Skip to main content
^S^/ -<i ';£ * ft Ss . i^O
OF LAKE COUNTY
R. C. KING
e. e. woo: COCK
HE above photographs present to you the photographer and the printer, who, combining their respective
experiences of the two arts, have originated, planned and published this unique "Souvenir Album of
Lake County." Their efforts have not been attained without some obstacles and difficulties, as the under-
taking seemed a large one to many, but the presentation of the album itself demonstrates that no
undertaking is so great but what it can be accomplished if properly managed and the confidence of the people is
secured, all of which has been done in the publication of the album, The modest price of seventy-five cents has been
made in order that an album may enter every household in Lake County, and the hope of its publishers is that it will be
fully appreciated for its merits and that the already large demand for copies of it will not cease until all have been supplied.
HE "Souvenir Album" does not claim to be an encyclopedia; its authors did not aspire to produce a ponderous history of Lake County. It has tried
to avoid dreariness and prolixity; to be brief, readable, pleasing, correct; to give the main facts and salient features of this large county; to bring to
light obscure and interesting things; to paint in light, quick strokes, deftly and interestingly, by pen and camera.
It tries to show what God has done in Nature, and what men have accomplished, by thought, by enterprise, by perseverance, in industry, in
education, in art, in commerce, in agriculture, in religion. All these spheres are good and useful. We have tried not to exalt one at the expense of
the other; to help everybody appreciate them all. For this reason we do not here separate art from industry, religion from trade, play from labor.
They are all represented on the same pages as they go in life — hand in hand — each supporting, beautifying the other.
We ask the readers to look at them all — the views, the cuts, the readings, the displays and the advertisements. They represent the work of the same people,
for the same one great purpose — to make a better country, a happier, richer citizenship. We have shown the same interest and bestowed the same care in
photographing and writing up a store, a business, a factory, a schoolhouse or a church, because they are all needed in life's broad field. The tact and energy of
our merchants, manufacturers or politicians are as essential as the devotion and piety of our pastors or the faithfulness of our teachers, and we gladly give them like
space and care in our "Album."
This is a unique book; the only one of its kind in Lake County. Buy it; read it; judge it kindly; get one for your friends and send it to them. If they have
ever been or lived in Lake County they will like it and thank you.
It is the work of three young men. Their capital is their brains, their pluck and good will; and the kind treatment and generous response of all who have been
asked to help and have done it. For those we thank Heaven; for this last we thank you.
If you like the Album, tell your friends and tell us, too. It will help us all.
We wish to thank especially Mr. Vilmer and Mr. Hay ward, photographers of Crown Point, for their generous loans of several of their fine photographs,
which many will recognize in our Album. No one can do his life-work alone. We are all dependent on others. We have used what we could and needed of
the labor of others in the production of this compendium, and we here acknowledge our debt of gratitude to the helpers too numerous to give their names. If the
reader is one, we mean him.
E. E. WOODCOCK, Printer.
CLYDE R. KING, Field Artist.
Lake County was first settled at its highest point of altitude
on the little Fancher Lake, which is now the center of the Lake
County Fair Grounds, near Crown Point. This was in 1834. Almost
simultaneously the "Yankee" or West Creek settlement was started,
a few miles west of Lowell. The first families were the Fancher,
Wilson, Hornor, Robinson, Childers, Clark and others. The first
Court of Justice in Lake County was organized in 1886. The town
of Liverpool became its first County Seat, but existed only on paper.
The same year the first postoffice was established at Lake Court
Flouse, in the store of Solon Robinson, the first store in the county.
The proceeds of the postoffice for the first three months were $15.00,
at 25 cents per letter. It all went to paying the postmaster and mail
carrier vested in one man, Solon Robinson.
The county was organized in March, 1837. Its first officers
were: Henry Wells, Sheriff; Solon Robinson, Clerk; William Holton,
Recorder; William Crooks and William Clark, Judges; Amasi Ball,
Thomas Wells and Stringham were its first Commissioners. The
first regular physician of Lake County was Dr. H. D. Palmer. Relig-
ious services were first held at Solon Robinson's home. The first
church buildings erected in the county were the M. E. Church in West
Creek, and the Roman Catholic at St. John, in 1843. The first formal
organization on record in the county was the Methodist class at
Pleasant Grove. In 1838 Congress established two mail routes through
the county — from Laporte to Joliet through Lake Court, now Crown
Point. The first sawmills were built by Walton, Wood, Dustin and
Taylor. The northern end of the county furnished much of the pine
to build Chicago, by being stolen.
Bridge building began in 1838 over West Creek and Cedar
Creek; five were built that year for $1,500. In 1839 the County Seat
became located at Crown Point, where it has been ever since. The
population of the county was then 1,463. In 1843 the scarlet fever
entered Crown Point, and brought about the selection of a special
ground for the first cemetery of the county.
In 1844 the first Presbyterian Church was organized at Crown
Point with eighteen members. Two years later, the Methodists and
Presbyterians both erected their first brick church.
In 1847, thirteen years after its first settlement, Lake County
had seven postoffices, five sawmills, two grist-mills, five church
buildings, five stores, about fifty frame houses, and many more less
pretentious log houses. There were two lawyers, seven physicians,
fifteen justices of the peace, five local ministers, one circuit preacher,
and one Presbyterian preacher. The first railroad to enter Lake
County was the Michigan Central, in 1851.
Lake County has now a population of about 75,000. It has
twenty-two railroads passing within its boundaries, with a total
mileage of about 350 miles of main track and 200 miles of side track —
more than other county in the State. These railroads are assessed
at $20,000 per mile of roadbed.
There are about $1,000,000 worth of graveled road in the
county. There are sixty-six church buildings, and about the same
number of ministers and priests; one hundred and twenty school-
houses, two hundred teachers, one hundred physicians, fifty attorneys,
and fourteen banks.
Lake County has a taxable property of $34,000,000 ; the appro-
priation for the running expenses for 1907 is $90,000. It stands at
the head of all the counties in the State in manufacturing and rail-
roads, two-thirds of its taxes being derived from these sources. The
northern portion of the county is best located for manufactures, and
the southern portion is finest for agriculture.
The early history of Lake County owes much to the quality
of its immigrants from New England, for its thrift and intelligence.
Later on have come other nationalities — German, Bohemian, Irish,
Swedes, Norwegians, Poles — which by admixture have strengthened,
enriched and varied the population.
SOME NOTABLE FEATURES OF LAKE COUNTY
Lake County has the largest printing and book-binding estab-
lishment in the world — the Conkey plant at Hammond; the largest
surgical instrument manufacturing establishment in the world — the
Betz plant at Hammond; the largest oil refinery in the world — the
Standard Oil refinery at Whiting; the largest steel plant in the world;
the two smallest men in the world — the dw.arfs exhibited by Mr.
Rossow, and the best equipped distillery in the United States, with a
capacity of 25,000 gallons, located in Hammond. It has the longest
mileage of railroads of any county in the State; the only self-support-
ing Boor Farm in the State ; the largest porous tile (terra cotta) fac-
tory in the State, if not in the country. It has the greatest variety
and number of manufacturing plants of any county in the State,
Marion not included. It has the most lake coast, and the best harbor
of any county in the State. It is the longest county in the State,
though Vermilion, Knox and Jasper rank close with it in this respect.
It has one of the largest and most varied foreign-born populations
of any county in the State. It is the nearest Chicago of any county
in the State.
LAKE COUNTY POOR FARM
No condition of life appeals more strongly to the heart of
humanity than when, the strength of life having been spent in its
battles for sustenance and position, life's evening shadows at last
creep around the combatant, desolate, forsaken and homeless. It is
to prevent, or at least to ameliorate, such conditions that County
Poor Farms have been established by statute, and that they are sup-
ported by the contributions of common citizenship, through taxation.
Yet the thing that is meant in good, and is the child of noble
impulse, has been made to result in much evil in practice, and to
become father to crying abuses. Newspapers, reformers and men of
honor, heart and courage in high places, have exposed and rebuked
the abuses that had grown in connnection with the management of
Poor Farms. They have told how in almost every county in our
fair State old people were treated neglectfully and shamefully.
This happily cannot be said of Lake County's Poor Farm.
Especially during the present administration, which dates from 1898,
the Farm has made a splendid record, thanks to the humane, sympa-
thetic, vigilant and business-like management of the big-hearted
superintendent, Erehart Bixenman, and his noble wife.
There are, at present writing, 44 inmates in the Lake County
Poor Farm, ranging in ages from 48 to 95, six of them" being women.
The fine farm of 310 acres is located four miles directly east of
Crown Point, on a good gravel road. It has seventy acres of good
timber, 120 under profitable cultivation; the rest in pasture and pleas-
ure or ornamental grounds. It is kept strictly neat and productive,
and is so well managed that it pays its expenses. This can scarcely
be said of any other Poor Farm in the State. The residence for
inmates was erected in 1884; it costs $5,000 per year for maintenance.
It is thoroughly modernized in construction, and two men and two
women are employed to keep it in attractive order. There are extensive
barns, horse and cattle sheds, all kept with the same systematic
care, Mr. Bixenman being himself the hardest worker of all
The inmates are greatly attached to their "home." The eldest,
95, has it for her routine to set the table for the inmates, and is as
jealous and proud of her care as if she were appointed first maid in
the White Plouse. Mr. Bixenman is as attentive and courteous to
visitors as he is considerate to inmates, and faithful to his public
FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE OF LAKE COUNTY
This school house was built in the early spring of 1838, in the
dawn of the history of Lake County. It was located near the west
bank of Cedar Creek, on the old Ditmar farm. At the last account
it served the less dignified purpose of housing horses. Two other
school houses were built that year in Lake County that dispute its
right to priority. Hewn logs were its masonry ; the puncheon floor,
the split log bench against the wails, a slanting board for a teacher's
desk, a large, smoking chimney, and a screeching door constituted
its outfit of furniture. Its library consisted principally of blue-back
spelling books, some worn readers, a dull geography recited in chanted
lessons, an incomprehensible grammar, and a few broken slates. Its
first teacher was Mrs. J. A. Ball, mother of Rev T. H. Ball, who,
depite the care of her home and her own family of five children, found
time to instruct the budding generation of early Lake County.
This was before the days of elaborate equipments. There
were no teachers' institute or licenses then ; no dreaded examinations
for children or teachers. The curiculum consisted chiefly of the three
R's — Readin', Ritin' and 'Rithmetic, to the Rule of Three. The grad-
uating exercises were a "spell-down" exercise of the whole school,
or quitting by the boys in order to husk corn.
Out of these primitive schools came those who have attained
to fame, to greatness, and to true goodness of citizenship.
Since 1839 Crown Point has been the seat of government for
Lake County. It stands highest in altitude of any town in the county
and almost of any in the State, being situated on the Great Divide.
A shower of rain falling within a mile of Crown Poinl may divide its
course, till a part will find its way through streams and rivers to the
Gulf of Mexico, and reappear in sparkling dew on the waving fields of
Southern plantations ; while the other part of the shower, coursing in
the opposite direction, will merge with the waters of the Great Lakes,
plunge with the roaring waters of the Niagara, join the waters of the
LAKE COUNTY S NEW COURT HOUSE
St. Lawrence and become crystallized into the icebergs of the Hudson
Crown Point is essentially a city of homes. Several of its
broad streets are lined with attractive, elegant residences. It is sup-
plied with solid banks, well stocked stores of all kinds, good hotels,
neat churches, large school buildings and a fine court house in the
center of the city.
LAKE COUNTY'S OLD COURT HOUSE
BOARD OF EDUCATION — TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES
Reading from left to right are:
Alvin Wild— Ilobart Township.
C. E. Black— Eagle Creek Township
W. A. Weis— St. John Township.
Wm. Kunert — Calumet Township.
Richard Schaaf— North Township
IT. Wor ley— Cedar Creek Township.
W. Wood — Ross Township.
Fukd Mondernach — Hanover Township.
Chas. Westboy— Winfieltl Township.
H. Hathaway — West Creek Township.
W. R. Curtis— County Superintendent.! C. IT. Meeker— Center Township
Reading from left to right are:
R. W. Curtis— Superintendent.
L. E. Bailey — Treasurer.
D. E. Boone— Prosecuting Attorney.
MaTHEw Brown — Commissioner 3d Dist.
Chas. Johnson — Auditor.
O. A. Krinhill — Commissioner 1st Dist.
Chas. DauGHERTY — Sheriff.
W. F. Bridge — Surveyor.
IT. IT. Wheeler— Clerk.
John Agnew— Deputy Sheriff.
S. E. Love — Commissioner 2d Dist.
H. E. Jones— Recorder.
Wm. McM ah an— Circuit Judge.
Chas. Hoskins — Coroner.
CROWN POINT COURT HOUSE
Crown Point has had four court houses. The first two were
log buildings, and have disappeared from history and largely from
memory. The third was a frame building- erected in 1849. Its dimen-
sions were large for the day — 67x37, and .27 ft. high. There were
three rooms, one for the court, one for the sheriffs, and the jury
room. Its architect, George Earl, was allowed $15.00 for drawing
the plans. The total cost was $10,000. Our artist shows a good view
of the setting of buildings connected with it. The one on the left was
used for the recorder and the clerk. The one on the right was used for
the auditorship and county treasury. This office was blown up by
A FEW OF CROWN POINTS CHURCHES
malfaisants who sought to rob it of the $60,000 it contained at the
time, money stored there for the erection of the new and present
court house. The building was wrecked, but the money was saved.
