(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Angus or Forfarshire, the land and people, descriptive and historical"

m 




'j : v! 'ft': :$ S T $ '''''. y$> Y$S -A ' '' . ."^ ' ; ''*"$ 'i^ : 

''''' ' ' '.' -.M i ;; s ! v ( &M^WfSM^^M- 



: I 







m 















Jits* 



i 



CO 




I : 





ANGUS 



FORFARSHIRE, 



THE 



LAND AND PEOPLE, 



DESCRIPTIVE AND HISTORICAL. 



BY 

ALEX. J. WARDEN, F.S.A. SCOT., 

AUTHOR OF 

"THE LINEN TRADE," AND "THE BURGH LAWS or DUNDEE." 



VOL. V. 

ttttfoU: 

CHARLES ALEXANDER & CO. 

MDCCCLXXXV. 
All Rights Reserved. 




v.S 



DUNDEE: PRINTED AT THE "COURIER AMD ARGUS " OFFICE. 



No. 



THIS WORK IS, 



WITH SPECIAL PERMISSION, 



RESPECTFULLY DEDICATED TO 



laxi of Stratbmore, 



LORD LIEUTENANT OF FORFAKSHIRE. 



CONTENTS OF YOL. V. 



VIEW OF GLAMIS CASTLE. 

Page 
XIV. -ANGUS IN PARISKES-Continucd. 

CHAP. XLVIII. MURROES, , . . '-, . r . v/. <' ' *' 1 

XL1X. NEWTYLE, . ^ 33 

,, L. OATHLAW, . . . . t > , + ':. : , V 45 

LI. PANBRLDE, . . . . . . . . ; ., . 56 

Sketch in Panmure -Vault, . , .. .. , i> .. 64 

,, LIL EESCOBIE, . . . . . . . \ . 80 

,, LIII. RUTHVEN, , .. .. .. . .. ... 104 

LIV. ST VIGEANS, . . . . .'.;,;, . ../ no 

,, LV. STRACATHRO, .. . .. .. ., ..' ,4., 161 

LVL TANNADICE; . . . , - V.. ' . ; . ...,,.,; 179 

Dr George Buist, LL.D., . . . , . .206 

LVII. TEALING, . . . . . . . 210 

Captain Gias, . . . . . . .224 

PARTICULARS REGARDING THE DUNDEE PRESBYTFRY, ..... 231 

VALUATION ROLL OF 1683, . . . . . . . . 233 

1. Aberlemno Parish, . . . . . . . . 234 

2. Airlie Parish, . . . . . . . . 234 

3. Alyth Parish, . . . . . .' . . . . . . 235 

4. Arbirlot Parish, . . . . . . . . 235 

5. Auchterhouse Parish, . . . ' . . ' . . .286 

6. Barry Parish, . . . ., . . ^. 236 

7. Brechin Parish, . 237, 238, 239 

Papal Bulls to Brechia Cathedral, . . . . 239 

8. Craig Parish, - , . ' .' 240,241 

9. Dun Parish, . . , . .. ^ . .241,242 

10. Dunnichen Parish, ........ 242, L'43 

11. Eassie and Nevay Parish, . . . . . . . 213 

12. Edzell Parish, . . .' . . . .. 243,244 

Edzell, Lethnot, and Lochlee, ' . . . . . 244 
33. Farnell Parish, . . . . . ^ .... 245 

14. Fern Parish '._.. 245 

15. Kettins Parish, . . . .. V'V . . . .246 

16. Kinnell Parish, ........ 246, 247 

17. Kingoldrura Parish, ...... 4 . 247 

18. Lintrathen Parish, ......... 247, 248 

19. Menmuir Parish, . . . . , T . r ; , 248, 249 

20. Monifieth Parish, . . .. . . . l . 249 

21. Montrose Parish, . . ., . . .... 249,250 

22. Murroes Parish, , . . . . i' . . 250, 251 



vi CONTENTS. 

Page. 

ACREAGE OF THE PARISHES IN ANGUS, ...... 252, 253- 

PROPRIETORS OF LANDS IN ANGUS HAVING 100 ACRES AND OVER IN 1872-3, . 253, 258 

POPULATION OF EACH PARISH IN THE COUNTY IN 1755, . . . 258, 259 

1801, 1811, 1851, and 1881, 259, 260 

VALUED RENT OF EACH PARISH (SCOTS) IN 1683; AND RENTAL (STERLING) OF 

HERITAGES AND RAILWAYS IN 1883-4, .%' T .* . . . . 260 

SIR WILLIAM WALLACE, V . . . . .261, 262, 263 

RAVENSBY, . . , . . . . . . . . . . 263 

AN OLD FARMING SOCIETY IN FORFARSHIRE, ..... 263, 267 

NOTABLE EVENTS, . . . . . . . . 267," 268 

ACTS OF THE SCOTTISH PARLIAMENT, ...... 268, 270- 

ENTAILS, . ., .,; 270,273 

BURGHS, 273, 284 

FAILLIE KYLL (Church and Monastery), . . . ' . . 284 

CONCLUSION, .-.>.. . . . . . . 285 

GENEALOGY OF RIGHT HON. W. E. GLADSTONE. ...... 286- 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



PAET XIV. 

ANGUS IN PABISHES. 




CHAP. XLVIIL MUEROES. 

'HE Church of Muraus (Murroes) with its chapel were gifted to the 
Abbey of Arbroath by Gilchrist, Earl of Angus, 1211-14. It was in 
the diocese of St Andrews. In the Old Taxation it is rated at 20 rnerks (Reg. 
de Aberb., p. 239), but the chapel is not mentioned in the Taxation. The 
chapel or church stood high up on the right bank of the den, north-west of 
the mansion of Ballumbie, and the site is still shown. 

In 1574 the Churches of Dundie and Ballumby were served by one minister, 
William Cristeson, with a stipend of ^G160. AVilliam Kyd was reidare at 
Dundee, and it is added Ballumby neidis na reidare (Mis. Wod. Soc., p. 352) 
The Churches of Barry, Monyfuthe, and Murehous were then all served by 
Andro Auchinlek, minister, with a stipend of 100; Williame Oliver was reidare 
at Murehous, his salary being 16 and kirk lands (do., p. 3$2). The parish 
Church of Ballumbie is not mentioned in the Old Taxation or elsewhere in 
the Eeg. vet. de Aberb., and we do not know when it had been erected into 
a church and parish. It is probable that the parish ruid been suppressed and 
annexed to Murehouse soon after 1574. Henry Duncan was minister of Bal- 
lumbie, and Murroes was also under his charge. He removed to Murroes 
about 1590. 

The Church of Murroes stands upon elevated ground on the west side of 
the Murroes burn, at the lower end of the pretty dell of Murroes, and close by 

A 



2 ANGUS OK FORFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

the old house of Murroes. The church is a small, plain, bat neat structure, 
with four pointed windows to the south, a cross on the east gable, a handsome 
belfrey on the west gable, and an aisle on the north. The present church was 
erected in 1648, and the church and graveyard are enclosed by a wall, within 
which are several old trees. The graveyard might, at little cost, be better laid 
out than at present. The jougs are fixed into the south wall of the church. 
Over the door on the west wall of the aisle leading to the family pew, an old 
stone is inserted into the wall, with the Fothringham and Gibson arms, and 
the letters T. F. : M. G. under them, and date 1642 over the arms. The 
initials are those of Thomas Fothringham and Agnes Gibson, his wife, who 
was a daughter of Sir Alexander Gibson, Lord Durie. On a slab within the 
church are the names of the same laird and lady, also seven shields labelled 
with the names, and charged with the arms respectively of FOTHRINGHAM, 
GIPSONE, CRAIGE, LTNDSAY, SCOTE, .^ERTHE, HERIT. A stone on which is 
a mutilated figure, holding a shield with the Fothringham arms, is built 
into the enclosing wall of the graveyard, on the north of the church. The 
burial vault of the Fothringhams of Powrie is upon the north side of the 
church. 

The injunction ora et labor a (pray and labour) is carved over the east door 
of the church, and that of Laus et honor Deo (Praise and honour be to God) 
is over the west door. Upon the south wall of the church there is a stone panel 
thus inscribed : A.D. 1848. Christo, Luci mundi, et humance salulis Auciori 
hoec oedes consecrata est : I. I. 0., the initials of John Irvine Currie, who 
was then minister of the parish. (This church was consecrated to Christ, 
the Light of the World, and the author of human salvation, in the year of Our 
Lord, 1848.) Many old gravestones are set up against the wall of the church- 
yard, but so far as we could see, there is nothing remarkable about any of 
them. A comfortable manse, with offices, stands a little to the north of the 
church. 

The parish of Murroes is about three miles in length, and generally about 
two miles in breadth, but the figure is irregular. It is bounded by Inverarity 
and Monikie on the north, Monitieth on the east, Dundee and Mains on the 
south, and Mains and Tealing on the west. It contains 5304*527 acres, of 
which 6-968 are water. There is little level land in the parish, the greater 
part being undulating, and in some parts the acclivity is considerable. Much 
of the soil is of excellent quality, and with good husbandry large crops of 
grain, &c., of excellent quality are reaped. The small stream Fithie runs 



CHAP. XLVIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES MURROES. 3 

through the parish. Part of its course is in a finely-wooded, deep, and 
picturesque den, having the stately mansion of Duntrune high up above the 
water on its left bank, and the fine old ruin of Ballumbie Castle, and the hand- 
some modern house in close proximity thereto, on its right bank at the lower 
end of the den. Good, trimly-kept walks have been made through the den on 
the Baliumbie side. The foliage of the trees shut out the sunshine, and the 
cool shade, gentle murmuring of the water, and the song of the birds make a 
walk through the den very enjoyable. 

A table-shaped stone at the west end of the church had been erected in 
memory of Alexander Edward, citizen of Dundee, who died 22d May, 1667, 
aged 67. He was the father of Robert Edward, who was presented u to the 
paroche kirk of Murrays, personage and viccarage thereof/' by Patrick, Earl 
of Panmure, 8th March, 1648. 

In Vol. II., p.p. 233-4, we made some references to the Rev. Robert Edward, 
minister of Murroes, his description of Angus, and the map which accom- 
panied it. 

In the Monifieth Session Records it is stated that on 16th January, 1676, 
Mr Robert Edward, minister of Murroes, and moderator of the Presbytery of 
Dundee, preached in the forenoon, when Mr John Dempster was admitted 
minister of Monifieth. Mr Edward baptised children of Mr Dempster in 1677 
and 1678, and is not again mentioned. It was in the latter year that his de- 
scription of Angus was published. 

In Nicholson's Scottish Historical Library (1702), p. 56, it is said " Angus 
has been elegantly described in a pure Latin style by Mr Robert Edward, 
. . . who also drew an excellent map of the county. Both the description 
and the map are published by the Jansons." For this information the author 
is indebted to the Rev. R. R. Lingard-Guthrie. 

From a dispute which arose between Rev. Robert Edward, minister of 
Murroes, regarding the teinds of Ballumbie, it appears that 40s were paid " for 
evrie pleughe " upon the two Powries, the two Gagies, Westhall, and Brichtie. 
Mr Edward could therefore see "no reason how Ballumbie can be exempted 
from paying vicarage according as the rest of the pleughes of the parioche. 
He closes his note of " Information " upon the subject by stating that " seavin 
chalders victuall to be the constant and perpetual stipend of the said Kirk cf 
Murroes in all tyme corning, by and attoure the vicarage tiends of the said 
parish, ipsa corpora, and twentie merks yearlie, furth of the tack dutie and 
tiends of the lands of Ballumbie, according to the decreitt of the platt in anno 



4 ANGUS OB FOEFAESHIEE. [PART XIV. 

1618." The lands of Ballutnbie pay for stipend the fixed sum of 12 4s 8d 
yearly, instead of a sum varying with the fiars' price, but how or when this 
sum was fixed is not known. 

Mr Edward appears to have had considerable means. The valuations of 
the shire of Forfar in 1649 and 1653 show that he had two wadsets or bonds, 
one of which, over Craichie or Tulloes, he had from the Earl of Strathmore. 
He had also considerable sums lent upon the Ballumbie and Powrie estates 
until after 1676. The year of his death is not known. He had four sons 
Charles, who was appointed conjunct with his father, but left before 27th 
August, 1692 ; John, who was tutor to Sir James Fleming's son, had an as- 
signation of the stipend of Murroes in 1696 from the Earl of Panmure, as there 
had been no minister there for several years past ; Eobert, who was rabbled 
out of his own church, and was recommended, 27th August, 1692, to supply 
Murroes, by the Bishop ; and Alexander, minister of Kemback, and deprived 
as a non-juror. 

Alexander Edward, son of Mr Eobert Edward, minister at Murroes, notes 
many passing events in his original notebook at Panmure House. The fol- 
lowing are two of his notes : 1677, June 21. This day Jean Fothringham 
was married with John Carnegie of Boysack. 

Jan. 23, 1678. . . . Preached at Barr. This night sat up with good, 
frugal, old, dieing Duntroon, of age 86 years, of which seikness, a feaver, he 
died in five days. He was mervelusly vigories as to his age ; two weeks 
befor, he road to Edenburg. He never lost on of his teeth throg age, nor 
weir a westcot in the night, nor neided spectikle to read the smallest print ; 
and just eight days befor him died, William Brock in Dondie, my father's 
cusin-german, being 79 years of age (H. of C. of S., Pref. XVIII.). 

A weem or Pict's house was discovered in the year 1870. It was of the 
form commonly found, and about 36 feet in length, and the converging 
walls were constructed of pavement stones similar to the pavement now 
obtained in Gagie quarry. There was little of much importance found in the 
weem. 

The heritors of Murroes appear to have had little regard for the educational 
wants of the parish in the early part of last century, the parish being without 
school or scboolhouse in 1724, and the minister, Eev. Mr Mair, was compelled 
to petition the Commissioners of Supply to erect these necessary buildings, and 
to *' modify a salary" for David Crombie, the schoolmaster. They named a 
sum for the building, and settled a hundred merks Scots, or 5 11s IJd 



CHAP. XLVIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 5 

sterling as " a competent salary" for the teacher yearly, but it was long there- 
after before the buildings were erected (E. & J., I., p. 126). 

Agriculture had been in a backward state at the end of last century. The 
Rev. Alexander Imlach, who wrote the old Statistical Account of the parish in 
1794, says that more money had been made in Murroes by farming during the 
previous thirty years than for two hundred years before ; and he adds that the 
farmers " even use some of the luxuries of life." Since he wrote wonderful 
progress has been made in agriculture in the parish. 

The family of Lovel were of Norman origin, and their first residence was at 
Hawick, where they owned land in the twelfth century. In the early part of 
the following century they appear to have left Hawick and come to Ballumbie. 
Thomas de Lovel is a witness to the foundation charter of the Hospital of 
Brechin in 1267. On 3d September, 1296, Eva, widow of Robert Lovel, did 
homage to Edward I. for lands in Forfarshire and other counties. In 1328 
Sir Hugh Lovel, knight, is a witness to Henry of Rossy's charter of the lands 
of Inieney to Walter of Schaklock. James Lovel was one of the barons of 
Angus who fell at Harlaw in 1411. Richard Lovel of Ballumbie is a witness 
to a wadset by the Master of Crawford, granted to Sir Thomas Maule, of the 
lands of Cambustown, in 1425-6. Richard's son, Alexander, married Catherine 
Douglas, daughter of Sir William Douglas of Lochleven, who was Maid of 
Honour to Queen Joanne. In the Convent of Blackfriars at Perth, on the 
night between the 20th and 21st February, 1436-7, when the Earl of Athole and 
the other conspirators murdered King James the First, Catherine, with a spirit 
worthy of her name, on hearing the approach of the regicides, and to give the 
King more time to escape, finding no bar to put into the staple, she thrust in 
her arm instead, and it was broken by the forcing open of the door. 

Richard Lovel was a witness on 16th May, 1448, and one of the assize at 
the perambulation of the marches between the lands of Balnamoon and those 
of the Cathedral of Brechin, on 13th October, 1450. In 1463 Alexander, 
Earl of Crawford, gave to Richard Lovel and Elizabeth Douglas, his wife, a 
charter of the lands of Murroes. In it the Earl calls her his oye (grandchild). 
Their daughter and heiress, Janet Lovel, was married to Sir Robert Graham 
of Fintry ; and Douglas says (II., p. 271) their lineal descendant, Robert 
Graham of Fintry, carries the three piles of Lovel in his arms in consequence 
of that alliance. Alexander Lovel was, about 1478, one of an assize upon the 
lands and goods belonging to Walter Ogilvy of Owers. 



6 ANGUS OB, FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIY. 

In 1490 the Duke of Montrose was found to have done " wrang in the 
eiecioun and outputting of Alexander Lovale of Ballumy, out of the landis of 
Bischopkers, Hand in the barony of Roskowby, and vexing of him there intill." 
Henry, the son of Alexander who was wronged by the Duke, was knighted. 
In 1536 he prosecuted Patrick, Lord Gray, for an act of " stouthreif and op- 
pression " done to him on 20th January "in the occupation of his fishing of 
Dundervisheide, in the water of Tay, lying to the east of the Castle of 
Bruchty" Sir Henry died about 1550. After the death of Sir Henry, Lady 
Lovel, not being able to produce a valid title to the fishings, had to restore 
them and make other satisfaction to Lord Gray. Sir Henry was succeeded by 
his son and heir, Andrew Lovall. His son Henry succeeded. On 8th August, 
1572, Henry and his son, " John Lovell, ffear of Ballurnbie," were charged with 
non-appearance before the Kegent and Council, when it is stated that the father 
" was denounced rebel, and at the horn, and therefor put in ward, and there- 
after delivered to my Lord Treasurer to be kept in sure firmness and custody." 

On 23d January, 1572-3, Patrick, Lord Gray, was charged to " underly the 
law for resset and intercommuning with Henry Lovell of Ballumbie, Patrick 
and David Lovell, his sons, and others, being denounced rebels, and at the horn," 
when his Lordship was vnlawit for non-appearance. The family had probably 
failed in females, as the last notice of them is in 1607, when Sybilla and 
Mariota Lovell were served heirs portioners to their father, James Lovell, in 
the lands and fishings of West Ferry, and the Vasteruik, alias Kilcraig, on the 
north of the Tay. These may be the lands and fishings now belonging to the Earl 
of Dalhousie. In 1571, the year before Henry Lovell was " put in ward " and 
" kept in sure firmness," he appears to have disposed of the dominical lands, or 
Mains of Ballurnbie, to Sir Thomas Lyon of Albar, who had charters of them 
on 18th September, 1571. He had not retained the lands long, as on 22d 
August, 1583, Gilbert, third son of Patrick, third Lord Gray, had a charter of 
the lands of Ballumbie. 

In the end of the fifteenth and throughout the sixteenth centuries many 
members of the Lovell family were burgesses and magistrates of Dundee, and 
James Lovell was Dean of Guild during the years 1566-69. 

On 12th August, 1601, a charter of the lands of Ballumbie, Barry, and In- 
nerpeffer was obtained by James Elpliin stone, first Lord of Balmerino, Secre- 
tary of State to King James VI. He also possessed considerable lands in 
Monifieth, as detailed in the chapter on that parish. 

It is told of John, second Lord Balmerino, who in 1641 was President of 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURKOES. 7 

Parliament, that, suspecting his father had made too advantageous a purchase 
of the lands of Ballumbie, he, of his own accord, gave ten thousand merks to 
the heir of that estate, by way of compensation. This is a noble trait in 
the character of his Lordship, and a rare instance of sterling justice. He 
thought, very likely correctly, that his father had taken an undue advantage of 
the seller, arising out of his necessities, and the large compensation given in- 
ferred that the heir had been cheated to a large extent. The Lords Balmerino 
had not retained Ballumbie long. In a note at the end of this volume we 
propose to refer to this honourable conduct of Lord Balmerino, and contrast it 
with the acts of some other parties. 

In 1662, George, second Earl of Panmure, was served heir to his father, 
Patrick, first Earl of Panmure, in the teinds and superiority of the lands of Bal- 
lumbie. On his death in 1671 his son George succeeded as third Earl. Shortly 
after that date Ballumbie became the property of the Hon. James Maule, 
brother of Earl George, as, in 1674 and subsequently, he was designed of that 
barony, and he is included in Edward's list of the barons of Angus in 1678. 
On the death of Earl George on 1st February, 1686, Earl James succeeded to 
the Earldom of Panmure. 

The lands and barony of Ballumbie remained in the family of the Maules, 
but they do not appear to have been forfeited in 1716 and bought back by 
Earl William in 1764, as stated by Mr Jervise. They seem to have come 
into possession of the family of the Hon. Harry Maule of Kelly, as they be- 
longed to James Maule, his eldest son, who died on 16th April, 1729. William 
Maule, bis immediate younger brother and heir, succeeded to the estate, arid 
service was expede before the Sheriff of Forfar, 25th September, 1729, precept 
following for infefting William Maule in the property, 22d October, and sasine 
on 3d November, 1729. 

The estate continued in the Panmure family down to April, 1804, when the 
Hon. William Maule of Panmure sold it to David Miller, who was a tenant farmer. 
He erected the present mansionhouse in 1810. He was succeeded by his son, 
John Miller. In January, 1847, the trustees of the late William M'Gavin, 
merchant in Dundee, purchased 4he property from John Miller's trustees. 
The property was acquired from his father's trustees by Hubert M'Gavin, and 
he is the present proprietor of Ballumbie. 

The ruins of Ballumbie Castle stand on an eminence on the right bank of 
the Fithie, a small stream which rises on the southern slopes of the Sidlaws, 
and falls into the Dighty at Ballunie. For a mile or two in its course it runs 



8 ANGUS OR FORFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

through a beautiful and picturesque den within the policies of Ballumbie and 
Duntrune. The castle occupies a fine position near the lower end of the den. 
It is mentioned by Monipennie in his Scots Chronicles, 1612, p. 169 ; also by 
Ochterlony in the following terms : " Balumbie, the Earl of Panmure's second 
brother's designation, ane old, ruinous, demolished house, but is a very 
pleasant place." The castle appears to have consisted of a large square 
building, with lofty circular towers at the angles, and an open court within. 
The remains consist of the south, east, and part of the north walls, and the 
circular towers, which are still entire for a height, on the average, of fully 20 
feet. 

The square has been re-formed by a modern building on the west, and part 
of the north and south walls, which had been destroyed, and the restored castle 
is turned to utilitarian purposes. The proprietor has had the old walls, 
where exposed, carefully cleaned and pointed, but considerable portions of 
them are richly clad with ivy, which grows luxuriantly, and they are likely 
to stand for ages, as the fine run lime, with which they had been originally 
built, binds the whole into a solid mass, from which it is all but impossible to 
remove a stone. 

Bullumbie Castle, when entire, had been a noble building. It has some of 
the characteristics of Edzell and Dunnottar Castles, and the ruins yet testify to 
its ancient grandeur. The castle was erected in or about 1545 by the Lovells, 
the old proprietors of the estate. The walls are loopholed, as was customary and 
necessary for the protection of its lords at, and for long after it was built. At the 
junction of the south-eastern tower with the east wall there is a small semi- 
circular projection connected with both tower and wall, which, on being 
minutely examined, was found to be a conduit running into a drain, which 
was traced to its outlet into the Fithie, at some distance south-east of the 
castle. This shows that sanitary matters were not neglected by the builders of 
the castle. 

On the top of the east wall of the castle, the lintel of the Church of Ballumbie 
has been laid by the present Laird. On it are the initals H.L. and I.S. The 
Lovell arms and those of another party, perhaps of the family of his wife, are 
between the initials. Underneath the initials are what appears to be letters in 
the old English character. Below this stone is another, on which is a crown 
with the Lovell arms underneath it, below which is the letter L. On the east 
wall another stone from the church has been built. It is dissected by two 
horizontal lines, dividing it into three parts. Two perpendicular lines divide 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 9 

the two lower spaces into three parts each. In the upper three there appear 
to be some old English letters in each, with, perhaps, armorial bearings 
in each of the three lower compartments ; but the stone is high up in the wall, 
and the figures partly obliterated, so that we are unable to say definitely what 
is upon the stone. 

The modern mansionhouse of Ballumbie is a large, handsome, commodious 
house of three floors. It stands at a short distance south-east from the castle, 
on an elevated site, and having an extensive view in some directions, especially 
to the south. The grounds around the mansion are tastefully laid out, and 
there is a profusion of fine shrubbery and many noble old trees. A little to 
the west of the house there is a very large ash, which local tradition says was 
planted by Grizzel Jaffray, who was tried and executed for witchcraft in the 
Seagate, Dundee, between the llth and 23d November, 1669. The tree, at 
six feet above the surface of the ground, measures fifteen feet in circumference, 
and is of great height. There are several other very large old trees, beech, 
plane, &c., in the grounds, and other large, handsome trees of various sorts, 
though not so old or great as are the aged giants. 

William M'Gavin, merchant in Dundee, married Margaret, daughter of 
James Lindsay, merchant in Dundee, by whom he had a family of sons and 
daughters, the only survivor being Robert, proprietor of the barony of Bal- 
lumbie, Baldovie, Drumgeith, and part of Craigie. William M'Gavin died 1st 
December, 1843, and Mrs M'Gavin on 10th December, 1868. Robert is a J.P. 
and Commissioner of Supply for the County of Forfar. 

ARMORIAL BEARINGS OF ROBERT M'GAVIN OF BALLUMBIE. 

Arms. Per pale gules and azure, a boar's head couped, or; on a chief indented argent, 

three fleurs-de-lis, of the first. 

Crest. A. wyvern's head issuant, vert, vomiting flames of fire, gules. 
Motto. God Send Grace. 

The lands of Brichty at an early period belonged to John de la Hay, Lord 
of Tillybothwell. He resigned them to John Montealt, Lord of Fern. 
Richard of Montealt, Chancellor of the Cathedral of Brechin, disposed of the 
lands of Brichty to Sir Alexander Lindsay of Glenesk. The charter is dated 
at Innerlunnan on 20th December, 1379, and is witnessed by Sir John Lyon, 
knight, Camerario Scocie, or Chamberlain to the King, and his son-in-law, and 
by Sir Walter of Ogilvy, Sheriff of Forfar (H. of C. of S., 493). 

The lands remained for some time in the hands of the Lindsays. In 1421 



10 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Euphemia, sister of the first Earl of Crawford, had a liferent therefrom. 
Brichty passed from the Lindsays to the Fothringhams and Arbuthnotts. In 
1450 Alexander, Earl of Crawford, gave a charter of Wester Brichty to David 
Fothringham of Powrie. Hugh, the son of Robert Arbuthnott of that ilk, 
who married the heiress of Balmakewan, was designed of Brichty in the 
fifteenth century. John Arbuthnott was one of an assize on 29th April, 1514 
(H. of C. of S., 527). The lands of Brichty were subsequently wholly acquired 
by the Fothringhams of Powrie, and they now form part of the Powrie estate. 
Alexander, Earl of Crawford, gave a grant of 20 merks annually out of his 
lands of West Brichty to the Altar of St George the Martyr, in the Church 
of St Mary in Dundee. Confirmed by James L, 29th April, 1429. (Reg. Ep, 
Br.) 

The Earls of Angus were superiors of the lands of Gagie. The lands appear 
to have been divided into two parts in early times, each of which was held by 
distinct proprietors. The one portion appears to have been called Gagie or 
Easter Gagie, and the other, for a time, Wester Gagie. It is only in a few 
cases we can say which of the two we are treating of. In the Valuation Roll 
of 1683 Gagie is entered thus : Easter Gagie, value 100 ; Guthrie or Wester 
Gagie, value 183 6s 8d. In 1822 the first is also named " Easter Gagie " 
and thejsecond " Wester Gagie." 

The Olifers or Olivers were proprietors of the lands of Gagie at an early 
period. David Oliver is designed of Gagie in 1457 (Reg. de Aberb.). David 
Oliver of Gagie was one of an assize at a retour of service of John Carnegie at 
Dundee, 16th May, 1508 (H. of C. of S., 524). He, or another of the same name, 
was at a retour of service, 7th May, 1519 (Reg. de Pan, 292.). Gagie passed 
from the Olifers to the Sibbalds of Rankeilor, but we have not learned the 
date. In 1610 the Sibbalds sold the property to William Guthrie, second son 
of Alexander Guthrie of that ilk, and brother of Alexander, who succeeded his 
father, Alexander, in Guthrie. William Guthrie acquired Ravensby, in Barry, 
from John Cant, on llth June, 1603, and was designed of Ravensby. He 
had a portion of Halton and Milton of Guthrie, 29th December, 1574. He is 
said to have married Isabella, daughter of Leslie of Balquhain. The Guthrie 
arms are on the lintel of the summerhouse at Gagie, with the date 1614. A 
shield on the front of the wall of Gagie house bears the Leslie arms, with the 
letters I.L. 

On 20th April, 1603, Robert Lundy of Balgonie was served heir to his 



CHAP. XLYIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MUKBOES. 11 

father Robert (No. 34) in the lands of Wester Gagie, in the regality of Kirrie- 
niuir A.E. 40s, N.E. 10. The Lundys had held them some time before 
the date of that retour. 

About the beginning of the 17th century Finlayson, Provost of 

Dundee, was designed of Gagie. Walter Lyell, Town Clerk of Montrose, or 
his son, married a daughter of Provost Fialayson of Gagie. On 24th March, 
1629, Alexander Guthrie, heir of William Guthrie of Wester Gagie, was re- 
toured (No, 180) in the town and lands of Wester Gagie. On 4th May, 1647, 
Francis Guthrie of Gagie married his cousin, Bathia, daughter of Bishop 
Guthrie, who had acquired the estate of Guthrie. Francis died before 4th 
April, 1665, as on that day his son John was served heir (No. 412) to his 
father in the lands of Wester Gagie ; and in the lands of Guthrie, &c., in right 
of his mother, heiress of Bishop Guthrie. The Laird of the estate of Gagie, a 
younger branch of the family, thus became the chief of the name of Guthrie. 

A stone, having the family arms carved upon it, stood over the old entrance 
to, or court-gate of, Gagie. The initials I.G. : T.H. and the date 1737 were 
also on the slab. The initials are those of John Guthrie of that ilk and his 
wife, Jean, a daughter of Rev. James Hodge, minister of Longforgan. Their 
son became the twelfth Baron Guthrie. The estates of Guthrie and Gagie, 
&c., have ever since continued in the chief of the old family of Guthrie of that 
ilk. John Guthrie had also two daughters by Jean Hodge. One of them 
was married to John Scrymgeour of Tealing, and the other to William Alison, 
merchant, Dundee. 

The mansionhouse of Gagie is not a large building, but it affords a con- 
siderable amount of accommodation, and in its palmy days had been a pleasant 
residence. It is on the south or right bank of the Murroes burn, which, there, 
is a tiny stream. The site is little if at all above the level of the surround- 
ing land, and the view from the house is limited by the situation, and more so 
by the stately old trees in its vicinity. The chateau of Gagie bears evidence 
that it had been capable of affording some protection to its occupants if at- 
tacked by ordinary marauders. A good garden adjoins the mansion, in which 
there are four magnificent Irish yews, which form a cluster so close that there 
is little room to walk among them, and overhead they run into each other, 
forming a dense impervious mass, some thirty feet in height. In front of the 
house is a " loupin'-on-stane," or steps for assisting one to get on horseback. 
This was a necessary adjunct when the laird and lady went to church or market 
on the back of one horse, the laird astride a saddle, and the lady on a pillion 



12 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

behind him, with her arm round his waist to keep her secure, This good 
homely custom has been long discontinued, and it would surprise the dwellers 
in town or county to see a couple so mounted now-a-days. 

The lands of Murroes formed part of the territory of the Earls of Angus. 
They afterwards came into possession of the Earl of Crawford. In 1473 Alex- 
ander, Earl of Crawford, gave Kichard Lovell of Ballumbie and his wife, 
Elizabeth Douglas, whom the Earl styles " his oye " (grandchild), a charter of 
the lands of Murroes. The lands subsequently came into possession of the 
Fothringhams of Powrie. They had a mansion on that property, as well as on 
Wester Powrie. Ochterlony says it was a good house, and a sweet pleasant 
place. The lands of Murroes were subsequently acquired by the Guthries, 
and they form part of the estate of Gagie, and belong to the trustees of the 
late John Guthrie of Guthrie, for behoof of the family of Guthrie. There is 
an excellent steading and a good farm house close by the east bank of the 
Murroes burn. 

Gilbert, third son of Gilebride, second Earl of Aogus, got a charter from 
King William the Lion, in which he is described as " Gilbert, son of the Earl 
of Angus," terrarum Powrin, Oguluive, and Kyneithin. There are two 
transumpts of this charter in existence, one of the date 14th February, 1577, in 
the Fothringham charter chest (Bal. M.S.). The Fothringhams are the present 
proprietors of Wester Powrie. The other, dated 26th July, 1631, is in the 
charter chest of Wedderburn of Birkhill, the present proprietor of Easter Powrie. 
The latter, which is " under the hands of Sir J. Hamilton of St Magdalen's, 
Clerk Kegister," declares that the original charter was torn, and in a perishing 
state through age. These transumpts show that the original charter is with- 
out date, a circumstance common to the time ; indeed, many of King William's 
charters are undated. It was given in the lifetime of Gilbert's father, 
Gilebride, and the best authorities adjudge it to the year 1172. From the 
lands of Ogilvy, the family of Gilbert took their surname, the adoption of 
surnames corning at this time first into use. The word Ogilvy is variously 
spelled in ancient times, but it is the same with most proper names, which, in 
the same document, are sometimes spelled in several ways. 

The lands of Ogilvy, together with Easter Powrie, passed down from 
Gilbert in an unbroken male descent for a period of nearly five hundred 
years. The last possessor of them, and last of the family, distinguished as that 
of Ogilvy of Ogilvy, chiefs of the name, was Thomas Ogilvy of Ogilvy, or 



CHAP. XLVII].] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 13 

Powrie Ogilvy, as he was sometimes called, the devoted adherent and friend of 
the Marquis of Montrose, by whose side he fell at the battle of Corbiesdale in 
1650 (Bal. MS.). 

The lands of Wester Powrie had, at an early period, been granted to a 
Malcolm de Powrie. He had probably been a member of the Ogilvy family, 
and taken his surname from the lands, and, dying without heir of his body, 
they had reverted to Ogilvy of that ilk, the superior. " Alexander de Ogilvy le, 
dominus ejusdem," gave a charter ratifying to his cousin, Walter de Ogilvyle, 
son of the late Walter de Ogilvyle, son of the deceased Patrick de 
Ogilvyle, his granduncle, the charter of the lands of Wester Powrie, which his 
(Alexander's) father, Patrick (apparently sixth in descent from Gilbert), Lord 
of the same, had granted to his uncle Patrick, and Marjory, his wife. This 
charter narrates that these lands are to be held under the like feudal conditions 
as the late Malcolm de Powrie held the same. There is no date to the charter 
by Alexander Ogilvy of Ogilvy, which is confirmed under the Great Seal at 
Aberdeen, 2d August, 1428 ; but from the names of the witnesses, it is con- 
cluded that it must have been given between the years 1354 and 1359. A full 
translation of this charter is in the Inverquharity charter chest. 

Regarding the above-mentioned charter, Douglas, Vol. L, p. 28, says : 
" Patrick de Ogilvy obtained from his nephew, Sir Patrick Ogilvy of that ilk, 
to himself and Marjory, his wife, the lands of Wester Powrie, which were pos- 
sessed by the late Malcolm de Powrie. Sir Walter Ogilvy of Lintrathen 
ratified to Walter de Ogilvy, grandson of Patrick Ogilvy and Marjory, his 
spouse, charter of the lands of Wester Powrie, which had been granted to his 
said grandfather and grandmother. It was confirmed, 2d August, 1428, by 
charter under the Great Seal." 

In 1333-4 the third Lord Walter de Ogilvile is mentioned in the Reg. de 
Aberb., Vol. I., p. 58. This was probably Walter, second of Wester Powrie, 
who married the heiress of Sir Malcolm Ramsay of Auchterhonse, hereditary 
Sheriff of Angus, and at whose death, between the years 1365 and 1369, he 
succeeded to Auchterhouse and the heritable Sheriffdom of Angus (MS. Bal- 
dovan). We do not find Walter Ogilvy in the Reg. de Aberb., but Alex, of 
Ogilwill is mentioned, p. 190, 1250 year, and Patricio de Ogilvill is mentioned, 
p. 339, circa 1328. 

Sir Alexander Ogilvy, Sheriff of Angus, Lord of Auchterhouse, and fourth 
and last of Wester Powrie (son of Sir Walter Ogilvy, the Sheriff, slain at the 
battle of Glasclune in 1392), sold and conveyed the lands of Powrie Wester to 



14 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

Thomas Fothringham in 1412 (M.S.B.). On 28th August, 1428, charter of 
ratification by David Ogilvy of Ogilvy, of a charter by Sir Patrick Ogilvy of 
Auchterhouse, Sheriff of Angus, and Justiciar to the north of the Forth, con- 
firming a charter of Wester Powrie, which Thomas Fothringham acquired in 
1412, to be held off John de Ogilvy of Ogilvy. Andrew de Ogilvy, Lord of 
Glen, is one of the witnesses to the charter (Foth m - Writs). 

On 12th June, 1593, James, Earl of Buchan, heir of Earl John, of Auchter- 
house, his great-grandfather, was retoured in the lands of Powrie A.E. , 
N.E. 12. On 27th August, 1601, Master John Ogilvie of Ogilvie, heir of 
Gilbert Ogilvie of Ogilvie, his father, was retoured (No. 22) in the lands and barony 
of Ogilvy, with the mansion and mill of the same, comprehending the lands of 
Easter Powrie ; the lands of Wester Powrie A.E. 18, N.E. 72. On 19th 
January, 1610, Gilbert Ogilvy of Ogilvy, heir of Master John Ogilvy of the 
same, was retoured (No. 69) in the lands and barony of Ogilvy, comprehend- 
ing the lands of Easter Powrie A.E. 12, N.E. 48 ; and in lands in other 
places. These retours may be of the superiority only. 

In the Aldbar Miscellany MS., p. 363, it is said of Powrie Wester, " Alex- 
ander Ogilvy, Lord of the same ) son of the late Patrick Ogilvy and Marion, his 
spouse, sold the lands of Wester Powrie and mill between 1354 and 1358." 
In the Genealogy of the Wedderburns, p. 106, it is said of same lands, of 
Powrie Wester : " This property was acquired in marriage with a daughter 
of Ogilvy of Auchterhouse about the year 1399." 

One account of the acquisition of Wester Powrie by the Fothringhains is as 
follows : " The lands of Wester Powrie, which belonged to Malcolm de Powrie, 
of which John Ogilvy of Easter Powrie was the superior, are said to have been 
given to John of Fothringham on his marriage with a daughter of Ogilvy of 
Auchterhouse" (E. & J., L, p. 122). Douglas,!., p. 29, says : " Wester 
Powrie belonged to Malcolm of Powrie, and it passed to Patrick de Ogilvy, 
second son of the compatriot of Bruce ; but there is some difficulty in recon- 
ciling the transfers of the two Powries in these early times." 

We think the account we have given above of the acquisition of Wester 
Powrie in 1412 is the correct one. The Ogilvy s retained the superiority of 
both Powries long after the Fothringhams got Wester Powrie. We were 
desirous to have given a historical account of the old family of Fothringham, 
but having never seen a connected account of the family, we can only give such 
notices of the race as we have met with, and these as nearly in chronological 
order as we can conveniently arrange them. 



CHAP. XLYIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MTJKROES. 15 

It is traditionally supposed that the Fothringhams were originally Hun- 
garians, and that the first member of the family came from that country with 
the Queen of Malcolm Canmore. Henry of Foderingeye, who owned lands in 
Perthshire, did homage to Edward I. at Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1296, They 
were then an old family bearing arms (ermine three bars). Henry Fothringham 
was a witness, 12th February, 1364-5 (Reg. Ep. Br., I., p. 20). Thomas, son 
of Henry of Fodringhay, had a confirmation charter of the lands of Balewny, 
in Kettins parish, from Robert II., in 1378 (In. to Ch., 122-109). There 
was a Sir Hugh Fothringham, knight, about 1730 (L. Sc. Seals). 

We have shown above that Thomas Fothringham acquired the lands of 
Wester Powrie in 1412. The charter was confirmed to him by David Ogilvy 
of Ogilvy on 28th August, 1428. Since then the lands have remained in pos- 
session of the family of Fothringham, and no part of the Fothringham lands 
has ever been entailed. 

Henry Fothringham of Powrie is mentioned on 10th February, 1435 (Reg. 
Ep. Br., II., p. 90), and on 16th May, 1448 (do., I., p. 117). David Fothring- 
ham was a witness, 21st July, 1450 (do., p. 79 and 141). Thomas Fothring- 
ham is mentioned in 1454, and James Fothringham, all of Powrie, 
on 19th April, 1458 (Do., p. 185). Thomas is again mentioned in 
1472, and as a witness in 1475. He was an M.P. 1481 to 1485. In his 
youth he was the friend of David, Earl of Crawford, and after the Earl was 
created Duke of Montrose, he was the familiar squire and one of the Councillors 
of the Duke (Lives, p. 145). On 16th July, 1481, the Duke gave him a 
charter of additional lands, which was confirmed on 13th January, 1481-2. 
Thomas is mentioned in the " Lives," p. 456, on 29th October, 1488. Nicholas, 
son of Thomas Fothringham, is mentioned in March, 1481-2. He attempted 
to deprive the widowed Duchess of Montrose of the lands of Dunbog, in 
Glenesk, about the year 1488. These lands were part of the terce of the 
Duchess. About 1490 Fothringham of Powrie laid in wed for Sir David 
Lindsay of Edzell to Bishop Thomas of Aberdeen " a cop and a cower of silver 
our gilt, arid a saltfut of silver" (L. of L., p. 32). 

In the close of the 15th century, John of Fothringham was charged xii. merks 
and three wedders, or half a chalder of victual, for the Mill of Fern. On 13th 
February, 1502, James Fothringham founded a chapel in Dundee to the Re- 
ligious Sisters of St Francis. Thomas Fothringham was one of an assize at 
the service of John Carnegie of Kinnaird on 16th May, 1508 (H. of C. of S., 
524). William Scrimgeour of Dudhope married Helen, daughter of Thomas 



16 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Fothringham, in the first half of the 16th century (Craw., 116). About the 
beginning of the 16th century Thomas Fothringham married Helen, daughter 
of Sir Robert Murray of Abercairnie. About the middle of the 16th century 
Thomas Fothringham married Helen, daughter of the Master of Lindsay of 
the Byres (Craw., 86). He was a member of the Parliament of 1560. John 
Fothringham was one of the Commissioners for Dundee at the Convention of 
Estates held at Perth in July, 1569. 

John Carnegie of Carnegie married Catherine Fothringham. She is men- 
tioned as his spouse 1580-90 (Craw. MS. Notes ; L. of L., 195). Early in the 
17th century Thomas Fothringham of Powrie married Margaret, daughter of 
Sir John Gibson of Durie, afterwards Lord Durie (Bar., 569). Their initials 
T.F. and M.G., with date 1642, are in the Church of Murroes. 

Sir John Ogilvy, sixth Baron of Inverquharity, who succeeded his grand- 
father, married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, about 
1520. Thomas Fothringham married Jean, daughter of David Kinloch, who 
was born 1560 and died 1617. James Kinloch, first of Kilry, married Cecillia, 
daughter of Thomas Fothringham (D. Bar., 536). John Ogilvy, afterwards 
Sir John, son of James, second son of the seventh Baron of Inverquharity, 
married his cousin Mathilda, daughter of Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, 
contract dated November, 1586 (D. Bar., p. 51). 

About 1640 Alexander Wedderburn, third of Kingennie, married a daughter 
of Fothringham of Powrie, by whom he had two sons, who died in infancy 
(D. Bar., 279). Sir Alexander Gibson of Durie, son of Sir John Gibson, 
Senator of the College of Justice, Lord Clerk Register, &c., married Cecelia, 
daughter of Thomas Fothringham, by whom he had a son, Sir John Gibson 
of Durie. Sir Alexander was deprived of his offices by Oliver Cromwell in 1649, 
(D.Bar.,189). Margaret Gibson, daughter of Sir Alexander of Durie, and relict of 
Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, was married to Sir Gilbert Ramsay of Bamff. 
He died about 1653 (D. Bar., 189). Sir Alexander Blair of Balthayock, who 
succeeded his father in 1565, married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Fothring- 
ham, by Margaret Gibson. By her he had three sons Thomas, his heir; 
John, who carried on the line of this family ; Andrew and two daughters. 
He died 1692 (D. Bar., 189). 

David Fothringham married Marjory, second daughter of Sir Thomas 
Stewart of Grandtully, about the middle of the seventeenth century (Bar., 487). 
He was one of an assize in 1661 (Reg. de Pan., 331). On 5th December, 
1654, John Fothringham of Powrie, heir of his brother Thomas, was retoured 



CHAP. XLVIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES MUKROES. 17 

(340) in the half of the west part of Ethiebeaton. On 17th December, 1657, 
David Fothringham succeeded his uncle Thomas in same lands. 

On 19th June, 1610, Thomas Fothringham of Powrie was served heir to his 
father Thomas in the lands and barony of Broughty, vizt. : Lands of Hatton 
and Inverarity, with mill and peilhouse ; lands of Wester Brichty ; Happas, 
with pasture in the moor of Brichty and Inverarity ; half the lands of Murroes ; 
the lands of Balluderon ; half the lands of Tarsapie, with fishings on the river 
Tay ; the lands and barony of Wester Powrie ; lands and barony of Inverarity, 
with the lands of Kirkton of same ; lands of Parkyet, with mill and granary of 
Inverarity ; lands of Ovenstone, Bractullo ; half lands of Carrot ; lands and 
town of Bonnyton, G-uisland ; patronage of the Church of Inverarity ; lands of 
Little Tarbrax, with the moor of the barony of Inverarity, of Kirkton of same, 
and Parkyet ; lands called Cushetgreen, in the barony of Downie ; superiority 
of the lands of Meikle Tarbrax, Labothy, Newton, and Balgirscho ; half Carrot ; 
temple lands in town and territory of Brichty ; third part of the dominical 
lands of Downie ; third part of the lands of Balhungie, in the barony of 
Downie ; third part of the lands of Windyedge and Reuelgreen, in the barony 
of Finhaven ; third part an annual of 42 bolls victual of the mill and grange 
of Finhaven, and of the lands of Ordie, in the barony of Finhaven. 

John Carnegie, second of Boysack, married Jean, daughter of David Fothring- 
ham of Powrie shortly after the middle of the 17th century. David Fothringham 
was one of the Commissioners for Angus at the Convention of Estates at Edin- 
burgh in 1665. He is mentioned about 1670 (H. of C. of S., 429). Fothring- 
ham of Powrie is amongst the barons in the list made up by Edward in 1678. 
Ochterlony, 1684-5, says " Kirriemuir was held mostly by the laird of Powrie/' 
Near the end of the 17th century Thomas Fothringham married Ann, daughter 
of Sir Patrick Ogilvy, seventh baron of the Boyne. He was a Senator of the 
College of Justice, and knighted by Charles II. (Bar., 289). About the same 
period David Young of Aldbar, who had for his preceptor the famous Ruddi- 
man, married Majory, eldest daughter of Fothringham of Powrie (Aid. 
B. Miss,) He died in 1743. 

On 17th February, 1666, David Fothringham of Powrie bought from 
Patrick, Lord Gray, the Castle of Broughty, and about twenty acres of the 
adjoining links. 

On 8th May, 1696, Thomas Fothringham of Powrie, heir of John, his 
brother, was retoured in the barony of Brightie, comprehending the lands of 
Wester Brightie ; lands of Happas, with commonty in all the moors and marshes 



18 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

of Brightie and Inneraritie, with pertinents, &c. ; Happas ; Haltoune and 
Inneraritie ; the peathouse and mill of Haltoune ; half the lands of Muirhouse ; 
half the lands of Tarsappie, with fishings upon the water of Tay E. 80, 
taxatce wardce ; lands and barony of Wester Powrie A.E. 3 6s 8d, N.E. 
13 6s 8d ; lands and barony of Inneraritie, comprehending the lands of 
Haltoune of Inneraritie, with mill ; lands of Kirktoune of Inneraritie, with 
wood and lands of Parkyeat ; lands of Bonnitoune, with mansion there ; lands 
of Bractillo, with moss of same ; lands of Unstone ; corn mill of Inneraritie 
and mill lands ; half the land of Carrat, and piece of land called Gooseland of 
Inneraritie, with advocation of the Church of Inneraritie, rectory, and vicarage 
of same ; also comprehending the ownership of the land of Meikle Tarbrax ; 
superiority of the lands of Labothie, Newtoune, and Balgersho ; and superiority 
of the other half of the lands of Carat ; and in the lands of Little Tarbrax, 
with all the moors in the barony of Inneraritie ; lands of the Kirktoune of In- 
neraritie A.E. 20, N.E. 80; lands of Cushie Green, in the barony of 
Downie A.E. 6s, N.E. 24s all united in the barony of Inneraritie ; 4 acris 
of Templar land in the town and territory of Breightie A.E. 20, N.E. 80 ; 
teinds of lands of Wester Powrie ; land of Wester Breightie, and Templar 
lands and mill, and half land of Muirhouse, all in the parish of Muirhouse ; 
teinds of the rectory of Balmuir, in the parish of Mains ; rectory teinds of 
Cushiegreen, in the parish of Monikie ; rectory and other teinds of half the 
town and lands of Ethiebeaton, in the parish of Monifieth A.E. 20s, N.E. 6 ; 
rock of Brughtie, with land of Bruchtie, and salmon fishing E. 40 taxatce 
dlvorice ; town and land of Northferrie, near Brughtie, commonly called the 
Forth of Brughtie, with teinds, and fishing upon the water of Tay, and other 
lands close by E. S feudifirmce all erected into the barony of Powrie-Foth- 
ringham ; 3 acris in the Kirktoune of Kirriemuir, near the courthill, commonly 
called the Happie-Hillock, in the parish and regality of Kirriemuir ; superiority 
of the town and lands of Ballochs, with feus, <&c., in the regality of Kirriemuir, 
with liberty to take peats from the moss of Ballochs ; town and land com- 
monly called the mill of Kirriemuir, with the outfield aickres, mill and mill 
lands, and with the infield aickers, in the town called the Kirktoune of Kirrie- 
muir, in the regality of the same A.E. , N.E. ; lands of Balmuir, with 
grain and fulling mill, in the lordship and regality of Kiriemuir A.E. , 
N.E. ; half land of Ethiebeaton, in the regality above written E. 12 
feudifirmce. 

By the marriage of the father of the late laird of Powrie and Fothringham 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 19 

with Miss Scrymseour he acquired the property of Tealing, which lies between 
the lands of Powrie aud Fothringham, and the three estates form a large, com- 
paratively compact, and very valuable property. In consequence of this 
alliance, the lairds of Powrie prefix Scrymseoure to their surname of Fothring- 
hain. James Scrymseoure-Fothringham of Powrie, Tealing, and Fothringham 
died in 1837. He was succeeded by his son, Captain Thomas, who married, 
16th June, 1860, Lady Charlotte Carnegie, sister to the Earl of Southesk. 
He died in March, 1864, aged 27. Lady Charlotte died on 15th January, 
1880, aged 41 years. 

Walter-Thomas-James Scrymseoure-Fothringham of Powrie, Fothringham, 
and Tealing, born 1862, is the only son of the late Thomas Frederick 
Scrymseoure-Fothriugham of Powrie and Fothringham, who died in 1864, by 
Lady Charlotte, sister of James, ninth Earl of Southesk. Pie succeeded his 
grandmother, Marion Scrymseoure, heiress of Tealing, and widow of James 
Fothringham of Powrie, who died 15th September, 1857, aged 82 years. She 
died in 1875. 

The Fothringham family, like many of the other Angus lairds, were 
Jacobites. Archibald Fothringham, a son of the proprietor of Powrie, entered 
the service of the Chevalier, and was made a lieutenant in the regiment of the 
Earl of Panmure. He fought in the engagement at Sheriff muir, and was 
there taken prisoner and carried to Stirling Castle, along with others of the 
rebel officers. He was subsequently taken to Edinburgh, and from there made his 
escape. The circumstances of the escape are thus described by the Countess 
of Panmure in a letter to her husband, the Earl, date 3d June, 1716 : " Last 
week Poorie made his escape from his Lodgings in ye Cannongate, having gott 
liberty to come out of My Lord Winton's house to take a course of Physick, so he 
had onlie sentries on him ; and Borrowfield and Glenlyon has made their escape 
from Stirling." 

It is probable that Thomas Fothringham, who petitioned the King to grant 
him a pardon for the unpremeditated murder of Dennis Wright or M'Intyre 
at Florence in August, 1737, was a member of the family of Powrie. The 
cause of the quarrel is not stated ; but, according to the copy of the petition, 
it appears that both were " heated with drink " at the time, and that the affair 
began by " throwing Bottles and glasses ; and afterwards," as is stated in the 
petition, " your Petitioner having unluckily got into his hand a Hanger that 
was lying in the Room, I gave the said Dennis a wound in the Belly." Wright 
who died within two days, emitted a declaration, dated 27th August, which 



20 ANGUS OR FORFABSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

contains this frank and highly honourable statement : " I forgive him with 
all my heart, and I do by this, my Declaration, put a stop, as far as in me lyes, 
to all prosecutions that may arise on account of the accident." 

The following extracts from a letter by another member of the Powrie family, 
written in the second month of the same year (1737), help to throw some light 
upon the proceedings of the Scotchmen who, whether from necessity or choice, 
spent a considerable part of their time in France and Italy after the 1715 and 1745 
Eebellions. The writer, J. Fothringham, and Thomas, who caused the death of 
Dennis Wright, had probably both taken part in the 1715 Rebellion, and fled to 
Italy to escape the consequences of their loyalty to the Stuarts, as was done by 
their kinsman Archibald, who escaped from Edinburgh and took refuge on 
the Continent. 

The letter is dated Milan, February 12, 1737, and addressed to James 
Graham of Meathie. The state of society there, and the life the Scotch lairds 
led while residing abroad in the early part of last century had been wretched in 
the extreme, very dangerous, and suited for none but reckless men. He says, 
" Yesterday night I was robbed in my own lodgings of all my money, watch, 
and a gold snuffbox belonging to a lady here, which by misfortune I had in 
my pocket, and which I am obliged to pay. After all the search I possibly 
can make I have found nothing but my watch, and that by the means of a 
villainous confessor, to whom I am obliged to give about four pounds, and can't 
possibly have the satisfaction to know the person who played me this trick." 

" I began to accuse the house, and the justice of this rascally country is so 
notorious that, but for good friends, I ran the risk of being imprisoned, per- 
haps for months, for doing what anywhere else the judge would have done for 
me. I cannot be on the streets at night without having people armed with 
me for fear of being assassinated, almost a nightly occurrence here." 

" I have promised James, in case a particular affair does not happen, to be at 
home in August. He pressed that everything should be done to sell his whole 
estate, as he wanted what he had in ready money rather than land. He 
wanted it to be put in the newspapers to be sold either altogether or in part, 
and the sooner the better." There is a beautiful seal in red wax of the 
Fothringham coat armorial on the letter. 

In former times there were two Castles of Powrie, the one known as Wester 
Powrie, belonging to the family of Fothringham ; and the other as Easter 
Powrie, belonging to the family of Wedderburn of that ilk. The Castle of 
Wester Powrie is an old building, but the date of its erection is unknown. It 



CHAP. XLVIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 21 

stands at a short distance to the east of the highway between Dundee and 
Forfar, at a part known as " Powrie Brae" about three miles from the former 
and eleven miles from the latter town. What remains of the castle consists 
of two detached portions, the southern of which appears to have been the 
family apartments, and the northern where the retainers were housed. The 
two buildings are only about twenty feet apart, and it is traditionally supposed 
that a building to the east of the castle, known as the ladies' quarter, connected 
the two sections. 

The castle appears to have been the residence of the family until about the 
middle of the 16th century. After the Governor raised the siege of Broughty 
Castle, the English, who held it from September, 1547, till February, 1550, 
" became exceeding insolent, and spoiled and burnt the country at their 
pleasure ; and among the rest, the town of Dundee and the Castle of Wester- 
Pury, with the villages adjacent. They built a great strength upon Balgillow 
Law, and infested the country, so that, for six miles about them, there was no 
land laboured but it paid duty to them " (His. of Scot, by Pitsc., p. 306, &c.). 

The damage done to the castle appears to have been so serious as to make it 
unfit for the family residence. They had another residence beside the Church 
of Murroes, which they probably occupied after the castle was destroyed, and 
until they built Fothringham House, in Inverarity parish. It is now a thing 
of the past, Fothringham Castle being now the family mansion. 

The southern portion of the castle in which the family resided consisted of 
two floors, both vaulted, the apartments being both co-extensive with the 
length and breadth of the building. One of them had been the hall, and, 
judging from some ornamentation surrounding the chimney, which is still 
pretty entire, it had been a handsome and spacious room. The chimney had 
been very large. On the lintel there is an escutcheon, with the Fothringham 
arms impaled, with three boars' heads erased, and the letters T. F., for Thomas 
Fothringham, on a deeply moulded panel, but there is no date upon the shield. 

The northern portion of the castle had also been vaulted, and the oven in 
the north-west corner of the ground floor is still recognisable. This portion 
has recently been repaired, and it is now tenanted by some of the labourers on 
the farm. The front building is in a very ruinous condition, and parts of the 
walls are falling from time to time, a considerable portion of the west gable 
having given way recently. The view from the top of the front building is 
very extensive. 

We have mentioned above that the Fothringhams had a residence close by 



22 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

the Church of Murroes as well as the Castle of Powrie. It is a large, plain 
building, which for some time past has been possessed by the hinds employed 
on the farms in its vicinity. The house is on the right bank of the Murroes 
burn, and the situation had been picturesque and pleasant. 

Under the direction of the Privy Council, Lord Carnegie, who, on 10th 
April, 1683, was appointed by Charles II. Captain of a troop of horse in the 
Forfarshire Militia, was appointed to prosecute various parties in the county 
for holding house and field conventicles. The following letter to his father, 
Charles, fourth Earl of Southesk, shows how the Covenanters were persecuted. 
The orthography is modernized. 

" My Lord, I had given your Lordship an account of these conventicles 
sooner, but thought I could not do it better than after I had made some in- 
quisition about them. I came this day to Forfar, where I met with the lairds of 
Finhaven, Balnamoon, Gruthrie, Powrie younger, Easter Powrie, Cookstoii, and 
Balrownie younger. Powrie younger apprehended four cottars and servants 
who live on his ground, which are here imprisoned, and other two which he 
sent to Dundee, with a letter to the Provost to secure them, and requiring him 
to apprehend another (whose name he sent to him), an inhabitant in Dundee. 
I called the four prisoners here before me this day in a fenced court, whom 
I found to be but poor inconsiderable people. For anything I can find, 
they are ingenuous, having given upon oath as full a list of all persons present 
at the conventicles as their memories could serve them, to the number of thirty 
or thereby, the most part whereof were women. They give account also that 
one of the conventicles was in the fields on Sunday fortnight, at the Ward Dyke, 
within the march of the Myreton ; and on Sunday thereafter a house con- 
venticle at the West March, in the house of Thomas Machan, a tenant of 
Powrie' s. They could not give any further account of the preacher but that 
he was a little man, with a short periwig, a stuff coat, and tartan hose ; that he 
came from Fife, and was brought from Dundee to the place of these conventicles 
by one Alexander Milne, in Newbigging (in whose house he stayed during 
the time betwixt the conventicles), who and his family is fled, with the preacher, 
they know not whither ; some call him Mr John Flint (helstanes), Keid, or 
Mr John Kamsay. As the deponents can conjecture, there would have been 
at the field conventicle about fifty persons, and at the house about sixty, the 
most part women. The convoy the preacher had were three or four Fife men, 
lusty fellows. The prisoners, and the most part of them they delate, did, both 
these days they were at the conventicles, hear two sermons in their parish church 



CHAP. XLYIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 23 

of the Murroes, and went more out of curiosity to see than hear at these con- 
venticles, for they wish they had been lying in a fever that day they went. Upon 
their confessions I have fined them, conform to the Acts of Parliament, and 
ordained them to be detained close prisoners, after the tenor of these Acts, and 
further, during the will of the Privy Council, whereof I humbly entreat a 
speedy return. And as to these whom they delated, I have issued orders for 
apprehending of them, if possible; and, in case they be not apprehended, for sum- 
moning them to appear before me in a court to be holden here on Tuesday next, 
after which time I shall give your Lordship as full an account as I can ; for I 
do not intend to come over till I have put a close to this affair, whereof I shall 
give your Lordship notice from time to time. I am, my Lord, your Lordship's 
most dutiful sou and humble servant, 

(Signed) " CAKNEGY. 

"Forfar, 2d April, 1685." 

Although the persecution was much less rigid in Angus than in the south, 
this letter shows that even here repressive measure against the Presbyterians 
were adopted, and severe pains and penalties inflicted upon those attending 
conventicles, although from motives of curiosity only. 

The gift of King William the Lion to Gilbert, third son of Gilbride, 
second son of the Earl of Angus, included the lands and barony of Ogilvie, 
in the parish of Glamis, as well as those of Easter and Wester Powrie, and 
from them the family assumed the surname of Ogilvy. In the charter Gilbert 
is designed " son of the Earl of Angus." The Ogilvys continued in possession of 
Ogilvy and Easter Powrie for a long period, and they retained the superiority 
for a considerable time after they had disposed of the lands. 

Alexander Ogilvy, son of Sir Patrick de Ogilby, in the time of the Bruce, 
obtained the lands of Ogilvy and Easter Powrie. His son, Sir Patrick, was 
the ancestor of the Ogilvys of Ogilvie and Easter Powrie, but we are unable to 
give the succession of the family in these lands for some time thereafter. 
Easter Powrie remained in the family until near the end of the 16th century. 
The last male of the name of Ogilvy who owned Easter Powrie was Gilbert 
Ogilvy of Ogilvy. He left a daughter, Anne, who was married to Sir Thomas 
Erskine of Gogar, nephew of the Regent, John, Earl of Mar. Sir Thomas 
was created Earl of Kellie by James VI. in 1619. On 27th August, 
1601, John, heir of Gilbert, his father, was retoured (No. 22) in the lands 
and barony of Easter Powrie ; and on 19th January, 1610, Gilbert, heir of 



24 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

his father, John Ogilvy, was retoured (No. 69) in same lands and barony, of 
Easter Powrie A.B. 12, N.E. 48. These two services of heirs may have 
been of the superiority of the properties only. 

The first recorded of the name of Ogilvy whom we have found is Alex- 
ander Ogilvy, who was one of an inquest who found that the lands of Inver- 
peffer owed suit of court to the Abbot of Arbroath. The next and immediate 
successor of Alexander was Patrick de Ogilvy, who did homage to Edward I. 
in 1296. In 1267 he witnessed a charter by Koger de Quincy, Earl of Min- 
chester, of the Churches of Lathirsk and Kettle to the Priory of St Andrews. 
Sir Walter of Ogilvy, third in descent from Patrick, married the heiress of 
Sir Malcolm Ramsay of Auchterhouse, and with her he got that barony, and 
the office of hereditary Sheriff of Forfarshire. 

Gilbert Ogilvy appears to have sold the lands and barony of Ogilvy and of 
Easter Powrie to Jarnes Durham of Pitkerro, son of John Durham, second son 
of Alexander, sixth baron of Grange of Monifieth, who had a charter under the 
Great Seal dated 12th November, 1593. He had another charter of these pro- 
perties dated llth July, 1631. 

James Durham, grandson of James Durham who acquired Easter Powrie, 
is styled apparent of Pitkerro in a charter of Powrie Easter, the barony of 
Ogilvy, &c. He was knighted by Charles I. Sir James died in 1683 (see 
Vol. IV., p. 158). 

They appear to have been acquired from the Durhams by a M'Pherson, but 
we do not know who he was. Alexander Wedderburn, Provost of Dundee, 
bought from Dougald M'Pherson the lands of Easter Powrie, and got a 
charter of them under the Great Seal from Charles II., dated 12th January, 
1663. The lands and barony of Easter Powrie are now known as the Middle- 
ton and the Barns of Wedderburn, and they still remain in possession of 
his descendant, H. S. Wedderburn of Birkhill, &c. (Gen. of the Wed., 
p. 20). 

There was a castle on Easter Powrie in early times, which, it is supposed, 
belonged to and had been one of the seats of the ancient Earls of Angus ; but 
there is nothing certainly known about any of the residences of the great 
Celtic Earls of Angus, who at one period were the proprietors of the greater 
part of the lands in this district, and in other districts of the county. The 
Castle of Easter Powrie was demolished and the stones removed many years 
ago, and no vestige of the ruins now remains on the spot, indeed the precise 
site cannot now be pointed out with certainty. It is believed to have stood on 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MUKROES. 25 

the right bank of the Fithie, a short distance to the north-west of Duntrune 
Hill, and near to where an old dovecot still stands. 

This dovecot is an interesting ruin. It is a circular tower, about fifteen 
feet in height and thirty in circumference. It is now roofless, and parts of the 
wall are rent. A door on the level of the ground admits to the interior, around 
which there are fifteen rows, the one above the other from the floor to the top 
of the building, of square stone nesting boxes, or pigeon holes, each nearly a 
foot square. There are about twenty-four nesting boxes in each row, making 
about 360 in all the dovecot. When the pigeon-house was fall the family 
within must have been very numerous. 

No view of the castle exists, so far as we know, but some sculptured stones 
from the castle are built into the farm buildings of Barns of Wedderburn. 
These consist of one stone in the north wall of the cattle shed, fronting the 
public road, on which there is a portion of an animal, with open mouth turned 
up, and other figures which the weather a'nd other causes have made it im- 
possible to describe. On the south wall of the cattle shed there is another, on 
which is what looks like an expanded circular bottle, the neck of which ex- 
tends to the top of the stone. There are some markings on the lower half of 
the bulb-like bottle. A little apart from the bottle are the neck and head of 
an animal. These two stones appear to be only fragments. In a loose stone 
wall adjoining the farmhouse there is a third stone, but the figures are so 
effaced that we can give no description of them. These three stones were 
very probably taken from the old castle. In the north wall of the southern 
portion of the farm steading is a triangular stone, on which are armorial 
bearings, with the letter S. in one of the lower angles, and D. in the other, 
with a scroll on each side of the triangle. This is a modern-looking stone, but 
we do not know whose initials or arms are on the triangle. 

Ochterlony thus describes the Castle of Easter Powrie : " It is a very good 
house, with good yards and parks about it ; and at the foot of the castle wall 
runs a little rivulet, which, going to Ballurnbie, and from thence to Pitkerro, 
falls into the river of Dighty. It is a very pleasant place, and he is chief of 
his name," &c. 

There is no record to show when the proprietors of the barony of Wedder- 
burn, in Berwickshire, assumed the name of their lands as a surname. Sur- 
names began to be used in Scotland during the reign of King David the First. 
In the Inqiusitio Davidis, in the year 1116, Gervase de Kiddell and Robert de 

D 



26 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Corbet were witnesses, and these are perhaps the two oldest surnames which 
can be traced in the chartularies of Scotland. 

Walter de Wederburn, one of the barons of Scotland, swore fealty for his 
lands in the Merse to Edward the First at Berwick-on -Tweed, 28th August, 
1296. From this date till after the accession of Robert III. to the throne, in 
1390, the annals of the family are by no means clear. In that year Alice was 
married to Sir David Home of Thurston, second son of Sir Thomas Home of 
Home, and they had two sons, David and Alexander. David married Eliza- 
beth Carmichael, and had issue George and Patrick. 

James II. granted a charter of confirmation of the lands of Wedderburn 
under the Great Seal, dated at Stirling, 16th May, 1450, upon a resignation of 
the said Sir David and his wife, Alice, to them in liferent, and after their 
decease, to George, son of the deceased David Home, and, whom failing, to 
Patrick, brother of George, &c. From George, the present Home of Wedder- 
burn is descended, and the confirmatory charter of 1450 is in his possession. 
There were other Wedderburns in Berwickshire after the death of Robert III. 
in 1406. William de Wedderburn, Scutifer, was left in charge of the infant son 
of Sir John S win ton of Swinton, who fell at the battle of Vernoil, in France, 
in 1424. It is not known from what branch of the Wedderburns the family 
now to be mentioned are descended. 

I. James Wedderburn " Merchant Burgess of Dundee," had two sons, 
James, his heir, and 

II. David, who was living in 1464, and was mentioned in a charter under 
the Great Seal from James IV., dated 18th February, 1489. " Ad Sustenta- 
tionem Capellain in Ecclessia de Dundee/' James, the heir, left issue by Janet, 
daughter and heiress of David Forrester of Nevay. 

III. John Wedderburn of Tofts, Town Clerk of Dundee. He obtained 
from James V. a charter under the Great Seal, 20th June, 1527, to John 
Wedderburn, son of James Wedderburn, junior, burgess of Dundee, and Janet 
Forrester, his wife, of the lands of Tofts, in the barony of Tullogh Hill. 

When Lord William Howard, termed by the Borderers " Belted Will," was 
sent ambassador from England, in 1530, to negotiate an interview between 
King James and his uncle, Henry the Eighth, the Queen mother challenged 
James to produce three landed gentlemen and three yeomen to contend in 
archery with six of the ambassador's retinue, the prize to be one hundred crowns 
and a tun of wine. The gentlemen selected were John Wedderburn of Tofts, 
David Wemyss of Wemyss, and David Arnot of Arnot. They contended at 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 27 

St Andrews, and though the Englishmen proved themselves excellent archers, 
the Scots gained the prize. 

John Wedderburn of Tofts obtained another charter under the Great Seal, 
dated 31st August, 1533, confirming to him certain lands in the lordship of 
Dudhope, and he died shortly thereafter. He had two sons, David, his heir, and 
James, who was bred to arms, was a colonel in the French service in 1571, 
and brought over a hundred men to the siega of Leith. He returned to the 
Continent, and his subsequent history and fate is uncertain. 

IV. David Wedderburn, also Town Clerk of Dundee, who got a charter 
under the Great Seal, to him and Helen Lawson, his spouse, of the lands of 
Hilton of Craigie, dated 9th October, 1535 ; and another from Queen Mary, 
to them, of the Mains of Huntly, in Perthshire, 8th October, 1552. He died, 
an old man, in 1590, leaving three sons and a daughter Alexander, his heir, 
born in 1550 ; James, who was bred to the Church, was professor of divinity 
at St Andrews, 1633, Bishop of Dunblane, 1635, but was deprived, 26th 
November, 1638, went to England, and died 1639 ; and John, an eminent 
physician and mathematician, who was a professor in Padua, and settled in 
Moravia ; Margaret, married to Peter Clayhills. She died on 20th September, 
1616, leaving issue. 

V. Alexander, the heir, was a man of intelligence and worth. He became 
Town Clerk of Dundee, 28th July, 1590. He devoted much of his time in 
removing differences among his neighbours, in which good work he was so 
dexterous and impartial, that he generally pleased both parties. The Magis- 
trates employed him in all their important affairs, and he was in great favour 
with King James VI. He accompanied the King to London in 1603, and 
when he was leaving to return to Scotland, His Majesty took a diamond ring 
from his finger and gave it to him as a token of friendship. 

The ring is still preserved in the family. By his wife, Helen Eamsay, he 
had three sons and four daughters, Alexander, his heir ; James, progenitor of 
the Blackness family, born about 1580 ; John, M.D., physician to, and a 
favourite with, Charles I., who knighted him, and gave him a pension of .2000 
Scots yearly, which pension was renewed by Charles II. in 1660. He acquired 
great wealth, and gave his nephew, Sir Peter Wedderburn, Lord Gosford, the 
means of purchasing the property of Gosford, in Lothian. He died without 
issue. 

Elizabeth was married to Campbell of Balgerstone, secondly to Peter Bruce, 
D.D., Principal of St Leonard's College, St Andrews, and son of the laird of 



28 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE, [PART XIV. 

Fingask ; Agnes to Halyburton of Gask ; Magdalene to William, son of Wed- 
derburn of Pitormie ; and Elspeth to Alexander Fothringham, brother of 
Powrie. 

Alexander Wedderburn obtained from James VI. charter under the Great 
Seal of the lands and barony of Kingennie in 1600. Under a deed granted 
in 1603 he acquired from the Earl of Crawford the right of pasturage over an 
extensive tract of country. We have not ascertained where this extensive 
tract of country was situated. 

VI. Alexander, his son, succeeded as second baron of Kingennie, and also 
as Town Clerk of Dundee. In 1618 he was by Act ot Parliament appointed Com- 
missioner for regulating the Weights and Measures of Scotland. He married 
Magdalene, daughter of John Scrimgeour of Magdalen's Kirkton, by whom he 
had a son ; and a daughter, Marjory, married to Robert Carnegie of Leuchland. 
He died in 1635. 

VII. Alexander succeeded his father as third baron of Kingennie. When his 
father died he was too young to hold the office of Town Clerk, and the Clerk- 
ship of Dundee was given to his cousin of Blackness, also a young man of 17. 

Alexander married a daughter of Fothringham of Powrie, by whom he had 
two sons, who died in infancy ; secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of Ramsay of 
Murie, by whom he had a son and heir, Alexander ; thirdly, a daughter of 
Milne of Minefield, by whom he had a daughter, Magdalene, married to John 
{Scrymgeour of Magdalen's Kirkton, Hereditary Royal Standard-Bearer of 
Scotland, heir of line, entail, and tailzie to John, Earl of Dundee, and last 
Viscount of Dudhope. She was grandmother of David Scrymgeour of Birk- 
hill. He was a member of the first Parliament of Charles II. 

On 10th July, 1662, Alexander Wedderburn was elected Provost of 
Dundee. In same year he purchased from Dougald M'Pherson the lands of 
Easter Powrie, and obtained from Charles II. a charter under the Great Seal, 
dated 10th January, 1663, of the land and barony of Easter Powrie. He died 
a few years thereafter. 

VIII. Alexander, son of Alexander Wedderburn and the daughter of Ramsay 
of Murie, fourth baron of Kingennie, succeeded on the death of his father. He 
married his cousin, Grisel, fourth daughter of Sir Alexander Wedderburn, 
knight, of Blackness, by Matilda, daughter of Fletcher of Inverpeffer, born 
8th February, 1647. By her he had a son and a daughter, Rachael, married to 
Gilbert Stewart, brother of John Stewart of Stenton. She died after 1697, 
without issue to Stewart. 



CHAP. XLVIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- MURROES. 29 

In the printed retours the following entries of the service of heirs to these 
properties appear : Retour, No. 521 On 24th March, 1692, Alexander 
Wedderburn, heir of his father, Alexander Wedderburn of Easter Powrie, -was 
retoured in the lands of Easter Powrie, with mill ; Wester Mains or Middleton ; 
Easter Mains and Burnside of Powrie, principal ; and in warrandice of same, 
in the lands and barony of Ogilvie, called the Glen of Ogilvie A.E. 12,, N.E. 
4.8. The teinds of the lands of Powrie in Murroes E. 10s. albae firmse. 

IX. Alexander Wedderburn, who succeeded his father, Alexander, was the 
fifth baron of Kingennie. In the beginning of the eighteenth century he 
obtained from Queen Anne a charter under the Great Seal, erecting all his 
lands, de novo, into a barony, to be called the barony of Wedderburn in all 
time coming. Thereafter he was designed Wedderburn of that ilk. 

He married Grisel, a daughter of Garden (Gardyne) of Lawton, and by her 
he had a son, David, and a daughter, Grisel, who survived them, besides other 
four sons who died young, and a daughter, Rachel, who died unmarried. 
Alexander Wedderburn was appointed Governor of Broughty Castle, by com- 
mission from King James the Eighth (the Pretender), dated at Scone, 2 1st 
January, 1715-16. 

X. David Wedderburn, born 21st April, 1710, succeeded his father as 
second Wedderburn of that ilk. He died in 1761 unmarried, and with him 
terminated the direct male descent from Alexander, first baron of Kingennie 
(No. V. of this account of the family). 

XI. Grisel Wedderburn of Wedderburn, born 14th February, 1705, was 
served heir to her brother David in 1761. She died unmarried in November, 
1778. She was heir of line of the Wedderburns of that ilk. 

Under an entail executed by Grisel, the barony devolved on her nearest 
paternal relative, Alexander, eldest son of David Scrymgeour of Birkhill, 
Heritable Royal Standard-Bearer of Scotland. David Scrymgeour of Birk- 
hill, advocate, married, in August, 1739, Katherine, sixth daughter of Sir 
Alexander Wedderburn of Blackness, born 10th January, 1715, died 19th 
March, 1796, and by her, besides Alexander, had three sons and five daughters. 
The deed ordains that the heir in possession of the barony must bear the sur- 
name of Wedderburn, and none other ; and the armorial ensigns of Wedder- 
burn, but these he is permitted to bear with or without alteration, addition, or 
variation, as he may please. 

David bcrymgeour of Birkhill was the son of Dr Alexander Scrymgeour, 
Professor of St Andrews, by Janet, daughter of David Falconer, son of John 



30 ANGUS OR FORJFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Scrymgeour of Magdalen's Kirkton, by Magdalene, only daughter of Alexander 
Wedderburn of Kingennie and Wedderburn, great-grandfather of Grisel Wed- 
derburn, the entailer. 

XII. Alexander Wedderburn of Wedderburn and Birkhill, who succeeded 
to the barony of Wedderburn in 1778, was Heritable Royal Standard-Bearer 
of Scotland. He was bred to the law, and became a member of the Faculty of 
Advocates in 1766. On 2cl March, 1771, he married Elizabeth, second 
daughter of James Fergusson of Pitfour, a Senator of the College of Justice, 
by the Hon. Anne Murray, daughter of the fourth Lord Elibank. She died 
without issue on 13th October, 1810. He died on 4th July, 1811, and was 
succeeded by his only surviving brother. 

XIII. Henry Wedderburn of Wedderburn and Birkhill, Heritable Eoyal 
Standard-Bearer of Scotland, was born in 1755. He married, 5th April, 1793, 
Mary Turner, eldest daughter of the Hon ble - Frederick Lewis Maitland, jure 
uxoris, of Rankeillor and Lindores, sixth son of the sixth Earl of Lauderdale, 
by Margaret Dick Makgill, heiress of Rankeillor and Lindores, and had 
four sons and eight daughters. The three eldest sons predeceased their father, 
who died on 20th December, 1841, and was succeeded by his son, 

XIY. Frederick Lewis Wedderburn of Wedderburn and Birkhill, born 4th 
March, 1808. He married Hon. Helen, fifth daughter of the eighth Viscount 
Arbuthnot, and by her had issue Henry, his heir. Secondly, Selina, daughter of 
Captain Garth, R.N., of Haines Hill, Berkshire, by whom he had issue a son 
and two daughters. He died on 16th August, 1874. 

As we have shown by the above account of the family of Wedderburn, 
the family were, for many generations, leading citizens in Dundee, and took 
a prominent part in the municipal, mercantile, legal, and other interests of the 
burgh. Several generations of the race were successively Town Clerks of Dun- 
dee, and some of them while they held this office were masters of the position, 
and took the supreme control of the business under the charge of the Magistrates, 
Town Council, and other constituted authorities in the town. One of the 
members of the family signed the " Merchants' Letter," or Charter of Incor- 
poration of the Guildry, on 10th October, 1515. Some of the members of the 
Wedderburn family have represented the Dundee district of burghs in Parlia- 
ment, have had titles of honour bestowed on them, and have held important 
offices under the Government of the kingdom. 

The family, in course of time, branched out in several directions, and became 
allied with many noble and honourable families in various parts of the country. 



OHAP. XLVIII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. MURROES. 31 

At one period the chief of the race and cadets of the family owned large 
properties in Angus, and the present head of the \Vedderburns and the Scrym- 
geours, who have for a long time been united in one person, still holds no 
mean stake in the county. 

Details of the Scyrmgeours, now united with the Wedderburns, see Vol II. 
pp. 13-19. The present representative of the united families is Henry Scrym- 
geour-Wedderburn of Wedderburn, Kingennie, and Birkhill, &c. He married 
Juliana, daughter of Thomas Braddell, by whom he has a family of sons and 
daughters. 

ARMORIAL BEARINGS OF WEDDERBURN OF WEDDERBURN. 

Quarterly, for Scrymgeour, 1st and 4th 

Gules a lion rampant, or ; armed and langued azure, holding in his dexter paw a 

scymetar ; argent a label of the first. 
For Wedderburn, 2d and 3d 

Argent a chevron between three roses ; gules a label of the first. 
Crest, for Scrymgeour 

On a wreath of his colours, surmounting an helmet of his degree, above the first 

quarter, a lion's paw, gules ; holding a scymetar, argent. 
Motto, for Scrymgeour 

On an escrol, above the crest, the word, DISSIPATE. 
Crest, for Wedderburn 

On a wreath of his colours, surmounted by an helmet of his degree, above the second 

quarter, an eagle's head erased, proper. 
Motto, for Wedderburn 

On an escrol, above the crest, these words, NON DEGENEB. 
The whole upheld by the supporters of the first, two greyhounds, proper, collared gules. 

Chief Seat The old Houses of Wedderburn and Kingennie, in ruins, both in Angus. 
Birkhill, in Fife, by Cupar-Fif e. 

The early proprietors of Westhall have not been ascertained, but it probably 
was the Earls of Angus. The first name we have found in connection with 
the lands of Westhall is that of Beaton. This family was designed of West- 
hall about 1526, but they may have owned the property long before that date. 
The surname is an old one in the district, Ethiebeaton, in the adjoining parish 
of Monifieth, having been long possessed by a family named Beaton, who may 
have given their name to, but it is more likely they had taken their name from, 
their lands. 

Robert Beaton of Westhall was concerned in the murder of the tutor of 
Laws in 1568. In 1577 Sir Walter Graham of Fintry and others, his neigh- 
bours, were deleted for communing with him. 



32 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The Beatons retained Westhall until after 1631. On 21st January, 1631, 
James Beaton, heir of James Beaton of Westhall, his father, was retoured 
(No. 197) in the lands and mill, in the parish of Murroes, called Westhall, in 
the barony of Inverarity A.E. 40s, N.E. 8. 

The lands appear to have passed from the Beatons shortly thereafter to a 
family named Scott. On 1st May, 1662, Grisel Scott, spouse of George Brown, 
merchant burgess of Dundee, and others her sisters, heirs portioners of Thomas 
Scott, a bailie in Dundee, their father, were retoured (No. 389) in the lands and 
town of Westhall, with the mill of same A.E. 40s, N.E. 8 ; also tenements 
in Dundee, &c. 

The estate appears to have been acquired by a cadet of the Piersons of Bal- 
madies snortly after the date of that retour. 

In Ochterlony's account of the shire he mentions " Westhall, with a dovecot, 
belonging to Archibald Pierson." This was in or about 1684-5. 

The chapelyard burying-ground, in the parish of Rescobie, is where the 
Piersons bury. Among the headstones there are two which bear respectively 
Mr Archibald Pearsone of Westhall. 
Elizabeth Garden, his spouse. 

Although there is no date upon these stones, there is some probability that 
Archibald Pearsone, whose death is there recorded, is the proprietor of West- 
hall mentioned by Ochterlony. 

In Macfarlane's MSS. (Vol. III., pp. 275-9, The Guthries of Westhall, c. 
1682, et sub.)) in the Advocates' Library, Edinburgh, the words " Westhall, 
with a dovecot " are deleted in Ochterlony's account of the shire, and " Mr John 
Guthrie of Westhall " substituted. Guthrie had probably succeeded Pearson 
in Westhall. 

John Guthrie had two daughters, Isobel, married first to Bishop Norrie of 
Brechin in April, 1708 ; secondly to David Gardyne of Lawton, who was out 
in the " '45," fought at Culloden, and died at Newport, in Flanders, in 1749. 
Her sister and co-heiress, Margaret, became the second wife of Sir David George 
Ogilvy of Barras. By her he had a family of sons and daughters. Rev. James 
Ogilvy, minister of Eassie, married one of the daughters, Susanna. He had 
got Westhall with her, as he is designed of Westhall. He died in 1802, and 
their son, William, was also designed of Westhall. 

The Rev. James Ogilvy, minister of Eassie, who was the founder of the 
Ogilvy s of Westhall, was the eldest son of Rev. George Ogilvy, who succeeded 
Mr Lyon in Kirriemuir in 1713, and he was the first Presbyterian minister 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES NEWT YLE. 33 

there. He married Trail, from Dundee, and died in 1771, aged 90 

years. His son, the Rev. James Ogilvy of Eassie, married Susan, daughter of 
Sir George Ogilvy of Barras. 

The Rev, William Eamsay, who was minister at Cortachy from 1795 to 
1818, married the daughter of John Ogilvy of Jamaica, who was a son of 
William Ogilvy, laird of Westhall. By her he had a son, who was minister 
at Alyth, and another, George Ramsay Ogilvy, who passed as an advocate in 
1844, and was Sheriff-Substitute at Forfar, and afterwards at Dundee. He 
succeeded to Westhall in virtue of the settlement of a maternal aunt, when he 
assumed the additional surname of Ogilvy. His only daughter having prede- 
ceased him, he bequeathed the estate of Westhall to his cousin-german, Rev. 
David Ramsay, minister of Closeburn, and second son of the minister of Alyth. 
George Ramsay Ogilvy died on 22d November, 1866, aged 44 years. The 
Rev. David Ogilvy Ramsay is the present proprietor of Westhall. 

The house of Westhall stands on a commanding situation, a short distance 
eastward from Duntrune, and has an extensive and beautiful prospect, especially 
to the south and eastward. 

CHAP. XLIX. NEWTYLE. 

The Church of Nevtyl (Newtyle) was in the diocese of St Andrews. It was 
dedicated by Bishop David in 1242, but the patron saint is not known, The 
church was given by William the Lion to the Abbey of Arbroath. It was 
rated in the Old Taxation at 20 merks, but in the Reg. de Aberb., p. 239, the 
amount is expressed thus, xx (xxx ?) merks. It may therefore have been 30 
merks. 

The previous Church of Newtyld, now Newtyle, was built in 1767. It stood 
on a slight eminence at the west side of the village of Newtyle, and was taken 
down in 1870, having stood a little over one hundred years. The new church 
was built on the site of the old one. It is somewhat ornate, and has a lofty 
roofed tower for a belfry. Within it is neat and commodious. The church 
bell bears the date 1736. It had done service in a still older church than the 
last one. 

In 1574 Newtyld and Nava were served by Maister Robert Boyd, minister 
with a stipend of 80 and kirklands. George Halden was reidare at Newtyld 
with a salary of 20, both sums Scots. Matthew Moncur, reidare at Nava 
(Navey, the haill vicarage). The superintendent of Angus, Mernis, Stor- 
month, and Gowrie, 446 13s 9d Scots. Summa of the money assignit to 



34 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

the Ministerie within the bounds of Anguss, Mernis, Gowrie, and Starmonth, 
iijjm. ftjc. liij n xv *. j<i., i. pt. d. Off quheit, v ch. Off beir, xlvj ch., xj b., 
ij fr., ij pect. Off meill, lix ch., v b., j fr., f pt. pect, Off aittis, xiij b. (Mis. 
Wod. Soc, p. 355). 

In former times there was a chapel upon the Hill of Keillor, about a mile 
to the west of the church, near to which is a large block of gneis, which stands 
upon a tumulus of earth and stones, in which cists containing bones were 
found, and near to which ancient sepulchral remains were found. The stone 
has a smooth face, on which the figure of an animal, with the spectacle and 
other symbols underneath, are incised. The stone was broken across, but the 
two parts have been united and the stone placed on its old site. In the be- 
ginning of the century a weem, or Pict's house, was discovered a short distance 
south of the farmhouse of Auchtertyre. 

The parish is bounded by Lundie on the south, on the west by Kettins, on 
the north by Meigle, on the east by Nevay, and on the south-east by Auchter- 
house. It is about two miles in length from east to west, and the same in 
breadth from north to south. It contains 5194*828 acres, of which 2*509 are 
water. 

The southern portion of the parish is hilly, but, as the hills are verdant, they 
afford good pasturage for sheep and cattle. They are not of great altitude, 
but from the summit of each Keillor, Newtyle, Hatton, Kinpurnie, &c. the 
views are grand. 

The land lying beyond the boundary of the hills, to the north, is generally 
fertile, of excellent quality, consisting of black earth and clay, cultivated with 
assiduity, care, and skill, and it produces large crops of superior grain, turnips, 
potatoes, &c. 

Hugh Watson, who long farmed Ochtertyre and Keillor, gained a name 
and fame as an agiculturist and a breeder of stock. He died in 1865. The re- 
putation which he acquired, and deserved, has stimulated others to follow in 
his footsteps, and the farmers in the parish maintain a high position for their 
agricultural attainments. 

In the village of Newtyle there is, besides the Established Church, a neat 
Free Church. Each of the churches has comfortable manses, but the Free 
Church has no glebe. The moral and spiritual interests of the inhabitants 
of the parish are well cared for. There is a good hall and an excellent public 
library in the village. 

Sir William Oliphant, knight, of Aberdalgie, was a faithful adherent of 
The Bruce. He was one of the barons who signed the famous letter to the 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. NEWTYLE. 

Pope, and he was the ancestor of the Lords Oliphant. An account of them is 
given in Vol. II., p. 35-41. 

King Robert Bruce granted to Sir William Oliphant, knight, a charter of 
the lands of Newtyle and Kynprony (Kilpurnie), to be held in free barony, 
with all the liege and native men of said lands, performing the fourth part of 
a knight's service in the King's army. It is dated at Newbotyll, 21st Decem- 
ber, 1317 (His. Man. Com., 5th Report, p. 622). 

On the resignation, by Neil of Carrick, into the King's hands of the lands 
of Ochtertyre, which had belonged to John Cornyn, Robert, King of Scots, 
gave a charter of them to Sir William Oliphant, knight, for the service ot 
three archers in the King's army, and Scottish service used and wont, dated 
at Scone, 20th March, 1326 (do., do.). 

Walter Oliphant, son of Sir William, resigned into the King's hands the lands 
of Newtyle and Kynprony, "in pleno consilio nostro," at Perth, 20th January, 
1364, the King, David II., now confirmed them to said Walter and Elizabeth, 
his spouse, the King's sister, rendering for the said lands a pair of silver spurs 
at the feast of All Saints, at Halton of Newtyle yearly, in name of Bler.ch 
Farm, with three suits at the King's Court at Forfar. Dated at Kdinburgh, 
28th February, 1364. A similar charter, of same date, confirming to said 
Walter and his spouse the lands of Ochtertyre and Balcraig, on the resignation 
of the said Walter, the reddendo being three broad arrows on the feast of St 
Martin yearly at Ochtertyre, in the name of Blench Farm, with three suits at 
the King's Courts at Forfar (do., do.). 

The blench duties payable to the Crown for these lands are curious. The same 
family paid other duties, equally so. For (Jask, " a chaplet of white roses " 
at the Manor of Gask, on the feast of St John Baptist ; for Glensaucht, "a 
chaplet of mastick " at the manor of Kincardine, on the feast of SS. Peter and 
Paul ; for Muirhouse, &c., "a tersel of falcon " at the Castle of Edinburgh ; 
for Turin and Drymie, "a silver penny" at Christinas; for the barony of 
Galray (Gallery) "a pound of ginger " at Pasch (Easter). " All the liege and 
native men," given with the lands of Newtyle and Kinprouy, show that the serfs 
were then slaves, passing from owner to owner with the land when transferred. 

David Guthrie of Kincaldrum, Sheriff-Depute at Forfar, granted testi- 
monial, signed with the Seal of the Sheriff of Forfar, on 7th December, 1457, 
" that in virtue of the King's brieve he had given sasine, at the Chemys of 
the third part of Ochtertyre and mill, to William Hakate, of the third part 
lands of Ochtertyre, Balcraig, and mill" (do., do.). 



36 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

A writ, dated 13th November, 1524, sets forth that Elizabeth Aytoun, spouse 
of John Halket of Pitfirren, appeared at Edinburgh in presence of Mr Thomas 
Cowtis, perpetual vicar of Cargyll, &c., and there, apart from her husband, 
resigned her third part of Ochtertyre and Balcraig in favour of Eobert Marser 
in Mekillour. A fine seal of the official is on the writ (do., do.). 

On 24th September, 1508, before Andrew, Lord Gray, Sheriff of Forfar, a 
cognition at the Myre of Newtyle, betwixt the lands of Newtyle and Ochter- 
tyre, belonging to John, Lord Oliphant, and the lands of Migill, belonging to 
John, Earl of Crawford (do., do.). 

The family of Billenden must have been proprietors of Newtyle in at least 
part of the 16th century, as Thomas Billenden of Newtyle was appointed a 
Lord of Session in 1557 (Doug. L, p. 210). 

The entry in the retours regarding Lord Oliphant' s Newtyle lands is as fol- 
lows : On 2d July, 1605, Lord Oliphant, heir of Lord Lawrence, his grand- 
father, was retoured (No. 45) in the lands and barony of Newtyle and Kil- 
purny, with the mill of Newtyle A.E. 10, N.E. 32 ; the one part and the 
other of the lands and barony of Auchtertyre and Balcraig A.E. 10, N.E. 
40. Lords Oliphant were also proprietors of Turin and Drimmie, and of 
Gallery, but we omit the retours of these lands here. On 28th April, 1643, 
Patrick, Lord Oliphant, heir of John, Master of Oliphant, his father, was re- 
toured (No. 609) in the town and lands of Pitnepie, in the barony of New- 
tibber A.E. 12s, N.E. 48s. 

The Oliphants retained possession of these lands until the early part of the 
seventeenth century, when they were acquired by the Haly burtons of Pitcur. 
The first of the name who acquired them appears to have been Sir James Haly- 
burton, knight. His son, William, succeeded on 6th October, 1627 (Ret. 170-1), 
to the lands and barony of Newtyle, Kinpurnie, Auchtertyre, and Balcraig, the 
town and lands of the Kirkton of Newtyle, and the town and lands of Balmaw. 
On llth January, 1653, James Halyburton succeeded (Ret. 316-7) to same 
lands. On 14th May. 1667, James Halyburton of Pitcur, heir of his father, 
succeeded (Ret. 427) to the same lands, and many others, On 22d October, 
1679, David Halyburton succeeded (Ret. 455) his brother, James, last men- 
tioned, to the same lands ; and on 25th October, 1681, he was again re- 
toured (No. 487) in the same lands. 

The croft or land of the vicar, or church lands of Newtyle, belonged to the 
Lindsays in the 16th century. On 2d October, 1596, Patrick Lindsay of 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. NEWTYLE. 37 

Barnyards, son of David Lindsay of same, was retoured (No. 585) in these 
lands, the feu on which was 11. 

Shortly after the date of the above-mentioned retour (487), the lands and 
barony of Newtyle, Kinpurnie, Auchtertyre, Balcraig, Kirk ton, and many 
others were acquired by Lord George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh. The lands 
which belonged to the Mackenzie family passed by inheritance to the Stuart 
Wortleys, who are now represented by the Earl of Wharncliffe. His Lord- 
ship's fine seat, Belmont Castle, is within about a mile of the church and 
village of Newtyle. 

