(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Albany guide-book.."

MWs'7 



'7 



f= 123 
■fl3 W57 
Copy 1 



"The Towne of Albany is an Ancient Towne '* 


(Testimony of the Dongan Charter, 1686) 


ALBANY 


GUIDE BOOR 


" Let us go out into pleasant places 


Mellowed by shadows of days of old" 


ALBANY 


J. B. LYON COMPANY, PRINTERS 


19 I 7 



■A S W^J 



Copyright, 1917 

BY 

John D. Whish 
All Rights Reserved 




•UN II 1917 

©aA46a»28 



EXPLANATORY 



np HIS booklet's purpose, primarily, is to help 
strangers visit the Ancient City of Albany 
easily, pleasantly and profitably. It also will 
prove a desirable handl)ook for Albanians. 

The tourist with but an hour at his command 
can get a good idea of Albany. If several hours 
are at his disposal he can pass them all to advan- 
tage. If his days are his own he can spend a num- 
ber of them in visiting public buildings and 
exploring historic places. 

If you can't stop over, read this book and see 
what you have missed. 




ALBANY 
The Capital of New York, the Empire State 

Is the oldest surviving European settlement in 
the thirteen original states ; the oldest chartered 
city in the United States and the second oldest 
city in America. Named after the Duke of York 
and Albany when the British took possession m 
1664. Familiar early names were Fort Orange 
and Beverwyck. The city was chartered by Gov- 
ernor Thomas Dongan, July 22, 1686; the first 
mayor was Peter Schuyler. It was the meeting 
place in 1754 of the Continental Congress to con- 
sider Federal union ; became the State capital In 
1797. Legislature first met here January 27- 
March 14, 1780, in the old Court Flouse at Broad- 
way and Hudson avenue. Albany now is the 
fifth largest city in the State ; second largest 
express office ; third largest mail transfer station ; 
fourth in value as a port of entry. Internal reve- 
nue receipts (1916), $9,219,845.10; customs re- 
ceipts (1916), $123,986.00; value of imports, 
$1,099,484; vessels registered from this port, 526. 

The city was settled about 1624 and originally 



6 Albany Guide Book 

was a stockaded trading post. It is located on 
the west bank of the Hudson river, 143 miles 
from New York; latitude 42*", 39', IV north; 
longitude 3°, 18' east from Washington. Eleva- 
tion (base line of Capitol) above sea level, 161.09 
feet, estimated from low water in New York har- 
bor, and 158.48 feet above low water in the Hud- 
son river. 

Population (State census, December, 1915), 
107,979, including 8,159 aliens. The city direc- 
tory for 1916 contained 57,980 names. 

It is the center of the richest commercial quad- 
rilateral in the country — New York, BuiTalo, 
Montreal, Boston; is a railroad center; the termi- 
nus of the Erie (barge) canal, and practically 
the head of Hudson river navigation. Has every 
advantage to make it a hustling business city ; 
was once a big stove manufacturing center, live ^^ 
stock, lumber and grain market ; is still full of 
business and steadily growing. During the past 
five years the city has spent on new construction 
alone, for schools, $1,582,700; other public build- 
ings, $186,000; parks, $209,500 ; streets, $2,553,300 ; 
sewers, $1,180,000; river front improvements, 
$967,000. Its present area is 19.381 square miles, 
of which 3.647 were added in 1916 from parts of 
the towns of Bethlehem, Colonic and Guilderland. 



Albany Guide Book 7 

Always a political center, the city enrollment 
of 1916 showed a total of 29,198, including 18,131 
Republicans, 6,085 Democrats, 622 Progressives. 
It now is the 28th Congress, 28th Senate and 3d 
Judicial district. 

The total city valuation in 1916 was 
$169,753,500, including realty, $92,929,768; per- 
sonal, $6,868,300; exempt, $60,455,840; owned by 
the city, $9,500,000; city debt, $6,270,001.55, less 
sinking funds of $935,061.27. Cost to run the 
city (1916 budget), $2,112,082.91; State and 
county taxes (1916), $774,719.67. 

On August 17, 1848, the " Great Fire " de- 
stroyed 600 houses, causing a loss of $3,000,000. 

The city has (1916) 204 licensed saloons and 
22 hotels and restaurants in which liquor is sold. 

Albany is substantially built, has excellent 
pa\'ements (in 1916 the total was 108 miles, in- 
cluding granite block, 31 miles; brick, 44^ miles; 
asphalt, 17^ miles; macadam, 5^ miles). It 
has an abundant filtered water supply, is thor- 
oughly lighted by electricity, and is well drained. 
It has ample public buildings and churches ; un- 
surpassed schools ; excellent police and fire de- 
partments, street car and telephone service. 

Average summer temperature, 70.4° (June, 
July, August) ; average winter temperature, 25.0"^ 



8 Albany Guide Book 

(December, January, February), according to 
Government records extending over 42 years. 
The highest recorded temperature during this 
period was 104° ; the lowest, 24° ; average annual 
rainfall, 35.23 inches; relative annual humidity, 
76; average hourly velocity of wind, 6 miles, and 
highest recorded, 70 miles. During the '' Big 
Blizzard," March 12-14, 1888, the snowfall was 
42 1/5 inches. Other heavy snowfalls were : 
February 14, 1914, total 23^ inches; December 
13-14, 1915, total 24^ inches, with a northwest 
wind at 26 miles per hour. 

The average death rate (State Health Depart- 
ment record) is 19.12 per 1,000, showing the city 
to be one of the healthiest in the country. 

In 1916, Albany spent for education $5.12 per 
capita ; for health and sanitation, $2.55, and for 
recreation purposes, parks, playgrounds, etc., 
$0.86. The records also show during the same 
period 3,160 building permits issued, covering an 
estimated expenditure of $4,842,820, and including 
2 schools, 1 hotel, 6 office buildings, 152 garages, 
5 factories, 11 stores, 8 warehouses, 459 dwellings 
and many extensions to existing structures. 

The city is popularly divided into North, South 
and AVest Albany. East Albany is across the 
river. Albany has namesakes in Australia, 



Albany Guide Book 9 

Georgia, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Missouri. Oregon, Ohio, Tennessee, 
Texas, Wisconsin and elsewhere. 



The '' Albany Beautiful " movement, which led 
to and began with the great river front improve- 
ment and the transformation of the foot of State 
street into a beautiful plaza, Avas initiated by Wil- 
liam Barnes, editor of the Albany Journal, and 
was given its first recognition after much discus- 
sion by Mayor James B. McEwan, who secured 
the noted architect, Arnold W. Brunner, in 1912 
to prepare plans and make tentative sketches for 
the proposed work. In his book of " Studies for 
Albany," Mr. Brunner said : " To-day Albany is 
essentially picturesque — it possesses an indi- 
viduality among our cities that is most pro- 
nounced." 



Note. — In 1540 French fur traders sailed up the 
Hudson river and built a stone fort on Van Rensselaer 
island, just south of the present city site. In 1609 
Henry Hudson, English navigator hired by the Dutch 
East India company to explore "The Grande" (Hud- 
son river) sailed the Half Moon from Holland, reach- 
ing the present site of Albany on September 19. He 
remained 4 days exploring the river in search of a 



10 Albany Guide Book 

passage to India. In 1615 on the strength of Hudson's 
report, members of his crew got the Dutch company 
to send over another ship and rebuilt the old French 
fort (called The Castle) naming it Fort Nassau. This 
structure was wrecked by a freshet in 1618 and aban- 
doned. In 1624 the Walloons (exiled French Protes- 
tants) got the Dutch company's permission to settle 
along the Hudson river and in March thirty families 
located on the present site of Albany, building Fort 
Orange in June. In 1629 this venture was abandoned 
by the Dutch company because of expense. In 1630 
the Dutch West Indies company undertook to settle 
the territory through manorial grants, Kiliaen Van 
Rensselaer, a rich Amsterdam pearl merchant, getting 
the first concession. He bought from the Indians in 
August the territory including the present site of 
Albany. In 1651 Jan Baptiste Van Rensselaer, young- 
est of the family, came to Fort Orange as director of 
the manor. In 1652 Pieter Stuyvesant, chief officer of 
the Dutch company, visited Fort Orange and named 
the manor Beverswyck (beavers fuyck — from the 
abundant animal and the curving shape of the bay sug- 
gesting a net called a fuyck). In 1664 the English 
Claimed the territory; King Charles II granted the site 
to his brother James, Duke of York and Albany; the 
territory was seized in September and the name of city 
site changed to Fort Albany. In 1673 the Dutch retook 
the territory, changing its name to Willemstadt. In 
1674 the name again became Albany on the declaration 
of peace between the Dutch and English. In 1686, July 
22, Col. Thomas Dongan, Governor of the Province of 
New York, chartered Albany as a city, commissioning 



Albany Guide Book 11 

Col. Pieter Schuyler as first mayor. In its early days 
the city was a stockaded trading post, important in the 
warfare with the French and Indians. 

In 1680 missionaries who visited the settlement 
wrote: "Albany is built against a hill with several poor 
streets on which are 80 or 90 houses; is surrounded by 
a stockade and has several gates corresponding to the 
streets; has a Dutch Reformed and a Lutheran church. 
The English have built a fort on a hill back of the 
town: the Dutch fort (Fort Orange) on the river bank 
is abandoned." 

In 1685 Albany was called " The House of Peace " by 
a Mohawk Indian chief while addressing a commission 
a.>-.sembled to renew an important treaty. 



12 Albany Guide Book 

MEMORANDA 



Albany Guide Book 13 



ONE HOUR IN ALBANY 



Whether the tourist comes to Albany by boat 
or by rail, but a few steps are required to reach 
historic ground. If by rail on the Central, a turn 
to the left on passing out of the depot into 
Broadway brings the visitor quickly to Steuben 
street, where stood the old North gate of the city 
(p. 102), at which Symon Schermerhorn, in the 
early morning of February 9, 1690, shouted the 
first news of the Schenectady massacre. If by 
boat, directly in front *and to the left on stepping 
upon the wharf, is the site of old Fort Orange 
(p. 100), where treaties w^ere established and the 
first courts were held in the early days, and north 
of which the first church was erected. A bronze 
tablet nearby tells the story. 

But whether coming by boat or by rail, the visi- 
tor's way lies always directly into the broad busi- 
ness street called Broadway, formerly known suc- 
cessively as Traders', Court and Market street. 

Leaving the boat in early morning, say 7 
o'clock, and bound, of course, for Saratoga or the 
north, the popular D. & H. train does not start 
until 8 :30, and there is easily an hour to spare for 
sight-seeing. After noting the inscription on the 



14 Albany Guide Book 

tablet in Steamboat square, the path lies to the 
right np Broadway. All the buildings on the east 
side, from the boat landing to State street, were 
removed in 1915 to make room for the Plaza, but 
the few blocks remaining on the west side are 
alive with business, and have been for hours. 
Opposite the third right hand corner stood a pro- 
saic red brick building, occupying the site of the 
second city hall, and a white marble tablet set 
high up in the front recorded among other things 
that here " The Declaration of Independence was 
first publicly read in Albany." A few doors above 
on the same side a misplaced monument (p. 109) 
told the story more in detail. Both these have 
been placed in the Plaza. 

A block beyond is the home of the famous old 
Argus, which has been a giant in the newspaper 
world since its founding in 1813. Pausing here a 
moment to look across the Plaza, one sees an 
attractive park effect, beyond which rises the 
handsome gothic building housing the Delaware 
& Hudson railroad offices, below and adjoining 
which is the new home of the Albany Evening 
Journal. The next short block ends at State 
street, a broad thoroughfare leading straight up 
the hill, at the top of which is the Capitol (p. 42) 
shining in the morning sun. The gray granite 



Albany Guide Book 15 

structure on the rii^ht at the corner of State and 
Broadway is the Government building (p. 88), 
containing the Post Office (p. 146) and Federal 
offices. A\'here now is the broad intersection of 
these two streets was the old Dutch church 
(p. 55) and its surrounding burial ground in the 
early days. 

A passing electric car marked " Pine Hills " 
offers a ready means for a quick view of the city. 
From the start at the foot of State street the 
tourist passes between blocks of handsome and 
substantial buildings that are the seat of the city's 
business and financial life. On the corner at the 
right towers the Albany Trust Company's home, 
where once stood the old Museum building, in 
which, among other things, was the Marble Pillar 
restaurant. A few doors above is the First Na- 
tional bank. On the left, across from the Trust 
building, is the Hotel Hampton, occupying what 
formerly was the palatial home of the National 
Commercial bank. Midway up the next block 
on the same side is the new massive granite edi- 
fice of the Commercial bank, and just above it the 
pretty marble structure of the Home Savings 
bank. Opposite, on the right hand side of the 
street, is the site of the old home of the Evening- 
Journal, made famous by Thurlow^ Weed, who 



16 Albany Guide Book 

was its first editor, and on the corner is the 
Mechanics & Farmers' bank building, which, a 
tablet on the front tells you, occupies the site of 
the home of Anneke Janse (p. 103), once owner of 
the famous Trinity church property in New York 
city. Above, on the next corner and on the same 
side, is the building occupied by the *State bank 
(p. 33), also suitably monumented. 

The car stops for a moment at the next cross 
street (Pearl) and a glimpse may be had of an- 
other business center. The County bank building 
at the left occupies the site of the birthplace of 
Philip Schuyler (p. 103). At the right is the site 
of the first brick building erected in North Amer- 
ica (p. 108). Opposite towers the new Ten Eyck 
hotel, on the famous corner where stood the 
Tweddle building, on the site where Philip Liv- 
ingston, one of the signers of the Declaration of 
Independence, was born (p. 106), and where Web- 
ster's famous almanac and spelling book were 
printed and the first Albany newspaper (The 
Gazette) was published. To the north of this 



*A bronze tablet on the front of the bank has the 
inscripton: "New York State Bank. Chartered, and 
this building erected, 1803. The oldest bank in this 
city, and the oldest building erected for and continu- 
ously used as a banking house in the United States." 



Albany Guide Book 17 

hnildini^- on Pearl street is the beautiful home of 
the Albany Saving-s l)ank, fashioned like an old 
Greek temple and occupying' the site where once 
stood the \"anderheyden Palace (p. 103). made 
famous by Washington Irving in " Bracebridge 
llall." 

As the car goes on it passes at the right the 
original Hotel Ten Eyck building (p. 114), 
occupying the site of the old Corning man- 
sion. About opposite the upper part of the 
Ten Eyck Hotel at the corner (Chapel street) 
in the middle of the street stood the first 
English church (p. 104), on ground granted 
by letters patent from King George. The left 
hand corner of Pearl street is occupied by the 
.\rkay building, which stands on the old Globe 
hotel site. Alidway up the block is the Albany 
City Savings bank, a neat little theater and the 
commodious home of the Albany club. At the 
next crossing (Lodge street), St. Peter's historic 
church (p. 35) at once attracts attention on the 
right. It marks the site of the northeast bastion 
of old Fort Frederick (p. 101). BcA^ond it to the 
right may be seen the Masonic Temple (p. 125), 
and still further along on the opposite side of the 
street is St. Mary's church (p. 54), standing on 
the site of the first Roman Catholic church in 
2 



18 Albany Guide Book 

Albany and of the original cathedral of this dio- 
cese. Opposite St. Peter's on State street is the 
" Geological Hall " (erected 1797) corner, where 
for many years was housed the State Museum, 
now safe in the Education building (p. 75), and 
down the cross street on the opposite side is the 
Odd Fellows Temple (p. 133), which was de- 
stroyed by lire in 1916. Midway up the block on 
State street, left hand side, is the Municipal Gas 
company building; the Adelphi club (p. 60) 
occupying the old John Taylor Cooper mansion, 
and just above this the attractive clubhouse of 
the Elks (p. 77). 

The short block at the right is notable chiefly 
for the fact that the first railroad depot (p. 69) 
stood a few doors below the next corner (Eagle 
street), on the right hand side. 

As the car sweeps around the curve into AVash- 
ington avenue (once King and Lion streets) a 
passing glimpse may be had on the right of the 
City Hall (p. 59), old State House (p. 164), and 
the County Court building (p. 64), which occu- 
pies the site of the old High School, wdiere once 
the city reservoir stood. Across the attractive 
small park stands the famous old " Boys' Acad- 
emy " (]:>. 26). This park also is historic ground, 
for here, in 1864, w^as held the great Army 



Albany Guide Book 19 

Bazaar. In the academy Professor Henry con- 
ducted those electrical experiments which went 
far .toward making telegraphy a possibility. As 
the car passes on, a good view may be had of the 
Capitol (p. 42) and its approaches and the Sheri- 
dan memorial (p. 160). Across the Capitol park 
at the left towers the great marble home of the 
Telephone company (p. 196) ; on the right across 
from the Capitol itself looms the classic beauty 
of the State Education building (p. 75). There 
is nothing else to distract the attention from 
these two noble edifices. 

At the next crossing (Swan street) beyond the 
Education building may be had at the right a 
glimpse of the front of All Saints cathedral 
(Episcopal) (p. 54). Just above this corner, at 
the left, standing well back from the street, is the 
Fort Orange club (p. 60), occupying a fine old 
mansion in which Aaron Burr once lived. All 
along the avenue are substantial residences and 
it is yet shaded by handsome elms, although the 
requirements of trade are steadily replacing both 
the homes and the trees. Just below the next 
corner, which is Dove street, and standing well 
back from the avenue, is the home of the Albany 
Institute and Historical and Art Society (p. 26), 
containing very many valuable collections. On 



20 Albany Guide Book 

the corner at the right is the residence of Col. 
AA'illiam Gorham Rice and across from it stands 
the University club (p. 61), which occupies the 
old Amsdell mansion. Almost at the end of the 
block, also well back from the avenue, is Har- 
manus Bleecker hall (p. 89), adjoining which on 
the corner (Lark street) is the State Armory 
(p. 28). As the car turns sharply to the left a 
view may be had of the broad open space with 
the triangular Townsend park (p. 137), where 
Central and Washington avenues meet. Up Cen- 
tral avenue the car line extends west to Schenec- 
tady. 

The ride over Lark street also is through a resi- 
dential section and is of brief duration. Soon a 
turn to the right brings the car into Madison 
avenue. Far away at the left on a clear day may 
be had a view of the Helderberg and Catskill 
mountains. In the foreground is the Teachers' 
Training school, fronting on a small park space, 
in which is the Dana Memorial fountain. At the 
right on the corner above AVashington park 
(p. 133) begins and stretches westward in terraced 
beauty for many blocks. As the car speeds along 
the visitor will find every foot of the way inter- 
esting. Across the park at its third entrance 
may be seen the King Fountain — a colossal 



Albany Guide Book 21 

figure of " Moses Smiting the Rock." As the 
second carriage entrance is passed, off at the left 
on New Scotland avenue may be seen the mas- 
sive grouped buildings of the Albany hospital 
(p. 112.) Thereafter, when the park is passed, 
both sides of the wide avenue are filled with 
handsome residences which are continued in the 
section where the interesting part of the railroad 
ends. The time from the foot of State street to 
the end of the trip has been but 20 minutes, and 
since leaving the boat but 35 minutes in all have 
been utilized. The car line extends out through 
a sparsely settled country as far as the Country 
club (p. 62). 

On the return trip a stop may be made at the 
western front of the Capitol and a walk taken 
around the great building. The exterior carv- 
ings are well worth seeing and a good idea of 
the vast proportions of the granite edifice may be 
thus gained. The visitor also may briefly inspect 
the beauties of the Education building and of the 
Episcopal cathedral. Thereafter by a leisurely 
walk or by taking a passing car down the hill 
the depot may readily be reached from which 
trains for the summer resorts and elsewhere may 
be taken. 



22 Albany Guide Book 



A DAY IN ALBANY 

For the leisurely traveler a day or more in 
Albany offers many pleasures. If a general sight- 
seer he can walk about a bit — probably to the 
best advantage on Broadway, State and Pearl 
streets — which will give an idea of the city's 
business life ; continuing with a short stroll 
across Eagle street, through Academy park (p. 
134) and up Elk street which formerly was the 
exclusive society quarter, going on past the 
Childs hospital and St. Agnes school (p. 156) 
and crossing over to Washington avenue past the 
Cathedral of All Saints (p. 54) and the Educa- 
tion building (p. 75) and thus to the Capitol 
(p. 42). It will take an hour or two to see the 
big building properly and a guide is desirable. 
When the Capitol has been " done " the magnifi- 
cent Education building should be visited. Here 
is housed the great library of the State (p. 165) 
and the entire upper floor is occupied by the won- 
derful collections of the State Museum (p. 166). 
The walk may then be continued over Eagle 
street to see the Executive Mansion (p. 79) and 
the beautiful Cathedral of the Immaculate Con- 
ception (p. 53). Returning and passing down 



Albany Guide Book 23 

State street, before luncheon, if the day is clear, 
as summer da3's usually are, a birdseye view of 
the city and surrounding territory may be had 
from the roof or upper floors of the Hotel Ten 
Eyck (p. 114). After luncheon a ride in a Pine 
Hills car will show the beauties of the residen- 
tial section as mentioned in " One Hour." A 
stroll through ^^'ashington park (p. 133) will 
repay any one and the King fountain, Soldiers 
and Sailors' Memorial, Burns monument, the 
Colonel Willett Memorial boulder and other 
attractions should by all means be seen. 

If possessed of literary tastes much time can 
be spent among the rare books and manuscripts 
in the State Library (p. 165). If a collector of art 
objects, books or curios, the Historical and Art 
Society building (p. 97) should be visited. 
Proper credentials also will open to view private 
collections of treasures (p. 221) nowhere else to 
be found. In fact, the individual bent can be 
gratified in Albany to almost any extent imagin- 
able. For the artist there are the studios (p. 29), 
the scenery of the nearby mountains and the 
beauties of the cemeteries (p. 49). For the col- 
lector are offered many things according to his 
taste. For the engineer there are the electrical 
power houses of the street railway, the W^ater- 



24 Albany Guide Book 

vliet arsenal ( p. 29) and the great filter system of 
the cit}' water plant (p. 80) and the sewage dis- 
posal plant (p. 69). The literary man can find 
rare treasures in many a private collection (p. 
221). The scientist ma}^ visit the State museum 
p. 166), the observatory (p. 132), the laboratory 
and collection of the Medical college (p. 129) or 
the Bender laboratory (p. 122). In other words, 
to all strangers within her gates the Ancient City 
of Albau}^ offers congenial surroundings and at- 
tractions to each after his kind. Even the poet is 
not neglected, for one of the many beautiful 
drives (p. 72) leads directly to the " Vale of 
Tawasentha " (p. 199), made famous by Long- 
fellow's Hiawatha, but better known to the resi- 
dent populace by the prosaic name of " Normans- 
kill." 

(An alphabetic index to 'places and things of 
interest fcllovv^s.) 



Albany Guide Book 25 

MEMORANDA 



26 Albany Guide Book 

ABBEY 

A favorite old roadhoiise at Glenmont, about 
a mile below Kenwood (p. 122) is called "The 
Abbey." The ride there is attractive and the 
property has a hne frontage on the river. 

ALBANY ACADEMY 

This old school, popularly known as " The 
Boys' Academy " occupies the beautiful brown- 
stone building- fronting the park across from the 
Capitol park. It was incorporated in 1813 and 
the cornerstone laid in 1815. The school opened 
on September 11 of that year at State and Lodge 
streets with Benjamin Allen as its first principal. 
In 1816 the academy building was completed, 
and occupied the following- year. In it Prof. 
Joseph Henry carried on the remarkable series 
of experiments that made telegraphy possible. 
On its centennial anniversary in 1916 the Archi- 
tectural Record said : " Of all the wealth of archi- 
tectural landmarks that the old city of Albany 
once possessed, the Academy stands alone." 

ALBANY INSTITUTE 

Occupies a handsome building standing well 
back from the street on \\'ashington avenue near 
Dove street. Contains a oreat varietv of valu- 



Albany Guide Book 27 

able collections of art objects and curios. See 
Historical and Art Society (p. 97). 

The Institute was formed May 5, 1824, by con- 
solidation of the Society for the Promotion of the 
Useful Arts with the Albany Lyceum of Natural 
History (incorporated 1823) ; Institute chartered 
February 27, 1829. 

ALBANY ORPHAN ASYLUM 

This institution which is a private corpora- 
tion, is endowed and receives normal children 
between the ages of 2 and 16 years on the order 
of county superintendents of the poor or of a 
justice of the peace. It was founded in 1829 ; incor- 
porated 1831. In 1832 and for many years there- 
after it was located at Robin street, Washington 
and Western avenues, where it was greatly 
enlarged in 1852; abandoned in 1907. Has 
branches for its work in the Lathrop IMemorial 
on Washington avenue and the Lathrop Mem- 
orial Summer Home at Castleton. Its location 
on New Scotland avenue where the new modern 
group of buildings is situated forms one of the 
best types of such institutions in the State. It 
comprises residence cottages, administration and 
school buildings, a steam laundry, a farm, stores 
and other village features. First occupied 1905. 



28 Albany Guide Book 

Strangers are welcome at any time ; visiting days 
for relatives and friends 2 to 4 p. m., on the 
first Thursday of each month. Take New Scot- 
land avenue bus. 

AMUSEMENTS 

The city is very liberal in its provisions for 
the entertainment of visitors. Every taste can 
be gratified. See Drives, Excursions, Sports, 
Theaters, etc. 

ARMORY 

Alban)^ has been State militia headquarters 
since the adoption of the Constitution in 1777. 
Troops are now quartered in the big armory at 
Washington avenue and Lark street; erected in 
1889; has a drill shed 170 by 240 feet and every 
other convenience. In this armory are housed 
the four companies of the Tenth battalion, and 
the Second Field Hospital corps. The Adjutant 
General's ofhce on State street across from the 
lower end of the Capitol is headquarters of the 
Third brigade and Third Brigade Signal corps. 
Troop B, First Cavalry, has its own armory on 
New Scotland avenue, formally opened March 
11, 1916; cost $250,000; has one of the best riding 
rings in the State and an excellent equipment. 

Note. — Troop B originated in the old Third Signal 



Albany Guide Book 29 

corps which was founded in 1893 as a result of a pro- 
posal to form a battery in Albany. The corps dis- 
banded in 1902 and Troop B was formed. 

ARSENAL 

The Watervliet arsenal (Government prop- 
erty) noted for the manufacture of great defense 
guns, is located about six miles from the city. 
Take Troy electric car on Broadway. The site 
was selected in 1813; building erected in 1816 
Originally the property was about 12 acres ; now 
it is over 100. A massive stone wharf on the 
river front with a huge crane is for loading and 
unloading the big guns and materials used in 
their manufacture. The grounds which are hand- 
somely laid out contain many fine trees and sub- 
stantial buildings, also specimens of Spanish and 
other captured cannon. An important post. 
Admission on application. 

Note. — The old State arsenal, now the property of 
the Catholic Union, was at Hudson avenue and Eagle 
street. In 1789 proposals were asked to build a State 
arsenal at the southeast corner of Broadway and Law- 
rence street. 

ART AND ARTISTS 

The city has attractive art stores, numerous 
studios and many very valuable public and priv- 
ate collections. Sculpture is seen at its best in 



30 Albany Guide Book 

decorative work about the Capitol (p. 42) in 
famous monuments in the Rural cemetery (p. 
49), in the two great cathedrals (pp. 53 and 54) 
and in St. Peter's (p. 55) and other churches. 
The devotional edifices also contain many not- 
able windows which compare favorably with 
famous similar works abroad. Paintings of great 
value may be seen in the rooms of the Historical 
and Art Society (p. 97) and every visitor should 
see the handsome mural decorations in the Legis- 
lative library (p. 124) in the Capitol and in the 
State Education building (p. 75). The familiar 
names of Will Low, Launt Thompson, George 
Boughton, Charles L. Elliott, Edward Gay, 
Leonard Ochtman, Frederic Remington, Homier 
D. Martin, Walter Launt Palmer, James McDou- 
gal, Robert Pennie, Charles M. Lang, Alfred T. 
Crook, Asa W. Twitchel and many others are 
intimately connected with Albany's art history 
and some of their best works may be seen in the 
local galleries. 

ASYLUMS 

Extensive public and private charities are 
administered in Albany. See Charitable Institu- 
tions (p. 50). The more important are: 

Albany Orphan Asylum — incorporated 1831, form- 
erly at Western avenue and Robin street, now occupy- 



Albany Guide Book 31 

in^: adequate group l)uildings on New Scotland avenue. 
Opened 1905. Take New Scotland avenue bus. 

l""resh Air Guild — incorporated 1897; conducts vaca- 
tion home for children at Canaan. 

Home for the Friendless — incorporated 1852; Clin- 
ton avenue and North Lake avenue. Take Clinton 
avenue car. 

Humane Society — incorporated 1892, Eagle and 
Howard streets. 

Little Sisters of the Poor — incorporated 1880; at 
391 Central avenue. Take West Albany car. 

Old Men's Home — incorporated 1876; Troy road 
near Menands road. Take Troy car. 

Open Door Mission — incorporated 1882; at 3 Colum- 
bia place. 

St. Margaret's House — established 1883; Elk street, 
corner Hawk. Take car to Washington avenue and 
Hawk. 

St. Vincent's Male Orphan Asylum — incorporated 
1849; upper Western avenue. Take Pine Hills car. 

St. Vincent's Female Orphan x\syluni — incorporated 
1849. is at 106 Elm street. Not on car line. 

AUTOMOBILES 

Power cars are very generally used in Albany 
and the number grows yearly. F'or temporary 
use the tourist can order an auto through any 
hotel or restaurant. Rates vary but are reason- 
able. In 1916 there were in Albany county 57,237 
automobile owners and 12,958 licensed drivers : 



32 Albany Guide Book 

there were 3,522 pleasure cars in use and 551 
mercantile vehicles. 

Note. — The first steam automobile was brought to 
Albany December 26, 1900, by Archibald M. Dederick. 
The auto was first adopted for physicians' use by Dr. 
William E. Milbank, July 30, 1902. 

There is a good auto bus service between 
Albany and nearby localities. The principal stage 
lines are : 

For Berne — Starts from depot on Broadway. 

Castleton — Starts from 38 State street. 

Delmar and Slingerlands — Starts from 442 
Broadway. 

Elsmere, Delmar, Slingerlands — Starts from 
front of depot on Broadway. 

Guilderland Center — Starts from 8 North Pearl 
street. 

Loudonville — Starts from 442 Broadway. 

New Scotland avenue to Allen street — Leaves 
depot every half hour. 

Pittsfield, Mass.— Starts daily from 442 Broad- 
way at 9 a. m., 2:30 and 5:45 p. m. 

Ravena — Starts from 8 North Pearl street. 

Rensselaerville — Starts from depot. 

BANKING INSTITUTIONS 

Albany boasts of 13 banking institutions which 
are among the most prosperous and handsomely 
housed in the country. They include 4 national 




MECHANICS AND FARMERS BANK 



Albany Guide Book 33 

banks, 2 trust companies and 7 savings banks, 
located on Broadway, State and Pearl streets. 

Note. — The first financial institution organized in 
the city was the Bank of Albany in 1792. It was the 
second formed in the State and the fourth in the Union. 
Capital, $75,000,; first president, Abraham Ten Broeck; 
continued in business 70 years, during which several 
orher banks were formed; finally suspended because of 
the unsettled conditions during the Civil War. The 
remaining survivors are: New York State National; 
organized 1803; commodious new building erected 1916. 
National Commercial; chartered 1825; opened its 
magnificent new home May 2, 1904. Mechanics & 
Farmers; began business July 29, 1811; opened in pres- 
ent attractive quarters in 1875. First National; char- 
tered 1864; occupied its handsome new building at 35-37 
State street 1907. 

The Albany Savings bank is the pioneer of its kind 
and received its first deposit on June 1, 1820. The 
Albany Trust company occupies the site of the noted 
old Museum building and Marble Pillar restaurant at 
the northwest corner of State street and Broadway. It 
v/as organized March 20, 1900; opened on September 
15, 1904. 

The oldest bank building is that occupied by the 
State bank on the front of which is a bronze tablet 
suitably inscribed (p. 16). 

Bank buildings most likely to attract the visitor's 
attention are the great granite structure of the National 
Commercial; the beautiful home of the National Sav- 
ings bank just above it on State street; the Mechanics 
3 



34 Albany Guide Book 

& Farmers bank at State and James streets (p. 102); 
the County bank at State and Pearl streets; and the 
massive domed building of the Albany Savings bank 
at North Pearl street and Maiden lane. The latter 
contains a notable mosaic by Frederick Dielman repre- 
senting " Thrift and Prosperity." 

