(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Account of the Buck family of Bucks County, Pennsylvania; and of the Bucksville centennial celebration held June 11th, 1892; including the proceedings of the Buck wampun literary association of said occasion"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 06252534 4 





rfi*Oi-uti-i> lit 1894- liiT 



WILLIAM J BUCK 



Digitized by tine Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/accountofbuckfamOObuck 



(\f.^! 



P^-: 



THE NEW YO} 
i ^ ^3LIC LIBR. 



-A.CCOUNT 



OF THE- 



Buck Family of Bucks County, 

Pennsylvania; 



AND OF — 



The Bucksville Centennial Celebration 
held June i ith, 1892 ; 

Including the Proceedings of the 

Buckwampun Literary Association on said 
Occasion. 

Edited by William J. Buck. 




Printed for the Family 
PHILADELPHIA. 

i893> 



^^Pr^BPAGE! 



WHEN an author has attained to nearly three score and ten and 
has had published within the past forty-three years in various 
works relating to the eastern section of Pennsylvania, several 
thousand biographical sketches of early families that have settled 
here and his own excluded, will now we presume at this late hour be 
sufficient apology for what may be attributed herein to either family 
pride or self glorification. This work had its origin through the 
recent Centennial celebration of the founding of Bucksville, to which 
the family still holds sufficient claims to have it gotten up and all 
the expenses connected therewith borne by themselves. As we well 
know, it is common for such demonstrations to have appropriations 
made therefor from the public revenues as an aid to success, we are 
pleased to say that this was neither sought, expected nor desired. 
Herein was no dishonor and let us now ask where in all America 
can a similar instance be found ? We know not of it in the county 
nor in the State. 

In the preparation of this work some difficulties have been 
experienced which do not generally attend early families, especially 
of English descent, whose ideas here are only too much narrowed to 
one language. From the circumstances attending the origin, nation- 
ality and final settlement of the Buck family here, some of the 
information has been translated from the Latin, Anglo Saxon, 
Dutch, Flemish, French and German. Family antiquity and its 
location in Lorraine and surrounding sections demanded this to make 
it as it now appears, however briefly and superficially done ; in our 
desire to see it from the press ere another return of j^aralysis. Let 
the reader glance at the vignette and the title page as expressly 
designed for this work ; it is marvelous we think in several respects. 
The magnificence of the scenery, and with its surrounding associa- 
tions, all we believe founded on fact. Again, the remarkable 
alliteration of the family name thereon, can a parallel be found like 
it in similar works of this character ? 



We have spoken of our Englisli element as too much confined 
to only one language; had it taken a wider range their officials in 
public records would not have exposed their limited knowledge as 
they thus have, or shall it be called ignorance for it certainly imposes 
great difficulties in these days as to surnames of German descent. 
For some proof of this need not go outside of the Buck family and 
some of its early affiliations. Thus it is found in records as Buck, 
Bock, Book and Buch. The name Eck, Egg, Ick and Agg ; Kohl, 
Kole and Kol ; Heaney, Honig, Henich and Haney ; Clemmer, 
Kleramer and Clymer. Afflerbach has been found so varied as well 
as other German names, that we decline to give this matter further 
space. Among given names, Jacob has been indifferently written 
Jacobi, and hence also James, Abigail frequently Appolonia ; Sarah, 
Salome; Susanna, Susan; Hannah, Johannah ; Magdalena, IMaria 
and Alary. We intend here only to mention some of the troubles 
that have beset us to confirm personal identity. 

The carelessness or indifference exhibited by the English officials 
during the colonial period in recording the names of the German 
immigrants on their arrival is to be regretted, and whilst now one 
of the most important events connected with family history is one 
also of the most perplexing to fix upon with certainty. Sometimes 
they have two given names, when they afterward assumed but one, 
or vice versa. Respecting this will give three examples from several 
more that pertain to this work, " Johan Nichel Buch" is stated to 
have arrived with Michael Hartman in 1748, and "Nicolas Buch'" 
in 1752. Having come so near together, our evidence is so equally 
balanced thereon that we cannot yet positively determine which was 
tlie ancestor. The name of Hartman favors the first, whilst on the 
other hand no records as yet favor two given names, neither were 
such bestowed on any of the ancestor's ten children ; yet he had a 
son John as well as Nicholas, and the former has almost been as 
common in the family. From his estimated age at arrival and sub- 
8e(iuent marriage, the probabilities incline to the latter. " John 
George Kohl " arrived in 1732 ; in this case we possess a single 
evidence of this name being so called here later, but soon after, the 
first appears to have been totally dropped, hence proves the same 
individual. " John Jacob Ick " is stated to have arrived in 1741 
and we know besides that his son John came with him All records 
since mention liim as "Jacob Eck" and possess conclusive evidence 
that it was the same person. 



Another matter in which we have found several cases of dis- 
crepancy. In illustration will give an example. When the widow 
of Captain Buck died in 1858, the editor was requested to prepare 
the inscription for her tombstone and from the information furnished 
him, stated that at her decease was aged ninety-one years. Only 
within a year an original record of her birth has been discovered, 
and according to the same was born June 9, 1769, hence aged not 
quite 88 years 5 months, as may be seen on another page. As this 
work has chiefly been prepared for the descendants of the family, 
some of the members thereof in perusing it and afterwards 
seeing the age given on the tombstone, might infer that this was an 
error attributed to the editor, instead of a correction of what had 
been placed thereon. This is rather a frequent error on tombstones 
because supplied from tradition instead of original records. In 
one instance of this kind we have found a diflerence of nearly five 
years. We here touch on these several matters to show some of the 
difficulties that attend the genealogist in his desire to be correct and 
to account for the various discrepancies that may turn up to affect 
his reliability as an author. 

As may be imagined this work was solely one of love, and the 
result of many years' labor in collection. We know now at its close 
that it has required far more time, labor and expense than was 
exjDCcted, but the result has proven itself more than gratifying. No 
pecuniary reward or profit was expected thereby and hence there 
could be no disappointment. To the public records at Harrisburg, 
Philadelphia, Norristown and Doylestown Ave are considerably 
indebted for information as also to the collections of the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania. To the Rev. G. H. Krake of Haycock, 
especially for researches made for us in the early Goshenhoppen 
records, which involved a knowledge of several languages, also to 
Mrs. Helena Kohl and John T. Buck of Bucksville, Charles Austin 
Buck of South Bethlehem and Abel B. Haring of Frenchtown, N. J. 
For assistance rendered us by Isaac O'Connell, Recorder of Deeds 
for Bucks county and to Frank N. Booze, Register of Wills, express 
also our thanks. 

As an additional incentive to such labors, as derived now from 
our personal exjierience, feel it our duty to offer yet a few more 
remarks thereon as to its importance. What is a nation's history 
but an integral of which families constitute the parts and collectively 
considered the source of all strength, power and greatness. This is 
no more wonderful than grains of sand should form the shore or drops 
of water, rivers and oceans. We may carry the similitude still 



further, by adding, that those apparently insignificant parts, produce 
more or less marked effects on their surroundings. Herein is 
expressed again the marked influence exerted by some families over 
others during the several stages of their existance. This generally 
appears to have been more owing to intellectual than to physical 
abilities, yet a combination of both is essential to check deterioration 
to which so many families owe their decline or downfall. 

The frequent requests made to us for information on the subject 
of this work by relatives and friends, and our own frequent reference 
thereto in chronology must also show its importance. In matters 
respecting inheritance, legacies, hereditary rights and privileges and 
whatever pertains thereto, genealogy also performs a prominent part; 
for the want of it what fortunes have been lost to members of families 
through the neglect of this subject? With due attention to this 
matter justice need not be defeated nor estates be escheated, or what 
is worse assigned to those who otherwise would have had no legal 
claim thereto. Hence as time rolls on from the increase of popula- 
tion, the materials of history accumulate and the greater becomes 
the necessity therefor. 

W. J. B. 

Jenkintown, Montgomery Co., Pa., March, 1893. 



.^^GONTEN-TS! 



Family Antiquity, 

Nicholas Buck the Ancestor, 

The Buckhill Estate and its Family History, 

The Early Neighbors of Nicholas Buck, 

Sons of the Ancestor, . 

Captain Nicholas Buck, 

Mary Magdalena Buck, 

Major Jacob Buck, 

Major John Buck, 

Daughters of the Ancestor, 

Nicholas Buck, Jr., 

Jacob E. Buck, . 

Samuel E. Buck, 

The Daughters of Captain Nicholas Buck, 

The Descendants of Major Jacob Buck, 

The Descendants of Major John Buck, 

The Descendants of Nicholas B. and J. Justus McCarty, 

Descendants of Nicholas Kohl, . 

The Sons of Nicholas Buck, Jr., . 

The Daughters of Nicholas Buck, Jr., 

The Descendants of Jacob E. Buck, 

The Descendants of Samuel E. Buck, 

The Bucksville Centennial Celebration, 

Sketch of the Buckwampun Literary Association, 

The Bucksville Centennial Celebration. Continued, 

The Bucksville Piano Class of 1814-15, . 

Family Relics exhibited and described, 

History of the Washington Light Horse Company, 

Remarks on the Bucksville Centennial, 

The Bucksville Cornet Band, .... 

Sign of the Buck and the Sign of the White Horse, 

The Old Family Homestead, .... 

Family Traits and the influence of Heredity, 

Additional relating to Bucksville, 

History of an old Family Painting, 

The Family in Bucks county History, . 



Page. 

9 

12 

17 

27 

29 

30 

33 

34 

36 

38 

40 

42 

43 

45 

46 

51 

64 

55 

56 

61 

63 

65 

66 

72 

101 

102 

106 

108 

115 

119 

120 

125 

128 

131 

132 

135 



E^^planation? coqcBr'ning gome of ih \lh$\,Mm$. 



THE vignette represents the upper portion of Bucksv-ille as it 
appeared in 1810. The foreground is a part of the extensive 
field wherein the numerous company and battalion drills were held 
between the years 1807 and 1861. The large oak is still standing 
beside a spring of water that has been a century in use. The letter- 
ing thereon is merely added to show the date of the ancestor's enter- 
ing into the army of the Revolution, for which the musket is placed 
in the shield in the upper left hand corner. The banners and flag 
represent those used in the late Centennial procession. The appear- 
ance of the old family mansion is exactly as it was in 1810, but 
within the last twenty years has been somewhat modernized ; for 
further account of it see the latter part of this work. The house on 
the left is where Captain Buck died in 1829, and the sword in the 
shield is indicative of his command of the Washington Light Horse 
including his son for twenty-three years. The scroll has reference 
to the origin and success of the Buckwampun Literary Association. 
The Haycock mountain the highest elevation in Bucks county is 
correctly delineated as seen from Bucksville. 

The coat-of-arms on the title-page is represented according to 
the descriptions given of it in the several works mentioned as treating 
on the antiquity of the family. The autographs have been supplied 
to denote the state of education that formerly prevailed among them- 
Captain Buck mounted in full uniform is also intended to represent 
a view in Bucksville about 1810 from the celebrated training ground. 
Within said space five additional buildings have since been erected 
and to represent thereon with their several improvements would be 
now to conceal more or less what possesses in this work its chief 
historic interest. 



FAMILY ANTIQUITY. 



FAMILY ANTIQUITY. 

The words bud; book and beech are generally regarded as 
derived from the Saxon boc or Gothic boca, signifying a beech-tree, 
or more strictly the bark or wood of the aforesaid, from which books 
were first made. As its mast resembles buckwheat, hence the name 
of the latter. The male deer was also called in the Gaelic buic, and 
in Welsh booch. Though the three words are now so seemingly 
different, yet to this day in the German, French, English, Dutch, 
Flemish and Italian languages surprising to state have a similar 
relationship and meaning. It is therefore puzzling to those not 
familiar with their common origin, how the names for buck, book, 
and beech should have been used so promiscuously in various parts 
of Europe in the long past, but those familiar with researches on 
this matter as applied to localities or families are cognizant of the 
fact. 

Thus from the "Arts-Lexikon von Deutchland," and which 
also includes the German portion of Alsace and Lorraine, we secure 
in confirmation this interesting information : That the names found 
therein of Bock, Buck and Buch, as applied to towns, villages and 
places of various kinds, is entirely too numerous for us here to treat 
upon. In the grant of purchase to Nicholas Buck, by the Penns, it is 
stated as " a certain tract called Buckhill." This name translated into 
German is Bockberg, of which said work enumerates seventy-seven 
distinct places, the majority of which are located within the valley 
of the Rhine. We find therein also the names Bockweise, Bock- 
stiege, Bocksthal, Bockstadt, Bocksdorf, Bockhof, Bockhaus, Buck- 
holtz, Buckfeld and Buckwald, actually the archetypes of a number 
of places in Great Britain, America, and elsewhere. Respecting 
Bocksdorf or Bucksville, there are four in the Rhine section. The 
ancient Bock manor in Lorraine is therein mentioned, as is also the 
village of" le Buc " in Alsace, indicative how surnames may cling 
long to places that gave them their origin. 

Of all the animals that roamed in the forests of Europe, the 
stag or male deer was certainly one of the noblest and freest ; need 
we wonder, in consequence, that it was early selected in the days of 
chivalry as a charge on a coat-of-arms, and that it was thus adopted 



10 FAMILY ANTIQUITY. 

prior to 1100 in Franconia, now Bavaria, and soon after in adjacent 
parts. One account states as early as the year 1 000, but this, to the 
editor, is somewhat doubtful. In French works of heraldry is 
described as De Gules, av bouc d' argent Soutant, which in English 
reads, " On a vermillion shield or field, a white or silver buck spring- 
ing diagonally from the lower right to the upper left corner," and is 
therefore called les arms parlantes, a speaking or canting coat-of- 
arms, from the charge giving its name to the bearer. Hence Lower, 
in his work on the Origin of Surnames (Vol. I, pp. 197-8), is 
inclined to think that the way the buck is represented is indicative 
of agility in the family that has assumed the name. To this remark- 
able assertion we shall have something to state hereafter on charac- 
teristic family traits. 

History mentions that the said coat-of-arms was originally 
granted to a member of the family during the wars of the Crusades 
on a victorious field of battle against the Moslems for the recovery 
of the Holy Land. The red or vermillion color of the shield is proof 
of this, which was an honor that could be only bestowed under such 
circumstances by those high in power. In the victories that were 
won by the Christians over Soliman, in wresting from him Nice, his 
capital, in June, 1097, when the Duke of Lorraine was the second 
in couimand, and largely composed of his countrymen along the 
Moselle and Rhine, followed by that of Dorylsenura and finally led 
in less than two years to their triumphal entry into Jerusalem, may 
denote when and where such a result may have been achieved. 

It is obvious from what has been stated that the name is variously 
spelled. In German it is generally Bock, in French De Bock, le 
Buc and Bouc, whilst in early Belgium and Holland annals, Bock, 
Bouc and Bouck. The de Bucs figure in the history of Normandy 
previous to 1200. From this source, but somewhat later, the Eng- 
lish branch dates its descent in Norfolk and adjacent parts. A 
German map of Lorraine, published in 1708, denotes a village and 
castle of the " Boucs " on the west side of the Moselle, about six 
miles northwest of Toul. Their several seignories being located 
chiefly within a distance of twelve miles from Thionville. The latter 
place being seventeen miles north of Metz. 

In this country the family have founded Bucksport, Maine ; 
Buck Hollow, Vermont ; Bucksville, South Carolina, and to which 
may now be added the centenarian of our family in Bucks County. 
The late Governor William C. Bouck"", of New York, we presume, 
is of the same stock. 



FAMILY ANTIQUITY. 11 

The Bocks have furnished, withiu the past five centuries, to Ger- 
many, France, Belgium, Holland and adjacent parts, statesmen, 
warriors, authors, scientists, and professors to the universities, of 
which only a few will be mentioned. In Strasburg Cathedral, are 
early tombs of the family containing inscriptions, notably the 
splendid monument erected to the memory of Conrad Bock, an emi- 
nent citizen there who died in 1480, admired for the beauty of its 
statuary. Valentine de Bock, also of Strasburg, was one of the Coun- 
cillors of Charles V, EmjDeror of Germany and the Netherlands; 
Jacob de Bock, siegneur of Vance and Autel. Nicholas de Bock, 
seigneur of Petrange, John Nicholas Ettienne de Bock, seigneur of 
Furst, Buy, Falschvillers, Lelling and Aling, also a Lieutenant-Mar- 
shall of France. Jerome Bock, Botanist, born at Heidesbach, near 
the Rhine, author of a magnificent work with colored plates, entitled 
"Neues Kraieterbuch," in two editions, of 1539 and 1554. Sir 
George Buck, an Englishman statesman and historian, who died in 
1623. Samuel and Nathaniel Buck, distinguished engravers and 
antiquarians, 1714-99. Lieutenant-Marshall Stephen de Bock, who 
died at ^Metz, in 1772, aged 87, the author of several historical and 
philosophical works in French and German, whose services were 
acknowledged by Buffon in his Natural History. Dr. Adam Bock, 
born at Aix-la Chapelle, Nov. 21, 1832, is a member of the present 
German Parliament. 

Begen, in his Biographie de La Moselle, published at Metz in 
1829, in treating on the Bock family, so long resident there, remarks 
that it is "one of the most illustrious families in our province." 
The Rev. Robert J. Breckenridge, a Presbyterian clergyman, in his 
Travels in Germany and Switzerland, in 1836, thus mentions the 
section in which the ancient seats of the de Bocks were located : 
'After passing the Moselle, the country assumes all its former 
beauty, and from thence entirely across Lorraine, the traveler is 
enchanted at every step to behold scattered around the evidences of 
contentment, industry, health and comfort, the fruits of a frugal 
and kind-tempered people, the monuments of a genial climate and 
a grateful soil." 

From the aforesaid, we learn that the Bucks are chiefly of Ger- 
man or Teutonic origin, and whose general characteristic traits pre- 
vail amongst them to this day. Our principal authorities for what 
has been given, are Dictionarie Noblesse Families de France, Paris, 
1771, 14 quarto vols. ; Reitaps Armorial General, Biographie Uni- 



12 FAMILY ANTIQUITY. 

versal, Roses Biographical Dictionary, History of Strasbourg Cathe- 
dral, History of Metz, Tiesseiers Hist. Thionville, Bergen's Biog. de 
Moselle, Arts-Lexikon von Deutchland, by H. Rudolph, Leipzig, 
1870-72 ; Essays on Surnames, by M. M. Lower, London, 1849, and 
Burke's British Armory. The Buck family, of Bucksville, Penn- 
sylvania, has been noticed by Davis, in his History of Bucks County, 
by Durrie, in his Index to American Genealogies, Auge's Biog. ot 
Montgomery County, and in Vol. Ill, of Muusell's American Ances- 
try. All our European authorities mention from an early period 
the general prevalence of the names of Nicholas, Jacob and John 
among them, and of the coat-of-arms, thus corroborating a common 
origin through the several centuries that have passed away and sus- 
tained by family tradition when surnames had not been adopted 
until some time later. 

NICHOLAS BUCK, THE ANCESTOR, 

Was descended from an ancient family long settled in the 
vicinity of Thionville, Lorraine. The date of his birth is not known, 
and the names of his parents have escaped recollection within the 
past fifty years. His books and papers having passed by will to his 
two eldest sons above a century ago, and who have had, it is sup- 
posed, no descendants residing in their native county for the past 
sixty years, will explain the difficulties that here beset us in the begin- 
ning. The Bucksville branch being descended from Nicholas, the 
third son, who, on his father's death, was only nineteen years of age, 
will further explain the paucity of materials in this direction. 

Lorraine being within the valley of the Rhine, and on the 
frontiers of Germany, Belgium, Holland and Luxembourg, has, in 
consequence, at various times, suffered severely from ihe ravages of 
war. It was seized by Louis XIV, in 1670, and after 1733, relin- 
quished by Germany. Alsace, with the free city of Strasburg, was 
wrested by the same in 1681, and thus both provinces were attached 
to France, until re-ceded to Germany in 1871. As much of the larger 
portion of the inhabitants were Germans, will account for speaking 
said language. In the war that prevailed between France and 
Great Britain, from 1756 to 1764, the struggle was so severe that 
emigration from the valley of the Rhine almost ceased. We observe 
herein the causes that led so many for nearly half a century after 
1708, to leave their native land to seek a home and settle by thou- 
sands with greater security in the forests of uncultivated but more 
peacefully disposed Pennsylvania. 



NICHOLAS BUCK, THE ANCESTOR. 13 

No doubt the calamities that must so much attend warfare on 
the frontiers may have also chiefly induced Nicholas Buck, a single 
man, and probably but little over age, to think of emigration to 
America, especially at a time when in considerable numbers they 
were leaving the Fatherland. It has been stated heretofore that he 
embarked at Rotterdam, on the ship St. Andrew, James Abercrom- 
bie, master, stopping on the way hither at Plymouth, England, and 
arrived at Philadelphia, September 23, 1752. A list of the passen- 
gers has been published by Rupp in his " Thirty Thousand Names." 
He is therein called '* Nicolas Buch," and by a careful study of the 
same cannot find a single name that could be recognized as a rela- 
tive thus testifying to the family tradition on the subject. Like 
many other immigrants at this period, first proceeded up the Schuyl- 
kill Valley, and, it has been said, for a brief time remained in or 
near Reading, thence came by way of Goshenhoppen into Spring- 
field Township, Bucks County, to settle down there for the remain- 
der of his life. 

Through additional research and later information, some doubts 
have been entertained as to the correctness of his aforesaid arrival, 
and if satisfactory, would make it almost four years earlier. The 
ship Edinburgh, James Russel, master, arrived at Philadelphia, Sep- 
tember 5, 1748, with a number of immigrants who had also embarked 
at Rotterdam. Among the list of passengers we find the names of 
Michael Hartman and " John Nickel Buch." The former, no 
doubt, was the father of Nicholas Buck's second wife, whom he 
married in 1766. As to the latter, it is not known that he ever 
assumed or wrote two given or Christian names, and records also 
establish this fact in the case of his five sons ; hence we are inclined 
to favor the supposition that his arrival here was as mentioned in 
1752. However, researches on these matters prove that clerks were 
extremely negligent or indifferent in the way they set down the 
names of the immigrants and their methods of Anglicizing them. 

How soon he came into this county is not known, but it 
was no doubt within a few years after his arrival in Philadelphia. 
The first positive assurance on this matter is in his being one of 
twenty-eight signers to a petition "of sundrie inhabitants of the 
township of Springfield," to the Court of Quarter Sessions at New- 
town, December 11, 1760, praying for a road commencing and lead- 
ing from the present Bethlehem road, one-half mile below the meet- 
ing-house, by way of Elias Beidleman's mill, to " the great road 



14 NICHOLAS BUCK, THE ANCESTOR. 

leading from Philadelphia to Easton," and terminating at the pres- 
ent Burson villa. This signature, of which we give a fac-simile, is 




iX.^'U/ ul)^(yky 



written in a plain English hand. Among the signers were the fol- 
lowing, supposed to be neighbors : Jacob Overpeck, Jacob Hoffman, 
Peter Ohl, David Drissel, and Valentine Rohr. The Court, at the 
following June sessions, ordered said route to be viewed, and no 
doubt was soon thereafter opened, but no further mention of it is 
found in the records. 

Our next knowledge of him is derived from a record of his 
marriage, April 21, 1761, to Mary Abigail, the daughter of George 
and Barbara Kohl, of Nockamixon, of whom we shall give further 
mention. His first child, Leonard, was born in September, 1763, 
and Joseph in the following year. His wife having died January 
7, 1765, aged nearly twenty-two years, he married. May 12, 1766, 
Elizabeth, the daughter of Michael and Margaret Hartmau, of Hay- 
cock. His children by the latter were Nicholas, Jacob, John, Cath- 
arine, Barbara, Elizabeth, Magdalena, and Mary Ann. In the 
record of this last marriage he is mentioned as being a " widower 
and farmer." This is the earliest mention ascertained as to his 
business or occupation. 

According to the county records (Deed Book 39, p. 218-19), 
Nicholas Buck purchased from Ludwag Nuspickle and his wife Ann, 
March 18, 1768, a tract of land containing forty-six acres and seven- 
teen perches, " with all and singular the buildings," being part of a 
larger tract obtained May 6, of the previous year, from Martin 
Kryder and his wife Susanna of Philadelphia, and forming a portion 
of the extensive grant to George McCall. At the date of the afore- 
said purchase, as may be observed, Nicholas Buck had been mar- 
ried nearly seven years, and now the parent of three sons. The 
eldest aged about three and a half years, and Nicholas an infant of 
seven months. This would show that at this time, as a farmer, he 
could have derived little or no assistance in the way of labor from 
his family, and therefore, to some extent, gave employment toothers. 
As buildings are mentioned on this tract, the inference is that he 



k 



16 



NICHOLAS BUCK, THE ANCESTOR. 















Christ^ a,n G^jm^n /S/^./4 2jo( 
SoMih- ISO per.'/' 






:-.,H 









« \ o 



CO 






vO 



^^ 






^; 






p^ 






M 



■i 

i 









■^•S 



S? 



I 1 



s: 






991^9^-3 cf Q()l -H^'^OJ^r 



s 



•^ 


>- 


-^^--^ 


^~o 


vT^ 




^ 


■^s 










<; 


s 


^ 

^ 




-^s 


^ 


3 


<u 


N 





NICHOLAS BUCK, THE ANCESTOK. 17 

must have now moved thereon, but where in this preceding interval 
of his married life" he had his residence is undetermined, but it evi- 
dently was in this vicinity from what is expressed in the road peti- 
tion. What is known of the ancestor later, will be given in the next 
article. 



THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 

We are now beginning to approach in the life of Nicholas Buck 
the ancestor, an interesting event that tends to give him prom- 
inence among the early settlers and original landholders of his 
neighborhood — at a period, too, when he could not have exceeded 
thirty-six years of age. Adjoining his purchase on the north was 
still a considerable body of unsold proprietary land, as well as in 
several other directions which was now claiming his attention, with 
a view of enlarging his boundaries. Application therefor had been 
made by John Saunders, and by the surveyor-general's order was 
surveyed to him January 7, 1768, but having deceased, Mr. Buck 
now sought its purchase; hence, by direction of John Hart, deputy- 
surveyor, it was re-surveyed for him by his assistant, David Schultz, 
March 6, 1769, and a warrant issued June 21, 1773. On the fol- 
lowing December 1, the same was returned by John Lukens, the 
surveyor-general, to the Secretary's office, and a patent issued there- 
for from Thomas and John Peun, "Esquires, Proprietaries and 
Governors of Pennsylvania," December 2, 1773, and recorded in 
Patent Book, A. A., Vol. 14, page 63. 

A neat and interesting plot of said survey may be seen in tiie 
records of the Surveyor-General's office at Harrisburg (Book D, 
page 217), now merged into that of the Secretary of Internal Affairs. 
A copy was made therefrom to illustrate this work, and contains the 
following description : "A Draught of a Tract of Land situate the 
greater portion in Springfield township, and the remainder in Hay- 
cock, county of Bucks and Province of Pennsylvania, containing 
171 Acres and 111 perches of land with the usual allowance of six 
per cent for Roads, being part of the Lottery Land on the Branches 
of Tohickon and now resurveyed to Nicholas Bock." As may be 
observed, was regularly laid out in the form of a parallelogram. Its 
bounds are thus set forth: Beginning at a marked white oak in a 
line of Peter Meyer's land, thence by the said Nicholas Bock's and 
Ludwig Nuspickle's land, west 182 perches to a stone, thence by 



18 THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 

William Bryan's land north 160 perches to a stone, thence by 
Josiah Bryan's and Ludwig Nuspickle's land east 182 perches to a 
stone, thence by Christian Gay man's land south 160 perches to the 
place of beginning. 

The cost for entrance was £8.4, and for the land, £123.4, with 
the reservation of the usual quitrent of a half-penny Sterling per 
acre per annum forever. In the final settlement of Nicholas Buck's 
estate, we find that his executor had paid to Anthony Butler as 
agent for the Penns, the sum of £6.7.5 for said purpose. Whilst 
the editor of this work was engaged in arranging the extensive Penn 
Papers for the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, in 1872, and 
several years later, a " Map of the Lottery land adjoining the Manor 
of Richland," was discovered, and a reduced copy was made there 
from for Davis' History of Bucks County, wherein it was published 
in 1876, which will give some idea of the location of this purchase, as 
well as thatof the several surroundingtracts. All familiar with patent 
lands know that it is rare to find any names given therein to such 
tracts, yet Nicholas Buck has had in this purchase such an honor 
conferred on him by the son and grandson of William Penn, as his 
successors in the government. This may be seen in his patent, and 
also in Deed Book No. 39, pages 218-19, of the Bucks County rec- 
ords, wherein it is mentioned " as a certain tract called Buckhill, in 
Haycock and Springfield townships." 

We entertain, no doubt, that this suggestion must have origi- 
nated in Mr. Buck. Several facts would denote this : he had a 
knowledge of languages, his family had for some time previously 
given names to several localities in his native province, and among 
them was Bockberg (see preceding article), which, translated from 
the German, reads Buckhill. Whoever will visit the old family 
homestead thereon, now owned by Nathan Cressman, will at once 
perceive its appropriateness, for it was located on the central and 
elevated part of the original tract, about half a mile west of the 
Bethlehem road, and nearly the same distance north of the Haycock 
line. In consequence it aflTords from the house a splendid view, 
particularly in a northwest direction, of the Kittatinny or Blue 
Mountains. A ridge of trap rocks also commences near here and 
extends on to Sumneytown ; hence we do not wonder that its owner, 
from the prospect it afforded him, should be gratified in a name that 
also reminded him of scenery he had now forever left behind. 



THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 19 

As the Buckhill tract was all wild, uncultivated land, it must 
be expected that a great deal of labor and expense would be required 
thereon before a sufficiency of land could be cleared for agricultural 
purposes, as well as in the erection of comfortable buildings for the 
shelter and protection of his household, crops and animals. This 
may have been sufficiently accomplished to remove from his adjoin- 
ing property in the summer or fall of 1774, being over four and a 
half years from the date of his entrance fee and survey, whilst his 
deed of purchase had given him full possession thereof the previous 
December 2. 

That Nicholas Buck took an active and early part in the i)rin- 
ciples that culminated in the Revolution is a family tradition, 
besides have ample evidence from the records in the State Depart- 
ment at Harrisburg. When the . articles for Independence were 
drawn up, among other requirements give this extract: "We, the 
subscribers, agree that we will associate for the purpose of learning 
the Military Exercise, and for defending our Property, Liberties 
and Lives against all attempts to deprive us of them." To this he 
subscribed and was accordingly enrolled for the service in " the 
Springfield company," August 21, 1775. Among others belonging 
thereto we find the names of Adam Frankenfield, Henry Afflerbach, 
Adam Bidleman, Andrew Sigafoos, Michael Fackenthal and others. 
This company was subsequently commanded by his neighbor. Cap- 
tain Josiah Bryan, and attached to the Third Bucks County Battal- 
ion, of which John Keller was appointed Colonel, INIay 6, 1777. 
How long they were drilled or in the service, or what duties they 
performed, the records do not state. 

When the w^ar had well progressed and the State had assumed 
its new form of government, acts were passed June 12 and October 
12, 1777, requiring all white male inhabitants over eighteen years of 
age to be additionally enrolled and give in their allegiance to the 
same. The records show that Nicholas Buck again gave in his 
adherance and support thereto before William McHenry, Esq., of 
Bedminster Township, June 10, 1778. His family, at this latter 
date, comprised seven children, the eldest being under fifteen years, 
and Barbara, the youngest, aged not quite ten months. His death 
taking place but little over two years after the close of the war, has 
rendered it difficult to arrive now at all the required facts we would 
like to possess on the subject. 



20 THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAIMILY HISTORY. 

Leonard Buck was brought up a farmer, Joseph having learned 
the smith's trade ; his father had erected for him a shop near the 
dwelling-house on the Bethlehem road, to carry on his occupation. 
For this purpose, from the inventory of his father's personal effects, 
made in November, 1785, we learn that he had for this purpose fur- 
nished him Avith " a set of blacksmith's tools" and a lot of iron, steel 
and charcoal. The inference from this is that, as he was not quite of 
age, was so employed by the parent. It was here where Nicholas 
a few years later, set up wagon-making in this connection, Joseph 
doing the iron work. There is no doubt that they thus continued 
together until in March, 1793, when the former moved on his pur- 
chase in Nockamixon, and which led to the founding of Bucksville. 

About this time the ancestor must have been in declining 
health, for his will dated February 12, 1785 (Will Book, 4, p. 547), 
begins thus : " Nicholas Buck, of Springfield township, yeoman, 
being very sick and weak in body, but of perfect mind and memory, 
thanks be given to God therefor, but calling to mind the uncertainty 
of this mortal life, have thought fit to settle my worldly affairs and 
to make this my last will and testament." He, however, lingered 
until into the beginning of November of the following year, for said 
instrument was proven the 13th of said month, 1786. Judging from 
several concurrent circumstances, his age at his death may have 
been about 56 years. This was no great period, but the hardships 
and struggles that must have attended pioneer life in the forests of 
Pennsylvania, as Avell as his exertions in the Revolutionary cause, 
may have contributed to shorten it. Certainly, a great change com- 
pared to that in Alsace, Lorraine and adjoining parts. 

Having now followed the ancestor of the family from his home 
near Thionville, Lorraine, to the close of his career in Pennsylvania, 
from the evidence given the results speak highly in his favor, viewed 
in whatever light we may. That in the short space of twelve years 
he should have changed the Buckhill tract from a forest into a large 
and productive farm, with two sets of buildings, supporting consid- 
erable stock and a sufficiency of fruit grown thereon for a cider- 
mill — to accomplish such a change must show no inconsiderable 
degree of enterprise, and that himself and family must have been 
frugal and industrious. His real estate consisted of almost 218 
acres, and with his personal property at this date worth no incon- 
siderable sum, and must have been chiefly the result of twenty-four 
years' attention to agriculture, a more profitable showing than can 
be generally shown in these days. 



THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 21 

Possessing a knowledge of the German, French, English and 
Flemish languages, he performed for this section a serviceable part 
as interpreter and translator, for the settlers around were largely 
Germans, after which were some English, Irish and a few French. 
Hence he would be frequently called upon to thus facilitate com- 
munication with each other. This was particularly the case with 
those holding official positions, whose knowledge was chiefly con- 
fined to the English tongue, therefore unable to conduct business 
with those to whom it was unfamiliar, as, for instance, the German. 
For the period, Mr. Buck had his children tolerably well instructed 
in both of these languages, particularly when we come to consider 
the disadvantages they labored under as a widely scattered rural 
community as must have then existed. 

His will is an interesting document, disclosing on his part a 
desire to have carried out therein intentions that do him credit. 
Orders first his debts and funeral expenses paid; appoints John 
Smith and his son Leonard, executors ; directs £100 to be paid to 
his wife Elizabeth within six months after his decease, and, in addi- 
tion, to have the interest of £200 as long as she is his widow ; his 
sons to build for her a room adjoining the house to dwell in, but in 
case of non-agreement, to put the dwelling-house at the road in 
order for said purpose. To have her bed, 50 bundles of flax, to 
have half an acre of flax sowed yearly on the premises for her use, 
and to provide for her during the whole of her widowhood a suffi- 
ciency of firewood, 150 lbs. of pork, 50 lbs. of beef, 15 bushels of 
rye, 10 bu. of wheat and 2 barrels of cider annually, hay for 2 cows, 
and to pasture with their own for full three years after his decease. 
After said time to have 10 bu. rye, the same of wheat and hay, and 
pasture for one cow. To have the right to select for her sole use 
whatever cow she prefers. 

