(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "An Historical Guide to the City of Dublin, Illustrated by Engravings, and a Plan of the City"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



I 



HISTORICAL GUIDE 



TO THE CITY OF 



DUBLIN, 

r 

UXUSTBATID BY ENGRAVINGS, AND A PLAN OF THC CITY. 



SECOND EDITION, 

f¥XTU CORBSOTIOKS AND ADDITIONAL ARTICLES: 
AiMO 

AN ITINERARY, 

AND VABIOU« UIEFVL INFORMATION FOft TOURISTS AND STRANaJSRfl* 






BY G. N..SLRIGHT, A.M., 

LONDON: 
PBINTBD POB BALDWIN, CBADOCK, AND JOY. 

1826. -^ 



^ 2/^/r- 




T. C. HANSARD, Pater-noster-xow Ptom. 



P R B F A O E 

TCI TS« 

^MCOND EDITION. 



Altbouhh reduced in biilk^ by a oompreaa»d form 
of printing, for the purpose of enabling the publisher* 
to offer the volume at a lew piiee, this Edition will he 
found to contain not only all the information of the pre- 
ceding oiie> that is really valuable and interesting to the 
majority of Readers^ or Tourists^ but also much that is 
new, whether as additions to the original matter, or 
entirely new articles. In this respect great pains havQ 
beoi taken to render the hook as perfect as possib^ and 
to faring down the accounts of Buildings and Institu- 
tions to the present time. Among the new subjects are 
--St Stephen's Chapel^ Merchants' Hall^ the School of 
AnatGsay^ The Royal Hiheamian Academy of Painting, 
&& The aeoount of the DuhUn Society has been con- 
siderably enlarged, and the contents of its Museum, its 
pictures, &c as fully described as the limits of a work of 
this nature would permit. 

In this Edition, — ^which, considering the number and 
superior style of its embellishments, must be allowed to 
a 2 



PREPAC.E. 

be a cheap l)Ook«»11iere is likewise given a Table of the 
Primcipal Edifices, showing their Architects^ and the 
dates of Erection^ as far as could be ascertained ; which 
will^ it is hoped^ prove not uninteresting either to the 
residents, or visitors, of a city which may justl^t pride it« 
self on its architectural monuments. It will be useful^ 
inasmuch as it lays before the reader at a single glance 
what is scattered throughout the Volume (besides some 
names not mentioned in the body of the work) ; and 
consequently greatly facilitates the reference to, and com- 
parison of, dates and other particulars. 

It has been thought, likewise, that the utility of the 
Volume as a Guide, would be considerably increased by 
the addition of an Itinerary, containing the Roads, &c. 
from London to Liverpool, and other ports where the 
stranger would embark for Ireland ; with ample infer* 
mation respecting the sailing of Packets, and the Routes 
from Dublin, to Belfast, and Cork. The Work has 
thus become a complete manual for the Tourist, without 
being thereby rendered less satisfactory to those who 
wish to possess a topographical history of the Irish. 
Metropolis* 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



Page 
ITINERARY OF ROUTES., ix 
ACCOUNT OF LIVERPOOL ib. 
PACKETS TO DUBLIN .... xxi 
GENERAL OBSERVA- 

TIONS xxiv 

HOTELS IN DUBLIN xxvi 

PERAMBULATIONS OF 

DUBLIN ib. 

ROUTES FROM DUBLIN.. xxxi 
ANCIENT HISTORY OF 
THE CITY OF DUBLIN.. 1 
" Geoeiaphical Description.. 4 

DUBLIN CASTLE 6 

TheCiiapel 8 ' 

Execntive Government 9 

THE UNIVERSITY U 

Cbapel ; 14 

Thtttre 1.5 

Refectoiy • ib. 

Libnry 16 

Mannscript Room 17 

CoUegePark 18 

Anatomy House ib. 

PrintingHoiue • 19 

PiovostTi Houae ib. 

Mnseam • 20 

Astronomical Obeervatoiy .... 21 

Botaaic Garden 22 

BANK OF IRELAND 22 

The Printins House 25 

Engraving Engine 26 

Printing Presses ib. 

lis Institation ib. 

DUBLIN SOCIETY ........ 28 

Mmenm S3 

FARMING SOCIETY 38 

R07AL IRISH ACADEMY.. 39 
KIRWANIAN SOCIETY.... 40 
IBBRNOCBLTIC SOCIETY ib. 
DUBLIN INSTITUTION.... ib. 
DUBLIN LIBRARY SO- 

^ CIETY .^. 41 

MARSHES LIBRARY ib. 

CATHEDRALS:— 
8T. PATRICK'S 42 

MoATWwnta in tiie Ghoii •• 47 



Page 
The Chapter Honse ««........ 48 

St. Mary^s Chapel 49 

The Deanery Houtie • AO 

Archiepificopal Palace ib. 

CHRIST-CHURCH M 

The Nave h\ 

Monuments 55 

The Transept !ti 

The Choir 6ft 

St. Mary's Chapel 59 

Deanery House 60 

CHURCHES :— 

St. MichaePs ib. 

St.John's 61 

St. Michan*8.. 62 

St. Audoen's 64 

St. Nicholas Without 65 

St. Peter's 66 

.St.Kevin' 67 

St. Werburgh's 6S 

St. Mary's.. 70 

St. Anne'is.. ri 

St. Bridget's • rs 

St. George's n 

St. George's Cbapel 75 

St. Thomas's «.. ib. 

St. Catherine's .• 77 

StvJamee'^i 78 

St. Paul' 79 

St. Nicholas Within 80 

St. Andrew's 61 

St. Luke's 83 

St. Mark's 84 

St. Stephen's Chaptfl 85 

ROMAN CATHOLIC CHA- 
PELS 85 

Metropolitan Chapel • 86 

Arran Quay Chapel 87 

Bndge«treet Chapel 88 

James's-street Chapel ........ ib. 

Francis-street Chapel. «• ib. 

Lifley-street Chapel.. ........ 88 

Anne-street Chapel,... • 89 

Meath-stieet Cbapel ....•••• 9<> 
Exchange^rtreet, Chapel ••.. ib. 
TowHoa-itieetChap^l ••«%«*• 99- 



VI 



CONTENTS. 



Page 

FRIARIES:- 

Augostinian Conveut 93 

Dominican Convent ib. 

Convent of Calced Carmelites 93 
Convent of Discalced ditto . . ib. 

Convent of Franciscans 94 

Convent of Capuchins ib. 

Convent of Jesuits ib. 

NUNNERIES:— 

King-street Nunnery* 95 

Stanhope-street and William- 
street Nunneries ib. 

Oeorge's-hill, or North Anne's- 

street Nunneries ib. 

Ward's Hill, or Warren 

Monnt Nunnery ib. 

Harold'^ Crow N unnery 96 

SECKDERS FROM THE 
ESTABLISHED CHURCH: 

Presl^terians 97 

Strand-street Meeting-houce.. 08 

Kn^tAoe-Rtfeet ditto 99 

Mary's Abbey ditto ib. 

Usber'e Quay ditto ib. 

Sereders 100 

Tndependents ib. 

Methodists ib. 

Baptists 101 

Walkerites ib. 

Moravians ... • 102 

Quakers ib. 

Jews 103 

German Lutherans lb. 

MUNICIPAL GOVERN- 
MENT 104 

Maiwien-kettse 10.5 

City Assembly-house 107 

AlMtraen of Ikinner '•-alley. , 108 

MerchattU-h»U ib. 

Tailont-hail tb. 

Weavers'-hall 109 

POLICE ESTABLISHMENT ib. 

PRISONS :— 

Newfiate • Ill 

PheriiTs Prison 113 

City Marshalsea 114 

Four Courts Mfirshalsea. ..... ib. 

Sessions House lift 

MANORS:— 
Manor of Grai|g»<}onn»n,... 116 
Manor of Thomas Court and 

Donore ib. 

Ilanor of St Sepulehro ib. 

Manor of the I)eanery of 9i. 
Patriek'to 117 

HOUSES OF CORRECTION : 

DnUia P«Biteatiary ib, 

RiehmoBdt Gennal P«|iit«i- 
tiary ..•M**«..r» «« 118 



Pftgt 

' Magdalen Asylum n* 

Lock Penitentiary 119 

Bow-street Asylum . « 120 

Sownsend-street As}^lum .... ib. 
liblin Female Penitentiary . . ib. 

ASYLUMS l«l 

CHARITABLE ASSOCIA- 
TIONS.— 
Sick and Indigent Room* 

keepers 122 

Stranger's Friend Societj- .... 123 

Charitable Association ib. 

Society for the Relief of the In- 

dustriona Poor ib. 

Debtor's Friend Pocicty ib. 

Ouzel Galley Association .... ib. 

Musical Fund Society. ....... ib. 

Society for the Relief of Dis- 
tressed Literary Teachen 

and their Families lU 

Charitable Loan ib. 

Meath Charitable Society .... ib. 

Mendicity Association ib. 

SCHOOLS FOR THE EDO- 
CATION OF THE POOR: 

Incorporated Society 12A 

Era£juus Smith 'x Schools .... 126 
Deaf and Dumb Institution., ib. 
ASYLUMSFORTHE BLIND: 

Simpson's Hospital • 111 

Richmond National Institu- 
tion........ 113 

Molineux A.«ylnm 113 

POOR SCHOOLS :— 

Female Orphan-houas • ib* 

Masonio Female Orphan 

School 134 

Pleasants' Asylum ib. 

St. Catherine's Sunday School 13.5 

Free Day^scliools ; |86 

Society for Promoting the 
Education of the Poor in 

Ireland •••... ib. 

SuDdav School-Society for Ire- 

land «.;.... 197 

Hatch-street Sunday School, 

Leeaon^treet •«^....«. IM 

Religious Tract and Book 

Society ib, 

REUGIOUS SOCIETIES...-, ib. 

Bible Societies U9 

PUBLIC SQUARES:-* 

flttephea'a-gieen ..•••••.« lb, 

Merrion-sqnare ib. 

Fitaswilliam-cquaitt,... 142 

Rutland-square •••...••,.«« ib. 

Moontjoy-square , . . • ]4| 

STATUES * ib! 

NtlMB'k FUUt «••*•« 144 



CONTENTS. 



Vii 



Paga 
WeUineton Tmtimoiiial .... h5 
THEATRES AND PLACES 
OF PUBLIC AMUSE- 
MENT 145 

New Theatre Royal HT 

BARRACKS 149 

BRIDGES :>- 

Carlisle Bridge ib. 

Cast-iron BrSlge lAO 

Baeex Bridge lb. 

Richmond Bridge 151 



159 
ib. 
ib. 

153 

ib. 

ib. 



Whitworth Bridge 

The Qoeen's Bridge 

Bloody Bridge 

aarah'« Bridge 

PRIVATE RESIDENCES 

CharlemoDtHoiue .......^-. .^ 

Waterfojd Roase 154 

LAWCOURTS 1.55 

FoorConrts 156 

Imuof Courts 160 

Pierogative Court 163 

CoDsistori&l Coart 164 

High Court of Admiialtv .... ib. 
Board of Fint Fruit* ib. 

YVIBLIC OFFICES :— 

genenl Post-office lb. 

WaapOffice 167 

JallMtOffice 169 

PawngBoard iro 

Wide«treet CommiBsionent ..171 

Pipe Water Coroinittee ib. 

CostomHoiue 172 

Cutom-HonBe Docks 176 

COMMERCIAL BUILD- 

^INGS:- 

A<>y8l Exchange 178 

Com Exchange Bnildin^ ... . 182 
The Commercial Bmldings ..183 

Chamber of Commeice 185 

»aviDn*Bank ib. 

^ Light Company 186 

J-ineo and Yamllall ib. 

Stove Tenter-Honsc 187 

HOSPITALS AND MEDICAL 
INSTITUTIONS :— 
Boyal Hospital, Kilmainham 189 
Bloe-Coet Boys* Hospital, 

BlackhaU-etieet 194 

Marine School 196 

College of Physicians, Sir Pa. 
trick Dnn*8 Hospital •..«.. 197 



Page 
Colle^ of Sareeonf ••••...• 199 
Association of If embers of the 
College of Physicians in Ire- 
land— College Green 201 

Si^hool of Physio 202 

School of Anatomy—Park St. 203 

Apotbecaries'-Hall 204 

Charitable Infirmary 205 

Steevens's Hospital 806 

Mercer's Hospital 208 

Meath Hospital ib. 

Coombe Hospital 209 

Lying-in Hospital 210 

Rotunda Rooms 213 

New Rooms-ARutland*sqnare 214 
Westmoreland Lock Hospital. 

— Townsond-street 215 

United Hospital of St. Mark 

and St. Anne— Mark-street 216 
Fever Hospital— Cork-street , • ib. 
Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital ..219 

WhitwDTth Hospital 222 

Richmond Surgical Hospital . . 223 
St. George's lionse of Re- 
covery ib. 

Whitworth Fever Hospital . . ib. 
St. Peter's and St. Bridget's 

Hospital 224 

Royal Military Inftrmary .... 225 

Hospital for Incurables 226 

House of Industry 227 

Foundline Hospital 228 

St. Patrick, or Swift's Hospi- 
tal— Bow-lane, James-street 230 
Richmond Lunatic Asylum . • 232 

DISPENSARIES 234 

Talbot Dispensary ib. 

St. Mary and St. Thomas's .« ib. 
Dublin General Dispensary . . ib. 

Meath Dispensar\' 235 

Vaccine Establislunont ib. 

FINE ARTS 936 

Royal Hibernian Accidemy ..238 
Private Collections of Paint* 

ings.....*.... 240 

ENVIRONS OF DUBLIN .. 245 

BANKS 250 

RATES OF CARRIAGES .... 251 
ARCHITECTURAL SYNOP- 
SIS 253 

INDEX 



fifties* 



THBO»8tl«., , t.-*'^ 

Tlia Cattle Chftpel jind Reeov^ Tower 8 

Trioity College , 14 

The Bank , 2« 

Ft Fatriek's Cathedral 43 

Chrut-Churoh ditto ..* «> 

St. George'i Church ...., t ♦•••• H 

The New Theatro Royal ur 

TheUwCourte, * )5fi 

The King's Inns, and Royal Canal Hacbour 1 69 

Sackville Street, Poet Office, and Nelson's Column , . , iM 

The Custom House «...*, \n 

The Hoyal Eifchange ...,...« ^ ,... \n 

The Lying-in Hospital « «.*.« 912 

Flan of the City of Ihiblip, (q^«r the Index ») 



ITINERARY OF ROUTES 

TO THE 

DIFFERENT PORTS; 

ACCOUNT OP t'ACKETS, &c. 

ANO DdBFUL INFORMATION FOR TRAVELLBIW. 



IN ordet to render this Toluiiie not only Intereitidg to 
tlioie wlio, whether residents or strangers, seek for inform- 
ation relatire to the buildings and institutions of the 
mettopoUs of Ireland ; but likewise as serviceable as pos- 
sible to tonrists, who may wish, at the same time, to possess 
a compendious ^ide of their route on the other side uf the 
water, it has been deemed proper to supply, in this intro- 
ductory chapter all such particulars as may be necessary 
to the trafeller fh>m the commencement of his journey. 
For this purpose, the routes fi'om London to lAverpoA, 
HolyheacI, and Bristol, are given ; and brief notices of the 
oh|ects most deserving attention in each of those placed. 



FROM LONDON TO LIVERPOOL. 

Ftfst Route, through Chester. 

V Tb» flgares ia the flnt cotniiin giv» the dutanee of tlw Towm f 
•Ml olhaMn the leoottdj their disttfiocftom LoDdon. 

JTtfet. ' inn*. 



Bmet • 


.10 . 


11 
tl 


Aagel. VMlpatt, Wbit^ Rttt. 


DoMiUe * 


.1^. 


»ft 


Crowo, S«0Rr-lo«fc 


ivMiHiU 


H' 


43 


Geofge. 


SloneyStntfticd . - 


' 9 . 


52 


Bull.Coeh. 


Toweister 


. 8 . 


60 




XXVtttry 


.11 . 


n 


6iiacen'i Head, WhMMlMRr. 


IHMdKMrlMli 


.1«J. 


^ 


BiMkDoff. 



ITINERARY OF ROUTES, he 

MOet, Inns* 



Coventry • 


- 6^.. 91 


1 n.«uK o nvov, ^MtvcFH f^numt tt aui^ 

I Bear. 


Stone Bridge 


- 8i- 9^ 




CasUe Bramwich 


- 6 .10^ 




Stooal 


. 10 - 115$ 




IvetMyBank 


- 16 - 131J 


Sun, Bradford Arms. 


Newport 


- 8 - 139| 

- 12 - 15ll 


Red Lion. 


Tern Hill 


Queen's Head, HUl Arms. 


WhitdiuTcb 


9 < 160} 


9ed Lion, Lord HUU 


Bam Hill 


- 9j - 170 


r Albion Hotel, Ck>lden Lion, Pied 


Cbeiter 


• 10|.180i 


^ Bull. Royal Hotel, Red Lion, 
t White Lion. 


Eattham 


- 9} - 190 


Liverpool 


. 8-198 


(Seepage xv) 



At Si. Alban'Sy^ the Abbey Churcli is deserving of notice^ 
both for its architecture^ its extent^ and the rich screens 
and ancient monuments it contains. This place, whose 
population is about 4,500, is remarkable for two battles 
between the Houses of York and Lancaster, in 1455 and 
1461, in the latter of which Queen Margaret defeated the 
Earl of Warwick. 

Coventry is an ancient city, with a population of 
about 8,000 inhabitants, containing little to attract any 
but the antiquary, who will here recognize in many of tlxe 
houses the domestic architecture of the 15th and 16th cen- 
turies. The most remarkable object is St. MichaePs 
Church, which is a fine specimen of the pointed style, and 
is celebrated for its very beautiful spire. Trinity Church 
has also a lofty spire. Here are several hospitals, a Free- 
school, a County-hall (erected in 1785), and an edifice 
called St. Mary's-hall, built in the reign of Henry VI. 

Chester, a city of great antiquity, is seated on a rocky 
eminence, above a sweep of the Dee. The town is one 
of the most singularly-built in England, the four main 
streets being excavated in the rock, the depth of an entire 
story below the level ground ; and having galleries or 
porticos on each side, for foot passengers ; beneath which 
are the shops and warehouses. The Castle and Cathednd 
are both well deserving examination. The former was 
originally erected in the time of the Conqueror, but con- 
tains very extensive modern additions "comprising an 
armoury with nearly 40,000 stand of arms, the Shire-h"'' 



ITmiRARV OF AOOTBS, te xi 

County Gaol, and Courts, of Justice, Barracks, &c* The 
latter, though inferior to the srenerality of our Esfi^ih 
cathedrals, has a very beautiful Chapter-house. The 
population is about 20^000. 

Second Route, through Lichfield. 



Mile*. 



Inns. 



Stone Btidcje 


Si- 991 
► 4 - 103} 




Cottshin 


Angel, Swan. 


SwinSn 


isj - lie 




Uefafleld . • . 


7i'156 


GecHige, Swim, 


Ridgiey - - 




Sandon - 


- 10-136 




Stone 


4 - 140 




Newottfle-Under-Lylie • 


9 -149 


Crown> RoeoudCf 


CoogletDii 


■ ISJ - 1611 


BuU's HMd, Black Lioo. 


Kimtefoid 


14i . 176* 


Angel, Geofge 


WaiTingtan 


. Hi - 187i 


George, Nag's Head, Red Lion. 


Pienot 


- 10 - 197| 


Man and Bull, Man and Swan. 


livetpool 


. 8|-306 





LicHFTEi«D, the most important place in this Second 
Aoute, has an exceedingly fine Cathedral, with a noble 
spire, and two lesser ones at the west end. In the interior 
are the monuments of Garrick, Dr. Johnson, Lady M. 
W. Montagu, and Miss Seward ; and a yerv exquisite one, 
by Chantrey, representing two sleeping children. This city 
is cdebratea as toe birth-place of tne two eminent men just 
mentioned, and was, at one period of his life, the residence 
of Dr. Darwin, who here wrote his Zoonomia. In the 
free-school of St. John, Addison, Johnson, Garrick, 
WoUaston, Hawkins Browne, and other distinguished in- 
dividuals received the rudiments of their education. Races 
are held during three days in the second week in Septem- 
ber, on Whittington Heath, two miles from the town. 
The population is about 6,000. 

Liverpool is unquestionably one of the most important 
places in the British empire, whether we regard its extent. 
Us prodigious commerce, or the number and splendor of 
its public buildings. During the last thirty years its in- 
crease has been most rapid, and in 1821 its population 
Counted to 141,487, independently of the number of 
«€amen, &c. who may be estimated at nearly 10,000 more. 
Brief as we must necessarily be, we can do little more than 



xii iTitnmARV or nontMt *c 

enumer*te the irtiriottB objeets which ill ftlm68t dtery 
quortar arrest the stranger's attention | and ainong these 
a foremost place must be assigned to the Docks, the prin- 
cipal of which are the Wet-docks. The next are the JOry- 
docks ; and there is a third kind called the Graving-docks, 
in which ships are caulked and repaired* The Ola Dock, 
which runs eastward into the town^ was constructed in 
1710, and contains an area of 1 7^070 square yards. It is 
surrounded with housesi shops^ and warehouses^ and at 
the east end stands the Custom-house. T-he Dry-thoh has 
a quay extending about 360 yards. Salthouse-dodk, the 
second in point of date, is an afea of 22,420 square yards, 
with a quay of about 640 yards. St, George* % Dock ex- 
tends from St. Nicholas' Church-yard to Moor-8treet« and 
forms an area of 26,068 square yards> with a quay of 700 
yards, lined with capital warehouses. Kind's Dock is an 
area of 25,650, and Qt4een*s Dock, of 54,025 square yards. 
Prince's Dock, which is the finest of all, was commenced 
in 1816, and opened July 1 9th, 1821, the day of his Ma- 
jesty's coronation. It is 600 yards long by 106 broad, 
forming an area of 63,000 square yards. The quays are 
Tcry spacious, and have cast-iron sheds for the shelter of 
merchandize. Along the west side next the river is a 
spacious parade, affording a noble view of the shipping, &c. 

Among the public buildings, the Town Hall, in Castle- 
street^ is a very noble and imposing architectural pile, of 
the Corinthian order> surmounted by a lofty cupola, on 
the summit of which is a colossal figure of Britannia 
sitting. It contains a saloon 30 feet by 26, with portraits 
of his late and present Majesty, and the Dv^e of Clarence -, 
west drawing-room, 32 feet by 26 ; east drawins-room, 30 
bv27; ball*room, 89 by 41, and 40 high; another, 61 by 
28, and 26 high; and a banquet-room, 60 feet by 30; 
these three last rooms have beautiful scagliola pilastets. 
The dome which is over the stair-case produces a very fine 
effect as viewed from below : the entire height from the 
floor to the summit is 106 feet. 

The New Eischunge Buildings, which were begun from 
designs by John Foster, Esq. in 1803, form a very 
magnificent structure surrounding three sides of a square, 
(on the fourth is the north front of the Town Hall). 
They are decorated with Corinthian eolumns and pii< . - > r . . 



asd Bi^pt^e of ike gen^rfd clmractw of that front. The 
sorthsidi^is 177 feet, ^nd the east and west 131. In the ba»e- 
ment all round is a piazza 15 feet wide ; and ip the east wing 
it t)ie Exchange News-room, occupying the whole of the 
lower story, biing 94 feet 3 inches, by 51 feet 9 inches : 
the ceiling is sunported by 16 Ionic columns, ^20 feet 9 
inches high, each formed of a single stone. The centre of 
the area inclosed by these buildings is decorated with a 
splendid MonumetU to LorH Nehon^ designed by Matthew 
Wyatt« Aiid executed by Westmacott : at the base of a 
fery lich circular pedestal are four large emblematic 
figures, in allusion to his principal victories \ and upon it 
18 a fine ^oup of Nelson, Victory, and Death, Britannia 
9Bd a British seaman. — ^The Corn Eachmfe^ in Brunswick- 
street, Is a simple vet handsome building \ but the New 
Murket is one of tne most astonishing and interesting 
itmctQies of the kind in the whole kingdom. This noble 
e^ce, which was designed by Mr. J, Foster^ jun., wan 
h^pn iA August, 1820, and finished in February, 182?, at 
an expense of 35,000/. : its length is 549 feet, and its 
hreadm 135. The roof is supported by 116 cast-iron 
pillars, 23 feet high, and arranged in four rows, so as tp 
form five avenues. At ni||[ht it is brilliantly lighted by 
^M gas-lights, Besides this, there are eight other open 
markets in different parts of the town. 

Liverpool possesses many literary institutions reflecting 
great credit on its citizens ; among these, the earliest^es- 
i^blished is the Jthenaum, in Church-street, which waa 
opened in 1799. The Lyceum t in Bold-street, is a very 
handsome building, designed by Mr. Harrison, of Chester. 
It has a spacious coffee and news-room, and a circular 
library-room containing 22,000 volumes. The Unian 
News-roamf in Duke-street, is a plain but handsome stone 
edifice, erected from the designs of Mr. Foster. It derives 
its name from the circumstance of being founded on Jan* 
Ist, ISOO, the day on which the Union of England and 
Ii^d took place. The Royal ImtUution^ in Col<|uitt- 
street, was founded in 1814. It is a large and uniform 
hoiljing with two wings, presenting a front of 146 feet : 
Ml the firpt floor is a spacious exhibitioiL-room for the use 
of the memhers of the Liverpool Academy ; likewise ano-< 
di|r exhih^tioii^room with c^^ts of the filgi^ and Sgii^a 



jdv xrnnmARV or Rotmes, ke. 

marbles. The museum conUdns a variety oiF rare and ca- 
rious specimens of natural history, &c. Strangers may 
be introduced here by a proprietor. 

The Theatre, which is m Williamson-square, is generally 
open from June to December. Another place of amuse- 
ment is the Circus, appropriated to equestrian and panto- 
mimic performances, during the winter season* The fTel- 
lington Rooms is an extensive suite of assembly-rooms, 
erected from the designs of Mr. Edmund Aikin in 1815. 
The front is of stone, and has a semicircular portico of the 
Corinthian order, but has no windows. The ball-room is 
tastefuUv ornamented, and measures 80 feet by 37. The 
Royal JVluseum, ^t the bottom of Church-street, will repay 
the visitor's curiosity ; as will also the Botanic Garden 
near Edgehill, to which place of elegant recreation, ad- 
mittance may be obtsuned through any proprietor. There 
are nineteen churches in Liverpool, besides several other 
places of religious worship. Among those which most de- 
serve to be particularized here, as objects of notice to the 
strans^r on account of their architecture, are, St. Paul's, 
St. ueorg^e's, St. MichaeVs, and that belonging to the 
School for the Blind. The first of these has a dome, and 
Ionic porticoes on the west, south, and north sides. St, 
Geori'tfs is a handsome structure of the Doric order $ and 
St. Michael's has a noble Corinthian portico of ten co- 
lumns 31 feet 8 inches high, and a tower and spire 201 
feet hiffh. But as a specimen of pure Grecian architec- 
ture, tne pre-eminence must be assigned to the last men- 
tioned structure, the portico bein^ an exact copy of that 
of the temple of Jupiter Panhellemus in the island of Egi- 
na, which \vas visited in 1811 by Mr. J. Foster, jun. tne 
architect. This jportico exhibits one of the earliest speci- 
mens of the Grecian Doric order. The altar-piece of this 
church has a fine painting bv Hilton, of Christ restoring 
sight to the Blind. Christ Church may also be mentioned 
on account of its singularly-constructed organ, and its 
dome, from the top of which is a fine prospect of the town. 

As this sketch professes to notice only such objects as 
are likely to prove attractive to the visitor, such institu- 
tions as offer nothing remarkable for inspection, are passed 
over. An exception, however, must be made in favour of 
the New Infirmary in Brownlow»street> which hfts an air 



iviNtiuBv or nouns, te. «t 

of extraordinary iprandeur, and reflects great credit on the 
taste of the arobitect, Mr. J. FoBter, jun. The building is 
fronted with stone^ and has a fine portico of six Ionic co- 
lamns. In the front and wings are 138 windows. — At the 
junction of Pembroke-place and the London-road^ is a 
bronze equestrian Statue of George III. executed by West- 
macott ; which forms a very conspicuous and ornamental 
object. 

Strangers who are desirous of sea-bathing, will find accom- 
modation for that purpose in the Floating Bath, moored 
nearly opposite George's Pock Parade, where there is a 
bath 80 feet long by 2? wide -y also two private baths with • 
dressing-rooms. 

The principal Inns and Taverns are, the King's Arms 
Hotel, Castle-street; Talbot Hotel, Water-street; Golden 
Lion, Dale-street; Angel Inn, ditto; George Inn, ditto; 
WeUinffton Arms, ditto ; Commercial Inn, ditto ; 8aracen'8 
Hcad,2itto ; Bull Inn, ditto ; Crown Inn, Red-cross-street; 
Star and Garter Tavern, Paradise-street; Castle Inn, Lord- 
street; Waterloo Hotel, Ranelagh-street; York Hotel, 
WilHan^son-square ; Feathers Inn, Clayton-square ; Castle 
Inn, ditto ; and Neptune Hotel, ditto. 
[For a list of the packets to Dublin, see page xxi.] 
Route from London to Holyhead^ through Coventry and 
Birmingham* 

Mikt, luu9» 

Angd, Woolpaok^ White Hjvt. 
Ciowa« Siigar-kMf. 

The BuUj the Cock. 

Saracen's head,Talbot« White Hors9« 

Saracen's hea4. Wheat-sheaf. 

fKiag^ Head* CT«v«i'fl Ann* 
i White aev. 

r Castle^ Hen and Chickens, Swa)i« 
I Nelson Hotel, Birmingham do. 

Lion, Swan. 

janii^hiiq Annf, T^lb(|l« Rffdl^ten* 

CocK. 

Fox^ Won# RAY?n md fielU T«ttot 

b 3 



Bi.AIbaa'k 




' 91 


Qunitabto 


.12i, 


ash 


BricUuIl - 


- 9|. 


434 


StQQ^ Stratford 


- 9 . 


. 524 


Towcester 


- 7^- 


60 


Daventry - 


-12 - 


72 


OunsmoorHeirth 


-l^. 


84J 


Co?eBtry 


. ^• 


- 90 


SUne Bridge 


- 8J. 


m 


abteiivlHn * •> 


• w . 


im 


WedMsbuy 


• 8 - 


im 




. 6i. 


ISS 


Sjuflpal, SAropt. • 


' 11 9 


124 


Wading Street 


- 7 . 


, 141 


Steewsbury - - - 


- 11 - 


152 


ncsiGiur * - - 


. 9 n 


.191 



XVi ITTNERAIIV Of MXntn, kt 

MUes, Inm. 



OflWtttfy *• • • 


9 - 170 Foxe«« Cross Keys. 


Chirck, Denbigh** 


-6-176 


Llangollen - * 


7 - 183 Handlim, Kiog'tHead. 


Corwen - 


.104-19^ 


Cernioge Moor 


• 13 . 206| 


Bettws 


. 9 • 215^ 


Capel Cerrig • 


- 5 - 220J 


Tyny Maes m 


. 8J-229 


Bangor - 


- 7 - S36 Castte. 


Menai Bridge - 


.2-238 


Caer Mon 


- 9i-247i 


Holyhead - . 


. 2 -2i^ Eagle and ChUd,JHibernian Hotel. 



At Birmingham the public buildings possess butcompaF- 
ratively little interest to what the manufactories present^ 
especially that of Messrs, Bolton and Watt, named SohOy 
which is an immense edifice, capable of accommodating 
1,000 workmen. The buildings most deserving notice are, 
St. Philip's Church, that of ^t. George (just completed), 
the New Baths ; the General Hospital \ the Theatre, to 
which are attached Assembly Rooms, and an hotel ; the 
two Public Libraries, and one or two others. In the 
Market Place is a fine statue of Lord Nelson by Westma- 
cott, erected in 1809. The population is about 107,000. 

Wolverhampton is noted for its manufactories of 
locks, japanned ware, &c. and lead furnaces. It is a very 
considerable place, having a population of nearly 37,006 
inhabitants. There are two churches — St. Peter s Colle- 
giate Church, and that of St. John, and three Episcopal 
chapels, besides meeting-houses. The country in the 
vicinity is remarkably beautiful. 

Shrewsbury is seated on a peninsula formed by the 
Severn, and although not a handsome town contains some 
objects worth viewing, — ^the Castle, the Abbey Church, 
St. Mary's, St. Chad's (a circular building, 100 feet in 
diameter), St. Giles's, the County Hall, and Gaol, and St. 
Chad's Walk, a delightful promenade alon? the banks of 
the Severn. The population is between 19,000 and 20,000. 
About a mile from Shrewsbury is a lofty column, erected 
to commemorate Lord Hill's achievemraits in the Penin- 
sals war. It is of the Grecian Doric Order, and has a 
statue of his Lordship on its summit. 

OswBSTRT stands on an emineace near the canal which 



unites the rivers Severn and Mersey. This town, which 
possesses a popula^tion of between 7,000 and 8,000, has a 
Town-hall, Free Grammar-School, and Theatre. Races 
are held here in September. 

Two miles from this place are the mins of J^^ktingtm 
Castle, situated on the borders of a Itdce. And about one 
mile from it, on the road to lian&rollen, is an ancient 
British military station^ on an insulated eminence of an 
oblonff form, surrounded by two ramparts, and fosses of 
great height and depth. This place is called Old Oswestry. 

Chirk is a considerable yfllage in Denbighshire, re- 
markable for the beauty of the scenery in the environs. 
In the vicinity of this place is a magnificent aoueduct, 
constructed for the purpose of carrying the Ellesmere 
Canal across a deep ravine. The length of the iron work 
is 1,007 feet J the neight from the surface of the roch, on 
the south side of the nver, 126 feet 8 inches. The breadth 
of the water-way within the iron-work is 1 1 feet 10 inches. 
The number of stone pillars, besides the abutments, is 18. 
Hus noble work was executed under the direction of Mr. 
Telford, the engineer. Chirh Castle is an ancient castel- 
lated mansion belonging to the Myddleton family ; the 
pictnre-gallery, which is 100 feet lon^ by 22 wide, con- 
tfuns some valuable paintings. There is a very extensive 
pro^)ect from the eminence on which this noble pile is 
seated. 

Llangollen is a small and mean town, but its Fale and 
thcvicinity are celebrated for their romantic beauty. Not 
far from this place is Fale Cruets Abbey, a singulariy 
beautiful ruin. 

Gapel Cerrig, or Curig, in Caernarvonshire, is a 
romantic spot that cannot fail to delight the admirer of 
fine natural scenery. The vale is bounded by Snowdon 
and the surrounding mountains, which here burst full 
upon the view, and present an alpine prospect. There is 
an excellent inn, built by Lord Penrhyn, whose property 
is situated here ; and it commands a fine view from its 
garden and terrace. 

Bangor is a small city and bishop's sec, situated at the 
tnonth of the Menai, near its .opening to the Lavan sands, 
in a narrow valley, between two low ridges of slate rock, 
opeidng to the south towards Snowdon, and terminating 



1^ ITINBRARV C^ HOgTiS. ^ 

northwards* about half a mile from tke Oathednd, ib litis 
beautiful Bay of Beaumaris. From the cburoh-yar4 is «Q 
extensive ana delightful view of that bay and the town of 
Beaumaris. The Cathedral is a low, plain, building : the 
present edifice was re-built in the reign of Henry VII., 
having continued in ruins during 90 years, after being 
burnt down in 1402, in the rebellion of Owen GJendower. 
ThQ choir was fitted up in a neat and elegant style by the 
late prelate, Dr- Warren. From the extensive bases of 
Snowdon to Penmaenmawr is a rich and fertile tract of 
ffrass and corn land, stretching along the windings of the 
Menai, the mouptaind in the back-ground irregularly re- 
tiring and advancing* but not so much as to form a vaje. 
In the vicinity of Bangor are several elegant villas. 

The Menai Chain Bridge, across the Menai Strait, is 
d60 feet wide, SO in breadth, and 100 above the level of 
the sea at spring tide. 

Two miles from Bangor, is Penrhyn Cattle, built about 
the reign of Henry VI., on the site of a palace belonging 
to Roderic Mwynog, in the 8th centurv. Tliis mansion 
was modernized andimproved from the designs of the lute 
James Wyatt, architect, and the buiFdings inclose a large 
i^uadrangle, with a gateway, tower, &c. The stables are 
inferior to none in the kingdom, either for elegance or ac- 
eommodation. The entrance to the Park is a noble gate- 
way, in the form of a Roman triumphal arch. 

HOLTHisAD, which is situt^ted on an island at the north- 
west corner of Andesea, has a handsome Church, an As- 
sembly Room, ^ Light-house, and a convenient harbour 
and pier. The promontory called the Head is a vast pi^s- 
eipice, hoUowea into caverns by the sea. One of the n^ost 
remarkable of these caverns is that known by the name of 
the ** Parliament House," which is accessible only by 
boats, at half-ebb tide. Here the vault is formed by s^p- 
parent arches of various forms supported on columns, so 
as to produce an astonishing scene. The high cliff affords 
shelter to numbers of birds j and on the summits of the 
loftiest crags lurks the peregrine falcon, whose eggs are 
highly esteemed by theepiciu-e, and ar^ sought fpr, by per- 
sons who pursue this dimcult and perilous trade, being let 
4owu by ropes from the precipice to the ne§,ts of the birds. 
Tb9. ]Mi»9£e iimK tW^ Pl»«e ^0 {rel»ii4 P SQ<»i4«re4 #s^^r 



imnniAitY or rovtbt &l 



adt 



^n that from LiTerpool. In stormy weather packets have 
been kept at sea two or three days j but in favourable wea- 
ther the passage is generally performed in nine hours, and 
sometimes even in six. The light of the Light-house is at 
an elevation of 200 feet above the level of the sea, and is 
visible over the whole of Caernarvon Bay. 

The two principal hotels in Holyhead are, Spencer^e, 
The Royal Mail Coach Office, and Moran's The Royal 
Memian Hotel. To one or other of these, all the mail 
and sta^e coaches go. The London mail arrives at present 
at BIX m the morning, and the coaches generally in the 
evening ; allowing travellers to Ireland time for a night's 
mt, before sailing. [For Packets, see p. xxiii.] 



Route from London to Bristol, 



Houiialoir 
Ootatook 



RcadiDg . 
WooBumpton 
Newtjory - 
Hungedbfd - 

MoJborough 
Cdne . ^ 
Ch^penham 
Box . 

Bath . % 
Keyndnm - 
Biatol . 



MiUu 

- 1 

7 • 16^ 

9^- 26 

13 - 39 

10 . 49 

6^- 55^ 



84 
3 

7 
13 
6ft 

7 - 99J 
6 - 105ft 
7J - 113 
6* . 119 



64 
67 
74 
87 
93ft 



Inns, 



GwtfgB, White Hart 

Son. 

Bear, George, Crown. 

AngeL 

Black Bear, Aogd. 

Castle, Marlborough Amu. 
Catberme Wheel, White Hart. 
Angel, White Hart. 

Lambk Greyhound, York Hotel, he, 

(Bush, Talbot, White Hart, FuB 
L Moon, White Lion. 



Reading, the county town of Berkshire, is a place of 
great antiquity, having been of imjjortance so far back as 
the time of the Saxons, but contains few objects of in- 
terest. The nrincipal are — the Town-hall, the Countv 
Gaol, and St. Mary's Church, which latter has a beautiful 
tower. The population is nearly 13,000. There are 
races on Bull-Marsh Heath on the thjrd Tuesday in 
August, and the two following days. 

Nkwbuky is noted in our annals as having been the 
«cene of two severe actions between Charles I., and the 



u innuA&ip Of RQVfM *•* 

PwUwnenUry army, in 1643 and 1644, U biHtk wWcU tliA 
king commanded his troops in person ; and near this town 
is Shaw-house, in which Charles held his head <{narter« aft 
the time of the second battle. The population is npwarda 
of 5,0()0. 

Marlborough, in Wiltshire, is an ancient town, with a 
population of 3,000 inhabitants. Here are two churehes^ 
&t. Mary's, near the centre of the town, and St. Petei's at 
the West end ; a Market-house containing a Council and 
Afisembly-room, &c. ; a County Gaol, &o. 

Chippenham, is seated on the Avon, across which is a 
handsome stone bridge. Four miles from this place is 
Corsham-house, a very handsome structure, in the later 
style of Gothic architecture, yet not so much desendng 
notice on this account as for the valuable collection of 
pictures it contains. 

Bath, so deservedly celebrated for the regularity and 
general beauty of its architecture, being built almost en- 
tirely of stone, ijresents a variety of structures which Cl^n- 
not here be particulariaed. Those to which the attention 
of a visitor should be principally directed, are, the Abbey 
Church or Cathedral, a beautiful specimen of the florid 
Gothic, finished in 1682; Bathwick Church, a modern 
Gothic structure; Wrfcot Church ; the Guildhall, in High" 
street; the Theatre, erected 1805 ; the Assembly Rooms, 
the Bath Literary Institution, the Circus, the Royal Ore- 
scent, also Queen-square, the North and South Parades, 
Sydney Gardens, &c. The population is nearly 37,000. 

There are four Public Baths, viz, the king's, the 
Queen's, the Hot, and the Cross Bath. Also two Priva^te 
Baths, vis. In Stall-street, and those erected on the site 
of the Abbey-house, by the Duke of Kingston. Attached 
to the King's and Queen's Baths is the Pump-room^ a 
very handsome structure, where a band performs for the 
entertainment of the visitors, during the season, which 
is in spring and autumn. The races are held in Sep?- 
tember, on Lansdown Hill. 

Bristol, the second commercial port in Great Britain^ 
has a population of about 53,000 inhabitants, and carries 
on an extensive trade with Ireland, the West Indies, Spain» 
and Portugal. It has likewise numerous manufactories. 
Oesid^s the Cathedral^ which presents some fine ap^ci- 



vttfnskiAit. of ftovTts, an. scri 

wshB of OotUc arcUtecture, tliere are niaeteen churches, 
tbe most remarkable of which is that of St. Mary Red- 
chSd, one of the noblest parochial churches in the king^ 
dom. The Bisliop's Palace, the City Library, the Com- 
mercial liooms in Corn-street, a handsome Ionic buildinr, 
the Docks, Harbour, &c. are also well worthy a 8traU|^rs 
inspection . The Assembly-room, in King-street has a 
handsome stone front, with four Corinthian columns, and 
a ]>ediment. In this city are several squares : the prin- 
cipal ones are — Queen's, St. James's, Portland, Somerset, 
and Berkeley squares. In the centre of Queen's-square, 
which is the largest, is an equestrian statue of William III, 
by Rysbrack. 




cllflfe is the room where he pretended to have discovered 
the poetns which he gave to the world as the original 
compositions of Rowley, a Bristowyan monk of the 15th 
eentioy. In the Cathedral, too, is the monument of Mrs. 
Dfaper, immortalized by Sterne under the name of his 
Elba 5 and in St. Mary's Rcdclifie is that of Sir W. Penn, 
father of the celebrated founder of Pennsylvania. Bristol 
is also hiteresting as the birth-place of Dr. Southey, 
Mrs. Robinson, and Ann Yearsley. 

About a mile from the city Is the romantic village of 
Cliftoii, seated on a hanging rock above the Avon. The 
hot-wells at this place are a great resort for iuvalids. 

Having thus conducted the traveller to Liverpool, Holy- 
head, and Bristol, we shall now notice the packets that Sail 
from each of those places, in the same order. 



PACKETS TO DUBLIN- 

St8AM-packbt£(frojh LivERP00L,-*viz. the city of Dul)- 
h Steam- Packet Company's Office, No. 18 Water-street ; 
the St. Oeorge Company's Office, 19 fTater-street ', and the 
Dublin and Liverpool Steam Navigation Company's Office, 
i^o. 10 Water-street. The vessels connected with the 
fct mentioned office, are— 



xxii iTmsaARY or routes, to. 

The Bibernk, of upwards of 300 tons, with two engines 
of 70 horse power each, launched in 1825. This vessel 
carries passengers only. 

The Vitp 0/ Dublin, 300 tons, with two engines of 65 
horse power each, carrying passengers and merchandise. 

The Town of Liverpool, of the same tonnage and power 
as the City of Dublin, also carrying passengers and mer- 
chandize. 

A new vessel of the same tonnage and power as the Hi- 
hernia, called the Britannia, will shortly commence sailing 
between Liverpool and Dublin ; and it is intended that 
one or other of these two should sail from Liverpool every 
evening (Sundavs excepted) at 8 o'clock. 

The City of Dublin and Town of Liverpool, sail alter- 
nately every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, at 8 
o'clock in the evening. The cabin fares in all these ves- 
sels, are one guinea each person, and 2*. 6d, for the steward. 
The fare in the steeraj?e is half a guinea each, and on the 
deck 5 shillings. Children under ten years of age, half- 
price. A four-wheeled carriage is charged 3 guineas, a 
two-wheeled carriage 2 guineas, horses 2 guineas each. 
(No charge for shipping or landing the above.) Passen- 
gers are landed at the Custom House Quay, Dublin ; from 
whence, hackney-coaches or jaunting cars may be had to 
any part of Dublin. The office in Dublin for these 
packets, is at No. 17, Eden Quay. 

The vessels connected with the office of St. George's 
Company, are. 

The St. George of 300 tons, with two engines of 60 
horse power each. ^ This sails for Dublin every Monday, 
Wednesday, and Friday, two hours before high-water, and 
lands her passengers at Kingstoun Harbour, from whence 
they are conveyed to Dublin, free of expense j or, should 
the tide and weather permit, they are landed at the Custom 
House Quay in Dublin. 

The Emerald hie, of 400 tons, with two engines of 75 
horse power each, sails for Dublin every Saturday, landing 
her passengers at Kingstoun Harbour, from whence, to 
Dublin, they are conveyed free of expense. 

Two fine new steam packets, called the LordBlaney and 
the St. Patrick, will shortly be started by the St. George 
Company, between Liverpool and Dublin. Office in Dun- 
lin, No. 2, Lower Abbey-street. 



immURY OP AOOTIS, te. zxiii 

The fares ia the abore vessels are exactly the same as 
those of the City of Dublin Steam-packet Company* and 
therefore need not be repeated here. 

The third office, that of the Dublin and Liverpool Steam 
Namgation Company, has three vessels, the Itiffey, the 
Menejf, and the Mona ; one of these sails every day for 
Dublin, except Sundays* carrying passengers and mer- 
chandize* ana landing at the Custom House Quay* Dub- 
lin : the fares are the same as those of the two former- 
menlioned companies. Office in Dublin* No. 12* Eden 
Quay. 

Packets from Holthbad.— The present Post-office 

packets are* the Harlequin, the Cinderella, and the 

jfkddin. One of these sails every mornin^r at half ^ast 

six, or thereabouts* having sometimes to wait a short time 

for the Chester mail. The vessels come close up to the 

quaj, allowing passengers to go on board without 

aaYiQg need of small boats ; and the cabin fares are one 

gunea* with 2s. 6d, to the first steward* and one shilling 

to the second. The steerage fare is five shillings each. 

Servants half price. 

The Post-office packets land the mail and passengers at 
Howth harbour* situated seven miles from Dublin* where 
a stage coach is always waiting their arrival to convey pas« 
sengers to Dublin, and a mSl coach* for the mails* and 
those passengers who are quick enough to avail themselves 
of it. The charges by these coaches are 3^ . 6d, each person. 

Besides these there are commonlv a number of jaunting 
cars in waiting* the drivers of wnich will undertake to 
carry from four to six persons* with their luggage* if not 
bulky : with these it will be necessary for the traveller to 
make a bargain for the cost of the journey to Dublin* and 
be must not be surprised at being asked considerably 
more than will ultimately be taken. Strange as these 
vehicles appear to the eye of the traveller* ne will find 
them, in good weather* a very pleasant conveyance to the 
city. 

Travellers wishing to' stay at Howth to rest after the 
&tigue of the voyage* will find an excellent hotel there* 
l^ept by Mr. McDowell ; who can supply them with capitaj 
foBt ch^es tq pulrUn, 



xidf ftiMkAXt or nomtss, tuy 

PAditJitsi i-ROM BRisTOli.-^itice tlie e^tablisHtn^fit of 
steam-packets, numbers of travellers have annually visited 
Dublin by way of Bristol. There are at ptesent, tw6 
vessels on this station, the Emerald Isle, and the Pal- 
merston. 

The Emerald hie, of 400 tons ftnd two engines of ?6 
horse power each, sails for Dublin every Wednesday, two 
hours oefore high water, carrying" passengers only. The 
fares are in the cabin 2^ guineas, steerage 1/. 1 1«. ^d,, 
and deck 15*.; a four-wheeled carriage o guineas, twd- 
wheeled do. 4 guineas, horses 4 guineas each^ and 
dogs 7s. 6d, 

The Palmerston of 180 tons, with two engines of 45 
horse power each, leaves Bristol every Tuesday, can*ying 

Sassengers only, and landing at Sir Jonn Rogerson's Quay, 
Dublin. The_ fares for passengers, carriages, &c. are ex- 
actly the same as those of the Emerald isie. The ag-ent 
for both these vessels in Bristol is Mr. R. Smart, No. l^ 

Suay Head 3 and in Dublin, for the Emerald Isle, If. 
ayes, No. 2, Lower Abbey-street ; and for the Palmer- 
ston, €). and R. Elliott, Sackville-street. 



GENERAL OBSERVATIONS. 

SuppOfifiKOthe ti 'avellerto have arrived at any of the pdlrti 
mentioned above, on his way to Dublin, his first oare 
should be to secui e his birth, as, from the ^reat niini2>er 
of passengers constantly ^oing and returning, he may 
otherv^ise nave to fiake up nis ouarters on the cabin-ftopr* 
At the respective c ffices, he will always find a plan of the 
vessels, with the births numbered, and on making his selec- 
tion and paying his fare, he wiU receive a ticket, which 
he shoula be careful in preserving, as it will be asked for 
again before he leaves the vessel. 

Some years ago, when only sailing packets were oa 
these stations, the cares of the tourist were further in- 
creased by his havins^ to supply himself with provisions 
for the voyage, which it was alvvayd difficult for him to do 
properly, as ne could not calculate on the probable length 
of its duration 5 but the great certainty with which stectoi* 



ptckeU now make tkeir voya|;e8^ and the excellent accom- 
modations, both as to provisions, and wines, spirits, &c., 
have now rendered this unnecessary, and he willfind every 
thin^ he can want on board. Supplied at moderate charges. 
Ladies are now, for the most part, waited upon by female 
stewards, who have become as inured to tne sea as the 
sailors themaelves. 

The changing of money, whilst only paper was in cir- 
culation, was another great inconvenience which is now 
also very nearly done awaywith. The notes of the Bank of 
England were current in Dublin, but their precise value 
was not fixed, as it varied sometimes above, sometimes 
below, and at other times was exactly at par, which was 8^ 
per cent, or 2U. Sd, for the English pound. Sovereigns 
having now taken the place of paper, and English coinage 
having been ordered by government to be received always 
at par in Ireland, the only thing the traveller now has to 
care for is, tliat he should receive 21*. 8rf. Irish money 
for \u8 govereign, Bs. Sd. for his crown piece, 2#. 8irf. for 
his luilf crown, and U, Id.iot his shilling, and that he 
slioaJd bear this in mind in making his payments in Ire- 
land. Even this will shortly be done away with^ at the cur- 
rency of England and Ireland is ordered by government to 
he assimilated early in the ensuing year, and the coinage 
Avill then be the same. 

The detention at Custom-houses, and the searching of 
the luggage of passengers was another jnrievanoe, pecu- 
liarly msagreeable after the fatigues of a sea voyage : 
this is now quite removed, since the taking off of the 
cross-channel duties, and the passenger may land at once 
ivithout delay. Officers have still the power, however, to 
inspect the luggii^e, if they suspect any thing contraband 
to be concealea in it. To the experienced traveller, it is 
not necessary to recommend to keep an account of, and a 
good look-out after his packages, &c. 

It would be an ungracious office, where there are so 
many good hotels as in Dublin, to select any for recom- 
mendation before others ; a list of the principal of them 
is here given, leaving the traveller to make his own choice. 
He will find civility and moderate charges in all of them. 



HOTELS IN DUBLIN. 

Arthur Morrison • . • • Dawson-street. 

Thomas Gresham . . • . 2, Upper Sackville-street. 

William Tuthill 6 J , Dawson-street. 

Christopher Bilton 61, Sackville-street. 

Peter Dunne .19, Do. 

William Ryland ^. . . . 45, Do. 

Martin Ryan 164, G. Britain-street. 

Michael Hynes 46, Capel-street. 

Garret Cavanaffh 24, Stephen's green. 

Joseph Dollard 2, Bolton-street. 

Patrick Dwyer • • • # 51, Exchequer-street. 

Henry Mac Ardell 41, Do. 

Alexander Dempster 25, Bride-street. 

Patrick Coyle..... Esscx-street. 

Matthew Crosbie 14, Sackville-street. 

Thomas Macken 12, Dawaon-street. 

William Heron Portobello. 

Joseph Abbot 67, Dawson-street. 

Ann Mitchell Bridge-street. 

JohnCorbally 16, Boot-lane. 

Edward Oxford 38, Kildare-street. 

George Elvidge 28, Frederick-street. 

Andrew FarreU • 1, Dorset-street. 

George Jones 17, Sack viUe-street. 

Sarah Wilson 97, Capel-street. 

Francis Jones 47, Dawson-street. 

James Meade 6, Bolton-street. 



PERAMBULATIONS OF DUBLIN, 

Or Guide to all the Principal Public Buildings, Squares, 
Streets, and other objects which are deserving of the atlen^ 
tion of Visitors to the City of Dublin, The FourPerambu- 
lations traced out for the Stranger, may be performed in 
four days, or in a shorter space if his time be limited : 
but will admit of being dwelt on much longer should the 
convenience of the Tourist admit. 

The Visitor is here supposed to reside in Sackville-street, 
where there are several excellent hotels ^ but the directions 



ITmBfUHV OF IU>UTB8» M »vU 

m equally applicable should he happen to lodge in Dftw- 
fOB-streel, another avenue well suppfied with good hotels, 
Of any of the leading streets. 

First Pbiiambui*ation.— Let the Visitor, in Sackville^ 
street, direct his attention to the great extent of this 
noble avenue^ the splendor of the houses, formerly the 
mansions of the Irish nobility. Nelson's Pillar, the Post- 
office Cp. 165), the Dublin Institution (p. 40), the Club- 
house, the Friendly Brother*s-house, the Medical-hall, &c.: 
at the north end of the street see the Rotunda-rooms, ana 
Lying-in-hospital (p. 210). Passing down Great Britain- 
street, turn on the R. up Granby-row, into Palace-row, 
see here Lord Charlemont's town residence (p. 153), con- 
taining some valuable paintings, &c.|; then proceed up Gar- 
diner's-row, l)y Belvidere-house, into Gardiner*s-place, and 
thence into Mountjoy-square ; afterwards down Gardiner- 
street, to the Custom-house (p. 1/2), which is seen stand- 
ing %t tl^e termmation of this fine vista. Having visited 
the Long-room in the Custom-house, the stranger should 
next fiispect the pocks and Stores^ from whence there is a 
dejfghtful ' ride or walk along the North Quay to the 
Light-house. — Returning by the same beautiful pro- 
menade pass the front of the Custom-house, and reaphing 
Marlborongh-street, pasp up to its intersection with 
Abbey-street, then turn to the L. opposite to the Wesleyan 
Chapel, and visit the Royal Hibernian Academy of Arts 
(p. 238], and so return to'Sackville-street. 

Second FjsBAMnuLATioN. — Crossing Carlisle-bridsre 
(p. 149), pass down Westmorland-street, see on the R. the 
splendid portico of the Bank, which was formerly the prin- 
cipal entrance to the House of Lords : on the L. is the 
College (p. 11), fronting College-green, in the centre of 
which is seen the equestrian ^statue of William III. Pass- 
iug by the College proceed up Grafton-street, where on the 
L. is the Provost's-house (p. 19), and, opposite, the Royal 
Irish Academy (p. 39). The first turn on the L, is Nassau- 
street 3 which conducts by Leinster and Clare streets, to 
Merrion-s<juare (p. 141), where on the W. side is a fine 
view of Lemster-hoHse and Lawn; and at the angle formed 
^y the W. and S. sides, there is an extensive view terminated 
k the distance by St. Stephen's-chapel (p. 8o) i advancing 
^teBtefa Fiftwiljwm-street is met, oft th^ R., whicl^ l^aM 
c 3 



Mviii rriNEtiAftV OJ^ MtTftB, kc. 

to a small but pretty area called Fltzwilliam-square. Passing; 
along the £. and Id. sides, turn on the L. into Pembroke- 
street, thence into Leeson-street, turning to the R. ; then the 
noble square cjdled Stephen's-green is reached (p. 139). 
Here, on the S. side, is Mr. Whafey's noble mansion, distin- 
guished by a Lion couchant over the portico ; and on the 
W. Surgeons'-hall, at the comer of York-street (p. 199). 
The first turn on the N. is Dawson-street, here see the 
Mansion-house (p. 105), and St. Anne's Church (p. 71); 
and turn on the ft. into Moles worth- street, at the end of 
which, but in Kildare-street, stands the Royal Dublin 
Society' s-house, formerly the palace of the Duke of Lein- 
ster (p. 28) ; the L. conducts by the Kildare Club-house, 
into Nassau-street, and on the L. again by Morrison's Hotel 
into Grafton-street ; crossing which, and passing down 
Suffolk-street, visit St. Andrew's, usually called the Round 
Church, and turning to the R. do^vn Church-lane, cross 
by King William's Statue into Foster-place, whence a 
lane at the rear of the National Bank leads into Fleet- 
street, which communicates with Aston's Quay by Price's 
Lane. On the L. here is the Iron-bridge, ana on the 
R. Carlisle-bridge, which brings you to Sackyille-street 
again. 

Third Perambulation. — ^The extreme end of Sack- 
ville-street is crossed by Great Britain-street, which con- 
ducts, in front of the Lying-in-hospital, by a long avenue, 
to Capel-street. Simpson's Hospital (p. 131) was passed 
on the R. Nearly opposite to the termination of Great Bri- 
tain-street, in Capel-street, is Little Britain-street, which 
opens to the Fruit Market, and on the R. to Green-street, 
where are Newgate, the Sessions House, the Marshalsea, 
and the Sheriffs^ Prison. Passing up Green-street, turn 
to the L. down Kin^-street-walk ; on the R. Linen-hall 
street leads to the Linen-hall (p. 186), and on the L. is 
Anne-street, where there is a very beautiful Roman Ca- 
tholic ohapel (p. 89). Proceeding again by Kin^-street, 
gass Smithfield, the great Cattle Market, and arriving at 
t. Paul's Church (p. 79), turn on the L. down Blackhall- 
place to the Blue-coat-hospital (p. 194), fronting a noble 
avenue, Blackhall-street ; cross the front of the Hospital, 
and pass do^vn Wood-lane into Barrack-street, turn to the 
B. and see the Royal Barracks ^ thence up Barrack-street, 



itmsAAM OF ftotrrcs, ««. xxix 

Phceni^-streett -to the Phcenix-park, where are the Wei- 
linfirton Testimonial in front, and the Royal Infirmary on the 
R. (p. 225) : and drire to the Lord Lieutenant's Lodge and 
Phoenix Column. Return to town by the North Circular^ 
road (the approach by which his Ms^esty was conducted 
to visit the city), down Eccles-street and Temple-street, 
and passincr George's Church, at the end of Upper Tem- 
ple-street, turn to the R. into Rutland-square, and so back 
toSackville-street again. 

Fourth Pbrahbulation.— ^Passing over Carlisle-bridge 
and down Westmorland-street, turn on the R. into College- 
green, where are, on the R. the Bank of Ireland (p. 22), 
on the L. the Royal Arcade, and farther on the R., the 
Commercial Buildings Cp. 1 78). Shortly after Dame-street 
is entered : the secondT turn on the L. is Palace-street, 
wluch commimicates with the Lower Castle-yard, where 
are the Chapel (p. 8), the old Treasury, &c.} the arch- 
Nvay on the top ot the hill on the R. leads into the Upper 
Castle-yard. The great gate on the R. leads into Castle- 
street j on the R. stands the Royal Exchange, on the L. 
Newcomen's Bank (now closed), and in front is Cork-hill. 
Turning ta the L. up Castle-street, proceed to its interseO' 
tion wifli Werburgh's and Fishamble streets, and see to the 
R. the old Cathednd of Christ Church. Then turn on the L. 
into Werburgh'srstreet, pass St. Werburgh's Churchmen 
the L., advance to Bride-street, pass St. Bride's Church on 
the R., and the second turn on the R. leads to St. Patrick's 
Cathedral (p. 42) ; from thegrand entrance turn on to the L., 
and then the first street on the R. ^the Cross Poddle), leads 
to the Coombe, see the Weaver's tiall (p. 109) on the R. 
and St. Luke's Church on the L. Meath-street on the R. 
conducts to Thomas-street ; turn to the L., nass St. Cathe- 
rine's Church, and proceed onward to the Obelisk, see St. 
James's Church (p. 7^) on the R. ; here James-street on the 
L. leads to the Foundling Hospital (p. 228), and Bow-lane; 
on the R. to Swift's, Steevens's, and the Royal Hospital. 
After visiting the last-mentioned place (the residence of 
the Commander of the Forces), return through the Hos- 
pital-fields, on the bank of the river Liffey, and reach the 
Quay. WaUs by the beautiful castellated entrance at Bar- 
rack-bridge. Advance towards the mouth of the river, 
aion^lJa&T'a Island, pass Moira House^ now the Mendi^ 



^\%f Society^ proceed by either side of the river^ and visft 
*t|ie Four Courts, finely situated on the Inns' Quay. The^, 
Btill pursuing the bank of the river, pa^s Essex-bridge, 
^ron-Dridge, see the Merchants' Hall on Aston's Quay, 
find arrive at Carlisle-bridge and Sackville-street once 
more. Ju the course of these four perainbulatioi^s, the 
Bfrfinger >yill have an oppqy tunity of viewing every ipopor- 
lant pi: interesting object in the city. 

After satisfying his curiosity in Dublin, should time 
permit him to extend his tour in the countiy, the tourist 
Ifirill find much to iuterest, amuse, apd astonish him. 

A few days tour in the adjoining County of Wichlqw, 
would amply repay him, by views of the finest scenery 
Ift Ireland. 

The Lakes of Kiilarnej^, situated about 200 English 
miles frqm Duplin, have, for a long period, attracted tra- 
vellers from all parts of the empire, and are well worthy 
^tten^ion. 

The stupendous work of nature, the Giant' 9 Causeway, 
ill the north of Ireland, has long been considered one of 
the most interesting sights in the world ; and travellers 
who wish to return by way of Scotland, will lose but very 
little time by visiting it. To go back by Scotland, the 
tourist must g^ to Belfast, from whence packets sail seve- 
ral times a week for Greenock and Glasgow. A mail- 
(^Qach leaves Belfast for Donaghadee every morning on the 
arrival of the publin mail, and from thence the traveller 
may go to Port Patrick, by the recently-established Post- 
0$ce steam packets, in two or three hours. 
. Belfast is 100 English miles from Dublin, and the 
Giant's Causeway is about 60 English miles north of 3el- 
fy^U to which town the traveller must again return. 

To these three principal pleasure tours in Ireland ffuide^ 
jpay be had^ written by the author of the following sheets, 
III which every thing of interest is ppinted put, accompii- 
nied by several views of the nipst remarkable scenery. 
For particulars of these guides, see the advertisement ^t 
ihe end of the voluine. 

Haying thus pointed out tp the tourist the parts of the 
country most likely tP interest him, the fqUowiug routes 
4re ^niiexed, to conduct him to Cork» Belfast, or Doiumfh- 
adee, ag tbe places frop^wblch )(e U most likely ^oeia- 
bark on taking leave of Ireland. 



ITINCRARY OF fiOUTBS, te. XXXi 

RaiUefram Dublin to Cork, 
1. through Clonmbl. — 2. through Gashel. 



From Dublin 






FromDubii] 


1 




m. 


/. 




«./, 


lUOiooole - 


- 8 








Nmb - . 


- 7 








gii«iiifn 


- 5 








Athy 


- IS 




ToAthy - 


. It 


CartlecomCT - 


- 12 




-StiBdbdly - 


. 6 5 


Kiftenny - 


. 9 




— Abbyleix - 


- 11 


CaiUbn 


- 7 




— Dunow 


.50 


Ckmmi 


- le 






- 8 


Clo^uen . 


- 11 




— Littleton 


. 8 


Kilwortfa - 


- 11 




— Cashel 


- 8 7 


Femioy 


- 8 




— Caher - , - 


.86 




- 5 






-15 7 


.Coik - 


- IJ 




— Fennoy 


• 8 S 






— 


— Rathoonniidc - 


- 5 5 



121 7 — Cork - - - 15 5 

190 8 

Naa8, tlie Countv-town of Kildare> is situated on a 
branch of the Grand Canal, has a barrack and strong jaiU 
and a population of 3,073 persons, with 547 houses. Near 
Naas are the ruins of Jigcinstown Castle, built b'y the 
unfortunate Earl of Strafford. 

Athy, an ancient borough-town, is pleasantly situated 
on the river Barrow, and contains a population of about 
5,000 souls : near it are the ruins of some religious esta- 
blishments of veryr early foundation. 

Castleoomer is a neat village, much imnroved by the 
protection and bounty of the Countess of Ormond, who 
constantly resides at her beautiful seat near that place. 
Its population amounts to 1,000 souls. 

Kilkenny contains some splendid monastic remains. 
The Cathedral Church of St. Canice, with its many ancient 
toBibs i the Black Abbey and St. John's ; and the noble 
castle of the Marquis of Ormond, hanging over the river 
Nore, arc all deserving of the traveller's notice. There is 
a gallerv of paintings in Ormond Castle, and some weU- 
executea tapestry was preserved there. The College of 
Kilkenny has a deservedly high character as a Classical 



3tiEfil' ifrNHAaV oil' Roti-fe^, ^e. 

Seminary. Tlie popa]|itiQO.,<^ .the co^jnt^r of the city of 
Kilkenny amounts to 23,230 souls. The staple muiufac* 
ture is blankets.. , . ^ ,^ , 

Glonmel is a flourishing town, advantli^ously situated 
on the nobk.pyer Suir, by which a bri^k trade is carried 
on with Waterford ; part of the town is m Tipperary, and 
part in Waterford county. The population is returned 
at 15,590 inhabitants. Here are several Charitable Insti- 
tutional SchoQls, Asylums, and Hbs()itals; and neai* tt is 
Knocklpfty, the seat of Earl Donoughmore. 

The town of Feruot, the creation of the enterprising 
Mr. Anderson, is prettily situated on the river Blackwater. 
The streets are wide dnd regular ; the houses well built, 
and thfjre are extensive barracks here, find a pretty chUfch. 
The mansion of jthe founder is seen oji the river side in 
a sheltered situation. . Here is a classical school of cha- 
racter, and an extensive ^)rewery and corn stores. The 
population atnoiints to 6,702. 

The City oT GoiiK Stands on an island in the river Lee ; 
the county of the city contains 22 parishes, either whole 
or in part, with 100,658 inhabitants, and 12,202 houses, 
ft has many charitable and useful Institutions, a Foiiiid- 
ling Hospital, several Charity Schools, a Literary Institn- 
tion, a Cfathearal (St. Fijibar's), a Theatre and Assembly 
Rooms ; the Coktimercial Buildii^s, a handsome modem 
structure, to which a good Hotel is attached; the 
Exchangle, an old building; some gbod streets, the Mall 
particularly, and a pleasant walk, the Mardyke Parade. 
The new jail is also handsome. Cork has always been a 
place of much commercial importance, owing to its 
tf arbour, called the Cove of Cork, seven miles below the 
fcity 3 iere is a iiatural Basin of deep water, capable of 
floating the whole British Navy, completely land-locked 
and guarded at its narrow entrance by strong batteries. 
•This Was the port which Lord Minto prophesied was to 
become the emporium of Europe, if the union of Ireland 
with Great Britain should be accomplished. Steam-boats 
sail from Cork t6 Cove every day, by Black-rock and 
Passage, between sloping hills highly cultivated mid 
jbeautified by elegant seats both of the retired merchants 
and the cotmty gentry, who have gathered from the 
iiiteridt to those very beautiful Marine Villas. 



mNSBARY OF JIOUTBS/ *e# 3tX«iii 

The prin^M p]»e^ ofl tbe €»alieUi%e afe^ CMM« 
Gabor^ and MlteSetstown. . The tot is famous fbr tfaa 
aobli^t cdUectioB of ruiifs in Ireland^ boldly situated coi 
a lofty rock. ... 

GejuftAd; the eliapel 10 of ¥€97 earW .date. . There is a 
new Cathedral bere^ and a Chiuier School for 66 boys^ 
The population amounts to 5>974 jbouIs. 

GjUtAB is an in^roviiiF town, jiaving a handsome . new 
Church and R. C. Ghapd. . Lord Gledgall resides h^e^ 
There is a spiniiing-schdol in the Market house. The 
population is 3^288 persons : the number of houses 536. 

MiTCHxiiSTOWN is remarkable for a ranee of buildingSi 
called Lord Kingston's Charities^ and his Lordship's resi-* 
deuce adiaeeiit to the town: it contains about 4>000 
inhabitants. 

Route fr<m Dublin to Belfast and Donaghttdeiff. 



Kki^McL 


n^wUne, 0tiHUt6 


Muaeanb^ *x 




«i;/. 


Siarib J 


IttUMi - * 


• SO 


HBMif-War f 






fiHrudien >24 mOea 


Duleek . 




Baibriggan i 


brogheda 




omofftown \ 


Bimleer 




l6to,^ii& J 


iCtttte Bfeffilighttn 






LutsMiGrMii - 






Dundlik 






Newry - ». 






Lough faridUand 






Btobrid^ 






DtMAoto ■ 






HilliBoMtig^ • 






Lisbuni ^ 






Bel^ . 





BeifoB^ to Dmaghadee. 

Trbm Belfiut to Newtonards - - 7 4 
N^WtdtaVdaieoDon^hii^ « - 7 l 

14 6 

c6 



XXXir ITlNERARy OP ROUTES, 4e. 

The New Line passes through a bleak country ; there ig 
a comfortable inn with post-^horses, at Ashbourne, but no 
▼iUi^. Duleek> on the Nanny-Water^ is a small village : 
near it is the seat of Garnet, Esq. 

Droohbda is an old walled town, and one of the gates 
is in- good preservation. It stands on the river Boyne« 
and is partly in Meath, and partly in Louth Countiea. It 
has a toleraole trade, about 3,500 houses, and 18,000 in- 
habitants. Here is a handsome Church, St, Peter's, a 
good Market-house, Exchange, Mansion-house, Assembly 
Aooms, &c. Two miles from this town the famous battle 
of the Bpyne was fought, at Oldbridge, where an Obelisk 
stands to commemorate the victory : there is an agreeable 
ride i along the banks of the river towards this spot. 

Castle-Bellingham is a pretty village, containing a 
population of about 600 souls, ana is remarkable for the 
Ale Brewery. 

DuNDALK, the county-town of Louth, is a large busy 
town, containing 1,500 houses and 10,000 inhabitants. 
Lord Roden has a mansion here, and the Court House is 
one of the most chaste specimens of genuine Grecian 
architecture in the kingdom. Excellent accommodation 
for travellers to be had here. A Classical School of very 
high character is established at this place. 

Newry is a neat Borough and Market Town, in the 
Lordship of Newry, seated on the Newry water, and 
having a communication with Lough Neagh by means of 
the Newry Canal. The population of the Lordship is 
-10,186, and of the town 7,470. There is a pleasant ex- 
cursion hence to Rosstrevor, a picturesque watering-place 
upon Carlingford Bay. Here are many beautiful demesnes 
and lodges let during the summer season. There are 
good Inns and accommodation for travellers at Newry, 
and cars for hire to make excursions to Rosstrevor and 
the mountain scenery in the vicinity. 

The town of Hillsborough, containing 207 houses 
and 1,428 inhabitants, is extremely neat and well situated. 
Here is the snlendid mansion of the Marquis of Down- 
shire, and a Church remarkable for its three steeples, the 
central one being about 180 feet in height; within are 
some specihiens of stained glass. There is a good inn at 
this place. 



rrmcRARY of routis, *& xxxr 

LmBWH, m the County Antrim, is desenring the appeU 
bfion of a yery interestuff town : it is well bnilt, well 
nfnated, has rather an Em^sh character, prettily laid 
oat Pablic Gardens, a handsome Church with a steeple 
and spire: considerable trade is carried on here: the 
population is 4,684. 

BKifVAST, the most commercial town in tl^e province of 
Ulster, contidns about 40,000 inhabitants. It is chiefly 
the Estate of the Marquis of Donegal. The streets are 
wide and regularly disposed. There is one handsome 
Square, a Church and a Chapel of Ease, and numerous 
Meeting-Houses. The Academic Institution is a Seminary 
of very rising reputation. The Belfast Academy is a 
school of establisned character. The public buildings, 
with few exceptions, are of brick. There is a tolerable 
Theatre^ Commercial Buildings, and an admirable Reading 
Room, an old Exchange, . Workhouse, Infirmary, &c. 
Priyatc Banks, good Hotels, Steam Packets^ to Lirerpool 
and Glasgow, conveyances of various descriptions to the 
sceneiy of Antrim coast* and the county of Down. There 
are also two Newspapers sui^rted here. In the neigh- 
bourhood are the curious caverns in Cave Hill, and an 
excursion along the margin of Belfast Lough may be 
made with advantage on a tour to Cave Hill. The river 
liOgan rather runs by than through the town, and is the 
boundary between the Counties Antrim and Down : it is 
an insignificant river. Belfast is not the countv-town, 
bong of modem origin. Carrickfen^s, seven miles dis- 
tant on the northern side of Belfast Lough, still continues 
the Assize town of Antrim. The castle of Carrickfergus 
is an interesting object; it is very well preserved. 

The Midi proceeds every morning from Belfast to 
Newtonarda, thence to Donaghadee, and is conveyed to 
Portpatrick in Steam-boats. 



#7 



CORRIGENDA. 



Page S^tineVhM I»««^ *eai late. 

a, * *■ 9p ••> flaint^aw, • - OftUi^^. 

jClf • » M^ * * Cm* • • CbdIhii. 

Wt, • « Ml • ti AuMfalul^ * « AmMdaM. 

67» -•!»••• TwatuA, » * Tanmsy. 

T^ « - 9* •■ - inoome^ - - bequert. 
Ifi4» • •* fl» Hmmum Clarke. Esq. is linjoe.deoeaied* 
196, * <• to. - « IWiieB^ > . lata. 
199. ^ttttlMtliM. 

^AA - -** •Jy mill <>..... .ff«i i.ffi. fli«Mmit*iiM - »>*~» ' 

ZTC. ODK ttcory WHiiiiing s ixnieoiiGii vx viociires* 
S45. Jbr Thomas Mannini^ tscrnf Henry. 



X 



ANCIENT HIStOBY 
THE CITY OF DUBLIN. 



THE city of Dablin aneiently sttMMl on the «Mlt1i tide 
only of the ri^er Anna Lifiey, an incotMiderabte tlreani, 
and a^ for from Dublin Bay. The name DtthMn is de- 
rived from Dnb-leana, ** the {4aee ef the Meek ha«4>oiir :" 
and the name of the river trWA Amn Lbtfyfa^ *' tlie nmt 
TiTer/' beitt^ merely a moantain torrmt. Mae IViHciH, 
the Dane, erected a reeidenee en tkie northern aide <of Hie 
rifer^ which wai ealled after tihe Infaders EastMMaitowA^ 
since eorrapted into Oxmantowm; htot ha aftermtftla 
reaiovftd to the southern side. In 1172 and S, Henry IT. 
erected a lemperary pakce neat the site of St Andrew's 
Ckurdi^ where he entertained the Irish frinees, and 
receifed their promise of anhmisdon to be f otemed hy 
<he laws of En^and, and held a pailianieni at the same 
tlBie.~Thtrty-4seveB years alter, wh«i Kmg John arrived in 
Dnb^y and governed the kingdom in person, he received 
here ihe h^miafgd of many Irish princes, established 
courts of Jnstlee, and directed die Bishop of Norwich 
to lednce the coin of Ireland to Uie Bnglii^ atandai^. — In 
1216, Henry III. mnted Magna Chxirta to the inhabitants 
of Dahlift, and 9kt followii^ year gave the dty to the 
dtiizens^ in fee, for 200 marks per annum. The civil 
fsvMiunent of Dnblin was formerly eommitted to a 
ftovost and Bailifii.---Ia 1409, Thomas, SMeo of Lan- 
esiter, the Kiag^ aon^ Imtif Laid Lieutenant^ the (Hie 
^ the diM magistrate was changed to that of Mayor.*-* 
(Utiles H. gtgoM « eOmpany of foot aoldiers to attend 
(hsMayorwmmged the tide to Lord Mayor, «nd v/vrt^ 
^riis,apt]i*mof60W.p«r«am^ Wie firal wHe l)«ro 



2 KVCtBSrmBrow. 

the title of Lord Mayor was Sir Daniel Bellingham. 
Arthur, Earl of Essex, considerably improved the civil 
establishment of Dublin^and George II. regulated the cor- 
poration according to its present form. 

James II. held a parliament in Dublin^ for the purpose 
of repealing all the Acts of Settlement ; and witn great 
cruelty and dishonour, forced upon the inhabitants the 
basest coin that ever was put into circulation -, he caused 
all the useless brass' and pewter in the ordnance stores to 
be melted down, cast, and stamped, and the value of 
each piece was to be estimated by the impress marked 
upon it, not by its real value. His treatment of the 
University exceeded, if possible, the baseness of his 
other acts; 'he > directed them to receive an inefficient 
person to fill one of their senior fellowships, which they, 
with becoming dignitv, resisted, upon which a military 
force was led (gainst them, and many of the members cast 
into prison ; they were; however, after some time, re^ 
leased froin confinement, on the express condition,' that if 
they re-assembled, -they should be punished with death. 
The general opinion is, that James intended to convert the 
University into a college of Jesuits. * He, however, 
bestowed the Provostship upon Moor, a Popish prelate, 
a man j^ossessed of a great love of letters, and who suc- 
ceeded in preserving the books and manuscripts from the 
hands of the soldiery. About two years after, the in- 
sulted heads of the university had a powerful proof of 
the tust punishment that awaits the sinner even in this 
'world,- in the overthrow of James at the ^battle of > the 
'Boyne, and his precipitate flight into France. On this 
occasion, Robert Fitz-Gerald, ancestor of the Duk« of 
Leinstel^ seized on the city in the name of King William, 
and after .expelling all the followers of the misguided 
James, restored the University and civil magistracy into 
the hands of Protestants. 

> After the accession of Wijliam, Ireland enjoyed almost 
perfect tranquillity^ for nearly a century. In 1?29, an at- 
'tempt was made, to supersede the neeessity of holding a 
parliament in Ireland; by procuring the su|mlies for the 
succeeding twenty-one years. Fortunately this attempt 
waa frustrated, and the motion lost by*a< majority of one. 
ParUwpi^t then sat in the-Blue^coat HoeiHtal in Ojhvru^ 



AKCIfiNT RIi^TORY.. . 3 

tovn*Green ; but in that vear the first 8t<me Was kid 6f 
tbe Parliament Honse in College Green (now the Bank of. 
Ireland)^ when John Lord Carteret was Lord. Lieutenant. 
In 1768^ Dr. Lucas^ representative of the. City« framed 
an Act, limiting the duration of parliament to eight years. * 
In 1798, when Lord Camden was chief srovernor^ rel>ellion . 
broke out in the counties of Kildare, Wexfordii and Wick-, 
low, -which extended over the principal part of the king- 
dom before it was suppressed^ ana during which period 
many persons were executed. 

After a lapse of two' years^ the rebellion, completely, 
subsided^ but in 1800 the city was thrown into.ffreat con- 
fusion and disorder, by . the introduction of the Act pf 
Union between Great Britain and Ireland. This, measure 
has serionsly changed the appearance of Dublin: with 
the removal of its .parliament the nobility of Ireland 
withdrew to England, and left their palaces in Dublin 
either to fall to decay, or be converted into public offices, 
hotels, or charitable institutions. The residence of the 
Duke of Leinster, the most splendid in Dublin, is become 
the Dublin-Society's House. The Stamp-office is kept in' 
the mansion of the Powerscourt family. That of the late 
countess of Moira is fitted .'up f(H: .Mendicants, by. the As- 
sociation. Aldborough house is converted, into a classical 
school. The Marquis of Drogheda's has been purchased 
by the Bible Society, and part of it transformed into a 
book-shop. ' And the. Marquis of Sligo's is an hotel. , 

While the public mind was still inflamed at the Act of 
Union having passed, it was not likely to be calmed by 
the emigration of the .nobles 3 some of- wl^om having dis- 
posed of their estates in Ireland, set sail with the inten- 
tion of never re-visiting their native land. In this situa- . 
tion of affairs, Robert Emmet, . a .man tO: whom nature 
had ^ven the means of arriving at the highest honours in 
the state, placed himself at the head of a body of insur- 
gents, who rose on. the 23rd July. 1803, in Thoinas-street, 
so unexpectedly, that the first intimation of the insurrec- 
tion .received at the castle, was ^ven by the Hon. Miss 
Wolfe, whose father. Lord Kil warden, had been dragged 
from his carriage, and murdered in the streets. The in-, 
surgents were first met by Mr. Wilson, a magistrate, wij^h 
a small body of mep,. and afterwards by Lieutenant Brady. 



4 oEooiiAfMaAiiOMaiirnoN. 

of tlM 21fl regkMiitf wlio witii a ptrtY of 40 aoldWn^ 
siicowdod ia totally dlap«niaf the inoD» fife of whom 
were killtd and many taken prisoAera. The insnrgeiitft 
then vnthdrew, after having merely sueoeeded in alarming^ 
the gQfvevnnieat.«<4mmediatelv after, Emmet and hia ao- 
oompUeet were anrestedy triea, condemned and execnled. 
FVom that period, Duhim has ei^oyed tranqailLity ; and 
^thoagh the consaqneneet of the Union are still severely 
falty the pnUio mind is becoming daily reeonciied. 

Of the ancient city> which was walled in by the Panes in 
tl|e ninth oentnry, the walls, which may still be traced, did 
not exceed one mile in length. From the north tower of the . 
castle they were eontinued over Cork Hill, near which 
was an entrance called Dama'a-gate, looking towards 
Hoggin's (now College) green* ^«ear Essex Bridge stood 
aamler entrance, called £ssex«gate, erected on the site 
of Isod's Tower. The wall then extended N. N. W. along 
the river, to the end of Fishamble-street. Here stood 
Fyan'a Castle, which was sometimes used as a state 
piison. 