THE BASIN 

The Albany basin, once an important part of 
the old canal system, was formed by the inclosed 
water space between the city dock front and the 
pier built in 1825. It originally was chiefly used 
as a winter harbor by canal boats and other craft. 
Finally it became filled in and fouled by the out- 
pouring from the city sewers. It finally was 
obliterated and the pier lines extended in the 
great river front improA^ement in 1914-15. The 
substitute space which is comparatively clean is 
valued as a harbor for small craft. 

BATHS 

Attractive public baths are located as follows : 
No. 1, at 665 Broadway; opened in December, 
1902. No. 2, at 94 Fourth avenue, opened in June, 
1905. No. 3, at 380 Central avenue; opened in 
July, 1908. All are substantial structures, well 
equipped with shower and swimming baths and 
are well patronized. There also is a good Turk- 
ish bath on State street, popularly known as 



Albany Guide Book 35 

" The Tub." The Y. ^1. C. A. (p. 203) also has 
excellent showers and a swimming tank con- 
nected with its well-equipped gymnasium. 

BELLS 

Albany churches contain some 70 bells ot 
which several are historical and very old. The 
so-called " Queen Anne " bell in the memorial 
tower of St. Peter's church (p. 55 ) is the oldest, 
and the inscription shows date of 1751. It prob- 
ably came from England and now is used only 
to strike the date of each new year. St. Mary's 
church (p. 54) boasts of another very old bell, 
cast by L. Aspinwall, Watervliet, but no date is 
shown. The Second Presbyterian church (p. 54) 
has two bells dated respectively 1838 (cast by L. 
Aspinwall) and 1852 (cast by Aleneely, Water- 
vliet). The Dutch Reformed church (p. 55) on 
North Pearl street has a bell cast in 1859 by 
Jones & Co. of Troy. The " Big Ben " of the city 
bells is in the City Hall tower (p. 59) and is used 
for striking fire alarms, the hour of 9 o'clock, and 
for municipal purposes generally. It was cast in 
1882 by Meneely of West Troy; weight, 7,049 
pounds ; height, 50^ inches ; diameter at mouth, 
70 inches ; thickness, 5 1/20 inches ; placed in 
position October 28, 1882. 



36 Albany Guide Book 

There are three sets of beautiful chimes: In 
the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, 11 
bells ; cast 1860 ; weight from 452 to 3,040 pounds. 
In St. Peter's church, 11 bells, the gift of George 
Tweddle, Christmas, 1875, as a memorial to 
members of his family and Rev. Dr. Walton W. 
Battershall, rector; all finely finished and suit- 
ably inscribed; weigh from 250 to 3,150 pounds. 
In St. Joseph's church, at Ten Broeck and 
Second streets, 10 bells. 

BOAT CLUBS 

Noted oarsmen have helped to make Albany 
famous in the past but the coming ot power boats 
has changed the favorite water sport even to the 
point of eclipsing the sailing yacht. The first 
boat club organization was the Pioneer Rowing 
club. May, 1857; the Hiawatha and Excelsior 
rowing clubs followed in 1859. The noted 
Mutual boat club was organized August 1, 1865; 
the Hudson River Amateur Rowing association 
in April, 1867; the famous Beverwyck rowing- 
club on February 22, 1870. 

The $1,000 silver trophy won by the Bever- 
wyck crew at the international races at Philadel- 
phia in 1876 is now in the Flistorical and Art 
Society building to which it was presented by 



Albany Guide Book Z7 

Mrs. Wm. R. Hills, wife of the captain of the 
famous crew. 

See also Yacht Club. 

BOOKS, BOOK STORES 

Although book stores are few and far between 
in Albany, the city is noted as a literary center, 
and a very respectable library could be formed 
of the books written either by Albanians or about 
the city, its prominent men, its buildings and his- 
toric places, its celebrations and other attractions. 
Noted authors have sprung from Albany and 
their writings, gathered for the first time in 1898 
by Cuyler Reynolds while curator of the Histori- 
cal and Art Society (p. 97) form one of the valued 
attractions of that repositor3^'s noted collections. 
The catalog prepared by him contains 172 
authors and 340 titles. There are many others. 
Some of the authors thus gathered are: Bret 
Harte (born in Albany in 1839) ; Gen. Charles 
King, U. S. A. (born in Albau}^ in 1844) ; John 
G. Saxe, long a resident, who died in Albany in 
1887; Col. Willard Glazier, Rev. Peter Bullions 
of classical text book fame. Rev. Frederick R. 
Marvin, John Boyd Thacher, Rev. W. W. Bat- 
tershall, Michael J. Monahan, etc. Of course the 
collections of Joel Munsell head the list. 



38 Albany Guide Book 

Book stores may be found on Broadway 
(Albany News Company), North Pearl street and 
elsewhere. The noted " Olde Booke Man," 
McDonough, is located on Hudson avenue below 
South Pearl street. 

Note. — The first book store recorded was opened in 
1771 at the Old Elm Tree corner (State and Pearl 
streets) by Stuart Wilson. 

BOULEVARDS 

Albany has a popular and extensive boulevard 
system already and will have a more elaborate 
one in time to come. The several sections now 
f(^rm favorite drives and attract many tourists. 

The Manning boulevard, which commemorates 
a distinguished name in Albany, extends froni 
North Pearl and Van Woert streets around Dud- 
ley park and the Tivoli lakes, across Livingston, 
Clinton and Central avenues and across Allen 
street and Washington avenue to Western ave- 
nue where it now ends. \n extension has been 
authorized between Western and New Scotland 
avenues, and later it is to go still further to con- 
nect with the Southern boulevard at Delaware 
avenue. 

The Southern boulevard extends from Dela- 
ware avenue and Milton street south to the South 



Albany Guide Book 39 

Bethlehem '' Stone Road," crossing the Normans- 
kill on a high bridge. This boulevard was com- 
pleted in 1916. 

The Northern boulevard starts at Washington 
park and extends northerly to the Loudonville 
road. It is one of the favorite thoroughfares lead- 
ing to Saratoga and the north country. 

A\^estern avenue from Washington avenue 
westerly to Manning boulevard is really also a 
part of the park system of attractive driveways. 

BREWERIES 
Making good beer and ale in plenty has been 
characteristic of Albany almost since is founda- 
tion. The brewing business is a very extensive 
one and dates back to 1600. The Government 
records show that the number of barrels of ale 
and lager brewed here in 1916 totaled 333,822, of 
which 213,544 were lager and 120,273 ale. The 
value of the output was approximately about 
$3,000,000. 

Note. — No record seems to show who was the first 
brewer or where or how much he brewed. But it is 
known that in 1649 the Patroon's brewery produced 330 
tuns of beer; that in 1665 Marcellus Jansen was the 
highest bidder for the position of excise collector under 
the Dutch West Indies company; that in 1796 the old 
Arch street brewery was established by James Boyd and 



40 Albany Guide Book 

that in 1829 it was estimated that 42,000 barrels of beer 
were brewed in the city. The well known local anti- 
quarian, Cuyler Reynolds, who has specialized in brew- 
eries says (February 14, 1916), " I estimate that 25 men 
were running breweries in Albany between 1650 and 
1675." In evidence he quotes from Pearson's " Early 
Settlers": Jan Jansen Ouderkirk, cooper, 1664; John 
Fine, cooperage, 1696; Jacob Jansen Schermerhorn, 
brewer, 1636; Volckert Jansen Douw, brewer, 1638; 
Evert Pells (van Stetlyn), brewer, 1642; Pieter Bronck, 
brewer, 1645. Harmen Harmense Gansevoort, in 1660, 
owned a brewery on the present site of Stanwix Hall 
(p. 114). Many similar records exist to show the great 
antiquity of brewing and allied trades in Albany. 

The best known local breweries at present (1916) are: 

The Beverwyck, 56 North Ferry; first brewing, 1845; 
capacity, 250.000 barrels lager; 100,000 barrels ale. 

Dobler's, Swan street near Elm street, first brewing, 
1892; capacity, 175,000 barrels. 

Citizens, Jay and Lancaster streets, near Dove; first 
brewing, 1916; capacity, 175.000 barrels. 

Hedrick's, 404 Central avenue; first brewing, 1848; 
capacity, 50,000 barrels. 

Hinckel's, Myrtle avenue and South Swan street; 
fiist brewing. 1880; capacity, 150,000 barrels. 

BRIDGES 

Three bridges across the river make communi- 
cation easy and are much used. The middle and 
lower bridges accommodate foot passengers (toll 



Albany Guide Book 41 

2c), the middle bridi^c carrying also steam rail- 
road tracks and the lower the electric roads. The 
upper bridge, carrying steam railroad tracks only, 
was opened February 22, 1866; the first train 
crossed the middle bridge on December 28, 1871 ; 
the lower bridge was opened 1882. 

Records show that in 1814 a bridge across the 
rix'er at All^any was proposed but Troy objected 
tliat it might interfere with the sloop traffic on 
the Hudson. 

A neat cement bridge across the new basin, 
connecting Quay street with the Recreation pier 
was built in 1916 and cost $67,000. 

Note. — Before the construction of bridges the river 
was crossed by ferries. This service tov^ard the last 
was handled by large, steam propelled boats which 
carried hundreds of passengers as well as large amounts 
of all kinds of freight. The first record of a ferry 
between Albany and the opposite shore is in 1642 when 
a large scow crossed from where the Bekverkill emptied 
into the Hudson (about at the foot of Arch street). 
Hendrick Albertsen was appointed ferryman by the 
Patroon. Later ferries were run by horse power. In 
1751 the sole right to run a ferry between Greenbush and 
Albany was secured at auction by Cornelius Van Vech- 
ten for one year for £3 sl9, and between Albany and 
Greenbush by Jeremiah Van Vechten for the same 
period for £3 s4. 



42 Albany Guide Book 

BUSINESS 

Information about the greatly diversified busi- 
ness interests of Albany can be most readily had 
at the rooms of the Chamber of Commerce (p. 50) 
in the Arkay building- at State and South Pearl 
streets. 

CANAL 

Albany has been greatly aided commercially by 
the canal since its opening and the visitor will be 
impressed by the great fleets of boats w^hich form 
here and are taken in tow by the many busy tugs. 

Note. — The Erie canal from Albany to Buffalo was 
completed and the first boat, the Seneca Chief, arrived 
in the Albany basin on November 2, 1825, having 
started from Buffalo on October 26 on its trip from 
Lake Erie to the Hudson river. The arrival of this boat 
was made the occasion for a great public celebration. 
The law for the construction of the Erie canal was 
passed in 1817 and work began on July 4 of that year. 

CAPITOL 

The grand granite edifice crowning State street 
hill, 155 feet above the level of the Hudson river, 
stands in a square containing 7.84 acres. The 
building measures 300 feet north and south by 
400 feet east and west. The walls, which are 
over 16 feet thick at the base, rise fully 108 feet 
above the water table, surrounding a central court 



Albany Guide Book 43 

92 by 137 feet. It is open to the public from 
7 a. m. to 5 p. m., except on holidays and Satur- 
days when it closes at noon, and on Sundays. 
Access can however be had by reputable persons 
at almost any time. Official guides may be had 
at 25c per hour per person, with reductions for 
parties. The usual length of a complete tour of 
the building is 1^ hours, but a " hurry tour " can 
be made in one-half hour, during which the 
experienced guide will point out many objects of 
interest which the unaccompanied visitor will 
miss. 

Memorandum History 
A resolution introduced by Senator James A. 
Bell was adopted by the Legislature in 1863 to 
j)rocure plans for a new Capitol. A bill appro- 
priating $100,000 to make a beginning w^as intro- 
duced in 1864 by Senator Laimbeer. In 1865 
various cities were invited to offer sites. In 1866 
the Legislature passed an act ratifying the selec- 
tion of the present location. In 1867 the first 
appropriation of $250,000 was made with the pro- 
viso that the building should not cost more than 
$4,000,000. The plans of architect Thomas Fuller 
were adopted. Ground was broken December 9, 
1867; the average depth of the excavation was 
15^ feet and the building stands on a concrete 



44 Albany Guide Book 

floor 4 feet thick. The first foundation stone was 
laid July 7, 1869, by John V. L. Pruyn ; the corner- 
stone was laid June 24, 1871, by the Grand Lodge 
F, & A. M., in spite of violent protests. Gov. 
John T. Hofifman and Hamilton Harris delivered 
addresses. A grand opening reception took place 
on January 7, 1879, but the building was not 
formally occupied by State officers and the Legis- 
lature until February 12 of that year. 

The Capitol was declared completed by Gov- 
ernor Black on August 28, 1898 (all but a steel 
tower to cost $570,347.90; carving on interior to 
cost $500,000; cleaning and pointing up exterior 
to cost $100,000). The total cost to that date had 
been, exclusive of the cost of the land, $23,693,- 
383.27 and the time taken to finish the building 
(with the exceptions noted) 'had been 27 years. 
The Assembly chamber was first occupied on 
January 7, 1879, but formal occupation ceremon- 
ies were not held until February 12. The Sen- 
ate chamber was first occupied on March 10, 
1881. At the end of the fiscal year 1911 a total 
of $24,265,082 had been expended on the building. 

In the early morning hours of March 29, 1911, 
a fire which started at 2 :30 a. m., in the old Assem- 
bly library after a prolonged committee meeting, 
practically destroyed the western section of the 



Albany Guide Book 45 

Capitol, including- the State library and many 
very valuable collections. The fire spread rapidly 
and with astounding fierceness in the supposedly 
fireproof edifice, doing damage estimated at about 
$3,000,000. The 1911 Legislature appropriated 
$635,000 for immediate work on the burned sec- 
tion ; in 1912 the sum of $1,005,000 was appropri- 
ated, and in 1913 the sum of $500,000. Up to 
December, 1916, the books of the Comptroller 
showed that the Capitol had cost $26,916,045.26, 
of which $24,265,082.67 went for construction and 
$2,650,962.59 to repair the damage done by the 
fire. 

Attractions for Visitors 

Outside — General appearance of building; 
grand eastern approach and its carvings ; western 
entrance; carvings on north and south porticos. 

First Floor — Beginnings of the three grand 
staircases, especially the western ; old cannon, 
etc., in eastern entrance hall ; bronze statue of 
Professor Sheldon (erected by school children) 
in Senate staircase well (George Francis Brines, 
sculptor), unveiled January 11, 1900.) 

There is a post office, newspaper booth and a 
cigar and souvenir stand on the \\ ashington ave- 
nue side of this floor. 

Second Floor — The main entrances, east and 



46 Albany Guide Book 

west ; carvings on the three staircases, especially 
the western ; military trophies and curios in the 
eastern entrance hall and the Military Bureau 
opening from it ; Executive chamber with carved 
fireplace and valuable paintings; curious figures 
formed by venation of marble wainscoting in 
corridors. 

Third Floor — Senate and Assembly cham- 
bers ; Legislative library and its mural decora- 
tions ; carvings on western staircase at this point ; 
Senate stairway ; Assembly stairway ; views from 
the windows. 

Fourth Floor — Top of grand western stair- 
case ; date stone of original Capitol building of 
1807 set in the south wall ; views from windows. 

The guide will point out many other interest- 
ing things while conducting the visitor through 
the building and give a lecture during the tour 
which is in itself well worth the price. The fifth 
and sixth floors are devoted to oftices. 

Note. — Albany was made the State capital in 1797 
and the Legislature held its first session there from 
January 27 to March 14, 1780, in the old State House 
which stood at the northeast corner of Broadway and 
Hudson- avenue. In 1804 it was decided to erect a 
Capitol building at the head of State street. The cor- 
nerstone was laid April 23, 1806, by Mayor Philip S. 
Van Rensselaer with Masonic ceremonies. The new 



Albany Guidk Book 47 

building was first occupied in November, 1808. It cost 
$110,685.42. according to the report of the Governor to 
the Legislature. In 1883 the building was torn down 
to make way for the present edifice. 

CARS (STREET) 

Albany has one of the best street railway ser- 
vices in the State — about 50 miles to date. All 
important parts of the city can be reached readily 
and the fare is uniformly 5c. Connections can 
be made with lines runnin^^ to adjoining places — 
Rensselaer, Watervliet, Troy, Cohoes and all 
other important cities and villages within a radius 
of 7}^ miles. 

Note. — The Albany street railway was organized 
September 12, 1863, with James Kidd as first president. 
Horse cars began running from the foot of State street 
up the Bowery (now Central avenue) February 22, 1864, 
to what is now the Northern Boulevard. Operations 
on South Pearl street to Kenwood began May 9, 1864, 
and cars ran on North Pearl street in July, 1865; on 
Hamilton street in July. 1875. The first electric car ran 
on State street hill April 28. 1890. The North Albany 
car barns were built in 1892. In 1900 the administra- 
tion building at Broadway and Columbia street wass 
opened on June 14. The title of the road was changed 
to the United Traction company and finally it was 
bought by the D. & H. railroad on November 18, 1905. 
Schenectady cars first ran into Albany September 23, 
1901. and the Albany and Hudson third rail electric 
road opened in January, 1901. 



48 Albany Guide Book 

MEMORANDA 



Albany Guidi-: Book 49 

CATHOLIC UNION 

An association of the faith indicated, having 
headquarters with a Hbrary, athletic and social 
features attached, organized October 21, 1887. It 
occupies the old arsenal building at Hudson ave- 
nue and Eagle streets and is an important factor 
in city life. 

CEMETERIES 

^^ery beautiful burial grounds are situated on 
the Troy road about 4 miles north of the city, 
easily reached by the Broadway line of electric 
cars (fare 10c), by the D. & H. belt line train or 
by an attractive carriage or automobile drive. 
They are known as the Rural cemetery, St. Agnes 
(Roman Catholic) and Beth Emeth (Jewish) and 
adjoin each other. The Rural ; chartered April 2, 
1841 ; site selected May 14 that year; consecrated 
in 1844, includes 475 acres in which are 35 miles 
of picturesque drives. First interment May, 
1845. It is noted for its numerous beautiful monu- 
ments and several pieces of sculpture that are 
known the world over. Among them are^* The 
Angel at the Sepulchre" (Banks plat)/ '' Th^^' 
Angel of Sorrow " (Arthur plat), '' Religfon Con- 
soling Sorrow" (Godfrey plat), ''The Recording 
Angel" (Myers plat), ''The Angel of Peace" 
(Manning plat) and the Soldiers' monument. 
4 



50 Albany Guide Book 

Other cemeteries are Eagle Hill, at stop 4^ 
Western avenue ; Graceland, Delaware avenue, 
near old city line; St. John's, Bethlehem turn- 
pike, below Kenwood. 

Note. — In 1756 the Common Council granted St. 
Peter's church land north of Fort Frederick for a burial 
ground. In 1789 the council named a committee to 
select a cemetery site because the burial grounds were 
too much scattered. In 1806 a cemetery was estab- 
lished at State and Knox streets where now is Wash- 
ington park. In 1868 about 40,000 bodies were removed 
from this cemetery and interred in the Rural. 

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE 

A body of citizens organized to promote the 
business welfare of the city has commodious 
rooms in the Arkay building at State and South 
Pearl streets. Information about the industries 
of the city and the inducements ofifered business 
men and manufacturers to locate here can be 
had of the secretary. Organized in January, 1900, 

The old Board of Trade was organized in 1847. 

CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS 

Albany has for years been noted for the extent 
of its charities, both denominational and secular. 
A good idea of the scope of this work may be 
gained by the interested visitor who will take a 



Albany Guide Book 51 

conveyance at, say State and Pearl streets, and 
make the following tour: 

To the Humane Society building, Eagle and Howard 
streets (Founded 1892; present building occupied, 1901). 

To St. Vincent's Female Orphan asylum, 106 Elm 
street (Founded 1817). 

Past the Albany hospital, New Scotland avenue 
(Founded 1849). 

To the Albany Orphan asylum, just beyond 
(Founded 1829; present site occupied 1907). 

To St. Vincent's Male Orphan asylum (Founded 
1849). 

To the Brady Maternity hospital, on North Main 
avenue (Founded 1913). 

To the Tuberculosis hospital, on Western avenue 
(Organized 1909). 

To St. Ann's School of Industry and House of the 
Good Shepherd, West Lawrence street (Founded 1884). 

To the Home for Aged of the Little Sisters of the 
Poor, 391 Central avenue (Founded 1871). 

To the Home for Aged Women (Albany Guardian 
Society), 553 Clinton avenue (Founded 1886). 

To St. Margaret's House, Elk and Hawk streets 
(Founded 1883). 

x\ tuberculosis pavilion which originated with 
and is supported by the Albany Federation of 
Labor is located on Kenwood Heights and is nota- 
ble as the first institution of its kind in the labor 
world. The building was erected at an initial 
cost of $5,000 which was contributed by working- 



52 Albany Guide Book 

men and prominent citizens interested in the 
movement to stamp out the " white plague." 
Dedicated August 28, 1908; opened for work 
December 17 that year. This institution has 
effected many cures and afforded much relief ever 
since its founding. 

The Home for Aged Men on the Troy road at 
Menands (p. 128) also is well worth visiting if 
time allows. (Incorporated 1876; dedicated 
March 28, 1878 ; first inmate admitted April of 
that year.) 

For further and more detailed particulars con- 
cerning the charities of Albany the visitor should 
inquire at the rooms of the Society for Associated 
Charities of Albany at 74 Chapel street (the 
Spencer Trask building). 

Notable institutions will be found under the 
appropriate headings in this book. 

CHARTER 

The original charter of the city, a curious 
parchment document granted July 22, 1686, 
by " Thomas Dongan, Lieutenant and Gov- 
ernor of the Province of Newyork and dependen- 
cies in America, under his most sacred Majesty 
James the Second," may be seen on application 
at the mavor's office. 




IMMACULATE CONCEPTION CATHEDRAL 




ST. PETER S CHURCH 



Albany Guide Book 53 

CHURCHES 
There are 79 places of worship in Albany 
(1916) representing all forms of belief. These 
include 3 synagogues, 2 cathedrals (Episcopal 
and Roman Catholic), 6 Reformed churches, 6 
Methodist, 6 Episcopal, 1 United Presbyterian, 
1 Reformed Episcopal, 8 Lutheran, 8 Baptist, 10 
Presbyterian, 16 Roman Catholic, 1 Congrega- 
tional, 2 Evangelical, 1 Unitarian, 1 Adventist, 1 
Spiritualist, 1 Christian, 1 Friends, 1 Christian 
Science, and several convents and missions. 
Those of particular interest to the tourist are the 
Catholic Cathedral of the Immaculate Concep- 
tion at Eagle street and ^ladison avenue, the 
Episcopal Cathedral of All Saints at Elk and 
North Swan streets, old St. Alary's church at 
Lodge and Pine streets, St. Peter's church at 
State and Lodge streets, the old Eirst Reformed 
at North Pearl and Orange and Monroe streets, 
Beth Emeth synagogue at Lancaster and Swan 
streets. There also is the Salvation Army at 
Green and Beaver streets. 

Descriptions of the important edifices follow : 
Cathedral of the Lnmaculate Conception, Madison 
avenue and Eagle street. Very handsome brownstone 



54 Albany Guide Book 

edifice, said to be one of the finest examples of gothic 
architecture in the country. Fronts 95 feet on Eagle 
and 230 feet on Madison avenue and Jefferson street. 
Cornerstone laid July 2. 1848, by Archbishop Hughes; 
edifice dedicated November 21, 1852; completed in 1892. 
Height of spires, 210 feet; seating capacity, 2,500; ceil- 
ir.g 55 feet high supported by 12 massive columns. 
Noted for its great triple organ, its many exceedingly 
beautiful stained glass windows, its magnificent gold 
bronze and mahogany altar rail (the gift of A. N. Brady 
and Eugene D. Woods), its carved pulpit (the gift of 
John A. McCall), its magnificent altar and its wonder- 
ful acoustic effects. 

All Saints Cathedral, Swan and Elk streets. Site 
given by Erastus Corning in 1883. Present unfinished 
building, instituted by Rt. Rev. William Croswell Doane 
on becoming bishop of the Albany diocese February 
2, 1869, will be a magnificent edifice when completed. 
Seating capacity, 2,400. Incorporated 1873; cornerstone 
laid June 3, 1884; dedicated November 20, 1888. Noted 
for its great organ (the gift of Mary Parker, dedicated 
April 6, 1891), its many beautiful memorials, including 
windows dedicated to Mrs. Doane and her sisters, and 
its interior ornamentation. 

St. Mary's Church, Pine and Lodge streets. The 
present structure is the third to be erected on the site 
and was dedicated March 14, 1869. The original, built 
in 1797, was the first Catholic church in the city and 
the second in the State. The second edifice was the 



Albany Guide Book 55 

original cathedral of the diocese. It contains a very 
old and magnificent canvas fresco back of the altar 
representing the Holy Sepulchre. 

St. Peter's Church, State and Lodge streets. Organ- 
ized 1715; incorporated 1769; present (third) edifice con- 
secrated 1860; seating capacity, 900. Noted for the 
architectural beauty of its memorial tower, its beauti- 
ful chimes (given by George Tweddle on December 
25, 1875. as a family memorial) containing one bell 
dated 1751, for its communion service donated by Queen 
Anne in 1716, for its parchment grants given by George 
I and George III, for its beautiful memorial windows, 
and for its sculptured memorial marble altar (the work 
of St. Gaudens, presented by Robert C. and Charles L. 
Pruyn. 1885). In the vestibule floor is a memorial tablet 
(dedicated May 30, 1915) which marks the place where 
the body of Lord Howx is asserted to lie. The idea 
of this monument originated with Mrs. J. V. L. Pruyn 
and was carried out by her daughter, Mrs. William 
Go r ham Rice. 

First Reformed Church, North Pearl and Orange 
streets. Popularly known as the " Two Steepled 
Church " and the " North Dutch Church." Houses one 
of the oldest religious organizations in America. The 
first pastor (Megapolensis) came over in 1642 and 
service was held in Dutch up to 1782. The first edifice 
was on the present Steamboat square; second (1656) at 
present intersection of Broadway and State street. 
Present edifice dedicated 1799; improved in 1860. Noted 
for its many interesting antic|uities. 



56 Albany Guide Book 

Note. — In 1642 Dominie Megapolensis arrived at 
Fort Orange with wife and four children, being sent 
by the Amsterdam classis at the request of Kiliaen 
Van Rensselaer. A house and church were built for 
him west of the fort where now is Steamboat square. 
In 1656 the Lutherans decided to worship by themselves 
and located their church at Yonkers and Handlaer 
streets (now State and Broadway). It was the second 
religious edifice built in Fort Orange and also was a 
blockhouse, with three small cannon on top command- 
ing the three roads leading into the city. In 1657 the 
directors of the Dutch West Indies company sent a 
small bell for the church. In 1680 the Lutheran society 
bought property on the west side of South Pearl 
street, between Hudson avenue and Beaver street. In 
1741 St. Peter's church was licensed to build by Gover- 
nor Hunter and a grant of land at the head and in the 
center of Yonkers (State) street made which caused 
much opposition. The same year the Dutch Reformed 
church also got a permit to build its third edifice at 
Market and Yonkers streets. In 1715 St. Peter's 
church opened with Thomas Barclay as rector; its 
written records began April 15, 1718; in 1731 it was 
damaged by fire. In 1760 the Common Council licensed 
the Presbyterians to establish a church, and a site was 
granted in 1762 on the northwest corner of Hudson 
avenue and William street. (The church now worships 
at State and Willett streets, building erected in I884.) In 
1766 the German Reformed church was granted land on 
the hill north of the fort, and the same year St. Peter's 



Albany Guide Book 57 

church was chartered by Governor Moore. In 1799, 
September 13, the cornerstone of St. Mary's church was 
laid on the site at the northwest corner of Barrack 
(Chapel) and Pine streets; the congregation organized 
in 1776; the city gave the site and the brick church 
was built in 1798; cornerstone of second edifice was 
laid in 1820. the third on August 11, 1867. The 
Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception organized 
1847; cornerstone laid July 2. 1848; dedicated November 
21, 1852, Patrick C. Keely. architect. St. Peter's present 
(3d) edifice is on the site of the second which was torn 
down; cornerstone laid June, 1859; first service on Sep- 
tember 16 that year; consecrated October 4, 1860. 

CITY BUILDING 

The building at South Pearl and Howard 
streets, police and city courts and offices, is out- 
grown and a modern municipal building is to be 
erected at Eagle and Daniel streets, on the site 
of the old First Congregatonal church which site 
cost $35,000. On February 26, 1917, an appropri- 
ation of $100,000 was made for the new building. 
There the Second Precinct station house will be 
located, the Police court and offices and the Fire 
Bureau. The police headquarters and the Fire 
Chief's room contain many interesting relics. 



Albany Guide Book 
MEMORANDA 




THE CITY HALL 



Albany Guide Book 59 

CITY HALL 

The city administration is housed in the hand- 
some SjA story gothic granite edifice with base- 
ment and tower (190 feet high and 26y2 feet 
square) at Eagle street and Alaiden lane. Com- 
pleted 1883; cost $325,000; architect, the famous 
H. H. Richardson. The exterior of this building 
is highly prized for its architectural beauty by 
artists and architects and has been extensively 
copied. The Common Council chamber contains 
a very valuable collection of portraits of the gov- 
ernors of the State. 

The city bought the present site in 1827; cor- 
nerstone of old building laid August 31, 1829; 
first occupied by Common Council July 25, 1831 ; 
cost $92,336.91 ; destroyed, by fire February 10, 
1880; present edifice erected 1881. Interior 
reconstructed 1917; contracts awarded totaled 
$352,289. 

CLUBS 

Social life always has been a notable feature of 
Albany, and the city now has no less than 45 
clubs. These include 3 commercial, 2 profes- 
sional, 16 social, 1 commercial travelers', 1 auto- 
mobile, 7 sporting, 1 yacht, 2 gun, 1 fish and 
game, 1 camping, 1 raquette, 1 boy scouts', 
3 literary, 2 musical, 2 curling, 4 political (the 



60 Albany Guide Book 

Capital City, Unconditional, Young Men's Repul)- 
lican. Equal Suffrage), 1 chess, 1 boys', 1 girls', 
1 mothers' and 1 woman's. 

The best known clubs are 

Adelphi, 134 State street — Organized January 26, 
1873; as the Adelphi Literary association at South 
Pearl and Division streets; present handsome club- 
house formally opened 1898, occupies the old General 
John Taylor Cooper mansion whose beautiful interior 
has been for the most part preserved, although very 
extensive improvements and additions have been made. 

Aurania, South Allen street, west of Madison ave- 
nue — Incorporated • May 7, 1902; clubhouse opened 
November 20, 1902, has been greatly enlarged and 
improved. It is a family club and its well-equipped 
quarters and spacious grounds are enjoyed by a large 
membership. Take Pine Hills car. 

Albany, 102 State street — Incorporated 1886; occu- 
pies the spacious old mansion of Erastus Corning, 
senior, to which additions have been made extending 
through to Howard street in the rear. One of the 
most popular and best equipped clubs in the city. 

Commercial Travelers — Meets 564 Broadway across 
from depot; organized 1888. 

Fort Orange — Easily the leading city club and one 
of the best known in the State; organized January 31, 
1880; occupies spacious quarters at 110 Washington 
avenue, surrounded by well kept grounds. The main 
building once was the fine old mansion built in 1810 by 
Samuel Hill and once occupied by Aaron Burr while 
a lawyer in Albany. 



Aliianv GuiDK Book 61 

Elks — The B. P. O. E. No. 49. occupies at 138 State 
street a specially constructed and very spacious building 
which is the pride of the order. It extends through 
to Howard street and contains besides the spacious 
lodge room every convenience for social enjoyment of 
the members. It was erected at a cost of $200,000 and 
fc^rmally opened on May 5-6, 1913. 

Scottish — St. Andrew's society which has an attrac- 
tive home at 69 Howard street is the pride of citizens 
of Scottish birth. It was organized on October 19, 
1803, and does much charitable work. The Burns club, 
organized in 1853, and the Caledonian club, organized 
in 1874. also are well known. 

University — Organized March 21, 1901; occupies the 
spacious residence of the late George I. Amsdell at 
Washington avenue and Dove street with grounds 
extending through to Elk street, a full block. 