On 22d October, 1691, George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh, heir of Lord 
George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh, his father, was retoured in the lands and 
barony of Newtyld and Kilpurnie, with mansion there of Newtyld, and mill, 
and advocation of the Church of Newtyld ; the lands and barony of Auchter- 
tyre and Belcraige, with pendicles of same called Dennend, Reidfurd, New- 
bigging and Boghead, and land of Burnemouth ; lands of Clinsh, in the barony 
of Auchtertyre and Newtyld, with teinds A.E. 12 13s 4d, N.E. 25 6s 8d ; 
lands of Hilend or Templebank, and acre in the lands of Hattou of Newtyld ; 
croft of land, with garden, in the village of Hatton of Newtyld E. 44s feudi- 
firmce ; church lands of Newtyld, with teinds, comprehending the town and 
lands of Kirkton of Newtyld and Brewlands, with teinds, also the lands com- 
monly called Kirklands, in the parish of Newtyld A.E. 20s, N.E. 4 ; half 
of the half town and land of Balmave, extending to the fourth part of the lands 
of Balmave, for principal, and in warrandice of same, the fourth part of the 
land of Balmave ; two quarter parts of the town and lands of Balmave, in said 
parish E. 3 16s, &c,, feudifirmce ; and first in lands of Henderstoune and 
Sillieseat, with holding and superiority of the lands of Eddertie ; lands and 
barony of Neutibber, comprehending lands of Pitnappie, with holding and 
superiority, &c., of Coustoune, Davestoune, and mill of Milnhole; pendicle of 
Burnside of Newtyld A.E. 5, N.E. 20 ; dominical lands of Dudhope, in 
the barony of Dundee A.E. 7s 6d, N.E. 30s ; teinds of the rectory of all the 

lands of Newtyld -E. , united in the barony of Newtyld ; dominical 

lands and mansion of Wester Keillor, with mill ; pendicle called lands of the 
Hill of Keillor ; Deansyde A.E. 5, N.E. 20 ; western half of the land 
and town of Easter Keillor, in the barony of Lintrathen A.E. 16s 8d, N.E. 
3 6s 8d ; an annual payment of 40s from either of the half lands of Easter 
Keillor E. Id albce firmce ; an annual payment of 200, corresponding to 
300m., from the lands and barony of Pitcur, Gask, Balgove, Balluny, New- 



38 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART X1Y. 

toun of Balluny, Balgillo, Eastounend of Keattins, and Pitdounie, in the parish 
of Keattins E. Id albce firmce. 

The Castle of Newtyle, or Hatton Castle, as it is usually called in the dis- 
trict, and in old writs Halton Castle, bears the date 1575. It was probahly 
erected by Laurence, the fourth Lord Oliphant, as that date corresponds to his 
period. It is situated on the north-west border of Hatton Hill, and some 
distance above the village of Newtyle, from which, and from the district around, 
the ruins are well seen. It is a picturesque ruin, but little of the castle now 
remains except the bare gaunt walls, which are yearly becoming more ruinous. 
Architecturally it had neither been a handsome nor an imposing structure, and 
it never was, nor from its situation could it ever have been, intended for a 
fortalice, but it narrowly escaped being attacked in 1645-6. It was then 
occupied by the Earl of Crawford and a garrison in the interest of the Cove- 
nanters. 

The great Marquis of Montrose, who before then had left his old friends and 
espoused the Royal cause, while in the north, heard the state of matters in the 
south, and resolved to strike a blow at Lord Lindsay. Shortly after the battle 
of Aldearn, he left Badenoch and marched rapidly south as far as Newton ot 
Blair, on his way to Hatton Castle. Confident of an easy victory, he made 
his preparations for the assault ; but, instead of proceeding to the attack, the 
Gordons deserted him, and his other troops, the Highlanders, stole off to their 
native glens with the plunder they had gathered in this expedition. These 
events compelled the Marquis to abandon his design against Lord Lindsay. 
He retraced his steps to the north, contenting himself with burning Newton 
Castle, Blairgowrie. Vestiges of a camp, said to have been occupied by his 
men, were visible near to Ochtertyre. 

An observatory was erected upon the summit of Kinpurnie Hill, by the 
Honourable James Mackenzie, Lord Privy Seal. This hill, one of the Sidlaw 
range, commands a most extensive prospect in all directions, and no better site 
could have been chosen for the observatory. The hill forms part of the 
Belmont estate, of which he was then proprietor. The observatory has long 
been roofless, but the bare walls are still nearly entire, and, being lofty, it is a 
prominent and striking object seen from the vale of the Dighty on the south, 
and the vale of Strathmore on the north, and from many other points. For 
further details of the observatory see Vol. IV., p. 336-7. The Lord Privy 
Seal spent many nights in the observatory in company with Professor Playfair, 
both of whom were keen astronomers. 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- NEWTYLE. 39 

The Rev. Principal Playfair was a native of Bendochy. He was minister, 
first of Newtyle, then of Meigle. He married a sister of Dr James Lyon, 
minister of Glamis, and by her he had a large family. One of his sons, Lieut- 
Colonel Sir Hew Playfair, was long Provost of St Andrews, and contributed 
largely to the improvement of that ancient city ; another was George, Inspector- 
General of Hospitals, Bengal, father of Lyon Playfair^C.B., and M.P. for the 
Universities of Edinburgh and St Andrews. 

The Bannatyne Club, a famous literary society in Edinburgh, was so named 
in honour of George Bannatyne. 

In the Pope's confirmation of the Abbey of Lindores, A.D. 1198, a carucate 
(104 acres) of land in Newtile is mentioned as part of the possessions of the 
Abbey. 

The barony of Balmaw, in the parish of Newtyle, and other lands, were 
gifted by King Alexander III. on 12th November, 1247, to the Abbey of 
Lindores. This grant was confirmed by King David II. on 20th September, 
1365. Balmaw or Balmain (Gaelic) signifies a good town. 

In a rental of the Abbey, circa 1480, there is this entry : 
Balman fewit for xv. lib. 
xij. geis, xxxvj. powtre. 
withe the harrag and carrage. 

And in a subsequent rental of the kirks and teinds pertaining to the Abbey, 
sett for money the assumption of the third of the Abbey of Lindores (No. 68) 
the lands of Balmaw and Newtyld, xvij. li. viij. s. 

The maillis of the lands in Angus, among which (No. 68) Balmaw and 
Newtyld yearlie sevintyne poundis viij. s. 

It is not stated to whom these lands had been feued. 

On 13th April, 1542, the Abbot of Lindores and Convent thereof granted 
charter to Janet Blair, relict of Archibald Anderson of Bournemouth, in life- 
rent, and George Blair of Gairdoun, brother of Janet, in fee, of the lands of 
Balman or Balmaw, Newtyle. Besides the reddendo of money, the vassals 
were bound to provide sufficient carriages for conveying the Abbot's goods 
bought in the market of Cupar, in Angus, to the water of Tay, near Lindores, 
as they had been in use to do. They were also to ride with the Abbot's men 
in the army of the King, or to find a sufficient horse, with his attendant on 
foot, to bear the Abbot's carriages, with his men, against invaders of the realm 
in time of war, whenever it might be necessary. To give lodging to the 
Abbot's servants, with his cattle bought beyond the Mounth, and provide them 



40 ANGUS OK FOKFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

in all necessaries at their own proper charges. The charter was signed at Lin- 
dores by John, the Abbot ; James Carstairs, sub-prior ; and eighteen monks. 

From this it would appear that Archibald Anderson had previously held 
these lands, but, having died without male issue, this new charter of them had 
been granted to the widow and her brother, as the reddendo binds them to give 
the services " they had been in use to do." 

This shows that the Abbot was soldier as well as priest, and had to arm his 
vassals and dependants that they might be ready to ride and fight in defence of 
the State in a time of war. The tenants had many other troublesome 
services imposed upon them which farmers would not submit to now. 

These lands afterwards came into possession of the Bannatynes. Thomas 
Bannatyne, who was a prosperous lawyer in Edinburgh, acquired the old 
manor house of the Kirkton of Newtyle, and made it his country house. It 
was his brother George who transcribed the Bannatyne Manuscript in the 
turret of his brother's house. Thomas Bannatyne was raised to the bench in 1557 
(Doug. p. 210) having been one of the Lords of Council and Session in the time of 
King James VI. under the title of Lord Bannatyne. He either built or en- 
larged the house, which has been long known as Bannatyne House. In 1596 
James Bannatyne, son of Lord Bannatyne, was retoured heir to his father in 
the lands of Kirkton of Newtyle, with the brew-house and teind-corn, and half 
the barony of Balmaw. 

Balmaw appears to have passed from the Bannatynes to a family named 
Gray. On 9th June, 1643, Ann Gray, spouse of William Luke, notary in 
Forfar, heir of William Gray, Sheriff Clerk of Forfarshire, was retoured (No. 
281) in the fourth part of the town and lands of Balmaw E. 25s 4d. On 
same date Isabella and Euphemia Gray, heirs portioners of William Gray 
above designed, were retoured (No. 282) in said lands. On 5th January, 
1671, William Gray, heir of John Gray, scribe in Forfar, his father, was re- 
toured (No. 446) in part of the town and lands of Balmaw E. 50s 8d, &c., 
feudifirmce. On same day William Luke, scribe in Forfar, heir of Ann Gray, 
his mother, was retoured (No. 447) in part of the said town and lands E. 
25s 4d feudifirmce. On 13th July, 1693, George Brown of Lidgertlaw, son 
of the late Major George Brown of same, his grandfather, was retoured (No. 
526) in a fourth part of the town and lands of Balmaw, and in the shadow 
half of the same town and lands, &c. E, 7 12s, &c., feudifirmce. 

Balmaw, Bannatyne, the kirk lands of Newtyle, &c., &c., are now included 
in the extensive estates of the Earl of Wharncliffe in Newtyle and Meigle. 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. NEWTYLE. 41 

Bannatyne or Ballantyne House, which stands a little to the west of the 
church, belonged to the Bannatynes, and it was built about 1589, a contract 
of that date being extant. (M. of A. and M,, 19.) It is in the castellated 
style, and still in excellent preservation. Some years ago an addition was 
made to the old house. 

In 1568 a pestilence broke out in Edinburgh which carried off many of the 
citizens. A young man named George Bannatyne then lived in the city. He 
was well acquainted with the poetical writings of Dunbar, Douglas, Mont- 
gomery, and other poets, which he had read in manuscript, as few such pro- 
ductions were printed in those days. He was himself addicted to writing 
poetry, and gave some part of his time to the Muses. At that terrible period 
every one was anxious about his own safety, and young Bannatyne left the 
city, and went into retirement in Bannatyne House. There he shut himself 
up, and devoted himself for three months to transcribing the fugitive pro- 
ductions of his rhyming predecessors into a goodly volume. This local story 
may be groundless. 

During that period he copied, in a good hand, from the imperfect manu- 
scripts he possessed, three hundred and seventy-two poems, which filled eight 
hundred folio pages. This great task and labour brought him fame in his 
day, and he will have the gratitude of his countrymen for ages to come. The 
volume, called the BANNATYNE MANUSCRIPT, still exists in the Advocates' 
Library in Edinburgh, and it is a venerable and venerated manuscript. A 
turret on the north-east corner of the house is pointed out as the small room 
in which he wrote his, now, historical volume. 

The lands of Davidston were in possession of the Scrymgeours of Dudhope 
in the early part of the 16th century, if not in the end of the 15th centnrv. 
On 15th April, 1552, Sir John gave to John Middleton of Kirkhill and 
Isobel Falconer, his spouse, a charter of the lands of Davidston and other 
lands in Forfarshire (Doug. II., p. 230). Probably Couston had been included 
in that charter, as they are united in the next notice we have seen, vizt. : On 
I0th May, 1591, Gilbert, third son of Patrick, sixth Lord Gray, had a charter 
of the lands of Couston and Davidston (Do. L, 671). On 6th December, 1592 
James, second son of Lord Gray, and brother of Gilbert, had a charter of both 
these properties. 

On 23d August, 1600, William Brough, heir of his father, William Brough 
of Wester Davidston, was retoured (No. 19) in these lands in the lordship of 
New Tibber and barony of Dundee. On 25th April, 1643, James, Viscount 



42 ANGUS OE FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

of Dudhope, Lord Scrymgeour, was served heir (No. 280) to his father 
Viscount John, in the barony of Newtibber, including the towns of Couston 
Davidston, and Pitnappie, and mill of Mill hole. On 4th November, 1644, 
John, Viscount of Dudhope, heir male of Viscount James, his father, was re- 
toured (287) in same lands, and others. 

On 28th April, 1643, Patrick, Lord Oliphant, heir of John, Master of Oli- 
phant, his father, was retoured (No. 609) in the town and lands of Pitnappie, 
in the barony of Newtibber E. 12s, KE. 48s. 

On 14th May, 1667, David Halyburton of Pitcur, heir of his father James, 
was retoured (No. 427), in the lands of Couston, Davidston, Pitnappie, 
and mill and Millhole, and other lands. On 22d October, 1672, David 
Hallyburton was served heir to his father (No. 457) in same lands. On 25th 
October, 1681, David Halyburton was again retoured (487) in same ]ands. 

The Halyburtons had sold the lands shortly thereafter to the Mackenzies of 
Rosehaugh. On 22d October, 1691, George Mackenzie of Kosehaugh, heir of 
George Mackenzie of Rosehaugh, his father, was retoured (No. 519) in the 
lands of Couston, Davidston, Pitnappie, &c. 

On 26th January, 1699, Francis Drurnmond, heir of his father, David, was 
retoured (No. 551) in the lands of Wester Couston or Davidston, in the barony 
of Newtibber E. 10, &c.,feudifirmce. 

Couston subsequently came into possession of William Bruce, who owned it 
in 1822 ; thereafter of Mrs Knight. The estate was afterwards acquired by 
the late Andrew Whitton, who died 14th May, 1861, aged 68 years. This 
family have been long resident in the district, a tombstone to the memory of 
Andrew Whitton, one of his ancestors, dated 1730, being in Newtyle church- 
yard. Couston, together with Scotston, in the parish of Auchterhouse, is now 
the property of Andrew Whitton, who is local factor for the Earl of Wharn- 
cliffe. Andrew appears to be a favourite Christian name in the family, as 
several of the members have borne it. 

The late Andrew Whitton of Couston, in the parishes of Auchterhouse and 
Newtyle, married Agnes, daughter of the late James Arnot, Ingliston, parish 
of Kinnettles, by whom he had Andrew Whitton of Couston, born 1838. In 
1864, he married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Patrick Webster of Westfield 
and Flemington, and has a son, Andrew, born 1867, and other issue. He 
was educated at Dundee, then at St Andrews, and he is a Justice of Peace and 
a Commissioner of Supply for the county of Forfar. 

The lands of Davidston came into possession of the Kirk Session of Dundee, 



CHAP. XLIX.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. NEWTYLE. 43 

who held them for some time. They were subsequently acquired by Patrick 
Miller. The estate is now the property of Robert Millar of Davidston, who 
resides at Mains Cottage, Dollar, Stirling. 

We have already given some details of the proprietary history of the lands 
of Keillor in the chapters on Eassie and Nevay, and will here only 
mention the following details. Easter Keillor came into possession of the 
family of Haldane, as we formerly stated. On 6th June, 1645, Susanna 
Halden, heir of Alexander Halden, portioner of Easter Keillor, her brother, 
was retoured (No. 288) in the lands of Easter Keillor, adjoining the inrig in 
the barony of Eassie A.E, 16s 8d, N.E. 3 6s 8d. 

On 8th January, 1648, James Halyburton of Keillor, heir of George of 
Keillor, his father, who was killed at the battle of Tippermuir, was retoured 
(No. 298) in the lands of Wester Keillor, with the mill and pendicle called 
the Hill of Keillor and Denside A.E. 5, N.E. 20 ; half the town and lands 
of Easter Keillor, in the barony of Linlathen A.E. 16s 8d, N.E. 3 6s 8d 
and an annual from the lands of Easter and Wester Keillor. 

On 29th October, 1695, John, Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne, heir of 
Earl Patrick, his father, was retoured (No. 446) in the lands of Keillor and 
many others. Robert III. gave to Walter Ogilvy a charter of the lands of Easter 
Keillor, whilk John Barclay of Keppo resigned (In. to Ch. 143-94). The 
Ogilvys retained possession of these lands for some time. 

The Castle of Balcraig, of which vestiges were visible when the first Statis- 
tical Account was written, stood at a short distance south of Hatton Castle, 
but all traces of it have now disappeared. Near to Auchtertyre is the Crew 
Well, adjoining which are the remains of a small camp of square form, said to 
have been formed by the Marquis of Montrose, as related above, 

In the north-west of the parish is Graham's Knowe, probably so named from 
some association connected with Montrose ; and the King's Well, probably so 
called because Macbeth, in his flight from Dunsinane, may have drank out of 
it, as we may well suppose his flight and anxiety would make him thirsty. 

The Templeton, to the east of Newtyle, no doubt takes its name from some 
connection the Knights Templars had had with the land in early times. In 
the beginning of last century the Bishop of Aberdeen lived for some time in 
Hatton Castle, and exerted himself to uphold Prelacy. In the "15" the 
church was shut against the Presbyterian minister, and the soldiers forced him 
to " abscond " for a time. 

In 1790-1 the arable land, about 1600 acres, was divided into fifteen large 



44 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

farms &nd six small ones. The average rent of the best of it was 17s 6d to 
20s, and the inferior land 10s to 12s per acre. There were then 59 ploughs 
and 106 carts in the parish. Little wheat was grown. Butcher meat of all 
sorts was sold at from threepence to fourpence per pound ; fowls, one shilling 
to one shilling and fourpence each ; butter, eightpence to ninepence per pound ; 
and eggs, fourpence per dozen. These rates are nearly three times as much 
as the same articles brought a quarter of a century previously. The wages of 
labourers were sixpence in winter and eightpence in summer, besides their 
victual ; wrights, eightpence in winter and one shilling in summer, with pro- 
visions ; masons, twenty pence in summer, without provisions ; male servants, 
from seven to ten pounds per annum ; and female servants, about three pounds. 
The wages of servants were then nearly four times as much as they had been about 
1760, and yet the Statistical Account of the parish says " the servants saved no 
more money then than formerly, owing chiefly to their extravagance in dress." 

Although the wages of servants at the present time are from three to four 
times the rates paid in 1790-1, it is doubtful whether very many of them save 
more now than the same classes did then, owing chiefly to the same cause 
their extravagance in dress. There was a great scarcity of provisions in 1782-3, 
and many suffered severe privations. Coarse flour and bran mixed was their 
only bread. 

Newtyle was favoured with railway communication at an early period. 
The line between Dundee and Newtyle was the pioneer of the system in 
Scotland. The line was projected in the first half of the third decade of the 
century, and operations were commenced with its formation at both ends in 
1826. It was opened in 1832, was about 10^ miles in length, and cost about 
d100 000. It was a single line of rails, had three steep inclines, wrought by 
stationary engines, the trains being dragged up each by wire ropes wound 
round a large drum, which was unwound by the descending train. The first 
of these was at the Dundee end, the second in the centre, both being required 
to take the trains to the summit level from the south. The third was at the 
village of Newtyle, the northern termination of the original line. For some 
years the two intermediate distances between the inclines were wrought by 
horse haulage, but this primitive mode was supplanted by the steam horse. A 
railway is still carried from Dundee to, and beyond, Newtyle, but the route 
has been nearly all changed, and the stationary engines and inclined planes 
are things of the past. 

The projectors of the original line began a village at the northern terminus, 



CHAP. L.] 



ANGUS IN PARISHES. OATHLAW. 



45 



in the expectation that it would soon grow into a thriving town, but in that 
they were disappointed, as it remains a village, and has made little progress 
for many years. The new line of railway skirts the village, at which there is a 
convenient station, and joins the main line through Strathmore, from whence 
branch lines lead to Blairgowrie, Alyth, and Kirriemuir. 

The village of Newtyle was neatly laid out. The streets run parallel to each 
other, and they are crossed at right angles by others. The land upon which 
it is built was given off in feus by the Earl of Wharncliffe, and comfortable 
cottages have been built upon it. ome of these are of one floor, and some of 
two storeys, and many of them have flower plots in front, which give them a 
tidy appearance. 

In the Valuation Roll of 1683 the lands in the parish are entered as 
follows : 



My Lord Advocate, 

Milnhole, 

Lady Pitcur for Denside, 

Major Brown for Balmaw, 

W. Gray and W. Luke's part, 

Edderty, . -. 

Easter Keillor, 

Couston, 

Davidston, . 



1900 
66 
33 



13 
6 




41 
8 1 


Estates and Proprietors, 
Newtyle, Jas. S. M'Kenzie, 


1822. 
1900 
f 66 
33 



13 
6 



4 

8 


140 








[Parts of the estate of Newtyle, 


140 








70 








( James Stewart 


M 


'Kenzie, 


70 








100 








i 












100 








166 


13 


4 


J 












166 


13 


4 


133 


6 


8 




Couston, Win. 


Bruce, 133 


6 


8 


120 










Davidston, 


Kirk 


Session of 










Dundee, 








120 








2730 


















2730 









CHAP. L. OATHLAW. 

This parish was long known as Finhaven. In the Old Taxation it is called 
Fopeneuyn, and it was rated at five merks. It was an early foundation, and 
is supposed to have been dedicated to The Nine Maidens 

Sir Alexander Lindsay of Glenesk, who was the father of David, first Earl 
of Crawford, rebuilt the Church of Finhaven about 1380, and had it conse- 
crated by Stephen, Bishop of Brechin. He bestowed it upon the Cathedral of 
Brechin, and the prependary of Finhaven had a stall in the choir there. The 
Church of Finhaven stood in the immediate vicinity of the Castle, near to 
where the Lemno falls into the Southesk. The foundations of an old church 
called Aitkenhauld (the place of prayer) are still visible there. This may have 
been the church which Sir Alexander Lindsay built. The remains of the old 
kirkyard are all but obliterated. 



46 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The parish has been called Oathlaw from about the beginning of the seven- 
teenth century, and the church has been in same locality since that period. Tt 
is supposed that Oathlaw had been a chapel dependent upon Finhaven, and 
that when the old church at Finhaven fell into decay it became the parish 
church. 

The new Statistical Account of the parish says, (t the old name is evidently 
compounded of two Gaelic words, Fin t signifying white or clear, and Avon or 
Aven, a water or river. Finhaven would therefore mean clear river. Headrick, 
p. 185, says the parish derives its present name from an artificial mount in it, 
Oathlaw, or Hill of Oaths. 

In 1742 Mr Dick of Pitkerro presented to the parish a handsome silver 
basin for baptisms, weighing upwards of twenty ounces, which is still preserved 
and used when occasion requires it. 

The parish was in the Presbytery of Brechin, but in 1731 it was disjoined 
from Brechin, and annexed to the Presbytery of Forfar. The present church, 
standing on an elevated site, is a more pleasing structure than many of the 
parish churches in Angus, it being a pretty Gothic building with a square 
tower. It was built in 1815, and a few fine old trees > which surround the 
church and graveyard, improve the appearance of the establishment. 

The parish is to some extent bounded by the South Esk on the north, Tanna- 
dice being on the opposite side of that river, on the east by Aberlemno, by 
Kescobie and Aberlemno on the south, and by Kirriemuir on the west. It 
is about six miles in length from east to west, and from two to three miles in 
breadth from north to south. It contains 5317*646 acres, of which 43*716 are 
water. 

The soil of Oathlaw is generally of a clayey nature, and, as it is retentive of 
moisture, the climate in the early part of the century was very moist, as much 
stagnant water lay on many parts of the level plain. For several years past 
the land has been thoroughly drained, the water runs off quickly, the climate 
is now salubrious, and the soil much more productive than it formerly was. 
Excellent crops of cereals are now grown, and the cultivation is carefully 
attended to by the intelligent body of farmers who occupy the land. 

The greater part of the parish lies low, and the surface is level, like Carse land. 
The northern slope of Finhaven Hills are included in the parish, but outwith 
these there is no prominent eminence in it. In consequence of the land lying 
so low, embankments are necessary against the encroachments of the South 
Esk, which inundates some places in high floods. The small rivulet of the 



CHAP. L.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. OATHL AW. 47 

Lemno rises in Aberlemno, on the south side of the Hill of Finhaven ; and, 
after winding round this hill, it falls into the South Esk at Finhaven, within a 
mile north of its fountain head, after having made a circuit of fully twelve 
miles. 

The vitrified fort on the Hill of Finhaven has already been described, Vol. 
I., p. 43-46. From the fort the two fortresses on the Caterthun Hills are dis- 
trinctly seen lying to the north-east. To the west, Denoon Hill, an outlying 
spur of the Sidlaws, with its strong fort ; and to the north-west of it, the strong 
fort on Barry Hill, in the parish of Alyth, are both quite visible. These 
fortresses could therefore communicate by signal with each other, and act in 
concert for their mutual defence. From this we may assume that the ancient 
Britons or Caledonians, long before the Koman period, were united under some 
form of government, which, when occasion required, directed the combined 
energies of the people into one focus for the common good. Probably the go- 
vernment was tribal, each with its own chief,one of whom,renowned in arms and 
wise in council, would be chosen from among them, and elevated above all the 
others, and acknowledged by the confederated clans as the Great Chieftain, the 
Leader of the Warriors, or some other common title such as President, King, 
or Emperor of modem times. 

A Brechin gentleman who visited the Hill of Finhaveu in 1812, and again 
in 1846, " says the prettiest part of the vitrified stones had been removed in the 
interval, but vitrification was still to be found round all the walls at different 
depths. The vitrification generally goes down the centre of the wall from the 
top, leaving the loose stones to slope off on each side to the base, but the vitri- 
fication terminates at different depths, and does not reach the base. The 
stones of the walls are principally small, flat free stones. Though the site of 
the fort was examined very minutely, no charcoal could be found, but in some 
of the vitrified stones a black substance like animal matter was found, having 
the appearance of snuff. The greatest curiosity at Finhaven is the well on 
the west side of the ring, of great depth, funnel-shaped, with walls rising 
higher than those of the ring (or oval) itself, and separated from the ring by 
a wall. The well then, for clearly in the centre there had been, and is, a well 
of water, is no volcano, as some people assert it to have been, though there is 
not the slightest vestige of pumice-stone or anything of a volcanic nature to 
warrant so groundless an assertion." 

The great Koman fortress, called the Camp of Battledykes, is in the north- 
western district of the parish. The site is the sloping bank of the Lemiio, 



48 ANGUS OK FOEFAESHIEE. [PART XIV. 

fully two miles distant from the parish church. It was about 2970 feet in 
length by about 1800 feet in breadth, the space embraced within the entrench- 
ments being about eighty acres in extent. The constant demand for food has 
led to the utilization of the ground, and scarcely a vestige of the camp can 
now be distinguished, the spade and the plough having torn down the ram- 
parts and deposited them in the ditch, thus obliterating the entrenchments 
and levelling the land. Until a comparatively recent period the prsetorium 
was visible, but it would now require a veritable Jonathan Oldbuck to point 
out any of the outlines of this once famous camp. From the camp the iter 
lead eastward through the parish to a ford on the South Esk (the Esica of 
Koman Geography), and onward to the camp of Warddykes, at Keithock, and 
other camps further north. The camp at Battledykes was also in communication 
with the camp at Ardoch and intermediate camps, by a Eoman iter, which ex- 
tended throughout the entire distance. These Eoman roads have now all but 
disappeared. In trenching and ploughing the camp some urns, a stone coffin, 
and other ancient articles were found. 

Some accounts of the Forest of Plater or Plantane and its Foresters have 
been given in the chapter on Forests (Vol. I., p. 170), and although a large 
part of the Forest was in this parish, we will not repeat it here. 

King Eobert Bruce gave a grant of the lands of Finhaven, and of the ad- 
joining lands of Carsegownie, also the forfeited lands of Alexander of Aber- 
nethy and of Eoger de Mowbray, to his natural son, Sir Eobert (In. to Ch., 
18-82). About two years thereafter the King gave a charter of the lands of 
Finhaven to Hew Polayn (do., 23-2 3 ). The reason why his son had parted 
with the estate so quickly is not known. He lived until 1332, when he was 
slain at the unfortunate battle of Duplin, which was lost to King David II. 
through the incompetency of the commander. The lands of Finhaven and 
Forest of Plater appear to have come into possession of William, Earl of 
Eoss. He resigned them and the advocation of the kirk into the hands of 
David II,, and got a new infeftment of them from the King. In 1370 the 
Earl made a free-will resignation of Finhaven and his other properties. They 
thereafter came into possession of Sir David de Anandia (L. of L., 139). 

King Eobert II. granted the lands of Finhaven, with the office of Forester of 
the Forest of Plater, on the resignation of Sir David de Anandia, to Alex- 
ander de Lindsay. There are two entries of this charter in the Index, the first 
said to have been granted in the fifth year of the King's reign, 1375-6, and 
the second in the fourth year of his reign. There may have been two charters 



CHAP. L.] ANGUS IN PAKISHES OATHLAW. 49 

granted. This very extensive and valuable property remained for many 
generations in possession of the Lightsome Lindsays ; but the longest day 
has an end, and their light in Finhaven has been long extinguished. 

Although the Lindsays acquired the lands of Finhaven in 1375-6, there is 
no mention of their having any residence on the property till a later period. 
Sir Alexander had his noble Castle of Edzell, and their magnificent palace in 
Dundee, which then sufficed them for country and town dwellings. The builder 
of the first Castle of Finhaven is not certainly known, but it is supposed to 
have been built by David, the son of Sir Alexander, after he was ennobled. 
The career of David, the first Earl of Crawford, was splendid and glorious, 
though short, and it ended in Finhaven Castle, where he died in February, 
1407, at the early age of forty-one years. His remains were buried in the 
family vault in Dundee, beside his royal wife, the Princess Elizabeth, daughter 
of King Kobert II. 

After this period the castle was the general country residence of the several 
Earls and their families. To it Earl David was carried after receiving the 
fatal wound at the Battle of Arbroath in January, 1445-6, and there he died. 
There also was taken the wounded Ogilvy of Inverquharity, and there he was 
smothered with a down pillow by his sister, the Countess of Crawford, to be 
revenged upon him for the loss of her husband (Lives I., p. 130). 

We gave an account of the noble family of the Lindsays, Earls of Crawford, 
&c., Vol. L, p. 310-36. We will therefore pass over the successive possessors 
of Finhaven until towards the closing scenes of the family history. It was to 
the Castle of Finhaven Earl Beardie retreated after his defeat by the Earl of 
Huntly at the Haercairns, near Brechin, in May, 1453. The events which 
took place there at that time are related, Vol. L, p. 320. After King James 
II. had pardoned the Earl and restored him to his estates and titles, he became 
a steady adherent of the King. The scene described took place at the " Rebel 
Green," about a mile west from the castle. After it was over there was great 
feasting at the castle ; the King and his retinue partook of the hospitality of 
the Earl, " and were banqueted right magnificently." The Earl only survived 
these scenes six months, and he was buried with great honours and show in 
the family vault in Dundee. 

The next occupant of the castle was David, the eldest son of the Tiger Earl, 

and the greatest member of the house of Crawford. James III. exalted him 

to the rank of Duke of Montrose, and he was the first Scottish subject not of 

the royal family upon whom this rank was conferred. He lived in princely 

e 



50 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

splendour at Finhaven, having his counsellors, squires, armour-bearers, cham- 
berlains, chaplains, and a herald. His counsellors were some of the leading 
lairds in Angus. He was a man of a different stamp from his father, being of a 
peaceable disposition, and he discharged the duties of his high position with 
honour and credit. After a splendid career, he died in peace at his Castle of 
Finhaven in 1495. 

The Duke in his lifetime was much distressed at the bad conduct of his sons, 
the elder of whom fell by the hand of the younger. Shortly thereafter the 
son of the " Wicked Master " married a daughter of Cardinal Beaton, in the 
Castle, in 1546. There was great feasting and revelry on the occasion. The 
Cardinal was present, but a month thereafter he was assassinated. 

After the death of the Duke of Montrose the fall of the family was rapid. 
The Duke's youngest son succeeded to the Crawford title, and dissipated part 
of the property. The " Wicked Master," who was a disgrace to the name, was 
disinherited, and died a beggar in a drunken brawl in Dundee. The son of the 
" Wicked Master " was reinstated in the estates and honours, but though he 
got great wealth by marrying a daughter of Cardinal Beaton, he made a bad 
use of it. He was succeeded by his son David, who was " a princely man, but 
a sad spendthrift." His son was called the Prodigal Earl. To arrest his im- 
provident proceedings he was imprisoned, and died in Edinburgh Castle in 
1621, leaving an only child, who lived latterly by mendicancy. 

It appears that members of the Lindsays of Balcarres possessed part of the 
Lindsay's lands in this parish in the latter part of the 16th and early part of 
the 17th centuries. David Lindsay of Balcarres was, on 19th May, 
1601, served heir (No. 20) of Mr John Lindsay of Balcarres, Rector of Men- 
muir, in the lands of Haugh of Finhaven, in the barony of the Forest of 
Plater. 

On 19th February, 1606, David Lindsay of Balgavies was served heir (No. 
49) of Lord (Sir) Walter Lindsay, Bart., his father, in the Cunyngair lands, 
called Debateable lands ; lands of Westhaugh ; outfield faulds, with moor and 
crofts adjacent ; lands of Little Marcus, formerly called Cottar Lands of 
Haugh, and lands called Cuningair, lands of Finhaven. 

The estates of the Lindsays were heavily burdened, and in 1 625 Alexander, 
second Lord Spynie, bought them. On 22d January, 1631, he had a charter 
of the barony ot Finhaven and the Forest of Platane. 

George, Lord Spynie, sold the lands and barony of Finhaven to his brother- 
in-law, the Earl of Kinnoul. He sold them to David, second Earl of North- 



CHAP. L.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. OATHLAW. 51 

esk, who, soon thereafter, gave them to the Hon. James Carnegie, his second 
son, who was infeft in them on 22d May, 1672. 

On 12th June, 1646, George, Lord Spynie, heir of Alexander, his father, 
was retoured (No. 290) in the barony of Finhaven, comprehending the lands 
of AuchteraUone, Tillibrollok, Cultnatielt, and Newpark A.E. 6, N,E. 24; 
40m. annual redditus of customs of Montrose ; annual redditum 100m. of the 
great customs of the burgh of Dundee, with advocation of 5 chaplainries, St 
George Martyr, and Chapel of All Saints, founded in the parochial Church of 
Dundee, with right of burial in said church A.E. 3s 4d, N.E. 13s 4d, all 
united in the barony of Finhaven ; lands and barony of Forest of Platane 
A.E. 40, N. E. 160 ; half the lands of the barony of Clova A.E. 5, N.E. 
20 ; superiority of Leckoway and half the lands of Ingliston of Kinnettles 
A.E. 4, N.E. 16. 

On 27th November, 1613, Gilbert Watson, burgess of Dundee, heir of 
Kobert Watson, sailor and burgess of same, his father, was retoured (No. 604) 
in the lands of Bogiewilk, in the barony of Forest of Platane A.E. 20s, N.E, 
4. On 23d June, 1618, William Fullerton of that ilk, heir of Sir William, 
his father, was retoured (103) in the third part of the lands of Windyedge and 
Navel Green, in the barony of Finhaven. There are no lands in the Finhaven 
estate with the names in the last two retours, but they are probably included 
in it under other names. 

James Carnegie obtained a Crown charter erecting Finhaven into a barony on 
12th February, 1676. He was a Member of the Parliament of 1703, and opposed 
the Union. He died on 10th March, 1707. He transformed the castle, 
greatly curtailing the size of the grand old building, and reconstructed the 
building to {pake it suitable as a mansion for the estate of Finhaven. Ochter- 
lony says it was then, in its altered state, " a most excellent house ; fine rooms, 
good furniture, good yards, excellent planting, and enclosures, and avenues." 

It is the remains or skeleton of this altered house or castle which now stand 
by the side of the Lemno, near where it becomes lost in the South Esk. The 
fine rooms have disappeared, and so have the avenues, and the walls of the 
ruin alone remain lofty, roofless, bald, gaunt, and bare. 

Charles Carnegie, the son of James, succeeded to the estate of Finhaven on 
the death of his father, and was served heir to him on 12th February, 1708. 
He conveyed the estate to his brother James, on llth June, 1710, who was 
infeft in the barony on 26th July, 1710. 

James Carnegie was for some time a strong adherent of the Stuarts, and 



52 ANGUS OE FOEFAESHIEE. [PART XIV. 

admitted to the confidence of their supporters. He was present at the Battle 
of Sheriffmuir in 1715, and, as was commonly reported, fled from the 
field, having been bribed by the Hanoverians. An old ballad says he got one 
hundred and fifty pounds sterling to desert the cause of the tre tender and 
espouse that of the first George. It was he who killed the Earl of Strathmore 
in the brawl at Forfar on 9th May, 1728. The quarrel arose out of the taunts 
thrown out by Lyon of Brigton about his conduct towards the CheValier and 
his friends (Vol. II., p. 390). 

He died in 1765, and was succeeded by his son, James, third of Finhaven, 
who was served heir to his father on 18th September, 1765. He obtained a 
Crown charter of the barony on 24th February, 1766, and died at Lisbon in 
1777. His sister, Barbara, succeeded to Finhaven, and was married to Sir 
Kobert Douglas of Glenbervie, Baronet, in 1778. Their only son, Eobert, 
predeceased his father in 1780. In 1779 she sold the barony to the Earl of 
Aboyne in order to pay the claims of her brothers creditors. Sir Eobert 
Douglas was son of the author of the Peerage and Baronage of Scotland. 

The Earl of Aboyne, in 1781, resigned the estate of Finhaven in favour of 
his son by his second wife, the Hon. Douglas Gordon Halyburton, who was 
Member of Parliament for the county from 1832 till 1847. In 1804 he sold 
the lands of Finhaven to James Ford, a manufacturer in Montrose. While 
he possessed the property he improved it greatly by draining the land and 
carrying off the stagnant water, reclaiming waste land, and otherwise. He 
made a search for coal, and put down a boring to the depth of 160 feet, but 
found none. The water rushed up the boring in a copious stream with con- 
siderable force, which drew many visitors from curiosity to see it ; but the 
boring being m the middle of a field, the farmer had the water conducted into 
a drain and hidden, to prevent his crops from being trampled down. It was 
an artesian well, and may still be throwing up a large and abundant jet of 
water. Through the boring a seam of excellent freestone was discovered on 
the estate of Newbarns, which was of value to the proprietor as the district 
was previously ill supplied with building stones. 

Ford's circumstances became embarrassed, and the estate of Finhaven was 
exposed to public sale in 1817, and bought by the Marquis of Huntly, then 
Lord Aboyne, the price being 65,000. His father, the Earl of Aboyne, 
bought the estate in 1779 for 39,000, being an increase in the value of 
26,000 in 38 years. The affairs of the Marquis also became embarrassed, 
and in 1843 the estate was sold by his trustees to those of Thomas Gardyne of 



CHAP. L.] ANGUS IN PABISHES. OATHLAW. 53 

Middleton. In virtue of his testamentary deed the estate of Finhaven went to 
his maternal nephew, James Carnegie Gardyne, W.S. He was succeeded by 
his cousin, 

David Greenhill-Gardyne of Glenforsa, in Argyleshire, who in 1864 assumed 
the name of Gardyne under the will of Thomas Gardyne of Gardyne on suc- 
ceeding as heir of entail to the estate of Finhaven and Noranside. He married 
Mary, daughter of C. Wallace, R.A., of Woodside, and by her had Charles 
Greenhill-Gardyne, born 1831, who succeeded to Finhaven, &c., on the death 
of his father, David, who died in 1867, aged 72 years. David Greenhill was 
the son of Charles Greenhill of Fern and his wife, Clemintina Gardyne of 
Middleton. He was a district judge in the Hon, E.I.C. Service. 

His son Charles was educated at Edinburgh, was an officer in the Coldstream 
Guards, is Lieut.-Col. retired, and a J.P. and D.L. for Argyle and Forfar 
shires. In 1858 he married the Hon, Amelia Anne Drummond, daughter of 
William, 9th Viscount Strathallan. and by her has Norman Charles, born 
1863, and other issue. The present mansion of Finhaven was erected by this 
family. 

Throughout 1697 protracted legal proceedings were carried on before the 
Privy Council between Blair of Balthayock and Carnegie of Finhaven, in con- 
sequence of Carnegie having brought on a marriage between his daughter and 
his pupil, Blair of Kinfauns, a young minor. Finhaven was fined one hundred 
and fifty pounds, to be paid to Balthayock for his expenses in the case. On 
20th September, 1703, after the death of Balthayock, Carnegie presented a 
petition to the Privy Council stating that he had not submitted to the sentence, 
but had placed the fine in consignment, and thereupon was liberated. Bal- 
thayock had never called for the suspension ; Her Majesty's late gracious in- 
demnity had discharged the fine, the cause of which, he alleged, was natural 
and ordinary, and the marriage every way suitable. There might be demur 
to the last particular, as young Kinfauns, when led into the marriage with 
Carnegie's daughter, was only a boy. Nevertheless, the Council now ordained 
the money to be rendered back to the petitioner. 

The estate of Auchinday at one time belonged to the Hon. Thomas Lyon, 
a cadet of the noble house of Glamis. After passing through some hands, it 
was purchased by Robert Wilkie, who was a merchant in Montrose. He did 
not like the old name of the property, and changed it to that of Newbarns, by 
which it has since been known. He died on 7th January, 1837, leaving the 



54: ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

lands to his son, James, who was a Major in the H.E.I.C., and for some time 
held the lucrative appointment of army clothier. Major Wilkie left a son, 
who died young, and two daughters. About ten years ago the property was 
purchassd by George Duke, a linen manufacturer in Kirriemuir, who con- 
tinues to possess the estate, and it is farmed by him and his son. 

A small part of the Carsegray estate is in this parish. The following 
services of heirs show the proprietors of the property in the first half of the 
17th century. On 20th October, 1621, John Rynd of Cars was served heir 
(No. 135) to his grandfather, William Rynd of Oars, in the lands of Craig- 
head ; Parkyett, with mill called the Ward Mill ; lands of Bow, in the barony 
of Finhaven, and other lands. 

On 6th January, 1638, Alexander Rynd, heir of William Rynd of Carse, 
his grandfather, wag retoured (No 240) in the lands of Craighead ; Parkyett, 
with mill called the Ward Mill ; lands of Bow, in the barony of Finhaven and 
Forest of Platane A.E. 3 10s, N.E. 14. He was also served heir to his 
father, John Rynd, on same day, in the town and lands of Carseburn E. 
5m. ; and in the town and lands of Myreside E. 40s. 

On 13th October, 1670, David, son of Alexander Guthrie of Carsebank, was 
retoured (No. 444) in the lands of Craighead ; tenandry and superiority of the 
town and lands of Carsegownie ; and lands of Easter Muirston, in the barony 
of Finhaven A.E. 40s, N.E. 8. 

The present proprietor of the estate of Carsegray is Charles William 
Gray. 

Besides the estates already mentioned, there are the following lands in the 
parish: Bankhead estate, the property of Col. John Grant Kinloch (it is a 
good farm) ; Couttston, a small property belonging to James Alexander 
Webster Coutts, writer in Edinburgh ; Drumclune and Easter Garlowbank, 
the property of Miss Sophia Georgina Lyell, Shielhill ; Wester Grarlowbank 
farm, belonging to the trustees of Charles Lyell of Kinnordy ; and small 
portions of the Tannadice estate, the property of William Neish. 

In the Valuation Roll of 1683 the lands were possessed by four proprietors, 
vizt. :(!) " Earl of Strathmore," 200 ; (2) " Fineven," 1650 ; (3) " Badie 
Turnbull," 233 6s Sd ; (4) " Carsebank/' 50 ; in all, 2133 6s 8d. The first, 
Newbarns and part of Shielhill, was, on 16th June, 1766, divided thus : 



CHAP. L.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. OATHLAW. 55 

Feued to Robert Watson of Shielhill, which was afterwards 

acquired by Charles Lyell, .... 65 2 

Drackmyre, Burnhead of, and Easter and Wester Auchinday, 

Robert Wilkie, 134 19 10 

200 

Second Finhaven, 1st division, to Walter Scott, . 384 9 4 

2d do., to Edmonston . . 472 3 1 

3d do., to John Rutherford, . 345 4 1 

4th do., retained by Mr Carnegy, 448 3 6 

1650 

Third Bradholes, sold to W. Scott, . . . 76 9 7 

Blairfeddan, sold to Rutherford, . . 156 17 1 

233 6 8 



2133 6 8 

These, in 1822, belonged to the Earl of Aboyne. 
Fourth Carsebank, Charles Gray, . . . . . 50 



2133 6 8 

The Session Records of 24th August, 1716, mention " that four women were 
ordained by that body to stand, each in a white sheet, on the pulpit stairs, in 
the very same place where they attacked the minister, and then be rebuked in 
the face of the congregation/' The sentence was put in execution. No reason 
is assigned for the attack on the minister by the ladies. Of date 15th March, 
1734, it is said, " Agnes Clerk, spouse to John Fairweather, in this town of 
Oathlaw, died, and was buried to-morrow." On 3d November, 1735, it is re- 
corded, " The church officer's sick child buried here," On 4th July, 1736, 
charity was " given to two strangers that were dumb, being taken by the Turks 
at sea, and their tongues cut out." 

Near to the Castle of Finhaven there was a famous chestnut tree, which at 
one foot above the ground was 52 feet in girth. At the smallest part of the 
girth of the trunk it was 33 feet ; at the offshoot of the branches, 35 feet. No 
vestige of this great tree remains at Finhaven ; and the Lindsays, for genera- 
tions all powerful in the district, are all but forgotten. How true it is that 
" here we have no continuing city." 

The population of Oathlaw in 1792 was 430 ; ploughs, 34 ; carts, 70. 
There were then 34 farmers. Farm servants had then 5 to 10 a-year, and 
female servants, 3 to 4 and maintenance ; and day labourers, 8d to lOd and 
victuals. From 1740 to 1760 the pay of farm servants was 2 to 3, and 



56 ANGUS OE FOKFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

female servants, 1 10s and maintenance ; and day labourers, 2Jd and victuals. 
Oatmeal was then 8s to 10s 6d, and in 1792, 12s to 14s per boll. The names 
of the farms in 1740-60 Birkenbush, Forest Seat, Kings Seat, Wolf Law, 
&c. show traces of the forest of which the parish was part. In 1684 the 
whole parish belonged to Lord Spynie. 



CHAP. LL PANBRIDE. 

The Church of Panbride was one of those granted to the Abbey of Arbroath 
by King William the Lion. The King confirmed the gift, 1211-1214 (Reg. 
de Aberb., p. 5). The gift was also confirmed by Ade de Morham in 1214, 
and again by John de Morham, who had been the King's clerk or chaplain, 
1219-1246 (do., pp. 19-20). The church was a vicarage belonging to the 
Cathedral of Brechiu. In the Old Taxation of 1275 it is rated at 11 Scots 
(do., p, 240). The church was dedicated to S. Bride or S. Bridget, as the 
name of the parish implies, but whether the patron saint may have been a 
Scottish saint, or the Irish saint of that name who came from Ireland with 
her nine virgins, we cannot say, but we think she had been that famous Irish 
saint. At one period the Irish and Scottish historians used to dispute about 
the nationality of this saint, and Irish writers charged the Scottish historians 
with pilfering the Irish saints. 

S. Bride was the patron saint of the historic family of Douglas, and we 
think she had also been the patron saint of the ancient family of Valoniis, who 
in early times possessed the barony of Panmure, including the parish of Pan- 
bride. This family also possessed the lands of East Kilbride, in the parish of 
that name, in the Middle Ward of Lanarkshire, in the twelfth century. S. 
Bride was also the patron saint of that church, and very probably of the Lord 
of the Manors of Kilbride and Panbride, or Balbride, as it was sometimes 
called. 

The parish of Panbride is bounded by Carmylie on the north, by Arbirlot 
and a detached part of St Vigeans on the north-east and east, by Monikie on 
the west, by Barry on the south-west, and the German Ocean on the south- 
east. In figure it is the small segment of a flat ring, the convex side turned 
to the south-west. From north to south-east it is nearly five miles in length, 
and two miles in mean breadth. It contains 5506-068 acres, of which 9-089 
are water, and 29 8 '476 are foreshore. The coast, which extends fully two 
miles, is flat and rocky. The ground rises with a gentle slope to the north. 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 57 

About three-fourths of the area is arable, and it produces rich crops. Two 
streams from Monikie flow through the parish, in some parts through deep 
rocky dells, and fall into the ocean. The parish is in some parts clothed with 
plantations, and it is throughout nearly its whole extent very beautiful, and 
some parts are picturesque. 

William, Chaplain of Pannebrid, was a witness to the confirmation charter 
of Ade Morham of the Church of Panbride to the Abbey of Arbroath in 1214. 
William, Vicar of Panbryd, was a witness of a charter of Richard Berkelay in 
1245 (Reg. de Aber., pp. 21 and 200). 

In a letter to the forfeited Earl James by Lady Panmure, his wife, written 
in June following, she says: " Presbyterian ministers are preaching at Pan- 
bride and Monikie every Sunday, but no minister is yet placed." Of the 
deposed Mr Maule, she says, " he dare seldom stay in his own house, there 
being often parties from Dundee searching for him and other ministers who 
read the proclamation, for which a great deal are imprisoned." 

It appears from the MS. books of the York Building Company that there 
was neither a school nor a schoolhouse at Panbride in 1729. 

There is a tradition regarding Earl James which we now give to show the 
miserable position to which the adherents of the Stuarts, who took up arms in 
support of the Chevalier, were reduced. Earl James, with a goodly muster of 
his clansmen, and his brother, Harry Maule of Kelly, were at Sheriffmuir. 
The Earl was taken prisoner, but was rescued by the brave Harry, and escaped 
from the field. The first report was that the Earl was slain. One day, shortly 
after the battle, Countess Margaret was walking on the green to the west of the 
house, her man-servant beside her. They saw a man in the distance approach- 
ing them. When he came near he was attired as a beggar. The Countess 
said to her man-servant, " Tack in that poor beggar man and give him a gude 
alms." He took him in and did as he was bid, and they kept him hid under 
the great staircase till a ship was got ready to take him to France. The 
beggar man was the Earl, and he was soon recognised by his loving wife. The 
hiding place of the Earl is still to be seen in Panmure House. 

It was an anxious time for the Countess while the Earl was hid in the 
house, as she was in constant dread of his hiding place being discovered, and 
the Earl taken prisoner. When the ship was ready, she conveyed her lord to 
nearly the east gate of the grounds, and there they parted, after all was lost. 
It must have been a sad parting to both the Earl and the Countess. She 
caused a terrace mound to be raised on the spot, with an urn on the top,* to 

H 



58 ANGUS OR FORFAKSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

commemorate the parting, which remains to this day. Sixty years ago it was 
called Douglas Mount, but it is now known as Margaret's Mount, and it is 
seen from Panmure House. 

The story of the Earl's home coming is from an old woman, who lives at the 
Newbigging, and is a descendant of the Countess' man-servant, named Fairlie. 
The Fairlies were long crofters at Guildie. One of them has a farm at Kirkton 
of Monikie, and others of them have farms. 

The Countess appears to have visited the Earl in France. On her return to 
London, she wrote the Earl, on 31st December, 1719, saying she and Mr 
Maule had been robbed ten miles from London, on her return from Paris. 
She had five guineas and Mr Maule ten. These were taken from them by two 
highwaymen, one on each window, with pistols cocked ; but she had sent her 
watch with a gentleman who went post that morning from Dover. Mr Maule 
lost his watch, sword, and pistols. 

Margaret, Countess of Panmure, was the youngest daughter of William, 
Duke of Hamilton, and Anne, his Duchess. She was gifted with business 
talents of no ordinary kind. After the escape of the Earl to France, she 
generally resided at Panmure. She was permitted to use the house and part 
of the grounds, and she corresponded regularly with her husband, and gave 
him the best cheer she could in the unfortunate circumstances in which they 
were then placed. 

" After all was over and the Earl away, Countess Margaret set to work with 
her maidens, and span for the siller with which she bought the barony of 
Eedcastle, which she left to Harry Maule of Kelly, or his son, thus doing her 
best to redeem the fallen fortunes of the Panmure family." So writes the old 
gardener to the author. The Countess purchased Redcastle estate in 1724, 
and it still forms part of the Panmure estate. 

The Earl died on Thursday, 22d April, 1723. The Countess long survived 
the Earl, and afterwards became one of the leaders of fashion in Edinburgh. 
See Vol. I., p. 402, for further details regarding the Countess. She died in 
1731. 

The ancient name of Panbride was Ballinbride, shortened by Buchanan into 
Balbride, by which name it is sometimes mentioned prior to the 1 5th century, 
which signifies St Bride's town or house. The prefix Pan is evidently a 
transition from the Celtic word Ballin, Ba'n, Pan, Panbride. Tt has been 
variously spelled Pannebrid, Panbryd, Panbryde, Panbride, &c. In 1574, 
Pambryde, Arbirlott, and Monikie were served by Charles Michelson, minister, 



CHAP. IJ.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- PANBRIDE. 59 

who had a stipend of 100 Scots, and the kirklands ; and Kobert Mawll was 
reidare of Panbryde, his salary being 16 Scots (Wod. Soc., p. 352). 

A chapel dedicated to St Lawrence was founded at Boath, in the vicinity of 
Pitlivie, at an early period. The place is sometimes called Fore Boath to dis- 
tinguish it from the chapel in the parish of Carmylie, which is called Back 
Boath. 

Among the charters by David II. mentioned in Index to Charters, 51-42, is 
one " by the Bishop of Brechin of the Chapel of Bothe, and the lands of Carn- 
corthie, by William Mauld of Panmore, to the Kirk of Brechine." The 
King's charter had been a confirmation of the charter by William Maule. 

The lands of Bothe, afterwards called Back Boath, were at one time in the 
parish of Inverkeillor, but they were cut off from that parish and added to 
Carmylie at an early period of its parochial life. The lands are now included in 
the great Panmure estate. 

The chapel of S. Lawrence was united to Cairncorthie on 10th March, 
1608, when David, Bishop of Brechin, appointed David Strachan to be 
chaplane of the chaplanrie of Both and Caircorthie, with all the emoluments, 
&c., belonging and pertaining thereto. 

Among the vicars was John Sang, in 1566. Kobert Kamsay succeeded 
Charles Michelson as minister. In 1593 Andrew Drummond succeeded, and 
he was, in 1679, followed by Patrick Maule, who was deposed for openly 
favouring the cause of the Chevalier. Robert Trail, the first Presbyterian 
minister, succeeded Mr Maule in 1717. 

A monument of polished Peterhead granite has recently been put up near 
the east gate of the graveyard in memory of Rev. Robert Trail, who was 
minister of Panbride from 1717 till 1762 ; Rev. Robert, his son, from 1763 
till 1798 ; and of Rev. Robert Trail, son of William Trail of Borthwick, son of 
first-mentioned Robert Trail. There are many gravestones in the buryirig- 
ground, but when we visited it we were unfortunate in not seeing the minister 
or the church officer, and did not get the stones inspected. 

The old church had originally been a handsome building, and cruciform. The 
windows had been of some considerable size and architectural beauty, but they had 
at some period been here and there lessened by mason work, and much deformed. 
The church, from age, had become very uncomfortable in the interior, and the 
walls and roof were so much decayed that it was found necessary to erect an 
entire new one, of the same form, and on the same site, which was done in 
1851 by the Hon. William Ramsay Maule, sole heritor of the parish. 



60 ANGUS Oil FOKFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

The new church, in the modern Elizabethan style, is in all respects a very 
elegant and handsome building. The site is a commanding one, and it is to 
be regretted that no spire or tower has ever been added to the church. The 
Eight Hon. Fox Maule, a nobleman of great taste, frequently spoke of doing 
so, and had he resided at Panmure House, would probably have carried out 
his intention. 

In the west gable is a large, lofty, pointed, three-light window, over which 
is a neat belfrey of some height, and there are other windows in the front of the 
church and in the aisle, which light the church well, and make the interior 
bright and cheerful. 

The whole of the interior of the church was, a few years ago, painted and 
decorated through the efforts of the Kev. J. Caesar, the minister. The con- 
gregation bore the expenditure. The whole of the large window on the 
south, where stands the pulpit, being decorated of Diaper work, is very chaste 
and pleasing. The window is of three lights, pointed, and filled with stained 
glass. In the upper compartment of the centre division is the Maule arms, 
with the motto, dementia et Animis. In the upper compartment of each 
of the two side lights is the family crest, and motto as above. The pulpit 
is a neat structure, with a stair leading to it on both sides, and accom- 
modation for the precentor and choir in front of it. There is a small gallery 
to the right and left of the pulpit, and a third in the aisle in front of the 
pulpit. 

The gilded coat armorial of George, second Earl of Panmure, with the 
motto CLEMENTIA TECTA RIGOKE, is still on the front of the east gallery of 
the church. There are few finer parish churches in the county than Panbride. 

The church bell of Panbride at one time belonged to the parish church of 
Arbroath. The following inscription is upon it : 

SOLI . DEO . GLORIA. 

JOHANNES . EVKGEKHVYS . ME . FECIT . 1664. 

TIMOR . DOMINI . EST . PKINCIPIVM. 

SAPIENTIAE. 

There is a hand bell in the manse dated 1678. George, Earl of Panmure, 
and his Countess, Jane Campbell, a daughter of the Earl of Louden, gave two 
silver communion cups to the Church of Panbride, which are still preserved and 
used. The delicate hammer marks of the goldsmith are quite distinct. The 
cups are goblet-fashioned. 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBKIDE. 61 

The two cups are inscribed as follows : 

GIVEN . BY . GEORGE . EARL . OF . PAN- 
MURE . A$D . JANE . CAMPBEL. 
COUNTESS . OF . PANMURE . TO . THE 
CHURCH . OF . PANBRIDE. 

We may remark that the " jougs," an old and severe form of church dis- 
cipline, are still preserved here, though fallen into disuse. Originally attached 
to an outside stair that led to the Panmure-house gallery, these instruments of 
penance are now notched into the wall of the Panmure burial vault ; but 
they are not now what they no doubt at one time were, " a terror to evil 
doers." Few of the parishioners now know the use to which they were put in 
former days. 

The burial aisle of the Panmure family is attached to the east end of the 
church, from which it was entered, the eastern gable wall being mutual to the 
church and burial place. There most of the Maules lie, including the Earls of 
Panmure. Commissary Maule says that his kinsman, Robert Maule, " was 
bureit besyd (his wife) in the queir of Panbryd, before the hie altar at the 
north pall," on 3d May, 1560 ; and that in 1589 the wife of Patrick Maule, 
who " bigget ane hous at Baushen," was likewise buried in the queir of the 
same kirk. The " ffunerall " of " Mr Patrick Maule," who was buried within 
"the chancell" of the Church of Panbride on 8th May, 1639, amounted to 
5 16s 2d Scots. 

Lord Brechin took a prominent part during the civil wars, and became 
George, second Earl of Panmure. He died on 24th March, 1671, and was 
buried at Panbride, where a gilded crown was " sett vpon the head of his 
payle." The crown cost 4 Scots, besides 18s Scots for an iron to bear the 
" sammin," and Is for " drink money " to the workmen. The Earl's " whole 
Atcheifment suporters, inantlin, croune, and crest" were also set up in the 
Church of Panbride. These were painted and gilded, at a cost of 49 18s 
Scots, by Joseph Stacy, Eoss Herald, in " Three lozen Armes, vpon buckram 
foure foott squar," and with " Two morte heads." 

George, third Earl of Panmure, who succeeded on the death of his father in 
1671, rinding the family mausoleum or aisle in a state of decay, had it put into 
good repair. Upon it are his arms and initials, and those of his wife, Jean, 
only daughter of John Fleming, Earl of Wigtown, by whom he had no issue. 
The same arms are preserved in the Church of Panbride. Kegarding the 



62 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

aisle, Ochterlony says : " Earl Panmure . . . has newly re-edified his 
buriall-place with a chamber above, with a loft in the kirk, most sumptuous 
and delicate." 

Earl George died at Edinburgh in 1686, and his remains were interred at 
Panbride. In an account of the expenses attending the funeral of the Earl, 
the sum of seventy pounds Scots is charged " for Holland muslin and ribbons 
for my Lord's body," also a perquisite of Is 8d " to the hangman's man " at 
Edinburgh. We do not know the origin nor object of this curious perquisite. 
The coffin of this Earl was found by the minister in 1852, about 2 feet be- 
neath the surface, in good order, and bright as when it had been placed there, 
the name of the Earl and date of his death being easily read. 

The mausoleum was again repaired in 1765 at an expense of 63 17s, and 
some pointing was subsequently done, but it was long neglected thereafter. 
The Eight Hon. Lauderdale Maule, who died Assistant-Adjutant-General 
of the Forces in the Crimea, in the British camp at Varna, on 1st August, 
1854, was interred in the aisle. 

A monument to his memory was erected in the Church of Panbride. It is 
on the east wall, of Carrara marble, about 6J feet in height, with buttresses, 
finials, and canopy, with the Maule crest and motto CLEMENTIA ET ANIMIS. 
Below the tablet, in a scroll of the Scotch thistle, is the following inscription : 

" Sacred to the memory of the Honourable LAUDERDALE MAULE, second 
son of William, Lord Panmure, Member of Parliament for the county of For- 
far, Surveyor-General of the Ordnance, Colonel in Her Majesty's service, and 
for some years in command of Her M ts - 79th Regiment, the Cameron High- 
landers. This monument is erected in testimony of the devoted affection and 
friendship of ANATOLE DEMIDOFF. May we meet in a better world" 

The Hon. William Maule of Maulesden, youngest son of William, Lord 
Panmure, with his two sons,- are also within the burial place. 

The remains of the Right Honourable Fox Maule, Earl of Dalhousie, who 
died at Brechin Castle, after a short illness, on 6th July, 1874, were deposited 
in the family vault at Panbride. Upon the lid or top of the coffin a brass 
plate, in the form of a shield, bears the following inscription : 

" The Right Honourable Fox Maule Ramsay, Earl of Dalhousie, K.T., 
G.C.B., P.C. Born 22d April, 1801, died 6th July, 1874." 

Fox Maule, in early life, was not lapped in luxury, and he bravely fought 
his way, against many obstacles, to the high position he attained. He did not 
pretend to eloquence, but no one could make a clearer statement, and, as 



OHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 63 

chairman of a public meeting, he was perfect. When called to the helm 
during the Crimean War, he saved the army and the honour of the 
nation. We will never forget the admirable manner in which he proposed 
the vote of thanks to the Crimean army in the House of Lords, which the 
author was privileged to hear. For many years the noble Lord held high office 
in the service of Her Majesty the Queen, and he discharged the duties of 
every office conferred upon him to the entire satisfaction of his Sovereign, Her 
Majesty's Ministers, and the entire community of the kingdom. Our noble 
Queen had entire confidence in the Earl of Dalhousie, and esteemed him 
highly. He was equally faithful in the discharge of his duties in his native 
county, and he was honoured and revered by all within its bounds. The 
extraordinary attendance at the funeral of this nobleman was numerous be- 
yond all precedent in the county. It showed the high esteem in which he 
was held, and the deep sorrow which his death brought to very many within 
and without the county. 

The following details regarding two slabs in the Panmure vault, at the 
Church of Panbride, have never been previously noticed. We received them 
from Dr Robert Dickson, Carnoustie. The first of these slabs is a large 
upright stone, occupying the place of what was formerly a doorway between 
the vault and the church. The other slab is lying in the floor, in the south- 
west corner of the vault. We give as a frontispiece a photograph of these 
two interesting slabs from a drawing of them by Dr Dickson. 

The first of the slabs is to David Maule of Boath. 

This David Maule of Boath was a son of William Maule of Boath, who was 
second son of Thomas Maule of Panmure, who was killed at Flodden. David 
of Boath's mother was Janet Carnegie, daughter of Robert Carnegie of Kin- 
naird. Besides what the stone acquaints us of, the four small shields at the 
foot of the stone appear to be, 1st, Maule, party, per pale ; 2d, Carnegie, an 
agle displayed ; 3d, a chevron between two deer's heads erased, above, and 
one below ; 4th, party, per pale, a lion rampant in each. 

David Maule of Boath's first wife was Katherine Balfour, daughter of David 
Balfour of Tarrie. The small shields are evidently those of (1) Maule, (2) 
his mother, Carnegie, (3) Boswell of Balgillie, (4) Catherine Balfour, mother of 
Boswell. The slab is seven feet high and three feet broad, the emblems all in 
relief. The words on the quintuple ribbon are illegible, and the figures on 
the small shields are pretty well worn out. The large letters round margin 
and at top are bold and well cut, and easily deciphered. The Latin lines in 



64 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

the middle are much smaller, and less easily read. The rude outlines give a 
sufficiently good idea of the appearance of the slab. 

The other slab, lying in the floor of the vault, is to Katerine Boswell. It is 
in the south-west corner of the vault, and is not readily distinguished, far less 
deciphered. Much of the margin inscription is worn out and decayed, and 
only the letters in black lines are decipherable. Those in dotted lines 
are imagined. This is the only other slab or mural monument in the vault, 
and nothing now remains to show or mark the resting place of the early mem- 
bers of the M-aule family. The more recent coffins rest on stone tables, and 
each has its own inscription. 

There is no trace of any other monument to any member of the family be- 
fore the one to Col. the Hon ble - Lauderdale Maule. 

Notwithstanding the repairs already mentioned as having been at intervals 
made upon the burial vault, the walls, at the erection of the new church, were 
thoroughly cleaned and repointed. so as to correspond somewhat with the walls 
of the new church, erected by William, Lord Panmure ; and a room over the 
vault, which had been lined with panelled wood and carved cornices, was, a few 
years after the interment in the vault of Lady Panmure (wife of Fox Maule), 
lathed, plastered, and papered, forming a large and commodious room, which 
was given by him to the parish minister, to be used as a vestry. 

Surmounting the east gable of the Panmure vault is a sort of open 
stone tower, some twenty feet in height, but there is little of the beautiful about 
it. 

The manse, with a good garden and some ornamental shrubbery, is a little 
to the south of the graveyard. It is a comfortable house, with an extensive 
prospect in several directions. 

According to the Commissary of St Andrews, the Castle of Panmure had 
been in four quarters, each complete in itself, and a high square tower, with a 
large barmkyn wall (rampard) around the castle, with battlements within and 
without, fully five feet in width, about fifty feet in height, built of large square 
stones. From the account given of the castle, it had been a very extensive 
structure, and-of great strength, but the name of the baron who built it, and 
the period when it was erected, are unknown. A considerable space around 
the castle was enclosed by a high stone wall, " as appeiris for swdclaine affrayes 
to retyre the bestiale thear withine." The Commissary thought the castle had 
remained in its original state until the days of David II., viz., 1336-7. Then 
Andrew Murray, the Governor, with the Earls of Fife and March, took from the 





r^(S29 




CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 65 

English all north of the Forth, excepting Couper and Perth, and destroyed 
them. They remained in the Forest of Platane during the winter. Panmure 
was then one of the chief castles in Angus, and the Commissary thinks it had 
been destroyed, as it is traditionally said that the Castles of Panmore and 
Panbride were both taken by Englishmen. The Governor came to Panmore, 
where the English army was, under Sir Henry Montfort, and " thear was ane 
crwel battel fowghten." The Governor was victorious, and Sir Harry slain, 
and " ane huge slauchter of the enimies, for four thousand noble men of them 
were slain." The site of the battle " is supposed to be that sched be east the 
place called the Murray sched." " The toune next thereto on the east syd is 
called the Mwrdrome, or height of the Mure." This is doubtful, as no ap- 
pearance of graves have been seen there. 

It is not known when the castle was rebuilt, but the Pope's bull authorising 
the chapel to be built was in 1487, and it had probably been about that time. 
The Castle of Panmure was built on a lofty site, on the left or east side, and 
near to the lower end of the den through which the burn of Panmure runs. 
It was a place of great strength, and on a plan similar to the castle of Kil- 
drummy, on the Don, and Caerlaverock, on the Solway. On 14th March, 1494, 
Sir Thomas Maule conveyed by charter the lands of Bolshan to Thomas, his 
grandson (Vol. I., p. 390). On 25th March, 1497, James IV. confirmed this 
charter (Beg. de Pan., p. 260). 

The Castle of Panmure having, from age and injury from the assaults and 
sieges it had sustained, become unfit for the family residence, Patrick, the first 
Earl, long contemplated the erection of a new house at Bolshan, which should 
become the family seat when Panmure fell into a ruinous condition ; but this 
intention he never carried out, although, with that object in view, he had, at 
least as early as 1648, bought up the rights of certain leaseholders, one of 
whom, John Pitere, who occupied two parts of the lands of Bolshan, bound 
himself to " flitt and remove his wyfe, bairnes, servants, famillie, gudes, and 
geir," at the term of Whitsunday of that year, from the houses and lands in 
his occupation in Ballishane. The national troubles prevented Earl Patrick 
from carrying out his intention of building the mansion, and it was not until the 
time of his son, George, the second Earl, about 1666, that the building of the 
new house was commenced. This Bolshan is supposed to have been on the 
site of the present house of Panmure. Before his death, which took 
place in 1661, his Lordship enjoined his son and successor to erect a new 
mansion at Bolshan, but it appears that, in consequence of the hardness 
I 



66 ANGUS OH FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY - 

of the times, the work was not contracted for until 1666 (E. & I., II. , 
p. 311). 

Sasine on charter by Patrick Maule of Panmure and spouse, to William 
Maule, of part of Ballishan, 29th June, 1577. 

Robert, Commissary of St Andrews, was fourth son of Thomas Maule, who 
died in 1605, by Margaret Halyburton. He may have been born about 1560- 
70. Robert Maule, licentiate of the laws, is designed Commissary on 1st 
February, 1592, upon the demission (apparently of William Skene, brother of 
Sir John Skene, Lord Register, immediately preceding him in said books), and 
the said Robert resigned the said office in favour of David Maule of Boath 
about the end of 1602. 

Panmure is said to be from Pan a chief, more a lord = chief-lord. Com- 
missary Maule'thought it had been one of the King's castles, like G-lamis, and 
occupied by a thane, who dispensed justice and drew the King's rents before 
Philip Valonii got it from William the Lion. It had become corrupted from 
Ballinmuir to Pannimor (Arb. and its Abb., 11 and 12). 

A castle or fortalice stood at Panbride, but the site is unknown. It is tra- 
ditionally stated to have been captured by the English at the time they seized 
the Castle of Panmure during the war in the fourteenth century, related above, 
but there is little certainly known about its builders or destroyers. 

It is supposed that it was in the Castle of Panmure that William the Lion 
signed the charter of Panmure granted to Sir Philip de Yaloniis, Lord High 
Chamberlain of Scotland, about 1172. 

The lands of Panmure came to the Maules by the marriage of Sir Peter Maule 
and Christina, heiress of Sir William de Valoniis, the last male of the family 
(Vol. I., p. 382-3). The site of the castle is now known as Castle Hill, 
a high eminence projecting into what is called Coriara Den, or Panmure 
Den. 

The ruins in the course of time became grassy mounds, and the masonry 
was completely hidden for ages ; but James Mitchell, the gardener, and his 
men have, when not otherwise employed, carefully removed the rubbish from 
many of the mounds and exposed the buildings, so that some idea can be had 
of the form of the castle and the style of the masonry. Mr Mitchell is a 
keen antiquarian and an intelligent man, as well as an able gardener. He is 
at home in exploring the ruins of the castle, and in a short time he expects 
to have such an outline of the walls shown as will enable a draughtsman to 
make out a plan of the castle, which would be a very interesting document. 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 67 

Regarding the House of Panmure, in one place it is said " It is supposed 
it was built from plans prepared by Sir William Bruce for Earl Patrick." 
We said above that the erection of the house was commenced about 1666. In 
that year John Milne, His Majesty's master mason in Scotland, engaged with 
George, second Earl, to build a new family seat at Panmure, according to plans 
prepared by him, but he did not live to complete the work, and Alexander 
Nisbet, his successor, finished the house, but it was not completed when the 
Earl died in 1671, and his son, George, the third Earl, who died on 1st 
February, 1686, completed the work. 

During the time of James, the fourth Earl, the house was remodelled both 
externally and internally. Earl William, who re-acquired the estates of Pan- 
mure, after the forfeiture of Earl James, from the York Buildings Company, 
made many alterations upon Panmure House and grounds. Heformed walks and 
constructed grottos in Coriara Den, planted many trees, and executed many other 
improvements. The house was a large and plain building of three floors over 
a sunk floor. It faced the west, and consisted of a central portion, in which 
was the main entrance, with a pediment, on each side of which, a little recessed, 
were two similar wings, beyond which were two square towers, showing five 
windows in height, with finials on the top. The towers projected forward to 
the line of the central section of the building. Long ranges of offices extended 
to the south of the mansion, and there were some buildings to the north of it. 
There was a raised terrace in front of the house, and a lawn beyond. 

Soon after the Right Hon ble - Fox Maule succeeded to the family estates and 
honours in 1852, he proceeded to make extensive alterations upon, and 
additions to the House of Panmure, from designs by David Bryce, R.S. A., 
which completely altered the exterior of the mansion. The main entrance 
was changed from the west to the east side of the house, and both fronts were 
to some extent enlarged, and greatly improved in appearance ; and, as far as 
was possible, made to harmonize ; but the east front is more ornate than the 
west. A noble, lofty, square tower in the centre of the house rises above the 
surrounding masonry, from which a grand prospect is obtained in all directions, 
landward and seaward. The entrance to the demesne is by a picturesque 
lofty gateway, from which a straight spacious drive of considerable length 
leads to the house. On each side is a line of trees, and many large old trees 
are in the grounds around the mansion. A splendid portico surmounts the 
entrance which admits to the grand staircase, leading to the baronial hall, and 
to the many large and lofty apartments in the house. The old ceilings in 



68 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

some of these apartments, which have been carefully preserved throughout all 
the alterations which have been made on the house, are particularly beautiful, 
and uncommon. Many fine old family portraits adorn the walls, and there are 
some examples of handsome old tapestry in various parts of the mansion, and 
some massive, old, finely-carved articles of furniture, and many antique articles 
of various sorts. 

Of Panmure House, Headrick says it is situated in a very extensive park, 
surrounded by stately plantations, the extent of which the present owner 
(Hon ble - William Maule) has very much increased. It is a venerable fabric 
and is kept by the proprietor in the same state in which it descended from his 
ancestors. Here a considerable collection of paintings and fine portraits are ex- 
hibited, together with the ancient armour of the Barons and Earls of Panmure. 
The state bed is shown which was occupied by the unfortunate son of James 
VII. of Scotland, when he attempted to recover the throne of his ancestors by 
the insurrection of 1715, headed by the Earl of Mar. 

Large square towers with gilded finials flank the building, and two circular 
towers, also with gilded finials, rise above the large central tower. 

The modern approach to Panmure from the west is by a lofty bridge over 
the deep den, and by a spacious drive, which passes close by the old gateway, 
erected by Earl James at the original entrance to the demesne, which, tradition 
says, has not been opened since about the time of the rebellion of 1715. 

The approaches to Panmure were adorned by rows of noble trees, but many 
of these were unfortunately cut down about half a century ago. One grand 
row of beeches still remain, and a fine row of very old yew trees, both being 
to the south of the mansion. 

The armorial bearings of George, third Earl of Panmure, the same as 
those on Edwards' map of Angus, are built in the wall inside the laundry court 
of Panmure House, and those of his Countess Jane Campbell, daughter of the 
Earl of Lowdon, are also built into the adjoining wall. The Earl's coat 
armorial are in their proper position, but those of the Countess are on their 
side, in a horizontal position. Tradition says they were so placed by Earl 
James, who built the laundry court, in consequence of some ill feeling he had 
to his mother. 

On the west end of the north wing of the house, and also on the west end of 
the south wing, the crest, supporters, and motto of the family are displayed, 
with the St Andrew Cross pendant below, but the shield is blank in both. 
Below the shield on the first of these is the following aphorism, " Through 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 69 

wisdom is an house builded, and by understanding it is established ;" and on 
the other, " Except ye Lord build ye house, they labour in vain that build it." 

A fluted square pillar stands at a little distance to the north of the house, 
the base about 9 feet square and high, the column being about 4 feet square 
and 40 to 50 feet high. On a stone near the top, north side, is, " James, Earl 
of Panmure, 1694 ;" on south side, " Margaret, Countess of Panmure, 1694." 
It was erected by the Earl to commemorate their marriage in 1694. 

Beyond the Coriara Den, the ground, clothed with fine, healthy trees of many 
sorts, rises rapidly for a short distance, and then more gradually to the top of 
Downie Hill, and there is a fine drive between the mansion and the " Live and 
Let Live " testimonial, which crowns the hill. Lower down the den, on its 
left bank, are the Panmure gardens and gardener's house, a neat building. 

The gardens comprise a long range of glass houses, divided into sections, 
including several vineries, peach-houses, orangery, conservatories, stoves, &c., 
&c., filled with many sorts of healthy fruit trees, and beautiful flowering trees, 
and shrubs and plants in endless variety. The long corridor leading to the 
several houses is adorned with a profusion of climbing, and hanging, and other 
sorts of plants, fragrant and beautiful, which at all seasons produce a rich dis- 
play of charming flowers, scenting the air and pleasing the eye. From either 
end of the corridor the vista is lovely. The open garden is undulating, and 
laid out in terraces, the borders around which are stocked with a fine collection 
of herbaceous plants. Below the gardens there is a fine fountain, which throws 
the water to a great height, and is very pretty. The gardens, in door and out, 
are kept in splendid order, and a visit to them is a great treat. 

In the Registrum de Panmure, Vol. I., pp. 91-100, there is an interesting 
description of the barony of Panmure from the MS. of Commissary Maule, but 
as it is of considerable length, and extends over several parishes, we cannot give 
it. Included in the description is an account of the sculptured stone called 
Camus Cross, which stands a little east of the " Live and Let Live " testimonial 
on Downie Hill. The following is an outline of the figures upon it. The 
obverse and reverse are each divided into three compartments, The upper has 
the figure of a man in relief, beside which is a fowl, towards which the man's 
hand is raised. On the other side of the man is a figure with a human head. 
The fowl and this figure are on the arms of the cross. On the middle portion 
are two men, and on the lower other two men, with close-fitting bonnets on 
their heads, and cloaks on their bodies, with breastplates on them. On the 
other side of the stone the Crucifixion occupies the upper portions and arms of 



70 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

the cross. On the middle is a man on horseback, looking back and drawing a 
bow, the arrow being like a bolt. On the lower part is a large flower. Re- 
presentations of both sides of the cross are given in the Registrant. The 
sculptures are rudely, executed, and of the large flower the account says it is 
" weil done, wpone sa rud ane stone," On the edges of the cross are " ane 
prettie work efter the forme that browdinsters do vse." 

In Vol. I., p. 383, we showed the manner in which the barony of Panmure 
came into possession of the Maules. It has now been in the family about 
660 years. The barony included many lands besides those of Panmure. Of 
them we need say little, but will mention some of the proprietors through 
whose hands part of the other lands have passed ; and of the lands in the 
parish which do not appear to have been included in the gift to the Valoniis or 
Valognes by William the Lion. 

The earliest recorded proprietors of the barony of Panbride were a Norman 
family named De Malherb, afterwards changed to Morham, who had a gift of 
the barony from King William the Lion about 1214. They had large pos- 
sessions in Craig. (Vol. III., p. 140-6.) We do not know how long the 
family remained in possession of Panbride, but it had subsequently reverted 
to the Crown, as King Robert Bruce gave it to Sir Alexander Fraser, who 
joined the King at his coronation in March, 1306. 

Sir Alexander had sworn fealty to King Edward I. at Berwick, 28th 
August, 1296. He was taken prisoner fighting at the King's side at Methven, 
but afterwards got his liberty, and was with the Bruce in most of his subse- 
quent encounters, and at Bannockburn. He was Great Chamberlain of 
Scotland from 1325 till the death of the King in 1329. He fell fighting for 
David II. at the battle of Duplin on 12th August, 1332 (Doug. II., p. 472). 
He was brother-in-law to King Robert. 

After David the Second returned from France in 1341, he granted the 
barony, or part of it, to a family of the name of Boyce or Boece, latinized 
Boethius, ancestors of Boethius the historian. When Bishop Elphinstone 
founded the University of King's College at Old Aberdeen in 1494, he brought 
the celebrated Hector from France, where he was pursuing his studies, and 
appointed and installed him into the Principality. After his appointment, and 
his succession to his paternal property of Balbride, he is reported to have com- 
menced the construction of a road from Panbride to join the great road from 
Dundee to Aberdeen, which then passed through the parishes of Monikie and 



CHAP. LI.] ANGCTS IN PAEISHES PANBEIDE. 71 

Carmylie. Some traces of an old road are discernible in the moor of Arbirlot, 
which bears the name of " Heckenbois-path," a corruption of Hector Boyce 
Path. A person named Eamsay is said to have married the heiress of the last 
Boyis or Boyce in 1495, but he may only have possessed a part of the lands, 
seeing Hector also possessed part of them. Thomas Maule married Isabella 
Eamsay, the heiress of one of the descendants of the said Eamsay, by which 
means the Boyce portion of Panbride was united to the larger portion of Pan- 
mure. In the fifteenth century and long subsequently the barony appears to 
have been divided among several parties. Contemporary with the Boyce 
family were other proprietors. 

Alexander de Seaton, Earl of Huntly, had a charter of Panbride on 29th 
January, 1449 (Doug. I., 643). "Walter Lindsay, third son of Alexander, 
second Earl of Crawford, had a charter of Panbride in 1643 (Doug. I., 164). 
The Kamsays had their portion. Robert, second Lord Crichton, had a charter 
of the barony of Panbride, or part of it, on 1 8th June, 1507 (Doug. I., 449). 
John, son of James Scrymgeour of Dudhope, had a charter of the barony of 
Panbride from Eobert, Lord Crichton of Sanquhar, on 25th October, 1511. 
(Doug. I., 465). 

On 7th November, 1513, William Eamsay of Panbride and Patrick Boys of 
Panbride were both jurors at the service of a retour (H. of C. of S., 526). 
Panbride was subsequently acquired by Sir Eobert Carnegie of Kinnaird, and 
the family retained possession of the property for some time. It was in possession 
of David Carnegie on 25th March, 1565 (do., p. 51). The Eamsays were 
lairds of Panbride about the end of the 16th century. It thus appears that 
for more than a century the lands of Panbride had been divided into small 
holdings, and that many changes took place among the proprietors, some of 
them retaining possession for short periods. In Willis' Current Notes, London, 
December, 1834, it is said persons of the name of Boyce, if not landowners, 
occupied a respectable position in the parish in and after 1640. 

In a note to the History of the Carnegies, Karls of Southesk, p. 28, it is 
said : " In the Biography of Hector Boece the historian, Panbride is said to 
have been acquired by his grandfather, Hugh Boece, for services rendered by 
him to King David II. at the battle of Duplin ;" but it is doubtful whether 
any part of Panbride belonged to the Boece family at so early a date. In 1411 
Thomas Meaden was proprietor of Panbride. He resigned these lands to 
Alexander, first Earl of Huntly, who feued part of them to John Forbes of 
Brux. Forbes granted a charter to Alexander Boyes, dated 20th October, 



72 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

1492. This is the first appearance of the family of Boece as owners of part of 
Panbride. Bobert, Lord Crichton of Sanquhar, subsequently acquired the 
barony of Panbride. A new charter was granted by him to Alexander Boyes 
and Katherine Guild, his spouse, dated 28th February, 1507. Wm. Ramsay 
and Patrick Boys of Panbride were jurors, 7th November, 1513 (H. of C. of S., 
526). Mr David Boyes succeeded Alexander Boyes in 1543, and John Boyes 
succeeded his brother David in 1546. Alexander Boyes and Helen Lindsay 
granted a reversion of the eighth part of the Kirkton of Panbride in favour of 
Mr David Carnegie, dated 24th February, 1554 (Inventory of Panbride Writs, 
dated 1683, at Kinnaird). 

In the Registrum de Panmure, p. 250, Alexander Boys, portioner of Pan- 
bride in 1479, is mentioned. The family must therefore have had an interest 
in the parish before 1492. p. 305, Patrick Boys, portioner of Panbride, was 
a witness in 1526 ; and p. 310, Alexander Boys, portioner of Panbride, served 
as one of a jury in 1560. These accounts are conflicting, and as we cannot 
reconcile them, we give all. 

In the Valuation Roll of 1683 the parish was owned by three parties, viz. : 

Earl of Southesk, . ' . . ' 933 6 8 

Earl of Panmure, . . . 2733 6 8 

Balmachie, . ... . . 200 

3866 13 4 

On 12th March, 1767, the first portion mentioned above was divided thus (it 
had before that date come into possession of the Earl of Panmure) : 
Rottonrow of Panbride, disponed by Earl Panmure to James 

Milne in liferent, 140 11 9 

Panbride lands, Kirkton, port and harbour, mill and mill 

lands, disponed by the Earl to Jno. Spense in liferent, 721 8 11 

Barnyards of Panbride, retained by the Earl, . . 71 6 

933 6 8 

Earl of Panmure, Barnyards of Panbride, retained by the Earl, . . 2733 6 8 

Balmachie, . . . . . . . . 200 



3866 13 4 

In 1822 all the lands are entered as belonging to Hon. W. Maule. 
The Crichton s retained possession of their portion of Panbride for a long 
period. On 15th July, 1619, William Crichton, heir of Kobert, Lord Crichton 
of Sanquhar, his father, was retoured (No. 121) in the lands and barony of 
Panbride, and lands in other counties. 
On llth May, 1058, James, Earl of Southesk, heir male of Earl David, his 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- PANBRIDE. 73 

father, was retoured (No. 367) in the lands of Panbryde, vizt. : Kirkton of 
Panbryde, Balmachie, Barnyards, Rottinraw, with the port, haven, and mill, 
and in other lands. On 14th May, 1700, James, Earl of Southesk, succeeded 
his father in same lands, &c., also in the teinds of said lands, as being in place 
of the Abbey of Aberbrothock (Retour 557). 

On 1st April, 1662, George, Earl of Panmure, succeeded Earl Patrick, his 
father, in the rectory and vicarage teinds of the parish of Panbride, and other 
parishes which belonged to the Abbey of Arbroath ; also in the church lands 
of Panbride, with the advocation of the Church of Panbride and the Chapel 
of Both (Retours 384-385). 

On 16th May, 1671, George, Earl of Panmure, heir of Earl George, his 
father, was retoured (No. 449) in the church lands of Panbryde, and patronage 
of the Church and Chapel of Both. On 27th April, 1686, Earl James suc- 
ceeded Earl George, his father, in same lands and patronage (Retours 501-2). 

The contract for the sale of the forfeited estates in Scotland between the 
Commissioners and the York Building Company, for the sale of the lands and 
baronies which belonged to James, Earl of Paumure, is dated 10th October, 
1719. Extract decree of sale of the lands and baronies of Panmure, Arbroath, 
Brechin, Glenesk, and others, as let on lease by the York Building Company, 
and purchased by William, Earl of Panmure, dated 2d March, 1764. Charter 
of sale, resignation, and confirmation, under the Union Seal, in favour of the 
said William, Earl of Panmure, of the barony of Panmure and others, dated 
6th August, 1765. 

The contract of marriage between George, Lord Ramsay, and Jean Maule, 
daughter of Mr Harie Maule of Kellie, is dated 9th and 16th December, 1726. 

The retour of service of the Right Hon ble Fox Maule, Baron of Panmure, 
afterwards Earl of Dalhousie, as eldest son and nearest lawful heir of taillie, and 
provision of William Maule, Baron of Panmure, formerly William Ramsay, is 
dated 24th May, 1852. Deed of entail by Fox, Baron Panmure, &c., in favour 
of himself and others, is dated 16th July, 1853. 

David Maule had charters of Auchrynie from Thomas Maule of Panmure, 
1562. On 2d November, 1602, David Maule of Both, Commissioner of St 
Andrews, with consent of his wife, Katherioe Balfour, sold " all and haill the 
equal sunney half" of the lands and town of Auchreny to Mr John Ramsay, 
parson of Tealing, and his wife, Elizabeth Kinloch, for the sum of 1800 merks. 
Mrs Ramsay survived her husband, to whom she bore two daughters, Catherine 
K 



74 ANGUS OB FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

and Helen. Catherine became the wife of William Ochterlony, feuar of 
Seton ; and Helen married Alexander Durham. They resigned the lands of 
Auchreny in the Court of the burgh of Dundee, 3d June, 1620, in favour of 
Patrick Maule of Panmure ; and, as the deed of renunciation quaintly narrates, 
their husbands " being removed furth of court, the saidis Catherin and 
Helene, in yair absens, gaife yair bodilie aythis, with all solemnitie requisete, 
that they nor nane of yame were compellit yair to. But yat they did the samy 
of yair awne free willis, and sould never cum in the contrari yairoff, directlie or 
indirectlie, in time cuming." 

The lands of Balhousie were acquired by the Strachans at an early period. 
On the resignation of Thomas Strachan, Sir Thomas Maule granted charter 
of the lands to Robert Strachan and Alice Brown, his spouse, on llth July, 
1469. In the time of David II., Walter Maule gave a charter to John Mony- 
penny of Skonie (? Skryne) of Balhousie, and other lands (In. to Ch,, 59-14). 
The lands were redeemed about 1350-60. 

The two part lands of Barnyards and Balmachie belonged, in 1503, to a 
branch of the Strachans of Carmyllie. On 13th March, 1507, George Strachan 
of Balhousie and his wife, Elizabeth Kid, had sasine of the fourth part of Bal- 
machie " vpon ane receipt of my Lord Sanquhar." At a later date Balmachie 
was owned by cadets of the Northesk family, who continued in possession of 
the property until 1772, when it was sold by James Carnegie, the then laird, 
to the Earl of Panmure. The lands were then " set to small pendiclers, who 
were suspected to be no better than beggars." In 1767 Balmachie was oc- 
cupied by 18 tenants, who, besides a money rent of, in all, 58 18s 3d a-year, 
were each bound to pay six hens annually in name of kane. They had also 
each to carry a chalder of coals to the laird, and give him six days' work. 
Balmachie is now occupied by one tenant, and forms part of the vast Dalhousie- 
Panmure estate. It is one of the finest farms in the district. The dying 
advice of an old tenant of the farm of Balmachie to his son is said to have 
been " Saw the end riggs, laddie, they'll pay a* the rent." The liferenters 
on the Panmure estate had so cheap holdings that the head or end riggs were 
not considered worth cultivating. The old tenant had been careful of small 
things, as everyone ought to be. 

Carlogie House has been for many years the residence of the local factor on 
the Panmure estates, the present factor being Lieut.-Colonel David Guthrie. 
A door lintel bears the date 1664. The house has been modernized and en- 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 75 

larged in recent times, and is a comfortable mansion with pleasant surround- 
ings Since this was written Colonel Guthrie has been taken home, and John 
Shiell, Brechin, formerly factor for the northern portion of the Dalhousie 
estate, has been appointed factor for the whole of the great property. Caiiogie 
House may hereafter be let to a tenant. 

James Carnegie, second son of Sir .Robert Carnegie, was the ancestor of the 
Carnegies of Balmachie. He is mentioned in the history of the Carnegies of 
Southesk in 1565 and 1579. On 18th August, 1632, David Carnegie of 
Balmachie, heir of his father, James Carnegie of Balmachie, was retoured 
in the lands of Balveny and Balglassie, in Aberlemno. On llth May, 1658, 
James, Earl of Southesk, heir of Earl David, his father, was retoured (No. 
367) in the lands of Panbride, viz. : Kirkton of Panbride, Balmachie, Barn- 
yards, Kottenraw, with the port, haven, and mill; and lands elsewhere. 

In 1684-5 Balmachie belonged to one of the name of Carnegie, of the family 
of Southesk. The lands of Balmachie were sold to the Earl of Panmure before 
20th February, 1764. On that date Sir James Carnegie bought back the 
estate of Southesk at the upset price of 36,870 14s 2d sterling. Shortly 
thereafter Sir James sold the lands of Carnegie, Glaster, Panbride, and 
superiority of Balmachie to W. Maule, Earl of Panmure, who at same time sold 
to Sir James the lands of Over and Nether Kincraigs, Balbirnie Mill, Pantaskall, 
the half of the lands of Arrot, being all parts of the barony of Brechin and Navar, 
in the parish of Brechin ; and also the salmon fishings in the river Southesk. 
These exchanges of lands, &c., were for the mutual advantage of the Earl and 
Sir James, as they enabled both proprietors to make their respective estates 
more compact than they previously were. 

I. On 1st June, 1563, David Carnegie of Panbride granted a charter of the 
lands of Balmachie to his brother James, who was fifth son of Sir Robert 
Carnegie of Kinnaird. On 14th May, 1575, he and Christian Brnce, his wife, 
received from John Carnegie of that ilk a charter of eleven acres of arable land 
in Punderlaw, in the barony and regality of Aberbrothock. He died before 
1st March, 1597, as his son David was then styled of Balmachie. 

II. David, second son of Balmachie, married Margaret Livingstone. In 
1599 he received a charter of Balmachie, and on 28th July that year they re- 
ceived a crown charter of the lands of Balglassie and Balveny. He died More 
6th April, 1607. His wi ow, who was liferented in Balmachie, died in 
December, 1623. 



76 ANGUS OB FOKFABSHIRE. [PAKT XIV. 

III. James Carnegie, son of David, succeeded to Balmachie as third laird. 
He was served heir male to his father in the lands of Balveny on 6th October, 
1626 ; and he was infeft in Balmachie On 4th January, 1627, on precept in 
his favour as heir of his grandfather, James Carnegie. He married Isabella 
Durham, and on 18th June, 1628, he granted to her, in liferent, and to their 
son David, in fee, a charter of Balmachie, in which they were infeft on same 
day. He died in August, 1628, and was succeeded by his son, 

IV. David, fourth of Balmachie, who married Jean, eldest daughter of William 
Durham of Vmoquhy (Omachie). David, Earl of Southesk, granted to them a 
charter of Balmachie on 24th June, 1648. David was served heir of taillie of 
his cousin, John Carnegie of that ilk, in part of Punderlaw and Deishland, in 
the lordship of Arbroath, on llth April, 1649. He died in 1684. 

V. William Carnegie, fifth of Balmachie, succeeded to Balmachie on the 
death of David, his father. He married Elizabeth Alexander of Pitskellie. 
He is designed of Balmachie on 6th May, 1709, and he died in 1720. 

VI. James Carnegie, his son, sixth of Balmachie, was served heir to his 
grandfather, David Carnegie, on 13th July, 1727. He married Ann Robert- 
son, by whom he had a son and two daughters. He died in June, 1741. 

VII. James Carnegie, seventh of Balmachie, was served heir to his father, 
James, on 15th January, 1751. He married, first, Elizabeth Erskine of 
Kirkbuddo, and secondly, Clementina Lyell of Gardyne. On llth January, 
1772, he sold Balmachie to Captain David Eeid, and thereafter resided in 
Dundee. He had two sons and four daughters. 

