(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A Standard History of Lorain County, Ohio: An Authentic Narrative of the ..."

Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing tliis resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for in forming people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http: //books .google .com/I 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



{/crc//// Cc_) 

\Jr/n/> ^ 

DignzedbvGoOgle 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



A STANDARD HISTORY 

OF 

LORAIN COUNTY 
OHIO 

An Authentic Narrative of the Past, with Particular 
Attention to the Modem Era in the Com- 
mercial, Industrial, Civic and Social De- 
velopment. A Chronicle of the 
People, with Family Lineage 
and Memoirs. 



G. FREDERICK WRIGHT 

SUPERVISING EDITOR 
Assisted by a Board of Advisory Editors 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME II 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 
I916 



Kl'jjf^ :--jbi,i,ifin„G00gh 




Digitized by LiOOQIC 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



listory of Lorain County 



ll-\ IKwii: .}. \\K. '11 roiiL'li tlh' last iif'ii iTHKii ui-iivv f'M-ij v.. . ■■ ■'' 

■VAS lawyir, jui-j-;! ami lnifiiivsJi man. I»i:\.J J. Nyi' ii.i.s i, ■ ..' ;it] 

i'i'-!i<-e whi' f. pnil'rilii\ lia.s Um siii'[)as.M-ii by iioiii.' atiil f\r',in.i i<y 

a 111 ihis •:<^.i:-,ufut.v. 

His ri--- Irojii tii.- i.'v.ly fani'-Ts son t,t llint of one of [!.■■ I'ovfiM'wit 

■wycrs of ;hi' alali-. uml oik? of )hc leadiTS in the Rivir an! )^•l■ii■l■'i1 lih; 

'. N'ortl.-ni (Jliio, wa- far :'rnm iiu'lwrii'ul. It was ai'coi-ipn .i-'J onlv 

.'..Ter y,-ars of (4ose ajiplii'^tiyii ami hanl intd con-ii-!"-!)! ntl'uris in liisj 

•■ti08i>n p'-ol'esaiuii. 

Wl'iii; the wirly \t-.ini of lii-* life «iv not i>t' iinportiiiil liistorica] iiotf, 
yi'i Iht-y weru busy oms an, I s.-rviil to make up that foniii. i i \ >■ ]nriod 
whuii't>oys of tbat hl''> it. mi-' fur Tiu-iusi'lvfs tii'^ir iiicals of iif- :i!id fnrui 
those eouueptionet wljii'li dirc't tlfir footsi.'jis in after \i.i" 

It Wfts durinp tlds p./iwl tiiat .Mr. N>,' .-oin-i'ivid li.. ]■- ■- "f )«\\<>:\- 
iiig the law as a p^ofl■s^ilHl :<u-[ In- foniifil his idti'ts .if ;ni liuil tiiiK 
profeSHlou .».too<t fi-r and duia<.Mdcd. Witli ihtsc itlvu.-; linui.- ti\..! i.i 
his miiid, he tiling lo them, a?, i m^-li sl'-p in his life was m -m'! ■')..ii " 
(if Ills aim to attain to Ih.- hfijfhts on whi'^h his di.'sirr-. «-■■■■■ - i. No 
I'lattcr what the Piidi-nvdr .-iwt him in wtir!: or denials-, no ii':.ii- v w !i:il 
ti.- sacrilifi.' niiglil ln>. hi- IVfi-d all in his lianl struggh- lo ivmri Um 
d"ilin<H! goal. 

Ifoni at EUii^ott, Chan-ui; |na Conrdy. NVw York, lJ.MVMLh.>r 8. ]^i:i. 
hi was a son of Curtis V. a\i'\ Snsait demsha i, Wa'kuji ■ Nvv Wldlr iii.s 
Tiareuts «ere of sturdy Vcnnont stotrk: his paternal aii<-.'sti>i-s truce thvir 
iint-agc to HonjaTiiin Nye, the iirijriiia! founder of the Nvr fainily in 
.\.'ifrii-a. Ilf was amonu tin. foi'e;iiost m' tliow- early Kn^Hsli pioi!' ■ [n 
who '-aht his lot with those \>ho strove and slnifrirled that :i in'" iialio'i 
I'litrhi he l>om. Ren.ianiin Xxe and Katharine, Tnpper, who ni"i"r«:'rd 
i«-eaiue his wife, landed mi the sliores of New Knpland in HirU niid .n.i.h' 
liirir hnnip in Sandwi-'li. MassaohusetN, lUier. tiiey nured a fan.iJy 
>% i.ji'h has ever grown and proe|)ered. 

.\ few years ago llie liesneridiints of lieiijaniin Xye in this eountrj-, 

,ind<d what is known as the Nye Fairdly of Anierie^i \ss(H'i:)tion and 

.■ .-ill- -Nye was one of the i>rinie movers in its oryani/.-ilioti ^md v..)-v(..i 

. '.'■■ president for two veara. 

The parents of -ludpe Nve. five vejirs after the hirlh nf i,,.ir mih 

.>il, moved fr,ini their fai-m at Klliiott to t'tto, ("ati^:rM,i,'-i, , ,iniit>, 

■ York, whi-n they aiiaiji took up the tillatre o' ih- s-n' and v i'um.i. i 

- -. MMJl Ih'Mc death. During lliesc yi^ars. Vonne ^.' ;..''« '!',■ , o,, I ' 

■■ ■■ - r.ii'iii was intermpli'd only hy a f.w Tiiondw di-ni..' .' ;wpii< -. 

■ :. • . «*.. ndan.-.' at the disiriet sehnol of liis nr';':)i!„)t h. ,. ■ 

.■■■ 'l-r priviletre of servirnr his eonniry diiri-.ir \^'.- ,-..m' i"\\\\ 
■ !.-. iiu-' of ptrentnl oh.ie^tions, two o'hir i-iii!i.,> '...vii;;; 

,^ .,-'■. I, f.,r the future. He left hi.^ l..i,iie' and' niahi. .■,,'^l<d at 



y Google 



vGoogle 



History of Lorain County 



Hon, David J. Nye, Through the last and most active forty years of 
his life during which he followed a constant, conservative and dignified 
career as lawyer, jurist and busings man, David J. Nye has gained an 
eminence which probably has been surpassed by none and excelled by 
few in this community. 

