Alsz-r , ri/sra/l 1 -i
Grand Duchy of
^W^ CUFF COli.
W LIBRARY "^
To Her Royal Highness Charlotte, Grand
Duchess of Luxembourg and to her royal family;
to her people who were so sorely wounded by the
oppressor; to those who bore arms and otherwise
sacrificed so that the cherished Four Freedoms
might live, and to those who are carrying on to
restore the stricken country and the principles for
which she stands, this book is respectfully
*5 4 X ■'^
This souvenir book indirectly had its beginning with the visit to
Remsen, m September, 1940, by His Rayol Highness Prince John of
Luxembourg and Pierre Dupong, Luxembourg prime minister and his staff.
The distinguished visitors, on tour of such locahties in which dwell
Luxembourgers and their descendents m appreciable number, plead for
material support of their countrymen who w^ere sorely stricken by the
German invader and were left m dire distress.
Immediately after this memorable visit, officers and members of
Section 14, Luxembourger Brotherhood of America of Remsen, assembled
and organi2,ed a local Luxembourg Relief committee.
The committee started immediately the collection of funds which
were placed on bank deposit, but because of the fact that the Grand
Duchy was temporarily under German occupation and it was clear that
funds or material sent abroad at the time were sure to fall into enemy
hands, further soliciting was postponed to an expected more opportune
That time arrived with the end of the war and the restoration
of the Grand Duchy to its rightful rulers.
The Remsen Luxembourg Relief committee then renewed its efforts
and immediately gained the almost unanimous support of the people of
the Remsen community.
Additional volunteer committee help was obtained for the asking
and a house-to-house canvass for funds was made. Some of the solicitors
ventured into neighboring towns and cities and everywhere were met with
encouragement and substantial support wdiich far exceeded expectations.
The results were of such magnitude that the committee members,
feehna that a word of mere thanks was insufficient, decided to issue this
souvenir book, which includes advertising on behalf of all patrons who
contributed a certain fixed minimum, or n:iore.
All contributed funds, together with profits derived through the
.ale of the souvenir boc^k will, upon completion of the sale of books and
the payment of expenses incident to its publication, be sent by the local
committee directly to the government of the Grand Duchy ot Luxembourg.
Members of the Remsen
Luxembourg Relief Committee
Gustave Alesch, Chairman
John Keffeler, Treasurer
E. F. Kieffer, Secretary
J. P. Beck
Fred G. Eichhorn
Geo. D. Hagar
J. P. Ludwig
Jos. G. Wilberding
The Luxembourgers in America
Natives of the grand duchy of Luxembourg
suing in this country, as well as their descend-
s, have demonstrated conclusively their deep
.^ of patriotism and allegiance to the land of
ar adoption. Down through the years they have
ren a shining example of patriotism and loyalty
' sacrifice, at the same time retaining their
. and esteem for the land of their birth where
first principles of liberty, freedom and mde-
mce were implanted in their mmds and
Luxembourgers fully reahze that the new
ot their choice has been very good to them,
._ they ascribe fully to the American concept
liberty as proclaimed in this country's Declara-
of Independence. They have shown that m
_- loyalty they are ready to fight, and if need
die for their adopted land. At the same time
ir undaunted spirit, enslaved by a savage op-
ssor but unconquerable and courageous in the
js of death itself displayed by their kin in the
ly homeland, fills our hearts with pride. It is
a-efor but natural that those in this country
Ao call it the land of their birth are great-
interested and concerned in the future welfare
their mother country.
It is approximately 100 years since the first
Luxembourg immigrants settled m the various
parts of the United States and here transplanted
tiieir inherited traditions, traits and characteristics.
They very readily adjusted themselves to the
American way of life and it is today estimated
that there are some 300,000 Americanized Luxem-
bourgers and descendents, residing m the United
States of America.
It is a proven fact that the Luxembourgers
have contributed their share in the building and
development of America— of its government, its
institutions; its cultural, educational and economic
structure. Whenever Uncle Sam called on his
dtirens for a service, the Luxembourg people re-
sponded readily, always eager to do something
for the land which gave them the opportunity of
rearing their families as free and independent
But four score years ago the Indian, the
buffalo and the elk roamed the prairie where
Remsen stands today. The nearest railway station
was Fort Dodge. About that time a caravan of
Luxembourgers started from Dubuque and Jack-
son county with ox teams for Vv^estern Iowa. They
homesteaded between Remsen and Alton and
were the pioneers who laid the groundwork in
dveloping Northwestern Iowa into what it is to-
The period between 1880 and 1900 brought
a large number of Luxembourgers directly from
the grand duchy to settle around Remsen. These
early settlers with their German neighbors and a
sprinkling of Irish and Scandenavians ultimately
developed this territory into one of the most
beautilui and prosperous in the state of Iowa. The
mode of living, the promises for the future and
the cosmopohtan spirit that prevailed gave to
these early Luxembourgers a fraternal inspiration
and a feeling of neighborly and brotherly love for
the country and for their new neighbors.
In their new field of activity with its problem
of establishing and developing homes for then
famihes among a varied people m a strange but
promising land made their social contacts events
of real happiness and joy. Naturally, those of a
common homeland found great pleasure m mm-
ghng frequently with their friends from that coun-
try,\nd in time the idea of forming a society of
Luxembourgers found a ready acceptance.
LIKE ATTRACTS LIKE
The many Luxembourgers m Chicago led the
way and organised the National Brotherhood of
America, which spread throughout the country
Section No. 14 of the Remsen Brotherhood
of America was organised on May 14, 1905,
through the energetic efforts of John P. Kietfer
and Michael Treinen. It soon won a substantial
membership and has flourished ever smce. Im-
bued with a true spirit of Luxembourg Iraternai-
ism the members have always been enthusiastic
m upholding Luxembourg traditions; they have
been loyal citizens, steadfast m their reHgious du-
ties and substantial members of the commumty.
The outstanding social events promoted by Sec-
tion 14 are their annual Maifest (May Feast) On
the first Sunday in that month, and their annual
picnic m August, both of which attract hundreds
of people from over the surrounding countryside,
VISIT FROM H. R. H. JEAN
In September 1940 the Luxembourgers of
Remsen were host to His Royal Highness, John,
Grown Prince of the Grand Duchy of Luxem'
bourg. The royal visitor was accompanied by
Prime Minister Pierre DuPong and members of
his stafl. They were on a tour of Midwestern
locahties in which dwelt numerous people oi
Luxembourg nativity and descent.
The visiting group were given a fitting web
come in which the Luxembourgers were joined by
their friends and in which the town officials
cooperated wholeheartedly. A pubHc reception in
the municipal auditorium was attended by hun-
dreds in the immediate territory and many from
surrounding communities. Grown Prince Jean and
Prime Minister DuPong told their friends of the
plight of the httle grand duchy which they were
obHged to flee when the Germans entered and
took over the government and the country as a
whole. They related about the crimes committed
by the opressor; the starving condition of the
people and the wrecking of the country's govern-
mental, social and economic structure, and pleaded
for help to the Luxembourg people, who were
sorely in distress.
BROTHERS IN NEED
Responding to the requests of Prince Jean
and Mr. DuPong a local committee was appointed
with the aim of collecting funds with which to
afford the peo^ of Luxembourg as mm
nomic relief as possible in this manner
time no one dreamed that the atrocities co:
by Hitler" s henchmen would reach the
tions that w^ere later reported: that hall
try would be destroyed.
The Remsen cortimittee set M w:rk
diately, gathering funds by degrees nr_i£ lai
man surrender in August, 1945, arter vihi
work was pressed forward vigoroudy. Sid
mittees were appointed and a housed
canvas was made both in Remsen and in i
surrounding territory as well as in neaitv
and Sioux Gity. The result was ascoundii
few declined to give while 99 percent rES|
some with amounts never anticipated.
THE HELPING H.\NT)
This souvenir book is a result of tfa
paign for funds for Luxembourg Relie:. Ti
this medium a major portion of the rcik
was collected and the w^ork has not
pleted. It IS now estimated that when
promised money is turned in the total
surprising and will be a help to many 2
family in the grand duchy during the appfl
winter and which is but another tes*i
of the spirit of patriotism and gei^ercsi
prevails among the Luxembourgers ars
friends m the United States of i\merica.
Speaking for those w^ho will thus be b<
we say, to the supporters of this project
endless thanks, and may God bless yc^u alT
^'Better to me the poor mans crusty
Better the blessing of the poor,
Though I turn me empty from his door;
That IS no true alms which the hand can hold:
He gives nothing hut worthless gold
Who gives from a sense of duty;
But he who gives but a slender mite,
And gives to that which is out of sight,
That thread of all-sustaining Beauty
Which runs through all and doth all unite—
The hand cannot clasp the whole of his alms,
The heart outstretches its eager palms,
Tor a god goes with it and makes it store
To the soul that rvas starving in darkness before/^
JAMES RUSSELL LOWELL,
The Vision Lif Sir Launfal.
He. Roya! Highness, Grand-Duchess Charlotte of Luxembourg
dariottG, Grand-Duchess of Luxembourg
.^- '^3 1896 d^iughler of William, Grand
^boure and Marie Anne, P""f^^„°^
e of Portugal. On January 9, 1919,
[^ her sister, Marie Adelaide, lo the
sure takins; the oath on January lo
- Colmar Berg. She was., married on
crrf in the City of Luxembourg, to IL L. H.
rmeent. prince of Bourbon de Parme, wlio
«^-.temher 28 189S, at Sehwarzau. To this
hm the following children: H. R. H Prmce
=> IQ-n- Princess EUzal:elh, Decemlier AZ,
Marie Adelaide; May 21, 1924; Pnncess
4u<^ust 2 1925; Prince Charles, August i,
'^ JUix, August 24, 1929.
' \pril 14, 1945, H. R. H. Grand-Luchess
LSembourg relurnod to the countiT alter
exile. Arriving at 4:15 P. M. m General
Eisenhower', personal P^-^ ^ Sanjj^l^ Airp^i^^^
Grand-Duchess was we comedy
Dupong and ether ^™^^'"^%j!": pi^tt Waller, Charge
ment accompanied by Mi. ^.';;^,^S^ JT^-^^^ Brigadier
d- Affaires of the United Statues oi Am e„c g^.|^^^^^
General Lewis, i^^Pre.enting Generai bra j , ^^^^
Deputy Chief of the Military Mission.
Ducl^nide^r fi-t official v^t to the Consultative
Assembly on Monday, April U, 1945.
Our War Presidents
FRANKLIN DELANO ROOSEVELT
PRESIDENT HARRY S. TRUMAN
Is Appreciated by the
FARMERS SAVINGS BANK
Luxembourg In Peace and War
^•\s Germany sank into the night of Fascism,
as the talons of murderous reaction stretched out
Berhn into every corner of the world, every
ent of liberty became valuable and signifi-
cant. Luxembourg constituted such a fragment of
Thus Luxembourg, the smallest of the Euro-
pean democracies, became the fountain-head of the
greatest of constructive ideas — the international
sc-lidarity of all working men and wcmien.
Passionately independent, the Luxembourger
ats tight to his rights. The land is
like the people. The Grand-Duchy
has an area of 999 square miles,
lightly larger than Plymouth
OLVunty, and a population which is
a Kttle under 300,000.
The Grand-Duchy is an inde-
pendent and sovereign state with a
cc-nstirutional monarchy which is
l^reditary in the House of Nassau
and can be handed down to the female Hne
The present ruler is the Grand-Duchess
Charlotte, born January 23rd, 1896, the daughter
of the Grand-Duke William IV of the elder
branch of the Nassau family. She married Prince
felix de Bourbon-Parme. The royal couple have
six children- — two boys and four girls.
The heir to the throne is Prince Jean who
ijeas bom in the chateau oi Colmar-Berg on the
5th of January, 1921.
No capital in the world is quite like Luxem-
bourg Cit3^ It has the pose and poise of Gibraltar;
it has a historic charm surpassed by no other city
in Europe. After centuries of careful and patient
building, its beauty emerges triumphant.
Luxembourg's fighting days are but a mem-
ory. What is left of the fortress only remains as a
monumental tribute to the military genius ol
The fortress of Luxembourg for centuries
was recogni2;ed as the most strategic military point
in northern Europe. The fortress was built on a
solid rock, called the Bock. There exist inside
t±U5 rock on which Luxembourg is built approxi-
mately 18 miles of galleries, tunnels and twisting
passages named with the Spanish word, casements.
It was impossible to dislodge even a small army of
t-?.ir_ed soldiers from these casements except by
starvation. During the air raids this stronghold
proved a safe shelter even against modern bombs.
Luxembourg is blessed by nature with much
beauty. When the country was under the French
rule, it w^as called the Department of Forests.
Even today the mountain chain of the Arden aes is
covered with many miles of dense forests. The
banks of the Moselle are rich with vineyards
which have brought fame to their
cultivators. Neat white -washed
cottages brighten the long valleys
with their lovely variegated gar'
dens, knovs-'n especially for the
beauty and color of their roses. It
seems as though the Creator had
decided to produce a pocket edition
of all the earth can yield, for near^-
by lie the iron ore mines which are
Luxembourg's main scources of employment and
income. Hundreds of acres are covered with
orchards; every square inch of soil is cultivated;
every kind of agriculture thrives.
It is, indeed, a blessed land. The mountains
of Luxembourg, too, with their deep valleys and
rushing torrents, their picturesque scenery, are
second to no place in Europe. During the second
half ot the last century Luxembourg changed from
a sleepy provincial country to a moderni2,ed state.
The people of Luxembourg are a peace-loving
people. They're broad-minded, good natured, de-
liberate, thorough and frank, almost curt in their
manner. They enjoy heaped platters and full
glasses. Luxembourgers could even teach a Hitler
how much richer, more attractive and contructive
are men who embrace the cultural and material
achievements of their neighbors, instead of witV
drawing into the seclusion of racial purity.
In the course of history Luxembourg has
been ruled by Burgundy, Austria, France, Spain
and Holland. All these have left traces on the
face of the country and on the culture of its
But one thing above all — the people of
Luxembourg have learned through all of their
history and that is; never to bow their heads.
They stubbornly love their democracy, their
BEST WISHES TO THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG
AND FRIENDS EVERYWHERE
AHMANN LUMBER COMPANY
Lumber, Coal, Building Material
Cement, Fencing, Paints
PETER J. HO MAN, MGR.
Motor Car Overhaulina
WM. REINERS, PROP.
and their freedom. Yet these people of the
European democracy love their democ-'
less than their native soil and its beauty.
jaxeinbourg"s particularly close relationship
: suriDunding countries is due to three fact-
geographical position, the smallness or the
ry and its wealth.
Wjsh industrial technique and organi2,ation
present stage, no state of its siz^e could exist
day ii it tried to be selt 'sufficient. This is
aalady true of Luxembourg which lies be
as age-old enemies, France and Germany,
"Ittve ^j often turned Europe into a battle-
die world were ruled by reason instead of
g interests oi large powers, ii the
tiie many, instead ol the wealth ot a tew
Qsive, this corner of Europe would long
enjoyed peace under a non-profit- making
there is one song in the world that has
the symbol of a nation, representing all
meant by Freedom and progress it is
on" or ''The Chariot of Fire", the im-
song of Luxembourg. It is better known
refrain, the country's slogan — ''Mir welle
what mir sin'' — "We want to remain what
fr€« and independent, but a member of an
g brotherhood of nations."
Luxembourg is stolidly conservative. How
those words be interpreted?
to agriculture, the greatest industry
extraction and smelting of iron ore. Li spite
anall extent of its iron ore territory Lux-
ranked 7th in 1937 in the steel producing
of the world. In that year it produced
n tons of steel.
Luxembourg is one of the most inter-
stations in the world for it broadcasts
ady in nine different languages. It is the
id most powerful station in Europe, with
Moscow exceeding it in power. Inside the
as well as the transmitting station, every-
is of the most modern style for the station
came into being in 1934. All of the equipment
drawn from the best that is produced in
and. xVmerica, Germany and France.
E HRST WORLD CONFLAGRATION
Luxembourg, although it has had to ac-
iiedge foreign overlordship many times in its
Ky, had never been under German rule. After
Prussian War of 1870, Berlin specifically
g«i itself not to make use of the Luxembourg
^ system for war purposes. In those days
the diplomatic treaties had not lost all value. By a
Hague Convention, neutral territory was declared
Then came the summer of 1914. On June
29th, the Austrian heir and his wife were murder-
ed in Sarajevo. Prussian high officials appeared in
Luxembourg, steadily growing troop concentra-
tions assembled on the right bank of the Moselle.
The people of tiny Luxembourg looked
across their frontiers with increasing anxiety.