Respecting the division of his property among his children : 
Gives to his sous Leonard and Joseph, all his household goods, per- 
sonal property, including all real estate, as lands and tenements for- 
ever, to be equally divided between them or their heirs. To his 
children Nicholas, Jacob, John, Catharine, Barbara, Elizabeth and 
Magdalena, £100 each, to be paid theiu by Leonard and Joseph. 
For their faithful performance, the two aforesaid are to give suffi- 
cient and satisfactory security to John Smith, the first-mentioned 
executor. The witnesses thereto were Ludwig Nuspickle and 
George Amey, who were also the appraisers of the personal effects. 



22 THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mr. Smith was a resident of Springfield, and for the position 
assigned him was eminently qualified, for we must remember at 
this date that Leonard's age did not exceed twenty-two years and 
a half; this on the part of the father certainly exhibits confidence 
and integrity in his abilities. 

The inventory of the personal effects at this day possesses con- 
siderable interest of what was to be found on a well-stocked farm in 
the upper section of Bucks County above a century ago, and helps 
to give us, like the will, some insight into the life and domestic 
arrangements of said period, and of which we propose to give but a 
brief mention : 6 horses, 11 cattle, 7 sheep, 16 swine, 9 hives, 7 con- 
taining bees ; 2 wagons, 1 pair wheels, 2 wagon covers, 2 plows, 
harrow, sled, 1 womans' and 3 mens' saddles, 2 sets wagon-gears, 2 
sets plow gears, wheelbarrow, 3 hopples, winnowing mill, cutting- 
box and knife, 3 oats cradles, 11 sickles, apple mill and trough, 2 
flails, 2 spinning-wheels, wool or big wheel, reel, musket, cabbage- 
cutter, blow-horn, pigeon net, lot of books, 6 tons of hay, 4 tons of 
second crop, wheat in the straw, £30; rye do, £4; oats, £8.15; 61 
bushels of buckwheat and 30 acres of wheat and rye in the ground. 
Due on notes and bonds outstanding, £521.4.8, in book accounts, 
£100.5.1. The aforesaid shows that he was a considerable farmer; 
that linen and woolen goods were manufactured for home use; 
honey produced, and that wild pigeons abounded and were caught 
in nets. On settlement of the estate, the personal property 
amounted to £1071, 12s, 3d, or, in our present currency, about 
$2900. 

In consideration with the Buckhill estate, a curious circum- 
stance has been brought to light. Mention has been made that 
John Saunders had made* application for the tract in 1768, and had 
been surveyed for him, but having shortly deceased, the matter was 
left to neglect by his heirs. In consequence, Nicholas Buck made 
application therefor, to whom it was re-surveyed, and, by his pay- 
ment, a clear and full title given him. As, no doubt, Saunders had 
paid his entrance fee, it would appear that his family still claimed 
some right thereto. The result was that his granddaughter, Judith 
Dickey, "spinster of Abington and only surviving child of his 
daughter Judith and her husband John Dickey," for the consider- 
ation of £50, " in. good gold coin well and truly paid by Leonard 
and Joseph Buc. does release forever all her right and title to the 
said tract, September 29, 1788," and which was so acknowledged 



THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 23 

and recorded. This was certainly a bighly creditable transaction 
on the part of the said brothers thus befriending the woman, but we 
fail to perceive herein a justifiable claim thereto. 

Not long after their father's death, the personal property and 
real estate was divided between them. As to the latter, Leonard 
retained possession of the homestead portion, and Joseph the land 
and buildings on the Bethlehem road, and where he continued to 
reside, pursuing his occupation in connection with farming until 
about the beginning of this century, when he removed to Whitehall 
Township, near Allentown, now Lehigh County. However, he sold 
out here November 5, 1801, all his right and title to Leonard, who 
thus became the sole proprietor. The latter continued to reside 
thereon until his death in 1809, when his brother. Captain 
Nicholas Buck, of Bucksville, became his administrator, who sold 
the same the following year at public sale, containing 182 acres and 
66 perches to John Damuth for £1407, 10s, 4d, his widow retaining 
a dower right therein during her life time. Having four daughters 
and no male issue will explain how it came now to pass from out 
the family after thirty-seven years of possession. In all of this time, 
whatever improvements had been made thereon to help change it 
from a wilderness, of course, was owing to them. As the estate had 
contained almost 218 acres, it would appear as if the 46 acre tract 
had been previously sold oft' and may have thus been increased by 
the addition of the six per cent allowed for roads, a common occur- 
rence in real estate transactions since the beginning of this century. 

On the death of the last-mentioned owner, Samuel Damuth 
relinquished his right in 1826 to his brother John, the place having 
then been reduced to 104 acres and 59 perches. From the latter 
has since passed away to its present owner, Nathan Cressman, who 
has now been long a resident thereon. Mrs. Joseph Ohl owns 
now that portion containing 34 acres fronting on the Bethlehem road, 
where stood the dwelling-house mentioned in the will of 1785. The 
balance has since been incorporated into the farms of Samuel 
Hinkle, George Heft and the widow Schaffer, and hence been sub- 
divided into at least five separate places. 

While the editor was engaged on the Penn Papers as men- 
tioned on a previous page, he became first aware of this original 
purchase, and hence set at work to ascertain its location. Having 
nothing to guide him outside of some family traditions, he had sup- 
posed in consequence that it was either located nea' Pleasant Valley 
or the Springfield church, for which purpose he made a special visit 



24 THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 

in September, 1879, after an absence from all that section for seven- 
teen years. Several he had applied to hunted up their old deeds to 
aid him, but it proved fruitless. In this dilemma he applied to the 
late venerable Lewis Ott, nearly a life-long resident of Pleasant 
Valley, and a man of extensive acquaintance. In a letter dated 
February 14, 1880, he wrote that "After a long interval I have at 
last found out your great-grandfather's land. Nathan Cressman 
owns and occupies the homestead, while the balance has become sub- 
divided and owned by some four or five others. Mr. C. says the 
original deeds were destroyed by fire at Newtown, while left there 
to be recorded." 

On receipt of this information he visited Mr. Cressman, Sep- 
tember 15, 1880, previously sending him a letter of his coming and 
the object therein. He was kindly received on his visit there, and 
that he had well-known his father while a merchant at Stony Point. 
Under the circumstances, as may be Avell supposed, the place was 
viewed with more than ordinary interest. The site of the original 
house was a few feet south of the present mansion, one and a half 
stories high and of some length. Nearly one half was of log, and 
the other and later addition of stone. From its appearance a por- 
tion of the barn must have been erected by the ancestor, being built 
of logs and weather-boarded. The timber used in its construction 
was of excellent quality and such as could no longer be supplied in 
this section, thus showing the superiority of the timber in the origi- 
nal forest trees. 

Some seven or eight large pear trees standing between the house 
and barn also claimed attention, and from their size must be all of 
one hundred and ten years old, consequently planted by the family, 
and still continue to bear (1891) an abundance of fruit. The soil 
appeared fertile, with a slightly rolling surface. The house was 
built near the center of the original tract, and aflfording from there 
a magnificent view of the bold, blue outline of the distant Kittatinny 
Mountains. As he looked around he felt an honest degree of pride 
in what his ancestor had here accomplished in causing " the wilder- 
ness to blossom as the rose." He thought too of his feelings as his 
mind must have occasionaly reverted from this forest land to the 
homes of his ancestors and to the vineclad and castle-crowned hills 
of the Moselle and Rhine, so rich in storied and poetical associa- 
tions of the long past. This we have endeavored to express in the 
following two pieces of nmsic composed expressly for this work, and 
now first published : 



26 THE BUCKHILL ESTATE AND ITS FAMILY HISTORY. 




1 



^ 



'> 



1 



^U 



:*»rf 



(^0 



^3 



etsl'OJd 



^ 




THE EARLY NEIGHBORS OF NICHOLAS BUCK. 27 

THE EARLY NEIGHBORS OF NICHOLAS BUCK. 

In the preceding article we have brought to a close our infor- 
mation respecting the ancestor of the family, but we design, under 
our present heading, first to give some mention of the two families 
wherein he intermarried and with whom all his descendants can 
claim kindred. They were also early settlers and original pur- 
chasers of the soil, and gave their early support to the Revolution- 
ary cause as well as their allegiance to the new form of government 
that had its origin at this time. In the period that has elapsed 
have not proven themselves unworthy their sires, but as useful and 
enterprising citizens whose general record in character has become 
well established in the community where they have now so long 
resided. 

John George Kohl arrived in Philadelphia in the ship Mary, 
September 26, 1732, and it would seem a few years thereafter was 
married to Mary Barbara Behben. We know from records that in the 
spring of 1741 he resided in Falkner's Swamp, New Hanover Town- 
ship, now in Montgomery County, where his daughter Albertina was 
born May 6, of said year. It is probable that soon after this he 
removed to Nockaraixon and settled on the Durham road not far 
below Bucksville, where it is supposed his daughter Mary Abigail 
was born July 4, 1742— the future wife of Nicholas Buck, who was 
married at his house, April 21, 1761. We know that in 1767, he 
was an original purchaser of 51 acres of land. He died on hisfiirm 
July 3, 1779, aged 79 years, followed by his wife a month later. He 
had three sons, Joseph, Jacob and George, who were enrolled in 
Captain Jacob Shoope's Company of Associators in August, 1775, 
and gave in their allegiance, August 27, 1778. Whether he had 
more children we cannot positively state. George, the latter, 
and his wife Catharine, had sons, Anthony and George. The family 
has become numerous, and, as will be seen, have, at various times, 
intermarried into the Buck family. 

Michael Hartman, with George Jacob Hartman and John 
Nickel Buch, arrived in the ship Edinburgh, James Russel, master, 
at Philadelphia, September 5, 1748, and Francis and Mathias 
Hartman in the following year. We possess sufficient evidence 
that the aforesaid were related, but cannot give the degree of affinity. 
Michael Hartman was a carpenter by occupation, and from the 
record of the Surveyor-General's office know that May 4, 17ol, he 
made application for 25 acres of land in Haycock, which was 



28 THE EARLY NEIGHBORS OF NICHOLAS BUCK. 

granted him. His daughter, Elizabeth, was married to Nicholas 
Buck, widower, May 12, 1766, with whom he had eight children, 
and survived him into the beginning of this century. The fine 
painting of the crucifixion in the Haycock church, was a gift from 
her in 1798, and was executed by a German artist in Philadelphia 
at her order. It is supposed that the family resided not far from 
the Buckhill tract, thus the alliance was brought about. Michael 
Hartman, Jr., was a private in Captain Henry Nevel's Company, of 
Philadelphia County militia in the Revolution, sold his farm of 80 
acres in 1808, in Montgomery Township, and was living in Arm- 
strong County in 1835. Mathias Hartman was a patriot in the 
Revolution, and was appointed June 10, 1776, by the Bucks County 
Committee of Safety, collector of arms in Haycock ; his duties being 
to disarm all those who refused to give in their allegiance for the 
use of the army. Francis Hartman settled in Ridge Valley, Upper 
Salford, where he was a witness to the marriage of John Eck to 
Mary Schneider in 1762, and died there in 1768. Francis Hartman, 
of Richland, was elected treasurer of the county in 1866. This 
family is tolerably numerous, and the records show that now for 
some time have been considerable landholders. 

Valentine Rohr resided in Haycock in 1743, and where his 
widow Barbara, in 1774, was an original purchaser of 282 acres. 
Their son Michael married Mary, daughter of Leonard Buck, and 
gave in his allegiance June 30, 1778. Ludwig Nuspickle was a 
considerable landholder, and in 1763, was one of the signers to have 
Haycock erected into a township. He was a near neighbor to 
Nicholas Buck and a witness to his will and appraiser of his per- 
sonal property. He died in 1818, aged 88 years. George Amey, 
or originally Emich, was a purchaser, in 1768, of 231 acres, who 
was also a witness and appraiser. His son George inherited his 
property and appears to have been a man of some means. John 
Saunders, who died in Richland in 1768, is supposed to have been 
the father-in-law of Patrick McCarty, of Haycock Run Valley, 
married to his daughter Catharme in 1743. 

John Smith, the executor, was a resident of Springfield, and 
one of the County Commissioners, who, in 1777, built the stone 
bridge over Cook's Creek at Pleasant Valley, which was still stand- 
ing in 1880. Elias Beitelman, who owned the mill in Springfield 
in 1760, applied for naturalization in 1747, hence must have been 
an early resident. He died in 1781, aged 74 years. He is supposed 



THE EARLY NEIGHBORS OF NICHOLAS BUCK. 29 

to be the father of John and Leonard Beitelman. Leonard Buck 
was called after the latter. Peter Meyer, in 1763, was one of the 
petitioners for Haycock Township. He was an original purchaser 
in 1770 of 125 acres, and a Mennonite minister. Concerning 
Christian Gayman and William Bryan, cannot give additional par- 
ticulars beyond being original purchasers. Josiah Bryan was a 
captain of the Sixth Company of Colonel John Keller's Battalion, 
May 6, 1777. Most of those mentioned have still descendants 
residing in said vicinity. Adam Bidelman was a second lieutenant 
of Captain Bryan's Company. 

SONS OF THE ANCESTOR. 

Eeonard Buck, the eldest son, was born in September, 1763 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Mathias and Mary Catharine 
Kramer, born April 24, 1769. He was brought up a farmer, and 
in 1786, under certain conditions of payment to the heirs, inherited 
half the real and personal estate of his father. He died in 1809, 
aged 46 years; his widow survived him some time. He had four 
children, Mary, Catharine, Sarah and Abigail. Mary married 
Michael Rohr, April 29, 1806, had a daughter Anna, born April 
12, 1809. Catharine married Martin Wack, had children, John, 
born February 24, 1824; Rosanna, born December, 1825; and 
Anna, born July 11, 1827. He moved to Ohio, and possess nothing 
later of the family. Sarah married John Melchior, a farmer, had a 
son, Benedict, born April 30, 1828; also Reuben, Mary, Sarah, and 
other children. Moved to Washington Township, Berks County, 
where they have descendants, and in Philadelphia. Nicholas Mel- 
chior had a son, George, born February 13, 1743, mentioned in 
Goshenhoppen records, denotes that this is an early family. Abigail 
married Caspar Schonebruch, son of Cas])ar and Margaret, who 
were married April 27, 1772. 

Respecting one of the above, Lewis Ott, long a merchant and 
postmaster at Pleasant Valley, thus wrote April 3, 1880 : " I have 
recently learned that a daughter of Leonard Buck was married to 
a man whose name has been forgotten. They designed to move 
some distance, and when the day arrived she refused to go, and he 
proceeded on the journey. She remained and died in the neigh- 
borhood, and became a noted and successful nurse, ever willing to 
render aid to the suffering. In consequence was regarded with high 
esteem in the surrounding neighborhood as a good Samaritan, 



30 SONS OF THE ANCESTOR. 

She resided in the house now owned by Mrs. Ohl." As her aged 
mother resided there and we know was living in 1826, a care for 
her may have become a stronger reason for the course taken. This 
no doubt was Abigail, for what became of her husband subse- 
quently is not known. In this perceive a common family trait ; 
force of character, combined to strong local attachment. 

Joseph Buck, the second son of the ancestor, was born Novem- 
ber 6, 1764, and was married to Rosina . He had a son 

John and other children. Having sold his real estate to his brother, 
removed to Whitehall Township, now Lehigh County, in 1800. As 
the surname is known to exist at this day in Lehigh and Schuylkill 
Counties, it is supposed has descendants there. At this writing 
cannot give anything additional on the matter. We give a fac- 
simile of his autograph written in German in 1801, and would 




denote his having received a fair education. The State records 
mention a Joseph Buck serving in the Revolutionary army ; if he 
was the person, as we possess no knowledge of any other, it must 
have been near the close of the war. 

CAPTAIN NICHOLAS BUCK, 

Was the third son of the ancestor, after whom be was called,* 
and the first child by his second wife, Elizabeth Hartman, born in 
Springfield, August 20, 1767, and at his father's deatb aged nineteen 
years. Judging by his papers, account books and the estates he 
settled, as well as his business qualifications, must have received for 
that period a good common school education. The family being 



^ 




large and having a mechanical turn and encouraged thereto by his 
brother Joseph, learned what was then called the wagoner's (wheel- 

*In consequence of several members in the family bearing the names of 
Nicholas, Jacob and John, hence will append their military titles by which they 
were best known whilst living, to prevent confusion. 



CAPTAIN NICHOLAS BUCK. 31 

Wright) trade, which he set up on the old homestead farm beside 
the Bethlehem road. In 1789 married Mary Magdalena, daughter 
of John Eck, a farmer of Upper Salford, thirteen miles distant* 

In the fall of 1792 he purchased of Christian Klinker, potter, 
a tract containing 64 acres and 140 perches in Xockamixon, hand- 
somely located on both sides of the Durham road, "for t:351 of gold 
and silver currency," and who had carried on here for a few years 
the manufacture of earthenware. The buildings thereon were small 
and rudely constructed of logs. On his removal here the following 
March 23, as may be well expected, found much to do before he 
could even be comfortably fixed. He was now not quite twenty- 
four and a half years old, and a field for enterprise here lay spread 
around him for development, and upon which he was not slow to 
enter. Soon a new dwelling was erected, as well as wheelwright 
and blacksmith shops, in which to pursue his occupation ; more 
land was cleared and additional crops raised and other improve- 
ments made. 

To accomplish the aforesaid not only required industry and 
perseverance, but also judgment and business knack to make it 
successful. In a few years another substantial stone house was 
erected and his business kept improving. He, too, was receiving 
the good will and confidence of his neighbors, judging from the 
trusts and responsibilities he was assuming. Owing to the spread 
of population northward, travel on the road was also increasing, 
great teams often of four and six horses passed his place daily over 
the great highway to Philadelphia with produce from near Easton, 
Nazareth, Wilkes-Barre, Bethlehem and other places, returning 
again laden with freight. His occupation by this was also increased. 
Having a rising family, he exerted his influence in having two 
stone schoolhouses built in the neighborhood. In 1803 and later 
years he was collector of taxes in Nockamixon, and how much 
earlier and later is not known. 

Through the excitement occasioned by the dastardly attack of 
a British ship of war on the frigate Chesapeake on our coast in the 
summer of 1807, he soon after set about raising a troop of cavalry 
in his neighborhood, which was fully equipped and ready for ser- 
vice in the following spring, and of which he continued captain 
until near his death. In this latter year he built an addition to his 
house, making it thirty by sixty feet in dimensions, besides a two 
story wing, the whole of stone, with a view to a public house, which 

3 H 



32 CAPTAIN NICHOLAS BUCK. 

was licensed in the spring of 1809. As Michael Ott was three miles 
below him keeping the sign of " The Buck," he substituted " The 
White Horse " in military caparison. The cause for this change 
with the information relating thereto is so interesting that a more 
detailed account thereof will be given hereafter. 

With a view of having his children better educated than what 
was afforded by the schools of the neighborhood, Captain Buck 
engaged Professor Charles Fortman to teach at his home a class on 
the piano, vocal music, and the Latin, English, French and Ger- 
man languages, which met with sufficient success as to be maintained 
there for several years. In 1816 he also entered into storekeeping, 
which he conducted until in the spring of 1828, when his son 
Samuel succeeded him in the business. At what time it became 
noted as a "Stage house " is not exactly known, but probably not 
long after 1819, and was maintained as such until the withdrawal 
of the Easton stages on the completion of the Belvidere, Delaware 
Railroad in 1854, a period probably extending to a third of a cen- 
tury. 

Here, too, for many years were held the annual spring train- 
ings of the uniformed volunteers of the townships of Springfield, 
Durham, Nockamixon and Tinicum. The most notable being 
Captain Buck's Company of Washington Light Horse, Captain 
Jacob Sassaman's Bucks County Rifle Company, Captain Hillipot's 
Leopard Rifles, and Cajitain Samuel Steckel's Durham Infantry, 
which comprised the Battalion. Owing to the late war these com- 
panies were all disbanded a short time prior to 1861. These 
parades would bring together a large concourse of spectators, and 
awaited with great interest by the boys of the surrounding section. 
Through the increasing prosperity of the neighborhood as well as 
his business affairs, application was made by him for a post office 
called Bucksville, which was granted in 1828, of which he was 
appointed the first postmaster. 

He had six children, Elizabeth, Nicholas, Sarah, Mary Mag- 
dalena, Jacob E., and Samuel. Nicholas learned with him the 
wheelwright trade, and soon after his marriage in 1813 the business 
was entirely relinquished to him. Jacob E. became his assistant 
and principal clerk in the store about 1818, in which he continued 
until in the spring of 1826, when he entered into business for him- 
self in Springfield, two miles distant. Owing to his declining 
health Captain Buck retired from business in April, 1829, and 



CAPTAIV NICHOLAS BUCK. 33 

removed to a house he had built on his tract some time previously, 
now the property of Josiah Shuman. However, he did not long 
survive the change, for he died August 28, aged 62 years, 9 days. 
His estate was administered by his two eldest sons, Nicholas and 
Jacob. 

The personal property was sold at public sale in 1829, and the 
real estate October 3, 1830. The hotel with its several improve- 
ments and 50 acres was bought by his son Nicholas for $61.50 per 
acre, or $3,075. No. 2, where he died, was purchased by his 
daughter Sarah and her husband, John Malone, and described as 
containing 16 acres and 125 perches " of first rate wood and meadow 
land, a good two-story stone house, stable and outbuildings, fruit 
trees and a never failing spring of excellent water." This brought 
$42.25 per acre. Several lots of woodland were next sold, compris- 
ing 36 acres. The whole, including the personal, amounted to 
upward of $6400. 

The hotel property is thus described in an advertisement of its 
sale in a Doylestowu paper of September, 1830, as "a highly val- 
uable stand, sign of the White Horse, situated on the Stage Road 
from Philadelphia to Eastou, at the intersection of the Easton and 
Old Durham roads, 15 miles from Doylestown and the same from 
Easton and Bethlehem, and three miles from the Delaware Canal. 
Daily line of stages change and the passengers breakfast and dine 
here, and the post office is in a part of the building. There are 
three sheds with stabling, new barn, a well, two never failing springs 
of water, apple orchard, with excellent meadow and woodland." 
Such a description, written by his son Jacob over sixty-two years 
ago, is now interesting, and to which we shall have occasion to 
refer hereafter. 

MARY MAGDALENA BUCK, 

As the wife of the founder of Bucksville and a resident there 
for about sixty years, deserves some notice at our hands. Her 
grandfather, Jacob Eck, was a native of Baselbade, Alsace, and a 
locksmith by occupation. He was a widower, and arrived here 
September 23, 1741, with his son John, then a single young man 
from Rotterdam in the ship Marlborough, Thomas Bell, master. 
The next we know of his movements he purchased b y patent* 

*This deed of original purcliase, bearing Governor Thomas' signature, is now 

in the possession of the editor, transmitted to him through the hands of Captain 
Buck, his son Nicholas, and Jonas H. Buck. 



34 MARY MAGDALENA BUCK. 

granted by Governor George Thomas, June 8, 1746, 100 acres loca- 
ted in the valley of Ridge Creek, Upper Salford Township, now in 
Montgomery County. Having settled on the aforesaid tract, at the 
same date in the following year purchased adjoining it 125 acres 
more, making a total of 225 acres. On this himself and his son 
made the first improvements, speedily erecting thereon two sets of 
farm buildings. He also purchased by patent in 1751, 50 acres in 
Bucks County, and his son in 1767, 150 acres in Long Swamp 
Township, Berks County. 

On the death of his father, John inherited all his real estate, 
and continued to reside on his property to the close of his life. 
His second wife was Mary Magdalena Schneider, to whom he was 
married October 26, 1762, and the parents of Mrs. Buck, who was 
born June 9, 1769. Her mother having died March 6, 1775, he 
subsequently married a third time. He had in all fifteen children, 
and owing to their tender years was exempted from serving in the 
Revolutionary army. He died in the beginning of June, 1809, at 
an advanced age. He left a considerable estate, of which he made 
his son Theodore and son-in-law Captain Buck, executors. Eleven 
children are mentioned as living in the will, showing remarkable 
longevity in the family. 

On the marriage of Miss Eck in 1789, was 20 years, of age. 
Their married life was 39 years, and on her husband's death 
retained her home in Bucksville, chiefly with her daughter, Mrs. 
Sarah Malone, who about 1850 removed to Philadelphia, at whose 
house she died February 4, 1858, in her 89th year. She left 95 
living descendants, several of the fifth generation. She was a woman 
of more than ordinary abilities, and retained a good memory to the 
last. In a record of her mother's death made in 1775, mention is 
made that she was " an excellent woman, a loving-hearted wife, and 
esteemed by all for her truly Christian traits." This could also be 
truthfully applied to the daughter. In 1854 her grandson (the 
editor of this work), wrote her reminiscences, and those relating to 
her early life in Upper Salford down to the close of the Revolution 
with an account of the Eck family, published in the late large 
History of Montgomery County. We are also indebted for consid- 
erable information in this work to the same source. 

MAJOR JACOB BUCK, 
The fourth son of the ancestor was born in Springfield, May 1, 
1770, and on the death of his father aged about sixteen and a half 



MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 35 

years. It is doubtful of his having had any other occupation than 
farming. He married in 1790 Susanna the daughter of Philip and 
Elizabeth Haring, of Haycock. It is supposed that within a few years 
thereafter he moved to where is now Revere, on a farm he pur- 
chased on which in connection shortly established the Sorrel Horse 
inn, which for many years was known by this name. He was a 
major in the volunteers before 1800, and family tradition states that 
some time previously had been a captain of a rifle company that he 
had raised in the neighborhood, and later for several years a tax 
collector. James Chapman, U. S. revenue collector, in his adver- 
tisement dated August 15, 1800, states that on the following Sep- 
tember 13, he would collect and receive taxes for Nockaniixon 
Township "at the house of Major Jacob Buck," as authorized by 
law. 



^^^ 7i<^</^ 



It appears in 1814, or perhaps a little sooner, Jacob became 
the owner of the Bear tavern at Red Hill, four miles distant, to 
which he removed and kept for several years. About this time his 
brother John became the owner of the Sorrel Horse property, and 
continued thereon until his death. After a residence at Red Hill 
until 1832, he disposed of his property and removed to Jenkintown, 
where he became the proprietor of the Green Tree Hotel and other 
adjoining property comprising nearly seven acres until 1841, 
While residing here his wife died, when a daughter took charge of 
his household affairs. Having secured a competency, he now retired 
from business and removed to Springfield Township, two miles 
above Bucksville, on the old Beihn homestead, where he died July 
24, 1848, aged upward of 73 years. His will, dated June 30 pre- 
ceding, wherein he appointed his son Samuel, of Philadelphia, exec- 
utor. The children of Major Jacob Buck were John, Jacob, 
Elizabeth, Nicholas, Samuel, Catharine and Joseph. His descend- 
ants are numerous, and chiefly reside in Bucks County, Philadel- 
phia and New Jersey. 

The Haring family appear to have been for some time in 
Pennsylvania. Johannes Haring arrived from Rotterdam in the 
ship Neptune, at Philadelphia, September 24, 1751. Major Jacob 
Buck's father-in-law, Philip Haring, purchased of Joseph Dennis 



36 MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 

in Haycock a farm of 183 acres, May 30, 1768, for £570, whereof 
he sold 136 acres ISTovember 19, 1803, to his son Philip Haring, for 
£450, with the necessary buildings, his father retaining the home- 
stead portion. The latter in June, 1776, was appointed collector of 
arms in his township by the Bucks County Committee of Safety, to 
which also in the following year was added the Major's relative, 
Mathias Hartraan, of whom mention has been made in our sketch 
of the ancestor's wife's family. We can see herein also additional 
cause for a spirit of patriotism that has always characterized the 
several descendants of the Buck family. Michael Haring, who 
gave in his allegiance June 19, 1778, was a son of Philip, and on 
the authority of Abel B. Haring, present cashier of the French- 
town National Bank, with another brother, served in the Revolu- 
tionary army. Probably the latter was Jacob Haring, for he was 
in the service. 

By an act of Congress passed July 14, 1798, a tax was assessed 
July 12, 1800, upon dwelling houses, lands and slaves, of which 
James Chapman was appointed the collector of the first and second 
assessment districts of the third division in Bucks County. The 
object of this tax was to raise a revenue to reduce the heavy debt 
incurred by the Revolutionary Avar. This in consequence in the 
northwestern portion of the county, with the adjoining parts of 
Montgomery and Northampton, was made the cause of great excite- 
ment. No doubt if the participants in this affair had clearly 
understood the law and the objects of Congress in passing it, they 
would not have proceeded to the length they did to resist by force 
of arras any attempt at its collection, for which purpose various 
meetings were held in the spring of 1799. The chief leader was 
John Fries, who was captured, tried, and found guilty of treason, 
but subsequently pardoned by President John Adams. Mr. Chap- 
man was threatened if he did not desist, among others sought the 
influence of Major Buck, and therefore from the beginning found 
no difficulty in collecting the revenue in Nockamixon and the 
adjoining townships. The total amount to be thus raised was two 
million of dollars, of which $237,177.73 was assigned as Pennsyl- 
vania's quota. 

MAJOR JOHN BUCK 

AVas the youngest son of the ancestor, born February 19, 1775, 
and at his death nearly eleven years of age. He married in 1795 



MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 37 

Salome, daughter of Nicholas and Albertina McCarty, of Nocka- 
mixon, and it is probable that about this time he made said town- 
ship his residence. He, too, had an early penchant for the military, 
for he was a captain some time before 1808 of a company that had 
been organized by his brother Jacob, and in the latter year men- 
tioned succeeded him as major of the battalion, in which he served 
until after the late war with England, then belonging to the regi- 
ment commanded by Colonel Jacob Kiutner. 

In his business it is supposed was a farmer, for about 1808 he 
purchased the property of his brother Jacob at the pi-esent Eevere, 
containing 136 acres, at which soon after the township elections 
were held and have remained to the present time. The original 
tavern so long known as the Sorrel Horse was built of logs, and 
becoming old he had it torn down and in its place in 1818 erected 
on the opposite side of the road the present substantial stone build- 
ing, still maintained as a public house, now for some time in the 
occupancy of the Rufe family. Like his brothers Nicholas and 
Jacob, he too, was a tax collector of the township. He made con- 
siderable improvements on his property, where he continued to 
reside until his death, which occurred near the beginning of 1822, 
aged 47 years. 

From what is gleaned from records his descendants have not 
attained the longevity exhibited in the families of his brothers 
Nicholas and Jacob. Major John Buck had a considerable liimily 
of children, being ten in number, their names being Elizabeth, 
John, Joel, Edward, Martha, Reading, Enoch, Theodore, Rebecca, 
and Nicholas. His descendants reside chiefly in Bucks County, 
Philadelphia, New Jersey, Illinois and other Western States. Of 
the aforesaid eight at least were married, nearly all of whom have 
left surviving descendants. 

The McCarty family, into which Major Buck married, was one 
of the earliest that settled in the Haycock Run valley. His wife 
Salome was born April 7, 1774. Her father was married to 
Albertina, daughter of George and Barbara Kohl, January 20, 
1767, was a private in Captain Shoope's company in 1775, and 
gave in his allegiance July 29, 1778. His son, Thomas McCarty, 
was married in 1803 to Magdalena, Major Buck's younger sister. 
Nicholas McCarty was an enterprising man, and inherited a consid- 
erable tract of land in Nockamixon, situated between Burksville 
and the stream mentioned, on which he built one of the first saw- 



38 MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 

mills in the neigliborhood. In 1822 lie was appointed a Justice of 
the Peace by Governor Heister, which office he held for a number 
of years. 

DAUGHTERS OF THE ANCESTOR. 

Catharine Buck, the eldest, was born May 28, 1772, and 
was married to Christian Clemmer. His father of the same name 
signed the road petition in Springfield in 1760. They moved to 
Washington Township, Berks County, where they were residing on 
a small farm in 1852. They have now for sometime been deceased, 
and it is supposed have descendants. 

Barbara Buck, born in August, 1777, Avas married to John 
Kemp, of Berks County, who it is supposed have descendants in 
that section. 

Elizabeth Buck, born about 1781, was married to Jacob 
Kohl, farmer and wheelwright, of Nockamixon. He was a son 
of George Kohl, who resided on the west side of the Durham 
road, a short distance below Bucksville, where he owned a farm. 
On his death it was divided, Jacob taking the lower or homestead 
portion, on which he followed his trade until his death. He died 
in 1827, and his wife in 1832. They had children, Jacob, Sylvester, 
Christian, Samuel, Martha, Amanda, Eliza and Nicholas, now all 
deceased except Martha. Sylvester died from an accident in 1829. 
Jacob married in Lancaster County, and has a son Jacob living there. 
Samuel was married to Mary, the daughter of John Melchior and 
wife Sarah Buck, and have descendants in Berks County and 
Philadelphia. Christian married Elizabeth Henry, and had chil- 
dren Amanda, Laura and Cecilia, all deceased ; the widow survives. 
He was a tailor, and died in Philadelphia in 1861. Martha married 
Josep Krier, from near the Willow Grove, have children Alfred, 
Elizabeth and INIarkley ; Alfred Krier was born in 1841, married 
Elizabeth Taylor in 1862, served three years in the late war, have 
children Joseph, deceased, and Laura, married to Frank Boone, 
who have a daughter Laura. Elizabeth Krier, born 1847, married 
Joseph Opdyke Abington, have a daughter Maude, born in 1878. 
Markley Krier, born in December, 1860, married April 22, 1886, to 
Ida Amanda Thompson ; have a son Russel. 

Magdalena Buck, the fourth daughter and ninth child of 
the ancestor, was born September 24, 1783, and married May 3, 
1803, to Thomas, son of Nicholas and Albertina McCarty, of Nock- 
amixon, of whom mention has been made in the preceding account 



DAUGHTERS OP THE ANCESTOR. 39 

of Major John Buck. He was a farmer, and at once settled down 
on a portion of his fathei-'s estate, deeded to him June 33, 1800, 
containing 139 acres, for £695, that extended all the way from 
Captain Nicholas Buck's line near Bucksville to Haycock run. 
He was a private in Captain Samuel Wilson's Bucks County Com- 
pany, having entered the service September 16, 1814. Thomas 
McCarty was born on November 1, 1780, and was nearly three 
years older than his wife. He died November 15, 1819, and did 
not quite attain 39 years of age. She survived to January 2, 1828. 
They had sons Nicholas B., and John Justus. 