The lands of Muirdrum had been disposed of by Eobert Maule of Panmure, 
or one of his predecessors, under reversion, to James Fleschour, burgess of Dun- 
dee, and Janet Eollok, his spouse. He was to recover possession of the lands 
on payment being made to them on St Michael's altar, within the parish church 
of Dundee, of 200 merks in gold of Scotch money. This having been done, 
they reconveyed the lands of Moredrome on 28th April, 1526. 

The lands of Muirdrum have passed through various hands previous, and 
subsequent to the Dundee burgess mentioned above. The village of Muirdrum 
consists of a number of detached cottages, with gardens, on both sides of the 
highway between Dundee and Arbroath, and within about a mile of the parish 
church of Panbride. The cottages are comfortable and the situation pleasant. 

The lands of Scryne were included in the gift to the Vajoniis, and they 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 77 

passed from them to the Maules. They were given to Elizabeth Rollok, wife 
of Sir Thomas Maule, as a residence, in the event of her outliving him, at 
Dundee, 12th March, 1490 (Reg. de Pan., 2). 

In 1361, William Maule granted a tack to Alexander Strachan of Carmylie 
of the lands of Skryne, which had been possessed in wadsett by Sir Robert 
Lawder, Kt. ; and in 1380 King Robert II. granted a charter confirming 
a grant made by William Maule of Panmure to Mariot Fleming, daughter of 
Sir David Fleming, Kt , of the lands of Skryne and others (Reg. de Pan., 21). 

Walter Lindsay of Skryne is mentioned as a juror, 16th May, 1508. The 
Lindsays were proprietors of Skryne in 1516 (Lives, Vol. I., 447). 

Skryne had come into possession of the Strachans of Claypots, but we do 
not know when. On 15th December, 1599, John Strachan of Claypots, heir 
of Gilbert his father, was retoured (No. 17) in half the lands of Skryne, three- 
quarter parts of the mill and mill lands of Skryne, called Craigmill ; half the 
lands of the Fishertown of Skryne, with half the port and fish, in the barony 
of Panmure A.E. 4, N.E. 16. 

A part of the southern district of the parish, adjoining the village of Car- 
noustie, has been given off in feus, upon which a number of cottages and several 
good dwellinghouses have been built. It is named the Newton of Panbride. 
A handsome Free Church, with a neat tower surmounted by a spire, a good 
manse, and other necessary accommodation, is in the Newton. 

The fishing village of Westhaven is in close proximity to the Newton. The 
fishing village of Easthaven is at a short distance to the eastward. Some of 
the old dilapidated cottages in it have been taken down, and a range of neat 
new cottages, on higher ground than the old dwellings, have been erected by 
the Earl of Dalhousie, and the fishers are now comfortably located in them. 

Between the East and Westhavens there is a large bleachwork, which 
affords steady employment to many of the neighbouring villagers. 

The proprietors of Panmure estate have been long celebrated for being 
liberal landlords. They frequently gave favourite tenants leases of their farms 
f or life, at easy rents, and several of the liferenters were able to purchase small 
jstates for themselves. Thomas Anderson, in Westhaven, died laird of Long- 
haugh, in the parish of Mains, in 1841, aged 57. Alexander Johnston, in 
East Scryne, died laird of Lawton, in Inverkeillor, and Foxton, in 1855, aged 
79 years. Others of them were equally comfortable in their liferent leases, 
but these good old times have passed away, and liferent farmers are now 
unknown in the district. 



78 ANGUS OB FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The present proprietor of the Panmure estates, John William Bamsay, Earl 
of Dalhousie, is a nobleman of great intelligence, of a most kindly disposition, 
who has the welfare of his numerous tenantry at heart, and the new form of 
lease he has granted to his tenants puts them on an equitable footing regard- 
ing the tenure, working, and cropping of cheir farms. 

It is traditionally said that George Sinclair, who was groom at Panmure, 
and was present with the Earl at the battle of Fontenoy, seeing his 
horse shot under him, and the owner of another horse shot at the same time, 
had the Earl mounted on the riderless charger, which enabled him to take 
the prominent part in the action for which he received the thanks of Parlia- 
ment. 

The word tl Car " carthair, a fort is a common prefix in the central and 
south-eastern district of Forfarshire. Car-buddo, Car-rot, Car-lungie, Car- 
mylie, Car-logie, Car-negie, Car-noustie, Hair-cairn, Cairn-corthie. " Dun " 
a hill or fort is also common in the district. Dun-dee, Dun-trune, Dun- 
head in the Den of Guynd, Dun-barrow, Dun-nichen. These words occur 
oftenest where Celtic races chiefly prevailed. They had all been forts, or places 
of strength when they were so named. 

About the year 1855 a Piqts' house was discovered near the house of Pan- 
mure, but it was again closed up. Cairncorthie is said to mean the cairn of the 
dark or black corrie, but no trace of the cairn remains. The Castle of 
Panmure, which the English destroyed in the fourteenth century, was 
allowed to go to ruin when the house at Bolshan was built. It is described, 
near the end of the sixteenth century, as " adjoining to and within the 
barony of Panmure, where Patrick Maule, fiar of Panmure, makes his 
actual residence," and where he lived down to the time of his death. Jervise 
suggests that Panmure is a corruption of the Gaelic words Can-more (Can- 
mohr), which signifies a large head, headland, or projecting point, which ac- 
curately describe the old castle. The present house of Panmure stands about 
half a mile north-east of the Castle Hill, and occupies nearly the same site as 
the house that was begun by the second Earl, and which appears to have been 
moated. 

CHURCH OF PANBRIDE. 

Dr Kobert Dickson, Carnoustie, who was long medical attendant on the 
Panmure family, has for several years directed his attention to this church 
and matters connected therewith, and he kept notes of any interesting details 
he met with. Several of these he placed at our disposal, and although we 



CHAP. LI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PANBRIDE. 79 

have, in this chapter, already given some account of the church, the notes 
will elucidate what we have said, and supply so many new and interesting 
particulars, that we now give them : 

"Our historical knowledge of the Church of Panbride dates back to the 
time of William the Lion. That Monarch gifted it to his new Abbey of Aber- 
brothock. The church had already been dedicated to St Bridget, commonly 
called St Bride, and from this circumstance, had given the name to the town- 
ship or immediate locality in which it was situated, and ultimately gave the 
name to the whole neighbouring territory, afterwards designed as the parish 
of Panbride. Hence we have proof that a sacred edifice must have existed on 
or near the site of the present church long anterior to the date of the King's 
grant, which was made between the years 1189 and 1199. 

" From the fact, too, that the Church of Panbride was previously under the 
jurisdiction of the Bishops of Brechin, and situated in the scattered diocese 
over which they held ecclesiastical sway, it is extremely probable that it was 
originally a cell belonging to the Culdees, who were the immediate prede- 
cessors of the Bishops of Brechin, and who planted several district chapels or 
oratories along the coast of Angus. (Note. It is worthy of note that one of the 
two Culdee priests whose names have been preserved to us as having continued 
in the chapter of Brechin after the Episcopal dominion, about 11.50, was called 
Mallebryde, who is designated as Priore Keledorum nostrorum Prior of our 
Culdees.) 

" The King's gift was not made without causing great dissatisfaction and 
misunderstanding in several quarters. The monks of the Abbey of Arbroath, 
on receiving the grant of the church, assumed that they were entitled to 
everything connected therewith all its revenues, together with the rights and 
privileges pertaining to it. John de Morham, the then proprietor of the 
barony of Panbride, thought otherwise, and believed that the right of patronage 
at least, which he had hitherto enjoyed, had not been conveyed to the monks, 
but that he retained it as a pertinent of the estate. Some of his friends shared 
in this opinion, and urged him to have the matter tried at the law courts. For 
this purpose he obtained letters from his Sovereign, with authority, or rather, 
perhaps, permitting him to proceed against the monks. Unfortunately, before 
the case was decided by the court, John de Morham was led to relinquish his 
suit, and at length appears to have regretted the step he was induced to take, 
for he himself informs us that, ' being at length guided by more wholesome 
counsel, I have, for the welfare of my soul and those of my predecessors and 



80 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

heirs, given forever, conceded and fully made over for me, for myself, and my 
heirs, all the rights I had in the same church, or which by any title I ought 
to have had, to the Abbot and Brotherhood of Aberbrothock and their suc- 
cessors,' 

" The ghostly fathers had in those days, as now, a better way of securing a 
decision in their own favour from members of their Church than the award of 
the civil judge. Excommunication and the terrors of Purgatory for him and 
his were threatened, which had so great an influence upon him, that he gave 
up his claim, and confessed that he had done wrong in making it, and now 
saw his error and repented of it. 

" Thus early in the history of the Scottish Church was the question of the 
right of patronage raised, a question which, up to our own time, has been a 
bone of contention over which so much angry strife has taken place, and a 
source of so much discord and division. 

" After John de Morham's death, his brother and heir, Adam, cheerfully 
confirmed his donation, and thereupon, at the same time, the Bishop of Brechin 
gave permission to the Convent of Arbroath to constitute and appoint a 
chaplain to the Church of Panbride. But in conceding so much the Chapter 
of Brechin were not willing to give up all the interest which they had hitherto 
posssessecl in it. They claimed certain of its revenues, which was objected to, 
and this difficulty was only cleared up after more than a hundred years' bicker- 
ing between themselves and the Bishop of St Andrews, to whom the matter 
was referred, in order that peace and amity should be established between 
them (Keg. de Aberb.)." 

CHAP. LIL EESCOBIE. 

The Church of Rescobie, with its chapel, belonged to the Priory of St 
Andrews. The patron saint was Triduana, Virgin. 

The present church, which is a plain but neat structure, was built in 1820. 
It stands upon a rising ground a little to the north of the loch of Rescobie. 
The " lake of Roscolby" is mentioned in a note of the marches of Dunnichen 
in the thirteenth century. The graveyard, like many others in Scotland, was 
Jong neglected, but it has been improved, and received some ornamentation. 

The chapel, dedicated to St Madoc, stood on a small knoll or hillock a little 
to the south-east of Aldbar railway station, but all that remains of it is a small 
burial-ground, surrounded by a wall, the lintel of the doorway in which bears 
ANO MDCLXIX. 



CHAP. ML] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 81 

A monkish legend of Triduana, Virgin, tells that she was very beautiful, and 
a neighbouring chief fell in love with her. She went to Dunfallandy, in Athol, 
to be away from him. Some of his retainers followed and told her the lustre 
of her eyes charmed him, whereupon she plucked them out and sent them to 
her lover. She died at Restalrig, and was buried there. 

St Trodlins' Fair, held at the old kirk style of Kescobie, was removed to 
Forfar ages ago, but on a small triangular piece of ground adjoining the 
church, the stone still stands at which the baron's courts were held and market 
customs collected. The spot belongs to the Earl of Strath more. 

The parish of Kescobie has a very tortuous outline, consisting of two sections 
tending in different directions, but connected. The western section extends 
westward from the church, and is fully five miles in length by one in breadth. 
It is bounded by Oathlaw and Aberlemno on the north, Aberlemno on the 
east, Forfar on the south, and Kirriemuir on the west. The eastern section 
is nearly five miles in length by fully one in breadth. It is bounded on the 
north by Aberlemno and the northern section of Guthrie, on the east by 
Kirkden, on the south by Kirkden and Dunnichen, and by Forfar on the west. 
It contains 6724'348 acres, of which 165.351 are water. 

The loch of Rescobie, which stretches from east to west, is about 1 J mile in 
length by J mile in breadth. It is a pretty sheet of clear water, but the 
banks are low, and though pretty, there is little of the picturesque about it. 

In 1574 Rescoby, Dunnichtin, Eidvie, and Guthre were served by Maister 
James Balfour, minister, who had a stipend of 133 6s 8d Scots and the 
kirk lands. William Gareauch was reidare at Roscoby. His salary was 16 
Scots and kirk lands (Mis. Wod. Soc., p. 351). 

In the olden time the parish was called Rescolbyne, Roscolpin, Eoskoby, 
Rescolby, and other spellings. The church and chapel are rated at 28 merks 
in the Old Taxation (Reg. de Aberb., p. 239). 

On 6th September, 1336, an agreement was made at Londy, in Angus, 
between James, Bishop of St Andrews, with consent of his chapter, on the 
part of him and his church and his successors on the one hand, and the religous 
man, John of Eskdale, Prior of Resteneth, and as attorney of the religious 
men, the Abbot and Convent of Jed word, constituted attorney by their patents 
sanctioned by their common seal, on the other hand. That his Grace, the same 
Bishop, with consent, &c., granted and gave as a free farm,feodam firmane, 
for ever, to the aforesaid priors of Resteneth, the whole of his lands of Rescolby, 
with all the appurtenances, liberties or privileges, conveniences, and easements 

L 



82 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE, [PAET XIV. 

regarding the said lands, or that may at any future period be lawfully deemed 
to regard the same, in meadows, stagnate water, &c. (Aid. Miss.). 
The following inscription is on the church bell of Rescobie : 

A.N.D.R.E.A.S E.H.E.M A.N.N.O 1.6.2.0 

Like many other parishes in the county, the soil is various in quality, some 
parts of it being poor and others rich and fertile. In the end of last century, 
by the application of marl, a great improvement was effected on even the 
worst parts of it. Since then the science of agriculture has made rapid pro- 
gress, and now the greater part of the arable land in the parish produces 
heavy crops of excellent quality. 

The surface of the parish is very uneven. In the centre is the lake of Rescobie, 
with its affluent and effluent streams, the one entering from the west and the 
other flowing to the east. To the south of this valley the hills of Burnside 
and Dunnichen rise to a moderate height, the latter being the highest and 
most southerly of the two. Both hills are well wooded, and with their re- 
spective mansions and fine policies, add to the beauty of this picturesque dis- 
trict. To the north of the valley the land rises with a gradual ascent in some 
parts, but it is generally steep, and some parts are precipitous. 

Bescobie, the name of the parish, is evidently of Celtic origin. The prefix 
Ees or Ross, signifying a peninsula or promontory, is very often found forming 
part of Celtic names for places partially surrounded by water, or which had 
formerly been so. The affix cobie, coplin, or whatever it ought to be, is of 
unknown origin, but it evidently is a gross corruption of some Celtic word. 
We may here add that the name of Mr Powrie's estate, Eeswallie, is also 
Celtic, the prefix Ees, properly Boss, from a portion of the land having been, 
at one time, a promontory jutting out into the loch of Rescobie ; and wallie, 
properly valloch or ballock, b and v being interchangeable letters, signifying 
a homestead or hamlet, from which the very common prefix bal, as Balmadies, 
Baldardo, both in this parish. 

Mr Powrie of Reswallie, who, at our request, very kindly revised the MS. 
of the chapter, believes that the name Clocksbriggs is from a bridge formed of 
logs which in former times crossed a burn which then passed across the road 
immediately east of the old house of Clocksbriggs, there dividing the parishes 
of Rescobie and Forfar. These logs briggs changed for euphony to Clocks- 
briggs. The meaning of the name Clocksbriggs, as given in Vol. III., p. 290, 
is to some extent fanciful. 



CHAP. LII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 83 

It has long been the opinion that marl taken from the lochs in the parish 
and applied to the soil as manure had greatly enriched the land and made it 
more productive than it previously was. Mr Powrie believes it had the op- 
posite effect, and almost if not altogether destroyed the fertility of the land so 
treated, and many fields in the parish have scarcely recovered from its em- 
ployment. Marl is an impure carbonate of lime, in a state little fitted for 
manure. It is now superseded by lime. 

The parishioners are highly lauded in Sinclair's account, about 1792. " Our 
people are usually decent in their dress, sometimes showy, and in a holiday 
suit emulous of their betters. In their conversation, sensible ; in their 
manners, discreet and humane ; in their various employments, diligent and 
industrious ; in these times of alarm they are peaceable and loyal ; in religion, 
serious, charitable, and observant of religious ordinances, and chiefly Presby- 
terians. As to the Episcopalians (he says), it would hardly be safe to say they 



can err." 



But of the Seceders, of which there were a few in the parish, he is most in- 
tolerant. " Poor folk, they are so few be-north of the Tay, it might be reckoned 
an illiberal attack on weakness were any attempt made to expose their errors. 
But let it not offend them if it be observed that their distinguishing marks are 
not very ornamental, nor their proper peculiarities extremely praiseworthy." 
In a note it is added " Their manners, as they are seen in sowing strife and 
division ; their spy-office, as it is glaringly invidious ; and their sentiments, as 
they are notoriously selfish and uncharitable, can have no good effect upon any 
people. And as to the discourses of their clergy, they ar^ usually calculated to 
darken counsel by words without wisdom ; rather to increase darkness than 
to diffuse light ; to encourage and foster errors and unchristian prejudices 
rather than to correct and remove them. Whenever the deluded people shall 
come to have the use of their senses in these as in other matters, Secederism, 
like French nobility, will become a thing of the past." 

The minister's glebe measures about seven acres. He says, " it would con- 
tribute much to the convenience and comfort of the country clergy if, instead 
of such a trifling pitiful spot of ground, glebes were enlarged to about twenty 
acres, and if, in giving augmentations, a few acres of land could be added to 
the glebe rather than as many pounds to the stipend, it would be found a bene- 
ficial change." He says he " was installed into the charge on 3d April, 1777, 
and is still a bachelor (May, 1793). Bachelorism is surely a pitiable, com- 
fortless condition, and they that are in would fain be out of it, but unless the 



84 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRK [PART XIV. 

Court of Teinds shall vouchsafe to deliver us from it, it must soon become 
more frequent." 

The minister's discovery regarding the swallow is out of the ordinary groove. 
He had doubts about their migration, and for some years watched their first 
appearance in spring. " On 2d May, 1793, pretty early in the morning, he saw 
them for the first time in considerable numbers on the loch, from which they 
seemed to be just then in the process of emerging, though, as there was some 
rippling on the water, it was difficult to discern the breaking of the surface ; 
but the observer is positive they just then arose from the lake, and therefore 
must have lain or lodged somehow at the bottom since the time of their dis- 
appearance last year. The weather all day continued as it began, and the 
swallows enjoyed themselves skimming along the surface or soaring aloft in 
the air, but went very little away off the water till evening, when they col- 
lected over the lake and disappeared without observation." 

" With anxious expectation they were looked for next morning, and all day 
through, bnt no appearance of them for several days ; and, therefore, there 
can be no doubt of their descending into their lodgings at the bottom, having 
from that day's experience felt or judged the air not sufficiently encouraging 
for them to live in. Nor were they seen till the llth May, when they were 
again observed emerging from the lake, and continued playing their gambols 
till evening, when they disappeared as formerly, and were seen no more till 
the evening of 21st May, when the manner of their appearing was exactly the 
same as before-mentioned." 

" The last experiment succeeded ; they felt it should seem, the temperature of 
the air encouraging, and in a few days began to prepare their summer 
dwellings. They have been known some seasons to show themselves sooner 
than last year, and to go away ten days or a fortnight, but till last summer, 
when there was some sharp cold piercing weather, the narrator never observed 
them to disappear twice after their first coming. And he is now fully satisfied 
that the swallow, instead of being classed with birds of passage, should be en- 
rolled among the sleepers. The reporter must be excused for thinking it 
clearly decisive of a question in the natural history of this bird." 

On the north side of the vale, the pretty hill of Carse rises in the north-west 
corner of the parish, eastward of which is the double-headed hill, the western 
portion of which is called the hill of Pitscandly, and the eastern the hill of 
Turin. The base of this double-named hill is about a mile to the north of 
the lake, and the comfortable mansion of Pitscandly cosily nestles at its south- 



CHAP. LIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 85 

west corner, the hill protecting it from the cold northern hlasts. A lofty per- 
pendicular wall of rock forms the south side of Turin hill, and, as previously- 
mentioned, the prospect from the top of the hill is magnificent in every 
direction. 

Of the rock composing these hills, the writer of the Old Account says " it is 
excellent quality for building materials, and contains inexhaustible stores of 
stones of various kinds, and of every dimension fit for use ; and where there 
are quarries now working, astonishing to look at, and affording ample subject 
of contemplation and amusement to the naturalist and virtuoso. Gentlemen 
of this cast would sometimes deign to corne and see, if they knew what is to 
be seen. Besides the discoveries to be made in the bowels of these hills, the 
stupendous rocks that rise above them, in proud contempt of human productions, 
may well be viewed as natural prodigies, and must strike with amazement the 
eye of the stranger." 

The lands of Balmadies formed part of the great possessions of the Earls of 
Angus. Margaret Abernethy, Countess of Angus, granted a charter of them 
to William Monfode, which was confirmed by David II. (In. to Ch., 66-3). 
William of Fassington (? Dishington) had a charter of the lands of Balmedy 
from the same King (do., 70 ; Reg. Mag. Sig., p. 28, No. 45). King David 
also confirmed a charter by Margaret of Abernethy, Countess of Angus, to 
William Fassyngtoun and Margaret, his spouse, of the lands of Balmady. 
The confirmation charter is dated 6th February, 33d year of his reign, 1362-3 
(do,, 73-45). Alexander de Keith, son natural to William Keith Marischall, 
received from Robert III., in 1390, a charter of the lands of Balmady, and 
several others (do., 150-1). In a note below the record of the charter it is 
said " Nearly one half of this charter is now torn off, containing the designa- 
tion of Alex, de Keith, as well as of the resigner." 

It appears that the Ochterlonys had possessed Balmadies. Ochterlony, in 
his account of the shire, says : " Balmadie formerly belonged to the lairds of 
Ochterlony of that ilk, and was the manor house of the family, and their 
burial was at the Kirk of Rescobie until they purchased the lands of Kellie." 
They probably acquired Balmadies about 1480. They must have been inter- 
mediate proprietors between the Keiths and the Strachans, in the 15th, 16th, 
and 17th centuries. They may have continued to possess part of the lands at 
the same time as the Strachans held part, or to have re-acquired part of them 
subsequently. The Ochterlonys of the old stock were in possession of Auchter- 



86 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

mergeties (Balmadies) from about 1480, and they retained possession for some 
time. Evidences of their ownership still remain, in the shape of old stones 
built into the walls of some of the modern buildings. One of these is a 
corbel ; another with the date 1603 ; a third with the initials J. 0. and. the 
Ochterlony arms ; a fourth with the initials A. B. and the coat of Beaton of 
Balfour ; and several others, which probably all belong to the first half of the 
16th century. The lands of Balmadies belonged to the Cathedral of St 
Andrews, and the Archbishop gave a feu-farm charter of it as mentioned 
below, but we do not know how or when they were acquired by the Cathedral. 

The lands of Balmadies were acquired by the Strachans, but we do not 
know when. Alexander Strachan of Balmadies is one of an assize at the retour 
to John Carnegie of Kinnaird, as heir of his father, John, in Kinnaird, &c., 
on 16th May, 1508. James Strachan of Balmadies was a juror at a service 
on 7th November, 1513 (H. of C. of S., pp. 524-526). The Strachans had 
probably retained Balmadies until they were acquired by the family of Pierson, 
as mentioned below. 

The surname of Ochterlony is said to have been assumed from the lands of 
Lownie, in the parish of Dunnichen. They were exchanged, 1226-39, for 
those of Kenny, in the parish of Kingoldruin. William of Ochterlony is 
witness to a charter, circa 1368. William of Ochterlony had an interest in 
the estate of Melgum in 1391. Alexander of Ochterlony married the only 
daughter of Sir William Maule of Panmiire in 1394. The same person, or 
another of the same name, witnesses charters of Regent Albany, 1404-1423-4. 
William Ochterlony of that ilk is mentioned, 26th March, 1524. The latter 
William was of Kelly, which was changed to Ochterlony about 1468. There 
is uncertainty about the descent of these Ochterlonys and the lands from which 
they took their designation. The change in the name of their lands mystifies 
the history of the family, and increases the uncertainty. 

Ochterlony possessed Kelly,, in Arbirlot, before 1442, and Sir William 
Ochterlony sold Kelly to Irvine of Arbirlot, who passed them to Sir Alexander 
Irvine of Drum about 1614. About this time the Ochterlonys acquired Guynd, 
and it remained in possession of the family until 20th November, 1843, when 
John Ochterlony, the last male of the name in Guynd, died. He was suc- 
ceeded by his nephew, J. A. Pierson, son of his sister, whose trustees now hold 
the property. 

The lands and barony of " Auchtermeggities, vtherwayes callit Belmades, 
with the milne," is the description of the property in the ratification charter to 



OHAP. LIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. EESCOBIE. 87 

Alexander Pierson and Isabella Beaton of a feu-farm charter, which they ob- 
tained in 1624 from John, " last pretendit Archbishop of St Andrews." The 
Piersons must have acquired Balmadies before the date of that charter, as they 
are designed of Balmadies in 1614. The lands and barony of Auchtermeg- 
gities, or Balmadies, were held under payment of a money rent of 20 Scots, 
and they owed suit to the Archbishop's courts at Rescobie. 

James Pierson appears to have succeeded Alexander as second of Balmadies. 
He died, 7th December, 1673, and his spouse, Elizabeth Pierson, died in 1669. 
He was followed by Alexander Pierson, third of Balmadies, born 3d February, 
1626, who married Margaret Murray, born 9th June, 1625. He died 13th 
March, 1700, and she died 12th September, 1694. James Pierson, fourth of 
Balmadies, born 3d November, 1666, succeeded, and married Margaret, 
daughter of Sir Alexander Lindsay of Evelick, by whom he had seven sons. 
She had been previously married to the Laird of Findowrie. She died in 
May, 1714. James Pierson died 30th March, 1745. Robert Pierson, fifth of 
Balmadies, advocate, born 21st May, 1701. In October, 1740, he married 
Ann, daughter of John Fraser of Kirkton and Hospitalfield. She was born 
on 9th May, 1723, and by her he had three sons James, John, and David 
and two daughters Mary and Margaret. She died on 9th July, 1761, and 
he died on 4th April, 1763. 

James Piersou, fourth of Balmadies, who died in 1745, executed, in 1739, 
a disposition of his whole properties, consisting of Balmadies, Lochlands, 
Barngreen, Berry fold, and Smiddycroft, in favour of his second Bon, Robert, 
advocate, containing reservations in favour of his eldest son, John, and 
youngest son, Thomas. John died unmarried in 1763. Robert then came 
into absolute possession of the property. It was their eldest son, James, who 
married Margaret Ochterlony of the Guynd, whose son, James Alexander 
Pierson, succeeded to the Guynd on the death of his uncle, John Ochterlony, 
in 1843. 

The Piersons sold Balmadies, since which time it has passed through several 
proprietors, among whom is Henry Stephen, author of " The Book of the 
Farm," and a noted agriculturist. 

A neat tablet, which had adorned some part of the old mansion of Balmadies, 
is still preserved. On it is a Latin inscription, in Roman capitals, in relief, of 
which the following is a translation : 

" My foes keep out, O house ; to friends and strangers open be ; 
And may such ever be the mind of him that holdeth thee." 



88 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The tablet appears to have been the work of James Pierson, second of Bal- 
madies. On a lintel below the tablet are the following initials : 

M D 

. A P . MM. 

being those of Alexander Pierson and Dame Margaret Murray, his spouse, 
who possessed Balmadies immediately after the above mentioned James of the 
tablet. 

The Piersons of Balmadies, now of Guynd, had their burying-ground in the 
chapelyard of St Ninians, on the estate of Balmadies, in this parish, and many 
of the headstones in it record the death of members of this family. The name 
is found in the Reg. de Aberb. in 1506, when Thomas Pierson had a charter 
of " ly Rude," with pertinents, in the Almonry of Arbroath. 

The estate of Balmadies was purchased in 1830 for Sir David Ochterlony's 
trustees, who changed the name from " Balmadies " to " Ochterlony," in ac- 
cordance with his wishes as expressed in his trust deed. The estate was 
bought for Sir Charles Meltcalfe Ochterlony, Bart., who was then a minor. 
The change of name, which Sir Charles himself would not have desired, was a 
source of some annoyance to the laird of Guynd, the eccentric John Ochterlony, 
who was, Sir Charles believes, the lineal representative of the Ochterlonys of 
that Ilk ; Sir David's ancestors being a collateral branch, the Ochterlonys, 1st 
of Seaton and then of Tiliifroskie, Aberdeenshire. Sir David's grandfather, 
Alexander Ochterlony, laird of Pitforthy, was 6th son of James Auchterlouy of 
Wester 8eaton, St Vigeans, and Tiliifroskie, Aberdeen, of both which properties 
he had a grant in 1698. 

Sir Charles Meltcalfe Ochterlony, Bart. He is second son of Roderick 
Peregrine Ochterlony of Delhi, by Sarah, daughter of Lieut.-Col. J. Nelley, 
of the Bengal Engineers, born 1817. He succeeded his kinsman, Major- 
General Sir David Ochterlony, G.C.B., Bart., 1825, and is second Baronet. 
He was educated at Edinburgh and Haileybury, was formerly in the Bengal 
Civil Service, is a Magistrate for Forfarshire, and in 1844, married Sarah, 
eldest daughter of W. P. Tribe, by whom he has issue sons David Ferguson, 
born 1848, educated at St Andrews, married, 1873, Somerville, daughter of 
Baron Grahame of Morphie ; Ross Wilkie, born 1853 ; Gilbert Douglas, born 
1867. Daughters Sarah-Helen, married 1868, to Sir James Liston, Foulis, 
9th Baronet of Colinton and Ravelston ; Charlotte- Amy, Annie-Georgina, 
Mary-Hunter. Sir David Ochterlony, G.C.B., the first Baronet, a Major- 
General in the East India Company's service, and Colonel of the 28th Regiment 



CHAP. III.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 89 

of Native Infantry, distinguished himself in the Nepaulese War, and received 
the thanks of both Houses of Parliament. 

CREATION 1823. 

Arms. Azure, a lion rampant, argent, charged on the shoulder with a key erect wards 

upwards of the field, and holding in the fore paws a trident, or ; all within a bordure 

wavy of the second, charged with four buckles gules. 
Crest. A swan, wings elevated, argent, ducally collared and chained, or ; the breast 

charged with a buckle gules, and the wings and body debruised by a bendlet sinister 

wavy azure. 
Motto. Spe labor levis. 

Sir Charles is of the old stock of Ochterlony of that ilk, and he possesses part 
of the property which belonged to his race four centuries ago. Sir David 
Ochterlony was created a baronet in 1816 ; obtained a second patent in 1823, 
recreating himself a baronet, with remainder, to Sir Charles and his legitimate 
issue. Sir David, who was born at Boston, U.S., was the grandson of Alex- 
ander Ochterlony of Pitforthy, near Brechin, whose eldest son, Gilbert, suc- 
ceeded to that property. He was also designed of Newton Mill. 

The chapelyard of St Ninian's is an integral part of the estate of Ochter- 
lony, and as such now belongs to Sir Charles, and not to the Guynd family. He 
has, however, given permission for the interment there of members of that 
family who have died since he succeeded to the property. 

The present mansion house of Ochterlony was built by Henry Stephen, then 
proprietor, about 1820, on the site of the old mansion house, and the stone 
with the Latin inscription already given was in the old building, and removed to 
its present position when that structure was demolished. It is a good, comfortable 
building of three floors. The principal entrance, to the east, has a neat portico 
supported on columns. The house is lighted by windows on all sides. It is 
on an elevated site, with lawn around it, a good garden to the south, and all 
surrounded by thriving plantations, the drive through which, from the high- 
way to the mansion, is very pleasing, and in some parts picturesque. The 
farm buildings are at some distance to the westward of the mansion. 

The estate of Burnside was long known as the lands and barony of Dodd 
and they held off the Crown. Of the original lands of Burnside, part, at least, 
held off the Priory of Kesteneth. In Peter's Baronage of Angus and Mearns 
p. 166, taken from Smibert's Clans, p. 218, it is said : The Rev. Mr Marshall, 
maternal ancestor of the then proprietor, thus writes " The lands and barony 



90 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

of Dodd is the expression applied to the estate in the title deeds, and Burn- 
side is, or was, a distinct property, which adjoins this." . . The rev. gentle- 
man adds : " When the proprietor of the two properties began first to be 
called Hunter of Burnside I am unable to determine." " The name of Hunter 
was given to the remote progenitor by Malcolm Kemnore in the following 
curious charter" : " I, Malcolm Kenmore. King, the first of my reign (A.D., 
1153) give to the Normand Hunter of Polmood, the ' Hope/ up and down, 
above the earth to heaven, below the earth to hell, 
* As free to thee and thine 
As ever God gave it to me and mine, 
And that for a bow and a broad arrow 
When I come to hunt in Yarrow ; 
And for the mair suith, 
I byte the white wax with my teeth.' 

" It was the royal f cross/ His Majesty's usual mode of attesting documents, 
(According to the Durham Chronicle, he could neither read nor write), 
' Before thir witnesses three, 
May, Maud, and Majorie.' " 

The author of this account of the origin of the name of Hunter must have 
been trying to emulate the too famous Kichard of Cirencester in his description 
of Britain. Malcolm IV. (The Maiden), son of Henry, son of David I., began 
his reign in 1153. Malcolm III. (Canmore) began his reign in 1056, and 
Scotland has no charters so early as his reign, the oldest being by his son 
Duncan, 1094. 

The family have continued in possession of the property since Ochterlony 
wrote, but I have not ascertained the time when the Hunters acquired it. 
Alison, a daughter of the house of Burnside, was married to Gordon of Aber- 
geldie before the middle of the 18th century. They lived together almost 
half a century. He died in 1796, and she survived him four years. David 
Hunter of Burnside is among the freeholders of Forfarshire in 1820. Lieut.- 
General David Hunter of Burnside died in 1846, His son David succeeded, 
but died in 1847, when his son (then a minor), William George Hunter, became 
proprietor, and he still possesses it. 

The lands of Dod were for some time in possession of the Lyons. On 7th 
November, 1587, Sir Thomas Lyon of Aldbar, knight, the famous " Master of 
Glamis," who bearded King James VI. in 1587, had a charter of the lands of 
Dod, and the family retained them for some time thereafter. On 9th Novem- 
ber, 1650, John Lyon of Aldbar, sou of Sir Thomas, was retoured (No. 595) 



CHAP. LII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESOOBIE. 91 

in the lands and barony of Murtadderwood, and Hempwood or Dod, with the 
tower, fortalice, mansion and wood, mill, multures and mill lands, and fishings 
in the loch of Rescobie, ; lands called Kingsmuir ; advocation of the church 
and parish of Rescobie to the barony of Dod ; advocation of the church and 
parish of Nether Airlie, annexed to the barony of Dod A.E. 4, N.E. 16. 

Kingsmuir, in the barony of Dod, was in possession of the Earl of Strath- 
more in 1695, but the Earl may have had the superiority only, as Ochtcrlony 
gives Hunter as proprietor in 1684. In 1706 Hunter of Burnside bought the 
lands of Draffin for 899 6s 8d Scots (Dundee Charters). Andrew Hunter 
was proprietor of the lands of Dod, which he entailed in 1709. He died in 
1728, and was succeeded by his son (supposed to be his only son), David 
Hunter, who, dying in 1758, was succeeded by his eldest son, Charles Hunter. 
He died in 1802, and was succeeded by his eldest son, General Hunter. 

The General lived a considerable time at Broughty Ferry, his mansion and 
grounds being directly opposite the entrance to the North British railway 
booking office and pier. He owned a large extent of the links of Broughty. 
He also owned the Grange of Monifieth, and other lands in Monifieth parish. 

George Dempster of Dunnichen, who died on 2d June, 1753, was proprietor 
of Burnside (Vol. III., p. 198). In 1774, Mr Hunter was designed of Burnside. 
On 20th April, 1801, David, fourth son of General Hunter, was born at 
Broughty Ferry. The General died in 1846. His eldest son, Charles Hunter, 
died in 1802, unmarried. His second son, Major William Hunter, also pre- 
deceased his father, leaving family. The General was succeeded by his grand- 
son, David Hunter, who married Margaret Wemyss Henderson, daughter of 
the late James Henderson, a merchant or manufacturer of Kirkcaldy, whose 
widow married John Marshall, at one time Episcopal minister at BLdrgowrie. 
David Hunter did not survive long after his marriage, having died in 1817, 
and was succeeded by his only child, born same year, William George Hunter. 
He disentailed the property about 1880, and immediately thereafter sold one 
of the farms, Newmill, to Miss Baxter of Balgavies. In 1881 he sold other 
five farms viz., Finneston, Fonah, Greenhead, Hagmuir, and Forrester's Seat 
to James Auldjo Jamieson, W.S., Edinburgh, son-in-law of James Powrie 
of Reswallie. Mr Jamieson had a short time previously purchased the lands 
of Clocksbriggs. 

Since the sale of these farms, Mr Hunter, in September last, disponed of 
what remained of the property (about one half of the original whole), with the 



92 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

mansion house, to Alexander Robertson, Sheriff- Substitute, Forfar, who oc- 
cupied the house for some years prior to the purchase of the property. 

David Hunter, fourth son of the General, and who died in 1846, was pro- 
prietor of the links extending for some distance to the east of Broughty. He 
disponed them to himself, the late David Halley, and Charles Norrie. They 
sold them, or gave the land off in feu, to the .Railway Company, to the late 
John Cowan, and others, and what was then barren sandy links is now covered 
with dwellinghouses, the abode of a large population. 

General Hunter was one of the ten proprietors in Forfar parish in 1843, his 
rental in that parish being then 223 6s 8d. Wester Dod was in Forfar 
parish and Dod in the parish of Rescobie. The total rental of Burnside was 
then 750, thus leaving the rental in Rescobie 516 13s 4d. Wester Dod 
comprised the barony of Auchterforfar and the priory and priory lands of 
Resteneth. Early in last century these lands and Burnside belonged to a 
Hunter. They were sold during the first half of the eighteenth century to 
George Dempster of Dunnichen, as mentioned above. Right of burial in the 
Priory of Resteneth, with the small field on which the mansionhouse stood, 
being retained by the Hunters, who also took George Dempster bound to dis- 
continue the name of Burnside to his purchase, and they transferred the 
name of Burnside to the family estate of Dod. 

The Earl of Strathmore being lay improprietor of the benefices belonging 
to the Priory of Resteneth, had very probably been proprietor of part, and 
superior of other parts of Kingsmuir, which had been subdivided, a portion 
belonging to Burnside, now Dunnichen ; while another portion forms separate 
small properties in the parish of Forfar, held in feu by the owners. 

Easter Dod was a distinct property from Dod or Wester Dod in, at least, a 
part of the 16th and 17th centuries, and it appears that the lands had been 
divided among two or more proprietors. On 17th May, 1617, George Strang, 
heir of John Strang, portioner of Kilrenny, his father, was retoured (No. 100) 
in the lands of Easter Dod, called Gallowfaulds, and Forrester's Seat, in the 
barony of Dod A.E. 20s, N.E. M. 

The old house of Dod, though called a castellated fortalice or keep, was a 
paltry place. It stood immediately east of the present home offices, and was 
only recently altogether pulled down. The mansion house of Burnside was also 
very poor, and had been quite eradicated when the property was sold to Dun- 
nichen. The present house of Burnside was built by Charles Hunter, the 
father of General Hunter. It was very much improved and added to by the 



CHAP. LIT.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 93 

proprietor, Captain W. Gr. Hunter. It is a fine commodious mansion, the best 
in the parish, and it stands on a good site between the hills of Dunnichen on 
the south and Burnside on the north, having a fine lawn in front, with well- 
grown trees to the right and left of it, and a tiny stream running past. It is 
a pleasant sheltered spot, and a very desirable residence. 

Captain William George Hunter was educated at Eton and Sandhurst 
College, was Captain 69th Regiment, and is a Captain 1st West York Militia, 
and a Justice of Peace for the county of Forfar. 

King David II. granted a charter to Marthaco or Murdoch Eind, or Mur- 
thaco del Rynd, of four oxengate of arable land in the forest of Platter or 
Platane, and four oxengates of Land of Cass, or Carse (In. to Ch., 66-6). The 
redendo or payment to the Crown being a pair of white gloves and two pennies 
of silver annually, "at our manor of Forfar" (do., 81-161). These two 
portions adjoin each other, and as Carse is on the south of the hill of Finhaven, 
it shows that the great Forest of Plater had included this hill. The oxgang of 
land was thirteen Scotch acres. King Alexander III. enacted that every pro- 
prietor of an ox should be bound to plough an oxgang of land, the measure 
first taking its name in this monarch's time. The tenant of an oxgang was 
bound to find an ox for the common plough. The charter of these lands to 
Murthaco was dated at Dundee, 31st July, 37th year of King David's reign, 
1366 (Reg. Great Seal, No, 161, p. 53). In 1372 Patrick of Rynd was an 
alderman or bailie of Forfar. He and five other burgesses of Forfar, on behalf 
of that town, completed an indenture or agreement with the town of Montrose 
regarding the freedom of both burghs. He had probably been a brother or 
other relative of the laird of Carse. 

On 21st July, 1450, James Rind of Carse and Broxmouth was a witness ; 
on 13th October, 1450, Patrick and James Rind were at an assize ; on 23d 
June, 1497, Alexander Rind was a witness ; James Rind on 6th May, 1500 ; 
William Rind on 29th April, 1588. These persons are all designed of Carse 
(Reg. Ep. Br.). William Rind of Carse was a witness in 1602 (Reg. de Pan., 
317). On 20th October, 1621, John Rynd of Carse was retoured (No. 135) heir 
to William Rynd of Carse, his grandfather, in the lands of Cotton of Carse 
A.E. 20s, N.E. 4 ; lands of Parkzet and Westmylne, called the Waird Mylne, 
in the barony of Forest A.E. 40s, N.E. 8 ; and lands of Craighead, &c. 
The Rynds were also in possession of the lands of Clocksbriggs for a considerable 
period (Clocks or Clach-bricks=a place abounding with freckled stones). The 



94 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Rynds appear to have been out of Carse by about the middle of the 17th 
century, as Patrick Lyon is designed of Carse about 1650 (Bar. 51). The 
estate shortly thereafter came into possession of Sir Patrick Lyon, advocate. 
Ochterlony calls it Wester Carse, a pleasant place, well planted, and belonging 
to Sir Patrick. The estate of Carse was acquired by the Ruthvens. 

On 18th September, 1655, William Ruthven of Gardyne was retoured (No. 
352) heir male of conquest of Colonel Sir Francis Ruthven of Carse, knight, 
his immediate younger brother-german, in the lands of Carse ; the lands of 
Milton of Rescobie ; the lands called Wardlands and Sergeantlands, with 
fishings in the loch of Rescobie, in the barony of Rescobie and re^alitie of St 
Andrews ; also of the lands of West Cotton of Carse called Mackieshill ; the 
lands of Parkgate and Wardmill ; the lands of Surdo, with fishings upon the 
loch of Rescobie ; the lands of Heatherstack, with the mill, within the parish 
of Rescobie and barony of the Forest of Platane, as for principal ; the lands 
of Over and Nether Bowhouse ; the lands of Wood of Finhaven, within the 
barony of Finhaven, in warrandice of the lands of Heatherstack. 

On 20th September, 1664, Wiliam Ruthven of Gardyne was served heir 
male of William Ruthven of Gardyne, avi, in the lands of Carse, and all 
the other lands enumerated above, with other rights and privileges (No. 407). 

On 30th October, 1695, Patrick Lyon of Carse, heir of Lord Patrick Lyon, 
his father, a Senator of the College of Justice, was retoured (No. 537) in the 
lands of Carse, with the mill E. 12, &c., feudifirmce ; lands of Milton of 
Rescobie, with the mill and mill lands, Wardlands and Sergeantlands, with 
the fishings on the loch of Rescobie ; restricted multures from the mill of 
Rescobie on the lands mentioned above E. 8 6s 8d feudifirmce ; lands of 
Mackieshill, and other lands, &c., which belonged to the family of Ruthven, 
as detailed above ; the lands of Clochtow or Myreside, in the barony of Res- 
teneth ; and other lands. 

On 2d June, 1648, John Lindsay of Edzell, heir of David Lindsay of 
Edzell, his father, was retoured (No. 304) in the church lands of Wester 
Edzell, with pendicles, vizt. : Derahoill, Meikle and Little Magry, in the lord- 
ship of Rescobie E. 16m. 

On 25th April, 1699, David, son and heir of David Lindsay of Edzel, was 
retoured (No. 533) in these lands of Derahoill, and Meikle and Little Magry. 

The estate of Carse was acquired by Charles Gray, son of Gray of Balbunno, 
in Perthshire, a cadet of the noble family of Gray of Gray, about 1741. He 
married Elizabeth, a sister of James Farquhar of Balmoor. Charles Gray 



OHAP. LIL] ANGUS I1ST PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 95 

died 28th April, 1768, a^ed 86, and she died in 1779. He, in 1765, executed 
a deed of entail of Carse and other lands in favour of his own issue, whom 
failing, to that of his nephew, Patrick Lowson, a farmer in Auchterhouse. 
On the death of Charles Gray, through failure of his own issue, he was suc- 
ceeded by his grand-nephew, Walter Lowson, son of Patrick, who assumed 
the surname and arms of Gray only. He also added Gray to the name of the 
property, making it Carsegray. James Farquhar of Bulmoor died 31st 
December, 1759. In 1769 a marble monument was erected in the old church 
of Rescobie, having a Latin inscription, which, translated, reads as follows : 
"Sacred to the memory of Charles Gray of Carse, Esq., aged 86; and of 
James Farquhar of Balmoor, Esq., his most devoted friend, a man of primitive 
virtue, who died 31st December, 1759, aged 66. This monument was erected 
in 1709 by Elizabeth Farquhar, widow, in memory of her dearly-beloved 
husband and brother, and by Walter Gray, heir of the former, in grateful re- 
membrance of his respected granduncle." This marble lies below the stair 
leading to the gallery of the new church, a very unsuitable place for so 
affectionate a memorial. It ought to be placed in a more prominent position. 

Walter Gray was the father of Charles Gray of Carsegray, who died in 1850. 
He was predeceased by his eldest son, Walter, who died leaving no issue. His 
second son, Charles Gordon Gray, left an only child, Carsina Gordon Gray 
of Carsegray. She succeeded her grandfather, Charles Gray, in April, 
1850, and became of age, 22d May, 1852. On 17th December, 1850, she 
married William Hunter, late of 80th Regiment, second son of Major Hunter 
of Burnside, by whom she has issue a son and heir, Charles William Gray, 
born 28th October, 1851, who is the present proprietor of the fine estate of 
Carsegray. The property lies in the parishes of Aberlemno, Forfar, Rescobie, 
and Oathlaw. 

The mansion house is old and not very commodious, but the situation is 
elevated, commands an extensive prospect, and is very fine. Many large trees 
are in the vicinity of the house, and the approach from the highway is pretty. 

The lands of Carsebank at one time formed a distinct estate, and they were 
for a long period the property of the Ogilvys. On 28th August, 1657, 
Thomas Ogilvy of Carsebank, heir of Thomas, his father, of Carsebank, was 
retoured (No. 360) in the lands of Carsebank, in the regality of Rescobie, as 
principal E. 20, &c , of feu duty ; the town and lands of Aberlemno called the 
Kirkton of Aberlemno, lying as said is, in warrandice of the foresaid lauds 



96 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

E. 5 of feu duty. Before 1684 the property was acquired by the Guthries. 
Carsebank has for a considerable period formed part of the estate of Carsegray, 
of which Charles William Gray is proprietor. 

The lands of Pitscandly were for a long period in possession of the Lindsays, 
but we have not ascertained when they first acquired them. David Lindsay 
was laird of Pitscandly from 1621 to 1642 and onward. On 29th July, 1656, 
John Lindsay of Pitscandly was served heir to his father, David (No. 356), in 
the town and lands of Pitscandly, Mearsland, and Baldardo, within the barony 
of Kescobie, &e. E. 5 of feu duty. He held the property in 1664-69. The 
family were in possession in 1690. John Lindsay, younger of Pitscandly, 
1699-1711. John Lindsay of Pitscandly, 1715. He was an elder of the 
parish on 2d February, 1718. John Lindsay of Pitscandly granted a dis- 
position of Pitscandly to George Lauder, 7th November, 1726. It was from 
him Miss Elizabeth Farquhar purchased the estate. Her son Thomas got a 
Crown charter of Pitscandly, 23d June, 1766. 

The family of Farquhar, to whom the estate of Pitscandly belongs, are de- 
scended from Robert Farquhar, a burgess and merchant in Aberdeen. He 
was one of the Bailies of the city in 1637, and Provost in 1644. During the 
troubles which took place in the kingdom in the reign of the first Charles, he 
was repeatedly fined and imprisoned by the Royalists. He supplied the army 
with meal and other necessary provisions to so large an extent, that the 
Government owed him the extraordinary sum of 180,860 Scots, and the 
Estates agreed to allow him one-third of all the fines imposed on delinquents 
north of the Tay until the debt was extinguished. Notwithstanding his losses 
by fines, he was reputed to be one of the wealthiest merchants in Scotland at 
that period. He acquired the estate of Mounie, in the parish of Daviot, in 
1636-7. 

There were other three burgesses of that name in Aberdeen contemporary 
with Robert. Alexander, who was designed of Touley, James, and John. In 
1644 John, in Mounie, petitioned Parliament for compensation for losses he 
had sustained at the hands of the Royalists. The four appear to have been 
near relatives. Robert was knighted in 1660, and is supposed to have died in 
1666. 

In 1666 Alexander Farquhar was served heir to his father, Patrick of 
Mouney; and in 1676 Alexander, his wife (Elizabeth M'Intosh), four sons, 
two daughters, and a sister of the laircl were all charged poll. Alexander 



CHAP. LIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. KESCOBIE. 97 

Farquhar is also designed of Touley, which may have fallen to him on the 
death of Alexander Farquhar, who was contemporary burgess with his father. 
Two of Alexander's sons died without issue, but another of them left three 
daughters co-heiresses. Francis, the youngest of the four brothers, became a 
colonel of the army, and the landed estates, consisting of Mounie, Touley, and 
Tolquhan, fell to him. Francis died unmarried, leaving his landed property 
to William Reid, a son of his eldest niece. This was disputed by the other 
nieces, but the matter may have been compromised. 

Elizabeth Farquhar, who was co-heiress with her two sisters, of Colonel 
Farquhar of Mounie, in Aberdeenshire, acquired the estate of Pitscandly in 
the second decade of the 18th century. She married James Stormonth, 
younger of Kinclune, in Kingoldrum. In or about 1721 she executed a deed 
of entail of Pitscandly. The family lawyer, who took the copy of the deed 
away with him, died, and the family have never recovered it, and Mrs 
Farquhar,- the proprietrix, in consequence, is unable to verify the date. 
She had nine children to her husband. He followed Prince Charlie in 1745, 
was taken prisoner, condemned to death, and through the influence of his 
wife's sister, Christian, who had married a Mr Macneil, a nephew of the Duke 
of Argyle, his sentence was commuted to banishment, and he died in one of 
the West India Islands, as did also two of his younger sons. 

Elizabeth Farquhar died in 1764. A flat tombstone in the churchyard of 
Rescobie, with the initials E. F., and the date 1764, marks the spot where she 
was interred. She was succeeded by her son Thomas, who died unmarried, 
and was succeeded by his younger brother, John, who had been for nearly 
thirty years a surgeon in the East India Company's service. While he was 
in India he retained his father's name of " Stormonth," but on succeeding to 
Pitscandly he had, by the deed of entail, to assume his mother's name, 
" Farquhar." By his first wife, a Miss Guthrie of Craigie, Dundee, he had 
two sons and four daughters. His wife and two sons died in India, and the 
only descendant of the daughters is John Koby Leifchild, Esq., now residing 
in Kensington. 

On the return of John Farquhar to England he married, a second time, Susan 
Floyd Lake of Kensington, by whom he had two sons and one daughter. He 
died in 1808, and was succeeded by his eldest son, John, whose brother 
and sister died unmarried. He married Mary Ann Shillite of London, and 
had four daughters. He died in June, 1 844, and was succeeded by his eldest 
daughter, Sarah, who died unmarried, August, 1849. 



98 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

She was succeeded by her sister, Mary Ann, who married, in 1852, the 
Rev. William Taylor, who by deed of entail had to drop his own name and 
assume that of Farquhar. He died in March, 1874, leaving five sons and one 
daughter. The eldest, William Taylor, born 1853, is the present heir. 

By the deed of entail the family of Pitscandly are entitled to use the arms 
and crest of Mounie, in Aberdeenshire. 

Pitscandly House, though not large, is a commodious and comfortable 
mansion. It is of two floors, the entrance in the centre of the building with 
a pediment over it, and wings to the right and left of the entrance. It faces 
the west or south-west, and it commands a beautiful prospect, especially of the 
Vale of Strathmore to the west, and the town of Forfar and hills beyond. 
There is a fine garden, lawn, and shrubbery in the vicinity of the mansion, and 
many noble and venerable trees around it. The site of the mansion is at the 
west end of Pitscandly Sill, and it is well sheltered from easterly and northerly 
winds. A good farm house and steading is behind, and a little higher on the 
hill than the mansion. In the midst of these are two large amorphous obelisks 
or rough standing stones. The north-eastmost stone is between six and seven 
feet in height above the ground, by fully three feet in breadth, and nearly one 
foot in thickness. The other, about 50 feet south-west of its brother, is a huge 
block about nine feet in height above the ground, fully five feet in breadth, 
and nearly one foot thick. About five feet above the ground the stone begins 
to narrow, and the apex is a sharp peak. Another similar stone stood at a 
little distance south-west of the first-mentioned stone, but it was removed. A 
fourth stood a little to the south-west of the first. It had been broken over 
at the surface of the ground, but the broken portion left in the ground is 
visible for some inches above the ground. From the circular position in which 
the four stones stood when entire, they appear to have been part of a Druidical 
circle. Other two or three stones would, with these four, have formed a complete 
circle. These huge stones are locally associated with the battle between the 
Scots and Picts, fought between the years 833 and 836, when Feridith, King 
of the Picts, was slain and his army defeated. Pitscandly is supposed to mean 
" the grave of the multitude." 

The lands of Reswallie were church lands belonging to the Priory of Res- 
teneth. They came into possession of Sir Richard Preston, of the old family of 
Preston of Craigmillar Castle, near Edinburgh, who had a charter of the lands 
of Reswallie on 14th March, 1598-9. He was created Lord Dirigwall in 1607. 



CHAP. LIT.] ANGUS IN PARISHES RESCOBIE. 99 

The property was subsequently acquired by the Doigs, who held lands in 
Brechin from before 1532, and some of them were Magistrates of that city in 
the first half of last century. They also possessed Cookston, and acquired 
Balzeordie by marriage in the first half of the 16th century. Christian, a 
daughter of the family, was married to Sir James Carnegie, Bart. She died 
in 1820, aged 91 years. They owned Reswallie during part of the 17th 
century. 

It is probable that the Prestons sold the estate to Thomas Hunter, who was 
designed of Reswallie in the early part of the 17th century. He was succeeded 
in the property by his son, also Thomas, who, on 29th March, 1650, was 
served heir (No. 611) to Thomas Hunter of Reswallie, in Muirton and Eelark, 
Clocksbriggs and mill, &c. The Doigs and Hunters may both have had an 
interest in the lands at the same time. There is a tombstone in the graveyard 
of Rescobie to the memory of Janet Dal, spouse of Master David Doig of 
Resvale, who lived with her husband 15 years, and died 8th September, 1658, 
in the 37th year of her age. 

On 27th January, 1693, David Doig, heir of Master David Doig of 
Reswallie, his immediate younger brother, and Joan Doig, heiress of Master 
David Doig, son of the late David Doig of Reswallie, were each retoured (No. 
. 524) in an annual of 18 from the Kirkton of Aberlemno, belonging to John 
Thornton. Mr Powrie says the Doigs appear to have succeeded the Hunters 
in Reswallie, but they do not appear to have had any interest iu Clocksbriggs. 

The estate of Reswallie was acquired by the late William Powrie, a merchant 
in Dundee, in 1816. On the death of Mr Powrie in 1845, he was succeeded 
in the property by his son, James Powrie, who is the present proprietor. He 
has greatly improved the estate, and he has planted in the vicinity of the 
mansion-house specimens of many varieties of the new conifers lately intro- 
duced into this country, which are thriving well. The mansion is very suitable 
for the estate, and it is both commodious and handsome. Many large and 
noble trees adorn the grounds around the house. 

Mr Powrie has devoted part of his time to the study of geology, and he has 
a very interesting and extensive collection of rare fossils, mention of which 
was made Vol. II., p. 160-171. 

We have already mentioned, Vol. II., pp. 36-39, that Sir William Oliphant of 
Aberdalgy received from King Robert Bruce grants of the lands of Turin, and 
Drimmie, Newtyle, and others, in 1318 ; and on 20th April, 1323, the King 



100 ANGUS OK FOEFAESHIEE. [PART XIV. 

confirmed the grants. The family retained possession of Turin and Drimmie 
for more than three centuries. On 2d July, 1605, Laurence, Lord Oliphant, 
was served heir (No. 45) to his grandfather, Laurence, Lord Oliphant, in the 
lands of Turin, Drimmie, and many others. On 3d November, 1626, Peter 
Oliphant, heir of Laurence Oliphant, his father, was retoured (No. 163) in 
the lands of Drimmie, Nether Turin, &c. On 28th March, 1649, John 
Oliphant, grandson of John Oliphant, was retoured (No. 610) in the Alehouse 
and Brewlands of Eescobie. 

The account of the Oliphants, Vol. II., pp. 35-40, shows that the family 
declined rapidly in the 17th century, and the same is seen by the above retours, 
Turin and Drimmie were acquired by the branch of the Euthvens of Gardyne 
in 1655. Drimmie, and perhaps Turin also, was owned by Nisbit in 1684. 
Early in the 17th century these lands were acquired by Dr John Watson. 
They remained for more than a century in this family, and then by marriage 
they came into possession of the Carnegys of Lour. The present proprietor 
of Drimmie and Turin is P. A. W. Carnegy of Lour, Turin, &c. (Vol. Ill , 
pp. 295-6). 

In Vol. III., p. 289-91, we gave the proprietary history of the lands of 
Clocksbriggs, which then belonged to the Trustees of the late David Dickson, 
who was a merchant in Dunkirk, and an officer of the Imperial Order of the 
Legion d'Honneur of France. The estate of Clocksbriggs has since then been 
acquired by James Auldjo Jamieson, W.S., Edinburgh, and he is the present 
proprietor of the lands and fine mansion of Clocksbriggs. 

More than one weem or Picts' house has been found in the parish, but few 
articles of much importance were found in any of them. They are mostly 
filled up, and thus destroyed. 

Mr Wright, in the Old Statistical Account of the parish, says : " Kemp 
or Camp Castle, on the top of Turin Hill, an ancient stronghold, consisted of 
extensive contiguous buildings, with a circular citadel of 40 yards in diameter ; 
the situation being secured by an impregnable rock in front, and of difficult 
access all round." 

This account is more fanciful than correct. The interesting circular 
enclosure on the top of the hill appears never to have possessed any outworks. 
It is from 100 to 150 feet in diameter. The enclosing walls seem to have 
been of no great height, and faced outside and inside by large unhewn boulders, 



CHAP. LIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RESCOBIE. 101 

without mortar, the interior of the wall being roughly rilled up with smaller 
stones, and perhaps about eight feet in thickness. It seems never to have 
had any kind of roofing. It is situated on nearly the highest point of the hill, 
something over 600 feet above the Loch of Rescobie and 800 feet above the 
sea. The quantity of stones required for the construction of the camp was 
very great, but many of them are now confusedly scattered over the top of the 
hill, and the outline of the original structure can scarcely be defined. Although 
the camp or castle is dilapidated, the bold, lofty, precipitous, or rather perpen- 
dicular, cliff to the south of the castle is still there as of old. Of Kemp Castle 
Webster sarcastically says : " Even tradition does not tell a lie." There is no 
tradition of its origin, it being a primitive work. 

Another similar enclosure, but smaller and more dilapidated, known locally 
as Rob's Reed, at a distance of about a mile to the westward, stands close to 
the west end of the ridge on the top of Pitscandly Hill. It may be from forty 
to sixty feet in diameter ; and a third similar circle still smaller, from fifteen 
to twenty feet in diameter, is found on the highest point of the Hay Brae, and 
about a mile and a half to the south of the latter, and immediately in front of 
Reswallie House. These three circular enclosures, from their structure and 
position, would appear to belong to the same epoch, and to have been outposts 
for observation, probably in connection with an old camp of a polygonal form, 
now being fast obliterated by the plough, situated quite close to the village of 
Lunanhead, on the estate of Carsegray, and about a mile west by north from 
Pitscandly House. 

Rescobie Castle, where King Donald Bane had his eyes put out, and where 
he was confined till death relieved him of his torments and tormentors, 
may have stood upon one of the hillocks adjoining the loch. The castle 
seems a very mythical building. No vestige of any such erection now remains, 
nor does tradition point to any spot as its site. 

In Vol. III., p. 190, we took notice of the Girdle Stane in this parish. The 
stane marks the point where the lands of Balmadies, Dunnichen, and Burnside 
used to join now the two former lands and Balgavies, the point of Burnside 
touching it being on the farm of Newmill, acquired by Miss Baxter of 
Balgavies, forms part of that estate. 

The marches were perambulated about the year 1280. .It is described as 
beginning at the tree of the forest nearest to the head of the corn lands of 
Hochterlony, thence by the head of the same to the king's highway leading to 
Forfar, and along that road until opposite the head of a certain black burn on 



102 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



the east of Ochterforfar, keeping the said black burn as far as Gelly, thence along 
by Tyschergate to the burn of Haldynhorse, then on as far as the loch of Ros- 
colby, keeping the same to the march of the burn of Tubirmanyn, past the well 
of the same, and crossing the moors by a grey stone to the white road, which 
formed the march as far as the burn and forest of Balmadych, thence by the 
head of the corn lands of the same as oxen move in carts (carucis) until it 
came to the nearest tree of the said forest of Ochterlony (Reg. de Aberb., Nig. 66). 

Mr Powrie of Reswallie is of opinion that several shallows in the Loch of 
Rescobie, which, although always submerged, bear plentiful crops of reeds and 
sedges, and rise abruptly from deep water, may, in all likelihood, have been 
caused by cranags or lake dwellings, occasionally found in our Scottish lakes. 
The riparian proprietors of the lands surrounding the loch should unite in having 
an examination of these reed-covered spots made. If they turned out to be 
lake dwellings, the find would be exceedingly interesting. 

The names and valuations of the several estates in the parish, as given in 
the Valuation Roll of 1683, are as follows : 

Nos. 
1. 

2. 



Sir Patrick Lyon, 

Heatherstacks, 

Carsebank and Muirstane, 

Quilks, with the Earl of Strathmore's 

Feus of Resteneth, 
Dod, in Rescobie, and Wester Dod, in 

Forfar, 
Drimmie, 



* ( Pitscandly, including his grandfather's 
( relict's lands, 

8. The Lady Carsegownie, 

9. Reswallie, . . ,.'.') 
10. Balmadies, . 



202 
133 


10 
6 




8 


Names of Lands, 1882. 

Carse, Mill and Lands. 
Heatherstacks. 


216 


13 


4 


Carsebank and Muirstane. 


180 








Quilks and Feus of Resteneth 


750 








Burnside. 


166 


13 


4 


Drimmie. 


| 416 


13 


4 


> Pitscandly. 


150 





0, 


) 


100 








Reswallie. 


533 


6 


8 


Balmadies and Ballaway. 



2849 3 4 



The following are the divisions, owners, &c., of same in 1822 : 



Nos. 
1. 



Carse, . 

Mill and Mill Lands of Rescobie, 

Part of Turin, 

Heatherstacks, . 
Carsebank and Muirstane, . 
Quilko and Feus of Resteneth, 

divided 30th April, 1776, 
Lands of Quilco, 
Priory duties of Resteneth, 



Carry forward, 



Charles Gray, 80 10 

James Anderson, 100 
Alexander Watson, 22 

Charles Gray, 
Do, 



Charles Gray, 150 3 

Earl of Strathmore, 29 16 



202 10 
133 6 
216 13 



180 
732 10 






CHAP. LIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. KESCOBIE. 103 

NOB. 

Brought forward, ...... 732 10 

6. Entered in Forfar for Wester Dod, 

233 6s 8d. 

That part of the estate in Rescobie, General Hunter, . 516 13 4 

6. Drimmie, j'> . . Alexander Watson, 166 13 4 

g* | Pitscandly, . . . John Farquhar, 666 13 4 

9. Reswallie, . . . William Powrie, 100 

10. Balmadies and Ballaway, on 12th 
Dec., 1795, divided into 14 portions 
from 5 14s lid to 119 Os 4d, in 
all 533 6s 8d. By another division 
on 30th April, 1803 
Lands of Ballaway and Meadows of 

Balmadies sold to . . James Mudie, 43 12 6 

Milldens and Balpetree, , Henry Stephen, 115 8 

Remainder of the estate, . . Do., 374 6 2 

533 6 8 



2615 16 8 

Loss to the parish by the transfer to Forfar of Wester Dod, 233 6 8 



2849 3 4 
(The superiority of Milldens and Balpetree was sold to C. Bruce ) 

In an instrument dated 14th June, 1565, seizing George Wishart, brother 
of John Wishart of Pitarrow, in the lands of Wester Dodd, George Wishart of 
Drymmie is named as his Attorney. Sasine proceeded on a charter granted 
by John Wallace of Craigie. By this charter George Wishart received the 
lands of Wester Dodd. The charter is dated 5th June, 1565. George 
Wishart of Wester Dodd died unmarried on 5th March, 1573. He nominated 
his sister, Christina Wishart, his residuary legatee (His. of the Fam., p. 82). 
The lands of Wester Dodd had been in possession of John Wallace of Craigie 
prior to the sale of them to Wishart, but we have not ascertained when he 
acquired them. 

A marble on the south wall of the church records the death of the following 
persons : The Rev. William Rogers, minister of Rescobie, died 10th 
September, 1842, in the 60th year of his age and the 34th of his ministry ; 
his wife, Agnes Lyori. eldest daughter of the Rev. Dr Lyon of Glamis, died 
30th July, 1816, in the 30th year of her age ; Ann, youngest daughter of Mi- 
John Oldham, Millthorpe, Nottinghamshire, his second wife, died 19th June, 
1 841, in the 56th year of her age. r J heir graves are marked by a table-shaped 
stone in the area of the burial ground. 



104 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

CHAP. LIIL RUTHVEN. 

The Church of Kothuen (Ruthven), with its chapel and pertinents, was 
given by Robert of Lundin, King William's bastard son, to the Abbey of 
Arbroath at its foundation. It was dedicated to St Maluack, bishop and con- 
fessor. It was a vicarage in the diocese of Dunkeld, and it is rated in the 
Taxation of 1275 under the name of Rocheven at 16s 7d. In 1574 the church, 
with Alicht, Glen Hay, and Meigle, were supplied by David Ramsay, his 
stipend being 120 and kirk lands. Walter Lindsay was reader at Ruthven, 
salary 16 and kirk lands (Wod, Soc. Mis., 354). 

The following names of some of the vicars are mentioned in the Reg. de 
Aberb. : Peter, clerk in 1301 ; Patrick Henry, chaplain in 1403 ; Henry 
Halis, vicar in 1492 ; Henry Scot, vicar in 1500 ; James Crayill, vicar in 
1531, who was succeeded by William Pettillock, vicar. He was probably the 
last of the Roman Catholic priests in the parish of Ruthven. 

A handsome new church, with a neat spire, was erected in 1859. In a 
press in the old church the jougs and an iron coronet, which had, in bygone 
days, been used in punishing defaulters, chiefly of the female sex, were found. 

The parish is bounded on the north by Perthshire and by Airlie, by Airlie 
on the south-east and east, and generally by Perthshire in other directions. 
It contains 2087'836 acres, of which 38-478 are water. 

The bell in the spire of the church is said to have belonged to H.M. ship 
Enterprise, of which a Mr W. Wedderburn was an officer. It is inscribed as 
follows : 

THE ENTERPRISE. W. W. 1735. 

The Earl of Mar is the earliest proprietor of Ruthven who has been ascer- 
tained. Thomas, Earl of Mar, granted to Alexander of Lindsay a charter of 
the lands of Ballindolloche and Ruthven in or shortly after 1329 (In. to Ch., 
44-5 i). On 3d July, 1363, David II. granted confirmation charter of the 
same (Do., 73- 57). Robert III. granted to David, Earl of Crawford, a charter 
uniting his several baronies in Angus into one barony, to answer to the Sheriff 
of Forfar. This charter included Downie, Ethiebeaton, Inverarity, Clova, 
Guthrie, Ecclis, Ruthven, and Glenesk (Do. 142-87). 

The Old Statistical Account says : The parish of Ruthven was divided into 
two parts by the River Isla. The eastern portion was the larger, and it was 
it which the Earl of Crawford acquired. It was termed Earls Ruthven from 



CHAP. UIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RUTHVEN. 105 

being the property of the Earl. The western half was termed Ruthven's 
Davy, it having belonged to the laird of Kippen Davy. Robert III., on 19th 
October, 1378, granted to Walter Stewart, Earl of Caithness, a charter of the 
lands of Brechin, Ruthven, and Navar (Do., 140-31). This probably refers 
to the western portion, which appears to have been subsequently acquired by 
the Crawford family, as they were in possession of the whole parish for a long 
period. 

A great part of the barony of Ruthven, as well as the adjoining barony of 
Alyth, was a royal hunting seat and a dense forest. The old Castle of Inver- 
queich was in the barony of Ruthven. The site is a high rock at the junction 
of the burn of Alyth with the River Isla. It was extremely picturesque, and, 
for defence, happily chosen. It is not known by whom the castle was built, 
but it had probably been by Alexander II., or an earlier monarch, for his 
residence when enjoying the pleasures of the chase in his royal forest. 
Edward I. passed from the Castle of Cluny to Inverqueich, and remained 
during the night of the 2d July, 1296, in the castle, after which he pursued 
his way to the north. The son of the " Wicked Master/' who married the 
daughter of Cardinal Beaton in 1546, was the last of the Lindsays who pos- 
sessed Ruthven, but the property was sold sometime before the marriage. 

The parish is one of the smallest in the county, and the church is in the 
north-west corner of it, and, according to some accounts, neither the church 
nor manse are in the parish. Tradition says the church was erected by the 
Earl of Crawford, near to the Castle of Inverqueich, as a chapel for the accom- 
modation of his tenants, some of whom had been killed by the Rollos of 
Balloch in going to their parish church of Alyth, and that it was afterwards 
erected into a parish. Tradition is sometimes not far from the truth, but it is 
often at fault, as it appears to be in this case. 

The parish slopes gradually to the south, but in some parts the ground is 
undulating. One of the eminences is called the Gallows Hill, whereon the 
baron's courts were held, and a small field adjoining is still called the Hang- 
man's Acres. Much of the soil is a light loam, on a gravelly subsoil. By good 
husbandry, excellent crops are raised. The climate is dry and temperate, 
and very healthy. The poorer parts of the land are covered with heath and 
wood. The sylvan scenery on the bold banks of the Isla. which runs through 
the parish in a rocky channel, and on the Dean, the southern boundary of the 
parish, is fine, and in some places very picturesque. 

In 1510 the Lindsay family sold the whole barony of Ruthven to James, 




106 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

second son of Stephen Crichton of Cairns, brother to George Crichton, Earl 
of Caithness, and cousin to Sir William Crichton of Crichton, Lord Chancellor 
of Scotland. He was of the Crichtons of Dumfries, a relative of the proprietors 
of Cluny and Frendraught, and therefore, as Ochterlony says, of an ancient 

family. 

In the year 1477 James Crichton of Kuthven was Lord Provost of Edin- 
burgh. Another laird of the same name, who was knighted, was Master of 
the Horse to Charles II. It is said that the merry monarch having on one 
occasion made him a present of five hundred pounds, with a recommendation 
to " creish his boots " with it, alluding to his country and his office, the knight 
took offence at 'the expression, returned the money, resigned his office, and re- 
tired to Scotland. He was of a haughty disposition ; and, habituated to the 
extravagance of the Court, he dissipated his fortune, and gave a blow to the 
family estate which it never recovered. Kinloch of Kilrie, a descendant in 
the female line, had a fine portrait of Sir James by Vandyke. It may yet be 

in Logie. 

After the Frendraught family became extinct, and the Dumfries family 
failed in the main line, the head of the Kuthven family became chieftain of 
the ancient and illustrious name of Crichton. Upon the death of Thomas 
Crichton of Millhill and his brother William, this family of Crichton failed in 
the main line also. Crichton of Kuthven is among the roll of Angus barons 
enumerated in Edward's description of Angus in 1678. The family of Crichton 
of Ruthven, in their prosperity, also possessed various lands in the lower district 
of Grlenisla, near to Kuthven, their estates being at one time very extensive. 

On 16th May, 1667- James Crichton of Kuthven, heir of James Crichton of 
Kuthven, his father, was retoured (No. 429) in the lands and barony of 
Kuthven, comprehending the town and lands of Kuthven-Davie, with manor of 
Kuthven ; town and lands called Cotton of Kuthven, Hoill, Barbarnswell ; lands, 
mill, wood, forest, fishing, &c., of the barony of Kuthven A.E. 6, N.E. 24 ; 
lands of Brigton of Kuthven, or Millton of Earls Kuthven, part of the barony 
of Kuthven A.E. 20s, N.E. 6 ; lands and barony of Craigs, comprehending 
Kilry, Easter Derry, Easter Craig, and Over Craig A.E. 10, N.E. 40; 
teinds of the lands of Little and Meikle Kilry, Meikle and Little Derry, Easter 
Craig, and third part of the lands of Auchrannie, in the parish of Grlenisla, 
united in the barony of Craigs A.E. 13s 4d, N.E. 53s 4d ; lands braeriis, 
vulgo Brewlands of Hatton of Eassie, with pasture and privileges brasiandi, in 
the parish of Eassie A.E. 3s 4d, N.E. 13s 4d. 



CHAP. MIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- RUTHVEN. 107 

After the extinction of the Crichtons in the male line, the remaining part of 
their estates were, in 1744, purchased by Thomas Ogilvy, who is said to have 
belonged to Dundee, and to have married Anne, daughter of James Smith of 
Camno. He also bought Coul, in the parish of Tannadice, about 17G5. His 
grand-daughter, Mrs Anna Wedderburn-Ogilvy, the last representative of the 
Ruthven-Coul Ogilvys, died in 1853, aged 75 years. Her husband, Peter 
Wedderburn, an officer in the service of the East India Company, died in 
1873, aged 91 years, His father was James Wedderburn, a physician in 
Jamaica, who married Margaret Colville, heiress of Ochiltree and Crombie. 

The father of James Wedderburn was Sir John Wedderburn, Bart., of 
Blackness. He was an officer in Lord Ogilvy's regiment at Culloden. He 
and his wife were taken prisoners there, and he was executed at Kensington 
Common, along with four others of the rebels, on 28th November, 1746. Peter 
Wedderburn Ogilvy was succeeded in Ruthven and Coul by his eldest son, 
Col. Thomas Wedderburn Ogilvy, born 1814, sometime Captain in the 2d 
Life Guards ; who, in 1856, married Lady Henrietta Louisa Fermor, daughter 
of Thomas, 4th Earl of Pomfret (extinct). The heir presumptive is his 
brother, John Andrew, Captain Perthshire Militia, born 1818, married Mary, 
daughter of Charles Gray. 

The mansion of Islabank, or Ruthven, was built about a century ago. It is 
finely situated on the left bank of the River Isla. It is surrounded by an 
arboret and plantation, some of the trees in which are magnificent specimens 
of their several kinds. The house has been recently enlarged and, improved, 
and it is now a handsome residence. The old castle of the Crichtons stood at 
a short distance to the south-west of the modern house, a small portion of it 
being still standing, one room being so entire as to be used for a store. 

Col. Thomas Wedderburn Ogilvy is the sole heritor of the parish of 
Ruthven. 

The name of the parish had probably been given from raths or forts being 
upon the banks of the Isla. The mansion house is built upon the site of one, 
and the plateau is elevated considerably above the bed of the river. Another 
was at Castledykes, at some distance from the house of Islabank. 

A market was long held to the west of the Kirk of Ruthven. It was called 
Symaloag's Fair, after the patron saint, St Maluack. It was removed to Alyth 
before the end of last century, the inhabitants of Alyth giving the minister 
some land, which was added to the glebe, probably as compensation for the loss 
of emoluments he may have derived from the market. 

- 



108 ANGUS OR EORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

A mill for spinning flax was long carried on in the parish. It stood on the 
north side of the bridge which spans the river for the road between Kirriemuir 
and Alyth, but, like most of the other country mills, it is many years since 
the machinery was removed. There was a snuff mill a little further down the 
river, but it also has long been silent. The river at and above this bridge 
runs through a deep ravine, and the scenery is very romantic and beautiful. 

The Isla, in the upper part of its course through this parish, is extremely 
picturesque. It flows through a deep ravine, between rocky banks, with trees 
and shrubs and much rank vegetation on each side. The river surges and 
foams as it rushes over the rocky channel. At the Linn the water falls 
over several ridges of rock into a pool, deep and broad. Shortly after leaving 
the pool, it divides into two branches, forming a piece of land about half a 
dozen acres in extent, called Stanner Island. After uniting again rapid 
streams and gentle meanderings alternate for a short distance, and after getting 
into the Vale of Strathmore its course is winding but smooth. 

A century ago the Coral Pool was famous in the annals of black fishing, so 
called because the fishing was in the night, and the fish were black or foul. 
In October and November the fish run up the river to spawn, and frequent the 
gravelly shallows, where the female digs holes in which she deposits the roe or 
spawn. The male then attends her to perform his part of the operation, and 
fecundate the roe. Both are then in a torpid state, which lasts for weeks. Then 
the black fishers, provided with five pronged spears on a long shaft, waded up 
and down the shallows, preceded by a large torch. This showed the fish, 
and the spearmen transfixed them, thus killing many fish, all of which were 
unwholesome. The law was severe against black fishers, and those who were 
suspected were sworn before the justices if they had fished. If they refused to 
swear, or if they were convicted, fine and imprisonment followed. 

On the south-west side of the parish there was an enclosure of great 
antiquity, nearly of a square form, containing about an acre of ground. It 
was surrounded by walls of earth of considerable height, with a deep and 
wide ditch on the outside of the walls filled with water from an adjoining 
morass. It was almost entire when the Old Statistical Account was written. 
The fort was then known as Castledykes. 

There is a tradition in the parish that an engagement between the forces of 
Edward I. and The Bruce took place in the north part of the parish. This 
skirmish is not mentioned in history, but the writer of the Old Statistical 
Account says it is confirmed by several monuments of antiquity. The English 



CHAP. LIIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. RUTHVEK 109 

army, he says, appears to have been stationed at Ingliston (Englishtown), 
where remains of their camp are discernible, the Scots, on the north side of 
the strath, having their front covered by the Isla. A conical mount in this 
parish, called Saddle-hillock, is said to have been used by the English to com- 
mand the ford at Dillavaird, there being the remains of a small earthen fort 
on the top. He says it would appear that the English were repulsed in attempt- 
ing to ford the river, pursued by the Scots, and brought to an engagement to 
the south of the hillock, where, under a huge cairn in the east moor of 
Ruthven, their dead were buried. The large standing stone called Bruceton 
marks the spot where the Scottish army were stationed. It has a horseshoe 
emblem upon it. 

In the moor above mentioned there then stood two granite standing stones, 
between five and six feet high above the ground, and twelve feet apart, each 
having a flat side fronting due south. Two smaller stones stood to the 
south of, and fully eight feet distant from the other two, which were also twelve 
feet distant from each other, and at right angles. The largest stone was on 
the west side, and twenty feet in circumference. 

A weem or Picts' house was discovered in a field a little to the south of the 
churchyard. It contained pieces of cinerary urns, a flattened ring, and a few 
other things. The coffin slab, upon which are a hunting horn and sword, is 
built into the Manse offices. 

Several stone coffins have been found in the parish containing fragments 
of human bones. There were a number of small cairns in the parish. One 
of these was known by the name of Crian's Gref, said to have been erected 
over the grave of a noted robber. Since the Old Account of the parish was 
written, several of the monuments of antiquity must have, for utilitarian pur- 
poses, been cleared away. 

" A vein of fuller's earth was discovered in the parish fully a century ago, but 
it was mistaken for marl, and most of it spread on the fields before its nature 
and value were discovered. 

" There were two eminences called Laws, upon one of which there was a cairn, 
about a century ago. The Caudle Hill was the Gallows Hill in feudal times, 
and there the barons of Ruthven punished depredators. 

" About the middle of last century the infield and outfield system of husbandry 
was in use. There were then no turnips nor artificial grasses, and no fodder 
to sustain the bestial during the winter. In the summer the tenants were 
under the necessity of sending the greater part of them to the Highland glens 



110 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [P ART XIY - 

from the conclusion of seedtime, about the beginning of June, until about the 
middle of September. In the winter the cows, being poorly fed, gave little 
milk, and the poorer classes were obliged to have recourse to the wretched 
substitute of skrine, or unboiled flummery, or soivans, prepared from the 
refuse of oatmeal soaked in water. When boiled this skrine makes a pleasant 
light diet, but it is far from palatable in an unboiled state. 

" At that period a cow was never known to have a calf oftener than once in 
two years." 

From an old document it appears that the rental of the parish in 1742 was 
230; in 1793-4, 630; in 1842, 1500 (exclusive of wood) ; in 1876-7, 
2600 ; in 1881-2 it is 2572 3s. 

CHAP. LIV. ST VIGEANS. 

The early ecclesiastical district of St Vigeans was of much greater extent 
than the parish which is now known by that name. Besides this parish, it 
comprehended the present parish of Arbroath, and part of Carmylie. The 
many sculptured stones (crosses) found about the church show that it was 
the site of an early ecclesiastical settlement, and suggest that the old parish 
may have been the territory of an early Celtic monastery, or seat of Columban 
missionaries, long before the ecclesiastical arrangements which resulted in the 
formation of parishes were known. These monasteries were numerous during 
the period when the country was known as Alba, and some of them, of more 
importance than others, were termed " chief monasteries." 

The church was erected on the top of a small mount, about forty feet in 
height, on the west or right bank of the Brothock said to signify the " muddy 
stream." On the south the ascent is gradual and easy, but on the other three 
sides it is very steep. 

The church was dedicated to the Irish saint, St Fechin (latinised Vigianus). 
He was Fechin of Fobhar, who died in 664, from whom the parish took its 
name. He is popularly believed to have lived at Grange of Conan, about four 
miles to the west of the church, where there formerly stood a small chapel, to 
which some acres of ground were attached. Nothing, however, is known in St 
Fechin's history to indicate that he ever left Ireland. 

The Church of St Vigeans was in the Diocese of St Andrews. King William 
the Lion gifted the church, with its revenues, to his newly-founded Abbey of 
Aberbrothoc, which he erected in the parish. It was transferred, under its 
local name, as the Church of Aberbrothoc. The gift was confirmed by 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. Ill 

Bishop Roger of St Andrews, 1188-1202 ; and by Bishop William of same, 
1202-1233 (Reg. Vet. de Aberb., 101-104) ; and again, 1219-1226 (Do., 
105). In these confirmations the name of the saint is used along with the 
local name. 

In Romish times the patronage of the benefice was in the gift of the Abbey, 
and the clergyman appointed was allowed the vicarage tithes for his salary. 
He bore the ecclesiastical title of " Sir" or " Master." Tradition relates that 
the last monk who officiated there, named Turnbull, lived in one of the floors 
of the steeple or tower of the church. He was frightened from his residence 
by the devil appearing to him in the shape of a rat. No monk could thereafter 
be persuaded to take up his abode in the steeple. 

From the year 1699 to 1736 the Sacrament of the Lord's Supper had not 
been dispensed in the church. A tradition prevailed that the " angry spirit of 
the water," called water-kelpy, carried the stones for building the church, the 
foundations of which were built upon bars of iron, with a deep lake underneath ; 
and it was believed that the first time the Sacrament was administered, after 
having been so long discontinued, the whole congregation would fall down and 
be drowned in the lake. On the day the communion was first dispensed, 
hundreds of the parishioners sat on an eminence near the church momentarily 
expecting the terrible catastrophe. It did not happen, and the credulity of 
the people soon vanished. 

Lord William of Conan, perpetual vicar, was one of the witnesses to the 
agreement between the Abbey and the town for the erection of the first harbour. 

The church of St Vigeans was dedicated, on 19th August, 1242. by David 
de Bernhame, Bishop of St Andrews ; and again, in 1485, along with two 
great altars and the cemetery, by the Bishop of Dromore, acting no doubt for 
the Bishop of St Andrews. In 1574 the churches of Abirbrothok, or Sanct 
"Vigians, Athie, and Kynnell, were served by one minister, Maister James 
Mailville. His stipend was 160, &c. (Scots) ; and Thomas Lindsay was 
reidare at Aberbrothok, or Sanct Vigians, with a salary of 17 15s 6fd, &c. 
(Mis. Wod. Soc., 352). 

The Hev. William Duke, F.S.A., Scot., the respected minister of the parish, 
was kind enough to give me the following description of the church, which, 
though in some respects related above, we give verbatim, as it is very interest- 
ing. 

St Vigeans Church is picturesquely situated on the summit of a circular 
knoll, on the west bank of the Brothock, at the distance of a mile from Arbroath. 



112 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The existence of numerous sculptured stones of the Celtic period, and the 
tradition of the district, render it probable that a church and burying-ground 
have existed here from the first introduction of Christianity into the country. 
It seems to have been dedicated to St Fechin, an Irish bishop, who died A.D. 
664, Vigianus being the Latinised form of his name. Its local name of Aber- 
brothock, as the parish church of the shire, or whole surrounding district, was 
retained in common use down to the suppression of the neighbouring 
monastery, and the erection of the town of Arbroath into a separate parish 
after the Reformation. From this time the name of the ancient church appears 
to have been gradually restricted to the name of its patron saint. Part of the 
walls are believed to date from the Norman period, though only a few of the 
arch stones of that order have been preserved. The church, as it now exists, 
consists of a nave with apsidal chancel, north and south aisle, a second north 
aisle, and a western tower. The oldest portion of the fabric is the north aisle, 
which constituted the original church. In connection with the dedication to 
an Irish saint, it is curious to observe that its length 60 feet over walls is 
the dimension prescribed by St Patrick for a first-class church, and invested 
with a sacred character by his followers. The width of this church, about 26 
feet, as was clearly ascertained at the restoration in 1871, seems also to have 
been the normal dimension. Probably this church replaced an earlier wooden 
structure. It was a simple rectangular building, without aisles, the exact 
counterpart, both as regards size and structure, of the ruined ch arch of St Murdoch 
at Ethie. The first extension appears to have been made previous to Bishop 
Bernhame's consecration in 1242, when the greater portion of the old church 
was converted into a north aisle, by the insertion of an arcade of four bays, with 
round pillars and segmental arches. The church now consisted of a nave and 
north aisle. A second extension appears to have been made previous to the 
consecration of 1485, by the addition of a south aisle, with octagonal pillars. 
The tower, which is at the south-west corner of the nave, was probably added 
some time after the date of the first extension. The nave had eight small 
clerestory windows on the south and three on the north side, but neither an 
east nor a west window. In this condition the church came down to the pre- 
sent century. Repairs and alterations of a mean and unworthy character were 
made upon it in 1827. In 1871 the fabric was thoroughly restored, and re- 
ceived the addition of an apse and second north aisle, the latter to replace an 
extension made in 1827. About two-thirds of the cost was borne by the 
heritors ; the remaining third w,as defrayed by public subscription. The new 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 113 

work is of the most substantial character, and harmonises admirably with the 
original structure. The apse was in large part built with the proceeds of a bequest 
left to the minister by the late Mrs Rickard of Woodlands. It contains, besides 
stone sedilia, five windows filled with painted glass, from Munich, representing 
the leading events in the life of our Lord. The first was placed to the memory 
of Alexander Duncan of Parkhill ; the second to the Rev. John Bowman, a 
former schoolmaster of the parish ; the third to 1 the Rev. John Aitkin, who 
was minister for the long period of sixty-two years ; the fourth to the wife and 
family of Robert Lindsay, North Tarry, son-in-law of the Rev. John Muir ; 
and the fifth to James Lindsay, North Tarry. This last-named had presented 
the church in his lifetime with a costly commnnion service of silver plate. A 
window in the south aisle, representing the martyrdom of Stephen, com- 
memorates the late Miss Louisa Roland of Abbey thune. The church also con- 
tains monuments to Sir Peter Young, a tutor and courtier of James VI. ; to 
one of the Dempsters of Dunnichen, who was a proprietor in the parish in the 
middle of last century ; to Dr Henderson of the East India Company's service, 
son of a former proprietor ; and to the Rev. John Muir, the late minister. 
Ancient consecrated crosses are incised on the soffit of the arches at either 
extremity of the north arcade, and at the external corners of the church at the 
east end. The holy water font of mediaeval times has been provided with a 
pedestal, and is now in use as a baptismal font. 

The numerous sculptured stones of the Celtic period most of them un- 
fortunately mere fragments that stand in the porch, or have been built for 
preservation into the walls, give a singular interest to this venerable church. 
The Drosten stone combines the symbols of pagan times with a finely 
chiselled cross. It is unique in further bearing an incised inscription in the 
early Celtic language of the country. The interpretation of the characters, 
though they are tolerably distinct, and similar to those of Celtic and Anglo- 
Saxon, MSS. of an early date, has long proved a puzzle to antiquarians. The 
first word is generally recognised to be Drosten, a name that occurs repeatedly 
in the list of Pictish Kings and ecclesiastics ; but, with this exception, the 
puzzle still awaits a satisfactory solution. 

St Vigeans seems to have possessed sculptured stones of almost every variety 
of character that is found elsewhere in the north-east of Scotland. Besides 
the Drosten Cross, there are two fragments that contain examples of the 
spectacle ornament, one of them quite primitive in its simplicity, the other 

highly ornamental. The representations of the cross are numerous, and of 
p 



114 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

very diverse design. The earlier discovered stones are described and illus- 
trated in the late Dr Stuart's Book, " Sculptured Stones of Scotland," Vol. II. 
An account of those that were found during the restoration of the Church in 
1871, was prepared by the minister of the parish for the Society of Antiquaries 
of Scotland, and is printed with relative plates in the ninth volume of their 
" Proceedings." 

The town and Abbey of Arbroath belonged to the parish of St Vigeans till 
about the year 1580, when Arbroath became a distinct parish. No legal 
division was ever made, and the boundaries of the two parishes were not at 
first distinctly defined. The boundaries of what are now held to be the parish 
may be described as follows : On the north and east by Inverkeillor and Car- 
mylie, the German Ocean on the east and south, Arbroath and Arbirlot on the 
south, and Arbroath and Carmylie on the west. In length, from east to west, 
the parish is about eight miles ; and in breadth it varies from two to four miles. 
In addition to this, the main body of the parish, there are two outlying por- 
tions, viz., the estate of Hospitalfield, between the parish of Arbroath and 
the parish of Arbirlot, and the estate of Inverpeffer, between Arbirlot and 
Panbride. The parish contains 13,143-521 acres, of which 19*337 are water 
and 393-362 foreshore. 

The parish is divided into two nearly equal parts by the small stream 
Brothock, which traverses the parish from north to south. From it the ground 
rises gently towards the east to the top of Dickmontlaw (323 feet) from which 
it slopes in a gradual manner towards the cliffs, which rise about 100 feet 
above the sea. On the west side the ground rises more gradually to the 
summit of Cairn Conan (597 feet), on the borders of Carmylie. 

In great part of the parish the ground is somewhat flat, with gentle eleva- 
tions rising in some places above the general level. 

Dickmontlaw forms the highest point of an elevated ridge, which runs in a 
north-easterly direction, a short distance to the north of the policies around 
Seaton House. The Law appears to be artificial, and to consist of a mound 
of stones and earth, in a circular form, which rises some twenty feet above the 
summit of the ridge. It has been surrounded by a stone wall, arid planted 
with a clump of trees, which are now of medium size, and the Law, with its 
trees, forms a prominent landmark from all directions. The prospect from it 
is grand and varied, embracing the vales of the Lunan and Brothock, and a long 
range of the Grampians to the north, from Glas Meall and Lochnagar, to the 






CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 115 

termination of the ridge near Stonehaven ; the ocean to the east and south ; 
the coast of Fife, with the Loinonds and other hills, to the south and west ; and a 
wide stretch of the surrounding district, and of the country to the west, in- 
cluding part of the Sidlaws. 

The surface of the parish is finely diversified. The numerous mansions of 
the proprietors, some on eminences and others on lower sites, each adorned 
with lawns and gardens, and surrounded with plantations, and a wide extent 
of richly cultivated fields, form many pleasing pictures, which the undulating 
character of the ground sets off to great advantage. 

The soil in this, as in most of the parishes in the county, is very varied. In 
some parts the land was cold, wet, and marshy ; in others thin moorland ; but 
by drainage and careful cultivation, even these parts have been made to pro- 
duce good crops. By this means also the climate has been ameliorated, and is 
now much more salubrious and healthy than it previously was. A great part 
of the land in the parish was naturally of excellent quality, and by the good 
husbandry which generally prevails, its productiveness has been greatly in- 
creased. 

In the Old Statistical Account it is said that " the raising of the rents and 
other causes had roused the farmers from that torpdd state and insignificant 
rank they had formerly held in society, and made them an acute, sensible, and 
intelligent set of men, capable of conversing and being in company with 
persons of superior rank, and able to give advice and instruction regarding the 
cultivation of the country." From this it appears that " raising the rents and 
other causes " had been a positive blessing to both the proprietor and the 
tenant. We fear tenants in the present day would look upon a rise of rent as 
an injury rather than a blessing. 

The lofty cliffs which bound the south-eastern side of the parish present 
many scenes of beauty and grandeur. The mural precipice commences at 
Whitingness, about a mile to the east of Arbroath, and, with the exception of 
two or three tiny bays, extends to the north-eastern boundary of the parish, 
and onward to the Redhead. The base of the cliffs is washed by the ocean. 
In most places they are perpendicular, or nearly so, and they vary in height 
from 100 to 150 feet, and the Redhead is about 260 feet high. A footpath 
leads along the top of the cliffs from their southern termination to Auchmithie, 
affording many picturesque views of the precipitous rocky coast, the outlying 
shelving rocks (over and upon which the restless waves are ever breaking), 
and the boundless ocean beyond. By turning the back on these scenes 



116 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAET XIV. 

a beautiful, richly cultivated c.ountry lies before you, over which towers, and 
chimneys, and the lofty ruins of the Abbey of Arbroath stand boldly out. 

The rocky bulwark is perforated by several caves, some of which extend 
more than two hundred feet into the cliff. In the inmost recesses of one of 
the longest of these caves there is a strong calcareous spring. Some of these 
caves are accessible at all times of the tide, others at low water, others can 
only be reached from a boat, and the entrance of one or two is some distance 
up the face of the rock. Wild legends are told of some of these caves. At 
one period a large smuggling trade was carried on along the east coast, and 
the caves were often occupied by the smugglers, and made the receptacle of 
contraband goods. 

