Hampshire 


: 1798 


1877 


79 


Geo. Rabbitts 


England 


1797 


1849 


52 


Rhoda Rabbitts 


England , 


1786 


1868 


82 


Daniel Raffensberger Pennsylvania 


1796 


1877 


81 


Riohard Rogers 


Pennsylvania ' 


1799 


1871 


72 


Rev. John Seys 


Santa Cruz.Mex. 


1799 


1872 


73 


George Smith 


England 


1780 


1861 


81 


Henry Snyder, Sr. 


Pennsylvania 


1783 


1869 


86 


John L. Snyder. Sr 


'. Pennsylvania 


1797 


1867 


70 


Pierson Spinning 


Xew Jersey 


1786 


1857 


71 


Jacob Thomas 


Jlaryland 


1796 


1877 


79 


Joseph S. Wallace 


Kentucky 


1799 


1876 


77 


Anna A. Warder 


Pennsylvania 


1784 


1871 


87 


Rebecca Wertz 


Pennsylvania 


1796 


1878 


82 


Rachel Werden 


New Jersey 


1784 


1860 


76 


William Werden 


Pennsylvania 


1785 


1869 


84 


Patrick Wiseley 




1791 


1881 


90 



Condition in 1828. 

Shortly after Springfield was incor- 
porated as a village (by act of Legisla- 
ture. January 23, 1827), the first complete 
census was taken of which we have any 
record. That enterprising paper, the 
Western Pioneer, in its issue of Septem- 
ber 28, 1828, said: "We have for the in- 
formation of our readers and our own 
gratification taken the pains to enumerate 
the population of our village. There are 
in Springfield 935 souls — 6 blacksmith 
shops, with 15 hands ; 4 wagon shops, with 
13 hands ; 4 shoemaker shops, with 9 
hands ; 3 tanneries, with 8 hands ; 6 tailor 
shops, with 18 hands ; 3 saddle shops, with 
10 hands; 3 bakeries, with 5 hands; 2 
hatter shops, with 6 hands; 3 cabinet 
shops, with 8 hands; 1 tin shop, with 4 
hands ; 3 cooper shops, with 10 hands ; 2 
chair shops, with 5 hands; 14 stores, with 
32 hands ; 4 groceries, with 4 hands ; 1 
paper mill, with 20 hands; 1 gun shop, 
with 3 hands." 



374 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



In addition the census showed 3 brick- 
yards, 27 carjDenters, 1 clockmaker, 3 
butcheries, 2 distilleries, 4 attorneys, 5 
physicians, 2 sign and 1 portrait painter, 
and 1 extensive flour mill. Incidentally 
they mention 4 schools, a courthouse, 
brick jail, 3 churches, six print shops and 
"a post office at which 24 mails are re- 
ceived weekly in elegant four-horse 
coaches." 

Condition i.isr 1832. 

In 1832 the village had a population of 
1,250. There were 180 dwelling houses, 
courthouse, clerk's office, jail, 4 churches, 
one paper mill, one grist mill and one 
carding and fulling mill, one brewery and 
one distillery, 16 dry goods stores, one 
book store, five groceries, 3 taverns, one 
printing office, by which was issued a 
weekly paper. There were five lawyers 
and six physicians. During the past 12 
months (up to that date) there have been 
erected 51 buildings, three of which were 
brick, twenty-one one story in height, 16 
two-story and one three-story. About 
this time quite an impetus was given to 
the growth of the town by the construc- 
tion of the National Eoad. When this 
road was built it was necessary to bridge 
Mill Run on Main Street and thus again 
Main Street had the advantage over 
Columbia in the facilities for intercourse 
between the different parts of the town, 
and the business element became perma- 
nently fixed on this street. 

VnxAGE Days, 1834-1850. 

Spring-field became incorporated as a 
village in 1834, with Edward H. Cumming 
as president and James S. Halsey as re- 
corder. 



This form of government was continued 
until 1850, when by an act of the legisla- 
ture, Springfield became a city of the sec- 
ond class. Within this period the village 
had a steady growth, and when it became 
a city its population was 5,109. During 
its village days not much evidence was 
given of its future greatness as a manu- 
facturing center. True, a number of mills 
of various kinds had been erected upon 
Mill Run and Buck Creek. Wittenberg 
College had been founded in 1845. 

