Skip to main content
cbc Clnivcv*Uv of Cbioiuic
REV. S/F/HOT.CHKIN, M. A.
THE MORNINGS OF THE BIBLE, EARLY CLERGY OF PENN-
SYLVANIA AND DELAWARE, HISTORY OF
P, W. ZIEGLER & CO., PUBLISHERS,
No. 720 CHESTNUT STREET,
Copyright, 1890, by Rev. S. F. Hotchkin.
IS RESPECTFULLY DEDICATED TO
THE RT. REV. BISHOPS HOWE AND RULISON,
OF CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA,
THE RT. REV. BISHOP WHITEHEAD,
This work is a continuation of the "Early Clergy of
Pennsylvania and Delaivare." That book treated, of
Philadelphia mainly, as far as Pennsylvania was con-
cerned. This one embraces the State, outside of Phil-
adelphia, (with a few exceptions), which was all a country
district when our narratives begin ; so that the title is ap-
propriate, though cities and towns are here considered.
The volume gives specimens of country clerical life. In
England the "Country Parson," George Herbert, at Bem-
erton, who could move the farmer to stop his plough for a
weekday service, and Hooker, at Bishop's Bourne, see-
ing " God's blessings spring out of the earth, free from
noise," and Keble in the Hursley vicarage are pleasant
pictures, but the American church can show many like
them. It were to be wished that every parish could
have a volume prepared to note the lives of clergy and
laymen and women who have served God in Christian
A clergyman wrote me of one dignitary, that he was
what he was largely through the influence of his mother
and wife, and this is true in general. If some rector's
wife would sketch the lives of the ministers and wives
of bishops and noted clergy she would be doing a good
deed. The effect of a rectory on a parish is an import-
ant factor in church life.
The author thanks the clergy and others who have
loaned plates for this work, and specially Hon. W. A.
Morton ; and J. M. W. Geist, of the New Era, Lancaster,
for furnishing the steel-plate portrait of Bishop Bowman,
and the illustrations of St. James's and St. John's
Samuel Clarkson, Esq., of Philadelphia has also given
aid in illustrating Lancaster parish.
For accounts of Huntington and York Springs see
"Gettysburg;" and for Mount Hope, Manheim and
Jonestown, see "Lebanon."
Rectory of the
Memorial Church of St. Luke, the Beloved Physician,
Bustleton, Phila., Feb. nth, A. D, 1891.
The Venerable Society for the Propagation of the
Gospel in Foreign Parts was chartered, A. D. 1701, "by
the great deliverer, King William III." For over 70 years
this Church of England Society expended 5000 per
annum in America, providing needy places "with min-
isters and public worship of God." The folio account
of the Society, prepared by Rev. Mr. Stubs, was printed
in 1704. Bishop Wm. Stevens Perry's Historical Col-
lections give the Reports of Pennsylvania Missionaries.
Rev. Dr. David Humphreys was the Secretary of the
Society in 1730. In 1747, Rev. Dr. Philip Bearcroft held
the office, and in 1762 Rev. Mr. Neill mentions his death
as much regretted by the Missionaries.
In the Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware, in
the sketch of Dr. Bedell, pp. 269, 270, may be found a
notice of a patriarchal lay-reader in North Carolina, and
Samuel Gunn, in Ohio, deserves remembrance. Richard
Grafton, in Philadelphia, and Nathaniel Walton, the
Frankford lay-reader and catechist, were useful in pro-
vincial days. There were vacancies in the churches by
the deaths and removals of Missionaries, and the clergy
had more work than they could perform ; though the Pro-
pagation Society strove to send the Gospel to the waiting
parishes. Rev. Wm. Becket of Lewes, Delaware,
reports two churches built before there was a prospect
of a minister, but lay-reading served to keep the people
steady in church principles. Still the clergy were valued,
and "unwearied Solictafions" went from the province of
Pennsylvania to England from vacant churches. If
there had been more clergy the Church would have had
a brighter story to tell. In 1726 Governor Gordon wrote
the Bishop of London that the people were inclined to
the Church, and that she was gaining ground everywhere
where there were officiating clergy.
Rowland Jones was a patient schoolmaster, who taught
children the Bible and the Catechism. The Bible was a
text-book in school. One girl committed the Gospel of
St. John to memory.
In 1740, Ebenezer Kennersly, a preacher among the
Baptists, became a churchman, and desired to be a
Missionary. When the Bishop of London gave 200
volumes of his sermons to Pennsylvania churches, the
three "lower counties," (now the State of Delaware),
received apart of them, and 14 were ordered by the
voluntary convention of 1760 to be given "to the Min-
isters of other denominations."
The reports to the Propagation Society show the pov-
erty of the indefatigable missionaries and the indifference
and opposition of some, contrasting with the zeal and
generosity of individuals and parishes, especially in
The German Lutherans in coetus frequently proposed
union with the English Church, and several of their
clergy wished to address the Archbishop of Canterbury
and the Bishop of London on the subject. A large con-
gregation of Dutch Calvinists in Philadelphia offered to
conform to the Church of England if the gentleman
whom they presented could be ordained. Perry's His-
torical Collections (Pa.), pp. 396-8.
In connection with the present church work among the
Indians, it is interesting to note that Rev. Mr. Stuart, at
Fort Hunter, could read a part of the morning service in
the Mohawk language for the Indians. He also officiated
for the whites, and was "a most zealous and faithful
laborer in the vinevard."
REV. DR. JOSEPH DODURIDGE.
AN interesting memoir of this good man was writ-
ten by his daughter Narcissa. In the edition of
the Doctor's " Settlement and Indian Wars of
Virginia and Pennsylvania," edited by Alfred Williams,
there is also a sketch of his life by Judge Thomas Scott,
of Chilicothe. This edition was published by Joel Mun-
sell at Albany, New York. The first edition was printed
at Wellsburgh, Virginia, at the office of the Gazette, for
the author. It is in the Ridgway Library,- Philadelphia,
and was issued in 1824. Munsell's edition is in the
Historical Society of Pennsylvania Library, but I cull
my notes from a type written copy of the memoir kindly
sent for my use' by the Rt. Rev. Dr. Whitehead, the
Bishop of Pittsburgh, who has aided my labors.
The Bishop spoke of the Avork of this pioneer mis-
sionary in his Convention address of 1887.
Joseph Doddridge was the son of John and Mary
Doddridge, and was born at Friends' Cove, near Bedford,
Pennsylvania, in 1768. He was a relative of Rev. Philip
Doddridge, the celebrated English writer, who was the
son of Rev. John Doddridge, an English rector. In
1773, when Joseph was a child, his father moved ?to
Washington County, Pa., near the Virginia line. This
was then the wilderness West, and the Indians held the
larger part of the country. Dr. Doddridge's book gives
10 REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE.
a vivid picture of the rude life and free manners of the
early white settlers, as well as of Indian life. He 'was
an observant man, and had wide opportunities for gather-
ing notes. His earnest piety is evident in his early life.
The Word of God was his guide. His mother died
when he was eight years old, and the lad was sent to
Maryland to school ; but when seventeen aided his
father a part of the time on the farm, and spent a por-
tion of the time in educating himself. A scholarly
friend, Mr. Johnson, advanced his studies. The lad's
father was a Wesleyan and built a chapel on his farm
for a church and a school. The son became a promising
travelling preacher. The Docldridge Chapel is stated to
have been the first house erected for the worship of God
west of the Alleghenies. After his father's death Joseph
entered Jefferson Academy, at Canonsburg, Pa. The
Wesleyans having laid aside the prayer book prepared
for them by their founder, young Doddridge sought the
Episcopal Church as more congenial to his views, and
in 1792 was ordained deacon by Bishop White, in Phila-
delphia. Several years after the same Bishop ordained
him a priest in the same city. He was a good and in-
structive preacher. About 1800 Mr. Docldridge moved
to Charlestown in what is now West Virginia. He was
rector at Charlestown of St. John's Church for more than
thirty years, and did good service also at Wheeling and
other places as a zealous missionary in a new land.
He wrote Bishop Moore, of Virginia, that he was striv-
ing to prepare the state of Ohio for the Episcopate as he
thought it needed, as there was a bishop in Pennsyl-
vania, and another in Virginia. He was a devoted
churchman, and as the early American clergy cried to
England for the Episcopate, so did he continually strive
to awaken the East to the need of such .an office in the
REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE. II
West. If the Episcopate had been earlier given, the
scattered sheep might have been collected to the great
benefit of the Church. In 1810 a few clergymen held a
meeting and authorized Dr. Doddridge to communicate
with Bishop White about the much-needed Episcopate ;
and, eventually, Bishop Philander Chase was consecrated
for Ohio. The appeals of Dr. Doddridge are touch-
ing and pitiful. He made missionary journeys in Ohio,
baptizing many children. The wife of Dr. Doddridge
was Jemima, daughter of Captain John Bukey. Many
of the settlers about the missionary had been brought
up in the English Church, and were cheered by the
presence of a Church clergyman. The trees often
served as temples, when like Adam the worshipers
adored God under the open sky. The people were
generally poor, and the missionary determined to add
the profession of medicine to his clerical duties, that he
might obtain a living for his family. In 1800 he com-
pleted his medical course of study under Dr. Benjamin
Rush, in the Medical Institute of Philadelphia. He was
successful as a physician, and highly esteemed by his
brethren in that profession. He was elected a cor-
responding member of the Academy of Natural Sciences
The Doctor "was tall and muscular;" his hair was
dark, and his eyes grey, and his appearance striking.
He was a good conversationalist and accessible. His
manner was simple and his demeanor courteous, and he
was agreeable and was fond of children, whom he kindly
greeted with a pleasant smile. Servants and those en-
gaged in labor were saluted by him cheeringly. He
was industrious and domestic. When well he rose at
four for meditation and literary study, and blamed those
who slumbered when God gave them light freely, and
12 REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE.
then purchased light for night study. He lived simply,
and was benevolent to the afflicted, sometimes removing
the sick poor to his own house for gratuitous treatment.
He was fond of music and led his own congregation
generally, when '.choirs and organs were not. He de-
lighted in horticulture and bee culture, and loved bird
music, and in the morning joined his hymn of praise to
God with theirs. He would not allow the birds to be
molested on his place, but taught the children that the
fruits were to be shared with them, as they were the
creation of God who made human beings also. He put
out a treatise entitled, "Culture of Bees," in which he
explained his kind plan of colonizing instead of killing
the bees. He \.-a.-r fond of rustic matters, and made a
den as a home for some free squirrels who amused him,
but he would not imprison them. He did not like to
view "a bird in > c.ige, or an animal tied by the neck."
The exposure of i sedical work in a new country broke
the constitution otTne missionary, which was not strong;
in later years he suffered much.
Dr. Doddridge wrote a work entitled, "Logan, the
Last of the Race of Shikillimies. A Dramatic Piece,"
and "Dialogue between a Dandy and a Backwoods-
man," and "some sermons an special subjects."
In 1824, in travelling through Pennsylvania, he writes
from Bedford to his wife of the beautiful scenery viewed
on the journey, and the thought in his poor, health that
his senses would soon fail to show him these grand
mountains or quieter scenes so much admired ; but he
thanked God that he could expect by faith to enter a
land of eternal beauty and peaceful prosperity, where
the weariness and pain that now afflicted him would
depart. He preached at Somerset and baptized two
children, thus continuing his missionary work. There
REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE. 13
is an interesting description of the famed Bedford
Springs and of the town of Bedford.
Dr. Doddridge attended a special convention of the
Diocese of Ohio at Chilicothe, to meet Bishop Chase
on his return "from his first visit to England " to obtain
funds for his great educational plans. The missionary
took charge of St. James's Church, Zanesville. His
poor health had induced him some time before to give
up "his parishes in Virginia and Eastern Ohio," and to
relinquish the practice of the medical art on account of
its demanding exposure to weather, and riding on horse-
back. For several months he performed his clerical
duties at Zanesville, but when the Spring came he was
severely attacked with pneumonia, which brought him
near death. When he grew a little better he wrote that
his life was fast passing away, and that "the prospect of
death" was familiar to his mind, and that it was "by no
means unpleasant." His little son Reeves died in 1825
in Christian hope. The Doctor visited his sister, Mrs.
Reeves, in Chilicothe. His friend J. Scott then describes
him as cheerful, though apparently soon to leave earthly
scenes. The faith that he had inculcated on others now
supported him. He desired death. Some time passed,
however, before he died, and he made another journey
for improvement in health, without avail. Leaning on
Christ's atoning mercy and merits he fearlessly looked
for the end. He died in Wellsburgh, Brooke County,
Virginia, November gth, A. D. 1826, being in his 57th
Rev. Mr. Asbury requested Dr. Doddridge to study
German. He could preach in German, and found his
knowledge of use in after years in conversing with the
When the clergy met in Washington County, Pennsyl-
vania, they desired to unite the western counties of
14 REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE.
Pennsylvania with Western Virginia, Ohio and other
Western States under a bishop. A meeting of the
clergy was held September, 1803. The Rev. Messrs.
Francis Reno, Seaton, Robert Ayres and Doddridge
were present. They "adjourned to meet on General
Neville's old place on Chartiers Creek, Pa., not far from
The love of the scattered flock for the Church was
shown on one occasion when, in 1815, Dr. Doddridge
went seventy-five miles from his home to preach a
funeral sermon, according to a request made by a
patriarch before his decease, who had been before re-
moval his parishioner. One Avho accompanied him
describes the "arrival at the commodious mansion of
the departed, where the preacher was welcomed by a
large concourse of his children, grandchildren and
neighbors, who had assembled to hear the words of
eternal life from his lips, and to do honor to the memory
of the deceased, at whose dying request they were
called together on this occasion."
A sketch of Dr. Doddridge is appropriate in this
volume, because his name is associated so closely with
the early work of the Church in Western Pennsylvania,
and with the efforts to secure a Western bishop. He
must be numbered with our honorable toilers in a day
when, hardships were many, and the greatest encourage-
ment was the smile of God, rather than visible success ;
but he sowed that others might reap, and if he can see
the number of bishops who now water the field which
he traversed, his soul must rejoice at the goodness of
God in accomplishing his desires.
Bishop Whitehead in his Centennial Address to the
Diocesan Convention of Pittsburgh in 1887, in the year
commemorating Bishop White's consecration a century
before, says :
REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE. 15
"The impulse given by that single visit of Bishop
White in 1825 has never been permitted to lose its force.
At that time there were but ten clergymen within the
region now composing the Diocese of Pittsburgh. They
were as follows : The Rev. John P. Bailsman, Jr., Fay-
ette County ; the Rev. John H. Hopkins, Trinity Church,
Pittsburgh ; the Rev. Robert Ayres, Brownsville ; the
Rev. Francis Reno, Beaver County ; the Rev. John
Taylor, Pittsburgh ; the Rev. Moses P. Bennett, Kittan-
ning and Butler; the Rev. Charles Smith, Meadville ;
the Rev. H. H. Peiffer, Brownsville ; the Rev. D. C.
Page, Greensburg ; the Rev. Wm. R. Bowman, Browns-
" There were five parishes organized, (Trinity, Pitts-
burgh; Christ Church, Meadville; Christ Church,
Brownsville ; St. John's, Franklin, and Christ Church,
Greensburg), but it is difficult, if not impossible, to
ascertain exactly the number of congregations which
these ten clergymen served. Bishop White seems to
have visited Pittsburgh, Greensburg, Connellsville and
Brownsville, besides Wheeling, in Virginia, and several
places in Central Pennsylvania.
" He confirmed over two hundred candidates, almost
all of them the first fruits of the ministry of the Rev.
John H. Hopkins, afterwards Bishop of Vermont.
From that visit the Church in Western Pennsylvania
renewed its hope for the future.
" With the consecration of Bishop Onderdonk in 1827,
a vigorous policy took its rise; and 'heroic feet' were
those which followed his over the Western portion of the
state. To-day there are hundreds who revere and love
the memories of the great Alonzo Potter, the sainted
Bowman, the beloved Stevens.
" With the organization of this Diocese of Pittsburgh
came redoubled energy, and no record of Episcopal
1 6 REV. DR. JOSEPH DODDRIDGE.
vigor and devotion can surpass that which tells of the
trials, unwearied journeys, and far reaching labors of
my ever venerated predecessor, the noble Dr. Kerfoot."
REV. BERNARD PAGE, A. M. 17
REV. BERNARD PAGE, A. M.
N the collections of the Wyoming Historical and
Geological Society, Vol. II., pp. 206, &c., is an
account of the life of Rev. Bernard Page, the first
Episcopal clergyman of Wyoming, in A. D. 1772. By
Sheldon Reynolds, Esq. The writer states that the
education and secular influence of the primitive clergy-,
man gave him influence in the new settlements.
Mr. Page was ordained in London, and assigned to
Wyoming parish in 1772, though he had been in Wilkes-
Barre the previous year. He had the martyr spirit and
undertook the work against the warnings of his friends.
He came to his work with no call from the people, and
no promise of support, simply obeying Christ's com-
mand to "preach the Gospel.'-'
Land troubles concerning the Connecticut Colony
and Pennsylvania interests were disturbing the country.
The Yankees had been driven from the Valley five
times, and yet returned and captured Fort Wyoming,
and would not allow Mr. Page to preach in the Block
House, through unjust but natural fear as to his in-
tention. He wrote -a burning letter to both parties,
offering his spiritual remedies for wounded souls, and
offered to fight the Lord's battle with the Shield of
Faith and the Sword of the Spirit ; but held up the
Deluge and Sodom and Nineveh as a warning to those
who would not hear, though he hoped to present many
iS REV. BERNARD PAGE, A. M.
to King Jesus for a free pardon. He hoped that they
would receive the savor of life. He longed for the sal-
vation of souls, though he had been warned that he
might be killed if he went to Wyoming. He declared
himself willing to die in such a cause, and went. He
pronounced himself neutral in the secular quarrel, (as
both parties feared interference), and desired that those
who may come to hear his sermon in the open air may
not be molested.
Mr. Page returned to London for ordination, and was
sent back as a missionary of the Propagation Society.
He labored in a wide district. In Rev. Mr. Fithian's
Journal he notes his being near Mimcey in 1775. Ac-
cording to Bolton's History of West Chester County,
N. Y., he appears to have been at St. Peter's, Peekskill,
for a short time. He moved to Virginia, and is men-
tioned in Bishop Meade's " Old Churches of Virginia."
He assisted Lord Bryan Fairfax, rector of old Christ
Church, Alexandria ; and was at Shepherdstown, and
Mrs. Shepherd commended him highly, as zealous and
pious. He died in the lower part of Virginia. He was
assisting at Christ Church when Washington was an
REV. WILLIAM ELDRED. 19
REV. WILLIAM ELDRED.
REV. BENJAMIN ALLEN, the zealous rector of
St. Paul's Church, Philadelphia, did much hard
work in writing and printing and circulating
good Christian literature. He opened a place for the
sale of books that the Prayer Book might be sold
cheaply, as well as other religious books. He wrote a
narrative of the " Labors, Sufferings, and Final Triumph
of Rev. William Eldred." The text: II. Tim. 2:12,
" Jf we suffer we shall also reign with Him," adorns the
Mr. Eldred was born in the north of England. " He
was an humble, devout, self-denying evangelist." Pie
was fond oi poetry in early life, and in later years the
repetition of hymns cheered his missionary journeys,
as he passed through the forests of this new land.
Finding on the floor a piece of the Gospel of St. John,
containing "a command to preach the Gospel," he felt
it addressed to himself. He studied law/but wished
higher occupation. An elderly religious woman in
London kept alive his sacred desires for a holy life. A
Hindoo taught him the Bengalee language, and he was
the means of converting his teacher, who died in the
Christian faith. Mr. Eldred wished to go as a mission-
ary to Hindostan, but as he had a large family he was
not accepted. He, however, visited Lascar sailors in
London, and gave them portions of Scripture. He lived
20 REV. WILLIAM ELDRED.
several miles out of London, and walked into the city
in the morning and out in the evening. When living in
London he went on Sunday mornings twelve or fourteen
miles to a village, where he would gather the children
for instruction. He emigrated to Western Pennsylvania,
where he visited an uncle at Elklands. His wife and
his six children were being conveyed in an ox-cart over
a mountain when night closed in, and while wife and
children slept in the cart he watched lest the oxen should
push the cart over a precipice, while the animals
trembled for fear at a panther's cry. He moved from his
uncle's residence to Muncey, and in the cold and icy
rain as the family walked down a mountain, the infant,
already ill, was so affected by the cold that death
ensued. Mr. Eldred afterward moved to Jersey Shore,
and took the Academy ; and thence, with Rev. Caleb
Hopkins, he went to Philadelphia to study theology
with Bishop White. He studied under the disadvantage
of poverty, and walked 160 miles and back in going to
Philadelphia for examination by the Bishop. He moved
to Greenwood, and was ordained deacon. He officiated
at Greenwood, Bloomsburg, St. Gabriel's, Sugar Loaf
and Muncey, and generally walked ; but his father gave
him some books on theology and a little money, and he
bought a dearborn for his journeys. Dark nights and
severe weather did not deter him from meeting his ap-
pointments. When he died he had twelve places of
service. He sometimes spent the night in the woods,
tying his horse to the wheel of his wagon. Once a
panther disturbed his rest "on an old log." In 1825 a
clergyman visited Mr. Eldred, and saw the hovel in
which he lived, and did not know his friend as he beheld
him in the coarse garb of a laborer with bare feet. He
cultivated "a few acres" of ground, and his children
REV. WILLIAM ELDRED. 21
aided him. The people were attached to their laborious
pastor, and his labors were blessed of God. The wife
was the daughter of a wealthy English manufacturer,
and Mr. Eldred could have remained as a lawyer in
London. The Advancement Society Reports mention
his indefatigable and successful work in Lycoming,
Columbia and Northumberland Counties. He estab-
lished a Church Sunday-school at Pennsborough. Rev.
Mr. Dupuy was at work in Bloomsburg and Jersey
Town with success. Milton was under the care of Mr.
Eldred. He considered Pottsville and Orwigsburg
"very important places for a missionary station." In
going and returning from conventions he had preached
in these places. He writes, "Pottsville is -rapidly in-
creasing. I have been credibly informed that fifty
families are waiting to remove there as soon as habita-
tions can be raised for them." He declares that it is
rapidly rising "in commercial importance," and he
notices improvements in successive visits. He says,
"no inconsiderable portion of the inhabitants are in
favor of our Church." He notes in his field of labor a
manifest increase in attention "to the Sacraments, the
use of the Prayer Book, etc." His travels impaired his
health. The English emigrants loved the Church and
welcomed its missionary. Mr. Eldred formed several
Sunday-schools under the General Episcopal Sunday-
school Society. In 1826 two friends visited this daunt-
less man and found him ill, but .still he rode over the
rugged road "to Muneey hills." The wagon was not
covered, and the sun beat upon the invalid ; but a con-
gregation awaited him at a village schoolhouse, and he
preached to them. As no other food could be had, he
ate some berries, thanked God, and rested a short time,
and proceeded in the darkness of the night ; and when
22 REV. WILLIAM ELDRED.
the muddy roads forced walking, or afterward a narrow
mountain pass, near a precipice with a waterfall beneath,
gave fear of danger, he strove to encourage his friends
by stirring the echoes of the forest with "'Jerusalem My
Happy Home," and similar strains. His home in the
Muncey hills was poor, but the morning was wakened
by the words, "To Our Redeemer's Glorious Name,"
etc., sung by the missionary as he and his children
cleaned "the humble chariot which had brought us to
the habitation of a King's Son." The oldest daughter
by the kindness of friends was placed in school at Phila-
delphia, and her father wrote her letters of Christian
counsel in her absence. He used to make the house of
Dr. Janney, in the Northern Liberties, his home in visit-
ing Philadelphia. The father was grateful for the
attention to his child. A visit of Rev. Drs. Boyd and
Clemson to Jersey Town is noted. The missionary de-
sires Tracts and English and German Bibles and Testa-,
ments. In 1827 we see this poor man raising money for
the suffering Greeks among his people. The same year
the ill health of Dr; Bedell is mentioned in a letter, and
the work of Rev. Norman Nash, in endeavoring to
establish the Church in Pottsville, .is hopefully com-
The missionary's physician warned him against over
effort, but he did not spare, himself; and walked from
point to point, and exposed himself to storm or sun,
moved by no obstacles when duty called ; and he felt
that his Christian ministry ordered him to testify as to
the grace of the Gospel of God. He denied himself
comforts for the sake of his wife, and he was a loving
father. He would teach his children "at the barn, in
the field, or by the wayside." Like Bishop Chase, of
Ohio, he toiled with his hands. Mr. Allen, in this con-
REV. \YILLIAM ELDRED. 23
nectio'n, describes how a letter written by the Bishop to
a clergyman in Boston, who had asked particulars of his
life, showing that in the cold winter he was cutting and
hauling wood and thrashing grain, was sent to a lady in
London, who afterward on the Bishop's visit offered him
pecuniary aid, but he wished his schools to be aided.
The lady was the daughter of the Bishop of Inverness,
and her father had received the letter, and her dying
friend, John Bowdler, left a purse of gold to Bishop
Chase in consequence 'of it. The money purchased a
Communion Service for the Theological Seminary in
Ohio, and the lady was the means of procuring large
funds to aid the Bishop's work in Ohio.
In January of 1828 Mr. Eldred, one Sunday after
preaching, visited some sick persons, returned home,
and walked five miles to a point where he was to preach
in the evening, and during the sermon he was attacked
with illness. He recovered for a time, but in a few days
died, having taken a final leave of his poor family. His
parishioners regretted the loss of one who knew how to
comfort those who were sick in body or soul. An ac-
count of his death by a clergyman who witnessed it, and
preached his funeral sermon, closes the volume ; but the
name of this clergyman is not given. He rejoices in
the departure of his brother to a land where there are
no tears. The tribulation ended in lasting joy, and he
who had taught others of the blessedness of the chastise-
ments of God, now experienced the truth of his words.
He has left another example to clergy and laity of the
truth that the way to God's Kingdom is through tribu-
lation. One of the hymns of Watts, appended to this
volume, will furnish a fitting thought to close the con-
sideration of such a holy life ;
24 REV. WILLIAM ELDRED.
" So Jesus slept ; .God's dying Son,
Past through the grave, and bless'd the bed,
Rest here, O saint ; till from his throne
The morning break and pierce the shade,
" Break from his throne, illustrious morn ;
A ttend, O earth, the sovereign word ;
Restore thy trust, 'a glorious form ;
He must ascend to meet his Lord."
BP. KEEPER'S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA. 25
BISHOP KEMPER'S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA.
THE Rev. B. J. Douglass found in an ancient
leather trunk belonging to his father some letters
written by Dr. Kemper to the owner of the im-
portant trunk, showing that in the earlier days of
diocesan life in Pennsylvania a missionary fire burned in
the hearts of Drs. Boyd, Clay and Muhlenberg, Bird
Wilson, Richard S. Mason, and the Rev. Messrs. Breint-
nall, Samuel Phinney, and Joseph Clarksbn, and the
Rev. Dr. Levi Bull. Bishop White must be named as
having a spirit which still shows itself in connection
with that "of the other worthies named in the mission
work of this diocese and in the West. In 1812 the Rev.
Mr. Kemper was the first missionary of the Advance-
ment Society. He pleaded for advance from East to
West, and thought if the Church were firmly planted at
the junction of the Monongahela and Allegheny rivers,
and in that section, that scattered churchmen in Ohio,
Kentucky and Tennessee would be affected by it. This
he reported to the Society in 1813. Mr. Kemper's
journey of missionary observation extended beyond the
Alleghenies when easy railway travel was unknown.
He was then a deacon, but full of energetic faith. He
preached the Gospel faithfully, and laid foundations for
future work. The Advancement Society was organized
in 1812. Bishop White put out a series of practical
queries which he desired to be answered, that he might
26 BP. KEMPER'S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA.
know the condition and promise of the points visited.
Churches without settled clergy were to be visited. Dr.
Joseph Pilmore, rector of St. Paul's, Philadelphia, was
appointed to visit the counties adjacent to that city, but
his mission was a short one. The Rev. Mr. Kemper
was assistant at Christ, St. Peter's and St. James's
Churches in Philadelphia, but the trustees of the Ad-
vancement Society arranged to supply his place, and he
was away for three months, visiting the remote parts of
Pennsylvania ; and as we consider his future life we may
say that the deacon was father to the bishop, for in his
later life various dioceses shared the zeal which impelled
this first search for lost and scattered sheep. The Rev.
B. J. Douglass, whose manuscript I am permitted to
follow throughout this account, gives extracts from the
Reports of the Society which show the good work done.
Mr. Kemper found many church people scattered
through Pennsylvania, and thought "that six, or even
eight, missionaries might be constantly employed, and
most usefully employed among those who are pro-
fessedly Episcopalians." He believed that "many of
them would be nearly if not entirely supported by the
people among whom they officiated."
Rev. Jehu C. Clay and. Rev. Jacob M. Douglass fol-
lowed him in visiting the Western counties of this State ;
"the one in 1813, the other in 1816," and confirmed
this view. Mr. Kemper went from Pittsburgh to Browns-
ville, in Fayette County, and found in that town and its
vicinity a number of church people. He held two
services on one Sunday in the Methodist place of
worship, and at the afternoon service Rev. Mr. Ayres,
who was a pioneer in Western Pennsylvania, read the
prayers. There were five Episcopal churches within
twelve miles of this place. The churches had not been
BP. KEMPER'S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA. 27
open for a long time, but they were kept in repair.
There was also a need of clergy near Philadelphia.
Long after the Revolution the Church was weak. Mr.-
Kemper received no remuneration for this journey, only
taking what was needed for its expenses. In 1814 he
made a second journey. He was the Secretary of the
Advancement Society, and, doubtless, a faithful one.
The subscriptions of that day were very creditable. The
missionary work of Mr. Kemper was voluntarily offered.
He started on his second tour of observation, August
1 5th, 1814, and returned from his extensive journey on
the fourteenth of the next December. The trustees con-
sidered the mission an effective and useful one. Mr.
Clay's visit was in 1813. Bradford County had sent an
affecting appeal to Bishop White for a missionary visit.
Some of the dwellers in what were "then remote
valleys" told Rev. B. J. Douglass forty years ago,
sometimes weeping, "of the intense interest attending
that mission of Mr. Kemper." In 1850 Bishop Potter
established the North East Convocation, which nobly
kept up the missionary spirit. A favorite gathering
place of the clergy in those later days was St. Matthew's
Church, at Pike, in the valley of the Wyalusing, in
Bradford County, where Kemper's memory is still
preciously cherished. Mr. Kemper administered Holy
Baptism to " one hundred and twenty-five persons."
The Holy Communion was given to waiting. souls, who
had scarcely expected ever again to enjoy the blessed
privileges of its reception. He preached where no
clergyman of the Episcopal Church had ever before
proclaimed the Word of God, and formed "several new
congregations," while it was expected that others would
be gathered. A demand arose for prayer books, and
many souls were benefited by the public preaching and
28 DP. KEMPER'S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA.
private counsel of the clergy of the Advancement Society.
Bishop Kemper stands high among these missionaries.
A kindred spirit was Rev. Dr. George Boy d, rector of
St. John's Church, Northern Liberties, Philadelphia.
This was the mother church of the parishes in the
northern portion of the city, and it had great zeal in
missions, and the parishes in Wilkesbarre, Springville,
New Milford and Pike "owe their organization" to it.
Dr. Boyd's life may be found in the volume on the
"Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware." In
1816 Dr. Boyd was Secretary of the Advancement
Society, but in 1819 Bishop Kemper was again corres-
ponding secretary. In passing, Mr. Douglass notes that
in 1815 Rev. Messrs. Milnor and Kemper alternated in
a service in Commissioners' Hall, in Third Street, from
March until June i8th, when a clergyman was employed
to take up the work. In 1816 Mr. Kemper writes Rev.
Jacob M. Douglass, who was acting for a few months as
the acceptable missionary of the Advancement Society
in Western Pennsylvania, that he is "much pleased with
his proposal to visit the Western States." As the
Advancement Society operated only in Pennsylvania,
Mr. Kemper suggested a Missionary Society, especially
of young men, to aid in more general mission work, to
support Mr. Douglass for a year of Western work. In
a later letter the same year he describes the progress of
his plan, and says that Mr. Breintnall has acted as lay-
reader in Adams County, and appears to have animated
the people very much." He adds, " Muhlenberg was at
Huntingdon, where there are many children to be bap-
tized." He wrote Rev. J. M. Douglass again that the
Episcopal Missionary Society was about to be organized.
Mr. Douglass received a commission "which entitled
him to the honor of being the first missionary of the
BP. KEMPER S MISSIONARY WORK IN PENNSYLVANIA. 29
first Missionary Society of the United States to supply
the needs of the West." He prepared for his journey of
six months of mission work. Rev. Jacob M. Douglass
states in his Journal, on Tuesday, October 29th : "I left
Pittsburgh on my long journey through Ohio, Ken-
tucky, etc." He acted according, to Bishop White's
letter of instruction to Mr. Kemper, and he "followed
Mr. Kemper's footsteps and those of Mr. Clay in the
Western counties of the State, only the sphere of labor
was now being extended to that which was really the
West of those days. He went as far as Tennessee ;
baptizing the children ; visiting the scattered families of
our flock ; looking after the churches left vacant since
the Revolution ; encouraging, stimulating the feeble
congregations to greater earnestness, and in not a few
instances, notably that of Nashville, Tennessee, orga-
nizing the people into a regular parish."
The interesting article of B. J. Douglass closes with
the claim for Pennsylvania, and especially for earnest
Philadelphia churchmen, that they have " the credit of
originating those movements which culminated later in
the formation of the general Missionary Society of the
whole Church in this country ; and if there is any one
name which, under God, has been instrumental in bring-
ing about this result it is the name of the first mission-
ary that heads the roll of the Advancement Society, the
name of Jackson Kemper."
The future missionary bishop, who brought various
dioceses into union. with the General Convention, and
closed his useful life as the Bishop of Wisconsin, showed
his mettle in the earliest days of his ministry.
THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D.
THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D.
13V. REV. BENJAMIN J. DOUGLASS.
THE Rev. Levi Bull, D. D., who was connected
with the Diocese of Pennsylvania almost from
its inception, was born at Warwick Furnace,
Chester County, Pa., November 14, 1780. He was the
son of Colonel Thomas Bull, an officer in the Con-
tinental army during the Revolution. On March 31,
,1808, he was married to Ann, daughter of Mr. Cyrus
Jacobs, an ironmaster of Churchtown, Lancaster Co.,
Pa. Of fifteen children born to them only three survive,
Col. Thomas K. Bull, who sti.l resides at the old family
mails-ion in the northern pa-rt of Chester County, near
St. Mary's ; James Hunter Bull, an attorney at West
Chester, Pa., and Samuel Octavius Bull, of Albany,
Rev. Dr. Bull graduated at Dickinson College
October, 1798. He was ordained deacon by Bishop
White in Christ Church, Philadelphia, February 10,
1805, and priest in St. Paul's Church, Philadelphia, by
Bishop White, February 16, 1806, having pursued his
studies under the direction of the Bishop. His son,
Col. Thomas K. Bull, states that he attended for a while
the Divinity School of the Rev. Dr. Nathan Grier, an
eminent Presbyterian divine, and a friend and neighbor
of the family. Col. Bull also states that immediately
after his ordination he took charge of St. Gabriel's,
THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D. 31
Morlatton, (Douglassville), where he officiated for
twenty years, and his own parish church, St. Mary's,
built for him, and in wftich he ministered for nearly fifty
years, till failing health and age required him to give up
his regular charge, though he was active in his Master's
service; assisting his brethren in their duties, and
encouraging them in their labors till his "life's end."
He received the title of Doctor of Divinity from
Allegheny College, Pa.
He was identified with the history of the Diocese of
Pennsylvania for more than fifty years, with the excep-
tion of the year 1 8 1 8, when he served acceptably as rector
of Trinity Church, Wilmington, Delaware. He was the
intimate associate, friend and counsellor of Bishops
Meade, Mcllvaine, Lee, Johns, and of Doctors Bedell,
May and Tyng, and of the Rev. Richard U. Morgan,
D. D., and the Rev. Messrs. Geo. Mintzer, Richard
D. Hall, Jacob M. Douglass, and others. He was a
strong man in every sense of the word, and was looked
up to as a leader in that band of evangelical worthies,
who by their faithful presentation of Gospel truth, un-
blemished character and personal influence were the
means of reviving the Episcopal Church in the counties
about Philadelphia in the first half of this century.
He never had less than a trio of churches under his
care, and when he relinquished the rectorship of St.
Gabriel's, Morlatton, after twenty years' service, it was
replaced by that of Bangor Church, Churchtown, which,
with St. Thomas's, Morgantown, and St. Mary's, War-
wick, formed his permanent charge. For a time he had
the care of St Andrew's, West Vincent, an off-shoot
from St. Mary's. St. Mark's Church, Honeybrook,
owed its origin to his labors. Mr. J. F. Sachse, a member
of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, who
32 THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D.
looked into the early history of some of the Churches
in the State, says that it is his belief "that St. Mary's
was the first church built in Pennsylvania after the
Revolution, and during Dr. Bull's incumbency the num-
ber of communicants was at times about one hundred,
a large figure for a rural parish at that date."
Bishop Alonzo Potter had the highest personal regard
for him, and a warm -admiration of his ability as a
preacher. Speaking of a sermon of the Rev. Dr. Bull
before the General Convention, that discriminating Bis-
hop, who was not accustomed to bestow compliment
ad libitum, as his clergy well know, said that on this
occasion a deep impression was produced on the minds
of all who heard him. And, in this connection, let me
state a fact which I have from the very best authority,
and I do it to show that Dr. Bull's strong, masculine
sense in judging of men and measures was seldom at
fault. In the year 1845, at the Diocese Convention in
Philadelphia, after a day's ineffectual balloting, Dr.
Bull went home with Dr. Suddards, with whom he was
staying, and going up into the library in the evening
with this burden on their minds, after prayer and con-
ference Dr. Bull suddenly said : "Brother Suddards, 1
have found the man who is needed for our bishop, and
who will unite us all." " Who is he ?" " Alonzo Potter,
of Union College," was the reply. " Will you nominate
him, for I am chairman?" said Dr. Bull. " I will," was
the answer. The next morning he was nominated, and
we all know with what happy results; and if Dr. Bull
had never done any other good in the world, this is
enough to entitle him to the lasting regard of those who
know the character of Bishop Potter's Episcopate in
Long before what are now called "missions" were
THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D. 33
thought of, Dr. Bull .and those of his clerical brethren
who were like-minded, were accustomed to hold what
was then termed "Associations," in the parishes through-
out the Southeastern counties of Pennsylvania. Two or
three days were devoted to the earnest preaching of the
truth, and to the direct and personal application of
Christ's blessed Gospel in private to inquiring souls
where a suitable opportunity was given, and in this way
many, very many have been turned "from darkness to
light, and from the power of Satan unto God." Acts
26:18. Dr. Bull died August 2, 1859. He had been a
member of the Diocesan Convention for more than half
a century. The last time he answered to the roll-call of
the secretary was in 1858. The shades of that night
when no man can work were deepening over a noble
life, spent for the glory of God and the good of his fel-
lowmen. He loved the Church to which he had devoted
the strength of his days with an ardent and loyal affec-
tion, and was abundant in labor, and many precious
souls have been garnered into life eternal, the seeds of
his faithful ministry. At the final summons he said to
those in attendance at his bedside that he was ready,
ready as the tired and trusted veteran at the sunset-gun
to lay aside his arms and enter into rest.
"The respect," writes his son, "shown his memory
by his many clerical brethren, and the crowds of people
who attended his remains to the grave, afforded ample
evidence of the appreciation in which he was held by
the community in. which he spent his entire life. And,
go where you will, in those parts of Berks, Chester and
Lancaster, where his noble and' commanding form was
once familiar to the country folk, as he went in and out
among them, travelling from church to church on Sun-
days, in looking after their spiritual wants during the
34 THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D.
week, and there is no name to this day of any clergy-
man, whether of our own or of any of the denominations,
that will call forth as warm a response from those who
knew him, as the name of Levi Bull."
I add to Mr. Douglass's interesting sketch, that he
afterward drew my attention to an excellent anonymous
article in the Protestant Episcopal Quarterly Review of
April, 1860. There the pious mother's influence over
her son is noted. She named him Levi, hoping to see
him in the Christian priesthood. The father was brave
and industrious. The son was converted in early man-
hood. When he became a clergyman he preached in
schoolhouses and private houses, as well as in churches ;
and founded St. Mary's Church, Warwick, in 1805. He
rode on horseback through heat and cold. .On Sunday
nights, in the old age of his father, he held service at
the paternal home. His wife was from the Jacobs
mansion, called White Hall, near Churchtown, Lancas-
ter County. In their own hospitable mansion Father Bull
entertained the- clergy in a Christian home. For years
he was a delegate to the General Convention. His con-
version was complete, and his faith was simple, hopeful
and joyful. He preached with the power of abounding
faith, and believed that faith in Christ, through the
power of the Holy Spirit, made new men in Christ.
The power of the Spirit was a great thought in his
preaching, He preached the Convention sermon of
1819 at Bishop White's request. The text was, " How
shall they preach except they be sent?" The subject
was the responsibility and qualifications of the ministry.
Dr. Bull was a good extemporary speaker and seldom
wrote his sermons fully, and often lectured with no
THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. D. 35
notes. He was a friend of Dr. Pilmore and Rev. Slator
Clay. He was highly blessed in drawing persons into
the communion of the Church. His text before the
General' Convention was, "By v horn shall Jacob arise,
for he is small ?" He saw the growth of the Church
until Africa and Asia felt its power. A clergyman who
officiated at St. Mary's the last time Dr. Bull was there
as a worshiper, describes him as "an aged shepherd,
near four score," with noble structure and erect form,
among his flock as a fellow-worshiper, leading the
music and sending forth his manly voice in the Liturgy.
This faithful man was ready for death, and looked to
his Saviour, and spoke of heaven as his home. The
funeral procession extended from his house to the grave-
yard at St. Mary's Church, "a full mile." He was
buried beside his wife and children near the walls of the
church which, over fifty years before, had been founded
by him. He left a precious legacy to his brethren in an
example of faith, "whose faith follow considering the
end of (his) conversation Jesus Christ, the same yester-
day, and to day, and forever." Heb. 13 : 7, 8.
Bishop Potter, in his Convention address of 1849,
when Dr. Bull resigned Morgantown and Churchtown,
mentions his "uninterrupted and laborious ministry of
more than forty years, during which he has revived
several of our old parishes and organized a number of
The writer of this volume often met this worthy
clergyman at his hospitable home, and recollects the
funeral described, when the whole district seemed to
gather to honor the memory of one much beloved among
The Rev. Prof. Hare writes me of Dr. Bull: "A
friendly, godly man, the possessor of a voice more than
36 THE REV. LEVI BULL, D. I).
ordinarily good, and a very popular preacher in the
rural district to which he for the most part confined him-
THE REV. GEORGE KIRKE.
THE REV. GEORGE KIRKE.
GEORGE KIRKE, the son of William Kirke and
his wife Elizabeth, a daughter of George Steele,
Esq., was bora in Hanly, Staffordshire, England,
March 31, 1795, and baptized by the vicar of the parish
church of the Holy Trinity. He came of the ancestry
of the famous Colonel Kirke, who figured in the sup-
pression of Monmouth's rebellion, and in the Magdalen
expulsion, and whom William III., for his defense of
Londonderry, created a lieutenant-general. The family,
before the close of the century, immigrated to the
United States ; and his father taking up a tract of land in
East Fallowfield Township, Chester County, Pa., engaged
in farming for the balance of his life. Here the subject of
this sketch passed his early days, receiving such educa-
tional advantages, especially in mathematics, as the
county afforded. The family were staunch Church of
After spending some time in surveying and scientific
studies, he went to Philadelphia and engaged in busi-
ness. Attending a service at which Bishop White was
preacher, he was 'so impressed by the arguments pre-
sented, followed by inquiries, correspondence and ac-
quaintance, that in a short time he was confirmed and
became a candidate for holy orders. Taking his course
at the Virginia Theological Seminary at Alexandria, he
was ordained a deacon by the Rt. Rev. Richard Chan-
38 THE REV. GEORGE KIRKE.
ning Moore at the Monumental Church, Richmond, Va.,
in Lent, 1827, and immediately took charge of St.
John's Church, New London Township, Chester County,
Pa., a parish founded by the venerable English Society
for Propagating the Gospel, and also St. James's, West
Marlborough, in the same county. He received the
priesthood at the hands of Bishop H. U. Onderdonk,
then the assistant of Bishop Whjte, at St. John's
Church, Northern Liberties, Philadelphia, on Sunday,
April 6, 1830.
After a few years he became rector of St. Luke's,
Newtown, and St. Andrew's, Yardleyville, Bucks Co. (
Pa., but after a brief period resigned and returned to his
Both of these Chester County parishes were largely
sustained by the descendents of the Church of England
people. Mr. Kirke kept the services up, but the sup-
port from both in the aggregate was so meagre, that for
many years he was compelled to reside elsewhere in the
county ; a long distance off, and engage in educational
and mathematical work to secure a bare existence.
During this rectorship, an organization known as the
Chester and Delaware Convocation was formed by the
clergy of these counties for missionary effort, and it ap-
pointed Mr. Kirke as its. missionary supplemental to
his cures. Services were held at private houses for the
convenience of church people, and for others as oppor-
tunities offered, upon Sunday or weekday evenings ;
when baptisms, catechizings, and other offices were per-
formed. This duty also embraced the chaplaincies of
the Chester County Prison and Alms-house ; one Sunday
being given to the parishes, and the next to the institu-
tions named, alternately, morning and afternoon, respect-
ively; the evening being devoted to a house service
THE REV. GEORGE K1RKE. 39
along the road between the aiternoon station and his
home. His personal diary shows that for nearly thirty
years he performed this duty upon every Sunday, with-
out an intermission ; involving a ride of from twenty to
twenty-five miles, almost invariably on horseback. It
was a duty that nothing interfered with, and summer's
heat and winter's cold or storms, however severe, or in-
disposition, never detained him ; and it involved a great
deal of fasting, much faith and patience, and constant
prayer. His care preserved St. John's, which has now,
with a new and appropriate building, risen to new life.
His efforts broke up many abuses, especially among the
insane in the old alms-house, and the present fine build-
ing resulted from his influence.
He was a man of great humility, courage and per-
severance, conscientious and faithful to everything. He
believed in the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic
Church; in Her doctrines, worship, orders and dis-
cipline. He ministered to the pauper and prisoner, to
the poor and, friendless, as well as to his flock, in all
spiritual things, and was a true pastor. His reward
must be that promised by our Blessed Lord in St.
Matthew 25 : 34-36. A tablet erected by his old parish-
ioners in the new St. John's, New London, after reciting
his rectorship of almost forty years, has this quotation
from Rev. 2:3: " For my name's sake hast labored and
hast not fainted."
He resigned his duties in the winter cf 1867-68, and
fell asleep at sunset, Friday, September 25, 1868, in his
74th year. His remains rest in the yard of St. James's
Church, Downingtown, Pa., in which parish he had re-
sided from 1843.
Mr. Kirke was married twice. His first wife was a
daughter of Wm. Henderson, a parishioner of St.
40 THE REV. GEORGE KIRKE.
John's, of the Lightner family, well-known in Lancaster
County; his second, an English lady, a daughter of the
last of the Lillingtons, of Warickshire. His family and
connections have given no less than five persons to the
priesthood of the American Church. G. W. K,
SKETCHES of Bishops White, Onderdonk, Stevens,
Whitaker, Lee and Coleman, are given in " Early
Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware." The
other bishops of Pennsylvania are now noted. Bishop
Bowman is identified with what is now the Diocese of
Central Pennsylvania, by his long residence in Lancaster..
The reader of this work may observe IIOAV many
bishops have been given by Pennsylvania to other
dioceses, as noted in the parish histories.
THE RT. REV. SAMUEL BOWMAN, S. T. D.
Assistant Bishop of Pennsylvania, was born in Wilkes-
barre, Pennsylvania, on the 2ist day of May, A. D. 1800.
Educated privately, and studied theology under the
direction of Bishop White.
Ordered deacon in Christ Church, Philadelphia, on
the 1 4th day of August, A. D. 1823, by the Rt. Rev.
William White, D. D.
Ordained priest in St. James's Church, Philadelphia,
on the 1 9th day of December, A. D. 1824, by the same
In September, 1823, he took charge of two parishes
in Lancaster County, where he remained until 1825,
when he removed to Easton, ajid became the rector of
Trinity Church, In 1827 lie returned to Lancaster
County, and became the assistant of the Rev, Joseph
Clarkson, the rector of St. James's Church, Lancaster.
Upon the death of the Rev. Mr. Clarkson, A. D. 1830,
he became the rector of the parish, which position he
held until his death.
He received the Degree of Doctor of Sacred The-
ology from Geneva (now Hobart) College, A. D. 1843.
In 1847 he was elected Bishop of Indiana, but de-
Consecrated Assistant Bishop of Pennsylvania in
Christ Church, Philadelphia, on the 25th day of August,
A. D. 1858, by Bishops Jackson Kemper, De Lancey,
Alfred Lee, John Williams and Horatio Potter.
Bishop Bowman died on the 3d day of August, A. D.
1861. He was in the Western portion of the diocese on
his way to meet an appointment at Butler, in Butler
County. The destruction of a bridge by a landslide,
.compelled the passengers of the train in which the
Bishop was journeying to make a walk of four miles.
The Bishop lingered behind, and whin the party had
reached the end of the journey he was nowhere to be
found. A workman returning with a hand-car to the
broken bridge, found him lying on his face by the road-
side, quite dead.
The body was tenderly cared for, at once returned to
Pittsburgh, and thence removed to Lancaster, where it
was buried in the churchyard.
[Rev. Dr. Batterson's Sketch-Book of the American Episco-
THE RT. REV. JOHN BARRETT KERFOOT, S. T. D., L.L. D.
The first Bishop of Pittsburgh, was born in Dublin,
Ireland, on the ist day of March, A. D. 1816.
He was brought to the United States in. 1819., and
settled at Lancaster, Pennsylvania,
He graduated at Flushing Institute (aitcrwards St.
Paul's College), at Flushing, Long Island, A. D. 1834.
Ordered deacon in St. George's Church, Flushing, on
the ist day of March, A. D. 1837, by the Rt. Rev.
Benjamin Tredvvell Onderdonk, S. T. D.
Ordained priest in the same church on the ist day of
March, A. D. 1840, by the same prelate.
He was assistant professor of Latin and Greek, and
chaplain in St. Paul's College, from 1837 until 1842,
when he removed to Maryland and became the rector of
St. James's College, near Hagerstown, where he remained
until 1864, when he was chosen president of Trinity
College, Hartford, Connecticut. Two years later he
was elected as the first Bishop of Pittsburgh, a new See
Avhich had been created in the Western portion of the
Diocese of Pennsylvania, A. D. 1865.
He received the degree of Doctor of Sacred The-
ology from Columbia College, New York, A. D. 1850,
and from Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut, A. D.
1865. The degree of Doctor of Laws was conferred
upon him by the University of Cambridge, England,
A. D. 1867.
Consecrated Bishop of Pittsburgh in Trinity Church,
Pittsburgh, on the 25th day of January, A. D. 1866, by
Bishops Hopkins, Mcllvaine, Whittingham, John Wil-
liams, Joseph Cruikshank Talbot, Coxe and Clarkson.
. Writings: i. Several sermons preached in the chapel
of the college of St. James, and at Convocations in
Maryland. 2. Lecture on the " Inspiration of the Holy
Scriptures," delivered in the course of lectures on the
"Kvicle-nces of Christianity," Philadelphia, 1853-4. 3.
Inauguration address as President of Trinity College.
4. Convention addresses and charges, as Bishop of
Pittsburgh. 5. Semi-centennial sermon before the Board
of Missions, A. D. 1871. 6. Sermon preached at the
Consecration of Bishop Armitage, 1866. 7. Sermon
preached at the Consecration of Bishop Pinkney, 1870.
Bishop Kerfoot died at Myersville, Somerset County,
Pennsylvania, on the loth day of July, A. D. 1881, and
was buried in Homewood Cemetery, Pittsburgh.
[Rev. Dr. Batterson's Sketch-Book of the American Episco-
BISHOP M. A. DE WOLFE HOWE.
Bishop Howe is a native of Bristol, R. I. He was
born April 5th, 1809. His mother was a sister of Bishop
Smith, of Kentucky. His father was John Howe.
Bishop Griswold, when rector of St. Michael's Church,
Bristol, baptized the future bishop in that church. The
lad was a pupil in Phillips Academy, Ando\ er, Mass.,
and a member of Middlebury College in Vermont, and
afterward in Brown University, where he was graduated
duringthe presidency of Dr. Wayland. He was afterward
a " successful candidate for a classical tutorship in Brown
University." He became a student in his father's law
office, and an usher in the Adams Grammar School, of
Boston, and "master of the Hawes Grammar School."
He was confirmed by Bishop Griswold, and became
"a candidate for holy orders in 1830."
In 1832 Bishop Griswold ordained Mr. Howe to the
diaconate. After a time he assumed the rectorship of
St. James's Church, Roxbury, and a church was built
under his rectorship.
In 1833 Bishop Griswold ordained him to the priest-
hood. While editing the Christian Witness with Rev.
Dr. Stone, he was called to the rectorship of Christ
In 1836 he Resumed the rectorship of Roxbury. In
1846 he began his successful career in St. Luke's
Church, Philadelphia. He was placed on the Standing
Committee. Brown University gave him the title of
Doctor of Divinity. He was long secretary of the
General Convention. Much benevolent and mission
work was done by St. Luke's Church during Dr. Howe's
Jn 1871 he was elected bishop of the new Diocese of
The consecration was in St. Luke's Church, Philadel-
The Bishop resides in Reading, and Christ Cathedral
is located there.
In 1884 Bishop Rulison became his assistant.
Bishop Howe has written various articles for print in
prose and verse, and some of his sermons have been
[Abridged from Montgomery's History of Berks County.]
THE RT. REV. CORTLANDT WHITEIIEAD, D. D.
Second Bishop of Pittsburgh, was born in New York
City, October 30, 1842. He is the son of William A.
and Margaret Elizabeth Whitehead, of Newark, New
Jersey ; his mother being a daughter of the Hon. James
Parker, of Perth Amboy, New Jersey. Graduated from
Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., in 1859 ; from Yale
in 1863, and from the Philadelphia Divinity School in
Ordered deacon by Bishop Oclenheimer, of New
Jersey, June 21, 1867. For three years after his ordina-
tion to the diaconate he was missionary at Black Hawk
and Georgetown, Colorado. Was married, July 29,
1868, to Charlotte Burgoyne King, of Boston Highlands
Ordained priest August 7, 1868, by Bishop Randall,
of Colorado. From November, 1870, to his elevation
to the Episcopate, he was rector of the Church of the
Nativity, South Bethlehem, Diocese of Central Pennsyl-
vania. Deputy to the General Convention from Diocese
of Central Pennsylvania, 1877 and 1880. Assistant sec-
retary of the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania, 1871-82.
Received degree of Doctor of Divinity from Union-Col-
lege, 1880. Consecrated second Bishop of Pittsburgh
in Trinity Church, Pittsburgh, on St. Paul's Day,
January 25, 1882, by Bishops Stevens, of Pennsylvania ;
Bedell, of Ohio ; Scarborough, of New Jersey ; Howe,
of Central Pennsylvania ; Peterkin, of West Virginia,
and Hellmuth, of Huron, Canada.
[Living Church Annual Qubrterly, 1886.]
THE RT. REV. NELSON S. RULISON, D. D.
Assistant Bishop of Central Pennsylvania, was born
in Carthage, New York, April 24, 1842. His remote
ancestors were of the German nobility. He received his
academical education at the Wesleyan Seminary, and
graduated at the General Theological Seminary, New
York, in 1866.
Was ordered deacon on Trinity Sunday, 1866. He
spent his first year in Holy Orders as assistant minister
at the Church of the Annunciation, New York, the Rev.
Samuel Seabury, D. D., rector. He then succeeded
Bishop Tuttle as rector of Zion Church, Morris, New
York, after the latter was consecrated Bishop of Utah
and Idaho. Dr. Rulison e became rector of St. Paul's,
Cleveland, Ohio, in Advent, 1876, in which position he
remained until his elevation to the Episcopate. Elected
Assistant Bishop of Central Pennsylvania, June 12, 1884.
Consecrated in St. Paul's Church, Cleveland, on October
28, 1884, Festival of Sts. Simon and Jude, by Bishops
Lee (Presiding Bishop), HOAVC, of Central Pennsylvania ;
Bedell, of Ohio; Harris, of Michigan, and Potter,
assistant, of New York.
[Living Church Annual Quarterly, 1886.]
48 ALLEGHENY CITY (p.)
[Diocesan Abbreviations "C.," Central Pennsylvania; "P.,"
Pittsburgh; "Pa.," Pennsylvania.]
ALLEGHENY CITY (?).
IMiE Rev. M. Byllesby in his history of the Church
in Warner's " History of Allegheny County/'
states that Christ Church, Allegheny City, in
1830, "was organized on the North side of the river, to
accommodate the growing population of that suburb."
Rev. Edward Young Buchanan, D. D., was one of the
earliest clergy here. He is a brother of President
About 1857 Rev. Dr. David Carter Page became
rector. He had been "a man of great influence and
reputation in the Church, but then somewhat past the
maturity of his powers." His personal appearance was
commanding, and his manners distinguished ; and he
was "striking as a reader of the liturgy .and as a
preacher." The church building was improved under
this rector, "and in the next twenty years it reached a
position only second to the more popular of the Pitts-
In 1871 Christ Church building was further improved.
In 1832 Rev. Sanson R. Brunot was in charge of this
parish, and Dr. Buchanan officiated for him when he
left the parish for his health. Rev. Dr. Buchanan writes
me that he was " one of the holiest of men." He was
the uncle of Felix R. Brunot.
ALLEGHENY CITY (p.) 49
The Rev. Thomas Crumpton was long the faithful
rector of the parish. He now resides in Pittsburgh at
an advanced age.
The Rev. Robert Meech is the present rector.
Order of rectors proximately correct as to date, is as
follows : Rev. W. A. Fuller, 1868 to 1870 ; Rev. J. K.
Karcher, 1870 to 1871 ; Rev. Robert C. Caswell, 1871 to
1875 ; Rev. Marison Byllesby, the present rector, from
1875 to date. Rev. John Keble Karcher is now at
Grand Forks, Dakota. Mr. Byllesby's long rectorship
makes it fitting, to add a record of his church life. His
printed work in local church history in the "History of
Allegheny County," has aided the author of this
REV. MARISON BYLLESBY. Born in Delaware County,
Pa., December 29, 1832. Education, private, and at
Virginia Theological Seminary. Ordained deacon in
St. Paul's Church, Chester, i?th Sunday after Trinity,
1856, by Bishop Alonzo Potter.
Ordained priest in St. Paul's Church, Minersville,
Schuylkill County, October, 1857, by Bishop Alonzo
Missionary at St. Paul's Church, Minersville, from
October, 1856 to February i, 1860.
Rector of Christ Church, Meadville, from February 5,
1860 to July i, 1869.
Rector of Christ Church, Oil City, and St. John's
Church, Rouseville, from April, 1869 to October, 1871.
Rector of St. Luke's Church, Dixon, Illinois, Octo-
ber, 1871 to May, 1873.