In one or two places, outside the cliffs, isolated pillars stand out bold and 
gaunt, the softer rock which had surrounded them having been washed away 
by the water and the weather. They stand like outlying sentinels on the 
watch. These solitary rocks form very picturesque objects, as they rise to a 
considerable height above the water. 

The most curious of all the wild scenes on this rocky coast is the 
Geary or Gaylet Pot, in a field not far from Auchmithie. It is a huge 
pit, about fifty yards in diameter, more than one hundred yards from the 
front of the cliffs facing the sea, and forty yards in depth below the surface 
of the field. The entrance from the sea is seventy feet high by forty broad, 
and it contracts gradually till it enters the bottom of the pit, where it is about 
twelve feet in height and breadth. At high water in easterly storms the 
water is impelled into the pit with extreme violence and loud noise, and the 
water boils, and surges, and froths in an extraordinary manner. The bottom 
of the pit can be reached from the field at low water, as the soil slopes down 
from the north-west side, but in other parts the rocks are all but perpendicular. 
In former times seals of very large size were abundant along the adamantine 
coast between Arbroath and Lunan Bay, but they have long since disappeared 
from the caves and rocks there. By the intrusion of the men of Arbroath into 
their haunts, many were destroyed, and others so frightened as to make them 
desert the coast. A few seals still exist on the sandbanks of the Tay. 

To modern ears it sounds strange to say, as Ochterlony did, that a seal is 
near in size to an ox, but it must be remembered that, two centuries ago, the 
Angus ox was unlike his congener of the present day. The breed of Angus 
cattle was then small, and twenty stones was an ordinary-sized ox. A full- 
grown seal is a large animal. Another creature, in shape like a fish, Ochter- 






CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 117 

lony says, was seen on the coast, but especially in the River Tay, where they 
are abundant, and kill many salmon. He calls it a mare-swine, and from 20 
to 24 feet long. The porpoise (the hog-fish), a gregarious kind of whale, from 
4 to 8 feet long, is still occasionally seen in the Tay in pursuit of the salmon. 
In the water it often shows its dorsal fin above the surface of the water, 
has a hog-like appearance, and it is caught for its oil and its flesh. One 
Sabbath thirty years ago a large shoal of them followed salmon up the river, 
and many people in Broughty watched their motions as they seized the salmon. 
It was an exciting scene. 

The Hamiltons came into possession of many of the properties which had 
belonged to the Abbot and monks of Aberbrothock. On 5th May, 1625, 
James, Marquis of Hamilton, &c., was served heir to Marquis James, his 
father, in the following lands, &c., in this parish, and in others : Burgh of 
barony and town of Arbroath, Common, Firth, and Moor of same ; lands of 
Guynd, Brackie, Grange of Conon, Kirkton of Arbroath, Seatons, Milton of 
Conon, Ward-dykes, Ponder-Lawfawld with Dischland, Lamblaw, Newton, 
Kinaldie, Burnton, Cairnton and Muirhouse, Newbigging, Peebles, Gaistmeadow, 
with teinds of the lands ; lands of Dickmontlaw, Northtarrie, Sillerscroft, 
Smithscroft, Croft of Wardmill, Deansdale, Colliston, Buffis, Guthrieshill, 
Ward-dykes, Grynterscroft, Durwardsyards, Mairland, Cunynghair, Cairnie, 
Letham, Auchmithie, with Fishertown and Alehouse of same ; Muirdrum, 
Newgrange, Keptie, Almshousecroft, Hospitalfield, Northferrie, with fishings 
of same ; Barbourcroft, Skaitterbauk at the Denzet or Countland ; Saint 
Ninian's Croft ; lands of Crofts ; lands of Modyaiker, the Almshousehall, Loch 
of Keptie, and Cairnie ; Mill of Kirkton, and Wardmill ; lands of Hedderwick 
and Clayleck, with Maryton, in the parish of Arbroath ; Dominical lands, or 
Mains of Ethie, Raismill, Boghead, Smithsland, Burnton, Overgreen and 
Nethergreen, Meadowland, with part of Eastergreen, and two acres of arable 
land of Rankynnow, with port in Keilor burn, in the parish of Ethie. This 
service may have been of the superiority only (Rptour No. 154). 

These lands are all in the retour in the order above given, but Clayleck and 
Hedderwick are in the parish of Montrose, and Maryton is in the parish of 
that name. They were in the regality of Aberbrothock, see Vol. IV., p. 435. 

The Marquis was at same time retoured in the teinds of the several parishes 
which belonged to the Abbey of Arbroath. The A.E. (old valuation) of the 
whole lands, &c., was 200, and the N.E. (new valuation) 600. 



118 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

There are so many distinct properties in this parish that we will be obliged 
to curtail as much as possible the account we give of them respectively. 

Abbeythune is a small property lying near the north-east corner of the 
parish. It was formerly part of the barony of Easter Newton, which belonged 
to the family of Rolland. Captain Robert Scott, R.N., purchased the north- 
east part of the barony from Robert Rolland, built a dwellinghouse upon it, 
and called it Abbeythune. His widow, a daughter of Watson of Shielhill, 
resided in it, but they had no issue.. 

The property came into possession of Miss Louisa Rolland, Mrs Scott's 
daughter by her first husband, who was designed of Abbeythune, in 1849. In 
that year she sold the Windy Hills part of her property, lying between East 
Seaton and the village of Auchmithie, to the trustees of the late Mr Strachan 
of Tarrie. The property of Abbeythune now belongs to the trustees of 
that lady. The house is a comfortable mansion, and the surroundings are 
pleasing. 

Almiriecloss is at the head of the town of Arbroath. The property came 
into possession of a family named Philip, one of whom, James Philp or Philip, 
married a daughter of Graham of Duntrune. Their arms and initials, with 
date 1674, are on their monuments in the Abbey burying ground. The 
family had acquired the Almshouse Chapel, and with the stones of it built the 
house of Almiiiecloss sometime before Ochterlony wrote the account of the 
shire, 1684-5. The house so built is said to have had all the apartments 
belonging to the Almshouse Chapel. 

The Memoir of Cameron of Lochiel says that Philip of Almiriecloss was 
the author of a Latin poem on the exploits of Lord Dundee, entitled 
" Grameis," and an elegy on the laird of Pitcur, and another on Gilbert 
Ramsay. Dr Henry Philip of Almiriecloss was minister of the parish of 
Arbroath from 1601. He had the degree of B.D. conferred upon him by the 
University of St Andrews. He was a man of intelligence and ability, trusted 
by the King, the Church, the Town Council of Arbroath, and by his people 
the community of Arbroath. He died in February, 1628, and was succeeded in 
Almiriecloss by his son. 

We do not know how long the family of Philip retained possession of Almirie- 
closs. It afterwards became the property of the Lyells of Stoneyflat, in the 
Mearns. Mr Lyell of Stoneyflat, the father of Major Lyell of the same, 
sold Almiriecloss to Robert Lindsay of Drumyellow, and merchant in Arbroath, 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 119 

in or about the last decade of the last century. He was succeeded by Lis son, 
John, <fcc. 

A modern mansion of the same name was erected near the site of the old 
house of Almiriecloss. Aliniriecloss house and surrounding grounds were, on 
9th June, 1855, purchased by the Messrs Corsar, manufacturers, Arbroath, at 
the upset price of 850. It is now in Inverbrothock quoad sacra parish, but 
still, quoad civilia, in St Vigeans. The name of Almiriecloss is a corruption 
of A Imonrieclose. 

Almiriecloss was a much larger property in former times than now. In the 
Valuation lloll of 1683 the rental is 450. In 1790 it was subdivided, and 
other changes were made at different times. 

The lands of A uchmithie were owned by John Beaton of Balquhargie in the 
16th century. The Archbishop of Glasgow, his son, succeeded to them on 5th 
July, 1597. Alexander, first Lord Spynie, had a charter of the lands of Auch- 
mithie on 17th April, 1593. Auchrnithie came into possession of the Scrym- 
geours. Major Wm. Scrymgeour, brother to John Scrymgeour of Kirkton, was 
proprietor. On 9th February, 1654, Margaret Scrymgeour, his heir, succeeded 
to the lands E. 42 13s 4d of feu duty ; and to other lands (No. 329). 

The village of A uchmithie was burned by some fishermen in the end of the 
seventeenth century. Near the end of last century thirty-three coins were 
found in an earthen pitcher in the floor of one of the houses in the village. 
The find comprised some of Henry IV. of France, others of German princes, 
and others of Charles II. and William III. A few of the coins were of square 
form. 

In 1683 the annual value of the lands of Auchmithie was 733 6s 8d. 
Auchrnithie, Newton, and half lands of Burnton were, on 30th April, 1816, 
divided : 
Auchrnithie and half Newton, belonged to John Roland, in 

1822, . . . . . . . 503 7 5 

Half Newton and half Burnton, belonged to David Scott, 

same time, * . . . ' . . . 229 19 3 

733 6 8 

Auchmithie and many of the neighbouring lands have for many years been 
he property of the Earls of Northesk, whose mansion, Ethie House, described 
in Vol. II., p. 73, and III., pp. 444-5, is in the vicinity of Auchmithie, and 
need not be repeated here. The Earl continues proprietor of the whole lands 
and barony, except Auchmithie Farm, or Windy hills as it is popularly called. 



120 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The estate of the Earl of Northesk in the Valuation Roll of 1683 was of 
the annual value of 800. Before 1748 it was divided thus: 
North Tarry, . . . . . . . . 486 

In Cess Book for 1748 the valued rent of the Earl of North- 

esk was . . . . . . 1571 17 6 

Of which in Inverkeillor, ,' : . , . 1256 17 4 



Leaving in the parish of St Vigeans, ..... 315 2 

801 2 
Besides the lands of Cairnton, . > . - '.'' . . ' . . 66 13 4 



Total in St Vigeans, . . . . . . .86713 6 

About 1340 David Barclay, laird of Garni, granted to Sir David Fleming, 
kt., laird of Hatyrwic, and Johanna, his spouse, daughter of the granter, and 
their heirs, the whole lands of Lochland, in the granter's barony of Brechin, 
and three silver merks to be levied at Whitsunday and Martinmas yearly, in 
equal portions, from his lands of Balriny or others within the granter's barony 
(H.ofO. of 8.,'No. 35, p. 536). 

On 5th July, 1500, Abbot David let the lands of Cairnie and pendicles at 
11 6s 8d Scots, payable to the monks of the community; and the Smith's 
Lands, near Cairnie, at 8s, payable to the monks of the Library ; and for the 
lands under Lamblaw, " beyond our ward," two bolls oats, with other husbandry 
charges. 

John Aikman of Cairnie got a charter under the Great Seal of the lands of 
Cairnie, near Arbroath, "15th July, 1661. In the beginning of the 18th century 
Cairnie was in possession of the Rennys. About 1730 Renny of Cairnie 
married a daughter of Guthrie of Guthrie. The property was shortly there- 
after acquired by the family of Reid, descended from Reid of Logie (Wedbn. 
Geny., 115). This family possessed Cairnie until about the end of the century. 

Cairnie has been in possession of the Ogilvys of Baldovan for some time. 
Sir John Ogilvy, Bart. , of Inverquharity, is the present proprietor. The pro- 
perty consists of two farms, Cairnie and Little Cairnie. The valued rent in 
1683 and now is 333 6s 8d. 

The lands of Carncorty may have come to the Maules with Christina de 
Valonii. Walter Maule gave the Chapel of Both to the Bishop of Brechin. 
Before 1348 the Bishop bought the lands of Carncorthy from Walter Maule. 



OHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 121 

The same year he granted the lands and the Chapel of Both for support of 
two chaplainries in the Cathedral Church of Brechin, and for masses to be 
celebrated in Monikie and Panbride (Reg. de Pan., p. 171). In Robertson's 
Index of Charters, 51-42, is the following charter " by the Bishop of Brechin of 
the Chappie of Bothe, and of the lands of Carncorthie, by William Mauld of 
Pan mure to the Kirk of Brechine." At a later period, but both by David II., 
charter was given by Walter Maule of Panmure to John Mony penny, of Carn- 
corthie, and several other lands, 59-14. 

On the hill of Cairnconon there once stood a building called Castle Greg 
or Gregory. The tradition regarding this building is that one of the owners, 
named Gregory, was slain in a battle in the parish of Monifieth, and buried in 
the hill above Linlathen, where a cairn was erected called Cairn-Greg. This 
cairn was opened in presence of the late Mr Erskine and others, and several 
articles found in it, an account of which we have already given. Tradition 
does not furnish details of the battle in the parish of Monifieth, nor give the 
date on which it was fought. It would have been interesting to have been 
informed of these particulars. There is no doubt that a person had been 
buried on the spot, and a cairn raised over it named Cairn-Greg. 

The names of several places in the neighbourhood seem to show that it had 
at one time been a royal residence,. such as Grange of Conon or Konig, Cairn- 
conon, Milton of Conon, and Park Conon ; but, if so, it must have been at a 
very early period, as history is silent on the subject. 

After the lands of Conon, which included Cairnconon, were acquired by the 
Convent, the Abbots regularly held their courts at Cairnconon. The vassals 
of the Abbey were taken bound to appear there three times every year, and, 
up to the year 1580, the whole of the charters granted by the Convent con- 
tained clauses to that effect. In early times all the large landowners, cleric 
and lay, held their head courts, at which their vassals were bound to present 
themselves, in some cases twice, and in others thrice, a year, under certain 
penalties for non-attendance generally stated in their charters. 

There is nothing known regarding the residence of the ancient lords of Conon, 
or of the building in which the Abbots' courts were held ; but, as at least one 
of these courts had been held yearly in the cold season, some shelter must 
have been provided for the monks and their vassals. No remains of the build- 
ing, of whatever description it may have been, have been found. 

In the Old Statistical Account of the parish it is said that a house of a pro- 
Q 



122 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

prietor in the parish was built of the stones of Castle Gregory in the 16th 
century ; also that a deer's horns in high preservation were found in the neigh- 
bouring moss, some feet below the surface, with marl below and moss above. 

In 1254 a dispute having arisen between the monks of Arbroath, to whom 
the lands of Conon then belonged, and the Lord of Panmure, who was pro- 
prietor of the contiguous lands of Tullach (Tulloes), as to the boundaries of 
these lands, the parties met on the day of St Alban the Martyr, " super Carn- 
connan," when the dispute was compounded (Reg. de Aberb,, 322 ; Keg. Nig., 
p. 27). 

A charter by the Abbot of certain lands in the territory of Glamis in favour 
of John Lyon, dated 1375, takes him bound to pay " imam sec tarn curie nostre 
capitali apud Carnconan" (Reg. Episc. Aberdeen, VI., p. 143) ; and in 1409, 
when Alexander Ouchterlony was served heir to his brother William in the 
lands of Kennymekil, in the parish of Kingoldrum, the inquest was held by 
the bailie of the Abbot's regality apud Carnconane. 

The lands of Conon belonged to a family of the Gaelic name of Dusyth or 
Dufsyth at an early period, but when, from whom, or how acquired is unknown. 
There can be little doubt they were in possession of the property some time prior 
to the foundation of the Abbey by King William the Lion in 1178. Mathew, 
son of Dufsyth de Conon, was one of the witnesses to Ingelram de Baliol's 
charter of confirmation of the Church of Inverkeillor to the Abbey of Aber- 
brothock in 1180 (Reg. de Aberb., p. 39). Mathew, son of Mathew, son of 
Dufsyth de Conon, was one of the perambulators of the marches of Kinbleth- 
mont on 23d September, 1219 (Do., p. 162). This family do not appeal- 
again in the chartulary of the Abbey, but the lands of Conon were, on 6th 
December, 1223, granted to the Monastery by King Alexander II., along with 
the lands of Dunbarrow, in forestry. What became of the Dusyth family we 
do not know, but for some reason the lands had come into the Crown, or 
the King would not have had them at his disposal. 

The lands of Conon had been Crown property in the beginning of the 14th 
century. Bernard de Linton, Abbot of Aberbrothock, was a faithful adherent 
of King Robert Bruce. That King, in the fourteenth year of his reign, granted 
to a religious man, Bernard, Abbot of the Monastery of Aberbrothock, a 
charter of the lands of Conon and Dunberach (Dunbarrow). 

The lands of Conon 'were subsequently acquired by the Gardynes of that Ilk. 
Helen Garden, daughter and heir of the deceased Walter of Konon, granted 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 123 

a charter in favour of her brother David, son of Walter Garden of Cononsyth, 
of the lands of Conon, dated 28th November, 1486 (Gard. Writs). 

In the Old Valuation Roll of 1683, there is a property called Boysack, 
probably because it had then belonged to the Laird of Boysack. It was then 
valued at 303 6s 8d. This appears to have been the lands of Conon, or, as 
they were subsequently called, East and West Grange of Conon and Druin- 
yellow. In 1790, and since, they were divided thus: One half, Grange of 
Conon, or East Grange, William Moir, owner in 1822, 151 13s 4d ; part do., 
West Grange, William Henderson, 113 10s lOd; Drumyellow, Rev. Robert 
Lunan, 38 2s 6d ; in all, 303 6s 8d. 

The lands of Grange of Conon were in possession of James Beaton of Bal- 
quhargie in the latter half of the sixteenth century. His son James, Archbishop 
of Glasgow, succeeded him in them, and in the lands of Guynd, 5th July, 
1597 (No. 590). On llth June, 1605, Robert Beaton of Balfour succeeded the 
Archbishop in the Grange of Conon, and in the Guynd (No. 44). 

These lands subsequently came into possession of the Carnegies of Boysack. 
On 18th January, 1687, John Carnegie was retoured in the lands with teinds 
(No. 506). 

The East Grange of Conon, Cairnconon, Lands of North Tarrie, Dickmount- 
law, and Brunton are the property of Leonard Lyell of Kinnordie, to whom 
they were bequeathed by the late John Mudie of Pitmuies. 

The lands of Drumyellow are now the property of Patrick Allan Fraser of 
Hospitalfield. 

The West Grange of Conon is not mentioned separately in the Old Roll. This 
property was acquired by the late Dr Crichton, for many years a well known 
and much respected medical practitioner in Dundee. It now belongs to the 
marriage trustees of Dr and Mrs Crichton, Woodside. 

Park Conon is entered in the Old Roll at 100 valued rent. In 1822, 
Park Conon, and an adjoining property called Ruives, the valuation of which 
in the Roll is 133 6s 8d, both belonged to David Ogilvy. They now belong 
to the representatives of the late David Mitchell, Scotston, St Cyrus, Kiiicar- 
dineshire. 

A quarter of a century ago, a circular weem was discovered at a short 
distance to the south of the hill near v the northern boundary of the present 
farm of West Grange of Conon. The stones overlapped each other, so as to 
form a conical roof. It was connected with a long, narrow chamber covered 
with flagstones ; and several cists with human remains were found close by. 



124 ANGUS OK FORFAESHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Most of the weems which have been discovered in the county are of similar 
construction. 

Historians say that during the latter part of the tenth century, S. Vigianus, 
a hermit or ascetic, famous in the district of Conon as a preacher, had a cell 
there. This was long before the foundation of the Abbey of Aberbrothock. 
Camerarius, the historian, says that he died in 1012. 

The generally accepted tradition in the district is that his chapel, which had 
superseded the cell, was erected on the estate of Conon, and close by the farm 
buildings of Grange of Gonon, and there he dwelt. It is believed he died in 
peace, and was interred in the burying ground of St Yigeans church, where it 
was supposed a monument had been erected to his memory. The monument 
was supposed to have been one or other of the sculptured stones which are 
now in the church, and which add so greatly to the interest attached to the 
venerable pile. We fear, however, that no memorial had ever been raised to 
the memory of the saint. The festival of Sfc Vigean, the confessor, was held 
on the 20th day of January. 

S. Vigian is said to have ministered at Conon during the period of thirty- 
three years. The ruins of the chapel can still be traced, but they cannot be 
the ruins of the chapel in which S. Vigian is said to have performed divine 
service nearly nine hundred years ago. When the original chapel fell into 
decay, a new building would be erected on the site. It is strange, however, 
that there is no special mention whatever of this chapel in the chartulary of 
Arbroath. 

Last century a pigeon house was erected out of the ruins, which still stand a 
foot or two above the ground. The chapel measures about 42 by 22 feet over 
walls. In the end 'of last century, the site of the chapel was enclosed with 
a stone wall, and planted with trees. Within a few yards of the chapel there 
is a copious spring of pure water called St Vigian' s Well. 

A little distance from Cairn Conon, near the boundary of St Vigeans and 
Carmylie, but in the latter parish, stands a huge boulder of gneiss, called 
"The Auld Stane o' Crafts," and the " Hare Stane," and near by are the re- 
mains of a stone circle. 

The lands of Colliston were part of the possessions of the Abbey of Arbroath, 
and appear to have been gifted to the monastery by King William the Lion, its 
founder. They were alienated from the convent in the early part of the sixteenth 
century, as Gilbert Reid of Colliston is mentioned in the year 1539. He married 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST YIGEANS. 125 

Jean, daughter of Sir Robert Carnegie of Runand (H. of C. of S., p. 44). They 
appear to have been disposed of in two sections, at different times. On 25th 
July, 1544, Abbot David Beaton, Cardinal, &c , granted a feu charter of the 
lands of Colliston, Knives, Park of Conon, and Guthrie Hill, to John Guthrie 
and Isobel Ogilvie, his spouse. The charter was subscribed by the Cardinal 
and twenty monks of the monastery. This charter had very ornate borders, 
and some of the capital letters were very beautiful. It is said the charter has 
gone amissing, which is to be regretted. The monks who subscribed the 
charter are almost all the same as those who subscribed the lease of the teinds 
of lands in Kingoldrum, a fac- simile of which was given as a frontispiece to 
Volume III. of this work. 

Henry Guthrie is designed of Colliston, 4th February, 1568-9 (Reg. Ep., 
Br., II., p. 305). The Guthries retained possession of Colliston for a long 
period. On 5th November, 1684, Sir Henry Guthrie, of King Edward, 
Knight, heir of Henry Guthrie of Colliston, was retoured (No. 493), in Collis- 
ton, Ruives,Park Conon, and Croft of Guthrie Hill, E. 30, &c.,feudifirmce ; 
West Meadow, part of the Moor of Frith, E. 10s., feudifirmce. 

Sir Henry Guthrie appears to have sold the property immediately after he 
completed his title and became invested in it. Ochterlony, 1684-5, says 
" Colliston, presently purchased by Doctor Gordon, good house," &c. Bishop 
Guthrie, who acquired Guthrie from the old family, was of the Colliston 
Uuthries, and so are the Guthries of Guthrie of the present time. 

We have not ascertained how long the Gordons were Lairds of Colliston, 
but the estate has been for a considerable period in possession of the family of 
Chaplin, and there probably was an intermediate proprietor or proprietors be- 
tween the Gordons and the Chaplins. 

George Chaplin is among the freeholders of the county in 1820. George 
Robertson Chaplin succeeded his maternal uncle in Colliston. He was a Magis- 
trate for the County of Forfar in 1858, In 1860 he is designed of Colliston and 
Cookston. At his death in 1870 George Chaplin Child Chaplin, M.D., 
succeeded to the estate of Colliston. He died in 1883, and is succeeded by Mr 
Peebles of Somerset House, London, the next heir of entail. 

The Castle of Colliston was erected in 1583, two years later than the neigh- 
bouring Castle of Braikie, and it still shows, through subsequent additions, all 
the interior arrangements of a gentleman's " fortified" house of the period. It 
was among the latest buildings of its class, for the stronger Government under 
King James of Scotland and England gradually rendered such precautions 



126 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAKE XIV. 

against sudden raids by hostile Lairds or Highland reivers no longer necessary. 
The dungeon basement, with narrow slips gradually widening inwards, 
yielded in time to a new and more open style, corresponding, except in its 
special Scotch treatment, to the Elizabethan of England. When lairds gave 
over building fortified houses, towards the end of the sixteenth century, a 
most happy change was marked in the political and social condition of Scot- 
land, of which there is no more sure sign than the transitional style of domestic 
architecture. 

The Castle of Colliston, though for the most part old, is still a comfortable 
dwelling. It is embowered among stately trees and much shrubbery, so that 
it is little seen by passing travellers. There are a good garden and pleasant 
grounds around the Castle. 

In the Valuation Roll of 1683, the entry is " Colliston to Dr Gordon/' rental, 
453 6s 8d. In 1822, George Chaplin is the proprietor, the valued rent being 
the same as in the Old Roll. 

On 2d May, 1625, the Marquis of Hamilton was retoured (No. 154) in the 
lands of Colliston and others. On 16th May, 1671, George, Earl of Panmure, 
was retoured (No. 450) in Colliston and many other lands. On 27th April, 
1686, James, Earl of Panmure, was retoured (No. 502) in the same lands. 
These noble lords were retoured in the superiorities of the lands only, and not 
as proprietors of them. 

Colliston Parish Church was built in 1870 by the minister and kirk-session 
of St Vigeans, to supply the religious requirements of a large and populous 
district of the parish. It is situated at the junction of the road from Colliston 
Station with the Arbroath and Forfar road, about three miles from Arbroath. 
It is a remarkably neat building, in early Gothic and cruciform, with accom- 
modation for about 450 worshippers. In 1875, by decree of the Court of 
Teinds, the church was endowed, and a district, with separate boundaries 
assigned, was cut off from St Vigeans parish. The site of the church, manse, 
and adjoining public school was given at a nominal feu-duty by the proprietor 
of the estate of Colliston. Revs. A. T. Scott, William Smith, and Alexander 
Mills have been in succession the ministers of the quod sacra parish. 

The shadow half of Dickmountlaw was feued by the Abbey to Robert Lyon. 
He sold it to Robert Guthrie of Kinblethmont, and he resold it to Peter 
Young, who, as stated in the account of the family, Vol. II., 299-302, died in 
1 628. The sunny half of Dickmountlaw was acquired from the Abbey before the 
middle of the sixteenth century by Thomas Annand. Peter Young was in 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 127 

possession in 1580, and he had a charter of confirmation by Esme Stuart, 
Duke of Lennox, and cornmendator of the Abbey (H. of C. of S. 299, Aid. 
Mis. 8). 

On 10th June, 1630, Sir James Young was served heir to his father, Sir 
Peter (No. 193), in the half lands of Dickmountlaw, the sunny half of Easter 
Seaton, and the harbour, called Covehaven. He had a Crown charter of Dick- 
mountlaw on 24th February, 1632. Sir James died in London before the 
22d July, 1635, and was succeeded by his son Peter, who was the last of his 
name who held Seaton, &c. 

On 1st April, 1662, George, Earl of Panmure, heir of his father, Earl Pat- 
rick, was retoured (No. 384) in the lands of Dickmountlaw, Seaton, North 
and South Tarrie, and others in this parish. On 16th May, 1671, George, 
Earl of Panmure, heir of his father, Earl George, was retoured (No. 450) in 
the same lands, on 27th April, 1686. Earl James succeeded his father, Earl 
George, in same lands. These retours to the Earls of Panmure may have been 
of the superiority of the lands only, and not of the proprietary rights of them. 
Two centuries ago Dickmountlaw was part of Easter Seaton. On 20th March, 
1757, it was divided into two parts, the one called Easter Seaton, value, 276 
9s 8d; the other Dickraountlaw, 190 3s 8d ; together, 466 13s 4d. North 
Tarrie and Dickmountlaw were bought by the Rev. John Aitken, minister of 
the parish. He died in 1816, and was succeeded by James Mudie of Pit- 
muies, in right of his wife, who was a niece of Mr Aitken. James Mudie was 
(succeeded by his sou, John Mudie. who bequeathed these lands, with the East 
Grange of Conon and Burnton, to Leonard Lyell of Kinnordy, the present 
proprietor. 

The name, Dickmont, is commemorated in a Den as well as a Law. In 
the rocky coast to the east of the parish there is a long narrow inlet, with a huge 
rock in the entrance. In the inlet there are several caverns, one of which is 
large, and has two entrances. from the Den, and one from the sea. 

Looking down from the top of the cliff when the tide is in and the sun shin- 
ing, there is seen at this cave the appearance as of two large eyes, which have 
been locally named the " Devil's E'en." There is a very distinct echo in the Den. 
Mr ( eorge Hay in his admirable history of Arbroath gives a graphic descrip- 
tion of the caverns and cliffs between Arbroath and Auchrnithie. From it we 
have taken the above details of the Den, but we have not ascertained from 
whom it takes its name. There is a legend regarding this district, called the 
Piper of Dickmount-Law. 



128 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAET XIV. 

In or about the year 1200 King William the Lion gave Walkelyno braciatori 
a charter of the lands of Innerpeffer, in the parish of S. Vigeans (Reg. de 
Aberb., 165). Prior to receiving this grant, Walkelinus braciator is a wit- 
ness to the grant of the lands of Balekelefan by Richard of Frivill to the Abbey 
of Arbroath, circa 1178-80. He was the King's brewer, and he assumed the 
surname of Innerpeffer, now InverpefFer, from his lands, and his descendants 
retained the name. The charter by the King was signed at Perth. 

Nicholas of Inverpeffer is a witness at the confirmation of the Church of 
Panbryd by Ade de Morham to the Abbey of Arbroath in 1214 ; to a charter 
by Richarde de Berkeley in 1254, and two or three others. He was the son of 
the first InverpefFer of that Ilk. David of Inverpefyr was a witness to a charter 
by Christian Volognes of Paninure to John of Lydel about the middle of 
the thirteenth century. He had probably been a grandson of Walkeline. The 
family soon branched out, and they frequently appear as owners of lands in the 
county, and in other ways. 

In the year 1250, or prior thereto, a question had arisen between the pro- 
prietor of the lands of Inverpeffer and the Abbot of Aberbrothock as to whom 
these lands owed suit, and in that year an inquest was held to decide the 
matter. The inquest was composed of proprietors in the district, and the fol- 
lowing are their names : Robert de Monte Alto, William de Ramsay, Hugo 
de A negus, Alexander de Ogiluillum, Duncanus Judex, Nicholas Abbate, 
Robertas Marescallus, Mathanus de Konan, Johnes Thaynus de Monros, 
William Bludus, Jacobus de Lur, Eustachius de Grlasletir, and Robertus 
Vibois (Reg. Vet de Aberb , p. 190), thirteen j urors in all. They found that 
the lands of Innerpeffer owed suit to the Abbot of Arbroath. 

Two of the name did homage to Edward I. at Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1296, 
viz., Adam and David, both from Forfarshire, the one, de lurepeffre, and the 
other, de Enrepeffre. 

David II. granted a charter of the lands of Bondington and Newtoun, given 
by Margaret Abernethy, Countess of Angus, to Patrick Inverpiffer (In. to Ch., 
58-7). This charter was confirmed by David II. to Patrick and Margarete de 
Fassingtoun, his spouse, 3d March, 1368 (do., 87-225). We think these lands 
were in the parish of Inverarity, but they may have been in Inverkeillor, as 
there are lands of these names in both parishes. 

On the 31st March, 1366, David II. granted a charter of the lands of 
Conveth, in Banffshire, and of Logy, Ardachis, in Aberdeenshire, to John of 
Inverpeffer and his wife Christian of St Michael. The charter is dated at 



CHAP. LIY.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 129 

Montrose. John and his wife had not retained these lands long, as they must 
have reverted to the Crown before 18th October, 1380. Of that date, Eobert 
II. granted a charter of the same lands to his natural son, Alexander Stewart, 
the Wolf of Badenoch. 

John InnerpefFer was proprietor of King's Lour, Druragethe, and Godfrais- 
toune (Gotterston ?). He resigned them into King David's hands. He gave 
them to Andrew Burr, who resigned them to the King at Barbroathe, 1 6th 
April, 1343 (In. to Oh., 48-33-34). 

Patrick InnerpefFer was a burgess of Dundee, and had a charter of legitima- 
tion from Robert II. in 1374 (do., 121-74), also a charter of land in Dundee. 
This was probably of the third part of the lands of Craigie, called Bruis lands, 
which had belonged to Walter Balmoasie (In. to Ch., 113-5). This charter 
was in 1370. He had a charter, as burgess of Dundee, of 52 feet in length, 
and 14 in breadth, in the Hie Street of Dundee (do., 128-10, and Reg. Mag. 
Sil., p. 156, No. 10), This was in 1381, in the eleventh year of Robert II. 
The third part of the lands of Milton of Craigie and of Westtield were granted 
by Patrick of InverpefFer to the chaplain of S. Salvador's altar. Robert III. 
confirmed these grants in 1391, and granted the patronage of the altar to the 
aldermen and twelve Councillors (Act of Parl. 5 I., p. 215). 

Members of the InnerpefFer family held lands in several parts of Scotland 
besides Angus, and also offices of trust in State and Church, but we will not 
follow them. 

It is uncertain how long the Innerpelfers of that Ilk held the lands of that 
name, but they had begun to wane before the end of the fourteenth century, 
and the Hays of Errol were in possession of part of the lands in that century. 
Sir Thomas Hay of Errol was served heir to his grandfather, Sir John Keith 
of InnerpefFer, on llth January, 1389-90 (Doug. I., p. 546). The Earl of 
Errol was proprietor in 1494. George, sixth Earl of Errol, had the estate 
made into a free barony on 13th December, 1541. Andrew, seventh Earl of 
Errol, had a charter of Innerpeffer, 19th May, 1565. In 1527, and for some 
time thereafter, Robert Lesly, Procurator for the Abbey of Arbroath, was 
owner. The lands had been divided into two parts, the eastern and western 
sections, before 1527, as they were in possession of two parties then. 

Innerpeffer had probably passed from the Earls of Errol and the Procurator 

of the Abbey of Arbroath to the Elphinstones, Lords Balmerino. Lord Bal- 

meriuo and Margaret Maxwell of Tealing had a charter under the great seal 

of the lands of Innerpeffer and Ballumbie, on 12th August, 1601. They were 

R 



130 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

succeeded by Lord Coupar. Henry Maule was designed of Innerpeffer in 1613. 
It was the eastern division he owned. 

The western division had come into possession of Sir Andrew Fletcher some 
time before the end of the sixteenth century. There is a stone in a wall at 
Inverpeffer, which had been placed there by Robert Fletcher. The length of 
the slab is about thrice the breadth. In the centre is the date 1598, below 
which are the family arms, viz., sable, a cross flory between four escalops 
argent, with the letters R.F., for Robert Fletcher, on the right and left of the 
arms. On each side of the slab is a scroll with the following letters in Roman 
capitals : 
On the right side, SOLI . DEO On the left side, NON . DO 

HONOR . E LO . SED . GR 

T . GLORIA ACIA . DEI 

In 1638 Sir Andrew Fletcher of Innerpeffer purchased Saltoun from Alex- 
ander Abernethy (Wed. Gen., p. 111). He was ancestor of the Fletchers, 
Lord Saltoun. Sir Andrew was a Senator of the College of Justice, and assumed 
the title of Lord Inverpeffer. His predecessors were burgesses of Dundee. 
Alexander and James Fletcher signed the merchants' letter or charter of the 
Guildry of Dundee, in 1515. Robert Fletcher was Dean of Guild in 1595, 
George in 1662, and James Fletcher was Provost of Dundee in 1694. Lord 
Inverpeffer died in May, 1650. The following retour of service of his son and 
heir, Sir Robert Fletcher, shows the lands and others of which his Lordship 
was in possession at his death. 

On 21st May, 1650, Sir Robert Fletcher of Inverpeffer, son of Sir Andrew 
Fletcher of Inverpeffer, Kt., Senator of the College of Justice, was retoured 
(No. 312) in the barony of Inverpeffer, comprehending the lands of Panlathie 
and Balbanie, with mill of Panlathie ; lands of Pitconra, with privileges of re- 
gality, &c., in the regality of Kirriemuir A.E. 4, N.E. 16 ; lands of Inver- 
peffer and Hatton A.E. 3, N.E. 12 ; all united in the barony of Inver- 
peffer ; in lands and town of Stotfaulds, Falawis, Leadside, and Kirkhill, with 
pasture in the moor of Monikie, called Northmure, in the parish of Monikie 
A.E. 13s 4d, N.E. 4 m. ; lands in the barony of Woodwray, comprehending 
the sunny half of the dominical lands, or Mains of Woodwray, and the sunny 
half of the lands of Goriston ; three sunny quarters of the land of Hoill, the 
same parts of the town, and lands of Polgarrok ; western quarters of said 
lands and towns, with a fourth part of the land of Hoill, and a fourth part of 
the mill of Polgarrok ; shadow half of the western half lands of Woodwray, 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES ST YIGEANS. 131 

and the shadow half of the lands of Gorston, with the salmon fishings in the 
water of South Esk, and with moor of Woodwray, in the parish of Aberlemno, 
for principal E feudifirmce ; lands of Kavilgreen, western part of the 
dominical lands of Tynnetown, in the lordship of Tinetoune, in the barony of 
the Forest of Platone A.E. 6s 8d, N.E. 2 m. 

The lands of Inverpeffer must have been acquired by the Earl of Fanmure 
shortly after the date of retour (No. 312). On 1st April, 1662, George, Earl 
of Panmure, heir of Earl Patrick, his father, was retoured in the lands of In- 
verpeffer, Hatton, &c., and these lands still belong to the descendant of the 
family, the Earl of Dalhousie. 

The mansion, or fortalice as it had probably been, of the Innerpeffers of 
Innerpeffer, has wholly disappeared, and the site on which it had stood is un- 
known. Hatton House, in the Inverpeffer district of St Vigeans, is of consider- 
able age, and surrounded by large trees, but neither the present house nor the 
trees were there when the lands or barony of Inverpeffer was acquired by the 
Maules in the early part of the seventeenth century. 

It was beside the place of Innerpeffer that the Gardynes attacked and killed 
the chief of the Guthries. The slaughter was the outcome of aa old feud be- 
tween the two families, Gardynes and Guthries, which we have in previous 
volumes noticed. A century and a half ago, the tenants of the barony of In- 
verpeffer had a right to cast peats and turf in Dilty Moss, and they frequently 
abused the privilege, and sold the peats, &c., to the townsmen of Dundee and 
Arbroath. In this way they had exhausted the mosses of Hynd Castle and 
Carmylie, and, to prevent them from exhausting Dilty Moss also, they were 
prohibited from casting more peats than they required for their own tise. Peats 
were then a chief article of fuel. Wood was not abundant, and coals were 
scarce and dear. 

The lands of Inverpeffer are a detached portion of the parish of St Vigeans, 
being situated on the south-west of the parish of Arbirlot, and separated from 
it by the Peffer or Dowrey burn. It consists of the farms of Hatton, Inver- 
peffer, part of Cotton farm, and salmon fishings, the present rental being 1857 
4s 2d. The rental of Inverpeffer in the Valuation Roll of 1683 is '850. It 
was then called " Earl of Panmure/' In 1822 it was called Inverpeffer, and 
the Hon. William Maule proprietor. 

In the 1683 Roll the Earl of Panmure had feu duties, amounting to 350, 
payable to him annually by 27 vassals. In 1822 Hon. William Maule was 
the superior to whom they were payable. They appear to have been disposed 



132 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

of since then, as the Earl of Dalhousie draws no feu duties from the parish of 
St Vigeans. 

The lands of Kinaldie, or part of them, belonged to a family of the name of 
Purdie in the end of the sixteenth and beginning of the seventeenth century. 
Their coat of arms, initials, and date, are on a stone in the wall of the steading. 
We next find them in possession of a family of the name of Rennald. On 21st 
March, 1690, Janet and Maria Rennald, heirs portioner of the Rev. Robert 
Rennald, minister of Old Aberdeen, their father, were retoured (No. 515) in 
the lands of Kinaldie, with teinds, E. 21 bolls corn, &c., feudifirmce. 

In Vol. III., pp. 446-50, we mentioned that Sir John Carnegie of Ethie 
acquired the lands of Kinaldie at different times, the first part being in 1621. 
It had then been in possession of several proprietors, whose portions he pur- 
chased from time to time as they came into the market, and the family of the 
Earl of Northesk have for a long period been the 'sole proprietors of the whole 
of the lands of Kinaldie. 

Abbot William (1276 to 1288), on 26th March, 1284, granted the lands of 
Letham, in the shire of Aberbrothock, to Hugo Heem, in compensation for 
Hugo's right to some lands in the Mearns (Reg. de Aberb., No. 274, p. 208). 
We do not know through whose hands they passed during the three centuries 
thereafter. The next proprietor we have found in possession of them is the 
family of Wood of Bonnyton. They had a lease of the lands from the Abbey 
in 1526 (Beg. de Aberb., II, p. 454). 

On 17th October, 1661, John Wood of Bonnytoa, heir of Patrick Wood of 
Bonnyton, his father, was retoured (379) in the lands of Letham, E. 20 and 
20s in augmentation feudifirmce ; lands of Newbigging with moss and marsh, 
E. 24 bolls victual, &c., feudifirmce ; the Kirkton mill, with ringbear and 
multures of the barony of Aberbrothock, E. 19, <fec., feudifirmce : Kirkton- 
rneadow, or the meadow of Letham and Newbigging, in the lordship and re- 
gality of Aberbrothock, E. 13s 4d feudifirmce ; lands of Bonnyton, A.E. 3, 
N.E. 12 ; lands of Annanie, A.E. 30s, N.E. 6 ; lands of Kinblethmont, 
viz., lands of Gilchorn, with -the lands of Huntestoun (PAnniston), Lauton, 
and Balmuiltistoun ; superiority of dominical lands of Kinblethmont, with feu 
of 10 from said lands, A.E. 10, N.E. 40; lands of Banblaine, Inchock, 
lands of Annatstoune and Myrsyd, A.E.3, N.E. 12 ; annual payment, 8 m. 
from Invereighty. 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 133 

Sir James Wood of Bonnyton once had his seat at Letham. He was 
Colonel of the Scotch Fusiliers in the reign of Queen Anne, and served in 
Flanders under the Duke of Marlborough. He acquired considerable reputa- 
tion in his profession in the beginning of the eighteenth century. 

Robert Stephen acquired the lands of Letham in the early part of last cen- 
tury, if not in the end of the eighteenth. Alexander Strachan of Tarrie married 
Miss Stephen, the heiress, towards the end of that century, and with her he got 
the estate of Letham. 

William Stewart is designed of New Grange on 31st August, 1558 (H. of 
C. of S., 531), but we have not learned when he acquired the property. 
Patrick Whitelaw of New Grange was a witness in 1576 (Keg. de Pan., 315). 

Patrick Quhytlaw was designed of New Grange 30th June, 1590 (Aid. Mis,) 
The lands of New Grange were shortly thereafter acquired by Francis Ogilvy, 
as James, Marquis of Hamilton, as superior, granted a charter to him of the 
lands of New Grange, and various meadows, part of the lands of the Abbey of 
Arbroath, dated 8th May, 1612 (Aid Mis.) Witness, David Gardyne of 
Lawton. Charter of sale by Charles Murray, and James, his eldest son, with 
consent of Elizabeth Quhytlaw, spouse of James, in favour of Francis Ogilvy, 
son of James, Lord Ogilvy of Airlie, of Smiddyhill, in the lordship of Brechin, 
24th December, 1599. 

On 18th August, 1653, Sir James Ogilvy succeeded his father, Francis 
(Ret. 324), in New Grange town and lands, with the bounded moors thereof, 
hill meadow, moor of Firth of Arbroath and Broadmoor, E. 17 of feu farm 
duty ; the teind sheaves of said lands, E. 24 bolls meal, &c. On 5th Novem- 
ber, 1684, Sir Francis Ogilvy succeeded his father (No. 494) in said lands. 

Sir James Ogilvy of New Grange, Knight, and Andrew Gray of Hayston, 
administered the oath of allegiance to King Charles II. on 5th September, 
1662, within the church of Monifieth, to Rev. John Barclay, minister of that 
parish. 

The lands of New Grange, and several other estates in the county, were 
acquired by George Dempster of Dunnichen in the first half of the eighteenth 
century. He died on 2d June, 1753, and was succeeded by his son John, who 
died on 3d November the same year by a fall from his horse. There is a 
marble monument to him in the parish church. 

His eldest son, George Dempster of Dunnichen, succeeded to that property, 
and to the others which his predecessors had acquired. He represented the 



134 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Dundee district of burghs, and was called "Honest George ;" but, notwith- 
standing the high respect in which he was held, he was found guilty of bribery, 
and fined in the large sum of 30,000 sterling. In order to raise the money 
to pay so great a sum, he had to dispose of some of his landed properties, in- 
cluding New Grange, in the last quarter of the eighteenth century. 

New Grange was purchased by William Moir of Lonmay, Aberdeenshire. 
His son succeeded to the estate, and he sold it to John Hay in 1822. He 
changed the name to Letham Grange. William Moir married the eldest 
daughter of Mr Aitken of India, and niece of Rev. Mr Aitken of Tarrie, and, 
after selling New Grange, he went to St Petersburg. He returned to Eng- 
land, and died at Epping, in Essex, 23d November, 1854. 

The lands of Peebles belonged to John Niven in the beginning of this cen- 
tury. He married Rachel Lumsden, sister to Harry Lumsden, who bought 
Clova and Auchindoir in Aberdeenshire. Their son, Harry Niven Lumsden, 
presented a congratulatory address from the County of Aberdeen, when the 
Princess Charlotte and Prince Leopold were married, and for this he was 
knighted 5th July, 1816. Through the influence of the Duke of Gordon he 
was created a Baronet in 1821. He did not long survive this honour, as he 
died 15th December, 1821, in his 37th year. He married Harriet Christian, 
eldest daughter of General Hay of Rannes. She died 26th August, 1820. 
They had one son and two daughters, who died in childhood. Sir Harry leav- 
ing no issue, the title became extinct. 

t 

The estate of Letham Grange includes those of Letham, New Grange, and 
Peebles, and the now united properties form the most extensive estate in 
the parish. Before the Reformation a large portion of each of these pro- 
perties belonged to the territorial endowments of the Abbey of Arbroath, and 
they are still subject to the payment of Abbey dues to the Earl of Dalhousie, 
the superior. John Hay, the late proprietor of the united properties, erected, 
about the year 1830, the fine mansion of Letham Grange, on nearly the site 
of the old manor house of New Grange. The new house was situated upon 
a beautiful terrace overlooking the Vale of the Brothock, in a richly wooded 
demesne. From the railway from Arbroath to Guthrie, which skirts the grounds 
on the west, an excellent view of the house and grounds was obtained, and they 
formed a pleasing feature on the journey. 

John Hay of Letham Grange died in 1870, and left the estate in trust for 



OHAP. UV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 135 

his grand-nephew, John Hay Miln, only son of Alexander Miln of Woodhill. 
On acquiring this property, Mr Miln assumed the additional surname of Hay, 
Alexander Hay Miln. The estate being burdened to the extent of three-fourths 
of its value, was sold by the trustees on 5th February, 1877, to James Fletcher, 
formerly Jack, of Bosehaugh, for about the sum of 121,800. Mr Alexander 
Hay Miln did not long survive the sale of Letham Grange. His son, John 
Hay Miln, for whom the estate had been left in trust, died in Paris while still 
a minor, not long after his father ; and his widow is also recently deceased. 

James Fletcher of Letham Grange, shortly after acquiring that property, 
purchased the estate of Fern, in the parish of that name. He has built a 
splendid mansion at Letham Grange, in which he has incorporated the pre- 
vious house built by Mr Hay, and made many other improvements on the pro- 
perty, which add greatly to its amenity and beauty. 

An old dove cot stands at a short distance to the west of the mansion, and 
many fine old trees of various sorts surround it on three sides, leaving the 
southern prospect open. 

Previous to the sale of the estate, the Letham Grange trustees sold two small 
properties in the suburbs of Arbroath, which had been acquired by the late pro- 
prietor's father, Alexander Hay, Provost of the burgh. One of these was 
Grantor's Croft, or the land originally held by the Grantor of the Abbey, ad- 
joining the east wall of the Abbey precincts, popularly known as the Hays or 
Hay's Field. This was acquired by Dr Leonard, Medical Inspector-General, 
R.N., a native of Arbroath, by whom the greater part of it has since been feued 
for building sites. The other property, at the west side of the town near Keptie 
Street, was bought by James Jamieson, Crudie, and is no\v covered by the 
Keptie Public Schools, St Margaret's Church, and other buildings. These 
properties, as well as the principal estate, are in the parish of St Vigeans. 

In the Valuation Koll for 1683, Letham is called Bonnitoun, it being then 
owned by Wood of Bonnyton. The rental then was 500 ; New Grange was 
then entered at 350, and Peebles at 133 6s 8d, in all, 983 6s 8d. In 1822, 
the valued rent of the three properties was the same as in 1683, and they 
were all in possession of Mr Hay, each by its own name, as stated above. The 
name given to the three estates united, Letham Grange, had been given subse- 
quent to 1822. 

In the early part of the seventeenth century there was a lake in the parish 
called the Loch of Lochland, which, with lands around it, and others called 



136 ANGUS OR FORFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Barngreen, were possessed by a family named Pearson. We have not ascer- 
tained when or from whom they acquired the property, but it had probably been 
from the Abbot. On 5th December, 1643, Thomas Pearson, heir of Thomas 
Pearson of Lochlands, his grandfather, was retoured (No. 285) in thelands of 
Lochland with the teinds; the loch of Lochland, with the fishings, &c., in 
same ; in the barony, lordship, and regality of Aberbrothock, E. 19 18s, &c., 
and 2s in augmentation, feudifirmce ; lands of Barngreen, with the teinds, 
in same regality, E. 7s, and 4d in augmentation, &c. 

On 31st January, 1665, Master David Peirsone, minister of the church of 
Kilbarine, heir of Master Thomas Pearsone, minister of the church of Forfar, 
his father, was retoured (No. 410) in an annual of 160 from Lochland. On 
18th November, 1667, he was succeeded in same lands, &c., retours (Nos. 433 
and 614) as in (No. 285) above ; also in the lands and town of Peebles, E. 10 
bolls hordei (barley). &c., feudifirmce, firnus 12 bollartim hordei, 29 bollarum 
farinae, avenaticae (oatmeal), with 12s money pro the rin mert and wedder, 6 
capons, 6 poultry, with 12s for part augmentation ; and 5s, &c., of the lands 
and town of Peebles, E. 20, A Ibcefirmce. 

On 31st July. 1682, Thomas Peirson, heir of the Eev. David, minister of 
the church of Kirkcaldy, his father, was retoured (N"o. 489) in the annual pay- 
ment of 160 from Lochland, as in (No. 410) above. On 17th June, 1696, 
Master William Peirsone, son of the deceased William Peirsone, D.D., heir of 
David Peirsone of Lochlands, town clerk of Arbroath, his father, was retoured 
(No. 542) in the lands of Lochlands with teinds, fishings, &c., as in above re- 
tours ; Barngreen, a tenement in Arbroath, and 6 acres of Berriefauld, in the 
burgh of Arbroath. 

In the Valuation Roll of 1683, Lochlands is entered at the annual valuation 
of 266 13s 4d. In 1822 the property belonged to Mr Allan's representatives 
at same valuation. In the Edinburgh almanac for 1821 the lands of Loch- 
lands are not mentioned, and the name of the proprietor of these lands does 
not appear among the Roll of Freeholders in the county. 

The loch was drained many years ago, but there is still a pool to mark its 
site. A considerable portion of the lands, including the new streets that lie 
between Cairnie and Keptie Streets, in the town of Arbroath, has been feued 
in recent years. The estate is still known by its old name, and is now included 
within the quoad sacra parish of Inverbrothock. 

The lands of Milton of Conon were in possession of a family named Buock 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 137 

in the beginning of the seventeenth century, if not at an earlier date. On 23d 
December, 1640, Peter Buock succeeded his grandfather (No. 258) in the 
shadow western half of these lands, with the mill and teind sheaves, E. one 
boll hordei (barley), &c. The Buocks were succeeded by the Guthries of 
Halcartoune. On 8th August, 1654, John Guthrie succeeded his father 
Henry (No. 338) in same lands, &c., E. 1 chalder bear, &c., of feu farm. On 
1st April, 1662, George, Earl of Panmure, wasretoured in the lands of Milton 
of Conon (No. 384). 

The estates of Guynd, Milton of Conon, and Crofts were originally included 
in this parish, but they were disjoined in 1606, and since then they have formed 
part of the parish of Carmylie. 

The ecclesiastical district of Inverbrothock was disjoined from this parish by 
the Presbytery in 1829, The quoad sacra parishes of Inverbrothock, Lady- 
loan, and the Abbey include the suburbs of Arbroath, and about 100 acres of 
land on the east side and 110 on the west side of the town. The church of 
Inverbrothock was built in 1828, and opened in October 1829. It contains 
between 1200 and 1300 sittings, and cost 2000. The churches of Ladyloan 
and the Abbey are situated in the parish of Arbroath, but the districts attached 
to them quoad sacra are taken partly from Arbroath and partly from St Vigeans. 

Two brothers named Duncan, natives of Brechin, educated for the medical 
profession, went to India poor, and returned home wealthy men. One of them, 
John, bought the estate of Kosemount, in the parish of Montrose ; the other, 
Alexander, bought Parkhill, in this parish, the old name of which was Muir- 
house. John died in 1833, without leaving issue, and was succeeded in Rose- 
mount by his nephew, David Duncan. He had succeeded to Parkhill on the 
death of his father, Alexander. David married Lauderdale, daughter of Sir 
Alexander Bannerman of Balmain. He died 25th January, 1833, aged 30, 
and was succeeded by his brother, John Duncan, in Rosernount and Parkhill. 
Kosemount now belongs to Jonathan Duncan Inverarity, and John Duncan of 
Parkhill is also proprietor of the estate of Sunnyside, in the parish of Montrose. 

Parkhill estate is a compact property, about three miles north by east of 
Arbroath, and the house is a good comfortable mansion embowered among 
thriving wood and rich shrubbery, with garden and neat lawn. Muirhouse or 
Parkhill was held by a branch of the Ochterlonies a century ago. 

Punderlaw belonged to John Carnegie of Seaton. It and others in the parish 



138 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAET XIV. 

of Arbroath were infeft on Kate Fothringham, his future spouse, on 16th 
April, 1562. John was by her made her executor on 16th April, 1593. She 
died on 20th of same month. He died in December, 1604. On llth April, 
1649, David Carnegie of Balmachie was served heir to him in eleven acres of 
Punderlaw and Dischland, in the lordship of Arbroath, which had been in 
non entry to the Marquis of Hamilton, the superior, for 44 years and 3 months 
(H. ofC. ofS., 48). 

Punderlaw field belonged to John Lyne prior to 31st July, 1632. Of that 
date, William Lyne, his grandson, succeeded to it (No. 208). John Carnegie 
of Carnegie subsequently acquired the property, but before llth April, 1649, 
when it came into possession of David Carnegie of Balmachie (No. 308). 

Dischland belonged to a family named Aikman in the beginning of the 
seventeenth century. From them it passed to John Carnegie in the middle 
of that century. John Easson was owner on llth July, 1665 (No. 418). James 
Mickison followed. Most of Dischland was feued for building bites long ago. 
There are no lands in the Valuation Roll of 1883 called Punderlaw, the ground 
being now all feued, but Punderlaw Street and Lane mark the situation of the 
property. 

The lands of Seaton stretch along the coast from Arbroath to Auchmithie. 
They have a fine exposure to the south, and overlook what appears to be a 
boundless expanse of the German Ocean. The sea coast is famed for the ex- 
tent and variety of its scenery. Lofty, perpendicular rocks project out into 
the ocean, forming bold headlands, recede again and run into the land, in front 
of which are tiny bays, strewed with pebbles of various sizes, and of every shade 
of colour, the debris of the conglomerate rocks of which the cliffs are com- 
posed, and the banks rising from these bays are of emerald green. The novelist 
seems in imagination to have transferred the site of the Priory to Seaton Den. 

In former times the chapel and bury ing-ground of St Ninian, Bishop and 
Confessor, stood at the Den of Seaton, but, so far as we know, no part of it 
now remains, the ruins having disappeared long ago. The site of the chapel 
is marked by a spring, called St Ninian's, or St Ringan's Well, and it is a 
pleasant spot. The field in which the chapel and burying-ground stood formed 
the glebe of the chaplain, and has been long known as St Ninian's Croft. On 
22d July, 1492, David, Abbot of Arbroath, granted to Sir John Tod, for life, 
the chapel of St Ninian, situate in the Den of Seaton, when it should happen 
to be vacant by the death of Sir William Gybsone. 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 139 

John of Setoune was a witness at Dundee on 18th March, 1400 (H. of C. 
of S., 503). John of Seaton is mentioned on 2d July, 1410, and on 10th 
January, 1410-11. In 1250 and 1265, Serlone de Seton, Kt., is a witness in 
Beg. Nigro. de Aberb., and in 1238, 1318, and 1328, Alex, de Seton is a wit- 
ness in Keg. Vet. de Aberb. The above mentioned parties designed of 
Setoune may have owned Seaton in this parish, but this is very uncertain. 
Sir Alexander Seaton of Parbroath married Catherine, daughter of Patrick, 
Lord Lindsay, Fife, 1530. 

The lauds of North and South Tarrie and of Easter and Wester Seaton were 
all possessions belonging to the Abbey of Arbroath, having been gifted to it by 
the royal founder, King William the Lion. The earliest notices of these lands 
are recorded in the chartulary of that Abbey, and they are all about the same 
period, being towards the end of the fifteenth century. Sir David Lichtone, 
who was elected Abbot on 29th July, 1483, had not been long in office before 
resolving to turn these properties to some account. At first he appears to have 
let them for a term of years, or on life rents. 

On 26th June, 1485, he let the third part of the lands of North Tarrie, with 
the crofts and teinds. Two days thereafter he let two-thirds of the park lands 
of South Tarrie, and, in the course of the same year, other portions of the 
lands. 

On 22d July, 1492, he let the chapel of St Ninian, in the Den of Seaton. 
It thus appears that at that period both Tarrie and Seaton had been each 
divided into two parts in the fifteenth century. 

On 6th May, 1498, David, Abbot of Arbroath, granted to the Cellarer 
of the monastery of Arbroath, for nineteen years, the half of the town of Seton, 
and on same day the other half of said town, to be held and ruled by the keeper 
of his cellar, or by any other monk of the chapter whom he should appoint. 
The keeper of the cellar was bound to provide yearly a fishing boat } near the 
Maiden Castle, which is generally believed to be a small rocky peninsula near 
Covehaven, part of the estate of Seaton. On the same date, the same Abbot let 
to James Guthrie, senior, for life, and, in the event of his death, to Katrine 
Lyn, who was then his wife, for thirteen years after his death, and to her son, 
the half of the town of Seaton. 

On 12th April, 1505, Abbot George Hepburn let the third part of the 
lands of North Tarrie, and the following year another third of them. In 1521, 
James, Archbishop of Glasgow, and Commendator of Arbroath, let to Thomas 
Balfour and Elizabeth Ogilvy, his spouse, two parts of the lands of North 



140 ANGUS OR JFORFAR SHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Tarrie, and the Almery Croft, and the Gayst Medow, with the teinds. These 
lands were again let to same parties on 4th June, 1528. 

On 21st October, 1631, David Beaton of Balfour, heir of Archbishop James 
Beaton, was retoured (No. 201) in the lands of South Tarrie, with the teinds, 
E. 12. On 8th May, 1633, David Beaton was again retoured (No. 214) in 
same lands, as heir of said Archbishop of Glasgow, his father, E. 6 13s 4d, 
&c.,feudifirmce. On 14th April, 1635, James Lamb was served heir to his 
father (No. 229), Bishop Andrew of Candida Casa, in the lands of South 
Tarrie, E. JG12 ; South Tarrie meadow with teinds ; lands of Over and Nether 
Hays of Arbroath, with teinds, E. 30s, and to some other small plots of land 
in the parish. On 26th January, 1694, James Lamb succeeded his father, 
Andrew (No. 528), in prato of South Tarrie, called South Tarrie Meadow, and 
others, as in No. 229. 

On 1st April, 1662, George, Earl of Panmure, succeeded Earl Patrick (No. 
384) in South Tarrie. He was succeeded by Earl George (No. 450) in same 
lands on 16th May, 1676, and on 27th April, 1686, Earl James succeeded his 
father in same lands (No. 502). Ochterlony describes South Tarrie, then 
(1684-b) belonging to Leslie, "a fine little house and yards, excellent ground, 
lying at the east side of the town of Arbroath/' The property of South Tarrie 
was afterwards acquired by the family of Strachan, who then took the designa- 
tion of Strachan of Tarrie. Alexander Strachan of Tarrie married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Sir David Carnegie of Pitarrow. On his death in February, 
1761, their daughter Jean inherited Tarrie. She married Thomas Rennie, 
younger son of Patrick Rennie of Ullishaven (Usan). Their eldest son, Alex- 
ander Strachan, on the death of his mother, succeeded to the estate of Tarrie, 
and he built the present mansion house of Seaton. Prior to this the family re- 
sided at Tarrie House, which stood on part of the farm of Culloden, and was 
removed fully sixty years ago. 

Alexander Strachan married, first, Miss Stephen, heiress of Letham, and 
by her he got that property ; secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of William Ford 
of Montrose. She survived Mr Strachan, and was married to Alexander 
Duncan of Parkhill, but died without issue. Thomas Rennie, W.S., Edin- 
burgh, succeeded to the estate of Tarrie, and added the surname of Strachan to 
his own. He died 20th October, 1823, and the estate of Tarrie, in terms of an 
entail which he had made in 1812, went, after the death of his widow, who 
was liferented in it, to Captain John Carnegie, younger son of Sir David Car- 
negie, Bart, of Kiunaird, and he prefixed the surname of Rennie Strachan to 






CHAP. LI7.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- ST VIGEANS. 141 

his own paternal name of Carnegie. He married, on 7th September, 1848, 
Elizabeth Susan, daughter of the late Colonel Grey of Backworth, Northumber- 
land, and they had issue, Claud Cathcart Carnegie, born 9th December, 1849. 
He married in 1874 Mary Madeline, daughter of the late William Breakurridge 
of Kingston, Canada, and has, with other issue, Allan Bruce, born 1878. John 
Rennie Strachan Carnegie was educated at Eton and Cambridge, was in the 
Scots Greys, and Captain 9th Lancers. He was a J.P. and D.L. for For- 
farshire, and died in February, 1879, when his son, Claud Cathcart Carnegie, 
succeeded. 

ARMORIAL BEARINGS. 

Shield. Quarterly, first and fourth, or; an eagle displayed azure, armed, beaked, and 
membered gules, charged on the breast with a crescent of the first, for Carnegie : second 
and third, azure, a stag tripping, with an estoile in the dexter, and a crescent in the 
sinister, chief points, argent, for Strachan. 

Crests. A thunderbolt, proper, winged, or ; charged on either wing with a crescent 
azure for difference, for Carnegie ; and a ship in full sail, proper, for Strachan. 

Mottos. Above the crests, " Dred God ;" and below the shield, " Juvat Dens Impigros. " 

The lands of South Tame were also repeatedly let, the last instance recorded 
in the chartulary being in 1532, when the " Medow Akyr, within the bounds 
of South Tarrie, were let for nineteen years to John Couper and Janet Scot, 
his spouse." 

The lands of South Tarrie, as well as those of North Tarrie, afterwards be- 
came the property of John Beaton of Balquhargie. On 5th July, 1597, after 
his death, his son James, Archbishop of Glasgow, was served heir to him in 
the lands of South and North Tarries. 

The family of Balfour, who, as mentioned above, rented the lands of North 
Tarrie, appear to have subsequently become the proprietors of them, and they 
continued in possession of the lands until at least the year 1623. Members of 
the family, designed of North Tarrie, witness charters in 1590, and afterwards. 
James Balfour of North Tarrie, and James Balfour, his son, granted an obliga- 
tion to John Fletcher of Inverpeffer, 6th August, 1623. The lands of North 
Tarrie were subsequently acquired by John, first Earl of Northesk, as appears 
from a retour, dated 16th April, 1667, by which David, the second Earl, was 
served heir to his father in these lands. On 26th October, 1693, the fourth Earl 
was served heir to the third Earl in the lands and manor house thereof. Ochter- 
lony describes North Tarrie, belonging to the Earl of Northesk, as well planted, 
with yards and orchards, and situated on the east side of the water of Brothock. 



142 ANGUS OE FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The lands of Easter Seaton appear to have come into possession of Thomas 
Annand of .Dickmountlaw, he having got a charter of them from John, Com- 
mendator of Arbroath, at the Abbacy of Aberbrothock, on 16th April, 1558. 
From Annand they had passed to Dame Katherine Campbell, Countess of 
Crawford. She sold them to Sir John Carnegie, the disposition being dated 
10th February, 1570. 

John Carnegie, of that Ilk and Seaton, was sued by Esme Earl of Lennox, as 
Commendator of Aberbrothoc Abbey, for money and victual for the farms and 
teinds of the lands of Dunnichen, Crechie, and Ochterlonie, and the Common 
Faulds. He replied that he was not liable for the teinds of the Common 
Faulds, as it was not the property of the Abbots, but proper common to the 
monks and convent, who had been in possession of the same by themselves and 
their collector, called the " Monk of Common" in all time bygone, John Car- 
negie produced discharges, by the " Monk of Common," and his pleys were sus- 
tained by the Lords of Session, by decreet, dated 4th February, 1580. 

John Carnegie of that Ilk was also proprietor of the lands of Invergowrie, 
otherwise called Newbigging-on-the-Tay, which he sold to Patrick, son of Lord 
Gray and Dame Euphemia Margaret, his spouse, by charter, dated 29th April, 
1568. 

He sold Seaton to Sir Peter Young, probably in 1580 or 81. He acquired 
by purchase at various times other lands adjoining to, or in the neighbourhood 
of, Easter Seaton. About 1580-83, he built a new mansion, probably on the 
site of John Carnegie's house, which was plundered by the Bishop of Moray in 
1570. He was knighted at Whitehall in 1605, and died at Seaton on 7th 
January, 1628. He was buried in a vault adjoining the church of St Vigeans, 
and his monument, a slab of black marble, is preserved in the wall of the church. 

He was succeeded in Seaton and his other lands by his son, Sir James Young, 
designed of Invereighty, who was served heir to his father on 10th June, 1630 
(No. 193), in the shadow half of the lands of Dickmountlaw, E. 40 bolls horse 
corn ; sunny half of the lands of Seaton, with the port called Cove Haven, and 
the teind fish of same, and the wreck and wair (seaweed), with pasture and pri- 
vilege of the muir of Aberbrothock, called Firthes, E. 20 bolls frumenty, &c., 
and the teinds ; lands of Wester Meathie ; both the sunny half and the shadow 
half of the barony of Kincaldrum, and an annual of 6 10s from a tenement 
in Dundee. 

In 1637 Peter Young had several charters of the lands of Seaton and others 
from Sir John Carnegie of Ethie, from whom he held in fee ; and one from Sir 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. U3 

John, of certain lands to be holden of the King, dated 9th February. 1638. He 
was knighted by Gustavus Adolphus, 26th September, 1627, Vol. II., p. 301.' 

In July, 1670, Peter Young and his son, Sir Robert, as liferenter and fiar, 
with consent of their wives, Dame Janet, Lady Torphichen ; and Anna, daughter 
of William Graham of Claverhouse, sold the lands of Easter Seaton and others 
to Henry Crawford, merchant burgess of Dundee, and Margaret Dunsmure, 
his spouse, and Henry Crawford, their son. The disposition is dated 14th and 
25th July, 1670 ; and confirmation under the great seal, dated 28th January, 
1676. 

Henry Crawford, with consent of his son John of Monorgan, &c., sold to 
Alexander Strachan of Tarrie and his heirs, whom failing, to Charles Strachan 
of Balgavies, &c., all and haill the sunny half of the lands of Seaton, &c. ; 
all and haill the lands of Dickmountlaw, and sicklike the lands of Wester 
Seaton, <fec. Mention is made in this deed of an Inventory of Writs and Titles 
being delivered up, Disposition and Inventory, dated 13th May, 1715. Since 
that period Easter Seaton has been united to Tarrie, and ceased to be regarded 
as a separate property. 

The Youngs acquired Aldbar after selling Seaton. An account of the family 
was given in Vol. II., p. 299 to 303. 

John Carnegie of that Ilk, who acquired the lands of Easter Seaton, held 
the office of Chamberlain of the Abbacy of Aberbrothock, to which pertained 
extensive estates in the County of Forfar. He bought Carnegie from Thomas 
Maule, 26th May, 1564, and the sale was confirmed by Queen Mary, 17th 
July, 1564 (! I. ofC. of S., 45). 

John Carnegie appears to have been knighted in 1611. 

In order to facilitate an action against George Douglas, afterwards Bishop 
of Moray, and his accomplices for plundering his house, he obtained an Act of 
Parliament, 13th April, 1577. 

On 7th February, 1688, Henry Crawford of Monorgand, heir of Henry Craw- 
ford of Easter Seaton, his father, was retoured (N"os. 511 and 512) in an annual 
payment of 183 m. from the lands and barony of Tealing, in the parish of 
Tealing ; of 102 from the lands and mansion of Bonnyton ; mansion of 
Letham ; lands of Over and Nether Newbigging ; lands of Annatstone, Little 
Inscheock, Myreside, Balmullie Mylne ; lands of Easter and Wester and Middle 
Idvies, and p^ndicle in Kirkden ; lands of Gask, Ascurrie, and mill, in the 
parish of Marytoun, St Vigeans, Innerkeillor, and Idvies ; ane large tenement 
of land in the burgh of Dundee ; tenement or hospital to the oast of said tene- 



144 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

merit, A.E. 10s, N.E. 40s ; tenement of land in said burgh to north of last 
mentioned, in St Margaret's Close ; piece of garden on the north of said tene- 
ment, A.E. 5s, N.E. 20s. 

Ochterlony, 1684-5, describes Easter Seaton, then belonging to Mr Crawford, 
lying beside Wester Seaton, as a good house, yard, and planting, with a little 
park, the rocks abounding with sea calves, sea fowl, and wild pigeons. 

Colonel John Middleton was Member of Parliament for Montrose, Aberdeen, 
Brechin, Aberbrothock, and Inverbervie district of burghs for the years from 
18th September, 1713, until his death between May, 1734 and 1741. He is 
designed of Seton in 1722-3, and of Seatown in 1734. John Maule of Inver- 
keillor was the member for that district of burghs after his death. We are 
not sure which Seaton he owned. 

The mansion house which Sir Peter Young erected stood near the pre- 
sent farmhouse of Easter Seaton. A stone is built in the north gable which was 
originally in the mansion house, on which is the date 1583, with the letters 
P. Y. and E. G. These are doubtless for Peter Young and his wife, Elizabeth 
Gibb. The avenue which led to Sir Peter's house is still entire. It is on the 
south side of the present garden of Seaton. Sir Peter's house is said to have 
been large, of two floors in height, and the rooms pannelled with oak. It must, 
therefore, have been, for the period, an imposing structure, with sylvan 
surroundings. 

The mansion house of Seaton, on the estate of Tarrie, is pleasantly situated 
on comparatively level ground about a mile to the eastward of the burgh of 
Arbroath. Fine old trees surround the edifice on three sides, and shelter it from 
the north and east winds. To the south-west the grounds are open, and an ex- 
tensive view is obtained. The mansion is a plain building, and consists of a 
central section of three floors, flanked by two wings of two storeys each. In 
front is a lawn with flower plots and shrubbery, while to the north is a beauti- 
ful lawn, trimly kept, very level, and well adapted for lawn tennis, or other 
garden games. The approach to the mansion from the highway is by a 
pleasant drive through a thriving plantation. 

Among the old writs in the charter chest at Seaton House, on 14th July, 
1843, were: 

1. Boundary evident of the lands of Easter and Wester Seaton, dated 16th 
August, 1585, "for away puten of warres and contentions as to the marches of 
Easter Seaton, belonging to Maister Peter Young, &c., on the one part, and 



CHAP. LIT.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 145 

the Wester half thereof, pertaining heritably to William Ochterlony, on the 
other part "(Aid. Mis,, 15). 

2. A Crown charter in favour of Peter Young, dated 24th February, 1585. 
This charter shows that John Carnegie of that ilk had got a feu of Easter 
Seaton, and that Peter Young had acquired it from him : that the Commendator 
and Convent had feued the shadow half of Dickmontlaw to Robert Lyon, by 
whom it was sold to Robert Guthrie of Kinblethmont, who again resold it 
to Peter Young, all by charters and other writs. 

3. Sasine in favour of Peter Young, on a feu charter by the Commendator 
and Convent, of these lands, with the teinds and pertinents, dated 31st Decem- 
ber, 1585, proceeding on a charter dated 10th and 14th December, 1585. 

4. Sasine in favour of Sir Peter Young, Kt., of the sunny half of Dickmont- 
law, dated 27th May, 1624, proceeding on a charter of alienation by Andrew 
Annand, portioner of Dickmontlaw (Aid. Mis., 17). 

5. Charter by Sir John Carnegie of Ethie, Knight, to Peter Young, dated 
9th February, 1638. It is not said what the charter conveyed. 

6. Disposition, dated 25th July, 1670, granted by Peter Young, <fec., to 
Henry Crawford, merchant burgess of Dundee, and Margaret Dunsmore, his 
spouse, and longest liver of them, and Henry Crawford, their son, <&c., in fee, 
of all and haill the sunny half of all and sundry the lands of Seaton. 

The lands of Wester Seaton were given off by the Abbot of Aberbrothock 
in the 16th century, and towards the end of the century they were in posses- 
sion of the Ochterlony family of the Guynd. James Ochterlony of Seaton 
is mentioned on 24th December, 1599 (Aid. Mis.). On 22d October, 1631, 
William Ochterlony, heir of James Ochterlony of Wester Seaton, his father, 
was retoured (No. 202) in the western half of the town and lands of Seaton, 
with teinds of same, and wrack and wair of the Houp of same E. 20 bolls of 
frumenti (corn), &c. On 15th May, 1639, John Ochterlony succeeded his 
father, William, in same lands (No. 250). On llth September, 1673, John 
Ochterlony of Wester Seaton succeeded his great-grandfather, William Ochter- 
lony (No. 616) in St Ninian's Croft, with teinds E. 13s 4d feudifirmv ; half 
the lands and grassy turf of Seaton Den, ex the eastern part of the arable land 
of Punderlaw E. 13s. 

Ochterlony, 1684-5, describes Wester Seaton, as belonging to Mr Guthrie, 
good house, &c. 



146 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The extensive farm of Windyhills, lying between East Seaton and the village 
of Auchinithie, was purchased, in 1849, by the trustees of the late Mr Strachan 
of Tarrie from Miss Louisa Rolland of Abbeythune (H. of C. of S., 295). 

The Tarrie estate, which consists of the mansion house and grounds of 
Seaton, with the farms of East and West Seaton, Mains, and Auchmithie or 
Windyhills, are the property of Claud Cathcart Strachan Carnegie. He is a 
cadet of the noble family of Kinnaird, and cousin of the Earl of Southesk. 
The Earl of Northesk is descended from a younger branch of the same family. 

Woodlands is a small property about two miles to the north of Arbroath. 
It formed part of the moorlands belonging to either the Peebles or Letham 
portion of the Letham- Grange estate, from which it is held in feu. 

Patrick Rickard, a native of Caraldston, or Careston, as it has been called 
for a long time past, went to the West Indies, as many others have done, and 
amassed a fortune there. He returned to his native country, and acquired the 
estate of Balglassie, in Aberlemno parish, and Woodlands in this parish. On 
it he erected a comfortable house. It is surrounded by neat, well-wooded grounds, 
garden, &c. Mr Rickard died many years ago. His widow, who was life- 
rented in both properties, died in 1862, and was succeeded by her husband's 
nephew, Peter Rickard, of the United States of America. He died at Wood- 
lands several years ago, and was succeeded by his nephew, William Rickard, 
also of the United States, who is still proprietor of Balglassie. The house and 
lands of Woodlands have been since acquired by James Smith of Arbroath. 

The lands of Woodville, which are separated from those of Woodlands by 
the Forfar Turnpike, belonged originally to the same property. They were 
acquired by the late David Lowson, Town Clerk of Arbroath, whose son-in- 
law, James A. Dickson, banker, is the present proprietor. There is a hand- 
some mansion house on the property, with well laid out grounds and garden, 
and a good farm. 

Beechwood estate belongs to the trustees of the late William Garland. It 
consists of a good farm and steading, &c. Rent, 243. 

Brax estate belongs to the trustees of the late James Alexander Pierson of 
the Guynd. In 1683 the valued rent was 33 6s 8d. The property consists 
of two farms and two crofts, the annual rent of all being 527 14s. 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 147 

Elm Bank is a good mansion, with neat grounds, surrounded with well- 
grown wood, situate quite near the Church of St Vigeans, on the west. It is 
the property of Andrew Lowson, manufacturer, Arbroath. 

We have made up the proprietary account of the parish as carefully as we 
could with the details at our command, but there appears to be some confusion 
in connection with several of the properties. In the copy of the Old Valuation 
of 1683, made up in 1822, it is said that it had been found impossible to trace 
several of the lands in the parish from 1683 to 1748, the date of the oldest 
cess book extant. The valued rent of the parish in 1683 amounted to 
8299 6s 8d. The total valued rent as made up in 1822 amounts to 
8311 14s lOd, being an increase of 22 8s 2d, but how it arises has not been 
discovered. It is perhaps owing to the many transfers of some of the small 
properties, of which there were a considerable number. 

About 180 yards directly east from the mount on which the church stands 
there is another eminence of about the same height on which stands the farm 
buildings of Bridgeton. On the top of it, according to the Old Account of the 
parish, there was a very remarkable echo proceeding from the east end of the 
church. It is said the echo repeated very distinctly six syllables, and in a 
calm evening eight syllables, or a line of the Psalms in metre, and did not 
begin to reverberate till the voice of the speaker had ceased. When the speaker 
moved a few yards from his first station two echoes were repeated, and pro- 
ceeding a little further three echoes were repeated. The form of the ground 
from the church to the station of the speaker was a hollow, and nearly in the 
shape of a semi-circle. The growth of trees about the church and other 
alterations appear to have destroyed the echo. 

A brewery was erected on the Brothock in 1787, and a distillery in 1790, but 
it is long since they were discontinued. In 1792 there were four threshing 
machines in the parish, but they were then of doubtful utility, and they were 
thought to be hurtful to the horses which moved them. There were then 
twelve mills on the stream, including meal, flour, barley, malt, and waulk 
mills, and mills for washing and beating yarn, and a bleachfield where about 
1000 spindles of yarn and 5500 yards of linen were bleached annually. 

The Old Account says the farmers generally dress in a plain manner, the 
common colour of their clothes being blue, and many of them wear the Scotch 
broad bonnet. The dress of the men-servants is a little showy, and rather 
superior to that of the females of the same rank. Many of the farmers had 



148 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

by that time got " good houses, built of stone, and slated, and generally of the 
size of ordinary manses." Previously they had been small thatched cottages. 

After describing the changes which had taken place in the habits of the 
people in the previous half century, and enumerating the advantages which 
the people enjoyed, which were many, with few disadvantages, the account 
concludes thus : " Was the writer of this to express what he believes to be 
the general sense of the people in this parish with respect to their situation and 
circumstances as members of society, it might be comprehended in the following 
words : May the blessings of Providence we at present enjoy be continued to 
us, may the present British Constitution remain unshaken, and may agricul- 
ture, manufactures, and trade flourish. What remains to complete our 
temporal prosperity depends on our own activity, diligence, and industry. 
We want no more, we wish no less." 

" Blathmig (the red ridge blathmig), between the Piccardach, between Drust 
and Angus, King of the Piccardach, and Drust was slain. This refers to a 
battle fought at a very early period in this district. The site of the battle has 
not been ascertained, but it was probably at Kinblethmont, in the vicinity of 
St Vigeans. It was on a ridge, the colour of which is dark red, and therefore 
answers to the description of the site of the battle, and Drosten, who fell in 
the battle, may have been interred at St Vigeans. The battle is supposed to 
have been fought in the first half of the eighth century'* (Sc. Si., VII., p. xli.). 

Many details regarding Scotland in very early times are recorded in the 
Annals of Ulster, but of the battle referred to above there is no account by 
any Scottish historian, and although it may be true that a battle was fought 
in this parish in the time of the Picts, we can neither affirm nor deny it. 

In the very beginning of the 13th century a perambulation of the lands of 
Balfieth or Balphe, according to the usage of the realm (old King David's 
Laws), was made, in presence of the Bishop of Aberdeen and the Earl of 
Strathearn, by the under- mentioned proprietors of lands in the neighbourhood 
of the lands perambulated, viz. : Angus MacDuncan, and Malbyrd Mallod, 
and Dufscolok of Fetheressau, and Murac, and Malmur MacGillemichel, and 
Gillecrist MacFadwerth, and Cormac of Nug, and other good men of our lord 
the King, of Angus and Mearns, besides the Bishop and the Earl. This jury 
of Celtic gentlemen of the low country of Angus and Mearns contrasts notably 
with the burgesses of Dundee and Aberdeen of Norman or Saxon names and 
Teutonic lineage occurring about the same time. The fixing of the boundaries 
at so early a period is very interesting. There are minute provisions of peatary 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 149 

and pasture the grazing of 100 beasts, with their followers, and as many 
swine and brood mares as the monks chose, with a right of shealing from Pasch 
to the feast of All Hallows, either in Tuber tach, or in Crospath, or in Glen- 
farkar afford glimpses of the ancient occupation of the district which are not 
to be found elsewhere. The de Berkeley granted to the Convent of Arbroath 
the Church of Inverkeillor, which was confirmed by Inglegram de Baliol, who 
married the daughter of Walter de Berkeley, and the lands of Balfieth or 
Belphe, with a description and bounding as above (Cos. In. S. E. S. H.). 

There are 61 charters granted by King William the Lion recorded in the 
chartulary of Arbroath Abbey. Of these nineteen were granted at Forfar, 
five at Perth, nine at Montrose, five at Alyth, four at Stirling, two at Selkirk, 
two at Kinghorn, two at Aberdeen, two at Elgin, and one at each of the following 
places Roxburgh, Haddington, Traquair, Linlithgow, Lanark, Clackmannan, 
Dunfermline, Arbroath, Kincardine, Kintore, and Cluny. 

Monastic buildings were not complete without their hospital, and the monks 
were careful to have that necessary adjunct to their establishment erected at 
some distance from the Abbey, though in connection with it. The hospital 
attached to the Abbey of Aberbrothock was situated about a mile to the east- 
ward of the Monastery. The hospital was endowed with lands in its vicinity, 
which are now part of the present estate of Hospitalfield. The Hospital of St 
John Baptist was erected in the end of the 13th, or early in the 14th, century. 

In 1325 Abbot Bernard leased the lands of Spedalfeilde to Reginald de 
Dunbradon and Hugh Macpeesis for five years, at the annual rent of forty 
shillings, payable to the Almory of the Monastery ; and he took them bound 
to build two sufficient husbandry houses, viz., a barn and a byre, each forty 
feet in length, within a year of their entry, and to leave the same in good order 
at the end of their lease. The lands of Hospitalfield appear to have been sold 
about the time of the Reformation, when the monastic houses were abolished, 
as Marian Ogilvy was proprietrix of Hospitalfield in or about_1565 (Monasticon, 
p. 530). 

The Hamiltons obtained possession of the Abbey, and the fruits of the 
Abbey were conferred, by Act of Parliament in 1585, upon Lord John, who 
was, in 1599, created Marquis of Hamilton. During his lifetime what 
remained of the Abbey lands were feued. 

The lands of the Hospital, now know as Hospitalfield, and of Kirkton, were 
disposed of to William Gray of Invereighty, who was Sheriff Clerk of Forfar- 



150 ANGUS OK FOKFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

shire. The Marquis was poor, and Gray lent him money on the security of 
the feu payable for the property, the terms being that if the money was not 
repaid the feu was to lapse. The money was not repaid, and accordingly the 
feu lapsed, and there is no feu-duty payable for these properties. Hospitalfield 
and Kirkton appear to have been sold by the family of Gray to the Ochter- 
lonys of Guynd, who retained the properties for some time. On 29th June, 
1654, Johij Ochterlony, younger of Hospitalfield, heir of John, fiar of Guynd, 
his father, was retoured (No. 336) in the town and lands of Hospitalfield. The 
young laird had not kept possession of the property long. 

James Fraser, of the family of Philorth, succeeded Simeon Durie as parish 
minister of Arbroath. He was translated from Strathmartine to Arbroath, to 
the church of which he was inducted on 21st July, 1653. On 14th March, 
1654, he married Isobel Philip, daughter of one of his predecessors, Dr Philip 
of Almeriecloss. For her and himself he bought the lands of Hospitalfield 
and Kirkton, about 1656-7, probably from John Ochterlony. Mr Fraser 
demitted his charge of Arbroath on 31st April, 1669, and resided on his estate 
of Hospitalfield until his death, which took place in December, 1689. 

We have already said that the estate of Hospitalfield is an outlying portion 
of St Vigeans parish. The small parish of Arbroath runs up between the two 
sections and completely separates them. On the map the estate has more the 
appearance of being part of the parish of Arbirlot than of St Vigeans. The 
boundaries of the estate are well defined, and the distance between this portion 
and the main body of the parish is small. The estate includes the foreshore 
in front of it, which adds considerably to its value. The land is of excellent 
quality, and the gradual decline of the ground to the south makes it dry and 
warm, and easily laboured. 

The mansion of Hospitalfield, which was erected on the site of .the 
Hospital, is about one and half miles west from Arbroath, and about a mile 
from the Dundee and Arbroath highway, from which the ground rises by a 
gradual ascent to the house. It fronts the west, and consists of an oblong 
building, flanked by two oblong ranges of buildings which project beyond the 
front. There is a lofty square tower, with bartizan ; and an observatory, which 
commands an extensive prospect in all directions, surmounts the mansion. It 
is a large, commodious, and picturesque edifice, surrounded with a modern 
plantation, and the grounds are studded with many grand old monarchs of the 
wood. 

The approaches to Hospitalfield from both south and north are entered by 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 151 

lofty arched gateways, adorned with figures of the faces of men and lions, and 
the winding drive from the south is through sylvan scenery of great beauty. 
In the vicinity of the mansion the gardens and grounds are nicely laid out and 
trimly kept. Mr Fraser has preserved a portion of a doorway of the Hospital, 
which is built into one of the rooms of the house, as a memorial of a time long 
past. 

The estate has remained in possession of Mr Eraser's family ever since it 
was first acquired by him. The old mansion house remained without much 
alteration from its first erection until about the middle of the present qentury, 
since which time the present proprietor, Patrick Allan Fraser, has done much 
to improve it, both externally and internally, and it is now one of the finest 
mansions in the county. This noble castellated structure contains several 
spacious apartments sumptuously furnished. 

Mr Fraser resided for some time in Rome, and became a member of the 
British Academy of Arts there. Her was elected President of the Academy, 
and discharged the duties of the office while there. In his absence the duties 
are performed by the Vice-President, but when he returns to Rome he will 
again take the President's chair. 

He is also an honorary member of the Scottish Academy, that honour having 
been conferred upon him by the President and Council of the Academy in 
1871, when he received a beautiful silver medal along with the diploma in 
evidence of his membership. He values the honour so conferred upon him 
very highly. 

Mr Fraser is himself an artist of repute, and the mansion is adorned with 
some beautiful paintings by himself, and others by most of the leading painters, 
Scotch and English, who have gained a name and fame since the middle 
of the century. There are also fine examples of the old masters, and of some 
modern well-known foreign artists. Many choice objects of vertu and ex- 
quisite statuary, finely arranged, certify to the refined taste of the proprietor. 

The conservatories are stocked with plants of rare beauty, including a lofty 
aloe, now in flower, planted by the late Mrs Fraser, the lamented wife of the 
proprietor. In the large fernery there are some magnificent New Zealand and 
other specimens. 

In September, 1843, Mr Fraser married Elizabeth, only daughter of Major 
John Fraser of Hospitalfield, by Elizabeth, his wife, daughter of Francis 
Parrot, M.D., of Birmingham, and of Hawkesbury Hall, in Warwickshire ; 
and, in 1851, he assumed the additional surname of Fraser. Patrick Allan 



152 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Eraser is the son of Robert Allan of Arbroath, by Isabel, his wife, daughter of 
Alexander Macdonald, also of Arbroath. Mrs Allan Eraser, wife of Mr Allan 
Fraser, died in 1873. 

After the marriage Mrs Major Fraser lived with her son-in-law and her 
daughter, and while they lived together it was a happy family. In the dining- 
room of Hospitalfield there is a painting in three panels extending to nearly 
the width of the apartment. In the centre compartment is a likeness of 
Mrs Elizabeth Parrot or Fraser, with a likeness of her daughter, Mrs Allan 
Fraser, on her left, and Mr Allan Fraser on her right. The painting is by 
Mr Fraser, at the wish of his mother and wife, and is a work of great merit. 
By the will of Mrs Fraser, senior, her whole estate went to her daughter and 
son, and to the longest liver of them. In this way the whole estate came to 
Mr Patrick Allan Fraser. 

ARMS OF PATRICK ALLAN FRASER. 

Arms. Quarterly 1st and 4th, az., three f razes, arg. ; 2d and 3d, gules, a lion rampant, 

arg., all within a bordure, indented, or; for distinction, a canton, ermine. 
Crest. A bush of strawberries, ppr. ; for distinction, a mount, vert. 
Motto. Nosce teipsum. 

Hospitalfidd or Seaton may be regarded as Monkbarns, and Eihie as Knock- 
winnoch of the Antiquary. 

Kinbletlimont may be for Kynblytliemount (H. of C. of S., 296). 

The family of Perrott, from which Mrs Fraser was descended, is one of the 
oldest families in England. They can trace their descent back to the ancient 
Kings of Britain. They were feudal Lords of Haroldston, and of 
upwards of twenty other manors in Pembroke and Carmarthen shires, and in 
other counties. William de Perrott, fourth in descent from Howel, Prince of 
Anglesey and King of Man, by his wife, Alfwyn, Queen of Mercia, was father 
of Richard, who wedded Bonna, daughter of Rollo, Duke of Normandy. 
Their son, Sir Richard, whose name appears in the Roll of Battle Abbey, 
furnished a body of men at the Conquest. He wedded Blanch, daughter of 
Sancho Ramyro, second King of Aragon, by whom he left a son, Sir Richard, 
who wedded the celebrated Princess Ellyn, daughter of Ap-Howel Dha, the 
great King of Wales. Their lineal descendant, Sir Owen de Perrott, Knight 
Banneret, was so nearly related to Henry VII. (both by Tudor and Plantagenet 
affinity), that the Royal letters style him " our dearly beloved cousin." The 
representative of this illustrious house is Sir Edward B. Perrott, Bart., of 
Haroldston, Pembrokeshire. SIMPLE ARMS. Gules, three pears, or; on a 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 153 

chief argent, a demi lion, issuant, sable, armed of the first (Sir R. Brown's 
Baronage, pp. 116-117; Bar. An. and M., p. 118.). 

The following extract from descent of Henry Lloyd of Dolobran Isaf, Co. 
Montgomery, High Sheriff, 1883, made up by Joseph Foster, author of the 
British Peerage and Baronage, c,, also shows that the Perrotts are descended 
from the blood royal of England. 

EDWABD I., crowned 19 Aug., 1274, b. 17= Eleanor (1st wife), dau. of Ferdinand III., 



June, 1239, d. 7 July, 1307. 



King of Castile, d. 27 Nov., 1290. 



Joan of Acre, d. 10 May, 1305 (2d wife). = Gilbert de Clare, Earl of Gloucester and 
| Hereford (1st husband), d. 7 Dec., 1295. 

Eleanor, sister and co-h. of Gilbert de Clare, =Hugh le Despencer, sum. to Parlt. ; declared 
Earl of Gloucestor, m. 1 May, 1306. I traitor ; hanged 29th Nov., 1326. 



Elizabeth jDespencer. = Sir Maurice Berkeley, sum. to Parlt., 1362- 
11368. 



Sir James Berkeley of Ragland, knt., d. 13= Elizabeth, dau. and co-h. of Sir John Bluet 
June, 1409. I of Eagland, knt. 



son and heir of William, 5th Lord Ferrers, 
of Groby, dau. of Thomas Mowbray, Duke 



James Berkely, nephew and heir male of = Isabel, (2d wife), widow of Henry Ferrers, 
Thomas, Lord Berkeley ; he had sum. to 
Parlt. 1421-1461, d. Nov., 1463. 



of Norfolk. 



Maurice Berkeley, 2d son, d. 1507.= Isabel, dau. of Sir Philip Mead, of Bristol, 
| d. 1517. 

James Berkeley of Thornbury (3d son). = Susan Waddall, widow, nee Veel. 



Sir Thomas Perrott of Harold-=Mary Berkeley, dau. and heir. = Sir Thomas Johnes 
stone, Co. Pembroke (1st -^-(2d husband), 
husband). = Sir Robert Whitney (3d 
husband). 

Sir John Perrott of Haroldstone, K.B.,= Anne (1st wife), dau. of Sir Thomas Cheney, 

Lord-Deputy Ireland 1583, Admiral of the KG. 

Fleet, died i*i the Tower. = Jane Pollard (2d wife). 

Anne Perrott (1st wife). = Sir John Philipps of Picton Castle, Pem- 
| broke, bart., d. 27 March, 1629. 

We need not continue it further, as the above shows their royal descent. 

Besides the tine residential estate of Hospital field and Kirkton, Mr Fraser 
owns several small properties in the district. He some time ago aquired the 
beautiful Highland estate of Blackcraig, in Strathardle, Perthshire, on which 
V 



154 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

there is an excellent commodious shooting lodge. He has recently erected a 
handsome bridge over the Ardle, and there is now a fine drive from the public 
highway to the lodge, the scenery around which is very picturesque. He is 
also the proprietor of Glenkilry and Coldrach, on the Blackwater. 

Mr Eraser is also the proprietor of Hawkesbury Hall, a fine estate in War- 
wickshire ; and he is lord of the manor of Oldbury, a valuable property in 
South Staffordshire. 

Mr Eraser, through his wife, acquired considerable property, and, out of 
respect to her, he, with her consent, resolved to erect a fitting memorial in 
commemoration of her. Shortly after her death he acquired ground in the 
centre of the new Arbroath cemetery, and commenced to erect the memorial, 
which is to be a mortuary chapel, and the structure is now nearly completed. 
We will not attempt to give a description of the beautiful chapel, as that will 
be fittingly done by-and-bye ; but we may mention that the entire building is 
the conception of Mr Fraser, and artistically and architecturally it is wholly 
and solely his own, and it does great credit to his head and heart. The chapel 
is a noble and beautiful structure, rich in ornament within and without, and 
throughout the entire building there are no two parts of it alike. It is a wonder- 
ful chapel, unique, and incombustible, and, humanly speaking, likely to tell its 
story for many centuries. Such a memorial is worthy of his wife, and of the 
ancient race from whom she was descended. 