Yacht — Organized April 16, 1873; formerly located 
across the river in a frame building which was 
destroyed by fire July 3. 1905. Now has a magnificent 
home in a specially erected clubhouse on Recreation 
pier opposite the foot of State street which it occupied 
November 1, 1913. 

The Rotarian and Kiwanis clubs also are large and 
growing centers of social life. 

Country Clubs 

There are four of these clubs attached to the 
city's social life and each has a large member- 
ship. They are : 



62 Albany Guide Book 

Albany Country Clul) — Beautifully located on Great 
Western turnpike, about 2 miles west of city. Bought 
property April 1, 1895. Clubhouse reconstructed and 
enlarged 1898, dining-room seats 300; now has 132 
acres with attractive scenery including a lake and 
creeks; 8 tennis courts; 18-hole golf course. Continu- 
ally being improved. Take Country Club car. 

Colonie Country Club — Acquired Adelphi club 
country property April 1, 1915. Has 59 acres well 
located, containing 4 tennis courts, 9-hole golf course, 
baseball ground and other desirable features. Attrac- 
tive clubhouse with huge living room (35 x 65 ft.), 
and wide veranda on three sides. Take Country Club 
car. 

Helderberg Golf Club — Organized 1914. Purchased 
old Helderberg Inn property at Altamont. Located 
800 feet up among Helderberg mountains and noted for 
magnificent views from house and grounds. Has 65 
acres containing many natural attractions. Has 3 tennis 
courts and 9-hole golf course. D. & H train to Alta- 
mont, or automobile. 

Wolfert's Roost Country Club — ^^ Occupies house and 
grounds noted as home originally of " Fritz " Emmett, 
the actor; acquired 1891 by David B. Hill when U. S. 
Senator. Located on Van Rensselaer boulevard. 
Organized May 1, 1915; opened September 11, 1915; 100 
acres with lake and other attractions; has 6 tennis 
courts; 18-hole golf course. Specialty is athletics and 
sociability. 



Albany Guide Book 63 

Women's Clubs 

Xo less than 27 clubs formed exclusively by 
women and coverini^- all fields of activity exist in 
Albany. The best known are: 

Dana Natural History Society — Organized Novem- 
ber 19, 1868, by prominent women of the time and 
named after Prof. James D. Dana of Yale. Meets in 
the Girls' Academy; speciaUy, field meetings on call 
for Nature study purposes under the leadership of some 
eminent scientific man. The association has as memo- 
rials Dana park and the Dana fountain at Madison 
avenue and Lark street. 

Mothers' Club — Organized 1900; meets in Y. W. 
C. A. building. Specialty, the betterment of the 
condition.-; surrounding little children. This club 
originated and fosters the open-air playgrounds (p. 142) 
of the city, five in number, in several of the parks so 
located as to serve the most densely populated and 
growing sections. It is a widely known, popular and 
highly respected body. 

Woman's Club — Organized in June, 1910; meets in 
the Historical and Art Society building. Specialty, civic 
betterment. 

Pine Hills Fortnightly Club — Organized 1898; meets 
in the Aurania club. Specialty, literary and historical 
studies. 

There also are many patriotic societies and 
church organizations doing good work. One 
organization of particular merit is the Albany 



64 Albany Guide Book 

Girls' club, whose home is on Madison avenue. 
Its specialty is to teach girls home duties and to 
improve their social condition and education. 

CONVENTS 

The number of these institutions has grown 
considerably during the past ten years in Albany 
until there are several of considerable importance. 
The most notable is the Convent of the Sacred 
Heart, an imposing brick edifice rising from a 
wooded eminence sotith of the city, reached by 
the Kenwood cars. It was instituted in 1853 ; 
present buildings, erected in 1866, cost $200,000. 
The grounds which front 310 feet on the river 
contain many magnificent trees and beautiful 
walks. Open to visitors. Other convents are : 

Our Lady of Angels, 183 Central avenue. Take West 
Albany car. 

Dominican, 880 Madison avenue. Take Pine Hills car. 

St. Ann's, Franklin street and Fourth avenue. Take 
South Pearl street car. 

Vincentian, Morris street, west of Partridge. Take 
West Albany car. 

COUNTY COURT HOUSE 

An adequate and substantial edifice to meet 
the requirements of the growing county business 
was erected at Eagle and Columbia streets in 



Aij'.ANV GuiDi: Book 65 

1913 at a cost of $1,250,000; cornerstone laid May 
8, 1915; formally dedicated September 23, 1916, 
when County Attorney Ellis J. Staley received 
the keys from the building- committee of the 
board of supervisors. On August 7, 1916, County 
judge Ceorge Addington held the hrst legal hear- 
ing in the building (an excise case). On Octo- 
l)er 2, 1916, Justice Alden Chester convened the 
tirst term of the Supreme Court in the new build- 
ing with justice A\'ilHam l\ Rudd and County 
Judge Addington occupying the bench with him. 
Appropriate gavel sets were presented through 
Commander J. Harris Loucks as memorials 
donated In' Phil Sheridan Camp, S. of Y., and 
:M()hawk Chapter, D. A. R. The gift of the 
Daughters contained an iron inset from the brace 
which su])ported the Liberty bell in Independ- 
ence hall, Philadelphia, and the gift of the Sons 
contained an inset from the old statue of Jus- 
tice which for 7? years surmounted the dome of 
the old Capitol. 

The court house occupies the site of the old 
High school on which the original city reservoir 
stood. In its massive hreproof vaults attached 
to the Count}- Clerk's (|uarters are man}- ver}' old 
and rare count}- documents running back to 1630 
when under Dutch rule Albanv (then Fort 



66 Aij;any Guide Book 

Orange) was the center of a square 25 miles on 
each side of the river. There also are many old 
deeds signed by Indians. The Old Dutch and 
English records include deeds showing property 
ownership from 1656; mortgages from 1765; jus- 
tice of the peace records from 1665, and many 
very old and valuable maps. 

COURTS 

Nine courts are held in Albany, located as fol- 
lows : 

Appeals — In the old State House (p. 164) which is 
now occupied solely by this august body. 

Claims — In the Capitol. 

Supreme and Surrogates — In the County court 
house at Eagle and Columbia streets. 

United States District — In the Government building 
at Broadway and State street. 

Police — In City building (p. 57). 

City — In City Hall (p. 59). 

County — In County court house. 

Recorder's — In County courthouse, temixjranly. 

Note. — Albany's first court was established by Pieter 
Stuyvesant in the old fort in 1652. xA-fter the State 
House was built at I'roadway and Hudson avenue in 
1673 (rebuilt in 1740) some were held there; there als(j 
were the jail and \vhipi)ing post. Later the number of 
courts increased and lliey were held in various places. 
In 1898 the county bought the Albany Savings Batik 



Albany Guide Book 67 

building at State and Chapel streets for a county build- 
ing and the courts were held there until 1916 when the 
removal to the new County Court building took place. 

COURT OF APPEALS 

Organized by Constitution of 1846 and held 
first session July 5, 1(S47, in old Capitol ; members 
made elective by Constitution of 1869 ; moved 
into new Capitol in July, 1883; opened perma- 
nent quarters there July 14, 18S4. On January 8, 
1917, the court formally took possession of the 
famous old State House (p. 164) which had been 
remodeled for its exclusive use. State Architect 
Louis F. Pilcher who did the work was compli- 
mented by Associate Judge Chase for retaining 
the classic outlines of the old building with its 
great pillared portico, its famous " flying " stair- 
case and its columned rotunda ; also for reproduc- 
ing entire in the 85 by 65 addition in the rear the 
noted court room in which the court had met for 
so many years in the Capitol, with its oak panel- 
ing, carved desk, onyx fireplace and paintings of 
former judges. The renovated building was 
referred to as " The Temj^le of Justice " but the 
massi\'e bronze door l)ears the sim])le inscription 
'' Coin^t of Appeals." ( )tlicr featiu-cs of the 
rem(.)dele(l building arc the great library room 
on the second floor, commodious rooms for the 



68 Albany Guide Book 

judges and clerical force, retiring and lounging 
rooms for attorneys. The appropriation for the 
work was $350,000, which was not .entirely used. 

DEPOTS 

Albany is an important railroad center and the 
traffic of six great lines is handled through a 
commodious granite building on Broadway popu- 
larly known as the " Union Station." Here pas- 
sengers alight from the trains of the New York 
Central, the Delaware & Hudson, the Boston & 
Albany, the West Shore, the Rutland and the 
Boston & Maine roads, over which an average of 
196 passenger trains, 103 freight trains, 210 light 
passenger engines and 165 light freight engine:^ 
run daily. The depot building occupies the 
whole block between Steul:)en and Columbia 
streets (once the site of the famous old Delavan 
House, burned Deceml)er 30, 1894), and from it 
run the many trains connecting the East with the 
West, which " Take you anywhere at any time " 
(in the summer time especially to the Adiron- 
dack mountains, the Thousand Islands, Lake 
George, etc.). It was ojiened December 17, 1900, 
has a waiting-room 134 feet lung by 103 feet wide 
and 52 feet high, and even with this capacity must 
])t enlarged. 



Ar.r.AXv Gutdf Book 69 

The Delaware & Hudson road serves the ,2^reat 
army of travelers to the northern summer resorts 
— the Eastern Adirondack's. Saratoi^a, Lake 
(leors^e and " ( )nt Sus(|uehanna Way. " Its mag- 
niticent new administration Ijuilding fronts the 
riaza (p. 144) at the foot (^f State street. 

Note. — The tirst Albany depot stood at the head of 
this street on the north side at a short distance below 
Eagle street where now is the building known as Van 
Vechten Hall. It was built for the old Mohawk & Hud- 
son railroad (now part of the New York Central) run- 
ning from Albany to Schenectady (first train arrived in 
the city May 14. 1832). See Railroads. 

DIRECTORIES 

Travelers will find a convenient library of 
directories for all cities of importance at 448 
Broadway. The first Albany director}^ w^as 
issued in 1813 by Joseph Fry and contained 60 
pages and 1,638 names out of a population of 
11,000. It sold for 50c. The 1916 directory con- 
tained 57,980 out of a population of 107,979 and 
cost $6.00. 

DISPOSAL PLANT 

This great modern improvement was begun 
in 1914 and was to be finished in the spring of 
1917. It cost $650,000. It consists of sixteen 



70 Ar.r.ANY Guide Book 

settling- tanks (Imhoff system) into which the 
dry weather flow of sewage amounting to about 
30,000,000 gallons daily is taken. The capacity 
of the plant is about 60,000,000 gallons daily in 
order to provide for the future growth of the city. 
The object of the plant is to prevent the pollution 
of the river in front of the city by the great 
amount of sewage which hitherto poured into it. 
At the plant is located an electrically operated 
sewage pumping station which takes the sewage 
from the intercepting sewer (p. 120) and delivers 
it into the great tanks. On Broadway near Tivoli 
street a smaller pumping station pumps the 
North Albany sewage up to and into the big 
sewer which ends at the disposal plant on Wes- 
terlo (Van Rensselaer) island below the city 
proper. The city owns about 173 acres at this 
point where the disposal plant is located of which 
about two-thirds is held for future use should the 
U. S. Government finally decide to deepen the 
Hudson river to 27 feet when the city will build 
concrete docks and terminals with warehouses 
on the site and thus create a great business cen- 
ter there. 

On March 5, 1917, the Common Council appro- 
priated $200,000 to complete the disposal plant. 



Albany GuinR V 



n 



DISTANCES 

The numl)er of miles from All)any to places 
most commonly sought by travelers is as follows : 

Asbury Park 203 

Atlantic City 287 

Ausable Chasm 157 



Bluff Point (Lake 

Champlain) 164 

Blue Mt. Lake 124 

Cooperstown (Otsego 

Lake) 91 

Catskill 31 

Howes Cave 40 

Long Branch 200 

Lake Placid 251 

Lake George (Cald- 
well) 70 



Lake Charaplain (Ti- 

conderoga) 100 

Montreal 242 

New York 143 

Niagara Falls 319 

Ocean Grove 187 

Old Point Comfort... 514 

Round Lake 26 

Raquette Lake 170 

Saratoga 39 

Saranac Lake 241 

Schenectady 1/ 

Sharon Springs 59 

Thousand Islands ... 203 
Washington 376 



DOCKS 

See under '* River Front '' for information con- 
cerning- these structures. The original city docks 
were three in number and constructed of stone. 
Later, wooden docks were built all along the 
waterfront. These finally were replaced by the 
present concrete structures. 

DOCTORS 

Over 200 practitioners representing all schools 
of medicine are at vour service in Albanv and 



72 Albany Guide Book 

can readily be reached 1)y telephone. The city 
has raised several eminent medical men, notal)ly 
Dr. John Swinburne, Dr. Alden March, Dr. James 
H. Armsby, Dr. Jacol) S. Mosher, Dr. James W. 
Cox and Dr. Samuel B. Ward. 

DRIVES 

Those of means and leisure can spend much 
time agreeably in driving about the city and its 
suburbs. The price is $1.50 per hour for a car- 
riage holding four persons and having a speed 
rate of about four miles per hour. The taxicabs 
charge 40c per mile for one or two persons and 
$1.50 per hour waiting time. Satisfactory 
arrangements as to fare for parties or long dis- 
tance rides can be made through any hotel or 
restaurant. Some of the drives recommended, in 
addition to visits to the country clubs, tours 
around the boulevards, etc., are the following: 

Through Washington park, 4 miles. 

Country roads to Slingerlands, 6 miles. 

To the Old Abbey, river road, 3^ mile=. 

Country roads to Sloane's, 8 miles. 

Rural Cemetery, 4 miles. 

Cedar Hill, 6 miles. 

To old Forbes Manor house (Rensselaer). 1^ miles. 

To Hurst's roadhouse, 3^ miles. 

To old Canton roadhouse (now "Smith's Tavern"), 
4 miles. 



Albany Guide Rook 7^ 

Cohoes Falls, 9 miles. 

Grcenbush Heights. 4 miles. 

The Ridge Road (Rensselaer). 6 miles. 

Sacred Heart Convent. 2 miles. 

Castleton, 8 miles. 

Shaker Village. 7 miles. 

Xormanskill (The vale of Tawasentha) 4 miles. 

Van Rensselaer Manor. 2 miles. 

Short drives also can be taken down the river 
bank on either side, out Western avenne to the 
Country club and to some of the smaller parks. 
One general favorite is to Delaware avenue, to 
\Miitehall road, to Xew Scotland road, to Pine 
Hills, to Manning- boulevard, and back. An 
experienced driver will suggest others. Probably 
one of the best trips to " see the city " is to start 
from the depot, down Broadway to State street, 
to Washington avenue past the Capitol and Edu- 
cation building, to AVestern avenue, past the Nor- 
mal college and High school to the Xorthern 
boulevard, around Tivoli lake to Manning boule- 
vard, to Madison avenue, to South Lake avenue, 
to Xew Scotland avenue to Morris street to Eagle 
street, past the Executive mansion to Madison ave- 
nue, to Washington park emerging at Englewood 
place, then to State street to Eagle to Hudson 
avenue to the Public ^larket square, to' South 
Pearl street, to Steuben street, to Broadway. 



Albany Guide Book 
MEMORANDA 



Alp.any Gutde Book 75 

EDUCATION BUILDING 

The maL^niticent edifice on W^ashington avenue, 
opposite the Capitol and occupying- an entire city 
block, was authorized l)y law in 1906; work began 
July 29, 1908 ; building formally dedicated Octo- 
ber'l5-17, 1912. Cost nearly $5,000,000 of which 
$446,440.75 was for the site. It covers over ly^ 
acres, is of classical design and is said to be 
architecturally one of the finest buildings in the 
United States. The construction above the gray 
granite base is of white A'ermont marble as also 
are the front and end walls and the many 
columns. The rear walls are of light-colored 
vitreous brick. The roof is of concrete covered 
with copper. 

The idea of having an editice solely for educa- 
tion originated with Commissioner Andrew S. 
Draper. Dimensions of building : 590 feet long by 
330 deep in the center and 125 feet on the sides. 
Height at Hawk street. 148 feet ; at Swan street. 
125 feet. The striking feature of the exterior is 
the great colonnade with 36 massive columns 
each 60 feet high. The main entrance is in the 
center of the building on A\^ashington avenue. 
The building provides quarters for the adminis- 
trative offices of the State Education Depart- 



76 xA.Lr,ANY GuTDE Book 

ment ; the Stale Museum and State Library and 
contains also auaauditorium witli a seating;- capac- 
ity of 900. 

In the Ijiasement are located the heatuig, ven- 
tilatini^- and lighting- apparatus, workrooms, 
toilets and the lower iioors of the great library 
book stack running 30 feet down under ground 
and having a capacity of 2,000,000 volumes; also 
the auditorium known as " Chancellor's Hall," 
and adequate safety vaults for the very valuable 
manuscripts. The many elevators also start here. 

Features of the tirst floor are the great cor- 
ridor running" east and west the entire length of 
the building and giving access to the general 
offices of the Education department, the library 
workrooms, the elevators and the spacious stair- 
case leading to the floor above. 

On the second floor the feature is the great 
rotunda measuring about 100 feet and having in 
the center a dome 94 feet in height. From this 
rotunda extends a great vaulted corridor 48 feet 
high leading to the group of five special libraries 
(law, medicine, periodicals, legislative reference 
and public documents), also to the principal refer- 
ence room 125 by 107 feet and 55 feet high, 
modeled after the Bibliotheque Nationale in 



Albany Guide Book 77 

Paris. The rotunda bears appropriate inscrip- 
tions and is beautified by a series of notable mural 
paintings ])y the celebrated artist, Will H. Low. 
The general theme of the paintings is '* The Aspi- 
rations of Man for Intellectual Enlightenment." 

The third floor contains rooms for the exami- 
nations division, the extension division, the divi- 
sion of archives and history, etc. 

The fourth floor is devoted entirely to the great 
museum of the State and rooms used by the 
director and staff. The main exhibition hall is 
570 feet long, 50 feet high and 54 feet w^ide. The 
museum contains wonderful collections in geol- 
ogy, mineralogy, botany, etc., and life size groups 
illustrating the life history of the Six Nations of 
the Iroquois Indians. 

ELKS 

Lodge No. 49, I>. P. C. E., instituted Septenr- 
ber 18, 1886, occupies a handsome permanent 
home at 138 State street which was erected at a 
cost of $200,000. The building was formally 
opened on May 5-6, 1^>13, and is one of the most 
commodious and u])-to-date clubhouses particu- 
larl}- ada])ted to the re(|uirements of the order in 
the country. 



78 Albany Guide Book 

EXCURSIONS 

Time and means alone limit the list of attrac- 
tive excursions which may be taken with Albany 
as the center, A few of those recommended are 
(see also Drives (p. 72) and Distances (p. 71) : 

By Trolley 

To Troy, to Cohoes to Waterford and return, 22 
miles, 2 hours, 30c round trip. 

To Troy, to Waterford, to Mechanicville, to Still- 
water and return, 20 miles, 40c each way. 

To Troy, to Albia, to Averill Park and return, 21 
miles, 3 hours. 60c round trip. 

A favorite city trolley trip is to Pine Hills and 
return; from foot State street, 35 min., 10c. 

By Train 

To Saratoga, 3.9 miles, $2.34, round trip, 1 day. 
To Lake George, 70 miles, $4.20, round trip, 1 day. 
To Round Lake, 26 miles, $1.56, round trip, 1 day. 
To Sharon Springs, 59 miles, $3.54. round trip, 1 day. 

A delightful day may also be spent in the 
Indian Ladder region of the Helderberg moun- 
tains (see Thacher Park, p. 224). D. & H. train 
to Meadowdale, 14 miles, 42 cents one way. 

By Boat 

To Maple Beach, 4 miles, 5c. 

To Troy and return, 12 miles, 10c. 

To Castleton and return. 28 miles, 30c. 

To Catskill and return, 60 miles, 75c. 

To Kingston Point and return, 120 miles, $1.00. 



Albany Guide Book 79 

EXECUTIVE MANSION 

The home which the State has provided for its 
governors stands on a terraced site in the midst 
of beautiful grounds on Eagle street at the south- 
west corner of Elm street. The original site w^as 
])ought while Samuel J. Tilden was governor and 
the mansion was built under the supervision of 
Isaac G. Perry while State architect. It was hrst 
occupied by Governor Tilden and formally 
opened at his public reception January 25, 1876. 

Not open to visitors. 

EXPRESS COMPANIES 

Albany is the second largest express center in 
the country and both the American and National 
express companies are located here. The Ameri- 
can, formed in 1850 by the consolidation of sev- 
eral small companies, has its offices at 31 North 
Pearl street and at the depot ; the National at 33 
North Pearl street and at the depot. Both are 
readily reached l:)y telephone. 

FEMALE ACADEMY 

This famous old school for girls is located at 
155 Washington avenue where its new building- 
was opened on January 1, 1892. The school 



80 Albany Guidl Book 

began its career of usefulness in a l:)uilding- on 
Montgomery street May 21, 1814, with Horace 
Goodrich as principal ; its next building was on 
North Pearl street where now stands the Dris- 
lane store. This was dedicated May 12, 1834, and 
cost $30,000. It was noted for its great columned 
portico. Incorporated 1821. 

FILTER PLANT 

Albany's water supply is obtained by pumping 
from the Hudson river north of the Lumber dis- 
trict. Three centrifugal pumps driven by com- 
pound engines and each having a daily capacity 
of 15,000,000 gallons pump the water up 18 feet 
into a sedimentation basin with a capacity of 
14,600,000 gallons. After settling about 18 hours 
the water is pumped by two 30,000,000 gallon cen- 
trifugal pumps u]:)on 16 preliminary mechanical 
lilters, each 810 square feet in area, in which the 
water is hltered through about two feet of sand 
at a comparatively high rate. Alum is used on 
these filters when the condition of the raw water 
requires it. The pre-hltered water next flows by 
gra\'it\' u])on 8 slow sand filters each 0.7 acre 
in size and containing from 2 to 4 feet in dcptli of 
sand through which the water filters slowlv. 



Albany Guidi-: Book 81 

These filters are protected from cold weather 
by \aulted concrete arches covered with earth, 
l^he eftluent of the slow sand filters is further 
purihed b}- the addition of minute quantities of 
licpiid chlorine which frees the water from bac- 
teria. 

After the purifying processes the water flows 
by gravity through 7,913 feet of 48-inch pipe to 
the Ouackenbush street pumping station where 
it is pumped directly into the high and low dis- 
tribution systems w^ith reliefs to the Prospect and 
I'leecker reservoirs respectively. The Ouacken- 
bush street station is equipped with hve vertical 
triple-expansion pumping engines, three of which 
have capacities of 5,000,000 gallons each and two 
of 12,000,000 gallons each. 

During 1916, the consumption of w^ater was 
21,559,000 gallons per day or about 196 galVjns 
per capita per day. About 19,990 buildings are 
supplied with water of which 7,810 or about 39 
per cent are metered. 

The water works were originally built l)y the 

Albany \\'ater W^jrks Co., incorporated in 1802, 

and sold to the city in 1850. A\'ater first was 

obtained by pumping from the Hudson river in 

6 



82 Alijany Guide Book 

1876. Slow sand filters placed in operation in 
1899, preliminary filters in 1908. 

Note.— The purifying plant, said to be one of the 
largest and mo^t complete in the United States, occu- 
pies 45 acres on the flats north of the Luml^er dis- 
trict. Take Broadway car to North street. Work 
began in the fall of 1897; plant partly used in July, 
1899; cost originally $496,633; designed by Allen Hazen. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT 

Albany is adequately protected against fire by 
a highly efficient body of trained men equipped 
with all modern appliances for the work. The 
department dates back to 1706 and has been " up 
to date " ever since its inception. It now is a 
paid department and comprises a Chief with 
office in the City building (p. ?7) and three 
battalions quartered in 14 handsome engine 
houses so located as to cover the entire city and 
suburbs promptly when called. The firemen in 
addition to the officers number 126. The appara- 
tus consists of the chief's automobile, three auto- 
for the battalion chiefs, 11 engines, 3 aerial and 1 
city truck, 4 auto and 8 horse drawn chemicals, 
1 autu insurance i)atr(d ])ropularly known a^ 
"The Protectives." Alarms are given througli 
an elaborate signal system covering the entire 



Alkany Guil)1£ Book 83 

city with 220 public boxes covering the city gen- 
erally and 68 private lK)xes covering institutions 
and business places. The heart of the signal sys- 
tem is located in an adequate building (p. 84) at 
Delaware avenue and Morris street. For years 
the number of a box indicating the location of a 
fire has been struck on the huge bell in the city 
hall tower (p. 35). See Fire Alarm. 

Note. — In 1688 '' Firemasters " were appointed and 
ladders and fire hooks were required to be kept in 
each ward. In 1732 the first hand pumping engine was 
brought from London and kept in a shed at South 
Pearl and Beaver streets. It had 40 feet of leather 
hose. A second engine was bought in 1763 and cost 
$397.50. The city then had 31 firemen. That year the 
city bought 48 leather fire buckets to be kept at the 
homes of the aldermen and prominent citizens. A 
third engine was bought in 1792 from a Philadelphia 
firm and was kept in the shed of the English church 
on Yonkers street. In 1834 the Common Council 
named Harmanus Van Ingen as the first fire chief; in 
1839 an alarm bell was ordered placed in the cupola of 
the jail; in 1843 the salary of the chief was fixed at 
$600: in 1847 James McQuaid was elected fire chief; 
in 1848 the Fire Department was organized ])y law; 
in 1849 a hose depot was started on Philip street. In 
1864 a steam fire engine was bought by the city and 
the Beaverwyck steam fire engine company was organ- 
ized. One year later the city had 3 such engines — the 



84 Albany Guide Book 

James McQuaid. Putnam and the Thomas Kearney. 
The paid department was instituted September 1, 1867; 
a fire alarm system installed in 1868 and Michael J. 
Higgins was made chief on the death of Chief 
McQuaid. The Protectives organized in June, 1872. 
and the alarm bell was placed in the City Hall tower 
in 1882. In 1897 the city bought 3 chemical engines. 
Chief Higgins died in 1911 and was succeeded by Wil- 
liam W. Bridgeford under whom the auto apparatus 
came into use. 

FIRE ALARM 

In 1867 the Common Council appropriated 
$15,000 for an alarm system and on June 1, 1868, 
the city had 75 alarm boxes working. In 1882 
the big bell was installed in the City Hall tower 
at Eagle street and Maiden lane. The system 
has kept pace with the growth of the city and 
now is housed in a handsome building of Dutch 
style of architecture located in an adequate plat 
bounded by Delaware and Myrtle avenues, Lark 
and Morris streets. The building is 70 by 40 feet 
and the lot 195 by 200 feet, and it is equipped 
with every modern convenience and a])])liance for 
successful work. Erected 1916-17. Take a Del- 
aware avenue car. P'or some account of big hres 
which have visited Albany see Addenda (p. 213). 



Albany Guidr Book 85 

FRATERNAL ORDERS 

Albanians arc essentially " Joiners " and if 
there is a fraternal organization not represented 
in the city it has hut to make itself known to he 
assured of a hearty welcome. Besides the Free- 
masons, Odd Fellows, Rebekahs, O. E. S., K. of 
P., Redmen, Elks, G. A. R., Foresters, Druids, 
Royal Arcanum, C. B. L., \\'oodmen, K. O. T. M., 
Flaymakers and K. of C, there are a host of others 
whose insignia appears on buttons worn by the 
inhabitants. For the older orders see under the 
proper headings. Among the societies are in- 
cluded also 13 Jewish, 4 Italian, 1 Irish, 3 Scotch 
and several German associations. 

GEOLOGICAL HALL 

The big brick building at State and Lodge 
streets, now occupied by the Department of Agri- 
culture, originally housed the State Museum of 
Natural History and was known as the Geological 
Hall. It was built in 1858 on the site of the old 
State Hall which was erected in 1797. It was 
here that Prof. James Hall, who was State geolo- 
gist from 1836 to 1898, presided over the famous 
collections which made him as well as the State 
famous. 



86 Albany Guide Book 

Note. — Professor Hall did his studying- for the most 
part in a little red brick building which still stands in 
Lincoln park (p. 136) and which for half a century was 
the active center of geological study in the United 
States. At their session in the Education building in 
1916 the National Geological Association ordered the 
building monumented with a bronze tablet bearing the 
following inscription 

" This Building Was Erected By 

JAMES HALL 

State Geologist of New York 

1836-1898 

" For 50 years it served as his office and laboratory, 
and from it graduated many geologists of merit and 
distinction. During most of that period it was an influ- 
ential and active center of geological science in this 
country. 



" Erected By 

The Association of American State 

Geologists 

1916" 



AL15ANY ClUTDE BoDK 87 

MEMORANDA 



88 Albany Guide Book 

GOVERNMENT BUILDING 

The granite edifice at State street and Broad- 
way houses the Federal offices. It occupies the 
site of the old Exchange, and of the Mechanics 
«Sc Farmers bank ; cost about $700,000 ; corner- 
stone laid by the Masonic fraternity May 7, 1879. 
Occupied by the Internal Revenue department 
December, 1883; by the Post Office, January 1, 
1884; contains the Federal offices and courts. 
Just inside and facing the Broadway entrance a 
battered fragment of the cornerstone of the old 
Exchange building is framed into the wall, show- 
ing a nearly defaced inscription with the dates 
1727 and 1837. The custom house receipts for 
duties in 1916 were $123,486.51 ; value of mer- 
chandise $1,099,484.00; the internal revenue 
receipts $9,219,845.10, which sufficiently indicate 
Albany's importance as a port of entry. A total 
of 526 vessels were enrolled at the port in 1916. 

GRAND ARMY HEADQUARTERS 

In the Capitol, opposite the main entrance on 
the second floor, is located the Military Bureau 
containing the museum of war relics and the war 
records of the State. The local Department of 
the G. A. R. is represented by 



Alp.anv Guide r>ooK 89 

Lew I'enedict Ppst. Xo. 5, located at 31 (jreen 

street. 
L. ,0. Morris Post, No. 121. located in County Court 

House. 
George S. Dawson Post, No. 63, located at 206 

Washington avenue. 
\V. A. Jackson Post. No. 644. located in County 

Court House. 

There also is a Woman's Relief Corps, No. 45; a 
circle of the Ladies of the G. A. R.; two camps of 
Sons of Veterans (Sheridan and Ten Eyck) ; a camp of 
Spanish War Veterans and an auxiliary; a camp of 
V^eterans of Foreign Wars, and an auxiliary, and the 
Margaret Vander Veer Tent of the Daughters of 
Veterans. 

HALLS, PUBLIC 
In Harmanus Bleecker Hall, Washington ave- 
nue, near Lark street, Albany originally had one 
of the best public halls in the country, but the 
interior has been changed and the handsome 
auditorium spoiled for the purpose for which the 
building was dedicated and intended in order to 
make it into a paying theater property. The 
building was made possible by the bequest of 
about $130,000 by a public spirited citizen whose 
name it perpetuates, augmented by generous 
public subscriptions ($56,000 besides the sum of 
$10,000 from Erastus Corning). Even the public 
school children oave their mite. Harmanus 



90 Albany Guide Rook 

]^)leecker wanted to i^ive to. Albany something 
that would be of 1)enelit to the city and a public 
hall was decided on at the time. The building 
forms a part of the Young Men's Association 
property. It was opened October 9, 1889 ; inte- 
rior remodeled in 1898. It is hreproof and 
equipped with all modern conveniences. It had 
one of the largest stages in the country as a pub- 
lic hall. The space in front was reserved under 
the original plan for a building to be occupied by 
one similar to that of the Historical and Art 
Society to contain relics of old Albany. An 
arcade was to give access to the hall. 