Rector of St. James's Church, Milwaukee, Wis.,
May, 1873 to July i, 1875.
SO BETHLEHEM (SOUTH), (c.) THE NATIVITY.
Rector of Emmanuel Church, Allegheny, Pa., from
July 5, 1875, to present date.
ALTOOXA (p.) ST. I.UKIi/S.
RECTORS. Rev. Robert W. Oliver, D. D., 1858 to
1863; Rev. J. Wellesley Jones, 1864 to 1865; Rev.
John Newton Spear, 1865 to 1867 ; Rev. William W.
Spear, D. D., 1867 to 1869 ; Rev. 0. W. Landreth, 1870
to 1871 ; Rev. John A. Morgan, 1871 to 1872 ; Rev. S.
H. S. Gallaudet, 1873 to 1874; Rev. T. W. Davidson,
1874 to 1876; Rev. Allan Sheldon Woodle, 1876 to
BETHLEHEM (SOUTH), (c.) THE NATIVITY.
BY REV. C. KINLOCH NELSON.
Scant records exist of the first church services held
in the old Moravian town of Bethlehem. For several
summers, beginning about 1853, various clergymen held
by invitation the offices and preached in the parlor of
Mr. Tinsley Jeter on the South side of the Lehigh river.
A Sunday-school and occasional services were held
in Bethlehem through the activity of Messrs. Robert H.
and William H. Sayre, sons of a devout churchman of
St. Mark's Church, Mauch Chunk, from 1854. On one
of his visitations Bishop Alonzo Potter stopped in
Bethlehem, and urged upon the few church people some
sort of organization. A little later Bishop Stevens ad-
vised the formation of a parish. On June i, 1862, the
Rev. Eliphalet Nott Potter, deacon, was detailed as mis-
sionary in this town. Through his zeal the first church
of our communion, and first of any sort on the South
side, was built' in the village of Bethlehem, South,
between 1863 and 1865. About the same time Mr.
Potter erected Grace Church, Allentown, and the Church
BETHLEHEM (SOUTH), (c.) THE NATIVITY. S r
of the Mediator, Allentown* Furnace. He was the first
chaplain, and a professor in the Lehigh University from
its beginning in 1866 until his resignation in 1869, when
he went as assistant to St. Paul's Church, Troy, N. Y.
(He was a son of Bishop Alonzo Potter.)
During Mr. Potter's rectorship the Rev. Robert Jones
Nevin was appointed assistant minister of the parish in
1868, and was elected in succession as rector March i,
1869, he having been ordained priest in this church in
February of the same year.
Through his exertions a Sunday-School was organized
in Bethlehem (old town), which was the germ of a new
parish. Mr. Nevin, at the request of Bishop Stevens,
took temporary charge of (then) Grace Church, Rome,
Italy, and resigned this parish August 16, 1869. He
was recalled on the i8th of September, and tendered his
final resignation January 8, 1870, to become rector of
St. Paul's, within the walls, Rome.
.The Rev. John Irving Forbes was invited to, and did
take charge of the parish in Mr. Nevin's absence, and
continued in the work until April 4, 1870 ; shortly after
which time he died, having earned by his devotion and
energy the affection and respect of the people, and was
much lamented. Mr. Forbes pushed forward the work
in Bethlehem, and gave the name, now borne by the
younger parish of Trinity, Bethlehem.
Following Mr. Forbes, the Rev. Cortlandt Whitehead
entered upon the rectorship on All Saint's Day, 1870.
During his incumbency Trinity Church was begun and
completed 1871-2, the Rev. Charles H. Mead assisting
him for one year.
Mr. Whitehead proposed and set on foot the establish-
ment of St. Luke's Hospital, and saw it reach a high
degree of efficiency in benevolent work.
$2 BETHLEHEM (SOUTH), (c.) THE NATIVITY.
He resigned the charge of Trinity Church, Bethlehem,
on December i, 1872, and gave his time wholly to the
mother parish ; the Rev. Charles Morrison being elected
to fill the vacancy thus created. (Rev. Dr. George P.
Allen is the present rector.)
Between 1874 and 1875 he brought about the erection
of St. Mary's Chapel in the vicinity of the borough of
South Bethlehem, and saw it consecrated on the tenth
anniversary of the Church of the Nativity.
After the death of Bishop Kerfoot, Dr. Whitehead
was elected Bishop of Pittsburgh, and was consecrated
in that city on the Conversion of St. Paul, 1882.
NOTE. To bring the abqve sketch to date the author of this
volume adds that the present rector ot the parish is the Rev.
Cleland Kinloch Nelson, B. A. He was born at Greenwood, near
Cobham Station (county-town Charlottesville), Albemarble
County, Virginia, on the 23d of May, 1852.
His early education was received in his father's private
school for boys. In 1868 he entered St. John's College,
Annapolis, Maryland, from which institution he was
graduated in 1872.
He at once began the study of theology under his
uncle, the Rev. C. K. Nelson, D. D. On the igth of
September, 1875, he Avas admitted to the diaconate by
the Rt Rev. Wm. Pinkney, in the Church of the Ascen-
sion, Washington, D. C.
While attending lectures at Berkeley Divinity School
in the autumn of that year, he was assistant to Dr.
Harwood in Trinity Church, New Haven, Conn.
Mr. Nelson took charge January 16, 1.876, of the
Church of St. John the Baptist, Germantown, Philadel-
phia, the Rev. Wm. Ely, incumbent ; of which parish
he became rector upon his ordination to the priesthood
by Bishop Stevens in Holy Trinity, Philadelphia, on the
sad of June, 1876.
THE OLD ST. JAMES'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, BRISTOL, PA.
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 53
He resigned that parish after six years and a half of
laborious but much blessed work. On the ad of July,
1882, he entered upon the duties of rector of the Church
of the Nativity, South Bethlehem, and was instituted
October 8th of that year. Between the years 1882 and
1884 he effected the completion of St. Joseph's Chapel,
in the outskirts of the town; and in 1885-7 rebuilt the
Church of the Nativity, at a cost of $75,000. The new
church, Mr. C. M. Burns, architect, was presented
for consecration on All Saint's Day, ;i 888.
From July, 1886, to October, 1888, the Rev. Charles
Edgar Taylor, B. D., assisted the rector in the arduous
and increasing duties of the parish. In 1890 the Rev.
Harvey Sheaffe Fisher, B. A., was appointed assistant
The parochial work now includes ministration of the
church where there is a weekly and Holy Day celebra-
tion and a daily service, two chapels, the chaplaincy of
St. Luke's Hospital and of Bishopthorpe School.- The
last annual report shows 2000 baptized persons/ 309
communicants, a Sunday-school average of 425, a Guild
of fifteen Chapters, and total offerings over $9000.
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
Rev. Dr. John H. Drumm, when rector of this church,
preached a historical sermon, in response to the desire
of a Committee of the Diocese for parish histories. As
this has been preserved merely in the form of a cutting
from a newspaper, it seems well here to condense its in-
formation into a more permanent shape. Where this
cannot be effected, it is well to paste such cuttings in
the church record-book for preservation, as was done in
this case. Mere loose slips are apt to be lost to the in-
jury of the parish, I am indebted to the present rector,
54 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
the Rev. Mr. Kolb, for valued aid in this matter. The
first parish book was opened in A. D. 1712, which was
159 years before this sermon was- preached; so that it
treated of five generations. The Venerable Society for
the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts has
English records of this colonial parish, which may be
seen at the rooms of the Historical Society of Pennsyl-
vania, in Bishop Perry's Collections, which embrace the
results of the searchings of Rev. Dr. Hawks in English
The Rev. W. S. Perkins, a former rector, preached a
historical sermon twenty years before that of Dr.
Drumm. Watson's Annals of Philadelphia, and Bache's
History of Bristol give facts concerning the parish.
The Propagation Society, which deserves the thanks
of Americans for its generous nursing aid to the early
missions, was founded and started on its blessed work
of proclaiming Christ's Gospel in 1701, and took the
place of one which was in existence a generation be-
fore 1 , under the auspices of Robert Boyle, the great
philosopher. The zeal of the Church of England is
thus shown as the first Protestant Church engaging in
the work of Foreign Missions, nearly a century before
others were astir in this matter. Dr. Drumm also notes
that the Society for Propagating Christian Knowledge
is ancient, and certainly their work is important, as
Christian literature is a handmaid to the Church of
The Swedes and the Dutch who came hither retained
the worship of their forefathers in the home lands, and
remembered the God of their fathers on a foreign shore.
Bristol is a reminder of an English town where the
Avon River joins the Severn, and the Severn the sea,
and where the ashes of the blessed martyr Wicliffe were
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 55
cast and dispersed seaward, and his doctrines came to
teach the truth of Christ in this new Bristol.
The Rev. George Keith, who had been a member of
the Society of Friends, but who became a clergyman of
the Church of England was the first missionary sent
over by the Propagation Society. He traveled from
Carolina to New England at a time when travel was
difficult. He baptized some persons in Bristol. The
Rev. John Talbot was a fellow passenger on the ship
with Keith, and they worked together in missionary
undertakings in this country. Rev. Dr. Hills, in his
History of St. Mary's Church, Burlington, N. J., of
which John Talbot was rector, maintains that he was a
non-juring bishop, and an Episcopal seal left by him
would seem to confirm this statement, though it has
been questioned. Humphrey's Notes on New Bristol
are referred to in the sermon under consideration. John
Rowland and Anthony Burton were chiefly instrumental
in building the first church. The Rev. Mr. Talbot
served Bristol with Burlington, frequently officiating
The church at Bristol probably dates from 1711. It
is younger than St. Paul's, Chester. It was "built by
subscription of several well-disposed persons, and being
finished, was dedicated to the honor of St. James the
Greater, the festival of that Apostle, being ye 25th of
July, A. D. 1712." This is inscribed on the title page
of the old record book. Queen Anne gave the Com-
munion vessels. -
The Rev. Mr. Talbot worked here until 1720, and
then went to England and labored to secure a bishop
for the Western colonies, and the Propagation Society
bought a house for a bishop's use in Burlington, but
governmental matters checked the action which was m
56 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
greatly desired. As no bishop was appointed it is
thought that John Talbot received consecration as a
non-juring bishop in 1723, and that he administered
confirmation. He died in Burlington in Nov. zgth,
1727. The Rev. Dr. Hills quotes from the American
Weekly Mercury, published in Philadelphia, the state-
ment that he "was a pious good man, and much lament-
ed." There is a difference of opinion about his Episco-
Next to Mr. Talbo't we find in Dr. Drumm's record
the Rev. Thoroughgood Moor conducting Bristol parish
during Mr. Talbot's three years' absence. In Bishop
Perry's Collections there is a letter from Rev. Mr.
Nichols of Chester, which commends the piety and
learning of the missionaries sent over by the Propaga-
tion Society, which adds, "especially my Rev'd Brother,
Mr. Moore, in Burlington."
Anthony Burton gave the land for the church and the
old graveyard, the graveyard being added in 1733, the
whole containing nearly one and one-half acres. The
deed granted the property to the rector, or minister for
the time being, forever.
In 1733 Rev. Robert Weyman was in charge of this
parish. He was zealous in duty. An account of him
may be found in the history of St. David's Church,
Radnor, in this volume, and in the history of Trinity
Church, Oxford, in the volume on the Early Clergy of
Pennsylvania and Delaware. The wardens were Mat-
thew Rue and Francis Gardonet ; vestry, John Abraham
de Normandie, William Hope, John Anthony de Nor-
mandie, John Bassonett, William Gregory, William
Silverstone, Eben Harris, John Underwood, Matthias
Keene, John Williams, Jonathan Bourne, Thomas Wor-
rell. Mr. Watkins was appointed "elarke,"
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 57
In 1715 John Rowland donated a lot in Mill Street for
a minister's residence.
The French names among the vestry may have been
those of descendants of the Huguenots, and those fam-
iliar with this section of country know that there were
some of these French settlers in early days.
Rev. William Lindsay is the next clergyman who
appears after Mr. Weyman as " minister for time being,"
according to the signature on the record-book. In 1734
Rev. Mr. Cummings, 'of Christ Church, Philadelphia,
wrote the Secretary of the Propagation Society " that
William Lindsey had been in this country about sixteen
months, being well recommended. He was a Master
of Arts and had studied philosophy and divinity in the
College of Glasgow." Mr. Cummings commends him
to the Bishop of London for holy orders, and suggests
him to the Society as a proper person to act as mission-
ary in Apoquiniminck, in Delaware, now Middletown,
where the historic St. Ann's Church yet stands, though
a new chvfrch has been built in the village not far dis-
In 1735 Mr. Lindsay writes from Bristol to the So-
ciety that he and Mr. Pugh had safely arrived in Phila-
delphia on the preceding May, after a stormy and dan-
gerous passage with contrary winds, which had occupied
several weeks. It was no light task to cross the ocean
in those days, and from the Downs to Philadelphia was
practically a greater distance then than now. On Sun-
day, the eighth day of June, the 'missionary displayed
his credentials in Bristol, which he says had been fifteen
years or more without a missionary, being supplied very
seldom from Burlington. The church people received
their new pastor kindly, and prospects seemed brighter.
The little flock were grateful to the Society for consid-
58 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
ering their need. Those who enjoy the benefits of the
church to-day should sometimes compare with gratitude
their favored state to that of their predecessors in those
long years of irregular services.
The few clergy had long distances to traverse. This
missionary speaks of Trentown in Jersey beyond the
Delaware, as "ten long miles from Bristol," and in cold
and wet the miles were doubtless long. He went there
every third Sunday for service, and in summer he went
oftener. They had been long without a clergyman.
The ferry was wide and dangerous and inconvenient.
Compare the number of churches in Trenton to-day,
with its resident bishop, and imagine how the mission-
ary would have felt if whirled over the dangerous ferry
in a Pullman palace car.
Mr. Lindsey went to Amwell and Hopewell in New
Jersey, and the only church he found there was "an old'
and ruinous building at Hopewell," though he thought
it desirable to place a separate missionary there rather
than to require him to serve a point forty-seven miles
from his home. He had served White Clay Creek in
Delaware, and London Grove in Pennsylvania, and was
going to supply them for a month, though, as White
Clay Creek was only seven miles from New Castle, he
thought that London Grove needed the most of his
Mr. Lindsay had administered the Holy Communion
in Bristol to sixteen communicants, and baptized about
ten children, and preached very often on week-days
upon "the great obligations of religion " with some suc-
cess, and some of the Society of Friends had come un-
der his influence. He declares that he had " the life
and lot of a wayfaring man, and that he had success in
convincing many of the duty of baptism." The need
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 59
of Bibles and prayer books was great and crying. He
asks donations as the people were too poor to buy. The
missionary declares that he had done his duty before
God, and sought the good of his people, and he hopes
that the Society may long bless "these American
deserts" with the preached Gospel.
In 1736 Mr. Lindsay wrote the Bishop of London
from Bristol that his mission extended one hundred
miles, and that "the great river Delaware" which he
had frequently to cross, was often "very hazardous in
the Winter." To an inhabitant of Great Britain this
stream would appear very large, for the rivers in that
country would some of them be considered merely
creeks here. The missionary was poor, and constant
travel, and clothing and lodging, and the horse and his
forage drained the income of this toiler in Christ's vine-
In 1739 a brick vestry-room was ordered to be added
to St. James's Church, Bristol, but it was four years in
Rev. Colin Campbell was the next clergyman from
1 741 to 1766, twenty-five years. He lived in " the church
house" or "parsonage " a part of the time.
In 1741 Richard Rue was clerk. This was a touch
with English church life, but such a functionary leading
the responses from a leading post in the church has now
disappeared from our country.
The Rev. George Morgan Hills, D. D., rector emeri-
tus of St. Mary's Church, Burlington, N. J., did a noble
service in church history in writing a large octavo vol-
ume concerning the history of his parish, which is an-
cient, and its career illustrates important points in the
affairs of the American church in general. He has
much on record of Mr. Campbell, and we will glean
60 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
somewhat from his rich store to sketch his life. His
dignified picture in gown and bands and wig adorns the
book. In 1738 the Propagation Society appointed this
clergyman a missionary to Burlington. He was born
at Earnhill, in Scotland, in 1707, and bore his father's
name, being one of a family of fourteen. He studied at
Aberdeen and Inverness, and at the last-named place
resided with his aunt, Lady Drummuire. His grand-
father, William Campbell, was High Sheriff of Nairn,
and "of noble descent." A touch of early customs in
Burlington is shown in the statement which the new
missionary makes that his churchwarden, Mr. Allen,
and Mr. Bustel, a vestryman, marry ten couples to his
In 1742 Mr. Campbell was married to Mary Martha
Bard, in St. Mary's Church, Burlington, by the Rev.
William Currie, the faithful missionary at Radnor,
whose life is sketched in the history of Radnor parish
in this volume. The wife was a daughter of Col. Peter
Bard, a member of his Majesty's Council, and one of
the Judges of the Supreme Court of New Jersey. She
was baptized in infancy by Rev. Mr. Talbot. In 1742
Mr. Campbell records the building of a church at Mount
Holly. Mr. Campbell officiated at Burlington, Bristol,
and Mount Holly, and gained the love of his scattered
flocks. God blessed his labors. In 1761 Mr. Campbell
was one of twelve clergy who met in Convention in
Philadelphia. That was a day of small numbers. Mr.
Campbell asked the Society for an itinerant missionary
for West Jersey, as he was the only one in Burlington,
Gloucester, Salem, Cumberland or Cape May Counties.
He refers gratefully to the Society's bounty by which
for over twenty-eight years he has been enabled -to
maintain his numerous family. 'His people in the dif-
BRISTOL (FA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 6l
ferent points desired his services, and it was difficult to
give them all that they wished. It is interesting to note
that the wife of Governor William Franklin, of New
Jersey sent a surplice to Mr. Campbell as a present to
the Burlington church. The Governor was the son of
Mr. Campbell died in 1766, and was buried in Bur-
lington church, a large number of people testifying by
their presence a regard for his memory. Rev. Dr.
William Smith, of Philadelphia, preached the funeral
sermon. He speaks of the honesty and faithfulness of
the deceased clergyman, especially discharging " his
most sacred trust, as a minister of the Gospel of Jesus."
He was peaceful, and ready to bear wrong. Mr. Camp-
bell left nine children. A descendant who lived near
Ti enton presented a portrait of this worthy ancestor to
St. Mary's Church, and it was preserved in the sacristy.
Tablets have been placed in St. Mary's to the memory
of two clergy who also had charge of Bristol, Mr.
Campbell, and Mr. Weyman. George Whitfield preach-
ed in St. Mary's once when Mr. Campbell was rector.
Elizabeth Graeme, daughter of Dr. Graeme, and grand-
daughter of Sir William Keith, Lieutenant Governor of
Pennsylvania, wrote a feeling poem on the death of
Colin Campbell. It is dated at Graeme Park, which is
near Hatboro, Pa. The lady was famed as a poet and
scholar. I have seen her manuscript volume of a trans-
lation of Telemaque at the Philadelphia Library. Mr.
Campbell's eldest son married a daughter of Bishop
The Rev. Colin Campbell was the minister of Bur-
lington for twenty-nine years.
The successor of Mr. Campbell was Rev. Jonathan
Odell in 1768. Dr, Drumm mentions but one record
62 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
about him, but by turning again to Dr. Hills's "History,
of St. Mary's," I. find much recorded. His picture
there given indicates a gentleman of the olden time.
He was inducted into St. Ann's (now St. Mary's), Bur-
lington, in 1767. It was the English custom that when
a rector was inducted he should first pray privately, and
then toll the bell to call his parishioners to the church.
The birthplace of Mr. Odell was Newark, New Jersey,
and he first saw the light in 1733. He received an M. A.
from Nassau Hall ; studied medicine, and became a
surgeon in the British Army, but . he left it when
stationed in the West Indies to enter a higher service,
and went to England to prepare for Holy Orders, and
enter the spiritual army of the King of Heaven, and
carry the banner of Christ to this new land. In 1766
Bishop Terrick ordained him deacon in the Chapel
Royal of St. James's Palace, in Westminster ; and the
next year he was ordained priest. Bishop Terrick was
Bishop of London, and the American missions in this
region were under the care of the Bishop of London
before there were any American bishops. In 1772 Rev.
William Thomson, missionary at Trenton, married Mr.
Odell to Anne De Cou. The missionary added the
practice of medicine to his clerical duties that he might
have means to support his family. The Parish Register
has records of the baptism of his children, Mary and
Dr. Odell was a poet of note. He was in charge of
St. Mary's Church for nine years and five months. Be-
ing bound to England by his ordination oath, according
to his judgment, at the Revolution he was loyal to the
mother country, and went to New Brunswick, where he
became secretary of the Council; holding the office
thirty years, and retiring in advanced life. He died in
1SK1STOL (i j &.) ST. JAMJlb THE UKh-ATJiK. 03
Frederickton, N. B., in 1818, at the age of Si. His
widow, Ann, died at the same place in 1825, at the age
of 85. The following extract from some lines to his
wife are now appropriate :
" For our Redeemer liveth, and we know,
How or whenever parted here below,
His faithful servants in the Realm above,
Shall meet again as heirs of His eternal love."
Bishop Mcllvaine, in his early youth, was the person
who was the means of opening the Sunday-school in
Burlington, under the rectorship of Dr. Wharton.
The Bishop's mother, Maria Reed, was baptized by
The Rev. Mr. Lewis was pastor of St. James's Church,
Bristol, at the breaking out of the Revolutionary War.
There was trouble in connection with the war, as the
church was esteemed English, and the church building
was spoiled, and American cavalry used it as a stable,
and afterward the church was used as a barn. While it
was hard to rise from such a depression, God delivered
his people; so that in 1785 the parish was admitted to
the convention, though it had no minister. It was
represented by the layman, Christopher Merrick.
In 1809 there were nineteen clergy in, Pennsylvania,
but none in Bucks County. In August, 1806, Rev u
Henry Waddell was engaged to officiate fortnightly.
He was rector of St. Michael's, Trenton, also serving
Bristol. He appears to have closed his connection with
this parish in i8ro.
About 1810 Rev. Dr. John Andrews was rector. The
exact date is not given. He was a native of Maryland,
and a graduate of the College of Philadelphia, and was
ordained in England, and was settled at Lewes, Dela-
64 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
ware, and at York, Pennsylvania. He was afterward in
Maryland, and later became the head of the Episcopal
Academy, when it was established in Philadelphia. He
was vice-provost of the University of Pennsylvania, and
afterward provost. He is buried in Christ Church yard,
Philadelphia. He was benevolent and cheerful, -and an
eloquent preacher and a good theologian. The Rev. Dr.
John Andrews Harris, of Chestnut Hill, is his great
grandson. For a longer notice of this clergyman, see
the Appendix of the "Early Clergy of Pennsylvania
and Delaware," and Dr. Sprague's "Annals of the
Episcopal Clergy," and " York, " in this volume.
In the month of February,. 1813, Rev. Richard Drason
Hall became rector of Bristol. He was blessed in his
work. In 1815 preparations were made for altering the
old church. John Harrison was appointed collector for
Bensalem Township to raise funds, and Joseph King
and James Wright for Bristol Township and Borough,
and George Remson for Newport; and in 1818 the
church was repaired at a cost of fifteen hundred dollars.
A lot in Attleboro of over half an acre belonged to
the church in 1816, but it is not now owned by the
It is noteworthy in those times that Mr. Hall took an
offering for Foreign Missions. He was zealous and suc-
cessful, and, under God, resuscitated the parish. Captain
William Fenton and his wife, Miss Sallie Hibbs, Mrs.
Groom and Mrs. Naomi Broadnax were contemporaries
of Mr. Hall. This rector lived in Cedar Street, between
Walnut and Mulberry Streets, in a house owned by the
Rousseau family, which was then a parsonage. He had
over a dozen preaching places, which were thought to
have included Trenton, Newtown, Attleboro, Hulmeville
and Newport, and down to Bustleton, and beyond ; and
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 65
for a time he made regular trips to Salem, New Jersey,
in a sloop, for religious work. He resigned in June,
1818, and thanks were passed for his religious instruction
A pamphlet sermon has been given me which this de-
voted man preached in St. Paul's Church, Philadelphia,
on the evening of New Year's Day, 1818; and also on
the nth of January in St. James's Church, Bristol. The
old yellow paper contains some burning words, and the
discourse is entitled, "An Humble Attempt to Promote
the Salvation of the Rising Generation ; or, The Bene-
fits of Early Piety." Here are a part of the closing
words : " I wish you God-speed in your heavenly course,
and heartily pray that you may continue to be bright
examples of everything good ; good children to your
parents ; -good citizens of your country , fruitful mem-
bers of the Church Militant; and finally, when your
great change cometh, may you pass away to the
everlasting embraces of your God, to join the re-
deemed throng in ascribing salvation to God and the
TLamb forever and ever." Such an exhortation is good
for the youth of Bristol to-day, and for all time.
REV. RICHARD DRASOX HALL.
Rev. B. J. Douglass has prepared, at my solicitation,
a sketch of the life of this good man, which gives needed
information for the' following notice.
Mr. Hall was very active in church work in the Dio-
cese of Pennsylvania. He was the son of Parry and
Elizabeth Drason Hall, born in the city of Philadelphia
in 1789. Bishop White ordained him deacon in 1812,
and priest in 1814. He became rector of St. James's
Church, Bristol, and was successful in his work. He was
zealous in his Master's service and rejoiced at the Holy
66 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
Communion when numbers of the faithful joined him in
that blessed sacrament. His great thought was to bring
men to God, and he delighted when he saw the fruit of
his labors. In writing Rev. Jacob M. Douglass he
advises him to study his own heart and the Word of God
and to be diligent to improve every moment of time to
God's glory, and man's good. He carried out the advice
he gave, and was full of missionary enthusiasm. In
schoolhouses and private houses, during the week, he
would proclaim his gospel message. He spoke from the
heart and his burning words carried conviction to the
hearers. When he preached for Dr. Pilmore at St.
Paul's, Philadelphia,crowds would await him in the lec-
ture room. His wife Mary, daughter of the High Sheriff
of Philadelphia, John Douglass, seconded him in good
works. She is to be numbered among the many holy
women in Philadelphia who have aided those who were
in bodily or spiritual sickness, adorning Christ's doctrine.
She was a parishioner of St. Paul's, Philadelphia, before
marriage. After her death Rev. Jacob M. Douglass
wrote a sketch, which was printed, describing her Christ-
like works in her various places of abode, and the loving
esteem in which she was held by those to whom she
ministered. She died in 1817, and is buried by her hus-
band in St. Paul's churchyard, Philadelphia. In 1819
Mr. Hall accepted the rectorship of Trinity Church,
Wilmington, Del. With missionary zeal he gave fre-
quent visits to the church at New London Cross Roads,
in Pennsylvania. On Sundays the church was too small
for the congregation. Mr. Hall reported an interesting
confirmation to the Advancement Society. In 1824 Mr.
Hall married Sarah Lucas, of Burlington, N. J. Her
father was Major Robert Lucas. The Rev. Dr. Hills's
History of St. Mary's, Burlington, has a note of the
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 67
marriage. In 1826 Mr. Hall entered on the rectorship
of York, Pa., and Christ Church, Huntington. His
second wife died here. In 1829 he became rector of St.
George's, Hempstead, L. I. Rev. Dr. Moore of that
parish wrote Mr. Douglass of his faithful work there.
He was assiduous in duty, and held services in housej
and schoolhouses in the outlying parts of his extended
parish. He baptized many adults and children, and
brought a good number "to Confirmation and the Holy
Communion." In 1831 he married Mary Douglass, the
daughter of Andrew Douglass, and the sister of Rev.
Jacob M. Douglass, who performed the marriage cere-
mony. In 1837 Mr. Hall entered on the rectorship of
St. Mary's, Hamiltonville, now West Philadelphia. He
labored here with zeal and self-denial to lay foundations
where there is now a strong parish. By reason of bodily
infirmity in later life he could not hold a parish but
preached and baptized and administered the Holy Com-
munion for his brethren as occasion offered. He was
chaplain at the Episcopal Hospital from 1854 to 1856,
This Philadelphia institution of loving Christian charity
was a noble sphere of labor. He was ready to serve
Christ to the end of life. " He closed a long and useful
life July 28th, 1873, and lies buried in the churchyard of
St. Paul's, that church whose walls in former days had
so often echoed to the sound of his persuasive and
earnest voice awakening the spiritually dead to the thrill
of a higher life. The simple record of such a life is its
best eulogy." The only surviving child of this clergy-
men is Dr. Andrew Douglass Hall, an earnest church-
man, and an eminent surgeon who makes a specialty of
"treatment of the eye."
Between 1818 and 1822 Dr. Higbee and Mr. Jackson,
afterward rector, officiated occasionally. In 1821 Robert
68 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
Lucas gave a legacy of one hundred dollars to the
In 1822 Rev. Mr. Jaquette became rector, but resigned
the next year. He was a teacher of Hebrew, and was
perhaps, connected with the Philadelphia Divinity
The next rector was Albert A. Mailer, formerly of
South Carolina, His rectorship was short. ' Rev. John
V. E. Thorn was his successor. His rectorship was also
short. He was an eminently evangelical man. I observe
his name in the clergy list in the Diocesan Journal of
Delaware in 1844, though he is marked as residing at
Carlisle, Pa. See Gettysburg in this volume for a farther
notice of him.
The Rev. William H. Rees was elected rector in 1828,
and resigned in 1830. For thirty years or more he
served the church at large in various positions. He re-
ceived the degree of Doctor of Divinity. He died in
Newark, N. J., and was buried in a churchyard in a lot
given by the vestry. Bishop Odenheimer and other
clergy were at his funenl. A sketch of his life will be
found in the history of Radnor parish in this volume.
Rev. Greenbury W. Ridgely was the next rector. He
was able and zealous and the parish is believed to have
gained under his ministry, and Rev. Mr. Perkins states
that Newtown and Hulmeville parishes were started by
his efforts. In his later life he resided in Maryland.
Before studying for the ministry Mr. Ridgely was a
pupil in the law office of Henry Clay in Kentucky, but
he gave up the pursuit of that profession for the higher
work of the Christian ministry.
Rev. Thomas Jackson is recorded as rector in August,
1832, but he soon became assistant minister to Bishop
Moore, of Virginia. He was a clergyman of great
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 69
worth and ability. He died in Virginia, where he was
much beloved by the clergy of that.dioce.se.
In "June of 1833 Rev. William S. Perkins became
rector. A visit of Bishop White to the parish is noted
in this rectorship. The parish improved under the care
of Mr. Perkins, and some ground was added to the
churchyard. A Sunday-school building was erected,
and an organ was procured. In 1854 Mr. Perkins re-
signed on account of ill health, and the vestry passed
resolutions of sympathy, and appropriately alluded to
his long service.
Rev. Henry B. Bartow supplied the church for six
months, and then became rector in 1855. He was ardent
and energetic. He raised funds for a new church build-
ing. He resigned in 1857. He was amiable, cultured
and a man of good taste. The church was completed
without debt. Its consecration took place on the eighth
of September, A.. D. 1857. Bishop Bowman was the
consecrator. Bishop Odenheimer, who was then rector
of St. Peter's, Philadelphia, was present. Rev. H. B.
Bartow and Rev. Dr. W. H. Recs, former rectors, were
also present, as well as Rev. Messrs. Rodney,
Gries, Lycett, Dr. Hammond, Carroll, Drs. Buchanan,
Beasley, Langdon, and Rev. Messrs. Dupuy, Elsegood,
Dr. Charles Breck, and Rev. Messrs. Newbold, Henry
Brown, of Beverly, Dr. Hoffman, and the rector. The
church was crowded. Mr. Bartow read the sentence of
consecration. Bishop Bowman preached the sermon from
Psalm 29:2; " Give unto the Lord the honor due unto
His Name. Worship the Lord in the beauty of holi-
ness." Numbers came in from the surrounding country.
At the evening service Dr. Stevens, rector of St. An-
drew's, Philadelphia, (afterward bishop,) preached.
Fifteen were confirmed by Bishop Bowman. It was a
70 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
day long to be remembered in Bristol. Rev. Joseph W.
Pierson was rector at the time of the consecration. The
text of Bishop Stevens was, "Be thou faithful unto
death, and I will give thee a crown of life." Rev. 2: 10.
Bishop Bowman preached on Wednesday morning, ac-
cording to the Banner of the Cross, a warm and earnest
sermon in a solemn manner. His deep-toned pfety and
truly Catholic spirit are mentioned.
On Friday evening Rev. Dr. Newton gave a thought-
ful, pathetic, scriptural and awakening sermon which
.moved some to tears.
Mr. Pierson resigned this parish in 1861, and went to
Auburn, N. Y., where he died "in the very prime of life
and usefulness." A memorial window in the church at
Auburn commemorates him.
Rev. Dr. William W. Spear succeeded him, and was
one of ability and worth to follow so good a predecessor.
He came from Emmanuel Church in Cumberland, Mary-
land. He resigned on account of ill health, and became
rector at Bridgeton, New Jersey.
Dr. Drumm followed Dr. Spear in the rectorship. He
had been a chaplain in the Army. His rectorate began
February ist, A, D. 1863, when he was a deacon. In
the autumn of 1862 after he had served a year as chap-
lain and acting assistant surgeon Dr. Spear secured him
as a supply at Bristol during a necessary absence, which
ended in the resignation of Dr. Spear, and the selection
of Dr. Drumm to succeed him. The Rev. John H.
Drumm was ordained Presbyter by Right Rev. William
Bacon Stevens, February i$th, 1863. His last entry of
baplisms was on March ipth, 1875, making 235 during
his rectorship. His last class for confirmation was pre-
sented June 1411,1874 and consisted of fourteen persons,
making 134 confirmed during his rectorship. On closing
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 7 1
his faithful work here the Doctor took charge of St.
Mark's Church, in New Britain, Connecticut, where he
remaind for a short time, and returned to reside at
Bristol, where he died, at the age of fifty -two. He was
buried in St. James's churchyard, near the chancel of the
church. Under a sculptured cross lies this devoted man.
His inscription reads, Rev. John Hetherington Drumm,
D. D., born May 22d, 1827, died March 5th, 1879. " For-
ever with the Lord." The grave is under a willow, in a
place selected by himself. This rector was a scholarly
man, and is known to the church at large by his book
entitled Vox Ecclesia, in which he maintains the church
doctrine concerning Holy Orders. In appearance he was
thoughtful, and one who felt the dignity and responsi-
bility of his great office, while he was also affable.
The Rev. John Hetherington Drumm, M. D., D. D.,
was born in Dublin, Ireland, May. 3, 1827. He was edu-
cated at private schools, and as a boy, was noted as a
ready and clear writer. He matriculated and for three
years attended lectures in the Medical Department of
Trinity College, Dublin, and graduated M. D. in Uni-
versity College, New York City. He settled, married
and practised medicine in Lunenberg, Nova Scotia.
While practising, he studied theology and was ordained
deacon by Right Rev. Dr. Binney, Bishop of Nova
Scotia, in March' 1857 at the age of thirty. He had
charges at Bridgewater, Sackville and Halifax, Nova
Scotia. In October, '58, he became rector of St. James's
Church, Dundaff, Pa. His first wife having died in Nova
Scotia, he married Miss Jeannie Graham, of Dundaff, who
still survives him. At the breaking out of the Civil War
he became Chaplain of Pennsylvania Volunteers, and did
both clerical and surgical service during the Sundays
" change of base " under McClellan. Resigning his
72 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
chaplaincy, he received and accepted a call to succeed
Rev. Dr. Spear as rector of St. James's Church, Bristol,
Pa. While here, he wrote his book " Vox Ecclesice"
which will ever make his name memorable. Hobart
College, in April 1866, conferred on him the degree of
D. D., as an appreciative mark of the value of his work
to the church at large. After ten years service at Bristol
he resigned his charge to become rector of St. Mark's,
J\ew Britain, Conn. Ill health forced a resignation two
years afterwards. After partial recovery, he went with
his wife to Western Texas, and did missionary duty at
San-Saba for nearly twelve months.
Dr. Drumm was followed by Rev. John C. Brooks, a
brother of Phillips Brooks, who became rector, when a
deacon, in 1876. He was ordained to the priesthood by
Bishop Stevens on February 4th, 1877, in St. James's
Chu-rch. He presented a class of eighteen for confirma-
tion on the evening of this day. He resigned in 1877.
The corner-stone of the commodious and beautiful
brown stone chapel was laid in 1877. It was built by the
Ladies' Church Aid Society.
The successor of Mr. Brooks was J. W. Lee, who re-
signed in 1885. There were two hundred and six bap-
tisms, and seventy-seven confirmations during his rector-
After Mr. Lee's resignation, Rev. T. William David-
son supplied the parish for a time. He presented a class
of thirteen to Bishop Stevens for confirmation on the
27th of May, 1886.
The present rector, Rev. William Leggett Kolb,
entered on his duties June ist, 1887. The baptisms
under this rector up to July i6th, 1890, have been eighty-
seven, and the confirmations seventy. May the future
show still greater fruits to the glory of God in the
BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER. 73
Christian work of this rector. I gladly render him my
thanks for assistance in reducing the useful sermon of
Dr. Drumm into its present condensed and available
shape for this volume, for the facts are mostly from that
Those who have received testimonials for ordination
from the vestry of this parish, or who had their homes
in Bristol when they were admitted to the sacred minis-
try, are Charles P. Henry, who was connected with
Bristol College. This name is followed by that of a
"Mr. ," and James Lloyd Breck, the son of the
longtime senior warden, and the founder of Nashotah
Theological Seminary, and Faribault Divinity School,
in Minnesota, and St. Augustine's College, at Benicia,
California, must next be named. Rev. Dr. Charles
Breck, his brother, is next in order, and Dr. Drumm,
Thomas L. Murphy, Henry K. Brouse, M. D., and Mr.
Brooks close the list. Dr. Brouse is in Woodville, Miss-
In bringing these notes down to date it should be
added that Rev. W. S. Perkins died March 28th, 1890.
He was buried from St. James's Church on the 3ist of
March, and his place of burial was in the churchyard.
At one time this church bought a rectory on Radcliffe
street. Bristol is an old town, dating back to Penn's
days. It was named after the English " Bristow faire,"
as Spenser styles it. That town lay on the Avon, and
this by the waves of the Delaware, which Doctor Odell
in a. poem called, "The Prince of the Rivers," which
"In silence majestic glides on to the Deep."
But a few miles from the English Bristol was Bath,
famed for its medicinal waters from Saxon and Roman
times. It also lay on the banks of the Avon. The Bath
Springs, near the Pennsylvania Bristol, were the New-
74 BRISTOL (PA.) ST. JAMES THE GREATER.
port and Saratoga combined of this country in old times,
and were even visited by persons from the old country.
Let us go into the churchyard of this old parish. Here
sleeps the grandfather of Bishop Mcllvaine in the church
or in the sacred ground.. He died in early mid-life.
Colonel Joseph Mcllvaine was born, according to his
epitaph, on March 21 st, 1749, and died February i7th,
1787. The Rev. Dr. Rees is buried here. The Sunday-
school chapel covered with ivy, is a pleasant companion
to the church in this quiet spot. The Rev. Jacob Mor-
gan Douglass, born in 1794, dying in 1876, has a granite
monument, and there is an inscription to Mary Hall, his
wife, who died in 1876. Mrs. Mary Hall, consort of the
Rev. Richard D. Hall* who departed this life February
5th, 1817, has a monument here. A cross, and an I. H.
S. are on the tomb, with the words of Christ, " Come ye
blessed of my Father, inherit the Kingdom," etc., St.
Matt. 25: 34-38. The voice from heaven pronouncing
the dead blessed, Rev. 14 : 13, and the "Well done
good and faithful servant," of St. Matthew 25: 21, are
added, and such comforting texts well befit the tomb of
a Christian. There is a square-pillared upright stone in-
scribed on each side. Here is buried Antonin Furcy
Pigquet, Knight of the Order of St. Louis, Captain of
the French Navy, and Consul of France for the States
of Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine. He was
born in France in 1777, and died in Bristol. Captain
Green who carried our flag to China, and Captain Sharp
are buried in St. James's churchyard. David Landreth's
massive shaft is marked August 31st, 1845. " Requiescat
in Pace." His wife, Martha Burnett, who is here com-
memorated, was a descendant of the English Bishop
Burnett. She was a second wife. The first wife also
has an inscription, and she was Elizabeth Rodney. The
BRYN MAWR (PA.) THE REDEEMER. 75
son David is also named on the monument. The De
Normandie family, of ancient date, are also buried in
this yard. Rev. James De Normandie was rector of
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, of later years.
The Keene Home on trie river bank should be made
a living monument of her who gave this Pavilion, as it
was called, for the use of gentlewomen. It was the home
of Major Lenox, the uncle of Miss Keene. Joseph Bona-
parte was entertained here.
In 1722 the Bath Springs were celebrated, and people
came hither from abroad down to 1821. It was the
principal resort of the kind in the United States. Gen-,
eral Davis's History of Bucks County contains some in-
teresting matter about this ancient town. Now manu-
factures and the railway are modernizing it, but it is
pleasant sometimes to talk with the past, and look on
the joys and sorrows of those who have lived before us,
and the churchyard at Bristol is a sweet place on a sum-
mer's day to wake thoughts of the dead in Christ in past
or recent years, and especially of the clergy who have
now ended their sacred toil ,and entered into their prom-
BRYN MAWR (PA.) THE REDEEMER.
1851. Sunday, August 3d. After divine service, con-
ducted by the Rev. Henry'Brown, rector of St. David's,
Radnor, in Temperance Hall, above the eight-mile
stone on the Lancaster turnpike, in Lower Merion, a
meeting was held for the purpose of organizing a parish ;
and the following-named persons were selected to act as
vestrymen: Frederic W. Porter, Jesse Gyger, Isaac
Hazlehurst, John Hulme, Lewis Wister, David Morgan,
James Morgan, Owen Jones, Joseph K. Eyre.
76 BRVN MAWR (?A.) THE REDEEMER.
August 9th. First vestry meeting. Church to be
named St. Luke's, Lower Merion. Rev. Henry Brown
chosen rector. (See Chester and Radnor.)
November 21. Cornerstone of church (on North side
Lancaster turnpike, above eight-mile stone) laid by the
Bishop of Pennsylvania, Rt. Rev. Alonzo Potter, D. D. .
November 22cl. Name changed to Church of the
1852. February igth. Charter of incorporation granted
by the Supreme Court.
1855. September 23d. Resignation of the rector, Rev.
1856. February pth. Rev. George S. Rider elected
April 27th. Resignation of the rector, Rev. George
September 7th. Rev. E. L. Lycett elected rector.
1878. August 5th. Death of the rector, Rev. E. L
Lycett. First burial in new churchyard.
November 28th. Rev. Edward Shippen Watson
1879. November 8th. Corner-stone of new church,
on Penn Street and Gulf Road, laid by the Bishop of
Nebraska, Rt. Rev. Robert Harper Clarkson, D. D.
1881. April i7th. Easter Day. First service in new
1881. October 6th. Church and churchyard conse-
crated by the Bishop of Pennsylvania, the Rt. Rev.
Wm. Bacon Stevens, D. D.
1885. March 2cl. New charter granted by the Court
of Common Pleas of Montgomery County.
I add that Rev. J. Gilborne Lyons, D. D., was long at
the head of a boy's school, and a worshiper in the
former church, and 'a distinguished scholar and poet.
15RVN MAWR (PA.) THE REDEEMER. 77
REV. E. L. LYCETT.
Rev. E. L. Lycett was ordained a deacon in March,
1854, by Bishop Potter. In 1855 he was ordained priest
by the same bishop, in Philadelphia. Mr. Lycett was
born in London, April 8th, 1820, and came to America
in 1832. He studied in Baltimore under Rev.' R. S.
Killen and Rev. Henry V. Johns, brother of Bishop
Johns, of Virginia. Immediately after his ordination as
deacon he was sent by Bishop Potter to Bangor Church,
Churchtown, Lancaster County, Pa., and to St. Thomas's
Church, Morgantown, where he remained till October,
1856, when he was called to the Church of The Re-
deemer, Lower Merion, of which he was rector till the
time of his death in August, 1878. In 1858 he com-
menced services in Conshohocken, five miles from Nor-
ristown, where he held service every Sunday afternoon,
and evening services during the week, at the homes of
the mill hands. He continued this work until October,
1863. When this work was commenced in the school-
house, there was but one male communicant; before he
left, there was a substantial building costing $3500.
After giving up this work he immediately started even-
ing services in his own dining-room at Mill Creek. In
a short time he procured a room in the neighborhood
which he had fitted up as a chapel and Sunday-school
room, where he held services every Sunday evening
until after he removed to the present rectory. It was
then determined that the village of Ardmore presented
a more promising field. Accordingly, he began hold-
ing evening services, Sunday, in the Masonic Hall at
Ardmore, and also organized a Sunday-school there
the rent of the hall and other expenses being defrayed
by members of this parish.
78 CARLISLE (C.) ST. JOHN'S,
[NOTE The beautiful granite monument of Mr. Lycett in the
rustic churchyard keeps his memory in mind among his old par-
ishioners, and his friend, the author of this work, recollects the
throng of sttrpliced clergy, and laity who, by attendance at his
funeral at the former church , attested their sense of loss in*his death. ]
The names of vestrymen at the time of building of
the present beautiful church were N. Parker Shortridge,
George Curwen, (wardens), I. Hunter Ewing, James
Rawle, Fred. W. Morris, Charles Wheeler, Henry
Whelen, Archibald R. Montgomery, Rowland Evans.
Rev. James Haughton, the present rector, was born
in Boston, April nth, 1839, studied in Harvard College,
Andover and Germany. He was ordained deacon by
Bishop Eastburn, in Boston 1866, and priest by Bishop
Chase, N. H., 1866; he was rector in Exeter, N. H.,
1866-68; Hanover, N. H., 1868-76 ; Dean All Saints
Cathedral, Albany, 1876-79; rector of St. John's, Yon-
kers, N. Y., 1879-87, when he came to Bryn Mawr.
An elaborate metal rood-screen, designed by Mr.
Burns, adorns this church. It is a memorial to Charles
CARLISLE (C.) ST. JOHN'S.
In the History of Cumberland County, "by Rev. Con-
way P. Wing, D. D., and others" there are some notes
oh the history of this church.
"An Episcopal congregation was established in Car-
lisle before July 5th, 1753, when a letter from that place
speaks of Rev. Wm Thompson, rector of the Episco-
pal church, and its building for worship had been used
in an unfinished state before 1765."
After the distractions of the Revolutionary War were
over, a church was erecte'd. This stone building was
used until 1825, when a new building arose "where the
ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, CHELTENHAM.
CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 79 .
present church stands. This has been remodeled sev-
eral times until it has attained its present architectural
form and proportions." From 1793 to 1819, Rev. Dr.
John Campbell was rector. Rev. J. V. E. Thorn suc-
ceeded him from 1819 to 1821. See Gettysburg in this
volume for notice of his work. George Woodruff became
rector in 1821, but died the next year. Joshua Spencer
held the rectorship from 1823 to 1829. He was also Pro-
fessor of Languages in Dickinson College. Rev. Geo.
Emlen Hare, D. D., was rector from 1830 to 1834, John
Goodman from 1835 to 1838, Patrick Henry Grcenleaf
from 1838 to 1840, Wm. H. Norris from 1840 to 1850,
Jacob B. Morss from 1851 to 1860, Francis J. Clerc from
1860 to tS66 and Rev. Dr. Wm. C. Leverett succeeded
him in 1866. Rev. W. B. Morrow, Mus. Bac., is the
In the Vestry have been men of note, "as Francis
West, Robert Callender, George Croghan, Samuel
Postlethwaite, David Watts, Stephen Foulke, Frederick
Watts and John B. Parker."
CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
[From the Standard of the Cross, and The Church, of March
Nearly twenty-eight years ago, on the 23d of June,
1860, the earliest meeting was held for the purpose of
establishing the first Protestant Episcopal church in the
township of Cheltenham. At that time a number of
those most interested in the accomplishment ftrf this ob-
ject were in the habit of regularly attending the services
and teaching in the Sunday-school of St. Paul's Church,
Philadelphia. From time to time, prior to the date men-
tioned, occasional services were held in private resi-
dences in the neighborhood. A Sunday-school had
So CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
already been organized in the vicinity, and it was deter-
mined to establish a parish without further delay. At
the first meeting of those sympathizing 'with the object
the announcement was made that $5500 had been sub-
scribed for the erection of a church edifice. The present
location, at the corner of Old York Road and Chelten-
ham Road, was decided upon. A vestry, consisting of
the following-named gentlemen was then duly elected :
John W. Thomas, Jay Cooke, J. F. Peniston, William
C. Houston, John Baird, Robert Shoemaker, William G.
Moorehead, Frederick Fraley, H. P. Birchall, Isaac
Starr, Jr., Geo. C. Thomas and William Elliott.
In about two months, or on the 27th of August, 1860,
a second meeting was held at which it was resolved that
the Bishop of the Diocese, the Rt. Rev. Alonzo Potter,
D. D., LL. D., should be requested to lay the corner-
stone of the church. This pleasant duty was fulfilled by
the Bishop on the 3d day of September, 1860, in the
presence of an interested and grateful congregation.
Appropriate addresses were delivered by the Rev. Dr.
William Bacon Stevens (then rector of St. Andrew's
Church, Philadelphia, and subsequently for many years
the revered and beloved Bishop of the Diocese) and the
Rev. Richard Newton, D. D. (then rector of St. Paul's
Church, Philadelphia, and an earnest and interested
friend of the infant church enterprise from its earliest
inception). Indeed, the newly-organized church was
named after the venerable parish in which Dr. Newton
at that time ministered. Under God it owes its origin
and subsequent success in very large measure to the
personal friends and devoted parishioners of this saintly
and now sainted man.
The Rev. Robert J. Parvin, on the ipth of April, 1861,
was elected the first rector of the parish, and on Thurs-
CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 8 1
day afternoon, May i6th, i86i,the church was solemnly
consecrated to the service of Almighty God by the
Bishop of the Diocese. The clergy present and assist-
ing, in the services, in addition to the Bishop and the
rector, were the Revs. Charles D. Cooper, Benjamin
Watson, D. C. Millett, J. W. Cracraft and 0. B. Keith.
The Rev. Dr. Newton preached the sermon. On Sun-
day, May igth, 1861 (Whit-Sunday), morning and even-
ing services were held in the church, and the Sunday-
school was organized in the afternoon. On the 2 8th of
March, 1864, plans for a new Sunday-school and library
building were adopted by the vestry, and active meas-
ures taken for its immediate erection. In the year 1866
a new organ was placed in the church. After an earnest
and devoted ministry of more than five years and a half
the Rev. Robert J. Parvin resigned the rectorship of the
church, the resignation to take effect January ist, 1867.
The Rev. Mr. Parvin had been elected the first General
Secretary ,of the Evangelical Educational Society, a
work for which his singular talents and executive ability
especially qualified him. A little less than two years
later his marty friends and the Church at large were
startled by the sudden and appalling catastrophe by
which he and his intimate friend, the Rev. F. S. Rising,
General Secretary of the American Church Missionary
Society, lost their lives by the burning of a steamer on
the Ohio River on the nth of 'December, 1868. A
beautiful mural tablet of white marble in the church
testifies the affection of the people for their former
The present rector of the church, the Rev. Edward
W. Appleton, D. D., entered upon the duties of the rec-
torship on the 30th day of June, 1867, having been
unanimously elected to the office on the 1 9th day of the
82 . CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
Nearly twenty-one years have passed away since
then, and many changes have taken place. The church
building was enlarged and beautified, and on the 23d of
February, 1868, the congregation met therein for the
first time, the sermon being preached by Bishop Lee, of
Iowa. More than $7000 was raised and appropriated
for this improvement, and during the same year a .spa-
cious and attractive rectory was completed and present-
ed to the parish by two generous members of the
vestry. The cost of the rectory and grounds amounted
to $17,000. In addition to these improvements a sex-
ton's house, and a large and commodious hall were
built during the same year, at an expense of $7000;
the hall being erected for the use of the Men's Bible
Class (at that time numbering 130 members) and for
In the year 1869 a large, massive stone tower, con-
taining a clock with four dials (each dial being over
eight feet in diameter) was commenced, and completed
the following year. It is an interesting fact that for this
improvement, as well as the purchase of a new, large
and sweet-toned organ nearly ten years later (1879), the
parish is indebted to the loving, earnest and devoted
efforts of the younger members of the congregation.
On the 1 8th of March, 1882, the rector's warden of the
parish from its foundation, Mr. John W. Thomas, was
called to his rest and reward. As a loving memorial to
her husband and two daughters, his widow presented to
the church a chime of ten bells. They were placed in
the tower at a cost of ,$4000. In the year 1882-3 a
South transept was added to the church edifice at a cost
of more than $4000, at the sole expense of Mr. Charles
B. Wright, as a memorial to his wife and daughter.
The transept is now occupied by the organ and choir.
CHELTENHAM (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 83
The enlarged church, refurnished with new pews of
hard wood, was formally re-opened by the Bishop of the
Diocese, Sunday morning, February i8th, 1883.
In 1887 a chiming apparatus was imported from Eng-
land, and the Cambridge quarter chimes are regularly
operated by the clock. " In September, 1887, the church
and rectory were lighted by incandescent electric lights,
and it is believed that these are among the first church
buildings in the country, certainly in a suburban neigh-
borhood, lighted by this method. . The expense of in-
troducing these lights into the church and rectory was
met almost entirely by a single generous-hearted parish-
ioner, who also maintains them at his individual cost.
Since Dr. Appleton entered upon his duties as rector of
the parish in 1867 the sum of $173,000 has been (inde-
pendent of pew rents) contributed for religious and be-
The following official acts have also been performed
during the same period : Baptisms infants, 351; adults,
115 ; total, 466. Confirmed, 347 ; marriages, 83 ; burials,
The vestry of the church is now composed of the
following-named gentlemen: Jay Cooke, rector's warden,
Robert Shoemaker, accounting warden, Dell Noblit,
Jay Cooke, Jr., Thos. E. Shoemaker, James Day Row-
land, John M. Butler, Hub. R. Hammond, Ed. M.
Davis, Jr., Dr. Thomas B. Betts, Charles D. Barney
and Benjamin H. Shoemaker, Jr. Located in one of
the most beautiful suburbs of Philadelphia, this church
has accomplished a noble and blessed work for Christ
and humanity. Having every external advantage, it
has also proved itself a spiritual home for many among
the living as well as for many who are now with the
sainted dead. In its peaceful and secluded ''God's Acre"
84 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL*S.
adjoining the church not a few await a call to a blessed
immortality. In these days of changing pastorates the
present rector and people have for many years rejoiced
in mutual joys and sorrowed in mutual griefs. They
cherish the hope that God may continue to bless the
parish in which for more than a score of years they
have labored together for the glory of the Divine Mas-
ter and the welfare and success of His Church.
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
The historical sketch of Chester, by William Shaler
Johnson, Esq., gives means of gathering the history of
this truly ancient parish.
In 1704 this parish reported to the Propagation Soci-
ety in England as follows: "The people of Chester
County showed very early zeal to have the Church of
England worship settled among them. This county is
so called because most of the inhabitants of it came
from Cheshire in England. Chester, the chief town of
the county, is finely situated on the River Delaware."
The name Chester, it may be added, comes from the
Latin word Castrum, a camp, through the Saxon, and the
English towns which have that word introduced into
their names were old Roman camps in the days when
the Empire ruled Britain. There were originally but
three counties in the province, Philadelphia, Chester
Jasper Yeates was a Philadelphia!!, but was born in
Yorkshire, England. His wife was the daughter of the
elder James Sandilands, who was a man of much con-
sequence in Chester. Her name was Catharine. In
1697 Mr. Yeates bought mills and land at the mouth of
Naaman's Creek, at what is now Claymont, as the Indian
chief JS'aaman is now losing his remembrance. The
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 85
Churchman family long occupied and owned mills here.
Mr. Yeates soon had a granary and bakery between
.Edgmont Avenue and Chester Creek, though the course
of the creek was West of its present line. In 1701, Penn
appointed this prominent man a Burgess in making the
Borough of Chester. In 1703 he was Chief Burgess.
He was a Justice of the County and of the Supreme
Court, and "a member of the Provincial Council," and
the General Assembly. "He and his brother-in-law,
James Sandilands the younger, were the principal pro-
moters of the building of St. Paul's Church." He died
before May sd, 1720, when his will was admitted to pro-
bate at New Castle, Delaware, "Four sons and two
daughters " survived him.
The Journal of William Black in 1744 notes a Sunday
in Chester. He describes a church dedicated to St.
Paul, where the worship was according to the Church
of England, where he and other Indian Commissioners
heard Rev. Mr Backhouse preach on St. Luke 16; 30,31,
which refers to the duty of hearing " Moses and
the prophets," This gentleman mentions a Swedish
Church, but it is thought that the Swedes may have had
a service in the Block-house. Armgardt Pappegoya,
the daughter of Governor Printz, gave the Swedes'
Church a tract, of land at Chester, but the church war-
dens at Wicacoa, (Philadelphia), deeded it to David
Lloyd in 1693. Rev. Mr. Ross, in 1714, writes to the
Propagation Society faulting this sale, and calling the
title "precarious," and hoping that the church may
regain her rights. Jasper Yeates opposed Lloyd, but
"the Proprietary Government" confirmed the land to
him. The land called "the green, or the church-land "
lay between Welsh street and the Creek, South of the
tract of Neeles Laerson, running to the river Delaware.
86 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
Rev. Richard Backhouse, who was a missionary at
St. Paul's from 1726 to 1749, once owned a piece of land
on Fifth street, on which Jonathan Morris afterward
built a house. An account of Mr. Backhouse rr.ay be
found in the history of Radnor parish in this volume.
The Francis Richardson house, on the East side of
Edgmont avenue, the third house from the South-east
corner of Second street and Edgmont avenue, is on a
portion of the land which David Lloyd obtained from
the church wardens of the Wicacoa Swedish Church.
A frame building "on the East side of Edgmont avenue,
South of Fourth street," may probably be about seventy
years old. It was a stable, belonging to a house which
was afterwards built on land given before 1704 by Thos.
Powell to St. Paul's parish. Rev. Mr. Nichols speaks
of this gift in a letter to the Society "For the Propa-
gating the Gospel in Foreign Parts." In 1718 Rev. John
Humphreys mentions it as having on it the foundation
of a parsonage, fronting on Third street. The congre-
gation began to erect this building, but did not finish it,
and for three years it remained "about four feet above
the ground." Many years after the parish put up a
building here, after 1762, and they leased it before 1830
to William Kelley, with the stable mentioned. The
church wardens sold " the premises on ground rent in
1831." The lot on Edgmont avenue containing the
stable was sold by the owner, subject to a small ground
rent for the church. The stable was altered into a house
and "a Soap and Chandler factory" built on the rear of
the lot. In 1851 the wardens sold the ground rent, and
so this historic bit of land passed from the hands of the
The Swedish grant of Lady Pappegoya to the Swed-
ish Church at Upland, now Chester, was an ancient gift.
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 87
" The land on the South side of Third street, and East
of Market Square, where the old burial ground now is,
and where the first St. Paul's Church building was erect-
ed, was, previous to that structure being placed there,
a burying place for the dead of the Swedish colonists at
Upland." Rev. Mr. Ross makes this statement in 1714.
He says that the Swedes had a church, and "a valuable
glebe, not far from the place of burial, but of this build-
ing there remains no sign at this day." John Hill
Martin thinks this a reference t$ the House of Defence,
or Block-house, which was demolished by the Court's
order in 1703, and Mr. Johnson believes this opinion to
be "doubtless correct." Acrelius says that the Swedes
usually held the services of religion in forts and Houses
of Defence. They posted sentinels to warn the worship-
ers of Indian attacks. The Block-house at Wicacoa
was used for a church.
