(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The Annals of a Border Club (the Jedforest): And Biographical Notices of the ..."

Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing tliis resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for in forming people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http: //books .google .com/I 



,-.(' 









■ 



THE ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB 



The Annals 



OF 



A BORDER CLUB 

(THE JEDFOREST) 

AND BIOGRAPHICAL NOTICES OF THE FAMILIES 

CONNECTED THEREWITH 



BY 

George Tancred of Weens 

AUTHOR OP 

"HISTORICAL RECORD OF MEDALS" 



Jedburgh 
T. S. SMAIL, i6 HIGH STREET 

Edinburgh and GxjkSGow 
JOHN MENZIES & CO. 

1899 



cr 




,^8 

/7 




Sblkirk : 
Printed by Geo. Lewis & Co. 



0S70^MM-lSc:> 



PREFACE. 

This book has been compiled at the request and under the 
patronage of the members of the Jedforest Club. At one 
time or another the records of not a few similar institutions 
have been published, and sometimes, as in the case of the 
well-known Aberdeen Club, when the society showed pre- 
monitory signs of dissolution. 

The Jedforest Club happily continues to prosper. The 
Borderers have been long noted for a clannish tenacity 
which they carry with them into every relation of life. 
Love of family and local tradition is everywhere to be 
found among them. And, like their brethren of the high- 
lands, they are apt to claim descent from their chief, and 
to quote the adage, ** We cannot be all top branches of the 
tree, but we all spring from the same root.** 

In writing the Annals, it has been my earnest endeavour 
to avoid all subjects which might reasonably be calculated 
to give offence, or jar on the feelings of any of my readers. 
If, in spite of my care, I have been so unfortunate as to 
rouse the susceptibilities of any one, I must plead the diffi- 
culty of the circumstances, and entreat for as lenient a 
judgment as is possible. 

It remains for me to thank all who have by their ready 
help done so much to lighten my task and make pleasant 
its execution. To the members of the Club I am indebted 
for much information in connexion with the pedigree of 
their respective families. I am under especial obligations to 
Miss Agnes Forrest, and to her brother, Aaron Forrest, 
of the firm of George Forrest & Sons, Jedburgh. And 
I have had help, amongst others, from W. J. Stavert, M.A., 
Rector of Burnsall in Craven; A. O. Curie, W.S., Edin- 
burgh ; Alexander Porter, Chief Constable of the County ; 



PREFACE. 

W. C. Stedman, solicitor, Jedburgh (who made extracts 
for me from the minutes of the Jedburgh Town Council) ; 
Miss Grieve, Skelfhill ; Miss Frances M. Tancred ; George 
Hilson, solicitor, Jedburgh; R. Hay Smith, Sheriff- Clerk ; 
John M. Stevenson, Commonside ; James Smail, late secre- 
tary of the Commercial Bank, Edinburgh; Thomas Smail, 
Inspector of the Poor ; W. Easton ; John Smith, proprietor 
of the *' Kelso Mail ; " and Walter Laidlaw, custodian of 
Jedburgh Abbey. 

Weens, June 1898. G. T. 



INTRODUCTORY 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

DEADERS of this book will not expect to find in it a 
^ ^ description of the town of Jedburgh and its surround- 
ings, with the topography of which it is presumed that they 
are familiar. But it may not be known to all of them that 
there are eighty-two ways in which the name has been 
spelt, ^ and it may have escaped the notice of some of them 
that although Jedburgh has never, like the American Boston, 
asserted a claim to be the " hub of the universe," it yet is 
situated exactly at the geographical centre of the British 
Islands. 

Jedburgh, as the principal town in the south of Scotland, 
had a share in all the vicissitudes of the Border district. 
It witnessed the strife of centuries between the indigenous 
inhabitants and the Romans, between the Picts and the Scots 
who came over from Ireland in the fourth century, between 
the Picts and Scots combined and the hordes of invad- 
ing Saxons. In very early days the military strength 
of the burgh consisted of 410 men inured to battle, the 
trades alone mustering 100 well-armed men, under the 
command of their own officers, "to go out with the 
magistrates for the good of the burgh;" and their slogan, 
"Jethart's here," has so impressed itself on the 
popular memory that it is said to have been raised by 
their descendants on the banks of the Alma. In the ninth 
century Jedburgh formed part of the possessions of Egred, 
Bishop of Lindisfarne, who bestowed it upon the see of 
which he was prelate, and to him is probably due the foun- 
dation of the abbey, afterwards more amply established in 
1147 by David I. In 1174 ^^^ castle was handed over to 
the English as security for the observance of a treaty made 

i*'Origines Parochiales," vol. i., p. 366. 

A 



ii INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

at Falaise. In 1221 the town and its pertinents were settled 

on Johanna, the sister of Henry III. of England, on her 

marriage with Alexander II. On various pretexts it was 

occupied on many occasions, and held for a considierable time 

by Edward I. of England and his officers. In 1309 his son 

Edward II. ordered the castle to be fortified. At the battle 

of Bannockburn the trades of Jedburgh were present, and 

captured a flag from the English, from whom also the castle 

was recovered in 1318. In 13 16, Douglas having defeated 

the Earl of Arundel and slain Thomas de Richmond and 

Edmund de Cleveland, Thomas, Earl of Richmond, in an 

effort to execute vengeance, led 10,000 men to Jedforest, and 

fell by Douglas* own hand. During the fourteenth century 

the district was the battle-ground of the Douglases and 

Percys in their contest for the possession of Teviotdale. In 

1334 the town and forest were ceded by Edward Baliol to 

the English king, from whom they were recovered by the 

gallantry of William Douglas in 1342. Lost again on the 

captivity of David II., they were in 1356 conferred on 

Henry de Percy by Edward III. In 1393 Robert III. 

granted the Sheriffdom of Roxburgh, with the town, castle, 

and forest of Jedburgh, to George, Earl of Angus. In 

1403 the whole of Teviotdale was bestowed on Henry Percy, 

Earl of Northumberland. Two years later Henry IV, 

claimed the town, castle, and territory as his personal 

property. And in 1409 the Commons of Teviotdale, 

harassed by the garrison, took the castle and razed it to 

the ground. In 1410, and again in 1416, the town was 

burnt by Sir Robert Umfraville, and it met with a similar 

fate at the hands of the Earl of Warwick in 1464. 

The value of life in those days may be estimated from the 
following note in Jeffrey's history upon the ** cro " or blood 
money which was paid over and above the satisfaction 
given to those injured or their friends : — '' Each offence had 
its crOf and the king himself had his. The Regiam Magistatem 
has a chapter headed ' The cro of ilk man how meikle it 
as.* The cro of the King of Scots, says a MS. of the age 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. • iii 

of Edward L, is a thousand cows or three thousand oras — 
that is to say, three oras for each cow. An ora was a 
piece of gold or an image of gold. According to the 
Regiam Magistatem, the cro of an earl was seven times 
twenty kie, or for ilk cow three pieces of gold called ora. 
The cro of an earles son or ane thane is ane hundred kie. 
The cro of the son of a thane is three score and six kie. 
Item, all quha are inferior in parentage; (ane husbandman 
or yeoman) ; and the cro of ane husbandman is saxteen kye. 
The cro of ane married woman is less by the third part 
than the cro of her husband. Item, if she has no husband 
then her cro is as great as the cro of her brother gif she ane 
has. The cro of ilk man are like in respect of their wifes. 
The blude shed out of the head of an earle is nine kie. 
The blude out of the son of an earl or of antf thane is six 
kie. Item, the son of a thane three kie. The nephoy of ane 
thane two kie and ane half of a cow. The blude of ane 
husbandman drawn under his breath is less be the third 
pairt than all the pains foresaid. In all persons foresaid 
blude drawn under the end or mouth is three pairt less 
than drawn above the end. For the life of ane man nine 
times twenty kie. For ane fute ane marke. For ane tuthe 
12 pennies. For ane strake under the ear i6 pennies. For 
ane strake with the foot 40 pennies.**' 

The disorders occasioned by feuds between the chief 
families on the Borders caused Andrew Lord Gray to hold a 
court in Jedburgh in 1510; and, the law proving insufficient 
to establish peace, James IV. led a force into the district, 
and compelled some of the principal offenders to give 
hostages for their good behaviour. After the death of James 
IV. and the flower of the Scotch nobility at Flodden, the 
excesses became greater than ever. To combat with 
them the Duke of Albany came to Jedburgh with a great 
army in 1514, and among the results of his visit Lord 

"Jeflfrey's "History of Roxburghshire/' vol. i., p. 159, note. Cf. Mr 
Lang's note, " Letters of Slains " in " Waverley Novels " (Border Edition), 
vol. ii., p. 382. 



iv INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

Home and his brother William were executed, and John 
Home the abbot was banished beyond the Tay. In 
1523 the Earl of Surrey, at the head of 16,000 men, com- 
pletely burnt the town and seriously damaged the abbey, the 
ruin of which was consummated by the Earl of Hertford* 
in 1544. In 1526, and again in 1527, James V. came to 
Jedburgh, on the latter occasion with 6000 men, to put down 
disturbances caused by the feuds of the Scotts, Elliots, and 
Armstrongs. Teviotdale was ravaged by the Duke of 
Norfolk in 1542, by Lord Hertford in 1544, and Jedburgh 
was occupied by some of his forces after the battle of 
Pinkie in 1547. During the reign of Mary the disturb- 
ances on the Borders were ever in prominence. And if, 
after the accession of James VI., Jedburgh was involved in 
struggles of a less desperate character, the records contain 
a plenty of matters which make the reader feel that the 
neighbourhood must have been an uneasy one in which to 
live, and that something can be pleaded against the term 
" Jeddart Justice*' being always one of reproach. 

That whoever for the time being was charged with the 
administration of the law had often little leisure for weigh- 
ing pros and cons is fairly proved by the traditions and tales 
of the district. It is reported of Lord William Soulis that 
his crimes procured for him the distinction of being boiled 
to death at Nine Stane Rig, and the pot used on the occasion 
is said to have been preserved in Teviotdale until a recent 
date.* In 1342 Sir William Douglas dragged Sir Alexander 
Ramsay from the seat of justice at Hawick, and confined 
him in Hermitage Castle, where he was starved to death in 
a dungeon, with a refinement of cruelty worthy of a Red 
Indian, but which did not deprive the author of his title, 
the " Flower of Chivalry." A cross till the end of last 
century marked the spot where Langlands of that Ilk 



' Afterwards Dake of Somerset and Lord Protector. 

« It is now at Dalkeith Palace. Cf. article in the *' Pall Mall Maga- 
zine," September. 1898, by Lord Henry Scott. 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. v 

murdered the abbot of Melrose, who had visited him to 
demand the tithes which he had delayed to pay. The 
subsequent dealings of the murderer and his pardon by the 
king remind one of the Ingoldsby Legends; he sued his 
pardon for having knocked off a monk*s bonnet, and bribed 
the secretary to add after bonnet the words ''and head" in 
the certificate for assoilment. 

In 1 66 1 and in the following year commissions were 
appointed for trying witches, and the necessity of being 
present at the execution of those found guilty was pleaded 
by the provost as an excuse for disregarding a summons of 
the burghs. 

In 1714 twelve persons were tried and found guilty of being 
notorious Egyptians, thieves, and vagabonds, eleven of them 
being banished to the plantations of America; and the 
twelfth, a woman, being scourged through the town, and 
nailed for a quarter of an hour by the left ear to a post at 
the cross.* 

Perhaps the last notable exhibition of disorder was that 
of the 2ist of March, 1831. Scotsmen may blush to remem- 
ber that the man who, more than all others, has made his 
country illustrious, was at the close of his noble life abused 
and insulted at a meeting in Jedburgh by the ignorant and 
insensate clamour of a radical mob. 

The notice of the church in the local histories is of the 
most meagre description. The abbey was probably founded 
by Bishop Egred between 830 and 838. At the end of the 
tenth century there existed a monastic institution of which 
one Kennoch was abbot. In 1147 David I. restored or 
refounded the house, which he dedicated to our Lady, and 
appropriated to the use of the canons regular of St Austin. 
It is believed that in Augustinian foundations the nave of 
the church was not infrequently used for the benefit of the 
parish, and it was the fact of such a use which induced the 
destroyer to leave the nave of the priory at Bolton un- 

• Jeffrey, vol. i., pp. 212, 266; vol. ii., pp. 157 et seq., 226. 



vi INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

molested. In the year 1513 there was established at Jed- 
burgh a house of Carmelite friars, and the Knights 
Hospitallers of St John had establishments in the district. 
Dr Maitland has discredited the notion that the mediaeval 
monk was necessarily ignorant and indifferent to the propa- 
gation of learning, whether secular or religious; and quite 
recently Dom Gasquet has been able to show that the 
reproach so often levelled at the pre-reformation ecclesiastic 
of keeping the Bible a sealed book and resisting all attempts 
to translate it into the vernacular was in a great measure 
undeserved. That such establishments as those at Jedburgh, 
Kelso, and Melrose must have had a great influence is 
unquestionable; that they had not a greater was probably 
due, in part, at least, to the fact that human passions are 
much as they were when at the close of our Lord's unpar- 
alleled life the number of His followers was only one hun- 
dred and twenty. As we look upon the ruins of the great 
church there will sometimes be present to our minds the 
thought of the misery which must have been caused to 
many a pious soul by its destruction. And there are no 
doubt some of us who would not be ashamed of possessing a 
Yorkshire ancestor if only he had borne a part in the Pil- 
grimage of Grace. 

In the ages of faith, or, as the local historian describes 
them, the "times of superstition," when the glorious abbey 
was the scene of manifold idolatries, from which it has been 
happily purged by its subsequent and more enlightened use, 
whether as a stone quarry for the burgher or a museum 
for the stranger, Jedburgh and its forest supplied the back- 
ground to not a few of the social events which attract the 
attention of the reader of the history of Scotland. 

It may be doubted if the love of Scotsmen has ever been 
given so entirely to any one as it was to Saint Margaret, 
whose name even to the present time is far beyond all others 
the most popular in the country of her adoption. In the 
year 1093 her husband, Malcolm Canmore, fell in a skirmish 
at Alnwick, and their eldest son Edward, mortally wounded 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. vi! 

in the fray, was carried to Jedforest on 17 kal. of December, 
to die at Edward's Dyke. David I. resided in Jedburgh 
both before and after he ascended the throne in 11 24, and 
there a charter was issued by Prince Henry, his son. There 
Malcohn IV. << delighted to dwell," and there he died in 
1 165 at the age of twenty-four. His successor, William the 
Lion, also made the town his residence, and there granted 
many charters between 1165 and 1214. Alexander H. lived 
there with his queen, Mary, the daughter of Ingelram de 
Couci. Their son, Alexander HI., married in the abbey, 
on the 14th of October, 1285, ^is second wife, Yolande, 
daughter of the Count de Dreux. The marriage was 
celebrated, when John Morel was abbot, with unwonted 
splendour, and the dramatic character of the festivities was 
heightened by the appearance of a spectre and by much 
consequent consternation. A charter of Robert Bruce was 
granted at Jedburgh in 1329. In 1526, and again three 
years later, it was visited by James V.° In 1566 Queen 
Mary held a court there, and during her stay, which lasted 
from the 8th of October to the 9th of November, she visited 
Bothwell, who lay wounded at Hermitage Castle, and 
remained with him for two hours. To do this she rode a 
distance of fifty miles, exposed to very considerable danger, 
and was nearly lost in the mora3s which is still known as the 
Queen's Mire.'' 

Since the removal of the Court to England, with the 
exception of a short visit of Prince Charles Edward in 
1745, Jedburgh has had but scanty opportunity of basking 
in royal sunshine. But at the beginning of the present 
century its society included several French officers, prisoners 
of war, a local regiment of militia, and not a few country 
gentlemen, who had houses in the town, to which they were 
accustomed to resort in the winter months. At the present 
time a few quaint houses alone remain to remind us of the 

<» Jeffrey, vol. ii., p. 155. 

7 Carre's "Border Memories," p. 169. 



viii INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

halcyon days of the past, and their walls still testify by 
their strength to the protection sought for and afforded. 
The memory of the French officers lives only in a book 
recently written by a compatriot, and the militia disbanded 
after the peace with France is represented by a local com- 
pany of volunteers. But, 

Quo semel est imbuta recens, servabit odorem 
Testa diu,« 

the shattered fragments of the present retain the perfume of 

the past. 

In 1810 the day of tavern clubs was on the decline, but 
one in the neighbouring forest of Ettrick had proved a 
successful institution, and it was probably owing to this 
fact that the Jedforest Club was in that year founded by 
William, Earl of Ancram, afterwards the sixth Marquess 
of Lothian. 

Dr Johnson, who was no mean authority on the subject, 
defines a club in his dictionary as an assembly of good 
fellows meeting under certain conditions, and this describes 
very accurately the Jedforest society. Sir John Hawkins 
tells us that the great tory high churchman was wont to 
prepare himself for his grand conversational displays by 
eating a substantial meal, and by nothing stronger than 
lemonade, which in later life gave place to copious in- 
pourings of tea. But some of his friends, and notably 
his Scotch biographer, arranged their drinking on some- 
what different principles. 

At one time or another, representatives of all the great 
Border families have been members of the Jedforest Club, 
and those of Lothian and Buccleuch have been its staunch 
supporters from the beginning. Its history is but a reflec- 
tion from the long roll of distinguished men whose names 
appear upon its list. As in the case of other clubs of that 
date, the members used to wear a uniform at dinner, and 
the minutes record that it was the intention of the founder 
that the coat should be made of Cheviot wool. But 

" Hor., Ep., I., ii., line 69. 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. ix 

although most of the original rules are still in force, the 
wearing of the special dress has fallen into disuse. 

In 1834, ^ ^^^^ when politics were esteemed to be matters 
of high concern, the Duke of Buccleuch, being unable to 
take the chair at a dinner, named another gentleman as his 
deputy. When the loyal toasts had been drunk, the chair- 
man was reminded by the croupier, who was a whig, that 
it was customary to drink the health of the member of 
Parliament for the county. This gentleman was also a 
whig ; and at the suggestion the chairman, in a rage, turned 

his glass upside down and said that he would be d d 

before he would propose the toast. One or two other 
members upset their glasses, and in the end the whigs 
left the room in a body, and resigned their connexion with 
the club next day. If Dr Johnson's views about club 
manners in general and things Scotch in particular might 
have led him to say something pungent had he been told of 
such doings by our countrymen, it is suspected that with 
more respectable feelings he would have experienced a sense 
of enjoyment at the rout of the whigs. 

At the risk of being tedious, it is wished to say a word or 
two about the chief families of the district to which these 
records belong. 

There are several traditions as to the origin of the illus- 
trious family of Douglas. One of them asserts that its 
founder in the eighth century came to the assistance of 
the Scotch king in a fight with the usurper Donalbane, 
and that the name is derived from the description of this 
hero: Sholto Douglas — see the dark man. Another story 
attributes to it a Flemish derivation, and yet another a 
Spanish one. The authentic records seem to begin with 
Sir William Douglas, the father of " the good " Sir James, 
who in 1 291 swore fealty to Edward I., and the first royal 
grant made to the family was bestowed on Sir James 
Douglas of Jedforest by King Robert Bruce. The pedigree 
of the Douglases is set out at great length in Burke's 
'' Peerage,*' in connexion with the Duke of Hamilton. 



X - INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER, 

From this notice it appears that Sir Archibald Douglas, who 
signed charters in 1190 and 1232, had probably two sons — 
Sir William, his successor, and Sir Andrew, who was the 
ancestor of the Earls of Morton. Sir William was suc- 
ceeded in turn by his sons, Hugh and Sir William. The 
latter had three sons — **the good" Sir James, Hugh, and 
Archibald. Sir James was unmarried, but he had an illegiti- 
mate son, who eventually succeeded under a special remain- 
der as third Earl of Douglas. Hugh, Sir James' brother, 
conveyed the lands to William, the first Earl, the son of his 
brother Archibald, whose daughter married James Sandi- 
lands, and became the ancestress of the Lords Torphichen. 
The first Earl married Margaret, the daughter of the Earl 
of Mar, by whom he had a son, James, who succeeded him 
as second Earl of Douglas; and by Margaret, Countess of 
Angus, he left a natural son, George, who became the first 
Earl of Angus. James, the second Earl of Douglas, fell at 
Otterburn, leaving no lawful issue, but two illegitimate sons 
— Archibald, from whom are descended the Douglases of 
Cavers, who after twenty generations have only recently lost 
the male succession; and William, the ancestor of the 
Queensberry branch of the family. It is through the second 
marriage of William, eleventh Earl of Angus, and first 
Marquess of Douglas that the Duke of Hamilton is des- 
cended from the Douglases. It will be noticed that the 
only Douglas descent which is free from a bar sinister is 
that of the Earl of Morton. In the thirteenth century Sir 
William Douglas "the hardy" is said to have owned 
property in the counties of Northumberland, Berwick, Mid- 
lothian, Fife, Lanark, Ayr, Dumfries, and Wigtown ; and 
to his son, Sir James, Robert Bruce granted lands in Esk- 
dale, Galloway, Jedforest, and Ettrick. 

The tradition which gives the longest pedigree to the 
family of Scott assigns as its founder one Uchtred, described 
as ** Filius Scoti," who was a witness to the foundation 
charters of the abbeys of Holyrood House and Selkirk in 
1 128 and 1130. He was the father of Richard Scot, who 



I NT ROD UCTOR Y CHA PTER . xi 

lived during the reigns of Malcolm IV. and William the Lion, 
and had two sons — Richard, the ancestor of the Scotts of 
Buccleuch, and Sir Michael, whose great-grandson was the 
celebrated wizard, and whose family is now represented by 
the Scotts of Ancrum. There is no question that Scott of 
Buccleuch was the undoubted and acknowledged chief of 
all the families bearing the name of Scott, which we are told 
by Satchell at one time numbered amongst them one 
hundred lairds. And since the male line of that noble house 
became extinct on the death of the second Earl, there is 
little doubt that the chieftainship has belonged to Scott of 
Harden, who through the Scotts of Sinton is probably 
connected with the Buccleuch stem. By good fortune, 
when this family succeeded to the Hume barony of 
Polwarth, it was allowed to retain the name of Scott, and 
not the least of its distinctions is the possession among its 
cadets of the man who especially has made that name 
renowned. Satchell tells us that 

The lands of Buccleuch they did possess, 
Three hundred years ere they had writ or wax. 

To attempt an enumeration of all the lands which have at 
some time or other been held by lairds of the name of 
Scott would probably be an impossible and would certainly 
be an unprofitable task. The following are taken almost at 
random from Satchell — Buccleuch, Branksome, Sinton, 
Headshaw, Langup, Askirk, Howcoat (Hoscote ?), Bonraw, 
Whitslade, Huntley, Satchells, Whitehaugh, Harden, Rae- 
burn, Wool, Burnfoot, Todrig, Thurlston, Newburgh, 
Rennalburn, Gilmanscleuch, Midgap, Tushilaw, Hassen- 
dean, Highchester, Dryhope, Mount Benger, Cachlackknow, 
Gorinbury, Harwood, Outersiderig, Erckleton. At the 
present time there are many good old families of Scotts 
among the farmers of Roxburghshire, and many more who 
do credit to the name in every part of the British Empire. 

The word Caer means a fort, and is said to have been 
used in speaking of a left-handed person, and such the 
Border Kers are asserted to have been. Their pedigree 



xii INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

begins with John Ker of the forest of Selkirk, who in 1357 
had a charter granting him part of Auldtounburn. In the 
time of his great-great-grandson Andrew, on the fall of the 
Douglases, the family became vassals of the Crown. In 
145 1 the said Andrew had a charter of the king's lands of the 
barony of Old Roxburgh, and in 1457 is described as "of 
Cessford." By his marriage with a daughter of Douglas of 
Cavers he had three sons — Andrew, whose daughter married 
John Home of Ersilton, from whom is descended the Earl of 
Home ; Walter, who continued the line of the Kers of Cess- 
ford, the ancestor of the Duke of Roxburghe ; and Thomas, 
the first of the Kerrs of Ferniehirst, the ancestor of the 
Marquess of Lothian. 

The Elwalds were first known in Liddesdale about the 
middle of the fifteenth century, and it is probable that they 
were introduced by the Douglases, of whom they were ever 
the firm supporters. The Earl of Angus — ** Bell - the- Cat " 
— in an old Larriston deed, dated 1479, describes the laird 
of Larriston as "our velbelufyt fameliar squiar Robert 
Elwald of ye Redheuch," and mentions "gud and faithfull 
servis to us don and for to be don." The family increased 
till it became one of the largest on the Border, and at the 
present time the name of Elliot is a very common one in 
Roxburghshire. There were Elliots who owned land at 
Stobs, Penchrise, Larriston, Thorlieshope, Meikledale, Dinla- 
byre, Bewlie, Borthwickbrae, Arkleton, Lodgegill, Falnash, 
Ormstone, Binks, Cooms, Fenwick, Peel, Burnmouth, Har- 
wood, Wolfelee, Unthank, Midlem Mill, Brough, &c., but 
not a few of these families have disappeared. 

The Turn bulls are an ancient family, which seems to have 
been at the zenith of its power and to have exercised a pre- 
ponderating influence in the district at the end of the 
fifteenth century. Their castle of Bethiroule, or Bedrule, 
was a place of great strength, and at one time most of the 
land in the valley watered by the Rule was in the posses- 
sion of the family. In 1561 Thomas Turnbull of Bedrule 
is recorded to have borrowed money, his surety being John 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. xiii 

Stewart of Traquair, and his son Walter in 1591, his surety 
being James Douglas of Cavers. In 1623 the lands of Bed- 
rule and Fulton passed into the hands of the Kers, and 
shortly afterwards the Turnbulls were left without an heredi- 
tary chief. The castle has been entirely destroyed, and 
although the name is often met with among farmers in the 
old district, there are very few Turnbulls who now own land 
in the Border counties; and if some of them believe that 
they are descended from the old stock they would find it in 
most cases impossible to give an accurate account of the 
connexion. 

The Riddellsare believed to have come into England 
with the Conqueror, and the name of Ridel is on the 
roll of Battle Abbey, which, built to commemorate the battle 
of Hastings, and that prayers might ever be offered for the 
souls of those who fell there, is now possessed by the 
descendants of Charles II. and Barbara Villiers. Gervase 
Ridale witnessed the *' Inquisitio principis Davidis " in 
1 1 16. Walter Riddale had a charter of Whitunes, Lillies- 
clive, &c., in Roxburghshire, from David I. The family has 
at different times intermarried with many others of note in 
the county, and is now represented by the Buchanan- 
Riddells, who, though they have no lands in Scotland, have 
a seat in the neighbouring county of Northumberland. 

Another ancient Border family is that of Rutherfurd. The 
name is no doubt taken from the place called Rutherford 
on the Tweed, so called, it is thought, from the red -coloured 
land in the neighbourhood, but there is not wanting a 
tradition that its first possessor earned it by conducting a 
king called Ruther through the river in safety when about 
to engage in a border foray. It first appears in a charter 
of William the Lion in 1165. From 1165 to 1249 the names 
of Gregory and Nicholas of Retherford or Rutheford occur, 
and in 1260 Nicholas of Rutherford is joined with other 
persons of importance as witness to a deed. Sir Nicholas 
Rutherford is said to have been nearly related to Sir 
William Wallace, whom he joined with sixty men, and his 



xiv INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER, 

son Robert was a zealous partisan of Robert Bruce. In 
1398 Richard of Rotherfurd was an ambassador to the 
English Court, and in 1400 one of the wardens of the 
marches. He had three sons — James, his successor; John 
of Chatto, ancestor of the Hunthill branch of the family; 
and Nichol, the ancestor of that of Hundole. 

The name of Home is said to be the equivalent of the 
Saxon holm — a hill, and is also met with in the forms Holm, 
Howm, and Hume. The manor of Home formed part of 
the patrimony of the powerful family of Dunbar. Before 
1 1 66 the fourth Cospatrick, Earl of Dunbar, granted to his 
son Patrick the lands of Greenlaw. Patrick of Greenlaw 
was succeeded by his son William, who married his cousin 
Ada, a daughter of the first Patrick, Earl of Dunbar, by 
Ada, the natural daughter of William the Lion. This lady, 
on the occasion of a previous marriage, had been dowered 
by her father. Earl Patrick, in liherum fnaretagium with the 
manor of Home. After his marriage William assumed the 
name of Home, and from this union sprang the Border 
family which bears that name. The Homes held their lands 
under the Earl of March till 1435) when they became tenants 
of the Crown. In 1515 the castle was taken by the Regent 
Albany, in 1547 by the Protector Somerset, and again in 
1650, after Dunbar, when it offered a spirited resistance 
to Colonel Fenwick, the officer sent by Cromwell to take 
it. 

The longest pedigrees are by no means always, or even 
often, associated with strawberry leaves, although he was an 
ancestor of the Duke of Leinster on whose tomb one may 
read the odd question, " Who dared Kildare to kill ? " A 
gilded cross or weather-cock is no doubt a fitting decoration 
for the summit of a steeple, but it adds nothing to the 
stability of the fabric which it crowns. Deep down under 
the ground where no eye can penetrate are the great masses 
of stone or concrete ypon which the structure reposes. The 
editor of the records which follow esteems it to be not the 
least interesting and important part of his task to chronicle 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. xv 

what he has been able to discover of the lineage of those 
who, although they have not perhaps occupied a super- 
eminent position in the crowd of their fellows, have yet had 
by no means an insignificant share in making the history 
of the district. 

Of less important families there is no lack^ and it is not 
easy to make distinctions amoog them which are not 
invidious. It is ventured to notice as a type that of Erskine 
of Shielfield, a family which has had a career of some dis- 
tinction. The third Lord Erskine fell at Flodden in 1513, 
leaving three sons, the youngest of whom, James, married 
Christian Stirling. By this lady he had four sons, and the 
latest in age married in 1559 Elizabeth, the only child of 
Walter Haliburton of Shielfield. Unlike the other families 
which have been noticed, the Erskines do not trace their 
descent from one distinguished man, nor own allegiance to an 
hereditary chief; nor have they, except on two occasions, 
intermarried with the families of greater account in the 
Border district. But the present and eleventh laird of 
Shielfield is the lineal descendant of the first, and there has 
been no interruption in the male succession. 

In compiling notices of pedigrees and genealogies, it is 
probable that only those who have enterprised such work 
are at all conversant with the difficulties which beset it. In 
the cases of many families there are no records to search ; in 
the case of others there is no one who is willing to take the 
trouble to search them; and from not a few it is im- 
possible to extract any information at all. The 
editor of the records contained in this book has con- 
fined himself strictly to what he knows to be true. In 
dealing with so large a number of statements he cannot 
hope to have escaped making mistakes; but he believes 
that if he has himself gone astray it will be for the most 
part in cases where, for lack of help and information from 
the representatives of some family, he has had to do his 
best in tracing the pedigree without assistance. 

It is with diffidence that the writer, who is not a member 



xvi INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. 

of the Jedforest Club, has written these notes, at the request 
of his friend. The statements are to some extent taken from 
the works of persons more conversant with their subject 
than, owing to a long residence in England, he can pretend 
to be. But in the country of his exile he notices that the 
prejudices of a Yorkshireman, which still teach him to 
despise any one who is so unfortunate as to have been born 
to the south of the Humber, do not include within their 
range our countrymen of the north, and this although — it 
may be because — he can still point out the hiding-places 
into which his forefathers used to drive their cattle in the 
hope of securing them from the Scotch raiders. It would 
surprise many a great Scot of the past could he see how 
much in vogue are our national games, and he would 
probably smile at the popularity of books written in what 
to many an Englishman must be an incomprehensible 
jargon, not less than at the dialect which is sometimes pro- 
posed in them as good lowland Scotch. There is a story 
how once upon a time one of the Bonaparte princes paid 
a visit to Ireland, and was welcomed with an address by 
the mayor of one of the provincial towns. When the docu- 
ment had been read, the Prince said that he had been pre- 
pared to speak in English — a language he understood — but 
he regretted that he had not had leisure to make himself 
acquainted with Irish, and so could only make answer in 
general terms. Alas for the feelings of the worthy citizen 
who had been under the impression that he was making 
himself intelligible in French ! The writer has not yet had 
the fortune to meet with a presbyterian minister happily 
yoked with an Egyptian, nor with a Free Kirk pastor who 
has married the accomplished daughter of a retired Indian 
ofRcer of Jacobite tendencies and a votary of the despised 
episcopal remnant. Such alliances have not, so far as he 
knows, been formed in the county of Roxburgh; indeed, 
they rather suggest a manufacture to suit the taste of the 
English reader of romance. We are sometimes told that 
the writings of Sir Walter Scott are not read by the rising 



INTRODUCTORY CHAPTER. xvii 

generation, and yet nothing is more remarkable than the 
continuous flow of one edition after another, issued by pub- 
lishers who well know what they are about. As long as 
they find readers, the Border counties of Scotland can never 
lose the place they have gained in the thought of the 
British race. And if in time Lady Margaret Bellenden 
and Jeannie Deans, and the mighty host brought into being 
by the great wizard, take their place on back shelves with 
Clarissa Harlowe and the Widow Wadman, then will fancy 
be dead and ruthless science in triumph bestride her corpse. 

W. J. STAVERT. 

HoscoTE, lotk Mayy 1898. 



ANNALS 



CHAPTER I. 

COUNTY CLUBS, as a rule, have been founded in 
county towns, and, accordingly, the Jedforest Club 
has always been connected with the town of Jedburgh. 
Country gentlemen, in former days, depended more upon 
the society of their neighbours than they do at the present 
time. Locomotion was formerly slow and restricted ; travel- 
ling in some parts of the country was even dangerous, and 
that love of perpetual change which now prevails was 
yet unborn. The clubs of early days did not possess club 
premises of their own, but in some favoured tavern or inn 
the members held periodically social gatherings. Dinner was 
served at three o'clock in the afternoon, and with toasts, 
sentiment, and songs, the meeting was often prolonged to a 
late hour of the night, in accordance with the now obsolete 
fashions of our forefathers. The Spread Eagle Inn at Jed- 
burgh has been the headquarters of the Jedforest Club from 
its first institution, and it will not, therefore, in this volume 
be out of place to refer to the manners and customs of this 
ancient burgh. 

Jedburgh is a place of great antiquity, and its origin 
belongs to the dark ages of pre-historic times. Legendary 
stories take the place of history, and from them we gather 
that the ecclesiastical traditions of Jedburgh begin in the 
tenth century. It became a royal burgh at a very early 
date, but there is no authentic deed or record to prove 
when it obtained that rank. It will be sufficient to refer 
the reader to Jeffrey, the historian of Roxburghshire, for the 
early events with which the capital town of Teviotdale 
is associated. No place in the south of Scotland has a 
more interesting record. Here the armies of Scotland 
assembled, and here also kings and queens dispensed 



2 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

justice to a large and important district. The town was 
without walls, but every habitation in it was constructed for 
defence; towers, fortresses, and strong houses surrounded 
the old abbey in clusters, and the castle crowned the 
heights ; and from its position the place must have formed 
an imposing barrier to the inroads of the English. 
Tradition declares that the trades of Jedburgh sent their 
complement of fighting horsemen to Bannockburn, and 
returned with a flag taken from the Englishmen. This 
relic they still possess, and in former days it was unfurled 
when the trades walked in procession. 

With the death of Queen Anne in 1714 the Stuart dynasty 
came to an end. Her successor, George I., a man of fifty- 
four years of age, and a foreigner in all his habits and 
tastes, was not calculated to awaken popular enthusiasm. 
We hear with no surprise of an attempt of the Jacobites 
to obtain the restoration of the Stuart family. Dissatis- 
faction with the government was widespread in Scotland, 
and armed parties assembled, who proclaimed the Chevalier 
de St George as King James VIII. The rising soon spread, 
and its partizans visited our Border towns, proclaiming 
the Prince as they arrived. Inconstancy of purpose was 
characteristic of the leaders, but the arrival at Wooler of 
three regiments of dragoons and a regiment of foot, under 
the command of General Carpenter, forced them to adopt 
some definite course of action. The plan which 
was followed was to avoid General Carpenter, and in 
order to carry it out the Prince's adherents retreated from 
Kelso (where they had assembled in numbers amounting 
to nearly 2000 men) to Jedburgh, where they arrived 
on the 27th of October. Mr J. J. Vernon, in his pamphlet 
called "The Jacobites of Teviotdale," which he read 
before the Hawick Archaeological Society, states that at 
Jedburgh they were joined by Mr Ainslie of Cowhill 
at the head of sixteen gentlemen of Teviotdale, all well 
mounted, but that he is unable to give their names. Jeffrey^ 
vol. ii., page 207, says — " After the rebel army left Jedburgh, 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 3 

Sir W. Bennet informed the Provost that the Lord Lieu- 
tenant, with the advice of his Deputy Lieutenant, was raising 
a force in the district, and requested the burgh of Jedburgh 
to provide a man and horse, well mounted, with broadsword, 
pistols, and carbine, at Caverton Edge at ten o'clock on 
Friday following, or else to pay ;{'i8, los. The Magistrates 
applied to their tacksman of the mills to provide a man and 
horse, which he refused to do. Eventually the Magistrates 
had to do it themselves, and the Provost accompanied 
him to Caverton Edge, and presented the man and horse 
fit for service as required." The hereditary High Sheriff was 
also called upon to supply his man, as appears from the follow- 
ing letter from General Carpenter to him on the subject — 
"Jedburgh, Nov. 2, 10 in the morn. Sir, — The man you 
sent me seems to be trusty and intelligible. So I conclude 
the rebels are marching for England, therefore shall march 
immediately for Northumberland to Ellesdon. Pray, say 
nothing of my march — I mean which way. I have sent 
orders for my party to meet me, and wish you all happiness, 
and am, sir, your most humble servant, Geo. Carpenter. 
To Archibald Duglas, Esq., High Sheriff of the County 
of Twedell, at Hawick.** (Douglas Papers.) 

In 1723 the burgh of Jedburgh seems to have been in 
financial difficulties, and found it expedient to sell some 
of the burgh lands to pay a pressing creditor. At a meeting 
of the Council, it was resolved to sell, by ** voluntar roup,'* 
within the council-house of the burgh, "those seven acres of 
land called Williamslands, rented by Mr John Ainslie, 
Burges, at ^7, los yearly.** Mr Ainslie was the purchaser 
for 2545 marks, Scots money. 

The town guard was in early times necessary to a country 
town for purposes of defence. It consisted of a well-armed 
body of men, ready to turn out at a moment's ' notice. As 
time went on, its duties became less important, and although 
the town guard still lingered on for a considerable time after 
it had ceased to be effective, it was at last swept away 
when the county police force was established. 



4 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

The council records of 1724 contain the following entry : 
** The Magistrates and Council appoint Thomas Stewart 
to be Captain of the Town Guard and William Rutherford 
to be Lieutenant." The Kers of Ferniehirst received a 
grant from James V. in 1542 of the hailiary of the lands 
and lordship of Jedburgh Forest {vide Privy Seal Register). 
About the same period, Robert Ker, the son of Ferniehirst, 
is mentioned as one of those who assisted in rebuilding por- 
tions of the abbey. It is supposed that the north transept 
was in 1724 set apart as the burial place of the Kers. 
In 1725, it appears from the minutes of the Town Council 
that the burgh possessed *'a thousand merks mortified by 
the Lord Jedburgh, for which sum they are obliged to 
repair his aisle when needful, and this being .precarious 
it is not thought proper to enter it among the town's debts 
as«it was formerly." 

An election for the shire of Roxburgh took place in 1726, 
''and the Burgh holding the milns of Jedburgh, the chief 
magistrate is entitled to vote in the election, and we believe 
it is the council's mind we should give it (the vote) for Sir 
Gilbert Eiiott of Stobs." In this contest the baronet was 
not returned as member for the county. Not long after this 
Sir Gilbert had occasion to come to Jedburgh to attend a head 
court, and his defeat was still rankling in his mind, when 
at the conclusion of the meeting, in company with Colonel 
Stewart of Stewartfield and several other gentlemen, he 
went to the Black Bull Inn. Here the party indulged in 
drink ; a quarrel ensued between Eiiott and Stewart, and 
the latter, losing his temper, threw the contents of his 
glass in Sir Gilbert's face. The hot-headed baronet was 
unable to endure this insult. He had by his side a sword- 
stick, which he drew, and in an instant plunged it into 
Stewart's stomach as he sat at table. This dreadful event 
created a great commotion in the town, and Sir Gilbert's 
butler, an old and trusted servant, on hearing in the tap- 
room of the occurrence, rushed upstairs and endeavoured 
to persuade him to seek his safety in flight. This 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 5 

he at first stubbornly refused to do, but when he heard 
that the wound he had inflicted upon Colonel Stewart 
would probably prove fs^tal, he roused himself for a 
minute to the danger of his position, but still lingered 
in the room. His servant, a powerful man, who knew the 
risk of delay, seized Sir Gilbert, carried him downstairs, 
and deposited him in the abbey churchyard, placing him at 
the same time in an unfrequented comer of the enclosure, 
behind a tombstone, and covering him with a blanket or 
plaid. The faithful fellow had horses waiting after dark 
a short distance out of Jedburgh, and they rode rapidly 
to Rulewater, where the baronet concealed himself in 
Wauchope wood until he made his escape to Holland. 
The laird of Stewartfield died from the effects of the wound, 
and on the 12th of August, 1726, a special meeting of the 
county magistrates was convened to enquire into the matter. 
There were present, with others. Lord Minto (a lord of 
Session), Sir William Ker of Greenhead, Sir Walter Riddell 
of Riddell, Sir William Bennet of Grubbet, Archibald 
Douglas of Cavers, John Scott, younger of Ancrum, and Dr 
John Haliburton. They met in the court house of Jedburgh. 
After hearing the evidence they sent to the Lord Advocate 
a copy of the precognition, and a warrant was issued for 
the apprehension of Sir Gilbert. In the meantime Mr 
William Elliot of Wells, a rich London merchant, who 
had much interest with certain influential members of the 
Court, exerted it to the utmost in favour of his son-in-law, 
and with no small difliculty a pardon was ultimately 
procured for him by the united efforts of Mr William Elliot 
and Lord Minto, his kinsman. The old Black Bull Inn 
was situated in the Canongate, next to the Vennel, some- 
times called Black Bull Close, and latterly Crown Lane. 
The house, which is still in existence, is now occupied by 
Mr Noble, a grocer and spirit dealer. The old dining- 
room in which the tragedy took place is still intact, and 
is immediately above the shop. Sir Gilbert returned to 
Scotland, and lived to a good old age. He died in 



6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

1764. The sword which had been conveyed away by 
Sir Gilbert's servant was for a long time preserved by 
his family. At a later period it became the property of 
Mr Andrew Scott, an assessor and tax-gatherer, who 
got it from a descendant of the servant; he lived at 
Denholm. It was given by Mr Scott to old George Forrest, 
the well-known gunmaker of Jedburgh, an intimate friend, 
who in his turn gave it to the late Marquess of Lothian, 
and it is now in the museum at Monteviot. For this 
information I am indebted to Aaron and Miss Agnes Forrest, 
son and daughter of old George. 

A tragedy of a similar character was enacted soon after- 
wards between Thomas Hallyburton of Muirhouselaw and 
George Rutherford of Fairnington. They had attended 
a county meeting, and were both rather the worse of driqk. 
They left Jedburgh together on horseback, and on their way 
home had a quarrel, it is said, about the right to a well 
situated on the line of march between the estates of Fair- 
nington and Muirhouselaw. When they arrived at the 
well both men had got much excited, and dismounting from 
their horses, they drew their swords (which were usually 
carried by gentlemen in those days), and attacked each 
other. Rutherford had been the aggressor, having forced 
the other to fight, and he slew Hallyburton at a place which 
is popularly known as the " Bloody Well." Rutherford es- 
caped and kept out of the way until he was assured that 
the law would take no action against him. 

George I. died on the 2nd of June, 1727, and was 
succeeded by George II., who, like his father, was a thorough 
German, gifted with the hereditary bravery and obstinacy of 
his family, but with very limited abilities. At this period 
the vassals of his grace the Duke of Douglas in Jedforest 
were almost in a state of rebellion. A memorial was drawn 
up at Jedburgh by order of the duke, dated July, 1728, in 
which William Ogilvie, his factor, was ordered to pursue 
the most refractory of the vassals before the Regality Court. 
They refused to carry out the obligations which they were 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 7 

bound to perform as vassals, and set at defiance the officer 
and head forester of the Duke of Douglas. It further 
states in the memorial that the itiost convenient place for 
the head forester to reside is Cleithaugh, or Mervinslaw, 
being adjacent to the wooded district of the Forest. . . . 
— Vide Douglas Papers. 

During the summer of 1732 the first mention is made 
of a water supply for the town. William Ainslie, surgeon, 
complains that, as proprietor of the yards and cleugh called 
Little Cleugh, adjoining the town, and from which cleugh 
the town is served with spring water, the grass is frequently 
trodden down by workmen repairing the pipes or cistern. 

The Marquess of Lothian was provost of Jedburgh in 
1738; William Ainslie (surgeon), senior bailie; and Lord 
Robert Kerr, a councillor. 

In ** Historical Notices of the Superstitions of Teviot- 
dale " we read at page 535 : — " There is a story of ancient 
date still current among some old people about Jedburgh, 
a place once famed for witches. It runs thus: — A person 
of the name of Brown, the parish schoolmaster of Jedburgh, 
had the misfortune to be saddled with a wife who was 
known through the town to be a most mischievous witch. 
Brown, being a pious, good man, used to remonstrate with 
her upon her unlawful practices. Offended, however, by 
these reproofs, she formed the design of taking away his life. 
She accordingly, assisted by some of her associates, took 
him out of his bed in the night time and drowned him in 
the river Jed. Some of the Jedburgh folk who had been 
awakened by the noise heard him singing the twenty-third 
Psalm as they were leading him with a rope about his neck 
down to the water, and at the same time a company of 
fairies were observed to be dancing on the top of the steeple 
of Jedburgh Abbey; and there the whole company regaled 
themselves with wine and ale after the witches had accom- 
plished their diabolical purpose with the poor dominie. 
The liquor was taken from the cellar of a Mr John Ainslie, 
merchant, whose descendants (1820) are still living in very 



8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

respectable stations of society. Popular tradition says that 
a son of Lord Torphichen, who had been taught the art of 
witchcraft by his nurse, was among the party on that 
occasion, and that he was the person who first gave infor- 
mation of the murderers of Brown. It is also said that the 
same company of fairies passed through Jedburgh before 
the army of Prince Charles with drums beating." 

In the rising of 1745 the army of Prince Charles Edward 
marched southwards in three columns. On the 4th of 
November the Prince arrived at Kelso after dark with one 
column. He crossed the Tweed on the following day, and 
marched towards Jedburgh, where he remained a night. The 
house he slept in is called Blackhills House, and was then 
the property of the Ainslies. It is one of the few interesting 
old buildings still left in the town. David M*DougaU 
was a tenant in Caverton Mill during 1745, and when the 
Prince's army was on its way south the Duke of Roxburghe, 
who was afraid of anything befalling his family plate and 
valuables, sent for M'Dougail, his tenant, and arranged 
with him that he and his two sons should come with carts 
to Floors Castle under cover of night, and convey the 
chests containing the plate to Caverton Mill, where it was 
secretly buried in the stackyard, until the danger was over. 
From the minutes of Jedburgh Town Council it appears 
that the Marquess of Lothian, the Earl of Ancram, and 
Lord Robert Kerr were still at this time concerned in the 
management of the burgh. 

On the 30th of October, 1750, the Town Council resolved 
to solemnise the King's birthday, and, as usual, ordered the 
treasurer to provide wine and glasses, and further requested 
the Magistrates- to issue orders for the ceremony. There 
is a curious story told about drinking the king's health, in 
connexion with the proclamation of William and Mary after 
the Revolution in 1689. ^ Jacobite who was present was 
asked if he would drink the king's health, and he declined, 
although he was willing to drink a glass of wine. The wine 
being handed to him, he filled his glass, and said ** I drink 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 9 

confusion to him, and the restoration of our Sovereign and 
his heir." He then threw his glass in the air, and it fell to 
the ground without breaking. . The glass was picked up and 
sent to the King by one of the Jedburgh bailies who was 
present at the ceremony, with an account of the incident. 

George II. died in 1760, and George III. was proclaimed 
King. The first news of the king's death was brought 
to Scotland on the forenoon of Tuesday the 28th of October 
by a private gentleman, who came post from London to 
Edinburgh. It was confirmed by different expresses a few 
hours afterwards, and at night a king's messenger arrived 
with the order of the Privy Council and copies of the 
proclamation. 

The steeple in the market place of Jedburgh was built in 
1 761, as is shown by the following extract from the minutes 
of the Town Council: — "At Haddington the 20th day of 
April last, being the preceding Burrow for the time, when 
Sir Hugh Dalrymple of North Berwick was unanimously 
elected Commissioner to represent this district in the ensu- 
ing Parliament, and at the same time he (the Provost) 
informed the Council that after the election Sir Hugh Dal- 
rymple was pleased most, generously to give to him for the 
use of the town, the sum of two hundred pounds sterling, 
which Sir Hugh desired might be applied towards defraying 
the expense of raising the steeple upon the new prison. 
Sir Hugh gave him fifty pounds sterling more for paying 
the debt and embellishing the new kirk, with one hundred 
pounds Scots, which Sir Hugh desired might be distributed 
amongst the necessitous poor of the trades. The Magistrates 
and Council, being thoroughly sensible of Sir Hugh's most 
generous donation, resolve that their most hearty thanks 
should be returned him, and for that purpose recommend 
the Provost to write a letter in the name of the Council, 
expressing their grateful acknowledgments for his generosity 
to this burgh, and at the same time they resolve that when 
the new steeple is erected there should be an inscription 
made on this building, signifying by whose donation the 



10 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

steeple was built/' The stone which bore the inscription 
was placed at so considerable a height from the ground 
that it could not be read from below, and many years ago 
it was found that the legend had been purposely defaced, 
and was no longer readable. 

The old bridge at the foot of the Canongate in 1770 
showed signs of decay, and was considered to be in a 
dangerous state. There is a certificate, dated March 5th, 
1770, " under the hands of James Winter, Thomas Winterup, 
two masons of experience,*' that none of the arches are good, 
and part of the centre or middle arch is in imminent 
danger of falling. 

Provost Lindsay convened the Council on the 3rd of 
January, 1780, and informed them of the death of their re- 
presentative in Parliament, the Hon. Colonel John Maitland, 
of the 71st Regiment of Foot. Last Thursday he had 
received a letter from Colonel Maitland's brother, the Earl 
of Lauderdale, who also enclosed an extract from the letter 
conveying the sad news to himself. From this it appeared 
*' that the Colonel's extraordinary exertions in bringing 
forward the troops under his command at Beaufort to the 
relief of the garrison at Savanna, in Georgia, under the 
command of General Provost, when besieged by the com- 
bined armies of France and the American rebels, commanded 
by Count de Stainy, threw him into a fever to which he 
succumbed in October last." 

About the year 1782 there was a great demand for Scotch 
whisky in England, and a strong impulse was given to illicit 
distillation in consequence. An import duty of two shillings 
and eightpence per gallon was charged in England, and an 
extensive system of smuggling resulted. If a man was too 
idle in his disposition to stick to weekly labour, or too 
irregular in his conduct to maintain a good character and 
keep his situation, he had no anxiety about finding another 
occupation ; there was the whisky trade to fall back on, as it 
was familiarly called. It is small wonder that the attention 
of the House of Commons was drawn to the state of affairs 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. ii 

in 1 80 1, as at that time every hamlet on our borderland had 
its private still and its band of smugglers. The farmers, 
who allowed these stills to be established on their lands, 
generally shared in the plunder, and, in fact, it was looked 
upon as an easy method of gaining a substantial livelihood. 
Fortunes were frequently amassed by these makers of the 
'* mountain dew." In Teviotdale the excise staff consisted of 
a collector, two supervisors, and eighteen officers under their 
command. This crime was not only popular among the young 
lads who loved midnight adventure better than daily labour, 
but sometimes induced men of good character to join them, 
** to try their luck with the bladder." This was a con- 
venient receptacle for the conveyance of whisky, and collie 
dogs were trained to carry through the night a couple of 
bladders strapped across their backs to certain places on the 
English side of the border. 

In 1785 several traders in Jedburgh combined to refuse to 
accept in payment of their accounts all halfpence of His 
Majesty George III., many samples of this coin being counter- 
feit. This they did unmolested for three years, till John 
Hall, taxman of the toll-bar at Newtown, went into the shop 
of John Billerwell, dean of guild, one of the clique, and 
bought some tobacco, for which he offered six halfpence of 
George III. The money was at once refused, and the 
tobacco returned. John Hall went to the Procurator- Fiscal 
for advice, which resulted in a law plea against Mr Biller- 
well. The Sheriff found that the defender, keeping a shop, 
was bound to deliver the tobacco demanded and to accept in 
payment the true coin of George III. The matter was not 
allowed to rest there, but was brought before the Court of 
Session, when the Lord Ordinary ordered the halfpence that 
had been offered in payment to be submitted to the assay 
master at Edinburgh, to see if they were genuine. He 
returned an answer saying he was not certain. The half- 
pence then went to the London mint, from whence a 
somewhat similar reply was received. The Lord Ordinary, 
after receiving these reports, assoilzied the defender from the 



12 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

action, and found expenses due to neither of the parties. 
The matter was then brought under the consideration of the 
whole of the Lords. The defender contended in his defence 
that no person is bound to dispose of goods till he is perfectly 
satisfied with what he gets in return. The Court of Session 
considered the case, however, upon the general grounds of 
the illegal combination, and fined Mr Billerwell ;^5, and ;^i6 
in expenses. 

Roxburghshire in 1786 was badly provided with con- 
stables or guardians of the peace. A properly organised 
police force did not exist, and the rural parishes were left 
very much to take care of themselves. It was not until 
1805 that the Privy Council considered the question of a 
county police, and stated the numbers necessary for each 
county. Roxburghshire is mentioned as requiring 39 men, 
Selkirkshire 5 men, and Peeblesshire 10 men. The police 
question, if ever really considered, seems to have been 
persistently shelved and left in abeyance. The burgh 
had an official who wore a coat with a red collar and 
a nondescript cocked hat peculiar to town officers. He 
carried as his badge of office a long stout staff, and was on 
the best of terms with burghers, whom he kept in reason- 
able awe and good order. The sight of his staff sufficed to 
make little boys afraid, and the mention of his name was 
enough to make refractory urchins submit to parental 
authority. This solitary individual served all the purposes 
of our modern civic police. Jedburgh gaol contained, like 
most of the prisons of the period, a promiscuous assemblage 
of criminals, with all the evils that the mixed system could 
produce. During the last century a man and his wife 
ministered to the wants of the whole establishment, and 
nobody ever questioned their ability to do so. Escapes were 
of common occurrence; the newspapers used to describe 
the escaped criminal and offer a reward for -his apprehension. 
It is told of a magistrate of the royal burgh that he was once 
waited on by the gaoler, who told his honour that the door 
of the prison was off its hinges (in fact, from old age they 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 13 

had given way), and that he did not know what was to be 
done. The magistrate himself was in doubt, but at length a 
happy idea struck him. He hastily desired the gaoler to get 
a harrow and set it up in the doorway, with the teeth 
turned to the inside ; ** an* if that wad na' keep them in, the 
prisoners were na' worth the keeping in.'* The debtors, 
if they could obtain assistance from outside, often had a 
merry time of it. On fine summer evenings they were not 
forbidden to take a stroll on the ramparts, and even on the 
sly permitted to extend their walk. The occupant of the 
condemned cell was often secured by his leg being chained 
to a heavy stone in the floor. The chain was of sufficient 
length to allow the condemned man to range forward to the 
window, through whose bars he could hold converse with 
his friends outside. He would on a market day lower a 
tin mug attached to a string, and out of sympathy for 
his fate obtain a few coppers from the passers-by. Such 
was the condition of the old Jedburgh gaol, with its 
rude liberties and lax indulgences. It was not ill suited 
to the good old days, and to the contemporary state of 
society. Upwards of a hundred years ago a man called 
Tweedy was condemned to be executed for theft. The 
day fixed was Tuesday, the market day, on which the 
execution was the more calculated to produce a salutary 
impression. For some reason or other a delay of nearly 
two hours occurred, and this saved Tweedy's life for the 
time ; for a messenger sent express from Edinburgh oppor- 
tunely arrived in Jedburgh, with his horse foaming at the 
nostrils and bleeding from the spur, and shouting at the 
top of his voice as he entered the High Street ** for the 
execution to be stayed.** Tweedy was long a candidate 
for the honour of the gallows, and he gained it at last and 
suffered at Morpeth. 

An execution which took place in Jedburgh in the last 
century excited considerable sympathy. It was that of 
Jimmy Trotter. Jimmy was a "character," a giant in 
strength, and also a bold smuggler. He had stolen an 



14 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. I 

old horse, worth thirty shillings, and was condemned to be 
hung. His wife sat at his feet during the trial, with an 
infant at her breast, her husband every now and then 
stretching forth his big hand to pat the unconscious babe 
with touching affection. He heard his fate unmoved, while 
his weeping wife rent the court with her sobs. On reaching 
the court-house stairs, he flung abroad his brawny arms, 
with a sweep that capsized half a dozen of the bystanders, 
exclaiming " Now, sirs, my dying day is fixed for the 25th.'* 
In order to secure in gaol a man of such enormous strength, 
a large block of stone was brought from the neighbouring 
quarry, and placed in the middle of his cell, and he was 
fastened to it by a chain. In a moment, however, Jimmy 
jerked the chain from its rivet, and tried the schoolboy 
game of *^ barring out," by placing the huge stone against 
the door of the cell ; and in that position it was allowed to 
remain until he chose to remove it. He broke out one 
night, and might have got away had he not taken it into 
his head to say good-bye to the gaoler's wife, who had been 
kind to him; and this delay again placed him within the 
clutch of the law. A few days after, Jimmy bade adieu to 
weeping wife and children, and expiated the theft of the 
old horse by swinging from the '' gallows cheek." He met 
his fate with gleeful heroism and a stout heart. It is 
impossible to recall these transactions of a past age without 
a feeling of horror at the unhesitating severity with which 
offences of so trivial a character were visited with capital 
punishment. And humanity shudders at the judicial 
murders which were constantly committed under our un- 
reformed penal code.* 

Some knowledge of the manner in which trifling theft was 



1 When the vast number of executions for petty theft during the 
reign of George III. is had in review, the proceedings of the " Bloody " 
Mary become by comparison insignificant. As a matter of fact, concern 
for pain is quite a modem affection. Till the discovery of anesthetics it 
had no more place in the lecture room of a surgeon than in the torture 
chamber of Torquemada. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 15 

punished in Jedburgh in 1796 may be gathered from the 
Edinburgh Advertiser of that date: — '* James Rbbson» a 
gardener and a proprietor of lands in that neighbourhood, 
was, on Tuesday the 13th of September, tried before the 
Sheriff of Roxburghshire for stealing green or new*made 
hay from an enclosure adjoining to the turnpike road leading 
from Jedburgh to Newcastle. He was convicted by the 
verdict of a respectable jury, and was sentenced to im- 
prisonment in the county jail till the ayth (a fair day), 
then to be set on the pillory in the market place of 
Jedburgh for an hour, with a bundle of hay suspended over 
his head, and confined in the county bridewell and fed on 
meal and water for four weeks thereafter." 

Before the century came to a close, a rumour of invasion 
from abroad aroused the inhabitants of Great Britain to 
warlike preparations. Every town raised a volunteer 
regiment, and almost every hamlet sent its representatives 
or contributed a company to it. Bodies of horse and foot 
volunteers were formed by private gentlemen and large land- 
owners. The ladies also vied with their husbands in doing 
what they could to promote the national enthusiasm by 
embroidering the standards and colours which were to lead 
them to victory. Never in the history of the country was 
patriotism more emphatically displayed. Fencible cavalry 
and yeomanry were popular corps in the rural districts where 
young farmers and foxhunters abounded. They were rapidly 
filled up with a good stamp of men, mounted on serviceable 
horses. A new Act of Parliament, however, which concerned 
the militia, was by no means popular, and in consequence 
of this some ill-disposed people in Jedburgh became very 
unruly, and, among other acts of outrage and violence, 
forcibly entered the house of Mr Riddell, a writer, in search 
of Mr Rutherfurd of Edgerston, major of the yeomanry 
cavalry, and a deputy lieutenant for the county. Their 
search was in vain, and they then proceeded to the Market 
Place, where shortly a detachment of yeomanry arrived in 
charge of Major Rutherfurd to quell the disturbance. Their 



16 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

appearance seems to iiave exasperated the rioters, as they 
assaulted them with sticks and stones, and severely wounded 
several of the corps. . In particular, they made a desperate 
onslaught on Major Rutherfurd, pulled him off his horse, 
and when on the ground struck him a violent blow on 
his head, which rendered him insensible. With some 
difficulty he was rescued by his men, who cleared the 
street and restored order in the town. The ringleaders were 
tried on the 23rd of October, 1797, and received the sentence 
they deserved. 

The Messrs Hilson, the first woollen manufacturers in 
Jedburgh, who had a lease of the Waulk Mill, which was 
the property of the burgh, presented a memorial to the 
Magistrates and Council in 1798 for a renewal of the lease 
for a term of sixty years at a nominal rent. This they did 
on the ground of a large outlay being necessary, not only in 
the erection of extensive machinery for carrying on the 
woollen trade, but also on buildings for the accommodation 
of the hands employed. They bound themselves to erect 
these buildings, which, at the expiry of the lease, were to 
become the property of the town. The Council, taking 
this into consideration, and with a view to encouraging 
the introduction of a new and rising branch of manufacture, 
renewed the lease. This family still flourishes, the senior 
members being William Hilson, who carries on the tweed 
manufactory, and George Hilson, his younger brother, a 
solicitor and collector of Inland Revenue. John, another 
brother, who died, is represented by his son, Oliver Hilson 
of Lady'syards. To all these gentlemen I am indebted 
for help in compiling these chapters. 

In 1798 the Irish Rebellion had brought about a 
critical condition of affairs, and a strong force of militia 
and fencible cavalry was sent to assist the regular troops 
in Ireland. Among these was the regiment of Rox- 
burgh and Selkirk Light Dragoons, commanded by Sir 
John Scott, Bart., of Ancrum. They fought with the 
French at Castlebar, and distinguished themselves on 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. t^ 

several occasions. The regiment was soon after disbanded, 
and a corps of yeomanry formed in its place.^ 

On the 7th of August, 1799, two troops of yeomanry 
assembled at Jedburgh in full dress. At eleven o'clock 
of that day they were drawn up in review order before the 
rampart, when two standards, the gift of Mrs Rutherfurd of 
Edgerston, were consecrated by the Rev. Dr Somerville, 
their chaplain, and with an impressive speech, were con- 
signed to the captains of troops by Major Rutherfurd, the 
commanding officer. On the following day they were 
reviewed at Mounthooly Haugh by the Hon. Colonel Villiers, 
the ground being kept by the Jedburgh volunteers. The 
Duke of Roxburghe, Sir George Douglas, M.P., and many 
others were present. 

Mr Rutherfurd of Knowesouth, who had been agent for 
the burgh in Edinburgh, died in 1801, and the Jedburgh 
Town Council appointed in his place John Rutherfurd, 
writer to the signet, as his successor. With the intimation 
of his appointment, they sent him a burgess ticket. Mr 
Rutherfurd was the eldest son of Major John Rutherfurd 
of Mossburnford, an original member of the Club. 

In 1801 Bailie Thomson informed the Council that there 
was a scheme in hand for building, by subscription, a bridge 
at the town-foot, which would be of great utility to the 
community at large, and that already many subscriptions 
had been received. The Council, having considered what 
had been represented respecting the erection of a bridge, 
approved of the same, and authorised the Provost to sub- 
scribe and the treasurer to pay fifty pounds towards the 
cost of the proposed bridge. 

Mr Brewster, rector of the grammar school, and father of 
Sir David Brewster, finding that from failing health he was 
no longer able to discharge his duties, informed the Provost 

^ Sir John Scott, the Colonel commandant, remained at headquarters. 
Lieutenant-Colonel William £lliot of Borthwickbrae and Major William 
Elliot of Harwood served with the regiment throughout the rebellion in 
Ireland. 



i8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

and Council in November, 1803, that he was prepared to 
resign his charge at the next Whitsunday term, upon being 
allowed a suitable pension for the remainder of his life. The 
Council appointed a committee to consider Mr Brewster's 
claim, and it was unanimously agreed to allow him an 
annuity not exceeding twenty-five pounds.^ 

The whole population of the country were much disturbed 
in 1803 by the fear of a French invasion, which happily 
never took place. Our great centres of industry for a time 
became emporiums of warlike stores; muskets and other 
weapons of defence were manufactured by thousands ; the 
drill sergeant was everywhere in evidence ; and a wonderful 
patriotism was displayed by all classes throughout the 
length and breadth of the kingdom. For the better pro- 
tection of our coasts, a system of telegraphic communication 
by means of beacon fires was arranged. The military 
authorities also appointed certain places of rendezvous 
for troops in case of sudden emergency, and every possible 
means was adopted to repel an invasion should it be 
attempted. The year passed away amidst nothing more 
serious than rumours, and the volunteers began to flatter 
themselves that the immense preparations which had been 
made had caused the French to change their plans. The 
warlike spirit of the- volunteer was, however, destined soon 
to be put to the test ; and to his credit it may be said that 
he proved himself equal to the occasion. 

On Tuesday the 31st of January, 1804, ^^ half-past eight 
in the evening, the beacon fires at Hume Castle, Caverton 
Edge, and soon afterwards on the Dunion were in fiiH blaze, 
spreading like wildfire the alarming intelligence that the 
French were landing. The three Border towns, Jedburgh, 
Kelso, and Hawick, all represented much the same appear- 
ance on this memorable night. All was bustle and cheerful 
activity. At Kelso, within three hours of the first alarm, the 
town was full of volunteers. The minister of Smailholm, the 

^ Extracts £rom the Minutes of the Town Council of Jedburgh. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 19 

Rev. Thomas Cleghorn, set a noble example that night. 
He collected the able-body men in his parish, and marched 
into Kelso at their head. The three companies of Kelso 
volunteers, commanded by Sir George Douglas of Spring- 
wood Park, Captains Waldie and Robson, were under arms, 
and drawn up in the Square, and cheered their comrades as 
they arrived from the country. 

At Jedburgh, before one o'clock in the morning three com- 
panies of volunteers had assembled in the Market Place, 
under command of Captains John Elliot, Fair, and Jerdon. 
Hawick also turned out in great numbers, and the volun- 
teers first mustered in the Town Hall. All through the 
night the Liddesdale men came flocking into the town, and 
before daylight a splendid body of Border volunteers were 
ready to defend their country. The western troop of Rox- 
burghshire yeomanry arrived in Jedburgh early on Wednes- 
day morning all fully accoutred, fine men mounted on good 
horses, under the command of their popular captain, Elliot of 
Harwood. They then proceeded to Kelso, where the eastern 
troop joined them on their way to their rendezvous at 
Haddington. A sleepless night was spent in the Roxburgh- 
shire border towns. In Jedburgh torches were used to 
light the streets, and many of the windows were lighted 
up. The whole population seemed to be out of doors, and 
many anxious questions were asked, which no one could 
answer. Lord Minto happened to be staying at Monteviot 
on a visit, and when he heard the startling news he ordered 
his carriage, and drove first to Jedburgh, to see the state of 
affairs in the town, and from there to Minto. The ** False 
Alarm" originated as follows — I have to thank the editor 
of the Kelso Mail for information about this matter, and I 
also quote Mrs Oliver of Thornwood — The beacon on 
Hume Castle was under the superintendence of a retired 
army captain, who resided about three miles from the castle. 
The man immediately in charge was a sergeant, and a new- 
comer to the district. As soon as the beacon on Hume 
Castle was lighted, the captain ordered his man-servant to 



20 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



ascertain the cause of the alarm. He mounted a horse and 
rode off at once on his errand, and returned with the infor- 
mation that the man in charge had made a mistake. The 
sergeant had taken the charcoal burning at Shareswood to 
be a lighted beacon on the Doolaw. In a few minutes the 
Doolaw beacon was seen bursting into flame, and others 
followed in all directions. Fortunately, the watch at St 
Abb*s Head had his wits about him, and, considering that 
if there had been an actual invasion the alarm would have 
come from the coast, and not from the inland stations, he 
wisely did not spread the alarm by lighting his beacon, and 
thus saved the Lothians and the north of Scotland from 
being roused. 

It was not until the morning of the 2nd of February that 
people became aware of the mistake that had been made, 
although there had been rumours to that effect the night 
before. The volunteers, horse and foot, returned to their 
respective stations not a little crestfallen at the sudden 
change of circumstances. As it may be of interest to know 
the names of the officers who served in our local county 
force at this period, I have extracted the following names 
from the War Office official list dated ist of October, 1804, 
and have added some of their local designations. 



ROXBURGH CAVALRY. 



«i 



tt 



f I 



Major-Corn. William Elliot 
Major Jonathan Elford 
Captain Archibald Douglas 

Henry H. Macdougall 
John Morshead 
William Elliot 
Lieut. David Ogilvie 
Robert Walker 
William OUver 
2nd Lieut. Robert Potts 
James Haldane 
William Ogilvie 
Chaplain Thomas Somerville 



tt 



»i 



ti 



«i 



9th July, 1802 
2oth Aug., 180X 
loth Aug., 1794 
loth Jan., 1798 
3rd Sept., 180X 
9th July, z8o2 
9th Aug., 1794 
loth Jan., 1798 
27th Aug., 1802 
loth Aug., 1794 
loth Jan., 1798 
3rd Sept., 1803 
27th Nov., 1799 



Borthwickbrae 



Makerstoun 

Harrot-on-Rule 

Wooden, near Kelso 
Younger, Dinlabyre 
Writer 

Younger, Chesters 
(Rev. Dr Somerville 
of Jedburgh) 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



21 



»• 



«• 



ROXBURGH 1ST BATTALION VOLUNTEERS. 
Headquarters — Jbdburgh. 

Lt.-Col.-Com. John Rutherfurd 

Lt.-Col. Gilbert Lord Minto 

Major Robert Elliot 

Captain John Rutherfurd 

John Corse Scott 

Hon. John E. Elliot 

Lieut. William Fair 

James Henderson 

M Andrew Pringle 

M James Oliver 

Archibald Jerdon 

John Elliot 

Robert Scott 

William Hope 

Ensign Thomas Thomson 

„ John Nixon 
Ensign Andrew Usher 

M Charles Ken- 
Chaplain James Arkle 
Qr. -Master William Hope 



•• 



»» 



II 



13th Sept., 1803 Edgerston 
13th Sept.. 1803 
13th Sept., 1803 
13th Sept., 1803 

Do. Sinton 

7th March, 1804 Minto 
13th Sept., 1803 Langlee 

Do. Writer, Jedburgh 

Do. 

Do. 

Do. Bonjedward 

Do. 

Do. 

7th March, 1804 Jedburgh 

13th Sept., 1803 

Do. 
13th Sept., 1803 

7th March, 1804 

Do. 

13th Sept., 1803 



ROXBURGH 2ND BATTALION VOLUNTEERS. 

Headquarters — Kblso. 

Lt.-Col. Sir John B. Riddell, Bart. 13th Sept., 1803 



Major Hunter 


Do. 




Captain Sir George Douglas, Bart. 


Do. 




„ Thomas Mein 


Do. 




„ John Waldie 


Do. 


Banker, Kelso 


„ Charles Robson 


Do. 




Lieut. Miller 


Do. 




„ James Potts 


Do. 


Writer, Kelso 


„ Charles Erskine 


Do. 


Melrose 


„ Adam Boyd 


Do. 


Cherrytrees 


M George Bruce 


Do. 




Robert Wang 


Do. 




John Ord 


Do. 


(Father of John Ord 
of Muirhouselaw) 


M Alexander Ballant3me 


Do. 




Ensign Charles Gordon 


Do. 




M David Brown 


Do. 




„ Henry Oliphant 


Do. 




,, Blackie 


Do. 





Adjutant T. Williamson 



Do. 



22 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Qr. -Master C. Gordon 7th March, 1804 

Surgeon Douglas Do. Kelso 

Assistant-Surgeon A. Stewart Do. 

In a few years time these regiments were disbanded. 
The Roxburgh cavalry was turned into yeomanry, and the 
two battalions of volunteer infiintry became the first and 
second regiments of Roxburghshire local militia. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 23 



CHAPTER 11. 

i^N the morning of Wednesday the 2nd of May, 1810, a 
^^ party of twenty-four gentlemen met at the old Spread 
Eagle Inn at Jedburgh, at the invitation of the Earl of 
Ancram. It included, besides his lordship, Lord Robert 
Kerr, Sir John Scott of Ancrum, the Hon. Gilbert Elliot, 
afterwards Earl of Minto; John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, 
William Oliver of Dinlabyre, Major Rutherfurd of Moss« 
burnford, James Elliot, younger of Woollie ; James Paton 
of Crailing, Walter Scott of Wauchope, Thomas Scott, 
younger, of Peel ; and John Robson, from Chatto, &c. Lord 
Ancram having drawn the attention of the meeting to the 
success which had attended the foundation of the Forest 
Club of Selkirk, and to its popularity among the gentlemen 
of that county, proposed that an association of a somewhat 
similar character should be formed by themselves, and that a 
committee should be appointed for the purpose of drawing 
up such rules ** as they may consider most conducive to the 
better establishment of the society.'* 

The proposal met with the unanimous approval of those 
present. A committee was chosen and its first meeting 
fixed for the 2nd of June, and it was arranged that the result 
of its deliberations should be made known to a full meeting 
of the Club on the 7th of August. On this occasion Lord 
Ancram presided, and the rules, which were framed on the 
model of those of Selkirk, were read, and with a few 
alterations approved. The first of them is still in force, and 
restricts the number of members to forty.' A pattern of cloth 
and a specimen button were exhibited by Lord Ancram, and 
suggested for adoption as the club uniform, and it was 
arranged that the cloth should be of a particular colour and 

^ All the original members mentioned are still represented in the Club 
by their descendants. 



/ 



24 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

be made of Cheviot wool, and that Mr Scott of Lethem 
should be asked to produce a piece of it for inspection at the 
next meeting of the Club. The Spread Eagle Inn at the 
time was kept by Mr TurnbuU, and the Club met four times 
in the year and dined at three o'clock. 

Lord Ancram, in the name of the Marquess of Lothian, 
under his title of Lord Jedburgh, presented the Club with a 
handsome silver horn, which was ordered always to be 
placed on the table before the president after dinner. 
Engraved on the horn is the following inscription : — " Lord 
Jedburgh to the Jed-forresters, i8io." Above the inscrip- 
tion is engraved the Lothian arms. At the meeting of the 
Club on the 31st of October, 1810, Lord Ancram informed 
the society that His Grace the Duke of Buccleuch, Lord 
Douglas, Lord Dalkeith, and the Hon. Colonel Douglas had 
become members of the Club. 

The local militia in 1810, having a full complement of 
officers and men, the following regimental order was issued — 
" October 4th, 1810. Notice is hereby given that the ist 
regiment of Roxburgh Local Militia is to assemble for 
twenty days* exercise at Jedburgh on Monday, 22nd of 
October, at ten o'clock in the forenoon. The Serjeants, 
Corporals, Drummers, and all such as are attached to the 
corps of drummers for the Bugle, Cymbal, or Triangle, are 
to assemble at Jedburgh on Monday the 15th of October. 
All such as do not attend accordingly, after this intimation, 
shall be treated as deserters. By order. James Anderson, 
Lt.-Col.'* 

On the 8th of July, 181 1, the officers of the above- 
mentioned battalion presented their commandant, the Hon. 
Gilbert Elliot, with a piece of plate, having a suitable in- 
scription engraved upon it, expressive of their high respect 
and esteem for him as an officer and a gentleman. At the 
same time they presented a pair of large silver cups, gilt, to 
the adjutant, Captain Williamson. 

Mr Paton of Crailing was president at the meeting 
of the Club in October. 181 1. On this occasion it was 



• I 
»f 
»» 
*• 
ft 
11 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 25 

proposed and unanimously agreed that a three o'clock 
dinner was found to be inconvenient, and that four o'clock 
should be the hour for the future. 

The names of officers who were gazetted to the two local 
militia regiments in 1810-11 are as follows : — 

LIST OF OFFICERS OF THE ist REGIMENT ROXBURGH- 
SHIRE LOCAL MILITIA, 181 1. 
Headquarters — ^Jedburgh. 

* Lt.-Col. Comt. Hon. Gilbert Elliot, afterwards Lord Minto 
Lt.-Col. James Turner 

* Major James Elliot, younger, of WooUie 

* Captain Walter Scott, Wauchope 

* „ William Fair of Langlee 

Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward 

Andrew Pringle 

Thomas Scott 

James Grieve, Branxholm Braes 

John Dawson, Frogden 

George Cleghorn, Weens ; date of com., Oct. 34, 
1810 

Lieutenant James Oliver 

William Hope of Tudhope, ironfounder, Jed- 
burgh; afterwards Provost 

Archibald Dickson. Hassendeanbnm 

Robert Rutherford, saddler. Jedburgh 

John Graham, Closeburn Cottage 

Thomas Caverhill, Bailie of Jedburgh. x8io 

Robert Brown 

James Fair, Langlee 

,, William Pringle 

„ George Pott of Dodd 

Ensign Simon Dod, Catcleuch, in Redesdale 

Alexander Scott, factor for the Douglas family 

John Nixon, manufiekcturer, Hawick 

Thomas Roxburgh 

William Renwick. afterwards Postmaster 

* Adjutant John Williamson ; date of com.. January 25. 1809 

* Qr.-Master David Blount 
Surgeon James Wilson 

* Are Membert of the Jedibrest Club. 

LIST OF OFFICERS OF THE 2ND REGIMENT ROXBURGH- 
SHIRE LOCAL MILITIA, 181 1. 
Headquarters — Kblso . 
Lt.-Col. Com.— Sir J. B. Riddell, Bart., of Riddell 
Lt.-Col. James Dunsmuir. Tweedbank 



•• 
•I 
•I 
i» 
•• 
** 



ft 
»i 



26 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Major Thomas Riddell 

Captain John Waldie, banker, Kelso 

Charles. Robson, merchant, Kelso 
James Potts, writer 
Charles Erskine 

William Scott, yoonger of Raebum 
James Robson 
William Scott 
Thomas Thompson 
Lieutenant John Ord, father of the late John Ord of Muir- 
houselaw 
„ Thomas Blaikie 
,, George Watt, merchant. Kelso 
,, Adam Ormiston, Melrose; owner of land in that 

parish 
,. Charles Waldie 
„ John Fair 

Robert Bell 
,. Andrew Hewitt 
George Craig 
Andrew Laing 

James Purves ; date of com., July 19, 181 1 
Ensign Richard Hewitt 

James Borthwick ; date of com., July 19. 181 1 
George Gordon „ August 2, 18 11 

* Adjutant Thomas Watmore ,, Sept. 24, 1808 

Qr. -Master Alexander Ballantyne (was Lieut. 2nd Battalion 

Roxburgh Volunteers, 1804) 
Surgeon Alexander Stewart (was Assistant Surgeon 2nd 
Battalion Roxburgh Volunteers, 1804) 

On the 29th of July, 1812, Sir John Scott, Bart., of 
Ancrum, shortly before his death, presented the Club with 
a mull mounted in silver. At this time a forest green coat 
with gilt buttons and a white waistcoat was the uniform of 
the society, and a penalty of a bottle of claret was exacted 
from those who did not appear so dressed. In those days 
claret was the favourite drink, and champagne was hardly 
known. Madeira was also popular wine, but whisky was 
rarely drunk by the upper classes. 

The Rev. Dr Thomas Somerville, the well-known author, 
became in 181 2 a member of the Jedforest Club. He was 
the parish minister of Jedburgh, and took a great interest 
in all Border societies. 



»i 



»» 
ti 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. Tj 

A keen contest took place at the general election of i8i2 
between the Hon. Gilbert Elliot and Alexander Don, 
younger, of Newton Don. The following verses were com- 
posed on the occasion : — 

Brave Elliot, as you all well know, 

Gibraltar's rock protected ; 
And well he beat the Spanish foe. 

Tho' by a Duke directed. 

A scene like this you soon will see 

In Roxburghshire repeated ; 
And Dukes and Dons again will be 

By Elliot's name defeated. 

Elliot gained the day by six votes. 

His Grace the Duke of Roxburghe and Lord Newbattle 
were unanimously elected members of the Club in 1813, 
and Mr Jerdon of Bonjedward, who had acted as honorary 
secretary from its formation, was succeeded in that ofHce 
by Mr Shortreede. At a meeting of the Club, July 27th, 
1814, William Ogilvie, younger, of Chesters, being president, 
a silver snuff-box of the value of eight guineas was presented 
to Mr Jerdon by the members of the Club, as a mark of their 
appreciation of his services during the time he had acted as 
secretary. 

The 1 8th of June, 1815, will always be memorable as the 
date of the battle of Waterloo. It was fought on a Sunday 
and began at half-past eleven o'clock, and lasted until darkness 
set in. The British army under Wellington stood the whole 
brunt of the battle until half-past seven in the evening, when 
the Prussians, under Marshal BlOcher, came to the assistance 
of the worn-out British soldiers. In this way the name of 
BlQcher became popular in this country, and the energetic 
landlord of the Spread Eagle Inn, Mr Walter Caverhill, 
started a four-horse coach to Edinburgh called after the 
Prussian general. The following circular appeared with 
reference to this coach, signed by fifteen members of the 
Jedforest Club : — 



nS ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

The pRiNCB Bluchbr 

Four-horse coach with a guard, from Edinburgh to Jedburgh via Gala- 
shiels and Melrose. Starts from Mr Scott's, the Star Inn, No. 36 Princes 
Street, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, at 8 o'clock, morning; and 
from Mr Caverhill's, Spread Eagle Inn, Jedburgh, Monday, Wednesday, 
and Friday, at J-past 7. N.B. — Three passengers may be forwarded to 
the next stage from Jedburgh, at the coach fare. Tickets— inside. i6s ; 
outside, IIS. 

Jedburgh, 13 Sept., 1815. 

We, subscribers, considering that Walter Caverhill. Innkeeper in Jed- 
burgh, has, at a good deal of expense and risk, started a coach, with four 
horses, to run from Jedburgh to Edinburgh, and that such an establish- 
ment is likely to prove convenient to the public; we do, therefore, consider 
it our duty, not only to declare our resolution, so far as opportunity offers, 
to countenance and support the above establishment, but also to recom- 
mend the same to the favour and support of the public in general. 

(Signed) The Marquess of Lothian; 
Earl of Minto; 
John Ruthbrfurd of Edgerston ; 
William Oliver, Junior, of Dinlabyre; 
James Elliot, Junior, of Woollee; 
Thomas Ogilvie of Chesters ; 
William Elliot of Harwood ; 
James Paton of Crailing; 
Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward ; 
Charles Robson of Samistown ; 
William Riddell of Camistown ; 
William Fair of Langlee; 
Rev. Dr Thomas Somerville, Jedburgh ; 
Thomas Philip Ainslie of Overwells ; 
Charles Erskine, Melrose; 
George Pringle of Torwoodlee ; 
John Scott of Gala; 
William Hope, Provost of Jedburgh. 

At a meeting of the Club on the 27th of Sept., 1815 — Mr 
Brown of Rawflat being president — on the motion of the 
Marquess of Lothian, it was unanimously resolved that in 
future any member attending a meeting of the Club dressed 
in boots, might wear a coloured waistcoat, instead of a white 
one, if so disposed, without incurring a penalty. 

A committee of the Club met in 181 6 at the Spread Eagle 
to examine the Club accounts and to enquire into the con- 
dition of the wine cellar. This they at once condemned, as 
being too small. Mr Turnbull offered a space for the purpose 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 29 

of making a larger and more convenient cellar, and Mr 
Robert Cranston, mason, executed the work for the small 
sum of £2^ X5S. 

On the morning of the 21st of October, 18x6, the gaoler 
informed the Provost of Jedburgh that some prisoners had 
made their escape. The magistrates offered a reward of five 
guineas each for their apprehension, but to no purpose. The 
gaoler, Andrew Henderson, was then admonished by the 
Provost, and ordered to find caution in the sum of ;^2oo for 
the faithful performance of his duty. 

The Waterloo anniversary was celebrated at Penielheugh 
on the 1 8th of June, 181 7. At noon the tenants of the 
Marquess of Lothian assembled at the Monument, where 
they were met by the Marquess. Before the toasts were 
given, his Lordship addressed them and expressed his 
satisfaction that he had returned to the country in time to 
assist at the celebration, and he trusted the Monument would 
stand to be looked at by the. inhabitants of the country as 
long as Scotsmen existed, and that it would continue to be 
an everlasting memorial of the valour of British soldiers. A 
number of toasts were given, at the close of which the oldest 
tenant on the estate, whose ancestors had been upon it for 
several centuries, stepped forward and proposed the health of 
the Marquess and Marchioness of Lothian, the Earl of 
Ancram (who was present), and the other members of the 
family. The Marquess in return proposed the health of the 
tenants, and at the same time gave notice that a meeting 
would be held annually on the same spot in order that the 
glorious battle of Waterloo might never be forgotten. 

In 1818 the Sheriff of Roxburghshire desired the Provost 
to report upon the state of the gaol, as he considered it quite 
insufficient for the secure custody of the prisoners. Upon 
the report being received, the advantages that would arise 
from the erection of a new gaol were discussed, and eventu- 
ally it was decided to build one. On the i8th day of June, 
1819, there was a special meeting of the members of the 
Jedforest Club in the Spread Eagle Inn. The chair was 



30 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

occupied on the occasion by Lieut.-General the Hon. David 
Leslie, and the croupier was Lieut.-Colonel Thomas Philip 
Ainslie of Overwell3. The stewards of the meeting were 
Lieut.-Colonel William .Sibbald of Pinnacle, Captain R. 
£Uiot,.R.N., and James Elliot, younger, of Woollee. There 
was a good attendance, an4 the. day was spent in a manner 
well becoming a society of men firmly attached to the consti- 
tution of their country, and who were fully sensible of the 
invaluable blessings and privileges they enjoyed, which, but 
for that glorious victory, they might ere now have been 
deprived of. 

On the coronation day of King George .IV., 1821, thirty- 
two members of the Club sat down to dinner, and after the 
cloth was removed, upon the standing toast to the memory 
of Lord Jedburgh (the late Marquess of Lothian, ** the donor 
of the horn,'* and the founder of the Club) being given from 
the chair, Colonel Ainslie of Overwells rose and delivered an 
animated and patriotic speech. ** The glorious occasion of 
the meeting and the largeness of the party kept the Club 
together till a late hour, an extra supply of wine being 
ordered from the cellar to cherish conviviality." A good 
many years afterwards, when *' the donor of the horn *' was 
given as a toast, Donald Home, W.S., a leading politician 
in the county, being rather deaf, thought his health was 
being proposed, and did not discover his mistake until he 
got up to return thanks. 

Close to Jedburgh Abbey, on a steep bank overhanging 
the Jed, is the well-known Jedburgh school called "The 
Nest.*' Mr Caverhill was the proprietor of the Wren's 
Nest, the ancient name of this old house, and he sold it 
in 1 82 1 to Mr Burnett, the rector of the grammar school. 
The heritors of Jedburgh parish made a grant of one hun- 
dred pounds towards the completion of the purchase, as the 
house occupied by Mr Burnett in the Canongate, belonging 
to the burgh, was found to be quite unsuitable. Many 
members of the Jedforest Club, as little boys, got their first 
education at the Nest, and it is still conducted by Dr Fyfe. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 31 

In the month of December, 1822, Mr Samuel Wood, the 
town-clerk, laid before the Council a letter he had received 
from the Marquess of Lothian respecting the piece of ground 
at the market place upon which the old tower belonging to 
the Kerr family stood, in which letter the Marquess signified 
his intention to give up any claims against the burgh for 
arrears of rent. He suggested that the site of the tower 
should be marked out with stones upon the pavement, and 
that a rent or feu-duty should in future be paid by the 
burgh. The matter was so arranged, and the town pays 
forty shillings annual rent for the ground. 

The gaol at Jedburgh was finished in the year 1823. It 
is built on the site of the old castle, and cost the county 
nearly ;^i 1,000. The architect was the late Mr Elliot, and 
Mr Gillespie was the builder. A few years ago the gaol was 
sold by the county to the burgh of Jedburgh for the sum of 
;^8oo. 

Roxburghshire is not a coal country, but many attempts 
have been made at various times to find so valuable a 
mineral. Mr Elliot has for some time past been digging 
for coal on the lands of Whitelee, and is said to have dis- 
covered a seam upwards of two feet thick. On a market 
day in the month of December, 1823, two cart-loads of ^ 
coal from Whitelee were brought into Jedburgh and publicly 
burnt in the market place, and the bells rang a merry peal 
while the coal was burning. 

William, sixth Marquess of Lothian, died on the 27th of 
April, 1824, and was buried at Newbattle. He was born in 
1764, and was Lord-Lieutenant of the counties' of Midlothian 
and Roxburgh, and founder of the Jedforest Club. 

The old weather-cock that had been formerly upon the 
tower of the Abbey was by subscription in 1826 placed upon 
the steeple. The Town Council employed Deacons Telfer 
and Hope to execute the work, and at the same time to 
repair the cracks in the upper part of the steeple. Mr 
Wilson, painter, was engaged to gild the weather-cock. 

At a meeting of the Club on the 25th October, 1826 — 



32 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

Adam Stavert of Hoscote president — Sir William Scott of 
Ancrum was balloted for and unanimously admitted as a 
member. Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward (acting secre- 
tary) stated to the meeting that, in consequence of the 
lamented death of their secretary (Mr Thomas Shortreed), 
it became necessary to appoint a successor to that office; 
and the committee begged leave to suggest Mr George Scott 
as a fit person for the appointment. The meeting approved 
of the recommendation of the committee, and nominated Mr 
G. Scott as hon. treasurer and secretary to the Club, he 
becoming an ex-officio member, with the appointment. 

The Roxburghshire yeomanry received orders from their 
commanding officer to deliver up their arms and accoutre- 
ments in the following manner. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th 
troops of the regiment to assemble for that purpose in Jed- 
burgh, January 23rd, 1828; and the ist and 5th troops to 
meet at Kelso on the following day. The gentlemen were 
to appear in full dress, and partake of a farewell dinner 
together. 

The Club met at the Spread Eagle on July 25th, 1827. 
Colonel Sibbald proposed, and it was unanimously agreed, 
that the new uniform coat of the Club should be of dark blue 
cloth, with a collar of the same, and a gilt button bearing a 
suitable device. The secretary was directed to procure a 
drawing of a button and to produce it for inspection by the 
members at the next meeting. On the 31st of October the 
secretary produced several specimens of uniform buttons. 
The Club selected one with the letters J. F. in the centre, in 
the Saxon character. Mr Jerdon of Bonjedward was asked 
to consult with Mr Lizars,^ an engraver, on the subject. In 
the year 1828 it was proposed and agreed by all present that 



^ Mr Lizars, the engraver, married Henrietta, third daughter of Dr 
Wilson of Jedburgh. Two Miss Wilsons, sisters of Mrs Lizars, occupied 
the house in High Street, now the property of the Bank of Scotland. 
When Sir W. Jardine's Natural History was in preparation, the illustra- 
tions having been engraved by Lizars, he employed his sisters-in-law 
to paint them. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 33 

the Club should give a ball. For this purpose a committee 
was appointed, consisting of the following gentlemen : — Cap- 
tain Elliot, R.N. ; James Elliot of Wolflee, Colonel Sibbald, 
Major Oliver, and Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward. The 
ball committee found that the large room in the Spread 
Eagle was not very suitable for the purpose, and Mr Oliver, 
the sheriff, proposed that the Club should advance five 
hundred pounds to Mrs Laing,. the landlady of the inn, for 
the construction of a ball-room, at four per cent, interest, 
and the money should be raised in shares of £2^ each, on 
the security of the inn and its offices. This was adopted, and 
the following members took each a share : — William Oliver, 
junior ; A. Oliver, David Brown, W. Oliver for Mr Ruther- 
furd of Edgerston, W. Elliot, Thomas Scott, William Fair, 
John Rutherfurd, Robert K. Elliot, William Oliver for Mr 
Elliot of Wolflee, Sir William Scott, W. Mein, H. F. Scott, 
Sir Charles Ker, Archibald Jerdon, Thomas Stavert, A. 
Dickson, junior; John Paton, for Marquess of Lothian, and 
George Scott. At the next meeting of the Club a letter was 
read by the secretary from Mrs Laing, stating that the 
estimates for building the room amounted to upwards of 
;^5oo, and requesting that another hundred be added to the 
total sum. This was done by adding £s to each of the 
£25 shares. 

Mr Elliot of Wolflee, on the 30th of September, 1829, 
gave notice of a motion he meant to bring forward at the 
next meeting: that at the meeting in July next, ladies 
should be invited to attend, it being understood that any 
gentleman bringing a lady should pay six shillings. The 
motion was seconded by Elliot of Harwood. This was a 
novel proposal, and it was much discussed. Some ungallant 
members evidently thought that if ladies were present it 
would place them on their good behaviour, and curtail much 
of their freedom; others were strongly opposed to such an 
innovation on principle; and Mr Elliot's motion narrowly 
escaped defeat. The managing committee were requested at 
the meeting of the 23d of April, 1830, to concert measures 



34 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

for the proper reception and amusement of the ladies who 
were to be invited to the Jedforest Club in July. The ladies 
received cards of invitation from the members of the Club to 
dine with them on the last Wednesday of the month, and 
every arrangement had been made, when, alas ! George the 
Fourth died on the 26th of June. The committee of the 
Club issued the following circular: — **The committee are of 
opinion that on account of the lamented death of King 
George the Fourth, of blessed memory, the invitation to the 
ladies to dine with the Club on the last Wednesday of this 
month should be postponed." 

The freeholders of the county of Roxburgh met in the 
town hall at Jedburgh on the 19th of August, 1830, to elect a 
representative in Parliament. Charles Riddell of Muselee 
was president, and the clerk was William Rutherfurd. After 
the usual routine, George Baillie of Jerviswoode proposed the 
re-election of Henry Francis Scott, younger, of Harden, and 
the motion being seconded by Sir Walter Scott, Bart., of 
Abbotsford, Mr Scott was unanimously elected. 

The short reign of William IV. is chiefly to be remem- 
bered for the political storm which accompanied the passing 
of the Reform Bill of 1832. In that year also died the 
greatest of Roxburghshire lairds, Sir Walter Scott, Bart., of 
Abbotsford. There can be but few Scotsmen who have not 
read his novels, and Lockhart's biography of him is, to all 
persons of education, a model of what that kind of literature 
should be. Readers of this book know well how large a 
space is occupied by the border counties of Scotland in these 
writings. The history, archaeology, and topography of the 
district are constantly introduced, and even the domestic 
animals of the country are not disregarded. In the novel of 
Guy Mannering, published in 181 5, he mentions the pepper- 
and-mustard terriers and their owner, James Davidson, 
farmer, Hyndlee, to whom he gives the name of Dandie 
Dinmont of Charlie's Hope. Davidson was a keen sports- 
man of the Liddesdale type ; he regularly hunted the fox 
with a few hounds, which he kept in the dale for that pur- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 35 

pose ; and being swift of foot he was always well to the front, 
and the terriers, his faithful companions on all occasions, 
assisted in the sport. Scott, his shepherd, who lived in a 
cottage at Singdon, on the roadside not very far from Hynd- 
lee, was also an inveterate foxhunter, and his room was 
ornamented with trophies of the chase. Long after David- 
son's death he continued to reside on the farm, and was alive 
in 1 85 1. Dandie Dinmont terriers became very fashionable, 
orders coming to Davidson from all parts of the kingdom, 
^ and he found it quite impossible to supply the demand. 
/\^^ Alexf^pdftT Davidson, farmer in Swinnie, a great-nephew, 

now represents the family. Mr Davidson is well known 
with the Jedforest hounds, and his terriers are of the true 
stock. 

A meeting held on the 19th of November, 1834, ^^^ 
remarkable in the annals of the Jedforest Club. The chair 
was occupied by General Elliot of Rosebank, at the request 
of the Duke of Buccleuch, who was himself unable to attend. 
The members present were as follows : — 

General Elliot of Rosebank, Chairman (Hanvood) ; 

Sir William Scott of Ancram, Croupier ; 

Captain Elliot, Royal Navy (Harwood) ; 

William Ogilvib of Chesters ; 

Major Archibald Oliver of Bush (Dinlabyre) ; 

William Oliver Ruthbrfurd of Edgerston (and Dinlabyre). 

Thomas Scott, Lethem (Peel) ; 

Walter Scott of Wauchope; 

Archibald Jbrdon of Bonjedward ; 

Archibald Dickson of Huntlaw; 

Captain Walter Rutherfurd; 

William Bell of Hunthill ; 

James Elliot of Wolflee; 

George Pott of Dodd ; 

Robert Ker Elliot, yr., of Harwood ; 

Thomas Stavert of Hoscote ; 

John Paton of Crailing ; 

William Fair of Langlee; 

Samuel Oliver. Whitehill (Dinlabyre) ; 

John Chisholm of Stirches; 

Gilbert Eliott, Lieut, half-pay R.A. (Stobs); 

William Mein of Ormiston. 

At this dinner there were also three guests, one of whom, 



36 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Robert Elliot, son of James Elliot of Wolflee, only died 
three years ago, in his 90th year. The first member for 
Roxburghshire, after the passing of the Reform Bill in 1832, 
was Captain the Honourable George Elliot, R.N., a son of 
Lord Minto. One of the '' standing toasts " of the Club 
after the wine had been circulated was *^ The Member of 
Parliament for the County.*' General Elliot of Rosebaiik, 
who occupied the chair, and was a confirmed tory, purposely 
neglected to propose the toast, of which he was speedily 
reminded by the whig croupier, Sir William Scott of Ancrum. 
At this time political opinions ran very high, and there was 
much ill-feeling and bitterness between the rival factions. 
To Sir William's hint, the General, who rose from his seat, 

replied — " he would be d d first, sooner than propose the 

toast," and at the same time turned his wine glass upside 
down. This act was followed by several other tories present, 
and Sir William Scott, followed by all the whig members, 
rose from the table and left the room. As a result, many 
members left the Club. The secretary, at the next meeting, 
gave notice of the resignation of Lord Minto, Gilbert Eliott, 
Sir William Scott, Bart., Archibald Jerdon, James Elliot of 
Wolflee, William and Robert Bell, Hunthill, and several 
others. The meeting accepted their resignation and in- 
structed the secretary to remove their names from the list 
of members. For some time after this unfortunate affair 
nothing of any consequence took plkce in the annals of the 
Club; the vacancies were filled up, but the whigs kept aloof 
for many years afterwards. 

The committee for managing the affairs of the Club 
assembled at the Spread Eagle for the purpose of examin- 
ing the treasurer's accounts on the loth of June, 1838, and 
reported the funds to be in a prosperous state. At this 
period the rules of the Club were strictly enforced. The 
Marquess of Lothian was fined one guinea for not attending 
as chairman, and at the same meeting Mr Chisholm of 
Stirches was fined half a guinea for not being in the uni- 
form of the Club. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 37 

« 

In 1839 the members of th6 Jedforest Club considered 
it highly desirable that the long projected meeting between 
the Forest Club (Selkirk) and their own should take place 
at St Boswells Green. A committee which was appointed 
in view of the meeting consisted of William Ogilvie of 
Chesters, Thomas Stavert of Hoscote, and John Chisholm 
of Stirches. Friday the 6th of September being fixed by 
a joint committee, the two Border clubs assembled by 
mutual invitation. Being the first occasion on which they 
had ever met as a body to hold a festive meeting, the 
attendance was large, comprising a' number of the landed 
proprietors of the counties of Roxburgh and Selkirk. The 
dinner took place within the Buccleuch Arms, St Bos- 
wells Green. The chair was to have been taken by the 
Duke of Buccleuch, but in the absence of his grace, caused 
by the illness of one of his family, it was filled by the Hon. 
Henry F. Scott, younger, of Harden ; Alex. Pringle of 
Whytbank, M.P., being croupier. Besides the ordinary 
loyal toasts, the following were given: — "The Duke of 
Buccleuch," "The Marquess of Lothian and Lord Mon- 
tagu, Lords - Lieutenant of the Forests;" "The Duke of 
Roxburghe," "The Chairman," "Major Riddell of Dry- 
burgh " (father of the Forest Club) ; " Mr Fair of Lang- 
lee" (father of the Jedforest Club); "The Memory of Sir 
Walter Scott," " The Duchess of Buccleuch and the 
Flowers of Ettrick Forest," "Lord Polwarth," "The Hon. 
Mrs Scott and the Flowers of Jedforest," " Lord Douglas," 
" General Elliot of Rosebank," &c., &c. The evening was 
spent in true border fashion, amidst the greatest cordiality 
and good humour. Mr Brown, the landlord of the "Buc- 
cleuch Arms,*' provided an excellent dinner, and the wines 
were ordered from Edinburgh by Mr James Erskine. 
Robert Renwick, the Jedforest butler, was in charge. 
Among the Jedforesters present on this occasion were: — 
W. Oliver Rutherfurd of Edgerston, W. Fair of Langlee, 
W. Scott of Wauchope, Scott of Peel, J. Scott, yr., of 
Teviotbank ; D. Brown, Hundalee ; Dickson of Huntlaw, 



38 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

George Pott of Knowesouth, A. Stavert of Hoscote, Major 
Oliver of Bush, Samuel Oliver, Whitehill; John Riddell, 
Ogilvie of Cbesters, J. Chisholm of Stirches, Home of Ben- 
rig, John Scotland, factor to Lord Douglas ; Sheriff Craigie, 
Bruce of • Laiitglee, Ker of Gateshaw, Lieut. -General Elliot 
of Rosebank, Major Pringle, M'Duff Rhind, advocate; 
Pringle Shortreede, and Charles Kerr. 

The committee of management of the Club, having been 
informed that Her Majesty the Queen will visit Scotland 
during the end of August, 1842, on which occasion the 
gentlemen of Roxburghshire will be absent from the county, 
was therefore of opinion that the Club meeting advertised 
to take place at the end of August should be postponed. 
The meeting did not take place until the last Wednesday in 
September. At this meeting a notice was received from the 
two Miss Laings, who had catered for the Club for some 
years, that they were about to retire from the business. In 
the circular announcing the next meeting, the secretary, by 
the order of the committee, requested a full attendance of 
members, to testify their sense of the uniform good cheer 
and comfortable arrangements which had long been pro- 
vided for the Club by that family. 

In 1843 Mr Scotland, W.S., factor for the Douglas estates, 
was elected honorary secretary to the Club. This year the 
wine cellar was pronounced unfit for the reception of wines, 
on account of its being very damp, and a new one in the 
Spread Eagle was ordered to be constructed, at an expense 
not exceeding £20. 

The burgh of Jedburgh had gradually been getting into 
financial difficulties for some years, and in 1844 a crisis took 
place in their money affairs. The crisis was hastened by an 
expensive lawsuit, which had been going on for some time — 
'* The burgh against the bakers and meal -dealers.'* At this 
time the town owned the mills, with the thirlage and other 
privileges thereto belonging, and in defence of its rights and 
emoluments the authorities found it absolutely necessary to 
appeal to the law. In the spring of the following year the 



ANNALS pF A BORDER CLUB. 39 

Magistrates were reluctantly compelled to advertise for sale 
some of the property of the burgh, and the following notice 
appeared in the newspapers: — 

'* Judicial Sale of Properties belonging to the Burgh of 
Jedburgh. To be sold by Public Auction within the Parlia- 
ment or New Session house of Edinburgh, upon Wednesday 
the 28th day of May, 1845, &c. • • with concurrence of 
Her Majesty's advocate against the Provost, Magistrates, 
and Town Council of the Burgh of Jedburgh, as representing 
the community thereof and the creditors of the said burgh.*' 

At this sale the abbey, town, and east mills were sold, 
and also the waulk mill occupied by Messrs Hilson. Among 
the smaller lots offered for sale was the old gaol and gaoler's 
house. It seems a curious arrangement in this lot, to retain 
the steeple and sell the lower portion of the building. It was 
stipulated in the agreement for free access to ring the public 
bells and regulate the town clock. It is only fair to the 
Magistrates of Jedburgh at this time to state that the 
financial difficulties which they experienced were the result 
of liabilities contracted many years before, as the debts due 
from the burgh in 1833 amounted to ;^5223, i8s 4d — vide 
report on the burgh of Jedburgh. 

During many years the episcopal church had only in 
Roxburghshire a local habitation at Kelso. On the 15th of 
August, 1844, ^ church at Jedburgh, dedicated to St John 
the Evangelist, was consecrated by the diocesan, the Bishop 
of Glasgow, assisted by the Bishops of Moray and Aber- 
deen. The sermon was preached by Dr Hook, of Leeds, 
afterwards Dean of Chichester; and among those who 
attended the function were the Marquess of Lothian and 
his mother, Lord Henry Kerr, the Hon. Mr Talbot, the 
Hon. Mr Boyle, the Hon. Mr Walpole, the Hon. and 
Rev. J. Grey, the Hqn. and Rev. F. R. Grey, Archdeacon 
R. I. Wilberforce, the Rev. W, Dodsworth, and the great- 
est churchman in the Anglican communion, the Rev. John 
Keble. The collection at the consecration exceeded a hun- 
dred pounds. The church owes much to the munificence 



40 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of the Kerrs. The stained glass in the chancel window to 
the north was placed there by the young Marquess of 
Lothian, and that in the eastern one has been erected to 
the memory of the late Marquess by his widow. The 
screen was made by one of the workmen at Monteviot. 
The Queen - dowager presented the white marble pulpit; 
Dean Ramsay the lectern, and the stained glass window 
near it was the gift of Mrs Cleghorn, of Weens. When 
the site of the church was purchased from Provost Deans, 
a portion of the ground was occupied by a small hosiery 
manufactory. "The Brae," the residence of the incum- 
bent of St John's, was built by a Mr Dickson, an 
Edinburgh merchant. It was occupied in succession by 
Captain Mitford, R.N. (afterwards Admiral Mitford of 
Hunmauby Hall, Yorks, and of Mitford Castle, North- 
umberland) ; by Major Elliot of Harwood, who died 
there in 1835 ; and by the widow of Major Oliver of 
Bush; and was purchased by Rev. S. White. There 
have been six incumbents of St John's — The Rev. W. 
Spranger White, 14th December, 1843; Rev, Arthur C. 
Tarbutt, agth November, 1850 ; Rev. James Turnock, 5th 
January, 1858 ; The Very Rev. J. Moir, i8th February, 
1862; Rev. E. H. Molesworth, 26th December, 1889; ^"^ 
the Rev. C. Dalhousie Ramsay, 13th September, 1897. 

James M. Balfour, M.P. for the Haddington district of 
burghs, invited his constituents to dine with him at Jed- 
burgh on Friday, November 20th, 1845. About a hundred 
and twenty-five sat down to dinner in the large room of 
the Spread Eagle. Mr Balfour occupied the chair, and 
Andrew Mein of Hunthill, in the absence of Provost Mein 
from indisposition, officiated as croupier. 

The old Club butler, Robert Renwick, resigned his post 
in 1846, much to the regret of all the members. 

The Magistrates of Jedburgh, in the year 1849, at- 
tempted to put' a stop to the old border game of ball in the 
street of Jedburgh on Candlemas day. Their action was 
resented by a certain portion of the inhabitants, and the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 41 

case was tried before a full bench of the High Court in 
Edinburgh. Mr Pattison, advocate, opened the case for 
the ball players, and finished by saying that the right to 
play at ball on the Borders, and by Jedburgh in particular, 
had existed for some hundred of years, and could not be 
taken from the inhabitants by any act of police. George 
Deas, advocate, followed for the Magistrates, and main- 
tained in a long and eloquent speech the correctness of their 
behaviour. The discussion lasted about three hours^ after 
which the court unanimously ruled in favour of the ball 
players, and found them entitled to all expenses. On the 
news reaching Jedburgh in the evening, there was much 
ado among the youths, great satisfaction being felt that 
they had defeated the local magnates. An impromptu pro- 
cession was quickly formed, and it perambulated the town, 
headed by a drummer and a few fifes, with a man carrying 
a ball decorated with ribands at the top of a pole. 

The militia which had been embodied on the outbreak 
of the Russian war to take the place of the regular troops 
serving in the Crimea were quartered and doing duty in 
various parts of the kingdom. On the 8th of October, 1855, 
the town-clerk laid before the Council an intimation from 
Captain Noake, stating that a company of Roxburgh and 
Dumfries militia would march into Jedburgh on the 12th, 
and be stationed there till further orders ; and requiring the 
necessary billets for the men. 

The branch railway to Jedburgh was completed in 1856. 
Mr William Hartley was appointed in that year station- 
master. After some years* service in Jedburgh, he was 
promoted to the busy station of Galashiels. He held this 
new appointment only for about a couple of weeks, and 
returned to Jedburgh, which he preferred, and where he 
continued as stationnfaster until his death in 1896. 

Robert Laing, who succeeded Samuel Wood as town-clerk 
in 1839, resigned office in 1856. James Stedman, J. P. clerk 
(elected in 1845), was proposed by Councillor Alexander 
Jeffi'ey as a fit and proper person to fill the office. It was 



42 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

then put to the vote, when Mr James Stedman was elected 
town or common clerk of the burgh by a majority of two 
votes over two other candidates. He still holds both the 
above offices. Mr Stedman is the son of Captain James 
Stedman of the Cameronians, by Sophia, only daughter and 
heiress of James Mercer of Broomhill. 

Mr Jeffrey, who proposed him, has frequently been men- 
tioned in this volume as the historian of Roxburghshire. 
He was personally known to the writer, who cannot bring 
this chapter to a close without devoting a few lines to 
him. Alexander Jeffrey was the son of Alexander Jeffrey 
and Janet Smeaton his wife, and was born in 1806 near 
Bewlie. He was one of a large family, and as a boy 
worked at Lilliesleaf mill; but he always had a taste for 
reading, which made it hard for him to occupy himself 
with manual labour. About the year 1825 he entered 
the office of Mr Curie, Melrose, in which he remained 
for more than a year. He desired to become a lawyer, 
but it was not until 1838 that he was admitted a solicitor 
before the Sheriff Court of Roxburghshire. Jeffrey was 
an able lawyer, and thoroughly conversant with the 
mysteries of his profession. He showed extraordinary 
skill in defending what others considered hopeless cases. 
From his early youth he was fond of old Border tradi- 
tions and antiquities, and after upwards of twenty years' 
research among dusty records and old parchments, he 
produced **The History and Antiquities of Roxburghshire." 
He died in November, 1874, aged 68, and is buried in the 
Abbey Churchyard. Mr George Hilson wrote a memoir of 
him in the ** Proceedings of the Berwickshire Naturalists for 
^^75«" Jeffrey's name will never be forgotten; his book 
has become scarce, and is a valuable county history. 

In 1867, the ball-room at the Spread Eagle in which the 
Club used to dine, and which had been constructed with 
money borrowed from certain members of the Club in 1828, - 
was considered by Mr Scott, the owner of the house, to 
occupy too much space. The Club, also finding the room 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 43 

inconveniently large for their comfort, and considering that 
a smaller one would suffice for their requirements, voted 
a sum of ;^20 to assist Mr Scott in defraying the expense 
of alteration. 

In terms approved at an earlier meeting, William Oliver 
Rutherfurd of Edgerston proposed that Robert K. Elliot * 
of Harwood, Captain Cleghorn of Weens, and Gideon Pott 
of Dodd be appointed as a committee for the purpose of 
revising the rules and amending them, in accordance with 
modern tastes and requirements. The Club meeting took 
place in October, 1867, and from that date a marked 
improvement took place in the Club dinners and everything 
connected with the society. 

Among the benefactors of Jedburgh the name of John 
Tinline will be long remembered. He presented in 1891 a 
public park to the burgh. It consists of twelve acres of 
land, finely situated, and in close proximity to the town. 
Mr Tinline has built a handsome entrance, and has named 
it Allerley Well Park. After the presentation by Mr 
Tinline, the Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council met in 
the court room. County Buildings, and conferred the freedom 
of the burgh on Mr John Tinline, the donor. He is a native 
of Jedburgh, and was educated at the Grammar School, 
under Mr Burnett. His father, originally, filled a post in 
the Canongate of Jedburgh, and afterwards removed to the 
farm of Hundalee Mill. Young Tinline was employed in 
the law office of Messrs Rutherford & Thomson. He left 
Jedburgh at the age of twenty, in 1839, and proceeded to 
the then infant colony of New Zealand, where he filled the 
responsible government office of sheriff of the province of 
Nelson for five years. He is a man of much energy, and 
enterprise has always marked his character. Jedburgh 
people are remarkable for the affection they bear to their 



^ Robert Ker Elliot died in 1873, and his vacancy on the committee was 
filled by his nephew, Major James Paton'of Crailing ; the other two still 
remain on the committee of management (1898), having been several times 
re-elTOted. 



44 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

m 

native town, and Mr Tinline's noble gift will be a lasting 
memorial to bis love of home. 

In 1897 ^^^ Marquess of Lothian proposed to the mem- 
bers of the Jedforest Club that one full dress dinner at 7 
P.M. be held in each year, and this was unanimously 
approved. The Marquess further intimated that he was 
willing to occupy the chair at the said ditlner. 

1897 will be always associated with Her Majesty the. 
Queen, as being the year of her Diamond Jubilee. An extra 
dinner was held in her honour by the Jedforesters, the hour 
of dining being 7 p.m. The Marquess of Lothian, wearing 
the Order of the Thistle, with Lord Stratheden and General 
Sprot, sat at the head of the table. The Earl of Dalkeith 
was croupier, and on his right sat the Earl of Minto. 
These noblemen and gentlemen all took part in the speeches 
and toasts that followed, and the meeting was largely 
attended. The Earl of Dalkeith, on learning that Gideon 
Pott of Knowesouth (father of the Club) had been a member 
for fifty years, at once proposed his health, and it was 
drunk with all honours. 



A LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE JEDFOREST CLUB 

FROM i8io. 



1 The Earl of Ancram. afterwards 6th Marquess of 

Lothian, the founder of the Club. . 

2 Lord Robert Kerr, .... 

3 The Hon. Gilbert Elliot, afterwards Earl of Minto 

4 Sir John Scott of Ancrum, Bart., 

5 John Rutherfurd of Edgerston. 

6 W. Oliver of Dinlabyre, late Sheriff of the county, 

7 Colonel Henry Erskine. 8th of Shielfield, . 

8 Major John Rutherfurd of Mossburnford, . 



1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



45 



9 Thomas P. Ainslie of Ovenvells. 
zo Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward, 

11 James Elliot, W.S., Younger of Woollee, 

12 James Paton of Crailing, 

13 William Fair of Langlee. 

14 William Ogilvie, younger, of Chesters, 

15 Peter Brown of Rawflat, 

16 Charles Robson of Samieston» 

17 W. Oliver, younger, of Dinlabyre. Sheriff of the 

county. .... 

18 Walter Scott of Wauchope. . 

19 Thomas Scott, younger, of Peel, 

20 Robert Shortreed. Sheriff-Substitute, 

21 Charles Erskine, afterwards 9th of Shielfield, 

22 James Henderson, Writer in Jedburgh. 

23 John Robson. Chatto, brother of Samieston. . 

24 John Riddell. Timpendean (Muselee), 

25 William John. 5th Marquess of Lothian. . 

26 Henry. 3rd Duke of Buccleuch, 

27 Lord Douglas of Douglas Castle, 

28 Lord Dalkeith, afterwards Charles William Henry. 

4th Duke of Buccleuch, 

29 Colonel the Hon. Archibald Douglas, afterwards 

Lord Douglas. .... 

30 David Blount. Quartermaster. Local Militia. 

31 Thomas Riddell. younger, of Camieston. 

32 Captain Williamson. Adjutant. Local Militia. 

33 Samuel Charters Somerville, W.S.. of Lowood 

34 Alexander Don. afterwards Sir Alex. Don. Bart.. 

35 William Scott of Wool, 

36 Vice-Admiral Lord Mark Kerr. 

37 William Elliot of Harwood, 

^S William Somerville, M.D., son of Thomas Somer 
ville. D.D., .... 

39 Adam Scott of Arkleton (Scott Elliot), 

40 Colonel Elliot Lockhart of Borthwickbrae and 

Cleghom, .... 

41 The Rev. Thomas Somerville, D.D., of Jedburgh, 

42 George Scott Elliot of Lariston, 

43 Archibald Dickson of Hassendeanburn. 

44 William Bell. Hunthill, 

45 George Pott of Dodd, 

46 George Cl^hom, Weens, 

47 James, 5th Duke of Roxburghe. 

.48 Lord Newbattle, afterwards John. 7th Marquess 
of Lothian, ..... 

49 Robert Bell, Advocate, son of Benjamin Bell of 
Hunthill, ..... 



iSio 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 

1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1S10 
1810 
1810 
1810 
1810 

1810 

1810 
1810 
1811 
1811 
iSii 
1811 
i8zi 
1811 
1812 

1812 

Z8l2 

1812 

l8l2 

1813 
1813 
1813 
1813 
1813 
1813 

1813 

1813 



46 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



50 Captain James Cleghorn of Weens, late Royal 

North British Fusileers, 1813 

51 Major John Murray, Abbeygreen, Jedburgh, late 

20th Regiment, . .1814 

52 Lieut-General the Hon. David Leslie, 18 14 

53 Captain Robert Elliot, Royal Navy, afterwards 

Admiral Elliot, . .1814 

54 John Oliver, brother of the Sheriff (Dinlabyre). . 18 15 

55 General Henry Elliot of Rosebank. near Kelso, 18x5 

56 Lieut-Colonel John Ainslie of Teviotgrove. "^ ' 18 15 

57 William Rutherfurd. Sheriff-Clerk. 1815 

58 Colonel William Sibbald of Pinnacle. 1817 

59 Henry Morton of Benington (no information), 1817 

60 William Mein of Ormiston, 1818 

61 Charles Ker of Gateshaw, afterwards Sir Charles 

Ker, ....•• loio 

62 Thomas Shortreed, Procurator-Fiscal, 18 19 

63 Doctor James Grant, Jedburgh, . . .1819 

64 Captain John Rutherfurd of Knowesouth. . 18 19 

65 Charles Chisholm of Chisholm, . . 1819 

66 Archibald Douglas, younger, of Midshiels and 

Adderstonshiels. .... 1820 

67 Captain Michael Edwin Fell. The Holmes. 1820 

68 Dr Gavin Hilson, Jedburgh, late Surgeon 4th 

Dragoons, ..... 1820 

69 Sir John James Douglas, Bart., of Springwood 

Park. ...... 1821 

70 Thomas Stavert, younger, of Hoscote, 1821 

71 Gilbert Eliott, Wells, Lieut, (half-pay), R.A.. 1822 

72 David Brown of Rawflat, .... 1823 

73 Adam Walker, younger, of Muirhouselaw, . 1824 

74 John Castell Hopkins of Rowchester, 1824 

75 Peter Forbes, Lieutenant (half -pay), 1826 

76 Mr Ambrose, Birseslees (no information), . 1826 

77 Sir Thomas Sidney Beckwith, K.C.B.. 1826 

78 Major Archibald Oliver of Bush. 1826 

79 Sir William Scott of Ancrum, Bart., 1826 

80 Henry Francis Scott, younger, of Harden, after- 

wards Lord Polwarth, 1827 

8i George Scott, Writer, Jedburgh, 1827 

82 Captain Ross, Hunthill, afterwards Lieut.-General 

J. K. Ross, K.H., .... 1828 

83 John Paton of Crailing, .... 1828 

84 Francis Home, younger, of Cowdenknowes, 1829 

85 Robert Kerr Elliot, younger, of Harwood, . 1829 

86 Robert H. Elliot, R.N., The Cottage, Jedburgh. . 1829 

87 John Scott, Lethem, .... 1829 

88 Captain Pringle, H.E.I.C.S., afterwards Major, . 1829 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



47 



89 Samuel Oliver. WhitehiU (Dinlabyre). 

90 William Scott of Teviotbank. 

91 I-ord John Scott, 

92 William H. Scott, Harden, . 

93 John Chisholm of Stirches, 

94 Captain Walter Rutherfuni, H.E.I.C.S., 

95 Colonel Alexander Cumming, 

96 Macduff Rhind, Advocate. Edinburgh, 

97 John Millar, of Stewartfield, Jedburgh, 

98 Walter Francis, 5th Duke of Buocleuch 

99 Alexander Pringle of Why t bank, 

00 Charles Kerr, East India Merchant, London, 

01 Donald Home, W.S , Benrig, St Boswells, 

02 John Scotland, W.S., Glendouglas, 

03 John Craigie, Sheriff-Substitute, Jedbank, 

04 John Scott of Teviotbank, . 

05 Francis Scott, Harden, afterwards M.P. for the 

county, .... 

06 Charles Baillie, Advocate, (Lord Jerviswoode), 

07 Thomas Bruce of Langlee, Depute Clerk of 

Session, 

08 James Dickson of Houseb3rres, 

09 James Dickson of Alton and Pinnadehill, . 

10 George Hut ton of Carlton, . 

1 1 William Kerr of Gateshaw, . 