His rise from the lowly farmer's son to that of one of the foremost 
lawyers of the state, and one of the leaders in the civic and business life 
pf Northern Ohio, was far from metcorical. It was aeeomplisbed only 
after years of close application and hard and consistent eft'orts in his 
chosen profession. 

While the early years of his life are not of important historical note, 
yet they were busy ones and served to make up that formative period 
when^toys of that age create for themselves their ideals of life, and form 
those conceptions which direct their footsteps in after years. 

It was during this period that Mr. Nye conceived the idea of follow- 
ing the law as a profession and be formed his ideals of all that this 
profession stood for and demanded. With these ideals firmly fixed in 
his mind, he clung to them, and each step in his life was in furtherance 
of his aim to attain to the heights on which his desires were set. No 
matter what the endeavor cost him in work or denials, no matter what 
the sacrifice might be, he faced all in his hard struggle to reach his 
destined goal. 

Born at Ellicott, Chautauqua County, N«w York, December 8, 1843, 
he was a son of Curtis P. and Susan Jerusha (Waltup) Nye. While his 
parents were of sturdy Vermont stock ; his paternal ancestors trace their 
lineage to Benjamin Nye, the original founder of the Nye family in 
America. He was among the foremost of those early English pioneers 
who cast his lot with those who strove and struggled that a new nation 
might be bom. Benjamin Nye and Katherine Tapper, who aff«rward 
became his wife, landed on the shores of New England in 1634 and made 
their home in Sandwich, Massachusetts, where they reared a family 
which has ever grown and prospered. 

A few years ago the descendants of Benjamin Nye in this country, 
founded what is known as the Nye Family of America Association and 
Judge Nye was one of the prime movers in its oi^anization and served 
as its president for two years. 

The parents of Judge Nye, five years after the birth of their son 
David, moved from their farm at Ellicott to Otto, Cattaraugus County, 
New York, where they again took up the tillage of the soil and remained 
there until their death. During these years. Young Nye's work on his 
father's farm was interrupted only by a few months during the winter, 
with his attendance at the district school of his neighborhood. 

Denied the privilege of 8er\'ing his country during the great Civil 

conflict because of parental objections, two other brothers having 

enlisted, Mr. Nye turned his attention and concentrated his energies on 

his preparation for the future. He left his home and matriculated at 

557 



y Google 



558 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Randolpli (New York) Academy in 1862 and spent the following winter 
in teaching school. The succeeding year he spent in practically the 
same maimer. From that time forward, such time as was not occupied 
with teaching school, was spent in working on the farm for the purpose 
of accumulating a stipend to be used in further pursuit of learning. 

Coming to Oberlin in the spring of 1866, he entered the preparatory 
department and a year later became a member of the freshman class of 
Oberlin College. Although his studies were interrupted by the necessity 
of teaching during the vacation, and doing other work during school 
terms, he received his degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1871. The degree 
of Master of Arts was conferred upon him by the college in 1883. In 
his final year at Oberlin he also occupied the position of superintendent 
of the Public Schools at Milan, Ohio, and at the solicitation of the board 
of education, taught there another year after his graduation. 

While in Oberlin and also at Milan, he devoted bis spare time to 
laying a foundation for the law so that in August, 1872, he successfully 
passed the requirements for admission and was admitted to the bar at 
Elyria, Ohio. The same year he went to Emporia, Kansas, with a view 
to locating there and growing up in what was then a new country. But 
finding this location not suited to this tastes he returned to Elyria and 
took up the practice of law in earnest, associating himself with John C. 
Hale, who later became one of the leaders of the Cleveland bar, and a 
most worthy judge of the Circuit Court. , 

A year later he opened his own office for the practice of law, which 
he retained continuously until he went upon the Common Pleas bench 
in 1892. Prom 1881 to 1884, however, he served a creditable term aa 
prosecuting attorney of Lorain County. At various times during his 
private practice in Elyria, he served as county school examiner, member 
of the city board of education and member of the city council. 

With the unanimous approval of the members of the Lorain County 
bar, Mr, Nye's name was placed in nomination for judge of Common 
Pleas bench for the district composed of Lorain, Medina and Summit 
counties, at the judicial convention held at Medina in July, 1891. In 
the following November he was elected by a handsome majority and 
took his seat in February, 1892. Toward the close of his term, he 
received the nomination by acclamation for a second term and was 
re-elected for another five years. 

Judge Nye's record on the bench is distinctly unique, both in the 
character and the amount of work which was accomplished. Taking the 
position at a time when the court docket was literally clogged with old 
cases, be set his energies at once to a clearing away of this accumulation 
of cases. He made it a rule that the attorneys should try their cases as 
they appeared on the assignment and the oldest cases were brought 
forward and disposed of with as great rapidity as justice would permit. 
After ten years of the most arduous and exacting labor, which for a 
time impaired his health, Judge Nye left as a heritage to his successor, 
a practically up-to-date assignment with scarcely a ease on the dockets 
which had been started more than three years before. 

Many were the decisions of great public importance that came from 
his pen. As a jurist he pursued a course of conservative, intelligent, 
wise and painstaking dignity, ever watchful for that true justice which 
is tempered with equity and mercy. It was with much relief that he 
often remarked that his duty never called upon him to impose a capital 
sentence upon one who was tried before him. During his long term he 
maintained a record of having had but one criminal case at which he 
presided, overruled by a higher court. 

Probably a greater strain was never placed upon a judicial oflfieer 
than during the trial of famous liquor cases of Elyria. Regardless of 

DiyizBobv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 559 

tiie influeace, violent threats and affidavits of prejudice that were used 
as a means to shake him, he clung tenaciously to his honest and fearless 
convictions that law and order should prevail. 

His was a mind that concentrated itself upon a principle of law 
until the fundamental theories were solved and their application placed 
upon the case in question without regard to anything except right and 
justice, and yet ever guided by his own high conception of gentlemanly 
courtesy. 

Among those of his decisions which will ever stand as precedents of 
jurisprudence in this state and nation, was one in which Judge Nye 
decided that the holder of National Bank shares had no right under the 
laws of Ohio to deduct his legal bona fide debts from the value of such 
shares. The Circuit Court of the county reversed Judge Nye, but the 
Supreme Court of Ohio and the Supreme Court of the United States 
sustained him, consequently setting a new and unique precedent in 
matters of the relation of Federal banks to counties and states. 