It then proceeded along Wood Quay to the end of 
Wine*tavem«4treet, where was another tower, and con- 
tinning still by the river, joined a castle, through which 
was one of the principal entrances into the city, opposite 
Bridge*street. The next traces are to be found on the 
west side of Bridffe^street in New^row, thence it stretched 
up the hill to Cut«Parie^K)w, at the end of which stood 
Newgate, where criminala of the worst description were 
impnsoned t Bome of the towers are still to be seen at the 
rear of the houses in Cut-Parse^row and Corn-market. 
From Orn-market it ran at the rear of Back4ane to 
Nieholas-gate ; thence it passed between Aoss-lane and 
Brlde's-alley to Pool^gate, or as it was afterwards called 
Welbttrgh*s-gate $ from thence it proceeded in a straight 
line nntu it united with the castle at Birmingham Tower, 
where a oonsideraUe part of the wall may yet be seen.-^ 
In 1069, the population of Dublin amounted to 8,159. 
Skich was the eity of Dublin not more than four or five 
centuries baok, let the reader compare it with the History 
of Dublin as it now is. 

OloeftAPHiCA^ DB9€niPTioN.'-*-DuBUN is situated, in 
Iifit . Wf SI, N, Len, (, 15, W. immediately opposite the i;;oaat 



ofNoHh Wales. Itis not more than one mile firom the bay 
of that name^ which is a large semi-circular basin about 
eight miles in diamelery into which the Lifiey empties 
itself, after running through the city, which it divides 
into two equal parts, in a direction from west to eiut. 
This large bay as rendered :peculiarly dangerous by the 
breakers and shallows caused by two large sand banks^ 
c^Iedthe North and ^uth Bulls. . ^ 

The perils of a midnight approach to the city are greatly 
diminished by the erection ofa mole of 30 feet in breadth, 
and 8,660 yards in length, extending into the bay, on the 
extremity of which stands a light-house of a circular form; 
and particularly light and elegant construction. Tlie diffi- 
culty of erecting a building of three- stories in height, in 
such a situation was very great, and may fatrlv be com- 
pared to those^ attending the erection of the Eddistone or 
Tuscard Light-houses, as it is in never-ending conflict 
with winds and waves.— The north side of the harbour is 
sheltered by the hill of Howth, a peninsula of consider- 
able extent 5 on the most prominent point of which,' called 
the BaHey, another light-house is erected, corre8i>onding 
to the one in the centre of the bay, thus rendering the 
entrance of the harbour perfectly distinct at all seasons.-^ 
Under the north-west siae of this mountain, an extensive 
pier has been built, and a. spacious harbour enclosed, 
where the Holyhead packets put in. Another pier is just 
completed, at the south side of the bay, to afiord shelter 
for shippings when they cannot make the pier of Howth ; 
this wau, which has several turns to avoid the'accumu- 
lation of sand, is built of mountain-granite, drawn from 
the hills of Killiney, and is called the King's-town pier; 

The bay of Dublin has long been celebrated for its pic« 
tnresque beauty. Howth, from its height and situation, 
has been considered not unlike Vesuvius on the bay of 
Naples, and the majestic amphi-theatre of mountains 
encompassing Dublin, forms a most sublime and perfect 
back-ground to the scene. — ^The mouth of the river is 
guarded by a strong fortress on the south wall; called the 
Pigeon-house, where a corps of artillery is stationed. 
From Ringsend point, where the Liffey discharges its 
waters into the bay, the stone quays of Dublin commence, 
dod Qontinue on both sides of the river for the space of 
B 3 



s nattmuk 

Ami nAd \ tei Ot ttwitigM derired flroi» the em- 
iMUilciair ^ Wi ttswliAlMeme stmni^ by franite wella, of 
•nek cjctent wd worluMnship as vr% not exceeded by any 
city b BuvqMy were nol dewiy pureliMed i^ ibe expense 
of a trifltay. 9«vi:^ trtbttte,«^The river is crossed by six 
bandsome stone bridn^ and one of ea8t4ron. Two canals 
;iAso» wbkb eenmuwcato with tbe interior of tbe kingf- 
dom» nearly insulate tbe dty, and terminate in extensive 
wet«dookt« oa tbe aortb and soutb sides of tbe oity. and 
ao eosamnaioate witb tbe Lifiey.— -Tbeae canals are navi- 
nable for boats of 60 tons* and contribute materially to 
tbe obeapness of ^ Dublin markets, by a constant sup- 



S! of fiiel aadprovisions from remote parts of Ireland.*— 
e form of Dublin is nearly a rigrbt-anffled parallelo- 
|pnm» wbose longer ride measures nearly tSree miles, and 
sborter» about two.*«-Tbe eity is encompassed by a road, 
called tbe Cireular^road* extending ten wles.-^DubJin 
contains 19 parisbesi 2 eatbedrals, 20 cburobes, meet- 
Inff-bottses of almost every religious sect, with 27 Roman 
CatboUc cliapels.-«i^o eity> in proportion, abounds more 
ki asagnificent buildings or cbaritabld institutions. Tbe 
popalation does not exceed 80q,000. 



TUB OASTLE. 



T«ia ediicof wldcb was bnilt by Henry de Loundres, 
Avebbisbop of Dublin, an 1820, was first used as a vico- 
9ffal rtsidenoe in 1660, by order of Queen £Usabetb.*-^ 
Tbe principal entrance is trom Cork^bill, into tbe upper 
cattle yard. This court, which contains tbe apartments of 
the Lord liieuteaant and suite, is in tbe form of a quad- 
rangle, SBO fset by ld0« The principal entrance, the eastern 
gate, is ornamented by a statue of Justice } and a corres- 
ponding gate, on tbe same side of the court, is surmounted 
by a statue of Fortitude, both the workmanship of Van* 
Kost J the interval between tbe real and artincial gate. 
is occupied by a building of two stories, exbibiting Ionic 
columns* on msticated arches, supporting a pediment^ 
and fram this rises a circular tower of the Corinthian 
ordor, terwinatbur in a cupola, ball, and vane, from which 
the l«f ie hoisted on state dart* Tbis building supplies 



loeoiiiiiiodatioii for the Master of the Ceremoides, and 
tbe AidtMo^Camp to hU GxoeUenoy ; »ndt1i# part towardB 
the street is used aa a guard^room. — ^The colonQade on 
Iba oppoaite pide of tne quadrangle is the principal 
entrance to the Royal apartments ; at the extremity of this 
iiolonnade is a handsome flight of steps leading to the 
Veomen'a Hall, and thenee to the Presence Chamber, 
wharo atmida the throne erected for George IV., covered 
with orimson velvet, and richly ornamented with gilt 
carved-work. From the eeiling of this apartment hangs a 
magnificent glass lustre, the ^ft of the Duke of Rutland, 
which was purchased at the celebrated gUss manufactory 
in Waierford. 

The next object of attraction is St. Patrick's Hall, 
where balls and assemblies are held on St. Patrick's and 
other nights i this, which is a truly princely apartment, 
38 feet high, 82 long, and 41 broad, was laid out in its 
present superb style at the institution of the Order of St. 
Vatriek, 1 783, There are thrive excellent jpaintings, inlaid 
in the ceiling, the centre is of a circular form, the others 
ohlongi one of the latter represents St. Patrick convert- 
ing the Druids ; ip the corresponding piece, Henry II., 
receiving submission f^om the petty Kings of Ireland, 
1 172, appjears seated undf^r a rich canopy j and in the cen- 
tral painting, which i^ an allegorical representation of the 
flourishing state of the country, George III. appears sup- 
ported by Justice and (liberty : these subjects were de- 
signed and executed by Waldr^, an artipt, of consider- 
able abilities, At one end of the Hal) is a gallery for the 
mnaioiana and household ; and at the other, one for the 
publie,T^At the rear of the Vice-regal apartments is the 
Qistleirgardenj a handsome plat of ground, laid out with 
gravel walkfl* and planted with ever-greens ; the frpnt 
toifarda the garden* is f^ peat structure of the Ionic Order ; 
hat the effect of it is lost to passengers, from the carriage- 
way passing sp immediataly under it j it m^^yi however, 
lie seen tq advantage from the garden** 

ThQ lower CasQe^^rard i^ an extensive spaee of very 
irregular formi in it are the old Treasury, Chapel, 
Ordnimce-office and stores, riding-«house, stables,^ and 
resid<2nces of inferior officers, — ^The Treasury, which is 
no longer required, is a long brick building, with a terrace 
in front, accessible by a double flight of steps. 



8 THECASTtE. 

TttB CHAnsL— now the most remarltable object about 
the Castle, is a modern building in the most beautiful 
order of pointed architecture, the -design of Francis 
Johnston, Esq. who has so considerably beautified Dublin 
by the exertion of his talents for the last 20 years. The 
old Chapel was taken down in the administration of the 
Duke of Bedford, in 1807, and the present erected on its 
site, is 73 feet in length, and 35 broad. Divine service 
was performed here, for the first time, on Christmas-day, 
1814; and the total expense of the building of the Chapel 
is calculated at 42,000/. It consists of a choir, ^vithout 
either nave or transept, finished in the most florid style of 
pointed architecture. Each side is supported by. seven 
buttresses, -terminating in pinnacles, which spring from 
grotesque heads in each buttress, ornamented at the 
angles, with rich foliage, and terminate in a gothic finial. 
These pinnacles are connected by a monastic battlement, 
finishea with a moulding. There are six pointed windows 
in each side, surmounted by labels, which spring from 
two heads. In the centre of the east end is a pointed 
door-way, surmounted by a rectangular label, supported 
at one end by a head of St. Patrick, and at the other by 
that of Brian Boromhe, an Irish King. 

Over the door-way is the eastern window, surmounted 
by a label which springs from the heads of Hope and 
dharity, and terminating at its summit by a demi-figure 
of Faith holding a chalice. The gavel terminates in an 
antique cross, the arms of which are enclosed in a circle. 
At each angle of the east end are square towers, rising 
to the height of the roof, in which are enclosed the stairs 
to the gallery. The principal entrance is on the north 
side of the west end, near the Record or Wardrobe Tower : 
over this door-way is a bust of St. Peter, holding a key ; 
and over a window immediately above the door is a bust 
of Dean Swift ; and, above, a head of the Virgin Mary ;* 
this entrance conducts into a small anti-hall of the most 
exquisite workmanship, and from thence into the body 
of the Chapel ) before you is the eastern window, orna- 
mented with stained glass, the gift of Lord Whitwortb, 
when Lord Lieutenant: it represents Christ in the pre- 

* These heads are oarred In greystones raised Arom a quarry at TuUamor^ 
to the Kih^'i eounty, Co^y-iix nUIes fipom Puhlla. . 



■j: r if ^^ 



'-•/ 




y 



^ 
s 
b 



snoDTiyK cMyvxRimnrr. 9 

seaee of Flkile. The lower diTisioiu ire occupied by the 
four £v»n^eliflt8 ; beside the window. In itucco, are 8tft< 
tues of Faith, Hope, and Charity, with busts of the four 
Erangelists, executed by Edward Smyth. The ceiling is 
composed of groined arches springing from heads of mo- 
delled stucco, above the capitals of six beautiful clustered 
pillars which support the roof; and is highly ornamented* 
The pannels of the gallery are of carved oak : on the 
front of the orgaUf loft are carved the Royal Arms, and in 
the pannels on either side, those of the Duke of Bedford, 
who laid the foundation stone of the Chapel, and of the 
Duke of Richmond, in whose administranon it was com- 
pleted ; from thence, along the front of the gallery, are 
the arras of those noblemen who have been Vice-roys, 
with the date* of their governments. The pannels of the 
pidpit are ornamented with the arms of oifferent Arch- 
bishops and Bishops of Ireland ; among them are also 
those of Dean Kirwan,,and the four great supporters of 
the Church of England, Henry VIII., Edward Vi., Eliza- 
heth, and William III.: — the carving was executed by 
Stewart of Dublin. At the western extremity of the 
Chapel stands the Record Tower, the oldest building in 
the Castle, lately repaired and improved, during the 
buHdiag of the Chanel : — this tower is connected by a 
curtain wall, part of the original town-wall of -Dublin, 
to Birmingham tower in the same yard, which is now con- 
verted into a supper-room and other apartments, for the 
use of his Excellency's household. The other buildings 
attached to the Castle are of too unarchitectural a cha- 
netcr to be minutely described. 



EXECUTIVE GOVERNMENT. 

Tbk Executive Government of Ireland, is committed 
to his Excellency the Lord Lieutenant, who is assisted 
and advised by a Privy Council and the Chief Secretary, 
fhe Privy Council consists of the Chancellor and high 
Uw Officers, with some of the Archbishops and Bishops 3 
and the Council Chamber is in the upper Castleyud, 
over the arch-way, by which the connection is kept up 
between the upper and lower yards. In the absence of 



10' . cxiaCtrnvETCKyyEENii&NT. 

the Lord Lieutenant, the Privy Council is summohed, and* 
the government entrusted to . three Lords Justices : they 
are usually the Primate, the Lord Chancellor, and the 
Commander of the Forces. 

The Lord Lieutenant holds a Court at the castle ; where 
Levees are sometimes held; and his Excellency's State 
and Household is, in every respect, becoming a repre- 
sentative of Majesty. He ia allowed a company of battle- 
axe men, under the command of a captain, who has the 
rank of colonel ; and two subalterns, who have the rank 
of captains. The battle-axe-guards do duty in the public 
apartments of the Court. Besides this guard, the Lord 
Lieutenant has a body-guard, consisting of a subaltern's 
guard of -horse, with a captain of infantry, two subalterns, 
and sixty men. This guard of honour is lodged in the 
Castle, and relieved every day by a detachment from the 
Royal Barracks. The form of relieving guard at the 
Castle, has always had attractions for the citizens of 
Dublin, who attend in great numbers every day, to 
witness this very interesting spectacle. 

In addition to the military establishment of the Irish 
Court, there are various officers of the household, analo- 

?ous to those of Carlton Palace : the principal are a 
Private Secretary, Steward, a Comptroller, Chamberlain, 
Gentleman U»her, Assistant Gentleman Usher, Master 
of the Horse, and Gentlemen of the Chamber ; there are 
beb'ides four Pages, eight Aides-de-camp, and twenty-four 
Chaplains. 

Previous to the removal of the Parliament from Ireland, 
the Irish Court was crowded by nobility, but they have 
long since withdrawn their persons and properties to our 
more favoured neighbour. Great Britain; and, conse- 
quently, there are not many titles to be met at levee, if 
we exclude the dignitaries of the Church and high Law 
Officers, who are obliged to reside in Ireland. But, even 
in this altered and neglected condition, the Irish Court is 
of great benefit to the poor manufacturers of Dublin. 
The Medical Establishment of his Excellency's household, 
consists of the two state physicians, one surgeon, and an 
apothecary. 

The Chief Secretary has apartments in the upper Castle- 
yard, and holds a levee every Thursday; besides the 



• .UNIVIRSfTY. ll 

apartments in the upper Castle-yard, there is also a mag- 
nificent residence in the Phoemx Park, appropriated to 

bis use. 



THE UNIVERSITY. 



Thovoh the cultivation of ' learning,- in Ireland, has 
been of very earljr date, yet few traces of the literary ex- 
ertions of the ancient inhabitants remain, and fewer of 
their seminaries.' About. 1311, John Lech, the Arch- 
bishop of Dublin, procured a bull from Clement V., for 
the foundation of a university; and although his object 
was not then accomplished, it was, nine years afterwards, 
by his successor, who erected an university in St. Patrick's 
cathedral by permission of John XXII. This seminary 
was protected and endowed by Edward III., but it subse- 
quently decayed gradually until the close of Henry Vllth's. 
reign. In lo91, Henry Usher (afterwards Archbishop of 
Armagh)' obtained from Queen Elizabeth, a. Royal 
Charter, and mortmun license for the site of the dissolved 
Monastery, of AH Saints, granted by the city, whereupon 
the present University was founded ; .which was called the 
** Collie of the Holy and Undivided Trinity, near Dublin, 
founded by the most serene Queen Elizabeth;" The 
chaiter further appointed, that. there should be a Provost, 
three Fellows, ana three Scholars. After numerous sub- 
scriptions collected throughout the country, and various 
donations contributed, the first stone of Trinity College 
was laid, by Thomas Smith, Mayor of Dublin, the ISth 
of March, 1591, and students were admitted the 9th of 
Januwy, 1593. The original charter empowered the 
surviving fellows to elect to a vacant provostsfaip -y but this 
was altered by a. subsequent charter, accompanied by a 
neweode of statutes, drawn im by Archbishop Laud, in 
1637, which vested the right of appointment in the Crown. 

llie next in rank is the Vice-Provost, who affixes the 
College seal in the absence of the Provost; his situation 
b of not much more value than a senior Fellowship, and 
the senior Fellows succeed to it in order of seniority. 

The advancement of learnii^,. and the increased num- 
ber of. pupils demandedan additional number of lecturers i 
hx thinty yeari ago the number of studeuts in the Vwevm 



12 irvivuuiiTy. 

sity was only about 500, whereas at present tkere are about 
2,000 names on the books. The income of a senior Fellow 
exceeds 1,000/. per annnm; but the emolument of a 
junior fellowship, independently of pupils, is very insigni- 
ficant, probably about 100/. per annum; however the 
amazing number of pupils each fellow is permitted to 
accept of (144) amply compensates for the deficiency of 
a larger siQary : in some instances^ the income derived 
from pupils amounts to 1,600/i per annum» and in general 
it is estimated at about 800/. They are PrdfesscHrs of 
Science, Classics and Divinity, Anatomy, Surgery, Che- 
mistry, &c. Oriental and European Lai^uages, Irish ex- 
cepted. It was the intention of the wise and provident 
foundress to have instituted a Professorship of thia lan- 
guage in our University, but Lord Buneigh, unfor- 
tunately for the ancient history of this country, suc- 
ceeded m dissuading her from it. 

In the reign of James I., a number of livings were 
forfeited to the Crown by the rebellion of O'Neil -, seven- 
teen of which were bestowed upon the College of Dublin. 

The number of church livings, in the gift of the Univer- 
sity is nineteen, few of which are vMued at less than 
1,000/. per annuth, and the income of some exceeds 
2,000/. Upon the death of an incumbent, the vacant 
benefice is offered to every fellow according to seniority ; 
and whoever accents it resi^ his fellowsh^ that day 
twelvemonths. If he be a senior, his place at the hoard is 
filled by the. senior of the junior fellows^ three days after 
the occurrence of the vacancy .^-But i^ a junior, his place 
is filled by a ^aduate of the University^ elected atler a 
puUic examination of three days, and aiourth in private. 

The candidates are etamined publicly in L^c and 
Metaphysics, Mathematics, Natural Philosophy, Mondity, 
History, Chronology, Hebrew, Greek and liattn ; on the 
fourth day they are employed in Latin, and EagUth com- 
position. The examination is held in the Hieatre of die 
Univernty on the four days immediatdy jmceding Tri- 
nity Sumky, and the qnestums and answers are dehver^ 
(perhaps injudiciously) in Latin.— It is neeessary that 
the eandidaStes should have taken the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. The exanuners are, the FrMroBt, Vice-Provost, 
and the six a^or fellows; who» in a oeremoniont and 
vAtnuk swattWyade^ ^ candidate ia^ QoU<g««Ciiiapd^ 



-mnvBRsiTv. is 

on Trinity Monday. In the event of an equality of votes 
in ffkv^nur of two eandtdates, the Provost ha9 a casting 
voice ; a|id tlie unsuecessful candidate is rewarded by a 
sum of tnone^^y seldom less than 4? 200, bequeathed by 
Mr. M»Meii &r that purpose. 

Tho tin^ component part of this corporation is« the 
8cli<^ai*» 70 in number ) these situations are the reward 
of (dassleal attainments 4Qlel§f $ a severe examination is 
given by tlie board to each class, when they have arrived 
at Hi^ junior sophister year, two years and a half from 
the Um« of entering college. The emoluments of a 
sckelfHrship are^ a dinner at the pensioners' table for five 
years^ ten or twelve pounds p^r annum, and sometimes 
even mare ; chambeprs at half the usual deposit and rent 
of other students ; and if the scholar be twenty-one years 
of f^e, a vote at the election of a representative to serve 
in parliament for the Universitjr- The examination is held 
in the Theatre, during two days m the week before Whitsun- 
tide, and the new scholars are declared on Trinitjr Monday, 
llie whole body of the students is divided into thi^e 
raaks, dLsdii^ished by the denominations of Fellmo 
CoumHmen, Pentioners, and Sizars § students of every 
denomination are obliged to undergo a classical examina- 
tion previous to admission ; but this is little more than a 
meie ceremony. The number of fellow^<K>mmoner8 and 
penelone^ admitted into college is unlimited; the former 
are distinguished from the latter by a more expen»ve and 
ekigimt aoidemic dress | their fees are always double, and 
they ^ae 9^1^ table with the fellows, whu:h is not per- 
mitted to a pensioneTt The sizars, who are limited to 
Alfty or thir^Hwo in numl>^i bave their commons and 
ittstmction gratis t and though their rank wpears degrad- 
ing, yet many have raised themselves, bj their diligence 
aM good conduct^ to ^scholarships and tellowships. The 
expease of tuition is remarkably moderate ^ a pensioner's 
ameunta to but eight guineas per annum ; a fellow-com- 
moner f^ys double toat sumi and the annual college 
fees, wmon aiie common to botb» never amount to a$ much 
as the tuition. 

The JttQgth of tune Deoessary to graduate as a Bachelor 
of Arts-is, ^ n fellow«ee|nmoner three yeara and a half, 
far afOUttQiiir^r aisai* four years. Iikstruction is com-; 



14 TOUVBRSITY. 

municated by means of public and private lectares ; ex* 
aminations are held quarterly^ at which> premiums are 
adjudged to the best answerers in science and classics^ 
with great liberality on the part of the boards and impar- 
tiality on that of the junior fellows^ who are the exami- 
ners 'y and those who have not been sufficiently diligent in 
Preparing for examinations^ are disgraced bv a fine, and 
y a judgment which is r^ad out publicly. At the termi- 
nation of the collegiate studies of each class, previous to 
commencements or graduating, those who have distin- 
guished themselves at quarterly examinations, by obtain- 
ing premiums in either classics or science, sere examined 
together in one division, for a gold medal. - This admi- 
rable plan for the encouragement of learning was intro- 
duced in 1819 by Dr. Elrington, the then Provost. 

The buildings of the College, which are of considerable 
extent and beauty, consist of three spacious squares, 
called the Parliament-square, the Library-squace, and 
-Botany-bay. The grand front, presented to College-green, 
is 300 feet in length, and of the Corinthian order ^ the 
centre is ornamented by a pediment resting on Corinthian 
columns, and the whole is terminated by pavillions de- 
corated with couj^ed .pilasters of the same order, support- 
ing an attic story. The Parliament-square is entei'ed by 
an octagon vestibule, terminating at the summit in groined 
arches, is 316 feet long bj 21^ in breadth, and built en- 
tirely of hewn stone; besides buildings for the accommo- 
dation of the f^i^krs and studentSi- This square contains 

vthe Chapel, flieatre for examinations, and Refectory. 

THfe UMAt>Eii — ^which stands on the north side, has in 
H^nt a handsome colonnade of four pillars, of the Corin- 

, thitm order, supportiiig a pediment : the chancel is 80 feet 
in length (extrosivc of a semi-circulor terminating recess 
36 feet in diameter), 40 feet in breadth, and 44 in neight : 
the seats arfe of oak, pannelled, and highly polished ; 
and there is,' besides, a small but elegantly arranged organ- 
loft, the front of widch is ornamented with carvfed oak- 
work. There is an excellent choir, the same which at- 
tends both the cathedrals ; and divine service commences 
at half-past nine, and concludes at half-past eleven, in the 
forenoon of each Sunday. Both this building and the 
Theatre were deseed by Sir W. Chambers^ a&(i erected 
under the direction of Mr, Qraham Myers, 



\ k ■ 111 ■■.#, 



[' 







- 1 



Tss THKATU.-"On the opposite, or sontb, side of tbe 
same square, stands the Theatre, or Examination Hall, 
with a front exactly corresponding to that of the Chapel, 
and of the same internal ' dimensions. This splendid ball 
is famished with tables Und forms, at which the students 
sit durins^ the hours of examinations, and also at public 
lectures auring term ; a»d the semi-circular recess at the 
end, is fitted up for holcGlng fellowship examinations, in 
such a manner, that both candidates and spectators are 
accommodated. On either side of the hall a rustic base- 
ment supports a series of composite pilasters, from which 
rises a mosaic ceiling, richly ornamented in stucco. Be- 
tween the pilasters are the portraits of eminent persons ; 
Queen Elizabeth, the foundress, and eight others, who 
were either educated in the University, or bequeathed 
legacies to its support. On one side .stands a splendid 
monument to the memory of Provost Baldwin, who died 
in 1758. A large Sarcophagus of black and gold 
marble supports a mattress of white marble, on which 
the provost is represented in a reclining posture, larger 
than life, holding his will, by which he bequeathed 80,000/. 
to the University; a female figure, emblematic of the 
University, leans over him in a mourning attitude; at his 
feet stands an angel, holding a • wreath of palm, casting 
on him a look of benignity, and pointing to Heaven ; and 
immediately behind these figures rises a pyramid of varie- 
gated Egyptian porphyry. The whole is executed in a 
most masterly style, by Mr. Hewetson, a native of Ireland, 
but resident at Rome, and cost the University upwards 
of 2,000/. It was in this noble apartment that his Majesty 
was entertained at a magnificent banquet, by the provost 
and fellows, August 27th, 1821; on which occasion a 
throAe, with crimson velvet hangings, &c. was placed in 
the serai-circular recess : the organ also was refitted. 

The Refectory. — ^The Parliament and Library Squares 
are connected by a small quadrangle, at one extremity of 
which stands the Refectory, a handsome structure, the 
front of which is ornamented by a pediment supported by 
pilasterr. A spacious ante-hall leads to the aining-hall, 
a room of 70 feet by 35, and 35 in height ; the upper part 
of the ^vidls and the ceiling are ornamented witn stucco, 
'Qd th« lower is oak wainacoting. In this ball the portraits 



16 xmvnaisnv, 

of the foBowilig iUttatrioas eharacteM ivere hung In 1821 ; 
vl2. Henry Flood* Lord Chief Justice Downes, Lord Avon* 
more^ Hussey fiurffb. Lord Kilwardeni and Henry Orattan i 
over the door is a foil-length portrait ^ Frederick Prince 
of Wales, father of George III. ; at ohe side of which is a 
portrait of Cox, Archbishop of Cashel ; and> on the other, 
the original portrait of Provost Baldwin. Over the ante^ 
hall is a remarkably neat and elegant apartment, formerly 
used by the Historical Society, an institution of great 
practical benefit to the majority of the students, though 
the legislature of the University have, in their wisdom, 
crushed it — ^perhaps for ever. 

On the south side of the quadrangle, immediately oppo- 
site the Refectory, stands an old wall, which it v^s in- 
tended to remove, and to supply its place by a triumphal 
arch of tlie Doric order, after a design of Sir W. Chaqi* 
ber8> with three openings, supporting a square tower with 
four circular-headed windows, ornamented with Corinthian 
pillars and urns. 

The Library.*— Beyond the quadrangle is the Library- 
square, ^66 feet long, by 214 broad, three sides of which 
consist of unifonn brick buildings, mostly devoted to the 
accommodation of the students. The library, which oc- 
cupies the fourth side, is an extensive stone building, 
whose basement story is a piazza, the entire length of the 
square. Above this, are two stories surmounted by a rich 
Corinthian entablature, originally crowned with a balus- 
trade. Of this building, as it was at first designed, and 
previous to alterations, a correct painting may be seen in 
the Librarian's room ; in which ^artment is also ajportralt 
of the Rev. John Barrett, D. D. the late Vice-Provost, 
painted by G. F. Josephs, Esq. R. A. At present, the 
front has a moulderiiu^ i^tpeafance, in consequence of the 
perishable nature of the stone of which it is buUt. — ^The 
building consists merely of a centre and two pavilions ; 
in the western pavilion are the grand stair-case, the Lend- 
ing library, and the Litjirarian's apartments. At the head 
of the stairs the Library is entered by large foldinj? doors, 
and the first view is particularly striking. His Majesty, 
who was received here when the banquet was given in the 
Theatre (see page 15), expressed his admiratioa.of tlih 
magnificent room. The exterior library is 210 feet long^ 



17KIYXB8I1V. 17 

41 broad, and 40 in height, and is acknowledged to be the 
fi^iestroom in Europe applied to such a puipose. Between 
the windows, on both sides, are lofty oak partitions, at 
r^ht angles to the walls, on both sides.of which the books 
rest on dosely-placed shelves, so that there are as many 
recesses as^here are windows ; these partitions are termi- 
nated by fluted Corinthian pillars of carved oak, connected 
at the top by a broad cornice, surmounted by a balustrade 
also of carved oak, forming the front of a gallery which 
is continued quite round the room. — Here are pedestals 
wiUi busts of ancient and modern philosophers, historians, 
and poets, of white marble. — ^The number of volumes in 
this library is about 80,000. 

At the extremity of this room is a second apartment, 52 
feet in length, formerly the MSS. room, but now called 
the Fagel library, fitted up in a uniform manner with the 
piecedmg, and containing about 20,000 volumes. This 
vast collection was the property of Mr. Fagel, a Dutch- 
man, who removed it to London in 1794, upon the invasion 
of his native country by the French, and from whom it 
was purchased by the University of Dublin for the very 
moderate sum of 8,000/. 

Uahuscript • Room.— Over the Fagel library in the 
eastern pavilion, is the Manuscript room, in which are 
man^ valuable manuscripts, particularly those relating to 
Irish^history. — There are besides, Persian, Arabic, and 
Greeks L in the Greek character, the most conspicuous are 
the ^oiktfortian and a copy of the four Gospels, with a 
continue commentary, written in the 9th century. — ^There 
is a very /curious itiap of China on an extensive scale, 
drawn by a native in the Chinese character. 

The Manuscript room is not opened to the public, and 
admittance ca» only be given in the presence of the 
librarian : this rej^ulation is directed by the statutes for the 
better preservation of the MSS.— Many of these MSS. 
wei^ presented to the College by Dr. Sterne, Bishop of 
Clogher, and Mr. 9ohn Madden. The Library is open 
every day, Sundays and holidays excepted, from eight .to 
ten,- and from eleven to two : there is a Reading-room in 
the western Pavilion, which is always open during winter, 
and supplied with fires. The privilege of reading here is 
granted to Graduates upon taking the library oath, and to 
G 3 



18 VHIYBRSITV. 

Strangers who Imve been introduced to the Provost^ on 
their tiding ^the «ame oath. 

On the south side of the Library is the Fellows' gardeOi a 
large park laid out in graveUwalks, from which the students 
are excluded^ the fellows^ doctors, and masters only, 
retfer?ing keys to admit themselves ; however, fellowship- 
candidates are always permitted to walk here. 

OoLLBGB Park.-«-To the east of the Library and 
Library-square* is the College park« a space of about 20 
acres, planted and laid out with great taste ; here are two 
ball-courts, and there was formerly a bowling>-green for 
the amusement of the students.^^-As you enter tjke park 
from the Library-square, on the ri^ht, until lately, stood 
an old, tasteless buildinc^ containing a chemical labora- 
torv, and also the Anatomical Lecture-rooms. 

Ths Anatomy Housb. — In that part of the College 
Park, fonnerly used as a bowling-green* is the new Ana- 
tomy House> built at the expense of the University, after 
a design of the Messrs. Morrison. It is 115 feet in «^ngth 
by 60 in breadth; and contains an Anatomical Lecture^ 
room, 30 feet square : an Anatomical Museum 30 feet by 
28 : and three private rooms. — ^The Dissecting-room, ex" 
tendin^ the whole length of the building, is probaby the 
best disposed apartment for such purpose in^ Europe, and 
by no means too large for the present school of surgery in 
Dttblin.^-The Chemical Laboratory, Lecture-room, and 
private apartment appropriated to the pi^ufessors occupy 
the remote end from the Anatomical-rooms just mentioned. 
The museum possesses some valuable preparations : those 
belonging to the College are unimportant^ but the preaent 
professor's (Dr. Macartney) collection^ which is exhibited 
during lecture, contains valuable preparations of human, 
comparative^ and morbid anatomy^ and if we except the 
Hunterian, is second to none in the United Kingdom. 
The School of Anatomy in Dublin has gi'own into deserved 
celebrity, to which the facility of procuring subjects for 
dissection has contributed,, and haa drawn together a 
great number of students* Amongst the curiosities of 
the old collection in the Anatomical Museum are several 
extraordinary preparations and skeletons ; a complete 
skeleton of a Grampus, with those of M'Grath th§ Irish 
jiant, and Clwk^> tVowi^^ vf^m^ Tb« (Wm?r of Ae9^| 



wto di«d «t tiM ag6 of tweaty, attained tkb liaiffat of 
nine feet ; of the latter all the jmnts beoam^ bone^ to that 
he WHS quite ificapable oi stirring, and died in the most 
deplorable conditton. 

' In a small building behind the old Anatoa^y House are 
to be seen the celebrated wak models of the human figure, 
exeeuted in Paris by M. Denoue, and presented to the 
Unifersity l)y the Barl of Shelboume,* in 1 7^2, 

PaiKTiNQ HotrtB.-^Immediately opposite the old Ana- 
tomy'-honse, on the north side of tne park, is the prxntlng- 
office> founded by Dr. Sterne, Bishop of Cloghei^in 1734; 
Ae £roAt of ^hich is a handsome portico of the Doric 
^er, gre&tly admired for its architectural chasteness and 
the b^uty ot its proportions. 

- PnoYOST'a Hou8B.<**^n the south side of the College 
stands the Provost^s house, a handsome stone edifice with 
mdngs, and a ooiurt^yard in front, screened from Qrafton- 
■s^reet Iff a high wall, with a large heavy-looking gate-way 
In |he centre ; at the rear is a spacious lawn and shrubbery, 
-eommnnicetting with the Fellows garden, and separated 
frotitk it merely by b plantation of ever-greens. The in- 
ferior of the house is peculiarly elegant ; and the hall, stMr- 
efu»f Mid grand drawing-room, are particularly noble. 
The elevation of this buuding is kfter a design of Lord 
fittrlbgton'd aAd li similar to that of General Wade's 
hoitte, Cork<«treet, London, which was designed by the 
name nobkmah. 

To the north of the Library^s^uare, is a third square, 
eomm<Mily called Botany-bay^ which is an area of somewhat 
Mater dimensions than eiiner of the others, and three^ of 
Its sides are allotted to the accommodation of pupils, 
j^earthe centre stands a temporary building, in which is 
suspended the great beU> the latgest and best-toned in the 
kingdom.«^The extedor of the north side of Botany^bay- 
squiii^^ presents a front of hewn stone to New Brunswiek- 
^itfealy 270 feet in lengthy the basement story is rusti- 
eMed» and Hm windows of the three Upper stoHes are orna- 
mented with UrchitrAves. It is protected from the street 

* Tb^ werti f^rdisied by his lord^lp fimm Mr« Raxtrew, t sUtUary in 
Londom flBd have kincO b«^ tcpaired ; Bttl, Undtt ttie inft{)ectlon of Mr. 
Umi Ci!^ii0r,^ slHt Ii)|t9tnitt, m }^ef>wsif, by Mr. tbomiDi yff^^s^t 



20 TJNIVEA6ITY. 

by a semi-circular sweep/endosed by irob railiog ; and 
was designed by the Messrs. Morrison. 

Thb Mubbum.— ^ver the vestibule, within the grand 
gate, is the Museum, an exceedingly beautiful room, M 
feet by 40. The mineral collection contuns 1204 speci- 
mens, arranged according to Professor Jameson's svstem^ 
and described in a catalogue drawn up by Dr. Stokes in 
1818. At the foot of the stairs is a nearly perfect skeleton 
of an Antediluvian moose-deer, a model of a Roman 
galley, and another of the Barony of Moresk, in the 
county of Mayo. 

Case No. 1, contains ornaments from the Marquesas, 
Friendly, and Sandwich Islands, New Zealand, and Ota- 
heite."— No, 2. Otaheitean dresses and models. — No. 3. New 
Zealand articles of dress, and implements. — No. 4. Shells. — 
No. 5. Cloak made of feathers from the Sandwich Isles. — . 
No. 6..A very curious collection of Irish antiquities — ^various 
celts, chip-axes, arrow-heads, hunting-spears, of brass, and 
military spears ; the war-axe, golden crescents, head orna- 
ments, fibulae ; curious headstall and bitt, found in Roscom- 
mon; the-Liath Meisicith, or incense-box of the ancients, 
consulted only upon the interests of the church or election 
of a king. The most interesting curiosity is the Irish harp, 
once the nroperty of King .Bnan Boromlve^ the history of 
which' is tnis : Donogh, the son of Brten,' lud it with the 
golden crown, at the Pope's feet, in 4023 ; a subsequent 
Pope presented the harp to Henry VIIL of England, but 
kept the golden crown ; Henry gave it to the first Earl of 
Clanrickard, from whom it passed to the M'Mahons, of 
Clenah, in the county of Clare : from them it fell into the 
hands of counsellor Macnamara, of Limerick, and in 1782 
was presented to the College Museum by the right hon. 
W. Conyngham. The O'Brian arms, viz. the bloody hand 
supported by lions, are chased in silver upon it. On the 
siaes of the front arm of the harp are carved two wolf 
dogs : — ^both arms are of red-holly, the sounding-board is 
of oak. This beautiful remnant of the taste of our ances- 
tors is rapidly mouldering away,, but its chaste propor- 
tions, as well as a testimony of its merit, might be well 
perpetuated b^ a good- model. It is hoped that what has 
been stated will be considered a sufficient refutation of 
Mr. Bingley's assertion, that this very harp was Welch. 



Near the link cmB k 9 ^Oection 6f Tolcaiiic mintirala^ 
pfMftled by I>« JUctoudie, esq. in 1790» the oataloffue of 
which wae printed in OatftniiH in Sicily* BeBi& this 
stands another flat «ase, in which are Cingalese Almanadis, 
mted with a stylus, which is also deposited in the case.**-- 
No. 7 contains a few stuffed animals. — No. 8. A mummy, 
a modd of a Ghittesegimey, &c. — ^No. 9. In this are some 
semi^ proaerved by Bulloek.-*^No. 10. MlsceUaneous, 
luumportant, except an enormous lobster's daw.— No. 1 J 
is entirely oecupied by the figure of an Otaheitean warrior, 
-^o. 12 contams acopy of the Koran« inlettera of (rold» on a 
roll of Indian paper« which shuts up in a box about two 
inches long^ and one in diameter ; an Almanack printed in 
1666 ; anaa model of the combination mirrors of Archi- 
medes. Near this case hangs a cast of a shield exhibiting, 
in bas-relief J the capture of Rome by Brennus. There is a 
very curious collection brought from the South-Sea 
IslMidB, and presented to the UniversitT by Dr. Pattert« 

In tiie cttitre of the great room stands a stuffed camel- 
leepaid ; atone corner is a model of the Giant's-causeway 
femarkable for the aocuracy of its execution $ and, beside 
it, lis some of the basaltic joints, of which the causeway is 
composed^ 

AsnojvoMiCAii OBscRVATORY.^-On Dunsink Hill, 
about fcnir miles north-west of Dublin Castle* stands the 
Observatory^ founded at the instance of Dr. Henry Usher, 
Ute pr6fessor of Asttonomv in ihe University. In 1774, 
ProTost Andrews bequeathea 3,000(. and 250/. per annum, 
for building an Obsenratory and supplying instruments : 
by means of this donation, a handsome house Was erected, 
pmenting in front a fii^ade of two winf8> and a protecting 
centre, crowned by a dome.->«^Be8ides apartments for the 
professor, there are two room* particularly appropriated 
to aatoonomical pUrposea-^the Equatorial and Meridian 
rooms. The formerls beneath the dome» which is inter- 
sected by. an aperture oi two feet six inches in breadth, 
and is moveable by means of a }ever and projecting cogs, 
so that file aperture may be dureeted to any point of the 
horizon^r^The JVIeridian room, on the west side of the 
buildiag, contains the transit instrument, and the cele- 
brated Astronomical Circle, which is universally aoknow- 
iedjled'to foe'Ramsden's best performance -, this instrument 



22 THE BaHK. 

18 miantely deacribed in Dr. Brinkley's xn^rk on Aatro- 
nomy ; and the valuable discoveries, relative to parallax 
and refraction, which the professor has made with this 
celebrated piece of mechanism, are recorded in the 
Twelfth Volume of the Transactions of the Royal Irish 
Academy. 

Botanic Garden. — About two miles to the south of 
the Castle, a space of about four acres has been enclosed 
for a Botanic Garden -, and though but of late formation, 
it is exceedingly well supplied with both exotic and indi- 
genous plants : but it is altogether eclipsed by the magni- 
ficent gardens of the Dublin society at Glasnevin. 



BANK OF IRELAND. 



This noble structure, formerly the Parliament House, 
but purchased after the Act of Union, by the Company of 
the Bank of Ireland, for 40,000/. and a rent of 240/. per 
annum, is probably not exceeded in magrniiicence of ex- 
terior by any building in Europe. It fronts College 
Green, and is nearly at right angles to the west front of 
the College, and by its contiguity to the latter, forms a 
scene that has not many rivals. The foundation . of the 
Parliament House was laid in 1729, by>Lord Carteret, 
Viceroy of Ireland, and the building was completed in 
1739, at an expense of about 40,000/.— This building not 
being sufficiently extensive to accommodate Lords, and 
Commons, in 1785, an eastern front, leading to the House 
of Lords, was designed and executed, by the late James 
Gandon; at an expense of 25,000/. — In 1787> a western 
front and entrance were added, from the design of Mr. 
Parke, architect, for about 30,000/. The centre of this 
edifice, is a grand colonnade of the Ionic order, occupying 
three sides of a court-yard ; the columns are lofty, and 
rest on a flight of steps, continued entirely round the 
court-yard, and to the extremities of the colonnade, where 
are the entrances, under two archways : the four central 
columns support a pediment, whose tympanum is orna- 
mented by the royal arms ; and, on its apex stands a well 
executed figure of Hibernia^ with Fidelity on her ri^ht. 



V 



■ ' f . ■■•■ ' .. 



. THS.BANK. 23- 

and Commerce on her left hand. This mftgf&ific^At centre 
is conneded with the eastern and western fronts^ which 
contend with it in beauty, by circular screen walls^ the 
height of the building, enriched with dressed niches, and 
a rasticated basement : the eastern front, which is towards 
College-street, is a noble porticp pf six . Corinthian 
columns, three feet six inches in dli^meter, crowned by a 
Hediment with a plain tyrapannm; on which stands a 
statue of Fortitude, with Justice on her right, and Liberty 
on her left hand. T)ie entablature of the central portico 
being continued round to the eastern front, exhibits an 
architectural impropriety, the columns of one being of the 
Ionic, while the others are of the Corinthian order ; but 
this is not very obvious, from the great extent of the 
bmlding, and from the shape, which does not admit of 
both por^cos being seen together. The western front, to 
Foster-place, is a beautiful portico of four Ionic columns, 
jurmounted by a pediment, and connected with the centra, 
oy a drcnlar screen wall, corresponding to that which 
coniipcts the eastern wing to the centre. — A military 
gnatd-room has been erected adjacent to the western front, 
the entrance, through a magnificent arch-way, ornamented 
with Ionic colunms, and crowned by military trophies, 
forming ike e^ctfenity of Foster-jj^lace ; the design and 
execution of J. Kirk. WitMn this stately and extensive 
pU& of building, the moit ample and splendid apartments 
arepronded. 

fiWieath the j^ft^d Portico, are two entrances leading 
to the Cash-omee.'^There was formerly a grand entrance 
u> the centra, leadiog to the Court or Reouests, where 
now the CaKh-office stands; this splendid apartment, 
which 18 70 feet in^ length, by50 in breadth, was designed 
))y Fiands Johnston, £sq. The walls are of Bath stone, 
pannelled, and deieorated with fluted Ionic columns, resting 
on pedestals^ bei^aththe entablature, all round, are 24 
^viodows, some of which are made of looking-glass to pre* 
s^e UJoiformity. From the ceiling, which Is also beauti- 
fully oriMimeAted^ rises *a lantern 50 feet in length, and 30 
in breadth.^-Tiie desk^ of the officers are at a distance of 
S feet from the wall, so as to afford a convenient passage 
behind ; nor do they at all ccmceal the elegant pilla;i», as 
tbeirlws^fq?^ the heigbi of the ettdo^v^ «i'QUn4 ^^% 



24 • 9H£9A!^K. 

desks. In the centre of the Aow, which is chequered 
flagging, two tables are placed for public use, as well as 
counters all round the room, in front of the clerks' desks. 
— The entrances are at each end, which also communicate 
with handsome corridors, conducting to the difierent 
offices of the Bank. 

These corridors formerly encompassed the House of 
Commons, which was an octagonal room, covered with 
a dome, supported by Ionic columns, which rose from an 
amphitheatncal gallery, fronted with an iron balustrade 
of 8croll--work, where strangers were permitted to remain 
during the debates. This room was always considered an 
extremely beautiful apartment, but it has latteriy t)een 
considerably ornamented and improved. There were two 
of the inferior apartments, particularly elegant, one for 
the hearing of controverted elections, ana the Record-room. 

The House of Lords, which remains unaltered, is an 
oblong room, with a semi-circular recess at one end, 
where the throne stood : the throne has been removed, 
and in the recess has been placed a white mari>le statue of 
his late Majesty, George III, in his parliamentary robes, 
with the insignia of the orders of the Bath and St. Fatrick, 
executed by J. Bacon, jun. Here may be seen two speci- 
mens of tapestry brought from Holland, extremely well 
executed, which were permitted to remain at the request 
of Mr< Johnston ; one represents the battle of the Boyne> 
fought between William and James, in 1690. The oiher, 
the famous siege of Deny.— -There is also in this roonn an 
excellent bust of the Duke of Wellington, by Tumerelli ; 
and in uiother niche, one of his late Majesty. This room 
is now called the Court of Proprietors. 

In the western tide of the Bank, is the LUMwy^ftioto, 
now used to preserve the paid notes until the period 
arrives for destroying them. In a small lUMUtment may 
be seen. a well executed model of the Sank, exeeuted 
by Mr. Doolittle. Next the model*room is an armoury, 
well supplied and arranged. 

The repeated fires that have broken out in l^is building 
have stimulated the exertions of the Directors in providing 
apparatus to protect them from &ny se^ujs lo^ in that 



way fdw the future. On the 27th of PebrJfS^, 1792, be- 
{w^ii ^f9A9 Q'€l9^ in Hbfi €f ^n^i vfkm fk Q^mm^w 



TRI BAKK. S5 

were sitting* a dreadful fire broke out^ and totally con- 
sumed the Hdiise of Commons ; but it was shortly after 
fitted up> precisely in the same manner : and, in 1804, a 
fire broke ^ut beneath the portico at the front, and in* 
jured the columns so seriously, that lar^e pieces were 
obliged to be inserted in manv of them ; this was supposed 
to have been done intentionally. Aeainst such acciaents, 
the Bank is now amply provided, there being two large 
tanks of water, one at each side of the building; aiyacent 
to wMch^ engines of immense power are placed, supplied 
with great quantities of tube ; and the forcing pumps are 
capable of inundating the entire building if required. 

This extensive pile is nearly of a semi-circular form, 
and stands on an acre and a half of ground. The grand 
front is 147 feet in breadth ; and, for elegance of design, is 
unrivalled ; but^ in addition to many extraordinary events 
connected with the history of this magnificent building, 
the name <tf the architect who gave the original design is 
not positively ascertained. Harris says it was executed 
under the inspection of Sir Edward Lovel P^arce, but 
omits any mention of Cassels, who is generally supposed 
to have been the person who ^ave the design, ana who 
was also the architect of Lemster House (the Dublin 
Society) in Kildare-street. 

We cannot here particularize the num^ous offices con- 
nected with the Bank, yet must not pass over in entire silence. 

The Priktino Houss-^which stands at the rear of the 
Bank, on the diameter of the semi-circle, and which has 
been fitted up according to the advice, and under the 
supermtendance of Mr. Oldham. About four years since, 
the number of forgeries induced the Directors to seek for 
some remedy in the formation of a proper circulating 
medium ; and to remedy the obvious defects of their notes, 
they employed Mr. Oldham to provide them with a plan of 
Bumbeni^> analogous to the stereotype dating and num- 
bering of the BvB& of England notes, which he accordingly 
did 3 and with this difierence from the mode in which the 
hmak of England note is numbered, that, while their ma- 
diinary only executes units, without additional adjust- 
ments, and therel^ requires confidential assistants, Mn 
Oldham'a apoaratus continues the series to 100,000, \n^ 
peiid^yo4 Ae ooAtrol of the operator, 
" 3D 



26 ..THE BANK. 

The ENORAiriNG Enoine is capable of engraving an 
indefinite number of note3> possessing absolute identity^ 
not only between each other, but also between . different 
parts of the same note -, audit is capable of re-pr6ducingj;he 
same precise characters for ever. This machine engraves 
the border, the vignette, &c. 

The Printing Presses. — ^There are four printing 
presses, worked b^ steam, on an exceedingly improved 
construction j a shifting roller passes over the head of the 
pressman, and, at every pull, shifts itself, and jpresents a 
dry surface. Five thousand notes are struck oflTevery day 
at each press, all of which are proof impressions. — To one 
pfithe supporters of every press, a small box is attached, 
with glaz^ apertures in the top, in which figures present 
themselves successively, at each puU of the press, indicat- 
ing the number of impressions taken up to that time of 
the day. This registering apparatus is secured from the 
interference of the printer, as the box containing it is 
locked. 

There are six presses employed in numbering and dating 
the notes ; each of which is composed of a brass box or 
chesty surmounted by a tympan, connected with the box 
by hinges : the tympan is so contrived as to receive the 
skeleton note, and, by means of an aperture in the upper 
surface of the box, a duplicate number and date is im- 
pressed, at each pull or fall of the tympan. It should be 
observed, that the press is calculated to receive two notes 
at once; which, of course, increases the despatch. To 
provide against everv species of imposition, there is not 
only a confidential person present, but the machinery 
is secured by lock and key. 

Institution. — ^The siiDscribers to the Bank of Ireland 
were incoiporated 1783, bv the denomination of the 
" Governor and Company 0/ the Bank of Ireland,* and 
transacted business, for the first time, on the 25th of 
June in that year, upon stock amounting to 600,000/. in 
4 per .cent government debentures. But, an Act was after- 
wards passed, authorising government to cancel those 
debentures, and grant an annuity, at the rate of 4 per cent 
in lieu thereof.—Jn addition to their capital, they borrowed 
60,000/. upon 5 per cent debentures, previous to maJ^inff 
any issue j and, in the year 1784, they rftised 40,000/* 
upon similar securities. 



TRSBANK. 27 

All monies ptud into his Majesty's Treasury, Court of 
Chancery, ana Exchequer, are deposited here. — ^The first 
dividend was made in 1783, at the rate of 4 per cent, from 
which time it hati gradually risen, and now bears about 5| 
per cent interest. 

The governor, directors, and officers, are annually 
elected in the month of April : there are fifteen directors, 
of whom five must be new. — ^The necessary qualification 
for governor is to be actually possessed of 5,000/. in stock, 
of a deputy governor, to be in possession of 3,000/., and 
of each of the directors, 2,000/. each. 

In the year 1791, a continuation of their charter was 
obtained for 21 years from the expiration of the charter 
the Bank was then possessed of (three years of which were 
still unexpired) on condition of 400,000/. being added to 
the capital; which would make in all 1,000,000/. sterling. 
About 17^> or 93, the bank raised a farther sum of 
120,000/. upon debentures bearing 4 per cent interest, — 
redeemable at the expiration of three years, according to 
their option; and in 1821 they obtained a renewal of their 
charter, on condition of increasing their capital half a 
million. 

Every office is arranged on a systematic and convenient 
plan. In the Cdsh Office, all lodgments are made, notes 
and post bills issued, and exchanged or accepted, drafts 
paid, &c.— This Office is open from ten to three every day, 
but private bankers' notes are not received in lodgment 
after two o'clock. — The Bullion Office is open also from 
ten to three each day : here silver is issued for notes not 
less than ten pounds ; but silver is not received there after 
two o'clock.— In the Discount Office bills are received 
from hsJf-past nine to half-past eleven 5 and the office 
opens again at one for the delivery of bills. This office is 
not open on Saturdays. — ^The Receiver's Office is open 
from two to three, anq from five to six in the afternoon, 
for' the payment of bills which were not honoured in the 
course of the day. Irish bills falling due on Sunday are 
payable the Monday after, but English bills are payable 
the Saturday before. — Neither post bills or private notes 
are received in payment of bills at the Bank. 



28 



DUBLJN SOCIETY. 



This valuable institution originated in the private meet- 
ings of a few eminent men^ Dr. Prior, Dr. Madan, and 
otners, 1731, for scientific purposes, and was supported 
solely by their subscriptions for eighteen ^ears. On April 
2nd, 1749, George 11. granted a charter of incorporation, as 
the *' Dublin Society, for promoting Husbandry and other 
useful Arts," and 600/. per annum ; since which period, 
parliament have lent liberal patronage and support : it is 
governed by a president (his Excellency the £ord Lieute- 
nant off Ireland), and siic Vice«-pre8ident8. i 

The Governors and Company of the Bank of Ireland 
are Treasurers ; the officers are, two Secretaries and an 
Assistant, a Solicitor, Professor and Lecturer on Botany and 
Agriculture, Professor of Chemistry, and an Assistant, Pro- 
fessor and Lecturer of Mineralogy, Mining Engineer, Lec- 
turer in Experimental Philosophy, Professor and Lecturer 
in the Veterinary Art, Libranan, Corrector of the Press, 
Master of the Schopl for Ornament and Landscape Drawing, 
Master of the Figure School, Master of the Schopl for 
Architectural Drawing, Master for Sculpture, and Head 
Gardener at the Botanic Garden, Glasnevin. 

There is a General Meeting every Thursday at two 
o'clock.-^Annual Courses of Lectures, open to the public, 
are delivered by the Professor and Lecturer, from whom 
and the House-keeper, tickets can be had. — Chemistry 5 
1st Course commences the first Tuesday in November; 
2nd Course, first Tuesday in January.— Mineralogy ; first 
Monday in March. — Natural Philosophy ; 1st Course, first 
Tuesday in March; 2nd Course, first Tuesdav in May. — 
Botany, 1st Course, first Monday in May; 2nd Course, 
second Tuesday in June. — Mining, first Tuesday in 
February. — Veterinary art, first Monday in May. 

The following departments are open to the Public : — 
Museum on Mondays and Fridays from twelve to three. — 
Room of Statuary and Elgin Casts, Tuesdays and Satur- 
days from twelve to three. — The Library, on introduction 
to the Librarian. — Botanic Garden, on Tuesdays and 



Fndaya from twelve to four j but, a member can intro- 
dQce Yiaitors at any time. 

The subscription to become a member of the Society 
for life, is 30 guineas j the number of members is about 

One object of the institution is, to encourage improve- 
ments in agricultural science and practice. Premiums are 
granted to planters of nurseries; and such is the effect 
already produced, that many millions of young trees have 
been planted, and extensive nurseries formed. 

To Botany they have given libera] encouragement ; 
baring purchased a considerable piece of land at Glas- 
nerin, about one mile from Dublm, at the north side of 
the city, which they have disposed as a botanic garden, witli 
peat judgment 5 and an eminent professor delivers 
lectures at their rooms iii the garden, during the spring 
season. This garden, laid out and design^ by the present 
professor, contains 27 acres, 20 perches English, or 16: 
2. 39. Irish acres ; and is inferior, in size, to but one of 
the same description, that is, the Botanic garden of 
Jamaica : the ground has every advantage in quality of 
soil, and aspect of its banks, and is watered by a well- 
supplied stream, the river Tolka. — ^The classification of 
the plants is as follows : — 

The Linnaean garden, which contains two divisions, — 
Herbaceous plants, and shrub-fruit ; and forest-tree plants. 

2. Garden arranged on the system of Jussieu. 

3. Garden of Indigenous plants (to Ireland), disposed 
according to the system of Linnaeus. 

4. Kitchen Garden, where six apprentices are con- 
stantly employed, who receive a complete knowledge of 
systematic botany. 

5. Medicinal plants. 

6. Plants eaten, or rejected, by cattle. 

7. Plants used in rural economy. 

8. Plants used in dyeing. 

9. Rock plants. 

10. Aquatic and marsh plant3.^For which an artificial 
marsh has been formed. 

11. Cryptogamics. 

12. Rower garden/ besides extensive hot-houses, and 

d3 



39 xmMMm^. 

tk eememktm for exotics. Near the centre of the ufarden^ 
stand the proiessor's-liouse^ and leoture-room>-^wliere lec- 
tures ^e aeli?en9d in tbe spring* and of which one end com- 
municates Hith th0 conservatory* for the purpose of more 
easily introducing any of the exotics required at lecture. 
The lectures commence in M^y* and continue to Sep- 
tember; the hour of attendance, eight in the morning, 
three days ia the wee|c. The introductory lecture is 
delivered at the Society's house in Dublin ; the gwrden 
is open to the public on Tuesdays and Fridays ^ on o^er 
days, an order from a member of the society^, procures 
immediate admission. 

The Botanic Establishment comprises a Professor, a 
Superintendantt two Assistants, twelve Gardeners* and 
six apprentices. 

The Veterinary Establishment is similar to that in Lon- 
don ; there are two eminent lecturers, and a veterinary 
museum. 

One of the most important objects of |liis institution, 
is the cultivation of mineralogy ; to proniote which the 
society purchased, in the year 1792, the museum of M. 
Leske, professor of Natund History, at Marburg, a dis- 
tinguished pupil of the illustrious Welner i this collection 
was subsequently improved by Kirwan, the Irish Philo- 
sopher. The classification of the minerals is Werner's, 
and is as follows :— <1. Characteristic collection, i- The 
Systematic. 3. Geolo^cal. 4. Geographical. 5, Eco- 
nomical. The Irish minerals form a distinct collection, 
distributed according to the arrangement of the thirty-two 
counties, and is caued " Museum Hibernipum." This 
valuable collection o(. specimens is open to students at Ml 
hours, and to the public on Monday^ Wednesday aud 
Piiday, from 12 to 3 o'clock. Sir Charles U. S. Giesec^e, 
is the present professor. 

The Drawing School, is divided into t|ir^ depart- 
ments 5 landscape, figure, and aroliitectur^, to i^hich is 
' added a school of sculpture or modelling j pv|5r each of 
these a difi'er^nt master presides^ who gives instruction 
three tinies each week, and three honrs at each sitting. 
The pupils of the figure-school, are occasionally provided 
with a living figure, to perfect their sketches of the 



hnmm fnm^, tad all this i« giat^iiDU8• About two 
iittndrttd pMpUfl jMrtake of tliis advaptajfe^ aadfrqmtbe 
exhibitioiip of native ffwua and education presented at 
the anaual display of drawings formerly made in the 
society's honsi^ the beneficial consequence? were mani« 
fest. The trst regul^ place of meeting used by the 
society, was ip Shaw's-court, till October 1767. when 
tli^y removed to a convenient building whicli they had 
erected in Grafton*8treet; from this Utter place they re** 
moved in 1796, to.Hawkins-street^ where they had Duilt 
an edifice for their Repository, Laboratorv, Galleries, 
Library^ &q. In 1815, they purchased the mansion 
of the Duke of I^einster, m Kildare-street, for the 
sum of ?0,000/., eleven of which have been paid off 
since. This is one of the most noble private residences 
in Europe i the entrance is from Kildare-street, through. 
^ gpUid ^te-way of rusiioated architecture, leading into 
a spadous opurt- The frout of this palace is ornamented 
with four Corinthian columns on a rusticated basement 
3tory, and is crowned by a pediment, with a plain tym- 
paimm i between the pedestal? of the columns «re balttSf 
trader. The windows are ornamented by architraves, and 
tho^te of the first story have circular and an^ar pedi- 
ments alternately ; at the rear of the building is a lawn of 
grefti extent, feparated from W[errion-aquar& by n low 
wa}l, and occupying the jfreater part of the western side 
of the square. The half is a noble lofty room, and hw 
an elegantly ornamented ceilings at the end^ you pass 
between laige piUars into a long gallery at nght angles 
to the length Of the hall, in which are th^ board-rooni^ 
news-Foonif secretary's apartments, &c. 

£[aiiI«.— In thre^ squared niches above the front arcade 
are large bus^fj of Nero, Vespasian, and Brutus ; over one 
of the doors on the right hand side, are b^sta of MithrK 
dates, Alexander, and Homer ; and on the adjacent chimney 
piepe those pf Plautilla, the Farnese Hercules, and 
Uaetfu Abov^ one of the doors on the opposite side, are 
bnsts of Comipodus, Pompey, and Marcus Aureliua; and 
ahov^ the other, those of two Senntors, between which 
staniis Ariadne. In the reces^a of the areades are 
Clytl^ and Niobe's daughter- There are alsc) statues <^ 
the ]6ejvid§re Ap^OjQ, Yenns de^ Metftci, f$4 CeHgiu^ 



3^ ©TJBUM SOCtiEW 

resting oft pedestals. But the most interesting^ works in this 
part of the buildings, are the performances of several voung 
artists educated in the Society's schools; amone which a 
bust of Young the tragedian, by Behnes, is admirable. This 
young. artijt purposes to evince his gratitude to the insti- 
tution, by presenting them with a statue of his present 
majesty, which he is now executing, and which is to be 
placed in the new drawing school. Prometheus chained 
to the rock, by Gallaghan, is a classical conception, and 
is executed with ability. The busts of the late Serjeant 
Ball, Hamilton Rowan, — Reeves, Esq., Rev! Mr. Taylor, 
and Mr. Farren the comedian, have all been admired for 
their style, but more particularly for the extreme accu- 
racy of the likenesses ; and are all by the pupils of the 
Society's schools. 

Galleut op Statuary, Busts, &c.— This collection 
occupies two rooms, and is as favourably disposed as 
the very awkward and imperfect accommodation which these 
apartments afford, can admit of. 

The first room contains casts from the Elgin Marbles, 
consisting of ornaments taken from the Friezes of the 
Parthenon at Athens. There are also the Metopes of the 
exterior frieze, representing the Centaurs arid Lapithae, 
&c. 

Near the entrance door, a reclining figure, in large life, 
much mutilated, represents Theseus or Hercules ; arid 
opposite is the Ilissus. The horse's head is tolerably 
perfect and very fine. 

The second room contains — Statues of a Faun, a Gladi- 
ator, Bacchus, a Roman Slave, a Grecian Venus, the Lao- 
CQon, and Belvedere Apollo, Pugilists, Venus de' Medici 
(the ^ift of I. Weld, Esq.), arid Antinous ; with the 
foUowmg busts, Niobe's son, Ariadne, a River God, 
Antmous, a Vestal Virgin, Niobe, and Susanna. 

Inner Hall.— Within the arcade in the great hall, 
and at either side' of the door leading to the secretary's 
room, conversation and board rooms, are statues of 
Apollo de Medici and Flora, on handsome pedestals. Oh 
the -left IS the door leading by the principal staircase, to 
the liibranr.and Museum. Concealing a disused door- 
way, which opened into the state parlour, is a figure of 
8nsamiainlari?elife; and on the landing* at the foot of 



<]ie slmi» ia « paipting qb » Uum 0cale> a copy by 
IVeaham (who was instmcted ia tEe Society's sciiool), 
from Michael Aogelo's Last Judgmeatj and on tbo riff]^ 
9» y^u ascend, ia a model of the ^ebrated wooden biiSge, 
at ikhaffltausen in Switzerland^ presented to the Society 
in 1771» by l4Qrd Bristol. The original* which was do- 
stroyed by the French in their retreat from Switzerland, 
was 365 iieet in length; and consisted of two arches, 
whose chords measured, the one 172, Ae other 193 feet, 
which appear to spring from a pier in the centre, the 
remains of a stone bridge. On the next landing is a 
iigfii^ of Mercury seated on a nedestal. 

Th« LiBRAnT.-^At the head of the stairs are the doors 
of the Iiibrary and Museum.. The former is a noble 
apartment in the western wing, 67 feet by about 30 (inde* 
T^nd^Uy of a semi-^rcular recess), and surrounded by a 
light gallery. Here is an excellent collection of about 
1^,000 books, particularly rich in Botuiiu works 3 amongst 
which is a very valuable work in four large folio volumes, 
'' Gramina Austriaca," by Nicholas Thomas Host; the 
gift of the Puke of Bedfoid, when Lord Lieutenant of 
Ireland. The MSS. are bound in 17 vols : most of them 
are copies of those of Bishop Sterne, made by Walter 
Harris, the historian ; from whose widow they were pur- 
chased for £500 : they contain copies of the Annals of 
Innlsfallen and Multifeman, and several tract) on ancient 
Irish history. The only original documents known to exist 
in this collection, are those which formerly belonged to 
Archbishop King- Harris's cattdogue of these MSS. is 
imperfect.— 43n pedestals, in the piers of the recess, stand 
two well-executed marble busts by Van Nost, of Dr. 
Prior and Dr. Madan, the founders of the Society. There 
is a series of volumes in the Library, of which the Society 
may not improperly be styled the Authors, viz* the 
County Surveys ; works undertaken at their instance, and 
published at their expense; some of which are de- 
servedly esteemed. The Survey of Galway has been 
ad4od to the series in 1824. 

Thb Museum.*— This interesting and instmctiTe collec- 
tion occupies six rooms en suite* 

The First Room contains a miscellaneous assemblage of 
curiosities. In a glaiis case, neai: tb^ we9t§rn wiftdQW^ is ^ 



34 totjBLm gociETir. 

mummyinavery perfect state of preservatibn. Theinterior 
of the coiBn-lid is adorned with grotesijue figures and hiero- 
glyphic characters, whose colouring is exceedingly vivid. 
Near this is a . figure clad in the armour of one of the 
Tiger-guards of Tippoo Sultan. A curious Earthen 
Urn is shown, found by the fiishoi> of Derry near his 
seat, Faughan, on Lough Swilly ; it was full of bones 
and ashes, and beneath ttie stump of an oak tree, which 
was probably some centuries buned in the earth. In one 
of the flat cases may be seen, a curious ancient Irish regal 
sceptre, made of iron, inlaid with gold, which was found 
in a bog in the county of Clare. This relic was niuch 
admired by his majesty, when he visited the Museum, 
and he is said to have examined it minutely. In the case of 
krish curiosities, an old Bassoon is preserved, found in 
the ruins of Dunluce Castle. In the same case is a small 
brass figure, the head, arms and legs of which were 
formally moveable ; and a large silver Brooch with Ogham 
inscriptions on the back (described by Gen. Valancey in 
his Collectanea, who asserts these characters to be the 
names of certain Irish Kings) with several ancient Irish 
weapons. 

Around the room, on little brackets, stand four braaen 
Lamas, taken from a Temple at Nepaul in Hindostan, by 
Lieutenant Boileau, whose life paid the forfeit of his 
temerity, being shortly after poisoned by the Indians to 
punish what they deemed sacrilege. — A very beautiful 
specimen of the Igneus Ibis, t. e, the glossy Ibis. This 
is one of three shot by Colonel Patrickson, near Bally- 
mulney-house in the county of Longford. Here is. also a 
Golden Oriale, killed in the town of Wicklow, by Coun- 
sellor Coates : this bird is chiefly an inhabitant of Spain. 

In the windows are some very beautiful specimens of 
stained glass, the ^ift and performance of Mr. M'Alister, 
who attained considerable eminence by his revival of this 
long lost art.* In the centre of the room stands an' in- 

^ " The windows (of Linnore Cathedral) are of stained glass,, richly and 
exquisitely executed, the work of a native artist, Geoige M'Alister of DuUin, 
who devoted his youth and talents to discover the lost art of painting on 
glasi, and who died at an early age, after, having made himself master of the 
secret."— Ryland's History of Watarford, p. 337. This young artist who died 
at tht IHS« Of K, in isiS, wqs the son of Mr. John M'Alister, head porter of 



DUBLIM, SOCIETY. 35 

terestmg model of Stonehenge : and close by is another 
model of as strange an Irish curiosity, a circular building, 
called the stairs^ discovered in the county of Kerry, not 
many years since. In 1787 General Valancey attempted 
an explanation of its former application j and in 1811 Mr.* 
Leslie Foster, and Mr. Rochfort commissioners for -re- 
claiming the bogs in Ireland, procured careful sketches of 
the whole, from which this model was copied. The sup- 
position of its haying been a Milesian Amphitheatre is 
not confirmed by any reasoning of a satisfactory nature. 
Some pearls found m various rivers through the kingdom 
are also exhibited here. The best have been found in the 
River Baun in Ulster, and may probably explain the deri- 
vation of this river's name, " Ban sijrnifying white/' 

Second Room. — Here the animal kingaom is displayed, 
arranged in six classes. 1. MammSia. 2. Aves. 3. 
Ampmbia. 4. Pisces. 5. Insects. 6. Vermes. — Here is 
a great variety of shells, butterflies and 'beetles, and of 
the most beautiful species. Over one of the cases' lies 
extended the stuffed skin of the very Boa Constrictor, 
described by M'Leod in his " Voyage of the Alceste." 
A yellow-breasted Martin ; a large Otter, shot in Bray river, 
with a trout in his mouth ; and a Chamois, in the warm 
clothing with which nature protects him from the rigours 
of the wintry season, in his Alpine country, presented by 
the Archduke John of AustpAy-^ccX^e most important 
objects in the second room^^ ^^^^**--^ 

The Third Room contans the mineralogicaf)Mrtion of 
the collections [See page J^OT}. In this apartment are' two 
very beautiful models of Clhinese state pleasure-boats made' 
of ivory, mother of peajrl, &c., the one representing a 
bird, the other a beast. / 

In the Fourth Room ajfe developed the Natural History of 
Greenland and the habin of the natives, in a very accu- 
rate manner. On one side is a Greenlander's hut, supplied 
with all its accustomed furniture, at the entrance of which 
stand the dwarf inhabitants. Around, in splendid cases, 

the Vt&vesAtf. Tbe principal of his works are In the windows of tiie 
CaUiedrBl of Ttuan; where arc ftill-length figures uf Uie four Evangeliats; 
Moses holding up Uie serpent fai the MTikteness; the arms and crest of the 
Watfidbid fismny; one of the metnbeis of whiefa, the Lord Deeies, was 
Aidibidiop, at die period of the insertion of . these windows: with YtftoHf 
tfiniaarti iv tbe icmaiiOiig winAmi.--^ Ooil'i* Uh* ^V* ^^^ 



are ifitttimerftUe mineralogical specimens from the same 
terra Inhospita; and in one of the windows are the head 
and tusks of that extraordinary animal^ the Walrus. 
Many other interesdnff curiosities and natural produc- 
tions are contained in this apartment^ all of which w^re 
collected by the present professor of Mineralogy, Sir 
Charles Giesecke^ during a residence of three years in 
Greenland and the Northern regions ; of whom there 
is, over the door opening to the corridor, an admirable 
portrait, by Sir H. Kaebnm. 

The Fifth Room contains the remaining, or geological 
part of the original Leskean collection, fiesides the mi- 
neralogical specimens in this apartment, there are some 
Tcry interestmg antiques presented by the late George 
Latouche, Esq. Amongst these are ten large Etruscan 
Vases ; one case of smimer ones ; a case of various small 
urns, ornaments, and figures, fdl from the ruins of Pompeii. 
There are also 74 paintings on Vellum, the subjects of 
which are copied from the different designs upon the 
Vases. There are three bronze figures, a Bacchanalian, 
a very beautiful Venus, and a mutuated figure not unlike . 
the usual statue of Caracalla. Here is also a collection 
of Siberian polished stones, presented to the Society by 
Lord Whitworth (when Lord Lieutenant, 2nd January, 
1817), to whom they had been given by the Empress Ca- 
therine of Hussia. 

The Sixth Room, is the Museum Hibemicum ; and con- 
tains mineralogical and geological specimens from the 
thirty-two counties of Ireland. Some Irish gold from the 
Cran Kbshela mine in the county of Wicklow, and a fac- 
simile of the largest piece ever round there. There are 
several parts of the Irish Moose Deer's antlers over the 
cases in this room, and one or two busts and figures. A 
small figiu-e of the right Hon. John Foster (now Lord 
Oriel), and busts of jiGrchduke John of Austria, and Sir 
Charles Gieseckc j the latter are not part of the Museum 
property. 

The Chemical Laboratory is finished in the most modem 
and improved manner, and the apparatus is of the most 
sciantific description* such as the present learned pro- 
fessor is entitled, to i here, an annual course of puPmic 
lectures is deUfettd^ and O^ere is accomnodatton f<Hr 400 



DUBLIK SOqSTY. 37 

The Apartments appropriated to tbe use of members, 
are all en suite on tne ground floor. They are the Board 
and Conversation rooms. Ante-room, and Secretary's office, 
or Sub-committee room. The Board-room is a noble apart- 
ment, a little too low, but otherwise of fair proportion, 
67 feet by about 36, with a rich ceiling, supported by 
columns at each end. In a spacious semi-circnlar recess 
stands a fine canopied President's chair, richly carved and 
^Ided, a memento of Ireland's departed greatness, having 
formerly been that of the Speaker of the Irish House of 
Commons : and here, too, is a full-length portrait, by Sir 
W. Beechy, of a nobleman, who once so ably filled it. Lord 
Oriel, better known as the Right Hon. John Foster. 
Corresponding with this, is a portrait of Richard Kirwau, 
the face of which was painted by Hamilton. 

Over the chimney-pieces are two small frames contain- 
ing banditti scenes (small life), in white marble, the one 
l)y Smyth, the other by Kirk. In the original grand 
eatrance to this spacious room, and directly opposite to 
the Presider^t's chair, is a bust of his present Majesty, who 
Wsited this institution in August 1821. 

The Board-room communicates wth the Conversation- 
room, an apartment of considerable, though much inferior, 
dimensions, where is a portrait of a once distinguished 
member, and very meritorious antiquarian. General Va- 
lancy. Here are likewise a series of 42 architectural 
drawings from classic remains of antiquity, by Mr. 
Tracey, made at the expense of Henry Hamilton, Esq., of 
Fitzwuliam Square. 

In the Ante-room is a portrait in crayons, of Coun- 
sellor Wolfe j and two marble busts, one of Lord Chester- 
field, the other of Mr. Maple, the first Secretary to the 
Society, In the Secretary's room is the collection of paint- 
ings presented by Thomas Pleasants, Esq. to the Society, 
together with a portrait of himself, by Solomon Williams. 
In the collection are the foUowing : — ^The Visitation of the 
Shepherds; the Dream; Narcissus; Joseph and Mary; 
two landscapes by Barrett ; two large battle pieces ; two 
smaller battle pieces ; the Magdalene in a Wilderness ; St. 
Paul preaching; the Holy Family; Peg Woffington, by 
Sir Joshua Reynolds ; Head of Captsdn Ram, by Hocfarth, 
&c: Also two plates of plaster of Paris Medals, Swift, 



38 PAftMWS SOC*TV. 

ffiaid to be a faitliful likeness), Malone, Sparks, Wood- 
ward, Ryder ; and a statue of Handel. 

The Drawing schools are at present held in the offices 
of Leinster House, but will, in the course of this year 
(1825), be transferred to a range of buildings erecting 
for their reception, under the superintendance of the 
society's architect, Mr. Baker. The entrance is beneath 
the northern colonnade adpoininfi^ the lawn : the entire build- 
ihg measures 127 feet, disposed in the following manner : 
a vestibule 20 feet by 10, a stair-case, leading to a 
spacious and lofty gallery 90 feet by 30, in which the 
collection of statuary will be aiTanged (seepage 32). In a 
niche at the end of this noble apartment, wul be placed 
Behnes's statue of his Majesty. On the basement story is 
the school-room, 40 feet by 30, where the pupils are 

fratuitously instructed in architecture, landscape and 
gure-drawing, by eminent masters. There are two other 
apartments, one for making drawings, the other models 
from life. All the apartments are warmed by heated air ; 
the front is towards the lawn, and is neatly finished to 
imitate granite. 

Farming Society. — ^This society was instituted in 1800, 
and incorporated by royal charter 1815. Its objects 
are, the improvement of agriculture and live stock, 
and the growth of timber. Of this institution, so im- 
portant in such a country as Ireland, the late Marquis 
of Sligo was the founder. It is directed by a presi* 
dent, a vice-president, and twenty-one directors^ — 
five of whom are changed every year : candida«^es are 
elected by ballot. Besides this establishment at Sum- 
mer Hill, Dublin, there is a d^ndt at Balinasloe, in 
Connaught, where they hold annual meeting's, duiing the 
time of the fair, from the fifth to the ninth of October. 
The house at Summer Hill, though not distinguished by 
architectural ornament, is convenient for its purposes : It 
contains the apartments of the inferior officers, with a 
Board-room and Library. — ^There is a small garden at the 
r^ar for the preservation of specimens of grass ; an enclo- 
sure surrounded by sheds, in which the spring show of 
fat cattle^ Is held $ and an auction*hou8e, for the sale of 
ift, m)o\. Hiere is, besides, a factory, for, making all . 
kinds of implementa conoecied witb husoandry, accord-* 



ing to the latest improvements. To encourage the breed 
of cattle, the society have an annual spring show, of black 
cattle, s^ep, and swine 3 on which occasion premiums 
are iUstriouted 3 and, by an a(|iudication of rewards for 
broad cloth manufactured in Ireland, from Irish wool, 
cloth of an excellent description has already been produced. 
Tlie society is supported by occasional grants from Par- 
liament, donations, and the subscriptions paid by memberf 
on their admission. The principal officers are a Secretary 
and Registry. 

BoyaiiIbish AcAnEMY.— As early as 1683, the cele- 
brated Mr. Molyneaux endeavoured to establish a society, 
similar to the Royal Society of London j yet, though 
fostered by the protection of Sir W. Petty, its president, 
it was but of five years continuance. In 1/44, the Physico- 
Historical Society was instituted, whose chief object 
was, to inquire into the antiauities of Ireland j and, under 
their auspices, some statistical surveys were made. At 
length, after fruitless efforts, in 1782, a number of gentle- 
men, chiefly members of the university, associated to- 
f ether, for the purpose of promoting ^^n^ra/ and useful 
nowledge^ and, in 1786, a patent was granted for the 
Incorporation of the Royal Irish Academy, to promote the 
study of polite literature, science, ana antiquities. It 
consists of a patron (his Majesty), a visitor (the liord-lieu- 
tenant), a president, four vice-presidents, a treasurer, two 
SjBcretaries, and a council of twenty-one, which is sub- 
divided into three committees — the first, of science ', the 
second, of polite literature ; the third, of antiauities. 

The committee of science meet the first monday, the 
coflftmittee of polite literature, the second, and t)ie comr> 
mittee of antiquities, the third, and the Academy at 
large on the fourth Monday of every month, at eifht 
o'clock in the evening. The academy is on the west side 
of Qrafton-street, opposite the Provost's house. In addi- 
tion to a large apai*tment for meetings of the society, 
ornamented by portraits of Lord Charlemont and Mr. Kir- 
wan, tKe nuneralogist, it is furnished with a tolerable 
library, in which are to be found three Irish MSS. of 
very ancient date — the Book of Lecan, the Book of 
9Munote, and a MS. called the Speckled Book of M'E^'^ 
Tbe members can consult the books at pleasure. 



40 DUBLIN WSTITOTION. 

society occasionally bestow premiums for the best essays on 
Ifiven subjects^ ana persons not members are at liberty to 
Decome competitors. These compositions form their Trans- 
actions, which now amount to twelve or fourteen quarto 
volumes of exceedingly interesting matter. Members are 
elected by ballot, and an entrance fee of five guineas is 
required, with a subscription of two guineas per annum. 
There are 180 members. Parliament grants to this Insti- 
tution 700/. per annum. 

KiRWANiAN Society. — ^This society, formed in 18 tf, 
borrows its name from that great chemist and mineralogist 
Kirwan ; its objects are, the advancement of chemistry, 
mineralogy, and all other branches of natural history. 
The subscription is one guinea per annum. 

Iberno-Celtic Sociktt. — ^This association met De- 
cember 11th, 1808, in a regular manner, for the preserva- 
tion of the venerable remains of Irish literature, by col- 
lecting and publishing the numerous fragments of laws, 
history, topography, poetry, and music of ancient Ireland ; 
for the elucidation of the language, antiquities, and cus- 
toms of the Irish people, and the encouragement of 
works tending to the advancement of Irish literature. 

To promote tl\e objects for which this society has been 
formed, attempts have been made, many years since, and 
by individuals of wealth and talent. Edmund Burke 
caused the Seabright MSS. to be deposited in the library 
of Trinity college, for that purpose : General Valancy, 
(author of the Irish Grammar, and of the Collectanea de 
Rebus Hibernicis) and the learned Dr. Young (Bishop of 
Clonfert) are to be found amongst the assistants to this 
desirable object. In 1808, the Society published a volume 
of Transactions. The terms of admission as a member are 
24*. per annum, or 2s. 2d. per month. The Lord Lieute- 
nant is patron, and the Duke of Leinster president. 

Dublin Institution. — ^This institution was opened 
1811, in a spacious house in Sackville-street ; 16,000/. 
having been raised upon 300 transferable debentures, at 
60/. each. With this- sum a library was established, a 
lending libranr added, a lecture-room fitted up in a 
handsome style, with a philosophical apparatus, and a 
lecturer in Natural History appointed. The first, and 
part of the second floor, is occupied by the library ; the 



DBrlours t^re used as newa-rooms. The number of ttem- 
lers isabout 600, part proprietors and part subscribers $ and 
the subscription is three i^iueas per annum. The lectures 
In Natural Philosophy have been discontinued, and the 
leeture-room latterly let to a Methodist congregation. 
Proprietors, paying one guinea per annum, have the privi- 
lege of Introducing a visiter, not generally residing in 
Dublin, for one month. 