They knew that they were powerless. They only
had a few police officers and about 150 policemen
to defend their country against the strongest
armed power of the continent.
'^DEUTCHLAND UBER ALLES''
During the night of July 31st, German
troops occupied the railway station of Ulflingen in
the north of Luxembourg. Just 24 hours later
Germ.an troop trains stood in the main station of
Luxembourg. On August 2nd, Luxembourg was
completely occupied by the German Army and
their Commander-in-Chief published the following
"France has infringed Luxembourg's
neutrality and has begun hostihties
against Germany on Luxembourg soil.
This has been proven conclusively. In
view of this emergency, His Majesty,
the Kaiser, has ordered German front-
line troops, the Ninth Army Corps, to
march into Luxembourg."
The last sentence, only, accorded with the
The dream of peaceful progress had been
rudely shattered. Europe was m flames. The
people of Luxembourg were at a fever's pitch. The
General Staff with the Kaiser, m person, and the
highest dignitaries of the Reich established them-
selves in Luxembourg. The thunder of guns roared
continuously across the frontier. All of the large
factories came under the German War Service
Act. All kinds of goods were commandeered and
draught animals were requisitioned. The people of
Luxembourg clenched their fists in their pockets.
On August 27th, the main German Army
headquarters was moved to Luxembourg. No one
in Europe, not even the highest staff officers or
army commanders, had any idea that the outcome
of the war was decided m the week including
September 5th to 9th, 1914. Those days saw the
battle of the Marne. It was directed from the city
of Luxembourg and it was lost.
Greetings and Best Wishes from
THE DeKALB ORGANIZATION
High Test, High Yielding Hybrid Seed Com
Dealer, Remsen, Iowa
REMSEN, row A
A. J. ERNSTER
T> hen just a few weeks earlier the Kaiser
irdered his troops to cross the Moselle, he
tted a crime far exceeding in import-
tiny country of Luxembourg, whose
alky he had violated. The German Kaiser
rft the domain of Right and had stacked his
ly on IS'hght. Sooner than anyone could have
d. Right liad avenged itself on Might. The
t sword failed on the Marne.
hi those days the conihct seemed endless and
iortunes of war favored Germany. The eco-
CJondition of Luxembourg could not keep
'Wtth the ever growing demands of the High
fiiand. Shortages of raw materials and of
ftial food products and the rising prices made
tseh^es more increasingly noticeable.
THE WORKERS REBEL
In Luxembourg the agitation grew. The
Knbjurger rebelled. Opposition became more
Here and there small strikes took place. In
lember, 1916, 600 metal workers went on
; in December, 1916, locomotive workshop
■s went on a strike; on June 5th the foundry
ETS w^ent on a strike. Soon ten thousand
were striking. The storm was brewing,
peasants everywhere ralUed to help the
sers by furnishing food products for them.
strike spread rapidly and became general.
The workers of Luxembourg, citizens of the
5^ democracy, defied the bristling German
ly and the foreign oppressor recognised the
■rtance of this rebellion.
The strike was mercilessly crushed, and the
^ders were deported to Germany. Many
5 were given heavy prison terms. The rulers
laged to save face. But Germany could no
»er afford to incur the resentment of the Lux-
>urgers, so Germany changed her ruthless
C5 and became far more lenient with Luxem-
Now Luxembourg has the honor of being the
country to have a successful general strike in
middle of a World War. From then on the
tman Army deteriorated rapidly. The Big Four,
i-MIies, got stronger day by day, and finally
rmany had to withdraw her mighty armies, to
ait defeat and to sue for peace.
ITLCOME THE STARS AND STRIPES
After the Armistice in 1918, the American
editionary Forces were moved forward from
Meuse towards the Rhine. They entered the
and'Duchy on the heels of the retreating
German Armies. On the 20th of November,
General Dickson arrived, followed on the 21st by
General Pershing and the 18th Infantry of the
First Division of the American Third Army. Be'
fore crossing the frontier the Commander-in-Chief
sent to the people the folowing proclamation:
"After four years of violation, the
territory of the Grand-Duchy of Luxem-
bourg is now happily liberated. The
termination of the German occupation
has been effected by the American and
Allied Armies as one of the conditions
of the present Armistice. It is now
necessary for American troops to pass
through the Grand-Duchy and accord-
ing to the stage of advance lor their
columns to be quartered in the country
for a certain period of time.
''The American troops have come
into Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg as
friends and will act strictly in accord-
ance with international law. Their
presence will not be prolonged for long-
er than is absolutely necessary, and will
not be a burden to you. The functions
of your government and of your institu-
tions will be in no way encumbered.
Your daily life and business will not
suffer interference and your personal
welfare will be respected.
"It will be necessary for the Ameri-
can Army to have at its disposal certain
services such as railroads, telegraphs and
telephones as well as perhaps pubHc
services to meet the needs of accomoda-
tions and transports. In addition, the
supplies of materials used will be paid
for after a fair assessement has been
made. It is understood that you will not
commit any act of aggression against the
American Army nor give information or
assistance to its enemies. You will act
always in accordance with the instruc-
tions given by the American Command-
er for the security of his troops and lor
your own protection.
John J. Pershing
American Expeditionary Force''
The Commander and his suite were received
in the grand ducal palace. It was a picturesque
meeting of the new and the old order when the
tall American general and the young Grand-
Duchess stood on the palace balcony watching the
F. J. GROFF
HEATING - PLUMBING - TINWORK
Shop Phone 94
Residence Phone 207
from the Physicians of the
LE MARS CLINIC
step to the time of their Yankee airs. Luxem'
purg liad turned for a time into a fairyland for
t Yankee troops.
MESSAGE OF GRATITUDE
The following telegram was sent to President
'iUon in Washington, D. C, "Citi2,ens of Lux-
imbourg desire to express to you the gratitude of
fisembourg for having given us Liberty. We
to further express our admiration for the
lean soldiers who have come to our relief."
1^ lean while Americans of the 2nd army were
amping over the Graiid--Duchy on their way to
Rhine without touching the Capital and
re ever>"where cordially and enthusiastically re-
The European situation was very unstable
the peace treaties had not yet been signed.
t Big i"our, Lloyd George, Vviison, Clemenceau
od Orlando held the future of Luxembourg m
-MIR WELLE BLEIVE VAT MIR SIN^^
A Luxembourg delegation met with the
Ipuncil of Four, and by an impressive demonstra'
m a>nveyed the desire of the Luxembourgers to
d:imtely remain an independent state. Luxem-
burg for the Luxembourgers was their slogan.
hey meant by this, not isolation, but that tiiey
ki not wish to be incorporated into any foreign
On September 28 th, in a referendum the Big
!bur decided that Luxembourg should remain an
odependent state with an economic union wdth
■aiice and Belgium. Many details had to be
ttled between these countries.
The treaty w^as finally concluded for fifty
■5. Relations between Luxembourg, France
sad Belgium could not have been better. During
critical times, Luxembourg had put forward
right of self' determination and had won. Last-
g peace, contentment, and prosperity were in
ight for Luxembourg.
THE WOLF PROWLS
Things were not going so well in the rest
at the world, however. Right was losing ground
y by day. Leaders of nations failed to reali2;e
■fbat was brewing in central Europe. Hitler ruled
■^.-"■ianv and with his blustering talk intimidated
I ^^^nd and France. Those who held peace and
freedom dear were almost in despair. The Treaty
of \"er5aille was ignored. Fascism gained ground
by leaps and bounds. Hitler took back the Saar
district. Austria w^as next taken over; then
Czechoslovakia. The ruler of Germany became
cra2,y wath power. Other nations objected and'
warned Hitler, but with him Might was Right,
so his armies marched into Poland. Poland defend-
ed itself and begem begging for help from other
nations. At last, England took heart and France
For the second time in a c;uarter of ? century
a world v/ar had broken out. In the west for
almost a year both sides waited. Then in May,
1940, all hell was let loose. On one side by crimin'
als and on the other side by the short-sighted.
IN SHEEP'S CLOTHING
The people of Luxembourg, like the Belgians,
the Hollanders, the Danes and the Norwegians,
did not reali2,e the seriousness of their danger. But
on May 9th, the blow fell. The Germans invaded
Luxembourg for the second time in twenty-five
years. The same excuse was used by Hitler that
was used by the Kaiser in 1914, that British and
French troops were ready to invade Luxembourg
and that the Germans had to march in to protect
But this invasion was considerably more
terrible than the first one. Parachutists feh from
the sky, motor troops clattered madly through
villages and towns, bombing planes spread fire
from above, dead and wounded lay on the stones
beneath smoking ruins in many villages. It was
the day of doom and not only in Luxembourg.
DEATH, DESTRUCTION, MISERY
In no time Hitler's troops had occupied all
important points. Enormous masses of troops
swarmed across the country. Almost a third of the
people had left house and home and had fled.
Many succeeded in reaching French soil. Every
car and motorcycle was snatched by the Germans.
Everything that was not riveted or chained was
taken. The soldiers cleaned out everything of value
to them in return for which they gave worthless
German paper money.
Behind them came the civil authorities, the
SS, the Gestapo, corruption and the Gauleiter
Simon. The picture changed. Parliament was dis-
solved, the Constitution was declared null and
void, use of the French language was forbidden,
the Gestapo was in control. The groans and
shrieks of the tortured could be heard every-
where. The horrible details of oppression, the
stubborn resistance of the Luxembourger is his-
tory. The most determined resistance came from
the workers. Their humor and ready wit never
left them. They were controlled, impoverished,
AV AD E -TO - A/VE AS4J R E
CLOT H E S .
There's nothing so satisfying
Well Tailored Suit
Made to Your Own Measure
Keith Hats E 8^ W Shirts
Star Brand Shoes
Servus Rubber Footwear
Golden Fleece Leather Coats
North Country Wool Jackets and Mackinaws
Baker's Work Clothing
Holeproof or Cannon Hosiery Gloves by Sendra
Western Maid Undergarments
Purrey Blankets Gilbrae Fabrics
Quadriga Prints Butterick Patterns
'THE STORE THAT APPRECIATES YOUR BUSINESS'
ed bv ^pies and agents. Their struggle
opdess but Hitler and all ot his agents
le able to kill the spirit of the Luxem-
LUXEMBOURG IS TRIED
i was proven beyond any doubt when
reed a census in October oi 1941. Every
had to give his or her nationality but
_mks of the questionnaire only Luxem-
15 excluded as an answer.
Germans were blind enough to imagme
•nty of the people would put their
f down as German. But 96 per cent m
and 99 per cent m the villages put m
m spite of intimidation and prohibit
small country valued freedom more
«ai aU the advantages which might have
by belonging to the German Reich. But
ms did not give up.
Gauleiter Simon declared clumsily in a
rch. 'Trom this day the Grand-Duchy
^ourg is a Province of the German "Reich
'one of its inhabitants is a German citizen
ct to mihtary service. The youths be-
the ages of 18 and 22 will be called
THE MASSES RESIST
to the next day the world learned of a
[ strike in Luxembourg.
L£member, the German Armies were not
I the defensive on the East and South, ihe
I dictator had not yet fallen and the German
f was not yet trembling. The workers ol
febourg dared to take up the fight against
any s military and economic might, ihey
%S5 not merely for bread, but tor Freedom.
their mass protest against compulsory an-
tbs^ efforts of the Na^is to belittle these
and to ascribe them to foreign agents were
■u. It was useless to hush the matter, bacto-
t,cre at a stand-stiU. Peasants refused to make
tries The students joined in and so did the
%r A whole nation, led by its workers,
p m> asainst domination by a foreign power
movQmeni spread into the mining district ot
khiftlingen and m a few hours over the
z country. . . . ,
Th& Xa-i^ declared a state oi siege througlv
the countr>^ They began military courts,
led out '^O executions, confiscated property.
deprived many men of their citizenship and
organized mass deportation to Germany. Hie
terror machine was in full swing. _
On September Sth, the state oi siege was
ended The court martials ceased their activities.
The strike had been trampled down, crushed even
more brutally than it had been tweiitydive years
earlier. But crushed also was the Gauleiters he
that the people of Luxembourg wanted to bebng
to the German Reich or to be part ot the New
HORROR UPON HORROR
Up to now the occupying authorities had
tried outwardly, at least, to keep up some pretense
of decency. They now vented their wfth a^f^
their vengeance on the rebellious people. With
every refinement of terronzation they started a
transfer of population. About fifty tamihes were
visited by the Gestapo each week. 1 he nead of tiat
house was ?iven three hours to bring his hou.e
fnto order and to say farewell to his anuly, his
house and his home. All behaved like heroes. No
tears betrayed their despair.
Families which were spared deportation were
over-whelmed with other cal^nnities Chidlren
were torn from their parents^ ^''?i'^°" undren
Gauleiter they had failed to bring their ch d.n
up in the spirit of National Socialism. The second-
a^ schools were sifted out and the young boys
were sent to German training camps. Theic thc>
were drilled into obedient German subjects.
Perhaps even worse was the fate of d.e yoiu,
airls They were forcibly taken from the sheitei
^ftheir families and driven beyond the confine ;,
not ly of their country, bat of their womanly
d°aiX The mothers in Luxembourg read with
hoC'inthc official newspaper that it w^ an
honor for their daughters to share in Geiman
national service and to return to their homes as
In such a country it is comparatively easy to
organize united acts of resistance but leguU.
uX-around was more difficult because ot its
^e The young women and the young men ot
Luxembourg dJed evei-ythuig to ^^ ^^
rules and the German uniform. They found it
extremely difficult to hide. Many of them we, e
ca™sooner or later. And yet they kept ahve
the spirit of resistance,
THE RED LION
Anyone who helped patriots to escape or
provided civil clothes or food for prisoners ot war,
Greetings and Good Wishes
THE JOHNSON CAFE
MRS. CLARA JOHNSON
FRANK'S SERVICE STATION
The Motorist's Friend
D-X GAS, GREASES, OILS
refugees the secret frontier paths, or
to tile new organization called the Red
Loxembourg, did it with the full know-
dK faa that if he were caught lie would
po Hintzert, a concentration camp twenty
KXth-east of Trier and that frightful
awaited him there.
z proudest men of Luxembourg met in
barracks of Hint2;ert. There were work-
jHOtessors, intellectuals and industrialists,
axidents and officers, iheir head jailer,
J Leader George Schaaf, who had been
ed Ivan, the lerrible, and their senior
lie W ippe, henchman of Barbarism, would
a nightmare memory to his victims, long
:r's Reich had crumbled into dirt and
>ng after he and his hkes have received
^ "reward" for their crimes.
nds have passed through the hell of
S^ y^Kis of the fortunate ones who was able
sent a report to the world. He finished
lines, "My words are written in blood.
strengthen our arms and our hearts for
ot judgement. It will come, the day when
call them to account. Till then. Brothers
! RXX.. strike and strike hard."
THEN CAME THE DAWN
iDd the day did come. The Americans and
landed in Northern France and in a re-
jfy short time had chased the Na2,is back
^ France, Holland, Belgium and through
bourg. They made a stand on the Moselle
the" border of Luxembourg and their
enerai von Runstedt with his crack troops
a desperate counter-attack and for a little
■succeeded in driving the American troops
^ Luxembourg and back into Belgium. Ev-
ery inch of ground was bitterly contested, but Ger-
many was doomed. With heavy reinforcements
and unhmited supplies the American Army defeat-
ed the Germans. They retreated through Luxemr
bourg once more, destroying everything by tire
and bombs. Fully one-half oi Luxembourg was de-
stroyed, but Luxembourg was free and the people
thanked God and the Americans for their free-
The Nazis fighting spirit was broken. They
finally had to surrender to the Allies, uncondition-
ally. Now the Nazi ringleaders who caused such
tremendous destruction and such terrible suffer-
ing have to stand trial m a world court, and will
be punished for their crimes.
Thousands of Luxembourgers had volunteer-
ed for the French and Belgium Armies and had
fought on the side of the Allies in both World
Wa^s. Many of them made the Supreme Sacri-
fice. The people of Luxembourg had to submit
to mighty Germany, but never did any one of
them line up with Germany to wm the war for
THAT IS LUXEMBOURG
That IS Luxembourg, only a dot on the
World Adas. Its inhabitants are only a drop in
the sea of humanity that is Europe. Its workers
are a mere battaHon m the mihion strong army
of their class. These people are Europeans in the
best sense of the word, as they have shown in
this testing time. This country, so tiny in size, is
great m the power of dignity of its conviction.
Luxembourg emerges from this war as a
small country which the Nazis could not break.
Will it receive the rew^ard to which it is entitled?