Nicholas B. McCarty, the eldest, was born in 1803, and married 
Juliana, daughter of Jacob Kohl. He died May 5, 1851, and his 
wife February 23, 1880, aged upward of 72 years. They left six 
surviving children, Mary, Caroline, Johanna, Austin, Henry, and 
Clara. John Justus McCarty was born August 24, 1809, married 
Mary Ann Brown, February 14, 1836, who died November 14, 
1861, aged 42 years 2 months. He died December 10, 1886, aged 
77 years, 3 months. He left five surviving children, Thomas, 
Wilhelmina, Elizabeth, Frank, and John J., of whom and the 
descendants of Nicholas B. mention will be made on a future page. 

Their father's land was divided into two farms, Nicholas B. 
taking the old McCarty homestead with the adjacent land. It 
was here on which Edward, the pioneer and ancestor of the family, 
had originally settled, and whereon their grandfather, Nicholas 
McCarty, had erected a sawmill near the close of the last cen- 
tury, which continued in use until about 1844, when it became 
ruinous and not long after demolished. On this property Nicholas 
B. continued to reside to the close of his life. John Justus took 
the southeastern portion of the tract, on which he erected' an 
entire new set of farm buildings about 1836, on which he con- 
tinued to reside until after 1860, when he removed to Fhiladel- 
phia, where he died. His descendants are chiefly residents of 
said city. The aforesaid farms now belong to the estate of Andrew 
Mich and Thomas Y. McCarty. 

Mary Ann Buck, the youngest of the ten children of the 
ancestor, was born September 15, 1785, and at the death of her 
father was but little over thirteen months old. His will, dated 
February 12, previously, will explain why her name is not men- 
tioned therein. She continued to reside with her mother in 
Springfield until well grown, and probably for awhile with her 



40 DAUGHTERS OF THE ANCESTOR. 

brother Nicholas. She was married to Nicholas Kohl, wheel- 
wright, and brother to Jacob, who had married her sister Eliza- 
beth. The old Kohl homestead in the lower end of Bucksville 
was divided between them, Nicholas taking the upper portion of 
the tract, on which he erected the first buildings, and continued 
to reside to the close of his life. He was born August 5, 1786, 
and died June 3, 1836, aged nearly 50 years. His wife survived 
him until February 20, 1864, having attained to 78 years, 7 
months. They had children Mary, Matilda, Anthony, Isaac, 
Thomas, Samuel B., Elizabeth, Joseph, Martha, and Edward, who 
all married and have numerous descendants, who will be here- 
after mentioned. Jacob Kohl and Nicholas Kohl, who married 
the sisters of Captain Buck, were brothers; the former was first 
sergeant and the latter second sergeant in Captain Samuel Wilson's 
Company, entering the service September 16, 1814, for the defence 
of Philadelphia. 

NICHOLAS BUCK, JR., 

Was the oldest child of Captain Buck, the founder of Bucks- 
ville, where he was born in the old family mansion. May 13, 1794,. 
and continued to reside almost the Avhole of his life. He received 
his education in the schools of the neighborhood, after which he 
learned with his father the wheelwright trade, and about 1814 suc- 
ceeded him in the business, which he carried on at the present 
property of Josiah Shuman. In the preceding year he married 
Susanna, the daughter of Michael and Helena Haney, of Tinicum, 
and subsequently removed down there for a few years to pursue his 
occupation. Having purchased the property of Sarah Fenner^ 
spinster, containing 20 acres and 68 perches, he removed thereon in 
the beginning of April, 1825, and where he continued to reside for 
six years. In his deed of purchase it is represented as bounded by 
lands of Nicholas Buck, Sr., Nicholas McCarty, Felix Fenner, and 
Jacob Maust. This is the same property above the Bucksville 
hotel, now the residence of his son, Jonas H. Buck. 



Having purchased his father's hotel property and 50 acres, he 
removed thereon in April, 1831, when he relinquished his trade. 



NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 41 

and also assumed the duties of i^ostmaster, and several years pre- 
viously had succeeded his father as captain of the Washington 
Light Horse. He was an enterprising man, built a new brick hotel 
in 1840 on the opposite side of the road, two additional dwellings in 
the village, and near on an adjoining purchase of land a new set of 
farm buildings, beside making other considerable improvements. 
To his liberality it was chiefly owing that the three story stone 
building at the Haycock church was erected in 1861 for school 
purposes. 

Nicholas Buck had thirteen children, of whom ten attained to 
age and were married : John H., Mary, Helena, Samuel, Jonas H., 
Alfred, Michael, Sophia, Salome and Lucinda; of this number 
eight are living at this writing. Through his long career as hotel 
proprietor, the daily line of Easton stages continued to make it 
their place for meals and exchange for horses. He was a man of 
strong domestic habits, going little from home, attending well to 
his business matters, resulting in the accumulation of a handsome 
estate. He was repeatedly urged by his friends and neighbors to 
accept the nomination for sheriff, but declined ; office holding had 
no charms for him. His wife died August 13, 1870, aged 76 years, 
5 months, whom he followed September 25, 1871, aged 77 years, 4 
months. A few years before his death retired from business. His 
remains w^ere followed to the grave by a considerable number of 
relatives and friends. On his demise left seventy-tive living 
descendants. 

The Haney family, of Tinicum, into which he married, is a 
long and early land-holding one there. His father-in-law, Michael 
Haney, died November 23, 1830, aged 74 years, 7 months, hence 
born in 1756; his wife Helena died January 8, 1853, aged almost 
84 years. Michael Haney in 1745 bought by patent 150 acres on 
the "Great Tohickon," and in 1749 of Caspar Kalb 150 acres 
additional. This Michael must have been either the father or 
grandfather of the preceding one of the name. Jacob and Catha- 
rine Haney were married and resided here before 1767, and 
Anthony and Sarah Haney before 1780. Anthony and Simon 
Haney served in Captain Nicholas Patterson's Company in the 
Revolution. The family is of German origin, and in said language 
were called Honig or Henich. In Scott's Atlas of Bucks County 
in 1876, five landholders of the surname are mentioned as then 
resident in said township, one a Michael Haney. As may be 



42 JACOB E. BUCK. 

observed in this work they have at various times intermarried with 
the Buck family. We have as yet not been able to secure their 
date of arrival here. 

JACOB E. BUCK, 

The second son of Captain Buck, was born at Bucksville, 
April 21, 1801, and in consequence of having early exhibited a 
love for knowledge became one of the best educated in the family. 
With a view of assistance in his father's store and a mercantile 
career this became the more desirable. Hence after going to the 
schools of the neighborhood, in his fifteenth year he received the 
private tuition of Professor Fortmann at his father's house with 
several other pupils, that extended to several years. This course of 
instruction embraced penmanship, mathematics, the sciences, sev- 
eral languages, and vocal and instrumental music, the latter chiefly 
confined to the piano. In his nineteenth year he assumed the 
duties of clerk in the store, which position he filled for upward of 
five years. 



cj€oc<j1/ O /O-u^ 



He married February 25, 1824, Catharine, the only daughter 
of Joseph and Mary Afflerbach, near Bursonville, and in April, 
1826, moved on the Jacob Fulmer property, two miles above Bucks- 
ville, now the Beihn homestead, where he entered into mercantile 
business for himself as Mr. Fulmer's successor. He continued here 
until April, 1829, when he removed to the present Stony Point 
near by, and after being there two years purchased the hotel prop- 
erty there and 25 acres, which he now occupied in connection with 
the store business and in Avhich he continued until April, 1836, 
when he sold out and retired again for one year to the Beihn place. 
He then moved to a farm near Doylestown, where he remained 
until the spring of 1842, when he purchased the Ked Lion hotel 
property, Willow Grove, and continued there in business until 
1868 ; he next purchased a farm at Hatboro, and after a few years 
residence thereon retired from business. He died in the vicinity 
February 4, 1880, aged nearly 79 years. His wife survived until 
July 2, 1883, having attained the age of 81 years, 6 months. 



JACOB E. BUCK. 43 

He was an active and successful business man in the several 
pursuits he followed. In his time settled several extensive estates, 
and for his integrity enjoyed the confidence of the community. 
Remarkable to state, in his married life of fifty-six years a funeral 
was unknown in his house, for in all of said long period of time 
having had no death in either his family or household. He had 
three children, William Joseph, James Nicholas, and Isabella, whom 
both parents endeavored to have well educated. Owing to several 
others bearing the name of Jacob and Samuel, to prevent confusion 
himself and brother did not assume the E. from their mother's sur- 
name until 1831, as appears from his storebooks and numerous 
papers now in possession of his eldest son. 

The Afflerbach family, into which Jacob E. Buck married, 
deserves at this place some notice. Henry, Ludwig, and Daniel 
Afflerbach were brothers, and natives of NViesensteig in Wurtem- 
berg, Germany, and arrived here single young men in 1770, and 
soon after married. Ludwig settled in Durham, Henry in Spring- 
field, and Daniel in Haycock. The descendants of Henry were the 
founders of Applebachsville. All three gave in their allegiance to 
the new government in 1778, before Thomas Long, Esq. Joseph, 
the nephew of the aforesaid, arrived here in 1789, married in 1799 
Mary, daughter of George and Pulsaria Stoneback, of Haycock, 
whose ancestry goes back to Bernard Steiubach, who arrived here 
in 1734, and settled soon after on a tract of land patented to him 
in Richland Township. Joseph having purchased a tract of 64 
acres in Springfield on which in 1804 he erected the first buildings 
and where his five children were born and attained to maturity. In 
1823 was appointed postmaster at Bursouville. He was a devoted 
student, and like his cousin Daniel, for the period accumulated a 
handsome library. He died December 2, 1845, aged upward of 72, 
his wife in 1853, 70 years. He has descendants in Northampton 
and Montgomery Counties, Illinois and other Western States. 
Henry, Ludwig and Daniel have descendants in Haycock, Spring- 
field and Nockamixon. 

SAMUEL E. BUCK, 

The third and youngest son of Captain Buck, was born in the 
family mansion at BucksviHe, February 15, 1806, and had the 
opportunities to enjoy the several advantages of education that were 



44 SAMUEL E, BUCK. 

given bis brother Jacob. When the latter left his father's store in 
1826, he occupied his place, and in 1829 became its proprietor, and 
continued in the same until 1832, or near the beginning of the fol- 
lowing year, when he removed to Doylestown and opened a store 
in the southern end of the Mansion House building, fronting on 
Main Street, now Weinrebe's bakery. His nephew, Nicholas B. 
Malone, of Bucksville, being his chief clerk. He was here for 
several years, when he took charge of the Mansion House, then a 
noted hotel, which he kept until the spring of 1838, when he 
removed to Philadelphia. 



cj^4^^ 



In 1834 he married Martha J., the second daughter of Josiah 
Y. Shaw, Esq., a prominent citizen of Doylestown. About four 
years after this took charge of the Mount Vernon House, then one 
of the extensive hotels in the city, located on Second Street near 
Arch, where a considerable business was done. Owing to an acute 
attack of pneumonia he did not linger long, and died December 6, 
1840, thus attaining in age but little over 33 years, 2 months. He 
was a man of captivating manners, wielded considerable influence 
in social circles, and of remarkable agility, to which we may refer 
hereafter. He had two children, Jerome and Howard. The widow 
about 1845 married John Titus, attorney-at-law, a native of Buck- 
ingham Township, Bucks County. She died in Philadelphia, April 
27, 1878, aged 60 years. 

The Shaw family, into which Samuel E. Buck married, is of 
Scotch-Irish origin, and settled early in Plumstead, several miles 
north of Danboro. John Shaw, the father of Josiah, was born 
there in 1745. The Doanes, residing in the neighborhood, with 
their associates in 1782 j)lundered his house of its most valuable 
effects. He was a magistrate soon after 1790 for Bedminster and 
Hilltown Townships, and moved to Doylestown in 1802, where he 
died in 1818, and his wife Agnes in 1831, aged 89 years. In 1777 
he gave in his allegiance to Thomas Dyer, Esq., of Dyerstown. 
He had children John, Josiah Y., William, Martha and Mary. 
Josiah was born in Plumstead in 1770, and purchased from his 
father in April, 1801, a farm of 54 acres in Doylestown, now owned 
by his grandson, Henry C. Taylor, on which he continued to reside 



SAMUEL E. BUCK. 45 

to the close of his life. He married Christiana Kripps, of German 
descent, who died in 1830, aged 54 years, with whom he had three 
children, Adelaide, Martha J., and James. He was one of the 
founders and trustees of Union Academy, 1803-4, a major in 1809, 
brigade inspector, appointed a Justice of the Peace January 2, 
1813, and a member of Assembly. His death occurred March 30, 
1844, aged 74 years. The late Commodore Thompson D. Shaw, of 
the U. S. Navy, was his nephew and a son of John. 

THE DAUGHTERS OF CAPT. N. BUCK. 
Elizabeth Buck, the eldest of his children, was born on the 
Buckhill estate in Springfield, September 3, 1791, but little over 
one and a half years prior to his removal to Bucksville. She was 
married June 26, 1808, to George, son of Joseph and ]Margaret 
Kohl, of Nockamixon. Her death occurred November 8, 1823, 
aged but 32 years and 4 months. They had five children, of whom 
Sarah, Jacob and Rosanna attained to maturity. Sarah Kohl mar- 
ried John Custer, who in 1858 had five children living. Jacob 
Kohl was married, and has sons Stephen, Joseph, William and 
Howard. He served in a Philadelphia regiment in the late war, 
and is now in a soldier's home. Rosanna Kohl married Stephen 
Marx, with no children. The three aforesaid married in the city, 
and where they have since continuously resided. At this writing 
possess no later information, but entertain no doubt that their 
descendants have increased. 

Sarah Buck was born in Bucksville March 13, 1797, and 
was married to John Malone, October 24, 1815. He was a descend- 
ant of an old Friends' family in Horsham, and a stone mason l)y 
trade. They resided in Bucksville until about 1850, then removed 
to Philadelphia, where he died at an advanced age. In the war of 
1812-14 he entered Captain Wilson's Bucks County Company, for 
wbich his widow received a pension to the close of her life. Mrs. 
Malone died in the city November 13, 1881, aged 84 years, 8 
months, and was the last survivor of Captain Buck's children. 
Her death was occasioned by a cancer on the face that conunenced 
about one and a half years previously. They had four children, 
Nicholas B., Mary, Rebecca and Francis. 

Nicholas B. Malone was born in Bucksville April 1, 1816, 
pursued a mercantile career and married Lovinia Tyson, of Berks 
County, both deceased about 1888. Had children John and Eliza- 
beth, both married and have descendants. Mary Malone married 



46 THE DAUGHTERS OF CAPT. N. BUCK. 

Thomas Cooley, a native of New England, have children George, 
Thomas, John, and Elizabeth, the latter married to James Dwyer, 
and have four sons. Rebecca died in 1892, leaving a son John 
Malone, married, and has children ; Francis Malone, born October 
25, 1831, married Rosa Warner, and has sons William and John. 
All the aforesaid reside in the city. Francis died May 23, 1879, 
and Thomas Cooley several years previously. The latter was a 
well-known and popular stage driver on the Easton line through 
Bucksville between the years 1840 and 1855. He afterward 
entered into the express business in Philadelphia, and for his 
integrity enjoyed the confidence of many friends. His widow 
attended the late centennial celebration after an absence from 
Bucksville of nearly forty-five years. 

Mary Magdalena Buck, but generally called Polly, was 
born March 14, 1799, and married to Peter O'Conner in 1817. 
They resided in the vicinity of Bucksville until about 1836, when 
they removed to the city to spend there the remainder of their lives. 
He, too, entered the service in the war of 1812-14, for which his 
widow drew a pension. His business had been a traveling salesman 
of drygoods with a horse and wagon, and thus formed his acquaint- 
ance with Captain Buck, and when the latter started his store in 
1816 employed him for the first few years as his assistant. They 
had nine children, of which Mary, Elizabeth, Rosanna and Nicho- 
las attained to maturity. Mary married Thomas Farron, Elizabeth 
Michael Farlan, and Rosanna to whom forgotten. The said three 
sisters in 1858 had fourteen living descendants. Nicholas O'Conner 
went to New York and died there over forty years ago. When the 
aforesaid list was made out it was ascertained that there had been 
earlier and greater mortality amongst them than in any other 
branch of Captain Buck's family. One of the reasons for this was 
that they had all confined themselves closely to a city life. Mrs. 
O'Conner survived to December 1, 1878, having attained to upward 
of 78 years of age. From what has now been given, it will be 
observed that the six children of Captain Buck attained to an 
average of 65 years, double the usual rate of mortality. 

THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 

John Buck, the eldest of his children, was born April 26, 
1791, most probably on the Buckhill estate. His father having 
moved to Red Hill, in Tinicum Township, he grew to manhood 



THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 47 

there, where he married Elizabeth, the daughter of Michael and 
Helena Heaney April 28, 1817, and continued to reside until after 
1832. He soon afterward removed to the County Line inn, nearly 
three miles below Jenkintown, on the Old York Road, which he kept 
for a number of years. His wife having deceased he returned to 
Tinicum, near the River Delaware, where he died October 22,1841, 
aged nearly 50 years, 6 months. He had children, Aaron, ^lichael, 
Helena, Jacob, John, Samuel, Sarah, Elizabeth and Jerome. He 
was also a member of Captain Wilson's Bucks County Company, 
which he joined in September, 1814. 

Aaron, the eldest of the aforesaid, served as administrator of 
his father's estate, married Caroline Tettimer, of Tinicum. He 
resides in said township beside the Delaware, and has been for many 
years a supervisor there on the canal. He had children, Emaline, 
Sylvester, and William. Emaline died June 23, 1881, aged u])w^ard 
of 38 years, 8 months. Sylvester married June 10, 1871, Eliza 
Jane, daughter of Edward Ridge. William married April 22, 
1884, Sarah Ulmer. Michael Buck resides in Tinicum, a farmer ; 
was a soldier in the late war. Helena is married to Alfred, son of 
Nicholas Buck, Jr., of Bucksville, of whom mention will be made 
hereafter. Jacob married Margaret Bender, and now resides in 
Frenchtown, N. J., and have no children. John was born October 
16, 1827, married Emma Hauld; resides in Philadelphia, and is a 
conductor on a passenger railway there. Samuel married Margaret 
Rice, have eight children, Helena, George, Lydia, William, Samuel, 
Theresa, Edward and Elizabeth. The account of Sarah, Elizabeth 
and Jerome will be deferred to the next two paragraphs. 

Sarah was born April 21, 1832, and married Daniel B. RuH- 
ner, of Nicetown, now a part of the city, April 15,1858. They 
had fifteen children, Lizzie, born Aug. 13, 1859, died Sept. 8 fol- 
lowing ; Helena, born Nov. 30, 1860, married James E. Kelly, June 
12, 1889 ; Ida Elizabeth, born Dec. 29, 1861, died Jan. 17, 1865 ; 
Laura Cecilia, born Dec. 8, 1862, died Aug. 8, 1863 ; Mary Ella, 
born Feb. 12, 1864, died following Sept. 6 ; AVm. Jerome, born 
Jan. 24, 1865, died following Aug. 9 ; Annie Regina, born March 
3, 1866, died July 15, following; Gideon Bolton, born Feb. 11, 
1867 ; Daniel Bender, born March 7, 1868 ; Sallie, born Aug. 29, 
1869, died Aug. 25,1870; Edward Jerome, born Oct. 15, 1870, 
died July 8, 1871 ; Lilly Cecilia, born July 19, 1872, died following 
Aug. 1 ; Anna Masters Lynch, born March 9, 1874, died following 
4 



48 THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JACOB BUCK, 

Aug. 5 ; Agnes Brown, born June 23, 1875, died following July 
31 ; Annona Mary, born Feb. 15, 1877, died Nov. 11, 1879. Mrs. 
Sarah Ruffner died Sept. 18, 1880, aged 48 years and nearly 5 
months. The Ruffner family is an early one in Pennsylvania. 
According to the Gosheuhoppen records Simon Ruffner, wife Bar- 
bara and children resided at the Blue Mountains prior to 1745, and 
beyond the church in Washington Township, Berks County, about 
thirty miles. This, then, was certainly a pioneer position, and 
extremely perilous during the Indian war of 1755 to 1764, when so 
many of the whites in said vicinity were either massacred or taken 
into captivity. 

Elizabeth Buck was married to Bernard McCourt, of Phila- 
delphia, who is for some time deceased. She resides in the vicinity 
of Nicetown, and has no children. Jerome was a long resident of 
Tinicum, and in the beginning of the war entered the service in 
Captain G. T. Harvey's Company of the 104 Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment, in which he was a sergeant, making a full term of three 
years. He afterward removed to Nicetown, where he married 
Maggie Ludwick, with whom he had four children, "William, 
Eugene, Elizabeth and Ella. Eugene married a Miss Bradford. 
Jerome Buck died December 6, 1879, and was greatly beloved for 
his amiable qualities. 

Jacob Buck, Jr., the second son of Major Jacob, was born in 
1794, and resided the greater portion of his life in Tinicum, and 
was by occupation a mason. He married Ann Heaney, with whom 
he had a daughter Rebecca, born August 8, 1825. Several years 
after the death of his wife he married Helena, widow of William 
Soult, of Tinicum, and daughter of Michael and Helena Heaney ; 
Jacob died October 10,1869, aged nearly 75 years. His wife sur- 
vived until July 24, 1890, aged 83 years and nearly 3 months. He 
left no surviving descendants. He succeeded his father in the com- 
mand of a rifle company, of which we know he was captain before 
1822. See page 850 of Davis' History of Bucks County. He was 
a member of Captain Samuel Flack's Bucks County Company, 
having entered the service in the beginning of October, 1814, for 
which his widow received a pension. 

Elizabeth Buck, the third child of Major Jacob, was bom 
in Nockamixon, November 16, 1796, and was married to Francis 
McCarty, a farmer in Haycock. She died December 16, 1860, 
aged upward of 64 years ; he survived until February 12, 1883, 



THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 49 

aged upward of 89 years. They had six children, Robert, Hannah, 
Susan, Mary, Caroline and Helena. Robert married Mary, daugh- 
ter of John McCarty, by whom he had two children, Bernard and 
Mark ; the latter married Louisa, daughter of Eleazer ]\IcCarty, 
and have three children. After the death of his wife Robert mar- 
ried Ann, daughter of Thomas Rupel. 

Susan McCarty married Nicholas, son of Daniel and Caroline 
Atherholt, who have six children, Isabella, Anna, Cecilia, Harriet, 
Rose and Henry. Anna Atherholt married Henry N. Buck ; 
Cecilia married Gregory, son of Jacob and Theresa Nicholas, have 
children, Stuart, Leo and Stephen. Susan married Thomas D., son 
of John and Catharine McCarty, and have children, Thomas and 
Mary Alice. Thomas McCarty married Irene, daughter of Andrew 
and Kuneyonde Mich. Mary Alice married Erwin, son of Joseph 
and Ellen Kramer. Mary, the sister of Robert, married James 
Martin, of Mauch Chunk, and have children, William, Howard, 
and Elizabeth. William Martin married Grace Waters, and 
Howard is also married. Caroline McCarty married Hugh, son of 
Philip and Ann O'Connell, who have a son Henry married to Jane 
Gordon. Helena, the sister of Caroline, is married to Jacob 
Heaney. 

In addition to the aforesaid descendants of Elizabeth Buck 
and Francis McCarty, she had a prior daughter Elizabeth, born 
April 8, 1815, who married Josiah Matlock, long a resident of 
Nockamixon. She died January 18, 1890, aged nearly 74 years. 
They had two sons, William and Sheridan. The former married 
Angelina Swartz, and have children Francis, Elizabeth, Catharine, 
Mary and Araey. Elizabeth married Medus Atherholt, and have 
a child Rosie. Sheridan Matlock married Catharine, daughter of 
Isaiah Kramer. 

Nicholas Buck, after receiving an ordinary education in the 
schools of the neighborhood, attended Professor Fortman's class of 
instruction in the higher branches and music at Bucksville. He 
married Mary Matilda, daughter of Dr. Thomas N. Meredith, for- 
merly of Doylestown, but now of Nockamixon, May 29, 1826. 
John, the elder brother of Nicholas, had purchased a farm of thirty 
acres April 26 preceding, on the Durham road about one and a half 
miles above Bucksville, which the latter occupied the remainder of 
his life. Here his son Isaac was born May 8, 1827, and later 
Thomas, called after his grandfather. Near the close of 1831 



50 THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JACOB BUCK. 

Nicholas died here. In the spring of said year Matilda's sister 
Ann came up there and opened in said house a private school that 
was well patronized. The editor of this work was one of the pupils, 
and remembers those school days well. That fall Ann married 
Thomas McCarty, and in the following spring, accompanied by 
Matilda and her children, went to the West, which is the last we 
know about them. Major Jacob Buck in his will made June 30, 
1840, mentions therein Thomas, his grandson, to whom he leaves a 
legacy when he arrives of age. Judging by this, Isaac must have 
died some time previously. John Buck sold said property March 
28, 1832, to the Rev. Henry S. Miller, a widely known and distin- 
guished minister of the Lutheran Church, who resided here for 
many years. It has now been owned and occupied for some time 
by Charles Wolfinger, and possesses an interesting history, which 
reluctantly has to be passed by. The Meredith family is of Welsh 
descent, and for some time settled in the central part of Bucks 
County. Dr. Hugh Meredith was an early physician in Doyles- 
town, and had three children, Dr. Charles, Dr. Thomas N., and 
Elizabeth, married to Abraham Chapman, mother of the late 
Judge Chapman. Dr. Hugh Meredith was an enrolled member of 
Captain William McCalla's Plumstead Company in August, 1775. 

Samuel Buck was born July 30, 1807, and for a considerable 
time was a resident of Philadelphia, where he kept the Golden 
Lamb hotel in Second Street above Vine. About 1845 he became 
an extensive Morocco manufacturer on Willow Street near Front, 
which business he pursued until near the close of his life. He 
married Elizabeth Wideman, with whom he had several children. 
After her death in 1848, married Mary Kusick, who survived him. 
He had children, Jerome, Augustus, Joseph, John, Samuel, Minnie, 
Emma and Eugene. He died about 1860, and was executor of his 
father's estate in 1843. His sons Augustus and Joseph served in 
the late war in a Philadelphia regiment commanded by General 
Custer. 

Catharine Buck, the youngest of Major Jacob's children, 
was married to Jacob Zerfoss, of Nockamixon. They had five 
children, Jacob, unmarried, Charlotte, Margaret, Mary and Susan. 
Charlotte Zerfoss was married to Isaac, son of Nicholas and Mary 
Ann Kohl, and now reside at Washington, New Jersey. Mary 
married Rowland Free, Margaret to George Everly, and Susan to 
John Simpson. 



THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 51 

THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 

Elizabeth Buck was the oldest child of the aforesaid, born 
in September, 1796, and married Aaron Beam, February 25, 1)S24, 
at Bucksville. He died May 7, 1834, aged 43 years, and for some 
time had been a driver on the Easton and Philadelphia daily line 
of stages. His wife survived until in November, 1852, aged 56 
years and upward of 2 months. They had children, John J., 
Elizabeth, William, Sarah, Martha and Ellen. 

John J. Beam was born in 1825, and was for some time on the 
police force of Philadelphia. He married Anna Fenn, and had 
eight children, William, Maria, John Darley, Henry, Clara, Anua, 
Martha and Elizabeth. He died March 30, 1885, aged 60 years. 
Elizabeth married Jacob HefFner, of Philadelphia, and have no 
children. William Beam married January 28, 1862, Amanda, 
daughter of Thomas and Catharine Kohl, of Nockamixon. He is 
a farmer, and resides in Haycock. Their children are Eupheinia, 
Isabella, Sobela, Sarah, Aaron and Thomas. Euphemia married 
Henry Sitz, Jr., and have children William and Bertha. Isabella 
married Reuben, son of Josiah and Helena Shuman, of Bucksville ; 
Sarah is deceased. Sarah Beam married Abner D. McCarty. and 
their daughter Isabella married Thomas Y. McCarty, who have 
children, Leo, Angelo, Roscoe, Alacoque and Florence, Martha 
Beam married William, son of Joseph and Mary Kohl, of Hay- 
cock, who have children, Eugene, Francis, Vincent, AVilliam, Mark 
and Charles. 

John Buck's date of birth is not known ; he married in Nock- 
amixon, and for a while drove on the Easton line of .stages, after 
which he went to Philadelphia and was in business there for several 
years. He next proceeded to New York, and entered extensively 
there into staging, and retired therefrom before 1836. In 1830-40 
he boarded with his cousin, S. E. Buck, at the Mount Vernon 
House, Philadelphia. He died about 1850, and left no descend- 
ants. He adopted a boy, to whom he left the bulk of estate. 

Joel Buck was born July 13, 1807, and we know still resided 
in Nockamixon in 1830. He married Margaret Buchheinier and 
removed to Spring Mill, below Norristown, where he died before 
1849. His widow subsequently moved to Philadelphia, where she 
was living in 1874. They had two sons, John B., and Henry. The 
former was a blacksmith by occupation, and of powerful frame and 
strength. He was for a while on the police force of the city, and 



52 THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 

became noted for his resolution and courage, which made him pop- 
ular. He next became a magistrate, which position he filled almost 
to the close of his life. His office and residence was 1523 N. 21st 
Street. He died about 1878, and left a widow and several children. 

Edward Buck's date of birth has not been ascertained ; he 
married November 26, 1835, Sarah, daughter of Moses and Eliza- 
beth Bougher, of Bougher's Hill, Williams Township. He resided 
for many years in Durham, where he was extensively engaged in 
lime burning. His kilns were on the north side of the creek and 
about half a mile from the present furnace. He died in January, 
1841, his will is dated November 4 of the previous year, wherein 
he appoints Michael Fackenthal, Esq., his executor, and that the 
money be given in charge of" his trusty friend," John H. Johnson, 
the interest whereof should go to the support of his children and 
wife during her widowhood. He left three children, Elizabeth, 
Sarah and John E. ; Sarah, his widow, about 1857, married George 
Ernest, a farmer residing in Durham beside the county line; though 
of advanced age is still hale and hearty. 

Elizabeth Buck, the eldest of Edward's children, was born in 
March, 1836, married Joseph Elliott, of Hunterdon County, N. J., 
in 1853, died in March, 1871, and left children, Ida, John and 
Elmer. Ida Elliott married Henry Schultz, who have a son How- 
ard married to Fannie Manning, having children George, Joseph, 
Raymond, Paul and Julia. Elmer Elliott married Nettie Edinger, 
and have children, Mattie, Elizabeth and John. Sarah Buck was 
born June 25, 1837, married Hiram Raub April 22, 1858, have 
children Cynthia D., Charles L., Anna B., and Mercy. Charles L. 
Raub married Addie Bean, of Nockamixon, and have a son Paul. 
They all reside in the vicinity of Riegelsville, Durham. The Raub 
family has for some time been settled in Williams Township, and 
are the founders of Raubsville. Hiram is a farmer, and his place 
is located beside the canal and river. 

John E. Buck was born June 17, 1840, married Isabella 
Dalton, September 16, 1865, and resides near the railroad in the 
lower part of Riegelsville, N. J. Has children, Edward T., Minnie 
Ethel, and AValter S. Edward T. Buck resides in Philadelphia, 
where he married Kate Fisher; his only son, Edward, died April 
22, 1892, aged 3 years. John E. enlisted in the service April 19, 
1861, at Trenton, in a New Jersey regiment. It being full, was 
afterward transferred to Col. Cogswell's New York regiment. 



THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 53 

Arrived in Washington the day of the battle of Bull Run, and 
was in the fight at Ball's Bluff. Was honorably discharged July 
13, 1864. He was chief marshall of the Centennial procession at 
Bucksville, June 11, 1892. Of whom the reporter of the Doyles- 
town Democrat mentions " as a veteran of the late war ; whose hair 
is still a glossy black and whose appearance might still be called 
youthful." His daughter, Minnie E., on said occasion read a paper 
on " Pleasant Memories through Early Associations." 

Martha Buck, the second daughter of Major John, was born 
June 30, 1809, and died unmarried about 1830. We have reason 
to believe, from the authority given to us, that she died of pulmon- 
ary consumption, which has been a rare disease in the other branches 
of the Buck family, and to which we shall hereafter briefly refer. 

Joseph Reading Buck, but generally known as Reading, was 
born June 23, 1811, and removed to Springfield, Illinois, about 
1834. In 1878 he revisited his kindred in and around Bucksville 
and Haycock. On this occasion he evinced the family trait of 
strong local attachment for the scenes of his early life. Enoch 
Buck was born June 3, 1813, and died at Tuscarora, near Lewis- 
town, Schuylkill County, either in 1841 or the following year. He 
■was married, and in his last letter to his brother Edward, dated 
August 17, 1841, mentioned the death of a son December 22, 1840, 
aged 5 months, 6 days. Theodore Buck removed to Illinois with 
his brother Reading, but cannot give any later or additional par- 
ticulars. 

Rebecca Buck was born April 27, 1817, and was married to 
Solomon Traugef; they had children, Edward B., Martha, Reading 
and Sarah. Edward B. Trauger was married, and died nearPlum- 
steadville in 1891, and has descendants. ]Martha married John 
Shick, and now resides near New Hope, where she died January 12, 
1893, aged 58 years. Reading is married and resides at Vineland, 
N. J. Sarah is married to John Ziegeufoos, and is deceased. The 
Trauger family is an old one in Nockamixon, and dates its origin 
to two brothers. Christian and Henry, who purchased land here in 
1767. They are generally farmers, and are numerous in the town- 
ship. We will have more to say about them when we come to treat 
on the early families around Bucksville. Nicholas Buck was a 
stone mason by occupation and must have died young. From what 
we are enabled to give on longevity, it would appear as if the 
descendants of Major John Buck have not near attained the aver- 



54 THE DESCENDANTS OF MAJOR JOHN BUCK. 

age in age as those of his brothers Nicholas and Jacol). To what 
extent pulmonary consumption may have been the cause from the 
single case mentioned we are unable at this writing to state, but 
deserves inquiry. 

DESCENDANTS OF NICHOLAS B. AND J. JUSTUS 

McCARTY. 

We resume here from a former page the descendants of the 
aforesaid brothers. Mary McCarty, daughter of Nicholas B., 
married August 1, 1856, John Kane, who have four children, 
George, Henry, Juliana and Ellen. George Kane, now deceased, 
married Matilda, daughter of Samuel B. and Helena Kohl, Feb- 
ruary 19, 1881. Henry Kane married Ellen, daughter of Josiah 
and Helena Shuman, of Bucksville, who have a daughter Viola. 
Juliana Kane married Ansel m, son of Josiah and Helena Shuman, 
and have children, Olive and Winfield. Ellen Kane married Henry 
N., son of Andrew and Sarah Heller ; have a child Francis. 
Johanna McCarty married December 29, 1868, Isaac, son of 
Philip and Ann O'Connell, who have three children, Lucinda, 
Anastasia and Austin. Mr. O'Connell in November, 1890, was 
elected Recorder of Deeds for Bucks County, which duties he is 
now performing. He has now removed to Doylestown from his 
farm near Bucksville. 