On retiring at the end of his second term, Judge Nye again opened 
an office for the general practice of law, which he still maintains in his 
service to a large clientele. Significant of the reject and esteem in 
which Judge Nye has been held during his long career in this one com-, 
munity, is the fact that among his present clients are the grandchildren 
of some of those who formed his clientele in the early days of his 
practice in Elyria — three generations having continued to come to him 
for counsel and advice. 

In 1911 the electors of Lorain County complimented Judge Nye by 
choosing him as one of its representatives to amend the state constitu- 
tion. His work in the Fourth Constitutional Convention was of a high 
order, dignified, conservative and based on the sound judgment of a 
long experience and familiarity with legal and constitutional questions. 

Shortly after the adoption of the amendments to the state constitu- 
tion, it became necessary to draft new rules for the procedure in the 
newly established Courts of Appeals. Judge Nye was chosen by the 
president of the Ohio State Bar Association as a member of a committee 
of prominent lawyers of the state to assist the judges of the court to 
prepare regulations for its government, in accordance with the new 
constitutional requirements. 

Ever a strong exponent for civic welfare and progress, he has 
interested himself in an advisory capacity as well as financially in the 
thriving industries of his city, which are making it a sound and pros- 
perous manufacturing center. 

It has been his joy to hold himself in readiness for any honorable 
service he might render to others and to the community in which he 
lives, and he has served as president of the Elyria Chamber of Com- 
merce, a contributor to the Elyria Hospital, and a member of the 
Elyria Hospital Company, and a member and contributor of the Y. M. 
C, A,, besides giving liberally of his means and energies in many other 
lines of upbuilding. 

In Masonic circles. Judge Nye has gained considerable prominence, 
having reached the highest pinnacle of this ancient and honored order, 
when in September, 1915, was conferred upon him, in Boston. Massa- 
chusetts, the thirty-third and highest degree in Masonry. He is a 
member of Oriental Commandery Knights Templars, of Cleveland. Ohio, 
and on the establishment of a commandery in Elyria, he was made an 
honorary member of the organization. 

Politically, Judge Nye is a staunch republican and what honors he 
has received at the hands of his party, he has fully compensated for by 
his counsel and activity in the interests of the principles for which the 
party stands and the good it has accomplished. 

Diyizedby 



Google 



560 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

On September 15, 1880, Judge Nye was united in marriage with 
Luna Fisher, daughter of Alfred Fisher, of Cuyahoga County, Ohio. 
The Fisher fiimiiy were pioneer settlers in Independence Township and 
were the highly honored and respected leaders of their community. 
Mrs. Nye has always been an active influence for good in her home and ■ 
community, her inspiration being an important factor in Judge Nye's 
career. 

Two children were born to Judge and Mrs. Nye. David Fisher Nye, 
bom October 27, 1882, was graduated from the Elyria High School in 
1902 and from Oberlin College in 1906, He received the degree of 
LL. B. from the law school of Western Reserve University in June, 
1909, was admitted to the bar the same month and soon after formed a 
partnership with his father, under the firm name of D. J, and D. P. 
Nye. He was a most estimable young man and was considered one of 
the most promising young attorneys at the Lorain County bar. But his 
death on June 23, 1912, deprived his family and the community of one 
of its most cherished members. 

Horace Hastings Nye, bom August 4tb, 1884, was graduated from 
Elyria High School in 1902 and from Oberlin College in 1908. He 
'engaged in newspaper work for a few years and was afterwards, in 
1915, graduated from the law school of Western Reserve University. 
He was admitted to the bar July 1, 1915. At the present time (1915) 
he is associated with his father in the practice of law in Elyria. 

David fi. Trosel. Twenty years ago a young business man of Den- 
ver, Colorado, but who had himself been reared in Ohio, where his fam- 
ily was established early in the nineteenth century, invented an improved 
form of bicycle saddle. The foot-power bicycle was then at the height 
of its popularity ; automobiles were in the experimental stage of manu- 
facture and almost unknown on public highways; while the motorcycle 
was still in the future. Leaving his Denver business Mr. Troxel came 
to Elyria and made arrangements for the manufacture of his saddle. 
From the fii-st it was an article that filled a number of requirements de- 
manded in a perfect saddle, and there has never been a year since in 
which the Troxel saddle has not been increased in efficiency, durability, 
appearance and comfort. Out of this beginning has been evolved the 
Troxel Manufacturing Company, makers of bicycle and motorcycle 
saddles and tool bags, and the goods of this now oldest saddle house in 
America has an established reputation over the world and have no su- 
perior in strength, style, symmetry and proportions. It is one of the 
leading industries of Elyria, and the plant has kept growing by addi- 
tions and improved equipment, and now easily leads all other concerns 
of i(s kind. An interesting feature of the Troxel business, and one 
that shows the substantial character that is impressed on every single 
product along with excellence of material and special care in the mak- 
ing, is the unique guaranty that all goods are free from defects in 
material or workmanship, and the company states explicitly to its cus- 
■ toiners that they expect to and do live up to the guarantee to the 
letter. 

The president of the Troxel Manufacturing Company, and the orig- 
inal inventor of its chief product, has been as public spirited and effi- 
cient as a citizen of Elyria as he has been successful as a manufacturer. 
David S. Troxel was bom at the old Troxel homestead near Wooster, 
Wayne County, Ohio, March 2, 1864, That old homestead haa been in 
the family since 1826, and has been occupied by three successive gen- 
erations of the name. The first of the name in the state was Peter Troxel, 
grandfather of the Elyria manufacturer. Bora in Berks County, Penn- 
s,vlvania. in 1804, Peter Troxel when a young man of twenty-one, in 



b.»^ioogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 561 

1825, came into Wayne County, Ohio, and soon afterwards settled on 
a farm near Wooster, A portion of the land he secured from the Gov- 
ernment at the cost of $1.25 per acre. On that farm the father of David 
S. Troxel was bom in 1833, and spent a long career as a farmer, with 
incidental honors paid him by his fellow citizens in election to local 
otliees. His death occurred July 25, 1908. His wife, whose maiden 
name was ^liss Sarah Shaum, was bom near Wooster in 1834, and is 
now living in Wayne County at the advanced age of eighty-one. 