Note. — Harmanus Bleecker, born October 19, 1779; 
died July 19, 1849; was prominent as a lawyer, phil- 
anthropist. Assemblyman, Congressman, Regent of the 
University and Minister to the Hague. He lived at 
the southeast corner of Chapel and Steuben streets. 
He left a bequest "for the benefit of tlie city" and his 
widow on her death turned the property over to J. V. L. 
Pruyn " to be used in some judicious way to be per- 
manently beneficial to the city of Albany." Mr. Pruyn 
transferred the bequest to Amasa J. Parker who desired 
to see a fireproof public hall erected, capable of seat- 
ing 2,500 people, and offered the property to the city 
for such a memorial purpose. It was accepted on 
March 9. 1877. A citizens' committee with John Boyd 
Thacher at its head undertook to raise $50,000 to secure 
the bequest of $130,000. They actually collected $56,518 



Albany Gutof. Book 91 

of which the public school children gave $682.14 and 
the High school pupils $451.45, the understanding being- 
at the time that future coniniencenient exercises should 
be held in the new hall when erected. For a time the 
hall was much enjoyed by the people but the trustees 
found the income from it was not sufficient to support 
the defunct Y. M. A., and its library and the J. V. L. 
Pruyn library afterward erected at North Pearl street 
and Clinton avenue and the trustees changed the hall 
over into its present condition, thus nullifying the 
original purpose of the bequest and benefitting the 
city nothing. In 1913 the trustees who control the 
property placed the following tablet at the side of the 
west entrance to the building: 

HARMANUS BLEECKER HALL 

Cornerstone Laid October, 1888 

Building Dedicated October. 1889 

The erection of this building was made possible by 
Sabastiana Cornelia Coster, of Holland, the widow of 
Harmanus Bleecker, late of Albany, New York, who, 
in accordance with the expressed wish of her husband, 
gave to John V. L. Pruyn. in trust, an estate, inherited 
from her husband, that it might in the discretion 
of the trustee be devoted to a use beneficial to the 
people of Albany; by testamentary devise of John V. L. 
Pruyn this estate passed to Amasa J. Parker, by whose 
instrumentality it was given to the '' Young Men's As- 
sociation for Mutual Improvement in the City of 
Albany " for the construction of this edifice, all of 
which was supplemented by the avails of the bequest 



92 Albany Guide Book 

of Erastus Corning', Senior, and the generous givings 
of the people of Albany incliuling the school children. 
Board of Trustees 
1888—1889 
Erastus Corning, President 
Henry R. Pierson, Vice-President 
William P. Rudd. Secretary and Treasurer. 
Dudley Olcott 
Amasa J. Parker, Jr. 
John H. Van Antwerp 
Maurice E. Viele. 

Ex-officio Members of the Board 
Charles L. Pruyn, Frederick Easton, Curtis N. Doug- 
las, Elmer Blair, Charles J. Buchanan, Lewis M. Gray, 
Leonard Kip. 

Fuller and Wheeler, architects. 

Other halls which are available for gatherings 
are as follows : 

Cameron, 286 Central avenue; capacity 300. 

Centennial, at Lodge and Pine streets — Erected 1898, 
property of St. Mary's church; capacity 700. 

Chancellor's, Education building; capacity 1,000. 

Eastern Star, at Lark street and Hudson avenue — 
Erected 1916; capacity 500. 

German Hall, Beaver street, below South Pearl 
street — Erected 1906; capacity 1,000. 

Graduates Hall. Elk street, above St. Agnes school; 
capacity 200. 

K. of C, 131 North Pearl street — Erected 1909; 
capacity 500. 



^t^Mf 




Ali:.\nv (jUidk Hook 93 

St. Andrews, 69 Howard street; erected 1902; capac- 
it} 250. 

Union Hall, 84 Eagle .street; capacity 1,000. 

There also are a num]:)er of others strictly used 
for fraternal purposes. 

HIGH SCHOOL 

The magnihcent million dollar building front- 
ing on Lake avenue with entrances on Western 
and Washington avenues is one of the newest 
monuments in progressive Albany from an educa- 
tional standpoint. The building is c64 feet long 
by 107 feet wide, with an auditorium in the rear 
72 1)y 80 feet. It was opened in the fall of 1913. 
The material is tapestry brick, and in round num- 
bers the details of the cost were : Construction, 
$800,000; condemnation, $128,000; grounds and 
walks, $12,000; equipment, $60,000. 

Note. — The High school is the direct outgrowth of 
the old Albany Free Academy which was established 
in 1868 after much opposition. It was opened in what 
now is known as Van Vechten hall on State street 
just below Eagle and the lirst principal was John E. 
Bradley. In 1876 the first High school building was 
opened at Eagle and Columbia and Steuben streets on 
the site of the old city reservoir where now stands 
the County Court House. It remained there and 
attained a high position in the educational world until 
the present magnificent edifice was opened. 



94 Albany Guide Book 

HISTORIC HOUSES 

Most of the ancient historic houses for which 
Albany was noted have been razed to make way 
for modern improvements, but some remain that 
are still well preserved and by their interesting- 
attributes attest the notable past of the city. 
Leading all is the famous Schuyler mansion 
located on an eminence at the head of Schuyler 
street. It was built in 1762 and restored to its 
original condition as far as might be by the State 
in 1915. It was formally opened on April 17 of 
that year by Mrs. Daniel Manning and the board 
of trustees. There also is the old Ten Broeck 
mansion standing in the spacious grounds between 
Livingston avenue, Ten Broeck street and Ten 
Broeck place ; built by General Abraham Ten 
Broeck in 1798 and having dimensions of 44 by 
52 feet. It now is the property of Mr. Dudley 
Olcott, the banker, who has carefully looked after 
its preservation. The old Prentice mansion at 
Kenwood, noted for its massive gateway sur- 
mounted by sculptured lions is now used for 
charitable purposes. 

Across the river in Riverside avenue, Rensse- 
laer, is what is known as old Fort Crailo where 
the contemptuous song known as " Yankee 



Aij'.ANv Gliidk Book 95 

Doodle "' is said to have been written. For years 
it has been asserted that this house was built in 
1(A2 by Kiliaen \^an Rensselaer, the orii>inal Pat- 
roon ; that it was changed into a dwelling' house 
in 1704 by his grandson Hendrick and enlarged 
in 1740 1)y his great grandson, Col. Johannes Van 
Rensselaer. It now is a sturdy three-storied 
brick building which after many vicissitudes was 
bought by Mrs. A. IL Strong of New Brunswick, 
X. J., November 4, 1915, and presented to the 
Daug'hters of the American Revolution for use as 
a meeting place and as a museum. It was not 
found desirable for the society and in 1916 it was 
offered to the State for preservation. At that 
time its claims to fame and antiquity were seri- 
ously questioned by State Historian James Sull- 
ivan. Crailo is said to have been named after an 
estate in Holland and the word is said to mean 
a *' crow." A stone in the cellar is inscribed 
" KVR 1642," and another " Do. Megapolensis." 
Over the north door is the inscription " JVR 
1740." If the prevailing beliefs are true it is the 
first home of the Van Rensselaer family in Amer- 
ica and the oldest continuously inhal)ited dwell- 
imi- in the United States. 



96 Albany Guide Book 

HISTORIC OLD HOUSE SITES 

Oldest Albany building- — The County bank at 
the southeast corner of State and South Pearl 
streets occupies the site of the oldest building, 
that Albany once had. A bronze bi-centennial 
tablet on the Pearl street side recites that this was 
the site of the birthplace of General Philip Schuy- 
ler and of Elizabeth Schuyler (afterward the wife 
of Alexander Hamilton) and that near it stood 
the famous Lewis Tavern on the west. The 
original building was familiarly known as the 
" Staats House " and was famous for its interior 
decorations. It was removed in 1887. 

First Van Rensselaer Manor — This occupied 
a plat on the west side of Broadway near Tivoli 
street where a tablet simply announces that it 
was the " Residence of the Patroons." Opposite 
stood the first manor house, just north of 
Thacher street, removed in 1893 and in part re- 
built as a Sigma Phi fraternity house on Williams 
College campus. 

Lansing House — This stood at the northeast 
corner of North Pearl and Columbia streets and 
the location w^as long known as the " Pem1)er- 
ton corner " because uf a business conducted 
there. The original was built in 1710 and was a 



Albany Guide Book 97 

trading post outside the stockade. It was 
removed in 1886 and replaced by the business col- 
lege. 

Quackenbush House — Site was at southeast 
corner of Broadway and Quackenbush street. It 
was built before the Colonial wars. " Burgoyne 
is said to have served his captors with refresh- 
ments here and John Jacob Astor to have slept 
here while on a trading trip.'' 

The old Van Rensselaer office building in 
North Albany, near Pleasant street, in which the 
last Patroon, Stephen Van Rensselaer, trans- 
acted his business was torn down in the fall of 
1916 to make room for the International Har- 
\'ester plant. The building was estimated to be 
about 250 years old when razed. It was a small, 
one-story brick structure, valuable only from an 
historic viewpoint. Neither the city nor the 
family descendants would undertake to preserve 
this sole remaining monument of the old family. 

HISTORICAL AND ART SOCIETY 

The spacious building occupied by the Albanv 
Institute (p. 26) and Historical and Art Society 
on Washington avenue, near Dove street, con- 
tains one of the most remarkable collections of 

7 



98 Albany Guide Book 

curios and art treasures ever brought together 
to illustrate a city's history and interest its resi- 
dents and visitors. Ancient Albany heirlooms, 
rare china, bronzes, beautiful tapestry and paint- 
ings and collections of books, autographs, etc., 
are among the treasures sure to attract students, 
historians and collectors. The building is open 
from 2 to 5 p. m., free of charge on Saturdays and 
Sundays; on all other days a fee of 25c is charged. 

Note. — The Historical and Art Society was organ- 
ized September 25, 1886, as one result of the bi-centen- 
nial celebration loan exhibition. Its object is " to care 
for the historical and artistic interests of Albany." It 
inherits the traditions and relics of the Albany Gallery 
of Fine Arts (incorporated 1846) and the Albany Insti- 
tute (organized 1791, incorporated 1829) which prac- 
tically merged in 1900. In 1877 the organization bought 
and occupied a building at 176 State street; in 1908 the 
present building costing $85,000 was dedicated. The 
paintings of the old Gallery of Fine Arts which had 
been cared for by the Y. M. A., formed the nucleus of 
the present art gallery which was greatly augmented in 
1901 by munificent gifts of paintings by J. Townsend 
Lansing. The collections now in the building are con- 
sidered priceless. " Within the compass of the Society's 
Dutch and English collections, its galleries, books and 
portraits and incunabula there is comprised and illus- 
trated the real significance of Albany in the State and 
Nation, an exposition of the type of the city Albany is 
and has been, and of the homes and the people. All 



Albany Guide Book 99 

the way from Dutch pewter and Bibles printed in time- 
blurred Hollandish, to English colonial spinnet and 
footstove. there is Albany's past plain to the observer 
in the Society's collections; while the archives of the 
old Institute bear witness to the group of scientists in 
the early part of the Nineteenth century that made 
Albany memorable and finally produced the Society for 
the Advancement of Science in America, and through 
Joseph Henry, the actual germ of this "electric age"; 
while the pictures and objects of art in the Society's 
collections stand for what culture has come to the old 
Dutch city, the artists of note it has produced and the 
standard of refinement and appreciation of the finer 
things of life in its homes." 

HISTORIC PLACES 

Albany is particularly rich in historic and inter- 
esting places, although most of the quaint old 
buildings have been displaced by modern struc- 
tures and few even of the residents know their 
former locations. Fortunately for the visitor and 
the new resident as well, during the celebration 
of the city's 200th anniversary in 1886 a series of 
enduring bronze tablets was set up to show the 
sites of the old landmarks, locate interesting 
places and record the ancient names of the 
streets. The custodian of these tablets now is 
the City Engineer. The most important tablets 
are : 



100 Albany Guide Book 

Municipal Tablet 

On Eagle street wall of City Hall, near Maiden 
Lane corner. Contains coat of arms of city and 
inscription 

Tablet commemorating- the two hundredth anni- 
versary of Albany as a chartered city. Settled 
about 1624. Charter granted by Gov. Dongan, 
July 22, 1686. State Legislature held here per- 
manently since 1797. Early names of city: Fort 
Orange, Beverwycke, Wilemstadt. First City 
Hall erected near Fort Orange about 1686. Sec- 
ond one northeast corner Broadway and Hudson 
avenue about 1705. Third one on this site 1829. 
Burned 1881. Fourth or present building erected 
1883. First Mayor, 1686, Pieter Schuyler. Cen- 
tennial Mayor, 1786, Johannes Jacobs Beekman. 
Bi-centennial Mayor, 1886, John Boyd Thacher. 

(The names of the bi-centennial committee foL 
low.) 

Fort Orange Tablet ,. 

At Steamboat square, east of bend in Broad- 
way, granite block bearing bronze tablet. 
Inscription : 

Upon this Spot, washed by the tide, stood the 
North East bastion of Fort Orange, erected 
about 1623. Here the powerful Iroquois met the 
deputies of this and other colonies in confer- 
ence to establish treaties. Here the first courts 
were held. Here in 1643, under the direction of 



Albany Guide Book 101 

Dominie Johannes Megapolensis, a learned and 
estimable minister, the earliest church was 
erected North West of the fort, and to the South 
of it stood the dominie's house. 

Fort Frederick Tablet 

Granite l)lock bearing- tablet stands on sidewalk 
near curb on lower edge Capitol park. Inscrip- 
tion : 

Facing the river on an eminence on this broad 
street opposite St. Peter's church stood Fort 
Frederick. Built about 1676. Removed 1789. 
Gallows Hill to the South. Fort burial ground 
to the North. 

City Gate Tablets 

On granite 1)lock in IMaza facing Broadway. 
Inscription: 

On the North East corner of Broadway, then 
Court street, and Hudson, then Spanish street, 
stood the second City Hall, erected 1705, in which 
the famous Congress of 1754 "Met and prepared 
a union of the several colonies for mutual 
defense and security." The South East gate of 
the city stood in front, to the South of the City 
Hall. On this ground was the house where 
lived Pieter Schuyler, the first and for eight suc- 
cessive years Mayor of Albany. 



r02 Albany Guide Book 

On granite block on walk near curb in front of 
59 North Pearl street. Inscription : 

Near this corner stood the North West gate of the 
city. On this spot Governor De Witt Clinton, 
the promoter of the great Erie canal, died Feb. 
11, 1828. 

On north wall of depot building, Broadway and 
Steuben street. Inscription: 

A little to the East of this spot stood the North 
East gate of the city. Here it was that Symon 
Schermerhorn at five o'clock in the morning 
" Die Sabbithi," February 9, 1690, after a hard 
ride by the way of Niskayuna in the intense cold 
and deep snow, shot in the thigh and his horse 
wounded, arrived with just enough strength to 
awaken the guard and alarm the people of 
Albany with the news " Yt ye French and 
Indians have murthered ye people of Skinnech- 
tady!" Symon's son and negroes were killed on 
that fatal night. Symon died in New York, 1696. 
To the north was the road to the Canadas. 
Through this gate passed many of the troops ai 
various times rendezvoused at Albany. The 
remains of Lord Howe were brought back this 
way, and Burgoyne returned a prisoner. 

Old House Site Tablets 

On State street side Mechanics & Farmers 
bank. Inscription : 



Albany Guide Book 103 

Upon this corner stood the house occupied by, and 
wherein died, Anneke Janse Bogardus, 1663. The 
former owner of Trinity church property, New 
York. 

On walk at northeast corner North Pearl and 
Columbia streets. Inscription : 

The old Lansing house. Built 1710. Known for 68 
years as The Pemberton Corner. A trading house 
outside the stockade. 

On South Pearl street wall County Bank build- 
ing- (at first was on the original house torn down 
to make place for the bank). Inscription: 

Vjhe oldest building in Albany, built 1667. Birth- 
place of General Philip Schuyler and Elizabeth 
Schuyler, his daughter, wife of Alexander Ham- 
ilton. Adjoining on the west was the famous 
Lewis Tavern. South Pearl street, formerly 
Washington street, was but twelve feet wide, 
having a gate at this place. 

There should be on the North Pearl street front 
of the new Albany Savings Bank building a tablet 
which was on the old Perry building, erected by 
Johannes Beekman, which occupied the site. 
Inscription : 

Site of Vanderheyden Palace. Erected 1725. 
Demolished to make space for the First Baptist 
Church, 1833. 

(The weather vane was taken to Sunny side by 
Washington Irving.) 



104 Albany Guide Book 

On Catharine street side of retaining wall 
inclosing grounds at head of Schuyler street. 
Inscription : 

The Schuyler Mansion. Erected by General Brad- 
street, 1762. Washington, Franklin, Gates, 
DeRochambeau, Steuben, La Fayette, and many 
of the great men of that time were entertained 
here. Gens. Burgoyne and Reidesel as guests 
though prisoners of war, 1777. Alexander Ham- 
ilton and Elizabeth Schuyler married here 1780. 

*On granite block on walk on west side Broad- 
way near Tivoli street. Inscription : 

Opposite, Van Rensselaer Manor House erected 
1765. Residence of the Patroons. The site of 
the first Manor house. 

On wall of old mansion in Rensselaer. Inscrip- 
tion : 

This Manor House built by Johannes Van Rens- 
selaer, 1642. 

Old Church Tablets 

On State street front of St. Peter's near Lodge 
street. Inscription : 

In the middle of State, formerly Yonkers street. 
one block below stood the first English Church, 
*The handsome old building popularly known as "The 
Patroons," was offered to Albany to be rebuilt in 
Washington park as a museum. It was given to Wil- 
liams College and in part rebuilt there as a Sigma Phi 
chapter house in October, 1893. • 



Albany Guide Book lOo 

built A. D. 1715 upon ground granted by letters 
patent from King George the First. It bore the 
name of St. Peter's church. The parish was 
incorporated 1769. The second St. Peter's 
church was built on this site A. D. 1802, and 
bore this inscription — " Glory to the Lord for 
He is good, for His mercy endureth forever." 
The present edifice was built A. D. 1859. Upon 
this spot stood the north east bastion of Fort 
Frederick. 
On Government building, Broadway at corner 
of State street. Inscription: 

Opposite, at the intersection of these streets, stood 
the Old Dutch Church. Built 1656. Rebuilt 
1715. Removed 1806. Burial ground around it. 
On Pine street wall, St. Mary's church, near 
Chapel street. Inscription : 

Site of Old St. Mary's. Built A. D. 1797. The first 
Catholic parish church in Albany and second in 
the State. The entrance was directly under this 
tablet. A second building on this same spot fac- 
ing on Chapel street, was the original cathedral 
of this diocese. 
On Hudson avenue wall of building northeast 
corner Grand street and Hudson avenue. Inscrip- 

ton : 

Site of first Presbyterian church. Built 1763. 
• Removed 1796. 



106 Albany Guide Book 

On South Pearl street front of City building. 
Inscription : 

Site of first Lutheran church. Built 1669. Removed 
1816. Burial ground around it. Between this 
spot and Beaver street flov^ed Ruttenkill. 

On wall of building southeast corner North 
Pearl and Orange streets. Inscription : 

On this south east corner of Orange and Pearl 
streets Mras erected the first Methodist church, 
1792. 

Famous Citizen Tablets 
On Eagle street front, City Hall. Inscription : 
Kilian Van Rensselaer, the progenitor of the Van 
Rensselaer family in America, a merchant of 
Amsterdam, Holland, the original proprietor and 
first patroon of the Manor of Rensselaerw^yck, 
under a grant from the Dutch government in 
1629. In the follov^ing years he bought from the 
Indians lands lying both sides of the Hudson, 
from Baeren Island to Cohoes Falls and estab- 
lished the settlement. 

On North Pearl street front of Ten Eyck hotel. 
Inscription : 

Where Philip Livingston, one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence, was born, 1716. 
On southeast corner Boys' Academy. Inscrip- 
tion : 

Joseph Henry, an eminent discoverer and leader in 
science. Born in Albany, 1799. Died in Wash- 
ington, 1878. His experiments in electricity were 



Albany Guide Book 107 

made in this building wiiile professor of mathe- 
matics, 1826-1832. ****'Pq i-iig discoveries in 
electro-magnetism the world is indebted, more 
than to any other man for the possession of the 
telegraph. 

On front of the building, 60 State street. 
Inscription : 

In memory of Joel Munsell, printer of Albany, who 
a native of Massachusetts, did more than any 
other man to preserve the ancient records of his 
adopted city. Born 1808, died 1880. Here he 
])egan his earliest work. 

On Steuben street wall of High School, which 
stood at the corner of Eagle street, was a tablet 
with inscription : 

Whereas, the teaching of the English tongue is 
necessary in the government, I have therefore 
thought fitt to give Lycence to John Shutte to be 
the English schoolmaster at Albany, and upon 
condition that said John Shutte shall not 
demand any more wages for each schollar than 
is customarily given by the Dutch to the Dutch 
schoolmaster, I have further granted to the said 
John Shutte that hee bee the only English 
schoolmaster at Albany. 
Given under my hand at Fort James in New York 
the twelvth day of October 1665. 

Richard Nicolls, 

Governor. 

(This tablet was taken down when the school was razed 
and will be placed in or on the new school.) 



108 Albany Guide, Book 

Notable Locality Tablets 
On granite block on walk at curb, northwest 
corner State and North Pearl streets. Inscrip- 
tion : 

Old Elm Tree Corner. So named from a tree 
planted here by Philip Livingston about 1735 
Removed 1877. Also the site upon w^hich were 
published Webster's famous reading, spelling 
book and ahnanac, and the first Albany news- 
paper, the Albany Gazette, 1771. 
On North Pearl street wall of building, north- 
east corner State. Inscription : 

Lydius corner. Upon this site stood the first brick 
building said to have been • erected in North 
America. Of material imported from HollancI 
for the Rev, Gideon Schaet's parsonage, 1657. 
On Beaver street wall of building, northwest 
corner Beaver and Green streets. Inscription : 
Site of Hugh Denniston's tavern. The first stone 
house in Albany, where Gen. Washington was 
presented with the freedom of the city in 1782 
and 1783. It was removed during the year of the 
first cholera, 1832. 
On front wall of building where stood the old 
Green street theater. Inscription : 

First theater in Albany erected on this spot 1811. 
First theatrical representation given (place not 
known) by British officers quartered in Albany, 
1760, during the French war. The first profes- 
sionals played at the old hospital, present site 



Albany Guide Book 109 

of Lutheran church, corner Pine and Lodge 
streets, 1769. 

In Academy park at intersection of walks. 
Inscription : 

Upon this ground the ratification of the Constitu- 
tion of the United States was celebrated, 1788. 
In 1856 the dedicatory ceremonies of the Dudley 
observatory, and in 1864 the great Army Relief 
Bazaar were held here. 
In Capitol park near State street side. Inscrip- 
tion : 

Site of main entrance to Old Capitol, erected 1806. 
Gen. La Fayette was received here, 1824. The 
remains of President Lincoln and many other 
prominent men lay in state here. The State 
Library ^vas adjoining and with the Capitol, 
demolished 1883. Fronting on this park stood 
Congress Hall, famous for its distinguished 
guests. Daniel Webster addressed the citizens 
from its steps. 1844. 
* On Broadway front of building which stood 
at northeast corner Broadway and Hudson ave- 
nue. Inscription: 

The Declaration of Independence was tirst pub- 
licly read in Albany by order of the Committee 
of Safety, July 19. 1776, in front of the City Hall, 
then on this site. This memorial of the event 
was placed here by the citizens July 4. 1876. 
A\'hen this building was torn down in 1915 the 
tablet was removed to the Plaza. 
*Marble tablet. Not bi-centennial. 



110 Albany Guide Book 

Ancient Watercourse tablets 
On granite block on walk near curb on Arch 
street near corner South Pearl. Inscription : 

Beaver kill. Ancient water course flowing to river. 
Arched over. Buttermilk Falls in the ravine to 
the West. 

On south wall of building, corner Sheridan 
avenue and North Pearl street. Inscription : 

Foxen kill — ancient water course flowing in early 
times to the river — now arched over. This is 
Canal street, formerly Fox street. 

On South Pearl street front of City building. 
Inscription : 

* * * * Between this spot and Beaver street flowed 
Ruttenkill. 

HOMES FOR AGED 

There are two well known institutions for the 
care of the aged in the city — one for men and 
one for women : 

The Home for Aged Men occupies a handsome 
building on the west side of the Troy road at 
Menands (p. 128); incorporated October 5, 1876; this 
building dedicated March 28, 1878; " first inmate 
received in April of that year. 

Home of the Friendless (for women only) is 
located at the northeast corner of Clinton avenue and 
Perry street in a substantial brick building erected on 
the site given by James Kidd; dedicated May 5, 1870. 
The work is in charge of the Albany Guardian Society. 



Albany Guide Book ' 111 

MEMORANDA 



112 Albany Guide Book 

HOSPITALS 

Eii^ht excellent institutions exist in Albany for 
those needing;- either medical or surgical aid. The 
largest is the Albany hospital, incorporated 1849, 
formerly for years at Eagle and Howard streets 
where it was popularly known as the City hos- 
pital. It now occupies a magnificent group of 
modern buildings on New^ Scotland avenue, 
opened 1898. Dr. Jacobi of New York called it 
the " most complete and best equipped modern 
hospital in the world." Take New Scotland ave- 
nue l)us. Other hospitals are : 

St. Peter's, at Broadway and North Ferry street — 
Site of old Stephen Van Rensselaer mansion: incorpor- 
ated 1869 and occupied in November of that year. 

Homeopathic, at 161 North Pearl street — Incorpor- 
ated 1872 and opened in May that year; present build- 
ing opened 1909. 

Child's, at Elk and Hawk streets — Established 1874. 

Incurables — Opened March 26. 1875. at 390 Madison 
avenue; incorporated 1884: now occupies old Prentice 
mansion at Kenwood Heights where it opened April 
26. 1903. 

Maternity, the A. N. Brady. Main avenue and Lan- 
caster street — Opened in February. 1915; a memorial 
building, fireproof and having a thoroughly modern 



Albany Guide Book 113 

equipment; in charge of Sisters of Charity; accommo- 
dates 50 patients; special ambulance service attached. 

Note. — The hrst institution was the "old army hos- 
pital" located on Pine street near Lodge; a two-story 
building with 40 wards used only for soldiers. The old 
City Hospital opened at the southwest corner of Dove 
street and Madison avenue November 1, 1851; bought 
the old jail property at Eagle and Howard streets in 
1852 and occupied it August 8, 1854. Cornerstone of 
new group buildings on New Scotland avenue laid by 
Masonic fraternity June 23, 1898. See above. Others 
were added as the city grew and the requirements of 
the ill or injured made greater accommodations 
necessary. 

HOTELS 

All purses and requirements can be suited by 
the hotels of Albany. For many years the seat 
of local hotel life was the famous old Delevan 
House which stood where the depot now is and 
which was destroyed by hre on the night of 
December 30, 1894, with the loss of several lives. 
It was partly remodeled but finally closed Septem- 
ber 2, 1898, and the site sold to the New York 
Central railroad. The great hotel of the city now 
is the Ten Eyck which began in a handsome 
])uilding at State and Chapel streets, the site of 
the old Van Rensselaer mansion which was 
8 



114 Albany Guide Book 

rebuilt and occupied by Erastus Corning, Jr. See 
further description of this hostelry on page 115. 
Other hotels are : 

The Hampton, at 38 State street — Occupies the 
remodeled building of the Commercial bank (p. 33) ; 
opened in 1906; capacity 192 rooms; European plan. 

Stanwix Hall, at southeast corner Broadway and 
Maiden lane — Occupies site of the birthplace of 
General Peter Gansevoort, the hero of Fort Stanwix; 
erected 1833 and originally called " The Pavilion " but 
the name changed in honor of the owner's father; 
remodeled in 1844; capacity 130 rooms; American and 
European. 

Keeler's, at southwest corner Broadway and Maiden 
lane — For men only; opened 1888 but since that date 
greatly enlarged and improved; capacity 225 rooms: 
European. 

New Kfenmore, at North Pearl and Columbia streets 
— Erected 1878, improved in succeeding years and 
practically rebuilt and greatly enlarged in 1915 and 
1916; capacity with annex 350 rooms; European. 

Wellington, 136 State street — Opened 1911 and 
greatly enlarged in 1915; capacity 200 rooms; rooms 
only. 

HOTEL TEN EYCK 

This great ^modern hostelry now towering at 
the corner of State and North Pearl streets began 
to cater to the public in the building at State and 



4 




B^ 

^0^^ 



( te^ ILl^ 






TEN EYCK HOTEL 



r 




1 


him' -■-^, :y 


, ^^^ 


\m>v^ nri - mmt aiKi ■>■ > ' 


^^ J. •: ^ 





.p 



Albany Guide Book 115 

Chapel streets where once stood the old Van 
Rensselaer mansion which afterward was re- 
modeled and occupied for years by Erastus Corn- 
ing, Jr. This part of the hotel was erected in 
1898 and opened May 21, 1899. The new addi- 
tion to the Ten Eyck occupies a still more noted 
site as it replaced the Tweddle building on the 
famous " Elm Tree Corner " (p. 108). Here the 
progressive president of the Ten Eyck Company, 
Frederick \\\ Rockwell, has now^ the final thing 
in hotels in the State. The new edifice towers 18 
stories above the '* busy corner " of the city and 
in it is contained every device known for the com- 
fort of the traveler. The management continues 
in the hands of Alfred H. Rennie, who is widely 
known for his success in giving the public just 
what it wants. The great building was started in 
May, 1916, but its opening was deferred until the 
summer of 1917. 

Stores and offices occupy the lower floors of the 
new addition to the Ten Eyck but so great is the 
capacity that the complete hotel wall have over 
400 desirable rooms, the great majority of which 
have private baths. The main dining-room has a 
Tennessee marble floor, and is provided with 
a specially improved lighting system of unusual 
beauty. A model air-washed ventilating system, 



116 Albany Guide Book 

which is used throughout the hotel will add 
greatly to the comfort of guests. The popular 
restaurant in the front of the original building 
will invite all comers by its added beauty of deco- 
ration. The former ballroom has given place 
to a beautiful tearoom having all the added 
attractions which artistic talent can give. The 
familiar lobby in enlarged form, with new 
floor and decorations, continues to attract 
patrons. It has in addition to the cigar stand an 
up-to-date barber shop. The familiar basement 
grillroom is retained in enlarged and improved 
form for the convenience of guests preferring this 
restaurant which will be made doubly attractive 
in its new design. 

Special features of the new part are a com- 
modious and handsome ballroom and an elaborate 
roof garden located on the sixteenth floor, com- 
manding a wonderful view of the city and the 
Hudson river. These have as desirable adjuncts 
convenient and attractive retiring rooms, a thor- 
oughly modern and sanitary gas kitchen and the 
necessary pantries. The decorations of the ball- 
room and garden are especially beautiful. On 
the assembly floor below a feature is made of 
handsomely decorated and convenient private 
dining-rooms. 



Albany Guide Book 117 

In addition to the special attention which is 
given throughout to sanitation, the management 
has provided most convenient means for reaching 
every floor by quick and smoothly running ele- 
vators, fully adequate to the demands of the 
single guest or of the groups desirous of reaching 
the private dining-rooms, the garden restaurant 
or the ballroom on the upper floors. In short, 
the Ten Eyck offers the best possible service and 
is fully equipped to handle the business of its 
patrons to their fullest satisfaction at all times. 

HUMANE SOCIETY 

The Mohawk and Hudson River Humane 
Society, incorporated in 1892, acquired the old 
hosi)ital building at Eagle and Howard streets in 
1901 and conducts its activities from adequate 
(|uarters there. Its objects are to(^ well known to 
rccpiire lengthy description. 



118 Albany Guide Book 

MEMORANDA 



Albany Guide Book 119 

INDUSTRIES 

Few cities in the country have more diversified 
industries than Albany. Many of those located 
here are peculiar to the place and have even 
reached other countries through their branches. 
In 1914 a $200,000 building was erected by popu- 
lar subscription at 1031 Broadway to attract 
smaller industries and is known as the Industrial 
building. Among the things which Albany has 
in the industrial line are these : 

The largest factory in the world for the manu- 
facture of embossed dominoes, checkers and 
alphabet blocks; the largest factory for the manu- 
facture of car-heating apparatus ; the largest fac- 
tory for the manufacture of composition billiard 
balls ; the largest and only one for the making of 
s tove specialties ; the largest factory for making 
ridhesive pastes; one of the largest known for the 
manufacture of stationery ; the largest axle grease 
factory known ; the largest factory for making 
ribbed underwear; the largest factory for making 
college caps and gowns ; the original and greatest 
plant for making perforated paper; the largest 
factory for making paper-makers' felts ; one of the 
largest and best equipped engraving plants in the 
country ; one of the greatest aniline dye factories 
in the United States ; and so manv other and so 



120 Albany Guide Book 

greatly diversified lines of industries that it would 
not be possible to enumerate them all within rea- 
sonable space. For further ideas on the subject 
see the Chamber of Commerce lists (p. 50). 