Austin McCarty married Lucinda, youngest daughter of 
Nicholas and Susanna Buck, of Bucksville, who have four children. 
He was also Recorder of Deeds, and is deceased. An account of 
him will be given when we come to notice his wife as a descendant 
of Nicholas Buck, Jr. Henry McCarty, after the death of his 
father, came in possession of the old McCarty homestead mentioned 
on a previous page. He married Mary Ellen, daughter of Allen 
and Lydia McCarty, who have children, Nora, Arthur, Celeste, 
Blanche and Grace. He is deceased for several years, and his farm 
was purchased by Thomas Y. McCarty, who now occupies it. The 
descendants of Nicholas B. and Juliana McCarty chiefly reside in 
Nockamixon and Haycock Townships. His daughter Mary Kane 
and family, and Austin's family now reside in South Bethlehem. 

John Justus McCarty, at his death in Philadelphia, left five 
surviving children. Thomas McCarty is a builder and contractor, 
and resides in Philadelphia ; married to Emma, daughter of Samuel 
and Mary Kohl, of Berks County, and have two children. 



DESCENDANTS OF NICHOLAS KOHL. 55 

Jerome McCarty died iu the city August 27, 1873, aged 32 years 
2 mouths. John Justus is married, and has children. Frank 
resides in the city, and also his two sisters, Wilhelmina and 
Elizabeth. 

THE DESCENDANTS OF NICHOLAS KOHL. 

We resume here from a former page the descendants of Mary 
Ann Buck, married to Nicholas Kohl, of Nockamixon, where all his 
children were born. Matilda Kohl, the eldest daughter is deceased, 
was married and has no descendants now li%nng. Mary Kohl 
was born in August, 1810, and married Aaron the son of Nicholas 
McCarty. He is for some time deceased, and his wife died in the city 
Februai'y 11, 1893. Their children are Elizabeth, Frank, Emma, 
Howard, Joseph, Josephine and Martha. Elizabeth married 
Edward McGrath, of Reading, and have children and grandchild- 
ren there. Elizabeth has been deceased for some time. Emma mar- 
ried William McCarty, son of Nicholas, have a daughter Kegina, and 
reside at Chicago, where he is a merchant. Howard married 
Elizabeth Hurley, have children Joseph, Elizabeth and Martha. 
Frank is single. Anthony Kohl resides at Bethlehem ; by occu- 
pation a wheelright ; is married and has children. Isaac Kohl 
married Charlotte Zerfoss, granddaughter of Major Jacob Buck, 
and now resides at Washington, New Jersey, 

Thomas Kohl is a farmer in Nockamixon, and married 
Catharine, daughter of Jacob Riegel ; has children, Amanda, Sarah, 
Hugh, Molinda, Catharine, Mary Alliday, Agnes and Annie Jane. 
Amanda married William Beam, who has six children. Sarah 
Kohl married Joseph Hous. Hugh married Eliza Kedrick, who 
have a son Frederick, and by a second wife, Henrietta, has children 
— Zeno, Sylvester, Clarence, Gertrude and Claude. Molinda mar- 
ried Oscar Hous, who have a daughter Viola. Mary Alliday mar- 
ried Henry N., son of Jonas H. and Hannah Buck, have a son Joseph 
Vincent. ' Anna Jane married William Gorman, who have children 
May, Cecilia and Bertha. After the death of his wife, Thomas 
Kohl married Mary, daughter of Daniel and Catharine Atherholt, 
with whom he has children Ida, Anastasia, Theresa, Francis and 
AUoysious. Theresa married William J. Casey, and have a son 

Thomas. ,. -v^. i i i 

Samuel B. Kohl married Helena, daughter of >ichola.s and 

Susanna Buck, of Bucksville, under which head a more full account 



56 THE DESCENDANTS OF NICHOLAS KOHL, 

will be given. Elizabeth Kohl was born in 1824, and was mar- 
ried to Elisha McCarty, brother of Aaron, also for some time 
deceased. They have children Augustus, Anna, Vincent, Charles 
and Elizabeth, all of whom were married and have descendants, 
excepting Charles, Joseph Kohl was married and lived for a 
considerable time in Bethlehem, where he died. Has children, 
Agnes, Manford, Claudius, Bertrand and James ; the latter being 
married. Martha Kohl married William Grace, now deceased^ 
have a son Charles. Edward Cole was born in 1832, and resides 
at Port Richmond, and has children and grandchildren. The 
descendants of the aforesaid Nicholas and Mary Ann Kohl are 
numerous, and chiefly reside in Nockamixon, Philadelphia and 
Bethlehem. 

A difficulty attends the genealogy of this family, for which 
some of the late members can blame themselves. About 1860, a 
few residing in Philadelphia changed the spelling of their surname 
which has been since persistently maintained, while the majority 
have as strongly adhered to the original form. The editor, in 
assuming this labor, and knowing the affiliations of this family with 
the Bucks for nearly the past century and a half, asked one of those 
Coles the reason for so spelling their name. The answer was because 
it was more English. To which re})ly was made, If that was the 
object it should have been Coal, which was the correct meaning in 
the German, In visiting, recently, a cemetery, this singular con- 
trast was presented on a row of tombstones, however, only some of 
the more recent ones denoted the change. Possessing some acquaint- 
ance with the Kohls of Bucks and Montgomery Counties, find that 
they are generally unwilling to submit to such an innovation. 

THE SONS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, Jr. 

There is reason to believe that all the children of the aforesaid 
were born in Bucksville, and, owing to their number, will mention 
his five sons first, in the order of their birth, with notices of their 
several descendants. Those that died in early life, as has been our 
general practice heretofore, will be omitted, as not essential to the 
purposes of genealogy, preferring to substitute therefor additional 
information respecting those who, whilst living from the greater 
opportunities afforded them, enacted a more important and con- 
spicuous part for those now on the stage of existence. 



THE SONS OF NICHOLAS RUCK, JR. 57 

John H. Buck was born March 6, 1814, and in early life 
learned and followed the blacksmith's trade, and later farming. 
About 1837 he married Susan, the daughter of Daniel and Susan 
Ziegler, by whom he had nine children that attained to maturity — 
Augustus, Emaline, Mary, Samuel, Matilda, Ignatius, Frank. John 
and Katie. His wife having died November 16, 1876, aged nearly 
62 years, he subsequently married Mrs. Mary Hoffman, and the 
result of this union was Agatha and Mary. He was long a resident 
of Bucksville, where he held several positions, as school director, 
tax collector, post-master, and besides Avas here the sixth captain 
and the third major bearing the family name in the military. He 
afterward moved to Ottsville, where he was for several years post- 
master and merchant. At Doylestown he kept for several years the 
Clear Spring Hotel, and there later entered into the milk business, 
in which he continued until his death, which took place August 
28, 1890,* aged 76 years, and nearly 6 months, leaving sixty living 
descendants. He was of a quiet, orderly disposition, having but few 
or no enemies. Respecting his first wife's family, we find that John 
and Jacob Ziegler arrived here in 1746, from Rotterdam. Peter 
Ziegler, of Spiingfield, entered the service in 1775, and ]Michael 
Ziegler, of Tinicum, gave his allegiance in 1778. 

Augustus Buck was born in 1838, and married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Michael and Rosanna Halpin, February 25, 1865. The 
latter was a Raub of the Raubsville family. They had six children 
— Lillie M., Rosa C, Philip H., Susan J., Lizzie M., and Augustus 
H. Rosa C. married September 28, 1889, Frank N. Pohl, of 
Wilkesbarre, where they reside. Augustus was a former and served 
a full term in the 104 Pennsylvania Regiment, and from a corporal 
was promoted to a first sergeant. As an instance of his strength 
while in the service, he could seize with his hands the ends of a bar- 
rel of flour lying on the ground, and, with little apparent effort, 
without touching his body, lift it into the body of an army wagon. 
This information we have from several of his comrades who wit- 
nessed it, and who state that though repeated attempts had been 
made by others to do the same, none had been successful. Pie died 
in Easton, June 17, 1887, where his widow still resides and nearly 
all his descendants. _ 

* Remarkable to state, his grandfather, Captain Nicholas Buck, died August 
28, 1829, just 61 years before. 



58 THE SONS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 

Einaline Buck married William Heaney, of Tinicum, April 28, 
1859, and where they reside. Have children — Anastasia, John 
Lewis, William, Henry, Charles, Sylvester and Isaac B. Anastasia 
Heaney married George Mich, and have children — Anna, Sylvester, 
Emma, Bertha, Thomas, Walter, Samuel and Florence. Mary 
Buck married Jacob F. Meyers, May 26, 1867 ; their children are 
Mary, Anna and Cecilia. He served nearly three years in the 
second Pennsylvania regiment of cavalry. Samuel Buck married 
Rebecca Bowman, and resides in the West. Matilda Buck married 
Oliver H. Fisher, April 9, 1877, and have children — Susan, Alfred, 
Matilda, Edward and Martha; their mother is since deceased. 
Ignatius Buck married Mary McCall, and have children — Philip, 
Jesse, William and Albert. Frank Buck married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of John Emory, of Ottsville ; she is deceased. Katie Buck mar- 
ried Edward Kulp, of Tinicum, and have children — Lillie, Fannie, 
Annie, Robert, Elsie and Emaline. Lillie Kulp married Howard 
Steely. 

Samdel Buck, the second son, was born November 31, 1820, 
and married Rebecca, daughter of William and Rebecca Haney, of 
Tinicum, November 28, 1855. He was a farmer and resided all 
his life in Bucksville, where he died May 9, 1869, aged 48 years and 
nearly 6 months. He left two sons, John T. and Alloy'sious. The 
former was born in November, 1864, and resides with his mother on 
the place which has now been continuously in the family for a cen- 
tury, hence all improvements now thereon from its forest state is 
owing to them. The property has been enlarged by purchases of 
adjoining lands. He has been for some time a vocal and instru- 
mental music teacher, and an agent for the sale of the Estey organ, 
for which he has had, several years ago, a store-house specially con- 
structed. He was, for a while, organist of St. John's Church, Hay- 
cock. He is the founder and treasurer of the Bucksville Cornet 
Band of 23 pieces, of which we shall give mention hereafter. His 
weight is 328 pounds, and for all this is an exceedingly active man. 
In a letter to the editor, dated September 23, 1892, he stated that he 
would run fifty yards with any man, subject to New York rules, 
that is, to bear a sufficiency of extra weight to make it equalize with 
himself. Here is a chance for athletes and would prove a sight 
well worth witnessing. Alloysious Buck was born January 21, 
1866, and married September 22, 1883, to Eva Theresa, daughter 
of Andrew and Kuneyonde Mich. Have a daughter, Sadie Regin a, 



THE SONS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 59 

born April 22, 1886. He is a farmer, and resides about a mile 
southwest of Bucksville. 

Jonas H. Buck was born December 22, 1822, and married 

Hannah, daughter of Klinker, of Haycock, June 15, 1851. 

He was, for some time, a merchant in Bucksville, and later kept the 
hotel there. Owing partially to an attack of paralysis which has 
unfitted him for active business since 1879, has retired to his farm 
in said village, where he resides. He is the owner of the hotel prop- 
erty to which a portion of the original purchase made in 1792, from 
Christian Klinker, is attached. He has sons — Henry, Xewton, 
Thomas, Godfrey, James, Nicholas and Sylvester. 

Henry N. Buck is a farmer, and resides near Applebachsville, 
his first wife was Mary Alliday, daughter of Thomas and Catharine 
Kohl, by whom he has a son Joseph Vincent, born in 1875. He 
subsequently married Anna Laura, daughter of Daniel and Caro- 
line Atherholt, of Nockamixon, October 14, 1886, have a son Stan- 
ley, born in 1891. The Atherholt family of Haycock and adjacent 
parts is descended from Christian Atherholt, who arrived in Phila- 
delphia in 1753, and settled on a tract of 150 acres in New Britain 
Township prior to 1771. Thomas Buck married Emaline, daugliter 
of Samuel Shive, March 9, 1886. Godfrey married Mary Cathar- 
ine, daughter of Edward and Sophia McCarty. James married 
Anna Shive, sister of Emaline, and daughter of Samuel, and have 
two children. Sylvester Buck married Annie Fahr, of Durham, 
August 20, 1892. Isabella, the only daughter of Jonas H. Buck^ 
died February 5, 1873, aged 12 years, 5 months. 

Alfred Buck was born in December, 1825 ; a stone mason by 
occupation, and later a farmer in Bucksville. He married, May 2, 
1844, Helena, daughter of John and Elizabeth Buck, of Tinicum. 
About 1873 he removed to South Bethlehem, and was elected, for 
six years, high constable. In 1880 accepted the situation of super- 
intendent of the grounds attached to the Lehigh University, which 
position he still retains. While constable of Nockamixon, he cap- 
tured in May, 1862, the notorious burglar, Aaron Algart, and the 
ingenious manner in which he recovered the money is related in Mr. 
Frankenfield's sketch of Haycock Run Valley in this work. Alfred 
had eleven children, of whom six attained to maturity. Jerome, 
William J., Jordan H., Josephine, Lucinda and Charles Austin. 

Jerome Buck, the eldest son, was born April 11, 1845, and 
entered Company F., of the 174 Pennsylvania Ilegiment, and died 



60 THE SONS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 

in the service. William J. was born September 21, 1847, married 
Kate Gallagher, May 2, 1888, has children Mary, Alfred and 
Elizabeth. He has resided for some time in the city, and keeps a 
store of lightning-rod fixtures, vanes, etc., at 1728 Ridge Avenue. 
Jordan H. was born April 26, 1850, and married Sophia E. Witzell, 
August 19, 1873. Josephine Buck was born May 3, 1854, married 
William Halpine, January 12, 1880, and have six children. 
Lucinda Buck was born December 22, 1859, and resides in South 
Bethlehem. 

Charles Austin Buck, the youngest of the children, was born 
March 14, 1867, and married Josephine Martha, daughter of John 
and Emma Reinche, October 19, 1892. While attending the public 
schools he showed an aptitude for knowledge which caused his 
father to send him on a four years' course on analytical chemistry 
to Lehigh University, from which he graduated in June, 1887. 
Soon after he became the chemist of the extensive steel and iron 
works at South Bethlehem, which do a vast amount of government 
work, particularly for the navy. He has been promoted within the 
past few years to be chief of the department of experimental chem- 
istry, a very responsible position. He has been sent by said com- 
pany several years ago to Cuba and Brazil, on purpose to analyze 
minerals from their native beds, as to their quality or future value 
for manufacturing purposes. From the beginning of his college 
career down to the present time, has given the most devoted atten- 
tion to his profession, and we have no doubt of his attaining pro- 
ficiency therein. At the late Centennial celebration, he read a 
paper on the Bucksville Piano Class of 1814-15, published in this 
work. 

Michael Buck was born May 16, 1827, and married Emma 
Jane, daughter of John R. and Anna Ott, of Tinicum, August 10, 
1854. He is the youngest son of his father's family, and in early 
life learned the cabinet or furniture making trade with the Allen 
Brothers near Jenkintown, which he subsequently followed for 
several years in Bucksville. In 1875 he moved to Philadelphia, 
and not long thereafter took charge of the Barley Sheaf Hotel in 
Second Street near Vine, which he conducted until about 1886, 
when he sold out his interest therein and moved to his property No. 
1700 East Lehigh Avenue, where he has since been keeping a cloth- 
ing and variety store. His surviving children are Francis Bazilla, 
Ida Jane McLaughlin and James Edward. 



THE SONS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 61 

Francis Bazilla Buck was born June 8, 1852, and married 
Mary Ann Farley in 1875. He has now for some time kept tlie 
White Horse Hotel, 316 North Third Street. His children are 
Anastasia, Flora, Howard and Alice. Anastasia read at the Bucks- 
ville Centennial celebration, a poem entitled " Nockamixon's Greet- 
ing," and Alice, though only eight and a half years old on said 
occasion, sung the Centennial Song and several other pieces that 
had been specially composed and set to original music. Ida Jane 
McLaughlin was born October 9, 1862, and resides in Lehigh Ave- 
nue. James Edward was born November 28, 1865, and bore the 
banner in the Centennial procession, with the Buck coat-of-arms 
thereon, that bad been specially prepared by his mother. All the 
aforesaid reside in the city. A daughter, Elizabeth Alice, was born 
December 28, 1853 ; died July 20, 1880, aged 26 years and over 
5 months. 

THE DAUGHTERS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, Jr. 

Mary Buck was born January 3, 1816, and about 1835 mar- 
ried Isaac McCarty, of Nockamixon. In early life he taught school 
for a brief time. In 1835 he was elected to the Assembly, and not 
long thereafter was appointed collector of tolls on the Delaware 
Canal at New Hope, a position he held for several years. He died 
in Durham, September 1, 1874, aged 64 years. Their surviving 
children are William, Mary Ellen, Samuel and Agnes. 

William McCarty married Lillie Oliver, of Virginia ; have a 
daughter Willette married to Joseph Kaufman, who. have children, 
Lillian and EUie. Mary Ellen McCarty married James Adams, 
April 24, 1878, and have children Thomas and Augustus. Patrick 
McCarty married Emma Wehl and have children Arthur and 
Agnes. He is lately deceased. This family is scattered ; some reside 
in Durham, Easton, Philadelphia and in the West. 

Helena Buck, born August 12, 1717, married in 1841, Sam- 
uel B., son of Nicholas and Mary Ann Kohl, and with her husband 
ba^been a life-long resident of Bucksville. He was a carpenter by 
occupation, and was born 1819, and died on the Kohl homestead 
May 26, 1882, aged nearly 63 years. Their children are Mary 
Emilv, Salome, born March 5,1845; J. Howard, Nicholas, Matilda, 
Isabella, born 1852 ; Stephen, Milton 1856, and Alexander in 18o8. 

Mary Emily Kohl was born July 8, 1845, and married, govern- 
ber27 1867 John W., son of Isaac Kohl, and have children, Vincent, 



62 THE DAUGHTERS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 

born 1869; Eugene, 1870 ; AUoysius, 1874; Regina, March 5, 1875; 
Laurence, 1877; Sylvester, 1879; Blaseus, 1881, and Helena Isabella, 
1885. J. Howard Kohl was born October 11, 1847, marrietl Mary, 
daughter of Andrew and Kuneyonde Mich, and have children Augus- 
tus, George, Francis, Laurence, Samuel, Clara, Raymond, TiCO and 
Agnes. He was in the late war and served in Company E, of the 
Fifth Pennsylvania Regiment. Nicholas Kohl was born in October, 
1847, and died in Philadelphia, December 15, 1886, aged upward 
of 38 years. Matilda Kohl, born in 1850, married George Kane, 
February 19, 1881 ; he is since deceased. Stephen Kohl, in 1854, 
married Mary, daughter of William and Anna Murphy, of Lam- 
bertville, N. J., June 18, 1876, has children — Clement, born in 
1877, and Nicholas and AVilliam, twins, born in 1886. He is a 
painter, and resides in Philadelphia. The descendants of Helena 
and Samuel B. Kohl are likely to become numerous, their grand- 
children now alone numbering above twenty. They chiefly reside 
in Bucks County, Philadelphia, Bethlehem and vicinity. 

Sophia Buck married Timothy Murphy, of South Easton. He 
is for some time deceased. Their surviving children are William 
J., Augustus, Howard and Ellen. AVilliam J. Murphy married 
Rose Heitzler, and have four children living — Li Hie, Mamie, 
William and Roy. Howard Murphy married Hannah Mcllhaney 
and have children — Edward, John and Ellen. Ellen Murphy 
married Edward McFadden. The aforesaid chiefly reside in South 
Easton. 

Salome Buck married Francis Donnelly, of South Easton, 
the latter deceased for several years. Their children Maggie, 
Terence F., Thomas R., John G., Cecilia and Frank. Terence F. 
Donnelly married Lydia Choller, and have children Theresa and 
Frank. 

LuciNDA Buck, the youngest of the daughters of the late 
Nicholas Buck, of Bucksville, married, February 14, 1871, Austin, 
the son of Nicholas B. and Juliana McCarty, of Nockamixon. 
Through his wife he became the owner of the old homestead property 
in Bucksville, with about ten acres of land from the original purchase 
of 1792. He kept store here for some time. In November, 1884, 
he was elected Recorder of Deeds for Bucks County, and on the 
expiration of his term removed back here again where he died Feb- 
ruary 16, 1888, aged 49 years. His widow sold the property to 
Harvey Keyser, who occupied the same in April, 1890, after being 



THE DAUGHTERS OF NICHOLAS BUCK, JR. 6;> 

in possession of the Buck family 97 years. A further accouut of 
the old homestead will be hereafter given. The children of this 
union are Justus Wiufield, born in 1871 ; Francis, January 2, 
1873 ; Henry, May 19, 1874, and Susan, January U, 1874. The 
aforesaid all now reside in South Bethlehem. One of the sons is a 
clerk in the extensive steel and iron works there. 

THE DESCENDANTS OF JACOB E. BUCK. 

William Joseph Buck, the eldest son of the aforesaid, was 
born in the old family mansion at Bucksville, March 4, 1825. After 
attending the neighboring schools, at the early age of eight years 
was sent in charge of an uncle to Doylestown Academy, where he 
continued at intervals down to the spring of 1842. His father, the 
latter year, removed to Willow Grove, where William J. chiefly 
resided until in the summer of 1866. He W'as principal of the pub- 
lic school there from August, 1847, until near the close of 1849, 
when through ill health he resigned. In 1844 he became a member 
of the Hatboro Library, of which he was a director for several years. 
In October, 1857, he was elected Auditor of Montgomery County, 
and served two terms. Contributed historical and scientific articles 
to the Bucks County Intelligencer from 1850 to 1862. 

In 1852 the Historical Society of Pennsylvania published his 
history of Moreland in their Collections, and since has been a fre- 
quent contributor to their works. In 1854 appeared his history of 
Bucks County, and five years later his history of Montgomery 
County, both pioneer works. As may be seen in the lately published 
Bibliography of Montgomery County, a mere mention of the titles 
of his several works to this time would fill several pages. Among 
these will only mention two additional histories of Montgomery 
County— History of the Indian Walk, Local Sketches and Legends, 
The Local Historian, and William Penn in America. The last 
History of Montgomery County was published by Evarts and Peck 
in 1884, at an expense of 845,000, occupying him nearly two and a 
half years writing fully one half of it, being an imperial octavo 
volume of 1285 double column pages, and magnificently illustrated, 
some of the drawings being executed by him. It met with such 
successful sale that in addition to his compensation the publisher.^ 
made him a handsome present. 

He has, on several occasions, read papers before various histor- 
ical and scientific associations, which have been extensively pub- 
5 



64 THE DESCENDANTS OF JACOB E. BUCK. 

lished. By request, he delivered the Historical Oration before the 
Montgomery County Centennial Association at Norristowu, Sep- 
tember 10, 1884, and was chairman of the antiquarian committee, 
also on the publication committee, and one of the editors of their 
official proceedings issued in a handsome volume of 467 pages. 
From 1870 to 1879 was employed at the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania in arranging manuscripts, making copies of early records 
and as librarian. In 1866 he purchased a farm in Caroline County, 
Maryland, where he has since partly resided, as well as occasionally 
at his homestead place in Hatboro and Jenkintown. In August, 
1889, he received a paralytic attack from which he has now nearly 
recovered as to be almost as active as formerly, but proved a serious 
drawback to his literary and other labors for nearly two years. 

James Nicholas Buck was born at Stony Point, June 15, 
1830, and when he became of age went West, where he has since 
resided. He married Anne, daughter of James C. and Ann Wyatt, 
of Taylorsville, November 23, 1754, and soon after located himself 
in business at Louisville. In the late war he served for some time 
in the Union Kentucky regiment, raised chiefly in the aforesaid 
city, until discharged for physical disability, from which he did not 
recover. He died April 25, 1880, aged nearly 50 years, surviving 
his father but two months. He left three children, Kate, William 
and George W. Kate was born August 5, 1858, married Charles 
F. McKay, September 13, 1887, who has since deceased; have a 
daughter, Bessie Dorn, born March 13, 1889. William Buck was 
born February 19, 1865, married Mary R. daughter of Mathiasand 
Annie M.. Ackerman, November 12, 1890, have children, George E., 
born August 9, 1791, and Louis H., born September 7, 1892. 
George W. Buck was born July 19, 1869, married Ethel, daughter 
of Major Samuel Leighton, June 3, 1891. All the aforesaid reside 
in Louisville, Kentucky. 

Isabella Buck, the only daughter, was born in Willow Grove, 
May 16, 1844, married to J. Frank, son of William and Helen 
Cottmann, May 16, 1867. They reside in Jenkintown, and he is 
the proprietor of the Cottman House, with three acres of land, now 
in the family since April 1, 1834. The Cottmans have long been 
settled in the vicinity of Frankford, and tombstones in the Oxford 
Episcopal churchyard bear the name as far back as 1755. 



THE DESCENDANTS OF SAMUEL E. BUCK. Qo 

THE DESCENDANTS OF SAMUEL Br^UCK. 

Jerome Buck, eldest son of the aforesai(Vwas born May 18, 
1835 ; his father having died December G, 134o, he was thus bereft 
of a parent at the early age of five and a half years. However, his 
education was not neglected by his mother, nor later by John Titus, 
her second husband, in the Philadelphia schools, also going for some 
time to the Freemont Seminary, Norristown, of which Rev. Samuel 
Aaron was principal. He studied law with Mr. Titus, and was 
admitted to the bar in Philadelphia, May 31, 1856, and after a few 
years practice there, removed to New York, where he has since 
pursued his profession. He married Kate, daughter of Thomas C. 
and Mary Ann McGrath, at Lexington, Ky., April 17, 1865, Mr. 
McGrath was formerly a mex'chant in Louisville. 

In addition to his practice, Jerome finds time for occasional 
literary efforts, both in prose and poetry, which have been published 
in various periodicals. He has also been frequently called upon to 
deliver addresses before various associations in New York and Penn- 
sylvania. Among these may be mentioned the Bucks County Bi- 
Centennial at Doylestown, in 1882, Fourth of July oration at South 
Bethlehem in 1890, before the Bucks County Bar, at Doylestown, 
in January, 1892. In 1874 he visited Europe, and more recently 
made another trip, making speeches and addresses there, and of 
which he has kept a journal he contemplates publishing. 

He has exhibited some of the characteristic family traits which 
will be hereafter more fully dwelt upon, namely : fluency of speech 
and the acquisition of languages, also a strong local attachment for 
Bucks County, so long the home of his paternal and maternal ances- 
tors. Now, for about a quarter of a century, spending some time 
every year therein, thus keeping up and renewing old associa- 
tions, the influence of which has induced him to secure a lot in the 
Doylestown Cemetery, where now repose beside enduring granite the 
remains of his wife, and where, as he has expressed himself in a 
recent letter to the editor, he too expects to be buried. 

His children are Jerome, born July 13, 1867 ; Ethel, Septem- 
ber 27, 1869 ; Jessie Howard, November 17, 1871, and Emily, Sep- 
tember 12, 1874. Jerome Buck, Jr., has a position in the office of 
the Netv York World. He married, October 2, 1890, Jennie E. 
Edwards, and have a daughter, Adele, born December 4, 1891. 
They all reside in the city of New York. The wife of Jerome Buck 
died in 1889. 



Q& THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

Howard Buck, second son of Samuel E., was born in Doyles- 
town in March, 1837, and served in a Philadelphia regiment during 
the late war. He subsequently went West, and died in Detroit in 
1870. His remains were brought hither, and repose beside his 
mother and maternal grandparents in the burial ground attached to 
the Presbyterian Church in Doylestown. 

THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

This event had its origin in a trivial occurrence which may be 
now worth relating. The editor, through a paralytic attack, received 
at his Maryland home, August 12, 1889, became unfitted for liter- 
ary labor through an inability to exercise his hands in writing for 
about nine months. The Buckwampun Literary Association having 
agreed to hold their third annual meeting at Stony Garden in 
Haycock Township, June 14, 1890, and, within a few weeks pre- 
ceding it, several letters were sent him, most urgently desiring his 
presence there, and, if possible, to read a paper on said occasion. 
His sister, on learning this, promised, if he would go, to accompany 
him, and see to his welfare in case of any return of said complaint of 
which he had not yet more than three-fourths recovered. 

The Doylestown Democrat, of June 9, made the following 
remarks on this matter: " We are gratified to learn that William 
J. Buck has sufiiciently recovered from the effects of a severe para- 
lytic stroke received last August, as to go on a brief visiting tour to 
relatives and friends residing in the upper-end townships. He will 
also be present at the literary picnic at Stony Garden, to come off, 
if the weather be favorable, next Saturday. His sister, Mrs. J. F. 
Cottman, of Jenkintown, will accompany him." It was through 
this arrangement that he was willing to be present and participate 
therein to the extent of his ability. 

On his return to Bucksville, observing the interest that was 
there taken in music by the young men of the neighborhood at the 
house of John T. Buck, their teacher, he suggested to them why not 
form a Cornet Band, and prepare themselves for a Centennial Cele- 
bration of the founding of Bucksville, to be held two years hence? 
From this suggestion came the Band, the Celebration, the Buck 
family reunion, and this work, with a number of other interesting 
matters associated therewith. The results were such as no one could 
have previously fancied, and the influence of which is likely to be 
exerted in said vicinity into future generations, from the universal 



THE BUCKSVILLE CENTE^TNIAL CELEBRATION. 67 

satisfaction it appeared to give to the numerous descendants of the 
family, as well as to those of their old neighbors who participated 
therein, having, in all respects, in interest greatly exceeded their 
expectations, and therefore a subject to be long held in grateful 
remembrance. 

Although considerable rain had fallen the several previous 
weeks, the morning of June 11, 1892, came in a lovely day, that 
too at the most beautiful time of the year. The dust was laid, and, 
on the preceding day, it had cleared ofl', and the sun arose in the 
eastern horizon unobscured, and threw its golden light over plain, 
valley and the magnificent mountain top of the Haycock, not two 
miles distant. Nearly with dawn, in honor of the event, many of 
the houses in the village and its vicinity, even in some cases to the 
extent of upwards of a mile, were decorated with numerous flags 
betokening some unusual and joyous occurrence. The large 
flag that was suspended over the road from a rope from the 
the top of the hotel to the large building on the opposite side, 
attracted considerable attention from the brightness of its colors 
and the beauty of its graceful undulations as acted upon by the 
gently wafting breeze. Pains were taken that the old mansion that 
had been in possession of the family for ninety-seven years, and had 
only passed therefrom in April, 1889, be duly honored, and was 
therefore gaily decorated with numerous flags and Chinese lanterns, 
which were illuminated in the night, as was also the hotel and 
several other buildings. 

At the fourth annual meeting of the Buckwampun Literary 
Association, held at Springtown, June 13, 1891, from an invitation 
extended to them, it was there unanimously resolved that the next 
annual meeting be held near Bucksville jointly with the Buck family 
reunion and its Centennial celebration, which was deemed emi- 
nently proper under the circumstances in which it had its origin, as 
was referred to in the addresses delivered by its president as well as 
the secretary. In return for this compliment, the Bucksville Cen- 
tennial Association, through its chairman and committee, deemed it 
appropriate and fitting for such an eventful occasion that a collec- 
tion be avoided and that all expenses necessarily incurred in mak- 
ing it a success be borne among themselves, which, it is grutifymg 
to say to all concerned, was most satisfactorily and harmoniously 

carried out. . 

For several days previously, the descendants of the Buck family 



68 THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

kept arriving from various directions, as from Philadelphia, Mont- 
gomery and Northampton Counties, as well as from New Jersey, 
and cheerfully rendered their assistance with their kindred and 
others of the village and vicinity as to a faithful performance of all 
that had been announced on the programme. It is highly creditable 
to say that from the beginning to the end this was successfully 
accomplished, for every name mentioned thereon, did the person 
bearing it nobly respond to perform the part that had been duly 
assigned and accepted. The woods selected to hold the meeting in 
were over five acres in extent, located about three-fourths of a mile 
north of Bucksville, and a few hundred yards west of the Durham 
road. Levi Trauger, the owner, had given his assent thereto two 
years previously, but having since died, his family acquiesced in the 
same. Here the Bucksville Cornet Band, for the refreshment stand, 
erected at their expense, a large and handsome platform for the 
several performers, with numerous seats for the audience, nearly all 
made from planed white pine boards and gaily decorated with flags, 
over which was suspended the handso'me blue silk banner bear- 
ing the Buck family coat-of-arms. It was readily admitted that for 
convenience and comfort the arrangements here surpassed all those 
at the previous meetings of the Literary Association. 

As early as nine o'clock carriages began to arrive, but at ten 
and eleven the number kept largely increasing from various direc- 
tions, and by half-past twelve commenced to wend their way to the 
place of meeting in the woods. By one o'clock the throng was 
great and ready in the arrangements. Unfortunately, several of 
the members of the Cornet Band, in April, had got somewhat 
scattered by removal, and were, in consequence, delayed in the vil- 
lage in getting together to be conveyed in their band wagon by four 
spirited horses, which did not arrive on the ground until two o'clock, 
when the proceedings were commenced by Hon. C. E. Hindenach. 
The president called the assemblage to order, when the Band 
played " Hoist up the Flag ; " when he delivered the opening 
address, as follows : 

Members of the Buckivampmi Historical and Literary Association, 
Ladies and Gentlemen : 

Like the faithful Mohammedan, who is willing to submit to 
the greatest sacrifices possible, in order that he may be accorded the 
privilege of a pilgrimage to Mecca, thereby evincing a spirit of 



THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 69 

devotion to the creed of his fathers, and thus become more thor- 
oughly imbued with a renewed zeal, we, too, have laid aside our 
several avocations of life, to wend our steps toward this, the literary- 
Mecca of northeastern Bucks County, for inspiration and pleasure. 
Your beaming countenances, friends, as they loom up before 
me now, with a glow of joyous expectation depicted on them, is an 
unmistakable evidence that you have come here for a i)urpose, and 
also an indication of the depth to which the commendable work of 
the association has intrenched itself in the hearts of the people. 

Yes, the Buckwampun Historical and Literary Association, to 
whose fifth annual meeting I now have the pleasure of welcoming 
you, is not of mushroom growth or origin, but an active, genuine 
reality, destined to live and exert an elevating influence along the 
various channels of life to which its work will be continued. A 
retrospective view of the work of the association must be gratifying 
to its members, while a prospective view is hopeful and encourag- 
ing. Indeed, this association does not propose to take a step back- 
ward. 

Agreeable with the spirit and design of the association, its 
meetings are held in a different localit) annually, thus affording an 
equal opportunity for the several communities to contribute to its 
literature and local historical researches, as well as share in the 
privileges which such meetings afford. Our meeting to-day is of a 
two-fold nature. It is intended, primarily, to participate in the 
Buck family centennial. It is eminently fitting and proper that 
the association should thus honor its founder, William J. liuck, l)y 
inaugurating the centennial exercises through its annual programme 
and thus contribute, in some degree at least, to its success. 

The Buck family is not an unknown one. Its influence in the 
professions as well as in the various departments of human industry, 
is not confined to this immediate locality, to the county, nor to the 
State at large, but penetrates even beyond. It is with no small 
degree of pleasure, therefore, that we grasp by the hand the descend- 
ants of this remarkable family, whose ancestors contributed so 
largely to the early development of the varied resources of the com- 
munitv. The influence of the original Buck fiunily is still mam- 
tained bv its descendants, notably among them William J. Bu<k, 
the founder of this association, as well as the originator of the Buck 
family centennial, and recognized as a tower of strength in the 
local historical field of research, and John T. Buck, whose activity 



70 THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

and reliability have stamped themselves upon the hearts of the peo- 
ple of his community where he is best and most favoral)ly known. 