The early associations and experiences of David S. Troxel were cen- 
tered around the old Troxel farm in Wayne County. He attended dis- 
trict schools, helped in all forms and departments of the farm enterprise, 
but early manifested tendencies and ambitions for the commercial life. 
His preparatory experience in this direction was obtained as clerk in 
a country store where he began work in 1886 and remained one year. 
Realizing the need of better training, he then followed that with a 
course in a business college, and from Ohio sought a new field in the 
West, locating in Colorado. At Denver he became bookkeeper in a bard- 
ware store, but in 1889 engaged in the hardware business on his own 
account. He was the owner and active manager of this enterprise in 
Denver for nine yeare, and on returning East to manufacture his bicycle 
saddle, which he had invented in 1898, he left the store in char^ of his 
brother, to whom he finally sold it in 1910. Mr. Troxel is still owner 
of property in Denver, but has no active business interests there. His 
home was in that city for ten years. 

On bringing his invention to Blyria Mr. Troxel arranged for its man- 
ufacture by The Garford Manufacturing Company, but being convinced 
of its merits and encouraged by its progress in popularity he soon or- 
ganized the Troxel Manufacturing Company, and has since been its 
president and manager. This company now occupies a large four-story 
building in Elyria and in order to keep in touch with the trade, now 
extended not only throughout the United States but to all countries 
where the bicycle and motorcycle are used, it issues a thirty-five page 
catalog descriptive of the various types of saddles, tool bags and other 
equipment. 

In addition to his position as head of the Troxel Manufacturing 
Company, he is a director in the National Bank of Elyria, is vice presi- 
dent of the Tucker Woodworking Company at Sidney, Ohio, and a 
director and stockholder in a number of other enterprises at Elyria and 
elsewhere. He is one of the active members of the Elyria Chamber of 
Commerce. 

The people of Elyria remember gratefully Mr. Troxell's administra- 
tion as mayor. He was elected to that ofiice in the fall of 1907, and 
began the duties of his two-year term on January 1, 1908. After an 
interval of two years he was again e^ed to the same post in the fall of 
1911, beginning his second term January 1, 1912. He made his adniini»- 
tration ef&cient and businesslike, strictly non-partisan, and with a record 
of many substantial improvements. During the first term he secured 
the erection of two new fire stations, and inaugurated extensive street 
paving and sewer construction. 

Mr. Troxel is a republican in politics, is a member of the Cleveland 
Athletic Club of Cleveland, of the Elyria Automobile Club, the Elyria 
Country Club, and finds his chief satisfaction in the way of recreation 
in the ancient game of golf. Fraternally he is aifiliated with Elyria 
Lodge No. 45(j, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; with King 
Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons; Marshall Chapter, 
Koyal Arch Masons; El3T^a Council Royal & Select Masons ; Elyria Com- 
mandery of the Knights Templar; and Al Koran Shrine of Cleveland. 

On February 3, 1897, in Ashland County, Ohio, Mr. Troxel married 



Google 



562 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Miss Ida Brandt, who was born in Ashland County, a daughter of David 
and Catherine (Swartz) Brandt. Her mother is still living and resides 
in Jeromesville, A^land County. Mr. and Mrs. Troxel have one dai^- 
ter, Kathryn Ida. Mr. Troxel is the owner of three of the best modem 
apartment houses in Elyria and has considerable other property in the 
city. 

SuMNQt BuRRELL Day. One of the recent notable events that at- 
tracted wide attention in Lorain County was the celebration of the 
hundredth anniversary of the first settlement in Sheffield Township. 
This celebration was held in Auffust, 1915. Many of the descendants of 
the origina] pioneers went up Black River to what was once known as 
the Heyer Farm, now included in the site of the National Tube Com- 
pany's plant, and by picnic festivities and a varied program celebrated 
the hundredth anniversary of the founding of the Town^ip of Sheffield. 
The spirit of this celebration was well indicated in the words of the 
invitations which were sent to descendants of pioneers in many parts 
of the country: "The glad remembrance of one hundred years of 
bounteous and righteous living for themselves and their ancestor in 
this town inspires the dwellers of Sheffield to invite their friends, 
especially the early settlers and their descendants, to a homecoming 
and celebration of this one hundredth anniversary." 

Leaving out a general account of this celebration and the original 
foimding of the township, which will be considered elsewhere, it may 
be briefly stated that the original owner of the land in Sheffield, William 
Hunt, sold the property to Capt, Jabez Burrell and Capt. John Day. 
This transaction, which occurred just 100 years ago, was the prelimi- 
nary to the settlement of members of the Burrell, Day and a number 
of other families who are still represented by their descendants in this 
part of Ohio and elsewhere. 

One of the oldest living representatives of the pioneer Day family 
in Lorain County was Sumner Burrell Day, whose death occurred 
November 29, 1915. He had long been prominent as a business man 
and banker of Elyria. Mr. Day was bom at Sheffield, Ohio, April 19, 
1842. He belonged txi that numerous and prominent family of Days 
who have left the impress of their character and activities in many com- 
munities, both in New England and in the West. The original settler 
was Robert Day of Hartford, Connecticut, who died in 1648. Several 
registers of the descendants of this Robert Day have been published, 
and a brief account of the descent from Robert Day to Sumner B, Day 
has an appropriate place in this sketch. 

Robert Day, who died at Hartford in 1648 at the age of forty-four, 
and whose interesting will, dated May 20, 1648, has been preserved in 
one of the publications of the geneal(^eal register, emigrated to this 
country in April, 1634. He and his wife Mary came over on the bark 
Elizabeth to Boston, and he settled first in Newtown, now Cambridge, 
He was made a freeman of the town on May 6, 1635, biit in 1639 was 
a resident, and one of the first settlers, at Hartford, Connecticut. He 
was probably one of the company which followed their pastor. Rev. Mr. 
Hooker to Hartford in 1636. For his second wife he married Editha 
Stebbins, and this wife was the mother of his son Thomas, who was the 
ancestor of the Springfield branch of the Day family and also of the 
Sheffield, Ohio, descendants. 