In 1879 the present fine stone court house was erected. What thril-
ling stories of misdemeanors and crimes, of stern prosecution and
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
eloquent defense, of learned exposition, and shrewd application of
law, and of stirring debates where lives or fortunes were at stake,
these court house walls could tell, if ashes and stones could relate
sixty years of history which they have witnessed !
One of the men who most powerfully moulded the early political,
social and religious life of Lake County was Solon Robinson, whose
splendid bust is here reproduced. Strength and honesty stand out
prominently in his masculine features as they did in his long, mastei-
ful life. He was a New Englander by birth. He became one of Lake
County's energetic pioneers. He made its first map, was its first post-
master and mail carrier; was its first clerk, and one of its early justices
LAKE COUNTY JAIL
of the peace. He wrote much, and was prominently connected with
all movements for the development of Lake County. He was the
founder of Crown Point.
FAIR GROUNDS AND RACE TRACK
Lake County possesses one of the rare fair grounds which
Nature herself made ready for man and admirably adapted it to its
purpose. In its hollowed center is set the beautiful and deep Fancher
Lake. Around it is the race track, and surrounding this a range of
LAKE COUNTY ALMSHOUSE
wooded, gently sloping hills, forming an amphitheater of the exact
dimensions and incline required. The fair grounds are the scene of
yearly increasing annual gatherings since its origin in 1858. Its at-
tendance in 1906 reached in one day to more than 10,000 paid admis-
The fire department, of which we present a group, is one of
Crown Point's prides. It carried the honors in the hose race for the
county in 190G.
STREET SCENE WEST SIDE OE PUBLIC SQUARE
STREET SCENE EAST SIDE OF PUBLIC SQUARE
BOARD OF EDUCATION
The Lake County board of education is composed of twelve
members — eleven trustees and a county superintendent. The cut
gives a good likeness of them all, with their names.
LAKE COUNTY JAIL
This is one building which is best filled when it is entirely
GROUP OF YOUNG LADIES
From Crown Point have gone daughters of its homes to fill
important spheres, as wives of physicians, attorneys, consuls, min-
isters, educators, tradesmen, agriculturists.
Refinement, education, womanliness and worth
are the traits that have attracted to Crown Point men of
merit. We give here one group of Crown Point's noble
Crown Point's high school is less noted for the
material and architecture of its structure, which are not
of to-day, than for the material which it turns out in pre-
pared young manhood and womanhood. Its pupils pass
from its walls to higher schools, or enter the world of
business and responsibility better prepared for their
GROUP OF POPULAR YOUNG LADIES OF CROWN POINT
The officers of Lake County, which we present in one group,
are all young, energetic men, who have won their places by demon-
strated fitness for it.
Melvin A. Halsted was born on the Hudson River, in the State
of New York, in 1821. At sixteen he left high school to strike out
for the then great West, and fixed his residence in Dayton, Ohio, then
a small town. In 1845, he left the Miami valley for Lake County,
where land was cheaper. Here he platted and founded Lowell, nam-
ing it after its namesake of New England, a city with its waterfalls
and mills, because he partly found and partly created like conditions
here. He constructed and ran the first sawmill and grist mill by
water and stream, and he burnt the first brick, out of which both
the first church and the first schoolhouse were erected in Lowell,
amid many discouragements. In the season when he was raging he
RACK TRACK AND FAIR GROUNDS AT CROWN POINT
took the California gold fever and
crossed the continent ten different
times overland and by way of Panama
through many privations. He was a
leader in every enterprise and improve-
ment of the town, and country, a man
of irrepressible activity. Faithful to
his pioneer instinct, after marrying a
second time, he moved in 1906 to the
new part of Nebraska, where, near the
town of Harrison, he is making a home
on 640 acres of raw land at the ripe
age of eighty-six years.
Rev. Timonthy Horton Ball was born
in West Springfield, now Agawam,
Mass., in 1826. His father brought
the family to Lake County in 1837,
settling on the west side of Cedar
Lake. The most of his long life has
been spent in Lake County in preach-
ing and writing. He served a num-
ber of Baptist congregations and has
written for every paper published in
the county. He is the author of
several works of local history and biog-
raphy. He was married to Martha
C. Creighton, of Alabama, in 1855, and
is now revered by two children and
as many grandchildren. A fuller his-
tory appears in his History of Lake
CROWN POINT FIREMEN
THE FOUNDER OF CROWN TOINT
FIRST SCHOOLHUUSE IN THE COUNTY
GROUP OF LAKE COUNTY PIONEERS
Top Row. The couple to the left are Rev, T. H.
Ball and Mrs. Ball, both pioneers and both connected
with the early educational work of Lake County.
They live in Crown Point.
The next to the right is Joseph Schillo, a pioneer
who settled near Hobart in 1843. He was born in
Germany in 1828. He has many interesting reminis-
cences of early life "in the woods" about Hobart.
The next to the right is C. W. Spencer, who came
to Lake County in 1847. He is still in business, a reli-
able, interesting music dealer.
The last to the right is John Millikan, the oldest
Odd Fellow in the State and once editor of the Croivn
Lowkr Row. Beginning at the left is Melvin A.
Halsted, whose biography appears more extensively
written in this album.
The pair in the center are Wellington Clark and
his wife. He was born in New York State, in 1815;
moved to Lake County in 1837. He crossed Chicago
when it was still an unpromising group of squatty
houses. He is still in business at a ripe age, and the
companion of his early age is at his side.
The last to the right is B. B. Bale, who taught the
first Sunday-school in Hobart in 1866.
Rubbing elbows with Chicago, its great and near neighbor, this city
of northern Indiana, with its 20,000 inhabitants, has been, for some time
past, shouldering the surplus of industrial burden, which the great Illinois
metropolis could no longer carry alone. Everywhere about Hammond
the hum of the industrial wheel can be heard. Each morning the long chains
of toilers can be seen going towards, and each evening issuing from, the varied
places of busy employment.
Although happily located for manufacturing and shipping facilities,
Hammond did not fall heir to its industries by mere chance. Like all good
things, they came by wise, persistent, energetic efforts. It is the people of
Hammond that have made it the humming city that it is. Some years ago a
CROUP OF HAMMONDS MAYORS SINCE CITY ORGANIZATION
SUPERIOR COURT BUILDING
large packing house thought best to remove its plant elsewhere. It was a
blow to Hammond, but a blow that woke her up instead of stunning her. Im-
mediately with her gallant mayor, A. F. Knotts, at the head, Murray Turner,
John Dyer and others, she planned and prosecuted vigorously her plans for
capturing other plants even more agreeable and helpful to the town, and
which would give a variety of more congenial employments.
In the place of the one that left, thirteen industries came in response
to solicitations and for business advantages to take its place. A bare enu-
meration of all Hammond's industries would take more space than we can
grant. Chief among them are:
The W. B. Conkey Printing Company
a perfection of beauty, convenience and efficiency, and largest of its
class in the world, employing a trained army of 2,000 workmen of
N JCW FE. ERA L T, VlU.l NG
The Simplex Railway Appliance Company
occupying eight acres of ground, engaged in the manufacture of steel
trucks for cars and locomotives. It employs 350 skilled labor men at
high wages and does a business of $3,000,000 a year.
The Hammond Illuminating Company
operating both a large gas and electric works, with its ponderous
machinery, giant boilers and costly improvements furnishing the im-
portant item of good light to Hammond and its neighboring cities.
PUBLIC LIBRARY BUILDING
with its capacity of
1,000,000 bushels— by
far the largest eleva-
tor in the State. It
can transfer fifty cars
The United States
acres of ground, fully
equipped with up-to-
date tools and work-
i n g machinery
through all its de-
partments. It has a
lighting plant and
compressed air plant.
It is furnished with
shops, iron and blast
wood- working a n d
paint shops, store
house, pattern shop,
HAMMOND S POLICE FORCE
The Chicago Steel Manufacturing
occupying thirty acres ; its build-
ings cover ten acres ; its annual
business is $1,000,000. Its prod-
ucts are high carbon, Bessemer
and crucible steel plates, cut
steel and iron nails, shovels,
spades, scoops, padded horse-
shoes and steel posts. It em-
ploys 250 men.
The Mackie Steel Tube Company
occupies three acres.
The Hammond Distilling Company
does a business of $6,000,000 a
The Hammond Lumber Company
occupies ten acres.
The Piano Works
The Bed Spring Factory
The Betz Surgical Appliance
with the universe for its field ;
the large, up-to-date department
HAM MONO'S FIREMEN
stores ; and not behind any of these, its daily and weekly newspapers,
enterprising and forceful. Hammond is well supplied with strong
banks that keep abreast of the times in methods of doing business and
in getting the attention of the public.
Hammond's public schools are a marvel in rapidity and excel-
lency of growth. In eighteen years its number of teachers increased
from four to sixty-five. They have manual training departments.
There are besides in Hammond two excellent business colleges.
Neither is Hammond indifferent to the arts and refinements
WASHINGTON SCHOOL BUILDING
of life. It has two pretty parks, a fine Carnegie city library, popular
theaters and is well supplied with churches and society halls.
The transportation facilities of Hammond are of the very best.
Seventeen railroads bring the cargoes of freight and humanity through
its gates, aside from electric lines which carry passengers every ten
minutes in all directions.
With all these and more advantages, with an alert and pro-
CENTRAL SCHOOL BUILDING
gressive people to push its enterprises, Hammond seems destined to
hold the rank of one of the largest and busiest cities of the State.
Some of Hammond's interesting men and places are here repro-
duced by our artist. No description can do justice to the energy
represented in the enterprises here mentioned and photographed, nor
to the iron in the men that created and now push them forward.
There are no lakes or mountains to enhance the scenery here. All
in and about Hammond seems to be the handiwork of man determined
to wrest utility from the wilderness and beauty from barrenness.
PARK SCENE SHOWING FIREMEN'S HEADQUARTERS
VIEWS IN HARRISON PARK
THE SUPERIOR COURT BUILDING
is Hammond's pride in architecture. It is built of granite and
surrounded by a swath of verdure, kept fresh by vigilant care.
THE STREET SCENE
is one familiar to Hammond's residents and visitors. In the
evenings pedestrians fill the sidewalks till it is difficult to thread
one's way through the promenading crowds.
THE LABOR PARADE
is typical of Hammond. It is labor that made, it is labor that
sustains Hammond in its present prosperity.
THE NEW FEDERAL BUILDING
shown here, is something for which Hammond worked with its
characteristic energy. The structure is full of dignity and solid-
ity, suggestive of the stable government it represents.
THE MAYORS OF HAMMOND
here shown, have been, fortunately, men with business tact and
appreciation. They have been leaders for Hammond's progress.
STREET SCENE SHOWING LABOR DAY PARADE
The constant throngs of all nationalities and interests that visit
or inhabit Hammond require a good police force. Some of Ham-
mond's police have distinguished themselves for their fearlessness and
fidelity to duty till they won public approbation. They have con-
tributed no little to Hammond's good standing by their efficiency in
troublous times of strikes and lockouts.
HOHMAN STREET NORTH FROM SUPERIOR COURT BUILDING
SCENE ON CALUMET RIVER
It is hard work for architecture to keep pace with the growth of Ham-
mond and the corresponding increase of the school population. The buildings
shown by the artist give some estimate of the expenditure, art and science
that have entered into a fit supply of school facilities for Hammond's youth.
The classical Indian name of Calumet (the pipe of peace) has fortu-
nately been preserved to the sluggish, peaceful stream that waters and cleanses
Hammond. The deepening of the Calumet channel, and the equipping of har-
bor facilities go to make this river a source of great interest and wealth
to Hammond and to help make it one of the great inland harbors of the
None can fully appreciate the full
value of a fire department until the scream
of anguish and distress out of crackling-
flames is answered by the rattling of the
wheels, the wheezing of the hose, the climb-
ing of the braves up the ladders and the
saving of lives and property. Hammond
is proud and appreciative of her fire de-
SIMPLEX RAILWAY APPLIANCE COMPANY
Fifty years ago the spot where now stands this thriving town
of 1,600 contented people was a humble village, around which lay
a stretch of virgin prairie and belts of fertile timber land. These were
peopled with Indians, and over them roved the wild turkeys and
Hobart is in the midst of the richest dairy and stock growing
1 1 1
11 i ■•>
''r-* . , • «< ~~ ( — T t /^^* t ^^/^ J ^iij^^ , """" .* ~ '
GROUP OF HOBART CHURCHES
portion of Indiana. It is located on the X formed by the Nickel
Plate and the Chicago Outer Belt Line railroads. It is near enough
to Chicago to feel its pulse and profit by its markets, without being
singed by its fever. It has never been affected by a boom. Its growth
has been steady, natural, substantial.