Humbly they ask Almighty God to permit
their homeland to live in a state of peace and
harmony as Christian Civilization provides.
Our Best Wishes to the People
of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
and Friends Everywhere
Groceries, Meats, Bakery Goods, Fruits, Vegetables
Del Monte, Richeliue and Monarch Canned Foods; Swift 8C Co.,
Armour 8C Co. and Cudahy Meats; Bunte Bros. Candies
ELMER C OHLENDORF, ROBERT H. SCHNIEDERS
Greetings and Good Wishes
Dr. Frank J. Hussey
D. V. M.
fraud Duchy Has Impressive Religious Customs
Luxembourg is definitely Cath'
; Cm inhabitants there are about
-■. '^c;. the remaining 5,000 being
- .: Jews. Nevertheless the minority
- . _■ jm of worship without the least
1^ shc.w that the first Catholic church
-chy was established at Weimer-
^£^ ,car'3S4, A. D.
m\) most important rehgious celebra'
%t Octave during the first week in May,
.. -; Procession at Echternach on the
-- . C _:-.:oc( )St. The Dancing Procession
.: .-__^ iJr :jrigin 700 years ago when the
^ienced a serious epidemic of epilepsy,
dance. All known medical resources
ss to check the disease and as a last re-
jple implored the intercession of St.
Ihe appeal was not in vain: the disease
jrord was a bishop of the diocese of
lany, to which Luxembourg be^
It time. St. Willibrord rebuilt the
_ Echternach after its destruction dur^
t, and his remains rest under the high
LNACH DANCE PROCESSION
an act of atonement and penance on
those afflicted with epilepsy, St. Vitus
j convulsions, the Luxembourgers maug-
- - -. : :ity of Echternach, what is known
...ch Dance Procession. Contrary to
:--. :-. ihat might be gained from the ti-
iC£ procession is a dignified, solemn
__^dure, the true nature of which is
^ describe because of its rehgious sig-
Religious functions begin at nine o'-
^_2e morning with High Mass and ser-
Jc Bishop of Luxembourg, the Abbot c)f
i and other prelates always attend this
Fdance itself is used as the means of ad'
_ m the procession to the religious cere"
: consists of three steps forward and two
_rd so that five steps are required to
. distance of one step, and the entire
pilgrimage in this manner is slightly
one mile. It usually requires about
three hours to complete the distance. During this
time several bands play continuously, all using
the same music. Faithful as the people have been
in chnging to this unique custom for 700 years, it
is interesting to know that for the Dance Pro-
cession the musical score used today is the same
that was used in the original celebration, and
more remarkable still is the fact that m the grand
duchy this music, apparently held sacred to this
ceremony, has never been used on any other pub'
The major portion, by far, of all pilgrims in
the Dance Procession, are Luxembourgers. How-
ever, many persons come from across the bord--
ers to take part, bringing the total number of
pilgrims to as high as 18,000, with as high as
40^000 spectators lining the path of those taking
active part. Only once in these many years, and
admittedly for no justifiable reason, has the
Dance Procession not been held, and history re-
cords that immediately after this failure there
was a noticeable increase in the number of cases
of epilepsy and St. Vitus dance.
So much for the dance here described. The
spirit in which it is performed is for the visitor
an abiding memory; it expresses a sincere Catho'
he faith, an inahenable reflection of gratitude and
simplicity of truth.
Luxembourg the unkncjwn, the tiny grand
duchy hedged in by France, Belgium and Ger-
many, with an almost impregnable rock as its
capital, has been attacked again and again, has
known all the horrors of successive sieges which
have been bravely resisted and has time and a-
gam been the victim of maurauders as its cities
and hamlets were captured and sacked.
In 1666 at the end of 30 years of war in
which England, Spam, France, Holland and Ger-
many were the principals and during which the
grand duchy was time and again used as a battle-
ground, the misery of its people was intensified
by starvation and pestilence which threatened to
depopulate the country. In their agony and dis-
tress the people, led by the civil and clerical au-
thorities turned to the Blessed Virgin Mary, the
Comforter of the Afflicted as their patron saint
and in an elaborate ceremony a statue of the
Greetings^ Kind Wishes
Dr. J. E. McGOVERN, M. D
With Hopes for a Bright Future
The HATZ MARKET
Meats, Groceries, Vegetables, Fruits
Bakery and Dairy Products
N. H. HATZ MATHEW HATZ
Mother was enthroned in the principal
of Luxembourg City. Here the populace
;ly offered special prayers of petition
Pestilence and its consequent deaths
a sudden halt and enormous _
were reaped soon thereafter,
-. _- the faithful that their
■_i been heard.
gratitude of the people in^
:_:.eir devotion to the Mother
and ever since, almost 300
tbey have continued their devo^
her at the shrine of the church
>tre Dame in the city of Luxem'
;. Each year on the first Sunday
ly the solemn octave of the i^„
\'irgin is begun in the Gathe-
if Luxembourg where the statue
\liraculous Madonna is ex'
CHI the beautiful votive altar
three centuries ago.
g the first week in May
s from the grand duchy, Ah
jum and the Rhine province
,to the city singly, in pairs, in
and in processions, continuing
the week to worship at the shrine of Mary,
wend their ways from then- outlying
s the pilgrims lift their voices in song and
to the Blessed Mother, invoking her aid
Icrcession for physical ailments or other forms
fetress or for some worthy benefit desired,
Comforter of the
Statue in St. Mary's
chux'ch, Remsen, imported
from the Grand Duchy
and donated by Mrs.
Anna Kieffer and
and many are the cases on record, supported by
sworn statements, that the desired aid was granted.
On the second Sunday the city pays its trib-
ute to the Miraculous Patroness. Solemn High
Mass is celebrated by the Bishop of
Luxembourg in the forenoon. In th^
afternoon there is a solemn procession
through the streets of the city. In this
the CathoUc grand duchess and hei^
family, the principal officials of the;
duchy and of the capital city, all
societies, schools and churches are
^ represented, as are the mechanics^
J and artists' guilds, the clergy and the
I public, forming a magnificent proces-
sion through the principal thorough-
fares, ending at an improvised altar in
the public marketplace. Here the
bishop, on behalf of the city and the
country, renews the people's dedica-
tion to the heavenly Mother and im-
plores her continued protection, after
which the procession returns to the
cathedral, the Madonna's statue is
replaced on the votive altar and the
solemn Te Deum ends the festival
I J ^^ftgaft^^t.
The celebration, carried on with profound
solemnity and dignity, is beautiful to behold as is
its purpose, and those who have been privileged
to take part m this religious festivity declare that
its full significance cannot be otherwise realiz,ed.
Symbol of Service to the American Farmers
We have a Complete Line of Machinery and Parts
Peters Implement Co.
PHONE 91 REMSEN, IOWA
Progressive Farmers Cooperative
is happy to contribute to the
We are happy also to receive shipments of
livestock consigned to
THE SIOUX CITY MARKET
The Real Luxembourg
BY GEORGE D. HAGAK
THE REAL LUXEMBOURG had its he-
^omng in the 10th century under the Luxem-
g Counts of the Ardennes, and remained
nee and independent as a country until 144S
rhen it was united with Burgundy. In 1482 it
5 regained by the Hapsburgs, but passed to the
jpan^rdf in 1555.
In 1684 the French conquered Luxembourg
Dftress, but were forced to return it to Spain in
698. It came under Austrian sovereignty in 1714
ixi remained so until 1795 when it was annexed
r France for the second time.
In 1815 at the Vienna Congress Luxembourg
35 created a Grand Duchy and was united with
£ Netherlands through the bonds of the same
jrnasD,', in what was termed a personal union. In
year of 1839 its independence was again re-
tored, so from 1890 until 1940 the 300,000
people who comprised the Grand Duchy lived
>eaceable and Christian Hves. It was m 1939
bey celebrated their 100 years of independence,
■Jy to be driven to strife and desperation when
y invaded their country in 1940 and with
disregard for all treaties or rights of justice,
md against a nation that was unable to defend it-
kM against aggression, and Germany's second of-
fence in 25 years.
Many lives were lost and homes destroyed in
underground warfare for the freedom in which
iiey believed. Their land was pillaged and citizens
were taken as hostages to serve the interests of
jennany in any way she chose. Luxembourg never
akered in her efforts of underground resistance,
md this Godd'eanng people had their prayer of
Idiverance answered on the 10th day of Septem'
, 1944 when American troops finally drove the
_.st from Its prey. This reborn freedom has a-
gain welded Luxembourg even more closely than
n?er before, and the love of freedom is personified
the character of their people who have ever
Been known as peaceful, prosperous and ambit'
ious, and a visit to the flowering vineyards in the
Sauer and Moselle valley is convincing evidence
that this sturdy race of people once called merry
folk have toiled to make their nation fertile. Long
hours of toil in the iron ore district in the south
and intensive farming in the fertile fields of the
Gutland have built character and their behef in
God has built the formation of their morale.
Let us hope that the historic flag, The Red
Lion, will waft in the breeze henceforth from the
historic walls of the old fortress to the width and
breadth of the nation. So be.
THE REAL REMSEN
Written for the Luxembourg May Feast
by Geo. D. Hagar
We've gathered here to celebrate,
you're all on friendly ground;
Cause everybody's luxembourg,
when picnic day rolls around.
It does not matter who is king,
or queen or prince that day;
Cause everybody's luxembourg,
and all are out to play.
The feast is on, the beer is cool,
and everyone is gay;
They're out to greet their neighbors,
cause we're luxembourg that day.
We'll welcome guests from far and wide,
we'll kneel v.dth you to pray;
Come, be a Luxembourger, wnth us
just for a day.
And when the boys return from war
and battles all have ceased,
We will all, be Luxembourgers for a day of
prayer and feast.
Best Wishes and
Our Continued Good Will
WICTOR HARDWARE STORE
Jos. T. Wictor - Frank R. Wictor - Gilbert Wictor
THE VOGUE THEATRE
Mr. and Mrs. Allan Banks
The All-year Parade of the Best in Motion Pictures
He Gave Remsen Its Name
Dr. William Remsen Smith
Remsen was named for Dr. William Remsen
idi, a pioneer Sioux City physician who be-
an extensive landowner in this territory. Dr.
ikii was a close friend of John I. Blair, the man
had charge of construction here for the
rf?uque ci Sioux City railway company. Mr.
first suggested the name Smithville but Dr.
a, thinking there were so many Smiths in
: world, chose to name the town after his own
[idk name — hence Remsen.
Dr. Smith came to Iowa from Red Bank'
N. J., in 1856. He walked from Council Bluffs
to Sioux City since there were no railroads. He
became receiver in the U. S. Land Office at Sioux
City and became well acquainted with the people
settling around the Remsen site where he owned
640 acres of land. In later years he was wont to
tell his children of the beauty of the virgin prairie
m this area. Dr. Smith left $300 to the town fo|-
the establishment of a library. ;]
. V^ CUFF COLl^.
> LIBRARY V
smi un, w*^
The Pioneer General Store
I P. BECK COMPANY
Established in 1882
By Michael Beck, Native of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
In Continuous Operation by Four Family Generations
- Present Firm Members -
J. p. Beck, entered business with his father, Michael Beck, in 1882
A. M. Beck, Since 1920 H. J. Beck, Since 1939
Incorporated in 1922
Member of the Grocers' Wholesale Co. (Briardale Foods) Des Moines
J. P. Beck, senior member of the J. P. Beck Co., is a charter member
and member of board of directors. j
Member of the Northern Jobbing Co. of St. Paul, of which the
senior Mr. Beck was an original organizer in 1914. J
Nationally Advertised Brand for More Than 50 Years
BRIARDALE, G. W. C, TALL CORN FOODS
MARX-HAAS CLOTHING FOR MEN
HART SCHAFFNER dc MARX CLOTHING FOR MEN
MUNSINGWEAR FOR MEN, WOMEN and CHILDREN
ARMOUR 8C CO. MEATS
THE BEST IN DRESS SHOES
WOLVERINE WORK SHOES
The J. P. Beck Company
REMSEN - GRANVILLE - POCAHONTAS
'■w I tn 't f
PLATTED IN 1876— INCORPORATED IN 1889
.-■/ai platted by the Iowa Falls ^
Railroad and Town Lot and Land
. August 28, 1876, but little was accom-
i-a-ay of business until 1881, when Frank
in a general store. The same season
R. Blake, who erected the Blake House,
as the Monhoven House.
[■fira: to deal in farm implements at Rem'
".: :':nn of Rathmann fe?
T_M first hardware was
.".r. H. Rathmann, The
was started by Samuel
1882 a furniture store
by Hubert Notheni.
)re Wrede opened the
'of drugs: "Doctor'' Ba'
\v patent medicines one
Klonner, who is said to
the first residence, now
Charles Peters and occu'
I, \i, Myers, also gave the
first saloon which he
the thirsty in 188L
rev ^ Company were the first real grain
Is: Remsen. Townsend Brothers, of Le^
trted the first lumber business in the place.
Klartin Seba kindled the first fire in a
; forge at Remsen and wielded the
his glowing forge many years. John
started the first wagon-repair shop
L The Bank of Remsen w^as started in
local newspapers were published there
-Die Remsen Glocke and The Remsen
spring of 1889, Remsen was incor^
le "History of Plymouth County" re-
"The place was incorporated in order
to numerous riots and rough houses
I teen uncontrollable without a municipal
^-•rh the case, but hastily adds, "A good
- r m 1889 and the beginning of good
;. all that makes a town desirable soon
rporation necessarily went the first
A-hich resulted as follows: Mayor,
g: recorder, Edward S. Lloyd; treasurer.
Z. Oilman and councilmen, Michael Scheel, Ham
Atkinson, John Fisch, Hubert Nothem, Peter
Brucher and George Ebrecht. The postmaster at
the time was A. C. Morgan.
The first general merchandise store in Rem-
sen was opened by Frank Miller m 1882, who
later disposed of his holdings to
Michael Beck, and moved to CaU-
fornia. The extensive store of the
John P. Beck Co. is the offspring of
Remsen's original store. A little
later, stores were opened by Nich-
olas Kass and Sam Wentz;. Stephen
Ellsworth was the first grain buyer.
Remsen's first amusement place
was known as the Remsen opera
house, built m 1885 by Carson
Witt and liberally patroni2,ed for
L4NG ^ number of years.
JUSTICE OF PEACE
The first justice of the peace was C. R.
Baker, and among his successors may be named
' L. B. Page, Asmus Enckson, H. Jost, J. P. Kieff-
er, Ed S. Lloyd, Frank Wengler and B. Bunkers.
Crime and misdemeanors are and always have
been at a very low mark in Remsen and no-
where m the state is there to be found a more
The first bank in Remsen was opened in
1885 by W. D. Creglow, and two years later the
Farmers Loan & Trust Co. was organised. It lat-
er became known as the German Savings Bank.
In 1902, M. R. Faber founded the Farmers &?
Merchants bank, which was merged with the
First National bank in 1904.
Present banks are the Farmers Savings bank
and the First Trust ^ Savings bank.
Remsen today, in 1945, has 75 substantial
business enterprises and professional people, and
with its population of 1,200 has nearly 300 fine
homes. The business and residential property are
well-kept and for its neat and substantial appear-
ance the town has a widespread reputation.
Besides its neat and substantial homes and
business places, its well-kept lawns and the clean-
liness of its streets which have made Remsen
''talked about", the general appearance of the
G. G. HUEWE
Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Elving
Joseph G. Elving
MR. AND MRS. F. T. DUNIIi
Here's to a
I If enhanced by its paved streets. With the
tic-n or a few blocks in the outskirts, all
5 in Remsen are concrete paved, with as--
covering in the business district. There are
miles of paving.
The modern water system extends through'
tiie town as does its sewage system, with the
ti of a few outlying blocks which will be
improved in 1946.
Remsen is one of the few Iowa small towns
ring its own electric plant. The magnificent
tat, built in 1933 and enlarged later ior a total
t of $125,000, serves the entire town. In spite
0^' electric rates the plant paid for itself in 11
Is. Its operation is supervised by a board of
sfcees appointed by the mayor and approved by
; council, whose direct management is under
H. Holtgrewe and a crew" ol assistants — -all
The $50,000 municipal building which in-
des a gymnasium-auditorium used by the pub-
and the two schools, kitchen, council chamb-
^derk's office and public library, was built in
The Remsen postoffice, with Elmer T. Trei-
as postmaster, went into second class two
rs ago and according to stamp sales, on the ba-
of which postoffices are classified, it will re-
there for years to come. Clerk in the post-
re is Marcel W. Matgen; sub-clerk is Miss
1889-1891— Nick Lang
189M892— F. J. Jost
1892-1893— Sam Went;;
1893-1896— M. Scheel
1896-1898— Frank Reichmann
L898-1899— Nick Miller
1899-1903— E. Jorgensen
1903-1907— John Fisch
1907-1909- Fred Rubie
1909-1920— J. H. Ahmann
1920-1930— Barney Bunkers
1930-1934— J. F. Gamerdmger
1934-1937— G. M. Myers
1937-????— lohn Keffeler
LaVonne Beelner and the four rural mail carriers
are Harm Dirks, Albert J. Haverkamp, S. M. Fid-
eler and John G. Schnieders.