INTERCEPTING SEWER 

In July, 1914, the city began the construction 
of a great sewer to do away with existing nuis- 
ances inherent in the old system. The work was 
finished late in the summer of 1915 and cost 
$404,118.03. The sewer extends from the north 
end of the city at Tivoli street and Broadway 
parallel with the river, intercepting all the old 
sewers which formerly drained into the river and 
the basin and carries the flow to a great disposal 
plant located on Westerlo island just south of the 
city. The sewer is ^jA miles long and from 2 to 6 
feet in diameter. It has a fall of about 12 feet 
between the north and the south terminus. This 
great sanitary engineering work was undertaken 
to remedy the foul condition of the water front, 
due to the discharge of. all sewers for years into 
the old basin, producing a condition at once dis- 
graceful and dangerous. Plans for the work were 
prepared by Dr. Rudolph Herring, a noted sani- 
tary expert of New York city. As a result, 
Albany now no longer pollutes the Hudson river 



Albany Guide Book 121 

with its filth and in time all the cities and vil- 
lages along the banks of the great river will be 
compelled to adopt some similar means for the 
disposal of their sewage and the river again will 
become clean, habitable for tish and useful for 
drinking purposes. 

Note. — The first sewage system for Albany was 
inaugurated in 1854 under City Engineer Reuben H. 
Bingham. 

JAIL 

The jail now occupies what formerly was the 
Albany County Penitentiary on Delaware avenue 
south of ^ladison avenue. The city's first jail 
was located in or near the original court house at 
Broadway and Hudson avenue. It was removed 
to State street about where \^an Vechten Hall 
i.'ow is. On July 30, 1810, the cornerstone of a 
building for jail purposes was laid at Eagle and 
Howard streets and it continued there until 1853 
when the Albany hospital took the property. 
The prisoners had been removed on June 2 of that 
year to a building on Maiden lane just below the 
City Hall. On September 1, 1904, the Maiden 
Lane jail was abandoned and the prisoners trans- 
ferred to the old Penitentiary (p. 138), after 
which the Maiden Lane jail was razed. 



122 Albany Guide Book 

KENWOOD 

A pretty suburb at the. terminus of the South 
Pearl street car line bears this name. It is the 
site of the Sacred Heart convent (p. 64) and is on 
the road to '' The Abbey " (p- 26). 

LABORATORY (THE BENDER) 

This institution which is highly interesting 
from a scientific standpoint, was given to the city 
by Matthew Bender. It is located on Lake ave- 
nue and is devoted to bacteriological work, 

LAW SCHOOL 

The law department of Union University is 
located on State street, just above Swan street 
in an unpretentious brick building from which 
some of the most noted lawyers in the country 
have graduated. It was organized on April 21, 
1851. ' 

LEGISLATURE 

The law-making body of the State holds its ses- 
sions in the Capitol during the winter months, 
after January 1, daily on Tuesday to Friday be- 
tween the hours of 11 a. m. and 2 p. m., with 
night sessions every Monday beginning at 8 :30 
o'clock. Open to visitors. 

Note. — The first session of the Legislature was held 
in the original City Hall at the northeast corner of 



Albany Guide Book 123 

Broadway and Hudson avenue on January 27, 1780. 
It expected to meet on January 4 but was prevented 
by a heavy snowstorm. In 1797 Albany became the 
permanent seat of State government as the capital. In 
1809 the Legislature granted reporters permission to 
attend the sessions and the old Gazette first published 
the proceedings of the session at that time. 

LIBRARIES 

Besides the State Library (p. 165) there are 
eight others supplying the people with facilities 
for reading and study. These circulate about 
300,000 volumes yearly, and are as follows : 

Albany Free Library, South Pearl street branch at 
324 South Pearl street. Pine Hills branch at 272 
Ontario street. 

Catholic Union Free Library — Located 80 Eagle 
street. 

High School Library — Located in High School 
('p. 93). 

Pruyn Library — Memorial to J. V. L. Pruyn located 
at southeast corner North Pearl street and Clinton 
avenue in a handsome building erected on the site of 
his birthplace, April 8. 1901; accepted by the Y. M. A. 
(p. 202) as a branch on March 25, that year. 

Young Men's Association Library — Located in 
Harmanus Bleecker Hall. 



124 Albany Guide Book 

There also are good libraries in connection with 
the Y. M. C. A. at North Pearl and Steuben 
streets (p. 203) and the R. R. Y. M. C. A. at West 
Albany (p. 203). 

Note. — In 1759 the Albany Library Society was 
organized and maintained a library. In 1791 on Decem- 
ber 20 the Albany Library Association was formed by 
citizens who subscribed $25 each. It was incorporated 
on February 24, 1792; its first librarian was James Van 
Ingen. 

The Legislature has a library of its own in the 
Capitol back of the Assembly chamber. It was 
organized May 7, 1915, and is thoroughly 
equipped for ready reference work and adapted 
specially to meet the requirements of the law- 
makers. The leading newspapers and periodicals 
are on file during the session. The walls of the 
library are beautified by a notable series of deco- 
rative panels painted by Will H. Low. 

LUMBER DISTRICT 

Albany is probably the oldest, as it once w^as 
the largest lumber market in the United States. 
The business was transacted mainly in the dis- 
trict extending north from North Ferry street and 
reached an enormous total. Considerable busi- 
ness is yet done in the district. 




MASONIC TEMPLE 



Albany Guide Book 125 

MAPLE BEACH 

A summer resort four miles above the city, 
formerly known as *' Lagoon Island," now bears 
this name. Take a Troy boat. Open all day and 
part of the night and has many of the so-called 
** Coney Island '' attractions. 

MARKET 

An asphalted space bounded by Hudson ave- 
nue. Grand and Beaver streets is known as the 
Public Market. It contains 7,461 square yards 
and was opened in 1889. Agitation for more space 
and for a modern covered market is under way. 

Note. — The original market place in 1791 was 
located in the center of Broadway between State street 
and Maiden lane. In 1829 the city located public 
markets on South Pearl street between Howard and 
Beaver streets, and on Steamboat square. For years 
State street was used for market purposes from Broad- 
way up and there the farmers, butchers, hucksters and 
truckmen ranged their wagons on either side in long 
rows. Agitation to clear the street was begun in 1886 
and resulted in the present market site, long since out- 
grown. 

MASONIC TEMPLE 

Eight lodges, two Chapters and nine other 
Masonic bodies besides the Shrine and Grotto 
occupy the substantial granite building at Lodge 



126 Albany Guide Book 

street and Maiden lane which is entirely devoted 
to the craft. The Temple occupies historic 
ground as is indicated by bronze tablets in the 
vestibule which bear the following inscriptions : 

On this site, purchased Oct. 17, 1776, by Brother 
Samuel Stringer, the first lodge house owned by a 
Masonic lodge in America was erected in 1776 and 
remained the property of Masters Lodge, No. 5, until 
presented to the Masonic hall association in 1895. 
1776-1896. Masonic Temple. Erected by the fra- 
ternity of Albany. Corner stone laid June 24, 1895. 
Dedicated October 26, 1896. 

Note, — The first lodge of Free Masons to meet in 
Albany was composed of officers of the Second Bat- 
talion Royal, then quartered in the city. They held a 
warrant from the Grand Lodge of Ireland dated Octo- 
ber 26. 1737. and the local lodge was No. 74, registry of 
Ireland. In 1759 the Battalion was ordered to another 
post and citizens who had been initiated were author- 
ized to continue the meetings which for a long time 
afterward were held a the homes of the brethren. The 
first lodge constituted was Union, on February 21, 1765, 
under authority of the Provincial Grand Master. It 
afterward became Mount Vernon No. 3. Masters Lodge 
was organized in 1768; Temple Lodge No. 14 in 1796; 
Washington No. 85 in 1841: Ancient City No. 452 in 
1852; Wadsworth No. 417 in 1856; Guttenberg No. IZl 
in 1873; James Ten Eyck No. 831 in 1901. No records 
exist between 1768 and 1798 but the Craft notices 
called meetings " at the usual place." From 1798 to 
1811 the fraternity met at 486 South Market street 



Albany Guidk Book 127 

(now Broadway). Thereafter meetings were held at 
various places including 41 and 43 North Pearl street 
in 1859 and after March 1, 1875. in the Albany Sav- 
ings Bank building at State and Chapel streets. This 
was the local Temple up to May 1, 1896. Ground for 
the present Temple was broken by M. W. James Ten 
Eyck on May 1, 1895; cornerstone laid June 24 that 
year; Temple dedicated October 26, 1896. The growth 
of the Craft has now made additional room necessary. 
The Temple is open to visitors from 10 a. m. to 4 
p. m. daily, except Sundays and holidays, and every 
evening to the Craft. The Temple contains valuable 
libraries and collections peculiar to the order. 

MEDICAL COLLEGE 

The medical department of Union University 
is located on Eagle street between Jay and Lan- 
caster streets, occupying the old Lancaster school 
building erected in 1816. The college was organ- 
ized in 1838 and incorporated in 1839 in which 
year its first class was graduated. In 1873 by the 
incorporation of Union University the Albany 
Medical school w^as made a constituent part of 
the University wdiich is located in Schenectady ; 
present building bought in 1877. The college was 
completely reorganized in 1915 with assurances 
of largely increased hospital facilities with teach- 
ing services both in medicine and surgery. The 
laboratory staff was increased and the courses 



128 Albany Guide Book 

rearranged to conform to improved modern 
methods. Site for a new and thoroughly modern 
building has been secured on New Scotland ave- 
nue between the Albany hospital and the Dudley 
observatory and near the Bender laboratory. 
The grant of land on the old penitentiary (p. 138) 
grounds made by the city was exchanged for the 
new site under a law signed March, 1916, by Gov- 
ernor Charles S. Whitman. 

Note. — The old Medical College museum was consid- 
ered one of the best in the country. It contained many 
rare specimens collected by Drs. March, Armsby, Mac- 
Naughton, Haskins, Vander Veer and others and was 
especially rich in embryology, hipjoint disease, skulls 
and brain casts, skeletons, manikins and models. One 
interesting subject was the mummified body of Calvin 
Edson, the famous " living skeleton," who died aged 
45 years in 1833, and weighed but 45 pounds. 

MENANDS 

A pretty suburb of Albany, about three miles 
north of the city, bears this name which commem- 
orates that of its founder, Louis Menand, who 
was a noted horticulturist. Take a Troy car. 
MERIDIAN 

Formerly the true astronomical meridian of 
Albany was indicated by a broad strip of brass 



Albany Guide Book 129 

set in white marble running diagonally across the 
sidewalk at Eagle street and Maiden lane at the 
City Hall corner. A bronze tablet set in the wall 
of the building tells about it. The effect of rain 
(^r snow on the strip proved, however, that others 
than the wicked may stand in slippery places and 
the danger was removed. Small arrows now 
point out true north and south. 

MUSEUMS 

The State Museum of Natural History (p. 166) 
in the Education building, the Museum of ]\lili- 
tary Trophies and Curios on the second floor of 
the Capitol, the remarkable collections of the His- 
torical Society and the valuable collections of the 
Medical College offer attractions according to the 
inclinations of the visitor. 

Note. — The Trust Company building at the corner 
of Broadway and State street occupies the site of what 
once was called the '' Museum Corner " because of a 
noted place of amusement which stood there from 1831 
to 1855. Afterward the Western Union Telegraph 
Company was located there and in the basement was 
a famous old restaurant called the "'Marble Pillar." 
The Western Union left the site in 1902 when it was 
torn down to make a place for the Trust Company 
building. 



130 Albany Guide Book 

MEMORANDA 



Albany Guide Book 131 

NEWSPAPERS 
There has been no lack of newspapers in All^any 
since the first (The Albany Gazette) was issued 
in 1771 by Alexander and James Robertson. The 
leading;- newspapers now are 

Evening Journal — Republican, office on State street 
just below James; soon to bave magnificent new build- 
ing on tbe Plaza adjoining tbe D. & H. building. 

Times-Union, evening — independent Democrat; con- 
solidated 1891; occupies building corner Green and 
Beaver street; established 1803. 

Argus, morning — Democrat; office at Broadway and 
Beaver street; established in 1803. 

Knickerbocker-Press, morning — independent Repub- 
lican; office on Beaver street just above Broadway. 

There is an evening (ierman paper (P>eie 
Blaetter) and an Italian paper also is published 
daily. 

NORMAL COLLEGE 

This State institution for higher education 
occupies a commodious structure adjoining the 
new million dollar High school in the big park- 
like plat bounded by Western, Lake and Wash- 
ington avenues and Robin street. The college 
formerly occupied a handsome building fronting 
the park on Willett street. It is the oldest insti- 
tution of its kind in the State and was established 



132 Albany Guide Book 

by the Legislature in 1844; opened December 16 
that year in old railroad depot building at 119 
State street ; in 1849 moved into the building now 
occupied by the Christian Brothers Academy on 
Lodge street back of the old Geological hall. In 
1885 it removed to the Willett street building 
which was destroyed by fire in 1906, January 8. 

OBSERVATORY 

A modern building for astronomical purposes, 
called the Dudley observatory is located on Lake 
avenue, west of the city proper. Its name com- 
memorates a distinguished mayor of the city 
whose wife contributed largely to the construc- 
tion of the original building which was located 
on " observatory hill " in North Albany. The 
original site was given by General Stephen Van 
Rensselaer. This location was exposed in after 
years to the jar of the passing trains and was 
abandoned for the present location. The observ- 
atory was organized in 1850; incorporated in 
1852 ; opened by the American Academy of 
Science in 1856; the old building burned May 16, 
1904; new observatory occupied in 1893. The 
observatory contains the Olcott meridian circle 
(one of the finest and best known in the world), 
the Pruyn equatorial telescope (a twelve-inch 



Albany Guide Book 133 

glass equipped for photographic work), several 
smaller telescopes, a Scheutz calculating engine 
(one of the only two ever made), and clocks, 
chronographs, etc. The entire equipment is 
thoroughly modern and adapted to the require- 
ments of modern research. An adequate endow- 
ment sustains the institution which has won 
renown for its research and other work. Open 
daily except Sunday ; Tuesday evenings only on 
application to Professor Boss, the director. 

ODD FELLOWS 

This popular and powerful order had a hand- 
some temple on Lodge street at Howard street 
which was burned down January 27, 1916. It will 
be rebuilt but only occupied by part of the fra- 
ternity, four lodges having bought property at 
No. 13 Elk street (the old Pruyn mansion). 
Cornerstone of old temple laid July 18, 1894. 

PARKS 

No city of its size has more attractive parks 
than has Alban}^ and the visitor will find them 
easy of access. The most popular and the largest 
is Washington park, containing 90 acres, created 
by law in 1869 from the old Washington parade 
ground and the old State street burial grounds. 



134 Albany Guide Book 

It was opened in part in July, 1871, and wholly in 
June, 1872. The park contains about three miles 
of beautiful drives, six miles of shady walks and 
has a pretty lake covering about six acres. 
Special features are the noble old elms, admirable 
landscape effects, handsome shrubbery and beau- 
tiful flowers in season, rustic shelters, an attrac- 
tive lake house], the King- fountain representing 
" Moses Smiting the Rock " (presented by Henry 
L. King as a memorial to his brother, Rufus H. 
King; unveiled September 29, 1893; J. Massey 
v.R.hind, sculptor))^he Burns monument (the gift 
"*^f the McPherson estate, unveiled August 30, 
v4888, Charles Calverly, sculptorU a statue of 
Ceres, the Dr. James H. Armsby memorial bust 
(unveiled November 25, 1879), the Soldiers and 
jailors' monument (p. 162), and several others. 
Attention also is directed to 

Academy Park. — Tn front of the famous Albany 
academy, 2.1 acres. In 1820 citizens proposed the im- 
provement of Academy park, then known as "The 
Commons," and in 1831 the Common Council author- 
ized the improvement, citizens subscribing $3,200 to- 
ward the expense. On February 22, 1864, the famous 
Army Relief Bazaar was opened there, closing March 
10, with receipts of $111,493.49 and expenses of 
$29,584.99. 



Albany Guide Book 135 

Beverwyck Park. — About 4 acres of open space now 
used as a ball ground, but one day to be a real park; 
bounded by Washington avenue, Ontario and Partridge 
streets. 

Bleecker Park. — About three acres in front of the 
Catholic cathedral; contains the first public fountain 
erected in the city, the gift of William Fleming, dedi- 
cated 1863. 

Capitol Park. — About 100,000 square feet in front of 
the Capitol; contains the Sheridan statue and beauti- 
fully kept lawns. Col. John Mills, who fell at the battle 
of Sacketts Harbor, was buried in the center of this 
park in 1844, but was removed to the Rural' cemetery 
May 30, 1883. 

Clinton Square. — A breathing place containing about 
three acres between Clinton avenue, North Pearl and 
Orange streets. 

Colonic Park. — About seven acres known as the 
Pleasant Street Playgrounds, located between Broad- 
way, North Pearl and Pleasant streets. 

Dana Park. — Two acres in front of School 24 at 
Madison and Delaware avenues and Lark street; con- 
tains the Dana fountain erected by the Dana society. 

Dudley Park. — Some 40 acres between Manning 
boulevard and N. Y. Central avenue, popular as a play- 
ground. 

Hudson Park. — About 10,000 square feet of breath- 
ing space between Hudson avenue, Liberty and Dallius 
streets. 



136 Albany Guide Book 

Lincoln Park. — Formerly known as Beaver Park, but 
name changed in 1916; take Delaware avenue car. As 
far as improved, contains an athletic field, quarter-mile 
running track, swimming and wading pools, baseball 
fields, tennis courts, coasting hill, children's playground 
and suitable shelters and conveniences for the people. 
This park, which originally was the first open-air pub- 
lic playground for children, was secured as such by 
the Albany Mothers' Club and contains in its western 
section the spacious building once occupied by Dr. 
James Hall, the famous State geologist. It has been 
remodeled to better accommodate the great work which 
the Mothers' Club is conducting here. The improved 
park will be the out-of-door recreation center of the 
city. Contains 78 acres; was created by law in 1892; 
work began May 1, 1894; Jacob Leonard gave 19 acres 
for it May 30 that year. 

Observatory Park. — The 24 acres around the obser- 
vatory bounded by New Scotland. Lake and Myrtle 
avenues. 

Plaza Park. — The attractive open space between 
State street and Broadway and the D. &. H. building. 

Riverside Park. — A raised breathing place fronting 
the river and containing something over one acre be- 
tween Broadway, Herkimer and Westerlo streets. Very 
popular in the section as playground for foreign 
children. 

St. Joseph's Park. — Nearly three and one-half acres 
adjoining St. Joseph's church between First and Sec- 
ond and Ten Broeck streets. A pretty terrace. 



Albany Guide Book 137 

Sheridan Park. — Familiarly known originally as 
" Prospect " and " Landslide park," some three acres 
yet to be developed, but having great possibilities, lies 
between Elk, Spruce. Swan and Dove streets. Name 
suggested by Lew Benedict Post. G. A. R. 

Sunken Gardens. — Nearly nine acres yet to be devel- 
oped as the name indicates, lies between Main avenue, 
Ontario, Lancaster and Chestnut streets. 

Swinburne Park. — Commemorates Albany's greatest 
surgeon and is a popular plat of over nine acres located 
between Manning boulevard, Clinton avenue and Sec- 
ond street. Formerly part of the old reservoir prop- 
erty; a popular playground. 

Tivoli Lakes Park. — Comprises about 51 acres 
around the lakes and is rapidly developing. 

Townsend Park. — A triangular four acres between 
Washington avenue. Central avenue and the Northern 
boulevard. Original intention was to place a monument 
to Washington there, but project was abandoned and 
name changed to commemorate one of the popular 
mayors. Improved in 1916. 

Van Rensselaer Park. — About one and three-tenths 
acres between Ten Broeck and Second streets and Hall 
place. 

On March 5. 1917, the common council appropriated 
$30,000 for another park, to be located on Walter street. 
North Albany. 

Note. — City planners in 1916 said: "When Beaver, 
Sheridan, Swinburne and Riverside parks are com- 



138 Albany Guide Book 

pleted, Albany will have a most beautiful and unusual 
chain of parks. Dudley park is at the beginning of the 
Manning boulevard, which running by the Tivoli 
lakes to Swinburne park, makes a circuit of the west- 
erly portion of the city and ends now at Western ave- 
nue. This should be extended through Hawkins ave- 
nue to New Scotland avenue and eventually to Dela- 
ware avenue to connect with the Southern boulevard, 
making a parkway connecting with Washington park 
and Beaver park, and from Beaver park one can go 
through Warren and Arch streets to Broadway. It 
will thus be seen that this circumferential drive, be- 
ginning on North Pearl street at Van Woert street, 
connects five parks and ends on South Broadway." 
Other very desirable park improvements in the region 
south of Delaware avenue and in that around Rensse- 
laer lake where over 1,000 acres could be utilized, have 
been sketched out by the same authorities. 

PENITENTIARY 

The striking structure and grounds on Dela- 
ware avenue, south of Madison avenue, once was 
the noted Albany penitentiary. It was opened in 
1846 under Amos Pilsbury as superintendent and 
for years held the record as a successful institu- 
tion of the kind. On September 1, 1904, it became 
the Albany county jail. Take Delaw^are avenue 
car. 



Albany Guide Book 139 

PERFORATED PAPER INDUSTRY 

One of the distinctive Albany business enter- 
prises which has grown from a small beginning 
in the city to be of world-wide importance is that 
conducted in the big plant at 1271-1293 Broadway 
by the A. P. W. Paper Co., as it is known to the 
trade. As the result of the genius of one man 
who invented and perfected the wonderful 
machinery used the plant is well worth the atten- 
tion it attracts. The company was incorporated 
in 1877 by ^Ir. Seth AMieeler and from a small 
l)eginning now has grown to a product of 
2,000,000 pounds of perforated paper monthly. 

The new factories into which the firm has just 
moved occupy a space fronting 200 feet on Broad- 
way, extending back 300 feet tow^ard the river 
and containing nearly three acres of floor space. 
The buildings which are tw^o stories high are 
built of steel, concrete and brick and so well 
lighted that the sanitary inspectors declare there 
are " no dark corners " in them Two big 100 
horse power boilers furnish heat for the plant 
and two giant fans driven by powerful electric 
motors deliver 42,000 cubic feet of fresh air every 
minute, which after being properly warmed is 
forced to all parts of the buildings. 

Tissue and towel papers are made specially for 



140 Albany Guide Book 

use in the cabinets and fixtures which experts 
manufacture in the new plant. Wrapping paper 
is no longer made. Practically everything is done 
by the wonderfully ingenious machinery used in 
the factories where, nevertheless, over 300 hands 
are employed in a business which requires some 
portions of the plant at least to be run night and 
day. 

Visitors to the A. P. W. Paper company see 
on the first floor the great storage rooms and the 
work of making toilet paper fixtures and the 
many necessary packing cases. On the second 
floor is located the machinery proper where 
upward of 100 ingenious devices perforate, slit, 
fold and print the paper which is delivered by 
automatic conveyers wherever it is wanted. 
Everywhere there are automatic signals commu- 
nicating with a central switchboard in the execu- 
tive department through which any employee can 
be summoned speedily at any time or instructions 
conveyed. Should an accident ever happen, it is 
provided for in advance by a fully equipped 
" emergency " room where injuries or illness can 
receive skilled first-aid treatment " till the 
doctor comes." There are also commodious coat, 
wash and dressing rooms for the army of 
employees. 



Albany Guide Book 141 

Machinery practically does all the work of the 
plant for which skilled labor is not necessary. 
The thousands of boxes required are made, the 
prepared paper is packed in them and the pack- 
ages are weighed and stamped automatically and 
the whole finally delivered to the shipping depart- 
ment mechanically. Paper after being perforated 
or cut to the exact size is either wound on spools 
or interfolded by ingenious devices in 1,000 sheet 
packages for the famous " Onliwon " cabinets or 
is pinned together by wire which is looped to 
hang up readily. Machinery also makes the 
handsome cabinets for the toilet paper or the san- 
itary towels, and skilled mechanics are at work in 
convenient rooms daily perfecting new devices 
for the benefit of the public. 

Another feature of the plant is the preparation 
of all the printed matter furnished in connection 
w^ith the product of the machines, and there is 
also issued as a feature a bright little publication 
called the '' A. P. W. News " which is devoted to 
disseminating information about the company's 
business in all its branches. The A. P. W. Paper 
company's products are demanded by every hotel, 
restaurant, home and office, railroad train and 
steamboat in the world and are sold through 
branch offices covering the civilized globe. Auxil- 



142 Albany Guide Book 

iary factories are operated in England, France, 
Germany and Switzerland to keep up with the 
growing demand. But Albany boasts of being 
the home of the great business and points to it as 
one of its most distinctive industries. The Broad- 
way cars form an easy means of visiting the 
plant. 

PIER, THE RECREATION 

For an extended description of this part of the 
water front improvement see under heading 
Recreation Pier. 

PHOTOGRAPHS 

The galleries of Albany have taken prizes in 
the contests of the w^orld and there are many 
places where visitors can secure the services of 
real experts in photography. The best known 
galleries are located on Broadway and North 
Pearl street. Cameras and supplies and the use 
of darkrooms can be had at stores on Maiden 
lane, North Pearl street and Broadway. 

PLAYGROUNDS 

A notable series of public playgrounds exists 
in Albany, secured and fostered 1)y the Mothers 
club (p. 63). The first summer playground for 
children was established in Beaver (now Lin- 



Albany Guide Book 143 

coin) park where it opened on July 16, 1900, with 
over 1,000 children in attendance under the care 
of Miss Blanche Tozier of Boston. The growth 
of the movement was great and there now are 
ti\e well equipped and very popular public play- 
grounds 1»esides many attached to schools having 
adequate grounds for them. The public play- 
grounds are as follows : 

Beaver Park (Lincoln Park). — Located at Delaware 
avenue between Park avenue and Morton street; 
opened July 18. 1900; known as the " Central Play- 
ground "; average daily attendance, 400 to 1,000. 

Dudley Park, the North End Playground. — Located 
on the old Observatory hill in North Albany; opened 
June 26, 1904; average daily attendance, 200. 

Riverside Park, the South End Playground. — Located 
on Broadway between Herkimer and Westerlo streets; 
opened June 29, 1908; average daily attendance, 200. 

Sage Playground. — A spacious and well-equipped 
tract presented to the children of Albany by Senator 
Henry M. Sage in 1916. Its notable features are the 
shelter and the wading pool and a two-storied shelter 
house with adequate equipment. 

Swinburne Park, the West End Playground. — Lo- 
cated on Manning boulevard between Clinton avenue 
and Second street; opened June 28, 1908; average daily 
attendance about 250. 



144 Albany Guide Book 

PLAZA 

The great open space situated east of Broad- 
way and lying between State street and Steam- 
boat square was created as part of the water 
front improvement by razing a large number of 
old l^uildings chiefly used for business purposes. 
The Plaza is 350 feet wide by 580 feet long and 
provides a thoroughfare 100 feet wide inclosing 
a small park, 320 feet long by 60 feet wide, beau- 
tified by trees and plants. The street contains a 
20-foot roadway and the park has paths 20 feet 
wide with a central circle 75 feet in diameter for 
a fountain or suitable monument (possibly of Ful- 
ton who invented and brought the first steamboat 
to Albany). There also are grass plats and trees. 
The main advantage ofifered by the Plaza is to 
furnish a handsome breathing place to people 
waiting for the trolley cars which have run loops 
around it and carry passengers all over the city 
and 37 miles south to Hudson, 72 miles north to 
Warrensburg and 50 miles west to Gloversville. 
The great, ornate edifice which serves as a 
screen to hide the Hudson river and the costly 
Recreation pier from view is the administration 
building of the Delaware & Hudson railroad and 
cost $700,000. Adjoining it on the south is the 
new home of the Evening Journal. A subway 



Albany Guide Book 145 

here furnishes safe access to Quay street and the 
artistic concrete brido^e leading to the Recreation 
pier and the handsome home of the Albany Yacht 
club. 

POLICE DEPARTMENT 
Headquarters of the excellent force that guards 
the city were for years located in the City build- 
ing at South Pearl and Howard streets. New 
quarters are to be located in the new Municipal 
building (p. S7) at Eagle and Howard streets. The 
present force comprises a chief, 8 captains, 5 lieu- 
tenants, 22 sergeants, 5 detectives, 4 court offi- 
cers, 133 patrolmen, 3 patrol wagon drivers, 1 
stableman, 1 surgeon and 1 matron. The 
Department is practically a battalion of five com- 
panies, each assigned to a section of the city: the 
First to the South end; the Second to the Busi- 
ness section; the Third to the North end; the 
Fourth to the central and residential section and 
the Fifth to the West end of the city. Washing- 
ton park is covered by a sub-station. There are 
10 mounted men in charge of the captain of the 
Traffic precinct. 

Note. — In 1669 there were two men who patroled 
the city from 10 p. m. to dawn. In 1686 the force con- 
sisted of a High Constable and three deputies. In 
1793 the Common Council established a night watch 
10 



146 Albany Guide Book 

of 24 young men drawn by lot to serve from 8 p. m. 
to daybreak. In 1851 a regular police force was es- 
tablished by law (first chief was William Morgan) and 
the city was divided into 4 precincts. In 1893 a patrol 
wagon was placed in service. The present efficient 
department followed and was reorganized in 1900 un- 
der the Second Class City charter law as part of the 
Department of Public Safety. The first Commissioner 
was Frederick C. Ham. 

POST OFFICE 

An imposing granite building on Broadway at 
the foot of vState street houses the Post Office 
and several other Federal departments. The 
Post Office dates back to 1783 but tradition says 
there was one in Albany in 1775. The site was 
authorized by Congress in 1872 and occupies the 
grounds formerly containing the old Exchange 
building and the Mechanics & Farmers bank 
(removed in 1875) ; cornerstone laid in 1879; Post 
Office opened for business January 1, 1884; build- 
ing 113 feet on Broadway by 150 on State street 
cost $530,000. It is the third largest Post Office 
in the United States. The building also contains 
the Internal Revenue office, the U. S. Court, the 
Weather Bureau and a number of other Federal 
offices. 

Note. — In Revolutionary days letters were carried by 
post riders paid by residents along the roads. In 1786 



Albany Guide Book 147 

there were two weekly mails l)etween Albany and New 
York and Albany and Springfield. The postoffice was 
established in 1784 on the east side of Broadway, north 
of Maiden lane. In 1800 William B. Winne became 
the first local letter carrier and served 48 years. (Be- 
fore that, in 1795, there was a "penny post" system 
and the carrier collected one cent from each person 
receiving a letter). In 1812 the post office was in a 
diug store at Broadway and State street kept by Jacob 
Mancius. In 1813 the post office was removed to the 
Exchange building on the site of which part of the 
present building now stands. In 1873 the post office 
was located on the east side of North Pearl street, 
south of Columbia street. 

POWER HOUSE 

Two tall yellow brick chimneys risiiii^- from the 
ravine occupied by Sheridan avenue (once Canal 
street) mark the site of the big State Power 
Mouse which cost $400,000 and furnishes the 
Capitol and Education building with heat, light 
and power. It was opened in December, 1912; 
contains 8 boilers of 300 H. P. each ; 4 engines of 
310, 465 and two of 600 H. P. respectively; 4 
dynamos of 200, 300 and 400 kilowatts respec- 
tively with room for additions as required. There 
also is a water pressure SA'stem (150 pounds to 
the square foot) to furnish means for lighting fire 
in the big buildings. 



148 Albany Guide Book 

MEMORANDA 



Albany Guide Book 149 



RAILROADS 



Albany is an important railroad center and is 
known commercially as the '' Albany Gateway " 
because so much of the general traffic east and 
A^est passes through the city. An average of 
196 passenger and 103 freight trains pass through 
daily. The steam railroads centering in Albany 
are the New York Central, Delaware & Hudson, 
Boston & Albany, West Shore, Boston & Maine, 
and Rutland. The vast resources of the New 
York Central are too well known to need ex- 
planation. The Delaware & Hudson is the great 
artery of summer travel to the Adirondacks, 
Saratoga, Lake George, Lake Champlain and 
Montreal, while its southern connections reach 
such well-known places as Cooperstown, and it 
penetrates Pennsylvania to Carbondale. Both 
the New York Central and the Delaw^are &: Hud- 
son railroads maintain great construction and 
repair plants in connection with their work. 
The shops of the Central are located at West 
Albany where they cover a vast area and give 
employment to thousands of men. The Dela- 
ware & Hudson, at Colonie, has one of the larg- 
est railroad plants in the w^orld, extending from 
the west side of W^atervliet to the tracks of the 



150 Albany Guide Book 

road. It was opened in 1912 and cost over 
$3,000,000. This is the main plant of the entire 
system and is equipped with electric power, has 
its own foundry and produces its rails from its 
own ores. A great terminal freight house on 
Dean street, between Maiden lane and State 
street, handles daily about 400 tons, while 
another great terminal at Van Rensselaer island 
provides for the interchange of rail and water 
traffic. Here a giant trestle handles thousands 
of tons of coal, iron and supplies from the great 
mills and mines of northern New York. 