,« Dublin Library Socibtt. — The origin of this now 
numerous society can be traced to the meeting of a few 
persons at a bookseller's. No. 80 Dame-street, to read 
newspapers and new nublications. Growing too numerous, 
they removed, in 1791, to a house in Eustace-street, and 
assumed the name and form of a regular society. The 
gradual increase of members requiring a still larger house, 
on the 5th January, 1809, they removed to No. 2 
Burgh-quay, near Carlisle-bridf e, one of the most central 
situations in the city ; and on 18 th Sept. 1820, to a neat 
and elegant edifice, with a stone front, erected purposely 
for their use, in D'Olier-street, but a few yards from their 
former situation. This y&ry prettv and convenient struc- 
ture wss built by Messrs. Henry, Mullins, and M'Mahon, 
after a design by G. Papworth, Esq. ; the original contract 
was for 4,800/. ; but alterations, &c. Increased the total ex* 
pf^se to 5,594/. lU. 2^d. The library, which is very ex- 
tensive^ cost upwards of 8,000/. ; and is admirably chosen. 
It is open every day from ten till five, and from seven till 
ten. There is also a reading-room, with English, Scotch, 
Irish, French, and American newspapers. The business 
of the society is conducted by a president, four vice-pre- 
sidents, and a committee of twentv-<)ne, chosen annually 
from amougst the members, by ballot, besides a treasurer, 
librarian, and assistant. Terms, for the first year, two 
guineas, afterwards one. Every member is admitted to 
the advantage of the lending or eirculatug library, on 
paying one guinea per annum additional. Tne number of 
subscribers is about 1,500, 

Marsh's Library. — ^In 1694, Dn Narcissus Marsh, 
Archbishop of Dublin, established a public library in the 
vieinity of St. Patrick's Cathedral, for which purpose he 
purchased Dr. StiUingfleet's collection of books. The 
IibraryHr^xmi causists of two gidleries^ jaeeting at a right 



42 CATHKliRAL or ST. PATRICK. 

angle; and in this angle is the librarian's ropm, who^ 
consequently^ has a view of the entire library at once. 
The Stillingfleet collection is in one of the gidleries ; and 
donations^ and modem productions, in the oth^. To 
gain admission, a certificate, or introduction is necessary. 
—The library is open every day from 11 to 3, Sundays 
and holidays excepted : it is under the government of 
trustees, appointed by act of parliament, who make annual 
visits. The situation of this library is so very incon- 
venient and remote from the respectable part of the 
eitv* and the books it contains so obsolete, that the 
public do not derive much advantage from it. Amongst 
the MSS.are twelve volumes illustrative of the History of 
Ireland, the Repertorium Viride, the Liber Niger of Arch- 
bishop Alan^ &c. 



CATHEDRALS. 



CATHEDRAL OF ST. PATRICK. 

The Cathedral dedicated to this celebrated Apostle of 
Ireland, was built by John Comyn, Archbishop of Dublin, 
in 1190; for which purpose, he received many munificent 
grants. It is supposed, that on the same site there stood 
a chapel built by the saint himself in the year 448 — The 
founder of this church created thirteen Prebendaries, 
which number was increased to fifteen by Henry de 
Loundres, Archbishop of Dublin, about the year 
1220, who also appointed a Dean, Chanter, and Chan- 
cellor, and modelted its government on that of the English 
cathedrals. 

About one hundred years after the death of Henry de 
Loundres, through the shameful negligence of the cathe- 
dral servants, this noble edifice M^as completely burned 
down. — ^But, in less than two years after, it was rebuilt, 
and the steeple and spire added, of which Archbishop 
Minot laid the foundation stone, 1370. In th» reign 
of Philip and Mary, 1566, the fights and privileges 
of this cathedral were established. The chapter was 



>:• 






^ r- / 



CATRCSRAL Of ST. PATfttCK. 43 

appointed to consist of the dean, two archdeacons, a 
cnapceUor, treasurer, twenty-two canonical prebendaries, 
six inferior canons, sixteen vicars-choral, and six choristers. 
This building consists of a nave, transept, and choir: 
the former, which is 130 feet in length, has two side- 
aisles, mnch decayed, and ^vanting considerablv of their 
original elegance, but kept remarkably neat. They com- 
municate with the centre of the nave by large pointed 
arches of a particularly beautiful style, supported by 
plain octagonal pUlars. The nave is lighted by a very 
large mndow in the western end, over the grand entrance. 
—On one side of the centre stands a handsome monument 
to the memory of Doctor Thomas Smyth, Archbishop of 
Dublin, who died in 1771 ; and immediately opposite^ 
that of Dr, Narcissus Marsh, a man remarkable for piety, 
learning, and liberality. — He fiUed the situations of dean, 
provost, bishop, archbishop, and, finally, primate of all 
Ireland. — ^Before his death (which happened Nov. 2nd, 
1713, at the age of 75), he bestowed on the public a mag- 
nificent collection of books [see page 41.] This monu- 
ment was originally erected against the side wall of the 
librstry ; but, suffering much from the effects of the weather, 
it was removed hither. It consists of a canopy, ornamented 
with drapery, of white marble, and two handsome Corin- 
thian columns, between which is a Latin inscription. 

Archbishop Smyth's monument consists of two columns 
of the Ionic order, supporting an entablature and semi* 
circular pediment, on which rests a mitre ; the centre of 
the pe^ment is occupied by the bishop's arms $ under- 
neatn stands a large urn of white marble inserted in a 
niche, and below the urn, a bas-relief head. This magni- 
ficent monument, which cost upwards of 1,500/., was de- 
signed by Van Nost, and executed by his pupil, John 
Smyth. 

(m the north side of the nave, attached to one of the 
pillars, is a handsome monument of white marble, to the 
memory of the Earl of Cavan, who died Nov. 2nd, 1778, 
aged 56. A sarcophagus supports a figure of Minerva, 
surrounded by military emblems. Behind, an urn is seen,- 
resting on a column, against which i» suspended a medal- 
lion of the deceased Earl. 

On the south side of the zwve, and near St. Patrick's 



44 CATHSPRAL or 6T« 9A17aiCK. 

gtXe, a handsome moaumeat of wMte marble is affixed 

to one of the columns, dedijcated to the memory of John 

Ball, Esq. Serjeant at Law , who died the 24th of August^ 

1810, in the 60th year of his age. 
On the same column, and only a few feet lower, is a 

vyhite marhle sla)), to the memory of Mrs. Hester John- 

spn, on which is inscribed, 

UndMneatb Ue the morUl remains of Mrs. HESTER JOHNSON* better 
known to the world by the name of STELLA, under which she is iwldlinfeed 
in the writings of Dr. Jonathan Swift, Dean of this cathedral. She was a 
person of extraordinary endowments of body, mind, and behaviour. Justly 
admired and respected by all who knew her, on accoimt of her many eminent 
virtues, as wdl as for h«r great natural and acquired perftetions. She 
died January t7th, 1727-S. in the 46th year of her age, and by her will 
bequeathed one thousand pounds towards the support of a chaplain to the 
Hospital founded in this city by Dr. Stevens. 

At the western gate, is the monument of Michael Tre- 
gury. Archbishop of Dublin, who died in the year 147 J, 
and left a pair of organs to St. Mary's Chapel. On the 
tomb stone, which is a slab of granite, seven feet loag 
and four broad, set upright in the wall, the Archbishop 
is represented with his pontifical habit and crosier. 

Swift's Monument. — On the column next thcLt to 
which the monument of Mrs. Hester Johnson is fixed, is 
that of Dean Swift, with an inscription, expressive of that 
hatred of oppression, and love of liberty, yvkich his ptb^r 
writings bceathe, for it was written by himself. 

Hie depositum est corpus 

JONATHAN SWIFT, s, r. v. 

Hujus Ecclesie Cathedialis Decani, 

U^i saevaindignatlo 

XJlterius oor lacerareiiequit. 

Abi Viator 

Et imitare, si poteris, 

Stxenuum* pro virili, 

Libertatis vmdicatorem. 

OhUt 19S die mensis Octobrb, a.d. 174^. 

Anno iEtatis 78. 

Immediately over this monumental tablet, is a well- 
fxe^uted bust of Swift, by Cunningham, placed there in 
1776> by J. Faulkner, the original printer of his works, 
who at first intended to place this admirable specimen of 
statuary in the front of his house, in Essex-street. 

T9 t|ie left of ^e entrance, cfdled St. Paul's 0»te^ 



CATHKIffUL OF ST. PATRICK, 46 

affixed to the pillar next tbe door-way« i» a small marble 
slab, to the memory of Alexander M'Gee, servant to the 
celebrated Dean. 

At the north-west end of the south aisle^ is the vault 
where the remains of the Rev. J. W. Keating, late Dean 
of St. Patrick^ who died May 6th, 1817, aged 47, are 
entombed. 

In the north aisle, and near the steeple, is the monu* 
ment of Richard Meredith, D.D. Bishop of Leighlin and 
Ferns, and once Dean of this cathedral, who med Aug. 
3rd, 1597. The tomb dedicated to his fame was destroyed 
in the revolution of 1688, when the church was converted 
into a barrack for the military, by order of James H. ; 
but a second tomb has since been erected, a little to the 
east of its former situation. 

Not far from this is a monument to the memory of 
Doctor Martin, Prebendary of "St. Patrick's, and rector 
of Killeshandra. 

The monument of the Earl of Rosse consists of a pedes- 
tal supporting a bust of white marble. 

There are some other monuments, for which those who 
desire information are referred to Mason's History. — ^At 
the north-west an^le of the aisle, is the door-way leading 
to the Steele, which was erected in 1370, at the instance, 
and' owing to the zeal, of Archbishop Minot, who, on that 
account, adopted as a deidce upon his seal, a Bishop hold- 
ing a steeple in his hand. — In 1749, Dr. Sterne, Bishop of 
Clogher, oequeathed 1,000/. towards the erection of a 
spire, which was executed, from the design of George 
Semple, Esq. — ^The tower is 120 feet in height, and the 
spire 103, making, in all, from the ground to the ball of 
tne spire, 223 feet. This spire, it ^vill be supposed, is ex- 
tremely conspicuous from every approach to Dublin, but, 
o\ving to the lowness of its situation, it is not visible in 
some of the outlets of the city. — Within the tower, is 
suspended a ring of eight remarkably sweet-toned bells ; 
on the first of which is the following appropriate motto : 
** Duretillasa adpreces excttans, usque aasomtum supretme, 
1724,'* — Returning to the end of the nave, the entrance 
of the choir is reached, beneath a gothic arch-waj of 
modem construction^ over which, forming the division 
between the nave and choir, is the organ. This organ, 
universally acknowledged the finest^toned In Ireland, was 



generally thougbt to have been the workmanship of Sifdth, 
of Rott^^m« and was intended to be erected in the church 
of Vigo, in Spain ; but at the moment of its arriyal the 
Duke of Ormond made an attack on that town, at the head 
of the Allied Fleet, and carried it off with other valuables. 

Th» Choi^i. — ^The choir, which is ninety feet in len^th^ in- 
cluding that portion of the nave where the four principal 
arches mtersect, is the finest specimen of pointed architecture 
in the kingdom, richly decorated with niches and recesses, 
caped commonly the Friars' walks. — ^The ceiling, which is 
composed of c^roined arches, was built of stone, but not long 
since was obliged to be removed, and its place supplied by 
one of stucco, exactly similar to the former, so that the 
choir presents the venerable appearance of an ancient 
cathedral, in its full splendor. — ^The choir was formerly 
rpofed with stone flacks, of an azure colour, and inlaid with 
stars of gold; but tne weight of the roof being too great 
for the support beneath, it was removed, and discovered 
traces of 100 windows. — The exterior walls were supported 
by flying buttresses/ with demi-arches ; and there were 
niches in the walls, where statues of t)ie saints were placed, 
but no traces of the niches or statues are to be found at 
this day. — Within the choir are the Archbishop's throne, 
and Prebendal stalls, which are occupied by the knights of 
the most illustrious order of St. Patrick on Installation 
days. Over each stall are suspended the helmet and 
sword of the knight, and above the gallery, all round, are 
the banners of those who now enjoy the honour of knight- 
hood. — The throne, stalls, and first gallery, in which are 
the Dean's and Archbishop's closets, are very appropriately 
ornamented with carved oak, and scarcely interfere with 
the architectural beauty of the interior. A second gallery 
was erected previously to the installation in 1819, wliich 
greatly disfigures the appearance of the choir, and gives it 
rather the air of a theatre, than of a cathedral for divine 
worship. — ^Notwithstanding this, the whole appearance of 
the choir, from its immense heifi^ht, the dim light, the in- 
signia of the order of St. Patrick, and the diflSrent monu- 
ments, is venerable, magnificent, and imposing. In the 
east end is the altar, at each side of which are t^lets sunk 
in recesses, with the ten commandments in g^t letter^;, 
and the altar-piece* represents a curtain behind a large 

f T;wi)lltfira»tofr9mijaYCBU«MfaoC£fii: JobaSt«Tfl^ 



CATHSf)RAL 6p IST. PAtRlcl 47 

gothic arch^ half-drawn, and just admitting a glorv to the 
view y it is considered well executed, and has an aamirable 
effect, being completely in character. 

Monuments in the Choir. — Near the altar» on the 
south wall of the choir, stands the celebrated monument 
of Richard, Earl of Cork, erected in the reign of Charlesi 
I.; not more remarkable for its magnificence, and the 
enormous sum it cost, than for the political and ecclesias- 
tical quarrels it was the occasion of. It having been fint 
placed where the communion table now stands. Archbishop 
Laud complained to Lord Strafford, the Lord Lieutenant, 
which gave gre^at offence to the descendants of the Earl of 
Cork, and to Lord Treasurer Weston, whose ancestor. 
Chancellor Weston, was interred here. 
. The upper part of the monument contains a iwure of 
Weston, bean of this cathedral, beneath an arch, in a 
cumbent posture. Beneath are two compartments, the 
one occupied by a figure of Sir Geoffrey Fenton, Secretary 
and Privy-councillor to Queen Elizabeth and James L ; 
and the other by his lady, Alice, daughter of Dean Weston $ 
both in a kneeling attitude. lu the next lower cham1)er, 
are placed two fibres, the one of the Earl and the other 
of the Countess^ of Cork, in a recumbent posture -, at their 
heads two of their sons are kneeling, in the attitude of 
prayer, and two in the same positicm, at their feet. In the 
lowest chamber are the EarFs six daughters, with the 
%ure of a child, supposed to be the celebrated Sir Robert 
Bovle, all in the attitude of praying. 

Over the door leading from the Choir to the Chapter- 
house, is a monument, a figure in a leaning posture, of 
the Viscountess Doneraille, who died Dec. 3rd, 1761, attd 
was iat^red in the vault of the Boyle £»ittily. 

Oppoaite to the Earl of Cork's monument, and at> « 
co&siderable height, there is a black slab inserted in the 
wall, consecmtea to the memory of the illustrious priace, 
Otik^ Sehombecg, who was slain at the battle of the Boyne, 
him* 

Ihare is here also a monfunent to Sir Edward F%too» 
bold ftesident 6f Conuaught, in old English clMiBcters^ 

* In a pten io4be Chapter-hottM^ a tkuU, srfi to b* flittt ^ Dtike«kAdfA*' 



46 eATHlDlLAL OF ST. PATRICK. 

on a brass plate, with the arms engraved on pewter, and 
inlaid on the plate. 

Archbishop Jones's monument, although built in the 
style and manner of Lord Cork's, is deficient in magnifi- 
cence : it consists only of two chambers or stories, in one 
of which is the effigy of the Archbishop, and in the other 
Lord Viscount Ranelagh, with a number of figures kneel- 
infi[, their hands raised in a suppliant manner. 

IJnder the gallery there is a brass plate inserted in the 
wall, with an inscription, in obsolete English, to the 
memory of Sir Henry Wallop, of Southampton, ancestor 
of Lord Portsmouth, who was buried in this cathedra], in 
1599. — ^Beneath the steps of the altar the Domvilles have 
been interred, and not far from their burial ground, is the 
ffrave of Archbishop Talbot. In the choir of this cathe- 
dral also are deposited the remains of Brigadier Fltzpatrick, 
who, with eighty fellow passengers, was drowned near the 
Hill of Howth in the Bay of Dublin, in 1696, in attempt- 
ing to cross the channel from Holy-head to Dublin, in 
the William packet. — In the aisle, to the south of the 
choir, is a monument to the memory of Mrs. Taylor, and 
some of her children. — ^And another, to the memory of 
Baron William Worth, and his posterity ; who was in- 
terred in the choir, 1682. — ^Over two small pointed arches 
in the choir, have lately been discovered the arms of King 
John, a crescent and star. These niches are supposed to 
have been the chairs of state. 

Thb Chapter House. — ^The old Chapter House* or, 
as it was anciently called, St. Paul's Chapel, occupies 
part of the southern transept, and was an elegant spe* 
cimen of the interior beauty of this cathedral, until it 
was disfi^red by a modem arch, introduced for the sup- 
port of tne walls which were in a tottering state ; this is 
said to have been the prison of the Inquisition. Here the 
Dean had a throne, and the prebendaries stalls, and the 
banners of the deceased knights of the illustrious order of 
St. Patrick were removed here from the choir, and added 
considerably to its picturesque appearance : it was orna- 
mented also by a statue of the Marquis of Buckingham, 
dressed in the robes of the order, which was instituted 
during his government.* 

• TliN rtvtaeUtenioyed to the Royal Cluster Houfe* ftnaofy ft, |bvyi| 
CbapeL 



^ATHtDRAL OT ST. PATRICK. 49 

St. Mary's Chapel> or Royal Chapter-house^ at the 
east end of the choir, was, until lately, given up to the French 
Protestants, but has since been appropriated to its pre- 
sent use. It is a spacious apartment lighted by narrow 
lancet windows, but has undergone so many alterations, 
that its original character is entirely effaced. There Avere 
other chapels, but they are now buried in ruins. The 
north entrance, or St. Nicholas Gate, was used as the 
parisli church of St. Nicholas Without, until about 17S0, 
when it was taken down. In 1820, Dean Ponsonby ob- 
tsuned a grant from the Board of First-Fruits for its resti- 
tution, which is now nearly accomplished in a chaste and 
appropriate style. Upon the installation of the knights 
hdd here by his present majesty, August 28th 1821, the 
furniture or the old Chapter-house was removed to this 
chapel, which was fitted up^ with much splendour for 
the reception of its august visitor, and the chapter of the 
order. 

The old Chapter-house remained unused, and while the 
cathedral was closed in the summer of 1824, Dean Pon- 
sonby directed the old screen to be removed, and the floor 
to be lowered to the level of the great aisle ; when in re- 
moving the rubbish it was discovered, that the original 
floor was nearly 18 inches lower, and upon a farther 
excavation, the altar steps of. St. Paul's chapel were 
found, composed of inlaid tiles, and in a very perfect 
state. By tne lowest steps of the altar were found three 
stone cofnns contiuning the bones of some prelates. 

In the south dslc near to the door of the Royal Chapter 
House, is a statue of the Right Hon. George Ogle, erected 
by subscription. It is the workmanship of Sm3rth of 
Dublin. The site of this cathedral has been already 
spoken of as being injudicious, and not merely from its 
being so low, but from a small stream runmng by it, and 
under Pfttrick-street, that overflows after rain, and at one 
time inundated the cathedral; to obviate which incon- 
venience, the cathedral floor was raised,* and conse- 
quently part of the piUars, supporting the pointed arches, 
buried; after which the street was raised, so that the 
cathedral floor is again lower than the external surhce, 

• lattwvatiag the floor of St Paul's Cbqpd, to raduee it to theteve> 
ff atflooiorthe0Mtaid0i, llMlMMtofttMpUlanlynreliNneKPQMd. 
F 



so CAtttBBRAL OF St. PAtlllCB:. 

which very much contributes to render it damp. Until a 
ft w years oack^ the side aisle to the east of St. Nicholas 
Gate, was completely filled with inibbish, and impassable ; 
this was cleared away, and rendered one of the most 
eleg-ant ^valks in the cathedral, and a quantity of scaffolding 
whichsupportedtheroof of thenave, and totally obstructed 
the view, were also removed. These improvements were 
made by Dean Keating, in 1814 and 1816. AVhen the 
North Transept or St. Nicholas's Gate, now rebuUc^nff ,shall 
be completed, this venerable edifice will be restored to the 
condition it was in when Sir James Ware asserted it to be 
preferable to all the cathedrals in Ireland for beauty and 
magnificence of stmcture, and for extent. 

The Dbanery-house — at a short distance from the 
cathedral, in the narrowest and filthiest part of Kevin- 
street, is a small, low, handsome building, with a small 
court yard in front. Here are portraits of all the deans 
of this cathedral; and from the portrait of Swift, by 
Bindon, which may be seen here, all the others of him 
have been copied. Dean Ponsonby is now opening Kevin- 
street from tne Old Palace to the Deanery Gate, and he 
intends to clear away the old house between the court-yard 
and Patrick-street. 

Archiepiscopaij Palace. — There were two palaces 
attached to the see of Dublin, one at a distance of four 
miles from town, and near the village of Tallaorh, which 
is still in the possession of his Grace, but mng since 
disused. The second is in Kevin-street, close to the 
Deanery-house. The Dublin palace was an exceedinriy 
beautiful building, and but for its miserable site, womd 
probably have yet continued to be the Archiepiscopal resi- 
dence : it consisted of a centre and winss extendi]^ about 
150 feet, with a spacious court-yara in front. This 
venerable edifice has been converted into a barrack for 
Horse-police. 

For many years serious contentions existed between 
the ArchbisUops of Dublin and Armagh, on the (question 
of primatial rights ^ wHch were ultimately decided ia 
favour of the latter. 



• OK 



[':■ J} J ^:, 



51 



CATHEDRAL OF CHRIST CHURCH. 

Jijf tlie year l?14, the see of Dublin was united to that 
of Glendaloch, a village in the county pf Wicklow, 
twenty-seven iiiile^ ftom^nbiin, which union still exists. 
Tq this see niany valuable endowments were given by 
Innpcent Ifli* and by King John. The archbishop of 
D^i]}Q v^, fbnneirlv a member of the privy-council of 
^pAij^tfid : he bad tne rights and privileges of a prince 
im^mi within the liberties of the Cross, and a gallows 
lor ike execution * cif criminals^j within ^ mile of his 
palace^ at a place called flarM's Cross, on the south side 
of the city. Archbishop Kinff erected a handsome build- 
ing in Kevin's-street, wh^re the seneschal held his court, 
but the consistory-court was held in St. Patrick's cathe- 
dral. — ^A very remarkable circumstance relative to the 
djiocese of Dublin is, that it contains twq cathedrals, St. 
Patrick's, arid Christ-church or the Blessed Trinity. The 
cathedral of Christ-church was built in 1038, by Sitricus, 
the son of Amlave, King of the Ostmen of Dublin, and 
Dqnat or Dunan, the first Ostman bishop, who was 
buried in the choir, at the right-hand side of the coramu- 
niqn table> 1074. This cathedral stands on a range of 
arcb^^, erected by the Danes as stores for merchandii^e -, 
and In these vaults, St. Patrick first appealed to the inha- 
bitants of Dublin in behalf of the Christian I'eligion. It 
was at first called the cathedral of the ffolt/ Trinity, and 
was erected for secular canons ^ but, in 1163, these 
canons were changed into Arrasians (so called from the 
diocese of Arras }n Flanders). — The chapel of St. Michael's, 
formerly; attached to the cathedral, was built by Donate 
who also built the chapel of St. Nicholas, on the 
north side of the cathedral, together with the transept 
and nave^ The choir, the steeple, and two chapels, the 
one dedicated to St. Bdmund^ i^ing and Martyr, and to 
St. Mary the White, and the other to St. Laud, were all 
built at the joint labour and expense of Archbishop Law- 
rence 0*Toole (son of Maurice O'Toole, prince of Imaly), 
IticWd Strongbow, Earl of Strigul, Robert Fitzstephens, 
and llaympnd Je Gjroes. Jn the arphives mention is made 



52 CATHIDRAL OF tiHRIST CHURCH. 

of a chapel in the south usle adjoining the choir> formerly 
dedicated to the Holy Ghost ; but atler the canonization 
of Archbishop Lawrence^ it was generally called St. 
Lawrence O'Toole's chapel. Anciently the prior and 
Convent of Christ-church nad a cell of the canons in the 
diocese of Armagh, endowed with the churches of St. 
Mary of Drums^an, and of Philipston-Nugent. But 
Albert, Archbishop of Armagh, in consequence of the 
great distance from Christ-church, with the consent of 
the patron, suppressed the cell. The three immediate 
successors of Lawrence, were John Comyn, Henry 
Loundres, and Luke, who were also amongst the principal 
benefactors of this cathedraL The choir was built at the 
sole expense of John de St. Paul, Archbishop of Dublin, 
in 1658. 

On the 1 1th January, 1283, John Derlington being 
then Archbishop of Dublin, a party of Scotchmen set 
fire to one side of Skinner-row, which communicating to 
the cathedral, destroyed the steeple, chapter-house, aor- 
mitory, and cloisters. In the year 1300 an agreement was 
made between the chapters of both cathedi'als, Patrick's 
and Christ-church, that each church should be called 
Cathedral and Metropolitan, but that Christ-church should 
have precedence, as being the elder church, and that 
the archbishops should be buried alternately in the two 
cathedrals. On the 25th March, 1395, four Irish kings, 
after having performed their vigils and heard mass, re- 
ceived knighthood from Richard II., in the church of this 
priory, and were afterwards entertained by him at his own 
table : and in 1450, a parliament was held in the church 
by Henry VI.— In 1487 Lambert Simnell, the imposter, 
was crowned in this cathedral by the title of Edward VI. 
The crown used on this occasion was borrowed from a 
statue of the Virgin, which stood in the church of St. 
Mary les Dames, and shortly after he received the homage 
of the citizens in the castle. 

In 1508 Robert Castele, alias Paynes wick, a canon re- 
gular of the priory of Lanthony, was installed on the 
4th of July, and the same year the staff of St. Patrick, 
which was brought hither from Armagh, as a relic of great 
estimation, was publicly burned. At this time the prior 
sat in the House of Peers, as a spiritual lord, but letters 



palest, (dated 10th May, ]541, changed the priory into a 
diMner^r and ph^ter, continued their former estates and 
immun^tiej, and appointed the prior Payneswick the ^r^t 
^n. Thi& new foimdation consisted of a dean, chanter, 
cfiancellor, treasurer, and six vicars choral. — ^Archbishop 
Brown erected three prebends in this cathedral, in 154^ 
St.* Michaei's, St. Michan's, and St. John's j and from^ 
thisjperiod, the cathedral has been called the cathedral of 
Chrut-churph, instead of that of the Blessed Trinity. 
Ejward VI. added six priests and two choristers, or sing- 
ing boys, with an annual pension of 45/. payable out of 
his Maiesty's exchecjuer. — Mary confirmed that grant, 
and added another gift out of her bounty, and James I. 
farther increased the revenues of the cathedral; so that in 
ins reign, besides the officers already named, there were 
three prebendaries and four choristers. — He also ordained 
that the Archdeacon of Dublin should have a stall in this 
cathedral, and a voice and seat in the chapter in all capi- 
tular acts relating to it. 

In 1559, a paniament was held in a room in this cathe- 
dral, called the Commons'-house. On April 3rd, 1562, 
the roof of the church fell in, by which the monument 
of Earl Strongbow was much injured : but it was 
replaced shortly affer, together with that of Earl Desmond, 
wpich was brought here from Drogheda. 

In this cathedral were preserved the following religious 
relics : A crucifix, which had spoken tvyice ; the staiF 
of our'Lord ; St. Patrick*s high altar of marble, on which 
a leper was miraculously conveyed from Great Britain to 
Ireland ; a thorn of oui* Saviour^s crown ; part of the 
Virgin Mary's girdle 3 some of the bones of St. Peter and 
St. Andraw -, the shrine of St. Cubius, &c. 

We have already mentioned who first held the Deanery 
of Christ-church, to whom, up to the present time, abput 
twenty d^sai^s have succeeded — In 1677, William Moreton, 
the tenth dean, was instf^Ued ; but James IJ. ap- 
pfttated Al^i^ina StafiTprd, a secular priest of the county 
(^Wexford, dean, who> ofiiciating as chaplain to the roval 
^rnny, was slain at the battle of Aughrim, 1691 3 after 
wMehj fiforetou resumed bis duties, having previously 
bei^ cront^d 9i9hop of ISldare.^*-7he eleventh dean was 
W^bore K^s, who was installed 12th of November, 170$, 
f3 



54 CATHEDRAL Ot CHRIST CHURCH. 

and was also made bishop of Kildare, from whicb time 
the Deanery has been held in commendam with that 
bishopric. — This cathedral \vas originally in the middle 
of the city ; and although Dublin has increased con- 
siderably in extent^ it has preserved its relative position^ 
being still about the centre. It is in the form of^ a cross, 
but so disfigured by buttresses built up against the side 
walls in various places^ and indeed in such a ruinous con- 
dition altogether, that there are scarcely any remaias of 
its former stateliness ; nor does it any longer excite admiral 
tion as a specimen of architecture. — ^The grand entrance 
is in the western end of the nave, beneath a large window, 
in Christ-church-lane. A few years since, a door was 
opened in the southern wing of the transept, leading to 
Christ-church-yard, which is most conveniently situated 
for persons coming from the north end of the city ; and 
there is also a door-way in John's-lane, but these are now 
seldom used. 

The Naye. — ^The present appearance of the nave is 
neither venerable nor imposing. Tlie south side is com- 
paratively of modern date ; for the roof and side wall 
naving fallen in, in 1562, the latter was replaced by a plain . 
plastered wall ; to commemorate which restoration of the 
cathedral, there is a stone inserted in tiie wall, nearly 
above Strongbow's monument, bearing the following in- 
scription : 

THE: RIGHT: HONORABL: T: ERL: 
OP: SVSSEX: LEVTNT: THIS: WAL: 
PEL : DOWN : IN: AN : 15CT. THE : 
BILDING: OF: THIS: WAL: WAS: IN: AN: 
1562. 

The length of the Nave is 103 feet, its breadth 25. 
The northern wall preserves still some traces of antiquity ; 
having pointed arches of a peculiarly beautiful style ; the 
pillars between which were composed of a number of small 
columns, with intervening mouldings, on which rested 
capitals of heads and foliage combined. High up, in the 
same wall, are still to be seen galleries, or, as they are 
more commonly caUed, Friars' walks. The side idsle, on 
the north of the nave, is also part of the ancient cathe- 
dral, but is rather in a dilapidated state, and if it had not 
been supported on the outside by a strong buttress^ would 



CATRSBRAL OF CHRIST CHURCH. 55 

long since have fallen. In this aisle are two statues of 
Charles II. , and James 11.^ which formerly ornamented 
the front of the Tholsel, in Skinner-row, since taken 
down. In the comer, near these statues, is the coffin and 
tomb of Archbishop O'Toole 3 and at the south side of 
the nave, beneath one of the old pointed arches, is the 
door leading to the Chapter-house. 

Sir Samuel Auchmuty's Monument. — Close to the 
principal entrance is a truly classical monument by Mr. 
Kirk, to the late Ri^ht Hon. Sir Samuel Auchmuty, G. 
C. B. Commander of nis Majesty's Forces in Ireland, who 
died August 11th 1822, aged G4. It is principally of 
white marble of the purest find. The monument consists 
of an excavated pedestal, surmounted in the back ground 
by a pyramid of white marble, relieved by a dove-coloured 
border. The bust of Sir Samuel is deposited in the square 
recess of the pedestal 5 and the light being extremely good, 
this bust, which is in the broad style of modern sculpture, 
is seen to particular advantage, and is admirably relieved 
by effective light and shade. Over the bust, and in front 
of the pyramid, stands a figure of Victory, four feet hiffh, 
in Alto Relievo, having at the back a Grecian Tablet, 
adorned with the lotus at the edges of the frame. 

It is impossible to ; view this noble figure without ad- 
miration : the position is expressive of grief, the coun- 
tenance indicatmg that passion most forcibly and pathe- 
tically 5 and the left hand convulsively presses to the 
heart a scroll, bearing the name of the illustrious warrior, 
while the right lets fall, from its relaxed nerves, the 
torch of life. 

Prior's Monument. — Near the door leading to the 
Chaptcr-hT)use, is a beautiful and interesting monument, 
to the memory of ITiomas Prior, Esq. distin^ished for 
his benevolence, and for his frienaship with Bishop 
Berkeley. Mr. Prior was so zealous in his efforts to serve 
his native land, that he wrote upon almost every article of 
produce and manufacture in Ireland ; and he obtained a 
charter for the foundation of the Dublin Society, which 
has proved so beneficial to this country. He died, Oct. 
21it, 1761, aged 71 5 and was interred in the church of 
EathdOAi^ney in the Queen's County, about sixty miles 
from J[>ubli&; where a neat marble monument, bearing 



66 c\fmD^AS. OF c|iRi$T cau^if. 

tUe familp arms and surmounted by an i;m, was erected lo 
liis memory. 

The beautiful monument in this Cathedral, was erec^ 
at the expense of a number of admiring friends and pa- 
triotic characters. On the top is his bust, beneath wmcii 
fitand two boys, the one weepinaf, the other pointing to a 
bas-relief, representing IMinerva conducting the Arts to- 
wards Hiberma. 

Strpngbow's Monument. — Against the same wall, 
and near Prior's monument, are two figures of he>yn stoae, 
the one representing a man in armour, the other a female 
figure lying by his side : they rest on a block of stone, 
about two feet high.— These are said to be dedicated to 
the memories of Strongbow and his consort Eva. 0?ftr 
the monuipent, upon a slab sunk in the wall, is the 
following inscription ; — 

THIS : AVNCYENT : MONVMENT : OF : RYCHARD : STRANGBOWE 
CALLED : COMES : STRANGVLENSIS : LORD : OF : CHEPSTO 
AND : OGNY : THE : FVRST : AND : PRINCYPALL : INVAQER 
OF : IRLANp : 1169 : 9VI : OBIIT : 1177 : THE : M0NY1|£NT 
WAS : naOKEN : BY : THE : FALL : OF : THE : ROFF : AND 
90DYE : OF : CHRYSTES : CHVRCHE : IN : AN : 1562 : AND 
SET : VP : AGAYN : AT : THE : CHARGYS : OF : THE : RIGIfT 
HONORABLE : SR : HENIRI : SYDNEY : KNYGHT r OP : THE 
NOBLE : ORDER : L : PRESIDENT : WAILES : L ; DBPYTY 
g¥ : IRLAND : 1570. 

Archdall says, that Strongbow, having granted ctM-tain 
lands to the Abbey of the Virgin Mary in Dublin, directed 
that his remains should be interred in that place, because 
his brother Thomas had there taken the habit of the 
prder,--Jieland, in his Itinerary, states, that there is an 
inscription to the memory of Strongbow, Earl pf Pei^- 
broke, in the cloisters of Gloucester Catjjedrals but 
Giraldus de Barri, who accompanied Prince John to 
Ireland, in 1 185, only eight years after tlie EarFs d^eath, 
expressly mentions that he was interred in this cathedral, 

MoNyMENT OF Lord Bowes. — John Lord Bpwes, 
Qiancellor of Ireland, was a man of considerable ability. 
He was a native of England, but pursued the professi:on pf 
the law i|i this kingdom with great integrity and iiopar- 
tiajity. Having passed through the several offices pf 
Solicitor, Attorney General, and Lord Chief Barow, ke 



CATiaffiiUL or cfiiitST4:HVRCR. 67 

^Mis, at the decease of Lord Jocelyn, raised to the peerage, 
and custody of the Great Seal ; but never having married, 
the title is extinct. He presided in the House of Lords, 
in Ireland, with great dignity; and his eloquence was 
considered in the highest desfree manly and persuasive. 
He died July 22nd, 1/67, in his 76th year. His monu- 
ment, near that of Strongbow, is composed of statuary 
and variegated marble : a statue of Justice, as large as 
life, with her scales broken, and in an attitude of sorrow, 
is looking at a medallion, on which is a bas-relief head of 
his lordship. — ^Van Nost, the sculptor, received 600/. for 
this piece of sculpture, and added much to his former 
reputation by the execution of the countenance, which is 
an excellent likeness. 

Lord Lifford's Monument. — Lord Lifford, High 
Chancellor of Ireland, expired in the month of Apnl, 
1789, at the age of 73, shortly after the violent deoate 
in the Lords upon the regency question. — Previously to 
his promotion to the Great Seal of Ireland, he had been 
one of the judges of the King's Bench in England, and 
^ras indebted to his sincerely attached friend. Lord 
Camden, for his promotion. He was generally considered 
an exceUent lawyer, and an impartial judge, and his pa- 
tience and good temper on the bench were exemplary. — A 
plain marb& tablet is laid on a slab of variegated marble, 
of pyramidal shape, on the summit of which are placed 
the arms of the family, with this suitable motto, '' Be 
just, and fear not." 

Bishop of Mbath's Monument. — ^Between the monu- 
ments of Lord Bowes and Lord Lifford, is a handsome 
piece of sculpture, to the memory of Dr. Welbore Ellis* 
and his family. A neat tablet, at the top, inclosed by drapenr, 
and having on one side the bust of Mrs. Ellis, admirably 
executed, stands on a tapering pedestal ; and on the other 
side is the bust of Dr. Ellis on a corresponding pedestal : 
the whole is of statuary marble. 

The Transept.— In this cathedral, probably owinj^ to 
the fall and destruction by fire of different parts of it, 
several distinct species of architecture may be traced. 
The -Transept, vmich is 90 feet in length, and 25 in 

* Dr. SlUa was made Bishop of KOdare^ and Dean of Christ Church, Sept. tt, 
I'm V tzMMUMea to the Me of Meatb, March 13, 1731 ; »nd died Jan. l, 1733, 



• 

brea4th» is chiefly of the Saxon order, although tl^^ es^\j 
uLtroduction of the pointed Qfch, with zi^-zag oecor^tipos, 
which belong to the Saxon or Anglo-Nornaan style, is 
visible in an arch leadinof from the southern wing of the 
transept into the side aisle to the right of the choir. — ^At 
the northern extremity of the transept was a portal^ now 
shut up, purely Saxon : this may be distinctly seen on 
the exterior of the cathedral in John's Lane. 

Over the intersection pf the Nave and Transept is a 
square tower, of ancient but elegant appearance, in which 
a ring of extremely deep-toned bells is suspended. 

The Choir. — ^The choir, which is 105 feet long by 28 
in breadth, is a most extraordinary and tasteless medley 
of Gothic and Italian architecture. — Here the Pean, who 
is always the Bishop of Kildare, and the other memberfi of 
the chapter, have stalls. The Archbishop has a throne in 
this as well as in St. Patrick's cathedral. — ^The walls of 
the choir are plastered, and painted in oil colours ; the 
ceiling is a continued concave, with a modem cornice. — 
The gallery over each side, which bears, in most places, 
the appearam e of but recent date, is supported by Corin- 
thian and Ionic columns, while the Archbishop's throne 
and the cathedral stalls are of carved oak, and in the 
Gothic style. 

In the gallery is a seat for the Lord Lieutenant, 
with Ionic pillars, supporting a flat canopy, not cor- 
respondi^ig to any other part of the choir. — ^Tlie reading 
desk is supported by a brazen eaffle, and is a specimen of 
the worst possible taste. — Beneath the gallery, and oppo- 
site, to his Excellency's seat, the Lord Mayor and Alder- 
iiien have seats apnropriated to them, for particular days 
in the year : near that of the Lord Mayor is one belonging 
to the Kildare family, as appears by an inscription on a 
bras^-plate ; and in the same pew are the arms of Sir 
Edward Griffith, of Penrhyn, in w orth Wales. 

^ Earl op Kildarb's Monument. — ^On the left of the 
high altar is a costly marble monument, erected to the 
memoi7 of Robert, the nineteenth Earl of Kildaye (who 
died 20th Feb. 1745), great-grandfather to his Grace t\c 
present Duke of Leinsterj the workmanship of If. 
ijheene, 1743. — ^The Earl is represented in a recumbent 
posture^ and at his feet stands Vs soq, the first Duke of 



CATHJtoftAL OP CftftlST WhTRCH. 59 

hkmtetf and at his head his countess^ and his daughter. 
Lady Hilsborough. This is an exquisite piece of wotk* 
manship, but tne cflfbct is greatly diminished by the 
antique costume of the figures. 

Bishop Fletcher's Monument. — On the south side Of 
the choir and of the altar^ is a plain white marble tablet, 
dedicated to the memory of Thomas Fletcher, Bishop of 
Drotriore, who was translated to the see of Kildare and 
Deanery of Christ-church, 28th June, 1745, and died 
March ISth, 1761. 

Francis Agard's Monument. — Near the tablet to the 
memory of Bishop Fletcher, is a monument consecrated 
to the memory of Fradcis Agard, 1577, and Lady Cecilia 
Harrington, his daughter and heiress, who married Sir 
Henry Harrington, 1584. Agard was Secretary to Sir 
Henry Sidney, Lord Deputy of Ireland, and Holinshed 
f'ays, that Sir Henry usually called him his *' Fldus 
Achates.'* His name occurs on an inscription in Beau- 
maris Church, which is on a plate, dedicated to Sir Henry 
Sidney. Tliis monument consists of two divisions, in 
which are some well-executed figures, in small life, of 
persons in devotioft&l attitudes. 

The monument to Dr. Woodward, organist of this 
cathedral (who died Nov. 22nd, 1777), which is exactly 
over that of Francis Agard, is principally remarkable for 
bearing upon its front a musical Epitaph. 

St. Mary's Chapel. — ^This is a small building 60 feet 
lon^, and 2S broad, situated on the north side of the 
pltoir, and is remarkable only for the neatness and repair 
in wHich it has always been preserved by the Dean and 
Cliapter, v^'ho jgermitted the parishioners of St. Michaers 
to make use of it, while they renewed their parish church, 
which was completely in ruins. — ^It was built at the sole 
expense of the Earl of Kildare : — service is performed here 
At six o'clock in the morning. 

Although exhibiting so ruinous an exterior, the cathe- 
dral lis in good order, and neatly arraiiged within, owing 
to the exertions of the Bishop or Kildare, and the Chapter 
of the cathedral.— 'Divine service cofflmences here on 
Soadfiye at ha^past eleven o'clock. — ^Tke chob*, which 
attends At the University Chapel at nine o'clock, performs 
tere afterwards, and procew to St. Patrick's Cathedral 



eo . ST. mcuxRhs cnimcH. 

at three. The organ, though iuferior to that of St. 
Patrick's, is still a good one, aiid always in perfect repair. 
The difficulty of procurinfi^ a seat is so great, that a 
stranger ought to be at the door of the cathedral, at 
eleven o'clock at the latest. — ^Thc Wide-street commis- 
sioners have at length commenced their improvements in 
this neighbourhood, but postponed them till it is almost 
too late, for many years cannot elapse before this ancient 
pile will ha\^ mouldered away -, however, for the present, 
the view of the exterior of the cathedral is greatly im- 
proved. ^ 

Deanery House. — ^The residence of the Dean was in a 
court-yard behind Fishainble-street, adjoining St. John's 
Church. It is an extensive and handsome brick building, 
with stone architraves round the windows ; but the situa- 
tion was so injudicious, that it was little used as the residence 
of the Dean, being let for some time as a Record-office, 
and is now a merchant's warehouse. The present Deau 
resides in his private mansion at Glasnevin, about one 
mile from Dublin. 



CHURCHES. 

St. Michael's Church. — In 1554, Ai'chbishop 
Browne erected three Prebends in Christ -church, St. 
Michael's, St. Michan's, and St. John's; from which 
date the Roman Catholic service was never performed in 
those churches, for they were so erected after Archbishop 
Browne had embraced the reformed reli^on, he being the 
first who did so in Ireland ; and his principal object was, 
to have chapels where the service of the Church of Eng- 
land could be performed without interruption. 

The chapel of St, Michael is situated in High-street, at 
the comer of Christ-church-lane, immediately opposite 
Jhe western end of the cathedral. Until very lately, it "was 
in ruins, the steeple only standing ; but it is now renewed 
with much taste. The former church to which the steeple 
was attached being much larger, has occasioned thqt dii- 
proportion wbi<<b exists between the steeple fend ekoir,- m^ 



ST. JOHN'Si CHURCH. 61 

they oow appear. — ^The steeple is a very high square 
tower, without a spire, in the lower part of which is the 
portal leadin|2f into a vestibule or ante-hall. 

The interior of this chapel is fitted up with taste and 
neatness, in the pointed style of architecture. — Here the 
corporation of shoe-makers have a seat, but they have not 
yet put up their arms. — ^The site of St. Michael's has long 
been that of a religious establishment, and a chapel was 
erected on thiis precise spot by Donat, 1076, which was 
converted into a parish church by Archbishop Talbot, 
1417. The second church erected here was in 1676 3 to 
ikccomplish which, a petition was presented by the pa- 
rishioners to the Earl of Arran, requesting him to raise a 
subscription in his regiment, for the repair of their church. 
The present beautiful little edifice was erected in 1815; 
Dr. Graves, the Dean of Ardagh, being Prebendary. The 
number of inhabitants in this parish is 1,748, and the 
number of houses 123. 

St. John's Church. — ^This church, situated in Fish- 
amble-street^ at the comer of John's-lane, and next the 
court-yard in fro^t of the old Deanery, was also erected 
a Prebend by Archbishop Browne, in 1544. The front 
consists of four columns of the Doric order, supporting a 
pediment : a broad flight of steps conducts up to this 
front, in which are three entrances ; a gate in the centre 
leadii^ to the great aisle, and a door-way, leading to the 
pllenes, on each side. The interior of the church 
is plain, but handsome ; and the gsdleries are fronted with 
oak, varnished, and pannelled. On the front of the gallery, 
at the north side, the arms of the corporation of tailors 
are suspended, with this motto in . Latm, " I was naked 
and you clothed me." — ^The present church is of modern 
date : in. the re^ster of the parish in the vestry-room, may 
be seen the estimate for its re-building in 1767, amoiint- 
i^ to. the sum of 1,170/. 3s. 6ld, not more thaii one-fifth 
bfwhat.it would cost at this day ; and many j^rotests of 
the parishioners, against this extravagant estimate, are 
registered along with it. The church which occupied this 
site before the present building was erected, was raised 
about the year 1500 by Arnold Usher; and this succeeded 
a chapel built in the eleventh century. This parish con** 

6 



62 ST. incHAif 'S enfURtii. 

sists of JwrsoiiB in t'he uiiddlc lanks of trade, altlioneli 
some over-grown fortuned have been aectimtiliited by me 
inhabitants of Fishamble-street. 'llie population amounts 
to 4,408, and the number of houses to 29?. 

St. Michan's Church. — The€hurch of St. Mic^lwm was 
sitnated in Church-street, a short distance from ^e law 
courts ; and before the year 1/00 was the only one on Ac 
north side of the Liflfey^ and was well adapted fcyr hearing. 
The choir became ruinous and was talcen down in 1824, 
but the steeple, which is of modem erection, remains. 

Tlie vaults of this church have long heen a subject of 
curiosity and investigation, from the cxtraordhiary anti^ 
septic power they possess. Bodies deposited here «ome 
centuries since, arc still in such a state of preservation, 
that their features are nearly discernible, and the bones 
and skin quite perfeot. A* learned chemist rn this city 
published an article in a periodical paper, on th^ appctu-- 
ance of the remains deposited iu these vaults, from whicit 
the following is a Imef abstract : 

Not many years since, the high state of preservation of 
the bodies laid here, gave rise to the idea that some reH' 
g-ious persons placed in these dreary abodes had afforded 
all-powerful protection to their boaics from corruptidn. 
But the full growth of fjcience in this age is not to he im- 
posed upon, nor likely to be contented with sudh a sub- 
terfuffc, for tiie explanation of phenomena which are 
capable of being explained. The bodies which have 
been a long time deposited, appear in all their awful 
solitariness, at full length, the coffins having mouldered 
to pieces i but from those, and even the more recently en- 
tombed, not the least cadaverous smell is discoverable 5 and 
all exhibit a similar appearance, are dry, and of a dark coiour. 
It is observable of animal matter in general, that in com- 
mon cases, from the action of the external air, or its own 
re-action, putrefaction results 5 but when placed in a tem- 
perature not exceeding 32^, the septic tendency is con- 
siderably counteracted, as the preservation of the Mam- 
mbth in the Ic'e-berg would sufficiently prove. In this in- 
stance. It appears, that the action of the fluid was Inter- 
rupted by cold ; now, if the action of the inclosed flnid 
was altogetlier desttoycd, as is the case th the salthig of 



ST. MICHAIiI'5 CHUUCH* 69 

nieat^ k is plain this would also contribute to counteract 
septic tendency : whence it follows, that it is moisture 
wnicli gives life to the putrefactive ferment. 

Now the floor, walls,, and atmosphere of these vaults are 
perfectly dry, and the walls are composed of a stone pe- 
culiarly calculated to resist moisture. Further, it ap- 
pears, that ill none of the bodies deposited here, are any 
intestines,, or other parts containing fluid matter, to be 
found, having skU decayed shortly after burial. In one 
vault is shown the rera;iins of a nun, who died at the ad- 
vanced age of 11 1 : the body has now been 30 years in thU 
mansion of death, and although there is scarcely a rem- 
nant of the coffin, is as completely preserved, with the 
exception of the hair, as if it had been embalmed. In the 
same vault are to he seen the bodies of two Roman Catho- 
lic clergymen, which have been 50 years deposited here, 
even more perfect than the nun. — In general, it was 
evident, that the old were much better preserved than the 
young. 

In this church-yard many persons implicated in the un- 
fortunate rebellion of 1798 werciinterred; amongst them 
is one very remarkable man, Oliver Bond, who died in 
Newgate, while under sentence of death. 

Here is also a monument to the memory of Dr. Lucas, 
the first physician who ever sat in Parliament, with the 
following inscription :— 

To the memory of 
CHARLES LUCAS, M. D. formerly one of the representatives Ui ParH«- 
iBcat for the City of' Dublin; whose incorrupt integrity, unconquered 
spirit, just judgment, and glorious perseverance in the great cause of 
Liberty, Virtue, and his Countty, endecnred him to his grateful constituents. 
This tomb is placed ovet his maeh^recpeeted lemains, as a smaU, yet 
suuera tribute of Rememtaince^ by one of his feUow-citiaeiis and oofif^' 
tueots. Sir Edward Newenham, Knight. 

Lucas! Hibemia's friend, her joy and pride. 
Her powerful bulwark, and her skilful guide. 
Firm in the senate, steady to his trust. 
Unmoved by fear, and obstinately just. 
Charles Lucas, bom 2Sth of September, 1713. 
Died November 4th, 1771. 

There is also a statue of Dr. Lucas in the Exchange. 
The population of this parish amounts to upwards of 
22,923 souls, and the number of houses to 6,67$, 



64 ST. AimOEK'S, OR ST. OWKV'S, CHURCH. 

St' AtDOEN's, OR St. Owen's Church. — ^This an- 
cient church is situated in a narrow passage, leading^ 
from Corn-market to Cook-street, on the south side 
of the river. As early as 1213, Henry de Loundres, 
Archbishop of Dublin, is mentioned as having, by 
charter, appropriated this church to the treasurer of St. 
Patrick's ; and in 1467, it was erected into a distinct Pre- 
bend. The church originally consisted of the choir, and 
of one aisle ]^arallel to it, built by Lord Portlester : at the 
end of this aisle is a steeple, with a ring of bells. The 
present church is only the western end of the ancient one, 
about three-fourths of this venerable edifice being in com- 
plete ruins. The eastern extremity of the choir still ex- 
nibits a beautiful specimen of the pointed style of archi- 
tecture ; there being to be seen here, three arches of the 
most light and elegant construction. On one of the 
pillars, from which these arches spring, is a tablet, the 
inscription on which cannot be readily deciphered : it is 
erected to the memory of a female of the St. Leger family, 
whose effigy is placed at full length at the toot of the 

gillar. — In the vestibule of the church is buried Dr. 
arry. Bishop of Killaloe, and two of his sons, who were 
successively Bishops of Ossory. He died of the plague^ 
in Dublin, 1650. 

Near this is a large stone, to the memory of the Brere- 
tons, bearing date May 10th, 1610j adjacent to this, 
another marks the burying place of Sir Matthew Terrell, 
Knight, who died, in 1649 -, and under the east window is 
the tomb of Robert Maple, Esq. who died Jan. 8th, 1618. 

At the south side of the eastern window are the recum- 
bent figures of a knight, in armour, and his lady, both 
remarkably perfect. This tomb was erected by Rowland 
Fltz Eustace, Baron Portlester, 1455, in the aisle which 
he built at his own expense. Lord Portlester, whose title 
is now extinct, was buried at New Abbey, in the county 
Kildare, 1496 

Sir Capel Molyneux had a monument against the 
northern wall of the choir, which has lately been re- 
moved, though the family continue to be interred in the 
vaults of this church.— 'fhe Byrnes of Cabinteely, in the 
county of Dublin, have also a monument in the eastern 
end of Lord Portlester's ai«le. 



CHimCH OF ST. NICJJiQLAS WITHOUT. 6f 

Tb^re are, sunongst the ruins of this once-beau^fiil 
edi£ce, many inonuinents of wood: the mui^t perfect, b 
that dedicated to the memory of John Mulone, Es^. 
Alderman of Dublin, who died 1591. A stone sarcqpha- 
ffus rests against the south wall of the aisle, on which are 
the names of John Malone and Mary Pentony. At the 
west end of the sarcophagus is this inscription • — 

iOHN UhLOffK, V^hRV PCNTONV, vMt poit twm viftiu. 

And on the east, 

Ecce tali domo dauditur omnis homo. 

The monument, which is entirely of wood, is placed 
against the wall over the sarcophuii^us. 

In the chancel are many more monuments, some of 
wood, and two, on plates ot copper, inserted \n a pillar 
upM>site the reading desk and pulpit. 

Divine 8ervii:e is performed here every day at the usual 
hours. — ^There are very few IH-otestuuts in this parish^ 
tboufirh the number of inhabitants amounts to upwards of 
d, ISO and the number of houses to 468. 

A steeple was erected about 1650, whic]i was blown 
down in 1668, and rebuilt at the expense of the parishiou^ 
ers in 1670. 

CiiVBCH qp St. NiCHOiiAS without. — ^The parish of 
St. Meholas, is divided into two parts, St. Nicholas 
Within the Walls, which is in Nicholas-street, near ifigh- 
street, and St. Nicholas Without. This latter church, 
which is dedicated to St. JVIyra, and is supposed to have 
stood in Limerick Alley, may be considered coeval with 
the cathedral of St. Patrick, as it occupied the north tran- 
sept of the cathedral : it was 50 feet in length, 'and 32 in 
breadth. — ^Tt w^s formerly quite in ruins ; but it has this 
year bei^n restored, which renders the cathedral perfect 
la form and eii^tent, however it may fall short of i^s 
primaeval bepiuty. — ^"fhis desirable improvement gives the 
Wide-street Commissiopers a claim to some share of 
MbUc approbation, for the p$uns they are now takii^g to 
btm^ «u4 render convenient this and every other part of 
Dithlin.r— A new street is ali'eady niarlced out, and begun, 
be^ a coHtinuation pf Yprk-^tre^t, whiph will form one 
fP^ %vmw from Stephen's Gre^n to ^\, Patrick's c^tbt- 
g3 



€6 ST. PKTER'S CHURCH. 

dral, which is. naw without one decent, or clean ap- 
proach. The Northern cloae too has been widened and 
rebuilt, and an opening is now being formed between the 
West end of Kevin-street and the Police Ban-ack. 

In I7O8, the parish of St. Nicholas Without was divi- 
ded, and' one part constituted a distinct parish, by the 
title of St. Luke's. — ^A parish church was erected on the 
Coombe, not far from ratrick's-street, and a Glebe4iouse 
built for the curate. — ^The nomination, however of this 
curacy, as well as that of St. Nicholas Without, is vested 
in the chapter of St. Patrick. — ^Though this parish is of 
small extent, there are 12,172 inhabitants within its boun- 
daries, principally of the poorest class, and but 980 
houses. 

St. Peter's Church. — ^The parish of St. Peter's, the 
largest in Dublin, has also the largest church, which is situ- 
ated in Aungier-street, opposite York-street. Here, upon 
occasions of very public or peculiarly intei'estin^ nature^ 
charity sermons are usually delivered, and in this church 
the celebrated Dean Kinvaii obtained, by the overpowering 
influence of his eloquence, the enormous sum of 4,000/. 
per annum for charitable purposes, for a series of years. — 
The present church is on an old site, but is a building of 
modem date, and is in the form of a cross : the pews and 
front of the gallery are pannelled and painted white. 
Both the exterior anainteriorof this church are divested of 
ornament, and, except for its capaciousness, it would not 
be worth noticing as a public building. — ^There are a few 
monuments around the gallery walls, undeserving of notice 
as specimens of statuary. In the south gallery is a slab, 
to the memory of Lieutenant-general Archibald Hamil- 
ton, who fought at the siege of Londonderry, in 1688. 

In the gallery, on the north side, is a small tablet to 
Lieutenant George Westby, who fell at Fuentes d' Honor 
in Spain, May 5th, 1811 ; and his brother Edward, who 
fell at Waterloo, June 18th, 1815. 

The respectability and extent of this parish have rendered 
the cemetry the resting-place of many illustrious deceased. 
Here are deposited the remains of the Earl of Roden, and 
several members of that family ; with a great number of 
bishops, and other dignitaries. Here also is the burying 



St. KEvtirs CHimoR. ' 67 

plf^^e of the Dunboyne family ; and the celebrated John 
Fitzgibbon, Earl of Clare, and Lord High Chancellor of 
Ireland, is interred at the south side of the church-yard, 
close to the waU, with only a plain fla|f marking* 
the place of his interment. This extraordinary man 
was remarkable for having risen to rank and dis- 
tinction sigainst the united efforts of the great orators of 
Ireland, Grattan and Curran, to whom he was opposed for 
a series of years. His exertions on the regency question 
were so great as to recommend him to the notice of per- 
sons in power, in preference to every other candidate ; and 
upon the death of Lord Lifford, in 1789, he was raised 
from the Attorney-generalship to the dignified station of 
Chancellor of Ireland. 

The Archdeacon of Dublin is always the vicar of this 
parish, and in consequence of the multiplied occasional 
duty, he employs three curates. — ^The population of this 
parish is 16,292, and the number of nouses 1,660. Its 
great extent also requires the assistance of several chapels : 
there is one in Kevin-street, another in Upper Mount- 
street, Merrion-square ; a third at Donnybrook^ a fourth at 
Rathfamam, and a fifth at Tunnel ; besides a chapel now 
erecting at Rathmines. 

St. Kxtin's Church. — St. Kevin's is a chapel of ease^ 
assistant to St. Peter's ; and consequently the Archdeacon 
of Dublin is the Vicar. The vicarage of St. Kevin was 
formerly in the gift of the Archbishop of Dublin, and 
was usually bestowed upon his vicar choral, whom, as pre- 
bendary of CoUen, he was bound to provide for. — ^Thc 
Dean and Chapter of St. Patrick's are now the Rectors, 
but the vicarage has been united to the Archdeaconry of 
Dublin. Upon this site a chapel was built some time in 
the fifteenth century, dedicated to St. Coemgen or 8t 
Kevin. The present churchy which is, comparatively 
speaking, of recent date, is in the shape of the letter T, a 
plain building, like a village church, without any gallery 
in the interior^ or any monuments. — ^It is t^rounded by 
an extensive cemetry, filled with countless tombs, but none 
of iitem dedicated to persons of rank, or distinction, nor 
remarkable for their beauty. 

Near a small door in tne church-yard is a pyramidal 
montUnent to the Rev. John Austin, of the Jesuit order* 



fp ST/ PPfUXn^BWfB^ fiB^CH. 

1784 ; uid to the left of t^e pHncipal entranice into die 
^harch-y»rd frpm Church-laxie, is a small stone^ dedicated 
to the memory of Henry Oliver, aged 136 years. 

Pivine service U very numerously attended at this 
ohurch> owing to the difficulty of procuring seats in St. 
teeter's :— the entrance is from Church-lane in Kevin-street. 
The amount of the population of this parish is 9,096 anU 
the number of houses 803. 

St. Wsebubqh's Chuech.— This church, situated iu 
the street of the same name, is dedicated to St. Werburgh, 
daughter of Wulherus, King of Mercia, who is entombed 
in the cathedral of Chester.— Tlie old church of St. Wer- 
burgh, built by the inhabitants of Bristol, in the reign of 
Henry H. was destroyed by fire, with a great part of the 
city, in 1300, only thirteen years after the destruction of 
Christ-church cathedral by the same element. — In 17 H it 
was burnt down a second time, and rebuilt in a very hand- 
some style, in 1759, the same year in which the grand 
front or Trinity College was finished.— The front of this 
ehurch oonsists of several stories, which, though fre- 
quently altered, owing to the repeated accidents that have 
n^ipened to this building, still preserve considerable 
oeauty and consistency. — ^In the basement story six Ionic 
eolui^ns support a handsomo plain entablature^ between 
whiah fkre three entrances, a large gate in the centre, with a 
9aini-circular pedimfent, and small door-ways on each ^ids, 
leading to the north and south galleries, over which are 
windows, lighting the staircaset, ornamented with archi- 
tiraves and crowned with pediments. — ^The second story is 
of the Corinthian order, m which a large windoiv, light- 
ing the bell-loft, is placed, much ornamented^ and crowned 
with H pediment. — ^The next, the belfry-story, is square, 
and ornamented at its angL^ by Composite half-pillars. 
Ahove this story Is a low parapet or pedestal, from which 
th^t spire, which has been taken down, rose gradually. 

Thi9 spire was, perhaps, the lightest and most elegant 
in Indand* like upper part of which, terminated by a gilt 
ball, was suj^rted by eight rusticated pillars, but, eitUer 
firon) tha perishable nature of the stone, or a defect in the 
building, it appeared inclined from its perpendicularitv.i 
»i4 though m* Francis Johnston, undertook to seeure it, 
4«6h wa9 the alarm of the inhabitants, thut they insiitcd 



ST. WSRBUBOH'S CRtlftCH. 69 

upon its beitig immediately taken down, wliich was ac- 
cordingly done in 1810. — ^The removal of this s|>ire was a 
considerable loss to a city which could boast or only two, 
viz. St. Patrick's and St. WerburA'sj the former of 
which, from its situation, is only visiole in particular po- 
sitions ; but the ingenious architect who undertook to 
support the spire of St. Werburgh's, has since supplied 
its loss by the erection of St. George's, a more beautiful 
edifice, and more advantageously situated. The interior 
of the church is venerable and elegant : the pews are of 
oak, and the front of the gallery is also of oak, carved and 
pannelled. 

The royal arms are in front of the organ loft ; and the 
or^an, which is considered remarkably fine, cost 400 
Ipuneas. — In the south gallery are two handsome monu- 
ments to Mrs. Arthur and Mrs. Benjamin Guinness. And 
on the south side of the church, in the passage leading to 
the church-yard, there are several figures of very ancient 
(late : next the door are eight in pontifical habits 5 to the 
east of these are two whole-length figures of a knight in 
aimour and his lady lying beside him, both much effaced. 
There are four other figures not far from these, also 
placed in the wail, evidently scriptural characters. In the 
vaults of this church lie the remains of Lord Edward 
Fitzferald, brother to the late Duke of Leinster, who died 
in Newgate, 1 798, of the wounds he received in resisting 
the officers who arrested him. His family have since been 
restored by Parliament to the enjoyment of their property, 
and the confidence of the Crown, in consideration of the 
services of his lordship's son in the peninsular war. Here 
aho are interred the remains of Sir James Ware the anti« 
qoarian ; but there are no monuments to the memory of 
either. — ^Edwin the player is likewise interred here ; and 
on the tomb marking his place of rest, a bitter reproach 
is engraved, su?ainst the author of the Familiar Epistles^ 
the severity of which is stated to have caused his prema- 
ture death. — ^Tbe population of St. Werburgh's parish 
amounts to 2,620 souls, and the number of houses to 229.— 
Iq this church the Lord Lieutenant has a seat, which, 
however, since the rebuilding of the Castle chapel, he 
seldom occupies, except on the day of the charity sermon, 
■^Divine service is performed here every day. 



9% ffMftAAV'SrCKinMH* 

St. Mjmlt's Church.— The parish church of St. Mary's 
is situated in Mary-street, at the intersection^ of StalEbrd- 
street with Jervis-street- — ^The front is scarcely desernng 
of description, as it consists merely of a great gate, with 
tonic columns on each side, £»id two smiiUer entrances 
leading to the galleries, over which are windows of clumsy 
workmanship, ornamented with stone architraves. — ^Above 
the vestibule is a square tower, or belfry, of an unpic- 
turesque ampearance, so that on the whole, the convenience 
of its situation, being in the very centre of the parish, is 
the onlv advantage the parishioners have to congratulate 
themselves upon with regard to the edifice itself. 

The interior, which measures 80 feet by 55, is in the 
same heavy style of decoration ; and although it has the 
iippearance of antiquity, this is attributable to the taste- 
less style in which it was originally erected, the date of its 
foundation being only 1697. Yet, though not elegant, this 
church is extremely comfortable ^ a gallery extends quite 
round (with the exception of the eastern end, in which is 
a large window with a circular head), and is supported by 
large oak pillars, which assume the Ionic order after they 
reach the gallery, whence they are continued to the cal- 
ing. There are many monuments in this church, placed 
against the side walls. At the south side of the commu- 
nion-table is a tablet, to the memury of Edward Tenison, 
Bishop of Oasory, who died Sept. 29th, 1735 ; and on the 
other side is one to the memory of Richard Nulty, Nov. 
10th, 1729.— In the north gallery is a tablet tp Mrs. 
NewGome, a member of the Doyley family, who died 30th 
Dec. 1769. In the same gallery, and next the monument 
of Mrs. NewGome, is that of Dr. Law (who died June 11th, 
1789), which was erected at the public expense, as a tri- 
bute of public esteem. 

In the south rallery is a lar^e marble slab, enclosed in 
a frame of black marole, bearing a very long inscription, 
to the memory of Mrs. Chevenin (daughter of Colonel 
Dives, of Bedfordshire, and wife of the Bishop of Water- 
ford and Lismore) who was the friend of the Princess of 
9j^ig^ aud the Countess of Chesterfield : she died in 
1762.— In the same gallery are two small tablets, to 
Gorges Edmond Howard, and Dean Fletcher. 
In the aisle, at the south side of the ^hurch, is a hand- 



some moiiuiftftnt to Mr. William Watson (}Vhb tliwl Way 
^th, 1805), the wbrkmaiiisliip of Edward SfeVth, efieetea 
at the puT)lic expense. It exuibits a white slab on a grey 
ground, surmounted hy an opened BIhle and a ftEQeru 
urn. 

Tlie burying-ffround attached to this church is of con* 
siderable.dimensions, though too small for the extent of the 
parish. Among the numerous tombs which crowd Ailft 
cemefry, are those of Baroness Maydell, who difefl Itt 
1818; Dr. Marlay, Bishop of Waterford, uncle to the late 
Henry Gratfean ; Mrs. Mercer, the founder of Mercear^is 
Hospital; and Mr. SimpsoB, who endowed the hospitil 
for the blind and for those labouring with the gotil. 

The parish of St. Mary is very extensive, and compi^isea 
some of the most fishionjable parts of the city i the Papu- 
lation amounts to 22,90i2 persons, and there are 1,87^ 
houses. Divine service is celebrated here every week-day 
at eleven o'clockprecisely, and every Sunday at twelve. 

St. Anne's CThurch is situated in l5awson-stre^, 
opposite Anne-street, and near the mansion-house : it^ 
Site was granted to the parishioners of St. Bridget's, 1707> 
by Joshua Dawson, Es^. and from that period St. Anne^s 
was erected into a distmct parish. The front is a Cdpy 
from a church at Home, suggested by Mr. Smyth, arcM- 
tect, consisting of a ffranaportal with half columns ttf 
the Doric order, and smaller entrances on each sld'e» 
\vith ornatmented windows over each, lighting the sturs 
which lead to the gallery. Tlie ujpper part of the front, 
having nfeither cupola nor steeple, has an exceedingly uti- 
filjished appearance. The interior is spacious anddisposeil 
mth gO(M taste ; and the jg^allery is supported by pillai* 
of carved oak, and frontea with the same. Iri the south 
IJtUery is a canopied seat, formerly belonging to the 
Dukes otLekister, exactly opposite to which is a seat of cor- 
responding aj>pearance, belongin^j to Antrim-house. Thfc 
panshionets are rather of the higher^ classes of .soditfty, 
^ it is in a most respectable aud fashionahle neighbotir* 
hood. 

At the east end of the south gallery is a handsome mcT- 
nutaent, consisting of a pediment of white marble, su^ 
l?ort€jd by two chembimis, one on eafch side, who aire 1^ 
pfmtsm SS loOtiig 6t a toaaMe buJft, beneath the pfcoi- 
meat. 



72 ST. BUmCErS, OR ST. Bn|DB« CHVRCtt. 

. Against the wall of the south gallery, in one of the 
piers^ is a beautifully executed monument, by Smyth, to 
the memory of Miss Elizabeth Phibbs. A female figure 
is represented leaning over a funeral urn, in a mournfiil 
attitude : the figure and urn are of white marble, and the 
ground of variegated marble. 

In the church-yard, which is exceedinffly crowded, are 
deposited the remains of many noble ana learned indivi- 
duals — Dr. Brocas, Dean of Killaloe; Lord Rosmore; 
General Anthony St. Leger; Dr. Stopford, Bishop of 
Cloyne } Right Hon. Lieut. Gen. Pomeroy, and , many 
others of equal rank. 

' Divine service is celebrated here, and in every church 
in Dublin, at eleven o'clock every day, except Sunday, 
when it commences at twelve. — ^The population of this 
parish probably amounts to 8,689 individuals, and the 
number of houses to 781. 

St. Bridget's, or St. Bride's Church, is situated 
in a street of the same name, and at the corner of Bride's 
Alley. In 1181, John Comyn, Archbishop of Dublin, 
granted this church to the cathedral of St. Patrick j but, 
before that time, it belonged to that of the Holy 
Trinity or Christ-church. This parish consists of a union 
of three smaller parishes, the ancient St. Bride's, St. 
Stephen's, and St. Michael de la Pole -, of the latter no 
traces remain ; but on the same site a school-house is 
built, where the poor children of Bride's parish are 
clothed and educated, and twenty of them boarded and 
lodged. There is a small space of ground acyoining the 
school-house still used as a burying-place. The entrance 
is through a narrow passage in Great Shi^street, marked 
by a stone placed over the door-way directing to the school 
of St. Michael de la Pole. 

■ The exterior of St. Bride's church is more like that 
of a meeting-house belonging to some religious sect, 
than a church of the established religion. In the eastern 
end, a thing very unusual, are two large circular-headed 
windows, and at the top of the pediment-formed gable is 
a clock. 

The interior of the church is particularly neat and com- 
fortable J and has a gallery on the sides and the west end, 
and a few monuments against the walls, In the north 



gallery is a monument to the memory of Mn. i^easants^ 
wife of Thomas Pleasants^ Esq., so justly celebrated in th« 
annals of Dublin^ for the extent and mimber of his cha. 
ri table donations. Amongst his excellent donations waft 
a sum of 12,000/. and upwards, for the erection of a stove- 
house or tenter-house in the liberty ; 8,000/. for the 
buildin? of Meath Hospital, and 500/. for building a 
splendid entrance to the Botanic Gardens at Glasnevin ; 
and a yearly income for the support of 30 Protestant 
female children, \vho are to be clothed, educated, and por- 
tioned in marriage. — ^I'his latter institution is conducted 
accordinef to the most sanguine expectations of the foun- 
der, at No. ^7 in Camden-street. Mrs. Pleasants' monu- 
ment consists of the family arms at the top, in white 
marble, beneath which is a funeral urn, resting on a 
small sarcophagus, both of white marble, and placed on a 
grey marble ground ^ and on the side of the sarcopha^s is 
an inscription in affectionate and feeling language. In the 
western hall, behind the organ, is a small tablet to the 
memory of Sir William Cooper, Bart. ; . and in the small 
cemetery is a tomb to the memory of the Domvilles, and, 
behind, a slab to commemorate the resting place of the 
charitable Mr. Pleasants. Here also may be seen the 
tomb of (VHanlon, keeper of the record tower in Dublin 
Castle, who was killed by Howley, one of the insurgents, 
m 1803, while attempting to arrest him; — ^The inhabitants 
of this parish are 10,639 in number, and there are 760 
dwelling houses. 

St. George's Church. — On the north side of the city, 
in a crescent called Hardwiclcs Place, from Philip, Earl of 
Hardwicke, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, stands the parish 
church of St. George. The first view of this church is 
imposing : the front may be seen directly from Hardwicke- 
street^ and oblique views eaually beautiful are afforded 
from Eccles-street and Temple-street ; so that the general 
complaint against the situations of most of our public 
buildings, is altoj^ether groundless in this particular in-* 
stance^ and the site itself is the most elevated in Dublin^ 
exorot the u^per end of Eccles-street. 

The principal front, . towards Hardwicke-street, is 92 
feet wide, and consists of a majestic portico of four fluted 
lomc colnmns^ ^i feet in diameter, supporting an entabloFt 

H 



rf IT* 0MMM fSMfUMk 

ture iad f«diatnt ; m tlie frieieof wliidi* if a OfMk lft« 
scriptigiip ilgaifying^ 

Gbry to CM in the U^bert. 

The portico reate on a landings accewible by a flight of 
steps, tne eaiire breadth of itself, tik. 42 feat, 'and the 
prqje^on of the portico is 16 feet. 

The body of the church has, besides, three fronts of the 
Ionic order, and, beinff without a church-yard, the rect- 
angle in which the cnurch stands is surrounded by a 
square of small neat houses, and affords not onlyaki nnin- 
termpted view of each'front, but a less drearr prospect 
thaa the neglected cemeteries around the Irish churches 
la general oo. There are five entrances, one in front, 
beneath the portico which conducts into the vestibule be- 
low the f teepie^ and two in each side. At the eastern end 
ii a prqjecting building of S2 feet in breadth, t^nd 40 in 
length : here are the parish school and vestry-l^m i and 
even these appendages are rendered ornamental. 

Over the portico, rises the steeple, remarkable for the 
justness of Its proportions and the perfection of its exe- 
eution. This permanent monument of the ability and 
taste of the arcnitect, Francis Jolmston, Esq., is 200 feet 
JB height, and consists of five stories above tiw roof, and a 
spire. The first story is a square tower, ornamented at 
^e angles by Ionic columns, supporting an entablature, 
and in the centre of each side is a large circular-headed 
window, richly ornamented. Above this is the clock stor|r» 
the angles of which are adorned by laive urns, at admi- 
ittble workmanship $ and over the clocks are festoons of 
eaited 8tone» gracefully terminating at each side. The 
^ird fitorr is an octagonal tower, the angles of which are 
ooeupied oy small piUare, and in the intervals between the 
pillars are pannds, with a cireular aperture in the centre 
of each. At the next story, the convesgenoe of the spire, 
which is also oetajfonal, commences, and continues with 
the most gradual mdination to its termination ia a ball 
and itone <iross on the pitinaele. 

The interior, which is in a con«sponding style of faata 
and ifiunuficence, is 80 feet by 60, surrounded by a gal- 
lery. The lower story of the chureh is encompassed by a 
passage^ or coitidoTi on the aide walk of whm the floor 



of ifce gulkry restg» tad prqjectiBf Iwyend tke c«nMof« 
hM ^e i^i^pearance of being without any support, except 
from tke eantaUvers in the wall. The putext, readings 
deftk, and oemnumion-table, are in a reoeas at the east eml 
oi the chunsh, and it is intended to place an organ in the 
<^|K)«lte galleifv ; for which purpose contributions ha? e 
been made by the n^sluoners, this being at present the 
only parislr church in Dublin without an organ. Bells 
aila a clod^ are still wanting. 

Dfyiae service is celebrated here every day, and, in con* 
sequence of the respectability and number of the inhabit 
taats, is generally well attended.-p-The population of this 
asgrisli ia 12,260, and the number of houses amounts te 

8t« Qconajs's Cuapil, on LrnPLu GxoiieB's Chcuoh. 
•^Not far from the parish-church of 8t. George, in Lowe» 
Temi^e^treet^ stands the old ehapel, commonly called 
little George's, built in 1698. This place of worship 
beeon^ag too small in proportion to the extent, and too 
mtteh decayed in proportion to the wealth and respectn* 
bility of the persons frequenting it. Great George's was 
a«eted fak 1793. The old church is still U8e£ and e 
chsqplain ofl^iates on Sundays and holy-days. The en« 
trance is beneath an old square steeple, about 40 feet in 
height. The interior is small, but comfortable, adorned 
wi» a few monuments of neat execution^ particularly one 
to the memorv of Lady Galbraith, on the south side of 
the commumon4able, which latter is in a recess at 
the eastern ^ohI, and lighted by a laige ciroular-headed 
window. At the west end, over the entrance, is a small gaU 
lerT» badly lighted. 

llie cemetery of St. Geoige's parish attached to this 
chapd, is crowded in a most shameful manner^ and the 
sttithoe of the. churoh*yard is several feet above the level 
of the street: this scandalous proceeding calls loudly for 
refwrosation. This was originally a private chapel : there 
was a St. George's church at the south side of the city, 
wh«% Geoige'»*lane is now built. 

St. Tbomab's Ohubch.— This v^ neat and beautifiil 
stmetuxe forms the chief ornament of the neighbour^ 
hood: its situation, immediately opposite to Gloucester* 
stie^ is peculiarly weU^hoseaj and if it had beeti 



76 vST, THOMAS'S CHURCH. 

elevated a little more, and approached by a flight of isteps, 
would have had a majestic appearance. Had a steeple 
also been erected on this basement^ the want of eleva- 
tion would be less obvious. — ^The foundation of . this 
church was laid in 1758 : and the design is from one by 
Palladio. — ^The architect of this church and of St. Cathe- 
rine's in Thomas-street, was Mr. John Smith. 
; The front consists of two pilasters, and two three-quar- 
ter columns of the Composite order, which support an en- 
tablature and pediment. In the centre is a grand door- 
way of the Corinthian order, crowned by an angular pedi- 
ment. The entablature is continued from the centre, on 
each side of the principal entrance, to the extremity of the 
front, where it terminates in a Corinthian pilaster. . On 
each side are niches decorated with Corinthian pilasters, 
and crowned with pediments. ' The entrances to the. gal- 
leries .are in the north and south ends of the projecting 
front, in recesses formed by circular curtain walls connect- 
ing two advanced gates, one on each side, with the build- 
ing itself, and giving the appearance of a very extended 
front. 

The want of a steeple to this very beautiful little 
edifice is rendered doubly apparent by viewing the 
front from Gloucester-street, where the body of the 
church, a huge shapeless buli, with an enormous roof, 
towers above this elegant Palladian composition, and hurts 
the eye of every passenger; and it was the intention of the 
parishioners to remedy this evil, by the erection of a. very 
beautiful steeple, the design of Mr. Baker^ an architect of 
eminence in Dublin. 

The interior of St. Thomas's is extremely well designed 
and executed : its length is about 80 feet, along the ^ole 
extent of which run galleries, supported by fluted Co- 
rinthian pillars of carved oak, varnished over; the front of 
the, gallery is also of oak, highly varnished, pannelled, 
and ornamented with festoons, ana various other decora- 
tions. The east and west ends are each occupied by a 
grand arch, decorated with coupled Corinthian columns 
on pedestals. In the western arch is the organ and gal- 
leries for the parish children, within the eaatem one? is a 
recess, in which are the pulpit and reading-desk; and in 
front of tl^^se,. the communion-table. The recess i» 



}fil(Utf eniattented witli stacco-work, aad li|ht«d from 
above by two ciicnlar window* in the roof, via a Diode* 
flum window in the eastern wall. There are no monu- 
ineati in the interior, but the cemetery contain# the ie» 
mains of many distinguished families. 

Divine lervioe is performed here every day at the usual 
tenia. There are 17,108 inhabitants in St. Thomas'^ 
piriah, and 1,1129 houses. 

St. Catherine's Church.— The parish church of St. 
Galhenne is situated in Thomaa-streetj at the south side 
of the river, in a very elevated situation, almost on the 
site of the abbey of St. Thomas. The present parish was 
originally united with that of St James, ana the first 
church erected on the present site, in 1185 ^ but in 1710, 
an act was passed disuniting; these parishes, the present^ 
tion to both resting in the £arl of Meath. 

The front of St. Catherine's is built of granite-stone ; 
aandhas in the centre four Doric semi-columns supporting a 
pediinenl!» and at the extremities counled pilasters. There 
are two stories, the windows of both of which have 
carved architraves, and are circnlar^headed. At the west 
end stands a tower, containing the belfry, in which is only 
oBm bell. The original intention was to erect a steeple 
and snire, but the idea appears to have been totally aban« 
donea of late. 

The interior, which is about 80 feet by 50, is remarkably 
isnposinff , and exhibits excellent taste : it resembles thosi^ 
of St. llmmas, St. Werburghs and St. Anne, but in in- 
temal decorations is superior to all of them. Though the 
dedffn is by Mr. Smith, the arqhitect of St. Thomas's* 
St. Catherine's appears to have been finished in a more 
elaborate style. The pews and the front of the gallery are 
of carved omc, highly ramished. The oigan is large and 
ornamented, and there are two handsome galleries, one qu 
each side of the organ, for the parish children. The com*' 
mnnion-table stands in a recess, beautifully deqorf^ted with 
atiiceo*wark* and has a hand8<»n^ i^t^hed eeilingt also 
richly ornamented. • 

The cemeterv belonging to this church is about 180 feet 

in length by W in breadth, and is now almost disused, 

owing to the poorer classes in the parish preferring to inter 

llidr relatives in country churcb-yaids, Thero If tiq 

H 3 



78 ' ST. jfAMES^'cmmcH. 

monument deserving notice, except tbat of Dr. Whitdaw, 
the historian of Dublin (who died Feb. 4th, 1813), which 
16 placed near the door of the vestry-room, and there is 
also another tablet to his memory in the interior x>f the 
church. 

At the end of the south gallery, and immediately over 
the monument of Dr. Whitelaw, is a large tablet of viiiite 
marble, dedicated to the memory of J. Stackpole, Esq. 
Barrister at Law. 

Beneath the communion-table, in a vault, are deposited 
the mortal remains of the Earls of Meath and their off* 
spring -y but without any monument ; and on the north 
Bide of the communion-table is a small tablet, sacred to the 
memory of an exceedingly ingenious engineer, to whom the 
inhabitants of Dublin are much indebted -, with the fallow- 
ing inscription : — 

To the memory of WILLIAM MYLNE, Architect and Engineer^ from 
Edinburgh, who died, aged 56, March 1790, and whose remains ar6 laid 
in the church-yard adjoining. This tablet was placed by his brather, 
Robert Mylne, of London, to inform posterity of the uncommon seal, in- 
tegrity, and skill, with which he formed, enlaiged, and e8tabiUshed<on a 
< perfect system, the Water-Works of Dublin. 

The parish is a Vicarage. The population has been cal- 
culated as amounting to 21,264 persons, and the niusber 
of houses, to 1,638. 

St. James's Church is in James's-street, opposite a large 
obelisk-shaped fountain,* ornamented by four sun-dials. 
It is a long, low, narrow building, with six windows in 
each side, with circular heads. The interior is in a cor- 
responding style : one row of pews on each side, of pan- 
nelled oak, but not varnished, constitutes the accommoda- 
tion for the parishioners j there is, beside, a small organ- 
loft, with seats for the parish children, and an organ suf- 
ficiently large and well-toned. The communion-table is 
in a shell-formed recess, in the back of which is a glory, in 
Btucco-work. 

On the north side of the chancel is a stone of rudetap- 
pearance, bearing this inscription :— 

Thii nMwmnent was erected by MarK. Rainsfofd, of th© City of 
Dublin, Alderman, 1699. 