Jeremiah Warder had purchased the 
village of Lagouda in 1830. David West 
had began the manufacture of buggies in 
1837; William Whiteley the making of 
plows in 1840. James Leffel began the 
foundry business in 1840 and James 
DriseoU the carriage business in 1847. 
The Pitts Threshing Machine was manu- 
factured here as early as 1842. These 
were practically all the manufacturing in- 
dustries, except mills, etc. (See mills.) 

During the village period the first rail- 
roads entered the town and gave it a 
strong impetus toward its future impor- 
tance. 

Perhaps more is due to James Leffel in 
this period than to any other one person. 
He built his foundry west of the city, near 
Buck Creek, in 1840. The Barnett Flour- 
ing Mills were commenced in 1841, large- 
ly through the instrumentality of Mr. 
Leffel. 

A woolen mill was likewise started dur- 
ing this period, which afterwards became 
the property of Mr. Charles Rabbitts. 
Within this period, in 1840, the town was 
visited by quite a fire, which consumed 
the entire business block from Fisher's 
west to the Kizer Alley, and also the 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



375 



building located where the Cherry House 
now stands. 

In 1849 Springfield was visited by that 
dread scourge, the cholera, which re- 
moved some of the most enterprising cit- 
izens. 

While the National Road was opened in 
the year 1832 as a thoroughfare, it was of 
its greatest importance during the village 
days of Springfield, as by the building of 
this road Springfield became a point of 
importance on a great thoroughfare. 

Condition in 1850. 

In 1850 Springfield had a population of 
5,109, showing a substantial increase over 
previous years. On the 21st of March, 
by a special act of the legislature and 
upon a vote in favor of the same taken in 
the village, Springfield became a city. 

The first mayor was James J. Hunt, 
and the councilmen were Alexander Ram- 
sey, John G-. Filler, C. D. McMarshall and 
Martin Carey. The following is given as 
a summary of the condition at this time: 

At this time the city contained twelve 
churches, one female seminary, one read- 
ing room and three large halls for ex- 
hibitions, lectures, etc. ; eleven physicians 
and sixteen lawyers, two banking institu- 
tions, seven hotels, seventeen mercantile 
and three book stores, three drug stores, 
five iron and hardware stores, forty-three 
groceries, three bakeries, two dental of- 
fices, one daguerrean room, ten boot and 
shoe stores and shops, nine tailor shops, 
five saddle and harness shops, four stove 
and tin shops, three cabinet warerooms, 
four hat stores, three jeweler's stores, six 
wagon and carriage shops, several black- 
smith and cooper shops and several ware- 



houses, four extensive founderies, one oil, 
one paper, two saw, one planing and three 
flouring mills, two book binderies, three 
printing offices and one publication office 
for a paper printed in Urbana, Ohio. 

City Government. 

Under the constitution of 1852 the legis- 
lature proceeded to classify the cities of the 
state, which work was carried to such an 
extreme that many of the cities were final- 
ly in classes by themselves and Springfield 
became a city alone in its class. This per- 
mitted the enactment of legislation applic- 
able to it only and not affecting any other 
cities in the state. This whole scheme of 
classification was declared in 1902 to be 
tmconstitutional, and the new municipal 
code was adopted in Ohio. Previous to 
this present code and while Springfield 
was in a class by itself, legislation such 
as was desired by its citizens was fre- 
quently obtained. For a long time per- 
haps until the latter part of the eighties, 
the members of the council, as divided 
into committees, looked after various 
street affairs, and it became the common 
saying that when a person desired to go 
to council it was for the purpose of fixing 
up the streets in his vicinity. Owing to 
the city's growth, and perhaps to take 
away from councilmen the temptation to 
favor their own vicinities, boards of pu- 
lic affairs were created, and therewith 
Spring-field chose to have a law enacted 
that these boards should be of a non- 
partisan character, that is, coinposed qf 
an equal number of members from each 
of the dominant parties. 