Electric roads which take you almost any- 
where at almost any time start from the Plaza 
(p. 144). Besides the city service interurban lines 
run fifty miles west, thirty-seven miles south 
and seventy-two miles north. The United Trac- 
tion Company runs all over the city and to Troy, 
Watervliet and Cohoes, with connections over 
the Hudson Valley Railway to Mechanicville, 
Round Lake, Ballston, Saratoga, Stillwater, 
Schuylerville, Greenwich, Fort Edward, Hudson 
Falls, Glens Falls, Lake George and Warrens- 
burg. The Schenectady Railway, which runs cars 
every half hour between that city and Albany, 
connects at Schenectady with the Fonda, Johns- 
town and Gloversville road. The Albany South- 



Albany Guide Book 151 

ern Railway runs to Hudson and intermediate 
points. 

Note. — In 1826 the Legislature considered a bill 
creating the Mohawk & Albany railroad (between Al- 
bany and Schenectady), which was capitalized at $300,- 
000 and was to be built in six years. The first train was 
run on September 24, 1831, from Schenectady to Albany, 
the terminal being at Madison and Western avenues; 
on May 24, 1832. the trains ran to Gansevoort street. 
The locomotive De Witt Clinton was put in commis- 
sion in 1831 on July 27 for the first passenger railroad 
in America, although the grand opening was not until 
September. The cars were drawn by horses from the 
first depot which stood on State street near Eagle about 
where now is the Beauman dancing academy, to the 
junction of the two avenues, where the engine was 
attached. This road afterward was called the Schenec- 
tady and Hudson. On October 1, 1851, the first train 
vv'as run from New York to Albany and on its arrival 
there was a big celebration. 

RIFLE RANGE 

A permanent, well-equipped range is located at 
Rensselaerwyck, reached b}^ belt line trains from 
the depot (p. 68). It is almost daily patronized 
by the expert marksmen of the vicinity during 
the summer months and is the practice range of 
the National Guardsmen. 



152 Albany Guide Book 

RESERVOIRS 

Albany is now supplied with water from two 
distribution systems into which it is pumped at 
the Quackenbush street station. When the quan- 
tity of water pumped exceeds that consumed the 
surplus goes to the reservoirs — Prospect on the 
high service and Bleecker on the low service — 
and when the consumption exceeds the pumpage 
the deficiency is drawn from the reservoirs. In 
case of a shortage of filtered water, Bleecker 
reservoir may be supplied by gravity through an 
egg-shaped conduit (4 ft. by 3'ft. in size and four 
miles long) from Rensselaer lake. The Tivoli 
system of reservoirs comprising the Sand Creek 
and Russell road reservoirs are now used for 
supplying the West Albany shops, with the 
Tivoli reservoir held in reserve for supplying the 
lower portion of the city in case of emergency. 
The Maezlandtkill reservoir (built in 1800, 
capacity 225,000 gallons) is no longer in use. 
The city requires (1916) about 21,559 gallons 
daily. The hydrant pressure for fire purposes 
is from 25 to 95 pounds per square inch. 

The following data relative to the city reservoirs was 
furnished by Wallace Greenalch, Commissioner of Pub- 
lic Works: Bleecker (Clinton avenue and Ontario 
street) built 1852, repaired 1898; capacity, 32,000,000 



Albany Guide Book 153 

gallons; depth, 15 feet; elevation above river, 242 feet. 
Prospect (N. Y. Central avenue) built, 1876; capacity, 
7,300.000 gallons; depth, 16 feet; elevation above river, 
297.5 feet. Rensselaer Lake (old Six mile waterworks), 
built 1852; capacity, 122.000,000 gallons; elevation above 
river. 262 feet. "Russell Road, built, 1888; capacity, 28,- 
000,000 gallons; elevation above river, 195 feet. Sand 
Creek, built 1888; capacity, 16.000.000 gallons; elevation 
above river, 213 feet. Tivoli, built 1888; capacity, 19,- 
000,000 gallons; depth, 28 feet; elevation above river, 
176.8 feet. 

Note. — The old city reservoir was a massive granite 
structure of Egyptian architecture and stood where the 
new county court house now is. It was replaced by 
the original High School, which gave place to the 
court house in 1916. The Albany Waterworks Com- 
pany was incorporated in 1802; reservoir built in 1811; 
water conducted through bored logs from the " kill " 
to the site; removed in 1875 to make place for the 
school. 

RECREATION PIER 

A spacious and solid concrete structure on the 
river front opposite the foot of State street 
replaced the old pier, long used for business pur- 
poses, as part of the general improvement of that 
section. On it is situated the handsome home 
of the Albany Yacht Club, there is a shelter at 
each end and a comfort station is located at the 
north end and a music pavilion at the south end. 



154 Albany Guide Book 

The principal access to the pier is across an . 
ornamental arched concrete bridge from Quay 
street. 

RESTAURANTS 
The number of eating houses in Albany has 
increased rapidly during the past ten years. 
Every section is now supplied at prices to suit 
every purse. Most of them are open day and 
night, the largest being Keeler's, at Broadway 
and Maiden lane, which is a general favorite 
with travelers. 

RIVER FRONT 

Most of the Albany river front now is of con- 
crete and contains the necessary modern struc- 
tures for handling properly the enormous river 
freight and passenger business. This great im- 
provement was begun in 1913, during the admin- 
istration of Mayor James PJ. McEwan and under 
City Engineer Frank Lanagan. Concrete work 
alone cost $300,000. In 1915, after nearly two 
years' work, the reconstruction of the river front 
was practically complete with concrete docks, the 
old pier replaced by an attractive recreation place, 
the ofifensive old basin filled in and a new one 
provided and other modern improvements made. 
Most of this great work was paid for by the 



Albany Guide Book 155 

railroads and steamboat companies benefited, 
the city retaining its ownership of the water 
front. The Hudson Navigation Company's dock 
on Steamboat square is 850 feet long and 40 feet 
wide, with adequate steel and concrete structures 
for handling its business. These improvements 
cost $100,000. The Hudson River Day Line has 
469 feet of improved dock, which is beautified 
by a steel structure 242 feet long by 33 feet wide, 
with a spacious pavilion, 35 by 25 feet, at each 
end. The shed is surmounted by an artistic 
promenade deck accessible by stairways from the 
pavilion. This cost about $90,000. The Central 
Hudson Steamboat Company's dock is 200 feet 
long and lies between those just mentioned, 
^rhesc three river front improvements alone 
make a continuous dock more than 1,500 feet 
long and were all constructed by the corporations 
and deeded to the city in return for the land 
formerly under water acquired by the building of 
the wall. The city leases the docks to the boat 
companies. The Delaware & Hudson and the 
New York Central railroads alone are said to 
have spent upward of $4,000,000 on their share 
of the work. The Albany and Troy Steamboat 
Company also has, at the foot of Maiden lane, a 
handsome dock with adequate structures for its 



156 Albany Guide Book 

business. On March 5, 1917, the Common 
Council appropriated $130,000 to extend the river 
front improvement south to the bridge. 

SAFE DEPOSIT 

A modern fire-proof and burglar-proof build- 
ing for storing valuables stands at Maiden lane 
and Lodge street It began business in 1883 ; 
present building opened in 1893. 

SAINT AGNES SCHOOL 

This well-known institution for girls is located 
on Elk street above Hawk. It was founded by 
Bishop Doane in 1870 and is a part of the Corn- 
ing Foundation for Christian work (incorporated 
in 1871). The school was formally opened on 
Hallowe'en, 1872, and has achieved a high stand- 
ing in educational centers. 

SCHOOLS 

Albany's educational institutions rank among 
the best in the country. The public school sys- 
tem includes 23 primary schools, 1 vocational, 1 
open air, 1 ungraded, 1 teachers' training and 
1 high school. There also are 26 private schools 
and colleges including denominational, techni- 
cal and professional institutions. What the 



Albany Guide Book 157 

present has and tlie future promises for educa- 
tion in Albany may well be judged from this 
statement by President Jacob A. Herzog of the 
Board of Education : 

"The magnilicent million-dollar High School; the 
greatly enlarged Schools 16 and 18; the wonderful 
School 14, one of the best grammar schools in the 
United States; the evening schools, giving practical 
instruction to thousands of men and women, boys and 
girls; the open-air schools, with their message to the 
weak and sickly; the ungraded schools and special 
classes, which remove the drag-stone from the ordinary 
class-room. and help the slow and plodding one to do 
better things; the establishment of health direction with 
it^^ physician, dentist and nurses; the physical department 
with its director for boys and girls; vocation schools 
with their cooking, sewing, carpentry work, printing 
and various other industries so necessary in these 
times — all of these things and many more lead us to 
hope that education in Albany at present is on such a 
plane that we compare favgrably with any city of simi- 
lar size in the country. 

" We see in the future, with the eye of hope and 
mayhap, prophecy, a technical school and commercial 
high school; separate high schools for boys and girls 
where the arts are taught; new schools in the rapidl}-- 
growing suburban districts; playgrounds at every 
school; a solution of the problem of larger classes, and 
the constant endeavor for better conditions for teacher 
and student." 



158 Albany Guide Book 

Information concerning the Albany (Boys') 
Academy, Brothers Academy, Business College, 
College of Pharmacy, Female Academy, High 
school, Law school, Medical college. Sacred 
Heart academy, St. Agnes school. State Normal 
college, Vincentian Institute and others is easily 
obtainable and for the most part may be had 
under appropriate headings in this volume. 

Note. — Colonists in 1650 subscribed to build a school 
house; in 1665 John Schutte was licensed by Governor 
Nichols to be the first English school teacher; in 1721 
the Common Council agreed to give Johannes Glandorf 
free house rent to " teach spelling, reading, writing and 
ciphering;" in 1793 the common school system was 
recommended by the Regents. After the revolution 
the people petitioned the Common Council and had 
founded an academy, which was held in the Van Der- 
heyden palace on North Pearl street near Maiden lane, 
and continued nearly 20 years as a seminary under a 
teacher brought from Philadelphia. In 1812 the first 
free school was built, known as the Lancaster school, 
on Eagle street where now is the Medical college. 
It was incorporated and opened May 5, 1817, remain- 
ing in active usefulness until abandoned with the in- 
coming of the public schools. (In 1838 the building 
was leased by the Medical college which opened there 
in January, 1839.) In 1830 the public school system 
was inaugurated and commissioners elected; in 1855 
the Board of Education replaced the commissioners; 
in 1866 the Board of Public Instruction was created, and 



Albany Guide Book 159 

in 1869 the Albany Free Academy was founded in 
spite of strong opposition, afterward becoming the 
Albany High school (p. 93). 

SCHUYLER MANSION 

This fine old hkstoric residence stands on an 
elevation at the head of Schuyler street. It 
was erected in 1762 by General Philip Schuyler, 
who occupied it until 1804. After various vicis- 
situdes the State bought the property in 1911 
and the old house was restored under the direc- 
tion of State Architect Louis Pilcher, in 1915. 
It was formally opened by the D. A. R. in April 
of that year and now^ forms a most interesting 
memorial of old Albany The place is rich in 
historical lore, being frequented during Revolu- 
tionary times by prominent military men and 
statesmen who enjoyed the famous hospitality 
of General Schuyler. The room where the wed- 
ding of Miss Schuyler and Alexander Hamilton 
occurred particularly interests the tourists. The 
mark in the staircase, said to have been made by 
the tomahawk of an Indian, who hurled it after 
the fleeing inmates during an attack on the 
dwelling, also excites much speculation and has 
felt the hands of thousands. 



160 Albany Guide Book 

SEWAGE DISPOSAL PLANT 

(See Disposal Plant, page 69.) 

SHAKERS 

The original Shaker settlement in America, 
where Mother Ann Lee of Manchester, England, 
who founded the sect in 1774, is buried, is at the 
terminus of the Shaker road about 7 miles west 
of Albany. Mother Lee died on September 8, 
1784. The settlement is a finely kept farm col- 
ony, but steadily dying out and in part now used 
for other than the original purpose 







SHERIDAN STATUE 

The handsome equestrian memorial statue of 
General Philip Sheridan in the Capitol park at 
the foot of the great entrance stairway was ded- 
icated on October 7, 1916. Mrs. Sheridan was 
present as the city's guest of honor, and many of 
General Sheridan's old soldiers attended by 
special invitation. Two children, Olive Whit- 
man, daughter of the Governor, and Sallie Davis, 
granddaughter of Mayor Joseph W. Stevens un- 
veiled the monument. The statue grew out of 
a suggestion made by Martin H. Glynn when 
Governor, who advocated it at a Lincoln dinner 
of Sheridan ^amp, S. of V. The city subscribed 





SHERIDAN' MEMORIAL 




TELEPHONE BUILDING 



Albany Guide Book 161 

$10,000 and the State gave $20,000. The design 
was by J. Q. A. Ward and the statue was com- 
pleted by his pupil, Daniel Chester French. The 
inscription on the bronze plate set in the base 
says : *' Philip Henry Sheridan, General United 
States army, born, Albany, N. Y., March 6, 1831 ; 
Died, Monquitt, Mass., August 5, 1888. 
Erected by the citizens of x\lbany and the State 
of Xew York under Chapter 100 of the Laws of 

1914." The names of the commission then follow. 

/ 

SHOPPING DISTRICT 

^^'omen travelers will find the shopping dis- 
trict located on North Pearl street betw^een 
State street and Clinton avenue. Clothing, furs 
and gent's furnishings may also be found on 
Broadway, State street, South Pearl street and 
Maiden lane in particular. 

Note. — During repairs on August 8, 1905, the J. G. 
Myers store collapsed and several of the employees 
were killed and many injured. 

SLUMS 

To Albany's credit it may truthfully be said 
that there is nothing of this kind to induce a 
visitor to employ a police guide to see safely a 
district noted for squalor and misery. 
11 



_J62 Albany Guide Book 

/soldiers and SAILORS' MONUMENT 

The beautiful memorial in Washington park 
at the Northern boulevard entrance was dedi- 
cated by the G. A. R., on October 5, 1912. It 
was designed by Harmon Atkins MacNeil and 
represents *' The Nation of Peace Won Through 
Victorious W^ar." Its cost was $100,000. The 
monument is built of Tennessee marble above 
the seat and the remainder is of Stony Creek 
granite. It is 22 feet high, 21 feet long and 5 
feet 6 inches deep, surrounded by a seat, the 
whole resting upon a platform 70 feet long by 
64 feet deep. The inscription reads : 

In commemoration of the men of Albany who gave 
their lives to save the Union, and in grateful recognition 
of all whose patriotism aided in giving to this nation un- 
der God a new birth of freedom, in making love of 
country a national virtue and in endowing our land 
^vith the blessings of peace and prosperity.^ 

{ As one enters the park from the boulevard 
tnere is seen in front of the main relief a bronze 
heroic figure typifying the Nation. She holds in 
her arms the palms of victory. The figure, which 
is nine feet in height, is that of a strong, reso- 
lute but tender and compassionate woman who 
has risen from a chair of Roman design. She 
bears in her right hand the Sword of War 



Albany Guide Book . 163 

sheathed. On the panel behind her is the coat 
of arms of New York State and on the pedestal 
beneath the figure is the coat of arms of the city 
of Albany. Cut in the marble, back of the figure, 
are shown the soldiers and sailors marching 
away to her defense. On the park side of the 
memorial is shown a battery in relief, moving to 
action. The bas-relief on the west end of the 
monument shows Patriotism inspiring a 
wounded drummer boy. On the east end is seen 
a soldier returning to his wife and child after the 
close of the war. The monument contains over 
60 life-size figures. 

Note. — Albany county's gross expenditure on ac- 
count of the Civil War was reported on November 28, 
1865, as $4,485,276.45^ 

SOUVENIRS 

A variety of Albany souvenirs may be found 
in many places by the traveler. Jewelry stores, 
book and stationery stores offer a great variety 
of such articles. The cigar stand at the Capitol 
also is well stocked wath appropriate souvenirs. 

SPORTS 

Athletic sports always have been in great fa- 
vor in Albany, and the vogue follows the trend 
of the times. There are a number of associa- 



164 Albany Guide Book 

tions of various kinds, ranging from athletic to 
yachting. If a visitor is more '' sporty " than 
athletic, a quiet talk with his hotel clerk in all 
probability will furnish the necessary informa- 
tion as to the haunts of Fortune. The city is lib- 
eral but orderly. 

STATE HOUSE 

The imposing old marble edifice on Eagle 
street, facing Academy park, is the State House 
which was remodeled internally and a western 
wing added in 1916 to provide a permanent home 
for the Court of Appeals, which occupied it in 
part in December of that year. The building 
was completed in 1843, but was used in part in 
1840. It was renovated and an elevator added 
in 1898. Once it was set aside for the State Mu- 
seum by the Legislature, but the State officers 
occupying it then refused to vacate. The old 
building attracted engineers and architects by its 
simple and satisfactory construction and the re- 
markable stairways, one of which it yet contains. 
It was built of stone quaried and prepared by 
convict labor at Sing Sing prison and originally 
cost $350,000. 



Albany Guide Book 165 

STATE LIBRARY 

The great library of the State, established by 
the Legislature in 1818, is housed in the Educa- 
tion building. On May 4, 1844, it was placed 
under the control of the Regents of the Uni- 
versity and in 1854 it was housed in a specially 
constructed building facing on State street and 
connected with the old Capitol. It grew rap- 
idly and in 1883 was removed to the new Capitol 
building where it occupied the third and parts of 
the fourth and fifth floors. It continued to in- 
crease in size and value until it was practically 
destroyed by the disastrous fire of March 29, 
1911, which wrecked the entire western section 
of the Capitol. At that time it was one of the 
greatest American state libraries. The loss by 
the fire was about 500,000 books, 300,000 manu- 
scripts and the costly apparatus of administra- 
tion besides many priceless souvenirs and relics, 
which had given the New York State library a 
rank among the first half dozen in the A\'estern 
hemisphere and among the first twenty in the 
world. The library now, as ever, is extensively 
patronized by students and literary workers and 
is fast regaining its former greatness. The man- 
uscript collections are declared to be " the most 



166 Albany Guide Book 

important body of archives in the custody of the 
State " to the historian. 

The city also contains many very valuable pri- 
vate collections (see Addenda, p. 221). 
STATE MUSEUM 

Very valuable and attractive exhibits are 
housed in the Education building, where they 
are visited by thousands. Open to the public 
daily from 9 a. m. to 4 :30 p m. ; Saturdays to 
noon; Sundays 2 to 5 p. m. The Museum was 
formally opened December 29, 1916, with an ad- 
dress by Theodore Roosevelt, Governor Whit- 
man presiding in the chair once 'occupied by 
Governor Clinton. The Museum occupies prac- 
tically the entire fourth floor of the great build- 
ing. On the south side is a vast exhibition hall, 
570 feet long by 54 feet wide and 50 feet high 
in which are the wonderful collections in geol- 
ogy, mineralogy, and paleontology. In a sim- 
ilar hall in the east mezzanine are the collections 
in archaeology and botany. In the west mezza- 
nine are six life-size Indian groups representing 
the life of the six nations of the wonderful Iro- 
quois federation. The north extension in the 
Elk street wing contains another great hall 107 
by 132 feet in which are the collections in ento- 
mology and zoology. 



i 



Albany Guide Book 167 

According to Dr. John M. Clarke, director of 
the Museum, the most interesting- objects to the 
casual visitor probably are the Naples tree, the 
Cohoes mastodon, the giant scorpions, the relief 
map of the State, the salt works and other min- 
ing exhibits, the mineral gems, the Indian 
groups, the butterfly and moth collections, the 
animal and bird exhibits and the restorations of 
mushrooms. The Naples tree is a reproduction 
of a fossil found at Naples in this State. It 
stands in the center of the great hall ; represents 
one of the oldest trees known to science and was 
the ancestor of the plants which produced the 
coal formations. The Cohoes mastodon was dis- 
covered in 1866 while excavating the site for the 
Harmony mills. The skeleton is one of the 
largest in existence as well as the most perfect. 
It stands about ten feet high. The giant scor- 
pions form a remarkable collection of models of 
an extinct species that existed before the fishes 
and in some cases attained a length of eleven 
feet. The relief map shows the dominant geo- 
logical formations of the State. It is 25 by 35 
feet and a notable piece of work. The salt works 
by models show the two principal methods of 
getting out salt. Nearby are shown products of 
the thirty various mining industries of the State. 



168 Albany Guide Book 

The collection of gem minerals shows the appli- 
cation of these to jewelry and ornament and 
contains chiefly semi-precious varieties and 
many that are little known. The Indian groups 
and relics are of great value to the student ana 
highly interesting to the ordinary observer. 
They include implements of all sorts, pipes, 
wampum belts (19 historical belts valued at $10,- 
000 placed in custody of the State in 1898 by the 
Iroquois League), and six life-size groups show- 
ing aboriginal activities. These groups are de- 
scribed by Arthur C. Parker, the expert of the 
division, as follows : '' The figures are life casts 
of the best types obtainable. Panoramic paint- 
ings of historic spots form the backgrounds and 
the group settings represent the Indians in de- 
velopment through scenes of hunting, warfare, 
council, ceremony, industry and agriculture. The 
first group represents a Seneca family clustered 
about the dooryard of its hunting lodge, each 
individual engaged in an allotted duty. The sec- 
ond group shows the advance party of a Mo- 
hawk war expedition. In the third group the 
Turtle clan chiefs are portrayed discussing some 
vital tribal subject within the private bark lodge 
of their firekeeper. The fourth group shows the 
midwinter purification rite, when evil spirits are 



Albany Guide Book 169 

driven from all the houses in the Iroquois vil- 
lage by grotesquely clad and masked medicine 
men. Six typical Iroquois industries are seen in 
the fifth group which depicts a company of 
Oneidas gathered in a sheltered spot in their 
capital village on Nichols pond in Madison 
county. The sixth group portrays a harvest 
scene in the Genesee valley where Indians are 
gathering and braiding corn, shelling beans and 
performing other tasks connected v/ith agricul- 
ture. In the butterfly and moth collections arc 
shown practically every insect known to exist in 
the State with many others. The butterfly col- 
lection is specially attractive and the models 
showing insects at work on plants of various 
kinds are very instructive. The cases containing 
the animal and bird collections have suspended 
over them the skeletons of two whales, one of 
which is 63 feet long. About 2,000 specimens of 
birds are shown, including some 200 pairs of do- 
mestic fowd. Mushrooms are contained in the 
botanical exhibit where are shown thirty groups 
of edible mushrooms in actual colors with pois- 
onous varieties and fungi known to be destruc- 
tive. There also are shown some eighty sections 
of New York State trees. 

Countless other equally attractive and instruc- 



170 Albany Guide Book 

tive exhibits are contained in the Museum and 
will appeal to those interested in special sub- 
jects. The proper route to take through the Mu- 
seum, according to the officials, is as follows : 
Beginning with the Hall of Minerals (west end) 
follow the main floor through the halls of geol- 
ogy, fossil botany (at the main elevators), fossil 
vertebrates, fossil invertebrates to the east end 
(Hawk street). Next take in the east mezzanine 
to the hall of Indian relics ; returning, take the 
west mezzanine to the hall of the Iroquois 
groups; finally go through the corridors (fishes) 
and the north wing or Zoology hall. There also 
is a very large herbarium to be seen on applica- 
tion to the State botanist. The entire object of 
the Museum is to show the people of the State 
the natural resources of New York. 

Note. — The Museum was organized in 1836 as a 
result of the geological survey of the State. The col- 
lections were placed in the old geological hall in 1840, 
and the State Agricultural Society also was quartered 
there, where it still remains. The museum was created 
by law in 1870 and in 1883 a law was passed giving the 
old State House on Eagle street for its uses, but 
certain State officers refused to abandon it and remove 
to the Capitol. Finally the museum was placed in its 
present location. It contains the most complete collec- 
tion of Paleozoic fossils in the world. 



Albany Guide Book 171 

STEAMBOATS 

As practically the head of river navigation, Al- 
bany always has had a series of docks and piers 
which the great river front improvement, now 
practically completed, has made into a modern 
system for the handling of passengers and 
freight. The boat lines of most interest to the 
travelers are : 

Hudson River Day Line. — Leaving from a 
spacious wharf east of their office at Broadway 
and Division street daily except Sunday at 8 :30 
a. m., stopping at the principal points along the 
river and reaching New York at 5 :30 p. m. 

Hudson Navigation Company Night Line. — 
Steamers Berkshire and Morse, leaving Steam- 
boat square daily except Sunday at 8 p. m.; 
night express 11 p. m. Arrive at New York in 
early morning. 

Sunday, day service, steamers Trojan and 
Rensselaer; leave Albany 10 a. m. ; stop at Kings- 
ton and Newburgh ; arrive New York 8 p. m. 

Newburgh Line. — Steamer Tremper, leaving 
foot of Hamilton street 8 a. m. Monday, Wednes- 
day and Friday, stopping at intermediate sta- 
tions; arriving at Newburgh 5:30 p. m. 



172 Albany Guide Book 

Catskill Line. — Steamer Ursula, from foot of 
Herkimer street at 3 p. m., daily, for Catskill and 
intermediate landings. 

Note.— On September 5. 1807, at 11:27 a. m., the 
Clermont, the first steamboat on the Hudson river, 
landed at the foot of Lydius street (Madison avenue) 
having left New York at 6:42 of the previous day. 
The boat was 100 feet long, 12 feet wide and carried 
24 passengers, who each paid $7.00 for their fare. The 
inventor, Robert Fulton, was in charge. The return 
trip was made on September 30 with 100 passengers. 
In 1880 the name of the boat was changed to the North 
River and the hull lengthened to 150 feet and the width 
to 18 feet; the tonnage was 165. The second boat to 
run was the Car of Neptune in 1809; tonnage 295; 
length 175 feet. The third boat was the Hope in 1811; 
tonnage 280. In 1811 a small boat called the Trial be- 
gan making trips between Albany and Troy twice 
daily; in 1812 the steamer Fire Fly was placed on this 
route. The Hudson River line was established in 1825. 
In 1826 the Day Line boat. The Sun, advertised trips 
to New York. In 1834 the Peoples Line (Hudson 
Navigation Company) was established as a day line. 
In 1845 (April 6) the steamer Swallow was wrecked 
on a rock near Athens and 35 passengers drowned. 



Albany Guide Book 173 

MEMORANDA 



174 Albany Guide Book 

STREETS 

So far as has been discovered, no rule or regu- 
lation was followed in laying out the first Al- 
bany thoroughfares. The original streets were 
State (called Yonkers), Broadway (called 
Handlaer) and Pearl. An unfortunate tendency 
to substitute something new for the old historic 
names has deprived the city of many valuable 
indications of its past. Examples are seen in the 
change of name from Lydius street to Madison 
avenue and of the Bowery to Central avenue in 
1867. Colonel William Gorham Rice in a note 
on street names furnishes this interesting data: 
*' Upon a plan of the city of Albany by Simeon 
DeWitt, dated 1794, I find these streets running 
about east and west and beginning at the south, 
Nucella, Plum, Bassett, Cherry, Schuyler, 
Spruce, Rensselaer, Beaver, Ferry, Sturgeon, 
Westerlo, Herring, Van Schee, Bass and Ly- 
dius." It has been suggested that the names of 
fish in this list originally were suggested by 
what once was a great industry in the very sec- 
tions where the names originally applied. 

Bronze tablets at the intersections of the more 
notable of the old thoroughfares are intended to 
perpetuate similar memories. Some of these 
tablets are : 



Albany Guide Book 175 

On Broadway front government building, near State 
street. Inscription: "This is Broadway, formerly in 
succession Handelaar (or Traders), Court and 
Market streets." 

At Washington avenue and Park place. Inscription: 
" Washington avenue, formerly King then Lion 
street." 

At corner Hamilton and South Pearl streets. Inscrip- 
tion: "Hamilton street, formerly Kilbey Lane." 

At State and Dean streets (on government building). 
Inscription: "Dean street, formerly Dock street." 

On Old Museum corner. Inscription: '"State street, 
formerly Yonkers or Gentlemen's street." 

On Mechanics and Farmer's bank. Inscription: "James 
street, formerly Middle Lane." 

At State and Eagle streets. Inscription: "Eagle street, 
formerly Duke street." 

On north side government building. Inscription: 
" Exchange street, formerly Mark Lane." 

On Beaver block. Inscription: "Norton street, 
formerly Store street." 

At corner Franklin street and Madison avenue. Inscrip- 
tion: "Franklin street, formerly Frelinghuysen 
street." 

At Clinton avenue and North Pearl street. Inscription: 
" Clinton avenue, formerly Patroon street. North of 
this street was the "Old Colonic!" 

On south side Dutch Reformed church. Inscription: 
" Monroe street, formerly Van Schaick street." 

Note. — The city streets were lighted, guarded and 
paved from an early date. In 1771 the city had twenty- 



176 Albany Guide Book 

one oil street lamps; in 1841 the Albany Gas Light 
Company was incorporated and in 1845 supplied illumi- 
nating gas to residents on a test; in 1850 the Common 
Council adopted gas in place of oil for street lighting; 
in 1872 the gas company established its plant on the 
Troy road; in July, 1881, the first electric lights were 
used on the city streets; in 1916 the electric lights used 
numbered 1,295 and cost $111,000. The first pavements 
were of cobblestones; the present pavements are of 
split granite block on a concrete base with an asphalt 
surface. 

STREET LOCATIONS 

The following " Pathfinder " shows at a glance 
the beginning and ending of all city streets thus 
far laid out ; of all avenues, boulevards, roads, 
turnpikes, drives, lanes and alleys ; also the loca- 
tion of all terraces, squares, '' places," etc. Al- 
phabetical arrangement makes it easy for any 
seeker after information to get it quickly. The 
steady growth of the city has caused a large ad- 
dition to the number of thoroughfares during 
recent years. 

STREETS 

Adirondack — Stop 4^ Western Ave., South. 

Albany — 1098 B'way to Watervliet. 

Alexander — 357 South Pearl to 244 Eagle. 

Allen, North — 519 Western Ave., to 658 Central Ave. 

Allen, South — 1116 Madison Ave., to New Scotland 
Ave. 



Albany Guide Book 177 

• Almon — Kenosha Ave., South. 
Anne — O'Connel St., East. 
Arch — ^147 Quay to 152 Grand. 
Arthur — Manning Boulevard to Lincoln Ave. 
Babcock — Zimmerman to Alexander. 
Barclay — 295 Delaware Ave., West and North. 
Barnet — Parkwood to Erie. 
Barrow — 454 Second Ave. to Leedale. 
Bassett — 117 Quay to 324 South Pearl. 
Beacon — Stop 4^ Western Ave., South. 
Beaver — 414 Broadway to 63 Eagle. 
Beekman — 424 Delaware Ave. to Second Ave. 
Benjamin — 25 First Ave. to 30 Second Ave. 
Benson — 135 Quail to Main Ave. 
Bertha — 348 Delaware Ave. to McCarty Ave. 
Bingham — McCarty Ave., South. 
Bleecker — 53 Church to 146 South Pearl. 
Boenau — 165 Second Ave., North. 
Bonheim — 1298 Broadway, West. 
Bouck — 505 South Pearl to 210 Broad. 
Bowker — Allen St., South. 

Bradford — 117 Lexington Ave. to Partridge; 7 West 
Lawrence, North. 

Brevator — Washington Ave. to Western Ave. 
Bridge — Broadway to Lumber district. 
Broad — 124 Arch to Seymour Ave. 
Broadway — 1 Gansevoort to north city line. 
Browne — McCarty Ave., South. 
Buchanan — 282 Manning Blvd. to Bradford. 
Caldwell — Pine Ave., So., Westerly. 
Carroll — Spencer St., North. 