Th# datQ of this monument in antecedent to tM erection 



ofthi0 chnfcli 1707» and also to its nomination^ as a dis- 
tinct parish from St. Catherine's, which took place in 1710. 
On the sonth side, near the communion-table, is a toler- 
ably-well-executed piece of sculpture, to the memory of 
Mr. Cooke; and immediately opposite, another to the 
memory of. the Rev. John Ellis, 34 years vicar of this 
^iirish. Beneath this latter tomb also lie the remains of 
mlliam Ellis, governor of Patna, who fell in the dreadful 
massacre of 1767* 

The cemetery is the most remarkable object connected 
with the church. Here are innumerable tombs, most of 
them placed over vaults, erected at the individual expense 
of the relatives of the deceased. This church-yard has 
long been marked out by the inhabitants of the liberties 
as a desirable cemetery for the interment of their friends -, 
and during the fair of St. James, which is held in 
James-street, opposite the church-yard, they deck the 
graves with garlands and ornaments, made of white paper, 
disposed into fanciful forms. 

In the centre of the church-yard is the monument of 
Theobald Butler, an Irish Barrister, who assisted in fram- 
ing the articles of Limerick, in 1691, and who advocated 
the Catholic cause before pariiament, in 1720. It consists 
of a high partition of plastered brick- work, with a circular 
heading, on the front of which are the heads of three cheru- 
bim encircling a medallion, and beneath, a tablet, bear- 
ing an inscription in gilt letters, on a black ground. 

At the lower end of this immense tract of hallowed 
jfround, is a large sarcophagus of grey marble, withpannels 
mserted in the ends and sides, on one of which is an in- 
scription to the memory of Sylvester Costigan, Esq^ 

The presentation to this parish is vested in the Earl of 
Meath. The number of mhabitants is 11,196, aiid of 
houses 883. ' . 

St. Paul's Church. — Is situated in King's-street, north, 
near the Bine Coat Hospital, and not many yards from 
Smitfafield. It is a neat edifice in the gothic style, with 
a small spire. 

' Beqeath the gallery, in the northern wall, is an ancient 
monument, at the summit of which the arms are -placed, 
executed in marble, and coloured, on which is thisinserip-^ 
tiftBi .ift ancient abbreviated cjiwraaters ;^* 



90 sr.mvmuJi 

rGc&MBADb wtw 4i«d Apnl 15tli| HU;* «K«li7. 



Against the soutli wall is placed a smal] tablet to t1i« 
memorv of Lieut. Col. Lyde Brown, of the Slat Reijft. 
Royal N. B. Fusileers, who was killed on the 23rd of July, 
IWS, by the inaur^ents, under Robert Emmet. 

The church-y vd is tolerably spacious, and not crowded, 
as most buryinff places in Dublin are : it is almost com- 
j^etely occupied by tomb-stones dedicated to military men, 
who are interred here, from its vicinity to the Royal Bar- 
racks. 

A tablet is affixed to the exterior south wall of the 
church, to the memory of three soldiers of the 21st Royal 
Fusileers, who were killed by the rebels in the insurrec- 
tion of 1803. This monument was erected at the expense 
of the non-commissioned officers and privates of the 2i8t 
refliment. 

Near the centre of the church-yard is Col. Ormsb/s 
mausoleum, a structure of granite stone, one story in 
height, entered by a door-way in the western side, and 
having the arms of the family affixed to the opposite side. 
It is from a design of A. Baker, Esq., and is a square build- 
ing, with a plain entablature and pilasters of the Tuscan 
order at the angles. Here also the ancestors of the great 
senator, Henry Flood, are buried, beneath a plain grey 
stone inclosed by an iron balustrade. 

Divine service was celebrated in the old church for tlie 
last time, on Easter Sunday, 1821. The number of in- 
habitants in St. Paul's parish has been estimated at 12,81 1, 
and the number of houses has been ascertained to amount 
to 898. 

St. Nicholas Within. The Church of St. Nicholas 
Within appears always to have been distinct from the 
cathedrals, as is evident from the charter of Archbishop 
Comyn, and was built originally by Donat, Bishop of 
Dublin. 

This church, which was erected in 1707, is situated In 
Nicbolas-str^et^ near High-street, and within a fbw yards 
of Ohrist-church Cathedral and St. Michael's Church, llie 
exterior is of stone of very dark colour, called black slate 
or calp : it consistB of three stories gradually diminish* 
ing \n breadth to the summit, and U of a gloomy, U9* 



ST. AN0BSW*3 CHtmCH* 81 

interestmg appearance ; and the front is inclined bo much 
from peipendicularity as to be exceedingly da^erous. The 
interior is miserable in the extreme ; the pews falling to 
decay^ the walls and ceiling in a wretched condition, and 
the organ is Tery old and weak-toned. There is a gallery 
at the west end, which only accommodates the children of 
theparish school. 

Tne cemetery was formerly sufficiently large in propor- 
tion to the extent of the parish ; but the corporation pur- 
chased the major part of it to erect the Thokel upon (a 
building since taken down)> and is now reduced to such 
scanty oimensions as to be merely a passage to the vaults. 
In these vaults several persons of high descent have been 
deposited 5 but their names can . be learned only from the 
parish register, as there are no monuments to mark the 
spot were they are laid. 

The population of this parish amounts to about 1582 in- 
dividuals^ and contuns 107 dwelling-houses. 
> St. Andrew's Church. — ^The original site of St. An- 
drew's Church and cemetery, was on the south side of Dame- 
street^ where Castle-market was afterwards erected 1707 ; 
this market was removed in 1782 still more to the south, 
adjoining William-street, where it now stands, and the 
handsome row of houses on the south side of Dame-street 
built in its place. — About 1530, when the learned John 
Alan (chaplain of Cardinal Wolsey, and who was murdered 
at Clontarf by Thomas,^eldest son of the Earl of Kildare) 
was Archbishop of Dublin, this church was assigned to the 
Chapter's Vicar of St. Patrick's Cathedral. Archbishop 
Brown united St. Andrew's to the parish of St.Werburgh's, 
in 1554 ; but this union was dissolved by act of parliament, 
in 1660, and St. Andrew's erected into a distinct parish, 
the presentation to the Vicarage being vested in the Chan- 
cellor, the Archbishop of Dublin, the Vice Treasurer, 
the Chief Baron, the Chief Justice, and Master of the 
Rolls : any four to constitute a quorum, the Archbishop 
being always one of the four. — In 1707 an act was passed 
constituting the parish of St. Mark's a distinct parish, 
which was oefore only part of St. Andrew's. 

The present site is about 400 yards east of the former 
one : here a church was ^ected, in 1670, which falling to 
decay, the. present extraordinairy edifice, in imitation, of 



St. Mary ^ Rotundiij at Rome, aad comnotily oaDed tk^ 
Round Chureliy was commettced^ in 1793* It is in the 
fona of an ellipse, whose mi^r axis is 80 fset in lengftki 
and minor €0-, the gallery story is of&amented by sev^n 
large windows, with droular heads, admitting too gx^t 
a body of lif ht into the interior, which error ii correeted 
by blinds of oiled silk, ornamented with trans^mrencies, 
the subjects of which are scriptural. In the eastern 
window, little children are represented comin^lo Christ ; 
and in the western window, is the Flight into £gypt. 

The entrance, which is in St. Andrew's^treet, opposite 
Churoh-lane, is through a granite poreh, of a plain, un« 
amamented style. Over tne principal entranee. In the 
eentrc, is a statue of 8t. Andrew, executed by Edward 
Smyth $ the only one ereeted o?er any Protestant plaee c^ 
worship in Dublin. At each extremity of the vestibule 
are umi, ornamenting the angles, and in the returns are 
the gallery doors. On the other side of the ehureh, in 
the church-yard, are two stories of a steeple $ the base- 
ment story IS couTerted into a vestry-room, the other is 
unemployed; the steeple, which ts in the €k)thio or 
point^ st^le, is the design of Francis Johnston, Esq. ; 
but it remuns unfinished, and all idea of completing it is 
abandoned. 

The interior is in every respect the reverse of the ex« 
terior ! the pews are formed in the intervAs between the 
pasMges which diverge from the centfe of the ellipse, as 
radii ; in the centre is a beautifuUy executed baptismal 
l^nt of vdned marble, having the outside, and pillar sup- 
porting it, fluted ', the oval Space in the centre is flagged 
with black and white marble ; the communion-table stands 
in front of the reading-desk and pulpit, at the south side 
of the church, and near the extremity of the minor axis 
of the ellipse, which is obriously contrary to the situation 
which a slight knowledge of the doctrine of echoes or 
sounds would have pointed out, vis. one of the foci of the 
ellipse: hence this church is particularly distinguished 
for the great difficulty of being heard, whieh is inflicted 
on the reader ; and m particular parts of the church he 
is quite inaudible. The gallery is an extremely gracefol 
oliject 5 the pillars by which it is supported retire So fiur 
as to gi?e the idea of extreme lightness> and the flutjmg* 



#1 Aim 18 HMwdln^y betutiliiL A kaiiAsoiM ioi^ 
af» if represented conneetiiig the shaft to the capital of 
each j^ikr^ a«d the c^itu itself repretfents Lotui 
flowers $ beaeath the gallery fronts all rouncl» the cordafpa 
ifieoatiAiied. 

JBehind the pulait, m the gallerr story, is the organ, 
hwhly omamentea with earv^ oak-work, and on each 
siae of iu is a delicate and light gallery for the parish chil- 
dren. Tn^a)ak from which the oraaments of the chureh 
are carved, was tak^i from the roof of the old CToU^e 
Chapel^ which stood in the entrance of the Library^square, 
and IB remarkable for its extraordinary density and specific 
{pravitfk Frow the centre of the ceiling hangs a large gilt 
lustre of carved wood, which was formerly in the Insh 
House of Oommelis, but was removed when that noble 
edifice was converted into a national bank.~*This parish 
eentains the most respectable trading part c^ Dublin : the 
Biimber of its inhabitants is 7J26, and that of houses, 
726. Divine service is perfonned here every day. There 
is a burying ground attached, which is preserved with 
much decency, but has not any remarkable tombs. 

It ie to be observed of St. Andrew's Church that, ftt>m 
its e^Ftreme proximity to the public thoroughfare, the cele- 
bration of mvine service is constantly interrupted by the 
lunse of passing vehicles. 

St. Iajkm'b OtiuiicH.— Is situated on the Goombe, in 
Q» vicinity of St. Patrick's Cathedral. In the year 1708, 
so aet of parliament was passed, for dividing the parish 
of St* NidM^as Without, and giviug part of it the deno"> 
ailMitiou of St. Luke's ; in coufc^^nuty to which act, a 
Glebe Hofuee was erected on the Coombe, for the Viear, 
who is noflftiBated by the Chaptm: of the Cathedral, aad 
the diun^ of Su Luke erected not far from the Glebe. 
The applreach is through a long vista of ehn trees, 
whkh fiviM mwe the idea of a villag^e chureh, tiba* 
a parish church in a large city. The principal entrance^ 
ymxk frosts the avaiue, is through a large dooivwa]^, 
irith ruslloated cdumoe on either sidis. The eactmor tt 
very plaiii» and the windovra in the north side not being of 
•qini di|iieiisi(»s, disfigure its general appearance. 

The infeerior is 70 feet by 30 ; the walls »id oeiliag are 
^^riOmit oittMBent, aid a gaUery, supported hf fmn 



84 ST. ICARIMI CHURCH. . 

of scanty dimensioiu and mean appearance^ is carried 
round the sides and west end of the church. At the east 
is a circular^headed window, too small in proportion to 
the size of the church, and below, an altar composed of 
heavy pannelled wood-work : the altar-piece represents a 
scarlet curtain drawn aside, and disclosing a glory, tolerably 
well nunted. At the opposite end is an organ (the gift 
of a lady who has modestly concealed her name)> which, 
thouffh small, is remarkably well-toned. > 

Behind the church is a small cemetery. The only -per- 
son of consequence interred here, is Mr. Justice Hellen, 
second Judge of the Court of Common Pleas in Ireland, 
who died in 1793, and was interred near the entrance, in 
the north side of the church. 

There is a poor-school established here> by the Rev. 
W. O'Connor, to which Mr. Pleasants bequeathed 1,000/. 
The number of inhabitants in this parish is 6,686, all of 
the poorest classes of society ; and so proverbial is this 
parish for its poverty, that the advertisement of the annual 
charity sermon is neaded by the words, *' The poorest 
Parish in Dublin." The number of houses is 480. 

St. Mabk's Church, — situated in Mark-street, to the 
east of Trinity College, is a capacious building, erected 
in 1729. It was cut off from St. Andrew's by Act of 
Parliament, in 1707) and its foundation laid the same year 
with that of the Parliament House, the ](^resent Bank of 
Ireland. — ^The exterior exhibits no architectural ingenuity 
or taste. The interior, 80 feet in length by 30 in breadth, 
is extremely well disposed for the accommodation of 
numbers, not being divided into pews, as the other, 
churches in Dublin, but laid out with benches with 
backs of pannelled oak, and with doors at the end of each 
row. The communion-table is placed in a concave recess, 
in the back part of which stand the pulpit and reading- 
desk. .In the year 1821 an organ was erected, . cased in 
oak. 

Around the east, north, and west sides of the churchy 
extends the . church-yard, crowded with tombs, which 
was lately much disused, owing to the nocturnal visits of 
the surgeons. In the belfry, over the vestibule, is sus- 
pended a large bell, one of the finest toned.in the metro- 
polis.— -Qivine service is celebrated -in this church.every 



ROtfAir CATHOUCf CHAPELsr. ^5 

day.<---The population is estimated at 1],809> and tlie 
munber of owelling-liouses at 867> 

St. Strphsn's Chapel. — The great extent of St. 
Peter's Pfirish^ and its increased population, liave called 
for the erection of new Chaplaincies ; and accordingly, 
with the parental care of his aiocese, which has peculiarly 
signalisea the guardianship of his Grace the present 
Archbishop of Dublin, Chapels of Ease are, and have 
been, duly erected. The foundations are laid of a new 
church at Rathmines ; and St. Stephen's Chapel, in Upper 
Mount-street, was consecrated by his Grace this year 
(1826), both in St. Peter's Parish. 

This chapel, which is after a design by the late J. 
Bowden, Esq., is built in a masterly style of execution, 
by Messrs. Henry, Mullins, and M'Mahon, and at the 
moderate expense of 5,000/. under the superintendance of 
J. Welland, Esq., one of the architects to the board of 
First-Fruits. The building measures 111, by 49 feet, and 
the apex of the dome is elevated 100 feet. The chancel is 
66 feet long, by 44 in breadth, and has spacious galleries 
and a ^ooa organ. The beautiful little portico in front, 
which 18 of the Ionic order, is taken from the Temple of 
Minerva Polias at Athens. The belfry which rises imme- 
diately above the pediment, is borrowed from the octagon 
tower of Andronicus Cyrrhestes, and the cupola and 
pillars, after the monument of Lysicrates, also at Athens. 
The site^ in the middle of a street, is unhappily chosen, 
as exposing the flanks, which are not architectural, and 
were meant to overlook a cemetery. 



ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPELS. 

Thouoh there are many chapels for the celebration of 
divine service accordiufl^ to the rites of the church of 
Rome, yet only three of them are deserving of notice for 
their architecture—the Metropolitan Chapel in Marl- 
borough-street, Anne's-street Chapel (in lieu of Mary's- 
lane), and St. Michael and St. John's (in lieu of Rose- 
mary-lane) on Essex Quay. This may be accounted for in 
the foUowiDg manner ; during X\m operation of the penal 



If intWMMiTAIf WAWKm 

•ode» tke tUaa^a Catkolic cl^^men duf^d not tMmM^ 
mass in public, by which tbe poor were» Utmvlly epeiJduf , 
CQf off ffom the benefit of all religious iastirvelian $ and 
evela tha rich, who supported ehapUine as fta% of thdr 
household, counted their beads in silence and retirement ; 
and evaii yet tiiie Catholics are not legidly permitted to 
summon their Goagrej^ations by the toll of the faelL Tlie 
public performance of divine service, acoordmg to the 
rites of the mom9& Catholic church, was first tole* 
rated by Lord Chesterfield, Lord lieutenant, in 1745, 
from which period their places of worship mduaUy as- 
sumed a more important chiU^cter, end the Metropolitan 
Chapel is one of the most classical structures in the cil^. 

There are twelve parish chapels in DuMin, six Friaiies 
and seven Nunneries $ besides three assistant diapds in 
the suburbs, at Harold's Cross, Miltown, and Ddiphin'fr* 
bam. A succession of masses is continued at these dif- 
fisrent chapels from six in the mominir till one m the 
afternoon ; each mass lasts about half en hour, and high 
mass generally commences at 12 o'clock. S^mone are 
sometimes preached on Sunday. evenings in each chapel, 
and almost every evening in Lent. 

Metropolitan CHAPEL^r^-This structure, which la in 
a chAste Grecian style, was commeheed in 1816, on the 
«te of Annesley House. The mund was purchoscd for 
500/. «md the des^^n was eent to this country by an amateur 
arHst residing in Paris, who intrusted it to th^ care of 
dr. Murray. 

The principal front is towards Mariborourii*Btraet^ 
and consists of a portico of six magnificent columns of 
the ancient Doric order, whose eatablature ia carried aJong 
the front and sides of the entire building. Above the 
portico is a smrnificent pediment $ and Vfithin it are 
three entrances, the principal one \fL the centre, and the 
^aUer near the extremitite. 1^ pordco pn^eetsjen 
Iket, and stands upon an extensive landing or puitea ap« 
jnroached by an extended flight of sti^ t the chaste and 
simple elegance which characterizes this building would 
net admit the introduction of statuary in any part of at« 
The portico and ornamental parts are i^ Portiaiid-stoae» 
liie rftst of mountain granite. 

TheiHlea <tf the e&tpdi mny i» emitercit trmM »lie» 



M^f liltked in a rery bemitiM tmd diigDl«r8tyl«; iii 
As cMifere <^ eaok is a loggia or reees^ ooloimade* 
iWng from a light of Bteps^ and supporting aa «ntab« 
IftfiM^ m4 at eack slde^ wings or pavilionB, ornamented 
by one lai;ge window divided into three oompMtmentft, by 
four piuaM of PertIan4*stono, and crowned by an entab- 
iatare and pediment. These windows rest on a broad 
iasaSa w band that divides the elevat is^n to two stories 
or divisiaiia^ the lower one of wliich flN||iHte plain and 
with^ttl any apertnre. ' '^ * 

The lntefior> which is nearly completed^ is equally 
^n^lo and chaste. The centre or grand aisle is en* 
dosed by a range of columns on each side^ which sup- 
port an ^ntablatttPS, hem which spHngs an arched cea- 
mg, divided into compartments. The colonnade is eon- 
tSmied behind the altar, which stands in the centre of a 
semicircular recess at the end of the great aisle, exactly 

r«ite the principal entrance, and a passage is left out- 
the eolonnadeln the recess. 

The altar, which is quite detached fhmi every other 
part of the building, is of white marble, enclosed by a 
cireular ndllng, and without ornament: it is exe- 
<MM bv TumerelM. Behind the colonnade are side 
sdsles, the length of the great aisle, and uniting behind 
ike altM\ In the centre of these, at each side, are deep 
rscesaes of a rectangular shape, in which altars are also 
placed, forming distinct places of worship. The length 
of Hie great aide is 150 feet, and the breadth about 120. 

This stately edifice has been raised by subscription 
txA^ i S6,000/. has been already expended upon it, and 
it wiu probabiy eost as much more to complete it. Hugh 

OCoBttor, and Cardift Esqrs. contributed 7«00(V. to 

this laudable purpose. The donation of the former was 
4,096;. 

Amuh QvAt Chapbi..— Tikis little building, which is 
at the rear of the houses on Arran Quay, was erected in 
1780, nnd is scarcely sufficient to accommodate its 
pai4shlon^«. The parish includes a great extent within 
Its boundaries -, it is in the parish of St. PauPs, and is 
c^sidered as reachingas far as the Vice-regal residence 
i^thePhosnix Park.«-?rhere are attached tothisohapd 
^ ^evgymeni five of whom are eurates. 



88 tjfnYJmaxT crapbl. 

Bridgb-strbbt Chapbl is for the ftccommodAtion of 
the parishioners of St. Audoen's only, and stands in a 
neat court-yard, at the rear of the eastern side of Bridge^ 
street. The Dominican friars of Great Denmark-street 
Chapel formerly resided here. 

In this parish is a Friary of Franciscans, called Adam- 
and'Eve Chapel, which presents a front to Cook-street. 
Attached to tnis Friary are a superior and seren assis^ts, 
who reside in Chapel-lane, adjacent to the chapel.. 

Jambs's-street Chapel comprehends an extensive 
circuit, from Dolphin's-barn to Crumlin, and Kilmainham 
to Chapel Izod. It is situated in Watling-street, and has 
an entrance at James's-gate. The chapel, thoug^h not 
remarkable for architectural decorations, is in excellent 
repair. 

Beside the priest of the parish, there are four curates 
assistants in this chapel. 

Francis-strebt Chapel. — ^In 1235, Ralph le Porter 
granted a piece of ground in that part of the suburbs now 
called Francis-street, as a site for a monastery, to be dedi- 
cated to St. Francis. 

On this spot is erected the chapel of Francis-stireet, 
which incluaes the parishes of St Luke, St. Nicliolas 
Without, St. Bride, St. Kevin, a portion of St. Peter's, 
and in the suburbs, Rathmines, Portobello, Harold's- 
cross (where there is a chapel of ease), and extends to 
Rathfamam and Miltown. 

As the congregation is the largest in Dublin, so also 
the chapel is of very considerable magnitude ; but, not- 
withstanding, scarcely accommodates its parishioners : 
the priest of this union, who is fdso Roman Catholic Dean 
of the metropolis, is assisted by eight curates, who all 
reside in the chapel house. 

Liffet-street Chapel — ^like most of the chapels in 
Dublin,, is at the rear of the houses on the south side of 
the street, and the entrance is by a wretched gate-way, 
beneath a tottering fabric, which, most likely, the com- 
missioners of Wide-streets will shortly condemn. Though 
the entrance is so miserable, the interior is extremely neat, 
and has a venerable, sombre, character. This very ex- 
tensive division includes part of St. George's, witk St. 
Mary's and St. Thomas's pariAes^ it is bounded- by 



8» 

AfHUMtrael^ Qmmd Quay, Qnea«s«raet« Beltoii-ttmt, 
mATkiiu(Mti9Hi and CKtenda to Dromcondm Brtdnv 
ttd b bMUided by tlie river Tolkaiand tlM Liffey. 

Itt tUt chapel the titular AfchbiiSop of Dahlia offieiatM, 
issiiled by us oeeanoflAe and six curates* The Arehbishep 
nfU offieMle in the Metropolitan Chapel in Marlborough* 
stiMI^ when that edifice is finished. 

ANNB-iwmEtT CHAi>Bii.---The chapel in North Anne's* 
ItNet belongs to the parish of St. Miehan's, and to part 
sf %U Oeonre's. It is bounded on the south by the river 
liffev, on the east by Arran-street and its continuation, 
•a the west by ChurchHttreet and the Glasaerin-road. 
He parish chapel formerly stood in Mary's^lane, and was 
the oldest in Dublin; and here, it Is supposed, was 
preserved a silver image of the Viigin Mary, which for^ 
laefly bel^mged to the Abbe^ of St. Mary : but this little 
ilgttre» beuiag a crown of silver on its head, was sold to 
an Irish Barmiet at the removal of the chapel. This 
veaerable building becoming quite unfit for use, was 
converted into a parish school, and the present splendid 
edttce erected in lieu of it. 

The principal firont of the new chapel is presented to 
AaM*8treet, norths and is built entirely of mountain 
mnlle * it consists of two stories, the lower occupied by 
wree p<4nted door-ways -, that in the centre leading to the 
gieat aisle, those on the side to a spacious gallery. The 
second story is ornamented with three large pointed 
wi]»iows, and the summit rises to a very acute angle, ter* 
aiinalad by a cross, and finished with a monastic battle- 
aient and pinnacles. 

The interior is richly decorated with stucco and sculp- 
ture. At the east end are three altars, placed in deep 
feoesees^ and ornamented with heavy carved work, in 
the pointed style. Over the centre fQtar is a full-length 
figure of OWP saviour, in alto-relievo, beneath a pointed 
eanopy, above which, on the ceiling, is a glory» encom- 
passM by innumerable heads of cherubim. The altar on 
the right is ornamented by a very beautiful painting of St. 
maw, cd^d Arom Ouido, and the altanpiece on the 
kft MMeiits the Virgin and Ohild. In one of the oma- 
moitaa nklMij over the side altar, a small organ Is placedi 
f^M te f))e epn^esponding niche is a fatH ftpnu 

|3 , ^ 



90 CXCRANOB«TR&BT CHAPEL. 

, The ceiling; whicli is senu-elliptical, consists of groiaied 
arches springin«f from heads of saints^ placed in the piers 
between the windows, on each side ; ana three lustres are 
suspended from richly-worked pendants, which drop from 
the intersections of the arches. The aisle is lighted by 
five pointed windows on each side, decorated with lal^els 
springing from heads of saints ; and half of each window 
is ornamented with stained glass. The stucco and 
carving were executed by O'Brieh, a Dublin artist 3 and 
the building is after a design by Messrs. O'Brien and 
Gorman. 

Divine service is celebrated here at the usual hours; 
and there are six curates to assist the parish priest in the 
discharge of his duties. The chapel also presents a brick 
front to Halstein-street. 

Meath-street Chapel — is for the accommodation of 
the Roman Catholic parishioners of St. Catherine's an'd a 
r(Lral district extending to the canal. It is situated at the 
back of the houses on the east of Meath-street, in that 
part of the city called the Earl of Meath's Liberty. The 
chapel belonging to the parish, formerly stood in Bridge- 
foot-street, at ' the liorth side of Thomas-street -, but it 
being dilapidated, about 1780 a subscription was raised 
amonffst the parishioners for the erection of the present 
chapei. This building, which is entirely of brick, is of 
an octagonal form, and very spacious ; opposite the altar 
a gallery is erected, which is continued along five sides 
ofthe octagon, and supported by columns. 

Divine service is performed here every day. — There are 
five assistant curates and a parish priest, for whom an 
excellent house adjacent to the chapel has been erected. 

Exchange-street Chapel — which was erected by 
public contribution, was built as a place of worship for 
the parishes of St. Michan and St. John 3 but this union 
also includes St. Bride's, Christ-church vicinity, part of 
St. Werburgh's, and part of St. Nicholas Within 5 and Is 
bounded by^ Aunjfier-street, George-street, and £ust|tce>« 
Street, the river Liflfey, and Wine-tavern-street. 

Divine service was formerly performed in \he chapel of 
Rosemary-lane, but the building having faljeh to decay, 
and the situation not being central, the present site waa 
chosen for n new and spacious builittng,.— The front t^ 



EXCHAVGMTREBT CHAPIL, 91 

wifda Excbange-street is also Tisible from Wood Quay, 
and an opening is left, through which this very elegant 
biiilding is seen, not only from Wood Quay, but also from 
the opposite side of the river. 

There we two fronts of hewn stone, equally beautiful, 
and in a highly-finished style of pointed architecture: the 
lower stories m both fronts are decorated with pointed 
door-ways, and the second stories with three large pointed 
windows with labels ; and the fronts terminate in an acute 
angle and are surmounted by crosses. The principal door 
in the north front is accessible by a double flight of steps. 
The south front is presented to Smock Alley, where was 
the entrance to the pit and boxes of the theatre which 
fonnerly stood on this precise spot, and was called Smock 
AHey Theatre. Hie original name of this passage was 
Orange-street, which was exchanged for that of Smock- 
alley, upon the erection of the theatre. — ^This place of en- 
tertjdnment was used for some time after the opening of 
Crow-street Theatre, 1758, and was then converted into 
stores for merchandize; in 1815, the present stately pile 
was erected here for a more laudable purpose than any to 
which it had been previously dedicated. 

The interior is richly ornamented, and in an extremely 
elegant and chaste style of workmanship. At one end are 
three altars ; over tne centre altar is a painting of the 
Crucifixion, suspended in a deep recess decorated with 
stucco-work ; on each side of the great pointed niche in 
the centre are pointed windows ornamented with stained 
glass. Beneath the window, on the right side, is a small 
altar with a painting, by Del Frate, representing St. John 
the Evangelist writing his sacred volume. Below the 
window, on the left side, and over the communion-table, 
is another altar-piece, representing the arch-angel, Michael, 
brandishing a sword in one hand, and trampling upon 
Satan. This is also by an Italian artist, and is a co^y 
from a painting of Guido's in St. Peter's at Rome. It is 
nnlnckfly in a very bad light in its present situation. 

On one side of the chapel is a very handsome monument 
to the memory of Dr. Betagh, who died in 1811, by Tur- 
nerelli. On a black pyramidal slab is placed a meaallion 
of the Reverend Prelate, in white statuary marble. Beneath, 
in white^marble, also, is a figure of Faith, leaning over ak. 



f umenil tSn, bearing a ttom in «■« haad» uid Mdtf^ Ito< 
lifion (an iniiRat boy) with the other. 

On the lame side, in a reeess, and beneath aa araamcnted 
canopy, is a large and well-toned organ, which eott JQOi* 
At the other end stand six confessionals of exquisite wolAc- 
manship, and ornamented wi& gliss labeli, bearing scrip* 
tural sentences in gold letters : these are decidedly tke 
handiomeit to be met with in the chapels of Dublin. The 
ceiling is semi*elliptical» composed of groined alrohea, and 
deeorated by pendents from which three luitrea are Biia*> 
pended. There is a spacious gallery at the tod opposite 
the altar, the front of which also is highly ornamented by 
canred work. 

TowK8XN]>-*sTRSBT Chapbl is intended for the aooenw 
modation of the Roman Catholic inhabitants of St. Anne'a, 
St. Andrew's, and part of St. Peter's and St. Marit^s 
parishesi; It stands behind the houses on the north side 
of Townsend»street, within a few vards of the principal 
entrance to the New Theatre. In front of the chapel, and 
concealing it from the street, is a handsome house erected 
for the residence of the priest and his assistant curates, 
six in number. This chapel, which is large and we1Mi»- 
posed, although without any architectural beauties, was 
not long since in one of the filthiest and most wreMied 
situations in the city, but from the opening of D'CMier smd 
New Brunswiek streets, it is now in a most oonvelufiBl 
and central one. The incumbent of this parish is goM>* 
raUy the coadjutor to the Roman Catholic Archbishop of 
Dublin. 

The parish chapels are here designated by the respecttfu 
streets in which they are placed, fbr the following reasons, 
▼ic. they are ffenerally so denominated in Dublin, and as 
each chapel belongs to several Protestant parishes, it would 
be obviously incorneot, and would produce confusion, to at- 
tribute tlie name of any eM of these parishes to the parish 
chapel ; besides^ the division of parishes is made to con* 
fprm \o the Protestant places of worship solely. 



FRIARIES. 

AuGUSTiNiAN GoNYSNT. — ^The friary of St. John, in 
John-street, on the north side of Thomas-street^ is within 
the district of Meath-street chapel. To this chapel are 
attached only the prior and two friars^ who, by their laud- 
able exertions in the cause of humanity, are enabled to 
clothe and educate 25 boys and 20 girls.* 

Dominican Convent. — ^This convent^ commonly called, 
Denmark-street Chapel, is situated in tihe street of thatf 
name. The friars ori^nally belonged to Bridge-street 
chapel. This place of worship is contiifuous to a fashion- 
able part of Dublin, and is consequently numerously, and 
respectably attended by persons who bear substantial testi- 
mony of the sincerity of their cliaritable inclinations, for, 
from the sums collected here on Sundays, 25 boys are sup- 
ported, and upwards of 60 girls educated ; at the same 
time that the chapel and friary are kept in perfect repair, 
and continual improvements carrying on. — ^This friary, to 
which seven clergymen are attached, is in the circuit of 
Liffey-street and tne Metropolitan chapels. 

GoNYBNT OF Calcbd Carmelites. — ^Thls convent, 
with a small neat chapel attached, is situated in French- 
street, not far from York-street, and is within the district 
of Townsend-street chapel. The order had a chapel and 
convent in Ash-street, which they relinquished lor the 
present retired and genteel neighbourhood. There are 
six resident ' clergymen in this convent, of which the 
proper designation is the " Friary of St. Patrick.'' 

(Invent of Discalcbd Carmelites. — The chapel of 
tMs convent, which is in Clarendon-street, and, next to the 
Metropolitan, is the largest in Dublin, is in the shape of 
a rectangle with the comers canted off. The exterior is 
plain, the lower part being plastered, and the upper, in 
which are the studies and dormitories of the friars, only of 
brick. Before the building of this spacious edifice, the 
friars of this order performed divine service in a small in- 
convenient building behind the houses on the south side 
of Stephen-street, near' Aungier-street.. Seven clerf^ymen 
reside here, and support an evening school, where 200 



94 COfrVETTT or JESUITS. 

boys are educated gratuitously.— This friary is witMn the 
precincts of Townsend-strect cliapel. 

Convent op Franciscans.— Adam and Eve Chapel, 
otherwise denominated ** Cook-street Chapel," belongs 
to £riart of the FWineisoaa order. To thi& fAwf eight 
eWgymtu are attached, trho, frets the arowded papula- 
tion of the neighbourhood, are eoastaatly engagea im oe« 
eaaional duties.-<*11ua convent is inte»d<» as a chapel of 
ease to Bridge-street chapeL 

CoNVSNT OF CAPucHiNS.^TheCapuehin Priary^ hettei' 
jkftowB by the - appellation of Church-Street C&apel, is 
^itaated en the west side of that street, and not tonetn St* 
Miohan'8 church. The Mary attached to this chapel aflbidi 
aeeommodation to seven or dght olergymen> for vAkam 
tiiere is ample einployinent in this poor, but extMmely 
populeus, part of Dublin. The chapel belongs to the die* 
trict of Arron Quay Chapel. The building itself peaseaset 
no remarkable features : — ^the respectable part of the eetn^ 
gregation are admitted into the sacristy, which it divided 
from the rest of the chapel by a railing, outride whieh 
the lower classes are obliged to remain. 

This structure was for a long period in a state ef dlla|»U 
dation, until the manly eloquence of the Rev. P. Keogh, » 
friar of the Capuchin order, influenced the wealthy part of 
his hearers, by repeated and powerful appeals to their 
feelings, to contribute largely to the restoration of the 
edifice y and in the space of two years, within this very 
chapel, upwards of l,fiO(tf. was collected at hit t^v 
mons. 

There Is a school attached to this couYvnt where 40 boyt 
are educated, and the tame number of giiit both elot|ied 
and educated. 

CoNYBNT or Js8crtv8.->^The chapel of this order, called 
Hafdwicke-ttreet chapel, is a small neat building, lately 
itted up in an unassuming and tasteful manner^, ft origin-* 
ally belonged to a nunnery of the order of St (Bare, in 
I>orset-3treet ; but upon the building of St. Oeorge't 
Church, and the opening of Hardwicke-street in front of 
it, the retirement of the nuns was so compl^ely inter- 
rupted, that they withdrew to Harold's cross on the tou^ 
side of Dublin, and surrendered this chapel to the Jesuit* 
ical order<«^There aisej in genen^^ two of th» oyder 



mUkf itt tlie aiMfftineBtB over tht e^p«l> whiek 
i* » Ae dinsM of Lifiey-itreet and tbe Metn^o^Nwi 



NUNNERIES. 



In Dublin attd lt« enviroBs there trft severid religions 
asylums for females of the Roman OEitholic reli^on.-— The 
Bwmeries in Dublin are — George's Hill — King-«treet — 
Sttnhope^treet — Summeivhill -^ Warren-mount — WiU 
BAinNstreet (north). In the environs are, Gabraffh*-*' 
Rirold'B^CFoea — Raneli^— and Richmond (removed from 
Janefr^treet). 

King-Street Nunnery.*— Is a large eomfortable house, 
iMfebftbly the longest established. The sisters, who are about 
lix or seven in number, are Poor Clares. — ^I'he ehief use 
of this asylum at present is, to afford a safe retreat to 
VidewB and ether ^smales of a respectable class, who are 
able to ^y for their board and lodging. 

StANBOPE-STREET AND WlLLIAM-StREET (NORTH) 

trtjmrBRiBB.'-^The inhabitants of these convents are called 
" Sisters of Charity,** their lives being wh<^ly devoted to 
charitable puf^ses.^^This order has long existed on the 
eontinent, though quite unknown, until lately, in this 
kingdom. 

UseEGB't»>HiLL OR NoRTH Anne's-Street Nunnery 
—is of very ancient date, and the residents, about eleven 
or iwelve \n number, ate called Ladies of the ^esentation. 
Tbese ^iharitable females superintend a school of ddO girls, 
20 of v^om are dothed and fed at the expellee of the con- 
vent.*^TIls was the first Roman Oatholk school permitled 
to be opened in Dublin, it being forbidden by the Foreign 
fidneatkm BiU, but that prohibition was removed in the 
Tmtn of lhi» kfte Majes^, George III. 

WARi>'s-Hik<ii, or Warren ftfousrv NufinrEEY.— The 
m^B ef Waiven Mooat Nunnefy are called Poor Clares : 
there are in general about twelve residing in the eonvant» 
to which is attached a school, where 200 girls are instructed, 
and 20 supported and clothed by the sisterhood. 
^ At the village of Ranelagh, is a convent of the order of 
St« Joseph, where, when the Irish nobility resided in their 



96 KUNN1RIB8.. 

native land, the daughters of the Roman Catholic nobility 
were educated; and there U still a number of highly re- 
spectable persons residing here. It is in the district of 
Francis-street Chapel. The sisters contribute munificently 
to the support of two schools ; one in Paradise-row, where 
20 orphans are admitted at the age of three years, and sup- 
ported and instructed until sufficiently qualified to be ap- 
prenticed ; and another, where 30 boys and as many girls 
are clothed, fed, and educated. 

There is a convent of Dominican nuns at Cabra^h, 
about three miles from Dublin, on the north side, which 
cannot be considered as belongiw to the city. Another 
at Richmond, 2 miles south of Duolin. The sisters of this 
nunnery> who are denominated Ladies of the Presentation, 
formerly lodged in James's-street. 

Harold's Cross Nunnery is more immediately in the 
vicinity of Dublin, and more conspicuous than the others 
for the magnitude of its charities. The sisters, who are 
Poor Clares, formerly occupied a nunnery in Dorset- 
street, the chapel of which now belongs to the convent of 
Jesuits. The nunnery is in the district of Francis-street 
chapel. — ^This edifice is very extensive, having attached to 
the apartments of the sisterhood a large building contain- 
ing a school-room and two dormitories, each capable of 
containing 50 bedsw — ^These benevolent sisters not only edu- 
cate, but clothe and support 1(X) female children, for 
whose accommodation they have erected this spacious 
building, and a handsome chapel a(\|acent to it. 

It would be uninteresting to continue a specific enume- 
ration of the different Roman'Catholic schools in this city^ 
and the precise number educated, clothed, and fed in each ; 
but the reader will learn with surprise, that there are about 
4,000 boys and 3,000 girls educated by this denomi* 
nation of Christians, and nearly 2,000 of those are clothed, 
and half that number fed : and at this moment a new 
society is establishing for diffusing the benefits of educa- 
tion amongst the poor Catholics, throughout the kingdom 
in general. 



PUSBYtlAIANS. 97 



SEGEDERS FROM THE ESTABLISHED CHURCH. 

In the small circuit of the city of Dublin, the number of 
places of worship appropriated to different religious sects, 
was greater than that either of churches of the established 
relipoQ, or of Roman Catholic chapels ; but owing to the 
great care of the church, manifested by his mce the Arch- 
bishop of Dublin, the reverse of this will snortly be more 
nearly true. A New Church has been opened in Upper 
Mount-streat, called St. Stephen's Chapel 3 St. Paul's has 
been rebuilt ; the foundations of three more are laid in the 
suburbs, the one at .Rathmines, one at Grange Gorman, 
and the third at Phibsborough ; and two Methodists chapels 
will shortly be thrown open as Free Churches for the poor, 
a thing hitherto unknown in Ireland. — ^The most ancient 
and respectable of the Dissenters in Dublin are the Pres- 
byterians. 

Prksbytbrians. — ^The Presbyterian government in Ire- 
land is modelled on that of the Scotch church. James the 
First encouraged many Scotch Presbyterians to pass over 
into the northern provinces of Ireland, where they 
spread to an amazing extent, and from their habits of pro- 
priety and industry, that wild and uncultivated part of the 
kingaom became rapidly civilized, so that at this moment 
it is decidedly the most improved and humanized part of 
Ireland. 

The Presbyterian church is divided into synods or assem- 
blies, which Hold annual meetings for the better govern* 
meat of their body ; and at those meetings, each congre- 
gation is rejjresented by one pastor and one lay elder. 

The principal synod in Ireland is that of Ulster, and there 
u a second, called the Mjanster Synod. The establishment 
of Pjresbyterian chapels in Dublin, took place in 1662, 
shorUy iiter the passing of the Act of Uniformity.— At this 
period, Samuel Winter, Provost of Trinity CoUege, with 
three of the Fellows, £. Veal, R. Norbuij, and S. Mather^ 
^uaed to subscribe in an unqualifiea manner to the 
^Wty-nine Articles of the Established Church, and 
▼olontarilv resigned thdr preferments. Such leaders might 
nfttnrally be expected to possess both influence to attract, 
wd eloquence and information sufiGicient to preservei » 

K 



considerable number of adherents -, and at their instance 
several iiieeti|^*ho«fies wen erected ia dliler^t putf 9i 
the city, some of which have since been taken down and 
rebuilt vpon different sited. 

There are now fonr meetingJiotises of PrMbyteHans )•** 
Strand*atreet, Eustace-street, Mary's Abbey^ and Uaher's 
Quay. 

8TRAND>8TiiXET McETTiTG-HovsE-^fl situated itt « re- 
tired street, chiefly occupied by menehants' stores, and re- 
cedes a few yards, having in frent a small oourt, with two 
ffates. The front of the building is of brick,- two stoiies 
m height, without any ornament $ and the interior is apa- 
cious, but quite plain. There are two oongreratloBs umad 
in Strand-street Meeting, v\%. Wood*street and Oook^alraet, 
which were both erect^ at the period of the secession of 
Provost Winter. 

Attached to this meeting is aPoor-sehool, where 28 boys 
are clothed, fed, and educated, and afterwards appien- 
ticed to different trades.* With the exceptioa of alMUt 30/. 
per annum, a donation, this sdiool is entirdy depeadMit 
on the results of an aimual charity sermon, preached by 
one of the ministers of the Church, on the last Sunday in 
February. But fkH>m the great respectability of the Strand- 
street congregation, this collection may fdways be calculated 
upon as ample for the support of the charity ; besides tlda, 
a collection is made every Sunday, which is apprMMiated 
to the use of a number of distressed widows. AdJoiiMng 
to the meeting-house there is a libPMy of diviiiity> ivliere 
the members of the cosiffr^ation are pemitted to fund, 
but owin^ to its inconipeni^t situation^ it is seldom visited. 
The Preebvterian clergymen have, for about two oenturiea 
badL, received an a^itiou to th^ salaries called the 
'^ Regium Donum," given at first to encourage the intro- 
duction of thi« respectable body in Ireland, and still amti- 
nued to those pastors whose conmgation amount to a cer- 
tain number. Amongst the minimrs who have odiciatod i^ 
Strand-street, many distinguished theologk^ aftd ooatro- 
teieid writers are to be found f-^Matten, dMrnock^ lUil^i 
attd Leiand, author of '* A View of the Deiatical writers of 

• TMi sriiooS wai «itsb1ldMBd by tti« Mlaies nvsdes^^ WlMK mat IMS 

•MMf run tt^mm: tr tts Mistfiig. 



usHSR's wiv MnanNo-HOusB. M 

ybfttestttid pteseat Cestitrf," (mre firtquently preftelied 
ken. 

Eustace-street Meettng-house — ^is not so spadoot 
u tlist in Strftad-strcet, nor is ita ooBgra^tioa more than 
half as numercKts. As the mambears of tkis religious sect 
6ti^ and eultiTatfi the absence of ornament^ their plaees 
of WDTsfaip afford nothing for the eye of eoriofiit)' to rest 
upon. 

AtlM^ied to this ehapel is a school for 20 boys^ who all 
receive bo«rd, lodging, elothing, and education^ and at a 
profier period, are sq^entioed to useful trades. Besides 
the collection m4de at an annual charity sermon, there is 
a yearly income for the support of this charity, as well as 
f«v the establishing and maintenance of a girls' school, 
aad aa alms-house for poor widows. Before the present 
buildiBg was erected, the membersi of this meeting cele- 
bfiled ravine worship in a small building in New Row. 
Dr. Leland, mentioned in the precedinr article, was a 
Minister of ikk floek, and a print of him hangs in the 
Vestry-iaoom. 

Mary's Abbey Meeting-House. — ^There was another 
meetinfi^-housc similarl)r denominated, the congregation fd 
which baring united with that of Strand-street, left the 
present chape) in the undisputed possession 0/ this dis- 
tinguishing appellation.-*— Though these two meetings* 
hmises. Strand-street and Mary's Abbey, are so near in 
point of locality, they profess to differ widely in doctrinal 
points; and to make the line of distinction still more 
obvious, the latter congregation call themselves the Scots 
Church, whenee it may be inferred, that they are somfr* 
what niore strict in the obserraoee of particular religious 
forms than their neighbours ai Strand-street. Several 
distinguished divines have been ministers of this congre- 
gation. 

The congregation support a charity school of about 
thirty children; and in addition to donations and sub- 
Bcrip^oBs, diere is an annual sermon on the first Sunday 
in March for the maintenance of this little establishment. 

UsBBR'a Quay MEBTiNO-HOUSB-^has also an ancient 
Presbyterian congregation, which united with the brethren 
of Plunket-street, s^out fifty years since, and is now a 
cOBsiderable body. There are two schools, containing 



100 BIKTHODISTS. 

about forty children, supported by the collections jnade 
in this meeting-house, and aided also by an annual charity 
sermon. 

Seceders. — ^This sect, which is a ramification of the 
Kirk of Scotland, consists of austere Calvinists 5 and, in 
consequence of a difference in civil matters, it is subdi- 
vided mto Burghers and Anti-burffhers. On account of 
their extremely rigid doctrines, the Anti-burghers hold 
very little intercourse with any other sect of Christians. 

The Burghers had a meeting-house in Mass-lane, and 
the Anti-burghers have one on the site of the old National 
Bank in Mary's Abbey. 

The difference between these two sects has of late years 
nearly subsided. But another body of dissenters from the 
Kirk has risen up, called the Relief, who are Calvinists 
and Presbyterians, but extremely liberal in their views. 

Independents. — ^The first congreg^ation of Indepen- 
dents that met in Dublin, assembled in the old Presby- 
terian meeting-house, in Plunket-street. There is also a 
very large chapel, belonsfing to this sect, in York-street ; 
and the Dutch church, in Poolbeg-street, has been made 
use of by them for several years back. 

Ebenezer chapel, at the corner of Hawkins-street and 
D'Olier-slreet, was erected in 1820, by a party of Sece- 
ders from the York-street Independents. 

Zion Chapel, in King's-Inn-street, also belongs to the 
Independents ; this chapel, which is built of lime-stone, 
and fronted with mountain-granite, is ornamented by 
three circular-headed windows, over which is a pedi- 
ment. Divine Service was performed here, for the first 
time, on Sunday, 5th August, 1821, by Mr. Rafties, of the 
Independent Chapel, Liverpool. ? 

MBTHODiSTS.—About twelve years after the first pro- 
mulgation of the Wesleyan doctrines, they were intro- 
duced into this city, for the first time, by a Mr. Williams, 
whose success was so remarkable, that he immediately 
communicated the tidings of this great accession; of fol- 
lowers to Mr. Wesley, who was induced to cross over to 
Dublin, where he arrived on Sunday morning, between 
eleven and twelve, as the church bells were "tolling for 
service. Ever anxious to catch at any thing that c^uld 
be considered as a prediction, he hailed the omen, and 



wAunmi. 101 

piMMiBff to Marv'i chwoh, obtained nermisAion toprMch 
tbttVi After continniiiff some time in Dublin^ and preacb* 
]ii|^ daily at a Meetinff^noase in Maiiborouf b-^treet, be re* 
turned to England, bappy at tbe result of bia mission. 
Bat, be was scarcely ifone^ when tbe infuriated mob^ 
unable longer to curb tbeir ragOi attacked and destroyed 
the chapel, and compelled tbe pastors to make a speedy 
retreat Notiritbstandinff this, Wesley repeatedly visited 
Dublin afterwards^ and idtimately succeeded in hisfavour^- 
ite object. 

There is a capacious meeting-bouse in George'8««treet, 
standing on a piece of ground^ lately occupied by a 
cabinet-maker^s workshop, ooncoaled by tne bouses in front. 

There is another congregation, professing tbe same doc- 
trine wbieb meets in tbe Weaver's-ball, o|i tbe Coombe, 
in tbe Earl of Meatb's Liberty. 

Hiose who are not considered Separatists, have a Meet- 
ing-bouse in Wbitefiriars-strcet, to which a book-room and 
alm»*house are attached ; it is capable of accommodating 
near 1500 persons; Hendriok -street chapel, near the 
Royal Barracks, is not so spacious. There is another in 
Cork-street, in the Liberty, which has not been opened 
more than five or sia years ) and a very handsome briek 
building, erected (1821) in Abbey-street, near the Custom- 
house, was opened for divine service the first Sunday in 
June, upon which occasion, a most able discourse was . 
deliverea by tbe Rev. Mr. Clarke, one of the pastors of 
tins congregation. The Kilbamites have no chapel in 
Dublin* Wesley Chapel, Great Charles-street, has been, 
purcbased for a Free Church for the Protestant Poor. 

BAFriSTS.-^l'bere is but one Baptist Meeting-bouse in 
DubUb, which is in Swift's Alley. Tbeir dootrme was in- 
troduoed into this city in tbe sixteenth century, when a 
ehapel was built, which, falling into decay, was rebuilt on 
the same site, about the year 1730. Tbe ceremony of im« . 
nnrsion is performed very properly, in private. This sect 
supports two schools, one for boys, tbe other for girls ) for 
which a charity aermon is annuilly preached. 

WALKMrrsa. — John Walker, a man of much leaming, 

andformerly a fellow of tbe university of Dublin, con- 

oeived certain notions, regarding tbe mode of celebrating 

the s^r^ee in tbe cburcb of Bngland, which led bim to oon* 

k3 . 



102 QUAKERS. 

clude^ that he could no longer, conscientiously, continue 
one of its members. Upon communicating this change 
of sentiment to the Provost and Board, he was uecessaruy 
removed from his fellowship. The leading features of his 
doctrine, besides being entirely calvinistic, are, '' total ex- 
clusion of all who are not of precisely the same senti- 
ments^ as to prayer." Mr. Walker never had many ad- 
herents, and even those few separated upon points of 
discipline. The zealous founder was of opinion, that the 
woros of the Apostle, '' salute one another with a holy 
kiss," were to be literallv understood, and acted upon, 
while one of his pupils aavised otherwise. 

. He continued to instruct his proselytes, in a room in 
Stafford-street ; and the separatists withdrew to another 
called the Cutlers' Hall, in Capel-street. The sect is now 
nearly extinct. 

There is another, of somewhat earlier date than 
Walker's, called Kelly's sect, whose doctrines differ little 
from Walker's, though they would wish themselves to be 
considered as distinct. They have no regular place of 
Avorship in Dublin, but they sometimes meet in a private 
school-room, in Upper Stephen-street, near George's- 
street; there is a chapel, belonging to this sect, at the 
vilWe of Black Rock, four miles from Dublin. 

Moravians. — ^The doctrines and tenets of this sect were 
first introduced into this city by Mr. Cennick, about 
1740, who was joined in his ministry by Mr. Latrobe, a 
student of Dublin College. Mr. Latrobe's success was 
very considerable ; and m a few years he obtained a 
meeting-house in Bishop' s-street and a residence for their 
elders adjoining. In the same street there is a house of 
refuge for unmarried females of the Moravian profession, 
who support themselves by their needle- work, which is of 
the most perfect description. There is a widows', hotise 
belon^ng to this body : and the females of the congregation 
superintend a Sunday school for girls. They have a distinct 
burying-ground, which is about three miles from Dublin 
a little beyond the village of Rathfarnham. 

. Quakers.— The celebrated George Fox, one of the 
Founders of this sect, passed over from England to Dub- 
lin, where he regulated their meetings ; and with the as- 
sistance oC Edmunson^a soldier in Cromwell's, army,, aodl 



CGnMAN LtrrilBRANS. 103 

afterwards a pedlar, who came into the north of Ireland a 
few Years previous, he was enabled to raise funds for the 
builoiog of two meeting-houses, one in Bride's-alley, the 
other, at Wormwood-gate : these have gone to decay, and 
Cole-alley and Sycamore-alley meeting-houses supply 
their places. — ^The Quakers of Ireland hold annual meet- 
ings in Dublin in May, and those of Dublin have monthly 
ones. At one of these meetings it was, that the first pro- 
test was ever made against the slave trade, and perhaps 
this was the ori^n of the bill introduced into the English 
parliament by Mr. Wilberforce, which has immortalized 
hiro, and ^ven additional lustre to the throne of Eng- 
land. The number of Quakers in this city amounts to 
about 1,000. They have no distinct charitable establish- 
ments, but contribute indiscriminately and munificently to 
all. The only establishment of an exclusive nature they 
support, is a Lunatic Asylum at Donnvbrook,' two miles 
froitf Dublin. The Quakers, like the Moravians and Jews, 
have distinct biuTing-grounds. Those of Dublin pre- 
serve a piece of ground for this purpose in Merrion-street, 
and a large enclosure in Cork-street.* 

Jiws. — ^^Although there are six or seven millions of 
Jews stUl in existence, there are not twelve in the metro- 
pohs of Ireland ; yet there were a sufficient number some 
years back to open a Synagogue in Marlborough-street, 
but this has a long time been closed. The only S)rnagogue 
which ever existed in Dublin, antecedent to that in Marl- 
borough-street, was built by some foreign Jews in Craven- 
lane. The few Jews who remain in Dublin read their 
Tahnud in private, and preserve a distinct burying-ground 
at Ballybough-bridge, where are to be seen several monu- 
ments mth Hebrew, inscriptions. 

Gbrmak LuTHERANS.-^The German Church is sitiuted 
in Poolbeg-street, near the new* Theatre, and has been 
mentioned already by the name of the Dutch Church. 

* PoK • minute and fanpaxtial Moount of variout iNtf toA difNotcit, !«• 
Sviai'i Skttcb of Pifftoeot Dfflwimhuttem ot th» Cbiiftuo World. 



m 



MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT. 

As Ae Uitary of the eorooration of errerjr dtf Ui im 
timatdy oonntcted witk the hiitory of the cit^r itself, 
the most important facta oonneeted with this oor« 
perate body hare l>een intenpened in the sketch of the 
History of Ouhlin, g^ven at the commenoement of this 
volnme. 

In 117d» tL charter of incorporation was g^fonted by 
Henry II. who, at the same tim«, induced many inhabi- 
tants of Bristol to unite tliemselves with the ^tizens of 
Dublin, and enjoy the advanti^es of this charter. The 
chief magistrates of this city were originally denominated 
provost and luuliffs, and the first who bore the title of 
provost, was John Le Deoer, when Richard de St. Ola^'e 
and John Stakehold were the first baaiffi», in 1308. In 
1665, Charles II. had changed the title of provost to that 
of Lord Mayor, and conferred this honour for the first 
time upon Sir Daniel Bellingham, with a salary of 500/^ 
per annum. 

The oorporation consists of the Lord Mayor, twenty- 
four Aldermen, two 8herifib, Sherifib' Peers, who are 
members for Ufe, and twenty-five Guilds. The two com* 
ponent parts are denominated the board of Aldermen, and 
the Commons; the latter consists of the Bheriffk' Peers, 
and representatives of the different Guilds; the Lord 
Mayor presides at the upper board, and the Sheriflls 
of tne year in the lower assembly. The Lord Mayor is 
elected from amongst the Aldermen, bv the concurrent 
vmces of lioth assemblies. He is caosen in April, 
vand continues to be styled Lord Mayor Eleei, uatil 
the 30th September^ at which time he enters upon his 
office. The Aldermen are all City Magistrates, and assist 
the Recorder at oyer and terminer. 

The Sheriffs are elected from the Common Council, and 
ait obliged to swear that they are worth 2,000/. : diose 
who have served the office and those who have jf iwrf, are 
called Sheriffs' Peers. The Aldermen are elected by the 
Board and Common Council in conjunction, and it is 
only necessary that he should have been a Sheriffs' Peer. 
The Lor4 M^yor ftpld? » court et tlie ^ansion-bouse^ for 



THE MANSION-HOUSE. 105 

tbe trial of pletty offences and misdemeanotu^ ; atid the 
Ex-Lord Mayor is president of the Court of Conscience, 
which is held at tlie city Assembly-house in WilUam« 
street, and where debts are sued for, which do not exceed 
forty shiUings. The authority of the Lord Mayor extends, 
not only all o?er the city, but part of the Bay of Dublin 
is considered within his jurisdiction, and the limits of his 
authority over the watery world are determined in the 
following manner: at low water, his Lordship rides' to 
the very water's edge, and from thence throws a dart 
as far as his strength and skill enable him, where it 
falls, is the boundary of his power; he then proceeds 
to perambulate the bounds of the city, or of his juris- 
diction. Upon this occasion, not many years since, all the 
^ds attended; and formed a procession of great splen- 
dour and magnitude. 

The Mansion-House. — ^The residence of the Lord 
Mayor, stands on the south side of Dawson-street, de- 
tached from the houses, on either side of it, and receding 
some distance from the street. Its appearance is unpre- 
possessing, being fronted entirely with brick, and built after 
a design which never could have been pleasing to the' eye. 
There is, however, an excellent suite of apartments, capa- 
ble of accommodating several hundred persons, which 
number is not unfrequently to be met at the convivial as- 
semblies of his Lordship. 

On the left of the hall is a small apartment, called the 
Gilt Room, where is a portrait of King William, a copy, 
by Gubbins, an Irish Artist of high character. Aborn- 
ing to this, is the Drawing-room, a spacious apartment, 
nearly fifty feet in length, where public breakfasts arc 
?iven. The walls are ornament^ with portraits of Lord 
vVWtworth ; Earl of Hardwicke,'1)y Hamilton ; Alderman 
Alexander, generally called the /'father of the city," by 
Williams; Lord Westmorland, by Hamilton; and John 
Foster, Speaker of the Irish llouse of Commons (now 
Lord Oriel). The next is the Ball room, used for dining 
in upon gala days ; a noble apartment, 55 feet in length, 
the walls of which are wainscotted with Irish oak. Near 
the entrance, are placed the two city swords, the mace, 
and cap : one of tne swords is only used upon those days 
on whi^h the collar of SS is worn by the Lord Mayor ; 



IM rn iMcsioii«o9» 

m» hm<m eellMT of SS wm cma by Wim^m QI. nt 4ie 
Mlidtation of BarthoUukiew Yw(ikoB»ri||ffa» Lord Mayor, 
IB 1697> and U wa& then Tftlued at 1,000/. The foraicr 
colU? was pregeated to the dtjr, in the year 1660^ hy 
Charkft IL aii4 waa carried c^ by Sir Michael Creagb, a 
Lord Mayor of the city. At one eod «# the room is a 
imrtrait of hi« Royal Hi^haeaa the Duke of CumberlaDdt 
and at the other that <^ the kte Duhe of Richmond* by 
Sir T. Lawrence j orer one ehimitey-pieee ia a portrait tn 
Charles IL and oyot the other one of Oeoffo IL at an 
early period of Ufe. 

At the opposite extremity of the Imll-roemj is it door 
leading into the novN]>-iiooif i thia spacious and princely 
apartment was built in 1821 (Sir A.B,Rin^> Bart, being then 
l4ord Mayor) » for the express purpose of entertainln|r hit 
Mapesty George IV. who was pleased to honour the eorpo* 
ration of Dublin with his presence at a splendid dty 
least, on the 2drd of August, 182L It is a perfect 
ein;le> the diamet^ of whichj being 90 feet, is 10 
fset greater than the diameter of the Rotunda in this 
eity i and a corridoor^ fi\^ feet wide^is continued quite round 
ibe room» so that the external diameter of the entire 
building is upwards of 100 feet. The walls of this magnifi- 
eent apartmenL which will be a lasting monument of the 
liberalityi loyalty and independent spirit of the corpora- 
tion, are ornamented with paintings in imitation of 
tiqpestry. It is lighted by a lantern 50 feet fr<»n the 
iooFj and the dome is painted to represent a summer shy. 

On the other side of the Mansion-house are several 
Tooms also appropriated to public use. The small room 
eommunicating immediately with the hall, is called the 
Exchequer: the walls ^f& wainscotted with Irish oak, 
and there are some portraits of eminent persons,-«-the 
Duke of Bolton, — the £larl of Buckinghamshire (Lord 
Lieutenant from Oct. 1777 to Dec. 1780), bearing a scroll 
in his hand» on which are these words ''me trade^ 
October 12th, 1779/' at which time, both houses of par- 
liament in Ireland petitioned for, and obtained^ a free 
trade from his Maiestyj— the Marquis of Buckingham,— 
andj the Earl of |laroourt. 

A^oining the Bxchequer is an apartment, 40 feet lonf « 
caUed th9 Shfrjff Hwm^ aad omam^nt^d with siir«n4 esc* 



cdtag 9ortfftitl^ lis. ite Duke i)f Nwtbd^^ 
LoriT0Wn»mii Join Duke of Bedford; mi adminlite 
portMit of AMoriBwi $uikey> bv Hamilton, 1792 $ Aldtf^ 
man Manders, 1802 ; aad the celebrated Aldtttnan Tlioiye 
(eomnionly <»Ued " tke Good Lord Mayor/' who aerred 
tfttring the famine in 1800), by Gummina* 

Several desif na have been presented for a new Mantleah 
bouie, biU Boaic adopted .* the centre of Stephen'8-/(re^ 
WM rngg^M aa a very appropriate situation, bat the pre^ 
sent iite ii one of the mo6t desirable in Dublin, uid It ia 
Bioit l^Mly tilie corporation will unduaUy improve the 
pivtent edififse, until it becomes alatiofit another butldin|^« 

On a lawn beside the Mansion-house, is placed an eque>^ 
trian statue of George I. which originally stood on Essex^ 
bridge, but ntpon. repairing the bridge, which «vas much 
injured by the weight of the battlements, it was removed to 
the garden of the Mansion-Chouse, at the expense of the 
corpoFation. At the extremity of the court-yard, or garden, 
in which the Round>Room stands^ are two colossal statues 
of Charies II. and William III. 

CiTT AasEMBiiY^HOtiaE.— »This building is situated ta 
Wtlllam-atreet, at the comer of CoppingerVrow $ and waa 
formerly called the Exhibition-room, being erected by the 
Aitiats of Dublin* for the purpose of exhibiting thairworks. 
Tinre is bat one large room ia this buildings and in this 
the Goaaatons aMemble» The boaid of Aldermen meet in 
another apartment of the building, and quarter-nssemblies^ 
election of city officers, and various other matters relating 
ts the afidrs of the corporation, are transacted bare. One 
$f tjie most important nisputes that ha? occurred in the 
Assembly-houae, took place upon the election of 8ir A. B« 
King, Bart, to the office of tord Mayor in 1821. The 
Gourt of Conadeaea is held in a mcious romn under the 
assembiy-cooip* the entrance is in Goppinger'SH-ow. Pre* 
vioosly to the purchase of the city a8sembly*hottde, by the 
oorpointion^ public meetings of the board and Gommmi 
Goundl, and &e Gourl ot Gonscieace, were held in a 
stately building in SkinnCM'ow, called ^ Thol»d. Ttfs 
struetnre (of which a correct elevation may be <een jm 
Malton's Views) was built after a desiga of the pelebiTatflld 
Inigo Jbael ; the Ihmt was richly ornamented, and in 
nichaa mi tkn 9eoand atory were two gigantie statnes «f 



lOS TAltORS* HALL. 

Cbarlei 11. and James II. now pressed in Chriat^lmrcli 
Cathedral^ but no trace of tlie Tholsel remains : it stood at 
the comer of Nicholas-street, and the site was let for 
building in 1807, by the corporation. - 

Aldermen. OF Skinner's-alley. — In 1688, James II. 
obliged the Protestant part of the corporation to retire from 
office, and remain in concealment, until more auspicious 
times ; and the place of their retreat Avas Skinner' s-aller^ 
in the Earl of Meath's Liberties : at length, the memorable 
battle of the Boyne, restored the Protestant religion to the 
country, and the corporation to its rights. The reinstated 
corporators, impressed with the truth of this motto ^'Hsec 
olim meminisse juvabit," retained the name of the Alder- 
men of Skinner's-alley. 

Merchants' Hall. — This useful and necessary building 
is situated on Aston's Quay, opposite the iron bridge. It is 
two stories in height and contains an office on the basement 
story ; with the great hall and a small apartment on the 
upper floor. The front, which is of granite, is inclined 
obliquely to the line of quays, and is in other respects also 
an awkward structure. The Guild meets here for the 
election of Master Representative in the Common Coun- 
cil — Coal Meters, &c. 

Tailors'-hall.— The Corporation of Tulors claim the 
honour of precedence of all other .Guilds, on the ground 
of antiijnity : this right, however, has lately been ceded to 
the Guild of Merchants as a matter of courtesy. Their 
hall is in Back-lane, in the neighbourhood of Christ-Church 
Cathedral, upon which site they have had one for several 
centuries, but the present structure was built in 1710, 
John Shudell, being Master of the Corporation. 

The principal apartment, which is 45 feet. by 21, is or- 
namented with a gallery at one end, and has ^he following 
paintings, viz. a full-length of Charles II. ; a portrait of 
bean Swift ; a painting of the Tailors' arms ^ the Royal 
Arms as a companion ; a head of Charles II. ; a very cu« 
rious painting of St. Homobon, a Twlor of Cremona^ of 
whom it is recorded beneath ** that he gave all his gain 
igiid labour to the poor, and was canonized for his life and 
miraculous actions in 1316." 

In this hall, the foUowinff corporations, not having halls 
peculiarly belonging to their Qmld, are permitted to as<^ 



fenMe—BiitelierB^ Smitbs, Barbei^; SaddlerSj Okfm, 
Bkiimen, Carriers, and Joiners. 

Wkavb«'s-hai.l.— This hall is situated on the Ooombe^ 
in the £arl of Meath's Liberties, and is a renemble-lookinj^ 
briciL building; hayinff its front decorated by a handsome 
nit statue of GeoTg« if. In the principal room, which is 50 
feet by 2i, is a portrait of one of the Latonches, who 
came into this lungdom with the French refdfrees, and 
Sfreatly encouraged the art of Weaving. There is also a 
ponrttt of George II., wcurked in tapestry. On the firame of 
which is the following couplet : 

" The wodonaiithip of John VaobMYV^ 
Y* flunooB U^estry Weaver.'' 

This is extremely well executed, and there is not a betttr 
piece of workmanship of this description in Dublin, if we 
except that in the anartment called the tapestry drawing- 
room, in Waterford-house. This hall is so little use3« 
that a congregation of Methodists take advantage of its de- 
sertion, and assemble here every Sunday and holydav. 
The onlv Guild which meets here, besides the Weavers, it 
the Guild of Hosiers. 

There are a few other halls belonging to different Guilds, 
the Apothecaries-hall, in Mary-street Tsee art. Apotheca- 
ries-hall]. The Garpenters'-hall, in Audoen's Arch ; the 
Goldsmiths'^ in Golden-lime ; the Cutlers', in Capel-street j 
md the Coqper8% in Staffcnrd-street. 



POLICE ESTABLISHMENT- 

Tex first institution of Police in Dublin, is sUppos^ to 
bave taken place in the reign of Elizabeth, but upon a very 
dlD^ir^t system from the present; — to this sudceeded a 
cites of peace-preservers, and night-guards, called ufa^r^ 
nenf who were introduced in the reign of George I. The 
watchmen did not preserve the nightly quiet of the city so 
c^ftcfUaUy as they might have done, for many of them Were 
convicted of aiding in robberies, and even murders, com- 
mitted within the city : this led Mr. Orde to introduce the 
Pcrfice acti in 1786. 

ThoDgH this body was exceediugly efficienti yet being 
ft 



110 tNMiifVAiiiiniiMrf. 

^tirdy molnM by ike gDvemmeiit^ tlie MMtM hmm 

jealous or tbeir interferenoe, aiid AppettMd to fad tbem- 
idvet rtther under the control of a military loree, tkan as 
liaivini? their propertiea and peaee preeerved by an useful 
ItotabHshmeat. 

Many attemptH were made in parliament to aboltib the 
Police* and substitute city guaraiaas less offeivaiYe to the 
inhabitants 3 and a resistance on the part of govenmeat, 
for ten sueeessive years* gave rise to many serious results 
to the nation in general.— At length* in the year 17d5i the 
Police act was repealed* and the former miserable system 
of watch restored. 

This wretched mode of preserving the peace, was con- 
tinued for ten or twelve years, when the Duke of Welling- 
toa* then Secretary of State in Inland* introduced the 
fnrceent iK^ee act* from which the metri^lis has derived 
•nch iaiinite advantage ; and which Is now matured to a 
degree of pcrfectioni which the nobld framer of the act 
eould hardly hav« cimtemplated. 

The whoie establishment consists of twelve magistrate^) 
A)ur 0f whom must be Aldermen } four Sheriffs' Peers^ and 
four Barristers, of not less than six years standing. One 
half of this number is selected by the Goveramenf^ tlie 
«ther by the Common Council. 

£very magistrate receives a salary of dOO/. per anntim, 
with the exception of the chief magistrate of police, whose 
salary is 600/. per annum. The police esmhlishment also 
take cognizance of all improprieties and impositions com- 
mitted Dy^ drivers of hackney-coaches and cars, and by 
sedan-chair-men* &c.— Against whom, con^^laints must be 
lodged within a few days after the commission of the 
oflg^ice* or they vidll not be attended to. 

There are four offices of police in Dublin, one for each 
of the districts into which the dty is divided. The pviA- 
oipal or head police-office is in Exchange^ourt i thif bar 
loBgsto the Castle Division : the others are in James^troet, 
Mountrath-street* and College-street. 

In each of these, three magistrates preside^ some one of 
whom is always in attendance, from abont ten to three 
o'clocj every day* and from six to eight in the evening? 
one Alderman* one Sheriffs' Peer, and on^ Barrister, are 
stlMli^d ta every oficd. Tbe poik4 <HHi«Mi «l btdi » 



b 111 

hone pUuAt afad * body of infantry, bAldit bidI« Hkm 
four htindml wstckmen. The hono-poliee, not only 
patnle tke streets^ bat the enyironi of Dublin to the di». 
tftooe of ^ht miles. There are in the neighbourhood, at 
difoent fiitanees from the city, poliee^houes, whera 
^wds an stationed. 

The power lately vested in the superintendant magistnylt. 
has be^ transferred to those of the head office of police, 
lihkh retains thirty-one peace«offieers in its employnieiit ; 
while the diYisioaAi ofliees are allowed but seven eaoh^*^ 
It sends persons on dnty not only to all parts of Ireland bnl 
to Bhgland, Scotland, and even the Continent* It grants 
licenses to all hotel-keepers, pnblieans, pawnobrokers, &e» 
Thoe are now bB pawn-brokers, 28 hotel4GeepeiS, 160 
licensed hackney-coaches, 140job and 20 mourning coachea^ 
750 jauntinor^ars, 3,700 town cars, 1,600 country oars^iMQ 
b rew it s ' drays, and 6i hackney sedans* 



PRISONS. 

NswoATB-^he principal gaol for malefactors of dl 
descripdons, is in Green-street. Formerly the gaol was an 
old castle on the town wall, over the gate leading from 
Cut-piirse-row to Thomas-street $ and from its situation^ 
derived the name of Newgate, which appellation was trans- 
^errsd to the present prison. This bauding, which stands 
en a rectangular piece of ground, 170 feet by 130, is after 
a design of Mr. Thomas Cooler, the architect of the Bz« 
change, and is fhced with granite-stone, from the Dubiiii 
Mountains. The front consists of three stories, the lower 
rusticated, and the two upper perforated by windows dl 
rested of ornament: the centre is surmounted byapedi 
ment, and in front of the upper story of this part oi tha 
bnUding, are the platform and apparatus for execution. 
At each angle is a round tower with loop-holes ; and ona 
side of the prison has no other mndows than these aper- 
tures. In this wing, prisoners of the lowest class ware 
generally confined, and from the exorbitant fees or '* gaii« 
nish money," demanded for any accommodation howerer 
wTftehed, thoM unfortunata misereftnts wwe compeUad %^ 



119 NiwoA'ra. 

suspend a small bag from the loop-koles by a cord^ and 
begalms from the passenger ; but this extremity ofhnnsan 
misery^ together with many s&ameful improprieties prac- 
tised and countenanced within the prison walls^ called 
forth the interference of Mr. W. Pole, Secretary of State 
for Ireland, who made a serious reformation in the discip*. 
lineofNew^te. 

The interior is dirided into two nearly equal parts by a 
broad passage, having on' either side lofty walls with iron 
gates, through which visitors may speak with the prisoners.^ 
At the end of this passage is the gaoler's house, the ftoot 
of which is in Halstein-street ; but the turnkeys have 
apartments in the prison. There is a chapel attached to 
tne prison, and three chaphdns, one of the Established 
Church; one of the Roman Catholic persuasion, and a. 
Dissenting clergyman. ' 

The ceus are not sufficiently numerous for the number 
of criminals that must necessaurily be at all times confined 
in the gaol of a large city, nor are they of sufficient magni* 
tude to accommodate more than one, each being only 
twelve feet long by eight in breadth : they all open into 
corridors, which look into the court-yard, and are locked 
•t night. 

The foundation of this building was laid in 1 773, and it 
was opened for the reception of criminals in 17S1. It is 
irot considered either well situated or strongly built, the 
blocks of stone not being cramped . as they are in the 
•ounty-gaol. Few prisoners, however, have ever been able 
to effect their escape, without the connivance of the turn- 
keys. A few years since, when the gaol ivas crowded with 
convicts destined for transportation to Botany Bay, a con- 
wiracy was formed to break through the walls ; but the 
plot, was fortunately detected in time. 

From that period, no irregularity or spirit of insubordi* 
nation has appeared, owing partly to better internal ar« 
xangement, and pardy to a diminution of crime in. the city, 
by which the number of prisoners is much reduced. . 
^ The County Gaol is situated near the Royal Hospital, 
and is called Kilmainham-gaol. A court-hpuse has been 
Uteljr erected close to it, but as neither of these are within 
the cit^, any detail of them would be improper here. 

7]»e mXervfii regulation of both f hese gacis, has been of 



l»^, Ifmtly b^nefttted, and the last improraueAt ivM A 
)m received the sanction of the High Court of Parliament^ 
vu. the abolition of fees, has scarcely left any thing more 
to do in the gpyemment of pri^sons, but have the preseat 
^jrstems atricUy observed. Besides the gaoler and his de- 
puty^ tiiere are five turnkeys, a sui-geon, ph jsidan, inspeo- 
tor, and three chaplains : a subaltern guard does dutr a^ 
the prison. There is one improvement yet wanting in frisk 
prisons in general, viz. the employment of the prisonerf^ 
and whoever has visited Lancaster Castle will feel stronglf 
the force of this observation. 

Shbriff'6 Prison. — ^Previously to 1794, pa'sons ar« 
rested for debts exceeding 10/. were generally lodged in 
*^ Sponging Houses,'' where the most infamous practicea 
were permitted, as the unhappy debtor would make any 
sacrifice of his property to. be allowed to escape befpra 
some new claimant seized upon him.'—In 1794, the SheriilPa 
prison in Green-street was erected 5 wUchis a large buildings 
forming three sides of a square, and havipg a court-yard m 
the centre. At the first institution of this prison, the 
gaoler, turnkeys, and other officers were supported by the 
rent of the chambers, which was very exorbitant, and # 
considerable rent, abore 100/. per annum, was paid by m 
Vintner, who had a shop in the under-ground story, From 
sudi an arrangement, it is obvious abuses must have arisen^ 
and vice and infamv of every description been encouraged 
in its growth. But happily all this scene of debauchery^ 
profiigacy, gambling, and extortion, has vanished with th? 
abolition of gaol fees : and the removal of thpse allureineBV* 
has diminished the charms of confinement, which a profit* 
gate mind never failed to discover i!fithin the precincts ci 
the Sheriffs' prison.— 'The court-yard in the centre 14 ujei 
fi$ a ballrcourt, but is much too confined for the numW 
of debtors, of- whom there are usually about JOO. The 
Marsbalsea and Kilmainham gaol, however, aflMrd aeeoqi* 
modation to so many of those whose health is impured by . 
confinement in Green-street, and the Insolvent act removes 
the Irish debtors so quickly, that the number at present^ 
in this prison, }s comparatively small. — ^There is no chap-' 
1^ or surgeon, nor any means of support for tke poof 
d^btfHTS. ex^fpt the contributions of their W«»ds jml 
Powdl'i gratuity. 'Thia last resource is der|Te4frpm 7 W' 



114 rortAMmriUAMSsuufUL 

beiltteatibed by Mr. Powell (formerly confined in tluft gaol), 
9iiA vested in the huids of the Lord Mayor ai^d bourd of 
Aldermen, who distributes the interest of it amongst the 
poor debtors at Christmas. 

, City Marshalska. — ^This wretched mansion is a mean- 
looking brick building, intended solely for the confinement 
of persons arrested for debts under 10/. ;— in general they 
^ not exceed forty shillinffs. THe debtors are committed 
l^y the decrees of the Lord Mayor's Court and/the Court 
or Conscience. The interior exhibits a mcture of the 
deepest distress and misery. Very frequently, beneyolent 
persons send sums of money to this prison to procure the 
discharge of a number of those creatures, and there cannot 
be a more truly charitable mode of giving relief, as a large 
family of infant children, is probably dependent on the poor 
prisoner for existence. 

. Before the erection of this building, which is between 
the Sheriff's prison and the Sessions-house in Green-street, 
the poor debtors were confined in a wretched hovel on the 
merchant's quay, having a window without a^lazing, secured 
l>]f iron bars : here one or two of them stood, holding a box 
with a small hole in the top, and earnestly supplicated dia< 
aty from every passer-by. 

Four Courts MARSHALSRA^r-This place of confine- 
ment, situated in Marshalsea-lane, in Thomas-street, is 
also intended for debtors. Here are placed not only the 
debtors whose health has been izgured by confinement in 
the .unwholesome air of the Sheriff's prison, but others 
fr^m various parts of Ireland who are anxious to take the 
benefit of the Insolvent Act— The building consists en« 
tirely of lime-stone, and may be said to have no principal 
Iront : it is separated from Marshalsea-lane by a high wall, 
umbroken by an^ aperture. 

* The situation is extremely healthy, being on the very 
summit of a rising ground and on the southern bank of the 
Liffey. In the prison are two court-yards, oneofwhicb^ 
^unrounded by the chambers of the debtors, has pumps in 
its centre, which yield a constant supply of water. In the 
other court, is a cold bath. Here are likewise a chapel^ 
leveral common-halls, a ball-court, and tolerably good ac» 
comnjodationvfor the debtors: indeed, from th« great 
flu^^fttioi^i^ t^hQ mm^v of pri^oo^s <:Qmn4ttei)» tjQ ^ 



SIS8I0VS HOUfll. 115 

Mmhilaeaj it would be a matter of great difficulty to de- 
cide, wliether or not it ought to be enlarged.— 'There ii 
one deiideratum yet, in the construction of this place of 
confinement, viz. a perfect ventilation, whieh might be ac- 
complished by perforating the wall in M arshalsea-lane, as 
was auggestea by Francis Johnston, Esq. some time back, 
\dio also showed that it would not be attended with any 
diminution of security to the prison, but it has not yet 
been adopted. 

SESSIONS HousB.-^In 1792, the first stone of the Ses- 
sions House in Green-street was laid, and trials were held 
there in five years after. The front consists of six three- 
quarter columns supporting a pediment ; between the co- 
lumns in the secona story are circular-headed windows, 
and in the lower story blank windows ; the doors on either 
side are approached by a flight of steps, extending aloni^ 
the front, and terminated by a broad platform, from which 
the columns rise.—There is another front corresponding 
to this, in Halstein-street, leading to the apartments in 
which the agents sit during contested elections. 

In the interior of the court-house, which is lofty and 
spacious, the centre in front of the bench is occupied by 
toe table for the examination of witnesses, the docx, &c. ; 
and on each side is a geXLery, part of which is appropriated 
to the jury, and the remainder to the accommodation of 
the pablic. The ceiling, which is flat, b supported by four 
large Ionic columns ; and, upon crowded occasions, the 
comrt is capable of being extremely well ventilated. 

There are four distinct courts held here. The Quarter 
Sessions, when the Recorder and two Aldermen at least 
preude and try petty offences. 

The court of Oyer and Terminer sits about six times 
eiu^h year in this court-house, and tries for crimes of a 
bladcer nature than are brought before the court of Quar- 
ter Sessions. On this occasion two of the Puisne Judges 
preside. 

The Lord Mayor's court sits every Thursday, and regu- 
lates all disputes rdaUve to journeymen, apprentices, ser- 
vants, &c. At this court his Lordsnip and the two Sheriffs 
preside. 

• The Recorder's court is held in' January, April, July, 
^40ctQl)^r. Af thii ^Qujrtvi^9Uf offences andmi&d^ 



1 1 tf If ANOA «V ST. trnWASKkE. 

meanors are tried^ and acdans are brougfit for debt by 
ciTil-bill process. In this court were held all the State 
Trials in 1798 aod 1803, of those who were tried by the 
avilLaw. 



MANORS. 

Thbbs are four manor courts attached to the cit]r» 
Grauflfe Gorman or Glasnevin, Thomas Court and Donore, 
St. Sepulchre's and the Deanery of St. Patrick's.—- The 
manors were town lands united to the city, but still pre- 
serving their own jurisdiction. 

The Manor of Grange Gorman includes that part of 
Dublin on the north, which lies in the neighbourhoods of 
Glasnerin and Mountjoy-square. The Seneschal hcdds his 
court in a private house in Dorset-street, at the comer of 
the circular road. He has in his employment a Marshal 
and Registrar. — ^The lord of this manor is the Dean of 
Christ-church .-^Population of that part of the manor 
within the circular road, 6,035, and iiumbet of houses 
686. Population outside, 6,072, houses 691. 