At close proximity of town are found hundreds of acres of the
best clay land in the State for the production of brick, tile (terra-
cotta) and pottery, all of a superior quality. This has furnished the
possibility for Hob art's famous industry, the W. B. Owen's Hollow
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
- - 22 -
SCENES TAKEN IN AND ABOUT HOBART
Porous Clay Tile Works, the chief industrial support of Hobart.
This plant, which located in Hobart in 1881, after a disastrous fire
eight years after, and a steady pull upward ever since, is now the
most noteworthy of its kind in the world. It covers 35 acres of
ground; it operates 10 enormous kilns, of down-draft construction,
with a capacity of 80 tons each. The capacity of the plant is 70 tons
of finished product per day and 125 people are kept busy in its
employ. As the rich blue clay, from which this fine porous tile is
made, is in beds of more than 100 feet in thickness, and is practically
inexhaustible; and as the porous tile, or terra-cotta, from Hobart
is used by builders over the entire country and considered excellent,
$* -..m'tt-mm «
INTERIOR OF ONE OF HOBART's CHURCHES
NORTH ON MAIN STREET
it looks as if Hobart had an industry to keep the present generation
busy and make them rich.
Living in Hobart is almost ideal, A high moral and religious
sentiment prevails, there being eight prosperous churches in the
town. Owing to the minimum of vice and crime, the length of the
three railroads' trackage that pay so much taxes, and the fine quality
of land, and of land owners in and about the town, the taxes are
remarkably low, considering its many improvements.
An important factor in the healthy development of an Ameri-
can community is its public school system. The advantages of
Hobart are excellent. Both town and township have a fine public
school system, with a capable, enterprising school board at the head,
that spares neither pains nor expense to furnish the means for attain-
ment to that high mark which public instruction has reached there.
The public school building of Hobart, of which we offer a photo-
graph, cost $40,000. It is thoroughly modern and well equipped,
with laboratories and a library. It has a good water s)^stem, electric
light plant and good streets. Our artist gives views of its chief
public buildings and places.
WEST ON THIRD STREET
DEEP RIVER LOOKING SOUTH FROM THIRD STREET BRILGE
Fraternalism is well represented in Hobart. Aside from the
various social and recreation clubs for men and women, such as the
Gun Club, the Lotus and the Woman's Club, there are these orders :
The Odd Fellows, Foresters, Masons, Knights of Pythias, Maccabees,
Modern Woodmen, G. A. R. — all flourishing.
Of the men of the present day who have made Hobart the
model town it is may be named: W. B. Owen, George Stocker,
Seward Lightner, N. P. Banks, the late Hon. W. H. Reifenberg,
Dr. P. P. Gordon, Louis Wettengel, Atty., Dr. H. F, C. Miller, Charles
Gruel, C. M. Townsend, Charles Borger, William Pyatt, F. M. Smith,
Dr. Joseph C. Watson, E. H. Guyer. These and others who have
passed from the field of activity, or are yet enlarging it, have con-
tributed according to their various callings to the upbuilding of
Hobart in education, in business, in industry, in morality and in all
that makes a town or community desirable.
DEEP RIVER LOOKING NORTH FROM THIRD STREET BRIDGE
The acknowledged founder of the classic town of Lowell is Melvin A.
Halsted, whose bust appears among the old settlers of Lake County. Its beginning
dates of 1850. Lowell's first store was opened in 1853 by Jonas Thorn; soon after,
came Sigler's and Viant's stores. It has now its principal street, Commercial
Avenue, lined with special and general stores. Views of some of these appear
in the commercial department of the album. Lowell has a good system of water-
works. Its water is justly famous for its coldness and wholesomeness and con-
tains ingredients of mineral properties which could make of Lowell a mecca for
health seekers. It has an electric plant, and has long held the reputation of being
HIGH SCHOOL BUILniNG
CHURCHES OF LOWELL
one of the best trading points on its railway line, owing to the excellent farming
community surrounding it and the high grade of farmers that support it by their
patronage in trade.
In 1898 Lowell experienced a disastrous fire, as other towns have done,
which prostrates them for the moment, and becomes the means of more durable
and better rebuilding. One side of its business street was almost completely swept
away by the flames, at a loss of $60,000. From the ashes rose a solid block of
fine brick buildings. The artist shows the street before and after the fire.
The volunteer fire department of Lowell, of which our artist presents a
splendid view in uniform, is one of the least paid and most indispensable organi-
zations of the town. "Jt dates from 1890, starting with twenty members, and
has now thirty. It gives prompt, efficient, cheerful service, and is worthy of honor
and regard. Its service being but nominally remunerated, it belongs to the
heroic and benevolent department, protecting lives and property, day or night, of
rich or poor alike. Eugene Nafus was its first chief and Lewis Wood its first
secretary. G. L. Trump, its present chief, and Len W. Ragon, its secretary,
are two of the four remaining charter members.
The high school building and grounds are one of the beauties of Lowell.
All is modern, complete, adapted for its purpose. The first building on the grounds
Lowell's public square, showing monument
GROUP OF LOWELL POPULAR YOUNG LALIES
was erected by Melvin A. Halsted, who made the bricks, broke the ground and
courageously stood by the enterprise till it was completed, largely at his own
expense. The present building was erected on the old site in 1896, at a cost
of $16,000. The present school board is Albert Hull, Pres.; John A. Kimmet,
Sec'y; Wm. Love, Treas. The faculty for 1906 is Homer B. Dickey, Supt;
Gertrude Matteson, H. S. Principal; Olga H. Harter, H. S. Ass't; Rose Kimmet,
Supt of Music. The teachers of the graded school are: E. N. Gragg, seventh and
eighth grades; Nola Calkins, sixth; Bessie Purdy, fourth and fifth; Mabel Huston,
second and third; Estella Foster, first. A larger proportion of youth from this
community enter the high school and pass from it to colleges than from any
other part of the county.
Another of Lowell's conveniences and beauties is its natural scenery and
thinly wooded park of thirteen acres. Its conveniences are being added to each
year by its enterprising park board, and it is being increasingly used for that
important part of life — recreation. Lowell boasts of a football and a baseball
team. Its M. C. Wiley band is not outdone in the county in point of musical
ability and popularity. Lowell has five religious organizations, six secret orders
for men, and two for women ; an opera house, and two fine elevators which appear
in our commercial department of the album. Its sidewalks are being rapidly
— 28 ■
LOWELLS BOARD OF TRALE
tiJfiWi^fih 1 *$+i .^.j
Bj n n"j
m^A ■ .», a^^^
■ ,- ... . ,^ ;
LOOKING WEST ON COMMERCIAL AVENUE
cemented, much of that work having been clone the present year. It has a beautiful
granite monument erected to the memory of soldiers of the three wars from the
three adjoining townships. It has two good telephone systems and two main branch
railways in reach running into Chicago. These improvements of Lowell have all
been accomplished mainly in the last nine years, and would have been impossible
without the support of the intelligent and progressive merchants of Lowell.
GROUP OF YOUNG LADIES
The group of young ladies, which were caught in graceful pose and happy
mood, are a sample of Lowell's vigorous young womanhood that grace every social
and religious occasion. Coming from many good homes, it is but fair conclusion
to predict that they will grace those of their own making. The photograph was
taken by Mr. Hay ward.
MORNING AFTER LOWELLS BIG FIRE
LOWELL S BASEBALL TEAM
LOWELL'S BOARD OF TRADE
We present here a full-faced, front view of Lowell's ancient "board of trade,"
in their uniforms, as they issue forth from their "chamber of commerce," the
basement of an old shack. These gentlemen and their resort were well known in
Lowell in their day ; and so were their daily discussions of markets, of weather,
of the best way to grow rich or die happy, how to kill muskrats and catch minks,
how to win in a horse trade or at cards, how to run the government or live
without work, and similar high-level and profound themes in all departments of
life. Some may be inclined to take this picture as a joke. If so, there will
be no hard feeling on our part.
LOWELL'S FOOTBALL TEAM
Lowell has a splendidly organized football team — swift, scientific and cou-
rageous. The team was organized three seasons ago through the efforts of Messrs.
Frank Maloy and Ray Nelson, and while changes have taken place each season,
the team of the present season is the original organization. From the beginning
this team has played phenomenal ball. The patient coaching of Mr. Maloy and the
strict rules observed by Referee Frank L. Hunt have brought the team from the
crude state and placed it in the ranks of scientific players. It can no longer be
styled the "beef trust," which term was applied to it by the Hammond News,
because of a few big, fleshy boys on it. The first manager of the team was Mr.
Nelson. Last season's team was managed by Dr. P. L. Rigg. This season's team
is managed by Mr. Bart Moxell. Christopher Hill captained the team for two
seasons. The present team is captained by Ed Brownell. The team last season,
with Billy Callahan as the star quarterback, played brilliant ball, and out of seven
games played with Crown Point, Lyon Serpents, Chicago Minoquas, Hammond
Iroquois, Pullman Tigers and Renssalaer, Lowell won five, lost one and tied one.
The illustration shown represents last season's team.
Line-up of Lowell Football Team of '05
Beck-Ray— L. G.
Hill— L. T.
Johnson — C.
Frank Maloy— Ex. H. B.
Kelsey— R. T.
Pattee— R. G.
Ainsworth— R. E.
Callahan— Q. B.
Re filler— P. B.
Trump — h- 11. B.
Brownell — R. 11. 15.
Ben Lynch— Ex. Q. B.
LOWELLS FOOTBALL TEAM
LOWELL'S BASEBALL TEAM
Lowell had a strong baseball team this
season, with the exception of the battery, mak-
ing it necessary to employ outside talent. Hel-
len, of Kankakee; Miller, Parker and Jewell,
of Chicago, occupied the pitcher's box during
the season. Hepp, of Lowell, caught a good
game until he had his wrist broken by being-
struck by a ball. He was succeeded by Mc-
Gill, of Chicago. The team was managed by
Ed Yates, who also played with the team.
During the season the local team crossed bats
with strong teams from Chicago, St. Joseph
College, Chalmers, South Chicago, Brooks and
Momence. Out of thirteen games played, the
local team won ten and lost three, losing one
to St. Joseph College and two to Momence, an
exceedingly strong team. A photograph of
the team is presented.
THE DINWIDDIE CLAN
One of the oldest and largest families
of Lake County is the Dinwiddie clan, now
scattered in every part of the country, but hav-
ing taken root first in Eagle Creek township.
As its name indicates, it is an ancient Scotch
family, tracing back its origin by record for
300 years, through ten generations, and to 600
years by connection. Its annual reunions, in-
augurated in 1894, number 125 to 160 members,
and its total circle easily exceeds this number
bv as many more. The chief members of the
clan living in Lake County are Jerome, Oscar
and Edwin W. Dinwiddie, brothers, and their
families; Wra. E. Sweeney, A. Murray and
Samuel E. Turner, John C. McAlpin, Samuel
E. Dilley, with friends and connections in
many states and countries.
LOWELL VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT
THE DINWIDDIE CLAN
On September 8, 1901, the erection of the Inland Steel Mills
was begun on the shores of Lake Michigan in the northern part of
Lake County. In consequence of the creation of this immense indus-
trial enterprise the town of Indiana Harbor sprung up, and, owing to
its phenomenal growth, is to-day a flourishing, up-to-date city of
several thousand people and rapidly increasing in population, wealth
and commerce. The industries to date aside from the Inland Steel
Mills are the Standard Forgings Company, Ward, Dickey Company
LAKE MICHIGAN SCENE
and U. S. Steel Company's Cement Plant. There is invested in manu-
facturing and railroad improvements $8,000,000; 900 residences cost-
ing $1,000,000. The town has fifteen miles of graded streets and seven
miles of sidewalks. Four thousand men find employment in the in-
dustries located there. The place is characterized by broad streets
and avenues, substantial two and three-story business blocks, splendid
water, electric lighting and sewerage systems, hotels, newspapers, tele-
phone exchange, fine residences and a well administered public school
system. The high school building is a model of architectural beauty.
The churches are scarcely in keeping with the rest of the place, but
the religious interest is keen and zealous work is being done by those
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
— 33 —
INLAND STEEL MILLS
belonging to the two denominations. There is in course of construc-
tion at the present time a new church.
Indiana Harbor is a railroad center of considerable importance,
the Pennsylvania, the Baltimore & Ohio and the Chicago, Indian-
apolis & Southern railroads traversing it. Besides the railroads, Indi-
ana Harbor has a fine lake harbor. The government has expended
several millions of dollars in deepening the Calumet River.
Indiana Harbor is not bleak and lonely, nor is it isolated from
the outside world. It has a direct connection with the entire northern
part of the county and Chicago by electric railways. As a residence
place it is desirable, with the picturesque Lake Michigan for a back-
ground. A broad, beautiful drive runs along the lake shore, bordering
on which handsome, commodious homes have been erected. Graceful -
elm trees shade this thoroughfare, adding much to its beauty. Along
this drive may be seen smart turnouts, automobiles and bicycles, giv-
ing additional charm to the grandeur of the situation. The people are
never troubled with mud, owing to the sandy condition of the soil.