12 Pringle Shortreed, H.E.I.C.S.. 

13 William Grieve, Branxholm Park, . 

14 William Oliver Rutherfurd, younger, of Edgerston. 

15 Alex. Thomson of Hiltonshill (no information), 

16 William Watson of Bumhead, 

17 Thomas Macmillan Scott of Wauchope, 

18 Harvey Vachell, Stewartfield, late 30th Foot (no 

information), .... 

19 R. C. Nisbet of Tweedbank (no information), 

20 John Henderson, younger, of Abbotrule, 

21 James Maitland Balfour, M.P., 

22 James Gilfillan of Cowdenknowes, . 

23 James Scott of Whitehaugh, 

24 Archibald John Oliver Rutherfurd, 93rd Regiment, 

25 John Lang of Overwells, 

26 Nicholas Dodd of Bellshield (Mossburnford), 

27 Archibald Gerard of Rochsoles, 

28 Captain William Shortreed, H.E.I.C.S., . 

29 James Giles of Kailzie, 

30 The Hon. John Talbot, 

31 Charles Scott of Langlee and Howcleuch, . 

32 William Scott of Eastfield (no information), 

33 Gideon Pott, younger, of Dodd (now father of the 

Club), .... 

B 



X830 
1831 
1831 
1831 
1833 
1832 

1833 

1833 

1834 

1834 

1835 

1835 
1836 

1836 

1836 

1836 

1836 
1836 

1837 

1837 

1837 
1838 

1838 

1839 

1839 

1839 
1840 

X841 

184Z 

1841 
1841 
1841 
184Z 
184a 

1843 

1843 
1844 

1845 

1845 
1845 

1846 

1847 

1847 

1847 

1847 



48 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



134 Major Forbes, Bonjedward (no information), 

135 Robert Henderson, Abbotrule, 

136 James E. Shortreed Fair of Langlee, 

137 James Stevenson, Procurator-Fiscal, 
Z38 Christopher Douglas, W.S., of Chesterhouse, 

139 William 8th Marquess of Lothian, . 

140 James James of Samieston, . 

141 Dr Frank Douglas. H.E.I. C.S., 

142 William Scott Henderson, W.S., Abbotrule, 

143 Sir George H. S. Douglas, Bart., of Springwood 

144 David Henderson of Abbotrule. 

145 Thomas Robson Scott of Newton, . 

146 Dr James Robson Scott of Ashtrees, 

147 Sir Walter ElUot of Wolflee, K.C.S.I.. 

148 Captain George Cleghorn of Weens, Royal Scots 

Greys (now Tancred), 

149 John Brack Boyd of Cherrytrees, . 

150 David Pringle of Wilton Lodge, 

151 Archibald Jerdon, Collector of County Rates, Jed 

burgh, ..... 

152 Francis Russell, Sheriff-Substitute, Jedbank. 

153 Major Paton, younger, of Crailing, 4th (King'i 

Own) Regiment, 

154 Robert B. Maconachie of Gattonside, 

155 Sir William Scott, Bart., of Ancrum, 

156 James Charles Cleghorn, Weens (late 7th Madras 

Cavalry), .... 

157 Henry Rutherfurd of Fairnington, . 

158 George Baird of Stichef, 

159 Thomas Gordon, Hartrigge, . 

160 Edward Heron-Maxwell of Tevlotbank, 

161 Colonel John Briggs, Bonjedward, . 

162 John Bald, Wells, .... 

163 Captain William Scott, younger, of Ancrum (now 

Sir W. Scott, Bart.), . 

164 William Dickson, Wellfield, Hawick, 

165 Lord Schomberg Kerr (now 9th Marquess of 

Lothian), .... 

166 Captain** Sir George H. Leith, Bart., Drygrange 

(now Leith-Buchanan). 

167 William Richardson Dickson of Alton, 

168 Sir William F. Eliott, Bart., of Stobs, 

169 George H. Pattison, Advocate, Sheriff of Rox 

burghshire, .... 

170 Walter Macmillan Scott of Wauchope, Lieutenant 

The Carabineers, 

171 James Erskine of Shielfield, Melrose, 

172 George Pott of Potburn, 

173 James Dalrymple of Wester Langlee, 



1847 
1848 

1849 

1853 

1853 

1854 
1854 

1857 
1858 

i860 
i860 
1861 
1861 
1862 

1862 
1862 
1862 

1862 
1863 

1863 
1863 
1863 

1864 
1864 
1865 
1866 
1866 
1866 
1867 

1867 
1868 

1S69 

1869 
1869 
1869 

1869 

1869 
1869 
1B70 
1870 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



49 



174 William Thomas Ormiston of Glenbum Hall, 1871 

175 Captain James Thomas Pringle, R.N., of Torwood- 

lee, ...... 1872 

1 76 James Thomas Spencer Elliot, younger, of Wolfelee, 1 873 

177 The Marquess of Bowmont, afterwards Duke of 

Roxburghe, ..... 1873 

178 William Scott Watson of Bumhead, 1873 

179 Colonel Thomas Riddell Carre of Cavers Carre, . 1874 

180 John Elliot Mein of Hunthill, 1874 

181 David Turnbull, younger, of Fenwick, 1875 

182 William B. Elliot of Benrig, . 1875 

183 Colonel Archibald Dickson of Chatto, . 1876 

184 Captain W. Eliott Lock hart of Borthwickbrae, 1876 

185 Major John Elliot Shortreed Fair, Overwells, 1878 

186 Charles James Cunningham of Muirhouselaw, 1879 

187 William Brack Boyd of Faldonside, . 1879 

188 Charles Anderson, Hon. Secy., of Glenbum Hall, 1880 

189 Alexander Waddell of Palace, . 1881 

190 William Aitcheson of Brieryhill, 1882 

191 John Corse Scott of Sinton, late 7th Dragoon 

Guards. ..... 1882 

192 Captain Edward Palmer Douglas of Cavers, late 

Rifle Brigade, ..... 1883 

193 The Earl of Dalkeith, .... 1884 

194 William E. Oliver Rutherfurd of Edgerston, 1885 

195 General John Sprot of Riddell, 1885 

196 Charles W. Dunlop of Whitmuirhall, . 1885 

197 William Henry Walter, 6th Duke of Buccleuch, . 1886 

198 Sir George B. Douglas, Bart^, of Springwood Park, 1886 

199 Peter Speirs, Sheriff-Substitute, Bonjedward, 

200 Robert B. Anderson, Hon. Secy., of Glenbum Hall, 1886 

201 John A. Robson Scott of Newton, . . 1886 

202 Charles B. Balfour of Newton Don (late Scots 

Guards), ..... 1888 

203 James A. W. Mein of Hunthill, 1889 

204 The Earl of Dalkeith, M.P., . 1889 

205 John S. Heron -Maxwell, Teviotbank (late 14th 

Hussars), ..... 1889 

206 Sir Richard Waldie Griffith. Bart., Hen*ersyde 

Park, ...... 1890 

207 Henry Seton Karr of Kippilaw, M.P., 1890 

208 Athole Stanhope Hay of Marlefield. 1891 

209 The Earl of Minto, ..... 1892 

210 Thomas Scott Anderson of Ettrick Shaws, M.F., . 1892 

211 Captain William Heron-Maxwell (late the Royal 

Fusileers), ... . . . 1892 

212 Charles Hope of Cowdenknowes, Lieut. -Colonel 
* 2nd Batt. V. The King's Own Scottish Bor- 

derers, ...... 1893 



io ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

213 Major Edward H. M. Elliot of Wolflee, South 

Lancashire Regiment, . . . 1893 

214 Captain Hon. John Beresford Campbell, Cold- 

stream Guards, .... 1894 

215 Major Robert Scott -Kerr of Chatto, Grenadier 

Guards, ...... 1894 

216 D. Norman Ritchie of The Holmes, . . 1894 

217 Alexander Sholto Douglas, W.S., of Gateshaw, . 1895 

218 Lord Jedburgh, ..... 1895 

219 Lord Stratheden and Campbell, . . . 1895 

220 Admiral Sir Henry Fairfax, K.C,B., of Ravens- 

wood, ...... 1896 

221 Arthur Francis Scott of Howcleuch (late Rifle 

Brigade). ..... 1896 

222 James Curie of East Morriston, . 1897 



ANNALS OF A BORDBR CLUB. 51 



CHAPTER III. 

AINSLIE. 

TPhomas Philip Ainslib, son of Thomas Ainslie, who sue- Thomas 
* ceeded to Overwells on the death of his father, figured Ainsl?e of 
in Jedburgh society early in the century.* He was ex- Overwells. 
tremely fond of dress, and studied every turn of fashion. 
For many years he was an officer of the Roxburgh yeo- 
manry, and obtained the rank of captain in 181 9; and on 
his retirement he was given the honorary rank of lieut.- 
colonel. He lived for some time at Knowesouth with his 
mother, who died there on 30th August, 181 2.* When the 
Jedforest Club was first formed, he was one of its chief 
supporters. He seems to have got into money difficulties 
in 1816, as a meeting of his creditors took place in the 
Royal Exchange Coffee-house, Edinburgh. He, however, 
made a proposal for the payment in full of his whole debts, 
which he carried into effect. In 1821, at a Club dinner, 
given to commemorate the Coronation day of George IV., 
upon the standing toast to the memory of the Lord Jed- 
burgh (the late Marquess of Lothian), *<the donor of the 
horn," being given from the chair, Lieut.-Colonel Ainslie 
rose and delivered a long and animated speech, which was 
received with the greatest enthusiasm by all present. He 
never married. Mr James Watson, in his " History of Jed- 
burgh Abbey," page 113, mentions the discovery of the 
burial place of Thomas Ainslie and his wife, on the 
removal of the Church from the Abbey, as follows: — 
" They also came upon a regularly built vault of stone, 
with arched roof, in the north aisle, containing two coffins, 

1 Charles Douglas Ainslie, youngest son of Thomas Ainslie of Overwells, 
died at Grenada in January » 1803. — Edin. Adv. 

> Colonel Ainslie was related to Mrs Shortreed, who was a Miss Ainslie. 
— Vid0 Shortreed. 



5* 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



one of lead, the other of oak; and as all remembrance of 
the existence of these had been forgotten, many conjectures 
were made as to who were the occupants. The mystery 
was, however, cleared up. Thomas Philip AinsHe of Over- 
wells, in the parish of Jedburgh, having died at Newcastle, 
on the i8th of May, 1837, application was made to the kirk- 
session for permission to have his remains laid in the vault 
within the church, granted by the heritors to his father. 
The kirk-session regretted that permission could not be 
granted — ** first, because the vault was originally formed to 
hold only the remains of the late Mr Ainslie and his wife, 
both of whom were interred there, which filled up the whole 
space; and, second, because the place in which the vault 
is situated, which was formerly a passage, now forms part 
of the place of public worship, having been some time ago 
taken in and seated." Vide Minute of Session. 

The name of Ainslie, which at one time was so common 
in and about Jedburgh, has now entirely disappeared. 



Lieut. -Col. 
John Ainslie 
of Teviot 
Grove. 



Lieutenant-Colonel John Ainslie, H.E.I.C.S., of Teviot- 
grove, near Jedburgh, was born June 14, 1760. About the 
year 1777 "Jock** Ainslie, as he was then called, got a 
cadetship and proceeded to Calcutta, and served in the 9th 
Native Infantry. He was made a brevet captain on January 
7» 17969 and obtained his regimental rank on January 21, 
1803. Early in the century he married Sarah Geddes, by 
whom he had four sons, and one daughter who died young. 
Of his sons, the youngest, William Bernard, was the most 
distinguished.^ Colonel Ainslie's wife died at Futtyghur, 
India, on March 6, 1813, and after this he retired from the 



^ Colonel William Bernard Ainslie, C.B., commanded the 93d High- 
landers at the Battle of Balaclava, where the Highlanders received the 
charge of the Russians in line— "The Thin Red Line." He married 
Joanna, only daughter of Major-General Thomas Falls ; she died in 1889. 
It was the persuasions of Miss Mary Walker which induced Colonel 
Ainslie to retire from the army, a step which he always regretted. At her 
death she left him only an annuity of /500. He died on October 31, 1887, 
at the age of seventy-five. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 53 

army, and returned home to Scotland, and resided at 
Teviotgrove, now Harestains, near Monteviot. He next 
married Lillias Walker, the eldest sister of Misses Barbara 
and Mary Walker, who left all their fortune to the Edin- 
burgh Episcopal Church. The Walker family came origin- 
ally from Old Meldrum, Aberdeenshire. Lieutenant-Colonel 
Ainslie joined the Jedforest Club in 1815; he died at his 
house in Forth Street, Edinburgh, on March 15, 1817, and 
was buried in the churchyard at Haddington. 

AITCHESON. 
William Aitcheson, son of the once-famous ilockmaster, William 
Mr Aitcheson of Linhope,* was born April 20, 1839, and Brier^m^ 
was educated in Edinburgh, at the Academy, and subse- 
quently at the University of that city. By the death of 
his father in 1874 ^^ succeeded to Brieryhill and Calaburn 
in Roxburghshire, and Glenkerry* in Selkirkshire. At one 
period Mr Aitcheson rented the extensive sheep farms of 
Menzion, Peeblesshire, and Penchrise and Linhope, Rox- 
burghshire. He married in 1877 Mary, second daughter of 
John Wilson of Billholm, who was eldest son of Professor 
Wilson (Christopher North). Mr Aitcheson was a justice of 
the peace for Roxburghshire and Selkirkshire, and a mem- 
ber of the University, Ettrick Forest, and Jedforest Clubs. 
For the last few years of his life he was a great invalid, and 
died on the 25th of February, 1889, leaving a widow and 

four sons. 

AMBROSE. 

Mr Ambrose, who resided at Birseslees, became an Ambrose of 

honorary member of the Club. He was proposed by 

Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward, and admitted in 1826. 

(No further information.) 

1 A sister of Mr Aitcheson's married John Usher, only son of John 
Usher, tenant in Stodrig, who was well known and much liked in the 
county. A crack shot, a good horseman, and one of the chief supporters 
of the Jedforest hounds. He died from a chill, caught on his return from 
the Derby. His widow now resides in Edinburgh. 

* Glenkerry once belonged to the Rutherfurds of Edgerston, they having 
acquired it by purchase in 1770. 



54 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

ANDERSON. 

Thb Andersons of Selkirk have for several generations 
been members of the medical profession. 

Thomas Anderson, who came originally from Earlstpn, 
Berwickshire, was born in 175!) and practised as a surgeon 
in Selkirk from 1771 to 1809, when he removed to Edin- 
burgh, and died there on March 8th, 18 16, leaving several 
sons and daughters, who are enumerated below. 

I. Alexander, the eldest son, was a surgeon, and prac- 
tised with his father in Selkirk. He was born in 1770, and 
accompanied his brother-in-law, Mungo Park, to Africa, 
where he died of dysentery at Sansanding in 1805, in the 
35th year of his age. 

II. John, born in 1777, was also a surgeon, and was 
attached to the Royal Marine Division, Woolwich. His 
death occurred in London in 1809. He married, in 1807, 
Isabella, daughter of Mungo Park, senior, Foulshiels, 
Selkirkshire, but left no family. 

III. Andrew, followed the family tradition and became 
a surgeon and physician. He was born at Selkirk, October 
ist, 1784, In March, 1805, he entered the army as a 
hospital assistant, became surgeon in 18 12, and retired on 
half- pay in August, 1833. ^^ Andrew Anderson served in 
Naples and Calabria, and acted as assistant surgeon to 
the grenadier battalion, under Lieut. -Col. O'Callaghan, 
at the battle of Maida. He was also present at the sieges 
of Scylla Castle and of Flushing, 1809, and took part in 
the expedition to Walcheren. He further saw active service 
in the Peninsula, from December, 1809, to November, 1813, 
including the defence of Cadiz, the battles of Busaco, 
Fuentes de Onoro, Salamanca, the siege of Burgos, and 
actions in the Pyrenees. For these services he received 
in 1849, by order of Her Majesty, the silver war 
medal with five clasps. Dr Anderson was twice married; 
his first wife was Anne Cairns. In an old family Bible 
is the following entry: "On the 12th August, 1818, I 
was married at Port Patrick, Wigtonshire, to Anne, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 55 

2nd daughter of James Cairns, writer, Peebles (born at 
Peebles 25th Dec, 1793), by the Rev. John M'Kenzie, 
D.D., who charged me eight guineas for performing 
the ceremony.*' By this marriage he had a daughter, 
Anne. He subsequently married Georgina, third daughter 
of Captain John Graham, R.N., by whom he had two sons. 
Anne married John Bathgate, writer, Peebles, on the 6th of 
April, 1842, at Edinburgh. Of the two sons, Thomas joined 
the 78th Highlanders as ensign in 1845, became captain in 
1857, *°d di®^ ^^ Westward Ho in 1879. His brother, 
John Graham Anderson, went to China to represent the 
house of Dent & Co. In 1854, when on the Canton river in 
a country boat, with two other young men, he was suddenly 
attacked by pirates. Being well armed the little party made 
a desperate defence, killing eight and wounding nine of their 
assailants. — Vide " Chambers's Journal," March, 1857. Job° 
died at Blackheath, 1882. 

IV. George, a twin brother to Andrew, was in the Cus- 
toms office at Greenock. He married, and had issue. 

V. Thomas, succeeded his father as surgeon in Selkirk in 
1809. He married Margaret, daughter of Henry Scott, 
Deloraine, Selkirkshire. {Vide Sibbald.) She died in 1836. 
It may be said of this well known doctor that he spent 
a large portion of his life in the saddle, as, in the early 
days of this century, the bridle-path was more in use 
than the turnpike road in the county of Selkirk. Dr 
Thomas Anderson never spared himself in his professional 
work, and, alike to the rich and poor, was kind and atten- 
tive. He was the prototype of Sir Walter Scott's ** Gideon 
Gray," and a pleasing account of his life was written by 
the late Dr John Brown in his ** Horae Subsecivae," en- 
titled, "Our Gideon Grays." He died at Selkirk in 1850, 
leaving four sons and four daughters. 

Alison, married in 1799 Mungo Park, the celebrated 
African traveller; they had three sons and one daughter. 
Mrs Park died 31st January, 1840, having survived her 
distinguished husband nearly thirty-four years. 

Isabella, died unmarried at Selkirk, in March, 1842. 



56 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Dr Thomas Anderson, the second, left four sons, of 
whom the following particulars have been gleaned: — 

I. Thomas, .the eldest, went to China in 1834, and 
obtained an appointment in a bank. He remained there 
for a few years. The climate, together with a sedentary 
life, did not suit his health, which began to suffer. He 
was recommended to try Australia. Following out this 
advice he joined his friend John Lang Currie, and event- 
ually went into partnership with him in the Larra Station, 
Mount Elephant, in the western district of Victoria. He 
was killed by a fall from his horse in 1854, leaving two 
sons — Thomas Scott Anderson — of whom presently; John 
MacLaurin Anderson, died 1858. 

n. Alexander, born at Dovecot, Selkirk, 1810, passed as 
surgeon in 1831, and practised at Langholm for one year. 
He accompanied Lord Napier^ to China at the close of 
1834, when he proceeded to that country as Ambassador. 
Dr Anderson remained at Macao and Hong Kong twelve 
years, and returned home in 1846. In 1847 he settled, by 
request, as medical practitioner in Jedburgh, succeeding 
Dr Gavin Hilson, who died suddenly when attending a 
patient. Dr Anderson, whose health had suffered during 
his residence in China, died in May, 1857, at the age of 
47. He married, when abroad. Miss Eliza Gillespie, and 
left eight children. During his residence in Jedburgh he 
occupied Abbey Green House. His second son, Henry 
Scott Anderson, and his fourth son are both in the 
medical profession. 

HL Henry Scott Anderson, a third son of Dr Thomas 
Anderson, and born 181 1, became his father's assistant in 
1831. During the half century he practised in his native 
town, and maintained the high reputation which had been 
deservedly gained by his ancestors. He was Provost of 
Selkirk from 1868 to 1880, and was presented with his 
portrait, painted by Sir George Reid, president of the 

^ Lord Napier died soon after his arrival in China. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 57 

Royal Scottish Academy — the subscribers including all his 
friends and patients in the county. He died on March 
15th, 1890, aged 79. 

IV. John, also followed the profession of his fathers, and 
became a doctor of medicine. Appointed assistant sur- 
geon of the 79th Foot in 1840, he was transferred in May 
of the same year to the 22nd Foot. He sailed for India 
on the staff of Sir Charles Napier, and served throughout 
the campaign in Scinde. He was present at the memorable 
battle of Meeanee, where the 22nd bore the brunt of the 
action, and again, five weeks afterwards, at the battle of 
Hyderabad, on the 25th March, 1843. ^^^ hospital of the 
22nd was denuded of patients on that day, as every man 
who could stagger along went into action, so keen were the 
men to fight the Beloochees. On the field of battle, under 
a heavy fire, Dr Anderson performed a double amputation 
with great coolness and success; a fact which drew from 
Major Outram* the remark that if ever he required sur- 
gical aid, he would have no one but "Johnnie Anderson." 
On the way home with the regiment, the doctor died at 
sea between Malta and Sicily, in 1857, and was buried 
at Trapani. Dr Anderson was much liked in his regiment, 
and his brother officers, as a mark of their friendship and 
regard, erected in Selkirk parish church a memorial tablet 
bearing the following inscription: — 

Sacred to the Memory 

of 

John Anderson, Esq., M.D.. 

Son of the late Thomas Anderson, Esq., Surgeon, Selkirk. 

Assistant Surgeon of H. M. 22nd Regiment of Foot, aged 34 

years, who died suddenly off the coast of Sicily on the 

7th March 185 1, during his passage home from India, 

where he had served for 10 years. 

This tablet is erected by General Sir Charles Napier, G.C.B., 

and the other officers of his late regiment, 

as a testimony of their esteem and regret for one whose worth 

proved equally in the hour of sickness and in friendly counsel, 

and who was as much beloved by the whole regiment for his 

sincere and amiable character as respected on account 

of his professional skill. 

> Major Outram (afterwards Sir James Outram, Bart.), then political 
agent in Upper Scinde. 



58 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Above the inscription are the arms, crest, and motto of 
the Andersons; below, the Napier coat of arms, regimental 
motto, and colours. 

For his war services in Scinde he received a medal with 
Her Majesty's head on the obverse, <' Meeanee Hyderabad 
1843 " on the reverse. 



Thomas 
Scott 
Anderson 
of Ettrick 
Shaws. 



Thomas Scott Anderson of Ettrick Shaws, Selkirk- 
shire, was born June 5th, 1852, at Dovecot, Selkirk. He 
was the son of Thomas Anderson and Joan MacLaurin, his 
wife. He was educated at Pau, in France, and at Edin- 
burgh, where he pursued the study of medicine. He took 
his degree of M.B. at Edinburgh in 1873, and at Paris the 
same year. The following twelve months Mr Anderson 
devoted to travel: he proceeded to Egypt, Palestine, and 
Syria, and returned by Athens, Constantinople, and the 
Danube. We find him embarking for Australia after his 
return to England. That huge undeveloped continent pre- 
sented an excellent opportunity for indulging his taste for 
natural history, which Mr Anderson had acquired in his 
early youth. He shot upwards of 300 different species of 
birds in the colony of Victoria, the skins of which were 
carefully preserved. 

Mr Anderson married, when in Australia, Joan Anderson 
Shaw, daughter of Thomas Shaw of Wooriwyrite, on June 
ist, 1876, and returned with his wife to Scotland. In 1878 
he took his degree of M.D. at Edinburgh University. Again 
he visited Australia, this time to take a large sheep farm in 
the western district of Victoria. During his sojourn there, 
he was elected a member of the shire council, and made a 
justice of the peace for the shire of Hampden. Dr Anderson 
continued his natural history pursuits, and added con- 
siderably to his already large and valuable collection of 
specimens. Amongst others, he shot a male and female 
white goshawk, which, until recently, was thought to be 
merely a variety — an albino of the grey goshawk — but is 
now recognised as undoubtedly a distinct species. These 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 59 

handsome and majestic birds of prey have been stuffed by 
Mr Small, the taxidermist, and were exhibited in the 
museum of the Buccleuch Memorial Hall, Hawick, where 
they attracted the special attention of naturalists. In the 
British Museum there is only one (imperfect) skin of this 
very rare bird. 

When Mr and Mrs Anderson returned home in 1882, they 
resided at Ettrick Shaws, which estate had been purchased 
in 1873 from the late James Johnstone of Alva. Mr Ander- 
son built the present house in 1891, and has much improved 
the property. It lies in the parish of Kirkhope, and at one 
time was included in the Forest of Ettrick. Shaws hill is 
1292 feet above the level of the sea, and the estate is of 
a thoroughly sporting and pastoral character. Mr Anderson 
is a justice of the peace for the county of Selkirk and a 
commissioner of supply ; he is also a county councillor, in 
which capacity he represents the parish of Kirkhope.^ 

In 1892 he succeeded Charlie Sinclair as master of the 
Jedforest foxhounds, and resides at Lintalee during the 
hunting season. The county is indebted for the resuscitation 
of the Jedforest pack, which for many years had entirely 
disappeared, to Mr Sinclair, who benefited by the zealous 
assistance of Capt. Palmer Douglas of Cavers, who acted as 
master, and that keen sportsman, the late John Usher, Gate- 
housecote, as first whip. About the time Mr Anderson 
became master, he had the co-operation of the late Mr 
James Oliver, Greenriver, who often did duty as whip, and 
was also secretary of the hunt. 



Charles Anderson, solicitor, Jedburgh, was the son of Charles 
the Rev. James Anderson, minister of the parish of Stoney- cienbam 
kirk, Wigtownshire, and of Mary M'Ghie, daughter of ^*^^- 



1 Kirkhope was formerly in the parish of Yarrow. In 1851 it was made 
a separate parish, at the request of the Duke of Buccleuch. 



6o 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



John M'Ghie of Castlehill, Kirkcudbrightshire.^ He was 
born at Stoneykirk manse on loth November, 1827, and 
educated at Edinburgh University. He entered the legal 
profession as apprentice in the office of the late Simon 
Campbell, W.S., and afterwards obtained a clerkship in 
the office of Messrs Hunter Blair & Cowan, W.S., Edin- 
burgh, where he remained until 1857, when he proceeded 
to Jedburgh, and went into partnership with Robert Laing, 
solicitor. In 1857, he married Jessie Niven, eldest daugh- 
ter of Robert Ballantyne, M.D., Girvan, Ayrshire. He was 
agent of the Western Bank until its suspension, after which 
he held a similar position in the Royal Bank of Scotland. 
In 1874 he received the appointment of collector of 
county rates for Roxburghshire, and, on the adoption of 
the Roads and Bridges Act, was also appointed collector 
of road rates. 

In 1879, he was made clerk to the lieutenancy by the 
late Duke of Buccleuch, and continued to hold the post 
under his successor, the late Duke of Roxburghe. Upon 
resignation of Mr James Stevenson in 1880, Mr Anderson 
was offered the hon. secretaryship of the Jedforest Club, 
which he accepted; and he discharged the duties of the 
office until his death. In 1884, he purchased the property 
of Glenburnhall, near Jedburgh. He died there on 28th 
August, 1886, survived by a widow and eight children. 



Robert 
Ballantine 
Anderson 
of Glenburn 
Hall. 



Robert Ballantine Anderson, solicitor, eldest son of 
Charles Anderson, was born on 25th August, 1858, educa- 
ted at the Nest Academy, Jedburgh ; at Uppingham School, 
and Edinburgh University. He entered the legal profession 
in 1875. He served his apprenticeship with his father 



^ John M'Ghie of Castlehill obtained a commission in the io6th Foot in 
1 761. This regiment was disbanded in 1763. and the officers were placed 
on the half-pay list. M'Ghie's commission (which is in the possession of 
R. B. Anderson) as an ensign in the io6th regiment, commanded by 
Colonel Isaac Barre, and in the company of Captain Livingstone, is signed 
by George III., and countersigned by G. Grenville. Ensign M'Ghie died 
in 1836, having been on half-pay for the long period of 73 years. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 6i 

and Mr Henry Tod, W.S., Edinburgh. Subsequently, he 
entered the office of Messrs Skene, Edwards, & Bilton, 
W.S., Edinburgh, and there he remained until he passed 
his final examination in law, 1882, when he returned to 
Jedburgh. In 1884, he joined his father as partner, and 
was appointed assistant agent of the Royal Bank. Within 
two years afterwards, his father died, and Mr Anderson 
found himself at a very early age bearing the burden and 
responsibility of a large law business, a bank agency, and 
other public appointments. It is no small compliment to 
say that he has worthily maintained the reputation the 
office, had gained under his father, and has conducted with 
honour and credit a business much larger than usually 
falls to the young country practitioner. Mr Anderson de- 
votes most of his time to trust and family business, the 
management of land, and the work of his public offices; 
and he enjoys the confidence of a considerable number of 
the landed proprietors in his own district, and of the farm- 
ers and manufacturers over a wide range of the Borders. 
Upon the death of his father, Mr Anderson was unani- 
mously appointed to succeed him as secretary to the Jed- 
forest Club. He is agent of the Royal Bank, collector of 
rates, and treasurer of the county of Roxburgh; and is 
also an honorary sheriff- substitute for the county. In 
1885, Mr Anderson married Agnes, younger daughter of 
Thomas Macmillan of Changue, Ayrshire, and has a young 
family. 

BAILLIE. 

Baillie of Jerviswoode (now merged in the earldom of Charles 
Haddington). Charles Baillie, the subject of this memoir, ^^Ydler- 
was the second son of George Baillie of Mellerstain, Ber- viswoode). 
wickshire, and of Jerviswoode, Lanarkshire. He was born 
at Mellerstain, on the 3rd November, 1804 ; his mother 
was the youngest daughter of Sir James Pringle, Bart., of 
Stichill. Baillie of Jerviswoode, who died on the scaffold 
in 1683 for his share in Monmouth's rebellion, was an 
ancestor. Charles was educated for the law, and was 



6a ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

admitted as an advocate at the Scottish bar in 1830. He 
was one of ten children, his elder brother George succeed- 
ing his cousin as tenth Earl of Haddington. On the 37th 
December, 1831, he married the Hon. Anne Scott, third 
daughter of the fourth Lord Polwarth.^ Charles Baillie 
filled the post of Advocate -Depute, from 1844 to 1846, 
under the Ministry of Sir Robert Peel, and, for the second 
time, under the Earl of Derby, in 1852. In 1858, he was 
appointed Solicitor -General for Scotland, and, soon after- 
wards. Lord Advocate, an office which entailed a seat in 
the HovLse of Commons. He was accordingly returned, 
without opposition, for Linlithgow, on 7th February, 1859. 
A further elevation awaited Mr Baillie. On the 15th of 
April following, be was made a Judge of the Court of 
Session, where he sat, with the courtesy title of Lord 
Jerviswoode, for a period of fifteen years. He was elected 
a member of the Club on 28th September, 1836. For 
many years he was president of the Edinburgh Border 
Counties Association, and in that capacity took an active 
part in the celebration of the centenary of Sir Walter 
Scott. In 1874, Lord Jerviswoode retired from the bench 
on a pension, and also from public Ufe. He resided at 
Dryburgh House^ near St Boswells. Here he spent his 
remaining days in quiet seclusion, and died there on the 
23rd July, 1879. 

BAIRD. 

Alexander Baird, the founder of this family, was, as a 
young man, almost exclusively a farmer and miller until 
1809, when he made his first commercial venture by leasing 
the Woodside coal works, near Dalserf. He added in 1816 
the coalfield of RochsoUoch, near Airdrie, and in 1822 that of 
Merry ston. In May 1826 Alexander Baird, then of Lock- 
wood, in conjunction with his sons, obtained a lease from Mr 
Hamilton Colt of Gartsherrie of the coalfields of Sunnyside, 

1 Vide Lord Polwarth. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 63 

Hollandhirst, and New Gartsberrie. This family, advancing 
in wealth and importance, became in the year 1828 iron 
masters as well as coal owners by acquiring a forty years' 
lease of the ironstone on the lands of Cairnhill. They after- 
wards erected blast furnaces, the first of which was put in 
blast on May the 4th, 1830. This year Alexander Baird, 
the head of the firm, retired from business, his sons forming 
a partnership under the title of William Baird & Co. 

Alexander Baird married Jean, daughter of James Moffat 
of Whitburn, about the year 1795, and she was the mother 
of eight sons. These brothers invested their revenues in 
the purchase of land, and the estates acquired by the family 
in the course of their career represented in round numbers 
the sum of ;^2,ooo,ooo. Alexander Baird died at New- 
mains in 1833. 

I. William Baird, who was born in 1796, succeeded his 
father, and became owner of the valuable estate of Elie, in 
Fife. He died in 1864. 

II. John Baird of Lock wood, county of Lanark, suc- 
ceeded to Urie at the death of his brother Alexander. He 
was born in 1798, and died in 1870. 

III. Alexander Baird, born 1799, purchased Urie, which 
belonged to the celebrated Captain Barclay. He died in 
1862. 

IV. James Baird of Auchmedden and Cambusdoon, the 
benefactor of the Church of Scotland, died in 1876. He 
succeeded to Auchmedden on the death of his brother 
Robert. 

V. Robert Baird, born 1806, died 1856. 

VI. Douglas Baird of Closeburn, born 1808, and died in 
1854. ^^ ^^f^ ^^o daughters — ^Jane Isabella, who married, in 
1869, Frederick Ernest Villiers, son of the Bishop of Durham, 
and Charlotte Marion. She married the same year Viscount 
Cole, son of the Earl of Enniskillen. 

VII. George Baird, born 1810, succeeded his brother Geo. Baird 
David to the estate of Stichill in i860. He also possessed 
Strichen, in Aberdeenshire, where he died in 1870. He 

F 



64 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

married in 1858 Cecilia, daughter of Admiral Hatton of 
Clonard, M.P., county of Wexford, and had an only child, 
George Alexander, who succeeded on the death of his father. 
The present house of Stichill was built by George Baird. 
The foundation stone was laid by Susanna, Duchess ' of 
Roxburghe, and it was completed in 1866, occupying fully 
three years in its erection. Mr Baird joined the Jedforest 
Club in 1865. 

BALD. 

J. Bald, Mr Bald was born at Carsebridge on 13th November, 

WeUs House, ^g^^^ j^^ ^^^ educated at Alloa and the High School, 

Edinburgh, and was for some time at the University there. 
In 1 83 1 he went to Liverpool, and remained there more or 
less, carrying on the business of a commission agent, until 
1863. For about fifteen years he acted as Swedish and 
Norwegian vice-consul in the city, resigning the appoint- 
ment shortly before leaving Liverpool. 

In 1840, at Stockholm, he married a Swedish lady of 
great personal attraction, by whom he had eight children. 
She died in 1856 at Edinburgh. In i860 he married, 
secondly, at Walton - on - the - Hill, near Liverpool, Miss 
Campbell, by whom he had seven children. 

In the year 1865 Mr Bald, having retired from business, 
acquired a lease of Wells House, in the parish of Hob- 
kirk, and in the beautiful valley of the Rule he resided 
for eleven years. His hospitality and that of Mrs Bald 
was unbounded, and their kindness to the sick and poor 
of the district will long be remembered. 

A short time before his death he purchased a freehold 
estate in the county of Kent, near Tunbridge, of which he 
obtained possession in January 1885. 

Several of his sons entered the army. Reinhold Baker 
Bald, a son of the first marriage, joined the 44th Regi- 
ment, now "The Essex,*' and eventually became lieut.- 
colonel. He is now a colonel, retired. Alfred, the eldest 
son by the second marriage, was for some years an officer in 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 65 

the Black Watch ; and Ernest, who is now a lieutenant 
in ihe 15th (King's) Hussars. His eldest surviving daugh- 
ter is Lady Dormer. Mr Bald was a liberal in politics, 
and when residing at Wells interested himself in local 
matters. He left a large fortune, his personal estate being 
upwards of ;^35o,ooo. 

BALFOUR. 

The Balfours of Newton Don are descended from the 
Balbirnie family. Peter Balfour, living in the reign of 
Robert H., King of Scotland, married Eva Sibbald, 
•daughter of Sir Thomas Sibbald of Balgonie, and got 
with her the lands of Dovan (charter at Balgonie undated). 
The family were in possession of Dovan (or Devon, as 
it is now called) for a very long period. They also 
acquired the lands of Lawlethan at the close of the 
fifteenth century. Martin Balfour, great-grandson of John 
Balfour, was served heir to his grandfather in the lands of 
Dovan in 1596. He parted with the estate of Dovan, and 
retained Lawlethan. Martin Balfour's eldest son, Dr 
David Balfour, succeeded to Lawlethan, and his second 
son, George Balfour, purchased Balbirnie in 1642. 

George Balfour of Balbirnie had three sons — Robert, 
David, and Alexander. On the death of Dr David Bal- 
four, the Lawlethan estate went first to David, and at 
his death to Alexander, who died in 1692, in debt; and the 
•estate was seized by his creditors. 

• Robert, the eldest son of George Balfour, inherited Bal- 
birnie, and his son George bought back into the family 
Lawlethan, in 1716. John Balfour of Balbirnie, born in 
1738, had two sons — Robert, his heir; and James, ancestor 
of Balfour of Whittinghame and the Newton Don family. 
Robert, born 1762, entered the army and got his com- 
mission in the looth regiment of Foot in 1790, and was 
promoted to the rank of captain in the following year. 
When the Scots Greys were augmented to nine troops in 
1793 for the Duke of York's campaign, Robert Balfour was 



66 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

transferred to them. He got command of the regiment in 
1805, and eventually became a general officer. 

James Balfour, younger brother of the general, was born 
in 1773. He proceeded to India in 1793 in the Madras 
Civil Service. In 1800 he filled the appointment of deputy 
commercial resident at the Presidency, when he returned 
home. In 1802 he went back to India, where he remained 
ten years and made a considerable fortune. In 1815 he 
married Lady Eleanor Maitland, daughter of James, eighth 
Earl of Lauderdale. He bought the beautiful estate of 
Whittinghame, in 181 7, from Mr Hay of Drumelzier, on 
which he built a mansion-house, and laid out the grounds 
in a style and taste peculiar to himself. He spared no 
expense to adorn what nature had already done so much to 
beautify, and thereby gave constant employment to the 
labouring classes. Mr Balfour has added to the lands of 
Whittinghame by the purchase of Paple Garvald and a 
portion of the Hailes. Land seemed to be his favourite 
investment, as at different times he purchased the estate of 
Blackcastle in East Lothian, Prendergast and Butterdean 
in Berwickshire, Balgonie in Fifeshire, and Strathconan 
in Ross-shire — so that for land alone he must have paid 
about ;f 700,000, and died, without doubt, one of the 
wealthiest commoners of Scotland. His death took place 
after a long illness in 1845, and he left, with other issue, 

J. M. Balfour Jambs Maitland Balfour of Whittinghame, born 1820, 
hl^****°^' w^s M.P. for the Haddington burghs from 1841 to 1847; 
the only conservative they ever returned. Hence his con- 
nexion with Jedburgh and the Jedforest Club, which he 
joined in 1841. He was a keen deer stalker, and the longest 
and most fatiguing day on the hills was never too long for 
him. With the Duke of Buccleuch's and Lord Wemyss* 
hounds he was well known. He reorganised the East 
Lothian and Berwickshire yeomanry, which he commanded 
till his death, and spent a great deal of money in pro- 
moting its efficiency. The non-commissioned officers and 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 67 

men raised a monument to his memory, as a mark of their 
esteem, on Blackieheugh. Mr Balfour's constitution was 
not equal to the energy of his character. His health gave 
way, and he fell into a consumption, dying in Madeira in 
1856, at the early age of 36 years. He married Lady 
Blanche Cecil, sister of the present Marquess of Salisbury, 
and was father of the Right Hon. Arthur James Balfour, 
M.P., First Lord of the Treasury and leader of the 
House of Commons, and now of Whittinghame. 

Charles Balfour of Newton Don, second son of James 
Balfour of Whittinghame, married, first, in i860, Hon. 
Adelaide Barrington, daughter of the sixth Viscount Bar- 
rington, which lady died in 1862, leaving one child, Charles 
Barrington Balfour— of whom presently. He married, second, 
in 1865, Minnie Georgiana, daughter of Colonel Hon. G. 
A. F. Liddell, and died in 1872, leaving a daughter by her, 
Julian Eleanor, who married Lord Folkestone. When his 
father died, his intention was to rebuild Balgonie Castle with 
money left for that purpose, or for purchasing a home else- 
where) ; but at the time (1847) when the plans were being 
prepared, Newton Don was in the market, and he bought 
it, and settled there with his mother. Lady Eleanor. He 
served in the Grenadier Guards, which he entered from Eton 
in 1840, and resigned his commission on his father's death in 
1846. He, like his elder brother, was a keen sportsman. 
He fished in Norway with Bromley Davenport (the author 
of Sport), and stalked at Strathconan with his brother. W^ith 
the Duke's hounds he was quite at home; a hard rider, 
well mounted, and plenty of nerve, he was always well to 
the front. Old Williamson, the huntsman, was somewhat 
jealous of him, and in his broad Scotch and dry humour 
would crack a joke at his expense when he thought Mr 
Balfour was riding too near the hounds. He and his 
brother were of much the same temperament. Over exer- 
tion and exposure ruined his health also, and he died at 
the age of forty-nine, in 1872, at Holly Grove, Windsor 
Park, and is buried at St Peter's, Old Windsor. 



68 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

C. B. Balfour Charles Barrington Balfour of Newton Don succeeded 
Don*^*°° on the death of his father. In 1870 he went to a preparatory 
school near Slough, where he was educated for five years 
and prepared for Eton, which he entered in 1875. He 
passed second into the Royal Military College, Sandhurst, 
in 1880, and passed out of that institution third of all com- 
petitors. Mr Balfour was gazetted to the Scots Guards, and 
joined in Dublin at the close of the year 1881. He served 
with his regiment in Egypt, and was present at the battle of 
Tel-el- Kebir in 1882, for which he obtained the medal and 
clasp and Khedive's star. Owing to the sudden death of 
Sir George Douglas of Springwood Park, the conservative 
party invited Mr Balfour to contest the county, an invitation 
which he accepted, and met with a measure of success ; but 
the Hon. Arthur Elliot was returned. In 1886, when Mr 
Gladstone allied himself with the Irish nationalists, to assist a 
policy of home rule for Ireland, Mr Elliot was among the first 
who foresaw the disaster which must attend such a system 
of administration. At the election of 1886 Mr Balfour, to 
show his approval of Mr Elliot's opinions, came over from 
Dublin, where he was quartered, to support his former op- 
ponent and help to return him to Parliament. Mr Balfour 
obtained six months' leave to travel, and visited Australia 
and New Zealand, returning home the following year. In 
1888 he married Lady Nina McDonnell, youngest daughter 
of the late Earl of Antrim. There are three sons of this 
marriage — Charles, born 1889; Duncan, born in 1891; and 
John in 1894. 

Mr Balfour was elected to the Berwickshire county coun- 
cil, for N en thorn and Hume, in 1890, and was re-elected 
without opposition in 1892. He is a justice of the peace for 
Roxburghshire and Berwickshire, and a deputy lieutenant 
for the latter county. The old family place and house of 
Balfour, which passed out of the family in 1370 to the 
family of Bethune, during whose possession it was the 
birthplace of Cardinal Bethune, has been acquired by Mr 
Balfour by purchase. He became a member of the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 69 

Jedforest Club in 1888, the year of his marriage. That year 
he was presented with a beautiful bracket clock, elaborately 
ornamented with silver from the mines of the Duke of Buc- 
cleuch at Wanlockhead, by about five hundred conservative 
friends in the county. The presentation took place shortly 
after his marriage in the Town Hall, Kelso, and on a silver 
scroll is the following inscription: — << Presented to Charles 
Harrington Balfour, Esq., Scots Guards, of Newton Don, 
by a number of his conservative friends in Roxburghshire, 
on the occasion of his marriage. — 12th April, 1888." 

BECKWITH. 

Lieut.-General Sir Thomas Sidney Beckwith, K.C.B., Lieut.-Gen. 
was the third son of Major-General John Beckwith, who Beckwith."^^ 
commanded the 20th Foot at the battle of Minden, and 
four of whose sons became distinguished general officers. 
Sir Thomas first obtained a commission in the 71st Regi- 
ment, and was promoted to the rank of lieutenant, 2nd 
February, 1791. He at once proceeded to India, and was 
fortunate enough to find Lieut. -Colonel Baird in command 
of the 71st, and under him learned the science of war. 
With the regiment, he was present at the first siege of 
Seringapatam in 1792, at the capture of Pondicherry, and 
during the operations in Ceylon in 1795. He was promo- 
ted to captain, and returned home with the 71st in 1798. 
In 1800 he volunteered for service with Manningham's new 
rifie corps (now the rifie brigade), and as a captain in 
this corps was present at Copenhagen in 1801. In this 
celebrated naval battle the 49th Foot and Beckwith's com- 
pany of rifles fought as marines, very much to the satis- 
faction of the great naval commander. Lord Nelson, in his 
dispatch, says: — '*The Honourable Colonel Stewart and 
every officer and soldier under his command shared with 
pleasure the toils and dangers of the day." In 1802 Major 
Beckwith of the rifie corps married Clementine, daughter 
of Thomas Loughnan of Great Russell Street, London. 
During 1805 the corps was formed into two battalions, 



70 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

which were stationed at Brabourn Lees. It was here that 
a singular instance of self-control and magnanimity was 
shown by Sidney Beckwith, then commanding the ist 
battalion. Some men, volunteers from the Irish militia, 
meeting Mrs Beckwith with her child and nurse on the 
Ashford Road, most grossly insulted them. The cul- 
prits were discovered, but not punished; for Colonel Beck- 
with next day on parade, forming the battalion into square, 
addressed them, and after relating the outrage, added — 
'' Although I know who the ruffians are, I will not proceed 
any further in the business, because it was my own wife 
whom they attacked; but had it been the wife of the 
meanest soldier of the regiment, I solemnly declare, I would 
have given the offenders every lash to which a court- 
martial might have sentenced them." It is no wonder that 
by such acts of generosity, as well as by his leading them 
in the field, this man won the heart of every soldier in the 
battalion. 

At the battle of Sabugal, in the Peninsular war, Colonel 
Beckwith greatly distinguished himself. In the heat of the 
battle, as the riflemen were driving the enemy's skirmish- 
ers through a chestnut wood, a man of the ist battalion, 
of the name of Flinn, was aiming at a Frenchman, when 
a hare started out of the fern with which the hill was 
covered. Flinn, leaving the Frenchman, covered the haire, 
and fired and killed his game. On the officer of his com- 
pany remonstrating with him, his reply was : *' Ah, your 
honour, sure we can kill a Frenchman any day of the 
week, but it isn't always we can bag a hare for supper." 
In this battle Beckwith was wounded in the head, and his 
horse was shot from under him. In his despatch, Welling- 
ton says: "Nothing could be more daring, or more 
characteristic of British courage, than the way in which 
Beckwith, with a handful of men, withstood and thrice 
repulsed a whole corps d*arm6e placed in a strong posi- 
tion.'* At the close of the war in 1874, Colonel Beckwith 
was made one of the first Knight Companions of the Order 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 71 

of the Bath, and was promoted to the rank of major- 
general. He also received the gold medal for the battle 
of Vimiera, with clasps for Corunna and Busaco, having 
commanded his regiment in these engagements. In 1827 
he returned to his old corps, as colonel-commandant of 
the rifle brigade. The following year the General met 
with a sad bereavement, his only son, Thomas Sidney 
Beckwith, captain in the rifle brigade, died at Gibraltar, 
2ist March, 1828. Towards the end of his career he was 
made commander-in-chief at Bombay, and died 19th 
January, 1 831, at the Mahabuleshwar hills, of fever, at the 
age of 58. 

The Beckwitbs are an old Yorkshire family. Sir Roger 
Beckwith bought the estate of Aldborough Manor and 
Nutwithcote, near Masham, at the end of the i6th century. 
One of the family who had got into difliculties sold it in 
1743 to the Huttons. A portrait of Sir Roger Beckwith 
still hangs in Aldborough Hall. 

Sir Sidney Beckwith resided for a short time in Rox- 
burghshire, at which period (1826) he became a member 
of the Jedforest Club. 

BELL. 

Anderson, in his *' Scottish Nation," claims Bell as a 
Border name. On the estate of Kirkconnell was a fortified 
building called " Bell's Tour," or Bell Castle. The Bells of 
Middlebie were well known in Border warfare, as is proved 
by the number of ** peels" which at one time belonged to 
lairds of the name of Bell. Dr Benjamin Bell sold the 
estate of Blacket House, Dumfriesshire, when quite a young 
man, to provide means to educate his numerous brothers 
and sisters. 

Dr Bell of Hunthill was an eminent surgeon ; he was 
author of the "System of Surgery" and other medical works, 
and one of the directors of the British Linen Company. He 
married Grizel, only daughter of Professor the Rev. Robert 
Hamilton, D.D., by Jean, daughter of John Hay of 



72 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Haystoun, Peeblesshire. Dr Bell died at his house at 
Newington, near Edinburgh, on the 4th April, 1806, leaving 
four sons — George, Robert, William, and Joseph. George, 
the eldest, married Isabella, eldest daughter of Colonel 
Andrew Ross.^ 

Robert Bell, Robert Bell, the second son, became an advocate. He 

sheriff nf 

Berwickshire ^^^ ^^"^ ^° 1782, and called to the Scottish bar in 1804. 

Mr Bell married Eleanora Jane, third daughter of Colonel 
Andrew Ross of the 31st Foot, and by her (she died in 1832) 
he had a son and a daughter. Through life he was a man of 
much activity, both of body and mind. He was appointed 
sheriff of the county of Berwick, and for many years filled 
the post of procurator for the Established Church of 
Scotland. Mr Bell was a member of the Bannatyne, 
Maitland, and Abbotsford literary clubs, and also a member 
of the Jedforest Club, which he joined in September 1813. 
** An Account of the Siege of Edinburgh Castle in 1689 *' 
was the title of an historical paper which he read before the 
members of a literary society. 



William 
Bell. W.S. 



David 
Blount. 



William Bell, W.S., third son of Dr Benjamin Bell, was 
born in 1783. He passed as a writer to the signet in 1807, 
and was for some time crown agent during Lord Melbourne's 
administration. He married, at Glendoick, in September, 
1809, Margaret Jane, youngest daughter of the late John 
Craigie of Glendoick. Mr Bell joined the Jedforest Club the 
same year as his elder brother Robert. He resided for some 
time at Hunthill, the estate being left by their father to his 
four sons. He died June 19th, 1849. 

BLOUNT. 

David Blount was the quartermaster of the ist regi- 
ment of local militia. This corps had .its headquarters in 
Jedburgh, and Mr Blount, being on the permanent staff, lived 
in the neighbourhood. He was made an honorary member 
of the Jedforest Club at its commencement in 1810. 



^ Vi(U Ross Biography. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 73 

BRACK - BOYD. 

Adam Boyd purchased the estate of Cherrytrees from a 
son of Patrick Murray, late Sheriff of Roxburghshire. The 
small estate of Thirlestane adjoining, which for generations 
had been owned by a family of the name of Scott, but 
had passed into the possession of a Mr George Walker, 
was bought by a Mr Brack. The dates of these purchases 
are not mentioned, but among the list of subscribers to the 
Kelso Bridge fund, dated nth December, 1799, Mr Boyd 
of Cherrytrees is named for a subscription of ;^ioo, and in 
the same list Mr John Boyd, Roxburgh, is mentioned as 
giving £^0. At Michaelmas head court, Jedburgh, 1812, 
Richard Brack of Thirlestane is named as being present. 
After the purchase of Cherrytrees,^ Adam Boyd entailed 
the estate ; and when he died, his nephew, Adam Brack, 
succeeded, taking the additional surname of Boyd. Adam 
had a brother, Richard, who owned Thirlestane, and at his 
death, in 1823, he succeeded also to this estate. Vide 
Expede, 23rd April, 1833: "Adam Brack-Boyd of Cherry- 
tfees served himself heir to his brother, Richard Brack 
of Girnick, in the lands of Thirlesta*ne and others [in 
non-entry since the death of his brother, 5th of March, 
1823]." 

Adam Brack -Boyd of Cherrytrees married Jessie, eldest John 
daughter of the late James Brunton of Lugton Bridge-end, of Cherry- 
at George Square, Edinburgh, on the i6th January, 1818. ^^^^^' 
At the close of the same year was born John Brack-Boyd, 
now of Cherrytrees, who succeeded his father, Adam 
Brack-Boyd, in 1862. Mr Boyd that year joined the Jed- 
forest Club. He is unmarried. 



^In the county valuation roll of 181 1, it appears that Cherrytrees 
was then the property of George Murray, and Thirlestane belonged to 
George Walker and George Douglas. This must be a mistake. 

William Kerr of Cherrytrees and Newton, in the parish of Bedrule, 
sold Cherrytrees in 1691 to James Murray. Lady Cherrytrees was 
daughter and co-heir of Colonel William Kerr of Newton. 



74 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William WiLLiAM Brack-Boyd, youngest son of Adam Brack- 

o/paldonside Boyd of Cherry trees, married, in 1862, Elizabeth Bell, 

only daughter of James Wilsoo of Otterburn and Buchtrig, 
who succeeded as one of two co-heiresses to the estate of 
Faldonside, in the county of Roxburgh, upon the death 
of Nicol Milne of Faldonside, her maternal uncle. Mr 
William B.-Boyd is well known as an eminent botanist, and 
has occupied the position of president of the Botanical 
Society of Edinburgh. In the year 1879, Mr William B.- 
Boyd was admitted a member of the Club. His eldest 
son, who succeeded to Otterburn, held a commission for 
some years in a cavalry regiment. 

BRIGGS. 

Colonel John Coloncl JoHN Patrick Briggs, F.R.G.S., second son 
Briggs. ^^ Colonel J. F. Briggs of Strathairly, county of Fife, 

was born in 1825. He went to India as a cadet and joined 
the 40th Bengal Native Infantry in 1842. When the second 
Burmese war took place in 1852, he was ordered there, and 
was a deputy commissioner in British Burmah for several 
years. He retired on full pay as lieut. -colonel. For a 
year or two he was tenant in Linthill, the property of 
William Currie ; afterwards he took Bonjedward and resided 
there for several years. He was an ardent sportsman, and a 
good shot. When hunting with the Duke of Buccleuch's 
hounds the colonel met with a most severe accident ; his 
horse, when at full gallop, came to grief, falling on him and 
smashing his ankle and leg in many places. Dr Jeffrey of 
Jedburgh with much skill saved his leg, but he never walked 
perfectly sound afterwards, as a portion of his heel had to be 
removed. He married twice: first, a daughter of A. Lament 
of Knockdow, Argyllshire ; secondly, Louisa, daughter of 
Captain Briggs, Royal Navy — she died in 1885. Colonel 
^nggs received the war medal for Burmah ; was a justice of 
the peace for Roxburghshire; and the author of ** Heathen 
and Holy Lands," published in 1859. He was popular with 
the county people, and became a member of the Club in 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 75 

1866. He left Roxburghshire on account of Mrs Briggs' 
health, and took a place in Hampshire, called Wolverdene, 
near Andover, where he died on the 24th of September, 
1893- 

BROWN. 

AmoQg the original members of the Jedforest Club the Peter Brown 
name of Peter Brown of Rawflat occurs. He married, in ^ ^ * 
the year 1799, at Hundalee, near Jedburgh, Margaret, 
daughter of Elliot of Harwood, and died at Edgerston some- 
what suddenly. He left one surviving son, David, and four 
daughters. One of these married Dr Gavin Hilson, late 
assistant surgeon 4th Dragoons, and afterwards a medical 
practitioner in Jedburgh ; another, the second daughter, 
married James Pott, W.S., son of Gideon Pott of Dod ; the 
third was unmarried ; and the fourth and youngest, 
Margaret, married Robert Pringle, Bairnkine. She was 
born in 1817. 

David Brown, son of Peter Brown of Rawflat, was born at David Brown 
Brundeanlaws in the year 1800. He was elected a member 
of the Club in 1823, and after that farmed Hundalee. He 
was a good-natured man and a general favourite, and was 
nicknamed ** Galloping Davie," as he usually rode at a 
hand-gallop. He married three times : his first wife was a 
Miss Bedford, an Irish lady; his second. Miss Shortreede; 
and his third wife survived him. About the year 1846 he 
went to South Wales, having been appointed agent to a 
large estate near Brecon, where he died, in 1869. 

BRUCE. 

The family is descended from the Bruces of Blackball. 
John Bruce of Blackball, who died before 1760, had three 
sons — Thomas, James, and George. 

I. Thomas Bruce, Depute -Clerk of Session, bad a son, 
George, who purchased Langlee at the commencement of 
this century. Like his father, he became Depute -Clerk of 



76 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Session. He married on the 21st of April, 1783, Janet, 
daughter of Robert Wedderburn (by Rachel, a daughter of 
John Thomson of Charlton), and by her had two sons, 
Thomas and Robert. His town house at the time of his 
marriage was in the West Bow, Edinburgh. He died in 
1825. 

n. James Bruce, was a captain in the African Company, 
and married Isabella, daughter of Sir Robert Montgomery, 
Bart., of Skel, and had issue a son John, who entered the 
Royal Navy, and died unmarried. 

III. George, a major in the Dutch service, died in 
Holland. 

Thomas Thomas Bruce, who succeeded to Langlee upon his 

ofWester father's death, had a brother Robert — of whom after. 

gee. Thomas passed as a writer of the signet in 1810, and 

joined the Berwickshire yeomanry, his commission as lieu- 
tenant being dated October 20th, 181 1. He became a 
captain in December, 1825, and succeeded to the command 
of the well-known Eagle troop of that regiment, when 
his kinsman, John Spottiswoode of Spottiswoode, was pro- 
moted to the rank of major. 

Thomas was also appointed Depute -Clerk of Session in 
January, 1824, an appointment which he held until his 
death. In 1818 he was admitted to the Royal Company 
of Archers. 

He married on the 6th of March, 1828, Margaret, 
daughter of Charles Steuart, W.S., and by her had two 
sons and five daughters. After the marriage ceremony in 
Edinburgh they drove to Langlee, and on passing through 
Galashiels were greeted by a number of the inhabitants. 
A select party of Gala Water folk dined in the Bridge 
Inn, Galashiels, and the toast of the evening was '< Health 
and happiness to the newly-wedded couple." Sir Walter 
Scott called at Langlee next day, Friday the 7th March, 
to offer his congratulations, and Mr and Mrs Bruce dined 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 77 

with him at Abbotsford that evening. In December of that 
year, Mr Bruce's mother died, and Sir Walter Scott wrote 
the following letter of sympathy: — 

My dear Sir, 

Accept my sincere condolence on account of the 

death of your worthy mother, and transmit my sincere sentiments on 

the subject to your brother. Mr Robert Bruce. At how late soever a 

period this tie of existence is broken asunder, it is always the subject of 

sorrow to well constituted minds. 

I am obliged to go to Tyninghame to-morrow, and though I intend 

to return on Monday, yet. having particular business which may detain 

me late on that day, I fear it will not be in my power to attend on 

the last ceremony, for which I have to request your acceptance of this 

apology. 

1 am, with sincere regard, 

Dear Sir, 

Always your obedient and faithful servant, 

Walter Scott. 
Edin., 1 2th December, 1828. 

There was great excitement in the Border counties at the 
passing of the Reform Bill. On the 17th of August, 1832, a 
dinner party at Gala House was given, on the occasion 
of the christening of one of the family, at which some of the 
county people were present. On returning home, Mr and Mrs 
Bruce were attacked by a mob in Galashiels, and stones and 
other missiles were thrown into the carriage. Mrs Bruce was 
all but struck on the forehead by a large stone, which 
fortunately came in contact with her pearl comb. The stone 
is still preserved as a curiosity. Mr Bruce ordered the 
•carriage to be stopped; and having got out, addressed the 
mob, which so far pacified them, and no further annoyance 
was given. 

The interest Thomas Bruce took in politics is shown by 
the following conservative invitation : — 

"The electors of the county of Roxburgh resident in 
Edinburgh and their friends attached to conservative 
principles are to dine in the Waterloo Hotel upon Wednes- 
day the 9th July. Thomas Bruce of Langlee in the chair. 
Charles Baillie and Alexander Douglas, croupiers. Edin- 
burgh, ist July, 1834.*' 



78 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Mr Bruce built No. 2 Glenfinlas Street in 1826, and 
it is still the Edinburgh residence of the family. He joined 
the Jedforest Club in 1837, having been proposed by Mr 
Pringle of Whytbank, and seconded by Major Oliver. He 
died on May 25th, 1850, and is survived by his widow, who 
has attained the age of 92. His eldest son George, 
writer to the signet, was born at 2 Glenfinlas Street on 
3rd February, 1829; he sold Langlee on nth November, 
1856, for ^"23,500 to Mr Dalrymple, whose widow is now 
proprietrix. He was a director of the Edinburgh Life 
Assurance Company, John Watson*s Institution, and also 
of the Orphan Hospital, in the management of which he 
took an active interest. Like his father, he was a staunch 
conservative. He died, unmarried, 17th July, 1892. 

His second son, Charles, was born also at 2 Glenfinlas 
Street, 21st April, 1830. He married, first, on the i6th 
October, 1872, Amelia Forbes, third daughter of the late 
John Beatson Bell of Kilduncan, W.S., who died i6th 
February, 1894; ^°^» secondly, on the 15th September, 1896, 
Mary Stuart, youngest daughter of George Seton, advocate, 
formerly of St Bennets, Edinburgh. He became agent for 
the George Street branch of the Bank of Scotland, Edin- 
burgh, in December, i860, and still holds that appointment. 
The late Thomas Bruce had also five daughters. 

I now return to Robert Bruce, younger and only brother of 
Thomas Bruce of Langlee. He was bom on the 30th of 
October, 1787, and died June 29th, 1851. He was an 
advocate, and for forty years was sheriff of Argyllshire. In 
1815, after the battle of Waterloo, he, along with Mr Pringle 
of Whytbank and John Scott of Gala, accompanied Sir 
Walter Scott to Belgium, and their tour lasted for several 
months. 

They visited the field of Waterloo on August, 1815, and 
breakfasted in the room in which the Duke of Wellington 
slept before the battle. They then proceeded to the field. 
Captain Campbell, A.D.C. to General Adam, who was in 
the action, described it minutely, and showed where the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 79 

different lines were placed.* They visited Hougomont, the 
possession of which was so severely contested, and saw 
almost all the houses in ruins. A peasant's family occupied 
one. They then visited La Belle Alliance, the place where 
Blucher and the Duke met after the battle; saw John 
D'Acosta, the peasant who acted as guide to Bonaparte 
on the day of the battle, and had a good deal of conversation 
with him. The tree under which the Duke stood was 
pointed out, and it bore the mark of a cannon shot. They 
were allowed in peace and quietness to walk over the ground 
upon which, little more than a month previous, the bloody 
conflict took place which may be said to have decided 
the fate of Europe. "The contrast was particularly 
striking when we entered the garden of Hougomont and 
saw the quiet and peaceful little arbour it contained. It 
was difficult to believe that this was the place where such 
dreadful slaughter had so lately been committed." 

LEITH-BUCHANAN. 

This family came originally from the county of Aberdeen, 
and claim descent from the Leiths of Leith Hall. 

Alex. Leith obtained his majority in the Royal Artillery 
in 1759, and was killed at the battle of Havana in 1763 in 
command of the artillery. He married Anne, widow of 
John Milet, by whom he left a daughter — married to Lucius 
Ferdinando Gary, eldest son of Viscount Falkland ; and a 
son. Sir Alexander Charles George Leith, who entered the 
army, and became lieut.-colonel of the 88th Foot." He 
was created a baronet on the 21st of November, 1775, and 

* Lieutenant Robert Campbell. 7th Foot, A.D.C. to Major-General 
Frederick Adam, who showed the party over the field of Waterloo, has 
his services thus described in the "Waterloo Roll Call" by Charles 
Dalton : — " He fired the last gun at Waterloo, and the gun was a French 
one. He captured it in the sauve qui peut of the French, and turned it 
against their retreating masses." 

> The 88th Regiment was disbanded in 1785.— Vide Army Lists. 

G 



8o ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

was M.P. for Tregony, Cornwall, and died in 1780. Sir 
Alexander married Margaret, eldest daughter of Thomas 
Hay of Huntington, a senator of the College of Justice, and 
had issue. 

Sir George Alexander William Leith, second baronet, was 
a Knight of the Bath and major-general in the army. He 
married, December loth, 1798, at Calcutta, when he was 
brigade -major of the King's troops in Bengal, Albinia, 
youngest daughter of Thomas Wright Vaughan of Moulsey, 
in Surrey, and by her had two daughters, who both died 
unmarried, and two sons, Alexander and George.^ Georgina, 
one of the Miss Leiths, died March 19th, 1828, at her father's 
house, Melville Street, Edinburgh, at the age of twenty. 
George, youngest son of Major-General Sir George Leith, 
married, at St Andrews, on January 14th, 1836, Jemima 
Campbell, second daughter of George Ramsay. 

Sir George died February 2nd, 1842, and was succeeded 
by Sir Alexander Wellesley William Leith, third baronet. 
He married, in 1832, Jemima, second daughter of Hector 
Macdonald Buchanan of Ross, Dumbartonshire. By this 
marriage there were three sons, who all entered the army — 
George, James, and John. Mr Buchanan was a member of 
the Scottish bar, and contemporary and friend of Sir Walter 
Scott of Abbotsford. When Sir Walter got into difficulties, 
he assisted him, and they constantly interchanged visits at 
Abbotsford and Ross. After Sir Walter died. Hector 
Buchanan was one of the trustees of his son, who afterwards 
commanded the 15th Hussars. ''The Lady of the Lake*' 
was written at Ross, and most of the characters are local. 
Sir Alexander's sister. Flora MacDonald Buchanan, figures 
as the *' Lady of the Lake." Upon the death of Sir Alex- 
ander W. W. Leith in 1844, his eldest son succeeded him at 
the early age of nine years. 



^3oth of October, 1806, at Armagh, the Lady of Sir George Leith, 
Bart., of a son. — Vide Scots Magazine. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 8i 

Capt. Sir G. Hector Leith-Buchanan, fourth baronet, Captain Sir 
was born in 1833. He joined the 17th Lancers as comet, HectorLeith- 
July loth, 1852, and became captain, March 30th, 1855, at ^"chanan. 
the age of two-and-twenty. When quartered at Brighton, on 
the ist of March, 1856, he married Ella Maria, eldest 
daughter of David Barclay Chapman of Roehampton, Surrey. 
She died February loth, 1857. Sir George married, in 1861, 
Eliza Caroline, only child of Thomas Tod of Drygrange, and 
has a large family. Sir George served through the latter 
part of the Indian Mutiny, for which he obtained a medal. 
When he retired from the army, he almost entirely devoted 
himself to shooting, and was one of the best pigeon shots at 
Hurlingham and the Gun Club. He lives chiefly at Ross, 
and usually resides during the winter in Edinburgh. He 
succeeded to Drygrange on the death of Mr Tod, in 
January, 1867, and hved there for some years. It was then 
Sir George joined the Jedforest Club (30th April, 1869). 
He was proposed by Captain Cleghorn of Weens, and 
seconded by Sir Walter Elliot of Wolfelee. Upon the death 
of his mother in 1877, he assumed the name of Buchanan in 
conjunction with his own, on his succession to the estate 
of Ross. He sold Drygrange to Edward Sprot, who pulled 
<lown the old house and built in its place a large mansion 
of imposing appearance. 



82 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Lord 

Stratheden 
and 
Campbell. 



CHAPTER IV. 

STRATHEDEN AND CAMPBELL. 

T Tallyburton George Campbell, who succeeded his 
^ ^ brother as third baron in 1893, was the second son 
of Lord Campbell. He was born in 1829; entered the 
Bengal Civil Service in 1849, and retired in 1855. On 
his return to England, he became Secretary of Commis- 
sioners in the Court of Chancery, and afterwards a Master 
of the Supreme Court of Judicature. He was also lieut.- 
colonel of the Middlesex volunteers. In the year 1865 
he married Louisa Mary, eldest daughter of Alexander 
J. B. Beresford Hope, Bart., of Bedgebury Park, one of the 
M.P.'s for Kent, and of Lady Mildred Cecil. His family 
consists of three sons and one daughter : — Hon. John 
Beresford— of whom presently ; Hon. Cecil Arthur, born 
in 1869; Hon. Kenneth Hallyburton, 1871 ; Hon. Mildred 
Louisa. 

Lord Stratheden and Campbell became a member of the 
Club in 1895. 

The first Lord Campbell (Lord High Chancellor of 
England) — the present peer's father — married the Hon. 
Mary Elizabeth Scarlett, daughter of Lord Abinger (who 
was created by William IV. Baroness Stratheden in 1836), 
and in 1841 this distinguished lawyer was created Baron 
Campbell of St Andrews. 

His Lordship purchased the estate of Stewartfield from 
Mr Miller in 1845, and changed its designation to Hartrigge 
— a name which it' had borne during part of the seventeenth 
century. The first recorded owner of the estate was Andrew 
Kirktoune, who is mentioned as having been in possession 
from 1614 to 1640. After this the estate seems to have 
fallen to Francis Scott of Mangertoun. The next account 
we have is of Captain James Stewart of Stewartfield, who 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 83 

died in 1704, and was succeeded by John Stewart, then a 
captain, and afterwards lieutenant - colonel. This officer 
was killed in a fracas with Sir Gilbert Elliot^ at Jedburgh. 
Colonel Stewart had an only son, John, who was served heir 
to his father in 1730. A family of Davidson next became 
the owners of Stewartiield, and from them it passed to Mr 
Miller, who was related to the Davidsons by marriage. In 
1704 it is described as "the Barony of Stewartfield:" It 
was Lord Campbell who had the old house pulled down and 
the present mansion built. Jedburgh was flattered when his 
Lordship came to live in the district ; and in 1850, when he 
succeeded Lord Denman as Lord Chief Justice of the Court 
of Queen's Bench, the Provost and Town Council of Jed- 
burgh unanimously conferred upon him the freedom of their 
ancient burgh, 

Hon. John Beresford Campbell was born in 1866. He Capt. Hon. j. 
is a captain in the Coldstream Guards, and married, in 1895, coldstr^m ' 
the Hon. Alice Susan Hamilton, second daughter of Lord Guards. 
Hamilton of Dalzell. He was elected a member of the Club 
in 1894. 

CHISHOLME. 

The history of this family commenced with William 
Chisholme, who married Margaret, daughter of James 
Balderstone, and had two sons, William and Robert, born 
respectively in 1652 and 1653. 

Robert became sheriff-clerk of Selkirk, and founded the 
family of Chisholme of Selkirk. He, along with his brother 
William, who acquired Stirches or Stirkshaws, bought the 
lands of Philip, Rouchope, and Braidlee in 1684. William's 
marriage is not traced, but he had two sons — Walter, the 
eldest, who succeeded him, and William, who eventually 
succeeded his brother. Walter died unmarried. 

William Chisholme of Stirches married Anne, daughter 
of Thomas Rutherfurd of Knowesouth, and had a son, John, 



^ Vtde chapter on Jedbargh. 



84 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

and a daughter, Mary. The latter child was born in 1684, 
and married to William Oliver of Dinlabyre/ on the 5th 
October, 1708. 

John Chisholme of Stirches purchased from his cousin 
his share in the lands of Philip, Rouchope, and Braidlee, 
in 17 1 3. John, during his mother's lifetime, lived at 
Braidlee, and it was here his wife died, in 1728. In 1736 
old Mrs Chisholme died, aged 83. John then left Braidlee 
and lived at Stirches. In the same year (1736) his eldest 
son, John, married Margaret, eldest daughter of Alexander 
Scott of Sinton.* The newly married couple lived for a 
time in the old tower of Stirches, and the father returned 
to Braidlee. In 1745 a party of Highlanders, on their 
retreat to the north, visited Stirches. Mr Chisholme having, 
it is said, a leaning towards the Stuart cause, treated 
them exceedingly well ; for which hospitality they repaid 
him by driving off all his cattle. He died at Stirches in 
1755, at an advanced age. 

John Chisholme of Stirches, who succeeded his father, 
was born in 1712, and died in 1794, aged 82. His wife 
predeceased him by two years. They are both buried in 
the family vault at Wilton. He left four sons — John, born 
in 1737, a captain in the 79th Regiment, and A.D. C. to 
General Draper in India ; served at the defence of Madras 
in 1759, and died at Arcot, of fever, in 1761. Alexander 
died young; Gilbert, the third son, born in 1743, succeeded; 
William, born in 1749, obtained a commission as ensign 
in the 51st Regiment in 1778, and was at the capture of 
Minorca; he served also during the American War of In- 
dependence. He married Maria, only daughter of Captain 
Charles Eddington, after which he retired with the rank of 
captain. He died at Sheffield in 1823. 

Gilbert Chisholme of Stirches married in 1768 at Posso, 
the seat of Sir James Nasmyth, Christina, second daughter 
of Michael Anderson of Tushilaw. Gilbert, on the death 

» Vide Oliver of Dinlabyre. « Vide Scott of Sinton. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 85 

of his brother John in 1761, returned from college, and on 
attaining his majority, went to London, and there led a 
fashionable life. The acquirement of expensive habits and 
tastes eventually proved injurious to his fortune. After his 
marriage, which took place in his 24th year, he lived 
chiefly at Stirches in a very extravagant manner. With the 
consent of his father, he sold a portion of his estate to 
William Chisholme, son of Dr Chisholme of Selkirk.^ In 
1798 Mr Chisholme raised the Hawick volunteers, which 
checked the lawless spirit in the district— one of the results 
of the French revolution. In 1800 Mrs Chisholme* died, 
leaving no children. In her latter years, she was not less 
beloved for her acts of benevolence than she had been 
admired in early life for grace and beauty. There is a 
pleasing and characteristic incident recorded of her: when 
riding one day with her husband from Tushilaw to Stirches, 
a balloon appeared on the horizon. As it approached, the 
aeronaut, the celebrated Lunardi, threw out his grappling 
irons, which, catching among some strong furze, held the 
balloon. Mrs Chisholme expressed a wish to ascend; and 
as the gas was not expended, Lunardi, delighted with her 
pluck and spirit, handed her into the car. The balloon 
rose, and the wind being favourable, the venturesome lady 
made a voyage of several miles, and safely descended at 
Redford Green, where, with the assistance of the tenant 
and his servants, the balloon was secured. Lunardi accom- 
panied his fair voyager to Stirches, where her anxious 
husband awaited her return. There is another anecdote of 
her as a young girl, before she married. She was on a 
visit to some friends in Edinburgh, who resided above the 
flat occupied by the eccentric Lord Monboddo. The young 

^ At Edinburgh, June 28, 1781. Robert Scott of Coldhouse, minister of 
Innerleithen, to Margaret, daughter of the late Dr Thomas Chisholme of 
Selkirk. 

* Judging from a half-length portrait of Mrs Chisholme in the dining- 
room at Stirches, she must have been a very beautiful woman. In the 
same room is a portrait of Gilbert Chisholme, evidently by the same 
artist. 



86 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

ladies of the family had remarked that his Lordship, after 
being dressed for the court, usually popped his head out 
of a certain window to note the weather. One of the 
young ladies had a pet kitten, round which Miss Anderson 
tied a long blue riband; and next morning, when his Lord- 
ship looked out of the window she lowered the kitten by 
the riband, gently, on his large powdered wig, into which 
it fastened its claws. To the amazement of his Lordship, 
the symbol of judicial wisdom slowly ascended and dis- 
appeared, he knew not how. No one enjoyed the jest 
more than Lord Monboddo, when it was subsequently 
made plain to him, and the young lady became an es- 
pecial favourite. 

The Hawick volunteers having been disbanded, Mr Chis- 
holme, at the request of Government, re-en>bodied them 
in 1801. On Monday the 29th March, 1802, the Hawick 
volunteers fired a fm^de-joie^ and thereafter marched to 
Stirches, where they presented Captain Chisholme, their 
commander, with a silver cup, given him by the members 
of the corps as a mark of respect. The captain received 
the unexpected gift with much pleasure ; the company fired 
three volleys, and Captain Chisholme entertained them liber- 
ally, very much to the satisfaction of the corps. In the 
summer of the same year he married a second time, his 
wife being Elizabeth, daughter of John Scott of White- 
haugh, by whom he had two sons and two daughters. 
Gilbert Chisholme's affairs became so involved in 18 10 that 
he was obliged to sell Stirches. The purchaser was Cap- 
tain Michael Anderson, who, however, only lived four years 
to enjoy his property. By his will he bequeathed Stirches 
back again to the family, and Gilbert Chisholme was once 
more laird of that estate. He died on the 4th of December, 
1820, and was succeeded by his eldest son, John. 

John Scott John Scott Chisholme was born Oct. 23, 1 810, at Sciennes 

?s?°^h* House, near Edinburgh. He married at the Mumrills, 

Stirlingshire, on the 26th July, 1840-— the Rev. William 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 87 

Begg officiating — Margaret, eldest daughter of the late 
Robert Walker of Mumrills. In 1852 Mr Chisholme suc- 
ceeded to his maternal uncle, James Scott of Whitehaugh, 
and assumed the additional surname of Scott. Mr Chis- 
holme, when the volunteer movement began, was made 
commander of the Hawick corps. He took an active part 
in the promotion of the railway between Hawick and Car- 
lisle. He died at Stirches on January the 15th, 1868,. and 
his funeral was largely attended. The Hawick volunteers 
were present in full uniform, and marched from Stirches to 
the grave in Wilton Cemetery, where a crowd of people 
waited to receive the cortege, and to pay a last mark of 
respect to one who was so well known to the population of 
Hawick, and to whose welfare he was so much devoted. 
He left one son. Colonel John Scott Chisholme, and two 
daughters.^ 

CLEGHORN. 

The name is spelt in various ways. Between the years 
1600 and 1650, and even later, it is often written Cleggorne 
in old deeds and registers. The family is said to have 
come originally from the west of Scotland, but a group 
of families of that name was located in the parish of 
Cramond for several generations. There lived in East Dry- 
law house, in 1665, George Cleghorn, whose wife was 
Katherine Shiell. Among other issue they had a son, 
Thomas. 



^ The Chisholme of the north, vrho claims to be the head of the clan, 
takes the title of The Chisholme. The cognomen is also adopted by Chis- 
holme of the Borders and other members of the family. This rivalry has 
often caused a good deal of amusement, not unmixed with wonder to out- 
siders. This is apparent enough from extracts from the Edinburgh Adver- 
tiser: — "September 20, 1802 — At Carlisle, on his way to London, Will 
Chisholme of Chisholme." A short time afterwards, the following notice 
appeared in the same newspaper : — ** We have much pleasure in contra- 
dicting the report of the death of W. Chisholme of Chisholme, the Head of 
the Clan. The mistake arose* from the death of William Chisholme of 
Queen Anne Street. East London. This gentleman, who was a most res- 
pectable member of society, and whose death is so much lamented, was 
always ambitious to be thought the Chief of the Clan, but we believe his 
claims to that appellation were unfounded." 



88 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Thomas Cleghorn succeeded his father in East Drylaw, 
and married, on the 20th July, 1709, Margaret Scott, and 
by her had four sons, all born in East Drylaw house: — 
Alexander, born in 1710; Walter, born in 1713; James 
— of whom presently; and Thomas, born 171 7. 

James Cleghorn, the third son, born on the 24th Feb- 
ruary, 1715, married in January, 1739, Malvina,^ daughter 
of John Angus, an eminent solicitor. By this marriage 
there were three sons and one daughter: — John, born 
December, 1736, a midshipman in the Royal Navy, 
drowned with all hands off the Mauritius; Thomas — of 
whom hereafter; Archibald, born in 1743; ^°^ Margaret. 

Thomas Cleghorn of Weens, second son of James Cleg- 
horn, was born on the ist of August, 1741. He entered 
into business with his kinsman, Alexander Home, in 1761; 
married on the 24th of March, 1778, and soon after retired 
and resided in East Lothian. His wife, Mary, was the 
eldest daughter of George Yule of Gibslees." She was born 
in Fenton tower, near North Berwick, and her grandmother 
was a daughter of Charles Scott, second son of Sir John 
Scott of Ancrum. Mr Cleghorn died in 1813, at his house, 
12 Heriot Row, Edinburgh, and is buried in St Cuth- 
bert's churchyard, east from the church. He left two sons 
— James, who inherited Weens, born in December, 1778 ; 
and George, born in 1781. 

Weens, anciently called Weyndis, belonged to a Thomas 
Turnbull, who sold it to John Scott, brother -german to 
Walter Scott in Allanmouth (charter of alienation dated in 
Jedburgh, 12th April, 1606). Weens was held by the family 
of Scott until 1744, when John Scott of Weens, with con- 
sent of Marion Elliot, his wife, disposed of it to John 
Armstrong, designed in Berryhill, in the county of Nor- 
thumberland. The trustees of John Armstrong sold Weens 

^Malvina's brother John, a Writer, married Margaret, daughter of 
Elliot of Stonedge and Howa.— Fi^^ Elliot of Stobs. 

< George Yule married Elizabeth Rose, daughter of the Rev. John 
Rose, of Udney. of the family of Kilravock. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 89 

to Adam Cleghorn, merchant in Edinburgh, in 1760. He 
was succeeded in the estate by his brother, David Cleghorn, 
in 1765, who sold it in 1767 to William Sharp, only son 
of the deceased John Sharp, tenant in Mackside. William 
Oliver of Dinlabyre was the next purchaser; he bought it 
from William Sharp in 1773. Twenty years afterwards, in 
1793, Oliver sold it to Robert Nutter Campbell of Kailzie, 
who again disposed of it, in 1796, to Admiral Thomas 
Pringle, R.N. On the death of the admiral, in 1804, 
Thomas Cleghorn became the owner. 

Captain James Cleghorn of Weens succeeded his father Capt. James, 
in 1813. He was educated at the Edinburgh university, ®^ °™* 
and in Paris. He entered the army as an ensign in the 
2ist (or Royal North British) Fusileers in 1796. He ob- 
tained his commission as captain in 1803, and retired in 
1807. Captain Cleghorn from his early youth was a great 
reader, and being thus fond of books, he eventually acquired 
a very valuable library. He resided almost entirely in 
Paris, and married there a French lady, Marie Seraphina 
Despards, but had no family. Captain Cleghorn was elected 
a member of the Jedforest Club in 181 3. When he died, at 
Paris in 1852, his library was scattered. At the time of 
his death, he was in his 75th year. 

In the year 18 15 James Cleghorn, who seldom visited 
Scotland, exchanged Weens, which then consisted of Nether 
Bonchester, Weensmoor, Town-o*-Rule, and the mill and 
mill lands of Halrule, with his brother George, who gave 
him in return other heritable property. He, after this, 
purchased the hill farm of Hawkburn, sometimes spelt 
Hagburn, in the parish of Melrose. This property he left 
to his widow for her life, and afterwards to his nephew, 
James Charles Cleghorn, 7th Madras Cavalry (second son 
of George Cleghorn), upon the death of his father. 

George Cleghorn of Weens was the second son of George 
Thomas Cleghorn of Weens, by Mary, eldest daughter weens.^" ^ 



90 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of George Yule of Gibslees. He was born in 1781, and 
was educated for the law, but never practised. In 1810 
the Hon. Gilbert Elliot, afterwards the Earl of Minto, 
became colonel of the ist regiment Roxburghshire local 
militia, and gave Mr Cleghorn the command of a company 
in his regiment (commission signed by the Duke of Buc- 
cleuch, 24th October, 1810). As a bachelor, Mr Cleghorn 
spent much time on the Continent ; Italy being the chief 
centre of attraction. There he studied the fine arts, to 
which he was enthusiastically devoted. He published a 
work in two volumes, entitled ** Strictures upon Ancient and 
Modern Art." It was perhaps too scientific to be popular, 
and was published rather to gratify his own taste and that 
of his artistic friends than that of the public. In 1813 he 
was elected a member of the Jedforest Club, but being of 
a retiring disposition, conviviality had no charms for him, 
and he soon withdrew from membership. On the 6th of 
February, 1822, at the Collegiate Church, Ripon, Mr Cleg- 
horn married Maria Catherine, third daughter of Colonel 
John Dalton (late 4th Dragoons) of Sleningford Park, Yorks, 
and Fillingham Castle, Lincolnshire. Mrs Cleghorn's eldest 
sister, Susan, married Sir James Charles Dalbiac, and their 
only child married James Henry 6th Duke of Roxburghe. 
In politics Mr Cleghorn was a liberal, and was very 
active in this advocacy during the passing of the Reform 
Bill. The erection of the National Monument of Scotland 
was a scheme in which he took the warmest interest ; he 
wrote more than one pamphlet on the subject, and sub- 
scribed liberally to the funds collected for this great national 
object. Latterly, he was elected deputy -chairman of the 
committee charged with the undertaking; but those few 
picturesque pillars on the Calton Hill serve to indicate to 
succeeding generations how far this scheme for a Scottish 
national monument proceeded. 

The family of Mr Cleghorn was as follows : — 

George, now of Weens {vide Tancred). 

James Charles — of whom presently. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 91 

Thomas Angus, born 1835, died at sea on his return 
from China in i860. 

John Dalton, born same time, married Sarah, daughter 
of Colonel Hawley, U.S.A., and has a son, Carlos, and a 
daughter, Sarah Norcliffe. 

Mary Norcliffe, married her cousin Charles Dalton, of the 
Royal Artillery, afterwards lieut. - general, and left a 
family of three : — Colonel James Cecil Dalton, Royal 
Artillery; Charles Dalton (who married his cousin Isabella 
Dalton Norcliffe), and a daughter, Maria. 

Susan, married George Mellis Douglas, and had one son, 
George Prescott Douglas, major in the " Queen's Bays.*' 

Cecilia, married Arthur Campbell of Catrine, and has 
surviving two sons, Arthur and George, and one daughter, 
Frances. 

Frances Madeline, died in Edinburgh, unmarried, in 
1870. 

Mr Cleghorn died at Weens on the 7th July, 1855, aged 
74 years, and was buried at Hobkirk churchyard. Mrs 
Cleghorn died at 4 Maitland Street, Edinburgh, in 1866, 
aged 68, and is buried at St John's, Jedburgh. 

James Charles Cleghorn of Hawkburn was born at J. Charles 
Weens in 1833. He was educated at Edinburgh and at ^ ^^^' 
Addiscombe. In 1852, he obtained a cornet's commission 
in the 7th Madras Cavalry. When the mutiny broke out 
he was at home on furlough, but at once returned to India 
and rejoined his regiment, serving with it until the mutiny 
was entirely suppressed ; then he retired from the service. 
Upon the death of his father, he succeeded to the property 
of Hawkburn, in the parish of Melrose. For several years 
he indulged his taste for travel. After visiting the four 
quarters of the globe, he felt an inclination to settle down, 
and, accordingly, on the loth of May, 1869, ^^ married, in 
Guernsey, Sarah, youngest daughter of the Rev. Thomas 
Walker, by whom ^ he has a family of one son and five 
daughters. His son, Charles Angus, is a lieutenant in the 



92 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



Royal Artillery. Mr Cleghorn joined the Jedforest Club 
in 1864. His residences are, River House, Twickenham; 
and Daneswoodi near Woburn Sands, in Bedfordshire, for 
which county he is a justice of the peace. 



J. Craigie, 
-sheriff- 
substitute. 



Colonel 
Cumming. 



CRAIGIE. 

The old family of Craigie of Kilgraston is said to have 
come originally from Orkney. Lawrence Craigie of Kil- 
graston became an advocate in 171 2, and a Baron of 
Exchequer in 1747. He married Anne, daughter of 
Drummond of Megginch, Perthshire, and had, with other 
issue, a son John, also an advocate, who succeeded to Kil- 
graston. John Craigie married his cousin Anne, daughter 
of President Craigie, and had a son Lawrence, who was 
called to the bar in 1773. Lawrence Craigie sold Kilgraston 
in 1784 to John Grant, Chief Justice in the island of Jamaica, 
in whose family it remains. 

Robert, younger brother of Lawrence Craigie, was bred 
to the law, and became a judge under the title of Lord 
Craigie in 181 1. He died, unmarried, in 1834. 

John Craigie, another brother, was for some time 
Commissary-General of Lower Canada. He married Susan 
Coffin, widow of James Grant, and had a large family. 
Their eldest son was John, who was an advocate, and 
afterwards sheriff - substitute for Roxburghshire, which 
appointment he filled for many years. He purchased 
Jedbank, and married Frances Annabella, eldest daughter of 
the Rev. W. M. Moreton, of Moreton Hall, by his second 
wife, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Rev. Henry Hutton, 
rector of Beaumont, Essex. On this marriage, Mr Craigie 
assumed the name of Moreton, in conjunction with his own. 
He joined the Club on August 31, 1836. 

CUMMING. 

Colonel Alexander Cumming served at one time in 
the 7th Bengal Native Cavalry, in which regiment he 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 93 

became major in February, 1812 ; lieut. -colonel commandant 
in May, 1825; and full colonel of the 4th Bengal light 
cavalry in June, 1829. With this rank he retired, and went 
home, renting Hunthill, near Jedburgh, after his marriage 
with Miss Mitchelson, daughter of A. Mitchelson, of 
Middleton,^ by whom he had several children. He was 
admitted a member of the Club on the 27th September, 
1833. Colonel Cumming died at Costerton on the 4th of 
April, 1836. 

CUNNINGHAM. 

The name of Cunningham is common in Ayrshire, and 
was anciently written Koningham. The Rev. Alexander 
Cunningham, M.A. St Andrews, the clergyman of Ettrick, 
founded a branch of this family in Selkirkshire. Charles 
I. presented him with the living in 1641. Mr Cunningham 
refused to conform to episcopacy in 1662, and, in conse- 
quence, lost the benefice. About this time he became 
proprietor of Hyndhope, which his eldest son inherited. 

Alexander Cunningham, second son of the minister of 
Ettrick, was born in 1654, ^"^ became a distinguished 
historical writer and diplomatist. In 1688 he accompanied 
the Prince of Orange to this country. On the accession 
of King George I. he was employed as British envoy to 
Venice, where he resided from 171 5 to 1720. Alexander 
Cunningham died in London, at the age of 83, in 1737.* 

James Cunningham was born in 1651, and succeeded to 
Hyndhope. He left issue, a son — 

Alexander Cunningham of Hyndhope, born in 1694. He 
married about 1725, and had a large family. Hyndhope, 
when sold, was purchased by Mr Mercer of Scotsbank. 

^ The estate of Middleton is in the County of Mid-Lothian and close to 
Vogrie. Colonel Cumming was half brother to Sir Henry Cumming, 
K.C.H.» and to Mrs Dewar of Vogrie. 

^ Vide Craig -Brown's ••Selkirkshire" and Anderson's ••Scottish 
Nation." The Rev. Alexander Cunningham in his will declared himself 
to be a relation of General Henry Cunningham, Governor of Jamaica, 
who was descended from the Glencairn family. 



94 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Walter, a younger brother of Alexander, was born in 1700, 
and married Agnes Elliot. He farmed Hyndhope, and 
afterwards Thirlestane, in Selkirkshire. 

The youngest son of Alexander Cunningham of Hyndhope 
was Charles, born in 1743, tenant of Newhouse. He married 
Agnes Henderson*/ and of this marriage were born Alex- 
ander in 1797, John in 1801, and Adam. 

Alexander Cunningham married Agnes Carfrae Walker^ 
and had issue, Charles John, born 21st December, 1849. 

Charles John Charles J. CUNNINGHAM was educated at the Edinburgh 
ofMuir- Academy, and afterwards with a private tutor, with the 

houselaw. view of entering the army; but the sudden death of his 

father altered these arrangements. At an early age he 
entered the hunting field, and rode well to hounds. It wa& 
in the year 1873 that, having got together a useful little stud 
of hunters, it occurred to him to try his fortune on the 
steeplechase course, and he carried out his idea. During 
his first season he had sixteen mounts, and won on eight 
occasions. Charlie Cunningham was fortunate enough to* 
obtain three horses all from one dam — the Russborough 
mare — which did him most excellent service. These three 
noted hunters, whose names will long live among north 
country sportsmen, were — Percy, a son of Hotspur ; 
Douglas, a son of Sincerity; and Merry Lass, a daughter 
of Laughing Stock. The three won no fewer than fifty-one 
races between them in sixty-eight attempts. Percy was^ 
however, his favourite. But one luckless day, at the 
Eglinton Hunt meeting, when Percy was, to all appearance,, 
cantering home an easy winner, having jumped the last 
fence, he fell dead, much to the sorrow of his popular owner, 
who could not conceal his distress on the occasion. Douglas,, 
like his stable companion, also came to grief; he fell on the 
flat at Loughborough in making too quick a turn, and broke 
his neck. Mr Cunningham's name became conspicuous ia 

^ Of the Abbotrule family. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 95 

the sporting world ; he distinguished himself not only in the 
north, but also in the far south, for Sandown and Kempton 
know him well. About ten years ago Mr Cunningham's 
score was 52 wins in 100 mounts; the following year he rode 
the same number of races, and won 49 ; and in 1886 he won 
43 races in 76 attempts — a not only unprecedented, but an 
unapproached record. He is exceptionally strong in the 
saddle, and rarely seems to find a horse that will not do as he 
is asked. Charlie Cunningham, however, is something more 
than a thorough sportsman ; he fills his station admirably as 
a county gentleman. Whether it be in the ball-room or the 
county council — in political controversy or in society — he 
commands success by his energy of character. He purchased 
Muirhouselaw from the late Mr John Ord, and has done 
much towards the improvement of the estate. He is a 
justice of the peace for the county of Roxburgh; county 
councillor for the parishes of Morebattle and Hownam ; was 
an officer in the Border Mounted Rifles until disbanded ; and 
is one of the senior members of the Jedforest Club, having 
joined it in 1879. Mr Cunningham married, in 1873, 
Margaret, daughter of the late Joseph Crossley of Halifax, 
and has a large family. 

John Cunningham married, on the 30th of April, 1839, James W. P. 
Eleanor Brodie, and had, among other issue, James W. B. 
Cunningham, born 9th October, 1846. He was tenant of 
Grahamslaw, and succeeded to the estate of Abbotrule on 
the death of David Henderson, his cousin. He married 
Julia Dinsdale, daughter of John Marshall Barwick of 
Lowhall, Yeadon. Mr Cunningham died on the 30th July, 
1891, and was buried in Southdean Churchyard. His family 
consists of Charles Alexander, now a minor, and two 
daughters. Mr Cunningham became a member of the Club 
on his succession to Abbotrule. 

CURLE. 
Alexander Curie, bom in Kelso on loth July, 1757, 
married on 27th December, 1782, Margaret, daughter of 

H 



96 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William Oifmiston, a member of the old family of Ormiston 
of Westhouses, and proprietor of certain lands in the High 
Cross of Melrose. Alexander Curie died on i6th November, 
1 815, being predeceased by his wife in 1808. They had 
several children, and their eldest son, James, was bom in 
Kelso on 29th March, 1789. He was bred to the law, and 
served his apprenticeship with Charles Erskine, of Shielfield, 
then writer in Melrose, and in a few years was taken into 
partnership with him, the firm being Erskine & Curie. In 
1 81 2 he was admitted a notary, and the certificate of his 
admission bears the signature of Sir Walter Scott, then a 
Clerk of Session. Charles Erskine held a number of public 
appointments in connection with county work; he was the 
Duke of Buccleuch*s baron bailie in Melrose, and he was 
sheriff-clerk in Selkirkshire under Sir Walter Scott. With 
Sir Walter he stood on terms of intimate relationship, 
acting for him in many of the negotiations which resulted 
in the purchase of the various portions of the Abbotsford 
estate. Upon his death in 1825 James Curie succeeded him 
in most, if not all his appointments, and in his connexion 
with Abbotsford and the Scott family, which has continued 
with his descendants. He married on 3rd June, 1816, 
Isabella, daughter of Robert Romanes, writer in Lauder, 
who was born on 22nd October, 1794, and died on 14th 
January, 1885. In the years 1835 and 1840 he succeeded to 
the lands of High Cross, Melrose, as heir to Adam Ormiston, 
his . uncle. Adam Ormiston was commonly known as 
Captain Ormiston, from his rank in the local militia or 
volunteers. He was a friend of Sir Walter Scott's, and 
appears in the introduction of " The Monastery " and ** The 
Fortunes of Nigel" under the soubriquet of Captain Clut- 
terbuck. James Curie purchased in 1833 the lands of 
Millmoimt and Gattonside Haugh; in 1836 the lands of 
Evelaw, in the parish of Westruther ; and in 1852 the lands 
of East Morriston, in the parishes of Legerwood and Gordon, 
in Berwickshire. He died on i6th September, 1861. His 
family consisted of — 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 97 

Alexander — of whom hereafter. 

James, who succeeded to Evelaw, married Marion White 
Passmore, daughter of Major William Rous Newlyn of 
the Madras Staff Corps, and has issue. 

Agnes, married Robert Don Gillon Fergusson, of Isle, 
Dumfriesshire, and has issue. 

Margaret Ormiston, deceased; married Richard Parnell, 
M.D., and had no issue. 

Isabella, deceased; married William Towers Clark of 
Wester Moffat, and left issue. 

Eliza, married (ist) James Russel of Blackbraes, Stirling- 
shire, by whom she had issue ; (2nd) George Bliss McQueen, 
late captain 6oth Rifles. 

Alexander Curie was born 2nd February, 1819. He was 
educated at the High School of Edinburgh, and the 
University there, and subsequently taken into his father's 
business. On nth September, i860, he married Christian, 
only daughter of Sir James Apderson, knight, of Blair- 
vaddick, Dumbartonshire, and who represented the Stirling 
burghs in Parliament from 1852 to 1859. On his father's 
death, Alexander Curie succeeded to East Morriston and his 
lands in Melrose, which, during his life, he added to by the 
purchase of various portions — among others, in 1875, the 
property of Priorbank, now known as Prior wood, the old 
name of the lands having been reverted to. Previous to its 
possession by the Black family, from whom Mr Curie 
purchased it, Priorwood belonged to Mr Tait, of **Tait's 
Magazine ; " before him to General Goudie, and earlier still, 
to the Riddells of Camieston. It was part of the old property 
lands of Melrose Abbey, and indeed it seems probable that 
some of the outbuildings of the Abbey stood upon the 
orchard, or garden. In digging, quantities of hewn stones 
have been found, and several large flooring tiles, one of 
which, decorated with a large /Uur de lys, is of a type well 
known in connexion with early ecclesiastical builditigs. 
He was a J. P. for Roxburgh and Berwick, and throughout 
his life took a keen interest in all matters relating to the 



98 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

county, and more particularly his native town. Alexander 
Curie died on 5th January, 1897, leaving issue, three sons 
and four daughters, viz.: — 

James — of whom hereafter. 

Robert Anderson. 

Alexander Ormiston, W.S., married, 30th June, 1898, 
Katharine Wray, second daughter of George Tancred {vide 
Tancred). 

James Curie James Curle was bom on the 27th March, 1862, 

of East •' 

Morriston. and, like his predecessors, was brought up to the study 

of the law. After completing his apprenticeship in Edin- 
burgh, he was admitted a Writer to the Signet in 1886, 
and shortly thereafter became a member of his father's 
firm. On the institution of the county council, Mr 
Curie was elected representative for Melrose, and has 
continued to represent it ever since. He is also a member 
of the parish council. Keenly interested in all matters 
relating to archaeology, he is an F.S.A. and F.S.A. Scot.; 
of the latter society being a member of the council, and 
occupying the post of Honorary Librarian. Mr Curie 
possesses parts of the lands of Melrose, of Gattonside, of 
Darnick, and of Newstead, and his titles have an interest 
in connexion with the old village life in these places. Each 
of these villages in the times of the Abbey formed a separate 
community. Under the Lords of the Regality, each village 
held its charter as a community, its lands being for the most 
part undivided, and the feu-duty payable being assessed on 
the community, and not on the individuals who composed it. 
In any matter affecting the welfare of the whole regality,, 
such as the appointment of a schoolmaster, each of the 
villages sent two representatives to confer with the baron 
bailie at Melrose. These representatives were often the 
**burleymen'* who were elected in the village to arbitrate 
in local disputes. In the charter of the lands of Newstead, 
the Pryorwood Cross formed one of the boundary marks; 
and it is probable that its site was on the field known as the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 99 

cross rig, although traditionally it is said that this field 
is burdened with the upkeep of the Mercat Cross of Melrose, 
a burden which, however, does not appear on the titles. 
Another field on Priorwood is known as the Monk's Meadow, 
from which it is supposed the abbey got the water for its 
brewhouse, as the little stream which flows from it still 
bears the name of the Tunhouse Pool Burn. Mr Curie was 
elected a member of the Jedforest Club in 1897. 

DALRYMPLE. 

Robert Dalrymple, who resided near Dysart, in the James 
county of Fife, had a son, James, whom, owing to a ofLangLe. 
mercantile connexion with India, he sent out to the East. 
In the course of time young Dalrymple was made a partner 
in the well-known Indian house of R. Watson & Co., indigo 
and silk merchants. He acquired a good fortune, and, 
returning to Scotland, purchased from Mr Bruce the 
estate of Langlee, in the neighbourhood of Galashiels. 
There he built a handsome modern house, commanding a 
good view of the surrounding country. In 1870 he was 
admitted a member of the Club, and he died in 1877. 
Mr Dalrymple married, in 1845, Christian, daughter of 
Mr Reddie of Redhouse, by whom he had two daughters, 
co-heiresses. He married a second time, in 1852, Catherine, 
daughter of James Milne of Mains, Aberdeenshire, who 
survives him, but has no children. Of the two daughters, 
the eldest died unmarried; Christian, the second daughter, 
married, in 1872, Captain Forbes Gordon of Rayne, 
Aberdeenshire, late 79th Highlanders, and by her had a 
son, Arthur Dalrymple, born in 1873. Mrs Gordon died 
the same year. Mr Dalrymple was a justice of the peace 
for Roxburghshire and Berwickshire, in which county he 
owned the estate of Greenknowe. 

DICKSON. 

Throughout Scotland, the name of Dickson has been 
long associated with forestry and horticulture. Robert 



loo ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Dickson, the founder of the family, was one of the pioneers 
of forestry, introducing the cultivation of forest trees, and 
supplying plants not only for local use, but for foreign 
export ; and to him and his descendants Roxburghshire, 
in particular, is much indebted for the fine timbered 
estates still represented in the county. I have mentioned 
in another memoir that Scott of Bonchester and Bennet 
of Chesters had previously cultivated nurseries for forest 
trees on their lands, with some success; and, apparently, 
these useful gardens originated in Roxburghshire. When 
Robert Dickson first commenced his career at Hassendean- 
burn, he was only a tenant there; he owned, however, a 
portion of Weensland, and some other property near Hawick. 
He died 20th February, 1744, and was survived by his wife 
until 17th February, 1758, when she died, aged 78. He 
was succeeded by his son — 

Archibald Dickson, born in 1718; married Christian, 
daughter of James Thomson, Midshiels. He carried on 
his father's business with energy, and was instrumental 
in extending it to other parts of Scotland. Archibald 
purchased the farm of Huntlaw, and, afterwards, Hassen- 
deanburn. His death took place in 1791, and that of 
his wife occurred at Hassendeanburn on Saturday the 
28th of November, 1799. Archibald's children were as 
follows : — 

I. Robert, who succeeded his father. 

Agnes, married Dunlop of ^yhitJnuirhall, born 1743. 

II. James of Alton, born 22nd April, 1746. 

Janet, became Mrs Clark of Flatfield, born i8th May, 
1748. 
Margaret, Mrs TurnbuU of Greenhouse, born 7th April, 

1750- 

III. William of Bellwood, born 25th June, 1753. 

IV. Archibald of Housebyres, born i8th August, 1755. 
Elizabeth, Mrs Scott of Wauchope, born 4th August, 

1757- 

V. Walter of Chatto, born 6th August, 1759. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. loi 

Christian, who became Mrs Henderson, born 15th Janu- 
ary, 1762. 

I. Robert Dickson of Huntlaw was born in 174^* ^^ 
married Beatrix, daughter of George Pott of Todrig, and, 
secondly, a daughter of Charles Scott of Wool. By his 
first marriage he had two sons and two daughters, as 
follows : — 

Archibald Dickson of Hassendeanburn, married, in a. Dickson. 
March, 1812, Hannah, daughter of Adam Stavert of Hos- ^^''^^''' 
cote (and Anne, daughter of John Brownell), and died, 
without children, at Hassendeanburn, February 22nd, 1846. 
He was elected a member of the Jedforest Club in 1813. 

George, who settled in Edinburgh and conducted the 
business in that city, married a Miss Campbell. He also 
died childless on the 3rd of October, 1825. The two 
daughters, Elizabeth and Christian, died unmarried. 

II. James Dickson of Alton, bom in 1746, married 
Christian Turnbull, and left issue — Archibald, Andrew, 
and Isabella. 

Archibald married his cousin Christian, daughter of 
Charles Scott of Wauchope. He was a banker, and died 
during his father's lifetime, at Fushiebridge, while on his 
way to Edinburgh with his wife and her maid in 181 9, 
leaving two sons, James and Charles. 

James Dickson of Alton and Pinnaclehill married Char- j. Dickson 
lotte, daughter of Captain Vigors, and widow of Mr Lodor. of Alton. 
They had no children. Mr Dickson became insane, and 
was placed in the Royal Edinburgh Asylum. He died at 
Morningside Cottage, 13th August, 1846. His Pinnaclehill 
property went to Scott of Wauchope, and Alton to the 
next heir male. He joined the Club in 1837. 

Charles, the younger son of Archibald, died unmarried. 

Andrew, younger son of James Dickson, and brother of 
Archibald, succeeded to Alton, and died unmarried. He left 
Alton to Wm. Richardson, the son of his sister, Isabella, who 
had married William Richardson, a merchant in Hawick. 



I02 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



William Richardson Dickson of Alton, born in 1806, 
assumed the additional surname of Dickson. His wife was 
Mary, a daughter of Robert Mitchell, merchant in Edin- 
burgh. He died in 1852, leaving an only son, William, 
and two daughters, Jessie and Isabella. 



William 

Richardson 

Dickson. 



William Richardson Dickson of Alton and Chisholm, 
born 5th September, 1846; married, 1873, Jessie, daughter 
of David Colville, merchant, Glasgow. He died at Chis- 
holm, 6th May, 1881, aged 34. Mr Dickson was elected a 
member of the Club in 1869. The estate of Chisholm was 
bought by his trustees during his minority. He left two 
daughters ; the eldest, Blanche Margaret, is his successor. 

Both Jessie and Isabella, sisters of the laird of Chisholm, 
were married — the former to Captain Herbert Barron, 
72nd Highlanders; and the latter, first to George Greig 
of Eccles, and afterwards to George Dove, tenant of St 
Boswells Bank. 

HI. William Dickson of Bellwood, Perth, was born in 
1753. He carried on that important branch of the business 
which extended to the Highlands of Scotland. The mag- 
nificent plantations and forests in Perthshire are a testi> 
mony to the result of his long sojourn in the county towii, 
where he was much respected. He died in 1835, leaving 
his business and the property of Bellwood to his nephew, 
Archibald TurnbuU, son of his sister Margaret. 

IV. Archibald Dickson of Housebyres was born at 
Hawick in 1755. He married Marion, daughter of Andrew 
Fisher of Housebyres, to which property he succeeded. 
His marriage contract is dated 13th November, 1783. He 
died at Hassendeanburn, February 23, 1841, leaving issue: — 

1. Andrew, who went to Australia, and died there. 

2. Archibald Dickson of Chatto, 60th Bengal native in- 
fantry. He retired in 1836, and died at Pembroke Square, 
Kensington, 8th May, 1846. He had a son, Archibald 
William. 

Archibald William Dickson, captain in the 17th Regi- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 103 

menty who was disinherited. He left one son, Archibald, 
now laird of Hassendeanburn. 

3. Robert Dickson, a surgeon, died 7th July, 181 2, on 
board the ship "Anne," on his way to Batavia. 

4. Walter Dickson, born 1797; became a W.S. in 1823, 
and died, unmarried, 9th July, 1843. 

5. James Dickson of Chatto and Housebyres married, at Jas. Dickson 
Todshawhaugh, January 31, 1827, Christian, daughter of ^ **^°' 
Robert Scott. In the year 1837 he joined the Jedforest 

Club. He acquired Bughtrig and Castlelaw. His family 
consisted of two sons and two daughters. Mr Dickson 
died in 1876, leaving his landed property to his eldest son 
Archibald, and his share as partner of Dickson & Laing, 
Hawick, to his younger son William, who for a time carried 
on the business. 

William Dickson lived at Wellfield, near Hawick, and William 
became a member of the Club in 1868; and, being fond of ^^ *°^* 
society, was a regular attendant at its meetings. Some 
years before his death he sold out the business and pur- 
chased Morelands, Grange Loan, Edinburgh, where he died. 
He never married, and left all he had to his sister Marion. 

Marion Fisher Dickson, unmarried, also died at More- 
lands, and was succeeded by her brother Archibald. 

Jane died before her sister, unmarried. 

Archibald — of whom presently. 

6 and 7, Alexander and William, youngest sons of No. 
IV. (Archibald Dickson of Housebyres), died without issue. 

Isabella, eldest daughter of Housebyres, married, at 
Hawick, December 16, 181 1, William Whitehead Winter- 
bottom, of Huddersfield. 

Christian, unmarried. 

Marion, who married Mr Grieve, Skelfhill. 

V. Walter Dickson of Chatto, born 6th August, 1759, 
died at Redbraes, near Edinburgh, on the 19th of June, 
1836. He left his estate to his nephew James. 

Archibald Dickson of Chatto, Hassendeanburn, Bught- Col. Dickson. 



I04 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

rig, Castlelaw, succeeded James Dickson, his father, in 
1876. He was educated for the Scottish bar, and became 
an advocate in 1852, but never practised. Mr Dickson 
entered the Haddington artillery as captain in 1862 ; he 
became major in 1875 ; and afterwards lieut. -colonel, with 
which rank he retired. The present fine mansion-house at 
Hassendeanburn was built by Colonel Dickson a short 
time before he married. His marriage took place in 1880 
with Alice Florence, daughter of J. W. Seaburne May, and 
sister of Captain May, Royal Navy. He was made a 
member of the Jedforest Club in 1876. He died on the 
9th of April, 1895, without children ; and all his estates 
and personalty he left to his wife absolutely, except the 
estate of Hassendeanburn, which was entailed upon Archi- 
bald Dickson, grandson of Major Archibald Dickson of 
Chatto. Colonel Dickson is buried in Minto churchyard, 
where other members of his family have been interred. 

DODD. 

The surname of Dodd, or Dod, as it is spelt in some early 
records, is of Scandinavian origin, signifying a conical hill; 
and in the northern counties of England, and particularly in 
Northumberland, it is well known. The family was one 
of considerable importance in Tynedale in times gone by, 
where they were one of the four "graynes" of the district, 
and they appear to have taken their share in the disturbances 
during the centuries of lawlessness on the Borders. In a 
document dated 1498, quoted in the " Historical Evidences 
of North Tynedale" (p. 29) Gilbert Dodd of Smalesmouth 
appears among those released from the ban of excom- 
munication by Richard, Bishop of Durham, one of the 
conditions being that they shall not ''enter a church or place 
consecrated to God with any weapon exceeding the length of 
a cubit." In a letter from King James V. to Henry VIII., 
published in the State papers, the former relates that '* The 
" greatest attempts that was done against our legys (lieges) 
** during the hale war has been committed upon our Middle 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 105 

** Marches by certain your legys of the surname of Doddis, 
** Charltonis, and Mylbornis, under the care of Schir Rauf 
** Fenwick, who, on the 6th daye of this instante monthe^ 
*' has, cummin within the grounds of Teviotdale, reft and 
" spoilzied sundrie gudis, murdyrit five men, and utheris left 
"in perill of deid." In 1585 Sir John Forster, warden of 
the Middle Marches, vainly endeavoured to heal the feuds 
existing between the surnames of the English and Scottish 
Borders; and the Dodds were one of the surnames of 
north Tynedale who maintained a constant *' blood feud " 
with the Scots, the others being the Charltons, the Robsons, 
and the Millburns. 

Sometime about the middle of the i8th century Anthony 
Dodd of Bellshield, in Northumberland, married Jane Reed, 
a daughter of John Reed, of Old Town, the representative 
of an old Northumberland family, the Reeds of Old Town 
and Troughend. Anthony Dodd and his wife had, besides 
other children, four sons : — 

I. Simon Dodd, who rented Catcleuch, in Redesdalc, and 
resided there. He was the senior ensign when the Rox- 
burghshire local militia was organised in 1809. He died 
unmarried in 1840. 

2 and 3. John and Gilbert, who both died unmarried, 
predeceasing Simon. 

4. Nicholas, of Bellshield, born August 26th, 1790, who Nicholas 
succeeded his father. BdUsWeW. 

Mr Dodd, as a young man, was a great athlete, a keen 
sportsman, and one of the best shots of his day on the 
Border. He was a large stock farmer on both sides of 
the Border, and among others rented the farms of Nisbet 
and Mossburnford in Roxburghshire. In politics Mr Dodd 
was a staunch conservative. The following amusing 
anecdote is related of him : — One market day in Jedburgh 
he met the Hon. John Elliot, M.P, for the county. They 
were both powerful, heavy men, weighing about 20 stones, 
and a dispute arose as to which of the two men was the 



io6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

heavier. To settle the point, they adjourned to an adjoining 
shop, kept by Mr Allan, and referred the matter to the 
scales. Dodd weighed Elliot up, and, as he did so, 
remarked with a smile, *' Whigs are always found wanting 
when weighed in the balance." Nicholas Dodd was a 
member of the Jedforest Club, and died at the age of 63, 
on the i2th of August, 1853. Mr Dodd married Mary, 
daughter of James Bruce of a Stirlingshire family residing 
in Edinburgh, and by her had several sons and daughters : — 

Jane Reed, who married John Ord of Over Whitton and 
Muirhouselaw, and died in 1898. 

James, resident at Hundalee Cottage, is married, and has 
issue. 

Nicholas, tenant of Nisbet, Roxburghshire. 

Simon Anthony, late captain 48th Regiment. 

Mary, wife of A. Beatson Bell of Kilduncan, late chairman 
of the Prison Commissioners for Scotland. 

DON. 

The first of the Dons was a writer in Kelso, and drew 
up the deed which regulated the Roxburghe succession. He 
obtained possession of the mailings of Kelso, and converted 
them into the estate now called Newton Don. 

Alexander Don, first baronet, is styled before 1646 *'por- 
tioner of Little Newton.*'* About that date he acquired 
Newton, and on the 27th January, 1666, had a crown 
charter erecting various lands into the Barony of Newton. 
He afterwards became sheriff of Berwickshire, and was 
created a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1667. He married 
Isobel, daughter of John Smith, messenger in Duns, and 
had a numerous family : — 

I. James Don, succeeded to the estate, and was the 
second baronet of the name. 



1 In the charter of confirmation to Andrew Ker of Greenhead in the 
lands of St Thomas's Chapel, Maxwelhaugh, Bridgend, and signed by the 
Duke of Roxburghe, 1663. one of the witnesses is Alex. Don. Newtowne, 
and the charter is written by Adam Edgar, servant to Patrick Don. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 107 

II. Sir Alexander Don of Rutherford, knight, married 
Anne, daughter of George Pringle of Torwoodlee, and died 
without issue in 1712. His nephew. Sir Alexander Don, 
inherited Rutherford. 

III. Patrick of Auldtownburn, married, on June 26th, 1683, 
Anne, daughter and heiress of John Wauchope of Edmon- 
stone, and this family, now Don Wauchope, have inherited 
the baronetcy. 

IV. Anne, married James, fourth Lord Cranstoun. 

V. Margaret, married Sir James Murray of Philip- 
haugh ; and her granddaughter, Mary, afterwards married 
her second cousin. Sir Alexander, fourth baronet of New- 
ton. 

VI. Jean, first married Sir Andrew Ker of Green- 
head* (1664); and, upon his death. Sir Roger Hog of 
Harcarse (1685). 

VII. Isabel, married Andrew Edmonstone of Ednam. 
Sir James Don, second baronet, married Marion, daughter 

of Scott of Gorren berry. From the kirk -session records 
of 19th June, 1700, it appears that the session of Nenthorn 
resolved to make a collection to build a bridge over the 
Eden, "as one-half of the parish is detained frequently 
from the kirk by the water." The bridge was to be of 
wood, with some stonework at the abutments, and Sir 
James Don offered two great trees. Sir James died before 
1 718, leaving children. 

Sir Alexander Don, third baronet, inherited Rutherford 
from his uncle in 1712. He married in July, 1705, Mar- 
garet, daughter of John Carre' of Cavers and West Nisbet. 
He died at Northallerton, in Yorkshire, on April nth, 1749, 
on his way to Aix la Chapelle, where he intended staying 
for the benefit of his health. His body was brought back 



1 Viie Scott Ker of Chatto. « Carre of Cavers Carre. 

To " Notes on Newton Don," by C. B. Balfour, Berwickshire Natural- 
ists' Club Proceedings, 1892I-93. I am indebted for the information 
concerning the Don family. 



io8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

to Kelso, where it was interred in the family burial place. 
I^ady Don survived him, and died at Coldstream, 24th 
August, 1767; they had issue: — 

I. Alexander, who became fourth baronet. 

II. Thomas, born 17 18. 

III. Patrick, born 1718, died 22nd February, 181 1. He 
obtained his captain's commission in 1775, and was serv- 
ing in 1780 as captain 3rd Buffs. 

IV. James of Revelaw, ob, s,p, 14th August, 1743. 

Sir Alexander Don, fourth baronet, inherited Revelaw from 
his brother James. In 1750 he married his second cousin, 
Mary, daughter of John Murray of Philiphaugh.* Sir Alex- 
ander was a member of the Kelso lodge of freemasons, 
which he entered in 1751, as appears from the minutes of 
the lodge. He died on 2nd September, 1776, leaving two 
sons and a daughter: — 

I. Alexander, who became fifth baronet ; 

II. George, afterwards General Sir George Don, G.C.B., 
born 1754 I ^^^ 

III. Elizabeth, who married, in 1776, Francis Scott of 
Beechwood, second son of Walter Scott of Harden. 

George was the most distinguished of the Don family. 
He joined the 51st Foot in 1770 at Minorca, and during 
his military career saw much active service. At a most 
critical period in the history of this country, when a French 
invasion was daily expected, he was appointed deputy ad- 
jutant-general for Scotland, and a large body of volunteers 
placed under his command. He chose Dunbar as a con- 
venient rendezvous in case of an emergency, and was most 
zealous in the performance of his important duties. Gen- 
eral Don was equerry to the Duke of Cambridge, colonel 



^ An object of antiquarian interest connected with the Don family of this 
period has been restored by Mr C. B. Balfour. It consists of a lion carved 
in stone, which bears a shield impaling the arms of Mary Murray with 
those of Sir Alexander Don. It now acts as a sun-dial. The dial, which is 
of bronze, and was found among some lumber in the joiner's shop, bears 
the name " Richard Carr, 1665." 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 109 

of the 36th Regiment (i8i8),*G.C.B., G.C.H., G.C.M.G. 
He was transferred to the Buffs as colonel (1829), and 
made governor of Scarborough Castle (1831). He married 
a daughter of General the Honourable James Murray, 5th 
son of Lord Elibank. General Sir George Don died, ist 
January, 1832, at Gibraltar, and was buried there with full 
military honours in the garrison church, where a monu- 
ment is erected to his memory. At that time he was act- 
ing as governor of the fortress. 

Sir Alexander Don, fifth baronet, was born in 1751, and 
married, in 1778, Lady Harriet Cunningham, daughter and 
afterwards heiress of the 13th earl of Glencairn, the 14th 
and 15th earls dying without heirs. Sir Alexander took 
an active interest in founding the episcopal church in 
Kelso, and obtained a feu in 17739 on which the church 
now stands, from the Duke of Roxburghe. The Dons be- 
came hereditary trustees of the church and church property. 
The baronet also took a leading part in originating the 
^* Border Society," now represented by the " Border Union 
Agricultural Society.'* A meeting was held at Newton 
Don in 181 2, at which Sir Alexander and his son, Mr 
Hood of Hardacres, Nisbet of Mersington, Walker of 
Wooden, John Riddell,^ Grahamslaw, and Mr Jerdon, factor 
of the Newton estate, were present ; and it was resolved to 
call a public meeting in Kelso, on 22nd January, 18 13, to 
take into consideration the propriety of forming an agricul- 
tural society. The " Border Society *' was the outcome, and 
Sir Alexander Don was the first vice - president. His 
children were — Alexander, who succeeded ; Mary, and 
Elizabeth. 