Manor of Thomas Court and Donobe, — ^In 1645, 
Henry VIII. granted the monastery of Tliomas-court. to 
William Brabazon, ancestor of the Earl of Meath, since 
which period the appointment of the Seneschal^ Re^8tnu> 
&c. are vested iu the Meath family. ITie court-house is a 
wretched brick building in lliomas-»court, Thomas-street, 
where small debts are sued for, before the Seneschal^ 
whose powers were formerly very considerable within hi? 
own boundaries ; but the improvements in the govemmeut 
of the city in general, have rendered the exertion of those 
^wers unnecessarv. The ooiut was first established ii 
the reign of King John, and its jurisdictlou extended over 
the principal part of the liberties and part of the environs 
^( the soi|th side of the city. The populatiou of thi^ manor 
Is J 1,207, the number of houses 913, 

Mai^or of St. Sbpulcpr^.— The court-house and 
prison of St. Sepulchre are situated at the end of the long 
lane in Keyin-street, near the New Meath Hospital. 

tl»e Comt-hou$e is a modem building, frpnted wit]fi 
ipountain-granite* The jurisdiction of this court, a^ (iir 



aa lelates to the city of Dublm. is confined to pan of St. 
Peter's^ in whick are St. Kevin's-parish^ and thfi parish of 
St NichoW Without. The Seneschal of these Libertiea 
is appointed by the Archbishop of Dublin^ who is the 
Lord of the Manor of St. Sepulciire. Before the erection 
of the present court-house^ the Sjeneschal sat in the Ar« 
chiepiscppalopalace in Kevin-street, now occupied by the^ 
hQnie-po]lGe.^^The prison for debtors, in this manor, is at 
the rear of the New Court-house. The Population of the 
manor is 13,179, and the number of houses l,Odd. 

Manor of this Dkanbrt of St. Patrick's.— The 
Dean of gt. Patrick's is Lord of this Manor, which extends 
only a few hundred yards on each side of the cathedral : 
it is inhabited by some of the very poorest people in the 
city, and the court of the manor has been discontinued. 
The only advantage its poor inhabitants possess is, that 
they are exempt from the jurisdiction of other courts, as 
to the recovery of trifling debts, and sometimes elude the 
clutches of the bailiff by flying for refuse to the confines of 
their own manor. The number of innabitants is 2,289« 
and of houses 159. 



HOUSES OF CORRECTION. 

DuBUN Prnitsntiart. — ^This extensive building is 
situated on the circular road, near New-street; and is 
built of lime-stone, the ornamental parts being granite.' 
The entrance is through a large gate of particularly heavy' 
and durable workmanship. A Barbican, after the manner 
of that of a Feudal Castle, is placed in front, connected by 
screen walls with flanking towers : this is merely an out- 
work, and is separated from the body of the buildinff by a 
wide passage, intended as a rope-walk. On the fneze is 
this appropriate inscription :— 

•< Com to do evil, iMm to do wtlL'> 

And over the porter's lodge are the cHy ivms ^vith the 
words 

" Obedient)* dviiim urUa AUdtas." 

Tho Interior it divided tato two e«teaaiv« €0\utl ea^iMf 



fW RicRiiominmftKnMiwtiA&Y. 

eiicomptttted with buildinjiB; tbe domiteflet 9^ Mil 
opeidng to a ccntidor, hftTing doors at each end whieh aifie 
locked at night. The second floor is devoted to purposes 
6f industry. The males and females ocenpy distinet parts 
of the btiilding, and both are kept closely to employment. 
The former are only in a moderate state of subordination ; 
but the female criminals, partly owing to the exertion of 
several humane and religious persons who re^lariy visit 
this place of confinement, are brought to sucn habits of 
industry and propriety, that they have more distinct nofioitB 
of morality and religion, upon quitting the Hous)^ of Cor- 
rection, than when they entered it ; wnich is the reverse in 
almost all other prisons. 

Attached to the gaol is a large garden of three acres and 
a half, well cultivated by the male convicts, and capable of 
supplying the prison with vegetables. 

Vms establisnment occupies altogether about five acres 
of ground, and cost about 30,000/. which was levied on the 
city of Dublin. The first stone was laid 1813, by the late 
Duke of Richmond, then Liord Lieutenant. The principal 
keeper is appointed by the j^and jury. 

Another house of correction, commonly called " Bride- 
well," situated in Smithfield, was opened for the reception 
of young criminals, in 1801 . 

KiCHMOND Genbral PfiNrTENTiAiiT.— *This peniten- 
tiary is situated in Grange Gorman-lane, adjoining the 
House of Industry. The front towards Grange Gorman- 
lane measures 700 feet, and consists of a centre of con« 
siderable breadth, crowned by a large pediment, and wings 
of great extent : the portals are at a distance from the 
main body of the buuding, and are connected by high 
curtain walls. There is an extremely handsome cupola, 
containing a clock with four dials, over the centre of the 
ft'ont, which is built of a black stone, quarried in the 
vicinity of Dublin 5 the ornamental parts are all of moun- 
tain-^nite. The general appearance of this- feipade is 
very imposing, and caleulatea to produce in the mind of 
the approaching criminal, an impression of hopeless 
incarceration, and compel him to resign at once pverj 
idea of liberty, .unless deserved by a reformation of con- 
duct. 

This exteSKlire buUding, the first stone d which was laid 



IW 

is laift, by tU ktt Duk« of RickoMmd, U after a 4esigi 
oiFntim Jolmston^ £^. and coal upwards of 50,000/. 

At tha rear of the biiilaiii(f»fetired from all eommunica^ 
tioa wiUi its other parta, are a number of cells, where the 
calpritg are enclosed in solitary confinement on their firat 
admission ; they are, in proportion to their conduct, 
gradually removed into others more cheerfully situated, 
where they are permitted to hold intereourse with thdr 
fcllow-creaturea, an eigoyment at first denied tham % and 
should they continue improving in habits of morality and 
indostry, they are ultimately permitted to jmn those who 
have undergone the same benefieial ordeal with them- 
selves. 

Tun MacuoaxiXm Abti*I71«-48 a brick building In Leeton- 
Btiee^ near Stephen's Green : this institution, the first of 
the kbid in Dublin, was founded by Lady Arabella Denny, 
sad was onoiMdJnneU, 1766. Its objects are the pro- 
teetion and subsequent reformation of deserted fsnalas, 
who havim^ at first departed £rom the paths of virtue^ have 
beeaine disgusted with vice, and seek the means of 
qnalifyii]^ fiiemselves once more to associate with mond 
society. 

Its meaaa of support are, the interest of 2fiQ0L raised 
originally by voluntary subecriptiona^ the oollecfikin of the 
aanual dumly^^armon, and the Sunday coUeetiona of j th^ 
chspel. The produce of the penitents' labour is partly 
bfstowed upon them, as an inceatife to industry, and a 
part is reaerved for donatioiis upon their being restored to 
flunnl habits, and permitted to quit the asylum. 

Tke duipel is capable of eontiHniaf upwards of 500 per- 
sons, and is always crowded by the most respectable clasaea; 
eonsequeatlf, the collections are considmble, probably 
amounli]^ to 500/. per annum. Among other eansea thie 
is to be aittfibttted to the eloquence and popularity df the 



l40€K PBvi'caifTUBir.^About 1789, a chapd was opened 
in Dorset^treet, eaUsd the Bethes<h^ at the sole expesse 
of William Smyth, Esq. nephew of Dr* Arthur Smyth, Areh- 
bSphop Qf Dublin; who added an Orphan School and 
Asylum for fbmale chiidb«ett only, who are lodged m apart- 
ncBla awer the chapeL 



120 DOBLm miuM fmrnmuxr. 

for the reception and emplopaent of destitate femAl6t« 
leaving the Lock Hospital. These unhappy creatnres are 
accommodated in an excellent house attached to the 
chapel, and are supported by contributions^ by the collec- 
tions in the chapel, and by the produce of their own 
labour, in washing, mangling, ftc. 

I1ie chapel, which has lately been much enlarged, is 
spacious and convenient, but without any ornament. 
i>ivine service is performed here at the usual hour of the 
established churcn, and the attendance is extremely nume- 
rous and respectable, so that it is very difl^ctut for a 
stranger to procure a seat. The late chaplain was John 
Walker, fellow of the University of Dublin, and founder 
of a religious sect which bears his name [see page 1011. 

Bow-STREBT Abtlum.— This asylum was esttu^lishea by 
Mr. Dillon, a merchant, who had been, when an infant, 
left at the door of a bricklayer in Bow-street, and was 
reared by him, and taught his trade. Returning from 
labour one evening he was interrupted by a wretched 
female, who endeavoured to seduce his virtuous mind from 
its purer course ; but virtue triumphed over vice, and he 
succeeded in persuading the unfortunate female to accept 
of support from him until an asylum was procured, which 
would afford her a permanent shelter. While employed 
in this noble undertaking, he was acknowledged by his 
parents, and succeeded to a considerable fortune, part of 
which he bestowed upon his favourite and charitable pro- 
ject Mr. Dillon shortly after withdrew from Ireland, but 
the asylum continues in a flourishing* condition, and gives 
protection to above 40 penitents. The chaplun is a Roman 
Catholic clergyman. 

TowKSBND-STRBET AsTLVM.-^Thls little ssyluiii is 
supported by Roman Catholics, although it admits pei^ons 
of cul religious persuasions. It was founded by a few 
weavers from the Liberty, in whom nature had implanted 
correct moral notions, and who voluntarily associated for 
^ the management, and subscribed for the support of this 
veiydesirable charity. 

The penitents are supported by contribution, and the 
produce of their industry m washing, mangling, &c. 

Dublin Fsmai.b PBNiTBNTiART.-^This penitendary 
originated i^ the foeliiig dispositioii and amiable ninds of 



n IM» ibaalet 4f respecUbility, al ife iMftii end of tlie 
atf. In 1813, a laige commommis house wms ereeted for 
the penitents^ in on extremely kealthy situatiMi on the 
North Circniar-road, near £ccle8*8treet, behind which is 
a spacious chapelt. The penitents are employed in wash- 
ing, mttaglmf, &c., and those who ue capable are aflowed 
to devote their exertions to ftney works, which are dis« 
posed of at a repository in one wiM of the building'. 

There are, in. j^eneral, about 30 females on the establish 
ment. Besides the produce of their labour, and occasimial 
donations, there is an annual sermon preached for the 
support (^ the institution. . 



ASYLUMS. 

Bssmxs those already mentioned, there are several 
others Uirough the city and suburbs equally deserving of 
notice. The mdows'-house, in James^street, was founded 
by John Loggins, a coach-driver, who miraculously es- 
emed destruction when Kilcullen-bridge fell. Moved by 
tbis, and otherprovidential rescues from peril, he bestowed 
all his savings on ap alms-house, which he had the hapni* 
ness to see supported with great spirit and benevolence oy 
theparishioners of St. James's. 

Tnere are Widows'-houses in the following places i*^ 
in Great Britun and Denmark streets (commonly called 
*' Fortiek's alms*houses'0> both which supply the use of 
apartments and two guineas per annum to the ajged in- 
mates. In Dorset^street there is an alms-house rounded 
by the Latouches, in which the residents are allowed 
2i. 6d* per week, together with the use of comfortable 
iqpartments. There are thirteen alms-houses, attached to 
parishes : the first in importance is an asylum for clergy- 
men's widows, in Mercer-street, whu^h gives excellent 
^odpog9» ^th a gratuity of 10/. per annum, to six poor 
ladies who have been accustomed to a more respectable 
cntnation in life : this was founded by Lady Anne Hume, 
upon the model of an extensive asylum for the same 
purpose in Waterford. The Presbyterians support an 
alttHuNue in &vk^tK«eti thA Iniq^mU in flimket. 
n 



Uf CHiftlt AIM MiftCiAflO!^ 

tireel; ike Morftvlant iu W&ito-Friara^^tMeM And Ae 
Rom«i Catkdios, one in GUurkeWomt^ Great Sliip-str»e|i; 
Miotb«r in Ardubald'a-coiurt^ €odc-a^eet> and a tkird 
in Liffey-ttreet. 

On SmnmeNhill if an Aiylun for aged and infirm Female 
Servants ; who are admitted upon prodncini; certificates 
of jfood behaviour during lenrice. 

Mrs. Blaehford opeim an asylum in Baggot-ftreat, 
eaUed *' The House of Refage }" where none out young 
wttmen, of unquestionable character, are admitted, who 
are employed in ^lain<*work and washing, untii they are 
provided with eligible places. Mr». H. Tighe, the authtur 
of Psyche, bestowed the purchase-money i^ven for that 
very beautiful poem upon this ezceUent institution, which 
was founded by her mother. 

There is another House of RefKge, in Stanhope-street, 
Grange Gorman, for similar purposes, where between 
twenty and forty females have shelter and protection 
while sedong for employment* 

la Rttssel-place, on the North Circular*rdad, is an 
Asylum for Old Men i where none are admitted under 
rixty ^ears of age, nor of any religion but the estabUshed 



CHARITABLE ASSOCIATIONS; 

Sid §md In^iigera Bwm^Jkeepen.^hk 179U tke inhab!- 
ots in the neighbourhaod oi Ormend Maricet awociiatwd. 



for the pumose of relieving the poor of their parish, u4io 
were unwilfiag to beg and unable So work, and. who kad 
tettred into sobk miserable garret, to pina. away, in 
wj«tehednesf and deipau*. This humane, unoitentatums, 
and religions charity, waa al its first inatitntion ardently 
utisted, aad at leiufth. spread its amiable example over 
the whole city. Vfoox committees were ^>poiated-«4]ie 
Stephen's Green, Rotunda, House of Industry, and J3ar- 
nm, each of which employs perBons* to find, but ipn^ar 
olgects of their bounty. The ad?antages of tUa aasoda- 
tioii, whieh isaupposed to haverellaved a greater number 
of i wftridttril a ttai msf other Ib^ the ili«lropri*^ 



in 

bft»Mltt iftto aettOtt by ih« iiid^fatlgiibltt iMl of Mr. Rot* 

fhe Smml^9 FHmd SBci^ty^vvM instituted about 
Ae saai^ period by Dr. Giarke $ tnd it is supported ehlefly 
by Metbodist8> but proAMses to |fiT« relief to all religious 
j^irsiiaslofts. 

7%e Okaritabie AHoeiathn^wiAeh meet at the Betbesda 
cliapel, haye for tbeir objeet tbe relief of all but stitet 
MMtrl^y aud to procure vrork for the industrious poor. • 

The Sdi^iety/or the Relief ef the It^duetrhus /*dof--whicli 
Aeets at the House of Refttfe^ in Dorset-street, is sup« 
ported by subscription, and was established by the Quakers. 

The DebtM^i Friend Soctety^w^ first established in 
1775, but was shortly after abandoned ; it was, however, 
rerited about 1614. Its object is the release of debtors 
confined in the Marshalsea for debts not exeeeding 51., and 
not contraeted for spbrituous liquors, or any improper 
jmrpose. The Lord Mayor and Sherifis are esf meh 
membiars of the committee for the management ot this 
fund. The confined debtors also derive assistance from a 
charithble bequest of 700/. left by Mr. Powel> who had 
been himself debtor. The interest of this is employed 
in purdiasing bread, beef, and fhel, which are distributed 
amonr the confined debtors at Christmas, together with 
U. lal to each peiflOtt. 

A charitable loan, called the Goldsmiths" Jubilee, Wfis 
established in 1809, the year of the fiftieth anniversaty of 
the late king's accession. The object of it is, to afford 
fbi asylum to the aged and infirm members of that trade, 
Mo are comfortably lodged in the village of Kathfamami 
two miles from Dublin i^^it is entirely supported by per*i 
sons hi the same trade. 

n& Ovael OttUeff Asioeiatitm-^cAveiB its name fh>m a 
vessel which lay in Dublin Harbour, in 1700, and was the 
eiCMalonof aleiigthened and complicated trial, that was 
ultimately arran^ by ttn arbitration of several respectable 
merchants in Dublin. It consists of 37 members, a re- 
gistrar, and secretary, who determine commercial and 
.other difierences by arbitration, and the costs of the pro* 
ceedimpi are bestowed upon different charities. "' 

The SfUikai f^md Shciety-^t for th^ relief of distressed 
i^tioidims tsA thdr ftaailits; those vvho subscribe hattng 



124 mNBieiTr assocutiom. 

a daim on tke associtftioti, and an allowatiM to tbdr had* 
lies after their death. Members pay from two to tea 
ffuineas on their admiBsion, the precue sum to be regulated 
by the age of the person admitted. This sodety waa 
founded by Mr. Cooke, of the orchestra of Smock-alley 
Theatre, \7S7, and incorporated by act of parliament, in 
1 794. The chief support is derim from a public concert/ 
called the '' Commemoration of Handel." 

In d6th George III. an act was passed for the encou- 
ragement of ' < Friendly Societies,'' which induced the 
Teachers of Dublin to associate for the purpose of acc»*' 
mulating a Fund for their own relief, in the event of a re* 
verse of fortune, and for the relief of orphans and widows 
of members of that profession. The society is denomi* 
nated 2^ Society for the Relief of Distreued Literary 
Teachers and their Familiee, At its first institution it 
was called the ^^Abecedarian Society,'' which name waa 
exchanged for the present appellation. There are at pre* 
sent about 50 members, and the society have 2,0002. in 
the treasurer's hands. 

The Charitable Loan-^ww established 1780, and incor- 
porated by act of parliament. It was instituted by the 
patrons of the Musical Fund Society, and meets every 
Thursday in the vestry-room of St. Anne's Church. Its 
olyect is, to relieve distressed tradeiunen, by lending them 
sums of not less than two, nor more than five, pounds, 
without interest, which is to jie vepaid by instalinents of 
sixpence per week. 

The Meath Charka^le 5(9^/^<^which was established by 
the Rev. J. Whitelaw, author of a History/ol Dublin, has 
afforded considerable relief to the poor weavers of the £arl 
of Meath's Liberties, by len<ting sums, not less than SL 
and not exceeding 20/;, intereswree ^ and sbmetimea it 
extends its benefits beyond this limit. 

Mkndigitt AssociATiON.-^The absence of poor-rates^ 
or any other system of regulating and betterinjr the condi- 
tion of mendicants in Ireland, fills the s t wo t s (/every town 
in Ireland with importunate applicants for^ttes ^ and the 
passenger landing on the pier of Howth, or tie quay of 
the PiMm-honse, is imm^ately assailed by E crowd oi, 
miserMle beings, half naked, vociferating in ot)probriou8 
language, if the application for charity be not attended to. 



meopfotum soontr. 198 

n«4MeC8 6f Dublin iUekt, % few years ifO» w«m eb 
cfowdeA idA meadicanti, that wltenever a weU-drwsMi 
MftoB Mtered * shop to purchase any thing, the door wag 
Biset hjhemn, awaitinsf his egress. The spirited exer* 
ti<ms of a few iikdiTiduais have eompletely changed the 
faeeof the oity in this point of view, for very few mendi- 
eiftts am now to be seen in the streets. 

The assoela^on coamenced its ]^roceedings in January, 
1818, in despite of violent opposition from numbers of 
thelf 'feli<$w-citizens. Subscriptions, however, were 
kii^y and ^llingly given; charity sermons, preached for 
Ihe support of the Institution, were numerous and bene* 
ielsl5 &6 inhabitants, likewise, consent, almost unani- 
mouHv, to pay a small tax, according to their means, for 
the suppression of mendicity. 

'T&e first bouse taken as an asylum and work-house, 
was that belonging to the Dublin Society, in Hawkins. 
street, now the New Theatre. Afterwards, on those pre- 
viisies being purchased by the patentee, others in Copper- 
alley were t&en^ and Moira-house has since been pur- 
chaiied, and is now fitting up for their accommodation. 

The poor are employed in rarious works, such as 
bee-making, picking oakum, pounding oyster shells, 
iwseping streets, spinning, netting, making and mending 
ek>thes, &e. 

BesideB the establishment in Copper-alley, the associa- 
tfon have apartments in Fleet-street, and a very extensive 
leheol, where the children are educated in useful trades. 
Aom this school apprentiees are frequently taken by shop- 
kseners through the dty. 

11m aesoeiation is under the control of the Lord Mayor, 
IS pieeideat, and twelve vice-presidents, assisted by a 
ceiiinutiee. The Lord Ueutenant is Patron. 



«€ifOOI^8 FOB TUB EDUCATION OF TH^ POOR. 

l9(!0Hppi^TBp Society.— -This Society, which meets 
It % largfs bullying |p Aungier-gtre^t, was incorporated 
*y«^flT PWliftm?at^ ip iysiO. The pja^ was ij^KsM 
)tjtU ej&fDjpl^of ScQt^andj and in l79», the iWk^ 9f 



126 DXA7 AND DmiB IKSTITUTIOK* 

Dorset, then Lord lieuteiHU^t, rused lar/^e ittb|»i^»lMiiiB 
amongst tlie nobility und gentry* for the miiommfllBit of 
charter schools. Twenty-nine schools were epIahUsiied 
through Ireland for the rearing and educating oC iVoleataat 
children solely, that is, the cQldren were to be reand ia 
the Protestant faith alone. Of these charter schodis, 
two are in Dublin, one in Kevin-street, in the cnee 
splendid residence of the Co^^rs, and the other in Upper 
tiaggot-street. 

Sevin-street schopl^-eontains about 200girls, andBa^^ot* 
street maintains and educates 60. In the moral educatioQ 
the master and mistr^ess a^e assisted by a catecMst (« 
clergyman), who attends pnce each week, for the purpose 
of lecturing and examining the children .in the aaegeA 
Scriptures. 

Tne society's affairs are managed by a committee of 
fifteen persons, mostly bishops, wno meet every WedneB* 
day. fiis Excellency is President. 

Erasmus Smith's Schools. — In the rebellion of IMl; 
a large property was sequestered, part of which was 
a^udged by the Commissioners of the Act of Settl^neim 
to Erasmus Smith, Esq., who endowed with it sun^ 
grammar schools, and left a fund for eatablishtng profe»* 
sorships in the university. The directors of tius fond 
were incorporated by Charles II. and enabled to.economtze; 
farm, and oestow the funds on various ol^jects, by an %ct 
of George I. These governors are num^ous and respect^ 
able ', and the Primate, Lord Chancellor, and Proyost of 
Trinity College, we eje qficio governors. Sevend schoob 
have been endowed throughout the kingdom, aiid two have 
lately been opened in Du&in, one on the Ooombe, in ^e 
liberty, and. a second in Nev^ firuiis«iddc««tii^t ; in t|oth 
which places excellent school-houses have been ouUt« and 
the children are taught reading, wiiting, and the deqienta 
of a sound education. 

^ Deai* and Duun I]rsTiTUTiON.«-*This ln|AiMi9^ ^s 
situated at iUaremont, near the vlUnge of Qlsan^rin^ ill 
the North Liberties of the city of Dublin 5 and, though 
not within the circular road which surf oupdfi the fitf, 
cannot, from its national importance, be ooutted in «a ac* 
count of the present jBtate of the metropolis, wi^ian which 
it Mraa first e9ta|)U8he4i ^4 «^a» for seme, years cwi^ on^ 



DEAF AND DUICB INSTITUTION. 127 

A few years ^o, the celebrated Robinson, who had been 
instnune^tal in bringing Komana's army from Denmark, 
pra|[M>sed to the Irish government to establish and direct a 
national school for the education of the Deaf and Dumb* 
upon the Abb^ Sicard's plan. His proposal failed, and 
he abandoned the project. Public attention, however, waa 
^uncalled to the subject, in 1816, by Doctor Charles 
(Hpen, who after devoting his leisure hours, for a. few 
months, to the partial education of a Deaf and Dumb 
boy, at his own housed whom he had taken for this pur- 
pose out of the House of Industry^ gave a few popular 
lectures at the Rotunda, in which ne brought forward the 
most striking features in the melancholy condition of the 
Deaf and Dumb, and the principal facts with respect to 
the history of their education, as a science recently in- 
vented, and the establishment of schools in various coun- 
tines for their relief. He jave, also, a general view of the 
different modes of instruction, adopted in the Continental 
and British Institutions, as far as ne could collect them 
from the works to be procured in these kingdoms on the 
sulpect. His object, m trying to commence the education 
of this poor boy, was partly to have an amusing and use- 
fid occupation at home, when, from the effects of illness, 
he was oisabled for some months from attending to his 
profession, but principally mth a view to excite public 
sympathy in behalf of this unfortunate and neglected 
class, by bringing forward to their view an example of 
how much comd be done for their relief, even in a short 
time, and without any previous practical acquaintance 
mththe subject. The reason why they had been hitherto 
neglected and overlooked, was, that the Deaf and Dumb 
do not, like the Blind, strike a casual observer as deficient, 
and their chief want being a want of language, with 
all its inevitable effects of ignorance of all the stores 
of knowledge communicated by words, and of every 
truth contained in Revelation, or, even known to natural 
idigion, brings this affliction also, that it incapacitates 
thoDa from making kno\vn their destitution, and prevents 
others from bdng aware of their ignorance and total want 
of mental cultivation or spiritual knowledge. 

Wh^ first suggested this idea to him was the success x)f 
a timiW attempt made a^t 9i.rmingfham| a few yeaxs before,^ 



128 joM xro DtmB tmnmrmf. 

3r Kifl Mend Dr. De Lvs, and Mr. Alexander ftlftlr. 
vmng partly educated a little Deaf and Dumb girl for 
their amusement^ for some time. Dr. De Lys brought her 
forward in a course of lectures, the result of which was that 
such a degree of public interest was excited, that an institu- 
tion was formed m that city for their relief. The perusal of 
the first report of this asylum, which had been giV^n him 
by Dr. De Lys, in 1614, had made him determine, if ever 
an opportunity should present itself, to endeavour to efl^t 
the same in Ireland, where, until then, the Deaf and Dumb 
had been totally neglected. 

An extraordinary degree of public attention was ex- 
cited in Dublin, by the exhibition of Thomas Collins 
(the Deaf and Dumo bov before mentioned), in illustra- 
tion of- the lectures, then delivered. His progress In 
written language, in calculation, and in articulate speech, 
after only a few month's' instruction, was so satisfactory, 
that the cause of the Deaf and Dumb was immediately 
taken up by the public, and a society was established to 
provide means for their education. 

The ^reat difficulty at first was, to find a master, compe- 
tent to instruct them. Dr. Charles Orpen's object was* 
merely to call public attention to the subject, and not to 
undertake any thing more; and he expected, that when 
once fiinds were provided, it would be easy to procure a 
teacher from some of the English or fecotch schools. 
This hope, however, was disappointed. Dr. Watson, the 
Master of the London Deaf and Dumb Asylum, said he 
could not point out any one fit for the undertaking; and 
the Master of the Edmburgh Institution was bound to- 
Mr. Braidwood, the Master of the Birmingham school' 
(who had instructed him in the science), not to teach any 
one for seven years, of wMch two still remained unex- 
pired. In this dilemma the committee Were obliged to 
intrust a small school, which they opened in part of the 
Penitentiary, in Smithfield (by permission of the Oorer- 
nors of the House of Industry, under the sanction of the 
Lord Lieutenant), to two young men, vrho had been 
Ushers in Lancasterian schools. As, however, they were 
ouite unacquainted with this branch of education. Dr. O- 
Orpen and other friends, gave the school as much super: 
intenddnce ai was compatible with their pthcr avocatj^onf , 



niBAF AND TfUIKB IK8T1Ttmoir» }29 

and dAlaaned t«rtliein; as well as they could learn it from 
Endiah a|id Foreign publications on this subject, the 
mole of instruction to he pursued, and assisted them in 
preparing lessons. 

In 1817 the committee hired a small house in Bruns* 
wick-street, for their pupils; who were stUl, however, 
boarded by the House of Industry. 

In this way the school was kept alivci and public interest 
extended, and fiinds collected and husbanded, while the 
papib made considerable progress in spite of every diffi- 
culty, until the time arrived when Mr. Kenniburgh, the 
Edinburgh teacher, became released from his engagement, 
and offei^, as he had promised jbMefore, to teach a Master for 
this country, if remunerated. The committers selected Mr. 
Joseph Humphreys, the present master (at that time Regis* 
trar to the Society for promoting the Education of the Poor 
of Ireland), as the most proper person to undertake the 
chaijge of their intended Institution ; and sent him to the 
Institution in Edinburgh, to study this peculiar branch of 
Education... In.the meantime, they selected and purchased 
their presentrcstablishment at Claremont, near tne village 
of.Glas^vin, about a mile out of town; and on his re- 
turn ^om. a residence of some months in Edinburgh, after 
having also visited all the other Deaf and Dumb schools 
in Scmand and England, they removed their pupils to 
Qaremonty and pla<^ the whole establishment under his 
care. 

It was now only that the pupils began to be instructed in 
a- r«fular systematic manner, and the education of the 
pnpus should in fact be dated from this period. At this 
time also female pupils were first admitted. The Institu- 
tion has since advanced steadily in public estimation^ and 
has Yearly increased in the number of its subscribers. 

Claremont has about eighteen or nineteen acres of land 
attached ta it, and its - grounds are beautifully laid out, 
and command some of the finest views of Dublin Bay, 
and its shores. Since 1822 the committee have erected, at 
a consMkrable expeni^ (provided by a separate subscript 
tion), a new school-room and dormitories, capable of accom- 
modating at least one hundred pupils. They also made sucb 
other additions and alterations, as were necessary to com- 
plete the arrai^irenienta of a great establishment. Pr^ 



vioml/to Hibi Hit ^BfficaUiei in theflittiMH|tttMit»taiMe* 
tioii, And iepantion of tlie pupils were to grelit» u to be 
a toniiee ctf eoBitaiU diBcoungfemont mi4 onsioty to 1km 
master. Every part of the arrangement* as to boildiiiet 
&c. are now simplified ; the moral managtmont is mode 
aasy> and the pupils also advance twice as fast aa diey 
used formerly. ' 

The number of pu]^ has gradually increased to nearly 
fifty, and in the couim of the last two or throe ream 
several have left the school, having finished their eaui3»« 
don, to be apprenticed to various trades^ or settled in 
different situations. It is to be regretted, however^ that 
at every half<*yearij election of poor piqiils^ from thitty to 
forty or fifty candidates are disappointed, for want of an- 
nual funds to ensure thdr support if admitted. The 
committee have formed Auxiliary societies in Goric^ and 
Belfast, which seek out and select Deaf and Dumb chil^ 
dren, belonnng to their respective districts^ and support 
liiem at the Institution. 

All diis has been efiected, without any pecuniary aid 
from ffovetnment :-^and the whole of the new buUainn 
and sJteratipns were completed out of a sepomte fana^ 
commenced for this special purpose. This fund was 
raised, partly in Ireland, and partly in England, in the 
west of which, about seven or eight hundred pounds were 
collected by Mr. Humphreys, during a tour with two of 
his pupils, Thomas Collins and William Brennau ; in the 
course of which he delivered lectures at Liverpooli Man- 
chester, Leeds, Huddersfield, Bath, Bristol and Clifton. 
Another benefidal result, which has incidentally arisen 
from this tour has been, that Deaf and Dumb sohools are 
likely to be established in Bristol, Manchester, and Ldver- 
pool. Mr. Humphreys has also offered to teach Masters 
for any of these tovms, in gratitude for th^ liberality. 

This Institution has been recently honoured by the 
patronage of their Royal Highnesses, the Duke of Qlou- 
oester and the Duchess of Clarence. The list also of 
Vice-Patrons and Vice-Patronesses contains some of ^e 
most respectable names in Ireland. 

Out of school hours the pupils are employed in lasoAil 
works, contributing either to their health, or to form in« 
dustrious hftbitf. The boys are ocoupied in guides^ 



MvunvfaRtnMJMB. ui 

«ii<i fcfmtiijr, mi biiter meclwiiiiMl UIkws, the girla ia 
Be«i]ii*«oii, iMtuewiferf, iMmdry^^Mrk, and dairy 
mm^peiaaii^ &e. &c. Tbe buildings, yaids, and gvemida^ 
ua M anranged that the boys aad girls is the poor aata* 
Uishme&t hare disUnd schiwl-irooiiis and play^gronnda $ 
besides whieh the master has entirely separate apartments, 
and walks, te. for his own family and for private pupils 
f^ bath seMs, who are either Deaf and Dumb or afflicted 
with impediments in speech. 

This Institution is the first that has established a 
[general correspoBdenee with almost all other limHar 
estaUiskmentt in Great Britain, the Continent a&d 
America ; and it has collected a Taluable library, contain* 
inr almost every work that has e?er been published, 
teml&ve to the Deaf and Dumb. It has also done much 
to induce those other schools to correspond with each 
other, and has otfered to each to act as its a^nt^ in oirc»- 
lating reports, or other publications, among such Insti- 
tutions m other countries. Its own eiffht reports, and 
other pamphlets, &c. &c. already circulated, contmn a 
mat deal of interesting information. The committee 
have alsarecentiy purchased a small printing press, for 
the empk>yinent of some of the pupils, and to print 
lc8so!Ba for their own use, and for the Deaf «Bd Dumb iu 



. ASYLUMS FOR THE tILIND. 

Sihmom's Mo8I»ital.-*-TM8 asylum was e*tiibKshed by 
Oeeiye Simpsoir, Esq. a merehant of this dty, who hink- 
wlf ' labonred under a disorder of the eyes, and was ft 
coinplete martyr to the jfoutt It was natuW enowh, 
therefore, that ms own sulferings should have directed his 
ttt^ntion to the ttelancholy situaitioft of many* whd, like 
himself^ ettstained the tortures of the gout, or a partial er 
efen totidl blindness, wha« they were not possedsed of 
pecuniary iheans to render their situation supportable. 
He accordingly bequeathed his estate, in 1778, for the 
ft»tttkladon ol thi» hospital for blind and «raty tnen, in 
reduced circumstuficet^ vrUA wan openea in J78^1> «» 



192 sxcHMom) NATIONAL onfnmioN, k^ 

Hhemtmon incorporated 1799. The hospital U sttuatad 
in Great Britun-street, and forms a good termination to 
Jervis-street : it is of monntain-granite, and perfectly 

Slain ; and in the rear is a small garden with accommo- 
ations for the exercise of the patients. There are 
twentv-fonr wards, which contun about seventy beds^ and 
an aaditional one has been lately built over the new 
> dining-room, so that, were the funds sufficient, the honae 
could now accommodate one hundred patients. The 
number whidh is supported is about fifty, and in the ad- 
mission of. patients, the preference is given, cmieti* parh- 
but, to those who have been the most affluent, and whose 
moral character is unblemished. 
. The income of the hospital amounts to neariv 2,700/. 

Petitions for admission are to be laid before tne boards, 
or lodged with the registrar, one month, at least, prenooa 
to the second Monday in May and November. 

There are two physicians, one surgeon, a registrar uud 
agent, a steward and a housekeeper. 

Richmond National Institution, for tbb Instevo- 
TiON of the Industrious Blind .--Sag kvillb^strbst. 
—This institution was opened in the year 1809, by sub- 
scription, for the purpose' of instructing the indigent 
bfiad in various trades; they are taught weaving, netang, 
basket-making, and many of them have made consider- 
able progress in these trades. The greatest number of 
pupils at any one time in this institution is thirty-two, al- 
though there is accommodation for fifty. There are at 
present twenty-seven pupils in the house^ independently 
of a certun number of extems, who, having been edu- 
cated at the institution, are allowed to work there, the 
produce of their labour being disposed of for their benefit 
.while they maintain themselves. Several of the former 
pupils have settled in dififerent parts of the country, and 
are enabled to support themselves by their owni exertions. 

The religious instruction of the pupils is committed to 
the care of the derg)^ of their respective persuasions. 

The matron, superintendant, teachers and servants are 
the only persons who receive salaries or emoluments. 
His Excellency the Lord Lieutenant is Fation, and the 
affairs of the institution are conducted by s^ven Vice* 
PiresidentSy a Secretary and a Treasurer, 



Moumox Aatlum— PiTBiusTBUT.-— This inatittttiaR 
wag opened in 1815^ in the family mansion of Sir G. 
Molinenz, Bart., which first fell into the hands of Astley, 
when it was converted into a Gircos, and was suhse- 
ouen^ held by Mr. H. Johnstone, after whose departuie 
nrom iJublin it was taken by the. subscribers to the Asylum 
for Blind Females. It is supplemental to the Richmond 
Institutien and Simpson's Hospital, for as these establish- 
ments confine their benefits to males, so the Molineux is 
for the accommodation of females solely ^ and, as of the 
former institutions, one serves as an asylum for the old, 
aodthe other as a seminary for the mstruction of the 
yonnff, the Molineux combines witMn itself both obiects. 
The house, which is of brick, is large and commomous« 
and the expenses defrayed by the profits of a chapel, 
charity sermon, and pnvate subscriptions. The family, 
whose name it bears, have contributed handsomely. 
There are a patron, patroness, guardian (Lady Molineux), 
treasurer, sub-treasurer, secretary, chaplain, • physidan, 
surgeoQ, and apothecary. On the site oi the Circus, is a 
neat and convenient cmipel, where service is performed 
agreeably to the forms and canons of the established 
(£urch. 

Blmd fenoales, above the age of fifty, have here a per- 
manent asylum -, and those below that age ex^oy the benefits 
of lodging, clothings diet, and instruction m such. em» 
plovments as will enable them afterwards to obtain » 
uv^ood. There are twenty at present on the establish^ 
ment, but the building would accommodate fifty. 



POOR SCHOOLS. 



. FiMALB Orphan-House.— About the year 1791^ Mrs* 
Ti^he and Mrs. Este formed a plan for fostering and edu- 
cating female orphan^, of an age not exceeding ten nor less 
than five years, and for that purpose purchased a small 
house in Prussishstreet, and supported five orphans there 
at their own eaq^enscj .but the nobleness of the ds^ffn. 
floon procured them several benevolent co-adjutors. The 
present extensive bnilding, on the North Circulai:*road# 



#«• built by t^ilbHc mibeciipti^ uoUAf, ftfi4 ift tvpM^ of 
•ci'ommodating IMcbildmi. Tbey are Urngki reidiv^. 
wrltlof^, and needleirorit» at the same time that they are 
made acquainted with the dftties of 8errmit9, for whkh 
purpose they are frequently apprentieed. About ire 
years since, an extremely handsome chapel, in the rothic 
style, was erected adjoiidng the house. Dirine sernce is 
performed here on Sundays, when a tolerable collection is 
made. The present patroness of this institution, and to 
whom it is much inaebted, is Mrs. Latouche. Besides 
the accumulated fund, the produce of an anniml chaiity* 
sermon, and the result of the labour of the orohaiw, 
there is an annual ^nt allowed by parliament i<» the 
snpport of this institution. It was visited by his Majesty 
George IV., in 1821. 

In 1793, an Orphan-house was opened in Prusua-ttreet, 
for educating, clothing, and maintaimng orphan boys: 
but tMs appears to haye been abandoned. 

Masowig Femalb Ouphan School. — This school was 
ibunded by a few members of the body of FVeemasons in 
pttblitt, in 1790, and for that purpose a house was taken 
in Domrille-lane, Pruesia-street. In May 1797, the lodge 
190-15 contributed munificently to its support, and re- 
mofed the orphans to a house in Gordon*s-iane, Charle- 
mentHrtreet. The treasurer, Mr. James Brush, of St. An- 
dfew-fltreet, resig^ned its goyemment into the handB of ft 
committee selected from the grand lodge, together wkik a 
ram of 112^. llff., and the mnd lodge further grMrted a 
sum of 200i. from their own fundftifor ita support. In liW, 
a resolution of the grand lodge was passed, " That it wan 
expedient subscriptions should be raised throughout Ire- 
land, for the maintenance and education of orphan children 
of Freemasons," the Right Worshipful Walter Wade, 
M.D. ; D.G.M. on the throne. The funds haye improyed 
so mueh, that the school has beenremored to a more coq*> 
tenient house. No. 4, Gloucester'plaee, Mabbot^treet ; 
Und, when tb«y i;Hll permit, it i» intended to cstaMish 
simflar schools in difi^rent parts of Ireland. 

PuusANTs' AsTLFM.— The charitaUc Mr. Fleasanttf, at 
whose expense the Tettter-house and Meatli Hosphdl were 
erected, bequeathed 15,000/. for the estaabiishitt^ of a 
female orphan-house, for daughten of M^pcctaHe lkMM». 



Meters. In tUs'asylum^ wkkk i» sitttated in Oundtti- 
itMely at tile seuth side «f Dublin, and was opened In 
(S18, twenty female orphans, Protestants solely, are 
dotlMd, educated and maintained in a manner exceeding^ 
any thinf^ of a similar description in the British empire t 
and when arrived at a proper afe, if they can find a suitaUe 
partoer, receive a handsome portion in marriaire. [Bee art. 
St. Brid<^8 Church]. 

St. CATHEniNs'fl SvKDAT-ecHOOii-^he first opened 
in this liin^om, was established by the Rev^ R. Powdl 
in 178^ The female children were assembled, at firsts 
in the parish sdiool-house, while the boys met in the 
court-house of the liberties of Thomas»court and Donore. 
The only recommendation necessary was a certificate frtm 
a housekeeper, and the number increased so rapidly, that 
some newaecommodation became indispensc^ly necessary ; 
accordingly, subscriptions were raised, chiefly amongst tne 
Quakers of St. Cauerine's parish, for erecting the pre- 
sent extensive and admirably^contrived school%ouse, in 
School-street. This building, which is of brick, is IS$ 
feet in length, and 37 in depth ; the two upper floors are 
occupied by the schools, four in number, two for the 
boys and two for the girls, the children of each sex being 
quite distinct, and the entrances for each at different ex- 
tremities of the building. In the centre of the buildings 
Mid between the male and female schools, are the com- 
mittee-room and master's apartments, the room of the 
supervisor of all the schools is so contrived, that he can 
command a perfect view of the four schools, by standing 
up and sitting down successively. On the 30th of Sep^ 
tember, 1820, there had been admitted to this valuable 
establishment 27,7 II pupils, and 360 were in actual at- 
tendance. There is no distinction of religion observed, 
but file scriptures are read by all. 

The great anxiety evinced by the children to recdve 
education, induced the managing committee to open anew 
day'-echool, which they did March 7th, 1808, whence 
to Sept. 30th, 1820, 14,883 scholars have been received, 
and tne number on the books at that date was 840. The 
system of education finally approved of is Lancaster's, and 
the children are instructed in reading, wrltbg, and cypher- 
ingy and in the scriptures without note or comment The 



IS6 soasTY Foa^pROMormo bdvcatiow^ «». 

funds are derived f rom. subscript ioai*. and donations, from 
work done in the female schools, &cl and the scholars are 
j^ovided with stationery, slates and books, whicly if they 
should be so unfortunate as to lose, they are required to 
pay for. The mana^fing committee consists of twentyrone, 
amonfi^st whom are some members of the Latouche family, 
the Messrs. Guiness, and several of the Society of Friends^, 

FreeDat-schools. — ^In the same year (1786) in which ^ 
the extensive establishment in SchoolrStreet was opened, 
another upon similar principles was founded onthe mrth 
Strand, for the poor children of the parishes of St. George, 
St. Thomas, and St. Mary. There is a small chapel at-. 
tached to tlus school, the collections from which constitute 
a. principal part of the funds for thesupportof the schools. 
Since the institution of this school, /,S00 children have 
been educated, and some of them clothed, and there are at. 
present in attendance above 300. 

Besides the Sunday and Daily Free Schools spoken of,there 
are the Linen-hall street, and James's-street schools and at 
the upper end of Dorset-street, near Drumcondra Canal 
bridge,8tands a conspicuous school-house, which cost 5,0002., 
beoueathed by Miss Anne Kellet, of the county of Meath. 

On Stephen's-green there is aUo an extensive school, on 
the Laucasterian system, where children of both sexes are. 
instructed. In St. Mark's parish is an excellent school on, 
Dr. Bell's system, called Marble-street Free School. There. 
was also a bunday-school for the improvement and educa-, 
tioaof young chimney-sweepers : — ^but Robinson's humane 
invention wul work greater oenefits to this class of society,^ 
than could ever be expected from a weekly review of their 
persons and morals. 

Society for Promoting the Education of. thb- 
FooR IN Ireland. — Qn the 2nd of December, 1811, a 
meeting of near two thousand persons of respectability as- 
sembly at the public rooms, to take into consideration the. 
most advantageous method of promoting the education of- 
the poor of Irelsuvd ; when it was resolved that a system of 
education, embracing an economical disposition of time 
and monejr, and affording the same facilities to all classes 
of j^^^emug Christiaas, should be adopted. A petition: 
was subsequently presented to parliament for assist- 
ance in the execution of this design ; in reply to which was 



$17KDAY4KIIIOOI« MCOTV VOM tlUCLAm). 1ST 

mntoda «um of ^,9801., whli wMch a M^fdei-scho^ lLfi& 
Been erected in Kildare-place, capable of accommodating 
1,000 children. In this, young men are educated for the 
purpose of being intnistea with the change of the society's 
schools in different parts of the kinedd. k Societies have 
been established in London and Edinburgh to co-operate 
ii'ith that in Dublin in promoting the education of the 
poor in Ireland. As far as its funds will permit, the society 
contributes also to the building of school-houses, and esta- 
blishing schools throughout the kingdom ; and it keeps a re- 
pository in Kildare-place, for the ede of stationery, slates, 
school-books, and moral publications, for the use of chil- 
dfen, on such terms as the most limited incomes can reach. 
Annual meetings are held at the -society's house. The 
funds are very insignificant, if we except the parliamentary 
grant. The affairs of the society are managed by a com- 
mittee of thirty-one ; besides six vice-presidents. Tliere 
are at present J,490 schools deriving benefit from this 
society, and affording instniction to 100,000 children. 

The Sunday-School Society for. Ireland. — A 
society for the purpose of promoting Sunday-schools in 
Ireland, ^vas first proposed m 1783, but not energetically 
carried into e(!fect, till^^ovember, 1809, when the pre- 
sent improved and extended system was adopted. It pro- 
fesses to assist in the establishment of Sunday-schools all 
over Ireland, to supply them with spelling-books, &c, at 
cheap rates ; to furnish copies of the sacred scriptures 
gratuitously and at reduced prices. This excellent institu- 
non is under the patronage of her grace the Duchess of 
Dorset } the president is the Bishop of Kildare ; there are 
besides twenty-one guardians. Upwards of 1,350 schools 
have been aided since the establishment of this -society, 
1,B00 of which were founded by the society itself ; and 
i% schools have purchased books from it. The society 
meets at present at No. 16, Upper Sackville-street, 

There are several other school societies in this city -, one 
for the dissemination of Irish Bibles and Prayer-books ; 
thb lippears an Irish mode of instructing, most assuredly, 
for hid the society commenced by teaching the poor the 
Sn|lish language, the ^(»t would: have been more readily 
ae^mpliihed, and the pttpil would then have the whol^* 
fiofe of BB|[lish tit^n^ture thrown open to him* 



138 RBiiiojovs socicma 

Hatoh-btrkbt Sunbat-scbqol. — This school was 
built by private subscription, and is supported by volun- 
tary contributions. It is opened tvdce a week for the in-* 
instruction of ff^rh in plain work, and. on Sundays for the 
instruction of bo^^xes, in spelling, reading, and know- 
ledge of the Scriptures. 

Religious Tract and Book Society. — ^To facilita^ 
the dissemination of religious tracts, a shop has been opened 
in Lower SackviUe-street, where a collection of books is 
exposed for sale : these are selections from religious pub« 
licaticms, and are sold at. reduced prices by the Society's 
agent. 

The repository is in Upper Sackville-street, formerly thQ 
l>anking^nouse of Sir W. Alexander, Bart, 



RELIGIOUS SOCIETIES. 



The Association for discountenancing Vice, and pro- 
moting the Knowledge and Practice of the Christian Re* 
lijrion, meet at Mrs. Watson's, No. 7* Capel-street, every 
Thursday, from October to July, at one o'clock^ Forth* 
origin of this society, the public are indebted to Mr. Wil- 
liam Watson, of Capel-street, who first communicated th^ 
design to the Rev. Dr. O'Connor and Rev. S. Harper, i^ 
1792 3 and three years after,, the society was so much ap^ 
proved, that his Excellency Lord FitzwUliam became pre- 
sident. It continued to encourage public catechetical e^- 
minations of the poor schools, and distribute premiums to 
the best answers ; also to such pupils at private seminaries, 
as were best prepared in scripture. . They .suppressed the 
aystem of insurance in the lottery, whicn beggared and 
demoralized the lower classes of Dublin ; and 'assisted in 
the establishment, throughout the kingdom, of schools, on 
the soundest moral principles. Amqng the decorous acto 
which this society ate deserving of respect for, it ought 
not to be forgotten, that they induced the governors, of the 
Lying-in-Hospital to discontinue the practice of holdings 
Sunday-evening promenades in the Rotunda gardens. Th^ 
aociety havq distributed upwards of 60^000. bibles. lOO^OQO^ 



testamoits, lOOgOOO prayec-books, and one million of mofral 
and religious tracts ; and premiums have been confen^ed 
upon 15^000 children for their knowledge of the Scriptures. 
Ine funds of the association are derived from donations, 
8ub8<:;riptions, and parliamentary grants. The Lord Lieu- 
tenant is president. 

. Bulb SociKtibs. — ^There are several religious associ* 
ations in. Dublin,, which hold their meetings at No. 16, 
Upper SadcviUe-sbvet ; the Hibernian Bible Society ; . the 
Naval and Military Bible Society 3 the Church Missionary 
Society ; Auxiliary Society, for Promoting Christianity 
amongst the Jews ; the Methodist Missionary Society ; 
the Religious Inquiry Society; and some others for tne 
most excellent purposes. Most of these associations, how- 
ever, are branches of similar, ones in England $ and their 
objects, or rather their effects, are generally stated annually 
in the public rooms attached to the Lying4nrHospital, by 
some of the most zealous and eloquent advocates of the 
Christian religion to be found in Ireland. The Bible 
Society have lately purchased the noble mansion of the 
Drogheda family, which is also in Sackville-street. 



PUBLIC SQUARES. ^ 

No city in Europe is supplied with more spacious and 
beautiful public squares, or so great a number of them in 
propor^on to its extent, as Dublin. The largest and 
most noble of these is called . ." 

' Stbphbn's Grbbn. — ^This. magnificent area is a perfect 
square, the walk around which, measured on the fi^ way^ 
six furlongs, thirty-one perches, and three yards,, l&gliah 
mea«ttre: and between the chains and railing only. 26 
perehes and one yard less. 

The interior of this square was the property of the corpo- 
nitien of Dublin, and sold b^ them to the inhabitants of 
the green for an annual consideration of 3002. The green 
wag enclosed by a hedge in 1678, outside which, a deep 
ditch of stagnuit water was carried round, which separated 
a broad mvel-walk from the interior : this wsdk was 
^tobeied oy ro^TS of full-grown elms on eadi side, and 



146 

mtitoetedliMm tile t/tmu hj n mil of 4 f^t IsMfki. 
|«di Ml ftrmigem«nt neoenarily east a gloominets oa «ii« 
nuToimding housM^ and raxid«rod thaatmosphere unwhol^^ 
tome. 

Tbe improvement, ttoefore, of Stejphan'a Green, was 
Ipng contemplated, and upon the appointment of a com* 
mlftee to erect tke Wellington Tn^phy^ the inhabitants 
applied for parUamentary aid, to enable them ao to tm- 
prove thi9 noble square, that it might be rendered de- 
serving of the attention of that committee, dommis- 
doners were aeeordinffly apoolnted in 1815, who levelled 
tmd planted the intenor, filled the ditch, cut down the 
large elms, and removed the wall. Thev have supplied 
thor nlaees by a range of dwarf stone-pillars, connected 
by ken chains, enclosing a broad gravel walk, within 
Which is a dwarf wall snrmonnted by iron ndling, en- 
dosing 17 acres ; In the centre of which stands a brasen 
equestrian statue of Qeorge II. in a Roman military habit, 
executed by J. Van Nost, 1768.^The pedestal was for- 
merly a larg« mass suitable to the extensive area in which 
it was placed ; but it has been diminished In bulk to suit 
the present light extemal'decorations of the square, and 
now appears tea tnfiang a eentral ornament. 

Many curious circumstances are connected with this 
statue : for a number of years it appeared to be destined 
to fall, like that of Sejanus. by the hands of ruffians ; 
horn its remote situation, midnight depredators were In- 
diieed to make trial of th^ skilfin sawing off a leg or an 
«vm> for the value of the metal ; one leg of the horse was 
cut off, and a saw had nearly penetrated his neck, when 
Ihe watetunen alarmed by the noise, routed the d^re- 
dators.'-oln 1816, a lengthened dispute took j^ace between 
the eommissionert for the improvement of BtephenV 
Green, aod the committee for the ereetion of the fF^- 
Ung'ion Testimonial, about the propriety of removing this 
statue to some ot}ier site, and erecting the T$iHm0nial in 
ite plaoe y but it was ultimately decided, that a king ought 
not to be removed to make way for a sul3^t.-»Aniund 

rarca are many magnificent mansions, A|r. Whaly's, 
hQnH. Ghaacenor's, liord Oharleville's. hgrd Rosens, 
jAff Chief Benm's, the Arehbishop of IMbtin's, and Mr. 
|IWl(#lt*i; ii«4 ffo}^hlj ihe pidwesque appem^eeof 



mnBLvmt-eQViaaL: J4I 

tlie scene is lieiglitened.by the extreme iite|ftilarity of ^e 
boildiiurs. — The only' public building In this square is dtfe 
Roval College of Surgeons. . 

Merrion-square — ^is the next in dimensions to Ste**. 
phen's Green. This spacious, and elegant area, which 
contains about 12 acres of ground,' is situated at the south, 
side of the city, and but a few minutes walk A*om.Ste« 
phen's Green ; and was laid, out in 1762 by Ralph Ward* 
Esq., and John Ensdr, the architect of Antrim-house, on. 
the north side of the square. The exterior walk round 
tlus sfluare measures 4 furlongs, 11 perches, 5 yard^ ; t^o 
flagged way is twelve feet broad, and the carriae^e-road 1 
between tlie path and railing is' fifty. . The interior, is 
enclosed by lofty iron-ruling, on a dwarf wall of moun-. 
tain-granite. . Immediately within the railinj^ is a thickly 
planted and luxuriant shrubbery, which ^ves an air of 
perfect retirement to the interior walk : this walk, which 
18 14 feet in breadth, is continued, entirely round, ^and> 
measures 3 fur. 7 per. 5 yds. The great inequality of 
this area adds much to its picturesque appearance. 

The.housesonthe north side of the square are some of the 
best built and most convenient in Dublin : they were built 
aifter the design of Mr, Ensor ; the basement stories of all,, 
on that side, are of mountain-granite and rusticated, and. 
the three upper stories are of brick ; the houses on the 
other sides are entirely of brick. The north side of this 
sqoa^ has been, a summer promenade fqr many years.' 
The west is chiefly occupied by the lawn of iiemster 
House, one of the great ornaments of the squfure ; and at 
this side, also is the beautiful fountain (ornamented with 
sculpture, erected by the Duke of Rutland about 40 ^ears 
affo, now a modern ruin. In the. centre is an arch, within, 
wnkh is a nymph, leamng on an urn, whence water is 
represented as flowing into a shell-formed reservoir : on 
the frieze of the entablature ^bove, is a beautifully-exer. 
cuted medsmion, on which is represented the Marquis of 
Granby, relieying a. soldier's family in, distress ; and, on 
one siae is an inscription, setting forth the life and con- 
duct of the Duke of Rudand ; while on the other, above . 
the orLSce.of one of the fountains, is this inscription : 
. : Hi* Miftem aoeumvleoi doais, ct fongv iDini 



ua 

Besides Unster Hoom, that «rs dttce spldidid \ 
fleiii ia tliii equare^ Jf. Latonche's, Eeq., oa the east aide, 
and Antrim nouse^ and tlie ^shop of Deny « on Ae 

The walk ronnd the lawn of Leinster Hoiue, whidi is 
aeeeeeibie to the fkienda of the members of the Dublin 
Sodety, U exactly a quarter of a mfle in extent. 

WtTZ'WihhUM'BQVAUMj^Tbh beautiAii little square is 
at the south side of the dty, not far from the preceding 
one ; the Hamd walk around it measures I fur. 91 per. 
4 yds.K.aB4 that close to the railing is only eight perches 
less. 

The interior (which ia enclosed hy an iron railing, 
resting on a dwarf waU, and ornamented by lamp-aup- 
posters at equal intervals) is kdd out in shruoberies and 
flower-plats^ and is below the lerel of the street, eonee^ 
c|uentiy the foot-passenger has a perfect tIcw of the whole 
garden at one glance. The houses here are not so large 
as those in Mc^on-square, but remarkably wdl tnishfS, 
and produce a large rent. Until lately but three sides 
were erected, and from this dreumstance was derived the 
piindpal advantage this square possessed, namdy, the 
magnmoent mountidn view on the south side, which is 
now shut out. 

RuTLAND-eQCARi.—The Rotunda Gardens (Rutland- 
square) are at the rear of the Lying-in-Hospital, and were 
^ened by Dr. Mosse, the founder of the hospital, for 
the purpose of holding Sunday evening promenades, for 
the DMiefit of that establishment. These entertainments 
were continued for many years, to the great advantage of 
the funds of the. hospital, until the Assodation for dis- 
countenancing Vice petitioned the governors of llie 
charity to suppress them ; since which, the gardens have 
only been opened on the other evenincrs In the week during 
the summer season, on which occasions^ one and some- 
times two military bands attend, and play from dght till 
ten o'doeky while the nersons admitted nromenade along 
a terrace in front of the orchestra^ dghteen perches in 
length :<^the walk round the entire square, inside^ mea- 

• &aod Um above was written, Mr. Latouche*s maaslon has been sold and 
divided into two ^oed dwdUafi: Antrim House lias peaMd Co Sir C^iel 
MoliMitt^ Birt tod Oie Pjibop of Deny '« if adfortiNd Ibi «ils^ 



it M promABade •vttuaffs briUiaiilly iUumtaattd i uid, 
latdy, ri&i^ers hmt lM» uitroduoad to aurase ift the it^ 
tertali between the ^tifferent wm called for by the irtsitoff . 
«— The recdpts of one eveun^, at thii plaee of amute^ 
menty have been known to amooBit to upwaids of 30/. 
which ie a conaiderable nun* if we consider that tho {MriOf 
of admisaion is only sixpence. 

This garden is remarkable for the good taste wHh whieh 
it has been lidd ont, and the very pictnresqua and pleasiaf{ 
fariety afiorded by the inequality of the grounds. 

The honses around this sonars are all noble stractnres) 
amongst th^n are those of Lord Gharlemont [sea art. 
Chsriemottt House], Lord Longford, the Conntess of 
Oraiond, Bective House, the Countess of Farnham's, an^ 
several others. Three sides are designated by <fiiferenf 
names ; the north is called Palaoe-*row, the east Ca«en« 
oish-row, and the west Qranby-row ; the south is Wholly 
occupied by the Lying4n»Ho<pital nid Public Rooms. 

MofnfTjoT-SQiTARB.'^This small, regular^ and^gant 
MUiB'ey w^ieb is named after the pr(^ietdr, Vkcdunt 
lioun^oy (new Earl of Biessington), is not far from Rut^' 
land-square* The houses 17^ in nitmber, 18 on each side) 
an all regular and nearly equal in size j none of them hoW^ 
6v«r are remarkable for magnitude. The extent of the 
walk on the fiagged-way round the square is 2 fhr. 27* 
per^ and the walk withm the railing 1 fur. SB per. Thi 
interior, containing 4 acres, is enclcMied by an iron railings 
and is laid oiat with much taste in serpentine walks, and 
planted with slmihs.and evergreens. The air in this 
ndghbourhood is considered extivmely rare, being at tbi^ 
ostraiuty of ]>nbUn, and on the most debated ground. 

There ia a aaiafl square in thd liberty oaled the 
Weateri^-sqiiaxe, measurio^ not more than 120 feetott 
each side, aad entirely pwmd, Uke thenar in nri^ 



STATUES. 

IfaMtMB th« statue of his late mf^esty George til. ht 
theBank of Ivsland^ another of the same iBonareh^ and 

onetif l>*.iMM, fci^tlieBeyf^ Ssdiiage^ «& eqneiiftrtait 



ftMue of Ge6tftt I!, on Steplien's Green, and anbliher of 
George I. at tne Maneion House/ Dawson-street, — tliere 
18 an equestrian figure of William III. on College Green, 
on a pedestal of granite-stone -of considerable elevation, 
tbepannels of wMch are decorated with military emblems. 

Tnis statue was erected in 1700 to perpetuate the re- 
membrance of the Revolution of 1688, and gave ffreat 
offence to the Roman Catholic inhabitants, particmarly 
from a custom adopted by the corporation, ox decking it 
with orange ribbands upon certain days; latterly, none 
but the lowest orders of the populace felt any indignation 
at this childish transaction, and the practice of firing over 
the statue has been altogether discontinued. In 1821, 
the Lord Mayor (Sir A. B. King, Bart.) requested these 
decorations might be discontinued, but he could not 
persuade the enthusiastic admirers of the great warrior to 
abandon their favourite amusement. On several occasions, 
the insulted party expressed their wounded feelings by 
mutilating the statue: in 1800 the sword and truncheon 
were torn from it, and other acts of violence committed 
upon it; in 1805, on the eve of its decoration, after 
it had been painted with most glaring and brilliant 
colours, some of. the same ofiended party ascended the. 
pedestal and blaokened the figure all over with a greasy 
substance, which it was found very difficult to remove j 
upon this occasion, it was, that the Member for the Uni- 
versity applied the following- quotation so happily, ** Hie 
mg^ est, hunc tu Romane caveto." . » 

rf elson's Pillar. — ^The foundation sl;one of this noble 
column was laid in Sackville-street, February 16, 1808, 
by the Duke of Richmond. 

It is after a design of W. Williins, Esq.,* of Caius 
College, Cambridge, and is,of the Ctoric order, and fluted. 
On thepedestal are the napes, Trafalgar, St. Vincent, 
Nile, Copenhagen, with .the, dates of the battles fought 
at those places j and above the cornice of the pedestal, on 
the side facing the "New-bridge; is a large sarcopha^s. 
The abacus of the capital is surmounted by a strong aron 
raihng, enclosing the platfoVm upon the top, and sur- 
rounding a podium or circular pedestal 12 ft. 6 in. high, 
* Who was likewise architect of the Neboa colunm at Yannoath, which 
M^ <tf ttt0 Gr^Qian Dpiic or4er^ wa very similar jn jlt»<«»«nl dwigo. 



TREATRfiSli ka, 145 

Upon which is a colossal statue of the Hero Uaning agiunst 
the capstan of a ship. This figure, which is executed by 
Kirk, IS 13 feet in height. From the gallery is a com- 
manding view of the city and bay. The balcony, to which 
the ascent is by 168 steps, is 108 feet from the ground, 
and. the entire height of the top. of the statue 134 ft. 3 in. 
— ^The entire expense of this column was 6,856/. 

The Wellington Testimonial. — ^Though this stupen- 
dous mass of building is not actually within the city, yet 
its being seen from so many different parts of Dublin, and 
standing in the Phu^nix-park, justify some slight descrip- 
tion of it.— -A committee was appointed for disposing of 
a fund amounting to near 20,000/. in raising a testimonial 
of gratitude to the illustrious deliverer of our country, 
and several sites within the city were pointed out — Ste- 

{>hen^s Green, Merrion-square, &c. ; many models were 
aid before the committee, all of which are .still preserved in . 
Leinster House. The public in general appeared to prefer 
the model of Mr. Hamilton, while the committee selected 
that of R. Smirke, jun., Esq. an English architect. 

The testimonial is in the form of an obelisk, or trun- 
cated pyramid, 205 feet high. A platform accessible by 
four .nights of steps supports a pedestal 56 feet square, 
and 24 feet high ; the pannels of which are to be orna- 
mented with bas-relief medallions, representing different 
victories won by his Grace : in front of the pedestal, on an 
insulated pedestal, an equestrian statue of the Duke in his 
military habit is intended to be placed. From the pedestal 
rises the obelisk, having the names of the victories won by 
the Duke, , from his entrance into military life to the battle 
of Waterloo, inscribed on the f3ur facades. 

In the view of the Law Courts, drawn for this work, this 
obelisk is seen in the distance, on an elevated situation in 
the Phoenix Park, formerly occupied by the salute battery, 
and commanding a view oi the whole city. 



THEATRES AND PLACES OF PUBLIC 
AMUSBMENT. 

In the reign of Elizabeth, plays were represented in the 
ball-room of the castle, by the nobility and gentry, but 



14$ YIIIA¥A1UI» IM. 

Ao regular llcftttfti^A theatre was opened until tlie reign of 
ChleU'les I. In 1636^ Lord Strafi^rd being Lord Lieute- 
nant, John Ogilby (the translator of Homer) erected a 
theatre in Werburgli'-street, for which the famous Shirley 
wrote some plays, lliis theatre was closed during the 
rebellion, and never re-opened ; but Ogilby profcured a 
renewal of his patent, and opened another in Orange- 
street, now Smock-alley, 1662. During the performance 
iyt Bariholometc Fair, Dec. 26th, 1671, the Upper gallery 
fell down into the pit, by which three persons weit Killed, 
and humbets sevetely wounded. This accident deterred 
the public fi*om the encouragement of theatrical amuse- 
ments for some time ; nor was the theatre re-^opened, until 
1691, after the battle of the Boyne. 

In 1733, a Theatre was opened in Raiusford-strefet, in 
the Ealrl Uf Meath's Liberty, by Mr. Husband ; this did 
not enjoy public favoui* more than three ytBts, SiUock- 
alley theatre had been for a lottp time, in a ttitterittg 
condition, which induced Mr. Elsmgton to design a new 
structure, the first stone of which Was laid in Aundei*- 
stteet, on the 8th of May 1733. At this time there 
t^^fere thi^e Theatres open in Dublin, viz. ttainsford-street, 
Smock-alley, and Madam Violante's company in George's 
Lanfe. In 1736, Smock-alley was rebuilt and opened 
under the management of Duval. In 1746, Aungier- 
street theatre was intrusted to the management of Mr. 
Sheridan j but, unfortunately, he outlived the public liking, 
and his edifice was demolished by the pbpulace in 17H 
during the representation of the tragedy of Mahomet } and 
it was supposed they were suddenly iunamed by an unfor- 
tunately appropriate passage in the play. 

In 1/56, Sheridan returned to Dublm, and was com- 
pelled, most cruelly, to make a public apology, fbl* im- 
puted ofiences. About this period a passion fof theatrical 
amusements existed in Dublin, and roote and Ryder Were 
warmly received at Smock-alley theatre. In 1 758, the New 
theatre in Crow-street was opened, and a violent oppo- 
sition afoee^ in consequence^ between the two Play-houses, 
which was carried on with various success for about five 
and twenty years, when Crow-street was chosen as the 
rheatni Royal, and Smock-alley abandoned. The theatre 
in Cr«W«8treet toutinUed in {Public ftroUjr fin: above 40 



t k 




Ti» WW 9H«4tlt» MXAh 14 

jtm, if w« except, perhMia, o^e Tiolent M9fi\ mMe by 
the pubiie^ whicli kad n^rfy ended in it9 destrueUon : tha 
esiuee pf the dispute was the manager not reooncijinff a 
distgreefpent ahout terms, hetween uie owner of the dog 
who pfrfonned in the " Dog of Montargis,'' and himself 
so as tQ hrinff the piece again before tne public. iUter 
much ii\iury aone to the house, the public mind wai 
ealmed by the friendly interference of the Lord Mayor» 
J. 0. Beresford. 

The patent of the manager having ei^pired> Mr, Harris, 
of Covent Garden, purchased a renewal from government -, 
aad not being able to procure Cjrow-street theatre from 
the proprietors, on reasonable terms, he built the present 
veinr beautiful place of amusement In Hawkins-street, 

The Nbw Thbatbe Royal — ^which stands on the site qf 
the Dublin Society's house, let for some time to the Men^ 
dlci^ Association; and was opened Jan. 18th, 18121. 

The form is that of a lyre, but the line of the back of 
the boxes being struck from a different centre from 
that of the front, gives the dress circle, when viewed 
6rom the stage, the appearance of a crescent. The deco- 
rations of the first tier of boxes are selected and adapted 
from the temple of Bacchus j are divided into pannels by 
gilt mouldings, and separated by gold pedestals, orna- 
mented with burnished gold oaducei : these pedestals form 
the basis of two rows of burnished gold columns, which are 
fluted, and apparently support the second circle of boxes, 
the sHps, and the gallery. On the first circle is placed 
' a continuous ornament, adapted from the temple of 
Erectheus and Minerva Poliai^} and on the upper one a 
composition of the Qreek chain, twined mth the sham- 
rock : mouldings, taken from the classic models of ancient 
Qreece, run all round the three tiers. The ornaments of 
the proseenium are compositions from decorations found 
in Pompeii and Herculaneum, surmounted by draperies 
of velvet and gold, and by arches surrounded by the 
Greek fret and honeysuckle. The upper part of the 

{>roseenium is connected with the ceiling by cores, which 
eave no liarsh lines to hurt the eye ; and this part of the 
proscenium and ceiling forms the peculiar feature of the 
theatre, and the ^t instance of such an Mt^mp** Bj 



148 yilfi mW THSATRE ROYAL. 

continuing tbe circle of the back of the boxes, along the 
proscenium, instead of cutting it short by the straight 
line of the stage, as in every other theatre,' a completely 
circular ceiling is formed, by which means a great a|y- 
pearance of expanse is attained, without the inconvenience 
of distance J and the performer speaks actually in the body 
of the house, without the appearance of intruding upon 
the auditory. It is to the form of this ceiling and the 
absence of any distinct top proscenium, that we attribute 
the facility with which the slightest word uttered on the 
stage is heard in the remotest comer of tbe house. The 
ceiling is coved into a shallow dome, divided into de- 
corated compartments, and being supported by a circular 
row of antse (or pilasters), surmountea by an entablature 
ornamented with gold wreaths, ^ves to the theatre the 
appearance of a vast Greek temple. All the decorations 
are raised in bamished gold upon lilac pannels, relieved by 
fresco-rcoloured stiles ; the tints are so blended as to pre- 
sent no decided distinction of colour to fatigue the eye, 
and all the lines are curves. By the arrangement of the 
di£ferent artificers employed, which varied, during its pro- 
gress, from four to seven hundred persons, this theatre 
(the new part of which covers a space of 100 feet by 
168, whose walls are 78 feet high, and the span of the 
roof 78 feet vidthout any support but the external walls), 
was raised and opened in 65 days, computing the day at 
10 hours and a half. The whole work was executed and 
perfected under the immediate direction of Mr. Beazley, 
the architect, of whose activity and professional skUl it 
affords a striking proof, and a splendid one, also, of the 
liberality and spirit of the patentee. 

At the back of the box lobbies is a saloon for refresh- 
ments, 64 feet by 34, with a gallery at each end, sup- 
ported by Ionic columns, communicating with the upper 
circle of boxes, by which means the visitors to that part 
of the theatre have access to the sdoon without de- 
scending to or interfering with the dress circle. The 
ceiling is composed of a dome and cupola, supported by 
four arches. The proportions of the Ionic order used in 
this saloon, are the same as those of Minerva Polias. 
: There is a small theatre in Fishamble-street, built 
oYiginaUy for a Music Hall^ where the celebrated Lord 



CAlUMStV BRIMB. 14ft 

Mtfniagten presided at conceits given for charitable pvi^ 
poses i Dut this is only used now as a private theatre. A 
very neat theatre was opened in Capel-street in 174B, by 
a company called " The City Comedians,^' who m'oved 
very forniidable rivak to Smock-alley. Dut this pkce of 
amusement is now seldom opened for any public purpose. 

In the Royal Arcade, on College Green> there are 
several excellent rooms let out for public entertsdnments, 
in one of which is a small theatre, called the Theatre of 
Arts, which is chiefly intended for exhibitions of mechanism. 

The only public promenade remaining in Dublin, is 
that held on summer eveninffs in the Rotunda Gardens 
[See Lying-in Hospital and nutland-square]. 



BARRACKS. 



The foundation of the Royal Barracks was laid in 1701, 
on the north side of the Lififey, near to the Park Gate : 
they consist of a number of large squares, biiilt on three 
sides only, the south side being open. Palatine-square is 
quite enclosed, and the builaings faced with mountains- 
granite ; and in this square is a ball-room for the use of the 
officers of the garrison. The situation of the barracks is 
elevated and healthy, and if Mr. Peel's proposal of con- 
tinuing the parade in front, down tq the water's edge, had 
been accamplished, it would have greatly added to the 
salubrity, grandeur, and beauty of this extensive estab* 
lishment. There are several otner barraqks in the neiffh- 
bourhood, but from the ffreat reduction that has taken 
place in the military estm)lishment they are not muck 
used; besides, the Royal Barracks give accommodation 
to 2,00Q troops. 



BRIDGES. 

OARiiisLE Bridob—* .After the opening of the NewCustom 
House, vessels of lar^e burthen had no necessity tp proceed 
further up the river than that limit, so that the «ommunica« 
tiott between the opposite sides of the river was facUitate4 



150 ESSEX BRIDGE. 

bj the tlirowin^ of Carlisle (or the New) Bridgre, across the 
nver from the end of Sackville (then Drogheda) street, to 
Westmorland-street (then College-lane). This beautiful 
piece of architecture was commenced in 1791, and finished 
in three years. The carriage-way is oaly forty feet broad, 
much too narrow for the great concourse which is con- 
stantly passing over it ; its length is 210 feet. The balus- 
trade and ornamental parts are of Portland stone 5 and 
the remaining parts of the facing and arches are of granite. 
There are but three arches, which are ornamented by 
architraves of cut stone, and enriched by colossal heads as 
key stones. From this bridge may be had, probably, the 
finest panoramic city view in the empire. The drawing of 
Sackvule-street and the Post-office which accompanies this 
volume, was taken from a window in the first floor of a 
house near this bridge. 

The Carlisle Buildings, close to this bridge, are pro- 
bably the most splendid mercantile establishment in the 
empire -, and the great room is worth the notice of a visitor. 

This edifice was built by subscription for a public 
coffee-room and tavern, and was sold by the trustees and 
proprietors to Mr. Kinahan for 4,000/. subject to a rent of 
400/. per annum. 

The Cast-Iron Bridge — ^which is midway between 
Carlisle and Essex Bridges, consists of one elliptical arch, 
the chord of which measures 140 feet j and its springs 
from buttresses of rusticated [masonry, projecting a short 
distance from the quay walls. There was a ferry formerly 
at this place, the property of the corporation ; when Alder-* 
man Beresford and William Walsh, Esq. purchased the 
tolls, and erected the bridge at their private expense : it 
cost 3,000/. and is a great ornament and convenience to the 
city. 

Essex Bridge— was built oridnally in 1676, by Sir 
Humphrey Jervis (subsequently Knighted in 1681, when 
Lord Mayor), and named after Arthur, Earl of Essex, Lord 
Lieutenant 3 and \vas rebuilt 1 753-55, after the model of 
Westminster-bridge. The spans of the arches in these 
bridges are to each other as three to five, and the lengths 
as one to four : the breadth of Essex-bridge, frofm the ex- 
terior of the parapets or plinths, is fifty-one feet. The time 
fiffom the laymg the first; stone to the completion of thi* 



fticmcoiflo BRiDcne. 151 

bridge was one year, five months and twenty-one days ; 
and theexpense was 20,661/. 1 U. Ad. The first builder. Sir 
Hnmphrev Jervis (says Harris), lay in prison several years ; 
and Mr. Robert Mack, by a mistake m the estimate, was 
a considerable loser, and very near sharing a similar fate« 
An equestrian statue of George I. stood on this bridge, 
but the old structure being taken down, it was removed at 
the expense of the corporation, to the lawn of the Man« 
sion-house in Dawson*street, where it was re-erected in 
1798. [See art. Mansion-housel. A most minute compa- 
rative view of Westminster and Essex bridges, is to be seen 
in Harrises History of Dublin, 

Richmond Bridge. — Before the erection of this bridge, 
which connects Ormond Quay with the extremity of Wine- 
ta?em-8treet, the view down the river was much disfigured 
by the ruins of Ormond Bridge, erected in 1683, and 
carried away in the great flood of 18Q2. A gentleman from 
the neighbourhood of Chapcdizod was ridmfi^ over at the 
time, and just as he arrived at the distance often or twelve 
feet from the Quay, the arch before and the whole of the 
part he had passed, gave way, when his horse with one 
spring cleared the chasm before him, and bore him to the 
opoosite bank in safety. 

-. Ormond Bridge was built at the instance of Sir John 
Davys, and succeeded a wooden bridge, erected on the 
same spot by Sir H. Jervis. This architect married the 
daughter of Col. Lane, the faithful friend and adherent of 
Charles II ; and was as enterprising for ths public benefit, 
as he was unfortunate in establishing^ his claims with those 
who derived such advantages from his designs. 

The first stone of the present, or Richmond Bridge, was 
laid Aug. 9th 1813, by her Grace Charlotte, the present 
Duchess JOowager of Richmond ; and it was opened to the 
public on St. Patrick's day, in 1816. It is Duilt almost 
entirely of Portland stone 5 the crown of the centre arch 
is not more than two feet above the level of the quays. 
There are three arches richly ornamented, the key stones 
of which are colossal heads of Plenty ; the Liffey, and In- 
dustry on one side ; Commerce, Hibemia and Peace on 
the other : it is after a design of Mr. Savage, an English 
artist, and cost 25,000/. 

In sinkio^for the foundation oftl^is bridge, several coins 



}fi2 m/Knav broob. 

wore found, tome of Eliaaboth, others of Philip and M»i7» 
besides two hoviXs, 18 feet in length, in one of which was 
a skeleton, with various implements -, likewise a mill-stone, 
16 feet in diameter ; all of which were much below the bed. 
of the riyei. From this it would appear, that the bed of the 
river is greatly raised from its origin^ level, whioh^ with 
ihe extraordinary elevation of the surfaoe, to be witnessed 
in the ruins of St. Mary's Abbey, demonstrates the fact 
of the gradual elevation of the soil throughout this part of 
Dublin. 

Whitwobth-Bridqx-!— is the next to the westward. The 
foundation stone was laid by Charles Earl Whltworth, Lord 
Lieutenant, 16th October, 1816. It is like Richmond 
Bridge, and the balustrade is continued along the quay wall 
to that bridge, and greatly contributes to the splendour of 
the scene in front of the Law Courts. This strueture re- 
placed the Old Bridge, so called from its being the oldest 
site of a bridfi^e across the Liffey since the foundation of the 
city. In sinking for a foundation^ the traces of two or 
three former bridges were observed, one of them of excels 
lent workmanship, and supposed to have been laid in the 
reign of King John : this was one of the princij^al entrances 
to the city, in the reign of Elizabeth ; and in the reign 
of Henry VIII. a valuable toll was collected here, by the 
Bominiean Friars, who built this bridge. Part of St. Mary's 
Abbey may be seen at the rear of the houses on the north 
side of the street of that name, and within a few doors of 
'Capel-street. The Friars' Bridge replaced Dublin Bridge, 
which was swept away in 1385 ; and the present bridge suc- 
ceeded the Old Bridge, which was taken down by the oor« 
poration for improving the quays, &o. of Dublin. 

Thb Quben's Bridge.— 'In 1683, a bridge was built 
over the Xafiey, opposite to Queen-street, called after the 
Lord Lieutenant, Arran Bridge ; which was swept away by 
the floods of 1763, and rebuilt in 1764. It is of granite- 
stone, consists of three arches, is ornamented with a light 
metal balustrade, and is 140 feet in length by 40 in 
breadth. 

Bloody Bridge.-- The last bridge in Dublin to' the 
west is called Barrack Bridge, but more frequently 
Bloody Bridge. This extraordinary appellation was de- 
rived from the following circumstance : in I67I9 the ap« 



CHARLEMONT HOTTSE. 153 

prentices of Dubfin assembled for the purpose of de- 
molishing the wooden Bridge over the Liffey near the 
Royal Barracks ; but being interrupted by the military; a 
battle ensued, in which four of the young men were killed, 
and the remainder put into Bridewell. In consequence of 
this incident Barrack Bridge was built, which still how- 
ever preserves its name, and is the oldest bridge now 
standing in Dublin. 

' Sarah's Bridge. — ^To the west of Bloody Bridge, about 
one mile from the city, at a little village called Island 
Bridge, is Sarah's Arch. This beautiful piece of architec- 
ture consists of one elliptical arch, the chord of which 
measures 104 feet, and tne altitude from low water to the 
key stone 30. It is of a light and elegant construction, and 
is 7 feet wider in the sjpan than the celebrated Rialto at 
Venice. In the view of Dublin from the rising ground of 
the Phoenix-park, this arch is a beautiful and picturesque 
object in the foreground. The foundation stone was laid 
in 1791, by Sarah, Countess of Westmorland. 



PRIVATE RESIDENCES. 

Most of the mansions of the nobility have been con- 
verted into public offices, and have been already noticed as 
such. Leinster House is described in art. Dublin Societv ; 
for Powerscourt House, see Stamp OfficCy and for Moura 
House, Mendicity Association. There are ninety-one man- 
sions in Dublin totally deserted by their ori^nal proprie- 
tors, and no longer known as the quondam residences ot our 
nobility, &c. 

Charlemont House — ^the residence of the Earl of 
Charlemont, is the most magnificent private residence pre- 
served in Dublin. It is situated in Palace-row, opposite 
the centre of the New Gardens, and is decidedly the best 
situated mansion in the city. Jt was built by James, the 
late Earl, a man as well known in the political world as 
amongst the schools of arts. [See Hardy's Life of Charle- 
mont]. 

This edifice, which is after the design of his lordship, 
aided by Sir WiUlam Chambers, is chaste, classical, and 



l«4 WAWItKqiP ttOVSH. 

el^aat. The tumi, which i« of hc;wii 9tOA«* l)fQlVl|t 
from Arklow* oomists of a rusticated foasemQpt aad ^o 
stories : the ^ret floor has five windows adorned wi|]4 ^rchi- 
traveSi and surmounted by pedim^uta alternately angu- 
lar and circular ; those of the seoopd atory have no v^- 
ments. The door«way^ which ia in the cen|re, is qecp^ 
rated with Ionic columns supporting an en^blaturo, M&d 
at each side are obelisks supporting ornamapted Ifonpa ; 
semi-circular curt^i^ walla, enclosing %\^p sweep ii| front, 
and continued to the adjacent houses on each ai^e^ aro 
ornamented with circular-headed niches, i^nd crowned by 
^ balustrade. 

The interior was designed with equal correetnesSj wid 
those f^partmenta which are completed exhibit the mioat i>e- 
fined taste in the arts. The most attractive at present is 
the library;, which is one of the finest rooD;a in Qublip, 
and sufjplied with a vfduable collection of books ; at one end 
of this is a chamber containing a statue of the V^nua de' 
Medici, carved on the spot by Wilton \ at the other, are. 
apartments containing a cabinet of pictures, and a collec- 
tion of medals. The library ia connected with the house 
bv a long corridor ornamented with statues, particularly a 
Mercury brought from Italy by his lordship. On one side 
of this corridor is a smaller library ornamented with vases 
and urns from Herculaneum, some, of the lava of Vesuvius, 
and others of burnt Egyptian clay. I'here are a number 
of original paintings by the first masters ; for a list of 
which, see Vaiaf^gue of Puintinga, 

Watbrporii House. — ^The first private edifice of stone, 
erected in Dublin, was built in 1740 by the £arl of Tyrone 
ia MarlboroughTStreet, after a design of Mr. Casaels, 
architect of the Bank of Ireland and Leinster House ; and 
is now better known by the denomination of Waterford 
House, the illustrious family being raised to a Mar« 
quisate. 