In the Valuation Eoll of the parish for 1683 there were 32 distinct pro- 
perties, the total valuation being 8299 6s 8d. The following are the names 
of the proprietors, properties, and valuations of those estates which exceeded 
100: Earl of Panmure, Inverpeffer, 850 ; Do., for Feus, 350; Auch- 
mithie, no name given, 733 6s 8d ; Bonnitoun, Wood, 500 ; Letham, New 
Grange, no name, 350 ; Peebles, no name, 133 6s 8d ; Boysack, Grange of 
Conon, &c., 303 6s 8d ; Collision, Dr Gordon, 453 6s 8d ; .Raises, no name, 
133 6s 8d; Muirhouse (Parkhill) 150; South Tarry, no name, 400; 
Wester Seaton, no name, 266 13s 4d ; Easter Seaton, no name, 466 13s 4d ; 
Hospitalfield and Kirkton, no name, 360 ; Lochlands, no name, 266 
13s 4d; Cairnie, no name, 333 6s 8d; Earl of Northesk, North Tarry, 
and part of Ethie, 800 ; Almeriecloss, no name, 450 ; Ward Mill, no 
name, 150. It was customary in former times, as is occasionally done still, 
to call the proprietor by the name of his estate, and the tenant by the name 
of his farm, and in some of the properties where no name is given, the laird 
and his lands were known by the common name of his lands. Many of the 



CIIAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 155 

properties mentioned were divided and subdivided at different times, and some 
of them were again added to others. 

The valuation of the Roll in 1822 was 8311 14s lOd, being an increase of 
22 8s 2d, but as some of the lands could not be traced from 1683 to 1748 
the date of the oldest extant Cess Book it is not known how the increase 
arises. 

The good folks of Arbroath are primarily indebted to Mr Patrick Allan- 
Eraser for their abundant supply of pure water. On the seashore he observed 
the copious and continuous flow of the water, and suggested that it should be 
taken advantage of for the supply of the town. This was ultimately done, 
and the inhabitants have an abundant supply of excellent water at compara- 
tively small cost. It is known as the Nolt Loan Supply. 

In 1814, the year before Napoleon was humbled at Waterloo, a child was 
born in the hamlet of Grange of Conon, in this parish, who does honour to the 
parish of his birth ; and to the good old town, which, in Romish times, when the 
Abbot in the Monastery was the local king, and the monks his ministers, civil 
and sacerdotal, was called St Thomas the Martyr, to whom it was dedicated, 
and Aberbrothock ; but now known as Arbroath, in which he has spent the 
greater part of a long life, and he is still residing in the parish of St Vigeans 
namely, the parish of his birth. 

The parents of Alexander Brown were poor but honest and God-fearing. 
Their house was small and plainly furnished, but the occupants were peaceful 
and contented' 

We received from Dr Brown a neat print of his birthplace at Grange of 
Conon. It shows a small thatched cottage of one storey, the door in the centre, 
and a small window on each side to light the but and ben ends, and another 
window in the gable to give more light and a more extensive outlook to the 
ben house. The byre, and perhaps the workshop, adjoin the other gable of 
the cottage. His mother is standing in the cottage door, and a boy, perhaps 
the Doctor himself, is taking the cow to the pasture. A large tree is at a short 
distance in front of the cottage, and other two are at some distance from it, 
but the surroundings appear bleak and moorish. There were many such 
cottages in the country in the first half of the century. This cottage was taken 
down in 1841, and many others of the class have also disappeared. 

Attached to the print is an interesting account of " Mirk Munanclay at 
Grange of Conon," on 29th March (O.S.), in 1652, when the shadow of the 



156 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [ PART X1V - 

moon passed over Scotland, producing a total eclipse of the sun. No such 
phenomenon can be again seen in Scotland until 14th June, 2151. The 
working out of an abstract calculation of so intricate a nature is of itself ample 
proof of his high acquirements as a mathematician, although we had no other 
evidence of it. 

His parents gave their son as good an education in the neighbouring country 
school as their circumstances enabled them to do. On his attaining the age of 
twelve or thirteen years his help was required to keep the pot boiling, and he 
was taken from school to learn a trade. At that period young men had little 
choice in country districts, and he was sent to weave linens by hand, then the 
occupation of perhaps half the population of the district. 

This monotonous and uninteresting employment was not congenial to bis 
taste, and his earnings, which could only be small, were spent on books ; and 
his spare time, mostly stolen from sleep, was occupied in reading them. Money 
and time so employed left him little for food or clothing, but by determined 
perseverance many difficulties are overcome. Our hero continued a weaver for 
more years than he was of age when he commenced the trade, and during the 
long weary period he was employed on the " four posts of misery," as the hand- 
loom was often locally named, he acquired a theoretical and practical know- 
ledge of mathematics for the study of which he had an aptitude and other 
abstract principles. 

After leaving the loom he entered as a clerk in a lawyer's office in Arbroath. 
In that position he had not the severe manual labour which the loom required, 
and he had more leisure than the loom would allow ; but his pay was small, 
and he had to stint himself in many ways to enable him to follow out his 
favourite scientific studies. , 

The special matters to which Dr Brown has devoted himself are meteorology 
and astronomy. In the former he has made most important observations and 
calculations, which increase our knowledge of Scottish meteorology. In the 
latter his long and careful study of the sidereal heavens has enabled him to 
give the interesting articles on the apparent movements and the positions of 
the heavenly bodies which appear from time to time in the newspapers, and 
which are eagerly read by many. 

It was in 1835 that Dr Brown first became known publicly as an astronomer. 
In that year he made some difficult calculations in connection with the return 
of Halley's comet after an absence of seventy-five years. Two years before 
the annular eclipse of the sun, on 15th May, 1836, he had actually calculated 



CHAP. LIT.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 157 

its phases and elements. The eclipse took place precisely at the time predicted. 
The day was warm and bright, and the eclipse was well seen. We have a 
vivid remembrance of it. 

The calculations made by Dr Brown were brought under the notice of Sir 
David Brewster and Professor J. P. Nichol, of Glasgow, then eminent 
astronomers. A correspondence was commenced between them and Dr Brown, 
which ripened into a friendship continued during their lives. Sir David 
Brewster befriended Dr Brown in many ways, and brought his scientific re- 
searches before meetings of the British Association by reading his papers. In 
January, 1843, Sir David was the means of getting Dr Brown elected a mem- 
ber of the St Andrews Philosophical Society. 

Professor Nichol had so high an opinion of the Doctor's scientific acquire- 
ments, that he wanted him to become collaborator with him in the Glasgow 
Observatory. Dr Brown made observations for Mr Glaisher while he was the 
head of the Meteorological Department at Greenwich fully thirty years ago, 
and some of these were included in a report in relation to cholera, which was 
laid before Parliament in 1854. Mr Glaisher has since then corresponded 
with Dr Brown on scientific subjects. 

The scientific labours of Dr Brown were so highly appreciated by the late M. 
St Claire Deville, a member of the Imperial Institute of France, that in 1867 
he laid a scientific paper of his before that learned body. The Meteorological 
Society of Austria have noticed some of Dr Brown's papers which have been 
published by the Scottish Meteorological Society. Kecently a valuable paper 
of his was communicated to the Koyal Astronomical Society of London. 
Tables of climatic facts compiled by him are in the articles " Forfarshire " in 
the 8th and 9th editions of the Enclycopoedia Britannica. 

We have already said that Dr Brown obtained a very rudimentary education 
in his youth ; indeed, he may be said to be a self-taught man, and he has 
taught himself to some purpose, as many of his aquirements are of a high 
order. It is unusual for the senatus of a university to confer degrees upon one 
who has not had the advantage of a university training ; but, although Mr 
Brown never enjoyed such a blessing, the Senatus of St Andrews, in 1870 1 
conferred upon him the degree of LL.D. In thus honouring Dr Brown, they 
honoured the University by placing so illustrious a name upon their roll. 

Although Dr Brown, while a lawyer's clerk, had but a small income, he and 
his wife have been so careful of their means, that he has collected a good library 
and several scientific instruments, and saved as much money as enabled him, 



158 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

some years ago, to leave the desk, and with his aged partner to settle down for 
their remaining days in their quiet home. They have been a worthy Christian 
couple during their married life, and we hope they- may be long spared to be 
a blessing to each other, and that he may be able to follow up, in a quiet way, 
his astronomical studies, and keep us acquainted with the movements of the 
planetary and other heavenly bodies. His writings show that he is a pains- 
taking man, and accurate and practical in all his details. His style is popular, 
and his articles are very readable and much prized. 

We understand that the good folks of Arbroath are getting up a subscription 
in order to present their venerable and learned townsman, of whom every man 
and woman in the town is proud, with such a sum as, with his own means, 
will keep husband and wife comfortable during their remaining days. We 
wish them success. 

We know no one more deserving of a Government pension than Dr Brown, 
and we think that the case ought to be at once brought under the notice of the 
Government by the citizens, and that the Members for the town and county 
should be asked to support the application by a strong personal appeal to the 
members of the Government. Were this done, there is every probability that 
their appeal would be successful. 

We will finish this chapter with an account of one of the boldest and 
noblest acts ever performed in Scotland, which was carried out in this parish. 
It redounds to the honour and glory of King Robert Bruce ; the fearless 
Bernard, Abbot of Arbroath and Chancellor of the Kingdom, by whom it was 
supposed to have been written ; and of the thirty-eight bold and valorous barons 
by whom it was accomplished and the letter subscribed. Their names deserve 
to be held in remembrance and honoured. 

In this enlightened age and free country we may express our opinions on 
the acts of the Pope as freely as on those of the ministry of the day, without 
fear of suffering from his wrath, either temporally or spiritually. It was very 
different 564 years ago, when kings had to bow at his feet and obey his behests. 
The details given will make the subject so plain that all will comprehend the 
position of parties at this notable period in the history of the kingdom. 

John Baliol died shortly after the battle of Bannockburn, leaving a son, 
Edward, the heir to his pretensions to the Crown of Scotland. In 1315 the 
succession to the Crown of Scotland was settled at a Parliament held on 26th 
April. This year the King gave his daughter Marjory in marriage to Walter, 



CHAP. LIV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ST VIGEANS. 159 

the Steward of Scotland. Edward Bruce went to Ireland for the purpose of 
expelling the English and winning a crown, and he was attended by a gallant 
company. It was a fruitless expedition, and though the King himself for a 
time lent his personal assistance in Ireland, the result was disastrous, as it 
terminated in the death of the luckless King Edward on 5th October, 1318, 
and the defeat and dispersion of his army, and the return of a very few of 
them to Scotland, wounded and wretched. On 2d March, 1315-6, Marjory, 
the King's daughter, gave birth to a son, Robert, and died. In 1317 the 
Pope sent two cardinals to make peace between the English and Scots. They 
sent messengers with open letters, and some sealed ones, addressed to Robert 
Bruce, Governing in Scotland, which latter he refused to receive, as they were 
not for him, he being King of Scotland. A monk proclaimed the Papal truce 
in Scotland, and on his way back to England he was robbed of his parchments 
and letters, and it is said that the Pope's Bull was torn. The King was then 
besieging Berwick, which was gained by strategy, after which the Scots pene- 
trated into Yorkshire and returned with much booty and many prisoners. 
The cardinals excommunicated Bruce, but neither he nor the nation heeded it. 
Both clergy and laity renewed their engagements of obedience in defence of 
Scotland against all mortals. In 1318 ecclesiastics were prohibited from 
remitting money to the Papal court for bulls, and English absentees from 
drawing money out of the country. A statute against leasing-makingw&s enacted. 
The English King requested the Count of Flanders to prohibit the Scots from 
entering his country. The Count replied : Flanders is the common country 
of all men. I cannot prohibit any merchants from trafficking there as they 
have been wont, for such prohibition would tend to the ruin of my people. 
The English besieged Berwick, which was bravely defended. Randolph and 
Douglas entered England and wasted Yorkshire. The English attacked them, 
but were routed on 20th September, and 300 ecclesiastics slain, and most of 
the fugitives drowned in the Swale. The English raised the siege of Berwick. 
A truce was concluded. The Pope again fulminated sentence of excom- 
munication against Eruce and his adherents. On 6th April, 1320. at a Parlia- 
ment assembled at Arbroath, a letter to the Pope was drawn up by the barons, 
freeholders, and whole community of Scotland. The manifesto referred to the 
oppressions suffered by the nation under the tyranny of Edward, in the guise 
of a friend and ally, from which the valour of King Robert had freed them, 
and to whom they would be loyal so long as he was true to them ; urging the 
Pope to admonish Edward to let them alone, and telling him if he persisted 



160 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV, 

in favouring England they would hold him guilty, in the sight of God, of their 
lives and the perdition of their souls, and of all the miserable consequences 
which may follow. Though ready to yield all fit obedience to the Pope, they 
cast their cares on the Supreme King and Judge, trusting that he would inspire 
them with such valour as bring their enemies to nought. This memorable 
letter was subscribed by the following thirty-eight barons, vizt. : 

1. Duncan, Earl of Fife. 

2. Randolph, Earl of Moray. 

3. Patrick de Dunbar, Earl of March. 

4. Malice, Earl of Strathearn. 

5. Malcolm, Earl of Lennox. 

6. William, Earl of Ross. 

7. Magnus, Earl of Caithness and Orkney. 

8. William, Earl of Sutherland. 

9. Walter, the Steward of Scotland. 

10. William de Foulis, Butler of Scotland. 

11. James, Lord of Douglas. 

12. Roger de Mowbray. 

13. David, Lord of Brechin. 

14. David de Graham. 

15. Ingleram d'Umfraville. 

16. John of Menteith, Gustos of the Comitatus of Menteith. 

17. Gilbert de Hay, Constable of Scotland. 

18. Robert de Keith, Marischal of Scotland 

19. Henry de St Glair. 

20. John de Graham. 

21. David de Lyndesay. 

22. William Oliphant. 

23. Patrick de Graham. 

24. John de Fenton. 

25. William de Abernethy. 

26. David de Wemyss. 

27. William de Montfitchet. 

28. Fergus de Ardrossan. 

29. Eustace de Maxwell. 

30. William de Ramsay. 

31. William de Monte Alto 

32. Allan de Murray. 

33. Donald Campbell. 

34. John Cambroun. 

35. Reginald le Cheyne. 

36. Alexander de Seaton. 

37. Andrew de Lascelyne. 

38. Alexander de Straton, 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. STRACATHRO. 161 

CHAP. LV. STKACATHRO. 

Turpin, Bishop of Brechin, granted to the monastery of Aberbrothock a 
loft and croft in " Villa de Strukatheracli" and also two acres of land belong- 
ing to the same town (Reg. de Aberb., 50-53). The patron saint was probably 
S. Rule, or Regulus. There was a spring well in the vicinity of the church, 
sometimes called BrauTs Well, and at other times S. Brules Well, but it was 
drained long ago. The latter name may be a corruption of S. Rule, who was 
a favourite saint in many parts of Scotland. 

The church of Stracatherach (Strucathirach, Strukatheracli) was a par- 
sonage of the Cathedral of Brechin, and the residence of the chanter (Reg. 
Ep., Br.). It is valued at 20 inerks in the Old Taxation (Reg. de Aberb., 
p. 240). In 1574 Maister Paul Fraser was minister, with a stipend of 63 
11s IJd ; and Johnne Sym was reidare, salary 16 (Mis. Wod. Soc., p. 319). 

The parish of Stracathro is bounded on the north by Edzell, and for a short 
distance by the Mearns, on the east by Logiepert, by Dun and Brechin on the 
south, on the south-west by Menmuir, and on the west by Lethnot. It is 
irregular in shape, its somewhat circular length being about seven miles, by a 
breadth of about two miles. It contains 5304-522 acres, of which 65*954 are 
water. A large part of the parish lies low, and is a portion of the Vale of 
Strathmore, but in the north-west the ground rises rapidly, and Lundie Hill is 
800 feet above the level of the ocean. The West Water falls into the North 
Esk close by the church, and the Cruick water joins the united stream a few 
yards lower down, and close by the stately mansion of Stracathro. The parish 
is therefore well-watered, and the scenery is varied. In some parts it is 
beautiful, with trimly kept plantations, in others, rich level fields, and in the 
hilly district, lofty cliffs, and covered in many places with natural wood of 
various sorts. From the top of Lundie Hill the prospect is extensive in nearly 
all directions, and both pleasing and grand. The highway from Brechin to 
Edzell, and onward through Glenesk, traverses the parish, and also the great 
road from Dundee to Aberdeen. The old suppressed parish of Dunlappie is 
included within the bounds of Stracathro, detailed above, and also in the 
acreage there given. 

The name of the parish of Stracathro is, according to some, a Celtic com- 
pound, signifying the " strath or valley where the King fought." Dunlappie, 
Dun-laipach, i.e. " miry hillocks" Dun is a hill, a fort. There are many 
place names in the county with the prefix Dun. 
x 



162 ANGUS OR. FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

The origin of the name of Stracathro appears, from Dr Joyce's great work 
on Irish etymology, to be found in the words Strath-catJi-rath, the fort of the 
battlefield or strath. The following remarks refer to place names and places in 
the parish of Stracathro, The origin of the name Lundie is doubtful, but the 
words Ion dubJi and lynn duWi mean respectively a place frequented with 
blackbirds, and the black pool. It is said that Lundie was at one time an oak 
forest, and that the timber grew there of which the rafters of the church of 
Brechin were made. The King's Ford on the North Esk is said to have been 
the place where the Eomans crossed on their expedition to the north. Accord- 
ing to the folk lore of the district, it was there that both the parish, and the 
lands of Capo on the opposite side of the river, received their names. The 
Eoman general ordered his army to " Strick-an'-ca'- throw," and the latter from 
the commander of the Scots calling to his men " Kep-a !" 

The last Episcopal minister of the parish of Stracathro was Alexander 
Coutes, who died 14th April, 1695, aged 40 years. He was probably from 
Montrose, where there were many of the name. . Provost Coutts of Montrose 
had a son John, a merchant in Edinburgh, who was father of the celebrated 
banker, from whom is descended the Baroness Burdett Coutts. 

When some of the rafters of the church of Brechin were removed and sold, 
some of the wood was made into snuff-boxes and household ornaments. In 
allusion to this tradition, the following lines by the author of Wayside Flowers 
were written, and put upon some of these ornaments, <fec. : 

This box was made from an oaken log, 

That was brought from the forest of Lundie Bog, 

At the foot of the famous Caterthun, 

Full seven hundred years bygone. 

And since that time, till lately, stood 

On Brechin church a rafter good, 

As, by this relic, you well may see 

It was sound at heart, as sound could be, 

Which is more, perhaps, than may be said 

Of you who have this inscription read. 

The church of Dunlappy was a rectory in the diocese of St Andrews. It 
was rated at four merks in the Old Taxation (Reg. de Aberb., p. 239.) The 
church is there called Dunlopin. In Bagimont's Roll it is rated at 4. This 
was about the year 1280. The church and glebe were upon the west side of 
the West Water, and the situation was romantic. The church stood near the 



CHAP. LV.l ANGUS IN PARISHES. STRACATHRO. 163 

middle of the graveyard, and it was about fifty feet in length by twenty feet 
in breadth. The churches of Dunlappie, Edzell, Lethnott, Lochley, and 
Navar were served by Maister James Foulartoun, minister, persone (parson), 
and vicare (sustenand his reidare), with a stipend of 120, and kirk lands, in 
1 574, and Johnne Sym was then reidare at Dunlappie, with a salary of 20, 
and kirk lands (Mis. Wod. Soc., p. 350). Johnne Sym was also reidare at 
Stracathro. There had been a greater scarcity of ministers three centuries ago 
than now, or Mr Foulartoun would not have had to minister to five parishes. 
He could not have devoted much time to each parish, as some of them were 
far apart from the others. Johnne Sym, the reader, became vicar of Dun- 
lappie, and, after his death, the Lords of the Privy Council, on 20th March, 
1583, resolved that " as the parsonage of Stracathro be itself is not habile, in 
respect of the pensions and takis set of the twa pairt thairof, to be a reason- 
able sustentation for a minister of God's Word to serve and mak residence at 
the samin kirk," and, " as the vicarage is of itself on na greit boundis nor popu- 
lous congregation, it should be united to the personage and paroche kirk of 
Stracathro, as haill incorporat in ane onlie benefice in all tyme coming (Reg. 
Ep., Br.). The teinds were amended in 1583, and Livingstone of Duny- 
pace bad the patronage of the kirks of Stracathro, Buthergill, and Kilmore 
(both near Brechin), in 1593 (Act Parl., IV., 20), but the parishes of Dun- 
lappie and Stracathro were not united until 1618. The monuments in the 
graveyard of Dunlappy were removed long before the last burial therein, which 
was in 1824. The stones were used for utilitarian purposes by those living in 
the neighbourhood. Dunlappie is not the only graveyard in the county where 
the monuments have been used for sacrilegeous purposes. The building of the 
church was demolished long ago, and the stones were wholly removed. The 
minister of the united parishes of Dunlappie and Stracathro farms the glebes 
of both parishes. 

John of Derlington, parson of the church of Duulappie, did fealty to 
Edward I. at Berwick-upon-Tweed in August, 1296 (Prynne, 662). John 
Thome was rector in 1442. About 1561 James Lychtown was parson of the 
church, and he was succeeded by Andrew Miln, who was minister of Dun- 
noter and Benholme in the end of the 16th century (Wod. Mis. 348). 

In Vol. III., p. 276-7, we stated that the lands of Balmaddity, or Bal- 
madithy, in the parish of Fern and Dunlappie, had an older proprietary history 
than any other lands in the county. These lands had probably been gifted by 
King Malcolm III. to his faithful and valorous adherent Macduff, afterwards 



164 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Earl of Fife, who is traditionally credited with having slain King' Macbeth, 
and thereby restored the throne to Malcolm. But when or however acquired 
by the Earls of Fife, they belonged to Duncan, fifth Earl of Fife, fourth in 
descent from the reputed slayer of Macbeth, who, with Orem, the son of Hugh 
of Abernethy, flourished in the reign of King Malcolm IV., 1153-1165. The 
Earl exchanged Balmaddity and Dunlappie with Orem for his lands of Bal- 
birnie, in Fife (Vol. III., p. 421-2). The charter was confirmed by King 
William the Lion before 1185 (Doug. II., p. 466). Laurence, who followed 
Hugh, obtained from King Alexander II. a confirmation of the charter. 

After the death of Sir Alexander Abernethy, the lands of Dunlappie passed 
to Norman de Lesly with Mary, one of the three co-heiresses of Sir Alexander. 
Lesly had a charter of the lands of Lour and Dunlappie from King Kobert 
III. in 1390 (Doug. II., p. 425). The Leslies continued in possession of the 
lands of Dunlappie until near the end of the fifteenth century, when they were 
acquired by Sir Adam Hepburn of Luffness. He had a charter of Dunlappie, 
dated 30th March, 1497. We have not ascertained how long the Hepburns 
possessed the lands of Dunlappie, but it may have been until towards the end 
of the 16th century. 

The Livingstons appear to have succeeded the Hepburns in Dunlappie, On 
19th January, 1625, John Livingston, heir of his father, Alan of Dunlappie, 
was retoured (No. 153) in the lands of Dunlappie, A.E. 3 5s, N.E. 13. 
The Livingstons had possessed the property until towards the middle of the 
seventeenth century. David Livingston was designed of Dunlappie on 19th 
January, 1646 (E. and I., I. p. 389). 

Sir John Carnegie, afterwards Earl of Northesk, appears to have possessed 
Dunlappie contemporaneously with the Livingstons. The property may have 
been divided into two portions then. On 17th March, 1625, the lands were in 
possession of Sir John (Doug. II., p. 564). He remained in possession for a 
considerable time. 

The lands subsequently came into possession of Sir David Falconer, Lord 
President of the College of Justice. In the Old Valuation Roll of 1683, the 
Lord President is proprietor of Dunlappie, the valued rent being 750. Ochter- 
lony, 1684, says that Sir David owned the barony of Dunlappie. He died on 
15th December, 1685. 

On 23d February, 1693, David Falconer of Newton, heir of Lord David 
Falconer of Newton, President of the College of Justice, was retoured (No. 
525) in the lands and barony of Dunlappie and mill, with advocation of the 



CHAP. LV.] ANGCTS IN PARISHES STB ACATHRO. 165 

church and chapel in the parish of Stracathro, A.E. 13, N.E. 52, and in 
other lands. 

Shortly thereafter the Falconers, Earls of Kintore, acquired the lands of 
Dunlappie, and they held them until about I860, when the Earl of Kintore 
divided the lands into six portions, and sold them to as many proprietors, all 
of whom had previously been tenant farmers. 

It is said that four of these portions were possessed by parties named Martin, 
on whom the following triplet was composed 

"Crawhill, an'Ba'hill, 
Rochie, an' the Greens, 
A' thae three are frien's." 

The pendicles had been small. 

The Earl of Kintore had been a land law reformer with a desire to test the 
advisability of small proprietary holdings of land, but it does not appear that 
much information of a practical nature had been obtained from the experi- 
ment. There are still two of these small holdings kept up, of which the Earl 
himself owns one the small farm of Capo, annual rent, 54, and the shooting 
thereof. So far as we can see, the other portions of the land are owned as 
follows : Farm of Dunlappie, William Carnegie, 550 ; Cairndrum estate, 
George David Leighton of Cairndrum, and trustees of Mrs Mary Soutar,361 
Is 6d ; farm of Redhall, David Reid, 380 ; and the small farm of Balrenny, 
James Renny, 85. 

The lands of Lundie, belonging to George Shepherd, are in front of Brown 
Caterthun. They were a waste from time immemorial until they were acquired 
by the present proprietor. By practical skill and much labour, he has been 
able to bring a great part of them under cultivation, and they now produce 
good green crops and cereals. Of this the writer has had ocular demonstra- 
tion. In going from Edzell to Caterthun, he went through the lands with the 
laird. While on White Caterthun, a dense mist and rain came on, and in re- 
turning he lost his way, and wandered through Lundie lands, bewildered, for 
two hours, and only knew where he was when he got into a den near Lundie 
House, through which he had passed on the way up. In it the bracken was four 
to fiveTeet in height, and very dense, thus showing what the land had formerly 
been. The wet bracken drenched him thoroughly from head to foot. 

When Dunlappie belonged to the Abernethys, they probably had a castle or 
fortalice upon it. It is a tradition that they went to the crusades, and on their 
return home found that the lords of Edzell had taken forcible possession of their 



166 ANGUS OR FORFABSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Castle. They at once made reprisals, and destroyed the ancient Castle of Edzell, 
and harried the lands belonging to its proprietor. The Castle of the Abernethys 
was called Poolbrigs, but no trace of it has been found. The family of Aber- 
nethy owned the property of Dunlappie about that time, but it is very doubt- 
ful if the story above related is anything more than a tradition. 

The Abernethys were the superiors of Dunlappie, and their vassals occupied 
the lands, and assumed Dunlappy as a surname. " Angus of Dunlopyn" (Keg. 
de Aberb., 62), " William of Dolopen," " Gilbert Dolepene" (do. 56), all wit- 
ness charters near the end of the 12th and beginning of the 13th century. 

In 1642 there was no school at Stracathro, and on 18th August that year a 
Committee of the Presbytery was appointed to deal with Lord Lour for his 
concurrence in erecting a school at the kirk, and also with Douglas of Tilwhilly. 
Lord Lour, previously Sir John Carnegie, was then proprietor of the Dun- 
lappie portion of the parish. 

It does not appear that the dealing with the heritors, Lord Lour, and 
Douglas of Tilquhilly proved a success, as, on 25th August, 1643, it was re- 
ported that Douglas refused to contribute for ane scool or ane pulpit. The 
Presbytery recommended their Committee to speak again to Lord Lour, and 
to Tilquhilly's " sone, James Douglass." Notwithstanding these meetings it 
was only in 1729 that it was reported of the school it had been " new built." 

The minister of that time seems to have built or repaired the manse at his 
own expense, which the heritors had not repaid him for, and when a visitation 
of the manse was proposed to be made on behalf of the heritors, he refused to 
allow the tradesmen to see it. The kirk and the walls around the graveyard 
were then in disrepair, but it is not said that either a new pulpit or a new bell 
had been got. 

A new church was erected in 1791. It is a plain but comfortable place of 
worship, with two large double pointed windows in front, with a belfry and 
bell on the west gable, and a good pulpit and other necessary accommodation 
within the church. The church and surrounding graveyard is now enclosed 
with a good stone wall. Excellent school accommodation has been erected in 
the parish, and the manse is a good building, pleasantly situated. 

Paul Fraser, mentioned above, had a gift of the chantry of Brechin in 18th 
July, 1566, with " the lands, kirks, woods, mills, fishings, teind sheaves, and 
emoluments whatsoever pertaining thereto." He continued to hold the office 
of chanter of the Cathedral of Brechin, which went along with the incumbency 
of Stracathro, down to his death on 22d August, 1609. He was a member of 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.STKACATHRO. 167 

five of the eight Assemblies, held from October 2d, 1581, to June, 1587, and a 
Commissioner for the preservation of the Protestant religion in Forfarshire. 

John Davie was intruded upon the parish early in the 18th century, and sup- 
ported by the Earl of Southesk. He and six other ministers were ultimately 
deprived of their livings on the ground that they were prelatical and Jacobite 
intruders. The whole parishioners were ordered by Davie to assemble at the 
church, and join in " the worship of a fast for the success of the Pretender's 
arms," on pain of all recusants being sent to the Pretender's camp at Perth. 

Mr Davie, who lived at Arnhall, was factor to the Earl of Southesk, and he 
served other Jacobite proprietors. 

The first Lord Lour was Sir John Carnegie before he was ennobled. He was 
proprietor of Dunlappie in the middle of the seventeenth century. He married 
Magdalen, daughter of Sir James Halyburton of Pitcur, by whom he had a son 
and successor, and four daughters. He in 1632 married a second time, the lady 
being named Maule. In Scottish Pasquils, 409, are the following lines on Lord 
Lour and his second wife : 

U 0h ! John Carnegie in Dunlappie,, 

Thou hes a wyfe both blyth and sappie, 

A bottle that is both whyte and nappie ; 

Thou sits, and, with thy little cappie, 

Thou drinks, and never leaves a drappie, 

Until thou sleepest lyke a tappie ; 

O ! were I John, I would be happie." (E. and I., II., p. 237.) 

It is related that in 1673 his Lordship's granddaughter, Lady Magdalene, 
and John Mudie of Arbikie, were discovered to have been married by the 
schoolmaster of Craig, and cohabiting together in the parish of Stracathro, 
" without any order or consent of parents, or proclamationes." Lord Nortliesk 
and the Presbytery ordered them to be confirmed " in the holy bond of matri- 
mony before the congregation by joining hands together," when they both re- 
turned to the parish of Invei keillor. Lady Magdalene died soon thereafter, 
and her husband married as his second wife a daughter of Turnbull of Stra- 
cathro, by whom he had issue. Their last descendant, John Mudie of Pit- 
muies, died in 1876. Having no near relatives, his estates and a large stun of 
money were left to Leonard Lyell, a nephew of Sir Charles Lyellof Kinriordy, 
Bart. He was the son of Sir Charles' second brother, (I 7 ,, and I., II., 237.) 

The following account of the proceedings of Lord Southesk's factor, at the 
rising of 1715, taken from the Session Records of this parish, shows the dis- 
tracted state of the country at that period (II. of C. of S., p. 179). 



168 ANGUS OK FORFAKSHIKE. ' [PART XIV. 

This day (2d November, 1715) Mr John Davie, factor to the Earl of South- 
esk, intruded on the minister's charge by taking the keys of the church, order- 
ing the kirk-officer to ring the bells at the ordinary time of day, the people 
being warned the day before to wait on and join in the worship of a pretended 
fast or humiliation day, for success to the Pretender's arms, and that under 
the pain of taking each man, master and servant, to the camp at Perth ; which 
warning so prevailed that it brought the whole parish together, at the time ap- 
pointed to the church, where and when Mr Davie himself came on the head of 
near eighty men under arms, with beating drums and flying colours, and 
preached a little in the church, and, after that kind of worship was over, he 
mustered up his men again at the kirk style, and in their front went to Kin- 
naird. This intrusion was continued until the 5th February, 1716, when the 
Duke of Argyle, with King George's forces, arrived in Brechin. The minister, 
Mr Glassford, during the intrusion, preached in the manse on passages adapted 
to the times. The collections during the intrusion were small, and, with the 
exception of 16s 6d Scots given to three poor people in the parish, the whole 
was applied to poor indigent people in the parish of Brechin. 

The lands of Stracathro were church lands belonging to the Cathedral of 
Brechin. They appear to have remained in the hands of the chapter until the 
Keformation, when they were given off to Captain Kobert Lawder. On 20th 
July, 1566, precept charter confirming the sale was given by Bishop Alex- 
ander. It included the lands of Stracathro, with fishings in the North Water 
(North Esk), and with fulling mill and brewery of the same, and pertinents 
adjacent to the lordship of Brechin, in feudifirmce and heritage, in succession 
to the church (Eeg. Ep., Br., 330). 

On 24th April, 1574, a precept of charter by Alexander, Bishop of 
Brechin, was granted, confirming the sale of the lands of Stracathro and per- 
tinents to Alexander Hume of Manderstoun, to whom they had been sold 
(do., 335). 

The next proprietors appear to have been the Douglasses. On 20th July, 
1647, Sir Eobert Douglas of Tilliequhillie, heir of John Douglas of same, his 
father, was retoured (No. 295) in the town and lands of Stracathro, E. 23 4s, 
&c. ; town and lands of Milndens, with mill and astricted multures on the 
lands of Stracathro; Capus, Drimmie, and Newton; land of Waulkmilne, 
Ballunie, Muretoun, Smiddiehill, with multures of the town and lands of 
Adecat, and the dargs of turf upon the muir of Mureton, E. 8 6s 4d ; lands 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE.--STRACATHRO. 169 

and town ofNathrow, in the parish of Navar, E. 12 m. The family had re- 
tained Stracathro many years. 

Sir Robert Douglas of Tilwhillie, whose family had possessed the estate of 
Stracathro for some time, sold the property to Peter Turnbull in Usan in 1656. 

The Turnbulls possessed the estate until 1764, when Colin Mackenzie, who 
was designed of the Island of Jamaica, bought the property from Peter Turn- 
bull. Dr John Mackenzie, who made money as a surgeon in Jamaica, pur- 
chased Stracathro from his brother Colin. Dr Mackenzie died in 1775. Some 
time before his death it was purchased by Patrick Crtiickshank, who had also 
acquired a fortune in Jamaica. He was twice married. The second wife was 
a daughter of Rev. Dr Alexander Gerard, Old Aberdeen, By the first wife he 
had Mrs Gordon of Cairnfield ; and by the second four daughters, two of whom 
were married to brothers of Sir Alexander Ramsay of Balmain, a third to 
Major Robertson of Kindace, and the fourth to Lieutenant-Colonel Mackay of 
Bigghouse. After the death of their father the property was acquired by their 
uncle, Alexander Cruickshank, who built the present mansion-bouse, made a 
deer park, built the long wall which encloses the park in front of the house, 
and laid out the fine existing gardens. His trustees sold the property to Sir 
James Campbell, Knight, in 1848. 

The lands of Stracathro appear to have been divided into two or more por- 
tions, owned by different proprietors, each of whom was designed of the estate. 
This was a common practice some centuries ago. We have related above thit 
Sir Robert Douglas sold Tilliquhillie in 1656 ; but they appear to have dis- 
posed of part of it long before that time; on 4th March, 1597-8. Precept conjunct 
charter to John Douglas of Tilliquhillie, and Mary Young, his spouse, daughter 
of Master Peter Young of Seytoun, of the town and lands of Stracathro, with 
fishing on the North Water, fulling mill, brasinariis (brewhouse), with perti- 
nents, &c. ; with lands of the mill called Milndene, astricted multures, &c., 
S.D.N. Regis. Dated at Holyrood House. The copy of the document is very 
imperfect, there being blanks in the charter. 

On 30th July, 1698, John Turnbull, heir of John Turnbull of Stracathro, 
his father, was retoured (No. 549) in the town and lands of Stracathro, E. 23 
4s, &c.,feudifirmce ; the town and lands of Milnden, with astricted multures 
on the lands of Stracathro, Drimmie, Capo, Newton, Walkmilne, Ballownie, 
Muirtoune, Smiddiehill, and Adicat, with clargs of turf from the muir of Muir- 
toune, E. 8 6s 8d, feudifirmce ; half the sunny and shadow lands of Drimmie, 
and salmon fishings on the North Esk ; town and lands of Syde, both the 
Y 



170 ANGUS OR EORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

sunny and shadow parts, in the parish of Stracathro, E. 12 13s 4d feudi- 
firmce ; town and lands of Ardo, with the march or ingre of same, in the Lord- 
ship of Brechin, E. 16 13s 4d, &c., feudifirmoe. 

In the Session Kecords of Stracathro, John Turnbull of Stracathro is men- 
tioned in 1726. He had probably died in 1760. In a minute of the Session, 
23d December, 1761, the following entry occurs. After prayer, sederunt, Mr 
Patrick Tiirnbull, minister, moderator, Andrew Bell and others, elders " This 
day the minister represented to the Session that he had got from Mr Turnbull 
of Stracathro ten pounds upon the ninth instant, which, with five pounds ster- 
ling, as in former minutes, makes up fifteen pounds sterling, as the interest of 
eighteen hundred rnerks Scots, due by the late John Turnbull of Stracathro.'* 
The following occurs in another minute Manse of Stracathro, 1st June, 1763. 
After prayer, &c., Mr Patrick Turnbull, Moderator, &c. "This day the 
minister gave in thirteen pounds fifteen shillings sterling, which he got from 
Captain Alexander Turnbull of Stracathro sometime in the month of January 
last, for which he gave receipt, being part of fonr years' interest due upon 
Stracathro's bond." It appears that Captain Turnbull had succeeded his 
mother about 1762, as mention is made of the death of John Turntmll, eldest 
son of Stracathro, about that period ; probably Captain Turnbuli had been 
the second and eldest surviving son of John Turnbull. In a minute, of date 
1769, he is designed " Captain Alexander Turnbull of Ardow,'' and is again 
mentioned as paying ten pounds sterling, as interest on a bond, granted to the 
Session, by the late John Turnbull of Stracathro, of the date of the 22dof May, 
1753. From this it appears that Captain Turnbull had retained Ardow (a 
farm in the estate of Stracathro), when the other portions of the property were 
sold. 

The Turnbulls are said to have had the name conferred on them thus : At 
a royal hunting party King Robert I. was attacked by a wild bull, and in great 
danger of his life, when " a stark man" ( ? strong) rushed forward, seized the bull 
by the horns, turned him on his back, and killed him. The King, grateful 
for this timely service, and to perpetuate the memory of this heroic exploit, 
conferred on the stark man the surname of Turnbull (Bar. of A. and M., p. 348.) 

Sir James Campbell, long the head of the firm of J. & W. Campbell, mer- 
chants, Glasgow, was born in the parish of Port Monteith in 1790. He was 
Lord Provost of Glasgow at the birth of the Prince of Wales in 1842, and re- 
ceived the honour of knighthood. Sir James married Janet Bannerman, born 
in 1791, a daughter of the principal of the extensive mercantile firm of that 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. STRACATHRO. 171 

name in Manchester. Lady Campbell died on 3d October, 1873, aged 82 years, 
and Sir James on 10th September, 1876, aged 86 years, both at Stracathro. 
Near the south-west corner of the graveyard a handsome monument of Peter- 
head granite has been erected to their memory. The monument is surrounded 
by a low granite wall, with an iron rail on top, and the ground is tastefully 
ornamented. Sir James was the son of James Campbell and Helen, his wife, 
daughter of John Forrester of Ashentree, in Perthshire, and grandson by Mary 
Mackerecher, his wife, of James Campbell, of the family of Campbell of Mel- 
ford, a scion of .the Argyll Campbells. Sir James had three brothers, one of 
whom was William Campbell of Tillichewan, and four sisters. 

The eldest son of Sir James and Lady Campbell, James Archibald Camp- 
bell, LL.D., born 1825, married in 1854 Anne, daughter of Sir Samuel Morton 
Peto, Bart., succeeded to Stracathro, and is the present proprietor. He is 
Member for the Universities of Glasgow and Aberdeen, and a Magistrate for 
the counties of Lanark and Forfar. 

The second son of Sir James and Lady Campbell, Henry Campbell-Banner- 
man, acquired the estate of Hunton Court, Kent, from a maternal uncle. He 
married a daughter of Major General Sir C. Brace, K.C.B., and he has repre- 
sented the Stirling burghs since 1868, and held the office of Financial Secre- 
tary at War in 1871-4. 

ARMS OF SIR JAMES CAMPBELL AND FAMILY. 

Arms. Quarterly ; 1st and 4th, gyronny of eight, or and sable ; 2d and 3d, arg, a 
lymphad, sails furled, and oars in action, all sa, flag and pennant flying, gu. 
Crest. A boar's head, erased. 
Motto. Ne oblivis-caris. 

The estate of Stracathro is now of much greater extent than when first 
acquired by the Campbells. Sir James added the lands of Brae of Pert, Bal- 
lochy, Adicat, Smiddyhill, and others, partly in this parish, and partly in Logic 
Pert, but all contiguous, the whole forming a very valuable and desirable pro- 
perty. The family have also done much to improve the quality of the soil by 
drainage and otherwise, and they have added to acd greatly improved the 
buildings on the estate. 

Stracathro house is an elegant structure, finely situated on the right bank of 
the North Esk, near to where the West Water and the Cruick fall into that 
river. The mansion fronts the south, and ori this side it consists of two' floors. 
Over the entrance, which is in the centre of the facade, there is a fine massive 
portico, supported on four beautiful Corinthian columns in front, two at each 



172 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

side, and four pilasters, of the same order of architecture, at the back of the 
portico. The floor of the portico, which is raised some two feet above the 
level of the gravelled walk around, is reached by steps in front and on each 
side of it. The centre of the building is recessed, the two wings surmounted 
by balustrades, projecting a little way beyond it. Neat buildings of one storey, 
with handsome doorway in the centre of each, the front of which is on a line 
with the back wall of the house, project on each end of it, and have a pleasing 
effect, as they help to lighten the massive appearance of the structure. Beyond 
the one storey building forming the west wing, and a continuation of the line, 
is a handsome conservatory, stocked with floral beauties, many of which are sus- 
pended from above. 

At the rear the mansion is of three storeys. Extending from the building, 
apparently on the level of the main floor, is a stone terrace, some ten feet in 
width, running the length of the house, and surrounded on the exposed side 
and ends by a stone balustrade. There the ladies of the mansion frequently 
sit and read, or do light work, or promenade away from the glare of the 
summer sun. 

The park in which the mansion stands is very spacious. It is surrounded 
by a belt of trees, and clumps of trees are seen in several parts of it, which 
diversify and beautify the prospect. The trees are comparatively young, but 
they are thriving well. The lawn in the vicinity of the house is closely shaven, 
verdant, and of mossy softness. The gardens extend to the west and north of 
the house. They are laid out with taste and skill, kept in fine order, and stocked 
with choice flowers and plants. There is much glass, vineries, greenhouses, &c., 
in one of which there were about eight pots of maiden hair fern of extraordi- 
nary size and beauty, which Dunlop, the gardener, was proud of. Behind the 
house the contour of the ground admits of variety in the ornamentation, and 
it is turned to good account. 

The Livingstons possessed a considerable part of the parish in the sixteenth 
and seventeenth centuries, but we have not ascertained when they first became 
heritors in it. On 15th September, 1591, Anne and Marjory Livingston, heirs 
portioners of George Livingston of Newton, &c., their father, were retoured 
(No. 518) in the lands and town of Newton, so much of the shadow as of the 
sunny half lands, E. 7 15s 8d, feudifirmw. On 4th June, 1599, John Living- 
ston of Donepace is mentioned. On 22d January, 1620, David Livingston of 
Dunypace, heir of his father John, of same, was retoured (No. 124) in part of 
the town and lands of Connonye ; part of the town and lands of Ballochy ; 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- STRACATHRO. 173 

lands called Bank ; lands of Muretown ; moor of Meikle Perth (Pert), 
Connonye, and Ballochie, with the advocation of the church of Stracathro, 
Buttergill, and Kiluioir, and the salmon fishings upon the water of North Esk, 
A.E. 6 13s 4d, N.E. 26 13s 4d. On 3d November, 1646, David Livingston 
of Newton, heir of John Livingston, his father, was retoured (No. 293) in the 
lands of Newton, as in retour (No. 518) above. 

There are several small properties in Stracathro. The farm of Newton, 
which the Livingstons owned, and from which Lord Newton assumed his 
judicial title, lies to the westward of the church of Stracathro. It belonged 
to his Lordship. He was raised to the bench in 1806, and was esteemed one 
of the best lawyers of his time. He possessed a great fund of humour and 
anecdote, became excessively corpulent, and died at Powrie House. 

He was never married, and he left the estate in Faichfield, in Longside, and 
other properties, and a large fortune to his only sister, Mrs Hay Mudie, who 
survived him till 1823. The Hays of Cocklaw and Faichfield were descended 
from a second son of Hay of Rannes. The property of Newton now belongs 
to the trustees of William Fyfe. 

Newton Mill, another small property, was acquired by Dr W. Ogilvy, a 
son of Sir William Ogilvy, Bart, of Barras, from a branch of the Ochterlonies 
of Pitforthie. He died 20th March, 1817, aged 71, and his nephew, Sir George 
Mulgrave Ogilvy, Bart, of Barras, succeeded to Newton Mill. He died at 
Newton Mill, 9th March, 1837, aged 57. The property then passed to George 
Livingstone Ogilvy, a maternal descendant of the Ogilvys of Barras. Sir George, 
who died in 1837, was the last Baronet and male representative of Barras. 

This family was a branch of the Ogilvys of Inverquharity, and the Baronetcy 
was conferred upon them in recognition of the great, but ill requited share that 
the laird of Barras and his lady had in saving the Regalia of Scotland at the 
siege of Dunnottar Castle, during the time of Cromwell. Mrs Ogilvy originated 
and largely aided in carrying out the plan by which she and the wife of the 
minister saved the Regalia. 

The estate of Newton Mill is now the property of Francis Aberdein of 
Keithock, &c. 

On 12th February, 1586-7, Bishop Alexander and his heirs male confirmed 
a feu charter to Walter Collace of the mill of Meldens, with mill arid mill lands, 
and pertinents, in the parish of Stracathro, with multures, . . . M ; with 
pertinents, Capo-Drimmie, Drymmie, Newtown, and land of Walkmiln, Bal- 
lunie, Muirtoun, Smedyhill, and with multures of the lands of Adicat, moor of 



174 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Muirtoun, &c., signed at Falkland (Reg. Ep., Br., 359). The most of these 
lands are now included in the estate of Stracathro. 

The lands of Ardo were the property of William Fullarton on 18th May, 
1598, and on 31st October, 1605. John Dempster, formerly of Ballownie, is 
mentioned on 30th October, 1631. Ardo and Ballownie are now parts of Stra- 
cathro. 

On 10th June, 1 587, Bishop Alexander gave feu charter to John Lichton 
of Ulishaven and his heirs male of the lands of Capo, with pertinents in the 
barony of Keithock (Reg. Ep., Br., 358). Capo now belongs to the Earl of 
Kintore. Smiddyhill belonged to Charles Murray in the sixteenth century. 
On 30th January, 1600, he and his son James Murray, with consent of Eliza- 
beth Quhitlaw, confirmed feu of the lands to Francis, son of James Ogilvy of 
Airlie (charter imperfect). 

The lands of Syde belonged to the Barclays, On 25th December, 1600, 
Elizabeth Wishart, spouse of George Barclay of Syde, had a liferent charter 
of the lands of Syde, half the grain mill, called New Mill, half the mill lands, 
with multures of Bothers, Ardo, Pitquhortheis, Over and Nether Onthank, in 
the barony of Keithock. 

When the Turnbulls sold Stracathro they retained the small property of 
Muirton, in the parish. The laird became embarrassed, lost energy, but built 
a new house upon the land, and had to sell the property to Archibald Gibson, 
whose father was farmer of Morphie, St Cyrus. He changed the name of the 
property from Muirton to Auchinreoch, which it has since been called. His 
brother Alexander added the property of Cbapelton to the estate of Auchin- 
reoch. Archibald Gibson had been a merchant in Calcutta. Alexander was 
in the medical service, and Conservator of Forests in India ; and another brother, 
William, was a medical practitioner in Montrose. Archibald died 19th January, 
1859, and Alexander, 15th January, 1867, aged 67 years. Neither of the 
brothers was married, and the two properties were left to Patrick, the grandson 
of their brother, Dr William Gibson, whose father, Patrick, a merchant in 
Peru, had died at an early age. 

The estate of Auchinreoch now belongs to the family of the late Mrs Catherine 
Gibson or Gumming, and the lands of Chapelton to the trustees of Alexander 
Gibson. 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. STEACATHRO. 175 

Behind the north wall of the church there is on the ground one large slab, 
from 8 to 9 feet long and 3 broad, and a smaller one, which at one time covered 
two of three graves, which tradition asserts to be those of three Danish generals 
who fell while making a raid into the interior of the country. The parishes near 
the east coast suffered much from the ravages of the Northmen in early times, 
and the tradition may be founded on facts. One of the men must have been 
of gigantic size, as the slab is of great length and breadth. The other is also 
large, but much smaller than the large one. 

Another account of the story is as follows : 

Tradition asserts that a battle was fought in Stracathro during the middle 
ages, in which three Dan : sh Generals were slain, and buried at the east end of 
the church. Three long graves were, till lately, pointed out as the spot, and 
two remaining blocks of red sandstone are said to have covered the graves. 
The Irish annalists mention a Danish giant, " Stracatheras," who obtained a 
victory over the Irish (i.e. Scots), but was soon afterwards slain by them at a 
place the name of which is not given. 

Ancient graves, containing various article?, have been found in the parish, 
particularly near the church. 

In the 1683 Valuation Roll 1, the Lord President is proprietor at 750, In 
1822 the property is called Dunlappie, and the Earl of Kintore is the pro- 
prietor at the same valued rent. 2. The next property is Stracathro, 1250. 
Then follow 3, Earl of Southesk, Adicate. 100 ; 4, Newton of Livingston, 
166 13s 4d; 5, Smiddiehill, 233 6s 8d; 6, Ballunie, 180; 7, Millands 
of Newton, 133 6s 8d ; total valued rent, 2813 6s 8d, On 1st October, 
17(55, 2 was divided thus Ardo, Syde, &c, retained by Captain Turnbull, 
the then proprietor. He sold these parts to Alex. Cruickshank, the 

Valued rent being, . . V l t . 418 9 9 750 

Captain Turnbull sold the remainder of the estate to Colin 

M'Kenzie, . . .' . . 831 10 3 

1250 

On 15th March, 1788, this portion divided thus Westerton, 

Haugh, Killey, &c., was sold to Dr John M'Kenzie, and 

by him to A. Cruickshank, . . . . 380 18 11 

Easterton, Drimmie, &c., sold by Colin M'Kenzio to A. 

Cruickshank, . . ... 450 11 4 



831 10 3 
Carryforward, . . . , ; . . 2000 



176 ANGUS OR FORFAKSHIKE. [ PAIIT xiy - 

Brought forward, . . . i, % '. 2000 

3. Earl of Southesk, Adicate to Sir Jas. Carnegie, . 100 

4. Newton of Livingston, Newton, 166 13s 4d, divided llth 

June, 1804, owned by Ch. Hogg and Adam Gillies, then 

byMrsHayMudie, 166 13 4 

5. Smiddiehill, 233 6s 8d, divided 1st October, 1799. 

Smiddiehill, Speed of Ardovie, .... 155 11 2 
Muirton trustees of W. Turnbull, . . . 77 15 6 

233 6 8 

6. Ballunie Mr Speed's representatives, . . . 180 

7. Newton Mill Sir George Ogilvy, Bart., . 133 6 8 

1822 total, 2813 6 8 

which is the same as in 1683. 

In the year 1120 an insurrection took place in Moray, under Angus, the 
grandson of Lupach, who laid claims to the Crown, which was quelled by 
Alexander I. Ten years thereafter the Earl of Moray attempted to overthrow 
the Government of David I. in the northern districts beyond the Grampians. 
The King collected his forces, and he was assisted by the martial barons of 
Northumberland, under the command of Walter L'Espie. Angus with his 
forces had come south through Glenesk, and he was met by the King's troops 
at Stracathro at the outlet of that pass. A battle ensued, and Angus with his 
army were completely defeated (Hailes' Annals, L, p. 76). 

Near the large boulder on the summit of Huntly Hill, the battle between the 
Earl of Huntly and the Earl of Crawford was fought in 1452, when the latter 
was defeated. An account of the fight is given in Vol. I., p. 320, and Vol. 
III., p. 434. Huntly set up his standard at Hare Cairn. Underneath the 
stone a stone cist and human bones were found. It is thought that a stone 
circle had surrounded the boulder in early times, but, if so, no trace of them 
remains. A magnificent view is obtained of the surrounding country from the 
Hare Cairn. 

At the Castle of Kincardine, a short distance to the south- west of Auchter- 
arder, King Edward I. of England prepared for King John Baliol's resignation 
of the Crown of Scotland, but it was in this district of the County of Forfar 
that the ill-fated King did homage to Edward I. of England, and resigned his 
Crown to him. One account says" In the churchyard (Cimifcerii de 
Stroukatherach) King John Baliol did homage to, and implored mercy of, 
King Edward I. of England. The copy of the resignation of the Crown of 
Scotland by King John Baliol is said to have been written out at the Castle of 



CHAP. LV.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. STR AC AT HRO. 177 

Kynnard, in the braes of the Carse of Gowrie, on 2d July, 1236 (Ban. Mis., 
279). The writer of the Diary of King Edward's expedition into Scotland 
says King John Baliol " did render quietly the realme of Scotland, as he 
that had done arniss" (Ban. Mis., 277). We believe that the humiliating sub- 
mission of King John, and tli3 resignation of his Crown, was done at Brechin 
Castle. The instrument of resignation declares that the resignation took place 
" apud Brichin" on the 10th July, 1296, in presence of King Edward and the 
Bishop of Durham. Edward went from Montrose to Brechin on the morning 
of that day, and returned to Montrose in the afternoon of same day, so that 
the degradation of King John had not occupied much time. The siege of the 
Castle by King Edward, whea defended by Sir Thomas Maule, occupied a 
much longer time than the deposition of King John. 

In mediaeval times the county of Forfar was often visited by the Scottish 
Kings ; and four of the successors of David L, viz , Malcolm IV., his grand- 
son ; William the Lion, brother of Malcolm ; Alexander II., son of William ; 
and Alexander III., son of Alexander II., appear to have had no little favour 
for this district, as they frequently resided in it. Robert the Bruce had also a 
regard for this part of the kingdom, and was frequently in the Abbey of 
Aberbrothock, and in other parts of Angus. King John was no stranger 
to the district during the four years in which he wielded the sceptre, 1292 to 
1296. 

Alexander Laing, who was origin illy a flaxJresssr, educated himself, anl 
became schoolmaster of Stracathro. He parishel near his own house in 
January, 1851, during a snowstorm. He wrote the ballad called " The Raid 
o' Fern, or the Battle of Sanghs." (See Vol. IIL, p. 273-281), and other poems. 
On 3d October, 1840, he addressed the following lines to his namesake, the 
author of " Wayside Flowers,'' in allusion to the occupations of their respec- 
tive grandfathers, the date of their own birth, places of baptism, their names, 
trades, and tastes. 

COINCIDENCES. 
. Our grandfathers rang our parish bell, 

Inviting all to worship God ; 
They toll'd their neighbours' funeral knell, 

Now both rest low beneath one sod. 
In eighty-six to life we came, 

And both were sprinkl'd at one font ; 
Our names and surnames are the same ; 
And both have view'd, not climbed the mount. 



178 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY, 

To one profession both were bred 

Both still are in the land of grace ; 
Grant when we make the grave our bed, 

That we may see our Father's face. (E. and I., II., p. 242.) 

The Rev. Mr Rose, minister of the Episcopal church in the district, lived in 
the " slated house at Woodside" of Dunlappie. It was then a considerable 
hamlet, occupied by the various tradesmen required in country districts, and 
usually found in the vicinity of the parish churches, including " the merchant," 
who required to keep a miscellaneous assortment of goods suitable for the wants 
of the parishioners. Woodside was about a mile west from the site of the 
old church of Dunlappie. The Rev. David Rose and his wife, of the same 
name, were the parents of the Hon. George Rose, Clerk of the Parliament, who 
was born 17th January, 1744, and was the grandfather of Lord Strathnairne. 
The Rev. Mr Rose died in October, 1758. 

When the Ee or Eye Hillock, near the church, was being partially reduced 
in height, a quarter of a century ago, a grave was found two or three feet below 
the surface. It had been carefully constructed, and it contained human re- 
mains. It is locally related that the figure of a fish, a few inches in length, 
made of gold, was found in the grave, but local stories are not to be depended 
upon, and we doubt the truth of this one. Several relics of the past have at 
various times been found in the parish, chiefly in the vicinity of the church. 

In this parish, as in others where marshy ground abounded, the disease called 
the louping ague was very prevalent among the younger parishioners. It was 
a species of St Vitus' dance, and those having it often run a long way without 
having the power to stop. This disease we have frequently referred to pre- 
viously. 

In 1751 seed oats sold at 13s 4d, and oatmeal at 12s 4d the boll ; butter at 
4d per Ib, ; eggs 2d per doz. ; an ox at 2 ; the wages of men-servants were 
1 13s 4d, and of women-servants 1 a year ; a day labourer got twopence a day 
and victuals. In 1790 seed oats sold at 15s, meal at 13s 4d, barley 14s, and 
bares 12s the boll ; butter at 7d per Ib. ; and eggs 4d per doz. ; an ox at 6 ; 
the wages of men-servants had advanced to 7, and of women-servants to 3 
a year ; a day labourer 9d a day and victuals ; a girl who sits at her wheel will 
earn 6 Jd a day, at the rate of Is Id per spindle. These prices and rates of 
wages are a vast contrast to the cost of provisions and pay of the present time, 
but money went much farther then than now, and the people were perhaps as 
comfortable with their low wages then, as with the higher rates current now. 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADIOE. 179 

In Vol. III., pp. 168-9, we gave an account of Dun, and of Dun's Dish. 
After visiting the noble mansion and beautiful grounds of Dun, and the Dish, 
we crossed the ridge which rises between the valley of the South Esk and the 
valley of the North Esk. The day was sunny and warm, and on passing the 
summit of the ridge the prospect which opened up to our view was extremely 
striking. The grand mansion of Stracathro and the beautifully wooded grounds 
by which it is surrounded lay at our feet, with the long level valley extending 
to the north and west. The course of the North Esk, with its sylvan fringes, 
until lost in the woods of The Burn ; the pretty village of Edzell, with the ruins 
of the Castle, hoary with age. To the left were the White and Brown Cater- 
thuns, and Lundie Hill ; while to the right was the equally pretty village of 
Fettercairn, in the Mearns. Towering over all were the Grampians, two or 
three ranges of which could be distinguished, the mountains Wirran, West 
Wirran, Mount Bulg, and Mount Battock raising their heads above their less 
lofty brethren. We were loth to leave so magnificent a scene, but, having to 
visit Stracathro house, garden, and grounds, and the church and graveyard, 
and thereafter walk to Edzell, we could no longer tarry, and, with a last fond 
look of the glorious prospect, down the ridge we went. 

CHAP. LVL TANNADICE. 

Pope Gregory VIII. granted a confirmation charter of the Church of 
Tanedas (Tannadice) to the Priors and Canons of St Andrews in 1187. In 1242 
the Kirk of Tanatheys was dedicated by Bishop Bernhame ; the patron saint being 
St Ternan, Bishop. The church was a rectory of St Andrews. In the Old 
Taxation, given in the Registrum Vetus de Aberbrothoc, p. 239, it is rated at 
forty merks. It is rated at eight merks in another taxation, and in a third at 
16 6s 8d Scots. 

Mr James Rait was minister of Tannadice and Aberlemno in 1567, and had 
a stipend of 100 Scots. In 1574 Alexander Garden was reader or school- 
master, with 16 of salary and the kirk lands. 

One of the Popes made a grant of the lands of Tannadice for the erection 
of the College of St Mary's, St Andrews, to whom the patronage of the church 
belonged. In a sasine in 1614 they are designed the ecclesiastical lands of 
Tannadice. The tithes were all exhausted. The old stipend consisted of one- 
third of the value of the tithes, amounting to 1000 merks Scots (0. S. A. 382). 

George Lyon was Episcopal minister, and retained office till 1715. He was 
succeeded by a Presbyterian minister, Oliphant, who was succeeded by 



180 ANGUS OB, FOKFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

John Ogilvy, formerly of Cortachy and Clova, in 1724 ; John Weath in 1743 ; 
and John Bulk in 1767. He died in March, 1794-5. Kamsay of Kinalty 
left a sum of money for the poor of the parish. 

The present church was built in 1846, and though it cannot be called a 
handsome structure, it has a much more pleasant appearance than the barn- 
like buildings in many parishes. The graveyard has recently been enlarged, 
levelled, and the monuments arranged in something like order. 

In 1824 the heritors of the parish, in appointing a schoolmaster, stipulated, 
among other things, as follows : "No cock fighting to be permitted in the 
schoolroom, under any pretence, under the penalty of two pounds to the poor 
of the parish, to be prosecuted for by the kirk treasurer." About this period 
the barbarous practice of cock fighting on certain annual holidays was very 
common in country parish schools. Game cocks were raised and trained by 
the youth of the parish, and brought to the school on Handsel Monday, or 
other holiday set apart for the purpose, and the poor animals were pitted 
against each other in an arena prepared for the purpose on the floor of the 
school. There they fought until one of each pair was killed, or fled defeated 
from the bloody contest. The schoolmaster got the slain animals, and the boy 
whose cock was victor some trifling prize. We once witnessed a cock fight in 
the parish school of Glamis about the year in which the schoolmaster of Tan- 
nadice was prohibited from holding them in school. 

The old orthography of Tannadice varies greatly, but the Rev. John Buist, 
the minister of the parish, who wrote the New Statistical Account of it in 
1835, deduces them all from Taynatas,& Gaelic word, which signifies " a low, 
warm, green plat upon the water," which completely describes the situation of 
the church, manse, and village of Tannadice, on the left bank, and close by the 
side of, the South Esk. 

The form of the parish is that of an obtuse angled triangle. It is bounded 
by Navar, Fern, and Careston on the north and east, Aberlemno and Oathlaw 
on the south, Kirriemuir on the west, and Cortachy on the north-west and 
north. On the east and north sides it is about eleven miles in length, but 
shorter in other directions, and contains 21,452-403 acres, of which 124-877 
are water. The ground gradually rises from the South Esk in undulating 
ridges until it approaches the braes of Angus, the most elevated summit in 
the parish being St Ennan's, locally called St Arnold's Seat, about 800 feet 
above the sea and 500 above the church. There is a large cairn on the top of 
this hill, from which we had a grand view in most directions. 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 181 

The length of the County of Forfar or Angus, in a straight line from the 
burn of Invergowrie, which separates the county from Perthshire, on the west, 
to the North Esk, which divides the shire from the Mearns or Kincardine- 
shire, on the east, is twenty miles. The breadth from a point on the coast on 
the south side, to the north boundary in Upper Aberdeenshire, is about the 
same length. Ochterlony therefore says the Hill of Glenquiech, in this parish, 
it is thought, will be the centre of the county. 

There is much good land in the lower or southern district of the parish, 
which by careful culture, which it gets, produces excellent crops. The upland 
districts, which comprehend about two-thirds of the surface of the parish, are 
chiefly pastured by cattle and sheep. Rich succulent herbage grows on the 
banks of the streams in the valleys, upon which cattle browse and thrive well, 
and the sheep find sustenance in the undergrowth among the heath on the 
hillsides. 

A whinstone dyke runs through the parish from east to west. No stone 
crops up south of this trap rock, but to the north of it is a coarse reddish sand- 
stone which is used in building fences and the like purposes. This sandstone 
darkens in colour as it recedes from the dyke, and near the tops of the lower 
Grampians the slate clay rock is found. It appears to extend from Johns- 
haven on the east to Easdale on the west. 

In the old Statistical Account of the parish, written by Dr Jamieson, the 
author of the Scottish Dictionary, he says there was a sculptured stone at the 
church, but it has been removed, and no trace of it remains. There were three 
conical tumuli or laws in the parish, but they were opened half a century ago, 
and the ground levelled and cultivated. In them stone cists and urns contain- 
ing black ashes were found, and also cists without urns. The urns contained 
the ashes of the illustrious dead ; while, in the other cists, the bodies of the 
retainers had been deposited around the burned remains of their chiefs. Cre- 
mation and inhumation had probably both been in use when these tumuli were 
raised. 

In the burial ground is a freestone monument in which are inserted four 
marble slabs. One of these is to the memory of the Rev. John Buist, who 
died at Tannadice on 9th December, 1845, in the 92d year of his age, and 50th 
of his ministry, and of his wife, Margaret Jefferson, who died 4th March, 1866, 
in the 86th year of her age ; of their youngest daughter, Margaret, born 12th 
June, 1812, died 13th August, 1846, and eldest son, George Buist, LL.D. 
F.R.S., born 22d November, 1805, who died at Calcutta 1st October, 1860, 



182 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

aged 55 years. Another is to the memory of Jessie Hadow Hunter, wife of 
Dr Buist, who died in Bombay 5th May, 1845, aged 27 ; the third to James 
Buist, merchant, Dundee, born 10th July, 1810, died 28th March, 1844 ; the 
fourth to John Buist, died 7th June, 1824, in his ninth year, and Charles 
Buist, died 3d December, 1836, in his fifteenth year, third and fourth sons of 
Rev. John Buist. 

The Rev. John Buist was a native of Abdie, in Fife. He was for half a 
century minister of Tannadice, faithful in the discharge of his duties, and 
much respected in the district. The writer has a lively remembrance of hear- 
ing him at Kinnettles, where he sometimes assisted the Rev. Robert Lunan at 
the communion season. He has a still more lively recollection of a visit to the 
manse, along with two or three others. On the Monday morning we sallied 
forth to go to Deuchar to try to get a shot at a roedeer, the minister's man 
being in attendance with provender for the day. To shorten the journey the 
party went through the fields, but a lynx-eyed gamekeeper espied us, and we 
were summoned for poaching. Two of the party had licenses, but the others 
were without these passports. The Surveyor of Taxes, an excellent man long 
deceased, came to our aid, and gave us antedated licenses, which enabled us to 
get off on payment of a fine for trespass. It was hard ; we had permission to 
shoot deer on Deuchar, and we shot no game. 

Mr Buist had a rare fund of humour, and was very ready at repartee. He 
was proprietor of Tilly whandland, and Kirkton of Aberlemno, and other lands, 

In ancient times there were several thanedoms in the county of Forfar, one 
of which was Tannadice. The thanes or stewards held direct from the 
Crown, and for ages they farmed their thanedoms for the King. The thane- 
dom of Tannadice was farmed by the King until 1363, when David II. gave it 
and the thanedom of Glamis to John de Logy, who is not designed, but he was 
probably the father of Margaret Logy, Queen of King David, The reddendo 
was a sparrow-hawk, to be given yearly at Pentecost. Logy was afterwards 
forfeited, when both thanedoms again reverted to the Crown. 

The following is copy of the manumission or charter of liberty given by the 
King, David II., to a born serf of the thanedom of Tannadice : 

Be it known to you that we have made William, the son of John, bearer of 
these presents, who, as we are told, was our serf and native man of our thanage 
of Tannadice, within the Sheriffdom of Forfar, our free man, as well as all who 
proceed from him, so that he and all proceeding from him, with all his pro- 
geny, shall be free to dwell within our kingdom wherever he will ; and we grant 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADIOE. 183 

to the said William, and all proceeding from him, that they shall be free and 
quit of all native servitude in future. (Reg. Mag. Sig., pp. 32-72 ; In. to Ch., 
89-249). The charter is dated at Perth, ultimo Feb., about 1369. 

This shows that there were serfs or bondmen attached to thanedoms. 

In some baronies in Scotland there were also serfs at this period, and for a 
long time thereafter. ' William, the freed bondsman, or serf, or native man, 
had probably done some special service to the Crown, for which the King 
granted him his own and his children's freedom in so full and complete terms. 

In some charters " my men" occur, which means the pari nativi, the serfs, 
or tillers of the soil, who were conveyed along with the lands in Scotland from 
one proprietor to another. In a charter by the same King to Sir Alexander 
Lindsay, Knight, of the barony of Inverarity, dated 15th January, 1369, the 
words, "cum bondis, bondagiis, nativis" &c., occur (In. to Ch., 89-241). 
In another charter by Robert II., to the same knight, of the thanage of Downy, 
dated 8th June, 1373, the same words occur, showing that the charters con- 
veyed the serfs on the land as well as the lands not only of a thanedom, but 
also of a barony (do. 96-307). 

In 1371-2 King Robert II. bestowed the thanedoms of Glamis and Tanna- 
dice upon his son-in-law, Sir John Lyon, who had married the Princess Jane. 
The noble family of Lyon assume one of their titles, " Baron/' from Tannadice. 
From that period the Lyons have had a greater or less interest in the parish. 
Ochterlony says Most part of the parish belongs to the Earl of Strathmore, 
called the thanage of Tannadice, and was by King Robert II. given to the 
Lord Glamis, in tocher with his daughter. At that time Easter and Wester 
Ogil, Whitewell, and Balgillo belonged to Lyons. Now, only one of the name 
owns land in the parish, Hugh Lyon of Glenogil, descended from David, the 
first Lyon of Cossens, who was the second son of the fifth Lord Glamis. 

The lands of Auchnagray were at one time a separate estate. On 2d Octo- 
ber, 1G41, Alexander Ogilvy of Shilhill, son and heir of Alexander Ogilvy of 
Shilhill, was retoured (No. 261) in the lands of Auchnagray, with the Brew- 
Seat and Brew Croft of Kinalty, in the barony of Kiualty, A..E. 10s, N.E. 40s. 
On 20th November, 1649, John Ogilvy of Shilhill, son and heir of Alexander 
Ogilvy of Shilhill, was retoured (No. 310) in the lands, &c., as in the above 
service of an heir ; also in the fourth part of binoe part of lands of Shilhill, and 
the eighth part of same, in the barony of Forest of Platane, A.E. 10s, N.E, 40s. 
Auchnagray is now called Queich. 



184 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAKT XIV. 

The lands of Balgillo had probably been Crown lands and a thanedom until 
the time of Robert I. That King gave a charter to Isabell de Atholia, and 
Alexander de Bruce, his nephew, of the lands of Balgillie, within the lands of 
Thanathers (In. to Ch., 18-65). A second charter of the whole lands of Bal- 
gillo was subsequently given by the King to the same parties (do., 18-83). 
The King granted a charter of the davache' lands of Ball ygill achy to Mationis 
Menteith (do., 15-6), and another to same person (do., 18-63). As stated in 
Yol. IY., p. 392, it is uncertain whether .these davache lands were in the parish 
of Monifieth or Tannadice, both being in Angus. It is equally uncertain 
to which Baigillo the excambion to Andrew Buttergask, of the lands of Stor- 
month and Cluny, for them refers (do., 56-12). 

Patrick de Blair of Balthayock "had a charter from Robert 1 1, 1387-8, of 
the lands of Balgillo (Bar., 187). Thomas Blair, second of Balthayock, had a 
charter under the Great Seal from Robert III., 1399, of the lands of Balgillo, 
Ardler, and Baldowrie (do. and In. to Ch., 145-21). William Blair of Balgillo 
was a juror, 25th April, 1514 (H. of C. of S., 527), and again in 1519 (Reg. 
de Pan., 292). William Blair of Balgillo was one of the Bailies of the Abbey 
of Couparin and prior to 1542, and for some time afterwards. John Blair, 
apparent of Balgillo, was a witness at Coupar Angus 13th June, 1606 (H. M. 
Com., 5 Kep., p. 622). John Scrymgeour of Kirkton married a daughter of 
Blair's about 1620. Jean, daughter of Sir John Blair of Balgillo, was married 
to John Blair of Pittendreich about 1625. David Lyon of Balgillo is men- 
tioned beginning of 1603. 

The temperance pledge is no new bond, as the 'following curious agreement 
shows. " Temperance Bond." Dundee, 5th July, 1627. The parties to this 
contract, which is attested by four witnesses, are Alexander Erskine of Dun 
and Sir Jhone Blair of Balgillo. They bound themselves to drink nothing, 
except in their own dwellings, till the 1st May, 1628, under the penalty of 500 
merks Scots, for the first " failzie and brack/' and of 100 merks for every suc- 
ceeding one, and for security agreed to register the contract. The reason alleged 
for this agreement is that the " access (i.e. excess) of drinking is prohibit 
bothe by the Law of God and Man, and that they were willing to give guid 
exampill to vtheris be their lyff and conversacioun to abstain from the like 
abuse" (His. M. C., 5 R., p. 641). 

This contract appears to have been entered into for laudable motives. It 
furnishes unmistakeable evidence that drinking to excess in taverns had been 
a common vice among the Angus lairds of the period. The greater number 



CHAP. LVL] ANGCTS IN PABISHESTANNADICE. 185 

of them had their lodgings, or town houses, iu Dundee, which they occupied 
in the winter months, and they had held convivial meetings in certain alehouses 
in the evenings. 

There was an Easter and a Wester Balgillo in Tannadice. The Blairs pos- 
sessed the one, and the other went to the Lyons when they got the thanedora. 
One of the family owned Balgillo in 1684. The Rev. Dr Francis Nicoll was 
proprietor of Balgillo in the first quarter of this century. It is now the pro- 
perty of James M'Laren. 

Easter Balgillo has for a considerable period been included in, and forms 

the greater part of, the modern estate of Tannadice, In April, 1597, 

Blair, heir of John Blair, his father, was retoured (No. 589) in the lands of 
Balgillawye, with mill, A.E. 5, N.E. 24 ; half land of Blackston, E. 8 13s 
4d, feudifirmce, and in payments from other lands. 

Charles Ogilvy, M.D., was for a long time a medical officer in the service 
of the Hon. East India Company. Having while in India acquired consider- 
able wealth, he returned home, and, towards the end of the last century, he 
purchased the lands of Tannadice, upon which he built a good mansion house 
in the early years of the present century. 

Charles Cgilvy, who was an officer in the army, succeeded to the estate of 
Tannadice on the death of his father. He died in 1845-6, when Tannadice 
became the property of Mrs Balfour Ogilvy, his eldest sister, whose husband 
died of cholera in the Crimea on 12th July, 1855. 

Dr John Ogilvy of Mur thill, who was for a long period a medical practi- 
tioner in Forfar, had by his wife, Margaret Ogilvy, a daughter, Jean, who was 
married to Walter Ogilvy of Clova, afterwards Earl of Airlie, and was his 
second wife. I)r Ogilvy 's youngest daughter was married to John Ogilvy of 
Inshewan. John Ogilvy of Leitfie married first a daughter of Ogilvy of 
Shannall, by whom he had a son William, who married Elizabeth, daughter 
of John Ogilvy of Inshewan, as stated above. John Ogilvy married secondly 
Miss Eattray of Craighall, by whom he had a son, Thomas, who was killed in 
action in India, and three daughters who died unmarried. 

The estate of Tannadice was purchased by William Neish of Clepington, 
from Mrs Balfour Ogilvy in 1870. Since he acquired the property he has 
done much to improve the lands, and ho has made large and judicious addi- 
tions to the mansion house, and greatly beautified its surroundings, thereby 
increasing the value of the property, and the amenity of his dwelling and 
policies. 

2A 



186 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE.^ [PART XIV. 

William Neish of Tannadice is the second son of the late William Neish, 
merchant, Dundee, by Abigail, daughter of William Bisset of Dundee. He was 
born in 1815, his elder brother being the late James Neish of The Laws and 
Omachie. In 1848 he married a daughter of George Watson of Calcutta, by 
whom he has George Watson, and other issue. He is also proprietor of the estate 
of Easter Clepington, Dundee, which he purchased from E. H. Arklay in 1856. 
He practised for some years as a solicitor in Dundee, but was called to the Bar 
at Lincoln's Inn, 1859. He is a J.P. and a Commissioner of Supply for the 
County of Forfar. 

The farms of Easter and Wester Balgillo, and of Barnyards, and others, are 
included in the Tannadice estate, the property of Mr Neish. 

Barnyards was long the property of the Lindsays, and, being within a short 
distance of Finhaven Castle, was known as the Haugh of Tannadice. There 
had been a fortalice, occupied by a Lindsay family, designed of the Haugh of 
Tannadice, who held the hereditary office of constable of the castle and manor 
of Finhaven. Early in the 17th century the Lyells of Murthill acquired the 
kirklands of Tannadice, called Barnyards. On 2d September, 1653, John 
Lyell succeeded his father, Colonel Lyell of Murthill, in that property, and in 
Barnyards (No. 325), E. 15 of feu duty. On 3d February, 1654^ he was 
again retoured (No. 328) in same lands. 

The Yeamans of Dry burgh subsequently acquired Barnyards. On 7th May, 
1678, Patrick Yeaman of Dryburgh was served heir to his father, Patrick, in 
the ecclesiastical lands of Tannadice, called Barnyards (No. 473), feu duty, 
15 ; also in lands, barony, and thanage of Tannadice, and salmon fishings, in 
the parish of Tannadice, A.E 16, N.E. 64, and in lands in other parishes. 
The salmon fishings had previously been in possession of the Barclays of Auch- 
leuchrie, as Alexander Barclay, son of David Barclay of Wester Auchleuchrie, 
was on 7th January, 1626, retoured (No. 157) in that property, and in the 
salmon fishings. And on 14th November, 1671, John, son of Alexander Bar- 
clay, was retoured (No. 451) in same lands and fishings, A.E. 20s, N.E. 4. 
Auchleuchrie is now included in the Inshewan estate. 

The lands of Wester Balgillo, Loups of Balgillo, and other small holdings 
belong to James M'Laren, residing at Balgarock. He succeeded his father in 
the estate, and is a Magistrate and Commissioner of Supply of the County 
of Forfar. He is also a naval engineer. 



CHAP. LVI.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 187 

It is supposed by some parties that King Robert I. granted to one Ring or 
Rhind the lands of Cairn, in the Forest of Platane or Platerr. David II. gave 
Marthaco Rind four oxengate of land of Cass, and four oxengate of land in 
Forest of Platter (In. to Ch., 66-6), and (do. 81-161). In the latter charter 
it is called arable land adjoining the land of Gas. The reddendo two silver 
pennies annually at the Castle of Forfar. The charter was given at Dundee, 
31st July, 1366. This grant of King David's may be the lands now called 
Cairn. They came into possession of the Lindsays with the grant of Platane, 
and they remained in possession of that family, Mr Jervise says, until 1655, 
but Lord Lindsay (Lives 432) connects the family with the property until the 
beginning of the 18th century, thus Henry Lindsay of Cairn, son of Alexander 
Lindsay, younger of Pitairlie, was father of John of Cairn or Cairnie, who was 
served his father's heir in 1698. John Lindsay of Cairn, 1710. 

The estate of Cairn, or Logic's Cairn, with which Wolf Law and some other 
lands were connected in former times, has long been in possession of Colonel 
John Grant Kinloch of Kilrie, Logie, &c. 

We are not able to give the boundaries of the thanedom of Tannadice, nor 
to give with any pretence to accuracy the names of the many lands embraced 
within the grant. The thanage of Tannadice may have been, and probably 
was, with the exception of Balgillo, co- extensive with the parish; but, if so, 
some of the lands must have been given off within a comparatively short period 
after they were gifted to Sir John Lyon. Some of the lands belonging to the 
Earl in the parish in 1695 are mentioned Vol. I., p. 355. On 29th October, 
1695, John, Earl of Strathmore, heir of Earl Patrick, his father, was retoured 
(No. 536) in the lands of Torrilands, Inshewan, and Shielhill, &c., also in those 
of Easter Ogil, town and lands of Easter and Wester Memus, but it may have 
been in the superiority only of some of these lands to which Earl John was served 
heir, as Inshewan then belonged to the Ogilvys of Inshewan. There is no part 
of Shielhill estate in Tannadice now. 

Robert II., by charter, relieved John Lyon of ten pounds sterling of the 
taxation on the thanage of Glamis (In. to Ch., 131-27). 
f 

The lands of Coul, in the thanedom of Tannadice, were Crown property in 
the time of David II. That sovereign gave a charter to Malcolm Ramsay, of the 
family of Auchterhouse, of the lands of Mains and fourth part of Coul (In. to Ch. 
35-27). The same King gave a charter to Ade Irvine of the lands of Mains 



188 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

and fourth part of Coul (do. 51-36). There was also a Little and a Meikle Coul. 
The estate of Coul was included in the thanedom of Tannadice, conferred 
upon Sir John Lyon by Eobert II. 

Ochterlony does not enumerate Coul among the estates, the proprietors of 
which he names. It had therefore been included among possessions of the 
Earl of Strathmore, who then owned " most part of the parish," The lands 
had probably passed from the Earl to the Nairns of Dunsinnan. About the 
year 1765 Thomas Ogiivy of Ruthven purchased the estate of Coul from a son 
of Sir William Nairn of Dunsinnan, It has remained in this family since that 
period, the present proprietor being Colonel Thomas Wedderburn Ogiivy of 
Ruthven and Coul. There is no mansion house upon Coul, Colonel Ogiivy 
residing, when in the county, at Ruthven House, on the banks of the Isla. Some 
account of the family is given in the chapter on the parish of Ruthven. 

The lands of Easter Memus and Coul were included in the thanage of Tan- 
nadice. They were, acquired from the Lyons, thanes of Tannadice, at an early 
period, by cadets of the Irvines of Drum, who owned several properties in 
Angus. On 8th May, 1422, an agreement was entered into between Reginald 
de Irwyn, domino de Mames (Memus) and Patrick de Ogylay (Ogiivy) domino 
de grandon, for an excambion of lands. Reginald gave to Patrick all the lands 
of Mames, with one-fourth part of the town of Coul, with the mill and mul- 
tures of the same, with pertinents in the County of Angus ; Patrick giving 
Reginald in return the town of Glencuthill, with mill of same, with pertinents 
in the County of Aberdeen. The agreement was signed at Aberdeen. On 
llth June following, John Lyon, Dominus de Glammys, the lord superior of 
the lands of Memus and Coul, confirmed the excambion at Perth. 

David Rollox was designed of Memus in 1508 (H. of C. of S., 22). On 20th 
July, 1622, William Guthrie of that Ilk was retoured (No. 141) as heir to his 
father, Alexander Guthrie, of that Ilk, in the lands of Memus. He had no 
male issue. Before 1684 Memus had been divided, as Ochterlony mentions 
Guthrie of Memus, and Livingston of Memus. Easter Mernus subsequently 
came into possession of the Ogilvys of Inshewan, and the proprietary history 
of the lands is thereafter the same as those of Inshewan. John Ogiivy 
of Inshewan is also the proprietor of Easter Memus. There is a new 
Free Church and manse at the village of Memus. It is about half way 
between the parish churches of Cortachy and Tannadice, and is thus con- 
veniently placed. 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 189 

The properties of Kinalty and Glenquiech, and also Wester Memus, were 
acquired by the Earl of Buchan from the Earl of Strathmore in the beginning 
of the 16th century, if not earlier. On 3d May, 1506, John Stewart, third 
Earl of Buchan, had from Lord Glamis a precept for infefting him in Memus 
Wester, as heir of his father (Doug. I., 268). On 14th June, 1549, James 
Master of Buchan got a charter of the lands of Kinalty and Glenquiech. Kin- 
alty was acquired by Colonel Battray of Downie Park, and Downie Park, in- 
cluding Kinalty, was acquired by the late Earl of Airlie, and is now part of 
the Airlie estates. 

Glenquiech and Wester Memus were acquired by the Barnyard branch of 
the Lindsays about the middle of the 17th century (Lives 437). Robert Lind- 
say of Glenquiech was in 1664 served heir to his father, James Lindsay of 
Glenquiech, and, in 1692, to his grand-uncle, Patrick Lindsay of Barnyards. 
Kobert Lindsay also owned Wester Memus ; they ended in Kev. David Lindsay, 
Episcopal minister, St Andrews, about the middle of last century. 

The estate of Glenquiech was acquired by the Fullartons of that Ilk. 
William Fullarton was proprietor in 1785. This property, and Wester Memus 
came into possession of the Grants, who sold them to John Maclagan, M.D., 
who had been a doctor in the army. At his death in 1831 they passed to 
Archibald Anderson, his nephew: He died about 1834, and was succeeded by 
his sister. She was married to David Sinclair, and carried the property with 
her. He assumed the additional surname of Maclagan. The properties of 
Glenquiech and Wester Memus are now possessed by their son, John Alexander 
Sinclair Maclagan. There is a neat, comfortable mansion on the estate, em- 
bowered among thriving plantations. 

Dr Maclagan and his successors were natives of Strathtay, Breadalbane. It 
is related that the doctor cured the late Earl of Breadalbane of a dangerous 
disease, and the Earl, from gratitude, gave him one hundred guineas, and was 
ever afterwards his friend and patron. 

Ochterlony says " it is thought the hill of Glenquiech is the centre of Angus." 
It may not be the exact centre of the county, but, looking at its position on the 
map, it is not far from the central point. 

\ 

The lands of Downie Park and Kinalty were originally part of the Inver- 
quharity estate. They were acquired by Lieutenant-Colonel William Rattray, of 
the Hon. East India Company's Bengal Artillery. He was born 30th October, 
1752. For the antecedents of the family, see Vol. II., p. 362. He married J. 



190 ANGUS OH FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

Henrietta, daughter of the late Rankin of Dudhope, and built a 

fine square mansion on the left bank of the South Esk, in the vicinity of 
Cortachy Castle, and overlooking that fine demesne. It stands on a terrace 
amid finely laid out gardens and grounds, surrounded with wood, and 
overlooking the venerable Castle of Inverquharity, which stands on the 
right bank of the river, but a little farther down the stream. The house 
is a prominent object before crossing the Prosen on the way to Clova. 

Colonel Rattray died 20th December, 1819, aged 67 years, and was buried 
in a private burial place at Downie Park, but his remains were afterwards re- 
moved to the Howff of Dundee. 

His widow occasionally resided in the mansion. A few years ago the late 
Earl of Airlie purchased the house and grounds, &c., of Downie Park from the 
trustees of Colonel Rattray 's family. 

St Colm's Fair, or market of Muirsketh, was held at Cortachy. In 1681 the 
Earl of Airlie had a warrant to hold two fairs yearly at Cortachy, with a weekly 
market at the Kirktown. The New Statistical Account says the two fairs were 
commonly called the Collow markets, from the name of the farm near to which 
they were held. 

The Nine Maidens' Well is near the church, and Mr Jervise suggests that 
there may have been an altar to them within the church. 

We have had considerable difficulty in tracing the proprietary history of 
Ogil. The Lyons and the Fentons were co-existant proprietors of Ogil at an 
early period, and we have not ascertained the particular lands which they sever- 
ally owned. Since then there has been more than one distinct estate known 
by the common name, and several subdivisions of Ogil have been made since 
the Fentons disappeared. At the present time there are two distinct properties 
each known as Glenogil. 

In the following paragraph there is a reference to one of the Fentons, pro- 
bably of Ogil. It is the names of the renters of the teinds of the parish of 
Fern, in the time of Thomas Hamilton, the parson, and the sums paid for cer- 
tain of the lands in that parish towards the end of the 15th century. John of 
Fothringham was charged xii merkis and thre wedderis for Auchinlochy, and 
the third part of Bochquharne ; Johne of Feme, iv merks, or ellis half a chalder 
of vitale, for the Mill of Feme ; and David Lindesay, and Paule of Fentoune 
(? of Ogil), viii merkis, ii wedderis, and a, Scottis bow, the price of the bow 
x s., for the teyndis of Duchre (Acta Dom. Concil, 25th October, 1488) (L. 
of L., 179-80). 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 191 

The Fentons were for a long period designed of Ogil. They were cadets of 
the ancient and noble family of Fenton of Baikie, &c., some notice of whom 
was given in Vol. II., pp. 330-2. The earliest notice we have met with of the 
Fentons of Ogil is in the Register of the Cathedral of Brechin. Thomas Fenton 
of Ogil was a witness 1st July, 1450, and on 19th March, 1450-1 (Reg. Ep. 
Br., I., p. 141), but the family may have acquired the property long before 
that period. Alexander Fenton of Ogil was a juror on 28th April, 1482 (H. 
of C. of S., 522). Thomas Fenton was a juror 16th May, 1508 (do. 524). 
William Fenton of Ogil was a witness 15th January, 1547-8 (do. 235). David 
Fenton fear of Ogil 3d December, 1558 (do. 280). Of that date he gave pre- 
cept in favour of Robert Collace of Balnamoon, and Elizabeth Bruce, his 
spouse, of Findowrie, and on 22d May, 1563, he gave warrandice of Fin- 
dowrie to these parties. 

James Fenton of Ogil was one of the arbiters in the dispute between the 
Ogilvys of Inverquharity and Clova, arising out of the desertion of his clan by 
a son of Inverquharity at the battle of Arbroath, for which service the Earl of 
Crawford gave him a charter of Clova. James Fenton was a juror in 1519 
(Reg. de Pan., 292), and on 13th April, 1532 (H. of C. of S., 528). He is 
mentioned 25th May, 1535, and on 26th May, 1544 (Reg. Ep. Br., IT., p. 186). 

The Fentons of Ogil had acquired the estate of Findowrie in 1558. Four 
years before David Fenton sold Findowrie, he and several others were charged 
for " abiding" from the raids of Leith and Lawder that year. David and his 
brother James were accused of the slaughter of William Currour, and the 
mutilation of Thomas Currour of his right hand. They were sons of Andrew 
Currour of Logic Meigle, or Logie Mill. Andrew was a juror 13th April, 
1532 (H. of C. of S., 528). Andrew Currour of Logie Meigle was a witness 
5th May, 1506 (do.). 

Whatever the Fentons may have been in early times they appear to have 
become a wild, turbulent family in later years. 

In 1571 David Lindsay of Barnyards, in this parish, killed John Fenton. The 
slaughter of the Currours arose out of an ancient family feud, but the cause of 
the slaughter of Fenton is not known. Such outrages show the turbulent state 
of society in the latter half of the sixteenth century, and the little value the 
Angus lairds set upon the lives of their neighbours at that period. The wife 
of Lindsay, an Ogilvy of Inchmartin, was accessory to the death of Fenton. 

In 1585 Fenton of Ogil, Deuchar of that Ilk, Dempster of Careston, and 
David \Vaterston, portiorier of Waterston and other adjoining lands, were 
charged by the Bishop and Chapter of Brechin with having taken possession 



192 ANGUS OK FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

of, and built houses upon, and cultivated part of the commonty of the city of 
Brechin. Lord Gray, then Sheriff of the county, declared the whole muir to 
be a commonty belonging to the Bishop and Chapter, and to the citizens of 
Brechin. This common was of great extent, extending from the Gallows Hill 
of Keithock on the east, westward to the Law of Fern, being about eight miles 
in length by nearly one and a half in breadth. The city of Brechin draws feu 
duties from those parties who have buildings upon it. 

The Fentons had retained possession of Ogil for some time after 1585. 
The last mention of them which we have met with is the following re- 
tour: On 21st January, 1604, James Fenton of Ogil, perhaps a son of 
the James mentioned above, was retoured (No. 39) in the lands of Ogil, with 
the mill, A.E. 10, N.E. 33. The retour does not mention to whom James 
was served heir, as is generally done. He may have been the last Fenton, 
laird of Ogil, as they disappear from Ogil about that period. 

THE FENTON ARMS. 

Arms. Argent, three crescents, gules. 

Crest. A palm tree growing out of a rock, proper. 

Motto. Per ardua surgo I rise through difficulties. 

According to the Strathmore MS. the lands of Easter and Wester Ogii 
were possessed by the descendants of William, brother of the third and fourth 
Lords Glamis, probably towards the end of the fifteenth century. The present 
proprietor of Glen Ogil, Hugh Lyon, is descended from David Lyon, the first 
of Cossens, who was the second son of the fifth Lord Glamis. He had a charter 
of Cossens in 1492. The Lords Glamis being thanes of Tannadice, it is pro- 
bable that one of the sons of David of Cossens would get Glen Ogil after he 
became of age, and wanted to have an establishment of his own. 

The lands of Ogil are in the Braes of Angus. They are watered by the 
beautiful, pellucid, small river Noran ; which, rising in the southern ranges 
of the Grampians, flows through Glen Ogii into Strathmore, and for some dis- 
tance separates this parish from Fern. When visiting the district with the 
respected minister of Fern, Kev. Mr Ferguson, he pointed out a valley running 
eastward from Glen Ogil, through which, it is supposed, the Noran had atone 
time ran, instead of by the present course to the South Esk. The ground at 
the entrance to the valley does not rise high above the stream, and the supposi- 
tion is not by any means improbable. 

The Lyons appear to have succeeded the Fentons in Easter Ogil. They 
were proprietors in 1684-5, when Ochterlony wrote his account of the shire, 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 193 

and for some time thereafter. It was acquired by the Grants, who built the 
old manor house in 1744. The then proprietor was called " the rebel laird," 
probably because he took part in the Eebellion of 1745. 

It was one of the Lyons of Easter Ogil who in 1745 carried off the famous 
sword which belonged to Deuchar of that Ilk, in the parish of Fern, and be- 
cause it was too long for his use, he being perhaps only of ordinary stature, 
had some inches taken from its length, After the Rebellion the then laird of 
Deuchar recovered the sword from the Castle of Coul, where it had been left 
by Lyon (See Vol. III., p. 275). 

The property was subsequently acquired by William Simpson, from Aber- 
deenshire. He died on llth June, 1809, and was succeeded by his son, 
Robert, Captain R.N. On his death the property came to his brother, George 
Simpson, Captain H.E.I.C.S. He was captain of the Hon. Company's ship, 
"Lady Castlereagh," and, by his wife, Augusta Eliza Gohagon, had a son, 
born 30th November, 1814. A certificate of the birth was sent home, and a 
verbatim copy entered in the register of baptisms belonging to the parish of 
Tannadice 26th January, 1818. 

The property was acquired by James Forrest, banker and merchant, Kirrie- 
muir. At his death he was succeeded by his son, William Forrest, who is the 
present laird of Easter Ogil. James Forrest erected an excellent house on the 
site of the one built by the rebel laird. It is in the Elizabethan style of archi- 
tecture, and is pleasantly situated on the eastern or left bank of the crystal 
Noran, among fine sylvan scenery. There is a good walled garden and fine 
grounds. When we saw it the day was sunny, and the scenery around was 
very pleasing. Of the house and its surroundings a writer says " It is situated 
amid finely wooded, and well cultivated grounds, and walled gardens, closely 
embowered amongst young plantations and hoary old trees, on the north-east 
bank of the diamond-sparkling, ' peerless Koran' of song, peeping out l like 
some coy dame afraid to show her face/ " 

William Lyon of Easter Ogil is mentioned on 9th August, 1547 (Reg. Ep. 
Br., p. 279) ; James Lyon of same, early in the 17th century (B.L.G., 1108) ; 
Lyons of Easter and Wester Ogils (Ochterlony, 1684-5). Ochterlony also 
mentions that Balgillo and Whytwall were both owned by families of the 
Lyons. He also says most part of the parish belongs to the Earl of Strathmore. 

Lyon of Wester Ogii is among the forty barons in Angus in 1 678 mentioned 
in Edward's description of the county. 