The Rev. Evan Evans, D. D., was sent by the Propa-
gation Society to the province of Pennsylvania in 1700.
He became the missionary of Christ Church, Philadel-
phia. I have given an extended account of him in my
volume on " The Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and
Delaware." He was the great missionary of that day,
and the parishes about Philadelphia started by his un-
tiring energy in the clays of hard traveling have reason
to revere his memory. Chester felt his influence, and
Chichester, that is St. Martin's, Marcus Hook, and St.
John's, Concord, and St. David's, Radnor, were blessed
by his labors.
In 1714 Rev. Mr. Ross Avrote the Society, that James
Sandilands had been buried "in the Swedish Dormi-
tory/- that is burial ground. He was a merchant of
good repute. The graves of himself and kindred were
to be enclosed by a stone wall. Some one suggested
88 CHESTER (FA.) ST. PAUL'S.
that the wall be enlarged to form a church or chapel.
This was liked by the relatives, and encouraged by
those favorable to the Church of England. Joseph
Yeates, a Chester merchant, and James Sandilands, the
son of the person lately interred, helped the movement
zealously. Mr. Sandilands giving land to enlarge the
churchyard, and adding "other gifts." Mr. Ross
closes thus: "Mr. Yeates, a zealous asserter of our
constitution in Church and State, must be allowed to
have been the main promoter of the founding of St.
Paul's upon Delaware. " The reference to the river is
poetic, and according to English custom, as "Stratford-
on-Avon," and I have noticed that anciently Bristol in
Pennsylvania was styled by the Englsh Bristol on the
Delaware. In England these explanations are necessary
as sometimes there are two towns of the same name
which need this identification. Still the practice is grow-
ing here on the Hudson river. Mr. Ross's report speaks
of other "Parishers who were chief helpers to carry on
the Avork." He specially commends Jeremy Collett,
John Hannum, Henry Pierce, Ralph Pile, and Thomas
Barasly, and adds special commendation for Thomas
Powell who had donated valuable land, "for a minister's
house, garden and other conveniences." Of Hon. Fran-
cis Nicholson, he writes : " We may safely say no man
parted more freely with his money to promote the inter-
est of the Church in these parts, nor contributed so
universally towards ye erection of Christian synagogues
in different and distant plantations in America." The
church is called a "small but compact fabric of brick,"
and described as "one of the neatest on this Continent."
The main entrance, with its double doors, " was at the
north side of the church, and the access to the building
wr.s from Market street, through the yard." Queen
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 89
Aiine gave the church "a handsome pulpit, a commun-
ion table well railed in and set out with rich cloth, and
a neat chalice." The "chalice and salver, the Queen's
gift, as well as a similar chalice presented to the congre-
gation by Sir Jeffrey Jeffries, are still in possession of
the church wardens, and employed in the Sacrament of
the Lord's Supper to this day." "The chalices and
their salvers are of hammered and very pure silver, and
the one presented by the Queen has engraved upon it
the words, l Anna Regince.' "
The oak rafters of the church were hewed by a broad
axe. The spacious chancel and aisles were paved with
brick. In the wall was a famous stone slab now in the
Sunday-school room of the new church. James Sandi-
lands, who died in 1692, and his wife Ann, are com-
memorated in the inscription, and the stone contains a
coat-of-arms and a Latin sentence reminding the reader
of the flight of time, and the approach of death. "Em-
blems of mortality" are added, in "the tolling bell, the
passing bell, the skull and cross-bones, the empty hour
glass, an upright coffin bearing on its side the words:
"Memento Mori." [Remember death], "Time Deum"
[Fear God], and in either corner crossed a scepter
and mattock, and a mattock and spade." " JamesSandi-
lands was a Scotchman." His mother lived in Chester
in 1683. The first record of Mr. Sandilands is in 1665,
when he took up two lots at Upland. In 1670 he took
two other lots joining the land of his father-in law,
Joran Keen, whose descendants have been so carefully
noted at length of late by Prof. Keen, in the Pennsylra-
nia Magazine of History and Biography. In 1675 Saudi-
lands was a Captain of Militia. In 1681 Col. William
Markham appointed him. a member of the Deputy Gov-
ernor's Council. He was a Justice of the Upland Court.
po CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL*S.
William Penn visited him, when he owned a large part
of what is now the city of Chester, including the larger
portions of the Middle and North wards. The rumor
of the day among the people was that it was the inten-
tion of Penn to build a city at Upland, but that he could
not come to an agreement with Sandilands, and so Phila-
delphia arose further up the stream. Sandilands was
a member of the General Assembly of the Province.
"St. Paul's was a memorial church, erected to keep him
in the recollection of the inhabitants of Chester, where-
in he had passed a busy and enterprising life." His
widow Ann married Peter Baynton.
The ancient church had a sun-dial, as in 1704 there is
a record of expense in paying the ferry man for bringing
the dial, and for nails and \vorkmen for setting it up.
There was also a church bell. Mr. Johnson thinks how-
ever, that the first bell used was a hand bell. In 1743 a
bell was cast for the church in England, by Roger Rice.
John Mather donated fifteen pounds, which was half of
'the required amount to pay its cost. A bellfry was
The foundation of the old church was laid in July,
A. D. 1702, and the church was opened for Divine Ser-
vice on Sunday, the 24th of January, 1703, (new style).
Rev. John Talbot preached the sermon. From Rev.
George Keith's Journal, Mr. Johnson notes that Mr.
Keith that day took Mr. Evans's place at Christ Church,
Philadelphia, while Mr. Evans went down to encourage
the new work at Chester. Mr. Keith preached in Ches-
ter twice in the same year.
In 1704 Rev. Henry Nichols, the missionary at Ches-
ter, reported that the people were well disposed to the
Church of England. In 1718 Rev. John Humphreys,
then missionary, could not obtain a house to reside in,
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. pi
and bought a thousand acres of land about three miles
distant. In 1717 Samuel Hesselius, (a Swede,) Was in
charge. In 1752 Rev. Thomas Thompson held the mis-
sion. In 1835 .the old church was repaired. Fifteen
years after it was torn down, and the stones used in the
basement of the new church. The old building should
have been preserved as a relic of old time, and a
reminder of the simple worship of the fathers. T. .U.
Walter, of Philadelphia, was the architect of the new
stone church, which was on the opposite side of Third
street from the old one. The corner stone was laid in
1850. The building is of Gothic architecture.
Robert French, a Scotchman, who married Mary, the
daughter of James Sandilands, was buried in St. Paul's
Church. He was a prominent man in what is now
Delaware, "and one of the founders of Immanuel
Church, at New Castle." His son David was a poet of
merit, and Attorney-General of the Lower Counties.
He' was buried with his father, it is supposed, in the
chancel of the old church.
The new church was opened on Sunday, May 4th,
A. D. 1851. The Rev. Dr. Balch officiated. In 1872
and 1873 ten months were employed in altering and en-
larging the church. On Sunday, April 13, 1873, ser-
vices were resumed, and the rector, Rev. Henry Brown,
preached a historical sermon. Mr. Johnson copies a
list of rectors . from John Hill Martin's History of
Chester. Several have been spoken of, and notes of
the missionaries' may be found in Bishop Perry's His-
torical Collections of Pennsylvania, a quarto volume at
the Philadelphia Library, and also at the Historical
Society of Pennsylvania's Library. Rev. Dr. Hawks
visited England to copy the reports of the missionaries,
etc., and the result given in this volume is very valu-
92 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
ab'e. In 1756 the Swedish minister at Wilmington,
Rev. Israel Acrelius was in charge of Chester. He
wrote a valuable book entitled: "A History of New
Sweden." New Sweden was the name of the Swedish
possessions on the Delaware, in Pennsylvania, New Jer-
sey and Delaware. Dr. Collin translated a part of this
book from the Swedish language, and Rev. Dr. Charles
M. Reynolds afterwards translated the whole of it, and
it was published by the Historical Society of Pennsyl-
vania. A picture of this gentleman, being an oil paint-
ing may be seen in the vestry room of Trinity Chapel,
Wilmington. His connection with Chester, was prob-
ably temporary, as in 1758, Rev. Geo. Craig is in charge,
and no date is marked for the close of Mr. Acrelius's
work. The Swedish clergy aided the English missions
when English clergy were scarce, as may be seen by
their reports. The Propagation Society sometimes
voted remuneration for their assistance, and the rela-
tions of the clergy of the Swedish and English churches
were fraternal and close. The Swedish clergy some-
times ministered at Marcus Hook.
From 1758 to 1781 Rev. George Craig was in charge
of St. Paul's parish. He is spoken of in the Protestant
Episcopal Historical Society Collections, Vol. I,
also in Dr. Chandler's Life of President Johnson,
(English edition,) page 186, In Dr. Dorr's History of
Christ Church, Philadelphia, on pages 124 and 125, I
find it noted that Mr. Craig, according to some minutes
in the papers of Bishop White, was at the yearly Con-
vention of the clergy in Philadelphia, in 1761. He
preached a sermon before the Convention according to
an appointment made by the last Convention. The
sermon was delivered in Christ Church. Hawkins's
Missions of the Church of England mention this mis-
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 93
sionary on pages 315 and 396. He was licensed to New
Jersey, Sept. ist, 1750. He is marked "dead" in a list
of missionaries dated 1770 in the General Convention
Archives in the Protestant Episcopal Historical Society
Collections, Vol.1, page u6.
Rev. James Conner is marked as rector from 1788 to
From 1791 to 1793 Rev. Joseph Turner was rector.
He was the father of Rev. Dr. Samuel H. Turner, who
was long an honored Professor at the General Theo-
logical Seminary, in New York City. Joseph Turner
was an assistant at the Swedish church in Philadelphia,
under Dr. Collin. He often officiated at St. Paul's, and
is buried in the rear of that church, where I have seen
his tomb. He was a worthy man.
Rev. Prof. Hare writes me : "I remember Dr. Turner
very distinctly and very respectfully. He was the Pro-
fessor of Biblical Learning in the General Theological
Seminary, during the time I was there as a student, about
1827 to 1829, and he occupied this important place long
before as well as after those years. He had studied Di-
vinity under Bishop White, I believe. He was friendly,
affable, devout and much interested for his pupils ; a
capable instructor, a thoughtful preacher, a divine
worthy of the name." I also gladly honor him.
From 1793 to 7798 Rev. Levi Heath held the rector-
From 1803 to 1805' Rev. Joshua Reece is named as
From 1815 to 1818 Rev. William Pryce was rector.
He was rector of Holy Trinity (Old Swedes'), Wilming-
ton, and is buried near the door of the old church.
From i8i8to 1822 Rev. Jacob Morgan Douglass was
jn the rectorship.
94 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
REV. JACOB MORGAN -DOUGLASS.
Rev. Benjamin J. Douglass has prepared a manuscript
life of his father at my request, and! gather some points
Mr. Douglass, was connected with the Diocese of Penn-
sylvania over fifty years. Andrew and Rachel Doug-
lass were his parents, and Philadelphia was the place of
his birth in 1794. His father and his maternal grandfather
Col. Jacob Morgan were sugar refiners. The Colonel,
was a Revolutionary officer. His father, bearing the
same name and title, gave name to Morgantown, Berks
County, Pa., where he resided.
Jacob Morgan Douglass was sent to school at the
Lower Dublin Academy, at Collegeville, near Holmes-
burgh, and not far from Bustleton. He was in Prince-
ton College, graduating with high honors. He entered
John Sergeant's law office. Christ called him to a high
religious life, and Bishop White confirmed him on Eas-
ter Eve, 1812. In 1815 he was admitted to the bar, but
in the same month became a candidate for Holy Orders.
The saintly Bishop White guided his theological stud-
ies, and ordained him Deacon in St. Paul's Church,
Philadelphia. His first sermon was preached in Christ
Church, from St. Luke 8 : 4. In the evening, with mis-
sionary zeal he preached in Commissioner's Hall, South-
wark. The Rev. Messrs. Kemper, Boyd, Montgomery
and others were zealous missionaries in church work in,
Philadelphia in those days. The Advancement Society
entered on its noble work. Mr. Douglass labored with
success under this Society as a missionary, making
Pittsburgh the centre of his field. Trinity Church,
Pittsburgh, had been organized, and there were four
churches near Brownsville, so that the Rev. Messrs.
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 95
Ayres, Doddridge and Taylor had had some effect en
the community. Mr. Douglass went through Ohio,
Kentucky and Tennessee.
At Pittsburgh the faithful missionary induced the
people to repair the church, and to agree to pay a salary
for the support of a clergyman, and to seek for a new
In 1818 Mr.' Douglass was in charge of Chester, Mar-
cus Hook and Concord. He was also rector of Swedes-
boro, N. J. In 1824 he returned to Concord, Pa., and
in 1829 became assistant to Dr. Bedell at St. An-
drew's, Philadelphia. From 1831 to 1834 he was rector
of St. Thomas's African Church in that city. The work
in the country churches was blessed with success, and
the church edifice at Chester was repaired. The people
were strongly attached to their faithful rector. As to
the colored work, Mr. Douglass ever proved "the friend
of the colored man."
About 1836 he undertook a severe task in the resus-
citation of St. Matthew's parish, Francisville. The vil-
lage was then outside of the city.
Rev. Norman Nash was rector in 1822. He was a
devoted man and became a missionary in Wisconsin.
Rev. Prof. Hare writes me that he remembers him "as a
man of much zeal."
Rev. Jacob Morgan Douglass died on the ioth of
May, 1876. In later life when he was not able to per-
form service, he attended the Church of the Mediator.
Rev. Dr. Samuel Appleton ministered faithfully to him
in his last illness, and from that church, where he loved
to worship, he was borne to his grave in the church
yard at Bristol, where he waits a joyful resurrection.
He was laborious, and sacrificed himself, and God gave
him success. The will of God was the law of this
96 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
devoted and humble servant of Christ. He preached
Christ crucified, and thought little of human sufficiency.
His pastoral visits gave him a close knowledge of the
character and spiritual needs of his people. He sought
the opportunity of sanctifying his visits by prayer, and
did not forget to inculcate the duty of family prayer in
this world of daily temptation to sin. His private ap-
plications enforced his public preaching, and he looked
for the blessing of God on both, and received it. He
was not idle, waiting for a parish, but sought work
where little remuneration was offered, but work was
needed. The son closes the merited eulogy of a worthy
father with an appeal to young men to come to the ; :
front where the fight rages the strongest, as his living
example points the way. Such lives he pleads should
stir laymen and clergy to noble action in the Church of
Christ. This certain! v should be the effect of all relief-
ions biography ; we should not merely admire, but also
imitate. Zion Church, in Philadelphia, was founded by
the efforts of Mr. Douglass.
Rev. Richard Umstead Morgan held St. Paul's parish
from 1822 to 1831. He was rector of Reading and of
Pcquea, in Pennsylvania, and of New Rochelle, in New
York. He was an able minister.
THE REV. RICHARD UMSTEAD MORGAN, D. D.,
was born at Evansburg, Montgomery County, Pennsyl-
vania, January 9th, 1800. He was a descendant of General
Daniel Morgan, of the Army of the Revolution. In
1822, he was ordained a deacon by Bishop White, in
St. Peter's Church, Philadelphia, and priest by the same
bishop in 1823. After twelve years' service as rector of
parishes in Delaware, Chester and Lancaster Counties,
he was called to the rectorate of Christ Church, React-
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 97
ing, in 1834. The title of D. D. was given him in 1845
by Dickinson College. He remained in charge of the
Reading parish 15 years and seven months, and May ist,
1850, was transferred to the Diocese of New York, and
instituted rector of Trinity Church, New Rochelle,
which parish he faithfully served for twenty-three years.
In 1873, after fifty years spent in the service of his
Master, he was retired at his own request, with the title
of Rector Emeritus, and spent his declining years in the
family of his wife's relatives (nieces of the late Bishop
Jarvis)at Stamford, Connecticut, where he died October
9th, 1882, in the 83d year of his age. His remains rest
in the burial ground of his former parish at New Ro-
chelle, by the side of his first wife, Sarah Markley, a
native of Norristown, Pennsylvania.
This sketch is contributed by J. K. Get/.
From 1831 to 1835 Rev. John Baker Clcmson, D. ]).,
was rector. He is a native of Pennsylvania. By the
early death of his father, who was a Philadelphia mer-
chant, he was obliged to guide his own way in life and
became a student of Princeton College. He also studied
at the Theological Seminary near Alexandria, Virginia,
and was ordained by Bishop White. He was the first
rector of Harrisburg, Pa., and was rector of Williams-
port, Pa., and of Ascension Church, Philadelphia, and of
St. John's, Pequea, Pa., and Ascension Church, Clay-
mont, Delaware, and St. Martin's, Marcus Hook, Pa.,
and St. John's, Concord, Pa., and served Holy Inno-
cents, Tacony, Philadelphia, for a time. He held the
rectorship of West Chester for several years. He has
been noted as a teacher of boys and young men. In
early life he conducted a manual labor school near Wil-
mington, on Penny Hill, where young men were trained
for the ministry. Rev. Dr. Richard Newton was a pupil,
98 . CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
I believe that Bristol College grew out of this effort.
Rev. Dr. Tyng was once interested in these schools.
Dr. Clemson is a fine reader of the service, a polished
writer and a good preacher. He now resides in West
From 1835 to 1837 Rev. Richard D. Hall was the
rector of Chester. See " Bristol, " in this volume, for a
sketch of his life.
From 1837 to 1841 Rev. Mortimer Richmond Talbot
was rector, and again held the post from 1859 to 1861.
He was a pleasant and affable man. In his latter life he
was a chaplain in the Navy, and was in 1848 and 1861
stationed at the Naval Asylum, in Philadelphia. His
naval record shows that in 1852 he was at the Naval
Hospital in Norfolk,Va., and gives the dates of his various
sojourns on vessels. He was born in New York, resided
in Pennsylvania, and died in Philadelphia, in 1863. In
1842 and 1843 Rev. Greenbury W. Ridgely was in
charge of the parish. He was a man of remarkable
brightness, and a natural orator. He was a student in
the law office of Henry Clay before he gave himself to
the ministry of Christ's Holy Church. He once held
the rectorship of Hulmeville, Pa., and when he owned
a farm at Claymont, 'Delaware, he used to officiate at the
Union Meeting House not far distant, for Calvary
From 1844 to 1848 Rev. Anson B. Hard was associate
rector of St. Paul's. He was from Vermont, and was
rector of Marcus Hook. He was a saintly man, but in
his later life an affection of the throat impaired his voice,
and forbade his using it to continue the public exercise
of his ministry. So the working servant of Christ was
transformed into the waiting servant until the summons
came to enter the joy of the Master, where bodily
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 99
infirmity would disappear. It is not needful to remind
the parishioners of St. Paul's how nobly his daughter,
Miss Laura Hard, has continued her father's labors in
the large Bibl-e Class which has for years received the
benefit of her instructions in the Word of God, that they
may be advanced in the Christian life.
Anson Bois Hard was born in Arlington, Vermont,
Nov. isth, 1 80 1 ; and died in Chester, Pa., May 31 st. 1880,
where he lies buried in the Chester Rural Cemetery.
He graduated at Middlebury College, Vermont, in
1825, and from there went to the Theological Seminary
in Alexandria, Va., and was confirmed there by Bishop
Moore in 1829.
His first parishes were Fairfax and Sheldon, Vermont,
from which he. went to Mt. Vernon, Ohio, and from
there to his native place, Arlington, Vermont, in each
of which he remained five years. In 1844 he came to
Chester, and in 1849 was disabled from preaching by a
partial paralysis of the vocal organs, the remote cause
of which was an injury received a few years previously
by being thrown and gored by a wild bull. He was
married in 1829, immediately after his ordination, to
Esther Yarnall Warner, a daughter of Capt. John War-
ner, of Wilmington, Delaware, who was at the time
acting as United States Consul at Havana, being engaged
in the West India trade.
From 1849 to 1850 Rev. Charles W. Quick was rector.
From 1850 to 1853 the parish was in the hands of
Rev. Dr. Lewis P. W. Balch. He was a man who stood
high in the Church as Secretary -of the House of Bish-
ops. His elocution in reading and speaking was remark-
ably fine, and his manner was very striking. He was
for some time the rector of St. Bartholomew's Church,
New York City, when it stood on Great Jones Street,
before it was moved uptown.
TOO CHESTER (l'A ) ST. I'AUL's.
From 1853 to 1855 Rev. Nathaniel Sayre Harris was
the rector of this parish. He was the son of Nathan-
iel and Catharine Harris. He was born in the vicinity
of Trenton, N. J., Sept. 29th, 1805. He graduated at
West Point Military Academy, and held various offices
in the army until his resignation in 1835. On a visit to
Philadelphia the sainted Dr. Bedell impressed him with
a devout Christian sermon, and the Holy Spirit drew
him into the service of God, which engaged him until
his death, fifty-seven years afterwards. He studied fora
time in the GeneralTheological Seminary, in New York,
closing as a pupil of the godly Rev. Dr. John A. Clark,
rector of St. Andrew's Church, Philadelphia, where he
acted as lay reader. In 1837 Bishop Onderdonk or-
dained him a deacon, and in 1838 he ordained him a
priest. He began his faithful work at- the Church of
the Evangelists, in Southwark, Philadelphia. The over-
flowing church, and large Sunday-school, and an in-
creasing number of communicants indicating the bless-
ing of God. He became rector of Ascension Church,
Philadelphia, and afterwards secretary and general
agent for the church's domestic missions. He had a
martial appearance, and Dr. Tyng once styled him " an
embalmed soldier." In latter years the military appear-
/ ance partially disappeared. He labored and itinerated
in his pleadings for missions three or four years, but in
1 845 took the young Church of the Nativity, in Phila-
delphia, and toiled to advance it, but in 1852 went to
St. Paul's, Chester. In three years he went to Balti-
more, and thence moving to Hoboken, N. J., he passed
there the last fourteen years of his active ministerial
labor. He was rector of Trinity nearly ten years. He
took it as a young parish, with an unfinished church,
but left it flourishing and out of debt, In 1866 he
^CHESTER (l'A.) ST. PAUL'S. IO[
accepted St. Paul's Church, and remained there until
1871. The loss of a dear son to whom he ministered in
Europe, whither he had gone for health, saddened his
life. Still he was benevolent and unselfish, patient and
gentle as in early days, glorifying Christ by his acts.
His sermons were able presentations of Gospel truth,
"and Christ crucified" was his great theme. He was a
faithful shepherd in parish work, and was loved by the
poor and weary whom he consoled. Mr. Harris's first
wife was the daughter of John Andrews, of Philadel-
phia, who was the son of Rev. Dr. John Andrews, Pro-
vost of the University of Pennsylvania. His second wife
was the daughter of James A. Stevens, of Hoboken. Capt.
Edwin S. Harris, his son, was lost in the War of the
Rebellion. After over a year's illness, this clergyman
"fell asleep in Jesus," at the rectory of his son, Rev.
John Andrews Harris, D. D.,in Chestnut Hill, Philadel-
phia, April 22tl, 1866. He left a widow, two sons and
a' daughter, while former parishioners share their loss.
From 1855 to 1859 Rev. Daniel Kendig was the rec-
tor. He also conducted a school for a time, and a build-
ing was erected for school purposes near the present
rectory. Mr. Kendig has been in the West for many
years. He is now a chaplain in the United States A rmy 1 ,
stationed at San Francisco.
He was born at Middletown, Dauphin County, Pa.,
November ioth, 1824 ; was graduated from the Univer-
sity of Pennsylvania; was ordained deacon and priest
by Bishop Alonzo Potter ; and was rector of St. Paul's,
Chester, Pa., and of the Church of the Advent, Oak-
From 1861 to 1863 Rev. J. Pinkney Hammond was the
rector of St. Paul's. He was also chaplain"of the Army
Hospital near Chester. He was rector of St. Michael's
102 CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S..
\ ' 4$
Church, Germantown, and was settled in church work
in Maryland. He died not long since. He was a large
man of commanding presence, and a person of decided
church views, which he was very earnest in maintaining,'
and was a patient and conscientious toiler in the Lord's
Vineyard. Miss M. H. Whittingham kindly furnishes
me the following notes concerning him. She is a daugh-
ter of Bishop Whittingham, and is the Librarian of the
Diocesan Library of Maryland.
Jonathan Pinkney Hammond, D. D., (St. John's) born
in Annapolis, Maryland, May 2oth, 1826 ; graduate of
St. John's College, Annapolis, 1845 ; graduate of Vir-
ginia Theological Seminary, 1847 ; ordained deacon by
Bishop Meade, July isth, 1847; went from Virginia to
Rhode Island, thence to Maine, 1847 ; took charge of a
church at Bangor, Maine ; became minister of Trinity
Church, Saco, Maine; came into the Diocese of Mary-
land, 1849; took charge of Trinity Church, Upper Marl-
boro', Prince George Co., August ist, 1849 ; ordained
priest by Bishop Whittingham, in Trinity Church, Up-
per Marlboro', on presentation by the Rev. Dr. Pinkney
in 1850 ; left for the Dioces.e of New York, April igth,
18152, and became rector of St. Ann's Church, Morris-
ania, New York ; entered the U. S. service as chaplain
and was transferred from Pennsylvania to Maryland in
1862 ; was chaplain of the Hospital at Annapolis, and
took temporary charge of St. Anne's Church, Annap-
olis^ March ist, 1865, elected rector, May 5th, 1865 ; was
transferred to the Diocese of Pennsylvania, 1869, an d
settled first in Philadelphia, then in Reading, thence to
Omaha, Nebraska ; returned to Maryland, as rector of
King and Queen Parish, St. Mary's Co., in 1875; went
to St. Mary's Church, Franklin, Baltimore Co., 1877 ;
became missionary in St. George's Mission Chapel,
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 103
Baltimore City, 1878-9. While such, built St. George's
Church, memorial to Bishop Whittingham, and died as
its rector, August gth, 1884, aged 58 years. He left a
widow and several grown children, still residing in Bal-
He compiled a prayer book, or rather a Manual of
Prayers, for the use of army chaplains.
It was a good day for this parish, when in 1863 the
Rev. Henry Brown became its rector. He has faithfully
and successfully toiled in it from that day to this one,
and it is rare to find so extended a rectorate.
Rev. Henry Brown was born in Philadelphia, and
brought up in St. John's Church, Northern Liberties,
under the Rev. Dr. Boyd, and said the catechism to him
from memory when six years old, and commenced
theological studies under him.
He studied at the Academical Department of the
University of Pennsylvania. He was appointed head
master of an Academy on the Eastern shore of Mary-
land. He studied there with the Rev. Dr. Piggot,
boarding in his family, having the use of his large and
He was ordained deacon by Bishop Onderdonk in
1839, in Grace Church, Philadelphia. Rev. Mr, Hallo-
well, was ordained deacon at the same time. He was
ordained priest by Bishop Whittingham, in 1841, at
Centreville. He preached his first sermon on the after-
noon of his ordination in St. John's Church, where he
had been brought up, and where he was confirmed by
Bishop Onderdonk, at the age of sixteen.
His first parish was St. Mark's, Lewistown, Pa., and
his second one,'St. Paul's, Centreviile, Maryland, where
he remained ten years and six months.
He then became rector of St. David's, Radnor, where
he remained four and a half years.
104 CHESTER (['A.) ST. PAUL'S.
While rector of St. David's, he started a service on
Sunday afternoons in a hall on the Lancaster turnpike,
six miles from Radnor, which from the first became, by
God's blessing, a great success. In two years a stone
church with tower, &c., was built, and paid for, and the
building was soon filled; and the outcome of this new
parish under the labor of successive rectors, and in-
crease of a wealthy and intelligent population coming
to the neighborhood, is the strong and active congrega-
tion of the Church of the Redeemer, Bryn Mawr.
From Radnor Mr. Brown removed to Beverly, N. J.,
and was rector of St. Stephen's Church seven years
and six months. Within a year after removing to
Beverly, he received a pressing call to return to the
Church of the Redeemer, which he declined, as there
was much to encourage him in his new parish.
From Beverly he came to his present parish, and is
now in the twenty-eighth year as rector of St. Paul's
This parish from 75 communicants, now numbers 400.
The rector has never had an assistant, and seldom avails
himself of the services of a lay-reader. He never misses
going into his Sunday-School on each Lord's day, to
catechise and talk to school and Bible classes, which
number over 500 in attendance. His health is good,
and God has been very gracious to him during his long
ministry in his church; and he may truly say in view of
His loving help: "Our labor is not in vain in the Lord."
He is much beloved by his flock for his long and faith-
John Morton who signed the Declaration of Inde-
pendence, is buried in St. Paul's ground, When the
Continental Army was at Fort Washington, Mr. Johnson
* See Radnor in tliis volume for further notice of his work.
CHESTER (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 105
notes after a prayer by Rev. Dr. Magaw, the Declara-
tion was read to the soldiers, and a doubtful silence
followed, as the idea was by no means universally popu-
lar at that time, but the gifted General Thomas Mifflin,
mounting a cannon, loudly declared that the Rubicon
had been crossed, and demanded three cheers for the
document, and with electric effect the cheers came.
Mr. Johnson's history gives a sketch of this parish
which I condense. This Gothic granite stone church
is at the corner of Third and Broomall streets, and was
built in A. D. 1866. The corner-stone was laid on
February ist. Bishop Stevens officiated, assisted by
Rev. Henry Brown, and some other clergymen. Ser-
vices were held in the church in 1870. Thomas R. List,
a student in the Philadelphia Divinity School, was lay-
reader untili873, and then rector. "The Church was due
largely to the efforts of John Burrows McKeever, Wm.
Ward, Samuel Archbold, Samuel Eccles, Jr., Wm. H.
Green, Wm. A. Todd, Major Joseph R. Coates, and their
wives and other ladies of St. Paul's Church, the South
Ward, and South Chester. Edward A. Price and wife
presented the parish with a handsome Communion Ser-
vice silver tankard, paten, chalices, and plates for alms,
while F. Stanhope Hill and Mrs. Hannah Depue gave
the pulpit Bible." John Borrows McKeever, a zealous
friend of the young parish died in 1874, and by the efforts
of the Rev. Mr. List a font was procured for the church
in commemoration of him. In 1875 Mr. List became
rector of the Church of the Redemption, Philadelphia,
which post he yet holds, having done good and loyal
service to the Church in both positions. In October of
the same year Rev. George Clifford Moore assumed the
Jo6 COLUMBIA (C.) ST. PAUL'S.
rectorship of St. Luke's Church. He advocated abol-
ishing pew-rents, and the introducing the envelope
system of voluntary contributions. In 1876 a legacy
from Charles Kenworthy was used to partially pay " a
mortgage debt," and the next year a legacy of Elizabeth
Kerlin was employed in " like manner," and in 1880 the
whole debt was paid. The parish has flourished under
the constant faithful work of the present rector, and with
the growth of the population of the city it may advance
more rapidly. *
CHURCHTOWN (c.) BANGOR CHURCH.
BY REV. SAMUEL AJcElAYEE.
Succession of rectors : Rev. Griffith Hughes, 1730-
1733; Rev. Roger Blackall, 1733-1739; Rev. Richard
Lock, 1739-1751 ; Rev. George Craig, i75 I - I 7595 Rev.
Thomas Barton, 1759-1774; Rev. Traugod Frederick
Illing, 1782-1792; Rev. Levi Heath, 1793-1799 ; Rev,
Joseph Clarkson, 1799-1819 ; Rev. Levi Bull, 1819-1844
Rev. William J. Clark, 1844-1847; Rev. William L
Suddards, 1847; Rev. S. T. Carpenter, 1848; in temp'
orary charge. Rev. Edward Meyer, 1849-1854 ; Rev
Edward L. Lycett, 1854-1856 ; Rev. Henry M. Stuart
1857-1859; Rev. Francis E. Arnold, 1860-1864; Rev
William R. Gries, 1865-1867 ; Rev. Henry ..R. Smith
1869-1871 ; Rev. John Ireland, 1873-1876 ; Rev. Samue
McElwee, 1876 to present time : October, 1890.
COLUMBIA (C.), ST. PAUL'S.
15Y*GEORGE H. RICHARDS.
At irregular intervals during the years 1837, 1838, 183*
and 1840, the services of the Protestant Episcopal Churcl
were held at Columbia. An effort was made at tha
ST. PAUL'S, COLUMBIA.
COLUMBIA (C.) ST. PAUI/S. 107
time to raise sufficient money for the erection of a
church building, but the amount raised, $600, fell so far
short, that the church people must have been very much
discouraged. For, no effort seems to have been made to
hold services here again until in 1848. In August of
that year, Bishop Potter accompanied by Rev. Samuel
Bowman, then rector of St. James's, Lancaster, visited
the church families residing at Columbia and Marietta.
Soon after Rev. Dwight E. Lyman, a Professor in St.
James College, near Hagerstown, Maryland,. offered his
services as a missionary at these two points. On
Sunday evening, August 13, 1848, he held his first
service in Columbia, in the Presbyterian Church, which
had very kindly been offered for that purpose.
Mr. Lyman soon hired a house and had it suitably
fitted up for divine service, and having appointed a
. vestry,- he commenced the regular services weekly, one
service being held in Columbia and one in Marietta
each Sunday. The name St. Paul was adopted and a
charter was obtained, and passed through the Convention.
A lot was purchased, and from funds contributed by
members of the parish and friends in Philadelphia,
Harrisburg, Lancaster and other places, a very attract-
ive stone church was built after the early English style,
having a 'seating capacity of about 200. The corner
stone was laid October 10, 1849, and the church was
consecrated on May 28, 1850.
Mr. Lyman resigned in July 1853. He was efficient
and active, and much beloved.
The- names of the other ministers in order are as
follows : Rev. Henry W. Woods, became rector in
December 1850 resigned October i, 1854; Rev. Dr.
McLeod, May 1855 resigned January 1856; Rev.
Samuel Appleton, from July i, 1857 to April i, 1860 ;
lo8 COLUMBIA (C.) ST. PAUL'S.
Theodore A. Hopkins, principal of Yeates Institute,
acted frequently as a supply during the spring and
summer of 1860 ; Rev. John Cromlist took charge
early in January, 1861, and resigned July 31, 1867 to
engage in special church missionary work in New York
City ; Rev. Benj. J. Douglass, from January i, 1868 to
June i, 1870; Rev. George H. Kirkland, from September
ii, 1870 to December 28, 1873.
By his earnest advocacy, at a meeting of the congrega-
tion held March 29, 1871, the vestry were instructed to
declare the church a Free Church, provided sufficient
funds were subscribed to pay the current expenses.
The formal declaration was soon after made by the
The parish has never repented this step. Under the
pew rent system it was impossible to collect enough to
pay the current expenses. The voluntary contribution
plan nearly doubled the annual receipts.
Rev. Percival A. Beckett, from February i, 1874 to
July n, 1875.
On May 29, 1875, a ca ^ was extended to. Rev. Geo.-
H. Kirkland to again become rector of the parish. The
call was accepted to take effect the first Sunday in
September following. He resigned July 7, 1879, officia-
ting for the last time on the first Sunday in the following
Rev. Richard C. Searing, from December 7, 1879 to
Sunday, August 5, 1883.
Rev. David B. Willson, now deceased, officiated on
October 23, The memory of Mr. Willson is very dear
to the members of St. Paul's parish because of the
timely and efficient help he so cheerfully and frequently
rendered them when acting as a lay-reader and tempor-
COLUMBIA (C.) ST. PAUL'S. IOQ
On February 14, 1884, Rev. F. J. Clay-Moran, B. D.,
of England, took temporary charge of the parish, having
been engaged to serve until Easter. His labors proved
so helpful, that upon the earnest solicitation of the
vestry, he consented to continue his temporary charge
of the parish, with liberty to terminate it at any time
upon giving reasonable notice.
This relation was kept up until April 13, 1890, when
Mr. Moran left to assume the duties of Archdeacon of
Annapolis, to which important office he had been
appointed by Bishop Paret of the Diocese of Maryland.
This period of over six years was the golden one in
the history of the parish. Dormant powers were stimula-
ted, hopes were strengthened, zeal intensified, and Christ-
ian love broadened and deepened. The marked result of
this new life was the erection of a large new stone
church at a new and more central location upon two
lots generously donated by Mr. H. H. Houston, for-
merly of Columbia, now residing at Germantown, Pa.
This building so beautiful without and within, with seats
for 400 persons, was dedicated Thursday, September 29,
1887, and on January 25, 1888, the feast of the Conver-
sion of St. Paul, it was consecrated, Rt. Rev. M. A.
De Wolfe Howe, Bishop of the Diocese, officiating, as-
sisted by Rev. Mr. Moran, the rector, and many visiting
Services have been kept up since Mr. Moran's depart-
ure by the help of Rev. Montgomery R. Hooper, the
principal of Yeates Institute, Lancaster, Pa., and
On October 14, 1890, a call was extended .to Rev. D.
Stuart Hamilton, assistant at Christ Church, Williams-
port, Pa. The call was accepted on October z^d, to
take effect on Advent Sunday.
no CONCORD (FA.) ST. JOHN'S.
The parish is free of debt. It needs very much a
parish building and a rectory. Before the end of an-
other year the work of erecting the parish building may
The parish is well organized. There is a good Sunday-
school, a Woman's Guild, a chapter of the Brotherhood
of St. Andrew, and a chapter of the Sisterhood of St.
The wardens and vestry take a deep interest in their
work, being all regular communicants. Harmony is
the watchword. Success cannot help but be the result.
The following named persons constitute the wardens
and vestry at this time.
Hon. H. M. North, Rector's Warden ; S. S. Detwiler,
Accounting Warden ; George H. Richards, Secretary;
Andrew J. KaufTman, Esq., James Bloomfield, }. Edward
CONCORD (PA.) ST. JOHN'S.
1!V REV R. L. STEVENS.
'Traditions of this neighborhood carry the organization
of this church back to 1650. It was made up of
members of the churches of Sweden and England who
in 1702 erected a log church on a lot deeded to
them by John Hannum. This church has been rebuilt
several times; the last time being in 1844, when the pres-
ent stone structure was erected on a new lot adjoining
the old lot. In 1707-8 a Communion Service was'pre-
sented by Queen Anne, and this is still in the possession
of the Church. The gravestones in the original lot
date back as far as 1720, while the first records of the
parish begin in 1727.
Among the rectors the Rev. Evan Evans heads the
list; but the graves of the Rev. Richard and Mary Saun-
DOYLKSTOWN (PA.) ST. PAUJ/S. lit
derlands are represented at the church door. As the
name of Richard Saunderlands does not appear after
Evan Evans, it may be presumed that he ministered here
before the others. The full list of rectors to the present
time is as follows :
Rev. Evan Evans, Henry Nichols, George Ross, John
Humphreys, John Backhouse, Thomas Thompson,
George Craig, John Wade, James Connor, James Turner,
Levi Heath, Joshua Reece, M. Chandler, William Pryce,
Jacob M. Douglass, Samuel C..Brinckle, Jacob M. Dou-
glass, George Kirke, John B. Clemson, D. D., M. D.
Hirst, E. Wilson Wiltbank, (Bishop) Alfred Lee, Samuel
C. Stratton, Benj. S. Huntington, R. B. Claxton, W. H.
Trapnell, Chas. Breck, John K. Murphy, D. D., Richard -
son Graham, John B. Clemson, M. Christian, J. J. Creigh,
Joshua Copeland, H. Baldwin Dean, Joseph J. Sleeper,
Fletcher Clark and Robert L. Stevens, the present
.The author adds that Dr. Evan Evans was rector of
Christ Church, Philadelphia, and a great missionary,
founding country parishes. A sketch of him is given
in Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware.
Rev. Robert Livingston Stevens did faithful mission-
ary work fourteen years in Oregon and Nebraska. He
was rector of the Church of the Holy Comforter, Lir-
coln, Nebraska. He was born in Hoboken, N. J., grad-
uated at Princeton College and the General Theological
Seminary, ordained deacon by Bishop Scarborough, in
Princeton and priest by Bishop Morris, in Portland.
DOYLESTOWN (PA.)^ST. PAUL'S.
A copy of General Davis's Doylestoivn Democrat, dated
April i3th, 1880, contains a historical sermon by V.
Hummel Berghaus, in two parts, from which we cull
112 DOYLESTOWN (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
information. In 1845 R- ev - George P. Hopkins began
the effort which resulted in the establishing of the church,
though previous efforts had been made. Mr. Hopkins
lived in Germantown, and officiated occasionally in
Jenkintown and Chestnut -Hill. Thomas Ross, Esq.,
and his family assisted the undertaking in Doylestown.
Services were commenced in Beneficial Hall, on State
street, now called Masonic Hall, In 1846, the corner-
stone of the church was laid by Bishop Potter. Amidst
some discouragements Mr. Hopkins moved forward with
hope and determination, and was sustained by the help
.of God. Rev. Joseph S. Large, of Michigan, formerly
of Bucks County, " Rev. Mr. Wiltberger, missionary at
Hulmeville, Centreville, Newtown, &c., "were present at
the laying of the corner-stone, with the rector. The
vestryman, Mr. James Gilkyson, was a faithful worker
in this enterprise. The church was opened in 1848.
Waiting hearts were joyful even to tears on this occa-
sion. The building was of stone, and was an ornament
to the town. In 1850, the blessed consecration was
celebrated by Bishop Potter. Mr. Hopkins, was then
living in Doylestown. The future Bishops Stevens and
Howe, and Rev. Messrs. Shannon, Edwin N. Lightner,
Wiltberger and Hopkins, and Drs. Beasley and Stem,
assisted in the service. Dr. Stevens preached a remark-
able sermon, the church was crowded, and the "music
beautiful." The Bishop preached in the afternoon, and
Dr. Stem in the evening, when there was a confirmation.
Dr. Chas. Treichel, of Germantown, gave the organ.
He was a brother-in-law of Bishop Hopkins. The
communion service was the gift of Mrs. Osman Reed, of
Philadelphia. "The Communion table" was presented
by Caleb Jones, Esq. Rev. Dr. Rodney, of German-
town, and several of his parishioners aided the erection
DOYLESTOWN (PA.) ST. PAUL'S. 113
of the church. Duval Rodney King and his mother,
Mrs. Mary King, and others are mentioned by Mr. Hop-
kins, whose accounts are followed by the preacher. Mr.
Hopkins resigned in 1853, having done noble work. He
now resides at Stevensville, Pa., and is rector of St.
Matthew's Church, Pike.
He left the parish for Lewistown, Pa., with the loving
good wishes of parishioners. For some time he held
Trinity Church, Centreville, with Doylestown. In 1 854,
Rev. Rees C. Evans was elected rector. William Stavely
was authorized to extend this call, and Centreville and
Doylestown were joined under one rector. In 1855,
Mr. Evans resigned ; and Rev. William R. Gries became
rector. He had studied medicine, and was a mission-
ary in North Carolina. He was ardent in temperament,
zealous and of simplicity in character, and a preacher of
ability, a faithful pastor, and a toilsome minister. The
church, improved spiritually, and in numbers, during his
rectorship. The new organ was bought in his day, and
the basement of the church fitted up. The bell was also
procured. Being of German descent, the rector was
useful among the Germans. He resigned in 1861. He
is remembered with affection as a faithful servant of
Christ. He became a chaplain in the army in the war
against the Southern Confederacy, in the regiment of
Colonel, (now General) Davis. He was very useful as
a clergyman and as a faithful counsellor and friend to the
men under his charge. In sickness or battle he was at
his post, and is 'remembered as one who did his duty.
His colonel testifies to his excellent character and great
usefulness. His religious services were numerous. He
also had hospital services and daily services among the
soldiers when he was the sole chaplain on duty in the
brigade. Many soldiers were baptized by him. Ten
if 4 ' UOYLESTOWN (PA.) ST. PAUL'S.
years after leaving this church he revisited his flock and
preached earnestly on the importance of not delaying
action in religious life. Mr. Gries gave up his earthly
work at his Lord's command at Allentown, Pa., October
2ist, 1873. Being dead he yet speaks words of loving
warning to his old parishioners to seek salvation in
Rev. John Tetlow was rector from 1862 to 1864. Rev.
Byron McGann was called in 1864, He worked with
zeal and success. His life was blameless. His flock
loved him, and he had the respect of the community.
His manner was dignified. The rectory was bought in
this rectorship. Mr. McGann resigned in 1868, and the
congregation regretted their loss. He became rector of
Bellefonte, Pa., and later of Pottstown, Pa., where he
died on the nth of March, 1877. Bishop Stevens de-
scribed his character as pure and lovely, and styled him,
"an earnest and faithful preacher of the Gospel, and a
wise and prudent pastor of Christ's flock. " I remember
his appearance and manner as suited to the ideal of a
minister of Christ.
In 1868 Rev. Hurley Baldy became rector. The church
was enlarged in his rectorship, and the parish was sep-
arated from Centreville. He resigned in 1873.
The vestry received the resignation with regret. The
parish and community appreciated the good work done
by the retiring rector. Mr. Baldy now lives in Phila-
Dr. S. N. Burrill placed granite steps and stone pave-
ment at the church entrance, and fenced the grounds
and planted shrubbery at his own expense in 1873.
From 1874 to 1875 Rev. Thomas K. Cbleman was
rector.. He was learned "and eloquent. In 1875 Rev.
Mr. Berghaus was called to the rectorship. The words
DRIFTON (C.) ST. JAMEs's ECKLEY (c.) ST. J AMEs's. 1 1 5
of earnest exhortation with which this rector closes his
sermon urging an advance in spiritual life, and in effort
for church progress, show the spirit of that pleasant rec-
Rev. Howard T. Widclemer was rector from 1883 to
1885, and Rev. J. F. Taunt from the close of 1885 to
January 3ist, 1887.
The present rector is Rev. George Newton Eastman,
born in Owego, New York, 1851. Moved to Geneva,
N. Y., 1861, prepared for college in the Geneva Classi-
cal and Union School, and entered Hobart College, 1869,
graduated in 1873. Taught in the " East Bloomfield
Academy," N. Y., and entered General Theological Sem-
inary in 1876, graduated in 1879, ordained deacon,
Trinity Sunday, 1879, in Church of the Transfiguration,
N. Y., by Rt. Rev. Horatio Potter. Went to Virginia
City, Nevada, to Rt. Rev. 0. W. Whitaker, in July, and
worked under him in Virginia City, at St. Paul's Church,
also having charge of the mission stations, Gold Hill,
O O "
Silver City and Dayton. Advanced to the priesthood
by Bishop Whitaker, in Lent, 1880. Returned East,
after Easter, 1885. Novemberi885 to June 1887, assistant-
minister, Church of the Ascension, New York, under
Rev. E. Winchester Donald, D. D. June, first Sunday,
1887, became rector of St. Paul's Church, Doylestown.
DRIFTON (C.) ST. JAMES'S, AND ECKLEY (c.) ST. JAMEs's.
The parish of St. James's Church, Eckley, was organ-
ized March 15, .1856, at a meeting called by the Rev.
Peter Russell, the pioneer of the Church in the Lehigh
region. This church was built in 1859, and the Rev.
Peter Russell was elected rector. The consecration
took place on February 7, 1860, Rt. Rev. Samuel Bow-
man, Assistant Bishop of the Diocese, officiating.
Il6 DRIFTON (C.) ST. JAMES'S ECKLEY (c.) ST. JAMES'S.
In the Summer of 1866 at Drifton, a Sunday-school
was started in the dining-room of the family hotel, as
there was no other building in which to hold the-school,
Drifton being in its infancy. A public schoolhouse
was bu'lt the following Autumn, and the Sunday-school
was transferred to it. Church services were held almost
immediately in the same building by the Rev. Peter
Russell, as a mission of St. James's Church, Eckley.
The Holy Communion was celebrated for the first time
at Drifton, in the schoolhouse during the Easter season
Rev. Peter Russell resigned in consequence of con-
tinued ill health March, 1869, and he was succeeded in
the same month, by the Rev. James Walker.
In 1872 a chapel was built at Drifton, whicli was used
for church services and Sunday-school, until the present
church was erected.
Rev. James Walker resigned in 1874, being succeeded
by Rev. A. H. Boyle in 1875, who was again succeeded
by Rev. John Ireland, June, 1876,
St. James's' Church, Drifton, was built in 1883, the cor-
ner stone was laid in September, and on Christmas clay
of the same year, the first service was held in the church,
which was consecrated the following year by the Rt.
Rev. M. H. De Wolfe Howe, D. D., Bishop of the
Diocese, on Sunday, November 23rd, 1884.
Rev. Isaac Peck and Rev. H. C. Brayton, successively
assisted Rev. John Ireland 1883-84, until in May, 1884,
Rev. James P. Buxton was elected assistant, having
charge of St. James's, Drifton. On May 4, 1885, the
church in Drifton became a separate parish, and Rev.
John Ireland, in 1886, resigning jurisdiction over it,
remained rector of St. James's, Eckley, and Rev. James
P. Buxton was elected rector of St. James's, Drifton.
DRIFTON (C.) ST. JAMES'S ECKLEY (c.) ST. JAMES'S. I l /
In 1886, a chapel was built at Freeland, as a mission
of St. James's, Drifton, in which Sunday-school has been
held regularly ever since, and occasional church
Rev. James P. Buxton resigned June, 1890, and at a
vestry meeting held at Drifton on Thursday, November
6, 1890, he was re-elected rector, to take effect Decem-
ber ist On November the 8th, he accepted.
In June, 1886, seventy-two communicants are recorded
for St. James's, Drifton, and in June 1890, the number
had increased to one hundred and nine.
The Rev. Peter Russell was born in Douglassville,
Pa., on St. Paul's day, January 25, 1818. Studied under
Dr. Morgan, rector of Christ Church, Reading. Was
ordained deacon by Bishop H. U. Onderdonk, at Christ
Church, Reading, in 1844, and priest, (with Rev.
Edmund Leaf), by Bishop Lee, of Delaware, in 1845,
at the Church of the Epiphany, Philadelphia.
In 1844 he took charge of his first parish, St. Mark's,
Mauch Chunk, (when he was the only Episcopal
clergyman between Easton and Wilkesbarre,) and held
services at Summit Hill, Mesquehoning and White
Haven, beside occasional services at other places. In
1848 he married Sarah Sharpe, of Wilkesbarre, the Rev.
George Miles officiating. In 1856 he removed to
Eckley, where two of his former parishioners, Asa
Foster and Richard Sharpe had opened a colliery, con-
tinuing services at White Haven and the surrounding
villages, to which he added Hazleton, which in a few
years. became an independent parish, and the sons of
Judge Coxe, a large land owner, beginning a colliery,
called Dritton, he began holding services there.
His health failing, in 1869, he accepted a call to St.
James's, Perkiomen. In 1873 he removed to White
IlS GETTYSBURG, HUNTJXGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.)
Haven, when the failing health of his wife again com-
pelled him to leave the bleak mountains, and he went
to Philadelphia, where he took charge of a mission at
Franklinville, (Christ Church).
At Easter, 1880, after the death of his wife, he took
charge of St. Peter's Church, Hazleton, and in August
of the same year died, at the house of his son-in-law,
Edward Tattershall, White Haven, of apoplexy, August
28, 1880, and was buried at Mauch Chunk.
Rev. Mr. Tohnan sketched Mr. Russell's life briefly
in a sermon at the 25th anniversary* of the consecration
of St. Mark's Church, Mauch Chunk.
Let me add that the zeal of Mr. Russell was tempered
with discretion. He has left a noble record on earth
and his name is written in heaven.
GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.)
The Rev. T. P. Ege has kindly prepared for my use in
forming this volume an extended narrative of church
history in this region. I draw from it what is suited to
my purpose, hoping that all may be printed elsewhere
in a way to aid the good work at the Church of the
Prince of Peace, where Christ's peaceful religion is pro-
claimed near a bloody battle-field of world-wide renown.
Christ Church parish was in Huntington township.
Petersburg and York Springs are the modern names.
There is an old vestry book of 1760 when Rev. William
Thompson signs himself " Itinerating Missionary." In
1753 "an old log building, which stood near the Coulson
gravestone, or near the centre of the present graveyard,"
was the house of worship of Christ Church, according
to the record. In this log building the faithful English
colonists assembled on Sundays, and in 1755, the faithful
Thomas Barton came to them as a missionary. (For an
GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.) 119
account of him see Lancaster in this volume.) The flock
in the wilderness had shown their religious interest by
meeting together on Sundays when one of them would
read prayers. Mr. Barton held York, Huntington and
Carlisle. He determined to visit outlying settlements of
the English at certain times to administer the Holy
Communion, and to baptize the children. The congre-
gation was so large at Huntington that he sometimes
preached under the trees. At Carlisle some came fifty
or sixty miles to the service.
In 1760 Rev. William Thompson succeeded Mr. Ear-
ton as the missionary of the noble Society for the Pro-
pagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts which sent clergy
from England to this distant land. In his rectorship
there is reference to a glebe and a house. A stack of
chimneys was needed, and a well, and the finishing -of
the house was needful ; so the vestry assessed the mem-
bers for the cost, and appointed a Committee of Super-
vision. This was the home of the early missionary, and
was doubtless the scene of many a thoughtful cogitation
and earnest prayer, when Indian warfare and the shad-
ows of the Revolutionary struggle darkened his way.
The ancient log church was on the glebe. One portion
of this glebe is supposed "to have been set apart by Penn,
or his heirs, for the support of public worship ; the
other was surveyed, and taken up under proprietary
warrant, and patented after the Revolution, so as to make
the title entirely indisputable." The two tracts made
160 acres, beautifully located, well- watered and wooded,
and at this day desirable to look upon, sloping North and
South on either side of the old highway, which runs
through its centre, on the crest of a gently elevated
ridge. About half of the stack of chimneys alone marks
the site of the old glebe house.
120 GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.)
In 1763, the vestry resolved "to build a new church of
square logs on the site of the old one." In 1770 there
was five hundred dollars for the poor in funds in the
warden's hands. Rev. Dr. John Andrews was then rec-
tor. For an account of him see York in this volume.
The Rev. Daniel Batwell was rector in 1774 and 1776 as
records show. His life is also given in. the history of
York parish in this volume. Bishop Howe has a chair
which once belonged to this "accomplished scholar and
good man," as a historian describes him.
In 1784, Rev. John Campbell, D. D., became "pastor"
of the Huntington parish. He continued in charge
until 1804, and "appears to have been very active and
earnest in all the interests of the parish during the im-
portant and formative period of the American church."
He. moved to Carlisle, where he died in 1819. From 1798
to 1810 Rev. John Armstrong occasionally officiated. In
1811 and 1812 Rev. John Reynolds, "formerly of Mary-
land, preached at "Christ Church," and in houses. In
1818 Rev. J. V. E. Thorn was rector. In 1820 Rev.
George Woodruff, a young clergyman from New Jersey,
"officiated about a year, dying the latter part of the
year at Carlisle," where he was buried.
From 1823 to 1825 Rev. Charles Williams held the
rectorship. He was called to the Presidency of Balti-
more College. " His wife was a niece of LordThurlow,
the great English jurist."
In 1826 Rev. Richard D. Hall was elected to the
charge of the parish. John H. Marsden, M.D., became
a clergyman and was afterward rector of his native par-
ish from 1831, with a few brief intervals until 1875.
In 1829 Mr. Hall resigned, -and Mr. Thorn again be-
came rector " until 1831." Rev. J. H. Marsden then en-
tered on the rectorship, holding it until 1836. Then Mr.
GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTO* A.\l) YORK SPRINGS (c.) 121
Thorn received his third election, and remained as rec-
tor until 1838. In 1836 it was resolved to build a brick
chapel in Petersburg, now called York Springs, "in
connection with old Christ Church, Huntington," two
and a half miles distant. This was to be called Christ
Church Chapel. Thomas Stephens and wife gave the
lot. The chapel was consecrated in 1836 by Bishop
Onderdonk. Mr. Marsden was rector from 1838 to 1850.
From 1851 to 1853 we find Rev. Freeman Lane in the
rectorship, " when death finished his labors at the age of
52. He was laid to rest in the Stephens' burial lot, ad-
joining and in the rear of Christ Church Chapel." Rev.
Mr. Morss, of St. John's Church, Carlisle, officiated at
the funeral. "A neat and simple stone marks his grave,
and a beautiful rose bush, planted thereon by loving
hands long ago, still blooms and sheds its fragrance
Rev. Edward Kennedy was the next rector. In 1859,
Rev. W. S. Heaton was rector, and in 1863 Rev. John
Reynolds, "being the second rector of the same name."
In 1865 Rev. J. H. Hobart Millett is noted as rector.
In 1875 the old parish was joined with the Gettysburg
Mission, under the care of Rev. H. L. Phillips. Rev.
Mr. Marsden had been custodian of the old parish "by
birthright, and long service, officiating as long as health
and advanced years permitted, performing also the
offices of the church as called upon from time to time."
"As a fitting and crowning event to this long history,
when the small frame chapel of the Prince of Peace in
Gettysburg, was opened for its first service, December
1 7th, 1876, Rev. Mr. Marsden preached the sermon. He
thus remained a connecting link from colonial days to the
date of this union at which he officiated as if in a mar-
riage ceremony. The name of Edward Marsden, his
122 GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.)
grandfather, appears on record as a vestryman in 1760;
the name of his father, James Marsden, thus appearing
also in 1798, and so continuing until his death. The
Rev. J. H. Marsden died August 27th, 1883, at the full
age of four score years, his wife preceding him only the
year before. Rev. A. K. Tortat officiated at their
funeral obsequies in Gettysburg, in whose beautiful and
historic cemetery their ashes rest."
Col. Woolford, a warden, as one of his last generous
acts, put a new roof on the chapel at York Springs.
" The stone foundations of the old church with
chancel outlines pointing Eastward, are still visible on
the surface level, in the midst of long rows of grave
stones, conforming in position to the lines of the church
walls, and marking the sleeping places of these ancient
worthies and sturdy race."
" The grand old oaks, under whose grateful cover the
first missionary wrote that he preached to the overflow-
ing congregations, still stand silent sentinels over what
represents these sacred memories, but now a neglected
and almost desolate spot in the midst of a very beautiful
and well populated rural region."
The Rev. Mr. Ege is striving to enclose these sacred
grounds with a new fence, " and otherwise restore from
utter ruin, this justly hallowed and historic ground, nor
is it a vain desire and hope that the restoration may be
fully completed by building on the old foundations a
small stone memorial and mortuary chapel to these
sainted dead of an hundred and fifty years line and
lineage, and therein renew the church's message and
influence to a long forgotten neighborhood where they
were so well known and loved."
" The rectors of the united parishes have been as
follows : Rev. H. L. Philips, 1875 to 1880, Rev. A. E.
GETTYSBURG, HUNTINGTON AND YORK SPRINGS (c.) 123
Tortat, 1880 to 1885, Rev. William Rawlins Pickman,
October 1884 to November 1885, locum tenens, Rev.
Charles H. Vahdyne, March 1886 to April 29, 1888, Rev.
T. P. Ege, (present rector), from September i, 1888.
To bring the history to date, I add that Rev. Thomp-
son P. Ege received his A. M.^from Dickinson College
in 1858. He came into the church from the Methodist
Ministry, and was confirmed in 1883 at Christ Church
Cathedral, Reading, by Bishop Howe.- He was ordered
deacon in 1884, in the same church by Bishop Howe,
and priest, in 1885 by Bishop Stevens, at the Church of
the Epiphany, Philadelphia. He was the assistant of
Rev. Dr. Rumney, at St. Peter's, Germantown, from
1883 to 1888.