Remsen has a businessmen's organi2,ation
known as the Commercial Club, active in civic
Present officials for the town of Remsen
John Keffeler, Mayor
Councilmen — Chfford A. Dorr, Frank R.
Wictor, N. H. Hat^, C. M. Myers and A. D.
Clerk — George Wess.
Treasurer — S. R. Nothem.
Assessor- — N. B. Homan.
Jos. C. Wilberding is the duly elected con-
stable; justice of the peace is Barney Bunkers,
former councilman and mayor.
The history of Remsen discloses a long Hst
of faithful police officers, notably the late Henry
Niggeling who served for many years, and J. P.
Muller, still residing here, but retired.
The present force consists of three trust-
worthy men: Leonard Wevik, who came to Rem-
sen in 1929, has been on the force for 10 years
and is on duty during the day. Ross Harnack,
member of a well-known local family, returned to
Our Heartiest Good Wishes to
THE ROYAL FAMILY
THE BRAVE AND VICTORIOUS
GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG
Our Compliments to
THE LUXEMBOURG RELIEF COMMITTEE
Our Pledge of Continued Loyalty
OUR COUNTRY, OUR TOWN, OUR FRIENDS
McGregor bros« & compa>
Edw. L. Uoyd, Manager
Building Material and Coal
MUNICIPAL AUDITOPaUM, GYMNASIUM, OFFICIAL OFFICES
in 1940 after having been on the police
Santa Cruz,, Cahf., for eight years. He
f&i since 1940 with the exception of from
942, until October, 1943, when he was
[V€ of absence to do his bit for Uncle
the army and saw much active service in
tican campaign. He is on night duty. Sec-
. on night duty is Peter Schuver, who has
the force since 1942 but who during the
- ^^^as off duty for several months because
ss and w^ho is now back on duty.
'. police force serves also in a custodial
for the municipal building.
idequate fire protection is provided by the
Remsen. Atop the town's foremost ele-
■^ a 75,000'gallon steel reservoir which
ample water for all homes and w4iich
ss water in case of fire and which is sup'
fced by twro deep wells with three electric
located on tow^nowned land north of the
tire department, a welborgani2,ed and
aic group of volunteers, is equipped with
dem motor fire trucks with all accessor"
liding a chemical fire-fighting unit.
>th trucks are used for fire calls within the
is used in answering country calls with'
of six miles. This track was purchased
(olar subscription, wqth nearly 100 per
the farmers subscribing.
l&e department has been able to cope with
with one exception, the catastrophe of
1956, which will be retained in the mem-
c\-eryone hving here at the time. The fire
broke out in mid'afternoon of the nation's birth"
day, with a brisk wind fanning the flames and in
the midst of a drouth period. The fire, starting
in the business section, wiped out more than a
half milhon dollars in property withm five hours.
The fire departments from Alton and Remsen
came to the town's assistance but the combined
forces of the three departments were of little a'
vail until the bla2,e met with brick and concrete
and steel'Sided walls. Simultaneously, a fire di'
saster was under way in the town of Oyens, four
miles to the w^est, and the Remsen firemen were
unable to be of assistance there.
The fire department is the proud possessor
of some of the anticjuated fire-fighting equip"
ment used a half century ago, most cherished of
which is a hook-and-ladder vehicle, fully equip"
ped, hand made many years ago by Theodore
Fideler, local blacksmith. This vehicle at the time
equalled many a factory "made product in every
Present officers of the fire department are:
Chief — Peter Treinen.
Rural Service Chief — Jack Zimmerman.
Assistant Chief — Leslie Peters.
Secretary- — James P. Muller.
Treasurer — O. N. Frank.
Other members — Roman Groff, Andy
Schmitz;, Robert Schnieders, O. H. Nit2;schke,
Frank Schefstad, Harry Trit^, Jos. V. Fisch, E.
H. Holtgrewe, John H. Wiebersch and Elmer
All members are faithful in attendance of
meetings, held once each month in winter and
twice monthly in summer when one practice
meeting is held each month.
F. B. WILBERDING
— and —
320 East 4th St.
N, B. HOMAN
At Your Service
Look to the Future
and Trade with
Welding and Car Ser\i
New and Used Parts
The Illinois Central Railroad
Guided the March of Progress
^ the story of a railroad — the lUinois
■and its coming to a virgin land — north^
the time of the first settlement in the
0*5 until the arrival of the first Illinois
in 1870, there was little development
Jley of the Big Sioux, although there
Itered settlements. This in spite of the
my and the richness of its soil. Beauty
however, did not make up for the
outlet to market, and there was nothing
the natural aversion to the fierce
the prairie country.
the first train chugged and snorted
Sioux City from the east in July,
tiiat was changed. Now there was a
the abundant crops of the valleys of
the Floyd and the Little Sioux.
hy open to the markets of the east, and
county, which had attracted only
sons in the fourteen years since 1856,
quadrupled its population in the ten
tween 1870 and 1880 and doubled it
tn 1880 to 1890.
DUBUQUE & PACIFIC
back to the coming of the railroad,
grant made to the state of Iowa to
construction of railroads was approved
Bgton on May 15, 1856, and one of the
lines was designated to run from
across the state to Sioux City. This
made to a company called the Dubuque
c Railroad Co., most railroads at that
for many years thereafter including the
i^acific" in their name to indicate their
to reach the Pacific coast. The line was
oostructed by the Iowa Falls ^ Sioux
HOQpany, later becoming a part of the
^ Sioux City Railroad and eventually
?€at lUinois Central System, stretching
Missouri river to the Gulf of Mexico.
ring railroad custom, the line from
b to Sioux City was begun at both ends
ame time, although it was necessary to
fls from St. Louis up the Missouri river
to Sioux City. Rails for the eastern
work could, of course, be brought out
ikago on trains to the end of track at
k. By October, 1869, the line from Sioux
City had reached Meriden, while the line from
the east had arrived at Webster City — just over
a hundred miles apart. When work began again
in the spring of 1870, stimulated by the flood of
immigration stirred up by news of the line's
progress, construction went forward rapidly, and
on July 27th of that year the eastern and western
sections of the line met at a point near Storm
As soon as it could be accomplished, stations
were established all along the line. LeMars, Rem-
sen, Oyens, Merrill, Hinton and James were
established in Plymouth county, Remsen itself
being platted m 1876 by the railroad company
and named after Dr. William Remsen Smith, a
prominent physician of Sioux City.
With an outlet for their crops assured, set'
tiers flocked into northwest Iowa, and the popula-
tion of Remsen township alone grew from 645
to 1,271 in five years.
LIFE-SAVER IN GRASSHOPPER YEARS
The railroad soon showed that it was not
alone a mover of goods, but that it had other func-
tions almost equally important. The years between
1873 and 1879 are still known in Plymouth coun-
ty as the "grasshopper years", and it was during
those years that the Illinois Central played its
new role— that of the Hfe-saver. Driven to des-
peration by the annual stripping of their crops by
hordes of grasshoppers, many of the farmers of
Plymouth county and northwestern Iowa literally
lost everything and made plans to leave in search
of a new home in a location not plagued by the
winged destroyers. Realising what this would
mean, the lUinois Central shipped feed, grain and
supplies into the atflicted section and in addition
inaugurated land excursions to Iowa from the east.
These measures, taken in combination, infused
new hfe into western Iowa and carried the settlers
through the hard times.
In those days it was grasshoppers in summer
and bli2.2ards in winter. Here apin the railroad
shone — this time as the life-line for fuel and food
for communities isolated by snow-drifted roads.
It might be pointed out in passing that the Illinois
Central had still not given up this role entirely,
as in the terrible winter of 1935-36 when for many
days during January and February, 1936, Ply-
mouth county depended entirely upon the "iron
horse'' for its food and fuel.
TRACTOR DIVISION BRANCH
Sioux City, Iowa
Modem Farm Equipment
— sold by —
FALKE MOTOR CO.
JOS. C. WILBERDING
Clirysler and Plymoul
Used Car Exchange
SEE US FOR A SQUARE DI
Office Phone 57
Residence Phone 93
C. J. BELLMYER
REMSEN, lO^ A
REMSEN, lO^ A
— for —
Livestock and Poultr
Hoc^ Cholera Serum ana
mention has been made of the land
Is of the Illinois Central. These excur-
Evi^jped originally to stimulate growth in
feem states, were extended to the western
the railroad with such successful results
<pK>te from a book published in Dubuque
'The people of the Northwest, and ol
particular, owe the Ilhnois Central a hist-
s bcjok, entitled ''Through Iowa via
Ikntral Railroad from Dubu. ue to Sioux
a veritable treasure house of information
lem Iowa of sixty years ago, written in
^ery st\*le of Victorian dnys. There follows
ion frcm the introduction to the work:
pe Illinois Central Railroad, with its 2874
Itzac^, is not only the oldest, but one of
ft thorcughly reliable and safe hnes in the
^ striking characteristic of this company is
(■; determination to develop the towns
y adjacent to their lines, and the efforts
ird by them to accomphsh this result.
iBmple. a few years ago when grasshoppers
istated the country tributary to the west
Centrars system, and the farmers, dis'
and disheartened, were beginning to
emigrating to some more favored locality,
yis Central promptly came to their aid,
ished fuel and feed at low prices, and the
year inaugurated a system of land seek-
5ns that advertised far and wide the
Br ot the soil and the future possibilities of
Northwest. People began to visit the
and in less than two years the price of
:d from 300 to 500 per cent."
tA^nLIAR TO NORTHWEST
le x^Titer of the book enthusiastically pro'
the names ol General Manager E. T.
eral Passenger Agent A. H. Hanson
t General Passenger Agent J. F. Mer-
^ as familiar to the Northwest as Wash-
jlincoln and Grant to the world at large.
ath the completion of the line from Iowa
I ^yux City, and later from Cherokee to
alls, division head juarters were established
bkee and remained there until shortly after
pfcen the Cherokee division ceased to exist
t hnes included became a part of the Iowa
b embracing all Illinois Central lines west
berioo. Division headquarters were again
in 1931, this time to Waterloo, and the
present division includes all of the 1,000 miles of
railroad stretching west of Ghicago^ — a territory
larger in itself than the total mileage of many
REACH HIGH PLACES
The names of the men who have served as
superintendents, chief dispatchers or train masters
on the west end of the Illinois Central include
many who reached a high place m the service
of the railroad. They include such men as W.
Atwill, formerly chief train dispatcher at CherO'
road; L. A. Downs, once superintendent at Fort
kee, who later became vice president of the rail'
Dodge and in after years president of the IlHnois
Central, and C. F. Duggan, whose rise to the vice-
presidency included five years as superintendent
at Waterloo. They know western Iowa from per'
Lying like an arm and hand across northern
Illinois and Iowa, with fingers reaching into Min-
nesota, South Dakota and Nebraska, the Iowa
Division of the Illinois Central taps the richest
food-producing area of the world. No railroad in
the United States passes through a territory pro-
ducing a greater variety of the necessities of life
than does the Illinois Central System. Beginning
with the fisheries and rice fields of southern
Louisiana, traversing the great cotton-growing
area of the Mississippi Delta, through the coal
fields of w^estern Kentucky and southern Illinois,
to the great steel mills of Chicago and west
through the "bread-basket of the nation" with its
corn, hogs and dairy products to terminate at the
great meat packing cities along the Missouri river,
th,; Illinois Central truly "has everything."
SERVES FINE COMMUNITIES
There are no cleaner, more prosperous com-
munities on the lines of the Illinois Central than
the towns of western Iowa. Sioux City, gateway
to the gram fields of the Dakotas: Remsen, live-
stock selling and feechng center, with its fine
municipal auditorium; Cherokee, retail hub of a
rich farming district; Storm Lake, beautiful city
on one of Iowa's finest lakes — these and many
more create a steady flow of rail traffic that places
Iowa high as a revenue producing state.
The lUinois Central is proud to serve west-
ern Iowa, proud of its record of 75 years as the
route to market to the "cattle and hog belt" and
proud of the thrifty, progressive Americans who
have provided the traffic that has made the service
Our Best Wishes
Bakery and Dairy Products
GEORGE W. KRAMER
Oldest Luxembourger Resident
Having settled on a farm m the Remsen vicinity 65
rears aao Mr. Thill is the oldest Luxembourger, m point
of residence, m the community. A charter member o
Section 14, Luxembourger Brotherhood of America, he has
akvavs been faithful in attendance of meetings, is an ottice
holder and one of the section's loyal members.
OUR CONTINUED GOOD WILL
AND COMPLIMENTS TO
THE GRAND DUCHY
the Luxembourgers of Remsen
We thank the many who showed their
good will toward us while operating the
Myers Cafe, before and since.
Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Myers
Joe Lang, Prop.
Tots & Teens Shop
The Remsen Public School
^Some of the early records of the Remsen
It school district apparently were lost
atinuous records on hand at present in the
Secretary O. H. Huewe date back only
). However, there is a record of the first
to graduate. This was m 1897 when four
received diplomas — Henry Lindemann,
B. Noethe, Edward Hoeck and Lucy E.
ice then many have received their hon'
gone forth into the worlds of commerce,
re and the professions.
first school building was a small frame
which was wrecked by the tornado of
Another frame building took its place, but
pi the present brick structure, modern in
i- respect, was erected.
1900 the officers were; Theodore P.
president; Nicholas Kass, secretary, and
Spiecker, treasurer. Teachers that year in-
i: John Vanderwicken as principal, and
Kc»enig. Dell Conner, Anna Donahoe and
1902, Hubert Huewe was the new treas'
the school district, and R. T. Scott joined
ig staff as principal. The next school
brought in Katie Neumann and Rosa
as teachers and three school directors:
Scott, John Groth and Charles Rosburg.
1904, John Groth became president of the
and new teachers added to the staff were
Hays, principal, Emma Cook, Anna Kieffer.
Drd was kept of 1905, but in 1906 the new
C5 were William H. Branch, Mane Berg-
and Dot Earnest.
Ife-ectors of the school district in 1907 were
\ GrC'Ch, Henry Ahmann, Theo. P. Scott,
^ Rosburg and Peter Lauters. The teaching
comprised of J. H. Wescoat, principal,
i4ar>- Harnack, Anna Kieffer, Annie Dona-
lid Dot L. Earnest.
Dieodore P. Scott was president of the
i district in 1908, and the rest of the staff
ptd the same. In 1909, Theodore Moeller
)r- Jastram joined the force of directors and
Kth Schneider, Emma Lang, Eli2;abeth Kass
iary Cocklin became the new teachers.
laima Atkinson was added to the teaching
staif in 1910, and 1911 brought several changes.
Peter Arens and Frank Wengler were elected" di-
rectors and Prof. F. E. Stamper, Maria Wiese,
Emma Harms, Regina Wenner and Janet Grieve
replaced the old teaching staff. New teachers in
1911 were: Eva Wagner, Elizabeth Kass, Clara
Homan, Mae Cocklin, Margueritte Ulrich and
In the school year of 1912, Elsie Wilhges,
May me McCoy, Lily Stort^ and Ahce Minten
were new teachers. In 1913, C. J. Ahmann was
elected new secretary of the district, and M. A
Mieras elected treasurer. Directors that year were
L. H^Harnack, Frank Wengler, Charles Rosburg
and Peter Lauters. New teachers were fustice
Georges and Flora Hewicker.
George Ki-amer and Henry Feller began ser-
vices as directors of the school board in 1914
and the next year LiUian C. Kramer was added to
the teaching staff. In 1916, M. H. NiggeHng was
appointed treasurer of the school district to fill
the resignation of M. A. Mieras. New teachers
that year were Eleanor Niggehng, Marion Cool-
ey and T. B. Ryan.
President of the school district in 1917 was
F. A. Sievers, wliile Henry Feller became one of
the directors. The teaching staff that year includ-
ed: Gregory Edres, T. B. Ryan, LiUian C. Kram-
er, Marian C. Cooley, I. K. Sweeney, Justine
Georges, Mayme McCoy, Frances Hoffman.