A sad catastrophe happened to both these girls. On Sun- 
day afternoon, the 7th of June, 1795, the two Miss Dons, 
accompanied by Miss Wilson, second daughter of Dr Wilson, 
physician in Kelso, and Miss Ramsay from Edinburgh, went 
for a walk, by the bridge, to the island in the Eden. On 



^ John Riddell was an original member of the Club. 



no ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

their return home, they resolved to cross the water at the 
nearest point, although considerably swollen by the rains, 
rather than go round by the bridge. Miss Don got safely 
through, but Miss Ramsay, in following her, was carried 
down by the current, when Miss Don, rushing in to her 
assistance, unfortunately perished. This, it is said, is all that 
Miss Ramsay recollected, and she could not even tell how 
she herself was saved. Miss Mary Don and Miss Wilson 
ran to their assistance, and both shared the unfortunate 
fate of Miss Don. The distracted state of Miss Ramsay, on 
getting out of the water and missing her companions, pre- 
vented any discovery of the fatal accident, till a woman, 
going to cross the Eden by the bridge, saw the body of Miss 
Mary Don floating down the rivulet. The woman immedi- 
ately gave the alarm, but, alas! too late to save their 
lives, as every means used for their recovery proved in- 
effectual. <*The untimely fate of these three ladies, thus 
suddenly cut off in the bloom of youth, in the generous 
attempt to save their companion from perishing, has thrown 
an air of melancholy over almost every countenance." {Vide 
" Edinburgh Advertiser," i6th June, 1795.) Sir Alexander 
died in 1815 and Lady Harriet in 1801. 

Sir Alexander Sir Alexander Don, sixth baronet. It has been said of 

ofNew^n ' ^^^ ^^^^ ^® ^^^ ** ^^® model of a cavalier in all 
^on. courteous and elegant accomplishments." He was born in 

1780, and after completing his education he went to 
Paris, which, to a young man of his tastes, had special 
attractions. He was in France in 1803, when Napoleon 
issued his edict against foreigners leaving the country, 
and he was in consequence detained there until 1810. 
He had succeeded to the estate of Ochiltree, in Ayrshire, 
on his mother's death, and was therefore, in a pecuniary 
sense, quite independent of his father. However, his 
generous nature and expensive habits, combined with 
a love for the turf, soon placed him in difficulties. The 
sale of Ochiltree for a time squared his debts, and he turned 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. zzi 

his attention to politics, and became in the year 1812 
member of parliament for Roxburghshire. The present 
house of Newton Don was commenced in 181 7 from plans 
by the well known Sir R. Smirke.^ Sir Alexander spared no 
expense in the erection or furnishings of the house. The 
gardens and surroundings were all laid out according to the 
fashion of the day, and the work was completed in 18 19. Sir 
Alexander devoted the remaining years of his life to racing, 
politics, and the society of his friends. He became a mem- 
ber of the Jedforest Club in April, 181 1. 

Sir Alexander Don's first wife was Lucretia, daughter of 
G. Montgomerie of Garboldisbam Hall, Norfolk. After- 
wards he married, at Edinburgh, Grace, eldest daughter of 
John Stein, M.P. for Bletchley, who bore him a son and a 
daughter — (i) William Henry, his successor; and (2) Alexina 
Harriet, who married (1844) Frederick Acclom Milbank, 
second son of Mark Milbank of Thorp Perrow, Bedale, 
Yorks. He was created a baronet in 1882, and has issue. 

Sir Alexander died in 1S26, and being an old friend of Sir 
Walter Scott, the following extract from the novelist's jour- 
nal is recorded." 

"April 13, 1826. — On my return from my walk yester- 
day, I learnt with great concern the death of my old 
friend, Sir Alexander Don. He cannot have been above 
six or seven -and -forty. Without being much together, 
we had, considering our different habits, lived in much 
friendship, and I sincerely regret his death. His habits 
were those of a gay man, much connected with the turf; 
but he possessed strong natural parts, and, in particular, 
few men could speak better in public when he chose. He 
had tact, with power of sarcasm, and that indescribable 
something which marks the gentleman. His manners in 
society were extremely pleasing, and, as he had a taste for 
literature and the fine arts, there were few more agreeable 

^^i__i_ i_ _ 1. - — -— 

^Sir Alexander and Lady Don, before the house of Newton Don was 
built, lived at Ancnim House. 
« Vide Lockharfs " Ufe of Sir Walter Scott." 

I 



112 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB 

companions, besides being a highly spirited, steady, and 
honourable man. His indolence prevented his training these 
good parts towards acquiring the distinction he might have 
attained. He was among the detenus whom Bonaparte's 
iniquitous commands confined so long in France; and, 
coming into possession of a large estate, in right of his 
mother, the heiress of the Glencairn family, he had the 
means of being very expensive, and probably then acquired 
those gay habits which rendered him averse to serious 
business. Being our member for Roxburghshire, his death 
will make a stir amongst us. I prophesy Harden will be 
here to talk about starting his son Henry," &c., &c. And, 
yet another extract: — "April i8, 1826. — This morning I 
go to Kelso to poor Don's funeral." 

Sir William Henry Don, seventh baronet, was born 4th 
May, 1825. Soon after his father's death, in 1826, a sale took 
place of the furniture in the mansion-house, and portions 
of the estate were sold at different times to satisfy the 
most urgent of the creditors. In 1847, when Sir William 
attained his majority, the remainder of the estate, which 
was now reduced from 3330 to 1225 acres, was sold to 
Charles Balfour, brother of James Maitland Balfour of 
Whittinghame. Sir William was present at the Eglinton 
tournament on the 28th to 30th August, 1839, when a 
lad, and acted as page to Lady Montgomerie. He joined 
the 5th Dragoon Guards as cornet on 3rd January, 1842, 
and was extra aide-de-camp to the Lord - Lieutenant of 
Ireland in 1844. He got his promotion the following year, 
and left the army over head and ears in debt. From 
his boyhood he had a taste for the stage, and he now 
adopted it as a profession, and appeared at the Broadway 
Theatre, New York, in 1850. He remained some years in 
America, and married there. He returned home in 1856, 
when he visited Glasgow, Edinburgh, and Dublin, before 
proceeding to the Haymarket Theatre in London. At 
Dublin he had quite an ovation from the officers of the 
garrison, more particularly the cavalry brigade. Sir Wil- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 113 

liam Don seemed greatly pleased with his reception, and 
said that <<the last time he had the pleasure of being in 
Dublin he was an officer of the 5th Dragoon Guards and 
aide-de-camp to the Lord-Lieutenant, and used to drive 
his four chestnut horses in Grafton Street — now he appeared 
before them in the light of a poor actor, and hoped to 
obtain their patronage.*' In Edinburgh he found his old 
regiment, the 5th Dragoon Guards, at Piershill. His 
** benefit " took place at the Theatre-Royal on 12th Decem- 
ber, 1856, under the patronage of Colonel M'Mahon and 
the officers of the 5th Dragoon Guards. He played the 
part of Charles Surface in "The School for Scandal." 
Sir William and Lady Don finally went to the Australian 
colonies, where, after a most successful round of engage- 
ments, the actor -baronet broke down in health. Tasmania 
was recommended for a change of air, but Sir William's 
extraordinary career came to an end at Hobart Town, 
where he died on the 19th March, 1862, at the early age 
•of 37- 



114 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



CHAPTER V. 

DOUGLAS OF CAVERS. 

nPHE name of Douglas is of great antiquity, and its origin 
entirely unknown. So much has already been written 
about this baronial and powerful family, whose name is so 
intimately connected with the Borders and the early history 
of Scotland, that in this little memoir I shall merely attempt 
to link the ancestral connexion and gallant deeds of former 
generations with a branch of the family, '* Douglas of Cavers," 
still located in Teviotdale, and represented in the female 
line. The Cavers branch is descended from James Douglas, 
second earl, who fell at Otterburn. He is supposed to 
have left two illegitimate sons — William, the elder, from 
whom the Queensberrys claim descent ; and Archibald, the 
younger, who was ancestor of the Cavers family. 

William de Douglas, son of Archibald, was created Earl 
of Douglas by David H. in 1357. He was at the battle 
of Poictiers (1356). He commanded a body of Scots troops 
that defeated the governor of Berwick (Musgrave), near 
Melrose, in 1378. The earl died in 1384, and left issue — 
James Douglas, second earl, who was killed at Otterburn 
in 1388. His son Archibald, the younger, is said to have 
borne his father's banner at the battle, and the earl charged 
him '<to defend it to the last drop of his blood." As no 
man on horseback can defend a banner as well as carry it, 
both hands being occupied, young Douglas, I have no 
doubt, defended it, but a stout retainer carried it. (Vide 
White's "History of the Battle of Otterburn," page 131, 
and " Stavert Memoir.") The following is a condensed 
account of the battle from Froissart's narrative: — 

The author claims to have received his information from knights and 
squires of both sides who had taken part in the battle, and who agreed 
that it was the " hardest and most obstinate battle that was ever 
fought." 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 115 

The Earls of Douglas, Mar, and Moray, having made an incursion into 
England, and wasted the country between Newcastle and Durham, the 
Earl of Northumberland sent his sons and others to Newcastle to meet 
them, going himself to Alnwick to cut off the retreat of the Scots. The 
Scotch earls, having overrun the bishopric of Durham, came to Newcastle 
on their* homeward way. " and there rested and tarryed two dayes, and 
every day they skrymyrshed. The Erie of Northumberland's two sonnes 
were two yonge lusty knyghtes, and were ever formoste at the barryers to 
skrymyrshe ; there were many proper feates of armes done and atchyued ; 
there was fyghtyng hande to hande; (amonge other) there fought hande 
to hande the erle Duglas and Sir Henry Percy, and by force of armes the 
erle Duglas wanne the penon of S3rr Henry Percyes, where with he was 
sore dyspleased. and so were all the englysshmen : and the erle Duglas 
sayd to Sir Henry Percy— Sir, I shall beare this token of your prowes into 
Scotlande, and shall sette it on hyghe on my castell of ^Iguest (Dalkeith), 
that it maye be sene farre of.^ Syr. quod Sir Henry, ye maye be sure ye 
shall not passe the boundes of this countrey tyll ye be met withall, in 
suche wyse that ye shall make none avaunte thereof. Well, syr. quod 
the erle Duglas, come this nyghte to my lodgynge and sekefor your penon. 
I shall sette it before my lodgynge. and se if ye will come to take it away." 

Such was the incident which led to the battle. Percy did not accept 
Douglas' challenge, and the Scots-Rafter waiting to give him a full chance 
of so doing — withdrew and came to Otterbum. There they assailed the 
castle, but failed to take it ; whereupon — in order that Percy might have 
a further opportunity of retrieving his pennon — Douglas proposed that two 
or three days should be devoted to besieging the castle. "Every man 
accorded to his saying, what for their honour and for the love of hym ; 
also they lodged there at their ease, for there was none that troubled 
theym : they made many lodgynges of bowes and great herbs, and lortifyed 
their campe sagely with the maresse that was thereby. — and their caryages 
were sette at the entre into the maresses, and had all their beestes within 
the maresse. Then they aparelled for to saute the next day ; this was 
their entencyon."^ 

Meantime the English — after a debate in which Percy's desire to 
pursue the Scots was overruled by more prudent counsels — had received 
information that the small force which they had already seen, consti- 
thted the entire Scottish armament, and also that the Bishop of Durham, 
having raised the country, was advancing to their assistance — without 
however, waiting for the latter, Percy at once started in pursuit of the 
Scots. (At this point, in my quotations, I abandon the antiquated 
spelling and phraseology of the translation of Lord Berners in favour 
of a more modern version.) " As the Scots were supping — some, indeed, 
were gone to sleep, for they had laboured hard during the day at the 
attack of the castle — the English arrived and mistook, at their entrance, 

'- Henry Percy's pennon, so called by historians, is preserved at Cavers House. 
It appears to be a pair of leather hawking cufifs bearing the white Hon of the Percyti 
embroidered in pearls. They are evidently the work of a lady, and were attached to the 
spear-head of Percy's lance as a pledge of his lady love. 



ii6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the hats of the servants for those of their masters. They forced their 
way into the camp, shouting out ' Percy, Percy ! ' In such cases, yon 
may suppose, an alarm is soon given ; while the lords were arming them- 
selves, they ordered a body of their infantry to join the servants and 
keep up the skirmish. As the men were armed, they formed themselves 
under the pennons of the three principal barons, who each had his 
particular appointment. 

" During this, the night advanced, but it was sufficiently light ; for 
the moon shone, and it was the month of August, when the weather is 
temperate and serene. 

"When the Scots were quite ready, and properly arrayed, they left 
their camp in silence, but did not march to meet the English. They 
skirted the side of a mountain that was hard by ; for, during the preced- 
ing day, they had well examined the country around, and said among 
themselves, ' Should the English come to beat up our quarters, we will 
do so and so,' and thus settled their plans beforehand, which was the 
saving of them. 

"The English had soon overpowered the servants; but, as they 
advanced into the camp, they found fresh bodies ready to oppose them, 
and continue the fight. The Scots, in the meantime, marched along the 
mountain side and fell on the enemy's flank quite unexpectedly, shouting 
their cries. This was a great surprise to the English, who, however, 
formed themselves in better order, and reinforced that part of their army. 
The cries of ' Percy ' and ' Douglas' resounded on each side. The battle 
now raged : great was the pushing of lances, and very many of each 
party were struck down at the first onset. The English being more 
numerous.^ and anxious to defeat the enemy, kept in a compact body and 
forced the Scots to retire, who were on the point of being discomfited. 

"The Earl of Douglas, being young and impatient to gain renown in 
arms, ordered his banner to advance," shouting * Douglas, Douglas ! ' 
Sir Henry and Sir Ralph Percy, indignant for the afiront the Earl of 
Douglas had put upon them, by conquering their pennon, and desirous of 
meeting him, hastened to where the sounds came from, calling out 
•Percy, Percy!' 

" The two banners met, and many a gallant deed of arms ensued. The 
English were in superior strength, and fought so lustily they drove back 
the Scots. . . . The knights and squires of either party were anxious 

^ Froissart computes the Scotch force at 300 spears and 3000 others ; that of Percy 
at 600 spears, knights and squires, and 8000 footmen. He estimates the losses thus :— 
English— taicen, 1040; slain, 1840. Scots— taken, njore than 200; slain, loo. 

"The Douglas Banner, a most Interesting and ancient relic, is also preserved at 
Cavers House. It Is thirteen feet long and in wonderful preservation. Some antiquar- 
ians cast a doubt upon its authenticity, having the opinion that no linen or silk fabric 
could remain Intact for 300 years. This statement, however, has been refuted by what 
came to light not long ago at Canterbury, when the tomb of Hubert Walter, Archbishop 
of Canterbury, who died in 1205, was opened. Only his bones remained, but these lay in 
the vestments in which the body was interred nearly 700 years ago. The linen was found 
to be considerably decayed, but the amber silk on which the embroidery 13 worked is in 
very fair preservation. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 117 

to continue the combat with vigour as long as their spears should hold. 
Cowardice was there unknown, and the most splendid courage was every- 
where exhibited by the gallant youths of England and Scotland. They 
were so closely intermixed the archers' bows were useless, and fought 
hand to hand. . . . The £arl of Douglas, who was of high spirit, 
seeing his men repulsed, seized a battle-axe with both his hands, like a 
gallant knight, and, to rally his men, dashed into the midst of his enemies 
and gave such blows on all around him that no one could withstand them, 
but made way for him on all sides. Thus he advanced like another 
Hector, thinking to recover and conquer the field from his own prowess, 
until he was met by three spears that were pointed at him — one struck 
him on the shoulder, another on the stomach near the belly, and the third 
entered his thigh. He could never disengage himself from these spears, 
but was borne to the ground fighting desperately. From that moment he 
never rose again. Some of his knights and squires had followed him, but 
not all ; for, though the moon shone, it was rather dark. As soon as he 
fell, his head was cleaved with a battle-axe. the spear thrust through his 
thigh, and the main body of the English marched over him without pay- 
ing any attention, not supposing him to be their principal enemy. . . . 
His men had followed him as closely as they were able, and there came to 
him his cousins, Sir James Lindsay. Sir John and Sir Walter Sinclair, 
with other knights and squires. . . . 

" Sir John Sinclair asked the earl, ' Cousin, how fares it with you ? ' 
* But so so,' replied he. ' Thanks to God there are but few of my ancestors 
who have died in chambers or in their beds. I bid you. therefore, revenge 
my death, for I have but little hope of living, as my heart becomes every 
minute more faint. Do you, Walter and Sir John Sinclair, raise up my 
banner, and continue to shout ' Douglas ! ' but do not tell friend or foe 
whether I am in your company or not ; for, should the enemy know the 
truth, they will be greatly rejoiced.' 

" The two brothers Sinclair obeyed his orders. The banner was raised 
and ' Douglas ' shouted. Their men, who had remained behind, hearing 
the shouts of ' Douglas, Douglas 1 ' so often repeated, ascended a small 
eminence, and pushed their lances with such courage the English were 
repulsed, and many killed or struck to the ground. The Scots, by thus 
valiantly driving the enemy beyond the spot where the Earl of Douglas 
lay dead — for he had expired on giving his last orders— arrived at his 
banner, which was borne by Sir John Sinclair. Numbers were continually 
increasing, from the repeated shouts of ' Douglas ! ' and the greater part 
of the Scots knights and squires were now there. The Earls of Moray 
and March, with their banners and men. came thither also. When they 
were thus collected, and perceiving the English retreat, they renewed the 
battle with greater vigour than before. ... In this last attack they 
so completely repulsed the English, they could never rally again, and 
drove them far beyond where the Earl of Douglas lay on the ground. Sir 
Henry Percy, during this attack, had the misfortune to fall into the hands 
of the lord Montgomery, a very valiant knight of Scotland. 



118 AmfALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

** The battle was very bloody from its commencement to the defeat ; but 
when the Scots saw the English were discomfited and surrendering on all 
sides, they behaved courteous to them, saying. ' Sit down, and disarm 
yourselves, for I am your master/ but never insulted them more than if 
they had been brothers. The pursuit lasted a long time, and as far as 
five English miles." 

From Archibald, the second illegitimate son of the second 
Earl of Douglas, was descended, in direct succession, Sir 
William Douglas, sheriff of Teviotdale. During the civil 
war he took the side of the parliament, and was one of 
those from the Scottish army sent to treat with Charles I. 
He married Ann, daughter of Douglas of Whittinghame, 
and was succeeded by Archibald, his eldest son. 

Sir Archibald Douglas, knight, of Cavers,^ served in the 
army of the parliament. He purchased, in 1658, the lands 
of Denholm and Spittal. Sir Archibald married Rachel, 
daughter and heir of Sir James Skene of Halyards, presi- 
dent of the Court of Session. Their united arms may still 
be seen rudely carved over the kitchen chimney at West- 
gatehall, Denholm. He died in 1669, not long after his 
father, and his son succeeded him. 

Sir William Douglas, knight, of Cavers, married Kather- 
ine, daughter of Thomas Rigg. She was better known 
as the "good Lady Cavers." Her sufferings during the per- 
secution may be found in "Wodrow" and "The Ladies of 
the Covenant." She was a prisoner in Stirling Castle from 
November, 1682, to December, 1684, with the exception of 
three months, during which she was released on bail, for 
the recovery of her health. Her son, returning from abroad, 
gave a bond that she should conform or leave the country 
within fourteen days. She chose the latter, and went to 
live in England. Sir William was deprived of the sheriff- 
ship of Teviotdale for not complying with the instructions 
of Government. He died in 1676, leaving five sons (one 



^Sir Archibald Douglas had a daughter Anna, who married Robert 
Bennett of Chesters, son of Ragwell Bennett (contract of marriage dated 
April 19th, 1652, at Yearlsyde ; vide Edgerston Papers) 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 119 

of them being born after his death), viz.:— William, Archi- 
bald, John, James, and Thomas (ancestor of the present 
family of Cavers). 

Sir William Douglas, knight, of Cavers, married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Douglas of Newcastle. He was an 
officer in the regiment of Scots Dragoons (Scots Greys), 
and was a captain in the corps in 1689. At this time the 
regiment was commanded by a Sir William Douglas, 
knight,^ who owned an estate in France, but his family 
cannot be traced. Sir William of Cavers left the army in 
1694, when the regiment went to Flanders. He died in 
1698 and left no children, and was succeeded by his 
brother Archibald. 

Archibald Douglas of Cavers, receiver -general for Scot- 
land from 1705 to 1718, postmaster-general for Scotland in 
1725, member of parliament for Roxburghshire at the union, 
married Anna, daughter of Francis Scott of Gorrenberry, 
and had four sons, all of whom, in succession, succeeded 
to Cavers. He died in 1741, and his son William suc- 
ceeded. 

William Douglas of Cavers resigned the sheriffship to his 
brother Archibald, for the purpose of entering parliament, 
and was elected member of parliament for the county of 
Roxburgh in 1742. He never married, and died in the 
year 1748. 

Archibald Douglas of Cavers succeeded his brother. He 
was postmaster-general for Scotland, and was the last heri- 
table sheriff of Teviotdale, all hereditary jurisdictions having 
been abolished by Act of Parliament in 1745. He married 
Elizabeth, a daughter of Hugh Scott of Gala, and died 
without an heir in 1774. Archibald Douglas made an 
appeal for compensation upon the loss of the post of sheriff 
for Roxburghshire, and his case is as follows: — 

<< Archibald Douglas of Cavers, with respect to the claim 
for value of the post of heritable sheriff of Roxburghshire, 

^Vidi ''English Army Lists and Commission Registers, Vol. iii., 
page 30, by Charles Dal ton. 



120 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

held by the family for three hundred years. The value of 
Roxburghshire is the highest of any in Scotland except 
two— Fife and Perthshire — and is not much inferior to the 
highest of these two. The family of Douglas of Cavers 
were sheriffs without interruption until the time of James 
VI., when certain negotiations were entered into in 1617 
with William Douglas of Cavers for the surrender of his 
jurisdiction to the Crown, but without any further result. 
Charles I. attempted to abolish heritable jurisdictions in 
1633, and a petition was presented by the laird of Cavers to 
King and Parliament, who made an offer (f.«., claim) of 
30,000 merks." 

** In answer to this petition the King and Parliament 
ordained the petitioners and his heirs, &c., &c., to enjoy the 
said office aye and while payment be made to him and them 
of the sum of 20,000 pounds Scots money. No payment or 
offer was ever made to the laird of Cavers. The value of 
the jurisdiction declared by Douglas was, in 1623, 30,000 
pounds Scots, and in 1748 it was worth 75,000 pounds Scots, 
or ;^625o sterling. Douglas also states that in 1633 ^o P^'^ 
cent, was the rate of interest, or 10 years' purchase. In 1748 
the price of land was 25 years' purchase." Although 
Douglas claimed ;^400 as an annuity in compensation, he 
accepted the sum of ;^i666, 13s 4d down. {Vide Douglas 
Papers.) 

The following refers to the purchase money of Adder- 
stone : — ** Received by me, George Grant, factor for Francis 
Scott of Gorrinberry, from Donald Dunbar, W.S., into the 
name of Arch. Douglas of Cavers, the sum of ;^i88, 17s 
9J of penny sterling, which, with ;^2oo paid by him to G. 
Innes, depty. receiver of the land tax, on my draft on him, 
the 24th day of May, curt., and £111, 2s 2J penny sterg., 
also paid by him for me, being the contents of my accepted 
bill, the 23rd day of May, curt., to the order of James 
Jameson, Surgn. in Kelso, makes inhaill the sum of ;^5oo 
sterling money. Which sum, I obliedged me, shall be 
allowed by the said Francis Scott of Gorrinberry, my 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 121 

constituent, to Capt. John Douglas, brother-german to the 
said Arch. Douglas of Cavers, to acct. and in part of the 
purchase money of Ederstownshiells and Ederstownlee, sold 
to him by Gorrinberry. In witness thereof, I have written 
and subscribed this at Melrose, 29 May, 1750 years. 
(Signed) Geo. Grant." 

The Rev. James Douglas, D.D., of Cavers, brother of the 
above, was prebendary of Durham Cathedral ; married at 
Edinburgh to Peggy Haliburton, sister of Colonel Haliburton 
of Pitcur, but left no issue, and was succeeded by his 
younger brother, the laird of Edderstone and Midshiels. 

Extract from the will of the Rev. James Douglas, D.D. : — 
'' I leave to Captain John Douglas and the heirs male of his 
body ; whom failing, to Andrew Douglas ^ of Suffolk Street, 
London, merchant, my ist cousin, and the heirs male of his 
body; whom failing, to Captain Archibald Douglas, Inspector 
of Works at Berwick, also my ist cousin; whom failing, to 
Robert Douglas, also my ist cousin, planter, Jamaica, and 
the heirs male of their bodies; whom all failing, to my 
lawful heirs whatsoever. ... To my sister Catharine 
Douglas and to my si^er Euphane." He expressed a wish 
that these two ladies should remain, during their joint lives, 
at Cavers, where they had lived while he was laird, and 
bequeathed the annual sum of £^0 sterling to each for 
board and maintaining a man and maid to attend them. 
(Vide Douglas Papers.) 

John Douglas of Cavers, captain Royal Navy. In the 
year 1745 Captain Douglas commanded H. M.S. "Greyhound," 
of 20 guns, and, on his passage from Cork to Lisbon, captur- 
ed two privateers heavily armed, after a long chase, from 
St Domingo. He afterwards commanded H.M.S. Unicorn, 
and, in company with the frigate " Tweed," took the 



1 Thomas, the fifth son of Sir William Douglas, Knight of Cavers, who 
was bom posthumous in May. 1677, married Jean Pringle of the Haining, 
and was father of Andrew Douglas. Andrew married Miss Mercer, and 
had two sons — George, who succeeded to Cavers, and Archibald to Adder- 
stone and Midshiels. 



122 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

'< Marshal Broglis " privateer, belonging to Brest. Captain 
Douglas married Ann, daughter of Hugh Scott of Gala ; and 
when he retired from the service he bought from his cousin, 
of Gorrenberry, the estate of Edderstone and Edderstone- 
shiels, and afterwards Midshiels from Scott of Crumhaugh. 
When an old man he succeeded to the patrimonial estate, 
and dying without issue in 1786, his .cousin George, eldest 
son of Andrew Douglas, a London merchant, and formerly a 
paymaster Royal Navy, became the owner of Cavers. 
Captain Douglas left Adderstone and Midshiels to George's 
younger brother Archibald. 

George Douglas of Cavers married Lady Grace Stuart, 
daughter of Francis, eighth earl of Moray, and died in 
1815, and was succeeded by his son, James. 

Lady Grace Douglas died at 33 Queen Street, Edin- 
burgh, on the 23rd March, 1846. 

James Douglas of Cavers married Emma, daughter of 
Sir David Carnegie, fourth baronet of Pittarron (and aunt 
of Sir James, sixth baronet, who was restored as Earl of 
Southesk), and had, with other issue, James, his heir, and 
Mary, who married, in 1857, William Elphinstone Malcolm 
of Burnfoot, county Dumfries. Mr Douglas died in 1861. 

James Douglas^ of Cavers, born in 1822, married, on the 
23rd of June, 1858, Mary Graham, daughter of Sir Andrew 
Agnew, seventh baronet of Lochnaw, and died without 
issue in 1878. The male line of the family, by his death, 
being now extinct, the estate devolved upon the only child 
of Mary, who died in 1859, having married Mr Malcolm 
of Burnfoot. 

Captain Pal- Captain Edward Palmer, late captain Rifle Brigade, is 

ofCaver^Se *^^^ youngest son of the Rev. George Palmer of Sullington, 
Rifle Brigade. 

^ The late James Douglas of Cavers was the twenty-flrst male descend- 
ant from the founder of the family, viz. : Archibald, son of James, second 
earl of Douglas, who was killed at Otterburn. Mr Douglas's remains 
were not placed in the family vault at the old church, but in a newly 
prepared vault on a sequestered spot of ground adjoining the old church- 
yard, and selected by him some years before he died. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 123 

county of Sussex, and assumed the additional surname of 
Douglas on his marriage. He was born in 1836, and 
married on the 12th of November, 1879, Mary Malcolm 
Douglas, only child of W. £. Malcolm, and the heiress of 
Cavers. They have two sons, Archibald and Malcolm. 
The lands of Cavers, which had been much neglected by 
successive proprietors for several generations, have now 
been transformed into one of the best kept estates in the 
county. The present proprietor has let portions of the es- 
tate in the neighbourhood of Hawick for building purposes, 
and has obtained from the postmaster -general the grant 
of a telegraph wire to the Coldmill. In fact, no expense 
has been spared in adding to the comfort of the tenantry. 
The old house of Cavers has also undergone a change. It 
has been remodelled and partly rebuilt. The old tower, the 
stronghold of the Cavers Douglases, with its walls of im- 
mense thickness, which seem to defy both time and decay, 
is still there, although not so prominent as formerly. Cap- 
tain Palmer Douglas was master of the Jedforest hounds 
for a few years. In 1883 he became a member of the 
Jedforest Club ; he is a justice of the peace, a deputy 
lieutenant, and a county councillor for Roxburghshire. 

Archibald Douglas succeeded to Adderstone and Midshiels ^ 
upon the death of Captain John Douglas, R.N., of Cavers, 
his cousin ; and at the same time his elder brother, George, 
succeeded the captain as laird of Cavers. Archibald 
Douglas married Jane Gale, of Whitehaven, county of Cum- 
berland, and by her had two sons, Andrew John, who died 
at Midshiels, nth May, 1806, and Archibald Pringle, who 
succeeded. There were also five daughters: — 

Anne Mary, born 1787. Jane, born 1789. 

Katherine Rachael, born 1790, married, in 1809, James 
Dove of Wexham House, near Windsor. 



1 Midshiels was sold, and became the property of Tumbull of Fenwick, 
and it was again sold in 1896 to Mr Rutherford Shielis. 



124 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

Elizabeth, born 1792, married, in 1806 at Coldstream, 
Ensign Aaron Reid, 2nd battalion 72nd Highlanders. She 
died at Montrose, November, 1807. 

Grace Thomasina, bom 1793. 

A. Pringle ARCHIBALD Pringle Douglas of Adderstone and Mid- 

Douglas 
of Midshiels. shiels, married Margaret Violet, daughter of Mark Pringle 

of Raining, and died in i860, leaving an only daughter, 

Anne Elizabeth, who succeeded to Haining. Mr Douglas 

during the lifetime of his father became a member of the 

Jedforest Club, in 1820. 

DOUGLAS OF DOUGLAS CASTLE. 

Douglas, formerly Stewart. Archibald James Edward, 
first Baron Douglas of Douglas, son of Colonel (afterwards) 
Sir John Stewart, Bart., of Grandtully, and Lady Jane 
Douglas. He was one of twins, born on the loth of July, 
1748, in Paris. His mother dying when he was five years 
old, and while his father was an inmate of a debtor's prison, 
he was brought up by Lady Schaw, a friend of his mother's. 
At her death, the Duke of Queensberry took a friendly 
interest in him, and left him the estate of Amesbury in 
Wiltshire. His aunt, the Duchess of Douglas, was also 
kind to him. Douglas was educated at Rugby and West- 
minster. On the death of the Duke of Douglas, his 
trustees at once took steps to have him served heir to 
the estates, and on September 9th, 1761, he assumed the 
name of Douglas, in consequence of this petition. It was 
referred to the House of Lords, before which judicial 
authority also came (March 22nd, 1762) the petition of 
Archibald Douglas, praying the King for the title and 
dignity of Earl of Angus. No answer was returned to 
this petition. The Duke of Hamilton raised the question 
as to the legitimacy of Mr Douglas, and declared he was 
not the child of Lady Jane Douglas. This resulted in 
the well known <* Douglas cause,'* and the most voluminous 
evidence was taken both in Britain and France. The 
Court of Session gave their decision against Douglas. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 125 

His case had caused a strong feeling in his favour 

throughout Scotland, particularly amongst the lower classes, 

and the judgment of the Court was most unpopular.^ An 

appeal was then made to the House of Lords, and the 

decision was reversed (February 27, 1771). This was the 

signal for great rejoicings in Edinburgh, which ended in 

tumult and uproar. The mob took possession of the town, 

and demanded a general illumination in honour of the 

event. Then they proceeded to wreck the houses of those 

Lords of Session who had given an adverse vote in the 

•case. The Lord President and Lord Justice-Clerk were 

•especially singled out; their windows were broken, and 

■attempts made to break into their houses. This state of 

things lasted for a couple of nights, when the military were 

•called out in aid of the civil power, and order restored. 

Lady Jane Douglas, only sister of the Duke of Douglas, 
was the handsomest and most accomplished woman of her 
time, but, unfortunately, in early life her happiness was 
ruined. She was the daughter of James, second Marquess 
•of Douglas, by Lady Mary Ker, and was born on March 
17th, 1698. Her father died when she was three years of 
age, and she was brought up by her mother. For some 
years mother and daughter resided at Merchiston Castle, 
near Edinburgh, and it was there she became engaged (in 
1720) to the Earl of Dalkeith, afterwards second Duke of 
Buccleuch ; but the match was broken off. Lady Jane took 
this very much to heart, and determined to seek the seclusion 
of a convent. She disguised herself in man's attire, and, 
■accompanied by her French maid, started for Paris. On 
this becoming known to her friends, they followed her there 
and brought her back ; and, it was said, her brother fought 

1 Council Recoxxls. Jedburgh, August 27th, 1767. — The Magistrates 
and Council, understanding that the Hon. Archibald Douglas of Douglas 
is presently at Mounteviot, in the neighbourhood of the burgh, they 
therefore resolve, as a testimony of their esteem and regard for that 
gentleman, to present him with the freedom of the town, and authorise 
the Provost to wait upon him at Mounteviot. — (Signed) James Haswell. 



126 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

a duel with Lord Dalkeith on account of his conduct in 
this affair. The beautiful Lady Jane had many suitors, 
but after this she, for a long time, rejected all offers of 
marriage. 

In 1736 she took up her residence at Drumsheuch House, 
Edinburgh, and it was there she concealed the chevalier 
Johnstone, after his escape from the field of Culloden in 
1746. At this house, the same year, she secretly married 
an old lover. Colonel John Stewart, second son of Sir 
Thomas Stewart of Balcaskie, of the family of Grandtully, 
Perthshire; she was then 48 years of age. The colonel 
had no fortune but his sword, and had distinguished him- 
self in the Swedish army. Lady Jane, who had nothing 
but an allowance from her brother, feared, if he should 
hear of her marriage, that he might stop supplies. Under 
the assumed names of Mr and Mrs Gray, they left for 
abroad. On July loth, 1748, when in Paris, she gave 
birth to twin sons; and when her brother heard of this, 
he at once stopped her allowance, not believing her story. 
The unhappy couple had to return to England in a 
poverty-stricken state, and Lady Jane, through the interest 
of some friends, had her case laid before the King, who 
granted her, from the royal bounty, three hundred pounds 
a year. This grant, however, came too late to prevent 
Colonel Stewart becoming a bankrupt, and his creditors 
threw him into the King's Bench Prison, where he spent 
most of his time during the remainder of his wife's unhappy 
existence. In 1752, she returned to Edinburgh with her 
boys, taking rooms in Bishop's Land. She attempted to- 
obtain a reconciliation with her brother, but he refused 
even to see her. She went back to London to see her 
husband, who was still in a debtor's prison, and left her 
children in Edinburgh, under the care of a woman who 
had formerly accompanied her and her husband to the 
Continent as a servant. During her absence in London,, 
to her inexpressible grief, the younger of her twin boys 
died, in May, 1753. She hastened back to Edinburgh^ 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 127 

broken-hearted, and made another fruitless effort to be 
reconciled to her brother. Her health was now com- 
pletely broken down, and in the following November (1753) 
the unfortunate lady died at Edinburgh, in the 56th year 
of her age, in a house she rented in the Crosscauseway, 
destitute even of the common necessaries of life. She was 
interred, by her brother's orders, in the Chapel-Royal of 
Holyrood, he allowing barely sufficient for her burial. 

Although the Duke never forgave his sister, yet, before 
his death, he executed a deed appointing the Duchess of 
Douglas, the Duke of Queensberry, and other persons, to 
be trustees to Archibald Douglas or Stewart, son of his 
deceased sister, who was to succeed him in his estates. 

Lord Douglas married, in London, on 13th June, 1771, Lord 
Lady Lucy Graham, only daughter of William, second 
Duke of Montrose. He had a family by this lady, who 
died at Both well Castle in 1780. His Lordship married 
again, on the 13th of May, 1783. His wife was Lady 
Frances Scott, sister of Henry, Duke of Buccleuch. There 
was also issue of this second marriage. Lord Douglas 
was elected member of parliament for the county of For- 
far in February, 1782, and designed as Archibald Douglas, 
heir of the line of Archibald, Duke of Douglas. An ob- 
jection was taken to his election on the ground of his being 
a peer, and evidence was laid before a committee of the 
House of Commons of his right to the earldom of Angus, 
but the objection was overruled, and he was re-chosen at 
the general election of 1784. He was created a British 
peer by the title of Baron Douglas of Douglas Castle, in 
July, 1790, and was constituted colonel of the Forfarshire 
militia, in 1798. Lord Douglas, who was himself not a 
sportsman, was anxious that the game on his Jedforest 
estate should be well looked after. For this purpose he 
deputed to the Earl of Ancram the charge of preserving it, 
and also forming a reserve, to be an asylum and nursery for 
game. The agreement is as follows, copied from the Edin- 
burgh Evening Courant^ dated 1806: — 

K 



128 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

" I ORD DOUGLAS having deputed to the Earl of Ancram the charge 
of preserving the Game on his Estates in Roxburghshire, he with- 
draws all former permissions to shoot thereon. 

" Lord Ancram requests that such gentlemen as may hereafter obtain 
permission from Lord Douglas will attend to the following instructions, 
viz.: 

" On no account to shoot either Black Game or Hares. 

" Not to commence shooting till after the 24th day of August. 

" Not to shoot on the Reserve. 

" To challenge every person coursing or shooting, and to give information 
against all unqualified persons, or poachers, to Robert Wilson, jun.. game- 
keeper to the Earl of Ancram, at Femiehirst. 

*' It is expected that such persons as may obtain permission to course, will 
not run more than two dogs at a time. 

'*The following farms constitute the Reserve, which is intended to be a 
general asylum, as well as nursery for the game on this estate, and form a 
tract of land running north and south, nearly through the centre of the 
property, from the English border toward Jedburgh. The march between 
the two kingdoms, at a place called the Three Pikes, on the summit of the 
Carter, is the most southerly point of this tract ; from thence it proceeds 
over the Blackburn Ridge, bounded on the west by Blackburn, and on the 
east by the Carter-burn, through South Dean Law and farm, bounded on 
the west by the Jed, and on the east by what is called Northbank ; after 
leaving South Dean, it passes through the whole of the Falside, over the 
top of the Belinhill, through Westerhouses farms, and terminates at the 
most northerly point of the Baionkin, about 2 miles from Jedburgh. These 
farms are all included in the Reserve, and are for the most part bounded on 
the east and west by their respective marches and dykes. They form an 
uninterrupted chain of communication of about twelve miles in length, 
which it is hoped will be the means of introducing game from the North- 
umberland side into this and the contiguous estates. 

" As Lord Douglas will permit none but gentlemen to shoot, Lord Ancram 
confidently expects that no gentleman will shoot without such permission. 

" Gentlemen having liberty to shoot from Lord Douglas, will receive a 
certificate from Lord Ancram to this efiect, which they will please to shew 
to Robert Wilson, to William Rutherford, baron officer, and to the 
farmers, when challenged by them. 

" Fernibhirst, August 4, 1806." 

In reference to the game in Jedforest, the following letter 

is of some interest : — 

•• Douglas Castle, 3d August, 1750. 
**MvLoRD, — I wrote to your Lordship concerning the game in Jed- 
bourgh forest some time since. I am sure that I aprove very much in the 
steps which your Lordship was pleased to say you intended to take in it, 
and as fare as I could be assisting I was very ready to join you, and I 
ordered my Cleark to write to Ogilvie to wait upon your Lordship, and 
take your derections as to that bussiness of the game through all my lands 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 129 

and all my vassels lands. What I mean by the game is hunting, fishing, 
fowling. Now, I desire the favour of a letter from you, that I may know 
if my factor Ogilvie has obeyed you in every circumstance. I am sure you 
and I used to live in a friendly manner together, and I am persuaded that 
I have don nothing to forfit it. I am, with great esteem, dear Cousin, your 
sincere friend and humble servant." " Douglas." 

Archibald, Duke of Douglas, to his cousin {i.e. William, 3rd Marquess 
of Lothian). 

In 1810, the year of the inauguration of the Jedforest 
Club, at the request of the Earl of Ancram, Lord Douglas 
and his eldest son, the Hon. Archibald Douglas, became 
members of the society. Lord Douglas died 26th of Dec- 
member, 1827. 

The Honourable Archibald Douglas, eldest son of Lord Colonel the 
Douglas, was born on the 25th of March, 1773, at London. Douglas. 
He was appointed colonel of the Forfarshire militia in 
1802, which he held until his father's death, and retired 
in the beginning of 1828. He now assumed the title of 
Lord Douglas, but never married, and died in January, 
1844. He was succeeded by his brother Charles, third 
Lord Douglas, born at London, 1774. He only enjoyed 
the title for four years, and died on the loth September, 
1848. He was succeeded by his brother James. 

James, fourth Lord Douglas, was born at Petersham, 
and was a half-brother to the late peer. He was in holy 
•orders, and married, in 181 3, Wilhelmina, second daughter 
•of the Hon. James Murray. Lord Douglas died, without 
.an heir, on the 6th of April, 1857, when the title became 
extinct, and the estates devolved on his Lordship's half- 
:sister. Lady Montagu. 

DOUGLAS OF SPRINGWOOD PARK. 

This family is a branch of Douglas of Cavers. Sir James 
Douglas, Bart., was second son of George Douglas of Friar- 
-shaw ^ and Elizabeth^ his wife, daughter of Sir Patrick Scott, 

^ Vide ''Gentlemen's Magazine," 26th December. 1746 :— Captain Robert 
•Scott of Horsliehill, of Guise's Regiment, to Agnes, daughter of George 
Douglas of Friarshaw, advocate. November. 1778. — Henry Oouglas of 
Friarshaw died at Springwood Park. 



130 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Bart., of Ancrum. He was bom 1704, and entered the 
royal navy. At the age of forty he became captain of the 
"Mermaid," and in 1757 was transferred to the "Alcide/' 
a cruiser. The " Alcide " was a fast sailing ship, in which 
he was extremely active and successful. Having received 
intelligence that a French frigate of 36 guns, called the 
'^Felicite," had just sailed from Bourdeaux laden with 
warlike stores, he resolved to attempt intercepting her. 
Captain Douglas was so fortunate as to overtake her, and, 
after a short engagement, secured her and a smaller vessel 
as prizes. In 1759 he served under Sir Charles Saunders 
at the reduction of Quebec,^ after which he was sent home 
with the news of the victory — a distinction which gained 
for him a gift of ;^50o from King George H., who also 
created him a Knight of the Order of the Bath. In 1761, 
with Lord RoUo, who commanded the land forces, he 
reduced the island of Dominica, with the trivial loss of 
eight men killed and wounded. Sir James Douglas also 
served as second in command under Rodney at the reduction 
of Martinique, and reinforced the fleet under Sir George 
Peacock, who was proceeding on the memorable and suc- 
cessful expedition against the Havana in 1762. In the 
same year he became a rear-admiral of the white. Peace 
was concluded soon afterwards, and Sir James returned to 
the West Indies as admiral in command of that station. In 
1773 he was appointed commander-in-chief at Portsmouth, 
and, having hoisted his flag on board the ** Barfleur," con- 
tinued on that station for three years, after which he was 
advanced to vice-admiral of Jthe red, and retired on full 
pay. In the year 1750 Sir James purchased from Sir 
William Ker" of Greenhead the estate of Bridge End, 



1 It will be remembered that this was the occasion when General 
Wolfe, when rowing ashore with his army, recited Gray's "Elegy" 
to his companions, remarking as he ended, " I had rather be the author 
of that poem than take Quebec." 

• Sir William Ker, son of Sir Robert Ker of Greenhead ;. both father 
and son held commissions in Cope's dragoons. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 131 

which comprehended a portion of the barony of Maxwell, 
now* called Springwood Park. Friarshaw, the old family 
estate, is situated in the parishes of Bowden and Lilliesleaf, 
and now no longer belongs to the Douglases. Sir James 
represented Orkney in parliament for many years. The 
admiral married first, in 1753,^ Helen, daughter of Thomas 
Brisbane, and by her had four sons and one daughter — 
George, who succeeded; James, who became an admiral; 
Thomas, who died in 1785 ; Henry, a judge at Patna, who 
proceeded to India in the Bengal civil service in 1779; 
and Mary Isabella, who married Sir H. H. Macdougal, 
Bart., and died in 1796. 

Sir James afterwards married Lady Helen Boyle, daughter 
of John, Earl of Glasgow (who died in 1796), leaving no 
children. Sir James was created a baronet in 1786, as a 
reward for his eminent naval services — an honour which 
he did not live long to enjoy, as his death took place in 
the following year at the age of 83. 

At Springwood Park are preserved the following pictures 
in connection with Admiral Sir James Douglas: — A large 
oil painting of the capture of the Havanna ; a full-length, 
life-sized portrait of George III., presented to Sir James 
by his Majesty. This picture now hangs in the Town 
Hall, Kelso (lent by the present baronet to the magistrates 
of the burgh), and a three-quarter-length portrait of Sir 
James in the uniform of an admiral. 

Sir George Douglas, second baronet of Springwood Park, 
M.P. for the county of Roxburgh from 1792, succeeded his 
father in 1787; married, on the i6th October, 1786, Lady 
Elizabeth Boyle, daughter of John, third earl of Glasgow 
(she died 1801), by whom he had a family — viz., Elizabeth 
Georgina, died 1795; Helen, died 1791 ; and John James, 
his successor and only son, born on the i8th July, 1792. 



1 Captain Douglas of Bridge End and Miss Brisbane were proclaimed 
15th April, 1753. — Vidi Crailing Register. 



132 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Sir J. T.Scott- Sir John Jambs Scott-Douglas, third baronet, of Spring- 
B^tf *^' wood Park, was born at his father's residence in Wellbeck 

Street, London. He obtained a commission in the 15th 
Hussars, and served as a lieutenant in that regiment at the 
, battle of Waterloo. He got his troop on the i6th December, 
1819 ; retired on half pay of the 22nd Light Dragoons on 
July 25th, 1820; and succeeded his father as third baronet 
on June 4th, 1821. In the latter year Sir John married 
Hannah Charlotte, only daughter and heiress of Henry Scott 
of Belford, county of Roxburgh, and assumed in consequence, 
by sign-manual, the surname and arms of Scott, in addition 
to those of Douglas. By this lady Sir John had four children, 
viz., George, and three daughters. In 1826, when the 
parliamentary seat for the county was left vacant by the 
death of Sir Alexander Don, he stood for Roxburghshire, but 
was defeated. The matter is thus alluded to in the recently- 
published journal of Sir Walter Scott, under date April I5lh: 
— ** Received last night letters from Sir John Scott-Douglas 
and from that daintiest of dandies. Sir William Elliot of 
Stobs, canvassing for the county. Young Harry ^ is the lad 
for me.*' And again, under date, Jedburgh, April 17th: — 
<' Dined with the judge, where I met the disappointed candi- 
date, Sir John Scott-Douglas,* who took my excuse like a 
gentleman.*' Sir John resided at Springwood Park till about 
the year 1830, when he left home, as it proved, never to 
return. At this time he lived much abroad. He died on 
January 23d, 1836, aged 43. In character he was very 
amiable, though somewhat reserved and fond of retirement. 
He had a taste for classical studies and for good poetry. A 
fine full-length, life-sized portrait of him in hussar uniform is 
at Springwood Park. It is the work of Raeburn, and has a 
special interest in that it was the last picture on which he 
was engaged before he died. Sir John had been dismissed 



1 Henry, son of Hugh Scott of Harden, whom he succeeded as Lord 
Polwarth in 1841. 

■'•Scott's Journal," pp. 177, 179. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 133 

from his sittings for a few days, and was employing the time 
Mrith Lady Scott-Douglas in visiting the scene of the then 
comparatively new poem, **The Lady of the Lake," when at 
Glasgow he read in the papers of the unexpected death of 
the celebrated painter. This was in 1823. The finishing 
touches were put to the picture by Raeburn's pupil, John 
Syme. 

Sir John's name appears on the roll of the Jedforest Club 
in 1 82 1, he and Mr Stavert of Hoscote being the only mem- 
bers elected for that year. 

Sir George Henry Scott- Douglas, fourth baronet, born sir George H. 
at Great King Street, Edinburgh, on June 19th, 1825, was ^Bart"^ 
an only son. He succeeded his father in 1836. He was 
educated at private schools and with a private tutor, the 
Rev. Mr Hamilton (afterwards Dean of Salisbury), at Wath 
Rectory, Yorkshire. It had been intended to send him to 
the university, and he was on the point of taking up resi- 
dence at Trinity College, Cambridge, when, at the age of 
seventeen he received his commission as an ensign in the 
34th (now the Border) Regiment, at that time commanded by 
his connexion and kind friend, Sir Thomas M'Dougall 
Brisbane, Bart., of Makerstoun. He was quartered success- 
ively at Athlone, Corfu, and Gibraltar. Whilst stationed 
at Corfu in 1846, he became owner of the cutter "Vampire," 
and in this vessel, and afterwards in the schooner " Ariel," 
during the next few years, he devoted himself to yachting, 
whenever his military duties would allow. Interesting 
journals of cruises, varied by sporting expeditions, performed 
in company with his brother officers, were kept, and are still 
preserved. For instance, in 1846, he cruised in the Archi- 
pelago, landing on a number of the islands, and subsequently 
visiting Athens, Constantinople, Smyrna, Rhodes, and many 
other places of interest. A copy of Byron's poems formed 
part of the outfit, and the diary notes that " The Corsair " 
was read at Prodano, the scene of that poem. In 
1849, he returned to England and purchased " The Ariel," 



134 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

and enjoyed some yachting on the west coast of Scotland. 
The next year he visited the coast of Morocco and the 
Canary Islands, and his regiment being ordered to the 
West Indies, performed the voyage thither in his yacht. 
Sir George retired from the army, with the rank of captain, 
in 1857. During the rest of his life he never ceased to 
look back with enjoyment to his military and yachting ex- 
periences, whilst Ins friendship with his surviving brother- 
officers was cordially kept up to the last. In the year of 
his retirement from the service he married Mariquita, eldest 
daughter of Senor Don Francisco Serrano Sanchez de Pina 
of Gibraltar. Soon after this he settled down at Spring- 
wood Park, devoting himself to the care of his estates, 
and to field sports. But public duties soon began to claim 
his attention too; and as the admirable business qualities 
which he possessed were brought into exercise, and his 
readiness to undertake work, and to perform it with 
thoroughness, became known, an ever -increasing part in 
these duties fell to his share. In a word, *' whatever his 
hand found to do, he did with his might.'* To trifle, or 
to put his hand to the plough and then turn back, were 
things which his nature did not comprehend. 

The volunteer movement was started in 1858-9, and he 
then became captain of the Kelso company. On the death 
of Lord Polwarth, in 1867, he succeeded him in the com- 
mand of the regiment, which he retained until his death. 
Into this work he threw himself with special energy. In 
fact it was, perhaps, as a volunteer officer that his reputa- 
tion as a popular and painstaking public man was chiefly 
snade. A few years before his death, the battalion, in 
recognition of his services, paid him the graceful compli- 
ment of adopting as its own his family badge with the 
motto, " Do or die.** On the passing of the new Education 
Act, in 1872, he was returned as an original member of the 
Kelso School Board, on which body he continued to serve 
until 1880, when the pressure of other duties had caused 
him to resign. His political views were of a robust and 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 135 

independent conservative character, such as, in the too 
rapid development of the last decade, have already become 
well-nigh extinct in the Lower House ; but his dislike, both 
to putting himself prominently forward and to town life, 
made him ever unwilling to seek parliamentary honours. 
However, he had already come tp the front in elections, 
and when the dissolution of 1874 anived, so much pres- 
sure was put upon him that he deemed it his duty to 
allow himself to be brought forward as conservative can- 
didate for Roxburghshire. After a very hardly contested 
election, he was returned by a majority of 37 over the 
votes obtained by the previous member, the Marquess of 
Bowmont. He represented Roxburghshire in parliament 
until the next general election, in 1880, when he was 
defeated' by the Hon. Arthur Elliot by the small majority 
of ten votes. By this time his interest in politics had 
become thoroughly aroused; and had his life been spared, 
he was prepared to contest the seat again at the next 
election. 

In the summer of 1879 he had sustained an irreparable 
loss by the death of his eldest son, Lieutenant James 
Henry Scott Douglas, of the aist Royal Scots Fusileers — 
a young officer of the highest promise, who was killed by 
the enemy whilst in the performance of his duty as signal- 
ling officer during the Zulu war. In the summer of 1880, 
Sir George visited the Cape, and proceeding up the country, 
erected a tombstone over his son's grave at Kwamagwasa, 
Zululand. 

On the adoption of the Roads and Bridges Act in 
Roxburghshire, he was appointed chairman of the County 
Road Trustees and County Road Board, and in this 
position (as I have been informed on the best authority) 
his thoroughness and administrative ability were seen to 
conspicuous advantage. To these posts he was subse- 
quently re-elected, and he held them at the time of his 
death. Such were the more important public duties which 
he discharged ; but, in truth, his services were at all times 



136 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

available for any good work; and, as is well known, the calls 
upon him were very numerous indeed. Among local insti- 
tutions in which he took a special interest may be named 
the Kelso curling club, of which he was president, and 
the Kelso museum. Sir George may be said to have 
occupied a position somewhat in advance of his time, as the 
numerous farmhouses and cottages which he had erected 
on the best principles amply testify. If there was one 
class more than another who admired and loved him, it 
was the humbler class. He was a man of devout religious 
feeling, and a member of the Established Church of Scot- 
land, whose services he attended regularly. His death 
occurred suddenly — almost without warning, in fact — 
when his powers and faculties were still unimpaired, and 
a few days after he had celebrated his sixtieth birthday. 
Sir George joined the Jedforest Club in i860, and was a 
regular attendant at its meetings. He is succeeded by his 
son — 

Sir G. B. Sir George Brisbane Douglas, Bart., of Springwood 

B^f ^f Park, justice of the peace, and deputy -lieutenant, for the 

Springwood county of Roxburgh, eldest surviving son of the late 

Park. 

baronet. He was born on the 22nd December, 1856, 
educated at Harrow and Trinity College, Cambridge; 
Master of Arts, i88i. Sir George is a man of cultivated 
and varied tastes: he is a clever writer, passionately fond 
of poetry, and quite an authority on Border tradition. He 
has edited "Scottish Minor Poets," and is author of "The 
New Border Tales," ** Poems of a Country Gentleman,*' 
&c. Sir George became a member of the Club in the year 
1886. 

DOUGLAS OF KELSO. 

Archibald Douglas, surgeon at Fort - William, was born 
at Edinburgh, February i6th, 1683. He married Mary 
Wilson, who was born at Glasgow in 1689. Mr Douglas 
died at a comparatively early age (1720), but Mrs Doug- 
las lived to an extreme old age, surviving her husband 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 137 

for nearly sixty-three years. They are both buried at Fort- 
William. They had three sons, the eldest of whom died 
unmarried. The second, George, born at Fort -William, 
June 29th, 171 1, is ancestor of the Douglases of Kelso. He 
married, in 17.31, Margaret Collis. She died in March, 
1778, and he had by her seven children, of whom the 
eldest son was Christopher Douglas, physician in Kelso, 
born 1736. He, as a young man, became an army surgeon, 
and served for some years in the 85th Regiment, dis- 
banded in 1763. For upwards of thirty years the name 
of Dr Douglas appears on the half- pay list. He settled 
in Kelso on leaving the army, and obtained a good country 
practice. Dr Douglas married, in 1769, Pringle, third 
daughter of G. Home of Bassendean. (This old family 
is descended lineally from Alexander, first Lord Home.) 
Dr Douglas, who died on the ist of May, 1805, left nine 
children.^ 

James Douglas, physician in Kelso, fourth child and 
second son of the above Dr Christopher Douglas, was born 
April 1 2th, 1775. His wife, Frances, third daughter of 
James Robson of Samieston,' he married in 18 10, and by 
her had twelve children. He died in 1846. 

Francis Douglas, M.D., was born March 14th, 1815, at Dr Francis 
Ednam House, Kelso, being the third son of Dr James Keko. ' 
Douglas, who for many years had a medical practice in 
Kelso and its neighbourhood. Frank Douglas studied at 
the Edinburgh University, taking his degree of M.D. in 
1836. At an early period of his life he began to show 
a decided turn for the study of natural history, and during 
his college career we find him a member of the Cuvierian 
Natural History Society. During the session 1836-37 he 

1 Pringle Home Douglas, youngest of the nine children of Christopher 
Douglas, bom September x8th, 1784, was a captain in the Royal Navy. 
He married Elizabeth Salisbury, and resided with his wife in Kelso, 
where he died in 1859. They left issue (three children). 

> Vidi Robson of Samieston. 



138 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

was elected president of this society, in which he took the 
greatest interest. In 1837 he commenced practice in Kelso, 
and two years later, leaving a brother in charge of his 
practice, be spent several months in Paris attendmg 
hospitals and lectures. On his return, he continued his 
profession in Kelso for several years, until he was offered 
an appointment as assistant surgeon in the Bengal army, 
which he accepted. He went to India in 1845, and soon 
after his arrival the first Sikh war broke out, through 
which he served with the horse artillery. He was pres- 
ent at Buddoowall, where he, like others, lost all his 
baggage and camp equipage, and at the battle of Aliwal, 
when Sir Harry Smith drove the Sikhs across the Sutlej, 
with the loss of their guns. He was also at Sobraon, the 
final battle of the campaign, under Sir Hugh Gough. He 
received the medal for Aliwal and a clasp for Sobraon. 
The second Sikh war took place in 1848, when he was 
nominated medical storekeeper with the army of the Pun- 
jaub, and was present at the affair of Ramnuggur and the 
battles of Chillianwalla and Goojerat, for which he received 
a medal and two clasps. 

It is said that, in the performance of his duties in the 
field hospital at Chillianwalla when the panic took place, 
a portion of the 14th Light Dragoons, a few of the 9th 
Lancers, and some native cavalry, came galloping into the 
midst of the hospital, upsetting everybody and everything, 
to the dismay of the hospital staff. Douglas, to escape 
from the melee, jumped up behind on a friend's horse, still 
holding his amputating knife in his hand, and there 
remained until the panic subsided, when he returned to 
his duties. 

At the conclusion of the campaign, he was appointed to 
the charge of the Nusseeree Battalion (Ghoorka) stationed 
close to the great hill station of Simla, where he was much 
esteemed and had a large civil practice. When the mutiny 
broke out in 1857 he was at home on furlough, and was 
unanimously admitted as a member of the Jedforest Club« 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 139 

Dr Douglas returned to India in time to be present at the 
final relief of Lucknow, in November, 1858; for this also 
he received a medal and clasp. As a reward for his dis- 
tinguished services he was given the important post of civil 
surgeon of Lucknow, which he held, except for a short 
visit home, till his retirement from the service in 1865. On 
leaving this appointment, he was presented with a silver 
tray and epergne by the principal inhabitants of Lucknow, 
and another presentation of plate he received from the 
shareholders of the Oudh and United Service Bank in recog- 
nition of his services as chairman. 

He now returned to his native town, where, during the 
remainder of his life, he took an active part in every useful 
work. At the time of his death, he was secretary to the 
Tweedside Physical and Antiquarian Society, member of 
the school board, also of the parochial board, chairman 
of the directors of the industrial school, president of the 
Kelso Library, honorary treasurer of the Kelso National 
Security Savings Bank, and a member of committee of the 
Kelso Dispensary, the Union Poorhouse, and the Kelso 
Horticultural Society. He was also a justice of the peace 
for the county of Roxburgh. Dr Douglas wars the oldest 
member of the Berwickshire Naturalists' Club, having 
joined it on the 30th of July, 1834; just three years after its 
foundation. He was especially fond of his garden, where 
he had gathered together a most interesting variety of 
Alpine and other hardy plants. His last illness was 
short ; he died of pneumonia, at Woodside, on the 7th of 
March, 1886.^ 

Alexander Douglas of Chesterhouse, third son of Dr 
Christopher Douglas of Kelso, was born June 19th, 1780. 
He became a writer to the signet, and in 1808 married 

^ Much of the above is extracted from an obituary notice written 
by his friend, W. B. Boyd of Faldonside. for the "Proceedings of the 
Berwickshire Naturalists' Club for 1886." I have also to thank Dr 
Charles Douglas of Woodside for his assistance in this and other 
memoirs. 



140 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Janet, daughter of Robert Bow, merchant in Edinburgh. 
He was for many years a commissioner of police for the 
city. In politics he was a zealous conservative. His public 
spirit is shown by the active part he took in the formation 
of the Princes Street Gardens, which are now acknow- 
ledged to be a striking feature in the beauty of Edinburgh. 
Mr Douglas died in 1 851, at the age of 71. His widow 
survived him for about five years, and both were buried in 
Greyfriars* Churchyard. They had fourteen children. 

<:hristopher CHRISTOPHER DouGLAs of Chestcrhouse and Gateshaw, 
ofXh^er- c^^est SOU of Alexander Douglas of Chesterhouse, bom 
house. February 13th, 181 1, entered the same profession as his 

father in 1834, ^^^ practised in Edinburgh. He was a 
justice of the peace for the city of Edinburgh and county 
of Roxburgh. He joined the Jedforest Club in 1853, ^^^ 
remained a member until his death in 1894. ^^ Douglas 
bought the estate of Gateshaw from Mr Martin Ker for 
;^36,ooo. He had in his possession a number of interest- 
ing letters from distinguished Scotchmen, amongst them 
being several in the handwriting of Sir Walter S>cott. One 
of his literary treasures consisted in the original manuscript 
of "The Bride of Lammermoor," excepting the chapters 
descriptive of the castle of Ravenswood, which are in the 
possession of Sir Basil Hall of Dunglas. Mr Douglas had 
almost Spartan ideas on the subject of bodily endurance. 
He was never seen with an overcoat. He always main- 
tained that people made themselves delicate by over care. 
In his case the theory was eminently successful, as he 
hardly ever suffered from cold. Although he died at the 
age of 83, he might have lived longer if it had not been 
for an accident, which happened to him about fourteen 
months before his death. He fell down the stairs in his 
own house. The severe shock to his constitution rendered 
him an invalid for the rest of his days, but his cheerfulness 
of disposition and patience never forsook him. His younger 
brother succeeds him. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 141 

Alexander Sholto Douglas, W.S., now of Chester- A.S.Douglas 
house and Gateshaw, was born in 1829, and married Helen, house, 
daughter of the Rev. Alexander Forrester, minister of West 
Linton. Mr Douglas has become a member of the Club 
since his brother's death. 

DUNLOP. 

It is not quite clear when the Dunlops (originally an 
Ayrshire family) came to the county of Roxburgh, but, 
^00 years ago, they were settled in the district where the 
present representative of the family is now proprietor of 
Whitmuir Hall and Whitmuir. 

In the early years of last century, Walter Dunlop is 
described in legal documents as tenant of Ashkirk Town 
and of Sinton Parkhead, and about that period, several 
other farms in the district, between Selkirk and Hawick, 
seem to have been in the hands of Walter and John 
his brother, as they are mentioned as holding, in addition 
to the before -mentioned estate, Chisholm, Whitslaid, and 
others. 

James Dunlop, son of the above Walter, was born in 
1710, and, in the year 1760, purchased the property of 
Whitmuir Hall from John Goudie, professor of divinity 
in the university of Edinburgh. The lands had been 
granted in gift to Professor Goudie by George II.; they 
had passed to the Crown on the death of the last repre- 
sentative of the family of Thomas Ker. This family of 
Ker obtained the lands in 1566 by charter from the com- 
mendator of Kelso Abbey. John Goudie was, after several 
years of litigation, confirmed in possession by the House 
of Lords as ultimtss heres. In 1760, two years after the 
final decision, he sold the property to James Dunlop, who 
was succeeded by his son. 

Walter Dunlop^ was born in 1738, and in 1761 married 

^A nephew of Walter Dunlop was Rev. Walter Dunlop of Dumfries, 
of whose quaint wit many stories are told in "Dean Ramsay's 
Reminiscences of Scottish Life and Character." 



142 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Agnes Dickson, eldest daughter of Robert Dickson of 
Hassendeanburn.^ Of the marriage there were seven sons 
and five daughters. 

On the death of Walter Dunlop, in 1808, the property 
of Whitmuir was left to his son Archibald, who sold it in 
1818. Whitmuir Hall remained in trust during the life 
of his widow (who died in 1826), and was afterwards to 
be sold if no member of the family desired to buy it from 
the trustees. It was arranged that the estate should be 
taken by John or William, fourth and sixth sons, respec- 
tively, of Walter Dunlop; and under the supervision of 
William the property was much improved. 

James Dunlop, eldest son of Walter Dunlop, became a 
physician, and in early life resided at Rochdale. In the 
troublous times at the close of the last century, he became 
lieutenant, in the year 1794, in the Rochdale independent 
volunteer company; in 1796 he was gazetted captain. 
He died in Bath in 18 — . 

John Dunlop, the fourth son of Walter Dunlop, was 
born in 1772. In 1800 he obtained the appointment of 
factor to Lady Mary Montgomery, and from that time 
lived at Auchans, in Ayrshire. In 1798 he received a 
commission as lieutenant in the 4th regiment of militia 
of Scotland, of which Henry, third duke of Buccleuch, was 
a colonel. On going to Ayrshire, he was transferred to 
the Dumfries regiment of militia, and in 1808 he received 
a commission as adjutant to the middle regiment of local 
militia for the county of Ayr, which post he held until 
the corps was disbanded. He was an active and energetic 
man in county matters, and between the years 1820 and 
1827 was instrumental, in conjunction with tHe late Mr 
Scott of Maxpoffle, in getting the road constructed from 
Selkirk to St Boswells, and by Midlem to Liiliesleaf. 
John Dunlop died in 1838. He had never been married. 

William Dunlop, sixth son of Walter Dunlop of Whitmuir 

^ Vidi Dickson of Hassendeanburn. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. X43 

Hall, was born on i6th March, 1786. He went to India as 
a cadet in the East India Company's service in 1801. In 
1803 he was made an ensign in the nth Bengal Native 
Infantry; in 1824 l^e was gazetted captain of 'Uhe 26th" NJ.| 
and during the same year he obtained the rank of major, 
and was posted to the 53nd N.I. He was employed on 
frontier duty during the Aracan war, and reduced some 
hill forts. In 1829 the governor-general, Lord William 
Bentwick, requested Colonel Dunlop to take the command 
of the ist European regiment (afterwards ist Bengal 
Fusileers), which had, from various reasons, declined in 
prestige and discipline. This fine old corps was then about 
2000 strong, with a double complement of officers. Drink 
had demoralised the men — how far this was the case was 
shown by the fact of thirty court-martials having taken 
place in quick succession. On taking over the command. 
Colonel Dunlop found a private soldier under sentence to 
be flogged for. drunkenness. The regiment was drawn up 
in hollow square to witness the carrying out of the sentence 
of the court. The prisoner was marched up to the triangles, 
stripped to the waist, and secured. Colonel Dunlop at this 
moment reprieved him. The prisoner stopped before the 
commanding officer, and said: **Your honour shall never 
have cause to regret your clemency; it will go hard, but 
I will become the best man in your regiment." This promise 
was faithfully fulfilled. Colonel Dunlop, upon his retire- 
ment from the ist Bengal Europeans, was transferred to 
the 49th B.N.I. This was in 1832. In May, 1833, Lord 
William Bentwick made him deputy commissary - general 
and, shortly afterwards, quartermaster - general of the 
Bengal army, a post which he held until his death in 
November 1841. In 1836 the commander-in-chief sent an 
embassy to Lahore, at the request of Runjeet Sing. Colonel 
Dunlop, amongst others, formed part of the embassy, 
Runjeet,^ who lived in friendship with the East India 



^Tancred'8 "Historical Medals," p. 302. 



144 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



Company, entertained a project for creating an order of 
knighthood on the same lines as those of European 
nations. He took the opportunity, therefore, when his 
excellency the commander-in-chief (Sir H. Fane) was 
paying him a vist, to establish an order. The following 
is an extract from the Asiatic journal of February, 1838, 
which is interesting as having a bearing upon the subject 
of our memoir: — 

"The ceremony of investing Major-Generals Torrens, Churchill, and 
JLumley, and Colonel Dunlop with the Order of the Second Class of 
the 'Bright Star of the Punjab' took place at Simla by the Com- 
mander-in-Chief, who had received the Insignia of the First Class from 
Ronjeet on his recent visit to Lahore. His Excellency, in the presence 
of the officers of the station, and of the confidential agent of Runjeet. 
placed the star and riband round the necks of the officers, regretting 
he was not empowered by his Sovereign to knight them." 

Colonel Dunlop is represented wearing this decoration 
in a portrait painted in 1839 by Mr J. R. G. Watkins, 
a great • nephew of Sir Joshua Reynolds. By a brevet 
issued at the birth of the Prince of Wales, the colonel 
was raised to the rank of major-general. The order was 
dated 9th November, 1841, a few days after his death at 
Allahabad, at the age of 55 years. 

Charles Dunlop of Whitmuir Hall was the youngest 
son of Walter Dunlop. Born in 1787, and married in 
1844 to Catherine Murray, second daughter of Thomas 
Jardine of Granton, Dumfriesshire. On the death of 
Major -General Dunlop, the estate of Whitmuir Hall was 
purchased by Charles Dunlop from the trustees. He had 
three sons, only one of whom survived him. He died in 
1 85 1, and was succeeded by his son. 



Charles W. 
Dunlop of 
Whitmuir 
Hall. 



Charles Walter Dunlop of Whitmuir Hall; born, 
1846, at Whitmuir Hall. He received his early education 
in Edinburgh. Subsequently, he was sent to Wallace 
Hall School, Dumfriesshire (of which Dr Crawfurd Tait 
Ramage was head master), and completed his education 
in London. For a few years he held a lieutenant*s com- 
mission in the 3rd West York volunteers, but, in 1868, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 145 

he went to India and China for two years, and was thus 
obliged to resign his connexion with the corps. On his 
return, in 1870, he becaihe partner with his cousin, Walter 
Duniop, as an East India and China merchant, in which 
business he has since remained. Mr Dunlop resides at 
Embsay Kirk, Skipton- in -Craven. The house stands on 
the site of the old priory, full particulars of which are to 
"be found in " Whitaker*s Craven." He purchased it from 
the Duke of Devonshire. Mr Dunlop is a justice of the 
peace for the West Riding of Yorkshire and for Rox- 
burghshire. He also is a county magistrate and deputy- 
lieutenant for Selkirkshire. Charles Walter Dunlop married, 
in 1870, Edith Mary, second daughter of John Greenwood 
Sugden, of Steeton Hall, Yorkshire. He has three sons 
.and five daughters by the marriage. Their names are as 
follows : — Walter, Marion Edith, Katherine Mary, Margaret 
Isabel, Charles Bertram, Janet Jardine, Elsie Frances, John 
Sugden. 

Walter Dunlop, the eldest son, was born in 1871, and 
was educated at Haileybury, and Christ^s College, Cam- 
fbridge, where he took his degree of bachelor of arts in 
1893. T^^ estate of Whitmuir (not Whitmuir Hall) was 
:Sold by Archibald Dunlop in 181 8 to Mr Boyd, the suc- 
cessful bidder for Broadmeadows in opposition to Sir 
Walter Scott, and was repurchased by Charles W. Dunlop 
in 1880, from Mr James Hay of Blackball Castle, Aberdeen- 
:shire. This gentleman, a few years before, had acquired 
the property from Sir John Murray of Philiphaugh, to 
whom Mr Boyd sold it in 1851. Up to the middle of the 
last century there stood the ruins of an old Border tower 
•on the Whitmuir Hall estate. This tower was said to have 
been built in 1250; now no trace of it remains. It was 
pulled down more than a hundred years ago, and the 
atones used for new buildings. 



146 ANKALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



CHAPTER VI. 

ELLIOT OF REDHEUCH AND LARRISTON. 

1VTO name is more intimately associated with the wild 
'-^ uplands of our county, and especially with that 
pastoral dale which takes its name from the Liddel water, 
than that of Elliot. Brave and intrepid "riders'* they 
were, and, along with their allies, the Armstrongs, they 
were responsible for not a little of the turmoil and law- 
lessness which kept the middle and west marches of the 
kingdom in such a state of ferment during the sixteenth 
century, and gave so much trouble to the wardens and 
their sovereigns on either side of the blue line of the 
Cheviots. 

We have no data to enable us accurately to determine 
when the Elliots first made their appearance on the Scot- 
tish Border, or to tell us why or whence they came. Mr 
Riddell Carre,^ in his Border Memories^ refers to a tradition- 
ary ancestor as a " Monsieur " Aliot, a distinguished soldier 
who landed in the train of William the Conqueror, and who, 
it is further alleged, received an addition to his arms after 
the conquest. The name Aliot, however, does not appear 
in the Battle Abbey Roll, and armorial bearings are un- 
known till, at least, a century subsequent to the Norman 
conquest. This Aliot is supposed to have settled in Corn- 
wall, and to have been the progenitor of the Eliots of Port 
Eliot, who were, during the sixteenth century, an important 
family in the southern kingdom. Tradition states that one 
of these Aliots accompanied the Bruce in Scotland, and, 
proving a faithful adherent, he received from Bruce, when 
he became king, lands in Liddesdale as a reward for his 

^ His authority for this was probably the Hawick edition of SaUhells, 
where, in the appendix on Lord Heathfield, the story is told. Vide also 
Border Elliotts, p. 464, note. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 147 

fidelity. It has been held by some that the Scotch Elliots 
first settled in Forfarshire, on or near the river Eliot or 
Elot in the parish now called Aberlot, presumed to be a 
contraction of Aber-Eliot, and that from the river the 
family derive their name. Another account connects them 
with EUiotston in Renfrewshire. The author of Bardst. 
Memories says it is alleged that the Elliots -came to Liddes- 
dale to join the Douglases, when their, power was on the 
wane. The migration of a whole clan at this period is not 
unprecedented, the Gordons in the fourteenth century hav- 
ing removed from Berwickshire, where their name still 
lingers attached to lands in the county, to Aberdeenshire, 
where they were destined to become a powerful clan. 

To all these theories, however, as to the original cradle 
of the family, one insupe;:able objection presents itself. 
When they first appear in records in connexion with the 
Borders, it is under the name of Elwald ; towards the end 
of the sixteenth century they are called Eilat or Eliot; and 
not until the seventeenth century do they become Elliot. 
The termination "wald" in Elwald seems to indicate a 
Saxon origin. An "Elwoldus," described as «*dux Estang- 
lorum,*' is mentioned in the Melrose chronicle as having, 
died about the year 964. The cognate names of Adelwold 
and Ethelwold were comnion in Saxon times. The Domes- 
day Book contains the names of an Alwold, a chamberlain 
in Berkshire, and an Adelwoldus, who held a similar office 
in Kent.* There were Elwolds dwelling in the parish of 
EUingham in Northumberland during the twelfth centuiry,* 
at Newcastle-on-Tyne in 1230, and during the thirteenth 
and succeeding centuries the name is . of not infrequent, 
occurrence in the records of the English northern border 
counties. It seems most probable, therefore, that from 
this stock the Liddesdale Elliots are sprung, and not from, 
the descendants of ** Monsieur'* Aliot, or from the legendary 



^ Battle Abbey Roll (Duchess of Cleveland), vol. i., p. 210. 
> History of Northumberland, vol. ii., p. 268. 



148 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Elliots of Aberlot or Elliotston. That the name Elwald 
should find its original form in Aliot seems highly improb- 
able, while, on the other hand, we can clearly trace the 
modification of the name Elwald into Elwad, Elwood, 
EUat, EUott, and finally Elliot. The English Elliots are 
thus probably of an entirely dhFerent family and origin, 
and we have accordingly the singular coincidence of two 
dissimilar surnames, after being subjected to the ill-usage 
of several centuries, eventually acquiring the same form. 

The first recorded mention of the name in Teviotdale is 
on a notarial instrument preserved at Minto, dated 5th 
March, 1425-26, referred to by Mr Armstrong and the Hon. 
G. S. Elliotl^ From the end of that century the family 
seems to have rapidly increased in numbers and influence, 
and to have risen to considerable importance during the 
sixteenth century. The establishment of the family in 
Liddesdale, on the benty uplands by the Liddele and 
Hermitage waters, where still the name remains, is sub- 
stantially proved by the following writs, contained in an old 
progress of the titles of Larriston, hitherto unnoticed, and 
which, by the courtesy of their possessor, we have been 
permitted to examine : — 

On 25th June, 1476,' Archibald, Earl of Angus and Lord 
of Liddesdale, popularly known as ** Bell-the-Cat," granted 
a charter of the lands of Dalman, Bluntwood, and the 
Crouke, to "our velbelufyt fameliar squiar Robert elwald 
of ye Redheuch for his guid and faithful servis to us don 
and for to be don," which lands had formerly been pos- 
sessed by David Purdom. This charter is signed at 
'' Lentole," i.e., Lintalee, an ancient possession of the house 
of Douglas by the banks of the Jed. 

On 7th January, 1479,' the Earl of Angus, at the 
** Ermtage " (Hermitage), granted another charter in favour 



^ History of Liddesdale, &c., p. 179; and The Border Elliots, appendix. 
No. xi. 

*, • Larriston Titles. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 149 

of the said Robert Elwald, and for a similar cause as the 
preceding, of the lands of '< Layhalcht, Carolschelis, harts> 
garth et le faulde," lying in the lordship of <' ledesdale " 
and sheriffdom of Roxburgh, to be held for the services 
of ward and relief. 

On 8th January, 1479,* Angus granted a precept for 
infefting the said Robert Elwald in the lands in the last 
mentioned charter. 

On 2oth September, 1484,' Angus again executed a pre- 
cept directed to "Walter Scot de Edschan, Radulpho Ker, 
fratri Wateri Ker de Cesfurd et Willielmo Elwaldo de 
goranbery" to infeft Robert Elwald of the Redheuch in 
the 20 merk lands of Over and Nether ** Larrostane." 

On 13th November, 1489,' at "Calco," the earl directed 
a further precept to William Ker of " Mersyntoune 
Radulpho Ker de Primsyde louch, Wilielmo elwad de 
gouinbery et Wilelmo gledstanys" to infeft Robert Elwad 
of the " Redehuch " in the lands commonly called " rede- 
huch,** ** layhauch," " hartsgarth," <* caraschele," " daw- 
mane,'* and 'Marostanys superior et inferior,*' lying in the 
lordship of " Lyddalisdale ;'* and on 13th June, 1497/ in 
presence of Ninian Elwald, Robert Elwald, William Elwald^ 
John Elwald, Andrew Elwald, John Crosar, Quyntin Crosar, 
John Grame, and George Forstar, sasine of all the foresaid 
lands was taken in the hands of Richard Hall, notary 
public. We have thus, in the foregoing writs, the original 
infeftments of, probably, the earliest Robert Elwald of Red- 
heuch, first of the long succession of Roberts, chiefs of the 
clan, and frequently captains of the castle of the Hermitage 
under its various lords, and from whom the leading branches 
of the clan presume descent. The actual charter of the 
lands of Redheuch is awanting, but from the terms of 
the precept of 1489, we may presume that it, too, was 
granted to the same individual in whose favour the previous 
writs run. The importance of the family at this period 

1, «. «, * Larriaton Titles. 



ISO ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

is evidenced by the fact that the Earl of Angus, on enter* 
ing into certain treasonable communications with the 
English king in 149 1 (which probably caused the exchange 
of his Border stronghold of the Hermitage for Both well 
Castle in Lanarkshire, a few years later, as a precautionary 
measure adopted by King James), bound himself to hand 
over in surety, along with his eldest son, the Master of 
Angus, <* Robert Elwolde, son to Robert Elwolde, of the 
Hermitage, younger, which late deceassid, to be delivered 
with said earl's son for the same, or with himself."^ From 
a retour of the service of Robert Elwolde, as heir to his 
grandfather in certain lands in the baroqy of Cavers, of date 
15th February, 1497-98, preserved in the Cavers charter 
chest, and quoted by Mr Armstrong in his history, we learn 
that Robert Elwolde the grandfather, and, as we presume, 
first of Larriston and Redheuch, died on 3rd May, 1497* 
From another retour,' dated 19th October, 1501, of a service 
in presence of George Douglas, depute for William Douglas 
of Cavers, sheriff of Roxburgh, at Jedworth, the said Robert 
was served heir to his said grandfather, who is stated to 
have died four years previously, vested in all the before 
mentioned lands in Liddesdale. 

•nth November, 1508 — Robert Elwand of Redheuche 
was witness to a sasine at the Hermitage of Adam, second 
earl of Bothwell, on the death of Patrick, first earl. 

15th May, 1 5 10 — A respite was granted to Robert El- 
wald of Redeheuch and others to come and go freely to the 
court for the space of three months. 

In Hall's chronicle there is mention of a '* Master Eilot/' 
slain at Flodden. Mr 'Armstrong considers it probable 
that this was the chief of the clan, and their leader on 
this occasion. If this be so, and the last mentioned Robert 
of Redheuch was chief of the clan, then the '* Robert El- 
wald of William Elwald of Laverokstanis his brother,*' 



^ VitU Armstrong's History of Liddesdale, &c., p. 144. 

> Larriston Titles. 

* History of Liddesdale, ftc, p. 197. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 151 

in whose favour, along with others, a respite^ was granted 
on 29th January, 151 5, were probably his sons. William 
Elwald of Larestanis is mentioned in a respite' in 151 6. 
On the 8th May, 1526, we find a Robert Elwald again 
in possession of the whole family estates, as evidenced by 
a sasine' of that date, following upon a precept of clare 
constat of that year, under the seal of Patrick, Earl of 
Bothwell, Great Admiral of Scotland, Lord Hales, Creich- 
tain and Ledallisdale, and of Patrick, Master of Hales, in 
favour of Robert Elwald as heir to his grandfather, Robert 
Elwald, in the lands of Reidheuch, Layhauch, Harts- 
garth, Careschel, Dalemane, and also Over and Nether 
Larastanis. Robert Elwald of Redheuch, and Archibald 
his brother, in March, 1537-38, became sureties to enter 
William Elwald in Layheuch, James Elwald and Simon 
Elwald, brothers, each of them under pain of 300 merks 
in the Court of the Burgh of Edinburgh, for breaking open 
the shop of Thomas Grahame in Selkirk/ On 19th Dec- 
ember, 1546, Robert, son of Robert Elwand of the Red- 
heuch, and others, granted a bond to the laird of Ferniehirst, 
signed *' Robert Elwand, sone to Robyne of the Redhwych, 
Archibald Elwand, his eym'*' {i.e. uncle). On 21st June, 
1548, we find Robert "Eliot** still described as "the 
younger,** and, along with Archibald Eliot and William 
Elwald of Laverokstanis, granting a bond to Ferniehirst. 
In the same year, Robert Elliot is designated "captain of 
the Hermitage.** This Robert must have succeeded his 
father previous to 15579 in which year he is mentioned as 
eldest, and along with Martin Elliot, his brother, bound 
himself to enter an Englishman prisoner to the laird ot 
Ferniehirst. Young Robert Elliot was appointed captain 



* Reg. : Sec. : Sig. : vol. v. f. 38. 

* Ibid. vol. iv. f. 77. 

* Larriston Titles. 

* History of Liddesdale &c, app. xxx. 
' Ibid. p. 71, app. 



152 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

m 

of the Hermitage in 1563.* He did not long survive the 
elder Robin, as the military report on the West Marches 
and Liddesdale, compiled between 1563 and 1566, men- 
tions that <'oulde Robyn Eliot and young Robyn, his son^ 
are both dead." The latter was evidently survived by 
a son who was a minor, as Martin Elliot of Braidley, 
brother of Robert of Redheugh, acted as chief of the 
clan during the minority of his nephew. Presumably^ 
owing to this minority we lose sight for a time of the 
laird of Redheugh. In 1573 he appears again, a Robert 
as usual, and in 1580 we find him fighting on the side of 
the Scotts of Buccleuch, in a fray which occurred between 
them and certain Liddesdale thieves, and in which Red- 
heugh was wounded.' He died in 1590 or 1591, survived 
by his wife Marion or Marjorie Hamilton, and two sons, 
Robert and William, both under age.' 

Some useful information regarding the family is supplied 
in a letter from Musgrave to Burleigh anent the Border 
riderSf anno 1583,* in which he gives a list of " EUottes of 
the head of Lyddall "—" Robin Eliot of the Reddhughe, 
chiefe of the EUotes ; Will Eliot of Harskarth, his brother ; 
Gibbe Eliot, his brother ; Arche Eliot, his brother ; Hobbe 
Eliot of the Hewghus ; *' and others of the name. 

In 1592 the chief Ellwood is stated as dwelling at 
"Cariston;"* and Eure, writing to Burghley on 15th 
October, 1596, states that *' Robert Ellott, within these 
twelve years, has erected a strong tower cal^c^d • Lariston.'"* 
The following account of a fray ^t Bewcastle, in which the 
Elliots were concerned, contained in a letter from Henry 
Woodrington to Sir Robert Carey,' throws a lurid light 



1 History of Liddesdale. &c.. appendix, No. 4. xxi (note). 
> Scotts of Buccleuch — Eraser, vol. ii., p. 165. 

• Reg. priv. con,, vol. iv.. p. 646 ; vol. vii.. p. 153. 
' Calendar of Border Papers, vol. i.. p. 121. 

• Ibid, vol. i.. p. 295. 

• Ibid, vol. i.. p. 203. 

' Ibid, vol. ii., p. 605. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 153: 

on the habits and customs prevalent in the Borders during* 
the closing years of the i6th century. The letter is dated 
13th May, 1599, and has reference to the murder of a Mr 
William Rydley. ** Mr Rydley, knowing the continued 
haunt and receipt of the great thieves and arch murderers 
of Scotland, especially them of Whythaugh, had, with the 
captain of Bewcastle, went about by some means to catch 
them in English ground, to avoid offence by entering* 
Scotland ; '* and hearing that there was " a football playing* 
and after that a drynking hard at Bewcastle house betwixt 
six of these Armstrongs and six of Bewcastle, he assembled 
his friends, and lay in wait for them. But the Scots, having* 
secret intelligence, suddenly came on them, and have cut Mr 
Rydley and Mr Nychol Welton*s throats, slain one Robson,, 
tenant of her Majesty, and taken thirty prisoners, mostly her 
tenants, except Francis Whytfield, and many sore hurt, 
especially John Whytfield, whose bowells came out, but 
are sowed up agayne, and is thought shall hardly escape, 
but as yet liveth. The surname and friends of Elwood 
and Armstrong that were pledges at York were all in this 
action, where they had no cause of quarrel, but only wanton- 
ness." (These pledges were at York for Robert Elliot of 
Redheugh and others.) 

This Robert married, firstly, a sister of John Murray of 
Lochmaben, afterwards Earl of Annandale, to whose good 
offices with Buccleuch he was much indebted.^ Walter, 
Earl of Buccleuch, inherited with the lordship of Liddesdale 
a serious feud with Robert -Elliot of Redheugh. In 1591, at 
the time of the forfeiture of Francis, Earl of Bothwell, the 
lands of Over and Nether Larriston, Redheugh, and others 
were possessed by Robert Elliot. On 30th September, 1599^ 
Buccleuch took a bond from Elliot and others of his sur- 
name, for their good behaviour. Elliot, however, was 
allowed peaceably to possess his lands until he began to 
oppress his tenants in Liddesdale, and plotted to lay waste 

1 Scotts of Buccleuch — Eraser, vol. ii., p. 245 et seq. 



154 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the whole lordship. On this account he was charged in 1608 
to remove from the whole of these lands, and Walter, second 
Lord Scott of Buccleuch, obtained a decreet of removal 
against him on 4th March, 161 2. Though Buccleuch and 
his father had a right to the lands since i594» they had, till 
1612, allowed Elliot peaceably to possess them without pay* 
ment of maills or duties. On account of his evil courses, 
however, Elliot was charged, by letters of horning, to remove 
from the lands, and by reason of his disobedience was 
denounced rebel, put to the horn, and letters of caption and 
possession procured thereupon. Through the influence of 
John Murray, his brother-in-law, however, he obtained from 
Buccleuch a heritable right to the lands, with a discharge of 
all bygone violent profits. Not content, Elliot caused the 
disposition and charter to be vitiated in the whole of its 
substantial parts, and added the lands of Blackhope, Green* 
holies and Langhauche, of which he took possession. Among 
the Larriston writs, however, is a sasine in favour of Robert 
Elliot of Redheugh, dated 17th June, 16 13, following on a 
charter and precept by Buccleuch of the lands of *' Over and 
Nether Lariestounis de Reidhewch, blackhoup, grenehoilis, 
hairtisgirth," and the ** fauld," the lands of *^ Carriescheill, 
langhauch, leyhauch," and **dowmane."* 

An action of improbation of the vitiated charter was 
raised by Buccleuch, and it was found to have been vitiated, 
and Elliot was again warned to remove, and denounced 
rebel. Elliot must have come to terms with Buccleuch 
regarding his estate, as he appears to have continued in 
possession. The quarrel, nevertheless, seems to have b.een 
kept up, and the following narrative from a letter to his 
Majesty from the Council, dated 26th March, 1624, dealing 
with these matters, is of interest.' A plot was formed by 
Elliot of Redheugh and others to assassinate Buccleuch. One 



^ Tb€ witnesses to the infeftment were William Eliot of Gorrumberrie, 
William Eliot of Preckenhauch. William Eliot of Rig. Archibald Eliot 
of Clyntwod, Robert Eliot, called of Braidlie, &c. 

* Priv. Cone Records, 1624, vol. xiii.. p. 475, etc. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 155 

of the miscreants, however, ** Gib. Ellott, callit the Tutour, 
who, with Gawane Ellott of Hilhouse and Will Eliot, callit 
Gibbis Will," was to have done the murder, confessed, and 
the Council wi'ote to the King for instructions, giving the 
details of the plot as revealed to them. ** The first attempt 
sould have been made in the town of Jedburgh, quhen the 
Erll as ane of the Commissioners of the middle shyres was 
thair at ane Justice Court, in the execution of his office, 
quhair it was resolvit he sould have been surprysed upoun a 
suddane in the throng quhen he was comeing out of the 
Tolbuith." This plan miscarried, however, as the Earl 
'' disopoyntit thame." It was then proposed that the 
murder might be easily accomplished without hazard in the 
burgh of Edinburgh, '* outher in the throng quhen the Erll 
wes comeing out of the counsalhous, or then at some tyme 
under night, when the Erll, according to his wounted manner, 
was comeing allone in his cotch from his supper, and the 
deid doar might slip down a cloise and so sauflie escape." 
The would-be assassins finding the earl '' moir foirseing to 
prevent any danger than they were able to assail him," 
abandoned the project, and made report accordingly to the 
laird, who '* burst out in vehement and bitter speeches " 
against friends and fortune, and swore to "adventure his 
awin persone*\upon the deed if no other would undertake 
it, '' althocht he knew it would turne to the undoing of his 
whole name." The unselfishness of Elliot in abstaining 
from sacrificing his name to avenge his quarrel, if he could 
get any one else to turn assassin for him^ is difficult to 
appreciate in these ''piping times of peace." Redheugh 
about this time was a prisoner in the Tolbuith of Edinburgh 
for some matter of debt, and one Cuthbert Herroun, an 
Englishman in Northumberland, took occasion to petition 
the Council, accusing him of having stolen 13 kye and oxen 
from him. Robert Elliot, on the intercession of Buccleuch, 
seems to have been pardoned for his share in the plot to as- 
sassinate, but his accomplice in the theft of the cattle, Adam 
Usher, was hung. Robert Elliot married, secondly, Lady 



356 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Jane Stewart, daughter of Lady Margaret Douglas, widow 
of Sir Walter Scott of Buccieuch, by her second husband, 
Prancis Stewart, Earl of Bothwell. She seems to have 
endured considerable privations on her husband*s behalf, 
whose condition at this time was none too flourishing, as 
-is seen from the following entry in the Privy Council 
Pecords under date of 30th November, 1624: — **The Lords 
of the Secret Counsell having considered from time to time 
various petitions from Ladie Jean Stewart, spous of Pobert 
PUote of Ridheugh, now prisoner in the Tolbuith of Edin- 
burgh, quhairby she deplored the hard estate of her husband, 
^c, on account of debt, she having impandit her abuly- 
nientis and cloaths for intertainment of hir husband in 
^ward,'* being devoid of means, the Lords, commiserating 
the condition of the young gentlewoman, granted her relief 
to the extent of 100 merks, with the addition of an allow- 
ance of about one shilling a day in our money, during 
pleasure. 

There was no male issue of this marriage, and the 
:Succession, in consequence, devolved upon Margaret, the eldest 
•daughter, who married James Elliot, sixth son of the deceased 
Gilbert Elliot of Stobs. There exists a deed bearing to be 
-** Ane Settlement of the Estate of Laristone * upon James 
Plliott of Stobs and Margret Elliott, Lady Laristone, his 
:spous, and their airs allenarly/ *' This deed, which is dated 
-8th August,. 1637, is granted by Robert EUote of Redheuche 
and Lady Jean Stewart,^ his wife, for fulfilment of a marriage 
-contract entered into between them and Margaret Eliot, 
their eldest daughter, on the one part, and James Eliot, son 
-of the deceased Gilbert Eliot of Stobs, on the other (this con- 
tract being dated 27th January, 1637), and dispones to James 
EUot and his heirs the lands of Redheuch, Hartisgarth, 
Leyfauld, Carriescheill, Langheuch, Over and Nether Lairie- 
stounes, Blackhoup, Greinhoillis, and Dowmaynholme, re- 
serving the liferent of Lariestoun, Blakehoup, and Green- 

1 Mr Gilbert Elliot of Craigend is one of the witnesses to Robert 
.Elliot's signature. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 157 

hoillis to Robert and Lady Jean Eliot. The reader will 
observe that among these lands are included those which 
Robert Elliot's father was said to have wrongously inserted 
into his charter from Buccleuch. 

Robert Elliot, last proprietor in the direct male line, died 
apparently about 1644, and James Elliot, who succeeded him, 
was dead by 1666. In 1692, Robert Elliot, as heir of Robert 
Elliot his grandfather, in all the lands mentioned in the 
settlement, except the lands of Redheuch, obtained a writ in 
his favour, a precept of clare constat, from the Commission- 
ers of the Duchess of Buccleuch and Monmouth. He was a 
son of James and Margaret Elliot, and married, firstly, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Maxwell of Cowhill, and, secondly, a 
•daughter of Scot of Todrig. Somewhere about the year 1688, 
jhaving got into financial difficulties, the estates were adjudged 
from him. The lands of Grenhope, Reidheugh, Hartsgarth, 
Langhauch, and Gullenflat became the property of 
Christopher Irving of Binks ; Blackhope, of William David- 
rson, merchant and late bailie of Jedburgh.^ Over and 
Nether Larriston were saved from the wreck, and redeemed 
by Robert Elliot, described as eldest lawful son of the 
•deceased Robert Elliot, in 1695. ^^ retained this remnant 
•of the old possessions of his race for four-and-twenty years, 
and on 2oth July, 1719, for the sum of ;^i8o8, 6s stg., the 
lands of Over and Nether Larriston and Larriston Rig passed 
from his hands to John Oliver, elder, of Dinlabyre. Robert 
is said to have left three sons — Robert, James, and Gilbert. 
The two former died without issue, while Gilbert, who settled 
in Newcastle, was the father of Major-General William 
Elliot, of whom, hereafter, I quote a short account of the 
Elliots written by William Scott of Burnhead in 1775 to 
•Gilbert Elliott of Otterburn, which coincides to some extent 
with what has already been stated : — 

"The questions which you propose to me with respect 
to the antiquity of the families of the name of Eliott are 

1 Charter of Adjudication, 1695 — Larriston Titles. 



158 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

very difficult to be resolved, nor will I take upon me to 
determine anything positively on that head ; but as I would 
willingly gratify you to the best of my power, I shall give 
you a few anecdotes that have occurred to me concerning 
these families. 

** From the known antiquity of the families of that name in 
the west of England, I was long induced to think that 
possibly all of the name in Scotland, as well as in England, 
might have derived their origin from them; but upon the 
strictest inquiry, I could never meet with any documents 
to support that conjecture. As for the presumption of their 
having come over from the Continent at the conquest, I 
should be glad to learn what grounds the gentleman had 
for it ; I never could find any, though I had in my custody, 
and carefully examined, two different copies of the roll of 
Battel Abbey, or list of the persons who came over to 
England with William the Conqueror. These families, 
however, of the surname of Eliott seem to have been very 
ancient. Mr Willis, a learned antiquary, places them in 
Devonshire about the reign of King John ; but his account 
is rather too general, and when he condescends to par- 
ticulars, the only voucher he quotes is dated 1433; why 
he did not mention older ones, if he had any, I cannot 
conjecture. The family of Eliott of Port Eliott, in Cornwall, 
reputed of the same stock, was seated there about the year 
1540. Whether the English or Scotch Eliotts were originally 
connected, I cannot find; but the surname is so strictly 
identical in both as scarcely to leave room for supposing 
it to have had a different rise in each. Now it hath been 
universally acknowledged that the families of the simame 
of Elliott in Scotland were settled upon the Borders in 
Liddisdale towards the close of the fourteenth century, in 
the reign of King Robert III., or about the year 1395; 
that for sundry generations before that period they had been 
seated in Angus,- or Forfarshire, at or near a village there 
called Elliot, which still subsists ; that about the time speci- 
fied they were brought thence by means of the first Douglas^ 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 159 

Earl of Angus, as is supposed, to strengthen the Douglas 
interest upon the Borders towards England; and, lastly, 
that they came there, not as one family, but in a body 
or clanship, for soon after they appear to have been very 
numerous, and proved to be powerful opposers of the 
English for near two centuries in defence of the Borders. 
Joining in a party against the Regent Murray in Queen 
Mary's time, twenty-four persons were slain in a scuffle 
at the town of Hawick, whereof fifteen were found to be 
of the name of Eliott. It hath been a constant prevailing 
belief, particularly among the predecessors of the family 
themselves, that their sirname was originally assumed from 
the aforesaid village of EUet about the time when simames 
began to be first used in Scotland. And, indeed, most of 
the sirnames of the oldest families, natives thereof, were 
local, as derived from places they resided at, or from lands 
they possessed at the time. This gives them a high 
antiquity. I have only to add, what possibly you know 
better than I do, that the family of Elliot of Laristoun 
or Redheugh was unquestionably the original stock from 
which all of the name in Scotland at least sprung. The 
direct male line failed about the beginning of last century, 
and the heir female was married to James Eliott, a sixth 
son of the family of Stobs, who continued the line; so 
that Eliott of Stobs, the principal cadet, hath since been 
considered as undoubted heir male of that ancient family. 
I am, dear sir, your most obedient servant, 

(Signed) WILLM. SCOTT. 
"Crowbill, I2th April, 1775." 

William Elliot of Larriston, a major-general of artillery in 
the East India Company's service, claimed to be the last of 
the line of Redheuch who possessed Larriston. He entered 
the service as a cadet in the year 1763. On the 3rd of 
February 1764, he obtained his commission as lieutenant 
fireworker; on the 6th of August, 1768, as first lieutenant, 
and became lieut. -colonel in 1782. He resigned his com- 

M 



i6o AUNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

xnifisioii in January^ i785» for some unexplained reason, but 
was reinstated* and died a inaj(»>general in 1803, and was 
buried at Littleham, near Exmouth, in Devonshire. During 
the years of his long service in India, William Elliot distin- 
guished bimself as an active, .able, and good officer through 
much active service. His conduct in the Carnatic, where he 
commanded for some time the artillery attached to the army 
under Sir Eyre Coote, procured for him the entire approbation 
of this great commander. He was never married, and was 
survived by a .sister, Jajie Stewart, the wife of Mr John 
Williams. 

Concerning General Elliot's early history, previous to his 
obtaining a commission in .the East India Company's service 
in 1763, there appears to be a certain ampunt of mystery. 
X.ocal historians have asserted that in early youth he was em- 
ployed as a bailor's .i^iytfentice on the farm of Bowanhill,in 
Xeviothead. From there he went to Stobs, and acted as a 
stable boy to Six Gilbert Elliot, who, at the same jtime, 
xecognised him as the head of the clan^ and is said to have 
educated him^ and no doubt procured his commission to 
India. Fortunes were rapidly made in the Far East in those 
dayii, and on Elliot's xetum to his native land in 1786 he at 
ionce entered into xiegotiations with Mr Oliver of Dinlabyre 
ior the purchase of the estate of I^arriston. In December 
J 786 the purchase of Over and Nether Larriston and Blacks 
hope was conipleted, and in 1790 the farm of Haggiehaugh or 
Larriston Rig, as it was formerly called, was added to the 
estate for the sum of ^1900. In order to establish his 
position as head of his name. Colonel Elliot, as he then was, 
went through the usual form before the sheriff and a jury at 
Jedburgh. 

The evidence produced in the service of Colonel 
William Elliot as heir male and of line in general 
to the deceased Robert Elliot of Larriston, his grand- 
father, in 1788, is by no means convincing. Henry 
Elliot of Flatt was his best witness, and he really 
proved nothing of much importance. He seemed to have 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, i6x 

remembered Robert Elliot when a boy, and he stated 
that he was married to a Miss Appleby, but no proof 
of such a marriage was forthcoming. Gilbert, his son, 
father of the colonel, married Margaret, daughter of James 
Scott of Caufield (near Langholm). The other witnesses 
were — George Elliot of Princes Square, London, son of a 
Roxburghshire parish minister; a superannuated village 
blacksmith ; and an old lady, Margaret Beattie, born at 
Hartsgarth, who brought forward no evidence of the slightest 
value. But, dare we assume, that owing to the gallant 
colonel having so recently acconmiodated the sheriff, Mr 
Oliver of Dinlabyre, by purchasing his estate of Larriston, 
the latter, in an affair of such apparently trivial importance, 
as a proof of propinquity, where nothing more momentous 
4han a question of relationship was concerned, may have 
somewhat suited his judgment to the sentiments of his 
friends? A willing and good-natured jury, quite ready to 
accept the colonel as chief of the clan Elliot merely for the 
pleasure of toasting him as such at the banquet prepared in 
anticipation of their verdict, was a valuable adjunct to the 
proceedings of the day, which terminated in conviviality 
and good fellowship. 

The retour to Chancery bears that he was the eldest son 
•of the deceased Gilbert Elliot, some time of Newcastle- 
upon-Tyne, who was the only son of the deceased Robert 
Elliot of Larriston by his first wife, Mrs Appleby. In 
this service it is stated that the name of Gilbert Elliot's 
wife was Margaret, daughter of James Scott of Caufield. 
In a family tree, however, of the Scotts of Davington, 
attached to which there is a footnote, signed by Locd 
Napier, dated at Thirlestane, i8th July, 1833, to the effect 
that the pedigree was given to him by Mr Martin, the 
^'Windsor Herald;" the latter part of the evidence having 
been obtained by the "herald" from persons living about 
Langholm. It is stated in this pedigree that Gilbert 
Elliot of Newcastle married Margaret, daughter of Robert 
Scott of Davington, in Eskdale. No doubt the '* Windsor 



i62 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Herald" had satisfactory proof of this statement. In 17931 
General William Elliot of Larriston matriculated arms in 
the "Lyon Register," viz.: — Gules on a bend or, a flute 
on the first in the sinister chief point, a mortar proper. 

On the death of the general, Larriston passed by his will 
to George Scott, his cousin, third son of Captain James 
Scott, tenant of Forge, when he added Elliot to his name. 
In Liddesdale there was an unfounded belief that George 
Scott was an illegitimate son of General Elliot. This 
proves, on inquiry, not to be the case : vide the pedigree 
of George Scott Elliot of Larriston in his memoir. 

SCOTT . ELLIOT. 
George F. George F. Scott, when a youth, was a clerk in the 

of Larriston. oflSce of Messrs Law & Bruce, London. He was the third 
son of James Scott, who resided at Forge, in Canonbie,^ and 
his wife Phoebe, daughter and co-heiress of James Dixon of 
Bath, and sister of Lady Harris (wife of Lord Harris). He 
assumed the name of Elliot on his succeeding to the estate 
of Larriston in 1803, under the will of Lieut. -General 
William Elliot, who was a cousin of his father's. Owing to 
an accident in childhood, he was deprived of the use of one 
limb, and from this infirmity was known throughout Liddes- 
dale by the sobriquet of " Pinfoot." 

As a proprietor he interested himself in farming, and is 
said to have stocked Larriston with Southdown sheep, a 
venture which did not prove successful. He had succeeded 
to an estate already heavily burdened with debt, and in 1843 
he was obliged to sell it. Mr James Jardine became the 
purchaser at a cost of ;^29,ooo. Mr Scott-Elliot became a 
member of the Club in 18 13. He died in 1848 at his 
residence of Woodslee, near Canonbie, where he is buried. 
He married, in February, 1818, Ann Marjory, eldest daughter 
of James Bell, merchant in Leith, and of Woodhouselees, 

^ Forge, the residence of Captain James Scott, belonged to the Duke 
of Buccleuch. He held it on a lease from 1778, and the endurance was 
for 61 years, to expire in 1839. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 163 

Canonbie, and had four sons and three daughters. Captain 
James Scott, his father, mentioned above, was in the Hon. 
East India Co. Marine, Bombay, and died on the loth 
of October, 1799, lea\dng a family of three sons and four 
daughters. The eldest son, William, lost a leg at Burtpore, 
where he died. The second, Charles, served as A.D.C. to 
Lord Harris at the siege and storming of Seringapatam, 
1799, and died in 1822.^ 

The family genealogy shows descent from the Scotts of 
Davinton, the elder branch of the family of Thirlestane, in 
Ettrick. Thirlestane having passed from the main stock 
when Sir John Scott of Thirlestane, being over-burdened 
with debt, surrendered the estate to his cousin, Patrick Scott 
of Tanlawhill, retiring himself to Davinton. Robert Scott 
of Davinton, alive in 1743, being father of William Scott 
of Meikledale (died October loth, 1772, aged 78), who 
was the father of Captain James Scott. Margaret Scott, 
younger daughter of the said Robert of Davinton, married 
Gilbert Elliot, the issue of the marriage being General 
William Elliot of Larriston, to whom George F. Scott- 
Elliot succeeded. 

ELLIOT OF STOBS. 

The origin of the family of Elliot of Stobs has long 
exercised the minds of those interested in the genealogies of 
our Border families. Besides Redheugh, to which has 
always been assigned the premier position of the clan, there 
were several well-established branches of the family of Eliot 
in existence before we first find mention of Stobs. Thorlies- 
hope appears in records before the end of the 15th century, 
and Park, Falnash, and Gorunberry are all likeways of prior 
date. The Hon. George F. S. Elliot, in his work on " The 
Border Elliots and the Family of Minto," which has recently 
been published, has collected and carefully set out all the 
data obtainable bearing on this question, and has studiously 



1 Vide list of Lord Harris's staff at the siege of Seringapatam, 1799. 



i64 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

criticised the statements of variotis authorities from Sat- 
chells to Sir William Fraser, bringing together much valu- 
able information hitherto inaccessible to the general public. 
Himself descended from the family of Stobs through that of 
Minto, his doubts on the chieftainship of the family rightly 
existing in that branch after the failure of the Redheugh 
line may be regarded as being free from any bias which 
might have affected the judgment of other authors. But 
though the claim of Stobs to be now chief of the Elliots 
may be open to criticism^ yet as a family it has taken a 
position in the history of the clan of which it may well be 
proud, and can claim as one of its younger branches the 
family of Minto, which, through its succession of eminent 
lawyers and statesmen, has added a lustre to the name of 
Elliot. 

The first mention of Stobs occurs in the year 1544* 
when it was in the possession of one Clemyt Crossier.^ It 
subsequently passed into the hands of the Glaidstanes, 
one of whom sold it to Gavin Elliot, the first laird of Stobs 
of that name. That this Gavin was one of the Elliots of 
Horsliehill has now been conclusively proved by evidence con- 
tained in a reported case, to which he was a party, concern- 
ing the tutorship to a certain William Elliot, described as 
" oy '* {ue. grandson) and heir to William Elliot of Horslie- 
hill. The claimants to the post were William Elliot of 
Horsliehill, the pupil's uncle, and Gavin Elliot, who is 
described as of Stobs, brother of the deceased William 
Elliot of Horsliehill, and therefore grand-uncle to the pupil. 
Gavin's contention that William, the father's brother, though 
more nearly related, was legally incapable of acting, owing 
to his being under 25 years of age, was sustained by the 
Court.' Gavin was a son of Robert Elliot of Horsliehill 
(dead in 1564) and a younger brother of William Elliot of 
Horsliehill, along with whom he was tried in 1564 for the 

1 Hamilton Papers, ii. 742. 

> The case is reported in the Register of Acts and Decreets. 



ANN-ALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 155 

murder of Scott of Hasdendeaa, but wasF acquitted. In 1583 
he purchased Stobs from Gawane Glad^tanes, and iar the 
contract he is desigmtted as *'of Ballilie," a possession in 
Selkirkshire of th& Horsliehill fiamily* He died in- 1606 or 
1607, survived by bis wife Jean Scott and three daughters, 
his co-heiresses-— (i) Jean, (?) who married Thomas Ruther- 
ford of Edgerston ; (a) Dorothy, who married George Haly- 
burton of Pinikell ; and (3) Esther, who marrted Gilbert Kerr 
of Loch tour. 

The second laird, Gilbert, known as ^'Gibbie wi' the 
gowden garters,*' the founder of the present Stobs ftimily, 
does not appear upon the scene imtil ten years after the 
death of Gavin. Of his origin we cannot speak with any 
degree of certainty, nor do we know what, if any, connexion 
he had with Gavin, his predecessor. It was commonly 
believed, on the authority of Scott of Satchells, himself a 
contemporary of Gilbert Elliot, that Gilbert*s feither and 
mother were ** Elliot of Lariston and Scott of Buckleugh," 
and that authority in several places refers to his relationship 
to the Buccleuch family. A genealogy of 1704-1707, pre- 
served amongst the Minto archives, gives him a similar 
origin, and, in addition, states that he was the third son 
of Robert Elliot of Larriston and a daughter of Buccleuch ; 
his elder brothers being Robert of Redheugh and William of 
Hartsgarth and Larriston. In Crawford's *^ Peerage of 
Scotland/' published in 1716, we find the statement which 
Douglas and subsequent authorities have adopted, viz., 
that Mary, a daughter of Sir Walter Scott (afterwards 
Lord Scott of Buccleuch), married William Elliot of 
Larriston and had issue, but no proof is forthcoming 
either of the marriage of a daughter of Buccleuch to the 
laird of Larriston or that Buccleuch had a' daughter named 
Mary. It has always been believed, nevertheless, that 
Gibbie was somehow related to the Scotts of Buccleuch. 
A tradition still lingers in Liddesdale that one of the lairds 
of Larriston had a mistress named Maggy Kidd, whom 
he kept at a place still known, as Kidd's Walls, but the 



i66 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

liaison coming to the knowledge of his wife, he removed 
Maggy Kidd to a tower which he built for her on the 
farm of Hartsgarth, where she gave birth to several 
children, for whom the laird made provision; and for the 
son of one of these, Stobs is said to have been purchased, 
and that from him the present family of Stobs is descended.^ 
Mr Elliot shows that this tradition cannot refer to Gibbie, 
whose father, according to such evidence as we have, was 
legitimate, but might be connected with Gavin, the first 
laird. From the evidence of two deeds, dated 29th and 
30th January, 1616, and by reference to family relations, 
Mr Elliot demonstrates that Gibbie is identical with a 
person who, previous to that date, was known as Gilbert 
Elliot of Horsliehill, while the heraldic bearings on his 
seal, affixed to the later of these deeds, show that he 
belonged to the Redheugh or Larriston family, not to that 
of Horsliehill, whose arms were quite distinct. 

Gilbert Elliot of Stobs married Margaret Scott, commonly 
called Maggie Feudie, the daughter of Scott of Harden, a 
celebrated freebooter, by Mary Scott, "the Flower of 
Yarrow," daughter of William Scott of Dryhope. A cir- 
cumstance relating to this marriage contract merits a place 
in the records of the family, as it strongly marks the pre- 
datory spirit of the times. Finding it inconvenient to take 
home his bride, Gibbie besought his father-in-law to allow 
him to remain under his roof. With this request Har- 
den complied, on condition that he was to receive for his 
board " the plunder of his first harvest moon ; " a most 
singular agreement, and highly characteristic of the law- 
lessness and barbarity of the age. Gilbert Elliot flourished 
in the beginning of the seventeenth century, and died be- 
tween 1632 and 1637. ^^ ^^^ ^^^ SOQS ^^^ 0°^ daughter: — 

z. William, his heir. 

2. Gilbert of Craigend, named in a royal charter, dated 
1638. 



^ Jeffrey's Roxburghshire, vol. iv., p. 237, note. 



I 



ANNALS OF 'A BORDER CLUB. 167 

3. Archibald of Middlestead, married Elizabeth Lermont, 
named in a deed of 1637. 

4. Gavin of Midlem - Miln and Grange, ancestor of 
Minto. 

5. John, an advocate, married Marion, daughter of David 
M*Culloch of Goodtrees. 

6. James, who married Margaret, daughter and heiress 
of Robert Elliot of Redheugh and Lady Jean Stewart his 
wife. 

7. Elizabeth, married TurnbuU of Minto, who sold the 
estate in 1673 to Scott of Harwood. 

William Elliot* of Stobs had a charter of the Town- 
of-Rule in 1649. He chose for a wife a daughter of the 
house of Douglas, and married Elizabeth of Cavers, and 
by her had "a family of three sons and a daughter : — 

1. Gilbert, his heir — of whom presently. 

2. Gavin, who got a disposition from his wife, whose 
name was Nicolson, to her whole e£fects, £16669 13s 4d, 
dated 1687. 

3. William Elliot of Peebles, whose male representative 
was Sir John Elliot of Peebles, physician in London, 
who died in 1787. 

4. Margaret, the only daughter, married William Ben- 
net of Grubit. 

Sir Gilbert EUet, first baronet of Stobs, distinguished 
himself as a loyal soldier during the period of the civil 
war, and for his services was knighted by Charles IL In 
*' Metcalfe's Book of Knights '* the following circumstance 
is mentioned : — '* Gilbert Ellet of Stobes, colonel to Sir 
Walter Scott's regiment of horse, was knighted by the 
king at Largo Sands on the 14th February, 1651." Charles 
had been crowned at Scone on the ist of January, and was 
on his way south when he performed the ceremony. His 
Majesty created him a Nova Scotia baronet on the 3rd 



^ See further as to William Elliot in appendix No. ix. to " Border 
Elliots." 



1 68 AifN^ALS OF A BORDER CLVlB. 

of December, i566. Sir Gilbert married a sister of the 
third Lord Cranstown, whose family at an early period 
Owned the estate of Stobs, her mother havings been a 
daughter of Francis, Earl Bothwell. By this lady he had 
an only son, William, who became his heir. By af second 
wife, Magdaline, daughter of Sir James Nicholson of 
Lasswade, he had a son, Thomas, who predeceased his 
father, and died, in 1671. Gilbert came ne^et, of whom I 
have something to say presently. Magdaline, Sir Gilbert's 
daughter, married Sir John Pringle of Stichill. 

The estate of Stonedge (now called Greenriver), in 
Hobkirk parish, was owned by a branch of the family 
of Stobs« It is now in possession of Lord Sinclair. 
There is in his lordship's charter box an itisl^ument of 
sasine in favour of William Elliot of Stobs and his eldest 
son, Gilbert, dated 8th September, 1651. Gilbert Elliot 
disponed his property to Thomas, his eldest son by his 
second marriage, in 1669. Thomas died two years after- 
wards, and his next brother, Gilbert, succeeded to Ston- 
edge on the death of his father, Sir Gilbert Elliot, in 
1683. 

Gilbert Elliot of Stonedge married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Scott of Harwood-on-Teviot, and died in 1705. His 
family consisted of eleven, five sons and six daughters. 
Gilbert was his heir, and married. The other sons — 
Walter, William, John, and Robert — did not marry. The 
daughters all entered the married state. Magdalene 
married Robert Ainslie; Christian, Mr Dawson, surgeon, 
Kelso ; Helen, Mr Haswell, provost of Jedburgh ; Eliza- 
beth, Mr Ogilvie; Isobel, Mr Jerdon,'a Newcastle merchant; 
and Margaret, John Angus, son of John Angus, an eminent 
solicitor {vide Cleghorn). 

Gilbert Elliot of Stonedge and Howa succeeded his 
father, and married Cecily Kerr, eldest daughter of William 
Kerr of Abbotrule. In the year .1718 he sold Stonedge 
to Adam Scott, in Wauchope, for 36,500 merks. This Adam 
Scott was brother of William Scott in Hobsburn, chamber- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 169 

lain to the Duchess of Buccleuch. Gilbert Elliot's family 
consisted of two sons, viz., Gilbert Elliot of Otterburn and 
Charles, captain of a ship in the Lisbon trade. Margaret, 
the only daughter, was married to William Ker of Gate- 
shaw. Gilbert Elliot of Otterburn^ was an army surgeon. 
He joined the 15th Light Dragoons in May, 17599 and 
his commission is signed by George IL George Augustus 
Eliott, of Gibraltar fame^ was at that time the colonel of 
the regiment. After his retirement from the service, 
Gilbert became agent to Elliot of Wells, and transacted 
all the business connected with his various estates in the 
county of Roxburgh. 

Sir William Elliot, second baronet, of Stobs« He married, 
in the first instance, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Sir John 
Scott, Bart., of Ancrum, and by her he had no children. 
By his second wife^ Margaret, daughter of Charles Murray 
of Haddon, he had two sons and five daughters: — 

Gilbert, his heir, who succeeded to the title and estates. 

John, who is supposed to have entered the army. 

Margaret, married, on the 2nd of September, 1703, to 
John Paterson of Granton, afterwards Sir John Paterson, 
Bart., of Eccles. 

Magdaline, married to Alexander Scott of Sin ton. 

Janet, who married Captain Alexander Corbet. 



* The following is an extract from hi« will : — " I, Gilbert Elliot, lately 
iteiding at Wells, in the parish of Hobkirk, Roxburghshire, make this 
thy last will and testsUnent. I resign my soul to the Creator, as in a 
Being infinitely good. As to my body, my will is that it be buried in 
the isle built by ffle in Mobkirk churchyard. And in order to prevent 
any dispute or doubt amongst- my Surviving heirs and relations, I hereby, 
for the love and affection I bear to Jane and Margaret Ker, daughters of 
Gilbert Ker, Ute of Gateshaw (my nephew), bequeath to them all my 
estate and effects. I leave to William Elliot of Wells the bedstead, 
curtains, and furniture of the white room in the house of Wells, also the 
elbow chair of James Thomson the Poet, that was sent from London by 
the late Dr John Armstrong. And I hereby appoint the said William 
Elliot and Gilbert Ker, Dr Charles Ker, and Ellis Martin, executors of 
this my last will, re-dated 9th day of January, 1801. 

(Signed) " Gilbt. Elliot. 



170 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB 

Elizabeth, married to John Forrest, merchant in Edin- 
burgh; and 

Christian, who married the Rev. Mr Blair, episcopal 
clergyman in Edinburgh. 

Sir William died, February 19th, 1699, and was survived 
by Lady Eliot t until August, 1739. 

Sir Gilbert Elliot, third baronet, of Stobs, succeeded to the 
title and estates upon the death of his father. 

In 1695 it appears that Lymecleuch and Penchrise were 
aded to his estate : — The lairds of these places committed a 
theft (not specified), and were charged, under the pain of 5000 
merks, to appear before the Justiciary Court. Gilbert Elliot 
of Stobs became surety for them, and the latter absconded. 
Gilbert Elliot paid the fine, and apprised these two places in 
security for the said outlay. The Elliots of Lymecleuch 
and Penchrise extracted another 5000 merks from Gilbert 
Elliot, and thus these two fine farms passed into the hands 
of the Stobs family {vide Dictionary of Decisions, Court of 
Session — William and Robert Elliot of Lymecleuch and 
Penchrise, against John Riddell of Hayning). 

Sir Gilbert married Eleanor, eldest daughter of William 
Elliot^ a merchant in London.^ Their marriage contract is 
dated April 14th, 1702, and contains in the testing clause an 
interesting list of persons who witnessed the signing of the 
deed — 

" In witness whereof (written be Walter Deans, servitor to Thomas 
Pringle, wryter to the. signet) both the saids parties have subscrived thir 
presents, place, day, moneth, and year of God above written, before these 
witnesses, William Lord Cranstoun, Mr Robert Pringle, under Secretary 
to her Majestie for the said Kingdom of Scotland, Mr William Eliot, 
woolen draper in the city of London, and John Eliot, tayleor there. 
(Signed.) Gilb. Eliott, Ellenor Eliott,Wm. Elliot - — Cranston, wittness ; 
Ro. Pringle, witness ; Will Eliot, witness ; John Elliott, wittness." 
Bated 14th April, 1702." 

Sir Gilbert lived a good deal in Edinburgh, as he found it 
convenient for the education of his large family. He 



1 William Elliot, merchant, London, purchased the estate of Wells, five 
years after his daughter Eleanor's marriage. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 171 

purchased, from Sir John Scott, Bart., of Ancrum, a house 
situated in Trunks Close, Canongate, which at that period 
was considered a fashionable quarter in the capital of 
Scotland. In the year 1707 Sir Gilbert's father-in-law, M;r 
William Elliot, who had acquired a large fortune as a 
London merchant, purchased from Thomas Rutherford the 
estate of Wells, and afterwards became possessed of other 
estates in the county. Sir Gilbert's children were as follows : 

William, born in London, 1703 ; died 5lh December, 1705. 