But, in the second place, the association, true to its profession, 
has met to render a literary programme that shall be in keeping 
with its purpose and design. Well has it been said that literature 
is the immortality of speech. It is as far reaching in its effects as 
the boundless waves of the ocean, and as indestructible as the rocks 
that form yonder hill. The gems of thought that are woven 
together and stamped upon the pages of literature, will live and 
shine after the lapse of ages with the brilliancy of a diamond, when 
the vital spark of its creator shall have gone out in darkness, and 
they who knew him once shall know him no more. 

True, this community cannot boast of a Cleopatra's needle, 
covered with hieroglyphics of a departed language, nor of obelisks or 
pyramids to stand as monuments to a great and mysterious people. 
But it can do infinitely more than that. This community, this asso- 
ciation, can endeavor to make monuments of the peo])le themselves. 
The noblest of monuments that are impervious to the destructible 
influences of the elements that surround them — are the lives of 
such men and women, who, through their labors, have elevated 
humanity to a higher jilane of existence. The great aim and 
purpose of the members of this association is to strive to write 
high their names in the niche of fame. Not, however, with the 
warrior's garment stained with blood ; not upon the perishable 
monuments of earth, but in the lowlier walks of life, and upon the 
hearts of humanity. 

It is to be hoped that when the originators of this association 
shall lay aside their mantles, that they may fall on worthy shoulders. 
Their unfinished work will rest on our hands to strengthen and 
expand that which they so nobly began. May we not prove recreant 
to the trust committed to our charge. May the sacred stream of 
social and literary attainments, and local historical research, pass 
by us as pure as when it reached us, so that those who shall come 
after us may receive and still further develop it. May the social 
cords that unite us as an association be those of a common interest, a 
unity of purpose and a deepened, widened love for the noble work 
in which we have enlisted. May the pillars that support our liter- 
ary organizations throughout the rural districts, be so strengthened 
that their influences shall spread and grow until they shall pene- 



THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 71 

trate the hidden recesses of mental darkness and illuminate, them 
with higher and nobler aspirations. 

And, friends, when the deepening shadows shall tell of another 
day having fulfilled its little mission, amid the ever-chauging scenes 
of hurrying time, I trust that the associations clustering around it 
will always be a source of pleasure and profit in the quiet calm of 
the future. I thank you for your attention, and welcome you once 
more to the historical, literary and musical feast that is in waiting 
for you. 

Miss Anastasia Buck, of Philadelphia, was next introduced as 
the great-great-granddaughter of Captain Nicholas Buck, the founder 
of Bucksville, who recited the following poem : 



NOCKAMIXON'S GREETING. 

Nockamixon extends to you a greeting 
For holding on her soil this meeting, 
The first here, but we hope not the last, 
And that each will improve on the past ; 
That Literature will thus advance, 
As Education improves the chance, 
To elevate and refine the race, 
And with steady progress keep apace; 
For Content need not abroad to roam. 
But find it in our studies and home. 

We have met at Buckwampun, Bougher's Hill, 
Stony Garden, Springtown, now Bucksville ; 
The latter, from its first foundation, 
Has just reached to a celebration, 
Through a one hundred years' probation, 
Joined in by this Association. 

Hail to this century of the past! 

And that the next may excel the last, 

In knowledge, virtue, justice and right, 

To give to human life an increase of delight. 

In this interval of history, 

The result is now no mystery, 

That forward progress made its career. 

And maintained it onward year to year ; 

Pleasant village and country around, 

If homes are not here, where are they found? 



72 THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

It affords me enjoyment to say, 

'Tis a memorable gala day, 

To be long htld in recollection. 

From what is given for retrospection. 

That the Bucks have not degenerated, 

Need not by me be advocated ; 

For a scion of three hundred pounds, 

Is here and lives on ancestral grounds. 

Then grow on Bucksville — family thrive. 

And the grand old homestead long survive. 

When the aforesaid poem was composed, the last stanza was 
submitted to John T. Buck, the " scion of three hundred pounds," 
for his approval. He cheerfully gave his assent thereto, but, to be 
correct, said, " my weight is 329 pounds." He was informed that 
the measure of the poem would not readily admit of this, and had 
therefore better stand as offered. " However, as to doubts, I 
am willing to stand up beside the speaker at the mention ' That 
the Bucks have not degenerated,' for the audience to judge for 
for themselves." This matter, for concurrence, was laid before the 
most active members of the Centennial Association, and was unani- 
mously assented to. Though merely intended as a practical joke on 
modern ideas, as may have been expected, was received with great 
demonstrations of applause. What added to the point was that 
said " scion's " grandfather, father and himself were born " on 
ancestral grounds," and had lived there all their days. 

Charles Laubach, of Riegelsville, the secretary, read the next 
paper, which was entitled : 

SKETCH OF THE BUCKWAMPUN LITERARY ASSO- 
CIATION. 

In this venture, I do not know that there is much to explain. 
I have been told that there is plenty of room for the association, and 
I take it for granted that a short and practical sketch of its incep- 
tion and progress may not come amiss. The Buckwampun Liter- 
ary Association, from a small beginning, is exerting some influence, 
and as it grows in size, strength and beauty, needs some record of 
its own. 

The traveler in a desert, who reposes delighted beneath the 
shade of a palm tree at an oasis, may not think of the sources for 
strength and nourishment below him in the roots that have been 



SKETCH OF THE BUCKWAMPUN LITERAEY ASSOCIATION. 73 

gathering sustenance for years. The modern historian cannut help 
but remember with reverence and gratitude the achievements, 
labors and tasks that his predecessors have accomplished, as well as 
the persistency of purpose that was required from them. I know it 
is customary when reviewing our so-called progress, to sneer at the 
accomplishments of our predecessors, and turn with pitying eye and 
scornful lip from the labors of earlier generations. Such shallow 
minds apparently forget that great events from trivial causes spring 
and without acorns there could be no great oaks. 

What a satisfaction it would be, I have often thought, ooulil 
we, in tracing backwards, lay a finger upon the first historian and 
scientist, and say it was in this or that mighty mind that science 
had its beginning. We cannot do this, but we can, nevertheless, 
conjecture that we cannot find him in the first age of mankind. 
The historic, primitive man must have been too pre-occupied in his 
daily struggle for subsistance — his hands occupied day and night 
against the overwhelming forces of nature, which it was his unenvi- 
able lot to contend with. 

After centuries had run their course, the mind of man was not 
entirely occupied with a perpetual struggle for existence, and had 
time for contemplation beyond self and its preservation. Familiar 
with his surroundings, there came a longing for a wider scope, and 
would naturally busy himself with problems and speculations, the 
magnitude of which we can now have no conception. We need not 
trace the mind of man as it slowly toiled onward, overcoming diffi- 
culties and making deductions. Suflicient has been said to show 
that history, science, with knowledge, must have had their origin 
somewhere in the misty past, to which religion and tradition seems 
also traceable. 

The inception of the Buckwampun Literary Association occur- 
red September 25, 1885, on the occasion of a visit to Buckwampun 
Heights bv historian William J. Buck, and the writer of thi8 
sketch; the former having been attracted to the place to contem- 
plate the scenes of his childhood, and the latter on account of the 
historic and scientific interest attached to the elevation. After a 
full interchange of views, it was decided that to best perpetuate its 
traditions and historical interest, as well as its aboriginal appel a- 
tion, "Buckwampun," was to hold in each succeeding year, in the 
month of June, a literary picnic in this section of country, which 
should be free to all. 



74 SKETCH OF THE BUCKWAMPUN LITERARY ASSOCIATION. 

To more successfully carry out this project, it was decided to 
hold the first meeting in June, 1888, leaving an interval of two 
years and nine months. This was deemed necessary to allow the 
projectors sufficient time to complete their respective historical and 
scientific labors upon which they were then engaged. In this per- 
iod the happy thought occurred to the writer, that the first annual 
meeting might, at the same time, become a complete surprise gather- 
ing, in honor of our venerable native historian, William J. Buck. 
The project was diligently carried forward, and, as will be noticed 
by referring to the first programme, successfully carried out June 
14, 1888. The day being bright and pleasant, there was an attend- 
ance of about 500 persons present. 

The following programme was rendered on the occasion : The 
president, Hon. C. E. Hindeuach, called the meeting to order at 
1.30 P.M. Miss Lizzie Mills read " Buckwampun's Greeting;" 
Charles Laubach, " What has Brought us Hither? " C. E. Hinden- 
ach, " Legends of Buckwampun ; " William J. Buck, " Reminiscen- 
ces of Buckwampun ; " Miss M. J. Moffitt, "An Indian Legend ; " 
Frank Clark, "A Poem;" J. A. Ruth, "The Flora of Buckwam- 
pun;" Lewis Sigafoos, "Education Then and Now;" S. W. 
Steckel, " Indian Village Sites ; " Otis Leidich, " Views from Hex- 
enkopf ; " Ida R. Laubach, "Our Poets;" Philip L. Barron, 
" View from Buckwampun ; " Jordan F. Stover, " Gallows and 
Around ; " Miss Emily A. Boyer, " The Poet's Valedictory." A 
select quartette, of which E. P. Laubach was leader, enlivened the 
exercises with music. 

The second annual meeting of the Buckwampun Literary Asso- 
ciation, took place on Saturday, June 8, 1889. The day was rather 
unpleasant ; a light rain falling, prevented the anticipated large 
gathering. Upwards of 250 people however were present, and the 
exercises carried out. The president, C. E. Hindenach, called the 
meeting to order at 2 p. M. The following essays were then read : 
"Bougher's Hill," by Prof C. W. Fancher ; "Account of Early 
Witchcraft in Pennsylvania," by William J. Buck, read by C. E. 
Heidenach ; " Dr. Peter Say lor," by Charles Laubach ; " Our Local 
Flora," by John A. Ruth ;' " The Laubach Old School," by Miss 
Ida R. Laubach ; " Reigelsville," by Jordan F. Stover ; " Riegels- 
ville Academy," by Otis Leidich ; "A Poem, Pro and Con," by 
Lewis Sigafoos ; A View from Church Hill," by W. Illick Long ; 
" The Poet's Greeting— a Valedictory," by Miss Alice M. Clunn. 



SKETCH OF THE BUCKWAMPUN LITERARY ASSOCIATION. 75 

Excellent music was furnished by the " Eapp Family," of Eie'^els- 
ville. 

The third, or " Stony Garden " meeting, was held June 14, 
1890. This was a grand meeting. The day was beautiful, and the 
attendance large. This, added to the romantic locality and the 
special musical features, brought out a large, intelligent and ujipre- 
ciative audience. By looking over the programme, it could not fail 
but be observed that great progress had resulted during the short 
period of the Association's existence. A pleasing incident may be 
recorded here, A member of the Buckwampun Literary Associa- 
tion informed us at the close of this meeting that he found himself 
fully repaid for the trouble and expense he had been at to help 
make the meeting a success, in seeing the children in the neighbor- 
hood neatly dressed, standing in the doors of the little houses, their 
eyes beaming with pleasure as they were about starting for the 
meeting. As secretary of the association, we felt greatly encour- 
aged indeed in our arduous labor, by hearing unsolicited expres- 
sions like the foregoing. The " Stony Garden " meeting was 
promptly called to order by the president, Hon. C. E. Hindenach, 
at 1 p. M., and the following interesting and instructive programme 
fully carried out : 

Music, " The Grenadiers," Euterpean Orchestra, of Springtown, 
H. S. Funk, leader; Opening Address, Hon. C. E. Hindenach; 
"Chimes of Stony Garden," read by Miss Emily A. Boyer. In 
each stanza of this beautiful poem, skilled musicians responded 
with chimes produced from the rocks. Other music was also pro- 
duced therefrom. " Geology of Stony Garden," Charles Laubach ; 
" The Wasser Gass," Miss Lizzie Yost ; music, selection from " Lit- 
tle Tycoon," Euterpean Orchestra ; " How Farmers Could best 
Promote their Interests," Prof C. AV. Fancher ; " Prices of Store 
Goods, Produce and Labor, from 1826-36," William J. Buck; 
music, " Sounds from the Ringing Rocks, with band accorai)ani- 
ment," Dr. J. J. Ott ; ode, " Buckwampun," Lewis Sigafoos ; " Dur- 
ham Valley in Summer," Miss Alice Mills; "Hobbies," W. II. 
Witte ; music, " Erminie," Euterpean Orchestra ; " Old Time School 
Games," Miss Ida R. Laubach ; " Pocono," Miss Lovella Wildonger ; 
"The Old Beihn Homestead," Lewis S. Beihn ; "Studies that 
might be more pursued at Home," W. lUick Long; "The Old 
Seifert Homestead," H. B. Strock ; " Influences of Literary Pic- 
nics " Miss Lillian Woolston; " Riegelsville Library," Miss M. .). 



76 SKETCH OF THE BUCKWAMPUN LITERARY ASSOCIATION, 

Moffitt; "Then and jSTow," Otis Leidich ; music, "Home Sweet 
Home," 2:)layed on rocks, with band accompaniment. Dr. J. J. Ott ; 
" What Books to Read," Miss Anna Kaufman ; " Historical Icono- 
clasm," Prof, M, L. Horn ; " Sketch of Haycock," E, A. Franken- 
field ; " Valedictory Poem," Miss M. Alice Clunn. 

The fourth annual meeting of the Buckwampun Association 
was held near the lower portion of Springtown, June 13, 1891, like 
the third, was a grand and delightful affair. The beautiful grove, 
bright day, and large gathering of the must intelligent people of the 
surrounding country, made this a great gala day to be long remem- 
bered by all interested in the elevation of the masses. 

The meeting was called to order by the president at 1 p, m,, 
and the following programme rendered : Excellent music for the 
occasion was furnished by the Euterpean Orchestra, of Springtown, 
H. S. Funk, leader; "Opening Address," Hon. C. E. Hindenach ; 
"The Hellerton Cave," Miss Lizzie Yost ; Cornet duet, by Profes- 
sors Bush and Lambert ; " Springtown," Dr, J, I, Cawley ; " Whip- 
poor-will," a rural poem, Miss Emily A. Boyer ; " Historical Sketch 
of Applebachsville," Miss Emma Applebach ; "Attachment to the 
Scenes of Early Childhood," with music ; " The Old Oaken Bucket," 
Miss Minnie E, Hess; "The Shawnee Indians," John A, Ruth; 
" Pennsylvania Palisades," a poem, Lewis Sigafoos ; " The Study of 
Plants in their Season," Miss Anna Kaufman ; The Young Men for 
the Times," Edwin Hartraan ; " Thoughts on Music," W. Illick 
Long; "Valedictory," a poem, Mrs. M. A. Clunn-Van Horn, 

The success of the Buckwampun Literary Association is mainly 
due to the energy of its essayists, officers and kind and generous 
friends, who have aided it in many ways, and upon whom we will 
rely for future aid and encouragement in our humble efforts. 
Special thanks are due to those who have so kindly volunteered in 
furnishing the association such excellent music, both vocal and 
instrumental. 

The association, with a membership of upward of sixty, has 
already brought out in the four preceding meetings, sixty original 
papers, which have appeared in print and thus more likely rescued 
from oblivion. Five of said number are strictly scientific, twenty- 
five historical, one biographical, eleven poems, and twenty miscel- 
laneous papers. We are certainly under great obligations to the 
press for their kind and favorable notices of the doings of this associa- 
tion, and for disseminating the literary productions brought out at 
its annual meetings. 



78 



EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKSVILLE. 



1' 



o 



;- ^'- 









Ft 



4' 



r- 






^T^ 



• d 






s 

•ii\ " 





C OJ 




<u 




(D d 




>-l . 




(U <U 


, a> M 




in O 


,B rt 




1 b/3 '-^ 


r: .^ K 


OJ 


(V 


L r- a; 


X! > <1^ <U 


rt ? o 
'^ t:; X S 


O 




in rt =! 


o 






X ;_ O "^ 




o S i:: 

1- o s 


rS Ti '*!' S 


*-> 


^ ^ ^> 




" ^ d p^ 


>. 




^sny. 






bfj c '{■ ri 

iH -x S s 

- X ^^ 


a U '' V 


3 


o „ 'n 


o V'%'9 


^•^:=-3 


<L» 


'5? = J^ 
^ rt =: 




1- biO ^ 


"^ 


v^ ? ^- 
■;^ (LI fcfi 


X ^r^TS 


^ ^ X P 


O 

o 


— r5 n X 




c 
> 












< 


^<^ 


0^<fe 




w 




CO 


'^ 



EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKSVILLE. 79 

The next in order was a vocalist aged eight and a half vears of 
whom the reporter of the Bucks Co. Intelligencer makes this men- 
tion : " The Bucksville Centennial Song," the words of which were 
written and set to music by William J. Buck, was delightfully sung 
by Miss Alice Buck, of Philadelphia, a little dark-haired 'tot o^t' 
about eight years and another great-great-grand-daughter of the 
founder of Bucksville, who made the singing especially pleasing by 
her clear enunciation of the words." See the song and mu<ic on the 
opposite page. 

William J. Buck was introduced by a few remarks from the 
president when he read his paper entitled an "Account of the Buck 
family and Bucksville." As nearly all the information contained 
therein is incorporated into this work, hence deem it unnecessary to 
repeat the same here. 

Owen George, of Bucksville, read a brief paper prepared by the 
editor to which, however, he has since been enabled to give some 
additional information. 

EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKSVILLE. 

It is well on an occasion of this kind to make some mention of 
the neighbors of Nicholas Buck, at the time of his purchase in 1792, 
and his removal thereon a few months later. The Kohls arrived in 
Pennsylvania, in September, 1732, and several years later the 
McCartys and who had early settled in Nockamixon. Respecting 
those families, we have given information elsewhere in this work. 
Three of their members married Captain Buck's sisters and settled 
on lands inherited from their ancestors in the immediate vicinity of 
the present village for the residue of their lives and who have still 
surviving descendants there. 

It can now be regarded as somewhat remarkable as the records 
prove that the Youngkens, Overpecks, Pearsons, Bucks, Gnivers, 
Frankenfields, Pursells, Hoffmans, Zeigenfooses, Zeiglers, Cleiiimers 
and some others originally settled in Springfield, and later tlieir 
descendants moved southwards on the line of the Haycock Run valley 
and the old Durham road, instead of having arrived from below, a.s 
would have been generally expected. This was brought about 
through the arrival of the early immigrants at Philadeljjhia, proceed- 
ing up the valleys of the Schuylkill and Perkiomen, and from thence 
either moving directly eastwards or higher up by a semicircle south- 
6 



80 EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKSVILLE. 

eastwards into the township of Springfield, and then later into Nock- 
amixon and Haycock. This can be readily understood, that on a 
direct line from Philadelphia to Reading and to the eastward of the 
same was much earlier settled by the Germans than the adjacent 
parts of northern Bucks county, thus first following the direction of 
improvement and subsequently wheeling around eastwards to secure 
wild or unoccupied lands at lower rates, which to an industrious and 
frugal people with limited means was an object. 

Herman Youngken had taken up by patent 89 acres, December 
3, 1754, on the Durham road and extended southwards into the 
upper end of Bucksville and composed a part of Nicholas Buck's 
purchase of 1792. We know that he resided on this tract in 1766, 
and very probably from near the date of his purchase. Before 
1790, it came into the possession of his son John Nicholas Young- 
ken, who in 1792, purchased a tract on the Haycock run about a 
mile distant to which he removed erecting thereon the first sawmill 
in that vicinity. This property has been since continuously in the 
family. The Youngken homestead above Bucksville has of recent 
years been known as the Lacey farm, which previously had been 
long in the possession of the Fenner family and later of Alfred Buck 
now of South Bethlehem. Herman and Henry Youngken, we find 
gave in their allegiance to the new form of government in the 
summer of 1777. Abraham and Nicholas Youngken were members 
of Captain Wilson's Bucks County Company at Marcus Hook for 
the defence of Philadelphia, in September and October, 1814. 

George Overpeck was an early resident of Springfield and the 
owner of a plantation there. Sometime before 1760, he moved on a 
considerable purchase, he made on the Durham road, adjoining 
Herman Youngken's patent on the north on which he erected sub- 
stantial stone buildings which are still standing. He applied for a 
public house, which was licensed by the Court in June, 1760, and 
was so continued on down to the close of the Revolution. These are 
now probably the only buildings remaining of the colonial period in 
this section, and was retained in the family until the death of the 
late Henry Overpeck about 1856, who had no sons but several 
daughters. It next passed into the possession of the late Josiah 
Matlock, married to Elizabeth the grand-daughter of Major Jacob 
Buck, and on his death recently was bought by the late Levi 
Trauger in whose family it still remains. It was on this property 
that the Centennial Celebration was held. George Overpeck died. 



EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKS VILLE. 81 

August 15, 1798, aged 83 years, 6 months. He came from Darm- 
stadt, Germany, and judging by his writing must have received a 
good education. The name in German was Oberbeck and was so 
written by him. 

Christian Trauger purchased, February 11, 1767, of Nicholas 
Hooke Jones, 153 acres of land located about one and a half miles 
east of Bucksville on which he settled and now in possession of Jacob 
Trauger. Adjoining the aforesaid tract on the east about said 
time his brother Henry made a purchase and settled. Each of those 
homesteads have ever since continued in the possession of their 
descendants. Christian Draker is the name as originally spelled in 
the German, was born in 1726 in Backenbuch, Darmstadt, and died 
on bis plantation, January 8, 1811, aged nearly 85 years, and his 
wife Anna Barbara, November 5, 1821, aged upwards of 92 years 
6 months. They have been a land holding family, remarkable for 
longevity and their descendants are numerous in Nockamixon and 
adjacent parts. Solomon Trauger was married to Kebecca, daughter 
of Major John Buck and have also surviving descendants. 

Henry Sassaman, the founder of this family we know from 
records was a resident and taxable before 1734 in Maxatawny town- 
ship, now in Berks county. Either himself or more probably his 
son of the same name. May 12, 1766, bought of George Overj)eck, 
163 acres for £343.1 6s. 3d. located about half a mile northeast of 
Bucksville upon which they erected the first improvements. The 
old homestead with 102 acres has been ever since continuously in the 
family and its present owner is successively the fourth Jacob Sassa- 
man in descent that has occupied it. We find in the county 
records that Jacob Sassaman gave in his allegiance before Jacob 
Sacket, Esq., July 1, 1778. The original tract was surveyed Octo- 
ber 19, 1737, as containing 250 acres, and "Gallows Hill run" is 
mentioned therein as flowing through the same. This additionally 
confirms that this stream did receive its name from said hill, and 
that the suicide that took place by the road side and has so long 
lingered in tradition must have occurred at least a little while 
previous to 1737, but likely since the erection of Durham furnace in 
1727. This matter was orginally mentioned in the editor's Hi.story 
of Bucks County, published in 1854 and aftirmed by Davis in his 
History in 1876. The aforesaid evidence is also conclusive to the 
fact as first published. 

Peter Keyset was a resident of Nockamixon in 1750, if not earlier, 



82 EARLY FAMILIES AROUND BUCKSVILLE. 

and is supposed to have located in Gallows Run valley, one and a 
half miles north of Bucksville, his descendants have for some time 
been land holders there. William Diehl was an original purchaser 
of 50 acres in 1751 and the family still exists in the surrounding sec- 
tion. The Stover family resided about a mile southeast of the 
village before the Revolution. David and Daniel Stover, in 1780, 
and the following year hauled cannon balls for the Government, 
from Durham furnace to Philadelphia. For years were noted 
teamsters, driving four and six horse teams, and continued by their 
descendants of Nockamixon down to the introduction of canals and 
railroads. The Atherholts, the Otts and the Klinkers are also old 
families of the vicinity and have intermarried into the Buck family, 
hence are mentioned elsewhere in this work. The aforesaid were all 
Germans the only exceptions thereto in this section being the 
McCarty and Smith families. 

After the Band had enlivened the audience with the music of 
" Silver Spring Quickstep," Edwin A. Frankenfield read the follow- 
ing paper which through request he had specially prepared for the 
occasion : 

SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 

This beautiful valley takes its name from Haycock run which 
has therein its entire course. It rises from two branches ; one near 
Stony Garden of Buckwampun Literary fame, the other in Spring- 
field township, about midway between Pleasant Valley and Burson- 
ville. The first two miles of its course is nearly semicircular towards 
the east, the remainder of its course, about five miles, is nearly south 
to where it empties in the Tohickon. It is rather a placid stream^ 
but furnishes some water power, and forms a boundary between the 
red sandstone of Nockamixon and the trap formation of Haycock. 
A public road runs nearly parallel with the stream for a distance of 
three miles, and rarely exceeding two hundred yards therefrom. 
Owing to the lowness of its bed, is subject to overflows, which tends 
to keep it in bad condition during the greater portion of the year. 
Hence I would suggest that active steps be taken to vacate a portion 
of said road for higher ground, which would prove a greater con- 
venience and less expensive to keep in repair. 

The Haycock run forms also the boundary line between the 
townships of Haycock and Nockamixon from the Springfield line, 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 83 

where it commences at a " line white oak " 1720 perches, or five 
miles, twelve perches to where it empties into the Tohickon. Said 
tree stood on the west bank of the stream within 200 feet below the 
present county bridge on the road leading from Stouy Point to 
Applebachsville. The historian William J. Buck, says he remem- 
bers the said white oak very well as standing there in his schoolboy 
days as late as 1835, but regrets to state as yet of not being able to 
ascertain when it disappeared. 

The Haycock Run Valley in Springfield contains seventeen 
houses, eleven farms, and one schoolhouse ; in Haycock, twenty 
houses, sixteen farms, one church, one store, one post-office, one 
public school, parochial school and one j)ottery ; in Nockamixou. 
twenty-two houses, sixteen farms and one saw-mill. Within this vale 
during the last century and a half have occurred several interesting 
events, as the home also of several early j^ioneers who have settled 
on this area as embraced in the said three townships. 

McGarty Settlement. — It is supposed that no land was taken up 
in this valley prior to 1737, when 300 acres were laid out by 
William Parsons, the surveyor general, for John Anderson, " on 
Haycock run," which is the earliest mention yet known of this 
stream. This tract lay between the present Youngken's saw-mill and 
the subsequent McCarty purchase. Mr. Anderson was only a pur- 
chaser and never settled thereon. 

Edward McCarty was no doubt the first settler of this valley, as 
an old deed still in possession of his descendants shows that he was 
the purchaser of 250 acres from the proprietaries Thomas and Rich- 
ard Penn, April 19, 1738 ; for which a warrant had been ir^sued, 
March 11, 1737, for the sum of £38 English money, which is equal 
to $184.93 of our present currency. This tract included a part of 
Albert McCarty's farm, Thomas D. McCarty's, Thomas Y. McCarty 's 
Isaac O'Connell's and Mrs. Andrew Mich's entire farms. The 
descendants of the aforesaid early immigrant with those of his kins- 
men Thomas, Patrick and Nicholas, made about the same time, have 
caused them now to become numerous in this section. A recent 
research in the Buck County records, states that the aforesaid 250 
acres were bought of Thomas Penn by Nicholas McCarty, March 5, 

1761 for £225. 

Frankenfield Settleme)d..—Sinwn Frankenfelt, the ancestor of 
the family, was a native of the Rhine valley in Germany,^ and 
embarked at Rotterdam with a number of others on the ship Elliot, 



84 SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 

James Adams, master, and landed in Philadelphia, October 25, 1748. 
He settled on a purchase he made near the source of Haycock run in 
Springfield township. We know from his signing with his son 
Philip, a petition for a road in said vicinity in 1760, that he must 
have settled there prior to said date. He had children, Philip, 
Henry, Adam, Anna Dorothy married to Conrad Hess, Maria Doro- 
thy to David Gary, Mary married to Andrew Overpeck and Leon- 
ard. During the troubles of the Revolution, Henry gave in his 
allegiance before Thomas Long, Esq., of Durham, June 8, 1778, and 
Leonard and John Frankenfield before the same two weeks later- 
Adam Frankenfield with Nicholas Buck, Henry Afflerbach and 
others was enrolled in the " Springfield Company," attached to the 
Third Bucks County Battalion, August 21, 1775, as the State 
records show. 

Henry Frankenfield, the son of Adam, bought the farm now 
known as the old homestead at Haycock Run, in 1808, from Jacob 
Harwick containing 65 acres and 122 perches. His son Henry 
resided on this property all his life and served as a justice of the 
peace continuously from 1841 to 1871. Mahlon D., the present 
owner thereof succeeded his father as justice in said year and still 
retains the oflfice. 

Among other old deeds is one from John Penn; the elder, and 
John Penn, Jr., to George Follmer for 147 acres in Haycock, Nock- 
amixon and Bedminster townships, June 14, 1785, it being a part 
of 3000 acres of lottery land marked in the general plan thereof as 
No. 2, adjoining lands of Jacob Beidelman, Anthony Greaser and 
Philip Stone. George Fulmer, grandson of the first purchaser, now 
owns the tract. Another deed of October 6, 1789, to Henry Piles 
in Nockamixon, containing 63 acres, adjoining lands of Mary Stover^ 
Jacob Meyers, John Piles and Anthony Greaser. This farm was 
part of lottery land No. 3, and is now owned by Peter Fleck. The 
cost of the original purchase was £55.1 Is. 3d. A deed similar to the 
aforesaid was made to Jacob Meyers adjoining it one day later of 
the same area and price. This farm is now owned by Jacob Reigel. 

The First Church. — Soon after settlement the early pioneers 
sought a place for worship. Accordingly services were held at inter- 
vals by the Jesuit fathers from Goshenhoppen, Berks County, as 
early as 1743, at private houses, but mostly at the house of Edward 
McCarty, now owned by Thomas Y. McCarty, until 1798, when by 
the McCarty 's. Kohls and others the first Roman Catholic church 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 85 

was erected in Bucks County at a probable cost of two hundred 
dollars, being built of stone on an acre of ground given free for the 
purpose by John McCarty, a nephew of Edward, the first settler. 
As the settlement and population of the neighborhood increased this 
church proved too small and in 1854, a larger and more convenient 
structure was erected at a probable cost of $4000. Fathers Malone, 
Bready, Herzog, Reardon, George, Hispuley, Repley, Wachter, 
Newfield, Koppernagel, Laughren, Nastersteck, Stomrael, Istwan, 
Walsh and G. H. Krake, the present incumbent, have successfully 
performed the pastoral duties of the congregation. Father George 
was the first resident pastor in 1850. Rev. Theodore Schneider 
officiated in 1743, J. B. De Ritter in 1787 and Boniface Corvine in 
the beginning of this century. Among the old records of the 
Goshenhoppen church find the following: 

Albertina Kohl, daughter of George and Barbara Kohl, born 
May 6, 1741, baptized August 23, following. j\Irs. Nicholas 
McCarty, died June 1, 1745, aged 70 years. Nicholas INIcCarty 
(brother of Edward), died April 1, 1750, aged 80 years. Nicholas 
McCarty, son of Edward and Catharine, married to Albertina, 
daughter of George and Barbara Kohl, January 20, 1767. 

Early Schools. — These early settlers prized education next to 
religion, as is shown by the last will and testament of John McCarty, 
who died April 25, 1766, and bequeathed his lands to his three sous, 
that the profits arising thereform be used for schooling his children 
until his youngest son, Nicholas, came to the age of eighteen years. 
This Nicholas was well educated and was elected justice of the peace 
of Haycock for many years. He died March 6, 1848, aged 87 years 
6 months. The first school building that I am able to ascertain any 
information about in this valley was located about two hundred 
yards northeast of Thomas D. McCarty's dwelling house, as he 
remembers his father saying that there was the oldest school-house 
known in this vicinity. The Haycock church records sliow that 
Ferdinand Wagner taught school at Haycock in 1784, wliich was 
probably at this place. 

The next school-house was a room added to the old church in 
1798. Among the teachers were Messrs. Fogarty, Kessler, John Hal- 
pin, Philip O'Connell, father of Isaac O'Connell, recorder of Bucks 
County, and lastly Elias Hoffman, still living. In 1854, this build- 
ing, with the church, was demolished, and only the church rebuilt. 
As at this time the school system was in its infancy the children of 



88 SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 

the vicinity attended the nearest public school until 1861, when it 
was rumored that the North Pennsylvania railroad would be built 
through this valley, which aroused the people to an idea that a pay- 
ing institution of learning might be located here. Accordingly a four 
story stone building was erected at a probable cost of 83,500 and 
incorporated as St. Theresa's Academy, for the instruction of girls 
only. About the same time also, another smaller building was 
erected near the present parish house, where the boys might be 
taught. Since, the railroad was built ten miles distant these two 
schools did not prosper, and were abandoned a decade later. In 
1873, the Sisters of St. Francis began a day school for boys and 
girls, which is still in a flourishing condition. 

The next building was that known as the Haycock Run school- 
house, situated in Springfield township, about one hundred yards 
north of the Haycock and Nockamixon line, beside the public road 
leading from Stony Point to Applebachsville. It was built in 1822, 
through a subscription of the residents of the vicinity. It was a sub- 
stantial stone structure, twenty-two feet square, containing five win- 
dows, with three of the sides containing desks, for the accommoda- 
tion of the larger pupils, while the smaller ones were obliged to sit 
on rude benches constructed of slabs. The teacher had for his use 
a large oak chair and a medium sized table for a desk. The stove 
was of huge dimensions,' admirably calculated for burning hickory 
wood. Owing to its location through the enforcement of the school 
laws it remained vacant and finally went to ruins about 1860 and 
by 1884 its materials were all removed so that the spot is no longer 
visible to a stranger passing that way. Among the teachers that 
taught here were " Billy " Smith, " Old Davie " from York State, 
Henry S. Afflerbach of Springfield ; Isaac McCarty and Isaac 
Mclntyre, of Nockamixon ; Mr. Fabian, Dr. John Hoot, of Hay- 
cock ; Petit Burson, of Bursonville, and Thomas Miller, of Stony 
Point. Among the trustees were Nicholas Youngken, Frederick 
Seiner, Samuel Fluck, William Campbell, Jacob E. Buck and John 
E. Mondau. William J. Buck, the historian went first to school 
here in 1830 and at intervals down to 1835. 

What is known as Frankenfield's school house, was built in 
1850, near the present Haycock Run post-office. Among the teach- 
ers who taught here were Robert S. Garner, George Rapp, Jefferson 
S. Fox, Philip O'Connell, Elias Hoffman, R. F. Stover, C, Minnie 
Fackenthal, C.F. Sterner, Titus A. Fluck, Titus Atherholt and M. 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 87 

D. Fraukenfield. This building became so dilapidated that in 1870, 
it was necessary to erect a new one, which is located about a quarter 
of a mile south of the former and is known as Hickory Grove school- 
house. The teachers who taught here were Titus A. Fluck, M. S. 
Nicholas, Martha Sterner, E. A. Frankenfield, John jSI. Detweiler, 
John B. Keller, Frank and James Grim. 