See the Churclnnnn, September 6, 1890, for an article
by Rev. Dr. Lowrie, on Gettysburg in Diocesan News.
The church interest in Gettysburg with which the
ancient parish is united, deserves a special mention as
a proper conclusion to this historic sketch.
Soon alter the establishing of the mission in Gettys-
burg, it seemed fitting on account of the world-wide
celebrity of the place, to make an effort to build a mon-
umental, and National memorial church in accord with
the patriotic sentiments there enshrined, to be named
for and dedicated to "The Prince of Peace."
This thought and desire took form under the earnest
and untiring efforts, of the Rev. A. E. Tortat, M. D.,
rector from 1880 to 1885. The corner-stone, however,
was not laid u'ntil July 2, 1888, the quarter-centennial
of the great battle, but the work grows very slowly.
A substantial basement to floor level, has recently been
added of native granite, of which the entire structure is
to be built. Another stage of work is about being
contracted for, and many tablets and other promised
124 HARR1SBURG (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
interior memorials await the completion and roofing of
This appropriate and noble structure tleserves and
appeals most urgently for greater notice and material
aid from the many patriotic hearts of churchmen
throughout our land. This memorial of heroic dead
and of a re-united and peaceful land should soon stand
complete, and fulfill, not only hopes long indulged, but
many promises made. Such timely aid it is hoped will
be sent to the rector in charge, who writes this brief
note, for and at the request of his friend, the author.
HARRISBURG (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
Ill Dr. William Henry Egle's History of Dauphin
County, we find an account of this parish. The State
Librarian and author of the History of Pennsylvania
has done much service to local history.
The worthy Propagation Society Missionary, Rev.
Thomas Barton, in 1766 reports that a Philadelphia mer-
chant named John Cox has given the Society a lot for
church uses at Estherton, "lying Northwest of Lancaster
about forty miles on the river Susquehanna, where there
are several families belonging to the church, who are at
too great a distance from any stated mission to attend
divine service." The same gentleman promised to do-
nate twenty pounds and "collect one hundred pounds"
among his Philadelphia friends "towards building a
church upon said lot and his lady engages to furnish it
with a bell." There is no record of the building of the
church, though the good man did well to have it in his
heart, as David forecast the building of the Temple which
Solomon erected. An itinerant was however appointed
who supplied vacant churches, including Estherton.
This place was older than Harris's Ferry, the future Har-
HARRISBURG (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S. ' 125
risburg, but the Ferry led off in advancement; "but there
must have been at one time established services there,
as it is stated that Bishop White preached there on sev-
eral occasions." For account of Mr. Barton see Lan-
caster in this volume.
Rev. Dr. William A. Muhlenberg was the first clergy-
man to perform Episcopal service in Harrisburg. He
was then in St. James's Church, Lancaster, and an ac-
count of his life may be found by turning to the article
on Lancaster in this volume. From December, 1823 to
June, 1824, he officiated monthly "in the old log church,
situated at the corner of Third Street and Cherry Alley,
which was given by the Reformed Church.
The next services here were by Rev. Charles S. Wil-
liams, "rector of St. John's, York." His services contin-
ued once in three weeks for six months, beginning in
October, 1824 The next clergyman officiating was Rev.
James Depui, then a deacon, who labored six months,
beginning in September, 1825.
In 1826 a vestry had been formed as follows: "John
B. Cox, William Mileham, John Depui, James Peacock,
George Fisher, William Putnam, James Buchanan, Alex-
ander C. Wilson, James Woodman, Samuel Bryan,
John E. Forster and Joseph Curzen."
Rev. John Baker Clemson was elected rector on March
25th, A. D. 1826. "The organization of the parish was
largely due to his zeal and energy." There were but
six families of avowed church people. A. notice of Dr.
Clemson is given under the head of Chester in this
The corner-stone of a brick church was laid on St.
John's Day, June 24th, 1826. On May gth, 1827, the
church on Front Street, a little below Pine, was conse-
crated by Bishop White. Twenty-five persons received
126 HARRISBURG (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
A high brick tower is in front of the church, "in which
is a fine-toned bell." The church "has been enlarged
and remodeled internally, yet presents the same front.
The rectory is situated on Front Street, above Pine."
The Diocesan Convention met at St. Stephen's at the
time of the consecration, and here Dr. H.U. Onderdonk
was elected assistant bishop. His consecration took
place at Christ Church, Philadelphia, on October 25th,
1827. His. first visitation to Harrisburg was made De-
cember 27th, 1827.
In 1835 the vestry thanked Mr. Wharton for present-
ing " a set of Communion plates."
The Diocesan Convention of 1841 met in St. Stephen's
Church, and in 1871, on the gth of November, the first
Convention of the new Diocese of Central Pennsylvania
assembled here and Bishop Howe was elected ; so that
two bishops have been here chosen.
"The rectors of St. Stephen's have been: 1826-28;
Rev. John B. Clemson ; 1828-29, Rev. John W. Curtis ;
1829-31, Rev. John Reynolds; 1832-38, Rev. Nathan
Stem (see Norristown in this volume for notices of the
two last named gentlemen); 1838-42, Rev. Charles V.
Kelly; 1842-44, Rev. Henry Major; 1844-52, Rev.
Joseph H. Coit, D. D.; 1852-56, Rev. Henry H. Bean ;
1857-60, Rev. Robert Allen Castleman ; 1860-67, Rev.
B. B. Leacock, D. D.; 1867, Rev. Robert J. Keeling,
Rev. Thomas B. Angell is the present rector.
ST. PAUL'S, at Sixth and Forster Streets, arose from a
Sunday-school of St. Stephen's established in 1857. In
1858 a frame edifice was built "at the north side of
the reservoir, on ground donated for the purpose by
several of the members of St. Stephen's, and was con-
secrated by Bishop Bowman, January i3th, 1859." In
HAZLETON (c.) ST. PETER'S. 127
this year the parish was admitted into the Diocesan Con-
The new church is largely due to a legacy of Mr.
Charles Conner. It was opened in 1878, and consecrated
February, 230!, 1879. " The pastors have been : 1860-1,
William V. Feltwell ; 1864-5, Alfred J. Barrow ; 1865-7,
J. H. Hobart Millett; 1868-9, Joseph S. Colton ; 1871-5,
W. T. Bowen ; 1876-9. B. F. Brown; 1879, Leroy F.
Baker." Mr. Baker is the present rector.
"Between 1869 and 1871 occasional services were had
by Rev. R. J. Keeling, D. D., and V. H. Berghaus, and
by H. C. Pastorious, then a lay-reader.
HAZLETON (c.) ST. PETER* S.
St. Peter's parish, Hazleton, owes its beginning and
much of its later prosperity to the Rev. Peter Russell,
who, by his actual work in its behalf, and by his unfalt-
ering belief in its future, gathered togather the scattered
sheep of the flock and bound them into a parish.
While rector of the church at Eckley, a neighboring
town, Mr. Russell perceived that Hazleton was destined
to become the most important place in the upper Lehigh
coal region and was eager to begin work there. In 1859
he was enabled to do so, and for nearly two years he
held occasional services in a small schoolhouse in the
outskirts of the town. In the latter part of the Summer
of 1860 the Rev. W. S. Heaton took charge ot the work
in Hazleton and its vicinity. He held services at Auden-
reid, Jeanesville, Stockton and Hazleton for eighteen
Mr. Russell, ever watchful of the little flock whom he
had shepherded, resumed his occasional visits, until the
Christmas of 1862 when the Rev. Thomas A. Street was
128 HAZLETON (c.) ST. PETER'S.
put in charge of the parish. The Rev. Henry S. Getz
succeeded him as missionary laborer in 1863, and as
actual rector in 1864.
Mr, Getz felt keenly the need for a more suitable build-
ing for church purposes that the small schoolhouse
which had been used hitherto, and as a result of his ex-
ertions, the corner-stone of a church building was laid
in 1864 and the parish was organized on the last day of
that year. The first service was held in the new church
on Sunday, October 8th, 1865 and the building was con-
secrated by Bishop Vail on April i5th, 1866.
The Rev. Mr. Getz relinquished the parish in 1867,
having substantial tokens of his effective services in
the completed and furnished church building. He was
succeeded by the Rev. Faber Byllesby.
The Rev. Charles H. Vandyns became rector in 1870,
During his rectorship several improvements were made
and the membership increased, but he resigned, much
to the sorrow of his parishioners. The Rev. j. M.
Williams, deacon, took charge of the parish in 1873, and
resigned in 1876. In 1876 the Rev. J. Hewitt assumed
the rectorship. He was active and efficient and under
his directions the church was remodeled. In 1877 he
removed to Bellefonte. He is now rector of Holy Trin-
ity Church, Lincoln, Nebraska.
In 1880 Rev. Peter Russell, feeling that the parish
needed all the encouragement his presence and ever lov-
ing interest could give, resigned his Philadelphia charge
and Cctme to Hazleton, He inspired the people to new
effort, foundations were laid for a rectory and the parish
looked forward to a season of prosperity and growth,
when a great blow fell upon it. Mr. Russell died in
August, 1880, leaving not only his Hazleton. parishioners
to mourn his loss, but also the parishes in Eckley, White
KINGSESSING, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. JAMES. 129
Haven and Philadelphia, where he had labored so faith-
fully and well during the last years of his ministry.
The Rev. Charles A. Marks succeeded him in 1880
and resigned in 1882. In 1883 Rev. James P. Buxton
accepted the rectorship. He was much beloved by the
people of St. Peter's and it was with regret that his resig-
nation was accepted one year later. Mr. Buxton went
to Drifton, a town eight miles distant.
The Rev. Louis Cope Washburn, deacon, was in
charge from July ist 1884 to July 1888. He was or-
dained in the church in 1885 by Bishop Rulison. Mr.
Washburn was a most active and enthusiastic worker
and the church grew rapidly under his charge. The
vestry were loath to accept his resignation but after a
several times repeated call to Rochester they did so.
The Rev. William T. Holden came to Hazleton after
Mr. Washburn's departure. On the month of his ar-
rival he was severely injured in an accident and in con-
sequence was obliged to relinquish his charge.
The present incumbent, the Rev. Edwin J. Humes,
entered upon the rectorship on the first Sunday in Ad-
vent, December ist, 1889.
The author adds to this sketch that the Rev. Mr.
Humes, in his previous parish at Eddington, Bucks
County, Pa., constructed an excellent Sunday-school
building and a beautiful rectory, and left them as legacies
showing the resiflt of years of devoted work.
KINGSESSING, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. JAMES.
This was one of the three churches, established in and
near the city of Philadelphia, which were united in one
corporation, and placed under the charge of missionaries
sent out by the King of Sweden, while these States were
vet colonies of Great Britain. The Rev. Nicholas
130 KINGSESSING, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. JAMES.
Collin, D. D., the last of this, line of Swedish ministry,
died A. D. 1831.
The church building, which stands near Woodland
Avenue, between 68th and 691]!. Streets, is in the midst
of capacious grounds. These were originally irregular
in outline ; bufcf* through the purchase of adjacent
grounds, they embrace nearly four acres. The material
of which the church is built is a gray stone, the irregu-
lar mortar lines being ornamented with small pieces of
the same stone, causing a peculiar but pleasing effect.
The corner-stone of the church was laid A. D. 1760.
The building was completed A. D. 1762. Among the
contributors to the building fund were Captain Coultis,
(who resided at Whitby Hall on Gray's Lane,) Governor
Hamilton, and the Rev. Dr. Peters, rector of Christ
During his ministry, Dr. Collin had the assistance of
several clergymen of the Episcopal Church, and, after
his death, viz: on December 8th, 1834, the Rev. S. C.
Brinckle became the first resident assistant minister of
this church. He afterwards became rector, and continued
in that office until May i5th, 1848, when he resigned.
He was succeeded by Rev. J. Brinton Smith, during
whose rectorship the affairs of the parish were greatly
improved. The church building was enlarged. A bell
and an organ were procured. The church, thus enlarged,
was consecrated by Bishop Potter oi> December 7th,
1854. By the liberality of Mrs. M. S. Buckley, a sub-
stantial stone wall was built along the front of the church
grounds A. D. 1855. In 1850 a double stone dwelling
house with nearly three acres of land was purchased for
a rectory. The Rev. Mr. Smith resigned in 1856, and
became rector of a church in Troy, N. Y. He was after-
wards engaged in missionary affairs, and finally became
ST. JAMES'S CHURCH, REMODELED.
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 131
the principal of a normal school for the education of
Freedmen, near Raleigh, N. C., where he died sud-
On the ist of May, 1857, Rev. Dr. Charles A. Maison,
became rector. After graduating at Yale College, in
1844, studied theology in North Carolina and at the
General Theological Seminary. He was ordained deacon
in St. Luke's Church, New York City, in 1847, and priest
in St. Paul's Church, Edenton, N. C., in 1849 by Bishop
Ives. After serving his diaconate in St. Paul's Church,
he had charge of two parishes on the Roanoke River,
(Windsor and Williamston). In 1851 he became rec-
tor of St. Paul's Church, Staten Island, N. Y., and in
1857 rector of this church. During his rectorship many
improvements have been made in the church building,
the grounds have been enlarged, and two school build-
ings erected, one of them through the liberality of the
late Thomas Sparks. As a result of his extra parochial
labors, St. George's Church, West End, Philadelphia,
was built; services were held in the public schoolhouse
at Clifton, leading to the erection of St. Stephen's
Church, and services were commenced in a private house
at Collingdale. These services have been continued by
others, and a chapel is in course of erection at Colling-
dale; the corner-stone having been laid by the Bishop of
the Diocese on the 9th of October, 1890.
Dr. Maison, the present rector, has baptized in this
parish about 1250 persons, more than 150 being adults.
He has officiated at about 900 funerals.
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
In Spenser's Faerie Queene, the origin of the name of
the English Lancaster is thus given :
"The stony shallow Lone,
That to old Loncaster his name doth lend,"
132 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
While the American city lacks this ancient river the
Conestoga Creek not far from it keeps up a memory of
Indian days. The Latin word castrnm, passing through
the Saxon language, becomes caster, and means a camp,
and the various English towns whose names end in
Chester, are but another form of this word, and indicate
the locations of the old Roman camps.
The town of Lancaster, being the county seat of the
county of the same name, was laid out by Governor
Hamilton in A. D. 1730. It afterward became a bor-
ough. St. James's Church was organized in 1744. This
city was once for a time the capital of the State. It lies
in the midst of a fine agricultural district and its busi-
ness and manufactures are important.
The trade with the surrounding country is consider-
able. The houses of the town are mainly of brick or
In 1751, the congregation heard of the arrival of Rev.
George Craig, and invited him to settle there, which he
did. In 1759, he was still acting as missionary of the
Society for Propagating the Gospel in Foreign Parts.
That year the Reverend Thomas Barton came hither.
In Dr. Mombert's History of Lancaster County it is
.stated that missionaries of the Church of England vis-
. ited the county "as early as 1717 or 1719." Rev. Mr.
Backhouse, of Chester, Pa., in a letter to the Propaga-
tion Society reported a visit in 1729 to the people of
Conestoga, seventy miles back in the country from
Philadelphia." The present massive walls of St. James's
Church and the noble memorials of the dead in the
church show a difference from the Conestoga of that day.
The Rev. Mr. Lindsay visited the county " about
1735," and occasionally till 1737. The church at Lan-
caster was finished during Mr. Craig's rectorship 1111753.
LANCASTER (C.) ST. JAMES. 133
After 1761 a steeple was built and galleries erected; bells
were bought and a stone wall put around the graveyard.
The improvements were completed in 1764. The present
church was consecrated by Bishop White in 1820. He
preached from Ps. 96: 9 : "0 worship the Lord in the
beauty of Holiness."
By the courtesy of William Augustus Atlee, Esq., I
am favored with a list of the missionaries and rectors of
this parish, as contained on its records, not exactly cor-
rect, as there are some breaks in keeping up the min-
The first name is that of Rev. Richard Locke, and the
date, October 30!, A. D., 1744, while the time of his close
of service is not marked. This first missionary came into
this borough, and the people encouraged his remaining,
though they had no place of worship for the use of the
Church of England. The building of a church was
begun under him.
In Bishop Perry's Historical Collections of the Ameri-
can Colonial Church there are notes concerning Mr.
Locke. In 1747, Rev. Philip Bearcroft, Secretary of the
Propagation Society, writes Rev. Dr. Jenney, rector of
Christ Church, Philadelphia, from the Charter House,
London, and speaks of Mr. Locke as the successor of
Mr. Lindsay. In 1748, Mr. Locke reports to the Society
"thatheisstill in Lancaster County, that there is no other
clergyman near the place, and that he meets with oppo-
sition, and cannot have a church yet. The Jesuits, Mo-
ravians and New Lights' are overrunning the country,
and gaining ground, and the 'Justices and governing
part' are all of that disposition, tho' here are a great
many well disposed people, but scattered about the coun-
try, that 'tis impossible under the present circumstance
of the place that they should have a proper supply. I
T34 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
have constantly attended a Welch church, (Bangor,
Churchtown,) every other Sunday at twenty miles dis-
tance, and have preached and administered the Sacra-
ments in several other places about the country since
Commissary Jenney wrote the secretary that he en-
closed a petition from the people of this section, and that
the County of Lancaster was "very large." A reference
to Dr. Egle's valuable History to Pennsylvania, or to
Hotchkin's Gazetteer, which abridges it, will show that
Lancaster County was taken from Chester County when
emigration had increased population. Philadelphia,
Chester, and Bucks were the original counties. Lan-
caster was the first division, and York was the first
county taken out of Lancaster. , Cumberland, Berks,
Northumberland, Dauphin and Lebanon have since been
cut out of Lancaster, which was named by reason the of
fact that John Wright, one of the*first justices of the
county, was born in Lancashire, in England.
The Rev. Dr. Peters, of Philadelphia, offered to give
a tract of land to the Society to aid in the support of a
missionary, or to donate an annual subscription in
The pitiful petition of the inhabitants of Huntington
and Tyrone townships for a resident Church of England
minister states that Mr. Locke is the nearest one, and
over forty miles distant. Do church people ever think
of their privileges of frequent services, while these men
complained, "we are in a starving condition for the spir-
itual nourishment of our souls nor can we ever hear
Divine service without traveling many miles ?" They
refer touchingly to the ignorance of their children and
the lack of Holy Baptism.
The congregation of Bangor Church, in 1749, wrote
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 135
the secretary that their supplies had been small, " until
the arrival of ye Rev. Mr. Locke who hath been very
diligent every other Sunday for the most pirt in minis-
tering unto us the means of Salvation." By his removal
they were destitute, as well as the church at Pequea,
about eight miles from them.
The missionary from 1751 to 1758 was the Rev. George
Craig. In 1752 he reports to the Society from Lancaster
that where his predecessor Mr. Locke had lived a very
good stone church would be finished that Summer. He
had hoped that it would have been completed before,
but the lack of a minister had discouraged the people,
aswasa common trouble in the province, as the Society's
income was not large enough to remedy this evil, and
the only way to remove what the people called "a famine
of the Word" was to send a bishop to America. The
expense of going to England for ordination, and the low
state of the finances of the Society deterred young men
from entering the ministry who might be satisfied with
the voluntary subscriptions of some congregatioiiSj there
being no legal provision for their support.
In 1760, Mr. Craig reports from Chester, Pa , where
he remained seven years, and for a further account cf
him the reader may turn to the History of St. Paul's
Church, Chester, in this volume.
I insert a part of a lecture which I delivered to a Sun-
day-school Association of a portion of the Diocese of
Central Pennsylvania, at Paradise. This section has
been served by distinguished churchmen. One of them,
Dr. Cruse, was the librarian of the General Theological
Seminary in New York, and the translator of the Eccle-
siastical History of 'Eusebius from the Greek, and a pro-
found scholar. Bishop Charles Inglis, of Nova Scotia,
once taught school in Lancaster.
136 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
The Rev. Thomas Barton is the first missionary whom
we will particularly describe. He was born in Ireland in
1730, and educated atthe famous Trinity College, Dublin.
He became an assistant tutor in the Academy of Phila-
delphia, which was connected with the College of Phila-
delphia, which college was afterwards merged into the
University of Pennsylvania, now so widely known. In
1755, he went to England for ordination, as there was no
bishop in this country. On his return he wrote to the
people of Huntington announcing his arrival, and, ac-
cording to the primitive fashion of the day, they gladly
sent wagons to convey their minister and his goods
westward. The vehicle that bore this missionary car-
ried a precious freight. Huntington is now York Mills.
Mr. Barton became an itinerant missionary in the coun-
ties of York and Cumberland. His biography is given
in the Annals of the painstaking Dr. Sprague, and he is
noticed in the Rev. Mr. Hawkins's History of the Mis-
sions of the Church of England, and the Documentary
History of New York, and the Memoir of Rittenhouse
in Thatcher's Medical Biography.
Mr. Barton found the Church of England people in
"large numbers" in Shippensburgh and some other
places. He lived at Lancaster lor nearly twenty years,
and used to officiate sometimes at the church in New
London, thirty -five miles from Lancaster, and at White
Clay Creek, which was sixty miles from Lancaster, in
what is now the State of Delaware. The health of the
faithful missionary was impaired by this hard work, but
he toiled on manfully. In 1770, he received the degree
of Master -of Arts from King's College, New York,
which has now lost its royal name, and is styled Colum-
In the Revolution Mr. Barton was obliged to leave his
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 137
work, as he could not conscientiously omit the prayer
for the King and Royal Family. He believed that his
ordination vow demanded its use. When his churches
were closed he taught his people "from house to house,"
as St. Paul did, and baptized and catechized the children,
performing such duties as he could in private. He went
within the British lines at New York in 1778, and died
in 1780, in his fiftieth year. In 1753, he married Esther
Rittenhouse, the sister of the celebrated astronomer,
David Rittenhouse, at Philadelphia. His second wife
was Miss Thornbury, whom he married in 1776. She
long survived him, and was much esteemed. He left
eight children. His son, Benjamin S. Barton, was a
professor of note in the University of Pennsylvania
dying in 1815. The Rev. Mr. Barton's eldest son William
wrote the Life of Rittenhouse. The missionary's widow
died at the age of ninety.
John Penn, the Proprietary of Pennsylvania, com-
mended Mr. Barton highly in a letter.
When, in 1755, Mr. Barton reached this country, after
an agreeable passage, the people at York Mills welcomed
him heartily, and were full of gratitude to the Propaga-
tion Society for this benefit. The clerical ministrations
in this new country were like rain on the newly mown
grass. The flock in this Western wilderness had met on
Sundays, and one of their number had read the prayers
of the dear Mother Church, which had so often resounded
in the walls of English churches. Mr. Barton visited York
and Carlisle, which were parts of his cure. He deter-
mined to visit other places to prepare the people "for the
Sacrament of the Lord's Supper and and to baptize their
children." Hearers increased, and at York Mills he was
sometimes obliged to preach "under the covert of the
trees." So the people ''heard the voice of the Lord
138 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
God walking in the garden in the cool of the day ;" and,
as the multitude who were fed with the multiplied loaves
on the grassy hillside, received the Bread of Life. The
open air is the great cathedral of God, and the vaulted
blue roof above the heads of the worshipers displayed
the glory of God as the sun shining in strength told of
"the Sun of Righteousness," and the singing birds
joined their chorus to the hymns that stirred the air with
sounds new to the wilderness.
Persons came fifty or sixty miles to Carlisle to hear
Mr. Barton preach the Gospel. Such earnestness puts to
shame many who are lukewarm in the service of God
to-day. Perhaps if men were deprived of their religious
privileges for a time they would more highly prize them.
Light, air and water are abundant, and men use them as
if they had a vested right in these constant gifts of God.
Dissenters attended the services of the missionary, and
"seemed well disposed, always behaving themselves de-
cently and devoutly." " Some of the principal" (per-
sons) offered to subscribe generously for Mr. Barton's
support. The missionary thought that the Reverend
Provost William Smith, of the College of Philadelphia,
had well described his position, in writing to him that he
was "as one who had advanced to the very frontiers of
the Messiah's Kingdom and among the first who had
unfolded His everlasting banners in the remotest part of
the West." As Mr. Barton's missions bordered on
savage nations, he had strong hopes that he mightbring
some of them to the Kingdom of Christ. When some
Indians came down from the Ohio to Carlisle to sell
their furs he went among them. Some who understood
English caaie to church at his invitation. When he
visited them in the afternoon those who had been at
church seemed to be telling the others what they had
ST. JAMES S CHURCH, INTERIOR.
LANCASTER (C.) ST. JAMES. 139
heard, "pointing often upwards," as. they spoke, and the
discourse seemed to please the hearers. It is a pleasant
thought that in the large Indian school at Carlisle, under
Captain Pratt, the Christian truths which the missionary
endeavored to inculcate in the last century are now bear-
ing fruit, and the other day at the Consecration of St. An-
drew's Church, at Yardley, Pennsylvania, a lady told me
of her deep interest in the Indian pupils from that school
who worked in the neighborhood and formed her bright
attentive and affectionate Sunday-school class. I presume
that others are thus instructed when they are absent from
the school, and they will carry the blessed truths of
Christ's salvation to their red brethren in the distant West.
In his ministrations Mr. Barton sometimes officiated
in a barn, and the simple surroundings were impressive
and striking in the worship of that Blessed Saviour who
was born in a rude manger, and worshiped by shep-
herds in infancy. We read of his baptizing an Indian
girl who had been brought up in a Christian family, and
so the prophecy of Christ, that they should come from
the west to "sit down with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob "
in the heavenly kingdom found a fulfillment. Provost
Smith told the missionary of the Propagation Society's
design to instruct Indian 'children "at the Academy in
Philadelphia." He hopes that Indian boys can be edu-
cated to take back Christianity to their tribes. Rev. Dr.
Smith deserves great credit for his efforts to impart a
solid education to Indians and whites in an early day.
In 1759, Mr. Barton removed to Lancaster. He had
acted as chaplain in the army for a short time under
General Forbes, and knew Washington and Mercer.
The Episcopal inhabitants of York and Cumberland
speak of his "truly pious and extraordinary services,''
and "the many virtuous impressions made" by them.
140 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
Mr. Barton thought that the missionaries would cheer-
fully go among the Indians and undergo danger and
fatigue if the superiors in the Old Country ordered it.
In 1760, the population at Lancaster was largely Ger-
man. At Caernarvon (Churchtown) " a thick settlement
of Welch, * * * sincere members of the Church of
England, * * * built a new church of hewn stone,
and are now finishing the inside of it, to which they have
given the name of Bangor, from their native diocese in
Wales. To this church belongs a good glebe, and the
provision made for a minister is as good as can be
expected." The Rev. Samuel McElwee now has charge,
of that parish. (See Churchtown in this volume.)
At Pequea they, as the missionary reports, "have
erected a decent stone church, which they dedicated to
St. John." The people were " possessed with a spirit of
religion and emulation." They were "building a pul-
pit. Communion table and enclosing the graveyard with
a stone wall. They have a good glebe." He adds:
" The remarkable zeal which appears in my congregations
affords me the highest joy." This is an echo of the joy
of St. John when his spiritual children walked "in the
truth," and every clergyman desires to be a partaker of
such joy. The churches at Eequea and Caernarvon did
not receive assistance from the public. In their erection
"even poverty herself has been liberal. Many people
who content themselves to dwell in the meanest huts
contributed handsomely towards this good work," is
the loving testimony of their pastor. The effect of
Christianity is to open the heart to contribute to what-
ever may enhance the glory of God and further the good
of man. In the first flush of the early love of the Mace-
donian Christians, St. Paul wrote that "The abundance
of their joy and their deep poverty abounded unto the
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. I4 1
riches of their liberality," to the poor saints at Jerusalem.
(See Peqviea in this volume).
The churches of the congregations of Mr. Barton made
a decent appearance, and were crowded on summer Sun-
days with people of various denominations, many of them
coming thirty and forty miles to service. The exposure
in traveling between parishes in summer heat and winter
cold impaired the constitution of the missionary, who
was like St. Paul, " in journeyings often."
An aged man named Nathan Evans, who showed
great generosity in a large donation to complete the
Caernarvon church, and another to endow it, deserves
honorable mention as loving his nation like the centurion
who built the synagogue mentioned in the Gospels. A
good leader makes good followers, and Rev. Alexander
Murray writes of Mr. Barton's " singular merit" In
passing, let me note, also, that the Rev. Mr. Treadwell's
"unwearied labors" at Trenton are mentioned by Rev.
Philip Reading, after his death. There may have been
many others who deserve a like notice.
Mr. Barton opened a small stone church at Morgan-
town, now in Berks county, in 1765, built by the will of
Thomas Morgan. The ride from Bangor Church to St,
Thomas's, Morgantown, runs through a most beautiful
country, and the view of the hills must have cheered and
delighted the parson as he passed between his parishes
in his scattered work. The hills of God still lift their
heads heavenward and proclaim the glory of their maker.
The earnest missionary hopes that one day the Ameri-
can Church may " be the great ornament and blessing
of this immense continent." He was naturally a hope-
ful man, and such a spirit was needed in his toils, and
was given by God to lighten them. The lack of bishops
was sadly felt, as churches needed consecration; and
142 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
confirmation and ordination were lacking. In this
respect Mr. Barton likened the American Church to a
mourning child who will not be comforted. What a
comfort it would have been for him to behold the noble
array of bishops who have since adorned the church in
this country. At the opening of the elegant Lutheran
Church in Lancaster, Mr. Barton was invited to preach,
and allowed to use the liturgy.
The Rev. Dr. William Smith visited the mission of
this worthy clergyman and found him " universally
beloved by his people." He prepared a book of Family
Prayers to guide the devotions of households. There
was a copy of this volume in the library of Bishop
Mr. Barton died in New York City, and was buried in
the chancel of St. George's Chapel.
Two sons lived in Lancaster. The Rev. Prof. J. Graff
Barton, who was associated with Dr. Muhlenberg in St.
Paul's College, near Flushing, Long Island, was a
descendant. His brother was the brilliant Judge Wash-
ington Barton, whose wife was a sister of Rev. Dr.
Clemson. The Rev. Messrs. Ritchie, of St. James the
Less, Philadelphia, and St. Ignatius, New York City, are
descendants of Mr. Barton by one of his daughters.
Strong and earnest churchmen and women among his
descendants keep up the good work which the zealous
missionary began in this country. There is an oil paint-
ing of Mr. Barton in academical gown and bands in the
possession of the Carpenter family. It is a copy by
Eicholtz of the original which was supposed to have been
destroyed by fire in the house of his descendant, Mrs.
Edwin Stevens, of Hoboken. The Athenaeum, of Phila-
delphia s had an engraving made from one picture. The
missionary had a coat of arms, but he was a true "red
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 143
crosse knight " in a nobler service than that described by
Spenser in his " Faerie Queene."
Alexander Harris's biographical history of Lancaster
County gives sketches of several descendants of this
When the flock at York Mills asked for Mr. Barton as
their missionary they little knew the blessings that for
generations would flow to the church from their wise
The Rev. Joseph Hutchins, D. D., was the rector of
this parish from 1783 to 1785. He was the grand-uncle
of Rev. Benjamin Hutchins, who was ordained by Bishop
White, and now lives in Albion, Illinois. This gentle-
man writes me that Joseph's brother Benjamin is his
grandfather. His own father, Henry Joseph, was born
in Barbadoes, and is said to have been brought to this
country for education by his father. The Lancaster
clergyman was a-resident of Philadelphia and was buried
there. In 1821, he returned from Barbadoes and bought
a house on Race street, next door below Seventh, where
he died. He was buried in Christ Church graveyard,
Fifth and Arch streets. His house was called "West
India Palace." It was then No. 232. Mr. Hutchins
went to England during the last war with that country.
This clergyman was a teacher, and instructed two gen-
erations of scholars. , He put out an English grammar.
His school was in Pear Street, near Third. He was a
friend of Rev. Dr. Pilmore. His grand-nephew thinks
he must have begun teaching in Lancaster, before resign-
ing St. James's Church. He believes that he was a
curate in Barbadoes.
. The local historian, Samuel Evans, of Columbia, Pa.,
writes me that his "father was a student of Mr. Hutch-
144 LANCASTER (C.) ST. JAMES.
The Rev. Elisha Rigg held the rectorship of St.
James's Church from 1791 to 1796.
Miss Whittingham, librarian of the Diocesan Library,
of Maryland, gives me the following notes about him :
Rev. Elisha Riggs, from Pennsylvania, where he was
rector of St. James's, Lancaster, 1790, i, 2 and 3, came to
St. Paul's, Queen Anne, Md., 1797, where he died, Feb-
ruary 6th, 1804. In 1797 and 1799 he was a delegate to
the General Convention, and in 1803 ne preached the
sermon before the Annual Convention, of Maryland. He
left a widow and several children, .who removed, in
April, 1814, to Columbia, Lancaster County, Pa., to
reside with Mrs. Riggs's brother, John Atlee.
Bishop Burgess states that he was ordained deacon by
Bishop White, December 2ist, 1788. (This refers to the
valuable list of ordinations by Bishop George Burgess,
REV. JOSEPH CLARKSON.
The memoir ofGerardus Clarkson, by his great-grand-
son, Samuel Clarkson, issued in 1890, gives an account
of Rev. Joseph Clarkson, which I will follow. The
Philadelphia Clarksons date back to the time of James
the First, and in Yorkshire Annals the name may be
found on records for five centuries. In 1675, Robert
Clarkson was a warden of St. Peter's Church, Bradford,
in which church he was buried among his relatives. His
son, William, was in 1645 Vicar of Adel.
Dr. Gerardus Clarkson was a Philadelphia physician.
In 1783 the Doctor was a warden of Christ Church.
He died in 1790, and his burial place is St. Peter's
Churchyard. "Bishop White officiated at the funeral. "
Dr. Dorr's History of Christ Church, states that his
son Joseph was ordained by Bishop White, on Whitsun
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 145
Monday, May 28th, 1787, in Christ Church, to the Dia-
conate with Joseph Couden. This bestowing of "The
Holy Order of Deacons" was Bishop White's first ordina-
tion. Rev. Dr. Magaw, rector of St. Paul's and Vice-
Provost, of the University of Pennsylvania, preached.
The father's dying blessing was given to each child
with an exhortation to a Christian life.
The son Joseph was born, February 27th, 1765. He
married Grace Cooke. His death occurred, January
The English-looking picture of young Joseph Clark-
son, in the 'memorial volume, is very striking.
Joseph Clarkson was baptized in Christ Church by
Dr. Peters, in 1765. He attended Rev. Dr. Robert
Smith's Classical School, in Lancaster County, Pennsyl-
vania, and graduated at the University of Pennsylvania,
at seventeen, and received his "M. A." from Princeton
College in 1785. The portrait given is supposed to be
by DuSimitiere. The young man seems to have been
early impressed with a sense of religious duty, and a de-
sire to enter the ministry. Rev. Robert Blackwell, as-
sistant minister of Christ and St. Peter's Churches,
guided his studies.
On ordination, Mr. Clarkson became the Assistant of
of Dr. Nicholas Collin, rector of the Swedish Churches,
of Wicacoa, Upper Merion, (Bridgeport) and Kingses-
sing. He held this post until 1792. In 1789, he was
Secretary to the House of Bishops, at Philadelphia.
Bishops White and Seabury were the two bishops
Rev. Lawrence Girelius resigned Holy Trinity Church,
Wilmington, and went back to Sweden in 1791. Mr.
Clarkson became his successor, and the Swedish Church
of Christina became an Episcopal church.
146 LANCASTER (c.) ST.
. In 1799, Mr. Clarkson began his work as minister of
St. James's, Lancaster. The wardens were Hon. Jasper
Yeates and Edward Hand, St. John's, Pequea and Christ
Church, Leacock, were under Mr. Clarkson's care. In
1818, efforts were made to rebuild the old church, which
was of stone. Robert Coleman, Charles Smith and
Adam Reigart were the committee to select a site and
superintend the building. John Passmore was Treas-
urer. In 1820, on Sunday, October i5th, Bishop White
assisted by Rev. Dr. Levi Bull and Rev. Dr. W. A.
Muhienberg, consecrated the new church and admitted
Mr. Snowden to the priesthood. There was a large con-
Mr. (afterwards Dr.) W. A. Muhienberg, was called
as Associate-Rector. The day after the consecration
thirty were confirmed.
Mr. Clarkson held his rectorship thirty years until he
died, in 1830. " He was a man well beloved by his par-
ishioners, and had during his long life a very peaceful
ministry." He died in his 64th year.
The wife of Mr Clarkson was the daughter of Rev.
Samuel Cooke, of Frederickton, New Brunswick. The
children were four sons and four daughters. Mary
married John Passmore, and her two sons became Epis-
copal clergymen. Harriet Rumsey married Rev. Samuel
Bowman in 1836 and died in 1852. The widow of
Bishop Vail is a daughter of Bishop Bowman by his
first wife, Miss Sitgreaves, of Easton, Pennsylvania.
The wife of Rev. Joseph Clarkson died in Lancaster,
in 1824, in her 5 8th year. Husband and wife rest in St,
James's Churchyard. Many of the dead in Christ who
lie in the interesting old graveyard were laid in their
last resting place by this rector. The father of Bishop
Clarkson was Michael Cooke Clarkson, son of Rev.
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 14?
Joseph Clarkson. His mother was Louisa, daughter of
Robert Harper, of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. Bishop
Clarkson's noble history is familiar to the church. In
early youth he planted Christ's banner in young Chicago,
and in time built the finest church then in the city. The
Church called him to push farther West, and he left a
loved congregation for a toilsome work in imitation of
his Blessed Master. When a lady in a railway car
asked concerning the pretty churches in Nebraska, with
cross-crowned spires, which could be seen by the traveler
how glad he was to respond to the stranger that they
were the daughters of his work and parts of his diocese.
The brave man who had cheerfully endured toil for
Christ, hopefully met death, and has entered into his
promised reward, and is "numbered with Thy saints in
glory everylasting." May we liave grace to follow him.
I was a member of his parish in Chicago, and visited his
cheerful home, and heard his instructive preaching, and
saw his godly life. He was a wise dispenser of the
Word and Sacraments, and I gladly lay this tribute on
his tomb with the vast congregation at Omaha, who
mourned a leader's death.
In 1820, Rev. Wm. A. Muhlenberg was associated
with Mr. Clarkson. He had been assistant in Christ, St.
Peter's and St. James's Churches, Philadelphia, under
Bishop White. I saw him once with his "hoary head,"
as, "a crown of glory," at St Luke's Hospital, which he
founded in New York, and I have observed the gentle
grace of his ministry in the church of the Holy Com-
munion in that city. Sister Anne Ayres wrote his life.
He was born in Philadelphia; and the reverent child, ex-
pecting to be a clergyman, used to have church and
preach to the family. He and his little sister went to
Christ Church. The boy loved the organ. The ground
148 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
for St. James's Church in Seventh Street, was bought of
his mother, and she became a parishioner there.' Bishop
Kemper's preaching influenced the son, who wrote,
"Religion is My delight." In 1817, Bishop White or-
dained him. At Lancaster, Bishop Kerfoot was his Sun-
day-school pupil. After leaving Lancaster, Dr. Muhlen-
berg worked bravely in St. Paul's College, near Flush-
ing, and his chapel services taught the pupils the beauty
of the church year. Bishops Bedell and Odenheimer
were pupils. St. Luke's Hospital, with its blessed
chapel, and St. Johnland, on Long Island, where he is
buried, are monuments to Dr. Muhlenberg. This
uselfish man taught the rich the luxury of doing good.
With a few dollars he could believe that St. Luke's
Hospital would rise, and hundreds of thousands have
flown into it. Our blessed Lord said: "All things are
possible to him that believeth." This humble, loving
man was thankful, trustful and gentle, and the hymn,
"Jesus the very thought of Thee," indicates his charac-
ter. Free churches, weekly communions and a beautiful
ritual in this land owe much to this great leader, and
Lancaster may be proud of its connection with him.
For a longer notice see Early Clergy of Pennsylvania
Rev. L. S. Ives was associate rector with Mr. Clark-
son, in 1826 and 1827.
Bishop Bowman was the assistant and successor of
Mr. Clarkson. He was beloved by those within and
without his flock, and after his sudden and lonely death
when walking on the side of the railway, was buried in
St. James's Churchyard, Lancaster, to which place he
fondly clung as his old home.
His life is shortly given under ths head of Bishops in
the present volume. It should be written at lengfh by
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 149
some friend. J. M. W. Geist, one of the editors of the
New Era, has written an excellent newspaper sketch
which should be put in a more permanent shape. The
philanthropist and citizen was described by him after
his sudden death had shocked the community, and the
people at large, as well as the church, felt the loss of a
true bishop. He quotes Col. Forney, who described
him as "an easy, graceful reader," with a strong and
well cultivated voice. On weekdays he extemporized
with "great effect." He was meek and humble and
warm-hearted and benevolent ; with the sick or dying
he was sympathetic and helpful, and was faithful in visit-
ing those in health. To Mr. Forney's sketch of the
living man here followed, Mr. Geist adds his own eulogy
after death, noting his love for his parish ; many of his
parishioners preceded him to Paradise, and he mourned
their loss. In the last history of Lancaster County, Mr.
Geist gives a sketch of the Bishop's life.
I add some further notes by Mr. Geist.
The sudden death of his father, by an accident, brought
him under religious conviction, and changed the aims of
his life. He studied theology under Bishop White. His
first charge was Christ Church Parish, Lancaster county,
where he remained until 1825, when he was elected rector
of Trinity Church, Easton. In 1827 he became assistant
minister in St. James's Church, Lancaster, and in 1830,
rector. The last sermon he ever preached, having been
delivered in St. John's, on the Sunday evening preceding
what proved to be his last visitation in the diocese.
Bishop Bowman was an able writer, a speaker of
unusual eloquence and logical power, and very popular
as a citizen in the community where he labored the best
part of his life, and where his sudden death was univers-
150 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
The author of this volume would add that in Bishop
Stevens's sermon on Bishop Bowman, he beautitully de-
scribes the lad as returning from his father's funeral and
taking up the family Bible and conducting family prayer
in the afflicted household where he was now to take a
God blessed him with a good mother, and added the
further blessing of a good wife.
Jacob Isidor Mombert, was born in Cassel, Germany,
in 1829. He was in business in England in youth, and
studied there, and afterward at Leipsic and Heidelberg.
He was ordained in the Church of England and was a
curate in Quebec, Canada. In 1859 he became assistant
of St. James's Church, Lancaster, and served this church
<J ' ' ^
ten years, becoming rector. He then became the Ameri-
can Chaplain, at Dresden, Saxony. He was afterward
rector of St. John's, Passaic, N. J. He resigned that
post in 1882. The University of Pennsylvania gave him
the degree of D. D. He translated Tholuck's Commen-
tary on the Psalms, and "Commentary on the Catholic
Epistles," in the Lange series. He has also edited other
treatises on the Holy Scriptures, and written "Faith
Victorious, an 'account of the venerable Dr. Johann
Ebel, late Archdeacon of the Tqwn Church, of Konigs-
berg, Prussia;" "Handbook of the English Versions of
the Bible," and "Great Lives, a Course of Histories in
Biographies," and he has a " Life of Charlemagne," in
manuscript Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biog-
Rev. Edward Shippen Watson, D. D., was rector of
St. James's Church from 1870 to 1877. He was born in
Philadelphia in 1826, and educated at the University of
Pennsylvania, ordered deacon by Bishop Whittingham,
and ordained priest by Bishop Odenheimer. He has
BISHOP KNIGHT, MILWAUKEE, WIS.
From "Illustrated American,"
150 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
The author of this volume would add that in Bishop
Stevens's sermon on Bishop Bowman, he beautitully de-
scribes the lad as returning from his father's funeral and
taking up the family Bible and conducting family prayer
in the afflicted household where he was now to take a
God blessed him with a good mother, and added the
further blessing of a good wife.
Jacob Isidor Mombert, was born in Cassel, Germany,
in 1829. He was in business in England in youth, and
studied there, and afterward at Leipsic and Heidelberg.
He was ordained in the Church of England and was a
curate in Quebec, Canada. In 1859 he became assistant
of St. James's Church, Lancaster, and served this church
ten years, becoming rector. He then became the Ameri-
can Chaplain, at Dresden, Saxony. He was afterward
rector of St. John's, Passaic, N. J. He resigned that
post in 1882. The University of Pennsylvania gave him
the degree of D. D. He translated Tholuck's Commen-
tary on the Psalms, and "Commentary on the Catholic
Epistles," in the Lange series. He has also edited other
treatises on the Holy Scriptures, and written "Faith
Victorious, an account of the venerable Dr. Johann
Ebel, late Archdeacon of the Tqwn Church, of Konigs-
berg, Prussia;" "Handbook of the English Versions of
the Bible," and "Great Lives, a Course of Histories in
Biographies," and he has a "Life of Charlemagne," in
manuscript Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biog-
Rev. Edward Shippcn Watson, D. D., was rector of
St. James's Church from 1870 to 1877. He was born in
Philadelphia in 1826, and educated at the University of
Pennsylvania, ordered deacon by Bishop Whittingham,
and ordained priest by Bishop Odenheimer. He has
BISHOP KNIGHT, MILWAUKEE:, WIS.
From " Illutsti'iiti'il AimTitiui."
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES, 151
held the rectorships of St. James the Less, Philadelphia;
St. Barnabas, Newark, N. J., and the Redeemer, Bryn
Mawr, Pa., and for a short time served St. Asaph's, Bala.
The work at Lancaster prospered under his earnest care,
and he stirred the people into vigorous action. The new
chancel, of which Burns, of Philadelphia, was the archi-
tect, was built under him.
The present rector, Rev, Mr. Robottom, writes me of
Dr. Watson: "His name is honored and revered in this
parish, particularly amongst the poor."
Dr. Watson now resides in Philadelphia.
THERT. REV.. CYRUS FREDERIC KNIGHT, D. D., D. C. L.
Born in Boston, March 28th, 1831. Studied in Burling-
ton College, N. J., and. Harvard University, and Oxford,
England. Graduated at General Theological Seminary,
N. .,1854. Ordained deacon, July zd, 1854, in Trinity
Church, N. Y., by Bishop Wainwright. Priest in St.
Luke's, Philadelphia, Trinity Sunday, 1856, by Bishop
A. Potter. Consecrated Bishop of Milwaukee, in the
Cathedral of that See, March 26th, 1889.
The church tower was built in his rectorship, and Mr.
Burns was the architect.
"The fourth Bishop of Milwaukee, after several years of
travel abroad, he became rector of St. Mark's parish,
Boston. After remaining there for ten years, he became
rector, of St. James's parish, Hartford, Connecticut, thus
remaining until 1877. In that year he entered upon his
last parochial work, at St. James's Church, Lancaster,
Central Pennsylvania, where he remained until his
elevation to the Episcopate. Dr. Knight was for many
years a deputy to the General Convention, success-
ively representing the Dioceses of Massachusetts,
Connecticut, and Central Pennsylvania. At the time
152 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
of his election to the Episcopate, he was a member
of the standing committee and an examining chap-
lain, of the latter diocese. Consecrated Bishop of
Milwaukee, in All Saints' Cathedral, Milwaukee, on
March 26th, 1889, the "morrow of the Annunciation,"
by Bishops McLaren, of Chicago; Perry, of Iowa; Bur-
gess, of Ouincy; Seymour, of Springfield; Walker, of
North Dakota, and Gilbert, assistant of Minnesota. He
received the$ degree of D. D. from Bethany College,
Kansas, in 1880, and that of D. C. L., from Bishops'
College, Canada, in 1885, and S. T. D., from Racine
[Living Church Quarterly, December, 1890.]
I add that Bishop Knight was once assistant at St.
Luke's, Germantown, Philadelphia.
Rev. Percy J. Robottom was born in 1860. His boy-
hood was passed in St. John's Free Church, Jersey City
Heights, with Bishop Rulison as his rector, who was
the first rector of St. John's, and his spiritual father, and at
his suggestion he studied for the ministry. He graduated
from Hobart College, 1881. Was in business in New
York, and for a year or so was on the city staff of the
New York Tribune. His experience on the great city
paper was of priceless value to him. It aided him to
act promptly, to think rapidly, to write fluently and
formulate easily. He graduated from the Theological
Seminary in 1886, and was made deacon, Trinity Sunday,
in St. John's Church, Jersey City Heights, 1886, by
Bishop Starkey. During his seminary course he served
as a lay reader at St. Luke's Church, Phillipsburg, New
Jersey. His first charge was at Tioga, Pa., St. Andrew's
Church, and a mission at I.awrenceville. In January,
1889, he went to Christ Church, Towanda, Pa., and in
April, 1890, came to St. James's, Lancaster. He was
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES. 153
advanced to the priesthood by Bishop Rulison, in Trinity
Church, Easton, Pa., on May 4th, 1887.
A printed pamphlet, containing the report of the Parish
Organization of St. James's Church for ] 890, shows com-
mendable activity in church work. There are frequent
services, and a weekly administration of the Holy
Eucharist There is also a chapel connected with the
parish. The rector's Church Warden and Registrar is
William Augustus Atlee, Esq.
The pamphlet states that the records of the parish
have a minute of the first election of rector, wardens and
vestrymen, and that the date is October 3d, 1744.
The name, "St. James' Church, in ye Borough of
Lancaster," was given in 1753.
There are some endowments left by the piety of Mrs.
Ann Coleman, Miss Mary Ross, Dr. John L. Atlee, Miss
Sarah H. Coleman, Mrs. M. C. Freeman, Mrs. Ann C.
Alden, Mrs. Annie L. Wiley, Miss Josephine Lewis, and
M r. Clement B. Grubb. A part of these are for a Church-
yard Fund. I heartily wish that every parish in the
land could report endowments, for they are sadly needed
in church work, and in the sacred preservation of burial
places, and Christian people ought to look forward to
the future needs of the church in their wills, as they
strive to forecast the wants of their families. We should
have a sense of personal obligation to the Lord's family,
which is His holy church.
St. James's Orphan Asylum also has an endowment.
Mrs. J. S. Messersmith is the President of the Board of
Managers. The building is on North Duke Street,
" adjoining the parish school building."
The Bishop Bowman Church Home perpetuates the
memory of a saintly man in its name. The rector is Presi-
dent of the Board of Trustees, and William Blackwood,
154 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JAMES.
M. D., is Secretary, and G. Ross Eshleman, Treasurer.
Mrs. William P. Brinton is President of the Board ot
St. James's Chapel is on the corner of South Lime and
Locust Streets. The deed to the rector, wardens and
vestry is dated January 8th, 1869.
The Yeates Institute is under a Board of Trustees, of
which the rector is President, and George M. Franklin,
Esq., is Treasurer, and Christian R. Baer Secretary.
The Rev. Montgomery R. Hooper, M. A., is Head
Master. Mr. Olin C. Joline and Mrs. R. C. Schiedt
assist him. This school was incorporated in 1857. Its
object is to prepare young men for college or scientific
schools, and especially to advance the education of those
who are studying for the holy ministry of the church.
Miss Catharine Yeates endowed the school liberally.
The school, and the house of the master " are on the
corner of North Duke and Walnut Streets." There are
a number of scholarships, "to which pupils are elected
by the trustees, the income of which pays the tuition and
provides the necessary text-books."
" The school house is a new, fire-proof brick building,
containing a large study hall, recitation rooms, a labora-
tory, a gymnasium, and a cloak room, all well lighted
The superintendent of St. James's Church Sunday-
school is George B. Wilson, and the Librarian is John
B. Rupley, and the Treasurer, Benjamin C. Atlee. The
Chapel Sunday-school is under the Superintendency ol
J. M. Davidson, and Charles Kilgore is Librarian, and
McDonald McCaskey, Assistant Librarian.
This pamphlet indicates a working parish, and dis-
plays a great advance in life if we look back to the
weakness and poverty of colonial days. May this pros
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH. 155
parity increase, and this famous parish do much more
good in the city where it is planted, and by its mission-
ary gifts over the world. The English Propagation
Society sowed good seed in a good field, and it is bring-
ing forth spiritual fruit a hundred fold. This is an
encouragement in this new land to do for the West what
was formerly done for Lancaster ; that is, aid the needy
in laying foundations on which future builders may raise
noble structures to God's glory and man's benefit.
When I looked on the clear signature of the early
missionary, Thomas Barton, in the Vestry Records
shown me by William Augustus Atlee, Esq., it was a
striking note of the passing generations, and when he
wrote that name in old Lancaster how little did he dream
of the new Lancaster, with its manufactures and railways
and newspapers, and its numerous church institutions.
May the future Lancaster show as promising a change
in the coming century.
While Mr. Barton was pleading earnestly with Eng-
land for an American Episcopate, he knew not that three
bishops were to go forth from the rectors who should
minister in St. James's parish in after years. The his-
tory of this one parish is a remarkable illustration of the
manner in which God has blessed the growth of the vine
of His church, planted in prayers and tears by faithful
missionaries in early days.
/ ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH.
Mr. J. M. W. Geist, the Secretary of the Vestry of
this church, prepared a valuable pamphlet on its history
from which the facts in this sketch will be drawn. It
was published in 1873. He has added other points in
this narrative which is mainly his production. The
founding of this church was mainly due, under God, to
156 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH.
Bishop Bowman, who was its first rector, when he was
also rector of St. James's Church. He ardently de-
sired to establish a free church. A zealous layman
of St James's Church, whose name is not given, .
aided the efforts of his rector. A Sunday-school was
started in a public school building, in which Miss
Calder (afterward Mrs. Martha Ehler), "was the first
teacher." Miss Mary Bowman, the rector's sister, was
also an earnest helper in the new parish. She founded
the Children's Home, in Lancaster. A lot of ground
was bought on the corner of Mulberry and Chestnut
Streets. Bishop Bowman gave largely himself, to the
new undertaking. Bishop Potter laid the corner stone
of the church in 1853. 0. C. M. Caines was the con-
tractor. The building committee were Isaac Diller,
Edward Morton and Henry E. Slaymaker.
In 1854, Rev. Henry A. Coit, D. D., was elected as-
sistant minister, and this year services were held in the
lecture room. Mr. Coit also taught a school in the
basement of the church. In the book entitled, "Me-
morial Papers," Dr. Bowman described this parish with
its English and German Sunday-school teachers, and its
music class under the late Prof. Budd, and the adult
classes on week evenings, who were taught to read and
write, and the girls' class for sewing, and other instruc-
tion, and the proposed plan of Cottage Lectures.
On September 24th, 1854, Bishop Potter consecrated
the church, assisted by Dr. Bowman and Rev. Messrs.
Passmore and Coit. Mr. Coit resigned the following
November. He had been ordained deacon in January
of 1 85 4. Dr. Coit is now at the head of the excellent St.
Paul's School for boys near Concord, New Hampshire,
where a beautiful chapel has been erected for the use of
the school. Rev. J. C. Eccleston, D. D., succeeded him.
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH. 157
as assistant, in December of this year, and worked
with zeal. He is now rector of St. John's, Clifton,
Staten Island, N. Y., (Rosebank P. 0.) In 1855, Rev.
Horatio N. Powers became assistant. Miss Catherine
Yeates gave a sum as a nucleus for an endowment for
the support of the minister. The Rev. Dr. W. A.
Muhlenberg, then in New York, interested himself in
the effort to pay the debt of the church. Rev. Washing-
ton B. Erben informs me that he expressed great in-
interest in the work to him in an interview in New
York. Rev. J. C. Passmore left a legacy for this church
and St. James's Orphan Asylum. In 1857, Dr. Bow-
man resigned his rectorship. In 1857, Rev. Edward
W. Appleton was elected assistant minister, while Rev.
Theodore A. Hopkins was elected rector. The rector
was Principal of the Yeates Institute, "endowed by
Miss Yeates." Even after his consecration as bishop in
1858, Dr. Bowman continued his dear interest in St.
John's Parish, and gave pecuniary assistance toward
the building of the rectory. In 1859, Mr. Hopkins re-
signed, and Mr. Appleton became rector. Rev. Dr.
Hopkins died in 1889. A Young Ladies' Bible Class,
under the efficient care of Miss Hetty A. Mayer, was a
useful adjunct of the parish. In 1861, Dr. Appleton re-
signed ; he left greatly to the regret of the flock among
whom he had faithfully ministered. He is now the
rector of St. Paul's Church, Cheltenham, near Phila-
delphia, (Ashbourne P. 0.) (See Cheltenham in this
Rev. Francis D. Hoskins was the successor of Dr.
Appleton. (See Towanda, in this volume, for notes con-
cerning him.) In 1861, Rev. Dr. Mombert, rector of
St. James's Church, supplied the evening services dur-
ing the vacancy. Bishop Bowman preached his last
158 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH.
sermon in this church on an inclement Sunday evening,
when but few persons were present. He was thought
by the hearers never to have preached to them more
earnestly and eloquently. Mr. Geist walked home with
him and he earnestly inquired of him concerning the
welfare of the parish, and hoped that the call, just ex-
tended, would be accepted. The "good night" at the
gate of the parsonage were the last words that the
vestryman ever heard from the lips of the first rector of
St. John's, now a bishop. In a few days God called the
good man to Paradise. The church might be said to be
a memorial of the work of its founder, but a marble
tablet has been placed in it to perpetuate his memory.
St. Paul's Mission School was for a time conducted
by St. John's Parish. It is good for a young church to
aid in such noble work, and watering others it waters
itself, according to the .Divine promise. During the
faithful rectorship of Mr. Hoskins, the parish was freed
from debt, and-the vestry passed a resolution thanking
the mother of the rector, residing in Philadelphia, for
her aid in a certain effort to this end. She has closed her
labors for Christ and entered Paradise. On the month of
Mr. Hoskins's resignation, Rev. Thomas B. Barker was
called to the rectorship. Pie was the assistant of Dr.
Suddards at Grace Church, Philadelphia. The new rec-
tor came from a working parish, and gave himself up
freely to parochial duty, and was successful in his work,
and beloved by his people. In 1864, the faithful warden,
James L. Youngman, who had often represented the
church in the Diocesan Convention, fell asleep in Christ,
In 1871, 'the church was thoroughly renovated in the
rectorship of Mr, Barker. Mr. Isaac Diller, Mr. Geist and
Mr. Wm. O. Marshall were the committee on repairs.
When the church was reopened, Rev. Theodore A.
LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH. 159
Hopkins, D. D., of Burlington, Vermont, came several
hundred miles to visit his former parishioners, and
preached three sermons on that day. He was a son of
Bishop Hopkins, of Vermont.
About this time the grounds of the rectory were en-
larged by a gift of the senior warden. ' Mr. Geist notes
the fact that St. John's has been blessed with excellent
rectors, and that the people have highly estimated them,
and have also been ready to give freely, according to
their means for the needs of the church. The first bap-
tism in the church was that of Alonzo Potter Diller,
who was baptized on the day of the consecration of the
church by Bishop Potter. In the early days of the
church, Miss Mary Bowman, the rector's sister, and
Miss Ellen Bowman, the rector's daughter, and Miss
Benjamin were helpful in raising funds for its support,
Miss Ellen Bowman is now the widow of Bishop Vail,
of Kansas. She, and Mr. J. Yeates Conyngham have
added to the endowment fund started by Miss Yeates.
Such beginnings are most important as leading the way
and suggesting action to others. Charles Wheeler, and
"other friends of free churches" added their offerings
to the endowment.
REV. II. N. POWERS, D. D.
The following is extracted from a newspaper article :
The Rev. Horatio Nelson Powers died on the 6th of
September, 1890, in Pierpont, New York. He was
assistant minister to the rector Dr. Bowman, of St John's
Episcopal Church, this city, from 1855, to 1857, where
he labored with great acceptability, giving promise of
the distinction he subsequently reached as an accom-
plished -writer and impressive pulpit orator. While
here he married Miss Clemence Emma Gourad.