Thomas Day, founder of the Springfield branch, died December 27, 
1711. He was married October 27, 1659, to Sarah Cooper, daughter of 
Lieut. Thomas Cooper, who was killed when the town was burned 
by the Indians. She died November 21, 1726, They were the parents 



zeatav'^iOOgle 



/JCLC/, 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 563 

of a family of t«n children, and the immediate line is carried forward 
through their son John, who was bom September 20, 1673. 

John, in the third generation, a resident at Wt'st Springfield, was 
married March 10, 1697, to Mary Smith of Hadley, who died Feb- 
ruary 28, 1742, at the age of sixty-five. On August 27, 1743, he mar- 
ried Hannah Kent of Hadley. John died November 20, 1752, at the 
age of seventy-nine. The children, all by the first wife, were ten in 
number, and the lineage is carried forward through their son William. 

William, referred to as Captain William, was born October 23, 1713. 
For many years he was engaged in the seafaring business and had com- 
mand of various vessels. He was married three times. About 1746-47, 
he married Polly, daughter of Col. John Day of Boston. She died 
in Jamaica about 1755. His second wife was the widow Eunice Inger- 
BoII of Westfield. His third wife was Rhoda Hubbell of Litchfield, 
Connecticut, who died July 25, 1795. Captain William died at Sheffield 
March 22, 1797, at the age of eighty-three. As some of his children 
were identified with the early settlement of Northern Ohio it will be 
proper to mention their individual names : William, who was born about 
1730; William Junius; Polly, who was born about 1749 and died in 
childhood ; Mary, who was born April 26, 1772, and married Henry Root 
of Sheffield, Ohio, on September 10, 1800; John, who was the Lorain 
County pioneer already mentioned and referred to in the following 
paragraph; Ichainar H., born August 14, 1776; James, born June 7, 
1780; and William, bom March 8, 1787. 

At this point it mil be proper to introduce tr copy of the document 
which indicates that one ancestor of the present family in Ohio had a 
part in those colonial movements which brought about the independence 
of this country. From the proceedings of the centennial celebration of 
the Town of Sheffield, Berlihire County, Massachusetts, held on June 
18-19 in 1876, the following is a copy of what was called "The Pre- 
liminary Statement," a record made in 1776, as follows: "At a town 
meeting, legally called, held in Sheffield, Berkshire County, Massa- 
chusetts, on the 18th of June, 1776, Captain William Day being chosen 
moderator and Stephen Deevey being town clerk, the report of a com- 
mittee consisting of Col. Ashley, Dr. Lemuel Barnanl, Col. John Fel- 
lows, Col. Aaron Root, and Capt. Nath'el Austin — which committee was 
chosen 'to draw a resolve to send to the representative' — was heard, 
and 

"It was put to vote-— whether the inhabitants of the sd town of 
Sheffield, should the Honble. Continental Congress in their wisdom think 
prudent and for interest and safety of the American Colonies to declare 
sd colonies independent of the Kingdom of Great Britain, they the 
inhabitants of sd Sheffield will solemnly engage with their lives and 
fortunes to support them in their measures. 

"Voted in the affirmative: 

"Two dissent'g only. 

"Wm. Day, Moderator." 

John Day, the Lorain County pioneer, and a son of Captain Wil- 
liam, was bom Febmary 3, 1774, and in 1816 brought his family to 
Sheffield, Ohio. He was married in 1794 to Lydia Austin of Sheffield, 
Massachusetts. He died in Lorain County October 8. 1827. The record 
of their children is as follows: Rhoda, bom November 26, 1794, and 
died November 24, 1795; William, bom December 15. 1796; Rhoda 
Maria, bom March 29. 1799, died October 10, 1825; John 2d, bom 
March 23, 1801 ; Norman, born January 24, 1803 ; Fann\-, bom April 
3, 1805, and married on April 15, 1834, to William H, Root of Sheffield, 
Ohio; James, bora August 27, 1807; Lydia, bora March 5, 1810, and 



y Google 



564 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

married September 17, 1840 ; Kendriok K. Kinney of Oberiin ; Kellogg, 
bom January 23, 1813; Frederick, Iwm February 12, 1815; Ediuiind, 
bom February 24, 1818 ; and Eleanor, bom July 13, 1820, and married 
April 3, 1840, James Austin of Sheffield. John Day, the father of 
these children, was in the fifth generation from the original Robert Day. 
In the sixth generation was William Day, a son of the pioneer John 
Day. William was born December 15, 1796, and was about twenty 
years of age when the family came to Sheffield, Ohio. He died Novem- 
ber 9, 1889. He was married May 6, 1832, to Augusta Burrell, of 
Sheffield, and also a representative of the group of pioneers who settled 
at Sheffield 100 years ago. She died October 9, 1887. Their children 
were: Huldah Maria, bom March 5, 1833; William Augustus, bom 
June 14, 1835; Henry Kellogg, bom August 22, 1837; Marietta, bom 
September 30, 1839 ; Sumner Burrell, bom April 19, 1842 ; Eugene I., 
born April 12, 1847; and Everett E., bom November 3, 1850. 

Sumner Burrell Day, who therefore stood in the seventh generation 
of the Day family in America, grew up in Lorain County, gained his 
education at Sheffield and at Oberiin, and in early life was connected 
with the lumber industry. His home was in Elyria since 1885. and 
many important business achievements and institutions are associated 
with his name. He was president and builder of the Elyria, Grafton 
& Southern Electric Railway, Frohi its foundation to his death he 
was a director in the Lorain County Banking Company, was its first 
vice president, and held that office until elected president, an office 
he held eight years. He was a director in the Elyria Lumber & Coal 
Company, in the Perry-Fay Company, and owned considerable real 
estate both at Elyria and elsewhere. 

Mr. Day served as a trustee of the Lorain County Children's Home 
from its establishment. In politics he was a republican. 