Indiana Harbor is well organized, the town officials and police
officers being men of courage, who have the best interests of the peo-
ple at heart and conduct affairs in strict accordance with law.
LOOKING WEST ON MICHIGAN AVENUE
The Volunteer Fire Department
was organized in 1903 with James
Daugherty as chief, which honorable
position he still holds. He is very-
popular. Most of the members of the
department are employed at the steel
works. When a fire occurs they are
permitted to drop their work and re-
spond to the fire alarm. They are a
fine set of men physically and took
first prize, at the tournament of the
Lake County Volunteer Fire Associa-
tion, held in Hobart in 1905, for making
the best appearance. A billy goat,
which serves as a mascot, is the espe-
cial pride of the fire laddies. An ex-
cellent photograph of Indiana Harbor's
fire department is shown in the album.
There are six men, identified
with the history of Indiana Harbor,
who must take a personal pride in the
place and for whom there must be a
warm place in the hearts of the citi-
zens. They are Messrs. Willis, Coaks,
Harvey, Craney, Wiger and Johnson.
To them belongs the honor of being
the first men to begin the work of
erecting the steel works. With the ex-
ception of one, all of these men still
reside in Indiana Harbor.
The first hotel erected in the
place, for the accommodation of the
men employed in the construction of
the steel works, still holds a prominent
position in commercial affairs.
INDIANA HARBOR VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT
The youngest daughter of Lake County is the town of Gary.
The town that scarcely existed even in the vision of its founder, and
had no place on any map at the date of the last decennial census,
may, when the next census is taken, appear as the greatest industrial
center of Indiana, with a population utterly overshadowing older
The creation of Gary is a twentieth century edition of the tale
of Arabian Nights. It is a town made to order, and the order was
issued from a billion dollar corporation, the U. S. Steel Co. Its com-
prehensive plans, the fabulous wealth of $1,600,000,000 backing up
these plans, the army of men actually and prospectively employed
to carry them out, the detailed precision in which all has been foreseen,
mapped out and fixed before-hand with the foresight of genius and the
ffiZBjr ■"* * .JL^dfljttgV^
^! L '7^^^^
j^UW l ■""
BROADWAY LOOKING SOUTH, SHOWING POST-OFFICE,
THE FIRST FRAME BUILDING
largeness of experience, show that it is a dream, but one of practical
beauty and results.
A few months ago Gary was a series of sand dunes ; to-day it
is a cam j) of tents sheltering an army of busy workers. A few years
hence it is destined to be a large, populous city clustered around the
largest steel plant in the world. In five years, as the plans prophesy,
the plant will cover five square miles or 3,000 acres already bought
for it; it will have cost $75,000,000 and will employ 18,000 to 20,000
Gary's busy street
men, with a pay roll of $20,000,000 a year ; it will revolutionize the
iron and steel market of this country and affect those of foreign lands.
The history of Gary is brief. On May 4, 1906, Thomas E.
Knotts, of Hammond, brother of Hon. A. F. Knotts, former mayor of
Hammond and founder of Gary, came with his family in a furniture
wagon across the plains of jackoaks, and, pitching his tent on the
bank of the Grand Calumet River, became Gary's first settler. This
was the material and geographical beginning of Gary. Since then
over one thousand men and teams are grading the streets of the new
city and building its sewers and 800 model dwellings are rising into line
VIEW SHOWING SITE OF THE LARGEST STEEL WORKS
IN THE WORLD
by the fiat of the corporation that orders things. Ere long it will have
model churches, and schoolhouses with playgrounds. It will permit
no crowded tenement quarter. It will require model homes to be
erected and kept with sanitary fittings. It will permit no out-build-
ings to mar its beauty or endanger health. It will have wide, airy
streets, promenading boulevards and esplanades along the river, paved
with granitoid. It will have cheap gas for fuel, and electricity for
light. It will be a city of good homes, clean streets, and business-
like, twentieth century government.
BROADWAY LOOKING NORTH
The name of East Chicago was given to a little group of
houses in the northwestern corner of Lake County, in 1888, where
the Penman family settled as first residents. It was not an attractive
place, a swampy growth of brushes and shapeless sand ridges consti-
tuting its only scenery. But it was out of Chicago and near Lake
Michigan. These two things and the fact that it was on the highway
of commerce, made in a few years, as if by magic, of this uncanny
spot, the present thrifty East Chicago, with all its industries, con-
veniences and population. East Chicago is a part of what is sure to
be some clay "Greater Chicago" — when all the plans for the extension
of industrial settlement and rapid transit have fully developed and
CHICAGO AVENUE LOOKING EAST
been realized in practice all along the southern shore of Lake Mich-
igan. Meantime East Chicago is a thriving, energetic, populous
center. Its chief street, Chicago Avenue, is one of the very finest
and cleanly business streets in Lake County. East Chicago has a
fine park with shade trees, grass lawns and resting seats, and children
and tired people, as well as pleasure seekers, make it popular.
The Catholics have a good parochial school at East Chicago,
and other churches are doing an excellent, strenuous work there.
East Chicago has various industries that employ each from 200 to 400
men. It has a fine fire department, a picture of which is shown, taken
by our artist.
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
Whiting, the oldest of the trio of young cities that have sprung up on the
outskirts of Chicago on the round south edge of Lake Michigan, is surrounded
by East Chicago, Indiana Harbor, Hammond and Lakes Michigan. In 1872 Whiting
was a flag station on the Michigan Southern, with fifteen families for its population.
It was surrounded with sand banks and unproductive farms, and was without
prospect of further growth. In 1881). the giant Standard Oil Company bought land,
erected huge brick buildings and set its mammoth refinery there. Whiting sprung
into fame, and now counts 5,000 inhabitants, with a valuation of five and a half
millions in property. It has broad business and residence streets with fine blocks
on them, fine homes for employees and labor and pay for toilers. Although
it closely elbows its neighbors, its area being less than two square miles, it still
has some room to grow and reason for growing. Chief among the early real
estate men that helped to boom Whiting were Smith and Boder, the Davidson
119th street looking east
Bros, and the Fishrupps. Others came later and shared in the. harvest of real estate
men. Attorney Gavit did the pushing on the legal aspect of things. Whiting is
proud of its fire department, which has so far prevented any spreading conflagration.
It has an efficient police force of four uniformed men, with Patrick Lawler as
chief, all good guardians of the peace. It has a fine school system, with John C.
Hall, its hard-working superintendent, at its head. It has good churches and
active fraternal societies. By energetic efforts of Gavit, Greatrake and others, it
has secured a fine Carnegie library. Its industries are chiefly the refinery and
branch manufactures, which produce all the various extractions of oil found on the
markets. The refinery, which is under management of W. E. Warwick; the petroleum
paint factory, of Star StOwell; the Westrumite Co., which makes sprinkling oils
for streets and roads, and the Hornicker Motor Co., sum up Whiting's industries.
Whiting has three newspapers, the Sun, the News and the Call. The laborers of
Whiting are well organized in unionism under the tactful and honest leadership
of Mr. Nedge. With such a brilliant, short past. Whiting feels confident of a still
the whiting oil works
Dyer, a station on the Monon railroad, is a modest vil-
lage of some 200 inhabitants. It was platted in 1855. It
has a good warehouse, a flour and feed mill, a good school and
church. It is also a good trading point. Dyer has one of the
three Catholic churches in the township.
Here was built the oldest M. E. church building in the
county. Mr. Keilman was Dyer's first postmaster and its most
prominent business man and banker. There are four churches
at Dyer, and the people are much attached to them. It is one
of the oldest and most peaceable towns and localities in the
r r ,|l
CATHOLICISM IN LAKE
The history of Catholicism in Lake
County is one of encouragement for the
people of this faith. In some of the town-
ships of Lake County Catholicism is
practically absent, while in others of the
north central part, as St. John and Han-
over townships, Catholicism predomi-
nates almost to unanimity. No other
denomination than the Catholics ever or-
ganized in St. John township, where it
has three thrifty churches.
The parent church of Catholicism
in Lake County is the Church of St. John
the Evangelist, at St. John. Its building
is located on the highest ground of any
church in the county. In earlier days it
has seen the largest congregations of any
church in the county. Having contributed of its membership and strength
to other congregations, it has now left only ninety families in the parish and
seventy children in school. It was organized as a church in 184? and had
existed before as a mission. Rev. Anton Heitman, the retired pastor, who
still resides at St. John, was pastor at that parish for about forty years. Rev.
Charles F. Keyser, of Lowell, is now the pastor.
DYER SCHOOL BUILDING
There are eighteen Catholic churches, with 1,610 families, in
Lake County, served by pastors whose cuts appear in the album. The
largest congregation is that of St. Joseph's at Hammond, with 250
families. The smallest are at Lowell and at Kinmary, with thirty
families each. There is one Catholic hospital, St. Margaret's, at Ham-
mond, with twenty Sisters of St. Francis, and Rev, Henry Plaster,
chaplain. There are in all fifty-five teaching and nursing sisters in
Lake County and 1,865 children in the schools.
The Rt. Rev. H. Joseph Alerding, D. D., of Fort Wayne, Ind., is
ST. JOHN CHURCH AND SCHOOL BUILDING
the bishop of this diocese, whose territory comprises the northern half
of the State of Indiana.
The days of aggressive religious and denominational opposition
have happily passed in Lake County, having now served their purpose.
Protestants of different denominations and Catholics worship and
work peacefully and harmoniously side by side without opposing each
other. Each recognizes that there are excellent qualities and some de-
fects in themselves md in the others, in membership and in aclministra-
HANOVER CHURCH AND SCHOOL BUILIING
tions. All know that they do good, even though each prefer their
own methods; and all are striving toward the same end with varying
success. Toleration has succeeded opposition, as it is hoped that co-
operation will still further improve on toleration. We think we see the
signs and gladly hail them.
The Catholics in religion, and the Germans in nationality, pre-
dominate in and about St. John. They ,have a large, flourishing
parish and the oldest priest in service in the county.
GROUP OF LAKE COUNTY S CATHOLIC MINISTERS
Reading from right to left, top row:
Peter Kaheeep, St. Cassemer's Church, Hammond.
Rev. Kaub, Wheeling, W. Va.
Rev. Kansen, Hobart.
Rev. Heitman, St. John.
Rev. Koenig, L,ottaville.
Rev. Berg, Schererville.
Rev. Plaster, Hammond,
Rev. Steter, Kentland.
Rev. ZumbuEETE, Hanover Center.
Rev. Feack, Dyer.
Rev. Baichert, Wanatah.
CHURCH, SCHOOL AND SISTERS* HOUSE AT TURKEY CREEK
— 43 —
The passing of the first train on the Monon railway through Lake County,
in 1882. and the crossing of it the following year by the "Three I," was the
origin of the village of Shelby at this crossing, Shelby is the most southern town
in Lake County. Unlike its northern sister cities on Lake Michigan, its population
has not increased by kangaroo leaps. It has remained modest in its pretensions to
wealth, industries and all that goes with the loud acclaim of booming cities. It has
a church, a good school of three rooms, a hotel, and a citizenship proud of itself
and of its county.
PICNIC TRAIN ARRIVING AT CEDAR LAKE
SCENE ON CEDAR LAKE NORTH FROM DEPOT
Cedar Lake has long, widely and deservedly been known as Lake County's
prettiest summer resort. To the tired body or brain, nothing surpasses the rest-
fulness of Nature's beauty, grandeur or placidity. The combination of woods,
hills and a large body of fresh, wholesome, navigable water is what gives Cedar
Lake its attractiveness to the crowds that come there each summer from surround-
ing towns and country, and especially in excursions from Chicago. They come
to escape dust, worry and overwork. They come to picnic, to visit, to row or
take a launch ride on the lake; to let the children paddle near the shore or take
a plunge themselves ; to fill their lungs with fresh air and the eye with a sense
SCENE AT KANKAKEE RIVER
FISHING SCENE AT KANKAKEE RIVER
of fresh beauty ; to enjoy the freedom and healthfulness of outdoor life, in solitude or
in crowds, as one may prefer. Extensive provision has been made to receive visitors
at Cedar Lake. Commodious hotels with modern accessories are kept on either side
of the lake, besides many other smaller boarding-houses. The residents are hospi-
table and friendly and accustomed to crowds. There are all manner of boats, large
and small, to be hired with or without pilot, on either side of the lake. When the
busy summer season is over at Cedar Lake the quiet of the environments, together
with the varicolored robe of the woods on the surrounding slants and hills, make
it a spot of delight and charm, and home parties go out nutting and squirrel hunting.
In the winter time, when the trees have pulled on their white hoods and Jack Frost
has put his icy lid on the lake, two large ice-plants at either end of the lake
keep a body of men busy in storing up the cooling, crystal blocks in the capacious
ice-houses till summer's scorching rays shall bring them out for the sick, the fevered
and the sweltering. Our artist shows us cuts of several of Cedar Lake's beautiful
spots and places.