George W. Schroeder was elected president
in 1918, and John A. Johnson was added to the
staff of directors. The next year M. H. Niggehng
resigned as treasurer and Frank Spiecker was ap-
pointed to the position. U. J. Barbel served as
superintendent that year, and Elsie Williges as
principal. New teachers were Mattie Kollman-
sperger, Mae E. Monnett, Catherine Whalen,
Sylvia LukenbiUe, Edna Sorenson and Frances
NEWCOMERS TO STAFF
M. H. Niggehng continued to serve as treas-
urer m 1920, and new teachers were Belle B. An-
drews, Charline Shelp, Henriette C. Stemer, Ma-
bel Schroder and Elta Santner. In 1921, B. R.
Haroff, Irene Mathis, Delia Mulder, Ethel Schro-
FIRST TRUST 8c SAVINGS BANK
Member Federal Deposit Insurance
Mi5. Florence Keeton and Marcelinda Alesch
t Bewcomers to the teaching staff.
Dsectors in 1922 were: G. W. Schroder, L,
Oman, Henry Feller, Peter Lauters and Chas.
ben. Teachers included: E. W. Reading, sup-
tendent: James W. Burns, Eli2,abeth Speidel,
rf Schroder, Nelle CuUen, Marcelinda Alesch,
I Schroder and Ruth Reily, teachers.
PRESIDENT IN 1923
Preadent of the school district m 1923 was
.. "^iftram. New director was Frank Weng'
- - . : -^Ilne Kramer, Adelaide Lloyd and Oliv^
- were amono the new teachers. In 1924
ACS ''A\ Burns became superintendent of the
"tZ-:- school, and Frank Whaley, Lillian Mc^
- d Edna Martini were newcomers to the
7,--:ee new teachers — Elsie Knapp, Olivia
Iter? and Helen Ocker — came to the Remsen
1925, and were followed the next year
- n Arnold and Grace Williams. A new
:n 1927 was M. M. Griepenburg, while
itr. .\nderson, Ella Moeller and Wilma Gun^
Iueere newcomers to sign teaching contracts.
STAFF OF 1928
Eh:. A. H. Jastram continued as president of
district school board in 1928, and C. J. Ah'
and M. H. Niggeling continued to perform
duties as secretary and treasurer, respective-
_-ectors that year were Dr. A. H. Jastram,
_ Lauters, L. S. Homan, Henry Feller and M.
Griepenburg. The teaching staff w^as com-
of: J. W. Burns, superintendent; Lena
iler.' Edith Anderson, Nelson Arnold, Ella
, Olivia Lauters, Adelaide Lloyd and Wib
f The staff remained the same m 1929, but m
\0 two new directors— F. C. Stearns and Ed-
td liovd came in, as did four new teachers:
H^aret' Goodwin, Elizabeth AmHe, Ine2, Hauff
lUiith Eichhorn. O. H. Huewe was elected
retard' of the board in 19S1, and George C.
lultz was appointed new principal.
In 1932, Genevieve Ferris, Helen Hunter
I Gladys Willenburg were added to the teach'
r staff. No other changes were made until 1934
len Dr. J. E. McGovern became a new director
i Melva Zeller and Elizabeth Melson began
ching. The next change came m 1936, when
is^lia >vlansheim and Theda Jane Childs signed
ar teaching contracts.
In the school year of 1936''37, Principal Paul
L Grier was added to the staff, as were Irene M.
r "■ '"" "■ "■
Last school year Anne Bechtelheimer began
teaching here and the rest of the staff remained
Dr. Jastram remained as president in 1938'
39, O. H. Huewe as secretary and M. H. Nig-
geling, treasurer. The teaching staff was: Super-
intendent J. W. Burns, Principal Paul Grier and
teachers RosaHa Mansheim, Dora Nykvist, Robert
Mecklenburg, Irene Blount, Gladys Willenburg,
Adelaide Lloyd and Anne Bechtelheimer.
PRESENT STAFF j
After 23 consecutive years Dr. Jastram re
mains president of the board of education; Mr.
Huewe still is secretary and Mr. Niggling is the
treasurer. All have given long and faithful set'
vice. With Dr. Jastram as chairman are the the
following board members; Edw. L. Lloyd, L. S.
Homan, Harry Duggan and Elmer H. Holtgrewe.
Present instructors are; Supt. Earl R. Steph-
enson, Mrs. Thelma Walker, Paul Deist and Miss
Marjorie Lang in the high school, and Mrs.
Stephenson, Miss Eva Myers, Miss Dorothea
Becker and Miss Mary Frances Murphy in the
Dora Boers, Mary Rose McCartan and Edna
Landseidel joined the staif in 1940. The follow-
ing year Mrs. Clifford Dorr taught to filL a va-
cancy as she has done several times, always de-
pendable and willing to help in an emergency.
That year also brought Mr. and Mrs. Earl R.
Stephenson to the school, the former as super-
intendent. Others to join the staff in 1941 were
Norma Jean Fuesler and M. A. Sargent.
In 1942 the new teachers were Ginevra
Mathey, Martha Seymour, Eva Myers, Dorothea
Becker and Mrs. Stephenson, and in 1943 five
new names appeared in the list as successors to
as many who resigned — Pearl Simms, Lester Jen-
kins, Mrs. Joe Hey, Jr., Tra F. Vail and Mrs. Omar
In 1944 Miss Marge Lang accepted a high
school position, as did Mrs. Thelma Walker, who
formerly resided here and who returned to fill a
vacancy while her husband served overseas in the
army medical corps. This year, 1945, as successors
to two of the 1944 stafF, Miss Mary Frances Mur^
phy and Paul Deist are included m the corps of
The district has a modern brick school build-
ing, is well equipped with up-to-date Home
Economics and Science departments and a valuable
library. The athletic department uses the muni-
cipal gymnasium and boasts strong boys' and girls'
basketball teams coached by Mr. Deist and Miss
Greetings, Best Wishes from
The Man Who Can Sell Real Estate
FRED G. EICHHORN
He has been successful in business ever since he started.
That's Why He
Straightforwardness Has Been'succLfu
He SELLS farm and city property. The scores of farms which he has
for sale are located in Iowa, Minnesota and South Dakota.
IN BUSINESS 40 YEARS
SPECIALIZING IN REAL ESTATE 34 YEARS
DORR'S PRODUCE 8c FEEDS
LIVESTOCK FEEDS AND REMEDIES
Poultry, Cream, Eggs
ESTABLISHED IN 1934
Clifford A. Dorr, Proprietor
Saint Marfs School
In 1887, even before the town of Remsen
s mcorporated, St. Mary's was established. The
isb. had been orgamz^ed six years earlier under
leadership of Kev. J. Gilchrist, who Uved at
rai5 and came to Remsen to take care of the
irual needs of the people. Despite the fact that
._ pioneer CathoUcs met with frequent revers-
they tenaciously clung to their faith. Their
church, three years after it was built, was
_yed by a tornado.
Undaunted, the parishioners immediately
a new church under the direction of Rev.
F. X. Schulte, who had succeeded Father
;st and who became the first resident pastor.
1887, one year after the dedication of this
.^d church, which was somewhat larger than
first, the first parochial school was opened.
Thi? school consisted of one room directly
the choir loft in the newly dedicated
^■diurch. Drop doors, so devised that they might
hooked up on Sunday, separated the body of
__ church from the improvised school. Ingenuous
carpenters contrived to turn church pews into
de^ by attaching drop leaves to the hacks of
^.^5. A table served as a teacher\s desk. Herman
B.„jthe was engaged as teacher, and St. Mary's,
Remsen 5 Cathohc school, had begun. The interest
and enthusiam of the Catholics m the religious
education of their children is evident from the fact
that the enrollment for the first year was forty.
FIRST SCHOOL BUILDING
One year later, in 1888, a $4,000 school was
erected. This building, which was 36x62x20 feet,
stood north of the
ste of the present
sdiool. It consisted
of two stories, four
rooms on first floor,
and four rooms on
the second floor.
The education of
the children was
then entrusted to
the Sisters of Saint
Iow*a. In September
of that year three
Sisters, Sister Mary
Cc'lette, later the
\fother General of
the Order, Sister
Mary AngeHna, and
Sister Mary HumiHana took up their residence
in the unoccupied rooms of the new school. Of
these, the first two were the teachers, and the
latter did the domestic work. Because of the large
enrollment a third teacher, Sister Mary Blondina,
was added to the staff after the Christmas holi-
days. The course of study at this time included
Religion, English, German, reading, arithmetic,
civil government and drawing. Geography and
United States history were soon added.
The school was not graded. According to
the prevailing ograniz^ation, a pupil remained in
the first room until he had arrived at a certain
age. He then automatically was promoted to the
next room, where again he spent a specified time.
When the pupil had attained the age of twelve
or thirteen, the age at which he also received his
first Holy Communion, he was graduated.
The enrolknent of the school steadily in-
creased and it soon became necessary to open more
school rooms and to add to the faculty. This coiv
dition necessitated the building of a home for the
Sisters. Accordingly a nine-room convent was
built south of the school This was connected to
the school by a small passage way so that the
Sisters could go to and from school without going
out of doors. On the second floor a small chapel
was provided for the Sisters.
Then all the rooms in the school building
were used for classes except two rooms on the
second floor vv^hich were retained as dormitories
for boarders. In September of the year 1902,
Sister Mary Petro-
n e 11 a ( Wienieke)
introduced the ninth
grade with a view
of having pupils
quahfy for a teach-
er's certificate. The
next year another
grade was added. In
the spring of 1904,
three pupils, Elizia-
beth Kass, Laura
Bruecher, and Clem
uated from the two'
year high school
In the fall of 1905
another year was ad'
ST. MARY'S CONVENT HOME
Greetings and Compliments
Furnishers for the Complete Home
|li£ school course and consequently in 1906
e oo graduates. The firat class to be grad-
(rom the three-year course were Regina
pr, Dorothy Meinert, and Albert Kass.
Mary De Chantal took charge of the
dbool in September of 1907. Though there
ftSi only twelve pupils and but one room
teacher for the high school, she, never-
15, introduced second year algebra and
ry. It was not until 1910 that another
\ and then only a part-time teacher, was
d for high school.
liter the original school had served the
for twenty years, it was condemned as a
3^. And again tlie people gave generously
possible the erection of the present
building, which occupies the south-west
of the St. Mary's Church block. This build-
a two'Stor)^ brick structure with, originally,
SQms and a large hall on the second floor;
5 and connecting wardrobes on the first
and tw^o class rooms, a large dining room
a^cben, boys' and girls' toilet rooms, and a
boiler room in the basement. Not all the
in the building were at once used ior school
. but additional space was provided for the
able growth of the enrollment. Two of the
cm the second floor were used as dormi-
ai^tember of 1910 marked the opening of
in the new building. This was a definite
it»ward in the history of St. Mary's school.
oew building provided book-cases for in-
iti|; librar}^ and a science room was construct-
the newly purchased $200 worth of
be equipment. Previous to this, science equip-
exisced practically only in name for the sum
of such apparatus was a tall jar and an ex-
^pump- — and these were the property of the
est was immediately aro;.ised in the ex-
of the hbrary. The pupils took an active
m the campaign for more books. Programs
^x>nsored to raise funds, and one year the
sdK)ol alone succeeded in collecting more
$500 for book purchases.
The course of study was again enlarged
this memorable year. Physiology, botany,
GJimomics were included. Since the fourth
s added at this time, the class which would
beoi graduated in 1910 was retained and
iass of 1911 was the first to be graduated
the neMt' schooL There were seven members
dass: Mae Kelley, Elisabeth Nothem,
Blanche Sudtelgte, Ida Sudtelgte, Justine Georges,
Edward Brucher, and Henry Kass.
Four years later, in 1915, home economics
v^^as introduced. The following year bookkeeping
and solid geometry were added. In 1918, through
the influence of L. S. Ho man, one of the first
parochial school graduates, arrangements were
made with the Remsen public school for the
junior boys of St. Mary's to enroll in manual
training class at the public school, thus saving the
expense ot dulpication of equipment and of
A third teacher was added to the regular
staff in 1920. The next year, Mr. Stephen Foster,
State Superintendent and Inspector of Schools,
visited the school with a view to accrediting.
E.jUipment and classes were found satisfactory.
The accrediting was delayed until the fourth year
was added the follow- in g year. Mr. Foster urged
parents as well as pupils who were finally con-
vinced that all pupils must attend four years in
order successfully to complete the high school
AN ACCREDITED HIGH SCHOOL
The class of 1922 was the first, then, to be
graduated by receiving credits which entitled them
to enter any state institution of higher learning.
Members of this privileged class were: Margaret
Wictor, Gallista Ahmann, Monica Dalhoff,
Ceceha Dickmann, Horence Greenen, Sybella
Wellendorf, George Foxen, Clarence Groff,
Clarence Offermann, and Edmund Treinen.
By 1924 the enrollment had increased to
such an extent that all the rooms in the building
had been converted into school rooms. Each
grade was taught in a separate room. Even the
basement class room and the large hall had to be
turned into school rooms.
As the enrollment increased, and as the
teaching load was also proportionally increased,
an arrangement was made for the junior girls to
enroll for home economics at the Remsen pubHc
In 1934 the first glee club was organiz^ed; the
following year uniforms for the high school girls
The fourth high school teacher was employ-
ed in 1933. Each year more equipment in the var-
ious departments and more books were added. In
1936 the libi-ary was reorganized. The same year
the senior class of the high school pubHshed the
first volume of St. Mary's Hi-Lite, the school
Distributors of . .
OLD STYLE LAGER BEER
Sioux City, Iowa
Best Wishes from
DON DISTRIBUTING CO,
218 Douglas St.
Sioux City, Iowa
iL it was also during this year that the high
|2 for the first time entered the diocesan
li CGCtests in the declamatory and extenipc
In 1959 the high school was received into the
y amd became a member of the DUCAM,
union of all Catholic Action groups un-
§aay. The first president of the High School
ity was Ethel Kestel '39. hi 1941 the Sodab
as best to the DUCAM m the annual spring
Entacm which brought about 2000 sodalists
EfliseD for a gathering in honor of the Blessed
In 1940 crowded conditions made it nec'
f to convert the school auditorium into class
Is. Rt. Kev. Msgr. M. A. Scheme! planned
directed the partitioning of the auditorium
five rooms, two on the west and three on the
I, with a corridor between. The north rooms
ided a science laboratory, a classroom, and a
iercial room furnished with fifteen type-
S&, Remington and Royal; the west room,
iw homeroom and a library.
'With the introducticjn of commercial courses
^40. a fifth teacher was added to the faculty.
. The athletic program of St. Mary's had ab
fe been Hmited by lack of gym facihties. In
JD the new Remsen Municipal Hall was made
pable for St. Mary's pupils on alternate days
week, and from then on basketball teams
<kfiiute practice schedules. Rev. Father Fried^
present coach, Clarence Bunkers '26, Elmer
Tremen "26, and Harold Weis are to be commend-
ed for their efforts to build character through
The launching of a new project, the SM.H.
Reporter, the school paper, was a marked achieve-
s-ient of the year 1944-45. The girls enthusiasticab
ly approved the change from the one-piece blue
u-iiforrn to white blouses and jumpers.
WHEN WAR CAME
St. Mary's School took an active part in the
war effort. The pupils sold bonds and stamps m
school, the total sales purchasing a jeep and an
ambulance. Eighty-seven of her graduates are
enrolled in the armed forces. Richard Treinen '40,
ube first St. Mary's alumnus to lose his life for
his country, was killed in an air plane crash. The
unly St. Mary's boy to die on a foreign battle
front was Roman Kosse '42, who was killed m
action February 1, 1945. The third causality was
Walter Ruden '39, who was killed in an air
plane crash before an assignment overseas.
The record of the achievement of the people
of St. Mary's parish in providing a CathoUc edu-
cation for their children from the humble begin-
ning m 1887 to the present day notes the gradua-
tion of forty classes, the first being the class of
1904. There have been 564 graduate, 359 girls
and 205 boys, among whom are priests, sisters,
an.d men and women in the various professions,
each working in his own field for the greater
honor and glory of God.
Greetings and Good Wishes from
POWER FARM IMPLEMENTS
THE ALUS-CHALMERS LINE
FORD MOTOR CAR AGENCY
REPAIRING AND OVERHAULING
Member Town Council 22 Years
During these years the town built its
- — Municipal Electric System, Paved All
Streets, Installed Water System and
Sewage Disposal System
Director Farmers Savings Bank
Manager Remsen Tank Line
Company 32 Years
Present Office Headquarters
Member Christ Lutheran Church
Present Chairman of Board
IN BUSINESS HERE 41 YEARS AND STILL OPERATING, AT
FROM YOUR CO-OP
Remsen and Oyens
SMilitary Honor Roll
Bock, Harold E.