On May 28, 1867, at Russell, New York, he married Miss Sue Maria 
Knox, daughter of William Knox. Their two children, in the eighth 
generation of the family, are Lee Sumner and Edith M. Lee S. Day 
is a lawyer by profession. He married Maude Allen October 1, 1910, 
and the children of that union are : William Allen, bom June 27, 
1911; Bemice Elizabeth, bora June 1, 1912, and died June 7, 1913; 
and twins Donna and Doris, bom May 22, 1915 ; Edith M. is the wife 
of Asaph R. Jones, a well known Elyria citizen and a member of the 
present city council (1915). Mr. and Mrs. Jones were married Novem- 
ber 9, 1898, and their children are : Emest Lee, born April 1, 1901 ; 
Sumner Richard, born November 6, 1903 ; Roderic Orlando, born June 
4, 1911 ; and Edith Lucile, bom May 19, 1915. 

In the genealogical register of the family of Robert Day is found 
an interesting account of the pioneer services rendered by various mem- 
bers of the family who came to Sheffield, Ohio, in 1816. In order to 
make this individual record more complete and also for its general 
histx)rical importance considered with respect to Lorain County, the 
following is taken without formal quotation from the register already 
mentioned. 

In 1794 John Day and Lydia Austin were married in Sheffield. 
Massachusetts, where they resided for twenty-one years until their re- 
moval to their new Iiome in Ohio. Meanwhile ten children had come 
into the household. How in the world the motlier, who at the time 
of her marriage is described as "a frail delicate girl of nineteen sum- 
mers" could care for so lai^e a family and look after the affairs of 
the household as they had to be looked after in those days it is difficult 
for us of this generation to comprehend. The youngest one of her 
children. Eleanor, thus describes these duties: "In the spring the 
flax was to be spun, woven into cloth and whitened for the family supply 

DiyizBobv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 565 

of linen. That is a very short stateipent of the matter of supply, and 
conveys to those of the present day no idea of the amount and severity 
of the labor to be performed, of the many, many weary steps to be taken, 
the aches to be endured to accomplish all this. Later in the season the 
same process of spinning and weaving the wool was to be gone through 
with for their winter clothing; all this cloth had to be made up of 
course. The modern woman even with the aid of a good sewing machine 
considers it a great task, a burden she can scarce endure to do the 
family sewing and her housework too. What would they think if 
they had to make their cloth as well as our mothers did. Besides there 
was the butter and cheese to make, a large family to be fed and cared 
for, washing, ironing, mending, baking, brewing, cleaning and the many 
other things all housekeepers find to do, went on continually in the old 
home, the theater of our mother 's unceasing industry. • • • " 

The journey from Massachusetts to Ohio, which can now be made 
with comfort in sixteen hours, required then twenty-two days of arduous 
exertion and strenuous self denial. In January, 1815, Capt. John 
Day joined with Jabez Burrell in the purchase of the tract of land 
now known as Sheffield, Lorain County, Ohio. After persuading several 
other persons to share the purchase with them they came to Sheffield 
in June to explore the township and to select lots for themselves and 
friends. On the 27th of the following July, Captain Day and his wife 
and his nine children arrived at their destination in Ohio, after a 
journey in covered wagons of more than three weeks. As told also in 
another chapter, the heavy household goods and farming utensils had 
at Schenectady, New York, been loaded on a small, half-decked schooner 
of about fifteen tons burden which was sailed up the Mohawk, locked 
around the obstruction of Little Falls and thence drawn through the 
rude canal which led into Oneida Lake and thence through the Oswego 
River to Lake Ontario. At Queenston the schooner was unloaded, put 
upon cart wheels and drawn past Niagara Falls to Chippewa and there 
launched. Her cargo followed in like manner and was there reloaded. 
The schooner then proceeded through the lake and up Black River to 
the mouth of French Creek, where her cargo of salt and goods was 
landed on the Big Bottom. 

A log house was soon built and the slow work of clearing the heavy 
forest begun. Here in the course of four years two other children were 
added to the household, making twelve in all. But they were sur- 
rounded with other households of proportionate size. Captain Burrell 
with his eight children arrived a few days later, Henry Root and his 
wife and six children had preceded them by two or three months, while 
Captain Smith with his eight children were already on the ground. 
Deer and bear abounded in the forest and fish were abundant in the 
river, thus affording ready made a considerable portion of the food 
which they required. But bears were not altf^ther pleasant neighbors. 

True to their traditions the Day family in Sheffield immediately set 
up religious and educational institutions. In the winter of 1816 religious 
meetings were commenced at the house of Captain Burrell, and in the 
absence of a clergyman a sermon was read. In the spring of 1817 
Alvan Coe preached the first sermon. In the fall of the same year 
Rev. Alvin Hyde began regular services in Sheffield and adjoining towns, 
and in 1818 the Congregational Church was formed, William Day being 
one of the original members. A log schoolhouse weis soon built, near 
where the church now stands, and the first school in it was taught by 
Preston Pond from Keene, New Hampshire. In June, 1824, the Town 
of Sheffield was organized by the county commissioners, and John Day 
chosen as one of tiie trustees. The interest in religion and education 
thus shown has continued in all the descendants of this pioneer family. 



y Google 



566 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

At one time or another nearly all of those who were born in Sheffield 
have pursued their higher education in Oberlin College, and it still 
remains true that nearly all the members of the family are professors 
"of religion, and with Aunt Eleanor we can point with pride to the fact 
that the descendants of John Day "have never from their number 
furnished a criminal, or a drunkard, or a disreputable person of any 
kind." Not satisfied with knowledge attained in school. Slay, daughter 
of James Day, granddaughter of Capt, John Day and nieoe of Norman 
Day, became a recognized authority in the botany of Lorain County, 
so that she was constantly consulted by professors of Oberlin, Tlie 
herbarium which she presented to the college contains some specimens 
that had not before been discovered in the county. Lydia. daughter of 
Norman, became an equal authority in the botany of the Rocky Moun- 
tain region. 

In due time the new hive swarmed; and as pioneers went out from 
Sheffield to Massachusetts, so again they went out from Sheffield. Ohio, 
to carry with them their habits of industry, economy and uprfght life and 
Spread broadcast the leaven so successfully brought from their ancestral 
home. Kellogg Day was for many years a missionary among the 
Cherokee Indians. Alfred, a son of John II, after having 9er\'ed three 
years in the Civil war took up his residence and reared a large family 
in Mondovi, Wisconsin. Many others went out from Lorain County and 
made their mark and impress on the citizenship and growth of various 
localities. The members of the family who served their country in the 
Civil war were : Hiram A. Dishrow, husband of Marietta ; G. F. Wright, 
husband of Maria; Alfred, son of John; Henry C. Bacon, husband of 
Eliza F. ; Cyrus Yale Durand, husband of Celia ; and Frederic 0., son 
of Frederick; while Carl Edmund, son of Frederic 0., served in the 
Cuban war. 