The old Castle of Cossens, built by the branch of the Lyons from whom this 
2a 



194 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

family of Glen Ogil are descended, is now a ruin. The arms of David Lyon 
of Cossens, impaled, are still to be seen sculptured on the north wall of what 
remains of the Castle. 

Wester Ogil held off the Priory of Kesteneth as superior, and the proprietor 
paid the Priory 26s 8d of rent annually. 

The late George Lyon of Glenogil sold the upper or highland Glenogil 
to David Haig of Edinburgh, who built a good house, which he called Red- 
haugh, on a picturesque site near the Noran, and a short distance to the east 
of St Ennan's Seat. This beautiful hill is wooded nearly up to the summit, 
and it is a commanding object in the landscape. There is a large cairn on the 
top of the hill, but this proprietor removed many of the stones to build a wall. 
The prospect from the cairn is still one of the widest, most varied, and grandest 
which can be seen from any point on the Braes of Angus, and none should 
visit the district without ascending the hill to feast their eyes with the glorious 
views. David Haig died in 1848, and was succeeded by his son, James 
Kichard Haig. From him the property passed to John Leveson Douglas 
Stewart, the present proprietor of Glenogil (upper). 

The Haigs are descended from Petrus de Haga of Bemirside, who lived in 
the reign of Malcolm IV. and William the Lion, and died about A.D. 1200. 
Petrus granted a charter to the monks of Melrose, to which his seal is appended. 
The witnesses are Oliver, Abbot of Dry burgh, and " Thomas Rymer of 
Ersilton," the ancient " prophetic poet," who in his prophecy, A.D. 1293, men- 
tions this family thus : 

" Tide whate'er betide, 
There'll aye be Haigs of Bemerside." (Baronage, p. 133.) 

The Lyons possess Wester Ogil, now called Glenogil, but they have not 
owned these lands continuously since the beginning of the 16th century, as 
they were for some time in possession of a family named Ramsay. On 29th 
October, 1647, John Ramsay of Wester Ogil, heir male of James Ramsay of 
Wester Ogil, his father, was retoured (No. 297) in Waster Ogil and the mill 
A.E. 5, N.E. 20. We have not learned when they first got the property 
nor when they parted with it. They were of the family of Balnabreich. 

The family of Lyon have been long in possession of Glenogil, under that 
name, and as Wester Ogil. George Lyon, W.S., Edinburgh, married Catherine 
Menzies, daughter of the Rev. Dr Fleming, one of the ministers of Edinburgh. 
By her he had a son, Hugh, born in 1812, who succeeded his father in Glen- 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 195 

ogil in 1866. He was educated at Edinburgh University, is an S.S.C., and a 
Commissioner of Supply and a J.P. for the county of Forfar. 

The lands of Drurnmichie were for some time a distinct property, belonging 
to a family named Bruce, but we do not know how long it had continued so. 
On 8th August, 1654, Thomas Bruce in Milton of Ogil, heir of Alexander 
Bruce, his father, was retoured (No. 337) in the town and lands of Drurnmichie 
O.E. 5s, N.B. 20s. Drummachie now forms part of the estate of Glenogil, 
belonging to Hugh Lyon. 

The old Castle of Wester Ogil stood near the junction of the burn from the 
west which falls into the Noran near the lower end of Glenogil, but the ruins 
of it have disappeared. A neat commodious mansion has been erected a little 
to the north of the site of the old Castle. It stands on a rising ground on the 
right or west bank of the Noran. It is of two floors, with lofty windows on 
the lower or ground floor. The building is plain, but very chaste, the 
bold banks of the beautiful stream, the lawn, gardens, rich shrubbery, and 
thriving plantations around combining to form a scene pretty, pleasant, and 
picturesque. The mansion is protected from the northern blasts by the rising 
ground to the north, and the pretty falls on the Noran, at a little distance from 
Glenogil House, add to the variety and attractions of the scenery. 

John Leveson Douglas Stewart of Glenogil is the only son of John Stewart, 
who died in 1867, by Elizabeth, only daughter of the late Richard Thompson 
of Nateby, Lancashire, born in 1842. In 1868 he married Margaret Anne, 
daughter of James Gibson Thomson, and has, with other issue, John, born in 
1869. He is a Commissioner of Supply for Forfarshire. 

In Vol. III., p. 336, we mentioned that the Eev. Mr Lyon, who was minister 
of Tanuadice, was also laird of Ogil, but we do not know of which of the lands 
now called Ogil he was possessed. We there related a quaint saying of his son 
to his father, the minister, who was great-grandfather of the Rev. Dr James 
Lyon of Glamis, who died 3d April, 1838. 

On the north side of the Esk, near the place where the bridge of Sheilhill 
now stands, the Castle of Queich formerly stood. It was the residence of the 
Earl of Buchan, who owned some property in the parish. The situation was 
well adapted for the abode of a feudal chieftain, as it afforded him security 
from enemies. It was built on a precipitous rock overhanging the river, with 
a deep chasm on each side of it through which a stream pours down. It was 
therefore assailable from only one point. No vestiges of the Castle were to be 
seen when the Old Account was written, a humble cottage then occupying 



196 ANGUS OR FORFAKSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

the site of the lordly keep. A chapel adjoined the Castle, built with hewn 
stones, but they were removed and applied to other purposes quite a century 
ago. 

In the neighbourhood of Achleuchrie a hill was called the Castle Hill. Ifc 
overhangs the river, which here runs in a deep bed, with high rocks on either 
side. A fosse, twelve feet deep and thirty wide, formed a semi-circle round 
the hill, but no marks of foundations appear, and it may never have been 
occupied. 

Near the village of Tannadice is a place called the Castle of Barnyards. 
Tradition says that here a Lindsay began to erect a castle, but having killed 
the laird of Finhaven in a quarrel near this place, was obliged to fly, and the 
building was never finished. Several of the vaults were standing a century 
ago, but they have long since disappeared. 

About 1790 a considerable number of gold and silver coins were found at 
Balgillo. 

On 9th February, 1628, Viscount Duplin, Lord Hay, and John, Earl of 
Kinghorne, had charter binae parts lands of Hauch and Cunynghar lands ad- 
jacent ; the Debaitable lands between Barnyard and the Hauch, commonly 
called the West Haugh ; the Lowsie Law and Moor ; Little Mirkhouse, for- 
merly called Cottars Lands of Hauch, with forest of Platen, &c. ; and Margaret 
Scrymgeour, spouse of Joanim Cumyng of Kirkton of Aberlemno in vital red- 
ditu (Reg. Ep. Br., p. 244). 

Another account, we suppose, of the same matter is as follows : On 9th 
February, 1628, G-eorge Viscount Duplin, Chancellor of Scotland, and John, 
Earl of Kinghorne, granted a concession to John Cumyng of Kirkton of Aber- 
lemno, and Margaret Scrymgeour, his spouse, for life, and John Cumyng, their 
son, thereafter, from two parts of the lands of Haugh ; the lands called the 
Cunynghar lands, on the north of the river South Esk ; and land called De- 
baitable Lands, between Barnyards and the lands commonly called the West- 
haugh, with the outfield land ; the Lowsie Law and Moor adjacent to the 
town of Little Mirkhouse, formerly called the Cottars Lands of Haugh, with all 
and singular manor, &c., &c. 

John Ogilvy of the family of Inverquharity, living in 1562, married Mar- 
garet, daughter of William Erskine, by Marian Douglas, his wife, and grand- 
daughter of William Erskine, son of Margaret, Countess of Buchan, and by 
her was father of Thomas Ogilvy, who married Barbara, daughter of James 



CHAP. LYL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 197 

Lyon of Easter Ogil, and had by her a son, John Ogilvy, who was living in 
1662. 

On 12th January, 1622, John Ogilvy of Inshewan, was served heir (No. 
137) to his father, Thomas Ogilvy of Inshewan, in the lands of Easter Auch- 
leuchrie, with the salmon fishings, in the barony of Kinalty A.E. 20s, 
N.E. 4 ; lands of Auchnagray ; fourth part the western lands of Inschewane, 
with brasina and croft of Kynnaltie A.E. 20s, N.E. 4. 

On 26th April, 1664, James Ogilvy of Inschewane was retoured (No. 405) 
as heir to his father, John Ogilvy of Inschewane, in the lands above mentioned, 
also in the three-quarter parts of the lands and town of Inschewane, in the 
barony of Cortoquhie A.E., 20s, N.E. 4. 

He was the father of James Ogilvy, who, in 1705, married Mary, daughter 
of Eobert Keith of Reddoak, and, dying in 1741, left her two sons John, 
born in 1711, and James Ogilvy of Cononsyth and several daughters, all of 
whom died unmarried, excepting Margaret, who was married to Dr John 
Ogilvy of Murthill, who long practised as a physician in Forfar, and was heir 
male of the Ogilvys of Balfour. Their daughter Jean was married to Walter 
Ogilvy of Clova, afterwards Earl of Airlie. 

John Ogilvy of Inshewan, born in 1711, married in 1744, Jean, daughter 
of the Rev. William Seaton, Episcopal clergyman in Forfar. He died in 
1781, leaving one son, John, born in 1750, who died unmarried in 1813 ; and 
three daughters. Mary, Helen, and Elizabeth. Mary succeeded to Inshewan 
on the death of her brother in 1813, Helen died unmarried. Elizabeth was 
in 1790, married to William Ogilvy, son of John Ogilvy of Leitfie by his first 
wife, Margaret, daughter of Ogilvy of Shanally. William Ogilvy died in 
1825, leaving by Elizabeth, his wife, a son, John, and a daughter, Mary. 

On the death of his maternal aunt, Mary, in 1822, John Ogilvy, born 3d 
January, 1794, the son of William Ogilvy and his wife, Elizabeth, succeeded 
to the estate, and was thenceforward, and still is, John Ogilvy of Inshewan. 

On 18th June, 1829, he married Anne Sarah, youngest daughter of the late 
Dr Charles Ogilvy of Tannadice, who was son of John Ogilvy of MurthilL 
By her he has issue ten sons and five daughters, vizt. : 

1. John, born 8th July, 1830, who married, first, Agnes Gardyne, daughter 
of William Rennie, of 6 Great Cumberland Place, London. She died in 1868, 
leaving issue two daughters. Secondly, in 1873, Violet Anna D'Urban, the 
second daughter of William Burnett of Hay Lodge, Peebles, and has issue a 
son, John Donald Burnett Ogilvy, born in 1878. 



198 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

2. William, born 10th February, 1832, deceased. 

3. Charles, born 20th December, 1836, deceased. 

4. Walter, born 20th December, 1837. 

5. Thomas Macdonald, born 1839, deceased. 

6. David, born 6th February, 1841, deceased. 

7. James, born 18th March, 1844. 

8. Edward Balfour, bom 12th June, 1846. 

9. Thomas Stewart, born 17th September, 1847. 
10. Donald Charles, bom 3d September, 1850. 

1. Mary, deceased. 

2. Elizabeth, married, 1860, to James W. Bruce Gardyne, second son of 
Major Bruce Gardyne of Middleton. 

3. Anne Sarah, married, 1867, to Donald Ogiivy of Clova. 

4. Mary Lillias St Clair. 

5. Helen Allardice. 

The old Castle of Inshewan stood on a rocky eminence on the left bank of, 
and near to, the South Esk, and at a short distance from Auchleuchrie. 
The site is a few hundred yards farther up the stream than the modern 
mansion, an excellent walled garden and some shrubbery being between them. 
The rock, still called hill, had been surrounded by a moat, which can still be 
distinctly traced, and, protected as it was by the river bank, which is there 
perpendicular and winds round fully a third of the site, it had been a fortalice 
of considerable strength, and extremely picturesque and beautiful. 

The modern mansion house was erected in 1827-8. It is very commodious, 
and built with good taste, but without much architectural pretension. It is 
beautifully situated on the left bank of the South Esk, which at this point is 
very romantic. There is a fine lawn in front, studded with lofty trees, and 
surrounded with fine thriving plantations. The drive from the highway to 
the mansion is in some parts very picturesque. 

For a considerable time past there has been an Easter and Wester Memus, 
but in the older references to Memus that division is seldom made. Easter 
Memus has for some time past been included in the estate of Inshewan, and 
Wester Memus has latterly been conjoined with Glen Queich, the property of 
John Alexander Sinclair Maclagan of Glen Queich and Wester Memus. 

The following are some of the persons who have owned Memus : Reginald 
de Irwyn, Lord de Mames (Memus) (Aldbar Mis., 118). David Rollok of 
Memus, a juror, 16th May, 1508 (H. of C. of S., 22;. William Guthrie of 



CHAP. LYL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. -TANNADICE, 199 

Memus, circa 1600 (B. L. G.). His brother, Alexander Guthrie, having no 
male issue, he succeeded to Guthrie. William Guthrie of Guthrie had no 
male issue, and was succeeded by his cousin. Another person of the same 
name was laird of Memus in 1684-5, and Livingstoune was laird of Memus at 
same time. Lady Mary Douglas, Countess of Buchan, was retoured in the 
lands of Memus with the mill, on 7th September, 1615. The property had 
passed from the Auchterhouse family before 21st April, 1619. David Allar- 
dice, a bailie of Brechin, was designed of Memus in 1771. He was one of 
the undertakers for building the bridge which crosses the West Water on the 
road from Brechin to Edzell. 

ARMS OF OGILVY OF INSHEWAN. 
Arms. Argent, a lion, passant, guardant, gules, imperially crowned, within a bordure, 

counter compone'e, gules and argent. 
Crest. A stag's head, couped at the neck, attired, or. 
Motto. Bene paratum dulce. 

Marcus is supposed to mean " the castle in the forest." It is supposed to 
have been included in the Forest of Platane. The lands lie on the right bank 
of the Noran in the lower part of its course. Its early history is unknown, as 
the first mention of the property that has been met with is " John Lindsay of 
Markhouse," who witnesses the resignation of the barony of Finhaven by David, 
Earl of Crawford, to his eldest son, on 24th December, 1563. The same 
person, or a son of his, " John Lindsay of M'khous, notar public," is mentioned 
in a paper, dated 1595, in the strong room of South Esk. 

On 17th May, 1(581, Robert Arbuthnott of Findowrie was served heir (No. 
484) to his father, Robert, in the town and lands of Easter or Meikle Mark- 
house, with mill and astricted multures, town and lands of Muirton, Little 
Markhouse and Muiriehillock, with certain privileges in the barony of Tanna- 
dice A.E. 4, N.E. 16. On 30th July, 1698, Alexander Arburtnott of 
Findowrie, heir (No. 550) of his father, Robert, in the town and lands of Easter 
or Meikle Markhouse, with mill, &c. ; the town and lands of Muirton, Muiri- 
hillock, and Easter Markhouse ; town and lands of Little Markhouse, in the 
barony of Tannadice, with the privilege of clodbreakers from Baldoukie (cum 
privilegis glebarum ex gleario de Baldoukie) A.E. 4, N.E. 16 and in 
other lands. 

We have not elsewhere met with such privileges, and we are unable to 
explain the process, or the origin of granting such a privilege as that of clod- 
breaking or clodbreakers. 



200 ANGUS OE FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

There was an old Castle of Markhouse, which stood near to the Noran, on 
the south-east part of the property, the site of which can still be distinguished. 

The lands of Markhouse were somewhat famous as being the scene of some 
of the kelpie's cantrips, and the " Deil's How" is a noted spot there. Several 
ancient sepultures have been found on the property, some with urns in the 
cists, in which were burned bones, and some without urns. The bottoms of 
some of the cists were laid with baked clay, but no bones were found in them. 

The property of Markhouse was acquired early in the eighteenth century by 
James Knox, an army contractor in London. About the year L750 he married 
Ann Carnegie, born 3d August, 1723, daughter of Alexander Carnegie of Bal- 
namoon. By her he had four sons I. Andrew Knox, who succeeded to 
Markhouse. II. Colonel William Douglas Hunter Knox, H.E.I. C.S., who 
commanded the 5th Bengal Light Cavalry, and was some time resident at 
Nepaul. He died in 1829, leaving a son, W. W. Knox, of 38 Porchester 
Square, London. III. Sir Alexander Knox, also a cavalry officer in the 
H.E.I.C.S., and Adjutant-General of the Bengal Province. He died without 
issue. IV. David Knox, who married a sister of the old Mr Walter of the 
Times, but left no issue. 

Andrew Knox of Markhouse married Helen Carnegy, born 28th March, 
175S, daughter of James Carnegy, the " rebel laird," by Margaret Arbuthnott, 
the heiress of Findowrie, and by her had a son, James. Andrew Knox sold 
Markhouse to Captain Alexander Skene, R.N., about 1810, and bought 
Keithock, in the parish of Brechin. Captain Skene sold Markhouse, now 
called Marcus, about 1820, to Major-General Swinburne. 

Lieutenant-General Thomas Eobert Swinburne of Marcus, and of Pontop 
Hall, Durhamshire, married, for his second wife, Helen, eldest daughter of the 
late James Aspinall, of Liverpool, by whom he had Lieut.-Col. James Swin- 
burne of Marcus. He was born in 1830, and succeeded to Marcus estate on 
the death of his father in 1864. In 1870 he married Constance Mary, second 
daughter of the Eev. Griffith Boynton, Kector of Barmston, Yorkshire. He 
was educated at Edinburgh, is a Lieut.-Col. late of the 4th Hussars, a J.P. 
and a D.L. for the county of Forfar. 

The heir presumptive is his half brother, Thomas Anthony Swinburne of 
Topton Hall, by the first wife of his father, Maria, third daughter of the Rev. 
Anthony Coates, born 1820. He succeeded, on the death of his father, General 
Swinburne, in 1864, to the estate of Topton Hall. In 1852 he married Mary 
Ann, daughter of the late Captain Edward Fraser, Madras Engineers, and 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 201 

has, with other issue, Thomas Robert, born 1854. The lord of the manor of 
Pontop entered the Royal Navy in 1836, and rose to the rank of captain, which 
he attained in 1876. 

The present mansion house of Marcus was built by Colonel Swinburne. 
Seen from Finhaven Hill it appears a chaste, handsome, building, beautifully 
situated a short distance north of the South Esk, having a southern exposure, 
and nestling among trees and shrubbery. 

The present proprietrix of the Marcus estate is Miss Helen Constance Swin- 
burne. 

ARMS OF SWINBURNE OF MARCUS. 

Arms. Per fesse, gules and argent, three cinquefoils, counter-changed. 

Crest. Out of a ducal coronet, or ; a demi-boar, argent, armed and unguled, gold. 

Motto. S&mel et Semper =0nce and always. 

David II. granted a " charter to John Wallayis of Rickartown of the lands 
of Moorlecere, in Vic. de Forfar Nota. John Lindsay of Thuirstoun resigned 
the superiority" (In. to Ch., 53-30). We do not know the date of that charter. 
In same Index, 91-267, " Johanni Walays de Ricardtoun, terrarum de Mur- 
letter, in Vic. de Forfar, et superioritatis terre quondam Johannes de Kinros, 
Militis, quas Johannes de Lyndesay de Thuristoun, Miles, resignavit ; apud 
Edynburgh, 26 Januarii, an. reg. 41, i.e., 26th January, 1370. 

We think it very probable that both of the above-mentioned notices of 
charters refer to one and the same charter, dated 26th January, 1370. King 
David II. began to reign on 7th June, 1329, and died on 19th April, 1370-1. 

Alexander III. granted to the Prior and Convent of Resteneth the hay 
grown in the meadows of Platane. In 1292 the Prior and Convent craved 
the King for permission to make a mill dam in the forest of Morletur. 

According to the Register of the Great Seal, 1306-1404, p. 76, No. 267, the 
lands of Murlettr (Murthill) belonged to John Wallays of Ricardton (Ricar- 
ton). They were held of the Crown. In the forty-first year of the reign of 
David II., 26th January, 1370, they were acquired by Sir John Lyndesay of 
Thuriston. His charter of Murthil was among those which were destroyed by 
the burning of the Monastery of Fale. At a Sheriff's Court of the King's 
tenants of Forfarshire, held at Perth on 21st July, 1360, it was found by an 
assize that the writs which Sir John Lindsay, Knight, had of the lands of 
Murethlyn, in the Sheriffdom of Forfar, were totally burned in the sudden 
fire of the Monastery of Fale ; and that the said Sir John held these lands of 
the King in capite for the service of one bowman in the King's army, and 
2 o 



202 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

three suits yearly at the court of the Sheriff of Forfar ; and that, on that 
finding, the King renewed his charters. 

In Robertson's Index to Charters, 63-44, there is a charter by DaviJ II. 
" to John Lindsay of Thor, of the lands of Murletyre, wherein is mention of 
the burning of Failliekyll, in Vicecom of Forfar." We have not elsewhere 
heard of the Monastery of Fale or Failliekyll, and do not know where it was 
situated, nor when it was burned. 

In the Lands of the Lindsays, p. 343, it is said that Sir John Lindsay acquired 
the lands of Murthill from John Wallace in 1329, "according to the Great 
Seal Register," but that is a mistake, as the date in the Register is 26th 
January, 41st year of King David's reign, which is 1370, as mentioned above, 
and this is the only date in the record of the transaction in the Register of 
the Great Seal. This is also the precise date of the charter of the land given 
to John Wallace by David II., a copy of which, taken from the Index to 
Charters-, is given above. There are discrepancies about these dates which we 
cannot explain. If the lands had only been acquired by John Wallace, or by 
John Lindsay, in 1370, the burning of the charters could not have been con- 
sidered by an assize in 1360. 

The Ramsays of Auchterhouse acquired the lands and mill of Murthill. Sir 
Henry Ramsay was proprietor about 1359. He, on 6th April, 1365, was 
witness of a charter regarding the lands of Glenbervy (Reg. Mag. Sig., p. 42, 
No. 116). He had probably been the father or brother of Sir Malcolm 
Ramsay of Auchterhouse, who granted a charter of the lands and mill of 
Murthill to Hugh Lyell. This charter was confirmed by Robert II. on 16th 
June, 1376, at Perth (Reg. Mag. Sig., p. 130, No. 17 ; and In. to Ch., 1 18-17). 
The Lyells retained possession of Murthill for a long period, as is shown by 
the following details : 

On 2d September, 1653, Alexander Lyell of Murthill, heir of Colonel John 
Lyell of Murthill, his father, was retoured (No. 325) in the kirk lands of Tan- 
nadice, called Barnyards E. 15 of feu-duty. And on 3d February, 1654, 
Alexander Lyell also succeeded his father, the Colonel, in the lands of Murthill 
(No. 328). On 17th December, 1657, John Lyell of Murthill, heir of his 
brother, Alexander Lyell of Murthill, was retoured (No. 363) in the town and 
lands of Wester Dobies and Whytwall, with common pasturage O.E. 18s, 
N.E. 3 12s. Ochterlony, 1684-5, says Murthill was owned by Lyell, ane 
ancient family, and chieff of his name, a pleasant place, lying upon the water 
of the South Esk. 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- TANNADICE. 203 

The Lyells were succeeded in Murthill by the Ogilvys towards the end of 
the seventeenth century, but one of them owned part of the lands a century 
before that period. 

On 3d October, 1616, Alexander Ogilvy of Shielhill, son and heir of his 
father, Alexander of Schielhill, was retoured (No. 93) in the lands of Muirhead 
of Murchill (Murthill). 

In the middle of last century the proprietor of Murthill, as already men- 
tioned, was Dr Ogilvy, a medical practitioner in Forfar, which profession, he 
followed successfully for many years. The valued rent of Murthill in 1683 
Roll was 300. The lands belonged to James Ogilvy in 1822. The mill of 
Murthill was a flax-spinning mill about that time, but 'that trade was discon- 
tinued many years ago. 

The lands and mill of Murthill were acquired by Colonel Wedderburn 
Ogilvy, and they form part of his estate of Coul. 

In 1683 the lands in the parish were possessed by nineteen proprietors, 
vizt. : Auchnagray or Queich and New Miln (2), 66 13s 4d each ; Glenqueich 
and Turfachie (2), 100 each ; Wester Auchleuchrie, Easter Memus, and 
Quarryhill and Wolf Law (3), 133 6s 8d each ; Little Balgillo, Wester 
Memus, and Cairn and Sheriff Bank (3), 166 13s 4d each ; Findowrie and 
James Ormond (2), 180 each ; Whitewall, Justinhaugh, and Muirhead (1), 
250 ; Murthill and Easter Ogil (2). 300 each ; Kinalty (1), 346 13s 4d ; 
Inshewan (1), 400 ; Wester Ogil (1), 700; and Earl of Strathinore (1), 
1066 13s 4d in all, 4956 13s 4d. 

On 16th June, 1767, the Strathmore property was divided into three 
parts 1st, Coull and Tannadice, lands of Easter Coull, sold by the Earl 
to James Ogilvy, and the superiority to Sir William Nairn, 397 ; 2d, 
Mill and Mill Lands of Tannadice, Balduckie, and east side of Meikle Coull, 
feued by the Earl to Thomas Lyon, and the superiority disponed to Brown 
of Glasswell, 282 3s 4d (these properties belonged to James Ogilvy in 
1822) ; 3d, lands of Middle and Upper Balgillos, Barnyards, and part Kirk- 
ton of Tannadice, 387 10s (belonged to Margaret Arbuthnott of Balna- 
moon and James Carnegie Arbuthnott, her husband), also Findowrie, 180 
together, 567 10s. After Mr Ogilvy acquired Tannadice on 16th Feb- 
ruary, 1801, the valued rent was divided 1, Barnyards, Over Balgillo, 
and Kirkton of Tannadice. Charles Ogilvy, 386 10s ; 2, Markhouse and 
MuryhiUock, Captain Skene, 150 16s 7d ; Howmuir, do., 30 3s 5d - 



204 



ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



in all, 1246 13s 4d in 1822, being same as Strathmore and Findowrie in 
1683 Roll. 

There had been a Little and a Meikle, and an Easter and a Wester Coull 
two centuries ago ; and there had been a castle on the property up to the 
middle of last century, but we can give no description of it. 

The following are the names of the other lands in 1683 Roll, and their 
names and owners in 1822 : 

Names 1683. Namgg 1822. Owners 1822. 

Earl of Strathmore, 
James Ormond, 
Little Balgillo, 
Glenqueich, 

Whitehall, Justinhaugh, 
and Muirhead, 

Murthill, 

Wester Auchleuchrie, 

Wester Ogil, 

Easter Ogil, 

Wester Memus, 
Easter Memus, 
Inchewan, 
Newmiln, 

Quarryhill and Wolf 
Law, 

Cairn and Sheriff Bank, 

Kinalty, 

Turfachie, 
Auchnagray, 

The total sum in 1822 being same as in 1683, viz., 4956 12s 7d, less 9d lost on Kinalty. 
In 1795 there were thirteen heritors, the valued rent being divided as fol- 
lows : 

Cairn, Newmiln, and Quarryhill, . . '. . 256 

Whitehall, . . . ! . . 145 

Inshewan and Easter Memus, .. , .*/ .. . 533 6 8 



1066 13 


4 


Balgillo, 
Balgillo, 


George Skene, 
Rev. Dr Nicoll, 


180 
166 13 




4 


Glenqueich, 


Dr M 'Lagan, 


100 





( Divided, 16th June, 1767, 
1 Whitewall, 


James Gemmell, 


180 





i Justinhaugh and Muir- 
[ head, 


James Ogilvy, 


250 





Murthill, 


Do., 


300 





Wester Auchleuchrie, 


Do., 


133 6 


8 


Glen Ogil, divided 16th 
June, 1767, 


George Lyon, 


700 





Easter Ogil and Glenley, 


"Dn 


100 


o 


do., do., part, 


J^O., 






Remainder, 


Alex. Simpson, 


200 





Wester Memus, 


Dr M 'Lagan, 


166 13 


4 


Easter Memus, 


Miss Ogilvy, 


133 6 


8 


Inshewan, 
Newmiln, 


Do., * 
Colonel Kinloch, 


400 
66 13 




4 


Divided before 1748, ) T ~ 
Wolf Law part, J James Kerr 


40 





Do., remainder, 


Colonel Kinloch, 


93 6 


8 


Cairn and Bankhead, 
Cairn, 


| Do., 


96 





Bankhead, 


James Brown, 


70 13 


4 


( Kinalty and part of 


) Kinalty, Lord Airlie, 


282 12 


7 


\ Downiepark, divided, 


) Col. Rattray and heirs, 


64 





Downiepark, 


Do., 


100 





Auchnagray or Queich, 


Do.', 


66 13 


4 



Carry forward, 



934 6 8 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 205 

Brought forward, . . . 934 G 8 

WesterOgil, . . . . .' . 700 

Coul (the property of Ogilvy of Islabank), . . 1217 10 

Findowrie, , . . . 567 10 

Glenquiech, . . . ./ , . 100 

Forfechy and the Vale of Cortachy, . ..' '. 23013 4 

Netherton of BalgiUo and Muirtoun, . ' . ' . 180 

Wester Memus, . < .. . . ..'. .,, 16613 4 

Balgillo, . . ' ' ; . . -. ' . . 166 13 4 

Easter Ogil, , . . . ~ .. . . 300 

Kinaltie, . . ',, , t . . . , . 28212 7 

Scots, 4845 19 3 

(Only three heritors were resident.) 

In 1835 there were twelve proprietors. The following are their names and 
valued rents : 

Peter Wedderburn Ogilvy of Ruthven, . . . 1218 6 8 

George Lyon of Glen Ogil, W.S., Edinburgh, . . - 800 

John Ogilvy of Inshewan, ..... 533 6 8 

David, Earl of Airlie, . . . . . 449 3 10 

Charles Ogilvy of Tannadice, . . . . 386 10 

Donald Sinclair M 'Lagan of Glenqueich, . . 266 13 4 

Mrs Rattray, relict of Lt.-Col. Rattray of Downiepark, . 220 16 8 

John Kinloch of 'Kilrie, Logic's Cairn, . . 216 13 4 

Alexander Simpson, Easter Ogil, . . . l . 200 

Major Swinburne of Markhouse, . . . 180 3 10 

Lord Fife, 180 

Major Andrew Gemmel of Whitewalls, . ,. 145 



Scots, 4796 14 4 

The lands of Whitewall, Justinhaugh, and Mnirhead are entered in cumulo 
in the Valuation Eoll of 1683 at 250. On 16th June, 1767, they were 
divided. In the Koll of 1822 Whitewall belonged to James Gemmel, It is 
entered at 145. The other parts of the lands then belonged to James Ogilvy, 
value 105. The lands of Whitewall are now the property of Colonel John 
Holmes Houston Gammell of Drumtochy. 

The nervous disease which was common in many parishes a century ago 
was prevalent in Tannadice. Rev. John Jamieson, D.D., Forfar, who wrote 
the Old Statistical Account of this parish in 1795-6, the church being then 



206 ANGUS OR EORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

vacant, says of it: " The most common distemper in the parish is the low nervous 
fever, which may indeed be considered as the characteristic distemper of this 
county. Twenty or thirty years ago what is commonly called the louping ague 
greatly prevailed. This disease, in its symptoms, has a considerable re- 
semblance to St Vitus's dance. Those affected with it, when in a paroxysm, 
often leap or spring in a very surprising manner, whence the disease has 
derived its vulgar name. They frequently leap from the floor to what, in 
cottages, are called the baulks, or those beams by which the rafters are joined 
together. Sometimes they spring from one to another with the agility of a 
cat, or whirl round one of them with a motion resembling the fly of a jack. 
At other times they run with astonishing velocity to some particular place out 
of doors which they have fixed on in their minds before, and perhaps mentioned 
to those in company with them, and then drop down quite exhausted. It is 
said that the clattering of tongs or any similar noise will bring on the fit. 
This melancholy disorder still makes its appearance, but it is far from being 
so common as formerly. Some consider it as entirely a nervous affection, others 
as the effect of worms. In various instances the latter opinion has been con- 
firmed by facts." 

The common ague prevailed much in former times, especially in the Glen of 
Ogil district, but when the Account was written it had all but disappeared. 

The ague and louping ague are now both unknown in the county, and 
there is no characteristic distemper in the county now, nor has there been for 
many years past. 

Scotland has many sons of whom the nation may well be proud. Among 
these is a native of the parish of Tannadice, of whom we propose to give a 
short account. 

Dr George Buist, LL.D., eldest son of the Eev. John Buist, who was for 
fifty years minister of the parish of Tannadice, was born in the manse there on 
22d November, 1805. Mr Buist superintended the education of his family, 
and the eldest son was sent at an early age to the Universities of St Andrews 
and Edinburgh, where he passed through a full course of classical and scien- 
tific study, receiving from the former, in 1841, the degree of LL.D. His 
father was desirous that he should follow his own profession, and in 1826 he 
was licensed by the Presbytery of Forfar as a preacher of the G-ospel in con- 
nection with the Church of Scotland. 

The profession of the ministry was not congenial to his tastes, and he re- 



CHAP. LVL] ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. TANNADICE. 207 

solved temporarily to connect himself with the Press. His College reputation 
readily procured him an appointment, his first post being that of editor of the 
" Dundee Courier," which under his management was called the " Courier and 
Constitutional." Two years thereafter he started on his own account a news- 
paper named the " Guardian." About a year later he left for Perth to edit the 
" Constitutional," going thence to Cupar in Fife to edit the " Fifeshire 
Journal." 

Dr Buist, in 1837, received from the Highland Society of Scotland a prize 
of fifty guineas for a paper on the Geology of the south-eastern portion of 
Perthshire. It was published in their Transactions for 1838 ; quoted in Sir 
Charles LyelTs " Principles of Geology," and was the second paper on which so 
large a prize had ever been bestowed. 

In 1839 Dr Buist was selected from a very large number of applicants to 
conduct the " Bombay Times" (which ultimately became a daily paper), thus 
beginning a residence in India which, with an interval at home, lasted seven- 
teen years. 

The " Bombay Times" became a highly successful journal, exercising a very 
wide influence both in India and in this country. 

On arriving in India he continued with almost increased energy his literary, 
scientific, and philanthropic labours. He devoted part of his time to astro- 
nomy, and was considered so good an astronomer that in 1842 to 1845 he was 
placed in charge of the Bombay Meteorological Observatory, and removed his 
residence to that establishment. There so many valuable observations were 
made under him that he received highly complimentary acknowledgments from 
the Government of Bombay. He also attracted the attention, and received 
the thanks of Sir David Brewster, Sir John Herschell, and other scientific men 
in the country, as well as of Lieutenant Maury, ot the United States Navy, 
who quotes from Dr Buist's writings in his book, " The Physical Geography of 
the Sea," and speaks of them as being of great value. 

Dr John Wilson of Bombay, the eminent Orientalist, speaks of him in his 
*' Lands of the Bible" as one of the most accomplished mineralogists and geo- 
logists of the East ; but it was only they who were his companions on a geo- 
logical excursion who could realise the pleasure derived from his lucid and in- 
structive descriptions of the mysteries which lie hidden under the crust of the 
earth. 

Wherever Dr Buist happened to reside in .this country he took a leading 
part in the local scientific and literary societies, and he was before he died a 



208 ANGUS OB FOKFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

member or associate of all the leading literary and scientific societies in the 
country. He wrote many valuable papers on geology for some of these societies, 
and contributed geological specimens of great interest and rarity to various 
museums. 

The death of his first wife, Jessie, daughter of the late Eev. Dr Hunter of 
St Andrews, and sister-in-law of Lord Jeffrey, after a short married life, so 
affected him that he resigned his appointment at the Observatory, and went to 
his native country for change of air and scene, remaining for a year, diligently 
engaged in scientific research. While at home he was made a Fellow of the 
Koyal Society of London and Edinburgh. 

In 1842 Dr Buist became secretary to the Bombay Geographical Society. 
Previous to 1845 he had, within less than three years, received five several 
votes of thanks from the Governor in Council. In 1846 he was appointed to 
the honorary position of Sheriff of Bombay, In 1847 he projected, and in 1850 
founded the Bombay Reformatory School of Industry, for the reformation and 
education of neglected native children, of which, under the patronage of the 
Governor, Lord Elphinstone, he was superintendent. 

In 1858 Dr Buist was appointed superintendent of the Government Printing 
Presses at Allahabad, with a salary of some 2000 a year. Here he remained 
until, becoming seriously ill of dysentery, he obtained sick leave, and sailed for 
Calcutta, for change of climate, but died on board the river steamer on enter- 
ing Calcutta, on 1st October, 1860. He was buried in the Scotch burial ground 
at Calcutta, and his remains were followed to the grave by a large concourse 
of people, who with sincere respect, and in deep sorrow, met to do him honour. 
Shortly thereafter a monument was raised to his memory by a large circle of 
friends, with the following inscription : 

" Sacred to the memory of George Buist, LL.D., F.E.S., L. and E. Born at 
Tannadice, Forfarshire, on 22d November, 1805. Died at Calcutta 1st Octo- 
ber, 1860. This tomb was erected by friends in testimony of the high estima- 
tion in which his public and private character was held." 

Unfortunately his many writings on scientific and literary subjects have 
never been collected, but are scattered in many scientific publications ; nor 
have the events of his life been recorded, although the late well-known geolo- 
gist, Dr Page, expressed his desire to undertake a biography. 

After he went to India the mental force and vigour with which he was en- 
dowed, and his great and varied intellectual qualifications, soon enabled him to 
take a prominent part there, which gradually improved, during the Afghan 



OHAP. LVL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TANNADICE. 209 

War, and the exciting events in India at that period. His position gave him 
access to all the leading officials and important documents of the time, and 
from these, as well as from his own researches, he obtained valuable data upon 
which to guide the opinion of the public. The " Bombay Times" rose highly 
in public estimation. The circulation largely increased, and the newspaper 
proved a source of great profit to the proprietors. 

During part of the time he was in India Dr Buist was also regular corres- 
pondent for one of the London journals. 

Dr Buist possessed social qualities of a high order. He entered with a keen 
pleasure into all the refinements of society, and his wit and repartee and unfailing 
fund of information on every subject (for nothing was too small for him to con- 
cern himself about) made him everywhere a coveted guest. 

Dr Buist was of the middle height, symmetrically formed, strong physique, 
and lithe, and without bodily infirmity. In his younger years he was fond of 
the Scotch game of golf, which he played remarkably well, and he excelled in 
other manual exercises, but he was not more expert in these than he was in 
mathematics and kindred studies. 

While in India, although knee deep in study, such was his power and 
grasp of mind, that he was a living authority and referee in the important 
historical events then passing there. Another subject which accorded with the 
bent of his genius was the originating and carrying out works of philanthropy, 
the culminating outcome of which was in the reformatory institution for ne- 
glected native children, already mentioned, which proved a great success. 

Dr Buist was exceedingly fond of flowers. There was a fine garden attached 
to his house, in which he took great delight, and it was a thing of beauty. It 
was at Balcairn, his residence in Bombay, where he kept his varied collection 
of natural and scientific curiosities, animate as well as inanimate, and it was a 
place of resort eagerly visited by his numerous friends, both Euro- 
pean and native. There his charm of manner, and kindliness of disposition, 
won him the hearts of old and young. 

The goodness of Dr Buist's heart was well shown by his readiness to lend a 
helping hand to those who needed it. Many a young fellow owes his 
present success to the unobtrusive acts of kindness by which he helped 
them to place their feet firmly on the ladder which led upwards to pro- 
sperity and happiness. They were ever welcome to his counsel and his house, 
and never did he turn any one away with less than a kind word. His thoughts 
were always more set on the welfare of others than for his own, and the heart that 
2z> 



210 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

was so adroit in placing the means of wealth within the reach of others, was too 
uncalculating to seek to clutch it for himself. 

Had Dr Buist concentrated his large mind upon one point instead of so dif- 
fusely excelling in all, both his fame and his fortune would have been the 
gainers. 

CHAP. LVIL TEALING. 

Butler says the Church of Tellein, three miles from " Alict" (Dundee), was one 
of those places of worship that were founded by S. Boniface soon after he came 
from Rome. The Church was dedicated to St Peter, Apostle, and St Peter's Well 
is in the adjoining burn. The saint founded about 15 churches, all of which 
he dedicated to St Peter. After preaching for some time in Angus, he was 
made Bishop of Ross, fie died and was buried at Rosemarkie about the year 
630. 

In Vol. IV., Liff and Benvie, p. 172, we took notice of the arrival of the Papal 
missionary Boniface at Invergowrie, and of the church which he erected there, it 
being the first Christian church north of the Tay. From Invergowrie he went 
to Tealing, and afterwards to Resteneth, at each of which he erected a church. 
The site of the church he erected at Tealing is not known. It may have been, 
and probably was, on the site of the present church, but we cannot say so. In 
E. & I., II., p. 371, Mr Jervise says it was on a rising ground a few yards to the 
north of the mansion house of Tealing, but that is a mistake. A chapel stood 
there at one period, but the remains of it were removed a considerable time 
ago. Near the spot where it stood the upper half of an aumry, resembling the 
one which is at the Parish Church of Airlie, is built into a low stone wall or 
stackyard dyke. It is neatly formed. It is supposed to have been in the 
chapel, and it may have been broken in taking down the building. 

As stated in Vol. II., p. 135, it is believed that the Priory of Resteneth had 
been built upon the site of the church of S. Boniface, 

S. Boniface appears to have gone north to Ross-shire, and to have erected a 
church in the burgh of Rosemarkie, in the parish of that name. The town of 
Chanonry, about a mile to the west of the burgh of Rosemarkie, was united to 
it by a charter from James II., in 1444, under the common name of Fortross, 
which was long ago softened into Fortrose. 

In the Old Statistical Account of the parish it is said : " The favoured 
saint and patron of the place, by every ancient monument, appears to have 
been S. Boniface. He was an Italian, a grave and venerable person, and came 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 211 

to Scotland to make up our acquaintance with Borne in 693 or 697. He built, 
to the memory of St Peter, a church where he landed, at the mouth of a little 
water betwixt the shores of Angus and Mearns, another at Felin (Tealing) 
a third at Resteneth, and a fourth at Rosemarkie, where, being taken with the 
pleasantness of the place, he thought fit to reside, and was buried there. 
Bishop Leslie speaks of Rosemarkie as decorated with the relics of the saint, 
and the very ancient sepulchres and monuments of him and his parents ; whence 
it would seem that he had brought his parents from Italy with him in this 
pious expedition. 

On a large old bell, hung in a modern spire, is the name of Thomas Tulloch, 
as Bishop of Ross, and declaring the bell to have been dedicated to the most 
holy Mary and " the blessed BONIFACE, Anno Domyny, 1460." From the 
traditional account of S. Boniface given, there is ground to think the present 
parish church had its foundation laid by him. In repairing it in 1735, in a 
vault under a very ancient steeple, there were found some stone coffins of rude 
workmanship, one of which might probably contain the bones of the venerable 
apostle. To perpetuate his memory we have an annual market called S. Boni- 
face Fair, and a well of excellent water is also distinguished by his name. 
Nay, what is more, the circular seal of the old cathedral is yet preserved and 
used as the public seal of the burgh, with this inscription, in Saxon characters : 
+ SCAPITULI SCOR PETRICT BONIFACII DE ROSMARKIN (Scor seems to be a 
contraction for SANCTORUM). On the seal S. Peter stands with his keys, a 
halo around his head, and Boniface with his crook in his left hand, and his 
right hand raised, with two fingers pointing upward ; he has on a sugar-loaf 
hat, and what looks like fur around its lower edge. The seal appears to be in 
capital order. Another seal, oblong, with S. Boniface standing in it, his right 
hand pointed as in the other seal, and his left hand holding up a key. An 
inscription, with Rosmarkin, Segillum, &c. &c., surrounds the saint. 

The Church of Thelin and the Priest's Croft were granted to the Priory of 
St Andrews by Hugh Gifford and his son, then lords of Tealing, and the gifts 
were confirmed by William the Lion. Some time thereafter, in 1199, it is 
stated that the Priory is to hold the lands of Pitpointie, which had also been 
girled to it by Hugh Gifford, as long as it holds the Church of Tealing. The 
Priests' Croft may have been what is now the farm of Prieston, about a mile 
north-west of the Church. The last-mentioned deed contains a provision that 
William, the son of Hugh Gifford, shall pay three merks yearly for his father's 
kitchen, aud shall clothe his father till he assumes the habit of a canon. He 



212 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

was also bound to pay his father's four servants, and the canons were to find 
them in provisions. 

After these gifts had been made, but prior to 1275, the Church of Telyn was 
disjoined from the diocese of St Andrews and annexed to the diocese of 
Dunkeld, and ever afterwards it belonged to that diocese. In Roman Catholic, 
and afterwards in Episcopal times, the parson of Tealing held the office of 
Archdeacon of Dunkeld Cathedral. The following inscriptions confirm this : 
+heyr : lyis : Ingram : of : Kethenys : prist : maystr : I : arit : ercdene : of : 
dukeldy : made : I : hys : xxxii : Yhere : prayis : for : hym : yat : deyt : hafand : 
Ix. Yherys : of eyld- : in : the : yher : of: Cryet : Mo. : CoCC : Ixxx. 

This is one of the oldest existing inscriptions in Scotland, and is remarkable 
for being in the vernacular of the country. No other of the same kind is known 
to exist in the kingdom. The stone with the inscription was found in the 
foundation of the last church, which was demolished in 1808. It is in excel- 
lent preservation, and the slab having the inscription is built into the north 
wall of the present church. 

The name of Ingram of Kethenys has not been met with elsewhere. A con- 
temporary priest, Robert de Kethenis, " Canon of Brechin and a Scholar in 
Arts," was recommended to the Abbots of Arbroath and Cupar, and the Dean 
of Dunkeld, by mandate from Pope Clement IV., dated 22d June, 1345, to be 
received as a canon and a brother in the said church, where he was to have a 
stall in the choir, and a place in the chapter, &c. (Reg. Ep. Br., II., 392). 

The inscription shows that Ingram, born in 1320, was made " ercdene" in 
1352, and there may have been some relationship between the Archdean and 
Robert. The family de Kethenis were early settled in Kettins, and it is pro- 
bable that Ingram and Robert may both have been descendants of that old 
family, whose lands appear to have been given off to the Ogilvys about the 
time when these two churchmen were born. 

There is another stone built into the north wall of the Church beside the 
one with the inscription. On it a bearded ecclesiastic is represented (half life 
size) at a reading desk. In one corner is a shield with the Ramsay arms, and 
surmounted with the legend, " VIVIT POST FVNEKA VIETUS ;" and in the corner 
opposite are the words, " OBIIT 10 DIE MAII 1618 ^TA 49. On a tombstone 
which lies on the floor of the Church is an inscription in Latin, Englished as 
follows : Erected to the memory of Mr John Ramsay, Archdeacon of Dunkeld, 
Doctor of Divinity, for 35 years a most watchful pastor of this Church, by his 
sorrowing widow, Elizabeth Kinlocli. He died in 1618, aged . 






CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 213 

John Bamsay, rector of Tealing, and Elizabeth Kinloch, his wife, received 
charters of the half lands of Auchreny, in Panbride, in 1602. The stone 
refers to them, and it shows that the parson of Tealing was Archdeacon of 
Dunkeld. 

The parish Church of Tealing is situated a little to the south of a public 
road which intersects the parish from east to west. It is conveniently placed 
for the parishioners, being nearly in the centre of the parish. The building is 
in the usual style of parish church architecture in Scotland, but it is rather 
more ornate than many of them are. There is a neat belfry on the west gable. 
The windows are large, and the interior of the church is well lighted and very 
comfortable. 

The stones in the graveyard are moderately well arranged, but there is still 
room for some improvement in and about the grounds. In the front wall of 
the Church there is an old sculptured stone, upon which is pourtrayed a sea 
serpent. The mason who built the stone into the wall had not been acquainted 
with sea serpents, as it is placed upside down. A rubbing taken from the 
stone shows the figure of the animal. On the back wall there is a stone on 
which are two lusty angels, but this is not a very old stone, and the sculptor 
has not been an artist of merit. High up on the west gable there is an 
elaborately sculptured stone with several figures upon it. They appear to be 
administering rites in connection with some episcopal service. It is beautifully 
executed ; but, being placed so far above the ground, it is not seen distinctly, 
and no careful examination of the figures can be made. 

The grandfather of the present young laird took a deep interest in the many 
objects of antiquity which abound in the parish, and religiously preserved the 
sculptured stones which were found in and about the old Church when it was 
taken down. In addition to those which were rebuilt into the walls of the new 
Church mentioned above, others of a different character were discovered and 
preserved. 

On several of the stones in the walls of the Home Farm steading there are 
incised circles, in which is the cross, also incised. They are of various sizes, 
but all in the same style. This description of cross was put upon stones in a 
building when it was consecrated, and they afforded evidence that consecration 
had taken place, but the number of them in this building imply that they, or 
most part of them, had been so placed for ornament. 

In addition to the Parish Church of Tealing there was at one period an old 
chapel within the grounds of Tealing House. It stood about 100 yards to the 



214 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

north of the mansion, as mentioned above, p. 210. Some of the incised 
crosses and other sculptured stones in the farm building may have been from 
this chapel. 

Under what are called the " table seats " in the church some interesting old 
tombstones, which had at one time stood in the graveyard, have been laid down 
as, and instead of, pavement. The feet of the congregation are fast effacing 
the sculptures upon the stones. This is not as it ought to be, and the heritors 
should have them removed without delay and re-set up around the church. 

The Old Statistical Account of the parish says, " the name of the parish is 
Gaelic, and signifies ' a country of brooks and waters/ in which, indeed, this 
small district abounds." It lies along the south side of the Sidlaws, is about 
three miles in length from east to west, and about two miles from north to 
south. There is an outlying detached farm to the west. The parish is 
bounded by Grlamis and Kinnettles on the north, Inverarity and Murroes on 
the east, Mains and Strathmartine on the south, and Auchterhouse on the 
west. The north boundary is, in the greater part of the distance, a line running 
along the ridge of the Sidlaws, and the rivulet of the Fithie on the south. 
The parish contains 7231 '612 acres, of which 4'124 are water. 

The higher parts of the Sidlaws are covered with heath, and some of the 
lower parts with dense strong broom, all but impenetrable, and having wide 
openings running through the thicket, crossing each other, to admit the sheep 
which are fed on the hills. Part of the Sidlaws is covered with thriving plan- 
tations. The soil of the cultivated parts of the parish is various, some of it 
being light and gravelly, and others good, deep, black loam, with a stratum of 
clay in some places. 

In the early part of this century Tealing was a wet, cold, late district, but 
since then the land has been thoroughly drained. This was comparatively 
easily done, as the parish has a gentle slope from the Sidlaws to the Fithie. It 
thus has a fine southern exposure, and the drainage has quite changed the 
climate. It is now warm and salubrious, and the crops, which previously were 
late, and of poor quality, now come early to maturity, and are large in quan- 
tity and excellent in quality. When the land was wet, and the harvest un- 
certain, good farmers looked askance at it, and the tenants were generally 
second class men. Now the land is farmed by intelligent, skilful men, and the 
district has a smiling, cheerful appearance. 

About 1790 the acreage under cultivation was about 3000, and the products 
sent to Dundee and elsewhere for sale included the following items : 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 215 

Barley, 900 bolls, at 13s 4d, 600 

Oatmeal, 500 bolls, at 13s 4d, . . . . 330 

Calves for butchers, 150, . ... 100 

Coarse linens, to the value of .... 4,000 

Black cattle, 200, at 7, . . . . 1,400 

Hay, 10,000 stones, . . . . . 330 

Whisky, . . ; , ; . . . 200 

Milk, butter, and cheese, .- . . . 500 

7,460 

It appears from this list that there had been a distillery in the parish at that 
period. It was discontinued many years ago. 

The dress and manners of the parishioners had begun to improve. Hats 
and English cloth were taking the place of the bonnet, and coarse home-made 
woollens among the men. " The women still retained the plaid, but, among 
the better sort, it is now sometimes of silk, or lined with silk, and numbers of 
them, on occasions, dress in ribbons, printed cottons, white stockings, and last- 
ing shoes." 

The Account says that wheat was cultivated in the parish long ago, perhaps 
in the first half of the eighteenth century, but it had been discontinued from 
some cause. 

The culture of it was revived about 1780, or a little earlier, but, " after a 
fair trial by a number of hands, it was entirely given up as unprofitable. It 
was found to ripen late, and to impoverish the soil. Oats, barley, and a few 
hasting pease are the only kinds of grain raised at present. Turnips and 
potatoes are raised on every farm, as are also clover and rye grass." " Fruit 
trees grow much to wood, and it was difficult to raise fruit." 

These reports were written before the end of last century, and since then, 
as mentioned above, the husbandry of the district has been greatly improved, 
and the crops raised compare favourably with those grown in the neighbouring 
parishes. 

Hugh Giffard was one of the hostages for the release of William I. in 1174. 
He was miic'i about the Court of that monarch, and witnesses many of his 
charters. Hugh received from that prince a grant of the lands of Yester, and 
of those of Tealing. His eldest son, William Giffard, obtained a confirmation 
of his lands from King William. The charter is witnessed by Florence, elect 
of Glasgow, chancellor. As mentioned above, Hugh Giffard and his son gave 
the church of Tealing to the priory of St Andrews. In the reign of David II. 



216 AHGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Hugh Giffard, laird of Tester, gave charter of the baronies of Yester and 
others, including Tealing in Angus, and Polgavite in Perthshire, to John 
Douglas, son of James, Lord Douglas (In. to Ch., 61-32). Hugh Giffard was 
dead before llth March, 1409. Of that date, Robert, Duke of Albany, Regent, 
confirmed the charter of these lands by Euphamie Giffart, daughter and one 
of the heirs of Hugh Giffart, to Dungall M'Dowale (Reg. Mag. Sig., p. 244-5, 
No, 4, and In. to Ch., 166-4). 

Among the writs of Lord Kinnaird at Rossie Priory is a charter by Dun- 
gallus Makdowal, lord of the fourth part of the lands of Yester, to his con- 
sanguineus, Eustace Maxwell, lord of the third part of Strathardill, of his 
fourth part of the barony of Telyn (Tealing) in the shire of Forfar, and the 
fourth part of the barony of Pulgawy, in the earldom of Gowry, in excambion 
for his fourth part of the barony of Yhester, and the fourth part of the baronies 
of Dunkemlaw and Moram, and lands of Giffardgate, within the constabulary 
of Hadynton and sheriffdom of Lothian, along with the fourth part of a pound 
of cumin, payable yearly out of a croft near the town of Forfar, by John de 
Grabat and his heirs to the said Eustace. Dated at Dundee, 15th August, 
1427. Witnesses, John de Strathawan, vicar of the collegiate church of 
Bothanis, and Thomas Melligane, priests ; Mr John Idill, notary public ; Robert 
de Ledhous, burgess of Dundee ; and Henry de Strathawane, with others. 

Charter of confirmation of the preceding charter under the Great Seal of 
James II., 1441 (His. Man. Com., 5 Rep., p. 620). 

The King's barony of Cortachy was given by James II. to Walter Ogilvy of 
Oures, by charter dated 12th May, 1473, but the grant was revoked. By this 
charter, which was given in favour of " Thomas Ogilvy, of Clova, for his ser- 
vices," the rents of the said lands are reserved for the " lifetime of Anselmus 
Adornes, Knight/' Sir Anselm appears to have been in possession before 18th 
April, 1472, as of that date, on obtaining a charter of the barony of Tealing, 
&c., he is designed " familiari militisis Anselmo Adornes de Cortachy (MS. 
notes of Scottish charters) (Cortachy MS., slip 11). 

This knight was for some time conservator of the Scotch privileges in 
Flanders, but was deprived of his office " at the desyre of the merchants, seeing 
he was a stranger." He was also a Lord of Council 28th November, 1478. 
Probably Sallikyn Adornes, who, on 19th October, 1479, was found liable to 
Alexander Broune in the payment of x merkis for a hors quhilks he bocht and 
ressauit, was a relative of Sir Anselm. Sir Anselm had a daughter named 
Euphan. He was dead before 12th October, 1488 (Acta Dom. Aud., 92-111). 






CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 217 

Herbert Maxwell, ancestor of the Earl of Nithsdale, married, early in 
the 15th century, the heiress of Balmachluchie, in Angus, by whom he had 
Robert, his heir ; and Eustache, of whom is the branch of the Maxwells of 
Tealing. These lands he obtained by marriage with Agness, one of the 
daughters, co-heiresses of Sir John Giffard, or Gifford, Knight, Lord of 
Yhester (Charter in possession of the Marchioness of Tweeddale, Crawford 
Peerage, p. 370), 

Nisbet (1-136), says that the first Maxwell of Tealing was Eustace, second 
son of Sir William Maxwell of Caerlaverock, and that he obtained the lands 
of Tealing by marrying Agnes, a daughter and co-heiress of Sir John Gifford 
of Yester, whose ancestor, Hugh Gifford, had a grant of Tealing from William 
the Lion. The Maxwells appear in Scotch charters before 1124-5. It was a 
nephew of Eustace of Tealing, who was the first Lord Maxwell. The fifth Earl 
of Nithsdale took part in the rebellion of 1715, and was executed in 1716. On 
the death of his son in 1776 the direct mail line failed. 

The following details of services of heirs of the Maxwells shows the names 
of the several proprietors during the greater part of the 17th century, dates of 
the services, and the lands held by the respective lairds, with the valuations of 
some of the lands. 

On 4th November, 1609, Hugh Maxwell of Tealing, heir of his father, Sir 
David, of Tealing, was retoured (No. 67) in the lands of Mains of Tealing, 
called Milton, mill lands, lands of Balnuth, half the lands of Balgray, half 
the lands of Kirkton ; half the lands of Polkembo (? Balkemback), half the 
lands of Balkello, lands of Polgavie (in Gowrie), united in the barony of Teal- 
ing, A.E. 14, N.B. 56. On 28th March, 1631, Patrick Maxwell, heir male 
of George Maxwell of Tealing, his father, was retoured (No. 198) in the lands 
and barony of Tealing, comprehending the Milton, with the mill of Tealing, 
lands of Balnuith, the half lands of Balnuith, Balgray, Kirkton, Balkemmock, 
and Balkello, united in the barony of Tealing. 

Sir Patrick Maxwell of Newark and Tealing, Knight, heir male of George 
Maxwell of Newark, his father, was, on 31st March, 1648, retoured in the 
church land called Prieston of Tealing, with the teinds in the parish of Teal- 
ing (Ket. No. 300). On 4th October, 1691, Patrick Maxwell of Tealing, heir 
male of Patrick Maxwell of Tealing, his father, was retoured (No. 533) in the 
lands and barony of Tealing, comprehending the lands of Milton, with the 
mill, Balnuith, half lands of Balgray, Kirkton, Balkemmock, and Balkello, 
also the lands of Prieston. 

2E 



218 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

During the period embraced in the above services of heirs, portions of the 
barony of Tealing had been in possession of other families. 

The Ogilvys of that Ilk ownd the fourth part of the lands and town of 
Balkello, in part of the 16th and 17th centuries (Ret. Nos. 22 and 69), A.E. 
10s, N.E. 40s. The Lords Boyd were proprietors of half the barony of Tealing 
for some time. Three generations at least owned the lands. On 1st October, 
1618, Robert, Lord Boyd, heir of James, Lord Boyd, son of the deceased 
Robert, Lord Boyd, was retoured (No. Ill) in half the barony of Tealing, 
A.E. 5, N.E. 20. 

In the early part of the 17th century the Campbells of Lundie had a large 
interest in Tealing. On 15th' May, 1624, Colin Campbell of Lundie, heir of 
his father Colin, of Lundie, was retoured (No. 150) in the lands of Balkello, 
Balkemmock, Balcalk, town and lands of Tealing, lands of Balgray, lands of 
Shielhill, mill of Tealing, E. 57 16s 8d. 

On 14th June, 1621, Patrick Kinnaird of Clochindarge, heir of his father 
George, of same place, was retoured (No. 134) in the lands of Polgavie (in 
Gourie) for principal, and in half the lands of Balkello in the barony of Teal- 
ing, in warrandice. 

The Grahams of Claverhouse were for some time proprietors of Tealing. On 
18th June, 1678, John Graham of Claverhouse, heir male of Master George of 
Claverhouse, was retoured (No. 474) in the lands of Balkello, Balkemmock, 
Balcalk, town and lands of Tealing, do. of Balgray, lands of Shielhill, mill of 
Tealing ; also in lands in the barony of Lundie and Dudhope, including Bal- 
lunie, Milton of Craigie, and various other lands. 

George Graham of Claverhouse, in February, 1645, became bound to infeft 
his son, William Graham, in view of his marriage with Lady Magdalene, 
daughter of John, first Earl of Northesk, in the lands of Balkello, Balkemmock, 
Policies, Tealing, Balgray, and Shielhill, in the parish of Tealing (H. of C. of 
S., p. 357). 

The male line of the Maxwells of Tealing appears to have failed in Patrick, 
who died about 1700-4, when George Napier of Kilmahon succeeded as heir 
of tailzie. He made up a Crown title to the property in 1704, and then 
entered into a contract with John Scrymsoure, elder, of Tealing, late Provost 
of Dundee, and his son John, whereby he disponed to the father in liferent, 
and to the son in fee, the lands and barony of Tealing. 

The following are some particulars regarding the Maxwells of Tealing. 
Robert Maxwell of Tealing was slain fighting on the side of the Ogilvys at the 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 219 

battle of Arbroath in 1445. William Maxwell of Tealing was one of the jury 
at a retour of service of John Carnegie of Kinnaird on 28th April, 1483. 
Thomas Maxwell of Tealing was Sheriff Depute of Forfarshire in 1508 (H. of 
C. of S., 22 and 524). Sir William Maxwell of Tealing, Knight, was one of 
the assize at the service of John Carnegie of Kinnaird, at Dundee, '16th May, 
1508. David Maxwell of Ballodrane was one of the Sheriffs Depute of For- 
farshire in 1513 (H. of C. of S., 25 and 544), and Gilbert Gray of Buttergask 
was the other Sheriff Depute. 

The first Lord Balmerino married for his second wife Marjory, or Helen, 
daughter of Hugh Maxwell of Tealing, by whom he had James, Lord Coupar, 
early in the 17th century. They got a charter under the Great Seal of 
Ballumbie on 12th August, 1601. Sir Hugh Maxwell of Tealing married 
Helen, daughter of Patrick, Lord Gray, about the end of the 17th century. 
Thomas Maxwell, designed late of Tealing in the marriage contract between 
his daughter Elizabeth and Gilbert Strachan, younger of Claypots, dated 17th 
and 18th September, 1584 (Mem. of the Strachans, p. 20). 

llth February, 1601. David Maxwell of Tealing, Edward Rossy of that 
Ilk, Alexander Strachan ef Brigton, and Gilbert Strachan of Claypots were the 
four parties to approve of the persons to whom Isabella and Helen Strachan, 
daughters of Carmylie, should be married. James Strachan had married 
Isabell Maxwell, and these two ladies were their daughters. 

David Maxwell, Esq., is witness to a sasine, dated 28th May, 1710 (H. M. 
Com., p. 622), but no designation is given, and we do not know if he was of 
the Tealing family. 

" In 1553 Alexander Maxwell of Tealing was charged with having, in his 
capacity of magistrate, accepted of thift-wite and compositioune for Andro 
Cusnye, ane theif ; and for letting of him to libertie." He was afterwards 
(1572-3) charged, along with his son and heir, David, and some neighbouring 
lairds, for " reset and intercommuning with rebels/' &c. It is probably to this 
David and his wife that the initials D.M. : H.G. (in monogram), upon the 
door lintel of the old dove-cot refer. Upon a skewput stone in the same build- 
ing are the Maxwell arms, the initials D.M., and the date 1595 (E. and I., II., 
p. 373. Helen Maxwell, lady of Tealing, died 27th November, 1639, aged 46 
years. In the graveyard is an enclosed stone, with four shields, bearing the 
Maxwell, Barclay, Gordon, and Ogilvy arms respectively, showing that the 
Maxwells had intermarried with these families. 

John Scrymsoure of Kirkton, the first of Tealing, was a merchant-burgess, 



220 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

and Provost of Dundee. He married Jane, daughter of Rev. William Raitt, 
minister at Dundee; by his wife, Janet Guthrie, of the Guthries of Pitforthie. 
Their eldest son, John Scrymsoure, younger of Kirkton, married Jean Duncan. 
6th December, 1696. By her he had a daughter, bom in January, 1704. The 
baptismal register, Dundee, records as follows : John Scrymsour, yr. of Kirk- 
town, and Jean Duncan, had a daughter called Isobell, Her godmothers are 
Dame Isobell Murray, Ladie Lundie, Isobell Man, sp. to Mr Hen. Guthrie, 
merd, Isobell Leaman, sp. to Mr William Raitt, minst. at Monikie, Isobell 
Raitt, dr. to the sd. Mr William Raitt, mins. The Earls of Camperdown 
are descended from the Duncans of Lundie. 

Patrick Scrymsoure of Tealing died on 27th March, 1815, in the 66th year 
of his age, leaving a daughter, Marion. She was married to James Fothring- 
ham of Powrie. Mrs Fothringham died at Nice, in France, in January, 1875. 
Her body was brought home, and buried in the family vault at Murroes. 

James Fothringham took the additional surname of Scrymsoure, and died 
at Fothringham 15th September, 1837, aged 52 years. 

Besides Thomas, the heir, they had a numerous family, of whom Miss 
Jemima Marion Ann and a younger sister are still alive. 

Their son, Colonel Thomas Frederick Scrymsoure Fothringham married 
Lady Charlotte Carnegie, sister of the Earl of Southesk, He died at Fothring- 
ham on 7th March, 1864, aged 27 years, leaving issue, first, a daughter, Marion 
Charlotte Susan Fothringham ; second, a son, Walter Thomas James Scrym- 
soure Fothringham, born at Algiers, in Africa, on 7th December, 1862. He 
is the proprietor of the estates of Powrie, Tealing, and Fothringham. He be- 
came of age on 7th December, 1883. 

James Coutts of Hallgreen, near Bervie, on 15th Marh, 1759, married Miss 
Menie Rannie, daughter of Mungo Rannie, a respectable linen manufacturer 
and magistrate of Cullen, who died in 1806, aged 79. Mr Coutts was a mem- 
ber of the celebrated banking family, who traded under the firm of Coutts & 
Co., of whom the Hon. the Baroness Burdett Coutts is the representative. Mr 
Coutts and Menie Rannie, his wife, were the maternal grandparents of the late 
Mr Scrymsour Fothringham of Tealing. This relationship having arisen 
through the marriage, on 22d June, 1761, of Patrick Scrymsoure of Tealing, 
with Isobel, second daughter of James Coutts of Hallgreen, by Marion Ranny, 
his wife. He died on 27th March, 1815, in his 66th year. She died at Teal- 
ing, 25th February, 1857, aged 61 years. 

In 1683 the lands of Tealing belonged to four proprietors, viz,, 1st, the Earl 



CHAP. LVII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 221 

of Strathmore, valued rent, 133 6s 8d. In 1822 the lands were called Pit- 
pointy, Peter Bell proprietor ; 2d, Powrie, 120. In 1822 called Ballutheron, 
David Millar proprietor ; 3d, Tealing, 1133 6s 8d. In 1749 divided thus 
Netherton of Finlarig, William Kerr proprietor, 100 ; Overton of Finlarig, 
Miss Scrymsoure proprietrix, 48 ; remaining curaulo of 985 6s 8d, divided 
thus Lands of Kirkton, Balnuith, and Prieston, disponed to Captain John 
Scrymseoure ; in 1822, Miss Scrymseoure, 429 8s ; remainder of estate to 
Miss Scrymseoure, 555 18s 8d, making in all, 1133 6s 8d. 4th, Claver- 
house, 500 ; in 1822 called Lord Douglas lands, '500. The total valued rent 
of the parish being 1886 13s 4d. By division 30th April, 1822, valued rent 
of Balluderon divided thus Part disponed by David Millar to David Hood, 
80 ; part retained by Mr Millar, 40; together, 120. 

The mansion house of Tealing is a large structure, with few architectural 
attractions, but it is both commodious and comfortable internally. The ground 
slopes gradually down from the base of the Sidlaws to the small stream Fithie. 
The house occupies an excellent site about half way between these points, and 
it commands a fine view of the Vale of the Fithie. The house is well seen 
from the summit of the rising ground to the south of that rivulet, on the high- 
way between Dundee and Forfa^ and it and the policies around have a fine 
appearance from that point. 

The grounds around the house are tastefully laid out, and a pretty Uttle den, 
to the west of the house, increases their beauty. The gardens and lawn are 
kept neatly, and many noble trees in the den and around the house give it an 
air of grandeur. 

The Maxwells were proprietors of the lands of Balluderon in the beginning 
of the sixteenth century, if not in the end of the previous century. David 
Maxwell of Ballodron was one of the Sheriffs Depute of Forfarshire in 1513, 
and Gilbert Gray of Buttergask was the other Sheriff Depute. They are both 
mentioned on 7th December of that year (H,.of C. of S., pp. 526-544). 

Balluderon appears to have passed from the Maxwells to the Fothringhams 
of Powrie in the latter part of the sixteenth century. Thomas Fothringham 
of Powrie was proprietor of Balluderon towards the end of that century. He 
died in the early part of the seventeenth century, when his son, also Thomas, 
was, on 19th June, about 1610, retoured (No. 71) in Balluderon and other 
lands. The valuation of Balluderon was then A.E. 5, N.E. 10. On 5th 
December, 1654, John Fothringham of Powrie, heir male of Alexander 



222 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Fothringham of Powrie, his nephew, was retoured (No. 341) in the lands of 
Balluderon and many others. The lands were called Powrie in the Roll of 
1683, because Fothringham of Powrie was then the proprietor. The lands re- 
mained in that family for a considerable period. 

The estate of Balluderon has been divided into two parts for a considerable 
time past, called South Balluderon and North Balluderon, and both parts have 
passed through several hands. David Millar was proprietor in 1822. David 
Hood, farmer, Hatton of Glamis, acquired Balluderon, and held it for a short 
time. John Fairweather acquired the property, and, at his death in 1851, he 
was succeeded by his son, William Fairweather. 

Robert Kidd, flesher, Dundee, acquired North Balluderon, and retained it 
for a few years. William Jackson of Kirriemuir owned that portion, and it 
now belongs to his trustees. South Balluderon was acquired by the late Gr. 
D. Mount several years ago from David Hood, and for some time past it has 
belonged to his trustees. North Balluderon lies lower than South Balluderon, 
which is on the brow of a rising ground. It is a good, comfortable house, sur- 
rounded by pleasant grounds and a plantation of well grown trees, and it com- 
mands a wide prospect of the Vale of the Dighty, and beyond. 

The Douglas estate includes a large portion of the parish, viz. : the farms 
of Balcalk, Balkello, Balkemback, East and West Shielhill, Inveraddie, and a 
number of pendicles. We have already shown how the many lands in several 
parishes in the county, which are known as the Douglas estate, came into pos- 
session of tha Douglas family, and from them to the present noble proprietor, 
the Earl of Home, and we need not therefore repeat it here. 

The estate of Nether Finlarg is an outlying portion of the parish, about two 
miles north from the church. It was for a number of years the property 
of William Kerr, who was a solicitor in Dundee. The estate now belongs to 
his trustees. The steading is on the west side of the old road between Dundee 
and Forfar, and the lands surround the steading. 

The Pitpointie estate belonged to Peter Bell, who farmed the lands. The 
property now belongs to his heirs. It is an outlying section of the parish, 
at some distance to the west, and detached by a part of the parish of Caputh, 
which intervenes. 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING. 223 

The chapter on the parish of Tealing would be incomplete without a short 
account of the Rev. John Glas, for some time minister of the parish. 

From Glas of Sauchie, a respectable family near Stirling, was lineally de- 
scended William Glas, who was the first Presbyterian minister at Dunkeld, 
about the era of the Reformation in Scotland. He was succeeded in his minis- 
terial charge by his son William, whose son, Thomas, was ordained minister 
of Little Dimkeld in 1647, and died in 1682. Alexander Glas, son of Thomas, 
was appointed minister of the parish of Auchtermuchty, in Fife, about the era 
of the Revolution. Here John Glas was bora on 5th October, 1695. He was 
thus descended from a race of ministers. 

Alexander, his father, was afterwards translated to Kinclaven, where his son 
acquired the first rudiments of his education. He was sent to the grammar 
school of Perth, and made good progress in acquiring the knowledge of the 
Latin and Greek languages. At the Universities of St Andrews and Edin- 
burgh, where he completed his academical studies of philosophy and theology, 
he sustained with reputation the preliminary course of trials prescribed by the 
Church of Scotland to candidates for the ministry. He was licensed to preach 
by the Presbytery of Perth, and shortly thereafter, in 1719, he was ordained 
minister of the parish of Tealing. In 1721 he married Catherine, eldest 
daughter of the Rev. John Black, minister in Perth, who was highly esteemed 
in that character there. 

Mr Glas was early impressed with the importance of his office as a minister 
of the Gospel ; he studied the peculiar doctrines of Calvin and Arminius, and, 
finding the latter to be opposed to revelation, he became a zealous preacher of 
salvation by sovereign grace, and he uniformly considered the Scriptures as the 
only criterion by which sentiments in religion must be tried. This is not the 
place to dilate upon the views which he subsequently held regarding the 
obligation of the National Covenant keeping, and we shall give the terse ac- 
count of the controversy which led to his deposition from the church given by 
the late Dr Marshall in " Historic Scenes in Forfarshire." 

<c The Rev. John Glas, the founder of the Glassites, . . . Soon after his 
ordination, he began to vent opinions, then strange in Scotland, such as that the 
kingdom of Carist is not of this world, but spiritual and heavenly, entirely 
distinct from earthly kingdoms, and independent of their support. All State 
churches he therefore regarded as unscriptural in their constitution, and op- 
posed to religious liberty ; and copious illustrations of his views he drew from 
the tenor and the history of the National Covenant, and the Solemn League 



224 ANGUS OR FOKFAKSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

and Covenant, the binding obligation of which was then a favourite topic with 
the kirk clergy. Such heresies could not be connived at. In 1727 Mr Glas 
was brought to the bar of his Presbytery, where he made an honest and ex- 
plicit statement of his sentiments, declared his disapproval of those passages of 
the Westminster Confession which treat of the power of the civil magistrate in 
matters of faith and worship, and of liberty of conscience ; and also denying 
the divine authority of the Presbyterian form of Church government. His 
Presbytery suspended him in April, 1728, and when he continued, notwith- 
standing, to exercise his ministerial functions, his Synod deposed him in Octo- 
ber of the same year, which sentence was confirmed by the Commission of the 
General Assembly in March, 1730. After his deposition he ministered at Teal- 
ing, in Dundee, Edinburgh, and Perth, and again in Dundee, where he spent 
the residue of his life, He was the writer of the well known Letters on 
Hervey's Theron and Aspasia." 

Mr Glas had by his wife fifteen children, all of whom he survived. His 
son, Captain George Glas, was the author of " The History and Conquest of 
the Canary Islands, translated from the Spanish, with a description of the 
Islands ;" and also " A Description of Teneriffe, with the Manners and Customs 
of the Portuguese who are settled there." | 

CAPTAIN GLAS. 

The story of the life and fate of Captain George Glas is of a most tragic 
character. He was bred a sailor, and attained great knowledge of his profes- 
sion. He served several years as a midshipman in the navy, and afterwards 
sailed as master of a vessel from Dundee. In the course of some voyages to 
the coast of Africa, where he traded for dye stuffs, he made very important 
discoveries in that country, then but little known by Europeans. He discovered 
a river, not then shown in the charts, between Cape Yerd and Senegal, which 
he explored, and found navigable to such a distance, that by three days' land 
carriage goods might be conveyed to Tombut, and thence through a vast ex- 
tent of country. He also learned the Arabic language, spoken by the inhabi- 
tants, and by conversation obtained a great deal of information about the 
country, and the easiest plan of trading with the interior parts for gold dust 
and ivory. 

Upon his return to London he laid his plans before his employers, who, with 
Captain Glas, explained it fully to the Ministry. On 17th May, 1764, he pre- 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. TEALING, 225 

sented a petition to the Commissioners for Trade and Plantations, craving an 
exclusive grant of the port he had discovered, with a district of land adjoining 
thereto, for the term of thirty years, in consideration of which he engaged to 
get the said port and district ceded to His Majesty by the natives. The Board 
would not agree to the granting of any exclusive privilege to the trade of the 
port and district, as it was provided by an Act of Parliament, on the abolition 
of the old African Company, that the whole trade on that coast should be left 
free. They afterwards entered into an engagement with Captain Glas, that, if 
he could procure the voluntary cession of the territory from the natives to the 
Crown of Great Britain, he should be entitled to a sum of money, which was 
agreed to be 15,000. 

In consequence of this arrangement he entered into partnership with a re- 
spectable house in London, and a large vessel was fitted out, having a valu- 
able cargo on board. So anxious was he to proceed on his undertaking, that 
in less than two months he was ready for sea. Having received his 
orders from the Privy Council in the month of August, he embarked at Graves- 
end, accompanied by his wife and daughter. 

Alter a short and prosperous voyage they landed on the coast of Africa, and 
sailed into the port which had been before recovered, and which they named 
Hillsborough. Shortly after the chieftains and leading men of the country 
came on board the vessel by appointment, and the ship's crew being assembled 
wich them on deck, a treaty, written in the Arabic language, was read aloud, 
by which the natives agreed to cede the port and a certain district around it 
to the Crown of Great Britain. This treaty being formally signed and sworn 
to, Captain Glas' engagement with the British Government was completed, 
and he determined to send over a boat to the Canary Islands with the deed of 
cession, in order to its being forwarded to London. 

But a famine prevailing at that time in Africa, at the solicitation of the 
natives, as well as for the support of his intended colony, he resolved to go to 
Teneriife to buy some small vessels and load them with corn for Port Hills- 
borough. On the 5th November, 1764, he set out in the longboat with five men 
for the nearest of the Canary Islands, intending to send back the longboat and 
take a passage in a Spanish barque to Teneriffe. They arrived at the Island 
of Lancerotta in 24 hours, from whence the treaty containing the cession of 
Port Hillsborough was sent to London by an English ship. 

The commercial jealousy of the Spanish Government had been alarmed by 
the reports of Captain Glas' new settlement, and their Ambassador at the 
2 F 



226 ANGUS OE FOKFAKSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

British Court had described him minutely in his person as the promoter of the 
plan. Orders were accordingly sent to the Government of the Canaries to seize 
and confine him, if he touched there, where he was well known. 

Immediately upon his arrival at Lancerotta he was seized upon, and sent 
prisoner to Teneriffe, where he and his man-servant were closely confined to 
the Castle, and denied the use of pen, ink, and paper. 

After suffering many hardships in the Spanish prison they made two in- 
effectual attempts to escape from the Castle where they were imprisoned. They 
were thereafter treated with great harshness, but afterwards they were used with 
more lenity. The Captain's wife and family remained with the vessel, the master 
meanwhile trading with the natives, but on 7th March, 1765, a number of 
Arabs came on board, ostensibly to trade, and killed the master and six others. 

The Arabs were subsequently repulsed, but the remainder of the crew, seeing 
the master killed and the captain away, abandoned the ship, and, with the 
captain's family, went to the Grand Canary, and then to Teneriffe, where Mrs 
Glas again met her husband. 

In consequence of the peremptory demands of the British Ambassador at 
the Court of Madrid, the Captain was on 1st October, 1765, set at liberty, 
when they left by the " Sandwich" for London. Some of the crew mutinied, and, 
to secure the treasure on board, murdered the captain of the ship, and Captain 
Glas was thrust through the body from behind. Mrs Glas and her daughter 
begged for mercy, but they were thrown overboard and drowned. The muti- 
neers landed the money on the Irish coast, and set the vessel adrift. She was 
found deserted. The murderers were discovered, tried, and executed. We do 
not know if Captain Glas' discoveries had ever been followed up afterwards. 

The name of the river Captain Glas discovered and sailed up must have 
been the Senegal, it being the only river within the boundaries he mentions. 
It falls into the ocean at Fort Lewis, which may have been erected on the site 
of Hillsborough. 

The details given were taken from the Liverpool Theological Repository, and 
inserted in " A Narrative of the Rise and Progress of the Controversy about 
the National Covenants," by Mr John Glas, late minister of the Gospel at 
Tealing. Second edition. Dundee : Printed for and published by D. Hill and 
John H. Baxter, 1828. 

" The death of his son, daughter, and granddaughter was the most remark- 
able trial which ever befel Mr Glas." 

The Eev. Mr Glas became the founder of a sect, in Scotland called 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PAEISHES. TEALING. 227 

Glassites, but in England and America they are better known as Sandemanians, 
from Robert Sandinian, a native of Perth, who was son-in-law of Mr Glas, and 
became one of his most efficient converts. He had a taste for literature, and, 
by his writings and labours in behalf of the doctrines promulgated by his 
father-in-law, ultimately became better known, out of Forfarshire, than Mr 
Glas himself. 

After his deposition Mr Glas and some others who adopted his views united 
in the formation of a church at Dundee, where he had removed. Shortly 
thereafter the body began to erect churches in other parts of the country, and 
within a short time congregations were formed in Edinburgh, Perth, and other 
places. These churches still exist, but the Glassites have never made great 
progress numerically. They are a very united, loving body among themselves, 
and they never interfere with other Christian churches, or the members thereof. 

After a short stay in Dundee Mr Glas removed to Edinburgh, where he 
officiated as an elder for several years. He then removed to Perth, where he 
laboured diligently until the year 1737, when he again returned to Dundee. 
Here he continued to feed the flock till the close of his mortal life, which was 
at Dundee on 2d November, 1773. He was therefore 78 years and 28 days 
old, and he died in the 55th year of his ministry. His wife died of consump- 
tion in 1749. He had thus been a widower for 24 years. 

The meeting house of the body in Dundee stands on the north side of King 
Street, at its lower end, and in the immediate vicinity of St Andrew's or the 
Cowgate Established Church. It is an octagonal building, of no great size, 
and with little about it to attract the attention of strangers, but it is well known 
to the citizens of Dundee. Mr and Mrs Glas were interred in the same grave 
in the Howff, Dundee, and nine of their children lie beside their parents. 

The Rev. Walter Tait was another apostatising clergyman, having connection 
with the parish. He was ordained minister of Lundie and Fowlis in 1875. 
After labouring there for four years, he was translated thence to Trinity Col- 
lege Church, Edinburgh. He was afterwards charged with heresy, and, being 
convicted, was deposed by the General Assembly. He became founder of a 
sect, which now bears a title more imposing than Taitites would have been. It 
is the Catholic Apostolic Church, or Irvingites. It is governed by twelve 
Apostles. 

Up to about the middle of the eighteenth century, the Church opposed 
marriages which involved real or apparent relationship. In May, 1730, John 
Baxter, elder in this parish, appealed against a finding of the Synod, that his 



228 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

marriage with his deceased wife's brother's daughter's daughter was incestuous. 
The General Assembly referred the case to its Commission to deal with it. 
They had not been in a hurry to take up the matter, as in March, 1738, it was 
sent back by the Commission to the Assembly itself. We have not learned how 
it was ultimately disposed of. There is some difficulty in telling the actual 
relationship between the parties, but they do not appear to have been within 
the prohibited degrees, according to the reading of the law in modern times. 

Among the antiquities found in the parish, an account of which is given in 
the Old Statistical Account, written about 1790-2, are the following, viz. : 
" On the farm of Prieston, near the Glamis Eoad, was discovered some years 
ago a subterraneous building of very irregular construction. It was composed 
of large flat stones, without any cement, and consisted of two or three apart- 
ments, not above five feet wide, covered with stones of the same kind. Some 
wood ashes, several fragments of large earthen vessels, and one of the ancient 
hand mills called querns, were the only things found in it. It was mostly filled 
up with rich black earth." This discovery may have been made about 1780, 
or shortly thereafter. 

" A little westward from the house of Tealing, about 60 or 70 years ago, was 
discovered an artificial cave or subterraneous passage, such as is sometimes called 
by the country people a weem. It was composed of large loose stones, was about 
four feet high, and as many wide, and was said to be traced up to a considerable 
length. There was found in it a broad earthen vessel, and an instrument re- 
sembling an adze, both of them formed very neatly. It still exists, but is 
covered up/' The weem may have been discovered about 1720-30. 

" On the farm of Balkemback are several great round stones, placed in a 
circle, evidently the remains of a Druidical temple." " In two sandy hillocks, 
within these twenty years, were found stone coffins, containing the skull and 
bones of a human body, with urns of earthen ware and ashes in them." " About 
thirty years ago there was found in the mires, a vessel somewhat resembling a 
kettle, about two feet in diameter and one foot deep. Its materials (brass 
mixed with some other metal) and its elegant shape gave it much the appear- 
ance of an antique vase. It was melted down, but its substance is still pre- 
served in the form of a modern pot." The sand hillocks may have been opened 
about 1780, and the kettle-shaped vessel found about 1760. 

In 1871 a Pict's house, or underground dwelling, or weem, was discovered 
in the Ha' Shed, a little to the north-west of Tealing House. The weem was 



SHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES.- TEALING. 229 

cleared out, and its site enclosed, and it still remains precisely in the same 
position in which it was left after it was explored. It is about 80 feet in 
length, the greatest height about 6 J feet, and greatest width 8 feet. It is 
shaped like a human arm, slightly bent, and it appears to have been divided 
into two parts. A bracelet, some bronze rings, ten querns, some of them 
broken, whorls, and other articles were found in it. The weem is a most in 
teresting memorial of a period and a mode of living happily long past. The 
large stone which is in the bottom of the wall, on the right hand or south side 
of the entrance, and near to it, having a series of five concentric circles ; and 
cup markings upon it, remains in a perfect state. 

It is evident that these circles and cups had been the work of a race who 
lived at a period long prior to the era of the weem artificers, and of whom they 
knew nothing. That stone, and others in the walls of the weem with markings 
on them, had been found on the ground, and inserted in the walls without re- 
gard to the markings. The intelligent land steward, Walter M'Nicol, suggested 
that markings on some of the other stones had been made with iron agricul- 
tural implements, such as the teeth of harrows in the labouring of the ground, 
and the scores or scratches upon them precisely resemble those made upon 
ground stones by such implements at the present time. 

Wilson, in his Annals, p. 77, mentions that two underground houses had 
been found in the parish. He may refer to those we have mentioned. These 
dwellings are usually called weems, from namha (Gaelic) a cave, Pict's house. 

There are several other cup-marked stones in the parish of Tealing. One is 
built into the wall of a house near the church ; another forms one of four re- 
maining stones of the circle in the wood of Balkemback. In the large cup- 
marked stone in the weem there are no fewer than 46 cup-marks of various 
sizes upon it, but none of them exceed two inches in diameter. 

At a short distance to the south-west of Balluderon there is a sculptured 
stone, for preservation surrounded by an iron railing. It is described in the 
work on the sculptured stones of Scotland. We gave a short account of the 
stone, Vol. I. p. 32-33. It is one of the stones referred to in the legend of 
the death of the nine maidens by a dragon, the monster having been overtaken 
and slain there, and the stone was raised to commemorate the event. A 
serpent, transfixed with the zigzag symbol, two horsemen, two serpents, and 
other figures are upon the stone. The stone there is said to be east of Bal- 
luieron, instead of south-west. 

Near the south end of the corral den is a circle, about eight yards in 



230 ANGUS OR FOKFA.RSHIEE. |_ PART XIV - 

diameter, of paved stones, around which are a number of boulders. In some 
parts the flagstones are in double layers. Under the stones, stone axes rudely 
formed, horses' teeth, charcoal, &c., were discovered. 

One of the earlier discovered weems, which had been afterwards filled up, 
was, a few years ago, re-discovered by Walter M'Nicoll, the land steward. In 
it he found an old lamp of sandstone. 

There was a castle at Tealing in the olden time, but we have not met with 
any description of it. The castle is supposed to have stood on the east side of 
the corral den, where* there is an eminence called the Castle Hill. 

The several weems, eirde houses, or Picts' houses, as the underground 
dwellings are variously called, and the other antiquities which have been dis- 
covered in the parish, and which we have detailed above, afford indubitable 
evidence that the parish had been peopled at a very early period, but who they 
were, or whence or where they came, no man can tell. We see the remains 
of their works, and may describe their present appearance, and from these 
speculate on the manners and customs and modes of life of the builders, and 
that is all. We cannot draw aside the impenetrable veil which hides pre- 
historic times and works from our gaze, and ingenious guessing bewilders 
rather than enlightens us. 

There is no doubt that the parish was inhabited by several distinct races of 
men in pre-historic times, as the discovered remains of their works afford proof 
of this, but we cannot tell how many races have occupied the parish, nor the 
order of their occupancy. The weem builders were early settlers, but they 
were preceded by the cup-makers. When the weem was discovered and opened 
at Halyburton a few years ago we went to see it, and in the bottom of the 
weem was a large flat stone with numerous cup-markings on it. The side 
walls of the weem were both partly built upon the stone, as they were on the 
other flagstones in the bottom of the weem, of which the cup stone formed one, 
thus showing that the cup-stone had been found in the search of the builders 
for flags, and the cup-markings having no value as such to them, was laid 
down with the others as a floor of their dwelling. In one of the weems in this 
parish a stone with cup-markings was built into the walls among other stones, 
its markings being without value to them. The cup-markers had come and 
gone, and their religious rites, if the cup-markings were part of them, had no 
meaning to their successors. 

In like manner the different modes of sepulchre show various races of 
people, and the many varieties of articles of stone, of bronze, of flint, and of 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. TEALING. 231 

iron, and ornaments of various sorts and shapes, made of the precious metals, 
and of jet, &c., and the different forms and ornamentation on the urns, in 
which some of these articles were found, all go to show that they were made 
and deposited at various eras, and by different races of people, some of whom 
were much more civilised and greatly more advanced in the arts than others. 

Mr John Eamsay was parson of Tealing in the beginning of the 17th century. 
On 2d November, 1602, David Maule of Bothe, Commissioner of St Andrews, 
with consent of his wife, Catherine Balfour, sold all and haill the equal sunny 
half of the lands and town of Auchreny to Mr John Ramsay, parson of Tealing, 
and his wife, Elizabeth Kinloch, for the sum of 1800 merks. Probably he 
belonged to the family of that name who were proprietors of Panbride about 
that period. The lands he then acquired appear to have been the farm of 
Auchranny, in the parish of Panbride, now part of Panmure estate, and rented 
at 520 annually. 1800 merks is 1200 pounds Scots, or 100 sterling. This 
shows the extraordinary rise in the value of land in the county since the date 
of the purchase of the land by the parson. The Ramsays held property in 
Barry under the Abbot of Balmerino. One of them was minister of Strath- 
martine, and was served heir to his father in Gedhall, &c., 6th December, 
1642. 

PARTICULARS REGARDING THE DUNDEE PRESBYTERY. 

Dundee, to which a part of Logie-Dudhope was annexed at its suppression. 

Mains (formerly Strathdighty), to which Strathmartine was annexed at its sup- 
pression in 1799. 

Monikie. Auchterhouse. Liff, to which part of the parishes of Logie, Inver- 
gowrie, and Benvie were annexed in 1758. 

Monifieth, to which North or Broughty Ferry, Ecclesiamonichty or Balmossie, 
and Kingennie or Omachie were annexed. 

Murroes or Muirhouse, to which Balumbie was annexed. 

Tealing. Lundie, to which Fowlis-Easter (in Perthshire) was annexed. 

Longf organ, to which the whole of Dron, and part of Invergowrie and Benvie 
(all iu Perthshire) were annexed. 

Inchture, to which Rossie was annexed in 1670, with Kinnaird, (all three in 
Perthshire), which last, before the Reformation, was part of Inchture, and 
a dependent chapelry. 

Abernyte. 



232 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIHE. [PART XIV. 

Previous to the year 1698 the Presbyteries of Dundee, Forfar, and Meigle, 
were united into one, and formed a Presbytery within the Synodal province 
of Angus and Mearns. At what time the union took place we do not 
know, neither are we aware of the cause of it, but the union of Forfar 
occurred before 1650. This junction continued to exist from its formation 
till 1717, in which year an act of the Synod of Angus and Mearns, held 
at Arbroath, 17th April, separated the Presbytery of Forfar from that of 
Dundee, and probably that of Meigle also, for there is extant an act or 
edict of the Presbytery of Meigle, as a special ecclesiastical court, against 
" penny weddings," dated 6th October, 1717, only five months after the 
date of the Act of Synod. 

The Presbytery of Dundee consists of the following parishes, viz. : 

1. Abernyte. 8. Lundie and Fowlis. 

2. Auchterhouse. 9. Mains and Strathmartine. 

3. Dundee. 10 Monifieth. 

4. Inchture. 11. Monikie. 

5. Kinnaird. 12. Murroes. 

6. Liff and Benvie. 13. Tealing. 

7. Longf organ. 

It is not certainly known when the division of Scotland into parishes was 
first made. It can be traced back to the time of King David I. in the twelfth 
century, but it may have been done in a previous reign. We are also to a con- 
siderable extent ignorant of the principle on which the division was carried 
out ; but, as we previously mentioned, the parishes appear to have been generally 
commensurate with the domain of the proprietor. 

Having given an account, in detail, of the several landward parishes in the 
county, we will now give some statistics and other matter embracing the entire 
county united in one focus. We will conclude the work with a short account 
of the origin, rise, and progress of towns and burghs, with special reference to 
those in the county, and some miscellaneous matters. 

The following properties in Forfarshire belong quoad civilia to the parish of 
Caputh, but quoad sacra to the parishes in which they are respectively situated : 
Balbeuchly, in the parish of Auchterhouse ; South Bandirran, in the parish 
of Collace ; Broughty Castle and fishings, in parish of Monifieth ; a small piece 
of ground at Mylnfield, near Dundee ; Fofarty, in Kinnettles. In Fofarty 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 233 

there is a field of about four acres, called from time immemorial, " The 
Minister of Caputh's Glebe," and is believed to belong to him, though not 
hitherto occupied (0. S. Ac., Vol. 9, p. 486, note). In Vol. III., p. 55, we 
showed that Broughty is in the parish of Monifieth and not in the parish of 
Caputh. 

Dr Johnston says : When Christianity was established in this island, a 
regular mode of public worship was prescribed. Public worship requires a 
public place, and the proprietors of lands, as they were converted, built churches 
for their families and vassals. For the maintenance of ministers they settled 
a certain portion of their lands, and a district, through which each minister 
was required to extend his cure, was by that circumscription constituted a 
parish. This is a position so generally received in England that the extent of 
a manor and of a parish are regularly received for each other. 



VALUATION EOLL, 1683. 

A Valuation Roll of the lands in the county was made up in 1683, but few 
copies of it have been preserved. The estates enumerated in it are few 
in number, and generally of large extent. 

Since that period the properties in the county have, in many cases, been sub- 
divided again and again, and the proprietary are now a much more numerous 
body than they were two centuries ago. The breaking up of the baronies and 
lairdships into smaller estates have led to many changes in the names of the 
properties, which make it difficult to trace the progress of the changes in the 
ownership which have been going on. We were favoured by a friend with a 
perusal of the 1683 Roll, and of a new Roll made up in 1822, which shows 
the changes which had taken place in the names of the lands, and the divisions 
and subdivisions made in many of the estates between the dates of the two 
Rolls. 