Manufacturing and other industries. — It did not take the early 
settlers long to learn how to utilize the water power of Haycock run. 
In 1792, John Nicholas Youngken, then a resident of the present 
Lacey farm above Bucksville, prepared the frame work for a saw- 
mill and removed it to the present Youngken farm on said stream 
which he had bought of Peter Ohl, minister, and his wife Catharine. 
This saw-mill has been twice rebuilt since. Another saw-mill was 
built near the Catholic Church about the same time by Nicholas 
McCarty and was continued in use to about 1840, or during the 
ownership of his grandson the late Nicholas B. McCarty, when not 
long after was totally demolished. Traces of the dam now the prop- 
erty of Thomas Y. McCarty are still discernable. 

A mile further down the stream a steam saw-mill was built by 
John Finney, of Lambertville, New Jersey, on his farm on the 
Nockamixon side in 1867, principally for sawing the large amount 
of timber that stood on the place into marketable dimensions. It 
remained in operation about one year when the machinery was 
removed, and the building left to neglect till 1881, when a number 
of farmers organized into a stock company for the purpose of manu- 
facturing butter and cheese. The saw-mill property was given by 
Mr. Finney to the association for manufacturing purposes but was 
to revert back to the owner of the farm after five years of idleness. 
In the winter of 1889, the Haycock Kun Dairymen's Association, 
sold the creamery to H. S. Mill from Springtown, who added a 
handle factory and chopping mill. The building with its contents 
was destroyed by fire on the morning of May 15, 1891, and has not 
since been rebuilt. 

About half a mile from the aforesaid place was located another 
saw-mill, but the oldest residents now recollect nothing but the 
ruins. A quarter of a mile from the mouth of Haycock run, a grist 
mill was built by George Follmer about the year 1800. He had 
intended to utilize the water of the Tohickon for water power, and 
had constructed a substantial dam and dug the mill race, when to 
his dismay, he learned that he had scarcely any power for even an 



88 SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY, 

undershot wheel. Not being discouraged, he built a dam in Hay- 
cock run and by digging a race furnished power enough for the use 
of an overshot wheel. The mill remained in operation until tlie 
death of Mr. Follmer. 

Charcoal burning was a profitable occupation from about 1750 
till 1850, considerable quantities being produced in various places 
along the base of yon mountain, which were conveyed to Durham 
furnace. The places where burned are still plainly visible to careful 
observers. One of the largest potteries in the upper end is located 
near Stony Garden. The business was carried on by Conrad Mum- 
bower in 1880 for some time, and on his death by his son-in-law Col. 
John E. Mondau. In 1873, it was rebuilt and enlarged by Simon 
Singer its present owner. The first and only store in the valley was 
built in the fall of 1868, by Henry Frankenfield, and has since been 
conducted by M. D. Frankenfield, Abel Frankenfield, John Berg- 
stresser and E. A. Frankenfield. The Haycock Run post-ofiice was 
established here in 1872, with M. D. Frankenfield as postmaster, who 
has held the position ever since. 

When this valley was first settled it was densely covered with 
forests, mostly white oak, hickory, maple and ash. Nowhere in the 
county does the shell-bark hickory thrive in greater luxuriance than 
here. The trees are unusually hardy, and it is rare to find one that 
shows traces of decay. Owing to the scarcity and slow growth of 
this wood elsewhere it is becoming more valuable every year, con- 
siderable quantities being exported to Europe, and also to California 
and other Western States for mechanical purposes for which it is 
admirably calculated, owing to its elasticity and strength. The 
hickory bears a full crop about every two years, and in this valley 
in favorable seasons must exceed 2500 bushels. 

A Remarkable Bobbery. — About half-way down the Haycock 
Run valley and near the banks of its stream occurred an incident, in 
the spring of 1862, that at this time is very appropriate to mention 
in connection with the family centennial we this day celebrate. On 
the evening of May 9, 1862, the fences and underbrush near the 
dwelling house of Samuel Gruver, now owned by Edward Keelan, 
in some way became ignited, which caused quite a conflagration and 
attracted the attention of the Gruver family who hastened from the 
house to subdue the flames. During their absence the house was 
robbed of about $400 in money. Mr. Gruver at once offered a 
reward of $75, one-half for the arrest and conviction of the thief, 
and the other half for the return of the money. 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 89 

Aaron Algard, a suspicious character, who liad just been dis- 
charged from the Eastern Penitentiary was the first man to be sus- 
pected. Anxious to secure the reward, Alfred Buck, a grandson of 
the founder of Bucksville and at present superintendent of the 
Lehigh University with Joseph Mondau, started in pursuit of the 
supposed thief, chasing him through Bucks, part of jVIontgomery, and 
back through Bucks County to the house of Samuel Hager, in Tin- 
icum, where they captured him about five days after the robbery. 
From Hager's the trio proceeded to 'Squire Frankenfield's where 
Algard was given a hearing, and ordered to be taken to jail, the 
captors taking with them as a weapon of defeuce the 'squire's 
favorite rifle. During his imprisonment, he was interviewed by Al- 
fred Buck, who induced Algard to tell him where he had hid the 
money and also told him that by so doing his sentence would be 
mitigated, 

Mr. Buck returned to Haycock, to the place where he was 
directed, but found nothing, so he returned again to Doylestown and 
asked permission of Judge Chapman to take Algard to Haycock to 
reveal the place of concealment. But according to law this privilege 
could not be granted, but was requested to interview Algard again 
and to make closer inquiry and even make a draft of the surround- 
ing place if necessary. This was done, and by diligent searching, 
Mr. Buck was rewarded by finding $340.60 in a bureau drawer hid 
in a cleft between a rock through which an elm tree about six 
inches in diameter has now grown. Several days prior to September 
court, Algard broke out of jail and returned again to Tinicum, 
where he stole a horse and robe. He was again arrested, im])risoned, 
and tried at the next term of court and sent to the Eastern Peniten- 
tiary where he died. This capture of Algard and the discovery of 
the money by Alfred Buck must long live in the traditions of our 
lovely valley. 

Several Miscellaneous Matters. — Before we close this sketch 
several items occur that possess too much interest to be omitted. 
About half a mile west of the intersection of the road from Stony 
Point to Applebachsville and Haycock run, just east of Stony Gar- 
den resided Tuckemony and his family in a cabin for several years, 
and deserves some notice as probably the last of the Indian race in 
all this section. His name is found mentioned in the store books of 
Jacob E. Buck as having in 1832, and later done some business 
with him at Stony Point. He followed basket making and William 



90 SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 

J. Buck says be remembers bim well as frequently coming to his 
father's store and exchanging his \yares for goods. That be was a 
tall and erect man of fine figure about forty-five years of age and 
usually accompanied by one or two of his daughters and a dog. He 
spoke English tolerably well and was liked by the people of the 
vicinity as being of good character. 

Five bridges built at the expense of the county cross Haycock 
run. The first, a substantial stone arch bridge on the road leading 
from Stony Point to Applebachsville, built in 1854 ; the second a 
plank bridge at Youngken's saw-mill, built in 1863 ; the third also 
a plank bridge near the Catholic Church, built in 1865 ; the fourth 
also a plank bridge at Haycock Run creamery, built in 1826, and 
rebuilt in 1869, and the fifth a substantial iron bridge near Hay- 
cock Run post-office, built in 1890. 

There is scarcely another section of country in Eastern Pennsyl- 
vania more deficient in railroad facilities than Haycock Run valley 
and the upper half of Bucks County generally. It appears as if a 
considerable amount of passengers and freight might be conveyed to 
and from this section if the facilities were offered. Not only villages, 
but towns, factories and furnaces would spring up in our midst that 
are now lying dormant. Speed the day when we may enjoy such 
privileges and advantages that our brethren ten miles east and west 
of us possess. The material is at hand, waiting to be utilized. 

The early settlers excepting the McCartys were from Germany. 
Very few are found who cannot speak both English and German. 
The latter as spoken may be regarded as rather a dialect and to be 
despised by critics, yet we feel proud of it, and with our limited 
vocabulary of the English, we are enabled to converse with all whom 
we come in contact with, while our English brethren for the want of 
a knowledge of any other must confine themselves entirely to their 
own language. 

From what has now been stated it must appear that the early 
settlers must have been an energetic and persevering class of people. 
That they early sought a place to hold public worship, and schools 
to have their children educated. That they were an industrious 
people is evident. Imagine the amount of manual labor, it must 
have required to transform the forests into the present farms with 
all their improvements. It is also evident that they must have 
been a patriotic people, for they contributed soldiers to the Revo- 
lutionary war and to every war since. 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 91 

The preceding sketch was followed by a paper " On Something 
New," by W. Illick Long of Riegelsville, but as not possessing 
information of local interest or relating to the subject of this work, 
hence, the want of space compels us to omit. Lewis Sigafoos of 
Nockamixon, a promising poet on local subjects, of which we have 
so few in this country, was next introduced and read the following, 
entitled 

HAYCOCK. 

" The groves were God's first temples," 

The poet well has said, 
And here 'neath Nature's canopy 

We seek their grateful shade. 
Around us lie the well-tilled fields, 

Where sways the waving grain 
Beneath the gentle summer breeze. 

Like billows o'er the main. 

Beyond these cultivated fields, 

The hills in transport rise ; 
Where, resting in tranquillity. 

The form of beauty lies. 
By autumn's cradle rocked to sleep, 

She wakes no more till spring ; 
In harmony with Nature's chord. 

Her chorus loves to sing. 

But yonder, like a king whose fame 

Achieves a wide repute. 
Old Haycock mountain rears his crown — 

A monarch absolute. 
Well nigh a thousand feet above 

The ocean's swelling tide. 
He wears his granite diadem — 

A mark of regal pride. 

Upon these sloping mountain sides, 

By Nature's hand refined. 
Are crystal fountains, as a type 

Of purity designed — 
God's unadulterated drink, 

Poured out with gen'rous hand. 
Through singing rills and limped streams. 

To quench the thirsty land. 

Adown the hill, with onward flow, 
They glide beneath the shade; 



92 SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 

Now dancing through the grass and ferns 
Now sparkling in the glade ; 

Now tumbling o'er the old mill-wheel, 
Then winding through the lea, 

They bear a blessing as they flow 
To join the briny sea. 

Among the branches of the trees. 

Upon a sunny day. 
The frisky squirrels love to chase 

Each other in their play. 
The great horned owl that shuns the light 

Here seeks a shaded nook. 
Where from his covert, on his foes 

He may in safety look. 

The grouse, that shuns the haunts of men. 

May here bring up her brood. 
And teach them in their forest home 

To love its solitude. 
Within the caverns of the rocks, 

Scarce changed by cold or heat. 
The timid hare and wily fox 

Still find a safe retreat. 

Perhaps the Indian chased the deer. 

Upon this self-same ground; 
Perchance he fought the wolf and bear 

That here a lair had found ; 
But, when the pioneer appeared 

With axe and spade and gun, 
These roaming tribes of savage beasts 

Moved towards the setting sun. 

Thus tribes and nations are compelled 

To yield to greater powers ; 
And what has been the Indian's fate, 

May some time, too, be ours. 
We hope not soon, yet history 

Repeats itself, we know ; 
And what shall be this nation's fate, 

Futurity will show. 

Could yonder mount recite to us 

The annals of the past. 
What mysteries would be revealed ! 

What records be recast ! 
What deeds recounted would to-day 

Our hearts with rapture thrill ! 



94 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 




be 



be jj 
1^ 



■■^ o 



bo 



U> 



-^ '^ -^ oj-'*" > '-' 






'"' ? "hr 



"L" y 






^ to 



O 



ii ^ O <i> 

- S O S 

b '^^'^ <u 

^ ^ <u ^ 

rS G a; 

>- o ^ 

C ^ rH 0-1 






:s o 

^ "7 (u • 
^ __t« 'c rS 

^ -; .^ (A) 

aj o o 

O rj o 



5 ^ C « i^ 



m 






>- V- 




rt rt 




-Co 


C/2 
1 


TS V- 


1 


1- -J 


t/) 


P o 


ti 


p^ :>. 


Pi 


^s 


O 


G <-' 


u 



bo 
C 

'bii 



bo 

"bo 

c 

(y5 



C 

K 
O 



SKETCH OF HAYCOCK RUN VALLEY. 95 

What pages in our history 
They might suffice to fill ! 

But Haycock, thou hast stood unmoved 

Through Ages' passing train, 
Though Jove cast forth his thunderbolts. 

And washed thy face with rain. 
When clouds lie cradled on thy crest, 

When mists hang o'er thy brow, 
When sunshine plays upon thy face, 

As we may see it now. 

With Stony Garden at thy foot, 

And Top Rock on thy crown ; 
With villages around thy base. 

On which thou lookest down ; 
Thy majesty shall be our theme. 

Thy beauty we will laud, 
And all the charms thou dost possess, 

Ascribe to Nature's God. 

Alice Buck, of whom mention has been made as a vocalist, 
gave another song that had been specially composed and set to 
music by a member of the Buck family. Respecting her merits, 
the reporter of the Doylestown Democrat states that she " sang sev- 
eral selections in a sweet voice and has promising musical ability." 
See "The Wood Robin's Song" on the opposite page. 

Asa Frankenfield of Haycock read a paper adapted to the 
objects of the celebration on the subject of 

EARLY ROADS AND STAGE LINES. 

Before we treat of stage coaches as a means of travel, we deem 
it necessary as introductory thereto to give a brief mention of the 
public roads opened through or near Bucksville, and on which its 
prosperity has chiefly depended, in the absence of more convenient 
or expeditious means. The canal and the Belvidere Delaware Rail- 
road being over four miles distant and the latter, for the want of a 
convenient bridge, not readily accessible. We doubt not in the 
future a railroad will be constructed, not only much nearer, l)ut 
also more direct from the Lehigh Valley to Philadelphia than the 
several circuitous routes in use. 

The Durham Road was extended northward from Bri.>toi to 
Newtown and from thence through Buckingham to the Tohickon 
Creek in 1732. Fourteen years later was continued through the 
7 ^ 



96 EARLY ROADS AND STAGE LINES. 

present Bucksville and Stony Point to the Durham Furnace, hence 
its name. From the latter place it was further opened to the 
Lehigh River at Fasten in 1755. The famous Indian Walk was 
performed from AVrightstown over this road to Stony Point, Sep- 
tember 19, 1737, when they turned to the left on an Indian path 
through the jjresent Bursonville and Springtown, crossing the 
Lehigh River below Bethlehem. The witnesses on the Walk state 
that at that time there was a wagon road in use to the Furnace and 
no doubt on the general course of the present road, opened nine 
years later. These facts are interesting and go to show that the 
first settlements in Nockamixon must have been made between the 
years 1738 and 1750. The McCartys were here in 1743, if not, 
somewhat earlier, Peter Keyser before 1750, and Herman Youngken 
and George Overpeck four years later; we possess no evidence to 
this date of others having preceded them in this vicinity. 

The next highway in the order of time was the Ridge Road, 
by the Germans called, " Bergstrasse," extending westward from 
the Durham Road, through the townships of Haycock, Bedminster 
and Rockhill, was in use before 1776, has become an important 
highway for travel since the completion of the North Pennsylvania 
railroad. It commences at the lower end of the village and has now 
for some time been a mail route. A road was laid out from Herman 
Youngken's house on the Durham Road by way of " the German 
meeting house," now St. Luke's Church, to Gallows Run, thence to 
the river Delaware. The Court, in September, 1767, ordered it to 
be speedily opened. Herman Youngken resided nearly half a 
mile above the present village and said road extended eastwardly 
through where is now Kintnersville. The road from the Harrow 
by the present Revere into the aforesaid highway was laid out in 
1793. The road to the Haycock Church was in use before 1800. 
The short road of half a mile leading east into the road to Revere 
was opened in 1798. The Road from the upper end of the village, 
toward Haycock Run, has been in use only within the j^ast twenty 
years. 

Bucksville, from its location, being exactly fifteen miles distant 
from Easton, Bethlehem and Doylestown, could not fail but become 
a suitable place for the stopping of stage coaches, especially for 
meals and changing horses, but which was not fully attained until 
after 1827. No public house was there before 1809, the store, 1816, 
and the post-office in 1828. One inducement, however, was not 



EARLY ROADS AND STAGE LINES. 97 



re 



wanting, for a blacksmith and a wheelwright shop had been he 
and wagon making, repairing and horseshoeing seventeen years 
before the first tri-weekly coach had passed over the road to Pliihi- 
delphia. When the aforesaid advantages were combined in 182S, 
the stage lines readily availed themselves of those accommodations. 

John Nicholas, in 1792, established the first line from Easton 
to Philadelphia, starting on Monday and making one weekly trip, 
fare each way $2.00. This line breakfasted at the Three Ton's Inn, 
now Stony Point, kept then by Hugh Breckenbridge, passing 
through Doylestown and stopping at the White Swan Hotel in 
Race Street. On the return leaving there at 6 A. M., carrying the 
mail, the post-office having been established at Easton only three 
years previously, Frederick Nicholas having become the proprie. 
tor in August, 1799, changed it to a semi- weekly, and John Nicholas 
in 1810 to a tri-weekly line, leaving Easton at 5 A. M., and Phila- 
delphia at the same hour, reaching its destination in the eveniuir, 
the fare, $2.50, increased the following year to 82.75. In 1800 Bur- 
sonville was made the breakfast and changing place, this continued 
for some time. At said date, a line was started from Allentown and 
Bethlehem, by way of Hellertown and Springtown, forming a junc- 
tion with the Easton line at Burson's. The coach of the latter, in 
coming from Easton, passed over the Durham Road to the Furnace, 
and a short distance this side turned right, entering the road from 
Bethlehem nearly a mile above Bursonville, a circuitous route to 
avoid the hills. 

In'l824, if not earlier, the aforesaid, with its Allentown and 
Bethlehem branches, became a daily line. John Moore of Dan- 
borough, having entered into partnership with Samuel Nicholas in 
1818, raised the fare to S3.00, and changed for meals and horses to 
Ottsville, Monroe and Hellertown. Owing to the increa.se of fare 
and now requiring the passengers to remain over night in Doyles- 
town, a determined feeling arose. About 1825, William Shouse, 
proprietor of a hotel in Easton, with Col. James Reeside of Phila- 
delphia, started a new daily line and entered into unabated opjx.si- 
tion that continued down to 1832, when they succeeded in buying 
out the old line. They were men of capital, and introduced splen- 
did new Troy coaches drawn by spirited horses. From its begin- 
ning this line changed at the Bucksville Inn, and there also break- 
fasted and dined, until its withdrawal by John Pettinger in 1854 
When the opposition began, the fifty-six miles of distance generally 



98 EARLY ROADS AND STAGE LINES. 

required fifteen hours, was brought down before 1831 to eight, aver, 
aging the remarkable speed of seven miles per hour, over a road, 
too, of which only thirteen miles were turnpiked. 

In the beginning of May, 1883, a boy but little over eight 
years of age was sent by his parents, residing at Stony Point, to the 
Doylestown Academy to school. At Bucksville the stage would 
always be taken for the journey and the place of exit on returning. 
He remembers well the splendid four-horse coaches with " S. Shouse 
& Co." painted on the panels, driven by Aaron Beam, who has still 
a son and daughter residing in the vicinity, and the kindness ever 
extended to him by the late Nicholas Buck, lifting him in and out 
the conveyance, expressing the kind wish that he might become a 
scholar. Well, too, does he remember hearing the sweet and mel- 
low tones of the driver's horn, sometimes a mile distant, to timely 
announce that the stage was coming, so that breakfast may be ready 
on arrival. As may be supposed, after the passengers had been 
conveyed over fifteen miles of rugged roads at such early hours an 
appetite would be promoted that could here be appeased. No 
sooner did the stage stop, the driver would drop his lines, partake 
also of the awaiting meal, whilst the horses would be changed, next 
the seats reoccupied and the journey resumed. 

The stages were termed " Troy coaches," from being made at 
Troy, N. Y., and were painted of a bright red, ornamented with a 
profusion of gilding. Containing inside three seats for nine passen- 
gers, the cushions and upholstery being of good leather. The top 
was surrounded with an iron railing, over which could be extended, 
whenever necessary, a stout cover as a protection from the sun and 
rain. The boot, as it was termed, was in the rear, to hold trunks and 
heavier baggage, while the lighter or smaller parcels would be 
placed on the top or under the driver in front. Each coach was 
drawn by four horses, which were generally selected for their speed 
and powers of endurance, in the due care of which the attendants 
appeared to take a delight. The fare from Bucksville to the city in 
1832 was $2.00. 

Staging directly and indirectly gave employment and more or 
less support to a number of persons, among whom could be enumer- 
ated the proprietors, grooms, inn-keepers, smiths, drivers and coach 
makers. For the neighboring farmers it made no inconsiderable 
home market for oats, corn, hay and straw, besides what was 
required as food for the passengers. In the quiet country places 



EARLY ROADS AND STAGE IJNES. 99 

the arrival of the stage would create some bustle or excitement, 
bringing not only strangers, but often acquaintances, rehatives and 
friends, who may have had occasion thus to visit familiar scenes 
once more. To the post-office it brought letters and newspapers, 
and the driver was an important personage from tlie amount of 
errands imposed on him, as well as the delivery of messages and 
parcels. 

Miss Minnie E. Buck of Riegelsville, New Jersey, read the last 
paper before the Literary Association and from the nature of its 
subject was received with great attention. 

PLEASANT MEMORIES THROUGH EARLY ASSOCIA- 
TIONS. 

The influence of pleasant memories through the power of early 
associations is the means of investing the things surrounding us 
with poetry and the world to appear more beautiful. There is, 
besides, an indescribable and irresistible charm about it that seems 
to be a sweetener of existence, rendering life the happier and better 
— causing the bright illusions and fancies of youth even to survive 
and cling to us with the greater attachment. The person who has 
no pleasant memories through early associations I pity. It bespeaks 
a want of kindness, a want of charity and gratitude. No love for 
home, for kindred, for friends or for humanity ; must show misan- 
thropic, selfish and contracted feelings, doing the subject thereof or 
the world no good. Therefore, I am disposed to look rather upon 
the bright side of life because I had rather laugh than weep. 

A distinguished writer has said, "What does not memory 
express? Who can appreciate its privileges and advantages? Who 
does not cherish with fondness the recollection of bygone days, and 
with them the scenes of youth and pleasure? With what alacrity 
does the desponding mind relinquish the cares and perplexities of 
business and wander back through the vista of years past, and enjoy 
again and again that which nought but memory can aflbrd. Who 
does not, by the recollection of the past, direct his future actions 
and anticipations? 'Tis this which elevates the man, directs his aim 
above the groveling things of earth, and fixes his thoughts upon 
purer and nobler principles." 

Another charmingly relates his experiences after a long 
absence : " A few years passed and while yet a little child I loft my 
early home. I exchanged the country for the town. I sped on in 



100 PLEASANT MEMORIES THROUGH EARLY ASSOCIATIONS. 

the path of life. My parents faded, personally at least, from my 
recollections; now new pursuits engrossed my attention, new friends 
were gathering around me, neAV scenes and circumstances were 
brought before me. Yet, sometimes, even amid the din and bustle 
of the ever-moving mass, would I hear in fancy the glad song of the 
summer bird, or the music of the clear mountain stream, or the 
wild wind rustling among the trees, which I had so often listened to 
in the quiet of my earlier years. How often, too, would I wander 
back in imagination to well known spots ! I would be once more in 
the green meadows, where I used to gather the daisies and butter- 
cups, and well-remembered nooks, rich with primroses, would spring 
before me. An then the rushing water-fall, the huge gray rocks, 
and those bright green mossy spots in the deep glen, the beautiful 
wild rose, the sweet smelling honeysuckle — these could never be for- 
gotten, nor the wood-crowned hills around my home, nor the moun- 
tains beyond vanishing in the distant blue." 

On this matter Washington Irving thus expresses himself: "I 
think it an invaluable advantage to be born and brought up in the 
neighborhood of some grand and noble object in nature — a river, a 
lake, or a mountain. We make a friendship with it ; we, in a man- 
ner, ally ourselves to it for life. It remains an object of our pride 
and aifections, a rallying point to call us home again after all our 
wanderings. The things which we have learned in our childhood, 
says an old writer, grow up with our souls and unite themselves to 
it. So it is with the scenes among which we have passed our early 
days ; they influence the whole course of our thoughts and feelings, 
and I fancy I can trace much of what is good and pleasant in my 
own heterogeneous compound to early companionship with such 
glorious associations." 

After a residence of one hundred years in this immediate 
vicinity, the Buck family now find themselves drawn hither exactly 
under the circumstances that Irving describes. That most glorious 
of objects is yonder — not the work of human hands — and rears 
aloft its magnificent dome, the highest of all the wood-crowned hills 
of this county. On this most interesting occasion in the history of 
our surname, I was impressed with the appropriateness of the words 
to this day and hour, as composed by a kinsman and so sweetly sung 
by little Alice : 

" Ah ! who would be unhappy at tliis time of year, 
When birds are rejoicing and the ruses appear; 



PLEASANT MEMORIES THROUGH EARLY ASSOCIATIONS. 101 

And the woods and the fields are embellished in green, 
Whilst grand towering Haycock enraptures the scene." 

The programme of the Buckwampuii Literary As.-sociation 
having now been duly carried out, some unfinished business was 
next in order. AVilliam J. Buck made a report on behalf of the 
Executive Committee, from which a brief mention will be made. 
That from the beginning to the end, all expenses incurred for this 
meeting, including the celebration of the Bucksville Centennial, 
would be defrayed by a few members of the Buck family, through 
a mutual understanding among them that was entirely satisfactory. 
Family pride, on such an unusual occurrence, would have revolted 
at the idea of resorting to so humiliating an aid, and worse still, 
where necessity, as he hoped, did not require it. 

The Committee of Arrangements consisted of John T. liiick, 
Henry H. Youngken, Harvey Kiser, Sylvester Buck, Owen George, 
and Abel Kohl, all residents in or near Bucksville, and the descend- 
ants of old and respected families. INIuch credit is to be given to 
the various ways they faithfully labored in making the occasion 
a grand success, and of whom more will be said hereafter. Now, 
in holding the fifth annual meeting of the Literary Association it 
was gratifying to state that for this occasion, when the programme 
had been filled, a considerable number of essayists and musicians 
proflTered themselves but could not be received, as the time allotted 
could not possibly permit it. It is hoped, however, that some of 
those may have the opportunity presented them in the future. 

A motion was made, seconded, and unanimously carried, that 
the next annual meeting of the Buckwampun Literary Association 
be held near the Ringing Rocks in Bridgetown Township. Charles 
Laubach, the secretary, was authorized to secure in due time a 
proper location for the purpose, and as convenient as possible to 
Milford Bridge, for the better accomodation of the public who may 
come by the way of the Belvidere, Delaware Railroad. The main 
business having been despatched, president Hindenach announced 
that there would now be a recess of half an hour at the expiration 
of which time the meeting would be called to order and the exer- 
cises of the Celebration begin, and that the Literary Association 
was now adjourned until its next meeting in June, 1893. 

THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

(Continued). 

After the audience had a full half hour's recess, and given 



102 THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION. 

themselves to refreshments, conversation and enlarging the circle 
of acquaintance, they were called to order by William J. Buck, 
chairman of the Centennial Association, who made a few brief 
remarks. He said that as an hour had been lost through delay in 
the beginning of these exercises, he did not design to keep the audi- 
ence here above an hour longer, when the procession would be 
formed for Bucksville and then adjourn until 8 o'clock in the even- 
ing, when the remaining exercises on the programme would be gone 
through with, and he hoped for a final adjournment at half past 9 
o'clock. Considering his age, from the arduous duties that had 
either been imposed or assumed by him on this occasion, he was still 
willing to give his influence that everything that had been 
announced for these meetings be faithfully carried out, as a centen- 
nial of this character had as yet been rarely held in this country, 
as but few families could show so long a continued influence as to 
have it promoted by themselves. This to us is a matter of congrat- 
ulation. Here, too, are present many of the descendants of the 
neighbors of Nicholas Buck of one hundred years ago, as the Kohls, 
McCartys, Youngkens, Traugers, Overpecks, Sassamans, Keysers 
and more might be mentioned if disposed to swell the list. But to 
shorten time would introduce to the audience a young man and a 
native of Bucksville, holding now the responsible position of experi- 
mental chemist to the extensive iron and steel works at South 
Bethlehem. Charles Austin Buck then read the following paper: 

THE BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 

Charles Fortman was a German by birth and came from the 
Valley of the Rhine, probably from Alsace or the vicinity of Col- 
ogne. He was a graduate of one of the universities there and could 
speak fluently Latin, German, French and English, besides a famil- 
iarity with Dutch, Flemish and Italian. What time he arrived in 
this country is not known, but we find in a number of the Norris- 
town Herald of April 15, 1803, his advertisement, from which we 
take the following extract : 

" The subscriber, master of music, begs leave to inform the 
public that he has engaged a private room at Michael Broadt's 
house where he gives instruction on the piano forte at three dollars 
per month — at the same time he off^ers to give private lessons in the 
French and Latin languages. His employers may rest assured that 
on his side no pains shall be spared in order to give them full satis- 



BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 103 

faction. Those having a knowledge only of the English or of the 
German, and wish to improve themselves respectively therein, he 
will also give instructions. Should a sufficient number of children 
be made up he is not averse to open a German school." 

How long he remained at Xorristown or its vicinity is not 
known, but no doubt for several years. Michael Broadt was an 
enterprising man there and at that time kept the New Moon Inn. 
Here he found a friend and patron in Gen. Francis Swaine, whose 
wife, Mary, the daughter of the Rev. Henry jNI. Muhlenberg of the 
Trappe, was one of his pupils on the piano. Mr. Fortman, no 
doubt, has the honor of being the first teacher of classes on said 
instrument in Bucks and Montgomery Counties, hence, is deserving 
of some notice which we believe he has never heretofore received, 
except from the hands of a son of one of his pupils who is now pres- 
ent and possesses all the documentary proof of what is herein given. 
How he became first acquainted with Captain Buck is not now 
exactly known, but it is supposed it was under the following circum- 
stances. The latter had, between the years 1808 and 1813, several 
extensive estates to settle among his wife's relatives and others in 
Montgomery County, which then frequently called him to Norris- 
town, and it is inferred that it was thus brought about that subse- 
quently induced him to come to his house to set up there for several 
years his school in all of the aforesaid branches, besides mathe- 
matics, bookkeeping and penmanship. The probability is strong 
that he came there in 1813, if not, at least, in the following year. 
Among those in his class were Captain Buck's two sons, Jacob and 
Samuel, Nicholas, his nephew, a son of Major Jacob Buck and his 
relative, Joseph Kohl. It is regretted now that the names of his 
other pupils cannot be secured, but there is strong reason to believe 
that the late Nicholas Soliday of Tinicum was one of the number. 
As Mr. Fortman's name is mentioned in Captain Buck's store 
books as late as 1823, it is supposed in this interval was the chief 
organist of Haycock Church, and may have besides taught in some 
of the surrounding school houses, the commoner branches as aidmg 
to his support. It is now remarkable to state that he taught his 
vocal and instrumental music entirely from manuscript books, pre- 
pared by himself for his pupils, which proves that he was a splendid 
penman, some of his music and writing resembling steel engraving. 
William J. Buck, the eldest son of his pupil, Jacob, is the po-ssessor 
of his two manuscript books, and will afford him pleasure now to 



104 BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 

show them on this iateresting occasion, after more than three-quarters 
of a century have passed away. He has also here his mother's 
manuscript book on vocal music, prepared by her teacher, Joseph 
Hess, in 1818, and used by her in the choir of the Springfield 
Church down to 1824. The said instructor was the father of David 
W. Hess, Esq., residing below Springtown. 

One of the music books referred to has this inscription on its 
title page: " Instructions, or the Elements of Music adapted for the 
Piano Forte, Harpsicord, etc., for the use of Jacob Buck of Nocka- 
mixon Township, Bucks County. Begun July 25, 1815, by Charles 
Fortman." Those two manuscript books conclusively prove that he 
was an accomplished scholar as well as musician. The songs and 
other pieces therein being written in Latin, German and English. 
In his English hand there is a remarkable resemblance in style to 
that subsequently of his pupils, Jacob and Samuel Buck, in their 
father's store books, and those of the former down almost to the 
close of his life. It is so close that good judges might be mistaken. 
This goes to show that he must have been a successful teacher and 
that the aforesaid pupils possessed strong imitative powers. What 
became of Mr. Fortman after 1823 has not been ascertained. 

Mention was made of Captain Buck taking an active part in 
the erection of two new school houses in his vicinity, and in this 
connection deserves further notice. The first was built about three- 
quarters of a mile below his house, immediately on the east side of 
the Durham Road, a short time previous to 1797, on a portion of 
the ground of James Smith, who resided there. He was of Scotch- 
Irish descent and Avas a justice of the peace in 1803, and how much 
earlier we do not know, hence it always bore the name of Smith's 
school house. It was demolished about 1850 and said farm is now 
owned by George Good. Here his son, Gea. Samuel A. Smith, was 
born in 1795, and probably received all his school education within 
its walls. Held various military offices, was also a judge, senator 
and member of Congress. 

There is a subscription paper extant among the Buck relatives 
relating to this school house which it is regretted possesses neither a 
date nor the name of the teacher, but it is presumed to be before 
1808. Among the names mentioned thereon are Leonard Buck, 
Nicholas Buck and Jacob Buck, each proposing to send two pupils. 
The conditions were for four months tuition, $2.00 each, spelling, 
reading, writing and arithmetic to be the branches taught, no 



BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 105 

deductions to be made for absence, and the patrons to find the fuel. 
The other schoolhouse was built at the Haycock Church about 1800 
and stood until 1854 when it was torn down. 

After he had attained some proficiency on the piano, the late 
Jacob E. Buck related this anecdote which occurred in his father's 
house about 1817. Several neighbors who had come to the store 
desired to have him play on his new instrument. After entertain- 
ing them with some six or eight pieces, one of the party on arising 
from the chair placed a coin thereon, saying, " Du spielt doch so 
gutt Ja-ke das ich muss dihr ein cent ga-ve." Thanking him for 
his intended generosity, he replied that he did not, for such a trifle, 
expect any compensation, much less from neighbors and acquain- 
tances. 

The Chairman now announced that John T. Buck would play 
two pieces of music that had been specially selected from the afore- 
said Piano Class books, on his Estey organ. The first was called 
" Washington's March," which was a favorite of the late -lacob E. 
Buck, who had learned to play it from the same notes seventy-seven 
years ago. After he had repeated it several times, played "The 
Peacock Feather and the White Cockade," a lively piece, much 
danced by the young men of the Washington Light Horse Company 
with the young women of the neighborhood in the evenings, after 
their company and battalion drills were over. The Chairman 
further added that this information he had received from several of 
his relatives, nearly half a century ago, corroborated by his mother 
who had been present at several such occasions between the years 
1818 and 1822, and that under the circumstances, to the numerous 
descendants of the members of the said troop present, lu- had no 
doubt said music must prove the more interesting as well as enter- 
taining. 

A poem was composed for this occasion by a grandson ot Caj)- 
tain Buck which was sung by Frank Grim, Edwin Kohl, Cora B. 
Grim and Cora B. Kohl, the former having arranged it to music. 
They were introduced as the "Nockamixon Quartette," being a 
residents within a few miles of Bucksville. This effort was well 
received and from the nature of the subject was impressive. 