Bunkers, U. H.
De Lay, J. J.
Elvnig, J. G.
Foss, Dr. Robert
Frank, E. H.
Gordon, John J.
Hagar, George Jr.
Ho man, Gordon
Hussey, Frank Jr.
Remsen and Oyens
iMilitary Honor Roll
Kiefer, Eugene Jr.
Kramer, Wm. Jr.
Louts ch, Vernon
Mitchell, Howard E.
Moeller, Alfred Jr.
Niehoff , PhilHp
No them, Hubert
Offer man, Donald
PhiUips, F. H.
Porter, D wight
Rub a, Mathias
Remseii and Oyens
^Military Honor Roll
Steffen, C. C.
Treinen, Charles N.
Walker, Dr. L. W.
Oyens Military Honor Roll
Bortscheller, Edward Hames, Orville
Bornna, Roy Hames, Raphael
Brandenburg, C. Hansen, Alfred
Brandenburg, Hansen, Lawrence
Lawrence Heuert^, Wilbur
Mob n in g. Me rl an d
NOTE- Tho foregoing list of World War II service men furnished through the cooperation of Picper
Post No. 220 American Legion and Diekraann Post, Veterans of Foreign Wars, of Remsen, Iowa
Greetings and Best Wishes
- from -
GRAIN, FEEDS, COAL
BUYERS OF CREAM
ST. MARY'S CATHOLIC CHURCH
Built in 1903-1903
i \ 1H
ST. 3IAKY'S PAROCHIAL SCHOOL
Built in 1910
Best Wishes from
C. J. MILLIGAN & SON, Inc
Sioux City's Leading
HAY AND FEEDS
Dairy Feeds, Sugared Cattle Feeds
Hog Feeds, Poultry Mashes
SIOUX CITY, IOWA
St. Mary^s Church
cne hi.mderd years after the close ol
kV/anr.nar)^ war, St. Mary's church. Rem-
present pastor is Rt. Rev. Msgr. M. A.
vn^th Rev. Leander Friedman as assistant,
beginnings under the leadership of the
L J- Gildirist of Marcus, Iowa. The land, com--
a block, was purchased from the Iowa
Company for $700, and the first church,
building, was built in the spring oi 1882.
dorch was destroyed by a cyclc/ne on June
5. After its destruction work was almost
:ely begun on a new church.
. F. X. Schulte, assistant at St. Mary's
Dubuque, Iowa, was appointed the iirst
pastor of the struggling- St. Mary's parish
fall of 1885. Services on Christmas of that
e the first to be held in the newly-con-
Kted but unfinished church. When the church
fTDally completed the next spring, it was dedi-
xL By that time the parish had increased to
(Hie hundred famihes.
An addition to the church, cc^nsisting o\
isepcs and sacristy, was built in 1891. In 1895,
aeumatic pipe organ, having fourteen stops and
pipes, was purchased from and installed by
fem Schuelke and Company, Milwaukee,
sa>nsin. This year, 1946, the organ will have
red the parish fifty years.
Since the parish grew rapidly, the lamilies
obering about 200 at the turn ot the century,
were considered for the building of a new
ch, the present one. The following men were
scanted members of the biLilding committee:
F. X. Schulte, chairman; F. G. Meinert,
surer; J. F. Kass, secretary; W. J. Kass, assist^
5ecretar>^ and Anton Wintx, G. H. Bunkers,
Ep-h Reker, Peter Arens, Albert Mens en and
Tlie architect, Guido Beck of Dubuque, sub-
atEd the plans, which were approved by the
negation. Work of the construction was be-
in the summer of 1902 under the contractor,
Tappendorf of Rock Island, Illinois. Rt. Rev.
flip J. Garrigan, bishop of Sioux City, assisted
many priests of the diocese, laid the corner-
on April 21, 1903.
The dedicaticin ceremony w^as held Septem-
9, 1904. A Pontifical High Mass opened the
emonies; Rev. Hoppmann of Ottumwa, Iowa,
re the sermon. In the afternoon, Rt. Rev. J.
iweback, bishop of LaCrosse, Wisconsin, per-
med the dedication ceremony; Rev. W. Halpin
Algona, Iowa, deHvered the sermon.
The total cost of the church approached
$56,000. The church, of brick construction, is
152 feet long; 62 feet wide; 50 feet high with a
tower 156 feet high. The transepts are 79 leet
wide; the winter chapel is 60 by 70 by 12.
Rev. F. X. Schuhe, the first resident pastor,
resigned in 1923; Rev. A. A. Bausch, during
whose pastorate St. Mary's convent w^as built,
was administrator until 1925, when Rev. H. J.
Schleier w^as appointed pastor. He served until his
death on December 18, 1936. During his ministry,
the present rectory was built, and the church was
redecorated at a cost of $6,000. Rev. J. A. Roder
was the next pastor, residing until November 17,
1938. Rev. M. A. Schemel succeeded Father
On September 17, 1940, St. Mary\s parish
was honored by having its pastor raised to the
rank of domestic prelate with the title of monsig-
nor. Rt. Rev. Msgr. M. A. Schemel wnis one of
the nine priests invested on the occasion. Monsig-
nor Schemel continued the program of parish im-
provement begun by his predecessors. The out-
standin'7 improvement was made in the school,
which was remodeled to accommodate the intro-
duction of commercial courses in the CLirriciilum.
The High School Sodality was established under
the direction of Monsignor Schemel.
The assistants to the pastor w4io have served
here include: Father John Hein^elmeier, 1898-
1903; Father Herman f. Dries, 1903-1904; Father
Christopher Huelshorst, 1904-1907; Father Jo-
seph D. Fisch, 1907-1913; Father John Thoenis-
sen, 1913-1916; Father B. Loeffelhoh, 1916; Fa-
ther George Theobald, 1916-1919; Father Joseph
Underberg, 1919-1920; Father James B. Grete-
man, 1920-1925; Father John Hausmann, 1925-
1928; Father P. J. Mattes, 1928-1931; Father
Wilham Bucholt^, 1931-1934: Father Edward
Fandel, 1934-1940: and the present assistant.
Father Leander Friedman, 1940-
The present congregation, consisting of about
400 families, includes approximately 2000 souls.
The achievements of the Cathob'c people of
Remsen can be expressed adequately in the woixls
of Rev. Edward L. Curran, author of "Great
Moments in Catholic History." He says, in part,
diat the w^ealth of the Catholic church consists
of items w^e should never forget — buildings erect-
ed for the honor and glory of God; Catholic
schools erected for the service of humanity; the
voluntary donations and sacrifices of all individual
Eagle Mineral Wool
The Gerkin Co.
2100 - 4th Street
Sioux City, Iowa
Furnish You the Finest
ALTON, ORANGE CD
istory of Su PauVs Evangelical Lutheran Church
ST. PAtX'S E\ ANGKT.IOAL LTJTHEKAN CHTTKCH
REM SEN, IOWA
REV. PAUL WTJEBBEN
tol's Evangelical Lutheran congregation
October 19, 1884, and was given
Dk Deutsche Evangelische Lutherische
Semeinde zu Remsen, Iowa.
was the first Protestant organi2,ation in
BUnaries for the organiz^ation had been
rivals homes and in the old public school
early as June 8, 1881.
ter members of St. Paul's congregation
ID Herbst, George Beck, John Stobeb
Hekns, Frank Rave, Karl Schumacher,
X, H. Morits, Fred Schmidt, Fred Stob-
enr.- Thompson, Robert Jolefs, Harm
pigen Bock, Glaus Sievers, Michael Schu-
Waiiam Beck, Willram Thiesen, John
George Roepke, George Tangeman,
iruest," Jacob Wullstein, G. D. Morit^,
Bfeaber, Henry Gaden, Peter Geiser, Carl
;, Robert Bornstein, Glaus Ruehnen, H.
, H. Harms, M. To2,ynka, and Carl
following pastors have sei'\'^ed the con-
:Rev. Heinrich Bender, Rev. Drechsler,
Rev. George Kredi, Rev. Hoepner, Rev. Dett-
mann, Rev. Vehe, Rev. Dallmann, Rev. Ernst
Birkner, Rev. E. H. Eilers, Rev. H. Jurgens, Rev.
H. Reifschneider, Rev. Weichelt and the present
pastor, Rev. Paul Wuebben.
The first church building was erected in
1888 and the present one in 1930.
At the present time the congregation has a
membership of 140 families, and for a number of
years has been free of debt.
St. PauFs congregation has four organi^a^
tions active in church affairs. The oldest is the
Ladies Aid, organized in 1890. Then there are the
Young People's League, the Senior choir and the
St. Paul's celebrated its sixtieth anniversary
on October 22, 1944.
The present pastor, Rev. Wuebben, has been
a minister of the church for the past 13 years.
After 50 years of its existence the congrega--
tion was reincorporated under the name of St.
Paubs Evangelical Lutheran Ghurch of Remsen.
Hearty Greetings and
REMSEN RECREATION CENTER
THE AERO CLUB
BOWLING -BAR SERVICE -GOOD FOOD
Ray M. Tritz, Prop.
DR. W. P. KELSEY
OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON
X-RAY — SURGERY
Telephone^Offlce, 32-R2 — Residence, 32.R3
History of Christ Lutheran Church
Ijodteran church services were conducted
before the town was incorporated.
years ago Trinity Lutheran Church, Ani'
p, Cherokee county, was organi2;ed
fewr years later its pastor, Rev. J. D. Hesse,
to preach in Remsen. hi 1886, services were
St t£e old Remsen public school house. Ah
tibe old records now on hand are inccnn-
ooe of the earliest documents of the church
■ed which shows that on March 27, 1887
_ -Ration was organi2,ed. For several years
Hese continued to minister unto the people
;benig assisted at times by the Lutheran pas--
LeKlars. In 1895, the congregation decided
a church and to call a pastor of their own.
one was laid in the fall of that year.
the last Sunday in April, 1896, the church was
licaced. The pastors conducting the dedication
vices were Rev. J. D. Hesse, of Cherokee coun-
and Rev. J. Horn of Germantown.
Incorporation papers were recorded by the
agregation on May 1, 1896. The signers of the
F ration were Messrs. John Harnack, Sr.,
Detlefs, George Ebrecht and Henry Sievers.
On the same day the first church building
; dedicated, the first resident pastor, Rev. Mar-
Brueggemann was installed. He continued his
rorate here for two and one 'half years. Alter
r. Brueggemann moved to Alma, hnva, the
.gregation was without a pastor for a period
years, but were again provided when, on
10, 1902, Rev. Paul Brammer was instab
Pastor Brammer remained here for tour years.
then accepted a call to St. Ansgar, Iowa,
ikh congregation he has been serving the
St thirt>^'nine years. His successor here was Rev.
A- Brauer who served the congregation 1906-
>10. Other pastors were Rev. E. Kallsen, 1910-
1; Rev. E. Starck, 19114913; Rev. I. P. Guen-
1913-1919; Rev. F. Wahlers, 1919-1922.
present pastor is Rev. A. Noack, who has
been serving the congregation since October,
A NEW CHURCH
In 1927 the interior of the congregation's
rst church building was greatly improved with
Dew altar, pulpit and pipe organ, but as time
went on the members of the congregation realised
that It would need to be replaced with a new
luulding. In July, 1941, the congregation decided
Co build a new church. The building committee
consisted of Rev. A. Noack and Messrs. Henry
Falke, Fred Seel, Wm. G. Sievers, August Lricb-
sen, A. D. Ohlendorf. Mr. Thorwald Thorson of
Forest City was the architect. The last service held
in the old church was on March 13, 1942. Three
days later the building had been dismantled.
The new church is'of brick, the roof is cov-^
ered with asbestos shingles of a combination of
red colors. The seating capacity is 250. The
church is 94 feet long, the nave is 29 feet and the
rear 40 feet wide. The social room, kitchen, class
ruom, and restrooms are all finished with glared
tile. The church has a loud-speaker system, with
microphones at the altar, pulpit, and lectern; two
loud-speakers are in the nave and four in the
basement. The cost of the building with furnish-
ings is $25,000, which sum was paid in full shortly
after the church was dedicated. The general con-
tractor for the building was Mr. John Nemmers
of LeMars, whose excellent workmanship is great-
ly appreciated by the whole congregation.
Since the very beginning the congregation
has had a flourishing Sunday school, taught by
teachers of many years of experience. The teaclv
ers meet bi-monthly for lesson preparation and
teacher training. All the children receive weekly
or monthly magazines which give them Christ-
ian reading in the homes. The Sunday school also
has its own library with books for the various
ages. The pastor gives a two-year course in Cate-
chism and Bible study for the children, preparing
them for communicant membership in the church.
A junior and senior Bible class meets each Sunday
morning making a more thorough study of the
sacred Scriptures. Bible quizzes and Bible topic
study are conducted in each meeting. Every home
in the congregation receives the official paper of
the Lutheran Church, the Lutheran Witness.
Sixty-five women of the congregation are the
active membership of the Ladies' Aid. This organ-
ization has doubled in size since the meetings are
being held in the social room of the new church.
The Ladies Aid, is true to its name, aiding not
only its own members and the congregation, but
also the work of the church at large by supporting
SIOUX en Y
FALKE MOTOR CO., DEALER
Third Generation in the Family
Fountain . • • Sundries
ANNA MEINERT, PROPRIETOR
■«,«^ and institutions of charity and contrib'
r to tbe Red Cross and other national welfare
Thirty young people are members of the
th League. They meet monthly for their topic
JES, business, and recreation.
A group of the young folks sing as a choir
;«ry 5er\-ice. The robed choir members sing a
Esssc^ial hymn and a selection at every worship
linss do their part to beautify the church
The congregation has always been affiliated
k the Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio, and
r States. During its first years it received
idy from the mission treasury of the Iowa
net. The congregation supports very liberally
work of the Church at large. During the first
of this year it has remitted over $3,300 for
various Missions of the Lutheran Church.
DURING THE WAR
\lany homes were directly affected by the
. Thirt>^'eight members of the congregation
Ttd the service of the nation. A military
funeral and a memorial service were held for the
two members who made the supreme sacrifice. At
different times the congregation remembered
their beloved absent ones with gift boxes. Each
month the soldiers are receiving some message
from the pastor's study. All changed addresses
are reported weekly in the Sunday Bulletin. The
soldiers' birthdays are made known in advance so
that the membership may send greetings. Our
Church's motto is, "They shall not march alone!"
Many articles have been sent to veterans'
hospitals. Baked goods were sent to service
centers. Boxes of books were sent to prisoners of
war camps. Hundreds of dollars were contributed
to the Army and Navy Commission of the
Lutheran Church for its work among the armed
forces. Truck loads of salvaged paper have been
gathered. These and many other special efforts
were gladly rendered by the membership out of
thankfulness for the priceless blessing of religious
freedom in our beloved country.
The present membership is S25 bapti2;ed
persons, 200 of these are communicant members.
The church record shouts that 668 were baptized,
458 confirmed, 134 marriages were performed and
216 persons buried.
Our Hearty Good Wishes to
The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
and Friends Everywhere
BABY CHICKS, POULTRY SUPPLIES
FEEDS, MASHES, REMEDIES
POULTRY, EGGS AND CREAM
Christ Lutheran Church
REV. A. NOACK
Pastor Since 19^2
B^JILT IN 1941 — 42 AT A COST OF $25,(HH».0(>
DEDE BEVERAGE COMPANY
BLUE RIBBON BEER
GRAIN BELT BEER
Sioux City, Iowa
313 Jennings St.
Distributor of Beer
HAMM'S - SCHLITZ - FALSTAFF
300 Court St.
SIOUX CITY, IOWA
Court Joan of Arc- Catholic Daughters of America
The national order ot the Catholic
Daughters of America was founded in
190^ by the Knights of Columbus, at
Utica, N.Y. with a membership ol 60,
From this nucleus we have grown to a mem--
bership of more than 200,000, established in 45
states, Panama, Puerto Rico, Canada and Alaska.
Our aim is the propagation and preservation
of cur Holy Faith; the intensification of patrio-
tism; the material, moral and intellectual develop-
ment of Catholic womanhood, and the protection
and well-being of our Catholic girls. We are also
pledged to the dispensation of charity and the
furtherance of Catholic charitable projects.
Each unit maps out its own work, coiiimen-
surate with the needs of the community in accord-
ance with the scope outhned and the wishes ol the
Court Joan of Arc, No. 3 31 3, of Remsen,
Iowa, was organised in May, 1918, by a group ol
26 members of the t)rder. The first reception was
held on June 2 of that year, at which the 26 new
members were admitted. The exemplification ol
the ritual was carried out by the degree team ol
Court Santa Maria, 179, of LeMars, Iowa, in
which court the organi2,ers of the new court
originally were members.