Gilbert, born at Stobs, August, 1704; died 17th January, 
1706. 

John, born in Trunks Close, Edinburgh, 1705, who suc- 
ceeded. 

William, born in Trunks Close, Edinburgh, 1706. 

Gilbert, born in Trunks Close, Edinburgh, 1707.^ 

Eleanor, born in London, 1708. 

Charles, born in London, 1709. 

Archibald, born at Stobs in 1710. 

Eliott, born at Stobs on the 17th of February, 1712. 

''On Sunday, the 1 6th March, 1712, between 11 and 12 at 
night, the House of Stobs took fire and was burnt to the 
ground." " 

Gavin was born at Wells, 19th July, 1713. 

George Augustus, at Wells, the 14th December, 1717.' 

It was not until after 1723 that the family of Stobs spelt 
their name with a double T and single L. On some old 
linen still preserved in the family (now in possession of Lady 



^ Trunks Close has now disappeared ; it was formerly entered from the 
High Street, a little west from John Knox's house. 

* At this fire, it is said, all the most interesting old papers and parch- 
ments of the family were destroyed. Hawick people are blamed for 
setting the house on fire. It is a curious fact that no mention is made of 
this in any of the Parish or Hawick records. In 1770 Sir Francis writes 
to his sister Ann. in which he declares his wish "to build a proper 
mansion house suitable to the estate, as there is none at present, the 
house having been totally destroyed by fire some years ago." 

> The list of Sir Gilbert's children is copied from an old paper found 
amongst the documents of Gilbert Eliott of Otterburn. 



172 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Elliot) is the baronet*s name, and tlso that of his wife, 
woven into the fabric — ^* Sir Gilbert Eliot of Stobs, Bart.," 
in the centre the family arms, and beneath ** Dam Ellenor 
Eliot, 1723." The families of the name of Elliot had become 
so numerous that it almost became necessary that the 
leading branch of the clan should spell their name somewhat 
differently from the others. 

The double L and single T 
Descend from Minto and Wolflee, 

The doable T and single L 
' Marks the old race in Stobs that dwell, 

The single L and single T 
The pilots of St Germains be, 

But double T and double L 
Who they are^ nobody can teU. 

In the year 171 3 Sir Gilbert was presented with the 
freedom of the city of Edinburgh. In the year 1726 he 
attended a head court in Jedburgh, and in an after-dinner 
quarrel killed Colonel Stewart of Stewartfieldi at the Black 
Bull Inn. For this he received a pardon, and survived the 
event nearly forty years. He died in 1764. 

Before proceeding with the family of Elliot, I shall here 
give a short account of George Augustus, the youngest 
son of Gilbert Eliott, third baronet. He was bom at Wells 
{not at Stobs) in 171 7. Stobs had been burnt to the 
ground in 1712, and was not rebuilt for some years after the 
birth of our young hero. At the age of 17 years he joined 
the 23rd Regimeat (commanded by JUieut.-(}pl. Peers) as a 
volunteer. From thence he went into the engineer corps at 
Woolwich, and remained there until his uncle. Colonel Elliot, 
^a.de him adjutant in the 2nd troop of horse grenadiers. 
At the battle of Dittengen he was wounded; he became by 
purchase lieut. -colonel of the corps. He was appointed 
aide-de-camp to King George II. In 1759 he was selected 
to raise, form, and discipline the first regiment Light Horse, 
•called in compldment to himself Elliot's Horse. He was 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CIVB. 173 

promoted to ibe rasik of brigadier - general aod rserved in 
Germany^ and in the expedition against tbe Havanna, with 
iiistinction. When peaoe was declared, his gallant regiment 
was reviewed by the King, who asked General Eliptt 
what mark ol honour he could bestow on- it. J£liott 
answered that his r^ment would be proud if his Majesty 
should think that by their services they were entitled to the 
distinction of *' Koyals." It was accordingly ipade a royal 
regiment, now .the 15th, or King's Royal Regiment of 
Hussars. 

In 1775 General Eliott commanded the forces in Ireland> 
after which appointment he got the important command of 
Gibraltar. The general married a sister of Sir Francis 
Drake of NutweU Court. He was created Lord Heathfield, 
JBaron Gibraltar, on the 14th June, 1787, and died at Aiic^la- 
Chapelle on tbe 6th July, 1790, on his way to Gibraltar to 
take command of the garrison.^ 

Heathfield is in the Eastbourne division of Sussex. In 
:J766 Lieut. -^General G* A. Eliott purchased the estate of 
Bailey Park, in tbe parish of Heathfield. After his death, it 
was sold by his representatives, in 179 1, to Francis Newbery, 
-of St Paul's Churchyard, who added to its extent and 
•changed the name to Heathfield Park. When Lord Heath- 
field died he was 72 years of age, and his remains were 
•deposited 'in a vault in Heathfield church, although after- 
wards removed to Buckland in Devon^*-Lady Heathfield's 
iiGune. A plate is erected in Heathfield church to his 
memory, it is focmed out of a Spanish ^un belonging .to the 
floating battery destroyed before Gibraltar in 1782. 

The .following anecdote is related of the general: — Durii^ 
the siege of Gibraltar, it was customary with Jtbe general to 



^ Lord Heathfield was sufifering from paralysis when his Majesty George 
III. again entrusted to him the command of this important fortress. The 
gallant old general had expressed a wish that he might end his days in 
command of the Rock — vide his butler's MSS. journal. On the death of 
JLord Heathfield, General Boyd was gazetted as governor of Gibraltar — 
Vide "London Qacette." 



174 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

take his nightly rounds in order to see that all was safe, and 
the sentinels alert on duty. One night, disguised in his 
roquelean, he came upon a sentry who, overcome with fatigue, 
was fast asleep with his firelock in his arms. The general 
clapped him on the shoulder, and raising him, said, ** Thank 
God, General Eliott awoke you.** The poor fellow, almost 
petrified with astonishment, dropped his arms and fell down ; 
the general, however, walked on, first desiring him to be 
more careful. The soldier expected death as his punishment, 
and dreaded the dawn of day, which he supposed would 
usher him to a court-martial. Fortunately for him, how- 
ever, the general did not mention the circumstance, or take 
further notice of it. A few days afterwards, the general 
being present while the soldiers were busily employed in 
carrying bags of sand, the man showed himself particularly 
industrious, and as if eager to make atonement for his past 
neglect, took two bags to carry, beneath the weight of which 
he could scarcely stand. This being observed by the general, 
he again addressed him, saying, '' My good fellow, do not 
attempt more than you are able to carry, lest you should 
sustain an injury that might deprive us of your future services, 
which are of infinitely more consequence than the additional 
burden you would now car; y." 

Sir John Eliott of Stobs, fourth baronet, succeeded 
to the title and estates when he was about sixty 
years of age. It is said he was named John, after 
the great Duke of Argyle. He did not long enjoy 
his patrimony, as he died three years later. When he 
was a boy of eight years of age, the burgh of Jed- 
burgh, in 1713, made him a burgess and guild brother. 
Sir John married Mary Andrews, of London, and died in 
1767, leaving two sons — Francis and John — and a daughter^ 
Anne. (She lived, in the year 1770, in New Portugal Street^ 
London.) 

Sir Francis Eliott of Stobs, fifth baronet, succeeded his 
father. He married Miss Dickson of Eckford, and had two 
sons and two daughters — Mary and Anne. Mary married Mr 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 175 

Guy, and died on 19th March, 1826. The two sons were 
William and John. The latter went out to the West Indies, 
and when the 20th (or Jamaica regiment) Light Dragoons 
was raised in 1792, obtained a commission in it. He eventu- 
ally became a captain, and died August nth, 1795, on board 
the ** Princess Royal'* packet on his passage home from 
Jamaica. 

John, brother of Sir Francis Eliott, was for many years a 
subaltern officer in the Inniskilling Dragoons, and died as 
senior lieutenant of the regiment in August, 1769. 

Sir William Eliott of Stobs, sixth baronet, succeeded his 
father in 1791, and died May 14th, 1812. He married Mary, 
youngest daughter of John Russell, Clerk to the Signet, on 
30th March 1790, in Edinburgh. They had seven sons and 
two daughters. Lady Eliott died in the year 1850. Sir 
William left his successor a heritage of law suits, which cost 
large sums of money, and kept his eldest son in straitened 
circumstances throughout his life. The family was as 
follows : — 

1 . William Francis, who succeeded. 

2. John, major of the 8th Hussars, died unmarried in 
1838. 

3. Gilbert, a member of the Jedforest Club {vide Memoir). 

4. Sir Daniel Eliott, K.C.S.T., Madras Civil Service, 
bom 1798, died 1872; he married, in 1818, Georgina, 
daughter of General G. Russell, and had issue. 

5. George Augustus, admiral R. N., born 1799, married, 
and had issue. 

6. Russell, admiral R. N., born 1802, married, and had 
issue. 

7. Alexander, late naval storekeeper, Devonport, born 
1807, died unmarried. 

8. Bethia Mary, died unmarried. 

9. Euphemia Elizabeth Anne, married, 1859, to the 
Rev. Dean Bagot. 

Sir William Francis of Stobs, seventh baronet, was born 
in 1791. As a youth of sixteen he joined the Queen's Bays 

N 



176 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



as cornet. He obtained his lieutenancy on 27th July 1809, 
and remained in the regiment until 181 2, when he retired* 
on succeeding his father to the title and estates. The 
regiment was quartered in London for some time, and the 
Prince Regent, who was always fond of a game at cards and 
the society of ofScers, is said to have played a good deal 
with " certain officers of the Bays.** It was also rumoured 
at the time that young Eliott lost rather heavily to his 
Royal Highness.^ 

Sir William married, on the 22nd March, 1826, Theresa 
Janet, eldest daughter of Sir Alexander Bos well, Bart., 
of Auchenleck, granddaughter of the biographer of Johnson. 
Lady Eliott died at Belvidere, Broadstairs, Kent, on the 
9th of October, 1836. Sir William, for a short period before 
his death, occupied his residence at Wells.^ He died on the 
3rd September, 1864, and was succeeded by his son. Sir 
William Francis Augustus Eliott of Stobs, eighth baronet. 

Other members of this family are : — 

Alexander Boswell, born 1830, for a short time in the 
Royal Navy, married, and has issue. 

George Augustus Leslie, born 1833, married, and has 
issue. 

Jessie Blanche Adelaide, married, in 1868, to Captain 
James John Wood, late 45th Foot, and died at 9 West- 
bourne Street, Hyde Park, on the 26th of January, 1898, 
leaving a son and two daughters. 

Frances Elizabeth, died in 1869, having married, in 1855, 
Edmund Forrest of the Post Office, and left a large family. 

Sir William SiR WiLLiAM F. A. Elliot was born at Stobs in 1827, 

Baronet, of joined the 93rd Highlanders as an ensign by purchase in 

Stobs. 1845. He married, in December, 1846, Charlotte Maria, 

daughter of Robert Wood of Quebec (she died 29th 



^ In i8z8, Sir W. F. Eliott succeeded his cousin, the Right Honourable 
William Elliot, M.P., to the estate of Wells ; the second Lord Heathfield, 
on whom the estates were entailed, having died previously in his 63rd 
year. Wells is now the property of John Usher of Norton. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 177 

November, 1878). Sir William married, secondly, on the 
22nd of April, 1879, Hannah Grissell, widow of Henry 
Kelsall, and daughter of H. T. Birkett of Foxbury, Surrey. 
He has a daughter by his first marriage. Sir William Eliott 
is a justice of the peace and deputy lieutenant of the county 
of Roxburgh, and resided for many years at Wells. He was 
proposed as a member of the Jedforest Club by his friend 
Edward Maxwell of Teviotbank, and unanimously admitted 
in 1869. The arms, crests and supporters in augmentation 
of the family arms, which were granted by the Crown to 
Lord Heathfield and his descendants in 1787, were re- 
granted by James Tytler, Lyon Depute, 28th of January, 
1859, to Sir William Eliott. 

Gilbert Eliott was third son of Sir William Eliott, Lieutenant 
sixth baronet of Stobs, by Mary, daughter of John Russell EHoi^Royal 
of Roseburn. He entered the Royal Artillery as second Artillery, 
lieutenant, on loth July 1815, about three weeks after 
Waterloo. He was promoted to first lieutenant, 6th August, 
1 82 1, and on that date was placed upon half-pay. Gilbert 
Eliott returned to Scotland, and resided with his mother at 
Wells. He was elected a member of the Jedforest Club on 
the 30th October, 1822. In 1830, he married Isabella Lucy, 
daughter of the Rev. Robert Elliot,^ rector of Wheldrake, by 
Mary, daughter of the Rev. E. Garforth of Askham, 
Yorkshire, by whom he had two sons. His brother-in-law, 
Dr Grant, having decided to go to Australia for the benefit 
of his health, Gilbert Eliott arranged to go there also with 
his wife and family. He commuted his half- pay in 1839, 
and left for Australia the same year. He eventually settled 
down in the neighbourhood of Brisbane, where he was 
elected Speaker of the House of Assembly, in recognition of 
his talents. He died on the 30th June, 1871, leaving a son, 
Gilbert William, who was a police magistrate at Toowomba, 
Queensland, and has two sons now in the colony. 

1 He was the fourth son of the third Sir Gilbert Elliot of Minto.— Vide 
Dr Grant, Jedburgh ; Eliott of Stobs, and Elliot of Minto. 



178 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



T 



CHAPTER VII. 

ELLIOT OF MINTO. 

HE Elliots of Minto are a branch of the family of 
Stobs. Gilbert Elliot, a distinguished lawyer and 
judge, the founder of the Minto family, was a younger son ^ 
of Gawin or Gavin Elliot of Grange and Middlem-niiln. 

Sir Gilbert Elliot, first baronet, of Headshaw, was born in 
1 65 1, and was educated for the law. He first became a 
writer, and he acted professionally for the celebrated preacher, 
Mr William Veitch, who was condemned to death for his 
religious opinions. Mr Elliot, by his tact and perseverance, 
was instrumental in getting his client's sentence commuted 
to banishment. This was in 1679. Some years afterwards 
Mr Elliot also suffered for the same reason, and was 
denounced by the Scottish Privy Council. In 1685, ^^ §0^ 
into further trouble, and was condemned for treason, having 
been in arms with Argyle. Through interest he obtained a 
pardon in 1687, and was admitted to the Scottish bar the 
following year.* He formed one of the deputation from 
Scotland to the Prince of Orange in 1689. At the revolution 
he was appointed clerk to the Privy Council, which office he 
held until 1692. Mr Elliot purchased the lands of Minto 
from the daughters of Walter Riddell, second son of Walter 
Riddell of Newhouse. 

He was created a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1700, and 
was confirmed by William III. in his title to the barony of 
Headshaw, by the granting of a charter. Sir Gilbert was 
M.P. for Roxburghshire; a Lord of Session in 1705 (under 

^ Robert, eldest son of Gavin Elliot, married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Elliot of Harwood-on-Rule. and had a daughter, Magdalene, who was 
married to James Pasley of Craig, near Langholm, and died on the 13th 
of April. 1773, aged 78. There was, with other issue of this marriage, a 
son, Sir Thomas Pasley, Royal Navy, created a baronet in 1794. 

* His house was in Niddries Wynd, Edinburgh. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 179 

the designation of Lord Minto), and died in 1718, aged 67. 
He married, first, Helen Stevenson, daughter of a burgess of 
Edinburgh, by whom he had one daughter, Mary, who was 
married to Sir John Elphinstone of Logie. Sir Gilbert 
married, secondly, Jean, daughter of Sir Andrew Carre of 
Cavers, and had two sons and a daughter, as follows : — 

Gilbert, who succeeded. 

John, captain Royal Navy, M.P. for Cockermouth, 1766-8. 

Ellenor, married, November 1737, to John Rutherford of 
Edgerston, advocate. 

Sir Gilbert Elliot, second baronet, of Minto, was born in 
1693, and succeeded his father in 1718. He became an 
advocate. In this profession he quickly rose, and on the 
4th of June, 1726, he was elected a Lord of Session, when he 
likewise assumed the title of Lord Minto. He was after- 
wards appointed Lord Justice Clerk, and represented 
Roxburghshire in Parliament, 1722-7. Sir Gilbert married 
Helen, daughter of Sir Robert Stewart, Bart., of AUanbank, 
county of Berwick, and died at Minto on the i6th of April, 
1766. With other children, he left three sons and one 
daughter, Marianne by name, who died at her house in 
Buccleuch Place, April loth, 181 1 {vide Edinburgh Evening 
Courant). His sons were: — 

Gilbert, who succeeded — of whom, presently. 

Andrew, of Greenwells, county of Roxburgh, lieut.- 
governor. New York. 

John, a distinguished naval officer, who attained the rank 
of admiral in 1787. He captured a fleet commanded by the 
famous French admiral Thurot, in 1760, as follows : — 

Thurot invaded Ireland in 1760. His fleet consisted of 
three frigates and two smaller vessels, carrying in all 168 
guns and 1970 men. He landed a force, about a thousand 
strong, at Carrickfergus, and plundered the town. In the 
meantime. Captain Elliot of H.M.S. '*iEolius," 32 guns and 
210 men, who was stationed off Kinsale, having received 
advice from the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland that several 
French ships had appeared off Carrickfergus, sailed with 



i8o ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the " Pallas" and " Brilliant," two 36 gun frigates, in quest 
of them. Captain Elliot, on the 28th of February, 1760, 
sighted the enemy not far from the Isle of Man, when a 
general action took place, which continued for an hour and a 
half, after which the Frenchmen struck their colours. The 
gallant Thurot was unfortunately killed after he had ordered 
the colours to be hauled down, and about 300 of his men 
were killed and wounded during the action. After getting 
his prizes repaired in Ramsey bay, Isle of Man, Captain 
Elliot took them to Kinsale. For his services he was 
thanked by the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, and the free- 
dom of the city of Cork was presented to him in a silver box. 

An anecdote of Captain Elliot and Captain Kempenfelt is 
related in Ruddtman's Weekly Mercury : — 

" As soon as Sir Charles Hardy was appointed to the command of the 
fleet, Lord Sandwich sent for Captain Elliot, and told him, an able 
officer was wanted to be captain of the flagship ; and that, from his 
former services and bravery, he was thought a proper person, and, 
therefore, he now made him an ofier of that station. 

" Captain Elliot thanked his lordship for the good opinion he entertained 
of him, but begged leave to decline so great an honour, as he had but little 
experience in a large line of battle, and therefore, could not in conscience 
undertake a duty he did not think himself completely qualified for. As to 
his own single ship, he would fight any force his king or his country 
should send him against ; for neither he nor his men had yet learned the 
nice calculations, so very fashionable at present, of the superiority of a 
few odd tons or guns. He said, however, though he did not think himself 
fit for the station his lordship had pointed out, he knew an officer of 
great bravery and experience. Captain Kempenfelt, who had made the 
management of a line his particular study. 

*' His lordship said, that Captain Kempenfelt had been thought of ; but 
he was not sure it would be agreeable to him. Captain Elliot replied, 
that Captain Kempenfelt was an old and gallant officer, and perhaps 
thought himself neglected; that rather than his king and his country 
should be deprived of his services, he would willingly give up to Captain 
Kempenfelt his commission of Colonel of Marines, to which his Majesty 
had been pleased lately to appoint him. When Captain Kempenfelt 
heard this, he said, ' Elliot is too generous ; I will not accept his post, 
which he himself well deserves ; but his good opinion of me has confirmed 
me in accepting the command.' " 

Sir Gilbert Elliot, third baronet, of Minto, was born in 
September, 1722, and was educated, like his forefathers, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. i8i 

for the Scottish bar, and passed as advocate on the loth 
December, 1743. Sir Gilbert was a man of refined tastes; 
he was a poet, and also a philosopher. This, however, did 
not prevent his being practical, and he filled several high 
and important official stations. He was M.P. for the 
county of Selkirk, 1754, ^°^ ^^^ again returned for the 
same constituency in 1761. On a vacancy occurring in 
the representation of his native county, he resigned his 
seat for Selkirkshire, and became M.P. for Roxburghshire. 
Sir Gilbert was one of the Lords of the Admiralty; keeper 
of the signet in Scotland ; and treasurer of the navy. He 
married, on 15th of December, 1746, Agnes Kynynmound, 
heiress of Melgund, in Forfarshire, and of Kynynmound, 
in Fifeshire, by whom he had four sons and one daughter. 
He died at Marseilles, whither he had gone for his health. 
In January 7, 1777; and she died at Bath in the end of 
the following year {vide Ruddiman^s Weekly Mercury), He 
had a family, of whom — 

Gilbert, who became first Earl of Minto. 

Hugh, born 6th April, 1752 — a Privy Councillor, governor 
of Madras and the Leeward Islands ; died loth December, 
1830, and buried in Westminster Abbey. 

Alexander Kynynmound, born 1754; served in East 
Indies; died 1778.* 

Robert, bom 4th April, 1755 ; rector of Wheldrake, York- 
shire ;^ died 1824, leaving issue. 

Eleanor, rharried, 26th September, 1776, William Eden, 
first Lord Auckland; he died 28th May, 1814; and she 
departed this life i8th May, 1818. 

Sir Gilbert Elliot, fourth baronet, and first earl of Minto, 
was horn on the 23rd April, 1751. He was educated at 
Christchurch College, Oxford, matriculating in 1768, and 

1 In India, October, ryyS, Alexander Elliot, brother of Sir G. Elliot of 
Minto, Bart. He died in the 25th year of his age, in a journey through 
the Mahratta country, having been sent from Bengal on an important 
embassy to Poonah. — Vidt Ruddman^s Wiehly Mercury, 1779. 

< Vide Gilbert EUiot, Stobs femily. 



i82 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

was, in due time, called to the bar. In January, 1777, he 
married Anna Maria, eldest daughter of Sir George Am* 
yand, Bart., and during the same year was elected member 
of parliament for the county of Roxburgh. The university 
of Oxford conferred the degree of D.C.L. upon Sir Gilbert 
in July, and about the same time he was appointed gover- 
nor of Corsica and a member of the Privy Council. 

In 1794 the French surrendered the principal strongholds 
they had hitherto held in Corsica, and on the 15th June, 
1794, Sir Gilbert became viceroy, and held the reins of 
government for a time. An insurrection occurred in 1796, 
and the French party having gained considerably in 
strength, the British found their position extremely precari- 
ous. It was resolved to abandon the island, and Sir Gilbert, 
with his staff, sailed from Corsica, ^ route for England. 
He arrived at Gibraltar on February 9th, 1797, and on 
the nth he left it, with Nelson, in H.M.S. " Minerve," in 
order to report his observations on the state of Italy to 
Admiral Sir John Jervis before proceeding home. The 
''Minerve" had scarcely reached the Straits, when she 
found herself hotly pursued by two Spanish line -of- battle 
ships; and the frigate being cleared for action. Sir Gilbert 
was requested to so dispose his papers that a portion of 
them could be sunk if necessary. At the hottest moment 
of the chase the danger was averted by an incident which 
is related in the narrative of the battle of St Vincent by 
Colonel Drinkwater. The sudden cry of "A man over- 
board!" having led to the lowering of the jolly-boat with 
a party of sailors, under the gallant young Hardy, the 
current of the Straits rapidly carried the boat far astern 
of the frigate — a circumstance which, combined with the 
fast sailing of the foremost of the enemy's ships, rendered 
the situation of the crew extremely perilous. At this crisis, 
Nelson, casting an anxious look at the hazardous situation 
of Hardy and his companions, exclaimed, <*By God, TU 
not lose Hardy ! Back the mizzen top-sail." No sooner 
said than done ; the '< Minerve's " progress was retarded, the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 183 

boat regained the ship; and the Spaniard, confounded by 
this manceuvre, and shrinking from the challenge he believed 
to be offered him, shortened sail, and was soon lost to sight.^ 
In the course of the ensuing night, which was very foggy, 
the "Minerve" found herself surrounded by strange sails. 
When morning broke, no ships were to be seen, and Nelson 
became assured that he had passed through the main fleet 
of the enemy; and on the 13th he joined that of Sir John 
Jervis, to the gratification of all parties. Sir Gilbert then 
left the ** Minerve," and repaired on board the "Lively" 
frigate, under orders to proceed with him immediately to 
England. However, Elliot could not bear the idea 
of leaving the British fleet at this critical juncture. He 
had his request to remain as a volunteer on board the 
*• Victory " refused, but he obtained the admiral's assent to 
his second proposal — that the "Lively" should be retained 
to carry home the despatches concerning the expected 
naval engagement. 

Thus it was, that Sir Gilbert Elliot was an eye-witness of 
the battle of St Vincent (1797). His descendants, further- 
more, possess a sword taken from the captain of the 
" San Josef," by Nelson himself, and by him presented to 
Sir Gilbert. 

The "Lively" arrived at Plymouth on Sunday, 5th March, 
1797, and Captain Calder, who had charge of the despatches, 
immediately landed and proceeded to London. The people 
of Plymouth were firmly persuaded that the French and 
Spanish fleets had effected a union, and that ruin and 
invasion stared them in the face. When told of the glorious 
battle, they would hardly believe it, and such was the panic 
prevailing, that only fifteen guineas in gold could be 
borrowed in the town to enable Sir Gilbert and his servants 
to pay their way to London. For his services in Corsica 
and elsewhere, Sir Gilbert was created Baron Minto of 

1 Vide " Life of Sir Gilbert Elliot." vol. ii.. p. 375-6. 



i84 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Minto, in the Peerage of Great Britain (dated 20th October, 
1797)- '^he n^x^ important position the new peer filled was 
that of Envoy Extraordinary to Vienna in 1799; in 1806 he 
was President of the Board of Control for India. Soon 
afterwards Lord Minto was appointed Governor General of 
India, and, sailing from England in February 1807, arrived 
at his destination towards the end of the July following. 
During his tenure of office, he annexed Amboyna and the 
entire group of the Molucca Islands, for which a badge was 
given by the East India Company to a portion of the native 
troops engaged. He took from France, in 1810, the isles of 
Bourbon and the Mauritius, and in the following year 
wrested from the Dutch the valuable island of Java, 
accompanying the expedition in person, and taking an active 
part in all the arrangements for the campaign.^ For this, a 
medal was given to the native troops, and a gold medal of 
the same design was conferred by the Directors of the East 
India Company on the earl himself.* 

In 1813 he was superseded by the Earl of Moira, and on 
the arrival of that nobleman he immediately left for England, 
where he arrived in May, 1814. 

In the very moment of hard-won triumph, Lord Minto 
returned to England, where the allied sovereigns had met to 
celebrate the downfall of Napoleon ; but from national 
rejoicings, from personal honours, and even from the joyous 



1 Extract G. G. O. — The Governor-General, before his departure from 
Java, has announced his resolution to propose the commemoration of this 
conquest, and of the whole efforts of valour and discipline to which the 
country owes so great a benefit, by medals, to be distributed to the troops, 
and his Lordship had the gratification of finding on his return to Bengal, 
that his wishes had been anticipated, and that the measure was already in 
progress by the orders of His Excellency the Vice-President in Council. — 
Fort William, nth February 1812. 

> Amongst Lord Minto's followers in the expedition to Java was the 
poet Leyden, who caught a chill after the British troops had entered 
Batavia. and died a few days afterwards, 28th August, iSzi, in his 36th 
year. His sorrowing friends, Lord Minto and Mr Raffles, followed his 
remains to the grave. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 185 

welcome of children and family friends, his thoughts turned 
longingly homewards, where his wife waited for him, in 
redemption of a pledge given when they parted that their 
reunion should take place at Minto, thenceforth to become 
the abiding home of their remaining years. 

Lord Minto's departure from London had been fixed for 
the 3rd of June, but on the 28th of May Lord Auckland, who 
had gone to rest in perfect health, was found dead in his bed. 
In order to be with his sister in her overwhelming grief, and 
to follow his brother-in-law to the grave, his Lordship had at 
once postponed his departure for Scotland. Unhappily, the 
funeral was arranged to take place at night, at Beckenham, 
the parish in which the home of the bereaved family was 
situated. A cold drizzling rain was descending, and Lord 
Minto caught a severe chill. His longing, however, to get 
home was too strong to be opposed on medical grounds, and 
he set out on his journey northward, attended by a doctor. 
He grew rapidly worse, and sank at Stevenage, the first stage 
of his journey to Scotland.^ 

It fell to John Elliot, his third son, who had accompanied 
his father from India, to carry down the mournful and almost 
incredible tidings to the country alive with preparations for 
his reception. In the town of Hawick the people were in 
readiness to draw his carriage through the streets; on the 
hills the bonfires were' laid, and it was under triumphal arches 
that the message of death was borne to her who waited at 
home. 

The surviving children of the first Earl of Minto were as 
follows : — 

I. Anna-Maria, married in 1832 Lieut.-General Sir Rufane- 
Shaw Donken, K.C.B., G.C.H. 

II. Harriet Mary Frances. She died in July, 1825. 

III. Catherine Sarah, married in 1825 Sir John Peter 
Boileau, Bart. 

I. Gilbert Elliot, who succeeded to the title. 

1 " Life and Letters of Gilbert Elliot. Earl of Minto/' vol. iii.. p. 204. 



i86 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

II. George Elliot, born 1784, entered the navy; was a 
lord of the Admiralty, and was for his distinguished services 
created a K.C.B. He also held the appointment of general 
of the Mint in Scotland. He married in 1810, and had a 
family of five sons and four daughters. 

III. John Edmond Elliot, M.P., born in 1785, went to 
India as a young man when his father. Lord Minto, was 
Governor-General, He married Amelia, third daughter of 
James Henry Cassmaijor, of Madras. Mr Elliot represented 
his native county in Parliament. He hunted a pack of his 
own harriers in Roxburghshire, and when he gave them up, 
in 1844, William O. Rutherfurd, younger, of Edgerston, fell 
heir to the best of the pack. Mr Elliot was a heavy weight, 
but was remarkable as a very straight rider to hounds. He 
was a thorough spoc^sman in every sense of the word, and a 
popular favourite in the county. He died in 1862, his eldest 
son, Lieut.-Colonel E. J. Elliot, 79th Highlanders, pre* 
deceased him. His second son, William Brownrigg, is 
mentioned later on. He had also two other sons, who served 
in India, and two daughters. 

Gilbert GILBERT Elliot, second Earl of Minto, eldest surviving 

larrf^^'t^ son of the first earl by his wife, Anna Maria, daughter of 

Sir George Amyand, Bart., was born at Lyons on i6th No- 
vember, 1782. He was educated at Edinburgh University, 
and was afterwards prepared for the diplomatic service. 
On the 2Sth of August, 1806, he married at Lennel House, 
Berwickshire, Mary, eldest daughter of Patrick Brydone of 
Coldstream, and the same year he was elected member of 
parliament for Ashburton, Devonshire, which he continued 
to represent till March, 18 14, when, on the death of his father, 
he took his seat in the House of Lords. He had allied him- 
self with the whigs, and on the formation of Lord Grey's 

Hon. William Elliot, third lieutenant of H.M.S. '* Fox/' youngest son 
of the Right Hon. Lord Minto, Governor-General of India, died on his 
passage from Bengal to England, on the 5th of June, 181 1.— Vidt Edinburgh 
Evening Courant. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 187 

Ministry, was appointed a Privy Councillor. The earl went 
as British Ambassador to Berlin in August, 1832, where he 
remained for two years. His tenure of office had been satis- 
factory, but uneventful, and his Majesty rewarded him upon 
his return with the distinction of the Civil Order of Grand 
Cross of the Bath. On the appointment of Lord Auckland 
as Govemor*General of India, Lord Minto succeeded to his 
post as First Lord of the Admiralty, in September, 1835, ^^^ 
continued to preside over the affairs of the navy till the 
dissolution of Lord Melbourne's second administration in 
1841. It was said at the time, that his period of office was 
distinguished by the outcry raised at the number of Elliots 
who found places in the naval service.^ In Lord John 
Russeirs Cabinet of 1846, Minto (whose daughter Russell 
had married) became Lord Privy Seal. In the following 
autumn he was sent on a mission of diplomacy to Italy, to 
induce Sardinia and Tuscany to assist in accomplishing the 
reforms proposed by Pius IX., to study the affairs of Italy 
in general, and to report anything of importance to the home 
Government.' At the close of the mission the Earl of Minto 
returned to his Ministerial duties till 1852, when Lord John 
Russell resigned. His Lordship now retired from political 
life, and resided at Minto House. He died, after a long 
illness, on 31st July, 1859, aged 76. His countess pre- 
deceased him ; she died at Nervi, near Genoa, on 21st July, 
1853. He was a Deputy- Lieutenant for Roxburghshire; a 
Fellow of the Royal Society, and an Elder Brother of Trinity 
House. In 1810, when the Jedforest Club was formed, he, 
as the Hon. Gilbert Elliot, took an active part in its organ- 
isation. He continued his Club membership until 1834, 
when all the whig members resigned. 

-^^^^ ^^^^^ « ... 

1 Not only did the Elliots fill good appointments in the navy, but in the 
East India Company's service the very name of Elliot seemed to be a 
talisman to preferment. 

< At Minto House are the colours carried at Palermo by the insurgents 
under Garibaldi. They were given to the second earl when on his 
mission. 



i88 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William Hugh Elliot-Murray Kynynmound, third earl 
of Minto, K.T., succeeded his father on the 31st July, 
1859. He was born on the 19th March, 1814. In 1844 he 
married his cousin Emma Elinor Elizabeth, only daughter 
of General Sir Thomas Hislop, Bart. As a liberal he 
represented Hythe in Parliament from 1837 to 1841 ; 
•Greenock from 1847 to 1852, and Clackmannanshire from 
1857 to 1859, in which latter year he succeeded to the 
title. He was a deputy - lieutenant for Roxburghshire, 
and, at one time, held the office of chairman to the 
Board of Lunacy Commissioners for Scotland. He was 
a staunch supporter of the Established Church of Scot- 
land. He died in London in 1891, leaving four sons, their 
names being: — Gilbert John, his successor (Viscount 
Melgund); Arthur Ralph Douglas, born 17th December, 
1846, M.A., barrister-at-law ; Hugh Frederick Hislop, clerk 
in House of Commons, married, with issue; and William 
Fitz William, born 1849, lieutenant-colonel. 

Minto House was originally an old Border tower, which 
lias been added to at various periods. In the present 
l)uilding, the lower storey is all that can be historically 
traced. During 1757 many alterations and additions took 
place, and in 1814 the house was further enlarged — in fact 
one half of the house was added to the older portion. Minto 
-is full of objects of historical interest, such as — letters from 
Lord Nelson (some unpublished) and from Lady Hamilton ; 
.a sword given to Lord Minto after the battle of St Vincent, 
and previously alluded to ; a portrait of Nelson from life ; a 
•double-headed shot fired into "the Victory'* at St Vincent, 
and the colours of one of the Spanish ships, presented to Lord 
Minto.* 

The first Lord Minto was lieutenant - colonel of the 
I St battalion of the Roxburghshire volunteers from 13 th 
September, 1803, and he was succeeded by his son, the Hon. 
Gilbert Elliot, as colonel commandant in the same regiment 

^ The Spanish flag at present cannot be found. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 189 

when it was transformed into the ist battalion Roxburgh- 
shire militia. The old colours of this regiment are preserved 
at Minto House, together with a telegraph code for signalling, 
in view of the invasion then expected. 

The following interesting medals are among the heirlooms 
of Minto : — a gold medal, struck by the order of the King of 
Sweden, and presented to Hugh Elliot, to commemorate his 
intervention as English minister when the combined forces of 
Russia and Denmark threatened Sweden; gold Seringa- 
patam medal, iv. May, MDCCXCIX ; Sir Thomas Hislop's 
large gold medal for the storming of Guadaloupe, and also 
a medal given to him for Mahidpoor — viz., a small piece 
■of Indian money set in gold — obverse, Mahidpoor, 21st 
December, 1817; reverse, Lieut.-General Sir Thomas 
Hislop, Bart., Commander-in-Chief; Boulton's medal to 
the heroes of Trafalgar, in gold; a large gold medal of 
Pius IX., date, 1846; coronation medal in gold of King 
Stanislaus of Poland, by Pingo, presented to Sir Edmund 
Burke. Three hundred of these were struck in London 
for presentation to the nobility who were present at the 
coronation ceremony. 

Gilbert John Elliot, fourth earl of Minto, was born Gilbert John, 
on the 9th July, 1845. He married, in 1883, Mary, Minto. 
•daughter of the Hon. Charles Grey, and succeeded his 
father in 1891. He joined the Scots Guards in 1867, but 
retired three years later. In this year (1870) he visited 
Paris with his two younger brothers, and saw the French 
troops attack the Commune, the Germans holding the lines 
north of Paris. He became a captain in the volunteer 
force in 1873, and subsequently commandant of the Border 
mounted volunteers; his name also appears as captain in 
the army reserve. 

During the Carlist war in 1875, the present earl acted 
as correspondent of the Morning Post, being attached to 
the staff of General Dorregarray. From this time, as Lord 
Melgund, he led a life full of adventure. Wherever war broke 



igo ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

out, there he was generally to be found, his great energy 
and talents invariably enabling him to obtain good appoint- 
ments. In 1877 war was declared by Russia against 
Turkey. In the following month (May) SLjekadf or holy war, 
against Russia was proclaimed by the Sheikh-ul-Islam. 
Lord Melgund proceeded to the seat of war, and became 
attached, as assistant military secretary, to the Turkish 
army on the Danube, and was present at the bombardment 
of Nicopolis and the crossing of the Danube. With a small 
Turkish guard he crossed the Balkans by a parallel pass to 
General Gourko, who had crossed the day before (13th July), 
He joined Raout Pasha, who commanded south of the 
Balkans, and met Suleiman Pasha at Adrianople, on his way 
from Montenegro to the Schipka passes. Lord Melgund, 
who had suffered a good deal from fatigue and exposure, was 
obliged to go on the sick list, and was ordered home. 

Early in the spring of 1879 he was again on the "war- 
path," serving as a volunteer on the staff of Sir F. Roberts 
(now Field-Marshal Lord Roberts), in the Kuram Valley, 
Afghanistan, until the treaty of Gundamuck, after which he 
returned home. 

He next paid a flying visit to South Africa. After our 
defeat at Majuba Hill in 1881 and the death of General Colley, 
Sir F, Roberts was ordered out to succeed him at a few days* 
notice, and he took Lord Melgund as his private secretary. 
On arriving at Cape Town, they found that terms had been 
made with the Boers, and accordingly left for England after 
only one day ashore. 

In 1882, a political crisis in Egypt terminated in war. A 
corps of mounted infantry was organised at Alexandria, 
formed of volunteers from various regiments. This useful 
body of men did excellent service, and Lord Melgund was 
appointed a captain in the corps, from the reserve. He joined 
them at Alexandria, and was wounded on the 24th of August 
in the action of Magfar, near Mahuta. For some weeks he 
was in hospital, and did not rejoin until the day after Tel-el- 
Kebir, when he was given the command of the mounted 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. xqx 

infantry until they were broken up. Lord Melgund was 
several times mentioned in dispatches, and at the close of the 
campaign was thanked in general orders. 

After serving in various capacities in the wars of Europe, 
Asia, and Africa,. he turned his steps towards the Far West 
in 1883, and was appointed military secretary to Lord Lans- 
downe, Governor-General of Canada. In the autumn of 1884 
he was offered the command of the Canadian voyageurs for 
the Soudan campaign, but for family reasons had to decline. 
But the raising of the regiment was entrusted entirely to 
Lord Melgund, and also their final despatch from Montreal. 

It was during Lord Lansdowne's administration that an 
insurrection in the North- West territories, headed by Louis 
Riel, took place. It found its main adherents in French 
half-breeds and Indians, who claimed equal rights with the 
rest of the population. Lord Melgund took an active part in 
the suppression of this rebellion. He was appointed lieut.- 
colonel in the Canadian militia, and was present at the 
actions of Fish Creek and Batoche on the Saskatchewan 
river under General Middleton. On the evening of the first 
day*s fighting at Batoche, Lord Melgund was sent with 
ofiicial messages to a telegraph station some seventy miles 
distant. He rode, with two scouts, through the night, and 
reached his destination at 7 a.m. next morning. Riel was 
captured three days afterwards, and the campaign closed. 

In 1889, Lord Melgund was appointed brigadier-general 
commanding the Scottish Border Volunteer Brigade. For 
his various services, his Lordship has received the following 
decorations: — The Afghan medal, Egyptian medal 1882 and 
Khedive's star, 4th class Turkish Medjidie, North- West 
Canada 1885 medal, with a clasp for Saskatchewan, and the 
volunteer decoration.^ 

1 Since writiog the above memoir, the Earl of Minto has been appointed 
Governor-General of Canada. Hawick, to mark their approbation and to 
do honour to his Lordship, have presented him with the freedom of the 
burgh. Roxburghshire will be sorry to lose him even for a few years, 
and among the many who will regret his absence are the members of the 
Jedforest Club. 

O 



192 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

W. B. Elliot. William Brownrigg Elliot is the eldest surviving son 
of Benng. 

of the Hon. John £. Elliot, M.P. He was born in 1820, and 

married, in 1858, Mary, daughter of J. M'Carty, of Carrig- 
navar, county of Cork, and widow of T. C. Morton, bar- 
rister. Middle Temple, 1853. Mr Elliot is a justice of the 
peace for the county of Roxburgh, and resides at Benrig, 
near St Boswells. On the 5th of October, 1875, his name 
appears as a member of the Jedforest Club. The eldest son 
of Mr Elliot is William Gerald, born November 9th, 1858. 

ELLIOT OF HARWOOD. 

This branch is descended from Elliot of Binks. 

Simeon Elliot, first of Harwood, was alive in 1643.^ 

William Elliot of Harwood, son of Simeon, married, in 
1659, Christina Greenlaw, and left his estate to his second 
son, Henry. 

Henry Elliot of Harwood married Mary, daughter of 
John Scott of Dryhope, and left, with other children, a sOn 
William, also a daughter Elizabeth, who married Robert, 
eldest son of Gavin Elliot of Middlehem Mill. 

William Elliot of Harwood succeeded his father, and left 
ten children. He married, in 1699, Jane, daughter of 
Thomas Scott of Todrick. Henry, who was the eldest son, 
succeeded. Thomas and John died young. The fourth son, 
Robert, married, on January 13th, 1766, Elizabeth, youngest 
daughter of Robert Pringle of Clifton, and died at 
Hobsbum, Rulewater, in August 1782, aged 60. His widow 
survived him for many years, dying at Jedburgh, at the age 
of 88, in 1820. They had a son, William — of whom presently. 

1 Harwood or Harrot-on-Rule appears to have been possessed by 
Edward Lorran or Lorain in 1564. It is conjectured that the estate came 
into his possession through his marriage with a Lady Margaret Tumbull, 
who. at that period, was the owner of Harwood and Appotside. The 
Tumbull clan were very Indignant at this marriage, and to show their 
resentment to the alliance, laid waste the whole estate. In a deed dated 
1589. Edward Lorran of Harwood and John Tumbull of Minto became 
cautioners for Hobbie Elliot, called Vicars Hobb. This information was 
given me by Mr Walter Deans, Hobkirk. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 193 

Elizabeth, eldest daughter of William Elliot of Harrot, 
married William Scott of Milsington. In i73i> Jean was 
married to William Elliot of Tarras and Larriston, and 
Mary was married to John Scott of Weens, about 1727. 
Three daughters of William Elliot — Margaret, Christian, 
and Janet — died unmarried. 

Hecry Elliot of Harwood was born in 1700. He resided 
on his estate, and was very popular and highly respected in 
the parish. During his latter years he had the misfortune 
to become blind and deaf, but even these deprivations did 
not prevent him taking an interest in local matters. For 
many years he was led about by a person of his own name, 
who lived at a cottage called Hasliehirst, on the farm of 
Stonedge. He was known by the name of *' Blind Harrot," 
and died unmarried, in October 1784, at the age of 84 years. 
His nephew William succeeded him. 

William Elliot of Harwood, eldest son of Robert William 
Elliot, by Elizabeth Pringle his wife, was born on 25th ^Jjjd!°^^"' 
November, 1766. He married, in 1804, Eleanor, second 
daughter of John Rutherford of Mossbumford, and had two 
sons — Robert, who succeeded, and John — and one daughter, 
Eleanor.^ 

John Elliot was born at Hundalee in 1809; married, in 
1839, Jane, daughter of Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward; 
he died in 1881. By his marriage there were three children, 
a son and two daughters. The only survivor is Elizabeth, 
^ho resides at Bournemouth. 

Major Elliot, although not an officer of the regular army, 
saw some active service in Ireland, with the Roxburghshire 
fencibles, in 1798, both against the French and the Irish 
rebels. He was promoted to the rank of major in the corps, 
in 1800. Soon after this, his regiment was disbanded, and in 
1802, he was offered, and accepted the rank of captain 
commandant of the western troop of Roxburghshire 

1 Eleanor married John Paton of Crailing. 



X94 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

yeomanry. This troop under the leadership of Captain 
Elliot became most popular, many gentlemen serving in the 
ranks. When the false alarm was given by the beacons 
being lighted, the troop turned out to a man, and marched 
through the night to Dalkeith, the appointed place of 
meeting. Amongst the sergeants of the troop were, Peter 
Brown of Rawflat, and John Riddell, brother of the laird of 
Muselee — both original members of the Club. In the rank 
and file we find Thomas Stavert of Hoscote, Thomas Scott, 
younger, of Peel, also members of the Club, and Mark Elliot, 
brother of the captain. Mark was a curious character, well 
known by every one in the county. When a very young 
man he had served in the royal marines as a private soldier, 
and was present at the mutiny of the Nore. Latterly, he 
farmed Lanton, above Jedburgh, and was a constant guest 
at the Jedforest dinners, being a general favourite. There 
is a well-painted portrait of him at Clifton Park, near Kelso. 
The following list of the members of the western troop is 
copied from one in the possession of the late Thomas Ogilvie 
of Chesters, whose father was the lieutenant of the troop : — 

Captain William Elliot, Lieutenants William Oliver,^ and 
Will Ogilvie ; Sergeants Peter Brown, John Riddell, Thomas 
Thomson ; Corporals James Grieve,* Walter Riddell, 
Thomas Elliot;" Privates John Amos, John Armstrong, 
Andrew Blaikie, Andrew Bruce, John Buckham, Will Bell, 
John Blacklock, Will. Brown, Robert Chisholm, John Caver- 
hill, Arch. Dixon, Arch. Dixon 2nd, Jas. Elliot, Mark 
Elliot, Walter Grieve, George Grieve, Arch. Hills, Andrew 
Hall, James Heron, Patrick Jaffrie, Ebenezer Knox, James 
Laing, John Lockie, James Murray, Thomas Oliver, George 
Preston, Andrew Potts, John Robson, John Ren wick, Walter 
Rutherfurd,* John Rutherford,* James Scott, Thomas Scott, 

1 Vide Oliver of Dinlabyre. 

> James Grieve, of Branxholm Braes ; this gentleman was afterwards 
captain in the ist regiment of local militia. 
B Thomas Elliot. Kimdean. 
* Waiter Rutherford, saddler. 
^ John Rutherford, Millheugh. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 195 

Arch. Scott, Will. Scott, Robert Scott, Chas. Scott, Thomas 
Stavert, Andrew Thomson, James Thomson, Adam Turn- 
bull, Thomas Tumbull, John Scott, George Duglass. — ^July, 
1806. 

Major Elliot, which rank, by courtesy, he still retained, 
lived for several years at Hundalee, where most of his children 
were born. He joined the Club in January, 1812, and took a 
leading part in its management. In the year 1819, when 
reform riots took place in several of the large towns, a meet- 
ing of the lieutenancy of Roxburghshire took place at 
Jedburgh. The vice-lieutenant laid before them a loyal dec- 
laration from the inhabitants of Melrose and its neighbour- 
hood, offering their services within the county. A similar 
offer came from the town of Kelso, with this addition, that 
fifty active, steady young men were ready to form themselves 
into a company of volunteer infantry in aid of the civil 
power. Although no specific offer was made from Jedburgh 
and Hawick, it was stated by several deputy-lieutenants 
present that the inhabitants of these districts were equally 
willing and ready to come forward, if their services were 
required. Sir John Pringle of Stichill and Major William 
Elliot of Harwood very handsomely offered to raise an 
additional troop of yeomanry cavalry, to be commanded by 
Major Elliot, who, although well up in years, cheerfully again 
offered his services and experience to his country. Major 
Elliot towards the close of his life lived at the Brae, Jed- 
burgh (now the residence of the clergyman of the English 
church), and here be died on the morning of the 8th of 
October, 1835, and was interred in the old family burial 
ground in Hobkirk churchyard. Before his death, a new 
house at Harwood had been planned and completed, but it 
fell to his eldest son, Robert Kerr Elliot, to occupy it, on the 
22nd of October, 1835, a few days after his father's death. 

Robert Kerr Elliot, of Harwood, was born in 1805. r. k. Elliot 
He entered the army as second lieutenant in the 23rd Royal and^aifto^ 
Welsh Fusileers, in April, 1825, and was promoted to be first 



196 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

lieutenant in August, 1826. He married, in 1833, Mary 
Anne, daughter of Charles Claude Clifton of Twymaur, 
county of Brecon, and the same year he retired on half-pay 
of the 98th Foot. When he succeeded his father in 1835, he 
sold his half-pay and severed his connexion with the army. 
Previous to his succession to Harwood, Mr Elliot and his 
family occupied Greenriver house, aiid there his eldest son 
was born. 

In the year 1845, upon the death of his cousin, Robert 
Pringle of Clifton and Raining, he succeeded to the estate of 
Clifton, and built the mansion-house there. In 1873, while 
residing at Brighton, where he had frequently passed the 
winter season since 1855, he met with an accident in the 
hunting field, from which he never recovered, and died there, 
aged 68. He was buried at Hobkirk, beside his wife, who 
had predeceased him by eighteen months. They had thir- 
teen children: — 

William Claude Elliot, now of Harwood, married Bertha 
Eliza Blackman, who died in 1895, ^^^ ^^^^ ^^ issue. 

Charles John, born 1836, East India Company*s service, 
died 1863. 

Robert Henry Elliot of Clifton Park, bom 1837, married, 
in 1868, the Honourable Anna Maria Louisa Barnewall, only 
child of Thomas, sixteenth Lord Trimleston, and has a son, 
Thomas Robert Barnewall, born 1871. 

Chandos Frederick, born 1842, died 1862. 

Edward Cludde, born 1846, married, in 1882, Eleanor, 
daughter of John Jones. 

Mark Pringle, born 1851. 

The eldest daughter, Mary Anne Frances, married Sir 
E. C. Cockburn, Bart. 

Ellen Eliza, married, in 1871, Chetwode Drummond 
Pringle. 

Adelaide Catherine, married, in 1877, Sir Basil F. Hall, 
Bart., of Dunglass. 

Anna Maria Octavia, bom 1844, died the same year. 

Caroline Clifton, married, in 1869, James Moffat. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 197 

Charlotte Elizabeth, married, in 1871, John Dalton of 
Sleningford Park, Yorkshire, and Fillingham Castle, Lincoln* 
shire. 

Anna Maria, married, in 1876, Colonel Colquhoun, of the 
family of Luss. 

Mr Elliot joined the Jedforest Club in 1829, and after he 

retired from the Royal Welsh Fusileers became a regular 

attendant at all its meetings. In 1868, when the rules of 

the Club were revised and altered, and many improvements 

made in its administration, Mr Elliot was appointed, with 

two others, to the committee of management — the sheriff of 

the county being president. This post he held until his 

death, when, to mark the sorrow and regret the members of 

the Club felt at the loss they had sustained, the following 

tribute to his memory appeared in the minutes of the 

Club :— 

" Jbdburgh, yd June, 1873. 

"Before proceeding to business, the members desire to record their 

deep sympathy in the melancholy death of Robert Kerr Elliot of Clifton 

and Harwood. which took place at Brighton in the month of February 

last. Mr Elliot was one of the oldest members of the Club, and 

universally respected and esteemed by all who knew him. The members 

of the Jedforest Club desire to express their sympathy with his family in 

their bereavement." 

Mr Elliot was a justice of the peace and a deputy- 
lieutenant for Roxburghshire. He was a conservative of 
the old type, and a good specimen of a Border laird. 

Robert, second son of Robert Elliot of Harwood, by vice-Admiral 
Elizabeth, his wife, sister of Robert Pringle of Clifton, was Robert Elliot, 
born in October, 1767, at Hobsbum (now Greenriver). He 
entered the navy in July 1781, on board the "Dunkirk" 
(Capt. Millingan), bearing the flag of Admiral Milbanke, 
at Plymouth. On 13th July 17931 he was promoted to a 
lieutenancy in the " Savage " (Capt. Wentworth), and after 
two years* service in this sloop, became first lieutenant of the 
"Greyhound** (32 guns). In December, 1796, he obtained 
command of the ^' Plymouth,** a hired armed lugger, and 
in March, i797» succeeded in capturing the *^ Spervier,*' 



zgS ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

carrying 4 guns, 3 swivels, and 29 men, and ''L'Amiti6/' 
of 14 guns, and 55 men, and in consequence was officially 
reported for his activity and successful exertions. He was 
promoted to the rank of commander in February, 1801. 
Capt. Elliot was subsequently employed in Egypt, and 
received the Sultan's gold medal for his services, and also 
survived to receive the naval war medal with clasp for 
Egypt, which was issued in 1850. He was commissioned in 
April, 1804, to the " Lucifer Bomb," and proceeded to the 
Mediterranean. After entering the Dardanelles, he was 
employed off the Island of Prota, where he assisted (27th 
February, 1807) in covering the advance, previous to an 
attack upon the enemy, whose retreat he was ordered to 
intercept with the launches of the squadron. In June, 1808, 
he was advanced to post rank. His last employment, dated 
October 2otb, 1813, was in the *' Surveillante " (38 guns), 
in which frigate he served off the north coast of Spain. He 
went on half-pay in March, 1814; obtained the captain's 
good service pension in 1842, and was admitted to the out- 
pension of Greenwich Hospital in July, 1844. His promotion 
to flag rank took place on the 9th November, 1846. 

Vice-Admiral Elliot was for some years before his death 
perfectly blind — a misfortune partly attributable to his ser- 
vices in Egypt. He married Ann, daughter of Andrew 
Hilley, of Plymouth, by whom he had one son, and two 
daughters.^ He resided at Hundalee cottage, and latterly 
at Glenbank, where he died in 1854. ^^ became a member 
of the Club in 1814, when, as a post -captain, he retired on 
half-pay. He left an only son, 

Capt. Robert ROBERT HiLLEY Elliot, bom in Jedburgh, i8th July, 

HiUey Elliot, jg^^^ jj^ entered the navy on the 15th November, i8i8, 

as first-class volunteer on board the "Liffey" (50 guns, 

Captain the Hon. Henry Duncan). In 182 1, be became 

1 Elizabeth Pringle Elliot, daughter of the admiral, bom in 1801 . died 
in 1847 '• his other daughter married John Paton of Crailing, as his second 
wife, and lived to an extreme old age. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 199 

midshipman in the ''Doris" (42 guns, Capt. Thomas 
Graham), and after passing his examination, became suc- 
cessively mate of the " Victory " (104 guns), and " Barham " 
(50 guns), flagships at Portsmouth. He proceeded to the 
West Indies and joined the " Nimble " schooner, under 
Lieut.-Commander Fleming. He had an opportunity of 
distinguishing himself on the 19th December, 1827, in the 
capture of the "Guerrero" slaver, of superior force; and 
for this, Mr Elliot was promoted to a lieutenancy in the 
"Valorous" (20 guns, Capt. the Earl of Huntingdon), the 
date of his commission being the 3rd of February, 1828. 
With this ship he returned home in the following September, 
and he appears, in 1829, in the list of members of the 
Jedforest Club. Soon afterwards, he was employed on the 
Lisbon and Mediterranean stations. Lieut. Elliot was 
appointed on the ist of January, 1839, to the "Powerful" 
(84 guns. Captain Charles Napier), in which he served 
throughout the Syrian war, and was present at the fall of 
Acre. He was advanced to the rank of commander on the 
4th November, 1840, and in 1844 was appointed an 
inspecting commander in the coast guard. Captain Elliot 
married Elizabeth Carr. He retained his appointment on 
the coast guard until he died. He received the Sultan*s 
medal in silver, and in the year 1848 also became entitled 
to the naval war medal, with a clasp for Syria, issued by 
order of her Majesty. 

Henry Elliot was a son of Robert Elliot of Harwood, by Gereral 
Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Pringle of Clifton. He was H«^^^^"^°* 
born in 1769, and entered the army as an ensign in the 
70th Regiment, in which corps he was promoted to the 
rank of lieutenant in 1789. He sailed in 1793, with the 
expedition from Ireland, under the command of Sir Charles 
Gray, against the' French colonies in the West Indies, and 
served with the 3rd battalion of Grenadiers in the reduction 
of those colonies. Vacancies occurring through death dur- 
ing this active campaign, Lieut. Elliot was promoted to a 



200 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

company in the 70th Regiment- in 1794, and in 1799 he 
obtained a majority in that corps. Six years afterwards he 
received the brevet of lieu t. -colonel in the army. He got the 
command of the 3rd battalion 60th Regiment, with which 
he was present at the capture of the Danish colonies. On 
this occasion the inhabitants eulogised his conduct and the 
discipline which the battalion evinced under his command. 

On the 25th of November, 1808, Lieut.-Colonel Elliot 
was appointed to the 96th Regiment, then at St Croix, 
and received in brigade general orders the thanks of the 
Government for his attention to the discipline and welfare 
of that corps. In 1810, he assumed the command of the 
2nd battalion of the 96th, and continued with it till its 
reduction. On this occasion the officers of his regiment 
manifested their sincere regret at parting with their com- 
manding officer, and, as a mark of their respect and esteem, 
presented him with a handsome cup. 

The following letters show the high regard in which Col. 
Elliot was held, and his appreciation of the honour done 
him by the officers of his regiment : — 

Jersey, Gronville Barracks, Oct. 24, 1814. 

Sir, — In the name and on the behalf of the officers comprising the mess 
of the and battalion 96th Regiment, we have the honour to enclose a copy 
of the resolutions entered into at a full meeting in the officers* mess-room| 
at Gronville Barracks, on the 23rd inst., and which we hope will meet your 
entire approbation. The resolutions therein contained will be carried into 
effect with all possible dispatch. 

The officers of the mess of this battalion, impressed with a deep sense of 
respect and gratitude for your kindness and attention to their welfare and 
interest during a period of five years that you have had the command, 
have unanimously voted you a silver-gilt cup. with an appropriate inscrip- 
tion, as a lasting testimony of their most sincere esteem and regard. 

If, in soliciting on behalf of the officers of this mess your acceptance of 
this small token, we have anything to regret, it is the inefficiency of words 
to convey a sense of the affection and attachment your kindness to them 
has so well merited, and which was conspicuous in every individual at the 
meeting in question. 

We have also to solicit that you will have the goodness to favour us 
with an impression of your coat-of-arms, that the same may be engraved 
on the cup voted you. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 2or 

We have the honour to be. Sir. with highest r^ard and esteem. 
Your most obedient, humble servants. 

Jambs Spawfortm. Major. 96th. 
John F. Gell, Capt. 
Phil. Jban, Paymaster. 2nd Batt. 96th. 
To Col. Henry Elliot, commanding 2nd Batt. 96th Foot. 



Jersey. Gronville Barracks, 25th October. 1814. 
Gentlemen, — In return for the very honourable memorial of your 
esteem, to which your voluntary sentiments of attachment give imperish- 
able value. I feel most anxious to convey my most unfeigned acknowledg- 
ments. If I was not deeply impressed that the sincerity of my feelings is 
beyond the warmest language to express, it would be my effort to convince 
how much I esteem that affection with which you so kindly honour me. 
but I feel assured that my silence proves its truth. The event of my pro- 
motion to the rank of major-general. I may reasonably hope, cannot be 
far distant, and however happy I may feel on arriving at that rank, yet 
as it removes me from the 96th Regiment, it will prove a pleasure mingled 
with concern : but should my King and country again have occasion for 
my services, Hope might bestow a charm in obeying the sacred call. 
Again to have the 96th Regiment placed under my command, would 
crown my wishes and would leave me nothing to desire. In sending you 
the impression of my coat-of-arms. permit me. Gentlemen, to assure you 
that I consider my inheritance most proudly honoured, and memory will 
have a fresh reason to regard their depictment with affection and esteem. 
I have the honour to be^ . . . 

H. Elliot. Colonel, 

Lieut.-Col.. 96th Regt. 

To Lieut.-Col. Spawforth and the Officers of the Mess. 

2nd Batt. 96th Regt. 

Col. Elliot embarked with the 96th for Martinique at the 
close of 1815. Some time after this he retired from the 
service, and settled dowQ at Rosebank, near Kelso, and 
died in 1841. He joined the Jedforest Club, and made 
himself conspicuous at the eventful dinner in 1834, when in 
his position as chairman, in the absence of the Duke of 
Buccleuch, he refused to propose the usual toast : — '' the 
Member of Parliament for the County." The result of this 
was, all the whig members retired from the Club in a body. 
He married Janet, daughter of the Rev. Dr Somerville of 
Jedburgh. 

The silver-gilt cup is now in the possession of his great-nephew, Robert 
Elliot of Clifton. 



202 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Lieat.-Col. 
W. Elliot of 
Borthwick- 
brae. 



ELLIOT OF BORTHWICKBRAE. 

Elliot in Oakwood, who claims descent from the family of 
Larriston, is the ancestor of the Elliots of Borthwickbrae ^ 
(vide Elliot of Wolfelee). 

William Elliot, who acquired Bewlie, purchased the estate 
of Borthwickbrae, in 1695. ^^^ ^°> William Elliot of 
Borthwickbrae, was born in 1689, and married, Margaret, 
daughter of John Scott of Sinton, and was father of John 
Elliot of Borthwickbrae — born in 1711, married, first, 1753, 
Margaret, daughter of Alexander Murray of Cringletie; and 
in 1764, he married, secondly, Margaret, daughter of Walter 
Laing, by whom he left issue. This lady was heiress to 
Meikledale, in Dumfriesshire; Flex, Old Melrose, and 
Burnfoot, on Alewater, in. Roxburghshire, 

William Elliot of Borthwickbrae, born on the 30th 
November, 1764, married in 1792, Marianne, only child of 
Allan Lockhart of Cleghornt Lanarkshire, and his wife, 
Jean Bertram. On the death of the said Allan Lockhart, 
William Elliot assumed the additional surname of Lockhart. 
William Elliot was appointed lieut. -colonel of the Roxburgh 
and Selkirk regiment of fencible cavalry, commanded by 
Sir John Scott of Ancrum. His king*s commission is dated 
2 1 St April, 1795. 

Elliot served with the regiment in Ireland, in 1798. Being 
at Castlebar with a squadron, he took part in the short 
campaign following on the landing at Killala bay of the 
French under General Humbert, and was present with a 
detachment of his regiment in the action with the French on 
their approach to Killala. There is a family tradition that 
on this occasion his life was saved by his charger having 



^ The various known owners of Borthwickbrae were Sir William 
Borthwick, in 1500, from whom the name probably originated ; William 
Porteous in 1573, Robert Elliot in 1586, Robert Scott in 1643. In 1792, 
John Elliot of Borthwickbrae died at Orchard in the eighty^second year 
of his age. Elizabeth Elliot, daughter of William Elliot of Borthwick- 
brae, and his wife, Margaret Scott, of Sinton, died at Hawick, in 1809, in 
the ninety-third year of her age. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 203 

thrown up his head at a critical moment,, and received a shot 
in its nostril, which would otherwise have hit his master.^ 

Lieut .-Colonel Elliot was also engaged under Lieut.- 
General Lake, with the Irish rebels and the French at 
Ballinamuck, on the 8th of September, 1798. His regiment 
is described in dispatches as the '* Roxburgh Fencible Dra- 
goons," and it is further stated that the conduct of the cavalry 
was highly conspicuous. A few years afterwards, when the 
fencible cavalry was abolished, Lieut. -Colonel Elliot was 
appointed major commandant of the '* Roxburgh Gentlemen 
and Yeomanry Cavalry,'* and his king's commission is dated 
9th July, 1802. When the lighting of the beacons took 
place in January, 1804, he turned out in command of his 
regiment. In that year, and presumably as a memento of 
the manner in which the regiment answered the summons, 
when called upon for their country's defence. Colonel Elliot 
was presented with a handsome silver cup of classical design 
and beautiful workmanship, with the following inscription — 
*' Presented by the non-commissioned officers and privates 
of the Roxburghshire Yeomanry Light Dragoons to William 
Elliot, Esq. of Borthwickbrae, their major commandant, 
1804." 

On the 25th of February, 1801, he was appointed by king's 
commission major of the 3rd or Lanarkshire regiment of 
militia, and as such received the freedom of the burgh of 
Musselburgh, on the 28th of August, 1801, and of Linlithgow, 
on the 26th of April, 1802. From major commandant 
he was, by the lord lieutenant (Lord Lothian) appointed 
lieut.-colonel of the Roxburghshire yeomanry cavalry, the 
date of his commission being 31st of March, 1821.* In 1828, 
he received another presentation in the form of a large and 
handsome silver tray, with the following inscription — 
'* Presented by the officers, non-commissioned officers and 

1 This favourite old horse died at Cleghom. and an oak tree marks its 
grave. 

s In 1825, Lieat.-Colonel ElUot-Lockhart lost his youngest son, Gilbert, 
on board H.M.S. " Diamond," on the 9th of January. 



204 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

privates of the Roxburghshire yeomanry cavalry to Lieut.- 
Colonel Eliot t-Lockhart, M.P., commandant, in testimony 
of their high respect and sincere esteem for him as an officer 
and a gentleman, of his kind individual friendships, and 
luniform zealous attention to the discipline and welfare of 
the regiment during the period of twenty-five years. A.D. 

He was member of parliament for the county of Selkirk for 
twenty-four years (1806 to 1830), and died at Cleghorn on 6th 
August, 1832. His eldest son, John, bom in 1796, was a 
•cornet in the 12th Light Dragoons, and was killed at the 
battle of Waterloo in 1815. Col. Eliott-Lockhart was pro- 
posed for the Jedforest Club by Sir John Scott, Bart., at one 
time his commanding officer, and being seconded by Col. 
Erskine of Shielfield, was admitted a member of the Club on 
the 29th of July, 1812. 

Lockhart is an ancient family in the parish of Lanark. A 
•charter was granted by James IV. to Sir Stephen Lockhart 
of Cleghorn, of the lands of that name. His son Allan was 
father of Alexander Lockhart, who was infeft in the barony of 
Cleghorn and the lands of Crugfoot in 1533. Alexander's 
son, Allan Lockhart, was seised in these lands in 1582. 
Prom him is descended Allan Lockhart of Cleghorn, whose 
only child, Marianne, married, in 1792, William Eliott of 
Borthwickbrae, M.P. The old house of Cleghorn narrowly 
escaped being looted by the Highlanders in 1745. On the 
return of the rebel army from England, on passing through 
Clydesdale, Lord Kilmarnock, with u numerous following, 
paid a visit to Lanark for the purpose of collecting supplies. 
On that same day a *' small party of Highlanders made a 
raid on Cleghorn house, but they met with so warm a recep- 
tion from Mr Lockhart, the proprietor, that they were forced 
to retire empty-handed, some of them limping from wounds 
received in the scuffle. On this rough repulse being known 
to the rebels in Lanark, they determined to attack Cleghorn 
next day with all their forces, while Mr Lockhart judged it 
prudent to raise barricades and garrison the house with his 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 205 

tenantry. But Cleghorn was saved from the threatened 
storm of Highland wrath by a simple stratagem of the good 
folk of Lanark. This was effected by a man running into 
the town from the east, shouting, ' Cumberland is at Cara- 
wath,' and the cry was so well supported by the townspeople 
that 'Cumberland at Carnwath' resounded through every 
street of the town. The Highlanders were startled, and 
mustered at the cross. The pipes struck up a scream of 
defiance, and off they all marched to the westward to join 
the main army with the prince at Hamilton Palace.*' 

Allan Eliott-Lockhart, second son, who succeeded, was 
born in 1803, and called to the Scotch bar in 1824. He 
married, on April 12th, 1830, Charlotte, fifth daughter of Sir 
David Dundas, first baronet of Beechwood. Mr Lockhart 
was member of parliament for the county of Selkirk from 
1846 to 1862, a justice of the peace and deputy-lieutenant for 
the counties of Lanark and Roxburgh, and lord lieutenant 
for Selkirkshire. He died in 1878. 

William Eliott- Lockhart succeeded his father, and was Capt. W. 
born on 2nd March, 1833. He was educated at Harrow, and i^khart of 
joined the 26th Cameronians in August, 1852. He passed Cleghorn. 
through the staff college in 1860-61, and served as deputy- 
assistant adjutant-general at Aldershot from 1863 for five 
years. He exchanged into the 74th Highlanders as captain 
in July, 1865. 

When holding this appointment at Aldershot, he married, 
on the nth April, 1866, Dorothea Helen, eldest daughter of 
the late Sir Walter Elliot, K.C.S.L, of Wolfelee, and Maria 
Dorothea, his wife, eldest daughter of Sir David Hunter 
Blair, Bart., of Blairquhan, and has surviving issue — one 
•daughter. May Charlotte. His eldest son, Allan Ashton, 
•captain in the Highland Light Infantry, died at Malta, May 
i6th, 1898; his younger son, Walter Blair, lieutenant, Sea- 
forth Highlanders, died at Cleghorn, March, 1895. 

Capt. Lockhart retired from the service in October, 1868, 



ao6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

on receiving the appointment of assistant chief-constable of 
Lancashire, which post he held till March, 1873. 

On the death of Mr Ogilvie of Chesters, he received from 
the Duke of Buccleuch the post of his chamberlain at Branx- 
holm, in which capacity he served until February, 1891. 

He sold his estate of Borthwickbrae to Mr Noble, and now 
resides at his seat, Cleghorn, in the county of Lanark. 

Capt. Lockhart is a deputy-lieutenant for Lanarkshire and 
Selkirkshire, and a justice of the peace for the counties of 
Roxburgh, Selkirk, and Lanark, and was made an honorary 
burgess of the burgh of Hawick on the 6th September, 1881. 



1 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 207 



CHAPTER VIII. 



ELLIOT OF WOLFLEE. 



\1700LLEE (now Wolflee) is a name of some antiquity. 
In an inventory of the writs delivered up to Gilbert 
Eliot of Stennedge by Mr Scott, writer, Edinburgh, ist 
November, 171 1, concerning his land and others, there is 
mentioned ''A bounding charter of the lands of WooUee 
and Wolfehopelee by William, Earl of Angus, to David 
Hume, his armour-bearer, 24th July, 1456." Also 

" Disposition of the lands of Over and Nether Woollee 
by Sir George Hume of Wedderbum, Knt., to Sir William 
Cranston of that ilk and his lady, dated 16 May, 1605." 

'* Confirmation of the above charter by William, Earl of 
Angus, 17 July, 1605." 

« Disposition by the Commissioners of Lord Cranston, in 
the lands of Over and Nether Woollee, and pendicles thereof 
called Midsideshaw, the Mill, Mill lands, &c., the said lands 
of Wolfehopelee, with Manner place, and these parts and 
portions of the 20 pound land of Wauchope, Catlee, and 
Catleeshaw &c., in favour of Sir Gilbert Eliot of Stobs^ 
which charter is dated 15 March, 1659." 

It has been stated by various authorities that the Oak- 
wood Elliots claim descent from the family of Larriston. 

Thomas Elliot^ in Oak wood was born in 1659, and married^ 
at Selkirk, Jean, daughter of Cornelius Inglis, and had 
issue : — 



1 Thomas Elliot, in Oakwood-miln, had a brother, who acquired the 
farm of Bewlie and purchased the estate of Borthwickbrae. {Vids Elliot 
of Borthwickbrae.) 

P 



ao8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

1. Thomas. 

2. William — of whom presently. 

3. Agnes, who married John Sibbald in Whitelaw, by 
whom she had six children; secondly, in 1721, she married 
Walter Cunningham of Chapelhope, by whom she had 
fourteen children. One of her grandsons was the late Col. 
Sibbald of Pinnacle. {Vide Sibbald Memoir.) 

4. Elizabeth, married Robert Shortreed of Essenside. 
Thomas Elliot in Oakwood died in July, 1723, aged 64, 

and his widow on the 7th of May, 1748, aged 83. They 
were buried in Lindean churchyard, where an inscribed 
stone marks the spot. 

The first Elliot of WooUee was William, who purchased 
the estate in 1730. He was a writer, and served his 
apprenticeship in the office of Andrew Haliburton, W.S. 
William fell in love with Helen Elliot,^ daughter of Elliot 
of Midlem-mill. At first this engagement was not approved 
of by the lady's family,* as Elliot was a wild and reckless 
young fellow. But after his marriage to Helen, whom 
he loved tenderly, he reformed and became very steady. 
He was tall and handsome, with a pleasing manner, and 
having good abilities he was much employed by county 
clients, and eventually obtained a large and valuable busi- 
ness. By Helen he had a son, Thomas, who became a 
physician; he married, and died soon afterwards. Also a 
daughter, Elizabeth, who married William Ogilvie of Hart- 
woodmyres, county of Selkirk. 

William Elliot married, secondly, in 1727, Margaret, 
eldest daughter of William Scot of Stonedge. She died 
in 1730. He for the third time married, on the a4th 
of March, 1732, Margaret,' daughter of Adam Ogilvie 

1 Helen Elliot, daughter of Robert Elliot of Midlem-mill and Elizabeth 
Elliot of Harrot {vide Elliot of Harwood). 

* Vide Journal of Thomas Beattie of Mickledale. 

• Died at Edinburgh, April 14, 1796, Mrs Elliot, vridow of William 
Elliot of Wool lee — vide Edinburgh Advertiser. There is a portrait of this 
lady at Wolfelee. 



r 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 209 

of ' Hartwoodmyres. By this marriage he left a large 
family. William Elliot died suddenly in the month of 
January, 1768. He had been as usual at his office in the 
Lawnmarket, and had sold the estate of Crieve to Mr 
Thomas Seattle, for a client, that afternoon. He died 
about eleven o'clock on the same night, leaving a good 
business for his son, who succeeded him. 

Cornelius Elliot^ of Woollee was born in 1733. He was a 
writer to the signet, and, by strict attention to his business, 
he largely increased his legal connection with Roxburghshire. 
In 1765, he married Margaret, daughter of James Rannie, 
and had issue. Mrs Elliot died on the 7th October, 1796; 
and Cornelius, her husband, who was senior member of the 
society of writers to his Majesty's signet, died in 1821, at 
the age .of 88. Robert, youngest brother of Cornelius Elliot, 
was a merchant in Amsterdam. He purchased Pinnaclehill, 
Kelso, and left it to his niece Charlotte, daughter of his 
brother Adam, a Dantzig merchant. Eleanora, second 
idaughter of Cornelius Elliot, married, in June, 1794, Robert 
Anderson, merchant, Edinburgh. William Elliot was born 
in 1766, was major in ist Madras Cavalry. He died at 
Vellore in 1802, in his father's lifetime.' 

James Elliot,* the eldest surviving son, succeeded to Jas. Elliot 
Woollee, and changed the name to Wolflee. He was born 
•on the 29th February, 1772, and was also educated for the 
law, but gave it up, preferring the freedom of a country life 



^ Cornelius was baptised on the 15th April, 1733. having been born two 
4d8^ previous. The witnesses at the baptism were — Andrew Haliburton, 
W.S.; John Gibson, writer; Patrick Erskine, younger of Shielfield (all in 
his father's office) ; and John Elliot, son of the laird of Borthwickbrae, 
ills kinsman. 

* At Wolfelee there is an excellent portrait of this officer, by Raebum, 
in a red hunting coat. 

* Right |Ion. Lord Elphinstone married, at Edinburgh. July 31, 1806. 
lady Carmichael, widow of Sir John Carmichael. Bart., and sister of 
James Elliot. 



2IO ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

to the confinement of an office. He married, on the i6th 
of September, 1799, Caroline, youngest daughter of Walter 
Hunter, last laird of Polmood, whose wife, L^dy Caroline 
Mackenzie, was daughter of the Earl of Cromarty (she died, 
April, 1824). From the beginning of the century Mr Elliot 
resided almost entirely in Roxburghshire. He rented 
Stewartfield (now Hartrigge) for some time. He improved 
and laid out the plantations which now beautify the well- 
wooded estate of Wolflee, and also added to it by the 
purchase of several adjoining lairdships. In 1810, when 
the local militia were formed, Mr Elliot was appointed 
major in the ist regiment of Roxburghshire local militia. 
He became a most energetic officer, and set an example 
both to officers and men, by his strict attention to duty. 
In 1810, James Elliot became an original member of the 
Jedforest Club, in which he always took an active interest. 
In 1824, he built the mansion-house of ^^(olflee, previous to 
which there was only a farm-house. The architect and 
contractor was Mr Smith of Darnick. From that time forth 
he resided at Wolflee, and took a deep interest in watching 
the numerous plantations growing up, which he had planted 
when a young man. Mr Elliot married, secondly, on the 
17th January, 1827, Margaret, daughter of Robert Davidson 
of Pinnaclehill, Kelso, by whom he had one child, who died 
young. By his first wife, he had eight sons and four 
daughters.^ Although Mr Elliot continued to the last 
strongly attached to the Established Church, he granted 
sites in a most liberal manner for both a Free Church and 
manse on his lands. He died in February, 1855, in his 
eighty-fourth year, and was succeeded by his eldest sur> 
viving son, Walter. 

Sir Walter Born in 1803, Walter Elliot, in early life, lived at 

Womee Stewartfield, now Hartrigge, Lord Stratheden's seat near 

K.C.S.I. Jedburgh. Born of a Border family. Sir Walter resided 

on what the Scotch call the right side of the Tweed, 

during such portions of his long life as were not spent 



ANtfALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 211 

in India. Thus he imbibed Border ideas from his 
infancy. 

His earliest education was imparted by a clergyman in 
Cumberland, the Rev. James Traill, who afterwards became 
a chaplain of the East India Company at Madras. After 
studying with a private tutor at home for three or four years, 
he was sent to a school near Doncaster, called Carr House, 
kept by the Rev. Dr Inchbald. Here he remained till he 
was fifteen, when he went to Haileybury College, where 
he gained distinction. In March, 1820, being then in his 
eighteenth year. Waiter Elliot embarked in the Indiaman 
** Kelly Castle,** and landed at Madras on the 14th of June 
following, after a voyage of three months, the usual dura- 
tion in those days. 

In Madras, the young civilian was kept for two pleasant 
years at the college of Fort St George, going through the 
regular course of study then prescribed, including the 
vernacular languages, Indian law and history, and the like.^ 
When* he had completed his course, and passed out (June, 
1823), it was with an honorary reward of one thousand 
pagodas (Rs. 3500) for remarkable proficiency in the Tamil 
and Hindustani languages. 

Mr Elliot's first appointment appears to have been that 
of assistant to the collector and magistrate of Salem ; but 
the cut-and-dried life of an executive official in a settled 
province, even in those days, did not seem to satisfy the 
impulsive energy of his character, and he begged to be sent 
for duty to a non - regulation province. The dominions of 
the Mahratta sovereignity had, very shortly before, fallen under 
British rule, and the affairs of this unsettled district were 
being conducted by a commissioner residing at Poonah ; and 
the territory had been divided into provinces, one of which 
was known as the Southern Mahratta Country. In charge of 
this tract was a principal collector, Mr St John Thackeray, 
who was also styled political agent to the Governor of 

1 This Memoir is extracted from the Asiatic Qnartnly Review and other 
sources. 



3i2 ASSALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Bombay, with headquarters at Dharwar. To this district 
Walter Elliot was appointed as assistant. The country was 
in a disturbed state in many respects, even though six years 
had passed since the transfer of sovereignty to the *' Com- 
pany." The old chiefs and their families, accustomed for 
generations, like the barons of Europe, to almost unbounded 
power within their own tracts— owning no lord save the 
Peshwa, and left practically to rule their estates as petty 
sovereigns— <:ould ill brook the interference of foreigners and 
the restraint forced on them by the presence and watchful- 
ness of British agents. 

The year after he joined his appointment under Thackeray 
occurred an event which very nearly put an end to his career. 
The chief of Kittdr, who lived in a strong fort in the district, 
surrounded by turbulent followers, and owning considerable 
estates, died without issue ; and the usual intrigues were set 
on foot regarding the succession. Parties were formed, and 
an attempt was made to induce Mr Thackeray to recommend 
to Government an adopted son, on the strength of a docu-' 
ment fabricated after the chief's death, and consequently 
invalid. The political agent, powerless to act alone, referred 
for orders to his Government, and did his best to quiet the 
discontent arising from the delay in receiving an answer from 
Bombay. 

On September 29th, Walter Elliot and his companions 
became alarmed by reports of collections and assemblies of 
the people ; but still Mr Thackeray's inquiries proceeded, all 
the heads of villages being summoned to render their 
accounts. During the days that followed, the fort party 
continued to collect men and arms, and to prepare for 
open resistance in case of need ; but the only positive 
warning communicated to the English officers appears ta 
have been one given ^ on the occasion of a shooting 
expedition, to young Elliot, who had already endeared 
himself to the people. This warning h^ repeated to his 
chief, and Mr Thackeray made an excuse to get a troop 
of horse artillery sent to Kittiir. These arrived on the zSth 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. levf 

October, commanded by Captain Black and Lteutenanto^^ 
Sewell and Dighton. Mr Elliot tells us that he had been 
very unwell during those few days, and it was not until the 
2and that he again entered the fort. He then found that he 
was treated with '*the most unequivocal marks of bad 
feeling ; " the same evening the Sard4rs flatly refused to^ 
obey Mr Thackeray's summons requesting their attendance 
at the office inside the fort« On this, the collector thought 
fit to send for a division of guns to overawe the people, and 
on their appearance the civilians left the fort.^ The position 
in the evening was as follows: — The inner gate of the fort 
was in possession of the British troops, but there were two 
other gates outside this one, held by the Rajah's people,' 
while all the English were at their respective camps. Elliot 
dined at the troop mess, Thackeray having gone ta his own 
camp. All night armed men in the service of the Rajab 
were thronging into the fort, and every preparation was made 
for open resistance. In the morning admission into the fort 
was refused, and Capt. Black found that his men at the inner 
gate could not get out, in consequence of the two outer gates 
being held by the natives. Mr Thackeray seems to have 
been ill, but on Capt. Black's request for orders, he sent a 
message that the mutineers were to be warned, and after 
twenty minutes, on their refusal to allow the division of guns 
at the inner gate to be relieved, the outer gate was to be 
blown in. Due notice was given, but entrance was 
obstinately refused, and the Rajah's men (henceforth called 
the enemy) were thronging the walls and high ground inside 
the fort. After twenty minutes, the guns opened fire* One 
was directed at the gate, and one, under Lieut. Sewell, was 
posted on some rising ground, to keep down the fire from the 
walls. The matchlock men made good practice; some men 
were wounded, and JLieut. Sewell was shot through the 
breast, receiving a mortal wound, of which he died next day. 
Mr Elliot hurried off to find Mr Thackeray, andy learning 
tliat he had been carried down in a palanquin towards the 
gate, ran back with Stevenson to join him ; but on reaching 



az4 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

the open ground they found that a sortie had been made, and 
that the gunners had been outnumbered, and were in full 
retreat. Some native mounted orderlies advised the two 
young civilians to retire while there was yet time, saying 
that Mr Thackeray had been killed ; but they were unwilling 
to fly, and remained alone. The enemy rapidly approached, 
and when it was seen that they were giving no quarter, the 
two Englishmen fled into a house for refuge. They were 
kindly treated. After a time, a dependent of the Rajah, 
with whom they were acquainted, came to the house, 
surrounded it with a compact body of his own men, to save 
the inmates from the fury of the armed rabble outside, and 
then conducted the two Englishmen into the fort ; not 
without difficulty and danger, as several attacks were made 
on the little party. Near the glacis they saw the dead body 
of Mr Thackeray, and descending towards the outer gate, 
that of Lieut. Dighton^ who had been killed early in the 
affair. Inside the gate was the corpse of Capt. Black. At 
the third gate, standing to their arms, was the small band of 
gunners, who had never been able to leave the place; but 
the walls were swarming with matchlock men. Resistance 
was hopeless; and on the advice of the civilians, all 
surrendered. Elliot and Stevenson remained prisoners for 
six weeks. As the insurgents showed no intention of 
submitting, the Bombay Government had no alternative 
but to reduce the place by force. Troops were concen- 
trated: — The 1st Bombay Regiment, two companies of his 
Majesty's 46th Foot, a battery of Horse Artillery, the 4th 
and 8th Madras Cavalry, the 23rd Madras Infantry, and the 
3rd and 6th Bombay Infantry, the whole under the command 
of Col. Deacon, C.B. ; and by the 25th of November the 
place was invested, and the insurgents reduced to submission. 
Thus ended this tragic affair. It was an exciting commence- 
ment to Elliot's career, and one eminently calculated to 
strengthen his self-reliance. It is no wonder that a few 
years later, viz., in 1829, he was retained in that district 
by Government, though he was a Madras civilian, and 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 215 

the Mahratta couotry was placed under the Bombay 
Government. 

As to Elliot's life during these years we get the best 
knowledge, not from himself — for h^ skys very little about it 
-^but from the well-known work by the late Col. Walter 
Campbell, called, " My Indian Journal.*' 

It seems that Col. Campbell, then a subaltern, on 24th 
February, 1831, met for the first time Walter Elliot, then 
twenty-eight years old, and a sub-collector. The two be- 
came fast friends, and, as the following extracts will show, 
devoted themselves energetically to all manly sports. 

Sir Walter was never wont to narrate his adventures with 
gun and rifle ; and though the house at Wolflee is a perfect 
museum of natural history — the walls covered with trophies, 
and the principal staircase hung all over with skins, while 
above is a room specially set apart as a natural history 
museum — few visitors ever knew how many of these wild 
animals fell to Elliot's own gun. 

A few days after Campbell's arrival, the young English- 
men of Dhirwdr seem to have gone out to camp on an 
organised shooting expedition; and it will be noticed that 
Elliot appears to have retained in his employ a regular 
staff of the best native '' shikarries " procurable, without 
which arrangement little can ever be seen of the higher 
kinds of sport in India. Untrained men are useless, and 
^' casuals " can never be depended upon in an emergency. 

Here follow a few extracts from Colonel Campbell's 
" Journal : "— 

" Mafch ist. This morning, Elliot's native hunters, who have been on 
the trail of a tiger for a week past, brought intelligence that they had at 
last succeeded in marking him down. 

" Old ' Anak/ a fine elephant, which we had borrowed from a neigh- 
bouring rajah, was instantly despatched with guns and ammunition in 
the howdah, and Elliot, my brother, and I followed soon after, on horse- 
back. 

" On arriving at the ground, eight miles from the camp, we found every- 
thing looking well for a certaiin kill. The tiger had been marked into a 
small open ravine, when there was no strong cover, and every rising 
ground within sight was crowned by a look-out man, to turn him, or mark 



2i6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

him down, if ho should break awray.- All possible pfecaotipns having been 
taken to prevent his escape, we mounted the elephant, and the tiger was 
roused by a rattle of ' tom-toms ' and a wild shout from the beaters. He 
was on foot in a moment, and, \irifh a loud roar, dashed fiiom the ravine, 
took away across country at a lobbing galop. 

" The elephant was badly placed, and the tiger passed us at a distance 
of 150 yards, going at a pace which rendered the chances of hitting him 
very slight indeed. Two balls rang among the rocks close behind him ; 
and just as he was topping the hill, a long rifle-shot appeared to touch 
him, for a short angry roar was borne back upon the breeze, and the 
beaters made signs that he was hit. We followed at the best pace old 
'Anak' could muster, and on reaching the summit of the hill, saw the 
tiger slowly stealing down a ravine on the opposite side. He was out of - 
shot, and we halted to mark him down, and to send the beaters to » place 
of safety ; for he was. evidently wounded, and. therefore dangerous. One 
man alone, intoxicated with opium, disregarded every warning signal. 

" The tiger was going straight towards him. We called and beckoned 
in vain. The infatuated wretch drew his sword, and waved it in defiance, 
while we saw the fatal crisis approaching, but could do nothing to save 
him. 

"Elliot ordered the 'mahout* to urge the elephant forward at his 
Utmost speed. I shall never forget the excitement of that moment. My 
brother and I, both novices in tiger-hunting, were almost in a rabid state; 
and in our anxiety to rescue the doomed wretch from his impending fate, 
we stamped with impatience, and abused the driver for not exerting 
himself sufficiently, although he was applying the goad with all his 
strength, and making the blood flow, and extorting a scream of pain from 
the unfortunate elephant at every stroke. 

" But all was in vain. Before we were half-way down the hill, the 
tiger had caught sight of the poor helpless drunkard, standing directly in 
his path, and his doom was sealed.* He might still have made an effort 
to escape, for he had a long Start; but he appeared paralysed with fear 
when he saw the tiger making directly towards him, with terrific bounds. 
The brute was upon him with the speed of lightning. We saw him rear 
for an instant over his victim, who attempted to defend himself with his 
sword and shield. One savage roar rang through the soul of the stricken 
wretch, and he was dashed to the ground, amidst a cloud of dust, thtough 
which we could just distinguish the agitated forms of the tiger and the 
wretched man, writhing like a crushed worm in his gripe. It was over ia 
an instant. The tiger trotted off sulkily to a small patch of thorny 
bushes, and being now excited to madness by the taste of blood, stood 
boldly awaiting our attack. The elephant was pnshed forward with all 
speed, the tiger roaring furiously as we advanced, and the moment his 
splendid head appeared, a volley from six barrels sent him staggering 
back into the centre of the bush. He rallied .instantly, and made a 
brilliant charge close np to the elephant's trunk,- when he was again 
ttirned by m well-direoted volley from the spare guns, and retreated 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 2J7. 

growling to his lair. We now retired a short distance to reload, and when 
we advanced agaiin, the tiger, although bleeding at every pore, rushed 
forth to meet us, as savage as ever. He was again turned before he could 
spring on the elephant, and again dn^ged forward liis bleediiig body to 
the charge, roaring as if his he^rt would burst with impotent rag^. We 
now let him come up quite close, so that every ball might tell, and gave, 
him shot after shot, till he crawled back exhausted into the bushes. We 
followed him up. and in a last expiribg effort to reach the elephant, he 
was shot dead, while struggling to make good his charge. He was game 
to the last ; and Elliot, who has killed many tigers, says he never saw one 
die more gallantly. 

" Having ascertained, by poking him with a spear, that the tiger was 
actually dead, we dismounted from the 'howdah.* and leaving the 
' mahout ' to reward his unwieldy pet after his exertions by giving him 
balls of sugar dipped in the tiger's blood, went to look after the unfortun- 
ate beater who had been struck down. We found him lying under a bush 
in a dying state, and a more frightful spectacle I never beheld. His lower 
jaw was carried away, as if he had been struck by a cannon-ball, his cheek 
bones were crushed to pieces, and the lacerated muscles of the throat hung 
down over his chest. So dreadful was the injury that literally nothing of 
the fBLce was left below the eyes. He appeared quite sensible, poor fellow, 
and made frantic signs for water, whilst his blood-shot eyes, rolling wildly, 
imparted to the head the most ghastly expression I ever beheld. It was* 
of course, impossible to afford him the slightest relief, and death soon put 
an end to his sufferings. 

*' The important operation of singeing the tiger's whiskers having been 
performed by the oldest native hunter, the carcass was laid upon a cart 
drawn by six bullocks, and decorated with flags, and was thus dragged 
home in triumph. On skinning the tiger, we found sixteen balls lodged 
ia- his body, most of which had entered his chest, a strong proof of the 
extraordinary tenacity of life possessed by these animals.^' 

In 1836 the " Royal Asiatic Journal ** contains a paper by 
Elliot on Hindu inscriptionSi and the then little known ancient 
dynasties of the Dakhan ; and he sent with it two manuscript 
volumes containing nearly 600 copies of inscribed stones, 
which he had come across between 1823 and 1833. He was 
one of the earliest contributors to the '* Journal of the Asiaiic 
Society of Bengal," started in 1832, and he was mainly 
instrumental in founding the " Madras Journal of Literature 
and Science." His papers on historical subjects constituted 
a standard work of reference on the subject for many years. 

Leaving Bombay, on furlough, in December, 1833, he 
spent the first year and a half of his leave in travel, not 



ai8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

arriving in England until May, 1835. The journey was 
begun in company with Robert Pringie,^ of the Bombay 
Civil Service. They went up the Red Sea in the cruiser 
"Coote" (Capt. Rose), touching at the ports of Jidda and 
Mocha.' At Mocha the travellers were compelled to leave 
the ship, which was detained there in consequence of the 
Bedouins having expelled Muhammad Ali*s garrison, and 
plundered the place. They crossed in a tender to Massowa, 
on the Abyssinian coast, where Capt. Moresby was survey- 
ing in the <* Benares," made the best of their way up the 
coast, and recrossed to Jidda, where they joined the Com- 
pany's steamer *' Hugh Lindsay," and proceeded to Kossair. 
Landing there, they rode across the desert to Thebes. 
During this journey, Elliot met Dr Joseph Wolff, the cele- 
brated missionary, who sailed in the ship from Bombay. 

After seeing the wonders of Thebes, Mr Elliot and Mr 
Pringle descended the Nile to Cairo, and thence crossed 
the desert of El Arish to the Holy Land. Here they joined 
the Hon. Robert Curzon (the late Lord Zouche) and Sir 
Robert Palmer ; and the party of four visited Nazareth, the 
Dead Sea, the Haurdn, Lebanon, and Damascus, arriving 
at Jerusalem in time for the Easter-week celebrations at 
the Holy Sepulchre. Here Mr Elliot was present at a 
terrible tragedy which occurred at the Church of the Holy 
Sepulchre on Good Friday (1834), ^^ ^^^ festival of the 
Descent of the Holy Fire, when five hundred people were 
crushed to death. An account of the affair is given in 
Curzon*s "Monasteries of the Levant.*' An extract from 
this book is as follows: — 

"It was on Friday the 31:^ of May, that my companions and myself 
went, about five o'clock in the evening, to the Church of the Holy 
Sepulchre, where we had places assigned to us in the gallery of the Latin 
monks, as well as a good bedroom in their convent. The church was very 
full, and the numbers kept increasing every moment. . . . But every 
window and cornice, and every place where a man's foot could rest, 
excepting the g^lery — which was reserved for Ibrahim Pasha and our- 
selves — appeared to be crammed with people; for 17,000 pilgrims were 

^ Vide Pringle of Yair. This gentleman died in 1896, aged 94. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 219 

said to be in Jerusalem, almost the whole of whom had come to the Holy 
City for no otl^er reason but to see the Sacred Fire. . . . The people 
had, by this time, become furious ; they were worn out with standing in 
such a crowd all night, and, as the time approached for the exhibition of 
the Holy Fire, they could not contain themselves for joy. ... At about 
one o'clock the Patriarch went into the ante-chapel of the Sepulchre, and, 
soon after, a magnificent procession moved out of the Greek chapel. 

. . . The agitation of the pilgrims was now extreme ; they screamed 
aloud ; and the dense mass of people shook to and fro like a field of com 
in the wind. There is a round hole in one part of the chapel, over the 
Sepulchre, out of which the Holy Fire is given ; and, up to this, the man 
who had agreed to pay the highest sum for the honour was conducted by 
a strong guard of soldiers. There was silence for a minute, and then a 
light appeared out of the tomb, and the happy pilgrim received the Holy 
Fire from the Patriarch within. It consisted of a bundle of thin wax 
candles, lit, and inclosed in an iron frame to prevent their being torn 
asunder, and put out in the crowd. A furious battle commenced immedi- 
ately, every one being so eager to obtain the holy light, that a man put 
out the candle of his neighbour in trying to light his own. . . . Soon you 
saw the lights increasing in all directions, every one having lit his candle 
from the holy flame ; the chapels, the galleries, and every comer where a 
candle could possibly be displayed, immediately appeared to be in a blaze. 
The people in their frenzy put the bunches of lighted tapers to their faces, 
hands, and breasts, to purify themselves from their sins. . . . 

'* In a short time the smoke of the candles obscured everything in the 
place, and I could see it rolling in great volumes out at the aperture at 
the top of the dome. . . . After a while, when he had seen all there was 
to be seen, Ibrahim Pasha got up and went away, his numerous guards 
making a Une for him by main force through the dense mass of people 
which filled the body of the church. As the crowd was so immense, we 
waited for a little while, and then set out all together to return to our 
convent. I went first, and my friends followed me, the soldiers making 
way for us across the church. I got as far as the place where the Virgin 
is said to have stood during the Crucifixion, when I saw a number of 
people lying on one another all about this part of the church, and, as far 
as I could see, towards the door. I made my way between them as well 
as I could, till they were so thick that there was actually a great heap of 
bodies on which I trod. It then suddenly struck me they were all dead 1 
I had not perceived this at first, for I thought they were only very much 
fatigued with the ceremonies, and had lain down to rest themselves there ; 
but when I came to so great a heap of bodies. I looked down at them, 
and saw that sharp, hard appearance of the face which is never to be 
mistaken. 

'* At this time there was no crowd in this part of the church ; but a 
little farther on, round the comer towards the great door, the people, who 
were quite panic-struck, continued to press forward, and every one was 
doing his utmost to escape. The guards outside, frightened at the rush 



220 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

from within, thought that the Christians wished to attack them, and the 
confusion soon grew into a battle. The dead were lying in heaps even 
upon the stone of unction ; and I saw full four hundred wretched people, 
deid and living, heaped promiscuously one upon another; in some places, 
above five feet high. . . . When the bodies were removed, many were 
discovered standing upright, quite dead; and near the chnrch door 
one of the soldiers was found standing, with his musket shouldered, among 
the bodies. The whole court before the entrance to the church was 
covered with the dead, laid in rows, by the Pasha's orders, so that their 
friends might find them and carry them away." 

From Jerusalem, Pringle and Elliot travelled through part 

of Asia-Minor, visiting the Cyclades, the Seven Churches, 

« 

and Scutari, thence proceeding to Constantinople. From 
the city of the Golden Horn they went to Athens, Corinth, 
Corfu, and finally to Ancona. 

They arrived in Rome in December, 1834, and travelled 
slowly home, spending three months at Venice, Milan, 
Geneva, and Paris. From May, 1835, to October, 1836, 
Mr Elliot remained at home, and then returned to India as 
private secretary to his cousin. Lord Elphinstone, who had 
received the' appointment of Governor of Madras. The 
journey was made in the yacht " Prince Regent," which 
the English Government was about to present to the Imam 
of Muscat. They arrived in Madras in February, 1837, and 
Mr Elliot found himself fully occupied; for, in addition to 
the private secretaryship, he was, in April, made third 
member of the Board of Revenue. For this important post 
he was exceptionally well qualified, from his intimate ac- 
quaintance with the native character. For the next few 
years Mr Elliot was employed in the quiet fulfilment of his 
duties, his linguistic attainments being recognised by his 
appointment, at one time as Canarese translator, and at 
another, as Persian translator to the Government. The work 
was, however, agreeably diversified in his case by a journey 
taken to Malta in 1838, where he was married (January 
15th, 1839) to Maria Dorothea, daughter of Sir David 
Hunter-Blair, Bart., of Blairquhan. 

For the next few years Mr Elliot sedulously pursued 
his investigations on antiquarian and scientific subjects. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. aai 

In 1840, on the ist of October, he lost his next brother. 
Lieutenant James Forbes Elliot, 7th Madras Native In- 
fantry, who died somewhat suddenly at-Ndlore. 

The retirement of Lord Elphinstone in 1842 relieved Mr 
Elliot from the post of private secretary, and thenceforth 
be was employed officially in the ordinary duties of a mem- 
"ber of the Board of Revenue. In 1845 he was called upon 
to perform a very difficult and delicate mission in the tract 
•of country called the Northern Sirkdrs in regard to the 
revenue. For the successful manner in which he carried 
•out this duty, he was thanked by the court of directors, 
and a special appointment was created, making Mr Elliot 
•commissioner of the whole Northern Sirkdrs, with extended 
powers in administrative matters. In this he remained 
until 1854, when he was appointed member of council in 
the Government of Madras, in succession to Sir J. V. Ston- 
house. Unfortunately, Mr Elliot, who had been unwell for 
-some time, had been ordered home on sick leave. He went 
to England for six months after taking his seat in council, 
:and returned to his duty in 1855. In this high and respon- 
sible position in which he had been placed he remained 
until his retirement from the service in i860. To the stir- 
ring events of that period we shall presently return. Valu- 
able papers of Mr Elliot's on archaeological matters appeared 
from time to time in the '< Madras Journal of Literature 
and Science," of which he was for some years the editor. 
Amongst others must be specially noted his "Numismatic 
Gleanings,'* which remained for many years the only paper 
•of reference on South Indian coins, and has only really been 
•superseded by his own large standard work published in 
1886 in the '' Numismata Orientalia." 

Throughout his long life, with all its varied interests — the 

love of research, the passion for sport, the patient toil of the 

•office, and the keen excitement of the chase — no side of 

Elliot's character stands out more prominently than his 

unwavering belief in the truths of Christianity. Firmly 

jpersuaded, from his youth upwards, that faith in Christ was 



222 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the only safe and sure rule of life for himself and all men, he 
earnestly desired to impart that belief to those around him, 
and yet never allowed his faith to lead him into intolerance. 
Amongst the good and earnest missionaries of his time, he 
numbered many of his dearest friends; and his influence 
and his monpy were ever at the disposal of societies and 
individuals engaged in true Christian work. 

The marbles discovered by Sir Walter Elliot were sent 
home by him to England, and remained for ipany years 
uncared for in the old India Office, whence they were 
removed', . /nainly at the instance of the late Mr James 
Fergusson, to the India Museum in South Kensington. 
Finally, they were sent to their present home in the British 
Museum, where they now line the walls of the grand 
staircase. 

I now revert to the closing scenes of Mr Elliot's Indian 
career. He became a member of council in the Government 
of Fort St George, in 1854, ^^^ shortly afterwards wa 
elevated to the rank of senior member. Then came. the 
stirring period of English history which began with the 
Crimean -War in 1854, ^^^ continued for several years. 
Hardly had the rejoicings in England, consequent on the 
proclamation of peace with Russia, died away, than the 
nation was convulsed by the tidings of the Indian Mutiny. 
As months passed by, men trembled on the arrival of each 
mail, in fearful anticipation of the downfall of British power 
in India, and the murder of Europeans there. 

During all this dark and trying period, Mr Elliot was at 
his post at Madras, and, by his calmness and cool judgment 
in moments of doubt and danger, set an admirable example 
to all around him. In this, he was nobly seconded by Lady 
Elliot. As the plot thickened, and tidings of revolt and mas- 
sacre came in quick succession from the north of India^ 
public anxiety in Madras was roused to the utmost pitch ; 
and it has never been concealed that Lord Harris took a 
very gloomy view of the situation. He did not see how 
Madras could escape the contagion ; and, indeed, his fore* 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 923 

bodings would in all probability have been realised, had 
not that genuine friend of England, the then Prime Minister 
of Hyderabad, by his good faith and sound policy, averted 
an outbreak in the leading Mohammedan state. The loyalty 
of the Dakhan interposed a barrier between the fanatic rev- 
olutionaries of the North and the hesitating inhabitants of 
Southern India, and brought about the peace of the Madras 
Presidency. But until that peace was established, anxiety in 
Madras increased daily, till it reached its highest pitch at 
the Mohurrum festival in 1857, when many of the leading 
Europeans anticipated a rising and general massacre. 

The anxiety in Madras was so great that the Gover- 
nor himself had little hope, and the residents looked 
forward, almost hourly, to a general insurrection — many 
believing only in the eventual triumph of England by a 
reconquest of the country. Mr Elliot, head of the Govern- 
ment during the absence of Lord Harris, who was temporar- 
ily invalided, resolutely set his face against any conduct 
which would be likely to lead to a panic 

One morning a rumour was carried to him that Lady 
Canning, the wife of the Governor-General, was about to 
sail for England. Mr Elliot strongly expressed his dis- 
approval of the step, saying that it would have the worst 
possible effect. In this he was nobly seconded by Lady 
Elliot, who declined altogether to set an example of flight, 
and busied herself in allaying the fears of those around her. 

It was a time when the heroism of the women was 
exemplified in no less a degree than that of the men, so 
much so, that Lord Paimerston remarked in Parliament, 
that in future it would be a sufficient honour for the most 
distinguished British soldier, to proclaim him as brave as 
an Englishwoman. 

Lord Harris's private letters to Mr Elliot, many of 

which Lady Elliot kindly showed me, prove how much the 

Governor relied on the sound judgment and long trained 

experience of this senior member of Council, in this critical 

and anxious time. 

Q 



sa4 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 

Lord Harris's health having broken down under the strain, 
and Mr Elliot being, in the autumn of 1858, provisional 
governor of Madras, it devolved on the latter to give public 
effect to the Royal Proclamation which announced to the 
princes and people of India that the sovereignty of this vast 
country had passed from the East India Company to the 
British Crown. 

In this connexion. Lord Canning's private letter to Mr 
Elliot, dated from Allahabad, on October Z7th, 1858, will be 
read with interest. 

" Privatb. *' Allahabad. Octofur 17th, 1858. 

'■Dear Mr Elliot,—I have just received by the mail of the lyth 
September, viA Bombay, the Proclamation of the Queen upon assuming 
the government of India. 

" I send you a copy of it at once by post, on the chance that it may 
reach you before the arrival of the mail steamer from Calcutta, by which 
another copy will be sent officially. It may be necessary for me to delay 
the departure of the steamer for twenty-four hours. 

'* It is desirable that the promulgation of the Proclamation should talce 
place on the same day at each Presidency — Madras is the most distant. 

" It should be read in some public and open place, to which natives of 
all classes, as well as Europeans, can have firee access. 

"The place which will be chosen at Calcutta is the open steps of 
Government House, and the reading should be. first in English, and then 
in one vernacular version. 

*' I suppose that Tamil will be the fittest language for Madras, and I 
hope that you will receive the document in time to have the translation 
made by the ist of November. 

"This is probably the day that will be fixed for the ceremony; but of 

this you shall hear positively by telegraph and by the steamer. If the 

translation is not ready, a single reaiUng in English must suffice. The 

Proclamation being from the Queen herself, and treating of matter of the 

deepest importance, it is especially necessary that no inkling of its 

contents or purport should leak out or become canvassed before the day 

of promulgation. Care, therefore, will be needed to put the document 

into safe hands for translation. The reading will, of course, be followed 

by a salute, and the evening should be made as much of a festival as 

possible. 

•' Believe me, dear Mr Elliot, 

" Very faithfully yours, 

" The Hon. Walter EUiot." " Canning." 

In conformity with these instmctions, Mr Elliot, as pro* 
visional governor, read the proclamation from the steps of 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 235 

the Banqueting Hall at Government House, on November 
X8t, 1858, every possible arrangement having been made to 
invest the occasion with an aspect of supreme importance. 

After two years' more residence at Madras, Mr Elliot 
determined to retire, having remained the full period allotted 
to a member of the Civil Service. 

He had been in India forty years, thirty-seven of which 
had been passed in active official employment, and he had 
held for five years the post of member of council, the high- 
est appointment to which a civilian can attain. 

Shortly before he left India, Mr Elliot received the com- 
pliment of a public dinner in his honour, at which Sir 
Charles Trevelyan, then Governor of Madras, presided. 
The latter summed up his opinion of the value of Mr 
Elliot's advice and counsel by saying, in his valedictory 
:speech : — ** In short, if there be anything that I ever wished 
to know connected with India, from * the cedar tree that is 
in Lebanon even unto the hyssop that springeth out of the 
wall,' I would go to Walter Elliot for information." 

After his retirement from the Madras Civil Service, Mr 
Elliot lived at Wolflee till his death, busily at work on 
his favourite subjects, no less than on county matters and 
^11 that concerned the welfare and happiness of those around 
him. 

The ** Indian Antiquary," the journals of the various 
Asiatic societies, that of the Ethnol(^cal Society, the 
Transactions of the Botanical Society, the Journal of the 
Zoological Society, the Reports of the British Association, 
the Journal of the Berwickshire Naturalists' Club, the Pro- 
ceedings of the Scottish Society of Antiquaries, the '' Edin- 
burgh New Philosophical Journal," all received contributions 
— some of them very frequently — from his pen ; and this, too, 
while he was fighting, inch by inch, against a daily increas- 
ing defect of vision, which resulted during the last few years 
of his life in total blindness. One of his most important 
works, the *' Coins of Southern India," published in the 
"'^Numismata Orientalia," which was conducted, all too 



226 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

briefly, by the late Mr Edward Thomas, was written at a 
time when the affection of his eyes rendered him practically 
incapable of seeing a single coin, and yet his memory was 
so reliable that by simply handling one of the thousands of 
coins in his cabinet, after having its device described, he 
would not only recognise the specimen itself, but, in most 
cases, remember how he got possession of it, and where it 
had been discovered. The coin and medal department of 
the British Museum now possesses the choicest specimens 
of Sir Walter's collection. 

In April, 1862, he became a member of the Jedforest Club, 
having been proposed by his neighbour, Thomas M. Scott 
of Wauchope, and seconded by Mr Oliver Rutherfurd of 
Edgerston. 

In 1866, Mr Elliot received the honour of knighthood, 
being created a Knight Commander of the Star of India. 

In 1877 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, 
and in 1878 the University of Edinburgh recognised his 
worth by conferring on him the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Laws. 

The "Kelso Chronicle,*' writing of his usefulness in the 
county, says : — " As a commissioner of supply for Roxburgh- 
shire, he took an important part in public affairs, and his 
opinions were always received with respect. He was a 
deputy^lieutenant, and also on the commission of the peace.'^ 

Sir Walter worked with unabated interest literally up to 
the last hour of his long life, for he passed away, apparently 
without the slightest suffering, on the afternoon of a day 
the morning of which had been, as usual, devoted to active 
occupations. One of his friends, Dr Pope, the eminent 
Tamil scholar, received a letter signed by him, and dated 
from Wolff ee on March ist, 1887, the day of his deaths 
containing inquiries as to the forthcoming edition of a Tamil 
work, and suggesting that the attention of Madras native 
students should be bestowed upon the early dialects of their 
own language. He died in his 85th year. 

Sir Walter ever maintained a kindly relationship with 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 227 

his neighbours of all ranks, and had a generous hand for 
the poor and needy, as well as for every deserving cause. 
He preserved through life, along with his scientific investi- 
gations and studies, a firm faith in the great doctrines of 
the Christian religion, as is well illustrated by the opening 
sentence of his deed of settlement, dated 1885, which is as 
follows : — 

" I. Sir Walter Elliot of Wolfiee, Knight Commander of the Star of 
India, having completed my 82nd year, and passed the limit assigned for 
the ordinary duration of life, desire to revise the settlement of my worldly 
affairs in such wise as may best conduce to the comfort and happiness of 
my children in this life, and so, by keeping them free as far as possible 
from undue care and anxiety, to prepare them for the life to come. And, 
first, as regards myself, I desire to express my thankfulness to Almighty 
God for the goodness and mercy which have followed me all my life long, 
and chiefly for His long-suffering in sparing me till He showed me my 
true estate as a perishing sinner, and reconciled me to Himself by Jesus 
Christ, in whom is all my trust ; in which hope I desire to depart, having 
confidence, also, that the prayer of my dear wife^ will be answered in the 
conversion of our beloved children, > that we all of us may be ever with the 
Lord." 

Jambs Thomas Spencer Elliot, eldest son of Sir Walter J. T. Spencer 
Elliot, was born at Madras, 6th September, 1845, and \\^oiii^, 
was educated at Harrow. At the age of twenty he went 
to South America for the purpose of stock - farming, but 
returned home in I872. He afterwards acquired some land 
in Manitoba, which he retained until his death. 

In his day, no one was better known in Roxburghshire 
than James Elliot. He was a useful man, and ready to 
make himself serviceable. As a justice of the peace and com- 



1 On the 24th December, 1890, Maria Dorothea, daughter of Sir David 
Hunter Blair, Bart., and widow of Sir Walter Elliot, died suddenly at 
Wolfiee. aged 74 years. 

> Major Herman F. Elliot, Royal Highlanders (Black Watch), youngest 
son of Sir Walter Elliot of Wolfiee. died at the Mauritius, aged 41 years, 
on the 9th of March. 1895. ^^ served with his regiment in Egypt, and 
was present at the battles of Tel-el-Kebir, El Teb. Nile (1884-5). ^^ 
Kirbekan. for which he received a medal with four clasps, and the bronze 
star. 



328 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 

missioner of supply he took a warm interest in county 
matters. His well-known portly figure was most conspicuous 
at all county meetings, where he was always welcome. In 
social life he possessed in an eminent degree those qualities 
which give confidence to fellowship, and zeal to benevolence. 
Although short-sighted, almost to blindness — which would 
have hindered most men from public business and political 
strife — he was supremely happy in the midst of it. As a 
politician he was such an enthusiast that he readily sacri- 
ficed both his private pleasures and personal convenience 
in attending political meetings. In 1880 he contested the 
representation of the Border burghs in the conservative 
interest, but was defeated by Sir George Trevelyan. Mr 
Elliot was a Freemason, and held high office both in the 
grand lodge of Scotland and provincial grand lodge of the 
counties of Roxburgh and Selkirk. With his usual energy, 
he identified himself with the volunteer brigade movement, 
and joined the Border mounted rifles. He remained in the 
corps until it was disbanded. In agriculture he took a very 
keen interest, managing two large farms on the Wolflee 
estate, and also representing the Border district at the 
meetings of the Highland and Agricultural Society. On 
the death of his father. Sir Walter, Mr Elliot became 
laird of Wolflee. In 1888 he married Emily Grace, 
second daughter of William St Lawrence Gethin, a brother 
of Sir Richard Gethin, Bart. His sight, never good, became 
worse, and he lost the use of one eye entirely. He fought 
manfully against this affliction, still attending public meet- 
ings without assistance, even at a time when the feeble 
glimmer of light in his other eye was all but extinguished. 
Death overtook him on the 14th December, 1892, in the 
forty-seventh year of his age.^ He was buried in the 
family aisle at Southdean, 17th December, 1892, and, as 



^ Mr Elliot was a regular attendant at the meetings of the Jedforest 
Club. No man enjoyed more than he did the delights of friendly inter- 
course and the pleasures of society. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 329 

he had many friends and was very popular, his funeral 
was largely attended. 

Major Edward Hay Mackbnzib Elliot, the third son of Major E. H. 
Sir Walter Elliot, was bom in India on the 30th of Novem- wolflee. 
her, 1852, and, with his brothers, was educated at Harrow. 
He entered the Scottish Borderers militia before joining 
the Sand Regiment (now South Lancashire) in 1874. Major 
Elliot has served abroad with his regiment, at the Cape, 
in the Straits, and at Hong-Kong. In January. 1894, ^^ 
was appointed private secretary and A.D.C. to the Earl of 
Glasgow, Governor of New Zealand. In the same year he 
joined the Jedforest Club. He is thus the fourth Elliot of 
Wolflee in succession who has been a member of this 
county Club. 

ELLIOT OF ARKLETON. 

The Arkleton Elliots are descended from the third son of 
William Elliot of Larriston. The whole pedigree of this 
family appears in Burke. 

Arkleton was sold or passed out of the family of Elliot 
about the year 1623, and Adam Cunningham became the 
owner. From him it went into the hands of Francis Scott, 
and was acquired either by purchase or by marriage by 
Walter Elliot, designed of Arkleton. He registered arms in 
1676. In 1694, ^^ executed an entail of Arkleton, which, on 
his death in 1702, was registered by his third son, William, 
in whose favour the deed was drawn out. Next in the 
entail was Nichol, the fourth son; then Walter, the sixth 
son; afterwards James, the fifth son; and so on, to the 
exclusion of Adam, the eldest of the family. 

William Elliot of Arkleton was born in 1665, married 
Anne Ainslie, and died in 1721. He had among other 
issue a son, Adam, who succeeded. 

Adam Elliot of Arkleton, bom in 1702, married Christina, 
daughter of William Elliot of Thorleshope, and by her had 
a son, William. 



^30 ANNALS OF A BORJ^ER CLUB, 

William Elliot of Arkleton, born 17351 was a doctor of 
medicine, and resided near Jedburgh. He married, first, 
Miss Lindsay, a sister of Dr Lindsay of Jedburgh, but had 
by her no issue; and, secondly, Cassandra, daughter of 
Robert Elliot of Overtoun, co-heiress along with her 
sister Margaret, who died unmarried, of Thorleshope and 
Overtoun. By this marriage he left three sons and one 
daughter. Thorleshope was sold to James Jardine, tenant 
of Arkleton. 

Adam Elliot, born 1774, appointed to the 22nd Foot as 
lieutenant, in 1794. The regiment was employed in the 
West Indies, and he was killed on service there in 1796 or 
1797.^ 

Robert Elliot, born in I775» who succeeded, and of whom 
presently. 

William, bom 1777. He became an army surgeon, and 
died young. 

Margaret, born in 1779, who succeeded to Arkleton. 

Towards the close of last century, William Elliot, M.D., 
died, and it was not until about 1803, that Capt. Robert 
Elliot, of the 5th Bombay Native Infantry, returned home, 
and took possession of the estate of Arkleton.* He had seen 
active service with his regiment at the siege and storming of 
Seringapatam in the 6th brigade, under Lieut. -Colonel 
Scott. He took much interest in the Roxburghshire 
volunteers, and was one of the first to turn out in response 
to the blazing beacons around Hawick on that memorable 
occasion. The Liddesdale men, who represented a con- 
siderable portion of the volunteers, had not arrived at the 
rendezvous as soon as was expected, and Capt. Elliot galloped 

^ In an Army List of 1797, Lieut. Adam Elliot, of the 22nd regiment of 
Foot, still appears ; therefore, it is probable that he died that year, as in 
1798 his name is removed from the list. 

Inqutsitiems Gtntralis, August 23, 1631, Archibald Eliot, heir to John 
Eliot in Arkletoun. his father. 

Arkeltowne belonged to Francis Scott in 1663. He granted a bond to 
Isobel Ker, wife of George Douglas of Bonjedert. 



ANNALS OFM BORDER CLUB. 231 

off to meet them. It was' from this circumstance that an 
accident arose, for on turning sharply round the Tower 
comer in Hawick, the captain came in violent collision with 
a young man, Kerr, who resided at Whithaugh ; the shock 
was severe, both men being thrown from their horses. Vid$ 
"The Narrative of the False Alarm, 1804." 

Captain Elliot, during his furlough, lived at Stewartiield, 
Jedburgh, with his sister Margaret; and it was here that 
Margaret married, in 1807, Adam Scott, insurance broker in 
London, third son of the Rev. William Scott of Soutbdean. 
At the expiration of his furlough Capt. Elliot returned to 
India, and was promoted to the rank of major. In 1810, he 
accompanied the expedition to the Isle of France, and on his 
arrival was appointed barrack-master general of the Isle of 
Bourbon. He volunteered his services to the captain of 
H.M.S. "Afracaine," who was attacked by two French 
frigates, the " Iphigenia " and the " L'Astria," off the Isle of 
Bourbon. In this desperate action Major Elliot and many 
others were killed, and the French were victorious. After 
the death of her brothers, Margaret was served heir, and 
assumed the name of Elliot conjointly with that of Scott. 
She died on the 18th of March, 181 6, in Thistle Street, 
Edinburgh. Her husband, Adam Scott, became a member Adam Scott 
of the Club in 181 8, and died at Edinburgh, in December, ^f^\y 
1 82 1. They left a son and a daughter. The son, William 
Scott-Elliot, now of Arkleton, born 22nd March, 181 1, 
represents Scott of Bonchester and Elliot of Arkleton. He 
married, in 1848, Margaret, daughter of L. A. Wallace, and 
is a writer to the signet. His eldest son, William, was born 
in 1849. 

The Rev. William Scott, minister of Southdean parish, 
was a younger brother of Thomas Scott of Bonchester, a 
family who for a long period owned land in the Rulewater 
district. There is a tradition connected with this clergyman, 
which has been always accepted by his descendants with 
unfaltering faith. It is to the following effect: — The Rev. 
William Scott was riding home one night from a meeting of 



232 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

presbytery, in company with two other clergymen. Whes 
nearing the manse of Southdean, there passed close by them 
a figure on horseback, so real, and yet so unearthly, that the 
observers felt in a manner paralysed, and unable to speak. 
They had not gone far, when the weird horseman repassed so 
close as to be distinctly seen by all three. Mr Scott then 
remarked: — "Did I not know that he was lying on his 
deathbed, I would say that was the Abbot" — meaning 
Mr Ker of Abbotrule — and adding, "if he comes again I 
will strike him with my whip." As if to challenge his valour 
the figure passed for the third time. Mr Scott raising his 
whip to strike, found his arm fall powerless by his side. On 
reaching the manse the nervous and terror-stricken ministers 
related the occurrence. The death of Mr Ker was intimated 
next morning, having taken place, as near as could be judged, 
at the very moment that his wraith appeared. 

The Rev. William Scott died at Southdean manse in 1809, 
in the seventy-second year of his age, and the forty-eighth of 
his ministry. 

ERSKINE OF SHIELFIELD. 