160 LANCASTER (c.) ST. JOHN'S FREE CHURCH.
Dr. Powers was born in Amenia, New York, in 1826.
He was graduated from Union College, in 1850. He
attended the Theological Seminary of the Protestant
Episcopal Church, in New York, and was ordained a
deacon in Trinity Church. From Lancaster, he went
to Davenport, Iowa, as rector of St. Luke's Church,
and was afterwards' president of Griswold College till
1868. He was rector of St. John's Church, Chicago,
from 1868 to 1874, and was one of the sufferers by the
great Chicago fire, not only his church but his dwelling
with all his household goods being lost. His old parish
in Lancaster showed their appreciation of the work he
had done among them by sending him a liberal contri-
bution towards repairing his personal loss. He received
the degree of D. D. from Union College.
In 1874 Dr. Powers located in Bridgeport, Connecti-
cut, where he officiated as rector of Christ Church until
1886. He subsequently spent some time in Europe. Dr.
Powers was a man of fine literary tastes, well known as an
author and poet. Among his most notable writings are
''Through the Year," "Poems Early and Late," "Ten
Years of So'ng," and a biograghy ofWm. Cullen Bryant.
REV. THOMAS B. BARKER
was born in Kingston, Wyoming Valley, Pa. After
receiving an academic education, he taught several
years. At the opening of the Mansfield Classical Semi-
nary, Tioga County, Pa., he became a professor of that
institution, and remained there until that beautiful build-
ing was destroyed by fire. He was ordained deacon by
Bishop Alonzo Potter, was advanced to the priesthood
by Bishop Stevens, in 1864. He entered upon the rec-
torship of St. John's Free Church in 1864, and was the
acceptable rector of that parish seventeen years.
LEBANON (C.) ST. LUKE'S. 161
In 1881, Rev. Charles N. Spalding, of Wheeling, W.
Va., who Avas doing missionary work in that diocese,
became rector. During his rectorship the remodeling
and enlargement of the church edifice was consummated.
He resigned in 1884, to engage in church educational
work at Lima, Indiana, where he still labors. He was
succeeded by the present rector, Re'v. J. Edward Pratt.
During his rectorship, a fine Roosevelt organ, donated
by Dr. Thomas Ellmaker, as a memorial to his mother,
was .placed in the church.
The Rev. J. Edward Pratt was elected rector of St.
John's Church in 1884. He is a. New Englander by birth
and education, and studied theology at the Berkeley
Divinity School, Middletown, Connecticut. He was
ordained deacon by the Right Rev. John Williams,
D. P., L.L.D., in the 'Church of the Holy Trinity, Mid-
dletown, in 1867, and advanced to the priesthood by the
same bishop in St. Paul's Church, Hartford, the same
year. After serving the church in Connecticut for about
six years, his last charge being that of Christ Church,
Ansonia, be removed to Central New York, in 1873,
and became rector of Trinity Church, Syracuse, which
position he held until 1879. From that date until his
removal to Lancaster, in 1884, he was rector of Trinity
Church, Lowville, in the same diocese.
LEBANON (C.) ST. LUKE'S ; AND HOPE CHURCH, MOUNT HOPE |
AND ST. PAUL'S MANHEIM J AND ST. MARK'S,
BY REV. ALFRED M. ABEL.
Mrs. Harriet A. Grubb, than a communicant of St.
Luke's Church, Philadelphia, in 1849, built a church at
Mount Hope Furnace, Lancaster County, the estate of
her late husband. The church was consecrated by
162 LEBANON (C.) ST. LUKE'S.
Bishop Alonzo Potter, under the name of "Hope Church,
Mount Hope," on the 9th of October, 1849. The Rev.
Daniel Washburn supplied the church, at Mount Hope
with services until January, 1850, and was succeeded by
Rev. George H. Walsh. The Rev. Dr. How.e, of St.
Luke's Church, Philadelphia, held services, andbaptized
several children, on June 2ist, 1855, an ^ services Avere
supplied under the direction of Bishop Potter, during
the summers of 1855 an ^ 1856, by Alfred M. Abel, a
candidate for orders from St. Luke's Church, Phila-
Mr. Abel having been ordained to the diaconate, on
Trinity Sunday, 1857, was sent by Bishop Potter to
Mount Hope Church, with instructions to break ground,
if possible, for church services, in Lebanon, ten miles to
the north of Mount Hope. The first service in Lebanon
was not held until November 8th, 1857. Regular
services were also begun at Colebrook Furnace, eight
miles from Mount Hope, on Sunday, November isth,
1857, and continued at all three places, until July ist,
1871, when the rectorship of Mount Hope Church was
resigned to Rev. W. S. Heaton, Colebrook Furnace
mission being still attached to Lebanon.
In 1867, Mr. J. Brinton White, a layman in the employ
of the Reading and Columbia Railroad Company, re-
moved with his family to Manheim, and soon there-
after started a Sunday-school in a vacant chapel, which
he rented for that purpose ; in which also he, with the
assistance of neighboring clergy, and by his own lay
reading, maintained the services of the church on Sun-
days and week-days. Rev. Mr. Abel held several
services in this building, and afterwards in a hired hall.
By the exertions of Mr. White, a pretty wooden Gothic
chapel was built, the corner-stone being laid by Rev, A.
LEBANON (C.) ST. LUKE'S. 163
M. Abel, assisted by Rev. Thomas B. Barker, of Lan-
caster, on October zgth, 1869. The church was conse-
crated by Rev. Wm. Bacon Stevens, D. D., on Tues-
day, May 3d, 1870, as St. Paul's Church, Manheim, in
the presence of a large number of the clergy of the
Schuylkili and Lehigh Convocation, and on the same
day he confirmed five persons, presented by Rev. Mr.
Abel, who acted as rector of the church, until, and at
the time of the consecration of the building. Rev. Aaron
Bernstein, a deacon, took charge of St. Paul's Church,
Manheim, in July, 1870, and continued in charge until
February ist, 1871, and was succeeded by the Rev. W.
The first service in Lebanon was held on the 22d
Sunday after Trinity, November 8th, 1857, in a private
house. After three services here, they were held in a
public hall, and continued so to be held in various pub-
lic halls, hired for the purpose, until October 2ist, 1863,
when the chapel of St. Luke's Church, Lebanon, was
consecrated by Bishop Alonzo Potter, Rev. M. A. De-
Wolfe Howe, D. D., of St. Luke's Church, Philadelphia,
preaching the sermon, and in the evening of the same
day, eight persons were confirmed by Bishop Stevens,
the whole number of communicants previously reported
(in May, 1863,) being sixteen.
The parish in Lebanon was organized on August i6th,
1858, under the name of "Christ Church, Lebanon,"
which name was afterwards changed to St. Luke's. A
parsonage was built on the lot adjoining that reserved
for the church in the summer and fall of 1867, but was
not occupied till the summer of 1868, Mr. Abel being
absent during the winter of 1867-68, in Florida. Mr.
Abel continued in charge of St. Luke's Church, Leba-
non, until January 27th, 1878. During the years 1876-
164 LEBANON (C.) ST. LUKE'S.
1878, various services were held by Mr. Abel in. Jones-
town, at the instance of Mr. E. J. Koons, a Lutheran
clergyman in charge of "Heilman Hall," a boarding
school for boys. Mr. Koons, and a number of the resi-
dents of Jonestown, having been confirmed in the church,
an "organized mission" was formed here under direc-
tion of Bishop Howe, with the name of " St. Mark's."
Rev. Mr. Abel resigned the charge of St. Luke's
Church, Lebanofe, on Sunday, January 27th, 1878, and
removed to Olympia, Washington Territory, to take
charge of St. John's Church, in that city, and of St.
Peter's Church, Tacoma. St. Luke's Church, New
Tacoma, \vas organized under direction of Rt. Rev. B.
Wistar Morris, Bishop of Oregon and Washington, on
Tuesday, June nth, 1878, and Rev. Chandler Hare
became rector of St. Luke's Church, Lebanon, in April,
Mr. Abel remained in charge of these churches until
August, 1881, when he returned to Lebanon County, to
take charge of the " Church Home for Children," opened
in December of that year, in the building formerly known
as "Heilman Hall," which had been bought by Mrs.
William Coleman, of Cornwall, and deeded to the bishop
for that purpose. The charge of St. Mark's Chapel,
Jonestown, built by the efforts of Rev. E. J. Koons, in
1878, was also assumed by Mr. Abel.
Mr. Hare continues as rector of St Luke's Church,
Lebanon, at this date, October 1890, a large and beauti-
ful stone church having been built alongside of the origi-
nal chapel, and a well appointed and beautiful stone
chapel, "Trinity Chapel, West Lebanon," having been
consecrated by Rt. Rev. N. S. Rulison, D. D., on Thurs-
day, June 5th, 1890, in one of the suburbs of Lebanon,
large parish school buildings have .been built here,
MANAVUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 165
through the generosity of Robert H. Coleman, and a
Hospital established, for which a building has been
bought. Mr. Abel also continue's in charge of the
Church Home at Jonestown, which now numbers 30
children, and of St. Mark's Chapel.
Rev. E. J. Koons, for some time rector of St. Mark's,
died May ist, 1890.
Services are also continued at the old Colebrook Fur-
naces, supplied from Lebanon, by the assistant in charge
of Trinity Chapel.
The author of this volume adds that Mr. Abel was
born in Buffalo, New York, in 1834, ordained deacon in
St. Luke's, Philadelphia, in 1857, an d priest by Bishop
Bowman, in St. Andrew's, Philadelphia, in 1859.
Rev. Chandler Hare, grandson of Bishop Hobart,
of New York, great-grandson of Dr. Chandler, of
Elizabethtown, N. J., was born in Princeton, N. J., in
1840. He attended the Episcopal Academy and the
University of Pennsylvania, and the Philadelphia School
for Training Candidates for the Ministry. When a dea-
con he was a missionary among the mountaineers near
Fishkiil, N. Y., and organized a parish at Low Point,
N. Y. Was for some years rector at Pittston, Pa., and
at Tamaqua, Pa. Mr. Hare was for a time archdeacon
in Central Pennsylvania, but lately resigned the office,
owing to ill health, and is now in Europe in the hope of
MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
Manayunk was not in Philadelphia when the church
was founded, and we claim it as a country parish. The
Rev. Charles Logan, the present rector of this church,
read a sermon in the chapel on December 3d, 1881, at
the fiftieth anniversary of the organization of the parish,
1 66 MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
which he has loaned me as a basis for this sketch. The
new church was not quite completed at that date. It
now stands in its glory overtopping the town like an
English Cathedral, and dispensing its blessings around.
It is a brown stone building of magnificent proportions,
and dignified architecture making a beautiful picture
for the beholder.
The memorial service was appointed by the rector to
praise God for the past, and to pray his grace for the
The founder of this parish was Rev. Robert Davis.
He was a man of scholarship, and had "published Eng-
lish translations of some of the ancient Fathers." He
had been rector of a church in Reading, but poor health
compelled him to resign the parish. He, however,
sought new points "to establish the church, and the
Epiphany, Philadelphia, and St. David's, Manayunk,
are results of his efforts." "In the Fall of 1831" he
started the work of church organization in Manayunk,
though dissuaded from the attempt by one who thought
he could not succeed. He canvassed all the dwellings
of the suburban village, and found nearly three hundred
who had been reared in the church.
Mr. Davis summoned those interested to the Academy
one evening, and the organization was effected. The
new vestrymen were zealous and earnest. It is conjec-
tured that the name of the church may have been "that
of an English Parish Church to which one or more of
the members of the first vestry had been attached in
early life." In 1832, a part of the present church ground
was bought. The corner-stone of the church was laid
this year, "on the Second of August." Bishop Onder-
donk officiated. He was then Assistant Bishop of
Pennsylvania, Bishop White being the bishop of the
MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 167
diocese. The vestry had difficulties in erecting the new
church, but met them nobly, pledging themselves for re-
quired funds as the calls were renewed. The Advance-
ment Society gave its friendly aid in assisting in remu-
nerating the clergymen. Rev. Christian F. Cruse be-
came the missionary of the society in Manayunk. I
recollect this good man as the scholarly librarian of the
General Theological Seminary in New York. He trans-
lated the Ecclesiastical History of Eusebius into Eng-
lish. He was a special friend of Dr. Muhlenberg, and
died at St. Luke's Hospital, which was Dr. Muhlenberg' s
home, under the loving care of that saintly man.
On May ist, A. D. 1835, the church was consecrated
to the service of God by the assistant bishop, assisted by
the missionary in charge of the parish, and several
Philadelphia clergymen, and Rev. Dr. Rodney, of St.
Luke's Church, Germantown.
The consecration was accepted by God in the blessed
effects of the ministry of consolation in those sacred
walls where souls were comforted and fed with "the
bread of life," and learned to find a foretaste of heaven
on earth. Prayer and praise and the Holy Sacraments
made the place indeed "the gate of heaven" to many a
weary soul. In 1835, R- ev - Frederick Freeman suc-
ceeded Mr. Cruse. This rector was well esteemed, and
was successful in his sacred work. In 1836 he published
a book with the title "Psalmodia." It was dedicated to
the choir and congregation of St. David's. Rev. George
A. Latimer presented a copy to Mr, Logan.
In 1839, Rev. Mr. Jansen became rector. He taught
school in addition to his parochial duties, at least for a
time. He resigned in April, 1843. About five months
afterward, the Rev. Mr. Prior entered on the rectorship.
These early years were naturally full of care and struggle
l68 MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
in founding the parish, but the people manfully met
their responsibilities and advanced in prayer and hope
overcoming difficulties by faith in God. They counted
the cost, and expected obstacles, and so faced them
In 1848, Rev. Milton C. Lightner accepted the rector-
ship of the parish. The debt on the property was paid.
A movement was made to obtain a Sunday-school build-
ing. There, were larger congregations. In 1850 Mr.
The Rev. Peter B. Lightner, rector of New Castle,
Delaware, has prepared at my request an interesting ac-
count of the life of his father, which gives me data for
the following notes :
Milton C. Lightner was born at Leacock, Lancaster
County, Pennsylvania, on St. Matthew's Day, September
2ist, 1820. He died July ad, 1880, in San Francisco,
and was buried in Woodmere Cemetery, in Detroit,
where his widow and several children reside. The
mother of Mr. Lightner died in his early childhood, and
he was placed at school at Gambier, Ohio. In 1839 he
was graduated atKenyon College. His fellow students
describe him as promising and of an endearing character.
Ex-President Hayes, Stanley Matthews and Rev. Dr.
French were his fellow collegians. His zeal and activ-
ity, and "heroic steadfastness," and magnetic power in
bringing men to Christ may find their source in the sur-
render made of self to God when eighteen years of age.
In 1842, he graduated at the General Theological Semi-
nary, in New York. He was intimate with the noble
missionary Breck, and wished to join him in his heroic
Western work, but he remained in the East to assist the
future Bishop Whittingham, then rector of the Church
of the Annunciation, in New York. He was ordained
MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 169
deacon by Bishop Onderdonk, in 1842, and took charge
of Christ Church, Danville, Pennsylvania. In 1846,
Bishop Alonzo Potter ordained him to the priesthood.
In 1845, ne Carried Martha Hurley, oldest daughter of
Peter Baldy. In 1850, he entered on the rectorship of
Christ Church, Reading.- He had led a useful life in
Danville, but in 1848 had assumed the rectorship of St.
David's Church, Manayunk, Philadelphia. He left
pleasant associations and entered on his successful work
at Reading, according to the wish of Bishop Potter.
His people loved him, and the church progressed. The
son remembers these Reading days with strong appre-
ciation of the true friends of the rector and his family in
that parish. The convocations and other clerical meet-
ings with their hearty fellowship, are lovingly noted in
the manuscript before me. The clerical names of Leaf,
Russell, Prior and Washburn are on the page. The
old church was striking with its dim religious light
withi.n, but the exterior was very plain. Now the stone
front is imposing, and the spire adds dignity. An
earnest rector, and a devoted people caused an advance
in church life. St. Barnabas's Church grew out of the
street preaching of the rector on Sunday afternoons.
The scenes at such times were very impressive, and the
prospect of the chapel was full of promise. There were
also frequent services at the County Prison. The young
element were the spiritual children of the rector, and
gladly followed his leading.
In 1 86 1, Mr. Lightner became the successful rector of
Christ Church, Binghamton, New York, and in 1863 he
succeeded Bishop McCoskry as rector of St. Paul's
Church, Detroit. Here his accustomed zeal and devo-
tion to duty were manifest. In 1865, he was a member
of the General Convention in Philadelphia, and was
170 MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
nominated by Bishop Whittingham, in the House of
Bishops, as Missionary Bishop of Colorado, and the
House of Bishops concurred, but the House of Deputies
failed, by a few votes, of agreeing with the Upper House.
He was rector at Lock Haven, Pa., from 1875 to 1878.
He is remembered affectionately there for his Christlike
work. In 1878-79, he spent another year at Bingham-
ton. In the last named year he went to visit his sister in
San Francisco. He became rector of St. Peter's Church,
in that city. His short rectorship was very successful,
though he wrought in the pain of bodily disease that he
might work out his task while his day lasted, as the night
was approaching when earthly work ceases. In 1880 he
died in the arms of his son, William Hurley, who had
gone to him to bring him back to his family. " His soul
returned to the God who gave it, and to whose service
he had surrendered himself through his pilgrimage, body,
soul and spirit." The early life of this man of God was
a radiant one, and many who felt its loving influences
testify of its good effect on them. The burial of Mr.
Lightner was an impressive one. It was a sultry day in
July. A severe storm scattered the funeral procession
before the "great concourse of people" had reached the
cemetery. "Gentle showers" fell on the faithful few
who surrounded the grave, illustrating the gentle life of
the departed, and " the glories of the setting sun, and
the presence of an unrivaled rainbow, which closed the
scene, were eloquent beyond all description, of the
promise which had become his, and the blissful life
which had now begun."
The author of this volume recollects with pleasure the
bright and cheerful character of this distinguished man,
and specially his striking oratorical power, as displayed
in an address at the funeral of the patriarch of the church,
MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 1 71
Rev. Dr. Bull, at St. Mary's Church, Warwick, Chester
County, Pa., where the worthy clergyman being laid to
rest had so long labored with faithful zeal.
Rev. B. W. Morris succeeded Mr. Lightner. He had
the energy and vigor of youth, and wrought faithfully
as the successor of an active clergyman, in a promising
field. A lot adjoining the church, on which the present
parish building stands, was bought, and a Sunday-
school building was erected upon it at considerable ex-
pense. The enlargement of the church was contem-
plated. The parish was coming to a period when it
might also be able to help others outside of its bounds.
In 1857, Rev. J. W. Claxton succeeded Mr. Morris.
He was a man of ability and active in work, and con-
tinued the good projects of Bishop Morris and perfected
them. The church was enlarged. The financial panic
of 1857 came, but the work went forward. The Sunday-
school had been enlivened by Rev. Messrs. Lightner
and- Morris, and Mr. Claxton gave it much attention.
"A room for the infant school" was added to the Sun-
day-school building. A Sunday-school was opened on
the Ridge Road and a piece of ground purchased, and a
building erected for -'this mission, of which "a clergy-
man was placed in charge." In 1862, this became a
parish by itself. It is now St. Alban's Church. Rev.
Charles S. Lyons is rector.
Mr. Claxton's rectorship "was full of great and good
Mr. Quick succeeded Mr. Claxton. He was succeed-
ed in turn by Rev. F. H. Bushnell, who found the people
ready to meet his work. He was well adapted for his
post. A rectory was secured and furnished. The debt
on the new Sunday-school lot was paid. The church
was repaired and improved, and new windows and an
1 72 MANAYUNK, 1'HILADELPIIIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
organ were provided. The church lot was fenced and
drained at great expense. A lot was obtained for the
chapel on Terrace Street. The chapel was erected and
a roof placed on it, and "plans were made for the erect-
ion of a new Sunday-school and parish building,"
which was built. In 1874, Mr. Bushnell resigned, "after
a long, faithful and most successful incumbency." He
left the parish in good condition for his successor, who
acknowledges the benefit.
Rev. Charles Logan entered on his duties in 1875 and
is still rector. He began his work on Easter Sunday,
and found a people ready for good works. The debt
on the chapel was removed, and money raised to com-
plete it for Sunday-school use and afternoon services.
In 1876, services began there. In 1880, on St. Matthew's
Day, it "was opened for the full services of a well-regu-
lated parish." The chapel, with its Sunday-school, and
well attended services, has grown into St. Stephen's
separate parish, and is a free church, under Rev. C. R.
Bonnell, the zealous advocate of the primitive system of
free churches, and of the Christian tithe to support the
gospel. (Mr. Bonnell died while this book was being
printed. His life was a patient and loving service of
Christ.) The landed property has been enlarged, and
since Mr. Logan's sermon was written a parish building
has been added.
In 1876, the old Sunday-school building at St David's
was removed, and the corner-stone of the present beauti-
ful and commodious Sunday-school and parish building
was laid by the bishop of the diocese, on June i7th. It
was opened on the following Thanksgiving Day.
In 1879, the church edifice was burned, but the same
month the vestry resolved to erect a larger one. The
new church cost between forty and fiity thousand dollars.
MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 1 73
The rector, in closing', naturally urges a people who
have been generous and zealous in good works to
greater activity in the opportunities arising of influenc-
ing move for good in the expected opening of the new
large church. It is but proper to add that Mr. Orlando
Crease, who has a general interest in the church work
of the city, generously aided the construction of the
Sunday-school building and the church, and the author
of this book wishes that every parish had men of like
mind, who could and would advance the work of the
church of Christ, considering such pleasant tasks a part
of their life-work, in the short term lent us for the pur-
pose of preparing ourselves and our fellow men for a
higher state, and not for selfish gratification or idle show.
In going thus beyond the sermon I wish to add that
Mr. Logan was born in Ireland, in 1839. He came to
this land when eleven years of age, and received his
education in the, Episcopal Academy, of Philadelphia,
and Kenyon College, at Gambier, Ohio, and the Phila-
delphia Divinity School. He was ordained deacon by
Bishop Potter, in the Church of the Nativity, in Phila-
delphia, May ist, 1864, and priest by Bishop Vail, in
Grace Church, Philadelphia, on Trinity Sunday, May
27th, A. D. 1866. Pie was rector of St. John's Church,
Northern Liberties, Philadelphia, for twelve years, or
rather during one of these years, he. was lay-reader in
charge. This was his only rectorship previous to his
entering on his present cure, where he has had the
pleasure of seeing the fruit of his labors in the construc-
tion of a noble church for the ceaseless conducting of
Christian worship to the honor and glory of Almighty
God, and the salvation of men, who find in these sacred
courts means to apply to their sinful souls "the benefits
of Christ's death."
174 MANAYUNK, PHILADELPHIA (PA.) ST. DAVID*S.
THE RT. REV. BENJAMIN WIST AR MORRIS, D. D.
Second missionary bishop of Oregon, was born in
Wcllsboro, Pennsylvania, May sotli, 1819. Graduated
from General Theological Seminary, New York, 1846.
Ordered deacon, June 28th, 1846. Ordained priest,
April 27, 1847. Rector of St. Matthew's, Sunbury,
Pennsylvania, four years, after which he became rector
of St. David's, Manayunk, where he remained six years,
when he became assistant minister of St. Luke's, Ger-
mantown, where he remained until his elevation to the
Episcopate. Received degree of S. T. D. from Colum-
bia, New York, and that of D. D. from University of
Pennsylvania, 1868. Consecrated missionary bishop of
Oregon and Washington Territory, in St. Luke's, Phila-
delphia, December 3d, 1868, by Bishops Lee, of Dela-
ware ; Odenheimer, of New Jersey ; Vail, of Kansas ;
Clarkson, of Nebraska; Randall, of Colorado, and Ker-
foot, of Pittsburg.
In 1880, his jurisdiction was divided; Washington
Territory becoming a separate jurisdiction, and Bishop
Morris remaining in charge of Oregon.
[Living Church Annual Quarterly, 1886.]
The Rev. Francis Hay den Bushnell was born in Nor-
wich, Connecticut, and educated at Trinity College,
Hartford, and Berkeley Divinity School. Bishop Brownell
ordained him to the diaconate and Bishop Smith to the
priesthood. He assisted Dr. Craik in Louisville, Ken-
tucky, in Christ Church, and was afterward rector of
Grace Church. He was at one time General Agent of
the Board of Missions of the diocese of Penrsylvania.
He is now rector of the Church of the Messiah, South
Broad Street, Philadelphia. For a time he held the
rectorship of Christ Church, Ridley Park, with this
MARCUS HOOK (PA.) ST. MARTIN'S.
parish, and the church, there was built under his
rectorship, and St. Stephen's, Manayunk, was erected
while he was rector of St. David's.
MARCUS HOOK (PA.) ST. MARTINS.
The Chester Republican of June 2d, 1876, contained a
sketch of this historic parish from the pen of Captain
Franklin Smith, who was long interested in its affairs.
He was a retired sea captain. The Rev. Gustavus C.
Bird, the present rector, has placed the narrative in my
hands. Walter Martin, "yeoman" of Upper Chichester
township gave ground "to the inhabitants of the town
and township of Chichester," in 1699, " for a churchyard
and free burying place." When Penn summoned a
general assembly at Chester, in 1682, Hazard's Annals
names Mr. Martin as one of the- assemblymen. The
church people secured the ground by erecting a church
on it, as the body that did this was to have possession.
They bought a frame house of Jan and Tobias Hendrick-
son, and moved it upon the lot. The building was pre-
pared for worship. This occurred in 1702. The same
year the English Society for Propagating the Gospel in
Foreign Parts, sent Henry Nichols to this place as mis-
sionary. Several years after Rev. Ge'orge Ross suc-
ceeded him. In 1724, Rev. John Humphries assumed
charge of the mission, which he retained five years.
Walter Martin died in 1719, and the vestry in later years
had his gravestones relettered. He was once port
warden of Marcus Hook.
John Flowers was.the first warden of the church. His
descendants have worshiped in the church and sleep
in its graveyard. Watson's Annals states that Emanuel
Grubb was the first son born to English parents after
the Penn grant in Delaware. He -is said to have been
1)6 MAUCH CHUNK (c.) ST. MARK'S
born in a cave or rudely constructed abode at Grubb's
Landing, in Brandywine Hundred, on the Delaware
"about three miles below Marcus Hook." He was a
vestryman in 1725, and his descendants were worshipers
and aiders of the church for generations. In 1745, a new
church was built, but this brick building was taken
down, and the present brick church erected in 1846. In
1725, Jeremiah Collett left a legacy for the support of
the minister. In 1730, Rev. Richard Backhouse suc-
ceeded Mr. Humphries. After 1738 the Swedish clergy-
men, Rev. Israel Acrelius, the historian, who lived in
Wilmington ; Rev. John Abraham Lidenius, and Rev.
Eric Unander, succeeded each other in the work. In
1759, Rev. George Craig was the missionary of the Pro-
pagation Society. There is a break in the records dur-
ing the Revolution, but, in 1783, this rector was presiding
at the Easter meeting, and appointing his warden. He is
buried under the church, and the tombstone is in the floor.
He died several years after the meeting mentioned, but
is not named in the records after that date. The name
St. Martin commemorates- Walter Martin. In 1817,
Rev. Jacob M. Douglass became rector. In later years
Dr. Clemson and Mr. Hickman, whose earnest work'
,was soon closed by death, and the faithful Mr. Stone,
and the present rector, Mr. Bird, have continued the
good work of Christ begun in an early day. The
Trainers ; and Johnsons, and Marshalls, and Eyres and
other lay people in modern days have aided the rector's
work. The history of Chester in this book gives a further
account of the missionaries.
MAUCH CHUNK (c.) ST. MARK'S.
BY BISHOP COLEMAN.
Very few localities in the United States are more pic-
turesque and interesting than the Lehigh Valley. There
MAUCH CHUNK (c.) ST. MARK/S. 177
is no more typical town in that region than Mauch
Chunk. And there is no feature in the town which
more generally arrests the traveler's attention than St.
Mark's Church. None of the many pictures which are
to be seen of what is well called '" the Switzerland of
America," are complete unless they contain a view of
this sacred edifice. It occupies a most commanding site,
and the. beauty, both of its exterior and interior, will
amply repay close inspection.
The history of the parish is replete with interest. It
owed its origin chiefly, under God, to the loyal devotion
and discreet advocacy of a sturdy layman, William H.
Sayre, who for many years acted as a lay reader in what
for a long time appeared to be a very discouraging field.
Occasional services were held by various clergymen, and
eventually the Rev. Peter Russell became the rector.
His godliness of life and zealous labors did much to build
up this infant parish and in other places to lay the found-
ations of what have since become strong congregations.
A plain but substantial church-building was erected,
and in the year 1852 was consecrated. This gave place
to the stately and costly edifice (completed and conse-
crated in 1869) which has become so well known, chiefly
through the magnificent memorials of the Hon. Asa
Packer and his family, to whom the whole diocese and
the church at large is so greatly indebted for munificent
gifts and kindly deeds.
A handsome and complete parish building adjoins the
church, and is constantly in use for the many objects
which are being furthered by the diligent rector and his
devoted people. The Sunday-Schools have obtained an
enviable reputation for their knowledge and understand-
ing of the Bible and Prayer Book. In East Mauch
Chunk, a comely stone chapel was erected.
1)8 MEADVILLE (p.) CHRIST.
In addition to services there, many other places have
from time to time been ministered unto from M'auch
Chunk, most of which are now themselves self-support-
ing and centres of missionary work. Several points in
the vicinity are at present occupied, and afford much en-
couragement to those who labor there.
The Rev. Peter Russell was succeeded in the rector-
ship by the Rev. Hurley Balcly, the Rev. Edward M.
Pecke, the Rev. Leighton Coleman, and by the present,
incumbent, the Rev. Marcus A. Tolman.
The congregation have always been characterized by
a loyal devotion to the church, and a generous support
of their rectors in everything that was projected for her
welfare, whether far or near. Only a few, comparatively,
of the original bands of workers, are still living, but
their places have been filled by the younger members of
their families, who in zeal and constancy and in kindliness
are faithfully maintaining the beneficent work no less
than the honorable traditions of a parish which, accord-
ing to its opportunities, may fairly be ranked among the
foremost in Pennsylvania.
The author of this work closes the bishop's sketch by
remarking, that the new church and the mission Avork
were largely due to his wise zeal.
MEADVILLE (?:) CHRIST.
This parish was organized in 1825 by Rev. Dr. John
Henry Hopkins, rector of Trinity Church, Pittsburg,
afterwards Bishop of Vermont. The Hon. John B.
Wallace had before come from Philadelphia to the vil-
lage of Meadville, and was a leading laAvyer here. He
had been reared and educated a devoted Episcopalian,
and feeling the need of church services, persuaded Dr.
CHRIST CHURCH, MEADVILLE.
MEADVILLE (p.) CHRIST. 179
Hopkins to pay a visit to this place to inaugurate the
good work. Dr. Hopkins remained here for a time,
during which he baptized thirty-two adults and forty-
In 1826, Rev. Charles Smith was appointed rector of
the newly organized congregation, In the same year,
the erection of a church building was determined upon,
and in 1827 the corner-stone was laid by the rector,
assisted by the Rev. Benjamin Hutchins.
On the 1 6th of August, 1828, the church, which stood
on the northwest corner of the public square, was con-
secrated to the worship of Almighty God by Bishop
Onderclonk. This was the first Protestant Episcopal
Church erected in the State West of the Allegheny river.
It was said to be in point of architecture the handsomest
church building in the diocese.
Of the leading members of the parish at that time
mention maybe made of Judge Henry Shippen, William
Magaw, the father of Mr. Leon C. Magaw, of this city ;
Jared Shattuck, David Dick, the uncle of the members of
the present firm of J.R. Dick & Co.; and Robert L. Potter,
all leading citizens of the place. The building was en-
larged in 1832, and again in 1863, under the rectorship
of Rev. Marison Byllesby. It thus remained until 1883,
when it was torn down, and the present beautiful church
was erected oh the original site.
Rectors: Rev. Charles Smith, until 1829; the Rev.
J. W. James, until 1832 ; Rev. Edward Y. Buchanan,
until 1834; Rev. Thomas Crumpton, until 1840, who is
now residing in Pittsburg ; Rev. John P. Hosmer, until
1841; Rev. Orrin Miller, until 1844; Rev. Alexander
Varian, until 1846; Rev. Dr. Wm. M. Carmichael, until
1850 ; Rev. Alexander Varian, again until 1858; Rev
R. W. Lewis, until 1859; Rev. Marison Byllesby, until
l8o MEADVILLE (p.) CHRIST.
1869; Rev. George C. Rafter, until 1870; Rev. W. G-.
W. Lewis, until 1875 ; Rev. Daniel I. Edwards, until
1878; Rev. G. A. Carstensen, until 1882; Rev. Wm. H.
Lewis, until 1885. Rev. Rogers Israel is the present
The present beautiful church edifice was built in the
year 1883, during the rectorship of Rev. W. H. Lewis.
On Sunday, March 23d, 1884, the new church was form-
ally opened for Divine service by Bishop Whitehead,
assisted by the rector and visiting clergy.
Upon the parish lot near the church is a neat and com-
fortable rectory, built in 1878.
The Sunday-school building, after having been en-
larged several times to provide for the constantly increas-
ing wants of the people, has at last been torn down and
a new parish building of three stories, to be fitted with
every modern convenience for carrying on the many
parochial interests, is in process of construction. The
present church edifice is unquestionably the most beau-
tiful specimen of ecclesiastical architecture in the city of
Meadville, and both in exterior and interior exhibits the
refined taste and generous expenditure which is charac-
teristic of this branch of Christ's holy catholic and apos-
Rev. Rogers Israel was born in Baltimore, in 1854,
and was educated at Dickinson College.
Christ Church, Meadville, is his first and only parish.
He went there in 1885. Ordained deacon Trinity
Church, Cleveland, Ohio, ,by Bishop Bedell. He was
then assisting the Rev. Y. P. Morgan.
Ordained to the priesthood in Christ Church, Mead-
ville, Pa., in 1886, by Bishop Whitehead.
The parish grows and prospers, as the above narrative
MONTROSE (C.) ST. PAUL'S. tSl
MONTROSE (c.) ST. PAUL'S.
The first record of any Episcopal service in Montrose
is found in the local papers of March soth, 1828. This,
as were most of the occasional services subsequent
thereto, was held in the old court house.
The first Episcopal visitation was made by Bishop
Onderdonk, in 1829, when J. W. Raynsford, Esq., wife
and daughter, and John Street and wife, were confirmed.
These five persons constitute the beginning of St. Paul's
Church. It is probable that Mr. Raynsford was instru-
mental in procuring the first services, it being the tradi-
tion of the parish that he, accidentally becoming
possessed of a copy of the Book of Common Prayer,
was led by a study of its contents to the adoption of the
emblem of the church, "Evangelical Truth and Apostolic
Order." He was a man of strict integrity and disting-
uished for remarkable practical gifts, being active in all
the religious, educational, business, and social interests
of the community.
The corner-stone of the first church edifice was laid
by Bishop Onderdonk, June 26, 1832, and the building
consecrated October 27th, in the next year. In 1856, the
corner-stone of the present substantial structure was
laid, and the building consecrated by Bishop Potter,
July i7th, 1857. The first rectory, the house now occu-
pied by Dr. W. W. Smith, was built on land donated by
J. W. Raynsford, in 1850. In 1874, the present fine rec-
tory was built on a spacious lot donated by Mrs. Henry
Drinker; and three years later the present Sunday-school
building and chapel on land adjoining the church, the
plan of which, by a New York architect, was given to
the parish by Mrs. Theodore Oilman, of the same city.
1 82 MONTROSE (c) ST. PAUL'S.
In Mr. Warriner's rectorship of twenty-one years, one
hundred and sixty-one have been added to the list of
The first rector was Rev. Samuel Marks, who was ap-
pointed resident missionary, in Montrose, in 1831, offi-
ciating also in New Milford and Springville. He was
distinguished for his zeal and personal popularity. He
died at Huron, Ohio, at an advanced age, and while still
engaged in missionary work. Of the subsequent rectors,
Rev. Messrs. Peck and Pleasants, there is no record.
Rev. George P. Hopkins is rector of St. Matthew's
Church, Pike, rennsylvania. Rev. John Long, who
built the first rectory, working on it with his own hands,
resides in Reading; Rev. D. C. Byllesby resides at
Media; Rev. R. B. Peet is a rector at Newport, Rhode
Island; Rev. Wm. F. Halsey, under whose rectorship
the church became self-supporting, died at Radnor,
Pennsylvania, (see Radnor in this volume for an account
of him) where he had been rector for many years. Rev.
George H. Kirkland is rector at New Berlin, New York.
Great Bend, New Milford and Springville are treated
of in Peck's History of Susquehanna County. These
county histories are often useful as containig facts from
first sources by those acquainted with the parishes.
I add a biographical sketch of Rev. E. A. Warriner,
abridged from the July number of the Magazine of
Mr. Warriner was born in Agawam, Massachusetts,
in 1829, of old Puritan stock, a farmer's boy, 'spending
his early years between the fields in summer, and the
district school in winter. Later he attended the classi-
cal school in Springfield, living at home, and crossing
the river, often with great difficulty and peril from float-
ing ice, yet never failing to be in his seat at the opening
NEW CASTLE (p.) TRINITY. 183
of school. He entered Yale College in 1850, but was
compelled by illness to abandon his studies, but gradu-
ated from Union College in 1855, and in the next year
was admitted to the bar at Springfield, Massachusetts.
He taught an academy at Washington, Georgia, for a
time. A systematic study of the Bible so impressed him
that he determined to devote his life to the ministry.
Returning north, he taught the Brainerd Academy, at
Haddam, Connecticut, and subsequently the Yeates In-
stitute, at Lancaster, Pennsylvania. In 1867, he was
ordained to the diaconate by Bishop Stevens, and the
next year to the priesthood. In the following autumn,
he became rector of St. Paul's Church, Montrose, an
ideal country parish, located among the hills of Susque-
hanna county, Pennsylvania. Here, with the exception
of two years, in which he was rector of Christ Church,
("Old Swedes"), at Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, he has
spent all the years of his ministry.
He loves the surrounding forests and streams in which
he has found health and inspiration for his literary and
With the exception of occasional poems written in his
earlier years, and published in current periodicals, his
first literary production was "Victor La Tourette." His
next venture was "Kear," "a poem in six cantos." It
was warmly received, and in some instances met with
enthusiastic commendation, as a "real and original
poem." In 1887, he published his work intended
chiefly for distribution among his personal friends en-
titled, " I am That I am, The Philosophic Basis of the
Christian Faith. A Metrical Essay."
NEW CASTLE (p.) TRINITY.
Rev. J. D. Herron, the present rector of this church,
184 NEW CASTLE (p.) TRINITY.
gave a history of this parish, in the New Castle Courant,
March 8th, 1890. Wedrawfactsfrom.it. Beginningin
1843, and for two years Dr. White held divine service
occasionally in New Castle, as did Rev. Mr. Hilton, of
Kittanning, in the house of Dr. Andrews. In 1847, Rev.
Richard Smith, and Rev. S. T. Lord continued the ser-
vices. In 1848, the parish was organized. Rev. Richard
Smith became rector and held services occasionally until
1849. In 1853, Rev. Joseph P. Taylor was rector. A
legacy of Mrs. Andrews was received this year. Mr.
Taylor lived at New Brighton, and Rev. John A. Bow-
man had charge of New Castle under his direction. In
1856, Rev. Win. Binet became rector. Service was held
in the court house until the church was finished. In
1861, Rev. John H. Ohl, was pastor, but left in 1862, to
the regret of the parish. Rev. George H. Jenks suc-
ceeded him, then Rev. Mr. Ives was here for a short
period. From 1864 to his death in 1865 Rev. T. H.
Smythe was rector. He notes the death of Mrs. Letitia
Hilton, "a devoted and pious member of the church."
In 1865, Dr. Killikelly, of Kittanning, held the church
for a time. In 1866, Bishop Kerfoot consecrated the
church as "his first official act." The present rector
attended the service and the effect was his entering the
sacred ministry. This year Rev. Joseph Adderly became
rector, and in 1868, Rev. W. S. Hay wood succeeded
him. His short rectorship was very earnest and useful
in advancing the church. In 1870, Rev. Edmund Rob-
erts, accepted the rectorship. "He was a man of
lovely character, and an excellent preacher." In 1876,
Rev. Wm. A. Fuller was in charge. He was followed
by Rev. Dr. White, of Butler. Then E. W. Parker
became lay-reader for a time. In 1879, New Castle was
included in St. John's Mission, under Rev. H. G. Wood,
NORRISTOWN (C.) ST. JOHN'S. 185
Rev. J. B. Williams, being a deacon, assisting. In 1882,
Bishop Whiteheacl selected the present rector, and the
people surprised him by naming' his candidate first. The
rector had been an assistant in Trinity parish, New
York., In 1883, the ladies repaired the church, and Mr.
Reis gave an organ. Special attention is given to the
music of the church.
Rev. Joseph D. Herron was born in Kirtland, Ohio,
November 4th, 1853, and educated at St. John's School,
Camden, N. J.; at St. Stephen's College, Annandale, N.
Y., and the General Theological Seminary, New York;
was ordained by Bishop Horatio Potter, in 1879 and
1880. Previous to his present' rectorship he was in
Trinity parish, New York, assisting in St. Augustine's
NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
The Rev. Jehu Curtis Clay, D. D., was the first rector
(elected the second time in 1821) of this parish, accord-
ing to a list sent me by Rev. Isaac Gibson, the present
rector. Dr. Clay was elected on the 28th of October,
A. D., 1814. He resigned in 1816 or 1817. He was the
assistant of Dr. Collin, at Gloria Dei Church, in 1813.
(See Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and De laivare, p. 65.)
He held St. Luke's, Germantown, with Norristown. In
1822 he ''again became minister for Upper Merion
(Christ Church), still holding St. John's, Norristown,
and St. James's Church, Perkiomen. He also officiated
every fifth Sunday in the month at Kingsessing (St.
James's). He continued to fill this station until called,
in 1831, to the rectorship of Gloria Dei."
In 1817, Dr. Clay had charge of the' church and the
academy at Newbern, N. C. In the four succeeding
years, the church at Hagerstown, Maryland, was under
i86 NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
his care, when his father, Rev. Slator Clay, died, and he
was called to his church at Perkiomen, and a second
time to Norristown. His second resignation was in
1832. Those who remember this godly man will recall
his quiet dignity and faithful labors.
The second rector of the church was Rev. Thomas P.
May. He was elected in 1818, and died on the 2oth of
September, 1819, at the early age of 26. Acldison May,
Esq., of West Chester, Pa., sends me the following
sketch of his brother's life :
Rev. Thomas Potts May, eldest son of Robert and
Ruth Potts May, was born at Coventry ville, in Coventry
Township, Chester County, Pa., in 1793. He was edu-
cated partly in Wilmington, and in part in Chester
County. His instructor in the latter place was Enoch
Lewis, a mathematician of much repute. Under Mr.
Lewis, Mr. May paid much attention to mathematics, in
which he became quite proficient. At this school, the
late Judge Townsend Haines was a fellow-pupil and
intimate friend. He married Sarah McClintock soon
after attaining his majority. About this time he became
a member of the Episcopal Church, and then opened a
classical and mathematical school at Pottstown, Pa.
His object in so doing was to support himself while
studying theology. lie was ordained deacon by Bishop
White, A. D. 1817.
I have understood that he was proposed as rector fot
St. Paul's Church, Philadelphia, where my brother, Dr.
James May, was rector many years afterwards. My
brother Thomas Avas invited to preach at St. Paul's, in
reference, perjiaps, to being called there. He complied
with the request. At that time (1819) the yellow fevei
was prevailing in Philadelphia. He returned to Norris-
town, either on the day of his preaching at St. Paul's 01
NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S. . 187
the following. Immediately on his return home he was
attacked by the prevailing fever, of which he died on the
zoth day of September, 1819, and was buried in the
grounds attached to St. John's Church.
He left two daughters, one of whom died in after
years, unmarried. The other married Caleb Pierce.
Both of them are dead. Their oldest son, Thomas May
Pierce, established and is still at the head of the leading
commercial business college in Philadelphia.
My brother Thomas was a man of strong and active
intellect, of fine presence and agreeable manner, and
died amidst the regrets of his rapidly increasing congre-
gation and of the community in which he lived.
The Potts Memorial, and Poulson's Advertiser, of
October ist, iSrg, give accounts of this devoted man of
The third rector was the Rev. Bird Wilson. The vet-
eran local historian, William J. Buck, contributed a
sketch of this clergyman to "Auge's Biographies of
Men of Montgomery County," Avhich we will condense.
Dr. Wilson was the son of James Wilson, born not far
from St.. Andrew's, Scotland, about 1742. The father
came to Philadelphia in 1766, and was tutor in a college
in that city, but afterwards was the law-student of John
Dickinson. He practiced in Reading and Carlisle. He
was a Congressman, and signed the Declaration of
Independence. The son was born in Carlisle in 1777,
and graduated at the University of Pennsylvania in 1792,
when 15 years old. He became a lawyer in Philadelphia,
and a judge. He then lived in Norristown, and was
active in the building of St. John's Church, begun in
1813 and finished the next year, being the first church
built there. He was a warden. He studied theology
under Bishop White, who ordained him deacon in 1819,
1 88 NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
and he soon became rector of St. John's and St. Thomas's,
Whitemarsh, but resigned in 1821, to become a professor
in the General Seminary in New York. . He was Secre-
tary of the House of Bishops. He composed the " Life
of Bishop White," embodying the early history of the
Episcopal Church in this country. The University of
Pennsylvania gave him the title " D. D.," and Columbia
College that of "L.L. D." He died in 1859, aged 83,
and was buried in Christ Church yard, at Fifth and Arch
Streets. The sketch draws on Rev. W. W. Bronson's
"Life of Dr. Wilson" for information.
The Rev. John Reynolds was elected rector December
i yth, 1837, and resigned November 2d, x838. His
daughter, Mrs. R. C. Jebb, of St. Peter's Terrace, Cam-
bridge, England, is the wife of a Cambridge professor.
She was the widow of General Adam Slemmer, of the
United States Army. The son of this rector, who bears
his father's name, John Reynolds, is one of the leading
officers of the Philadelphia and Erie Railroad, residing
at Erie, Pa.
REV. JOHN REYNOLDS.
Rev. John Reynolds was born in Canterbury, Eng-
land, September ist, 1 792, was educated in England and
came to this country about 1819. He was ordained
deacon and presbyter by Bishop Meade. In 1822, he
was rector of a church at Tappahannock, Virginia; in
1826, at Havre de Grace, thence he was called to St.
Stephen's Church, Harrisburg, where he buried his first
wife in 1830. In 1831, he went to St. James's Church,
Perkiomen, where he was married to Eleanor Evans, in
1832, Rev. Jehu C. Clay officiating. While at Perkiomen
he was also rector of St. John's Church, Norristown.
NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 189
He went to Milford, Delaware, in 1840, having charge
also of the churches in Milton, Georgetown and Lewes.
In 1847, he was called to Trinity Church, Carbondale,
Pennsylvania, thence he went, in 1849, to St. John's
Church, West Hoboken, New Jersey, and then became
rector of St. Andrew's, Kent, Connecticut. In 1852, he
was appointed chaplain in the army, and for several
years was located at San Diego, California.
He died in Pottstown, May i3th, 1864, and was buried
at St. James's Church, Perkiomen. His second wife,
(Eleanor Evans), died at Erie, Pennsylvania, November
25th, 1887, and is buried at Perkiomen by the side of
her husband. It should be added to,this communcation
that Mr. Reynolds was assistant at Christ Church, Upper
Merion one year.
Rev. Dr. S. H. Turner wrote an eulogy on this clergy-
man which was printed.
The life by Rev. Mr. Bronson is a 121110., and con-
tains a likeness. It is dedicated to the Alumni of the
General Theological Seminary. Mr. Bronson was an
inmate of the Doctor's house in his student days. Two
sermons are added to the life, The book is in the Phila-
Mr. Bronson states that Nortistown and Whitemarsh
combined were the only rectorship Dr. Wilson ever
The Rev. Nathan Stem, D. D., was elected to the
rectorship January 2ist, 1839, and died November ist,
1859. Mrs. Bosbyshell, the wife of the Director of the
Mint in Philadelphia, is a daughter of this clergyman.
In Mr. M. Auge's useful volumes of " Biographies of
Men of Montgomery County," there is a sketch of Dr.
Stem, which I will abridge. The laborious author well
introduces his subject with the lines of Montgomery :
190 NORRISTOWN (C.) ST. JOHN'S.
"Servant of God, well done !
Rc'St from thy loved employ."
Dr. Stem was born inEastNantmeal, Chester County,
Pennsylvania, in 1804. His parents were Jacob and
Elizabeth Stem, and his paternal grand-parents were
Conrad and Mary Stem, who came to this country from
Germany. His mother's father and mother were John
and Catharine Kline.
When ten or twelve years old the boy was baptized
and confirmed in St. Mary's Church, Warwick, during
the rectorship of that devoted man of God, Rev. Dr.
Levi Bull. The future clergyman went to the Theolog-
ical Seminary, near Alexandria, Virginia, graduating at
this noble school of the prophets, and home of mission-
ary zeal in 1826. The Seminary was then in its infancy,
but Rev. Prof. Caleb J. Good of Washington, now Trin-
ity College, Hartford, Connecticut, had graduated in
1824. This gentleman lived in West Chester, Pa., in the
close of his life. Rev. James De Pui, well known in
Pennsylvania, graduated in 1825, and Rev. George Mint-
zer, long the rector of St. James's, Perkiomen, was in
the same class, as well as Rev. Dr. William H. Reese,
the rector of Christ Church, Upper Merion, and St.
Mr. Stem in leaving the Seminary turned his face
Westward, and was ordained by that brave pioneer mis-
sionary, Bishop Philander Chase, at Columbus, Ohio.
He was soon called to two churches near Delaware,
Ohio. In 1831, "he was married by their old rector,
Rev. Dr. Bull, to Miss Sarah May Potts, of Warwick,
He moved to Harrisburg, Pa., in 1832, and was rector
there until his removal to Norristown in 1839.
In Dr. Stem's day the church of which he was rector,
NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 191
as well as the religious people of the town in general
were very active in efforts to advance the Christian life.
The church building of St. John's was improved and
repaired with the zealous co-operation of the congrega-
tion. An addition was made in front,'and the tower was
erected, and a bell furnished, and the interior beauti-
" Mr. Stem was a man of courtly manners, a very
comely person, and a fine reader. Few men who did
not make mere pulpit oratory an exclusive study, were
more popular with their people and the general public
than he." The parish prospered under his care, and the
Bible Society and benevolent and charitable works were
aided by the church people in conjunction with the
townspeople. Dr. Stem was a truly evangelical preacher,
and a strong worker in the cause of the abolition of
human slavery. He presided at one of the first annual
meetings of the Pennsylvania Anti-Slavery Society, in
1838 or 1839. "The sympathy of the colored race was
displayed by the large numbers who followed his body
as sincere mourners" to the grave. Dr. Stem alternat-
ed with other clergy in Norristown in holding services
in the prison on Sunday afternoons.
"As a preacher, Mr. Stem was terse, argumentative,
and earnest, never addressing himself to the ear, but
always with plainness to the judgment and hearts of his
hearers. His manner of reading the service also, was
solemn and natural in intonation." Franklin and Mar-
shall College gave him the title of D. D.
Some years before he died he was out in a terrible
snow storm. The railway train on which he was return-
ing from Philadelphia to Norristown was blocked. The
evening was intensely cold and fuel and food were lack-
ing. Hours were passed in dreary waiting, and then
192 NORRISTOWN (c.) ST. JOHN'S.'
the blockaded passengers were forced to walk almost two
miles in the cold drifting snow toNorristown. Some died
in a few clays as the result of the painful exposure. Dr.
Stem never recovered from the effects of it, though he
continued to officiate for a time. In June, 1859, he went
to Swedesburg, to take the services of Rev. Ur. Reese
one evening. The church was warm, and he took cold
in riding back to his home, and "a rapid consumption"
closed his earthly life, on November ist, of the same
year "in the 55th year of his age."
Mr. Auge's touching memoir which is mainly given
here, closes thus : "Perhaps no man ever died hi Norris-
town whose demise produced more profound heartfelt
sorrow. His remains were attended to the grave by all
classes and denominations of our people. His body is
interred immediately in the rear of St. John's Church, in
ah enclosed lot, upon which is erected a handsome but
plain marble obelisk. On this is chiseled the following
simple but truthful inscription : 'A tribute of respect
to the memory of our pastor, Rev. Nathan Stem, D. D.'
He was the rector of St. John's Church, twenty years
and nine months. In life he preached Jesus, and now he
sleeps in Him."
Such a work as that of Mr. Auge is most useful to one
collecting information in the region of which it treats,
and he deserves praise for his efforts to keep up the
memory of the departed.
Rev. John Woart, was" rector from 1860 to 1863. He
is now at Marianna, Florida. The beautiful rectory was
purchased for him. He created much interest in the
parish, and was successful in work. I recollect him as a
very fine and impressive extemporary preacher. The
following sketch is from lives of "Living Officers of the
United States Army,"
NORRISTOWN (C.) ST. JOHN'S. ' 193
Woart, John (Chaplain U. S. A.). Retired; appointed
from Pa. Service At Savannah, Hilton Head, S. C.;
Fort Union, N. M.; Abercrombie, Dakota; Fort Snell-
ing, Minnesota; Fort Leavcnworth, Kan. In the Depart-
ment of the Missouri and in Dakota he was accustomed
to go to different posts not provided with chaplains, and
to visit extensive neighborhoods, by permission of
department commanders, to render services. He was
assigned to Angel Island, in the harbor of San Fran-
cisco. He is now on the retired list. At several posts
he lectured on Historical and Scientific subjects. His-
tory After his collegiate studies were concluded he
studied law in his native city, Newburyport, Mass. Just
before he was to be allowed to commence the practice of
law he entered his name as a candidate for Holy Orders
in the Protestant Episcopal Church. The desire to do
so dated back to his earliest recollections. He pursued
his divinity studies at the Theological Seminary in Vir-
ginia. His first parish was in Maryland ; his second in
New Jersey. He then removed to Boston, and was rec-
tor of Christ Church. He did clerical work in Louisi-
ana, and was afterward rector of Dayton, Ohio. In the
Southern War his interest impelled him to visit hospitals
and afflicted families unofficially, and he was asked to
go South as a hospital chaplain.
Rev. George W. Brown was rector from 1867 to
Rev. Dr. Eaton W. Maxcy was born in Providence,
Rhode Island, in 1832. He was educated in the public
schools of his native city, and at the high school and
Brown University, where he was graduated in 1853.
He then studied in Virginia Theological Seminary, and
was ordained deacon by Bishop Clark, of Rhode Island,
in 1856, and priest by the samebishop, on June 4th, 1857.
Ip4 NORRISTOWN (0.) ST. JOHN'S.
His first field was that of missionary at St. Philip's
Church, Crompton Mills, Warwick, Rhode Island, and
afterwards he took charge of St. Mark's Church, Warren,
Rhode Island. He remained there till 1 86 1, when he
became rector of Christ Church, Troy, New York, con-
tinuing there until 1864, when he removed to Norristown,
and was rector of St. John's until 1867, when he became
rector of St. John's Church, Bridgeport, Connecticut,
and there remained until 1885. I n J 886 h e resumed the
rectorship of Christ Church, Troy, where he is still en-
The degree of S. T. D. was conferred on him in 1876,
by Hobart College, Geneva, New York.
Rev. Charles Ewbank Mcllvaine, M. A. was the son
ofRt. Rev. Charles Pettit Mcllvaine, bishop of Ohio,
and Emily Coxe Mcllvaine, (both of Burlington, New
He was born in Gambier, Ohio, April i4th, 1839, and
died at Towanda, Pennsylvania, February 22d, 1876.
This pleasant and affable clergyman died at an early age
so that his useful ministry did not extend over a long
period. He was a graduate of Kenyon College, Gam-
bier, Ohio, and, was two or three years at the University
of Virginia, and graduated at the Gambier Theological
School. He was ordained deacon by his father in 1863.
Rectorships : Christ Church, Springfield, Ohio, 1864-66;
assistant to Bishop Lee at St. Andrew's Church, Wil-
mington, Delaware, 1866-67; minister at Trinity Chapel,
Newark, New Jersey, afterwards known as St. Stephen's
Church, 1867-68, (18 months); St. John's Church, Norris-
town, 1869-72; Christ Church, ToAvanda, 1873-76.
Mr. Mcllvaine's widow, a daughter of Bishop Lee, re-
sides in Wilmington, Delaware.
Rev. Isaac Gibson was born in Rappahannock' County,
CHRIST CHURCH, SOUTH OIL CITY,
OIL CITY (SOUTH) (P.) CHRIST CHURCH. 195
Virginia, and came into the Protestant Episcopal Church
from the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church,
iu 1865, and was ordained deacon by the Rt. Rev. John
Johns, Bishop of Virginia, in 1866, in Winchester, Vir-
ginia, and presbyter by the same bishop in Staunton,
Virginia, in 1867.
He became assistant minister of Zion Church, Charles-
town, Jefferson County, West Virginia, in 1866, and
rector of St. Martin's Parish, Hanover County, Virginia,
in November of that year. In 1868 he took charge of
Trinity Church, Louisville, Kentucky, together with
several adjacent points, and in 1870, he became assistant
minister of Calvary Church, Louisville, Kentucky. The
following year he became rector of Trinity Church,
Covington, Kentucky, and in 1872, rector of St. John's
Church, Norristown, and has just entered upon the
nineteenth year of his pastorate. This time forms a
record of faithful work, and may the rector have many
During the past year a mission has been planted in
the West End of the town, and the outlook for a new
church is fair. The Rev. John W. Kaye, of Philadelphia,
has become assistant minister of the parish, and through
his active co-operation the work of the church is assum-
ing wider proportions in this community.
OIL CITY (SOUTH) (p.) CHRIST CHURCH.
This parish was organized in 1866, at the instance of
Rev. Marcus A. Tolman, rector of St. John's Church,
Franklin, who had given occasional services in the city.
Before this time, in 1863, the Rev. I. W. Tays, then rec-
tor of St. John's, Franklin, had given regular services
for a time, but on account of the fluctuating character
of the population, only two or three persons dwelling in
196 OIL CITY (SOUTH) (p.) CHRIST CHURCH.
the city at that time being churchmen, or favorable to
the church, were resident in 1866. The meeting for
organizing the parish was held at the residence of Mr.
Wm. J. Brundred, an invitation having been extended
to "all persons in the city who were favorable to the
In August, 1866, the new parish, uniting with St.
John's Church, Rouseville, extended a call to the Rev.
R. D. Nevius, of the Diocese of Alabama, who accepted
it, and entered upon his duties as rector. Services were
first held in Bascom's Hall. After six months, the
congregation removed to Excelsior Hall, which was
occupied until Christmas, 1868, when, a room being
fitted up in the Mercantile Buildings, the congregation
removed to it. In the Diocesan Convention of 1867 the
parish was admitted into union with the diocese. It was
self-supporting from the first. In February, 1869, the
rector resigned, and accepted a call to St. John's Church,
The Rev. Marison Byllesby was called to the'parish,
and entered upon the work in September, 1869. During
his rectorship a neat Gothic church was erected, and the
parish took on new life. He resigned in the spring of 187 1 .