Charter members are; Mrs. C. J. Ahmann, El-
vira Alesch, Marcelinda Alesch, Matilda Alesch,
Margaret Arens, Ceha Ahmann, Mrs. A. M.
Beck, Olga Brucher, Mrs. Wm. Determan, Mrs.
J. j. Determan, Mrs. F. B. Duster, Mrs. J. C. Esser,
Lauretta Foxen, Justine Georges, Mrs. M. Goebel,
Margaret Galles, Mrs. F. Lorge, Mrs. W. H.
Hombach, Mrs. Frank J. Homan, Mrs. P. J. Ro-
man, Mae Kelly, Mrs. M. Kennedy, Mrs. Orrin
M. Kelly, Mrs. E. F. Kieffer, Mrs. John Keffeler,
Elizabeth Lotz, Lillian Levins, Edith Lloyd, Mrs. J.
Lot^, Mrs. T. S. List, Anna Meinert, Hildegard
Meinert, Hedwig Meinert, Mrs. John McCoy,
May me McCoy, Regina Nothem, Katherine No-
them, Mrs. J. Nothem, Katherine Niggeling, Ber-
tha Singer, Carrie Schnepl, Josephine Staab,
Blanche Sudtelgte, Mrs. Nic Treinen, Mrs. C.
Treinen, Marie Wagner, Gertrude Wagner, Susan
Weiler, Leonora Wagner, Isabel Wendt, Lillian
Of these charter members the following still
letain their membership: Margaret Arens, Mrs. J.
Flynn, Mrs. A. M. Beck, Mrs. F. Duster, Mrs. J.
C. Esser, Lauretta Foxen, Mrs. M. Goebel, Mrs,
Gordon Garvin, Mrs. F. Lorge, Mrs. P. J. Homan
Mrs. M. Kennedy, Mrs. E. F. Kieffer, Mrs. John
Keffeler, Edith Lloyd, Anna Meinert, Mrs. May-
me Polar, Mrs. M. Peters, Katherine Nothem,
Mrs. j. Nothem, Carrie Schnepf, Mrs. L. Alilers,
Mi-s. N. Treinen, Marie Wagner, Mrs. O. H.
Huewe and Mrs. E. Lloyd.
Since organi2,ation approximately $10,000
has been contributed to charity and benevolences.
Ol this amount $3,000 was contributed to St.
Mary's parish of Remsen. Our project was the
complete furnishing of the convent chapel. The
sum of $5,176 was paid in aid to young men
studying for the priesthood. Other recipients in-
clude local needy families, victnns of national
disasters, home and foreign missions, the Ameri-
can Red Cross, cancer and tuberculosis institu-
tions, the March of Dimes, war funds, chaplain
funds, orphanages, schools and colleges.
Breakfast is served to approximately 250
children of St. Mary's parochial school on the first
Friday of each month.
Members have been active in national de-
fense and other war activities, namely: Home
nursing and first aid courses, assisting in Red
Cross and U. S. O. drives, serving on the Emerg-
ency Food and Housing conunittee, Emergency
Drivers committee, ration boards, and Red Cross
sewing and knitting.
Cord rosaries were made for men in the serv-
ice, and prayer books, medals and cash lor chap-
lains" aid were contributed.
The members, now numbering 278, may be
counted on as leaders in community affairs
whether merely local or in cooperation with
Two members of Court Joan of Arc, Mrs.
A. M. Beck and Mrs. Orrin M. Kelly, have rep-
resented the court in national conventions of the
order, the former at Atlantic City, N. J., the lat-
ter at Washington, D. C, and Marie Dalhoff
represented the court at the Eucharistic Congress
in New Orleans.
Although primarily a charitable organi2,ation,
the order pays a mortuary benefit of $25 to $100,
according to the length of membership.
Present officers of Court Joan of Arc are:
Grand regent, Mrs. A. M. Beck: vice grand reg-
ent, Mrs. S. M. Fideler; prophetess, Mrs. Ben
Sudtelgte; lecturer, Joan Ludwig; financial secre-
tary, Mrs. John Ritz, Sr.; treasurer, Lauretta
Foxen; historian, Mrs. Louis Zimmer; monitor,
Caroline Zigrang; organist, Mrs. Edw. L. Lloyd;
sentinel, Mrs. J. Schiltz,; trustees, Mrs. Anna Fa-
ber, Mrs. J. T. Schultz, Mrs. J. Watgen, Marie
Wagner, Mrs. O. H. Huewe, Mrs. E. F. Kieffer;
chaplain, the Rt. Rev. Msgr. M. A. Schemel.
PERKINS SEED STORE
GARDEN SEED AND NURSERY STOCK
314 Fourth Street
SIOUX CITY, IOWA
Piiley's Prices Please Producers
Cream, Eggs and Poultry
Verne Kellen, Remsen, Iowa
Farmers Elevator, Remsen, Iowa
Pieper Post No. 220— The American Legion
Pieper Post, No. 220, of Rem-
sen was formally organi2,ed Oct.
The leadership of Gapt. Ed'
ward J. Brucher was largely re-
sponsible for the organisation of
the local post at that time, and
in recognition of his valued serv
ices, the members unanimously
chose Gapt. Brucher as their
Pieper Post was named after
W'iUiam Pieper, member of a
pioneer Remsen family and one
of the first lads to enlist after
America's entrance in the World
War. He was a member of the
168th Infantry, 42nd (Rain-
bow) Division, and fell in action
before the terrible barrage at
Chateau-Thierry, on July 19,
One of the outstanding achievements was the
building of their Legion Home in 19^1 at a cost
of $5000. The building is a handsome, one-story
structure with full basement.
Among the public enterprises that the post
has taken part in, was the organisation and main-
For whom Pieper
tenance of Junior Baseball clubs
up to World War II, a juvenile
drill corps under the captaincy
of Dave Gook, an Americanism
school for ahens, actively sup-
porting Boys' State by sending
boys to camp annually and vari-
ous community service activities.
In 1935, 1938 and in 1941,
the post was ht)st to the Ninth
District Convention here.
The present membership of
Pieper Post is 98, and it is one of
the most active posts in the
state for its si2,e. Officers elected
in June were: Aloy Pick, com-
mander; Joe Bohnenkamp, vice
commander; Joe N. Beck, ad-
John Harnack, finance officer;
John Theisen, chaplain; Anth-
ony Strehl, historian; Nick Mai,
sergeant-at-arms. Members of the executive com-
mittee are: V. N. Delperckng;, Nick Hatz, S. M.
Fideler, Ted Kobberman and Richard Staab .
Charles Wilberding is chairman of the graves
registration committee and O. H. Huewe is the
Post was named
World War I
John T. Arens
Joe N. Beck
Herman Bo ever
V. X. Delpcrdang
A. J. Emstei'
S. M. Fideler
John P. Gengler
Jim Harm an
Frank He wicker
O. H. Plucwe
F, J. Hussey
F. W. Horkey
F. L. Lloyd
M. M. Milfs
F. A. Mylan
C. M. Myers
M. II. Niggeling
John Ro den hour
John L. Scharff
Fred A. Steffen
E. R. Stephenson
Pieper Post No, 220
E. E. Wilson
World War 1 8C 11
Wm. F. Pratt
World War H
Roy L. Bentz
Ray P. Baack
Thomas E. Davv.son
Henry H. A. Hansen
Roy H. G. Hansen
Joe J. Kelly
Chas. E. Manning
Wm. H. Milfs
Elmer T. NitzscJike
Wallace H. Phillips
Wendell F. Phillips
Earl G. Peters
Henry A. Treinen
Why You Should Be a Member of
The American Legion can and will do many things for you. You will be represent-
ed by the Legion's National Rehabilitation, Employment, Legislative and Veterans' Pre-
ference committee at Washington, D. C. You will be kept informed of your rights and
privileges under all federal legislation of benefit to the veteran. You will be able to turn
to your local post for help at any time.
All through the years the Legion has battled for proper legislation to take care
of veterans and their dependents.
The American Legion is the largest Veterans' Organization in
the history of the world.
In connection with World War 11 veterans' legislation, the Legislative committee
has worked on almost every congressional bill affecting them. We have seen our efforts
rewarded with the enactment of the following laws providing benefits for them:
The Xational Service liile Insurance Act of 1940 and beneficial amentlments thereto.
The Soldiers and Sailors Civil Relief Act of 1940.
Six Months' Gratuity benefits for dependents of all officers and enlisted men.
The pajTiient of compensation at various wartime rates for the disabled in line of duty.
Free postage to members in the armed forces while on active duty.
The pay readjustment act of 1.943.
The family alIo\\ance act for dependents of enlisted men of the armed forces.
Hospitalization, domiciliary care and burial benefits for World War II veterans.
Vocational rehabilitation for veterans of World War II who incur permanent
AKD MANY OTHEKS ,
The legislative program of the American Legion will continue to
be geared to the needs of the Veterans of World War II.
CHILD WELFARE. The American Le^on has had a progfram of Child Welfare
since 1935. Since its establishment, 5,900,00 children have been rendered aid and
service at a cost of $50,000,000.00. Ninety per cent of the children were \^ith
their own mothers in their own family homes. The Legion also has a .'^5,000,000.00
endowment fund, interest of which is used to i>ay a portion of the cost of the CliiUl
and Kehabilitation work.
Throuffhout the nation the physical properties and investments, such as
buildings, furnishings, equipment, investments in govermuent War Bonds represent
more than ,1>65,000,000.00.
PIEPEK POST owns its own well equipped home. Plans for enlarging the pres-
ent facilities will wait until returning AVorht War II veteranis can present their ideas
for a larger and better Legion home.
Pieper Post No. 220 The American Legion
American Legion Auxiliary
Pieper Post No. 220, American Legion Auxiliary, was organi2;ed
May 9, 1921, with Mrs. Lucie A. Lloyd as the first president. When the
charter was granted May 8, 1922, there were 49 charter members.
Present membership is 108. Of these, twenty 'two are Twenty 'Five
Year members, ehgible for the Twenty-Five Year service pin.
The unit conducts an annual health program in the community.
In addition, members engage in Red Cross work and in the sale of Christ'
mas seals and bonds and stamps.
Present officers are:
President, Mrs. Enoch Johnson
First Vice President, Mrs. A. H. Jastram
Second Vice President, Mrs. O. H. Nit^schke
Secretary, Mrs. Edwin Holtgrewe
Treasurer, Mrs. S. B. Johnson
Chaplain, Mrs. O. H. Huewe
Historian, Mrs. M. R. Faber
Sergeant'at-Arms, Mrs. John Engelbrecht
Music Chairman, Mrs. S. M. Fideler
Plymouth County President, Mrs. Edwin Holtgrewe
. THE BIG FRIENDLY STORE
THAT HAS EVERYTHING!
HEAR OUR RADIO PROGRAMS
THEY'RE ON THE AIR FOR YOUR ENTERTAINMENT
"LOVE NOTES" "BETTY & BOB"
STATION KTRI STATION KSCJ
10:45 A. M. AT 10 A. M.
Monday, Wednesday From Monday
and Friday through Friday
Station KSCJ at 9:30 P. M. Sunday
Veterans of Foreign Wars Have Active Organizations
Diekmann Post V. F. W.
Among the civic and fraternal organi2;ations
that flourish in Remsen is that of the Veterans of
Foreign Wars, which has an active history.
Joseph B. Diekmann Post, No. 3328,
\'. F. W., of Remsen, was organised here by
Dept. Commander E. R. Crane during the winter
On June 11, 1935, the post was instituted
with the^ttendance of members from posts in
various towns throughout the Eighth district.
The first commander. Marcel Matgen, Sr.,
vvas chosen unanimously because of his part in
organizing the post, which flourished from the
The post was named after Joseph B. Diek-
mann, son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Frank B. Diek-
mann, pioneers in the farming community adja'
cent to Remsen. Joseph Diekmann passed away
while in the service and during the influensia
epidemic that raged through the country during
World War I. He was a member of the 88th di-
vision, with service in England and France.
Diekmann post takes a lead in all patriotic
celebrations and anniversaries and several times
has been host to county and district conventions.
Its members are particularly interested in welfare
work, veterans' rehabilitation and works for the
benefit of disabled veterans in the government
hospitals of Iowa.
Present officers of Diekmann post are:
Commander, E. E. Nelson (LeMars) .
Senior Yice Commander, John Sanny.
Junior Vice Commander, joe Bohnenkamp.
Quartermaster, Milo C. Bellmyer.
Adjutant, Aloy S. Pick.
Chaplain, C. Langendorfer (LeMars).
Officer of the Day, Carl Baertling (Marcus).
Service Officer, Math. Diederich.
Trustees — Herman Boever, John Sanny,
Nick H. Hats;.
Diekmann Post Auxiliary
The auxiliary to Diekmann post was organ-
ised September 10, 1935, under authority issued
to Mrs. Gus. Brosalis of Cherokee, by the national
First officers were: President, Mrs. ^Enoch
Johnson; senior vice president, Mrs. Aloy S. Pick;
junior vice president, Mrs. Gene Diers; chaplain,
Mrs. Otto H. Nitzischke; guard, Mrs. Math. Died-
erich and conductress, Mrs. Earl Hanno.
The organij;ation is active in all projects
helpful to Diekmann post, sponsors the essay con-
test each year, works for the comfort and rehabili-
tation of veterans and has taken an active part in
many local civic projects.
Present officers of Diekmann post Auxiliary
President, Mrs. S. M. Fideler.
Senior Vice President, Mrs. Wm. Colling.
Junior Vice President, Mrs. O. H. Nit^schke.
Treasurer, Mrs. A. S. Pick.
Secretary, Miss Mary Ann Gramke.
Chaplain, Mrs. Clara Bjork.
Patriotic Instructor, Mrs. John M. Kennedy.
Guard, Mrs. Math. Diederich.
Musician, Miss Edna Mae Fideler.
Conductress, Miss Margaret Diederich.
Flag Bearer, Mrs. Earl L. Hanno.
Banner Bearer, Mrs. Herman Boever.
Color Bearers— Mrs. Anton Schilts, Mrs.
John Haack, Mrs. Gilbert Blum and
Miss Sally Theisen.
Our Kindest Wishes
for the Future Welfare of
The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
SIOUX CITY STOCK YARDS
THE GREAT MIDWEST MARKET
Sioux City, Iowa
Remsen Municipal Utilities
ment that requires
labor, and a devo--
tion to community
welfare, is usually
pri2;ed very highly
when the objective
is reached. This can
be said of the muu'
icipal electric light
and power plant in
MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC PLAJST
had town officials
like J. F. Gamerdin'
tTer, Nicholas Hats,
Mic h a e 1 Brucher,
Henry Falke, John
Ahmann, and Fred
T. Philhps, who,
w^hen they believed
they were right, had
and courage to fight
until the last obsta'
cle was overcome.
Some difference of opinicjn exists as to what
brought about the agitation for a municipally
owned plant. Apparently it was due primarily to
the expenditure of over $2,500 annually for light-
ing the streets of Remsen and the unsuccessful
attempt of the council to obtain a reduction in
The matter was frequently discussed at board
meetings; the council obtained information from
various towns and it appeared that the only
solution to a reduced cost of maintaining an
adequate all-night street lighting system was the
installation of a municipal plant. Data from
municipally owned plants was obtained and the
mayor and councilmen personally inspected many
of these plants, interviewed town officials, ascer-
tainmg the costs of plants, operating expenses,
income and profits.
After fully satisfying themselves of the advi'
sability of such a move, they discussed the propc
sition with many of the citizens of Remsen and re-
ceived almost unanimous endorsement of their
proposed plans. Legal counsel and an engineer
were employed and a special election was held
on Sept. 3, 19M, at which the electors voted
upon a proposition to establish and erect a munici-
pal electric light and power plant and the issuing
of $75,000 in bonds to cover the cost of same.
The power company then serving Remsen
vigorously opposed the plans of the town council
and until the Supreme Court of Iowa approved
the legality of the election and the bond issue,
left no stone unturned to obstruct every move
made by the council and in every way hinder and
delay the construction of the plant. The electors
endorsed the judgment of the council by carry
ing the election by a vote of 456 to 130. It was
an accomplishment during the depression period
for any municipaHty to vote a bond issue.