Hans p. Nielsen. In the person of Hans P. Nielsen, the City of 
Lorain has a citizen who has contributed to its upbuilding a conservative 
and reliable jewelry business, whose abilities have been solicited in the 
management and direction of a number of other enterprises, and whose 
talents have been utilized in serving the interests of the city in various 
positions of trust and importance. When he first came to this country 
Mr. Nielsen's assets consisted principally of ambition and determination 
and a thorough knowledge of an honorable and useful trade; with these 
as a foundation he has built up a structure of success that entitles him to 
a place of honor among the substantial men of his adopted city. 

Mr. Nielsen was bom June 1, 1851, in Denmark, and is a son of 
Jonathan and Christina Nielsen. He received his education in the public 
schools and his first experience was in the store of his father, who was 
a jeweler, and under whom he learned the trade, which included that of 
silversmith, as well as watch repairing. He worked in his native land 
until 1873, when he emigrated to the United States, first locating at 
Cleveland, Ohio, where he remained for four years, and then coming to 
Lorain, where he established himself in business as a watchmaker. His 
first store was a modest one, with a small line, hut his skill, fidelity and 
courtesy attracted custom to its door, and as business grew he found it 
necessary to enlarge his quarters. Each year found him adding to his 
stock and equipment, until he finally built his present store, a three- 
story structure, 30x100 feet, with the two upper fioors devoted to apart- 
ments and the main floor occupied by his jewelry business and sales- 
room, Here he has a full and up-to-date stock of all kinds of watches, 
jewelry, diamonds and other precious stones, silverware, cut glass, etc., 
catering to the most representative trade in the city. The abilities that 
developed this business have not been allowed to remain tied up in it, 



b.»^iUOglc 



vGoogle 



O^r^^Q^ 



vGoogle 



sv: .Mil.'i-.i. V issi,.i!l, m.i! n-.l. . '. . . 

■I . who is ",. u:l--of Knij.:; S.-i]-,>',.v. :■ ■■■,',<■.•■, 
. 1 -in.i hi- l.ilii.iy i.iv tri.-inW!-,, ..1- iiM' l.u. i > ,, : 

■. IK R(M>T. Vi- :in,iv tl:;,ri li.iM" i. .■. ii" r, Mn 'l^ r, ■■ ■ ' ■ 
'.^.- f«L-tor ill U.'- :.r. .(f l.i.'-HiM Tou. ■.,;!, j ;.ri,i, I ■-.■•.■> ■■ 
..ii'k-r. His r),iii;:\ >v,t" inn.irLfr 'li.- vt-. > ..I.' sr:il.'-; iri '■ >■ \ ,., 
.■f'fl.l. am] th.. Mt,-.>-si,-H: :iii- ..r |1-, i.M.; • ■■vti^nns l.^.rk thm;.; 
. 'I.r-i- .■.■ntii-i.'i (.1 .V.x.'ii-ii., hiv',)-, 

;• r.ilifiiial s}H-liiriK ■>'■ t|i,. ti,,ij..- n;is \\-'-'- am! John Root-', a -■■m 
r.--''l.'. of Bri.!l>y. \...il.;,m,,N. ,- t,- lOn^-himi, .•;.ii '.. \:...„, 

..1. -'-r-'iir- III lii-io. *!■> ... ,'..■ ■■. u-.-v t., .^as n' t.;..: -.. ■ 
■.. ;.>'v„ >u..l hi^i-;ii i:-MV,.^->'-ii '■ ■>■-,. ■■K-. ■■■ ' . II.-!-. 

■ -1.!:,. FHniiin-..*,: r,>;;-,-. > . ,..,.■.] ■,i..' ■■ ,1. ,■■■.; i, |i.-.} 

■ ^l.i.-r*4.IH-, !i, I';-)il.J .; I-.,.. ■.. iM:H,;,.,l \l,r-. .-■■:.■)•■■ 

I-.. :"mni^. (>r W(.o,l !''i'...:, Kr.^i....: Will, i.,..- ; .p-i.:-.!. 
' I..-H in the Hhip Iimm.i;.- i I -I.''! (I'll' .\.--i 'ti it:;"". III.. 

■ ■ l.fi-fiv H« ri.i!o«--" I .1.1.:. '.,■■.! \l;.'\ iKiil-ouniiO ko^.t'. 

■ ■' n Cmui-' V>-xiU -2 Til-..,.. .1.1.1 Mnv m l-iiD-.v) !{on|... „'' 
"'..v-nVhilM'tU. :t. Ki.siL-ii -i.,- n.- „.„| S:,-^,l. li,>.>t. ..f \V. -. 

■ .- . iiiis-its: 4. ci.ioii.i .\n<vi, ,,.i,i .i,.v..,).„ .Si,..;,, r; ■.■ -.: 

....-,Hrtiisi4ts: .'). M.iin jin.! \U-vy .'D.iv- i;..<.t. ..f -:'" f ..i, 
■■■■ .'ti,! ^ilifffi^l.l. Oiii.vti,.. },. iii- M,,' t;i-Ti,i-:.!i.,i.'vl. ,, ,■-, I. 
■■-.■r h<mw wilhiii ll'. iim:,s ■■: l,<ii;iiii ,-..'i-.:. . >: 

■ ■ iiri. ' i!<»>t. of sinOlrhi <ihi.,; 7. r,.-,.;,.. ..; -- ■!. 

f; ...I. ,.f Wliciliet.I, <n:\->. 

■ ■■■ Hoot WHS !.orii ill Wi.'i>i-I.|. Cliii,, ill 1-^.;. V. ~ ■■'■: 

V 1{..,>1. WMM kirti at Sli.-fH.'lii, .Mi.s'.,^-!iis. ■■- ■.-, ■ ii 

I, limtiulit wli.-n \\\\\k- irinr.' than ji i'l).M \" .-..-lil ■ - "■ ■ ■. 