Catherine — 25 Clinton St. to 178 Delaware Ave. 
12 



178 Albany Guide Book 

Center — 15 Livingston Ave. to 12 N. Lansing St.; 
Champlain to 1231 Broadway. 

Champlain — Erie to North. 

Chapel — 22 Clinton Ave. to 87 State. 

Charles — 139 Grand to High (continued). 

Cherry — 171 Quay to 119 Franklin. 

Cherry Hill — First Ave. to McCarty Ave. 

Chestnut — 8 South Hawk to 226 Lark. 

Church — 286 Broadway to Gansevoort. 

Clermont — Quay to Broadway. 

Cleveland — Manning Blvd., So., to Lincoln Ave. 

Clifford — 98 Troy road, Westerly. 

Clinton — 134 Arch to 23 Second Ave. 

Colby — 611 Central Ave. to 784 Livingston Ave. 

Colonie — 126 Water to Pennsylvania Ave. 

Columbia — 73 Pier to Eagle. 

Congress — Capitol Place to South Swan. 

Corning — From end of Sumpter (W. A.) 

Cortland — Partridge to Marion Ave. 

Cuyler — 91 Elizabeth over Sloan. 

Dallius — 42 Hudson Ave. to 47 Madison Ave. 

Daniel — 86 Beaver to 75 Eagle. 

Davis — Stop 3. Western Ave., South. 

Dean — 14 Maiden Lane to State. 

Delaware — 55 Clinton St., West. 

Dewitt — 172 Montgomery to 843 Broadway. 

Division — 350 Broadway to 82 South Pearl. 

Dove — 216 Clinton Ave. to Spruce; Elk to Park Ave. 
Continued; 266 Morton Ave. to 207 Second Ave. 

Duane — Summit Ave., South. 

Eagle — 40 Sheridan Ave to 111 Alexander. 

Elizabeth — 17 Warren to 59 Second Ave, 



Albany Guide Book 179 

Elk— Eagle to 102 Ontario. 
Elm — 79 Grand to 16 Delaware Ave. 
Elmendorf — First Ave to McCarty Ave. 
Emmet — 1086 Broadway, West. 
Erie — Canal to 1157 Broadway (North Albany); 
Lincoln Ave., South to New Scotland Ave. 
Ethelbert — 1322 Broadway, West. 
Exchange — 47 Quay to 39 Dean; 

Watervliet Ave., West to Sand Creek 
road. 
Fairview— Partridge to beyond Oakwood. 
Federal — 347 Delaware Ave. to Summit Ave. 
Ferry, No. — The river to 881 Broadway. 

So.— 134 Broadway to 220 South Pearl. 
First — 22 Ten Broeck to 90 Ontario. 
Franklin — 94 Madison Ave. to 23 Gansevoort. 
Fulton — 10 Market to 125 Madison Ave. 
Gansevoort — 205 Quay to 372 South Pearl. 
Garden — O'Connel to Hurlbut. 
Genesee — 1124 Broadway to 483 North Pearl. 
Glenn — First Ave. to McCarty Ave. 
Glenwood — New Scotland Ave. to beyond Fairview. 
Gould — 115 Colonic, North. 
Grand — 66 Beaver to 15 Morton Ave. 
Graves — From Central Ave., S. W. 
Green — 50 State to Gansevoort. 
Halfmoon — Quay to Broadway. 

Hamilton — 324 Broadway to 284 Lark; 245 Quail to 
213 Partridge. 

Hampton — 468 Second Ave. to Leedale. 
Hancock — 146 Second Ave. to Liebel. 
Herkimer — 65 Church to 154 South Pearl. 



180 Albany Guide Book 

High — 168 State to 230 Madison Ave. 

Hodge — 93 Quay to 283 Broadway. 

Howard — 15 South Pearl to opposite 36 Eagle. 

Hurlbut — 318 Delaware Ave. to 325 Second Ave. 

Hutton — Mohawk St., North. 

Irving — 182 South Swan, West. 

Jackson — 49 Spencer to 50 Livingston Ave. 

James — 63 State to 44 Columbia. 

Jay — 64 Eagle to 250 Lark; also, from 197 Quail, and 
East from 61 Allen St., North. 

Jeanette — Zld Delaware Ave. to Avenue C. 

Jefiferson — 122 Eagle to 12 Delaware Ave. 

John — 133 Quay to 39 Franklin. 

Judson — 473 Clinton Ave. to Manning Blvd., No. 

Kate — 12 Cuyler Ave., S. W. 

Kehoe — McCarty Ave. to end First Ave. 

Kent — 159 Allen, No., to West Lawrence. 

Knox — 494 Madison Ave., South to Myrtle Ave. 

Krank — 58 Second Ave., South to Seymour Ave. 

La Fayette — 1 Park PI. to North Hawk. 

Lancaster — 54 Eagle to 36 Willett; 

Ontario to Manning Blvd., So. 

Lark — Colonic to Morris. 

Lawn — 1282 Broadway to Rensselaer Ave. 

Lawrence — From the river to 861 Broadway. 

Learned — 59 North Ferry to 16 Thacher. 

Leedale — Hampton to Barrows. 

Leonard — 90 Second Ave., South (to end Seymour 
A-ve.). 

Liberty — 30 Hudson Ave. to 39 Madison Ave. 

Liebel — Leonard St., West. 

Lily — Hazelhurst Ave., Westerly. 



Albany Guide Book 181 

Locust — Western Ave (Stop 5^) East. 

Lodge — 90 Columbia to 75 Beaver. 

McKinley — Manning Blvd., South to Lincoln Ave. 

McKown — O'Connell, East. 

Magazine — City line, near west bounds. 

Main — Champlain to 1247 Broadway. 

Manor — 979 Broadway to the canal. 

Maplewood — New Scotland Ave. to Fairview Ave. 

Market — 73 South Pearl to 87 Eagle. 

Marshall — '364 Delaware Ave., across Second Ave. 

Matilda — Second Ave. to beyond city line. 

Mercer — 141 South Lake Ave. to Marion Ave. 

Mill — Manor, North over bridge. 

Milton — Delaware Ave., South to McCarty Ave. 

Mohawk — 1112 Broadway, West. 

Monroe — 114 North Pearl to opp. 14 Sheridan. 

Montgomery — Columbia to 24 North Ferry. 

Moore — 183 Second Ave., north to Zimmerman. 

Morris — Delaware Ave. to 41 Allen, So. 

Mosher — 12 Hamilton to 85 Madison Ave, 

Mulberry — 160 Quay to 97 Franklin. 

Nineteenth — Washington Ave. to Western Ave. 
(Pine Hills). 

Norfolk — Kenosha Ave. ( near Leighton Ave.) south. 

North — From the canal to 1263 Broadway. 

North Ferry — From the river to 881 Broadway. 

North Fifth — Broadway, W^est (North Albany). 

North First — 1142 Broadway to Rensselaer Ave. 
(North Albany). 

North Fourth — Broadway, West (North Albany). 

North Hawk — 31 Washington Ave. to 40 First St. 

North Lansing — 134 Water to 823 Broadway. 



182 Albany Guide Book 

North Pearl — 11 State to city line, North. 

North Second — 1190 Broadway, West. 

North Swan — 84 Van Woert to 153 Clinton Ave. 

North Third — 1268 Broadway, West (North Albany). 

Norton — 7 Green to 24 South Pearl. 

Oak — 233 Second St. to Swinton. 

Oakwood — New Scotland Ave., N. E. 

O'Connell — McCarty Ave. to Anne St. 

Odell — 50 Second Ave., South to Seymour Ave. 

Ontario — 583 Livingston Ave., South to 131 Wood- 
lawn Ave. 

Orange — Qi-iay to Robin. 

Ormand — South from Stop 3 Western Ave. 

Osborne — 39 Elizabeth, West to Dove. 

Oxford — North from Stop 5 Western Ave. 

Park — 156 State to 11 Lancaster. 

Parkwood — New Scotland Ave. to Edison Ave. 

Partridge — 718 Clinton Ave., South to New Scotland 
Ave. 

Philip — 112 Hudson Ave. to Providence. 

Pine — Eagle to 47 Chapel. 

Pleasant — 940 Broadway to Railroad. 

Plum — 183 Quay to 147 Franklin. 

Providence — 9 Elizabeth to Beaver Park; So. Lake 
Ave. to Allen St. So. 

Pruyn — 310 Broadway to 46 Liberty. 

Putnam — 170 Second Ave. South. 

Quackenbush — 64 Montgomery to 683 Broadway. 

Quail — Livingston Ave. to New Scotland Ave. 

Quay — 2 Quackenbush to Gansevoort. 

Rathbone — 31 No. Ferry to Thacher. 



Albany Guide Book 183 

Rawson — 589 Central Ave. to Reservoir; 663 Third 
to Livingston Ave. 

Rensselaer — 153 Quay to 262 So. Pearl. 

Revere — 355 Delaware Ave. to Summit. 

Road — Opp. 129 Sheridan Ave. to 21 So. Swan. 

I>obin — 486 Clinton Ave. to Myrtle Ave. 

Russell — Western Ave. East (at Stop 5. 

Sand — 235 Second Ave.. North. 

Sanders — 196 Second Ave. to First Ave. 

Schuyler — 80 Broadway to 40 Clinton. 

Scott — Krank to Leonard (So. of 2d Ave.) 

Second — Opp. 49 Ten Broeck to Manning Blvd., 

North. 

Seneca — Woodlawn Ave. (opp. Ontario to New Scot- 
land Ave.) 

Sherman — 171 Lark to Partridge. 

Sligo — From O'Connell, East. 

Slingerland — 219 Second Ave. to Catherine. 

Sloan — 100 Third Ave. to 85 Second Ave. 

South — Champlain to 1213 Broadway. 

South Ferry — 134 Broadway to 220 So. Pearl. 

South Hawk— 184 State to 185 Third Ave. 

South Jackson— Third Ave. to Second Ave. 

South Lansing — 77^^ Church to 21 Franklin. 

South Pearl — 88 State to Bethlehem line. 

South Swan — 150 Clinton Ave. to Catherine, 

Spencer — Water St. to 719 Broadway. 

Spring — 21 Dove to opp. Northern Blvd; 
11 Cortland Place to 186 Ontario. 
Main Ave. to Pine Ave.. North. 

Spruce — Eagle to Northern Blvd. 

Stanwix — 420 Delaware Ave. to Second Ave., So. 



184 Albany Guide Book 

State — Recreation pier to Western Ave.; 
Cortland Place to 135 Partridge; 
107 No. Allen to 123 Pine Ave., No. 

Stephen — 50 Third Ave. to 43 Second Ave. 

Steuben — Railroad to Lodge. 

Sumpter — 2 Exchange to Corning (W. A.) 

Swan — See North and South Swan. 

Swinton — Oak St. terminus to Judson. 

Sycamore — New Scotland Ave., South. 

Ten Broeck — Zl Clinton Ave., across Colonic. 

Terminal — 610 Livingston Ave. to Railroad. 

Teunis — Zd Third Ave. to 7>Z Second Ave. 

Thacher — The canal to 939 Broadway. 

Third — 40 North Swan to Grant Ave. 

Thornton — 281 Second St. across McCrossin Ave. 

Tivoli — East of Mill St. to Northern Blvd. 

Van Orden — 14 Putnam, Southeast. 

Van Tromp — 638 Broadway to 107 No. Pearl. 

Van Woert — 868 Broadway to Northern Blvd. 

Van Zandt — 113 So. Pearl to 44 Philip. 

Vine — 194 Quay to 169 Franklin; Tafft Ave. to Pine 
Ave., South. 

Walter — No. First St., North to city line. 

Warren — 153 Grand to Beaver Park; So. Lake Ave. 
to So. Allen. 

Water — 13 Columbia to North Ferry. 

Watervliet — Loudonville Road to north city line. 

Wayne — Benjamin, West over Leonard. 

Wendell — 52 Howard to 97 Beaver. 

West — 98 Robin to 146 Ontario; West Lawrence to 
Allen. 



Albany Guide Book 185 

West Lawrence — 620 Central Ave. to New Scotland 
Ave. 

West Van Vechten — 207 Second Ave., North across 
Garden St. 

Westerlo — 124 Quay to 42 Trinity Place. 

Whitehall — 289 Second Ave. to Garden. 

Wilbur — 93 Grand to 76 Philip. 

Willett — opp. 2)11 State to 469 Madison ave. 

William — 10 Howard to 87 Hudson Ave. 

Willow — West Lawrence to 219 No. Allen. 

Wilson — 740 Broadway to TiZ Ten Broeck. 

Wood — 151 Colonic, North. 

Yates — 150 So. Lake Ave. to 25 So. Allen. 

Zimmerman — Dove St. continued over Moore to 
Babcock. 

AVENUES 

Albion — 515 Delaware Ave., West. 

Alden — Second Ave., South. 

Almon — Kenosha Ave., South. 

Arcadia — Zoor Ave., West. 

Austin Ave. — Central Ave., near Mereline, South. 

A — Frisbie Ave., East. 
40 Seneca St., East. 

B — Bertha St., East. 

Grove Ave. to Seneca St. 

C — Bertha St., East. 

D — Frisbie Ave. to Bertha. 

Besch — 201 Delaware Ave., West. 

Beverly — No. Bvd. to Judson. 

Bohl — 602 Delaware Ave., East. 

Brookline — Western Ave., South. 

Brookside — Troy Road at Menands. 



186 Albany Guide Book 

Carpenter — O'Connell, East. 
Cemetery — Troy Road to cemeteries. 
Central — 183 Lark to city line. 
Clare — 204 Second Ave., across McCarty Ave. 
Clinton — 682 Broadway, to Manning Square. 
Clover — Wilkins Ave., Northwest. 
Colvin — Washington Ave. to Central Ave. 
Cuyler — 449 Delaware Ave., over city line. 
Dana — Delaware Ave. to Robin, 
Darwin — Kenosha Ave., South. 
Daytona — Stop 4 Western Ave., South. 
Delaware — 422 Madison Ave., South. 
Dongan — 46 Madison Ave. to Gansevoort. 
Edgewood — Across end Melrose Ave. 
Edison — Glenwood to Oakwood. 
Elmhurst — Magazine, Easterly. 
Elmwood — From 110 Troy Road (Menands). 
Euclid — From Western Ave. (near stop 1), South. 
Fairlawn — Western Ave., Northeast. 
Fern — Wilkins Ave., Northwest. 
Filbert — Livingston Ave., Northeast. 
First — 513 So. Pearl, West to Bertha St. 
Forest — New Scotland Ave., South. 
Fourth — 189 Quay to 68 Elizabeth. 
Frisbie — 268 Second Ave. to First Ave, 
Frost — Hazelhurst Ave., South. 

Glendale — New Scotland Ave. to Helderberg Ave. 
Glenwood — from Troy Road (near fair grounds). 
Grant — 665 Central Ave. North. 

Grove — 261 New Scotland Ave. to Woodlawn; south 
to Helderberg Ave. 

Haverhill — McCarty Ave., South. 



Albany Guide Book 187 

Hawthorn — Across Melrose Ave. beyond Fairlawn. 

Hazel — Livingston Ave., Northeast. 

Hazelhurst — Mereline, beyond Central Ave., West. 

Helderberg — Highland Ave. to Forest Ave. 

Hickory — Livingston Ave. (near Quail), Northeast. 

Highland — New Scotland Ave. (beyond So. Lake 
Ave.), South. 

Hillcrest — South from Stop AYi, Western Ave. 

Hoffman — 310 Second Ave., across McCarty Ave. 

Holland — Delaware Ave. to New Scotland Ave. 

Homestead — Western Ave. (near 19th St.), across 
Melrose. 

Hudson — 392 Broadway to Partridge; Main Ave. to 
Allen St., North. 

Hunter — Manning Blvd. North to Grant Ave. 

Jasmine — Wilkins Ave., Northwest. 

Kenosha — Philbrick Ave., Southeast. 

King — 700 Central Ave. to Bradford St. 

Laurel — Fairlawn Ave., Northwest. 

Lawnridge — New Scotland Ave. (near Quail), South. 

Leighton — McCarty Ave., South. 

Lenox — Western Ave. (near Stop 2). 

Lexington — 284 Second Ave. to 325 Washington 
Ave. 

Lincoln — West Lawrence over No. Allen; Erie to 
Magazine St. 

Livingston — 110 Water St. to 63 Watervliet Ave. 

Lyons — Brookside Ave. to Menands Road 
(Menands). 

McArdle — Livingston Ave., Northeast to Beverly. 

McCarty — 531 So. Pearl to Delaware Ave. 

McCrossin — Manning Blvd., Northwest. 



188 Albany Guide Book 

Madison — Quay St. West to 836 Western Ave. 

Main, No. — 1059 Madison Ave., North. 

Main, So. — 1024 Madison Ave., South. 

Maple — Grove Ave. to Woodlawn. 

Mapleriidge — Delaware Ave. beyond Whitehall 
Road, Northwest. 

Maplewood — Crossing Locust and Russell Sts. 

Marion — Western Ave. to Hawkins Ave. (Pine 
Hills). 

Martin — 76 Manning Blvd., North to 99 Watervliet 
Ave. 

Melrose — 19th St., Northwest beyond Edgewood. 

Mereline — Central Ave. beyond City Line West to 
Washington Ave.; Delaware Ave. opp. McCarty to 
Simpson. 

Morton — 13 Clinton St. to 170 Delaware Ave. 

Mount View — Delaware Ave. (beyond McCarty), 
East. 

Mountain View — Philbrick Ave., Southeast. 

Myrtle — 127 Grand to Marion Ave. 

New Scotland — 558 Madison Ave. to City Line. 

N. Y. Central — Manning Blvd. North (beyond 3d) 
to Railroad. 

North Lake — 141 Western Ave. to 406 Second. 

Norwood — New Scotland Ave. to Woodlawn Ave. 

Nyack — Kenosha Ave., South. 

Onderdonk — Cortland St. West to New Scotland 
Ave. 

Orchard — Westerly from Stop 7, Western Ave. 

Orlando — Westerly from Stop 4, Western Ave. 

Park— 149 Grand St. to Allen St., South. 



Albany Guide Book 189 

Pennsylvania — Livingston Ave. (beyond Northern 
Blvd.) to Manning- Blvd., North. 

Philbrick — McCarty Ave., South to city line. 

Pierpont — Kenosha Ave. (near Haverhill) South. 

Pine, No. — Western Ave. to Washington Ave. 

Pine, So. — Western Ave. to New Scotland Ave. 

Pleasant Viev^^ — South from Stop 7, Western Ave. 

Prospect — From Terminal near Railroad. 

Railroad — 824 Broadway to 16 Van Woert St. 

Saco — Kenosha Ave., South. 

Second — 467 So. Pearl to Delaware Ave. 

Seminole — South from Stop 3j^ Western Ave. 

Seymour — Broad (below 2d Ave.) to Leonard St. 

Sheridan — 90 No. Pearl to Robin. 

So. Lake — 142 Western Ave. to New Scotland Ave. 

Sparkill — Delaware Ave. to McCarty Ave. 

Summit — Barclay St., South. 

Tafft — Cortland South to New Scotland Ave. 

Tampa — South from Stop 3^ Western Ave. 

Tappan — Nyack Ave., Southeast. 

Ten Eyck — Delaware Ave. (near Second Ave.) over 
city line. 

Terrace — Western Ave. (beyond 19th St.) over Mel- 
rose Ave. 

Teunis — Allen St. South (beyond Cortland) to 
West Lawrence. 

Third — 419 South Pearl to 161 South Hawk. 

Tillinghast — W'est from opp. 59 Troy Road (Me- 
nands). 

Van Rensselaer — Loudonville road North to city 
line. 

View — Mona Terrace, North and South. 



190 Albany Guide Book 

Washington — Eagle West to City Line. 
Watervliet — 635 Central Ave. to West Albany. 
Western — 312 Washington Ave. to Guilderland line. 
Wilkins — Livingston Ave. (beyond Thornton), 
Northeast over Beverly Ave. 

Woodbine — From Idlewild park (Colonie). 
Woodlawn — 159 So. Lake Ave. to 393 Partridge St. 
Zoor — From 6 Mapleridge Ave. 

PLACES 

Ash Grove — 45 Trinity to 114 Grand. 
Avon — Locust to Russell. 
Bleecker — 151 Eagle to 96 Philip. 
Capitol — Washington Ave. to State. 
Cliff — Allen St., South. 
Columbia — Eagle, near Columbia St. 
Cortland — 470 Washington Ave. to 159 Western 
Ave. 

Cuyler — McCarty Ave. to Sparkill Ave. 

Dale — Allen St., South to West Lawrence. 

Ditson — 229 Livingston Ave. to 250 Colonie. 

Droogan — From 5 Clinton St. 

Elberon — 47 South Lake Ave. to opp 193 Quail. 

Englewood — Western Ave. to the Park. 

Frost — Central Ave, beyond Mereline, Southerly. 

Garfield — 14 Colby to 35 Watervliet. 

Hall — Second St. to Ten Broeck Place. 

Kenmore — Between 65 Columbia and Chapel St. 

Kings — 27 North Swan, East. 

Kirk — 902 Broadway to 383 North Pearl. 

Leonard — 69 Delaware Ave., West. 

Madison — 493^ Philip to 125 Eagle St. 



Albany Guide Book 191 

Merchant — 162 Hamilton to 105 Eagle. 

Orr — 74 Myrtle Ave. to 91 Park Ave. 

Park — 2 La Fayette to 1 Washington Ave. 

Phoenix — From 144 Hudson Ave. 

Prospect — 119 Philip to Eagle. 

Providence — 103 Delaware Ave., West. 

Ramsa — New Scotland Ave., West of Norwood 
Ave. 

St. Ann's — From 95 Fourth Ave. 

Sheridan — 69 Sheridan Ave. to 102 Orange St. 

Sprague — 312 Washington Ave. to 461 State. 

Ten Broeck — opp. 11 Ten Broeck to 41 North 
Swan. 

Trinity — 126 Madison Ave. to 125 Arch St. 

Whitehall — From Delaware Ave. (opp. Second 
Ave.). 

BOULEVARDS 

Berkshire — Orlando Ave., North, 
Manning, No. — 549 Central Ave. to Van Woert St. 
Manning, So. — Western Ave. to 542 Central Ave. 
Northern — 401 State St. to Van Rensselaer Ave. 

ROADS 

Bethlehem — From end South Pearl St., South. 
Kenmar — From 3 Lyons Ave. (Menands). 
Kenwood — From So. Pearl near Bethlehem line. 
Loudonville — From 998 Broadway, Northwest. 
McDonald — Whitehall Road to Maplebridge Ave. 
Menands— 77 Troy Road, West. 
Russell — Central Ave., North to city line. 
Sard — Whitehall Road to Mapleridge Ave. 



192 Albany Guide Book 

Schenectady — Terminus Central Ave. to railroad 
bridge. 

Shaker — Loudonville Road, West to City Line. 
Troy — Continuation of Broadway from City Line. 
Villa — From Brookside Ave. (Menands). 
Whitehall — Continuation of Second Ave. 

TURNPIKES 

Albany and Schenectady — From end Central Ave., 
West. 

DRIVES 
Catalpa — Summit Ave., West. 

LANES 

Garbrance — Troy Road, East. 
Hart's — From Cemetery Ave. 
Maiden — .34 Quay St. to 25 Eagle. 
Ward's — Troy Road (beyond Chadwick park) Me- 
nands. 

ALLEYS 
Center — Porter Court, North. 
Eagle — Opposite 19 Hamilton to opp. 8 Pruyn. 
Garden — 101 Dove, Westerly. 
Hunter's — 72 North Swan, West. 
John St. — 12 John to 19 Westerlo. 
Lancaster — 3 Lancaster to Park. 
Ludlow — 57 CHnton Ave. to 83 North Hawk. 
Mosher St. — 15 Mosher, West. 
Warren St — 6 Warren to 10 Elizabeth. 
W^atson — 50 South Hawk to 131 South Swan, 
Wendell — 104 Eagle to 56 High St. 



Albany Guide Book 193 

TERRACES 

Bogart — 216 Second Ave., South 
Delaware — 235 Delaware Ave., North. 
MacPherson — 475 to 511 Clinton Ave. 
Magnolia — 247 Delaware Ave., West. 
Mona — Delaware Ave., East. 
St. Joseph's — Opp. 30 First St. to Second St. 
Thurlow — Opp. 99 Western Ave., South. 

SQUARES 

Clinton — North Pearl between Orange and Clinton 
Ave. 

Delaware — Myrtle Ave., Lark St., Delaware Ave. 
Manning — Junction Central and Clinton Aves. 
Market — 90 Beaver to 95 Hudson Ave. 
Steamboat — Broadway and Church St. 

HEIGHTS 

Dudley — Junction Manning Blvd., North, and North- 
ern Blvd. 

Kenwood — South Pearl, South of McCarty Ave. 

MISCELLANEOUS 

Island Creek — Foot of Green St. 
Lumber District — North Ferry St., North. 
Osborne Row — Clare Ave. from McCarty, North. 
Porter Court — 52 Benjamin St. to 2 Odell. 
Prospect Hill — Between Prospect Ave. and Railroad. 
Speedway — Washington Ave. from Quail to Allen. 
13 



194 Albany Guide Book 

TEACHERS COLLEGE 

A handsome building of classical design, at 
Western avenue and Robin street, houses the 
State College for Teachers. The main building 
is 200 by 80 feet; the science building 90 by 180 
and the chapel 80 by 160 feet. The Western 
avenue front is very impressive because of the 
central facade and the colonnade. The school is 
now 72i years old and the present handsome 
building was opened in 1909. It has about 1,000 
scholars enrolled and over 4,000 graduates up to 
date. It annually sends out about 150 teachers 
into the high schools of the State. 

TELEGRAPH OFFICES 

Both the Western Union and the Postal com- 
panies have their offices on State street, — the 
W^estern Union a few doors below James street 
and the Postal a few doors above Pearl street. 
Both have branches in the Capitol. 

Note. — The first telegraph office was opened in 1845 
in the old Exchange building which stood on a portion 
of the site of the present Post Office building. The 
line between Albany and New York was completed in 
1846. 



Albany Guide Book 195 

MEMORANDA 



196 Albany Guide Book 

TELEPHONE BUILDING 

The great marble edilice on State street near 
the Capitol is the home of the telephone com- 
pany and houses one of the best equipped ser- 
vices in the country. It was erected in 1914-15, 
is twelve stories high, l)uilt of steel, stone and 
concrete and cost approximately v$l, 500,000. It 
was occupied in 1915. The building fronts 75 
feet on State street by 190 feet on Park street 
and is 211 feet high above the street. Experts 
say it is one of the few perfect office buildings in 
the State. The first, second, third and part of 
the fourth floors are used exclusively by the Tele- 
phone compau}' for its business ; other floors 
are occupied chiefly by State officers. 

There are two floors below the street level, the 
first containing the steam heating and refrig- 
erating plants, gas engines, cable vault and 
storerooms. In the basement are lockers and the 
janitor's quarters. On the main floor are located 
the local commercial offices of the Hudson river 
division of the company, covering eighteen 
counties. The long distance switchboards oc- 
cupy the second floor, where also are spacious 
lunch and rest rooms for the employees. The 
third floor is given over to the local switch- 
boards and the fully equipped training school 



Albany Guide Book 197 

which the company conducts for its operators. 
Part of the fourth tioor is taken up by the termi- 
nal room, and on the sixth floor are located the 
company's offices. 

At present there are 86 operating positions 
with a capacity for serving- 20,000 stations. The 
Albany switchboard alone now handles 18,835 
telephones with a daily average of 123,000 local 
and 1,600 long distance calls. There are 267 op- 
erators. 

In addition to the guaranteed fireproof con- 
struction, protection against fire is given by a 
fire-proof tower for exits, a huge standpipe, great 
tanks on the roof holding 3,500 gallons of water 
and a tank in the basement holding 10,000 gal- 
lons. A sprinkler system is used. 

Note. — Albany was one of the first cities in the coun- 
try to have a telephone installation and the interesting 
history of its development was given by Mr. F. H. 
Bethel before the City Planning Association in 1913. 
Tn substance he said: Early in 1877 a line was run from 
the Atlantic and Pacific Telegraph company at 444 
Broadway to the residence of Charles Sewell at Bath- 
on-the-Hudson. This was about one year after Prof. 
Bell had exhibited his speaking telephone at the Cen- 
tennial exposition at Philadelphia. Early in 1878 the 
American District Telegraph company opened the first 
telephone exchange over the Van Heusen and Charles 



198 Albany Guide Book 

store at 470 Broadway — the third in existence. A 
second telephone company formed during the follow- 
ing year with offices at 558 Broadway, but in 1880 there 
M'^as a consolidation and in 1883 the Albany company 
became a part of the Hudson River Telephone com- 
pany. In 1891 a telephone building was completed at 
Maiden lane and Chapel street which was occupied on 
October 1, 1892. The growth of the business was very 
rapid — from 1.000 telephones in 1891 to 4,100 in 1901, 
to approximately 16,000 in 1913. 

(In 1916 the total number of telephones in use in the 
city was approximately 20,190, and the growth steadily 
going on shows how necessary was the erection of the 
new building. 

THEATERS 

Player folk always have had a ready welcoine 
in Albany and students of things theatrical will 
find highly interesting details in the special study 
by Henry P. Phelps entitled " Players of a Cen- 
tury ; a Record of the Albany Stage." The lead- 
ing theatre at present is Harmanus Bleecker Hall 
(p. 89) ; owned by the Young Men's Associa- 
tion ; opened October 9, 1889; remodeled 1898; 
seats 1,800. 

Other playhouses are : The Old Leland Opera 
house on South Pearl street between Hudson 
avenue and Beaver street; occupies the site of an 
old theater erected in 1824; Academy of Music, 



Albany Guide Book 199 

opened on the site by John M. Trimble in 1863; 
burned January 29, 1868; rebuilt and reopened 
December 30, 1869; seats 1,000. The Empire 
theatre, State street above Pearl street; built in 
1898; opened September 12 that year; seats 
1,200. There now also are many "motion pic- 
ture " theaters located in various parts of the 
city, having an aggregate seating capacity of 
12,h4. 

Note. — Professional theatrical performers were first 
licensed to play in Albany in 1769 by Gov. Moore and 
the old hospital building on Barrack street (now Pine) 
was fitted with a stage for their use. In 1812 the 
famous Green street theater was built which opened 
January 18, 1813, and was the first theater in Albany; 
later it became a church, but on July 5, 1852, it re- 
opened as a theater and became a concert hall where 
Ada Isaacs Menken first appeared as Mazeppa. It was 
next a business house, then a variety theater (the 
Gaiety) and finally in 1913 burned down. 

VALE OF TAWASENTHA 

The beautiful valley of the Normanskill, made 
famous by Longfellow's " Hiawatha," is but 
four miles from the city and occasionally is vis- 
ited by visitors who are curious about the loca- 
tion described in the poem. 



200 Albany Guide Book 

VIADUCTS 

Three spacious steel bridges span the valleys 
in various parts of the city, Hawk street ; length 
986 feet ; opened in 1890. Knox street ; length 
759 feet; opened in 1898. Northern Boulevard; 
length 653 feet ; opened in 1896. There also is a 
small viaduct called the " Broadway," which is 
for railroad use only. 

WATERWORKS 

The administration building is located on 
Quackenbush street just below Broadway, 
where also are the great pumping engines. An 
effort once was made (1885) to get a water 
supply from driven wells on the flats above the 
city, but it proved an expensive failure. The 
present ample water supply is secured from the 
river, filtered and purified (chemically) and in 
part stored in great reservoirs from which it is 
drawn as required. See " Reservoirs " (p. 152). 

Note. — In 1686 Albany got its water from a pond at 
the head of Yonkers (State) street, created by a dam 
across a stream, and through small bored logs. In 1796 
the Legislature authorized the city to procure water 
by conduit. In 1797 Stephen Van Rensselaer granted 
the city permission to use Maezlandt kill (northwest of 
the city) for a water supply. In 1802 the Albany 



Albany Guide Book 201 

Waterworks compaii}^ was incorporated and built a 
stone reservoir in 1911 where now stands the County 
court house at Eagle, Columbia and Steuben streets. 
In 1848 the Common Council voted in favor of a city- 
water supply " at public expense." . In 1850 the city 
water commission bought the Patroon's creek and ad- 
jacent land for $150,000 and later awarded $600,000 
worth of work on a water system at West Albany. In 
1851 Bleecker reservoir was under construction and 
later the Patroon's creek was dammed to form Rens- 
selaer and Tivoli lakes. The pumping station on 
Quackenbush street was established in 1875. 