Erskine is a surname which has been much distinguished 
in Scottish history, both in matters of Church and State. 

The Erskines of Shielfield are descended from Robert, 
third Lord Erskine, who was killed at Flodden in I5i3. 
He had three sons: Robert, master of Erskine, who died 
before his father ; John, who succeeded as /ourth Lord 
Erskine, and died in 1552 ; and James Erskine of Little 
Sauchie and Balgownie, who married Christian Stirling, 
and by her had four sons. The youngest of these sons, 
Alexander, married, in 1559, Elizabeth Haliburton, only 
child and heiress of Walter Haliburton of Shielfield and 
Agnes Stewart his wife.* 

Alexander Erskine, first of Shielfield, died in 1580. 

Ralph Erskine, second of Shielfield, succeeded as heir to 

1 Daughter of James Stewart, Abbot of Dryburgh. To this couple there 
was a grant of the lands of Nether Shielfield in 1537 by the said abbot. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 233 

his father on the aoth January, 1580. He married, first, 
Isabella Caimcross, by whom he had seven children, and, 
secondly, Janet Wilson. By his latter wife he left five 
children. He died on the Z3th February, 1645, and his 
wife in the following September. He was succeeded by 
his eldest son by his first wife. 

John Erskine, third of Shielfield, was born 26th August, 
1589, and married Margaret Sinclair of Banks in 1609.^ 
His second wife, whom he married on 28th March, 1617, 
was Margaret Haliburton, daughter of James Haliburton ; 
she died on 12th December, 1668. John himself departed 
this life four years later (on i6th December, 1672). His 
half-brother was the Rev. Henry Erskine of Chirnside; 
he was bom at Dryburgh on the 22nd August, 1624, and 
married Margaret Halcro' in 1674. It is interesting to note 
that this clergyman was the father of the two celebrated 
divines, Ebenezer and Ralph Erskine, the founders of the 
secession in Scotland. 

Ebenezer Erskine was born at Dryburgh house, 22nd 
June, 1680. When fourteen years of age he was sent to the 
University of Edinburgh, where he held a bursary on the 
presentation of Pringle of Torwoodlee, and in September, 
1703, he was ordained minister of Portmoak. In the various 
religious controversies of the period he took a leading part. 
He soon became famous. Crowds of all denominations 
flocked to hear him preach, and the high estimation in which 
Mr Erskine was held procured him " a call *' to the West 
Church at Stirling, which he accepted in 173 1. During the 
rebellion of 1745, Erskine set the example of loyalty by 
taking an active part in support of the Government. The 
seceders of Stirling formed themselves into a company, and 
Mr Erskine, fully accoutred, mounted guard in defence of 
the town. Stirling was taken by the rebels, and Erskine 

1 Contract of marriage of Margaret Sinclair, sister of John Sinclair of 
Banks, and John Erskine, signed at Edinburgh and Stirling, 28 and 31 
October, 1609. In 1630, John Erskine is called of *' Nether Shielfield." 

* Vide the Erskine-Halcro genealogy, by £. £. Scott. 



234 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 

then preached to his congregation in the wood of Tullibody, 
some miles to the north. In 1746 he headed two companies 
of seceders against the Pretender, and received a special 
letter of thanks from the Duke of Cumberland. He died 
on the 2nd June, 1754, and a statue of him is placed in the 
United Presbyterian Synod Hall, Edinburgh. 

Ralph, a younger brother of Ebenezer, was born at Moni- 
laws, a village in Northumberland, on the 15th March, 1685. 
He was also educated for the Church, and eventually became 
minister of the Collegiate Church of Dunfermline. He 
followed in his brother's footsteps and joined himself to the 
seceders in 1737, and was accordingly deposed by the 
General Assembly. He died on the 6th November, 1752, 
and a monument to his memory was formally inaugurated 
at Dunfermline on the 27th June, 1849 — nearly a hundred 
years after his death. Vide " Anderson's Scottish Nation." 

James Erskine, fourth of Shielfield, son of John, the 
third laird, married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Thomas 
Carre of Cavers, in 1656. He had a brother, William, who 
died about 1693, ^^^ ^^^ married a sister of William 
Cranstoun of Nether Huntliewood. 

John Erskine, fifth of Shielfield, son of James, the fifth 
laird, married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Scott of 
Ancrum;^ he died 174-, leaving a son and five daughters 
surviving. His brother Henry was a clergyman, of whom 
I shall speak presently. 

Patrick Erskine, sixth of Shielfield, son of John, the fifth 
laird, is styled "Doctor." He was the second son, but 
succeeded to the estate, owing to his elder brother, when 
a boy, having been killed by a fall from his horse. Patrick 
died at Dryburgh on the 15th August, 1777. 

Rev. James Erskine, seventh of Shielfield, succeeded his 
cousin. He was the son of the Rev. Henry Erskine, who 
married Janet, daughter of the Rev. Robert Cunningham 



1 Elizabeth was daughter of Sir John Scott. Bart., by Elizabeth, 
daughter of Francis Scott of Mangerton. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 235 

of Hawick parish. The Reiv. James Erskine married 
Henrietta Scott, and succeeded his father as . minister of 
Roberton in I774» and was transferred by the Duke of 
Buccleuch, in 1786, to the parish of St Boswells. He left 
three sons, Henry, Charles, and William. Mrs Erskine, who 
was a daughter of the laird of Goldielands, died in 1818, at 
the age of seventy-nine. The Rev. Mr Erskine only lived a 
little over two years after his change to St Boswells, and 
died on the 28th August, 1788, at the comparatively early 
age of fifty-five. He was succeeded by his eldest son. 

Lieut.-Colonel Henry Erskine, the eighth of Shielfield, Licut.-CoL 
was born in 1768, and entered the army as ensign in the Erskine of 
Royal Scots, (or ist Regiment of Foot), on the 20th January, Shielfield. 
1790. In 1794, he was promoted to a company in the Old 
Scotch Brigade. Col. Erskine sold Dryburgh House, and 
resided at Stewartfield until 18 16. He died, 9th November, 
1819, aged fifty. The following notification of his death 
appeared in the Edinburgh Advertise of that date: — *' At his 
house, Coates Crescent, Edinburgh, on the 9th inst., Lieut.- 
Col. Henry Erskine of Shielfield." He was an original 
member of the Club, and took much interest in its formation. 
He left no family, and was succeeded by his brother. 

Charles Erskine, ninth of Shielfield, was born in 1771. Charles 
By profession he was a writer, and held the appointment of g^elfidd. 
baron bailie of Melrose, and resided at the Priory there. 
He married, at Borthwickshiels, Barbara, only daughter of 
the late George Pott of Todrig, on the 24th January, 1806. 
Mr Erskine died suddenly of apoplexy, in Jedburgh, on the 
26th January, 1825, aged 54. He had attended a court that 
day apparently in his usual health. 

Mr Erskine, who was always fond of society, was also 
an original member of the Jedforest Club, and was of the 
number who assembled, in 1 810, at its inauguration. The 
letters which fdUow are interesting, as showing the friend- 
ship which existed between Erskine and Sir Walter Scott.. 



236 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 

Copy of a letter, dated on the back, " 2otli May, 1824.* 

" Castle Street, 20ih May, 
'* Dear Mr Curie. — ^Your note gave me pleasure, as I had been for two 
days very anxious about the health of my very old and excellent friend, 
Charles Erskine, having heard a confused and alarming account of his 
attack. I am in great hopes that the danger is now over, and that his 
convalescence will be progressive. It is an awful visitation. I am glad 
the ice house was of use — ^it is the second time that this place, which I 
accounted a mere luxury, has been beneficial to a valued friend's recovery. 
If Mr Usher wishes to have more money, you will be so good as to let me 
know, and I beg to know particularly how Mr Erskine goes on. 

" Yours truly (signed) Walter Scott.*' 

The last portion of the above letter probably refers to part 
of the price of Toftfield, which belonged to the Ushers, and 
was sold by John Usher to Sir Walter Scott. 

Sir Walter Scott's letters, vol. ii. p. 239. — Extract from a 
letter to his son Charles, written from Edinburgh, 17th 
February, 1825. 

'* Joy and grief mingle strangely together in this world. I have lost my 
good and tried friend, Charles Erskine. He died of an apopleptic fit. . . . 
The day before he died he had written me a most kind letter on Walter's 
marriage, begging to know the very day, as he meant, notwithstanding 
his rq^en, to drink, at least, one bumper that day. Alas, the day before 
the wedding was that of poor Charles's burial." 

Charles Erskine held the office of sheriff-substitute of 
Selkirkshire, under Sir Walter. The value of the office was 
about ;^300 a year. 

Mr Charles Erskine left, among other issue, two sons : — 
James, who succeeded ; and Colonel George Pott Erskine, 
who married Jane, a daughter of the Rev. G. Coventry, for 
many years incumbent of Trinity Church, Dean Bridge, 
Edinburgh. 

James Jambs Erskinb, tenth of Shielfield, bom in z8io, succeeded 

lufi!?*J?^ to his father's business, and was a partner in the well known 

firm of Curie & Erskine, writers. He was appointed 
baron bailie of Melrose, an office now extinct. He married, 
in 1841, his cousin Barbara Pott, of the Borthwickshiels 
family. Mr Erskine did not become a member of the 



Shielfield. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 237 

Jedforest Club until late in life, the date of his election being 
5th October, 1869. He died in 1875. 

Charles Erskine, eleventh of Shielfield, succeeded his 
iather. He was educated for the law, but never practised. 
Mr Erskine was bom in 1843, and was married, in 1878, to 
Margaret Catherine, daughter of Edward John Alderman 
of Forbury Grove, Berks. They also reside at the Priory, 
Melrose. 



238 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER IX. 

FAIR OF LANGLEE. 

TAMES FAIR, a Jedburgh writer, purchased the estate 
^ of Langlee, on Jed, and built a house which is now 
incorporated in the present handsome mansion. He also 
laid out the grounds and planted most of the timber which 
adds greatly to the beauty of the situation. Mr Fair mar- 
ried Catherine Lookup, who survived her husband for many 
years; he died at Langlee in 1796, and she also died there 
on the 27th April, 1834, aged 97 years. When the British 
Linen Banking Company first established a branch in Jed- 
burgh, Blind Fair, as he was commonly called, became the 
bank's agent. His sight had been much injured through 
the treatment of a quack doctor. He had, amongst others, 
two sons, William and James, and a daughter, Margaret, 
who died at Langlee, April 6th, 1849, aged 82. 

James Fair, younger brother of William, served for many 
years in the militia. Lieutenant Fair of the Dumfriesshire 
militia was stationed in Jedburgh in the year 181 3 on the 
recruiting service. At the close of the Peninsular war, in 
1814, he retired from the service and took the farm of 
Lustruther, and died in Jedburgh. 

William Fair WiLLiAM Fair of Langlee assisted his father during his 
o g ^« lifetime, and afterwards carried on the agency of the British 

Linen Co. Bank. Like his brother, James, he was fond of 
soldiering, and served in the Roxburghshire volunteers at 
the beginning of the century. He turned out at the head 
of his company when they assembled at Jedburgh on the 
eventful occasion of the false alarm. Mr Fair lived with a 
maiden sister at Langlee and never married. At his death 
he left the property to his kinsman, James Shortreed, who 
took the additional name of Fair. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 239 

FAIRFAX OF RAVENSWOOD. 

Joseph Fairfax of Windlesham, county of Surrey, had a 
son William, bom in 1738. 

William G. Fairfax at the age of twelve entered the Royal 
Navy. In the year T759 he served at the taking of Quebec. 
As captain of the " Venerable," he fought at the battle of 
Camperdown in October, 1797, and was created by his 
Majesty George III., a knight-banneret for distinguished 
services on that occasion. Sir William married, in 1767, 
Hannah, daughter of the Rev. Robert Spears; she died in 
1770. He married, secondly, in 1772, Margaret, daughter 
of Samuel Charters, solicitor of customs in Scotland. In 
September, 1803, Sir William G. Fairfax's name appears 
as a captain in the *' Kirkalday Volunteers." He died, 
November 7th, 1813, as a vice-admiral, and had, with other 
children who died young, two sons, Samuel and Henry, and 
a daughter, Mary. Lady Fairfiax survived her husband, 
and died in 1832. 

Samuel Fairfax, eldest son of Sir William, died at Calcutta 
on November 19th, 1795 — vide Edinburgh Advertiser. 

Henry Fairfax, the only surviving son of Sir William G. 
Fairfax, was created a baronet in 1836 by King William 
IV., for the important and valuable services of his father, 
the admiral. He entered the army in 1808, and served with 
the 49th Foot; in the year 1810 he joined the old 95th, now 
Rifle Brigade, in which, for a short period, he served in the 
Peninsula, and was at the retreat from Madrid in 1812. 
He eventually became major of the 85th and brevet-colonel 
in 1841 ; he died in i860. Sir Henry married, in 1830, the 
third daughter of Thomas Williamson, afterwards William- 
son - Ramsay of Lixmount, county of Edinburgh, and of 
Maxton, in Roxburghshire ; she died in 1844. He married, 
next, Sarah, eldest daughter of W. Astell, M.P., Bedford- 
shire. By his first wife he had three sons and a daughter. 

Mary, the only daughter of Admiral Sir William Fairfax, 
married Samuel Grieg, Russian consul for Britain, son of 
Sir Samuel Grieg, high admiral of Russia. Samuel Grieg 

R 



S40 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

died in 1806, aged 29, leaving an only surviving son, 
Woronzow. Mary, now a widow, married her cousin, Dr 
William Somerville, in 1812. She was one of the most 
scientific women of her day, and her life has been written 
by her daughter — vide Somerville Memoir. 

The family of Colonel Sir Henry Fairfax, Bart., are as 
follows : — 

Colonel Sir William G. H. T. Ramsay Fairfax, Bart., 
born 1831. 

Thomas Edward, bom 1832, Bengal Civil Service and 
barrister; died unmarried, 1882. 

Sir Henry, R.N. — of whom presently. 

Elizabeth Mary Somerville, born December 7th, 1835, at 
40 Albany Street, Edinburgh, married in 1861 to James L. 
Gregory. He died in 1863, leaving a son, Henry, born in 
1862, who died in 1881. Mrs Gregory married again, in 
1884, Col- ^* Marshall Cochrane — vide ** Dundonald Peer- 
age." 

Admiral Sir Admiral Sir Henry Fairfax, K.C.B., was born January 
K.C.B., of* 2ist, 1837. He entered the Royal Navy on December 7th, 
Ravenswood. ig^o, became a captain in 1868, rear-admiral in 1885, and 
admiral in 1897. ^^ ^^^ resides at Ravenswood, on the 
south side of the Tweed, opposite its junction with the 
Leader. The house was built in 1827, but additions have 
been made at various times. Old Melrose, which forms 
part of the estate, is the site of the original convent of 
Melrose, founded by St Cuthbert. Sir Henry married, in 
1872, Harriet, youngest daughter of Sir David Kinloch, 
Bart., of Gilmerton. He is a justice of the peace and a 
deputy-lieutenant, and was elected a member of the Jedforest 
Club in 1896. He represents East Melrose in the county 
council. The naval services of Admiral Sir Henry Fairfax 
are copied from the Royal Navy List : — 

" He served in the ' Amphitrite ' on two voyages to Behring's Straits 
and the Arctic Sea, to communicate with the Arctic ship, 'Plover," 
reaching lat. 70' 40" N., within 40 miles of Point Barrow ; while in 'Ariel,* 
S.E. coast of Africa, was constantly employed on boat service, and for his 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 241 

disdnguislMd conduct on several occasions, especially in the capture of a 
piratical slaver, ' their Lordships, wishing to express their high sense of 
Lieutenant Fairfax's great gallantry, promoted him to the rank of Com- 
mander.' Sat on a committee at the Foreign Office on the East African 
Slave Trade, 1869-70 ; accompanied Sir Bartle Frere as Naval Attache on 
his special mission to the Sultan of Zanzibar and Muscat, 1872-73; 
Private Secretary to the First Lord of the Admiralty, 1873-74 ; Captain of 
" Volage ; ' conveyed the astronomical expedition to Kerguelen (Desolation 
Island) for observation of the Transit of Venus, 1874-75 ; Senior Officer 
on the South-East Coast of America, 1875 ; recalled in 1877 to take com- 
mand of the ' Britannia,' while Prince Albert Victor and Prince George of 
Wales were on board; C.B. (Civil); F.R.G.S.; Aide-de-Camp to the 
Queen, December, 1881, to July, 1885 ; Captain of the ' Monarch' at the 
bombardment of Alexandria, nth July, 1882 ; (Egyptian Medal, Khedive's 
Bronxe Star, Osmanish 3rd Class) ; C.B. for this service ; was in command 
of the Naval and Marine Forces that seized and occupied Port Said on 
'20th August, 1882; remaining there for the preservation of order; on 
ieaving Port Said, February, 1883, received through H. M. Agent and 
Consul-General the thanks of the Egyptian Government for the manner 
in which public security had been maintained; Commander-in-Chief, 
Australian Station, ist February, 1887, to September, 1889 ; a Lord Com- 
missioner of the Admiralty, 24th October, 1889, ^o May, 1892 ; member of 
a Committee appointed by the Admiralty to take evidence and report upon 
the manning of the Navy, 189X ; Senior Officer in command of the Channel 
Squadron, loth May, 1892, to loth May, 1894; commanded the Red Fleet 
-in the Naval Manoeuvres of 1892, and the Red Fleet also in the Naval 
Manceuvres of 1893 ; K.C.B. on Her Majesty's birthday, 25th May, 1896." 

FELL. 
Captain Michael Edwin Fell rented The Holmes, on Capt. M. E. 

Fell The 

Tweedside, from the Earl of Buchan, and was the youngest Holmes. 
son of the Rev. Dr William Fell, rector of Brereton, 
Cheshire; and also of Sheepy, Leicestershire. During his 
residence at The Holmes, he became a member of the 
Jedforest Club, on the 27th September, 1820.* The Duke 
of Rutland, who was colonel-commandant of the Leicester 
militia, conferred a captain's commission upon Mr Fell, 
dated 6th May, 1812. He volunteered for active service, 
and a hundred of his men elected to accompany him. This 
circumstance entitled him to hold a captain's commission in 
the Line. Captain Fell was transferred with his men, in 
1813, to the 2nd Provisional Battalion of Militia, and shortly 

^ Capt. Fell gave up The Holmes, and left Roxburghshire, in 1822 



242 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Lieut. Peter 
Forbes. 



Major 
Forbes. 



afterwards joined the army under Wellington, and was 
present at the battle of Toulouse. This decisive battle 
brought the Peninsular war to a close, and on the army 
returning home, in 1814, the 2nd Provisional Battalion was 
reduced, and Captain Fell placed on half-pay. He died 
in London, in 1837, ^^ ^^^ ^B^ of fifty-seven. 

FORBES. 
Peter Forbes became a member of the Jedforest Club, 
on the 26th April, 1826. He was the son of William Forbes 
who, towards the close of last century, was keeper of the 
Records of the City of Edinburgh. Peter Forbes obtained 
a commission as ensign in the 95th Regiment of Foot, in 
August, 181 7, and was placed on half-pay as lieutenant of 
the same regiment, in January, 1819. He married, on April 
30th, 1 82 1, at Edinburgh, Mary, daughter of the late 
Richard Philp, distiller, Doll, and of Margaret Grieve. Mrs 
Forbes died in September 1853, and Mr Forbes on January 
13th, 1858 — both at their house, 18 Hart Street, Edinburgh. 
They had two daughters — Margaret, who married George 
Stark, and died 22nd November, 1848, and Jane, who 
married James Kemp Chalmers, and died on June 12th, 
1861. 

In the year, 1847, Major Forbes, who was then a tenant 
of the Marquis of Lothian, having taken Bonjedward House 
for a residence, became a member of the Jedforest Club. 
There is no further information about this gentleman. 



Archibald 
Gerard of 
Rochsoles. 



GERARD. 
Archibald Gerard of Rochsoles, Lanarkshire, was bom 
on July 8th, 1812. He was the second son of Lieut.-Col.^ 
John Gerard of Rochsoles, by Dorothea Montague, daughter 
of the Rev. Archibald Alison. In 1837 his elder brother^ 
Lieut. Alexander Gerard, 70th Regiment of Foot (who had 



^ Lieut. -Col. Gerard, H.E.I.C.S.. Adjutant-General, was wounded at the 
battle of Laswarree in 1803, under General, afterwards Lord, Lake. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 243 

succeeded to Rochsoles cm the death of his father), was 
accidentally drowned in the Nile ; the estates consequently 
devolved upon his next brother, Archibald. In August, 
1839, Archibald Gerard of Rochsoles married the eldest 
daughter (and co-heiress with her younger sister, Mrs 
Nugent, wife of John J. Nugent of Clonlost, county West- 
meath) of Sir John Robison,^ Sec. R.S.E., K.H., of 
Edinburgh. Mr Gerard was lieutenant-colonel of the 
Lanarkshire yeomanry cavalry, and was also a justice 
of the peace and deputy-lieutenant for the same county. 
His name appeared as a member of the Jedforest Club on 
the 27th of August, 1845, during such time as he resided 
at Chesters (on the Teviot), the seat of Mr Ogilvie. 

GILES. 

Jambs Giles, bom at Leith in 1816, was the son of a James Giles 
wealthy brewer of the same name, upon whose death he o^^^*^"«- 
succeeded to a considerable fortune. About the year 1841 
Mr Giles purchased the estate of Kailzie, in Peeblesshire, 
for the sum of ;^43,ooo. Soon after this purchase he married 
Jessie, the eldest daughter of John Scotland, writer to the 
signet, for many years factor on the Earl of Home's estates 
in Roxburghshire, and who pre-deceased her husband, with- 
out issue, in i88x. Mr Giles thereafter married Mrs Ainslie, 
a widow with three children. He died at Jersey in 1891. 
Mr Giles sold the estate of Kailzie to William Connel Black, 
late captain Royal Scots Greys, for a rather larger sum than 
he paid for it. 

The family of Giles was well known in Leith during the 
last century and the first half of this ; they took a prominent 
part in the management of the burgh, and were extensive 
owners within its boundaries. A street called *' Giles Street*' 
still serves to recal the family name. Mr Giles was admitted 
a member of the Jedforest Club in 1846. 



^ In St John's Church, Prhices Street, Edinburgh, there is a monumeot 
to the tmuaory of Sir John RoUson. 



*44 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



James 

GilfiUan of 

Cowden- 

knowes. 



GILFILLAN OF COWDENKNOWES. 
Jambs Gilpillan, a Liverpool merchant, purchased the 
estate of Cowdenknowes, in November, 1841, from Dr James 
Home, with consent of the trustees for his creditors. His 
name appears on the list of members of the Jedforest Club 
in 1842. Mr GilfiUan, when a young man, was thrown 
together in business with Robert Cotesworth, a London 
merchant, with whom he eventually became very intimate* 
Having no near relations of his own, he left his estate on 
his death to William Cotesworth, his friend's second son» 
subject, however, to the liferent by his father, who, in 1847^ 
had experienced some serious losses in business. 



Thomas 
Gordon. 



GORDON. 
Thomas Gordon was born in Dumfries in November^ 
1809. Having some mercantile connections in the East, he 
went out to India when eighteen years of age. After a time 
he settled down to his business at Mirzapore, in the Benares 
district. In 1854, he married Elizabeth, youngest daughter 
of Archibald Brown. About a year after his marriage, he 
met with a most serious carriage accident, which resulted in 
a severe fracture of the hip joint, aixd this caused him much 
suffering and inconvenience to the end of his life. During 
the Indian Mutiny he remained at his post at Mirzapore^ 
and calmly waited the course of events, although alarming 
rumours were circulated through the district. Mr Gordon 
finally left India in i860, and returned to Scotland. In May^ 
1864, he became the tenant of Hartrigge House, near 
Jedburgh, the property of Lord Stratheden and Campbell^ 
and remained there until 1872. He was a keen sportsman, 
although very lame, from his accident in India ; extremely 
hospitable, and very popular in the district. He joined the 
Jedforest Club in 1866, but, upon his leaving Roxburghshire, 
he retired from the membership. When Her Majesty the 
Queen visited the county, she drove to Hartrigge, and 
remained in her carriage in front of the house for half an 
hour, accompanied by the Duchess of Roxburghe. Mr 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 245 

Gordon's two eldest daughters, then little girls, presented 
Her Majesty with a bouquet of flowers. During his sojourn 
near Jedburgh he was a liberal supporter of St John's 
Episcopal Church. He bought a house in Grosvenor 
Crescent, Edinburgh, in 1874, where he died in February, 
1890. 

GRANT. 
In the year 1818, the two principal medical practitioners Dr James 
in Jedburgh were Doctor Hilson and his partner. Doctor 
Grant. The latter, who was elected a member of the 
Jedforest Club in July, 1819, had a delicate constitution, and 
was ill adapted for the hard work of a country doctor ; but 
being fond of his profession, he was determined to pursue it. 
Dr Grant, when a bachelor, occupied No. 7 Abbey Place, 
Jedburgh, for several years. Afterwards he bought the 
residence of Friarbank, which he added to and improved. 
At Edinburgh, on the 23rd March, 1825, he married Eleanor 
Maria Anne, second daughter of the Rev. Robert Elliot, 
rector of Wheldrake and Huggate, Yorkshire, and of Mary, 
his wife, daughter of the Rev. Edmund Garforth of Askham, 
Yorks. The Rev. R. Elliot was brother of Gilbert, first 
Earl of Minto,^ by Agnes Kynynmound, heiress of Melgund. 
In 1838, Dr Grant's health was in such a precarious con- 
dition, that he was recommended to leave Scotland for a 
warmer climate. His brother-in-law, Gilbert Elliot (brother 
to Stobs) had previously arranged to go to Australia. This 
induced Dr Grant also to emigrate to the same colony. 
He sold his house, Friarbank, to Mr Stevenson, in 1839, 
and sailed at once for Australia. But the change came too 
late, for he died in 1840, soon after his arrival there. 

GRIEVE. 
A certain James Grieve is described as factor to the 
Countess of Bothwell, circa 1580; from him is descended 
Walter Grieve, who married Blanche, daughter of William 

^ Vidi** JjordMintor 



246 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



Borthwick of Reashaw, in the county of Roxburgh (she i«as 
bom in 1661 and died in 1716). This Walter was tenant 
of Branxholm Park, and signed his lease in 1691. He was 
born in 1646, and died in 1721. James Grieve, his son, 
succeeded him, and was tenant in Todshawhaugh as well 
as Branxholm Park. He married Helen, daughter of John 
Laing of Wester Keir,^ in Dumfriesshire, and had issue. 
Walter Grieve, succeeded his father. He was bom in 1710, 
and married Katherine, daughter of Adam Ogilvie of Hart- 
woodmyres, Selkirkshire; and upon her death he married 
Magdaline, daughter of John Elliot of Borthwickbrae. 
Walter's youngest brother was James Grieve, who was 
born in 17379 married Janet Scott of WoU, and died in 1773* 
They had a sister, Jane Grieve, who married John Elliot of 
Southfield and The Brough. William Elliot, commonly 
called " The Laceman,*' a manufacturer of gold and silver 
lace to George I., was uncle to John Elliot, and his daughter 
married Sir Gilbert Eliott of Stobs. 



William 
Grieve, 
Branxholm 
Park. 



William Gribvb, who was bom in 1796, succeeded his 
father as tenant in Branxholm Park, East Buccleuch, and 
Sundhope in Liddesdale, all belonging to his Grace the 
Duke of Buccleuch. These three farms, which have been 
farmed together for several generations, are well known hill 
grazings. The first lease was granted, as already stated, in 
169X. This curious old document is signed by five com- 
missioners of Anne, Duchess of Buccleuch and Monmouth, 

^ John Laing of Wester Keir, in the parish of Westerkhrk. whose children 
were : — ^Walter Laing, chamberlain to the Duke of Buccleuch, county of 
Selkirk, died at Todshawhaugh on the zst of February, 1736, aged 86 ; 
John Laing of Flex, who lived at The Roan, and was chamberlain to the 
Duke in Liddesdale; and Helen, who married James Grieve, Todshaw- 
haugh; another daughter married Ogilvie of Briery-yards. Margaret, 
daughter of Walter I^ng. married John Elliot of Borthwickbrae. whose 
sister (Magdaline) married Walter Grieve. The Elliots of Borthwickbrae 
by diis marriage came into tiie possession of Flex, Old Melrose, ftc 
WiUiam Laing died in 1774, aged 58. Gilbert Laing, merchant of St 
Petersburg, left his money and other property also to the family of 
Borthwickbrae. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 247 

three of whom are called Scott, one M^Arthur, and the other 
David Scrimgeour of Cartmore. The rent agreed upon was 
four hundred merles. William Grieve was very successful, 
his well-bred hill stocks being in great demand, and always 
meeting with a ready sale. He was not a great competitor 
at shows, but often acted as judge, and as a valuator at 
Whitsunday deliveries of farm stock. He was president of 
the Teviotdale Farmers* Club for a time, and took generally 
an active part in all local agricultural and county matters. 
His great forte was the management and breeding of hill 
stock, and his advice was often sought by neighbouring 
farmers. On the 6th of September, 1839, Mr Grieve was 
elected a member of the Jedforest Club. He was a con- 
sistent conservative in politics, and had many anecdotes to 
relate of election contests in old days. He married three 
times. At Elm Cottage, Elgin, May 14th, 1840, he married 
Eliza Anne, eldest daughter of the late Charles Gordon, and 
by her had three sons and one daughter ; and by his second 
wife he had one son. 

His eldest surviving son, Charles John Gribvb, now c. J. Grieve 
represents the family at Branxholm Park. He married, in ^ra^"™^ 
1870, Elizabeth Willing, second daughter of Charles Alley ne, 
of the island of Barbadoes, and has had six sons and seven 
daughters. Mr Grieve became a member of the Jedforest 
Club in 1898. Two of his sons entered the Royal Navy. 
Arthur, at the age of seventeen, a midshipman on board the 
flag-ship *< Victoria*' (Admiral Tryon), went down in that 
ill-fated vessel with the greater portion of her crew on the 
22nd of June, 1893, o^ Tripoli. He was seen by the quarter- 
master of the *' Victoria " still at his post outside the chart- 
house, attending to the engine-room telegraphs, one minute 
before the huge battleship took her final plunge. His 
brother, to whom he was much attached — senior midship- 
man on board H.M.S. ** Nile "—witnessed this appalling 
catastrophe, and in one of the boats of his ship helped to 
rescue those who were saved. 



248 4NNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. . 

WALDIE- GRIFFITH OF HENDERSYDE PARK. 

The Waldie family (originally spelt Waltho) is first men- 
tioned in the register of Kelso, November, 1600, on the 
occasion of John Waltho's marriage with Bessie Learmont* 
Thomas Waltho was public and papal notary to the Abbey 
of Kelso. John Waltho had a son, George, who succeeded 
his father to a considerable portion of the Marklands of Kelso,, 
and was alive in 1652; he spelt his name Waldie. He 
obtained a charter of his lands from the Earl of Roxburgh in 
1664. His descendant, another George, died in 1745, leaving^ 
a son, John Waldie, who was born in 1722, and is designed 
of Berryhill and Hayhope, who married Jean, eldest daughter 
and heiress of Charles Ormiston of Hendersyde, a member 
of an old Kelso family. That estate belonged formerly to the 
Edmonstones of Ednam, from whom it had been purchased 
in 1715 by the Ormistons. John Waldie died in I773>> 
leaving a son, George, who was born in 1755. 

George Waldie of Hendersyde married Anne, eldest 
daughter of Jonathan Ormiston of Newcastle-on-Tyne, and 
died in 1826. He left one son, John, and three daughters — 
Maria Jane, who married Richard Griffith; Charlotte, who 
obtained some distinction as the authoress of ''Rome in 
the Nineteenth Century," and of "Waterloo Days," and 
who married Stephen Eaton of Stamford;^ and Jane, wh<> 
married George Edward Watts, afterwards Admiral Watts. 

John Waldie, bom in 1781, succeeded his father in 1826^ 
and altered and enlarged Hendersyde House to its present 
form. He interested himself, throughout his life, in making 
a large collection of Italian pictures, and added considerably 



^ Mrs Eaton was bom in 1788, and died in 1859. ^^ popular little 
book on Waterloo has been recently republished. Mrs Watts, her younger 
sister, was early distinguished for taste in literature and art. She was 
extremely clever and successful in her artistic studies, and many of her 
paintings were exhibited at the Royal Academy and British Gallery. She 
and her sister, then unmarried, were at Brussels during the battle of 
Waterloo, and visited the field almost before the dead were interred. Mrs 
Watts made a sketch of the field, which she afterwards published. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 249 

to the library. He never married, and in 1865 was succeeded 
by his nephew, George Richard Griffith. 

The Griffith family, as the name indicates, was originally 
Welsh— of the ancient family of Griffith of Penryn — but Sir 
Maurice Griffith, brother of the Chancellor of North Wales, 
who had been banished for treason, settled in Ireland in the 
beginning of the seventeenth century, and erected Drumcar 
Castle, near the town of Sligo. Sir Maurice Griffith, dying 
without issue, was succeeded by his nephew. Colonel Edward 
Griffith. Colonel Griffith had no male heirs, and the estates, 
passed into the English families of his daughters, the 
Lady Harrington and Lady Rich; his brother, the Very 
Rev. Dean of Ross, becoming the sole representative of the 
Griffith family in Ireland. 

Dean Griffith married M. Leslie of Balquhair, Scotland ; 
and lived at Maiden Hall, county Kilkenny. He had two 
children, and was succeeded by his son Edward ; he was in 
turn succeeded by his son Richard Griffith, who, in i750> 
married Elizabeth Griffith of Glamorganshire. Their son 
Richard succeeded his father, and, selling Maiden Hall, 
settled at Millicent, county Kildare. In 1780 he married 
Charity Bramstone of Oundle, Northamptonshire, by whom 
he had a son, Richard John Griffith, and three daughters. 
He was, for some years, an influential member of the Irish 
House of Commons. There are at Hendersyde Park two 
fine portraits by Romney of Richard and Charity Griffith. 

Richard John Griffith, born in 1784, had a long and 
interesting career. In his early life he spared no pains to fit 
himself for civil engineering, spending some years in practical 
mining in Cornwall, and afterwards visiting all the mining 
districts in England, Wales, and Scotland. While at New- 
castle-on-Tyne he met Maria Jane Waldie of Hendersyde, to 
whom he was married in 1812. At the age of twenty-three, 
he was unanimously elected F.R.S. of Edinburgh, and at 
twenty-five was appointed sole commissioner for the general 
valuation of rateable property in Ireland; subsequently 
he became chairman of the Board of Public Works — the 



350 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

period of the Irish famine, in 1845, being especially charac- 
terised by anxious and unremitting exertion. Throughout 
his public employment, Richard Griffith was indefatigable in 
the work of perfecting the details of his geological map of 
Ireland, which was begun in 181 2, and finally completed and 
published in a fourth edition by Her Majesty's Treasury in 
1855 — a work described by the president of the Geological 
Society in London as ''one of the most remarkable pro- 
ductions which had ever been e£Eected by a single geologist.*' 
In recognition of his public and geological services, Richard 
Griffith was created a baronet in 1858 ; he died in 1878. 

George Richard Griffith, his son, bom in 1820, succeeded, 
through his mother, the eldest sister of John Waldie, to the 
Hendersyde Park estate in 1865, and assumed the name of 
Waldie as a prefix. He was married, in 1849, to Eliza, 
youngest daughter of Nicholas P. Leader, M.P., of Dromach, 
county Cork, and had one son, Richard John, and two 
daughters, Maria Mona, and Mary Isabel Gwendolen. He 
was D.L. for Anglesea in 1853, ^^^ sheriff in i860. He 
succeeded his father in 1878, and died in 1889. 

Sir R. J. The present baronet. Sir Richard John Waldib-Griffith, 

Oriffith ^'^^ ^™ ^° April 14th, 1851 ; educated at Radley College, 

<^Ai^- and Jesus College, Cambridge ; and served in the 2nd Dragoon 

Guards (Queen's Bays) from 1872 to 1879, of which regiment 
he became a captain. He married, in 1877, Mary Nena, 
youngest daughter of General Irwin of St Catherine's Park, 
Leixlip, county Dublin; and was appointed, in 1891, lieut.- 
colonel of the Border Rifles, a position which he still holds. 
He joined the membership of the Jedforest Club in 1890. 
Sir Richard is a breeder of thoroughbred horses, in which he 
spares neither trouble nor expense. 

HAY OF MARLEFIELD. 
Hay of Smithfibld is descended from John, third Lord 
Hay of Yester, by the heiress of Smithfield, and is thus 
-connected with the family of Tweeddale. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 251 

Athole Stanhope Hay, third son of Sir Robert Hay of Athole S. 
Smithfield and Haystoun, county of Peebles, was bom on Marlefield. 
the 25th of March, 1861, and was educated at Cheam 
School, Surrey, and Repton, Derbyshire. He married, in 
January, 1890, Margaret Caroline, daughter of the late 
Sir Edward Cunard, Bart., and sister of Sir Bache Cun- 
ard. Mr Hay has two sons, the elder born in December, 
1890, the younger in September, 1892. He bought Marie- 
field from the Marquess of Tweeddale in November, 1890, 
and having improved and renovated the old house, he has 
now made it his residence. Marlefield, or Monsmaynes, 
as it was called at the beginning of last century, is situ- 
ated between Eckford and Cessford and formerly belonged 
to the Bennets. Sir William Bennet, who was a great 
patron of art and literature, built the mansion-house and 
entertained there the poets Allan Ramsay and Thomson, 
who were both his intimate friends. Ramsay, who enjoyed 
his visits to Marlefield, wrote to Sir William the following 
characteristic letter in 1722, after his return to Edinburgh: — 

"Your health, long days, and every pleasure your soul desires be ever 
your portion. While you trace those delightful scenes which help us to 
imagine what Eden was, and have the vast satisfaction to behold the 
success of your own designs, I (one of yours and Apollo's meanest slaves), 
forced by destiny to breathe nothing but smoak, and hear only the jarring 
noise of that specie of mankind who are scarce one degree above the brute 
— whyt sand and Holland sand — oysters — besoms — dulce and tangle — this 
day's news and all discording din. But thanks to Heaven that, like the 
Egyptians near the catracks of Nile, I am so accustomed to the noise that 
I never mind it, and can get my Imagination at liberty to breathe in the 
purer air of Pamasus. . . . Allow me. Sir, to give my humble duty to 
my Lady Bennet, to Mr Nisbet and his lady, and to all her fair sisters ; tell 
em there will be no new songs this winter. I shall look upon it as a 
principal part of my happiness to have your countenance and indulgence, 
while I am, Sir, your most obliged and devoted servant," 

Sept., 1772. Allan Ramsay. 

*' If you would please wrap up the Bee and Spider in a cover and send it 
me ; if I think it will answer, I'll cause print it. Attenbum told me of it." 

At one time the Bennets were also lairds of Kirk Yetholm, 
and Sir William took a friendly interest in the gipsies. 
Tradition says that at the siege of Namur, at the close of the 



^52 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

17th century, the life of one of the Bennets was saved by a 
gipsy named Young; and to show his gratitude, he gave his 
deliverer a house and piece of land in Kirk Yetholm ; the feu 
granted to him to extend for a period of 19 times 19 years. 
Another tradition is that William Faa, king of the gipsy 
colony, obtained a similar grant from Sir William Bennet, 
for recovering for him a horse which had been stolen by the 
Jacobite army in 1715. During this rebellion, Sir William 
commanded a troop of horse, raised throughout the county for 
its protection. He was a man of strong religious predilections, 
which were inherited by his daughter, who married Nisbet 
of Dirleton. John Bennet, a brother, succeeded on the death 
of Sir William ; and at John's death, without issue, about 
the year 1760, the Nisbets came into possession. Mr Nisbet, 
it is said, was a very gay man, and especially fond of society. 
It is related of him that on a Sunday he had invited a num- 
ber of young people to dinner at Marlefield. His wife, who 
had been brought up to honour and respect the Sabbath day, 
remonstrated, and a scene ensued. Nisbet, in a passion, 
ordered his coach and drove off, leaving his wife and com- 
pany to look after themselves. It being an exceedingly dark 
night and the roads very bad, his coach stuck in a morass ; 
and the tenant of Easter Wooden, with his farm servants, 
went to Nisbet*s assistance, and succeeded in extricating him. 
Next day Mrs Nisbet followed him, and the house was 
left with all the evidences of revelry and gambling— cards 
and wine glasses lying about in all directions. After Marie- 
field was deserted by the Nisbets, Mr Frain,^ the tenant of 
Easter Wooden, occupied the house until it was let, about 
the year 1775, to Mr Oliphant, when a sale of the effects of 
the Bennet family took place. Mr Oliphant, among other 
things, purchased the portraits of Sir William and Lady 
Bennet, a suit of armour, and some valuable engravings. 

^ The family of Frain occupied the farm of Easter Wooden for 130 
years, and one of them kept a diary, from which I have derived some 
information. The well known Kelso artist, Mr Frain, was one of this 
family. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 253 

When he left Marlefield they were again sold, the portraits 
Ending a resting place with Lady John Scott ; the armour 
ivas bought by a Mr Nisbet of Lambden, near Greenlaw. 
A portrait of Sir William Bennet, who was a member of 
Parliament, now hangs on the staircase of Floors Castle. 

HENDERSON OF ABBOTRULE. 

In the year 1818, in the month of January, the estate of 
Abbotrule, which had for generations belonged to a branch 
of the Kerrs of Ferniehirst, was sold by public auction 
at the Royal Exchange Coffeehouse, Edinburgh. The 
upset price was ;^35,ooo, and the purchaser Robert Hender- 
son. Two years before, the library of Abbotrule, which 
-consisted of many scarce and valuable books, had been 
disposed of by Mr Ballantyne at his auction rooms, No. 4 
Princes Street, on the 19th of January, 1816. On the same 
•day, immediately afterwards, the punch bowl which be- 
longed to the poet Bums was sold and realised eighty 
guineas. The purchasers were said to be the members of 
the Ayrshire Club in Glasgow. 

Robert Henderson of Abbotrule was the son of John Hen- 
•derson, by his first wife, Betty Gray. She died at WoU in 
1798. Robeft Henderson had previously acquired the hill 
farm of Chapelhope on St Mary's Loch. He married, on the 
27th of March, 1818, at Edinburgh, Isabella, daughter of the 
late William Scott, tenant of Singlie, Selkirkshire, by whom 
he had six sons and two daughters. Mrs Henderson was 
very reserved in manner: this was attributed to a sad accident 
that befel her two sisters at Singlie, together with a couple of 
visitors. Miss Arras of Rink and Miss Anderson of Nether 
Barns. These girls were at the same school, and had come to 
spend Saturday to Monday at Singlie. About mid-day they 
all went to bathe in a deep pool in the Ettrick at the bottom 
of Singlie garden. The servant, thinking they were a long 
time in returning, went in search of them and discovered their 
bodies in the deep pool. Mr and Mrs Scott were on a visit 
■to the neighbouring farm of Kirkhope, but the alarm soon 



254 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

spread. All the four girls were found holding each others' 
hands, as if they in turn had entered the water to save those 
who had gone in before. 

Mr Henderson was a pious, homely man ; he was brother- 
in-law to Mr Scott, secession minister of Bonkle. Another 
relative of his was the late Rev. Adam Cunningham of 

Crailing, who died in 1887. ^^^ ^^^^^ ^^ Abbotrule had 
patriarchal notions about the manner of educating and 
bringing up his family. He liked to have them all living 
around him, and to each he gave the life-rent of a farm on 
the payment of a nominal rent, except in the case of his son 
William, who preferred to live in Edinburgh. His children 
were as follows : — 

Margaret Pott, born 1819, died unmarried. 

John Gray, born 1820, succeeded to Abbotrule. 

William Scott, born 1821. 

Robert, born 1823. 

Betty Gray, born 1824, married Mr Ormiston of Glenburn- 
hall; she died in 1878. 

David, born 1826, who^ succeeded his brother John to 
Abbotrule. 

James, born 1827, died in Edinburgh, aged 20, in 1847. 

Charles, bom 1829, farmed Doorpool, and died, like ail his 
brothers, unmarried. 

Mr Henderson's brother, from whom he inherited his for- 
tune, was named John Gray Henderson. He was educated 
as a surgeon and went to India. His commission in the 
East India Company is dated 1779, and as a member of 
the Medical Board in 1812. He died in 1814 at his house 
in Chowringhee, Calcutta. The following garrison order 
appeared on the occasion by his Excellency the Deputy 
Governor of Fort William on the 30th of September, 1814 : — 
''His Excellency the Deputy Governor, being desirous to 
shew every mark of respect to the memory of the late Mr 
Henderson, second member of the Medical Board, is pleased 
to direct that the usual military honours paid at the 
interment of Lieut.-Colonels be observed at this funerah 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 255 

Major-General Blair will accordingly be pleased to cause a 
funeral party of Sepoys, under the command of a field 
officer, to parade at the house of the deceased at a quarter 
before 5 o'clock this evening, each man to be furnished with 
8 rounds of blank cartridges and one flint." 

John Gray Henderson of Abbotrule, the eldest son, JohnG. 
succeeded, and never married. He took over the Jedforest Abbotrule. 
harriers from Robert Kerr Elliot of Harwood, and hunted 
them for some years. He was a good horseman, and well 
known in his day with the Duke*s hounds. He was admitted 
as a member of the Jedforest Club in 1841, and farmed 
Ruletownhead before he succeeded to the estate. 

William Scott Henderson was educated for the law, W. S. Hen- 
and passed his examination as a writer to the signet. He Abbotrule. 
joined the Club in 1858, and died unmarried. W.S. 

Robert Henderson farmed West Fodderlee on the Robert Hen- 
Abbotrule estate. He became a member of the Club in Abbotrule. 
1848, and died unmarried. 

David Henderson of Abbotrule succeeded his brother David 
John, and before his succession farmed Gatehousecote, after A^trule. 
which he let it to John Usher, and went to reside in the old 
mansion-house on the estate. He attended almost every 
race meeting, of any importance, and hunted regularly with 
the Duke of Buccleuch's foxhounds till within a couple of 
years of his death. He was a most regular attendant of the 
Jedforest Club meetings, which institution he joined at the 
end of i860. He died a bachelor, and left Abbotrule to his 
cousin, James Cunningham. 

HENDERSON. 

James Henderson was a writer in Jedburgh, and an James 

original member of the Club. He was factor to the Marquess 

of Lothian, and clerk to the justices of the peace for the 

s 



956 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



county of Roxburgh — a post in which he was succeeded by 

his son. Mr Henderson, in the month of June, 1804, married, 

at Jedburgh, Jane, only daughter of William Cruickshank, 

one of the masters of the High School of Edinburgh. This 

lady, when a very young girl, was immortalised by Bums 

in a poem, as '' Rosebud.** The lines were written on the 

blank leaf of a book presented to her by the author — 

''Beauteous rosebud, young and gay. 
Blooming in the early May." 

The poet was a friend of Mr Cruickshank, and visited him 
at his house in James* Square, Edinburgh, in 1787. It was 
on the occasion of a second visit to Mr Cruickshank, in 
February, 1787, that Burns composed and presented to his 
host's daughter the poem of the " Rosebud.** The interesting 
original of the poem died at 48 Castlegate, Jedburgh, and is 
buried in the Abbey churchyard, where a tombstone of 
Aberdeen granite marks her resting place. 



Dr Gavin 

Hilson, 

Jedburgh. 



HILSON. 
William Hilson, whose wife was a Miss TurnbuU of 
Teviotbank, had a son born in 1788, and christened Gavin. 
His early education was at the parish school, where he 
shewed a great desire to acquire information. He was sent 
to Edinburgh, and finished his education at the University. 
Gavin Hilson now turned his attention to the medical 
profession, and took the degree of Doctor of Medicine, 
Edinburgh. Hilson entered the army on the 17th of May, 
1810, as assistant-surgeon of the 4th Dragoons, which were 
at that time serving in the Peninsula. He was present at 
the battles of Salamanca and Toulouse, where he was 
wounded, and his horse shot under him ; he himself was left 
for dead upon the field. Peace being declared in 18 14, after 
the battle of Toulouse, the army was at once reduced, and 
Assistant-Surgeon Hilson was placed upon half-pay. The 

* 

peace was, however, of short duration, as, in 181 5, a general 
recall to active service took place for the Waterloo campaign. 
Dr Hilson, although not actually present at the battle, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 257 

attended the wounded immediately afterwards, and was 
present with the army when they entered Paris. Again he 
was placed upon half-pay, and promoted to the rank of 
surgeon. Towards the end of 181 5, he entered into partner- 
ship with Dr Grant ^ of Jedburgh, and had a house in the 
Canongate before he married. In 1819, Abbey Green 
House was for sale after the death of Mrs Murray, mother 
of Major Murray,* and Dr Hilson bought it. From his 
uniform attention, both to the rich and poor, he had now 
acquired a large country practice, when, to his dismay, he 
was again placed upon full pay, and ordered to proceed to 
the West Indies. He travelled to Bristol, where he was to 
bold himself in readiness for embarkation ; but he had made 
up his mind to retire from the army. Having sent in his 
resignation to the chief of the medical department, he waited 
at Bristol until he was released from the service. Thus he 
was able to resume his country practice, much to the delight 
of his friends and acquaintances around Jedburgh. Dr 
Hilson married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Peter Brown 
of Rawflat, and by her had five sons, two only of whom 
survived. His wife died seven years after the marriage. 
The Doctor, who, to all appearances, was a strong healthy 
man, died at the comparatively early age of fifty-nine. On 
the 14th of September, 1847, he had, together with two other 
surgeons, performed a difficult operation on a farmer at 
High Tofts, near Hawick, and whilst he was waiting for 
his horse to be harnessed into his gig, he expired, without 
any previous warning. His name appears on the list of the 
members of the Jedforest Club, in 1820. Dr Hilson had a 
son, Archibald Hamilton, who also entered the army medical 
Department, and served in India. He was present with the 
** Pearl Naval Brigade,** under Capt. Sotheby, throughout 
the Indian mutiny, for which services he received the medal. 
He also served in the expedition to Bhootan, for which he 
got the general service medal with clasp. Dr Archibald 

1 Vidi Dr Grant. » VicU Major Murray. 



258 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



Francis 
Home, yr., 
of Cowden- 
knowes. 



Hamilton Hilson filled one good appointment after another, 
until he became the second officer in rank in the Indian 
medical service. His health now began to fail, and he 
returned home, living in retirement at Upper Norwood, after 
a most distinguished career as a medical man. He died in 
1895, leaving a widow to mourn his loss. 

HOME OF COWDENKNOWES. 

Francis Home was the eldest son of Dr James Home, 
formerly professor of the practice of physic in Edinburgh 
University, and grandson of Dr Francis Home,^ who pur- 
chased Cowdenknowes from the trustees of the late John 
Ferrier. Cowdenknowes was a stronghold of the family 
of Home; Mungo Home obtained a charter from King 
James IV. of the lands of Earlstoun and Cowdenknowes 
in 1505. 

In 1612 Sir John Home of Cowdenknowes* and Sir James 
Home of Whitrig, his son, with the consent of their respec- 
tive wives, sold Cowdenknowes and other lands to Helen 
MacMath, widow of John Nasmith, surgeon to King James 
VI., and Patrick Murray, her husband, who afterwards sold 
the estate to Thomas, Earl of Melrose. This nobleman 
subsequently became Earl of Haddington, and he disposed 
of the property to James Naismith of Posso, brother and 
heir of the deceased Henry Naismyth, eldest son and heir 
of the deceased John Naismyth and Helen MacMath, his 

^ Dr Francis Home of Cowdenknowes, one of his Majesty's phy- 
sicians for Scotland, Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, 
died on the 15th of February. 18x3, at the patriarchal age of 94 years. 

* Sir John Home, last of Coldingknowes, married, in 1616, Lady JBeatrix 
Ruthven, who probably was his second wife, as his two lawful sons, Marie 
and Alexander, were charged to enter themselves in ward in the Tolbooth 
of Edinburgh in 1625 for assault and deforcement. Home, himself, seems 
to have suffered a good deal, as in 1622 he was removed from his ward in 
the Tolbooth on account of his grievous sickness, and was warded in a 
private dwelling. His health being no better, he was freed from his ward 
entirely in the following year->evidently much to the annoyance of the Earl 
of Lothian, on whose account he had been warded, and who tried to have 
him brought back. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 259 

wife. Cowdenknowes seems once more to have got into 
possession of the Earl of Haddington, for, in 1653, John, 
the holder of the title, granted a charter to Alexander 
Halyburton, son of the deceased John Halyburton, some- 
time of Mertoun. In 1662, Alexander Halyburton disponed 
it to Margaret Kerr, his wife, in life-rent, and Sir Andrew 
Kerr of Cavers in fee. This Margaret was daughter of 
Sir Thomas Kerr of Cavers and Grizel Halket, his second 
wife, whom he married in 1638. Alexander Halyburton 
died, and Margaret Kerr married a certain James Deas, 
advocate, and to them, in 1668, Sir Andrew Kerr disponed 
the estate. In 1701, James Deas married as his second wife 
Barbara Johnstone, daughter of Patrick Johnstone, merchant 
in Edinburgh. One of James Deas* daughters, Mary, mar- 
ried Alexander (third son of Sir Peter Wedderburn of 
Gosford), a commissioner of excise. She had, with two 
daughters, an only son, Peter Wedderburn of Chester Hall, 
a lord of session, and from him is descended the Earl of 
Rosslyn. This couple had an elder daughter, Janet, presum- 
ably an heiress, who married a certain Mr Alexander Fer- 
rier, merchant and provost of Dundee, in 1731. They 
had a son, John Ferrier, who, in 1771, married Ann Home. 
The Ferriers about this time got into financial difficulties. 
Alexander Ferrier died about 1764. John Ferrier departed 
this life in 1767, and his widow, Ann Home, survived the 
sale of the estate to Dr Francis Home in 1784. His grand- 
son, Francis Home, entered the Jedforest Club in 1829. 

HOPE OF COWDENKNOWES. 

The Honourable Charles Hope was born in 1808, and 
married, in 1841, Lady Isabella Helen Douglas, daughter of 
Thomas, fifth Earl of Selkirk. He was, from 1838 to 1845, 
member of parliament for the county of Linlithgow, and for 
fifteen years lieutenant-governor of the Isle of Man.^ Lady 
Isabella died on the 4th of July, 1893, ^^ ^^^ ^S^ of 

^ Vide Peerage, Earl of Hopetoun. 



26o ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

eighty-two, and Mr Hope in the month of October foUowingy 
aged eighty-five, leaving three sons and two daughters. 

Captain John Hope (retired), Royal Navy. 

Captain Thomas Hope, late Bombay Staff Corps, and 
member of parliament. 

Col. Hope of Charles Hope of Cowdenknowes, colonel, 2nd Berwick- 
knowes.' shire volunteer battalion the King's Own Scottish Borderers, 

entered the army in 1868, and was promoted to the rank of 
captain in the King's Royal Rifles in 1880. Capt. Hope 
retired from the army, and married, in 1887, Julia Isabella, 
daughter of David Carnegie of Stronvar, Perthshire. He 
became a member of the Jedforest Club in 1893. 

Cowdenknowes House and Tower is situated on the 
Leader, in the parish of Earlston, at the foot of the 
beautiful hill of that name, famous in Scottish song. The 
tower is quite intact, and the house has much historical 
interest attached to it, as being the resting-place for the 
kings and queens of Scotland when they went on their 
circuits of justice about the Border towns. Mary, Queen of 
Scots, on her way from Craigmillar to Hermitage Castle and 
Jedburgh, is known to have resided at Cowdenknowes for 
some time.^ The following letters are cut into a stone above 
the door— " J.H. M.K. 1524." 

HOPKINS. 

The family is now represented by William Randolph Innes 
Hopkins, J.P. and D.L. of the North Riding of Yorkshire, 
residing at Walworth Castle, near Darlington. He is the 
eldest son of John Castell Hopkins, late of Rowchester. 
Mr Hopkins, who was born in 1827, married, first, in 1854, 
Elise Caroline Sophie, daughter of the late Henry Bolckow ; 
and, secondly, in 1864, Hvereld Catharine Eliza, only 
daughter of Thomas Hustler of Ackham Hall, county of 



^ Mr Cotesworth, who inherited Cowdenknowes from Mr GilfiUan, sold 
it to the present proprietor. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. a6i 

York, and has, with other issue, Charles Harrie Innes 
Hopkins, major, Scottish Rifles, and deputy assistant adju- 
tant-general, Lahore district. 

William Randolph Hopkins, a surveyor of excise, married 
Jane, second daughter of Thomas Ewing, a Dublin merchant, 
by his wife, Henrietta, daughter of George Innes, town 
major of Limerick. This George Innes married his cousin, 
Margaret, sister of Sir Henry Innes of that ilk, whose 
grandson. Sir James Innes, established his claim to the 
dukedom of Roxburghe.^ William Randolph Hopkins died 
in 1798, leaving a son, John Castell. 

John Castell Hopkins, married, first, Jane, a daughter John Castell 
of Sir James Innes Norcliife, Baronet, of Innes. She was Rowchester. 
born in 1792, and died soon after her marriage, in 1816. 
She was interred at Bowden, in the Duke of Roxburghe's 
family vault, which is situated under that church. By his 
first wife, Mr Hopkins had one daughter, born in 1816; 
who afterwards married Charles Robson, Lurdenlaw. Mr 
Hopkins married, for the second time, Agnes, a daughter of 
Charles Robson of Samieston,* in the county of Roxburgh, 
her mother being the daughter of Major Rutherfurd.' Mr 
Hopkins for a short period rented the house of Hunthill, 
near Jedburgh. Afterwards he purchased the estate of 
Rowchester, in the parish of Greenlaw, and erected a 
mansion on the property, besides executing many other 
improvements. In the year 1856, he sold this valuable little 
estate to Robert H. Broughton, in whose family it still 
remains. Mr Hopkins, during his residence at Hunthill, 
became a member of the Jedforest Club. He was proposed 
by Peter Brown of Rawflat, seconded by William Fair of 
Langlee, and admitted on 27th October, 1824. 

H O R N E. 
Donald Horne, W.S., the second son of John Home of Donald 

Unmtk W S 

Stirkoke, was born at Stanstill, in the county of Caithness, 

^ Vide Duke of Roxburghe. * Vidi Robson of Samieston. 

* Vide Rutherfurd of Edgerston. 



26a ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

on the 2oth May, 1787. He was educated at Musselburgh 
and the University of Edinburgh, and passed as a writer to 
the signet in 1813. Immediately afterwards he entered into 
partnership with his uncle, James Home, W.S., of Langwell. 
The Peninsular war was then at its height, and Mr Home, 
like many other young men, became inspired with military 
notions and joined the ist Regiment Royal Edinburgh 
Volunteers, commanded by the Right Hon. Charles Hope. 
This was an extremely smart corps, and the best drilled 
volunteer regiment in Scotland. After the close of the war, 
volunteer and other local regiments being disbanded, Mr 
Home joined another branch of the auxiliary forces. In 
the Edinburgh squadron of yeomanry cavalry he served 
as quartermaster several years, and latterly as cornet. The 
date of his commission being 7th July, 1822, his name 
appears on the roll of the squadron until 1845, when he 
retired. In the more recent volunteer movement, Mr Home 
took a great interest and an active part. In the year 1821, 
on the ist June, he married Jane, daughter of Thomas Elliot 
Ogilvie of Chesters, by whom he had a large family. 

In Caithness-shire, and also in the counties of Roxburgh 
and Selkirk, the name of Donald Home is inseparably con- 
nected with the election struggles which continued for several 
years after the passing of the Reform Bill. His views were 
strongly conservative. 

On the death of his uncle, in 1831, Mr Home succeeded to 
the estate of Langwell, and was known as a most extensive 
and successful rearer of sheep, ''Langwell wethers'* com- 
manding the highest price in the northern markets. For 
some years he rented Benrig House, near St Boswells, which, 
from its situation, he found convenient for his political con- 
nection with the shires of Roxburgh and Selkirk. On the 
death of Mr Roderick Mackenzie, in 1843, Mr Home was 
appointed solicitor in Scotland for the Commissioners of 
Woods and Forests, and held the office until 1865, when 
failing health induced him to resign. In 1857 he sold the 
estate of Langwell to the Duke of Portland. For many 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 263 

years he was a director of the Highland and Agricultural 
Society, and took a deep interest in its welfare. 

Mr Home purchased in 1859, for the use of his firm (then 
Home & Ross, W.S.), 39 Castle Street, from a Miss Mac- 
kintosh. This lady had purchased it from the trustees of 
Sir Walter Scott of Abbotsford in 1826. Sir Walter occupied 
this house as his Edinburgh residence, from 1798 to the date 
of its sale, and wrote several of his novels in it. No struc- 
tural alterations have been made in the house since he left, 
and Donald Home's business room was Sir Walter's front 
drawing-room, where his arm-chair is still preserved.^ 

Donald Home was elected a member of the Club in April, 
1836. He died at the age of 83, and was buried in St John's 
churchyard, Edinburgh. The date of his death was the 
23rd of June, 1870. 

Mr Home was a man of no ordinary stamp. He had 
unbounded energy and extraordinary mental vigonr. He 
possessed a peculiar faculty of extracting information from 
those with whom he conversed, even when there might be 
an unwillingness to communicate it. He had always stored 
in a most retentive memory an abundant supply of anecdotes 
relating to persons and events ; and the pleasing manner and 
genuine good humour with which he could relate them con- 
tributed half their charm. 

JAMES OF SAMIESTON. 

John James of Newcastle was born in 1777; he married, 
in 1805, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Joseph Woodhouse of 
Scots wood, and by her (who married, secondly, in 1822, 
Charles Balmer) left issue: — 

I. Thomas James of Otterburn Tower and Rudchester, 
Northumberland, born in 1807; he married, in 1833, Margaret 
Bernard, third daughter of the Rev. John Coliinson, rector of 
Gateshead. 



^The grandson of Donald Home, Thomas Home, W.S., now occupies 
this room as his office. 



264 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



2. William John James; joined the 64th Foot as ensign in 
1830, and died in 1851 senior captain of his regiment. He 
married Susanna Knight. 

3. Edward James; married Annie Finlay, who had among 
other children a daughter, Theodosia, who married Sir 
Frederick Hughes, of the East India Company's service. 

4. John James; married Eleanor Thorpe. 

5. Hugh Septimus James; married Alexandrina, second 
daughter of Dr Hamilton. They lived in Edinburgh. Mr 
James was a collector and connoisseur of old English china. 

6. Rev. Octavius James of Clarghyll Hall and rector of 
Kirkhaugh, Northumberland; was born in 1818. He mar- 
ried Jane C. H., daughter of Capt. Thomas Bowlby. 



James Tames 
of Saimeston. 



7. James James of Samieston ; studied medicine and took 
his degree of M.D. He had three sisters, two of whom 
were married. The small estate of Easter Samieston being 
for sale in 1852, he purchased it from Robert Selby for 
;^io,500, and in 1857 he added the farm of Renniston to it. 
In the Club list of 1854 ^^ James's name appears as a 
member. He married Georgiana, eldest daughter of John 
E. Broadhurst of Crow Hill, Nottinghamshire, and has a 
son, Lancelot, and two daughters. For many years he has 
lived in the Channel Islands, and is well known as a success- 
ful breeder and exporter of Guernsey cows. 



Archibald 
Jerdon of 
Bonjedward. 



JERDON OF BONJEDWARD. 

Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward was the only son of 
Thomas Caverhill and Jane Jerdon, only daughter of 
Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward, nicknamed " Baldy." The 
subject of this memoir was baptized Archibald Jerdon, as 
heir to his grandfather, the laird of Bonjedward. There was 
also one daughter of the marriage, Jane Caverhill, who 
married the Rev. Peter Young of Jedburgh. As a marriage 
portion, Mr Jerdon gave his daughter the farm of Bon- 
jedward Townhead, and built a suitable house for her as 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 265 

a residence. She died there on the 29th of February^ 
1780, aged 30 years. 

Thomas Caverhill was the nephew of Andrew Caverhill of 
Jedburgh. He married, secondly, Jane Douglas, and by her 
had several daughters; she died in 1797, aged 38 years. 

Archibald Jerdon was educated at the Grammar School, 
Durham, and there became acquainted with Mr Milner of 
South Shields, whose sister, Elizabeth Sarah Milner,^ he 
afterwards married. When the old laird of Bonjedward 
died, Archibald was still in his minority. A family of the 
name of Jerdon claimed the estate — they were relations of 
the Jerdons who then lived at The Nest, Jedburgh. A 
lawsuit followed. Archibald's agent was Cgmelius Elliot 
of WooUee, W.S., who got the case decided in his client's 
favour. After Mr Jerdon married, he resided at Bonjedward 
House. His family consisted of two sons and five daughters. 
From its formation he was a member of the Jedforest Club. 
In the year 1810 he was appointed captain in the ist 
Regiment of Roxburghshire local militia. This was not 
his first taste of soldiering, however, for he had formerly held 
a commission in the Jedburgh volunteers. Mr Jerdon was 
very popular in and around Jedburgh. He was an extremely 
kind-hearted man, and most liberal in all his dealings — perhaps 
too much so for his income. More than once he got himself 
into difficulties, and was obliged to sell portions of his 
Bonjedward estate. In the year 1842, Mr and Mrs Jerdon 
died, within a short time of each other, through eating some- 
thing poisonous, it was generally believed. Many stories 
were current at the time, but, curious to relate, no steps were 
taken to discover what the poison consisted of, or how it 
came to be administered. Another of the family, Mrs 
Jerdon's sister, also died suddenly, not very long afterwards, 
in an equally mysterious manner. Husband and wife were 
buried on the same day in the Abbey churchyard. Closed 

^ At Houghton -le- spring, Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward, North 
Britain, to Miss Elizabeth Sarah Milner of Barnes, 1808. — Monthly 
Magazini. 



266 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

shops and drawn blinds showed the universal respect of the 
inhabitants. In 1845, Bonjedward was sold to the Marquess 
of Lothian, who now possesses the whole estate. 

Thomas Caverhill Jerdon, eldest son of the late A. Jerdon 
of Bonjedward, was bom on the 12th October, 1811, at 
Biddick House, county of Durham, where his mother was 
on a visit to her own family. He was educated as a doctor, 
and was appointed, on taking his degree, assistant-surgeon 
in the East India Company's service. He was an ardent 
naturalist, and in 1839-40, he published, in successive 
numbers of Ths Madras Journal of Literaiure, ** A Catalogue 
of the Birds of the Peninsula of India." He also wrote 
many pamphlets and books on his favoiurite subject. He 
retired from the service in 1870, and died at Norwood, on the 
1 2th June, 1872. 

Archibald Archie Jerdon, as he was commonly called, younger son of 

jer on. Archibald Jerdon of Bonjedward, was born on 21st Septem- 

ber, 1819. He was educated in Edinburgh at the Academy 
and the University. As a boy he was very delicate, which inter- 
fered with his choice of a profession. A country life was con- 
sidered the most suitable for him, and he was sent to a farm 
in East Lothian to study agriculture. From there he was 
called upon by his father to take charge of the home farm of 
Bonjedward. Afterwards, he obtained the appointment of 
collector of Inland Revenue and distributor of stamps, on the 
death of Mr Riddell, and in 1868 he also was elected collector 
of county rates, which appointment he held until his death. 
In 1853, Mr Jerdon married Margaret, the eldest surviving 
daughter of John Hall, a cousin to the Auchenleck family, 
and had issue — a son and daughter.^ After occupying 
various houses, he at length purchased AUerly Villa, in 
the immediate neighbourhood of Jedburgh. He was elected 
a member of the Jedforest Club, in October, 1862. Mr 
Jerdon early evinced a taste for natural history, and 

^ Now Mrs Waller, who resides in Canada. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 267 

became quite an expert in regard to fungi and mosses. 
He practically discovered some new species. His health, 
never very robust, began to give way in 1873, ^^^ ^^^^^ ^ 
painful illness he died on the 28th January, 1874, regretted 
by all who knew him. 



268 ASNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER X. 

KERR OF FERNIEHIRST. 

T^HE distinction betwixt the Kers of Ferniehirst, the pro- 
^ genitors of the Marquess of Lothian, and the Kers of 
Cessford, the ancestors of the dukes of Roxburghe, is well 
known. Tradition states that two brothers settled in the 
south of Scotland in the twelfth century, neither of whom 
would yield superiority to the other, and that they became 
the progenitors of two separate clans or races of warlike 
Borderers. Of the family of Ferniehirst, of which the 
Marquess of Lothian is male representative, it is our prov- 
ince now to treat: but before proceeding with a short 
description of their descent, it becomes necessary to notice 
that branch of the Kers of Cessford which was dignified 
with titles of Lord Newbottle and Earl of Lothian. These 
titles, having been transmitted through an heir female to the 
house of Ferniehirst, are now possessed by the Marquess of 
Lothian. 

Mark Ker, second son of Sir Andrew Ker of Cessford, 
entered into minor holy orders, and was promoted in 1546 
to the dignity of abbot of Newbottle, which station he 
possessed at the reformation, in 1560, when he embraced the 
reformed religion, and held his benefice in commendam. 
He had the vicarage of Lintown, in the county of Peebles, 
for life, and left issue: — 

Mark Ker, who was appointed master of requests during 
his father's lifetime, and on his death the commendatorship 
of Newbottle, to which his father had been appointed by 
Queen Mary in 1567, was ratified to him by letter, under 
the great seal, on the 24th August, 1584. He had the 
lands of Newbottle erected into a barony, with the title of 
Baron Ker of Morphet (Moorfoot) and Newbetile, dated 
1587. He was also created Earl of Lothian by patent, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 269 

dated at Whitehall^ Febriiary loth, 1606. He died on 
the 8th of April, 1609. By Margaret Maxwell, his wife, 
daughter of John, Lord Herries, who survived him, he left 
a numerous family, of whom one, Margaret by name, mar- 
ried James, seventh Lord Yester, and founded Lady Yester's 
church in Edinburgh. 

Robert, second earl of Lothian, succeeded his father, and 
was also appointed master of requests. He married Lady 
Annabella Campbell, second daughter of the seventh earl 
of Argyll. Their family consisted of two daughters. Lord 
Lothian, being without male issue, made over his estates 
and titles, with the king's approbation, to his eldest daughter. 
Lady Anne Ker, and the heirs of her body. Lord Lothian's 
younger brother, Sir William Ker of Blackhope, however, 
assumed the title, but was interdicted from using it by the 
Lords of Council, March 8th, 1632. The second earl of 
Lothian died on the 15th of July, 1624; and Lady Anne 
became Countess of Lothian, and in 1631 married William, 
eldest son of the Earl of Ancram, who became third earl of 
Lothian. 

According to Sir George Mackenzie, the Kers of Fernie- 
hirst are descended from the elder brother, while the Kers 
of Cessford proceed from the younger, because the former 
carry arms with the Carrs of England and France, without 
any difference of tincture or charge. 

L Ralph Ker, the first of this house, settled in Teviotdale 
about 1330, and got possession of land near the water of Jed, 
and called it Kershaugh. He died in 1350. 

IL Thomas Ker of Kershaugh, married Margaret, daughter 
of Somerville of Camwarth, and died in 1389. 

HL Andrew Ker of Kershaugh, married a daughter of Ed- 
monstone of that ilk. He died in 1405. 

IV. Thomas Ker of Kershaugh, married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Home of Home, and died in 1430. 

V. Andrew Ker of Kershaugh, married Jean, daughter of 
Crichton of Crichton, and died in 1450. 



270 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



^■f 






\ 



VI. Ralph Ker of Kershaugh, married Mary Towers, 
daughter of Towers of Innerleith, and died 1460. 

VII. Andrew Ker of Kershaugh, married Mary, daughter of 
Herbert, Lord Herries. He died in 1488. 

VIII. Thomas Ker of Ferniehirst, married Catherine, 
daughter of Lord Ochiltree. He built in Jedburgh forest a 
stronghold which he called Ferniehirst. He died in 1499, 
leaving three sons : — 

(i) Sir Andrew; (2) Ralph, ancestor of the Carres of 
Cavers;^ (3) William, who had a charter of the lands of 
Langlee and Gallastongis,' in Jedburgh forest, dated 14th 
August, 1537, in which he is described as William Ker, 
brother of Andrew Ker of Ferniehirst. 

Sir Andrew Ker of Ferniehirst, the eldest son, distinguished 
himself in resisting the power of England on the Borders, 
particularly at the siege of his castle of Ferniehirst by the 
Earl of Surrey and Lord Dacre, to whom he was obliged to 
surrender, after a brave defence. He obtained the office of 
bailiary of Jedburgh forest in 1542, and died 1545, having 
married Janet, second daughter of Sir Patrick Home of 
Polwarth, and had, with other issue, two sons. He was 
succeeded by Sir John Ker, warden of the middle marches, 
knighted by the Duke of Chatelherault, in 1548, for his good 
services in restraining the incursions of the English,' and 
who, with the assistance of French troops under D*£sse, 
retook his castle of Ferniehirst from the English by storm 
in 1549. Sir John married Catherine, eldest daughter of 
Sir Andrew Ker of Cessford, and died, July, 1562, leaving a 
son — 

Sir Thomas Ker of Ferniehirst, who was a distinguished 
member of a distinguished family. He was a steady friend 
and a most loyal servant to Queen Mary, who considered 
him as one of her most faithful and powerful adherents. He 
suffered at different periods of his life, in all, fourteen years 



1 Vide Carre of Cavers. ^ Now called Gilliestongues. 

* Vidi Foster's Peerage. 



ANNALS bF A BORDER CLUB. 271 

banishment on her account, and to the last never deserted 
her cause. In October, 1565, he attended the Queen and 
Darnley to Dumfries, to assist in quelling the insurrection of 
the nobles. Upon this occasion, Mary commanded him to 
raise the royal standard at the head of his followers, and 
placed herself under his immediate protection. He joined 
the Queen at Hamilton on her escape from Lochleven, in 
May, 1568. Sir Walter Scott of Buccleuch and Sir Thomas, 
in January, 1570, the day after the murder of the Regent 
Murray, entered England with fire and sword, in hopes of 
embroiling the two countries in a war which might prove 
advantageous to the interest of the Queen ; and in retaliation 
the Earl of Sussex and Lord Hunsdon, the same year, 
entered Scotland, and demolished the castle of Ferniehirst. 
In 1 571, he was one of the party who attacked the parliament 
at Stirling, when in the conflict the Earl of Lennox was 
killed. Sir Thomas Ker had his estate confiscated the same 
year. He then joined the gallant Kirkaldy in the defence of 
the castle of Edinburgh, to which he had removed his 
family charter- chest, and which, at the surrender of that 
fortress, in 1573, was seized by the Regent Morton, and 
never recovered.* In the summer of 1585, Sir Thomas Ker 
and Sir John Forster, the Scottish and English wardens of 
the middle marches, having met according to custom of the 
Borders, a fray took place, in which Sir Francis Russell, 
son of the Earl of Bedford, was killed. This gave great 
offence to Queen Elizabeth, to appease whom, Sir Thomas 
was committed to ward in Aberdeen, where he died in 
March, 1586. He was hereditary bailie of Jedburgh forest, 
warden and justice of the middle marches, keeper of 
Liddesdale, and provost of Edinburgh and Jedburgh. Sir 
Thomas married, first, a daughter of Sir William Kirkaldy 
of Grange, governor of the castle of Edinburgh, by whom 
he left a son. Sir Andrew, and two daughters, Janet and 

^ One of the conditions of the surrender of the castle was that the 
charter-chest should be restored to Sir Thomas Ker, but the contract was 

broken. 

T 



272 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Margaret, who both married. He married, secondly, in 
1569, Janet, sister of Sir Walter Scott of Buccleuch, and by 
this marriage had three sons — Sir James Ker of Crailing, 
Thomas of Oxenham, and Sir Robert, afterwards the Earl 
of Somerset. 

Sir Andrew Ker (afterwards, in 1622, created Lord 
Jedburgh) succeeded his father. He married Anne, eldest 
daughter of Andrew, Master of Ochiltree, by whom he had 
a daughter, married to Macdowall of Garthland, and -one 
son, Andrew, Master of Jedburgh. Sir Andrew Ker had a 
charter of East and West Nisbet, September 5, 1584, and 
another of the office of bailiary of the lands and baronies 
belonging to the monastery of Jedburgh, May 15, 1587-8. 
He died in 1631, without surviving issue, and was succeeded 
by his half-brother. Sir James Ker of Crailing. 

Andrew, Master of Jedburgh, was appointed captain of the 
King's Guards, in 1618. In 1625, he had a charter of the 
barony of Haddon in Roxburghshire, and half the barony 
of Brochtown, in the county of Peebles. He married 
Margaret Ker, third daughter of Mark, first Earl of Lothian, 
widow of Lord Hay of Yester. He died before his father, 
Decenjber 20, 1628, without issue. " The Lady Yester," as 
she was generally called, among other good works, founded 
Lady Yester*s church, Edinburgh, originally built in 1644, 
at the comer of the High School Wynd, and surrounded by a 
churchyard. This old church was pulled down, and rebuilt 
considerably to the westward. The tomb of the foundress 
and a tablet recording her good deeds are both rebuilt into 
the new church. Lady Yester was bom in 1572, the year of 
John Knox's death, and died, March 15, 1647. She had by 
her first husband. Lord Hay of Yester, two sons and one 
daughter. Lady Yester bequeathed various sums of money 
for religious and other purposes, called " Mortifications." 
She left a sum of money to the barony of Haddon, Roxburgh- 
shire, as follows : — 

"Dame Margaret Ker, Lady Yester, relict of Andrew, Master of 
Jedburgh, left one thousand merks scotts, £s5t '^s zjd sterling, to be 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 273 

placed oat by the proprietor of the barony of Haddon, at sight and vdth 
advice of the minister and elders of the parish of Sprouston, or whatever 
parish the said barony shall be adstricted to for the time, on land or other 
proper security within the shire of Roxburgh. The legal interest of 
which, to be applied by the said minister and elders, by the advice of the 
said proprietor of Haddon, his heirs and successors, who is declared 
Patron of the said sum. To wit, to help, maintain, and sustain six poor 
-scholars of the tenants and inhabitants of Haddon yearly, for learning of 
letters and knowledge. And in case the barony of Haddon cannot furnish 
six poor scholars, the deficiency to be made up from any other lands 
within the parish of Sprouston, or any other parish whereunto the said 
barony shall be united for the time, and failing thereof, then from any 
•other parish within the shire of Roxburgh, at the sight, and with advice 
of the proprietor of the said barony of Haddon. The election of such 
poor scholars to be by the minister and elders of the parish of Sprouston, 
and, as aforesaid, by advice and consent of the said proprietor of Haddon, 
his heirs and successors." 

The original deed of mortification is dated at Edinburgh, 
•6th May, 1637, and registered in the books of Council and 
Session there, loth December, 1638. An extract was in 
possession of Mr Robert Turnbull, minister of Sprouston, 
in 1779.* 

Sir James Ker of Crailing succeeded to the title of Lord 
Jedburgh, but did not assume it, and died in 1645, leaving 
by his wife, Mary Rutherford, heiress of Hundalee, a son 
Robert. 

Robert, third Lord Jedburgh, obtained from King Charles 
II. a confirmation of the peerage of Jedburgh to himself and 
the heirs of his body, which failing, to William, Master of 
Newbottle, eldest son of Robert, fourth earl and first mar- 
quess of Lothian ; he succeeded to the honours of Jedburgh, 
and on that title voted in parliament in 1702, where his father 
also sat and voted as Marquess of Lothian. 

Robert Ker of Ancrum, third son of Sir Andrew Ker of 
Femiehirst, who got from his father a charter of the third 
part of the lands of Dirleton, and another of Woodend, in 
Over Ancrum, in feu farm. He also had a charter of the 
lands of Newton, in the barony of Bedrule. He died in 
February, 1586. 

1 Copied from an old document, dated 1779. 



274 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William Ker succeeded him, but was assassinated by 
Robert Ker, younger of Cessford, when the disputes were 
very bitter about the seniority of the Kers. 

Sir Robert Ker of Ancrum was served heir to his grand- 
father on May I2thy 1607. He was the confidential friend 
of Charles I., who, when Prince of Wales, was the means 
of bringing about his marriage with Lady Anne Stanley. 
In 1620 he had the misfortune to kill, in a duel at New- 
market, Charles Maxwell, whose brother was a member of 
the king's household. He was obliged to fly to Holland, 
but the following year was received into royal favour. King 
Charles made him one of the gentlemen of his bed-chamber 
in 1625, and raised him to the dignity of the peerage by the 
title of Earl of Ancram,^ dated 1633, with remainder to the 
heirs male betwixt him and Lady Anne Stanley. His lord- 
ship was the steady and faithful friend of King Charles 
during all his troubles, and after his execution was obliged 
to submit again to banishment in Holland. There he passed 
the remainder of his days in solitary afHiction and poverty. 
He died at Amsterdam in 1654, at the age of 76. By his 
first wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Murray of Black- 
barony, he had a son William. 

William, eldest son of the Earl of Ancram, married, ixk 
1 63 1, Ann, Countess of Lothian in her own right, with whom 
he got the lordship of Newbottle, and the same year William 
Ker was created third earl of Lothian. Hostilities having^ 
commenced in 1640, he accompanied the Scottish army into- 
England, which, after defeating the royalists at Newbum,. 
took possession of Newcastle, of which place he was ap- 
pointed governor, with a garrison of 2000 men. In 1643. 
the Earl of Lothian was sent from Scotland by the privy 
council, with the approbation of Charles I., to make some 
propositions to the court of France relating to certaia 
privileges of the Scottish nation. On his return, a suspicion 



^ There is a curious little painting by Sanders of Robert, first earl of 
Ancram, showing from what rude beginnings Scottish art arose. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 375 

of treachery was attached to his embassy, and he was com- 
mitted a prisoner to Bristol Castle for some months. In 
1644 ^^ commanded, with the Marquess of Argyll, the forces 
sent against the Marquess of Montrose. When the parlia- 
ment of England made it known that they intended to 
proceed against King Charles I. before the high court of 
justice, the Earl of Lothian was one of the commissioners 
sent to remonstrate in the name of the kingdom of Scotland. 
The earl boldly said the whole nation had the utmost abhor- 
rence and detestation of using any violence or indignity upon 
the sacred person of the king, and there and then took a 
solemn protest against their proceedings. For this he was 
placed under arrest and ordered to return at once to Scot- 
land. His lordship died in the year 1675. By Ann, 
Countess of Lothian, he had five sons and nine daughters. 

Robert, the eldest son, fourth earl and afterwards first 
marquess of Lothian, was a volunteer in the Dutch war in 
1673 ^^^ ^ staunch supporter of the revolution, in return 
for which William IIL made him a privy councillor. He 
was created marquess in 1701, and died on the 15th of 
February, 1703. He married Jean, daughter of the Mar- 
quess of Argyll, his kinswoman, and by her had two children. 

William, second marquess of Lothian, succeeded his 
father in 1703, having previously, in 1692, inherited the 
title of Lord Jedburgh, and under that dignity sat in the 
Scottish parliament. He entered the army, and was made 
colonel of the 7th regiment of Dragoons in 1696. On his 
becoming Marquess of Lothian his character was thus 
described in Mackay*s Memoirs : — *^ He hath abundance of 
fire, and may prove himself a man of business when he 
applies himself that way ; he laughs at all revealed religion, 
yet sets up for a pillar of presbytery, being very zealous, but 
not devout. He is brave in his person ; loves his country 
and his bottle, a thorough libertine, very handsome, black, 
with a fine eye, 45 years old." The marquess had the com- 
mand of the 3rd regiment of Foot Guards conferred upon 
him in 1707. Being obnoxious to the tory administration. 



276 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

he was most unjustly, on account of his political opinions, 
deprived of his regiment in 1713. He died at London in 
the 6ist year of his age in 1722, and was buried in King 
Henry VH. chapel in Westminster Abbey. He married 
his cousin. Lady Jane Campbell, daughter of Archibald, 
Earl of Argyll (beheaded in 1685). He left issue, several 
daughters and one son — William, third marquess of Lothian. 

Before giving any description of the third marquess, I 
wish to take notice of his celebrated uncle, Lord Mark 
Kerr, who was not only a distinguished soldier, but a man 
of remarkable character. Duelling was fashionable in his 
day, and he was a skilful swordsman. He had a slight 
squint or cast in one of his eyes, which made him a most 
dangerous antagonist to encounter. ** He was soldier-like 
in his appearance, with the strictest notions of honour, 
peculiar and very particular in his dress, but he commanded 
respect wherever he went, for none dare to laugh at his 
singularities. His temper was easily rufHed, which was apt 
to lead him into rencontres, too often with a fatal termination 
to his antagonists. His frequent appeals to the sword on 
trivial occasions drew upon him the imputation of being 
quarrelsome, but it is said unless provoked he never meddled 
with any but such as chose to meddle with him." (Vide 
" Douglas Peerage.") 

A characteristic anecdote is told of him when quite a 
young man. One evening at mess after dinner, an officer 
who delighted in bullying others, commenced chaffing Lord 
Mark, little knowing whom he had to deal with. His ch^ff 
was ill-natured in the extreme, and his manner insulting. 
This was noticed by the senior officer of the regiment, who 
dined at mess that evening. Early next morning, he sent 
for Lord Mark, spoke to him gravely of what had occurred 
the night previous, and finished by remarking, ** You cannot 
allow such insulting language to pass unnoticed ; you must 
call him out." Lord Mark replied, ** I have done so." Then 
said the colonel, half in jest — for he was not prepared for such 
a reply from a boy hardly out of his teens — '^ Well, my lad, I 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 377 

can say no more, you must run him through if you can." 
'^ I have done this also," said his lordship, pointing at the 
same time to a plantation where the occurrence took place, 
which could be seen from the window. Lord Mark entered 
the army in 1693, ^^^ ^^ ^^^ battle of Almanza, 25th April, 
1707, was wounded in the arm. As lieut. -colonel of the 15th 
Regiment, he was present at Vigo, and became in succession 
colonel of the 29th and 13th Regiments of Foot, and 
eventually of the nth Light Dragoons, which for the next 
hundred years became quite a family corps with the house 
of Lothian. He obtained the rank of general in the army 
in 1743, and died in London, 2nd February, 1752, unmarried, 
and in the seventy-seventh year of his age. 

William, third marquess of Lothian, was a peer in the 
lifetime of his father, and voted, in 1 712, as Lord Jedburgh, 
at the election of the representative peers of Scotland. He 
represented King George H. as Lord High Commissioner 
of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, from 
1732 to 1738, both inclusive. He married Margaret, daughter 
of Sir Thomas Nicolson of Kemnay, and by her had two 
sons, William and Robert, and a daughter. He again 
married, in 1760, his cousin, a daughter of Lord Charles 
Kerr of Cramond, who survived him for many years, and 
died at the family mansion in the Canongate of Edinburgh. 
The Marquess died at Lothian House, Edinburgh, on the 
28th July, 1767, and was buried at Newbattle Abbey. 

Wilson, in his Memorials of Edinburgh^ thus describes the 
house : — 

On the site now occupied by a brewery, a little to the eastward of 
Qneensberry House, formerly stood Lothian Hut, a small but very 
splendidly finished mansion, erected by William, third Marquess of 
Lothian, about 1750, and in which he died in 1767. His marchioness, 
who survived him twenty years, continued to reside there till her death, 
and it was afterwards occupied by the Lady Caroline D'Arey, Dowager 
Marchioness of the fourth Marquess. This scene of former rank and 
magnificence would have possessed a deeper interest had it now remained, 
from its having formed for many years the residence of the celebrated 
philosopher, Dugald Stuart, and the place where he carried on many of 
his most important literary labours. In 1802, it was still the residence of 



278 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the professor, for which he paid a rent of £so a year. There was a 
smaller house contigaons to Lothian House, at the foot of the Canongate, 
also the property of the Marquess, which was then occupied by a Miss 
Scott of Ancnmu—Vide Edinburgh Advertisir, 

Lord Robert Kerr, second son of the third marquess, 
served in the army, first in Lord Mark Kerr's regiment, the 
nth Dragoons, and afterwards as captain in Barrell's Foot. 
He fell at the battle of Culloden, on the i6th April, 1746. 
''Standing at the head of his company when the High- 
landers broke through the regiment, he received the 
leading man on his spontoon, and was killed, with many 
wounds, in the prime and bloom of youth." — Vide Scots 
Magazine, 

William Henry, fourth marquess, was a distinguished 
soldier. As Earl of Ancram, he was aide-de-camp to the 
Duke of Cumberland at the battle of Fontenoy, April 30th, 
1745, where he was wounded. He became lieut.-colonel of 
the nth Dragoons, and commanded the cavalry on the left 
wing at the battle of Culloden. For this he must have 
received the gold medal, obverse, the bust of the Duke of 
Cumberland, which was given to officers who commanded 
regiments in this battle. He seems to have been an A.D.C. 
to the king.^ In 1752, he succeeded his grand-uncle. Lord 
Mark Kerr, as colonel of the nth Dragoons, which rank he 
retained until his death. The Earl of Ancram served as a 
lieut.-general under the Duke of Marlborough, in his expe- 
dition to the coast of France, in 1758. Succeeding his father 
in 1767, he was chosen one of the sixteen representative peers. 



1 In July, 1746, a placard was placed on the church doors in the city 
and county of Aberdeen, in substance as follows: — "By the Earl of 
Ancram, aide-de-camp to His Majesty, and commanding the forces on the 
eastern coast of North Britain. Whereas arms have been found in several 
houses, contrary to His Royal Highness the Duke's proclamation, this is 
therefore to give notice, that where ever arms of any kind are found, that 
the house, and all houses belonging to the proprietor, or his tenants, shall 
be immediately burnt to ashes ; and that as some arms have been found 
under ground, that if any shall be discovered for the future, the adjacent 
houses and fields shall be immediately laid waste and destroyed." 



ANNALS OF A BORDER; CLUB. 279 

His lordship married, in 1735 — ^the year he joined the nth 
Dragoons — Lady Caroline D'Arcy, only daughter of Robert, 
E&rl of HoldernesSy great granddaughter of Frederick, Duke 
of Schomberg. On this occasion he dropped the title of 
Lord Jedburgh, and took that of Earl of Ancram. He died 
at Bath on the 12th of April, 1775, aged sixty-five years. 
His family consisted of two daughters and an only son — 
William John, who succeeded. The eldest daughter. Lady 
Louisa Kerr, married, at Dumfries in 1759, Lord George 
Lennox, brother of the Duke of Richmond, and lieut.- 
colonel of Lord Charles Hay's regiment. — Vide Scots 
Magazine, 

William John, fifth marquess,^ born March 13th, 1737. 
He joined the nth Dragoons with the rank of cornet in 
1754, ^^^ ^^s transferred to the 5th Dragoons as a captain. 
He succeeded his father as fifth marquess in 1775. When 
the Horse Guards were changed into Life Guards, the 
marquess was constituted colonel of the ist regiment of 
Life Guards. In the important question of the regency, 
the marquess voted for the right of the Prince of Wales, 
and signed the protest to that effect in 1788; on the king's 
recovery he was removed from his command. He eventually 
obtained the colonelcy of the nth Dragoons, the regiment 
so long associated with the family, and retained it until his 
decease in 1815. His lordship married Elizabeth, only 
daughter of Chichester Fortescue of Dromiskin, in the 
county of Louth, and left issue. 



1 In the loth vol., *' Public Characters," the fifth marquess is described as 
small in stature, well made, wore a cocked hat finely plumed, a wig care- 
fully dressed in the extreme of fashion, a coat embroidered, so as to prove 
suitable to an officer of cavalry, and a pair of boots which reflected every 
object around them with precision. At Covent Garden or Drury Lane, 
the same gentleman was usually to be seen in the king's box. About 1775 
the family sustained a severe loss in consequence of the destruction of 
Newbattle Abbey by fire, a venerable and ancient pile of building which 
recalled the memory of past ages, the pristine magnificence of monastic 
institutions, and the former grandeur in which the house of Lothian was 
accustomed to live in Scotland. 



aSo ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William, WiLLiA^, SIXTH Marquess of Lothian, was born on the 

sixth Mar- 

quessof 4th of October, 1764, and succeeded his father on the 4th 

Lothian. ^f January, 1815. He took an active interest in the auxiliary- 

forces which at that time were raised for the defence of the 
country. For a long period he commanded the Mid-Lothian 
fencible cavalry, which volunteered their services, first for 
Ireland, and afterwards for any part of Europe. His regi- 
ment was employed in the suppression of the Irish rebellion 
in the year 1798. 

As Earl of Ancram, in 1810, he founded the Jedforest 
Club, and after it was formed he presented the members 
with a handsome silver horn, on which is the following 
inscription: "Lord Jedburgh to the Jed-forresters, 1810;'' 
above the inscription are engraved the arms of the family. 
When his Majesty George IV. visited Scotland, landing 
at L^ith on the 15th August, 1822, the marquess, as lord- 
lieutenant of the county, was the first to receive him on 
landing, and on the 28th of that month the king honoured 
him by visiting Newbattle Abbey. 

He married, first, on the 14th April, 1793, Lady Henrietta 
Hobart, eldest daughter of John, second earl of Bucking- 
hamshire ; and by her (who died in 1805) he had two sons — 
John William Robert, who succeeded, and Lord Henry Kerr, 
who afterwards took holy orders. He married, secondly, 
1806, Lady Harriet Montagu, youngest daughter of Henry, 
Duke of Buccleuch, by whom he had a large family. On 
Tuesday the 27th April, 1824, the marquess died, at the age 
of 60. He was visiting his brother-in-law, the Duke of 
Buccleuch, and he breathed his last in the picturesque old 
house on the banks of the Thames, above Richmond bridge.^ 

John William JoHN WiLLiAM Robert, seventh marquess of Lothian, 
seventh lord-lieutenant of the county of Roxburgh, and colonel of 

Manjuessof the Edinburgh militia, was born in 1794. He married, in 
Lothian. 

1 The house and grounds are now the property of the Corporation of 
Richmond, who have made the upper portion into a public garden. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 281 

183 1, Lady Cecil-Chetwynd Talbot, and by her (who died 
at Rome on the 13th of May, 1877) had issue. He was 
designed Lord Newbattle when he was elected a member 
of the Jedforest Club in 1813. He died at the age of 47, 
in 1 841, and was succeeded by his eldest son. 

William Schomberg Robert, eighth marquess of William 
Lothian, was born on the 12th August, 1832. After a most Rot^, ^^ 

distinguished career at Oxford, he took a first both in classics figl^th 

Marquess ox 
and modern history. He married Lady Constance Harriet Lothian. 

Mahonesa Talbot, daughter of the eighteenth earl of 

Shrewsbury. He joined the Club on the ist May, 1854, 

and died in 1870. 

Schomberg Henry, ninth marquess of Lothian, K.T., Schomberg, 
P.C, LL.D., brother of the eighth marquess, was born in Marquess of 
1833, and succeeded in 1870. Intended from his boyhood for Lothian, 
diplomatic life, he became an attache to the Lisbon embassy 
in 1854. ^^ was shortly afterwards removed to Teheran, 
and remained in Persia for some .time, serving as a volunteer 
on Sir James Outram's staff during the war with the Shah, 
in 1856-7. For his services, he received the medal, with a 
clasp, " Persia." On leaving Persia, he became a member 
in turn of the embassies at Athens, Frankfort, Berlin, 
Madrid, and Vienna. The Marquess is colonel of the 3rd 
battalion Lothian Regiment, having, been in active command 
of the battalion for eleven years. He is also captain-general 
of the Royal Bodyguard of Scottish Archers. From 1887 
to 1892, he was Secretary for Scotland, and Lord Rector of 
the University of Edinburgh, in 1887. He married, in 1865, 
Victoria Alexandrina, eldest daughter of Walter Francis, 
fifth Duke of Buccleuch, K.G., and has had issue — 

L Walter William Schomberg, Earl of Ancram, born 29th 
March, 1867, and died in 1896, from a gun accident in 
New South Wales, where he was aide-de-camp to the 
governor, the Earl of Jersey. 

n. Lord Schomberg Henry, born in 1869, died in 1870. 



282 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Lord III. Robert Schomberg, Lord Jedburgh, born in 1874, 

became a member of the Jedforest Club on the 29th October, 
1895. 

1. Lady Cecil Victoria Constance. 

2. Lady Margaret Isabel. 

3. Lady Mary. 

4. Lady Helen Victoria Lilian. 

5. Lady Victoria Alexandrina Alberta (H.M. the Queen 
sponsor). 

6. Lady Isobel Alice Adelaide. 

The Marquess was unanimously made a member of the 
Jedforest Club, on the 30th April, 1869, and is the fourth 
marquess in succession who has been elected to this Club, 
which owes its origin to the Lothian family. 

Vice-Admiral LoRD Mark Robert Kerr, third son of William John, 
Robert Kerr. ^^^ marquess of Lothian, and Elizabeth Fortescue, only 
daughter of Chichester Fortescue, county of Louth, Ireland, 
was born 12th November, 1776. Lord Mark entered the 
Royal Navy, and was a midshipman of the *' Lion," 64 guns, 
with Lord Macartney, in his famous embassy to China, 1792. 
As lieutenant, he served in the '* Sanspareil," 80 guns, in 
Lord Bridport's action, 1795, and was promoted in 1797. 
At the capture of the important island of Minorca, Lord 
Mark Kerr, in command of the ** Cormorant " sloop of war, 
20 guns, in November, 1798, rendered essential service 
to the Honourable Lieut.- General Charles Stuart and 
Commodore Duckworth, who were jointly in command of 
the expedition. When hostilities were again renewed in 
1803, he obtained the command of the ** Fisgard " frigate. 
Lord Mark married, i8th July, 1799, the daughter and 
heiress of the Marquess of Antrim, by whom he had a large 
family. He died in London, on the loth September, 1840. 
His lordship joined the Jedforest Club, 31st July, 181 1. 

Lieut.-Col. Lord Robert Kerr was born on September 14, 1780. 

Kctt. KH. ^^ ^^s *^^ fourth son of William John, fifth marquess of 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 283 

Lothian. He entered the army as an ensign, 1798, in the 
8th or King's Regiment, and obtaiped the rank of captain in 
1803. ^® became aide-de-camp and military secretary to 
Lord Cathcart, commander-in-chief of the forces in Scotland, 
and was also secretary to the Order of the Thistle. In 
1809 he was transferred to the 6th garrison battalion, and 
was gazetted a lieut.-colonel in the army in 1830. King 
William IV. conferred on him the decoration of a Knight 
of Hanover, 

Lord Robert Kerr was an original member of the Club, 
and was one of the number present when the association 
was formed on the loth of May, 1810. He married, ip 1806, 
Mary, daughter of the Rev. Edmund Gilbert of Windsor 
House, Cornwall, and had a family of four sons and five 
daughters. Lord Robert died in 1843. 



CARR [ENGLISH]. 

There is no name better known on both sides of the 
Border than that of Ker, Carr, or Carre, as it is spelt on 
the English side. The Northumberland and Cumberland 
border families, were, like their Scottish brethren, a brave 
and lawless race, ever ready for a raid or foray over the 
border. Although there was a mutual recognition of kin- 
ship, no common origin can be traced between the English 
and Scotch families of the name ; and perhaps, what is more 
remarkable, hardly any intermarriages took place between 
them for several centuries. I have to thank Mr S. S. Carr, 
Percy Gardens, Tynemouth, for information concerning the 
English family, about which, for want of space, I am sorry 
I can say so little. 

Among a few of the well-known old English families of the 
name of Carr, those of Hetton, Eshott, Woodhall, Dunston^ 
Ford, and Sledford, may be mentioned. They resembled 
their Scotch namesakes, and were entrusted with the defence 
of the Borders. John Carre of Hetton was appointed captain 



a84 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of Wark Castle, upon Tweed, and is described thus : — " He 
ys a good howeskep, a sharpe boerdera," &c. 

In 1517 C. Horsley slew John Carre of Hetton and took 
:shelter in the sanctuary of Durham. The old tower of 
Hetton is still standing, and Hetton Pele was held for 
military service of the castle of Alnwick. Thomas Carr 
served as grome of the chamber to Henry VI., and 
George Carre of the same period was the great merchant 
-of Newcastle, whose example in commerce was followed by 
many branches of the family — some settling as merchants 
at Bristol, where they founded the great charity known as 
Queen Elizabeth's Hospital; others as merchants at Hull, 
Boston, and Sleaford. 

George Carre established himself at Sleaford as a mer- 
•chant of the staple of Calais, trading in the export of wool 
from Boston to the Continent, in which industry he acquired 
a large fortune. He dwelt in the " Carre House," which 
now forms the site of the Carre Hospital. His son Robert 
•(familiarly known as Old Robert Carre) became the founder 
•of the great landed wealth of the family. He purchased, 
among many others, the manor of Old Sleaford, forfeited 
iby the attainder of Lord Hussey, and also the great barony 
•of Sleaford, forfeited by the attainder of the Protector 
Somerset. 

George Carre lived to a great age, and left three sons and 
three daughters — the three sons (Robert, William, and 
Edward) succeeding in order to the estates. The latter 
was created a baronet by James I., but died a few years 
afterwards, in 161 8. He was succeeded by his eldest son, 
Robert, who became second baronet. Early in his married 
iife, when he had daughters only, he made a remarkable 
settlement of his castle and estates upon the Earl of Ancram, 
•conditional upon either of Lord Ancram's sons (Lord Charles 
^r Lord Stanley Kerr) marrying one of these young ladies. 
This settlement, which was attested by six ministers of 
State, was afterwards as solemnly revoked on the birth of 
a son. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 285 

KER OF CESSFORD. 

The noble and distinguished family of Roxburghe has held 
a prominent position in the Borders of Scotland for upwards 
of five centuries. Like ancient Scottish families, they have 
had many vicissitudes and changes. Beginning as Border 
iairds holding the lands of Altonburn, and afterwards of 
Cessford, the Kers gradually attained to the peerages of 
Lord Roxburghe, Earl of Roxburghe, and Duke of Rox- 
burghe. But these high honours were not all acquired in 
the direct male line of the Kers of Cessford. They continued 
to be commoners from the middle of the fourteenth to the 
•end of the sixteenth century, when Robert Ker of Cessford 
was created Lord Roxburghe in 1599. He was advanced in 
the peerage in 1616, with the title of Earl of Roxburghe. 
Up to that date, the Kers of Cessford and the Lord and Earl 
of Roxburghe continued in the direct male line. But the 
first Earl of Roxburghe having no surviving male issue, but 
four daughters, made arrangements that the eldest daughter, 
Lady Jean Ker, should marry her cousin, William Drum- 
mond, of the family of the Earls of Perth, and inherit the 
earldom of Roxburghe. 

The origin of the family of Ker of Cessford, now represented 
in the female line by the Duke of Roxburghe, has, like that 
of the Kers of Ferniehirst, represented by the Marquess 
of Lothian, K.T., been the subject of discussion. The 
descendants of the two families of the name of Ker had 
long-continued contentions about the precedency of the one 
family over the other. These contentions led to bloodshed. 
In 1590, Robert Ker of Cessford, afterwards first Earl of 
Hoxburghe, slew William Ker of Ancram, the head of the 
rival house of Ferniehirst. 

The Drummond Earls of Roxburghe continued in the 
direct male line till John, fifth earl, was created Duke of 
Roxburghe. He was a prominent statesman, and held the 

^ Vide The Report, Appendix, Part III., Historical Manuscript Commis- 
^on. 



286 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

important office of Secretary for Scotland, at the time of 
the union between Scotland and England. The Drummond 
Dukes of Roxburghe continued till John the third duke, 
who died in the year 1804, unmarried. He was well known 
in the literary world, and his name is commemorated in 
the Roxburghe Club. 

The titles and estates of Roxburghe then devolved on 
William, seventh Lord Bellenden, who was the direct heir 
male of William, second Earl of Roxburghe, whose fourth 
son, John, succeeded, under a Crown resignation, to the title 
and estates of his kinsman William, first Lord Bellenden of 
Broughton, whose mother was Margaret Ker, sister of the 
first Earl of Roxburghe. 

William, Lord Bellenden, thus became the fourth Duke 
of Roxburghe. He did not live long after his succession, 
having died at Fleurs, aged seventy-seven, in the following 
year, 1805. He married, in 1789, Mary, daughter of Capt. 
Bechinoe, Royal Navy, and niece of Sir John Smith, Bart., of 
Sydley, Dorset. His widow married again on the 19th of 
August, 1806 (at nine o'clock in the evening, by special 
licence, by the Archbishop of Canterbury), John Manners, 
son of Lady L. Manners, at her grace's house in Portman 
Square, in the presence of the Duke and Duchess of St Albans, 
Lady L. and Miss Manners, Sir W. Heathcote, his brother- 
in-law, Mr R. Heathcote, &c., &c. 

After the fourth Duke's death, a competition arose for the 
titles of Duke and Earl of Roxburghe and the old family 
estates, between Lady Essex Ker, daughter of the second 
Duke of Roxburghe, as heir of line ; Sir James Norcliffe 
Innes, as heir male of the body of Margaret Ker, daughter 
of Harry Lord Ker; Major-General Walter Ker of Little- 
dean, claiming as heir male of Robert Ker, first Earl of 
Roxburghe ; and the Right Honourable William Drummond 
of Logiealmond, as heir male of the second or Drummond 
Earl of Roxburghe. 

This remarkable case occupied the attention of the Court 
of Session and the House of Lords for several years, and oa 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 287 

the iith of May, 1812, the House of Lords, affirming the 
judgment of the Court of Session, decided in favour of 
Sir James Norcli£fe Innes Ker, who became fifth Duke of 
Roxburghe, and is the great-grandfather of the present Duke. 
The Roxburghe estates and peerages have thus been 
inherited successively by the families of Ker of Cessford, 
Drummond of Perth, Bellenden of Broughton, and Innes of 
Innes. The costly litigation is said to have ruined General 
Ker of Littledean, although he was generally admitted to 
have been the heir male of the Kers of Cessford. The 
estate of Littledean now forms part of the beautiful estate 
of Lord Polwarth, on the banks of the Tweed, opposite his 
principal residence, Mertoim House ; and the old tower of 
Littledean is still a prominent feature in the landscape. In 
addition to Littledean and Nenthom, county of Roxburgh, 
General Ker owned a small estate in Northumberland, called 
East Bolton, which property is still in the possession of his 
lineal descendants. Two of his daughters married into the 
Gray family, and it is said that the younger of them (Mrs 
Edward Gray) was the original of Scott's "Di' Vernon." 
In the summer of 1873, a nephew of the writer was introduced 
to this lady, then very old, at the Great Western Hotel, 
Paddington. The general's eldest granddaughter bore the 
old Ker name of Essex. 

James, fifth Duke of Roxburghe, was the second son James, fifth 
of Sir Harry Innes of Innes, Bart., his elder brother dying R^5,2!»he 
in his father's lifetime. His great-grandfather, Sir James 
Innes, married Lady Margaret Ker, granddaughter of the 
first Earl of Roxburghe. The Duke became a member of 
the Jedforest Club on the 26th of August, 1813. 

James Innes was bom in 1736, and cotild thus remember 
some circumstances of the rebellion of 1745. In the autumn 
of that year, his father. Sir Harrie Innes, went to CuUoden 
House, and from thence to Dunrobin, where he and the 
Earl of Sutherland were unluckily cut off by the rebels. In 

this dilemma, they embarked in an open boat, in the month 

u 



288 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of March, 1746, and crossing the Moray Firth in safety, after 
a stormy passage, joined the Duke of Cumberland's army at 
Aberdeen. Lady Innes was left at Elgin in an old house of 
the Duke of Gordon's, near the cathedral, where she passed 
the winter undisturbed. Her family consisted of three 
daughters and her sons Robert and James, the latter the sub- 
ject of this memoir. As the Duke of Cumberland advanced, 
the estate of Innes was laid under military requisition by the 
rebels ; all the horses and cattle, and whatever belonged to 
Sir Harrie, were carried oiF to the rebel magazines at Minos, 
near Inverness. When the royal army drew near, Lady 
Innes's position in the midst of a hostile country was 
sufficiently alarming. One day an idle fellow, in passing the 
house, fired at little James Innes, the bullet striking the 
stone lintel of the door. Lady Innes, in her uneasiness, 
despatched the boys' tutor, the Rev. Mr Simpson, with a 
letter to Sir Harrie at Dunrobin, where she believed him to 
be. The rebels suspected that the clergyman had been sent 
with some account of their strength and situation. Being 
apprised of his danger, Mr Simpson that night crossed the 
Spey, and got safe within the Duke of Cumberland's lines. 
The rebels searched Lady Innes's house the same evening 
for him ; happily to no purpose. The Duke of Cumberland 
crossed the Spey on Saturday, and the same night Lady 
Innes and party were guarded by Colonel Bagot of the 
Hussars and Colquhoun Grant, who remained until the 
advance of Kingston's Light Horse obliged them to join 
their rear, in the town of Elgin, leaving the gates barricaded. 
Next morning Sir Harrie arrived, and delighted his son by 
presenting him with a small sword. James, who had been a 
spectator of the fight in Quarrelwood, was now mounted 
upon an old dun pony, and thus set out towards the royal 
army. He was presented to the duke as he was leading 
his force on their march from Elgin. On the following day. 
Lady Innes and her children accompanied the army to the 
banks of the Findhorn ; thence they were conducted home 
again — ^not before, however, her ladyship had extracted from 
the duke the promise of a commission for her son. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 289 

James Innes was educated at Fordyce; thence he went 
to Enfield to attend the Rev. Andrew Kinross's academy, 
iinishing his education at Leyden. He was appointed to 
a company in Sir Robert Murray Keith's command, but 
joined the 88th or Highland volunteers, in the year 1759. 
In May, 1760, the regiment embarked at Leith to join the 
army of Prince Ferdinand in Germany. In this campaign 
both the 87th and 88th regiments suffered severely. Capt. 
Innes had several narrow escapes. It is related that once, 
when Surgeon Jamison of his regiment was whispering in 
his ear, a shot struck the doctor in the heart. Towards the 
close of the war, in the winter of 1761, he obtained leave of 
absence, and went to London, intending to seek an exchange 
into the Foot Guards. From the fatigue he had undergone 
during his two years of active service in the field, although 
he had never been on the sick list, he was seized with an 
intermittent fever on his return home, which rendered him 
unable to return to his duty. His regiment was, however, 
•disbanded on its return to England in 1763.^ During Capt. 
Innes's services abroad, his father died, and he was served 
his heir on the 7th February, 1764, and became Sir James 
Innes of Innes, Bart. 

On the 19th of April, 1769, Sir James married Mary, eldest 
■daughter of Sir John Wray, twelfth baronet of Glentworth, 
county of Lincoln. This lady had succeeded, in 1768, to 
the Langton estate, near Malton, in Yorkshire, on the death 
of her maternal uncle, Thomas NorclifFe. By the latter's 
will. Miss Wray assumed, by royal licence, the surname and 
.arms of NorclifFe, and by the same will Sir James Innes 
became Sir James Norcliffe. Lady NorclifFe, though not 
•endowed with personal beauty, or that charm of manner 
which makes so many plain women attractive, was highly 
-cultured and well acquainted with the best literature of her 
time. The cynicism of fate decreed that she should be 



1 In the Army List of 1782, Sir James Norcliffe, Bart., appears on half 
pay of the 88th or Highland volunteers. 



290 ANlfALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

united to one with whom she had little or nothing in com- 
mon. In course of time the inevitable separation took place. 
By the marriage contract her husband had a life interest 
of ;^i2oo a year charged on the Langton estate— of which 
hereafter. On the 20th July, 1807, Lady Norciiffe departed 
this life at Langton, and was buried in Langton church on 
the 29th of July. Six days afterwards, at the age of 71 » 
Sir James married a second time, his wife being Harriet, 
daughter of Benjamin Charliewood of Windlesham, Surrey, 
and sister of Lieut.-Col. Benjamin Charliewood, ist Foot 
Guards. The House of Lords decided in favour of Sir 
James on the nth May, 1812, and he became fifth duke of 
Roxburghe. It was not until the 12th July, 1816, that a 
son and heir was born. The story goes that the young 
marquess, when playing on the floor at his old father's feet, 
when scarce five years old, managed very cleverly to tilt 
over his old sire's chair and deposit his grace on the floor.. 
It is said this piece of juvenile mischief, though dangerous 
enough for a man of the duke's years, highly delighted the 
aged peer, who felt that the titles for which he had fought 
would be properly safeguarded by his heir. 

The fifth duke^ died 19th July, 1823, and was buried at 
Bowden church, the old burial place of the Kers. Hia 
widow re-married Lieut.*Col. Walter O'Reilly of the 41st 
Foot. It ought to be recorded in the fifth duke's favour 
that he behaved with great generosity to his first wife's 
great-nephew, Major (afterwards Major-General) Norciiffe, 
and made over to him the rent-charge which he (the duke) 
received from the Langton estate. Owing to the Langton 
property being left to his mother for life. Major Norcli£fe 
did not succeed, to the estate at his father's death in 1820. 
By the duke's liberality the major was enabled to settle down 
and marry. There are two portraits extant of the fifth duke, 

1 It is sftid that when the lawsuit was going on he wished to make an 
arrangement with General Ker that whoever gained the day shonld pay 
all expenses. General Ker foolishly objected to this, and his wife was 
indignant, saying she would be duchess or nothing. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 291 

one at Langton and the other at Floors. The latter — a life- 
sized portrait — representing his grace in old age, is a valu- 
able work of art by that eminent artist, Sir Henry Raebum. 

Robert, third earl of Roxburghe, was drowned when 
proceeding from London to Edinburgh. The "Gloucester" 
frigate, with the Duke of York and his family on board, 
attended by some smaller vessels, was wrecked on Yar- 
mouth Sands. The other vessels sent boats to the rescue, 
by which means the duke and others were saved, but about 
one hundred and fifty persons were drowned, among whom 
were the Earl of Roxburghe, the Laird of Hopetoun, and 
Sir Joseph Douglas of Pumpherston. The Earl of Rox- 
burghe was heard crying for a boat and offering twenty 
thousand pounds for assistance. His butler, who was a 
good swimmer, took the earl on his back, but a drowning 
man clutched at the latter, and he was seen no more. 

The following anecdote is related of John, second duke» 
when a boy. The first duchess possessed two china vases 
of great value. One of these attracted the attention of her 
eldest son, who in his admiration unsettled its equilibrium 
and shivered it into atoms. The duchess, on returning from 
her morning drive, was made aware of the destruction of her 
favourite vase, and enquired concerning it. "Why, my 
lady,*' returned her second son, Lord Robert Ker, " it was 
caused alone by John. He took the vase into his hands, and 
grasping it thus, he dropped it.** Suiting the action to the 
word, Lord Robert dropped the second vase, fled to the 
woods, and joined his brother there. It was only after an 
anxious search and promises of ample pardon that the young 
delinquents consented to return to Floors. 

Wilson, in his Memorials of Edinburgh, states: — "Prior 
to the erection of Milton House, the fine open grounds which 
surrounded it, with the site on which it was built, formed a 
beautiful garden, attached to the mansion of the Earl of 
Roxburghe. Roxburghe House appears from Edgar's map 
to have stood on the west side of the garden. It was after- 
wards occupied by John, fifth earl (the brother of the builder 



29a ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of the mansion), who took an active share in the Union ; and 
it was, doubtless, the scene both of hospitable gatherings 
and confidential deliberations during the memorable trans- 
actions of 1705. Gifts and honours were liberally distributed 
to secure the passing of the desired measure, and, soon after, 
the Earl of Roxburghe was elevated to a dukedom. " 

Roxburgh Close, which is believed to derive its name from 
being the residence of the earls of Roxburghe, is still in 
existence, but few of its ancient featiures have escaped 
alteration. A date above a doorway ca,rries us back to 
1586, in which year the ancestor of the earls of Roxburghe 
— Sir Walter Ker of Cessford — died. 

James Henry Robert, sixth duke of Roxburghe, K.T., was 
bom on the 12th July, 1816, and succeeded in 1823. He mar- 
ried, on the 29th December, 1836, Susanna Stephania, only 
child of Lieut.-General Sir James Charles Dalbiac, K.C.H., 
and had two sons and two daughters. When Miss Dalbiac 
married the young duke, she was considered one of the most 
beautiful and attractive women of her day. Her mother, 
who is mentioned by Napier in the <' History of the Penin^ 
sular War," was the eldest daughter of Colonel John Dalton,^ 
4th Dragoons, of Sleningford Park, Yorks, and Fillingham 
Castle, Lincolnshire. At the battle of Salamanca she rode 
under fire, following her husband*s corps, the 4th Dragoons 
(now 4th Hussars). In the same regiment her brother, John 
Dalton, was serving as a captain, and her cousin, Mr Nor- 
cliffe, as a lieutenant. The latter was severely wounded, 
and Mrs Dalbiac nursed him for some weeks in the town 
of Salamanca. He recovered, and eventually succeeded to 
Langton, once the property of the first wife of Sir James 
Innes, afterwards fifth duke of Roxburghe, who assumed the 
name of Norcli£fe on his marriage {vide preceding memoir). 
James, sixth duke, died at Genoa in 1879, and his duchess 
followed him to the grave in 1894, ^^ ^^® ^S^ of 8o«' 9oth 
are buried in the family vault at Bowden. 



1 Vide Cleghom of Weens. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 393 

James Henry Robert Innbs Kbr, seventh duke of James, 
Roxburghe, was born on the 5th September, 1839, at ofRox- 
Floors Castle, and was educated at Eton and Oxford, harghe. 
Upon the death of Sir William Scott of Ancrum, in 18709 
as Marquis of Bowmont, he was returned unopposed 
as Liberal member for Roxburghshire. He became a 
member of the Jedforest Club on the 3rd June, 1873. At 
the general election in 1874, there was a keen contest, and 
Sir George Douglas of Springwood Park defeated the 
Marquis by the narrow majority of twenty-six votes. He 
remained a supporter of Mr Gladstone until the Irish pro- 
posals were brought forward, when he cast in his lot with 
the Liberal Unionists, being one of the presidents of the 
Roxburghshire Unionist Association. On the nth June, 
1874, he married Lady Anne Emily Spencer Churchill, 
daughter of the Duke of Marlborough. In April, 1879, his 
father, sixth duke, died at Genoa, and he succeeded to the 
titles and estates. 

The Duke, who loved retirement, now settled down at 
Floors, happy amongst the scenes of his boyhood, and lived 
the life of a country gentleman. With either rod or gun, he 
could hardly be excelled, and was well known at Hurlingham 
as a crack shot, and one who carried oiF many valuable 
prizes. As a landlord, he followed in the footsteps of his 
father, and had the reputation of always being fair and 
considerate. He was patron of the Border Union Agricultural 
Society, chairman of the River Tweed Commissioners, lord- 
lieutenant of Roxburghshire, a deputy-lieutenant for Berwick- 
shire, and a brigadier in the Royal Company of Archers. 
Gentle by nature, warm-hearted, with an intense love of 
home, he lived a quiet and irreproachable life, beloved by 
his family and friends. He died on Sunday morning, a3rd 
October, 1892, and was buried within the precincts of the 
Abbey of Kelso. 



294 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER XL 

KER OF GATESHAW. 

A MONG the old Border families of Ker, that of Gateshaw 
is one of the most ancient. In the year 145 1| a Thomas 
Ker was in possession of Gateshaw. He was a younger son 
of Andrew Ker of Auldtownbum, from whom, it is said, the 
noble families of Roxburghe and Lothian are descended. 
In 1522, Gateshaw was taken by the English, after a gallant 
defence, and destroyed by them in retaliation for an incursion 
made by Lancelot Ker into Northumberland. This same 
Lancelot of Gateshaw, and many other lairds and barons of 
Roxburgh, came into Jedburgh on the i8th of May, 153O9 
" to submit themselves to the king's will, and found surety to 
enter before the justice when required, to underly the law for 
all crimes imputed to them.'* Gateshaw, which had been 
strengthened with the addition of another peel for the defence 
of that portion of the Border, was fiercely attacked by the 
English in 15451 and again looted;- and it is stated that the 
tower of Gateshaw and New Gateshaw were both destroyed. 
Two years after this we find the Gateshaw Kers again at 
feud, this time with their neighbours, the Scotts of Buccleuch, 
whose lands, lying on Ale Water, they wasted with fire and 
sword. Passing to* the year 1635, ^^ ^^^ ^^e ninth laird 
of Gateshaw — a boy under age — contracting himself in 
marriage to " Cicill Ker, dochter naturall to ane noble erle, 
Robert, Erie of Roxburghe," etc., on the agth of December, 
1635; they are to marry before the ist of June following, 
^'her tocher to be 4000 merks, he to infeft her in lands 
yielding 88 bolls of victual yearly," if they should have 
daughters only ; and in the event of their having male issue, 
he to entail the estate on them. He made up titles as heir 
of his great-grandfather, Lancelot Ker of Gateshaw, and 
resigned his lands into the hands of the superior, Robert, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 295 

Earl of Roxburghe, for new "infeftment" in favour of 
himself and Cicill, his spouse, in liferent, and to the longest 
liver, and to their son Robert, in fee, on which a charter was 
granted on the 21st of May, 1644. J^^^ ^^^ ^^ Gateshaw 
died sometime before 1661, leaving three sons, viz., Robert, 
Andrew, and Henry. Their names appear as mourners at 
the funeral of the Countess of Roxburghe, in 1675. 