This condition of affairs was the result 



376 



HISTOEY OF CLARK COUNTY 



of a compromise. There were frequently 
some strenuous times in the council cham- 
ber. At one time William N. Whitely 
spoke all day and all night to prevent the 
enactment of certain measures. At an- 
other time the sergeant-at-arms was spir- 
ited away so that recreant members could 
not be brought in by arrest. Each party, 
when in the majority, was guilty of out- 
rageous gerrymander of the various dis- 
tricts for partisan purposes. On several 
occasions the Supreme Court had to de- 
side the legal status of affairs. Under 
the former law the entire membership of 
the council was elected by wards. Under 
the present law a certain number are 
elected by the city at large and the re- 
mainder by wards. This will probably de- 
feat attempts at gerrymander. Under the 
present system of government the mayor 
is the executive head of the city Board of 
Public Affairs, which has charge of 
streets, water works and various matters 
of that kind, and consists of three mem- 
bers. The Board of Public Safety and 
the head of the Fire Department consists 
of two members of opposite polities. The 
city solicitor is the head of the Legal De- 
partment and appoints an assistant, who 
is prosecutor of the Police Court; the 
police judge presides in the Police Court. 
The Water Works Department is under 
the control of the Board of Public Affairs. 
In addition there is a Hospital Board, 
which is appointed by the Board of 
Health. There is a health officer appoint- 
ed by the Board of Health, as well as a 
dairy inspector. The members of the 
Board of Education are elected, some by 
the city at large, and the others from the 
various wards. 



ROSTEE OF OFFICIALS. 

President of CouisrciL. 

While Springfield w-as under village 
government the highest local official was 
known as president of council, and the 
following constitutes a list of such of- 
ficials : 

Edward H. Gumming lS3i 

W. v. A. Gushing 1835 

Samson Hubble 1S3U 

Reuben Miller 1S37, '38, '39, '40 

John Mui'dook 1841 

William Moore 1S42, '43, '44 

Steven Bell 184-5 

William Moore _( again) 184U, '47, '48, '49 

Mayors of City. 

James M. Hunt 18.50, '51, '.52, '53 

James S. Goode 18.54, '55, '56 

A. G. Burnett 185T. '08, '59, '60 

John C. Miller 1861 

W. D. Hill 1862 

J. J. Snyder 1863, '64, '65 

(A) James Fleming 1866 

J. J. Snyder (again) 1867, '68 

( B ) Jacob R. McGarry 1869, '70 

(G ) G. H. S. Showers 1870 

J. J. Hanua 1871, '72, '73, '74 

Milton Gole - 1875, '76, '77, '78 

Edward S. Wallace 1879, 'SO 

E. G. Coffin 1881, ;82 

Gharles W. Gonstantine 1883, '84 

James P. Goodwin I880, '86 

O. S. Kelly 1887, '88 

W. R. Burnett 1889, [90, '91, '92 

James Johnson, Jr 1893, '94 

P. P. Mast 1895, '96 

John M. Good 1897, '98 

( D ) X. J. Kirtpatrick 1898 

Ghas. J. Bowlus 1899, '00 

.Al. L. Milli^an 1901, '02 

Chas. J. Bowlus 1903, '04 

James M. Todd 1905, 'OS 

W. R. Burnett 1908 

(A) Mayor J. J. Snyder was removed and James 
Fleming was appointed to fill the vacancy. (B) Mayor 
Snyder, having been re-elected, resigned and J. R. Mc- 
Garry was appointed to fill the vacancy ; Mr. McGarry 
was "afterwards elected for a full term. (G) Mayor 
McGarry resigned and H. S. Showers was appointed to 
fill the vacancy. (D) John M. Good, having been 
found guilty of violating the law in making promises 
previous to the election, was ousted from office and T. ' 
J. Kirki^atrick was appointed until the next regular 
election. Mr. Kirkpatrick was candidate for mayor 
and John M. Good was again a candidate and was suc- 
cessful, succeeding Mr. Kirkpatrick. 



Solicitors. 

George Spence 18.53 

A. G. Burnett 1855 

James M. Hunt 1857 

I>. M. Cochran 1859 

J. K. Mower .• 1867 



AND EEPEESENTATIVE CITIZENS. 



377 



i"*! B'ere'"^^ ;:;'";";ii76 ^^'^^n the vUlage became incorporated a 

F- M- Hagan 1879 marshal was elected. James B. Berrj^ 

M. T. Burnham ISSl , n /. , i , . , .