A HOT WEATHER SCENE AT CEDAR LAKE BATHING BEACH
HON. EDGAR DEAN CRUMPACKER
Was born on a farm in Laporte County, Indiana, and was edu-
cated in the public schools and in the Male and Female College of Val-
paraiso. When twenty-two years of age, he left the farm to enter upon
the study of law in Valparaiso, and took the senior year in the law
department of the State University. He began the practice of law in
Valparaiso in 1879, was elected prosecuting attorney for the Thirty-
first judicial district in 1884 and 1886, was appointed one of the first
judges of the appellate court by Governor Hovey in March, 1891, and
served upon that bench for about two years. In 1896 he w r as elected
to Congress for the Tenth district and has been re-elected from time to
time ever since, and is now a candidate upon the Republican ticket for
a sixth term.
During the years of his service in Congress many questions of
unusual importance have been up for consideration. He was actively
identified with all these important measures and particularly with the
constructive legislation for the government of Porto Rico and the Phil-
ippine Islands. He is now chairman of the Committee on Census in
the House and the ranking member of the Committee on Insular Affairs.
The Congressional Record shows the character and extent of the work
he has done since he has been a member of the National legislature.
During the recent session of Congress he took an active part in all the
important measures that were up for consideration, and presided over
the House at the designation of the Speaker more than any other member
of that body aside from the Speaker himself.
Congressman Crumpackers recent renomination by enthusias-
tic acclamation speaks loudly what his supporters think of him. He
lives in the heart of the people he represents, because they and their
interest lie in his heart. He is a broad, conservative, judicious states-
man, possessing eminently the qualities of pleader and jurist ; an excep-
tionally pure public man, moving in an atmosphere far above political
corruption and removed from petty quarreling; a conscientious, pains-
taking and industrious worker for the public good, with the gift of
mastery of subjects in the public eye. He belongs to the sort of men
the country always needs and always will insist on having at the front
ERNEST L. SHORTRIDGE
Albert Maack was born at
Brunswick, Lake County, Septem-
ber 24, 1862, his parents being Mr.
and Mrs. Peter Maack. Albert at-
tended school in his native town
until he was nineteen years old,
applying himself diligently to his
studies. He went to Crown
Point to finish his education in the
high schools. He followed up
commercial pursuits, locating in
Lowell, where he was actively en-
gaged as a clerk, later going into
business for himself. He was at
all times a courteous and accom-
modating gentleman and was
popular in both a business and
social way. He was united in
marriage September 10, 1889, to
Miss Helen Kobelin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Kobelin, of
Lowell. To this union two daughters were born. Mr. Maack was
elected town clerk and treasurer of Lowell in 1886, which position he
filled with satisfaction.
Mr. Maack and family moved to Hammond, where he was ap-
pointed assistant postmaster, which position he holds to-day, and vir-
tually has full charge of the postal affairs of that city. Being an
ardent Republican, he took an active part in politics, and for several
years did valuable service as secretary of the Lake County Republi-
can Central Committee. As a party worker he is active and clean.
Four years ago he aspired to the candidacy for county treasurer, but
failed to secure it. Nothing daunted and being of the "true-blue" type
of Republicanism, he accepted defeat gracefully and "threw off his
coat" for the cause. At the county convention held at Crown Point in
March of the present year he was unanimously nominated for the
office of county treasurer.
Ernest L. Shortridge is
another Lowell boy, who, by
energy, perseverance and intelli-
gence, has to his credit the honor
of being one of the best court
reporters in the State of Indiana.
Pie was born on a farm near
Lowell, June 11, 1873, and re-
ceived his education in the public
schools of that place, after which
he went to Valparaiso College
and took a thorough course of
stenography and business train-
ing. He took up his residence in
Hammond, where he has taken
an active part in commercial and
political affairs and come promi-
nently before the public eye. In
1901 he was appointed court sten-
ographer of the Superior Court of Lake, Porter and Laporte counties,
which position he holds at the present time.
Mr. Shortridge was bred a Republican and has taken an active
part in the campaigns for his party's cause since 1892 in such a stren-
uous manner that he was made chairman of the Republican Central
Committee in 1902, which position he held until 1904, his conduct of
the campaign during that period giving satisfaction to the party. So
highly w r as he held in the esteem of his party friends that when, in the
campaign now on, he announced himself as a candidate for the office
of county clerk, he had no opposition and received his nomination by
acclamation. Mr. Shortridge was married to Miss Misha Mathis, of
Hammond. They have one daughter, five years of age, living, and one
bright little daughter whom death reaped a short time ago.
— 47 —
W. F. BRIDGE
Whether David Boone, the prosecuting attorney of Lake and Porter Counties,
is a descendant of Daniel Boone, the courageous Kentuckian, we do not know;
but certain it is that he has the same kind of grit and courage possessed by Daniel
in his younger days, when the Indians and wolves were howling around. David
Boone is a resident of Hammond, and until he was elected, two years ago, to
his present office, he practiced law. He is an eloquent pleader before a court. His
promise to the people of the two counties, when he was asking them for their
suffrage, that should he be elected he would be the prosecutor in reality as well
as in name, and that law-breakers would have to hunt their holes or get nipped, has
been made good. He personally conducts all important cases, especially murder
cases. So vigorously did he prosecute the murderer, Donahue, that a verdict of
murder in the first degree was rendered, and he was sentenced to hang. Governor
Hanly commuted the sentence to life imprisonment. A bitter feeling was engendered
against Mr. Boone on the part of Donahue's friends, and after receiving a number
of threatening letters an unsuccessful attempt was made to blow his house up
with dynamite. Mr. Boone is the most tireless, energetic and willing Republican
worker in Lake County. He is an eloquent, forceful and logical political speaker.
W. F. Bridge, surveyor of Lake County, living at Hammond,
Ind., was born in Carroll County in 1884. After graduation from
high school he attended Wabash College. He spent four years in the
State of Colorado making land surveys, platting towns, and being
engaged in mining engineering; then came back, and located in Ham-
mond in 1890, where he has been active in his chosen line ever since.
He has served a number of years as city engineer for Hammond and
has done a large share of the work in laying out the neighbor cities of
East Chicago and Whiting. He was one of the board of police com-
missioners of Hammond appointed by Governor Durbin and served in
this capacity from 1901 to 1903, when he resigned. He has been secre-
tary of the Commercial Club of Hammond and one of its directors
since its organization. He is affiliated with the following orders :
Masons, K. of P., Elks and National Union.
Lawrence Cox, candidate for sheriff of Lake County, has
been a resident of Lake County for a number of years, and has all
through these years been a consistent and zealous Republican.
After acting as deputy sheriff under George Lawrence, he filled
the office of chief of police in Hammond, and has proved a firm,
shrewd, vigilant and efficient officer. He is well known and liked
through the entire county.
Edward Simon, of Hobart, Demo-
cratic candidate for representative of
Lake County, was born in Buffalo, N.
Y., thirty-three years ago. He was edu-
cated in the public schools and St.
Joseph College of that city. It was
there he learned the cigar-making trade.
In 1892 he went to Chicago, where he
engaged in the restaurant business for
a year, when he came to Lake County,
and opened a cigar factory at Liver-
pool. His business increased so rap-
idly that he sought a larger place, and
located at Hobart, where to-day he em-
ploys fourteen people in his factory. It
is his individual and manly efforts,
hustle and business tact and square
dealing that have brought his estab-
lishment creditably before the public.
Mr. Simon, who, since his residence in
Hobart, has been an energetic member
of the volunteer lire department, advo-
cated and worked for the organization
of a society of the volunteer depart-
ments of the county, and was instru-
mental in forming the Lake County
Volunteer Firemen's Association, two
years ago, and was selected as its
first president, and the first annual
tournament was held at Hobart. At
the last meeting of the association,
which now embraces the volunteer de-
partments of the Tenth Congressional
district, Mr. Simon was re-elected presi-
dent. He is an ardent Democrat and a
faithful worker for his party, and soon after going to Hobart he was made
township chairman, and two years ago was selected as county chairman
of the Democratic Central Committee, because of his faithful, energetic work, and
he was thus brought in close touch with the Democratic leaders of the county.
While the nomination for representative came without any solicitation, he never-
theless appreciates the honor.
Democratic Candidate for Rep-
resentative and Maker of
the La Vendor Cigar
CHARLES L. SURPRISE
W. E. VILMER
Charles L. Surprise, deputy clerk of the United States District
and Circuit Courts at Hammond, Ind., was born near Lowell on Nov.
11, 1884. During his infancy his parents, Oliver and Carlinda Sur-
prise, moved to town, where they still reside. In 1903 he was grad-
uated from the Lowell high school ; the same year he won the county
oratorical contest at Hammond, gaining honors for himself and his
school. The following fall he attended Northwestern' University.
Then he clerked and studied law in Atty. S. C. Dwyer's office until
his appointment in August, 1906, to the deputyship at Hammond. Mr.
Surprise' is also an employee of Knotts & Bomberger, corporation
lawyers of Hammond. lie is an active member of the M. E. Church,
a Republican, and in good favor with his wide acquaintance in the
W. E. Vilmer, photographer of high rank, began his busi-
ness career in 1886, at Crown Point, where he is still located. He
is a member of both the National and State Associations of Photo-
graphers, and also of the Indiana Art League. He has just been
elected president of the State Association, in which he previously
served three years as its secretary.
In 1904 he was commissioned by a Pennsylvania art concern, to
go to Indianapolis and make a series of photographs of Vice-President
Fairbanks. He is owner and publisher of several copyrighted pictures
sold extensively in the art stores of the country, and is possessor of
numerous medals given by both the State and National Associations.
H. V. WEAVER
H. V, Weaver was born on a
farm near Reading, Hillsdale Co.,
Mich., Aug. 16, 1856, his parents
being H. H. and Hattie Weaver.
Young Weaver attended the pub-
lic schools of Reading until he
was eighteen years old, when he
left the parental roof and went
forth to see some of the world.
Later, having satisfied his desire
for travel, he took up the study of
undertaking and embalming as a
profession. He also studied med-
icine and his being associated
with medical men aided ma-
terially in his proficiency in
his chosen work. Mr. Weaver graduated from Clark's College of
Embalming at Cincinnati, Ohio, and has his diploma from that institu-
tion. He also has a license issued by the State Board of Health of
Indiana, and one from the State Board of Health of Illinois. He
is acknowledged to be one of the best funeral directors in this or
any other locality, performing his duties with a quiet ease and cour-
tesy that have won for him many warm friends and supporters, who
readily recognize and appreciate his valuable services. At present he
is connected with the mercantile firm of Hoevet & Ruge, of Lowell.
Mr. Weaver was united in marriage Nov. 11, 1891, to Miss Hat-
tie Flynn, of Rensselaer, and to them have been born three children,
two boys and one girl. He and his family are held in high esteem by
all for their many rare qualities.
GEORGE F. WOOD
This prince of good fellows is
a product of Crown Point. He
was born April 29, 1870, his par-
ents being Martin and Susan
Wood. Martin Wood was one of
the pioneer lawyers of Lake
County, having practiced in Crown
Point for over forty years. He
served one term in the State Leg-
islature. He died in 1892, but his
wife survives, aged seventy-eight
years, and makes her home with
her children, of whom she has
eight, three daughters living in
Hammond and one in Kansas ; one
son in Topeka, Kansas ; one in
New York City; one in Kansas
City, and Geo. F., who resides in
George attended the public schools of his town, and later
entered his father's office and read law, and later studied in the office
of J. Frank Meeker, and was admitted to the bar of the Lake County
Circuit Court. Twelve years ago Mr. Wood was made county con-
stable of Lake County, which position he has filled conscientiously
and fearlessly. In his uniform of blue that he wears at all times, he
looks the officer that he is. He is familiar with every nook and crook
in Lake County and has rendered valuable services to sheriffs and
their deputies in apprehending law-breakers. He is highly respected
by all, even crooks, because, while he is firm, he is very congenial.
The accompanying photograph shows Officer Wood in full uniform
and is a striking likeness. George always carries his trademark with
him — the best disposition of any man in Lake County.
DR. FREDERIC CASTLE
OSCAR A. KRINBILL
Dr. Frederic Castle is an old resident of Lowell. He has
devoted fifty years to the study of violin tone-problems — the philoso-
phy of violin peculiarities, excellencies and defects. Violins come
to him from various parts of the country for test, valuation or reforma-
tion. His interesting experiences and valuable conclusions to violin
students, as to production, modification and preservation of violin
tones, are set forth in his unique way of lectures to a mythical club,
and published in his book, "Violin Tone Peculiarities," from which the
doctor derives both deserved reputation and revenue.
Oscar A. Krinbill, of Hammond,
county commissioner from the First dis-
trict, is a man of wide business ex-
perience, made so by a long association
with men of affairs in Lake County and
by reason of being actively engaged in
business himself. His entire life has been
spent in Lake County, with the excep-
tion of two years in Kansas. Mr. Krin-
bill was born in Crown Point, August
8, 1863, his parents being George and
Marie Krinbill, natives of Pennsylvania.
They came to Indiana in 1851, locating
at Cedar Lake, but later went to Crown
Point, where they now reside. Oscar is
one of eight children, six of whom are
living. He received his education in the
public schools, after which he studied
pharmacy, and for a number of years
was a drug-clerk in Hammond, and
for ten years conducted a drug store
of his own, retiring in September, 1003, to become manager of the Hammond
Telephone Company, which position he still holds. On June 15, 1893, Mr. Krinbill
was united in marriage to Miss Edith Weaver, daughter of Adam and Anna Weaver.