The front, which is of granite, consists of three stories ; 
the dooiuway ia ornamented by Doric piUara, supporting 
an entablature and pediment^ and over it, in the prin- 
cipal atory, ia a large Venetian window. All the other 
windows in both stories are regular. There is a spacious, 
court^yard in front, with two gates for admission and 
egresst 



Tht interior* bein^ in the style of tho^e days, is eiirious 
tod beautifnl. The hall is richly ornamented with sttte- 
co-trorky and has an oakperkenteeti floor disposed in dia- 
monds and losrejiges. The parlours are spacious, bitt 
glooiby, oWinft to the profusion of mahogany carved work, 
which is now of so dark a hue, that it throws a gloom and 
gfitindeUr otter the apartments. 

The stairs, balusters and hand-rail, and doors, are all 
of mahogany; and the walls of the staircase are orna- 
mented with stucco-work, in a styk superior to any thing 
of the present day. Busts of different members 'of the 
family, resting on consoles, are placed against the Walls. 
This beantifm stucco-work was designed by Cremillon, 
an Italian, who was assisted by the Francini, of whose 
workmanship a very beautiful specimen is to be seen in the 
chanel of thd Lying-in-Hospital. 

There is an extensive suite of apartments adorned with 
a fine collection of the works of the old toasters [See Ca- 
ialogae vf Paintings,'] — In the small drawing-room is a 
very curious and beautiful specimen of Mosaic work in a 
marble pier table, and in the same room is a portrait of 
Catherine Poer, Countess of Tyrone, bv whose marriage 
With Sir Marcus Beresford the title anil property passed 
into that distinguished familv : the portrait represents her 
as young and beautiful, ana is inserted in the ornamental 
tcarved work over the chimney-piece. The next apartment 
is probably one of the most interesting obiects of curiosity 
in Dublin. The ceiling is carved ana richly ornamented, 
and the. walls are hung in tapestry, designed by the 
younger Teniers, and executed in Holland. This i^ the 
best, specimen of the art of tapestry-weaving to be seen in 
Ireland. There are several other splendid apartments in 
the rear. of the building, commsinding a view of an exten* 
sive and well-planted lawn. 



LAW COURTS. 



pRBViOtrSLY to 1696, the courts of law in Ireland wer6 
t&lrant.C^low, Drogheda, and various towns through^ 



156 lAW COURTS. 

out the kingdom^ occasionally gave shelter to the Com^ 
missioners of Justice. Before this the courts were held in 
Christ-church-lane, adjacent to the cathedral of that name, 
but the situation being considered inconvenient, and the 
edifice inadequate, an attempt was made to convert the 
cathedr^ of St. Patrick's into a hall of justice, on the pre- 
tence that two cathedrals were unnecessary ; besides, that 
from the union of tlie sees of Dublin and Glendaloch, if 
St. Patrick's were turned to the required puipose, two 
cathedrals would stiU remain in the diocese of Dublin. This 
sophistry was successfully refuted by Adam Loftus. The 
same distingushed prelate also protected that venerable 
cathedral from being converted into a University, which 
Sir John Perrot, the Lord Deputy, anxiously endeavoured 
to effect. 

The site of the Four Courts was formerly that of the 
Friary of St. Saviour, founded between 1202 and 1218, 
in Ostmantown, by William Mareschal the elder. Earl of 
Pembroke. It was originally a Friary of Cistercians, and 
was surrendered to the Dominicans by the monks of St. 
Mary's Abbey in 1224. In 1316, a Scottish army, com- 
manded by Edward Bruce, brother to the kinff of Scotland, 
and probaoly favoured by Richard, Earl of Ulster, at that 
time residing in St. Mary's Abbey, approached Dublin 
with an intention of besieging it, on which occasion, the 
church of this friary was destroyed, to procure materials 
for repairing and enlarging the fortifications of the city. 
But some' years after, Edward III. obliged the citizens to 
restore the church which had been dilapidated for their 
benefit. 

About 1506, Patrick Hay, the last prior, surrendered 
this monastery to the Kine^, and the site was afterwards 
granted for the erection of King's Inns, where the judges, 
lawyers and attorneys had chambers. 

In 1776, the King's Inns having quite fallen to decay, 
a new site was chosen for the erection of an edifice, to be 
called the *• King's Inns or Temple," but which is to be 
differently appropriated from the former, and this site was 
selected to erect the Law Courts upon* 

The Law Courts, or Four Courts, situated on the north, 
side of the river, are one of the noblest structures in 
Publiui both as to magnitude and sublimity of desigu. 



tAW COC&T& 157 

They are built after a design of Mr. Cooley^ who was archi- 
tect of the Royal Exchange ] but he dying after the western 
wing was finished^ the completion of this noble design was 
intrusted to Mr. Gandon. The foundation stone was laid on 
the 13th of March, 1786, by Charles, Duke of Rutland, 
Lord Lieutenant, and Viscount Lifford, Lord Hi^h Chan- 
cellor; yet the edifice Vas not entirely finished for 14 
years : — the expense of building, &c. is calculated at about 
200,000/. It was intended to throw a bridge over the 
river immediately, opposite the courts, and open a street 
up the hill in front of Christ Church ; but, from the close- 
ness of the building to the water, it was deemed unsafe to 
make the experiment of diiving piles, and a more expen- 
sive, but much more convenient and beautiful design was 
proposed and executed. The qua^ wall in front of the courts 
was sui^nounted by a handsome iron balustrade, extending 
about 800 feet, at each end of which are handsome stone 
bridges with corresponding balustrades, forming a pic- 
turesque and magnificent fore-ground to the view of the 
courts from the opposite side of the river. The drawing 
made for this work is taken from Essex Quay, and intro* 
duces Richmond-bridge, Ormond-brid^e, and the Queen's- 
bridb^e; the Courts are seen on tne right, and the 
Wellington Testimonial, considerably elevated, in the 
distance. 

The following architectural description of the Courts is 
chiefly borrowed from Malton, but all late improvements 
and alterations are carefully attended to, as the building 
was not ' completely finished when Malton's Views were 
published. 

The edifice called the Four Courts, contains the Courts 
of Law, and an immense number of offices attached to 
them : it consists of a centre, at each side of which are 
squares, X)ne to the east, the other to the west, surrounded 
by buildings containing the law offices : these squares are 
separated from the. street by arcade screens of rusticate^ 
masonry, surmounted by a nandsome stone balustrade, and 
the entrance to each court-yard is through a large arch- 
way. Over the eastern gate is placed the harp of Ireland, 
on a shield, encompassed by emblems of Justice, Security, 
and Law, the shield resting on volumes of law books, 
bouud together by a serpent entwined around them -, and 



IBS u# totmtir. 

bVef the westetA gftte tlie royal shield, encifcled bv oak 
leaves, is encompassed by different emblems atopropnatc to 
tbe offices whicb occupy that wing : — Edward Smyth, of 
Dublin, was the artist. Around the eastern court are 
the offices of the Chancery, Exchequer, and Rolls court ; 
in the western square are those of the Kihg'Sibench, 
Hahapet', Remembrancer, and the repository Of the rolls 
of Chancery. 

The centre buildinff, which contains the Courts of 
Chancery, KingVbench, Common Pleas, and Exchequer, 
is a square of 140 feet, within which is described a circle 
of 64 feet in diameter, from whose drcuinfereilce the 
Four Courts radiate to the angles of the sqiiare, and 
the iiitervals between the courts arc occupied by jury 
rootns, and retiring-chambers for the judges, &c. one of 
them also is employed as a Rolls Court. 

The ft-ont of the central pile consists of a handsome 
portico of six Corinthian columns with pilasters, support- 
ing a magnificent and well-proportioned pediment, having 
on its apex a statue of Moses, on one side of which is a 
figure of Justice, and on the other one of Mercy. At 
each extremity of the front, and over the coupled pilasters, 
are statues in a sitting posture, one of Wisdom, the other 
of Authority. Above the central buildinff rises a -circular 
lantern of the same diameter as the hall, 64 feet, orna- 
mented by 24 pillars, and lighted by twelve large win- 
dows. An entablature is earned round the summit of the 
lantern, and on this appears to rest a magnificent dome. 
Beneath the portico of the south, or nrinclnal front, is a 
semicircular recess, in the centre of which is the door- 
way, leading to the hall of the courts, which is beneath 
the dome, and which, in term time, exhibits an extraordi- 
nary air of bustle and confusion. At the extl-emities of 
the diameters, passing through the fout* carding points, 
are the entrances to the hall, the Rolls Court, and the 
chambers appropriated to the judges and juries, &c. and 
between these are the entfances to the mfferent courts, 
each entrance being between Corinthian columns two 
deep, 25 feet high, fluted the upper two-thirds of the 
shaft, and resting on a sub-plinth, in which the steps lead- 
ing to the court are inserted j by this disposition there are 
formed eight inteirvals or reced^es^ all ornamented in the 



tfime it^plej aM Ili6 pien between Ihem are deCMPated with 
Aiolies and tfuak pannels* The eolumns support an en- 
tahlAtuie whieli Is continued the entire way round; ahove 
the entablature is an attic pedestal ornamented hy eight 
sunk pannel8> which are exactty above the eight intervals be- 
tween the columns; and on thepannels over the enti;anoesi 
to the Qourts^ the followinff historical events are repre- 
sented in bas-relief: l8t> William the Conqueror insti* 
tuting Courts of Justice, Feudal and Norman laws. 
Doomsday Book, Curfew, ^d. King John signing Ma^a 
Charta^ in presence qf the barons, drd, Henry IX. givmg 
an audience to the Irish chiefs, itnd granting the fir^t 
charter to the citiaens of Dublin. .4th, James I. abolish* 
lug the Brehon laws, Tamistry, Gavelkind, Gossipred, and 
publishing' the Act of Oblivion i— these are the workman-' 
ship of IVfr, Edward Smytii, of Dublin. From the attic 
peaestal rises an hemispherical dome with a rich Mosaic 
ceiling ; in the dome, above the pannels of the ^ttic, are 
eight windows of considerable size, which admit abundance 
of light into the hall beneath. The verteic of the hemi- 
spherical ceiling is perforated by a circular opening, per- 
mitting a view mto the void between the two domes, as in 
St. Paul's in Loqdon. The void, which is a large apartment, 
the diameter of the hall, illumined by 12 windows, and 
used as a record-room, was originally intended for a librar>% 
but is obviously ill cdeulated for such purpose. 

In the piers between the windows of the interior dome 
are eight colossal statues, in alto relievo, resting upon 
consoles or brackets, representing Punishment, Eloquence, 
Mercy, Prudence, Law, Wisdom, Justice, and Liberty. 
Over those statues an entablature with a highly-enriched 
frieze is qontinued round the dome, and immediately 
above eaeh window, on the friezoi are medallions of the 
fc^wing eight distinguished legislators, Moses, Ly- 
curgus, 8olon« Numa, Confucius, Alfred, Manco-Capac, 
andOUamh-Fodhla* 

The oeurts, -which are all of exactiy the same dimensions, 
and similarly contructed, are separated from the great 
hall, by a partition, the upper part of which is glazed. On 
each side of every court are galleries for the jury, and at 
the end opposite to the entrance the judges^ bench is 
olae«d> in en elevated position, beneath ^ semi^ilip* 



160 nms OF cotmT. 

tical flotin^g-board. Each court is liffbted by six win* 
dows^ three on either side, and perhaps there is too great 
a quantity of light admitted. There are numerous, apart- 
ments under ground, one of which, the cofiee-room, . is a 
great convenience to persons who are obliged to remain in 
court all day. 

The present elevation of the Four Courts is. supposed 
to be a trifling deviation from the design of Mr. Gooley, 
whose intention was, to have kept back the central pile, aad 
to have formed a continued area in front, of the building, 
but this admirable plan ■ was interrupted from the great 
difficulty of procuring ground at the rear of the courts ; 
in consequence of which, Mr. Gandon, who completed the 
building, introduced the idea of distinct court-yards 
divided by the centre. The front of the Four Courts to* 
wards the Quay extends 450 feet, and its depth is 170. 

Inns of Court. — ^Before the reign of Edward I. there 
were no regular courts of Justice nor Inns of Court : the 
number of Palatinates and Chiefries existing through lie- 
land, which were governed by the old Brehon laws, ren« 
dered a court of Chancerv unnecessary; but an Exche- 
quer was still required. The Brehon laws were of so mMd 
and conciliating a spirit, that a fine (erick) waa the only 
punishment inflicted even for the worst of crimes. 

It is manifest that such a system, in those days, must 
have been liable to infinite abuses, and after an existence 
of nearly four centuries under the crown of England, the 
application of them was at length declared to be treason- 
able, in the 40th of Edward ill. b^r the statute of Kil- 
kenny. The Brehon laws were written in a character 
callea the '^Phenian dialect,'^ and the family of Mac 
Egan alone possessed the secret of decjrphering their, re- 
cords, and were in possession of this secret, down to the 
reign of Charles I. — Henry II. is said to have held a court 
in Dublin (Nov. 1172), but all records or manuscripts 
relating to it are lost. 

The first institution of an Irish Inn of Court took place 
in the reign of Edward I. : it was called CoUet's Inn, and 
was outside the city walls, where Exchequer- street and 
Geor^e's-street south are now built ; here also were the 
superior courts of justice. But, unfortunately^ a banditti 
from the mountains of Wicklow, watchiDg an opportunity. 



Tm^ or coimT. H\ 

wb^n tbe d^nty iiiid j[i«at pi^rt of the military AtrengtU 
were epgage4 at a distancei entered and plupderad the 
Excliequer, and burned everv record. About the same 
penod, bpth in C!nff}and and France> a sinoilar attack was 
made qn the Teinple ^x\d other public liter^^ry establish^ 
roents. 

This obliged the government to ren^ove the sefit of jus- 
tice from without the walls ^ and the courts were at nr^t 
appointed to be held in the Castle of Dublin ^ a^d then at 
CarloW' Whilst the Courts and Inns of Law were held in 
this ambulatory manner, in the reign of Edward HI., Sir 
Robert Preston^ Chief Baron of the Exchequer, resigned^ 
for an Inn of Coi^rt, his noble mansion, situated where 
the Royal Exchange pow stands, and having 9, range of 
ofllce^ extending mm that to Efssex-bridge : on this site 
liord Chief Baron Bysse, some years after, built a noble 
residence, >yhich was taken down in 1762, to open Parlia- 
ment-^treet. 

In Preston's Inns the benchers, lawyers and attorneys 
had chambers, and for two centuries, this Collegiate 
Society, was upheld with dignity. After the death of 8ir 
Robert Preston, the family, which had been honoured by 
a peerage, in 147B, with the title of Viscount Gormans- 
town, disputed the claim to the site of Preston's Inn, and 
the benchers ^aqd lawyers were dispossessed. At this time 
the Courts of Law were held in the Castle of Dublin, 
which being found inconvenient, the Inns of Court were 
removed to the dissolved Monastery of Dominicans, called 
the Monastery of St. Saviour's, where the Fo^^ Courts 
now stand [see page 167]» In 1642, Henry VIII, as- 
sumed, for the first time that any English monarch had 
done so, the title of King of Ireland, and from the royal 
founder this society took the denomination of the ''King's 
Inns,'' It obtained from him grants of land in Michan's 
pilri^ht &<^' besides parliamentary support j and a stati^te 
was introduced, obliging each student to resido fpr two 
years at an English Inn of Court, to assist in introducing 
the English practice of law into tnis kingdom. Froin this 
d^te^ the society of King's lans began to assume impor- ^ 
tance as a body. 

The Kin^s Inns occupied this site for a considerable 
fime, but tBe building weis ^t length allowed to fall intq 



162 INNS OP COtJRTi 

a ruinous condition. Some time after (1771) a report was 
made to government, that a repository for public recorfls 
was much wanted, and the present site was recoYnmended 
as the most convenient for such abuildins"; and being ako 
considered eligible for the Law Courts, the present mag- 
nificent building was erected, containing both. A promise 
of compensation was made at the same time to the Society 
of King's Inns for the ground, which it does not appear 
has ever been fulfilled. 

Six years previously to this, the Society had taken a 
plot of ground from Primate Robinson, at the upper end 
of Henrietta-street, where the first stone of the New Inns 
was laid by Lord Clare. The situation was unhappily 
chosen, being accessible only from the rear, and the rent 
very extravagant ; nor was it certain whether the lessor 
had power to dispose of the ground in perpetuity ; it wis 
disputed^ too, whether he could purchase the interests of 
under tenants, and become the sole lessor 5 and after 
much consultation, it was ultimately arranged only by 
the passing of an act of Parliament. 

The edifice called the Inns of Court, presents a beauti* 
ful front, of hewn stone, to the rear of the houses on 
Constitution-hill, consisting of a centre and wings. The 
wings, which extend back 110 feet, present a mpade of 
two stories, surmounted by pediments ; over the mndows 
of the second story, in the north win^, is an alto-relievo, 
representing Bacchus and Ceres sacrificing on an antique 
tnpod. Intended by the Seasons ; and over the front of the 
south wing, or Prerogative Court, in a similar manner, 
are represented. Wisdom, Justice and Prudence, sacri- 
ficing on an altar, attended by Truth, Time, and History. 
On the entablature in the centre of the building, the 
lawyers and prelates of Ireland are represented, receiving 
a translation of the Bible and a charter from EHzabeth. 

The doorways in front of the Dining-hall and Preroga- 
tive Court, are ornamented by caryatides,* supporting a 
rich cornice, and resting on pedestals. Those at the 
door of the <Hmng-hall, are Plenty and a Bacchante with 
a goblet 3 and at the entrance of the Prerogative Court 

* Caryatides we itotues employed to vvi^xt ^n eqtMitwe iiutead o^ 






-;;V 



r >,<-y 



THE PRBROGATIVE COtTRT. 163 

and Record Office^ are Security and Law, one holding a 
key, the other a scroll. 

Beneath the central buildin|^, which is crowned by a 
beautiful octangular cupola, is a lofty arched ffateway, 
^vith doors at either side, leading into the space oetween 
the Dining-hall and Record Office, which run parallel to 
each other 5 and at the farther end is a magnificent cor- 
respondmg gate, communicating with Henrietta-street. 
Over this are the royal arms in Portland stone, which, 
together with all the statuary of the building, were 
executed by Edward Smyth, a l!kiblin artist of very con- 
siderable merit. 

The Dining-hall, which occupies the principal part of 
the north wing, is 81 feet by 42, ornamented by four 
three-quarter Ionic columns at either end, over which 
in circular recesses in the ceiling, are figures in alto- 
relievo, representing the four Cardinal Virtues. At the 
end of the hall where the benchers' table is placed, the 
floor is elevated about 12 inches above that of the re- 
maining part, and over the chimney-piece at this end is 
a portrait of Lord Chancellor Manners. The room is 
lighted by five circular-headed windows on one side, 
between which are niches intended to be filled with 
statues ; and on the opposite side are portraits of Lords 
Avonmore and Manners. The lawyers and law-students 
dine on one side, and the attorneys on the other side of 
the hall. 

Over the Ante-hall is the library, a room only 42 feet by 
17, and never intended for this purpose. Part of this col- 
lection was the property of Christopher Robinson, Esq. 
Senior Puisne Judge of the Court of King's-bench, and 
the selecti(m of law books was made chiefly by Charles, 
Earl Camden, Lord Chancellor. — ^The library is op'en 
every day from two to four o'clock. 

This elegant structure is erected from the designs of 
James Oandon, Esq. the Architect of the Custom-house. 

The Prerogative Court — ^was formerly held in a 
larffe mansion in Henrietta-street, once the residence of 
Primate Robinson, adjoining the Inns of Court; but it 
has lately heen removed to the south win^ of the Inns, 
where a court is held, on Tuesdays and Fridays each we^k 
in T^rm, The remaining part of this wjng is occupied 



164 0mnM4 rosf^mt^off 

wilh reeordf of different kinda, oflgifiil friUi. Mimiristm* 

tions, licences of marriage ; and here i^Isq we preserved 
the manuscripts called, " Reir*l YisitatioTi Bopki," The 
oldest record in this olfioe is dated 1530. 

Thb CoNflisTQBiAL CopnT— wMch w^ qrigin^ly held 
in the Cathedral of the diocese, is now held in Stgphpn's- 
ereen, at the house of the Deputy Registrar, Thonuw 
Clarke, Esq. Here all cases of blasphemy, apostacy, 
&c. are deeidedy marriage licences granted, ^nd aU points 
connected with the rights and privileges of the chiirqh ^- 
justed. The records m this office do not bew ^ date mor§ 
ancient than 1600, and even these are not complete, ther§ 
heing an hiatus from 1730 to 1779. There is in this office 
a valuable set of books in admirable preservation, Qal)f4 
Title Books. 

HiOH Cqui^t of ADMiRALTY.-r-There is a regular Court 
of Admiralty in Dublin as in London, and for the sftme 
objects : it is held in the Law Courts, and consists of f^ 
Judge, three Surrogates, a Registrar, Marsha, f^nd Prop* 
tors, &c. The indiependepce of this court yim^ present 
by a special clause in the Act of Union. The date of the 
oldest MS. in the Begistrar'a possession is 1747, at whic^ 
period this court was probably :first instituted. 

BoAno OF PiBST Fkuits. — ^This board, chiefly consist- 
ing of the dignitaries of the ostablished church, holds its 
meetings twice in the par at the Record Q(fice in tba 
Lower Castle-yard; their principal business is the ^x^g-r 
mentation of the valueof small livings, by purchasing glebe, 
building ^lebe-houses, &c. and improving the property pf 
the church of England. Their grants are made according 
to a certain sc(de. Here are many public records, which* 
i^bout 1814, were arranged in systematic order ^ an4 
amongst them was found the charter of Trinity Coll^e« 
which was restored to the University. 



PUBLIC OFFICES. 



General Posr^vFicE.-r-France may, perhaps, be eon* 
«id«red as being the iirst nation that established a regnlfti? 



OKKKRAL POST-OFFICE. 165 

and eystematic mode of transferring' letters;* and Eng- 
land^ of course, quickly adopted so obviously important 
an advantage. Eoward VI. prescribed a certain rate per 
mile, to be charged for post horses, viz. one penny ', and 
a post was established between London and JSdinDurgh ; 
and between Chester and Dublin, by way of Holyhead. 
Cromwell also extended this establishment, and with the aid 
of parliament took the management into the hands of 
government : at this time packets sailed between Dublhi 
and Parkgate or Chester, and between Milford and Water- 
ford. 

The first director of the Post-office, appointed by go- 
vernment, was John Manley, who was obliged to make 
uniform charges for the conveyance of letters, at the rate 
of twopence for eighty miles. A Postmaster General for 
the British dominions, was appointed in 1711, and a sepa- 
rate establishment opened in Ireland, under the direction 
of two Postmasters General, in 1784. From this date, the 
facility of communication through the kingdom has rapidly 
increased, and the number of post towns in Ireland, at 
which this office advertises to deliver letters, amounts to 
above 400. . 

The Penny-Post-office was opened in 1770, and is con- 
ducted in an expeditious manner, there being four col- 
lections and four deliveries of letters through the city 
every- day, Sunday excepted; and in the neighbourhood of 
Dublin there are two collections and deliveries daily ; but 
all letters delivered beyond the circular road pay twopence 
postage. 

The next feature of importance is the establishment of 
mail-coaches, a measure fraught with much advantage to 
the general interests of Ireland. Parts of this kingdom, 
hitherto unknown, are now in a state of civilization, owing 
to the intercourse they enjoy with more cultivated society. 
Mail-coaches were first established in England in 1784, m 
Ireland in 1790. Mr. Anderson, of Fermoy, first contracted 
to run a coach, carrying the mail-ba^s betwen Dublin and 
Cork, and Mr. Grier, between Dublin and Newry. The 
Road Act was shortly after passed, which has opened 
eva*y part of Ireland to the traveller, with convenience 

• In the Riga of Louis 21. 147^. 



IM cnmiuL Mg>fL«ifio& 

«Bd safety ;• »iid a cbaia of conmnBicatioa U now k«|^t up 
througtkout the kingdom, by means of a very inginlous 
management of the coaches, for wherever the dfaroet mail 
from Dublin to any town stops, a light coach is in waiting 
to proceed by cross roads. Coaches leave the General 
Post-office every evening at eight o^ clock precisely. 

The English mail is despatched every morning at seven 
o'clock, in a mail cart, to Howth^harbour, whence it is 
conveyed by government steam-packets, of great power, 
to Holyhead. All letters for Scotland and the north of 
England are sent by way of Donaghadee and Port Patrick, 
an4 to the South, by way of Waterford and Milford 
Haven. 

The General Post-office was at first held in a small 
building on the site of the Commercial Buildings, and was 
afterwards removed to a larger house, opposite the Bank 
on College^green (since converted into the Royal Arcade): 
and on January 6th, 1818, the new Post-office in Sackville- 
street was opened for business. 

The founaation-stone of this magnificent edifice, which 
is built after a design of Francis Johnston, Esq., was laid 
by his Excellency Charles, Earl Whitworth, August 12, 
18 14, and the structure was completed in the short space 
of three years, for the moderate sum of 50,000/. The 
site on which the new Post-office is erected, was previously 
occupied by a range of houses corresponding with those 
in the same street, near Carlisle-bridge, and used for some 
tiine as a temporary barrack: but they were so badly 
built, and so shaken by their numerous inmates, that 
while occupied by the military, the^ fell down» the soldiers 
and their families having scarcely time to escapts. 

The front, whieh extends 220 feet, has a magnificent 
portico (80 feet wide) of six fluted Ionic columns, 4 feet 
6 inches in diameter. The frieze of the entablature is 
highly enriched, and in the tympanum of the pediment 
are the royal arms. On the acroteria of the pediment 
are three statues, by John Smyth, vh. Mercury, on the 
ri^ht, with his Caduceus and purse j on the left. Fidelity, 
with her finger on her lips, and a key in her hand ; and in 
the centre, Hibemia resting on her spear and holdipg her 
shieljd. The entablature, with the exception of the archi- 
trave, is continued along the rest of the front j the frieze. 



%!biftrtT, U not decorated as it is o^r the portico. A 
hahdsome balustrade surmounts the cornice m the build- 
ing, which is 50 feet from the ground. With the exceto- 
tion of the portico, which is of Portland stoiife, the tvholfe 
is of iiioantain-grAnite. The elevation has three stoHes, 
of which the lower, or basement, is rusticated, and in 
this respect tt resembles the India House in London, 
Where a rusticated basethent is introduced, although the 
pottico occupies the entire heiriit of the structure. 

Over the centre of the building is seen a cupola, con- 
taining the bhimes and bell on which the clock-hammer 
strikes. This bell is so loud, that it V& heard in every part 
of the city. 

"the interior is particularly remarkable £br the conve- 
nience of its arrangement and the number of its commu- 
nicating apartments. The Board-room is a very handsome 
jlpartni6nt, furnished with two seats, which are for the 
tv)stmasters General : over the chimney-piece, protected 
by a dirtain of green silk, is a bust of Earl Wnitvvorth, 
tn white marble, by John Smyth. 

StAMp-Office. — The business of this office wds for- 
tneHy transacted in a range of old brick buildings iti 
Eustace-Street, on the north side of Oame-street ; but it 
Was reinoved. May 3rd, 1811, to William-street. An office 
for the manufacture and distribution of stamps was first 
established in this kingdom during the government of 
Eari Harciamrt, in 1 774, and even then was productive of 
*a considerable reveijtie, which, from the augmentation of 
stamp duties, has since increased to more than ten times 
Its early amount. The gross produce of stamp-dut5«s for 
the years 1B12, 13, and 14, exceeded 700,000/. 

1816 it amounted to IS. 747.586 8 6i 
1616 591,265 8 11 

1817 ...... 596,709 16 8 

1818 610»396 15 7h 

\8\d «02j535 12 7i 

1820 557>4a3 1 10 

1821 to June 5th . . 485|429 8 8 

The accourttB furnished before 1818 vvere all In Irish 
eurre^cy, but from that date they have been ifetutned in 
British* and »re to eontitiue so in mure. 



168 STAMP-OFFIce. 

The present Stamp-office was the priv:.tc residence of 
the Viscounts Powerscourt ; it was commenced in the 
year 1771, and completed in three years, for the moderate 
sum of 10,000/. ; it is after a design of Mr. Robert Mack, 
architect. The Commissioners of Stamp-duties purchased 
it for 15,000/. 

. The west front, which is toward William-street, is of 
moimtain-granite, from his lordship's estate in the county 
of Wicklow 5 the ornaments and dressings being of Port- 
land-stone. This facade consists of a basement, princq>al 
floor, and mezzanine. The first of these, which has circu- 
lar-headed windows, is rusticated, and has a Doric enta- 
blature, continued also over the gateways on the sides, in 
lieu of wings. The ascent to the grand entrance is by a 
broad flight of steps, with a stone balustrade ; and the door 
has Doric pilasters and an entablature. The windows, of 
the first floor, three on each side of the centre, rest on rich 
pedestals, and have pediments, of which the middle one of 
the three is semi-circular. Above the slight projection or 
break, forming the central division of tliis elevation, is a 
pediment with a circular window in its tympanum, and 
over this is a singular species of attic, enriched with 
carved scrolls instead of pilasters. From this part of the 
stnicture, which was origmally intended as an observatory, 
may be obtained as extensive a view as the smoke of the 
city will permit. This fine edifice cannot at present be 
seen to advantage, being in the narrowest part or a narrow 
street (William-street), immediately opposite Castle-mar- 
ket* 

The hall and staircase are decorated with rich heavy 
stucco-work, not suited to the taste of the present day ; 
and the stairs and balusters are of mahos^any. 

Tn the drawing-room of this splendid mansion are two 
slabs of the lava of Vesuvius, richly mounted as pier 
tables ; and in this room were a few paintings of the old 
masters, which are now at his lordship's magnificent resi- 
dence in the county of Wicklow. 

The ^teways on each side of the house have been con- 
verted into entrances to the different offices of the esta- 
blishment : these are principally held in a square of build- 
ings erected at the rear of the house for this purpose, 
which improvements cost the commissioners 15,000L 



BALLAST-OFFICB. 169 

Ballast-Officb. — ^This useful establishment holds its 
meeting in a handsome house, built for the purpose, in • 
Westmorland-street, near Carlisle-bridge. 

The society was incorporated in 1707, under the title of 
" The Corporation for rreservinff and Improving the Port 
of Dublin," and was placed under the superintendence of 
the Lord Mayor, Sheriffs, and some of the citizens. At 
this period great improvements were made in the entrance 
of the harbour, which was extremely dangerous, owing to 
two sand-banks, called the North and South Bulls, which 
completely choked it up 3 a channel of some breadth was 
cleared, and a floating light established, where the Dublin 
light-house has since been erected. About 1714, the river 
was embanked on both sides, a quay wall built, and a 
large quantity of marshy ground reclaimed ; and about 
1748, that extensive work, the Mole, which connects 
Ringsend agd the Pigeon-house, was commenced, and the 
expense defrayed by a tonnage on shipping. Shortly after, 
this corporation was intrusted with fuller powers, both as 
to the nature of the improvements they were to undertake, 
and as to the election of new members to fill vacancies at 
their board. Their next great work was the building of 
the Mole* and Light-house in Dublin Bay , but the grand 
conclusion of their labours was the enclosing of the Lifiey 
within the present maffnificent quay walls, which extend 
from Ringsend to Blooay-bridge, a distance of three Eng- 
lish miles ; which has jiot only deepened the channel, but 
j^eatly benefitted and improved the city. Dublin was 
well supplied with bridges before the incorporation of this 
body, but two of them were in a dilapidated condition, 
and one, called the Coal-Quay (or Ormond) bridge, was 
Sf^ept away by the floods. The Ballast Office have sup- 
plied their places by Richmond and Whitworth bridges. 

Since the institution of this body, the coast of Ireland 
has .been rendered more safe to tne mariner by the ercQ- 
tion of li^t-houses in various places. The most extra- 
ordinary in point of situation, and which was attended 
with many melancholy disasters during its building, is 
that on the Tuskard Rock On the coast of Wexford. The 

* Thii w»a meaiurei 9,816 feet from tbe Pigeon-bouie to tfa» Li|^ 
Q 



lif lii-tu)ti«e erected ou the Bailey at Ho .vtK in f^fobably 
btie of the best-situated oh the coasts and lightea dh )ttff 
improved ]>nncipl(SB> the i^eficctot^ being gronhd tb the 
t)arabolic forita^ and au oil lamp placed itl the focun of 
each. 

The ftthds of this Board are derived from the Sale of 
ballast to the shipping, which they raise frotti the channel 
of the river, and froih a tonnage on v^tjeels attivlngihport. 
The expense of building the quay Walls was defrayed by 
a tax, which has now ceased to be demanded. The Direc- 
tors of this Board do not receive ealaries, and perhaps nt) 
establishihent in the kingdom has given greater satisfae^ 
tiott, or 1)een of niore real benefit* 

Paving BoAitn. — ^This board consists of ^ ehiief Com- 
missioner and two others, ^vith two supendsors, a trea- 
surer and secretary, the amount of whose salaries is 2,300/. 
per annum. The objects of this board are of course most 
important, . paving, lighting, and cleaning the streets, 
making sewers, and, in summer^ watering the public ways. 
There ai-e few cities in better condition as to pavement, 
and none so Well supplied with broad and even nag-wnys. 

Many great improvements hia,ve been made by this body 5 
there were fbrmerly in almost fevery street one or two 
fotthtains which, though a great ornament, were A greater 
nulsanee, and the cause of Inany sad accidentia, as they 
were always crowded by the idle, and the pavemfcnt around 
was so wet and islippery, that horses, particularly in har- 
ness, have frequently fallen in attemptmg to pass, and in 
winter these places became a pferfcct sheet of ice. All 
these nuisances have beeh removed, at a trifling loss to 
the city, in point of picturesque appearance. The light- 
ing of the city, however, is not so creditable ; but' the 
introduction of gas-light will remedy this evil. 

This Board formerly held its meetings in a large brids 
house at the comer of Dawson-street> Ike site #)f Morri- 
son*s hotel, from whence it removed to its present situation 
in Mary»street* This house was formerly the residence of 
the ancient attd respecitable family of tne Rowleys, from 
Whom it was purchased for a temporary btkfrack j tod at 
the conclusion of the war, transferred to the Paving- 
beard, wb9 have fitted it up coiirenietitlr» aad erected 
stabling at the rear for their horses, and sheda fortfc^ 



THE PMI HATU CMIHITTEB. 171 

wMierinf-^tUts. The bricks of which this house is built 
Mreie made in the county of Meath, and lire of a very pecu? 
liar colour aud excellent quality. 

Widb-Strbst CpMMissioNBBS.-^The commissioners 
for << opening wide and convenient streets'' were appointed 
lU 1703, when the first improvement they made was, to open 
a passage from the Castle to Essex-bridge ; after which, 
thoy were directed to improve the city genei«lly, by open* 
ing wide avenues. Their funds for the purchase of houses 
aro derived partly from parliament, from a tonnage on 
coals imported to Dublin, and from a card tax levied fron| 
th^ citiaens. The next improvement was the opening of 
Pame-street, so as to form a proper avenue from the seat 
of government to the Parliament^house. Westmorland- 
street. Sackville-street (formerly Drogheda^street), and 
Cavendish-row, and the passages along the river on both 
sides, are lasting n^onuments of the labours of this useful 
body. The last improvement was the opening of D'Olier 
and New Brunswick?streets -, and from the end of York? 
street in Auqgier-street, a passage will be continued to St. 
Patrick's Cathedral, forming one direct and splendid com- , 
munication between Stephen's Green and that venerable 
edifice. The improvements in the vicinity of the other 
cathedral are going on with rapidity. Numerous other 
avenues have been opened, which it would be impossible 
to enumerate h^re; but the best argument in favour of 
the proceedings of this board, is the magnificence of the 
fivonues and streets of Dublin. 

The improvements lately made in the vicinity of St. 
Patrick's Cathedral have been spoken of under that ar* 
licle [p. 601 

The Board meet at the Seoi)etai7's house in Blessington- 
street, where their proceedings may be seen, contained in 
^ folio volumes of manuscript, numerically arranged. 

Tub Pipb-Water CosiMiTTBBr^instituted for tne nur- 
pose of supplying the city with water, is composea of 
nien^bers of tne corporation solely ; via. the Lord Mayor 
and Sheriffs, 12 Aldermen, and 24 of the Common Conn-" 
ciL They have the power of levying taxes for the supply 
of pipes, and paving the streets atter they are laid, and 
holding a meeting every Monday at the city Assembly- 
roo|o in William-street) at th^ corner of Coppinger's-row* 



172 CUSTOM House. 

There are three basins attached to Dublin for the sup- 
ply of fresh water, one at the end of Basin-lane in James's* 
street,' which is an English mile in circumference,- and 
round which is a broad gravel-walk, formerly one of the 
most fashionable promenades in the vicinity of Dublin. • 
< A second basin is situated' on the high ground at the 
upper end of Blessington-street, also encompassed by a 
terrace, and enclosed by a strong close hedge, tor the sup- 
ply of the north side of the city ; and the third is on the 
banks of the canal, near Porto-bello harbour, to feed the 
pipes in the south-eastern part of Dublin. 

The water was formerly conveyed by wooden pipes from 
these basins through aU the streets, and a leaaen pipe, 
inserted in the main, supplied each house. It being 
found, however, that the wooden pipes were subject to 
very speedy decay, and consequently superinduced enor- 
mous expence, metal pipes were- adopted in 1802, and 
have been continued ever since. A new tax was imposed 
on the citizens, for the accomplishing of this object, called 
the " Metal Main Tax,'* which they have not borne with 
much good feeling, and it will, in all probability, be shortly 
removed. 

The Custom House. — ^Tlie old Custom House stood 
near Essex-bridge, between Essex-street and the river, 
and was built m the year 1707. It must have been 
inconvenient for business ; besides which, the navigation 
of the river could not be improved, owing to a bedDf 
rocks which extended across the river, opposite to the 
building. These circumstances induced the Commis- 
sioners to erect a new and capacious Custom House nearer 
to the mou'h of the river: accordingly they chose the 
present site on the north bank, on Eden Quay ; and since 
this quay has been opened and its walls completed, there 
is, perhaps, no city in Europe that affords a cottp d'ceil 
more magnificent than the panoramic view from Carlisle- 
bridge. From this point the spectator beholds Sackville- 
street with the Post-office and its beautiful portico. Nel- 
son's Pillar, and the Rotunda; in the distance — ^the south 
front of the Custom House with the quay walls and ship- 
ping — Westmorland-street with the portico of the old 
House. of Lords, and the north pavilion of Trinity Col- 
lege— and D'Olier-street, with the Dublin library, a 



liluEidsoBie stoBe building, terminated by a vie>v of tbe 
ftmnl of tbe new^gquare of Trinity College. In oonse- 
quenoe of tbe violent opposition of Lord Shannon, to the 
paasinfl of tbe Bill through tbe Irish House, not only was 
the building of the new Custom House delayed, hut the 
Arst stone was laid, almost in secret, by the Bight Hon. 
John Beresford. 

This edifice, the second building.in Dublin in point of 
extreme elegance of workmanship, is an extensive pile, 
ftnd if we except, perhaps, its proximity to the water's 
edge, admirably situated ; yet, although its contiguity to 
the river is a defect, as far as beauty is ooncerned, it is 
convenient for the despatch of business. 

There are four fronts, accurately correspondinff to the 
four cardinal points. The south or principal front, 
which is entirely of Portland* stone, extends 8/5 feet, and 
the depth of the building from north to south is 209. 
The central part which is 130 feet in breadth, is continued 
from the north to the south front, and forms the partition 
between two spacious court^yards, which were indispen- 
sable in %f!ovding light to the apartments in the interior 
or central part of the building. In the centre of this 
f^nt is a portico of four Doric columns supporting an en- 
tablature, with a fine projecting mutule cornice, and a 
frieze enriched with the heads of oxen connected by fes- 
toons. The tympanum of the pediment is decorated with 
a group of figures in alto relievo, Britannia attended by 
Strength, Justice, Naval power and Victory, Hibemia 
and Britannia embracing each other, and holding the 
emblems of peace and liberty. Tliese figures are seated 
in a marine chariot, or shell, drawn by seahorses, and at- 
tended by a crowd of Tritons, after whom appears a fleet 
ef merchant ships, bearing the produce of various nations 
to tbe chores of Ireland, and wafted by the trade wijlds : 
the whole was designed and executed by Mr. Edward 
Sniyth.*-*The attio story, which is the height of the pedi- 
ment, supports four allegorical statues, of Industry, Com? 
merce. Wealth, and Navigation, executed by Thomas 
Banks^ E?q. R. A. of London. Above the portico, is a 
magnificent cupola, resembling those at Greenwich Hos- 
pitS, its dome is 26 feet in diameter, and is supported by 
# columns. On the apex of the dome is a eireular 
q3 



174 CVSTOM HOtrSE. 

pedestal, npon whicli is placed a colossal stataie of Hope 
12 feet hign. The entire elevation to tlie summit of this 
figure is 125 feet. On the key stones of the arches over 
the different door-ways, sixteen in number, are colossal 
heads, emblematic of the different rivers of Ireland, dis- 
tinguished by means of the produce of their banks ; the 
Anna Liffey which runs through the city is represented by 
a female, all the rest by male heads. — ^These also are the 
workmanship of Mr. Edward Smyth, an Irish artist.* 

The pavilUon at either extremity of this fapade has a 
recess with two Doric columns (corresponding with similar 
recesses in the centre pile of the building, one on each side 
the Portico), above which, of the same height as the balus- 
trade and surmounting the cornice of the edifice, is a 
pannel decorated with festoons, and serving as a pedestal 
to a group formed of the arms of Ireland on a shield, 
with the Lion and Unicorn, executed by Smyth. In each 
of the ^rriere-corpstf between the pavillions and centre, 
are seven rusticated arches, and above them three niches 
and four windows placed alternately, all of which are 
crowned with pediments. The balustrade of the pavillions 
is continued over the Arriere-corps, -■ 

The north front is of the same extent and height, but 
being built of mountain-granite, and not so much orna- 
mented, is considerably inferior in point of beauty : be- 
sides the light colour of the Portland stone in the south 
front gives a cheerfulness to its aspect -, the north front, 
perhaps, appears more sombre and majestic, while the 
south exhibits greater taste and elegance. The centre of 
the north front is ornamented by a portico of four columns 
with an entablature, but without a pediment. On the 

* This excellent sculptor was born in the county of Meath, 1746. He was 
intended by his father for the army, in which he himself held the rank of 
Captain ; but having a decided predilection for modelling, yn& placed under 
Verpoyle. His first public work was, the admirable statue of Dr. Lucas, in 
the Exchange. Besides the sculpture at the Custom House, he executed the 
figures at the Bank of Ireland, Four Courts, King's Inns, and the beautifiil 
heads in black stone on the new Castle-Chapel. These, however, he did not 
live to finish, but they have since been completed by his son from his models. 
He died in 1812. He was likewise the sculptor of a beautiful monument in 
St Anne's Church [See p. 71.] 

t Arriire-corps are the receding parts of an elevation, or those betweeii 



CUSTOMHOUSE. ' 176 

entablature^ over the columns^ are figures representing the 
four quarters of the world, executed in a particularly 
chaste and elegant style, by Thomas Banks, Esq., R.A. 
The windows in the north front are decorated with archi- 
traves of Portland stone, and in the recesses at each end, 
between the columns, are doors « leading to the apart- 
ments of the chief Commissioners and other persons who 
reside here. 

The east front is composed of the pavillions of the two 
principal fronts, connected by handsome archways, leadins' 
to the court-yards within the building, with a central 
building about 90 feet in length ; this centre consists of a 
beautiful rusticated arcade, on the top of which is a balus- 
trade. The arches of this front are at present built up 
to form a temporary dry store. 

The west front is two stories in heiffht, the lower one, 
oririnally like the centre of the east mnt, has also been 
buHt up for convenience of storage, but even its present 
state does not injure the tout ensemble. 

The principal entrances, beneath the porticos on both 
sides, are approached by a flight of steps, and conduct to 
spacious halls. The hall belonging to the south entrance 
is an octagonal vestibule below the cupola, and that at- 
tached to the north entrance is very spacious^ and orna- 
mented with columns of Portland stone. 

The ^rand staircase, which leads to the north side of 
the building, has always been considered a most re- 
markable proof of the ingenuity of the architect who 
conducted the erection of this building, as uniting good 
taste, originality of conception, and grandeur of design. 
A flight, of steps, fastened in "the wall, conducts on either 
side to a landing-^place ; from the centre of which landing, 
rises the return flight communicating with the landing 
above, and apparently without any support whatever. 
Tliis is done by making the steps rest on each other in 
arched joints, thus forming a semi-eliptical arch from one 
landing to the other. . <. 

The offices in this building are very numerous and 
commodious, and scarcely an alteration has been made 
since its opening. The Board-room, in which the two 
Poards of Custom and Excise sit, is in the centre ,of th^ 
ttorth front, lighted by three circular-headed window! 



I7f €T7$T0IMOMI MC!KS« 

wlthphti^flM- The CornqptiaiionerB' Court is slflo a vwf 
el^gwdl roQiUj d^ornted with columns. The only offioe 
wonli ^he attention of A vietitorb the Xiong^roem, which, 
M it n^eiMures 70 fe^t hy 65, is nearly a square, although 
It has been fjways denowinated the Long^FOom. A range 
of Composite columns, 12 feet distant from the wall, sup- 
port an arehed ceiUnsf, lighted by two circular lanterns, 
ornamented with stucco-work ; besides which, thei^ are 
Pioclesian windows above the entablature. The space 
between the wall and the columns is enclosed by a range 
of counters, behind which are placed the officers to transact 
business^ In this room forfeited goods are sold, s^d sales 
by inch of candle conducted. . The architeet of this truly 
magnificent pile was the late James Gandon, Es(^.* of 
whose professional taste and ability this structure wUl be 
h lasting momprial, for it is decidedly one of the finest 
pieces o? architecture in Europe, The estimate for the 
erection of the Custom House laid before the House of 
Commons, was 163,363/.; but from unavoidable circum- 
9tences4 it afterwards amounted to 360,000/. 

Cp8TQ¥ Pouen DooKs.— To the east of the Custom 
House i» a wet dock 400 feet Jn length by 200 feet in 
breadth, faoed with lime-stoue, and of depth sufficient to 
float anv vessel that cm enter the river. About 12 years 
since, the Spit-fire, «k twentyrgun ship, which was driven 
up the river by the severity of the weather, took shelter 
here. This docki which communicates with the river, and 
is kept pf sufficient depth to float large vessels, by means 
of a sea^jlock, w»s opened in 1796, and cost about 80,000/. 
which, added to diuerent items for furnishing the interior, 

• Tliis entemt avdiiteet died In 18t4, at Ganon-Brook, near Lucan, at tte 
«|e of 8S. 06 studied hia pTofesion under Sir W. Cbamben, and was the llMt 
ivhtt 0^i>ed » gold medal for anOatetiture at Oie Uoy^i Aeademy^ Somfnet 
Monufi. Premiuins for a design for the Exchange at DuUin having been olllered 
|»| publiQ adyerUsem^Qt, Mr* Gandon scfit in one whipl| ob^ined the third 
ipftmium, and whose merit procured for him the regiurd of the Earl of Charle- 
noiit, Golonel Burton Oonyngham, and other patrons' and admirers of thf 
Fine Arts, Besides the noble edifices with which he adorned this oity, asijF 
ling)^ <me of which w^ld seeure tQ Iiim a reputation 4^r superior talent in 
his p^^ession, he designed the Court Hous^ at Waterford, and that at Nottipg* 
hsm. He also published, m conjunction with Mr. Woolfe, th? two Slupple: 
mfntvy Volumes to th« Yitruvius Britannicus. Mr. Gandon wa? one of tl|f 
eri^nal Members of the Royal ri1«h Aqjdeiny, and r^n9W <rf |h»^0Cl^ of 
^MMMssilifi Londoot ' * r- > ■ 



CUfilOM-HOUSE DOCKS. 177 

makes the total expense of opening the Custom House and 
Dock, &c. above 300,000/. 

A range of stores was carried round this dock, which 
the increase of commerce, during the French war, ren- 
dered it expedient to remove, for the purpose of excavating 
new docks, and building more extensive storage. — ^The 
first store to the east is for general merchandize, and is 
500 feet in length, by 112 in breadth : to the east of this 
is the new basm, 330 feet by 250, faced with lime- stone, 
and communicating with the river by a sea-lock. A dock 
of still orreater dimensions^ 660 feet by 300, to the north 
of this, 18 just now completed. To the east of the new 
basin is the tobacco store (500 feet by 160, and capable of 
containing 3,000 hogsheads), the plan of which was 
given by John Rennie, Esq. In this store, which is nOw 
completed and in use, there is not one particle of wood or 
other combustible matter. There are nine vaults beneath, 
which altogether afford perfect and convenient storage for 
4,500 pipes of wine, allowing a walk behind the heads of 
the pipes as well as between them ; these vaults are lighted 
by means of thick lenses set in iron plates in t)ie floor .of 
the tobacco store ; but this is not sufficient to supersede 
the necessity of candle light. The interior of the tobacco 
store is extremely curious and interesting : the roof is 
supported by metal frame-work of an ingenious construe* 
tion, and, at intervals, long lanterns are inserted, the 
sashes of which are also metal ; the entire frame-work is 
supported by three rows of cylindrical metal pillars, 26 
in each row ; these rest upon others of granite, which are 
continued through the stone floor into me vaults beneath. 
All the iron-work was ' manufactured at the Butterley-. 
foundry in Derbyshire. — ^The only inconvenience at pre- 
sent felt in this store, is the excessive heat, which, in 
all. probability, can be remedied by a proper system of 
ventilation. • 

- Inmiediately adjoining the tobacco store is an extensive 
yard for bonding timber, which is of great advantage to 
the timber merchants ; and at a short distance to the east, 
is an extensive store for whiskey, erected- by the Board of 
Excise, consisting of two stories of long arches of brick- 
work, with openings in the top to admit light. 

The mi^nagement of the imports and exports of Ireland^i 



179 Tim W^AU MCOHANOB. 

Il intruiM (0 Hftsk GammUwonera appointad by kit Ma- 
jesty ; and against their decision a l\A\ of appeal is open 
' ■ ' •" of t£( " " 



to th^ Lords of t)ia Treasury of the United Kingdom. 
They ara d^o^iqated th^ ComuftisBioners of Customs and 
Fort duties. 

The Board of E^^cise Isolds its meetings in the same 
apartment^ apd consists of t)ie samQ number y the peeuiiar 
employment of this Board ponsists In the regulation and 
cpllectiOQ qf Inland e^eise a|i4 Ui^. 



CQMMERaAL QUILDING8. 

T01 KoTAL ExcHAN0B-9>-ia Situated on Ctork-hill| near 
the Castle ga(e« almofit the highest ground in the oity, and 
has in front one of the longest avenues in Dublin^ com- 
prising Parliament-street, Essex-bridge, Gapel-street, Bol- 
lon-street, and Dorset-street. At whatever side this 
jiuilding is approached, it challenges the architectural 
eritie, and pleases the eye of every spectator. The view 
aeeompanying this article, being taken from the comer of 
JgxchangetStreet, shows Dame-s^feet, terminated by the 
College. This is the most advantageous view that can be 
obtained, £or, owinf to the narrowness of the street, not 
abovQ half the building can be seen from Parliament-street. 

In 1769, premiums were offered for the best design, 
when that ot Mr. Thomas Cooley, an English architect, 
tin then unknown in Dublin, was prefsrved, and to him 
was accordinffly adjudged the first prensium of 100 ffui- 
neas $ while Mr. Thomaa Sandby obtained the second of 
60 guineas $ and Mr. James Qandon was rewarded with 30 
guineal. 

The building of this magnifieent structure was not only 
a Tery great ornament to the city, but an immediate benefit 
to the neighbourhood, for the site pn which it stands was 
occupied by the old Exchange, Lord Cork's house after- 
wards Lucas's cofiee-house, and many mean shops, so that 
one of the greatest thoroughfares in the city was both in- 
convenient and dangerous. 

The Earl of Northumberland, then Lord Lteutenant, 
irave eoo8id«rab]# asustaiiqe to the verebaiits In raUing 



fttndftlbr fktt^elllaiillgr tfroutid and erectiug ftH £!xdiftfkg«. 
PatlkttiiMt mntedT 13,0UO/.> the merehluits subDcHb^d 
Ubei«Uy> afto bf n Bttccefidful deMee made by Df . LucM 
ID pArtiMfteiiti m beh&lf of .the merchants of Dublin, a 
lai^e Mud i^s Waived tod udded to the coUections for the 
btiudiiif of the Ne^ Bxckange. ifi addition to whieh, t 
eofiftideiiU>le aum ^Taa i^sed by lottery schemdii. 

On the Slid of Augusts 1769, the first stone was laid 
by Lord Towfiiend> Lord Lieutenant, and in ten yean 
Arom thttt date> the Exchange was opened fbt the traUsac* 
lion of business. 

The fediiice ia la square of 100 ^et, ^rowiled by a dome 
in the centre, )md has three fronts, all of Portland stone. 
The uonh, mf principal front, has a portico of six Co- 
rinthian columns (those at the extt^mities coupled), 
whose entablature is continued along the three fronts, all 
of which are decorated with Corinthian pilasters, with fes- 
toon«> &c. between the capitals. The top of the buildlnr 
is crowned by a balustrade, except where it is interrupted 
by the pediment oU the north, side; and aboTC this, the 
summit of the dome is Tisihk, but having no tambour it is 
too low to be distinc tly seen. As the si tuation is on an exceed-* 
ittgly Steep hyi» the approaches are somewhat interrupted : 
that to th« pHncipal front is at the western fend, where 
the terrace is level with the street; but the other end 
of this platfol^, or terrace, is blocked up by a high wall, 
surmoilnled by heaty iron railing of enoflnous height, 
gnjatly disfiguring the front of tills light and elegant 

Hits was not part of the oridnal design, but in conse- 
qUeft^ of the sudden ascent or the ground, the architect 
sontiftoed the terrace, Which was accessible at the east bt 
a long imd wide fiight of steps, the west end being level 
with the street $ the terrace was protected by a metal 
haluBtrade testing on rustic work. On the 24th of April, 
1814, h orow4 having assembled on this platform, to 
wittieM tte whipping of ti criminal, the balustrade yielded 
tft the pfessure, and numbers were predpitftted into the 
street. The principal sufiRerers ^irere those who stood 
bdoW) ^oilfee of whom were killed upon the spot, and many 
dreadfully bruised. A view Of the Exchauffe with Uie 
origlM Mii«|ra4e tn Aront, mfty be leen m Mutton's 



180 THE ROYAL EZCHANOB. 

Views of Dublin. Beneath tbe colonnade are three large 
iron gates suspended on Ionic pilasters ; these lead into a 
flagged hall, where are the entrances to theExchange-haH. 
Over the gates and between the pillars are windows orna- 
mented by architraves^ lighting the coffee-room. On 
either side of the portico are two corresponding windows 
resting upon a rich fluted impost or facia^ that serves as a 
cornice to the ground-floor, which is rusticated and un- 
perforated by any aperture, a circumstance that gives a 
peculiar and appropriate character to this structure, while 
it adds greatly to its strength. 

The western elevation does not differ much from that 
on. the north, except that the portico has only four columns 
and no pediment -, and that there is only one window on 
each side, in the inter-pilaster adjoining the portico, the 
other bein^ without any aperture, whatever. The east 
front, which is in Exchange-court, has only pilasters : on 
this side are the entrances to the vaults of the Exchange^ 
which are dry and extensive, and are generally let to 
the Commissioners of Customs, who frequently want 
more storage than the buildings attached to the Custom- 
house afford. 

The ingenuity of Mr. Cooley is no where more con- 
spicuous than m his design ot the interior of the Ex- 
change : the ground plan may be perfectly represented by 
the idea of a circle inscribed in a square, but the beauty 
and elegance of the effect produced, cannot be so readily 
represented by description. 

Twelve fluted columns of the Composite order, 32 feet 
high, form a rotunda in the centre of the building. , Above 
their entablature, which is highly enriclied, is an attic 10 
feet high, with as many circular windows, answering to. 
the inter-columns below, and connected with pendant fes- 
toons of laurel in rich stucco-work, and from this rises an 
elegantly-proportioned dome, ornamented with hexagonal 
caissons. This is deservedly considered a chef-d'oeuvre in. 
the art of stucco plastering, and was executed by the late 
Alderman Thorpe of this city. In the centre of the crown 
is a large circular sky-light, which, with the assistance, of 
the different windows, judiciously dispersed around the 
hull, affords a profusion of light. 

The inter-columns are open below to the ambulatory en« 



. tsw'Rtifr^ ncaasufos. 181 

tomptsBittg Ike.droiilftr area in.tlie centre oftlie bnUdin^. 
Ionic iin)K>st pUasters^ about lialf thehe^bt of tbe colomns 
to which tbe^ are attached, auprport a fluted Irieze and 
eniiched cornice,, aboye which, in the upper, spaces of 
the inter-columns, are pannels. and other . ornaments. 
The ambulatory is much Iovi%r,than the rotunda, being 
covered with a flat ceiling, the height, of the impost 
pOa^ters, with enriched spffits, extended from these 
piasters to others opposite to them a^fainst the wall. 
Between the pilasters are blank arcadesiwith seats. 

Between two of the. columns, immediately opposite the 
north or principal entrance,, is a statue, in bronze, of his 
late Majesty, Geoc^^e IIL, standing on a pedestal of white 
marble, dressed in a Roman military habit, and holding a 
trnnchepn in his right hand. This statue, the workman- 
ship of Van Nost, was a gift of the Earl of Northumber« 
land. Lord Lieutenant (who p^d the artist 700 guineas), 
to the merchants of this city, for the Royal Exchange. 
Over the. statue of his late Majesty, ia one. of the pannels 
beneath the entablature, is a handsome dock. Behind 
the four columns, which are opposite the four angles of 
the exterior wall of the building, desks ate placed, in the 
sioall angular recesses formed, ai; the meeting of the tan- 
gents to the circular hall, which are not only convenient 
•to the merchants, but contribute -to square the ea&terior 
ambulatory, and presenre :an. equal breadth tlie entire 
lej^h of the walk, at every side. 

Both the circular hall and ambulatory are paved with 
square flags, alternately black, and white, and gradually 
diminishing in breadth to the centre of ^e cirde. The 
ambulatories .are lighted by the doors of the norths eifet, 
and west sides, which are half glazed. At the . eastern 
and. western ends of the north front> are handsome oval 
geometrical stair-cases, with ornamented balustrades, 
lighted, by lanterns inserted in a coved cdling, the lanterns 
bSng the precise diameter of the central, well of the -stair- 
case. On the stairs, in the north-western angle, is a beau- 
tifully executed statue of Dr. Lucas (a member of parlia- 
•mient for the city of Dublin, to whom the merchants of 
this dty are much indebted), by Edward Smyth, a 
pupsl 01 Van Nost, and. erected at the public expense : 
he holds in his right hand a copy. of Magpa Ohiarta, and 



1M con iKnuvcBi 

ii dresMd in \h Maatoiial r^bet i •n tbe p«teu! ti a 
bM-relief of Liberty, witk Kcf wand and eap. V«t& Km 
and YA9 pupil ware cavployed by tbe trastaes to execute 
models in wood of tbe mtended n^re, whiob were aeeovd- 
ingly rabnitted at tbe appointed time for tb^r inapeotion ; 
but tbe modal of tbe master being oonsldered on too large 
a soale, Smytb's was on tbe pcdnt of belne eboaen, wben 
Van Neat begvfed a postponeiaent of tbe cboiee for a sbort 
pwiod longer, in tbe intervnl be <Mit bit mo«hl in two» 
and omittM part of tbe centre, and tbua preiented it a 
aecond time for ^dgmenti but tbis alteration bad- so 
ebeated erery otber part of tbe figure of its fbir pvopop- 
tloas^ tbat Sraytb'i model was immediatelr ebotan, and 
tbe copy completely Juttiftea tbe selection of tbe onglnal. 

Tbis stair-case leads to tbe Coffee-room, tbe Court of 
Bankrupt Commissioners, &c. Tbe Coi^-reom is im- 
mediately orer tbe entrance on tbe nortb, and tbe otber 
apartments are over tbe ambulatories. 

Tbe ceilbgs of tbose stair-oases are riobly decorated witli 
stucooxwc»rk ; and in some of the oompartments are casta 
of several flrnres found in tbe ruins of Hereulaneum, 
wbiob being laid on coloured gvounds are distinctly seen. 

Tbe Trustees of tbe Royal Excbange are, tbe Lewd 
Mayor, Higb Sberiift, City Representatives, and City 
Treasurer, all w qfich ; togatber ivitb fourteen mercbanta. 
-«Tfaere are only two officers attacbed to thi^ eataUisli- 
ment, viz. tbe Secretary or Registrar, and tbe Ooflfee-roena 
keeper. 

Tbe ii^crease of mercantile business called for ad^tioaal 
acebmmodation for brokers, &c. j in censeeuence of 
wUch, tbe Commercial Buildings were erected in Dam^' 
street, to supply tbe want of a sufficient number of offioea 
in the Exchange \ p^baps, either building is new suffi- 
ciently extensive and commodious for an Biicbange. 

Conv BxcBAWOB BurL]>iNGa.^Tbe corn merehants of 
Dublin being much inconvenienced by not having any 
welKsituatad market to expose their grain for sale, aaao- 
dated for the purpose of providing -themselves witk one, 
and petitibnea for, and obtained a Charter of Incoppora- 
tion, during tbe government of Earl Whitworth, In 18ild, 
under the nanje of «* The Com Exchange BuildipM' 
©ampany.'^ TMy f^ndft were at ^r»t ^iefty deriMi 



ies 

tatt«lftMi^tieiiii of SOL «aoli, by thtt mvmhetltoi tlit 
Miodstloii» wid Inire is gli^eti In the OlMrter to lii«r«M6 
eij^tid^ stiK^ lo 16)0001. ! but « getiend MieAbly may 
■ MMut Stock to dofiMo that sum, on eeitaln eoftditioiis. 
•—The basinesB of the company is maiAged bt a committee 
of 15 dinctore, who meet in 9k room ift tae Com Ex* 
chaiife Buildiogs. 

Thu edifiee presents a handsome firont Of mouatala-^ 
mnite to Bufffh Quay, oonsistiiuf of two stories t ih the 
fowBr, whieh is omamtNited with mstic work» aire two 
doorwavs^ of anheiirht quite disproportioned to thAt of 
the baildiiig itedf, ornamented by pillars of Piortland 
atone* The seeond story is decorated by five lam 
windows inth architraves^ and pediments alternately cir* 
cnhir and aupilar ; and along ^he summit is a rich cortiioe. 
The south mnt, which is towards Poolbef-street» is of 
brick. 

The interior is a lanre hall laOfeet iu kngthi estttidini^ 
from Burv h Quay to Foolbeg-street $ the centre of ^vhich 
is divided from the ambulatories on either side by a rimge 
of metal piUars^ above which is an entablature continued 
around the centre hall : above this entablature is a ranffe 
of windows which are continued umntetruptediy routid, 
so as to form a lantern the si«e Of the quadranru&r spaee 
below. The ceOing of the lantern is ornamented by stuceo- 
woik, and in the south end of it is placed a dock eucir- 
ded by oak leaves^ sheaves of corn and implements of 
husbandry^ all in stacco*work. 

The hall and ambulatories are furutshed with tables 
surrounded by ledge boardSf to lay com samples upon on 
maiket days ^ and from the letting of those tables, and the 
rent of a large room in the front of the building, for 
public dinners and as8emblies> the interest of the shaves 
ttwdd. 

The total expense of completing this building i« esti- 
mated at 22,000/., and is to be defrayed by a toll of 9^. 6if. 
ner ton on merchandize imported into Dublin. The 
JLesign was not given by any particular person^ but was 
composed from dlderent elevations. 

Turn CoMiisBOiAi/ Buit.Diiros«^The business trans- 
anted in the Exdiange being so eircumscribed-^-merelv the 
littiduwo of bills on LoadMi^ It i« opened only on tA6nr 



184 TUB oosiamBtuas4aauDma^ 

days, Wednesdays, «aiid Fridays, from three to fomr iii-tke 
aftemoon. A stranffer TiBitiii^ it at any other hourHU* on 
any other day wonld naturauy inquire what thai noble 
edifice was employed for, or wnether there was commer- 
cial business in Dublin to rec^uire so splendid an Ex- 
change, liowever, from some illrfated regulations, loiiflr 
after the opening of the Royal Exchange, on Gork-hill, 
the merchants .assembled in vast numbers, in Orampton- 
court, opposite Palace-streiiet, to transact business.' 

This sy&tem called loudly forreform> and the merchants 
determined, in a spirited manner, to relieve themselves ; 
accordingly a subscription was raised, principally on 50/. 
debentures, amounting to 20,000/. ; besides tnis; 13,000/. 
was raised as a loan guaranteed by government; and 
5,000/. by the sale of groui^ds. After this fund was col- 
lected, the site of the old Post-office, and one- end of 
Crown-alley, were purchased by the trustees to erect the 
Commercial Buildings, the first stone of which was laid 
July 29th, 1796 ; jand the building was fiiushed,^ after a 
design of Mr. Parks, in 1799. 

The front of this building, which is on the north side 
of College Green, in the centre of an extremely elegant 
row of lofty houses, is of mountain-granite, three stories 
kigh. A rusticated basement, in which is the door-way, 
with Ionic pillars, and six large circular-headed windows, 
supports two stories, with windows ornamented by archi- 
traves.; those of the first .floor are crowned by pediments, 
alternately^ circular and angular, and the summit of the 
front is finished by. a. handsome stone cornice. 

The hall, which is very spacious and lofty, b -peculiarly 
appropriate to the objects of this building ; on the right- 
hand side is. an Assurance and Notary-Public's Office, and 
on the opposite the Coffiee-room, a noble room 60 feet by 
32, well supplied with domestic and foreign papers, tables 
of imj^orts and exports, and every species of mercantile 
advertisement : indeed, the convenience and advantage of 
this apartment has caused a total desertion of the Ex- 
change cofiee-room^ Notwithstanding its great length, it 
is well lighted, having three large windows at either end. 

The nuddle stoij contains several elegant apartments : 
one in the front of the building is a private suDscription- 
roomi .bohwd whichj is « large room used for a Stock 



Hhm sad four o'elock In the sfterno^il. The nlm^ltif 
|lth of tfali story and hU t^ upper one are appr6priated 
M la botel> for the accommodation of foreign merckants, 
or Indeed «f ady respectable persona who prefer tills part 
ef the town for a temporary residence. 

Aihiad this buiiding is a handsome sqtilti*e> cOBtalaing 
the offices of the Marine and GommerdM Iiisnraneei wim 
those of many brokers -, here also^ in fine weather, tlM 
merchants assemble to buy, sell^ and oxliibit samplel^ 
On the north ride of this square Is a door^way comma* 
nieating with Cope^street, and affording a thoronghtee 
ftVm Dame^stnset to the baoie streets near the riTen 

CnAiinnn of OoMMBnon.r*^About thirty years since, a 
Chamber of Commerce w&s first establishea in this city, 
whole principal object was to protect its commercial in^^ 
terestn ; but after an existence of sef^ral years, it discon* 
tiimed its meetings. 

On November 16th^ 1820, a gmtifA meeting of mers. 
chants was held in the Commercial Buildings for the pur*- 
^se of formii^ ttiemsdres into an association to be 
odled ''The Chamber of Oommerce of the City of Dublin/' 
•^The proceed olijects of thii association are the protec- 
tUm and promotion of the manufacturing and commercial 
i&teroits of the city in particular, and of the kingdom in 
Kettend.-^]Viembers at« admitted by ballot. 

An annuid general assemUy is held on the first Tuesday 
^ December for elec^g officers i the principal of which 
art % president, fonr vice-presidents and a council of 
twenty^our. These representatit^i, whenevet it may b« 
TOfidnl^ are to hold Intercourse with the officers of the 
Crown, in the name and on- l^e behalf of the chamber. 
TheDfllee U In the Commercial Bnildings. 

SArrKOs' BAMn.-<^At St. Petei^s Parish Savings' Bank, 
which was establiihed Feb. 16th> 1813, deposits are re- 
cdved, of not less than ten pence, and accumulate witti 
<Nni^nnd tnierest ^ but no computation of Interest is 
ttttte upon any sdm less than 12«. iJ,, after which amount, 
UH depoaits bear 4 per cent pet* ann. The Saring^s Bank 
MMsnttres bear 4/. I \». dd pef cent, but the lU. Sd, goes 
to pay the enpoMei of, ^e institnthm i theirs iiM various 
'itraMoiisiatheMliuinMtisaty to ttiontioft Mrei it is 
it3 



186 Tse torn a&vkxm hall. 

suffident to ehe^ the fereneral prindples^ and also t^e grettt 
utility of the estaWBhment. In the' space of two year? 
and a half there has been received from depositors the 
sum of 45^000/.^ and^ after repayments, there remained 
(June 28th, 1821), the sum of 23,000/. A depositor can 
draw his money, by gfinng one week's notice. The bank 
is kept at No. 46, Cuffe-street, and is open every Monday, 
from tliree to five o^clock. The deposits are daily increas- 
ing, and on the 25th June, 1821, 1,138/. was received in 
the short space of two hours. The bank is governed by. a 
president (the Lord Chancellor), eight vice-presidents, 
twelve trustees, and a mana^g committee of fifty-two 
gentlemen; and the business is transacted by two of 4he 
members of the managing committee, and the treasurer. 

Gas Light Company.' — ^In 1820, an act was passed for 
lighting the city with (jfas, and twenty-nine commissioners, 
or proprietors (at the head of whom is his Grace the 
Duke of Leinster) were appointed, who have permission 
to conduct the lighting of the. city, under certain re* 
strictions. It is in the first place required that 50;000/. 
shall b0 subscribed, before the act be executed, and in 
case that sum be insuflcient, a further sum of 12,500/. 
may be raised. It is further strictly enjoined that the 
gasometer be erected in, a suitable place, and the refuse 
not permitted to run into the river Liffey. The pro- 
Tisions of the act enable the qommisaioners to procure 
a supply of gas, for illuminating, the streets and squares, 
at a r^sonable charge, whenever they require it^ As 
soon as the sum of ten-thousand pounds sludl be accu-* 
mulated, by savings set apart at the rate of five per cent 
per ann. ansing from the profits, a dividend shall be made 
of the promts and not bef<N%. 

The afiairs of the company are conducted by a go^ 
vemor, deputy governor, five directors, a treasurer and 
clerk. The office is situated in Foster-placCi College- 
green. ; 

There is a second called the " Hibernian Gas Light 
Company,^' whose office is in Palace^treet. These tW4> 
Companies have agreed to divide the lighting of the dty, the 
one to light the mrth the othej; the South side. There i& 
also an Oil Gas Company established in DubUn. 



STOTe^FHNmibHdtTSB. 187 

Tke boildinff oecupies a space ofigfronndof nearlv 
three acres, and contains 657 apartments ^ 492 of which 
are appropriated to the storage oi linens, and the remainder 
for yarn. These apartments are kept in order by tilie 
Linen Board, from the funds intrusted to their care by 
parliament, for the use of the trade ; and dealers in the • 
connti^' forward their linens to thb building as smts their 
convendence. At first three markets were held in the year, 
namely, in Febtuair, June, and October ; but, since the 
increase of the trade, and the great facility afforded in 
trayelling, the English buyers resort hither at various 
other periods. Here may be purchased linen of every 
description, from the finest damask, to the coarsest 
fabricks ; thus furnishing a great and constant mart. The 
Yam Hall is the ^eat d^p5t for the sale of this article 
from various counties, which, in consequence of the re- 
gulations established by the board, has become of vast 
importance. All. these concerns are under the care of a 
Chamberlain, whose duty it is to superintend them, and 
report 'when any vacancy occurs in any of the rooms 
(which are granted by the board during pleasure to the 
different factors), and to check any impropriety on the 
part of the servants of the establishment. Kegular gate- 
keepers smd watchmen are attached to the hall, and a fire- 
engine with, a suitable establishment ', and the greatest 
care is observed to prevent any accident either by fire or 
stealth. An account is kept of aU Linen and Yam coming 
in andffoing-out of the building, and the greatest regu- 
larity observed in every department. This valuable mart 
of our great -staple manufacture is well worthy of inspec- 



Stove TentbrpHousb.— What one great and good man 
can effect, towards ameliorating the condition of his fellow 
creatoresy is strikingly proved by the following sketch of 
the Stove T^iter-house, in Brown-street, erected by 
Thomas Pleasants, Esq. in 1815, for 12,964/. In the 
space of twelve months 1018 pieces of cloth were tentered, 
1588 chuns or warps were sized and dried, and 1450 stones 
of wool were dyed, beneath the shelter of this truly cha- 
ritable asylum. 

Before the erection of this building, the poor weavers 
la the liberty were whoUy destitute 9f employment in 



Ill mmtifwnniMvmL 

irftlny weftther, or else efid«Avotfred to tenter tkek clit&d 
U^te tie ale-kdoM fire ) ftnd heiiisa «aEpo««d to ^reat dif'. 
treiK, tod ncrt urtfreqti^tly reduced Mther to tJB^ hmpiud 
lorthegML 

After the bnildittg of fUe Tefiter-hoiise. during tk^ 
seiisoti of extreme and g«»iei«l ilH8tr«6«, in 1816» not om 
woollen -weaver was fbnnd iin|>lorin^ relief, or wittiin the 
Wftlls of a priaon; need we wonder then at the extmragant 
t^esfthigffi and prayers bestowed b^r thirty thousand persons 
on one of the noblest eharactersy in point of fvs^ bene- 
ficenee and patriotisnii that ever adorned this country. 
'l*he stranfirer will learn with gkidnes8« that Mr^ Pleasants 
lived to witness the matured success of this tmly-benei^ 
relent desirn^ 

The buildioif, which is situated between Cork and 
Brown streets, a little to the east of the Fever Hospital^ 
is A brick edifice 275 feet in length> and three storicakigh. 
In the centre is a cupola and spire, and at either extremity 
a pavilion, in the pediment of which are the weavers' 
arms. The lowest story contains the stoves by which the 
horieontal fines, the lengfth of the whole buildings, are 
heated : the upper ones contain the tenter fifamel, whlck 
%r& capable of being expanded or contraetedj so as to 
streteh the cloth to any degree of tension. The he«t 
ascends without interruption to the vei^y roo^ the fioorsof 
the upper stories being composed of bars of hammerad 
lrott> placed parallel^ and at Intervals f^ni each other^ and 
the olbth is conveyed away upon a small dray^ runnii^ on 
the parallel bars as on a rail-way. 

fW every piece of cloth dried in the ivinter oiontht the 
charge is 3s. Ad, ; and for other articles, prices in propor*- 
tron } hi summer^ when fire is not required, it is less. 

On the fft>nt lawn is a spa^ rising at a depth of 46 fiMt 
ftom the suri^eej through a bituminous lime«4toitis wIMi 
tbounds in this part of the city > it has been anidyxed by 
!>r. Barker, Professor of Chemisiry in the tJnivetlHty, 
4kA recommended in cutaneoua and bilious e<»ii]ptaint». 



189 



HOSPITALS AND MEDICAL INSTITUTIONS. 

RoTAL Hospital, KilhAinham. — Before the year 606 
there was a priory; on the south side of the city, botfar 
from the Liffey, called the Priory of Kilmugnendy from 
St. Magnend^ whose festival was observed the iSth De- 
cember. Within the cemetery of this priory, in a place 
now oalled the Hospital Fields, a lofty stone pillar otrude 
workmanship is pointed out as the burying-piace of Brian 
Boromhe, King of Ireland, and Murchad his son, who 
fell in the baUie of Clontarf in 1014 j but this is quite 
erroneous,' for the bodies of Brian and his son were borne 
from the field of battle to the monastery of St. Cplumba 
at Swords, seven miles north of Dublin, and were there 
laid in state,' until Mselmurry Mac Eoch, Primate of 
Armagh, arrived with the sacred reliques, and removed 
them to his Cathedral, where they were solemnly interred 
in stone coffins, according to the request of Brian him- 
self. The pillar which is sho^vn, is the remains of an 
ancient cross.. 

On the site of Kilmaignend was erected the ancient 
priory of Kilmainham, established in 1174, by Richard 
Strongbow, -Darl of Pembroke, for Knights Tehiplars, 
imder the invocation of St. John the Baptist ; and a con- 
toiatipn was granted by Henry II., the same year. 
After bestomng the lands of Kilmainham on this pnory, 
Strongbow expired in 1176, and was interred in Christ 

The first prior was Hugh de CloghaU, who held that 
oflke about 1190, after whose government King John 
granted to' the City of Dublin, that " the Knights Tem- 
plars, or Hospitallers, should hold neither person or 
messuage exempt from the common customs of the city, 
one alone excepted.'' 

Edward II. having sent a mandate, the Templars were 
seized upo;i in 1307, on the day of the Purification, in 
every part of the kingdom, and confined in the Castle of 
Dublifi; The iiistitution of the order of Knights Tem- 
plars was peculiarly calculated to suit the romantic and 
chivalxouB age in which it urose, Tiz« about U18, aodto 



190 AOYAL HOSPItM. KILMAnmAU. 

powerful was its influence, that, during the 200 y^arS 
whick this order existed, it had actually acquired lo^OOO 
lordihlps. Their conduct* however, afforded ample 
grounds to the avaricious and designing Philip of France> 
to impeach their reputation ; and upon charges of sorcervi 
idolatry, and other dreadM crimes^ to conflsoate their 
estates and iinpiiaon their persons. JSdward II. followed 
this example ^ and after a solemn trial held in Dublin, 
before FViar Richard Balybyn, Minister of the order of 
Dominicans, the Templars were condemned, but more 
in conformity with the general feeling of die rest of 
Europe, than from any evidence of their infamy. 

The lands and pessessions of this priory were thea 
bestowed upon the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem hj 
the Pope, and the gnuit confirmed by tiie King ; and it 
became an hospital for guests and strangers, to the com* 
plete exclusion of the infirm and sick, who had been 
alwavs received by the Knights Templars. The priory 
was nenoeforth held by persons of great rank, and many 
priors were also chanceuors and Loras Deputy of Ireland, 
and every prior sat as a Baron in the House of Lords. 

James Keating, prior in 1482, having s^aed On the 
Castle of Dublin, and disposed of the property of the 
hospital, was removed from his offioe« and excommu- 
nicated. But Keating seized on Marinaduke Lomle^, the 
-person appoiAted to succeed him, and compelled him to 
resign. He next lent his warmest support to the scheme 
of raising Lambert Simnell to the throne of England. It 
was then enacted that the prior of KUmainhaia should 
henceforth be a person of English descent $ and John 
iUw80n> an Epghshman, was elected prior» some years 
siker Heating's excommunication. In ld35, Uawson^ with 
the coasent of the chapter, surrettdered the priory and all 
ite possessions to the King, for which he was created Vis- | 
count Olontarf, with a salary of 500 marks. , 

Archbishop Brown, obtained a licence from Henry VIII. 
fMarchdth. 1545, the year before that monarch's death, 
to unite the church of St. John the Baptilt, at Kilmain- 
ham, and that of St. Jaines without the suburbs, to the 
ehurch of St. Catharine within the suburbs. But Cardinal 
Pele» the Pope's legate, restored the prior of Kikaainham 
to hit ^vthonty ^about twelve years afferwsamti ; mA March 



8t1i, 1|I]P, Maiy coaiirmed him in hto poMeairfoiit^ Md ve- 
|ft»pted the pmry to Sip Oswald Masslnrberd, who held 
theoifio^ HAaltheieeond year of Queen Ensabeth, when it 
was annexed to the crown, and continued so until the veigu 
of Ol^arles II. The property of the pHory was graduaUy 
disponed of to private persons, for pecuniary consideratioa^ 
and to the cathedral and churehes gratuitously. 

About l&f5, Arthur, Earl of Granard, first entertained 
thel^ of instituting an asylum fbr invalid superaBnuated 
sojdiers ; and Arthur Capel, Earl of Essex, thel^ Lord 
Lieut^nanl, was so much struck with the nobleness of 
the plan, that he directed a proper site to be forthwith 
selected ; nothing further, however, was done 4\iriag 
his government. Afterwards owing to the inoessant ap- 
plicatiqu oif the Duke of Qnnon<i> on the same suK- 
jeet, Charles H. was induced to grant his request. A 
OQmmittee was appointed (Oct. 27th, 167^,) to make an 
estimate of the number of invalids requiting accommoda- 
tion, and to Inspect the ground within the park wal), on 
tlie south of the riyer. 

The first stone of the edii^oe was laid by his Graoo^ 
April 29th, 1680 1 and the second by Francis Earl of Long- 
ford, Master-general of the Ordnance. It was built after 
a design of sir Christopher Wren, and wa6 completed in 
le^s than three years, fbr 28,5591.* 

In )988.Hichard7albot, Earl of Tyrconnel, represented 
toJamee II. that the charter wais defectives and Lord 
Chancellor Fltton declared, that the tenure of the hospital 
and lands, ^* to be held for ever in Prank Almoigne,^ was 
])]ega],|wherettpon they supplicated his mijeaty to withdraw 
the chartor. Lord Tyrco^nel the^ bei^i^e ^bsqli^e master, 
admitted Roman Gatholies to ^ benefits of the hospital, 
and hadthe servioe of the church of Rome celebrated in the 
l\ospital cbanel. T^he charter, howevfT, was preservecj l)y 
Robert Curtis, ^Rsj, Registrar, who escaped with \t into 
Bngtiad, aud detained it in his. cu^tpdy, j^ntU he s^r^ 
readered it to Charles Fielding the Master, some time after 
Jameses abdicatioa. 

'fhe blading, which h fto^r ipost compionly called the 
OW Mfe^ji's llpspitM* i» ^ Pi^ ^ (eet by m> Uy'm W 






9i B07A& B08HYAL XILlfAI!THAIL 

its interior a liandsome court-yard, 210 feet square, with 
grass plats, intersected by four walks meeting in the 
.centre; this is surrounded on tliree sides and part of the 
fourth by a piazza (13 feet wide) formed by 59 Doric 
arches, and affording a covered passage to the dinin^-hall, 
in the centre of the north front. This hall, which is lOO 
feet by 50, has the lower half of its walls wainscotted witli 
oak, and painted white. The guns, swords, &c. are arranged 
as in an armoury, and on the upper part of the waUs are 
twenty-two full-length portraits.* 

A gallery leading from the apartments of the commander 
of the forces (who resides as governor), to the chapel, runs 
along the south side of the hall, supported by brackets of 
carved oak, representing different ngures^ as large as life. 
The ceiling is m a very massive ana heavy style, divided 
into three compartments, the centre one of which is occu- 
pied by the dial of a clock, about 10 feet in diameter. 

At the east end is a large door«way opening into the 
chapel, which is 80 feet by 40. The appearance of the 
-chapel is extremely imposing and venerable; the large 
east window is ornamented with painted glass, and beneath 
is the communion*table of carved Irish oak, beautifully 
executed. The ceiling is coved, and divided into com- 

Sartments of, perhaps, the richest stucco-work in the king- 
om. The governor's seat is beneath a canopy in the 
gallery, at the west end of the chapel ; and there are a few 
pews at either side, for the accommodation of the different 
officers of the hospital. 