Robert Ker, tenth of Gateshaw, was a commissioner of 
supply for Roxburghshire, from 1661 to 1686. 

John Ker, eleventh of Gateshaw, succeeded his father, 
Robert, and sold the estate in December, 1749, to Sir 
William Scott of Ancrum, Bart. Robert Ker, eldest son of 
John, is mentioned in connection with the sale. Sir William 
Scott, after having possessed Gateshaw for about nine years, 
sold it on the loth of October, 1758, to William Ker, town- 
clerk of Kelso, and also chamberlain to his kinsman, John, 
Duke of Roxburghe. He afterwards added to his estate 
by the purchase of Corbet House, with the lands attached, 
from Thomas Moir of Otterbum, in 1765. 

William Ker, the purchaser of Gateshaw, was bom in 
1707, and was a descendant of George Ker of Linton, who 
was related to Sir Walter Ker of Cessford,^ and was retoured 
heir to his father in 1528. Ker of Crookedshaws (heir male 
to Ker of Linton, in the county of Roxburgh) left three 
sons. The eldest, John, an officer in the army, married in 
Ireland and had one son, who became a minister at Forfar, 
and died immarried. The second Andrew Ker, a merchant 
in Kelso, was born in the parish of Linton. He married, in 
1704, Marie Cranstoun, and had issue. William Ker, the 
town -clerk of Kelso, was their eldest surviving son. 

William Ker, first of Gateshaw (of this family), married, 
on June 26th, 1739, Elizabeth, daughter of Gilbert Eliott of 
Stonedge,^ in the parish of Hobkirk and county of Roxburgh. 
He died in 1794, leaving a very large family: — 

> The family of Roxburghe have always acknowledged their connection 
with this branch of the Kers. 
a For Eliott of Stonedge, vide Eliott of Stobs. 



296 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Andrew, born 1744; died 1745. 

Gilbert, who succeeded, born February 7th, 1749 (was 
factor for the Wells estate). 

John, born 1753, died in 1754. . 

Charles, bom November 17th, 1754— of whom presently* 

William, bom 1759, a writer to the signet, died in 181 1. 

Robert, bom 1761 ; lieut.-colonel in the East India Com- 
pany's service; died in India. 

John and Cicily, died young. 

Mary, bora 1746; died unmarried in 181 1. 

Elizabeth, bom 1751 ; married Ellis' Martin, merchant, 
Leith; had four sons and eight daughters. 

Essex, born July 27, 1756; married Capt. John Tumer, 
E.I.C.S., and had two sons and one daughter. 

Gilbert Ker, second of Gateshaw, born 1749; married 
Margaret, daughter of John Hood of Stoneridge, county of 
Berwick, and had the following children: — William, about 
whom I have something to say presently; John, bom in 
1780, a lieutenant in the 19th Foot, who died in the island of 
Ceylon; Gilbert, bora in 1783, a midshipman in H.M. 
ship '* Bellequeuss," died young ; Thomas, born 1784 ; Jane, 
Eliza, and Cecilia, born respectively in the years 1776, 1778, 
and 1779; Margaret, born in 1781, married December 31, 
1808 (as his second wife), Francis Brodie, writer to the 
signet, Edinburgh. There was another daughter, called 
Agnes, who died young. 

SirCbas. Ker SiR Charlbs Ker, third of Gateshaw, M.D., head of the 
o ates aw. jj^yj^ary medical department, bought the estate in 1801 from 

the trustees of his brother Gilbert, who, owing to his large 
family, had got into difficulties. Sir Charles was knighted, 
in 1822, for his distinguished services, by George III. He 
was unanimously admitted a member of the Jedforest Club, in 
1818, having been proposed by Charles Robson of Samieston, 
and seconded by James Elliot, younger of Wooliee. In 
February, 1835, he executed a disposition of his estate in 
favour of his nephew, William, and died, unmarried, on 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 2^ 

September ii, 1837. Miss Ker has a portrait of Sir Charles 
in her house at Momingside, Edinburgh. 

William Ker, fourth of Gateshaw, born on the 24th of WiUiam Ker 
July, 17759 succeeded upon the death of his uncle. He was 
a merchant in Liverpool, and married, on the 21st of October, 

1806, his cousin Jane, third daughter of Ellis Martin. They 
had the following family : — Gilbert (the eldest son), born 

1807, married Isabella, widow of George Gregg and 
daughter of Thomas Pease, Allerton Hall, county of York, 
and died in 1878; Ellis Martin, who succeeded to Gateshaw; 
Elizabeth ; Margaret Cecilia ; Jane Mary Scott, died 3rd of 
September, 1894; Essex, died 1846; Wilhelmina Elliot, 
died young ; and Anna Maria, died 1895 » Georgina Augusta 
Wilkinson, married, first, William Scoresby, D.D., F.R.S. 
(who died in 1857), and, secondly, in 1868, Sir William 
Johnston of Kirkhill, county of Edinburgh, late Lord Provost 
of Edinburgh. Mr Paton of Crailing proposed Mr Ker as a 
member of the Club, and he was admitted in October, 1838. 
Mr Ker died in 1864, leaving the liferent of the estate to his 
widow (who died in 1872), and the fee to his second son, 
Ellis Martin. 

Ellis Martin Ker, fifth of Gateshaw, sold the estate for 
;^36,ooo, in 1873, ^^ ^^^ ^^^^ Christopher Douglas of Chester- 
house, a writer to the signet.^ 

CARRE OF CAVERS-CARRE. 

The family of Ker of Cavers, and West Nisbet, are 
lineally descended from Ralph Ker, brother of Thomas, 
abbot of Kelso.* The lands of Cavers, Pinnaclehill, and 
others, belonging to the family of Cavers Ker, were originally 

1 Among the fiamily portraits in possession of Ellis Martin Ker is one of 
William Ker, town-clerk of Kelso, bom in 1707, the purchaser of Gate- 
shaw. 

> Andrew Ker of Ferniehirst was also a brother of the abbot, whose 
descendants were created Lord Jedburgh, and acquired the lands of 
Hundalee. 



298 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

parts of the abbacy of Kelso, and previous to the Act of 
Annexation of church lands to the Crown, these lands 
appear to have been held under the abbots, commendator, 
and others, who, from time to time, had the management of 
them by the Kers in " kindly tenancy,*' as the holding was 
called. For how long the family had possessed these lands, 
in that way, previous to 1524, is not known; but from a 
writ in the family titles, dated 19th November of that year, 
it appears that the said Thomas, abbot of Kelso, granted a 
tack to the said Ralph Ker, his brother, then in possession, 
and to his wife, Marion Haliburton, and their " bairns,*' of 
the teind sheaves of the above lands. It would appear that 
the said Ralph Ker erected the old house of Cavers, for when 
it was partially demolished, about the year 1777, there were 
taken out of it a number of old stones with coats of arms and 
names of various proprietors carved on them, the oldest of 
which bore the names of Ralph Ker and Marion Haliburton, 
with the date 1532, and showed their armorial bearings. 
These old stones were wisely preserved, and were placed on 
the back walls of the present mansion, built in 1800.^ 

George Ker, the son of Ralph, was succeeded by his son, 
Thomas Ker, to whom and his heirs. King James VI. granted 
a charter under the great seal of the lands of Cavers and 
others, to be holden of the king and his successors. It is 
dated the last day of May, 1603. This Thomas was 
succeeded by his son, George Ker of Cavers, who it would 
appear made up no titles, as his son. Sir Thomas, obtained 
himself served and retoured heir to his grandfather, Thomas 
Ker of Cavers. 

Sir Thomas Ker of Cavers was born in 1593. He married, 
first, Agnes Riddell, eldest daughter of Riddell of that ilk, 
who died in 1635, aged thirty-four years, leaving a son, 
Sir Andrew. Sir Thomas's second wife is not mentioned. 
His third wife was Grissell Halket, second daughter of 



1 Alexander Carre, who owned Cavers, Nisbet, and Hundalee, partly 
rebuilt the house of Cavers in 1800. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 299 

Sir Robert Halket of Pitferine. She died in i682» aged 
eighty-five years, leaving four daughters, viz. : — 

1. Margaret Ker, married Deas of Coldenknows. 

2. Christian Ker, married Scott of Mangerton. 

3. Grissell Ker, married Patrick Home of Polwarth, after- 
wards first Earl of March mont. She died in 1703, leaving 
issue, eighteen children. 

4. Isobel Ker, married Hugh Scott of Galashiels, and 
had issue. 

Sir Thomas died in 1681, aged eighty-eight, as stated in 
the inscription on the tombstone in the family vault erected 
by Sir Thomas, adjoining Bowden church, in 1661. The 
north transept of the church is the property of the Cavers 
family, and the canopied pew is one of the few that are now 
left. The old Norman arch under which the pew is placed 
must have been a portion of the original church. It is lined 
with an oak case, which slightly extends into the church, 
supported by pillars. There is a private entrance, with an 
ante-room, over the aisle, where there are numerous memorials 
of the family. Above the door is the date 1661, and the 
letters S.T.K. and D.G.H. 

Sir Andrew Ker, knight, the only son of Sir Thomas, was 
bom in 1630; he married, in 1652, Margaret, eldest daughter 
of Sir John Wauchope of Niddrie, by whom he had four 
daughters. Lady Ker died in 1661, and Sir Andrew in 1676, 
predeceasing, his £ather by five years. Both were buried at 
Bowden. Agnes, eldest daughter and heiress of Sir Andrew 
Ker» knight, born at Cavers in 1653, married her cousin, 
John Ker, son of Mr John Ker of West Nisbet, in Berwick- 
shire, in 1679. She died in 1688 or '89, at Nisbet, and is buried 
in the family vault there, as is also her husband, who died 
there in 1737. Anna, second daughter, born at Cavers, 1654, 
married Mr Murray of Deuchar. Margaret, third daughter, 
born at Cavers, 1656, married, nth of December, 1690, 
Matthew Sinclair, M.D., of Hermandston ; and Jane Ker, 
the youngest, born at Cavers, 1657, married Sir Gilbert Elliot 



300 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of Minto, one of the senators of the College of Justice in 
Scotland, and had issue. She died young, and is buried at 
Minto. 

Sir Thomas Ker of Cavers had a brother John, who 
acquired the estate of West Nisbet. He married Jean, 
daughter of Sir James Ker of Crailing, afterwards Lord 
Jedburgh. Sir Thomas had another brother, Robert Ker, 
who acquired the lands of Middlemas Walls, and married 
Isobel, daughter of Andrew Riddel of that ilk ; theiy both had 
issue. Sir John Ker, mentioned above, who married his 
cousin, Agnes Ker, had by her three sons, viz. : — Robert, 
John, and James, who assumed the name of ** Carre," from 
their connexion with Lord Jedburgh, who had adopted that 
in place of the original family name of Ker. After the death 
of Agnes Ker, the mother of these sons, her husband, John 
Ker of Cavers^ and Nisbet, married Miss Home, daughter 
of Lord Kimmerghame, by whom He had several children. 
The eldest of this marriage was George Carre, advocate, 
afterwards one of the Lords of Session, taking the title of 
Lord Nisbet,* on whom his father settled the estate of Nisbet. 
On the death of John Ker, in 1737, he was succeeded in his 
estate of Cavers and others by Thomas Carre, his grandson,, 
the only son of his eldest son, Robert Carre, by Agn^ Ker, 
his first wife. Robert was married in 1718, to Miss Miln 
•(daughter of Mr Miln of St Boswells, afterwards of 
Noranside), who died, 171 9* leaving no children; and in 1720 
lie married Helen, daughter of Sir Walter Riddell of that ilk, 
Bart., by whom he had three children,* Thomas, Agnes, and 
Margaret. Thomas Carre of Cavers, having made up titles 

■ 

■ I ■ I ■ ■ ■ I 

1 1684. Of this date, John Carre of Cavers and Nisbet made up titles 
l)y obtaining himself served heir of entail to his uncle, Sir Thomas Ker. 
taking, as appointed by the entail, the name and title of Carre of Cavers, 
and bearing the arms of that family. 

s There is a portrait of Lord Nisbet at Nisbet House. Berwickshire. 

• Bowden Parish Register.— Robert Carr of Cavers and Helenor Riddell, 
ills lady, had a child baptized before a meeting of people, and called 
Thomas, February 2nd, 1724. Do., do., do., a child called Agnes, May 
:25th, 1725. Do., do., do., a child called Margaret, 1726. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 301 

to his grandfather as heir of entail to the estate (1738), went 
abroad for his health with his travelling tutor, Dr George 
Stuart, afterwards professor of humanity in the college of 
Edinburgh, and died at Naples, in July, 1740, aged seventeen 
years. Agnes, his sister, was married to John Hume of 
Ninewells, elder brother of David Hume, the celebrated 
philosopher and historian, by whom she had three sons — 
Joseph, who became proprietor of the estate of Ninewells ; 
David, bred a lawyer, who was sheriff of Berwickshire 
and afterwards of Linlithgowshire, professor of Scots law in 
the college of Edinburgh, and one of the barons of 
exchequer in Scotland ; John, a writer to the signet ; and 
two daughters. 

On the death of the said Thomas Carre of Cavers, Mr 
John Carre, advocate, the second son of John Ker of Cavers 
and Nisbet, succeeded as next heir of entail to the estate of 
Cavers, in 1742. Before his succession to the estate, Mr John 
Carre married Elizabeth Monteith, the heiress of Fox Hall, 
by whom he had three sons — John, who succeeded him; 
Robert, a captain in the Royal Navy ; and Stair Campbell 
Carre,^ a captain in the army; and one daughter, Agnes 
Carre, all of whom died unmarried. Previous to Mr John 
Carre's succession, he and his family resided at Fox Hall, 
"but after that event they removed to Cavers, and Fox Hall 
UTas sold. Agnes died at Broughton, near Edinburgh, in 
1778 ; and Captain Robert Carre of H.M. Navy, died in 
October, 1778, at his house in Hanover Street, Edinburgh. 
Mr John Carre of Cavers died in 1746, and was succeeded by 
his eldest son, John. John Carre of Cavers married, before 
1730,' Jean Reid, by whom he had two sons and two 
daughters — ^John, who succeeded him, a captain in the army ; 
and Alexander, for several years in the East India Company's 

^ Stair Campbell Carte joined the 60th or Royal American Regiment of 
Foot, as ensign, on the 7th of January, 1756. 

> Extract from Register. — *' John Carre of Cavers and Jean Reid, his 
lady, had a child bom, February 12th, 1730, and baptized same day before 
A meeting at Cavers, and called Janet. 



302 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

naval service. Of the daughters, Janet died young, and 
Elizabeth married William Riddell of Camiestown. John 
Carre of Cavers and Hundalee, having made up titles, took 
possession of both properties, and resided at Cavers. Jean 
Reid, his first wife, died in 1757 or 1758, and in the year 
1763 he married Jane Riddell, daughter of Sir Walter 
Riddell, fourth baronet of Riddell, but had no children by 
her. He died in 1766, and was succeeded by Captain John 
Carre, his son. His widow, sister of Sir John Riddell of 
Riddell, died in Edinburgh, in 1806. Captain Carre, soon 
after his succession, retired from the army, and lived 
alternately at Cavers and Hundalee. He was a gentleman 
of most accomplished manners, an intimate friend and 
favourite of John, Duke of Roxburghe, and a constant 
supporter of that nobleman's constitutional measures. In 
1777, he caused the ancient house of Cavers, as already 
stated, to be partly taken down, with a view of erecting a 
more convenient residence, but, having by that time made 
considerable additions to the house at Hundalee, he resided 
mostly there, and in Edinburgh. Hundalee being in the 
immediate vicinity of the royal burgh of Jedburgh, Mr 
Carre, although rather of a retiring disposition, todc a g^eat 
lead in the politics of that and other burghs. He was 
repeatedly chosen Provost of Jedburgh, and at one time had 
a complete controlling influence in the neighbouring burghs, 
and even in Lauder, against the Earl of Lauderdale. He 
died at Hundalee on Friday the 28th September, 1798, 
unmarried, and was succeeded in the lands of Cavers and 
Hundalee by his only brother, Alexander Carre, who, on 
account of bad health, had retired from the East India 
Company's service, and lived for several years with him 
at Hundalee, and afterwards in what remained of the old 
house at Cavers, till the new one was erected. Alexander 
Carre of Cavers married, at Edinburgh, on Thursday the 
3rd January, 1800, Ann, eldest daughter of Robert Boswell, 
writer to the signet, son of Dr Boswell, physician in 
Edinburgh, a younger brother of that upright and learned 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 303 

judge, Alexander Boswell of Auchenleck, Ayrshire, &ther 
of James Boswell, the biographer of Dr Samuer Johnson. 
Immediately after his marriage with Miss Boswell, Mr Carre 
built the new part of Cavers House, and chose it as his 
residence in preference to Hundalee. Alexander Carre died 
at Edinburgh on the 20th May, 1817, leaving no issue. The 
Hundalee estate went to the Marquess of Lothian, as nearest 
heir male by Lord Jedburgh. Cavers, by the destination of 
the entail, would have passed to Lord Sinclair, the heir male 
by Margaret Ker, the second daughter of Sir Andrew Ker, 
but on the opinion of President Blair, then Lord Advocate, 
that Mr Carre had power to leave the estate of Cavers to 
whom he wished, he settled it on Elizabeth Carre, his sister, 
wife of WUliam Riddell of Camiestown. 

In the year 1801 Mr Carre got into financial difficulties 
and sold Bedrule, which had been acquired by the family 
from the Turnbulls, partly in 1528 and wholly in 1623. The 
upset price was ;^i9,24o, or 25 years* purchase.^ At the 
same time another estate belonging to the Carres was ex- 
posed for sale, viz., Belches, in the parish of Ancrum, the 
upset price being ;^8563 — 27 years* purchase on a rental of 

The third son of William Riddell of Camiestown, Capt. 
Robert Riddell, R.N., succeeded, and took the name 
and arms of Carre, as stipulated in Alexander Carre's 
settlement. This officer entered the navy in 1796 as mid- 
shipman on board the ''Albatross," where he assisted in 
capturing a couple of French privateers. He was present 
at the surrender of the Dutch Rear-Admiral Storey's fleet 
in the ''Texel," 1799, and at the battle of Copenhagen in 
1801. He was also at the battle of Algiers, August 27th» 
i8i6. When her Majesty issued the naval war medal in 
1849, Admiral Riddell Carre received one with two clasps 
— Copenhagen and Algiers. He died unmarried in i860. 
His elder brother, John Riddell, went into the Madras Civil 



^ Bedrule was purchased by Mr Elliot of Wells. 

x 



304 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



in 17979 and became a imter in 1799. In 1813, 
alter filling various appointinents» he became collector of 
Seringapatam. His bist appointment was magistrate of the 
Zillah of Madura. He died on his passage to England, 
February yth^ 18159 on board the ship *' Europe.*'^ 

The estate of Cavers' now devolved on the admiral's 
nephew, Walter Riddell, second son of Thomas Riddell of 
Camieston, by Jane Ferrier. He assumed the name of 
Carre. 

Walter Riddell Carr« of Cavers Carre, county of Rox- 
burgh, bom in 1807 ; married, first, 1830, Elizabeth Riddell, 
daughter of Lieut.-CoL' Lachlan MacLachlan, zoth Regi- 
ment. This officer served in the 73rd Foot at the siege of 
Gibraltar, tmder General Eliott. He was promoted to the 
rank of major for his services at the siege, in 1783, and 
afterwards obtained his lieut.-colonelcy in the loth. Mr 
Riddell-Carre, after his succession to Cavers, compiled a 
great deal of interesting genealogical notes and anecdotes 
about Roxburghshire families, which after his death were 
put into book form and edited by James Tait of the Kelso 
Chronicle, and the volume, " Border Memories," is now very 
scarce. Mr Riddell-Carre married, secondly, September, 
1871, Mary, third daughter of William Currie of Linthill. 
He died in 1874, ^^^ ^^^ buried at Bowden. His wife 
survived him a few years, and died suddenly at Cheltenham. 

Col. T. A. Thomas Alexander Riddell-Carre, now of Cavers, late 

o/cltiS*^'* colonel 4th battalion Royal Scots FusUeers, was bom 
Carre. September 6th, 1831. For some years he was in the 

Honourable East India Company's service, and retired with 
a pension in i86o. He is a justice of the peace; he repre- 
sents in the county council the parish of Lilliesleaf, and is 

1 Vide Prinsep's List of Madras civilians. 

9 Newhail and Bewliehill, two farms which were included in the Cavers 
estate had been sold some years before. 

• Lient.-Col. Lachlan M*Lachlan, late of the loth Foot, died in Fitzroy 
Square, London, in 1806, aged 44. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 305 

also chairman of the paiii^ council of Bowden. Colonel 
Riddell-Carre iarms a large ^portion of his estate, and is 
thoroughly conversant with agricultural pursuits. He mar- 
ried, in August, 1865, Elizabeth, daughter of Alfred T. 
Fellows of Beeston Fields, near Nottingham, and has a son, 
Ralph, born in 1868. He had two daughters, but the 
youngest, Grizel, only survives. Olive, the eldest, died in 
1896, much regretted. Colonel RiddelUCarre has been a 
member of the Club since 1874. ^® ^^^ proposed by Capt. 
Cleghom of Weens and seconded by Sir Walter Elliot of 
Wolflee. There are several good portraits at Cavers — Sir 
Andrew Ker, by Sir Godfrey Kneller; Thomas Ker, by 
Cornelius Jansen ; Colonel M*Lachlan, attributed to Gains- 
borough ; George Ker, Lord Nisbet, by Miller; and Alexander 
Carre, by Sir Henry Raeburn, &c. 

SETON-KARR OF KIPPILAW. 

It is established by charters and other important papers 
at Kippilaw, that King David Bruce, in the fourteenth year 
of his reign, that is in 1343, granted to the abbot and 
monks of Kelso, the enjoyment and possession of the village 
•of Kelso, with its lands and pertinents, including the village 
of Bowden and other lands adjacent. 

It seems also clear that it was usual, in those times, for 
the abbots of such places, to commit the exercise of their 
jurisdiction, as justiciars, bailies, or sheriffs, included in 
the grants of land, to some family of position in the 
neighbourhood. 

In this way, the Kers of Cessford, now represented by the 
Dukes of Roxburghe, discharged the above duties, and were 
considered protectors of the religious house at Kelso, and 
of its rights and privileges. 

Then came the Scottish reformation, and it appears that 
in 1565, in the month of November, the abbot of Kelso, 
with the assent of his chapter regularly assembled, did 
grant to Mark and Thomas Karr of Yair, in consideration of 
their services, seisin of the lands of Kippilaw, within the 



3o6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

. barony o£ Bowden and the regality of Kelso, to be held by 
them as feu and heritage for ever, on payment of a yearly 
sum of money, and by the performance of certain services 

. to the abbey. 

Some ten years after — ^in July, 1575 — King James VI. 
granted a charter under the great seal, confirming the above 
charter given by the abbot of Kelso, and infefting Mark and 
Thomas Karr with the lands of Kippilaw. Afterwards, near 

. the close of his reign (1621), the same monarch granted to 
his *' well-beloved cousin, the Earl of Roxburgh and Lord of 
Cessford," another charter, making him the superior over 
lands for the infefting of Thomas Karr of Kippilaw, the 
grandson of Mark. 

In the year 1587, the abbacies in Scotland and their 
regalities had been all abolished and annexed to the Crown, 
with the reservation of the rights of the heritable bailies. 
In the case of Kelso, these offices, originally granted, as 
shown above, by the abbots to Ker of Cessford, were con- 
tinued by the Crown to the same lord. 

The estate remained in this condition until after the 
middle of the seventeenth century, when Colonel Andrew 
Ker or Karr purchased it from the Karrs of Yair. Colonel 
Andrew Karr was of the same family, being the grandson of 
Andrew Karr of Yair, who married Margaret Ker, eldest 
daughter of Andrew Ker of Faldonside, commonly called 
'* Little Ker of Faldonside." In the Kippilaw papers, it i& 
recorded of this couple that they lived together for sixty- 
three years as man and wife — sixty years at Yair, and 
three at Sunderland Hall, Selkirkshire. This Andrew Karr 
had six sons and four daughters. The second son of this 
marriage was Thomas Karr of Melrose, who married Mar^ 
garet Knox, daughter of Mr Knox, minister of the gospel 
at Melrose, and was the father of Andrew Karr, who, as 
already observed, became, by purchase, the owner of Kippi- 
law. He was a soldier, and eventually was appointed 
governor of Home Castle. A portrait of him in armour 
is still in good preservation at Kippilaw. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 307 

Colonel Andrew Karr was born in 1620, and married, 
first, Margaret Maxwell^ daughter of Sir James Maxwell of 
Calderwood and of Lady Margaret Cunninghame, daughter 
of the seventh Earl of Glencairn. She dying in February, 
1673, ^^ married a second wife, Elizabeth Thomson, and by 
her had three daughters. Colonel Andrew Karr died in 
February, 1697, ^S^ 77 years. 

By his first marriage he had a son, born July, 1659, also 
christened Andrew ; he married Jean Stirling, and had two 
sons : the youngest, John, who succeeded his father, died in 
1746; the elder son, Robert, died in the lifetime of his 
father, without issue. 

The entail created by John Karr in 1746 has regulated the 
succession to the estate for more than a century. 

John Karr (who entailed the estate) died, as shown above, 
unmarried. He had two sisters — Margaret, who died 
unmarried, about 1752; and Katherine, who married Gilbert 
Ramsay of Kelso : the issue of the marriage was three sons 
and six daughters. 

Failing male issue in the direct line of Karr, two of the 
sons — David Ramsay Karr (who for many years was sur< 
geon to the dockyard at Portsmouth, and died on the 27th 
December, 1794, at his brother's house in the county of 
Surrey) and Andrew Ramsay Karr became in succession 
owners of Kippilaw. 

Andrew held important offices in the presidency of 
Bombay, and was ultimately governor of that settlement; 
he died, unmarried, at Hatchford, in the county of Surrey, 
1799* A tablet to his memory by Nollekens is over the 
south door of the church of Cobham, Surrey. There is a 
picture of him in a red coat at Kippilaw. 

The eldest daughter, Jean Ramsay, married Daniel Seton 
of Powderhall, in Edinburgh. They had two sons, John 
and Daniel. The latter went to Bombay, and became 
eventually lieut«*govemor of Surat ; he effected the transfer 
of that important city from the Nawab to the East India 
Company. He died,, in 1803, at Surat, where his tomb is 



3o8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Still honoured by the natives. John succeeded his uncle^ 
Andrew Ramsay Karr, at Kippilawi taking the name of Karr 
in addition to his own name of Seton. During John Seton- 
Karr*s possession of Kippilaw — between 1799 and 181 5 — 
much was done to the property ; the house especially being 
considerably improved and enlarged. The approach to the 
mansion up to the beginning of the century was through 
the lands of Clarilawr Fifty years ago, the avenue of trees 
leading to the house was clearly traceable. The south side 
of the old house was very substantial ; the walls were said 
to be bomb-proof. 

Andrew Seton-Karr, who succeeded to the estate c^ 
Kippilaw on the death, in 1815, of his uncle, John Setbn- 
Karr, was the eldest son of Daniel Seton, lieut.-govemor 
of Surat, and was in the Bengal civil service for twenty 
years, from 1791 to 181 1. His younger brother, Daniel 
Seton, was also in the same service, but was lost in the 
<< Skelton Castle " East Indiaman, which is supposed to have 
foundered, with all hands, in 1805. Andrew Seton-Karr 
had held several offices of trust and responsibility, at a time 
when the East India Company had a inonopoly of the most 
important branches of the inland trade of the country. . He 
had been commercial resident, as it was termed, at Haripal, 
and at Maldah. 

He had three sons by his marriage with Alicia Rawlinson, 
in 1812 — ^John, George Berkeley, and Walter Scott. He 
assumed for himself and for bia issue the name of Karr, in 
addition to his own surname of Seton, by the king's sign- 
manual in 1815. 

The eldest son, John Seton-Karr, succeeded his father at 
Kippilaw, in 1833, and died without male issue, in. i86if. 
He was vicar of Berkeley, Gloucestershire. 

The second son, George Berkeley Seton - Karr, was 
educated at Haileybury, and entered the Bombay civil 
service in 1837. He acted as resident <d Baroda dur- 
ing Colonel (afterwards Sir James) Outram's absence ia 
England. At the time of the mutiny, Mr Seton-Karr was 



ANNAI.S OF A BORDER CLUB. 3091 

collector of Belgaum and political agent in the Southem 
Mahratta country, in charge of, and surrounded by, chiefs 
discontented and excited by the events in other parts of 
India. During that period of danger and anxiety, be 
displayed a rare combination of tact and decision, which, 
under Providence, saved the Southern Mahratta country 
from the horrors of an insurrection. He received the 
highest testimonials from the governments of Lord Elphin- 
ston and Sir George Clark, and the King of Portugal 
conferred upon him the order of the *' Tower and Sword,'^ . 
on account of the services he had rendered on the Portu- 
guese frontier. Mr George B. Seton-Karr died in England 
in 1862. 

Walter Scott Seton-Karr, youngest son of Andrew Seton- 
Karr, was a distinguished member of the Bengal civil 
service, which he entered in 1842. Dinring his service in 
India, he filled some of the best appointments, such as — 
secretary to the Government of Bengal, puisne judge of the 
High Court of Justice of Bengal, foreign secretary in the 
last year of the administration of Lord Lawrence and the 
first year of Lord Mayo. He was also vice-chancellor of 
the Calcutta University, in succession to the late Sir Henry 
Maine, and he held other offices of equal importance. 

George Berkeley Seton-Karr, above referred to, married, 
in 1847, Eleanor, second daughter of H. Usborne of 
Branches Park, Su£folk, and by her had five children — 
three sons and two daughters. He predeceased hie brother, 
John Seton-Karr, vicar of Berkeley, in 1862, shortly after 
his return to England, haviqg .never recovered from the 
strain of his arduous work in India during the mutiny. 

On the death of John SetourKarr, in 1884, his nephew, Henry Seton- 
Hbnry Sbton-Kajkr, MJ'., succeeded to Kippilaw. He ofKippiiaw. 
was born in 1853, and was educated at Harrow, and Corpus 
Christi , College,. Oxford, taking a second-class honours 
degree in law in 1876 at that university. He was called 
to the bar at Lincoln's Inn, in 1879, and joined die Northern 



3IO ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

circuity where he practised for two or three years. In 1885, 
being connected with south-west Lancashire by relationship 
and early associations^ as well as by marriage^ he accepted 
an invitation to contest the new parliamentary borough of 
St Helens as a conservative. After a severe contest against 
a wealthy and popular local manufacturer. Colonel D, 
Gamble^ Henry Seton-Karr won the seat of St Helens by 
the narrow majority of 57 votes. This seat he has continued 
to hold up to the present date,. defeating another local man, 
Mr A. Sinclair, in 1886, by 217 votes; Mr W. R» Kennedy, 
Q.Ck (since made a judge of the High Court), in 1892, by 59 
votes ; and Mr J. Forster, another local man, in 1895, by 
617 votes. Mr Seton-Karr became a member of the Club 
in 1890 ; he is a deputy -lieutenant and J. P. for the county 
of Roxburgh. He has been twice married — first, in i880| 
to Edith, second daughter of W. Pilkington, J.P., D.L., of 
Roby Hall, Liverpool, by whom he had two sons and one 
daughter, and who died in 1884; secondly, in 1886, to Jane 
Jar vie, eldest daughter of W. Thorburn of Edinburgh, by 
whom he has one son and one daughter. It was the fate 
of Kippilaw to be let for a period of about forty years, prior 
to 1886. The former owner, John Seton-Karr, resided at 
Strachur, on Loch Fyne, during the later years of his life, 
where he could indulge in his favourite pastime of yachting. 
In 1 886, the present owner practically rebuilt Kippilaw 
House, transforming it from an antiquated residence of the 
sixteenth century into a modem nineteenth century country 
mansion. A remarkably fine collection of sporting trophies, 
all shot by Mr Seton-Karr, are now to be seen in the hall 
and billiard-room at Kippilaw. These trophies include a 
good collection of Scotch and Norwegian red-deer heads, 
and also some very fine specimens of the big game of North 
America, including heads and skins of wapiti deer, ovis 
nunUana^ buffalo, black-tail deer, antelope, and grizzly bear, 
obtained in a series of sporting expeditions into Northern 
Wyoming, in the Rocky Mountains, between the years 1876 
And 1894. Inuring his American travels, Mr Seton-Karr has 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 311 

« 

visited Canada, and also explored a portion of the west coast 
of the island of Vancouver, British Columbia. 

SCOTT-KERR OF CHATTO. 

I. Kerr of Chatto, now Scott -Kerr, is descended from 
James, third son of Ker of Greenhead, who purchased the 
lands of Over Chatto from Alexander Lord Home, in 1595, 
and also the lands of Coatlands, in Heiton, from John 
Ainslie, in i6oo. He acquired likewise *'the lands of 
Synlaws with 'Myln and Myln lands thereof, in 1614;" from 
William Rutherfoord, who is said to have been the father of 
the Earl of Teviot, killed at Tangiers, where he was sent as 
governor by King Charles H. James Kerr also acquired 
through a ''wadsett'* from John Rutherfurd, elder, and 
Thomas Rutherfurd, younger, of Hunthill, the lands of 
Hangingshawi Gartshawfield, and Penn3miuir, " laying con- 
tiguous to Chatto." He married Christian, sister of Sir 
John Stuart, afterwards Earl of Traquair, and died in 1615, 
being succeeded by his eldest son. 

n. James Kerr, second of Chatto and Sunlaws. He had 
one brother, Andrew, and two sisters. James married Joan 
Murray, a daughter of Murray of Philiphaugh, and died in 
1 63 1, leaving a son, John, and three daughters. He was 
very extravagant, and left his estates heavily encumbered. 

HI. John Kerr, third of Chatto and Sunlaws, married 
Christian, his cousin, the youngest daughter of his uncle 
Andrew, by whom he had issue. Henry/ who married 
Miss Wauchope of Edmonstone, by whom he had one son, 
the last Kerr of Frogden. John found his father's debts too 
great a burden, and he was prevailed upon by his great- 
uncle, the Earl of Traquair, who was one of the creditors, 
to sell him the estates. The Earl then purchased all his 
debts, which amounted to upwards of ;^30,ooo. The deed of 
purchase is dated June 4, 1632. This nobleman presented a 

1 Henry Kerr had also several daughters, one of whom, Barbara, married 
£>r Scott, whose son, William, became Scott-Kerr of Chatto. 



312 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

singular instance of the mutability of fortune, for, from beiagr 
very rich, he sank down into the lowest drcumstances of 
poverty. Andrew Kerr, uncle to John, advancing in fortune 
and reputation as his uncle, the Earl ef Traquair, declined^ 
first purchased from him the lands of Chatto, Hangingshaw, 
Gaitshawiield, and Pennymuir, and obtained from him a 
disposition, with consent of Joan Murray, widow of his 
brother James, dated June. 31st) 1637. Eventually he bought 
from the Traquair trustees the lands of '^Synlaws" and 
Coatlands in IJeiton, to which purchase he obtained the 
consent of Lord Lintown, the earl's eldest son, dated June 
5th, 1647. Andrew Kerr also purchased chambers in 
Edinburgh, as an estate office for the transaction of his 
affairs. 

IV. Andrew Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws, son of the first 
and uncle of the last, married Elizabeth, daug^hter of James 
Wright of Gladswood, and died in 1661. He was successful 
in all his affairs, and was most attentive to business. He 
rescued the estate^ which had passed away from the family, 
and added several " new conquests,'* all of which he settled 
on his nephew John, ffdling his only son, William, a weakly 
boy. Andrew Kerr " fell in with the tymes of Cromwell's 
usurpation,, and acted both as sheriff and commissary depute, 
under Howard, Earl of Carlisle, in the shire of Roxburgh, 
when tho3e courts, after a long recess, being again by him 
opened, were resorted to, much to his advantage." He left 
issue, two daughters, Joan and Christian, who both married 
— the latter to her cousin, John Kerr of Chatto — and a son, 
William. 

V. William Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws was bom in 1653, 
and married, in 1673, Christian, eldest daughter of Sir 
William Scott pf Harden, by whom he had seven children, 
viz.: — Williani, who died in 1705; John,\ designed the 

Extracts from MS. family history. 

1 John married Margaret, who was bom in 1680, a daughter of Gilbert^ 
brother of Sir William Kerr of Greenhead, and had -issuOp a son Gilbert* 
^bom 1 71 1. This John was disinherited, but was granted an annuity. 



ANNALS QF,A BORDER CLUB. 3^5 

younger of Chatto.; Elizabeth, born September 1 6th, 1683; 
Christian, who succeeded ; Robert,^ bom in 1687, ^^ ^^ 
in Maryland, whither he had been transported for being 
concerned in the rebellion of 171 5; Margaret, bom in 1689, 
and Joan in 1690. William Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws 
married, secondly, Grizzel Porteous. He had no children by 
her, and died in 1721, and was succeeded by his daughter. 
Christian, commonly called Lady Chatto. 

William, who as a lad was so delicate, and his life so 
precarious that his father never thought he would succeed, 
was sent early to travel for his health, under the care of a 
Dr Shaw. They visited France and Italy ; on their return 
home, William married before he was twenty-one years of 
age. He lived with his father-in-law for some time, but 
when his family began to increase, he bought a house called 
the "Lodging," in Kelso, built by William, Eari of 
Roxburghe, from Henry Ker, son of Earl William, with 
consent of Earl Robert, his eldest brother. He then removed 
with his family to Kelso, where he . remained until the 
revolution:— <* when being disturbed by the troubles of the 
tymes,'* he again changed his quarters, and went to reside 
in Durham, leaving his two elder boys at school, imder the 
care of a governor, at Musselburgh. From Durham he 
removed to York, and from York to London, where his wife 
died, and was buried in '^King Henry ye VHL Chappell" 
in Westminster. He retumed to Scotland in 1700, and took 
up his abode in Kelso, while the house at Sunlaws was being 
prepared for his reception. He now settled down in the 
family mansion and married again — "marrying with Mrs 
Grizzel Porteotts, who, from the attachment she had to his 
family and person, he thought fit to prefer her to a stranger." 
WiUiam Kerr got so entangled in litigation^ that his estate 
of Ormiston had to be sold. It was purchased by William 
Elliot of Wells, for whom Sir Gilbert Eliott of Stobs, his 
son-in-law, acted as tmstee. In 1720, the house of Sunlaws 

■ • — • • • ■ — r — 1 -m ^^^^^ ■■ ■ ■ I II T I ^ -I - - - — — 

^ Robert was taken prisoner at Preston. From MS. family history. 



3X4 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

was discovered one night to be in flames^ and Mr Kerr had 
a narrow escape for his Ufe. After this he returned to live 
at his house in Kelso, and died there on the 2ist of January, 
1721, in the sixty-eighth year of his age. To his second 
wife, who only survived him a year and a few months, he 
left an annuity of 1200 merks. The only two survivors of 
his family were John and Christian. 

VI. Christian Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws, commonly 
called Lady Chatto, succeeded her father. She was a lady of 
firm resolution, and was not discouraged by the difficulties 
which surrounded her. She first settled affairs with her 
disinherited brother, and gave him a sum of money besides 
his annuity. Soon after her succession, her troubles began — 
vide the following letter from the Duke of Roxburghe, who 
refers to her difficulties : — 

V^HITBHALL, November 24, 1722. 

Sir, — I have had yours of the zyth, and you are sure shall be glad to do 
Chatto all the service I can, but I have not yet seen Mr Cumming, and so 
cannot say anything as to the merits of the cause, but hope that neither 
you nor any of your family will doubt of my good wishes. 

I am, your most humble servant. 

To Sir William Ker Roxburghe, 

Lady Chatto added considerably to the mansion-house of 
Sunlaws, and built an entirely new house at Chatto. She 
married her cousin, Charles Kerr, but left no qhildren. 
Lady Chatto entailed the estates of Chatto and Sunlaws 
(entail dated May 17th, 1759) on William Scott, junior, 
merchant in Edinburgh, eldest son of the deceased Dr 
Alexander Scott of Thirlestain and Barbara, daughter of 
Henry Kerr of Frogden. 

William Scott of Thirlestain assumed by royal licence 
the name and arms of Kerr on the decease of Lady Chatto, 
and became, therefore, William Scott-Kerr of Thirlestain, 
Chatto, and Sunlaws. 

1. The family of Scott of Thirlestain is descended from 
James Scott, brother of Sir William Scott of Harden, who 

Extracts from MS. family history. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 315 

purchased Thirlestaio, HeitoQ Mains and Mill from Sir 
Andrew Ker of Greenhead, in 1661, He married Agnes 
Riddell on the 17th of March, 1659, and had issue — Mary, 
born 1660, and married Gideon Scott of Falnash ; William, 
who succeeded, bom February 17th, 1663 ; Walter, John, 
and Gideon, and two sisters, who died unmarried. 

II. William Scott of Thirlestain, married, in 1684, Christ- 
ian Don, and had thirteen children. The first four died young. 
Agnes, who came fifth, born in 1690, married Walter Scott 
of Harden {vide Polwarth) ; Alexander, born 1691, a doctor 
of medicine, succeeded ; Walter, born 1692, a wine merchant 
at Leith — of whom presently. 

The remaining six died unmarried. 

III. Alexander Scott of Thirlestain, doctor of medicine, 
third surviving son of the above William Scott, married 
Barbara, daughter of Henry Kerr of Frogden, who was a 
first cousin of Lady Chatto. Dr Scott died in 1743, and 
his wife in 1781. They had eleven children — Barbara, 
bom 1730, died 1776; William, born 1731, a merchant in 
Edinburgh, who succeeded to Chatto and Sunlaws; Christ- 
ian, born 1732, married Leith of Freefield. The rest of 
the family were named — ^John, Anne, James, Rebecca, 
Agnes, Charles, Walter, and Madeline, the youngest 
daughter, bom in 1739. This last-named lady was a well- 
known member of the family, and lived to a good old age. 
She resided in the south side of George Square, and was 
called by her friends ''Aunt Maddy.** On her door plate 
she designed herself as '' Miss Scott of Thirlestain." 

Walter Scott, wine merchant, was twice married — first, to 
Martha, daughter of Cunningham of Balbougie, and by her 
had a son, Thomas ; by his second marriage, a son, Walter, 
and a daughter, Euphemia, who survived him. He died in 

1765- 
Thomas, bom in 1722, became minister of Cavers, and 

afterwards of South Leith. He married Helen Balfour, 

Pilrig, and died 1790. Their eldest son was also educated 

for the church, and became the Rev. Thomas Scott, minister 



316 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of Newton, near Edinburgh. He was bom 1764, and died 
1825, having married Mary, daughter of Ellis Martin, by 
Elizabeth, daughter of Gilbert Ker of Gateshaw, Roxburgh- 
shire. Their eldest son was Thomas Scott, C.A., Edinburgh, 
born 1799, who married, in 1829, Jane Walker, daughter of 
Francis Brodie, writer to the signet. Captain Walter Scott, 
younger brother of Thomas Scott, when he went to India, 
in 1822, as a cadet, took letters of introduction from Sir 
Walter Scott, in which he describes him as his cousin. 
Mr Thomas Scott died in 1883, and left issue, among others, 
Thomas Scott, C.A., bom in 183 1, and unmarried, who now 
represents this, a yoimger branch, of the old family of Scott 
of Thirlestain. 

William Scott-Kerr of Thirlestain, Chatto, and Sunlaws, 
married, in 1762, Elizabeth Graeme of Balgowan, and died 
May 4th, 1782, having had the following children : — 

Elizabeth, born in- 1763, married Dr James Chichester 
Maclaurin ; she survived him, and died at Brighton on the 
1 8th of December, 1845. 

Barbara Christian, born 1766, died unmarried in 1845. 

Janet Murray, married Sir Peter Thriepland, Bart. 

Alexander, who succeeded to the family estates. 

Robert, who succeeded his brother. 

Charlotte, who lived with her sister Barbara in No. 13 
Stafford Street, Edinburgh. These ladies were well known 
in Edinburgh society during the first half of this century. 
Their entertainments and dancing parties were most popular. 

Stuart, died in Edinburgh in 1797. 

Rebecca Agnes, " Nancy Rebecca ** as she was called, died 
April 7th, 1796, also in Edinburgh. 

Mr Scott-Kerr sold the estate of Thirlestain, some time 
before he died. 

Alexander Scott- Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws succeeded 
his 6ither on the 4th of May 1782. He was a lieutenant in 
the 62nd Regiment of Foot, and died, unmarried, at 
Philadelphia, in 1790. 

Robert Scott- Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws, on his brother's 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 317 

•death in 1790, succeeded to the estates. He married, on the 
17th of December, 1806, Elizabeth Bell, daughter of David 
Fyffe of Drumgeith, county of Forfar, and died on the 5th 
of December 1831, leaving an only surviving son, William.^ 

William Scott-Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws, J.P., D.L., 
was born in 1807. He first married, on the 19th December, 
1837, Hannah Charlotte, only child and heiress of Henry 
Scott of Horsleyhill and Belford, and widow of Sir John 
James Douglas, Bart., of Springwood Park, and had one 
child, Elizabeth Mary Charlotte, who married Sir James H. 
Ramsay of Banff. Mr Scott-Kerr married for the second 
time on the loth of January, 1855, Frances Louisa, daughter 
of Robert Fennessy. She died in 1884, ^"^ ^^ ^" 1890, 
having had the following children : — 

Robert Scott- Kerr of Chatto and Sunlaws, succeeded Major Robert 
on his father's death. He is a major in the Grenadier cS^tto ^" ° 
Guards, and married Margaret, daughter of W. Walters. Grenadier 
Major Scott-Kerr became a member of the Jedforest Club 
in 1894. 

William Murray Thriepland, who succeeded to Fingask, 
Perthshire, and Toftingall, Caithness, on the death of Sir 
Patrick Murray Thriepland, Bart., his father's cousin. He 
was born on December 21st, 1866; is a lieutenant in the 
Grenadier Guards, and served with his battalion at the 
battle of Omdurman under the Sirdar. 

Francis Louis, born 14th June, 1868. He is in the 
Cameron Highlanders, and married Sybil, daughter of 
Horace Cockerell, C.S.I., and has issue — William Francis, 
bom 17th September, 1896. 

Francis Edith and Mary EUzabeth, are unmarried. 

Jessie Louisa, married, 1882, James Himter of Antons 

Hill. 
Christian Alice, married, 1883, J. W. Fraser-Tytler of 

Woodhouselee. 

> Died at Sunlaws, 26th November, 1819, James, youngest son of Robert 
Scott-Kerr of Chatto. — Edinburgh Advirtiser, 



3i8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Susan, married, 1889, D. Robertson of Penyghael, Mull, 
and died in 1890. 

Hyacinthe, married, 1891, Lord Howard of Glossop. 

Sunlaws House was totally destroyed by fire in January 
1885. The late Mr Scott-Kerr had done much to improve 
the house, and had also built additions to it ; it was hand- 
somely furnished, partly from the sale at the Malmaison 
Palace. Among the curiosities destroyed was the bedstead 
on which Napoleon slept before leaving France for ever, 
and the curtains of the bed he died in at St Helena — these 
last being sent to Mr Scott-Kerr by the governor of that 
island. There is a fine portrait at Sunlaws of the first 
Lord Ancram. The glass boot, or stirrup-cup, an heirloom 
of the Thirlestain family, was missing after the fire. This 
relic was highly prized, and naturally its loss was much 
regretted. For many years it was in the possession of 
Miss Madaline Scott, George Square, Edinburgh, when it 
attracted the attention of Sir Walter Scott, who mentions 
it in a footnote to "Waverley." 

KERR. 
Charles Kerr, Charles Kerr, of Devonshire Place, London, was a 
Cottage. tenant of Hundalee Cottage. He was a son of Captain 

Alexander Carre of Cavers and Hundalee; bis mother's 
name was Oliver. He was bom in Jedburgh in the 
year 1788, and was educated in that town, where he 
passed the early years of his life. When quite a youth his 
father sent him up to London to serve his apprenticeship 
in an office, and by perseverance and attention to his duties 
he eventually became partner in the well-known house of 
Fletcher, Alexander, & Co., East India merchants, King's 
Arms Yard, London. Mr Kerr, during the early portion of 
his business career, chose for his wife a lady called Kezia 
Sibley, who survived him for some years. In the year 1855 
he retired from business and settled down in the neighbour- 
hood of Jedburgh, at Hundalee Cottage. He was excessively 
fond of shooting, and through the kindness of his landlord^ 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 319 

the Marquess of Lothian, he had frequent opportunities of 
indulging in this sport. His end was sudden. He had 
taken his gun to have a stroll through the ravine adjoining 
the cottage, when death overtook him ; and he was found 
not long afterwards by his coachman, an old and faithful 
servant, lying quite dead with his gim by his side. 

He was interred (1859) in St John's burial-ground, Jed- 
burgh. Mr Kerr had a great love for his native town and 
everything connected with it. As soon as his circumstances 
allowed he became a member of the Jedforest Club, and was 
elected in 1835. 



330 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER XIL 

LANG OF SELKIRK. 

nPHE family of Lang have for a long period been con- 
^ nected with Selkirk. 

L John Lang, who was deacon of the trades of Selkirk, 
was bom in 1640, and married, in 1661, Margaret Riddell, 
and had issue, with several daughters, a son John. 

n. John Lang was deacon convener of the five trades. 
He was bom in 1676, and died in 1762, having married, in 
1702, Isobel Murray, daughter of the laird of Philiphaugh. 
He had four sons and three daughters. John, the eldest 
son, died young, and Andrew, his next brother, succeeded 
as head of the family. 

HL Andrew Lang, writer in Selkirk, bom in 1712, 
married, in 1741, Henrietta Chisholm,^ widow of Robert 
Mercer, commission clerk of Selkirkshire, and daughter of 
William Chisholm of Broadlee and Ann Rutherfurd, daugh- 
ter of the laird of Knowesouth. Mr Andrew Lang was 
accidentally drowned in the Ettrick between Linglie and 
Philiphaugh, 2nd February, 1753. He left a young family 
— a son John and four daughters, the youngest being only 
four months old at the time of his death. 

IV. John Lang,^ sheri£F-clerk of Selkirkshire, born 1744, 
and married, in 1774, Jean SibbaM,' daughter of John Sibbald 
of Whitlaw, in the parish of Galashiels. He died in 1805, 
and she died, suddenly in Edinburgh, in 1815. They had a 
family of eight, four sons and four daughters; the eldest 
son being Andrew — of whom presently. The second son, 
John Sibbald Lang, entered the army as ensign in the 94th 

1 Henrietta Chisholm. wife of Andrew Lang, died loth July, 1783. 

* Margaret, eldest daughter of John Lang, married Archibald Park, 
farmer in Hartwoodmyres, brother of Mungo Park, the African traveller. 

• Jean Sibbald was sister of Sibbald of Gladswood. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 321 

regiment of Foot, on the 9th of November, 1809, and was 
killed on the 6th of April, 1812, at the storming of Badajoz. 

V. Andrew Lang, was born in 1783, and married, in 1809, 
Margaret, daughter of Thomas Suter, sheri£f-clerk of Ross- 
■shire. She died in 1874, aged 87. Their family consisted 
•of five sons and six daughters. The sons were : — ^John, the 
eldest; Andrew, who was born in 1817; Gideon Scott, who 
married Eliza Cape, and went to Australia ; William, bom 
in 1823, married Theresa Jessie Cape, and also went to 
Australia ; ^ Mark Pringle, died an infant, in 1825. Of the 
-daughters, three were married.' 

VI. John Lang, sherifF-clerk of Selkirkshire, was born in John Lang of 
1812, and married, in 1843, Jane Plenderleath, daughter of 

Patrick Sellar of Ardtornish, Argyllshire, and Anne Craig, 
his wife. Mr Lang joined the Jedforest Club in 1844, ^^^ 
in the minutes is designed as of " Overwells," near Jed- 
burgh.' He died in 1869, having had seven sons and one 
daughter. His eldest son, Andrew, born in 1844, .is the 
well known author. The second son, Patrick Sellar, born 
in 1845, succeeded his father as sherifF-clerk. He married, 
in 1873, Henrietta, daughter of John Lang Currie of Larra, 
Victoria, Australia, son of William Currie of Howford, 
Selkirkshire. They had the following children : — Florence /^ 

Jane, married Thomas Robson Scott in 1892 ; William ^ 

Andrew, M.A., barrister. Inner Temple; Margaret Suter, 
married John Alexander Robson Scott of Newton,^ 1887; 
John, of the Indian civil service, under secretary in the 
Foreign OflSce, and Mary Theresa. 

^ William Lang left Australia in 1876, and died in London the following 
year. 

s Jane, married David Smith. Chamarandy, Bengal. She was Andrew 
Lang's second daughter, and died at 7 Dannbe Street on the 4th Decem- 
ber, 1845. Margaret Suter. daughter of Andrew Lang, married at Selkirk 
(by the Rev. John Campbell), on the 28th August. 1845. James Atkinson, 
Burdwan. Bengal. 

• John Lang succeeded to Overwells through Gideon Scott, an uncle of 
his mother's. 

< Vidi Memoir of Robson Scott. 



322 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

LESLIE. 
Lieut- Lieut.-General the Honourable David Leslie was 

Honourable *^^^^ ^^° ^^ David, sixth Earl of Leven, and fifth Earl of 
David Leslie. Melville, by Wilhelmina, posthumous daughter, and nine- 
teenth child of William Nisbet of Dirleton, in the county of 
Haddington. David Leslie obtained a captain's commission 
in the i6th Foot, and was aide-de-camp to his uncle, General 
Leslie, when commanding in Scotland. On the 25th October,. 
1794, he was given the lieut. -colonelcy of the Loyal Tay 
Fencible Regiment of Infantry, with which he was actively 
employed in quelling the rebellion in Ireland of 1798. He 
afterwards became lieut. -colonel of the 48th Foot, and 
major-general on the North British Staff. In 1812, he wa& 
promoted to lieut.-general. He married, at Glasgow, on the 
i6th January, 1787, Rebecca, daughter of the Rev. Dr Gillies, 
one of the ministers of Glasgow, by Joanna, twin sister of 
Sir Michael Stewart of Blackball, Bart. On his retirement 
from the service in 1814, he became a member of the Jedforest 
Club. In 1822 he rented Jedbank from Mr Renwick for 
£^0 a year, and died there on the 21st of October, 1838.. 
Immediately after his death Jedbank was offered for sale. 

The old general was very fond of birds, and he had made 
those that frequented his garden so tame by regular feeding,, 
that when he- sounded a whistle at meal times, they would 
fly down in crowds to his feet. The kindly feeling which 
actuated him in his treatment of the birds, made him a ready 
sympathiser with the poor and needy of Jedburgh, many of 
whom experienced his liberality. 

MACONOCHIE OF GATTONSIDE. 
The Maconochies of Meadowbank, Mid-Lothian, are de- 
scended from the Campbells of Inverawe.^ In 1660, Dougal 
Campbell, or as he was familiarly called *' The Maconochie of 
Inveraugh," got mixed up in the rebellion of the Marquess 
of Argyle, for which he was tried and executed at Carlisle, 

1 Vide Anderson's "Scottish Nation." 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 323 

and his estate confiscated. His son, James, who was only 
nine years old at the time of his father*s death, applied for 
a restoration of the Argyleshire property in 1688, but without 
success. William III., however, granted compensation to 
him, with which he purchased the lands of Kirknewton-in- 
the-Muir, now called ** Meadowbank," which is still in the 
family. 

James Maconochie had one son, Alexander, a writer in 
Edinburgh, who was father of Allan Maconochie, a celebrated 
lawyer, born in 1748. He became, in 1796, a lord of session, 
under the title of Lord Meadowbank, and a lord of justiciary, 
in 1804. He was also professor in the University of Edin- 
burgh. Lord Meadowbank married Elizabeth, third daugh- 
ter of Robert Wei wood of Garvock, by whom he had: — 

Alexander Maconochie, who passed as advocate, in 1799; 
was appointed in succession sheriff-depute of the county of 
Haddington in 1810, solicitor-general in 1813, lord advocate 
in 1 81 6, and a lord of session in 1819, when he also adopted 
the title of Lord Meadowbank. He retired in 1841, and 
died in November, 1861. He married Anne, eldest daughter 
of Lord President Blair. Lord Meadowbank, on the death 
of his cousin, Robert Scott Welwood, succeeded to the en- 
tailed estate of Pitliver and Garvock, in the county of Fife, 
and assumed the name of Welwood. 

Allan Alexander Maconochie- Welwood, LL.D., eldest son 
of Lord Meadowbank, was born in 1806; called to the 
Scottish bar, 1829 ; and in 1842 appointed professor of civil 
law in the University of Glasgow. 

Robert Blair Maconochie of Gattonside, second son Robert Blair 
of Lord Meadowbank, was born in 1814, and became a of Ga?t^*^ 
writer to the signet in 1837. He married, at 14 Ainslie side. 
Place, Edinburgh, on the 6th of January, 1846, Charlotte 
Joanna, third daughter of John Tod of Kirkhill. They had 
three sons and one daughter. Mr Maconochie purchased 
the small estate of Gattonside, near Melrose, from Colonel 
Duncan, of the 43rd Bengal Native Infantry, who succeeded 



3t4 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

to it on the death of his father, General Duncan. Mr 
MacoBodiie's name appears in the list of members of th& 
Jedforest Club, in 1863. He died in 1883, and is succeeded 
by his eldest son, John Allan Maconochie-Welwood. 

MAXWELL OF TEVIOTBANK. 

The founder of the Maxwell family is said to have been a 
Saxon noble called Maccus, who took refuge in Scotland at 
the time of the Norman conquest. He obtained a grant of 
lands on the Tweed at Kelso, which received the appellation 
of Maccusvil or Maccuswell. This, through lapse of time, 
became Maxwell, which is the designation of his descendants. 
There are five baronetcies held by families of the name 
of Maxwell — viz., PoUok, in Renfrewshire; Calderwood, in 
Lanarkshire; Monreith, in Wigtownshire; Cardoness, in 
Kirkcudbrightshire ; and Springkell, in Dumfriesshire. The 
Pollok branch was allied by marriage to royalty. Maxwell 
of Springkell, in Annandale, is a branch of the family of 
Auldhouse, of which Maxwell of Pollok is the senior branch. 
They are second in succession from Pollok. George 
Maxwell of Auldhouse married, first, Janet, daughter of 
George Miller of Newton, and had one son, John, whose son 
George succeeded to the estate of Pollok; second, Jean, 
daughter of William Muir of Glenderstone, who left issue, a 
son, named William. This William acquired the barony of 
Springkell in 1609, and his eldest son, Patrick, became a 
Nova Scotia baronet in 1683, in his &ther*s lifetime. Sir 
Patrick Maxwell joined the insurgent force commanded by 
his brother-in-law, William, 6th viscount of Kenmure, with 
fourteen mounted men on the 14th October, 1715, on their 
march to Moffat, where they unfurled the Pretender's stand- 
ard. Sir Patrick left one son and several daughters. 

Sir William Maxwell, second baronet of Springkell, born 
loth August, 1703, married, 1725, Catherine, eldest daugh- 
ter of Sir William Douglas, Bart., of Kilhead, by Helen 
Erskine, his wife, daughter of Colonel John Erskine, deputy 
governor of Stirling Castle. Sir William died at Edin- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 325 

burgh, OB the 14th of June, 1760, and his wifis ob tim aylh 
of October, 1761. He left oae son, WiUiam. 

Sir William Maxwell, third barooet of Springkdl, bom 
on the I St of December, 1739, married Margaret, daughter 
of Sir Michael Stewart, Bart«, of Blackhall, on the a4th 
of March, 1764. He died in 1804, <^ ^^ succeeded by 
his second son, John Shaw. 

Sir John Shaw Heron Maxwell, fourth baronet of Spring* 
kell, was bom on the 29th of June, 1772, and was gazetted 
as lieutenant in the 7th Royal Fusileers on the 15th of June, 
1 79 1. He obtained his company in the same regiment early 
in 1795, and in March he was promoted to major of the 
23rd Light Dragoons in the augmentation of that year. 
He married at Kirrouchtree, on 4th January, 1802, the only 
surviving daughter of Patrick Heron of Heron, M.P. for 
the Stewartry of Kirkcudbright. On the death of Mr 
Heron in the following June, he assumed the additional sur- 
name and arms of Heron. Sir John entered Parliament as 
member for the Dumfries burghs in 1807, and represented 
that constituency until 181 2. Before his death, which oc- 
curred in 1830, he had obtained the rank of lieut. -general 
in the army. 

Edward Heron Maxwbll op Tbviotbank was the e. h. 
youngest of the family of Sir John, and was bom on 2nd ^eWotbank. 
March, 1821. He was educated at Harrow, and thereafter, 
when quite a yoimg man, went to Ceylon, but remained there 
only a short time. Mr Maxwell married, on 20th October, 
1847, Elizabeth Ellen, only daughter of Col. Stopford Blair 
of Penninghame, Wigtownshire, by Mira Sophia, second 
daughter of Colonel Robert Bu^,^ C.B., K.H., by whom he 



1 Colonel Robert Ball, C.B., K.H., R.H.A., was born at Stafibrd on 
3rd March. 1778, and died at Bath, in 1835. This distinguished offioer 
commanded ist troop R.H.A. throughoat the greater portion of the Pan- 
insular war. and was associated with the gallant Norman Ramsay, who 
was his and obtain. For the battle of Busaoo, Capt. Bull was decorated 
with the gold medal, and for Fuentes d' Onor be received a gold dasp. la 
this battle two guns were detached from Bull's troop under Ramsay, 



326 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

had a large family. In the early portion of his married life 
he resided in Dumfriesshire and the Stewartry. Teviotbank 
was purchased in i860, and from that time to the date of 
his death in 1890, he identified himself with county matters 
in Roxburghshire. Mr Maxwell took a leading part in sport, 
especially in steeplechasing. When the Border Mounted 
Rifles were organised he was one of the original members, 
steadily supporting them to the time of their disbandment. 

Jphn Shaw JoHN Shaw Hbron Maxwell, eldest son of the above, was 
Muiwell late '^"^ ^^ 1850. He joined the 14th Hussars in July, 1872. 
14th Hussars. In the following year his horse Reverescat won the *< grand 
military," for which he received a gold cup, with the 
following inscription : — ** Grand military gold cup, Rugby, 
i873» ^^^ ^y J* S« Heron Maxwell's (14th Hussars) 
Reverescat, 7 years old, by Cheerful Horn, ridden by Mr 
Wentworth Hope -Johnstone, 7th Hussars, beating Assault 
and 15 others.** Mr Maxwell retired from the army in 1880, 
and in 1889 was elected a member of the Jedforest Club. 

Captain Captain William Henry Stopford Heron Maxwell is 

W. Heron ^jjg second son of Mr Maxwell of Teviotbank. He was 
Maxwell. 

latetheRoyal gazetted to the 7th Royal Fusileers in 1872, and served 

usieers. y/nth his regiment in the Zulu war, 1879 (latter part); 

mentioned in dispatches, and received a medal and clasp. 

when unfortunately they were cut ofif and surrounded by French cavalry. 
" Presently, however, a great commotion was observed among the French 
squadrons, . . . where a thick dust was rising, and where loud cries 
and the sparkling of blades and flashing of pistols indicated some extra- 
ordinary occurrence. ... An English shout pealed high and clear, 
the mass was rent asunder, and Norman Ramsay burst forth, sword in 
hand ; ... his horses, breathing fire, stretched like greyhounds along 
the plain ; the guns bounding behind them like things of no weight ; and 
the mounted gunners followed close with heads bent low and pointed 
weapons in desperate career." — Vide Napier. Capt. Bull was present 
at the battle of Salamanca, for which he obtained another gold clasp to 
his medal. During the Peninsular war he was engaged in numerous 
actions, and was twice wounded. At Waterloo, Major Bull again com- 
manded the famous old ist troop, which was armed with heavy 5|-inch 
howitzers. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 327 

He also served in the Boer war of 1881, in Barrow's 
mounted infantry. Captain Maxwell retired in September, 
1886, and joined the south-east of Scotland artillery militia, 
and is still an honorary major of that corps. He married, in 
1884, Adeline Helen, daughter of the late Osgood Hanbury, 
of Holdfield Grange, Essex, and has four daughters. In 
1892 Captain Maxwell's name was added to the list of 
members of the Club. 

MEIN OF HUNTHILL. 
John Elliot Mein succeeded to the estate on the death John E. Mein 
of his father, James Mem of HunthiU. He received his 
early education at The Nest, Jedburgh, and afterwards 
at the Edinburgh Academy and University of Edinburgh. 
He was elected a member of the Jedforest Club in 1874, 
and died on the 12th of August, 1885. 

Hunthill, after his death, passed into the possession of a J.A.W. Mein 
younger brother, James Andrew Whitelock Mein. He 
also received the first rudiments of instruction at The 
Nest, and completed his education at Edinburgh Univer- 
sity. He married, in 1886, Isabella, only daughter of the 
late James Hamilton Calder of Swinton Hill, Berwick, and 
has a son, James Elliot. Mr Mein was admitted a member 
of the Club in 1889. Upon the death of his uncle, Andrew 
Whitelock Mein, he succeeded to Scraesburgh.^ 

MEIN OF ORMISTON. 
William Mein, about a hundred years ago, purchased w. Mein 
the estate of Ormiston. Jeffrey, the historian of Roxburgh- 
shire, says, " He greatly improved the lands ; built a new 
house ; and erected at his own expense, for the accommoda- 
tion of the public, a suspension bridge for carriages over the 
Teviot at Kalemouth." 

^Two brothers, James and Andrew Mein. purchased HunthiU and 
Scraesburgh conjointly. The latter property was advertised for sale in 
the year 1840, and the rent of it at that period was stated to be ;f9i3i 
and the tenant Mr James Howie. 



328 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

In 1654 the estate belonged to William, Earl of Roxburgh, 
who sold it at that time to John Scot of Langsbaw. The 
property is described in the deed '< as all and haill the lands 
and barony of Ormiston." Scot of Langshaw sold it to Ker 
of Chatto in 1658. In 1718 it was sold by Chatto to Wil- 
liam Elliot of Wells, from whom it passed by purchase to 
William Mein. It now belongs to the Marquess of Lothian. 

William Mein of Ormiston married Mary Millbum, widow 
of James Oliver, in 1812, and had the following family: — 
Robert, born in 18x3, at Savannah, in Georgia — his heir; 
Mary Anne, bom in 181 5, also at Savannah; Margaret, 
bom in 1817, at Southampton Row, Russell Square, 
London; William, born in 1818, at 137 George Street, 
Edinburgh. Mr Mein acquired his fortune in Georgia, 
and when he eventually settled down at Ormiston he be- 
came a member of the Jedforest Club ; this was in 1818. 

Robert Mein of Ormiston succeeded his father, and 
married, in 1840, Elizabeth, daughter of Archibald Jerdon 
of Bonjedward. The same year he advertised the Ormiston 
estate for sale, at the upset price of ;^38,ooo. In 1847 Mr 
Mein resided at Sunlawshill. 

MILLER OF STEWARTFIELD. 

This family possess a baronetcy of Great Britain. Sir 
Thomas Miller of Barskimming, Ayrshire, and Glenlee 
in Galloway, was the first baronet. He was a distin- 
guished lawyer, and became lord justice-clerk on the death 
of Sir Gilbert Elliot of Minto. He afterwards succeeded 
Dundas of Arniston as president of the Court of Session, 
and in the same year, 1788, was created a baronet. His 
son, Sir William Miller, second baronet, was also a con- 
spicuous member of the Scottish bar, and was appointed 
a lord of session under the title of Lord Glenlee. He was 
considered one of the best lawyers of his day, and was also 
an accomplished scholar. His Lordship married his cousin 
Grizel, daughter of George Chalmers, November 5th, 1777, 
by whom he had a large family. His eldest son predeceased 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 3*9 

him, leaving a widow and children, the eldest of whom, 
William, succeeded to the baronetcy. 

John Miller succeeded to Stewartfield in 1833 as heir John Miller 
to his brother Lieut.-Colonel William Miller,* under the field'*'^*'*' 
testamentary disposition of John Davidson. Mr Davidson 
of Stewartfield was a writer to the signet, and married 
Martha, daughter of William Miller of Glenlee and 
Barskimming, and died without issue at the end of last 
century. His estate of Stewartfield was life-rented by his 
cousin Robert Davidson, fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, 
until his death in 1833. Upon that event the property was 
claimed by Mr John Miller, as Imr of line of Lieut.*Col. 
William Miller, and also by the nephew William Miller, 
eldest son of the then deceased Thomas Miller, younger, 
of Glenlee, as his heir of conqunt. The Court of Session 
decided in favour of Mr John Miller, which decision was 
confirmed upon appeal by the House of Lords. 

John Miller of Stewartfield was born December a8th, 1789. 
He was educated for the law, and passed as a writer to the 
signet in 1816. As a young man he held a commission in 
the Ayrshire yeomanry. He married, on the 15th of March, 
1828, Mary, eldest daughter of Nicholas Sutherland, by 
whom he left three sons and a daughter. Mr Miller 
appears by the manuscript records of the Jedforest Club, 
to have become a member in 1834. ^® ^^^ ^ justice of 



^ Lieut.-Col. W. Miller died at Brussels, i6th June. 1815, of his wounds 
received the day before at Quatre Bras. On finding himself wounded, he 
said to Colonel Thomas (who was killed two days afterwards at Waterloo) 
*' Thomas, I feel I am mortally wounded ; I am pleased to think it is my 
fate, rather than yours, whose life is involved in that of your young wife." 
After a pause, he said faintly, " I should like to see the colours of the 
regiment once more before I quit them for ever." They were brought to 
him and waved over him. His countenance brightened ; he smiled, and 
declared himself satisfied.— FfW« Dalton's Waterloo Roll Call. 

Lieut. -Col. Miller was buried at Brussels, where many distinguished 
soldiers killed in this campaign were interred. Colonel W. Miller is the 
••gallant Miller" in Sir Walter Scott's '•The Field of Waterloo," stanza 
xxi. 



burgh. 



330 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the peace for the counties of Ayr and Roxburgh. Mr 
Miller sold Stewartfield to the late Lord Campbell, Lord 
Chancellor of England, who restored to the estate the old 
name of Hartrigge. He died in 1863. 

MAJOR JOHN MURRAY, JEDBURGH. 
Patrick Murray of Cherry trees had a son, James, who 
succeeded him, and married Anne, daughter of George Home 
of Kames, and sister of Lord Kames, the celebrated lawyer. 
Their eldest son wag Patrick Murray, born in 1727, and 
who became sheriff of Roxburghshire. James Murray, a 
younger son, married Betty, second daughter of the 
Honourable George Home, son of Charles, Earl of Home. 
Major Tohn They had among other children, a son, John, who was 
Murray. Jed- born in 1781, and entered the army in 1797, at the age of 

sixteen. He joined his regiment in Holland, and commenced 
his military career in that country. In the year 1801, his 
regiment, the 20th Foot, fought under General Sir Ralph 
Abercromby, and young Murray was one of the 12,000 
British who opposed the French on the sandy plains of 
Egypt, near Alexandria, where Sir Ralph was killed at the 
moment of victory, on the 21st of March, 1801. He next 
saw active service with the army of Major-General Stuart, 
in Upper Calabria, and was present at the hard-fought 
battle of Maida, 6th of July, 1806. The 20th Foot landed 
that morning from Messina, and arrived on the field of 
battle during the fight, and at a moment when the French 
were making a desperate attempt to turn General Stuart's 
left. By a well directed fire the 20th completely frustrated 
this design, and helped, in a large degree, to gain the battle. 
With natural pride the regiment always commemorated this 
day. Captain Murray went to Spain at the commencement 
of the Peninsular war, and was present at the battle of 
Vimiera, at Corunna, and the subsequent retreat on the 
1 6th of January, 1809. He again proceeded with his regi- 
ment to the Peninsula, and was at the memorable battle of 
Vittoria, 21st June, 181 3, followed by the actions in the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 331 

Pyrenees. At the siege of San Sebastian he greatly dis- 
tinguished himself, and was one of those who volunteered 
from the 4th division to storm the town. Murray had the 
honour to command the volunteers of his regiment on that 
occasion. After an assault which lasted for two hours, 
under the most trying circumstances, and amidst desperate 
fighting, the attacking party obtained a firm footing, and the 
town was taken. In November, 1813, the subject of this 
memoir was at the battle of Niveljle, and on the 27th of 
February of the following year he was present at Orthes, 
where the British loss was 18 officers and 255 men killed. 
He was promoted to the rank of major in 1814, and retired 
on half-pay the same year, when the war came to a close. 
He returned to his native town of Jedburgh, and resided 
with his mother at Abbeygreen House, and became a member 
of the Jedforest Club. Major Murray was wounded in four 
separate actions, and his constitution, never very robust, 
had been somewhat shattered by his arduous services in 
the field. He died at Abbeygreen on the 21st June, 1818,. 
at the early age of 37 years, and was buried in the Abbey 
churchyard, where a tombstone marks his grave. His 
mother, Mrs Murray, died on the 14th of January 1819, aged 
60, also at Abbeygreen ; after her death, the house was sold 
to Dr Hilson.* 

OGILVIE OF CHESTERS. 

The Ogilvies of Hartwoodmyres, and now of Chesters, 
have for a long period been well known in Roxburghshire 
and the adjacent Border counties. The first member of 
this family of whom we find a record is one Gideon Ogilvie,. 
who flourished in the middle of the seventeenth century, and 
who married, in 1656, Susannah Scott of Harden. Of the 
marriage there was a son, William, who may claim to be the 
first laird of Hartwoodmyres, inasmuch as he purchased 
that place in 1694; eleven years afterwards, in 1705, he 

1 Vide HUson. 



J32 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

l>ought Brierieyards. His wife was Elu^abeth Turnbull of 
Tofts. This William died in 2726, leaving one soo, Adam, 
^who married, in 1708, Jean Erskine of Dryburgb. This 
ilady lived to a good old age, and was designated in an old 
manuscript book, Lady Hartwoodmyres. By the same 
authority (her son WiUiam) her death, which took place on 
the i6th of December, 1761, is thus described: — ''In a quiet 
old age, free from every worldly wish, she died in her chair 
with great ease, gently ceasing to breathe; a manner of 
^ying that would be wished for." 

William, who was bom in 171a, became chamberlain to 
the Duke of Buccleuch, an appointment held, with the ex- 
•ception of one interval, by successive members of the family, 
until 1876. In 1745, when the Pretender's army was on 
its way to England, William Ogilvie of Hartwoodmyres 
was visited by a party of rebels, commanded by Robert 
Graeme of Garvock and accompanied by John Murray of 
Broughton, secretary to Prince Charlie, who compelled him 
to pay what they termed a tax or cess of £1$^ 7s 4d. 
William Ogilvie^ married Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Elliot of WooUie,* a writer in Edinburgh, and had issue — 
Adam, Thomas (of whom we shall presently speak), and 
William. Adam, the eldest son, was educated to the law, 
. and became an advocate. He succeeded his father at Hart- 
woodmyres, and also as chamberlain to the Duke of Buc- 
cleuch. He married Ann Elliot, and died at Branxholm, 
in 1809, aged 63, leaving a large family. William entered 
the Royal Navy in 1775, on board H.M.S. " Romney," com- 
manded by Captain Elphinstone. In July, 1776, he was 
transferred to the " Perseus " frigate, and died of fever on 

1 Portraits of William Ogilvie and of his wife Elizabeth hang in the 

..dining room at Cheaters. V^illiam Ogilvie of Hartwoodmyres describes 

himself in a deed, dated 1737 : — " As Baillie of the Regality of Jedburgh 

forest and of the several Baronies therein contained, nominated and 

.appointed by His Grace, Archibald, Duke of Douglas, and Lord of the 

said Regality." 

> WilUam EiUot bought WoolUe (Wolflee). Vid4 memoir EUioU of 
Wolflee. 



ANSALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 333 

the 25th of July, 1777, at Antigua. Thomas was born in 
1 751. At the age of nineteen he received an appointment 
in the Madras civil service, and on the 8th of December, 
1770, he left home for London, accompanied by Captain 
Robert Pringle. His mother, as a parting gift, gave him 
a Spanish doubloon, which he carefully preserved during 
his life, and which is now at Cheaters. In 1772, he arrived 
at Madras, and commenced to gain an insight into his work 
by holding in succession several appointments of minor 
importance. A good berth was in store for young Ogilvie, 
whether due to his own merits or to influence I am unable 
to say — probably both. He was offered and accepted the 
responsible and, in those days, lucrative position of pay- 
master to the important station and district of Vellore. 

In January, 1780, it was well known to every person in 
India — except the Government of Madras — that Hyder Ali 
was making great preparations to invade the Company's 
territory, with one of the best appointed armies ever seen 
in that country. No steps were taken to meet the emer- 
gency, and the troops remained idle at their respective 
stations in this presidency. Hyder, on his part, made 
every preparation with the most scrupulous care. No 
department escaped his personal inspection. He moved 
from his capital in the month of June, with a force which 
had probably not been equalled, and certainly not sur- 
passed, in strength and efficiency by any native army that 
had ever been assembled in the south of India. It was 
only when crowds of terrified natives came flying towards 
Madras, and columns of smoke were visible in all direc- 
tions, that the governor and council opened their eyes 
— ^after neglecting every branch of military preparation — 
and directed the movement of troops to arrest the advance 
of the enemy. This formidable array amounted to 130,000 
men, of whom 60,000 were cavalry, 50,000 infantry, with 
upwards of a hundred pieces of field artillery. Of the 
cavalry, two troops were French hussars, conunanded by 
Mons. Pimoran; and a regiment of infantry (Frenchmen), 



334 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

500 strong, under Lally. In September of the same year, 
Hyder annihilated Colonel Baillie's detachment, after a 
desperate resistance, which was continued with the bayonet 
in thirteen different charges after ammunition was expended. 
Lord Macartney had come direct from England to take 
the governorship of Madras, and Mr Hastings, the governor- 
general of India, had sent the veteran general, Sir Eyre 
Coote, charged with the sole direction of the war. Colonel 
Pearce of the Bengal artillery, a personal friend of Hastings, 
was also dispatched with a strong detachment of Bengal 
troops. 

On the 15th January, 1781, Sir Eyre Coote had a force at 
his command of 8000 European infantry, 800 cavalry, 62 
pieces of field artillery, besides a large body of native troops, 
and an abundance of military stores. Coote was not long 
before he came into collision with the enemy, and he fought 
one action after another with tolerable success, the battle of 
Porto Novo being considered the most important. 

Vellore had now been in a state of blockade for some time, 
as the surrounding country was swarming with Hyder*s 
troops, and was in great and urgent need of provisions. 
Since the commencement of the war, a large portion of the 
army and siege guns of the enemy had been constantly 
before it, and the operations were conducted with great 
judgment by French officers. The command of Vellore 
was entrusted to Colonel Lang, ist battalion Madras Euro- 
peans, whose corps formed the most important part of the 
garrison. Mr Ogilvie's duties as paymaster could not be 
properly fulfilled, as all the available money had now been 
exhausted. The governor of Madras, Lord Macartney, 
had made repeated efforts to have sums of from one to two 
thousand pagodas at a time conveyed to him by trusty 
messengers, but in every case except one they were inter- 
cepted by the enemy. The letters Mr Ogilvie received from 
Lord Macartney in regard to these monies, and which 
were smuggled into Vellore by various methods, are ex- 
tremely curious, from the minute pieces of paper they are 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 335 

written on, the average size being an inch square. Affairs 
at Vellore towards the end of October, 1781, approached a 
crisis. Coote, with a small supply of provisions, made a 
desperate attempt to relieve the garrison, and in this he 
succeeded, as Hyder's army retired across the river when 
he found that the English general was determined to attain 
his object. In January, 1782, Coote once more came to 
the garrison's assistance, although he himself was suffering 
from a severe illness, and accompanied his troops lying in a 
palanquin. He brought with him a large convoy of pro- 
visions. The enemy attacked the British force, but after a 
hot cannonade the general got within four miles of Vellore, 
and on the following morning the much needed food was 
deposited in the fc^rt. The garrison was now much reduced 
in numbers by the withdrawal of the greater portion of the 
Madras European R^ment under Colonel Lang, who had 
joined the army in the field, leaving Vellore to the care 
of Captain Cuppage. Mr Ogilvie now took advantage of 
an opportunity to proceed to Fort St George, and there 
married, on the 27th of May, 1782, Hannah, second daughter 
of Robert Dash wood, and widow of Dr Pasley. Their son 
William, the subject of this memoir, was bom on the 5th 
of September, 1785, at Fort St George. Soon after his 
marriage, Mr Ogilvie wrote a letter to Hyder about some 
articles of value which had been left by him when it became 
no longer safe to remain outside the walls of Vellore. To 
this letter he received the most courteous reply ^ from this 

^ Translation of the reply in Persian from Hyder, directed to Mr 
Thomas Ogilvie, paymaster of the English Company at Vellore: — 

" Health." 
" Your letter has been received, in \vhich you request that a small box 
with papers, a seal, and a palankeen and its furniture, which were left at 
Arnee when you went to Vellore, might be returned to you. In compli- 
ance with your request, the box and papers, with the key belonging to it, 
your seal, and the silver ornaments of the palankeen are sent to you. The 
people of my army broke the palenkeen ; otherwise it would also have been 
sent to you. What is to be said more ? Sealed with our signet, and dated 
Monday. Fatteh Hyder." 

z 



336 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

celebrated Indian prince, who returned to him the greater 
portion of his lost property. Mr Ogilvie found himself so 
situated, a few years afterwards, that he could resign the 
service and return home with a comfortable fortune. He 
left India, and arrived towards the close of 1786 in England. 
After remaining a short time in London, he directed his 
steps to Scotland, where he was anxious to settle down 
near his old home. At this time the estate of Crailing was 
for sale, and Mr Ogilvie bought it. Repenting, however, 
of his hasty purchase, he was fortunate enough to find a 
customer to whom he transferred it. In 1787, after due 
consideration, he bought from the Bennets their family 
property, Chesters, and with it the fine farm of Newton, 
on the opposite side of the Teviot. The mansion was 
situated considerably higher up than the present house, and 
on this portion of the estate are the largest trees. One of 
the Bennet family, who flourished early in the last century, 
introduced on the estate a trade nursery -garden for forest 
trees — one of the earliest in Scotland.^ Mr Ogilvie's first 
work was to demolish the old dwelling-house of the Bennets, 
and, having procured the services of Mr William Elliot, a 
well known architect, he began to build the present house, 
which was not completed until 1790. He obtained per- 
mission to turn the public road, the traces of which are still 
to be seen close to the house, and he afterwards added the 
Grange and Broom farms to the estate. 

William WiLLiAM was now old enough to go to school. With this 

Chesters. purpose he was sent to Edinburgh, and pursued his studies 
at the High School. He completed his classical education 
by reading with a clergyman at Bingley, in Yorkshire. This 
gentleman, whose name was Hartley, was a keen shot, and 
many a time young William Ogilvie waited for him at the 
church door, after evening service, with the pointers and 



^ Between the years 1738 and 1748, advertisements are to be found in 
the old Newcastle newspapers concerning this nursery-garden. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB: 337 

the dog-cart, ready to start for the moors, at the conclusion . 
of the service. William next studied for the law, and was 
admitted a member of the Faculty of Advocates in 1808, 
but he never practised. 

In 1796, during a great flood, the Teviot somewhat 
altered its course, and did an immense deal of damage at 
Hassendean, where the old churchyard is situated, close to 
the banks of the river. The old burial ground of the 
Ogilvies was partly carried away, and the ends of the 
coffins were exposed. These were removed to Ashkirk, with 
any of the tombstones which remained. One of these stones 
was dated 1687. The flood of 1806 completed the destruction 
of the burial ground, and of what little remained of the old 
Hassendean church : nothing but a sand bank is now left 
to mark where the auld kirk stood. Sir Walter Scott, in a 
letter to Lady Abercorn, dated Ashiestiel, 20th September 
1806, says: — ''The state of our weather has been most 
calamitous, land floods, river floods, water spouts^ and 
torrents and tempests of all kinds and denominations, have 
almost laid waste our country. . . . One gentleman of this 
county, Ogilvie of Chesters, has sustained more than a 
thousand pounds worth of damage, much of which is 
absolutely irreparable, as the very soil is carried away." 

Mr Thomas E. Ogilvie joined what was then named the 
Roxburghshire Gentleman and Yeomanry Cavalry, as a 
first lieutenant in 1797. The regiment was commanded by 
Major Sir James Pringle, Bart.; and Sir Henry Hay 
M'Dougall, Bart., was also a lieutenant in the same corps. 
These were stirring times with our auxiliary forces; a 
French invasion was threatened, and much talked of. 
Regiments were being raised and equipped in every county 
in England, and Scotland was no laggard in the patriotic 
race. In 1803, William, whose education was still un- 
finished, obtained a second lieutenant's commission in the 
western troop of Roxburghshire yeomanry. This troop, with 
its popular commandant, William Elliot of Harwood, was 
considered the best mounted and best appointed troop on 



338 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 

the Borders. Such was its popularity that several gentlemen 
who could not get commissions were contented to serve in 
the ranks. William Ogilvie had many incidents to narrate 
in connexion with this troop, of which he was justly proud. 
In 1804, on the occasion of the false alarm, or '< Lighting 
the Beacons/' William Ogilvie, to his sorrow» missed that 
excitement. In reference to this, he wrote a letter, in which 
he alludes to it in the following manner: — "On that 
memorable night, 31st January 1804, I happened to be in 
Edinburgh, at college, and unfortunately missed the glory. 
My groom had the good sense to accompany the troop 
with my horse, thinking that I would follow or cast up 
somewhere. 

The following singular circumstance happened at Chesters. 
Mr Baillie's hounds met at Minto house on the 13th of 
February 181 5. They found a fox in Minto Crags, which 
aft^ an excellent run, being hard pressed, made his way 
into Mr Ogilvie's house, and ran upstairs into one of the 
bedrooms, where it lay concealed for some time. In the 
meantime the hounds fotuid another fox, which made for 
Minto Crags and got to ground. As soon as reynard was 
discovered in the bedroom, he was secured, and taken to 
Mr Don; and on the Wednesday following, be was 
turned out, and made a brilliant run in the direction of 
Mellerstain, and was killed near Smailholm. 

In 1818, Mr Ogilvie married Alexina,^ daughter of Alex- 
ander Falconer of Woodcot, East Lothian, by whom he had 
a large family. After his marriage he resided at Ettrick- 
bank, near Selkirk, and while there the notorious couple^ 
Burke and Hare, used to call at the door with fresh fish in 



^ Mrs Ogilvie's brother, George Home Falconer, was at Waterloo as a 
lieutenant in the Scots Greys. His medal for this great battle is pre- 
served at Chesters. Mrs Ogilvie's sister, a lady of much personal 
attraction, married Sir Thomas Erskine Napier, K.C.B., a distinguished 
soldier, who lost an arm in the Peninsula. He received for his services a 
silver medal with seven clasps, and the star and badge of a Knight Com- 
mander of the Bath ; these decorations are also at Chesters. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 339 

their cart, which was destined to convey a dead body on 
the return journey from Selkirk to Dr Knox.^ Thomas 
Elliot Ogilvie died in 1831, and his son, William, succeeded 
to the estate. The valuable farm of Newton, which the 
Teviot separates from Chesters, was sold by Mr Ogilvie, in 
1833, to Scott of Peel.» In 1836, William Ogilvie was 
appointed chamberlain to the Duke of Buccleuch, succeed* 
ing Major Riddell of Muselee and Dryburgh. This post 
had been previously held by his uncle and his grandfather, 
the laird of Hartwoodmyres. 

As a deputy-lieutenant, a commissioner of supply, and a 
justice of the peace, Mr Ogilvie acquired great personal in- 
fluence. He took much interest in the various political con* 
tests which ensued after the passing of the Reform BilL 
In this, he not only consulted his own feelings, which were 
highly conservative, but also those of the noble duke. He 
is allowed to have been one of the most successful canvas* 
sers; his influence was great, and his persuasive gifts had 
an immense effect on the agricultural mind as he expatiated 
on present and prospective benefits. The true secret of his 
popularity, however, was, undoubtedly, a kindly manner 
and a quick apprehension of character. 

As chamberlain to the Duke of Buccleuch, he conducted 
his affairs with much ability and tact, and was a general 
favourite with the tenants. In county business he was 
quite at home, and with the greatest facility could bring 
his knowledge to bear on. any important discussion. For 
several years before his death, owing to old age and declin* 
ing health, his well-known figure was seldom seen in public ; 
but his mind, up to the last, remained as active as ever, 

1 In the celebrated trial of these two murderers, Hare turned " king's 
evidence," and was smuggled out of the country to America. There he 
was recognised, and thrown by the mob into a limekiln. He was much 
burnt, and his eyesight destroyed. After a time, he returned to England 
and in 1855 might be seen daily in Oxford Street, London, begging-^an old, 
blind man with white hair, led about by a dog. 

> Vid$ Robeon Scott of Newton. 



340 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

and his handwriting as firm and distinct. Mr Ogilvie was 
a firm supporter of the Jedforest Club, and also one of its 
original members. He died at Chesters in 1876, at the 
advanced age of ninety-one. During bis long life he saw a 
complete transformation in the customs and ways of living 
in the country. As a boy he remembered coals being brought 
in sacks on ponies' backs over the hills from the English 
Border. Roads there were few. When a bullock was to be 
killed in Hawick, the town crier went round with his bell 
to announce the fact. Domestic housekeeping was curious 
in those days. The custom of killing ** marts " was general, 
chiefly because there was no winter food : turnips were almost 
unknown in any quantity ; consequently, at Martinmas, both 
cattle and sheep were killed, and salted for winter use. The 
wages of out-door servants have undergone a great change. 
Ninety years ago, cotton fabrics for clothes had not come 
in, their place being taken by linen, and flax was grown 
chiefly for part payment of wages. Mr Ogilvie was succeeded 
by his eldest son, Thomas Elliot Ogilvie, who was bom in 
1821 ; and who married, in 1886, Hope, only daughter of 
Henry Reeve, C.B., formerly in the Privy Council office. 
He died in 1896, and his widow is in possession of the 
estate. 

OLIVER OF DINLABYRE. 

Jeffrey, the historian of Roxburghshire, in vol. ii., states 
that '* Jedforest seems to have been the land of the Olivers 
in early times. Even at the present day, the name is found 
prevailing in many parts of the forest, and the old graveyards 
show the strength of the vassals of the ancient lords of 
Jedforest." It is rather curious that this numerous Border 
clan possessed no chief, although they took their full share 
in the raids and forays which were the common occu- 
pation of the Borderers in former days. 

The name occurs in several countries of Europe, spelt 
in various ways. In Spanish it is found as Olivares; in 
Portuguese, Oliverira ; French, Olivier ; Italian, Olivieri, 



.-\- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 341 

There is a tradition in Jedforest that the first Olivers who 
settled there were Spaniards, and *'that for some misdeed 
they were banished the country — for the country's good." 
Stryndis, a place a little to the east of Abbotrule, was an 
old possession of the Olivers. JeflFrey says: — "In 2502 
there were six brothers of the name at Stryndis, all noted 
mosstroopers." They stole horses and cattle, and committed 
slaughter, and were all hanged by order of the sheriff. 
Some Olivers possessed Lustruther on Jed; they were of 
the same type as those of Stryndis. About the year 1546, 
a company composed of Olivers, Halls, Crosiers, and 
TurnbuUs took the old fortalice of Edgerston by storm. 
Mr Veitch of Inchbonnie, near Jedburgh, has, amongst 
other curiosities, the sword of Ring9!H^ Oliver, about the 
most famous of his name in the district of Jedforest. The 
sword, a fine specimen of the ''Andrea Ferrara," which 
•was much admired by Sir Walter Scott, came into the Veitch 
family on the female side. 

Auld Ringaqi was an Oliver stout, 

Of the stout Jedforest clan. 
Of him his kinsmen were well proud, 

He was their foremost man. 

Vid$ Telfer's " Border BaUads." 

Dinlabyre, in Liddesdale, has belonged to the family of 
Oliver for two hundred years, but prior to that date I cannot 
obtain any clue to the origin of the family. In 1689 it was 
the property of an Elliot, a kinsman to Larriston, and it was 
not until some years afterwards that John Oliver, the elder, 
as he is termed, acquired the estate.^ 



1 A family of Oliver acquired the small estate of Langraw about the 
year i8ox, and. although not related to the Dinlabyre family, they can 
trace their descent from an early date. Another family of Oliver is that 
of Lochside. Robert Oliver, the present laird, bom in 1818, succeeded 
his uncle in 1831. The Olivers of Hawick, represented by the firm of 
George and James Oliver, solicitors and bankers, are another branch of 
this clan. Robert Oliver in Dykeraw (Jedforest) had a son, James, who 
was bom and baptized in the parish of Southdean, on the 9th of March, 
1694. He settled in the neighbourhood of Hawick, and rented land from 



1'/ 



342 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

William Oliver, eldest son of John Oliver of Dinlabyre, 
married, in 1708, Mary, daughter of John Chisholm of 
Stirches. They had issue — ^John« their only son, and Mary 
** Olipher," their only daughter. In 171 9, John Oliver, the 
elder, purchased Over and Nether Larriston and LarristcHi- 
rig from Robert Elliot, last direct descendant of the original 
family, for ;^i8o8, 6s {vide Extract of Disposition, Larriston 
Papers). 

WilUam Oliver succeeded his father *Mn all and haiU 
these fourth parts of the lands of • • • commonly called the 
lands of Dunliebyre, Easterflight, Hiashes, and Burnfoot; 
also Over and Nether Larriston, Heartsgarth, and Lang- 
haugh," the two latter places having been purchased from 
Adam Beattie of Heartsgarth. William Oliver and Mary 
Chisholm left an only daughter, Mary, and a son, John 
Oliver, younger of Dinlabyre, who married Violet Douglas, 
eldest daughter of Thomas Douglas, and brother of Archi- 
bald, laird of Cavers. The marriage contract was signed at 
Linthaughlee on the 17th December, 1734, the witnesses 
being Archibald Douglas of Cavers and his son William, 
Robert Pringle of Clifton, John Chisholm, &c. 

The Olivers presented the church of Castleton, in which 
parish the estate of Dinlabyre is situated, with four silver 
sacramental cups, bearing the following inscription: — 
** Gifted by William and John Oliver of Dunliebyre to the 
parish of Castleton, 1748.'*^ 



the Dake of Baccleuch. James Oliver, eldest son of James Oliver, was 
bom October 2nd, 1732, and was a merchant in Hawick. The house in 
which he lived and carried on business was in the High Street, near the 
Cross. It has recently been taken down and rebuilt. When Prince 
Charlie passed through Hawick on his way to England, James, then a 
youth, was sent into the country with his father's horses, to prevent their 
b«ng seized by the Prince's followers. James Oliver died on the 30th 
October, 1820, aged 88. John Oliver, writer and town-clerk of Hawick, 
third son of the above, was bom in 1770. and died in 1849, aged 79, 
leaving a large family. 

' " The Churchyards of Teviotdale." by J. Robson. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 343 

The date of the death of John Oliver cannot be fixed, but 
it wonld appear that he died before the a4th December, 1775. 
He was succeeded by his son. 

William Olivbr of Dinlabyre, bom 1738, and sheriflF of ^pj^arre 
the county of Roxburgh. He married Jane, daughter of 
John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, by EUenor, daughter of Sir 
Gilbert Elliot of Minto, Lord of Session. By her he had a 
large family. Mr Oliver seemed to be especially fond of 
buying and selling land. In 1773 he sold Hartsgarth and 
JLonghaugh to William Sharp, son of John Sharp, tenant in 
Mackside, and bought from the same person the estate of 
Weens. It used to be said that Sharp exchanged Weens 
for these two farms with Mr Oliver. His next deal was with 
the lands of Over and Nether Larriston and Blackhope, 
which he sold to Col. William Elliot of the East India Com- 
pany Bengal Artillery on December 23rd, 1786. On the 17th 
of February, 1790, he sold the same person the lands of 
Haggiehaugh, formerly known as the lands of Larriston 
Rig, for i^igoo — the disposition of which, signed at Weens, 
was witnessed by the Rev. John Usher, minister of the 
gospel at Kinghorn, and Thomas Usher, sheriff- substitute 
of Roxburghshire. Mr Oliver, after possessing Weens for 
twenty years, sold it to Nutter Campbell of Kailzie, and 
bought instead Liddell Bank, where, for a time, he settled 
down. It was here that his eldest daughter married (vide 
Edinburgh Advertiser): — "On the 21st September, 1798, at 
Liddell Bank, James Russell, surgeon in Edinburgh, to 
Miss Eleanor Oliver, eldest daughter of William Oliver of 
Dinlabyre." Also vide Scots Magazine, 1806: — "At Liddell 
Bank, Major Malcolm, of the Royal Marines, to Miss Jean 
Oliver, fourth daughter, and Archibald Little, of London, to 
Miss Agnes Oliver, fifth daughter of William Oliver of 
Dinlabyre." These two girls were married the same day. 
Violet, the second daughter, married Colonel David Richard- 
son, of the East India Company's service, and was drowned 
along with him, the vessel being lost in which they were 



344 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



proceeding to India. Portraits of this couple are at Edger- 
3ton« Elizabeth, the third daughter, married Henry Young, 
M.D.,^ and had issue. 

William Oliver, eldest son, succeeded to Dinlabyre on the 
death of his father, and afterwards to Edgerston, when he 
took the name of Rutherfurd.' 



Major Arch. 
Oliver of 
Bush. 



Archibald Oliver, second son of William Oliver of 
Dinlabyre, entered the East India Company's service and 
joined the 4th Bengal Native Infantry. In the year 1808, 
as a lieutenant, he was adjutant of the cadet company. In 
1815 he was made a captain of his regiment, and soon after- 
wards was appointed deputy paymaster at Benares, and 
eventually retired with the rank of major. He possessed 
a small property not far from Edgerston, called Bush, or 
Overton Bush. The present house of Lintalee was built 
for his residence by the proprietor. On his death he left 
Overton Bush to his nephew William, son of his brother 
John. Major Oliver joined the Club in 1826. He married 
Anne, daughter of Col. John Anderson, of the H.E.I.C.S. 
European regiment. Portraits of the major and his wife, 
by Sir John Watson Gordon, are now at Edgerston. He 
died in 1843, at Dorset Square, London, at the house of 
Brown Roberts, his brother-in-law, leaving no children. 



Sam. Oliver. Samuel Oliver, brother of the above, led an entirely 

country life, farming being his occupation. He was a 
clever, witty, well-read man, and could converse on most 
subjects. It was a pity he did not enter into some pro- 
fession where he could have exercised to advantage those 
talents which he so largely possessed. Mr Oliver became 
a member of the Club in 1830, at which time he occupied 
the farm of Whitehill. 



1 Edward, son of Henry Young. M.D., had a daughter. Margaret Jane, 
who married her cousin. W. A. Oliver Rutherfiird, in 1862. 



s Vide Oliver Rutherfurd of Edgerston. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 345 

John Oliver, another brother, married Margaret Kerr, John Oliver, 
and had a son William^ now of Overton Bush, . His name 
appears in 1815 as a member of the Jedforest Club. 

The Olivers of Dinlabyre were great supporters of the 
Club, a father and four sons being member^ at the same 
time. 

ORMISTON OF GLENBURNHALL. 

Capt. William Ormiston was in the merchant service, and 
commanded a ship which traded with India. On his retire- 
ment from the service, he married Margaret, daughter of 
Thomas Waugh, writer, Jedburgh. This gentleman had 
acquired by purchase the lands of Glenburnhall and Lark- 
hall ; he also possessed the hill farm of Hagburn, or Hawk- 
burn, in the parish of Melrose. When Mr Waugh died, 
his daughter, Mrs Ormiston, succeeded to his property, in 
1804. ^^^ enjoyment of it was of but short duration, as 
she died in 1809, at the age of 47. Her husband, Capt. 
Ormiston, died, aged 72, in 1812. Hawkburn was sold by 
the trustees of Mrs Ormiston, and bought by Capt. James 
Cleghorn of Weens, Royal North British Fusileers. Capt. 
Ormiston had several children, three of whom were sons 
— Thomas, William, and John. 

William Ormiston, the second son, was a midshipman 
in the Royal Navy, and died at sea on board H.M.S. 
'< Modeste," commanded by Capt. the Hon. G. Elliot, on 
the 22nd of December, 18 10. 

Thomas Ormiston was born in 1790. He built the present 
house of Glenburnhall and laid out the grounds and made it 
a residential estate. He married at Edinburgh, August 4th, 
1815, Jane Mary, eldest daughter of Capt. Tyrie, Royal 
Navy. Mr Ormiston died in the year 1820. 

John Andrew Ormiston of Glenburnhall succeeded his 
brother, who left no issue. He was then a lieutenant on 
half pay of the 91st Foot, having joined it as an ensign in 
181 1. His wife was Marjory Maxwell Thomson. They 



346 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

had two sons and several daughters. Mr Ormiston died in 
1838, aged 40, and was survived by his wife until 1867. 

William T. WiLLiAM Thomas Ormiston became laird of Glenburn- 

Ormiston of 

Glenborn- hall. He married Betty, youngest daughter of Robert 
*^ • Henderson of Abbotrule, but had no family. Mr Ormiston 

was elected a member of the Club in 1871. Mrs Ormiston 
died in June, 1878, and was followed by her husband 
within a month. The estate was then sold, and the 
mansion-house and grounds, with the glen and some 
grass land, became the property of Charles Anderson, 
solicitor, Jedburgh. Mr Barrie bought Larkhall, with 
the farm lands attached. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 347 



CHAPTER XIII. 

PATON OF CRAILING. 

n^HE Rev. James Paton held a bursary in Glasgow Uni- 
^ versity in 1698, and was '* licensed to preach the 
Gospel" by the Presbytery of Dalkeith on February i, 
1709, under the designation, '< chaplain to my Lord Justice 
Clerk." The trustees of the then Viscount Primrose pre- 
sented him to the parish of Primrose, or Carrington, and on 
July 27, 1709, he was ordained minister of that parish. He 
died in 1764 in the 55th year of his ministry. Mr Paton 
married, first, on April 5th, 17 10, Mai^aret, daughter of 
William Ritchie, Ayr, and had by her a son, Robert, and 
four daughters. She died in 1721. He married, as his 
second wife, Agnes Floss, in 1772, and had issue. 

The Rev. Robert Paton, his eldest son, was born in 171 1. 
He was ordained minister of Lasswade in 1746, and died 
in 1786, in the fortieth year of his ministry, aged 75. He 
married, first, on January 22nd, 1750, Janet, ^ daughter of 
Mr Hislop, Dalkeith, and had by her a son, James, bom 
at Lasswade in 1750 — of whom presently. The Rev. Robert 
Paton married, secondly, Helen Scott, widow of the Rev. 
John Currie. She died (vide Edinburgh Evening Courant) in 
April, 1799, at j'aterson's Court, Broughton, near Edin* 
burgh. 

Jambs Paton entered the Bombay Civil Service at the age James Paton 
of 22, in the year 1773 {vide Bombay Civil List). His name ^^ C^a*^^"^ 
still appears in the list in 1799. He left India in 1798, and 
married, December i8th of the same year, Christian Mary, 
second daughter of John Cadell of Cockenzie. In 1802 he 
bought Crailing, once the residence and country seat of the 

1 Her sisters married, respectively, Sir Robert Preston, Cadell of Cock- 
enzie, and Frazer of Ford. 



348 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

Lords Cranstoun. This beautiful estate is four miles from 
Jedburgh, and the house overlooks the banks of the Oxnam 
and the vale of the Teviot. In 1803, after he had completed 
the purchase, he commenced the present house, and employed 
Mr William Elliot, the popular county architect, to carry out 
the work. The old house of Crailing was situated on higher 
ground above the old churchyard, which contains some 
interesting and curious tombstones.^ Mr Paton was an 
original member of the Club, and attended the inauguration 
meeting. May 2nd, 1810. He died at Crailing in 1826. 
There is an excellent portrait of him by Sir Henry Raeburn 
which hangs in the dining-room. James Paton had a 
brother, the Rev. John Paton, minister of Lasswade, of 
whom I shall have something to say presently. Of James's 
children, of whom there were nine, I shall mention — 

Mary, born 1802, died 1879; married Rev. John Paton, 
Ancrum. 

John, the eldest surviving son, bom in 1805, succeeded his 
father. 

Robert Paton was born in 181 1, became an ensign in the 
15th Madras Native Infantry in 1829, and he died on the 



1 Crailing Church, October 24th, 1762. — ^The kirk-session of Crailing 
being met in the church and taking under their consideration the adver- 
tisement made by Lord Cranstoun, requiring all persons who have been in 
use to bury in the old churchyard of Crailing to carry ofif their tombs, 
troughs, and headstones to the new churchyard and erect them there, 
against Wednesday, the 17th November next, and what st^K it may be 
most proper for the members of the session to take, in consequence there- 
of relating to the tomb of the deceased Bailie George Cranstoun and his 
son William, for upholding of which the session have a bond of 500 
merks Scots, the interest of which is i>aid yearly to the schoolmaster of 
Crailing, according to the tenor of said bond. Lord Cranstoun repre- 
sented that as the said tomb is built upon the wall of the burying-ground 
belonging to his family, he cannot conveniently remove it till next spring 
at soonest, the members of the session will have time enough, after this, 
to consider what they should do to the said tomb. (Copied from the 
Records, 1876.) The elaborate and handsomely-carved tomb of Bailie 
•George Cranston and his son William, is still in fairly good preservation. 
At the top are a couple of cherubs, holding between them a crown of 
^lory, with a carved figure in bold relief on either side below. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 349 

8th, of June, 1831, .when on the march, at a place called 
Bedmore. 

John Paton of Crailing was educated at Edinburgh, and John Paton 
married, first, in December, 1830, Ellen, only daughter of 
William Elliot of Harwood (she was born at Hundalee in 
September, 1806); and, second, Annie Margaret, only 
daughter of Admiral Elliot, a cousin of his first wife. He 
became a member of the Jedforest Club when 23 years of 
age, and died, aged 84, in 1889 ; therefore, at the time of his 
death, he had been for the period of 61 years a member. 
The Duke of Roxburghe made him one of his deputy-lieu- 
tenants in 1885. He was also a justice of the peace. His 
family consisted of six sons and one daughter. 

Major James Paton of Crailing succeeded his father in Major James 
1889. He was bom, 24th September, 1831, at Crailing crailLg. 
House, and was educated at the Edinburgh Academy and 
Grange School. On returning home for his mid-summer 
holidays in June, 1848, he travelled in the ''Chevy Chase*' 
— the last journey that well known Border coach ever made. 
Major Paton joined the army on the 15th February, 1850^ 
as an ensign in the 4th or King's Own regiment. This 
corps was stationed in Edinburgh when war was declared 
with Russia. The 4th Regiment was amongst the first 
ordered to the Crimea, and it was embarked at Granton 
on the 8th of March, 1854, ^^ board the "Golden Fleece." 
Paton accompanied his regiment, and served with it through- 
out the war. In June, 1854, he got his- lieutenancy, and in the 
short space of eleven months, he obtained a company. He 
was present at the battle of Inkermann, and went through 
all the dangers and hardships connected with service in the 
trenches before SebastopoL He got his company by the 
death of Captain Arnold, who was shot in the abdomen 
when posting sentries. The King's Own lay nearer the 
town than any other corps, and suffered from a vertical 
fire, the shot coming as it were from the clouds. The 



aso ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

sufferings of our troops during tbe winter of 1854 ^ °^^ ^ 
matter of history. The men lay down and died for want 
of proper food and clothing, and never made a complaint. 
The 4th at one time could not prxxLuce seventy men fit 
for dutyt and the 630! was so much reduced by cholera, 
aggravated by privations, that only eight men could be 
found able to take their turn in the trenches. Captain 
Paton had a narrow escape on the 26th of July, 1855. ^^ 
officer reported that there were not enough men to connect 
the sentries in the advanced trench with the French on 
the left. The advanced sentries were always posted after 
dark. Captain Paton was ordered with Corporal Hutchins 
to make the connexion, and found to his surprise that the 
numbers were complete, with two files to spare. On the 
return oi the party, now increased to six, at a place where 
they had«to moimt the parapet, a howitzer shell burst in 
their midstT Corporal Hutchins was blown to atoms, the 
only part of his body that could be found being a small 
portion of his left arm. Captain Paton was carried into 
the trench insensible, with wounds in the face and neck, 
caused by portions of the corporal's skull, he being close 
to that unfortunate man when the shell exploded. The 
wounds received by Paton were, happily, not dangerous, 
and he soon recovered, and returned to his duty in the 
trenches. By this time, a change for the better had taken 
place, and when the winter set in, both officers and men 
were made fairly comfortable. At the close of the Crimean 
war. Captain Paton returned to England with his regiment 
in H.M.S. ^^Exmouth," and landed at Portsmouth. From 
there, the regiment went to Ireland. In April, 1857, 
it was again ordered abroad, embarking at Kings- 
town for the Mauritius in the '* Lord Raglan " (a sailing 
ship). 

The Indian mutiny having broken out, the regiment was 
sent in August of the same year to Bombay, the right wing 
proceeding in the H.E.I.C.'s frigate <* Assaye." On Easter 
day, 1858, two companies of the 4th and a company of siege 



k 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 351 

artillery, without guns, were ordered to attack and seize Fort 
Beyt. Captain Bayley, R.A., commanded this detachment, 
and was dangerously wounded early in the attack, d3ring 
subsequently of his injuries. Capt. Paton succeeded to the 
command, and an attempt was made to blow in the gate 
with a bag of gunpowder, but the party engaged in this 
hazardous undertaking was annihilated. The detachment 
then had to retire. In Capt. Paton's company (the grena- 
diers) alone, out of sixty men five were killed, and both 
his lieutenants and eleven men wounded. For his dis- 
tinguished services Major Paton received the following 
decorations: — Crimean medal, with clasps for Inkermann 
and Sebastopol; the Turkish Crimean medal, the Indian 
mutiny medal, and the cross of the Legion of Honour from 
the Emperor of the French. From India, he accompanied 
his regiment to Malta and North America, and obtained 
his majority in 1865. He retired from the army in May, 
1 87 1, after twenty-one years' service. 

On his return to Roxburghshire, he was appointed major 
of the Border Rifle volunteers, and on the death of Sir G. 
Douglas, Bart., succeeded to the command of the regiment, 
which he held until 1887. Major Paton married, on the 
2oth of August, 1863, the eldest daughter of J. C. Lamb 
of Ryton, county of Durham. His eldest son, John, is a 
captain in the same regiment as his father served in; his 
third son is a lieutenant in the Royal Navy, in which 
service he has distinguished himself, having been twice 
decorated. Major Paton joined the Jedforest Club in 1863, 
and is now third in seniority as a member. He is a deputy- 
lieutenant and justice of the peace for Roxburghshire and 
a member of the county council, in which he takes a lead- 
ing part. 

George Paton, brother of Major Paton of Crailing, served 
in the 24th Regiment, which he eventually commanded. 
He was aide-de-camp to Major-General Sir Alfred Horsford, 
K.C.B., and also to Sir W. Jervois, K.C.M.G., governor 
and commander-in-chief of the Straits Settlements. He 

2A 



352 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

served in the Perak expedition, Malay Peninsula, 1875-76, 
and received a medal; was colonial military secretary to 
the Cape Government during the Kaffir war. In 1879 he 
commanded a force of irregulars in the Transvaal border 
during the latter part of the Zulu war, for which he received 
a medal and clasp. He was created a companion of St 
Michael and St George for his services in the last named 
war. Colonel Paton ^ married, in 1873, Ethel (who died in 
1885), daughter of Major -General Edward Bagot. He 
married, secondly, a daughter of Edward Walker. The 
other surviving brother of Major Paton is Robert Elliot 
Paton, who was born in 1843, and married, in 1875, Eleanor, 
daughter of J. Russell, M.D. 

I shall now return to the Rev. John Paton, brother of 
the first laird of Crailing. He was born in 1755, and 
ordained assistant and successor to his father as minister 
of Lasswade, in 1782; succeeded his father in 1786, and 
was appointed King's Almoner* in 1803 — he was the last 
who held that office in Scotland. He married Margaret 
Main, a lady who was connected with the family of the 
Earl of Wigton. They had, amongst other children, 
Robert, born in 1795, who was a writer to the signet, and 
died in 1884. James, bom in 1798, was a captain in the 
Bengal artillery, and when a first lieutenant served in the 
Rocket Troop. He filled various military and political 
appointments, and for ten years was attached to the 
residency at Lucknow. He married, but had no children, 
and died in 1848. 

John, the third son, was bom in 1804. He became 
minister of Ancmm in 1832, and died at Ancrum manse 

1 Colonel Paton is at present commandant of the school of musketry 
at Hythe. 

> Almoner, an office anciently allotted to a dignified clergyman, who 
gave the first dish from the Royal table to the poor, or an alms in money. 
The Lord High Almoner of Queen Victoria is the Right Rev. Lord Alwyne 
Compton, D.D., Lord Bishop of Ely; the Sub-Almoner, Rev. Canon 
Eyton. M.A. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 353 

in 1870. He married Mary, eldest daughter of James Pa ton 
of Crailing, and had issue. 

GEORGE HANDAYSIDE PATTISON. 
Mr Pattison, son of William Pattison, by Agnes Han- Sheriff G.H. 
dayside, his wife, was born at Wooler, in 1806. He was * **°°' 
educated in Edinburgh, at the High School and the Uni- 
versity. He entered the office of Mr Dickie, writer, in 
Edinburgh, where, as a lad, he acquired those bus- 
iness habits which, in a great measure, prepared him for 
the Scottish bar, to which he was admitted in 1834. ^^ 
Pattison was a conservative in politics, and supported the 
present Duke of Buccleuch, when Earl of Dalkeith, in his 
contests for the representation of Mid-Lothian. Mr Patti- 
son's connection with Roxburghshire commenced in 1868, 
when Mr Oliver Rutherfurd, the old sheriff of Roxburgh- 
shire, resigned his post, after occupying that appointment 
for an unprecedented period. His appointment as sheriff 
was the last Act in the Treasury minute-book, when the 
conservatives went out of office. Pattison was a shrewd 
and clever lawyer, and could tell a good after-dinner story. 
He was a regular attendant at the > Jedforest meetings, 
having been elected a member on the ist of June, 1869. 
Mr Pattison was most particular in upholding the dignity 
and importance of his position as sheriff of the county. 
He died on the 5th of April, 1885. 

POTT OF DOD. 

The name of Pott has been for long associated with the 
Borders. In 1521, it is recorded "that the Potts, Ruther- 
fords, Dalgleishes, and Robsons, with their followers, made 
a raid into England with two slothunds, and carried off a 
number of sheep and about a hundred head of cattle.*' 

Among the early tombstones in the burial enclosure at 
Borthwick Walls is one to the memory of George Pott, who 
died on the 14th February, 1720, aged 69. 

James Pott, tenant in Langside and Penchrise, was born 



354 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

in 1720, and was one of fourteen children. He purchased 
the small estate of Dod, which is still in the possession of 
the family, from Captain Vetch, the brother of Lord Bow- 
hill, a lord of session. Vetch was in the 21st Fusileers, and 
had married the widow of a private in the regiment. Her 
name was Gladstanes, and by the death of a distant relation 
she succeeded to Dod. He seemed to have been rather 
extravagant, and upon leaving the army, sold the estate. 
James Pott married Jean, daughter of Gideon Scott of WoU ^ 
and Jean Elliot of Borthwickbrae,^ and his second son^ 
Gideon (the eldest, George, died at the age of four years), on 
the death of his father, succeeded to Dod, with the tenancy 
of the farms of Penchrise and Langside. James Pott died 
at Penchrise, in 1765, aged 63 years, and his wife Jean 
in 1767, aged 48. 

Gideon Pott, second of Dod, lived in the good old times^ 
when a great deal of money was made by sheep farming. 
His landlord. Sir Walter Elliot, Bart., of Stobs, borrowed a 
considerable sum of money from him, to rebuild the mansion- 
house of Stobs. As a return for this loan, the Penchrise rent 
was much reduced, and a long lease was granted. This 
arrangement was made to enable Mr Pott to receive in fiill 
both principal and interest. Gideon Pott married Elizabeth 
Pott of Todrig (she died in 1840, aged 84), and by her had 
four sons' and three daughters. He bought the grazing 
farm of Riskenhope, which formed part of the old barony 
of Rodono, from Hay of Duns Castle. He died 5th of May,. 
18 1 2, at the age of 55, and is buried, with other members, 
of his family, at Borthwick Walls. 

George Pott GsoRGB PoTT, third of Dod, and also of Knowesouth,. 
^ was born at Penchrise in 1790. He was educated at Jed- 

burgh, Yarrow, and the University of Edinburgh. He 



1 Vide memoir Scott of WoU. > Vide Elliot of Borthwickbrae. 
* The second son of Gideon Pott was James, who became a writer to the 
signet in 1818. Vide Pott of Potbum. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 335 

became a captain in the Roxburgh yeomanry cavalry in 
181 7. Sir William Francis Eliott, from whom he held his 
lands, was junior captain in the same regiment* These 
gentlemen soon afterwards had a long and expensive law* 
suit, on the subject of the bargain their fathers had made 
concerning the rent and lease of Penchrise. The case 
at last went to the House of Lords, and Sir William 
gained the day. Mr Pott married, in 1823, Jane Elliot, 
daughter of William Elliot, a well known architect (she 
died at Edinburgh, in 1864, aged 64). In 1828, he rented 
Crowbill, on the Teviot, below Hawick, now called Buck- 
lands, where he lived for ten years, until he bought 
Knowesouth. He sold Riskenhope, in i860, to John 
Scott, W.S., Edinburgh, formerly of Teviotbank, for the 
sum of ;^i4,250. Mr Pott obtained from his cousins at 
Skelfhill, when a young man, a copper pot or cauldron 
of large dimensions, nineteen and a half inches deep, and 
a quarter of an inch thick, which, in the memory of the 
oldest inhabitant, had always been at Skelfhill. One author- 
ity inclines to the belief that the cauldron was found 
under some of the ruins of Hermitage Castle ; others say it 
was discovered buried in the Nine Stane Rig; but all agree 
in considering it to be a Border relic of great antiquity. 
Tradition has enveloped it with romance. Lord Soulis, 
once owner of Hermitage Castle, is represented as uniting 
formidable strength with detestable cruelty. He was regarded 
as under the control and guidance of the devil, and was 
proof against any ordinary forms of death. He murdered 
Armstrong, laird of Mangerton, and also the chief of 
Keilder ; to the laird. Lord Soulis had himself owed his life. 
To obtain materials to fortify Hermitage Castle, he com- 
pelled his vassals to work like beasts of burden. It has 
been said that the King of Scotland, irritated by repeated 
complaints against his lordship, peevishly exclaimed — " Boil 
him if you please, but let me hear no more of him." Accord- 
ingly, he was cut in pieces, wrapped in a sheet of lead, and 
carried to the Nine Stane Rig. At a spot marked by a small 



356 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

circle of upright stones, his body was boiled in this cauldron. 
This remarkable relic Mr Pott presented to the late Duke of 
Buccleuch ; it is still in the possession of the family, and is 
much prized by the present duke. 

George Pott was a universal favourite with the country 
people, and seldom passed any one without a word of recog- 
nition. Riding one day from Knowesouth to Rewcastle, he 
met an old man, called James Bunyan, herding his cow on 
the roadside. After the usual remark about the weather, 
he said, '* Well, James, who do you think is the best farmer 
in this county?" "Scott of Timpendean," James replied, 
without hesitation. " And who do you think is the worst ? '* 
" Weel, sir, I think it is just yersel'." This answer greatly 
delighted Mr Pott, who often repeated the story. He joined 
the Jedforest Club in 1813, at the age of 23, and died at 
Knowesouth in 1862, aged 72, and was buried at Borthwick 
Walls. In an old ballad are these lines : — 

" The Grieves, the Potts, and the Craws, 
A* bury in Borthwick Wa*s." 

He left two sons and four daughters. William Pott, his 
second son, was for many years an officer of the 89th Regi- 
ment, and married a daughter of Thomas Helme, of Surrey. 
He has children. 

Gideon Pott QiDEON PoTT of Dod and Knowesouth is the eldest son 
of Dod. Qf George Pott, and was born in 1824 at Penchrise, and 

was educated at Canonbie, the Grange School (Sunderland), 
and the University of Edinburgh. He became a member 
of the Jedforest Club on the 25th August, 1847, and is now 
the senior member of the institution. In the year 1848, 
and for several years afterwards, he acted as collector of 
county rates. He was offered by the British Linen Com- 
pany their bank agency in Jedburgh, which he declined. 
In 1862 it fell to Gideon Pott and Edward Heron Maxwell, 
of Teviot Bank, to carry out a well-devised scheme for con- 
necting Hassendean station with Denholm and the south 
side of the river Teviot. The idea originated with Mr 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 357 

Pott's father and Mr Selby, factor to the Earl of Minto. 
A bridge was built,, costing rather more than ;^i6oo, and 
with roads in connection about ;^2ioo, all of which was 
raised in a very small area by voluntary subscription, only 
excepting a small grant from the bridge fund. Time has 
proved this undertaking to be one of the greatest boons 
conferred on the district. Landlords gave the land ; hearty 
co-operation and liberality followed; but this work would 
never have been accomplished if Gideon Pott had not 
thrown his whole energy and determination into it. Mr 
Pott again, with the assistance of Mr Maxwell, initiated 
a most popular movement. The late Duke of Buccleuch 
had for many years kept a pack of foxhounds, and had 
hunted the county. His Grace was not only very popular 
on this account with the hunting community, but also com- 
manded the respect of his numerous tenantry for his 
liberality as a landlord. Pott and Maxwell, both thorough 
sportsmen, and well known in the Duke's territory, found 
no difficulty in securing a large following when it was pro- 
posed to the county that a presentation should be made to 
his Grace, in recognition of his great kindness in hunting the 
district and keeping the hounds at his own expense for the 
use and enjoyment of others. The appeal at once met with 
a willing and hearty response. Subscriptions rolled in on 
all sides, and Mr Pott had in a wonderfully short space of 
time the satisfaction of seeing his fund reach ;^i7oo. The 
presentation took the form of two very handsome and 
massive candelabra, which were duly presented to his 
Grace the Duke of Buccleuch by the hunt. 