The Rev. J.T.Protheroe was the next rector, taking charge
of the parish in May, 1871, and resigning in May, 1875.
The Rev. Charles G. Adams was the successor of Mr.
Protheroe, and held the rectorship until Ascension Day,
1879. In October, 1879, the Rev. P. B. Lightner
accepted a call to the parish, and resigned October 8th,
1882. A change was made in the interior of the church
during this time, to accommodate a large chorus choir,
which took the place of the quartette choir, and Anglican
music was used exclusively. A. new organ was pre-
sented by Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Foster.
PEQUEA (PA.) ST. JOHN-'S.
The Rev. J. H. B. Brooks accepted a call to the parish
January ist, 1883. In 1886, August i2th, the corner-
stone for a new church was laid, and the present sub-
stantial stone church was erected and opened with a
benediction by the bishop of the diocese on the follow-
ing Easter. The church has many beautiful memorials
of the departed, and thank-offerings for mercies and
tokens of God's loving kindness. The Rev. Laurens
McLure served as assistant to the present rector for one
year, and the Rev. E. L. Ogilby, who had been the
efficient Sunday-school Superintendent for many years,
and a licensed lay-reader while pursuing his studies, was
presented by the rector for ordination to the diaconate
in this church, and was ordained by Rt. Rev. Dr. White-
head, June 2d, 1889. The present rector, Rev. J. H. B.
Brooks, was ordained deacon in St. Andrew's Church,
Wilmington, Del., by Rt. Rev. Alfred Lee, D. D., June
ayth, 1871. Ordained priest in St. James's Church,
Kingsessing, Philadelphia, by Rt. Rev. Dr. Stevens,
September 29th, 1872. Rectorships: St. George's
Church, Philadelphia, Pa. ; St. Luke's Church, Seaford,
Del., and St. Peter's Church, Salisbury, Md.
PEQUEA (PA.) ST. JOHN'S.
RECTORS. The Rev. Messrs. Richard Backhouse,
1729 to 1739; John Blackball, 1739 to 1742; Richard
Backhouse, 1742 to 1750; George Craig, 1751 to 1759;
Thomas Barton, 1759 to 1776 ; T. Frederick Tiling, 1784
to 1789; Elisha Rigg, 1788 to 1791-3; Levi Heath, 1793
to 1798; Joseph Clarkson, 1799 to 1830; Wm. A. Muh-
lenberg, D. D., 1822 to 1824; Samuel Bowman, 1824-5
and 1826-7 i John B. Clemson, D. D., 1828 to 1831 ; R.
U. Morgan, 1831 to 1834; E. Y. Buchanan, 1835 to
198 PEQUEA (PA.) ST. JOHN'S.
1845; H. Tullidge, 1845 to 1854; E. P. Wright, 1854 to
1856 ; Wm. G. Hawkins, 1856 to 1858 ; George G. Hep-
burn, 1859 to 1860; Henry R. Smith, 1861 to 1872 ; C.
B. Mee, one year; H. Tullidge, 1876 to 1882 01-1883.
In some respects this list may not be strictly accurate,
but it is an approximation, as near as the writer can get
The first four clergymen were missionaries of the S.
P. G, F. P. The Rev. Richard Backhouse lived at Old
Chester, and came to these parts and held services once
Rev. S. R. Boyer, was borninHinkletown, Lancaster-
County, Pa., in 1839 ; educated in the public schools
and at the State Normal School, Millersville, Pa., and in
the Theological Department of the University of Lewis-
burg, Pa. Was a Baptist minister for about ten years.
On a change of views in regard to the Constitution of
the Church and the Christian ministry, he was ordained
deacon by the Rt. Rev. M. A. De Wolf Howe, D. D., in
Christ Cathedral, Reading, Pa., on March 2 8th, 1877.
In 1879, he was advanced to the priesthood by the same
bishop and in the same place. He was in charge of St.
James's Church, Schuylkill Haven, Pa.; Christ Church,
Lykens, Pa,; Missions in Steelton and Newport, Pa.,
and took charge of St. John's Church, Pequea, on Sun-
day, July 1 9th, 1885. He has also had the care of the
Mission in Parkesburg, in connection- with St. John's,
since May, 1890.
' REV. H. R. SMITH.
Henry Reed Smith, was born at Lancaster, Pa.,
November i4th, 1833, and educated in the public schools
of Philadelphia, graduating at the High School; ordained
PEQUEA (PA.) ST. JOHN'S. 199
to the ministry at Christ Church, Germantown, by Bishop
Lee, in 1862; entered on his duties as rector of St. John's
Church, Pequea, April 25^1, 1862, having been married
the day previous to Grace Clarkson, a grand-daughter of
Rev. Joseph Clarkson, a former- rector of Bangor
The following is an extract from his diary: After
preaching at St. John's, Pequea, in the morning, he
would drive to Leacock in the afternoon, hold service
there, and in the evening go over to Parkesburg Mis-
sion, for another service.
From 1868, he held afternoon service in Bangor
Church, Churchtown, and continued to do so, on alter-
nate Sunday afternoons, and many times also in the
He used also to serve St. Thomas's Church, Morgan-
In 1872, he removed to Gwynedd, Montgomery Coun-
ty. The S. E. Convocation took hold of the Parkesburg
mission, appointing Rev. J. T. Carpenter, (an intimate
friend of Mr. Smith,) to take charge. Few can under-
stand the labor and nature of the work in which he labor-
ed for so many years in those outlying parishes, and
only those who accompanied him in his long drives can
have the remotest idea what those labors involved.
While at Gwynedd he had no regular charge, but preach-
ed occasionly at Philadelphia and other places, the last
being at Beach Haven, where he'was visiting, when his
sad death by drowning occurred while bathing in the
ocean, and the, zist of August, 1875, closed its pages
upon the earthly career of an earnest and faithful laborer
in the vineyard of the Lord.
Mr. Smith was an earnest and logical preacher, and
highly appreciated wherever he officiated. While at
200 PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
Pequea, he declined various calls, apparently being wed-
ded to his parish and missionary work at Pequea, and
the surrounding country. He was a good conversational-
ist and possessed of extraordinary business qualifications.
The writer of this volume would add to this true testi-
mony of a lovable man that he once rode on a Sunday
with him from Pequea to Churchtown and Morgantown
making a ride of perhaps 30 miles or more. Mr. Smith
spent freely of his own hard earned means to support
himself in doing the church's work. Bishop Howe's
eulogy of him may be found in the Journal of Central
Pennsylvania, for 1876. Rev. Henry C. Pastorius, of
Manheim, is a brother-in-law of Mr. Smith.
PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
Having been requested to sketch the history of this
parish in this volume, I gladly do so.
The original services were held in <( a small chapel" in
a little alley above Vine Street, near Eleventh Street,
outside of the old city limits. The alley was entered
from Eleventh Street.
The first rector, whose picture hangs in the vestry
room was Rev. Benjamin Parham Aydelott, M. D., D. D.,
from 1826 to 1828. His son, John Henshaw Aydelott,
sends me the following sketch. The son is City Mission-
ary in Cincinnati, where he is doing very useful work.
Benjamin Parham Aydelott, M. D., D. D., was born
in Philadelphia, in 1795, being on his father's side of
direct French Huguenot blood, while his mother came
of the original Quaker stock, who were the first settlers
of Philadelphia. His father being an officer in the U.
S. Navy, was necessarily absent from home the larger
part of his time, and for this reason his boyhood train-
ing fell almost entirely upon his mother, whose great
PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH, 201
ambition was, that her son should become a physician.
He was sent while quite a lad to the "Protestant Epis-
copal Academy," at Cheshire, Conn., where he gradu-
ated, and then entered the "College of Physicians and
Surgeons," of New York City, from which he graduated
in 1815. In 1816, he was united in marriage to Miss
Caroline Dob, of New York, by Rev. Christian Bork.
After practicing medicine for a short period, he became
convinced that his true calling was to preach the Gospel,
and after taking a theological course he was ordained a
deacon by Bishop Hobart, and two years afterward was
ordained to the priesthood by Bishop Kemp.
He was the first rector of Grace Church, Philadelphia,
serving from 1826 to 1828, having previous to that time
served other churches, at one period having charge of
two parishes in Maryland, journeying from one to the
other on horseback. In 1828, he became rector of Christ
Church, Cincinnati, and continued there several years,
leaving- a strong parish where he had found a weak one.
In 1835, became President of "Woodward College," in
this city, which position he occupied during ten years of
its most successful history, and the "Old Woodward
Boys" still cherish a grateful rememberance of his
unwavering kindness and regard for their personal wel-
fare. In 1841, he was united in marriage to his second
wife, Miss Betsey E. Fosdick, who survived him for some
Dr. Aydelott was deservedly held in high esteem as a
scholar and Christian minister by those of all denomi-
nations, being forward in rendering personal service v in
all good works. He was a copious writer for the press,
both religious and secular, chiefly upon religious and
educational topics, and in advocacy of anti-slavery and
temperance views. His college addresses and other
202 PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
writings, as published, were highly appreciated by his
many readers. He was a diligent and untiring student,
spending many hours in his study each day, and it was
while thus engaged he was stricken with paralysis of the
brain, from which he never rallied, but closed a long
and useful public life in Cincinnati, in 1880, in his 86th
}rear. He was laid to rest in beautiful Spring Grove
Cemetery, amid scores of those to whom for so many
years he was pastor and friend.
This closes the son's loving testimony to a father's
The family are said to be descended from French
barons in feudal days, but they have in later times done
good service in the church militant.
Another descendant of Dr. Aydelott writes me as fol-
lows : "He preached usually with notes, but was a ready
and easy speaker without them. He was clear and logi-
cal in style. He was a man of very positive convictions
and opinions. Was the author of a number of books,
chiefly on religious subjects."
Bishop Smith was rector from 1828 to 1830. I acid a
sketch of his life from Rev. Dr. Batterson's Sketch-Book
of the American Episcopate.
THE RT. REV. BENJAMIN BOSWORTH SMITH, S. T. D., L.L. D.
The first bishop of Kentucky, was born in Bristol, R.
I. in A. D. 1794. He graduated at Brown University,
Providence, R. I., A. D. 1816. Ordered deacon in St.
Michael's Church, Bristol, by Bishop Griswold ; ordain-
ed priest in St. Michael's Church, Marblehead, Mass.,
1818, by the same prelate.
His first pastoral work was in St. Michael's Parish,
Marblehead, where he remained about two years, when
he removed to Virginia, and became the rector of St.
PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH. 203
George's Church, Accomack County. About two years
later, he became the rector of Zion Church, Charles-
town, with charge of Trinity Church, Shepherdstown.
In 1823, he removed to Vermont and became rector of
St. Stephen's Church, Middlebury. In 1828 he took
charge of Grace Church Mission, Philadelphia. In 1830
he removed to Kentucky, and became the rector of
Christ Church, Lexington, which position he held until
1837, when he gave up all pastoral work, and devoted
himself to the duties of his Episcopate.
He received the degree of Doctor of Sacred Theology
from Geneva College, (now Hobart,) A. D. 1832, and
that of Doctor of Laws from Brown University, A. D.
1872, and from Griswold College, Iowa, A. D. 1870.
Consecrated Bishop of Kentucky in St. Paul's Chapel,
New York, on the 3ist day of October, A. D. 1832, by
Bishops White, Brownell and Henry Ustick Onderdonk.
Upon the death of Bishop Hopkins, A. D. 1868, he
became a Presiding Bishop.
WRITINGS i. A Sermon before the General Conven-
' tiorij' A. D. 1850 : The Position of the Protestant Episco-
pal Church in these United States. 2. Five Charges to
his Clergy. 3. Saturday Evening, or Thoughts on the
Progress of the Plan of Salvation, 1876. 4. Apostolic
Succession; Facts which prove that a Ministry appoint-
ed by Christ Himself involves this Position, 1877.
Rev. Cyrus H. Jacobs was rector from 1831 to 1832.
Addison May, Esq., of West Chester, Pennsylvania,
writes me as follows concerning him :
"I knew Rev. Cyrus Jacobs quite well. He was the
oldest son of James and Margaret Bull Jacobs, his
mother being a sister of Rev. Dr. Levi Bull, and a
daughter of Col. Thomas Bull, who was captured by the
British during the Revolutionary War and confined in
204 PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
one of the prison ships in the harbor of New York.
Cyrus was born in 1809 or 10, at Federal Hall, near
Churchtowtt, in Lancaster County. In the spring of 1831
he married at Compton, Talbot County, Maryland, Anna
Maria Stevens, the second daughter of Governor Samuel
and Eliza May Stevens. Mrs. Stevens was my sister.
His wife lived but a short time not a year after her
marriage to Mr. Jacobs. She is buried in Philadelphia.
His second wife was a Miss Makel of Cecil County,
Maryland. For some years he preached at St. Andrew's
Church, in West Vincent township, Chester County.
He was a strong vigorous man of fine appearance.
Rev. Dr. Buchanan, in response to my inquiries, writes
me thus : " He was in college (Dickinson, Carlisle), with
me. He was ordained deacon by Bishop Moore, of
Virginia, in 1831 ; it is therefore presumable that he had
been a student in the Alexandria Seminary. He died
somewhere between 1830 and 1840. He was, as I re-
member, an earnest, good man." Rev. Dr. Clemson
writes that St. Andrew's "flourished under his ministry.
His heart was in his labors."
I note in the diocesan journals that, after leaving Grace
Church, he became rector of St. Paul's, West White-
land, Chester County, Pa., which was vacant by the
resignation of Rev. Dr. R. U. Morgan. In 1833 he was
rector of this parish. In 1835 St. Andrews, West Vin-
cent, is also marked as under his care. In 1836, he
resigned these parishes, and his residence was in Phila-
delphia. A clerical' friend who saw him in his own boy-
hood describes him to me as tall and spare, and an
From 1832 to 1834, Rev. S. C. Brinckle was rector.
For an account of him turn to "Radnor," in this vol-
ume. His brother, Dr. Wm. Brinckle, a physician, was
PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH. 205
the main-spring in the building of Grace Church. Rev.
Mr. Brinckle was the first r,ector to officiate in the new
church, though his rectorship was brief.
The coming of Dr. Suddards to Grace Church in
1 834, marked an era in its history, and for forty-four years,
until 1878, it was under his faithtul care. He was after
this date rector emeritus^ and worshiped in the church
he dearly loved. I add some data kindly given me.
Rev. Wm. Suddards, D. D. was born April 8th, 1804,
in Bradford, England. Educated privately by Rev. Wm.
Morgan, Vicar of Bradford. Ordained deacon and
priest, in 1834, by Bishop Mcllvame. Rectorships:
Zanesville, Ohio; Grace Church, Philadelphia, December
1834 to 1878; afterwards rector emeritus. Died Feb-
ruary 2oth, 1883. Buried in family vault, " Woodlands
Bishop Stevens in his graceful way outlined the char-
acter of his friend, Dr. Suddards, in a funeral sermon
in 1883 which was printed. We there see the fatherless
infant growing up to be in early life a Methodist
preacher, and drawn to the United States by the cele-
brated Rev. Geo. G. Cookman. He came to Grace Church
when it was weak, and in ten years it was third in the
diocese as to size of congregation, confirmations, commu-
nicants and Sunday scholars. The doctor was the friend
of his people, and held " Christ Crucified" before them,
to use his own words, " as the Sun and centre of revealed
truth." He believed in the Church as " apostolic and
divine," as Bishop Stevens says.
He was privileged to observe the 6oth anniversary of
his wedding with her who had joined her life with his
in 1822, " in the Church of St. Nicholas, New. Castle on
Tyne, now become the Cathedral of the new diocese of
New Castle." The solemn funeral and crowding clergy
206 PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
and laity mourning their loss, and the burial beside the
church walls are depicted by Bishop Stevens, but as
we think of the blessed dead who died in the Lord let
us strive to follow them where pastor and people may
rejoice forever in the smile of God.
While I had a pleasant acquaintance with the Doc-
tor as a resident in summer in Claymont, Delaware,
I will sketch his character from one who can speak from
a closer relation. lie was a man of quiet humor, trust-
ful and unsuspicious. He was a strong advocate of
Foreign Missions. The effect of his preaching was very
striking, drawing crowds for years. He broke down
time and again under his great efforts, requiring trips to
the old country for recuperation. Rev. Dr. Benj. Wat-
son once took his place in his absence. He was a quiet
but earnest and impressive preacher. He had great
influence over the Friends, and Grace Church was
styled the Quaker Church, because the Doctor drew
them into his fold. He wrote Bishop Stevens that he
had-baptized "some two hundred" of them.
The Doctor held cottage-meetings. Mrs. Stiddards,
who still lives at the age of ninety, was a great help-
meet in Sunday-school work, being a directress of the
school for many years. Herman Cope and Dr. Thomas
were helpful wardens. Another warden, Marshall Hill,
had a country place near his rector's at Claymont, and
I remember his genial life in the rural parish I then
served, and he was an aid with his city rector in build-
ing the Church of the Ascension on the banks of the
Delaware, of which Dr. Clemson was rector.
Franklin Fell, still another warden, who had a place
at Faulkland, Delaware, with whom I was associated
in diocesan matters, used to call Grace Church a bee-
hive, on account of the great amount of Christian work
PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH. 207
there performed. The bees still work and make good
The Year Book of 1890 notes communicants' meet-
ings and cottage meetings conducted by laymen, and
the work of the female missionary, Mrs. P. C. Krall,
and district visiting. Wm. Waterall is the faithful Sun-
day-school superintendent. The Parochial Aid and
Dorcas and Women's Missionary Societies, and Young
Ladies' Industrial Society, and Beneficial Society, and
St. Andrew's Brotherhood, and Temperance Society,
indicate ardent work.
In 1849 Grace Church gave its assistant, Rev. Chas.
West Thomson, to St. John's parish, York, Pa., and
aided the parish generously in pecuniary matters.
Thos. A. Robinson, of Grace Church, presented that
church with a marble font in 1851. He once resided in
York. Would that many could gain pleasant remem-
brance by such acts. (See York in this volume.) The
assistant, Rev. Mr. Barker, also went to St. John's, Lan-.
caster, Pa., (See Lancaster in this volume). Working
city churches are good schools for assistants.
In 1878 Rev. James W. Ashton became associate rec-
tor. He is now rector of St. Stephen's, Olean, N. Y.
King's Handbook of Episcopal Churches, has a picture
of the beautiful church erected under his care. The
parish "growth has been remarkable " tmder this ener-
Rev. Dr. Reese F. Alsop was rector of Grace Church
from 1881 to 1886. He is a good and instructive
preacher and a wise worker.
He was educated in Philadelphia, and after taking his
degree of A. B., was for two years a law student in the
office of Samuel H. Perkins, Esq. He pursued his
theological studies partly in private and partly in the
208 PHILADELPHIA (PA.) GRACE CHURCH.
classes of the Philadelphia Divinity School, and was
ordained deacon by Bishop Bowman, and priest by
Bishop Hopkins, and was assistant at St. Philip's, rector
of St. John's Church, Framingham, Massachusetts ;
Christ Church, Rye, New York ; St. Andrew's, Pitts-
burgh ; Grace Church, Philadelphia, and St. Ann's,
Brooklyn. He wrote two series of Sunday-school
Rev. Dr. Stone succeeded Dr. Alsop. He has a mind
trained by study and disciplined by teaching. His
Bible readings cost the rector much study, but when
hundreds of men and women are drawn together on
week-day afternoons to hear expositions of God's holy
word, they repay the labor done in Christ's name and
the aid of the Holy Spirit.
The rector is fond of ecclesiastical history, and has
lately put out a book entitled, " Studies in Church His-
tory." His lectures in his own church and to the Sun-
day-school teachers collected at the church of the Holy
Apostles have been very useful. He speaks quietly but
forcibly, and lightens his thoughts on proper occasions
with flashes of humor. He composes well, and puts
ideas in such a striking manner as to compel attention.
May he long guide and instruct Grace Church.
James Samuel Stone was born in Shipston-on-Stowe,
Worcestershire, England, April 27, 1852. He came to
Philadelphia in 1872, and studied in the Philadelphia
Divinity School. He was ordained deacon in 1876, and
the bishop of Toronto, Canada, ordained him priest in
1877. He was rector of St. Philip's, Toronto, from 1879
to. 1 882, and of St. Martin's, Montreal, from 1882 to 1886,
when he became rector of Grace Church, Philadelphia.
He was Professor of Ecclesiastical History in Wycliffe
College, Toronto, and was well known as a lecturer in.
ST. DAVID'S, RADNOR.
By permission of J. B. Lippincott Co.
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 209
Canada. The degree of B. D. was given him by the
Episcopal Theological School in Cambridge, Massachu-
setts, and the same degree and also D. D. from Bishop's
College, Lehnoxville, Canada. He has written articles
for periodicals, and " Simple Sermons on Simple Sub-
jects," and "The Heart of Merrie England." This
sketch is abridged from Appleton's Cyclopaedia of
American Biography. I add that Bishop Stevens or-
dained Dr. Stone to the diaconate, and Bishop Bethune
to the priesthood. He was educated at Bishop's Col-
lege, Lennoxville, Canada.
Rev. Dr. Wm. C. French is an assistant-minister at
Grace Church. He was long and favorably known as
the editor of The Banner of the Cross in Ohio, which
has been merged into The Church in Philadelphia, ably
edited by him and his son, Rev. Willison B. French, and
published by W. E. Hering.
Rev. Hugh Q. Miller is also an assitant-minister. A
new work in connection with this parish has been started
in West Philadelphia.
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
(An anniversary sermon preached by the author of this volume on .Sunday,
September 7th, A. D. 1890.)
"The Messengers of the Churches and the Glory of Christ."
// Cor. 8:23.
St. Paul called his fellow-laborers "the glory of
Christ," because they were the means of spreading His
glory in teaching His holy Gospel. In thousands of
churches, in all lands, Christian ministers have per-
petuated this glory for nearly two thousand years, and
it shone across the Atlantic into this distant land.
Your rector has asked me to sketch the lives of those
who have minis.tered at this altar.
210 RADNOR (l'A.) ST. DAVID'S.
As we enter this pleasant, quiet valley and look on
this modest church, the distant land of Wales is recalled
by the name Radnor and the title St. David's. Radnor
is a county in South Wales, and St. David's is the seat
of a bishopric. The strong Welsh language, like the
Hebrew in power, used to resound within these walls in
the reading of the word of God and in preaching and
holy sacraments. Dr. Coit, in his History of Chris-
tianity in England, quotes Fuller as saying of the Welsh,
that these ancient Britons "living peaceably at home,
there enjoyed God, the Gospel and their mountains."
William Penn wrote Logan that Welshmen were
" mightily akin ;" and when they came here they de-
lighted to call the places after their loved fatherland,
and I am glad that their descendants are yet repeating
the good custom. The Church of St. Asaph, at Bala,
and that of Bangor, at Churchtown, in Lancaster County,
show this spirit. When the devout Welsh first settled
in this country their earnest pleading for clergy who
could teach them in their own tongue is touching.
St. David flourished in the sixth century, and was
bishop of Caerleon, the old town of the Legions of the
Roman army, but afterward removed his seat to Mene-
via, and the name of that town was changed to St.
David's, and the ancient bishop is buried in its cathe-
dral. Drayton calls him, " That reverend British saint."
He was noted for his zeal in maintaining orthodox
The sources of information for following out the his-
tory of this parish are the valuable Historical Collections
of Bishop Perry, which give the reports of the Mission-
aries of the Venerable Society for the Propagation of
the Gospel in Foreign Parts, and the Rev. Mr. -Halsey's
sermon and Mr. Henry Pleasant' s pamphlet, and par-
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 211
ticulars given me by friends and relatives of rectors.
The noble English Society named must ever be remem-
bered with reverence by us for its fostering care in our
early American church life.
In the Rev. Israel Acrelius's History of New Sweden,
translated by Rev. Dr. Reynolds, it is noted that on
May 9, A. D. 1715, the corner-stone of St. David's
Church, Radnor, was laid. The Swedish pastor, Sandel
of Gloria Dei Church was invited. A service was held
and a sermon preached in a private house. A proces-
sion then went to the site of the church. There a prayer
Avas offered, and each clergyman laid a stone as directed
by the master mason. Thus, under the blue sky which
now bends above us and amid these beautiful hills, was
begun a work for God for which many souls may bless
His holy name, who have found Christ here in the pass-
ing of the century and three-quarters which have since
rolled their years along time's course. The corner-
stone was laid in the reign of George the First.
The Rev. Mr. Halsey's anniversary sermon was
preached in 1867. He refers to the useful account of
the Propagation Society by its Secretary, Rev. Dr.
David Humphries; which names Evan Evans as first
visiting the Welsh settlements at Oxford and Radnor.
He was a zealous missionary in charge of Christ
Church, Philadelphia, who did much good work for the
Church of Christ in founding country parishes. I have
treated of him at length in a volume lately published on
the early clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware.
The Radnor people asked for a missionary, and in
1714 Rev. John Clubb became the missionary of Oxford
and Radnor. The flock thankfully received this earnest
man, but fatigue and exposure to the weather in his
long journeys between his churches, in the days of poor
212 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
roads, apparently shortened the life of this man, who
may be numbered among "the noble army of martyrs."
The Oxford parishioners expressed their sense of their
great loss in the death of their Godly minister who had
entered into the joy of his Lord. The church here was
built under this clergyman.
In 1718, Rev. Robert Weyman took charge of Oxford
and Radnor. He was diligent and zealous. He lived
at Oxford. He preached in Welsh at Radnor. He
gained the confidence of his people. He served Christ
faithfully. Governor Gordon describes him as a very
good man. Mr. Weyman also served Whitemarsh, and
had a well-attended afternoon lecture in Mr. Walton's
house at Frankford. He toiled eleven years in the
three parishes named, and his parishoners loved him, as
the Rev. Mr. Anderson notes in his History of the
Colonial English Church. He was, appointed in 1718,
but did not reach this province until 1719. The Col-
lections of the Protestant Episcopal Historical Society
mention him. Rev. Dr. Buchanan, in his History of
Trinity Church, Oxford, speaks of his great worth and
diligence in ministerial work. He often went to Cones-
toga, (Lancaster,) forty miles from his residence, to bap-
tize and perform clerical duty. He was afterward in
charge of Burlington parish, in New Jersey, and rector
of Bristol, Pennsylvania, as is noted in General Davis's
History of Bucks County. He died in the active service
of Christ with armor on. The day before his death he
wrote the Venerable Society praying that the blessing
of God might be upon its members. Rev. Edward
Vaughan watched his death-bed, and testified that he
had labored truly and faithfully in the Lord's vine-
yard. His heaven seemed to begin with his closing
hours on earth, Thomas's History of Printing names a
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 213
son of Mr. Weyman, called William, who learned the
business of printing under William Bradford, and pub-
lished the New York Gazette.
In 1731, Rev. Richard Backhouse officiated at Rad-
nor once a month. He had the charge of Chester, and
used to make toilsome journeys to do missionary work
in the country districts, going to Conestoga and Pequea.
He was an instructive preacher, and did not disappoint
his congregations in severe weather. He strove to
build up his scattered churches in " the beauty of holi-
ness," teaching them that the Doctrine and Government
of the English Church were in accordance with the
primitive Church of Christ. He taught several poor
children in Chester. His widow wrote the Secretary of
the Society that he died in 1749, well reported of on
account of "his long and painful labours in his Master's
vineyard among all sorts and degrees of people." His
frequent journey ings impaired his health, and seemed
to shorten his earthly life. " The flower of his days "
was spent " in the faithful discharge of the great trust
reposed in him."
In 1736, Rev. John Hughes was Missionary at Rad-
nor. In our advanced civilization and population it is
strange to read his report that he visited many Welsh
and English gentlemen who "lived far back in the
woods," and found a number of well-disposed persons
destitute of a minister. He went several times to them,
and preached " under the shade of a large tree," as the
houses were too small to contain those who came to
hear the Word of God. This was indeed a patriarchal
service in God's own temple. The date of the report
was 1733 or 1734. The Welsh greatly desired books,
and there were thousands of Welsh people then in Penn-
sylvania. The inhabitants of Conestoga beg for a
214 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
Welsh Bible and Prayer Book for their new church,
which has taken the place of the tree, and they are
ready to buy other Welsh books. Mr. Halsey notices
Mr. Hughes in his sermon. He visited the parishioners
at their houses, and instructed them in the fundamental
principles of religion, and preached and catechised every
Sunday at Radnor and Perquihoma, which last place is
now called Perkiomen, where. St. James's Church is sit-
uated. The old parishes which were associated in early
days ought to keep up a family interest in each other,
and I wish that sometime they could have a united
meeting at the old churches in turn, that the descend-
ants of the first patriarchs might look each other in the
face, and exchange Christian greetings, as they recall
the days of their fathers, with their hardships and their
In 1734, Mr. Hughes writes that he was the only per-
son officiating in Welsh. The people importuned him
for W.elsh books, which most were willing and able to
purchase. The missionary begs that they may be sent
as useful means of instruction much needed. The
inhabitants of Conestoga style Mr. Hughes "their dear
countryman," and mention his "great hardship" in
coming to preach to them monthly, to their " great com-
fort." Their numbers were thereby increased.
Rev. William Sturgeon, Assistant Minister of Christ
Church, Philadelphia, and Mr. Hughes wrote to the
Propagation Society suggesting that certain islands on
the sea-shore, and in the Delaware River be solicited
from the Crown to make an income to assist Church
work in this country, where the clergy were poor, and
in case of their deaths their widows and children were
left destitute of the necessaries of life. Certain manors
in Delaware, located for the Duke of York, which \vere
RADNOR' (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 215
then believed to be vested in the king, were also sug-
gested as proper subjects of request.
In 1719, there was a church-warden at Radnor named
Evan Hughes. He, with the other warden, Merick
Davis, reported that Rev. Dr. Evan Evans preached in
Radnor, at the house of William Davis fortnightly from
seventeen hundred during his residence in Philadelphia
gratuitously, and after his return from England he
preached at St. David's, Radnor, and Trinity Church,
Oxford, on alternate Thursdays. They add, "he laid
the foundation of the Church of England in these parts
as well as other places in this province, and we have
great reason to lament his departure. He removed to
Mr. Halsey thinks that probably Rev. William Curry
succeeded Mr. Hughes. He appears to have performed
baptisms in 1737. In 1776 he resigned, but still lived
here, and was buried in this churchyard near the chancel
of the church, and such graves are as a rich legacy to
incite to devoted work those who still work in the same
field. He was a faithful man. He was asked to preach
a sermon before the Convention of Pennsylvania. He
did service in this parish for a second time in his later
life. He lived to the age of 93. His wife was buried
in the same grave. His epitaph on her said that he
revered her memory and venerated her person.
I find Mr. Curry's reports in Bishop Perry's Collec-
tion. He writes from Radnor in 1740. In 1760 he
states that he has many hearers at Radnor and in the
Valley, which I suppose to be a reference to St. Peter's.
He had faithfully served the Society over twenty-three
years, and infirmity and old age approached. He did
not attend the Convention in 1760 on account of poor
health. In his extensive mission he neglected " no
2 1 6 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
opportunity that his health will permit," he says, " of
doing his duty." This is in the General Report of the
Convention to be sent to England.
Mr. Curry lived on his own place, which he sold
when his health became poor ; and being without a
habitation for his numerous family, he refers to a glebe
at Perquihoma Church which had no house on it, and
asks the Society to enjoin the congregations to rebuild
the house or buy one more convenient. It is pleasant
to look on your new rectory on the hillside, a few rods
from the church, and be thankful that the present rector
does not have this inconvenience.
The Bishop of London sent two hundred copies of his
sermons as a gift for the use of the Pennsylvania
churches. They were distributed at a convention held
in 1760. Mr. Curry received twelve for the Mission of
Radnor. It would be interesting to know if any are
remaining in this parish. Such gifts were important
and useful in those days of few books, and you might
have seen those who received the precious volumes
poring over them on the Lord's Day and in the leisure
evenings. In the Report of the Convention to the
Society we read of Mr. Curry as follows : " He is much
esteemed in his mission, which is a very extensive one."
In 1763, Mr. Curry reports that the Dutch buy out the
English and settle in their place at Perquihoma, which
affects his work there detrimentally. The glebe was
rented out, and besides the Society's salary, the poor
clergyman had only about 20 a year from marriages
to support his family. The Radnor people did not
wish Mr. Curry to live on Perquihoma glebe, the house
of which that congregation wished rebuilt. The Radnor
parishioners thought that this distant situation would be
inconvenient for them and would not subscribe, but
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. ' 217
suggested the purchasing of a small glebe betwixt them
and St. Peter's by the conjoint action of those two
churches, but Mr. Curry doubted their ability to do
this, as the price of land was very high ; so the mission-
ary thought of living on the Perquihoma glebe, unless
the other two churches bought or hired a house for his
In your Church Records there is a letter from Mr.
Curry dated May 13, 1776, to the Vestry. It states that "
age and infirmity cause the writer to decline public
work, but that he would pray for the people privately
and while he breathed ; and- he asks his flock to pray
for themselves when they could not have church service,
and make the chamber as a Goshen and find calmness
in the room of prayer ; as when the destroying angel
devastated the Egyptians, those in Goshen were free
and had light in their dwellings when darkness prevailed
in Egypt, so the light of God would shine in the closet
of devotion like the angel pillar of light. So private
prayer should be performed until the troublous*times
were overpast, and the lifting up of the hands should be
as an evening sacrifice.
He writes thus : " My dear little flock, I bid you
heartily farewell, and am with great love and affection
your faithful pastor till death." Mr. Curry had been
ordered to desist from service on Government accounts
in Revolutionary days, when the clergy under the Eng-
lish Church were in. a hard position. He remained in
the neighborhood, and when called to the rectorship
declined, though he had formerly acted as missionary.
He served in private houses for years after the letter
was written. Rev. Mr. Curry's place was at Valley
4 Forge, next to Mr. Peterson's. (A descendant, Miss
Anderson, was present at this service.)
2l8 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
The Rev. Slator Clay was minister here in 1789,
perhaps succeeding Mr. Curry.
REV. SLATOR CLAY.
(From Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware^
I would add to the notes already given that Rev. Dr.
Sprague's Annals of the American Episcopal Pulpit (pp.
355-357) contain a most interesting account of Rev.
Slator Clay (A. D. 1787 to A. D. 1821,) by his son,
Rev. Jehu C. Clay, D. D.
He was the son of Slator and Ann Clay, having been
born in Newcastle, Delaware, October i, 1754. His
mother was the daughter of Jehu Curtis, Speaker of the
Delaware Assembly, 'Judge of the Supreme Court and
Treasurer of the Loan Office. The Judge is buried in
the Newcastle churchyard. Benjamin Franklin wrote
Slator Clay studied law and was admitted to the bar.
In 1779 or 1 780 he went to the West Indies with a friend
who was a sea captain. This was during the Revo-
lutionary war, and a British privateer captured the ves-
sel and Mr. Clay was put on shore on the Island of
Antigua with only one piece of money in his possession.
However, he took passage for New York, then held by
the British. A sailor proposed mutiny, and Mr. Clay
informed the captain, and the ringleader and perhaps
others were confined. The vessel was seized by an
American privateer. Mr. Clay afterward gained the
confidence of the mutineer. The vessel was endangered _
by the sea off Hatteras and wrecked on Bermuda rocks.
At Bermuda the young lawyer taught school for six
years. His dangerous voyage turned his thoughts to
religion. A Presbyterian clergyman, Dr. Muir, of*
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 219
Alexandria, to whom he confided his views, led him on
in his new life. He determined to enter the ministry.
His warm friends, in Bermuda desired him to be or-
dained by the Bishop of London and serve "as their
pastor." This was being arranged when Mr. Clay
heard of the proposed consecration of Bishop White,
and wishing to return to the land of his nativity, though
he loved his island friends, sailed for Philadelphia, ar-
riving there in 1786. That year Rev. Dr. Collin mar-
ried him to Mrs. Hannah Hughes, a widow lady. They
had " four children a daughter and three sons." On
December 23, A. D. 1787, Bishop White ordained
Slator Clay a deacon in Christ Church, Philadelphia.
This was the year of the bishop's consecration. On the
1 7th of the next February he was ordained priest in St.
Peter's Church. He became rector of St. James's, Per-
kiomen. The church had been built in 1721. He was
also rector of St. Peter's, Great Valley, Chester County,
and St. David's, Radnor, which had been built in 1713.
Mr. Clay was furthermore assistant minister of the
Swedish parish of Christ Church, Upper Merion (Bridge-
port), under Dr. Collin's rectorship. Episcopal clergy
were scarce and their fields wide. In 1790, Mr. Clay
moved from Upper Merion to Perkiomen, where a par-
sonage had been erected for him, and there was "a
glebe of some thirty acres." He gave a part of his time
to St. Thomas's, Whitemarsh, in addition to his work
at the other churches named, though he went to Rad-
nor more seldom, as it was so distant from his new
home. He was called to Alexandria, Virginia, but pre-
ferred to remain in his quiet country home. Where he
began his ministerial work he ended it, dying September
25, 1821. Like Goldsmith's parson, he changed not his
place. He was highly honored for his sincere piety
220 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
which shone in his life. In favorable weather his
churches "were always crowded." The hearers felt
that the preacher exemplified his doctrine. "Jesus
Christ and Him crucified," was his great theme. He
thought little of human merit, but much of Christ's suf-
ficiency for man's salvation. He was a natural and
earnest preacher, and his voice was agreeable. He died
at sixty-seven, closing " a life of faith on earth in a sure
hope of entering on a life of glory in eternity."
Mr. Clay was about five feet and eight inches high,
and his body was slender and delicate, his eyes were of
a hazel color, and his countenance was " benign and in-
teresting." He was affable to friends. His Christian
character made him humble, gentle and childlike.
His son, Rev. Dr. Jehu Curtis Clay, followed his
father in the rectorship for a year. (See Norristown in
this volume for an account of him.)
Slator Clay's elder 'brother, Robert, was a church
clergyman. His birth occurred on October 18, 1749.
He was in a mercantile establishment in Philadelphia in
youth. Bishop White ordained him about 1787. He
" was for thirty-six years rector of the church at New-
castle, and died December, 1831. He was a fine reader
of the Church Service and sustained an unblemished
reputation. He was never married."
Rev. Caleb Hopkins appears to have served the par-
ish for a time.
Mr. Halsey thought that perhaps he assisted Mr.
Clay, who held St. David's Church till 1817. He was
rector of St. James's, Muncy, and St. Gabriel's, Sugar
Loaf, Pennsylvania, in 1823. He was ordained dea-
con by Bishop White in 1794. Mr. Hopkins went to
Western New York in 1823, and died September 5th,
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 221
From i Si 8 to 1832 Rev. Samuel C. Brinckle was rec-
tor, and was successful in work. He organized the
Sunday-school, which has done so much good where in
this rustic churchyard the young have been taught to
look beyond the surrounding tombs to the glory above.
It is said that Mr. Brinckle once preached to a single
hearer in yonder gallery. The celebrated father of
Henry Ward Beecher is, I think, reported to have done
the same, converting the one whom he addressed by
the power of God. Sunday-school work is individual
preaching and many personal home talks are sermons.
I heartily wish that there were more of them. In old
times parents sometimes made expositions of Scripture
or exhortations at family prayer.
Rev. Samuel Crawford Brinckle was born in Dover,
in 1796. He was a graduate of Princeton College, was
ordained deacon by Bishop White, in 1818, and priest
the next year. His wife was Julia, daughter of John
Ru'msey, Esq., of Wilmington. Rev. Levi Bull per-
formed the marriage in. 1821. In 1818 Rev. Mr. Brinckle
became rector of St. David's Church, Radnor, Pennsyl-
vania, when he was twenty-two years old, and served
the parish fourteen years, being also rector of St. Peter's,
Great Valley, for twelve of these years. He had charge
of a number of churches in Delaware County, Pennsyl-
vania. In 1832 he assumed the rectorship of Grace
Church, Philadelphia, remaining there two years. In
1834 he became assistant to Rev. Dr. Jehu C. Clay in
the Swedish Churches of St. James's, Kingsessing, and
Wicacoa, that is Gloria Dei, in Philadelphia, and Christ
Church, Upper Merion, afterward becoming rector of
the country churches named, and holding them thirteen
years and a half. In 1848 on the beautiful Brandy wine
Creek, near Wilmington, he organized Christ Church,
222 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
Christiana Hundred, and a stone church of goodly
appearance arose, which was filled by a flourishing con-
gregation. Here he ended his honored and useful life
on earth on the twelfth of March, A. D. 1863, at the
age of sixty-seven, dying in the forty-fifth year of his
ministry, or shall we not say entering on a new life
^before God?. From "Early Clergy of Pennsylvania
We next find Rev. Simon Wilmer in the rectorship of
St. David's for a short time. He was the father of the
Bishop of Louisiana.
His first parish was on the eastern shore of Maryland,
where he was settled from 1805 to 1808, in which year
he was called to Swede^boro, New Jersey, and he labored
there until 1820. He then took a parish on the eastern
shore of Virginia. In 1824 he was called back to
Swedesboro. He frequently had charge of three or
four churches at once. When officiating at Radnor, St.
Peter's Church in the Valley was also under his care.
He was once rector of St Matthew's Church in Phila-
delphia. This good and fatherly clergyman was born
in Kent County, Maryland, Dec. 25, 1779. The Rev.
Christmas Evans took his name from the fact that he
was born on Christmas day, and it seems a happy birth-
'day for a clergyman whose mission is to treat of the
birth and life of his Saviour. Mr. Wilmer died in
Charles County, Maryland on the twentieth of May, A.
D. 1840, He was very earnest and was active in his
sacred labors. He died when he was rector of Christ
Church, Prince George's County, and St. John's Chapel,
Charles County, Maryland.
Mr. Wilmer was a leader among his brethren. He
was a friend and supporter of Alexandria Theological
Seminary in Virginia, and was a friend of the venerable
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 223
Bishop Chase of Ohio. His Christian character shone
out in his earnest life work.
The Rev. William Henry Rees, D. D., was the next
rector, resigning in 1838. The church prospered under
his care. He was of medium height, a good faithful
worker and preacher, and a bright, intelligent, cordial
Christian. A son, who pleasantly recalls the blessed
memory of early childhood in this parish, gives me,
details of his father's Ijfe. Dr. Rees was a native of
Philadelphia, born in 1805, and studied under Rev.
. James Wiltbank, at the Episcopal Academy, and was
in the University of Pennsylvania, being a classmate of
Prof. Henry Reed. He graduated at Alexandria Theo-
logical Seminary when only twenty years old, and
studied with Bishop White, until he was ordained dea-
con by the bishop when twenty-one years of age. He
became assistant to Dr. Bedell at St. Andrew's, and then
.rector of St. James the Greater, Bristol, Pa. His next
parish was Trinity Church, Elkton, Md., St. David's,
Radnor was his next field of labor. His other rector-
ates were St. Paul's, West Whiteland, in connection
with St. Peter's, Great Valley, in Pennsylvania, All
Hallows' Parish, Worcester County, Maryland, St.
John's, New Milford, Conn., St. Luke's, Rossville, Sta-
ten Island, Christ Church, Upper Merion, Pa., Calvary
Church, Summit, N. J., and St. Phillip's Church, New-
ark, N. J., under Bishop Odenheimer. When in poor
, health, he performed occasional services to within a
short time of his death, on Sept. 3, A. D. 1869. He
was buried under the shadow of St. James's Church,
Bristol. Dr. Rees was the president of Mount Vernon
Institute in Chester County, Pa. I noticed on his tomb-
stone the words, " Simply to Thy Cross I Cling."
The Rev. Willie or Wiley Peck, was the rector of St.
224 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
David's next in succession. He resigned in 1845.
was tall in stature. The Diocesan Journal shows that
in 1846 Bishop Potter gave letters dimissory to this
clergyman to Mississippi. The Rev. N. Logan, of
Vicksburg, writes me that in the same year Bishop
Otey's address notes his reception. He was tempo-
rarily in charge of Trinity Church, Natchez. The next
year he was transferred to Louisiana. The present old
rectory was built in Mr. Peck's day. Mr. Peck was
ordained by Bishop B. T. Onderdonk in 1834, and died
The following letter is from the Reverend Secretary
of the Council of the Diocese of Louisiana :
In the history of this Diocese, written two years ago
by your correspondent, under head of Christ Church,
Covington, I find as follows :
"In 1846 the Rev. Wiley Peck organized a parish in
Covington. Work on the church was at once com-
menced. There were but few that were interested and
they were in moderate circumstances. But with willing
hearts they found the means to build God's House, with
'little or no assistance' beyond the local contributions.
In less than a twelvemonth a neat church was completed
and presented for consecration, April n, 1847. In that
year also, the rectory was built. While devoting himself
to the sick, poor and dying of the parish, Mr. Peck fell a .
victim to the deadly malady yellow fever then
epidemic. He was of a warm and affectionate dispo-
sition, and his devotion to duty enshrined his memory
in the hearts of his people."
Bishop Polk in his Convention Address of 1848 said :
"The Rev. Wiley Peck who was with us on the last
occasion of our conventional meeting, with as strong a
probability as any of our own number of being spared
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 225
many years for the Church's service, has been called to
his account. He was cut down in the midst of his
years and his usefulness, falling a victim to a deadly
disease, while devoting himself to the relief of the sick,
poor, and dying of his parish. In his warm and affec-
tionate Christian heart, and his cordial devotion to the
work of his Master, we cannot but remember qualities
which endeared him to us while living, and now call for
a record of our sorrow, that we should have been thus
early deprived of his presence as a companion and fel-
low laborer in the field which has been assigned to us."
Eight of the clergy of this diocese were ordained by
bishops of Pennsylvania, so that your proposed book
might gather some materials from our Diocesan History.
Others of our clergy have also resided in Pennsylvania.
HERMAN C. 'DUNCAN.
111.1846 Rev. Dr. William W. Spear was rector of this
church. He was born in Chapel Hill, North Carolina,
and received his theological education at the General
Theological Seminary in New York City. He was first
rector of St. Luke's Church, Philadelphia, and was rec-
tor of Grace Church, Charleston, for several years. Dr.
Spear is a writer of considerable power, and a man
whose experience in the history of the American
Church is interesting. He now resides at Ephratah, Pa.
The Rev. Breed Batcheller was your next rector.
Rev. Breed Batcheller was born in New Hampshire,
and graduated at Dartmouth College, in Hanover, in
that State, standing high in his knowledge of Greek.
He was also a good Hebrew scholar. He was of fine
personal appearance, being six feet and two inches in
height and very dignified, and yet having a gentleness
226 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID's.
proceeding from a naturally refined and amiable nature,
joined with a high Christian character.
He was ordained by Bishop Alonzo Potter, in Phila-
delphia, in 1844 or 1845. St. David's was his first par-
ish. He was universally beloved here, and when he
went to Greensburg, in Western Pennsylvania, all re-
gretted his departure.
After several years' service there, he went to Dela-
ware as rector of St. James's Church, Stanton, under
saintly Bishop Lee. He also officiated at Newport.
His name appears in the Diocesan Journals of Delaware,
from 1850 to 1854. He died in Baltimore in 1857, in
the winter, being prostrated by pneumonia, His beau-
tiful character and personal magnetism influenced all
that met him, even little children who saw him but for a
short interview. He was a pure spirit, who adorned
the ministry by his faithful life of service to Christ. His
manner was quiet. An excellent wife aided- his work.
He had one son and two daughters. One daughter
married Hon. Nicholas Brewer, of Annapolis, Mary-
land, and the other, Professor Johnson/ of Baltimore.
He once assisted the Rev. James H. Fowles, at Epiph-
any Church, Philadelphia, and he had a school at
Mr. Batcheller lived at Brandywine Springs and
Christine, in Delaware, and officiated at Christ Church,
Christiana Hundred, as well as at St. James's, Stanton
and Brandywine Springs. Mrs. Batcheller died several
years ago, and the son died in South America. Mr.
Batcheller lived two years in Calvert County, Maryland,
and did some clerical work when able, though he was
ill most of the time. He is now in a land where they
no more say, " I am sick."
Rev. Dr. John A. Childs is noted by Mr. Halsey,
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
whose list I follow, as the succeeding rector. He is a
Philadelphia!!, and a graduate of Princeton College.
He studied law but afterward graduated at the General
Theological Seminary, and was first settled at Wad-
dington, St. Lawrence County, New York. He next
became rector of St. Peter's, Lewes, Delaware, doing
general church work in Sussex County, building St.
Mark's Church, Millsboro', and the Chapel of the Holy
Comforter, which was a Chapel of Ease of St. George's,
From Delaware he came to Radnor. He afterward
settled in Philadelphia, assisting Bishop Potter in or-
ganizing the Episcopal Hospital, doing church work
and acting as bishop's Secretary and Secretary of the
Convention, and of various e'cclesiastical societies. He
assisted Bishop Potter in organizing the Philadelphia
Divinity School, of which he was a Professor, and is
now Secretary of the Boards of the Institution. All
that know this diocese are aware of the unflagging zeal
and wise interest with which he has watched over this
varied work for long years.
The Rev. Henry Brown next meets us in the rector-
ship. He was born in Philadelphia, and in childhood
was a parishoner of the excellent Dr. Boyd, rector of
St. John's, Northern Liberties, now under the care of
Rev. George Latimer. Mr. Brown studied theology
under Dr. Boyd and Dr. Piggot, of Maryland. He was
head-master of an -academy on the Eastern Shore of
Maryland. He was ordained deacon by Bishop Onder-
donk, in 1839, in Grace Church, Philadelphia, of which
Dr. Suddards was rector. The Rev. Mr. Hallowell was
ordained with him. Mr. Brown's first parish was Lewis-
town, Pennsylvania, and his second was St. Paul's, Cen-
treville, Queen Anne's County, Maryland. Thence he
228 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
came to Radnor, where he remained four years and a
half. He started a service in a hall on the Lancaster
turnpike, and the pretty stone Church of the Redeemer
arose with its tower. I always regret the loss of the
picturesque English-looking church by the side of the
railway, though its successor at Bryn Mawr is doing a
noble work under the rectorship of Rev. James Haugh-
ton. The Rev. Mr. Lycett should always be kept in
remembrance for faithful work in that parish. He rests
near the church wall in hope of a blessed resurrection.
Mr. Brown went from Radnor to Beverly, New Jersey,
and then became rector of St. Paul's, Chester, Pennsyl-
vania, where for over twenty-seven years he has worked
with great diligence and success in a growing town
which demanded much toil. His Sunday-sclwol work
deserves special notice, as with Bible Classes it numbers
over five hundred.
(See Chester for further account of Mr. Brown's work.)
Bishop Whittingham ordained Mr. Brown a priest in
1841. This rector was much beloved both in this par-
ish and that of the Redeemer, which was then asso-
ciated with St. David's.
From 1855 to 1861 Rev. Richardson Graham was
rector of St. David's. He graduated at Kenyon Col-
lege, Ohio, and the Alexandria Theological Seminary
in Virginia ; and went to China as a missionary with his
wife, Elizabeth, the accomplished daughter of Rev. Dr.
Boyd. On his return to this country he became rector
of Helena parish, Beaufort, S. C., and afterward of
Edgefield and Wiltown in the same State. He then
came to St. David's, Radnor, and on leaving this place
was in charge of St. Andrew's Chapel, in Philadelphia,
assisting Dr. (afterward bishop) Stevens. The chapel
afterward became the Church of the Messiah, now
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 229
under the Rev. Francis H. Bushnell, in South Broad
Street. Mr. Graham was afterward chaplain in the
United States Hospital Service and rector of St. John's,
Concord, Pennsylvania. He is now a missionary under
the ecclesiastical authority of this diocese, residing in
From 1 86 1, Rev. Thomas G. Clemson was rector of
Radnor for five years. He was a native of Chester,
Penna., and the son of Rev. Dr. John B. Clemson, who
has long been widely known in the church. His
maternal grandfather was Rev. Dr. Bull, a most worthy
church clergyman in Chester County, Pennsylvania.
Mr. Clemson was my room-mate in Trinity College,
Hartford, Connecticut, and as a brother to me, and I
delight in giving a loving tribute to his memory. He
studied at Mr. Bolmar's School, in West Chester,
where his father was once chaplain, When God called
him to the ministry he entered Trinity College, and
afterward studied theology in the Alexandria Seminary,
in Virginia; Rev. Phillips Brooks was a class-mate.
His first clerical work was at Holmesburg, Philadelphia,
where he had charge of the parish in the absence of the
rector, Dr. Lundy, for several months; and next he
undertook similar work for a short time at St. John's,
Wilmington, when the rector, Rev. Dr. Stevens Parker,
was away from the parish for a time. Then Mr. Clem-
son came here. I well remember announcing in this
chancel his acceptance of your call. He was much
loved by this flock. He was handsome in person and
agreeable in manner, and a good sermon writer. His
youth made him like a son to the older parishoners,
who sympathize with those beginning clerical work.
He foresaw the coming growth on the railway and held
service at a school-house at Paoli, and, I believe,
230 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
secured a lot on the turnpike for a projected chapel. He
went hence to Morristown, New Jersey, to the Church
of the Redeemer. He married Miss Ogden, of Wad-
dington, New York, and his widow and daughters now
reside in Media. From Morristown, Mr. Clemson went
to Amsterdam, New York, and afterward to Clyde, in
the same State, and then to Waddington, New York.
Here he labored several years amidst an affectionate
flock. At last sickness came, which was borne in
patient Christian faith, though tears flowed when weak-
ness forbade him to continue his loved Sunday-school
work ; and soon " he was not, for God took him." His
beloved seminary friend, Rev. T. H. Cullen, of Free-
hold, New Jersey, and myself laid him to rest in beauti-
ful Laurel Hill. Six months after I stood by the death-
bed of his only son, a brave Christian lad just com-
mencing life's battle, but bidden by God to lay down
his arms and join his father in Paradise.
Mr. Clemson was ordained deacon by Bishop Lee, in
Delaware, in 1859, and died at Waddington, New York,
in 1888. The ivy on the church was planted in his
rectorship. May it keep his memory green.
If Mr. Clemson was as a son to the elder members of
the parish, the following rector, Mr. Halsey, came here
at an age and with a valuable experience, which made
him as a father to all.
William Frederick Halsey was a native of New York
State, and was born in Pittsburgh, on March 24, 1807.
He died. in the rectory at Radnor, October 15, A. D.
1882. His parents were Zophar and Eliza (Cooper)
Halsey. He studied at Bristol College, Pennsylvania,
and perhaps at Kenyon College, Ohio. He pursued
the study^of theology at Lexington, Kentucky ; Bishop
Mcllvaine, of Ohio, ordained him in September, 1837.
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 231
His first parish was Circleville, Ohio. I cannot give a
list of all his parishes, but Mount Vernon, Ohio ; High-
gate, Vermont ; Columbus, Mississippi ; Sing Sing and
Port Jarvis, New York, and Montrose, Pennsylvania,
were among them. At Montrose he married Elizabeth
Hannah Biddle, and this Christian lady died here on
the 1 9th of February, 1881. Mr. Halsey held this rec-
torship from 1866 to 1882. He was versed in Mental
Philosophy, and had taught, in that favorite branch of
his knowledge. He understood statesmanship, and was
mechanical, having inventive talent. He had been hon-
ored as the friend of many cultured people, and his
anecdotes and experiences of life were interesting. His
appearance was striking and dignified, and he was the
beau-ideal of a clergyman. His mental poAver was more
than ordinary, but his Christian character moves our
thought to-day, for his abilities were laid at the foot of
the Cross of Christ, and he now sleeps in your ancient
churchyard, waiting the summons to rise with his be-
loved flock at the Day of Judgment. The similarity in
appearance and character between Dr. Buchanan, who
was rector of Trinity Church, Oxford, while Mr. Halsey
held Radnor, which was formerly associated with Ox-
ford, often struck me.
During Mr. Halsey's rectorship, Longfellow wrote
his poem on the old church. It was a pretty sight
when the aged rector, who had given his life to Christ's
service, and the aged poet, who had lifted the thoughts
in many a farm-house, stood together under these trees.
The church and rector may remind one of good George
Herbert, the English Country Parson, at Bemerton.
The poem of Longfellow commences thus :
"What an image of peace and rest
Is this little church among its graves !
232 RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S.
All is so quiet ; the troubled breast,
The wounded spirit, the heart oppressed,
Here may find the repose it craves."
The poem first appeared in Lippincotfs Magazine,
June, A. D. 1880, with the picture which precedes this
sermon in this volume.
The son of this rector, Rev. James Biddle Halsey,
continues his father's sacred work at Granite Falls,
Your present rector, Rev. George A. Keller, assumed
the rectorship on Septuagesima Sunday, January 21,
A. D. 1883. He was born in Philadelphia, and edu-
cated at a Public School and at St. John's School, in
Camden, in charge of Rev. Theophilus M. Reilly. He
graduated at St. Stephen's College, Annandale, New
York, and studied at the General Theological Seminary
in New York City. He became assistant minister at
Christ Church, New York City, where he labored seven
years, and he has been over seven years at Radnor.
You know the good work he has done among you, and
in another quarter of a century may another stand in
this chancel and tell more of what he and his successors
have done for Christ.
A log church is said to have preceded this one of
stone in which we meet to-day. At the great anniver-
sary in Mr. Halsey's day Dr. Buchanan, and Dr. Childs,
and Bishop Morris, and the Rev. Messrs. Brown and
Glemson made addresses. King's Hand-book of Epis-
copal Churches has a picture of St. David's and a brief
Mr. Pleasant's pamphlet states that the ruins of the
log house of Mr. Davis, where services were held, are
on the Tryon Lewis place. This present church was
built near a spring of water let it remind us of the
RADNOR (PA.) ST. DAVID'S. 233
living water which Christ has here poured into many a
thirsty soul. The earthly water is for a time, the
spiritual water is everlasting.
This church in the clerical associations has echoed
the words of Dr. Bull, and Dr. Jehu C. Clay, and Dr.
Richard Newton. Hundreds attended these services,
which lasted three days. For a time after Mr. Batch-
eller's rectorship, Rev. Thomas G. Allen served here.
He was an earnest and Godly man, who deserves to be
remembered. He wrote a good memoir of his brother,
Rev. Benjamin Allen, the zealous rector of St. Paul's,
Philadelphia. Thomas G. Allen was the father-in-law
of Rev. Dr. Childs.
Dr. William A. Muhlenberg first officiated as lay-
reader in this church, reading a sermon from Gisborne
on the Love of God. What a noble life of Christian
work and influence succeeded this beginning. The
rector's library here has one book marked John Hum-
phrey, 1713, and another with the name of the mission-
ary, Alexander Howie, and the date 1737. The old
leather binding indicates antiquity.
Such relics bring the dead before us. Have . their
lives closed, and can we only recall them by the few
words written and spoken to-day ? No, they have only
begun, and their works are following them heavenward.
What are you doing to imitate these rectors and share
their heavenly joy ? Live such lives of Christian faith
as they lived ; endow this church to continue their
work ; and do whatever Christian labor God puts into
your hand in this fleeting life, which determines your
eternal state ; and now draw near to the Holy Com-'
munion, feeling that you are uniting "with Angels"
and the sainted dead, and with Christ Himself, as
Charles Wesley sings :
234 SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER.
"One family, we dwell in Him ;
One church above, beneath ;
Though now divided by the stream,
The narrow stream of death.
One army of the living God,
To His command we bow ;
Part of His host has crossed the flood,
And part is crossing now."
SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER.
A VILLAGE PARISH OF RAPID GROWTH.