Before receiving these Rolls we had given the proprietary accounts of the 
lands in several of the parishes in the county. As the additional information 
supplied by these Rolls throws much light on the proprietary history of the 
lands, we propose to give details from them regarding the parishes given before 
obtaining them. 



234 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

1. -ABERLEMNO PARISH. 

In 1683 the lands were divided as follows, viz. : 1, Aldbar, 466 13s 4d ; 
2, Melgum, 2000 ; 3, Nether Turin, 200 ; 4, Balgayes, 500 ; 5, Earl of 
Strathmore, 133 6s 8d; 6, Strickatbro, 266 13s 4d ; 7, Tilly whan dland, 
266 13s 4d ; 8, Earl of Southesk, 33 6s 8d ; 9, Flemington, 133 6s 8d ; 
10, Caiwgownie, '233 6s 8d ; total valued rent, 4233 6s 8d. In 1822 the 
names of the properties and the proprietors were: 1, Aldbar, Patrick 
Chalmers ; 2, Melgund, Earl of Minto ; 3, Turin, Alexander Watson ; 4, Bal- 
gavies, James Dalgairns ; 5, Balhinny, George Archibald Jarron ; 6, Bal- 
glassie, on 6th October, 1812, divided thus, two-thirds to James Craik, and 
one-third to Robert Gordon, yr. of Invernetty ; 7, Tillywhandland, William 
Ferney; 8, Pitkennedy, Captain William Ogilvy ; 9, Flemington, John 
Webster ; 10, Carsegownie, Charles Gray ; the valued rent being as above 
stated, 4233 6s 8d. 

2. AIRLIE PARISH. 

In 16831, Balfour, sen., 233 6s 8d ; 2, Balfour, yr., 390 ; 3, Earl of 
Strathmore, 1750; 4, Thomas Wilson, 333 6s 8d ; 5, Bamf, 120; 6, 
Aucbendore, 100 ; 7, Earl of Airlie, 383 6s 8d ; tola! valued rent, 3310. 
In 1822 1, Blackston ; 2, Cookston, both Colonel Fothringham ; 3, Lindertis, 
Linross, Cardean, Bridieston. This sum of 1750 was divided into six por- 
tions by decree 16th June, 1767. When Lindertis was sold to Major Fletcher, 
alterations were made 30th April, 1778, thusI, Newton of Airlie,94 12s 1 Id ; 
G. Phillips, part of Littleton, 68 7s 5d ; Lindertis, 255 18s 4d ; John 
Brown's part of Littleton, 68 4s lid; parts of Reedie and Kinalty, 452; 
together, 939 3s 7d. Gilbert Mason 2, Bridieston, 259 3s 2d ; Cardean, 
224 19s 5d ; together, 484 2s 7d. Patrick Murray 3, Lintrose, 1 63 3s ; 
parts of Reedie and Kinalty, 138 4s ; together, 301 7s. Earl of Strath- 
more 4, Feu duties to the Earl of Strathmore from Baikie, Drumdairn, and 
Carlingwell, 25 6s lOd. Subdivided thus two-thirds Baikie sold to Robert 
Lyell of Carcary, 16 17s lid ; one-third Carlingwell sold to David Blair of 
Cookston 8 8s lid ; together, 25 6s lOd. These sums together make 
1750. 4, Baikie and Carlingwell. This was divided before 1748, thus 
Baikie. G. Gourlay, 222 4s 6d ; Carlingwell, James Clayhills, 111 2s 2d; 
together, 333 (is 8d. 5, Grange of Airlie, 120 ; 6, Auchendore, 100 ; 7, 
Barony of Airlie, 383 6s 8d ; the valued rent being in all, as above stated, 
3310. 



CIIAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PAEISHES VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 235 

3.-ALYTH PAKISH. 

Blacklunans in Haill in 1683, 478 ; in 1822 called Blacklunans ; divided 
by decree, 10th September, 1796, as follows, the names being those of the pro- 
prietors in 1822. 

Colarich or Coldrach, and Croyan, John Spalding, -' .. ' . *. . . 63 14 6 

Borland and Ward, Peter M'Kenzie, . . . '. . 63 14 6 

Drumour, formerly part of Whitehouse, John Webster, ., . . 31 17 3 

Remainder of Whitehouse and Doun, James Cameron, . . . 31 17 3 
Westerton of Blacklunans, mill and mill lands of Milton of Blacklunans, and 

lands of Drumfork, J. P. Shaw, . . . . . . 286 16 6 

Amount as above, 478 



4. ARBIRLOT PARISH. 

1, Earl of Panmure. 2300 ; 2, Kelly, 1966 13s 4d ; together, 4266 13s 
4d, total valued rent. 

DIVISIONS. 

By decree in 1767, the estate of Kelly, comprehending the barony of Kelly 
and tenandry of Cuthly, which in the decree are stated at the cumulo value 
of 3566 13s 4d, are divided thus 

1. Mains of Kelly, Phalais, and Hunter's Path, disponed to William Alison, 444 17 

2. Fairnieknow, Peasiehill, Newton of Arbirlot, and Blindwalls, disponed 

to James Carnegie, . .'.'. . . . 434 6 3 

3. Upper and Wester Balmilnmuir, Bonnyton, Lyn, Greenford, Rottonraw, 

and Garro, disponed to John Bell, . . "... ' * 486 15 8 

4. Balcuthie, Painstoun, Mill of Wormyhill, and mill lands, Little or Nether 

Kelly, lands of Durie, and park of Kelly, disponed to James Butchart, 475 7 6 
6. Millhill, Benhards, Mill and mill lands of Kelly, disponed to David 

Wallace, . . .' . . . . . 404 2 11 

6. Nether Balmirmor, Easter and Wester Knox, disponed to William 

Robertson, . ... . ,, , '",' . . . 423 17 6 

7. Crudie, the Cotton, Crudie Meadow and acres, and the lands of Broom- 

hill, disponed to Colin Campbell, ..... 430 1 9 

8. Lands of Arbirlot, mill and mill lands thereof, lands of Cuthlie, Denhead, 

and Cartford, disponed to John Kerr, . '; . . . 467 4 9 

3566 13~4 
The remaining lands in the parish fall to be stated, as in 1758, at 700 



Total amount, 4266 13 4 



236 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

5. AUCHTERHOUSE PARISH. 

In 1683 the lands stood as follows : 1, Earl of Strathmore, Auchterhouse 
and Dronley, 1450 ; 2, Lundy for Wester Adamston, 100 ; 3, do. do. for 
Easter Adamston, 110; 4, Scotstown, 166 13s 4d ; 5, Balbeuchly, 200; 
6, Temple lands of Auchterhouse, 10 ; total amount of these, 2036 13s 4d. 
No decree of division appears, but in the oldest Cess Book extant, that of 1748, 
and subsequently, the lands of Auchterhouse are entered thus 
Auchterhouse, the Earl of Airlie, . . H68 6 8 

The remainder of 1450 is included with Lord Camper- 

down's other lands, . 281 13 4 



Wester Adamston, Lord Duncan, ... 100 

Easter Adamston, Lord Duncan, .... HO 

Scotstown, Hugh Maxwell, ... 166 13 4 

Balbeuchly, trustees of William Wilson, . 200 

Templelands of Auchterhouse, Robert Millar, . 10 

Amount as above, 2036 13 4 

6. PARISH OF BARRY. 

The lands in the parish were divided into twelve portions in 1683, viz. : 1, 
Ravensby 400 ; 2, Pitskelly and Cowbyres, 350 ; 3, Coatsyd, 150 ; 4, 
David Moram, 6 5s ; 5, Woodhill, 360 ; 6, Grange of Barry, 360 ; 7, Car- 
noustie, with lands purchased from Pitskelly, 170 ; 8, Gedhall, 43 6s 8d ; 
9, Easter and Wester Badiehill, 120; 10, Greenlawhill, 66 13s 4d; 11, 
William Johnston, 12 10s ; 12, the Earl of Panmure, including his feus, 
216 13s 4d ; total valued rents, 2255 8s 4d. 

In 1822 the proprietors were as follows: 1, Thomas Gardyne; 2, 3, and 
4, trustees of A. G. Hunter ; 5, Robert S. Miln ; 6, William Henderson ; 7, 
George Kinloch; 8, Gedhall, David Moram; 9 and 10, James Sime ; 11, 
William Johnston; 12, Panmure, &c. By decree of division, 2d October, 
1770, divided thus : Feu duty of Ravensby, Crookhill, Over and Nether 
Mills, and Millhead of Barry, sold to James Gardyne, Thomas Gardyne, 
15 14s 4d. Feu duty of Woodhill and Gedhall, sold to James Miln, 
Robert S. Miln, 9 16s 7d ; four acres in Barry, sold to - Hunter, Trustees 
of A. G. Hunter, 8 17s 2d ; remaining with the Earl of Panmure, Hon. 
William Maule, 182 5s 3d ; these four sums in all, 216 13s 4d. The rents 
in the respective Nos. in 1683 and 1822 are the same, making the total value 
2255 8s 4d, as above. In the Cess Book of 1748, No. 4 is called Whitelums, 
and No. 11 is called Watery Butts of Barrie. 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 237 



i r 




T;^ g.,3, ^ 

N -o S. 
*n 8" g. 

d 



S, 



H* I- 1 CO I- 1 M CO Ol CO O 

11 g 8008888 888 

Ci 'CO CO O Ci O O Ci Ci O Ci O 

oo rf^ rf^ o oo o o oo oo o oo o 

CD cDi^oirP 5p S'S'ti.'P 

8 CQjO^C'K-. 5S--E!:^^ 

I llfff I f rl. 

JP p J5' o W P o^ 



e> 





Ci O I- 1 tO 



000 00 

kbd 






s 
l 
b 



1*1 

I' 



Patrick Ch 
G. Hunter, 
bert Jarron 



00 



>-d ^ 
?S. "I j> 

I? I? W 

rt H 'K i 



b3 



- Q 

" rq 

I t 

a) 



5" E 



OOC7TC5 

ooooo 



GO 

. H 1 

Ci Oi 

Ci bO I 



CiCi 



Ci CO CO O Ci O O Ci Ci O C5 O CS M 

00 ***OOOOOO OOOOOO OOfcO 



OOO 



238 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Details of the divisions, numbered as above : 

1. By decree of division on 22d July, 1766, the property was divided thus : 

Lands of Pittendreich and multures thereof disponed by Sir James 

Carnegy to the Earl of Panmure, Hon. William Maule, . 397 6 4 

Remainder of the estate, Sir James Carnegy, . . - '..' . 1333 16 4 

2. By the foresaid decree of division divided thus : 

Lands of Kincraigs, Windyedge, Balbirnie Mill, Milnton, half of Easter 
Kincraig, Gateside, Caldcoats, Raw of Leuchland, Wester Lighton- 
hill, and salmon fishings on the water of the Southesk, disponed 
by the Earl of Panmure to Sir James Carnegy, . . . 668 15 2 

Remainder of the estate, . . . . . . 1009 16 6 

By decree of division, dated in the year 1767, this remainder divided thus : 

Dubton, Haughmuir, West Mill, Burghill, and Billhead, disponed by 

the Earl of Panmure to David Molison, .... 476 6 4 

Barrelwell and Pitpollox, disponed by the Earl of Panmure to D. 

Allardice, . . . .... . 354 2 9 

Castle of Brechin and inclosures, retained by the Earl, . . 179 7 5 

3. By decree of division, on 29th October, 1754, the lands of Kintrockat are divided 

from Auldbar thus : 
Kintrockat, . . . . . . . 369 14 6 

Auldbar, in Brechin, and Aberlemno, .... 1030 5 6 

By decree of division, dated in the year 1797, the above cumulo of 1030 5s 6d is 

thus divided : 

Lands of Stanachie, comprehending the farms of Stanachie, Craigend, 
and Craigside ; and lands of West Drums, Chapel, Kirriemuir, 
and Ward of Drums, Leadhead, Muirside, and Westerton, all 
lying in the parish of Brechin, disponed by Patrick Chalmers to 
Alexander Elphinstone, . . . . . . 409 5 10 

Remainder of the estate, . . . . . . 621 8 

Whereof in Aberlemno parish to be deducted, . . 466 13 4 

By decree of division, dated 30th April, 1739, the above cumulo of 369 14s 6d for the 
lands of Kintrockat is divided thus : 

(1) Lands of Eskmont, sold by Mr Ferrier to Mr Hunter, . ~ .' 277 5 10 

(2) Lands remained to Mr Ferrier, Robert Jarron, . . 92 8 8 

There are some discrepancies between the decrees and the Cess Book anent Auldbar, so 
that there has to be added, Patrick Chalmers, 14s 6d. 

4. By decree of division, llth January, 1750, divided thus : 

Findowrie, James Carnegy, . . , . . . 382 10 8 

Caldhame, . . . . . < ^ t 550 Q Q 



933 6 8 



CHAP. LVJ1.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 239 

By the same decree Caldhame, 550 16s, divided thus : 

Lands remaining with Mr Carnegy, Hon. William Maule, 214 11 9 

Lands of Caldham feued to John Smith, J. Smith's represensatives, 22 18 

Do. do. James Smith, George Coupar, 94 17 3 

Lands of Caldham feued to James Soutar, Patrick Laing, &c. 36 3 

*Do. do. David Duncan, R. Jarron, Kintrockat, 18 2 

Do. do. Thomas Robb. John Fyffe's heirs, 13 7 

Do. do. James Fyffe, John Auchinleck's heirs, 31 1 

Do. do. Jas. Smith Carter, James Smith Carter, 7 15 

Do. do. Robert Langlands, John Symmer, 13 8 

Do. do. William Morris, John Robert, 8 17 

Do. do. Joseph Gib, 89 16s. 

By decree of division, 27th October, 1801, divided thus : 
Lands belonging to the following parties 

To James Smith, junr, J. Smith's representatives, 33 18 
Dr Joseph Low, Mrs Seivewright, 16 12 

James Reid, James Reid, 19 13 

Alexander Durrie, A. Durric's representatives, 9 16 6 
Widow Mitchell, Widow Mitchell, 9 16 6 

89 16 



550 16 

5. By decree of division, 1st October, 1822, that part of the lands of Kintrockat retained 
by Mr Ferrier, 92 8s 8d, is thus divided : 

(1) The lands called Easter Inchock Park, disponed by 

A. Ferrier to James Coathill, smith at Kin- 
trockat, ^ " Heirs of J. Coathill, 500 

(2) West Mains of Kintrockat, Robert Jarron, 46 16 9 

(3) West Inchock Park, now St Ann's, Herbert Kerr, 6 16 8 

(4) That part called Maulesden, Thomas Binny, 26 3 

(5) That part called Gallowsbank, Hon. William Maule, 7 12 3 



92 8 8 

* These lands were, on 1st October, 1822, transferred from Robert Jarron to Alexander 
Mair, residing in Brechin, 18 2s. 

PAPAL BULLS TO BRECHIN CATHEDRAL. 
Between the years of 1218 and 1526, 28 of these Bulls were received by the 
Bishop and Chapter, being one every eleven years. Of these two were by Pope 
Honorius III. ; one by Innocent IV. ; one by Alexander IV. ; two by John 
XXII ; four by Clement VI. ; three by Innocent VI. ; one by Martin V. ; six 
by Nicholas V. ; three by Calestus III. ; two by Pius II. ; two by PaulusII. ; 
and one by Clement VII. Some of these Bulls were authorising the election 
of Bishops and Deans to the Cathedral of Brechin, some granting Indulgences, 



240 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



one for the election of the Abbot, &c., of Lindores Abbey, one to Robert of 
Ketnes, one a Dispensation to David Fullarton, and the object of some of them 
is not given. 



Craig Scott, 
Dunninald, 
Struockhill, 
Baldovie, 



8. PARISH OF CRAIG. 

Description and valued rents in 1(583. 



Name of lands in 1822. 

3333 6 8 Rossie. 

633 6 8 Dunninald. 

58 6 8 Usan. 

250 Baldovie. 



4275 



In the oldest Cess Book extant (for 1748) the valued rents of these lands are thus 
stated : 

Rossie, .... 2100 

Dunninald, . . . 1212 14 1 

Ulysses' haven, . . . 712 10 

In the subsequent divisions these cumulos have always been assumed as the data upon 
which the divisions proceeded. 

By decree cf division, 30th April, 1774, the valued rent of Rossie is thus divided : 
Lands and barony of Rossie, as formerly holding Taxward, Horatio Ross, 1284 1 
Lands and barony of Craig, &c., holding feu of the Crown, Do., 815 19 



2100 



By decree of division, 31st January, 1788, the valued rent of Dunninald, 
1212 14s Id, is thus divided : 

1. Pendicle of Broomknow, belonging to John Grame, 

G. Keith, 12 9 3 

2. Mains of Dunninald, sunny and shadow halfs thereof, as 

well as those parts in D. Scott's natural possession, in- 
cluding the farm of Boddin, aa those parts possessed by 
John Leighton, James Mauchline, and Patrick Scott, 
with the houses and yards at Cotton, P. Arklay, 424 7 

3. Town and lands of Balkiellie, comprehending two fields in 

the natural possession of D. Scott, and the remainder as 
possessed by Patrick Scott, David Smith, Archibald 
Scott, David Mackie, John Yalentine, and James Ander- 
son, P. Arklay, 322 8 7 



Carry forward, 



758 18 5 2100 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION" ROLL, 1683. 241 

Brought forward, . . 758 18 5 2100 

4. Scotstown, Usan, DoUs, Peatmyres, . 263 11 

5. Remaining parts of Scotstown, Nursefield, 

&c., 29 8 4 



292 19 4 

Subdivided 30th April, 1814, thus : 

Two parts Scotstown to Mr Arklay, . . 53 

Remainder Mr Speirs, George Keith, 239 19 5 

292 19 5 

6. Broomknow, Gushet, Hogsfauld, 160 16s 3d, divided 30th 
April, 1814 : 

1. Portion these lands to P. Arklay, 24 

2. Remainder to G. Keith, . . 136 16 3 160 16 3 

1212 14 1 

The above cumulo of 712 10s, of Usan, on 27th June, 1803, divided thus : 

1. Southlands of Usan, Craigies, Struockhill, Middle Sheep 

Park, Hogsfauld, &c., G. Keith, 271 16 10 

2. North lands of Usan, Portfield, Easter Limekilns, Ward- 

law, Damfauld, &c., G. Keith, 290 17 8 

3. Part East Sheep Park, Usan, Mill Lands, G. Keith, 60 8 5 

4. Part West Sheep Park, Usan and portion, G. Keith, 34 18 1 

5. Salmon Fishings of Usan, G. Keith, 54 9 

712 10 

Baldovie, Rev, Alexander Carnegy, . - . . , . 250 



4275 4 1 

Being an increase of 4s Id on this parish. 

9. PARISH OF DUN. 

In 1683 the parish of Dan was divided among seven proprietors, viz. : (1) 
the laird of Dun, 800 ; (2) Whytfield, 233 6s 8d ; (3) Kirkbuddo, 100 ; 
(4) Lady Dunninald, 600 ; (5) Soamhill, 1883 6s 8d ; (6) Hedderwick, 
400; and (7) Bailie Milne, 700 ; in all, 2983 6s 8d. In 1822 the first 
five were called Dun and Langley Park. On a petition to the Commissioners 
of Supply, in name of John Erskine of Dun and James Scott of Conniston, the 
Commissioners, by decree of 25th September, 1779, found that the valued rent 
of the first five lands fell to be divided as follows : The proprietor of the estate 

2H 



242 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

of Dun, Miss Erskine, 1582 Is 8d ; the proprietor of Ecclesjokn, 301 5s ; 
together, 1883 6s 8d. On a petition by the same parties it was found, by 
decree of 30th April, 1782, the valued rent of Seamhill, sold by Mr Scott to 
Mr Erskine, was (Miss Erskine), 100, leaving the remainder of the rent of 
Mr Scott's lands, now called Langley Park (James Cruickshank), 201 5s, 
making in all the original sum- of 1883 6s 8d. The lands of Herwick, in 
1822 called Hedderwick, belonged to G. Eobertson Scott, 400 ; and Bailie 
Milne land, now called Balwyllo, belonging to David Carnegie, 700 ; together, 
1100 ; making, with the five first lands, 1833, a total of 2983 6s 8d ; being 
the old valuation. 



10. PARISH OF DLTNNICHEN. 

In 1683 the parish was divided into six portions. 1, Earl of Southesk, 
1055 ; 2, Craichie, 200 ; 3, Tullos, 395 ; 4, Earl of Strathmore for his 
feu-duties, 45 ; 5, Dumbarrow, 238 ; 6, Earl Panmure's feu, 338, the total 
value being 2271. The first of these, called Dunnichen, was, on llth 
January, 1790, divided thus : 

Easter and West Lownie, Cotton of Lownie, Brewseat, and Kirkton, which 

in 1822 belonged to Mr Dempster's heirs, .... 455 

Remainder of estate, 600, on 29th October, 1793, divided among Craichie, 165 6 

And 19 small properties, valued rent of . . . . . 434 19 6 



1055 

2. Craichie Mill, .... ... 200 

These all belonged to Dempster's heirs. 

3. Tullos, 1822, belonged to John Ochterlony, . . . . 395 

4. Tullos and Craichie Mill, divided on 16th June, 1767. Feu-duty out of 

Tullos to John Ochterlony,. . . . 19 14 5 

Craichie and Mill, Earl of Strathmore, . . . . . 25 5 7 

45 
5 and 6. Dumbarrow and part Tullo, 29th April, 1775, 

divided. Earl's feu sold to John Ochterlony, . . 30 11 6 

Lands of Dumbarrow, sold to George Dempster, 307 8 3 
Add Dumbarrow, original Roll, . . 238 



545 8 3 



Carryforward, < . 3011 6 1695 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 243 

Brought forward, . ': 3011 6 1695 

Divided, 30th April, 1819, thus : 
Mains and Mansion of Dumbarrow, West Mains Kirkhill, and 

others, in 1822 belonged to Robert Downie, . . 433 19 11 

Windyedge to Robert Downie, . . . Ill 8 7 

576 

Valuation in 1822 as in 1683 . ... . . 2271 

11. PARISH OF EASSIE AND NEVA Y. 

In 1683 the parish belonged to the following proprietors : 1, Lord Lindores, 
600 ; 2, Lord Nevay's heirs, 500 ; 3, Laird of Nevay, 800 ; 4, John Low, 
in Eassie, 25 ; 5, Balthayock, 240 ; 6, Dunkenny, 360 ; 7, Earl of Strath- 
more, for Hatton of Eassie, 367 8s ; total, 2892 8s Od. In 1822 No. 1 was 
called Ingliston and Castleton, David Nairn, proprietor, 600 ; Nos. 2, 3, and 
4 was the estate of Nevay, 500, 800, and 25, James Stewart ' M'Kenzie, 
proprietor ; No. 5 was called Eassie, on 27th October, 1801, divided thus : 
Kirkton of Eassie,, held of the Earl of Airlie, 221 11s ; Dury lands of Eassie, 
held of the Earl of Strathmore, 18 9s; together, 240; both belonged to 
Rev. David Symers ; 6, Dunkenny, 360, belonged to James L'Amy ; 7, 
Hatton of Eassie, the Earl of Strathmore, 367 8s ; making in all, 2892 8s, 
as in 1683. 

12. PARISH OF EDZELL. 

Comprising all Edzell, Lethnot, arid Lochlee, in 1683 belonged to the laird 
of Edzell, valued rent of all, 3302 13s. In 1767 divided :- 

1. Lands of Glenmark, Kirkton, &c., in the parish of Lochlie, disponed by 

the Earl of Panmure to James Stewart, . . . , . . 437 2 9 

2. Lands of Eassie, Blackcraigs, &c., in the parish of Edzell, disponed by 

the Earl to David Ogilvie of Ascrevie, . " v . . . 459 5 4 

3. Lands of Dalbreck, Drumgreen, &c., in the parish of Lochle, disponed 

by the Earl to David Mudie, ' ; . . Y . . 43612 3 

4. Lands of Skelly, Berryhill, &c., in the parish of Edzell, disponed by the 

Earl to Dr John Ogilvie, .- . . * . -*4 _ . 437 7 7 

6. Wood of Dalbog, mill and mill lands, &c., in the same parish, disponed 

by the Earl to John Smith, . , . . ' , . . 477 14 9 

6. Land of Slateford, Braehead, &c., in same parish, disponed by the Earl 

to John Bruce, . . . . ... . . 517 13 3 

7. Lands of Blackhaugh, Hunthill, &c., in the parish of Lethnot, disponed 

by the Earl to George Johnston, * . , . , ' . . 636 17 1 

3302 13 
Being same sum ;is above. 



244 ANGUS OR FORFAPvSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

For many years the estate of Edzell, which comprehends the whole of the 
parishes of Edzell, Lochlee, and Lethnot, has been entered in these parishes in 
the following proportions, but no authority can be found for the apportion- 
ment : 

Edzell, 1680 

Lochlee, . . . 1003 17 

Lethnot, . . . . 618 16 



3302 13 

PARISHES-EDZELL, LETHNOT, AND LOCHLEE. 

It will be observed that, in 1683, the lands in these parishes appear to have 
been wholly disponed by the Earl of Panmure, the proprietor, to seven persons. 
In the accounts w gave of the parishes of Arbirlot and of Monikie, the lands 
in each were, in the same manner, disponed by the Earl to a number of per- 
sons. The reasons for these transfers do not appear, but we think the follow- 
ing remarks may account for them. The proprietors in Angus were mostly 
keen Jacobites, and being desirous to have the " auld Stewarts back again," 
the noble families were each most desirous to have a large following of clans- 
men to increase their importance with the exiled race, and the better to aid 
them in any attempts they might make to recover their lost crown. They must 
have had such a rising in view long before the rebellion of 1715 took place. 
The Earl of Panmure had that object in view when he acquired Edzell estate 
from the Lindsays. How dearly he paid for his loyalty to the Stewarts ! 

Of the Castle of Edzell (Eagle, Eagle's Nest), Billings says : " Stirling 
Tower or barbican, still near entire ; while the other buildings clustered around 
this nucleus its gayer and more fragile parasites have been crumbling in 
decay/' Lord Lindsay says : " It is curious that the last relics of the school 
of Nicola Pisano should be found under the shadow of the Grampians." 
The Lindsay blason of the fesse-chequee is surmounted in the garden wall 
at Edzell by the stars or mullets of the Stirlings. The arms and initials of 
David, Lord Edzell, with the date 1553, are sculptured over the principal 
entrance to Edzell Castle, His son completed the building, and decorated the 
garden. He was a man of travel and reading, and made desperate efforts to 
turn his knowledge to account by extracting the precious metals from his 
rocky glens. By a contract with Hans Zeigler, of Nuremberg, for 25 years, 
&c. f &c. (From Billings' description of Edzell Castle). 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 245 

13. PARISH OF FARNELL. 

In the original Eoll of 1683 the lands are described as the Earl of South- 
esk, and the valued rent per that Roll was 2433 6s 8d ; Little Fithie, 
133 6s 8d; together, 2566 13s 4d. The first was known as Kinnaird, and 
they had been subdivided thus : By decree of division, dated 22d July, 1766, 
the lands of Middledrums are divided from the remainder of these lands, and 
the valued rent ascertained to be as follows : 

Middledrums, Robert Speed, in 1822, .... 120 10 
Remaining lands, . . . 2312 16 8 

These are, by decree of 30th October, 1780, divided thus : 

1. Easter Carcary and Egypt, . . . 278 1 

2. Little Carcary, Cloaks, and Mains of Farnell, . 310 11 7 

3. West Carcary, and East and West Fithies, . . 41416 8 

4. Remaining lands, . . . - ." ' V ! 1309 8 4 

2312 16 8 



2433 6 8 
5. Little Fithie, still known by same name, ..... 133 6 8 

2566 13 4 
Nos. 1 to 5 belonged to Sir James Carnegy, Bart. , in 1822. 

14.- PARISH OF FERK 

The description of lands in the original Roll of 1683, and valued rents at 
same date were 1, Earl of Southesk, 2067 10s ; 2, Buchadly, 53 6s 8d ; 
3, Deuchar, 133 6s 8d ; 4, Auchnacrie, 60 ; total rent, 2314 3s 4d. In 
1822 Nos. 1 and 2 were known as Fern, Noranside, and Waterston. By decree 
of division, 31st March, 1798, divided thus : 

Waterston, George Skene, . < . . . . 66 16 8 

Fern, Charles GreenhiU, . V. . . . 1728 

Noranside, John Mill, . . . s . > 326 



2120 16 8 

Deuchar, James Mamie, . . . 133 6 8 

Auchnacrie, Charles Gall, , . . 60 

193 6 8 

2314 3 4 

By same decree Fern was divided into 21 parts or farms, and Noranside into 
8 parts or farms. 



246 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. [PART XIV. 

15. PARISH OF KETTINS. 

The parish was divided into thirteen parts in 1683. 1, Pitcur, 1800 ; 
2, Bishop of Aberdeen, 1000 ; 3, Agnes Halyburton, 200 ; 4, Fotherans, 
800 ; 5, Kirkland of Kitnes, 90 ; 6, West-town and Over Corstown, 
293 6s 8d ; 7, North Bandirran, 200 ; 8, Dr Ogilvie's half of Peattie, 
171 6s 8d; 9, Seasyd's part, 85 13s 4d ; 10, James Cathro, Greenburn, 
25; 11, Temple lands to Thomas Ogilvy, 20; 12, Viscount Stormonth, 
8 6s 8d ; 13, Earl of Tweddaill's feu, 77 ; being a total valued rent of 
4777 13s 4d. 

The lands in this parish have undergone various changes of proprietors, 
and had been so much mixed together between 1683 and 1748, it has been 
found impossible to connect the valued rents in the Cess Book of 1748 with 
the original Roll. The valuations in the Cess Book of 1748 are given below. 
Pitcur, 2311, division, 2d August, 1784, thus : 

Proprietor 1822. 

1. One-fourth Peattie, Seasyd's part, Hon. D. G. Halyburton, 85 13 4 

2. Barony of Gask, Do., 192 15 

3. Do. Pitcur, Do., 528 6 2 

4. Lands of Ballunies, Do., 265 17 

5. Easttownend of Kettins and Pitdownie 

orBaldinny, Do., 469 9 3 

6. Balgillo or Halyburton, Do , 547 18 4 

7. Abden of Kettins, Do., 221 4 3 

2311 3 4 

Easter Baldownie, Wm. Geekie's heirs, James Steele, 133 6 8 

Wester do., Alexander Geekie, William Geekie, 133 6 8 

Ardlair, Rosehaugh, James Stuart M 'Kenzie, 528 6 2 

Wester Keillor and half Easter Keillor, Do., 68210 0. 

Fotherance and Viscount Stormonth's feu, 

Lintrose, John Murray, 371 

Peattie, divided 1789, | D - G - Halyburton, 99 18 10 ) ^ fi R 

(John Murray, 71 7 10 j 

North Bandirran, 200 ) , T . ,. 

And half Lord Tester's feu, 38 10 ( Mlss Drumi nond, 238 10 

Half same feu, 38 10 ) AT 

Kirklands, 90 j Newhall > Mr s Alison, 128 10 

Temple Lands, 20 ) 

Corseton, 58 6 8 ( Hon ' D> ' Halyburton, 78 6 8 

In all, 4776 6s 2d. There is a small discrepancy between the amounts of the Old and 
New Rolls. 

16. PAKISH OF KINNELL. 

In 1683 there were three estates. 1, Earl of Southesk, 1600 ; 2, Kinnell, 
500 ; 3, Easter Braikie, 600 ; in all, 2700. In 1822, No. 1, part of Kin- 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 247 

naird, Sir James Carnegie, 1600 ; 2, Kinnell, Hon. W. Maule, 500 ; 3, 
Easter Braikie, Messrs Alison and Laing, 600 ; total, 2700. 

17. PARISH OF KINGOLDRUM. 

In 1683 there were eight different properties in the parish, viz. : 1 , Balfour, 
younger, 800; 2, Persie, Lindsay, 250; 3, Wester Persie, 183; 4, Bal- 
dovie, 333 6s 8d ; 5, Kincluin, 320; 6, Archarrach, 133 6s 8d ; 7, Earl 
of Airlie, 395; 8, Earl of Panmure, 140; the total valued rent being 
2554 13s 4d. 

Before 1748 Balfour and Ascreavie divided 
Ascreavie, 1822, Colonel Young, 133 6 8 

Division 29th April, 1820, cumulo Balfour, 666 13s 4d 

West division, Mains of Balfour, Mill of Kingoldrum, Cairnleath, &c., . 400 

East division, Kirkton, Whirrock, &c., . . . . . , 266 13 4 



800 

The two latter Thomas Farquharson. 
Nos. 2 and 3 in cumulo, 1748, Charles Wedderburn, 433 6 8 

4. Baldovie, Thos. Farquharson, 333 6 8 

5. Kinclune, including part Baldovie, divided 1st March, 1763, thus 

1. Tarriewhring, Burnside, Reidburn, and Waltonhall, 

sold by Alex. Stormonth to Dr Thomas Ogilvy, 

1822, Thos. Farquharson, 114 12 4 

2. Two eighth parts of Kinclune, purchased by John 

Rait, in Balloch, George Raitt, 83 1 2 

3. Remainder of the estate, Dr Stormonth, 122 6 6 

320 

6. Aucharrach, Hon. Donald Ogilvy, 133 6 8 

7. Barony of Kingoldrum, Earl of Airlie, 395 

8. Panmure feus, Hon. W. Maule, 140 



Total, . . .:.. . . '^ . . 2555 

Being an increase on Pearsie of 6s 8d. 

18.- PARISH OF LINTRATHEN. 

There were six properties in Lintrathen in 1683. 1, Earl of Airly, 
1074 12s 8d ; 2, Peel, 60 ; 3, Lord Ogilvy for Fornaty, 86 13s 4d ; and 4, 
for Shannaly, 166 13s 4d ; 5, Invercarity for Ballintore, 170 13s 4d ; 6, 
Easter Glenquharity, 70 ; in all, 1628 12s 4d. In 1822 Eoll stated thus 



248 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIY. 

On 30th April, 1811, the barony of Lintrathen was divided thus 
Easter Plough of Formal, 1822, John Smith, 34 10 

Easter Peel, Earl of Airlie, 42 15 9 

Remainder of the barony, Do., 997 15 9 

1040 11 6 



1074 12 4 

Peel and Blackdykes divided thus 

John Smyth, 43 17 8 

Three-fourth Blackdykes belonging to John Mill, Do., 12 1 9 

One-fourth Blackdykes to William Alexander, Do., 407 

60 

\ _OQJ "1 O A 

Fornaty and Shanaly, Earl of Airlie, > -j^g 

253 6 8 

Ballintore, &c. , divided, 7th May, 1791, thus : 

Easter Coul, 1822, Charles Lyell, 46 7 11 

Burnside Ballintore, Do., 30 7 1 

Mains of do., Do., 57 11 3 

Westertonofdo., Do., 36 7 1 

170 13 4 

Easter Glenquharity, James Ogilvy, 70 



1628 12 4 
Being same as valution in 1683. 

19. PARISH OF MENMUIR. 

There were six estates in Menmuir in 1683. 1, Balhall, 600 ; 2, Bal- 
zeordie, 766 13s 4d ; 3, Balrownie, 300 ; 4, Balnamoon, 1181 Is lid ; 5, 
Brathinsh, 233 6s 8d ; 6, Hercules Crammond's part, 200 ; the total valua- 
tion being 328 1 Is lid. 

1. In 1822 Balhall belonged to Alexander Erskine, .... 600 

2. In 1808 Balzeordie divided into small parts, 1822, James Carnegy, 766 13 4 

Since 1765 they have only paid on 700 valuation. 

3. Balrownie, James Carnegy, 300 

4. 5, 6. Balnamoon, Carriston, Earl of Kintore's lands, Balconnel, Burnside. 

It was found impossible to trace the divisions of these lands. In 1748 

Balnamoon entered James Carnegy, 558 8 9 

Alexander Seton for half Balconnel, now called Burnside, Alex. Guthrie, 50 

David Skair for half Balconnel, 50 ; Birkhill, 16 13s 4d, Alex. Scott, 66 13 4 



Carry forward, V t t 3280 15 5 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 249 

Brought forward, . . . 2,341 15 5 
On 14th December, 1798, it was found that the valued rent of Skair's lands 

in Menmuir was, George Skair, 839 

Earl of Kintore's lands have been valued at, Earl of Kintore, 100 



3280 15 5 
Deficiency in the parish, . .' . . . 066 



3281 1 11 



20. PARISH OF MONIFIETH. 

In this parish there were fourteen different properties enumerated in the Roll 
for 1683. 1, Ballumbie, with his fishings, 1300; 2, fishings of Broughty 
and feu-duty, 300 ; 3, Grange, including his fishings, 908 6s 8d ; 4, Legs- 
land, 100 ; 5, Kingenny, 233 6s 8d ; 6, Fintry for Linlathen, 466 13s 4d ; 
7, Laws, 225 ; 8, Omachie, 400 ; 9, the acres of David Durham, 370 ; 10, 
Powrie for Eathiebeaton, 280 ; 11, Ardownie, 400 ; 12, Old do., 166 13s 4d ; 
13, Balgillo, Forth, and fishings, 666 13s 4d; 14, houses in North Ferry, 
formerly belonging to Kinloch, 25 ; the total valued rent of the parish being 
5841 13s 4d. 

In the Valuation Roll for 1822 there are considerable changes in the names 
of the properties from those given above, and the properties have nearly all 
changed hands again and again since the date of the old valuation, two 
centuries ago. The details of the 1822 valuation already given show the 
divisions of the lands and other changes during the period between the two 
valuations, and we need not repeat them. Ballumbie, with his fishings, means 
Hon. James Maule, then proprietor of Ballumbie, and his fishings were those 
at West Ferry, now the Earl of Dalhousie's. 



21. PARISH OF MONTROSE. 

There were five properties in this parish in 1683. 1, Logie, 433 6s 8d ; 
2, Kinnaber, 800 ; 3, Borrowfield, 366 13s 4d ; 4, Tayick, 100 ; 5, Hed- 
derwick, 600 ; being in all 2300. The following is from 1822 Roll :^ 
2r 



250 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



Newmanswalls and Charlton were bought by the laird of Tarry, 

G. Fullerton Carnegy, 
1. Newmanswalls was included with the lands of Pert at a 



[PART XIV. 
66 13 4 



cumulo of, 
Deduct Pert, 



Add omitted, 



920 

566 13 4 

353 6 8 

13 6 8 



A Renny Tailyour. 



2. Kinnaber and Rosemount, on 13th February, 1797, divided thus 
Part of Kinnaber on north side of road leading from N. W. 

Bridge to Hedderwick, sold to John Duncan, . 406 4 

Fishing of Mary Net, G. F. Carnegy, 64 18 8 

Remaining lands of Kinnaber, Do., 32817 4 



3. Borrowfield, A. Renny Tailyour, 

4. Tayock, James Cruickshank, 

5. Hedderwick, Newbigging, and Claylake, divided on 6th October, 1807, 

thus 

The valued rents of Newbigging, James Cruickshank, 69 11 8 

Claylake and part of Hedderwick, 30th April, 1821, 

G. F. Carnegy, 29 7 
Remainder of estate, Geo. Robertson Scott, 501 1 4 



Amount aa above, 



366 13 4 



433 6 8 



800 
366 13 4 
100 



600 



2300 



22. PARISH OF MURROES. 

In 1683 the lands in this parish were divided into seven parts. 1, Bal- 
lumbie, 350 ; 3, Powrie's land, purchased from Lord Coupar, 256 10s ; 3, 
Fothriogham Powrie, for his other lands, 714 3s 4d ; 4, Easter Powrie, 
533 OB 8d ; 5, Westhall, 166 13s 4d; 6, Easter Gagie, 100 ; 7, Guthrie 
or Wester Gagie, 183 6s 8d ; total amount of valued rent, 2304. 
In 1822 No. 1, Fallumbie, belonged to David Millar, . ' . / . 350 

2. Murroes, on 30th April, 1773, divided thus- 
West side of the burn of Murroes and mill, John Guthrie, 78 8 



Carry forward, 



78 8 350 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. VALUATION ROLL, 1683. 251 

Brought forward, . . 78 8 350 
East side of do. , including the Temple lands, John Guthrie, 177 12 
Lost in the division, . . . . 10 

256 10 

3. Powrie, Lieut. -Col. Fothringham, 714 3 4 

4. Wedderburn, Henry Wedderburn, 533 6 8 

5. Westhall and part Murroes, before 1748, Miss Ogilvy, 145 7 4 

Proprietors of Murroes purchased part, John Guthrie, 21 6 

166 13 4 

6. Easter Gagie, John Guthrie, 100 

7. Wester Gagie, Do., 183 6 8 



Total amount as above, 2304 



We have now given above abstract of the several estates in the County, 
in the years 1683 and 1822, which we did not obtain in time to include in 
the general account of the respective parishes. These abstracts were made 
up from the Valuation Rolls of the County for these years respectively, and 
they contain much information of importance to the respective proprietors, 
and of considerable general interest. They show the changes in the pro- 
prietary during the last two centuries, the divisions and subdivisions in many 
of the lands, and the changes which have taken place in their names. 

We will now give some tables common to the whole County. 



In the Statistical Accounts of the parishes the acreage given by the respec 
tive ministers is, in many cases, estimated, as they had no means of ascertain- 
ing the actual measurement. In the account of the parishes given in the 
earlier part of this work, we gave the acreage as stated in the Statistical Ac- 
counts. After the true acreage, as ascertained by the Government Survey, was 
published, we gave the correct figures, as shown in it, in the account of the 
parishes subsequently given. In order that the correct acreage in each parish 
in the county may be seen at a glance, we append the following table of total 
acreage in each, and of the portions in water, also the foreshore of the parishes 
abutting on the ocean and tidal waters. 



252 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 





Including 






' Water. 


Foreshore. 


Acres. 


Aberlemno, . . . . . 


85-661 




8,999-906 


Airlie (part of), ..... 


43-202 




8,966-147 


Alyth, . 


10-394 




3,334-667 


Arbirlot, . 


18-541 


123-843 


6,889-762 


Arbroath, . . 


1-946 


137-830 


1,082-298 


Auchterhouse, ' v 


4-169 




5,712-504 


Barry, . . 


2-499 


824-181 


6,155-065 


Brechin, ...... 


110-567 




14,423-423 


Caputh (detached), ..... 


1-404 




568-067 


Careston, ..... 


28-405 




2,113-092 


Carmyllie, ...... 


8-645 




7,561-923 


Cortachy and Clova, .... 


270-284 




42,591-781 


Coupar Angus (part of), .... 






184-079 


Craig, ...... 


110-614 


384-338 


4,865-681 


Dun, ....... 


137-457 


1586-682 


6,030-124 


Dundee, . . 


58-135 


175-022 


4,582-191 


Dunnichen, ...... 


5-770 




4,922-778 


Eassie and Nevay, .... 


8-250 




5,061-513 


Edzell (part of), ..... 


166-969 




19,125-991 


Farnell, . . .... 


52-203 




5,755099 


Fearn, ...... 


19-807 




8,811-852 


Forfar, ...... 


26-584 




8,379-237 


Glamis, . . 


136-386 




14,483-356 


Glenisla, ...... 


133-492 




41,375-782 


Guthrie, . . 


1-651 




3,824-715 


Inverarity, ..... 


14-046 




9,596-723 


Inverkeillor, ...... 


36-112 


240-178 


10,516-614 


Kettins, ...... 


20-131 




7,815-872 


Kingoldrum. ...... 


17-050 




9,636-438 


Kinnell, 


16-714 




6,593-796 


Kinnettles, ...... 


10-961 




2,870-427 


Kirkden, ...... 


19-533 




5,018-326 


Kirriemuir (North), . 


28-040 




20,630-862 


Do. (South), 


29-626 




15,027-264 


Lethnot and Navar, . . . . . 


36-796 




26,326-607 


Liff and Benvie, . .-''' 


8-600 


970-706 


8,049-404 


Lintrathen, . . ... 


248-691 




22,872-692 


Lochlee, . ... 


296-452 




58,678-359 


Logiepert, . . .. 


68-699 




5,807-934 


Lunan, . . ....<!. . 


7-503 


63-653 


1,981-576 


Lundie and Fowlis (part of), .... 
Mains and Strathmartine, . . ' 


107-839 
19-946 




4,296-265 
6,320-970 


Maryton, . . . . 
Menmuir, . . . * ^ . 


40-974 
9-911 


84-334 


3,686-905 
10,110-239 


Monifieth, . , ' . . , 


15-697 


799-587 


6,767-192 


Monikie, . . ,. : . . .. . 


106-002 




9,027-112 


Montrose, . . . '- .-^ t . '/''' 
Murroes, . . . . ' /b ., 


93-855 
6-968 


492172 


4,722-415 
5,304-527 


Carry forward, . . ' . . 


2,705,261 


5,882,526 


497,459,552 



CHAP. LVII] ANGtJS IN PARISHES PROPRIETORS OF LANDS. 253 





Including 






Water. 


Foreshore. 


Acres. 


Brought forward, . . ; 


2,705,261 


5,882,526 


497,459,552 


Newtyle, . . , ' 


2-501 




5,194-828 


Oathlaw, . . . ....... . . 


43-716 




5,317-646 


Panbride, . . . " . 


9-089 


298-476 


5,506-068 


Rescobie, .' . ' . 


165-351 




6,724-348 


Ruthven, , . , v . 


38-478 




2,087-836 


Stracathro, f . . . . . 


65-954 




5,304-522 


St Vigeans, . . . . . 


19-337 


393-362 


13,143-521 


Tannadice, < * . .' . . 


124-877 




21,452-403 


Tealing, ...... 


4-124 




7,231-612 


Land common to the parishes of Lethnot and Navar, ) 
and Menmuir, . . . . ) 






417-742 




3178-688 


6574-364 


569,840-078 


Land, . . . . i . 660, 087 '626 


Foreshore, . . . 6,574-364 


Water, ..... 3, 178 "688 


Total, .... 569,840-078 



PROPRIETORS OF LANDS IN ANGUS HAVING 
100 ACRES AND OVER IN 1872-73. 



Aberdein, Francis, of Keithock, . . 

Airlie, Earl of, Cortachy Castle, . .' 

Do., and Dundee Water Commissioners, . 
Alison, representatives of Colin, Easter Braikie, ' . 

Anderson, Alexander, The Grange, Monifieth; 
Arbuthnott, Helen Carnegy, of Balnamoon, 
Arkley, Robert, of Ethiebeaton, 

Arklay, Mary, Charlotte, and Mrs Stansfield, Dunninald, 
Arklay, Thomas, of North Grange, . . . . 

Baird, Alexander, of Ury, . . .. 

Bairnsfather, Peter, of Dumbarrow, i, '. . , 

Baxter, trustees of Edward, of Kincaldrum, '. . 

Baxter, Right Hon. W. E., of Kincaldrum, M.P., . 
Baxter, Miss Mary Ann, of Balgavies, . '. 

Bell, George, of Balconnel, Menmuir, 1 . 

Bell, Peter, of Pitpointie, 
Brodie, John Clerk, of Idvies, . '. 



Acreage. 


Gross Annual Value 


645 


1,303 


13 


65,059 


21,664 





338 


1,683 


8 


410 


821 





126 


488 


15 


8,066 


5,204 


10 


392 


785 


10 


659 


2,255 





120 


275 





1,150 


2,054 


10 


829 


1,297 


12 


581 


880 





2,097 


3,277 


7 


844 


1,397 


6 


310 


332 





209 


311 





1,910 


2,559 


15 



254 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



Bruce, James, Dundee, .... 

Burness, William, of Auchnacree, .... 

Caledonian Railway Company, . 

Campbell, Sir James, of Stracathro, Kt., 

Camperdown, Earl of, Camperdown House, 

Cargill, James, of Easter Craig (Alyth), 

Carmichael, Peter, of Arthurstone (Meigle), 

Carnegie, Hon Charles, of Dalgety (Brechin), 

Carnegie, Henry A. F. L., of Boysack, . 

Carnegie, John R. S., of Tarrie, .... 

Carnegie, William, of Dunlappie, .... 

Carnegy, Patrick A. W., of Lour, .... 

Chalmers, Patrick, of Aldbar, 

Chaplin, George C. C., of CoUiston, . 

Christie, WiUiam, Edzell, ..... 

Constable, Patrick, Baledgarno, .... 

Couper, Frederick, of Douglasmuir, 

Crichton, mars 6 , trustees of John Thomas, and Mrs Woodside, 

Crighton, David, of Ardo, .... 

Cruickshank, Augustus W., of Langley Park, 

Gumming, the family of Mrs, of Auchinreoch, 

Gumming, Mary Ann and Margaret, of Tulloes, 

Dalhousie, Earl of, Brechin Castle, 

Darling, James Stormonth, of Lednathy, 

De Malahide, trustees of Lord and Lady, of Simprim, 

Dempster, George H. , of Dunnichen, 

Dick, Douglas Drummond, of Pitkerro, . 

Dickson, trustees of late David, of Clocksbriggs, 

Dickson, James A., of Woodville, 

Douglas, Lieut. -Colonel William, of Brigton, 

Drimmie, Daniel & Co., Monifieth, 

Duke, George, Kirriemuir, ..... 

Duncan, John, of Sunnyside, Parkhill, . 

Edward, James, of Balruddery, .... 

Ellis, Mr and Mrs, West of Balhall, 

Erskine, Augustus J. W. H. K , of Dun, 

Erskine, James Erskine, of Linlathen, 

Ewan, John, Dundee (of Cononsyth), 

Farquhar, Rev. William, . . . . 

Farquharson, Thomas, of Whitehill, . '..' 

Fife, Earl of, Duff House, . . . - M ' f 

Fleming, Peter, of Dunny, . 

Fleming, William, Springfield, Dundee, 



Acreage. 


Gross Annual Value. 


305 


670 





421 


208 





572 


107,267 


7 


3,846 


5,901 





6,770 


8,241 


9 


201 


157 





545 


1,047 


11 


144 


195 


1 


3,670 


5,171 


14 


1,440 


2,982 


19 


492 


650 





4,206 


5,024 


19 


3,844 


3,893 


2 


723 


937 


3 


116 


100 





424 


526 


6 


142 


116 


10 


266 


255 





262 


263 





861 


2,231 


11 


219 


416 


5 


1,305 


1,466 


2 


136,602 


55,601 


16 


2,828 


511 


13 


1,685 


2,801 


14 


3,970 


4,867 


19 


349 


995 





205 


393 


10 


137 


535 


10 


164 


409 





118 


356 


2 


353 


240 





740 


1,214 


18 


600 


1,364 


12 


1,209 


1,049 





1,727 


3,571 


2 


1,619 


4,447 


1 


696 


1,154 


3 


659 


1,197 


10 


300 


153 


10 


4,837 


5,768 


3 


155 


68 





164 


42 


10 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PROPRIETORS OF LANDS. 255 

Acreage. Gross Annual Value. 

Forfar, the town of, ..... 863 2,19910 

Forrest, William, of Easter Ogil, . . . .430 592 10 

Fothringham, trustees of Captain T. F. S., of Fothringham, 8,821 9,51216 

Fothringham, Mrs M. S., of Tealing, Tealing House, . 3,708 3,887 8 

Fraser, Patrick Allan, of Hospitalfield, . . . 1,045 1,890 18 

Fyffe, John, of Kingston, . . . . .110 491 

Fyffe, trustees of William, of Newton, Brechin, . . 270 260 

Gammell, Major Andrew, of White well, . . . 369 340 

Gardyne, Lieut. -Col. C. G., of Finhaven, . . 4,078 4,273 2 

Gardyne, Thomas M. B., of Middleton, . . . . 1,395 2,13018 

Geekie, Alexander, of Baldowrie, ." ' . . 483 581 15 

Gibson, trustees of Alexander, of Dunlappie, . . 674 686 

Glamis trustees, . ..-.. . . 17,034 20,566 8 

Gordon, Alexander, of Ashludie, . . . . 198 535 

Gordon, trustees of Harry, of Charleton, . -. ;"' 1,056 2,24415 

Gordon, Thomas, Lightnie, Lethnot, . < .- . 126 130 

Graham, Clementina Stirling, of Duntrune, . " . 441 1,365 10 

Grant, Thomas Macpherson, of Pitforthie, &c., . : . 4,713 7,082 5 

Gray, Baroness, Gray House, Kinfauns Castle, . . 1,639 2,940 8 

Gray, Mrs CarsinaG., of Carsegray, . . % ; . 3,260 4,849 3 

Grewar, John, of Inverharity (Alyth), . . . 215 3410 

Guthrie, trustees of James Alexander, of Craigie, . .. 309 979 

Guthrie, John, of Guthrie', Guthrie Castle, . . 3,231 5,02614 

Haldane, Robert, Edinburgh, . ; -. < .- 140 426 2 

Hallyburt on, Lord John Frederick Gordon, . '. 5,119 7,04816 

Hannay, John, of Dennoray, Gavenswood, Banff, . . 551 455 10 

Hay, trustees of late John, of Letham Grange, . . 2,397 4,758 17 

Henderson, George David Clayhills, of Invergowrie, . 1,742 3,378 4 

Hill, James, of Auchranny (Alyth), . ... 100 70 

Home, Countess of, The Hirsel, Coldstream, ' .V . 5,209 . 7,356 

Hunter, William George, of Burnside, . . . - 1,842 2,062 13 

Hunter, Elizabeth, of Polmood, Kinnell, _ . . . 209 40 

Imrie, William Blair, of Lunan, . . " . - , . 297 746 11 

Inverarity, JohnD., of Rosemount, . . . .260 326 

Jackson, trustees of the late William, of North Balluderon, 327 273 2 

Jackson, Mrs, Kirriemuir, ..... 278 677 17 

Jamieson, George A., as judicial factor, Glasswell trust estate, 683 904 13 

Johnston, James, of Lawton, Arbroath, . . . 255 450 

Keill, George, of Whitfield, .... 183 470 

Keith, George, of Usan, . . .., . . 970 2,26114 

Kerr, Thomas, of Grange, Monifieth, ... 591 1,313 

Kerr, Mrs Agnes, and others, North Finlarg, . . 402 430 

Kinloch, Colonel, of Kilrie, . . .' . 2,059 2,732 6 



256 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

Acreage. Gross Annual Value. 

Kmloch, Sir George, of Kinloch, Bart., ., . . 1,251 232 5 

Kinloch, John, of Cairn, Kirriemuir, : 648 659 

Kinloch, Cecelia, and Mrs Linguard-Guthrie, Carnoustie, . 295 501 4 

Kintore, Earl of, Keith Hall, Aberdeen, . ." 1,053 1,562 6 

Laird, trustees of Colonel David, of Strathmartine, . . 1,794 3,883 10 

Laird, John Wright, of Denfield, Arbroath, . . 265 493 

L'Amy, John Ramsay, of Dunkenny, Glamis, . . 475 700 

Leighton, G. D., and Mrs Soutar of Cairndrum, Brechin, 292 309 

Low, Alexander, Margie, Edzell, . . V . 105 160 

Low, Rev. Walter, The Manse, Lochlee, . . . 800 48 

Lunan, Robert and William, Damside, Forfar, . . 102 182 6 

Lyall, David, of Gallery, Montrose, . ,. . 1,576 1,931 11 

Lyell, Alexander, of Gardyne, Arbroath, . . . 940 1,057 3 

Lyell, trustees of the late Charles, and others, Kirriemuir, 5,728 6,040 9 

Lyell, Sir Charles, of Kinnordie, Kirriemuir, ,.. . 500 706 9 

Lyell, Sophia Georgina, Kinnordy, do., . . 866 807 15 

Lyon, Hugh, of Glenogil, Kirriemuir, . V . 2,100 1,471 10 

Lyon, Major William, 32 South Street, London, *' 6,888 1,427 12 

Macdonald, William Macdonald, of St Martins, . . 2,801 5,617 10 

M 'Gavin, Robert, of Ballumbie, . . . . 746 3,104 14 

Mackenzie, James Thomson, of Kintail, Ross-shire, . 7,129 435 

Mackenzie, John, of Nether Alric, Alyth, . ; 500 130 10 

Mackenzie, Simon and Charles, of Borland, Alyth, . . 250 105 10 

Maclagan, respresentatives of Mrs C. A., of Glenquioch, 2,216 1,070 14 

M'Laren, James, of Balgillo, Balgarrock, Forfar, . . ", 456 636 13 

Maclean, Dorothea Munro, and Colin G. Macrae, Edinburgh, 390 671 14 

M'Nicoll, David, of East Cummock, Alyth, . ,;. . 425 14610 

Marnie, Isabella and Charlotte, of Deuchar, . . 421 344 10 

Mathewson, James, of Mid Derry, Alyth, . . . 113 160 

Maule, Honourable Mrs Elizabeth, of Fern, London, . 6,992 3,639 6 

Millar, John, Edinburgh, ..... 185 325 

Millar, trustees of Patrick, Balbeuchly, . ; . 281 445 

Millar, Robert, Dollarbeg, Dollar, . . . '^' . 153 214 

Miln, Alexander, of Milton, Raesmill, Inverkeillor, . . 257 375 

Miln, Alexander Hay, of Woodhill, Carnoustie, . . 404 813 7 

Milne, Alexander, of Kinneries, Arbroath, . . , 247 299 

Milne, John, of Clacknockater, Alyth, ." ." ," 125 62 

Minto, Earl of, Minto, Hawick, . . . ; ; 3,446 3,308 2 

Mitchell, David, of Scotston, . " .", . . . 467 1,357 3 

Mitchell, trustees of late James, Affleck, . , . ' 452 1,332 6 

Montrose, town of, . . . . ," -." 662 993 

Morgan, James, Grange of Conon, Arbroath, -.' . 354 444 15 

Morgan, representatives of William, of Balbinny, Forfar, . 358 551 9 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. PROPRIETORS OP LANDS. 257 

Acreage. Gross Annual Value. 

Mount, trustees of G. D., of South Balluderon, . . 136 280 

Mudie, John, of Pitmuies, . . . . .2,085 3,617 16 

Munro, Sir Thomas, of Lindertis, Bart., . . . 5,702 6,580 8 

Murray, Mungo, of Lintrose, ..... 992 1,703 1 

Neish, James, of Laws, . ... . 1,075 1,876 7 

Neish, William, of Tannadice, . J 889 1,472 19 

Nicoll, trustees of the late James, of Kinclune, . . 505 552 

Northesk, Earl of, Ethie Castle, Arbroath, . . .4,844 7,761 18 

Ochterlony, Sir Charles M., Bart., St Andrews, . . 1,025 1,295 8 

Ogilvy, Donald, of Clova, Balnaboth, :/,,, ;, . . 21,893 3,51513 

Ogilvy, trustees of George, of Kirkbuddo, Forfar, . 1,439 1,523 8 

Ogilvy, John, of Inshe wan, Tannadice, . . . 2,716 2,244 9 

Ogilvy, Sir John, of Inverquharity, Bart., M.P., . 1,431 3,626 4 

Ogilvy, trustees of Peter W., of Ruthven, Meigle, . . 401 580 

Ogilvy, Lieut -Colonel Thomas W., of Ruthven, .,.,. 6,336 5,73412 

Ogilvy, Mrs C. L. H. Wedderburn, Rannagulzion, . .2,100 224 5 

Paterson, James, of Kinnettles, . . . ' ' -. 1,183 2,818 8 

Paton, Frances Balf our, Hillside, Montrose, ',. -> : . 680 603 

Pierson, James A., of Guynd, Arbroath, . . 1,486 2,092 18 

Playf air, Peter, of West Bendochy, . / . '-., -.<.,' 334 260 

Powrie, James, of Reswallie, Forfar, . -*.^ ' : 125 205 

Rait, James, of Anniston, Arbroath, ,-, .. - . 978 2,74317 

Ramsay, David, of Wilton, Lethnot, . >... V 151 185 

Ramsay, Rev. David O., of WestTiall, Closeburn, . ,.. 363 700 

Ramsay, Sir James H., Bart., Bamff, Alyth, '. V. 1,027 1,215 

Ramsay, John, Newbigging, Lethnot, . * . , . . ^ 145 90 

Richards, Peter, of Woodlands, Arbroath, .*,; -...; 387 592 6 

Robertson, David S., of Cookston Park, Brechin, . *. * 689 1,303 2 
Robertson, Hercules J., of Hedderwick (Lord Benholm), 

Edinburgh, . . . ." . 501 1,09110 

Robertson, William, of Drumfork, Alyth, '. . 500 280 10 

Roland, Louisa, of Abbeythune, Arbroath, i-.'i . , 120 308 

Salmond, James, Carsegownie, Forfar, . . 391 462 10 

Scott, George, of Renmuir, Brechin, .-_ .-.^ ,,". 467 724 

Scott, Lady, of Balgay, Dundee, . . . . ;k 300 1,328 4 

Shaw, David, Edinburgh, . . . V 154 62 1 

Shaw, trustees of Thomas, of Shawfield, Kirriemuir, . 504 120 

Shaw, William, of Finnigand, Blairgowrie, . . . 1,605 314 

Sheill, John, of Smithfield, Monikie, ... 612 1,115 2 

Shepherd, George, of Lundie, Tarves, Aberdeenshire, . 1,085 550 

Sim, William, of Lunanbank, Edinburgh, . . 100 261 15 

Small, James, of Brewlands, Alyth, .... 10,300 1,889 10 

Smyth, trustees of James, Cairnbunk, Brechin, . . 304 654 



258 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIKE. 



[PART XIV. 



Smith, trustees of Robert, of Balharry, Alyth, '-... , 

Southesk, Earl of, Kinnaird Castle, Brechin, 

Spied, Henry, of Ardovie, Brechin, . . . ." 

Spence, Charles, Broughton, Manchester, 

Stewart, John L. D. , of Glenogil, Kirriemuir, . . 

Strathmore, Earl of, Glamis Castle, 

Stuart, Francis Archibald, of Balmerino, . . , 

Swinburne, Lieut. -Col. James, of Marcus, 

Symers, Miss Helen Halyburton, of Eassie, . 

Tailyour, Thomas Renny, of Borrowfield, Montrose, 

Taylor, Walter, Dundee, . ' . 

Thomas, John, Perth, ..... 

Thomas, Robert, of Noranside, Newtyle (Fern), 

Thorns, Patrick Hunter, of Aberlemno, . 

Walker, James, of Ravensby, Carnoustie, . . 

Waterston, David, of Pitreuchie, Forfar, 

Watt, John A., of Meathie, . . . , 

Webster, trustees of James, of Wester Meathie, Forfar, 

Webster, James, of Balmuir, .... 

Webster, trustees of James, of Flemington, . 

Webster, Patrick, of Westfield, Forfar, . 

Wedderburn, Frederick L. S., of Wedderburn and Birkhill, 

Wedderburn, Mrs Catherine Maclaggan, of Pearsie, 

Wharncliffe, Lord, Belmont Castle, Meigle, 

Whitton, Andrew, of Couston, Newtyle, 

Wighton, William, of Grange of Barry, . 

Wilkie, James, of Tillyarblet, Kirriemuir, . 

Yeaman, William, Alyth, . . 

Young, Major William Baird, of Ascreavie, Kirriemuir, 



Acreage. 


Gross Annual Value. 


5,097 


1,097 10 


22,525 


21,811 17 


1,005 


1,291 6 


200 


165 


5,524 


510 


4,908 


2,861 4 


145 


378 15 


649 


528 18 


320 


799 


557 


2,081 7 


449 


605 10 


390 


765 


900 


871 4 


347 


525 10 


322 


1,045 10 


193 


969 3 


436 


642 5 


320 


668 13 


787 


2,571 5 


417 


600 


156 


273 10 


1,494 


3,529 5 


3,784 


1,363 1 


6,926 


9,267 10 


1,402 


900 


333 


764 16 


250 


249 


160 


120 


661 


501 14 



POPULATION IN THE COUNTY. 

The following table contains the population in the several parishes in the 
county in the years stated. Column 1st, by Dr Webster, 1755 ; 2d, Abbot's 
Act, 1801 ; 3d, 1811 ; 4th, 1851 ; 5th, 1881 : 



OHAP. LVII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. POPULATION IN COUNTY. 259 



PARISHES. 


1755. 


1801. 


1811. 


1851. 


1881. 


Aberlemno, . . . 


943 


945 


973 


1,116 


993 


Airlie, ..... 


1,013 


1,041 


928 


856 


844 


Arbirlot, . . .( . . . 


865 


1,050 


1,014 


10,990 


822 


Arbroath, . . . ' . 


2,098 


4,943 


5,280 


10,030 


9,493 


Auchterhouse, ; . : 


600 


653 


635 


686 


661 


Barry, ..... 


689 


886 


1,406 


2,175 


3,233 


Brechin, . ' . i . . 


3,181 


5,466 


5,559 


8,210 


10,499 


Careston, j ' . '_ . t , . 


269 


229 


271 


207 


194 


Carmylie, . . f v . . * , . 


745 


892 


969 


1,240 


1,137 


Cortachy and Clova, 


1,233 


906 


930 


722 


442 


Craig, . - ' . t .' ' 


935 


1,328 


1,465 


1,934 


2,589 


Dun, . ' . 


657 


651 


680 


737 


495 


Dundee, . f . ' ' . . . 


12,477 


26,084 


29,716 


78,931 


100,598 


Dunnichen, i \ . 


653 


1,049 


1,233 


1,884 


1,422 


Eassie and Nevay. . 


500 


638 


676 


706 


561 


Edzell, ..... 


862 


905 


955 


1,084 


788 


Farnell, . rf . 


799 


576 


582 


650 


613 


Fearn, . 


500 


448 


419 


392 


316 


Forfar, . . ; ' . 


2,450 


5,165 


5,652 


11,009 


14,470 


Glamis, . > . . . 


1,780 


1,931 


1,856 


2,152 


1,631 


Glenisla, . . . % . 


1,852 


996 


1,209 


1,050 


791 


Guthrie, . 


584 


501 


556 


469 


439 


Inverarity, . . , . ^ . 


996 


820 


865 


948 


862 


Inverkeillor, . . ' . " 


1,286 


1,704 


1,787 


1,871 


1,671 


Kettins, . . . , '. 


1,475 


1,207 


1,241 


992 


848 


Kingoldrum, 


780 


577 


537 


429 


389 


Kinnell, . . . . 


761 


783 


697 


826 


966 


Kinnettles, .... 


616 


567 


522 


460 


386 


Kirkden, . . . 


585 


674 


733 


1,763 


1,682 


Kirriemuir, .... 


3,409 


4,421 


4,791 


7,617 


6,616 


Lethnot and Navar, . , . . 


635 


489 


511 


408 


288 


Liff and Benvie (in Angus), 
Lintrathen, . . . 


1,311 
1,165 


2,194 
919 


2,442 
958 


18,949 
926 


43,190 
641 


Lochlee, .... 


686 


541 


521 


615 


359 


Logiepert, . . . .. 


696 


908 


936 


1,609 


995 


Lunan, .... % 


208 


318 


300 


279 


243 


Lundie and Fowlis (in Angus), . . 


709 


345 


380 


750 


317 


Mains and Strathmartine, . . . 


1,077 


1,442 


1,738 


2,034 


3,490 


Marytown, ..... 


633 


596 


475 


366 


389 


Menmuir, . . . . 


743 


949 


915 


693 


755 


Monifieth, . . . 


1,421 


1,407 


1,728 


4,267 


9,521 


Monikie, . . . . : 


1,345 


1,236 


1,292 


1,317 


1,412 


Montrose, . . 


4,150 


7,974 


8,975 


15,822 


16,303 


Murroes, . . . , , 


623 


591 


652 


643 


749 


Kewtyle, ..... 


913 


781 


780 


1,141 


911 


Oathlaw, 


435 


384 


355 


424 


440 


Panbride, ..... 


1,259 


1,583 


1,412 


1,372 


1,395 


Rescobie, .... 


798 


870 


920 


711 


685 


Ruthven, ..... 


280 


211 


240 


503 


195 


St Vigeans, .... 


1,592 


4,243 


4,958 


9,799 


14,982 


Stracathro, ..... 


529 


593 


580 


505 


487 


Tannadice, .... 


1,470 


1,373 


1,510 


1,517 


1,254 


Tealing, ..... 


735 


755 


779 


844 


737 




69,106 


98,737 


107,494 


216,810 


266,269 



260 



ANGUS OR FORFABSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



Total valued rent (Scots) in 1683, and rental (Sterling) of heritages and 
railways in 1883-84: 



PARISHES. 


Valued Kent (Scots) 
1683. 


Jtteutal (ate rl ing) 
1883-1884. 


Aberlemno, ''' 


4,233 6 8 


10,639 


Airlie, , ' .- .... 


3,310 


10,888 12 


Alyth, 1'. ').. 


478 


1,247 7 


Arbirlot, . ' 


4,266 13 4 


13,550 4 


Arbroath, . . 


000 


1,429 5 


Auchterhouse, . . . 


2,036 13 4 


11,516 19 


Barry, 


2,255 8 4 


17,169 4 


Brechin, . . 


8,772 4 2 


20,815 12 


Careston, .' 


1,170 3 4 


2,697 11 


Carmyllie, ...... 


2,281 13 4 


8,931 13 


Cortachy and Clova, . . ... 


1,474 


7,541 19 


Coupar Angus, . ... 


600 


1,954 17 


Craig, ...... 


4,275 4 1 


12,878 7 


Dun, ... ... 


2,983 6 8 


9,753 


Dundee, . .... 


6,363 4 4 


23,708 18 


Dunnichen, . . 


2,271 


9,062 17 8 


Eassie and Nevaj, .... 


2,892 8 


9,241 15 


Edzell, . 


1,680 


5,874 19 


Farnell, ... 


2,566 13 4 


8,722 7 


Fearn, ..... 


2,314 3 7 


5,236 11 


Forfar, . f . . 


2,590 19 


16,309 10 


Glamis, ...... 


4,136 6 8 


16,301 7 


Glenisla, . .;. . . . . . ..'.; 


3,510 


12,106 7 


Guthrie, . 


1,634 13 8 


6,879 19 % 


Inverarity, . 


2,920 13 4 


11,620 18 


Inverkeillor, . < i ' 


6,379 6 8 


19,514 1 


Kettins, . '-- 
Kingoldrum, . . . 


4,771 6 8 
2,555 


12,928 7 
6,594 3 


Kinnell, ...... 
Kinnettles, 


2,700 
1,865 3 4 


9,577 19 
6,403 4 


Kirkden, .',-'. 
Kirriemuir, . . :'. . 
Lethnot and Navar, . . 
Liff and Ben vie, . '-' '.' 
Lintrathen, . i , 
Lochlee, . m . . . 
Logiepert, . . . 7 . 


1,964 3 
8,037 16 8 
1,172 16 
6,859 8 4 
1,628 12 4 
1,003 17 
3,716 13 4 


11,220 4 6 
33,665 18 
4,281 14 
17,314 11 
13,610 9 
3,941 6 
9,870 3 


Lunan, . ' 
Lundie and Fowlis, . /. 
Mains and Strathmartine, 

TUT j 


1,550 
1,540 
3,113 6 8 


4,296 3 
4,311 19 
27,517 9 


Maryton, . 
Menmuir, . ., '. .'; . v . ^ ' , 
Monifieth, . . . 
Monikie, . : , . . . '. 
Montrose, . . . '-. m 
Murroes, . 
Newtyle, '[,\ 


3,000 
3,280 15 5 
5,941 13 4 
4,608 6 8 
2,300 
2,304 
2,730 


6,789 7 
7,993 18 
58,583 11 
22,408 9 
12,672 13 
11,434 7 
14,042 8 


Carry forward, . . / . ^ - 


144,038 7 3 


575,051 2 2 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES.SIR WILLIAM WALLACE. 261 



PARISHES. 


Valued Bent (Scots) 
1683. 


Rental (Sterling) 
1883-1884. 


Brought forward, , .- , ; * * 
Oathlaw, . . . ... 
Panbride, * ' . . . -, ' .' "* . 
Rescobie, . . ( -^j. \ ; .;..- . . ft ; . 
Ruthven, . . .... . ' , 
St Vigeans, '. ' . . '.. : * 
Stracathro, . .< , . ; j; ^. ;, v 
Tannadice, . , . , ,>*';'. 
Tealing, -./ v -" . V ; ''. ', ; 

Total, ..... 


144,038 7 3 
2,133 6 8 
3,866 13 4 
2,615 16 8 
700 
8,311 14 10 
2,813 6 8 
4,956 12 7 
1,886 13 4 


575,051 2 2 
5,559 5 
13,048 13 
10,416 3 
2,628 13 
26,235 11 
6,632 13 
15,189 16 
7,620 11 


171,322 11 4 


662,382 7 2 



SIR WILLIAM WALLACE. 

The history of Scotland's hero, Sir William Wallace, was written in Latin 
by John Blair, his chaplain, and turned into metre by Blind Harry. In an 
edition of the poem published by William Hamilton, Glasgow, 1811 (Book I., 
Ch. III.) there is an account of the death of young Selby, the son of the Con- 
stable of Dundee. He insulted Wallace, who was then in Dundee for his 
education, and Wallace stabbed the insolent youth with his dagger, then fled, 
pursued by the English soldiery. In his flight he ran to Longforgan, and, very 
wearied, sought shelter from a woman who resided there. This she readily 
afforded, as fully described in the poem. 

We have been favoured with the following graphic account of this historic 
incident, written down verbatim by ex-Provost James Cox, of Dundee, and of 
Cardean, as it was spoken in the present year by his cousin-german, Eachel 
Smith, residing at 114 Perth Koad, here, who is now 85 years old, and is a 
lineal descendant of the protector of Wallace. 

" In 1292 a man named Smith, with his wife, whose maiden name was Aymer, 
lived in a house in Longforgan. He possessed a small farm, and had weaving 
premises. They were industrious people, and while the goodman was attending 
to the out- door work on his farm, the goodwife was at her spinning wheel. One 
day when so employed, she thought she heard, above the birr of the wheel, the 
hurried step of a man pass the door, then open, and as the noise of the foot- 
step ceased, she arose and looked out to see where he had gone. To her 
amazement a man was sitting on her grain knocker, way-worn and weary, and 
very much oppressed, for he had outrun his pursuers from Dundee, a distance 
of six miles. Being a woman of a very kindly nature, she invited the man 



262 ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

into the house, not knowing who he was. He accepted her timely invitation, 
and followed her at once, for there was no time to lose, his followers being close 
behind. No doubt the man had time to inform Mrs Smith who he was and 
what he had done, for she took off the large loose spinning garb which she had 
on herself and threw it over Wallace, and put him down to spin. Shortly 
thereafter his pursuers came in and made a full search, but he was so dis- 
guised, the garb being so covered over with fluff from the wheel, that they did 
not know him, and left the house. At this time her husband came in, and 
after giving him bread and milk to recruit his strength, he helped him to bed 
to rest his weary frame and prepare him for his departure when darkness came 
on. Wallace left the abode of the hospitable family, no doubt thanking the 
host and hostess for so carefully disguising and sheltering him in his great 
extremity, and he got away in safety. 

" This story was told by the father to his children from generation to genera- 
tion, and the stone was to be handed down to generations yet unborn. The stone 
was no longer allowed to lie at the door, but was much valued and carefully 
kept, by the side of the kitchen fire until the family left Longforgan. At that 
time (1862) Colonel Paterson of Castle Huntly wrote to the Smiths asking if 
they would give him the stone, and they gave it to him. It is now lying in 
the dungeon of the Castle. Its size is 14 inches square, 11 inches deep, hol- 
lowed like a mortar, and was used for making pot barley in by a wooden 
mallet or pestal. 

" It is not known when the family of Smith first went to reside in Longforgan, 
but it may have been many years before they received the visit from Wallace. 
They had been one of the oldest families in the country, reckoning only 
from the date of his visit to then, 1292 ; from then till 1862 is 570 years, 
during which period the family resided at Longforgan." 

The families of Cox and Smith have been long related by intermarrying, the 
first of which we have any record being between Christian Smith, Longforgan, 
and James Cock, Lochee,who were proclaimed 29th May, 1669. John Smith 
and Helen Cock, 10th February, 1739, &c., &c. 

In the old Statistical Account of the parish of Longforgan there is a notice 
of the stone, then in possession of " a very respectable man of the name of 
Smith, a weaver, and the farmer of a few acres of land. It is what was formerly 
called in this country a bear stone, which is made hollow like a mortar, and 
was made use of to unhusk the barley, as a preparation for the pot, with a 
large wooden mell, long before barley mills were known. Its station was on 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. OLD FARMING SOCIETY. 263 

one side of the door, and covered with a flat stone for a seat when not other- 
wise employed. The most remarkable part of the history of which is that 
upon this stone Wallace sat on his way from Dundee, when he fled after killing 
the Governor's son, and was fed with bread and milk by the goodwife of the 
house, from whom the man who now lives there, and is proprietor of the stone, 
is lineally descended, and here his forebeers (ancestors) have lived ever since, 
in nearly the same station and circumstances, for about 500 years." 

The stone has a historical value, especially to Dundee, and we think the 
dungeon of Castle Huntly is not the place where it should be. Application 
should at once be made to the proprietor of Castle Huntly for the stone. It can 
be of no value to him, and it should be deposited in the Museum in Dundee, 
where it would be seen, and much prized for the old associations connected 
with it. 



EAVENSBY. 

In the account of the parish of Barry we intended to have given an account 
of the Walkers of Ravensby, but it was omitted. The following details of the 
family show their propinquity with the Grahams of Claverhouse, and Carne- 
gies, Earls of Southesk and Northesk. Peter Geddes Walker of Havensby is 
lineally descended from Thomas Davidson of Wolflaw, born 1705 and died 
1763, who was a cadet of the Davidsons of Balgay. Robert Davidson of Bal- 
gay married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Graham of Claverhouse, by 
Lady Jane Carnegie, fourth daughter of John, first Earl of Northesk by 
Magdalen, daughter of Sir John Hallyburton of Pitcur. " Robert Davidson 
and Elizabeth Grame were booked to be proclaimed on ye 21st of July 1671." 
She was the sister of John Graham of Claverhouse, who was, on 12th Novem- 
ber, 1688, created a Peer by the title of Viscount of Dundee, and Lord 
Graham of Claverhouse. He fell at Killiecrankie, 12th June, 1689. 



AN OLD FARMING SOCIETY IN FORFARSHIRE. 

So long ago as the 4th July, 1803, the initiatory meeting of the " Lunan 
and Vinney Water Farmers' Society," under the auspices of the celebrated 
George Dempster of Dunnichen, was held there. 

Invitations had been issued to 26 persons, but, Mr Dempster being very 



264 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

popular, 34 attended, 11 of whom were landed proprietors. Among those who 
met was the Kev. Charles Rogers, author of the agricultural survey of the 
county. We mentioned the rev. gentleman and his works VoL I., p. 179, and 
Vol. III., p. 306. He was the father of Rev. Charles Rogers, D.D. and LL.D., 
from whom we were favoured with the perusal of a small pamphlet containing 
a short account of the proceedings of the Society by the Rev. Mr Rogers, who, 
on Mr Dempster's proposal, had been chosen secretary of the Society, and kept 
its records. From the pamphlet we give the following particulars taken from 
the records prepared under Mr Dempster's approval : 

" Mr Dempster was appointed perpetual preses of the Society. In opening 
its business he expatiated on the importance of maintaining superior breeds of 
cattle and horses, on the duty of extirpating weeds, on the necessity of a stern 
resistance to smuggling, and on the desirableness of upholding the Constitu- 
tion. It was arranged that the Society should assemble at least once a year, 
that its proceedings should be accompanied by a modest feast at Is 6d (after- 
wards 2s 6d) a-head, and that on each occasion liquor of native manufacture 
should be used exclusively. 

At the second meeting, held in July, 1804, Mr Dempster invited attention 
to the rotation of crops. He handed to each member a slip of rules, which he 
termed golden. They consisted of injunctions to keep the land rich, clean, and 
dry, to use efficient manure, and avoid two grain crops in succession. He 
advised them to rear poultry and hogs largely. The Secretary read an address 
on rearing horses and cattle. Prior to the reign of James L, Alexander, Earl 
of Mar, imported horses from Hungary. James I. was himself a promoter of 
farm stock, by introducing on his lands at Falkland a superior species of milch 
cows. 

One of the members had recently sold three-year-old cattle at 18 each, and 
another had reaped, from about an acre, as much red clover as produced 154 
Ibs. of seed. 

At the meetings held in August, 1805, and in July, 1806, Mr Dempster re- 
commended the cultivation of Swedish turnips, and that wheat should be more 
extensively cultivated, and that it should be sown late in August or early in 
September. At the close of the meeting an indigent person, formerly a farmer, 
then said to be in his 106th year, was awarded a little money. 

At the fifth meeting, held in August, 1807, there was an exhibition of live 
stock. In 1808 the importance of draining marshes, described as " magazines 
of mischief," was maintained. In 1809 the Chairman exhibited a sample of 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES OLD FARMING SOCIETY. 265 

naked barley, resembling wheat, imported from Egypt. Mr Guthrie of Craigie 
held that Swedish turnips were inferior to the yellow turnips, which might be 
reared on a great variety of soils. Mr Scott of Beswallie recommended a more 
general cultivation of barley. He suggested the erection in the district of 
woollen mills, condemned the disuse of " the Scottish " or woollen bonnet, and 
hoped that at next meeting all the members would appear bonneted, but his 
proposals were not adopted. Mr Dempster thought that the manufacture of 
sailcloth and coarse linen, long common to the district, was worthy of encour- 
agement, and no others. It was suggested that a donation should be presented 
to Mr Meikle, inventor of the threshing machine, who was aged and indigent. 

In September, 1810, the Society's roll was 74, and it increased to 80. At 
the anniversary then held, Mr Dempster said that sixty years ago the district 
was covered with furze and broom, while bogs were to be found at every turn ; 
now the fields were clean and well drained, roads were abundant, and wheat 
was largely cultivated. He considered the establishment of local farming societies 
as most beneficial, as they brought pleasantly together landlord and tenant, 
and enabled them to be mutually helpful. 

It appears that every summer a riding Committee in Strathmore then 
inspected the farms, and, as authorised in the leases, imposed fines on those 
who permitted weeds to grow unchecked. 

In 1811 there was a competition among exhibitors of live stock, when Mr 
Dempster presented several gold and silver medals as premiums. He recom- 
mended the use of single-horse carts, and thought cattle might be trained for 
use in the threshing mill. The respective merits of " Angus " and " potato " 
oats were discussed. 

In 1812, the tenth anniversary of the Society, wheat sowing in drills was 
commended, as it was said the produce was one-third more than when sown 
broadcast. At the meeting in 1813 Mr Dempster recommended drainage 
as the most necessary of agricultural operations, and congratulated the mem- 
bers on the general disappearance of field weeds. He pleaded on behalf of 
crows, as they destroyed grub, and ought to be encouraged, and Mr Guthrie 
strongly supported Mr Dempster. 

Fiorin grass had been discussed at a former meeting, and the subject was 
revived at this meeting. Mr John Pinkerton, the antiquary, who was Mr 
Dempster's guest, was present as an honorary member. He remarked that 
Camden had referred to a field of fiorin grass which was so fertile as to be cut 
four times a year. 
2L 



266 ANGUS OK FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

At the Society's twelfth anniversary, held in July, 1814, Mr Dempster com- 
plimented the clergy as early promoters of agriculture. Around the 
monasteries, he said, the best soil was a garden and the worst a grave. It was 
said that while the Koman Catholic clergy largely cultivated and made use of 
wheaten flour, it had since the Eeformation been generally disused. A return 
to the use of oxen in tillage was suggested, and other matters were spoken of, 
such as pickling barley to prevent blight, &c. 

The Society did not reassemble. Mr Dempster was then 80 years of age, and 
he was probably unable longer to discharge the -presidential duties, and as his 
election was for life, it might have been deemed ungracious to elect a substitute. 

The details given above enable the agriculturists of the present time to con- 
trast their position with those of their predecessors in the years stated, and they 
are thus possessed of considerable interest. 

It is difficult for people in the present age to realize the state of bondage in 
which their forefathers lived in early times. Now all men in this free country 
have liberty to speak and act, to go and to come as, when, and where they 
please, provided they do no wrong to their neighbour or to his property. Even 
in the 14th century men and their families were bought and sold with the land, 
and sometimes without the land, as live stock on farms are frequently sold still, 
the only difference in their position being that the human cattle could not be 
sold off the property as the bestial may be, as they were generally attached to 
the soil. By-and-bye the time came when men could redeem themselves and 
their families from bondage, and warrants for the freedom of serfs are still to 
be seen, granted in the reign of Alexander II. (1247). 

We have already mentioned several cases of serfs having been assigned with 
the land to a new purchaser of them in the reign of David II. We will only 
mention another, in the same reign. In 1369 the lands of Balloch in Kinross- 
shire were sold with the natives or serfs upon it. 

The following account of the imposition of slavery by the Lords of Justiciary 
at Perth, in the beginning of last century, reads liker a chapter in a romance 
than a plain unvarnished statement of facts. At that time the punishment of 
death was awarded for comparatively venial offences, which, happily, are now 
punished in a milder manner. 

On 5th December, 1701, four men were tried at Perth for theft, and being 
found guilty, were liable to the punishment of death. The Lords, however, 
adjudged them to the lighter punishment of perpetual servitude, not to the 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. NOTABLE EVENTS. 267 

plantations, but at home, and the panels to be left " at the Court's disposal." 
One of them, Alexander Stewart, they bestowed as a gift on Sir John Erskine 
of Alva, probably with a view to his being confined in the silver mine which Sir 
John was then working in the Ochils. Sir John was enjoined to fit a metal 
collar on the man, bearing the following inscription : u Alexander Stewart, 
found guilty of death for theft at Perth, 5th December, 1701, and gii'ted by 
the justiciars as a perpetual servant to Sir John Erskine of Alva." The collar 
with this inscription was many years ago dredged up in the Firth of Forth. 
It is now preserved in the Museum of the Society of Antiquaries in Edinburgh. 

At that period labourers in mines and saltworks were regarded by the law of 
Scotland as " necessary servants," who, without any paction, by merely coming 
and taking work in such places, became bound to servitude for life, their 
children also becoming bound if their fathers in any way used them as 
assistants. It appears that the salters and miners were transferred with the 
works when these were sold, but a right in the masters to dispose of the men 
otherwise does not appear to have been a part of the Scots Law. 

In 1743 the bondsmen in Fife and Lothian began to assert their freedom, 
and some of them left one work and went to another, which led to some corres- 
pondence and recrimination among the owners of collieries. The remains of 
the villianage of the middle ages were not put an end to till the end of 1775, 
when the Statute 15, Geo. II., 28, extinguished them. 

Eeferences to cases of bondage or slavery in Angus, particularly the bondage 
of the fishermen of Auchmithie to the lord of Ethie, will be found in other 
parts of this work. 



NOTABLE EVENTS. 

1093 Tartan probably introduced by Queen Margaret about this year. 

1196 Great famine in Scotland, many people died of hunger. 

1198 Great scarcity in Scotland, followed by great plenty, showing the 

wretched state of agriculture at that period. 
1259 Great dearth in Scotland. 
1266 On the eve of the feast of the 11,000 virgins a great wind arose from the 

north, and the sea broke in and destroyed many villages between the 

Tay and the Tweed. Never such a deluge seen before, and traces of 

it were visible when Fordun wrote. 



268 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PAUT XIV. 

1282 Plague appeared in Scotland for the first time. 

1310 Famine so great in Scotland that many persons fed on horse flesh. 

1314 Five shillings the value of a cow, and 6s 8d of an ox. 

1327 Firearms first employed by the English in their wars with Scotland. 

Barbour calls them " crakys of war." 
1339 Great famine in Scotland. The poor fed on grass, and many were 

found dead in the fields. 

1340 Scots employed cannon at siege of Stirling. 
1361 Pestilence in Scotland, very fatal to the poor patients, who swelled 

greatly, and died in about 48 hours. 
1369 Pestilence in Scotland of the same character as the one in 1361. 

(Mostly from Haile's Annals.) 



ACTS OF THE SCOTTISH PAELIAMENT. 

1292 The burgh of Dundee remits debts due by the King, John Baliol, and 
Queen. 

1351 On 15th May a Parliament was held at Dundee by David II. 

1359__0n 5th April David II. held a Council at Dundee. 

1458 Confirmation of a decree of the Lords' Auditors between Dundee and 
Montrose both burghs to have, the liberty of buying and selling. 

1594 The inhabitants of Forfarshire to assemble in arms at Dundee on 4th 
October. 

1647 The Magistrates of Dundee were prohibited from stopping the exporta- 
tion of victual there. 

The same year Dundee to have proportion of 20,000 allowed for losses 
of Royal Burghs. 

1649 Act exempting Dundee from payment of two months' maintenance on 
account of the plague. Warrant to pay two months' maintenance to 
Dundee, in respect the plague had broken out, and that Sir John 
Brown has extorted his claim notwithstanding the exemption granted 
to them. 

1649 The- laird of MousewelTs regiment of foot to be quartered in Dundee. 

1649 The Magistrates to pay David Gourlay at Dundee 1000 merks for a 
tenement belonging to him destroyed for the fortifications. 

1672 A house of correction to be provided at Dundee for the shire. 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ACTS OF SCOTTISH PARLT. 269 

1681 The houses of Dundee not to be thatched with straw, but roofed with 

lead, slates, or tiles. 

1574 Lord Glamis was commissioner' for musters in the shire. 
1586 The officers of arms not to exceed 10. 
1643 Colonels of horse and foot were appointed for the shire. 
1644 The fencible men to be put in a position of defence against the 

threatened invasion of Prince Rupert. 
1645 The Earl of Airlie and others having ravaged the shire, a petition that 

it might be excused from convening at Perth, and that troops be sent 

to save it from ruin, was presented. 
1646 Certain regiments of horse to be recruited, partly from the malignents 

of Angus. 
1648 Colonels of Horse and Foot were appointed for the shire. The number 

of Horse and Foot to be sufficient to secure the Braes of Angus. The 

shire to contribute 750 Foot and 280 Horse. 
1649 The shire to furnish 562 Foot and 160 Horse to the levy. 
1649 The General's Horse to be quartered in Angus. 
1663 The shire to raise 1000 Foot and 103 Horse of a levy of 20,000 Foot 

2000 Horse. 

1654 Committee for certifying the character of ministers in Angus appointed. 
1661 The shire and burghs were relieved from maintenance, in respect of 

losses during the usurpation. 
1685 The Earl of Southesk to be master of the game for the shire, with 

power to enforce the Game Laws. 

1693 The electors to be cited for not electing Members of Parliament. 
1699 Ten per cent, taxation imposed for communication of trade. 
1641 Commissioners to Parliament to be allowed to charge four days in going 

to and returning from Parliament. 
1643 The election of Fletcher of Inverpeffer and Carnegy of Balnamoon as 

Commissionefs for the shire found to be illegal, and a new election 

ordered, the freeholders having imposed restrictions on those they 

elected. That year an assessment was imposed on the shire to send 

40,756 for the army in Ireland. 
1644 Grahame of Fintry to enforce the Act againts runaways and deficients 

in the shire. 
1645 The Earl of Kinghorn and Lord Loure to advance the first month's 

maintenance of the shire. 



270 ANGUS OE FOEFAESHIEE. [PART XIV. 



The price of bear, rye, and peas was 4 16s 8d per boll of Linlithgow 
measure ; meal and oats 4 10s Scots per boll. 

1650 No abatement of the quantity of meal to be furnished by the shire per- 

mitted. 

1651 Direction as to the amount of provision and money to be carried by the 

force from the shire was given. 

Two centuries ago the county had one regiment of militia, which consisted 
of one thousand foot, commanded by Colonel the Earl of Strathmore ; 
Lieutenant-Colonel Lindsay of Edzell, Major Hallyburton of Pit cur ; and two 
troops of horse, each consisting of one hundred and three horse, whereof the 
one troop was commanded by the Earl of Airlie, and the other by Lord 
Carnegie. Ochterlony says Dundee was joined in nothing to the shire except 
the militia, whereunto they furnish 150 foot. 

Ochterlony gives a list of the ancient families in the shire as follows : 
Noblemen Earls of Strathmore, Southesk, Airlie, Panmure, Lord Gray; 
gentlemen Lairds of Edzell, Dun, Pitcur, Powrie, Fothringhame, Fintry, 
Claverhouse, Inverquharity, Bonnyton, Ochterlony of that ilk, Gardyne of that 
ilk, Auchinleck of that ilk, Grange, Durham, Balmashanner, Guthrie of that 
ilk, Balzeordie, Balfour, Ogilvy, Strathmartine, Nevay of that ilk, Euthven, 
Deuchar of that ilk, Thornton of that ilk. He adds " Many great families had 
become extinct within a few years, as the Earls of Buchan, Dundee, Crawford, 
Lords Spynie, Oliphant, besides many considerable barons and gentlemen 
whose estates had been purchased by merchants of the burghs within the 
county." 



ENTAILS. 

The following is taken from an Index of " Entails in Scotland from the 
passing of an Act of Parliament in the year 1685 to 4th February, 1784 : " 

148. Airlie, David, Earl of, Lintrathen and others ; tailzie, 22d March, 1784; 

registration, 31st July, 1718. 
381. Barclay, James, of Balmakewan, Ballindarg and others, entailed by 

Kobert Carnegie of Ballindarg ; tailize, 27th June, 1748 ; registered, 

30th July, 1748. 



CHAP. LVII.] ANGUS IN PARISHES. ENTAILS. 271 

181. Clayhills, John, of Invergowrie, Invergowrie and others ; tailzie, 29th 

January, 1723 ; registered 21st February, 1723. 
193. Chapline, George, merchand in Jamaica, lands and barony of Collision ; 

tailzie, 27th July, 1721 ; registered, llth June, 1724. 
381. Carnegie, Robert, lands of Ballindarg, as above. 
559. Carnegie, James, of Boysack, lands and barony of Boysack ; tailzie, 27th 

June, 1766 ; registered, 8th March, 1771. 
90. Douglas, Marquis of, Earldom of Angus and others, in several parches ; 

tailzie, 9th March, 1699 ; registered, 22d March, 1707. Earl of Forfar. 
353. Dick, John, of Pitkerro, writer in Dundee, lands of Pitkerro ; tailzie 

28th March, 1744 ; registered July 25th, 1744. 
314. Falconer, Lord David, of Halkerton, lands and barony of Halkerton and 

others, in Forfar and Kincardine shires ; tailzie, 14th July, 1743 ; 

registered, 26th July, 1743. 
411. Fergusson, Mr Adam, minister of Logierait, lands of Douny and Dalna- 

kebock ; tailzie, 23d March, 1753 ; registered; 14th June, 1753. 
525. Gray, Captain Charles, of Carse, lands of Carse and others ; tailzie, 23d 

May, 1765 ; registered, 25th June, 1768. 

569. Gardner, John, of North Tarrie, lands of North Tarrie ; tailzie, 3d 

September, 1764 ; registered, 18th July, 1771 ; also, 

570. Supplementary deed of entail by him relative thereto ; tailzie, 8th June, 

1771 ; registered, 18th July, 1771. 

695. Lands of Craighill and Bridgetoun, and others, by Gibson, William, of 
Bridgetoun, and lands of Little Fithie in favours of his daughter and 
William Orr, her son ; tailzie, 2d December, 1773 ; registered, 14th 
July, 1781. 