It was very fortunate for Remsen to have
The plant was constructed in 1933 and the
lines were energised at Christmas time of that
year. Originally the power units consisted of a
three and four cylinder Diesel engine of a rated
H. P. of 240 and 320 respectively. R. W. Stroh-
meier, the foreman of the construction work for
the contractor, w^as employed by the council as
superintendent of the plant, with E. H. Holtgrewe
and Norbert Ahmann as operators. The plant was
a success from the start and during the first year
of operation generated 418,660 K.W. The load
has shown a consistent increase and since the fiscal
year of 1940 has exceeded an annual output of
over 1,000,000 K.W.
As the load of the plant increased it soon
became apparent that additional standby power
was necessary and in 1938 the building was ah
tered, and improved equipment and an additional
SIX cylinder Diesel engine of a rated H. P. of 450
were installed. Revenue bonds to the extent of
$30,800 were sold to match a 45 pet. WPA grant.
In 1935 a special election was held placing
the light plant and the w^ater system under the
direct management of a board of trustees op--
crating as provided under a sectic^n of the Code of
low^a. Upon placing the municipal utilities under
trusteeship it was deemed advisable to employ
an all-time clerk. George Wess has served in this
capacity continuously, acting not only as clerk
for the council and also for the board of trustees,
but efficiently has rendered a varied municipal
service to the public in general.
Personnel of the Municipal Utilities are:
Trustees — Nicholas Hatz, chair m. an, Otmar H.
Huewe, and W. G. Sievers. E. H. Holtgrewe is
plant superintendent, with John Wiebersch, Al
Zeimen, John Zimmerman and Frederick Schmidt
as operators, and George Wess, clerk of the board.
COUNCIL OAK STORE
"Your Friend at Mealtime"
A SAFE WAY TO SAVE
Farmers Lumber 8C Supply Co
Sioux City, Iowa
LUMBER AND BUILDING MATERIAL
STOCK RACKS AND TRAILERS
GENERAL FARM STORE
FEEDS AND RIVERSIDE TIRES
Affiliated with Lions International is the Remsen Lions Club,
organised six years ago and which meets the first and third Tuesdays of
Meetings are held in the evening with dinner followed by a
business session. The Lions are interested in civic improvement and deve-
lopment and, to the extent of their abiHty as a group, support all worthy
enterprises that tend toward the betterment of the community.
An annual project sponsored by this active group is an ice skat-
ing rink, using the baseball diamond, and besides an excellent skating surface
the Lions supply a warming shack, electric lighting and chaperonage. In the
project they are supported by the town council which grants them the use
of the ball park; donates the water and the lighting.
Throughout the war the Lions have had as their dinner guests,
servicemen home on leave or furlough, also those recently discharged.
Present officers of the Remsen Lions club are:
President, Clifford A. Dorr.
First Vice President, E. H. Holtgrewe
Second Vice President, W. P. Kelsey.
Third Vice President, E. R. Stephenson.
Immediate Past President, Burton Parriott.
Past President, A. M. Beck.
Secretary-Treasurer, Marcel W. Matgen.
Lion Tamer, Jos. V. Fisch.
Tail Twister, Roman Groff .
Directors — J. W. Zimmerman, E. F. Kieffer, Robert Schumacher.
AMERICAN RED CROSS
Assisting in all emergency relief work for the American Red
Gross Society is the Remsen branch of the Plymouth county chapter, or-
iTanized in 1918.
The Remsen branch has given aid to numerous local families
in financial distress but its major project to date came along with the fire
uf July 4, 19?i6, when property in the amount of a half million dollars was
destroyed. A number of local families were left homeless and in need of
clothing. The national organisation sent a representative to direct the
emergency relief work and the local branch footed the emergency bills.
The branch maintains a sewing and a knitting department head-
ed by Mrs. Edwin lioltgrewe and Mrs. Clarence Frank, respectively.
Among the half do^en branches in Plymouth county, the Remsen
branch has always been, and still is, the strongest, financially.
President, Dr. A. H. Jastram.
Vice President, E. F. Kieffer.
Secretary, John A. Ulveling.
Treasurer, M. H. Niggehng.
Home Service Officer, N. B. Homan.
Directors— Mrs. Holtgrewe, E. H. Spiecker, John Keffeler,
M. M. Griepenburg, Burton Parriott.
We Write All Kinds of Insurance
More than thirty years in business in
Remsen is your guarantee that we can
give you the best at lowest rates and
can handle your losses efficiently.
M. M. GRIEPENBURG
NOTHING BUT INSURANCE
Office Telephone, 62 Residence Telephone, 295
GET EXTRA ENERGY
Energy - Charged
No Big Holes, Ever
SIOUX CITY BOTTLING WORKS
HIRES ROOT BEER
1501 East Fourth Street
SIOUX CITY, IOWA
Sgt. John W. Lanzenaoff, USMCR
Son of Mr. and Mrs. George Lan2;endorf of
Born at Oyens Nov. 22, 1923
Killed in action July 7, 1944, on Saipan
Sgt. Alp hone T. Ludwig, Infantry
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Mike Ludwig
Born at Remsen, April 12, 1916
Killed in action, Sept. 12, 1944, in France
Lieut. Richard J. Treinen, Army Air Force
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Treinen
Born at Remsen March 31, 1923
Killed in plane crash January 20, 1945, at
Redmond Army Air Base, Oregon
Pvt. Roman Leo Kosse, Army
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Kosse
Born at Remsen, April 28, 1924
Killed in action February 1, 1945, in France
Pfc. Leland P. Letsche, Infantry
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Letsche
Born on Farm in Cherokee County March 5,
Killed in action April 28, 1944,
An2;io Beachhead, Italy
Eilert Seggermann, Navy
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Harm Seggermann
Born at Remsen Febiaiary 8, 1918
Lost in action March 3, 1943, in Greenland
Donald Harnack, Army Air Force
Son of Mr. and Mrs, John Harnack
Born at Remsen, December 13, 1921
Killed m plane crash March 10, 1943,
at Thunderbird Field, Phoenix, Arisiona
T/Sgt. Laurence J. Brandenburg, Army Air Force
Son of Mr. and Mrs. George Brandenburg
Age 25 Years
Lost in aerial action over Germany, April, 1943
Sgt. Vernon E. Miller, Army Air Force
Son of Mrs. Tina Miller
Born at Remsen May 29, 1920
Killed in plane crash in California,
January 19, 1944
Second Lieut. Edmund Rohde, Army Air Force
Son of Mrs. Alma Rohde
Born at Remsen September 30, 1921
Lost in aerial action over Germany
October 6, 1944
Pfc. Frank P. Lanners, Army
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Lanners
Born at Remsen January 6, 1918
Killed in action July 12, 1943, in North Africa
T /Sgt. Raymond Kohnke, Army
Son of Mr. and Mrs. O. H. Kohnke
Born at Remsen January 20, 1914
Killed in action at Corregidor March 26, 1943
Pfc. John Stoos, Jr., Coast Artillery
Son of John Stoos, Sr.
Born at Remsen, June 16, 1912
Killed in action on Corregidor, May 6,
Twenty-Seven Years of Service
Volume is the Key to the Success of Any Business
The nearly ^1,000,000 in dividends paid in the past twenty -six years
to members, speaks for our volume.
We have a highly specialized sales force. Each class of every
species of livestock is sold by men of long experience.
Farmers Union Live Stock Commission
SIOUX CITY 11, IOWA
Buried in Remsen Cemeteries
WORLD WAR I
WORLD WAR n
Our Best Wishes
Storz Gold Crest Beer
Sioux City, Iowa
TRITZ CATTLE COMPANY
RAY M. TRITZ GORDON TRITZ
Weekly Auction Sales
Tuesday Nights, Thursday Afternoons
A WESTERN MARKET IN THE CORN BELT
OyenS"'A Good Neighbor
Closely linked with the history of Remsen is
the town of Oyens, population 100, located four
miles to the west. For numerous former Remsen
people now make up the population of that thriv
ing httle town, and always there has existed a
friendly spirit between the two.
The town of Oyens is considerably older
than Remsen in years, although not as old as an
incorporated unit. The first settlers of that conv
munit)^ appeared there in the late sixties when the
present site of Remsen still was an unbroken
The settlement of Oyens thrived for years
without town caxlinances, the movements of its
people guided by federal, state and county town-
ship laws and regulations. Not until 1909 was the
town incorporated. The first settlers were govern-
ed in their location under the Homestead laws en-
acted during Abraham Lincoln's presidency,
EARLY SETTLERS OF OYENS
Among those recalled as early settlers around
Oyens are David Baldwin, who settled in now
Fredonia township, one mile west and three miles
north of Oyens. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin were the
parents of Fred, Walter, Herbert and Laura, all
well known among present day residents. Mr. and
Mrs. John Tovey came also in the late 60's, set-
tling one mile west and two rniles north of the
The only original homestead house to be
found today in Oyens territory is that erected in
ihe early 60's by E. P. Tovv'ns, on his homestead
Dnc mile west of town
Among the old-time business men of the
town recalled are John Meis, Nick Freymann,
Henry Wisser, Steve Ellin gsworth, Mike Reard,
Paul Wanderscheid, John Kaiser, Jos. J. Kemp,
C. Liidwig, Jolm Galles, Jacob Fiedler, Henry
Mas Lien, Nick Feller, Paul Peterson, Charles Mas-
ucn, J. L. Doud, Joe Strohbeen, Harry Kemp,
Charles Kuster, Jens Kk)ster, Charles Peebles, J.
M. Hentges and hosts of others, and some of these
are still in business there.
Mrs. J. L. Doud is the Oyens postmistress
and according to postal inspectors is "doing a
swell job."" Less than $50 more business was rc-
LAiired in 1944 to put the office in third class.
The town was incorporated in 1909. With
but one ticket in the field the first elected results
Mayor, Nicholas Fi^eymann.
Clerk, John Meis.
Councilmen — Paul Peterson, Mike Reard,
Jacob Fiedler, Henry Masuen and Nick
Town Marshal, John Galles.
Oyens has two churches, St. Catherine's
Catholic of which the Rev. H. B. Karhoff is
pastor, and Gethsemane Lutheran, served by the
llev. John Christensen of Marcus.
There are numerous business places, substan-
tial dwellings and 100 good citizens.
The "official fami^ of Oyens, "the biggest
little town in Iowa," today is as follows:
Mayor, Paul Peterson.
Clerk, Jos. J. Kemp.
Treasurer, Mike Weber.
Councilmen — J. L. Doud, J. A. Kloster,
Thorvald Kloster, and J. M. Hentges. There is a
vacancy on the council at this time through death
of Charles Kuster.
AND BEST WISHES
and their friends
Remsen and Vicinity
KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS
Schaafs Hardware Store was founded in 1885 by Henry Schaafs, born in the Grand
Duchy of Luxembourg, who, after serving an enlistment in the French army, migrated
from Paris to America at the age of 21 years.
He arrived with but little capital and embarked in his business career by buying and sell-
ing pocket knives, buying one or two knives at a time, and, as his business grew, added
more items of hardware, finally opening his store and adding buggies, wagons, and the
usual farm implements to his line.
Shortly thereafter, he married Susan Lucas of Luxemburg, Iowa, to which union were
born nine children, one of whom, Catherine (Mrs. Fred T. Phillips), is still living.
Henry Schaafs died in September, 1928.
In 1910 Fred T. Phillips entered into the active management of the Schaafs Hardware
Store, at which time additional lines of farm machinery, tractors and trucks, w^ere add-
ed and continued in the active management of the business until his death, on August
The business is now being carried on by Mrs. Phillips, with the help of her three sons,
Frederick, now in the Navy, Wallace and Wendell, both of whom were recently dis-
charged from the Army.
Prior to the present war there were a total of 22 employees, exclusive of the Phillips
family, six of whom average 18 years of service. The oldest employee in point of service
is Henry Foxen with 40 years, next being Gene Diers with 25 years of continuous service.
In the past sixty years this business has grown from pocket knives to the modern farm
equipment of today and covers more than 25,000 square feet of floor space under roof.
We, the management and the entire staff of the Schaafs Hardware Store, wish to ex-
tend our thanks to our customers in Remscn and the surrounding trade territory for
their loyal support in making this business what it is today.
PALMER FRUIT COMPANY
Sioux City, Iowa
J. L. SCHARFF
MACHINE AND MACHINELESS
Wella Cold Wave
(A Service Institution)
In retrospect one can only visualize the desire of the
founders of Remscn and her early farm settlers. They were
seeking a land offering an abundance, both matetially and
spiritually, that compared with fair Luxembourg which they
left behind. Each passing year, and each succeeding genera-
tion, gives attest to the wisdom of their choice.
This company is proud that its general offices are locat-
ed in Remsen, and we are glad to be part of her communal
life. We admire the enterprise of her business, the industry
of her farms and her well groomed homes. We congratulate
those who have made this book possible.
The Employees and Management
BOTTIID UHCIR AUTHORITY Of tHI coCA-cfiLA COMPANY BY
Chesterman 8C Co., Sioux City, Iowa
Greetings to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
and to Remsen
BEVERAGE CO., INC.
SCHMIDT'S CITY CLUB BEERS
306 S. W. Ninth St.
Des Moines, Iowa
i^hi< /< fnP Ivl /in Y^ t ...
J. li.i'j A J tf*t xrxi^ff- ^^f^^ And here are some of the things he says it is wise
^^^P^^^ to remember m making a sound investment.
First The REALTOR who refuses to sell you something he believes you will be un-
able to pay for, or that has no actual resale value.
That the pocketbook is a family affair, when it comes to making an investment, and is
one of many lessons still unlearned by those who think themselves infallible, and their
judgment above reproach.
Never expect more for anything than you would pay for it yourself.
A wise investment is based upon what each dollar will earn for you in actual returns, in
comparison to the earning power of your dollar invested in any safe security, providing
the investment you wish to make is as safe as the security you held while making the
dollar you wish to invest.
Before you buy or sell your home, or realty of any kind, if you do not feel competent
to make the decision, ask the advice of many. For great foundations are layed, and sub'
stantial institutions are builded by and through accepting the advice ot many.
For a safe investment or dependable loan, at money market value, write or consult —
GEORGE D. HAGAR, Realtor
Remsen, Iowa, Phone 215, P. O. Box 246
BEST WISHES FOR THE SUCCESS OF THE LUXEMBOURG
RELIEF COMMITTEE AND ITS HUMANITARIAN ACTIVITIES.
Corn Belt Supply Company, Inc.
Sioux City, Iowa
JOBBERS AND WHOLESALERS
Linseed Meal and Pellets Soybean Meal and Pellets
Cottonseed Meal, Cake and Screenings
Archer's, Sargent's, Hubbard's
Feeds for Livestock and Poultry
1 )ee Feed
1825 Grand Avenue
Sioux City, Iowa
^ and K-D Feeds and Minerals
on No. 5
Jobbers of ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT
SOCONY- VACUUM TIRES AND
of Remsen, Iowa
and their friends
Sioux City Live Stock Exchange
Greetings and Best Wishes
FLOYD A. MYLAN, D.V.M.
IN REMSEN SINCE 1918
For permanent independence and
a bright future for
The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
— and —
PEACE AND GOOD WILL ON EARTH
I THANK THE PEOPLE OF REMSEN AND VICINITY FOR THEIR
GOODWILL AND FAVORS THESE TWENTY-SEVEN YEARS
REGISTERED ABERDEEN ANGUS CATTLE
ALWAYS SOME CHOICE INDIVIDUALS FOR SALE
Your Inspection of Our Herd Invited
Best Wishes from
RITZ SUPER SERVICE
(YOUR MOTOR CAR HOSPITAL)
Complete Service in Repairing, Overhauling
TIRES AND TUBES
JOHN E, RITZ, Proprietor
McQuirk 8C Taylor Seed Store
BULK GARDEN SEEDS
HYBRID SEED CORN
305 Pearl St.
Sioux City (14,) Iowa
L. S. HOMAN HENRY DALDRUP
HOMAN 8C DALDRUP
J. I. CASE FARM IMPLEMENTS
^t^MBM ^^^^^ Regional
PILSNER-TYPE BEER BEERS!
Choice golden-ripe grain, ihe finest
malt, and tastiest hops ore alf com-
bined b/ the latest brewing methods to
produce HEIDEL-BRAU Beer.
Drink a refreshing bottle of smooth,
mellow, futly-aged HEIDEL-BRAU after
ct hard day's work— enjoy it with your
friends or with a home-cooked meal.
Whatever the occasion ~ HEIDEL-
BRAU will make it a bit more pleasant!
BREWED AND BOTTLED BY THE
SrOUX CITY BREWING CO.
Goetz Country Club Beer Distributing Co., Inc,
Goetz Country Club Beer
Lager Pilsener Blue and Silver
Green Label Red Label Label
515 Pearl St.
SIOUX CITY, IOWA
ERROR: stackunderf low
OFFENDING COMMAND: ~