WATER FRONT 

Taking the place of the old wooden docks and 
narrow street along- the river front now is a solid 
and attractive line of concrete docks on wdiich 
are erected the various structures required for 
the transaction of the steadily growing passenger 
and freight l:)usiness of the navigation lines. Ad- 
equate provision also is made here for safe con- 
nections for the great raih'oad lines connecting 
with navigation at this point (see p. 154). 

WEATHER BUREAU 

Located in the tower of the Government 
building at the foot of State street is a well- 
equipped and valuable observation station. Its 
records run back many years and are available 



202 Albany Guide Book 

for reasonable use. The scientist in charge of 
the station is a Federal employee and has at his 
command all the latest inventions for use in his 
important work. 

WEST ALBANY 

This suburb contains the great repair shops 
and other buildings of the Central railroad 
which are located on private property and 
fenced in. Strangers having business to trans- 
act can, however, secure admission. The place 
once was one of the largest cattle markets in the 
country and also handled many sheep. Take a 
A\^est Albany car. 

YOUNG MEN'S ASSOCIATION 

This organization, which is the oldest of its 
kind in the United States, is located in Har- 
manus Bleecker Hall, which it controls. It con- 
ducts a useful library. It was founded in 1833 
and incorporated in 1835. For years the associa- 
tion was located at North Pearl and Steuben 
street, where afterward was erected the Dela- 
ware & Hudson railroad building. See Public 
Hall (p. 89). 



Albany Guide Booic 203 

YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION 

This very popular institution has its admin- 
istration building at North Pearl and Steuben 
streets, its Railroad branch well housed on 
Broadway and also a fine building at West Al- 
bany. It was organized March 23, 1857. It is 
thoroughly equipped for its work and the North 
Pearl street building contains an especially good 
library, gymnasium with baths and up-to-date 
apparatus, and a large lecture hall. At the en- 
trance is a bronze tablet inscribed : 

This building is the gift of James B. Jermain to the 
Young Men's Christian Association of the city of 
Albany, The site is the gift of citizens. Cornerstone 
laid September 20, 1866. Building dedicated September 
22. 1877. • 

YOUNG WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION 

An attractive non-sectarian center for women 
occupies commodious quarters in the building 
facing on Lodge street and running from Steu- 
ben to Columbia. It contains pleasant parlors, 
reading rooms, Cafeteria, guest chambers for the 
accommodation of women strangers in the city 
and many other attractions. A spacious gymna- 
sium, the Acors Rathbun memorial, occupies a 
special adjoining building in the rear and was 



204 Albany Guide Book 

given by Mrs. Rathbun in 1906 as a memorial to 
her husband. 

Note. — The institution grew out of a determination 
on the part of Mrs. Rathbun and Miss Tweddle in 1888 
to provide a place where self-supporting- women could 
find lodging and protection. The newly organized 
y. W. C. A. first used two fiats at 128 State street; in 
1891 the Whitney residence was bought for $15,000, 
and on May 18 dedicated to the work. In 1904 Mrs. 
Rathbun bought from the Jermain estate property No. 
4 Lodge street and on November 15, 1905, the building 
was dedicated. Later the remainder of the block was 
S( cured. 

YACHT CLUB 

A popular organization formed on April 16, 
1873, which for 3'ears maintained a fleet of swift 
sailing racers. Originally its house w^as on the 
opposite side of the river where it was destroyed 
by fire. Its present magnificent cpuirters are in 
the handsome house on Recreation pier and its 
fleet consists of many motor boats. The yacht 
clubhouse is one of the most attractive in the 
countrv. 



Albany Guide Book 205 

ADDENDA 

ALBANY COUNTY HAMLETS 
List of villages and settlements of Albany 
county by towns, prepared in 1916 by Frederick 
Easton, Deputy County Clerk: 

Berne — Thompsons Lake, Berne. East Berne, West 
Berne, South Berne, Wolf Hill, Reidsville, Myrtle. 

Bethlehem — Hurstville, Slingerlands, Normansville, 
Elsmerc. Delmar, Kenwood. Glenmont, Bethlehem 
Center. Wemple, Beckers Corners, Cedar Hill, Calla- 
nans Corners (in three towns), South Bethlehem, Sel- 
kirk. 

Coeymans — Ravena, Coeymans. Acquetuck. Coey- 
mans Hollow, Indian- Fields, Keefers Corners, Alcove 
(also called Stephenville). 

Knox — Thompsons Lake, Knox, West Township, 
East Township. 

Colonie — Colonic, Lisha Kill, Karners, Verdoy, 
Shakers, Lathams. Newtonville, Irelands Corners, 
Loudonville, West Albany, Menands, Cemetery, Cres- 
cent Station. 

Guilderland — McKnownville, Meadowdale. Guilder- 
land. Guilderland Center. Altamont, Dunnsville, Sloans- 
ville (also called French's Mills), Fullers. 

New Scotland — Voorheesville. New Salem, New 
Scotland, L'nicnville, Clarksville, Onesquetha (also 
called Tarrytown), Feura Bush (also called Jerusalem), 
Stony Hill. 



206 Albany Guide Book 

Rensselaerville — Rensselaerville, Smiths Corners, 
Medusa, Cooksburg, Preston Hollow, Potter Hollow, 
Connersville. 

Westerlo — Van Leiivens Corners, Westerlo (also 
called Chesterville), DormansviHe, South Westerlo, 
Lambs Corners. 

ARCHITECTURE 

Many of the public and private buildings in 
Albany are noted for their architectural beauty. 
Very apparent examples are the Delaware & 
Hudson railroad edifice on the Plaza, the Capi- 
tol, the State PMucation building, the City Hall, 
the State house, the County- Court house, the 
Albany Academy, the Municipal Gas company 
building, the Telephone building, several of the 
new schools and a number of residences. Some 
of the few notable old houses remaining are fa- 
mous specimens of the architectural genius of 
their day. Experts have declared that " Archi- 
tectural Albany of today takes rank with the best 
cities in the country." Many periods of architec- 
ture are represented and the best talent of the 
craft has been employed to furnish adequate and 
appropriate designs. 



Albany Guide Book 207 

ARMS OF THE CITY 

Simon DeWitt, engineer on the staff of Gen- 
eral Washington, city surveyor and long sur- 
veyor-general of the State, is credited with de- 
signing the coat of arms of Albany which was 
adopted by the Common Council in 1789 and re- 
adopted in 1887. The device consists of a shield 
with sheaves of wheat on a red field (commemo- 
rating the city's early great flour trade) above 
which is a beaver at work (commemorating the 
early fur trade) ; on either side are a farmer and 
an Indian (producers of its wealth) ; above, a 
river" sloop under full sail (typifying the com- 
merce) ; below, the motto '' Assiduity " (com- 
memorating the dominant virtue of the early 
settlers). 

In 1752 the city seal containing a beaver was 
adopted by the Common Council. 

BI-CENTENNIAL 

The great historical celebration of the bi-cen- 
tenary of Albany as a chartered city opened on 
Sunday, July 18, 1886, with special appropriate 
services in all churches. The program included : 
Monday, July 19, Education day ; the opening of 
the city gates by Mayor John Boyd Thacher with 
ancient ceremonials; parade of trades and manu- 



208 Albany Guide Book 

factures ; canoe races in Washington park ; fire- 
works in the park in the evening. Tuesday, All 
Nations day; parade of all nationalities; regatta 
on the river; planting in Washington park of an 
oak tree by the Germans and of an elm by the 
colored citizenry. Wednesday, Civic day ; grand 
general celebration. Thursday, Bi-centennial day ; 
grand general celebration and distribution of 
medals. Friday, ALanufacturers' day; parades 
and other events. The distinctive feature of the 
celebration was a big loan exhibition in the Al- 
bany Academy building, showing treasures of the 
old city homes, which opened July 5. The 'cele- 
bration was notable for a bi-centennial flag, a 
memorial book, a beautiful souvenir card and a 
number of distinctive medals. The attendance at 
this celebration w^as to great that tents were 
placed in the parks to accommodate visitors. 

BICYCLES 

In 1900 it was estimated that there were about 
5,000 wheels in use in the city and riding was 
very popular. Several strong organizations ol; 
wheelmen existed, including the Albany Bicycle 
Club, organized 1880, house at 285 Lark street ; 
Capital City Wheelmen, house on Hudson ave- 
nue, near Willett street; Albany County Wheel- 



Albany Guide Book 209 

men, organized 1886, house at Madison avenue 
and Allen street; North End Wheelmen, organ- 
ized 1896, house at Broadway and Tivoli street, 
and the Triangle Cyclers, located in the Y. M. C. 
A. building. These all now are practically out of 
existence. 

BOOKS ABOUT ALBANY 

Some of the better known books about Albany 
bear the following titles : 

Albany — Its Place in the History of the United 
States. Berthold Fernow, 1884. 

Albany Bicentennial, The: Historical Memoirs. A. 
Bleecker Banks, 1884. 

Albany Chronicles. Ciiyler Reynolds, 1906. 

Albany Handbook, The. Henry P. Phelps, 1884. 

Albany Rural Cemetery, The. Henry P. Phelps, 1893. 

Annals of Albany. 10 vols. Joel Munsell, 1869. 

Capital Centenary, The. 1897. 

Collections on the History of Albany. Joel Mun- 
sell, 1871. 

Early Settlers of x\lbany. Prof. Jonathan Pearson. 

History of the City of Albany. A. J. Weise, 1884. 

History of Albany and Schenectady Counties. 
Howell-Tenney, 1886. 

Landmarks of Albany County. Amasa J. Parker> 
1897. 

14 



210 Albany Guide Book 

Players of a Century A Record of the Albany Stage. 
Henry P. Phelps. 1880. 

Public Parks of the City of Albany. Egerton, 1892. 

Reminiscences of Albany. J. J. Hill, 1884. 

Settlement and Early History of Albany. William 
Barnes, 1851. 

St. Peter's Church, History of. Rev. Joseph Hooper, 
1900. 

There also are many monographs, histories of 
churches and other buildings, biographies, etc. 

CAPITAL DISTRICT PARK 

Agitation for public recreation ground to bene- 
fit Albany, Troy, Schenectady, Rensselaer, 
Watervliet and Cohoes was begun in 1916 by 
Lynn J. Arnold and on December 7 of that year 
the Capital District Recreation League was 
organized in the State Education building by 
women representing the localities named. Mrs. 
P>. Darwin Jenison, representing the Albany 
Mothers Club, was chosen chairman. Prominent 
speakers were present and Judge Arnold outlined 
a project for a vSix City park to be located in the 
old Shaker settlement, eight miles from each of 
the localities interested. 



Albany Guide Book 211 

CITY FLAG 

As yet the city has no official flag. A move- 
ment in 1916 to adopt a city flag failed because 
of the violent opposition to putting the orange 
color in the emblem, although the Holland 
Society declared it was the original color of the 
United Netherlands and closely connected with 
the history of the city from its settlement by the 
Dutch. Judge Franklin M. Danaher, of the His- 
torical Society committee, insisted that the 
orange color would be offensive to many. The 
Common Council, on January 18, after hearing 
such arguments, voted for a flag having red, 
white and blue perpendicular bars. Mayor 
Joseph A\\ Stevens vetoed this on January 31, 
after many citizens had objected that orange, 
white and blue were the colors of old Fort 
Orange and thus properly the colors for Albany 
instead of the adaptation of the nation colors 
proposed. 

COASTING 

This winter pastime was popular with the early 
settlers and continued to be so for years until the 
city's grow^th and the street cars made it too 
dangerous. In 1887 a winter carnival was held 
which was notable for the " bob sled " parade, 
in which the Beverwyck, 28 feet long, and the 



212 Albany Guide Bo6k 

Brooklyn Bridge, 40 feet long, took part. The 
coasting was done on Madison avenne hill, which 
was roped off and policed for safety. In 1888 an 
ice palace was erected in Washington park and a 
carnival held on January 15. In 1889 on Febru- 
ary 2, during a carnival, the sled races on 
Madison avenue were marred by fatal accidents 
and Charles O'llara w^as killed by the " bob " 
Alderman Connors. Thereafter the sport was 
discontinued because of the danger at the street 
crossings and the many serious accidents which 
kept occurring. 

FAMOUS CITIZENS 
Many distinguished men have claimed Albany 
as their home city all through its history. 
Among them were : 

(^Chester A. Arthur — Twenty-first President of the 
United States, notable sarcophagus in Rural cemetery?) 

James Dwight Dana — Eminent scientist, distinctive 
granite fountain erected 1903 by Dana Natural History 
society in small park at juncture of Madison and Dela- 
ware avenues. 

Joseph Henry — Distinguished scientist, commemor- 
ative bronze tablet on southeast corner of Albany 
Academy where he taught and his great discovery of 
the electro-magnet was made. 

Rufus H. King — Prominent banker, commemorative 
fountain in Washington park. 



Albany Guide Book 213 

Philip Livingston — Patriot and puljlicist, commem- 
orative tablet on North Pearl street. 

Joel Munsell — Printer and historian of early city, 
commemorative tablet in front of 60 State street. 

Philip Schuyler — Distinguished earV resident, tab- 
let on southwest corner County bank building at State 
and South Pearl streets. 

General Philip Sheridan — Renowned soldier, monu- 
ment in Capitol park. 

Kiliaen Van Rensselaer — Noted early res'dtnt, tab- 
let on City Hall front. 

Colonel Marinus Willett — Tablet set in huge 
boulder in Washington park, near State and Willett 
street entrance. 

GREAT FIRES 

On Xovember 17, 1793, fire swept the territory 
between Broadway, Maiden lane. State and 
James streets; loss $250,000. Several slaves 
accused of starting this conflagration were after- 
ward hanged on Pinxter Hill. On August 4, 
1797, lire destroyed fifty houses between Broad- 
way and Steuben street, Columbia street and the 
river. On April 17, 1828, a loss of $40,000 was 
caused by a fire which started in the bell foundry 
on Beaver street, ])etween Broadway and Green 
street, and burned through to Hudson avenue. 
On April 28, 1839, the *' Pearl Street House hre " 
destroyed property l^etween P^earl street, Madi- 
son avenue, Hamilton and Rose streets. . On 



214 Albany Guide Book 

August 17, 1848, occurred '' The Big Fire " which 
was started by a washerwoman in the Albion 
Hotel at Broadway and Herkimer street, and, 
driven by a strong wind, swept Broadway and 
Church street, crossed to the pier and swept 
everything along Broadway from Maiden lane to 
Hudson avenue. It was checked b}^ a heavy rain 
at night but destroyed 600 buildings and did 
damage estimated at $3,000,000. On January 16, 
1883, Tweddle Hall at State and Pearl streets 
burned. On March 3, 1883, the Dunlop elevator 
on Quay street, near Hamilton, was destroyed 
and there were several fatalities. 

HALL OF FAME 

In 1912 Rt. Rev. Bishop Doane, Episcopal 
bishop of Albany, by request, selected the 
'' Twenty Greatest Albanians " for a Hall of 
Fame for the city. The selection seems to have 
ended the matter, although the choice was very 
generally approved. The notable names on the 
list were : 

General Philip Sheridan — Greatest cavalry leader of 
the Union army. 

Professor Joseph P. Henry — Discoverer of the tele- 
graph. 

Mrs. Blandina Dudley — Founder of the Dudley 
observatory. 



Albany Guide Book 215 

Harmaniis Bleecker — Philanthropist. 

Philip Livingston — Signer of the Declaration of 
Independence. 

Madam A^bani — Singer of world-wide fame. 

General Peter Gansevoort — Revolutionary hero. 

Dr. John Swinburne — Noted surgeon and founder 
of the first free dispensary. 

Dr. James H. Armsby — Physician and surgeon, of 
whom there is a statue in Washington park. 

Dr. Thomas Hun — Physician and one of the found- 
ers of the Albany hospital. 

Rev. Dr. William B. Sprague — Presbyterian min- 
ister. 

General Philip Schuyler — Revolutionary hero^ 

Thomas Olcott — Banker and philanthropist. 

James B. Jermain — Philanthropist. 

Daniel Manning — Banker and statesman. 

Professor T. Romeyn Beck — Educator. 

Professor Peter Bullions — Educator and author of 
classical grammars. 

John V. L. Pruyn — Chancellor of the University of 
the 3tate of New York. 

Erastus Corning — Business man and public spirited 
citizen. 

Joel Munsell — Publisher. 

HEALTH 

Albany's death rate is low and the city is well 
suited by natural advantages and modern re- 
sources to be a sanitary city. The building of 
the intercepting sewer and sewage disposal plant 



216 Albany Guide Book 

have " cleaned house" most decidedly. There 
have been no serious outbreaks of disease in re- 
cent years. Past epidemics were : Cholera, in 
1832, when stores were closed, church services 
abandoned, the Lancaster school turned into a 
hospital and hundreds died. In 1834 and 1849 
the disease again was epidemic ; the latter year it 
broke out in June and was almost as deadly as 
in 1832. A slight cholera epidemic occurred 
again in 1854. 

HELDERBERGS 

A noted range of mountains about twenty 
miles west of the city from which they are easily 
visible. The name is derived from " Helle-berg " 
meaning " clear mountains," and was given by 
the original settlers of the section. The high 
cliffs are of limestone and filled with fossils. 
On their summit are the only two real lakes in 
the county — Thompson's and Warner's. The 
famous " Indian Ladder " region is included in 
Thacher park (p. 224) and is noted in song and 
story. 

Note. — On November 30, 1839, farmers in the moun- 
tains refused longer to pay toll to the Patroon and a 
short excitement known as the " Anti-rent war " 
resulted. It necessitated calling out the militia. 



Albany Guide Book 217 

MOTHERS' CLUB 

In September, 1889, Mrs. D. O. Mears, when 
president of the State Assembly of Mothers, had 
a call issued from the pulpits of the city churches 
for a meeting of women interested in mothers' 
work. It was held in the rooms of the Y. W. C. A. 
and resulted in having the convention of the 
Mothers' Assembly held in Albany in October, 
1899, in the Assembly chamber at the Capitol, 
the first time the great room ever was occupied 
by a woman's organization. In Xovember, 
1899, over 100 prominent women met in the 
Y. W. C. A. rooms and decided to form the Al- 
bany Mothers' Club. In December the com- 
mittees were selected and in January, 1900, 
officers were chosen, Mrs. Charles W. Cole being 
the first president. In April following, the club 
established the first summer playground for chil- 
dren in PJeaver (now Lincoln) park — the first 
in the city or vicinity. It was formally opened 
on July 18. The club incorporated in March, 
1904, and that year, Mrs. John D. Whish being 
president, Dudley park was opened as a play- 
ground. In 1908 Swinburne park playground was 
opened. The others followed (see Playgrounds). 



218 



Albany Guide Book 



NAMES MENTIONED IN TEXT 



PAGE 

Addington, George 65 

Ainsworth, Danforth E. . 221 

Albani, Madam 215 

Albertsen, Hendrick 41 

Allen, Benjamin 26 

Armsby, Dr. J. H.72, 134, 215 

Arnold, Lynn J 210 

Arthur, Chester A 212^^ 

Astor, John Jacob 97 

Banks, A. Bleecker 200 

Banks, Mrs. R. L 221 

Barclay, Thomas 56 

Barnes, William 9 

Battershall,Rev.W.W..36, 37 
Beck, Prof. T. Romeyn. .215 

Beekman, J. J 100 

Bender, Matthew 122 

Bethel, F. H 197 

Bingham, Reuben H 121 

Black, Gov. Frank S . , . . 44 
Bleecker, Harmanus 89 

90,215 
Bogardus, Anneke Janse 

16, 103 

Boss, Prof 133 

Boughton, George 30 

Bowditch, Mrs. Edward. 222 

Boyd, James 39 

Bradley, John E 93 

Brady, A. N 54, 112 

Bridgeford, William W . . 84 
Brines, George Francis. . . 45 

Bronck, Pieter 40 

Brunner, Arnold W 9 

Bullions, Prof. Peter. .37, 215 

Burr, Aaron 19, 60 

Calverly, Charles I34vj 

Chester, Alden 65 



PAGE 

Clarke, Dr. John M .167, 224 

Clinton, Gov. Dewitt 102 

Cole, Mrs. Charles W 217 

Cooper, Gen. John Tay- 
lor 60 

Corning, Erastus 60 

.89,92,215 

Coster, S., Cornelia 91 

Crook, Alfred T 30 

Cox, Dr. James W 72 

Dana, Prof. J. D 63, 212 

Danaher, Franklin M.. . . 211 

Davidson, George G 221 

Davis, Sallie 160 

Dederick, Archibald M . . 32 

De Witt, Simon 1 74, 207 

Dielman, Frederick 34 

Doane, Rt. Rev. W. C. 54, 214 

Dongan, Gov. Thomas. . . 5 

10, 52 

Douw, Volckert J 40 

Draper, Andrew S 75 

Dudley, Mrs. Blandina. .214 

Easton, Frederick 205 

Edson, Calvin 128 

Elliott, Charles L 30 

Emmett, " Fritz " 62 

Fernow, Berthold 209 

Fine, John 40 

Finley, Dr. John H 224 

Fry, Joseph 69 

Fulton, Robert 172 

Fuller, Thomas 43 

Gay, Edward 30 

Gansevoort, H. H 40 

Gansevoort, Gen. Peter 

114.215 

Glandorf , Johannes 1 58 



Albany Guide Book 



219 



PAGE 

Glazier, Col. Willard 37 

Glynn, Gov. Martin H. 

160, 224 

Goodrich, Horace 180 

Greenalch, Wallace 152 

Hall, Prof. James . 85, 86, 136 

Ham, Frederick C 146 

Hamilton, Alexander. ... 96 

103,104 

Harris, Hamilton 44 

Harte, Bret 37 

Hazen, Allen 82 

Henry, Prof. Joseph 19 

26, 99, 106 
Herring, Dr. Rudolph ... 120 

Herzog, Jacob A 157 

Higgins, Michael J 84 

Hill, Gov. David B 62 

Hill, J. J 210 

Hill, Samuel 60 

Hills, Mrs. William R .. . 37 
Hoffman, Gov. John T. . . 44 
Hooper. Rev. Joseph. ... 210 

Howe, Lord 55, 102 

Hudson, Henry 9 

Hughes, Archbishop 54 

Hun, Dr. Thomas 215 

Hunter, Governor 56 

Irving, Washington . . .17, 103 

Janse, Anneke f 6, 103 

Jansen, Marcellus 39 

Jenison, Mrs. E. Darwin. 210 
Jermain, James B. . . 203, 215 

Keeley, Patrick C 57 

Kidd, James 47 

King, Gen. Charles 37 

King, Henry L 134 

King, Rufus H 1 34, 2 12 ^' 

Kunz, Dr. George F 224 

La Fayette, General 109 



PAGE 

Lanagan, Frank 154 

Lang, Charles M 30 

Lansing, Mrs. C. G 222 

Lansing, J. Townsend ... 98 

Lee. Ann 160 

Leonard, Jacob 136 

Lincoln, President 109 

Livingston, Philip 16 

106, 109, 213, 215 
Longfellow, Henry W.24, 199 

Loucks, J. Harris 65 

Low, Will H 30 

77, 124,203 

Manning, Daniel 215 

Manning, Mrs. Daniel. . . 94 

Manning, James H 221 

March, Dr. Alden 72 

Martin, Homer D 30 

Marvin, Rev. F. R 37 

MacNeil, H. A 162/^ 

McCall, John A 54 

McDougal, James 30 

McEwan, James B 9, 154 

McQuaid, James 83 

Mears, Mrs. D. 217 

Menand, Louis 128 

Menken, Ada Isaacs 199 

Milbank, Dr. WilHam E . 32 
Miller, George Douglas. . 221 

Mills, Col. John 135 

Monahan, M. J 37 

Moore, Governor 57 

Morgan, William 146 

Mosher, Dr. Jacob S . . . . 72 
Munsell, Joel 37 

107, 209, 213, 215 

Nichols, Governor 107 

Ochtman, Leonard 30 

O'Hara, Charles 212 

Olcott, Dudley 92, 94 



220 



Albany Guide Book 



PAGE 

Olcott, Thomas 215 

Ouderkirk, Jan Jansen ... 40 
Palmer, Walter Launt. . . 30 

Parker, Arthur C 168, 224 

Parker, Amasa J. . 90, 92, 209 

Parker, Mrs. A. J., Jr 222 

Parker, Mary 54 

Pearson, J 209 

Pennie, Robert 30 

Perry, Isaac G 79 

Phelps, Henry P. 198, 209, 210 

Pillsbury, Amos 138 

Pilcher, Louis F 67, 159 

Pruyn, Charles L 55 

Pruyn, Robert C 55 

Pruyn, John V. L. 44, 90, 215 

Pruyn, Mrs. J. V. L 55 

Rathburi, Acors 203 

Rathbun, Mrs. A 204 

Rathbun, Mrs. C. K 222 

Remington, Frederic .... 30 

Rennie, A. H 115 

Reynolds, Cuyler . .37, 40, 209 

Rhind, J. Massey 134 

Rice, Col. W. G 20, 174 

Rice, Mrs. W. G 55 

Richardson, H. H 59 

Robertson, Alexander.. . . 131 

Robertson, James 131 

Rockwell, F. W 115 

Roosevelt, Theodore 166 

Rudd, William P 65, 92 

Sage, Dean 222 

Sage, Henry M 143 

Saxe, John G 37 

Schermerhorn, Jacob J . . . 40 

Schutte, John "107, 158 

Schuyler, Elizabeth 96 

103, 104 



PAGE 

Schuyler, Col. Peter 11 

100, lOI 

Schuyler, Gen. Philip. ... 16 

96,103,159,213,215 

Sewell, Charles 197 

Sheldon, Professor 45 

Sheridan, Gen. Philip H . 160 
213,214 

Sprague, Rev. W. B 215 

Staley, Elhs J 65 

Stevens, Joseph W. . 160, 211 

Strong. Mrs. A. H 95 

Stuyvesant, Pieter .... 10, 66 

Sullivan, James 95 

vSwinburne, Dr. John .72,215 
Ten Broeck, Gen. A. . . 33, 94 

Ten Eyck, James 127 

Thacher, Mrs. E. T 224 

Thacher, John Boyd 37 

90, 100, 207 

Thompson, Launt 30 

Tilden, Gov. Samuel J. . . 79 

Tozier, Blanche 143 

Trimble, John M 199 

Tweddle, George 36, 55 

Tweddle, Miss 204 

Twitchell, Asa W 30 

Van Ingen, Harmanus. . . S^ 

Van Ingen, James 124 

Van Rensselaer, Mrs. W. B. 222 
Van Rensselaer, Jan Bap- 

tiste 10 

Van Rensselaer, Johannes 95 
Van Rensselaer, Kiliaen. 10 
56,95,106,213 
Van Rensselaer, Philip S. 46 
Van Rensselaer, Stephen 

97, 200 
Van Vechten, Cornelius. . 41 



Albany Guide Book 221 

PAGE PAGE 

Van Vechten, Jeremiah. . 41 Whish, Mrs. John D 217 

Ward, J. Q. A 161 Whitman, Gov. Charles S. 

Ward, Dr. Samuel B .... 72 128, 166 

Washington, General. . . . 108 Whitman, Olive 160 

Webster, Daniel 109 ■ Willett, Col. Marinus. 2^, 213 

Weed, Thurlow 15 Wilson, Stuart 38 

Weise, A. J 209 Winnie, William B 147 

Wheeler, Seth 139 Woods, Eugene D 54 

PRIVATE COLLECTIONS 

Danforth E. Ainsworth — Lincoln books and 
relics of Lincoln. 

Mrs. Robert L. Banks — Stamps. 

Ledyard Cogswell, Jr. — Old prints of Albany. 

George A. Davidson — Albany directories. 

J. Townsend Lansing — paintings (land- 
scapes). 

James H. Manning — Old prints, coins, auto- 
graphs, medals, Zuni pottery, photographs of 
celebrities, rare fin-niture. 

]\Iasonic Temple — Rare books, medals and 
curios interesting to the craft. 

G. Douglass Miller — Antiquities. 

Samuel L. Munson — Old almanacs. 

Robert C.. Pruyn — Japanese ivories. (One of 
the finest collections in existence ; over 800 pieces 
representing all the great artists ; collected by 
Robert H. Pruyn while resident at Tokio as 
Minister to Japan, 1862-64.) 



222 Albany Guide Book 

Dean Sage — Books on angling (finest collec- 
tion in xA.merica). 

Henry M. Sage — i\utographs, prints, antique 
furniture. 

George H. Thacher — Monumental extended 
copy of Phelps " Players of a Century " super 
illustrated, covering the whole field of the drama 
in the United States for a hundred years. 

Mrs. John Boyd Thacher — Autographs of the 
signers of the Declaration of Independence. 

Beautiful and very valuable specimens of his- 
toric and family china are possessed by Mrs. A. 
B. Banks, Mrs. Edward Bowditch, Mrs. Cath- 
arine Gansevort Lansing, Mr. A. J. Parker, Jr., 
Miss Cornelia Kane Rathbun, Mrs. AV. Bayard 
Van Rensselaer, and others. These collections 
are not open to inspection as a rule but may be 
seen if proper steps are taken. There also is much 
in the way of fine old silver, glass, furniture, 
books, prints, ivories, and many valuable paint- 
ings. A commendable custom has grown up 
among the possessors of such treasures to place 
them in the custody of the Historical and Art 
society where they are safe from fire and theft 
and may be enjoyed by the thousands who an- 
nually visit this notable institution. 



Albany Guide Book 223 

In St. Peter's church there is a magnificent old 
silver communion service* dated 1712, the gift of 
Queen Anne. The First Reformed church has a 
pulpit, hour glass and bible (date 1730) that were 
brought from Holland. 

* This service consists of six massive pieces, each 
bearing the royal arms and the inscription " The Gift 
of Her Majesty Ann, by the Grace of God, of Great 
Britain, France and Ireland and of Her Plantations, in 
North America, Queen, to Her Indian Chappel of the 
Onondawgus." 

No such chapel was erected, and the plate was given 
into the custody of St. Peter's church, which was the 
chapel for all the Indians of the Province except the 
Mohawks, where it remained. 



224 Albany Guide Book 

THACHER PARK 

A notably picturesque and historic tract of 
about 350 acres located in the famous Helderberg 
mountains about ten miles from Albany com- 
memorates the name of John Boyd Thacher, an 
eminent citizen and writer who died February 
25, 1909. The memorial park is located in the 
towns of Guilderland and New Scotland. It was 
given to the State on March 4, 1914, by Mrs. 
Emma Treadwell Thacher, his widow, and was 
dedicated on September 14 with memorable exer- 
cises including- an historical pageant illustrating 
Indian customs of the locality and the coming 
of the white settlers, arranged by State Archae- 
ologist Albert C. Parker. Governor Martin H. 
Glynn, Dr. George F. Kunz (president of the 
American Scenic and Historic Preservation 
Society), Dr. John H. Finley (commissioner of 
State education) and Dr. James M. Clarke (State 
geologist) delivered addresses. Mr. Thacher 
bought the land to prevent the destruction of the 
historic limestone fossiliferous cliffs which con- 
tain the famous " Indian Ladder " section of the 
Helderbergs and several noted caves, besides a 
number of waterfalls and many bits of beautiful 
w^ooded scenery. 



-- INOE.X — 

« Store E<3ucation Buildtn6 

2 ElW's Club ^ 

3 Cit-c Hall 

■* nrsHurhRran Church 

5 Knights of Coiumbos 

6 Tentyok Hotel 

7 Terr trek Annex. 
e The Hampton Hotel. 
9 Hotel Henmore. 

w Hotel Stanu>ix. 

11 Weeler'3 Hotel. 

12 The kVellindton Hotel 

13 Hotel Albany. 
I* Directory Hotel. 

15 Borthtuick Hotel. 

16 Hotel vfendome 

17 Capitol. 

18 ArmorY- 
ijR.R. Stottoo, 

20 Recreation Pier. 

21 Fort OranAe Club. 

22 University Club. 

23 Albany Club. 

24 Chombcrof Commerce 

25 CountyCourtHouse, 

26 Court of Appeals. 




LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 



014 222 424 (^ 



LIBRARY OF CONGRESS