128. Hunter, Andrew, of Dod, lands and barony of Dod and others ; tailzie, 

30th August, 1709; registered, 4th November, 1713. 

129. Some acres called Eyving Hills, and other houses, said Hunter, Andrew, 

of Dod; tailzie, 30th January, 1713 ; registered, 4th November, 1713. 
323. Lauder, George, of Pitscandly, lands and estate of Pitscandly and others ; 

tailzie, 26th October, 1737 ; registered, 15th January, 1740. 
4. M'Kenzie, Sir George, of Rosehaugh, lands and estate of Rosehaugh ; 

tailzie, 4th June, 1689 ; registered, 19th July, 1692. 
188. Murray, Sir Alexander, of Melgund, lands and barony of Melgund and 

Others ; tailzie, 13th September, 1710 ; registered, 1st February, 

1724, 



272 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

207. Murray, Sir Alexander, of Melgund, lands and estate of Melgund and 
Kinninmond ; tailzie, 13th September, 1710 ; registered, 23d December, 

1725. 

581. M'Kenzie-Stewart, James, of Eosehaugh, Lord Privy Seal in Forfar 

and Perth shires, tailzie of certain parts of Markmyre and others ; 
tailzie, llth March, 1754; registered 26th June, 1772. 

582. Another entail by the said James M'Kenzie-Stewart of a third part of a 

fourth part of the town and lands of Balmaw ; tailzie, 12th August 
1758 ; registered, 26th June, 1772. 

583. Another entail by him of half the lands of Easter Keilour and others ; 

tailzie, 7th July, 1764 ; registered, 26th June, 1772. 

584. Another entail by him of the lands and estate of Belmont in Perthshire ; 

tailzie, 14th January, 1772 ; registered, 26th June, 1772. 
All the above four entails lying contiguous to the estates of Newtyle 

and Auchtertyre. 
666. Menzies, James and Archibald, of Culdares, tailzie of the lands and 

barony of Culdares and Glenlyon and others, in Perth and Forfar shires ; 

tailzie, 30th April, 1773 ; registered, 16th February, 1779. 
248. Ogilvie, David, of Clunie, lands and estate of Mains of Craigie and 

others, in Perth and Forfar shires ; tailzie, 23d December, 1729 ; 

registered, 6th February, 1730. 
706. Panmure, William, Earl of, lands and baronies of Panmure, Aberbro- 

thock, Brechin, Navar, Edzell, Lethnet, Lochlie, Kellie, Ballumbie, and 

others ; tailzie, 12th October, 1781 ; registered, 22d January, 1782. 
220. Rochead, Dame Janet, relict of Sir David Dalrymple of Hailes, lands 

and barony of Melgund called Northanelgune ; tailzie, 15th March, 

1725 ; registered, 12th January, 1727. 
427. Reid, Thomas, of Auchinleck, Mains of Auchinleck, mansionhouse, and 

pertinents ; tailzie, 20th June, 1754 ; registered, 24th June, 1755. 
504. Rollo, Andrew, Lord, lands and barony of Duncrub and others, in Perth 

and Forfar shires ; tailzie, llth March, 1765 ; registered, 18th 

January, 1766, 
623. Rothes, Margaret, Countess of, Earldom of Rothes and others, in Fife, 

Perth, Kincardine, Forfar, and Inverness shires ; tailzie, 1st January, 

1688 ; registered, 10th March, 1775. 
199. Skene, Major George, of Caraldston, lands and estate of Carraldstou 

and others ; tailzie, 24th October, 1721 ; registered, 6th July, 1725, 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. BURGHS. 273 

506. Lands and estate of Wedderburn, Wedderburn, Grizel, of Wedderburn ; 
31st July, 1778 ; registered, 6th August, 1766. 

662. Lands and estate of Over and Nether Turin and others, Watson, Alex- 
ander, of Turin ; tailzie, 9th April, 1778 ; registered, 22d January, 
1776. 

697. Said Alexander Watson of Turin, revocation by him of the above tailzie 
of his lands of Over and Nether Turin and others ; tailzie, 5th July, 
1781 ; registered, 19th July, 1781. 



BUEGHS. 

From time immemorial some system of government has been found neces- 
sary in even the most primitive state of society. The earliest, and the most 
natural, was the patriarchal, when the parent was the ruler of his family and 
household, and the judge and arbiter of any quarrel which might arise within 
it. Affection would generally make the paternal rule mild and equitable. 
The domestic and other labours of all were for the common good, and when 
important matters arose, as was sure to be the case, the family would be sum- 
moned and their opinion asked, that a just decision might be come to. 

As the family circle widened, the domain had to be extended, and buildings 
for the younger members would be erected around the paternal home, which 
thus became the nucleus of a rising town. As the society increased, and the 
town expanded, the interests of the families of whom the community was com- 
posed would differ, the early brotherly love would become colder as the degree 
of relationship among them widened, until it became necessary to appoint one 
person with supreme power to maintain order, and decide differences between 
the members of the brotherhood, should any arise. The wisest and most 
honourable man would be chosen for this place of power. 

Such appears to have been the beginning or first stages of social communities. 
The first wise man so appointed may not have had any distinctive title, as he 
was the relative and friend of all. As the people increased in numbers, his 
duties would become more numerous, and in time he would be wholly occupied 
in the public service. In order to highten the dignity and add lustre to the 
honour of his important office, some distinguishing title of pre-eminence, such 
as provost, was bestowed upon him, and the government of the town was con- 
fided to him. 

2n 



274 ANGUS OK FORFAESHIRE. [PART XIV. 

In the course of time the same causes would lead to the establishment of 
other similar communities in different parts of the country, each of them in- 
dependent of the others, and all occupied chiefly with their own concerns, and 
under their own ruler. For a time these communities would live in harmony 
with each other, but selfish interests, jealousies, and other causes soon arise, 
which lead to feuds among the neighbours, and extending, neighbouring com- 
munities became involved, and corrupt passions once roused, strife and warfare 
follow. The chief of one town with his people overcome those of another town , 
and the victorious chief becomes prince of both. Ambitious now, he attacks 
other societies, until, wading in bjood, he overcomes all the surrounding 
princes, and assumes the title of king of the subjugated communities. 

The King, assuming royal but despotic power and authority, declares the 
people and the lands his own. To those of his followers who had been instru- 
mental in raising him to the throne, the King gave large gifts of the land 
of the country, with the people residing upon it. The lands were generally 
to be held- in free barony, "with all the liege and native men of the said 
lands." These liege and native men, with their wives and families, were slaves, 
bought and sold with the lands. The feudal lords who received these grants 
were taken bound to furnish a certain number of men to the King's army, to 
attend three suits at the King's courts (generally at the principal town in the 
district), and rendering some animal or article named in the charter, in name 
of blench farm, on a day and at a place named, yearly thereafter. 

The blench duties were very various, and some of them very curious, but as 
we have previously referred to this matter, we need not repeat it here. 

The grant of lands in free barony conferred extensive powers and privileges 
upon the feudal lords over the slaves and vassals who dwelt on the lands. This 
subject has also been mentioned previously. 

These feudal lords lived in fortified castles on their own lands, and in the 
midst of their tenants, dependants, or vassals, as they were called, according to 
the tenure upon which they held their lands. In some of the large feudal 
estates there was one of the small towns mentioned above. These towns held 
off the lord on whose lands the town was situated. The larger towns generally 
held off the Crown. 

The inhabitants in towns which held off the baron, as well as those on 
his lands, were at the call of their feudal lord in defence of his person and 
property, and also to support him in his raids upon the property or persons of 
his neighbours, and he was bound to protect his townsmen and other vassals. 



CHAP. LVII] ANGUS IN PARISHES. BURGHS, 275 

The urban and rural population were, in early times, only of low condition, not 
only in this country, but also in the principal towns of Europe. This is shown 
by the privileges granted by ancient charters to the inhabitants of some of 
the large towns of Europe. One of these privileges was to give away their 
own daughters in marriage without the consent of their lord ; another that 
upon the death of the townsmen, their own children, and not their lord, should 
succeed to their property ; also, that they might dispose of their own effects by 
will. 

In these early times, in all the countries of Europe a large portion of the 
trade of the several countries was done by travellers who went from town to 
town carrying their merchandise with them for sale the meaner sort in a pack 
on their back, and the more opulent in paniers on the back of a donkey or of a 
horse. The pedlars and hawkers of the present age are the representatives and 
successors of these persons. It was then customary to levy certain taxes upon 
the persons and goods of these travelling merchants when they passed over 
certain bridges, through certain manors, and on other occasions, especially 
when they attended a fair, and when they erected a booth or stall in a town. 
These taxes were known in England by the names of passage, pontage, and 
stallage ; and in Scotland by those of pack dues, petty customs, booth upset 
dues, and the like. The money so collected went to the lord of the manor or 
feudal lord in which it was collected ; to the erectors or proprietors of the 
bridge ; to the proprietor who had the right to hold the fair, and to the autho- 
rities in the town where the booth or stall was erected or set up. 

The King, and occasionally a great feudal lord, would grant to traders who 
lived on his own domain a general exemption from these and such like taxes. 
Such traders were then called free traders, and had a gilda mercatoria, or 
merchant's guild, granted them, and they in return usually paid to their 
superiors or protectors an annual tax or gild, and from thence persons liable 
to the same payment to a lord were said to be in his gild. 

These gilds or fraternities were probably at first only voluntary associations, 
entered into by the feudal lords for their mutual protection and security, and 
they seemed to have been general over the greater part of Europe. The 
security thus accorded induced others to enter into similar associations to pre- 
serve them from the rapacity of their Kings and feudal lords, who when 
occasion offered, in the true spirit of the feudal system, levied increased taxes 
or contributions. 

It is not known when these gilds were first established, but they were known 



276 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

in England towards the end of the Saxon period, when arts and manufactures 
had made considerable progress ; but at that time they seem to have extended 
only to the exemption from tolls and other burdensome services, and payments 
for the benefit of trade. 

There does not appear to be any instance of the burgesses or inhabitants of 
a town having been incorporated by charter before the Norman conquest. 
Then protection would only be granted for a consideration, and their annual 
tax may have been considered as compensation for what their lords might lose 
by exempting them from other taxes. The taxes and exemptions were at first 
entirely personal. It appears by Doomsday Book that in several towns in 
England mention is made of the tax which burghers individually paid to the 
King, or to their overlord, for the protection they received. 

The part of the King's revenue which arose from such taxes in a town was 
usually let in farm for a term of years for a fixed yearly rent, sometimes to a 
leading person in the town, and sometimes to the townsmen or burghers, they 
being j ointly and severally liable for the entire rent. This practice was common 
among the sovereigns throughout Europe, who let their manors to tenants. 
They collected the rents in their own way, and paid the money into the King's 
exchequer by the hands of their own bailiff. This exemption from the control 
of the King's officers was then a great boon. 

Although the farm of a town was at first let to the burghers for a term of 
years, it afterwards appears to have been the general practice to grant it to them 
for ever, at a yearly rent never to be increased. The payments having become 
perpetual, the exemptions in return for which it was at first made naturally 
became perpetual also. Thereafter the exemptions ceased to be personal, and 
belonged to the burgesses of the particular burgh, which thereafter was called 
a free burgh. In this way the inhabitants of towns, through their united 
action, obtained independency much earlier than their rural neighbours. 

The free burghs were generally erected into a corporation, with the privilege 
of electing a Town Council and Magistrates of their own ; also of making bye- 
laws for their own government, of building walls for their own defence, and of 
establishing a certain discipline among the townsmen whereby they were 
obliged to watch and ward, which implies guarding the town from attacks by 
day and by night, and in other respects carry out the behests of the Magistrates. 
One of the greatest blessings bestowed upon the people of this and other 
countries was the privilege to unite together in free communities, and to grant 
the united bodies charters investing them with powers to make out and enforce 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PAKISHES. BURGHS. 277 

regulations for the guidance of their internal affairs, and defence against out- 
side aggressors. The charters to towns generally incorporated the burgesses 
together. That term implies that they were capable of governing and defend- 
ing the other inhabitants. Burg means town, and herr, lord sir-burghers, 
lords of the town. Gradually the communities, protected by the burgesses, or 
the magistrates appointed by them, increased in size by being joined by men 
of industrious habits, and by merchants in the prosecution of their trade. The 
charters did not create communities, they only supplied a want existing com- 
munities found necessary for the general weal. As the towns increased in size, 
the men in the several great branches of commerce or trade increased in 
numbers, and as each distinct handicraft went on the assumption that all 
those engaged in it were brothers and sisters, they came to ask incorporations 
for their several societies, and gilds were established, and crafts, which are 
only another name for gilds. 

The first mention of burgesses in the public records is in the year 1326. 
As the freemen in a burgh could not all appear in Parliament, they selected 
persons from among themselves to attend, and thus instituted the first example 
of representation, the principle of which has been maintained to the present 
day. In the Parliament held at Perth on the thirteenth January, 1365, the 
names of the members are given, being the first recorded example of the roll. 
The bishops are first, including Brechin, then the abbots, including Arbroath 
and Cupar, with peers, knights, and " the other persons usually called," which 
may include the commissioners of burghs. In the Parliament held at Scone 
in 1367 the commissioners of burghs include those of Dundee and Montrose, 
but none from the other burghs in the county are mentioned. In the Parlia- 
ment held at Perth in 1370 the famous LORDS OF THE ARTICLES were first 
instituted. James I., with consent of the Council, ordained that the small 
barons and free tenants need not come to Parliament, provided that each 
sheriffdom send two or more wise men, chosen at the head court of the sheriff- 
dom, according to its extent. They were called commissioners of the shire, 
who were to chose the common speaker of the Parliament, and he and they were 
to have their expenses paid by their respective shires, to be raised by an equal 
assessment per pound of rent, except those of churchmen and nobles. In the 
Parliament of 1472 the Abbot of Arbroath, the Prior of Kesteneth, Earl of 
Crawford, Lord Gray, the barons or lairds of Buthven, Guthrie, and Erolit 
(Airlie), and Monorgan and Guthrie, commissioners of Dundee, were present 
from Angus. v 



278 ANGtTS OB FOBFAKSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

King David the First appears to have taken the Anglo-Norman burgh, 
with its feudal castle and its civic population, distinct and separate from the 
garrison, as the model of the burghs he established or confirmed in Scotland. 
There is no evidence of the existence of free communities engaged in commerce, 
and occupying walled towns before his reign, although the germs of such com- 
munities may have been formed around some of the then royal residences prior 
to that period. The four burghs Roxburgh, Berwick, Edinburgh, and 
Stirling were the Hanse towns of Scotland. Each burgh was divided into 
four wards, over each of which a Bailie was placed, with a Burgh-Reeve, or 
Provost, who presided at all meetings of the burghers. These officials were 
annually chosen in the first Burgh Moot held after Michaelmas. The King 
was anxious to encourage the settlement of suitable people in his new burghs, 
and from the first he conferred complete self-government upon them. His 
desire was speedily accomplished, as the security enjoyed, and the privileges 
conferred, and the peace and prosperity flowing therefrom brought many 
willing settlers from southern Britain and Flanders. The towns soon filled, 
and others rapidly sprung up throughout the kingdom, to the benefit of the 
burghers and of the country at large. About 1 6 royal burghs were established 
by charter in the reign of King David. There were many communities who 
enjoyed rights arid privileges by unwritten law before they thought it neces- 
sary to obtain a charter. As they increased in size a charter was a necessity, 
and, it obtained, they became royal burghs under burgh laws. 

The burghers were judged by their own chosen magistrates by the verdict 
of their peers, in common with every Scottish freeholder, and according to 
the laws and assize of the burgh, sanctioned by the community, and regulated 
by the provost and twelve chosen men. Every burgher was bound to possess 
at least one rood of land in the burgh, for which he paid fivepence yearly to 
the King. He had to swear fealty to the King, the Magistrates, and the com- 
munity of the burgh, with his hand upon the Bible. The heir, if a minor, 
together with his chattels, remained in charge of his mother's relatives, those 
of his father taking charge of the heritage, which was strictly entailed upon 
the heir. 

For the sale of a burgage tenement the presence of twelve witnesses was 
required, four next neighbours on either side, and four immediately opposite 
the building sold. If the tenement was held without dispute for year and day, it 
became the absolute property of the purchasers. A residence for year and day 
also conferred, from time immemorial, the right of participating in the privi- 



CHAP. LVII] ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. BURGHS. 279 

leges of " the neighbourhood" in' rural districts. The burgesses by possession 
of a burgage tenement became freeholders, and were entitled to the privileges 
belonging to that class. They were bound to attend a moot within the burgh 
every fortnight, in winter before underic, or nine o'clock a.m., and in summer 
at midmorn. At Michaelmas, Christmas, and Easter greater burgh moots 
were held, at which every upland burgess who lived without the walls was 
required to attend, under the penalty of forfeiture of his privileges, as he was 
excused from attending the fortnightly meetings. For the security of the town 
a watch was established, and at the stroke of a staff upon the door the inmate 
was bound to come forth armed, to join in keeping watch and ward from 
couvre-feu to cock-crow. The members of the guild, or merchants, were under 
the superintendence of their Dean of Guild, and the trades or craftsmen of 
their respective Deacons. All were denied admission to the guild privileges 
who worked at certain trades with their own hands, the guild being composed 
of those who bought and sold only. Every dyer, butcher, or tanner was ex- 
cluded until he deputed his business to servants whom he was only to superin- 
tend as a master. The cargoes of ships arriving at a royal burgh had to be 
first offered to the guild brethren in such proportion as they required. 
Stringent regulations were made for the sale of all descriptions of merchandise 
brought into town from landwart. Craftsmen were not allowed to become 
merchants ; they could only purchase the commodities required for their trade, 
and sell the productions of their handicraft. The guildry and craftsmen had 
each a monopoly and the right of exclusive dealing in their own departments, 
and each craft in its own handicraft. These exclusive privileges were partially 
in abeyance on market days, and especially during the market time. On 
market days outland or landward people brought their goods to the town, and 
disposed of them in the public street. Others, called stallangers, obtained, by 
a small payment, the right to erect a temporary stall or booth for the sale of 
their commodities. The stallanger could claim lot and cavil, share and share, 
with the guild brother or craftsman at that time. At Fair time the privileges 
to landward people were more extensive than on market days. Those attend- 
ing the fair were free from arrest from debt or minor offences within its pre- 
cincts, unless they broke the peace of the fair, when they were tried and 
punished by a temporary court, called in some places as the court of pies- 
pondrc or dusty-feet. The dusty-foot was the travelling pedlar, packman, or 
merchant, the original of the modern haberdasher, or man with a haversaclc, 
who travelled with various descriptions of cloth and other necessary articles 



280 



ANGUS OR FOKFARSHIKE. L PART XIY - 



suitable for the rural population, and attended the fairs with a stock of showy 
good?, tempting to the rustic community. Townsmen could give herberie or 
lodging to a stranger for one night unchallenged, but if he stayed beyond 
that time the host was answerable for his guest, and bound to produce him if 
wanted by the town's officer. Many of the customs and burgh laws in Scotland 
were copied from those of England, some of them being identical with those of 
the city of London. 

The Kegiam Majestatem, which contains the old laws and constitutions 
of Scotland, commences with some laws of King Malcolm Mackenneth, 
second of that name, who began to reign in A.D. 1004, and then gives those 
of David I. and subsequent kings. 

There is a long chapter on the laws and constitutions of burghs made by 
David I., who began to reign in A.D. 1124. The first portion relates to the 
King's rent within the burgh. Chap. I. says : In the first Each burgess 
should pay yearly to the King, in name of burgage, which be defends and holds 
of him, for each rood of land, whether waste or inhabitated, five pennies. Chap. 
II. Of a new made burgess Who is made of new the King's burgess, first 
he shall swear to be faithful and true to the King, bis Bailies, and community 
of that burgh in the which he is made burgess. It then relates the powers, 
privileges, duties, and obligations of burgesses, &c. Then follows the statutes of 
the Gild (society of merchants) made and constituted at Berwick-upon-Tweed 
in 1283-4. The statutes of the Gild are headed thus : 

IN THE NAME OF THE HOLIE TRINITIE. 

The statutes of the Gild were made and constitute be Robert Durham, Hair 
of Berwick-upon-Tweed, and Simon Martell, and other gude men, vpon the 
dates of Wednesday, before the feast of S. Mark the evangelist. And vpon 
the morne after S. Cuthbert's day, in S. Nicolas Kirk, the zeare of God 1283. 
And vpon Setterday next, after the feast of the hailie Trinitie : And vpon 
Thursday next, after the feast of St Andrew the Apostle : And vpon Thursday 
before the feast of Whitsonday, the zeare of Chirst 1284. In the Kirk of the 
black Friers. To the end that many bodies conveined in ane place, may have 
amongst them ane vnion, ane will, and ane firme and sincere loue, ilk -ane till 
other. Then follow the statutes of the Gild in 45 chapters, which include the 
duties, obligations, privileges, &c., of the Gild brethren ; who may and who 
may not be admitted into the Gild, &c., &c. Some of the statutes appear very 
strange to modern ideas. 

In early times there were two classes of burgesses in the burghs in Scotland, 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. BURGHS. 281 

the one being known as Burgesses, and the other as King's Burgesses. We 
are unable to define all the differences between the two classes, but at first the 
one may have been those residing in a town, the overlord of which was a sub- 
ject, and the other those residing in the King's burgh, or a royal burgh as it 
is now called, being one having a charter from the King. In Regiam 
Majestatem, or the " Auld Laws of Scotland," the following privileges of each 
show the differences between them. Ilk King's burgess may have his own 
oven (for baking of bread) within his own land, and no other man but the 
King's burgess (Bur. Laws, ch. 20). No man may be the King's burgess of 
any land, but if he do service to the King, which extends to one rood of land 
(Do., ch. 53). It is statute by King David I. that all his burgesses shall be 
free through all his Realme, as well by land as by sea, to sell and buy for their 
own profit and commodity, without any trouble or perturbation, under the full 
amerciament, because they are under his sure protection (Do. ch. 139). 

Another advantage which the King's burgesses had over those of a baron 
was the right to compel the burgess of an Earl, of an Abbot, of a Prior, and 
of a Baron to fight, or to have a battle, and not in the contrare (B. L., ch. 15). 
We doubt if the burgesses of the present day would appreciate such a privilege, 
or care to take advantage of it. 

There have been many inquiries regarding the nature of the tax annually 
imposed upon the merchants in Dundee, called Cess on Trade. It is highly 
probable that the annual payment to the King by the burgesses of five pennies 
on each rood of land they owned in the town had been at some period com- 
muted into an agreed upon annual payment of burgage, to be paid by the 
town in all time coming, which, as we have shown above, was generally done. 
If we are right in this, and we believe we are, the money must continue to be 
paid to the Government in all time coming. We think, however, that the tax 
is very unfairly imposed upon those who are liable to pay it, and that a much 
larger sum is collected than is required to be paid to Government. -This ought 
to be looked into and adjusted forthwith. 

The City of London received two charters from William the Conqueror 
about the year 1067, both of which are in the Saxon language, and the Council 
of the City has been a corporate body ruled by its own magistrates since then. 

1. The oldest of the Royal burghs in Scotland were created by David 1. 1124 
to 1153. They are Aberdeen, Dumfries, Edinburgh, Forfar, Haddington, In- 
verkeithing, Jedburgh, Lanark, Linlithgow, Montrose, Peebles, Perth, Kuther- 



282 ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. [PART XIV. 

glen, St Andrews, Stirling, Selkirk 16 in all. 2. William I., 1165-1214, 
created Ayr, Banff, Cullen, Dundee, Elgin, Torres, Inverness, Kintore, and 
Nairn into Royal burghs 9 in all. 3. Alexander II., 1214-1249, Dumbarton 
in 1222 and Dingwall in "12262 in all. 4. Alexander III., 1249-1286, 
Kinghorn. 5. Robert I., 1306-1329, Grail, 1306 ; Irvine, 1308 ; Locbmaben, 
and Whithorn 4 in all. 6. David II., 1329-1371, Bervie, 1362; Cupar- 
Fife, 1363 ; Dunbar 3 in all. 7. Robert III., 1396-1406, North Berwick, 
Renfrew, 1396 ; Rothesay, 14003 in all. 8. James II., 1437-1460, Fortrose, 
1455 ; Kirdcudbright, 14552 in all. 9. James III, 1460-1488, Wigtown, 
1469 ; Kirkwall, 14862 in all. 10. James IV., Lauder, 14941. 11. 
James V., 1513-1542, Annan, Burntisland, 1541 ; Dysart 3 in all. 12. Queen 
Mary, 1542-1567, Inverurie, 15581. 13. James VI., 1567-1625, Anstruther 
Easter, 1583 ; Do. Wester, 1587 ; Tain, 1587 ; Culross, 1588 ; Dunfermline, 
1588 ; Wick, 1589 ; Sanquhar, 1598 ; Arbroatb, 1599 ; Stranraer, 16179 
in all. 14. Charles I., 1625-1649, Dornoch, 1628 ; New Galloway, 1629; 
Pittenweem, 1633 ; Glasgow, 1636 ; Queensferry South, 1636 ; Brechin, 1641 ; 
Kirkcaldy, 1644 ; Inverary, 16488 in all. 15. William III., 1689-1702, 
Cambelton, 17001. 16. Queen Anne, 1702-1714, Kilrenny, 17071. 17. 
William IV., 1830-1837, Airdrie, Cromarty, Falkirk, Greenock, Hamilton, 
Kilmarnock, Leith, Musselburgh, Oban, Paisley, Peterhead, Port-Glasgow, 
Portobello 13 in all, all of which were erected in 1833. 18. Queen Victoria, 
1837- , Galashiels and Hawick 2 in all, both being in 1868. There are 
thus 81 Royal burghs, but of these the 13 created by William IV. and the 2 
by Queen Victoria are Parliamentary burghs rather than Royal burghs. King 
Robert II., Charles II., and the four Georges did not create any Royal burghs. 
The Royal burghs in Forfarshire were created in the order following : 
Forfar and Montrose by David I., who reigned from 27th April, 1124. till 
24th May, 1153 ; Dundee by William the Lion, from 9th December, 1165, till 
4th December, 1214 ; Arbroath by James VI. in 1599 ; and Brechin by 
Charles I. in 1641. 

The families of Roger, Haldane and Playfair, in Forfarshire and the 
eastern district of Perthshire, have long been connected by intermarriage, and 
by a common connection with the Abbey of Coupar. The first notice of the 
family of Roger in Forfarshire is in a notarial instrument, of the 8th July, 
1434, in which Adam Roger and his father, John, give evidence respecting 
lands owned by the Carnegies. In June, 1496, Thomas Roger is designed 



CHAP. LVIL] ANGUS IN PARISHES. BURGHS. 283 

as owner of the half-lands of Redie, in Airlie. The family afterwards got 
the entire estate, and Rev. Charles Rogers, D.D. and LL.D., holds himself the 
representative of the family. At a later period they farmed Redie farm. From 
the Redie family were derived the family of Roger who occupied lands 
belonging to the Abbey of Coupar. William Roger, who died in 1562, farmed 
Coupar Grange the home farm. At the Reformation his son became pro- 
prietor of a .twelfth portion of the lands at Bendochy, which had belonged to 
the Abbey. Members of the family of Roger remained in the district till the 
beginning of the present century. Janet Roger, a descendant of the family, 
married, 1st April, 1709, James Playfair, farmer, Couttie, in the parish of 
Bendochy, to whom she had a large family of sons and daughters. 

" John Roger," a Blake Freir, was, according to John Knox, " godly, learned, 
and ane that fructfully preached Christ Jesus to the comfort of many in Anguss 
and Mearnes, whom that bloody man (Cardinal Beaton) caused murther in the 
ground of the sea-toure of Sanctandross, and then caused to cast him ower 
the Craig, sparsing a fals bruyt (report) that the said Johne seeking to flie 
had broken his ain craig." (Vol. I., p. 119., by David Laing.) John Roger 
suffered in 1544, eleven years prior to the martyrdom of his namesake and 
remote relative, John Rogers, the English proto-martyr, who was burned at 
Smithfield on the 4th February, 1555. He was in all probability a member 
of the Blackfriars Monastery at Dundee. 

Subsequent to the marriage of James Playfair and Janet Roger, there were 
several other marriages between the members of the two families of Roger and 
Playfair, and the genealogical history of the two septs become for a period 
nearly identical. The Playfairs were long well known in the western district 
of Angus. Thomas Playfair became chaplain to King James VI. His family 
intermarried with the Halyburtons of Pitcur. The Rev. Andrew Playfair 
was minister of Aberdalgie. The Rev. James Playfair was ordained minister 
of Liff and Benvie, 2d March, 1743. His son John, after having been Pro* 
fessor of Mathematics in Marischal College, Aberdeen, was, in 1773, ordained 
minister of Liif and Benvie in succession to his father. In 1785 he was 
appointed Professor of Mathematics in the University of Edinburgh. We 
previously mentioned other members of the family. 

The families of Roger and Haldane also intermarried. Rev. James Roger, 
who, on 2d May, 1805, was ordained minister of Dunino parish, in Fife, 
married Jane, daughter of the Rev. William Haldane, minister of Kingoldrum, 
and granddaughter of James Haldane of Bermony ; their only child, Charles 



ANGUS OR FORFABSHIRE. [PART XIT. 

(who has assumed the name of Eogers), is believed to be chief or representa- 
tive of the Forfarshire family of Roger of Redie and Coupar. William, only 
son of James Haldane of Bermony, born in 1762, was ordained minister of 
Glenisla, 7th April, 1795, and translated to Kingoldrum, 20th April, 1803. 
He on 17th May, 1796, married Anne, second daughter of the Rev. Charles 
Roberts ; he died 27th May, 1836, and she died 18th September, 1846. Her 
mother was Anne, elder daughter of Sir John Ogilvy, Bart, of Inverquharity, 
by his first wife, Anne, eldest daughter of James Carnegie of Finhaven, who 
was second son of David Carnegie, Earl of Southesk. James Ogilvy Haldane, 
fourth son of the Rev. William Haldane and Anne Roberts, was on 20th 
October, 1836, ordained minister of Kingoldrum, in succession to his father. 
He married, 23d November, 1871, Helen, daughter of John Gunn of Reisgill, 
in the county of Caithness. 

In the account of the Duncans, Earls of Camperdown, we have presented 
some details of the family of the Haldanes of Airthrie and Gleneagles, and 
need not repeat it. 

Since the lower half of page 201 and the upper half of page 202 were 
printed, we have ascertained that the monastery of Fail is in Tarbolton parish 
in Ayrshire, and not in Forfarshire, as is erroneously stated in Robertson's 
Index of Charters, p. 63-44. " Faillie Kyll" is Fail Church," the kirk 
having been originally built of feal or divots. The monastery was built of 
turf, and would be readily consumed by fire. It was thereafter built of stone, 
but only a small portion of the walls now remain. 

The Church of Fail long remained in the Wallace family, even after the 
Reformation. Sir John Wallace of Riccarton married Margaret, daughter of 
Sir John Lindsay, in the Reign of Robert II., and in that way the estate of 
Craigie in Ayrshire came into the Wallace family. Sir John Lindsay was 
proprietor of Murthill, which he had acquired from Wallace of Riccarton. 

The Rev. Charles Rogers, D.D. and LL.B., is to give an account of the 
Monastery of Fail in his forthcoming book of Wallace. 



CHAP. LVII.] ANGUS IN PAEISHES. CONCLUSION. 285 



CONCLUSION. 

After a lengthened period, extending over nearly a decade, of laborious 
work, I have come to the end of <c Angus or Forfarshire," and am very thank- 
ful that T have been spared to finish it. I have left no means within my 
reach unexplored for the information and details requisite to form a con- 
tinuous account of the various matters respectively in hand, and I have been 
as careful as possible to record them correctly ; but with such a multiplicity 
of subjects, each varying from the others, I cannot expect the text will be free 
from errors of various sorts. I hope my kind Subscribers will overlook my 
shortcomings, and forgive my omissions, errors, and faults. 

Since the work was commenced we have fallen upon bad times. In 
the Landward parts of the county the serious fall in the prices of almost 
all descriptions of farm produce has had, and still has, a most depressing 
effect upon the proprietors of the soil, the farmers who cultivate it, and also 
upon others directly or indirectly dependent upon these classes for their liveli- 
hood. We hope brighter times are near at hand, but we see a very short way 
before us. We are, however, in the best hands, and should leave ourselves 
there. 

During the last half century wonderful progress has been made in the 
county, physically and mentally. Drainage, good roads, suitable steadings, 
and improved modes of cultivation, by a well-educated and very intelligent 
class of farmers, have beautified the face of the country, and larger and far 
superior crops of all kinds are produced. The farm servants have generally 
obtained better accommodation and more comforts than they formerly had, 
and many other improvements have been carried out. The agricultural im- 
plements now in use are of a greatly superior class to those used in the olden 
time, and the cattle on good farms are now as well housed as the hinds were 
at a period not very far back. 

The School Boards, which have supplanted the old parochial school system, 
are doing a great work throughout the country, as they ensure a fairly good 
education to every boy and girl. In a few years this will work a great change 
for the better on the rural population. Its effect on the urban population in 



286 



ANGUS OR FORFARSHIRE. 



[PART XIV. 



our cities and towns will also be most beneficial, not only to the young who 
are being educated, but also to the older members of the community, male and 
female, who will be influenced for good by the improved behaviour and the 
intelligent conversation of the youthful members of their families. We do not 
expect the Millennium in our time, but we do expect that the education the 
young are now obtaining will stimulate them to become worthy members of 
society, and thereby improve their own social position. Others, seeing their 
good deeds, will be stimulated to go and do likewise. In the course of time 
this will make the policeman less necessary than heretofore, and with fewer 
police the taxes would be lessened. 



pi, 1 88Jf 



tit 







. fe . 










^ 



TWI E n E: s c; E: NIT' OF 

J . OL 

FIRST LORD OF THE TREASURY/ 



BLQOD ROYAL OF ENGLAND. 



- ,Sir Ixrnt^ # jte itntrt 







')w<kdj&Jie^^ J 



TTI 



< 8 00. 



**<*&*]* 



i 9 ff i " \ ff 
4w4w/i4^Mnw^ 



1679. 



T 



I- (/ 

Jtr3tfi)tt (Slttbtflffne 



ie*i/ 
tfte 



* * y-^ ^ 







INDEX. 



Abbey of Arbroath, 79. 

Abbeythune house and lands, 118, 146. 

Aberdeen, Bishop of, 148. 

Burgesses of, 148. 
Abernethy, 164. 
Aboyne, Earl of. 52. 

Auchleuchrie Hill, called Castle Hill, 196. 
Adornes, Sir Anselmus de Cortachy, Kt., 216. 
Euphan, daughter of Sir Anselmus, 
216. 
Sallikyn to pay ten merks for a 

horse, 216. 
Airlie, Earl of, 185. 
Aldbar Miscellany, 14. 
Youngs of, 143. 
Almery Croft, 140. 
Almerie Closs, 115, 118. 

Corruption of Almonrie Close, 

119. 

Corsars of, 119. 
Lindsays of, 118, 119. 
Ly ells of, 118. 
Mansion of, 118. 
Philip of, 118. 

Eev. Henry Philip, D.D., of, 
1 18 ; he was trusted by King, 
Church, and people, 118. 
Angus, centre of, the Hill of Gleuquiech, 181. 
Length and breadth of, 181. 
Countess of, 85, 128. 
Earls of, 1, 10, 12, 23, 24. 
Cattle, 116. 

King of the Piccardach, 148. 
William, son of the Earl of, 181. 
Annals of Ulster, 148. 
Arbroath Abbey, Chartulary of, 149. 
Battle of, 49. 
Convent of, 149. 
Charters by William the Lion, 149. 

where they were signed, 149. 
Abbey, Alraory of, and husbandry 

houses, 149. 

Abbot Bernard of, 149, 158, 
Hamiltons of, 149. 
Hospital of, 149. 



Arbuthnotts of Findowrie, 199, 

of lands of Markhouse, 199. 

Margaret of Balnamoon, 203. 

James Carnegie of, and of Fin- 
dowrie, 203. 
Auchinday, now Newbarns, Lyons of, 63. 

George Duke of, 54. 

Wilkies of, 53. 
Auchinreoch estate, Mrs Gibson or Cumming'* 

heirs of, 174. 

Auchleuchrie, now in Inshewan, 186. 
Auchmithie burned end 17th century, 119. 

Coins found in floor of a house in, 
119. 

Earl of Northesk of, 119. 

Value of lands of, 119. 

Village of, 118, 119, 146. 

Ethie House, 119. 

Farm of Windyhills, 119. 

Value of Northesk Estate, 120. 
Auchterhouse, 13, 14. 



B 

Balbirnie and Balmadity exchanged, 163, 164. 

Balcurras, Lindsay of, 50. 

Balcraig, Castle of, 43. 

Baldovie, M 'Gavin of, 9. 

Balrieth, or Balphe, 148, 149. 

Balfour, Katherine, 73. 

of Tarrie, 63. 
Balgavies, Lindsays of, 50. 

Strachansof, 143. 
Balgerscho, lands of, 17. 
Balgillo Hill, Fort on, 21. 

Tannadice, Blairs of, 184, 185. 

and Loups of, James 
M'Laren, 186. 
Easter and Wester, William 

Neish of, 186. 
Balglassie, 75, 146. 
Balhousie, Strachan of, 74. 
Balhungie, lands of, 17. 
Baliol, Edward, John, 158. 

Ingleram de, 149, 
Balluderon, proprietors of, 17, 221, 222, 



288 



INDEX. 



Balmachie, Carnegies of Northesk of, 74, 75. 

Earls of Panmure of, 75. 
Balmadies, 85, 88, 89. 

Henry Stephen of, 89. 
Balmerino, Lord, of Balumbie, &c., 6, 219. 

Second Lord, noble trait in his 

character, 7. 
Ballumbie, 1, 3, 8, 25. 
Parish, I. 

Church ; do. Castle, 3, 7, 8. 
Lands of, 3, 4. 
Den of, 3, 8. 
Mansion, 9. 
The Master of Glamis, Sir Thomas 

Lyon of Aldbar of, 6. 
Mauls of, 7 ; Millers of, 7 ; Eobert 

M 'Gavin of, 7. 
Maxwells of Tealing of, 129. 
Historic tree at, 9. 

Balmaddity, early proprietory history of, 163. 
Balthayock, Blairs of, 16, 53. 
Bankhead, Col. J. Grant Kinloch of, 54. 
Bannatyne, George, 41. 

Manuscript, 41. 
House, 41. 

Bannockburn, Battle of, 70, 158. 
Barnyards, Panbride, 74. 
Tannadice, 186. 
Fortalice of, 186. 
Lyells, Yeamans, and Barclays of, 

186. 
Keeper Hereditary Constable of 

Finhaven Castle, 186. 
Barns of Wedderburn, 25. 
Barons who signed the Letter to the Pope, 160. 
Barons, the Letter to the Pope, 158, 159. 
Battled} kes, a Eoman Camp, 47, 48. 
Be&ton, Archbishop, 140. 
... Cardinal, 50, 105. 

David, of Balfour, HO. 
Beech wood, Trustees of William Garland of, 

146. 
Berkeley, de, 149. 

Walter de, 149. 
Eichard, 57. 

Berwick besieged by the English, 159. 
Bishop Andrew of Candida Casa, 140. 
Elphinstone, 70. 
of Aberdeen, 148. 
of Brechin, 161. 
of Moray, 142, 143. 
of Koss, S. Boniface, 7. 
Blathmig, 148. 

Bleachfield, Panbride, John F. Dickson of, 77. 
Boece of Panbride, 70, 71, 72. 
Boethius, or Boeceis, road made by them, 70. 
Bogie wilk, Watson of, 51. 
Boihan acquired by Earl Patrick, 65. 



Boshan House, erection commenced by Earl 

George, 65. 
Bondington, &c., given by the Countess of 

Angus to Patrick Innerpeffer, 128. 
Bonny ton, lands of, 17. 
Both, Chapel of, 73, 120, 121. 
Boniface, S., erected three Churches north of 

Tay, 210. 

His appearance. 211. 
He settled at Eosemarkie and died 

there, 211. 

Many relics of him there, 211. 
An old bell dedicated to the Saint, 

211. 
Boswell of Balgellie, 63. 

Katerine, 64. 
Bractullo, lands of, 17. 
Brax, John Forbes of, 71. 
... Trustees of the late J. H. Pierson of, 

146 

Brechin, Battle of, 49, 17.6. 
Chapter of, 80. 

Earl of, of Queich Castle, 195. 
Lord of, 61. 

Church, lines on the rafters of, 162. 
Brichty, 3. 

John de la Hay, Lindsays, and Mon- 

tealts of, 9. 
... Arbuthnott and Fotheringhams of, 

10, 17. 

Grant from, to St Mary's Church, 17. 
Templar lands and mill, 18. 
... Moor of Inverarity, 17. 
Brothock, the, 110, 114. 

A brewery and distillery on, 

147. 

Brough, William, of Wester Davidston, 41. 
Broughty Castle bought by the Fothering- 
hams, 17. 

Lands and barony of, 17. 
Brown, Alexander, LL.D., account of him, 155, 

156, 157, 158. 

Bruce, King Eobert ; Marjory married to the 
Stewart of Scotland, 158, 159 ; her 
death, 159. 

and the Pope's messagers, 159. 
Excommunicated, 159. 
Besieged Berwick and took it, 159. 
and adherents again excommunicated. 

159. 
Edward's expedition to Ireland and 

death, 159. 
Buchan, Earl of, 189. 
Battle at Stracathro about 1130, 176. 
Buist, Eev. John, Minister of Tannadice, 206. 
... George, LL.D., a short account of him, 

206, 207, 208, 209, 210. 
Burnside, formerly Dodd, 89, 90, 



INDEX. 



289 



Burnside, Lands and barony of, 89, 90. 

Miss Baxter, Dempster, Jamieson, 
Earl of Strathmore, Robertson of, 91, 92 ; 
Wallace of Craigie, aud Wisharts of, 103. 
Burgbs, 273, 277. 

... Free, 276, 277. 
Burgesses first mentioned, 277. 
... King's, 280, 281. 

to possess a rood of land in town, 278. 
to pay fivepence yearly to tbe King 

for same, 278. 
Cess on Trade, 281. 
Crafts and Craftsmen , 279. 
Doomsday Book, 276. 
Haose Towns, 278. 
London got two charters from tbe 

Conqueror, 281. 

Magistrates chosen in towns, 278. 
Privileges of neighbourhood, 279. 
Regiam Majestatem, 280, 281. 
Representatives first cbosen, 277. 
Royal Burghs in Scotland, and by 

whom erected, 281, 282. 
Royal Burgbs in Forfarsbire, 282. 
Roger, Haldane, and Playfair 
families, 282, 283, 284. 



Caerlaverock Castle, 65. 

Caesar, Rev. J., minister of Panbride, 60. 

Cairn Conan, 114, 121, 122. 

Lyon to pay court at, for lands 

in Glamis, 122. 
Cairncorty, Bishop of Brechin of, 120, 121. 

Maules and Monypenny of, 120, 

121. 

Cairndrum, Leigbton and Soutar of, 165. 
Cairn, Colonel Kinlocb of, 187. 
Cairnie, Arbroatb Abbey of, 120. 

. . . Aikman, Barclay, Ogilvy, Reid, Rennya 

of, 120. 

Campbells of Stracathro, 170, 171, 172. 
Camp or Kemp Castle on Turin, 100, 101. 

... of the Marquis of Montrose, 43. 
Camus Cross, 69, 70. 
Cairn Greg, 121 ; Car = a Fort. 
Caithness, Crichton, Earl of, 106. 
Stewart, Earl of, 105. 
Careston, 146. 
Carlogie House, 74. 

Carnegie, Claud Cathcart of Seaton, 141. 
_ Arms of, 141. 

of Balglassie, 75. 
of Balmachie, 74, 75, 76. 
_ Lady Charlotte Fothringham, 19, 220. 

2o 



Carnegie, Charle, of Finhaven, 51, 52, 53. 
David, of Panbride, 72. 
Hon. James, 51. 

Sir James, recovered the estate, 75. 
Lord, and the Covenanters, 22, 23. 
Sir John, of that Ilk, &c,, 16, 142, 

143, 145. 

of >.'ewbigging on Tay, 142. 
his house plundered, 142. 
was Chamberlain of Ar- 

broath Abbey, 143. 
John, second of Boysack. 17. 
Sir John, of Ethie, 142, 145. 
Robert, of Kinnaird, 63. ' 
Sir Robert, of do., 71. 
Captain John, now Rennie of Tarrie, 

140. 141. 

Carnoustie, village of, 77. 
Carrot, lands of, 17, 18. 

Cap-atb, properties which belong quoad civiiia 
to that parish, but quoad sacra to the 
parishes in which they are respectively 
situated, 232, 233. 
Carse, Rynds of, 54. 

Carsebank and Carsegownie, Gtithrie of, 54. 
Carseburn and Carsegray, Rynds of, 51. 
Carsegray, Gray of, 54, 94, 95, 96. 
Carse, lands of, 93, 54, 95, 96. 
Lyon Patrick of, 94. 
Ruthvens of, 94. 
Mansion old, situation fine, 95. 
Castledykes, a fort in Ruthven, 108. 

Greg or Gregory, on Cairncouon II ill, 

Celtic names, 148. 

Chapelton, Alex. Gibson's Trustees of, 174. 

Chevalier, the, 52, 57. 

Circle, remains of a stone, 124. 

Cliffs, on south-east of St Vigeans lofty, 115, 
116. 

Clod breakers, the privilege of, granted, 199. 

Clocksbriggs, Dickson and Jamieson of, 82, 93, 
100. 

Clunie Castle, 105. 

Convivial meetings of country lairds in Dun- 
dee, 184, 185. 

Collision, Reids, Guthries, and Gordons of, 

124, 125. 

Chaplin, and Peebles of, 125. 
Castle aud Parish Church of, 125, 
126. 

Colms, S., Fair and Callow Market, 190.' 

Coriara or Panmure Den, 66, 67, 69. 

Conon belonged to Dusyth, a Celt, before the 
Abbey was founded, 122. 

Conon and Dumbarrow given to the Abbey by 
Robert I, 122, 123. 

Conon, Lord William, perpetual vicar, 111. 



290 



INDEX, 



Gonon or Konig, &c., suggets tliat there had 
been a royal residence there at some early 
time, 121. 

Conon has been much subdivided, 122, 123. 
Common, monk of, 142 ; Cove Haven, 139, 

142. 

Cossens, Castle of, erected by the Lyons, 193. 
Corbiesdale, Battle of, 13. 
Coul, Little and Meikle j and Easter and 

Wester, 204. 
... Castle of, 193. 

Couston and Davidston, Bruce, Drummond, 
Grays, Knight, Middleton, Scrymgeours, 
and Whittons of, 41, 42. 
Couts, Alexander, minister, Stracathro, 162. 

Members of the family, 162. 
Coutts, Baroness Burdett, 162. 

James of Hallgreen, 220. 
Chanonry and Rosemarkie (Fortrose), 210. 
Christianity, when and how introduced, 233. 
Churches and parishes, 233. 
Crewwell, Auchtertyre, 43. 
Crawford, Countess of, 142. 
Earl of, 49. 

Earl Beardie, Tiger Earl, 49. 
Prodigal Earl, 50. 
of Easter Seaton, 144. 
of Monorgan, 143. 
Henry, Burgess of Dundee, 145. 
Crichton, Lord of Sanquhar, 71, 72. 

of Cluny and Frendraught, 106. 
Sir William of Crichton, Lord 

Chancellor, 106. 
of Ruthveo, 106. 
James of Ruthven, Lord Provost of 

Edinburgh, 106. 
Craighall, Miss Rattray of, 185. 
Craigie, Robert M 'Gavin of, 9. 
Craigs, barony of, 106. 

Crafts, the auld stane of, or Harestane, 124. 
Commissioners sent by Dundee and Montrose 
to Parliament at Perth in 1370, 277. 



Dalhousie, Fox Maule, Earl of, 73. 

John William Ramsay, Earl of, 78. 
David, Laws of Old King, 148. 
Davidston, lands of, 41, 42. 

^ Dundee, Kirk Session of, 42. 

Millars of, 43. 

Wester, 41. 
Demidoff, Anatole, 62. 
Derry, lands of, 106. 
Deuchar Sword, 193. 
Devil's E'en, 127. 
Derlington, John, parson of Dunlappie, 163 



Dick of Pitkerro's gift to Oathlaw, 46. 
Dickmontlaw, 114, 126, 142, 143, 145. 

Guthrie, Lyons, and Youngs of 

shadow half, 126. 
Annands and Youngs of sunny 

half, 126, 127. 
Legend of the Piper of, 127. 
Dickson, Dr Robert, Carnoustie. 

Sketch in Panmure Vault by, 63, 78. 
John F., Panmure Bleach works, &c., 

77. 

Dighty, the, 25. 

Dominical Lands now called Mains, 117. 
Douglas, George, Bishop of Moray, 143. 

Sir Robert, of Glenbervie, Bart., 52. 
Douglas Estate, Tealing, Earl of Home of, 222. 
Drust, 148. 

Duke, George, of Newbarns, 54. 
Downie Park and Kinalty, 159. 

Lieut. -Col. William 
Rattray of, 18'J. 
Do. was buried 
there, but after- 
wards removed 
to the Howff in 
Dundee, 190. 
Downie Park, now Earl of Airlie of, 190. 
Drumgeith, Robert M 'Gavin of, 9. 
Drummonds of Couston and Davidston, 42. 
Dudhope, Viscounts of, 41, 42. 
Drumtochty, Col. John H. H. Gammellof, 205. 
Dovecot, Easter Powrie, 25. 
Dischland, Aikman, Carnegie, Easson, &c,, of, 

138. 

Duncan, fifth Earl of Fife, 164. ^ 
Dundee, Earl Crawford's vault in, 49. 
... Burgesses of, 148. 

Great customs of, 51. 
Presbytery of, 231, 232. 
Dunlappie, Earl of Fife of, 164. 

Sir Alexander Abernethy of, 164. 

Norman de Lesly of, 164. 

and Lour, charter from Robert III. 

to Lesly, 164. 
Carnegies, Falconers, Hepburns, and 

Livingstones of, 164, 165. 
Lines on Lord Lour and his wife, 

167. 

Assumed as a surname, 166. 
Probably a castle on, 166. 
A suppressed parish, 161. 
Church in a romantic place, 162. 
Duntrune, 8, 25, 33. 

Old, his last days, 4. 
Dunnypace, Livingstons of, 172. 
Duplin, Battle of, 48, 71. 

Viscount of, Chancellor of Scotland, 
196, 



INDEX. 



291 



Durham, Alexander, 74. 

of Powrie Easter, 24. 



E 



Earl of Strathearn, 148. 

Earls Ruthven, 104, 106. 

Easter Ogil, Lyons and Simpsons of, 193. 

Forests of, 193 ; mansion of, 193. 
Ecclesiastics prohibited from sending money to 

the Pope, 159. 
Edward, Alexander, 3, 4. 

Rev. .Robert, 3, 4. 
Edzell Castle, 49. 

Elm bank, Andrew Lowson of, 147. 
Elphinstone, Bishop, 70. 
England invaded by the Scots, 159. 
English defeated with great slaughter, 159. 
English besieged Berwick, 159. 

King and the Count of Flanders on 

closing Flanders against the Scots, 

159. 

... the, 64, 65. 
Englishmen, 65. 

Erskine of Gogar created Earl of Kelly, 23. 
Ethiebeaton, Fothringhams of, 16, 17. 



Fale, or FaillieKyll, the Monastery of, burned, 

with the writs in it, 201, 202. 
Fassington (? Dishington) of Balmedy, 85. 
Fentons of Glenogil, 190, 191, 192. 

Abode from the raids of Leith and 

Lauder, 191. 

Accused of the mutilation and slaugh- 
ter of Thomas and William Currour, 
191. 
John slain by Lindsay of Barnyards, 

191. 

and neighbouring lairds, 191, 192. 
They disappear early in 1 7th century, 

192. 

Arms of the Fentons, 192. 
Probably succeeded by the Lyons in 

Ogil, 192. 

Fife, Earl of, 64, 164. 
Findowrie, Arbuthnotts of, 199. 
Finhaven Hill, vitrified fort on, 47. 
Castle of, 49. 

Barony and lands of, 51, 52. 
Earl of Aboyne of, 52. 
James Ford of, 52. 
... Famous chestnut tree at, 55. 

Mansion house of, 53. 

Finlarig, Nether, Trustees of Wm. Kerr of, 
222. 



Fishings of Dundervigheide, east of Bruchty 

Castle, 6. 

Fithie, the, 2, 7, 25. 
Flax spinning mill at Murthill, 203. 
Fleming, Earl of Wigtown, 61. 
Fletcher, Alexander and James, signed the 

Merchants' Letter, 130. 
Robert, Dean of Guild of Dundee, 130. 
James, Provost of Dundee, 130. 
of Inverpeffer, 28, 130. 
James of Muirdrum, 76. 
Flodden, 63. 

Forfar and Montrose agreement, 93. 
Forfar, curious blench duties out of a croft 
near Forfar by John de Grabat to Eus- 
tace Maxwell, Lord of Tealing, 216. 
Ford, James, of Finhaven, 52 ; his search for 

coal and its effects, 52. 
Fothringham arms, 2 ; do. Thomas, 2, 16. 
Origin of the, 15. 
Thomas, acquired Wester Powrie, 

13, 14, 15, 16. 
M. . Squire and Councillor of 

the Duke of Montrose, 15. 
David, 16. 
and Sir Thomas Stewart of Grand- 

tully, 16. 

Thomas, married Ann, daughter 
of Sir Patrick Ogilvy, seventh 
baron of the Boyne, 17. 
John, charge against him, 15. 
Account of, 14, 15. 
Thomas, and the widowed Duchess 

of Montrose, 15. 
Lands never entailed, 15. 
They were Jacobites, 19. 
Some of their exploits, 19, 20. 
Vault, 2. 

of Powrie married Miss Scrym- 
seour of Tealing, and united 
Fothringham, Powrie, and 
Tealing estates, 19. 
Walter -Thomas- James- Scry mseour 
is the present proprietor of 
these estates, 19. 

Fraser, Patrick Allan, of Hospitalneld, 151, 152. 
Arms of, 152. 

Royal descent of Mrs Fraser, 152, 153. 
* His estates in Scotland and England, 

153, 154. 
Fullertons of that Ilk, 51. 

Navel Green and Windy Edge, in 
the barony of Finhaven, 51. 

G 

Gaelic perambulators, 148. 
Gagie, 3, 4, 10, 11. 



292 



INDEX. 



Gagie, Guthries and Lindsays of, 10, 11. 
... Olivers and Sibbalds of, 10, 12. 
Lundiesof, 10, 11. 

Finlayson, Provost of Dnudee, of, 11. 
Group of Irish yews at, 11. 
Louping-on-Stane at, 11. 
Mansion house of, 11. 
Primitive equestrianism, 11, 12. 
Gammell, Col. John H. H., ofDrumtochty, 205. 
Gardyne, James Carnegie, W.S., 53. 

David Greenhill, of Glenforsa, 53. 
Charles Greenhill, of Finha'ven, 53. 
David Greenhill, of Finhaven and 

Noranside, 53. 
of Lawton, 29, 32. 
Thomas, of Middleton, 52, 53. 
Gayst Meadow, 140. 
Geary or Gaylet Pot, 116. 
Gibb, Elizabeth, wife of Sir Peter Young, 144. 
Gibson, Agnes, 2. 

Sir Alexander, Lord Durie, 2. 
of Durie, Sir John Lord Durie, 16. 
Sir Alexander deprived of his offices by 
Cromwell, 16. 
Gilbert, third son of Gilebride, his gift from 

William the Lion, 12. 
Gilebride, second Earl of Angus, 12. 
Giffords, Lords of Tealing, 211. 

William, son of Hugh, curious pro- 
visions, 211, 212. 
Girdle Stane, 101. 
Glamis Castle, 66. 
Glas Meall Mountain, 114. 
Glasclune, battle of, 13. 
Glass, Rev. John, 223. 
... of his family, 223, 224, 227, 228. 
... of his son, Captain, 224, 225, 226. 
Glenogil, Lyons of, 194. 

Highland, Haigs of, 194. 

John D. L. Stewart of, 194. 
Glenquiech, 189. 

Anderson, Grants, and Lindsaysof, 

189. 

Fullertons and Maclagans of, 189. 
Earl of Braedalbane and Dr Mac- 
lagan, M.D., 189. 
Now John Alexander Sinclair Mac- 
lagan of, 189. 

Hill of, the centre of Angus, 189. 
Graham, Sir Robert, of Fintry, 5. 
Graham, William, of Claverhouse, 143. 
Grant, Col. John, of Logie, of Bankhead, 54. 
Gray, Gilbert, of Couston and Davidston,"4l. 
... Patrick, Lord, prosecutedfor stouthreef, 6' 

Denounced rebel for aiding the 

Lovels, 6. 

Son of Lord Gray, 152. 

Greenhills of Fern, 53. 



Greg or Gregory Castle, 121. 

Gregory slain and buried at Linlathen, 121. 

Gustavus Adolphus, 143. 

Guthrie of Gagie, 10. 

Lieut. Col. David, 74. 

Rev. R. R. Lingard, 3. 

Robert, of Kinblethmont. 



H 



Haldanes of Easter Keillor, 43. 
Hallgreen, Coutts of, 220. 
Halyburtons of Pitcur, 42. 

of Keillor Wester, 43. 
Hon. Douglas Gordon, of Fin- 
haven, M.P., 52. 
Happas, lands of, 17, 18. 
Happy Hillock, lands of, 18. 
Havens, East and West, 77. 

Fishermen of, 77. 
Hay, John de la, of Brichty, and Lord of 

Tillybothwell, 9. 

Hamiltons possessed Arbroath Abbey, 117. 
Enumeration of their lands, 117. 
Heckenbois Path, 71. 
Hospitalfield, 149, 150. 

Estate of, 114. 

Marian Ogilvy of, 149. 

William Gray of Invereighty of, 

149, 150. 
... Do. and Marquis of Hamilton of, 

150. 
. ... Ochterlonys of, 150. 

Fraser, Rev. James, and his 

family, of, 150. 

Patrick Allan Fraser of, 151, 152. 
Royal descent of Mrs Fraser, 152, 

153. 

Arms of Patrick Allan Fraser, 152. 
Mansion and policies of, 150, .151. 
Other estates belonging to Mr 

Fraser, 153, 154. 
Mortuary chapel erected by.jM 

Fraser, 154. 
Houp of Seaton, 145. 
Huntly, Earl of, 71. 

Marquis of, 52. 



Imlach, Rev. Alexander, 5. 
Inglistoo, in Essay and Nevay, 109. 

Do. in Kinnettles, 51 
Innerlunan, 9. 
Innerpeffer, lands of, 128. 



INDEX. 



293 



Inverpeffer, gifted by William the Lion to his 

brewer, 128. 
of that Ilk and the Abbot and 

their lands, 128. 
Inquest held, and jurors' names, 

128. 

and Edward I., 128. 
Patrick, was a burgess of Dundee, 

129. 
John, of Drumgethe, Gotterston, 

&c., 129. 

... Patrick had charter as a burgess of 

Dundee, in J370, of part of the 
High Street of Dundee, 52 feet 
in length by 14 feet in breadth, 
129. 
Hays, Earls of Erroll, and Lesly 

of, 129. 
Lords Balmerino, and Lord Coupar 

of, 129, 130. 
Maxwells of Tealing, and Fletchers 

of, 129, 130. 

Henry Maule, and Earl of Pan- 
mure of, 130, 131. 
Inshevvan, Ogilvys of, 196. 

Account of the family of, 196, 197, 

198. 

Old castle and mansion of, 198. 
Arms of Ogilvy of Inshewan, 199. 
Inverqueich Castle, 105. 
Inverarity, with mill, &c., 17, 32. 
Invergowrie, 211. 
Inverkeilor, 149. 
Isla, the, 105, 108. 
Islabank. or Ruthven House, 107. 



Jaffray, Grlzzel, 9. 

Jamieson, James Auld jo, W.S., 91. 

Rev. John, D.D., Forfar, who wrote 
the old Statistical Account of 
Forfar, 205. 



K 



Keillor, Easter, Barclay of Keppo of, 43. 

Earl of Strath more of, 43. 
Haldanes of, 43. 

Walter Ogilvy of, 43. 

Easter and Wester, Halyburtons of, 

43. 

Keith, Marischall, 85. 
Kelly, 86. 



Kildrummy Castle, 65. 
Kenny and Kingoldrum, 86. 
Kinaldie, lands of Purdie of, 132. 

Sir John Carnegie of Ethic of, 132. 
Earl of Northesk of, 132. 
Rennalds of, 132. 
Kinalty, Tannadice, 189. 
Kingennie, Wedderburns of, 16. 
Kincaldrum, David Guthrie, Sheriff-Depute of 

Forfar of, 35, 142. 
Kinblethmont, 145, 148. 
Kinghorne, Earl of, of Haugh, 196. 
King's Well, 43. 
Kinloch, James, of Kilry, 16. 
David, 16. 
Elizabeth, 73. 
of Kilry, 106. 
Kinnoul, Earl of, 50. 
Kinpurnie, 35. 

Observatory on, 38. 
Kintore, Earl of, 165. 

a land law reformer, 165. 
Kippen Davy, 105. 
Kirkton of Inverarity, 18. 
Kirriemuir and the Fothringhams of Powrie, 17. 
Knight Templars, 43. 

Knox, Andrew and James of Markhouse, 200. 
... David, 200. 

... Sir Alexander, H. F, I. C. S. , &c. , 200. 
... Andrew of Keithock, 200. 

KINGS. 

King Alexander II., 105, 122, 164, 177. 
... Alexander III., 39, 93, 177, 201. 
... Charles I., 24. 
... Charles II., 22, 24, 106. 
... David I., 25, 177. 
... David II., 35, 39. 48, 59, 64, 70, 71, 74, 

85, 93, 104, 121, 128, 182, 187, 201, 

202. 

... Donald Bain, 101. 
... Edward I., 26, 70, 105, 108, 128, 153, 

163, 177. 

... Henry VII., 152. 
... Henry VIII. , 26. 
... James II., 26, 49, 210. 
... James III., 49. 
... James VI. , 23, 27, 28. 
... James VIH (The Pretender), 29. 
... John Baliol, 176, 177. 
... Macbeth, 43, 164. 
... Malcolm III. (Canmore), 90, 163. 
... Malcolm IV. (The Maiden), 90, 164, 177. 
... Robert I., 35, 48, 70, 99, 100, 108, 177, 

184, 187. 
... Robert II., 48, 49, 77, 129, 183, 184, 187, 

188,202. 



294 



INDEX. 



King Robert III., 26, 43, 85, 104, 105, 129, 164. 

184. 

... William the Lion, 12, 23, 56, 66, 70, 79, 
122, 128, 149, 164, 177, 215, 217. 



Labothy, lands of, 17, 18. 

Leckoway, lands of, 51. 

Ledhouse, burgess of Dundee in 1427, 216. 

Leitfie, Ogilvy of, 185. 

Lennox, Esme, Earl of, 142. 

Letham, lands of, Hugo Heem of, 132. 

Woods of Bonnyton of, 132, 133. 
Miss Stephen and Strachan of Tarrie 

of, 133. 
Letham Grange, John Hay of, 134. 

John Hay Miln of, 135. 
.*. James Fletcher of Fern of, 

135. 

Life-renters on Panmure Estate, 77. 
Lindsays of Balcarras, 50. 

Johannes de Thuriston, miles, 201. 
John of Thor, 202. 

His charters burned 
and renewed, 202. 

Discrepancies in dates of the transac- 
tions, 207. 

Walter, of Panbride, 71. 
Sir Alexander, of Brichty and Glen- 

esk, 9. 

Live and Let Live Testimonial, 69. 
Livingstone, Margaret, 75. 
Loch of Rescobie, 81. 
Lochnagar, 114. 
Loch of Lochland, and lands, Pearsons of, 135, 

136. 

Lomond Hills, 115. 
Louden, Earl of, 60. 

Louping ague, akin to St Vetus's dance, 206. 
Lour, Leslie of, 164. 
Lovels of Ballumbie, their origin. 5. 
... Sir Hugh, Knight, 5. 
... James, fell at Harlaw, 5. 
... John, ffear of Ballumbie, 5. 
... Richard, a witness, 5. 
... Alexander, married Catherine Douglas, 

5, 6. 

Catherine's heroic loyalty, 5. 
., Janet, married to Sir Robert Graham 

of Fintry. 

Lovel and Graham arms borne by their des- 
cendants, 5. 

... Henry, son of Alexander, knighted, 6. 
... Henry denounced rebel and put in ward, 

and delivered to the Treasurer, 6. 
.. Fishings taken by Lord Gray, 6. 



Lovel, Sybella and Mariota served heirs to 
lands and fishings of West Ferry, &c., 
61. 

... James, Dean of Guild of Dundee, 6. 
Lunan Bay, 116. 
Lnndie, Stracathro, lands of, George Shepherd, 

proprietor, 165. 
Lundin of Ruthven, 104, 
Lyells of Murthill, 202. 
Lyon, Sir John, knight, Chamberlain to the 

King, 9, 188. 
Lyon of Brigton, 52. 
... Hon. Thomas of Auchindinay, 53. 
... of Ogil, 193. 

... They carried off the Deuchar Sword, 193. 
... Rev. Mr, Minister of Tannadice, and 

Laird of Ogil, 195. 
... His son's quaint saying (vol. iii., p. 366.) 



M 



Macbeth, 43. 

Maiden Castle, 139. 

M 'Gavin, Robert, of Ballumbie, 7, 9. 

William, of do., 9. 
... Account of the family, 9. 

Arms of, 9. 
(Marcus, the Castle in the Forest), 199. 

... Swinburns of, 200. 
Markhouse, Castle of, 200. 
_ Knox of, 200. 

Captain Skene of, 203. 

The "DeiTs How," a weird spot, 

200. 

MM Kelpie played cantrips there, 200. 
MM Prehistoric remains found there. 

200. 

Macpherson of Powrie Easter, 24. 
Maule, James, of Ballumbie, 7. 

. Hon. Harry, of Kelly, 7, 57, 73. 

William, of Ballumbie, 7. 

Deposed minister of Monikie, 57. 
... Hon. William Ramsay, 59. 

William, Earl of Panmure, 73, 75. 
._ of Boath, 63, 66. 
... Commissary, 61, 64, 66, 69. 
... Col. the Hon. Lauderdale, 62, 64. 

Monument to his 
memory, 62. 

... Hon. William, of Maulesden, 62, 72. 
... Thomas, 73, 74. 

Jean, 73. 

... David, of Boath and Auchrenny, 73. 
... Right Hon. Fox, Earl of Dalhousie, 60, 73. 

Account of, 62, 63. 
Sir William, of Panmure, 86. 
Mould, William, of Panmure, 121. 



INDEX 



295 



Mackenzie, George, of Rosehaugh, 42. 
Mar, Earl of, 104. 
March, Earl of, 64. 
Meaden, Thomas, of Panbride, 71. 
Meathie, Wester, 142. 
Memus, Easter and Wester, 198. 
Lands of, 188. 

Easter, now part of Inshewan, 198. 
Wester now conjoined with Glen- 

queich, 198. 
Earl of Buchan of, 189. 
Countess of do., 199. 
Reginald de Irwyn, Lord de Memus, 

188. 

Lyons of, 188. 
Ogilvys of, 188. 
Livingston of, 188. 
Guthriesof, 188, 199. 
... Rolloxof, 188, 199. 
Methven, battle of, 70. 
Middleton, John, of Kirkhill, 41. 
Col. John, M.P., 144. 

Mirk Munanday at Grange of Conon, 155, 156. 
Monipennie, 8. 
Montfort, Sir Henry, 65. 
Montealts of Fern and Brichty, 9. 
Montrose, Duchess of, 15. 

Duke of, 6, 49, 50. 

Marquis of, 13, 43. 

Monypenny of Skryne and Balhousie, 74. 

John, of Cairn corthie, 121. 
Moorlecere, Murletter, Murthill, 201. 
Moray, Bishop of, 142, 143. 
Mudie of Arbikie, and Lady Magdalene Car- 
negie story regarding them, 167. 
Muirdrum, Mwrdrome, 65, 76. 
Murray, Andrew, the Governor, 64. 

Sir Robert, of Abercairnie, 16. 
Murroes Church, 1, 3, 4, 16 ; do. parish, 1, 2 ; 
... do. Burn, 1, 11, 22; do. House, 2, 21, 
22 ; no school or schoolhouse at, 4. 
Lands, charter of by Earl Crawford 
to Richard Lovell and Catherine, 
his wife, 5, 12. 

Money made by farming in, 5. 
Earls of Angus and Crawford of, 12. 
Fothringhams of Powrie of, 12. 
Guthries of, 12. 
Murthill, Lyells, Ramsays, and Ogilvys of, 

202, 203. 

Flax spinning mill at, 203. 
Now included in the estate of Coul, 



N 

Nairns of Dunsinnan, 188. 
Sir William, 203. 



Newtyle, parish and churches, 33, 34. 

Superintendent of Angus, money, 

&c., 33, 34. 
Hugh Watson, farmer and cattle 

breeder, 34. 
... Chapel on Hill of Keiller, 34. 

Sepulchral remains and sculptured 

stones, 34. 
... Village of and hills in, 34. 

Lands of, given by Robert I. to Sir 
Wm. Oliphant, and tenure of 
same. 35, 36. 

... Lord Oliphant, Earl of Crawford, 36. 
Sheriff Guthrie gave land to William 

Hakate, 35, 36. 
Ballenden and Haly burtons owned 

lands in, 36. 
Lindsays and Sir George Mackenzie 

owned lands in, 37. 
Hatton Castle garrisoned for Coven- 
anters, 38. 
... Abbot of Lindores owned lands in 

parish, 39. 
... Wm. Gray, Sheriff Clerk, acquired 

them, 40. 
Earl of Wharncliffe now owns the 

lands, 40. 

Rent of lands end of last century, 

and agricultural details then, 44. 

Early railway communication to, 44. 

Village neatly laid out on feus granted 

by Lord Wharneliffe, 45. 
Valuation Roll of parish in 1683, and 
names of proprietors and rentals 
1683 and 1822, 45. 
Newtibber, Brough, Viscount Dudhope, and 

Oliphants of, 41, 42. 
Newbigging on Tay, 142. 
New Grange, Dempsters, Hay, and Moir of, 

133, 134. 
Newton, Stracathro. Livingstons of, 172. 

Lord Newton took his judicial title 

from it, 173. 

Newton Mill acquired by a son of Sir William 
Ogilvy of Barras from the Ochterlonies ; 
Francis Aberdeiu of Keithock now owns 
Newton estate, 173. 
Neish, William, of Tannadice, 185. 

... Notice of the family, 186. 
Northesk, Earl of, 50, 51. 



OATHLAW PARISH, 45. 

Oathlaw, long known as Finhaven, 45. 

Church dedicated to the Niiie Maidens, 
45. 



296 



INDEX. 



Oathlaw Church Rebuilt by first Earl of Craw- 
ford, 45. 
Bestowed on Cathedral of 

Brechin, 45. 
of Finhaven, stood near the 

castle, 45. 
Lands level and clayey, and often 

inundated, 46. 
Valuation roll of 1683; lairds and 

rental of, 54, 55. 

Curious proceedings in Session Re- 
cords, 55. 
Agricultural statistics, wages, &c., 

55, 56. 

Names of farms 1740-60, 56. 
Lord Spynie, proprietor of parish, 

1684, 56. 

Ogil,- lands of, 193, 19-1, 195. 
... Lyons of, at an early period, 190. 
... Fentons of, at an early period, 190$ 191, 

192. 

Do. Arms, 192. 

... Easter and Wester, Lyons of, 193. 
... Wester, old castle of, 195. 
... Milton of Drummichie, Lyons of, 195. 
... Glenogil, two estates so called, 190. 
Ogle, Glen, Hugh Lyon, descended from David 

of Cossins of, 192. 
Ogil lands are in the Braes of Angus, 192. 

Watered by the Crystal Noran, 192. 

Observatory on Kinpurnie, 38. 
Ochterlonys, 85, 86, 87, 88. 

William, of Seton, 74. 

Sir William, 86. 

Lands of, formerly Balmadies, 88. 

Major-General Sir David, G.C.B., 

Bart., 88, 89. 
Sir Charles Metcalfe Ochterlony, 

Bart., 88. 

Account of the family, 88, 89. 
Arms of, and mansion of, 89. 
of that ilk, and of Pitforthie, 89. 
of Guynd and Wester Seaton, 145. 
Ochtertyre, lands of, 34, 35. 
Oliphant, Sir William, Kt. of Aberdalgie,34,35. 

Lord, 36, 42. 

Ovenstone, lands of, 17, 18. 
Ogilvy, Alexander, obtained lands of Ogilvy 
and others from William 
the Lion, 23. 

Ancestor of th e Ogil vy s, 23. 
Ogilyys retained Easter Powrie for centuries, 23. 
Sir Walter, married the heiress of 
Auchterhouse, and succeeded as 
Sheriff of Forfar, 9, 13. 
Sir Alexander, succeeded as Sheriff. 
He was slain at the battle of Glas- 
clune, 1392, 13, 



Ogilvy, Gilbert of do., the last of Easter 

Powrie, 23. 
Ann, his daughter, was married to 

Erskine of Gogar. He was created 

Earl of Kellie by James VI., 23. 
John succeeded Gilbert, his father, 23. 
Gilbert succeeded John, his father, 24. 
Gilbert probably sold Powrie Easter 

to the Durhams, 24. 
Took their surname from the Glen of 

Ogilvy, gifted by William the Lion 

to Gilbert, son of Gilebride, Earl 

of Angus, 12, 23. 
Gilbert, of Ogilvy and Easter Powrie, 

12. 
Granted Wester Powrie to Malcolm 

de Powrie, 13. 
Last Ogilvy of, was Thomas of Powrie- 

Ogilvy, 13. 
... Sir Walter, of Lintrathen, 13. 

Sir Patrick, Justiciar north of the 

Forth, 14. 
... John de, of Ogilvy, 14. 

Sir John, sixth of Inverquharity, 16. 
The first of the name recorded whom 

we have found is Alexander Ogilvy, 

in 3267, 24. 
Col. Thomas Wedderburn, of Coul and 

Ruthven, 188. 
... Walter, of Easter Keillor, 43. 



Panmure, Patrick, 1st Earl, 7, 60, 73. 
George, 2d Earl, 7, 65, 73. 

3rd Earl, 7, 60, 73. 

James, 4th Earl, at Sheriffmuir. 

Taken prisoner, rescued, and 

escaped, 57. 
Tradition of him, 57. 
Countess, Margaret Hamilton, 57. 
Parting of the Earl and Countess, 58. 
House, 57 ; Margaret's Mount at, 58. 
Countess, visited the Earl in France, 

58. 
and Mr Maule robbed by 

highwaymen, 58. 
Lived in Panmure House, 
58. 

and her maidens span 
diligently, 58. 
Bought Redcastle with their 
gains, 58. 

Survived the Earl and 
figured in Edinburgh, 58. 
Jane Campbell's gift to 
Panbride, 60. 



INDEX. 



297 



Panmure, Burial vault, and bodies in it, 61, 62. 

Details of two slabs in vault, 63. 

Castle of, 64, 65, 66. 

Den of, 65. 

Chapel at, 65. 

Battle at, 65. 

House, building of, 67. 

Derivation of Panmure, 66. 

Greatly improved by Right Hon. 
Fox Maule, Earl of Dalhousie, 67. 

The House, a large and handsome 
mansion, surrounding grounds 
splendid, gardens extensive and 
beautiful, and den romantic, 68, 
69. 

Old gate at, closed since 1715, 68. 

Fluted column north of House, 
erected by Earl James to com- 
memorate his marriage with 
Countess Margaret, 69. 

Barony of, 70. 

Earl of Inverpeffer, 131. 
... of South Tarrie, 140. 

PANBRIDE PARISH, 56. 

Panbride, Church granted to Arbroath Abbey, 

56, 78, 79. 
Grant confirmed by Ade and John 

de Morham, 56. 
Church dedicated to S. Bride or 

Bridget, 56. 

Owned by the Valoniis, 56. 
Boundaries of, and acreage in the 

parish, 56. 

Castle of, 65 ; William, Vicar of, 57. 
Ancient name of, 58. 
Chapels at Bothe and Carncorthie, 59. 
Monument in the graveyard to the 

Trails, 59. 

Church, description of, 59, 60. 
Church bell ; and handbell in the 

manse, 60. 
Two silver communion cups gifted to 

the Church by Countess Jane 

Campbell, 60. 
The Jougs are fixed in wall of the 

Panmure vault, 61. 
Barony of, 70 ; Kirkton of, 73. 
Valuation of, 72. 
Ramsay of, 71. 
Morhams, and Sir Alexander Fraser 

of, 70. 

Boece or Boethius of, 70, 71, 72. 
Alexander de Seaton, Earl of Huntly 

of, 71. 

Ramsays and Lindsays of, 71. 
Sir Robert Carnegie of Kinnaird of, 

71 ' 2. 



Panbride, Thomas Meaden of, 71. 

Robert. Lord Crichton of Sanquhar 

of, 72. 
James, Earl of Southesk of, and 

other lands, 72, 73. 
Valuation Roll for 1683, 72. 
Parkhill, Duncans of, 137. 

Warden of, Preface. 

Peebles, now part of Letbam Grange, 134. 
Peirsons of Balmadies, Guynd, &c., 86, 87, S3. 
A friendly inscription by, 87. 
Perambulation of marches, 101 ; curious de- 
tails, 148, 149. 
Piccardach, 148. 
Pitkerro, 25 ; Pitnappie, 42. 
Pitpointie estate, Peter Bell of, 222. 
Pitscandly House, 98 ; do. Druidical temple at 
93 ; do. stones, and battle between Picts 
and Scots, 98 ; do. Hill of, 84, 101 ; 
"Rob's Reed" on, 101; do. Lindsays of, 
96 ; Farquhars of, 96 ; do. account of the 
family, 96, 97, 98. 

Plater or Platane Forest and foresters, c., 48. 
Gifted byTh<J Bruce to his natural 

son, Sir Robert, 48. 
... Polayn, Hew and William, Earl of 

Ross of, 48. 
Anandia, Sir David of, 48 ; Lindsay, 

Sir Alexander of, 48. 
... , Lindsay, John, of Haughsof, 59. 

Scots army wintered in the Forest, 65. 
Hay grown in meadows of, 201. 
Pope's Bull, 65. 
Powrie Easter, 3, 12. 
Powrie, Castle of, 20, 21, 24, 25. 

Durhams and M'Phersons of, 24. 
Wedderburns of, 24 ; dovecot at, 25. 
... Wester, 3, 13 ; Malcolm de, and 

Ogilvys of, 13. 

Castle destroyed by the English, 2 1 . 
Powrie, James, of Reswallie, 98. 
Princess Elizabeth, 49 ; Pretender, the, 52. 
Pomfret, Earl of, 107 ; Porpoise, the, 117. 
Pulgawy in Gowrie, 216. 
Punderlaw, Carnegiesof Seaton and Balmachie 
of, 137, 138. 



Queich, Inverqueich, old castle of, 105. 
Queich, lands of, formerly Auchnagray, 183. 
Queich, Glen Queich, Hill of, the centre of 
Angus, 183. 



Ramsays of Auchterhouse, 202. 
George, Lord, 73. 



298 



INDEX. 



Ramsays in Barry, 231. 

Sir Gilbert, of Bamff, 16. 

John William, Earl of Dalhousie, 78. 

Malcolm, of Auchterhouse and Coul, 
187. 

of Murie, 28. 

Parson of Tealing, 231. 

of Panbride, 71, 73, 231. 
Rannie, Menie, and Mungo, 220. 
Raising rents said to have raised the status of 

the farmers, 115. 
Ravensby, Guthries of, 10. 
Redhead, the, 115. 
Regent Albany, 86. 
Registrum de Pan mure, 69, 72. 

RESCOBIE PARISH, 80. 

Church and chapel of, 80. 
Church bell, and Loch of, 81. 
Old names of the parish, 81. 
Batchelor ministers comfortless, 83, 

84, 
Castle of, 101 ; do. weems found 

in, 100. 
The minister on the migration of 

swallows, 184. 
Larger glebes required, 83. 
and Resteneth, agreement between, 

81. 

Parishioners lauded, 83. 
Seceders, bad account of them, 83. 
*. Monument to Rev. "William Rogers, 
minister there, and Agnes Lyon, 
his wife, 103. 

Valuation Roll, &c., 1683, 102, 103. 
Reswallie, 98. 

Belonged to the Priory of Resteneth, 

98. 

Sir Richard Preston, Lord of Ding- 
wall of, 98. 

Hunters of, Doigs of, 99. 

Powries of, 82, 99. 

^ The present proprietor is James 

Powrie, a well-known geologist, 

99. 

Mansion and grounds of, 99. 

Rickards of Woodlands, 146. 

Rind or Rynd, Murthaco or Murdoch, hac 

Cairn and Cass fromDavid II., 93. 

^ Redendo payable yearly to the 

Crown, 93. 
Proprietors of land bound to plow 

it, 93. 
Charter dated in Dundee, 31st July 

1366, 93. 

Road from Dundee to Arbroath made, 70, 71. 
Rollos of Balloch, 105. 
Rosemarkie church erected by S. Boniface, 210 



PARISH, 104 ; lands of, 104. 
Churches, old and new, 104. 

Bell, and vicars of, 104. 

Earl of Mar, and Lindsays of, 104. 

Divided into two parts by the Isla, 
104. 

Eastern section was called Earl 
Crawford's, 104 ; western section 
was called Earl Rtithvens, 104 
they being the respective pro- 
prietors. 

A royal hunting seat, 105. 

Gallows hill of, 105 ; Laws in, 109. 

Prehistoric remains in, 109. 

Symaloag's Fair held near church 
of, 107. 

Vein of fuller's earth in, 109. 

Flax spinning mill in, 108. 

Farming in the olden time, 109, 110. 

Black fishing, spearing fish in the 
Isla, 108. 

Coral pool in the Isla, 108. 

Cattle sent to the Highlands in 
winter, 109, 110. 

Crichtons of, 106. 

Ogilvysof, 107. 

Wedderburns of, 107. 

Saddle Hillock in, 109. 

Rental of, at various dates, 110. 
Ruthveus, Davy, 105, 106. 



Saint Boniface, 210. 

Fechin of Fobhar, 110. 
Maluack, 104, 107. 
Rule, or Regulus, 161. 
Ternan, Bishop, 179. 
Trodlin, 81. 
. Vigianus, 124. 

ST VIGEANS PARISH, 110. 

St Vigeans Early ecclesiastical district larger 

than the present parish, 110. 
Church built on a mound west of 

theBrothock, 110. 
Many sculptured stone crosses at, 

110. 
District probably a seat of 

Columba's missionaries in early 

times, 110. 
Church dedicated to St Fechin of 

Fobhar, an Irish saint, 1 10. 
He is popularly thought to have 

lived at Grange of Conan, 110. 
A chapel stood there, 110. 
The clergyman ha4 the vicarage- 



INDEX. 



299 



tithes for his salary, and bore 
the title of "Sir," or "Master," 
111. 

... The Devil in shape of a rat, 111. 
... A curious tradition of the church, 

111 ; The effect of it, 111. 
Description of the church, 111, 

112, 113. 

. Sculptured stones at, 113. 

The Drostan stone, 113. 
Boundaries of the parish, 114. 
^, Glowing account of the people of, 

147, 148. 
... Valuation Roll of parish in 1683, 

154, 155. 

Saddle Hillock in Ruthven, 109. 
Sanquhar, Lords Crichton of, 72, 74. 
Scryne, lands of, Valoniis of, 76. 
Maules of, 77. 

Flemings and Strachans of, 77. 
Sculptured stone near JUillavaird, 109. 
Scrymgeour, William, of Dudhope, 15, 16, 41. 
David, of Birkhill, 29. 
John, of Magdalen's Kirkton, 28. 
Seaton gifted by William the Lion to Arbroath 

Abbey, 139. 
Seaton House and policies, 114, 140 ; do , John 

of, 139. 
.. Lands of, stretch from Arbroath to 

Auchmithie, 138. 
Sir Alexander, of Parbroath, 139. 
Easter and Wester, 139. 
Den of, and chapel in, 139. 
Half the town of, given to the cellarer 

of the Abbey, 139. 

Easter, Annand of Dickmontlaw of, 142. 
Catherine, Countess of Crawford, of, 142. 
Easter and Tame united, 143. 

Mansion of, 144. 
Shielhill, &c., Miss Sophie G. Lyell of, 54. 
Sheriffmuir, battle of, 62, 57. 
Sidlaws, higher, covered with heath, and on the 
lower, portions are thickets of strong 
broom, 214. 

Skene, Captain, of Markhouse, 200. 
... Sir John, Lord Register, 66. 
Skryne, John Monypenny of Balhousie of, 74. 
Southesk, est<*te repurchased, 75. 

Earl of, 71, 72, 73, 75, 167. 
Spynie, Lord, 50, 51, 56. 
Stewart, Sir Thomas, of Grandtully, 16. 
Gilbert, 28. 

John L. Douglas, of Glenogil, 195. 
Strachans of Balhousie, Balmachie, &c., 74. 
Charlss, of Balgavies, 143. 
Alexander, of Tarrie, 143. 
of Clay pots and Scryne, 77. 
Strathallan, Viscount of, 53. 



Strathardill, Eustace Maxwell of Tealing of. 

216. 

Strathearn, Earl of, 148, 187, 188. 
Strathmore, Earl of, of Easter Keillor, 43. 

... Slain at Forfar, 52. 
Lands in Tannadice, 203. 
Surnames, when first used, 25, 26. 
Swinburne, Major-General of Marcus, 200. 

Thomas Anthony, 200. 
Arms of Swinburne of Marcus, 200. 

STRACATHRO PARISH, 161. 

Stracathro, boundaries of the parish, 161. 

Church, a parsonage of Brechin, 

161. 

Dunlappie was included in, 161. 
John Davie intruded on the parish, 

167. 

He was factor for the Earl of South- 
esk, 167. 

His proceedings in 1715, 168. 
Alexander Laing, schoolmaster, 

perished, 177. 
Lines by him on coincidences, 177. 

178. 

Meaning and origin of name of 
parish and places in it, 161, 162. 
New church erected in 1791, 166. 
No school in the parish, 166. 
Means taken to get one erected, 16G. 
Lundie Hill, in, 161. 
The North Esk, Westwater, and 
Cruick unite near the church, 161. 
A grave found, and in it a small 

fish of gold, 178. 

Rates of wages and prices of pro- 
duce, &c., in 1715, 178. 
... St Vitus' dance common in the 

parish, 178. 
... lands of, belonged to Cathedral of 

Brechin, 161, 168. 
Given to Captain Robert 
Lawder, 20th July, 
1566, 168. 
Acquired by Alex. Hume 

of Manderstoun, 168. 
Douglasses of Tillie- 
quhillie followed, 168, 
169. 
They sold them to Peter 

Turnbull, 169. 
, M ... The Mackenzies acquired 

them next, 169. 
... ... Patrick Cruiokshank 

bought them from Dr 
Mackenzie, 169. 

... His brother Alexander 
succeeded, 169. 



300 



INDEX 



Stracathro, lands of, His trustees sold the 
estate to Sir James 
Campbell, Knight, in 
1848, 169. 

On bis death his eldest 
son, James Archibald 
Campbell, LL.D., suc- 
ceeded, 171. 
Account of the family, 

170, 171. 

Arms of Sir James Camp- 
bell and family, 171. 
The estate has been much 

enlarged, 171. 
The mansion is an elegant 

structure, 171, 172. 
The park is spacious, the 
gardens extensive and 
well stocked, and the 
grounds tastefully laid 
out, 172. 

Slabs behind the church are sup- 
posed to have covered the graves 
of Danish Generals killed near by, 
175. 

Battle at, between David I. and 
Earl of Moray ; the Earl was 
vanquished, 176. 

Battle at Hare Cairn between the 

Earl of Huntly and the Earl of 

Crawford : Crawford was defeated, 

176. 

From Hare Cairn a grand prospect 

is got, 176. 

One account is that Baliol resigned 
his crown in the churchyard of, 
176. 

Valuation Eoll of the parish in 1 68 3, 
175, 176. 



TANNADICE PARISH, 179. 

Boundaries of, 180. 
Church was a rectory of St 
Andrews, 179. 
present, was built in 1846, 

180. 

Cockfighting at the school prohi- 
bited, 180. 
common in schools on 

holidays, 180. 
Details of the cruel 

practice, 180. 

.. Ecclesiastical lands of, in 1614, 
J79. 



Tannadice, Graveyard of, recently enlarged, 
and the monuments well 
arranged, 180. 

Lands granted by one of the Popes 
for the erection of the College 
of St Andrews, to- whom 
patronage of the church 
belonged, 179. 

Temperance bond entered into at 
Dundee, 5th July, 1627, 184. 

Thanedom of, andGlamis, bestowed 
on Sir John Lyon by Robert 
II., 183, 187. 

The Lyons long owned most of the 
parish, 183. 

They only own one estate now, 183. 

Serf born in parish ; manumission 
of the serf and family by 
David II., 182, 183. 

Proprietors of lands in 1683, 203. 

Names of lands in, 204. 

... of heritors in 1795, 204, 
205 ; do., 1835, 205. 

Robert I. gave Balgillo to Alex, 
de Bruce, 184. 

Rev. John Buist, who was minister 
of the parish, deduced the 
varied orthography of the 
name of the parish from 
Taynatus, Gaelic, "A -low, 
warm, green plat upon the 
water," which is descriptive 
of the church and its sur- 
roundings, 180; A monument 
to him and members of the 
family is in the graveyard, 
181, 182 ; Account of- Dr 
George Buist, LL.D., eldest 
son of Rev. John Buist, 206, 
207, 208, 209, 210. 

William Neish of, has greatly im- 
proved his estate and mansion, 
185. 



TEALING, PARISH OF, 210. 
Tealing, Boniface founded a church at, 210; 
He was created Bishop of Ross, 210. 
Site of his church unknown, 210. 
Chapel, a,*? stood near the mansion, 

210, 213, 214. 

Church annexed to Dunkeld, 212. 
Church and Priest's Croft gifted to 

Priory of St Andrews, 211. 
Croft may have been Prieston Farm, 

211. 
Church is nearly in the centre of parish, 



INDEX. 



301 



Tealing, it is a comfortable house, 213. 

Inscription, old, in Tealing Church, 

212. 
Parson of Tealing was Archdeacon of 

Dunkeld Cathedral, 212. 
Sculptured stones built into church 

walls, 212. 
Tombstones in church lioor are surely 

misplaced, 213, 214. 
Estate, proprietors of, 211, &c. 

Giffords, Lords of, 211, 216. 

Macdowal, Dungall of, 216. 
Sir Anselmus Adornis, Knight 
of, 216. 

Maxwells of, 216, 217, 218, 

219, 220, 221. 

Boyds and Campbells of, 218. 
Ogilvys and Grahams of, 218. 

Napier of Kilmahon of, 218. 

Scrymsoures of, 218, 219, 
220. 

Fotheringhams of, 220. 

Antiquities found in, 228, 229, 230. 
Inhabited by early races, 230, 231. 
... Castle of, 230. 

Church dedicated to St Peter, 210. 
St Peter's Well is in the burn which 

passes the mansion, 210. 
Had its distillery a century ago, and 
whisky is one of its exports sent 
into Dundee in 1790, 215. That 
trade was discontinued many years 
ago. 

Tarbrax, lands of, 17. 

Tarrie, North and South, Beatons of, 139, 141. 
... South, Leslie and Strachans of, 140. 

Rennie of, 140. 

... North, Balfours of, 141. 
Tarsapie, with fishings on the Tay, 17. 
Templetoo, Newtyle, 43. 
Tibbermuir, battle of, 43. 
Tibber, New, 41. 
Torpichen, Lady, 143. 
Triduana, Virgin a monkish legend of, 81. 
S. Trodlin's Fair at Rescobie, 81. 
Turin Hill, 85. 
Turin, Over and Nether, 273. 

... and Drimmie gifted to Sir William Oli- 

phant of Aberdalgy, 99, 100. 
... Ruthvens and Nisbet of, 100. 
... Dr Alexander Watson and P. A. W. 

Carnegie of Lour of, 1 00. 
Turnbulls of Stracathro, 1G9, 170, 174. 

Origin of the name, 170. 
Turpin, Bishop of Brechin, 161. 



U 



Ulster, Annals of, 148. 



Valoniis, Sir Philip de, 66. 

Vandyke, Portrait of Kiuloch by, 106. 

VigianuB, St., a Hermit and Preacher, 124. 

his Festival held 20th January, 124. 



W 



Walkelinus, Braciator to William the Lion, 128. 
Wallace, John, of Murthill, 202. 
Wallays, John, of Ricartoun, 201. 
Watson, Alexander, of Turin, 273. 
Watson of Bogiewilk in Forest of Platane, 51. 
Hugh, famous Agriculturist and 

Breeder, 51. 
Webster, Patrick, of Westfield and Fleming- 

ton, 42, 

Wedderburns of Kingsmuir, &c., 16, 28. 
of Hilton of Craigie, 27. 
of Tofts, 26. 

of Powrie Easter, 24, 25. 
received a ring from James VI.. 

27. 

Arms of, 31. 
Account of the, 25 to 31. 

Weem at Murroes of, 4. 
Westhall, 3, 31. 

Earls of Angus of, 31. 

Beatons of, 31 ; do. Scott of, 32. 

Robert of, and murder of 
of the tutor of Laws, 31,32. 
communing with him pun- 
ished, 31. 

Piersons of Balmadies of, 32. 
Guthriesof, 32. 
Ogilvys of. 32, 33. 
Rev. David Ogilvy Ramsay of, 33. 
House of, 33. 
Wharncliffe, Earl of, owns Newtyle, &c., 40, 

45. 
Whitton, Andrew, of Couston, 42. 

Account of the family, 42. 
Why t wall, Lyons of, 193. 

Gammell of, 205. 
Wicked Master, The, 50, 105. 
Wigton, John Fleming, Earl of, 61. 



302 



INDEX 



Wilkies of Auchinday, now Newbarns, 53, 54. 
William, Vicar of Panbride, 57. 
Windy Hills, 118. 146. 
Woodlands, Rickard of, 145. 

James Smith of, 146. 

Woodville, David Lowson, now James A. 
Dickson of, 146, 



York Building Company, 57, 73. 
Young, David, of Aldbar, 17. 

Sir Robert, 143. 

Sir Peter, Kt., 142, 143, 145. 

Sir James of Invereighty, 142. 

of Aldbar, 143. 

Peter, 145. 



THE END. 



: 



DA 
880 

v.5 



Warden, Alexender Johnstor 
Angus or Forff rshire 



PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE 
CARDS OR SLIPS FROM THIS POCKET 



UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO LIBRARY 





NHHuKH 

HHBBbHi 

^^^^MM^Mw^m 



m