The remaining' part of the north side of the quadrangle 
is occupied by the commander of the forces, and ususdly 

• At the wett end, nexttfaegallery. 1. Charles II.— 2. William III. — 3. Queen 
Mary. — 4» Queen Anne.—^. Geoige, Prince of Denmark.— 6. Licmel^vDuke of 
- Dorset, Lord Lt 1794. On the north side^ 7« William, DuIlc of Devonshiie, 
Lord Lt. 1737* — 8. James, Duke of Ormond, Lord Lt 1663. — 9. Thomas Earl 
of Ossory, Lord Deputy, 1664. — 10. Richard, Earl of Arran', Lord Deputy, 1684. 
— 11. Michael Boyle, Lord Primate, a Lord Justice, 1685.— 12. Thomas Lord 
Coningiby, Lord Justice, a 1690.— 13. Sir CyrU Wyche, a Laid Justice, 1695 
---'14. Sir Charles Porter, Lord Chancelknr, a Lord Juatioe, 1696.-^15. Henry, 
Earl of Galway, a Lord Justice,! 697.— 16. Narcissus Marsh, Lord Primate, a 
Lord Justice, 1699.— 17. Charles, Earl of Berkeley, a Lord Justice^ 1699.— 
IS. Laurence, Earl of Rochester, Lord Lieut 1701—19. General Thomas Erie, 
a Lord Justice, 170S. At the east end,- 20. Thomas Knightly, Esq., a Lord 
Justice 1702.— fL Sir Riduurd Cat, Lord Chancellor^ a Lord Justice, 1704.— 
». XJmt«MM3flnenlFXitai#(H«aBiVpi» aZ40iAJurttoes»171S. 



caDed tbe Qoremoi's bouse. These apartments are beau- 
tifolly sittmted, commanding a view of an extensive and 
bigbly-cuhiTated valley, watered by the Lifiej^ and of the 
grounds of Phoenix park, with the Wellington Testimonial, 
the Royal Infirmary, and Sarah Bridge. 

The north front, which contains' the governor's apart* 
ments, ball, and chapel, has a projecting centre, decorated 
with four Corintbianpilasters and a pediment. In this is a 
dooT-way, likewise adorned with pilasters and a semi-cir- 
cular pediment, and above it are the arms of the Duke of 
Ormond ; on either side is one large arched window. From 
this centre rises the steeple, the lower storv of which is a 
smiare tower \nth an arched window on eacn side, crowned 
with a beav^ entablature, and an urn at each angle. The 
second division is of less diameter and height, and contains 
a clock ; the whole terminates in a short spire, with a bidl 
and vane. 

Hie front, on each side of the centre^ has large Icir* 
'cular-beaded windows nearly the height of the building, 
and in tiie roof, which is greatly elevated, are dormers. 

There are upwards of 260 pensioners, who are comfort- 
ably dad and fed, and have each one pound of bread and two 
quarts of beer every day, with eighteen ounces of mutton 
twice a week, and the same quantity of beef on three days, 
with an allowance of cheese on the other days. Sir David 
Baird, when commander of the forces, restored the costume 
worn by the pensioners inthe reign of Charles II. 

At convenient distances round the hospital are different 
offices, viz. the deputy governor's house, the infirmary, 
&c Besides the resident pensioners of this asylum, there 
are upwards of 3,000 out-door pensioners supported by his 
Migesty's bounty. At the institution of the hospital, its 
en>en8es were defrayed by a deduction from the pay of the 
soldiers and officers on actual service, but this has wisely 
been discontinued. The annual expenditure for the sup- 
port of the establishment, is under 20,000/., and that of 
tlfee externa amounts to about 50,000/. 

The approach was formerly through the most disagree- 
able and filthy part of the town, but this is remedied by a 
road through the hospital pounds and Lord Gabvay's 
walk, and is now a'pleasant dnve on the banks of the Lifiey, 
called the Amttary road: the entnace is through an em- 



tetlled gftlemy ea Uiker's Island, aftev t teiM of 
Fimneis Johnsloii, Esq., an arohitaol ta ^htta HuWin is 
Indebud for many of its Meent stracturea and emhc^k- 
menls. 

The principal ofiieers of state ave appointed ffovcrnois 
by okarter. The Master, D^Mity Master, Chaphun, Sur- 
geon, Registrar, &c. reside at the Hospital. 

Blus'GOAvBotb'' Hospital, BuiCKHAiiL-iiTBBmw— tThe 
noblest charitable institution in Dublin b thoOld Blu»X)oat 
Hospital (originally in Queen-street), established at the 
cvpoise of the corporation of Dublin, to whom Charles 11. 
granted a charter for that purpose in i6f0. The original 
plan ivas of a most extensive, and, indeed, im^nctieable 
nature, its ol^ect being to give shelter to all the poor of 
the city 'j but tUs extravagant project was relinqutahed for 
one mbre rational and feasible, namdy, to educate and 
maintain the sons' of freemen who had been unsnccessful 
in trade. The building, although of mean appearance in 
fi^mt, covered a considerable spaoe, and previously to the 
erection of the Paiiiament-iiouse in 1729, the Parliament 
satittthishopital. 

The present edifice, the foundation stone of whiek was 
lidd in If 73> by Sari Hareourt, then Lord Lieutenant, 
stands opposite the extremity of Blaokhall-stoaet, on Ox- 
mantotrai* Green. The architect was Thomas Ivory, 
who also built Lord Newcomen^s Bank in Castle-atnet. 
The front, consisting of a centre and wings, is of Portland 
stone : it extends 30Q feet, and faces a handsome court 
enclosed with iron railing on a dwarf wall. Tlie bod^ of 
the bttildiAg, wliich is 90 feet long by 45 in height, consists 
of a rusticate^ basement, principal floor, and meaafmine ; 
the central division is decorated with four ionic ooininns, 
supporting^ a pediment. The entablature of the order is 
^ntinued along this front, which has two windows, and 
t\vo mezaanineS above, on either side of the centre. Above 
the latter a tower ^vas to have been erected, but for wai|t 
of funds this has never been executed, although tho oeta- 
genal basement has been actually commenced. 

This part of the building is appropriated solely to the 
uf e of the resident officers of thf establishment, such as 
.Qu^laia, Begistrar, Master, &c. with the exception of a 
• ACQiTHptkM<rf<MtiM%orBttlm|tt/«i^ini, * 



BLUMMV MW MWITAL. IM 

B«Mffdttid4bmrd]lMmi tli6 tetter of whlefa f < an ex^ 
tremdy elegant apartment. Here may be seen a draMfing 
<tf the elevaiioa a« it was designed by the architect ; from 
wkieh th^^ h an exccHent eDgraving in Malton's . Viewt^ 
«Hl one itt thoie published bylPdole and Cash in 1760. 

Hie wings are connected to the body by two curved 
screen waUs, ornamented iiath niches, and surmounted by 
a »tone balustrade; behind these screens the different 
l^uUdhgs, which are only jplastered^ are exposed to vieW| 
as weu as the sidee oi the chapel and schookroom. 
^ch considerably diminishes the merit of this very elegant 

l^e wings have a projectlngbreak in the middle^ crowned 
^th 1 pediment, and a toge arched window placed within 
an arcade i on either side of this proiection is a niche with 
a festoon above. There are no windows in the basement, 
l>iit beneath the great window is a lar^e pannel. In the 
north wing is the chapel, 65 feet by 32,* plain but well- 
proportioned : the altar-piece, executed by Waldrb, repre- 
sents the Resurrection. In the opposite wing is the school- 
Joom, where are portraits of George II. and his Queen, 
William and Mary, and some others, which were removed 
Mther from the Tholsel, when that building was taken 
down. There are several buildings at the rear, viz. dormi- 
tories, din]n|^-haU, and In^rmary, also a large bowling* 
reen, whene the boys exercise, 'upwards of §0,000/. has 
«ready been expended, and certainly not less than 10,000/. 
niore would be requisite to finish the building according 
to the original design. 

Tht number of boys is between 150 and 200, the age for 
^ose admission is firom B to 12. At present the fundi 
are incapable of supporting more than 1 10. 

Besides the sons of freemen, who are presented to the 
Itospital bf the corporation, there are seven presented by 
the hord Chief Justice of the King's Benchw 

There are 50 supported on tile establishment by the go- 
vernors of Sir Erasmus Smith's charitable fund. 

Henry Osbom, of Dardlstown, in the county of Meath, 
fisq. beoueathed 1,000/. to this hospital, on condition that 
the Lord Bishop of Meath> as trustee tohis wiU^^ouldhave 
the right of presentation to ten vaeanoies in the hospital $ 
and Jamta SouthweUj Biq* bequeathed a sum ot^^ for 



196 iiAnnns scHooa 

tke BXiwm of two boys, the vacandefl to be filled hj order 
of the Hector of St. Werburgh's parish. 

The revenues of the hospital, wMch arise from yarioud 
sources^ amount to about 4,000/. per annum ; part of 
which is derived from landed property in Tipperary, Wex- 
ford, and Dublin ; 250/. per annum from the corporation of 
Dublin, in lieu of a toll on com ^ and about 300 guineas 
per annum paid by the Lord Mayor BXkd Sherififs on being 
elected; together with the emoluments of the treasurerahip, 
928/. per annum, which Liord Downes (the present Chief 
justice) so charitably resigned for the benefit of the hos- 
pital. The guild of merchants subscribe 20/. per annum, 
for the support of a mathematical master, to instruct 10 
boys destmed for a sea-faring life ; and when the boys are 
sufficiently educated and arrived at a proper age, they are 
apprenticed to persons in respectable trades, with ^ an ac- 
companying fee of 6/^ which is very frequently returned to 
the chanty. 

The manner in which this charity has been conducted 
for a number of years, affords a strong presumption lu 
favour of the system of governinff by a number of respect- 
able persons, not deriving' pecumary advantage from their 
directorships ; for there is not an establismnent in this 
metropolis governed with more prudence, more economiy> 
or upon more libera and independent principles. 

Marine School. — This humane and useful institution, 
which is situated on Sir John Rogerson's quay, on the 
north side of the Lifiey, owes its origin to the umt^ efforts 
of David Latouche, and several other gentlemen, who com- 
miserating the destitute situation of Uiose orphans whose 
parents devoted the most valuable years of their existence 
to the preservation of their country in the war of 1760, 
established an asylum at Ringsend for the purpose of 
clothing, boarding, and educating the orphans and sons of 
seafaring men. Into this establishment, about twenty de- 
serving objects were admifted to the enjoyment of these 
advantages, about the year 1766, and the only fund for its 
support was derived from charitable contributions. But 
80 useful an institution could not long^remain unnoticed by 
a iudicious govemm^t, and on June 20th 1775, the Royal 
Marine School obtained a charter, appointing the Lord 
LkutenRAti thePriwate, the Lord C)»Qcdlor/{he men- 



«UMi Of Mmmm l*f 

hm Iby tke etfr^ this Ldrd Mftyor, tile Mttldr ttiM«r or 
tl« Guild of M«rchatiU, attdihe AithdefteonO^ Dublin, 
dl ftf the time being, gotemort of tbis charity* with 
wh*Bi the ofigiiial founders were by act incorpomied. Th* 
oMetti 6f this iiistitution tire not only to Support these 
ehiMren, but to inaGiict them careftilly in reading, writ* 
ij^i ttithmetic, natigationj and the gack-ed writings, and 
Aftefwatdii apprentice them to masters of vesieli, to whonl 
they ire a fffeat acquisition. 

The establishment is conducted in a most creditable and 
eeonomieal manner by the present master, Mr. Baker, 
whose sagacity readily detected the difficulty of providing 
for boys 80 instructed, after the cessation of hostilities 
and the decay of trade. He has accordingly introduced 
8he«<«aking, tailoting, &c. as a part of theif education ; 
thus reducing the expense of their clothing to less than 
hllf its former amount, and alio proyiding for their (titure 
ittbsiltence, when their apprenticeships shall have explT'- 
cd, and their services, pernajps, be no longer required. 
There ake one hundred and eighty boy« on the establish«> 
ment. 

Th^ building. Which is after a deiiign of Thomas Ivory* 
S«<i., l^ents a front of granite^stone* to the quays* hav- 
ing a cOuirt^yard before it enclosed by a wall ten feet high $ 
and there are wings on either side, one of which is the 
Chanel and the other the iichobl-room. The upper part of 
theh^se is used as a dormitory* and the lower stories give 
accotnmodation to the master, and housekeeper. The 
only room in the establishment, ouite Unfit for the pur- 
pose to which It is applied, is ^e aining-hall* whieh » in 
the underground fttory, and is low* dark* and damp* and 
only requ&es to be vl«i«ed by those in whose power ii is lo 
remedy the evil, to prove its total inadequacy and nnfitnesi. 
The bfinnary is also injudiciously situated,, occfupying a 
room in the centre of the building, and feome years linee* 
when the establishment wai^ not conducted with the care 
tkad ability which marks every part of its present arrange- 
ments, the governors were ooliged to rent a lodging* at 
setae ^stance fh>m Dublin* as an infirmary. 

CdiA)k«n or PHirstciANs* Btn PATkioft Dtm'a Ho»>- 
fvthtJbnuAi body was first incottoorated in the t^gtk of 
Cteltli n., ftui \l9 ttkiufMr thM giuiatid kirviAf Vma 
ed 



198 coufias or mvsici^^n, 

found iAfiUliciexit for tlie purposes for wUch it was de* 
signed,' was surrendered in 1692^ and anew one obtuned 
from William and Mary, incorporating it by, the name of 
tbe King and Queen's College of Physicians in Ireland. 

There are 14 fellows^ one of whom is president ; the 
other officers are a vice-president^ four censors, a treasurer, 
and a registrar. The oikce of president circulates amongst 
the semor fellows of the body ; the vice president is one of the 
censors, and the junior censor is usuallj the registrar. The 
censors are chosen indiscriminately from the fellows at 
large, but the four junior ones are commonly appointed. 
The treasurer is likewise elected from the body of the fel- 
lows. .Their charter conferred on this body considerable 
powers, but as it was not confirmed by Act of Parliament, 
they have not been exercised . Several acts have however been 
passed by Parliament, which con^rm parts of the charter, 
and even confer new powers. The censors are now author- 
ised by law to search the shops and warehouses of apothe- 
caries, druggists, and chemists, and to destroy any articles 
of medicine which are of a bad description. A principal 
share in the conduct gf the School of Physic in Ireland is 
also, bj Act of Parliament, imposed on the College of 
Physicians, and they still possess the power of summoning 
all practitioners of medicine before them in order to be ex* 
amined. 

The objects for which this body is desijgned are nearly 
the same as those of the College of Physicians in London^ 
except that the Dublin College has a considerable Sibare in 
the management of the medical school in Ireland [see 
School of Physic] ; whereas there is no regular school in 
London. The constitutions of both Colleges resemble each 
other, as no physician can be a fellow of either who has 
bot received a regular education, and passed throu^ one 
of the Universities, Oxford, Cambridge, or Dublin. There 
are three classes of members : — 1st, Fellows, on whom the 
entire management of the College depends ; 2nd, Hono« 
rary Fdlows, who cannot take apart in the financial affairs 
of the College, but may be summoned to meetings on ex- 
traordinary occasions, and vote on affairs of general con- 
cern 5 and 3rd, Licentiates^ who have nothing; what- 
ever to: do with the management of the College, but 

may yeir >l90 be sumnioAQdl «£^ occ^QSift 9f vnpoirtdace. 



Thentmlier of fellows is not limited by t}^e Act io 14^ 
wbence^ in case of ill heathy, absence from town^ or otlier 
cause preventing the attendance of any fellow^ tbere are, 
genendlyy two or three introduced above the number, so 
as always to, have a full board. Almost all physicians 
who intend practising in. Dublin find it necessary to take 
licences from the college, for from the internal regulations 
adopted by the members, it would be impossible to attain 
respeetabilitv in the- profession without a licence from the 
Coll^. The candidate for licence is examined during 
two days, on the first in anatomy, physiology, materia 
medica, pharmacy, chemistry and ootany ; on the second 
in aU these branches, and on acute and chronic diseases 
and non-naturals, and in Greek. 

The meetings are held at Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital, in 
a board^room, which the College have reserved for their 
use ; adjoining which is a very valuable library, consisting 
chiefly of old writers on medicine : no addition has been 
lately made to this since the Act of Parliament appropriated 
the surplus of the funds of the estates of Sir P. Dun to 
the erection of an hospital for the use of the School of 
Physic, and, until the execution of that object, it forbade 
the expenditure of any part of that revenue on the library : 
but the hospital bein^ now completed, it is expected that 
the library affsdrs will be taken, as speedily as possible, into 
consideration. 

The officers, consist of a president, four censors, and nine 
fellows. 

The .members of this College are the trustees of the 
estates } bequeathed by Sir Patrick Dun, for the purpose 
of promoting medical education 3 they have the power of 
disposing of the lands, and are constituted, by Act of Par- 
liament, Guardians of the School of Physic in Ireland. 

College of SuRGEOKs^-Though Ireland has always 
been distinguished for producing skilful surgeons, there 
was no regmar system of education establishea there until 
1/84, when a charter was granted for the foundation of a 
College, which held its first meeting March 2nd, in that 
year; fronpi which period the practice of surgery has im- 
proved in a manner creditable to the most enlightened 
nation.. .Candidates are .first examined in classics; they 
aw thftu Vequir^d tq perv^ fOK apprenticeship of five years 



16 » 'nttA6t practitSonei' 5 duting wliicb period lb«y«tvitkl 
hdsbitah afily, and surgical lectures, b^tb in tlic Coll»« 
and privately. No licence i% granted Without a mmit itritt 
examination by a Court of ExamlnerB, who fr«qti«itly 
reject sucb as are capable, without additidnal preparatio&r 
ot obtaining a licence in London^ thereby demonstfatlnr, 
the comparative scrupulousness of the D«iblln College m 
granting licences. 

It is not necessary fbr army or navy surgeons either to 
lerve tht apprenticeship or undergo so serious an eicamlna" 
tion ; as they can obtun a certificate of quidlftcation with 
considerably less trouble. The licentiate who happetis to 
.be rejected, may appeal to a court of twelve examiners, 
who sometimes reverse the form<^r decree. There are sl« 
brofessors \vho give lectures, and are paid by the tickets 
they dispose of to the pupils. The professorships are—1 . 
Anatomy and Physiology ; 2. Theory and Practice of Sur- 
gery; 3. Practice of Physic; 4. Surgical Pharmacy j 5. 
Midwifery, and the Diseases Of Women and ChUdreii j 
and 6. Botany. The annual courses of lectures com- 
mence On the last Monday in October, and all (except 
botany) terminate the first week itt May* Tlie botanical 
course commences in April, and continues during sum- 
mer. 

The lecture-room can accommodate ^ persons, and 
to this there is attached a. gallery, for the pttbllc to wifr- 
iiess the dissection of malefactors. There are, besides, 
two museums (one public, the other private), a dissectintf- 
room on a very ejctensiVe scale, And drjing lofts foir mak^ 
ing preparations J the public dissectmg-rooto contahks 
twenty tables, at each of which two students may be em- 
ployed. The demonstration-room is capable of cotil^d&lttg 
about 100 persons. 

The former College was, situated In the midst cf a 
wretched assemblage of small buildings at the Junction of 
Mercer-street with Johnson*s Place, and adjoining Mer- 
cer*s Hospital; but this bcconiing too ftmall M the hum- 
ber of students, the present buuding was ereoted at an 
expense of ^5.000/. granted by parliam«it fOf that pur- 
pose, on a piece ofgroi^nd In Stephen's Giieeiii at the 
eomef of York-street, Formerly a bmial^tmd of the Q«a- 
km. The fim0to&e was Md 1701 M<««lbl80«M'c«». 



># 



. Assookrum tit mvsieiAKs. 201 

Coke Df Bedford^ Lord Lieutenant. It is a small neat' 
edificeythe front of wMc1i> facing the Green, measures 46 
feet; and it consists of two stories. The basement is 
built of mountain-mnite ; the facade, which is of the* 
Doric order, is of Portland-stone. In the hall, which 
wouldbe grand, butthat it wants height, is abustof hisma- 
jeaty Geor?e IV. ; the stair-case, and the apartments already 
mentionea are executed in a plain, neat, and becoming 
manner. Tlie library, which is on the ground floor, is an 
excellent room, about 50 feet by 20, and contains a good 
collection of surgical woiics, which every licentiate is per- 
mitted to read. Over the library is an excellent collection « i 
of preparations, which, although' the museum is in its 
infancy, are highly desernng the attention of the student 
in surgery. 

At one end of the museum near the door, are two busts 
of statuary marble, the workmanship of John Smith, the 
one of. Mr. Stewart, late sur^on-^eneral, and the other, 
tha^of surgeon Deane; a distinguished and early member 
of tne College of Surgeons. 

The board, or committee room, is a spacious apartment, 
with a handsome stuccoed ceiling, lighted by three large dr* 
Cttlar-headed windows ; at one end is a full-length portrait 
of Dr< Renny, and at the other that of James Henthom, 
Esq. thirty years secretary to the College. There are many 
other small and convenient apartments appropriated to 
the use of the re^strar, housekeeper, &c. 

Assoc lATIOK OF MeMBBRS OF THB COLLBOB OF PHY- 
SICIANS IN Ireland, Coliegb-Gbeen.— This Sodety was 
instituted in 1816, for the purpose of encouraging an inti- 
mate union amongst the members of the College of Physi- 
cians, and for the general purposes of advancing medicai 
science. The membersofthe Collie consisting of three dif* 
ferent classes, fellows, honorary fellows, andlicentiates, it 
was thought desirable that the individuals composing these 
several classes should form themselves into a society open 
to all members; The Association consisted/ at first, of 
but one class of members, viz. those who belonged to 
the College of Physicians in Ireland, but it was subse- 
quently determined to institute a class of corresponding 
members : this class contains the names. of some of the 
vm\ celebxatod medical men on the continent, aa well as 



thote of A« moil r^spMtebld pnKitltiQMri ill EngtoBA 
and the eouatry part* of Ir^Uud- 

The mombers meet at tb^ir room«, 81 CoUego-groen« on 
l^e evening of the first Monday in every nKHith« yfkm 
comteunieations on medical iubjectfi f^d seientiftc mattera 
in general* are received and read; the most inteiettiar 
of which are selected for publication. Three voluittea of 
Tnnsaetions have already been published. 

The officers are, a preeident, two vioe*pre8identi» » 
treasurer, librarian* and seeretwy. 

Thb 80B0011 09 F^ysic«^is partly under the direction 
; of the College of Physicians, and partlv uHd^ that of 
the Board of the Universitjr* each or which bodies exerts 
a control oyer three of the si« professors. 

The professorships of anatomy, chemistry, and botany^ 
are filled up by the appointment of the Board of Trinity 
College, who elect and pay these professors, who are 
thence stjfled University nrotessors : those of the pmctiee 
of medkme, institutes of medicine* and materia med^em 
are called King's Professors, as they derive their sallRriea 
&om the legislative enactments relative to the Seh&ol of 
Physic. These profeeiors are chosen Uv five electors, thre^ 
ef whom are ballotted for from the feUows of the CX>Uega 
of Physicians, the fourth is the Regiu9 Professor of Phy- 
sio in the University, and the finh the Provo09. The 
emoluments of the University professors are liable to some 
fluctuation, since their salaries frpm the University de* 
pendon the number of students in a partiqular clasa 1 the 
remainder of their income arises h-om their own pupils* 
each of whom pays four guineas for a course of lectures* 
In the case of the King's Professors* the pupils pay the 
same fees* but they have a fixed sum* in adoition* oJP iOOf. 
only per annum, so that % King's professorship is not so 
lucrative as an University on^. 

The King's profesiors deuyer their lectures at Sir P»* 
trick Dun's Hospital, the University orofes^ors at Trinity 
Collie. All, except the professor of botany, oommenge 
their lectures on the first Monday in November* «nd ler* 
minate on the first.Monday in Mav. The order in which 
the lectures are delivered is as follows :*«^ ten o^olock* 
the professor of Materia Medii^a; at eleren* Ibe profsssor 
of tiM Institutes of Medimne; nt twelve^ the pMosts «r« 



SCHOOL WAIIA9M«^WI»mi. Am IVMiRV* 7M 

vsMi at Sir P. Ihm'B Hospital Iqr tU (iiiaori Ipf^b^ffw i 
H Aite, the itrofesior of Anatomy «nd ^ui^fory & at two» 
tbe i^Boieisor of Qheiiustiy ; at thi«e« the prpf^^^r of t)ie 
Pracdce of Medieine : tbe six professors sui^ees^ively at- 
teail at Sir Patrick Dwi'a Uoipitalj an4 deUY^ i-Unipal 
lepturas on the patients^ eacb lectui^r attendiiig tWa 
Bio«th« at 1^ time. The students in medicine are Qf two 
dassei : the lirst eo^is^ of regular i^fvduates in ^rts i 
the second class of those who do pot becooAe. students 
i« tfftMy hut mevely iaatiiculati» in medidQa; the^e, 
in three years i^ter matrioulation* are examined^ and 
If fuimd properly qnalifled^ reccftve a diplo<na> which 
though ia&rior to the degree obtained by the other- eias0» 
IS yet on an equality with the diploma oonf^rred at Igdin- 
Imivh* The ireputation of the oebool of Physic in Ire- 
hna is already very considerable i and it is every day 
rising more in pnblic estimation, The facility with whioh 
anatosnical studies can be pursued in Dublin* ia qne ca^ise 
yMi^ gives this school an advantage ov^r others. 

^The Botanic Garden is very conveniently situated lw 
the students, being within a few minutes walk of Sir 
Patrick Dun's HospitaU The system of private instrucn 
tion earned on there is of the utmost utility* and tha.pfih 
|iBS8or*s assistant givds demonstrations in the garden* which 
am vm well attended, and from which the students ^nv 
not fw tq derive the greatest advantage. 

SOHQQIi 09 AvATOMT/MsniOINB AND SunaBBT, PaRK* 

sTSBBv, MBRniON-ai»u4iUK.r-This school, which was iut 
stituted, in ld24> by an association of Surgeons and Phy^* 
sioians, promises, to students visitipg this citr fpr th^ adr 
vantages of a Medical Education, a valuable addition to 
the many sources qf information in this department which 
already existed here. 

The building, which stands on a space 40 feet sqnaiw, is 
of hfick, eonsistingof two stories, in the upper one of whioh 
ace eircahuvheadea windows with architraves.*— The an^es 
are of rusticated masonry, and the whole ia surmounted 

&9k pe^ment. On the ground floor, are a Museum 40 
i in length; a Ohemiou lafooiatory, an. Qffioe and ^eadt 
liif-room.rHDn the iqiper floor, is the Leoturt^oom, 
ifsnicdi is caaahle of aecomraodaling about fiOO persans^ 
and is lighted by a lantem in the yoG£»--The Disse<^iiig« 



d04 iMmeMines'.Buati UAHv-STiisisf . 

room/wliicli is 40 feet lonff by 18 in breadth, 18 lighted 
from a lantern, ventilated by apertiicres in the floor and 
ceiling, and is a loftyi commodiouB apartment. Ther« are 
likewise rooms for preparations, &c; on this &tory. '- : 

The entire bnilding is enclosed by a liigh wall neatly 
coped, and finished at its angles with rustic work, aftd in 
the general appearance of the whole structure, much^neat* 
ness, good taste, and good feeling for the interest of the 
neighbourhood have been manifested: 

The course of instruction comprises lectures on Ana- 
tomy, Physiology and Surgery— the Practice of Medicine 
— ^Toxicology and Animal Chemistry — Materia Medica and 
Pharmacy .<— Chemistry, Anatomical Demonstrations^-^and 
on the Diseases of the Eye, by Mr. Jacob. 

Apothbcarisb'-hall, Mart-street. — ^The house of 
the Governor and Company of the Apothecaries'-hall was 
erected in 1791, at an expense of 6,000/. ; and is a plain 
building, fronting Mary-street, having extensive ^ore- 
houses m-the rear, and a spacious chemical laboratory, 
where several medical articles are prepared: the hall 
serves as a wholesale warehouse, where the apothecaries 
can procure medicines in a state of purity. Previoudy to 
the mcorporation of this society, the apothecaries' dil^ops 
were supplied from the warehouses of the druggists; who 
were the importers, and frequently furnished very^ bad 
preparations. In order to remedy tuis evil, an application 
was made to parliament for permission to raise subscrip- 
tions for the purpose of erecting an Apothecaries'-haU, 
which was to be supplied with the purest medicines. In 
1791, the petition was granted, and an act passed, incor- 
porating a society under the title of the Governor and 
Company of the Apothecaries'-hall ; 6,000^. was raised on 
debentures, mth. which the house was completed 5 2,000/. 
more was borrowed for the outfit of the shop ; and so suc- 
cess^l has this institution been; that the debehtures, 
which were originally bought for 100/., now sell for from 
600/. to 600/. 

Lectures are delivered at the laboratory on chemistry 
and pharmacy, which commence ^on the l«t May,' and 
continue for ab(mt two months, three times a week; the 
ppnent lecturer is Mr. .Donovan, a. gentlemaa deservedly 
Jliatinguished for his chemical labours, . 



tmxprjMX nmRiCAAY* jbitis^trikt. doS 

The piindpal dutyof tliis 'society is the examination 
of candidates for the rank of master apotheeary, wkhout 
which no person can open an apothecary's shop in this 
city. This examination is conducted witn ^eat strict- 
ness, and to this is to be ascribed, in a great degree, the 
perfection which this branch of the medical profession 
has attained in Dublin. Apprentices are likewise ex- 
amined in a classical course previously to their being 
bound. 

The establishment consists of a govemorj deputy gover- 
nor, treasurer, and secretary, and thirteen directors. 

Charitable Infirmary, Jbrvis-strert.— The Charit- 
able Infirmary, which was instituted at the conmience- 
ment of the eighteenth century, was the first institution of 
the kind in Dublin, and owes its existence Oike many 
otHer valuable establishments) solely to the benevolent ex- 
ertions of a few medical men. In.tne year 1728,: a house 
was opened in Cook-street, for the purposes of the 
charity, and, from the flourishing state of the funds, the 
directors were soon enabled to transfer their establishment 
to a more appropriate situation on the King's Inns' Quay, 
which they vacated in 1792, in. order to remove to t£e 
present site in Jervis-street. Soon after this the gover- 
nors procured a charter, appointing subscribers of two 
guineas governors for the year, and those of twenty pounds 
governors for life. By some accident, the original charter 
was foifeited and a new one since obtained, &priving the 
medical officers of the ri^ht they formerly exercised of 
being eof officio governors, out still recognising their power 
of becoming such, on subscribing the sums above men- 
tioned. The immediate conduct of the. hospital, is vested 
in the hands of a managing committee of fifteen gover- 
nors, who act under the control of the general board, all 
dections for medical officers and apothecaries being in the 
hands«of the latter. 

The building, which was erected in 1803, is of the 

Elainest description, possessinjg a simple brick front, 
avin^ a double flight of gramte steps furnished with a 
high .iron railing, the house retires a few feet from die 
line of the a^joimng-ones. The ground floor is occupied 
by the surgery, board-room, and apodiecary's apartment \ 
^be rooms ma the upper floors are used as ward^, if^th tiie 



txotptiM of tm, C9i« of wUcltia approptta^d l« tbe vse 
of the resident matron, and the other to operetioiiB. The 
hoard-room QOntMna a neat library* supported by oon- 
tributions from the pupil8> a great number of whom 
attend the practice of the hoapital. The house it eapable 
of affording accommodation to fifty patients, but, a^ the 
fundi are not eufficient for the eupport of more thaa 
thirty^ the govemon admit into the unoccupied beds, 
those who are able to pay for their own suppor]^ and 
who receive froqii the establishment only medicine and 
advice. 

The funds amount to a little more than 900^. per ann. 

The officers are, two physicians, nine sui^feons, a rc^ 
Irar, a housekeeper, two nurses, and a porter. Hours of 
attendanoe, nine in winter, eight in summer. 

Physlmans idsit on Tuesdays and Fridays, or as oocasion 
fiouirea ; . surgeons daily, in turn. 

Terms of attendance for pupils, for the 

Summer half year- - - Three Guineas. 
Winter ditto ^ <. - « Four Guineas. 
^ STBETiN6'6-Ho8PiTAL.<-^In 1710, Dn SteeTBus, a Phy« 
sician of Dublin, bequeathed his estate, amounting to 
600/. p» annum, to his sister, during her life, and mfter 
her (teath, vested it in three trustees, for the purpose of 
erecting an hospital for the maintenance of sick poor, aa 
well medical as surgical patients, to be called Steevens's 
hospital. Anxious to fulfil the wishes of her brother^ as 
soon as she came into possession, she immediately appro* 
mated the greater part of the property to builaing the 
noqntal, reserving to herself merely 120/. per annum, and 
apartments in the hospital ; an act of public spirit and 
cenerpsity which exceeds, perhaps, that of the founder 
nimsdf* It was commenced in 17^^ and, in 1733, was so 
far advanced as to be ready for the accommodation of 
forty patients; the hospital was accordingly opened on 
the 2nd of July, in that year, under the management of 
the foUowine goremora ^pointed by act of parliament, 
eleven est e^e, via. the Ptinate, Lord Ohaneellor^ Lord 
Archbishop of Dublin, Chancellor of the Exchequer. 
Lord Chief Justice of the Kmg^t 9ench, Loid Chief 
JueUce of the Common Pleas, Lord Chief Baron o# the 
Sachequer, Dean of Ohrist-Chureh, Qpan of l»t. Fatriek's, 



RosKVA. aor 

Pnmst of Trinity CoUege, Siu-geoik««ne»il i Md t«ilT« 
elective. 

The buildiaff, situated between Bow-Jane and the Lifey, 
is 233 feet bv 204 ; consists of four fronts, and encloses a 
court, 114 feet by 94/ surrounded by a piazza with a 
eovered gallery aboTe it* In the eastern front is the 
mtrance by a large gateway, over which is erected a 
cupola, with a bell ana clock ; on this side are the apart^ 
ments of the resident surgeon, chaplain, steward* and 
matron. On the north east is the board^room, where is 
dqrasited the library, beoueathed by Dr. Edward Worth, 
consisting of medical and miscellaneous books ^ acQoining 
is the committee-room, where patients present themselvei 
€|»unination. 

The library is decorated with the portraits of Dr. 
W^M-th and Dr. Steevens. 

In the west front are the wards, operating theatre^ 
baths, apothecar3r's shop 5 and in the uno<»-ground story, 
kitchens, and laundries. The north and south fronts m 
occupied by Wards, the upper story for women, and th£ 
lower for men : in the south-eastern angle is a chapel, 
where service is performed on Sundays, Wednesdays, and 
Fridays. The governors not having funds to support the 
entire number of patients which the house is capable of 
accommodating (300), have occasionaUy let the janret 
story to government ftwr the reception of military patients ; 
and, since the dosing of the male wards of the Westmor- 
land Lock Hospital, in 1819, they have contracted with it 
for the support of fifty beds for tbe reception of v^enereal 
patiaeits. 

The annual income, independently of grants from parlia- 
ment imd the Irish government, is about 2,231/. The 
private funds are sufficient to maintata about 160 beds, 
and the contributions from government snpp(»rt fifty or 
Bixty additional, hence this {s the most extensive surgical ^ 
hospital in Hie city, for the great majority of parents ad- 
mitted are surdcM. 

The medical officers are, one physician, one assistaat 
ditto^ two surgeons imd two assistant ditto> non^^l^siden^ 
one resident surgeon and one apothecary. 
Hw hospital is vfi^ted by the physldans and sui^eoas, 



906 . WUTB VLCamAU 

non-resident^ on Mondays and Fridays, and the dispensary 
is open oa Tuesdays, Thursdays, ana Saturdays. 

A very useful medical library is established for the use 
of the students. 

Mercsb's Hospital, Johnson's-place, William- 
Strbbt.-— This hospital, founded in the year 1734, by 
Mrs. Mary Mercer, is a large house built or stone; (at the 
comer of Stephens' and Mercer's streets, in Johnson's- 
place), the exterior of which presents little remarkable. 
At its first institution it contamed only ten' beds, but the 
number has been increased to fifty ; it seldom, howeyer, 
happens that more than forty are occupied, the funds not 
permitting it. The management of the afiairs of this 
mstitution, which was incorporated by act of parliament 
in 1760, is intrusted to a committee of fifteen, chosen from 
amongst the governors, who meet the first and third Tues- 
day in each month, when two visitors are appointed. 

It is i^ost exdusively a surj^cal hospital ; previously, 
howeter to the building of Sir Patrick Dun^ hospital, 
some wards were set apart in it for the reception of me- 
dical patients ; this was at that time a very desirable ob- 
ject, there being then no clinical hospital. 

The annual income exceeds 1,000/., of which about 130/. 
is furnished by subscription, 250/. by profit rents, 450/. by 
interest on money, the rest by grand jury presentments, 
and occasional parliamentary grants. 

The medical officers are two physicians and six sur- 
geons. The latter visit daily, and a dispensary is attached. 

Meath Hospital. — ^The Meath Hospital is so called 
from its having been originally destined to the use of the 
poor, living in the Earl of Meath's liberties, but, within 
a few years after its foundation, an act was passed, con- 
verting it into an infirmary for the county of Dublin. It 
was originally in Meath-street, afterwards removed to 
South-east-street, and subsequently, as soon as the im- 
proved state of their funds permitted, the house on the 
Coombe was built j but this being found inadequate, a 
lar^ hospital, capable of accommodating one hundred 
patients, is now erected at the rear of Kevin's-street 
nronting the Long*lane. This most desirable object has 
been effected principally by the munificent T, Pleasants, 



Es(L ^0, in 1814, made a donation of tf^OOAf. of wMch 
he direct^ 2,000?. to be^ funded for the purpose of anp- 
porting patients, and the remainder to be expended m 
bttUding a dissecting'-rDom, &c. The ground was imme- 
diately purchased, and with the addition of 800/. rdsed by 
subsci^tion, the hospital has been built. 

Formerly, the medxcal 6fficers received a salary of lOOf, 
each, but they agreed to resign it for the advantage of the 
institution, ahd this custom has been adopted ever since. 
The establishment consists of two physicians, six surgeons, 
and one apothecary. A physician and a surgeon attend 
(Bvery day at ten -o'clock, and visit the house, as well as 
prescribe for the patients attending the extensive dispen- 
saiy attached to the institution. 

The annual income exceeds 1,000?., and in some years 
amounts to 1,160/. The salaries and wiages are about 170/. 
per annum. There are four ea? o/^Wo " governors, the 
Archbishops of Armagh and Dublin, the Lord Chancellor; 
and the Vicar of St. Catharine's. Persons paying twenty 
guineas are governors for life, and subscribers of two 
guineas are governors for the year; those who subscribe 
one guinea annually are entitled to recommend patients. 

CooMBE Hospital. — ^This hospital, lately closed, was 
re-opened on the 27th of October, 1823, by John Kirby, 
Michael Daniell, and Richard Gregory, Esquires, and ih 
proyided with accommodation for fifty intern patients. 

This charitable institution stands in that part 6f the 
dty where poverty and disease prevail, in their most 
calamitous aegree of aggravation; and where accidentij, 
in their severest forms, constantly occur, and houriy de- 
mand admission into some asylum where suffering may be 
alleviated, and life preserved. 

The medickl department comprises two physicians, 
three surgeons, and an apothecary, who is also the resi- 
dent medical officer. The surgeons visit the hospital every 
morning at ten o'clock, and after going round the wards 
they proceed to prescribe for the extems, the number of 
whom averages &0 daily. 

The income of the hospital is derived h'om voluntary 
contributions^ and from the fees of pupils who attend 
there fo;r iy^structioh. 

Per^oAa paying ten ifUbDsas orupwUiE^ (at g^vetAott 
t3 



210 VmO'ifi'MQSPVtAl, 0RfiAT-BlUTAIlf-8TReET« 

for life ; suVscribers of two guineas are governors for one 
year^ and annual subscribers of one guinea are entitled to 
recommend patients. 

The hospital is always open for the admission of those 
suffering from accidents. 

Lting-in-ho8pitaii, Gbeat-Britaxn-street. — This 
establishment owes its existence to the exertions of Dr. 
Bartholomew Mosse^ who opened, at his own private ex- 
pense, an hospital for the reception of poor lying-in 
women, in. George's-street south, on the 25th March, 
1745, being the first establishment of the kind in the em- 
pire. This charity he supported soldjr at his own ex- 
pense, until the great relief afforded by it, induced others 
to contribute to so laudable a project. Accordingly, in 

1750, the state of the funds beii^ sufficiently flounsliiii£^, 
the first stone of the present structure was laid. May 24th, 

1751. After expending all his fortune in forwarding his 
plan. Dr. Mosse was obliged to apply to the House of 
Commons for assistance, from whom he received a grant 
of 6,0002., and in the next session a similar sum was voted 
to him, both of which bein^ expended on the building, he 
was presented vdth a sum of 2,000/. for himself. In 1756, 
governors were incorporated by act of parliament, and, in 
1757^ ^e hospital was opened for the admission of patients : 
the following year an Kospital was opened for the same 
purpose, in I^ndon, by Dr. Layard, who procured the 
plan from Dr. Mosse. 

The wards, which are extremely neat and well ven- 
tilated, are of various sizes, some containing twenty beds 
or more, and others only one. 

The income of the establishment has, from various 
causes, greatly declined within the last twenty-five years : 
formerly, a great portion of it was derived from the con- 
certs given in the Rotunda Rooms, but this speculation 
has latterly been unproductive, for the public taste has 
undergone some alteration with respect to such enter- 
tainments, which were, besides, interrupted by the dis- 
turbances in 1798, when the Rotunda and public roodis 
were used as biurracks— to say nothing of the almost total 
desextion of the metropolis by the nobility since the Union. 
The averageprofits from the rooms, for the three years 
precedingl7$B^ amouuted to 1,450/, per wuium^ whereas. 



those of the three years previous to 1809^ did not exceed 
300/. per annum. In con8ec|uence of this the rooms were 
frequently advertised for hire, and were fitted up as ft 
theatre by Mr. Harris, during, the builaiiu^ of 
Hawkin's-street. Another source trom 



the new 

which the income of the hospital is derived is the colleo* 
tion in the chapel, which amounted on an average, for thtt 
twelve years ending 1786, to 168/. per annum, wherea8|> 
not more than the fourth of that sum is now raised : the 
charity-sermon has also been of late much less productive 
than formerly. Occasional benefactions, the rent of a 
room let to the Anacreontic Society, and the profits of the 
gardens, are the other sources of the casual income. 

The fixed or permanent income arises chiefly from sub« 
scriptions, called bed-money, collected from some of 
the governors who pay 12/. 10s, per annum; from the 
rent of vaults, ground-rents, and interest on debentures $ 
and amounts to about 965/., the casual may be estimated 
at 700/., making in all about 1,665/. per annum. The ex- 
penditure may be estimated at thirty-shillings^ (Irish) for 
every patient, and this sum is sufficient to cover all ex- 
penses, except the interest of eleven thousand pounds, at 
4 per cent (the payment of which is guaranteed by govern- 
ment), and the expense of supporting and instructing 
eight female pupils, who are educated for the purpose cS 
practising midwifery in distant parts of the country. The 
greatest part of the income has hitherto been derived from 
parliamentary grants ; but it is to be regretted that it hai 
lately been thought necessary to diminisn the grant. 

The expenditure in ssdaries, wages, and allowances^ 
amounts to something more than 500/. per annum ; the 
officers and servants are, a master and three assistants, a 
chaplain, re^strar and agent, matron, &c« 

The Hospital is placed 'ader the management of sixty 
governors, thirteen of whom are appointed ea; officio^ and 
are styled Guardians, viz. the Lord Lieutenant, the Pri- 
mate, Lord Chancellor, Lord Mayor, Archbishop of Dub- 
lin, Duke of Leinster, Bishop of Kildare, the High 
Sheriffs, Commander of the Forces, Dean of St. Patrick's, 
and the Archdeacon and Recorder of Dublin ; the rest are 
selected from the subscribers ; and the master, consulting 
phyffiiciu^ and «urgeo0^ lure iilwa7» elected govemonfr 



ne immediate regulation of the establifiliment is delegated 
to the master^ who is always a physician of the highest 
celebrity as an accoucheur. This officer, who^ as w3i as 
Ids asf istant, is a resident, is elected for seven years, and 
U not re^lidble at any future period. His income may 
he calculated at about 1,200/. per annum, but this will de- 
pend upon his own exertions, as his chief emoluments are 
detiveafrom his pupils. These are of two classes, in- 
ternal and external ; the former, who are six in number, 
My thirty guineas 3 the latter, who amount generally to 
fifteen, twenty guineas each : both classes attend only six 
months. He receives, besides, 200/. from each ot his 
assistants, who are changed every three years. 

This hospital is attended by those who intend to practise 
imdwifery m Ireland 5 besides numbers of foreign students, 
fcnd of those who are designed for general practice. The 
master delivers a course of lectures on midwifery, and, at 
the end of six months, each student is examined by the 
master, in presence of the assistants, and, if properly 
qualified, receives a certificate. From the Ist of January, 
1820, to the 3rd November in the same year, 2,07^ women 
were delivered, making upwards of six per day. From the 
opening of the hospital to the 20th November, 1820, 
96,677 women were delivered of 61,270 boys and 46,960 
glrjs :— 1,600 had twins. 

The front of the building, which is towards Great-Bri- 
tain-street,* and extends 125 feet, consists of a rusticated 
basement and two series of windows aljove i in the centre 
of the basement is a break, supporting' four three-quarter 
Doric columns ^th their entaolature and pediment. The 
entablature is extended along the whole front, but the 
♦riglyphs of the frieze are confined to tUe centre. The 
upper windows have architraves, the lower ones cormces 
iJso, and those on each side the Venetian window over the 
«ntrance^ have pediments. The whole fapadc is of granite- 
stone : extending from the basement, and of the same 
height, are two sweeping colonnades of the Tuscan order, 
terminating in elegant pavilions (designed bvF. Trench, 
Esq.), one of which is the entrance to the Rotuhda, the 

• the ftttnt wmM hive baea iMMtlr oiV»ite Sad^^ 



ROTUNOABOOIUB S19 

otbtf tke Poriker'8 lixUre. A handsome court-yard ia 
front throws the hospital 40 feet back from the street ; 
this isendoaed by an iron balustrade resting on a dwarf 
wall. This buildine is after a desisni of Mr. Cassels, the 
architect of the Bank of Ireland, and of the. Dublin 
Society^s House. 

The principal entrance is in the south front, and. leads 
to a handsome hall, the ceiling of which is supported by 
columns : this room would be grand, were it not too low. 
On one side of the hall on a bracket, stands a well-executed 
bust of Dr. Mosse, and immediately opposite one of Mr. 
Deane, who be^queathed a considerable sum to the support 
of the institution. Under the former is a large baptismal 
font of veined marble, the gift of Dr. Robert Downes, 
Bishop of Raphoe, 

A handsome broad flii^ht of stone steps leads to the 
chapel over the grand hab, a room about 40 feet square, 
furnished with pews of mahogany, and a gallery sup- 
ported by pillars : the entablature extending round the 
chapel beneath the front pannels of the gallery is hand« 
somely ornamented with gilding. The stucco-work of 
the ceiling is not only remarkably curious and beautiful, 
but in a style totally d^erent from any thing of the kind 
in this city. Over the communion-table is a console sup- 
porting a lamb, in alto relievo, with a richly decorated 
canopy above it, and on each side an angel, in^ large life, 
reclining upon the canopy. On the north side of the 
ceiling, m a deep arched recess, is Faith, with a crucifix 
in her hand, in a recumbent posture -y over the communion- 
table, in a similar recess, is Charity with a group of in- 
fanta 5 and on the south side, Hope. Above the organ is 
Moses with the two tables, and; corresponding to hina, an 
angdl blowing a trumpet. All these figures are in alto 
reHevb, larger than bfe. The design of this bieautiful 
piece of workmanshijp was j^iven by Cremillon, a French 
artist, who was assisted m the execution by the two 
Francini, Italian sculptors, who executed the stucco-work 
at the house built by Dr. Mosse for his private residence in 
Rutland-square (now occupied by Alderman James), and 
were employed in ornamenting Tyrone House, in Marl- 
borough-street. 

RorviYPA RooMS,-«-A4ioijung the Lyiog-in-HoBpital i 



114 NfcWRMMOIyliraUllBIIQUARB. 

• lultt of rooms ^ olMfaht arrangenieiit and dimensioiis 
oxcoedin^ those of the Public Rooms in Bath or Bdinburrh. 
The princiiMd entraaoe to the Rotunda is from SackviUe- 
street^ through the Bast BsTilion, into a waiting -hall for 
Mifants^ oomnunioatin^ with the Testibule adjoining the 
Great Room.. This room, which is after the design of Mr. 
Ensor, is 80 feet in diameter, imd 40 in hdght. xhe walls 
art ornamented by 18 Corinthian pilasters, resting on 

SMiestals and supporting a continued entablature 3 in the 
tervals, between the pilasters, are windows enriched with 
8tucco*work and surmounted by triangular pediments. 
The ceiling is handsomely ornamented, and consists of 
eoncentrical divisions sub-diYided by semi-radii. The 
general appearance is greatly disfigured by a projecting 
orchestra. To the west of this is a card-room, 56 feet by 
M, and opposite, a tea-room of the same dimensions. On 
^he north, another testibule conducts to the ball-room, s 
€pacious apartment 86 feet by 40. The walls are orna- 
mented by coupled pillars, supporting flat canopies at in- 
tervals aidng each side of the room, and banners, shields 
and various ornamental trophies are suspended in difi^rent 
places. 

Over this splendid apartment is another of equal size, 
and more light and elegant in appearance, though not so 
richly ornamented. On the same floor are two smaller, 
apartments, over the tea and card-rooms, which are let for 
public exhibitions. 

New Rooms, RtTTLANn-sQVAiiE.— The front of the 
Nfew Rooms, in Oavendish-row, is of granite-stone, after 
the design of Richard Johnston, Esq., and Frederick 
Trendb, Esq., the latter a private gentleman. It consists 
of a rusticated basement story, on which, in the centre, 
l« four three-quarter Doric columns, supporting a pedi- 
inent, in the tympanum of which are the arms of Ireland, 
the crest of the Duke of Rutland, Lord Lieutenant of 
Ireland, who laid the foundation stone of these buildings, 
I7th of July, 1786, and the star of the Order of St 
Patrick ; and at each end are two coupled pilasters. 

The emoluments of all the concerts, balls and exhibi- 
tions, constantly held in these rooms, are devoted to the 
benefit of the hospital solely 5 but these advantages arc 
greatly dimlniAed of late, and some other sources of in- 



eonie whoHy deitroyedy-^for instance, ft tsa( oa ^nti 
ledan ckain $ there were» when this hospital was founded^ 
260 private sedans in Dublin, whereas at present^ then 
are not six. 

Wbstmphland Look Hospital, TowKSi9rp-8<PRSBV«. 
•-This hospital was opened 20th November, 1792, fox th« 
reception of venereal patients of both sexes. Under th# 
administration of the Earl of Westniorland, it was deteii* 
mined to provide an hospital for this purpose, capable of 
containing dOO beds : for a temporarv one having been 
previously established near Donnybrook, it was found im« 
practicable to procure a regular attendance on the part of 
the medical officers, owing, no doubt, to the distance 
ftom town.* Government, therefore, entered into a ne« 
gociation with the Governors of the hi>spital of Inenrables^ 
then occupying the site of the pitesent building, and an 
exchange of premises was agreed on. The front, whiek 
is plain; is of hewn mountiun-granite ; the centre and 
wings project a little, and the former is surmounted by * 
triangular pediment. In the centre are the apartments for 
the officers of the establishment $ and in the wings and 
additional buildings the wards for the patients. Th6 
entrance for patients is in Luke-street, at the comer of 
which, in Townsend-street, the hospital stands ; a sltui^ 
tion formerly called Laear's Hill. This hospital was 
at first attended by medical officers vi^thout salaries, but 
the attendance becoming irregular, it was deemed exp^ 
dient not only to reduce their number from ten to five, 
but to allow them salaries : two, called senior surgeon?^ 
have ten shillings per day, and three assistants, have 60L 
per annum ; the fcrmer to be appointed by Oovemmenl^ 
the latter by the Board of directors ; both, nowever, con- 
fined to the members and licentiates of the Oolle^fo of 
Surgeons in Ireland : the office of seidor surgeon is Ibr 
peven years only. . 

The Board of Governors fbrmerfy consisted solely of 
medical persons; but, latterly, the constitution of t)A 
Board, has beep altered, as also that of the charity ftseU^ 
for the hospital was originaUy intended for patients of 
both sexes, but now females only are adinitt^d^ an^ tibip 

* 'Acn VM a iMft; Hoipital alio fiff Humy yetH !n C^^ 



Sl6 *PBM WMOWtCK tWEK HOSPITAXi. 

beds reduced to 150^ lidf the original number. The conse- 
quences of refusing admission to male patients bave been 
in some degree obviated^ by pi^eparing accommodation at 
Steevens's Hospital for forty, and at the Richmond Sur- 
gical Hospital for thirty, llie strictest economy has been 
adopted in carrying these alterations into effect; instead 
of two physicians at 50/. each, two senior surgeons at 182/. 
JOs. each^ and three juniors at 50/., the medical depart- 
ment now is limited to anon-resident and resident surgeon. 
In 1820, the hospital ceased to receive male patients, and 
has been placed under the control of a board appointed by 
his Excellency the Lord Lieutenant. 
' The officers of this Institution are a senior surgeon, a 
resident ditto, a resident apothecary, a steward, and an 
accountant. 

United Hospital op St. Mark and St. Annb.— 
Mark-Strxet. — ^This small hospital was opened in Mark- 
street, in 1808, for both surgical and medical cases. The 
establishment had previously been conducted in Francis- 
street, but the number of hospitals provided for that part 
of the city, determined the governors to transfer it where 
there was a want of such institutions ; for although Sir 
Patrick Dun's Hospital was then building; yet it did not 
promise to be speedily completed, nor was it until 1819 
that the latter began to afford extensive relief. St. Mark's 
hospital is so poor, bs to be actually incapable of support- 
ing the ten beds which it contains. Yet, although the 
funds are inadequate to the support of hospital accom- 
modation, they are sufficient to provide very extensive 
Dispensary relief, for the poor of this neighbourhood, 
who, through the joint operations of this. Sir Patrick 
Dun's Hospital, the Dublm General Dispensary, and the 
parochial relief afforded by Mark's parish, are now toler- 
ably well supplied with medical assistance. 

There are two physicians, four surgeons, and a treasurer, 
by all of whom subscriptions are received. Children are 
vaccinated here every day j the hour of attendance from 
11 to 12. 

The Hardwick Fever Hospital— or House of Reco- 
,y«7,ui Cork-street, the most extensive institution of the 
kmd in Ireland, was founded chiefly by the exertions of a 
compwt,tee .of merijwitilq gentlemen, priw^ipsjly p< the 



THB HARBWICK FEV£R HOSPITAL. 217 

Society of Friends^ who urged the adoption of hospitals 
for the reception of persons afflicted with fever done. 
The subject having attracted the notice of government in 
1802> on the recommendation of the Earl of Hardwicke^ 
then Lord Lieutenant, a sum of 1,000/. was voted towards 
erecting a building, and 500/. towards the annual support 
of an establishment for the reception of fever patients 
residing in that part of the city which comprises the 
liberties on the south side of the Liffey. The contributions 
made in a very short time, amounted to 10,000/., and havis 
since received further augmentation. The original design 
extended to forty beds only, but the founders were enabled 
to enlarge their plan, ana accordingly determined on the 
erection of an hospital capably of containing, in case of 
emergency, 120 beds. The first stone was laict April -24th, 
1802, and the house was opened May 14th, 1804, for the 
reception of eighteen patients. It is most advantageously 
situated, being near the district for whose relief it was 
established, and possessing good air and abundance of 
water -, and stands on the south side of Cork-street, in a 
space of nearly three acres. The hospital, when first 
erected, consisted of two parallel buildings, 89 feet by 30, 
three stories high, running north and south, and connected 
by a colonnade of 116 feet. The eastern building is used 
for fever, the western for convalescent patients. The 
wards in these buildings are small and not very lofty, being 
only 16 feet by lift. 3 in., and lOJ feet high; and arc 
arranged on each side of the galleries, which run the 
length of the building. They are ventilated by the chim- 
ney, which is opposite the door ; by the window, and by 
a tube from the ceiling communicating with louvres in the 
roof. The galleries communicate by gratings placed ver- 
tically over each other. The apartments of the officers 
were originally in the western wing, but they have since 
been removed to the centre, which was built in 1808, for 
the purpose of affording additional accommodation; and 
thus, the number of beds was increased to 144. 

This circumstance, together with the increase of the 
parliamentary grant, which in 1805 was made 1,0001. 
per annum, induced the governors to extend the district 
to the relief of v^ich the hospital was to be applicable ; 
they tiieref ore determined to take in patients from all part* 
u 



BIS TU HARPWICK rSVSE HOSPITAL. 

of tlie dty^ soiitli of the Liffey; and in 1809, de<dared 
themselves ready to admit them from all parts of Dublin 
within the Circular Road. But in the lapse of a few years, 
they found, notwithstaudin^ the establishment of the 
Hardwicke Feyer Hospital, that their accommodation was 
still inadequate to the number of applicants ; accordingly, 
in 1814, a fourth building, much larger than any of the 
former, was erected, by which the hospital was rendered 
capable of contuning altogether 200 beds, which is its 
present establishment.* 

In the construction of the fourth building, the system of 
large wards has been adopted : it stands to the south of 
the east wing, and is ventilated by windows in the eastern 
and western sides. The hospital is supplied with ample 
offices, colil-vaults, &c. ;*and a laundry, a very perfect 
establishment, has lately been erected at a great expense, 
where the principal part of the labour is performed by 
means of a steam-engine. 

The affairs of the institution are conducted by a com- 
mittee of twentv-one persons (fifteen of whom were elected 
23rd October, 1801, for life, and six others are selected 
aanuallv from the subscribers), who meet every Tuesday. 
At the first opening of the hospital, the medical depart- 
ment consisted of three physicians and one surgeon ; but 
the number has been since increased to six permanent 
attendants (besides whom, two others are occasionally 
employed), one surgeon and an apothecary. 

Three physicians attend the hospital daily, and the 
others are employed in visiting, at their own homes, the 
applicants for admission. The internal attendance is 
taken in turn by the physicians, each set attending one 
month in succession : their salaries are small at first, but 
are gradually augmented, until, at the expiration of three 
years, they are allowed 100/. annually. The surgeon re- 
ceives 50/. per annum, and one guinea for every difficult 
ease which he attends. These salaries and allowances, 
together with those of the minor officers and servants, 
amount to upwards of 1,600/. per annum ; and the average 
annual exp<mae, for the last six years, has been about 

. *tJ^ '*^^ ^^^ *^'°*^* CKwded the hocpital^ ©very where throughout 
™^ tte aumhet of beds is this hospital wid inaeased to 2«),-^See 
ll«M of MannsiiiK CMui4|toe fbr 2328. 



SIR PATRICK TON'S HOmTAt* M 

6»600l. Tills expenditure is cliiefiy defrayed by a par* 
liamentary grant ; the subscriptions and funded property 
amount to about 1,000/. a year. Since the opening of the 
hospital to May I4th, 1823. 49,029 patients have been 
admitted ; the mortality has been 1 in 15. No recommen- 
dation is necessary in order to procure admission, but on 
notice bein^ left at the hospital^ the applicant is inspected 
by a phjsician on extern duty. 

Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital, Qrand Canal-strrbt. 
—This hospital owes its existence to the celebrated prac- 
titioner of physic, whose name it bears. He had be- 
queathed Lis estates, in the county of Waterford, for the 
establishment of a professorsMp or professorships in the 
College of Physicians ; but the^executors having failed in 
the execution of his ^vill, the trust was vested by Chan- 
cery in the College of Physicians; in consequence of 
which, three professorships were appointed, viz. Practice 
of Medicine, institutes of Medicine, and Materia Medics. 
The estates having increased in value, an act was passed 
25 Geo. HI., limiting their professorfe' salaries to 100/. per 
annum, and directing that, clinical patients should be 
supported by the surplus arising from the estates ; a pro- 
vision was Ukewise made, that, previously to the comple- 
tion of the hospital, it might be lawful for the Collegne of 
Physicians to support thirty patients in any of the hospitals 
in the city. Accordingly, the Governors of Mercer's 
Hospital permitted thirty patients, the number appointed 
by the Act of Parliament, to be lodged in their hospital 
mthout making any charge for the occupation of the 
wards. An act passed 40th Geo. III., directed that the 
suiplns of the estates, after supporting the thirty patients, 
ana the completion of an hospital, should be applied to 
the extending of that hospital so as to render it citable 
of accommodating 100 patients : both which objects have 
been effected. Of the money granted by paiiiament^ 
. about 9,000/ has been expended on the building, the re- 
mainder of the expense having been defrayed out of the 
funds of Sir Patrick Dun, assisted by private subscriptions. • 
Owing to considerable difficulty in procuring ground, the 

• See Report <m Sir P. Dan's Hospital, bf #«me9 dcclhOIBt ll;D««*ftl 
Report <m CluuitaUe Ii]Batatifloi.*«I>«Ubiy 18O0> 



220. SIR PATRICK DUN'S HOSPITAL* 

commissioners were obliged to fix on a site in the low, 
marshy grounds, extending from Mount-street to the riTer ; 
and it was at first apprehended, that this position would 
proye most unfavourable, but, owing to the precautions 
adopted in building, all inconyenience has been avoided, 
and the excavations have served, in conjunction with other 
means, to elevate the site of the house far above the level 
of the low grounds, and even above that of the Grand 
Canal, which lies near it, and would have otherwise 
rendered it damp and unwholesome. The front, which is 
towards the north-east, is of mountain-granite, extends 
about 194 feet, and consists of a centre with two ad- 
vancing pavilions or wings, all of which are two stories 
in height. The middle of the former is decorated mth 
four Ionic columns resting on the plinth dividing the 
ground-floor from the upper one, and supporting an 
entablature with a cantiliver cornice -, on the frieze is the 
following inscription in gilt characters : — " Nosocomium 
Patricii Dun £q. Aurat." 

' In the intercolumns are three windows with pediments ; 
these are the only ones which have dressings,, the others 
being quite plain, but having oblong pannels above them. 
Above the columns rises an ornamental attic, decorated 
with breaks, pannels, and a clock. The elevation of the 
wings contains three windows in width; those of the 
ground-floor are circular-headed, and placed within arches. 
The upper floor has only two windows, viz. one on each 
side of a niche that is placed within a square pannel, 
dressed like a wndow, the whole composition being re- 
cessed in an arcade. 

The ground story of the centre is occupied by apart- 
ments for the matron and apothecary, pupils' waiting- 
room, and the theatre, in which the lectures are delivered : 
these open from a handsome hall with a beautiful staircase 
of mountain-granite. Above them are the board-room of 
the College of Physicians, that of the governors, and the 
library, the last beincr. placed in the centre ; here are also 
two rooms originally intended for the use of the professors, 
one of which is now a dormitory for the provider. The 
remainder of the centre is allotted to the apothecary's 
shop, and the museum of the professor of Materia Medica. 
The patients' wards are situated in the wings, those in the 



sm jPATRtCK Dinrs nos^ITAU 221 

lower story are designed for cktonic, and those on the 
upper floor for fever patients : the ceilings are all arched^ 
ana the floors of granite. The upper story is not similarly 
arranged on both sides, being divided, on the side appro- 
priated to females (the right wing), into small chambers 
c(^a1>le of accommodating about nve patients each : there 
are on this floor ten apartments, one of which is used for 
the nurses' room, an^ six as w»rds ; they are tolerably 
lofty and well ventilated ; all the upper story of the other 
side (the left wing) is thrown into cme ward, subdivided 
by partitions, ten feet high, into six compartments, with 
passag^es, two 38 feet by 13, and four 16 feet square. The 
height of the ward is 21 feet. 

This mode of arrangement is preferable to separate 
wards of small dimensions, the compartments above 
alluded to communicating so freely vrith the great body of 
air in the upper part of Vie ward, that the ventilation is 
as perfect as if the partitions were removed^ while it is 
certain that the partition is of the greatest service, inter- 
nipting the currents of ur which rush horizontally over 
the patients wherever the ventilation is abundant in a 
large-sized ward. This mode, therefore, combines in itself 
all the advantages and obviates the disadvantages which 
have been observed to arise from large or small wards 
separately ; and the experience of several years has shown, 
that many more nurses are affected with contagious diseases 
in the female wards than in this. 

The hospital is capable of affording accommodation to 
100 patients, but the funds are not adequate to the main- 
tenance of more than sixty. Such persons as are not 
objects of eleemosynary relief, are admitted on their sub- 
scribing IL 10#, in case they labour under an acute disease, 
or 2/. lOff. if under a chronic one, a measure that has 
been found both prudent and benevolent. 

Lectures are delivered twice a week during the medical 
session, which lasts from the first Monday m November 
to the first Monday in May. The professors of the School 
of I^ysic deliver these lectures in rotation for three 
months at a time, so that two attend each winter. 

Al^r the deduction of 900/. per annum for thepro-^ 
feasors' «ad librarians' salariee, ground rent, officers' and 
senraiits' faUries, &c., there remains about 2,20(H. per 
p3 



i2 WHITWORTH HOSPITAL, BRUNSWICK;STREET. 

annum, for the support of patients. The establisbment 
consists of a physician in ordinary, assistant surgeon, 
apothecary, reffistrar and provider, treasurer and matron ; 
and is under the government of a board of twenty-two per- 
sons, twelve chosen annually from the subscribers, and 
sixteen governors eof officio; viz. the Lord Chancellor, 
three Chief Justices, the President and the four Censors 
of the College of Physicians, and the Provost of Trinity 
College. 

Life subscribers of twenty guineas may send two pa- 
tients every year ; those of thirty guineas may always have 
one in the house, and those who pay four guineas an- 
nually can have one patient in the house constantly during 
the year. 

Whitworth Hospital, Brunswick-street. — This 
hospital, which was erected under the sanction, and at 
the desire of Lord Whitworth, when Lord Lieutenant, 
for the accommodation of chronic medical patients, i? a 
plain stone building of two stories, independently of the 
basement. The front has a northern aspect, and faces 
the House of Industry at a distance of about 200 yards : 
it has a plain triampilar pediment over the centre, below 
which the name of the hospital and the date of its foun- 
dation are inscribed on the frieze beneath a plain stone 
cornice. The centre contains a hall, physician's room 
and staircase at either side : above is a large room, used 
as a dormitory for clinical clerks, and adjoining, are 
smaller apartments allotted to them for parlours and 
sitting-rooms ; and at the extremities of the building are 
situated the wards for the patients, six on each floor, two 
of which, intended as private wards, contain only one 
bed ; the others about ten beds each, the total number 
bein^ 84. — ^JThe clinical clerk supplies the place of resident 
medical officer. This hospital was originally designed, 
not only for the accommodation of such of the inmates 
of the House of Industry as might happen to be afflicted 
with chronic medical complaints, but for the relief of 
paupers from all parts of the city, who might not be able 
to procure assistance from other hospitals. It forms a 
branch of the House of Industry, and is supported from 
the fund granted annually by parliament for the support 
of that institution. The physicians of the House of In- 
duitry visit here daily. 



WHITWORTH FEVER HOSPITAL. 223 

Richmond Surgical Hospital. — ^The Riclimond Hos- 
pital, Brunswick-street, serving as the Surgical Hospital 
to the House of Industry, contains 130 patients, who are 
selected by the surgeons according to the urgency of their 
disease, and without any reference to recommendations. 
Its object is, to furnish accommodation and relief, not only 
for cases requiring hospital treatment which may occur in 
the House of Industry, but for the destitute and friendless 
of every description. 

This building, which was formerly a nunnery, is ill- 
adapted for its present purpose, the wards being low and 
small ; the inconvenience, however, likely to result from 
this defect, is in a great degree prevented by the strictest 
attention to cleanliness and ventilation. There is an 
operating theatre attached, and a tolerable library of pro- 
fessional books, provided at the expense of the surgeons 
and their pupils. 

This hospital is attended by three surgeons, who visit 
their respective departments daily. 

The institution for the relief of the ruptured poor in 
Ireland is attached to this establishment. 

St. George's House of Recovery, Georgb's-place, 
Dorset-street. — The same reasons which operated 
towards the institution of the Whitworth Fever Hospital, 
led to the establishment of this hospital, in fact, by some of 
the very same individuals. The building is situated on the 
same premises, and attended by the same officers, as the 
Dispensary for the poor of George's parish. The object 
of the institution is, to afford an asylum to those who are 
unable to defray the expense of medical attendance at 
home, and yet are in circumstances which prevent them 
from seeking admission into public hospitals. The sub- 
scription paid by patients is one guinea per week, during 
their stay in the house. The Dispensary is attended every 
morning at ten o'clock. The patron is the Lord Lieu- 
tenant; there are a physician, consulting ditto^ and a 
surgeon. 

Whitworth Fever Hospital. — ^The great distance of 
the northern extremity of the town from the Fever 
Hospital in Cork-street, induced some charitable indivi- 
duals to establish one for the accominodation of the north- 
eastern part of the city 3 accordingly* in 1816^ this build« 



224 ST. PETSR'CI kVm ST. BRlDOXt^ H06HTAL. 

\ng was erected for that purpose, which wi|8 opened May 
Ist, 1818. It 18 situated at the third lock of the Royal 
Canal, near Drumeondra, and is a plain biulding of brick, 
with an entablature of granite^ on which are the n«ne 
and date. 

The construction is somewhat extraordinary: in the 
floor of each story is laid down a larj(c tube opening* to 
the external air, and communicating with the interior of 
the ^vards by valves in the floor .; and a corresponding valve 
in the ceiling serves to establish a current of air, so that 
there is at all times a sufficient ventilation. The house 
is so contrived as to be easily capable of extension, but 
from the present state of the funds, the completion of the 
design is not probable; it can at present accommodate 
about thirty-five patients. During the prevalence of the 
late epidemic fever, it was of considerable ser^ce to the 
north-eastern extremity of Dublin, and also to the vil- 
lages in the vicinity. Thiir hospital is supported entirely 
by private subscriptions : it was the intention of the go- 
yemors to have conducted it as nearly as possible accord- 
ing to the plan of the House of Recovery in Cork*streetj 
but the failure of the funds renders that improbable. 

The direction is in the hands of a managing committee, 
selected annually from the subscribers at large. Sub- 
scribers of one guinea are entitled to recommtend one 
patient at a time throughout the year, but in cases of 
urgency persons are admitted without this fonp. 

There are a patron, president, four ph)'8ician8, apo- 
thecary, matron and registrar. 

St. Pctbr's and St. Bridget's Ho8PiTAL.*-Thi8 in- 
stitution was founded in 1810, at the sole expense of John 
Kirby, £sq. of the Royal College of Surgeons, by whose 
exertions principally it has been since supported ; and hafi 
accommoaation for five and thirty patients. 

To several thousand extern patients it annually affords 
advice and medicine, and still admits the sick and friend- 
less to a participation of its advantages. Beds are always 
read^ for the reception of accidents, afid for all cases re- 
(^uinng the performance of severe and dangerous opera- 
tions. 

Connected with this institution, there is a theatre in 
which lectures are delivered on anatomy and aurg^ry, by 



ROYAL MILITARY INFIRMARY^ 225 

Mr. Kirby and his assistant lecturer; and there is also 
an excellent anatomical collection. 

AoYAL Military Infirmary. — ^Tliis hospital is designed 
for such of the sick soldiers of the garrison of Dublin as 
cannot be accommodated in the regimental hospitals at- 
tached to the different barracks. It stands near the south- 
eastern gate of the Phoenix-park^ and is delightfully situated 
on an eminence forming a natural terrace, round which a 
stream winding, serves as well for utility as ornament, 
supplying cold baths, situated at the foot of the terrace, 
so as to be completely obscured from the view of the 
house : the ground on the opposite side of this stream 
rises as suddenly, thus forming a ravine, by which the 
grounds of^the infirmary are separated from the rest of the 
park. It was impossible that the site could have been se- 
lected with greater taste and judgment, being most salu- 
brious, and commanding a prospect, in which are visible 
the Wellington Testimonial; the Liffey, with Sarah- 
bridge ; the Old iVIan's Hospital, or Royal Infirmary ; the 
cultivated enclosures belonging to the commander of the 
forces ; and the Dublin and Wicklow Mountuns in the 
distance. 

• The building presents a handsome elevation of granite, 
after a design of Mr. Gandon, consisting of a centre (sur- 
mounted by a handsome cupola, containing a clock), and 
projecting pavilions at the ends. The interior is divided into 
thirteen wards, seven of which are devoted to the accom- 
modation of medical, and six to that of surgical patients : in 
the centre buildino', the lower part is occupied principally 
by the officers ; the upper part is used for wards j and 
the hall has been fitted up as a chiipel, where service is 
performed every Sunday morning. The wards are conve- 
nient, and the nurses'* apartments and bath rooms are 
well arranged. The centre and returning wines form 
three sides of an inner court ; the fourth is a detached 
building, for the reception of such patients as labour under 
febrile or contagions diseases : there are a few cells on 
the ground-fioor for maniacal patients. The structure, 
which cost 9,000/. was begun in 1 786, and completed in 
1788; previously to its erection, a large building in 
James's-street, was used for a military hospital. The 
hospital is visited daily by the physician-general, who is 



226 HOSPITAL OF INCtJiUBLES. 

€» officio the attendant. Tke surgeoib-general and the staff- 
surfi^eon* who are also regularly attached, att«id alternately. 

The officers are, the physician and Burgeon-genend, 
8taff«-8urgeon, apothecary, resident surgical officer, steward, 
deputy ditto, and chaplain. 

The hospital is under the management of a board of 
commissioners appointed ex officio, viz. Commander of 
the Forces, Lieutenants-general, M^ors-general, Quarter- 
master-general, Deputy Vice-treasurer, buryeyor-general, 
Physician-general, Surgeon-general, and the Director-^- 
neral of Military Hospitals. The establishment is sup- 
ported partly by a parliamentary ^rant, and partly by 
stoppages from the pay of the soldiers in hospital : this 
deauction defrays about half the expense of the patient, 
and amounts to ten-pence per diem ; the total expense of 
supporting each patient is stated at 33/. per annum, in- 
cluaing sidaries to officers and senrants. 

All soldiers attacked with fever, or who have met witli 
accidents, are removed hither, none but ordinary cases, or 
those in which there is no danger of the propagation of 
disease, being received into the regimental hospitols. 

Hospital of Incurables, jDonnybrook-road. — ^la 
1744, a Society of musicfd persons, formed by the exer- 
tions of Lord Momington, with the view of procuring con- 
tributions towards the support of the poor, afflicted with 
incurable complaints, opened a house in Fleet-street, for 
that purpose; and were so successful, that, in a short 
time, they were able to extend their scheme ; but, calcu- 
lating on their present success, they built an hospital w 
Lazar's-hill, for 100 patients, a number which their income 
was by no means adequate to support. Their funds were 
thus unnecessarily expended, and in a short time they 
were unable to support more than a dozen patients ; they 
then agreed to permit the governors of the House of In- 
dustry to send to their hospital 100 of such of the inmates 
of the former establishment as were incurable. In 1790, 
4,000/. was bequeathed by Theobald Wolfe, Esq., which 
so far relieved them, that, in two years afterwards, govern- 
ment offered, in exchange for this establishment, Buck- 
ingham Hospital, near Oonnybrook (originally designed 
for the small-pox, but then used for venereal patients), 
together with the land belonging to it. This ground (14 



UOUSI or INDUSTRY. 827 

acres)» from its coatigoity to the city^ is so profitable as 
to leave the hospital rent-free. In 1800^ the governors 
were incorporated by charter^ and have the power of ap* 
pointing officers witb salaries not exceeding fifty pounds : 
subscribers of twenty guineas, are governors for Dfe, and 
those of five guineas, governors for on<5 year. The 
patients are admitted by the board, who give the preference 
to auch as most need relief. When 50/. has been deposited 
in the hands of the treasurer for the admission of a patient, 
in case of the demise of such patient within one year, the 
further subscription of 15/. entitles the subscriber to the 
liberty of filling another vacancy for life. One physician 
and one sui^on attend, and, after three years' serrice, 
they are elijpble as governors. The house accommodates 
seventy patients, having been lately enlarged, by the addi- 
tion of a ward containing ten beds, under which is » wait- 
in^oom for patients, and other apartments. 

The income arises from the interest of money sub- 
scribed and ))equeathed, aided by a grant from govern- 
ment of 500/. per annum, and another from the grand 
jury of 100/., together with contributions from individuals 
who defray the expense of patients recommended by 
themselves.-— The governors meet the third Wednesday in 
each month at the hospital, when patients are directed to 
present themselves for admission. 

House OF Industry. — ^The House of Industry deserves 
more detail than the limits of this sketch will allow, whe« 
ther we consider the imperious claims on humanity of the 
cases here admitted, the order, neatness, and regularity 
pervading everv department, or the moderate expense of 
5/. 3f . 6^ yearly, for the maintenance and clothing of each 
pauper, under the system lately adopted, paupers from 
the county and city or Dublin only, are admissible ; but 
at the origin of this establishment, in 1772, paupers 
fr€im allpurU of Ireland, and from any country, under every 
species of distress, were admitted; vagrants and prosti" 
tutes were also confined here. For its present improved 
organization, reduction of number, and proportionate 
reductiou of expenditure^ the public are indebted to 
Mr. Ped, late chief secretary of Ireland. 

There are eleven acres of ground belonging to this esta- 
blishment, partly covered by two squares of buUdiog, 



228 FOUNDLINQ HOSPITAL, JAUES'S-STRCET. 

one for the af^ed and infinn» and one for the insane *,* 
there are also 137 cells for the more refractory of the last 
class; besides three hospitals, detached from the main 
buildinfi^, and from each other, for fever, chronic, medical, 
and surgical cases ; and in addition to these arrangements, 
the Talbot Dispensary affords medical and surgical relief 
daiiy, to the extreme poor of the north-west quarter of 
the city ; their average weekly number is 312. [bee Hard- 
ufiek Pever Httspital, and Richmond Lunatic MylumJ\ 

The penitentiaries, aumliartf fever hospitals, and other 
branches, hitherto attached to the House of Industry, 
having been lately discontinued, or placed under other 
control, the remaining duty of superintendence has ))een 
committed to one resident governor and seven visitors, 
who hold their meetings weekly ; the amount of the last 
parliamentary grant, for 1821, was 21,233/. 6«. 8^. Irish 
currency. 

Foundling Hospital, James's-street. — ^This build- 
ing was originally designed as an asylum for the aged and 
infirm, and for a few lunatic patients, and as a work- 
house for vagrants capable of labour. It was founded in 
1704, with no other property than 100/. a-year, and a 
piece of ground, containing fourteen acres ; these resources 
were by no means adequate to the expense of such an 
establishment, and accordingly, fourteen years after, a 
new body was incorporated, consisting of several persons 
of rank, amongst others, the lord mayor, sheriffs, and 
dignitaries of the church residing in the city -, and the 
orainary affairs of the institution were conducted by a 
court of fifteen persons chosen from the body of governors 
at large. The establishment was originally for the recep- 
tion of all beggars, and children above six years old, those 
below that age bein^ supported by their respective 
parishes, but in 1730, it was found necessary to open the 
nouse for children of all ages. It was at this period that 
the institution received the appellation of the Foundling 
. Hospital and Workhouse, and it continued without altera- 
tion until 1774, when the governors determined not to re- 
ceive children after the age of twelve months. All the 

• Paupers incurably huane are removed hither ftom the Richmond Lunatic 
Afylnm, which U exduiirely x«erved/or curable patients; 



FOmTBLINO HOSPITAL, JAia!S«S-STRfiET. 229 

bealtfay infants were put out to nurse^ with women who 
undertook the care of them for a smaU annual allowance, 
which was increased by a premium, in case the nurse ac- 
quitted herself to the satisfaction of the governors ; and, 
smce that period, the objects of relief of the institution, 
have been children only; the average number annually 
admitted for the last nine years has been about 1940. 

The front of the dining-hall, towards the great entrance 
from James's-street, has some affectation of ornament. 
The centre has one series of lofty arched windows, three 
on each side of the break in the middle, in which is the 
door (heavily decorated with pilasters, pediments, scrolls, 
foliage, &c.)) and a window on either side. This break is 
crowned by a pediment, above which is seen an octangular 
turret, with a clock ', at either extremity of the building 
is a projecting pavilion with an arched door beneath, and 
two windows above, one over the other, placed in a shallow 
recess, the flat arch of which is within the pediment ; the 
parapet between these three projections is embattled 3 in 
the roof are six lofty dormer windows. The interior is 
lighted by sixteen circular-headed ^vindows ; over the fire- 
place, at the eastern extremity, is a full-length portrait of 
Primate Boulter, who caused the poor of the city of Dublin 
to be fed in this hall at his own expense, in 1727-28, when 
a famine visited Dublin. 

The chapel, which stands on the south side of the court 
behind the dining-hall, is a very neat building, and its in- 
terior is handsome ; the galleries and roof are supported 
by gothic pillars. 

ilie infirmary, which is of more recent date, is well con- 
structed, and affords accommodation more than sufiicient 
for the demand. 

The establishment has been hitherto supported by par- 
liamentary grants, assisted by a tax on the city, and by 
the rents of the estate of the hospital; the two latter 
sources of revenue, however, afford but a small propor- 
tion of the sums requisite to the support of the institu- 
tion, and do not exceed the fourth part of the. grant an- 
nually made by parliament. The tax on the. city is relin- 
quished, the governors having determined that the sum of 
5/. shall be paid by each pariah for every child sent from 
it to the hospital. 



330 ST. PATaiCK*8, OB SWIFTS H08PITA&. 

The establishment is under the manaffement of a board 
of thirteen governors, in conjiinction with a similar num^ 
ber of {governesses ; amongst the former are the Arch- 
bishop of Dublin* the Bishops of Derry, Ferns* and £]•> 
phin, &c. ; and, amongst the latter^ many ladies of rank 
and fortune. The expenditure is considerable, owing as 
well to the number of resident officers requisite, as to the 
immense number of country nurses to be paid. There are 
at present no less than 5,000 cliildren at nurse in the 
country, and nearly 1,200 in the hospital. 

The resident officers are, a chaplain, registrar and pay- 
master, apothecary, provider, head master (male school), 
superintending school-mistress and housekeeper. 

The male schools are now placed.under the immediate 
superintendence of the chaplain, the Rev. H. Murmy, 
whose abilities and general informatiou are universally 
acknowledged, and who is deservedly esteemed as a theo- 
logical writer. At a certain age the children are appren- 
ticed out to trades, for which Uiey are previously prepared, 
by instructing them in such branches as they snow a dis- 
position to cultivate ; and the greatest care is taken by the 
governors in selecting the most respectable persons as 
masters. For the last twenty years, on an average, 2,000 
children aimually have been admitted to the hospital, and 
the parliamentary grant has been between 20,000 and 
30,000/. 