Sayre bears the distinction of being the most northern,
parish of the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania. It is
situated near the State line, on a level plain, lying be-
tween the Susquehanna (north branch) and Chemung
Rivers, having the old town of Athens as its near neigh-
bor to the south, and Waverly, New York, to the north.
The country itself is picturesque and interesting. The
two beautiful rivers come flowing down, skirting high
hills on either side, the one from the northeast, the
other from the northwest, and unite their waters .three
miles to the south, forming what is historically known
as Tioga Point.
This Point was the gate of entry and exit for Indian
traffic and Indian warfare, even up to the close of the
last century ; the Susquehanna Valley from this place
southward being the natural avenue of communication
between the powerful Six Nations of New York and the
tribes of the Wyoming Valley. At this point lived
Queen Esther, of bloody memory. Here General Sul-
livan, on his Indian raid, which followed the barbarous
massacre at Wyoming, encamped and awaited the army
of General Clinton, before they proceeded northward
CHURCH OF THE REDEEMER, SAYRE.
By permission of " The Churchman."
SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER. 235
with their united forces of 5000 men to punish savage
cruelty and assert the majesty of the Nation's laws.
Here in. 1790 Colonel Timothy Pickering, as Commis-
sioner for the United States, met in council delegates
from the Six Nations, and entered into a treaty whereby
the Indians ceded their hunting grounds in this section.
Very few Indians were seen here after this event.
But they have left us their mementoes :
"Their name is on our waters, we may not wash it out."
From this time the country began to be developed;
but the day of the Church was long delayed, inasmuch
as the early settlers were Connecticut sectarians, and
looked upon all churchmen as royalists per se.
The wagon-road as an avenue for commerce was
succeeded in part by the North Branch and Chemung
Canal, which was completed in 1856, and the canal was
superseded by the Lehigh Valley Railroad in 1869.
From this time the development was rapid. The railroad
company in 1871 decided to place its northern division
repair shops between Waverly and Athens, and. to build
a town for the accommodation of its employees. This
was the origin of Sayre, which was so named in honor
of Robert H. Sayre, who, by the way, prophesied that this
plain would some day be covered by a city.
Sayre is purely a railroad town. The people are
industrious and intelligent. Their homes are new, com-
fortable, and picturesque.
In 1876 Mr. Robert A. Packer took up his abode here,
built himself a costly residence, and on May loth, 1877,
with others, organized a parish under the name of
Church of 'the Redeemer. The beginnings were small ;
a few communicants, a vestry necessarily partly secta-
rian, and worship held in a room over a store.
236 SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER.
The next advance was to take a small building'which
had served for a station restaurant, and convert it into a
temporary church, which was done very successfully.
This building now serves the purpose of a parish build-
The first clergyman to administer the Sacraments was
the Rev. J. A. Brown, who was present at the organiza-
tion of the parish, and in May, 1877, presented three
candidates to Bishop Howe for confirmation, and in June
of the same year baptized seven infants.
In May, 1877, the Rev. George F. Rosenmuller was
called as the first rector, who also served the parish at
Athens, which had been started in 1843 and incorporated
December 3d, i86t. Mr. Rosenmuller remained until the
Autumn of 1882. Under his administration fifty-five
were baptized, and twenty-seven confirmed.
The Rev. William B. Morrow, Mus. B., was next
called. He served the parish about four years. During
his recto rate eighty-eight persons were baptized, and
It was during Mr. Morrow's rectorship that Mr.
Packer had plans drawn for a stone church. It was his
intention to present a church and rectory to the parish,
together with a handsome endowment. His early and
sudden death prevented the consummation of his gen-
After Mr. Morrow's leaving, the parish was vacant for
eight months. In October, 1887, the Rev. Leighton
Coleman, D.D., who had just returned from a length-
ened sojourn in England, was called to the parish. Mrs.
Charles H. Cummings, the sister of the late Robert A.
Packer, had determined to assume her brother's place
in benefactions to the Church of the Redeemer, and gave
Dr. Coleman directions to erect a stone church, for
SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER. 237
which purpose she .gave $33,oo. She also promised to
give a generous amount each year towards the rector's
The corner-stone of the new church was laid by Bishop
Howe, assisted by Bishop Rulison, in June, 1888.
Dr. Coleman, though here for only one year, being
called to the Bishopric of Delaware, did a phenomenal
work in reviving the life of the parish, which had suffered
from the vacancy and other causes, and in instilling new
life, and extending the Church's influence. He baptized
seventy-four infants and adults, and presented in his one
class for confirmation thirty-seven candidates.
With the first Sunday in Advent, 1888, the present rec-
tor, the Rev. Charles Mortimer Carr, M. A., began his
rectorship, which for nearly a year was largely occupied
with the supervision of the building and completion of
the church. The church was finally consecrated on the
twenty-fourth of September, 1889, by the Rt. Rev. N. S.
Rulison. It is a beautiful piece of Gothic architecture,
designd by Charles M. Burns, of Philadelphia, remind-
ing one of some of the English village churches. It is
constructed of Barclay stone, a light-colored conglom-
erate, and is finished on the inside with brick and iron.
The furniture is all of the finest quartered oak. The
harmony of color within is especially pleasing, at once
suggestive of reverent worship. To the right of the
chancel is an "Invalids' Chapel," to which, on the out-
side, an inclined plane leads, provided for the accommo-
dation of convalescing patients from the Robert Packer
Hospital, the residence formerly of Mr. Packer, which is
opposite the church. This chapel has a separate chancel
and altar, and is used for early communions. Beneath
the main chancel is a mortuary chapel, providing accom-
modations for those patients who die at the hospital.
238 SAYRE (C.) THE REDEEMER.
At the northwest corner of the church stands a massive
square tower in which is a clock and bell which strike
During one year and ten months the present rector
has baptized seventy persons, and presented forty-one
This parish is an instance of rapid and steady growth.
It has, it is true, had the good fortune to have a wealthy
family interested in it; but the town is new, the first
houses having been built in 1874, and as yet numbers
only 3300 souls, and has always been chiefly sectarian.
When these things are considered, the statistics for the
thirteen years of the parish's existence are remarkable.
Two hundred and ninety-five have been baptized, one
hundred and forty-six confirmed, and two hundred and
ten communicants have been connected with the parish,
the present number being one hundred and thirty, not
more than six of whom were reared in the church.
Curiously, too, the present rector was of Methodist
descent, and his wife, Presbyterian. This parisli illus-
trates the power of the American Church over American
sectarianism by means of her reverent services, and her
insistance upon the sacramental character of Chris-
The Rev. Charles Mortimer Carr was born in Hobo-
ken, N. J., August i2th, 1857, was graduated B. A. from
St. Stephen's College in 1881, and from the General
Theological Seminary in 1884. He was ordained deacon
the same year and priest the following year by Bishop
Starkey. Before going to Sayre he assisted the Rev.
Henry L. Jones of St. Stephen's Church, Wilkesbarre,
for three years, having charge of two missions, viz., St.
Andrew's, Alden, and St George's, Nanticoke, building
a church at the latter place.
TITUSVILLE (P.) ST. JAMES'S MEMORIAL. 239
. TITUSVILLE (P.) sr. JAMES'S MEMORIAL.
The main object of this book has been to narrate the
lives of the clergy, and in following out the history of
.some parishes the number of clergy treated of has been
large, but we now meet with the most striking case of
fewness of clergy on our list. In 1887, Rev. Dr.
Henry Purdon delivered an Historical Address, which
lies before me, on the twenty-filth anniversary of his
rectorship. He has now been rector for twenty-eight
years, and is the first rector. How many of our parishes
could match this history, which speaks well for a devoted
pastor and a loving and appreciative flock ! May this
blessed relation continue until God calls the rector to
Paradise, and may it be noted, in these days of changing
rectorates, that one parish and one rector knew how to
live together for a lifetime. The rector here carries out
the old legal idea in ecclesiastical history that he is the
parson, that is, the persona ecclesice, or representative of
the church, and his life is intertwined with that o of his
parish, as the life of husband and wife seem sometimes
almost undistinguishably mingled in common cares and
The Memorial Sermon was delivered before the bishop
and the members of the Northern Convocation and
a large congregation. The text was I Cor. 2 : 2: "I
determined not to know anything among you save Jesus
Christ and Him crucified." The success of a quarter of
a century of faithful Christian work showed that the text
was fitly chosen ; for by what name may a church grow
great except by the power of that Divine name of Jesus
which is above every other name in heaven and earth.
The church is a memorial to the saintly Bishop Bowman.
It was called St. James in honor of the parish of that
240 TITUSVILLE (?.) ST. JAMES'S MEMORIAL.
name which he served in Lancaster. This quiet, but
strong man examined Dr. Purdon for admission to the
diaconate. In 1860, at a meeting of the Western Convo-
cation in Altoona, the historical sermon, which W now
follow, states that Dr. Page read an essay on itineracy,
and Rev. Jubal Hodges and Dr. Oliver made a report
concerning the churches in the convocation, naming
among points needing attention, Titusville, " the center
of the oil regions, abounding in wealth and^opulation."
In 1 86 1 Bishop Bowman visited the oil regions. He died
while walking along the railway, and his death stirred
the whole diocese with the feeling of personal loss in
that unexpected stroke. The clergy placed a monument
at the spot where he was found dead, which can be seen
from the car-windows near Freeport, with its inscription,
"The time is short; be ye also ready." The senior
bishop appealed for funds to be raised, on a Fast Day
appointed by the President, for a Memorial Chu'rch to
honor the devoted bishop. In 1862, Mr. Purdon was
appointed by Bishop Potter to serve Franklin and Titus-
ville. A goodly sum had been raised for a church at
Titusville, and Bishop Potter esteemed the opening work
there important. Mr. Purdon went to Meadville and
took Mr. Byllesby's place for a month, that he might
have a vacation. Mr. Byllesby and Mr. (afterward
Bishop) Spalding, at Erie, were the only dergy then
with Mr. Purdon in what is now the Northern Convoca-
tion of Pittsburgh. Still hope was ardent, if "it was
truly a day of small things." The story of the town is
a romance such as could hardly be conceived in staid
England, or even quiet Pennsylvania. The growth was
like that of .a western city, or a California town. Oil
was indeed gold to these active settlers, but the clergy-
men did not mingle in the wild speculations of the
TITUSVILLE (P.) ST. JAMES'S MEMORIAL. 241
hour, but held forth inducements to a harder race and a
better and more lasting reward when earth and its bau-
bles should be burned. The new young rector first
held a service in the old brick church at Franklin which
had been beautified by energetic ladies who are ever
foremost in Christ's service. On first reaching Titusville
borough he saw the wondrous beginnings of an oil
town. A few hundred people were collected, and as
many more strangers had rushed for wealth, "where oil
was first struck on August 27th, 1859." There were no
railways. "A dreary stage ride to Union, a distance of
sixteen miles," touched a connection with the P. & E.
R. R., then partly built. In some parts of the year the
stage averaged about a mile an hour. The oil teams cut
up "the poor roads. "Common comforts of life were
denied," but money-seekers were ready to go without
them. Religion was neglected, and the Lord's day dis-
honored, by the majority. There were few church peo-
ple, but some warmly welcomed the missionary, and
encouraged him. "The late Colonel E. L. Drake" and
his wife are named among these, and that lady proved
very helpful in the organization of the church. After
the first Sunday, Crittenden Hall was used for services,
and the missionary divided his time between Franklin
and Titusviile, occasionally going to Tionesta. The
horseback ride from Tionesta to Franklin was thirty
miles. For nine months Mr. Purdon lived at Franklin,
the county seat of Venango County, and every fortnight
in summer he would leave Franklin for Titusville on
horseback at three o'clock to avoid the heat of the sun
in later riding. " Jonathan Watson, and his partner, the
late Ebenezer Brewer, of Pittsburgh," were very helpful
to the new parish. Others will be remembered with
honor in the community for their benevolent aid, and
242 TITUSVILLE (P.) ST. JAMES'S MEMORIAL.
some have gone to their reward. Mr. Brewer had lived in
Titusville, and was interested in it, though he was a mem-
ber of St. Andrew's, Pittsburgh. In June, 1862, Bishop
Stevens visited Titusville. The larger part of the funds
raised for a memorial to Bishop Bowman was given to
Titusville, though a portion went to Warren to assist in
the construction of Trinity Memorial Church. The
Society for the Advancement of Christianity in Pennsyl-
vania also made a donation toward the new church. In
1863, Dr. Purdon became rector. The congregation has
been fluctuating owing to the changing character of the
population. The grounds of the church were bought
of Mr. Watson. Emlen T. Littell, of New York, kindly
gave the plans of the church as the contribution of an
architect. In 1863, Bishop Stevens laid the corner-stone.
The building is of stone, and is a beautiful one. It was
consecrated by Bishop Potter in 1864. Rev. Dr. William
Preston, of St. Andrew's Church, Pittsburgh, preached
the sermon. Bishop Bowmans's daughter, the wife of
Bishop Vail, presented the communion service of solid
silver. St. James's Church, Lancaster, and Bishop
Clarkson gave windows to commemorate Bishop Bow-
man. Rev. Dr. J. C. Eccleston gave the Bible, inscribed,
"The memory of the just is blessed."
The rector believed in the future of the town and built
accordingly. The chapel was erected the same year the
church was opened. Improvements were made in the
passing years. The sermon contains loving tributes to
Bishops Potter and Kerfoot. The first organist, "the
late Prof. Charles Fitzsimmons, of New York, a loved
pupil of the Rev. Dr. Muhlenberg," is noticed. A rec-
tory was built, and in 1869 the rector took his bride into
it, and found her a valued assistant in the parish as well
as a joy in the household, and many a rector could echo
TITUSVILLE (P.) ST. JAMES'S MEMORIAL. 243
this true testimony. Dr. W. B. Roberts is mentioned
with honor as having paid a church debt. In 1881 the
rector went to Europe for three months, his brethren
taking his duties. The vacation was earned. This quiet
and unostentatious work in peaceful observance of
Church law by rector and people deserves a word of com-
mendation. The old faith of Christ has done good work
in this new town, and the citizens have honored the rector
by giving him positions of responsibility, and seeking his
guidance outside of the church. The fellow clergy, on
the occasion of the anniversary which caused the sermon,
testified their love to the rector by a gift, presented by
Rev. Dr. A. W. Ryan, of Warren, and Bishop Whitehead
made a happy speech of congratulation. The rector
closes his sermon in calling down the blessing of "the
God of peace " on his flock ; may the large town have the
constant blessing which the small village possessed in the
beginning of the arduous work now so happily advanced.
Dr. Purdon was born in Dublin, Ireland, on the i5th
-of August, 1835; entered Trinity College, Dublin, in
1853, but owing to his father's death, and the breaking
up of the old home, was unable to continue his studies,
and so came to this country in the fall of 1854. Acting
on the advice of the late Bishop Alonzo Potter, he
entered Union College in Schenectady, in 1855, and
graduated in 1857, receiving three years later the degree
of A.M. He was ordained to the diaconate in 1859,
by the late Bishop William J. Boone, and to the priest-
hood by the late Bishop William B. Stevens, in St.
James's Church, .Lancaster, on the 6th of April, 1862.
The Theological Faculty of Kenyon College gave
this rector the title " D.D." Whittaker placed a sermon
by Dr. Purdon in the second volume of "Living Voices
by Living Men."
244 TOWANDA (C.) CHRIST CHURCH.
TOWANDA (C.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Rev. B. J. Douglass has prepared an account of this
parish which will guide this narrative. Towanda is the
county seat of Bradford County, and is beautifully
located on a hillside, on the North Branch of the Susque-
hanna. The Rev. Samuel Marks, in 1824, occasionally
visited this town for services. He was a missionary of the
Advancement Society. In 1833, Rev. Samuel T. Lord,
another missionary of this Society, held service once in
four weeks, being employed also at Athens. The old
Court House was the place of service, and the Sunday-
school met in the "fire-proof building" of the county.
Mahlon C. Mercur and Orrin D. Bartlett were zealous
teachers. Mr. Lord's work continued until 1835. In 1840,
Rev. Robert G. Hays was rector and he caused funds to
be. raised fora frame church, which was finished in 1842.
This year Rev. George Watson became rector. Bishop
Onderdonk consecrated the church in 1842. Rev. Asa C.
Coltonwas rector in 1845, but in 1847 Rev Robert]. Par-
vin succeeded him, and he was followed by Rev. Benjamin
J. Douglass in 1850. Benjamin S. Russell was the faith-
ful Sunday-school Superintendent. " The names of E.
T. Fox, S. W. Alvord, and S. B. Rodgers are those of
noble and self-denying women who labored in this work
of faith," and the Sunday-school fed the Confirmation
Classes. Mr. Russell used to layread in schoolhouses,
acting as a missionary. The North-east Convocation
was a center of missionary zeal under the guidance of
Bishop Potter, and its meetings were delightful. The
rector of Towanda visited Dushore, where Rev. De Witt
Clinton Byllesby was at work, and Jones's Lake, now
Eaglesmere. Deer were then to be found in that wild
region. The companion of the rector was Rev. Abner
CHRIST CHURCH, TOWANDA.
TOWANDA (C.) CHRIST CHURCH. 245
P. Brush, afterward rector of Muncy, Pa., and later of
Bath, N. Y., who was in Mr. Douglass's family when
preparing for Orders. His "cheerful spirit" enlivened
the journies. He is now dead. The Rev. Hale Town-
send aided Mr. Douglass in this work in the wilderness,
preaching, and frequently giving services at Laporte.
In 1866, a revival of religious interest awakened the
region of Towanda, and the evening's of weekdays \vould
be observed by religious services. Churches and school-
houses were densely crowded. There were not enough
religious workers to supply the need. Laymen used to
serve at schoolhouses. At one schoolhouse Mr. Doug-
lass found eighty persons who expressed a desire by the
help of God "to lead a new life." The interest was
not accompanied by noise or excitement, but fell as
gentle dew on grass, and God's still voice awakened
hearts. The Holy Spirit was blowing as the wind where
it would. In 1866 Mr. Douglass closed his work in this
parish, and fifty-five adults were confirmed by Bishop
Vail, "acting for Bishop Stevens." This class was
largely the fruit "of this genuine outpouring of the
Spirit." The clergyman's wife, Elizabeth Stott Douglass,
formerly Miss Wetherill, of Philadelphia, greatly aided
her husband in the work in the parish. This saintly
woman entered Paradise in 1859.
The author of this volume would add that Mr. Douglass
was the son of Rev. Jacob M. and Sarah Johnson Doug-
lass. He was born near Chester, Pa., in 1825, and
studied at Thomas D. James's academy, in Philadelphia,
and the University of Pennsylvania, where he took the
second honor in graduating in 1845. He assisted Dr.
Hare in teaching in the Episcopal Academy. In 1848
Bishop Potter ordained him deacon in St. Matthew's
Church, Francisville, and in the same church, by the
246 TOWANDA (C.) CHRIST CHURCH.
same bishop, he was ordained priest in 1850. He was at
first assistant minister to Dr. Hare in this church, and
then became rector of Towanda, but, in 1866, went to
Europe, returning the next year, and taking the rector-
ship of St. Paul's, Columbia, Pa. In 1871, he became
rector of St. Paul's Church, Georgetown, Delaware, and
resigned that position in 1884. He now resides in Phila-
To continue the narrative of Mr. Douglass, concerning
Towanda parish, Rev. Francis D. Hoskins succeeded
him as rector from 1866 to 1868. Bishop Stevens laid
the corner-stone of the new church in 1868.
Francis D. Hoskins, born in Philadelphia. Educated
at Episcopal Academy and University of Pennsylvania.
Graduate of Theological Seminary of Virginia.
(i) Rector of St. John's, Lancaster, 1861 to 1864;
Grace Church, Honesdale, Pa., 1864 to 1866; Christ
Church, Towanda, Pa., 1866 to 1869; Grace Church,
Elmira, N. Y., 1869 to 1883; Trinity Church, Swedes-
boro, N. J., 1883 to 1884 ; Warden, and Professor, Sea-
bury TJivinity School, Faribault, Minn., 1885 to 1888.
Since then residing in Philadelphia.
Ordained deacon 1861, by Bishop Bowman, and
piiest by Bishop Stevens, 1862,
Rev. William E. McGlathery succeeded Mr. Hoskins
in 1870. In 1873, Rev. Charles Ewbank Mcllvaine, the
son of Bishop Mcllvaine, became rector. He died in
1876, and his congregation lamented their great loss.
. He lies in the burial ground of Old Swedes' Church,
(Holy Trinity), Wilmington, Delaware, by the side
of Bishop Lee, whose son-in-law he was. A depu-
tation of the Vestry, and Rev. Messrs. Hoskins, and A.
A. Marple took part in the burial service. (See Norris-
town, for further notice of this rector.) In 1877,
UNIONTOWN (P.) ST. PETER'S. 247
John S. Beers entered on the rectorship. In his rector-
ship the church was altered. In 1882, Rev. Edgar A.
Enos was elected rector. He is now in Troy, N. Y.;
Rev. William E. Wright succeeds him. The beautiful
church which had lingered so long in building was com-
pleted in this rectorship. The edifice is of stone. Mr.
Clark B. Porter manfully assumed the pecuniary respon-
sibility in this great undertaking. The Rev. Percy J.
Robottom succeeded Mr. Wright. He is now rector of
St. Jajnes's Church, Lancaster, Pa.
Mr. Douglass recalls with pleasure the many years
spent among a loving people where his first rectorship
was passed. Judges Wilmot and Mercur, and Elwell,
and Christopher S. Ward, David F. Barstow, and John
Adams, were among the parishioners of that day. This
former rector closes his manuscript with the hope that
the new church may have more blessings than the old,
and the succession of spiritual worshipers fill its walls
in coming years.
UNIONTOWN (P.) ST. PETER'S.
Rev. Richard S. Smith, the rector of this parish, has
kindly aided my historical work and was for several
years Registrar of the Diocese. (Rev. Laurens McLure
is now Registrar.) In 1887, Mr. Smith preached a ser-
mon "on the 25th anniversary of his taking charge of
the parish," which was printed. It contains a useful
sketch of the history of the Church in the United States,
and especially in the Diocese of Pittsburg. I will draw
some facts of parish history from it. In 1837, the year
after Bishop White died, Rev. I. I. Kerr "held a ser-
vice in the Presbyterian Church," and the next year the
church was organized ; Rev. J. L. Mcllhenny and Rev.
Mr. Arnett ministered here for a time. In 1842, a brick
248 UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH.
church was built. "The legs" of the seats in this
church "were -made of the spokes of the wheels of the
old stage coaches." They had been used in a place
where the people had temporarily worshiped. Bishop
Onderdonk consecrated the church. A communion
service was given by Philadelphia friends. A former
member of St. Peter's, now in Minneapolis, has pre-
sented a bell, as the first one was borrowed. In 1844,
Mr. Arnett resigned, and Rev. S. W. Compton succeeded
him. There was lay-reading during a vacancy. Rev.
Morris M. Jones and Rev. Thomas Lawson followed.
From 1851 to 1853, Rev. Dr. T. S. Rumney, now of St.
Peter's, Germantown, was rector, with a short interreg-
num. In 1856, Rev. Thomas Wilcoxson succeeded him,
and Rev. Faber Byllesby was rector from 1857 to 1859.
In 1862, the present rector began his faithful work,
also serving New Haven, Mt. Braddock and Menallen.
A rectory was bought in Uniontown. In 1866, Bishop
Kerfoot sent Rev. G. C. Rafter as assistant. For a time
Rev. Mr. Hayden and Rev. Mr. Day served Menallen,
though it is now under Mr. Smith's care.
UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH.
One of the ancient churches which still adorn the
country districts, is the Old Swedes' Church near the
town of Bridgeport, opposite Norristown, on the Schuyl-
kill River. The passenger on the Reading Railway
is struck with the appearance of the ancient temple and
its surrounding graveyard, which contains the tombs of
those who worshiped in those sacred walls in by-gone
days, but have now passed beyond earthly worship into
a higher kind of service in Paradise. These old grave-
yards, surrounding a country church, add a deep and
solemn interest to the place, as some mourners are seen
\ UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH. 249
dropping tears with their flowers on a new-made grave,
or a descendant comes from a distance to look on the
tomb of an ancestor, and wonder how he lived and loved,
and suffered and died, in this brief life of ours. If, on
a summer's day, the eye rests on the white tombstones
as we pray in the Te Deum " to be numbered with Thy
saints in glory everlasting," we may almost imagine that
we hear the echo of our song from those who are lying
so still without, under the shadow of the house of God,
and this close connection with the holy dead is to us as
a "gate of heaven."
In my volume on the early clergy of Pennsylvania
and Delaware, I have given at length the history of the
noble Swedish missionaries, to whom these Episcopal
parishes which were handed over to the American
Church, owe their existence under God. The Swedish
parishes at Wilmington, Delaware, and in Swedesboro,
and Penn's Neck, in New Jersey, and at Gloria Dei and
Kingsessing, in Philadelphia, and at Bridgeport, all be-
came portions of the dioceses in which they are situated.
The Swedish laymen were a faithful race, and some
excellent families in Philadelphia are descended from
The relations of the Swedish and English mission-
aries Avere close and cordial, and they officiated in
each other's churches, and sometimes Swedish mission-
aries served English parishes when missionaries were
scarce. The Swedish Church was styled "a sister qf
the English Church."
One of the most eminent of the Swedish missionaries
was the Provost and Doctor Carolus Magnus Von
Wrangel. He returned to the Old Country in 1768.
He belonged to the family of General Von Wrangel, an
officer in the army of Gustavus Adolphus. He studied
250 UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH.
in Sweden atWesteras and at Upsala, and at the Uni-
versity of Gottingen, in Germany. He was court
preacher in the royal chapel at Stockholm, when Arch-
bishop Samuel Troilius requested him to go on the
American mission. This active and influential man
reorganized the churches, for the Provost was a sort of a
bishop in the power of arranging such matters. He
taught the young with zeal, and "gave the first impulse
to the establishment of the Society for the Faith and
Christianity in Sweden." Rev. Dr. Muhlenberg wel-
comed him as his guest at the Trappe, and says : "I
was greatly moved by his mild and humble manners,
and edified by his weighty conversation relative to the
kingdom of God." Dr. Muhlenberg visited Von Wran-
'gel at Wicacoa, and participated in a Ministerial Con-
vention. Dr. Von Wrangel preached on "The import-
ance of the Holy Supper." He also preached asermor
in the Swedish language, from Psalm 126 : 5 "The}
that sow in tears shall reap in joy." The Holy Suppe:
was received "with deep solemnity." The Provos
guarded the church in suffering and victory. He com
mended pastoral visiting, as well as catechizing ; an<
wished the Holy Sacraments to be extolled in an evan
gelical manner. He stated his purpose to explaii
Christ's life in "private meetings and catechetical exei
cises Avith the children," He could preach in Swedist
German and English, and he addressed the candidate
for the ministry in Latin. The corner-stone of S
James's Church, Kingsessing, was laid by him in 1761
He caused that church and Christ Church, Uppe
Merion, to be set off as distinct parishes from Wicaco;
with the erection of churches for each parish. Sue
crowds attended his eloquent preaching that he sonii
times preached in the open air. He died in 1786. .
UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH. 251
sketch of this great scholarly and devout man is here
given, as it was under him that the parish under con-
sideration became independent, and secured the posses-
sion of a church building.
All the clergy of Gloria Dei should possess an interest
in the minds of the parishioners of Christ Church, for
that was their spiritual mother, and its clergy guided
their ancestors in the pleasant ways of Christian truth.
The vine planted by the Swedish Church centuries ago
on the banks of the Delaware still bears precious fruit to
the glory of God in Christ, in Christ Church on the
Schuylkill. The Rev. A. A. Marple has long faithfully
served this parish.
In the History of New Sweden, by the Rev. Provost,
Israel Acrelius, translated from the Swedish by Rev. Dr.
William Reynolds, is a sketch of the history of the
churches at Kingsessing and Upper Merion by Rev. Dr.
W. M. Reynolds. It states that the early Swedes spread
into West Jersey and Delaware, and the Eastern Shore
of Maryland, while they were also settled along the
Delaware River in Pennsylvania, as well as on the river
Schuylkill. The good Swedish missionaries, aided by
the mother church, followed the emigrants, bringing
with them the blessings of the Church of Christ and the
Word of God. The narrative, which I shall here follow,
describes how the English language swept out the Swed-
ish, and the English churches absorbed many of the
Swedes. Still at Kingsessing and Upper Merion the
native language was long retained, and the churches
were Swedish in their type. In 1765, St. James's Church,
Kingsessing, and Christ Church, Upper Merion, were
formed into parishes, distinct from Wicacoa, though fora
long time after this they kept up "the closest connection"
with the mother church, at Wicacoa. This 'was effected
252 UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH,
by Rev. Provost, Dr. Wrangel, already spoken of. He
lived for years on intimate terms of Christian friendship
with Rev. Dr. Muhlenberg, the eminent Lutheran min-
ister of that day. Together they visited Tinicum Island,
where the early Swedes established their Christian wor-
ship. They were entertained by Mr. John Tailor, an
Englishman who had been a Quaker, but who had been
baptized by Dr. Wrangel, and "Christian conversation
and prayer" improved the evening hours to edification,
until the time of rest came. The site of the old church
and the old graveyard were very interesting remains ol
the past, and church people should visit the spot now
This new land has holy shrines as well as the old coun-
try. Provost Von Wrangel continued his interest in the
Swedish churches after he returned to Sweden. Hi;
activity is shown in the charter he procured from the Pro-
prietary Government of Pennsylvania for the churche:
at Wicacoa, Kingsessing, and Upper Merion, in 1765
while the churches at both Kingsessing and Upper Mer
ion were built by him. The charter is given in th<
appendix of Clay's Annals of the Swedes. In i787,th<
State Government confirmed it "with some sligh
The churches at Kingsessing and Upper Merion con
tinued their connection with the church at Wicacoi
until 1842, when they were set off as independent par
In continuing the narrative of Dr. Reynolds concern
ing Christ Church, particularly, we note that Uppe
Merion is the name of a township in Montgomer;
county, and so the parish which lies "to the north-wes
of Philadelphia," is named from a district. The tow
near which it is situated is Bridgeport, where bridge
cross the Schuylkill river, and connect railways and cai
OLD SWEDES' CHURCH, (GLORIA DEI) PHILADELPHIA.
UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH. 253
riage roads with Norristown on the other side. This is
an important manufacturing community, and large mills
loom up near the church building, and the music of
machinery stirs the air on weekdays, while a higher
music is heard in the ancient Church of God on the
Lord's Day. "Christ Church is on the west bank of the
Schuylkill, one mile below Norristown, the county seat,
near the line of the borough of Bridgeport, and sixteen
miles from Philadelphia."
Mats Holstein, and Peter Rambo. were the first Swedes
who settled here "with their families." "Mats (Mat-
thias) Holstein is said to have had one thousand acres
of land in the neighborhood of what was formerly called
Swedes' Ford, where his house still stands. The Ford
probably received its name from him, and the place is
called by Acrelius, and other early Swedish writers, 'Mat-
zong,' probably a corruption of Matson's (Mat's son)."
The church building arose in 1763, being directed by
Von Wrangel. As services were more frequent in Dr.
Collin's time, Rev. Slator Clay, an Episcopal minister,
assisted him. Dr. Collindied in 1831. This event broke
the "connection with the Swedish Mission." "The three
churches then, in joint convention, elected the Rev. Jehu
C. Clay, D. D., a Swede by descent, also of the Episco-
pal Church, who had charge of the three churches as
heretofore from 1831 to 1843. He was assisted in this
church by Rev. Raymond A. Henderson, Rev. John
Reynolds, Rev. William N. Diehl, and Rev. Dr. Nathan
Stem. After the separation of the three parishes into
distinct churches in 1843, the first rector chosen for this
church was the Rev. Edwin N. Lightner." He held this
position from 1844 to 1855. (For notices of Slator
Clay and Dr. Jehu C. Clay see Norristown and Radnor,
in this volume).
254 UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH.
REV. EDWIN N. LIGHTNER.
Rev. Edwin N. Lightner, A. M., was born in Lancaster
County, Pennsylvania, October i6th, 1817. He was a
graduate of Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio, in 1836,
and of the General Theological Seminary, New York,
June, 1839. July, of the same year, he was ordained to
the diaconate by Rt. Rev. H. U. Onderdonk, in Christ
Church, Leacock, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, near
the home of his father. His first sermon was preached
the same day, both the bishop and his father being pre-
sent. In October, of the same year, he took charge of
the parish of St. James's, Muncy.but sickness compelled
him to return to his father's house in Lancaster County,
for the winter. In the Spring of the following year, he
returned to Muncy, and soon became actively engaged
in parish work, and also held services in many surround-
ing towns, where the church was little or not at all
known. The first services of the church, in Williams-
port, Mr. Lightner held in the court house. There was
only one member of the church in the town at that time.
These services were attended with such success, that a
parish was organized, and a neat church built, which
was consecrated in July, 1842. Mr. Lightner resigned
the charge of the church at this time, so that they might
have more frequent services than he could give them.
He had also held frequent services in Jersey Shore,
twelve miles above Williamsport.
In July, 1844, he took charge of Christ Church
(Swedes'), Upper Merion, and continued there until
While at the Swedes' Church, in April, 1846, Mr.
Lightner began services in Conshohocken, holding them
UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH. 255
in a small school-house. These were the first services
of the church ever held in the place. They were con-
tinued through 1847, regularly. The last service was
held January gth, 1848. In all there were twenty services.
The sermons preached on each occasion, have the date
and name of place where delivered. This is stated that
the history of the church in Conshohocken maybe cor-
rected. When these services were discontinued, Mr.
Lightner held services in the school-house in Bridge-
port, on Sunday afternoons, the greater part of 1853, and
a few times in 1854. The sermons preached show where
delivered and date. I mention this that Bridgeport
Church history may be correct. In all, by the date on
sermons, twenty-five services were held. Mr. Lightner
also held frequent services in Lower Merion in a school-
house, some members of the Swedes' Church being near
there. This was during 1845 and 1846. Mr. Lightner
was the first rector of Christ Church (Swedes') after the
separation of the Swedes' Church, each having a pastor
of their own.
Mr. Lightner removed to Danville, Montour County,
Pennsylvania, February 22d, 1855, and was in charge of
Christ Church parish until April, 1871. Failing health
compelled him to resign the work he loved so well, and
retire to private life, his home being Riverside, a village
across the Susquehanna from Danville. A few years of
this time he lived in Muncy, but returned to Riverside
where he passed peacefully away, in the early morning
of Trinity Sunday, iS8t. Funeral services were held in
Grace Church, Riverside, his own old church being torn
down to make way for a more stately edifice. The place
of burial was in the beautiful cemetery of Christ Church,
The Rev. Wm. Henry Rees, D. D., was rector from
256 UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH.
1855 to 1 86 1. An account of him may be found in the
history of Radnor parish in this volume.
The Rev. Thomas S. Yocum was rector from 1861 to
1870. He was born in Cumberland County, N. J., in
1831, and educated at the Philadelphia Central High
School, and was in the iron business with his father
several years. He graduated at Union College in 1856,
and studied at the Theological Seminary of Virginia
and was ordained deacon by Bishop Bowman in Phila-
delphia, in 1859. He was missionary in China, and
afterward rector of Christ Church, Upper Merion,
(Swedesburg) ; and Christ Church, Cincinnati ; and
St. Andrew's, Richmond, Staten Island, N. Y., where
he now is. Kenyon College, Ohio, gave him the title
of D. D.
The Rev. Octavius Perinchief, held the rectorship
from 1870 to 1873.
Mr. Perinchief is said to have descended from King
Charles the First. Charles Lanman wrote his life,
which is partly an autobiography. The lad was in a
store in Bermuda, for a time. When eighteen he went
to New York, and was employed in a business capacity.
He was affected by Dr. Tyng's teaching, and drawn to
God's service. He studied at Amenia, N. Y., and
Trinity College, Hartford, Conn., and taught in Racine
College, and afterward studied at the General Theologi-
cal Seminary, at New York, and did work at a mission
school on Saturdays.
He was at Cumberland, Georgetown, D. C., and in
Baltimore, and Associate-Secretary of the Evangelical
Education Society, with Rev. Dr. D. S. Miller ; Rev.
Dr. Matlack now ably fills the post. His education was
the result of earnest self-denial and zealous effort. He
taught school to aid his advancement in this work, and
UPPER MERION (PA.) CHRIST CHURCH. 257
he attained high distinction in the ministry. "As a
preacher he was gentle, magnetic, persuasive and elo-
quent, and practical." A volume or two of sermons
were published. He died at Upper Merion, in 1877.
Bishop Stevens officiated, with others, at his funeral.
A memorial window was placed in one of his former
parishes, in St. George's Church, Mt. Savage, Md., and
other memorials keep his memory fresh.
The sermons of Mr. Perinchief are said to have been
remarkably adapted to the spiritual needs of the hearers.
I was a fellow-student with him in Trinity College, and
take pleasure in perpetuating his memory.
The Rev. Edward Warriner entered on the rectorship
in 1873. (See Montrose in this volume for notice of
Rev. A. A. Marple, who succeeded Mr. Warriner,
was born in Bucks County, Penna*., and educated in the
University of Pennsylvania, and the Theological Sem-
inary of Virginia, near Alexandria. He was ordained
deacon by Bishop Alonzo Potter, in 1846, and priest,
by the same bishop, in 1847. His*parishes have been
Bloomsburgh, Wellsboro' and Scranton, Pa. He was,
for a time, editor of The Church (Phila.) before it was
united with the Standard of the Cross. He is an inter-
esting and thoughtful writer, and a faithful pastor. The
rectory is beautifully situated on a commanding hill
with a fine view. The old church is kept in ex-
cellent condition, and the graveyard is in good order.
The spot is historic and attractive.
Dr. Reynolds's account was aided by Mr. George W.
Holstein, who was then Secretary of the Vestry. He is
"a lineal descendant of M. Holstein, one of the first
Swedish settlers, as above stated, of that part of Penn-
258 WASHINGTON (P.) TRINITY.
WASHINGTON (P.) TRINITY.
Ill the History of Washington County, by Alfred
Creigh, LL. D., we find an account of this parish.
In 1810, service had been held in this town. In 1812,
Rev. William David, of Somerset, Pa., occasionally
preached in a schoolhouse. In 1843, Rev. Enos Wood-
ward, of Brownsville, officiated monthly in the college
chapel, procured through Prof. R. H. Lee. On Novem-
ber 1 2th, of this year, he "administered the Lord's Sup-
per," assisted by Rev. Dr. Heman Dyer, of Pittsburg.
Rev. Kensey Johns Stewart, D. D., of Connellsville,
officiated "in the court house and the Cumberland Pres-
byterian Church," and advised the building of a church,
and a meeting of prayer for direction from God to this
end. A meeting was held at Prof. Lee's house, and
earnest prayer arose, and faith followed importunate
prayer, and a committee was appointed. They were
Mrs. F. A. Barlow, Prof. R. H. Lee, R. P. Lane, M. D.,
and James R. Shannon. These persons were to ask sub-
scriptions, and the Rev. Mr. Stewart was. to represent
the matter before a special Convention soon to meet at
Unioiitown, and to communicate with the bishop. The
result of the meeting of prayer was the erection of the
On the 23d of April, 1844, the congregation organized.
Rev. .Enos Woodward was chairman, and Prof. R. H.
Lee, Secretary. The names of the organizers may be
found on page 185, of Creigh's History.
-The vestry elected were R, H. Lee, R. P. Lane, Leslie
Carrons, Joseph Gray, William Howe, James R. Shan-
non, and Hugh H. Reynolds. Rev. Enos Woodward
was elected rector. In May, 1845, he resigned, and Rev.
E. J. Messenger became his successor, but in the follow-
WASHINGTON (P.) TRINITY. 259
ing August, this noble servant of Christ went as a mis-
sionary to Africa, where he died on the 28th of March,
1846. He was a parishioner of the Church of the
Epiphany, in Philadelphia, before entering on the minis-
try, and a devoted Sunday-school worker. A tablet in
that church commemorates him.
The congregation used College Hall for services until
August, 1845, but then removed to the Lutheran Church.
From 1845 to 1850 they were served by supplies, and by
Prof. Lee, as lay-reader. In 1850, they determined to
build a church on Bean Street, opposite the college,
having bought a lot of David Shields. The church was
opened December isth, 1850, when Rev. Samuel Clem-
ents, the rector, preached from Gen. 28: 17.
Various churches assisted in the good work of furnish-
ing the house of God.
Bishop Alonzo Potter consecrated the church, Sep-
tember loth, 1854. In 1855, Rev. Mr. Clements resign-
ed. He was afterward in Ohio, and of late years in
charge of a boys' school, at Shoemakertown, Pennsyl-
vania. He died not long since, leaving an excellent
record of a devout, and holy, and useful life.
Prof. Lee was elected lay-reader. In January, 1856,
Rev. George Hall became rector, and the following De-
cember resigned, and Prof. Lee was again lay-reader.
In 1858, he was ordained deacon by Bishop Potter, and
the next October, priest, by Bishop Bowman, who was
then assistant bishop. Prof. Lee became rector of the
parish, and served faithfully as an ambassador of Christ
until his death, January sd, 1865, "when he exchanged
the church militant for the church triumphant."
A marble tablet in the chancel wall states that he was
born in Fairfax County, Virginia, A. D. 1794, and that
he graduated at Dickinson College "with high honors
260 WASHINGTON (p.) TRINITY.
at an early age." He became a lawyer, but in 1834 as-
sumed the Professorship of Ancient Languages, in Wash-
ington College, afterwards changing this post " for the
chair of Belles Lettres and Political Economy." In
1854, he resigned his Professorship, and soon became a
The epitaph says that the parish "owes to -him, under
God, its origin and organization." It adds, "he labored
in his holy office faithfully and lovingly until the close
of his life."
"He died, January 3d, 1865, aged 71 years, and was
gathered unto his fathers, having the testimony of a
good conscience, in the communion of the Catholic
Church; in the comfort of a reasonable religious and
holy hope; in favor with God, and in perfect charity with
During this rectorship the first church building was
found defective, and "the present beautiful Gothic
church" was erected. Bishop Potter consecrated the
building, November ryth, 1863.
James Mcllvaine was lay-reader after Dr. Lee's death,
until Rev. James A. Brown entered on the rectorship,
December 2 2d, 1865. He resigned, December 23d, 1867.
Jacob B. McKennan, Esq., became lay -reader in 1868.
Rev. J. K. Mendenhall en,.ered on the rectorship in
1869, being ordained be Bishop Kerfoot In. this year a
parish school-house was built. In 1865, Wm. L. Bow-
man, son of James Bowman, Esq,, of Brownsville, died
in his s6th year. When he was a law student in Wash-
ington, he became a communicant in Trinity Church and
showed his attachment to the church and the Redeemer's
work by bequeathing two thousand dollars, the income
of which should aid the rector's salary. Would that
there were more like minded.
ST. STEPHEN'S, WILKESBARRE.
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S., 261
Mr. James Mcllvaine sends the following additional
list of rectors :
Rev. J. K. Mendenhall assumed charge, October, 1869;
resigned, October, 1875. Rev. Samuel Haven Hilliard
took charge, June 4th, 1876; resigned, March 3d, 1879.
Rev. Samuel Earp toek charge, April ist, 1879 ; resign-
ed, June 25th, 1885. He was rector of Trinity Hall all
of this period. Rev. Thomas Dorsey Pitts, D. D., rec-
tor of Trinity Hall, supplied morning services and ser-
mons during an interim of eleven months. He was Mr.
Earp's successor at the Hall. Rev. William Woodson
Walker took charge, June ist, 1886; resigned, Novem-
ber ist, 1887. Rev. Thomas Dorsey Pitts, D. D., rec-
tor of Trinity Hall supplied most of the services, during
an interim of eight months. Rev. Frederick Charles
Cowper, the present rector, took charge on August 9th,
1888. Since Mr. Earp's time, the rectors of Trinity Hall
have had no official relation to the parish.
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
BY REV HORACE E. HAYDEN.
The Parish Guest, of November, 1888, contained a his-
tory of this church by Rev. H. E. Hayden, which we
will abridge. The church had been rebuilt and beauti-
fully decorated. A brass pulpit commemorated Chief
Justice George W. Woodward, and a bishop's chair,
Bishop Stevens, and a brass tablet from Mrs. Stevens is
to keep in memory her father, Judge Conyngham, and
" his beloved wife." One window is in memory of the
child, Mary Elizabeth Hayden, and another keeps alive
the memory of another child, Helen Crocker Jones, and
another is in memory of Miles Bowman McAlester, who
died at the age of seventeen.
262 WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
The parish "history was read by Rev. H. L. Jones at
the re-opening. Some additional notes are here, given
by Rev. Mr. Hayden.
St. Stephen's Church has had an organized existence
of seventy-one years. Rev. Bernard Page, of the Church
of England, ordained by the Loi"d Bishop of London
for "Wyoming Parish, Pennsylvania," August 24th,
1772, was the first Protestant Episcopal minister to offi-
ciate in this section. (See page 17 of this volume.) He
went to Virginia, where he ministered as assistant to
"Rev. Bryan, Lord Fairfax." In 1814, that "Apostle of
the northwest," Rt. Rev. Jackson Kemper, D. D., held
divine services in the old Wilkes-Barre Academy, and
stirred up the. church people of the village. The first
baptism recorded was performed by him December 8th,
1814. In 1817, the church people met and elected the
first vestry, and engaged the services of Rev. Richard
Sharpe Mason, D. D. Mr. Mason was born in Barba-
does, W. I., 1795; graduated University of Pennsylvania,
A. B., 1812; A. M., 1816; D. D., 1830; studied theology
under Bishop White, by whom he was ordained deacon
in 1817; entered at once upon his work at Wilkes-Barre,
and remained there two years. Ordained priest by
Bishop Moore, 1820; he at once took a high position in
the ministry. Was President of Hobart College, New
York, 1827-1835, and of Newark College, Delaware,
18315-1840, and then became the beloved rector in
Raleigh, N. C., where he died in 1875.
Dr. Mason was succeeded by Rev. Samuel Phinney,
ordained deacon by Bishop White, February 25th, 1816.
His ministry here was brief.
In 1819, Rev. Manning R. Roche, ordained deacon by
Bishop White, May 6th, 1818, became the missionary at
St. Stephen's. The Sunday-school had been organized
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S. 263
in 1818 by Hon. David Scott, the President Judge of the
district, and the parish appears to have been prosperous.
But Mr. Roche retired from the parish in 1820. During
the next two years, 1821-1822, the services were con-
ducted by Mr. Samuel Bowman, a lay-reader, whose
connection with St. Stephen's is worthy of notice.
Born in Wilkes-Barre, May 2ist, 1800, ordained dea-
con by Bishop White, August 25th, 1823, he was, after
a successful ministry of 35 years at Lancaster and
Easton, Pa., elected assistant bishop of Pennsylvania
and consecrated August 25th, 1858. (See "Bishops"
and "Lancaster" in this volume.)
The people had worshiped in the old frame building,
"Old Ship Zion," erected by the joint contributions of
the various Christian bodies. It was determined in 1821,"
to sell the right of St. Stephen's parish in this building,
and to purchase a lot and erect a church. Through the
aid of Judge Scott this work wasbegun, and in 1822, the
contract for the building was let.
On Sunday, June i4th, 1824, the church was conse-
crated by Bishop White, who administered the rite of
confirmation to a class of 41 persons. On the following
Sunday Rev. Samuel Sitgraves, whom Bishop White
had ordained deacon, May 3d, 1820, and who, in 1823, had
been called to be rector of St. Stephen's, was ordained
priest by Bishop White. Bishop (then Rev. Dr.) Kem-
per preached the sermon. This day the holy communion
was administered. Mr. Sitgraves, who died August i2th,
1830, resigned in December, 1823, and was succeeded by
Rev. Enoch Huntington, who remained until 1826.
He was succeeded February, 1827, by Rev. James
May, D. D., who was born in 1805, graduated A. B.
from Jefferson College 1823, and the Virginia Theologi-
cal Seminary 1826; was ordained deacon by Bishop
264 WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
White, 1826. After a very successful ministry of ten
years, during which the church grew in all its depart-
ments, both in members and Christian zeal, he succeeded,
in 1836, Dr. McCoskry (afterwards elected Bishop of
Michigan) as rector of St. Paul's Church, Philadelphia.
Dr. May's later history is still a part of the history of
St. Stephen's parish. In 1842, he was elected to the pro-
fessorship of Church History in the Virginia Theologi-
cal Seminary, and it was under his instruction there that
the present rector of St. Stephen's fitted himself for the
work of the ministry. In .1861, Dr. May became a pro-
fessor in the Philadelphia Divinity School, where he died
December nth, 1863.
From a chapter on Dr. May's ministry in Wilkes-
Barre, taken from "The Life and Letters of Dr. May,"
by the Rev. Alexander Shiras, I quote the following:
"The parish of St. Stephen's, Wilkes-Barre, was at
this time without a minister. It was yet comparatively
small, but it was in a region evidently destined to be
populous. The rich coal fields and splendid scenery of
the valley of Wyoming lay around it. Besides the
townspeople, there was a large and growing country
population, and for one that was willing patiently to
work and wait, it offered an interesting and attractive
sphere of action. Under his ministry, the church in
Wilkes-Barre, from a feeble missionary station, grew to
be what it has ever since continued, the largest, strong-
est, most effective one of the Protestant Episcopal Com-
munion in all that section of the diocese. The sentiment
of his parishioners in regard to him we may gather from
the kind expressions of his vestry after he had declined
one of numerous calls: 'When you first came to this
people, you found them divided and broken, burdened
with debt, and few in number. The influence of your
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S. 265
character and your exertions have healed these dissen-
sions, have enabled them to free themselves from their
incumbrances, and have formed them into a respectful
body of attentive hearers.' "
Dr. May was succeeded in 1837, by Rev. William
James Clark, who remained until 1840, when Rev. Robert
Bethel Claxton, S. T. D., who had just been ordained
deacon by Bishop Moore, entered upon the charge of the
parish. Dr. Claxton, born 1814, graduated A. B., Yale
College, in 1838; was rector until 1846. Like Dr. May,
he left his impress on the church here, by his unwearied
and zealous labors. It was during Dr. Claxton's ministry
that such men as Hon. John N. Conyngham, LL. D.,
long the President of the American Church Missionary
Society, Hon. George W. Woodward, Chief Justice of
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, and others of abil-
ity and influence became active and zealous communi-
cants. He resigned in 1846, and after serving three other
churches with marked success, was elected professor in
the Philadelphia Divinity School to take the place of Dr.
May. From 1873 he was rector of St. Andrew's Church,
West Philadelphia, until his death in 1882.
In 1846, Rev. Charles Dekay Cooper, D. D., of Mt.
Morris, N. Y., was called and accepted charge, but after
afew months he resigned to become rector at Rochester,
N. Y. He is now rector of the Church of the Holy
The next rector was Rev. George David Miles, M.A.,
born 1815, ordained by Bishop Eastburn, 1846. He
entered upon his duties at Wilkes-Barre, April ist, 1848,
serving until 1866. His last sermon in St. Stephen's
was preached October i5th, 1865, on the eve of his
departure for Europe. During the earnest and active
ministry of this beloved pastor the church was blessed
266 WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
with large successes. In 1852, the increase of the con-
gregation was such as to demand enlarged accommoda-
tions. The church building erected in 1832 was a frame
structure of one story with towers at the northeast cor-
ner. The Sunday-school met in a building, a square
distant. In 1852, the congregation decided to tear down
the old church and erect one of brick. March 27th,
1853, Rev. Mr. Miles preached his last sermon in the old
edifice. It is from this discourse that much of the
present history of the church is derived. On June aoth,
1853, Bishop Alonzo Potter laid the corner-stone of the
new building.. Its erection was under the charge of
Daniel A. Fell, builder, and had a seating capacity of
600. The first service was held in the basement, or Sun-
day-school room, December 25th, 1853. The building
was consecrated by Bishop A. Potter, April igth, 1855.
Rev. Robert Henry Williamson succeeded Mr. Miles,
and remained until 1874. During part of 1874 the parish
had the services of the late Rev. ChaunceyColton, D.D.,
once President of Bristol College, Pa., and professor m-
Kenyon College, Ohio.
In 1875, the vestry elected as rector Rev. Henry L.
Jones, then rector of Christ Church, Fitchburg, Mass.,
where he had ministered with great success for eleven
years. Mr. Jones is the son of Rev. Lot Jones, for
thirty-three years rector of the Church of Epiphany,
New York City. He graduated A. B., from Columbia
College, New York, 1858; A. M., 1861; Virginia Theo^
logical Seminary, 1861. After serving as assistant to his
father during his diaconate he was ordained priest and
entered upon successful missionary work in Fitchburg,
Mass., where the parish of Christ Church was organized
in October, 1863. During his rectorate in Wilkes-Barre,
the church has kept pace with the town, which has quad-
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S. 267
rupled its population in that time. It has stood for the
past decade at the head in contributions and in mission
work, though other parishes are richer.
Five years ago the increased attendance at St'. Steph-
en's was such as again to necessitate the enlargement of
the building. On the vacant lot in the rear of the
church was built a commodious and convenient parish
The present seating capacity of the church is a trifle
over 800. The old central tower and the whole front
having been torn down, the new front was built up of
hard, dark brick, in a style similar to some of the Lom-
bard buildings of northern Italy.
Eight clergymen have gone out into the ministry from
St. Stephen's : Rt. Rev. Samuel Bowman, D. D., Rev.
Geo. C. Drake and Rev. Henry M.Denison, all of whom
are now dead; Rev. Alex. Shiras, D. D., of Washington;
Rev. De Witt C. Loop, of Mt, Winans, Maryland; Rev.
James L. Maxwell, of New York; Rev. James Caird, of
Troy, New York, and Rev. Charles H. Kidder, of As-
bury Park, New Jersey. Among the lay-readers of the
parish were Judges Scott, Woodward, Conyngham and
The present rector is Secretary of the Standing Com-
mittee of the diocese, and was delegate to the General
Conventions of 1880, 1883 and 1886.
St. Stephen's supports two scholarships in Africa, two
in China, two in Mexico, and one in Utah. But her
missionary work is not confined to the foreign field. She
has organized, and through the instrumentality of in-
dividual communicants, aicls in supporting six mission
churches and Sunday-schools within the limits of Wyom-
ing Valley, which are under the charge of the assistant
ministers of the parish: St. Peter's, Plymouth, owning
268 WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
a handsome property with church and rectory, amid a
population of 10,000 souls; St. Andrew's, Alden, with
new church and rectory ; St. George's, Nanticoke, with
a brick' church now building; St. John's, Ashley, with a
handsome frame church; Log Chapel, Laurel Run, con-
nected with General P. A. Oliver's powder mill, an ex-
quisite model of rustic work, and Calvary Chapel, North
Wilkes-Barre, with a building in which a flourishing
Sunday-school is kept up. To carry on this outside
work, St. Stephen's has three assistant ministers.
It is proper to add that the enlargement of St Stephen's
and the erection of the parish building, also of tower and
vestibule, has been under the direction of C. M. Burns,
of Philadelphia, as architect, and M. B. Houpt, of Wilkes-
. Barre, as contractor.
NOTE The beautiful stone church in South Wilkes-
Barre was erected, and the now flourishing, and inde-
pendent parish of St Clement's was organized .by com-
municants of St. Stephen's. (Rev. C. L Sleight is its
Rev. George David Miles. Born 1815; died at Boston,
October 24th, 1874; married at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsyl-
vania, Elizabeth Streater, daughter of Charles and
Elizabeth Streater, of Wilkes-Barre, who came here from
Mr. Miles graduated, Virginia Theological Seminary,
1846; ordained deacon by Bishop M. Eastburn, 1846.
Became assistant minister to Dr. B. C. Cutler, rector of
St. Ann's Church, Brooklyn, 1846, succeeding Dr.
Bancroft. Dr. Cutler then wrote: "Thanks be to a
gracious God, I have an assistant who promises well, a
good man and true."
Mr. Miles became rector of St. Stephen's Church,
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, April ist, 1848, where he
WILKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S. 269
preached his last sermon as rector, October isth, 1865;
went to Europe, and spent a year in travel, and resign-
ed St. Stephen's, October, 1866. In 1867, he accepted
a call to St. John's Church, Taunton, Massachusetts,
holding the cure until his death. In 1873, he spent a
year in Europe, Egypt and Palestine. Returning by
steamer to America, he was thrown from his berth in
the vessel and partially paralyzed. The last eight days
of his voyage were days of intense suffering, and ten
days after landing in Boston, he died, October 24th,
T 874, aged 59. His Taunton people lavished kindness
upon him and his last days were full of peace. He was
buried at Wilkes-Barre, November i2th, 1874. The
vestry of St. Stephen's have erected a monument over
his remains. He was much beloved in his several fields
of labor. An earnest, faithful preacher and pastor;
humble, modest and thoroughly consecrated, his char-
acter was full of Christ likeness. Dr. Cutler wrote of him
in 1846: "Brother Miles took the text, 'first the blade,
then the ear, &c.,' and because he was plain, evangelical,
experimental, and somewhat in the parable style, he
was much liked."
Mr. Miles published several articles from his pen,
" Memoir of Ellen May Woodward." (Miss Woodward
was the daughter of Hon. G. W. Woodward, vestryman
of St. Stephen's), "The Plague of the Heart," and "Pas-
toral Address to the people of St. Stephen's Church."
The present rector of St. Stephen's Church, Rev.
Henry Lawrence Jones, M. A., son of the late Rev. Lot
Jones, for more than 33 years rector of the Church of
the Epiphany, New York City, was born, May soth,
1839. Educated at Columbia College, where he gradu-
ated A. B., 1858; A. M., 1861. Graduated, Virginia
Theological Seminary 1861; ordered deacon by Rt Rev.
3 7*0 WiLKES-BARRE (c.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
Henry Potter, D. D., May 2! 4th, 1861 ; priest by same,
1862. He has been the beloved rector of St. Stephen's
for more than fifteen years. During that period he has
held the highest positions in the ecclesiastical affairs of the
diocese of Central Pennsylvania, i. e., examining Chap-
lain, 1876-1880; President of the Northwestern Convo-
cation, and member of Board of Missions, 1876-1887,
when he refused to be re-elected. Special Deputy to
the General Convention, 1886-1891, and member of the
Standing Committee, continuously since 1876. Mr. Jones
is also one of the Executive Committee of the American
Church Missionary Society, of which for many years
Hon. Jno. L. Conyngham, LL.D., senior warden of
St. Stephen's Church, was president. During his minis-
try in Wilkes-Barre, Mr. Jones has identified himself
with many local institutions for the advancement of this
city. He is one of the trustees of the Osterhout Free
Library, (endowed with $400,000 by a member of St.
Stephen's), and of the Wyoming Historical Geographical
Society. He married in Massachusetts, Miss Sarah
Eastman Coffin, and has a family,
One of the bishops who has known Mr. Jones inti-
mately, writes thus of him :
"The present bishop of New York, once wrote me, in
a private letter, 'The Rev. Henry I,. Jones is a prince
among men.' To those who know Mr. Jones, this de-
scription does not seem extravagant, for in the compo-
sition of his character, there is a remarkable combination
of strength and beauty. Simple and unostentatious in
manner, there is yet something in his looks, and speech
and action that suggest a large reserve force, and in his
adminstration of parochial affairs this is more then real-
ized; for he is not only wise in counsel, but possesses ex-
ceptional executive gifts. Keeping, as he always does,
WILKES-BARRE (C.) ST. STEPHEN'S.
his mental and moral equipoise, his judgment is asked
by many people in and out of the church, and being both
just and generous, he has the confidence of all who know
him. As a preacher, he is thoughtful and instructive,
and has a charming literary style. Asa pastor, he is
sympathetic, active and unusually self-sacrificing.while as
an administrator, he has few peers. The work in St.