OUR OLD FAMILY HOME. 

Though long absent we have returped again, 
To meet once more on sacred native soil; 



106 BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 

To banish our feelings therefrom is vain — 
For it has stronger grown than any coil. 

For in the long past an ancestor here 

Did rear a home and many years did dwell; 

A family grew — and memories dear 

Arise therefrom to cause our bosoms' swell. 

O happy children ! this is all for joy, 
That now sweet recollection brings to view ; 
Though — regret may come — even to a boy — 
To impress him that Time's changes are true. 

Then, grand old homestead, may you long survive — 
That hither our descendants may repair; 
To think of those once here — not now alive. 
And from their examples need not despair. 

Yonder forever. Haycock grandly towers. 
Here still flourish ancestral planted trees, 
Here still are woods and sweetly scented flowers. 
And lovely still June's landscape with its breeze. 

The chairman now exhibited several relics long in the Buck 
family, and which had been brought together for this occasion by 
the several possessors thereof, giving a brief history of each. The 
sword, belt and pistols of Captain Buck which may have been in his 
possession ninety years ago. The manuscript piano books of 1814- 
15, and the Springfield choir book of 1818-24; one of Captain 
Buck's store books, commencing in 1816, and extending to 1823; 
copy of a map from the Surveyor-General's ofiice, Harrisburg, of 
Nicholas Buck's original purchase of the Buckhill tract from the 
Penns ; an original painting of Captain Buck in the full uniform 
of the Washington Light Horse, with a view of his mansion and of 
the magnificent scenery near Bucksville, as it appeared in 1810; the 
original deed of the Bucksville purchase in 1792; a painting of St. 
Catherine brought from the valley of the Rhine and supposed to be 
at least 120 years in the family, autographs of the ancestor, of Cap- 
tain Buck and of his several sons were also shown. These are the 
only ones we propose to mention here as bearing directly on the sub. 
ject of this work, and hence will be more fully described in connec- 
tion with what they relate. 

At quarter past 5 o'clock, the chairman introduced from the 
platform, John E. Buck, the chief marshall of the day, who was 
requested to state to the audience his orders for the line of procession 



BUCKSVILLE PIANO CLASS OF 1814-15. 107 

to Bucksville. The Cornet Band with their large and splendid band 
wagon drawn by four gaily caparisoned horses to take the lead. 
Next the marshall with sash and full regalia and Edward J. Buck 
bearing aloft the fine, large banner of blue silk containing the Buck 
coat-of-arms, and the words " Bucksville Centennial, 1792-1892," in 
gold letters, and beside him his brother carrying the American flag ; 
after which followed four abreast on foot, the descendants of the 
family, their relatives, and representatives of the old families of the 
neighborhood and others. Carriages came next in long array and 
well filled with an interested assemblage, notably those containing 
entire families, from advanced years down to childhood. 

The marshall had taken the precaution to send the band wagon 
about quarter of a mile ahead and when those on foot had arrived 
there and were stationed in line, he proceeded to the rear and judging 
that nearly half had gotten from out the woods, he directed the band 
to play as a signal for starting and soon moving onwards. The editor 
was seated in a well-filled two horse carriage, nearly half way from 
the front and when he had arrived two-thirds of the way towards 
Bucksville, a turn in the road enabled the whole line of the process- 
ion to be seen ; and is satisfied that it almost filled up the entire 
distance between the upper end of the village, making it considerably 
over a half a mile in length. 

The entire route from being level and unobstructed with woods 
and many of the carriages and horses decorated with flags, presented 
a grand sight with the magnificent scenery in view to give still 
greater effect as worthy long remembrance. When the procession 
arrived before the old family mansion it was nearly six o'clock, hence, 
it was concluded not to proceed down to the lower end of the village 
and return as had been contemplated. This shortened the route of 
the procession fully one and a half miles and near one hour's time, 
so adjourned for their evening meals. 

BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL.— EVENING 
CELEBRATION. 

Opposite the old family mansion, and about one liundrod yards 
south of the hotel and on ground that has now for a century been 
continuously in possession of the Buck family, the evening meeting 
was held. A platform was erected here and a sufficiency of scats 
for an ample crowd by the Bucksville Cornet Band who enlivened 



108 



BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL. — EVENING CELEBRATION, 



the proceedings at intervals with music. It was a fair and beautiful 
June evening with a full moon throughout the entire night that 
lights were almost unnecessary for the purpose of reading or writing. 
The exercises began promptly at 8 o'clock, when the chairman of 
the Centennial Association called the assemblage to order, with a 
few remarks as appropriate for the occasion. The audience numbered 
about five hundred, excellent order was observed throughout as well 
as close attention given by all. 

After the band had played several national airs, John T. Buck 
a great-grand-son of Captain Buck read the following paper, pre- 
pared by a kinsman for this occasion : — 




THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE. 

I have the honor to read to you for this evening's exercises a 
brief history of one of the only two troops of cavalry that have 



THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE. 100 

existed within the area of the upper half of this county. Tlie other 
was Captain Samuel Seller's company of Light Dragoons whose 
locality was chiefly in the vicinity of Sellersville and Rockhill town- 
ship. But to add to the additional honor of this eventful day, of 
all the Cavalry companies raised within the territory of old Bucks 
which has a military history commencing with the French and Indian 
war of 1756, it is supposed none have existed so long as the one that 
now forms my subject and of which Nicholas Buck, Sr. and Nicholas 
Buck, Jr. laid the foundations thereof in a continuous captaincy of 
twenty-three years if not more. 

In consequence of the hostile feelings expressed against this 
country by the British government, an intense excitement broke 
forth showing that a spirit of patriotism still prevailed among our 
people and that it also extended to Bucksville and surrounding sec- 
tion. Nicholas Buck like his brothers Jacob and John, having had 
some previous military experience, seized the opportunity in the fall 
and winter of 1807, to organize in his neighborhood a troop of 
cavalry to be called the Washington Light Horse. In this effort he 
was sufficiently successftil by the following May as to have them 
equipped to attend the annual spring parade and be inspected. 
From the Pennsylvania Correspondent published by Asher ^liner 
at Doylestown, under date of November 22, 1808, we learn that 
Captain Buck and his Troop had been invited to attend a Republi- 
can meeting there about two weeks later whereof his brother 'Major 
Jacob Buck was one of the committee of arrangements. Although 
quite young, soon after its organization Nicholas Buck, Jr. was 
admitted a member and for some time performed the duties of 
trumpeter. 

The company was chiefly composed of the sons of the nio.^t 
respectable and influential farmers of the surrounding section, i)ar- 
ticularly in the townships of Nockaniixon, Springfield, Durham and 
Haycock. Among these can be mentioned the time-honored names 
of Overpeck, Kohl, McCarty, Heaney, Buck, Hess, Apple, Keyser, 
Trauger, Afflerbach, Youngken, Amey, Ott, Beidleman, Fulnier. 
Hager, Long, Rufe, Worman, Weirback, Mann, Good, Boileau, 
Gruver, Kintner, Barron, Derr, Sumstone, Clymer and Landis. 
Their uniform consisted of a blue coat, trimmed with yellow cord, 
white pants>ith a black stripe on the sides. A black leather cap, 
covered over the top with bear skin and on the side of which was a 
plume of white feathers with a red top. Said regulation dress as 



110 THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE, 

designed by Captain Buck remarkable to state remained unchanged 
down to the final dissolution of the company. 

During the war of 1812-14, the company was not called upon 
to enter the service, but notice was sent the captain to hold them- 
selves in readiness on demand should emergency require it. On the 
execution of Mina, three miles south of Doylestown, June 26, 1832, 
the company performed guard service. The following is a consecu- 
tive list of its captains as now ascertained : Nicholas Buck, Nicholas 
Buck, Jr., Nockamixon ; George Overpeck, Durham ; Samuel Derr, 
Springfield ; Jacob A^an Buskirk, Durham ; John Youngken, Spring- 
field ; Elwood Clymer and Hugh Kintner, Nockamixon. It was 
during the command of the latter that the company disbanded in 
1861, giving it an existence of fifty-four years. 

Jonas H. Buck of Bucksville, a lineal descendant of the first 
two mentioned captains, possesses his grandfather's sword, belt with 
" N. B. " engraved on its brass oval breast-plate and the two pistols. 
They would now be regarded as cumbersome, with a rather rough 
finish compared with recent manufacture. Considering their size 
the pistols are remarkably heavy and the barrels and mountings are 
all of brass; aa may be expected they are both flintlocks, the per- 
cussion cap not having been introduced until about 1832. The laws 
then required seven years full membership and training to be exempt 
from further military service. 

What greatly tended to the encouragement and keeping up so 
long this company was owing to a common custom that then prevailed 
almost universally amongst all well-to-do farmers throughout this 
section. A short time before each son became of age his father 
would give him a colt to raise which was to belong to him and for 
his use. These young men therefore would take special pains in the 
rearing of these their great favorites and that they be well fed, cared 
for and of fine figure. In these early days and in the absence of 
good roads and bridges, all expeditious travel was chiefly confined 
to horseback. This helped to make them skilled horsemen and from 
the pride taken in their steeds their tastes would readily incline them 
to the cavalry in preference of any other military organization, and 
hence we need not wonder why they have ever been regarded as the 
aristocracy of the service. 

Bucksville for over half a century was a noted place for the uni- 
formed volunteers holding their company drills and battalions, 
which would in consequence bring out a multitude of spectators. 



THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE. Ill 

including numbers of women and children. Therefore it was alwavs 
awaited with interest and looked upon as a general holiday. The 
Buck family furnished from Nockamixon to said military organiza- 
tions between the years 1792 and 1861, six captains and three majors. 
The captains were Nicholas Buck, Nicholas Buck, Jr., Jacol) Buck, 
Jr., Jacob Buck, John Buck and John H. Buck. The three last 
mentioned became subsequently majors. There is evidence that 
Jacob Buck was a major before 1800, and his brother John some time 
before the last war with Great Britain and continued in said rank 
several years later. 

Joseph Trauger a life long resident of Nockamixon and sup- 
posed to be the oldest surviving member of the Washington Light 
Horse was visited at his house by a grandson of Captain Buck, 
November 15, 1891 ; who appeared to be then of excellent memory 
and understanding to secure some additional matter on this subject. 
He stated that in the following July would be 89 years of age. 
That he had joined the company in 1822 or the following year and 
that Nicholas Buck, Jr., was then captain and about the time his 
seven years' term had expired, the aforesaid resigned his command 
of the troop ; he also well remembers the drillings thereof by its first 
captain. Unexpectedly the painting was shown him of the latter 
to know whether in his opinion the uniform was strictly correct as 
represented when he belonged to it. This to him was an agreeable 
surprise for he had never anticipated anything of this kind. "With- 
out saying a word for several minutes and gazing intently over it, 
judge his feelings from the reminiscences it recalled in his life of 
almost seventy years ago. He exclaimed, " Yes, the uniform is cor- 
rect and there is the old house on the Durham road, the training 
field, and the Haycock, how natural ! where did you get this ? " We 
will here add that Ur. Trauger died the following February 27. 

The painting was also submitted to the judgment of Captain 
Hugh Kintner, Jacob Kohl and George Trauger who were mcnd)ers 
of the company at its dissolution as to whether any change had been 
made in the uniform, they said not, that it must have remained the 
same. The last mentioned was a son of Mr. Trauger and was present 
on the occasion of the visit. In addition to the aforesaid four sur- 
vivors of the company may yet be mentioned. Samuel Boileau who 
was orderly sergeant, Levi Shellenberger, Aaron Trauger an<l lOha.s 
Riser. Had this inquiry been presented there is no doubt this 
number could have been considerably increased. A suggestion wa.«j 



112 THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE, 

made but it came too late to be put into execution : that some of these 
survivors appear in full uniform in the Centennial procession and 
to be accompanied by as many of them as was possible to get together 
and be mounted on horseback. Efforts were made to secure a uni- 
form for this purpose, which failed and as no time was left to get up 
a resemblance the matter was dropped. 

Alice Buck next sung " Oh Papa what will you take for me? " 
which was greatly appreciated. William J. Buck had prepared 
notes on the " History of the Old Homestead," with the intention 
of speaking verbally therefrom, but stated that he would prefer 
hearing enlivening music instead, of which there was an ample 
supply at hand, and hence would defer the subject which may be 
seen elsewhere in this work, John T. Buck played on the Estey 
organ several selections from the notes in one of the manuscript 
Piano books previously mentioned. One of these was accomj)anied 
with a humerous song in German which for its rarity and novelty a 
reduced fac-simile is given, supposed not to have been heretofore 
published, at least in this country. 

The Band now executed several lively airs, when Alice Buck 
gave another song. The Nockamixon Quartette whom we have 
mentioned sung " The Whip-poor-will," composed by a gentleman 
present and arranged to music by Frank Grim. From the rural 
nature of its subject was admirably adapted to the occasion and the 
season of the year, 

Henry H. Youngken on the committee of arrangements having 
brought the rocks from Stony Garden that Dr. John J, Ott had 
selected and performed on at the meeting held there by the Literary 
Association, June 11, 1892, so to form a gamut, John T, Buck 
sung the following poem thereto and in each stanza struck those 
rocks so as to respond, thus forming natural chimes, sounds that but 
few have heard. As it created considerable interest at Stony Garden 
and owing to the local character of the piece, at particular request 
is here introduced by its author the editor. 

THE CHIMES OF STONY GARDEN, 

Here in a wood that long has stood, 
A mass of loosen'd rocks lie round, 
When struck emit a joyful sound — 

Then ring rocks ring ! 
Why not have rhymes to Nature's chimes ? 
As are found at Stony Garden. 



THE WASHINGTON LIGHT HORSE. 



ii; 



CO tc 




THE WASHINGTON LIGHT H0R3E. 115 

Ring out so free in kindly glee, 
The music's future yet to be 

That wildwood chimes go merrily 

Then ring rocks ring! 
Why not good will and the player's skill 
Bring praise for Stony Garden. 

Let rocks so old then be well toU'd 
And Echo add a rival strain, 
Whose like we may not hear again, 
Then ring rocks ring ! 
Why not ba gay this picnic day ? 
The first herd at Stony Garden. 

Let other sounds on other grounds 
Bring strangers from afar or near ; 
But none invite to such a cheer, 

Then ring rocks ring I 
Here let your strokes delight the folks. 
Assembled at Stony Garden. 

Nature's sweet charms the bosom warms 
And long retired, here sought to dwell; 
But Knowledge came and broke the spell — 

Then ring rocks ring ! 
Near Haycock's hill, where whip-poor-will 
In June, welcomes Stony Garden. 

The chairman stated that though at this (/eiitennial celebration 
much had been said and done in honor of its commemoration, from 
a personal knowledge believed that not half was as yet given from 
the variety of sources at command, and a day or two more could be 
thus spent on additional matters relating to this celebration ; that 
for himself he was satisfied with what had been accomplished this 
day for so noted an event, and as the time was now quarter of ten, 
proposed a final adjournment. Thus closed a demonstration the first 
of its kind held in Bucks County, and will be likely long held in 
remembrance by its several participants. 

REMARKS ON THE BUCKS VILLE CENTENNIAL. 

Desiring to be brief, the aforesaid will close our account of .said 
celebration without by any means exhau.sting our material thereon. 
Various estimates were given as to the number present, very few 
making it less than one thousand and others above fifteen hundred. 



116 REMARKS ON THE BUCK8VILLE CENTENNIAL. 

Mr. Laubach, the secretary gave the latter as his opinion. On this 
matter the editor while in the woods was deceived, and attributes 
that it was caused by the extensive area of the same, covering full 
six acres free of underbrush. The trees being of good size permitted 
readily horses in carriages to be driven and safely secured thereto. 
Hence when they were brought together in line the length of the 
procession, though compact created surprise for it was close to three- 
quarters of a mile, the conveyances being well filled besides the 
number a-foot, and therefore entertain no doubt that it considerably 
exceeded the first mentioned number. 

We are pleased to say though so large an assemblage, no acci- 
dent was reported as having occurred to either man, woman, child 
or to horses and vehicles. So orderly was it throughout that not a 
single case for damage from collision occurred in so large a collection 
of conveyances. From the beginning to the end of the exercises 
decorum was duly observed. No reflections were cast on any of the 
arrangements, or on the individuals that took part therein, but on 
the contrary appeared to give unusual satisfaction. A large majority 
of the population in and around Bucksville for several miles, is 
composed of the descendants of old families who thus in various 
ways felt themselves greatly interested, particularly through the 
affiliations of the long past. The respect and regard shown on this 
occasion to the Buck family, should by its descendants be ever held 
in grateful recollection in revisiting the homes of their ancestors. 

Partly in corroboration of what has been stated and as express- 
ing additional views, will now give a few brief extracts from the 
writings of three reporters who were present. First from what 
appeared in the Bucks County Intelligencer of June 16th: 
" Men and women with gray hair and bowed form were reminded 
on Saturday as they saw the concourse of people gathered about the 
hotel at Bucksville, of the annual ' Battalion days ' of half a century 
ago, when the several troops of the northeastern townships would 
assemble at the popular hostelry in their annual drill and the com- 
munity for miles around would turn out in gay holiday attire. It 
also brought back to remembrance the era in our history before the 
locomotive became a factor in the commerce and passenger trans- 
portation and the stage line from Philadelphia to Easton had its 
route up the Durham road, and the " Sign of the White Horse," was 
the half-way house between Doylestown and the stage's destination, 
and where relays were secured. 



REMARKS OX THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL. 117 

"Saturday, however, Bucksville threw aside its usual (|uiet and 
peaceful appearance and arrayed itself with National colors, gave a 
cordial welcome to the hundreds who sought it as a ]\[ecca for a 
literary feast, or to renew old associations and do honor to worthy 
ancestors. 

" The day was celebrated by members of tlie Buck family as the 
centennial of the purchase of a tract of land in Nockaniixon town- 
ship by Captain Nicholas Buck their ancestor, and his removal to 
and founding of the village, and it is to the credit of the family tlmt 
there are still several hundred acres yet held intact by its njcmbcrs. 

"Early in the morning the descendants began to arrive from 
every part of the State, and by noon, a large number had arrive<l, 
many of them meeting after a separation of years, during which time 
young men had become old and young girls grandmothers. Dinner 
over, the company began to wend their way toward the grove. 
There the hundreds of friends of the Buckwampun Literary Society 
had gathered in anticipation of their annual literary and scientific 
feast, but owing to the historical character of the occasion, 
part of the programme was given up to the consideration of papers 
relating to the vicinity and the family in whose honor the day was 
celebrated." 

The Doylestown Democrat of the same date thus touches 
on the matter: "Bucksville wore a holiday attire on Saturday in 
honor of the centennial celebration of the founding of the village 
by Captain Nicholas Buck. Not since old staging days has the 
historic spot contained so many strangers in one day. Bucks or the 
descendants of the Bucks came from nearly everywhere, and turned 
the day into a big old-fashioned family reunion. Buck greeted Buck 
who had not seen one another for twenty-five, thirty or perhaps f(»rty 
years. On benches along the sunny side of the hotel porch were 
grouped Bucks during the morning, chatting over stories of the long 
ago and incidents of their childhood in the familiar scenes now 
revisited. 

"The old Buck homestead was gaily decked with flags, bunting, 
flowers and trimmings. The hotel now run by the accommodating 
young landlord, John H. Nickel, as well as other buildings in th.r 
village, displayed the national colors lavishly, and every body in 
the vicinity whether a member of the Buck family or not. took a 
holiday. A more beautiful day could not have been selected f..r the 
reunion meeting. The sun bathed the pictures^pie landscai)e in 



118 REMARKS ON THE BUCKSVILLE CENTENNIAL. 

warmth, while over the blue crest of Haycock mountain swept 
cool breezes from the west. The exercises were brought to a close 
in the evening at the old village homestead, where with song and 
story, the reunion around which will cluster the most pleasant recol- 
lections of the Buck family and all other participants, ended." 

Otto Rapp the editor of the Riegelsville News, also of said 
date, gave a sketch of the meeting from which we will select a few 
brief extracts: '* The occasion throughout was an enjoyable affair. 
The procession was marshalled by our friend John E. Buck of 
Riegelsville, New Jersey. The exercises of the centennial consisted 
of music and historical reminiscences of the Buck family and of the 
early settlers in and around Bucksville. The News congratulated 
this family on the success of its centennial and wishes them many 
more happy reunions. The meetings of the Buckwampun Literary 
Association increase yearly in interest and attendance and have 
become quite popular." 

All members of the Buck family present who performed the 
duties of essayists, musicians, vocalists or on committees wore badges 
as indicative of the labors assigned them, on which Avas a repre- 
sentation of the family coat-of-arms, namely a springing white buck 
on a red shield from whence the surname originated in the middle 
ages. They were of two sizes. That worn by the chief marshall 
on his sash was three and a half by four inches, the rest were about 
one-fourth the former in size, which were worn either on the breast 
or on the lapels of their coats. This beautiful design was gotten up 
by one of the family and given as a souvenir to the most efficient of 
its members in appreciation of their services on this occasion. A 
representation of which is given on the title-page. 

The proper day for the observance of the centennial should 
have been from the date of March 23, 1793, the day on which 
Captain Buck took full possession of the property by his occupancy 
thereof. Owing to the time of the year, the general condition of 
the roads, and the impossibility of holding a large meeting out in 
the open air at said time precluded any such an idea. Neither would 
it have suited aged persons or delicate constitutions, as in the case 
of the editor, besides the inconveniences attending such a gathering 
at some distance from the nearest railroad; hence it was deemed 
most prudent to combine it partly with one of the annual meetings 
of the Buckwampun Literary Association, which have always taken 
place near the middle of June, the loveliest and most appropriate 
time of the year. 



EEMAKKS ON THE BUCKSYILLE CENTENNIAL. IIH 

Among those present of the family that did not participate in 
any of the exercises a few may be mentioned: Alfred Buck and 
Jordan Buck of South Bethlehem ; Michael Buck, Tinicum, Jacob 
Buck. Freuchtown, Alloysious Buck of Nockamixon ; Francis Bazilla 
Buck, William J. Buck, merchant, 1728 Ridge Avenue, John l>uck, 
Edward J. Buck, Howard Buck, Philadelphia ; Henry N. Buck, 
Haycock, Mrs. J. F. Cottraan, sister of the editor, Jenkintown. 
The oldest present was Mrs. Helena Kohl, daughter of the late 
Nicholas Buck of Bucksville, aged nearly 80 years, who has an elder 
surviving sister. Of the relations and particular friends may be 
mentioned Thomas C. Atherholt, and Edgar F. Atherholt, merchants, 
605 Market street, Philadelphia, A. B, Haring of Freuchtown, N. 
J., Samuel Gruver of Tinicum, Dr. J. S. Johnson of Kintnersville, 
Dr. John J. Ott of Pleasant Valley, John Kane of South Bethlehem 
and Jonas Frankenfield and William Beam of Haycock. 

THE BUCKSVILLE CORNET BAND. 

On a previous page it is stated that through a suggestion made 
soon after the meeting of the Literary Association at Stony Garden in ■ 
June, 1890, to John T. Buck in view of the contemplated Bucks- 
ville centennial led to the formation of this band. The aforesaid 
had for some time been an accomplished teacher in vocal and instru- 
mental music in the surrounding section, and his house a kind of 
head-quarters for those of musical tastes, hence through these several 
circumstances though in a small population it was not difficult to 
effect something of this kind, but that it should have up to this date 
grown to be so successful is more than the most sanguine could iuivc 
anticipated. 

It was organized as the Bucksville Cornet Band, November 5, 
1890, with the following members: John T. Buck, Owen George, 
Edwin Kohl, William Stone, Medas Atherholt, Frank Kohl, S. D. 
Herstine, Austin O'Connell, Nicholas Buck, Charles Hager, Eugene 
J. Kohl, Aaron B. Eufe, Frank :\Iatlock, Andrew Hefler. Sylvoater 
Buck, John Kimenhour, Abel Kohl, Frank Grim, Henry Rich, John 
Moser, Thomas Wolfinger, Edward Smith, Vincent Buck, Henry 
Shellenberger and Aaron Swope. At said meeting 8104.00 was 
raised and subscribed for instruments and for other incidentals 
John T. Buck the treasurer having heard through their wmu-nl 
instructor Dr. John J. Ott of Pleasant Valley that the Mountain- 



120 THE BUOKSVILLE CORNET BAND. 

ville Band of Northampton County had been dissolved and therefore 
desired to sell out at some sacrifice. The treasurer was therefore 
instructed to proceed there and see whether a satisfactory purchase 
could be made of their instruments and a splendid band-wagon that 
for their purpose they had specially built. 

With said intent Mr. Buck proceeded on a journey there and 
made for the organization a successful purchase, paying for the 
instruments $126.45 and for the wagon only $75.00. After this 
$110.50 was additionally raised by its members with subscriptions 
from William J. Buck, Mrs. J. F. Cottman and Albert Stover 
amounting to S15.00. By a picnic held in 1891, the band realized 
the further sum of S84.00, which they have applied for additional 
instruments and equipments. Dr. Ott commenced his instructions 
in the treasurer's hall, November 12, 1890. The proficiency they 
had made within the first six months produced quite a surprise in 
the neighborhood on their first turn out and parade. They have 
since been called upon to perform at various places as at Red Hill, 
Bucksville Centennial, Kintnersville, Pipersville and Haycock, 
besides at picnics and weddings. They are now clear of all debt 
and have besides about $100.00 in the treasurer's hands. 

Their founder John T. Buck has at his expense had a hall 
erected for their special use thirty-four by twenty-eight feet in dimen- 
sions over the Bucksville Creamery in the spring of 1892, which is 
quite an accommodation for practice on evenings or in unfavorable 
weather. Owen George is the present leader, the second being Frank 
Grim. Dr. Ott has been very favorably disposed towards their 
improvement from its beginning and his services have been duly 
appreciated and still gives them occasional instructions. He was 
present and performed with them at the late Centennial celebration. 
The success and establishment of this band in so small a village as 
Bucksville and its scattered surrounding population, certainly is a 
compliment to the musical taste of that section, whose foundation 
may have been laid there by Professor Fortman eighty years ago 
and which has not since been entirely extinguished. 

SIGN OF THE BUCK AND THE SIGN OF WHITE 
HORSE. 

With the view to keeping a public house Captain Buck had 
built an extensive addition to his dwelling during the year 1808^ 



SIGN OF THE BUCK AKD THE SIGN OF WHITE HORSE. 121 





„ ,ii«/fe4«W^ ' 



SIGN OF THE BUCK AND THE SIGN OF AVHITE HORSE. 123 

-which was sufficiently completed at the close of the year to apply 
for a license therefor which was granted him by the Court of Quarter 
Sessions to go in effect the beginning of April, 1809. The almost 
universal custom of having emblematic signs for such places had its 
origin in the middle ages and was introduced here from Europe with 
the early settlement of the country, and from whence have spnaig 
many names of places that exist to this day. As may be inferred 
by this article, the history of this subject is interesting though as yet 
has received here but little attention. Inns have existed from a very 
early period as a necessity for travelers, hence we need not wonder 
at their mention in the Bible. Christ is mentioned therein as having 
been born in a stable of an inn. Chaucer the earliest of English 
poets has thrown quite a charm around the inns of his day, notably 
the Tabord ; as has also Shakespeare. 

Both from its antiquity and the general popularity of the sub- 
ject, need we wonder under these circumstances that the sign of " The 
Buck," was extensively used. It figures on the coat-of-arms of three 
States of this Union. The Court of Bucks County at the close of 
the Revolution suggested that the design of the Penn or Provincial 
coat-of-arms be abolished, and instead a buck be substituted as a crest 
on the state coat-of-arms, which had not long before been adopted. 
This certainly would have given for the county's name and emblem- 
atical and local signification that cannot well be improved upon. 
"The Buck" has long been the name of an inn in Northampton 
township in said county, also in Philadelphia and in Lancaster 
county where it is still perpetuated in the name of a post office. Hence 
we need not wonder that Michael Ott near the beginning of this 
century in starting his inn on the Durham road, three miles below 
Bucksville, adopted for its sign " The Buck," and which we believe 
was maintained down to its abandonment as an inn, which probably 
was about 1880. 

For a better understanding of this article and its subsequent 
results it becomes us now to describe " The Buck " as represented on 
said sign. Fortunately in corroboration the editor has a distiiict 
recollection thereof, commencing in 1831 and extendingdown to 1840 
or for several years later, also from his having in his schoolboy days 
when a frequent passenger in the stage gazing at it while the mail 
was changing, John Emery then being its proprietor as well as post 
master. The animal thereon was represented as full antlered. of a 
brown color and reclining at his ease on the ground beneath the 



124 SIGN OF THE BUCK AND THE SIGN OF WHITE HORSE. 

shade of a large tree with forest in the background. Being familiar 
witli the family tradition of his surname, Captain Buck could not 
appreciate the representation of that buck, neither was he willing in 
any other respect to adopt it, to do so in his estimation was to conde- 
scend to a second hand idea. 

He had now been for over two years Captain as well as the 
successful founder of a cavalry company, the first and the only one 
that has ever existed in the whole of the northeastern part of the 
county and in which of course he felt just pride. This happily was 
suggestive of what should go on his sign, but in the change 
approach as closely as was possible to his ideas how the buck should 
have been represented by Michael Ott. The editor also well remem- 
bers this sign which was erected in 1809, as it appeared to him in 
1831 and for some time later. On it was a representation of a 
prancing white horse in full military caparison, after the manner of 
an officer of his company. That is well bridled and saddled, with 
bearskin covered holsters containing pistols and a large blue and 
yellow-bordered saddle cloth but without any cavalry man thereon. 
This sign existed until about 1838, when the late Nicholas Buck 
had it replaced by an oval sign on which was in large gilt letters 
"Bucksville Hotel," and on its top was a representation, partly 
sawed out of a fleet running white horse, unincumbered with any 
paraphernalia whatever, as indicative of entire freedom, so emblem- 
atic on the coat-of arms. This sign was retained until about 1874, 
since which the head of a white buck has been substituted. 

As a finale worthy this account of the sign of the Buck and of 
the White Horse whose representations head this article, a remark- 
able occurrence has accidentally been brought about in connection 
with the proceedings of the late centennial. In said procession was 
borne a banner with a representation of a white buck in full run on 
a red shield with blue surroundings. This was gotten up for said 
occasion at the expense of the wife of Michael Buck of Philadel- 
phia, who is Emma Jane daughter of John R. and Anna Ott of 
Tinicum township. Said banner was borne by her son Edward J. 
Buck, and by his side walked his brother Francis Bazilla Buck now 
for some time proprietor of the old " White Horse " hotel, number 
316 North Third street, Philadelphia, carrying the American flag. 
Though in 1809 a rivalry in business was commenced and a post 
office established at Ottsville prior to 1817, the results in this con- 
nection are again remarkable. Now for some time the inn has been 



THE OLD FAMILY HOMLSTF.AD. 125 

discontiuued, the post office removed some distance, and the phice 
has not been improved beyond the two houses there in 1809, and 
the name of Ott ha? disappeared from said vicinity as a real estate 
holder for over sixty years ! 

THE OLD FAMILY HOMESTEAD. 

To persons that have any regards for the scenes of their child- 
hood and for worthy ancestors, this subject presents endearing asso- 
ciations that time can not efface and absence only renders the more 
attractive. After a century's existence the Buck family mansion 
still remains in excellent preservation, having been built with endur- 
ing stone walls of twenty inches in thickness. To the descendants 
thereof we can now apply thereon the following beautiful and appro- 
priate extract of Washington Irving, that " It remains an object of 
onr pride and affections, a rallying point to call us home again after 
all our wanderings." This work shows that in the family there has 
long prevailed a strong local attachment for the scenes of their early 
companionship, — the reviver to them of most pleasing occurrences 
that otherwise might have perished in the lapse of time and hence 
otherwise could not have been reproduced herein, however, super- 
ficially, we hope for better preservation. 

We have said that in the fall of 1792, Captain Nicholas Buck had 
made his first purchase in the present Bucksville, and that he had 
removed thereon March 23 of the following year. Owing to the 
small log buildings thereon and their dilapidated condition he at 
once set to work and erected a bouse for himself two stories high 
thirty by forty feet in dimensions, to which he added for the purpose 
of making it a public house fifteen years later, the northern addition 
of twenty feet front which of course has since been slightly modern- 
ized ; on which we will near the close of this article make mention. 
Our wish herein is to now include some additional information that 
has hitherto been overlooked. It was on the opposite side of the 
Durham road where Captain Buck erected his wheelwright and 
blacksmith shops and carried on his wagon works. He made it a 
licensed public house in 1809, and his cavalry company was started 
two vears previously and continued their general head-quarters here 
for at least twenty years. Professor Fortman's school of languages, 
music and the higher branches in 1814, if not earlier, the post-office 
in 1828, and as a stage house some time previously. With this 
brief summary will now revert to new matter. 



126 THE OLD FAMILY HOMESTEAD. 

From the size mentioned as a public house we may judge the 
extent of Captain Buck's accomodations in 1809. When St. Luke's 
Church was built in Nockamixon in 1813, and the following year, 
bricklayers were brought from Philadelphia and while so employed 
thereon, boarded at his inn. Worshipers from a distance going to 
St. John's Church, Haycock, were occasionally compelled owing to 
the condition of the roads and weather during the most inclement 
period to put up here, having prior to 1830, no nearer church than 
Alleutown and Goshenhoppen. In March, 1814, twenty-five British 
officers were captured in Canada and remained over night here 
under guard on the way to Philadelphia. At the time it caused no 
little excitement and the recollection thereof still survives among 
the descendants of the old families of the neighborhood, as the 
Youngkens, Traugers and Kohls. 

About two hundred yards west of the house there is a spring of 
excellent water, which no doubt has been used more or less now for 
a century. A circumstance occurred here about 1815, of so singular 
a character that in this connection may be worth relating. Prior to 
1835, this spring was located but a few yards east of a fence that had 
formed the eastern boundary of the original purchase of Nicholas 
McCarty, from Thomas Penn dated March 5, 1761. In 1815, a 
woods extended up to this line and on Captain Buck's side for several 
acres and southwardly nearly to this spring, with a coppice along 
the fence for some distance further southwards, with here and there 
a fair sized tree. It was the custom of Captain Buck's family 
to have their family washing done here. On a warm day in the 
summer of said year Sarah and Mary his daughters came hither 
to perform said labor accompanied by their brother Jacob, whose 
duty it was to cut the wood and attend to the fire under a large 
kettle swung over a rudely constructed hearth of dry stone wall. 
When nearly done Mary seated herself under a tree, and had not 
been long there when down from the branches overhead dropped a 
black snake fully five feet in length into her lap to the great conster- 
nation of those present, but immediately made for the coppice and 
disappeared. The editor has heard Jacob relate this, and the recol- 
lection thereof still lingers around here in tradition. 

When the store was established in 1816, there was none nearer 
than Durham, Kintnersville, Springtown and Strawntown, four to 
seven miles distant. One of the original account books commenc- 
ing in said year is now owned by John T. Buck his great grandson. 