St. Patrick's, or Swift's Hospital.— The founder 
of this hospital, which was the first established in Ireland 
for the reception of idiots and lunatics, was the celebrated 
Dean Swift. And it is a remarkable coincidence, that 
Swift himself should subsequently have been reduced to 
the condition of the most wretched of its inmates ; but 
this fact is easily accounted for, without recourse to any 
miraculous presentiment, by the recollection of this cir- 
cumstance, that for many years previous to the eomplete 
wreck of one of the noblest of created minds, mdual de< 
cline of memory, frequent ^sts of passion, and weariness 
of life, formed too sure indications of the dreadful catas- 
trophe that was to ensue. It was probably the expecta- 
tion of such a termination which led him, while yet his 
reason possessed somewhat of its original powers, to re- 
flect oa the deplorable situation in which many wretches 



ST.pATIUet«fi, OR SWIFT'S HOSPITAL. 281 

wm placed, from the total want of an institution appro- 
priated to their reception. 

He therefore, by his will, bequeathed the whole of his 
property, except a few legacies, to this purpose. The 
amount of the bequest was upwards of 10,000/. ; the hos- 
pital waa commenced in 1749, on a site between Bow-lane 
and Steevens's Hospital, purchased from the latter insti- 
tution, and was opened for fifty patients, September 1767 -, 
the expense having been defrayed, partly by the interest 
of the Dequest and subscriptions received during the build- 
ing, and partly by two parliamentary grants of 1,060/. 
each. The building has been since enlarged^ so as to con- 
tain 177 patients. 

The front, about 150 feet, consists of a centre and two 
wngs, the former, which has two stories above the base- 
ment, 18 rusticated, and of granite : the latter are plain. 
There is a neat court-yard planted with trees, and separ- 
rated from the street by a high wall -, here the convales- 
cent patients are permitted to exercise ; behind there are 
gardens, which are cultivated principally by the labour of 
thepatients. 

There are six wards, three in each of the two buildings 
which run parallel to each other at right angles with the 
front, at a distance of 32 feet, and are 327 feet by 33, -and 
three stories high. Each ward is divided into a corridor, 
its whole length, and cells opening from it ; the latter, 158 
in number, are 12 feet by 8, the corridor 325 by 14, and 
sufficiently lofty ; there are, besides openings from the 
corridor, m each ward two apartments, of 16 feet by 12, 
for the accommodation of chamber boarders, and two 
rooms for the keejper of the ward. The ventilation is 
good, and is principally effected by large open casements 
with gratings, at the northern end : there are fire-places 
in the corridors, and every possible contrivance is adopted 
for rendering the accommodations at once healthy and 
comfortable. Besides the apartments above mentioned, 
16 feet by 12, there are seven others appropriated to 
chamber boarders ; these are in the front buiJding, and 
the occupants pay 100 guineas per annum, for whicn they 
have a servant tor their own use exclusively. 

There is a second class of boarders, who pay sixty gui- 



232. RICHMOND LUNATIC ASYLUIL 

ueas a year : they lodge in the wards, but have very excel- 
lent accommodation and attendance. 

The officers are a physician, surgeon, master, matron, 
and six ward-keepers. 

The Lord Primate, Lord Chancellor, Archbishop of 
Dublin, Deans of Christ-church and St. Patrick's, the state 
Physician, and the Surgeon General, are ex officio Gover- 
nors. No institution can be more judiciously manajS[«dj 
for the expenditure, though great, is considerably within 
the income, and the governors have a large sum in advance. 
No assistance, whatever, is received from parliament. 

Richmond Lunatic Asylum, Brunswick-street.— 
The accommodation for lunatic patients in this city and 
the neighbouring parts of the countr}', having been found 
inadequate, it was determined by the legislature to direct 
the foundation of an institution which might be sufficient 
to receive all the cases, not provided for by other esta- 
blishments of the kind, not only in Dublin, but through- 
out the country. The cells attached to the House of In- 
dustry in Dublin, and to the different workhouses in the 
other towns through the kingdom, having formerly been 
the only receptacles for the wretched sufferers, and these 
being necessarily crowded, without any possibility of clas- 
sification, it was not to be expected that the medical and 
moral treatment of the disease should have proved gene- 
rally successful. The benevolent views of the legislative 
and executive governments have not been disappointed, 
for, as few institutions of the kind have been more pru- 
dently and judiciously conducted than this, so in few have 
the proportion of successful cases been greater. 

It is under the control of a Board of Governors \ and the 
chief officers are. a moral governor, a physician, and sur- 
geon. The institution was originally desired solely for 
pauper patients, but the Board have judiciously deter- 
mined not to deny its benefits to those whose families are 
in possession of moderate means, and who yet would be 
quite unable to bear the enormous expense of supporting 
their friends afflicted with this dreadful malady. This 
class of persons comprehends, perhaps, the most deserv- 
ing part of society, and, therefore, it is not only justifi- 
able, but highly laudable to attempt every means of af- 
fording them comfort. 



mcmiom lunatki ksvtxm. 233 

The establi^ment accomfnodates 230 patients, whereof 
226 are paupers, and four contribute a small sum towards 
their maintenance; there are 198 cells, besides rooms con- 
taining two or three beds for convalescent patients, but 
occasionally a few more than this number can be accom- 
modated. 

In the treatment of the patients it is found, that a state 
of moderate exertion is best calculated to promote the re- 
turn of the mental powers ; and bodily exercise, as tend- 
ing to invigorate the general system, is therefore 
adopted In all cases which permit it. The male patients 
are chiefly employed in the gardens and grounds. The 
number varies from twenty to thirty ; the number of fe- 
males from forty to fifty ; these are generally occupied in 
spinning, knitting, mending and makmg clothes, washing 
in the laundry, &c. 

The only modes of coercion permitted here are the im« 
position of the arm->strap8, the muff, strait-waistcoat, soli- 
tary seclusion^ and degradation from one class of patients 
to another. 

Religious instruction has been introduced in such a 
manner as to be least liable to produce mischief. All the 
patients who are capable of duly comprehending the ob- 
jects of prayer, are regularly assembled for that purpose 
and it is observed by the moral governor, that many 
of the most unruly, noisy, and talkative, have res- 
trained themselves in a remarkable degree, after having 
been permitted to attend family prayer. Religious books 
have been (with the greatest caution) distributed in seve- 
ral instances, and thdr use has always been attended with 
advantage. 

No person can be admitted as a pauper patient without 
a medical certificate of insanity, an sSoidavit of poverty, 
and a certificate of the moral governor of a vacancy : 
printed forms of the certificate and affidavit are to be had 
of the .morid governor at the asylum. 

Independently of the asylums for the insane already no- 
ticed, there are several in the vicinity of Dublin which are 
devoted to the accommodation of persons of fortune, one 
of these is established at Glasnevin. There is also one 
near Donnybrook, supported by the society of Friends, 
nad designed for patienti of their own sect > this institu- 



234 DUBLIN GENERAL DISPENSARY. 

tion is, however, about to be enlarged, so as to admh 
those of ali classes, and of every religious profession. 



DISPENSARIES. 



Op institutions of this kind, there are a great number; 
which, with a single exception (the Talbot Dispensary), 
are supported by pri irate contributions, without any as- 
sistance from government. 

The Talbot Dispensary is attached to the House of 
Industry, and is intended for the relief of such of the in- 
mates of that establishment, as are unfit to be sent to the 
different infirmaries attached to it, as well as for appli- 
cants from all parts of the north-western extremity of 
Dublin ', it is attended every morning by one physician and 
two surs^eons. 

St. AIary's and St. Thomas's Dispensary, Coles- 
Lane, Henry-Street. — ^This was the first Dispensary 
ever established in Dublin 5 attendance three days in the 
week, Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. There are four 
physicians and two surgeons, who perform the duty in 
turn, exclusively of the consulting physicians. 

Dublin General Dispensary, Fleet-Street. — ^This 
Dispensary was founded in 1782, and was designed for 
the relief of the whole city -, but the several establishments 
of the same kind, since instituted, have somewhat con- 
tracted the sphere of its general action. There are six 
physicians, exclusive of a consulting physician, and the 
same number of surgeons. 

The latter attend the Dispensary daily, the former three 
days in a week at eleven o'clock (Monday, Wednesday, 
and Friday), in their turn, one physician and one surgeon 
attending the house practice for a month at a time. The 
whole city is divided into six districts, to each of which a 
physician and surgeon are attached, whose duty it is to 
visit at their own homes such patients as may be unable to 
attend at the Dispensary. 

Subscribers of one guinea annually, or life subscribers 
of five guineas, are el%ible as governors. Twelve of th« 



VACCIKB INSTITUTION. 235 

snbtcribers^ in conjunction with the twelve medical officers, 
fonn the Board of Governors. 

A branch of the Humane Society is held at this institu- 
tion ; the Board consists of the medical men of this insti- 
tution, those of Steevens's Hospital, the physician and 
surgeon-general, the Lord Mayor, &c. 

Meath Dispensary, or Sick-poor Institution. — ^This 
institution was opened in 1 794, in Meath-street, and was 
designed for the relief of the poor of the earl of Meath's 
liberty, comprising four parishes, where the population is 
more numerous, and the poverty of the lower orders more 
extreme, than in other parts of the city. 

The medical department consists oi six physicians and 
one surgeon, the former attend daily in turn, the latter 
visits the institution each day, both from eleven to two 
o'clock. These officers, until lately, had salaries from the 
institution proportioned to the length of their services. 

Persons paying ten guineas are Governors for life; 
annual subscribers of one guinea, or more, are Governors 
for the year. 

Vaccine Institution. — ^This institution was opened 
January 14 th, 1804, at 62, Sackville-street, for the purpose 
of vaccinating gratuitously the children, of the poor, for 
which purpose the secretary, or his assistant, both of 
whom are physicians of very considerable experience at- 
tend twice a week (Tuesdays and Fridays), from twelve 
to three o'clock. The numbers of apjplicants have been, 
from the first, very considerable, and it is gratifying to ob- 
serve, that they are annually increasing. Very few failures 
have occurred in those who had been there inoculated; 
and out of the immense number of individuals vaccinated 
at the institution, the Directors admit the occurrence of 
no more than four cases of genuine small-pox, none of 
which proved fatal. 

The establishment is supported in a great degree by pri- 
vate contributions, and by the profits arising from the 
sale of the vaccine matter ) packets of which may be 
had in any part of the kingdom, free of postage. The 
assistance derived from government is exceedingly trifling -, 
perhaps in no institution was there ever so much pub- 
fic utmty produced at so small an expense to the commu- 
nity. 



1^ ttHt kMe. 

The only officer who receWcs a salary i« the seerelary, 
on whom, or his assistant^ devolres the entire labour of 
the institution. 

His BxceUency the Lord Lieutenant is patron. 

Besides the Dispensaries already mentioned, there are 
several of minor note, which are or great advanta^ to the 
poor, in the different parts of the city. Among them are, 
the Charitable Institution, Kildare-street ; the National 
Eye Infirmary, North Gumberland^street ; Saint Mary's 
Hospital, Ormond Quay, &c. 



FINE ARTS* 

Though Ireland has produced many eminent artists 
(painters particularly), yet the Arts are, comparatively 
speaking, almost in a state of infancy in the metropolis 
of the kingdom. There is either a want of sufficient taste 
amongst the Irish gentry, or the country is too poof to 
affora support or existence to professions not absolutely 
necessary. 

It cannot be urged, that neglect, on the part of govern- 
ment, in not patronizing the Arts, is one Of the chief opc- 
rathig causes against their advancement, for no charter, or 
patronizing name, could correct the taste of the country, 
if it were impure, or compel the public to purchase thou- 
sands of very inferior works, for the desperate chance of 
what some distant period mis^ht produce. 

As the Royal Academy in London was founded so late as 
1768, the Irish artists need not be very loud in their com- 
plaints, or very indignant at not being incorporated until 
1823, and perhaps the artists of Dublin are not quite 
correct in attributing such magical effects to a royal Charter 
upon persons in their present circumstances; but this 
question does not properly belong to our subject. There 
are about fiftjr artists resident in Dublin, of whom not more 
than six or eiffht live by what is termed the Intimate ex- 
ercise of theirart. Let it not be concluded from the pr^ 
ceding observations, that the exertions of the Dublia 
Society, to rescue the arts from neglect, have been tottdly 



FINK ARTS. 237 

in^eetual, 'for, in their academies, many distinguislied 
artists have received the rudiments of their education ; and 
if the fostering hand of a great and noble institution 
were to protect dawning genius, until its brilliancy became 
sufficient to emit a strong and permanent lustre, the ends 
of its establishment would be fully answered. Initial or 
elementary instruction is all that can be expected from the 
Society's schools, which is quite sufficient for future me- 
chanics and traders, and so far the utility of their academies 
is universally acknowledged. 

Numerous attempts have been made to establish annual 
exhibitions of painting and sculpture, and, previously to 
the year 1800, they were highly creditable to the artiste of 
Ireland ; but, since that period, they have been irregular, 
and the collections unpromising. 

In 1764, the artists associated and erected a large and 
handsome edifice in William-street called the "Exhibi- 
tion Room;" but the profits of the exhibitions were 
not sufficient to pay the interest of the debentures issued 
to create a building fund ; and the house devolved to their 
agents, who had advanced considerable siuns for its comple- 
tion. 

The next exhibition, presented to the public, was held 
in the House of Lords^ by the permission of Lord Hard- 
wick. Not many years after, his Grace the Duke of 
Richmond, then Lord Lieutenant, instituted a Society of 
Arts, and an exhibition was held under his patronage, in 
1810, in the Dublin Society's house, Hawkins'-street 
(now the New Theatre Royal), at which several works of 
merit appeared. Dissensions amongst the artists them- 
selves, at this period, considerably abated the warmth of 
publicifeeling towards them, and a new society was insti- 
tuted, '.under the patronage of his present Majesty (then 
Prince Regent), for exhibiting the works of the Old 
Masters, lliese exhibitions also were held in the Dublin 
Society's house in Hawkins'-street, but have been discon- 
tinued since the removal to Leinster House, where no col- 
lection, either of the Old Masters, or of Living Artists, 
has ever been exhibited. 

In 1821, an exhibition of painting and sculpture was 
held in the Public Rooms attached to the Royal Arcade, 
Itt €k>llege-green, wMch did not prove very attractive. It 



iai R6VAL mBimnAK ACADEIIV, ke. 

may not be uninteresting to name some of tlie Aiatin- 
^ished artists who incorporated themselves with thdr 
brethren in London ; amongst them are Barrett, Peters, 
Barry, Shee, Mnlready, Thompson, &c. Many of ednal, 
and some of superior talent, never thought it expedient 
to withdraw from their native city, vi«. Hamilton, Ash- 
ford, Roberts, Comerford, to which list might with truth 
be added, the name of the distinguished artist, from whose 
drawings the engravings for this work were made. 

RoTAL Hibernian Academy of Paintino, SouLi^TtniBj 
ANB Architecture.— A barren charter of Incornoration 
was granted to the Artists of Ireland, August 5th, 1823. 
Erin's unluclcy genius, was incautious for a moment, when 
a burst of light flowed in upon the dark age of the Arts in 
Ireland, and has now diffused its rays so extensively and so 
substantiallvy that, in all human probability, her baneful 
occupation is gone for ever. The merit of watching the op- 
portunity is due to Francis Johnston, Esq., a name already 
belonging to posterity, as the classic productions of his 
architectural genius, scattered so judiciously amidst the 
elegant public buildings of Dublin, sufficiently testify. 
Bv the erection of an academy, o/ his own private expense, 
JVIr. Johnston has raised for himself a monument such as 
the pride of kings could not confer, and has left to poste- 
rity a name to be cherished and revered while the Arts 
shall have an existence in the land. The Academy consists 
of a patron (the King), vice patron (the Lord Lieu- 
tenant), president (F. Johnston^ jSsa.)> ten academicians, 
and eight associates, from amongst wnom^ upon vacancies, 
future academicians are to be chosen. 

The building is erected on a plot of grouadin Abbey-street, 
the fee of which has been purchased by the munificent 
founder of the Academy ; and it is after a dedgn byliimself. 
The elevation consists of three stories : in the basement 
there is aloggia or recess, ornamented by two fluted columns, 
of the Doric order, supporting the first story ; over the en- 
tranceisahead of Palladio, representing Architecture^ over 
the window on the right, one of Michael Angeloi represent- 
ing Sculpture, and on the left, of Raphael, emblematic 
ofPainting. These are by J* Smyth, Esq*, an associate. 
Passing through an entrance-hall, and ascending a broad 
flight of steps, the first exhibition t^m (40 fcet by 20, 



ROYAL HIBERNIAN ACADEMY* ^ 239 

and intended for water-colour drawinffs) is entered : tUff 
communicates by a lar^e arch-way with the great saloon, 
for the exhibition of oil paintings, 50 feet by 40, lighted 
by a lantern whose sashes are inclined to the horizon at 
an angle of 46 degrees, whereby the light is difiiised over 
that part of the wall only on which the paintings are to be 
suspended, and the spectator is left completely in the shade. 
A very inp^eniously contrived octagonal staircase leads to 
the counal-room, Keeper^s-apartments, &c., which are all 
in the front building.— The first stone of this edifice was 
laid on the 29th of April, 1824, by F. Johnston, Esq.s 
and on a copper plate, which was firmly bedded in 
the stone, was the following inscription : — " Anno. Dom. 
M.DCCC.XXIV. His Most Gracious Majesty, Geor^^e 
the Fourth, King of the United Kingdoms of Great Britain 
and Ireland, Defender of the Faith, &c., having by his 
Royal Letters Patent, bearinc^ date the 5th August, 1823, 
incorporated the Artists of Ireland, under the name of 
* The Royal Hibernian Academy of Painting, Sculpture, 
and Architecture,' Francis Johnston, Esq., Architect, one 
of the members of that body, munificently founded this 
build in£^ for their use, to form a National School of Art : 
and laid this, the first stone, April 29th, 1824, the day ap- 
pointed for the celebration of his Majesty's birth, in the 
presence of the Academy.'* Then follow the names of the 
original members. — Messrs. Carolan were the builders.— 
The first exhibition took place in May, 1825, 



240 



PRIVATE COLLECTIONS OF PAINTINGS BY THE OLD 
MASTERS. 



Ijwd Charlemont*9 Collection^ Palace'rowt 

Portmit of himself Rosabella. 

St. John in the Wilderness Correggio. 

Jadas throwing down the pieces of silver BembrandU 

Caesar Borgia -•••♦ •• Titian. 

Musicians •• Mtchael Angelo Caravaggio. 

Lord Aylesbury Sir Joshua Reynolds. 

Head of St Peter f^andyke. 

Fruit-pieces • Michael Angelo del CammdogUo, 

Gates of Calais tiogarth. 

Lady's Last Stake Ditto. 

Harlot's Progress, (second subject) Ditto. 

Mrs. Woffington Ditto. 

Two sea views Wright, of Derby. 

Landscape Claude Lorrain. 

Venus chiding Cupid • Sir Joshua Reynoldt. 

Justice, (a portrait) > Giorgione» 

An old man*s head Hogarth, 

Earl of FamhamU Palacc'row, Rutland-square, 

Duke and Duchess of Lerma < P'elasptez 

Landscapes Gasper Poussin* 

Ditto Gainsborough 

Venus extracting a thorn fram her foot Paul Veronese. 

Prodigal Son's Return < ••... Romanelli' 

Landscapes Loutherbourg. 

Ditto Ricci. 

Woman taken in Adultery • Caramggis* 

The Marquis of fFaterford^s, Marlborough^treet. 

The Woman of Samaria • jLanfrane. 

Martyrdom of St. Sebastian Baroem. 

Sea-port B. Petert* 

Battle-piece • BreyieU 

Ditto Diiti. 

Diana and the death of Act»on ...^ • ...• Fidppo Lippi. 



PRIVATE COLLECTIONS 09 PAINTINGK9. 241 

Diana preparing for the chase Fiiippo Lippi^ 

Wise Men's Offering ..- —•*.•. Tenters, 

Cattle fFouvermana. 

Landscape Tenters. 

Holy Family > Caracci. 

David bearing the bead of Goliah Simon de Voe, 

Marriage of Canaan Ditto, 

Dead Christ Quintin Matsys, (the Smith o/JnttverpJ. 

A Magdalen • Rubens. 

Allegorical piece, the Virgin and Child Vandyke* 

Cattle and figures Francisco Castigliofie^ 

Ditto Ditto. 

Landscape and figures LucatelU\ 

Banditti Gambling Paul Potter. 

Sylvan figures P. Battoni after Rubens and Sneyders. 

St. Jerome Rothenhamer and Finkenboofns* 

Holy Family • Carlo Maratti. 

Annunciation Ditto, 

Landscape and figures D.Adens, 

I)>tto Aiichan, 

IVo portraits P. D. Bray» 

The Hon. and Rev. Mr. Pomeroy^s, Merrion'Spiare, North. 

The Grecian Daughter Cfuercino. 

Christ bearing his Cross Murillo. 

Flute-player Velasquez. 

Diana and Nymphs Titian. 

Sea-view Claude. 

Landscape and figures • Tenters. 

Ditto and cattle Ditto* 

landscape Salvator Rosa. 

Ditto Ditto. 

St. Sebastian Vandyke, 

This is considered the finest collection in Dublin. 

William John Moore% Esq., Rutland-square. 

Ecce Homo • Cfuido. 

Italian Peasants PiazzelH. 

Charles I. (three views of bis countenance in the same piece, done 
for Bernini the sculptor, in order to give him a perfect idea of 
the head and face) Vandyke* 

Marriage of St. Catherine Correggio. 

Sea-piece (calm) ..* • • /^> Vandervelde. 

Noah entering the ark ....^ Teniers. 

Fountain and horses .•», fVouvermans. 

T 



242 FUTATC OOLLICTIONS OP fjjmmxu 

Interior of a Cottage and figoresy by candleHgfat Rembrwudt 

Old Man and interior ,..••••. • Gerard Dow. 

Interior of a cathedral Peter Nee/h 

With nearly one hundred more of great excellence. 

Provost's housct Grafton'StreeU 

Nero contemplating the dead body of his mother ...... Dome- 

nichino* 

St. John ...» ^..... I Paul Veronese. 

Old man's head Spagnoletto, 

Holy Family, (baptism) Titian, 

With a number of portraits of distinguished literary characters. 

Francis Johnston% esq,, Eccles-streeU 

This is a most extensive and beautiful collection, and disposed 
more advantageously than any other in Dublin. The principal 
works are hung in their proper lights in a rotunda, at the rear of 
Mr. Johnston's house, erected for this purpose expressly ; and 
the armngement bears ample testimony to the taste of this very 
eminent artist. The following is but a brief extract £rom Mr. 
Johnston's catalogue :*^ 

St. Marlv's Place, during the Carnival Canaletti, 

Water&li in Switzerland Gesner, 

The Seasons # Bassan. 

Battle • Wouvermans, 

Wise Men's Offering Albert Durer. 

Boys blowing bubbles, and two others Murillo, 

Catae Paul Potter. 

Angel appearing to the Shepherds Albert Cuyp- 

Cattle and Shepherd^ Rosa da Tivoli. 

Basket-maker • .'..... Michael Angelo Caravaggio. 

St. Peter Rubens. 

St. Augustine • Lanfranc. 

Female Miser • QuitUin Matsj/s, 

St. Francis .••...^ - Guido, 

St Jerome 2V. PoHSsin* 

And several Landscapes ^ S, Rosa, Barrett, and Fernet, 

Major Sirr's, Dublin Castle* 

The following sketch is too brief to give an adequate idea of 
the importance of this extensive collection:— 

Yenufl And Adonis (purchased m Rome by Lord Bristol) Titian^ 



SiiflAllB&h and the Elders Giorgione, 

Death of Cato • ,.• SeUvator Rosa. 

Adoratioa of the Shepherds Murillo* 

St. Sebastian Guido. 

Landscape and figures Claude. 

Rape of Helen JV. Poussin. 

Tobit and Ai^l & Rosa* 

Christ disputing in the Temple Bckhout* 

Sea-port with storm and lightning ; JRembrandt, 

Christ bearing the cross , , Rubens. 

Landscapes 6y S, Rosa and the younger Teniers, 

Original design from his windows near Richmond Sir J» 

Reynolds. 

Curtius leaping into the gulph Paul Veronese. 

Christ in the Sepulchre Guercim. 

Man on horseback with landscape fFouvermans. 

The Virgin Albert Durer. 

And several landscapes by Hobbima, Wilson^ and G, Poussin, 

John Boyd's, Esq,, Stephen's-green, South. 

St Andrew Annibal Caracci. 

Martyrdom of St. Sebastian Guercino. 

Altar-piece Albert Durer. 

Abiaham and Isaac ....• Diepenbeke. 

Dutch Fair A. Cuyp. 

A Skirmish of CaTalry Fonder Meulen. 

A Storm Backhuysen. 

View in Venice Canaletti* 

Woman taken in adultery Franks- 

Scourging of Christ Vanderwerf. 

Scene from Don Quixote Hogarth. 

Landscape (with banditti) » S.Rosa. 

Ditto Francisco Bolognese. 

Ditto Van Uoyen. 

With many beautiful portraits by Tintoretto and others. 

Alderman Cash's, Rutland'Square. 

Two 1at|pe landscapes (painted in Rome) .» Jacob Moore. 

The Royal Family Zojimi 

There are in this collection several landscapes by Luca Giordano, 
Bniegbel, Van Egmont, Barrett, and Gilpin ; and a Bergham, a 
very fine Bhueheron, with figures by Fandervelde ; besides a 
number of cabinet pictures, and some of the best prodnctions of 
the pxesent Irish artists. 



244 FftlVATfl GOLLE(}TI(MIS OF PAINTINGS. 



Henry Manning^, Esq,y Grenmlle-gtreet. 

Virgin and Child Raphael 

Portrait of a Burgomaster Rembrandt, 

A Magdalen Caraeci. 

8ea-piece ..• f^'ernet. 

Landscape •«.. Suoane/eid. 

Lady Harriet Valy^s, Henrietta^treet, 

The Assumption Murillo. 

Cleopatra Barroccio. 

Portrait of Himself • Rembrandt. 

A Magdalen , .». Guido. 

Virgin and Child Caraeci, 

St Francis Ditto. 

Richard Power*$, Esq., Kildare-street. 

The Woodman (copied in worsted by Miss Linwood) ... Barker. 

Landscape and Cattle Murillo. 

Ditto Ditto. 

Cattle Bassan. 

Portrait E. Serani. 

Charity ,» C Cignani. 

Ruins ..«.. .•• • •. Viviani, 

Landscape J. Kauffmam. 

Rev, MrK Seymour% Baggot'Streef* 

Landscape HMima. 

Lot and his Daughters P^an NieL 

Landscape Ruysdael. 

Ditto. Glauber^ and Lairesse. 

Ditto. Breenberg. 

Abraham sacrificing Isaac Tintoretto. 

Marriage of St. Catherine Correggio. 

Resurrection Pordenone. 

Holy Family Andrea del Sarto, 

Landscape and cattle , Ou!fP' 

Ditto ,...•... BerghetH' 

Town on Fire „ Vand^meer. 

This small collection, consisting of about one hundred pictures, 
of a cabinet size^ contains many other beautiful specimens of good 
masters. 



fiNVmoNS OP ttT»LW. 24S 

Thomas Manning, Eaqr^s Collectimy No. 2, Gtewoille-Btreet. 

The DiMOvery of AchiUes • Nicoh Ptmstin. 

Susannah and the Elders Donieniehim, 

Christ and the Woman of Samaria «... Albano, 

Madmina and Child ..« BaphaeL 

David beholding Bathaheba ..Albert Durer. 

(One of the finest pictures of this master) 

The Shepherds Offering ,.„ , Murilh. 

Portrait of Swalmius , JRembrandf. 

Interior of a Guard Room •.... * Tenters. 

Sea-piece , yiandervelde. 

Italian Landscape and Figures Swane/eld, 



ENVIRONS OF DUBLIN. 

The City of Dublin is encompassed by two canals, 
commtinicating' with the Liffey, near its mouth, on the 
north and south sides, where extensive docks are attached 
to them. Upon passing the canal bridge, on the north 
side of the city, a flat but highly improved country is ex- 
panded to the view. On the road leading to Homh har- 
bour, not far from Clont^rf, is Marino, the seat of the 
Earl of Charlemont, consisting of about 100 acres richly 
wooded ; in the centre of i;mch stands the Casino, a 
beautiful structure, designed by Sir W. Chambers, and 
a rich specimen of Italian architecture. In this demesne 
there are several objects worth the attention of the visitor. 
Viz. the hermitage, Rosamond's bower, &c. 

In the neighbourhood is Killester, the seat of the late 
Lord Newcomen, a beautiful demesne of about 60 acres, 
with an excellent house. In the garden are graperies and 
pineries of great extent. Near the village of Clontarf, 
about one mile from Killester, stands Clontarf Castle, the 
seat of George Vernon, Esq., a stately edifice, possessing 
noble apartments, excellent gardens, and surroimded by 
a highly-improved demesne. A few miles farther to the 
north is Malahide Castle, the seat of Colonel Talbot, 
M. P. for the County of Dublin. This ancient building, 
and the grounds attached to it, were given to tlie Talbots 
by Henry 11. : muclt care and puns are taken to preserve 
y3 



246 ENVIRONS OF DUBLIN. 

that air of antiquity, which every object about this in- 
teresting spot possesses. The oak parlour is not only a 
great curiosity, but a strong testimony of the skill and 
address of artists in the davs of other times. 

Turvey House and Part, formerly the seat of Lord 
Kingsland, but now belonging to the Trimleston family, 
is an extensive and thickly wooded demesne, but no farther 
interesting. There is another magnificent residence at the 
north side of the city, three miles from Dublin, Santry, 
the seat of Sir Gompton Domville, Bart. 

Near Malahide, is the Church of St. Dolough, an object 
of ^reat interest to the antiquary ; this ancient building^, 
which is roofed with stone, and in excellent preservation, 
is of such a style of architecture as to render it a matter 
of considerable difficulty to reconcile the date of its erec- 
tion with any exact period : there are many holy wells of 
various forms and properties around. 

On the hill of Howth, which is such a prominent fea- 
ture in the scenery at the north side of the city, is Ho^vth 
Castle, the seat of the Earl of Howth : the house is an 
ancient castle modernized, and much disfigured by being 
so constantly and carefully white-washed. In the resi- 
dence of this ancient and noble family, some relics of the 
greatness and heroism of their ancestors are still pre- 
served : here may be seen the double-handled sword, with 
which Sir Tristram committed such havock amongst the 
Danes. 

The Abbey of Howth is a beautiful and interesting ruin, 
and contains some curious tombs ^ on the island of Ire- 
land's Eye, about three quarters of a mile from the pier 
head, are the ruins of an Abbey built by St. Nessau in 
670. Upon this little detached piece of land, there is a 
castellated rock, which, seen from the shore, never fails 
to deceive the stranger ; and on the shore along which the 
Dublin road winds, are the ruins of Kilbarrick Abbey. 

To the south of Dublin lies a country not exceeded by 
any outlet in the empire, a spacious inclined plane reach- 
ing from the foot of the mountains to the sea side, thickly 
studded with villages, lodges, castles, desmesnes, villas, 
&c., from Dublin to the base of Sugar-loaf Hill, a dis- 
tance of twelve Irish miles. 

The villages of Black Rock and Dunleary (now King'^ 



ENVIRONS OF DUBLtK. .247 

Town) ha?e lon^ and deservedly been celebrated as bathing 
places, and the retreat of the citizens on Sundays. Near 
Black Rock are innumerable seats, commanding delifi^htful 
sea and mountain views, the most splendid of which is 
Mount Merrion, the seat of Verschoyle, Esq. ; the de- 
mesne, which is enclosed by a high wall, contains 100 
acres beautifully wooded, and commands a view of the 
whole County of Dublin, part of the County of Wicklow, 
with the scalp in the for&rground, and, in cloudless 
weather, the mountains of the County Down may be dis- 
tinctly seen from these grounds. 

Sans Souci, the seat of J\Ir. Latouche ; Leopard's Town, 
the residence of Lord Castle-Coote -, Stillorgan, and many 
other equally magnificent demesnes, adorn this neighbour- 
hood. 

More to the west are Rathfarnham Castle, formerly oc- 
cupied by the Marquis of Ely, whose property it is ; 
Bushy Park, the seat of Sir Robert Shaw, Bart., M. P. 
for the City of Dublin j Marley, the seat of the Right 
Honourable" David Latouche 5 and Holly Park, the pro- 
perty of L. Foote, Esq. 

Along the banks of the Liflfey, west of the city, is a 
beautiful vein of country, in which are some very elegant 
demesnes and splendid mansions. Leixlip Castle ana the 
Salmon Leap are romantic and beautiful objects, and the 
Aqueduct thrown across the Rye, by the Royal Canal 
Company, is a great artificial curiosity, being 100 feet 
high. Kear to Dublin, along the banks of the river, are 
several very beautiful plantations and residences. Her- 
mitage, formerly the seat of Colonel Haufield, is particu- 
larly picturesque and romantic ; and Palmerstown, one of 
the seats of the Right Honourable Lord Donoughmore, is 
a princely dwelling. 

Luttrils Town, or Woodlands, the seat of Col. White, 
formerly the property of Lord Carharapton, is one of the 
most extensive demesnes in the county of Dublin. 

The Phcbnix Park, the country seat of his Excellency 
the Lord Lieutenant, and several of the household, is a 
tract of land of about 1 ,000 acres. It was first laid down 
by King Charles H. (1662), who was in possession of that 
part of the lands of Kilmainham which was surrendered 
to the Crown (32 Henry VHL, Nov. 2nd.), by Sir John 



248 tmttiGKS 6r DtmtiKu 

Ravrgon, KnigKt, Prior of Kilm^nham^ upon tlie sup^ 
Bression of the Priory of St. John of Jerttsalem [see 
Royal Hospital]. James Duke of Onnond> then Lord 
Lieutenant, purchased, in pnrsuanoe to the desire of his 
Maiesty, the lands of Phoenix and Newtown, containing 
46/ acres, to add to the lands of Kilmainham, in order to 
extend the park; also a farther quantity of 441 «cres 
from Sir Maurice Eustace, Kniffht, Lord Chancellor of 
Ireland, part of the lands of Chapel Izod. Many other 
town lands were then purchased, and united into that 
enclosure now called Phoenix Park (from the town land 
of that name), which was the first purchased, and to 
which all the others were added. 

The Park extended on both sides of the Lilfey, and 
was in consequence much exposed to trespasses, upon 
which it was determined to enclose the part <m the north 
side of the river; this. Sir John Temple (afterwards 
Lord Palmerstown), undertook to perform, on condition 
of being paid 200/. out of the Treasury, and a grant 
being made to him of ail the land excluded by the Park- 
wall from the Dublin-gate to Chapel Izod, which condi- 
tions were assented to oy his Majesty. The land on the 
other bank of the river was granted by his Majesty for 
the purpose of erecting the Royal Hospital upon, and was 
henceforth excluded from Phoenix Parx. 

The first Ranger of the Park was appointed by Charles 
II., and in 1751, the Right Honourable Nathaniel Cle- 
ments, Ranger, father of Lord Leitrim, built a hand- 
some lodffe for his own residence, which was purchased 
from him by government in 17B4, as a mansion for th« Lord 
Lieutenant, since which time it has been enlarged and 
beautified, so that its present appearance is not unworthy 
of the improved taste of this age. This was the residence 
of his Majesty during his visit to Dublin in 1821. Near 
the entrance to the Vice-regal Lodge, is a Corinthian 
column, thirty feet in height, in the centre of a circular 
plat of ground, enclosed by iron railing 5 this waa erected 
m 1745, by Philip Dormer Stanhope, Earl of Chesterfield, 
then Lord Lieutenant, who also improved and beautified 
the whole Park. On the snmmit of the column is a 
Phoenix, from which it is supposed the P&rk borrow:? its 
name j but the figure was rather a conaequestce than a ewst 



ENVIRONS OF DUBLIN. 249 

o£ this appellation, as is obvious from tvliat has been 
mentioned relative to the origin of this spacious demesne. 

Opposite the Vice-regal Lod^e, is the residence of the 
Chief Secretary, inferior in point of elegance, but both 
a comfortable and elegant residence. 

There is a large plain of about fifty acres, perfectly 
level, where the troops are reviewed on his Majesty's 
birth day, and on field-days : here is the Hibernian School, 
for the education and maintenance of soldiers' children, 
established by Lord Townsend in 1767, which accommo- 
dates 400 boys, and near 200 girls ; and has a church at- 
tached, where one of his Excellency's chaplains officiates. 

There are other interesting objects in this Park, two of 
which have already been described, viz. the Wellington 
Testimonial, and the Royal Infirmary ; and near the 
Dublin entrance to the A^ice-regal Lodge, in the bottom 
of a wooded glen, is a Chalybeate Spa, with pleasure 
grounds, and seats for invalids, laid out at the expense of 
the Dowager Duchess of Richmond, for the public benefit. 
In a M<lB3 house adjacent to the spring is a small tablet 
with this inscription : 

This Seat 

Was given by Her Grace 

Charlotte, Duchess of Richmond, 

For the health and comfort 

Of the Inhabitants of Dublin, 

Aug. 12th, 1813. 

Thus has the reader been trespassed upon, in a work 
professing to be an historic view of the city, with a brief 
sketch of the County itself, of which, though not the 
professed object of this volume, as it contains the Metro- 
polis of Ireland, he will excuse the introduction. 

In the little Volume now laid before the Public, there 
will necessarily be discovered many imperfections j but 
when the Reader takes the trouble of investigating how 
many original articles, the result of local knowledge and 
observation, have been introduced, he will probably 
acknowledge, that much also has been accomplished. 



250 



BANKS. 

Shaw'sBank.*— Sir Robert Shaw, Bart. M. P., T. Nccd- 
liam, and Ponsonby Shaw, Esqrs. hold their Bank in 
Foster-place, CoUege-ffreen, opposite the west front of 
the Bank of Ireland. Here bills are discounted, and pri- 
vate notes and post bills issued. 

Latouche's Bank, Oastle-strvet issues post bills 
only. The bank is a large brick building of four stories in 
height, having the windows ornamented with architraves 
of cut stone. 

FiNLAY & Go's. Bank, Jervis-street.-^TIus firm dis- 
counts, receives lodgments, and issues notes | none how- 
ever under 3/. 

Ball's Bank, in Henrystreet, next to the General 
Post Office, and but a few yards from Sackville-street. 
This bank issues notes, and transacts all other species of 
banking business. 

Belfast Bank. — ^The notes of Gordon and Co. are 
l^ayable at Watson and Law's counting-house, 39, Upper 
fcackville-street, between the hours of ten and two, each 
day. 



251 



RATES OP CARRIAGES. 

All Public CaiTiages are under the control of the Magis^ 
trates of the Head Police-Office (Exchange Court, RoyalEx- 
change), to whom complaints of misconduct against owners or 
drivers are to be preferred, within fourteen days after the offence 
18 comauttea. 



Bates of Carriages, 



A Set Down within the Public 

Liehts 

For the flwt Hour , 

For cveiy Hour after., , 

For Twelve Hours 



From 6 Morning to 12 



Coach, 
s, d, 

1 4 

2 
1 6 

13 6 



at Night. 
J. Car 



8 
6 6 



*. d, 

6| 

1 1 
9 



From 12 Night 
to 6 Mom. 



Coach, 
s, d. 
2 
2 
8 



Sedan. 
s,d. 
1 7| 
I 7} 

1 rl 



BATES OF CARRIAGES TO THE FOLLOWING PLACES. 



PLACES. 



Abbotstown • • , 

Artane 

Ashbrook , 

BftU'iB Bridge ... 

Belgart /, 

Baliyfermot...., 

Hallv^U , 

BlaiHciook «..., 

Bluebell 

Booftentown ••, 

Bellcatnp 

Barbentown ... 

BeUdoyle 

Belgriffin 

Brackenvtown... 

Brazil 

Bullock 

Ballinteer 

Brenanstown .«. 

BlaekbuBh 

BurtoaHall .«• 
Cabragh ....... 

Clonakeagh 

CardlTs Bridge . 
Cha^lijDd ....* 
Church Town... 
Castleknock ... 

Clontof 

Clofltarf SImmU . 
Coolock ....... 

Cmmlin 

CloghranCh. ... 

Clondalkin 

Clonee 

<^niagh,,.,,«ti. 



Coach. 


J,Car. 


#. d. 


t. d. 


3 6 


1 lljk 


3 5 


I 4 


3 5 


i 4 


2 OJ 


1 4 


5 5 


2 ri 


3 6 


1 4 


3 ft 


1 4 


4 I 


I 1] f 


2 H 


1 r 


3 9 


1 4 


5 5 


2 r 


7 5 


3 3 


8 1 


3 3 


5 S 


2 ri 


10 10 


3 11 


10 10 


3 11 


8 li 


3 3 


6 5 


2 71 


8 14 


3 3 


3 6 


1 11} 


6 5 


2 tJ 


8 (^ 


1 4 


2 si 


1 4 


2 8tt 


1 4 


3 6 


I ri 


3 6 


1 4 


4 1 


1 Hi 


3 5 


1 4 


4 1 


1 111 

1 Hi 


4 1 


r4 


1 4 
3 3 


5 5 


2 rj 


10 10 


3 11 


T H 


3 ^ 



PLAGES. 



Corsistream « , 

Collingstown , 

Carrickmines , 

Cabinteely , 

Corkragh..... , 

Croydon 

Dnnsink 

Doiphins-bam-town . 

Dargle(New) 

Donnycarney 

Donny brook 

Drumcondra , 

Dubber 

Dundrum 

Dunleary 

Dalkey 

Fairview 

Finglas 

Finglas Bridge 

Fox and Geese ..... 

Feltrum 

Forrest.... 

Fir House 

Godl^ Green 

Glaanevin. ..«.«••.«• 

Glanageary 

GlenyUle 



Haiold'6*cros8 ^ 

Hall'sbam ...« 

Howth 

Huntstovni 

Irish-town 

Johnstown ....m.... 
JameaTown ••••»«i« 



Coach. 


t. d. 


5 5 


5 6 


8 ] 


8 1 


e 9 


2 8 


4 } 


2 OJ 


9 6 


13 


4 I 


4 1 


6 14 


10 10 


2 8i 


3 


t 8i 


3 6 


10 10 


T 6i 


5 6 


3 5 


2 8i 


8 10 


4 9 


r4 


3 5 


10 10 


4 1 


2 6 


3 5 


4 1 



t.d, 

2 TJ 

2 r| 

3 S 

?? 

L lU 
I 4 

Hi 



1 111 

1 111 

2 7| 

3 3 

1 4 

1? 

3 9 

2 71 
I ll} 

1 * 

3 X 

2 T 
1 4 
1 4 
1 4 

3 11 
1 11^ 
1 4 
1 4 

1 Hi 



252 



RATES OF CARRIAGES. 



PLACES. 



Island Bridge* • 

Kildonan 

Kiliester.... 

Kimmage 

KilKobbin 

Kilteman •••.. 

Kill of Grange 

Knockaedan 

Kilmacod ..•.•....• 

Kishoge 

Knockfyon •••••... 
Xnaghlinstown ...... 

Leijtlip 

Larkfield 

Xucan [Woodlands 
Liutrilstown, or 

}tfcrrioo 

MilUowii • 

Mt. pel. Parade (B.R.) 
Wt. pel. place (B.R.) 
Nt. pel. How (B. R.) 

mount Merriun 

l^lalahide..... 

2Uonk8town ........ 

Iklnlhuddart 

Merville 

iMonnt Venos 

I^ewtown Avenue.... 

!Kewbrook...» 

Newland 

Uew Park 

Vemtoyrn Park ...... 

Vewt. HaU'a Barn . . 

INeiUtown 

Oldbawn 

Palmerstown ^^ • • • « . . 

Pigeon Hotue. 

Pnor'8 Wood 

Fuckstown ........ .. 

Pickardstown ........ 

Frieat House 



Coach 


J.Car. 


t.d. 


*.d. 


2 6 


1 4 


4 1 


1 lU 


3 5 


iiii 


2 11 


1 iij 


8 U 


3 3' 


10 10 


3 11 


5 5 


2 7J 


10 10 


3 ir 


4 9 


2 7i 


4 9 


2 7I 


5 5 


3 -jf 


10 10 


3 11 


10 10 


3 11 


4 9 


2 7J 


8 1, 


3 3 


6 8 


2 7 


3 1 


1 3: 


3 1 


1 1* 


4 (i 


8 6 


4 G 


2 6 


4 


2 6 


4 1 


1 7i 


10 10 


3 11 


6 1. 


2 T 


6 q 


2 7i 


3 5 


1 3 


6 9i 


2 7 ' 


4 p 


1 11 


4 9 


2 7 


5 5 


2 7 


« 9* 


3 3 


5 5 


2 7 


3 5 


1 11 


5 £ 


2 7i 


5 5 


2 7 


4.1 


1 11 


3 5 


1 4 


4 9 


2 7i 


Hi 


1 4 


3 3 


3 5 


1 4 



PLACES. 



Park Palce , 

Philipsbargh , 

Fhipsborongh ...... 

Rabeny (Country). . 

Raheny (Strand) ., 

Rathfarnham ...^.. 

Ratbmines 

Ringsend 

Ratligar 

Rockbrook. ....... 

Hoche's-town •••.• 

River&dale 

Royal Charter School 

Royal Hospital ... 

Raiielagh 

Richmond 

Ship on the Strand 

Shoulder of Mutton 

Stormanstown .... 

Simmons Court... 

Sea Mount 

Sandymount •••.. 

Springfield 

Saggard 

St. Doolough's ... 

St. Catherine's ».. 

St. Margaret's ... 

Santry 

Sea Point (B. R.). 

Somerton ....... 

Stillorgan , 

Swords • , 

Templeoguc ...... 

Tallagh 

Taylor's Grange ..., 

Tubberbony , 

Terenure... , 

Waircu Honee .,., 

Wheatfield 

Williarastown ... 

"Windy Harbour . 
A Set Down to any Place adjoining the Royal or Grand 

Canals, from 6 in the Morning to 12 at Mght 

Do. from 12 at ^igbt to 6 in the Morning.,,..,, , 



Coach 

9.d. 

lO 10 

2 6 

1 8 
5 1 
5 5 

3 5 

2 6 
2 
2 
7 
8 
2 
2 
2 
2 6 
2 6 

2 6 
5 5 

3 5 

2 8^ 

3 5 

2 8i 

5 5 

9 6, 

7 6l 

10 10, 

6 9i 

4 1 

5 5 

6 6 
4 9 

10 10 

4 1 

5 5 
4 9 
4 9 

3 1 

8 1 

9 6 
3 5 
3 5 

1 7 

2 0^ 



J.Car. 



Carriages are deemed on their Stand whereyer met with, provided Ihey be not 
at that lime actually engaged. 

flj • A Set Down implies going to any of the above places, and retunioe with 
be employer, provided there be not a delay of more than fifteen roinutet. 



ARCHITECTURAL SYNOPSIS. 



263 



I 



I 



ss;: 



§ 



i I UMs Bl ill 



fill |l^|' 






Ill's! 




«H 




ABOHUSOT0AAL.5YKOPSIS. 


B 

r* 


-8| % 


^ II. 


1 


1 








«-« VH p-4 


§111 Bl 



t^ 



I* 



•■g llrllll 



riilrfe 



ir 



gto 






■tltllll 






III! 



■ a "J" 



>< s 



jlilg^i 



i 7 to 5^ X a 

lllllMllllllll 




ARCHITECTURAL SYNOPSIS. 



S SS gP gg 



§ 



fs gss i 



00 t- 00 w F> 



mis 



•III 



1' 



iiilii 






iilsilPtlllillflf 

If III iS^lllil 5 II afi:;? 



mil 

Il3||| 



I 









ill 






265 



256 
INDEX. 



ACAPEIifT, Royal Iriah..**.. 39 

of Faintiiig, Ac... •••.••• 838 

Aldermen of Skliioei'Makiy •••• 108 
Anatomy Honse (Univenlly). • • • 18 

- — , School of... ••••• S03 

AndentHiatoryorDnblin...... I 

Apothecaries'-Hall •••• fi04 

Aqoedoct •••••••••••••••«•••• S4IT 

AflylnmsfortheBllMl*,*,,...., 131 

Magdalen. •• •••»•».• II9 

— Bow-ftreet .•....•••»«••• ISO 

— — Townsend-street •••• ib. 

*— Female Penitentiary ib. 

—- widows ...•••.•••. l£l 

— Female Senranti ••••• 122 

— PleasantsT 134 

Archieplscopal Palace SO 

ArtlMi,Iiv&ig •••••« • 238 

BallaatOflke •••*«•••.••• 160 

Bank uf Ireland ...••..%••..•• 28 

Cash Office 23 

•— Home of Commoni •••..• 24 
—— Honse of Lords. ••»•••.•• lb. 

— Printing Honse •••«»«••.. 85 
Bank'Ootes, printing of ..••••• • ib. 

— — Engraving Engine for. » • • •• 80 

Bankers • »•••• £50 

Baptists •.. • 101 

Barracks I4d 

Bay of Publin..,.. ,«••• 5 

BeMistBauk •• 250 

BUnd, Asytaims for the •••«•>•« 131 
—^ Simpson's Hosfiital...«f. ibw 

— Rkhmondlnstitntion.M.., 138 
— — Molineoz Asylun •••••«•• 133 

Blne-c^at Hospital ••• •••• 194 

Botany-bay-sqnare ••••«••••••• 19 

Botanic-gao-dcn, (College) • 22 

(DnbUn Soctety).,.,. 29 

Boyd*B» Mr. Paintings at. •%••••• 843 

BrchonLaws • •• I60 

Bridewell • •••« 118 

Bridge, CariUle , 149 

-— - Iron •••••••.•• 150 

Essex... ib. 

«— Richmond 151 

— Wbitworth •••.••••.••••• 158 

QneenTs.. ..••...•• •• ib. 

Bloody ••..., ib. 

——Sarah •••.»••••• 153 

Canals !#«•••••«••••. 6 



Pase" 
CariistoJNidge ••••».. ....tf.... 149 

Cash's, Alderman, paintings at .. S4S 

Cash-office at the Bank 83 

Cassels, (Architect). . , . . .85, IM, 813 
Castle, ihe .•.••••••«.«•*•••• o 

St. Patrick'sAaU... 7 

Chapd •••.••••. ' 8 

Record Tower.... ••••.••• 9 

Cathedral, St. Patrick's ........ .48 

-~— Monnmenss. ....... f««^.. 44 

— ~ ChapterAonse... «••••••.• 48 

St. MaiVs Chapel •••..•.. 49 

Christ Chnich 51 

'■ ' ' Relics ....•...•».•*•■•.• 53 

— r- NaT » 54 

■ Monuments .......m***** 5S 

— — • Transept .....••.•■•-.«■.• 57 

Choir ....••• 58 

—r^ St. Mary's Ci^pel... 59 

Chapels, Roman Catholic •••«••, 85 

"—^ Metropolitan •••• 'OS 

— — Arran Quay..., ••••• 87 

Bridge-street 88 

— <-^ JameMtreet.......*..*.** ib. 

Francb.8treet ••.«...••••• ib. 

-*- Liff(ey.8treet.«..... ib. 

*— Annestreet. ..••■. ....•.• 89 
"— — MeaUurtreet..«..i.«.f.««. 90 

— £zchange.fltreet .......... ib. 

—— Townsend'street •••«••••.% 98 

-~— Denmaik.street •••«•••.•• 93 
--~- Ckure|u1on*stTeet....p..... ib« 

~ — Adam and Eve .^..a 94 

Chnrch-ttreet .......c... lb. 

HardwiGk.street •••.•..••. ib. 

Ebeneoer ,...«... 100 

Zion •..........•• ib. 

Chambers, Sir W. (Archit.) 14, l6, 153 

Cliamber of Commerce .^. 185 

Charitable Associations «.»,!••• 12S 

Loan...... ..•••••, .,.••. 184 

Chariemont.hoiu#... 158 

Pahitings at.... 240 

Church, St. Michael's .•••.•••.. 60 
— '— St. Jfdin's.«...k..°«...i.»« 61 

St.Mlchan'k •••••.. 68 

St. Andoen's (or Owen's) . • 64 

St. Nicholas Withont 6S 

St.Peter's 66 

St. Kevin's 67 

St. Weril>argh'8 68 

St. Mary's .,••........•• 70 



IKDBX. 257 



Ftte 

(Web, St.- AuM's ••••....»••• 71 

— StBridger* 7« 

StGaoiifl's... 73 

— StGeoi«tf»(UttU»> 15 

et Thomas's .^.... ib. 

— StiCillMriiie^ *..•• 77 

Bt. James** 78 

— 8t;PirtP«.,,. 79 

8t4 Nicholas Wilhin «••••• 80^ 

StABirew's 81 

— 8t.Lake^ M 

a.Mirk1i ; 84 



Cfaapol. 



8t.« 

5«™l»-«> — 

vifyAneinblywhoue ••^••.•« 



CoUeie, Trimty .......i 

—^ Chapel •».«..'.«^. ..••••• 
-^Theatre. «••••%..« 

Kefeetoiy 

— (Inteaded) Triarophal Arch 

-^ Libraw ••.» 

-*— Fagel iibCTt^* «•• 

— MaiHMeilpt-rdlna ...»••». 

■ — Fellow*!" Garden 

-^ Park ♦♦, 

•— Anatomy House lb. 

PrMting-hense 19 

-— t*eevost'fi<h(j<ue >..••■•••• ib. 
— '- B«4any-bay«8qiiare ib. 

— ~- Atof m ••• SO 

Ch«<.ulo#y ..••.,. 21 

-~~ B«rtaujc-garden •••••••••• 22 

r'i'if^QrPbysiciaiu •• 197 

' Kargeons ••••«•• ••• 199 

Column, NeIiOB,.«... « 144 

— Phceidx 

C'ooBibe Hospital. ••« 

CAnmcraial BaildJags 

CoflHBOB- Coaooil .«...•.>• . 

Codvnto ...* 

Co<%, (At«hic»ct) . . . . lll» 

CbrponiloB •••••«•••••••< 

C^BotyOoal'.*.^ 

CODiti <••••< 

CcMi Of Law ••.«..••...• 

C<Nirt».Pmrogative 

— — Conistonl ••.»..•••« 

-^AAniraltf 

r-- of Conscience 

<SAl»inHoaw ••• 

'■'*^ Long Room ••*< 

^*^ Docks 



157; 



£48 
209 
183 
107 
93 
178 
182 

im 

112 
115 
156 
163 
164 

ib. 

ib. 
172 
176 

ib. 



]>iy Schools... 135 

]>aly^,UdyH.,Paiiitineiat .. 244 
^E>«>f ud Drnnb InsUtntiOD 126 



FMft' 

Deweiy, St. PktHck'a^... do 

Christ Cburafa.« 6o< 

iBikpeBsan^TVabot « £34- 

i-^^ St.Masy'Sfte ib»- 

]_^ Dahiio General ...».»i.f ihr- 

. , Meath «.••»••.•••••••«•• SSi- 

' Drawing School »•«•••«• 99- 

: Dublin, Ancient History of • • • » 1- 

Siteandtetcnt of ,.•«.... ^ 

' Bay of »»»•»»»« <«« *- 

InstitQtion ..•• ^. 40- 

lahrary Society .......... 4f 

Peuitcntianr 4tr 

^x.^ Environs of ...•,. • £45 

Doblin Society...* .«^.«, ...««• fift^ 
—^ Botanic Establinhmcnt •,.. 88- 

Dawing School.. ••.••••« ib. 

Hall ...«* Si 

GalkryofStatoary........ Sd 

.-^ Inner HaU ib* 

——- Library. ....••...^. ...... 3S 

Itfuseata ....' :. ib. 

pratMog Schools 38 

Engine for engraving Bank Notes SG 

Envivonsof.DoUin « S4tf 

Eastafce4itreel Meeling-honse * • • • 90 
Exchange ,.•...••....•••..••« 178 

Excise.^.*. ........%•.••. ...••» ib. 

Executive Government ........ 9 

Exhibitions of Paintings 2Sr 

Fagel Libfarv 17 

Farming Society • 38 

Famham's, Earl of. Paintings at 240 

Fellows of Trinity College II 

Fine Arts 236 

First-FnutsBoard.,,..,...,.... l64 

Friaries.. ...•• 9& 

Fountain, Merrion-square ...... 141 

Fountains, remofval of. •.....'.•. Vf^ 

Fonr Coartt ••«• 157 

Foandling HospiUl ......•«...« 238 

Gandon^ James (Architect),. .22, 157» 
163, 176 (isofe), 178, 225 



Gas Light Company., 
George** HiU Kannery , . • 
German Chnrch ......... 

Gksuevin, botaole gpvden . 
Government, Executive ..• 
Municipal , 



Harold's Crois Nnonery. • . »•• • 
Hardwieke Fever Httspiud. . . k . 
Hospital, Royal, Kiimainham 



•««...••••• 



■ Mcrcci^s 
Meath .. 
> Coombe . 



186 
95 
103 
2^ 
9 
. 104 

216 

*!l 

, £06 
. 288 

, ib. 

209 



368 INDEX. 

Page 

HfMpita), L^ringia 210 

-..- WMUnoMMid Lock .•...• 815 
— St. Mark and St Anna's .« Sl6 
-^HardwiokFaver.... ••.... ib. 

Sir Patrick Dan's S19 

«-— WUtwonli SS8 

-— BlCbttoad Sorgkal SS3 

— ~ 8t.George'8 lb. 

->— 'Whitwortfa Fever ••• ib. 

— . St. Pater and St. Bridget .. 284 

«-— Incurables •.•••.*..• 226 

-~— House of Indofltry ..«••... 227 
~— Foondling .•••••««.»...4 228 

St.Patrickrs — •••• 230 

HooseofCommona* ••••• 24 

Lords • ib. 

— - Reftige 122 

— - IndoiHy • •• 227 

Howth 5 

Abbey 246 

.. — Catfle ib. 

170 
185 
£26 
100 
205 
SS5 
160 
ib. 



Improvement! ••;.••...., 

Incorporated Society ••..« 
Incurables, Hospital for . . . 

Independents ....•••i 

Infirmary, Jervi»«treet .,« 

— -~ Royal MiKUry 

Inns of CooEt... •«•«••.••< 

Inn, CoUet^s .•••• •••• .c 

— — Preston's ;••••.....••..•• l6l 

King's ib. 

Insane, Asyloms for die ... • 2S0, 232 

Institution, the Dublin 40 

Insunince (Marine and Commer- 
cial) Offices • 185 

Ivoiy, (Architect) 194, igr 

Jews 103 

Johnston, F. (Architect) 8; 23, 68, 74, 
88, 119> 166, 194 

«-— Academy erected by 238 

- — ills GaUeiy of Paiutings .. . . 242 

Keating. (Prior) 190 

Kilmainham Gaol... ....•••.... lis 

Priory 189 

—- Hoyal Hospital ib. 

Klng*s Inns • l6l 

£ing.street Nnnnery ...••..... 95 

BJrk, (Sculptor) &5 

Kirwanian Sodety • 40 

Xaw Courts .;'....-. 155 

lAtoiicfae's Bank .....250 

l«ctnres, at the Dublin Society . . 28 
——Medical 198 

— Botanical • J99 

Lectures, at Surgeon's College.. 200 
——at Apothecaries' Hall ...... S04 



Page 

LectOKS on Midwifery Sl2 

Cliniaal 221 

LedEean Maseum SO, 9(7 

librarjr. Trinity CoUege 16 

DnMin&oci^**!"'.!!r.I! 33 

Royal Irish Academy .... 39 

Dublin Institntion • 40 

-^^ Dublin Libraiy Society. . • • 4L 

Marah's ib. 

LMitfaonses .,..., 5, I69 

Linen and.Yam Hall 186 

Lord lieutenant's IlsUUishment 10 

Lord Mayor.. ^ 104 

Lucas, Dr. Charles 3 

-— . Monnmoit •..« 63 

SUtue • 181 

Lunatic Asylum (St. Patrick's 

Hospital) •« 230 

Richmond 232 

Olasnevin • 233 

•—— Donnybrook •••....•...• ib. 

Lunatics, trcatroeut of •«.> ib. 

Lyingln Hospital.. 210 

Chapel 21s 

Mack (Architect) 168 

Mac A lister, artist 3« 

Magdalen Asylqm. ....•> 119 

MagUtrates of Police 110 

MaUs 165 

Malahlde Casde 245 

Malton 157 

Manoinc's, Henry, Paintings at . . 244 

lliomaa, ditto >... US 

Manor, Thomas Court.. ••«..... II6 

St.SepuIcbre ib. 

Deanery of St. Patrick •,*, 117 

Mansion House .....••• 105 

RonndRoom... .••• 106 

——Exchequer ••••••• ib. 

SherifPsRoom • ib. 

Manuscripts at Trinity CoUflge . . 17 

Dublin Society 33 

Royal Irish Academy .... 39 

Seabright ••.••....•• 73 

Marsh's Library •;•••« .^••... 4i 

Marine School 19S 

Marino ..., •.•••••... 245 

Marahalsea, City 114 

•- — Four Courts •«.... ib. 

MeathstreetCliapel go 

Meath Charitable Society ...... 124 

■ Dbpensary •...• 235 

Mendicity Society ..• 124 

Merchant's Hall • los 

Mercer's Hospital 206 

Merrion Square •••...... 141 



INDEX. 



259 



Melbodiatf.. 



Page 

>• •• 100 

collectioB (DttbUa 

SocMy) 30, sa 

UodeioftheBank U 

• ortbe Bridge stSchaffhanaen S3 
cAsylam • 133 



ib. 



PmoTost Baldwin •• 38 

Dr.Manh 48 

Arcbbiflhop Smyth • 
EariofCavan ••••. 

John Ball 

Stena 

Archbiabop Tnffoy 

Dean Swift 

I>ean Keating 



Bishop Mcredidi 
>>rdR( 



ib. 



I>ord 

£arlorcork 

VisooanCeM Doneraile 

l>oke or Scbomberg 

Archbishop Jones ........ 48 

Sir S. Anehmnty A5 

Thomas Prior ib. 

StroDgbow 96 

IjordBowes •••••• ib. 

liOrdLifford 57 

Bishop EIHs ib. 

Tarl of Kildare ••••.•••.. 58 

Bfshop Hetcfaer Sg 

Agard, P. ib. 

Dr. Wiiodward ib. 

Dr. Laeas 63 

Malooe .«••• 65 

Hamilton, Lient. Gen. .. 66 

-Westby, Lient ib. 

PftsEgibbon (Lord Clare) • • 67 
Bishop Tcnnlsoo ....^ 
Dr.Law .......... J^< 

Ifrs. Chevenin ?,» 

Dean Fletcher ..•«, 

Watson, W • 

UisB Fhibba 

Ifrs. Pleasants ••• 

Xady Oalbralth 75 

IVhiteUwDr 78 

Itfylne 76 



Ellis 

Bmler ib. 

Mrs. Meade 80 

Colonel Ormsby ib. 

^ Dr. Betagh 91 

Moor^s, Mr., Paintings at ..... . S41 

Horavians • . . • .*•• 102 

Morrison Messrs. (architects) •• so 

Moafle,Dr 210 

Monnt.Menrion •••«• 847 



Page 

Miiteiim,Univrnity».„, ,, £o 

Dnblin Society ,,„ 3S 

Mttrfcal Fond Society ••,••••••« us 

Nelson's Pilar • 144 

Newwte m 

NewRooms. ...•«•• 214 

Nicholas St. Without. ......... 65 

Knnneriea ••••••. ..«•.. « q5 

Obscrvaloiy •••§•.••••••••■..• 81 

Ogle, Rt. Hon. G., statue of .... 49 

Oidham's, Mr., Apparatus for 

Printfng Bank Not^ 2S 

Orphan HoQse, Fenule 13S 

Schools, Female Masonic. 13« 

OssifledMan ..k.. l» 

Onzel Galley Association « 183 

Papwor* (architect) ••.. 41 

Park, College Iff 

PEtenix...,. S4T 

Paving Board ., 170 

Penitentiary, Dnblin 117 

Bicbmoad •.«.• lift 

Lock ll» 

DubHn, Female 130* 

PhttiiisPark 247 

Cohunn...... 249 

rhyslc. School of • 202 

Physictans' College 19T 

Association of •• 201 

Pictures, at the DnbUn Sodety . . 37 

LisUof 240 

Pipe Water CommiUee 171 

Pleasants, Mr 37, 73, 134, 187 



Asylum 

PoUce 

Poraeroy'B, Mr., Palntingft at • 
Portraits at Trinity College . .. 

Mansion House •. 

Royal Hospital ....... 

Poet Office 

Peony , 



134 

109 

.241 

16 

106 

,1^ 

165 



Powers, Mr., Paintings at ...... 244 

■ " 16.1 



Prerogntive Court 

Presbyterians •...••.. 

Preston's Inn 

Printing House, Univeraity . . . . 

Bank..... 

Presses Ibr Bank-notes • . 

Prisons 

Provosf s House 



25 

111 
19 



PaintiAMkt..... 24Z 

Power8ConrfH(tas« 168 



Powersconrf 
Quakers. 



168 
10« 



2SB IVDEX. 

Page 

lUlestirCaitlai^ S5I 

BcfecflAy, Trinity College 15 

BdtglbiA SodUles 138 

BiiAmood Penitentiary 1 18 

Bridge 151 

InatUatlon •«... 138 

Lunatic Atytam ••.. 23Z 

Kotaflda RoOtns 213 

Royal IrishAcademy 39 

— ~ ChapterHonae 49 

Areade 149,237 

Hospital, Kilutaiuliam •... 189 

Hibernian Academy .»..«. 838 

Military Academy. 225 

Savage (architect) l5l 

SUDdoogh 346 

StPairlcft-fcHall 7 

Savingi'Bank ....185 

Sdiool, St. Catherine'l, Sunday . . 135 

-. — Free, day •• 139 

-.— Ben and LancasCbrlan • • . « ib. 

^'at» 245 

> wdcrs 100 

, . sions Hoase 115 

» -t ymour's, Rev. Mr., Pictures .. 244 

..w^sBank 250 

Sberiff's Prison 113 

Simpson's Hospital ..•..*...•,. 131 

Smith's Schools 1-26 

Smith, J . , (architect) 76, 77 

Smyth, (scolptor) 43, 71,72, 159, 1T4 
Spa at Stove Tenter Hoase ...••• 188 

— .inPhcenixPark. 249 

Sqaare, Merrion .••141 

~~ Fitzwilliam 142 

Untland ib. 

Monntjoy ....143 

Society, Dublin........ 28 

—^ — Farminv , «• 38 

— — Kirwanlan 40 

TbernoCeltlc ib. 

Dablin IJbraiV 41 

Stranger's Friend 123 

— — For Relief of Industrious 

Poor ib. 

-•^- I>ebtor*s Friend ib. 

Musical Fund 124 

Heath CliariUble ib. 

«->— Tncorporated ..•..• 1?5 

For Education of the Poor 136 

>^- Snnday School .•••..••.• 137 

Religions Tract ••• 138 

Bible, &c. •...••••...••• 139 

Stamp Office...*. .....•••.I... 167 



PH« 

Sutuary Gallery (DiibUASkliSletyO, $2 

' Stalne, George ITl. Bank S4 

•— ^ Marqais or Backlngh&m .. 4B 

Geoige I. MansioB H. .••• lOT 

George II. Stephen's Green 40 

William IIT. College, ditto. 144 

—— George III. Kxchange •••. Ifit' 
-— • Dr. Lncas, EjcduuDge ..•• ib. 

SteievensDr. ...'•••.... • S06 

'sHosuiUl ib. 

Stephen's Green •.. 139 

Stove Tenter House .......•.••• 18T 

Stran d-Btreet Meeting-House • . « . ge 
Students at Trinity College . . . . ^ • 28 

Surgeons' College .•,.•... I99 

Sargery,Btudy of •......•••.•«• IZOO 

Swift, Mask's Portraits of 104 

'sMouumenl.. 44 

Hospital .•• 230 

Taflorft'Hall 108 

Templars ;. I89 

TenterJionse ...•••• 187 

Theatres 145 

Theatre, Crow4U%et .•.....»•. 147 

-—New •..••.••. ib. 

Fishamble-Mreet .......... 148 

Tholeel • 107 

TobaccoStores 17T 

Treasury •....•.•...... 7 

U&iversi^ 2,31 

Livines..... 12 

~-~ Exammations.. ••••••..•• ib. 

Scholars 13 

Ushei's Quay Meeting-Honse • • • . 99 

Vacciuflbistittttion 235 

Van I^ (sculptor) ........ 43, 181 

Vai^ts^St.Michan's..... 62 

Vtceroy'K Lodge .248 

Waldre (Painter) 7 

Walker,John, 101 

Walkerites ib« 

Ward'8-hill Nunnery .......... 95 

Waterford-honse 154 

Paintings at ............ S40 

Wax-models 19 

Weavers' Hall 219 

Wellington Testimordal •....•.. 145 

Whitworth Fever Hospital • 282 

Wkte'-street Commlssionera ...... 171 

Winter (Provost). ».., ...• 9T 

Widows' Houses ...» 121 



T. C. HANSARD, Pater-nostcr^row Prem. 




li 



z *«5 






• — ^ 1: 



'4 



— ^ :f 

— ' ^ 

— ' ^ 

— ' t 

" — ^ 



Statf*^ 



TOURS IN IRELAND, 
BY THE SAME AUTHOR. 
PUBLISHED BY BALDWIN, CRADOCK, AND 
JOY. 



AGUIDEto the LAKES of KILLARNEY. With a Map 
of the Lakes, and Five Views from Designs by 6. Petrie, £«q. 
royal 18mo. %s, 

rrom tbe deg^ Kyle in which the *• Gaide to the Lakes of Killarney," by 
the Ber. G. 19. Wiii^t, is written, and tbe beauty and fleellog of the descriptive 
part, we have enjoyed mnch pleasure in its perosal. While modestly professh^ 
to be a mere Guide to Ifaeae romantic regions, it will be found a hichly intereatiog 
Companion in the closet. Indeed the beantlfal and extremely spirited designs by 
George Petrie, 'Bm, pecnUariy adapt it for the latter sitnation. To the descrip* 
tive part of the worfc, the Author has very properly added Directions for Tourists, 
poinnng oat, according to the time they can devote to surveying these Lakes, the 
conne to be pursued under any circumstances. So well are these plans arranged, 
that aU die most strilang points of view may be cvrsorily visited in one day onlv. 
It is a very common teilt in worics of this nature that, by digressing too tkr m 
antiquarian and historical researches, they are swelled beyond a porMble size : 
this tettit is here avoided ; and this small volume presenU us at once with a n ..U- 
inliDnned and fhithftil guide, and an interesting pocket eempankm^— itf(Oji(/:/|r 

yKt liave already had occasion to speak in terms of h^ eommendatioB of t<ie 
«• Picture of Dabttn* by diis Gentleman. It only remains ftnr ns to say, dial his 
Guide to the Lakes of Killamcy* is deserving of equal praise, both for the 



jadidonsnesB of iU arnumment, the fulness of the infbnnatien, and the ezeeediag 
beauty of Mr. Pctrie's drawings^ a<hnirably engraved by Cooke. It is scklom 
tint so many ezcellendet unlfe in so small a cfMbpass as this unanuntaig volumes 
and we should be glad to lUnk that it may be the means of drawing some of our 
travellers and tourists to our unfortunate sister island, for which Nature has done 
•o moeb to invite, and Man so UtUe to detahu— JVesv M9tUM$ Mag, 



A GUIDE to the COUNTY of WICKLOW. With an 
excellent Map of the County from a new Survey, and Five beau* 
tiful Views, from Designs by G. Petrie, Esq. royBl 18mo. 7«. 



A GUIDE to the GIANT'S CAUSEWAY, and the 

North-East Coast of ANTRIM. Illustrated by EnguaviDgs after 
the Pesigns of G. Petsie, Esq. in royal 13mo. . Price 6ff. 

*•* A very limited number of Copies ef theee three Guides, 
namely, KnxAB»«T, Wicklow, and the Cavbbwat, have been 
printed on lax^e paper, with Proof Impressions of the Plates, uni- 
formlyWith tbe large paper edition of the Guide to Dubuv. 
Price 1/. 10#. 






•^^ 



ryOflKS RECENTLY PUBLISHED 



T 



BALDWIN, CRADOCK^ AIJD JOY. 



MEMOIR of the MFB aad CHABACTfiR of the 
mOHT HON. EDMUND BURKE; with Specimens of hh 
Poetry and Letters, and an Estimate of his Genius and Talents, 
compared with those of his ^eat Contemporaries. By Jamks 
PbIou, Esq. In one large Volotae, 8vou price 16^. TTitfar Atito- 
graphs, and a Poptisil. 

Mf . Prior's book conttiiu many Inttanettltag particobn reitpeettng Bm%e, not 
^^jen by hb other blDgrafrfMn ; it exbfblts iniich Jast senttment and good fbelhig ; 
and it displays saffldent evidence that much t;areftil foqnlry has been employed 
in Its prodaction.--The work is t senslbte and talnabKf aac.'^Jfiacktcood^ 
Mag. Jan. 18S5. 

THE HISTORICAL LIFE of JOANNA, QUEEN of 
NAPLES and COUNTESS of PKOVENCE, tdth correlathre 
]>elaiia of the literature and Manners of Italy ai^ Proveace in 
the Thirteenth'Mid FenrteMUi Centumes. la 8 vote. 8vo^ with 
Portrait, Vignettes^ &c. Price U. 5s. 

The life of this remarictble Woiaan ^omprahends so maekof the l i lw atin e 
■Ml MsBBOTB i>t the Uth toA I4lh centuties^ thtt, evev-divceted oi to own 
!'■■— mu chartdtri it co»W not Adi to maiB» «» i o ft mu t ia g ^potomtk The 
dl a| »iai o« of the' <tarkints which oovwid Esrope far tomai^ceBfariesi the 
Biilig of inch Imniftarles as Dante, Pehweb, and Boeeaelo; the.dcsperale 
atiMe 1>etwe«< tm^eriBra and atw^bom cieiMatioa; and ahe.peedUar iMddeiita 
ii hlih ttkow a chtvalroaa and ronnndc ehann oter the inner of * Joanna of 
Naples, unite MgMberlo mder thU a Taiy Jodieione iwienl, and a book that 
may be read with both pleasure aud advantage.— I/nii;. Review. 

The subject of these volumes Is a happy one, and has never yet been 
treated in our literatnce with the attentioa vrhich it deserves. The period of 
the revival of Letters in Eurepe-is one of the most iatereatinpepocht wUch/tfae 
historian or blegtapher can select, and it is singnlar tlMt It^benld haw haea 
reserved for wviters of the present day to introduce the subject to the Eogliah 
reader. These writera (De^Sade, Sec.) ha^ fbmiihed tiie substratatn of the present 
volumes, which are an agreeable melange of History, Biography, and literature. 
—New Monthly Mag. 

MEMOIR of JOHN AIKIN, M.D. with aS^Ieetvon of 
1^ Mis^llanMiiS Pleees, Biographical « Moral, and Crtticid; By 
Lucy AistK, Ih 2 vo]». 8vo,, with a Portrait. Price ]|. 4»« 



"Wt cannot -dtaniM this work whhont coagntnladvg Mlift AMn upon ihe 
judiflions manner, and eHgaat style, in which, she has airannd and written this 
agreeable FaseicnkiSb The account of her excellent Father u drawn up with a 
taste which confers high honoui* upon her literaiy character. — Gent's Mag. 

The liife of such- a person deserves to be stodkd ; and It iehere narreled at 
considerable extent by bis accomplished Daughter, whose disHufflished siaeeesa 
in the historical career is an ample pledge for sedulous information, conscientioua 



WwM recenify JhtbUsked &ff Baidmn, OMock, awi^otf^ 

ttOi^, *f^ oealatM aro»i9p>latfMi w 1iiei»«Mnt<4M:oiirioi|,«o4mcrttiiiie ^ ^o* 
reefuigs, and ao adapted to her own knowledge.— il/on. Rev. 

ODES and ADDRESSES to GREAT PEOPLE. Second 
£ditian. ISmo. price &. 6</. 

nese AddTCflies kaye in feet a ftud of Aui. They remind ns of Fetcr PUidar, 
, and aoraetimes •( Colman :— they have almost as much hamoar, and they have 
|- r«(bcr more wit.->-iViai0 Tt/aes, 

OBSERVATIONS on some of the DIALECTS in the 
WEST of ENGLAND, particularly fiomersetBhi re, with a Glos- 
sary of ^Vords now in use there, and PoeiBS and other Pieces, ex- 
\ emplifying the.Pialect. By JiUMS Jbnninob, Hod. Sec. Metropo* 
litan Lit. institiition. FoolsGap, Svo. price Ts, 

DENMARK DELINEATED ; or, Sketches of the Prescn* 

State of that Country: illustrated with Tweuty-one Views ami 

; Portraits after Danish Artists. By A. Ai^DEaaEN FsinBoao, < 

''■ the University of Copenhagen. Royal Svo. Price 1/. 11*. 6 . 

• boards. 

GOING TOO FAR, a Tale for all Ages. 2 vols. 12m j, 
price 19*. 

The NOVICE; or, Man of Integrity, from the French of 
Picard, Author of ** the Gil Bias pi the Revolution," Sec* 3 vote. 

* l^Bio. I6tf..6e;. 

M. Picard's novels have been highly commended, as presenting a cocrect and 
animated pictaire of Frenth maPMn jind society at the present day. 

"niere k a i:omid«rable abave of amnxyKBt in lli««e pngea ; luunan natare is 

gketehed, as it ever will be when sketched en masse t bad encsigb, batit*is done 

I very entertainingly, like the swallow, M. Picard skims the sarface exceedingly 

vcU* and Ibe JievQtiitMO has tiirown np so mooh'ssam, Ihatbis writings seem 

made Am- (he »ffi,mA the agstfor \3Mim,-^IAterary Guxe$te. 

We shofaki ItanFe.no reason to oompfaiia <«if oar English publishers, if they never 
pr«s«iiti?d-tonswaiseiH>vtels<han the ftcansiation now before -as. We do not 
mean to say.that I^:B. Picard is equal to tba Great Unkoowo, for he wants two 
great *c#qiiiaites4br Ihe itigh maatery of his art-»taste and feeling. <Bnt then- he has 
judgment in |io ooineiH d|«ree; and the onnsDai merit sif 'making his moral 
striking and interesting, without the ostentation of parade «r scnnoniaing.-^ 
Moo, Mag, 

CHARLTON^ or «C£NBS m l^e NOATH ef IRfi- 
LAND, byJoHNGu««u:, AHtborof ''lirisKSketcbes'', ^'Sars- 
field," &c. 3 volf . 18mo. Pxke iSf. boards. 

To develope Irish customs, feelings, and events, the author has commenced 
with Charlton* a series of (ioteoded) talas. Judguig from his iftrst effort, we are 
inclined to say '* go on." Several of ibe scenes are JaaghabJe ; and, upon «te 
Hfbolc, Charlton is an amnsiiig peifoniiMee.^C/iii v. Hev, 

TALES and MISCELLANEOUS PIECES, by Mvrta 
EoaBiroiiTH. Now first cotleotedand printed in a unifon;. 1 vi : an, 
in 14 vols, elegantly printed in foolscap. Price 4/. 4;. boi^id?. 



JFi^ki recently Published bp Baldwin, Cradock, and ^foy, 

JDWALf a Poem^ in three Cantoi^ with Notes, small Sto. 
Price 8«. 6d. 

Tkia is a poem •Too onUnury merit : it ilicpUiyB cooiidanble powers of ima- 
finattOB ; and wer^olee to find tiiat those powen.are chaAiced and regulated 
1^ a severe and sound jndfment.— These eztraeCs, we conceive, will jnaoiy Ac 
landaloiy tone of ciilieism in wbkh we liave spoken of tins poon, thoai^ a 
litw verbal blemidies oocor in tbem. — ^Jfojs. Bev, 

POETIC VIGILS. By Bernard Barton, fc. 8vo. 
Price 8t. 

To tliose wlio deUght in tlie liappy deiineation of tlie domestic affections, and 
all tlie warmer Imt calmer feelings or the hewt, we recommend the verses of Mr. 
Barton. Were we compelled to define the peculiar characteristic of lus poetry> 
we shonld term it the ** poetry of the afleetions." It is the aimple and pleasing 
effosions of a warm and poetical heart pow>ed oot in verse eminently suited to 
the expression of tender feelings; lucid, correct, and harmonioa8.<-Jlfoit. Rev. 

A MIDSUMMEE DAY'S DREAM, by Edwin Athee- 
STONE, Author of *' The I^ist Days of Herculaneum/' &c. Fools- 
cap, with Plates engr ved by G. Cooke, from Designs by Martin. 
Price 8#. 

TUs is no ordinary poem. It Is impossible to read it wUhoat being convinced 
that the antlior has drank deep at the foontain of poetic inspinmon. Hie 
Ulidsonuner Day's Dream of Mr. Athentone has so mnch of the character of 
waking and comiatent thought united with so ranch of the vi^ vivida of the poet, 
that we are obliged to adnut it as one of the most splendid dreams to which we 
have been for a long time called; and, unless we greatly en;» it will arrest 
the public attention in no common manner.— ifetrop. Jowr. 

It would be injustice to this little volume to refuse it tlie praise of mnch fine 
ftncy and eloquent expression. — Univ. Rtv. 

EXCURSION through the UNITED STATES and CA- 
NAD A in 1832 and 1823. By an Englishman. With a Map, &c. 
8vo. Price 16«. 

This is a publication from vriiich those who take as much interest in IN^orth 
America and its afiklr> as most Kngliahmen cannot but think they raent, will 
derive consideraUe satisthetion and entertainment. Tlie extensive and liberal 
views taken by this work of the general condition of the country it examinee and 
describes,— of its politics and legislation, its external and internal relations, its 
principles and hamta, itfr soli and aspect, its fi»rtility and productions, will be 
tbuud to throw eveij requisite light on these important subjects, and to well 
repay the perusal. — man. Mag, 

MEMENTOS, HISTORICAL and CLASSICAL, of a 
Tour through part of France, Switzerland, and Italy, in the 
years 1 82 1 and 1 822. Including a Summary History of Uie Prin- 
cipal Cities, and of the most memorable Revolutions, &c. &c. 
2 vols , 8vo, Price 1/. 4*. 

The writer appears to Im a man of education and observation, possessed of good 
principles, and actuated by good feelings; and his volumes may be read with 
pleasure and profit both by those who, having themselves visited the places which 
be describes, would not be displeased with a book that recalls their own 
reminiscences, and by tliose who, meditating a tour through the same countries, 
would be glad of a nsefbl and not unamusing guide, on their expedition.— 
M(m. Rev, 



\<Ci 



X 



VL\J 'J