By this union one daughter, Josephine Krinbill, was born. Mr. Krinbill is a stanch
Republican. His knowledge of public affairs has well fitted him in the capacity
of county commissioner, which position he has filled in a conservative manner and
for the best interests of the county. He has been eminently fair toward all
localities, and through him and his associates many improvements have been made
in Lake County.
HON. SCHUYLER COLFAX DWYER
Hon. Schuyler Colfax Dwyer was
born in Washington, D. G, July 23,
1869. He was named for that eminent
Indiana statesman, Schuyler Colfax, of
whom he still treasures a photograph
with autograph. At an early age
Schuyler's parents moved to Lake
County, Ind., where he received most
of his early schooling in Crown Point
and Lowell. He pursued the prepara-
tory course at Depauw, and the high
school course at Washington City, where
his father held a government position.
Here he was a member of the famous
Cadet Corps. He taught one term of
school in Lake County, and returning to
Washington, took the first year of his
law course at Georgetown University.
There he had the inestimable privilege
of studying law in the office of Mr.
Barnard, now one of the District Court judges in Washington. Mr. Dwyer com-
pleted his college and law course at Depauw University in 1889. In 1890 he was
married to Miss Sylvia Bacon. Two daughters, Portia and Helen, grace this union.
Pie has been engaged in the practice of law since his graduation. In 1893 he located
in Lowell, where he enjoys a pleasant and lucrative business and a comfortable
home. He is the recipient of the unanimous nomination on the Republican ticket
for Joint Representative for Lake and Newton Counties. Mr. Dwyer is physically,
intellectually, morally and socially equipped for exacting public service. He is well
known among the fraternal orders, especially the Knights of Pythias and Odd
Fellows. He is respecteel for his ability and fairness at the bar and for his public
spirit in his own town.
Thomas Grant, of the mercantile firm
of Grant Brothers, of Lowell, is one of
the prominent representative citizens of
his home community, in a business, polit-
ical and social way. He is also prom-
inent in the affairs of the south part of
Lake County and is well known over the
entire county. He was born in Lowell
on the 13th day of September, 1865, and
is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas
Grant, the elder Grant being born in
Scotland, and coming to this country, lo-
cated in Chicago, but in I860 he came to
Lowell, where he identified himself with
the building interests. He died in the
South when his son Thomas was only
nine years old, leaving a mother and a
number of other children to be cared
for. Being thrown upon his own re-
sources, young Grant went to work on
a farm and later worked on the Monon
railroad as a section hand. By energy,
honesty and economy he forged ahead,
took a business course at Valparaiso
University and became a contracting carpenter, which he followed until seven years
ago, when he and his brother James opened their big mercantile establishment. He
served four years as trustee of Cedar Creek township, during which time he brought
about great improvements in the way of good roads and bridges. He is an ardent
Republican and a splendid party worker. Pie was a candidate for the nomination
of sheriff at the spring convention, but was defeated by Mr. Lawrence Cox. In 1893
Mr. Grant was united in marriage to Miss Grace Nichols, daughter of William C.
and Mary Nichols. To this union one son was born, named Byrl. Mr. Grant
is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Masonic and Odd Fellow lodges and
takes an active interest in fraternal work.
A. F. KNOTTS
A. M. HOOTMAN
Hon. A. F. Knotts was
born in Highland County, Ohio,
Feb. 29, I860. He was brought
up on a farm near Medaryville,
Ind., and received his early educa-
tion in the country school. He
afterwards taught country schools
and the Medaryville town school.
He entered the Valparaiso Nor-
mal, and in five years was grad-
uated in the scientific, classical,
engineering and law departments.
Fie was president of the Central
Indiana Normal School and Busi-
ness College at Ladoga for two
years, after which he was elected
county surveyor of Porter County
He had now laid the foun-
dation for his larger life in his
thorough school and business
training. He began vigorously
the practice of law in Hammond in 1887. He was elected Joint Rep-
resentative of Lake and Jasper Counties in 1898. Through the Legis-
lature, he succeeded in having a court house built in Hammond, and
thus having practically a new county seat for his (the north) end of
the county. On his return to Hammond he was elected mayor in 1902
at a time when strikes, riots, lockouts, graft and moral degeneracy,
together with the sudden loss of the packing house, Hammond's main
industry, made the sky look heavy for Hammond. There were now
but three industries left. In a short time this city recognized that its
mayor was awake, hopeful, practical, busy and tactful — a man that
did things. Eleven new industries were planted in Hammond during
the two years he was mayor, and the throngs of busily employed men
learned that work at good wages was better than quarreling in idle-
ness and want. Employees and employers shook hands and congrat-
ulated their mayor and his co-workers.
(Continued on page S3)
A. M. Hootman was born in Jeromeville, Ohio, Sept, 22, 1857. During his
infancy his parents moved to. Defiance County, Ohio, where young Hootman grew
to manhood amid the forest, on the farm and in the blacksmith shop. At seventeen
years of age, he taught his first school. He attended a select school, Hicksville
high school, Bryan College and Valparaiso University, graduating in two courses^
He married Miss Carrie Elliott of Defiance, Ohio! in 1883, that year teach-
ing at Aurora, Ill.,in Jenning's Seminary. His first wife bore him one child, Claudia,
and after four years of married life died. Fie was again married to Miss Delia
Simpson, a teacher in Eureka, 111., now the mother of his four children. Mr.
Hootman was a teacher seven years in the Metropolitan Business College of
(Continued on page 55)
A. M. HOOTMAN
(Continued from page $4 )
Chicago. He served four years as police judge
of Western Springs ; two years as secretary
of the Board of Education of that village in
Cook Co., III. He was pastor and evangelist
at Valparaiso two years ; pastor at Lowell,
Ind., four years; at Union City, Ind., four
years; at Towanda, N. Y., Broad Street
Church, two and one-half years ; at Logan sport,
Ind., three years; he was president of the State
Missionary Society in New York two years;
president of the Second, Fourth and Sixth dis-
tricts in Indiana. He is a graduate of Wel-
mer's School of Suggestive Therapeutics, and
is at present secretary and director in the South
Bend Life Insurance Company at South Bend,
A. F. KNOTTS
(Continued from page 54 )
LI is reputation for doing things
won for him the attention of Judge
Gary of the U. S. Steel Corpora-
tion, and was the flag that stopped
the train of opportunity at his
station, which he promptly boarded,
and on which he has been taking
others with him, on a straight,
broad-gauge track, on fast time, at
his new and daring creation, the
city of Gary. The pages of his
numerous public acts constitute
the book of his interesting biog-
raphy. His name is written on
the industries of Hammond, as it
will be engraved on the very foun-
dations at Gary.
three bright children : Theres
ARTHUR J. BOWSER
Was born at Valparaiso in 1862. He was
educated at St. Paul's Academy, Valparaiso
high school and Valparaiso Normal. Lie
learned the printers' trade and newspaper
business in Springfield, Ills., and in Grand
Rapids, Mich. He engaged at once in his
chosen profession, and started Valparaiso's
first daily in 1882 — the Daily Advertiser.
Lie started the Vidette in 1883, and the
Chesterton Tribune in 1884, of which he is
still the progressive editor and genial
proprietor. In 1893-4 he was receiver for
the Porter Land Company and American
Brass Company, with Chicago offices, and
paid out dollar for dollar from what had
been considered hopeless assets. He was
made reading clerk of the Indiana Senate
in 1889, an office which Senator Beveridge
had held ten years before, and from which
he was elected U. S. Senator. Mr. Bowser
served four years in the county council.
During his term in this office Porter
County's tax was reduced twenty-five cents
lower than ever before. His public career
has been clean throughout. He is now can-
didate for Joint Representative of Porter
and Lake Counties on the Republican
ticket. He was married in 1882 to Nettie
Drago, by whom he is the happy father of
Frances and Arthur J., Jr.
MR. AND MRS. S. E. SWAIM
Publishers of the Hammond Daily News,
HOEVET & RUGE y GENERAL MERCHANDISE
HESE two young men, having been raised on a farm and
reared to hard labor, lost none of the energy and zeal
there attained, but being filled with good, old stock Ger-
man tenacity they put their lifelong earnings and sav-
ings together and clasping hands swore eternal fidelity
and confidence one to the other. They purchased the
mercantile business of F. E. Nelson & Son. This stock
consisted of Dry Goods, Boots and Shoes, Hats, Caps and Gents'
Furnishings, Groceries, Queensware and Furniture. The copartner-
ship once formed, they set to work, not only to maintain the standing
of their predecessors, but 1o improve stock and extend patronage.
By constant application to business both stock and customers were
soon doubled and the close of the first year found them among the
most prosperous business men of Lake County.
Conceiving the idea that a realistic department store was the
most convenient and economical, as well as the most pleasing way
to handle and show goods, they at once set to work to arrange and
rearrange stock, until now each line is in a department by itself.
On Nov. 1, 1905, they added a new department to their already
extensive business, that of undertaking. This business added to
the furniture department makes it one of the best equipped furni-
ture and undertaking establishments in northern Indiana.
Securing the services of Mr. H. V. Weaver, a practical funeral
director and embalmer, also an experienced furniture man, who
was given entire charge of the furniture and undertaking depart-
ment, the results have been most encouraging.
Rejoicing in the fact that they are prospering, they are looking
forward to the time when they will be able to install a manager in
each and every department, making it the model business establish-
ment in northern Indiana.
With their business tactics and untiring energy, we bespeak for
them unbounded success, for, as you enter their place, the very air
seems impregnated with cordiality, good will and welcome.
Mr. Geo. J. Hoevet, senior member of the firm of Hoevet &
Ruge, and son of Mathias and Mary Hoevet, was born at Grant
Park, 111., Nov. 12, 1870, where he resided with his parents on a
HOEVET & RUGE y GENERAL MERCHANDISE
farm until young manhood, when, like many another young, indus-
trious fellow, wishing to exercise his own independence, he sought for
and obtained a situation in the grocery store of A, H. Guritz of
Chicago, 111., where he worked for two years. He then resigned
his position and entered the employ of the North Side Fair Store,
where he remained for one year. Severing his connection with
this firm he opened up a grocer business for himself. This busi-
ness he carried on very successfully for two years, when he closed
it out at a fair profit and came to Lowell.
Mr. Hoevet then entered the employ of E. R. Lynch, a very
successful and progressive young business man of this place and
in whose employ Mr. Hoevet remained for one year, when, tiring of
a clerical life, he sought his first love, the farm, and remained for
On Feb. 20, 1896, Mr. Hoevet was united in marriage to
Miss Emma Selke. To this union has been born two bright, beau-
tiful little girls, making home a paradise for a tired business man.
Mr. Emil H. Ruge, junior member of the firm of Hoevet &
Ruge, was born at Beecher, Will Co., 111., Nov. 18, 1876, the son
of Carl and Minnie Ruge.
Mr. Ruge remained with his parents on the farm until he was
thirteen years of age, when he went to Chicago, and lived there for
three and one-half years. Moving from there to Lowell, Ind., he
entered the employ of W. Fay Lynch, successor to E. R. Lynch,
and conducting a very large and prosperous mercantile business.
Here Mr. Ruge commenced his business education. He remained
with Mr. Lynch for three years. At the expiration of this time he
severed his connection with this firm and became connected with
the firm of J. H. Spindler & Co., working for them for one year.
At this time a new firm (that of Grant Bros.) sprang into existence
and Mr. Ruge accepted a clerkship with them until entering into
business with Mr. Geo. J. Hoevet Jan. 28, 1905.
Mr. Ruge launched his bark on the sea of matrimony on the
10th day of May, 1899, with Miss Pearl E. Nichols, and to them
has been born one child, a sweet, affectionate little girl, to whose
every wish he caters with delight.
- 56 -
Ere l!?ou Untetesteb
"N southern Lake County,
Newton and Jasper Counties?
If so, you should not fail to con-
sult James Dickey, of Shelby, Ind.,
an acknowledged authority on
every foot of land, improved and
unimproved, in the great Kanka-
kee River region, and his broad
experience and extensive deals easily make , him the foremost
real estate dealer in his section. He began in this line of business
at Monon In 1887, and by keen foresight, square dealing and a con-
genial disposition has gained the confidence of all with whom he
has come in contact. His operations are on a large scale, vast
acres of improved and unimproved lands being placed in his hands
for disposal. He is in a position at all times to give prompt attention
to real estate deals and solicits correspondence.
— — -PROPRIETOR OF THE
OLD RELIABLE FURNI-
TURE and UNDERTAKING
ESTABLISHMENT * + *
Was first closely identified with
the educational interests of the
county and the state. He was
for several years superintendent
of Lowell's schools, when his health having" failed he
was forced into other spheres of occupation.
He bought out and has sincg successfully con-
ducted the Martin Schur firm of 3i years' standing
and is therefore in the line of one of the oldest estab-
lishments in his line in the county.