Stephen's parish, has been large and exacting, but his
success therein has been remarkable. His assistant
ministers love him as a brother, and the affection for him
shown by his parishioners is as unusual as it is delightful
He receives and deserves the love of all who know him."
I add that a parish with six missions and three assist-
ants shows executive ability, and the days of Dr. May
seem to be renewed in the parish.
I add a sketch of an assistant minister, the Rev.
Horace Edwin Hayden, M. A., son of Hon. Edwin Par-
sons Hayden, of Md. ; was born in Catonsville, Md.,
Feb., 1 8th, 1837; educated at St. Timothy's Military
School, Md., and Kenyon College, Ohio; Hon. M. A.,
Kenyon College, 1886. His college course was inter-
rupted by the War between the States, during which he
served as private soldier in the Confederate States Army,
j 861-1865. Graduated Virginia Theological Seminary,
1867. Ordered deacon by Rt. Rev. John Johns, D. D.,
June 26th, 1867. Priest, by Rt. Rev. F. M. Whittle,
D. D., Aug. 7th, 1867. Rector of Christ Church, Point
Pleasant, Diocese ofVirginia, organizing the parish, 1867-
1873. Rector of St. John's Church, West Brownsville,
Pa., Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1873-1879. Assistant min-
ister of St. Stephen's Church, Wilkes-Barre, for over
eleven years, 1879-1891, during which period he was
also rector of St. Clement's Church, Wilkes-Barre, 1885-
1887. Since 1885 he has been one of the Examining
272 WILLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Chaplains of the Diocese. He is a member of many
historical and scientific societies, and has illustrated his
love for such studies, by publishing several works on
subjects connected with American history, etc. He
married, in Virginia, Miss Kate Elizabeth Byers, of
Maryland. He is preparing, with much toil, a volume
of "Virginia Genealogies." He is fond of literary
work, and, like good scholars in general, glad to impart
information. He has written several works, and has a
large library, rich in American history, and aiding his
The Rev. James Porter Ware, B. D., born in Massa-
chusetts, April 6th, 1859. Educated at Delaware College,
Del., where he graduated B. L., 1883 ; B. D., Episcopal
Theological Seminary, Cambridge, Mass., 1886. Ordered
deacon by Bishop Clark, of Rhode Island, June ipth,
1886; priest, 1887. Now rector of Noburn, Mass., 1886 ;
Manville, R. I., 1887. Assistant minister of St. Stephen's
Church, Wilkes-Barre; in charge of St. Peter's, Plymouth,
1888-1890. Married, Oct. i2tli, 1887, Miss Helen E. Story.
The Rev. Daniel Webster Coxe, D. D. Educated at
Kenyon College, Ohio, where he graduated A. B., 1865;
A. M., 1868. Ordered deacon by Bishop Vail, July
igth, 1868; priest, 1869. He was rector of various
parishes in Kansas, under Bishop Vail, until 1880, when
he became rector at Tremont, Ohio, 1880-1885; then
of West Pittston, Pa., 1885-1889. In 1889, he became
assistant minister of St. Stephen's Church, Wilkes-
Barre, at Alden and Nanticoke.
WILLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Christ Church was organized on the 8th day of Feb-
ruary, 1841, The first church building was completed
WILLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH. 273
and consecrated on June i2th, 1842, by Bishop Onder-
donk. The corner-stone of the present large stone
church was laid- June, 27th, 1867.
RECTORS. Rev. Edward N. Lightner, Missionary,
assumed the charge, April ist, 1840; resigned, June i3th,
1842. Rev. John B. Clemson, D. D., entered upon his
duties as rector, June 26th, 1842; resigned, March zoth,
1843. (See Chester in this volume.) While the closing
pages of this volume were being printed Dr. Clemson
died (February 3rd, 1891), in West Chester, Pa., closing
an honored and useful Christian life in his 88th year, and
entering on an "endless life" before God. He was buried
at Laurel Hill, Philadelphia: Rev. Thomas C. Yarnall
assumed charge September i7th, 1843; resigned, April
nth, 1846. (For many years past rector of St.
Mary's, West Philadelphia.) Rev. William James Clark
assumed charge, October nth, 1 846; resigned March 1 5th,
1851. Rev. J. Henry Black assumed charge October
roth, 1851; resigned June 12th, 1853. Rev. Edward P.
Wright assumed charge, October 3d, 1853; resigned.
April nth, 1854. Rev. W. H. Cooper assumed charge,
September i4th, 1854; resigned September, 1855. Rev.
R. C. Moore assumed charge, October 2oth, 1855;
resigned, 1865. (He was a son of Bishop Moore, of Vir-
ginia.) Rev. H. S. Spackman was next in order. Rev.
Allva Wadleigh assumed charge June, 1866; resigned,
1869. Rev. Wm. Paret assumed charge August, 1869;
resigned October, 1876. Rev. John Henry Hopkins
assumed charge December, 1876; resigned, 1887. Rev.
W. H. Graff assumed charge January, 1888. Brick rectory
completed 1855; remodeled and improved, 1888; parish
building erected; Wadleigh Chapel is built of stone; St.
John's Chapel, South Williamsport, built 1887, is a
274 WlLLtAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Trinity Church, Williamsport, organized by colony
from Christ Church.
(The Wadleigh Chapel commemorates in its name a
lovely Christian character, and it was well thus to con-
tinue his memory in the parish, which he so well served.
He was the beloved rector of St. Luke's, Germantown,
after leaving Williamsport.)
REV. GEORGE W. NATT.
A short memoir of the Rev. Mr. Natt is to be found in
a volume of sermons published in 1867, by Lippincott
Rev. George W. Natt, was born of English parentage
in Philadelphia, January 5th, 1815. Placed at school in
Cheshire, Conn., at the age of eleven, returning thence
to Philadelphia. In his sixteenth year, went to Wash-
ington College, Hartford, (now Trinity) graduated in
1834. He studied in the General Theological Seminary,
at New York, and graduated in 1837; ordained deacon
in Christ Church, Philadelphia, in 1837; placing himself
at the disposal of the bishop, (Onderdonk), he was sent
to Bellefonte, Centre County, Pa. In 1839, he was
ordained to the priesthood in St. Peter's Church, Phila-
delphia. During his short life, his health was always
delicate, yet he was as a Missionary of the Advance-
ment Society, actively engaged in starting the church in
most of the parishes of Williamsport, Lock JHaven, Jer-
sey Shore, as also in deal-field and Philipsburg; the last-
mentioned parish being for some time in his especial
charge. Occasional services were also held by him at
Huntingdon, Hollidaysburg, Morrisdale and in the imme-
diate vicinity of Bellefonte. In April, 1851, he commenced
holding services in the vicinity of Mantua, West Phila-
WlLLiAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH; 275
delphia, and in October of that year accepted the posi-
tion of rector of the newly organized parish of St.
Andrew's, Mantua; the vestry of which purchased . the
lot on which still stood the broken walls of the old St.
Mark's. Permanent ill health obliged Mr. Natt to cease
work, and in December 1859, he gave up the parish. He
died February 4th,. 1863; is buried at St. Luke's, Ger-
REV. DR. H. S. SPACKMAN.
I find noted in our annual report for 1868, that the
"bishop had appointed to the chaplaincy the Rev. Henry
S. Spackman, well-known to our community and our
church as a desirable acquisition for many reasons, and
particularly on account of hospital experience acquired
through his service at Chestnut Hill and elsewhere as
United States Army chaplain during the war." Then
in a note appears in our report for 1875, "During the
month of February occurred the sudden death of the
late - chaplain of the hospital, the Rev. Henry S. Spack-
man, D. D." At the next meeting of the Board, the
following minutes was adopted :
"As the hospital has sustained a great loss in the sud-
den death of the chaplain, the late Rev. Dr. Spackman,
since our last meeting, the Board desire to put on record
the sense they entertain of the great value of his services
in the important office he has sustained so long, and of
the duties of which he has so faithfully discharged." Dr.
Spackman was originally a lawyer and was a member of
the Pennsylvania Legislature. His " D. D." was received
from Jefferson College, Philadelphia. He assisted Rev.
Dr. Hare at St. Matthew's Church, Philadelphia. St.
Clement's Church in that city was built for the purpose
of having him as its first rector.
276 WILLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Dr. S. R. Knight, the superintendent of the Episcopal
Hospital, sends me the above information.
Rev. William J. Clark was born in Philadelphia in
1812; educated in that city and Alexandria Theological
Seminary, and ordained by Bishop Moore, and has had
the following parishes: Wilmington, Delaware, St.
Andrew's, about 1838; Wilkes-Barre, 1839; Berlin and
Snow Hill, Eastern Shore of Maryland, 1841; Church-
town, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, about 1845; Wil-
liamsport, Pennsylvania, 1846-1850; Washington and
Georgetown, in charge of Female Boarding-school,
1851-1856; Shrewsbury, Kent County, Maryland, 1856-
1860; Portsmouth, Ohio, from 1860 to 1865; Vineland,
New Jersey, from 1871 to 1872, or 1873.
Mr. Clark now resides in Germantown, Philadelphia.
Rev. D. E. Purdon Wright was born in Lincoln, Eng-
land, in 1825. His father was a clergyman, Rev. Robert
Wright. During his childhood he removed to Ireland
where he grew up attending Trinity College, Dublin.
He came to the United States, and was acting rector of
Burlington College, New Jersey. The Rt. Rev. G. W.
Doane ordained him deacon, in 1852, and priest, 1853.
His first parish was Williamsport, thence he removed to
Lancaster County, and became rector of St. John's,
Pequea, and St. Mark's, Honeybrook. Afterward he
was in Nashua, New Hampshire, .and at Christ Church,
Waukegan, Illinois, and St. James's Church, Cincinnati,
Ohio, and Christ Church, Dayton, Ohio. In both of the
Ohio parishes, new churches were built under his super-
vision that in Dayton costing $50,000. He has labored
for 17 years in Wisconsin, mostly in the missionary
fields, but he is now rector of Trinity, Wauwatosa, a
parish founded by him. He is also the chaplain of the
N. W. Branch National Home for D. V. S.
WILLIAMSPOKT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH. 277
He is the Secretary of the Standing Committee. The
degree of D. D. was conferred on him by Nebraska Col-
THE RT. REV. WILLIAM PA RET, D. D.
Sixth Bishop of Maryland, was born in New York in
the year 1826. He graduated from Hobart College,
where he pursued his theological studies under the per-
sonal supervision of Bishop De Lancey. He was ordered
deacon in 1852, and ordained to the priesthood in 1853.
He was successively rector at Clyde, N. Y.; Pierrepont
Manor, N. Y.; East Saginaw, Mich.; Elmira, N. Y.;
Williamsport, Pa., and the Epiphany, Washington.
Elected Bishop of Maryland on October 28th, 1884.
Consecrated on the Festival of the Epiphany (January
6th), 1885, by Bishops Lee, of Delaware; Lay, of Easton;
Stevens, of Pennsylvania ; Neely, of Maine ; Plowe, of
Central Pennsylvania, and Lyman, of North Carolina.
[Living Church Annual Quarterly, 1886.]
JOHN HENRY HOPKINS, D. D , S. T. D.
was born in Pittsburg, Pa., in 1820; his father being
rector of Trinity Church, in that city, and his mother
being the daughter of Caspar Otto Muller, a German
lady. The education of this their first-born son, was of
a special care to his parents. They attended to it in per-
son in a family school, and afterwards partly through
salaried teachers, in the First Vermont Episcopal Insti-
tute, in Burlington; Vermont. At 13, John Henry was
confirmed and became a regular communicant. His apt-
ness to learn, rendered his education a very pleasant
work for his teachers, and he prepared for the University
of Vermont, at the age of 15, where he graduated with
honors in 1833, in the presence of Henry Clay. While
278 W1LLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
in Burlington, he was organist of St. Paul's Church, an
office filled by his older sister and younger brothers and
sisters in succession for more than thirty years. He was
private tutor in the family of the late Bishop Elliott from
1842 to 1844.
Mr. Hopkins graduated at the General Theological
Seminary, New York, in 1856 ; ordained deacon in the
same year by Bishop Whittingham, in Trinity Church,
New York. In 1853, he started the Church Journal,
which for 15 years was "facile princeps" among the
religious literature of the land. From 1868 till 1872 he
was mainly occupied with his father's biography, which
was not only the life but the Church times of the first
Bishop of Vermont. At the same period he was for
about six months in pastoral charge in Vergennes, Ver-
mont, and two years in Essex, N. Y., in both of which
parishes the church made substantial progress while
under his care. In 1872, he became rector of Trinity
Church, Plattsburg, N. Y., receiving priest's orders
there. During this rectorship he made most earnest
efforts to divide the Diocese of Albany,. and found the
See of Ogdensburg, N. Y., and he was so nearly suc-
cessful as to prove the practicability of the plan, if the
canonical consents could have been secured. 1111876,
he became rector of Christ Church, Williamsport, with
the distinct understanding at the start, that he should
labor to divide the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania, and
found the See of Williamsport.
This too, he brought to the very verge of success, by
several years of almost superhuman labor, but failed,
as before, from the lack of full canonical consent. His
convictions in favor of small dioceses had been the
growth of years. They had been voiced in the Church
Journal, and had been the main cause of the division of
WILLIAMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH. 2)9
the diocese of New York into four dioceses. He had
proved repeatedly that every division had resulted in
greater growth of the church, and that the true secret
of the church's life lay in reducing the size of dio-
ceses, until every bishop should have time, not only to
preside over work begun, but to open up in person, the
new fields in his diocese.
The rectorship in Christ Church, Williamsport, con-
tinued for nearly eleven years, and resulted in over
$100.000 raised for church work, the founding of several
ir I ' O
missions, and the building of more than one mission
chapel, and the bringing into the ministry several
youths trained by Mr. Hopkins himself.
His relation to the great Catholic Revival in the
Anglican communion, was ever that of a warm friend.
One of the most striking examples of this, is his Bible
Protestant Catechism, in which a stolid Protestant is
forced, in a most amusing way, to admit the Scriptural
authority for all the peculiar points of the Catholic
Revival in the church.
Mr. Hopkins ever held the pen of a ready writer; with
keen wit, genial humor, clear logic, exhaustive learning,
a love of sarcasm, he felt hard to restrain, a readiness
in repartee, a rare aptness in illustration, with a fund of
pat stories and a power of hard hitting in argument; he
never committed himself in public until sure of his
ground, and always had the last word. His pamphlets
and review articles and contributions to various cyclo-
paedias would make several volumes. He published in
magazines, many articles, original songs, music and
words; a volume of charming carols and songs, a volume
of heart-stirring poetry, and he edited the great works
of Professor Mahan, the sermons of Bishop Elliott, and
among several others, the last large volume of the late
280 WILL1AMSPORT (c.) CHRIST CHURCH.
Professor Dean, on "The Evidences of Christianity."
He was nominated repeatedly by the Alumni of the
General Theological Seminary to succeed Professor
Dean, but by a small majority failed of the election by
He was an accomplished architect, and was the founder
and leading spirit in the Ecclesiological Society, designed
many of our most beautiful and unique churches and
chapels. He was the life of the clerical social party,
excelled in after-dinner speeches and in conventions; car-
ried on an enormous correspondence on church quest-
ions in England and America, and in Roman contro-
versy silenced Monsignor Capel. This latter controversy
and a review of Dr. Littledale's Petrine Claims, have
lately appeared in a volume published by Mr. T. Whit-
Several other works have been designed by Mr. Hop-
kins, but they are all now (October 1890), in his seven-
tieth year, given up on account of entire loss of health.
Written by request by William Cyprian Hopkins, rec-
tor of Grace Church, Toledo, Ohio.
For Dr. .Hopkins's "The Church of the Future in
America," see Church Eclectic, February, A. D. 1891.
Rev. William H. Graff, was born in 1845, and was a
student at Agricultural College, Centre County, Pa.,
when the War broke out. Served nearly three years in
the isth P. V. C., (Anderson Cavalry). He graduated
at the Philadelphia Divinity School, in June, 1870. He
was ordained deacon by Bishop A. Lee, at Claymont,
Delaware/June 26th, 1870, and became assistant to Dr.
H. J. Morton, in St. James's Church, Philadelphia. On
December 27th, was ordained priest at Church of All
Saints', Torresdale, Pa., to fill call of St. Jude's Free
Church, Philadelphia, to become its rector, After sev-
WILLIAMSfORT (c.) TRINITY. 2I
enteen years of most faithful service in this parjsh, he
was called, in the Fall of 1887, to the rectorship of
"Christ Church," Williamsport, to succeed the Rev.
Dr. John Henry Hopkins.
WILLIAMSPORT (c.) TRINITY.
The first services held for our church in Williamsport
were by Rev. E. N. Lightner, rector of St. James's
Church, Muncy, in 1840.
: Mr. Spackman, the first rector of Trinity, was rector
of St. Mark's, Frankford, 1846, assistant at St. Matthew's,
Philadelphia, 1853; St. Clement's, Philadelphia, 1857;
and after leaving Trinity, he was Chaplain of the Epis-
copal Hospital. He died in February, 1875.
Mr. Brooks was rector of St. James's, Chicago, 1872,
and of the Church of the Incarnation, New York, 1875.
Mr. Caskey was minister of the "Crown of Life"
Chapel, N. Y., before coming to Trinity.
Mr. Tanclon was rector of St. James's, Muncy, Pa.;
Grace, Muncie, Indiana; St. George's, Farley, and St.
Andrew's, Chariton, Iowa.
Mr. Foley was assistant at St. Matthew's, Philadelphia,
1874; minister in charge of St. Matthias, September,
1875; rector St. James's, Pittston, Pa., November, 1875.
A mission Sunday-school was begun in 1862 by mem-
bers of Christ Church, and continued until the organiza-
tion of this parish in-i 865. The first rector was Rev. Henry
S. Spackman, formerly of St. Clement's, Philadelphia,
who entered upon his duties January ist, 1866. Services
were held in a neighboring Methodist Chapel until the
erection of Trinity Chapel in 1866. Mr. Spackman
resigned in 1868.
282 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
His successor was Rev. Charles T. Stcck, who entered
the ministry of the church from the Lutherans. He
remained until January, 1870.
The third rector was the Rev. Arthur Brooks, who
accepted the call in 1870. Within the year, plans were
secured for a new stone church, to cost not less than
$20,000, the corner-stone of which was laid by Bishop
Stevens, on July i5th, 1871. Mr. Brooks resigned in
On May 5th, 1872, a call was extended to the Rev.
Toliver F. Caskey, of New York, who continued in
charge until September, 1877. During this rectorship,
the new church was built upon revised and enlarged
plans, and at the sole cost of Mr. Peter Herdic. Its
value is estimated at more than $60,000. It was conse-
crated, February 22c1, 1876.
The Rev. F. D. Jandon became rector, November,
On May ist, 1879, the ^ ev - George .C. Foley became
the sixth rector of the parish, and continues so at pres-
ent. During this rectorship, a handsome brick rectory
has been built at an expense of over $10,000; the chapel
has been enlarged, a vested choir introduced, exquisite
chancel embroidered hangings presented, and the hope
is entertained of signalizing the twenty-fifth anniversary
of the parish in 1891 by the erection of a commodious
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
As we travel toward York, the long bridge from Col-
umbia to Wrightsville reminds us, that in the midst of
this beautiful scenery, there was but a ferry in the time
of Rev. Thomas Barton, and the early missionaries in
general who served this region so faithfully, enduring
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. '"* 283
hardness as good soldiers of Christ. The winter experi-
ence at this point must have been sometimes very severe.
This was known as Wright's Ferry. The noble hills
then stood as now the sentinels of God, but the rocks
had not been cut that the steam railway might rush
through them. The old bridge was above the present
one. A pretty creek still babbles along beyond
The name Columbia in the town we have just left is a
memento of the early history of this land. Productive
farms, large barns and good farm-houses lie among the
rolling hills, where Mr. Barton doubtless saw many
forests. Art triumphs over nature, and yet the hand of
God is seen both in art and nature. We passed through
this country in the sweet month of June, whose breath is
scented with the new mown hay, and whose golden fields
of wheat wait the sickle, or rather the reaping machine,
which destroys poetry, and is a stronger reminder of
death, as being more powerful. The oats have already
fulfilled the task assigned by their Creator.
An abundance of woods still greets the eye on the
hills, and the birds of the air and animals have a rightful
share of the creation of God, with their fellow creature,
man. The cottages are neat and well kept, and there is
an air of comfort. Alter crossing the Susquehanna we
entered York County. Stony Brook is poetic with the
antiquity of nature, as the stones were washed by the
water in Indian days, as well as in the time of the Prop-
agation Society Missionaries. The sower -and reaper
are now rejoicing together, and the animals drawing
their heavy loads teach man a lesson of patience. The
comfortable farm houses have a town look, because they
are constructed of brick. It would be better if they
were colored so as to suit the natural surroundings.
284 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
But here we are in York, with its busy factories and
railways and large population. Our friend, the Rev.
William G. Ware, rector of St. John's Church, is ready
to aid our investigations, while a former parishioner,
now the Superintendent of the Frederick Division of the
Pennsylvania Railway, Wilson Brown, extends a ready
The commodious and pleasant rectory at York is
opposite the church, and the parish is to be congratu-
lated on having so much land from the wise forethought
of early settlers.
A tablet in the front of the tower states that the church
was founded in 1769, and rebuilt in 1850, 1862 and 1883.
It was enlarged at the last date.
The tombstone of Mrs. Sarah Hall, who died in 1826,
being the wife of Rev. Richard D. Hall, is against the
exterior church wall.
There is a pleasant Sunday-school room in the second
story, and an infant-class room on the first story v There
are parish and Sunday-school libraries and guild rooms.
The church is constructed of brick. Some Hessians
are buried in the rear of the ample churchyard. The
old bell is still in use. There is a sexton's house, and
altogether the parish owns a fine property. The church-
yard is the oldest burying-place of the town. Mrs.
Johnson's tomb is of ancient date.
A triplet chancel-window commemorates Miss Maria
Virginia Schall, daughter of Michael and Charlotte
Virginia Schall. This family have, for many years,
been faithful workers in this parish. Jarnes Schall and
his wife Elizabeth, are commemorated in a triplet rear
transept-window, and an opposite window is the gift of
the Sunday-school. In the front transept, on the south
side, Henry D. Schmidt and Catharine A. Schall find a
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 285
commemoration in another window. Catharine Jameson
and Elizabeth Jameson Gibson are kept in memory, in
like manner, in the north front transept. Emily C.
Bonham has a window in her memory, in which St.
Agnes, with her lamb, is represented. James Schall and
wife, and a daughter of the present vestryman, Michael
Schall, also have memorial windows. The interior of
the church is pretty, and the chancel is beautiful. The
rectory has been remodeled and enlarged during Mr.
Ware's rectorship. The Sunday-school building is sep-
arate from the church. The choir-room is on the south
side of the church. A school property, formerly belong-
ing to the church, adjoins the rectory, and the grounds
of this school are very fine. This York County Academy
property originally belonged to the parish, but it has
passed from their hands to be continued, however, for
Rev. Mr. Ware assumed the rectorship of this parish
May ist, 1889, coming from St. Paul's Church, Wells-
boro, Pennsylvania. His predecessor, the Rev. Mr.
Powell, left in 1888, to take charge of Grace Church,
The streets of York have an English flavor, as George,
Duke, Queen and King. A Moravian cemetery, with
its flags on soldiers' graves, is an interesting spot in the
town. Farquahar Hill and Park make a pleasant resort
on a summer evening, and modern history mingles with
ancient, as the late Judge Jeremiah Black's place is seen
on one of the hills in view from this point. As sunset
draws on, the town seems to sleep beneath. The Conewago
hills are in sight, connecting below with the South and
Cototchtin (Indian Kau-ta-tin Chunk or principal moun-
tain, or Kittatiny) Mountains, and above with the Welsh
286 " YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
The Hessians had a camp near this town.
In Revolutionary days Congress met in the State
House in York, and here Dr. White, afterward bishop,
officiated as chaplain. The court house was used for
There is an old drawing by William Wagster of the
interior of the old church, with its quaintly dressed
worshipers, hanging in one of the rooms of the present
church building, which I . wish could be put into an
engraving, as it is worthy of that notice for its antiquity.
There is an ancient legacy at York which adds to the
interest of a visit to the town. There are several acres
of commons which have laid open since the days of the
Perm Proprietaries, and were given by them for the
public pasturage of cattle. So a remnant of one of the
vastest estates on earth, which has mostly passed from
that distinguished family still lingers as a piece of
benevolent history, and a reminder of old customs.
On the morning of Sunday, September iSth, 1887,
Rev. Arthur Chilton Powell, who was then rector of this
parish, preached a Centennial sermon, entitled " Historic
St. John's," which was printed in pamphlet form at the
Gazette Printing House, in York. This sermon, con-
densed in some points, and enlarged by the present
author in others, will now form the continuation of this
The town of York was laid out in 1741, but the
incorporation as a borough occurred in 1787, on the 24th
of September. St. John's Church, having been founded
in 1769, received its incorporation September 2oth, 1787,
so that the sermon was delivered at the Centennial of
both events. I wish that every parish had as good a
chronicler of its history as Mr. Powell. Such work
costs time and labor, but it is very useful. A picture of
286 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
The Hessians had a camp near this town.
In Revolutionary days Congress met in the State
House in York, and here Dr. White, afterward bishop,
officiated as chaplain. The court house was used for
There is an old drawing by William Wagster of the
interior of the old church, with its quaintly dressed
worshipers, hanging in one of the rooms of the present
church building, which I wish could be put into an
engraving, as it is worthy of that notice for its antiquity.
There is an ancient legacy at York which adds to the
interest of a visit to the town. There are several acres
of commons which have laid open since the days of the
Penn Proprietaries, and were given by them for the
public pasturage of cattle. So a remnant of one of the
vastest estates on earth, which has mostly passed from
that distinguished family still lingers as a piece of
benevolent history, and a reminder of old customs.
On the morning of Sunday, September iSth, 1887,
Rev. Arthur Chilton Powell, who was then rector of this
parish, preached a Centennial sermon, entitled " Historic
St. John's," which was printed in pamphlet form at the
Gazette Printing House, in York. This sermon, con-
densed in some points, and enlarged by the present
author in others, will now form the continuation of this
The town of York was laid out in 1741, but the
incorporation as a borough occurred in 1787, on the 24th
of September. St. John's Church, having been founded
in 1769, received its incorporation September soth, 1787,
so that the sermon was delivered at the Centennial of
both events. I wish that every parish had as good a
chronicler of its history as Mr. Powell. Such work
costs time and labor, but it is very useful. A picture of
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 287
the dignified old church, in its open lot, adorns the
pamphlet. In 1810 the entrance was removed from the
side to the front. That year the house for' the sexton
was built. The church was originally called "St. John
the Baptist in the Wilderness." The trees which are
grouped in the yard in the picture give it a rustic look.
There were but three English Episcopal Churches
beside this "in the colony of Pennsylvania, outside the
city of Philadelphia."
The text of the sermon was Jeremiah 6 : 16. "Thus
saith the Lord : stand ye in the ways and see, and ask
for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk
therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls."
The preacher lovingly dwelt on the glory of York in
the eyes of both the patriot and the churchman.
Fidelity to God was the source of this honor. Parish
and town are older than the Republic. The church bell
summoned the Continental Congress, where the church
services were used by the chaplain, the Rev. William
White, who afterward became bishop. The Academy
at York, which did good work for a century, was the
child of this parish. The first Sunday-school in York
County was founded by one of the members of St. John's
The first settlers of York County were English. In
1729 John and James Hendricks settled on Kreutz Creek.
German emigrants soon followed, and those who applied
for lots in Yorktown were mainly Germans. A log
church was built by the Lutherans in 1741. There were
a good number of English people in the town, and the
first services in the English language were those of the
Church of England. They seem to have begun not
long after the town was founded. The first English
Missionary sent by the loving mother Church of England
288 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
to her distant children, found a congregation established
here, though without regular services. These are better
days, when every Lord's Day hears the old bell calling a
goodly congregation to prayer and praise and religious
instruction and Holy Sacraments. May the people
prize and rightly use these blessed privileges. In 1755,
the Rev. Thomas Barton held services here at appointed
times. Born in Ireland in 1730, he had received his
education at the University of Dublin. When 23 years
old he came to this country, and taught two years in the
Academy of Philadelphia. He also visited the church
folk in York, and Huntington, which is now called York
Springs, and Carlisle. The people wished him to go to
England for ordination. He remained there two years
as a postulant, and was ordained in 1755, and came back
as a Missionary of the Society for Propagating the
Gospel in Foreign Parts, which Society still blesses the
world in advancing the Kingdom of Christ. Mr. Barton's
work extended over York, Adams and Cumberland
Counties, as they are now divided. He also visited
other settlements to administer the rites and sacraments of
the Church. He desired to Christianize the poor Indians
who came in his way. When they came to Carlisle to
sell furs and the skins of deer, he invited them to his
services, and instructed those, who could understand
English,, in Christ's Gospel ; and the Episcopal Church
still goes on in the same good work. The Indians at
times brought their companions, and the Missionary's
hopes were rising that many might be drawn to their
Lord and Saviour, when the French and Indian War
broke out, and destroyed his benevolent plans.
For ten years Mr. Barton held this parish, and then
took charge of St. James's Church, Lancaster, though
he still officiated frequently at York. He started the
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 289
services of the Church at Columbia. When the Rev-
olutionary War came, as an English churchman, he
thought he could not take the oath of allegiance to this
country, and resigned, his post at Lancaster, and went to
the British at New York, and died there at the age of
fifty, in 1780. He left many children and some of them
were famous. Mr. Barton's action in clinging to the
Home Government was doubtless a conscientious one, as
he deemed his ordination oath still binding, and many
other English clergymen in this country felt as he did ;
but some considered themselves free to act according to
their own sense of duty in the emergency. Such cases
of conscience must be settled for each individual for
himself, and it is hard to put ourselves in the place of
this missionary at this distance of time and with such a
different education and surroundings. We must give him
great credit for his hard toil in a day of hardships for his
blessed Master. A longer account of this good man and
some of his descendants may be found in the sketch of
St. James's Church, Lancaster, in this volume.
In 1760, the Rev. William Thompson brought letters
from the Propagation Society Secretary, Dr. Bearcroft,
certifying his appointment to succeed Mr. Barton in the
missions of York and Cumberland. Immediately after
leaving his ship, he sat in a Convention of Clergy, in
Philadelphia. Huntington, in York County, now York
Mills, York and Carlisle were under the care of Mr.
Thompson. There were two glebes belonging to the
mission, but they were uncultivated. The income was
small and Indian incursions on the frontiers, with killing
and scalping, made settlement dangerous. Over 1500
plantations were left, and the people crowded into the
interior of the province for refuge. The Missionary
brought his wife to Carlisle, where every hut was filled
290 YORK (C.) ST. JOHN'S,
with helpless women and children, and an invasion of
the enemy was feared, and all faces showed melancholy
and despair. Trouble continued for months, in 1763.
There was confusion and disorder, farmers and others
fleeing, some sleeping in the open air, and needing food.
There were daily alarms and butcheries, though there
were delightful services when the Missionary reached
his parishioners by dangerous travel, and found them
glowing with love of country and religion. Compare
in your minds your comfortable homes and well-filled
tables to-day. In 1764, the missionary returned to his
plantation. He mentions two Quaker families as having
been received into the Church.
In 1762, Mr. Thompson reports from Carlisle, that he
preached on weekdays among the "scattered members of
the Church of England at great distance from his
churches. Different denominations attended in numbers,
and seemed better disposed to the Church than before.
He found association a means of removing their false
notions of the Church. He says, " We have with the
greatest difficulty raised a very convenient stone church,
in Carlisle, and covered it in a genteel manner." Money
was lacking to finish the inside at once, as the fund was
exhausted, and many members had given beyond their
In 1768, the church in Carlisle was almost com-
pleted. The people at York Town proposed to erect a
commodious church in the Spring of the next year. The
parishioners in the extensive mission had given due at-
tendance at service, which the Missionary had rendered
in fatigue of heat in summer and cold in winter. In
1769, Trenton applied for the services of Mr. Thompson,
as Rev. Dr. William Smith writes. In 1771, he is spoken
of as receiving a library for Trenton, These libraries
290 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
with helpless women and children, and an invasion of
the enemy was feared, and all faces showed melancholy
and despair. Trouble continued for months, in 1763.
There was confusion and disorder, farmers and others
fleeing, some sleeping in the open air, and needing food.
There were daily alarms and butcheries, though there
were delightful services when the Missionary reached
his parishioners by dangerous travel, and found them
glowing with love of country and religion. Compare
in your minds your comfortable homes and well-filled
tables to-day. In 1764, the missionary returned to his
plantation. He mentions two Quaker families as having
been received into the Church.
In 1762, Mr. Thompson reports from Carlisle, that he
preached on weekdays among the 'scattered members of
the Church of England at great distance from his
churches. Different denominations attended in numbers,
and seemed better disposed to the Church than before.
He found association a means of removing their false
notions of the Church. He says, "We have with the
greatest difficulty raised a very convenient stone church,
in Carlisle, and covered it in a genteel manner." Money
was lacking to finish the inside at once, as the fund was
exhausted, and many members had given beyond their
In 1768, the church in Carlisle was almost com-
pleted. The people at York Town proposed to erect a
commodious church in the Spring of the next year. The
parishioners in the extensive mission had given due at-
tendance at service, which the Missionary had rendered
in fatigue of heat in summer and cold in winter. In
1769, Trenton applied for the services of Mr. Thompson,
as Rev. Dr. William Smith writes. In 1771, he is spoken
of as receiving a library for Trenton, These libraries
' ffi m t - t
j 5 ct> o
CB rt- a"
>-j o as
If 0> I-J
CD ,-j CD
fp P *
(") e <c
K O "3
_ o ro
H3 o ^
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 291
were very important at a time when religious books
were very scarce.
In 1765, Rev. Dr. John Andrews succeeded Mr, Barton;
he was zealous and a good manager, and began to raise
funds for a church building, in 1765. Mr. Thomas Men-
shall was to receive subscriptions. Some who were not
Church of England people kindly contributed, though
the amount that they gave was not considerable, when
compared with that obtained from the parishioners.
Money, timber and hauling were mentioned as the gifts
of those outside of the congregation. Philadelphia and
Lancaster added their contributions. " By very great
exertions the Church " was built, and nearly paid for.
"The ladies of York then subscribed for hangings for
the pulpit and desk, which were made up by them-
selves of Crimson Damask."
The Rev. Dr. Peters, once rector of. Christ Church,
Philadelphia, secured the ground for the church by his
influence. "The warrant was granted to Samuel John-
ston, and Thomas Menshall, Esqs., and to Mr. Joseph
Adlum, trustees of the congregation." Mr. Johnston
and Mr. Adlum directed the construction of the build-
ing. In 1 8 10, the church was altered, and a gallery
built, and a fine and costly chandelier, which was pre-
sented by St. Paul's Church, Baltimore, was placed in
the church. The church has been enlarged at various
times, so that the present building does not look like
the original one, though it has a portion- of the old walls.
The Rev. Dr. Andrews continued his work in York
and Cumberland Counties, from 1765 to 1772, and then
took charge of St. James's Church, Bristol, Pennsylvania.
I add to Mr. Powell's narrative that an account was given
of him in the Appendix to my book, the Early Clergy
of Pennsylvania and Delaware. He was ordained in
292 YORK (C.) ST. JOHN'S.
England, though a native of Maryland. He was success-
ful in church work at Lewes, Delaware. His ministry at
York was a happy one. He held Carlisle with York.
His wife was Elizabeth Callender. He moved to Mary-
land, but returned to York and opened a school. He
showed hospitality to Major Andre when he was in
York, on parole. He strove to induce the leading
Methodist preachers to unite with the church. He was
Provost of the University of Pennsylvania. This worthy
clergyman and eloquent preacher was buried in Christ
Church graveyard, Philadelphia. In 1774, Rev. Daniel
Batwell succeeded Dr. Andrews. In the first year of his
pastorship, Queen Caroline, of England, sister of George
the Third, and wife of the King of Denmark, gave the
church a bell, and, as there was no tower, it was put on
the pavement of Joseph Updegraff, Esq., in Centre
Square, where it, remained for some time. It was after-
ward hung in the tower of the State House, where it was
rung on Sundays, at the appointed hours of service at
the English Episcopal Church. When the news of the
Declaration of Independence reached York, the bell was
on the pavement, but was raised by James Smith, a
signer of the Declaration, and other townspeople to the
court house cupola, where it proclaimed the glad tid-
ings as its first service. It was kept in the State House
from 1776 to 1841, when the building was demolished.
It long served church and State, calling Congress
together in i777,and 1778, when York was the National
Capital. For seventy years it summoned the courts, and
on Sundays called men to worship God in Christ. Its
clear and sweet tones Avere dear to the citizens. When
the State House was demolished, the authorities of the
church in the face of strong opposition seized the bell,
and hid it under the church, and after the excitement
YORK (C.) ST. JOHN'S. 293
had passed a belfry was built on the church, and the
bell was hung in it. It was soon afterward cracked, but
was sent to Baltimore for recasting, and still does its
sacred work, being almost as historic as the Liberty Bell
Mr. Batwell, in the Revolution, bravely prayed for
King George, but his loyality to the English crown
awoke persecution, and he was dragged from his house,
and thrice plunged into Codorus Creek in one day. The
old creek ran along quietly under its bridges when I
visited York, as if it had never seen so violent a sight.
Let us hope that it has forgotten it as it has sung so
many spring and harvest hymns since. When Mr. Bat-
well returned to his home at Huntingdon, armed men
from York brought him back and put him in prison on a
frivolous charge of concernment in a conspiracy to des-
troy the Continental magazine in Pennsylvania. He
memorialized Congress at York on the zd of October,
1777, asking release, and the physician, Dr. Jameson,
sent a certificate, stating that he "was so emaciated by a
complication of disorders, that his life would be en-
dangered, unless he was removed from the said jail."
The petition was referred to the President and the
Supreme Executive Council of the State, but the mis-
sionary was allowed to remove from jail, "and received
every indulgence, yet still remaining in safe keeping.
After some time he was released from custody." Mr.
Batwell returned soon to England, where he was
rewarded by the King with a good parish in which he
served until his death.
I append a sketch of Mr. Batwell, which I prepared
for the Sunday-school Association which met at Para-
dise in June, 1890.
The Rev. Daniel Batwelle was among those who had
294 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
difficulties in mission work in Revolutionary times.
Rev. Dr. William Smith writes to the Secretary of the
Propagation Society concerning him. He preached
on a fast-day in the Governmental troubles which pre-
ceded the Revolution in 1775, an d also signed a letter to
the Bishop of London, with other clergy, on the state
of the times. In 1776, Samuel Johnston, a lawyer hold-
ing position under the Colonial Government of England,
speaks of the church at York, as " one of the most ele-
gant little churches in this or perhaps any other province
in America. The ladies subscription for Crimson
Damask hangings which they made up themselves, did
them honor while it was no small addition to the orna-
ments of the church."
Dissenters were pleased with Mr. Batwelle, (the name
is written with a final "e,") and took seats in the church.
Trouble concerning Government matters however, arose
at York and Carlisle, as Mr. Batwelle was a royalist.
After he had leit York,he returned with "Rev.Mr. Adams,
(the late Missionary), to supply his family with some
necessaries," and when about to depart, a number of Ger-
mans seized the bridle of his horse, declaring that the
animal had been stolen. Providentially, the man from
whom it was bought was at hand, and denied this. They
pretended that "they would show him the right owner,"
but cruelly took him to the stream running through the
town,Codorus Creek,and dipped him in its water "several
times," and made him ride over twelve miles in his wet
clothes. The better class of people disapproved of this
act, but the Courts of Justice were shut and there was
no hope of present redress. Mr. Batwelle had dissuaded
Revolutionary measures, but in those days others acted
in like manner, for the Americans were not a unit in this
matter, as history shows. However, in war, blind rage
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 295
often gets the ascendant. This Missionary improved
the glebe at York during his incumbency.
We return to Mr. Powell's narrative. The parish at
York, after Mr. Batwell's departure was vacant until
1784. It is thought likely that when the future Bishop
White was chaplain of Congress, services were held,
either in the church or State House. Dr. White was
then rector of Christ Church, Philadelphia. He certainly
conducted the services where the church people, could
attend them. For a time he was a guest of Rev. Mr.
Kurtz, who was the minister of Christ Lutheran congre-
gation. He undoubtedly performed the funeral service
when Philip Livingston died at York, while Congress
was in session. This gentleman was a signer of the De-
claration. The consecration of Dr. White took place
in 1787, and he visited York as a Bishop for fifty years.
In" 1 784, Dr. White asked the Church Wardens and
Vestry, at York, in behalf of the clergy and a commit-
tee of laity, to send one or more delegates on the 24th
of May to Philadelphia, to assist in proposing a plan of
Church government for Episcopalians in the United
States. The letter was sent to Col. Thomas Hartley.
He and Thomas Bailey and William Johnson, were the
delegates chosen ; but it is not known whether they at-
tended the meeting, which a few years after culminated
in " the establishment of our national branch of the
the Church Catholic."
In 1784, Rev. John Campbell became rector of this
parish. He was the first one to give his entire time to
the parish, and he toiled here successfully and faithfully
for twenty years, building up the Kingdom of Christ,
He soon planned the building of a rectory on a piece of
ground opposite the church, which had been procured
from the proprietors in 1777. The rectory and academy
296 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
were built in 1787, and for both he collected funds mainly
in Philadelphia and Baltimore and Lancaster. The
Academy was under the church for twelve years, but as
the parish appears to have been weak about the close of
the last century, the support of the State was asked,
and that body appointed a Board of Trustees which still
rule the institution. In 1804, Mr. Campbell resigned
this parish and became rector of Carlisle, where he
ministered until his death.
The Rev. John Armstrong was rector from 1810 to
1818. The church was first altered and the gallery built
in this rectorship. The rectory was repaired, and the sex-
ton's house was built. In 1812, a class of seventy per-
sons was confirmed. Mr. Armstrong resigned in May,
1818, removing to Frederick, Maryland, becoming rec-
tor of "a church and congregation in that vicinity."
From 1818 to 1819, Rev. Grandison Aisquith was rec-
tor. He moved to Baltimore. From 1819 to 1822 the
rectorship was vacant. In 1818 and 1819 Samuel Bacon
was Secretary of the Vestry. He was a classical teacher
in the academy, and was afterward in the Navy, and be-
came a lawyer in York. He founded the first Sunday-
school in this county, and owing to his great exertions
there were twenty-six Sunday-schools in the county.
He was ordained deacon by Bishop White, and became
a missionary of the Bible Society, traveling in different
States and establishing Sunday-schools. He went to
Africa as an agent of the United States in the first
colony of the Colonization Society. This good man
died of a fever at the English settlement called Cape
Shilling, in 1830, at the age of thirty-eight. He died in
Christian hope in a foreign land, and deserves honor
there and at home for his courageous furtherance of the
truths of Christ's religion. A bright, earthly future
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 297
opened before this talented young man when he began
life, but he chose "the better part," and in Paradise he
does not regret his choice.
From 1821 to 1823, Rev. George B. Schaeffer was
minister of St. John's, York.
From 1823 to 1825 Rev. Charles Williams was rector.
He was born and educated in England where he was
ordained deacon. He was a relative of Chancellor Thur-
low. He had charge of Huntington, (now York
Springs), as well as York. He was successful and the
church at York increased under his care. He left York
to become President of Baltimore College.
From 1826 to 1829, Rev. Richard D. Hall was rector.
(See Bristol in this volume.)
From 1829 to 1831, Rev. John V. E. Thorn was rec-
tor. He lived near Carlisle, and served the parishes at
Carlisle and York. Hon. Richard Rush, Minister to
England, was a vestryman in 1831 and 1832. He was
also Minister to France, and President Adams made
him Secretary of the Treasury.
From 1834 to 1836, Rev. Benjamin Hutchins was rec-
tor. He served gratuitously for nearly a year, and gave
the parish a Sunday-school library, "and furnished
prayer-books and Bibles for the use of the church."
"The church was thoroughly repaired." In 1835, a
silver Communion service was presented to the church
"by Henry J. Hutchins, Esq., of Philadelphia, the father
of the rector." He lived for a time in York, and was a
vestryman. (See Lancaster in this volume.)
From 1836 to 1838, Rev. Walter Franklin held the
rectorship. Bishop Kerfoot, then a teacher in St. Paul's
College, Flushing, Long Island, was a friend of Mr.
Franklin, and after his ordination in 1837 visited him,
and preached his first sermon in St. John's Church, and
298 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
performed his first marriage ceremony here; uniting in
holy matrimony, the Rev. Mr. Franklin, and Miss
Catharine Days. The mother and brothers of the
bishop lived in York "for several years." Mr. Franklin
once had a school for young ladies at Newark, Dela-
ware, and was rector of St. Thomas's Church in that
From 1838 to 1840, Rev. Edward Waylen was rector.
The name of the church was then St. John the Baptist
In 1840, Mr. Waylen was granted a leave of absence "to
visit his family in England, and it does not appear that
he returned." He issued a book in 1846, called, "Ec-
clesiastical Reminiscences of the United States."
Rev. John H. Marsden officiated monthly during the
winter, and in March, 1841, was called to the rectorship.
He held York Springs also. He closed his connection
with York parish in 1844, but lived at York Springs
until his death, which occurred a few years since. He
was "a practising physician." (See Gettysburg.)
Rev. John W. Hoffman was rector from 1844 to 1849.
The church building was repaired. The rector was
allowed to build a wooden building for school use on the
rectory lot at his expense, and the parish was to have
the use of it on Sundays, but the plan was not carried
From 1849 to 1866, Rev. Charles West Thomson was
rector. He had been assistant minister at Grace Church,
Philadelphia, and that parish generously aided the York
parish at first, with regard to the salary in his new post.
His success was remarkable. The church was enlarged,
and the parish had never, in the remembrance of the
vestry, been more prosperous. In 1851, Thomas A.
Robinson presented a marble font. He had formerly
Jived in the parish. The same year, Mr. Daniel Ken-
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 299
dig, of this parish, applied for deacon's orders. He
taught in a school near York. (See Chester.) This
was a church boarding school for boys under the care of
Mr. Bland, an Englishman. In 1853, a Sunday-school
house was built. The next year, John C. Eccleston, M.
D., of Maryland, was ordained here by Bishop Potter.
In 1856, Mrs. Susan Birkhead, of Baltimore, gave the
church a silver chalice. In 1862, the church was en-
larged. In 1866, Mr. Thomson resigned, but lived in
York until his death, in 1879. He was buried in Pros-
pect Hill Cemetery. The "beautiful mural tablet" in the
church was placed there by friends in his parish and in
Philadelphia. Mr. Thomson was of Quaker descent, and
was in the United States Bank in Philadelphia. Bishop
Potter ordained him when he was about forty years old.
He was a poet of ability, and a volume of his poems was
published. "He was most direct and forcible" in preach-
ing, and was an honorable, "firm and true" Christian.
"His wife was a niece of the Historian Prescott. She
survived him but a year.
From 1866 to 1873, Rev. William P. Orrick, D. D.,
was rector. He kept up the prosperity which had
marked Mr. Thomson's rectorship. His "character and
ability won the esteem, not only of his own congrega-
tion, but also of the entire community." "The present
parish building was erected in 1869." In 1873, Dr.
Orrick resigned to take the rectorship of Christ Church,
Reading, which is now the Cathedral, of which he is
From 1873 to 1874, Rev Octavius P. Perinchief was
the rector of this church. He was at the head of a
Young Ladies' Seminary, and lived at Cottage Hill. "He
was a man of commanding ability as a preacher, and of
unblemished character as a pastor. His health was
300 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
very infirm, and he resigned the parish after a year's
incumbency." He was for a time at his former parish
at Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, and at Mount Holly, New
Jersey. His biography and sermons were published. I
recollect this hearty worker and loving man as a fellow-
student in Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut. He
was a student at the General Theological Seminary, in
New York City. His manner was always affectionate
and cordial, and he was a man of great heart. He was
a native of the Bermuda Islands. (See Upper Merion
in this volume.)
From 1874 to 1877, Rev. Edward Lothrop Stoddard
was the rector of St. John's. He became rector of St.
John's Free Church, Jersey City Heights, which position
he still holds. "The parish continued its prosperous
growth under Mr. .Stoddard's care."
In 1877 and 1878, Rev. William T. Wilson was rector.
"He was rector of the parish but a year; but he won the
admiration of all through his sterling worth and con-
spicuous abilities." His health was delicate, and he
returned to his former parish, of King's Bridge, in the
suburbs of New York, He died in 1890, at the age of
fifty-eight. He was a graduate of Yale College, and of
the General Theological Seminary in New York City.
He was associate rector of St. Peter's, Albany, with Dr.
Tatlock. For the last twelve years of his life he was the
rector of the Church of the Mediator, at King's Bridge.
He was a useful clergyman, scholarly, modest and retir-
ing. I recollect him as a very thoughtful student at the
General Theological Seminary and as a pleasant man of
kindly impulses. I believe that he was assistant minister
at St. Peter's Church, in Twentieth Street, New York,
under Rev. Dr. Beach for a time.
Rev. Dr, Tatlock, Secretary of the House of Bishops,
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 301
communicates the following sketch concerning Mr. Wil-
son at the request of the author of this volume.
His sphere was the pulpit, and personal pastoral effort,
especially among men. His sermons were strong, and
deeply interested the strong men who listened to them
in Albany. The congregation was largely made up of
public and professional men. He captivated them by the
grace of his diction, and the peculiar charm of his voice
and manner, and impressed them by the force and
clearness of his thought, "and elevated them by the nobil-
ity of his sentiment. Far more than that, his appeals to
the individual conscience were startling by their power
and pungency, and the pulpit of Albany has never rung
with clearer, manlier, or more prophetic utterances on
questions involving public right and wrong. He was
truly an educator in morals. More even than this he
had, even then, a power of spiritual insight, a faith in the
Divine Fatherhood, a grasp of human brotherhood in
Christ, and such an utterly simple and settled personal
faith in the Incarnation and Redemption, that he stirred
and awakened the spiritual appetencies and capacities
of men. They found, to their surprise and interest, that
here was no cut-and-dried expounder of doctrines
which they inertly accepted, and of duties which they
acknowledged in a far-off way, but a living man who had
thought their thoughts and felt their feelings, and was
carrying them along lines of experience in which he
knew the way.
Each sermon was an event he put his life into it the
.preparation for it was long and earnest, its delivery was
a concentrated, though utterly unconscious effort of the
whole man. He had a voice of very unusual quality
with considerable carrying power; there was also a sweet-
ness and mellowness, a capacity for varied expression,
302 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
and especially a pathos or capacity for feeling, which I
have never heard excelled. His appearance in the pulpit
was one which awakened interest of very slight figure,
with well-shaped head and mobile features, there came
a glow upon the countenance and a light into the eye
that marked the natural orator without the arts of ora-
tory. For, he was utterly free from self-consciousness;
he had just two thoughts possessing him, of his subject
and of his hearers never a thought of himself.
I said that Wilson's sphere, besides the pulpit, was in
pastoral dealing with men. It was his wont, as the time
for confirmation drew near, to single out some few prom-
inent men who had never taken a definite Christian
position, and visit them for strong and serious presenta-
tion of religious duty. I may not mention names, but
the recollection comes back to me of not a few such men
on whom his personal influence was a power for good,
who met manfully his manly appeals to conscience, whose
doubts and reluctances were cleared away, and who,
under his guidance, entered the Kingdom of God as little
children, and adorned their profession in consistent
public and private Christian lives. Such labors as these
were an inspiration to his strong and forceful nature,
and the quality of his work in this respect told upon the
church and the community. Bishop H. C. Potter gave
a beautiful tribute to Mr. Wilson, in The Churchman,
June 28, 1890.
From 1878 to 1882, Rev. Henry W. Spalding, D. D.,
held the rectorship. The parish grew rapidly under him.
He labored efficiently, and "his faithful wife" contributed
by her work to his success. The Diocesan Convention
met in the parish in his rectorship in 1881. Dr. Spalding
went from this parish to Grace Church, Jersey City, and
in 1885 removed from that place to accept the rectorship
ST. JOHN'S CHURCH, YORK.
At the present time, 18U1.
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 303
of Christ Church, Janesville, Wis. (He is now rector of
Grace Church, in Lyons, in the diocese of Western New
York.) I add later notes to date.
In 1882, on the i2th of June, Rev. Arthur Chilton
Powell entered on the rectorship. He came from the
Church of the Atonement, at Riverside, Cincinnati. St.
John's Church was enlarged during .his successful rec-
torship, and re-opened on Easter Day, 1883. The alter-
ations and improvements were very extensive. Foreight
months the services were held in the parish building,
while the improvement was in progress. A new organ
was built. There were new gas fixtures, and a new car-
pet, and new windows of stained glass, "so that while
including the old church edifice it was practically a new
building." On the 1 5th of April, 1885, Bishop Howe,
assisted by Bishop Rulison, and "in the presence of"
Bishop Dunlop, of New Mexico, and the clergy of the
Harrisburg Convocation, consecrated the church. Rev.
Dr. J: H. Eccleston was the preacher. The congrega-
tion grew in Mr. Powell's day, and in 1883, a male choir
was introduced, comprising men and boys. "A chantry
or choir-room was erected in 1885," for use in practice.
A parish library was founded in 1886. A Guild was
organized in the early part of this rectorship. On the
nth of November, 1888, Mr. Powell resigned the rector-
ship. This rector was born on the 22d of July, 1854, in
Dayton, Ohio, and graduated at the High School in
1872, and at Amherst College, in 1876, (M. A.,) and at
the Philadelphia Divinity School, in 1879, (B. D.). He
was rector of the Church of the Atonement already
mentioned from 1879 to l882 - He was Dean of Harris-
burg Convocation in 1887 and 1888. He became rector
of Grace Church, Baltimore in 1888. He was ordained
deacon in Holy Trinity Church, Philadelphia, June ipth,
304 YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S.
1880, by Bishop Jagger, of Southern Ohio, and priest in
Christ Church, Dayton, Ohio, May i3th, 1881, by the
The pamphlet of Mr. Powell which I have condensed
to bring York parish into line with its sister parishes in
this volume, deserves to be reprinted and illustrated as an
attractive and useful memorial in the parish. I regret
that space forbids even an abbreviation of the notices of
Thomas Hartley, Esq., who as a soldier, statesman and
churchman, deserves remembrance. He studied law
under Samuel Johnson, another member of this parish,
and was Colonel in the Revolutionary Army. He was
a member of Congress and beloved and honored by his
fellow citizens. He is supposed to have entertained
Washington when he passed through York, near the
close of the last century, and attended service at St.
John's. This statesman was buried in St. John's church-
yard, and Rev. Mr. Campbell gave an eloquent tribute to
his memory. His grave is now within the walls of the
church of which he was a warden.
Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Miller, is another brave
Revolutionary hero here noticed. He was in various
battles, and was Sheriff of York County, and Chief Bur-
gess of York, and Prothonotary. Washington made him
Supervisor of the Revenue for Pennsylvania. In the
war of 1812 he was a Brigadier-General. He died at
Carlisle. He was a communicant and vestryman at St.
John's, and a devout Christian.
Major John Clark was noted as a soldierand a church-
man. He was an intimate friend of General Washington,
and there is a tradition that he entertained him at York.
Major Clark was a vestryman, and a warden. He died
in 1819, and was buried "in front of the church, in the
corner of the church lot." One of his daughters left a
YORK (c.) ST. JOHN'S. 305
legacy to the parish, and Dr. Alexander Small left
another one. William and Samuel Johnston, Joseph
Adlum, Robert Jones, and William Baily are noted by
Mr. Powell as being memorable names in the parish.
James Smith was a lawyer of note in the parish. Such
a history it is here argued deserves a worthy future to suc-
ceed it. God has richly blessed the parish in the past
generations; may He bless it more richly in the coming
He has given you a faithful and active rector, in my
friend the Rev. William George Ware, who is now the
Spiritual head of the parish. He was born in Salem,
Mass., March 8th, 1850, and educated at the University
of Pennsylvania, and the Philadelphia Divinity School.
He was ordained by Bishop Clark, of Rhode Island,
July 3d, 1874, at Grace Church, in Providence. Bishop
Howe ordained him to the priesthood, May 4th, 1876, at
St. Paul's Church,Troy, Pa. He was rector of Troy, and of
Calvary Church, Wilmington, Delaware, and assistant
to Dr. Currie, at St. Luke's Philadelphia, and was rector
of St. James's Church, Downingtown, and St. Paul's,
Wellsboro, Pa., before taking charge of St. John's
Church, York, which he did on the first of May, 1889.
May the rectorship auspiciously begun, long continue to
the glory of God, and the benefit of the flock of Christ,
to which it is his high privilege to minister.
OTHER BOOKS BY THE SAME AUTHOR.
The Morning's of the Bible
By REV. S. F. HOTCHKIN. NIGHT SCENES IN THE
BIBLE have inspired grand volumes. In this volume it will be seen that
MORNINGS OF THE BIBLE are no less interesting. A work, highly
original and unique, and is a series of delightful surprises. It beams with
quotation, sparkles with illustration, and charms with learned variety. The
morning scenes become so many glories which impart a sense of enchantment.
As an appeal to the reverential spirit it is a work of unsurpassed power. One
seldom meets with so much wealth of thought and sentiment in a single work.
224 pages, 15 engravings. Cloth, $1,00.
"This volume ot brief discourses was suggested by and follows to some ex-
tent the plan of Bishop Lee's 'Eventful Nights of Bible History,' and Dr.
Daniel Marc 's ' Night Scenes in the Bible.' With his wonted facility Mr.
Hotchkin illustrates each theme with apposite quotations from ancient and
modern literature, and draws edifying lessons from natural phenomena and
every-day experience. The book is also pictorially illustrated. It will be an
acceptable Sunday book in many households." Standard of The Cross.
Early Clergy of Pennsylvania and Delaware.
By KEY. S. F. EOTCHKIN, M. A. Cloth $1.00.
" The ' Early Clergy ' is a decided understatement of the subject matter of
the Rev. Mr. Hotchkin's book. Its scope is early and late also, as it takes ac-
count of latter-day divines, such as Bishops Davies, Whitaker and Nichols and
the late Rev. Henry J. Morton, the beloved Rector Emeritus of St. James's
Protestant Episcopal Church, Philadelphia, whose parishioners and friends
have recenty felt his loss. Believing that the religious press should perpetuate
the memory of the soldiers of Christ, the writer undertook the task of search-
ing into the history of the Swedish clergy, as in provincial days parts of Penn-
sylvania and Delaware were included in ' New Sweden.' From the first settle-
ments at Tinicum, Wicacoa and Wilmington, the narrative widened out to
include a history of the Bishops of Pennsylvania and Delaware ; sketches of
Christ Church, St. Peter's, St. James's, St. Paul's Churches, and that of the
Epiphany, Philadelphia ; Trinity Church (Oxford), and the Delaware clergy.
"The sketches contain an abundance of anecdote and reminiscences illus-
trating the history of various parishes." PMladetyMa Ledger.
Sent by mail postage paid on receipt ot price. Both books sent for
P. W. ZIEGLER & CO., Publishers,
730 Chestnut St., Philadelphia.
UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
I!. I I I!
22 192 327
i \ U