When a troop of mounted volunteers was formed by 
Lord Melgund, Mr Pott attended the first meeting, when 
officers and non-commissioned officers were appointed. A 
mounted corps, of course, had an attraction to a good 
horseman, and a commission in the troop was offered him» 
but declined in the first instance. He, however, entered 
the tanks as a private, and accepted a lieutenancy after 
three years' service. Gideon Pott, who generally excels in 



358 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

everything he undertakes, proved himself to be a first-class 
shot with the old Snider rifle, with which the Border 
mounted were armed. Although considerably above forty 
years of age when he joined the ranks, he took his full 
share in all the duties of the troop. He went to Wimble- 
don several years, and in 1876 he came out 9th in the 
Queen's Sixty, out of two thousand five hundred competi- 
tors. In the next year, his shooting again brought him to 
the front, for he tied for the second place in the St George's 
Vase, out of about two thousand. He won, three years 
successively, the officers' challenge cup of the Border 
battalion, which, according to the conditions, became his 
property; and he also won smaller trophies at the local 
competitions. 

Nothing of any importance has taken place in the county 
for the last forty years, without Mr Pott having some 
share in it. As a farmer, he has few equals; generally, 
his lambs obtain the highest price in the market. For 
some years past, he has taken pupils at Knowesouth, who 
receive a practical training in the best methods of agri- 
culture, and also in the duties and responsibilities of country 
gentlemen. In private life, his pleasiug manners engage 
and secure the affection of his numerous friends. To detail 
the services of Mr Pott's long and active life, would demand 
a much larger space than our limits will permit ; and to do 
justice to his merits would require an abler pen than the 
writer of this hasty sketch possesses. 

Pott of Potburn represents a branch of this family. 
Gideon Pott of Dod, who married Elizabeth Pott of Tod- 
rig, had four sons, the second being James, a writer to the 
signet. He married, in 1839, the second daughter of Peter 
Brown of Rawflat, and had, with other issue, two sons. He 
purchased the estate of Potburn, Selkirkshire, in 183 1. He 
died in 1852, and was succeeded by his eldest son, James 
Gideon Pott of Potburn, bom at 55 Albany Street, Edin- 
burgh, in January, 1840. He obtained a cornetcy in the 
nth Hussars, in 1859. He was a delicate, handsome- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 339 

looking man, very popular with his brother officers, but 
his health obliged him to retire from the service, and he 
died at the early age of 25. 

Georgb Pott succeeded his brother, married, and had George Pott 
a family. For some years he resided in Roxburghshire, ° ° °"^ 
and hunted with the Duke's hounds. Latterly, he lived 
in Edinburgh, at his house, 55 Albany Street, where he 
died in 1898. He joined the Jedforest Club in 1870, at 
which time he lived at Lintalee, near Jedburgh. 

PRINGLE OF WHYTBANK. 

Pringlb, a name well known in the south of Scotland, is 
supposed to be a corruption of the word pilgrim. A pilgrim, 
so my authority says, who had returned from the Holy 
Land, settled in Teviotdale, and his descendants were called 
Hop Pringle, or the son of the pilgrim. 

There were two distinct families of Pringle. The one 
branch settled chiefly in the upper parts of Gala Water 
and the adjoining counties of Berwick and East Lothian. 
They were designated the Pringles of Torsonce; and the 
other family was descended from the Pringles of Whitsun. 

Robert Hop Pringle of Whitsun, styled in a charter from 
the Earl of Douglas *'dilecto suo scutifero," who acted in 
that capacity as armour-bearer or squire of the body to James, 
Earl of Douglas, at the battle of Otterburn in 1388. He 
held the same appointment in the household of Archibald, 
the next Earl Douglas, and his son Archibald, the 4th earl, 
whom he accompanied to France, in whose services he lost 
his life at the battle of Verneuil in 1424. Archibald, 3rd 
Earl of Douglas, gave a charter of the lands of Smailholm, 
also a grant of Pilmuir and Blackchester, in Lauderdale, to 
Robert Pringle in 1408. He built the old tower of Smail- 
holm, formerly a Border keep, on a rocky eminence in the 
farm of Sandyknowe. This Robert was succeeded by his 
son. 

Robert Hop Pringle of Smailholm is presumed to be the 



■n > 



\ • < ' 



360 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

person who erected the singularly-constructed bridge across 
the Tweed near Melrose, described by Gordon, and also by 
Sir Walter Scott in the Monastery ; on the centre pillar of 
which there is his coat of arms, with the following inscrip- 
tion : — 

I, Robert Pringill of Pilmore steed, 
Gave a hundred nobles of goad sae reid, 
To big my brigg upon the Tweed. 

^ r Bx^mrt Pringle married Elspeth Dishington, daughter of 
Sir William Dishington of Ardross, in the coimty of Fife, 
who built the house of Galashiels in 1457. The inscription 
above the doorway of the house was : — 

Elspeth Dishington built me. 

In syn lye not: 

The things thou canst not get 

Desyre not. 

1457- 

By this lady he had four sons and three daughters. 

David Pringle of Smailholm was succeeded by his son, 

James Pringle of Smailholm, who married Isabella Mur- 
ray (of the family of Falahill), and had several sons, the 
ancestors of various families of the name. 

The Torwoodlee family are descended from William, a 
younger son. James was succeeded by his eldest son, 

David Pringle of Smailholm. By his first wife, Marion, 
he had gne son^ David. Afterwards he married Margaret 
Lundie, daughter of Thomas Lundie of that ilk. The lands 
at Woodhouse in Peeblesshire, and Whytbank and Red- 
head in Selkirkshire, were settled qn the heirs of th^s ^nar- 
riage; in consequence of which their son, Jam^s Pringle, 
took up that succession, and was first of the house of 
Whytbank. David, the son of the first marriage, pees 
Meceased his father, having been slain at the battle of 
Flodden, 1513. Four sons^who accompanied him are sscid 
also to have lost their lives in this memorable battle. 

James Pringle of Woodhouse and Whytbank, the first of 
that family, accompanied his sovereign, James V., to the 
battle of Sol way Moss, in 1542, where he was taken prisoner. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 361 

but afterwards was liberated on payment of 400 merks ster- 
ling. He married Margaret Kerr of Linton, and there was 
a family of four sons and one daughter. He was succeeded 
by his eldest son, 

James Pringle of Woodhouse and Whytbank, who first 
of all married Marion, daughter of Murray of Black 
Barrony, and afterwards Julian, daughter of Sir David 
Home of Wedderburn. He was a staunch Royalist, and 
attached himself to the cause of Queen Mary, for which he 
suffered many hardships and the forfeiture of his Peebles- 
shire estate. His son James pre- deceased his father. 

James Pringle of Whytbank succeeded his grandfather 
in 1622. In his early days he was an officer of the Scotch 
Guards in France. He represented the county of Selkirk 
in the Scottish Parliament in 1633. James Pringle was a 
loyal adherent to King Charles I., on account of which he 
was heavily fined by the parliament of 1646. He added 
the lands of Yair and others to his estate, and, on the 
extinction of the direct line of the Pringles of Galashiels 
and Smailholm in 1650, he became the male representative 
of that ancient family. James Pringle married a Danish 
lady, maid of honour to Ann of Denmark, Queen of James 
VI., by whom he had an only son, Alexander. On the 
occasion of her marriage, we are told '* Her Majesty pre- 
sented her with her portrait enamelled on mother-of-pearl, 
and set with small rubies and emeralds, suspended by a 
massy gold chain" — a relic still preserved in the family. 

Alexander Pringle of Whythank married Anne, daughter 
of James Pringle of Torwoodlee; and, secondly, Anne^ 
daughter of Murray of Philiphaugh. He had, however, no 
issue, and he died in 1695. ^^^ °^^^ ^^^^ ^^^ John Pringle 
of Whytbank, a distant cousin, who married the eldest 
daughter of Sir Patrick Scott of Ancrum, by whom he had 
one son, Alexander, and two daughters. John Pringle, at 

Note. — The previous owners of Yair were the Kerrs. In the nave o£ 
Melrose Abbey the progenitors of this old Border family rest, with this 
quaint inscription — " Hbir Lyis tbe Race op ye Hovs of Zair." 



362 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

the age of twenty-five, died of fever in the year 1703, and 
was succeeded by his only son. This was Alexander Pringle 
of Whytbank, who married Susanna, eldest daughter of 
Sir John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, by whom he had a large 
family, consisting of four sons and eight daughters. The 
pressure of a numerous family and other burdens compelled 
him to sell his estate of Yair and other lands; but he retained 
the old family estate of Whytbank, which devolved upon his 
eldest son at his death in 1772. 

John Pringle of Whytbank w^s a lieutenant in the 36tb 
regiment of Foot, then (1772) serving on the staflf of 
General Murray, commander of the forces in Canada. His 
health having given way, from the exposure and fatigues 
of active military service, he died in that coimtry in 1774^ 
and was succeeded by his next brother, Alexander Pringle. 
Alexander was in the civil service of the Madras establish- 
ment, from which he retired in 1783. His previous career 
is noteworthy, as in his early days he was a midshipman in 
the Royal Navy, and served on board H.M.S. "Dublin,*' 
commanded by Captain Edward Gascoigne. He was 
engaged at the siege and capture of the '* Havannah " in 
1762, under Sir George Pocock. On his return to his native 
country, he had a great desire to repurchase Yair from the 
Duke of Buccleuch, to whom his father had sold it. His 
Grace, having been appealed to on the subject, considerately 
offered to restore the estate; and Mr Pringle accordingly 
bought it back again, and built the present mansion house. 
He married Mary, daughter of Sir Alexander Dick, Bart., of 
Prestonfield, by whom he had five sons and six daughters. 
Mr Pringle commanded the Selkirkshire, volimteers^ until 
they were disbanded at the peace of Amiens on the 27tb 
March, 1802. 

The same year he was appointed vice - lieutenant of 
Selkirkshire, on the establishment of that office by Act of 
Parliament. He and his sons were intimate with Sir 

1 Mr Pringle must have assumed command of the volunteers after 1797, 
as his name does not appear in the official list of that year. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 363 

Walter Scott, who came to reside at Ashiestiel in 1804, 
and Sir Walter refers to them in the introduction to canto 
ii. in Marmion. Mr Pringle, in 181 2, was appointed to 
the patent office of Chamberlain of Ettrick Forest. He 
died in 1827. 

Alexander Pringle of Whytbank and Yair, T.P., D.L., Alexander 

Prinffle of 

M.P., who succeeded his father, was born on the 30th whytbank, 
January, 1791 ; studied at Trinity College, Cambridge, and ^•^' 
was admitted an advocate at the Scottish bar in 1814. In 
July of the following year, with Scott of Gala, he accom- 
panied Sir Walter Scott to the field of Waterloo.^ He 
continued to practise as an advocate till 1830, when at the 
general election which followed the death of George IV., 
he was elected M.P. for his native county. After the dis- 
solution in 183 1, he was re-elected. Mr Pringle was unani- 
mously admitted a member of the Jedforest Club on the 
30th September, 1835. At the general election after the 
passing of the Reform Act, in 1833, he was defeated by 
Pringle of Clifton, by a majority of nine. Re-elected in 
1835, by a large majority, he again sat for the county of Sel- 
kirk, and also in 1841. In the latter year, he was appointed 
one of the Lords of the Treasury, in the ministry of Sir 
Robert Peel, and also a member of the Revenue Inquiry 
Commission. In July, 1845, he resigned office, as he could 
not give his support to the ministerial measure for increas- 
ing the endowment of the Roman Catholic College of May- 
nooth. In January, 1846, he was appointed principal 
keeper of the General Register of Sasines in Scotland. 
Mr Pringle was appointed vice-lieutenant of the county of 
Selkirk in 1830. 

He married his cousin, Agnes Joanna, daughter of Sir 
William Dick, Bart., of Prestonfield, by whom he had 
one son, the late owner of Whytbank and Yair. 

Mr Alexander Pringle died on the 2nd September, 1857. 



^ Vidi Memoir of Bruce of Langlee. 



364 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

PRINGLE OF TORWOODLEE. 

The Pringles of Torwoodlee are descended from William 
Pringle of Smailholm, who had a tack of Caddonlee in 
1488, and one of Torwoodlee, in 1509. He was killed at 
Flodden in 151 3. 

George Pringle of Torwoodlee, eldest son of the above, 
was born in 1505 ; he married Margaret Crighton of Cran- 
ston Riddell. In 1568, John Elliot of Copshaw, with a 
party of 300 Liddesdale reivers, attacked, burnt, and 
pillaged the house of Torwoodlee, and murdered the laird. 

William Pringle of Torwoodlee, who married, in 1571, 
Agnes Heriot of Trabrown; died in 1581, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son. 

Next comes George Pringle of Torwoodlee. In 1607, 
he took steps to avenge the death of his grandfather, and 
summoned the murderers to take their trial for the crime. 
They did not appear, and were outlawed.* He married 
twice; by his first wife, he had a large family. He was 
M.P. for the county of Selkirk from 1617 to 1621. He 
died about the year 1637. 

James Pringle of Torwoodlee, son of the preceding, 
married Jean, daughter of Sir Richard Cockburn of Clerk- 
ington, in 1610. He subsequently married Janet, daughter 
of Sir Lewis Craig of Riccarton, by whom he had a son, 
George, who succeeded him. James Pringle died in 1657. 

George Pringle of Torwoodlee married, in 1654, Janet 
Brodie, and had issue, one son, James. George was a man 
of strong convictions and great strength of character, and 
his attachment to the Presbyterian form of worship exposed 
him to much persecution and suffering. When the Earl of 
Argyle escaped from Edinburgh Castle, after being sen- 
tenced to death, he made straight for the house of Torwood- 
lee, on the night of the 20th December, 1681, and was 
conducted thither by Rev. John Scott, minister of Hawick. 
Mr Pringle gave him shelter, and sent a servant with him 



^ Vide Pitcairn's Criminal Trials. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 365 

to the house of Mr William Veitch, who conveyed him safely 
across the Border. It soon became known that Argyle had 
found refuge with the Laird of Torwoodlee, who, for two 
years afterwards, had to live in concealment. 

In 1683 ^ warrant was issued against him on a charge 
of being implicated in the Rye House plot. He and Sir 
Patrick Hume of Polwarth made their escape to Holland. 
His estates were confiscated, and bestowed upon General 
Drummond of Cromlix. 

When the revolution took place, Mr Pringle at once re- 
turned to Scotland, and was a member of the convention 
which conferred the Crown on William and Mary. By a 
special Act of Parliament his estates were restored to him. 
He died in 1689. 

James Pringle of Torwoodlee, who had suffered at the same 
time as his father, and had been confined both in Edinburgh 
and in the castle of Blackness when quite a lad, married, in 
1690, Isobel Hall of Dunglas. There was one child of the 
marriage, George. 

George Pringle of Torwoodlee, who was an advocate, died 
unmarried in 1780, and was succeeded by his nephew, James, 
son of his younger brother, James Pringle of Bowland, 
writer to the signet, and one of the principal clerks of 
session. It was he who, in 1722, purchased Bowland. He 
died two years before his elder brother, in 1778. 

James Pringle of Torwoodlee, son of James Pringle of 
Bowland, married, in 1782, Elizabeth, daughter of Colonel 
Tod of Drygrange, by whom he had four sons and one 
daughter. He sold Bowland to the Walkers, and bought the 
farms of Buckholm and Williamlaw in Roxburghshire. Mr 
Pringle was educated at Cambridge and Leyden, and studied 
for the bar, but he never practised. When he succeeded to 
Tbrwoodlee, on the death of his uncle, he devoted himself 
entirely to the management of his estate. Mr Pringle was 
convener of the county of Selkirk, and commanded the 
Selkirkshire yeomanry cavalry from the time it was raised, 



366 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



James T. 
Pringle of 
Torwoodlee 
Commander 
R.N. 



D. Pringle of 

Wilton 

Lodge. 



in 1797 ; he was also vice-lieutenant of the county. He died 
in 1840, and his son succeeded him. 

Rear- Admiral James Pringle of Torwoodlee, bom in 1783, 
entered the navy as a first-class volunteer in May^ i797* As 
captain of the ** Sparrowhawk," he captured three French 
privateers off Cherbourg and Malaga. In 1812, when ac- 
tively employed on the coast of Valencia, he was taken 
prisoner by a party of the enemy's dragoons. He attained 
post rank on the ist June, 1812, and accepted the retired 
rank of rear-admiral on the ist October, 1846, and died 
in 1859. 

Jambs ThoMAS Pringle of Torwoodlee, eldest son of the 
admiral, was born on the 29th February, 1832. He entered 
the Royal Navy in May, 1846, and served with Admirals Sir 
Francis Collier and Sir Charles Napier. He was engaged in 
the Burmese war (185 1-2), and received the Indian general 
service medal, with clasp for Pegu. Mr Pringle (then a 
lieutenant) was also present with the Baltic fleet, for which 
service he was decorated with the Baltic medal. In 1862 he 
married Ann Parminter, only daughter of Lieut. -Colonel 
James Lewis Black, 53rd Foot,^ and has a large family. 
Captain Pringle retired with the rank of commander. He is 
a J. P. for the counties of Selkirk and Roxburgh, and deputy- 
lieutenant for the former county. For a good many years he 
has resided with his family in Dresden, but now he has 
returned to Torwoodlee. Captain Pringle joined the Jed- 
forest Club on the 23rd July, 1872. 

PRINGLE OF WILTON LODGE. 
David Pringle of Wilton Lodge, son of Alexander Pringle 
of Whytbank and Mary, daughter of Sir Alexander Dick of 

^ Lieutenant John Lewis Black was junior lieutenant in the ist or Royal 
Scots regiment at the battles of Quatre Bras and Waterloo, where he was 
wounded, He previously served in the 49th Foot, and was brought in 
from the half-pay list in February, 1815. He became major of the 53rd 
Foot in 1844 ' served in the Sutlej campaign with that regiment ; and was 
engaged at the battles of Buddiwal. Aliwal, and Sobraon. He received 
the Waterloo and Sntlej medals. Vide Dalton's Waterloo Roll-Call. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 367 

Prestonfield, his wife, the youngest of eleven children, was 
born at Yair in 1806. He was first educated at Selkirk, he 
and his brothers riding the distance daily on their ponies 
from Yair. He was afterwards sent to the grammar school 
at Durham, and thence went to Haileybury, where he dis- 
tinguished himself by gaining the gold medal. He sailed for 
Calcutta in 1825, on board the ill-fated East Indiaman *'The 
Kent," which had on board the headquarters of the 31st Foot, 
A graphic description of the burning vessel and the sub- 
sequent rescue of the crew and passengers is given in a letter 
from David Pringle to his father. 

Extracts from the letter are as follows : — 

" On the mdming of the ist of March it blew a severe gale from the 
W.S.W., which had been gradually increasing since three o'clock. We 
were then about 400 miles from land, From so great a number of soldiers 
being on board, an unusual quantity of spirits had been shipped, and the 
spirit room being unable to contain it, some puncheons had been placed 
in the after-hold. One of the casks having been shaken from its place, the 
third mate, who had charge of the lower decks, went down to fix it. For 
this purpose he called for some wood, but, while he was waiting for it, a 
sudden lurch of the vessel threw the lanthom (which he had in his hand) 
between two casks, the hoops of one of which were loose. This allowed 
a drop of spirits to reach the light, and the whole cask was immediately 
in flames ; this was the origin of the disastrous events that followed. As 
the ship, from its blowing so hard, had been rolling very much all the 
morning, I had not risen from my cot when the alarm was given. But. 
of course. I immediately did so, and the scene which presented itself was 
truly awful I The soldiers, who had remained below during the morning 
that they might not be in the way, now flocked upon deck, and rendered 
every possible assistance, in handing up water, displaying the most perfect 
coolness, and performing, with the greatest r^^larity, every command 
of their officers. Captain Cobb evinced the utmost coolness in giving 
his orders. Colonel Fearon and Major M'Gregor, also, were unre- 
mitting in their exertions to make the soldiers as useful as possible; 
but a very small portion of them could, comparatively speaking, be 
employed ; and those who were not so, sat with the utmost apparent 
resignation on the fore part of the ship, expecting thus to have the 
easier death of being blown up with the magazine, which was immediately 
below them. Great, however, as the exertions made by every one were, 
the fire still gained ground. 

I shall not attempt to describe the agonising scene which now presents 
itself in the after cabins, where a considerable number of the women 
and children had assembled Great was the state of helplessness in 
which Providence left us that He might the mora fully lead ns to feel 

2B 



368 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

our dependence upon Him, when the cry of "a sail," given from the 
mast head — though it could not be perceived in what direction the 
vessel was bearing — ^raised that hope of life which even to the last we 
are led to cherish. I confess, under such an accumulation of adverse 
circumstances, I had never for a moment indulged it, and, even now, 
my expectations were in no degree raised. In a short time, however, 
the vessel was distinctly descried to be bearing towards us. On seeing 
the sail we immediately fired our guns of distress and hoisted our 
Union Jack, and we had every reason to hope that both were remarked. 
The captain now gave orders for letting down the boats, and it was at 
once determined that the women and children should be the first to 
embark in them, though, from the state of the sea, it was, in all 
probability only consigning them to a more immediate death. The first 
boat that was lowered contained a number of the ladies, some being 
the soldiers' wives. The remaining boats were now lowered, and our 
next endeavour was to get the rest of the women and children into 
them. In accomplishing this, many truly agonising spectacles took 
place ; women being lowered with infants at their breasts, and often 
falling into the water through inability to reach the boat. The children 
sometimes died in this painful process. Of these instances, none was 
more afifecting than that of a young lady, who, from affection to her 
father, had refused at first to leave the ship, and who, in the manner 
described, was six different times under the waves, while her wretched 
parent had the agony of beholding his daughter hanging, as it were, 
between life and death, without being able to fender any assistance. 
But the Almighty preserved her. Out of fifty-one females only one 
perished, but out of seventy-four children there were twenty-one deaths. 
I myself escaped in the fifth boat, which I reached by swimming, 
having dropt myself from the stern window. Though my danger after 
reaching the boat was very little diminished, yet I am grieved to say 
that from fear of the boat being swamped I felt almost totally regard- 
less of those who were perishing around me, so selfish did the love of 
life render me. 

The day was now far advanced, and the danger to those who still were 
on board was every hour increasing. However, the remaining survivors 
had the opportunity of leaving the ship so late as ten o'clock, about 
which time the captain of the " Kent," and the colonel, the major, and 
a few remaining ofiicers safely reached the brig. Fifty-three individ- 
uals perished, either from the swamping of the boats, or by rashness ; and 
about twenty remained to meet the awful choice of deaths which two 
such alternatives afforded. The most awful scene still remained to 
be witnessed, when the flames burst out, and the rigging caught fire. 
Some wretched individuals were seen ascending the ratlines, only to be 
precipitated into the burning mass below. About half-past one o'clock the 
ship blew up, and we were left to reflect upon a scene of which the 
recollection was all that remained. The vessel which Providence had 
provided for our safety proved to be the " Cambria," a brig of 200 tons, 
laden with a very valuable cargo of quicksilver, and bound for Vera Cruz. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 369 

No terms of praise can express our sense of the kindness we received from 
all on board the vessel. Our deliverers distinguished themselves no less 
for their gratitude to God in having been made the means of saving us 
than for their unexampled charity and kindness to each and all of us." 

His Royal Highness the Duke of York thanked Captain Cook and the 
crew of the "Cambria" for their humanity and gallant exertions in 
saving the lives of those on board the " Kent." The Hon. East India 
Company expressed their satisfaction by presenting Captain Cook with a 
^1000 bank note, and the officers of the 31st Regiment who were saved 
presented the captain and mate (of the " Cambria") each with a piece of 
silver plate. A medal was also struck, at the expense of the towns of 
Falmouth, Truro, Helston, Penryn, and St Ives for the crew of the brig 
"Cambria," "as a recognition of their services in the rescuing of the 
crew and troops of the ' Kent ' East Indiaman, destroyed by fire in the 
Bay of Biscay, Mar. i, 1825." Names on edge. 

Having arrived safely in the "Cambria," commanded by 
Captain Cook, who so nobly rescued them from the burning 
wreck, Mr Pringle made the unwelcome discovery that he 
had lost everything, save his Bible and watch. The same 
year he sailed again for the east in the ship "Charles 
Grant," and after a prosperous voyage arrived in India. 
For a year he studied law in Calcutta — the usual routine 
for young Bengal civilians. He married, in January, 1827, 
Frances, daughter of Captain Tod of Alderstone, in whose 
ship his father, Alexander Pringle, had returned home from 
India. Almost immediately after his marriage, he was 
ordered to proceed . up country to Banglepore, where he 
acted as assistant magistrate. Here he remained for 
three years, and at this station his eldest son was 
born on the third anniversary of the burning of the 
^*Kent." In 1831 Mr Pringle removed to Cuttack as 
joint magistrate and deputy collector of the centre division 
of that district, and served in that capacity for several 
years. From this, he went to Monghyr for a short time, 
but was soon promoted to be magistrate and collector of 
the Zillah of Mymunsing. In February, 1839, he visited 
England, on a three years* furlough, taking a passage in 
the "Mount Stuart Elphinstone" Indiaman. Immediately 
upon his arrival in London, Mr Pringle hastened to Scot- 
land, and resided at Friarshaugh, nearly opposite Melrose 



370 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Abbey. Here, among the old associations of his early 
youth, be enjoyed to the full the society of his numerous 
Border friends and relations. He returned to India in the 
beginning of 1842. The last appointment he held was that 
of civil and sessions judge at Purneah. In 1851, he left 
India, and retired with a pension. Mrs Pringle died at 
Pau, on the 24th February, 1856. In 1858, Mr Pringle 
married his second wife, Mary, only daughter and heiress 
of James Anderson of Wilton Lodge, near Hawick, and 
there he resided. He added to and improved the house, 
and spent a large sum upon general improvements on the 
estate. Although he had retired from his profession, his 
active mind was still at work, and among the poor of 
Hawick he found ample scope for his charity and the full 
play of a generous nature. Mr Pringle appears to have 
become a member of the Club in 1862. As a member of 
the parochial board of Wilton, he took, as might be expec- 
ted, a keen interest in the condition of the poor. The 
Hawick building society found a great supporter in Mr 
Pringle, who was one of its most active members. Truly 
religious, without the shadow of bigotry, he enjoyed life» 
without the dread of approaching dissolution. He was. 
cheerful and courteous to all around him, and possessed 
to the last all that gaiety of spirit which was so character- 
istic. When the end came, at the age of 83, on the 22nd 
December, 1889, he fell asleep in perfect peace, having^ 
almost to the last listened to portions of the Book which 
was the guide of his life, and his comfort in the hour of 
death. 

The character of Mr Pringle's life work was not such as 
to die with him. In illustration of this, I may mention an 
allusion to him in the course of an address on the ancient 
national buildings of Scotland, in the Town Hall, Hawick, 
by the late Lord Napier and Ettrick : — 

"Mr Pringle," he said, "was an old world man, who remembered 
Scotland without a steamship or railway; who had seen a Scotch elec^ 
tion before the first reform bill ; who had gone from Leith to Londoa 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 37' 

on board the smack ; who had fixed his flint upon the 12th of August ; 
who had talked with the veterans of Elliott and Rodney ; and who had 
been carried to see Walter Scott at Ashiestiel, when Abbotsford, with 
all its splendours and its sorrows, was still a dream. He had received 
a heritage of wholesome faculties and virtues from a long line of honest 
ancestors — the love of country, the love of letters, the love of God. His 
was a quiet life, spent in duty in India and at home — useful, but not 
obtrusive — yet there was a moment in that life which might well appal 
the stoutest heart. The fires of a burning ship flashed upon his early 
career, and revealed that, in a gentle form, there dwelt the faith, the 
courage, and the candour of a Christian hero. The scene should not be for- 
gotten on the banks of the Teviot and the Tweed, for such scenes become 
the school of future valour and devotion in our people. It is another 
Scotchman who speaks, and the place is the deck of the burning " Kent/' 
' One young gentleman,' says Sir Duncan Macgregor, ' having calmly 
asked me my opinion respecting the state of the vessel, I told him that 
I thought we should be prepared to sleep that night in Eternity, and I 
shall never forget the peculiar fervour with which he replied, as he 
pressed my hand in his : ' My heart is filled with the peace of God ; 
yet, though I know it is foolish, I dread exceedingly the last struggle.' 
That youth was Mr David Pringle. He devoted the hours which he 
believed to be his last to the consolation of the sufiering women and 
children around him. He survived those hours of trial for sixty-four 
years, and during all those years the same spirit of humanity shone 
with steadfast lustre in his soul." 



PRINGLE OF CARRIBER. 

Major David Pringle obtained his first commission in Major D. 
1806 in the 7th Regiment of Bengal Native Infantry. He Carnber. 
was born in East Lothian in 1790, and the year he left home 
for India his mother died. The major had five sisters and 
two brothers. One brother died in India, and the other was 
Robert Pringle, who for a long period occupied Bairnkine. 
Three of his sisters — Agnes, Janet, and Ellen — never married. 
Isabella became the wife of Dr James Richmond, Madras 
army, and was brother of the minister of Southdean. Mary 
married David SherrifF, lieutenant 24th B.N. I., and second 
in command of the 2nd Rampoorah local battalion. David 
Pringle in the Army List of 1819 appears as adjutant of this 
local regiment. Mary left, issue, a son, now General SherrifF, 
and a daughter. David Pringle was elected a member of the 
Jedforest Club in 1830, and retired from the service with the 



372 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

« 

rank of major in 1835. 0° ^^^ ^^^^ of March, 1836, John 
Pringle of Carriber died at Bairnkine, and the major 
succeeded to the property. On his death he left Carriber to 
his nephew John (son of his brother, Robert Pringle, Bairn- 
kine), who for some years has been factor to the Earl of 
Home, in Lanarkshire. Robert Pringle married Margaret, 
daughter of Peter Brown of Rawflat. Mr Brown, who was 
an original member of the Jedforest Club, died suddenly at 
Edgerston on the 15th October, 1822. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 373 



M 



CHAPTER XIV. 

RHIND. 
^DUFF RHIND was an advocate, and was sheriff- M. Rhind. 



substitute for Wigtonshire. He married Jane, the 
second daughter of William Oliver of Dinlabyre. She died 
in the year 1833, leaving an only daughter, Jane Oliver, 
who died in 1854. ^^ became a member of the Jedforest 
Club on the 25th of September, 1833, a few weeks previous 
to the death of Mrs Rhind, which event severed his con- 
nection with Roxburghshire and also with the Club. 

RIDDELL OF MUSELEE. 

This family is a branch of the ancient family of Riddell 
of Riddell. Andrew, father of the first baronet of that ilk, 
had a son, William, who obtained a charter of Muselee in 
1618, and one of his descendants acquired Bewlie. John 
Riddell of Muselee married, in 1706, Margaret, eldest 
daughter of Walter Riddell, tenant in North Sinton, and 
had the following family : — Patrick, who succeeded ; 
William, born 1713 ; Barbara, born 1715 ; John, born 
1717; Alexander, bom 1718. 

Patrick Riddell of Muselee, born in 1707, married, in 1752, 
Margaret, daughter of Charles Balfour of Broadmeadows, 
by whom he had six sons and one daughter. He died in 
1772, at the jage of 65 years. John, his eldest son, died 
young. Charles, who succeeded, was born in 1755, and 
never married. He was for many years chamberlain to 
the Duke of Buccleuch, and resided at Branxholm. He 
was a major of militia, and died when upwards of 90 years 
of age, and was succeeded by the eldest son of his niece, 
Capt. Hutton Riddell, after mentioned, who sold the Dry- 
burgh estate owned by the family, together with Bewlie 
and Bewlie moor. 



374 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Walter, who came third in the family, married a daughter 
of Dr Somerville of Jedburgh,^ and had issue, a son, Patrick, 
who died unmarried, and a daughter, Mary, born 15th June, 
1809. She married George Hutton, banker, Newark (a son 
of George Hutton of Charlton - on - Trent, by Frances, 
daughter of Bertram Mitford of Mitford Castle), and by 
this marriage had a son, George Hutton Riddell, now of 
Muselee, late captain i6th Lancers, born 1836. Thomas, 
the fourth son, entered the East India Company's service, 
and, after rising to the rank of major, died in India in 1802. 

John Riddell. JoHN, the fifth son, was an original member of the Jed- 
forest Club, and farmed Timpendean at that period (1810). 
Mr Riddell afterwards removed to Grahamslaw, and finally 
became collector of taxes. He died in Jedburgh, unmarried, 
in September, 1840. 

RITCHIE OF THE HOLMES. 

The family of Ritchie were located in Peeblesshire for a 
period of four generations. They are descended from John 
Ritchie, bom in 1645, tenant of Kirkurd, in that county. He 
died in 1703. 

Daniel Ritchie was the son of James Ritchie, tenant of 
Blyth, Peeblesshire, who was great-grandson of John Ritchie 
already referred to. He was born May i6th, 1816, and 
educated for the medical profession. Mr Ritchie served in 
the Baltic during the Russian war as a surgeon in the Royal 
Navy, for which he received the Baltic medal. He married, 
June 25th, 1857, Ja°®^ daughter of Andrew Roy, brewer, 
Alloa, and succeeded to the Blackwood estate in Victoria on 
the death of his elder brother in 1858. The children of this 
marriage are as follows: — 

Janet Agnes, married, in 1892, A. A. Craven Nelson, late 
captain 5th Dragoon Guards, son of Lieut.-General Sir A. 
A. Nelson, K.C.B. 

1 Vidi Somerville Memoir. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 375 

Robert Blackwood Ritchie, born 1861, married, 1893, 
Lilian Mary, daughter of the Hon. William Ross of the 
Gums, Victoria. 

Lily Catherine, married, 1884, George Buchanan of Arden, 
eldest son of Major Herbert Buchanan of Arden. She 
married, secondly, in June, 1898, Dr George Robertson, 
son of Col. John Robertson, CLE. 

Daniel Norman Ritchie, born 1864 — of whom presently. 
Anna Roy, was married, 1896, to Arthur Ritchie, of the ist 
Battalion Scottish Rifles. 

Daniel Norman Ritchie was bom at Blackwood, D. N. Ritchie 
Victoria, on November 8th, 1864. ^^^ father and mother Holmes, 
returned to Scotland in 1866. He was educated at the 
Edinburgh Academy, Rugby, and the Oxford Military 
College. Mr Ritchie has spent a considerable portion of 
his time in travel and shooting abroad. He bought The 
Holmes in 1894, ^"^ after demolishing the old house, built 
a new one. The Holmes is a small but interesting estate, 
situated on the Roxburghshire side of the Tweed opposite to 
Dryburgh. It has been associated from time immemorial 
with the Abbey, being a portion of the old church lands of 
the monastery. In 1587 the lands were annexed to the 
Crown, and in 1604 James VI. granted to John, 7th Earl 
of Mar, the Abbey lands of Dryburgh. The estate, with 
various lands attached thereto, was sold in 1682 to Sir 
Patrick Scott, younger of Ancrum, who again sold it to 
Thomas Haliburton, advocate, of Newmains. The next 
owner appears to have been a person of the name of John 
Laidlaw,^ who left The Holmes to his daughter. She 
married a Mr Somerville, and their son succeeded, and sold 
The Holmes in 1786, before he left Scotland for America. 

The purchaser, David, nth earl of Buchan, entailed the 
estates of Dryburgh and The Holmes on his natural son. 
Sir David Erskine, who succeeded thereto in 18 10. Sir 

1 At one time there was an old sundial in the grounds near the house, on 
which was carved the letters, J. L., 1711 — t.f., John Laidlaw. 



376 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



David died without issue in 1839, when the estates passed 
to Henry David, 12th earl of Buchan. He died in 18569 
when they descended to his granddaughter, the Hon. 
John^ Berry, who was the heiress of entail. She married 
the Rev. George Eden Biber-Erskine, at whose death the 
estates were inherited by George O. H. Biber-Erskine, who 
sold The Holmes. 

ROBSON AFTERWARDS (ROBSON-SCOTT). 
Robson is a familiar name in Roxburghshire and North- 
umberland, and is also that of an old Border clan.^ It 
appears in charters and documents of the fifteenth century, 
and also in connexion with Border expeditions. The 
Robsons for generations have been pastoral farmers, occu- 
pying large and important farms, and have aided in the 
improvement of the well-known Cheviot breed of sheep. 
^ James Robson of Samieston, and tenant of Belford and 
Chatto, married, in 1769, Sarah Alexander, by whom he 
had four sons and several daughters. One of these 
daughters, Frances, married James Douglas,' physician in 
Kelso; another, Sarah, married Thomas Thomson of 
Bughtrig. The sons were named respectively Charles, 
John, William, and Selby. Some account of them is 
given below. Mr Robson died at Chatto on the 4th of 
December, 1798. 



Charles 
Robson of 
Samieston. 



I. Charles Robson op Samieston, born in 1770, married 
Martha, eldest daughter of Major ^ John Rutherfurd of 
Mossburnford. Mr Robson was an original member of 
the Jedforest Club, and was one of those gentlemen who 
met together to form the association on the 2nd of May, 
1810, at the Spread Eagle, Jedburgh. Soon after the 
formation of the local militia, he figures as one of senior 



1 Vide Peerage. 

* Vide Hodson's History of Northumberland. 

* Douglas of Kelso. 

* Vide Rutherfurds of Fairnlngton and Edgerston. 



ANNALS, OF A BORDER CLUB. 377 

captains in the 2nd Regiment of Roxburghshire local militia. 
The regiment was commanded by Colonel Sir J. B. Riddell, 
Bart., the headquarters being Kelso. Major Rutherfurd, 
who had been collector of supply for 35 years, had, on 
account of age and failing health, sent in his resignation. 
Charles Robson of Samieston was proposed as his successor 
by Mr Rutherfurd of Edgerston, and seconded by Major 
William Elliot of Harwood.^ Scott of Harden, however, 
proposed, and Sir William Eliott of Stobs seconded, the 
appointment of William Scott, junior, of Raeburn. Mr 
Robson proved to be the favourite candidate, and was 
elected by a majority of seven votes. He died in 1830.' 

II. John, the second son, was tenant of Chatto. He was John Robson 
born March 13, 1773, and married Esther, younger daughter 

of Thomas • Scott of Peel; and, like his brother Charles, 
assisted in the formation of the Club. At the close of the 
last century and the beginning of this, when the Frenchmen 
were expected any day to land on our shores, Mr Robson, 
with many other young men, joined the western troop of 
Roxburghshire yeomanry cavalry, commanded by Major 
William Elliot of Harwood. This troop served with dis- 
tinction in Ireland against the French during the rebellion 
of 1798. Mr Robson, who was also tenant of Belford, died 
there in 1834. ^^ ^®^' issue — of whom presently. 

III. William Robson was born on ist of October, 1774, 
at Belford, and died in Sutherlandshire. 

IV. Selby Robson, tenant of Bughtrig, died young. 

Dr James Robson • Scott of Ashtrees was the eldest son Dr Robson- 
of the above John Robson. He was born at Belford in ^shtr^. 
1 814, and was educated for the medical profession. At 
the age of twenty-two he went out to Madras in the East 
India Company's Service, and was appointed one of the 



1 EUiot of Harwood and Robson of Samieston married sisters. 
s There is a small-sized portrait of Mr Robson at Newton. It was 
taken about the commencement of the century. 



378 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

assistants in the General Hospital. In 1838 he acted as 
assistant surgeon to H.M. 39th Regiment, and in 1840 he 
was appointed to the 4th Madras Native Infantry, and ob- 
tained the rank of surgeon in the same regiment in 1853. 
When he retired from the service in 1858, he assumed the 
name of Scott in conjunction with that of Robson, having 
succeeded to the property of Ashtrees, through his maternal 
uncle, John Scott of Riccaltoun. Ashtrees was previously 
possessed by his great -uncle, John Scott, who was factor to 
Capt. John Rutherfurd of Edgerston in 1754. Vide Rutherfutd 
Papers. At one time Ashtrees was a place of importance, 
being the site of a strong tower and fortalice, of which the 
foundations can still be traced. It is situated in the parish 
of Southdean, surrounded by the lands 6i the Earl of Home. 
Dr Robson-Scott, on his final return home, joined the Berwick- 
shire Naturalists' Club, and in the researches of that society, 
he took more than an ordinary interest, having been from 
his youth ardently attached to the sciences of botany and 
ornithology. He was voted president of the club in 1874, 
and that year delivered the annual address at Kelso. He 
married Marianne, daughter of James Grant of Correemony, 
Inverness-shire, and had a son, James, late major 3rd 
Hussars, the present proprietor of Ashtrees, and two 
daughters, one of whom is married to John Corse Scott of 
Synton. In 1861, he became a member of the Jedforest 
Club, and in his person were represented the Robsons and 
Scotts, both families who contributed original members. 
As a justice of the peace and commissioner of supply he 
took his share of county business. After a very short ill- 
ness, contracted when on a visit to his brother at Newton » 
he di^d on the 22nd September, 1883, and was laid in the 
family burial place in Hownam churchyard. 

Thos.Robson Thomas Robson-Scott of Newton, second son of John 
Newton. Robson, was born in 1815. In 1857 he married Mary 

Anne, daughter of the Rev. T« Wright, minister of Oxnam. Kf t^ 
Mr Robson-Scott was a well-known authority on everything * 



n 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 379 

connected with sheep farming. He carried on the lease of 
Lethem, which had been long in the Scott family, besides 
several other extensive sheep farms. He was a man of unas- 
suming manners ; sound in judgment ; a good landlord, and 
a kind master. He died at Newton on the 19th October, 
18931 And was buried in the churchyard of Bedrule. He 
was succeeded by his son, 

John A. Robson-Scott of Newton and Menslaws ; was j. a. Robsoir 
born in 1858, and was educated at Fettes College and the Newton 
University of Edinburgh. He has visited America, New 
Zealand, and Australia ; and from the latter he has brought 
home a fine collection of stuffed birds, all shot by himself, 
among which are some rare and beautiful specimens. Mr 
Scott farms his own estate, and is a successful breeder of 
weight • carrying hunters. He has now turned his attention 
to thorough-breds, with every chance of success. He mar- 
ried, on the 19th October, 1887, Margaret Suter, second 
daughter of William Lang,^ and with other children has a 
son, Thomas Selby, born in 1894. 

Thomas Robson-Scott, a younger son of Thomas Robson- T. Robson 

Scott of 
Scott of Newton, was born at Newton in 1866, and was Lanton 

educated at the Edinburgh Academy. He married, in 1892, Tower. 

Florence Jane, daughter of William Lang {vide Lang ^ 

Memoir). He farms Lethem, of which the Scotts have been • 

tenants for several generations, also Southdean and Peel. 

Mr Robson-Scott purchased Lanton Tower, with its adjoining 

lands, in the neighbourhood of Jedburgh. He joined the 

Jedforest Club in 1898. 

ROSS. 
Lieut. - General James Kerr Ross, K. H. This dis- Capt. James 

K Rosa 

tinguished officer, when a captain in the army, joined the afterwanls 
Jedforest Club, 3rd September, 1828. He had recently ^»«"*-^^- 

, , , , - Ross, K.H. 

marned, and occupied, as tenant, the house of Hunthill, 
^ VitU John Lang of Overwells and Selkirk. 



38o ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

which at that period belonged to George Bell,^ his brother- 
in-law. His first commission is dated 19th March, 1807, 
and his last — that of lieut.-general — 19th November, i87o, 
Lieut. -General Ross served in the Peninsula with the 92nd 
Highlanders; was present at Arroyo de Molino, Almaraz, 
and the minor engagements resulting from the operations 
during the last siege of Badajoz. He was also at the 
defence of Alba de Tormes, and at the battle of Vittoria, 
and the Pyrenees, where he was wounded in the left leg 
by a musket ball. He served as aide-de-camp to Sir John 
Buchan at the battle of Nivelle and the Nive, also at the 
battles of Orthes and Aire, and the final fight at Toulouse. 
It was after this that peace with France was declared, and 
Napoleon Bonaparte was sent to Elba. In the following 
year, it will be remembered, Napoleon re-entered Paris and 
re-established the empire. After a council of war, the Duke 
of Wellington was placed at the head of the British army, 
with orders to take to the Netherlands the best troops avail- 
able, and particularly those regiments which had served 
throughout the Peninsular war. The 92nd was one of the 
first on the roll, and marched into Brussels under Lieut.- 
Col. Cameron with their old comrades of the 42nd. Ross 
at this time was one of the senior lieutenants; at Quatre 
Bras, i6th June, 1815, he was wounded, and on the i8th, 
at Waterloo, he was again wounded. Notwithstanding, he 
marched on Paris with the 92nd Highlanders and assisted 
in its capture. He did not obtain his rank of captain until 
22nd November, 181 8. He was transferred to the 42nd 
Regiment in 1821, and served with it until he retired on 
half- pay on 27th December, 1827. 

For his war services, Capt. Ross received the much- 
prized Waterloo medal ; he was nominated a knight of the 
Royal Hanoverian Guelphic Order, and in 1848 he became 
entitled to the silver war medal, with six clasps, for his 
services in the Peninsula. 

1 Vide Bell of Hunthill. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 381 

In 1827 he married Margaret,^ second daughter of James 
M*Inroy of Lude, county of Perth. Three years later he 
gave up Hun thill as a residence, and left the county. 

This branch of the family of Ross has been settled in 
Galloway for a long period. 

Andrew Ross, who possessed the estates of Balkail, Bal- 
sarrock, and Balgreen, all in the county of Wigton, had 
three sons: (i) Alexander of Balkail, grandfather of Field- 
Marshal Sir Hew Dalrymple Ross, G.C.B. ; (2) Andrew 
of Balsarrock, grandfather of Admiral Sir John Ross, R.N., 
and great-grandfather of Capt. Sir John Ross, R.N., both 
distinguished in Polar expeditions and researches; and (3) 
James Ross of Balgreen, who married Isabella Allan, daugh- 
ter of Captain Allan, R.N., whose son was Andrew, colonel 
in the army. Andrew Ross married Isabella Macdonnell of 
Aberhallader, and had the following family: — Alexander 
James, lieut. - colonel in the army; Adolphus M*Dowall, 
M.D. — of whom presently; James Kerr, of Laurence Park, 
county of Stirling, lieut .-general, ut supra; Isabella, married 
George Bell of Hunthill; Mary Anne, married Dr Bartlet 
Buchanan ; Eleanora Jane, married Robert Bell,* advocate- 
procurator of the Church of Scotland and sheriff of the 
counties of Berwick and Haddington; Margaret, married 
David Welsh of Collin, county of Wigton, and of Nuthill, 
county of Dumfries ; and Clementina Blair, married Thomas 
Corrie of Newton Aird, county of Dumfries. 

Adolphus M*Dowall Ross, M.D., of Edinburgh, married, 
in 1 81 9, Catherine Hume, and left, with other issue, a son, 
Andrew, who married a German lady. There was one son 
of the marriage, James Alexander Ross Hume, now of Nine- 
wells. 

RUSSELL. 
In the month of April, 1814, in the city of Edinburgh, 

^ Her mother was Elizabeth, daughter of William Moore, governor of 
St Eustatius. 
» Vide Bell. 



382 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

F. Russell. was born Francis Russell, son of Dr James Russell, professor 

of clinical surgery in the University, by his wife Eleanor, 
daughter of William Oliver of Dinlabyre. The professor 
was a well-known man; he lived in Abercromby Place, 
and gave fortnightly suppers, at which all the wit and 
talent of Edinburgh used to assemble. Frank Russell was 
called to the Scottish bar in 1836, and for the next twenty 
years was a familiar figure in the Parliament House. His 
ideas and politics were decidedly liberal. He attached 
himself with special ardour to the non-intrusionist side of 
the ecclesiastical controversy which ended in the disruption 
of 1843, and the formation of the Free Church. He kept, 
however, to his professional career, although not, strictly 
speaking, as a practising lawyer. In 1856 he became 
secretary to Lord Advocate Moncrie£f, in which office he 
continued until i860, when he was appointed sheri£f- sub- 
stitute of Roxburghshire. In 1863 his name was incor- 
porated in the list of members of the Jedforest Club. In 
the year 1885, ^^ Russell's health began to give way, 
and he gave up his appointment as sheriff-substitute. Peter 
Spiers was his successor, and to him Mr Russell sold his 
residence, Jedbank. He then went to reside in Edinburgh, 
and lived in a pretty cottage, Hollywood, in Canaan Lane, 
and there he spent nine peaceful years in happy retirement. 
He died in 1895, ag^ 81. Mr Russell was twice married; 
his first wife was the only daughter of Colonel Archibald 
Campbell, C.B., and his second the daughter of George Ross 
of Woodburn, advocate, son of Sir Charles Ross of Balna- 
gown. 

RUTHERFURD OF EDGERSTON. 

The origin of this old Border name and family, like 
many others, is traditional. One of the early Scotch kings 
is said to have been called Ruther; he was guided through 
a ford on the Tweed by an ancestor of the family, and, in 
return for his services, the king conferred upon him the 
lands adjacent, which were called Rutherfurd. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 383 

The name appears for the first time as Hugo Rutherfiird, 
in a grant of lands in Northumberland, in 1215. Sir 
Robert de Rutherfurd is mentioned in an old deed, dated 
from Jedburgh Abbey, 13th July, 1464. 

James Rutherfurd, of that ilk, and the lands and lordship 
of Edgerston, &c., is in the description set forth in a 
charter by King James the Fourth, dated 15th January, 
1492. This James was appointed one of the Commissioners 
for pacifying and arranging the Border marches. He also 
got a charter under the great seal for Wells to himself and 
Richard Rutherfurd, his grandson ; failing whom, the estate 
was to pass to his second son and apparent heir. He died 
in 1493. Philip Rutherfurd, the eldest son, who predeceased 
his father, entered into marriage with Elizabeth, daughter 
of Sir Walter Ker of Cessford, and had issue. 

Richard Rutherfurd, of that ilk, succeeded his grandfather, 
in 1493, and died in 1502. He was succeeded by his 
sister — 

Helen Rutherfurd, of that ilk.^ This lady was married 
four times, but left no children. Her first husband was 
Sir John Forman of Davine, Her second. Sir Thomas 
Ker of Mersington, who was slain shortly after his marriage 
by the Rutherfurds. Her third, Andrew Rutherfurd of 
Hunthill; and her last, Patrick Hume of Brumhous. 
Christian, Helen's sister, married James Stuart of Traquair. 
She established her claim as heir of line, and obtained the 
lands of Wells and Rutherfurd. 

Richard Rutherfurd of Edgerston succeeded about the 
year 1558, and married Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Rutherford of Hunthill.' He died, and was succeeded by 

1 Helen married John Forman in 1502. In a deed dated the xoth of 
November, she describes Thomas Ker of Mersington as her dearest 
spouse. Andrew Rutherford of Hunthill is called her spouse in a 
parchment, dated xoth August, 1529, and Patrick Hume of Bromehous, 
her fourth and last husband, who survived her, is mentioned in this 
capacity, in an Edgerston deed of 1536. 

* " Agreement between the Kers and the Rutherfurds to lay aside all 
their deidly feids, preceding their compromise entered into at Ancarame 

2C 



384 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Kichard Rutherfurd of Exigerston. He married Jean, 
daughter of William Elliot in Hartsgarth, and had a son, 
Thomas— of whom hereafter — and a daughter, Margaret, 
married to Thomas Haliburton of Newmains, as his first 
wife. 

Thomas Rutherfurd of Edgerston was served heir in 
1605. ^^ married his cousin, a daughter of William Elliot 
of Larriston by his wife Mary, daughter of Sir Walter 
Scott of Buccleuch and Lady Margaret Douglas. He was a 
man of a restless disposition and marauding habits, and is 
described as " a terror to the Borders ; " he was familiarly 
called the '* black laird." As a young man, at the battle 
or raid of the Red Swire, on July 7th, 1575, he took a 
prominent part, leading the " Rotherfurds " and the Jed- 
burgh men with great courage, and securing for his country 
a victory over the English. 

Richard Rutherfurd of Edgerston succeeded his father, 
died unmarried, and was succeeded by his brother — 

Robert Rutherfurd of Edgerston, who married, as his 
£rst wife, Marion Riddell, and as his second Elizabeth, a 



Spittell, on 6th June, 1560, anent the slaughter of William Rutherfurd 
of Longnewtown by Robert Ker of Newhall, for the assythement of which 
it is agreed that Sir Andrew Ker of Littledean shall satisfy George 
Rutherfurd of Langnewtoun, son of the said William, before the first 
day of June next coming, or else to pay to him 500 merks ; and that the 
said Robert shall come before the congregation, time of the preaching 
in the Kirk of Ancaram, upon Sononday, the 22nd day of May instant, 
and offer the sword to the said George, asking God's mercy, and him 
and his friends' forgiveness, according to the practik and fassoun of 
the country ; and anent the slaughter of John Rutherfurd in Edgerston 
and the mutilation of John Rutherfurd there by Sir Andrew Ker and 
his friends, it is agreed that Andrew Ker, son and apparent heir to 
Robert of Newhall, or failing him by decease, his next brother shall 

<x>mplete marriage in face of the oongregation with Rutherfurd. 

daughter of Philip Rutherfurd in Edgerston, and failing of her by 
decease, then with any gentle woman of the surname of Rutherfurd, at 
the sight of Richard Rutherfurd of Edgerston ; and for the slaughter of 
Ker of Corbethouse by John Rutherford of Hunthill and his friends, the 
same form of satisfaction is to be observed." (1560.) — Edgerston Papers. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 385 

daughter of TurnbuU of Mynto. By this lady he had a 
large family. 

John Rutherfurd of Edgerstoq, upon the death of his 
father, became the owner of the estate. He married, in 
1643, Barbara, daughter of John Abemethy, bishop of 
Caithness, and minister of Jedburgh, by his wife Ann, 
daughter of Sir J. Murray of Philiphaugh. He raised a 
troop of horse, and fought for Charles L, and was present 
at the capture of Newcastle in 1640. He again appeared 
in the field at the battle of Preston, and afterwards took a 
prominent part in tjbe hard-fought battle of Dunbar in 1650, 
where he was severely wounded, and his brave troop nearly 
annihilated. At the restoration, Charles II. made him one 
of the chief commissioners of the Crown, with the command 
of a troop of horse, *' to enforce, if necessary, the keeping 
of good order on the Borders.'* His eldest son, John, died 
before him; and the second, Andrew, succeeded. 

Andrew Rutherfurd of Edgerston was served heir to the 
estate on the death of his father in 1682, and entailed it. 
He died, unmarried, in 1718, at the age of 71. 

Thomas, his third son — of whom presently. 

Robert, the fourth son, married a daughter of Murray of 
Philiphaugh, and acquired the estate of Bowland. 

Thomas Rutherfurd of Edgerston succeeded his brother 
Andrew, in 1718. During his lifetime he acquired the lands 
of Bonjedward and Mounthooly, together with the estates of 
Hunthill and Scraesburgh. He is designed as Thomas 
Rutherfurd of Wells, in 1703. He married Susanna, daugh- 
ter and heiress of Walter Riddell of Mynto. Susanna 
Riddell, Lady Rutherfurd, is mentioned as a widow in an 
agreement with her son, Sir John, regarding her provision, 
dated at Jedburgh, 13th February, 1722. It may be as- 
sumed, therefore, that Thomas Rutherfurd died about 1720. 

Among the Edgerston Papers there is an acknowledgment, dated at 
Ancrum Bridge, 4th July, 1648, from Archibald Elliot, " for a sufficient 
horseman and armes for the haill lands of Edgerston, and pay conforme 
to the ordinence of Parliament." 



386 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Sir John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, eldest son of Thomas^ 
succeeded. He was knighted by Queen Anne, in 1710, 
and married in the same year to Elizabeth, daughter of 
William Cairncross of Langlee, and had by her a large 
family — 

I. John, his heir. 

II. William Rutherfurd of Nether Ancrum, bom 1714. 

III. Thomas Rutherfurd, born 171 5 {vide Faimington). 

IV. Robert, born 1723, created baron of the Russian 
Empire. He repurchased Fairnington, and bequeathed it 
to John of Edgerston. 

V. James Rutherfurd, died, unmarried, 1742. 

VI. Walter Rutherfurd, who married Mary, daughter of 
General Alexander, claimant of the earldom of Stirling^ 
For some years he was a captain in the 60th Regiment^ 
or Royal Americans, and eventually settled in the United 
States of America, in a district named after him — Ruther- 
furd County. He died at New York in 1804. 

VII. Hugh Rutherfurd, had four daughters, who all 
married. 

Sir John married, secondly, Sarah, daughter of Sir John 
Nisbet, Bart., of Dean, by whom he had a son, Henrys 
Rutherfurd of Hunthill, and a daughter. Christian, who 
married Rev. Dr Davidson of Muirhouse. Sir John died 
in 1747 or '48. 

John Rutherfurd of Edgerston succeeded. This gentle- 



Robert, Lord Rutherfurd, in 1703, wished to resign his title in fkvour 
of Thomas Rutherfurd of Wells, his kinsman, but the latter declined to 
accept it. Among the Edgerston documents there is a bond by Thomas. 
Rutherfurd of Wells to Robert Lord Rutherfurd, who, having no means 
of subsistence, the granter, out of affection to him as his blood relation, 
becomes bound to pay to the said Lord Robert a free annuity of '/55, los. 
sterling (payable at Newcastle or Wishington in England or elsewhere), 
dated Hounam Kirkstyle, June 5, 1703. 

Thomas Rutherfurd sold Wells, in 1707, to William Elliot, lace mer- 
chant, London. This estate was sold for the second time on the 9th 
October, 1895, to Mr Usher, who belongs to a family long associated 
with the parish of Melrose. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 387 

man's career was most checkered. He began life as an 
Edinburgh advocate, and finished his course on the field of 
battle. He was born in 171 2, and was returned as member 
for the county in 1734, and again in 1741. He married, 
in November, 1737, Eleanor,* daughter of Sir Gilbert Elliot 
of Minto,* a Lord of Session. Walter, his younger brother, 
persuaded the laird to join him in America. He sailed for 
New York, and, on his arrival, in December, 1741, he re- 
ceived a commission in the Independent Regiment of Foot 
in the province of New York. In this regiment he served 
for upwards of thirteen years, until the 60th, or Royal 
American Regiment, was raised, when he was transferred, 
with the rank of major, on the 6th of January, 1756. 

His wife and family resided at New York, and there most 
of his children seem to have been born. Amongst the 
Edgerston papers there is a copy of Major Rutherfurd's 
last will, appointing his eldest son, John, his executor, and 
obliging him to pay to Robert and Archibald, his brothers, 
and to his sisters, Eleanor, Elizabeth, Jean, and Agnes, sums 
of money on certain conditions. In this document, which 
is dated at the camp at Little Falls (above Saratoga), 
13th of June, 1758, he refers to the will which he had made 
in the previous spring before leaving New York, but having 
heard of the birth of another daughter (Agnes), and fearing 
the law might not allow her an equal share with her elder 
sisters, he makes the new will, in which the following 
sentence occurs — ** I expect to march to-morrow to Fort 
Edward, on our way to attack Ticonderago and Crown 
Point, with a few regulars, mostly ill-disciplined, and a 
confused multitude of provincials — ^troops more likely to con- 
found us than hurt our enemies.*' He was killed at the 
unsuccessful attack on Ticonderago, which is noted in the 
ariny list of 1759, page 162. His brother, Walter, was a 
captain at that time in the 60th Regiment, and as six 

1 Died at her house, George Square, Edinburgh, Mrs Rutherfurd, 
Dovrager of Edgerston, Nov., 1797. {Vide Scots Magazine.) 
s Vide Elliot of Minto. 



388 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



John Ruther- 
furd of 
Edgerston. 



companies of this corps are stated in general orders ta 
have been present at Ticonderago, it is probable that he 
was there also. Major Rutherfurd left a family of seven ; 
three sons and four daughters — 

John, who was born in 1748 at New York— of whom 
presently. 

Robert, who entered the East India Company's Service, 
and died at Madras on October 3, 1780. 

Archibald, entered the army, and was appointed captain 
in the 27th Regiment of Foot in 1777, and died in Dublin 
when senior captain in 1789. 

Eleanor, died at George Square, Edinburgh, in October, 
1 82 1, unmarried. 

Elizabeth, married Andrew St Clair of Herdmanston, and 
was mother of Lord Sinclair. 

Jane, married William Oliver of Dinlabyre. (Vide Oliver 
of Dinlabyre.) 

Agnes, who was born a short time before the attack on 
Ticonderago, died, unmarried, in December, 1840, at 43 
George Square, Edinburgh. 

John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, advocate. ** He was 
admitted to the study of law, with proceedings thereon,*' on 
30th June, 1769 (vide Edgerston Papers). There is also a 
certificate of the passing of Mr John Rutherfurd, as advo- 
cate, signed by Alexander Tait at Edinburgh, i8th Decem- 
ber, 1770. He married, in 1787, Mary Anne,* the only 
daughter of Major • General the Honourable Alexander 
Leslie, second son of the Earl of Leven, but had no chil- 
dren. Mr Rutherfurd represented the county of Selkirk in 



Extract from Parish Register. — 12th September, 1738, Mr John 
Rutherfurd, of that ilk, advocate, and Mrs Eleanor Eliot, his spouse, a 
son, John. — ^Witness, Sir Gilbert Eliot of Minto, one of the senators of 
the College of Justice, and Sir John Rutherfurd, of that ilk, baptised the 
same day, Edinburgh. 

^ Died on the i6th September, 1845, at No. 18 Ainslie Place. Edin 
burgh, Mrs Mary Anne Leslie, relict of the late John Rutherfurd of 
Edgerston. (Vide Evening Courant.J 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 389 

Parliament, and afterwards Roxburghshire, of which he was 
also vice-lieutenant. On the 12th January, 1780, he was 
appointed major and captain in the Southern Regiment of 
Fencible - men, under Henry, Duke of Buccleuch. He 
seems to have held a variety of commissions, as we find 
him in 1797 in command of a troop of Roxburgh yeomanry. 
On the 22nd of August of that year, he had a narrow 
escape from losing his life in the town of Jedburgh when in 
command of the yeomanry. He was knocked off his horse, 
and received blows on the head which rendered him insen- 
sible.^ In 1803, Major Rutherfurd was promoted to colonel- 
commandant of both battalions of Roxburghshire volun- 
teers. The ist battalion had for its lieut.-colonel, Gilbert, 
Lord Minto, and the 2nd battalion, Lieut.-Colonel Sir 
John B. Riddell, Bart. In county matters, he was supreme, 
and possessed the power of influencing the minds of others, 
and leading them in the direction he wished. He was one 
of the original promoters of the Jedforest Club, and took 
much interest in its formation. He died in 1834, ^^ ^^^ 
age of 86, leaving his estates to his nephew, William Oliver 
of Dinlabyre, sheriff of the county. 

At Edgerston, are three royal portraits, full length, 
painted by the King's portrait painter, viz. : — George II., 
George III., and Queen Charlotte. General Alexander 
Leslie, father of Mrs Rutherfurd, was actively employed 
during the American war. At the battle of Guildford, 
15th March, 1781, he was second in command, under Lord 
Cornwallis. When the British army re-entered New York 
in retreat, the Government House was found to be on fire* 
General Leslie, anxious to save the royal portraits from the 
flames, entered the large reception hall in which they 
hung, just in time to cut the pictures out of their frames, 
which he quickly rolled up and escaped with from the 
burning edifice. At the general's death, these pictures 
were sent to Edgerston, and now hang in the dining room. 

^ Vide Jedburgh Chapters for more information. 



390 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

• 

In the same room there is a fine portrait of Baron Ruther- 
fiird, by Benjamin West. There is a sketch in water- 
colours of John Rutherfurdy who died in 1834, by Lord 
Sinclair. He is represented as wearing a white beaver 
hat, blue-tailed coat, with gaiters, and is taken in the act 
of walking, with a stick in his hand. There is also an oil 
painting of the old house of Knowesouth, before Mr Oliver 
erected the present building. 

RUTHERFURD OF FAIRNINGTON. 
This estate was acquired by the Rutherfurds, about 1647 
or 1648, from Francis, Earl of Buccleuch. In 1664 a mar- 
riage took place between George Rutherfurd, the younger, 
of Fairnington (with the consent of George Rutherfurd, elder 
of Fairnington, his father), and Elizabeth Rutherfurd, only 
sister of John Rutherfurd of Edgerston. In 1686, George 
Rutherfurd, yoimger, of Fairnington, married Barbara 
Hallyburton, daughter of John Hallyburton of Newmains, 
by Margaret Rutherford of Edgerston. They had a son, 
George,^ born in 1691, who did no honour to his family. He 
was extravagant, reckless, and quarrelsome. One day, as a 
very young man, when returning from the Jedburgh market, 
he had a dispute with his brother-in-law, Thomas Hallybur- 
ton of Muirhouselaw, about the proprietorship of a well 
which was almost on the boundary line between their re- 
spective estates. They arrived opposite this well, and the 
quarrel reached a climax. Hallyburton tried to pacify 
Rutherfurd, but to no purpose. The latter forced a fight, and 
slew his neighbour close to the spring, which is known as the 
** bloody well *' to this day. Rutherfurd took to flight after 
this sad event, and the family went to the West Indies;* 

^ Walter Rutherford, George's younger brother, died at Edinburgh in 
April. 1776. 

> Charter of Sale, 1777, under Great Seal, of the lands of Fairnington 
in favour of T. Strother Ker. Minute of sale, 1779, between the said J. 
S. Kerr, with consent of Mrs M. Kerr, widow of the deceased George 
Rutherfurd of Fairnington, and Robert Rutherfurd, baron of the Russian 
Empire. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 391 

the estate of Faimington passed into other hands for a short 
period. 

Faimington was repurchased in 1779 by Robert Ruther- 
furd, baron of the Russian Empire (fourth son of Sir John 
Rutherfurd of Edgerston). He was a Leghorn merchant, 
and made himself useful to Russia during her war with the 
Turks in 1770. The baron planted trees and laid out money 
in various ways on the estate. He named fields after some 
of his Russian friends. On the top of a hill he built a 
summer-house, now known as " The Baron's Folly.** At his 
death he left Faimington to his nephew, John Rutherfurd 
of Edgerston. 

Thomas Rutherfurd, third son of Sir John Rutherfurd, 
by Elizabeth, daughter of William Cairncross of Langlee, 
married Martha, daughter of an alderman of the city of York, 
named Town, by whom he had a son, Richard, a captain in 
the Royal Navy (who died in 1796), and also John, of whom 
I have a good deal to relate. 

John Rutherfurd was bom in 1746. When still an Major John 
infant, his father, Thomas Rutherfurd, died at Barbadoes, ^f Mossbum- 
and he was sent home to the care of his grandfather at ^^^^• 
Edgerston. Before he had completed his education he was 
despatched, at the early age of fifteen, to New York, where 
his uncle Walter (late 6oth Regiment), was engaged in 
commercial affairs; and, on his arrival, was directed to 
proceed to Fort Detroit, in Canada, with a convoy in 
charge of military stores. He volunteered to join an ex- 
ploring party formed by Major Gladwin, the commanding 
officer at Detroit, the object being to explore and ascertain 
whether certain lakes and rivers were navigable. At that 
time (1763) we were at war with France. The exploring 
party consisted of Captain Robson and Sir Robert Davers, 
six soldiers and two sailors, and young Rutherfurd. They 
had not proceeded very far when they were attacked by 
Indians; Capt. Robson and Sir Robert Davers, with two 
soldiers, were killed, and Rutherfurd made prisoner. He 



392 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

was the captive of an Indian, called Peewash, who, with 
his wife, became much attached to him. His outward 
appearance underwent a great change. His head was 
shaved, except a smaU tuft on the top ; his face was painted ; 
he was presented with a blanket, and his general appearance 
and condition was that of a Chippewah Indian. He was, 
however, hard worked, especially when discharging the 
duties usually allotted to the squaw. The English garrison 
in Fort Detroit made a sortie, and killed a chief of the 
Chippewahs. Thereupon, the friends of the chief deter- 
mined to kill a prisoner of equal rank. Accordingly, they 
murdered Captain Campbell, a captive of the Ottawahs* 
The next event of any importance was that Rutherfurd 
was liberated by a Frenchman, Peewash agreeing to receive, 
in exchange, goods to the value of £^o. The Chippewahs, 
hearing of this transaction, put forward a claim for their 
captive, and Rutherfurd was re-surrendered to their chief. 
He soon became a great favourite with his new master — 
so much so, that one of the best looking daughters of the 
tribe was talked of as the future wife of the ** little white 
man." His life now was fairly comfortable, but this 
condition was of short duration, for Peewash, his former 
master, wished to repurchase his late captive ; which, after 
a time, he succeeded in accomplishing. About this time 
numbers of English and Indian prisoners were constantly 
coming in. The young Scotsman witnessed the murder of 
eight men under circumstances of the greatest atrocity. 
The wish to escape became uppermost in Rutherfurd's 
mind, and this he effected with the assistance of a French- 
man called Boileau. He reached Fort Detroit in safety, 
after undergoing hardships and imminent dangers. His 
extraordinary appearance — from his shaved head, paint, and 
limited clothing — caused much curiosity and amusement 
among the people in Fort Detroit. Having recovered from 
his swollen limbs, he was ordered to proceed to Niagara, 
as one of a small force to obtain supplies for the garrison. 
They sailed accordingly, and on the return journey the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 393 

vessel sprang a leak, and, with some difficulty, was run 
ashore on a coast where hostile Indians were known to be. 
Landing by the only available boat, the party hastily formed 
a temporary breastwork. Very soon the Indians appeared. 
Young Rutherfurd, with others, was then at a distance 
from the improvised post. On a rush being made for the 
breastwork, one of the party was shot; during the attack 
several more fell within the protecting circle. The Indians, 
however, were kept at bay, and eventually retired. On 
Rutherfurd's return to New York, he joined, about 1764, 
the first battalion 42nd Regiment as ensign, obtaining his 
lieutenancy on the 31st of March, 1770. He rose to the 
position of captain on the i8th of August, 1778. Captain 
Rutherfurd afterwards obtained the rank of major in the 
Dumfries militia. He was well known in the Jedburgh 
district as the *' little major.'* After he retired from the 
army, he acquired the estate of Mossburnford.^ At this place, 
in 1787, he had a visit from the poet Burns. He married, 
first, in 1769, Eleanor, daughter of Thomas Chalke of 
Artane, county of Dublin, and by her (who died at Jedburgh,* 
23rd January, 1799) had three sons and two daughters. 

John, born in 1777, who became a writer to the signet in 
1800. In the following year, on the death of Mr Rutherfurd 
of Knowesouth, he was appointed by the Town Council of 
Jedburgh as their Edinburgh agent. He died in 1S22.' 

Charles, born 1780, died in 1846, unmarried, having 
inherited Fairnington on the death of John Rutherfurd of 
Edgerston, who died in 1834. 

Thomas, succeeded to Fairnington on the death of his 
brother. 

Martha, married Charles Robson of Samieston. 

Eleanor, married William Elliot of Harwood. 

Major Rutherfurd's second wife was Agnes, daughter of 

^ Mossbumford was advertised to let in January, 1786, and was then 
the property of the Marquess of Lothian. 

> Vide obituary, contemporary newspaper. 

> Vide Town Council Records and List of Writers to the Signet. 



394 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

J, Chatto of Mainhouse, and by her he had a son, Walter — 
of whom presently. The major is described, in 1810, as 
*' John Rutherfurd of Mossburnford," and appears as one of 
the original members of the Jedforest Club. He seems to 
have let Mossburnford about the year 1798, with the farm, 
to Mr A. Pringle, and he advertised it again to let (the 
mansion-house and farm) in 1817. Major Rutherfurd died 
in 1830, aged 84 years. 

Thomas Rutherfurd of Fairnington was born in 1784. He 
went to India in 1805, in the East India Company's Medical 
Service, and was attached to the 23rd Native Infantry. He 
was present at the siege of Camoona and other actions in the 
districts of Bareilly and Agra. After serving for some time 
in the army, he was promoted to the civil station of Morad- 
abad, which he held, although frequently otherwise em- 
ployed, until he retired from the service. There, in addition 
to his medical duties, he held the office of superintendent of 
the Colipoor factory in connexion with the Nepaul Hills, 
and at a subsequent period was appointed agent for timber 
and ordnance carriages, with a general rangership of the 
forests skirting the mountains. On the outbreak of the 
Nepaul war in 1816, Mr Rutherfurd's local knowledge 
rendered him very useful in the campaign, and the governor- 
general appointed him assistant-commissary-general of the 
first class. He accompanied the force under General 
Nichols in the invasion of Kumaun and the capture of 
Almora. Mr Rutherfurd*s services were honourably 
mentioned by the governor - general in council. At the 
close of the war, he returned to his appointment at Colipoor, 
and by good management he extended and developed the 
enterprise to a great extent. He was recommended to take 
a voyage to China in search of health in 1822, but derived 
no benefit from the change. The following year, therefore, 
he returned home, and retired from the service upon a 
small pension ; afterwards he resided in France. In 1850, 
Mr Rutherfurd received for his services the Army of India 
medal, with a clasp for Nepaul. He married Caroline 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 395 

Sanderson, daughter of William Ball (by Lydia Wyvil), 
and had issue. 

Henry Rutherfurd of Faimington, J. P., barrister-at-law S^'^^y, 
of the Middle Temple, was born on the 19th of January, of 
1831, and succeeded his father in 1863. He married, in a"^i^8^to°- 
1868, Mary Wilhelmina, eldest daughter of the Rev. C. £. 
Bruxner of The Holt, Thurlaston, county of Leicester, and 
has a family of five sons and two daughters. His eldest son 
is Thomas Henry, born in 1869. Mr Rutherfurd joined the 
Jedforest Club 34 years ago — in 1864 — and is now one of the 
senior members. He does not reside at Fairnington, the old 
mansion-house being let with the farm. A portion of the 
house shows undeniable signs of antiquity. The foundations 
are arched ; the walls are five feet thick, and in one of them 
a secret stair was discovered. The house resembles, in 
general appearance, Lessudden House, but it is less varied, 
being extremely simple in style. There are a few fine old 
trees near the house, but the greater portion of the wood 
was planted by Baron Rutherfurd. Henry Rutherfurd of 
Faimington represents the direct male line of the Ruther- 
furds of Edgerston. 

Walter Rutherfurd, son of Major John Rutherfurd of Jjj®V**'^°^* 
Mossburnford by his second wife, Agnes, daughter of J. Rutherfurd. 
Chatto of Mainhouse, was born on the 25th of July, 1801 ; 
marrying, in March, 1835, Mary, daughter of Capt. Knight, 
R.N., of Gordonstown, Perthshire, son of Admiral Sir John 
Knight. Walter entered the Bengal establishment of the 
East India Company *s service in 1 819, as a cadet, and soon 
afterwards was promoted to be ensign in the 28th N.I. 
He came home on furlough in 1832, as captain, when he 
was nominated an honorary member of the Jedforest Club. 
Captain Rutherfurd attained his majority in 1846, and served 
for some time in the department of public works. He died 
a lieut.-colonel, at Allahabad, in 1856. He lost a son, a 
daughter, and her husband— victims of the Indian mutiny. 



396 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 



Capt. John 
Rutherfurd. 



William 

Rutherford, 

sheriff-clerk. 



W. Oliver- 
Ratherfurd 
of Edgerston. 



RUTHERFURD OF KNOWESOUTH. 
The family of Rutherfurd of Knowesouth^ is a branch of 
the original family at Edgerston. Capt. John Rutherfurd 
was a younger son of John Rutherfurd of Knowesouth by- 
Mary, daughter of William Ker of Abbotrule. His elder 
brother became laird of Knowesouth, and, at his death, 
left it to his sister Jean, who married Thomas Scott (uncle 
to Sir Walter Scott of Abbotsford), whose son, Charles, 
succeeded. Charles sold it to William Oliver of Dinlabyre, 
who, again, sold it to George Pott, in whose family it still 
remains. Captain Rutherfurd's name appears on the Club 
list of 1 819 as a member. 

RUTHERFORD. 
William Rutherford was a writer by profession, and 
also sheriff - clerk. He was a son of John Rutherford, 
convener of the trades in Jedburgh, by Margaret Ainslie, 
his wife. His grandfather was the Rev. Mr Rutherford 
of Oxnam. Mr Rutherford was a man of small stature, and 
was nicknamed "Little Willy," to distinguish him from 
other members of the numerous family of Rutherford who 
livid in and around Jedburgh. He married a Miss Martha 
Hardy, who died young. In 181 5 his name appears as a 
member of the Club, his county appointment of sheriff- clerk 
making him eligible. 

OLIVER.RUTHERFURD OF EDGERSTON, 
William Oliver of Dinlabyre, afterwards W. Oliver- 
Rutherfurd of Edgerston, was bom at Weens, in 1781. 

1 Vide Bedrule Parish Register — •• Robert Ainslie, writer in Jedburgh, 
to Christian Rutherfoord, younger daughter of the deceased Thomas 
Rutherfoord of Knowesouth. September, 1724." John Rutherfurd of 
Knowesouth was a doctor of medicine, and had succeeded his father 
before 1715. Died at Knowesouth on the 19th August, 1804, Cecilia 
Rutherfurd, daughter of the late Thomas Rutherfurd of Knowesouth. 
There was also a family of I^adfield — Vide Cavers Register, November 
26, 171 2 — John Rutherfurd of Ladfield, younger, and Margaret, daughter 
of ye deceased William Rutherfurd of Falla, were married at Humble- 
knowes, in the parish of Cavers. Adam Rutherford of Ladfield is 
mentioned in 17 13, probably father of the above. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 397 

He spent the first ten years of his existence in the valley 
of the Rule, and throughout his long life, he never forgot 
the early scenes of his childhood. When he was consider- 
ably above eighty years of age, he expressed a wish to 
visit Weens and sleep in the room in which he was born. 
He arrived in his old-fashioned yellow carriage, with his 
old coachman, who was known as "long-necked Andrew." 
He slept that night in the bedroom he desired, and the 
following morning inspected the larch tree, planted in the 
year he was born, and entertained Mr and Mrs Cleghorn 
with many amusing stories of his youthful days. Mr Oliver 
ivas educated for the Scottish bar, and entered that pro- 
fession in 1803. He succeeded his father as sheriff of 
Roxburghshire when he resigned that office in 1807. A 
few years before this, in 1802, young jOliver was serving 
his country in another way ; for we find him a lieutenant 
in the Roxburgh cavalry, with William Ogilvie of Chesters 
and Robert Walker of Wooden, together with the well- 
known minister of Jedburgh, Thomas Somerville, D.D,^ 
as brother officers. Mr Oliver contracted a matrimonial 
alliance on 21st August, 1804, with Agnes, second daughter 
of Alexander Chatto of Mainhouse. Several of their chil- 
dren died ypung : William, the eldest son, died at Knowe- 
south, July, 1818 ; and their second son died at Havre, 
May 28, 1818 (vide Edinburgh Advertiser), In 1810, when 
the Jedforest Club came into existence, he was one of those 
who attended the first meeting, and took a large share in 
its management. He was convener of Roxburghshire, a 
•deputy-lieutenant, and a justice of the peace. His father, 
William Oliver of Dinlabyre, died in 1830 ; and his mother, 

,Jane, daughter of John Rutherfurd of Edgerston, died in 
1820. The Edgerston laird being unfettered by an entail, 
and having no family of his own, left his estates, on his 

.death in 1834, to William Oliver, his nephew, eldest son of his 
sister Jane; and he then became William Oliver- Rutherfurd 
of Edgerston and Dinlabyre, assuming the additional sur- 
name on succession^ Mrs Oliver- Rutherfurd died in 1859, 



398 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

and her husband survived her for twenty years, dying in 
his ninety-ninth year, in 1879. He left, with other issue, 
two sons — William Alexander and Archibald John. 

Major Arch. ARCHIBALD JoHN Oliver-Rutherfurd, born in 1820, was 

J Oliver- • 

Kutherfurd t^® second son of William Oliver-Rutherfurd of Edgerston. 

of Dinlabyre. |^g entered the army as ensign in the 93rd Highlanders, and 
afterwards was transferred to the 70th Regiment, retiring 
with the rank of major. His father left him the estate of 
Dinlabyre, which his eldest son now inherits. He joined 
the Club soon after he entered the army. 

W. A. Oliver- The eldest surviving son, William Alexander Oliver- 
ofEdgerston. RuTHERFURD, succeeded his father in 1879. He was born 
at Knowesouth in 181 8, and therefore was sixty-one years 
of age on his succession. He served for a number of years 
in the militia, and retired with the rank of major. When 
Robert Elliot of Harwood relinquished the Jedforest 
harriers, Mr Oliver-Rutherfurd got together a pack. He 
bought them chiefly from the Hon. John Elliot, who was 
then changing his pack from harriers to beagles. On 
concluding the hunting season of 1845 (being the first 
season of Mr Rutherfurd's pack of harriers), a number 
of the neighbouring gentlemen and farmers enter- 
tained him at dinner in the Camphouse Inn — John Hen- 
derson, younger, of Abbotrule, occupying the chair. He 
continued hunting until he met with an accident which 
prevented him mounting a horse, when he was obliged to 
give up the harriers. John Henderson, who was a keen 
sportsman, after the disposal of the Edgerston pack, spared 
no expense in replacing it with suitable ' dogs, the kennels 
being at Abbotrule. In 1862 Mr Rutherfurd married 
Margaret. Jane, his cousin, daughter of Edward Young, 
whose mother was Elizabeth Oliver. By her he had two 
sons and one surviving daughter, viz.: — William Edward, 
born 1863 ; Archibald Aymer, bom 1867; and Meta Isabella. 
Mr Oliver - Rutherfurd married, secondly, Mary Anne» 



4NNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 399 

daughter of W. H. Brakespear of Deanfield, county of 
Oxford, and by her had two children, Malcolm and Agnes. 
He died in 1888. 

William Edward Oliver - Rutherfurd of Edgerston w.E. Oliver- 
succeeded his father. He served in the militia for some ^"^r«Son 
years, and married, in 1891, Nancy, youngest daughter of 
Gideon Pott of Dod, and has a son. On the same day 
that Mr Oliver- Rutherford married, and in the same church, 
were also married the elder daughter of Mr Pott and Mr 
Isaac Bayley ; the double ceremony was performed by the 
Rev. Mr Fisher, the parish minister of Jedburgh. 



2D 



400 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



h /.;,,«f^ 



,- t 



I' 

r 








. -' 


VY 


\\ 


- fK >» .J 
1 , 









• f 



WV • '^ 






♦V.»v.^. 



CHAPTER XV. 

SCOTT OF BUCCLEUCH. -. . f.^r- 

'X'HE immediate ancestor of the family of Buccleuch 
^ appears to have been Richard le Scot of Murthock- 
stoun, now Murdiestoun, in the county of Lanark. Sixth ^ "7 
in descent fron) Richard le Scot was Sir Walter Scot of 
Kirkurd, who was served heir to his father in 1426, and in 
July of the same year obtained a charter of the lands of 
Lempetlaw from the Earl of Douglas for services rendered, 
wherein Scot is designed son and heir of Kobert Scott of 
Murdieston. He made an exchange in 1446 of his lands 
of Murdieston and Hartwood, in the barony of Bothwell, 
with Thomas Inglis of Manar, for the half he possessed of 
the barony of Branxholm, in the county of Roxburgh. 
Tradition ascribes the exchange to a conversation betwixt 
Scot and Inglis, the latter of whom complained bitterly of 
the frequent plundering raids of the English borderers and 
the injuries he was exposed to in his lands of Branxholm. 
Scot at once offered him the estate of Murdiestoun in ex- 
change for that of Branxholm ; and, when the bargain was 
completed, drily observed "(hat the Cumberland cattle 
were as good as those in Teviotdale," and proceeded with 
a system of reprisals upon the English, which was pursued 
regularly by his descendants. This exchange of land had 
an additional advantage for Scot, inasmuch as the lands 
of Branxholm were not far from possessions he already held 
in Teviotdale and Selkirkshire. In 1455 the Douglases 
broke out in rebellion against the king. Sir Walter Scot 
exerted himself in suppressing it, and for this service King 
James II. granted him the remaining half of the barony of 
Branxholm, to be held blench for payment of a red rose. 

The next member of this family worthy of note is Sir 
Walter Scott of Branxholm and Buccleuch, who succeeded 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 401 

his Either in 1516. This powerful baron was held in high 
estimation by King James V. At that time the dominion of 
the Earl of Angus and the Douglas faction was supreme, the 
king being entirely under their supervision and control. From 
this thraldom he was anxious to free himself, and an oppor- 
tunity soon occurred. In July, 1526, he visited the Borders 
to keep marauders in awe. As usual, the king was accom- 
panied by Angus and the Douglases, with an armed force, 
who conducted him to Jedburgh, as the seat of operations 
against the freebooters. His Majesty wrote a secret letter 
with his own hand to Sir Walter Scott, and sent it by a 
trusty messenger, entreating him to come with all his re- 
tainers and meet him at Melrose, on his return from the 
Borders, to take him out of the hands of Douglas. 

Sir Walter made his appearance at the head of about 
1000 well-armed men at Halyden, near Melrose, on the 
1 8th July. A messenger was speedily sent to inquire the 
reason of, his coming with such a large force ; the answer 
was, '*that he came to show his clan to the King, accord- 
ing to the custom of the Borders." Sir Walter was then 
commanded to retire; but to this he replied that he knew 
the King's mind better than Angus. A conflict ensued, 
and Sir Walter, after a severe contest, was forced to retreat. 
The death in this engagement of Sir Andrew Ker of Cess- 
ford, a man of much worth, was regretted by both parties, 
and occasioned a deadly feud between the Scotts and Kers, 
which, for generations afterwards, cost much blood on the 
marches. For this affair, Douglas caused a summons of 
treason to be issued against Scott; but the King declared 
Sir Walter innocent of all crimes laid to his charge, and 
ordered the summons to be cancelled. In October, 1532, 
the Earl of Northumberland sent 1500 men to plunder 
Branxholm and the surrounding country. Sir Walter, in 
resentment of this, assembled about 3000 men, with whom 
he laid waste Northumberland as far as the river Beamish, 
and returned home with much booty. Sir Walter un- 
fortunately ended his career in a nocturnal encounter in 



402 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

the High Street of Edinburgh with Sir Walter Ker ot 
Cessford. This took place in October, 1552, and Sir 
Walter was buried in the vault of St Mary's Churchy 
Hawick. 

Sir Walter Scott, thirteenth in succession, succeeded his 
father in 1574. This powerful chieftain, in no way inferior 
to the bravest of his ancestors in courage and intrepidity^ 
received the honour of knighthood from James VL, by whom 
he was appointed warden of the west marches in 1590. 
Sir Walter distinguished himself by a daring and well- 
planned enterprise. A meeting being appointed between 
him and Lord Scrope, the opposite warden, and a day of 
truce fixed for that purpose, one of his attendants, called 
Kinmont Will, was seized by the English and carried to 
Carlisle in breach of the truce, which was always under- 
stood to extend to sunrise next morning. Sir Walter Scott 
sent to Lord Scrope, desiring that the prisoner might be 
set at liberty. Being refused, he collected 200 horsemen^ 
and on the 13th April, 1596, surprised the Castle of Carlisle 
and carried off Kinmont Will. No spoil was allowed lo 
be carried away in this raid. The gallant achievement,, 
which is poetically described in the ballad of '< Kinmont 
Willie" in the *• Minstrelsy of the Scottish Border," ex- 
cited the great indignation of Queen Elizabeth. Th& 
convention at Edinburgh took place on the 22nd May,, 
when Bowes, the Queen's resident, made a long speech 
which declared that peace could no longer continue betwixt 
the two realms unless Sir Walter Scott was delivered inta 
the Queen's hands, to be punished at her pleasure. Sir 
Walter's answer to this complaint was that he entered 
England with no intention to assault any of the Queen's 
houses or to do wrong to any, but to relieve a subject of 
Scotland unlawfully taken on a day of truce — neither did 
he attempt his relief till redress had been refused. No act 
of hostility had been committed, nor the least wrong offered 
to any within the castle, yet he was content to be tried by 
commissioners appointed by both sovereigns. To thia. 



J 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 403 

reasonable proposition Elizabeth would not agree. In the 
meantime, some English borderers having invaded Liddes- 
dale and wasted the country. Sir Walter Scott retaliated 
by a raid into England, in which he not only brought o£f 
much spoil, but apprehended thirty-six of the Tynedale 
thieves, all of whom he hanged. This added fuel to the 
Queen's indignation, expressed in a letter from her Majesty 
to Bowes. After much delay, and with difficulty, arrange- 
ments were made by commissioners of both nations, by 
whom it was agreed that offenders should be delivered up 
on both sides, and that the chiefs themselves should enter 
into ward in the opposite countries. Sir Walter Scott and 
Sir Robert Ker appear to have objected to this stipulation ; 
so much so, that it required all King James's persuasion 
and authority to bring to obedience these two powerful 
chiefs. 

Before surrendering himself to the English, Sir Walter 
selected to be placed in the hands of Sir William Selby, 
master of the ordnance at Berwick. According to family 
tradition, Sir Walter was presented to Queen Elizabeth, 
who, with her usual rough and peremptory address, de- 
manded how he had dared to undertake an enterprise so 
desperate and presumptuous. '* What is it," answered 
the undaunted chieftain, *' that a man dare not do ? " 
Elizabeth, struck with the reply, said to a lord-in-waiting, 
'< With ten thousand such men, our brother of Scotland 
might shake the firmest throne in Europe.'* 

On the accession of King James VI. to the English 
throne, it was found no easy matter to induce the Borderers 
to submit to the laws. To accomplish this end, Sir Walter 
Scott raised a regiment for foreign service, to assist Mauricei 
Prince of Orange, in his war with Spain. The chance of 
plunder which such an enterprise seemed to offer soon 
filled the ranks with the boldest and most desperate of 
the Border raiders, who left their native shores, never to 
return. 

Sir Walter was raised to the dignity of the peerage, 



404 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

with the title of Lord Scott of Buccleuch, on the 14th 
November, 1608. His lordship married Mary, daughter 
of Sir William Ker of Cessford, and had issue. He was 
buried in the vault of St Mary's Church, Hawick. 

Walter, second Lord Scott, was advanced to the dignity 
of Earl of Buccleuch. His son, the second earl, married 
Lady Margaret Leslie, only daughter of John, sixth Earl 
of Rothes, and by her had two daughters, Mary and Anne. 

Mary was served heir to her father, as Countess of 
Buccleuch, on the 6th October, 1653. She was born in 
1648, and was married at Wemyss on the 9th February, 
1659, to Walter Scott, eldest son of Sir Gideon Scott of 
Highchester, of the house of Harden. The bride was only 
eleven years of age, and her husband-elect fourteen. They 
were married by Mr Harry Wilkie, minister of Wemyss, 
without proclamation, by virtue of an order from the 
presbytery of Kirkcaldy. None of her ladyship's friends 
were made aware of her engagement until the preceding 
day, when the contract was signed. The marriage was 
brought about by her mother, much to the indignation of 
many relations. In 1660 her husband was created Earl 
of Tarras; but his young countess died the following year, 
at the age of thirteen, and was buried in the church at 
Dalkeith. 

Anne succeeded her sister as Countess of Buccleuch, and 
served heir of entail to her on the 17th October, 1661; and 
her wardship and marriage were assigned to her uncle, the 
Earl of Rothes. The countess was born in 165 1, at Dundee 
— then the place of refuge for the principal nobility — ^about 
the time it was besieged by General Monk. She was thus 
ten years old at the time of her succession to the title. 

She married, on the 20th April, 1663, James, Duke of 
Monmouth (bom 1649), son of King Charles IL, by Lucy, 
daughter of Richard Walter of Haverfordwest, in the county 
of Pembroke. The marriage feast took place in the Earl of 
Wemyss's house in London, where his Majesty and the 
Queen were present, with various members of the Court. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 405 

On his marriage, Monmouth assumed the name of Scott, 
and he and his duchess were, on the 20th April, 1663, 
created Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch and Earl and 
Countess of Dalkeith. The young duke, who was then a 
lad of barely fourteen, was extremely handsome. The young 
duchess, naturally plain in features, was so unfortunate as 
to become lame through an accident when dancing. She 
had, however, a charming manner, and possessed all those 
pe.rfections which were wanting in her husband. The doings 
of Monmouth are events of history. It is enough to say that 
for rebellion he was conducted to the Tower, attainted of 
high treason, and executed on Towerhill on the 15th July, 
1685, behaving with fortitude on this awful occasion. Thus 
perished, in the thirty-seventh year of his age, James, Duke 
of Buccleuch and Monmouth. 

There was a rumour current at the time of a contract of 
marriage betwixt Charles II. and Monmouth's mother; the 
document, it was said, being contained in a black box in 
the custody of Sir Gilbert Gerard. This story was, how- 
ever, disproved by the King's solemn declaration, enrolled 
in Chancery. 

James II., although he condemned his nephew to the 
block, entertained a very friendly feeling towards the 
duchess. He was so well satisfied with her conduct and 
deportment that he restored to her the duke's personal and 
real estates in England, which had been forfeited to the 
Crown. Her grace married again in 1688, her husband 
being Charles, third Lord Cornwallis. He died in 1698, 
in the forty- third year of his age. In Chambers' " Tradi- 
tions of Edinburgh,*' he says — " It is curious to learn that 
the duchess, notwithstanding the terms on which she had 
been with her husband, and the sad stamp put upon his 
pretensions to legitimacy, acted throughout the remainder 
of her somewhat protracted life as if she had been a widow 
of a true prince of the blood-royal." She had a canopy 
erected in her state apartment, and underneath this was 
the only seat in the room. Here she received those to 



406 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

whom an audience was granted. When Lady Margaret 
Montgomery was at a boarding school near London, she 
was invited by the duchess to her house. The duchess 
and Lady Margaret were distant cousins, therefore she 
was allowed a chair; but this was an act of grace seldom 
granted. The duchess was the last person of quality in 
Scotland who kept pages — that is, young gentlemen of 
birth, who acquired courteous manners and a knowledge 
of the world by attending upon those of high rank. The 
last of her grace's pages rose to the rank of general. The 
duchess resided occksionally at Dalkeith House, where she 
kept almost royal state, and, dying on the 6th February, 
1732, in the 8ist year of her age, was buried in the church 
of Dalkeith. She was succeeded by her grandson, Francis, 
second Duke of Buccleuch, who was born January nth, 
1695. H^ d^^^t 0° ^^® ^2^d of April, 1751, in the fifty- 
seventh year of his age^ and was buried in the chapel of 
Eton College. 

Henry, Hbnry, THIRD DuKE OF BuccLBUCH, was next in succes- 

^^ ^£ sion. He was born September 13th, 1746, succeeding his 

Buccleuch. grandfather to the title and estates. After being educated 
at Eton, the young duke was most anxious to travel. To 
that end, the services of the celebrated Doctor Adam Smith 
were secured as travelling tutor. They were joined at 
Dover by Sir James Macdonald, whose life was unhappily 
cut short at Rome in 1766. The same year the duke and 
Dr Smith returned to London, after spending nearly three 
years abroad. His grace married, on the and of May, 
1767, Lady Elizabeth Montagu, only daughter of George, 
Duke of Montagu, K.G. Being at that time under age, 
an act of parliament was' obtained, to enable *' Henry, Duke 
of Buccleuch, a minor, to make settlements on his intended 
wife, Lady Elizabeth Montagu." By this alliance, very 
large estates in England ultimately came into the Buccleuch 
family. 
The duke, coming of age soon after his marriage, devoted 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 407 

himself entirely to the improvement of his large estates 
-in the south of Scotland. He also adopted the most 
judicious measures to promote the trade and manufactures 
of the country. On the commencement of the war with 
France in 1778, he raised a regiment of fencibles — mostly 
volunteers from his own estates. In 1798 he was constituted 
lord-lieutenant and colonel of the militia of the county of 
Edinburgh, until the regiment was disbanded, on the pro- 
clamation of the peace. At the termination in 1803 of 
that short-lived truce, the duke again assumed command 
of the regiment. He was also made lord • lieutenant of 
Roxburghshire. On the death of William, fourth Duke 
of Queensberry, on 23rd of December, 1810, he succeeded 
to his title and estates. The Duke of Buccleuch was 
nominated a member of the Jedforest Club on the 31st 
of October, 1810, a few months after its foundation. He 
died on the nth January, 1812, and was succeeded by his 
eldest son — 

Charles William Henry, fourth Duke of Buccleuch and Charles W. 

H fonrth 

sixth Duke of Queensberry. His grace was born on the Duke of 
24th of May, 1772, and married, in 1795, Harriet Catherine, Buccleuch. 
daughter of Viscount Sydney. While Lord Dalkeith, he 
joined the Jedforest Club the same year as his father. At 
one period he sat in the House of Commons, and for many 
years he was colonel commandant of the Dumfriesshire 
regiment of militia. 

The management of the Buccleuch estates was conducted 
on the plan recommended by the former duke, and no 
tenants who conducted themselves properly were ever 
deprived of their farms, and scarcely any have voluntarily 
relinquished possession. The estate of Queensberry, to 
which the duke succeeded, although extremely valuable, 
added but little to his income, owing to well-known cir- 
cumstances. In the year 181 7, when the poor stood in so 
much need of employment, a friend asked the duke why 
his grace did not propose to go to London for the season. 



4o8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

By way of answer, the duke showed him a list of day- 
labourers then employed on his di£ferent estates, the num- 
ber of whom, exclusive of his regular establishments, 
amounted to 947. As the Duke of Buccleuch held his high 
position for the happiness of those around him, he did not 
forget by Whom it was committed to him. Public worship 
was at all proper seasons performed in his family, and,. a 
devout believer in the truths of religion, he never, even in 
the gayest moment, permitted them to be treated with levity 
in his presence : to attempt a jest on these subjects was to 
incur his serious reproof and displeasure. The duke was a 
Knight of the Thistle ; lord-lieutenant of the counties of 
Mid-Lothian and Dumfries; president of the Pitt Club of 
Scotland ; colonel of the Dumfries militia ; governor of the 
Royal Bank, and president of the Highland Society of Scot- 
land. He died at Lisbon on the 20th of April, 1819, where 
he had gone for the benefit of his health.^ To outward 
appearance, he had a strong constitution, and, being in the 
prime of life, his death was quite unexpected. 
He left two sons and four daughters — • 

Walter Francis, who succeeded and became fifth duke, and 

Lord John Lord JoHN DouGLAS MoNTAGU ScoTT. Lord John was 

bom in 1809 and entered the Grenadier Guards on loth May, 
1827; he was promoted to lieutenant and captain in i83i. 
He married, in 1836, Alicia Anne, eldest daughter of John 
Spottiswoode of Spottiswoode, county of Berwick. He 
retired from the army in 1833, and at the age of twenty- 
three contested the county of Roxburgh against the Hon. 
Capt Elliot, R.N., brother of Lord Minto. " The glowing 
eloquence of young Lord John, although unsuccessful, sur- 
prised all that heard him" — so a contemporary newspaper 

^ On Saturday the Z2th of February, 18 19, the Duke of Buccleuch and 
Lord Beresford, commander-in-chief of the Portuguese army, arrived at 
the George Inn, Portsmouth, to embark in His Majesty's frigate "Liffey,** 
commanded by Capt. the Honourable Henry Dundas, C.B.. for Lisbon* 
which ship has been fitted for their reception. — Vidi Edinburgh Advtrtisir. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 409 

remarks. He was an excellent horseman, a good shot, and 
the most popular man in Roxburghshire. He died on the 
3rd of January, i860, leaving no children. Lord John Scott 
joined the Jedforest Club in 1831 ; he was proposed by Mr 
Ogilvie of Chesters, and admitted on the 4th of October. 

.Walter Francis, fifth Duke of Buccleuch and seventh Walter 
Duke of Queensberry, was born on the 25th of November, Duke of 
1806*. He was educated at Eton, and entered St John's Buccleuch. 
College, Cambridge, in 1825. He succeeded to the dukedom 
at the early age of thirteen, while still an Eton boy, so that 
he was a duke for the unprecedented period of sixty-five 
years. He married, in 1829, Lady Charlotte Anne Thynne, 
youngest daughter of the Marquess of Bath, and had four 
sons and three daughters. The duke was obliged to reside 
abroad, for family reasons, until 1839, when he again took 
up his residence in Scotland. This event was celebrated by 
his grace's tenantry in a dinner given on a colossal scale at 
Branxholm on the 26th of September, 1839. The pavilion 
which was erected on the occasion was constructed in the 
form of an ancient baronial hall and was seated to contain 
upwards of a thousand persons. Above the chair was a 
buck's head, a magnificent specimen, and in letters of gold 
the words "Bellenden," the ancient war cry of the clan. 
The whole arrangements were under the care of Messrs 
Smith of Darnick. Tenants were present from the most 
remote corners of the Buccleuch estates, and even representa- 
tives from the fishermen of Newhaven sent a deputation to 
this remarkable gathering of his grace's tenantry. 

James Grieve of Branxholm Braes, an old tenant, occupied 
the chair ; on his right, the Duke of Buccleuch, the Earl of 
Dalhousie, Sir Thomas Kirkpatrick, sheri£f of Dumfries ; 
Mr Hope Johnstone, M.P. ; Mr Macalpine Leny of Dal- 
swinton ; Rev. Mr Wallace, Hawick ; Major Riddell of 
Muselee ; Mr John Gibson, W.S. ; Sir James Graham, 
M.P. ; William Ker of Gateshaw. On the left, the Earl 
of Home; William Oliver-Rutherfurd of Edgerston, sheriff 



410 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of Roxburghshire ; Mr Spottiswoode of Spottiswoode ; Mr 
Pringle, M.P. ; Mr Baillie, younger of Jerviswoode ; Col. 
Macdonald of Powderhall ; and Capt. Hope Johnstone, 
R.N. 

Mr Aitchison of Linhope acted as croupier, and was 
supported by Lord John Scott, Sir James Malcolm, Mr 
Ogilvie of Chesters, Mr Scott- Moncrieff, Major Crichton of 
Dabton, Mr Graham Bell, etc. Mr. Grieve, the venerable 
chairman, proposed the toast of the evening, " The Duke of 
Buccleuch." Then turning to his Grace, he said, I have the 
honour, in the name of your tenantry, to offer you a sincere 
and heart-felt welcome home, and to add our sincere and 
lervent prayer that you may be long spared, a blessing to 
your family, to your tenantry, and to your country. The 
Duke then rose amidst loud and protracted cheering, and 
delivered a speech, which was often interrupted by the 
applause of his enthusiastic tenantry. The toast that 
followed was that of his popular brother, Lord John Scott, 
having been proposed by Mr Scott Elliot of Larriston. Mr 
Bell of Woodhouselee rose and said that allusion had already 
been made to their friends from the other side of the Border, 
who were present on this occasion ; he would say no more 
than propose the health of Sir James Graham of Netherby, 
M.P. Sir James, in returning thanks, alluding to Border 
raids, said *' his ancestors had often ridden to Branxholm in 
ancient days, some of them never returning to tell the tale, 
and many regretting the boldness which brought them here, 
to the last hour of their lives." 

No Duke of Buccleuch, it may be safely said, more' 
.endeared himself to all classes of the* community by his 
public and private actions. He made it his study to be- 
friend the poor ; he promoted agriculture ; he erected useful 
works; he patronised benevolent institutions, and took a 
warm interest in everything relating to the comfort of his 
numerous tenants. Whilst doing all this, he manifested 
the strictest possible propriety in every relation of life. 
During the second administration of Sir Robert Peel, he 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 4" 

was Lord Privy Seal. In the House of Lords he was a 
regular attendant, though he rarely spoke. His grace 
uniformly attended the meetings of the Jedforest Club 
until within a few years before his death, which took place 
on the i6th of April, 1884. He was colonel of the Edin- 
burgh Militia, the "Duke's canaries," as they were some- 
times called, from their yellow facings. The duke took 
the greatest pride and pleasure in commanding this fine 
regiment. He was succeeded by his eldest son — 

William Henry Walter, sixth Duke of Buccleuch and William 

Henry, sixth 

eighth Duke of Queensberry. He was born on the 9th of Duke of 
September, 1831, and married, in November, 1859, Lady "c^®^^ • 
Louisa Jane Hamilton, third daughter of James, first Duke 
of Abercorn. By this marriage he had six sons and two 
daughters. 



Lord Dalkeith joined the Club, September, 30, 1884. Walter 

Henry, Earl 
He was a young nobleman of great promise, but his career of Dalkeith. 

was cut short, to the sorrow of every one, by an accident, 

while deer stalking, on the i6th of September, 1886. 



The Earl of Dalkeith, John Charles Scott, is the second John Chas.^ 
son of William Henry Walter, sixth Duke of Buccleuch, Dalkeith, 
and of Lady Louisa Hamilton, third daughter of the first ^•^' 
Duke of Abercorn. He was born 30th March, 1864. 
When quite a child, he was destined for the navy, and, 
at the early age of twelve, he passed the examination 
necessary for his entrance into H.M.S. "Britannia," with- 
out the special tuition of a navy crammer. When on board 
this ship, then commanded by Capt. Fairfax, he added to 
his school reputation, and, after two years' study, he 
passed out, obtaining " firsts " in all subjects. His success 
gained for him, at once, the rank of midshipman. Lord 
John Scott, as he then was, joined H.M.S. " Monarch,** 
of which the late Sir G. Tryon was captain, and went to 



412 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

sea in January, 1879. He was appointed, in July, 1879, 
to H.M.S. ''Bacchante/' under the command of his uncle, 
I^ord Charles Scott, and served in this ship for three years. 
The royal princes, the late Prince Albert Victor and Prince 
George, now Duke of York, were also serving on board. 

In 1883, ^^ passed as sub-lieutenant, with first-class marks 
in seamanship. He then went to the Royal Naval Colleges 
at Greenwich and Portsmouth, where his high standard of 
proficiency entitled him to be promoted to lieutenant at once, 
and to have his commission ante-dated to September 1883. 

Besides this, during his term at Greenwich College, he 
gained the Beaufort testimonial for the best examination 
passed by a sub-lieutenant. He was appointed to H.M.S. 
•** Tenedos," on the North American and West Indian station. 
In June, 1886, this ship was paid o£f, when his lordship was 
selected for a special course for gunnery-lieutenants ; but his 
naval career was interrupted by the accidental death of his 
elder brother, Walter Henry, Earl of Dalkeith, on the i6th 
of September, 1886. 

He left the navy, and as Earl of Dalkeith was summoned 
to assume the responsibilities which this position involves. 
He married, in January, 1893, the Hon. Margaret Alice 
Bridgeman, second daughter of Viscount Newport, and with 
other children, has a son, whose birth, on the 30th December, 
1894, occasioned universal congratulation and rejoicing 
throughout the Borders. Lord Dalkeith joined the. Jed- 
forest Club in 1889. 

The noble family of Buccleuch have been associated with 
the Club from its commencement. Henry, third duke, was 
•elected a member in 1810, and was followed in succession 
by Charles William Henry, fourth duke ; William Francis, 
fifth duke; William Henry, sixth duke; Walter Henry, Earl 
of Dalkeith, and John Charles, Earl of Dalkeith, M.P., the 
last named being thus sixth in direct succession of this great 
Border family whose names are recorded in the Annals of 
the Jedforest Club. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 413 

SCOTT OF HARDEN. 

The family of Harden are descended from Walter Scott 
of Sinton, who traced his pedigree to John, second son of 
Michael Scott of Murthockstone. William Scott was the 
first laird of Harden, having acquired the estate from Lord 
Home in 1501. 

A member of this family, commonly called " Auld Wat," 
and his marauding exploits have been the subject of many 
a Border tradition. Sir Walter Scott relates an anecdote 
of this chieftain : — ** Upon one occasion, when the village 
herd was driving out the cattle to pasture, the old laird 
heard him call out loudly to drive out Harden's cow. 
* Harden's cow,' echoed the affronted chief; «is it come to 
that pass? By my faith, they shall soon say Harden's 
kye.' Accordingly, he sounded his bugle, set out with 
his followers, and next day returned with '<a bow of kye 
and a bassened (brindle) bull." Wat of Harden died about 
1629, at a great age, leaving several sons. His second son, 
Walter, was killed by the Scotts of Gilmanscleuch. The 
third son, Hugh, was the progenitor of the Scotts of Gala. 
The old family estate of Sinton was conveyed by Old Wat 
to his fifth son, Francis, who is the ancestor of the family 
of Sinton. 

Sir William Scott of Harden succeeded. He was a 
favourite of James VI., by whom he was knighted in his 
father's lifetime. He fought against Cromwell, and was 
fined ;f 3000 for so doing, in 1654. Sir Walter Scott relates 
a tradition concerning his marriage, which is established and 
regarded as true in both families. The Scotts and Murrays 
were old enemies, and, as their lands adjoined each other, 
they had frequent opportunities of exercising their enmity. 
In the seventeenth century the greater portion of the lands 
lying upon the river Ettrick belonged to Harden, who made 
his principal residence at Oakwood Tower, a Border keep 
still in existence. 

1 Vide Scott Plummer of Sunderland Hall. 



414 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Sir William Scott organised an expedition against the 
Murrays of Elibank, whose territory was but a few miles 
distant. Elibank had been warned, and was upon his 
guard. The Scotts came sweeping down the valley, driv- 
ing off all the cattle that came in their way, when the 
Murrays, who were lying in wait for them, suddenly 
appeared, and a fight ensued, in which William Scott 
was taken prisoner. Sir Gideon Murray conveyed him 
to his castle, where Lady Murray received the victor, and 
congratulated him upon his success ; and, at the same time, 
inquired what he was going to do with the prisoner. " The 
gallows," answered her husband. '^Hout, na. Sir Gideon,'* 
answered the considerate matron, in her vernacular idiom, 
"Would you hang the winsome young laird of Harden, when 
you have ill-favoured daughters to marry." "Quite right, "^ 
answered the baron, who caught at the idea, "he shall 
marry our daughter, or strap for it." Upon this alternative 
being proposed to the prisoner, he, at first thoughts, stoutly 
declared his preference for the gibbet to the plain-featured 
daughter of Murray of Elibank. But, at length, when he 
was actually led forth to execution, and saw no other 
chance of escape, he retracted his ungallant resolution, 
and accepted the figurative noose of matrimony for the 
literal cord of hemp. They became a happy and loving 
couple, and had a large family. The marriage contract 
to this remarkable event is still in existence. Sir William 
had, by this compulsory union, five sons and three daughters. 
The eldest son, called "little Sir William," was knighted 
by Charles II. immediately after the restoration. The next 
son was Sir Gideon Scott of Highchester, whose posterity 
perpetuated the line of family. The third son was called 
Walter, and nicknamed "Watty Wudspurs," and fron^ 
him the Scotts of Raeburn are descended. James Scott 
of Thirlestane was the fourth son; and the youngest and 
fifth son became John Scott of WoU, and was the ancestor 
of the family of WoU. 

The eleventh laird of Harden was Hugh Scott, son of 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 4x5 

Walter Scott and Ladj Diana Hume Campbell, yomigest 
da\ighter of the Earl of Marchmont. He was bom in 17581 
and married, in 1795, Harriet, daughter of Hans Maurice, 
Count de Bruhl, Saxon Ambassador at the Court of St 
James's. This lady was a great friend of Sir Walter Scott 
of Abbotsford. Their first child was Charles Walter, bom 
at Harefield, in the county of Middlesex, in 1796. In 1797, 
Harriet Diana was bom at Westminster, and died on the 
1st of June, 1 81 6, and was interred in the family vault at 
Mertoun. Mr Scott succeeded in recovering the barony of 
Polwarth, which had been conferred, in 1690, on Sir Patrick 
Hume, his maternal ancestor. Lord Polwarth died on the 
28th December, 1841, aged 83 years. 

Hugh, the last Earl of Marchmont, who also held the title 
of Lord Polwarth under an earlier creation, was a highly 
accomplished statesman, and during the lifetime of his father, 
from 1734 ^o i74<^» ^^ ^ member of the House of Commons, 
he distinguished himself by his successful opposition to Sir 
Robert Walpole. After he became the Earl of Marchmont, 
he was, in the year 1750, elected one of the representative 
peers of Scotland. He was appointed keeper of the great 
seal of Scotland in 1764, which office he held till his death, 
in the 86th year of his age, on the loth of January, 1794, 
at Hemel Hempstead, in Hertfordshire. Lord Marchmont, 
who possessed a valuable library of rare books and manu- 
scripts, was also an accomplished scholar, and was generally 
acknowledged to be one of the most enlightened men of his 
day. He was on intimate terms with eminent men, includ- 
ing Alexander Pope, the poet. Sarah, Duchess of Marl- 
borough, who died in 1744, the same year as Pope, was 
another of his friends. He acted as executor to both of 
them, and the duchess left him a legacy of £2$oo. 

On the death of the third Earl of Marchmont, in 1794, 
several claimants appeared for his titles of Earl Marchmont 
and Lord Polwarth, by reason of his having been pre- 
deceased by his two sons without issue. The earldom of 
Marchmont, being limited to heirs male, was claimed by 

2B 



4i6 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Captain Alexander Home, a member of the Wedderbum 
family, as the nearest heir-male of the Homes of Polwarth 
and Marchmont.^ In 1804 this claim seems to have been 
referred to the House of Lords, but it does not appear to 
have been actively prosecuted until 1822, and the claimant 
dying within a year afterwards proceedings were stayed. 
On behalf of Capt. A. Home's eldest son, Francis Douglas 
Home, an additional case was printed in the year 1842. 
The claim of Hugh Scott of Harden to the peerage of Lord 
Polwarth of Polwarth was found by the House of Lords to 
be proved in the year 1835. The laird of Harden became 
the lord of Polwarth. He died in 1841, and Henry Francis 
Hepburne Scott succeeded as second Lord Polwarth of the 
house of Harden. 

H. F. H. Henry Francis Hepburne Scott was a son of Hugh 

Po?warth. Scott of Harden (who, in 1835, assumed the honours of 
the barony of Polwarth) by his wife, a daughter of the 
third and last Earl of Marchmont. Lord Polwarth was 
bom in the year 1800 at Brighthelmstone (Brighton), in 
the county of Sussex. He was lord-lieutenant of Selkirk- 
shire, and in that capacity was colonel of the Roxburgh 
and Selkirk volunteers. During the first two administra- 
tions of Lord Derby he had the honour to be a lord-in- 
waiting to Her Majesty. He paid great attention to 
agricultural matters, being himself one of the most famous 
breeders of Leicester sheep in Scotland. In August, 1867, 
Lord Polwarth died from paralysis, his last appearance in 
public being at a volunteer inspection. The deceased peer 
became a member of the Jedforest Club in October, 1827, 
and is described as " Henry F. Scott, younger of Harden," 
in the minute-book of the Club. He was a faithful supporter 
and an elder of the Church of Scotland, and on several 
occasions a member of the General Assembly. Lord Pol- 
warth married, in 1835, Georgiana, daughter of Baillie of 
Jerviswoode. By this marriage he had two sons and 
three daughters. 

^The Marchmont peerage is extinct. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 417 

On the 28th of September, 1836, the youngest brother Hon. FVas. 

Scott ^A P 

of Lord Polwarth, the Hon. Francis Scott, together with 
Charles Baillie, Lord Jerviswoode,^ his brother-in-law, were 
unanimously admitted members of the Jedforest Club. Mr 
Scott was a barrister, and sat as member of parliament 
for Roxburghshire during 1841-7. He married, in 1835, 
when twenty-nine years of age, Julia Frances Laura, only 
surviving child of the Rev. Charles Boultbee and Laura, 
sister and sole heir of George, foiu'th Earl of Egremont. 

The old stronghold of the Scotts of Harden stands on 
the left bank of the river Borthwick. The entrance hall 
is paved with marble, and the ceiling still shows some 
artistic remains. The walls are of great thickness, and 
from the position of the keep on the precipitous banks of 
a glen, it was so constructed that it could be defended 
with success from any ordinary attack of Border raiders. 

Mertoun House, now the chief residence of Lord Pol- « 

warth, is situated on a picturesque peninsula formed by 
one of the windings of the river Tweed. His lordship is 
thirteenth Baron of Harden and sixth Lord Polwarth. He 
was born in 1838, and married, in 1863, Mary, daughter 
of the fifth Earl of Aberdeen, and has issue. 

Among the portraits at Mertoun, there is a very fine 
full-length picture, by Ramsay, of Mary Lilias Scott of 
Harden. She had refused the Duke of Hamilton, who 
wished to marry her, because she was attached to Mr Scott, 
second son of Scott of Scotstavert; but the Duke of 
Hamilton admired her so much that he obtained her con- 
sent to have her portrait painted and placed in the gallery 
at Hamilton Palace. Mr Scott died, and Miss Scott never 
married ; she became the intimate friend of the beautiful 
Duchess of Hamilton (Miss Gunning). Lady Diana Scott 
asked permission to get a copy of Miss Scott's portrait, 
upon which the Duke of Hamilton sent her the original. 
There are also portraits of Walter Scott of Harden and 
his wife. Lady Diana Hume Campbell, third daughter of 

1 Vide memoir — Lord Jerviswoode. 



4x8 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Hugh, Earl of Marchmont, painted in 1756; also of Hugh 
Scott of Harden, in* 1787. The most interesting relics at 
Mertoun House are the golden spurs of Harden, used at 
^'the feast of the spurs." There is also an dd horn or 
bugle, covered over with initials, and various emblems 
and crosses ; and a horn powder flask, belonging to Gideon 
Scott of Highchester, who was bom in 1678. This curiositjr 
is elaborately engraved with grotesque designs. 

SCOTT OF ANCRUM. 

The Scotts of Ancrum being descended from the ancient 
family of Balwearie, in Fife, a short account of the famous 
Michael Scot (whom tradition declares to have been a scion 
of that house) is allowable in these pages. The following 
information is derived from the '* Life of Michael Scott,'* 
by the Rev. J. Wood Brown: — "Hector Bo€ce, Principal of 
Marischal College, Aberdeen, who first gave currency to 
the story, could hardly have meant to imply that Michael 
was actually born at Balwearie. It is to be presumed that 
he understood Scotus to have been a family name ; and the 
Scotts who became of Balwearie by marriage with the heiress, 
of that estate did not enter into possession of it till long 
after the close of the twelfth century. To call Michael a 
son of Balwearie, in the genealogical sense, however, is 
in perfect agreement with the conclusion regarding his. 
origin which we have just reached ; for the original home 
of the Scotts, who afterwards held that famous property as 
their ckef luu^ lay by the upper streams of Tweed, in the 
very district which every probability has already indicated 
to us as that of Michael's birthplace." 

Michael Scotti, the wizard, was probably bom between 
1 1 70 and 1 180. It is supposed his birthplace was some- 
where in the valley of the Tweed. The place of his early 
education is also doubtful. At Roxburgh, in the twdfth 
century, there was a somewhat famous school, where probably 
he was prepared for Durham and Oxford, as both these 
universities are associated with his name. He then went 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 419 

to Paris, and there made himself conapicuous by the honours 
he won in that school. From Paris he proceeded to Sicily 
as tutor to the young king» Frederick IL, who afterwards 
obtained the imperial crown. Here he remained for a fdw 
years, until the king married, when his duties in the royal 
household ceased. Michael Scot left Sicily and travelled to 
Toledo, and during the years of his residence there he gained 
immense reputation in the world of letters. Here also he 
studied alchemy, astronomy, and medicine, which at that 
time was of a very primitive description. There is no doubt 
that Michael Scot, with all his learning, believed and prac- 
tised witchcraft, divination, and magic. About the year 
1220, he returned to the court at Palermo,, to his form«r 
patron, as imperial astrologer. It is said that before he died 
he returned to England and went north to his native valley. 
Among the many curious stories told of Michael Scot and 
his power as a magician, the one referring to the Eildon 
Hills is best known. Michael is said to have '' commanded 
bfs spirit to divide Eildon Hill into three. The feat was 
accomplished in a single night, but, the magician's instruc- 
tions being very precise, and the spirit finding one of the 
peaks he had formed greater, and another less, than the 
mean, accommodated the matter very skilfully by transferring' 
what seems like a spadeful of earth, still visible as a distinct 
prominence on the sky-line of the hill. Next night brought 
the need for another task, and Michael gave orders that the 
river Tweed should be bound on its course by a curb of stone. 
The remarkable basaltic dyke which crosses the bed ot the 
stream near Ednam is said to be the result of this command*" 
The only tradition concerning Scot's death is that he died 
while on the borders of Scotland, and there is every reason 
to suppose that he lies not far from the place of his birth. 