While thus reading back in history the firm also
brings its line constantly up to date, as his large and
varied line of fine furniture proves. He has associated
with him John Castle, a licensed embalmer, a young
scion of an old Lowell family, who has already shown
himself an adept in his work.
THE LOWELL SQUAB FARM
BREEDERS OF SQUABS FOR THE MARKET
Number One Squabs
Special Attention Given
to Family Orders
Telephone, Lowell If 12
l A. DINWIDDIE, Manager
Interior of DriscoIVs Drug Store
The above cut will give you an idea of the neat appearance of
Driscoll's drug store, where you will find a complete line of
and SCHOOL SUPPLIES
In fact, everything that is kept in an up-to-date drug store. In the
rear is kept a full line of
G. W. HUNTER,
Majnvifacctvirers* Agent for the latest improved
Dealer in Bicycle Sundries, Best equipped repair
Guns, Ammunition, Etc. shop in the State
AX/TOMO'BI LE GAUAG E
Compressed Air Free Bowser Gasoline System
'Phone 122 HUEHN BLOCK
91 South Hohman St.
— 59 —
JOHN ZARTMA1SF, Proprietor
LIVERY, FEED, SALE and
If you drive with Zartman you get the benefit of
his fine stock, good buggies, closed carriages, three-
seated rigs, buses, etc. Everything for the convenience
of the traveler, and the satisfaction of dealing with a
man that appreciates your patronage.
DECK WRIGHT, JR.-39239
This pure-bred stallion is a bright bay and stands 1 6 hands high. He is
owned by Joseph Heiser, of Lowell. He was foaled in 1903 by Deck Wright,
Sr., 24754, holding a pacing record of 2:09%; he by Quilna Chief, 3875 and Kate
C. Deck Wright, Jr/s dam is Nellie Park wood, by Parkwood, 12335; grand dam
Amarilla, by Adjustant 1 888, etc. He was bred by Mat Boney, of Hammond. At
the late county fair Deck Wright, Jr. received the first premium in the three-
year-old class. The accompanying photograph represents him at two years old.
His present season was very successful. Correspondence solicited.
Miss Lena Kimmet' s Millinery
^P^HE two-story brick corner building
£ occupied by Miss Lena Kimmet's
\m millinery store is one of Lowell's
landmarks. The building was erected in
1891. It has been occupied by the Wiggins
Bank, the State Hank and Dr. J. E. Davis.
The artist shows the building as it now looks
across the street. It is owned by Mr. John
A. Kimmet, father of the present occupant,
in which she displays her extensive stock in
all modern and best styles of ladies' hats.
Miss Kimmet has taken a thorough course in her trade
in the trade school in Chicago. Her courtesy to custom-
ers has already drawn to her apartment a long list of
valuable patronage, which her knowledge in the most
approved and correct forms will steadily increase.
The KEILMAN & CO.
Is one of Lowell's large and old established firms.
It was established in 1880 under the name of Du-
Breuil & Keilman, an elevator being built that and
the following year with a capacity of 60,000 bushels.
In 1889 a grist-mill was added with a capacity of
75 barrels per day. John A. Kimmet, the present
efficient manager, has been connected with the firm
since 1881. In 1892, DuBreuil having died, Mr.
Kimmet became a partner and has been the prac-
tical head of the company since.
In 1902 a large lumber shed was added
to the equipment. They now handle grain,
tile, brick, cement, lumber, glass, paints, in
fact, anything that enters into the con-
struction of a modern building. Their trade
is extensive and far-reaching. They make
frequent shipments to Chicago, Chicago
Heights, Frankfort, Madison and various
other points north and south, east and
The artist has reproduced an interior and
exterior view, with Mr. Kimmet at his desk.
The KEILMAN &> CO.
Bethel College, Library
and Gymnasium, Russellville, Ky.
Park Hotel, Hot Springs, Ark.
Bliss Hotel, Bluffton, Ind.
1305 Chamber of Commerce Bldg,
Partial List of Buildings Erected
by this firm
Commercial Bank, Crown Point, Ind.
Commercial Bank, Blue Island, 111.
Citizens' Bank, Russellville, Ky.
M E. Tischenor, Chicago
R. J. McLaughlin, Chicago
Geo. Hamlin, Chicago
Hunter W. Finch, Chicago
Logan Hay, Springfield, III.
Dr. C. E. Greenfield, Chicago
H. W. Law, St. Joseph, Mich.
■ '■ •■
1 1 WEmI
U JPSw* --'"5 p*™?
National Guano Plant, Aurora, 111.
Tuthill Spring Co., Chicago
Knickerbocker Ice Co., Chicago
Amberg File Index Co., Chicago
H. W. Caldwell £? Son. Chicago
Steger & Sons Piano Co., Steger, 111.
Twenty-three buildings alone erected in Lake County by this firm— in Crown Point, Hammond and Lowell
The Wiley Brothers formerly resided in Lowell, Indiana
^4 Few of Lowell } s Residences Built by
———J. CLAUD RUMSEY
CONTRACTOR AND BUILDER
A Timely Suggestion
TITfl ^EN contemplating the
^^" erection of a residence,
business block, barn and, in fact,
anything in the building line,
consult Mr, Rumsey as to plans,
specifications and estimates — it
will be to your interest to do so.
He will be pleased to show you
his designs of handsome buildings,
or will design one in accordance
with your own plans.
Cement and Concrete Work
/TEMENT walks/bridge abut-
^■* ments, piers, foundations, etc.,
contracted for. Large and diffi-
cult jobs a specialty. The use of a
steam concretemixer is employed,
which greatly facilitates the work.
During the present season
20,000 feet of cement walk has
been built in Lowell by Mr.
READING FROM LEFT TO RIGHT— FIRST RESIDENCE OWNED AND OCCUPIED BY J. <
RUMSE\ J SECOND, OWNED BY A. HULL; THIRD, MRS. L. PRATT J FOURTH, F. L. WEAKLY
THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE HOME, SWEET HOME— WHEN BUILT <BT RUMSEY
THE WILBUR LUMBER COMPANY
PROM BASEMENT TO CUPOLA
Our stock is well assorted and of superior quality, at prices that defy competition. We also keep in stock TELEPHONE POLES, CEDAR
POSTS, CRUSHED STONE, LIME, CEMENT, VITRIFIED and SHERIDAN BRICK, CONRAD BUILDING STONE, LADDERS, Etc.
4. J. NIOXELL,
HARD and SOFT COAL
We are prepared to supply the public with all kinds of hard and soft coal.
Prompt delivery and full weight. A man at all times to load your wagon.
ON THE KANKAKEE RIVER
AND MONON ROUTE
Picnic, Fishing and Hunting Parties furnished with
GOOD BOATS, BAIT and GUIDES
Ideal place for family, society, lodge and town
picnics, all of which is given free use of
M. J. AHLGRIM, Prop.
r... SIGLER HOUSE...
• ■— ^ T *
Cedar LaKe» Ind.
THE SIGLER HOUSE
TTHE most beautifully located and one of the most
^^ popular hotels in northern Indiana, situated on the
brow of a hill overlooking Cedar Lake. One gets a magnifi-
cent view of the lake from the veranda.
Excellent fishing, boating and bathing make this an
ideal place to spend your vacation.
When you begin to lose your appetite, feel nervous and
irritable try a few days with Mr. and Mrs. Sigler, and if
you don't go home feeling better you should see a doctor
Man can achieve no great degree of
success without the real, or make-
believe, past record. Success, real
or supposed, must he shown . . .
N Anda H* Maxwell's past record he fig-
prominently among the business
men of Lowell* He was born while the
smoke of the Rebellion was still hanging
over us, and the push, energy and stability
so necessary at that time has remained a
feature in his business career*
Although not yet at his best, eighteen
years have been devoted to Hardware, Im-
plement and Buggy lines, three years of
which were in the capacity of traveling sales-
man for Implement and Vehicle Factories*
This road work was an education, getting
him in . close touch with factories, dealers
and consumers* Since purchasing the brick
building which he now occupies it locates
him permanently and gives facilities for car-
rying a more complete stock than is usually
found in the retail trade*
Cbe Leading furniture Man
of Lowell, Indiana ^ .*
"We carry in stock at
all times as fine an
We make our selec-
tions direct from the
best factories in the
country and know what
we are getting.
"We can furnish your
entire house, or can fix
you out with odd piece-.
If you want anything
extra fine in our line
we have them.
as can be found in Lake County
Why not "feather your nest" by buying your furniture of us?
fc UPHOLSTERING DEPARTMENT
We have one of the best equipped Upholstering and Picture Frame Departments in
northern Indiana. Correspondence solicited
^*HE Oakland Stock Farm, of
^* Wm. Coy is situated in West
Creek Township and is one of the
most beautiful places in northern
Indiana. It is a summer and winter
resort for high-class horses. Wealthy
Chicagoans send their horses there
during the winter or when they go
abroad. Here you will find all L classes
•of horses, including imported French
and German coachers, Kentucky
bred driving horses, fast race horses,
Shetland ponies and gentle family
Mr. Coy . established this resort
five years ago. He has 160 acres of
land, with fine pastures, shady
lanes and picturesque surrounding's.
There are two barns on the place,
the largest one being*- 75x40 feet, and
is fitted up with box stalls and other
conveniences. He has three good
assistants and horses are well cared
The illustration shows Mr. Coy's large barn
and some of the horses he has boarded.
E. C. Minas Go.
Largest Department Store in the State
We Sell Everything
27 Different Departments aii under one roof
Special Attention Given to Mail and Telephone Orders
Mailed Free 0ur WeeKl3r *****
ASK FOR IT
We pay freight on all orders of $10.00 or over
FRED B. AULT
After, several years' ex-
perience with some of the
best plumbing establish-
ments in the United
States I am prepared to
do all "work in my line in
a workmanlike manner
and guarantee satisfaction
This Will Save You Money
I handle a Hot-air Furnace fully guaranteed to run on one-third
less coal than any other furnace on the market. I also have a Hot-water
Furnace that requires only one-half the amount of coal consumed by
other makes, which is a point not to be overlooked by those intending to
put in a furnace.
Bear in mind that I am the only SANITARY PLUMBER
in the south part of Lake County and will furnish any information
desired in mv Hue of business.
Crown ZPoint, Snd.
Uhe best place to buy your J&o/iday China,
Queensware, Stassware, SSoots and Shoes.
jigent for the Cldridge light~running Sewing
< 77?achine and JEonophone KJal/cinty vffaehines,
2l/est of Court Jfcouse
Telephone, Store, 39
Telephone, Residence, 224
S. LINTON £y SON
CROWN point; ind.
Furniture and Undertaking
Couches, Carpets, Rugs, Window
Shades, Glass and other things
to be found in a first-class
Before sending your orders and money to the Chicago mail order
houses for things in our line call and inspect our goods and let us
show you that we can and do undersell the mail order houses,
LOWELL NATIONAL BANK
THE FIRST DEPOSIT IS A MAGNET
j|T DRAWS to itself the small change
11 which you formerly scattered. lr
starts a^rowin^ bank account
and creates a fund which will final]y>
niakeyou independent. MAKE THAT
FIRST DEPOSIT TODAY WBSUm
F. K. Nelson,
G. B. Bailey,
We Solicit Your Banki
i K B
/\T\UR increase in growth and patronage during the past year makes
^■^ us better prepared than ever to care for the interests of our
customers. If you are not already a patron of this bank we extend
our invitation to become one.
TO SAVE MONEY
^ It's not the amount of your income that makes you ;
independent. It's the amount that you save, and by
depositing your savings at the
STATE NATIONAL BANK
Two Per Cent Certificates
^ You will be starting on the road to prosperity. Safety
and accommodation is our true purpose at all times,
and by strict observance to conservative banking
methods we offer you every protection.
Cf If your patronage and influence have in any way
contributed to the success of our business, we thank
you for it. If as yet you are not a patron, let this be
your invitation to become one.
STATE NATIONAL BANK
CAPITAL STOCK - - $50,000.00
PAUL E. RAASCH
Crown Point, Ind.
I carry a full line of
Now is the time to buy a good
HEATING STOVE ,
GEO. BERG, LOWELL. IND.
Bakery and Restaurant
at all times
Fine Cigars, Pipes and
Always glad to see you
I handle the best make of
Graphophones on the market,
and sell on the installment
plan. Call in and get prices
MRS. PAUL ELLIS
F. W. SCHMAL, - Proprietor
X P E R I E N C E
having taught me just
what the trade demands, I
make my selections in Ladies',
Misses' and Children's hats
with great care. Prices con-
sistent with quality. Call and
examine my stock.
Everything Up to date
Service First class
The Best Place to Bat
in the State
DEALERS IN /^ J
Everything found in a well-stocked department
store can be secured in this big Emporium of
Trade. A complete line of high grade,
seasonable DRY GOODS, BOOTS and
SHOES, RUBBER GOODS, HATS, CAPS,
CLOAKS and FURNISHING GOODS.
Is a feature not to be overlooked. Our stock
is full, fresh and choice. Bring your produce.
The big and constantly increasing crowds that
trade with us is our best advertisement.
Bring the children.