THE OLD FAMITA' HOMESTEAD. 127 

The writing therein by Captain Buck, and his sons Jacob K. and 
Samuel, is very well clone, the more so when we reflect tliat steel pens 
were not then in use. One matter more about the store ami i.Ul 
fashioned confidence and honesty. Between the Buck family and 
the Stovers, there has long existed a friendly intimacy and therefore 
do not wonder that the late Nicholas Buck made John K. Stover, 
his executor. Daniel and David Stover, the teamsters, so long 
Captain Buck's neighbors would occasionally bring and offer him the 
use and care of money without desiring therefor any interest 
which was sometimes accepted. 

A matter of interest, at least to some of the l^uck family 
occurred here, February 25, 1824, out of the usual course. In this 
mansion on said day by the Rev. B. Corvine, Jacob E. Buck was 
married to Miss Catharine, the eldest and only daughter of Joseph 
and Mary Afflerbach, of Springfield ; Aaron Beam to Elizabetl* 
daughter of Major John and Salome Buck, of ]S^ockanjixon ; and 
Peter McCarty to Miss Rachel "Weaver of the same township. All 
of those unions have descendants living, the tw^o last in the vicinity 
of Bucksville. The first mentioned couple proved the longest 
survivors, having attained to fifty-six years of married life. From 
family papers we learn that on Captain Buck's retirement from here 
in the spring of 1829, he rented the hotel and a few acres of ground 
to Joseph Drake for $125 per annum and thus occupied it for two 
years, or until sold ; the cost for license then was only ?10.0U. 

Nicholas Buck, Jr., became the purchaser and entered thereon 
April 1, 1831, and kept it as a public house until 1841, when he 
removed into the present brick hotel opposite which was just com- 
pleted for this purpose. He now rented the old mansion in which 
store was kept for several years by Elias and William Steckel, of 
Durham, and later by Jonas H. Buck, who had purchased the 
property from his father and to which he had made considerable 
repairs. Having bought his father's hotel property soon after his 
death in 1870, he sold the old mansion including about ten acres 
from the original purchase to his brother-in-law Austin McCarty. 
He also made considerable improvements thereon and continued the 
store business. In 1884, he was elected Recorder of Deeds for 
Bucks County and on the expiration of his term of office returned 
from Doylestown and again entered into business which he did not 
long survive, for he died here, February 16, 1889, aged 49 years. 
His widow through inheritance retained possession thereof until 
9 



128 THE OLD FAMILY HOMESTEAD. 

April 1, 1890, having in the previous fall been sold at public sale to 
Harvey Kiser, merchant, its present occupant ; thus after a contin- 
uous possession of four generations in the Buck family, or of ninety- 
seven years it passed from out their hands. 

For various acts of kindness extended to the descendants on the 
occasion of said Centennial celebration Mr. Kiser and his wife 
deserve our thanks. Owing to said demonstration the editor made 
his home there, and in which he had not previously slept for fifty- 
two years. The venerable building was a reminder of several very 
important occurrences ; for in it his father was born and married, 
where he was also born and a frequent visitor in boy-hood's sunny 
days to grandparents and to a respected uncle, all of whom are now 
for some time departed. Several venerable pear trees yet remain, 
planted and cared for by his forefathers and of whose fruit he has 
partaken. The garden is still at the same old place and the original 
well remains in use, but as may be expected, things have been some- 
what changed in so long a lapse of time, however, taken on the whole 
the wonder is that it has not been more so, when we come to consider 
the general instability of such things elsewhere. 

FAMILY TRAITS. 

The influence of heredity is a subject of interest almost entirely 
neglected by genealogists, yet it is a matter well worthy their con- 
sideration as it comes more immediately under their notice than 
those engaged in any other pursuits. The attention of the editor 
was particularly called to this by one of his intimate friends at the 
Hall of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania about twenty-five 
years ago, derived from an accumulation of some 13,000 names of his 
family history commencing with the year 1682, in Pennsylvania 
down to said date, the result costing him above forty years' labor. 
He said that in three branches of his family, three distinct passions 
had strongly developed themselves, the origin of which he had 
determined to trace if possible to their source and if from intermarri- 
age with other families wherein they had previously existed ? The 
passions spoken of did not prevail to abuse he became satisfied 
beyond one eighth of his total number. He said fortunately he had 
no occasion in any of the three branches to go beyond seventy years 
when it entered his family and follow its influences beyond and 
down to the present time. He stated that the results of this observa- 
tion was conclusive to him of the general influences of heredity. 



FAMILY TRAITS. 129 

The editor in corroboration of the aforesaid has this personal 
knowledge. Fancy, that a person has two first cousins, one from 
his father's and the other from his mother's side. As may he 
observed between the two aforesaid it is not likely there can be any 
possible relationship. Both being respectable and moral men and 
descended from old families in the neighborhood of tlie highest 
standing. Those tw^o young men marry sisters from a family whose 
reputation is by no means irreproachable. They both rear children, 
the majority of whom as they grow up exhibit the same general 
traits that have prevailed for some time on their mother's side, while 
their husbands continue on in their former habits. We tliink in 
this is exhibited one of the strongest results of the influence of hered- 
ity that can well be produced. Hence the selection of a partner for 
life involves much more important consequences than is generally 
supposed. We know that this matter is frequently alluded to in 
works on physiology, but not with such force as is derived from the 
afoi'esaid observations based on genealogical investigations. 

That in the preparation of this work we should be enabled to 
go back eight centuries or more to show the influence of heredity in 
a family cannot surprise the reader more than it has the editor. 
Mark Anthony Lower in his work on the Origin of Surnames 
(London, 1849, vol. 1, pp. 197-8) states it as his opinion tliat the 
buck as represented on the family coat-of-arms was indicative of 
agility in the family that assumed such a charge. This has also been 
expressed by other European writers on Heraldry and family anti- 
quity ; it was thus that it arrested the editor's attention to give the 
matter a careful consideration as far as it concerned the Bucks 
County family as derived from his personal knowledge. It is a pre- 
vailing trait among them to be quick and active in their movements 
hence fast walkers. Inquiry on this subject from the husbands of 
the wives of the family has also confirmed the fact, as has been long 
and well known to be characteristic of the children. One instance 
of remarkable agility will only here be given. Samuel E. Buck, 
died in 1840, from his residence in Doylestown, must be .still well 
remembered there by some of its early families; the c(litf)r has 
several times witnessed him performing this feat. Seize with his 
right hand the toe of his left boot and whilst so holding it and stand- 
ing erect jump with his right foot backwards and forwards over his 
left leg with comparative ease. 

Locality is a largely developed organ in the family as indicated 



130 FAMILY TRAITS. 

by phrenology. Of the ten children of Nicholas Buck, the ancestor, 
born in Springfield, it is remarkable that six of the eight by the 
second wife should about a century ago remove to Nockamixon, 
seven miles distant to settle near each other and spend there success- 
fully the remainder of their lives, with a single brief exception of 
Major Jacob Buck, and even he on retiring from business at Jenkin- 
town again sought said vicinity to die and be buried with his kin- 
dred. All of those six have had descendants continuously residing 
in and around Bucksville to this day. Herein is perceived a strong 
local attachment that few families can surpass, but what is still more 
creditable their loving kindness for each other, for among them law 
suits have been unknown. Need we wonder then that Captain 
Buck through his businesss standing, integrity, extensive relation" 
ship and marriage affiliations was a man of influence in his residence 
of thirty-seven years at Bucksville. 

Among the other prevailing traits maybe mentioned quickness 
in perception, fluency in conversation and an aptness for acquiring 
languages. So well even a century ago, though in so German a sec- 
tion, could the descendants of the ancestor speak English, that it 
was often supposed by strangers that they were of that origin- 
Given to plainness in dress, simplicity in manners, prompt in their 
dealings and seldom buying on credit. The latter has been partic- 
ularly apparent in their purchases of real estate, hence their remark- 
able exemption from sheriff sales. In referring to the coatof-arms, 
we can go further than what Lower, (Wm. Authur, Dictionary of 
Family Names, 1857, p. 84) and others have stated as symbolized in 
said charge. The figure denotes besides agility, freedom or independ- 
ence and unrestrained liberty, the color purity, the form nobleness 
diudi persistency. These are also general characteristics on which we 
deem it unnecessary to further enlarge, as sufficiently confirmed in 
our genealogical statements. 

The influence of heredity has also shown itself in tolerable 
longevity, and in a remarkable exemption from cases of idiocy, 
lunacy, strabismus and near-sightedness ; of the aforesaid not a 
single instance has as yet been ascertained. That dire disease pul- 
monary consumption has been almost a stranger, especially among 
the lineal descendants of Captain Buck and of his brother Major 
Jacob Buck, on which our knowledge is now pretty thorough for all 
of a century. As to their intellectual abilities, we propose here not 
to dwell, but will in part refer the curious therein to the article 



FAMILY TRAITS. 131 

family antiquity and to tbe proceedings of tlie late Bucksville 
centennial celebration. 

ADDITIONAL RELATING TO BUCKSVILLE. 

When Captain Buck removed to Nockamixon, his wife related 
in 1852, that his house was then the only one on the Durham road 
in the upper portion of the present village. John Youngken and 
George Overpeck were the nearest neighbors above and a house 
stood below it half a mile, nearly a mile further down said road on 
its west side George Kohl had settled before 1760, and who.-e sons 
Jacob and Nicholas subsequently married his sisters Elizabeth and 
Mary Ann. A mile to the southwest resided Nicholas ^IcCarty 
whose son Thomas shortly afterwards married his sister Magdalena. 
When the McCartys, the earliest settlers in the vicinity arrived, deer 
and wolves abounded, yet they had preceded Captain Buck here only 
about half a century, so new then was the country around. In 1800, 
bears, wild turkeys and rattlesnakes still existed, and for some time 
later a lynx or wild cat occasionally shot. 

At the time when the post-office was established in 1828, there 
were only twenty-six in the county, the nearest being Ottsville, 
Durham, Monroe, Strawntown and Erwinna ; now within this cir- 
cuit are no less than sixteen. Gordon in his Gazetteer of 1832, 
mentions Bucksville as then containing " a tavern, store, post-office 
and three or four dwellings." Without possessing any great business 
advantages, now contains twenty-six houses, three stores, a creamery, 
hotel and several mechanic shops, denoting a favorable growth, but 
should in the future a railroad go down the Haycock Run valley 
from the Lehigh river to Philadelphia its prosperity would be greatly 
promoted. 

Standing a few hundred yards in the road east of the liotcl, is 
one of the grandest views to be found almost anywhere within an 
equal distance from Philadelphia. From here may be .-ooii the 
Lehigh, Wind and Delaware Water Gaps and the Kittatinny or 
Bluelviountain range for seventy miles. Anywhere throughout the 
village and for a mile or more above or below it on the Durham 
road'can be seen the majestic dome of the Haycock, only two miles 
distant, while just this side is the beautiful and fertile valley of Hay- 
cock Run, dotted over with fine commodious farm buildings, not 
much surpassed anywhere in the adjoining counties. An offi.-er m 
the United States signal service stated in Bucksville about sixteen 



132 ADDITIONAL RELATING TO BUCKSVILLE. 

years ago that the surface of the road below the hotel was 585 feet 
above tidewater, thus approaching within 410 feet the height of the 
mountain, consequently few villages possess a higher elevation in the 
territory of old Bucks. 

Through its location, in August, 1892, Bucksville has again 
become an important mail distributing centre for intermediate post- 
offices. Stages arrive daily, Sundays excepted, carrying the mail from 
Doylestown, Riegelsville, Sellersville and Bingen. These four lines 
arrive and depart from here within an hour on their respective 
routes. In consequence by this arrangement it certainly now 
possesses unusual advantages for so remote a country village as 
respects speedy postal facilities. 

HISTORY OF AN OLD FAMILY PAINTING. 

While engaged on this work through an examination of numer- 
ous papers, sufficient has been brought to light to thus unexpectedly 
give increased interest to a painting that has been in the possession 
of the family at least one hundred and twenty years, and its origin 
may go back considerably further. It is probably the only relic that 
the descendants of Captain Buck now possess that once belonged to 
his father, and no doubt was then framed in glass and suspended in 
one of the rooms of his mansion on the Buckhill estate. Its history 
now giving it increased interest. 

We have stated that Nicholas Buck, the ancestor, in his Avill 
made in 1785, directed his personal effects to go to his two eldest 
sons Leonard and Joseph, under certain stipulations, they then being 
the only children of age ; the former retaining the homestead. His 
father having died in 1786 or the following year, will readily explain 
among his other personal effects how some of the paintings came into 
his possession. On Leonard's death, his brother Captain Nicholas 
Buck, of Bucksville became his administrator and in 1810, sold his 
personal property and real estate. Among the things exposed to 
sale were at least ten paintings purchased by the aforesaid and 
treasured by him to the close of his life. On his death his sons 
Nicholas and Jacob became his administrators and at the sale of his 
effects in October, 1829, the latter became the purchaser of two of 
the aforesaid and is so mentioned on the catalogue. 

It was thus that Jacob E. Buck came in possession and like his 
father and grandfather treasured them into advanced age for their 
interesting family associations. A few years before his death his 



HISTORY OF AN OLD FAMILY PAINTING. 133 

eldest son who had beeu for some time absent as a resident in 
another State on a visit was made its recipient and in whose posses- 
sion it still remains. This will explain its continuous history now 
for almost a century and a quarter. Underneath it was lettered 
"S. Catharinna" evidently done with a quill pen and ink. Its 
companion picture is well remembered by the editor in his father's 
house down to 1860; and in style was similarly lettered "S. Bar- 
bara." They were both framed alike with some dark-colored wood, 
varnished, probably mahogany, and of finished workmanship. 

The painting was done in water colors and the whole executed 
by hand, its size being six and a quarter by eight and a half inches. 
It is on stout white paper which was coated over by some prepara- 
tory process that has given it a smooth glossy surface. Both the con- 
ception and the work is executed with admirable taste, the colors being 
so harmoniously blended, that we are reminded of Raphaer.-^ Mad- 
onnas. Xone but a skilled artist could have produced it. It is an 
ideal of a woman of the purest type, and herein lies its chief excel- 
lency and value. None we think can gaze on this creation of love- 
liness but with exalted impressions. That it did hang in the colonial 
mansion of Buckhill is creditable to the taste of the ancestor when 
we come to consider the rude condition of the fine arts at this 
period. 

We are pleased to say it is still in tolerable preservation con- 
sidering its antiquity. The frame has long disappeared, and how 
we are not exactly enabled- to state. But was informed that the 
glass had first fallen out and got broken, and the frame subsequently 
came apart at its corners, when the painting was laid liy and thus it 
came into the hands of its present possessor. By its appearance it 
has evidently been saturated with water, sufficiently so as to wrinkle 
the paper and slightly soil a portion of its coloring. However, we 
are happy that in its long preservation is no worse. What became 
of its companion is to us unknown, but as we have a clear recollec- 
tion of it back into the days of our childhood, will try and give a 
brief description. It was of the same size, design and execution and 
evidently by the same artist, yet it differed somewhat in features, 
dress and general outline. It also possessed the same high moral 
attributes of feminine loveliness that virtue so much adorns. With 
this introduction we will now enter upon the story of those two 
pictures. 

It was the custom for centuries along the valleys of the Khine 



134 HISTORY OF AN OLD FAMILY PAINTING. 

and Moselle to have faith in guardian saints so beautifully described 
by Washington Irving in his chapter on St. Mark's Eve in Brace- 
bridge Hall, to which we Avill refer the reader for some additional 
information. The perusal of that most charming of accounts in our 
boyhood's days has never been forgotten, and has only the more 
endeared to me said painting. Probably if it had not been for that 
and for its illustration here^ this may not have been written. It was 
a prevailing custom there whenever a child was born to have it 
baj^tized after some saint in the scriptures or based on the traditions 
of the church. This was supposed to be its guardian spirit or angel 
as long as that child would keep in the path of rectitude and thus 
exercise an influence over its destiny. It was under this idea that 
has led the several nations of Europe to adopt so long ago patron 
saints, as St. George for England, St. Andrew' for Scotland, St. 
James for Spain and St. Dennis for France. 

In May, 1772, the ancestor and his wife Elizabeth Hartman had 
a daughter born who was called Catharine. The aforesaid painting 
was now secured and dedicated in honor of St. Catharine as the 
lettering shows. The editor in the summer of 1850, visited this lady 
at her home in Washington township, Berks County, who appeared 
quite active, never fancying that she was then actually over seventy- 
seven years of age as has just been ascertained from the date of her 
nativity. How much longer she lived is to us not known. The 
next daughter was born in August, 1777, and was called Barbara, 
hence accounts for that name on the ather painting. For a brief 
mention of those sisters will refer the reader to near the beginning 
of this work. In examining closely the lettering under St. Cathar- 
ine and in comparison with the former have came to this conclusion. 
That the artistic work is too fine to have been executed in this country 
so long ago, that they were thus brought over from the Fatherland 
either as a present from the family there, or sold by vendors to 
purchasers. In honor of male or female saints, as the case may have 
been and so subsequently filled up for their especial guide to virtue. 

From what has now been stated it was calculated to give 
encouragement to the products of the artist. At first thought it 
might have been taken as a harmless imposition, because impossible 
to be actual representations of saints that may have been departed 

' Owing to its condition could not be photographed and in our desire 
to go to press would not take time for its reproduction by hand for the 
engraver, hence to our regret is omitted. 



HISTORY OF AN OLD FAMILY PAINTING. 13.") 

two thousand year?. In answer, what are all similar illii.*tratioiis 
in the bible but just as imaginary? And why should the iniagiiia- 
tion be thus drawn upon? For the reason tliat the actual sul)jects 
or scenes had never been taken from life, and thus has the ideal been 
made a substitute for the real. Herein was no adoration in our 
modern sense as to the fickle goddess of fashion, — a higher and nobler 
purpose was intended, and that to the rich and poor alike. That such 
representations served to adorn the quiet homes of our ancestors 
speaks well for their taste, in which nothing can l)e found thai was 
either coarse, sensual or unrefined. 

THE FAMILY IN BUCKS COUNTY HISTORY. 

The question has been repeatedly asked by strangers and otliers 
whether the county has received its name from the Buck family, 
which we now propose here to answer for it has thus been several 
times published in newsj)apers. It is remarkable that in tlie several 
historical works relating to this one of the original counties of Penn- 
sylvania, and goes back to 1682, so little has been said on this sub- 
ject. The name evidently was given it by William Penn, with 
whom John Watson in his sketch of Buckingham says was a favorite 
name. There is no doubt to us but what it was called after Bucks 
or Buckingham in England, where it is one of the central and mo-st 
elevated counties, there are besides four or five parishes there bear- 
ing the name. In the beginning of this work we have explained 
that the words buck, book and beech are traceable to the same 
origin and hence need not be here repeated. Owing to its location 
and situation was originally covered with extensive forests of beech. 
According to history the town of Buckingham in name is still older 
than the county, extending into the Anglo-Saxon period or between 
the years seven and eight hundred if not earlier. Its literal transla- 
tion in said language is a home or a place in the hpeches^. 

Unwilling to assume any more honor than what the family is 
justly entitled to accept although an ancient one there, the afore>iaid 
as the proper origin of the name. In confirmation of this the editor 
prepared a paper treating this matter pretty fully, for it cost liiin 
considerable research, entitled "An Inquiry into the Origin ..!' tlu; 
names of places in Bucks County," which was pul)li>lu'<l in the 
Bucks County inie^encer of January 8, l-^oT, and we think also 
at the time in the Doylestown Democrat, in whi<h, however, no 
mention whatever was made of Bucksville. In evi.lence that at 



136 THE FAMILY IN BUCKS COUNTY HISTORY. 

that time it attracted some attention this may be related : The only 
periodical then published in Philadelphia of an historical character, 
Avas " The Notes and Queries " by Wni. Brotherhead. Its editor 
wrote for permission to republish it in his Magazine. Our consent 
was given but not until we had given it a careful revision with some 
additions, it thus appeared therein within said year. Since in several 
works we have observed information taken therefrom without credit ; 
a matter, however, we have been for some time accustomed to. 

We shall now, however, touch on claims that the family does 
possess that must give it some historical importance in several 
respects in its relation to the county. First, the ancestor Avas the 
only one we know of that early bore the surname within said terri- 
tory. Here he was an original settler and purchaser of a tract of 
land " called Buckhill," the name and title thereto came from a son 
and grandson of William Peun, and from a wilderness state improved 
it into several productive farms, as the public records testify and was 
besides for some time in the family. Let us now ask how many 
families in Bucks County can produce a title from the Proprietaries 
of Pennsylvania that bore under their seals the fainily name given to 
their purchase? To the editor a similar case is unknown. In 
Philadelphia and the present Montgomery County, there is an excep- 
tion in the grant of " the manor of Moreland " to Nicholas More, but 
we do not remember another single instance within the State out- 
side the Penn family. This itself should prove that Nicholas Buck 
in culture and intellectual ability must have been considerably 
above the average of immigrants ? Again he took an early and 
active part in the Revolution, having subscribed to the articles of 
Association and joined as a soldier the Third Bucks County Battal- 
ion, August 21, 1775, and from the evidences produced thereon, 
John W. Jordan, secretary of the Pennsylvania sons of the Revolu- 
tion, says that his descendants in consequence are entitled to admis- 
sion therein by furnishing their lineage. 

We have given the date of his allegiance in support of the new 
form of government soon after its adoption. Among the relatives 
that were also original landholders and in the army of the Revolu- 
tion and in the war of 1812-14, may be mentioned the Kohls, Hart- 
mans, Harings, McCartys, Kramers and others. In regard to the 
military history, we have conclusive proof that between the years 
1792 and 1861, Nockamixon and its vicinity had produced six 
captains and three majors of the surname. Of two companies that 



I 



THE FAMILY IN BUCKS COUNTY HISTORY. Vol 

had a long existence, the Washington Light Horse luid a RiHe 
Company both originated before 1808 by members of the family- 
In the case of those companies, the sons succeeded tlieir fatheis in 
command. The Rifle company must have been organized prior to 
1798 or soon after 1792. What the family has done for the cause 
of education and the early introduction of music and languages 
within the county, from what has been given is also of interest. So 
characteristic of the Germans, they have been conservative in their 
views and therefore did not readily take to ncw-fiingled notions 
unless they were satisfied as to their being beneficial to all, by 
depriving none of their just personal rights or liberties. Also in not 
being an office-seeking people, preferring to earn their bread rather 
by their industry and own business management; the spirit of inde- 
pendence and self reliance being too strong to descend to the humilia- 
tions and disappointments that too frequently beset such inclina- 
tions. 

The family has done very well in contributing to the historical 
and scientific literature of Pennsylvania, and in some of the afore- 
said departments have been pioneers. In their relation to the 
history of the county in closing have this to add. In what we now 
state, that it is not done with a view to disparage, but as we believe 
an assured fact respecting some other old families, that have also 
founded settlements that still bear their names in the surrounding 
section. There is for instance Bursonville, Strawntown, Pipersvillo, 
Erwinna, Kintnersville, Ottsville and Doylestown, and without much 
eflTort this list could be greatly extended over this and in the adjoin- 
ing counties. Let us ask where are now the Bursons, Pipers, 
Erwins, Kintners, Otts and Doyles? Long, long since gone from 
the places they once owned, and not one occupying as much now 
there as a single house ! Although the Bucks have widely scattered 
yet in and around their village whose Centennial they have just 
celebrated, still hold nearly all their ancestral acres besides consider- 
ably more and where eight males now bear the surname. 

Therefore from what has been stated, considering the mutation 
of families, they have certainly here been highly favored. Let the 
present descendants and those that may soon come after them con- 
tinue in the ways of their forefathers, for industry, intelligcm-e, 
sobriety and moral rectitude, and they will have no more to fear than 
they from the constable, the sheriff, the poor house, the prison and 
the misconstruction and subterfuges that are connected with lawsuits. 



188 THE FAMILY IN BUCKS COUNTY HISTORY. 

Judging from the results of the past, the name of Bucksville has been 
merited and was not unworthily bestowed. Let us hope then that 
to the next Centennial those claims may still continue undiminished 
from the honors realized for what has now been accomplished. 



c-v@___., ^^.^.^ s^ ^-a 



INDEX. 



Afflerbach, Family 43 

Afflerbach, Henry 19, 43 

Afflerbach, Joseph 42 

Amey, George 21, 28 

Antiquity of Buck surname. ...9, 10, 11 

Applebach, Emma 76 

Atherholt, Daniel 55, 59 

Atherhoh, Family 49,59, 119 

Autographs : Nicholas Buck 14, Joseph 
Buck 30, Capt. N. Buck 30, Major 
Jacob Buck 35, N. Buck, Jr. 40, 
Jacob E. Buck 42, S. E. Buck 44 

Beam, Aaron 51 

Beam, John J 51 

Beam, William 51 

Bidleman, Adam 19, 29 

Bidleman, Leonard 29 

Bockberg in Germany 18 

Bryan, Josiah 18, 19,29 

Bryan, William 18, 29 

Buck, Aaron, Supt 47 

Buck, Alfred, Supt 59, 89 

Buck, Miss Anastasia 71 

Buck, Alice, vocalist.. .79, 95, 100, 112 

Buck, Augustus, Sergt 57 

Buck, Alloysious 58 

Buck, Barbara 38 

Bucks Co. Battalion 19, 136 

Buck coat-of-arms..8, 9, 10, 107, 118, 

123, 124, 130. 

Bucks Co., History by Davis ...12, 18, 

48, 81. 

Bucks County names 135 

Buck, Elizabeth Hartman 21 

Buck, Elizabeth 38, 45, 48, 51, 52 

Buck, Catharine 38, bO 

Buck, Chas. Austin, chemist 60 

Buck, Edward 



Buck, Francis Bazilla Gl, 124 

Buck, Helena til 

Buck, Heny N 59 

Buck, Howard ..(jl , (>(> 

Buck, Isabella r>9, m 

Buck, Major Jacob .'!5, 46 

Buck, Martha 5:! 

Buck, Minnie E 53 

Buck, Michael 47, 60 

Buck, Jacob E 33, 42, 63, 89. 104 

Buck, Jacob 47,48 

Buck, Jerome, of N. Y 65 

Buck, Jerome, Sergeant 48 

Buck, Major John .36 

Buck, Major John H 57, 99, 127 

Buck, James N 64 

Buck, John T 58, 66, 69, 72, 105, 

112, 120. 

Buck, John B., Alderman 51 

Buck, John 47, 51 

Buck, John E., Marshall 52, 10(> 

Buck, Jonas H 5'.t, 110 

Buck, Joseph Reading 53 

Buck Joseph 20, 22, 23, 30 

Buck, Leonard 20, 22, 29 

Buck, Lucinda 62 

Buck, Mary Ann 39 

Buck, Magdalena 38 

Buck, Mary Magdalena 33,46 

Buck, Mary 61 

Buck, Nicholas, ancestor 12,13, 17, 

19,20, 21,22, l.!6. 

Buck, Captain Nicholas 23, 30, .'.1, 

32, .33, 103, 104, 105, 108. 

Buck, Nicholas 49,53 

Buck, Nicholas, Jr 40, 56, 61, 110, 

111. 

Buck, Rebecca 53 

Buck, Samuel E 13,(^5 



139 



140 



INDEX. 



Buck, Samuel 51,58 i 

Buck, Sarah 45, 47 

Buck, Wm. J., historian (33, 66, 73, | 

74, 75, 78, 79, 83, 86, 90, 94, 98, 101, 1 
102, 103, 112, 120. I 

Buck, Wm. J., merchant 60, 119 j 

Buckhill Estate 17,136 | 

Buckhill, Map of 16 [ 

Buck Surname in history 10, 11, j 

12, 1.35, 137. 

Bucksville: Cornet Band 66, 119; 
Centennial 78, 79, 119; Early Fam- 
ilies around 79 ; Early roads and 
stages 95, 101, 107, 115, 137; Mil- 
itary trainings 32,110; Piano class 
102; Post Office .32, 131, 132; Fine 

views from 131 

Buckwampun Literary Asso 67, 72 , 

Chapman, James U. S. Col .3-5, 36 i 

Charcoal burning 88 

Chesapeake, attack on 31 

Clemmer, Christian 38 

Cooley, Thomas 46 

Committee of Arrangements 101 

Cressman, Nathan 18,23, 24 

Damuth, John 23 

Deeds lost by fire 24 

Dennis, Joseph 35 

Donelly Family 62 

Early Associations 99 

Easlon Stage Lines 32 

Eck Family, Account of 33, 34 

Elliott Family of N. J 52 

Engravings explained 8 

Family Agility 129 

Family Homestead, Old 105, 112, 

117, 125. 

FamiHes, Old around Bucksville 79 

Family Relics, Old 106, 132 

Family Traits 128 

Family Weddings 127 

Fisher, Oliver H 58 

Fortman, Prof. Charles 32, 42, 49, 

102. 



Frankenfield, Adam 19 

Frankenfield. E. A 78, 82 

Frankenfield Family 83, 88 

Gallows Hill Run 81 

German Settlers 80, 90 

Goshenhoppen Records. ...5, 27, 29, 48 

Haney Family, Account of 41 

Haney, Michael 41 

Haney, William 58 

Haring Family, Account of 35 

Hartman, Elizabeth 28 

Hartman Family, Account of 27, 28 

Hartman, Michael 27 

Haycock Church of St. John 84 

Haycock, Poem on ...91 

Haycock Run Valley 82, 131 

Heredity, Influence of 128 

Hindenach, Hon. C. E., Address. ...68 

Kane Family 54 

' Keyser, Peter 81 

Kintner, Captain Hugh 110, 111 

Kintner, Col. Jacob 37 

Klinker, Christian, potter 31 

Kohl, Anthony 55 

Kohl, Elizabeth 56 

Kohl Family 27, 38, 40, 45, 51, 

55, 56, 62, 85. 

Kohl, George 38 

Kohl, Isaac 55 

Kohl, Jacob 38, 40 

Kohl, Joseph 56 

Kohl, John George 27 

Kohl, Nicholas 40 

Kohl, Samuel B -55 

Kohl, Thomas 55 

Kohl and Cole as surnames 56 

Kramer, Mathias 29 

Krier Family 38 

. Kulp, Edward .58 

Laubach, Charles, Sec'y...72, 101, 116 

Leopard Rifles 32 

Lorraine, Province of 11, 12 

Lottery Land 17, 18, 84 

Malone, Francis 46 



INDEX. 



141 



Malone, John 4."^ 

Malone, Nicholas B 44, 4.1 

Matlock Family 49 

McCarty, Austin 54, 127 

McCarty, Edward 39 

McCarty Family 37, 39, 83 

McCarty, Francis 49 

McCarty, Henry 54 

McCarty, Isaac (il 

McCarty, John Justus 39, 54 

McCarty, Nicholas B 39, 40, 54 

McCarty, Nicholas 37, 38 

McCarty, Thomas 37, 38, o4 

McCarty, Thonnas Y 51 

McGrath Family of Ky (j5 

Melchior, John and Family 29 

Meredith, Mary Matilda 49 

Meredith, Dr. Hugh and Family 50 

Meredith, Dr. Thomas N 49 

Meyers, Jacob F 58 

Meyers, Peter, Minister 17, 29 

Military Trainings at Bucksville 32, 

110. 

Miller, Rev. Henry S 50 

Mumbower's Pottery S8 

Murphy Family of Easton 62 

Music : Thoughts of Home 2(j; Mos- 
elle Waltz 26, Centennial Song 78, 
Wood Robin's Song 94, Our Old 
Family Home 105, Chimes of Stony 
Garden 112, Die Hirten 113 

Neighbors of N. Buck 27 

Nockamixon's Greeting 71 

Nockamixon QuarteUe 105 

Nuspickle, Ludwig 17, 21, 28 

O'Connell. Hugh 49 

O'Connell, Isaac 54 

O'Conner, Peter 46 

Ott, Michael 32, 123, 124 

Ott, Lewis 24,29 

Overpeck Family 80 

Painting, Old Family 132 

Pear Trees, Old 24, 128 

Penn, Thomas and John 17, 136 

Penn Papers 23 



Pleasant Valley Bridge 2S 

Quitrent Paid )8 

Raub Family 52, 57 

Raub, Hiram .52 

Revolution, Services in 19, 20, 27, 

28, 29, 30, 34, 3.->, :!(i, l:;6. 

Roads and Stages 95 

Rohr, Valenline 28 

Robbery, Remarkable 88 

Kuffner, Daniel B 47 

Ruffner Family 48 

Sassaman, Henry si 

Sassaraan, Captain Jacob .•{2 

Saunders, John 17, 22, 28 

Sawmills : McCarty's 39, 87 ; Young- 
ken's 80, 87. 

Schorebruch, Caspa r 29 

Schoolhouses, Early. ...85, 8<), 104, 105 

Shaw, Com. Thompson D 4.5 

Shaw Family, Account of 44 

Shaw, Josiah Y., Esq 44 

Shive Fam ily 59 

Shuman Family 40 

Shuman, Reuben 51 

Sigafoos, Andrew 19 

Sigafoos, Lewis, Poem ...91 

Smith, John, Esq 21, 22, 28 

Soldiers in Revolution : Nicholas Buck 
19, 20, 136 ; Joseph, Jacob and 
George Kohl 27; Henry Atfierbach 
19, 43, 84; Michael Hartman, Jr., 
28; Matthias Hartman 2S ; Josiah 
Bryan 29; John Keller 29 ; Adam 
Bidleman 29; Joseph Buck .30; 
Philip Haring .36; Jacob Haring 
36; Nicholas McCarly 37 ; Anthony 
and Simon Haney 41 ; Adam Frank- 

enfield »4 

Soldiers in the War 1812-14 : Thomas 
McCarty 39; Jacob and Nicholas 
Kohl 40, 136; John Malone 4r> ; 
Peter O'Conner 46; John Buck 47, 
111 ; Jacob Buck, Jr., 48 ; Abraham 

Youngken 80 

Soldiers in late War: Alfred Krier :!8 ; 



142 



INDEX. 



Jacob Kohl -15 ; Michael Buck 47 ; 
Jerome Buck, Sergeant 48 ; John E. 
Buck 52 ; Augustus Buck, Sergeant 
57 ; Joseph Buck 50; Augustus Buck 
50 ; Jacob F. Meyers 58 ; Jerome 
Buck of Bucksville 59 ; J. Howard 
Kohl 62 ; James N. Buck 64 ; How- 
ard Buck 66 

Springfield Co. in Revolution 19 

Stage Lines, Early 96 

St. Mark's Eve 134 

Steckel, Captain Samuel 32 

Stony Point 42 

Stony Garden Chimes 112 

Thoughts of Home 26 

Travel on Durham Road 31 

Trauger, Edward B 53 

Trauger Family 53, 81 

Trau ger, Joseph Ill 



Tuckemony, last Indian 89 

Uniou Academy, Doylestown....45, 98 

Wack, Martin 29 

Washington Light Horse 108 

White Horse Inn 32, 120 

Willow Grove 42 

Wood Robin's Song 94 

Works on the Buck Family 10, 11, 

12. 

Youngken Family 80 

Youngken, Henry H 112 

Youngken, Captain John 110 

Zeigenfoos, John 53 

Zeigler Family 57 

Zerfoss Family 50, 55 



&