As I have already stated, the Scotts of Ancrum claim 
descent from Scott of Balwearie. Douglas of Glenbervie 
remarks: — *' There is no family in Scotland of the name 
Scot which can justly claim a higher antiquity than that 
of Balwearie." It will be suflScient, in this short biography, 



420 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

to mention the sixteenth and last direct descendant — Colonel 
Walter Scott, styled ''of Balwearie."^ He entered the 
army, rose to the rank of colonel, and died unmarried in 
Flanders, during the reign of Charles L Shortly before 
his death, he sent over from Holland the seal of the family 
of Balwearie to Patrick Scott of Langshaw, with a letter, 
claiming him as a kinsman. This interesting relic is still 
preserved in the family. 

Sir William Scott of Balwearie married Isobel, daughter 
of Patrick, fifth Lord Lindsay of Byres, and had two sons — 
- First, Sir William, his successor, whose male line failed. 
. Second, Andrew, from whom the Scotts of Ancrum claim 
descent. 

With the death of Colonel Weaker Scott ended the whole 
direct male line of the ancient family of Scott of Balwearie, 
which had existed for sixteen generations from father to son. 

Patrick Scott of Kirkstyle, Perthshire, lived in the reign 
of James VL He sold the estate of Kirkstyle and pur- 
chased that of. Langshaw, and eventually acquired the 
lands of Ancrum. 

Sir John Scott of Langshaw and Ancrum, who succeeded, 
obtained a charter under the great seal, in 1670, of the lands 
and barony of Ancrum, and was created a baronet of Nova 
Scotia on the 27th October, 1671, with the remainder to 
his heirs male generally. Sir John married, first, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Francis Scott of Mangerton, and had by her 
.several sons and daughters. 

, Of this marriage, Patrick was the heir. Charles was the 
second son. He married Margaret (sister of John, fifth 
Xord Rutherfurd'), and they had a son, John Scott of 
.Belford, in Roxburghshire, who supported the Stuart cause 
in 1715, and lost his estate in consequence. He married 
iMarion, daughter of A. Baillie of Ashiestiel, and had an 
only child, Agnes. Charles had another son, Patrick, who 

1 Balwearie had at that time passed into other hands. 
* Vidf pedigree of Rutherfuxd of Edgerston. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 421 

was lost at sea. Of the daughters, Margaret married Capt. 
Ronalds; Cecilia married Mr Sinclair^ W.S.; and Elizabeth 
married^ in July, 1719, the Rev. James Rose of Udny,^ a 
cadet of the family of Kilravock. 

John, the third son of Sir John, settled in New York, 
married, and had a large family, which branch is still 
represented. The daughters all married .into well known 
Border families : viz., Elizabeth married Sir William Eliott 
of Stobs, second baronet; no issue. Anne married Scott of 
Raebum, and, secondly, Scott of Sinton,' and had children 
to the former. Cicely married William Ainslie of Black* 
hills. Jean married John Murray of Bowhill, second son of 
Sir John Murray of Philiphaugh, and a senator of the 
College of Justice. Another daughter married John Er- 
skine of Shielfield, and had children. Sir John married, 
secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Bennet of 
Grubbet, by whom he had two daughters. He married, 
for the third time, Barbara, daughter of Ker of Littledean, 
but had no issue. Sir John died in 17 12, and was succeeded 
by his eldest son. 

Sir Patrick Scott, second baronet, of Ancrum, was an 
eminent lawyer. At the Scottish convention in 1688, he 
was one of those who represented the county of Selkirk*. 
He married Anne, daughter of William Wallace of Heling- 
ton, a lady of large fortune, but had no surviving issue. 
Sir Patrick married, secondly, Margaret, daughter of Sir 
William Scott of Harden, by whom he had two sons and 
four daughters. 

John was his heir. 

William was educated for the law, and became an 
advocate. He married Anne, daughter of Captain Ben* 
jamin Barton, and, secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of W. 
Ainslie of Blackhills, his cousin; but he had no children. 

^ Vide Cleghom of Weens. 

s John Scott of Sinton and Anne Scott, Lady Raebum, gave np their 
names in order to marriage, the said John prodndirg testimonials firom 
Ashkirk parish. Dec. 31st, 1702. — Vid$ Register. 



432 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Christian married John Pringle of Whytbank, in 1699. 
Mr Pringle died in 1702, at the age of twenty-five; and 
his wife at Edinburgh, on the nth of April, 1770, surviving 
her husband sixty -eight years. 

Elizabeth married George Douglas of Friarshaw. 

Jean married David Moirhead, and afterwards James 
Gartshore, W.S., and died at Edinburgh on the 12th of 
Angnst, 1750. 

Margaret died, in 1768, unmarried. > 

Sir Patrick died in 17349 and was succeeded by his son, I 

. Sir John Scott, third baronet, of Ancrum. In April, 17x49 
he married Christian, eldest daughter of William Nisbet of 
Dirleton, and of this marriage there were four sons and 
t¥K> daughters — ist, Patrick, who was an officer in the 
army, and died unmarried during his father's lifetime ; 2nd, 
William, who succeeded ; 3rd, John, bom at Ancrum 
in 1729, who, in right of his mother, succeeded to the 
estate of Craigentinnie, and took the name of Nisbet in 
conjunction with his own. He married Margaret, daughter 
of C. Lewis, collector of His Majesty's customs at Leith, 
and died on the 31st of December, 1764, leaving a son, 
John, who became laird of Craigentinnie, and afterwards 
fifth baronet of Ancrum ; 4th, Walter, bom in 1733, who 
had no issue. The daughters of Sir John were — Margaret, 
bom in 1728; and Christian, in 1735- Kr John Scott died 
at Edinburgh on the 21st of February, 1746, and his eldest 
surviving son. Lieutenant WiUiam Scott, of Barrel's Foot, 
succeeded. 

Sir William Scott, fourth baronet, of Ancrum, died on the 
i6th of June, 1769, and was succeeded by his nephew, 
John Scott Nisbet of Craigentinnie, who dropped the name 
of Nisbet. 

Sir John Sir JoHN ScoTT, fifth baronet, of Ancrum, was born in 1757 

of Aiicnim.' ^^ Longnewton, in the parish of Ancmm. When twenty 

years of age (in 1777), he was gazetted to a cornetcy in 
the royal regiment of Horse Guards. From this corps he 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 423 

was, in 1781, transferred as a sub«>Iieutenant to the and 
troop of Horse Grenadiers. Sir John next appears, in 
1783, as a captain on half-pay in the 17th Foot. He 
married, in 1792, Harriet, daughter of W. Grahame of 
Gartmore, and by this lady he had two sons and four 
daughters. When the increase to the auxiliary forces took 
place, in 1794, he was offered the command of the Roxburgh 
corps of cavalry, which he accepted, and accordingly his 
name appeared in the gazette as major-commandant. Sir 
John was promoted to the rank of colonel the following 
year, when the regiment was augmented and its designation 
altered. At the same time, William Elliot of Borthwickbrae 
was appointed lieut.-colonel ; and William Elliot of Harwood 
was gazetted as major. When the Irish rebellion, which 
had been smouldering for some time, burst into open flame, 
Sir John took his regiment to Ireland, the headquarters 
being at Athlone. It was here his eldest son, John, was 
bom, on the 14th of July, 1798. The Roxburgh cavalry, 
soon after their arrival, got broken up into detachments, 
one of which did good service when it came into collision 
with the rebels at Castlebar, and also against the French 
at Killalo, where some were killed and others wounded. 
In 1810 Sir John Scott was present at the formation of the 
Jedforest Club, and presented the members with a handsome 
snuff-box in the shape of a mull, mounted in silver, which 
ever since has been placed on the table at meetings. On 
the 24th of December, 1812, Sir John Scott ^ died at 
Edinburgh, and was interred in his father's grave in the 
old Greyfriars churchyard on the 30th of December. 

Sir John Scott, sixth baronet, of Ancrum, born at Athlone, 
in 1798, entered the navy as a midshipman, and died on 
board H.M. S. Rhin' on the 29th of August, 1814, at the 
age of sixteen. He was succeeded by his younger brother, 
William, who had a long minority. 



1 Vide inscription on tombstone. 
■ Vide Edinburgh Advertiser, 1814. 



424 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Sir w. Scott, Sir William Scott, seventh baronet, of Ancrum, was bom 
Ancrum.' ^^ i^3> sLnd married, at the age of three- and -twenty, 

Elizabeth, daughter of David Anderson of Balgay, Forfar- 
shire. For a short time he was an officer in the 2nd Life 
Guards. Sir William was member of parliament for Rox- 
burghshire and deputy -lieutenant and justice of the peace 
for the same county. Sir William Scott died on the 12th 
of October, 1871, and Lady Scott in 1878. Their family 
consisted of four sons and three daughters: — 

William, who succeeded. 

John, captain in the Scots Guards; died on the loth of 
February, 1859. 

Henry Warren, bom in 1833 ; married, in 1870, Caroline 
Louisa, daughter of £. Burnaby of Baggrave Hall, and 
widow of the Rev. C. C. Bentinck; and died 23rd August, 
1889. 

Arthur, bom in 1835, and died on ist November, 1874. 

Elizabeth, married in 1871, to Lieut.-Col. Charles Lennox 
Tredcroft, late captain R.H.A., and died on the loth April, 
1 886, leaving issue. 

Harriet, married, in 1879, to Col. Edward E. Dulier, 
C.B., and has issue. 

Louisa, married, in 1871, to Right Hon. Sir Robert W. 
Duff, P.C., G.C.M.G., of Fetteresso, county of Kincardine, 
and by him (who died in 1895) ^^^ children. 

Sir w. Scott, Sir William Scott, eighth baronet, of Ancrum, was born 
Ancnm.' °^ *° ^^^9' ^® married, on the 17th of January, 1861, Amelia, 

daughter of General Sir Thomas Monteith Douglas, K.C.B., 
of Stonebyres, county of Lanark. Sir William was at one 
time in the 79th Highlanders, and afterwards in the Rox- 
burghshire volimteers. He is a deputy -lieutenant and a 
county councillor for Roxburghshire. Lady Scott died in 
1890, leaving one daughter, Constance Emily. To the 
regret of Sir William and the whole neighbourhood, the old 
baronial house of Ancrum was burned to the ground on the 
2nd December, 1873. A new house was erected, with 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 425 

every modern improvement, which also took fire in 1885, 
with the result that nothing but the walls remained. A 
third building now occupies the position, but many of the 
interesting relics of the past, which the old house contained, 
have been destroyed in one or other of these conflagrations. 
In the. park at Ancrum are to be seen some magnificent 
trees, chiefly hardwood, which invariably command atten* 
tion. 

SCOTT OF SINTON. 

The origin of the ancient barony of Sin ton is not known. 
In 1305, Edward I. of England, having just completed the 
conquest of the north, received a petition from Isabella de 
Synton and her husband claiming the sheriffdom of Selkirk. 
It is recorded that William the Lion (1165-1214) had 
appointed Andrew de Synton to the sheriffdom of Selkirk, in 
which office he was followed by his descendants for several 
generations. Sinton before 1509 belonged to a family of 
the name of Erskine. Walter Scott of *' Sintoun " appeared 
before the Lords at Edinburgh in 1525, and swore to rise in 
support of the Earl of Angus, warden of the Borders. In 
1610 George Scott of Sinton was returned heir to his father 
in the lands of Bonraw, in Roxburghshire. Up to this date 
the old line of Scott of Sinton was as follows : — 

Robert Scott of Sinton, slain November, 1509. 

Walter (his son) died 1570. Had married, ist, Cockburn ; 
2nd, Riddell. 

John (his son) predeceased his father. 

Walter (his son) died in i6d8 ; he had married Isabel 
Douglas. 

George (his son) married Mary Gladstaines. 

George sold Sinton to Francis, 4th son of Walter Scott 
of Harden. From various privy council registers, the 
entries make it appear that George became laird of Sinton 
in his father's lifetime. In reference to Isabel Douglas, 
wife of the above Walter Scott of Sinton, the records of 
the Presbytery have preserved a curious entry. In 161 5 



426 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

she was summoned as the good wyffie of South Sinton '^for 
abusing the minister, Mr. Alex. Hog, publicly, by words 
and countenance, on Sabbath, betwixt the sermons, in the 
audience of the congregation.** The following genealogy 
of the Harden Sintons is derived from family MSS. 
Francis Scott, son of Walter Scott of Harden, married 
Isabel, sister of Scott of Whitslade. 

William Scott, his son, made burgess of Selkirk, 1643. 

John Scott, his son, retoured in the lands of North Sinton 
in 1675, married Anna, eldest daughter of Sir John Scott of 
Ancrum, and widow of William Scott of Raebum. He 
obtained a portion of Selkirk Common when it was divided, 
and added the farm of Satchels to the estate. 

Alexander Scott, his son, married^ Magdalen, daughter of 
Sir William Eliott of Stobs, the curators being John Erskine 
of Shielfield, Walter Scott of Woll, Will EUiot of Borthwick- 
brae, Walter Scott of Todrig, and William Ogilvie of Hart- 
woodmyres. 

John Scott, who succeeded his father, married Mary, 
daughter of William Oliver of Dinlabyre, whose tocher wat 
20,000 merks. He died in his father*s lifetime, leaving a son, 
Alexander. 

Alexander succeeded his grandfather, sasine dated 1765. 
He married Eleanor, daughter of Walter Grieve of Branx- 
holm Park, and died in 1782. 

John Scott, only son of Alexander, died in 1796 without 
issue, leaving two sisters, Catherine and Helen. 

Catherine had titles made up in her favour, excluding the 
heirs male whatsoever of Alexander Scott, her great grand- 
father — viz., John, only son of Hugh £>cott of Gala — and 
Hugh Scott of Harden. 

Catherine Scott of Sinton married John Corse of Bughtrig, 

♦ ■ _ _ - 

^ 171 3 — Alexander Scott of Sinton had a child baptised at Sinton 
before the people (there assembled), in lawful marriage. with Magdaline 
Eliott, his lady — the child's name, Margaret. — Ashkirk Register. 

The most of my information is derived from Mr Craig*Brown*8 
History of the County of Selkirk. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 427 

who took the name of Scott, and was succeeded by his son, 
John Corse Scott, born in x8oi at Edinburgh. He died, and 
was succeeded by his son — 

John Corse Scott, now of Sinton, born 1854, late lieu- John Corse 
•* •'^ Scott of 

tenant 7th Dragoon Guards; married, in 1880, Esther Jane, sinton. 

daughter of Robson Scott of Ashtrees, M.D., H.E.I.C.S., 
and has issue. In 1882, Mr Scott was elected a member 
of the Club. He is also a member of the Forest Club, 
Selkirk, an older institution than that of Jedburgh. He 
is a justice of the peace for the counties of Roxburgh and 
Selkirk, a deputy-lieutenant for Selkirkshire, and a member 
of the county council. 

Mr Craig -Brown has little to say regarding the estate of 
Sinton. He remarks that both tradition and documentary 
evidence are silent as to the site even of the hereditary 
sheriff's ancient stronghold. There is an eminence known 
as Blackcastle Hill, but its surface reveals no trace of 
wall or rampart. During some draining operations on 
the estate, fine old oaks and red-deer horns were un- 
earthed. An excellent specimen of the latter has been 
preserved, and is now in Sinton House. 

SCOTT OF WOOLL. 

The Scotts of Wooll, now represented by Scott Plummer 
of Sunderland Hall, are descended from John, fifth son of 
Sir William* Scott of Harden, by Agnes, daughter of Sir 
Gideon Murray of Elibank. 

John Scott' purchased Wooll in 1660, and married Agnes^ 
daughter of Robert Scott of Harwood. In the *' History of 
Selkirkshire" it is stated that John Scott of Wooll, in 1678, 
when part of Selkirk common was divided, acted as '' ami- 

1 Vide Polwarth. 

s John Scott, father of V^alter Scott of Wooll, was fined by Meldrum in 
March. 1683, and again in October, 1684, by the Lords of Justiciary, on 
account of his wife's withdrawal from the parish kirk. He craved, as a. 
loyal subject, that execution might be stayed. His petition was refused. 



428 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



William 
Scott of 
Wooll. 



cable compositor" between the parties. He was also 
chamberlain to the Duchess of Buccleuch. His eldest son 
succeeded him. 

Walter Scott of Wooll married, in 1694, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Scott of Horseley Hill, and had, with other 
issue, two sons: — William, his successor, and John, bom 
in 1702. Walter Scott died, at a good old age, in 1744. 

William Scott of Wooll, advocate, sheriff of the county 
of Selkirk, married, about the year 1740, Jean,^ eldest 
daughter of Charles Balfour of Broadmeadows, by Janet 
his wife — a daughter of William Plummer' of Middlestead 
and Jean his wife, daughter of W. Kerr of Sunderland Hall, 
by whom he had seven sons and five daughters, including 
Charles, the eldest, born in 1744, and John' — of whom 
presently. 

Charles Scott of Wooll, who, on the death of his father, 
succeeded to the estate, married, in 1777, Elizabeth, daughter 
of William Waugh of Shaw (by Barbara, daughter of Gavin 
Plummer), and by her, who died in 1831, left three sons. 

William, the eldest, was designated *'the younger of 
Wooll." He joined the Jedforest Club early in i8ii. He 
went out to Canada, and married, at Quebec, in 1815, 
Alicia, daughter of R. J. Uniacke, Attorney -General of 
Canada. He obtained the appointment of commissioner 
of customs. Mr Scott's family consisted of two sons — 
Charles Andrew, born at Quebec, i6th August, 1817; and 
Richard, born at the same place in the following year, 
and who died at the age of nine. Charles Andrew Scott 
died at Rome, in 1838, at the age of twenty-one. 

^ Jean Balfour, widow of W, Scott of Wooll, advocate, died at Hawick 
in 1797. 

*Died in Edinburgh, 1799, Andrew Plummer of Middlestead. — Edin- 
burgh Advertiser, 

> John was father of William Scott of Teviotbank. 

Jean, daughter of William Scott of Wooll, bom in 1750, married Rev. 
Benjamin Dickenson, minister of Hobkirk ; died in 1824, and is buried 
there, vide tombstone in Hobkirk churchyard. It is said that Jean was 
one of five daughters, all six feet high. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 429 

Andrew, the second son, died in Edinburgh on the ist 
of February, 1799. 

Charles Balfour Scott, W.S., the third son, was born 
in 1782; he married, in 1818, Eliza, second daughter of 
the Rev. Alexander Ker, and died in 1838, leaving a son, 
Charles, and four daughters. 

Charles Scott of WooU was bom in 182 1, and succeeded, 
in 1838, to WooU, and, in 1839, to the entailed estates of 
Middlestead and Sunderland Hall, when he relinquished 
the estate of WooU to his uncle, Lieut.-Colonel John Scott, 
in terms of the entail. 

Lieut.-Colonel John Scott of WooU succeeded his nephew, 
and sold WooU in 1863. He married Clementina, daughter 
of Edward Shaw, and had two daughters. The eldest, 
Clementina, married Mr Durbin ; Elizabeth, the other 
daughter, died in 1883. 

There seem to have been some Scotts of WoU before 
1660. In 1608, John Scott, brother of Walter Scott of 
WoU, with some others, attacked and maltreated some 
of the people of Selkirk. In 1643 ''George Scott calUt 
of the Woir* was made a burgess of Selkirk. WooU 
originally belonged to the bishoprick of Glasgow, and a 
stone in the march dyke between WooU and Hart wood- 
myres is still known by the name of '*the bishop's stone." 

John,^ a younger brother of the first-mentioned Charles 
Scott of WooU, acquired the estate of Glenormiston. He 
was born in 1757, and married Beatrice Caverhill. He 
died in 1803, leaving two sons, WiUiam and James. 

William Scott of Teviotbank, born in 1782, became a Wm. Scott 
writer to the signet in 1808. He purchased Teviotbank bank, 
about the year 1804 ; he married Miss Jordan of Edinburgh, 
on 22nd September, 1808, and died on the i8th of August, 
1 841. By this marriage he had one son, John. Mr Scott 

^John Scott of Glenormiston, Peeblesshire, passed as a writer to the 
signet in 1784, and was apprenticed to Cornelius Elliot of Woollee. 



430 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

married, secondly, Margaret, a daughter of Dr Duncan of 
Edinburgh, by whom he had two sons-rDr Andrew James 
Scott and William C. Scott, and one daughter, who died 
unmarried. Mr Scott joined the Club in 183 1. 

John Scott John Scott of Teviotbank, a writer to the signet, was 

\ygj^^ ' born on the 2nd of October, 1809. He joined the Club in 

2836, and his name then appears in the Club list as ** John 
Scott, younger, of Teviotbank." He entered into marriage, 
in 1850, with Anne, second daughter of Henry Singleton of 
Belpatrick, County of Louth, but had no family. Upon 
the death of his father, William Scott, he succeeded to 
Teviotbank, and in 1854 ^^ ^^ ^^® property for ;^i 7,000 
to Mrs Agnes Scott, widow of his uncle, James Scott of 
EUem.^ Mrs Scott was succeeded by her son, William 
John Scott, who sold Teviotbank, in i860, for £22^SS^* 
John Scott, W.S., the subject of this short memoir, 
bought Riskenhope from George Pott of Dod, for 
;^i4,25o, and the farm of Chapelhope from John Gray 
Henderson of Abbotrule, for ^25,000. These formed the 
old barony of Rodono,^ which name Mr Scott revived. 
He built a mansion-bouse on the estate, but before it was 
quite completed he died. It was said that he was 
preparing a family history of .the Scotts of WooU at the 
time of his decease. 

SCOTT OF WAUCHOPE AND HOWCLEUCH. 

This branch of the family of Scott is descended from 
Walter Scott, second son of Walter Scott of Crumhaugh. 

Walter Scott, born in 1700 (whose mother was a daugh- 
ter of Robert Bennet of Chesters), was the purchaser of 
Wauchope and Howcleuch. The former he bought from the 
trustees of Lord Cranstoun. Mr Scott married Rachael, 
daughter of Francis Elliot of Fenwick, and had two sons, 
Walter and Charles. 

* Rodono was sold by John Scott's widow, and bought by the trustees 
of Thomas Tumbull of Fenwick ; it is now the property of the Earl 
of Wemyss 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 431 

Walter Scott of Wauchope, born in 1726, married, in 
1768, Elizabeth, daughter of David Rutherfurd of Capehope. 
This lady was well known to the poet Bums, and while on 
his Border tour, in 1787, the poet paid a visit to Wauchope, 
and states in his note-book '* that she possessed all the sense, 
taste, intrepidity of face, and bold critical decision which 
usually distinguished female authors.*' Mr Scott married a 
second time, in 1789, Beatrice, daughter of Gideon Scott of 
Priesthaugh, and died without children in 1796. Mrs Scott 
died at Priesthaugh in 1807. 

Charles Scott of Howcleuch, born in 1728, succeeded to 
Wauchope upon the death of his brother. He married, in 
1776, Elizabeth, a daughter of Archibald Dickson of Hassen- 
deanburn and Huntlaw, and died in 1808, leaving the fol- 
lowing, viz. : — 

Walter, his heir, born in 1778. 

Archibald, who succeeded to Howcleuch, born in 1779; 
he married, in 1804, Charlotte, daughter of John Sibbald 
and sister of Col. Sibbald of Pinnacle. He farmed Common- 
side^ for a long period, and died in Hawick, in 1874, ^^ ^^^ 
patriarchal age of 96. 

Charles, was born in 1782, and died unmarried in 1856. 

Robert, who came next, was born in 1786, and died un- 
married in 1833. 

James, went to India as a cadet in 1806, having been 
born in 1789, and served in a Madras native infantry regi- 
ment. He died unmarried in 18 10. 

William, was born in 1792, and also served in the Madras 
army. He obtained his lieutenancy in the 21st Madras 
Native Infantry in 1815, and when the 42nd M.N.L was 
raised, he was promoted to a captain's commission in that 
regiment. He died in India in 1828. 

Rachel, married, in 1807, Hugh Mitchell, merchant, who 
resided in Dumfries, and had issue. 

Christian, married Archibald Dickson, and died without 



^ He was always called " Old Commonside." 

2F 



432 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

surviving issue. Through this connexion, Pinnaclehill came 
into the Scott family. 

Jessie, died in 1857, having married a Mr Cockburn. 

> 

Walter Scott Waltbr Scott of Wauchope succeeded his father in 
of ^VfHi ch opc* 

1808. He married, in 1812, Marion, daughter of Thomas 

Macmillan of Shorthope,^ county of Selkirk. He had the 

following children: — 

Charles, born 1814, died 181 7. 

Thomas, his heir. 

Walter, M.D., born 1817, studied medicine, and entered 
the East India Company's medical service, and died at 
Allahabad, Bengal, in 1844. 

Charles^of whom presently. 

Archibald, born November, 1822; died at Malta, 1862. 

Anne, died in childhood. 

Walter Scott of Wauchope, as a young man, was a 
zealous supporter of the volunteers. When the false alarm 
took place, in consequence of the beacon fires being lighted 
on the evening of the 31st of January, 1804, Capt. Scott, 
who commanded the light company of Roxburghshire volun- 
teers, at once rode off into Liddesdale to collect some of 
his men who came from that quarter. The blazing beacons 
on the Cheviot Hills had already aroused them, and he 
found many equipped and ready to march at a moment's 
notice. He placed himself at their head, and they pro- 
ceeded as fast as they could travel to Hawick, picking up 
on the way the remainder of the company. Occasionally 
the shrill notes of the bugle horn were sounded as they 
went along, and this warlike music, which was echoed 
from hill to hill in the middle of the night, gave notice to 
all concerned that their services were required to expel 
the invader. Capt. Scott arrived in Hawick before day- 
light on the morning of the ist of February, after a long, 

^ Mr Macmillan resided at Musselburgh in a nice old - fiashioned 
re^dence called Shorthope House, standing a little off the street, with 
extensive grounds in the rear. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 433 

fatiguing night march. He found Hawick on that eventful 
morning in an intense state of bustle and excitement. The 
town was lighted up with torches, and volunteers and 
yeomen were flocking in on all sides. The whole popula- 
tion of the town seemed to be in the market-place, every- 
body's door was wide open, and no one went to bed that 
night. Capt. Scott found Scott of Sinton at the head 
of his company drawn up in front of the Tower Hotel, 
and, having formed up his company, in its proper place, 
he called the muster roll. He was highly complimented 
by his commanding officer for the soldier-like appearance 
of his men and the very small number of absentees. In 
1809, after the Local Militia Act was passed, and the 
volunteers disbanded, the Duke of Buccleuch, lord-lieutenant 
of the county, presented Capt. Scott with the senior captain's 
commission in the ist Roxburghshire local militia, com- 
manded by the Hon. Gilbert Elliot, afterwards Earl of 
Minto. The captain was an original member of the Jed- 
forest Club, and attended the first meeting of the society 
in 1810. 

He farmed the whole estate of Wauchope, and was seldom 
.absent from home. His children were all bom at old 
Wauchope House. Up to a short period before bis death he 
took an active part in all parish business. Mr Scott died at 
Wauchope on the 24th of May, 1857. His eldest surviving 
son succeeded. 

Thomas Macmillan Scott of Wauchope was born in the Thomas M. 
year 1816, and assumed the additional surname of Macmillan, v^auchope. 
in accordance with ,the entail of his maternal grandfather's 
•estate of Short hope. He entered the society of Writers to 
Her Majesty's Signet in 1838, and married, in 1844, Kather- 
ine Jane, daughter of Captain Brown Roberts of the E.I.C.S., 
and at one time high sheriff of Calcutta. Although edu- 
cated for the law he preferred a country life, and, after his 
marriage, rented, from Mr Elliot, Harwood House; and most 
4>f his family were born there. He became a member of the 



434 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Jedforest Club in April, 1841. Mr Macmillan Scott died at 
Wauchope on the loth of June, 1862, aged 46. His family 
consisted of the following: — 

Walter, born 1846, died 1847. 

Walter, now of Wauchope. 

Arthur Francis, bom 1854 — of whom presently. 

Edith Marion, married Major-General Frederick Edward 
Sotheby, late Rifle Brigade, in 1876. 

Marion Maud, is unmarried, and lives with her mother 
at Pinnadehill. She rides well to hounds. 

Katherine Margaret, devoted several years of her life to 
good works. She joined a sisterhood in the south of Eng- 
land, and fell a victim to over-exertion in the line of life she 
had chosen. She is buried in St John's churchyard, Jed- 
burgh, where a beautiful marble cross marks her early 
grave. 

Capt. W. M Walter Macmillan Scott of Wauchope and Pinnacle- 
Wauchope. ^^^^ ^^^ born in 1848, and received his education at Harrow 
and Trinity College, Cambridge* He joined the Carabineers 
as cornet on the 23rd of October, 1867, and served for about 
seven years in that regiment. After his retirement from the 
regular army, he received a commission as captain in the 
Scottish Borderers, their headquarters being Dumfries. It 
was here he met Miss Antoinette Dury, whom he afterwards 
married. She was the eldest daughter of Theodore Henry 
Dury of Bonsall, County of Derby, late of the loth Hussars. 
Captain Scott built the present mansion-house of Wauchope 
in 1875, from plans drawn by the architects Kinnear and 
Peddie, and the work was completed shortly before bis 
marriage. After the Local Government Act of 1888 had 
been passed, and when county councils were formed, Capt. 
Scott was the first elected representative of his native parish 
of Hobkirk. He is a justice of the peace for Roxburghshire 
and Selkirkshire, chairman of the Hobkirk school board, 
and has been a member of the Jedforest Club since 1869* 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 435 

His family consists of a son, Thomas Alexander Frederick, 
born in 1881, and now at Eton, and one daughter. 

Charles Scott of Howcleuch, third son of Walter Scott Chas. Scott of 
of Wauchope, was born in 18 19 at old Wauchope House. °^^®" 
After he left school he studied the management of sheep and 
general estate work with the factor of Lord Breadalbane. 
He farmed Tythehouse and Dykeraw, to give himself occu- 
pation — the former on the Harwood estate and adjoining 
Wauchope, and the latter in Southdean parish. For the 
greater part of his life he was a well known member of the 
Buccleuch Hunt, and a straight rider to hounds. Mr Scott 
married, in 1862, Margaret Amelia, widow of Captain Robert 
Main (late 54th Regiment), younger, of Ravensbourne Park, 
and daughter of Captain Brown Roberts of the 25th Bengal 
Native Infantry. After his marriage he lived for some time 
at Lintalee. When the estate of Langlee was exposed for 
sale by auction, Mr Scott purchased it for the sum of 
;^i 6,500. He built thereon a handsome residence, including 
the old house within the precincts of the new. Mr Scott 
joined the Jedforest Club in the year 1847, and when he 
retired from its membership his name stood at the head of 
the list. At Langlee there are two excellent portraits by 
Sir John Watson Gordon, one of Mrs Elizabeth Scott, a 
daughter of Dickson of Hassendeanburn — a remarkable 
picture, painted by the artist when a young man ; the other 
of Mrs Marion Scott, daughter of Macmillan of Shorthope 
— also a splendid example of this well known artist's genius. 
There is also a striking likeness of Mr Scott (full-length) by 
Sir George Reid, P.R.S.A. Mr Scott died at Langlee on 
the 26th of August, 1895, ^"^ ^^^ buried in Hobkirk 
churchyard. 

Arthur Francis Scott of Howcleuch and Langlee sue- A. F. Scott of 
ceeded his uncle. He was educated at Harrow, and entered °^ ^^^ 
the army as sublieutenant in the Rifle Brigade, 2nd bat* 
talion, in November, 1873, and became lieutenant in the 



436 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

following year. A few years afterwards he joined the 5th 
LancerSy and then retired from the service. He next turned 
his attention to the study of law, and became a member of 
the Scottish bar in 1883. For a short time he held the lease 
of a farm in New South Wales, but gave it up just before 
the great monetary crisis took place in our Australian 
colonies. Mr Scott was elected a member of the Jedforest 
Club in 1896. 

SCOTT OF WHITEHAUGH. 

In 1479, David Scott became possessed of ''the Lands 
of Whitehaugh, to be held for the yearly payment of one 
penny." 

He was succeeded by his son Philip. His successor in 
turn was Walter, who succeeded to Wester Heip in 1532. 

Walter Scott of Whitehaugh married Janet Scott, daughter 
of Walter Scott of Headshaw. He had two sons: — 

William Scott of Whitehaugh, who died unmarried ; and 

Walter Scott of Whitehaugh, who sold the estate to his 
maternal uncle, Robert Scott of Headshaw. This Robert's 
son sold the lands of Whitehaugh, on the 6th December, 
1623, to Andrew Hay, writer, who held the estate until 1656, 
when he sold it to Walter Scott of St Leonardsi who again 
sold it to his nephew Walter Scott, the representative of 
the Headshaw family, in 1671. 

William Scott of Whitehaugh succeeded in 1697, ^^^ 
married, in 1705, Ann, daughter of Dr John Rutherfoord of 
Knowesouth. He presented, in 1728, to the church of Wilton, 
the silver sacramental cups, still in use, which bear the 
following inscription: — ''Gifted to the parish of Wilton by 
William Scott of Whitehaugh, 1728." Under the inscrip- 
tion are the family arms and motto, " Vincit Amor Patriae," 
He died without issue in 17519 and was succeeded by his 
sister Isobel* 

Isobel Scott of Whitehaugh married, in July, 17531 the 
Rev. William Somerville, minister of Hawipk;^ she died 

1 Vidi Rev. Dr Somerville of Jedburgh. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 437 

without issue in 1759; and her second cousin, John^ then a 
minor, succeeded her. 

John Scott of Whitehaugh married Margaret, eldest 
daughter and co- heiress of Walter Scott of Newton, in 
the parish of Wilton, by whom he had twelve children, 
but only three sons and three daughters survived child- 
hood. John died in 1823, and was succeeded by his eldest 
surviving son, Walter Scott of Whitehaugh. He was 
educated for a surgeon, and practised as such for many 
years. He died unmarried in June, 1841, and was succeeded 
by James, the third brother. 

James Scott of Whitehaugh for a long period resided at Tas. Scott of 
Whitslade, in Selkirkshire. He became a member of the ^ ^ ' 

Jedforest Club on ist May, 1843, ^^^ ^^^ unmarried on 
the 19th October, 1852. Francis, second son and eldest 
brother of James, entered the army, and served with his 
regiment, the 59th Foot, at the capture of the Cape of Good 
Hope, and also in India, where he was promoted to a 
company. He served in Spain, and was in several battles. 
He received a gold medaP for the battle of Vittoria, iiaving 
succeeded to the command of the regiment in that action. 
Major Scott was killed leading the volunteers of the 59th 
at the storming of San Sebastian. 

1. Agnes Scott, sister of James Scott of Whitehaugh, 
married Adam Stavert of Hoscote.' 

2. Elizabeth Scott, married Gilbert Chisholme of Stirches* 
on the 17th August, 1802. Whitehaugh now belongs to 
Colonel Chisholme of Stirches. 

SCOTT OF PEEL. 

. This family has been associated with pastoral farming on 
the Borders for many generations. . . 

Thomas Scott, tenant in Lethem, was the second son of 

^ This medal is still in existence, 
s Vide Stavert of Hoscote. 
* Vide Chisholme of Stirches. 



438 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

John Scott of Ash trees. In the year 1807 he purchased 
Peel from Lord Douglas for ;f50oo. It was then called 
Baxtounlees, alias Peel. Thomas Scott of Peel died on the 
28th June, 181 3, aged 76; and his wife, Esther TurnbuU, 
died at Lethem on the 5th of August, 1787, aged 37. 

Thos. Scott Thomas Scott of Peel, son of the above - mentioned 
^ ^ Thomas Scott, joined the Jedforest Club as an original 

member in 1810, during his father's lifetime, and was then 
designed younger of Peel. He served in the yeomanry, and 
turned out with the corps at the alarm of invasion in Janu- 
ary, 1804. In 1 8 10, the Duke of Buccleuch gave him a 
captain's commission in the ist Regiment of local militia. 
In 1833 ^^ added to his family possessions by purchasing 
the valuable estate of Newton, on the Teviot, from William 
Ogilvie of Chesters. His portrait, taken by Mr Frain of 
Kelso, in the old uniform coat of the Jedforest Club, now 
hangs in the dining-room at Newton. Thomas Scott died 
at Edinburgh on the 13th of May, 1858, aged 77, having 
been a member of the Club for the long period of forty- 
eight years. He left Newton to his nephew, Thomas 
Robson, who took the additional name of Scott. Peel 
was left to his nephew, William Elliot,^ eldest son of his 
elder sister, Helen. 

John Scott of John Scott, a younger son of Thomas Scott of Peel, 
Kiccalton. ^^^^ tenant in Lethem, was born in 1785. He was elected 

as an honorary member of the Jedforest Club in 1810. 
At the first meeting of the club, on the 7th of August of 
that year, Lord Ancram laid before the meeting a pattern 
button, which was approved of. His lordship then took 
into consideration the uniform coat, and said that, as 
members of a Border club, he would recommend that the 
cloth should be manufactured out of pure Cheviot wool. 
This proposal was unanimously agreed to by all present, 
and Mr John Scott, tenant in Lethem, engaged to get it 
executed. 

^ Peel has descended to John Elliot. The Flatt, in Liddesdale. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 439 

The estate of Riccalton was exposed for sale on the 6th 
March, 1829, and was bought by John Scott from the heirs- 
at-law of Lady Essex and Lady Mary Ker, daughters of 
Robert, second Duke of Roxburghe, for jfgooo, and at the 
same time he purchased the superiority of the estate for 
an additional ;^400. Mr Scott afterwards acquired from 
his kinsman the old family property of Ashtrees.^ In the 
year 1829, he was elected as an ordinary member of the 
Jedforest Club. He ^nd his brother Thomas lived at 
Lethem, and he died there, on the 6th November, 1858, 
aged 73. He left Ashtrees to his nephew, Dr James 
Robson, eldest son of his sister Esther, who took the name 
of Scott conjointly with that of Robson. Riccalton he left 
to another nephew, John Elliot, the second son of his sister 
Helen, who added Scott to his surname. 

GEORGE SCOTT, JEDBURGH. 
Mr Scott was the son of a schoolmaster. He practised Geo. Scott, 

Writer 

as a writer in Jedburgh, and married a daughter of Doctor jedburgh, 
Wilson, and afterwards built the house called Boundary Secretary. 
Bank, and lived there. Mr Scott was manager of the 
Jedburgh savings bank. In early life he was a volunteer 
in Colonel Rutherfurd's regiment, and acted as commissary 
clerk. Mrs Scott predeceased her husband by many years. 
Their family consisted of an only son, John, and two 
daughters, who both married Free Church ministers. Mr 
Scott was elected secretary and treasurer to the Club on 
the 25 tb of October, X826, in succession to Mr Thomas 
Shortreed, deceased, and thus became an ex-officio member 
of the Jedforest Club. He died in 1843, and was succeeded 
by Mr Scotland, W.S., as secretary and treasurer. 

1 John Scott of Riccalton purchased Ashtrees, in the parish of South- 
dean, in 1835. from the trustees of the late John Scott of Ashtrees, and 
tenant of Woodhouses, for the sum of /4400. In 1808, Adam Scott was 
laird of Ashtrees. and was elder brother of Thomas Scott, first of Peel. 
Ashtrees is now the property of Major Robson-Scott. late of the 3rd 
Hussars. — Vide Robson-Scott Memoir. 



440 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER XVI. 

SCOTLAND. 

Tohn Scot- JOHN SCOTLAND was the son of Thomas Scotland^ 
<J W.S., Wester Luscar, Fifeshire, and grandson of John 
Scotland, a merchant of Leith. Mr Scotland was educated 
for the law, and became a writer to the signet in 1815. For 
a time he followed the ordinary routine of his profession, but^ 
having been offered by the Earl of Home the management 
of his estates on the Borders, he took up his residence at 
Glen Douglas, the chamberlain's house, on the Jedforest 
estate, near Jedburgh. Mr Scotland married, in 1820, 
Mary, daughter of Robert Burn, architect in Edinburgh, 
and by her had children. She died at Glen Douglas. Mr 
Scotland married again in 1851, his second wife being- 
Anne Catherine, daughter of Brown Roberts of Ravens- 
bourne Park, Lewisham, who survived him. In his later 
years Mr Scotland lived at Kenilworth, where he died on 
the 14th October, i860. The subject of this memoir was 
a member of the Club from the 27th of April, 1836, and 
took an active interest in its affairs. At a general meeting 
held on ist May, 1843, he was unanimously elected as 
hon. secretary, on the death of Mr George Scott, and 
this office he discharged with efficiency for many years. 

SHORTREED OF JEDBURGH. 

This family, which at one time was so well known in 
Roxburghshire, and particularly in Jedburgh, has now died 
out. 

Robert Shortreed of Essenside, who married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas Elliot of Oakwood Mill, and sister of 
William Elliot, the first of WooUee, had a son, Thosoas 
Shortreed, who became one of the most extensive fanners 
in Jedforest. He occupied at various times the farms of 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 441 

Lustrutber, Westshiels, Jedheads, Hyndlee, and Woollee. 
At the close of the American war, in the year 1778, he 
became seriously involved, like many others — a circumstance 
which weighed heavily on his mind, and, to a certain extent, 
shortened his life. Mr Shortreed was. bom in 1733, and 
married at Abbotrule House, in 1757, Anne, daughter of 
the laird of Abbotrule. He died in 1798. 

Robert Shortreed, eldest son of Thomas Shortreed, Robert 
was born on November 7th, 1762. He was educated as a sherifif- 
lawyer, and eventually became sheriff-substitute of Rox- substitute, 
burghshire. Mr Shortreed began business in the office of 
James Fair of Langlee, whose third daughter, Margaret, 
he married on April 13th, 1795. In 1802, he had ,the 
misfortune to lose two infant children, and on this occasion 
applied to the Magistrates of Jedburgh for a burial-ground 
in the Abbey churchyard,^ The portion of ground assigned 
to him had belonged formerly either to the family of 
Rutherfiird of Farnielee or of Simpson of Sharplaw, both 
families being now extinct. Robert Shortreed had a great 
talent for music; he delighted in old Border ballads and 
legends, of which he had a large collection. He was an 
intimate friend of Sir Walter Scott, and accompanied him 
pn his well-known journey into Liddesdale, when they 
visited Mr James Davidson, farmer of Hyndlee, the original 
breeder of the dandy dinmont terriers, and referred to in the 
novel of ^^ Guy Mannering." Shortreed, from early associa- 
tions, knew every inch of this country, his father having 
been tenant of Hyndlee. He built a house in Jedburgh, now 
the British Linen Bank house. Here he resided during 
the greater part of his married life, and it was here he 
died, on the 7th of July, 1829. Mr Shortreed was an 
original member of the Club, and was unanimously appointed 
honorary secretary, in September, 181 3, in succession to Mr 
Jerdon of Bonjedward, who only accepted the office until 

. »i I -■ . ■ , , m I ■ 

^Minutes of the Town Council of Jedburgh. 



442 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



the Club should be formally established. Mr Shortreed 
sent in his resignation in July, 182O9 which the members 
of the Club accepted with regret. 

Mr Shortreed left a large family, of whom four became 
members of the Jedforest Club. 



Thomas 
Shortreed, 
curat or- 
fiscal. 



Thomas Shortreed, eldest son of Robert Shortreed, 
sheriff- substitute of Roxburghshire. He is described as 
a man of refined taste, and as one who took much interest 
in local antiquities. He published a pamphlet on the old 
orchards of Jedburgh — once so famous — giving a description 
of some of the remarkable old trees, which, in his opinion, 
had been planted by the monks of Jedburgh Abbey. It is 
said that Mr Thomas Shortreed gave Sir Walter Scott much 
assistance in composing the ** Minstrelsy of the Scottish 
Border." He was passionately fond of old Scotch songs 
and ballads; and being also a good musician, he jotted 
down the tune as well as the words of any song he fancied. 
His bosom friend and schoolfellow was Mr Armstrong, 
the proprietor of Queen Mary's House, Jedburgh, who 
afterwards became the master of the Mint in Russia. With 
him he corresponded until his death. Mr Thomas Shortreed 
never married, and died at Camberwell on the 26th August, 
1826. He was procurator-fiscal for the county of Roxburgh, 
and was elected a member of the Club in 1819. He 
accepted the duties of honorary secretary when his father, 
Robert Shortreed, resigned in 1820. Mr Shortreed held 
this office until July, 1826, when he was obliged to relinquish 
it on the score of ill-health ; he died very shortly afterwards. 
He was succeeded in the offices of treasurer and secretary by 
George Scott. 



Captain W. 

Shortreed, 

H.E.I.C.S. 



Captain William Shortreed, second son of Robert 
Shortreed, went out to India as a Bengal cadet in the 
East India Company's service. He eventually joined the 
2nd regiment of Europeans, and obtained his lieutenancy 
in that corps in 1823. He became a captain in 1836, and 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 443 

was transferred to the ist regiment of European Light 
Infantry. His health gave way, from the effects of an 
Indian climate, and he returned home, and resided with 
his uncle, Mr Fair of Langlee. Captain Shortreed was 
admitted a member of the Jedforest Club in 1845. 

James Elliot Shortreed-FAir of Langlee, third and J. E. Short- 
eldest surviving son of Robert Shortreed, having succeeded Langlee. 
his uncle, Mr Fair, to the estate of Langlee, was proposed 
by William Oliver -Rutherfurd of Edgerston, as a member 
of the Jedforest Club. He was elected in 1849. Mr 
Shortreed- Fair sold Langlee by auction, and it was bought 
by the late Charles Scott, son of Scott of Wauchope, in 
whose family it now remains. 

Pringle Shortreed, youngest son of Robert Shortreed, got Lieut.-Col. 
his commission in the Bengal army in 1825, and was posted shortreed 
as a supernumerary to the 58th Bengal Native Infantry. H.E.I.C.S. 
He was transferred to the 17th Native Infantry, in which 
regiment he remained until the close of his service. He 
retired with the rank of colonel ; was married, and has left 
a family. He joined the Club, having been proposed by his 
uncle, Mr Fair, and seconded by Major Oliver, in 1839. 

John Shortreed Elliot Fair was a son of James E. j. s. E. Fair. 
Shortreed - Fair of Langlee. He was nominated for the 
Club after his father's death. He inherited the love of 
music, in which art his ancestors excelled, and frequently 
sang a good Scotch song after a Jedforest Club dinner, 
to the delectation of the company. "Jock Fair," as he 
was familiarly called, was an officer of the Jedburgh 
company of rifle volunteers, in which he took much pride 
and pleasure. He died at Overwells, near Jedburgh, where 
he had resided since the sale of the Langlee estate. 

SIBBALD. 

The surname of Sybauld, Sybald, or, as now spelt, 
Sibbald, is one of the most ancient in Scotland. Duncanus 



444 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Sibauld is mentioned in a bull of Pope Innocent IV. in 
1250. The old family of Sibbald of Balgonie, in the county 
of Fife, was at one time the chief of the name in Scotland. 
One of their descendants was Sir Robert Sibbald, the 
eminent physician, naturalist, and antiquarian. He flour- 
ished between 1641 and 171 2, and was the author of several 
works, among which the " History of Fife " was not the least 
important. About 1867 he and Dr Sir Andrew Balfour 
formed the design of instituting a botanical garden in Edm- 
burgh, and for this purpose rented a small piece of ground, 
^* of some forty feet every way," in the north yards of the 
Abbey, which they stocked with a collection of plants. In 
1682 Robert Sibbald was knighted by the Duke of York, 
then high commissioner of Scotland.^ 

In the county of Roxburgh, a William Sibbald is men- 
tioned as a portioner in Eildon, a village adjacent to the 
hills of that name. He had a son, John, who is described 
as a portioner in Bowden parish, in Roxburghshire, and 
who was tenant of Whitlaw farm. This John was bom 
in 1637, and died in June, 1707. His children were: — 

I. William Sibbald, portioner in Bowden and tenant in 
Faughhill, born 1676 ; died unmarried, March 12th, 1724. 

II. John Sibbald, born 1677, married and had issue. 

III. George Sibbald, married Jean Sibbaldi and was 
tenant in Holydean. 

IV. Helen, born 1685, married Thomas Stenhouse of 
Whitelee in 1703, and died on June 29th, 1736. 

V. Janet, married William Richardson, Kelso. 

VI. Isobel, married Mr Grierson, tenant in Clarilaw. 
John Sibbald (No. II.) married Agnes,' daughter of 

Thomas Elliot, in Oakwood Mill, and Jean, daughter of 
Cornelius Inglis of Newton, and portioner in Murdiston, 
Lanarkshire.' He succeeded his father in the farm of 
Whitlaw. Their children were: — 

* Vtde Anderson's '* Scottish Nation." 

3 Agnes died October 7th, 1801, at Selkirk, considerably upwards of 80. 

• Vide Memoir of Elliots of Wolflee. 



ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB. 445 

John, farmer, Whitlaw, born in 1714. 

William of Pinnacle, born in 1719 — of whom presently* 

Andrew, bom in the year 1721, died in 1724. 

Thomas, ironfounder in Edinburgh and Leith, died in 
1783. 

George, died young; and 

Jean, married Mr Cleland of Edinburgh. 

John Sibbald, bom in 1 714, as already stated, married 
Margaret Grieve, and died April 21st, 1783. Their children 
were : — 

I. James Sibbald, bom in 1747, who began life by farm- 
ing, which he abandoned in 1779, and thereafter found 
•employment more congenial to his tastes in the establish- 
ment of his kinsman Charles Elliot, the publisher. In 
1 781 he purchased the circulating library of Allan Ramsay. 
In 1783 Mr Sibbald commenced a literary publication, called 
•** The Edinburgh Magazine." His portrait was bequeathed 
to the National Portrait Gallery of Scotland by W, Watson. 
It is a small-sized picture, well painted. He died at his 
iodgings in Leith Walk in April, 1803. 

II. William Sibbald of Gladswood, merchant and ship- 
•owner, Leith. He married, and had issue, and died in 

18x7 at Edinburgh. As a mark of respect to his memory, 
:the magistrates, ministers of North and South Leith, and 
the masters of the four incorporations, with their assistants, 
.attended the funeral to the family burial-place in South 
Leith churchyard. Mr Sibbald had a very large family. 
His ninth son was a writer to the signet. 

III. John, married, about 1804, J^^^ Cunningham, and 
.had a large family. He was a tenant in Borthaugh farm, 
■and died there, loth April, 1822. 

IV. Agnes, married Mr Scott, tenant in Deloraine. 

V. Jean, married in 1774, John Lang, sheriff-clerk of 
Selkirkshire,^ and died in Edinburgh, in 1815. Mrs Lang 
was the patriotic lady of Sir Walter Scott's note — " Alarms 

^ Vidt Memoir of Lang^, Selkirk. 



446 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



of invasion,'* in "The Antiquary." Their family consisted 
of eight, four sons and four daughters, of whom Jean 
Lang married Thomas Blaikie, Clarilaw Moor; and their 
son, William Lang Blaikie, Holydean, married Helen, 
only daughter of James Brunton of Hiltonshill. 

William Sibbald of Pinnacle, second son of John Sibbald 
(No. IL), was born on 12th January, 1719. He married 
Charlotte Cleland, and died in October, 1798; and by her 
had twelve sons and one daughter, of whom 

John Sibbald, younger, of Pinnacle, was born in 1746, 
and predeceased his father, in 1777. His wife was Anne 
Franks, and they had one son, William, and two daugh- 
ters. Charlotte, one of the daughters, married, in 1804, 
Archibald Scott of Howcleuch. 



Lieut.-Col. 
W. Sibbald 
of Pinnacle. 



Lieut.-Colonel William Sibbald of Pinnacle and White- 
rig, succeeded his grandfather in 1798, He was bom nth 
January, 1771, and entered the army about 1794, and was 
promoted to the rank of captain in the 35th Foot in 1797. 
He was transferred as lieut.-colonel to the 15th Foot, in 
1807. He married the same year, on the 14th of Decem- 
ber, at Eildon Hall, Susan, daughter of Thomas Mein of 
Eildon Hall, and left a large family. Colonel Sibbald 
became a member of the Jedforest Club in 181 7, and took 
much interest in its management and affairs until his 
death, which took place in 1835. 

Lieut.-Colonel Sibbald*s family consisted of nine sons and 
two daughters — 

John, the eldest son, born at Whiterig in 1809, was a 
captain in the 34th Madras Native Infantry, and died in 
1843, unmarried. 

Thomas, commander Royal Navy, of Eildon Hall, Ontario. 
He married Mary, daughter of the Rev. Waddon Martyn, 
Lifton, Devonshire, and left two sons — William M., now 
of Eildon Hall, Ontario, who married Miss Pearman, and 
has three sons ; and ThQmas M. Sibbald, fleet surgeon^ R.N» 

William, third son of Colonel Sibbald, bom in 1814. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 447 

James, born in i8i6* 

Archibald, born in 181 7. 

Charles, bom at Pinnacle, Roxburghshire, in 1819, 
went to Canada with his brothers^ on his father's death* 
In the Canadian rebellion of 1837, he served as an officer 
of militia. He was twice married, and has left a large 
family. 

Hugh, unmarried, born in 1823, was for thirty years 
in Bengal, but now resides in Canada. 

Francis Clunie, M.D., of The Briars, Sutton West, 
Canada, served in the Royal Navy, and was resident for 
many years at Shanghai. 

The following extracts from a letter received from Mr 

Hugh Sibbald, son of Colonel Sibbald, may be of interest 

to some of my readers : — 

Eildon Hall, Sutton West, Ontario, 
Oct. 6, 1898; 
" My father, William Sibbald, J. P., of Pinnacle, was lieut.-colonel in 
command of the XV. Yorkshire East Riding Regiment from 1807 to 
18 13. In 1807, he married Susan, sixth daughter of Thomas Mein of 
Eildon Hall, which mansion was built by Mr Mein. His family had 
long held the adjoining property of Greenwells and other lands in the 
neighbourhood. My father was bom in London in 1771. and died at 
Whiterig, on the 12th December, 1835. Though then only in my 13th 
year, I have a vivid recollection of him, and of many events occurring 
before that period — such as the great Reform Bill, the death of Sir 
Walter Scott, &c. I remember his attending the Jedforest Club dinners ; 
the coat was then blue, with velvet collar, the buttons were stamped with 
J. F., but he had an older coat, which was g^een ; the buttons were fiat, 
and bore 'Jedforest' on a scroll. My father had been a member of 
another Roxburghshire club (then extinct), 'The Border Bowmen;' the 
buttons were marked with B. B. My father was the only son of John 
Sibbald, merchant, of London — bom 1746, died 1777 — whose wife was 
Anne Franks, a Shropshire lady. I copy the following from an old 
family bible, now before me; it is in the handwriting of my great- 

^The three brothers, Thomas, Francis Clunie, and Hugh erected an 
episcopal church on the lake shore on Jackson Point, Ontario, called 
Sibbald church, in memory of their mother {nee Susan Mein). 

The greater part of the above information has been provided by Mrs 
Blaikie, Holydean ; and Mr Hugh Sibbald, Eildon Hall, Ontario. Miss 
Margaret Sibbald, postmistress, Bonchester Bridge, is descended from 
W. Sibbald, portioner in Eildon. 

2G 



448 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

I 

grandfather, William Sibbald of Pinnacle— bom 17x9, died 1798. Though 
the father of twelve sons and one daughter, he survived them all, save 
his son William, a major or colonel in India, who died without issue. 
* My xoth son. Captain Hugh Sibbald, of the yxst Regiment, fell gallantly 
liefending a fort taken from the enemy at Seringapatam, the 6th February, 
1792; much lamented.' My great-grandfather, William Sibbald (just 
mentioned), was married to an Edinburgh lady. Charlotte Cleland. The 
following obituary notice is also in his own handwriting: — 'Charlotte 
Cleland, my spouse, the mother of twelve sons and one daughter, of which 
ten sons and the daughter died before herself; only William and Hugh 
remain alive, in the East Indies. My spouse died the 13th October, 
Thursday, at 5 o'clock, one thousand seven hundred and ninety-one.' 

*' William Sibbald of Gladswood. merchant, and admiral of Leith. was 
my great-grandfather's nephew; he had a son a distinguished soldier — 
Brigadier Hugh Sibbald. C.B., commanding in Rohilkund and Keemaon. 
who was killed at Bareilly in 1857, during the Indian Mutiny. He left 
three daughters, married severally to Major-General A. H. Paterson, 
Weston-super-Mare; 'to Surg.-General Sir B. Simpson, K.C.S.I., London ; 
and to Captain George Gordon, Horse Artillery (deceased). 

At my father's death there were so many to share that it was deter- 
mined to sell the landed property. Pinnacle and Whiterig; the latter 
had been associated with the family for a considerable period." 



SOMERVILLE. 

The name of Somerville is undoubtedly of great antiquity. 
Mr Anderson in '* The Scottish Nation '* says that members 
of the family accompanied the Conqueror into England, and 
at one time had very large estates both in England and 
Scotland. Their progenitor was the famous Sir Philip de 
Somerville, proprietor of the lordship of Whitchnour, who 
bequeathed a flitch of bacon to every husband and wife in 
the manor who could say they had lived together for a 
year and a day after marriage without strife or disagree- 
ment. It is still occasionally claimed at Whitchnour House, 
and is called the Dunmow flitch. William de Somerville 
came to Scotland with David t., and he witnessed the 
charter founding the abbey of Melrose in 1136. William 
Somerville, in the Teign of William the Lion, slew a fear- 
some monster which haunted the neighbourhood of Linton, 
in Roxburghshire. Tradition declares it to have been a 
large serpent, and a terror to the district. The king, as a 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 449 

reward, conferred the lands of Linton on Somerville in 
1 1 74. A place is still pointed out as the serpent's den, 
and bears the name of ** the worm's hole ; " the name of 
the locality is Wormington. On an old stone on the wall 
of the parish church is the figure of a man on horseback 
in the act of killing a huge beast, in form like a dragon. 
Inscribed underneath are the words — 

"The wode laird of Lariestone 
Slew the wode worm of Wirmieston, 
And won all Linton parochine." 

The motto to the crest of Lord Somerville is "The wode 
laird.*' This member of the family ultimately became 
sheriff of Roxburghshire. He was buried in Linton 
church.* 

Sir Thomas Somerville was made a peer about 1430. 
He married Janet, daughter of Sir Alexander Stewart of 
Demely, and got with her the estate of Cambusnethan, 
Lanarkshire. It is from this old family that the subject 
of this memoir is descended. 

The Rev. Dr Somerville's grandfather, Mr Thomas ^^J^^ 
SoMBRViLLB, was presented to the parish of Cavers by the D.D. 
Bishop of Glasgow, in the reign of Charles II., episcopacy 
being the established form of religion at that time. Having 
taken the oath of allegiance to James II. on his accession to 
the throne, he resigned his living. Some of his parishioners 
built a small chapel for him in Hawick, and he fulfilled 
pastoral duties until the time of his death. He left a widow 
and a young family, consisting of one son and two daughters. 
The son, afterwards the father of Dr Somerville, was edu- 
cated for the church, and became a tutor in the family of 
Lord Elibank. In 1720 he took orders, became a chaplain 
in the family of Lord Somerville, and assisted his lordship 
in administering his affairs till his ordination as minister 
of Hawick, in 1731. Dr Somerville's mother was the 
only daughter of the Rev. Mr Grierson of Queensferry, and 

1 Vide "Life and Times of Dr Somerville." 



450 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 

a woman of great beauty. She died when young Somerville 
was scarcely eight years of age. Somerville was educated 
in the parish school of Hawick, and in 1752 he was placed 
under the care of the Rev. Mr Dickson of Duns. He went 
to the University of Edinburgh in 1756, and soon after this 
his father died in the manse at Hawick. He had now his 
sisters to support, as well as his own education to carry on, 
with very narrow means at his disposal. He obtained a 
house, rent free, near the Netherbow Port, from his mother's 
cousin, Miss Colville, which act of kindness was a great help 
to him. At this time a connection of Lord Somerville, a 
Mr Burges, was appointed commissioner of the excise in 
Scotland, and came to reside near Edinburgh, in 1759. He 
offered to young Somerville the post of tutor to his son, which 
he gladly accepted, and was treated as one of the family. 
From there he went, in the same capacity, to Sir Gilbert 
Elliot of Minto. In 1767 the parish church of Minto became 
vacant, and Sir Gilbert presented the living to him. Soon 
after his settlement in the parish, he married a daughter 
of Mr Charters. In the year 1772, on the translation of 
the Rev. James Macknight to Edinburgh, the more lucrative 
pulpit of Jedburgh became vacant. Somerville's former 
patron successfully used his interest for him, and he was 
named as the successor of Dr Macknight. He published, 
in 1772, "A History of the Political Transactions and of 
Parties, from the Restoration of Charles II. to the Death of 
King William." The following year Dr Somerville was 
nominated one of the chaplains -in -ordinary to His Majesty 
in Scotland, and was also elected a member of the Royal 
Society of Edinburgh. 

He published his great work, " A History of the Reign 
of Queen Anne," in 1798. At this time he happened to 
be in London, where he had a curious experience. He 
had gone to the House of Commons, and was standing 
in the lobby when he was suddenly arrested, and taken 
to Bow Street police office on a charge of felony. Utterly 
incapable of accounting for the strange predicament in 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 451 

which he was placed, he could scarcely avail himself of the 
advice of the magistrate, to inform his friends of the cir- 
cumstance. Meanwhile, Harry Dundas (afterwards Lord 
Melville), who had witnessed his arrest, entered the court, 
and having satisfied the magistrate of the respectability 
of the doctor, indulged in a hearty laugh at his expense. 
A notorious swindler was a passenger on board the packet 
in which Dr Somerville came to London, and when land- 
ing he had been seen in the company of this man, which 
led to his seizure as an accomplice. The doctor often 
related with much pleasantry this episode in his visit to 
London. 

Always strict in the performance of his pastoral duties, 
Dr Somerville was at the same time devoted to the pur- 
suits of literature ; he numbered among his friends many 
distinguished divines and scholars. At the Chapter Coffee- 
house, a mutual friend introduced him to Peter Pindar, 
then in the zenith of his fame. 

He stretched out the hand of friendship to the poet John 
Logan, and shielded him from the attacks of his enemies 
during a certain period of his eventful life. Dr Somerville 
was presented by the poet, when he bade farewell to Scot- 
land, with a gold-headed cane, a gift which thQ recipient 
highly prized, and always carried. 

Dr Somerville lived to the venerable age of ninety. He 
died at Jedburgh on the i6th May, 1830, in the sixty- 
fourth year of his ministry. On the previous Sunday, he 
had preached and administered the sacrament to his con- 
gregation.* 

He became a member of the Jedforest Club on the 27th 
January, 1813, by unanimous consent. 

Dr Somerville, as already stated, was married on the 5th 
of June, 1770, to Martha,' daughter of Samuel Charters, 
solicitor of the customs for Scotland, by whom he had 



* Vidi " Life and Times of Dr Somerville." 

' Rev. Dr Somerville lost his wife on December 17th, 1809. She died 
at the manse, Jedburgh, and is buried within the confines of the Abbey. 



452 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

several children. His wife was a clever woman, with a 
well-stored mind, and took much care in the education of 
her daughters. They were taught by the son of the Jed* 
burgh schoolmaster, David, afterwards Sir David, Brewster,, 
the great philosopher. Their children were: — 

1. Christian, the eldest daughter, married Walter, third 
son of Patrick Riddell of Muselee,^ and had a son and a 
daughter. The latter was bom on 15th June, 1809, and on 
the 9th October of the same year Mr Riddell died. 

2. Janet, or Jenny, married at Jedburgh, on the 8th 
December, 181 2, Joseph Pringle,' late consul-general in the 
island of Madeira. On his death, she married General 
Henry Elliot of Rosebank, son of the laird of Harwood. 

3. Martha was married at Jedburgh by the Rev. Dr 
Charters, on the 19th of August, 1819, to William Ruther- 
ford, junior, writer. Mr Rutherford afterwards became the 
first agent for the Jedburgh branch of the National Bank 
of Scotland, and also factor to Lord Somerville. There 
were six children of the marriage. The eldest, Thomas 
Somerville Rutherford, solicitor, Jedburgh, married, at Cess- 
ford, Jessie Johnstone M'Dougall, daughter of Archibald 
M'Dougall, Cessford. She died in 1866, and left, with 
other issue, a daughter, Christina, who was married in 
1875 to Dr Jeflfrey, Jedburgh. 

4. Margaret died in 1843, aged fifty- four years, at Rose- 
bank, Kelso, the house of her sister, Mrs Elliot, the widow 
of General Henry Elliot. 

William Somerville, M.D., was the eldest son— -of whom 
presently. 

S. c. Somer- Samuel Chestbrs Somerville of Lowood, younger son 
ville. W.S. Qf Dr Somerville of Jedburgh, was a writer to the signet. 

On July 1 6th, 1807, he married the eldest dfiughter of 

1 Vide Riddell of Muselee. 

s Mr Pringle died in his father-in-law's house, and is baried in the 
Abbey churchyard. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 453 

Robert Low of Clatto, Fifeshire. He joined the Jedforest 
Club in 181 1, soon after its institution, and died at Wimble- 
don, June i8th, 1823, in the 47th year of his age. 

William Sombrville, M.D., was born in 1771. He W. Somer- 
entered the army as a medical man. In 1795 he went to • - • 
the Cape of Good Hope with the expedition under Admiral 
Elphinstone and General Clarke, and after its capture from 
the Dutch, he was appointed garrison surgeon to the troops. 
The savage tribes on the borders of the colony were very 
troublesome, and Somerville was employed by the authori* 
ties to make a treaty of peace with them, which he 
accomplished with some difficxilty. He made a second 
expedition, accompanied only by a native interpreter, and 
penetrated as far as the Orange river — then quite an 
unknown region — and was considered to be the first white 
man who had been there. He married, first, at Jedburgh, 
Miss Rutherford of Knowesouth, on the 2nd September, 
1806. She died at Falmouth, in March, 1808. Dr Somer- 
ville was employed in Canada, and also in Sicily, at the 
head of the medical staff. In 1812 he was at home, and 
it was then he became a member of the Jedforest Club. 
In the same year he took as his second wife his cousin 
Mary, daughter of Admiral Fairfax, and widow of Samuel 
Grieg. She was one of the most scientific women of her 
day. The marriage ceremony was performed by the Rev. 
Sir Henry Wellwood Moncrieff, 6aronet. Soon after his 
marriage, Dr Somerville was appointed deputy inspector 
of array hospitals in Scotland. They accordingly made 
Edinburgh their headquarters, and a daughter was bom 
there in March, 1813. In 1816 he was gazetted a member 
of the army medical board, which necessitated a removal 
to London. On his arrival in the metropolis, he was 
pleased to hear that he had also been made physician to 
Chelsea Hospital, both of which appointments he was 
allowed to hold. He died at Florence on the 26th of 
June, i860, in his 89th year. Mary Somerville now became 



454 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

a widow for the second time. Her lifei which is full of 
interest, written by her daughter Martha, is well known. 
She died, aged 92, surviving her husband about twelve 
years. 

SPEIRS. 

My authority says, Speirs, a surname sometimes written 
Spears, evidently has reference to that well-known military 
weapon, the lance. 

In Renfrewshire are to be found the families of Speir of 
Burnbrae, and Speir of Blackstoun, and also Speirs of 
Elderslie. In 1760, the lands of Inch, near Renfrew, 
were purchased by Alexander Speirs, an eminent merchant 
in Glasgow, and in 1769 he bought from Mrs Campbell 
of Succoth, mother of Sir Hay Campbell, Bart., Lord 
President of the Court of Session, the estate of Elderslie, 
in the same county, with which the name of Sir William 
Wallace is so intimately associated. Mrs Campbell was 
of the heroes name and lineage, being the only child and 
heiress of John Wallace of Elderslie. Mr Speirs having, 
in 1777-80, built a large mansion-house at Inch, gave it 
the name of Elderslie House, from the estate whence he 
took his designation. He died in 1782. 

Peter A. Peter A. Speirs, only son of the late Archibald Speirs, 

Sneriff-;;; of the East India Company's Civil Service, third son of 

substitute. Peter Speirs of Cxilcreuch, Stirlingshire, by Mary Anne, 

daughter of W. A. Pringle (son of Alexander Pringle of 
Whytbank and Yair), was bom in 1842, and educated at 
Trinity Hall, Cambridge, where he took his degree of B.A., 
in 1864. Mr Speirs was called to the Scottish bar in 
1866. He married, on 23rd June, 1880, Florence Cooke, 
daughter of the late Richard Cooke, Woodford. His 
eldest son, Archibald Douglas, was bom in 1882, and 
educated at Eton. From 1877 to 1886 Mr Speirs was 
sheriff-substitute of Inverness-shire, and resided at Portree. 
He was then removed to Jedburgh, as sheriff-substitute 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 455 

for the counties of Roxburgh, Berwick, and Selkirk, when 
he became a member of Jedforest Club, in 1886. 

Mr Speirs is a justice of the peace and deputy-lieutenant 
for Stirlingshire. His family is a younger branch of Speirs 
of Elderslie. 

SPROT OF RIDDELL. 

The name of Sprot, or Sprott, is by no means common 
either in England or Scotland. The Scottish Sprotts were 
doubtless among the Saxons who came north after the 
conquest. In the Doomsday Book the name of Sprot is 
mentioned in connection with Yorkshire; and Hunter, in 
his history of the county, says : — " It is believed that when 
Conisbro' was the king's borough, Sprotbro' must have been 
the abode of some person to whom the name belonged.** In 
1272 we hear of Thomas Sprott, a monk of Canterbury, 
writing his "Canterbury Chronicle,** a work which is still 
extant. At the same period there was in Northumberland 
a Richard Sprot, and also a William Sprot, who owned an 
estate in Tynedale. There was also a Richard Sprot of 
Bryset, county of Roxburgh, in 1307. In a volume of 
state trials there appears the name of George Sprot, who 
was a solicitor, of Eyemouth, and was executed for the part 
he took in the Gowrie conspiracy in 1608. He was the son 
of a Richard Sprot in Jedburgh. 

One branch of the family settled in Galloway. It is 
descended from Hugh Sprot, burgess of Urr, who witnessed 
a charter of Baliol to the monks of Holyrood in 1262, and 
who is believed to have been that Hugh of Urr who, with 
other Gallowidians, signed the Ragman*s Roll in 1296. His 
seal, bearing a boar*s head, is still extant in the public 
archives. The Rev. George M. Sprott, D.D., North Ber- 
wick, son of the Rev. John Sprott, Nova Scotia, belongs to 
this branch. 

Sprouston, below Kelso-on-Tweed, is said to have belonged at one 
time to a Sprot. 



456 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

JeflFrey, in his " History of Roxburghshire," writes as 
follows : — 

*' On the estate of Galashiels was a farm called Boghall* now incor- 
porated with the farms of Holnbush and Parkhouse, which had been 
occupied by a £amily of Sprot for more than two centuries One of the 
family, named Habby, was of great strength, and on more than one 
occasion did good service for the laird of Gala in repelling the English 
marauders, or the predatory expeditions of neighbouring lairds. In an 
incursion made by a party of Englishmen, all the cattle of the town were 
carried away. Next morning the men of Galashiels, horse and foot» 
were called out to follow the laird. Habby turned out, armed with a 
scythe tied to the end of a pole — a dangerous weapon in the hands of a 
person of such strength. The laird, at the head of his followers, started 
in pursuit of the English, and overtook them on the south side of the 
river Tweed, where a fight ensued. The English leader distinguishing 
the laird, determined to end the fray by sla3ring him; and, setting hia 
spear in rest, rode at him full tilt. The laird, perceiving his danger, 
called to Habby Sprot, who stood between him and his careering foe 
— * Strike, Habby, strike I ' The deadly weapon of Habby went whistling 
round his head for an instant, and descending with terrific force upon 
the unfortunate Englishman, cleft his head to the chin. Thus the 
laird's life was saved." 

The pedigree of the family is as follows : — 

William Sprot of Yorkstone, in the parish of Temple, 

Mid-Lothian, married, on February 28th, 1696, Euphane 

Moffat, sister of the Rev. Thomas Moffat, who was minister 

of Newton, near Edinburgh, from 1700 to 1743, and by her 

had issue, four sons — William, Thomas, Mark, and John. 

John was baptised on April nth, 1703. He became a 

merchant and burgess of Edinburgh, and was common 

ancestor of the families of Riddell and Gamkirk. He 

married, on the 12th March, 1727, Janet, daughter of 

Alexander Esplin,^ merchant, and one of the magistrates 

of the city of Edinburgh, and had issue, eight sons and 

one daughter who married Benjamin Yule of Wheatfield» 

near Edinburgh, brother of George Yule of Gibslees.* 

The portraits of Benjamin Yule and his wife, by Skirving^ 

are in possession of Lieut.-General Sprot. 

1 Alexander Esplin, late one of the magistrates of Edinburgh, died 
1 781. Vide Edinburgh Advertiser. 
*Vid» Cleghom Memoir. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 457 

Mark, £Durth son of John Sprot, was born in Edinburgh 
in the year 1741. Before he had nearly completed bis 
education, and while the shock which the country received 
at the news of the capture of Minorca by the French and 
Spanish was still rankling in the breasts of many, Markf 
fiill of youthful ardour, formed the resolution of going to 
sea. In 1753 he made his first voyage on board an East 
Indiaman, under the immediate care of a relation, who was 
a surgeon in the East India Company's service. Soon 
after his return he again, in 1761, embarked for India as 
a midshipman. He was present at the taking of Pondi- 
cherry, and was at several smaller engagements on the 
coast of India. He remained in the navy till 1769, when 
he obtained a post in the service of the East India Com- 
pany, as secretary to the supervisor of three provinces of 
Bengal. This turned out to be a lucrative appointment, 
and Mark Sprot then laid the foundation of his future 
fortune. He returned home in 1775, settled in London, 
was elected a member of the Stock Exchange, and became 
one of the greatest capitalists of the reign of George III., 
as described in <* Public Characters," by Gillet, vol. 8, 
page 302. The well-known business thoroughfare, Mark 
Lane, it is said, was named after him. Mr Sprot married 
Joanna, daughter of Stewart of Physgill, but had no family. 
Portraits of both, painted by Skirving and engraved by 
Ward, are in possession of Lieut.-General Sprot. 

Mark Sprot, in his will, vested a sum of seventy thousand 
pounds, which he afterwards increased to one hundred 
thousand, in his executors, for the purpose of purchasing a 
landed estate in Scotland. The estate of Garnkirk, in 
the county of Lanark, was bought, in 181 1, from John 
Mackenzie, merchant in Glasgow, and on which an annuity 
of three thousand a year was partly secured for Mark 
Sprot's widow, Mrs Joanna Hathorn Stewart Sprot, of 23 
Abercromby Place, Edinburgh. Alexander Sprot, one of 
the youngest sons of John Sprot and Janet Esplin, was 
born in December, 1746, and was ancestor of the Garnkirk 



458 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

family. He married Elizabeth Rannie, died in 1829, and 
is buried in St Cuthbert's churchyard, Edinburgh. His 
children were: — 

John Sprot of Southpark, Ayr ; Mark Sprot of Gamkirk, 
and four daughters. 

Mark Sprot of Garnkirk was born in 1799, and died in 
1870. He married Harriet, daughter of Principal Hill, 
D.D., of St Andrews, and had issue as follows: — 

Alexander Sprot, born in 1823, died in 1854. 

George Hill Sprot, lieutenant, 2nd Bengal Fusileers; 
killed at Goojerat, 1849. 

Mark Sprot, died in New Zealand. 

Harriet, married W. F. Davidson of Ruchell, Lanark- 
shire; and 

Elizabeth, unmarried. 

Alexander Sprot, eldest son of Mark Sprot of Garnkirk, 
who died in 1854, in his father's lifetime, married Rachel 
Jane, daughter of Patrick Cleghorn of Stravithie, and had 
a son, Alexander, born in 1853, major of the Carabineers, 
now of Garnkirk and Stravithie. Major Sprot married 
Ethel Florence, daughter of Edward C. Thorp, I.M.D., 
and has seven daughters. 

James Sprot, third son of John Sprot, married Frances 
Blair, and had, with other children, a son, John Sprot of 
King's Road, Clapham Park. He spent a portion of his 
early life in India^ where he made a considerable fortune. 
He inherited the financial genius of his uncle Mark, and 
on his return home, settled in London, where he acquired 
great wealth. He married in London, at St Andrew's 
Church, Holborn Viaduct, in 1801, Mary, his cousin, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Yule of Wheatfield, and had issue as 
follows. He died in 1817, and was succeeded by his 
eldest son : — 

1. Mark, who succeeded to Riddell. 

2. James of Spott House, Dunbar, J.P. and D.L., bom 
14th of January, 1804 ; married in 1834, Mary, daughter 
of Richard Watt of Bishop Burton, county of York, and 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 459 

Speke, county of Lancaster; and died in 1882. His wife 
died in 1881, leaving no issue. 

I. Marion, married, in 1840, A. D. Tait of Milrig, late 
captain 4th Dragoon Guards, who died in 1881, and left 
two sons: — i. James Alexander. 2. John Sprot. 

II. Frances, died unmarried, in 1885. 

III. Jessie, married in 1831, Mark Sprot Stewart of 
Southwick, and had issue: — i. Sir Mark John Stewart, 
Baronet, of Southwick and Ardwell. 2. Robert, and two 
daughters. 

IV. Mary, married Sir William Maxwell, Baronet, of 
Cardross, and is the mother of the present baronet, and of 
Mary, second wife of Sir William Gordon, Baronet, of 
Earlston, late colonel 17th Lancers. 

V. Caroline Isabella, married William Fordyce Blair of 
Blair, Ayrshire, captain R.N., and had issue: — 

1. William Augustus, dead. 

2. Frederick Gordon, present representative, born in 1852 ; 
married, 1880, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of William Baird 
of Elie and Rosemount, county of Fife. 

I. Mary, married, in 1873, John Cunninghame of Craig- 
end. 

II. Caroline Madeline, married, in 1867, Sir Charles A. 
Cunningham of Fairlie, Baronet. 

III. Adelaide Gordon, dead. 

Mark Sprot of Riddell, J. P. and deputy-lieutenant, was 
born in 1802 (in the same house in Gower Street, London, 
in which Disraeli, Lord Beaconsfield, was bom), and edu- 
cated at Trinity College, Cambridge. Although Mr Sprot 
never served in the regular array, his name appears in the 
army lists as a half-pay o£Eicer, for the space of twelve or thir- 
teen years. At the age of fourteen, an ensign's commission 
was purchased for him in the 90th regiment of Foot (with 
the intention of his serving, which he would have done 
but for the death of his father), and the same day he was 
placed on half-pay until of sufficient age. He also served 
in the Roxburghshire yeomanry, about 1826. He married^ 



46o ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

in 1829, Elizabeth, daughter of John Shewell of Sutton 
Park, Surrey (brother of Colonel Shewell, who commanded 
the 8th Hussars at Balaclava, and brought the Light Bri- 
gade out of the action after the famous charge. (Vid^ 
Kinglake's Crimea, vol. iv.) Mr Sprot died on November 
29, 1883, and left two sons, two others having predeceased 
him — 

1. John, now of Riddell. 

2. Edward Sprot of Drygrange, who was born in 18469 
was twice married, and has issue, four sons: — 

1. Edward Mark, now of Drygrange (of the first marriage), 
now serving in the King's Shropshire light infantry, was 
born 4th February, 1872. He married, 1897, Tara, second 
daughter of Edward William Bray, formerly captain, 83rd 
Regiment (now ist battalion Royal Irish Rifles), afterwards 
colonel commanding 4th King's Own Royal Regiment, who 
died in 1892. 

2. James William Lennox, born 7th April, i886. 

3. Harold Maitland, born 3rd June, 1888. 

4. John Boyd, bom 4th September, 1889. He died ist 
February, 1898. 

Lt.-General Lieut. -General John Sprot of Riddell succeeded his father 

ofRidciSl* in 1883. He was born on 12th March, 1830, and was 
educated in England abd in Germany. He obtained a 
commfslion by purchase in the 83rd Regiment (now ist 
battalion Royal Irish Rifles) as ensign, on 19th September, 
1848. On joining his regiment, which was then quartered 
at Fermoy and Cork, he found himself in the midst of the 
Irish rebellion, in which Smith O'Brien took so prominent 
* a part. In 1^49, • in consequence of the losses sustained 

. %V ^> during the Punjab war, several regiments were suddenly 

ordered to India, the 83rd being one of them ; and Ensign 
Sprot embarifed with a detachment on board the ''Zion's 

. ff ^ ' Mope," sailing from Cove of Cork on St Patrick's Day, 1849. 
He arrived at Bombay about three months afterwards, when 
he found that in the interim he had been promoted to the 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 461 

rank of lieutenant, and was, on reaching headquarters, 
posted to the light company of his battalion. After a year 
at Poona, he went with his corps to Kurrachee, and served 
in Scinde, and subsequently in Gujerat, for about five years. 
In 1855 he obtained permission to attend the military college 
at Poona, and a few months after this he received an offer 
of a good appointment, quite unexpectedly, in the public 
works department. He was soon called upon to take charge 
of a large undertaking, viz., the construction of a trunk line 
of road between Ahmednugger and Mow, about 150 miles, 
26 of which he completed, under very di£Eicult circumstances. 
The public works were now (October, 1856), owing to the 
exigencies of the state, suspended for a time, and it was 
then that Lieut. Sprot received the following very flattering 
resolution of Government, dated '< Bombay Castle, October 
loth, 1856:"— 

" The Right Hon. the Governor in Council is anxious, having in view 
the completion hereafter of this road, that the execution of so much of it 
as can be undertaken by Lieut. Sprot, be entrusted to him." 

When, some months later, the public works were re- 
opened, Lieut. Sprot was directed to construct a line of 
road, twenty-six miles long, from Ahmednugger to Toka, 
on the Godavery river. This really great work, he had, 
in little more than four months, completed, with the ex- 
ception of two bridges ; and in June, 1857, he had the 
satisfaction of leading over this road the Central India 
field force. After taking this large body of men across the 
Godavery, Lieut. Sprot accompanied it to Aurungabad, and 
was present at the action there. When the mutiny broke 
out, all officers on civil employ were ordered to rejoin their 
regiments, and Lieut. Sprot returned to his corps at Deesa. 
Arriving there, he was dispatched with his own company 
to suppress an 6meute at Mount Aboo. Shortly after, in 
January, 1858, he was nominated brigade-major to a field 
force of all arms, which was ordered to assemble at Mount 
Aboo, and proceed to Nusserabad. A very few days after 
reaching this station, he found himself and his company 



462 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

in orders to form part of a small force dispatched to relieve 
the fort of Neemuch, then besieged by the mutinous sepoys 
of Bengal, and was nominated stafF officer by the colonel 
commanding. He was next appointed assistant executive 
engineer of the Rajpootana field force, in which capacity 
he received the commendations of the Bombay Government 
twice, and also those of the supreme government of India, 
for the <* energy and ability displayed by him in building 
barracks under extreme difficulty for the European and 
native troops during the mutiny." He was afterwards 
appointed executive engineer, in room of Lieut.-Colonel 
Munby, R.E., with charge of Rajpootana states. 

After twelve years* continuous service in India, ill-health 
from continuous exposure during the mutiny campaign 
obliged Captain Sprot, in i860, to return to England, and on 
his arrival he joined the depot of his regiment at Chatham. 
In 1862, the 83rd Regiment returned to England, and he 
was quartered with them at Dover and Shomcliffe, until 
ordered again to Chatham to take command of the depot 
there, where he was for four years. In 1866, at the end 
of the year, he proceeded to Ireland in connection with the 
Fenian disturbances, in the suppression of which he took an 
active part. On the 22nd January, 1867, he obtained his 
majority by purchase, and in April embarked with the 83rd 
Regiment for Gibraltar. 

In September of that year he retired on half-pay for about 
eighteen months, and this interval of leisure he spent in 
visiting the chief places of interest on the Continent, making 
himself well acquainted with the armies of the different 
European states. In 1869, ^^ ^^^ appointed to the 91st 
Highlanders as a major, obtaining command of this fine 
corps on the 29th of January following. Probably this 
regiment, while under command of Colonel Sprot, was (1872) 
the first in the British army to recognise the necessity of 
being always prepared to resist a night attack; and the 
inhabitants of our Scotch capital still remember the excite- 
ment they were thrown into when^ in the dead of a dark 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 463 

Stormy night, suddenly and without any warning, the shrill 
notes of the 91st bugles sounded the '' assembly '' in the 
Castle and High Street. The men cheerfully obeyed the 
call, and followed their popular colonel into the wet and the 
darkness, they knew not whither, seeming to enjoy the 
novelty of these important movements. The quiet citizens 
of Edinburgh also soon became accustomed to Colonel 
Sprot*s midnight manoeuvres. The Scotch newspapers of 
the time gave full accounts of his plans of attack and 
defence, which also commanded the attention of the mili- 
tary newspapers of the day, not only in England, but in 
America. 

There is an interesting event to be noted in connection 
with the colonel's command of the 91st Highlanders at 
Aldershot. The year 1871 was marked by the wedding 
of the Princess Louise and the Marquess of Lome, eldest 
son of the Duke of Argyll, at Windsor Castle ; and Colonel 
Sprot craved permission from Her Majesty to furnish a 
guard of honour on the occasion from the *' Argyllshire 
Highlanders,** which request was graciously conceded. 
On the day before the ceremony, the colonel and the 
officers of the guard were permitted an audience of the 
Queen, and presented to the Princess the wedding 
gifts of the regiment. To commemorate this happy event. 
Her Majesty bestowed on the regiment the further title of 
** Princess Louise*s '* Argyllshire Highlanders, and sanctioned 
the addition to the regimental colour of the cipher '* L ** in 
three corners, with the boar*s head (the crest of the Camp- 
bells), and the motto ** Ne obliviscaris *' (Never forget). 

After more than six years in command of the 91st High- 
landers, Colonel Sprot was appointed assistant adjutant and 
quartermaster -general for Scotland. In 1878 he received 
command of the 46th Brigade Dep6t at Maidstone and sub- 
sequently of the 31st Surrey (South London) Brigade at 
Kingston-on-Thames. During this command Colonel Sprot 
wrote a letter to the publication called The Cyclist in April, 
1 881, advocating the military importance of the bicycle. In 

2H 



464 ANNALS OP A BORDER CLUB, 

fact the year before, he ventilated the subject in various ways,^ 
although at that time with little success. He was, undoubt- 
edly the first officer in England to recognise the advantages 
of the bicycle in certain military departments. Several years 
afterwards, in 1888, the editor of The Cyclist noted the fact 
that Colonel Sprot was the first to propose their use in the 
army, and on the 8th June of the same year. Colonel Savile, 
in his lecture on military cycling, pointed this out. At the 
expiration of his term of command (October, 1882) at King- 
ston-on-Thames, Colonel Sprot was placed on half-pay, until 
he succeeded, in due course, to the rank of Major-General 
on the active list, when, having completed his term of service 
in that rank, he, on the i8th of July, 1885, retired with the 
rank of Lieut.-General. 

The estate of Riddell was purchased on the 26th of Nov- 
ember, 1823, at public auction, under the authority of the 
Lords of Session, at the Parliament House, Edinburgh, 
during his father's minority. The late Mr Sprot built all 
the farm-houses and farm-steadings on the estate, drained 
the whole of the property, and planted a considerable por- 
tion of the woods which now add so much to the shelter 
and beauty of the district. 

Lieut.-General Sprot married, first, in 1869, Georgina 
Mary, daughter of the late H. E. Surtees of Redworth Hall 
and The Grove, county Durham, and Greenend and Dane 
End, in Hertfordshire; secondly, in 1878, Cecilia Elizabeth, 
eldest daughter of Rev. W. B. Doveton of Corston; and, 
thirdly, in 1886, Charlotte Gertrude, daughter of W. T. 
Cole of Boscastle, Cornwall, late EJ.C.S., and his wife, 
Anne Rutherford, daughter of William Scott of Raebum 
and Lessudden — first cousin of Sir Walter Scott. The 
lieut. -general received the Indian mutiny medal for his 
services in z857,8,9. He is a deputy lieutenant and 
justice of the peace for the county of Roxburgh, and takes 

1 Vids "Journal of the United Service Institution." General Sprot is 
the writer of many useful military pamphlets, all of which have met with 
favourable notice in the daily papers and military journals. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 465 

an active part in promoting the prosperity of the thriving 
village of Lilliesleaf, near which he resides. His eldest 
son is John Mark Francis, bom 12th November, 1881. 
X^ieut.-General Sprot joined the Jedforest Club in 1885. 

STAVERT OF HOSCOTE. 

The name Stavert is supposed to have been originally 
Staward, and it is recorded that a yeoman of that name 
carried the Douglas pennon or banner at the battle of 
Otterbum in 1388.^ It is a family tradition that Henry 
Staward was an ancestor of the Staverts. It is said that 
his morion or helmet was so much damaged in the battle 
that when returning into Scotland he had to have it repaired 
on the way by a blacksmith. The name, through lapse of 
time, has been corrupted into Stavert, and for many gener- 
ations the family were retainers of the hereditary sheriffs of 
Roxburgh. In 1684, William Stavert and his wife Jean, 
with several others, signed a petition to the laird of Cavers 
against the injustice of having to pay a year's rent in 
advance towards the fine exacted for the release of the good 
Lady Cavers." 

The name of George Stavert is familiar to many as that 
of the pioneer of the reformation at Cambridge. It will 
be found in connexion with that of Latimer in several of 
the Parker Society volumes and in Wren's MS., which is 
in the possession of Pembroke college, of which he was a 
fellow. 

The earliest authentic records of the present family begin 
with the first page of the parish register of Cavers, of which, 
unfortunately, all before 1695 has perished. At that date 
there lived at Earlswood one Robert Stavert, who, among 
other children, had a son Thomas, who was christened in 

^ "The pennon of Archibald Douglas, the young laird of Cavers, was 
borne in the field by a retainer of his own, a stout, trusty yeoman of the 
name of Staward." — Cf. White's History of Otterbum, published 1857, 
p. 131. 

•Wodrow's Church History. 



466 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

1709. Thomas occupied the farm of CollifordhiU, the lease 
of which it is believed he held as a reward for military 
services rendered to the Duke of Buccleuch. 

Thomas Stavert married, in 1744, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Adam Pott of Hoscote. She died in 1793, and he a year 
later, at the age of 85. They had a large family. 

The Hoscote property was at one time in the possession of 
the noble family of Home, and was sold by George, Lord 
Home, in 1535, to the Scotts of Harden. By them it was 
sold to Adam Pott in or about the year 1723. On his death, 
it passed to his son George, by whom part of it was 
bequeathed to John Grieve, and part to George Stavert, the 
nephews of the testator. George Stavert sold his portion 
to his brother Adam, who also either purchased John Grieve's 
moiety or succeeded to it on his death, as under his uncle's 
will he was entitled to do. 

Adam, son of Thomas Stavert, was baptised in 1750. He 
married, first, Anne, the daughter of John Brownell of 
Breck, county of Lancaster (by whom he had one daugh- 
ter, Hannah, who married, in 18 14, Archibald Dickson of 
Hassendeanburn, and died d.s.p.); and, secondly, Agnes- 
Scott, who died in 1827. By her he had four children: — 

Thomas, bom 1797. 

Margaret, born 1801. 

Elizabeth, born 1805 ; and 

John, bom 1807. 

Adam Stavert and his children — Thomas, John, and Mar- 
garet — were all in turn proprietors of Hoscote. Margaret 
married her cousin, Thomas Stavert, and died without issue 
in 1865. 

Thomas Thomas Stavert of Hoscote, proposed by James Elliot 

ofHwcote ^^ Wolflee, and seconded by W. Fair of Langlee, became 

a member of the Jedforest Club on the 19th July, 1821^ 

and died in 1847. 
George, another son of Thomas Stavert and Elizabeth 

Pott, was bom in 1756, and married, in 1783, Elizabeth 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 467 

Brownell,^ a sister of his brother's first wife. He was a 
surgeon in the Royal Navy, and died in 1807 in Liverpool. 
He left several children : — Thomas, bom in 1787, D.L. and 
J. P., Selkirkshire, married his cousin Margaret, as already 
stated; and WiUiam, born in 1792, married Marion, a 
daughter of Archibald Park, Windymains. 

The eldest surviving son of William Stavert and Marion 
Park is Archibald Stavert, the present proprietor of Hoscote, 
who was bom in 1828, and married, in 1857, Rosina, a 
daughter of William Hope, whose family is believed to be 
descended from the Hopes of Craighall, and has issue. 

Williaip James, bom 1858, New College, Oxford, M.A., 
rector of Bumsall, Yorks, and chaplain to the Earl of 
Craven. 

Thomas Hope, born 1859, major in the Leinster Regiment. 

Herbert John Brownell, bom 1861, C.A., Edinburgh. 

Archibald Arthur, bom 1864, University College, Durham, 
B.A., priest-in-charge of the priory of South Queensferry, 
Linlithgow. 

Francis Edward Vose, bom 1870, and a daughter. 

Mr Stavert, besides his estate of Hoscote, owns lands 
in the parishes of Oxnam and Hownam in Roxburgh- 
shire. Mrs Stavert died at 34 Palmerston Place, Edin- 
burgh, their town residence, December 24th, 1897. 

STEVENSON. 

James Stevenson, procurator-fiscal of Roxburghshire, and James 

for many years honorary secretary to the Jedforest Club, Procnrator- 
fiscal. 

1 The family of Brownell, with which the Staverts have twice 
intermarried, is of some antiquity. Robert and Edmund Brownell 
occupied the position of Mayor of Coventry in 1477 and 1565. V^illiam 
Brownell, their descendant, took his degree at Oxford in 1575. and was 
Rector of Gawsworth, in Cheshire, from 1597 to 1630. His great- 
grandson, Nathaniel Brownell, took his degree from Ch. Ch. in i674« 
and was presented to the rectory of Halsall, county of Lancaster, in 1683 ; 
jtnd his son John, the father of the two ladies who married Adam and 
George Stavert, was recorder of the Isle of Man when the Earls of 
Derby were its sovereigns. 



468 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

of which he became eventually a member, was bom in 
Edinburgh on the 23rd December, 1805. He was educated 
in the grammar school of Jedburgh (where he obtained con- 
^derable commendation from Dr Lorraine, the then rector^ 
as an apt pupil), and when he left school he was placed 
in the office of Mr Shortreed, procurator-fiscal. Here, at 
an early age, he showed such excellent business capacity^ 
that, on Mr Shortreed's death, the then sheriff of the county, 
Mr Oliver - Rutherfurd of Edgerston, resolved to appoint 
him in succession. It was found, however, that he was 
not of age; but so satisfied was Mr Oliver -Rutherfurd 
with the young man's qualifications that, despite strong^ 
remonstrances from professional men in the town, who 
were naturally jealous of so young and apparently inex> 
perienced a man being preferred, he made an interim 
appointment, and permanently appointed Mr Stevenson to 
the office as soon as he came of age. 

This was very early in 1827, and the new procurator held 
the office for the long period of sixty years, though his son 
shared with him the duties of fiscal for the last twenty-five 
years. He only resigned the appointment a few years 
before his death. During his long tenure of office he had 
served under the following successive sheriffs-substitute: — 
Mr Shortreed, until 1830; Mr John Elliot, from that time 
till 1835; Mr John Craigie, from 1835 ^^^ 1861 ; and Mr 
Francis Russell from 1861 down to the time he resigned 
his office. In addition to the post of procurator-fiscal, Mr 
Stevenson held important county appointments. He was 
made, after a keen competition, clerk of supply, on the 
death, in 1843, of Mr George Scott of Boundary Bank» 
and he continued to hold that office and others arising 
from it — such as clerk to the local authority — until he 
virtually retired from business. Though he held strong 
conservative views — ^being, in fact, what might be termed 
an ultra tory of the old school — Mr Stevenson never took 
any active part in politics. He was keenly attached to 
the Church of Scotland, and was an elder in the parish 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 469 

church of Jedburgh. It is to him that the town is ihdebted 
for the commodious mission hall in Queen Street. Having 
presented the site to the session, Mr Stevenson, in addition, 
subscribed nearly £150 to the building fund. As some 
acknowledgment of his services, the Sabbath-school teachers 
presented him with his portrait. Mr Stevenson has been 
much missed by the poor of the town; his charities were 
always unostentatious, and were very numerous. He ad- 
hered with almost literal fidelity to the Saviour's injunction 
— " Do not your alms before men to be seen of them." Mr 
Stevenson was twice married. His first wife was the only 
daughter of William Graham, M.D., Jedburgh, by whom 
he had a large family. James Charles Stevenson, his eldest 
son, has succeeded to his father's county appointments. 
One of the daughters married the late Mr Arthur Perigal, 
R.S.A., a well known artist. Mr Stevenson's second wife 
was a daughter of the late Rev. William Aston Shute, 
vicar of Thornley, in the county of Durham, who sur- 
vives him. Mr Stevenson died on the 30th September, 
1889, in his 84th year, and was interred in the Abbey 
churchyard. 



470 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



CHAPTER XVII. 



Honourable 
John 

Chetwynd 
Talbot. 



CHETWYND TALBOT. 

r^HARLES CHETWYND TALBOT, Earl of Talbot, 
^^ married Frances Thomasine, daughter of Charles 
Lambert, in the year 1800, and had ten sons and two 
daughters. The elder daughter married the Earl of Dart- 
mouth, and the younger. Lady Cecil, married, in 1831, 
the seventh Marquess of Lothian. 

John Chetwynd Talbot, the fourth son of the above 
mentioned marriage, was bom in 1806. He was educated 
as a barrister, and married, in 1830, the Hon. Caroline 
Jane Stuart Wortley (bom in 1809), daughter of James 
Archibald, first Baron Whamcliffe. Mr Talbot, at the 
time of his marriage, was commissioner in bankruptcy, 
and became, in rotation, a queen's counsel, attorney-general 
to H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, and recorder of Windsor. 
He died in 1852, and his wife survived him until 1876^ 
leaving two sons. During a period of residence in Rox- 
burghshire, he was unanimously admitted an honorary 
member of the Jedforest Club in 1847. 



George 
Tancred of 
Weens. 



TANCRED OF WEENS. 

George Tancred, eldest son of George Cleghom of 
Weens, by Maria Catherine, third daughter of Colonel 
John Dalton of Slenningford Park, Yorks, and Fillingham 
Castle, Lincolnshire, was bom at Weens, on the i6th of 
October, 1831. At the age of nineteen he obtained a com- 
mission in the East India Company's service and proceeded 
to Calcutta, via the Cape, in the '*Nile," East Indiaman. 
Soon after his arrival in India, he was gazetted as ensign, 
in the 43rd Bengal Native Infantry, which was stationed at 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 471 

Atnritsar, in the Punjab. There being a scarcity of officers, 
Cleghom was placed in command of a company almost at 
once. Affcer a time he was taken ill — ^so much so, that the 
doctor gave up hope of saving his life. He was removed 
from his tent to a room in Govinghur Fort, which a staff- 
officer had allowed him to occupy, there to die. One even- 
ing, however, when his illness was at its height, the staff- 
officer, a lieutenant,^ and the doctor were dining together in 
an adjoining room, when the conversation turned on young 
Cleghorn, and the doctor again declared his case as hopeless 
— poor consolation for the sick lad who heard every word 
they said. The gentlemen proceeded to discuss the amount 
and value of the patient's belongings, with a view to the 
auction which, in India, took place immediately after a 
death. Cleghorn traced his return to health from that 
time; weak as he was, it stimulated a determination to 
disappoint the calculations and arrangements of his friends. 
He slowly recovered, and was allowed to go to Simla 
on sick leave for six months, which was afterwards ex- 
tended. In May, 1853, he visited Ladak, the chief town 
of Little Thibet, and thence the valley of Cashmere. 
From over fatigue, his health again gave way, and a com- 
mittee of doctors ordered him to proceed to England for 
three years, as the only chance of recovering his health. 
When he reached Calcutta, he found the ship ''South- 
ampton '* about to sail, with the headquarters of the i8th 
Royal Irish; in this vessel he obtained a passage home, 
leaving India on the last day of 1853. ^^^ voyage occu- 
pied nearly four months. At Cape Town the ship remained 
for about ten days, taking in additional cargo and pro- 
visions for the remainder of the voyage. When the ship 
arrived in the English Channel, a pilot brought the news 
that England had declared war against Russia. At this 
time, it was blowing a gale of wind, and all sails were 



1 Charles Lyons Montgomery of the 65th N.I.. who died a general 
officer, in 1897, was the last survivor of the trio. 



472 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

reefed. The Irish soldiers on board, who were returning 
from the Burmese war, were much excited by the news. 
Getting possession, by some means, of ammunition, the 
soldiers commenced firing one of the carronades which 
were mounted on deck. The officers, for a short time, lost 
all control of the men. The firing was taken for signals 
of distress, and pilot-cutters and other craft bore down on 
the ship to know what was wrong. In the spring of 1854, 
George Cleghorn joined the 2nd West York militia at 
York, and accompanied the regiment when it proceeded 
to Sheffield. Volunteering for the seat of war, or wher- 
ever its services might be required, the regiment was dis- 
patched to garrison Gibraltar. 

Cleghorn had previously applied for a commission in a 
cavalry regiment serving in the Crimea, and, a few days 
before the 2nd West York militia sailed, he was gazetted 
to the 17th Lancers, and was ordered forthwith to join the 
dep6t at Brighton. However, a fortnight after, Cleghorn 
found himself again gazetted as a comet in the Inniskilling 
Dragoons. On going to the War Office for an explanation 
of so strange a proceeding, he was curtly informed that 
his name was on the strength of the Inniskilling Dragoons, 
and he must join the regiment without delay. Such was 
the state of confusion in the War Office during the Crimean 
war. 

At the close of the campaign the 17th Lancers went to 
Ireland, and in 1857 were ordered to India. A misunder- 
standing arose in the regiment with regard to the officers 
who were to be left at the dep6t. Cleghorn found himself 
amongst those who had to remain behind, so he immedi- 
ately exchanged into the Scots Greys, which was then 
under orders for India, On the loth of June, 1862, when 
quartered in Edinburgh, he married, at Aberdeen, Mary 
Anne Hay, third daughter of Colonel Thomas Lumsden, 
C.B., of Bethelvie Lodge, Aberdeenshire, by whom he has 
had eleven children. In 1866 Captain George Cleghorn 
retired from the Scots Greys by the sale of his commis- 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 473 

sion, and turned his attention to country matters and 
country pursuits. On the death of Charles Tancred of 
Arden Hall, Yorkshire, in 1885, Captain Cleghorn suc- 
ceeded as heir of entail to that estate, and took by royal 
licence the name and arms of Tancred only. The ancient 
family of Tancred is descended from Richard Tankard of 
Boroughbridge, county of York, who married Adela, 
daughter of Jordayne Bushe, and had two sons. This 
Richard Tankard was descended from Tancardy, nephew 
of Richard, second Duke of Normandy. He had twelve 
sons, some of whom came into England with William the 
Conqueror; the others warred against the Saracens in 
Italy and elsewhere. [For pedigree of the Tancreds, vide 
Foster's "Yorkshire Families."] Arden Hall was built by 
Sir Ralph Tancred, about the year 1559, on the site of a 
dissolved nunnery; a small portion of this old building 
still remains. 

Mr Tancred is a member of the county council for 
Roxburghshire. He was elected at the head of the poll 
for the first parish council of Hobkirk, of which he was 
the chairman. He is a justice of the peace for the North 
Riding of Yorkshire, and is a deputy lieutenant and justice 
of the peace for Roxburghshire. Mr Tancred is author 
of an " Historical Record of Medals," and has published 
various pamphlets on the same subject. He joined the 
Jedforest Club in 1862. Mr Tancred takes a great interest 
in the affairs of the Club, and has been a member of the 
committee of management since 1867. His family now 
consists of seven sons and three daughters. 

1. George Harry Lumsden, born in 1863; married, in 
1897, Sarah, daughter of J. Gillespie of Nanango, Queens- 
land, and has issue, a daughter, Mary Frances. 

2. James Charles, lieutenant Royal Navy, served in 
Egypt, 1882; medal and bronze star. 

3. Thomas Angus, captain Royal Artillery, served as 
captain in the British Bechuanaland police in the Matabele 
war; medal. 



474 ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

4. Richard Fairfax, Queensland, Australia. 

5. Edward Meynell, Queensland, Australia. 

6. John Yule, 2nd lieutenant Indian Staff Corps. 

7. Walter Cecil, born 1885. 

1. Mary Norcliffe. 

2. Katherine Wray, married, in 1898, A. O. Curie, W.S. 

3. Frances Madeline. 

4. Edith Dalton, died i3th July, 1890, at St Andrews. 

TURNBULL (OF FENWICK). 

Turnbull of Bedrule was, without doubt, the chief of 
this famous Border clan, and the stronghold of this family 
was Bedrule Castle, although the Tumbulls of Mynto 
likewise occupied an important position amongst the great 
Border families. Not a vestige now remains of the 
castle; even the foundations have been removed; and a 
few stones bearing a bull's head, the crest of the family, 
still surviving in the churchyard of Bedrule, are the only 
memorials left now to mark the seat of this well-known 
and turbulent race. In the exchequer rolls, 1501 and 
1528, it is noted that the king grants certain fines, &c., 
to Thomas Turnbull, son and heir apparent of George 
Turnbull of Bedroule. The king confirmed to Helen 
Rutherfurd of that ilk the half merk land of BethirouU, 
in the town and territory of BethirouU, near the parish 
church of the same, held in tack by Herbut Turnbull, 
with the advocation of the parish church, which she, 
with consent of her husband, Andrew Rutherfurd of Hunt- 
hill, sold to Andrew Ker of Femiehirst and his heirs. In 
the privy council records, 1553-41 frequent mention occurs 
of Thomas Turnbull of Bethieroule, knight, in bonds of 
assurance between the Kers on the one side, and the 
Rutherfurds, Tumbulls, and Ormistones on the other. 

By these extracts it becomes apparent that the Tum- 
bulls at a very early date became involved in difficulties, 
and in 1528 a portion of the estate was conveyed to the 
Kers. It was not, however, until 1623 that the whole of 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 475 

Bedrule passed into the hands of this family, and with it 
the Turnbulls lost their leader and their chief. Bedrule 
remained in the family of Carre of Cavers^ until 1801, 
when it was sold by auction, and purchased by Mr Elliot 
of Wells. In 1894 Bedrule was sold, with the estate of 
Wells, to John Usher of Norton for ;^39,6oo. Many of 
the name of TurnbuU claim descent from the original 
stock, but none can prove a direct descent from father to 
son. 

The family of Turnbull, known as that of Fenwick, have 
for a long period been connected with the district of Hawick. 
Bailie Thomas TurnbuU was a merchant there, and pur- 
chased Fenwick in 1762, and other properties, including 
Rashiegrain, near Hawick, in 1771. In the '* Annals of 
Hawick " it is mentioned that TurnbuU of Fenwick was a 
claimant for a share of Hawick Common in 1777. He left 
two sons and two daughters, who all married and left 
children. The eldest son, Thomas TurnbuU, who inherited 
Fenwick, married Martha, daughter of David Ogilvie of 
Briery-yards, and had three children, William, Martha, 
and David. 

William Turnbull of Fenwick, who also succeeded to 
Briery-yards through his mother, married Alison Turnbull, 
and died in 1840, leaving an only son, Thomas. 

David Turnbull went to India in the medical service in 
1799, and was at Mirzapore, as civil assistant surgeon, in 
1 81 8. He retired, and became an indigo planter and a 
speculator in cotton. He was nick-named ** Million Turn- 
buU,'* owing to his large ventures. Mr Turnbull died in 
India during the lifetime of his father. 

Thomas Turnbull of Fenwick lived and died at Briery- 
yards. He was of weak intellect, and was placed under the 
charge of trustees. During his life the property increased 
in value to a large extent, and the trustees added to the 



^ Carres of Cavers, formerly Ker, are descended from the family of 
Ferniehirst. 



476 ANNALS OF A BORDER ClUB. 

trust several estates, ^ath the surplus funds at their disposal. 
Thomas Tumbull died on the 15th of October, 1874, ^^^ 
was succeeded by his cousin William, son of David 
Tumbull, who died in India. 

William Tumbull of Fenwick was bom in India, and on 
his return to this country he lived for a time with his uncle 
William at Briery-yards. He afterwards took a lease of 
Muirdean, a farm in the Kelso district. From there he went 
to Jersey, one of the Channel Islands, where he settled 
•down, taking a great interest in promoting the cause of 
the presbyterian church. Mr Tiurnbull succeeded to the 
following estates in the county of Roxburgh, viz.: Fen- 
^ck, Rashiegrain, and Commonbrae, with some proper- 
ties near Hawick. Briery-yards came into the family 
in the female line in 1783. The fine agricultural farms 
•of Palace and Shortacres were added in z8o6. The small 
-estate of Midshiels was purchased in 1852 from Archi- 
Ibald Douglas, a kinsman of Cavers. The barony of 
Rodono and the farm of Over Kirkhope were the last 
^purchases made by the TurnbuU trustees. These lands are 
•situated near St Mary*s Loch, and consist of 9200 acres. 
When William Tumbull became possessed of these estates 
he took up his residence at Briery-yards, but preferring the 
society and also the milder climate of the Channel Islands* 
the returned to the scene of his labours among his presby- 
iterian brethren, where he continued until his death, which 
.took place on the 9th of May, 1891. His wife predeceased 
him. Mr Turnbull was a deputy lieutenant and a justice 
of the peace for Selkirkshire. He left three sons — David, 
his heir ; William Turnbull of Kilbum, Guernsey ; and Dr 
George Hogarth Tumbull of Kelso. 

David David Turnbull succeeded his father in all his estates 

^f Fenwick. except Palace, which had been sold to Mr Waddell. He 

improved and added to the house of Briery-yards. He 
joined the Jedforest Club in 1875, and married, the same 
year, Christian, daughter of George Oliver, solicitor, 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 477 

Hawick, by whom he has a large family. Mr TurnbuU 
has now sold all his landed property, retired from the 
Jedf6rest Club, and left the country. 

VACHELL. 

Harvey Vachbll was a tenant in Stewartfield (now H. Vachell, 
Hartrigge), hear Jedburgh. He served in the army for a Re^ment. 
few years, and obtained a commission as second lieutenant 
in 1825 in the royal staff corps, and when this regiment 
was reduced and attached to the ordnance department 
Mr Vachell was transferred as lieutenant to the 30th 
Foot. He retired from the service in 1834. 

When Mr and Mrs Vachell came to Roxburghshire 
they had a family of three — one boy and two girls — and 
Mr Vacheirs great delight was to instruct his boy in all 
sporting amusements. He was himself a good steady shot 
and a first - class fisherman, and rented the shooting of 
Fairnington, together with that of Stewartfield. Mr and 
Mrs Vachell were much liked in the neighbourhood, and 
were entertained to a considerable extent during their 
residence in the county. In August, 1841., Mr Vachell 
was elected a member of the Jedforest Club. 

WADDELL OF PALACE. 
Alexander Waddbll, some years ago, purchased from Alex, 
the trustees of Mr Turnbull of Fenwick the farm of oTp^^^V. 
Palace. On that portion of it which lies next to Crailing, 
and is almost overshadowed by the fine timber of that 
< estate, he has built a large house, which he occasionally 

' ilf^S. occupies. Mr Wallace is said to have in Palace one of 
the best farms in the county. He joined the Jedforest 
Club in 1 88 1, having been proposed by Major Pa ton and 
seconded by David Turnbull of Fenwick. 

WALKER OF MUIRHOUSELAW. 

Although the family of Walker of Wooden was well 
known in the county early in the century, especially in the 



478 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 



neighbourhood of Kelso, it is remarkable that little in- 
formation can now be obtained respecting them. The first 
entry in the parish roister of Kelso in reference to the 
Muirhouselaw branch of the family, the subject of this 
memoir, is as follows : — ** For Adam Walker, Esq. of Muir- 
houselaw, son of Adam Walker, Esq. of Wooden, and 
Agnes Macdougall his wife (date 1760) — see page 94, 1767." 
Page 94 is, however, missing from the register. 

In an old family bible, the property of Mr J. Murray 
Walker of 92 Upper Leeson Street, Dublin, son of the 
late Adam Walker of Muirhouselaw, are the following 
entries : — " Andrew Walker and Mary Jordan, married a.d. 
1754. Mary Jordan or Walker, died 15th May, 1755, aged 
20 years. Adam Walker and Katherine Gairdner, married 
1787. Adam Walker, their son, was born 1788," and then 
follow the dates of births off six daughters. In referring 
again to the parish registers, the following entry appears : — 
« 1798 — Mr Adam Walker of the parish of Sprouston and 
Miss Anne MacDougal of this parish (Kelso) gave in 
their names, in order to marriage, 23rd March. Witness 
— Robert Walker,^ Esq.," &c., &c. Adam Walker of Muir- 
houselaw,' resided at Mellendean, which he farmed, as well 
as Soffclaw, in the parish of Sprouston. 



Adam 
Walker, 
younger, of 
Muirhouse- 
law. 



Adam Walker, mentioned as being born in 1788, joined 
the Jedforest Club in 1824. He was proposed by Mr 
Robson, and seconded by Elliot of Harwood, and then 
designated Adam Walker, younger, of Muirhouselaw. He 
married, at Corsbie, August 3rd, 181 9, Catherine, third 
daughter of John Murray of Uplaw, and resided at Main- 
house, and had issue. 



^ Adam Walker, eldest son of Robert Walker of Wooden, died at his 
house, Rocky Branch, in Georgia, North America, on the 15th October^ 
1811. 

'In the valuation roll of 181 1, the lands of Muirhouselaw are divided 
between David Haliburton and Adam Walker. There seems to have 
been no residence on Mr Walker's portion of the estate. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 479 

Several of Mr Walker's sisters entered the married state. 
Anna was married at Mellendean, December 20th, 1820, 
to Charles Abraham Leslie, eldest son of Sir John Leslie, 
Bart., of Wardes and Findrassie. They had a son, Nor- 
man, who was killed in the Indian mutiny. She died in 
1845. Also at Mellendean, December i8th, 1821, Agnes, 
Mr Walker's second sister, married the Rev. Alexander 
Wood, minister of Rosemarkie; and Rebecca married her 
cousin, David M*Dougall, Caverton Mill. .In the year 
1834, Muirhouselaw was sold, and Mr Adam Walker left 
Scotland for Ireland, where he took up his residence in 
the county of Tipperary, and died there in 1858. 

Muirhouselaw became the property of a Mr Ord, whose 
son sold it to Mr Charles Cunningham, the present owner. 

WATMORE. 

Captain and Adjutant Thomas Watmorb. This o£Scer Capt. 
was adjutant of the 2nd regiment of Roxburghshire local 
militia, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Sir J. B. Riddell, Bart., 
of Riddell, and resided at Kelso, the headquarters of the 
corps. The Jedforest minute-book of 181 1 states that 
''the secretary was instructed to inform Captain Watmore 
of the local militia that the Club would be happy to 
make him an honorary member of the society. On the 
3rd December, 1810, at Kelso, the non • commissioned 
officers and privates of the 2nd Roxburghshire regiment 
of local militia presented him with a handsome silver tea 



In Lockhart'8 life of Scott is the following reference to the Walkers 
of Wooden. Sir Walter Scott writes to his friend William Clerk, 
advocate, dated Rosebank. Kelso, loth September. 1795 — "I am loung- 
ing aboat the country here, to speak sincerely, as idle as the day is 
long. Two old companions of mine, brothers of Mr Walker of Wooden, 
having come to this country, we have renewed a great intimacy." 
One of these brothers was David Walker, who became a general 
officer, and was engaged in the Peninsular war. The general died, 
in 1825, at Riddeltown Hill, the fieirm of Thomas Walker, who married 
Anne Pringle. 

21 



4Bo ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

service, ''as a mark of their high respect, esteem, and 
affection for him, as an officer and a gentleman." 

WATSON OF BURNHEAD. 

The family of Watson of Bumhead are the heirs and 
representatives of the family of Scott of Bumhead, the 
property having passed in descent through the female 
branch of the Scotts to the Watsons in the year 1815. 
This old Border family claims descent from Scott of 
Kirkurd.^ James Scot, the progenitor of this family, was 
proprietor of these lands, and was designated by that title. 
He afterwards, in 1484, acquired the lauds of Over and 
Nether Newhall, now called Bumhead and Bumfoot, from 
David, 3rd Lord Lindsay of Byres, and resigned the estate 
of Kirkurd to the family. He also acquired, from the family 
of Glencaim, the lands of Hassendean. James Scot left 
three sons, to each of whom he bequeathed an estate. To 
David, the eldest, he left Hasseudean ; to Robert, the third 
son. Nether Newhall; and John got Over Newhall (or 
Burnhead) by a charter dated 1492. John Scott of Bum- 
head lived to a great age, and died in 1582, leaving issue, a 
son and successor — Robert Scot of Bumhead, who died in 
1609, and left three sons — William Scott of Bumhead, who, 
during his father's lifetime served in Holland in the Scotch 
brigade. He married Margaret, daughter of Nicol Cairn- 
cross of Hisiop, by whom he had a son, Robert. He died 
about 1640. 

Robert Scot of Bumhead married, in 1636, Marion, 
daughter of Ragnal Bennett of Chesters, by whom he had 
two daughters. He married, secondly, in 1643, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Hector Tumbull of Clarilaw, by whom he had 
four sons, William being his heir. He died in 1677. 

William Scot of Bumhead married Agnes, daughter of 
Archibald Widderstain, merchant, of Dalkeith, by whom he 
had three sons and several daughters. One of the daughters, 

1 Vide Baccleuch. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 481 

Euphan, married Thomas Watson, writer in Hawick, and 
had a son, William (to whom reference is made farther on). 
William Scot died in 1714, and was succeeded by his eldest 
son, Robert Scott of Bumhead. He married Agnes, second 
daughter of Gideon Scott of Falnash, by Mary his wife, 
•daughter of James Scott of Thirlestane, county of Roxburgh, 
and by her had two sons and two daughters. He died in 
1755, and was succeeded by his eldest son, William Scott of 
Bumhead, who died unmarried on the 31st March, I795« 
and was succeeded by his sister, Margaret Scott, who 
married the Rev. Dr Samuel Charters, minister of 
Wilton parish, in 1786. She died, without children, on 
the 17th November, 1815, and was succeeded by her 
cousin and next heir — William Watson of Bumhead (son 
of Thomas Watson, writer, Hawick, and his wife, Euphan 
Scott). William married, in 1785, at Nassau, in the Island 
of New Providence, off the coast of Florida, Rebecca 
Peters, by whom he had one son and two daughters. He 
<lied on the 3rd July, 1818. 

William Watson of Bumhead, born in 1787, married, William 
in 181 8, Bridget Bowles, daughter of William Abraham, ^f Burnhead. 
of Bath, and by her had three sons and one daughter — 
Margaret, who married John Stavert of Hoscote.^ He 
was proposed by his friend and neighbour Mr Scott of 
Teviotbank as a ^candidate for the Club, and was unani- 
mously admitted on the 30th of September, 1840. Mr 
Watson died in 1870. He was succeeded by his eldest 
son — 

William Scott Watson of Bumhead was educated w. Scott 
as a boy at Rugby, under the famous Dr Amold, and of Bumhead. 
afterwards studied meclicine at Edinburgh University. He 
became a member of the Royal College of Surgeons, 
London, in 1842. For some years he practised at 
Brighton, but gave up practice when he married, in 1851. 

^ Vide Stavert of Hoscote. 



482 44NNALS OF A BORDER CLUB. 

Thenceforward he lived in Edinburgh and Melrose until 
i860, when his father gave him the &mily house of Buck- 
lands to reside in. He was elected a member of the 
Jedforest Club in 1873. He was also for many years a 
member of the Ettrick Forest Club, Selkirk. When a 
volunteer corps was formed in the county, in i860, Mr 
Watson received a commission as lieutenant in the 4th 
company of Roxburghshire rifles — Mr Chisholme of Stirches 
being the captain. When the Hawick detachment was 
formed into two companies, in 1864, ^^ Watson obtained 
the command of the 2nd company, and four years later 
was promoted to captain-commandant. Mr Watson took 
his share in all county business, and was a justice of the 
peace and a member of the school board when it was 
first instituted. 

The old Border tower of Burnhead is beautifully situa- 
ted, looking down on a glen, with a bum winding through 
it. The building is in excellent preservation, and in 1858 the 
farm-house of Burnhead was added to it. The arch-roofed 
apartment below, into which the cattle used to be driven 
when the English crossed the Border, is now a dairy and 
larder. On the floor above is a pretty drawing room, in 
the wall of which is a large cupboard known as ^* the laird's 
bedroom.'* This was the only privacy the poor laird had 
when the tower was full of retainers. A stone staircase in 
the wall leads to the flat roof, where once on a time a 
beacon was kept ready to be lit, to flash on the signal 
that the English were coming. These Border towers 
formed a chain of outposts across the country, being all 
in communication with one another. Burnhead was observ- 
able from Goldielands, up the Teviot. 

William Scott Watson was bom on the 8th of May, 
1819, and married, in 1851, Louisa Sarah, daughter of 

The mansion of Bucklands was sold by the present laird of Bomhead, 
in 1887. He still retains, however, all the property, except about sixty 
acres sold with the house. 



ANNALS OF A BORDER CLUB, 483 

I'homas Dennis of Pilton, by whom he had a large family. 
He died in 1885. 

William Watson, now of Burnhead, J.P. for Roxburgh- ^^^^ ^f 
shire, B.A. Cantab