COURTEOUS TREATMENT, PROMPT
ATTENTION, RIGHT PRICES :-: :-:
THE BOSTON STORE
CROWN POINT, INDIANA
To our patrons, and especially those not familiar
with our goods, we desire to state that the goods we
offer are unsurpassed for durability and style. It
is our aim to attain the highest standard of excellence.
The phenomenal success of our clothing and shoe
business is attributed to the business principle that
we advocate. We endeavor to not only sell the
most reliable goods at the lowest possible price
but show the choicest selections.
By our excellent store service, always showing the
most superior line of dress goods, ready-made
garments, millinery and shoes, we have established
ourselves in the hearts of the ladies as the leaders
at the county seat.
Mrs. J. A. Warner
IN Shelby, Indiana, lives a woman whose lineage is inter-
1 esting — Mrs. J. A. Warner, a second cousin of Mrs.
Hettie Green, the world's richest woman, possessing a re-
puted fortune of $50,000,000. Mrs. Warner was born on the
shore of Lake Champlain, in Vermont. She came with her
father, Dr. J. B. Hoag, to Starke County, Indiana, in 1855.
When still a child her mother died and an aunt cared for her.
She came to Lake County in 1862. She taught school at six-
teen years of age. She married J. A. Warner, a merchant of
Hammond. Five years ago she located in Shelby, where she
has prospered as a restaurant keeper. The trade is ac-
commodated early and late and her lunches and coffee are
relished by her patrons. All the hungry and thirsty travelers
or residents are invited to stop at Mrs. Warner's restaurant
DISE, TAIJSfTS, OILS, ^
VA'RJVISHES, Mty n? v^
GOODS, JVOTIOJVS and
FA/fCy GOODS ^ v«
THINK MORE AND SPEND LESS M0NE2
A SAFE PLACE FOR TOUR SAVINGS
ftbe Citi3cns' German
Arrangements have been completed for the opening of a
Savings Department, which will be under the inspection of
the United States Government.
On January and July 1st of each year three per cent in-
terest will be paid on deposits remaining with us three
months. Interest compounds every six months and your
account is credited with the amount earned. One dollar will
open an account with us. A bank account helps you realize
the value of money.
The Only National Savings Bank in Hammond
Four Months Old Sept.. 8, igo6. Sept. 4, 1906, Total Resources, $260, 159.71
WE SOLICIT YOUR ACCOUNTS IN ALL BRANCHES
CHAS. C. SMITH, Pres.
GEO. M. EDER, Cashier
WM. D. WEIS, Vice-Pres.
E, S. EMERINE, Asst. Cashier
PAUL E. ELLIS
Manufacturer of ' ■ u 1
NOTHING BUT THE CHOICEST
OF IMPORTED AND DOMESTIC
TOBACCO USED ^ ■*• ^
LOWELL SPECIAL 5c
A firve blend of Havana
and domestic tobacco ^
ELLIS SPECIAL 10c
All clear Havana
Zhc <3covqc rift. 5)eatb
Ibarfcware Mouse ^^^=
Makes a specialty of
HIGH GRADE HARDWARE
HIGH GRADE STOVES
HIGH GRADE RANGES
HIGH GRADE SILVERWARE
THE MALLEABLE RANGE leads all others
THE STEWART line of hard coal burners has no equal
THE COLE'S HOT BLAST for soft coal has no competition
OUR 1847 SILVERWARE is superior to any silverware on
Come and let us show you thru.
<5eo. /lib. 2>eatb, Xowell, flnb.
======= VALPARAISO, INDIANA -
One of the largest universities in the United States,
opened its 34th year September 4, 1906, with a larger
attendance than that of any previous year. This bids
fair to be the most successful year in the history of
the institution. :-: :-: :-: :-:
The past year has been, by far, the
most prosperous in the history of the
Institution. The coming year will open
under the most favorable auspices.
THE THREE NEW BUILDINGS,
Medical, Musical and Dormitory, which
are now under process of construc-
tion, will be completed in the early
autumn. Many other improvements
have been made, so tha' the Institution
will give, during the coming year,
MANY ADVANTAGES NEVER
Departments:— Preparatory, Teachers,
Kindergarten, Primary, Psychology and
Pedagogy, Manual Training, Scientific,
Biology, Civil Engineering, Classical,
Higher English, German, French, Span-
ish, Italian, Elocution and Oratory,
Music, Fine Arts, Law, Pharmacy,
Medicine, Dentistry, Commercial,
Shorthand and Typewriting, Review.
THE DENTAL DEPARTMENT
of the school is the well-known Chicago
College of Dental Surgery, one of the
oldest and best equipped dental schools
in the country, Dr. Truman W. Brophy,
Notwithstanding all the improve^
merits and the additional ad van-
tages offered, the expenses are
practically no greater than
they have been heretofore.
Tuition, $15 per quarter, or $50 per year.
Board and furnished room; $1.50 to
$1.90 per week.
Address, H. B. BROWN, Pres., or
O. P. KINSEY, Vice-Pres.
The year will consist of four terms
of twelve weeks each and will open as
follows: September 4, 1906; November
27, 1906; February 19, 1907; May 14,
1907. In addition to these there will be
two Mid-term openings as follows:
Spring or First Mid-term April 2, 1907,
which will continue 10 weeks; Summer
or Second Mid-term June 11, 1907,
which will continue 9 weeks.
Jn^ERIT KELSEY, of Lowell, with an experience in
the livery 1 msiness of over eight years, has completed a
new two-story brick building 88x80 feet on Commercial
A venue and has opened one of the best arranged and
equipped livery, feed and sale stables in northern Indiana.
In the real estate Mr. Kelsey has invested $5,400.00, and in
the equipments $2,500.00. The basement is fitted up for
fourteen head of horses, while on the first floor is space for
sixteen more head; on this floor space has also been provided
for vehicles, buggy-washing, harness, etc. An elevator to
hoist vehicles to the upper floor will be provided. At
present Mr. Kelsey has eight brand-new single buggies, two
surreys, one three-seated vehicle and one 7 bus, and is pre-
pared to take care of weddings, funerals and social parties
on short notice. A share of your patronage is solicited by
Lowell Telephone 11-120
Northwestern Telephone lO
EDWIN L. SANDERS
L O W E L L , 1 N I) I A N A
T TT^ A T^TTVr 1 Official City Plumber fur
and SHEET the Town of Lowell j»
Robinson Tubular Furnaces
Fairbanks, Morse & Co.'s Gasoline Engines
Scales and Windmills
HOT WATER HEATERS, RADI-
ATORS, BOILERS, PUMPS
Engine Trimmings and Repairs, Eave
Spouting*, Tin Roofing, Etc., Etc., Etc.
GOSTLIN, MEYN & Co.
92 STATE STREET HAMMOND, IND.
Capital Stock . . . . . . $100,000.00
Surplus and Undivided Profits . . 60,000.00
Confines Itself to a Strictly
THOMAS HAMMOND, President
CHAS. E. FORD, Vice-President
JNO. W. DYER, Cashier
IN ALL ITS BRANCHES
CHOICE INCOME PROPERTY A SPECIALTY
3 Per Cent Interest Paid on Time Deposits
Safety Deposit Boxes to Rent — $3.00 per year and up
jftrst IRational Bank
UNITED STATES DEPOSITORY
Capital and Surplus $138,000.00
A. M. TURNER, President
W. C. BELMAN, Cashier
E. C. MINAS, Vice-Pres.
W. F. MASHINO, Asst. Cashier
A. M. Turner
W. C. Belman
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
P. W. Meyn
J. N. Beckman
E. C. Minas
W. F. Mashino
Me pay 3 per Cent Interest on Gime Deposits
BUSINESS IS BUSINESS
// Can be Done in Different JVays
TTIE BELIEVE that you like to do your
\jL I business where it is appreciated; where
^ ^ you can know everybody, and where
everybody is glad to know you; where you. need
not feel backward about asking for what you
want, and where it will be cheerfully given, or
courteous and sufficient reason furnished why it
cannot be given — in short, where you will find a
business home. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:.
THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK
I N D I ANA
HENRY L. KEILMAN, President. AUGUST W. STOMMEL, Cashier.
H. L. KEILMAN H. C. BATTERMAN J. A. KIMMIT
WM. KEILMAN J. L. KEILMAN
WE ISSUE INTEREST-BEARING CERTIFICATES
ROBBINS $ LONGSHORE
Buyers of Live Stock
j£. Jfeilman dc Son
33oots and Shoes
Fresh and Salt Meats
Groceries and Provisions
Fruits in their season
Produce taKen in exchange
*Dyer, - Sndiana
HOBART, - INDIANA
- 80 -
JOHN BROWN, President JOHN E. LUTHER, Vice-President
A. A. SAUERMAN, Cashier J. H. LEHMAN, Ass't Cashier
Cbe first Rational Bank
O F CROWN POINT, INDIANA
Capital . - - $50,000 Surplus
$SO y OOO
ESTABLISHED IN 1874
Transacts a General Ranking Business
We respectfully solicit accounts and offer to our patrons
every accommodation consistent with conservative banking
NEIL BROWN JOHN BROWN W. B. BROWN
JOHN E. LUTHER A. A. SAUERMAN
KAUFMAN N & WOLF,
Bs tablishmen t
NOTIONS FANCY GOODS
CLOAKS, SUITS FURNISHING GOODS
CLOTHING HOUSEHOLD GOODS
DicKeys Big Bargain Store
Always there witH tHe Goods
Call and see us and investigate our profit-sharing' plan
T^oiir Distance 'Phone 247
FRED A. RUF
Chewinar Gum, Etc,
CROWN POINT, IND.
H WLovb to tbe TKHtee
*i|AAVING paid a handsome sum for your piano,
"J you should not expose it to dampness by leaving
it open when not in use. Neither should you neglect
to have it tuned and put in proper shape.
I visit Lowell at regular intervals, and will put your
piano or organ in first-class condition at reasonable
charges. Best of references furnished.
H. D. ALYIA
%tven> t 3feefc>
anfc> Sale Stable
The best of equipments
and prompt service at
reasonable rates :-: :-:
Rigs for wedding and
funeral parties furnished
on short notice :-: :-:
One of our energetic, enter-
An up-to-date brick layer and
His work speaks for him
louder than we could;
See a view of the building that
our artist has reproduced in
the Industrial Dept. of our
Album, the Turkey Creek
School House, built by
Potvelt tSL Latta,
'Builders, Lowell, Ind.
LASSEN BROTHERS' PAVILION
A55EN BROS,' PAVILION. .
Cedar Lake, lad. Jj^^H^K
/ JJT^ k AVE you ever had the pleasure of attending the
^J^j dances given by the Lassen Brothers at their Pavil-
c C ion? This is a unique dance hall, built for the
sole purpose of catering to the fickle-minded, pleasure-
seeking public, and is the only one of its kind in the state.
If you have been there on the occasion of one of their popular
dances did it not appeal to you as being THE place to spend
a pleasant evening?
CfConld one conceive of a, more desirable evening's enter-
tainment than a dance upon their fine, large floor, accompa-
nied by the best of music? A promenade upon the wide
verandas, getting a beautiful view of the lake at every turn?
A trip across the lake in one of the Dewey launches, or to sit
and listen to the splashing waves keeping time to the
music and patter of feet within ?
€|It is superb! Look about you; see how all are enjoying themselves like one great, good-natured family — not a ripple in
the program to mar the evening's entertainment.
tj This is all due to the good management, strict discipline and congeniality of the Lassen Brothers, the only restriction
being placed upon their patrons is that they must act gentlemanly and ladylike — their motto reading. "Have all the fun
you want, but don't get gay."
€jj If you have never been to Lassen's, you should seize the first opportunity to do so. It will be well worth your while; and
While you are there don't fail to see the renowned Dewey Family — Grandpa and Grandma Dewey, Big Dewey, Little
Dewey, Steamer Dewey and Baby Dewey — all on exhibition daily at the Pavilion, located 300 feet west of the east shore
of Cedar Lake.
For further information see any one of their many patrons, or address Lassen Brothers, Cedar Lake, Indiana.
MAJVl/EL SSL MAJVl/EL
S'ttc censors to W. L>. Handle y
CEVAH LAKE. IJVDIAJVA
If there is a place in the vicinity of Cedar Lake where you can buy cheaper, or find a better
assortment of DRY GOODS. BOOTS and SHOES, HARDWARE, GENTS'
FURNISHINGS, CHINA WARE, GROCERIES and MEATS
you Will Ha-de to Shotv V^
Z> I*REC TO'R y
WHEN HUNGRY, remember we carry a fine line of groceries, meats,
canned goods, frviit, etc. ....... GO TO MANUEL'S
WHEN THE NORTH WIND BLOWS, WHEN YOU ARE WET AND
COLD, yovi need warm \mderclothes, water-proof boots, warm
caps and mitts or gloves . . . . . . . - -GO TO MANUEL'S
WHEN YOU HAVE VISITORS, and haven't enough dishes to set
the table . . . ... . . . GO TO MANUEL'S
WHEN THE BABY HAS COLIC, you need paregoric, or other drugs GO TO MANUEL'S