■• iHi-iU'T. hmi only a .-oniinmi silin,!! .■•iu'''ii''-:i. w .^ .i ■■ -.n- >■ 

..it::.-!itiliiiii(il riiiirch. iimi vot.'d «iili l:'i> wIll; j.hh ,:.';;; ,i-. 

. .111.1 was Bfl.-rwHHH h rr|»ih!i>-!ni. !!.■ scrv,,! >is .-.. uj',. 



y Google 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 567 

for Mr. Nielsen has found the time and the energy to devote to other 
matters, of both a business and public character, and at the present time 
is a director of the Lorain Banking Company and secretary of the 
Citizens Home Savings Association, having held the latter office for a 
period of twenty-five years. Always a sincere and helpful friend of edu- 
cation, he is at this time vice president of the Lorain Board of Education 
and chairman of the new high school building committee. He was 
formerly a trustee of the Lorain Water Works and for five years was 
customs officer of the port of Lorain. His public life has been character- 
ized by faithful performance of duty and the accomplishment of many 
benefits for tlie city of his adoption. Fraternally, Mr. Nielsen is aiEli- 
ated with the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in 
which he has many friends. 

On October 4, 1875, Mr, Nielsen was married to Miss Mikoline 
Mihkelsen, also a native of Denmark, and to this union there have been 
born eight children : Christina, who is the wife of Clarence Hitchcock, 
who is engaged in the insurance business at Lorain ; Jonathan, who 
learned the jewelry business under bis father and is now the proprietor 
of an establishment at Newcastle, Pennsylvania, and one of the successful 
business men of that place; Anna, who is the wife of E. M, Tirams, a 
marine engineer of Lorain ; Gyde, who is the wife of Bert Boyes, a 
machinist of Lorain; Harry and Walter, bright and energetic young 
business men of Lorain, who are associated with their father in the 
jewelry business; Mildred, who is single and resides with her parents; 
and Florence, who is the wife of Frank Schworer, a carpenter of Lorain, 
Mr, Nielsen and bis family are members of the Lutheran Church. 

Orville Root. For more than half a centary Orville Root has been 
an active factor in the life of Lorain County, as a farmer, county official, 
and banker. His family were among the very old settlers in the vicinity 
of Sheffield, and the ancestral line of the Roots extends back through 
nearly three centuries of American history. 

The original spelling of the name was Roote, and John Roote, a son 
of John Roote. of Badby, Northamptonshire, England, came to America 
with a company of Puritans and was one of the first settlers of Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, in 1640. From the beginning he was a prominent 
citizen of the town, and his will indicates that he was a weaver by trade. 
One of the old records states : ' ' Both John and his wife were in full com- 
munion with the Farmington Congregational church." He died in 1684, 
leaving an estate of $4,095. In 1640 John Roote married Mary, daughter 
of Thomas Kilbourne, of Wood Ditton, England. With her parents she 
came to America in the ship Increase in 1635, and died in 1697. The 
successive generations down to the present citizen of Lorain County may 
he indicated briefly as follows: 1. John and Mary (Kilbourne) Roote, 
of Farmington, Connecticut; 2. Thomas and Mary (Qridley) Roote, of 
Westfield, Massachusetts; 3. Ensign Joseph and Sarah Root, of West- 
field, Massachusetts; 4. Colonel Aaron and Jerusha (Steele) Root, of 
Sheffield. Massachusetts; 5. Henry and Mary (Day) Root, of Sheffield, 
Massachusetts and Sheffield, Ohio, thb being the generation which estab- 
lished its pioneer home within the limits of Lorain county; 6. William 
and Fannv (Dav) Root, of Sheffield, Ohio; 7. Orville and Sarah 
(Howes) Root, o£ Sheffield, Ohio. 

Mr. Orville Root was horn at Sheffield. Ohio, in 1837. His father. 
William Henry Root, was born at Sheffield, Massachusetts. June 11, 
1803, and was brought when little more than a child to Northern Ohio. 
He became a farmer, had only a common school education, was a member 
of the Congregational Church, and voted with the whig party until its 
dissolution and was afterwards a republican. He served as county 



y Google 



568 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

auditor of Lorain County from 1854 until 1860. Hia wife, Fanny Day 
Boot, was bom April 3, 1805, at Sheffield, Massachusetts, and in 1816 
with her father and mother, John and Lydia (Aostin) Day, came to 
Sheffield, Ohio. Her ancestor, Bobert Day, came Sroto Wales in 1634 on 
the bark Elizabeth, first settling in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and after- 
wards in Hartford, Connecticut. 

The early life of Orville Boot was spent in Lorain County during 
the '40s and '50s, in which time he completed his education in the Elyria 
High School. Farming was his regular vocation for many years, and he 
has gradually acquired other extensive interests, chiefly as a banker, in 
which capacity hia name is well known throughout the county. Prom 
1878 to 1888 he filled the office of auditor of Lorain County, having 
gone into that office less than twenty years after his father's last service 
in the same position. He is a republican in his political affiliations. Mrs. 
Root is a member of the Congr^ational Church of Lorain, Ohio. 

On April 3, 1878, at Sheffield, Ohio, he married Sarah Ann Howes, 
daughter of William E, and Elizabeth Howes, of Elyria, Ohio, but form- 
erly from Northamptonshire, England. Mr. and Mrs. Root have two 
children, Frances Elizabeth, bom at Elyria, October 27, 1880, a graduate 
of Wells College, and from the Western Eeserve Library School, married 
Mr. Albert K. Hibbard, of Cleveland, Ohio, They have two childreu : 
Bobert Root Hibbard and William Loomis Hibbard. Harriet Maria 
Boot, bom at Elyria August 27, 1885, is a graduate of Wellesley College. 

W11.UAM Heldmter, It is given to few men to impress their enter- 
prise, their resources, more effectually upon a community than was true 
of the late William Heldrayer of Elyria. His was the familiar story of 
the poor boy who makes his own opportunities, and who succeeds as a 
result of hard and persistent toil and intelligent management. For more 
than thirty yeare Mr. Heldmyer was one of the foremost merchants of 
Lorain County, was a business builder who built up a number of 
organizations which are still vital factors in the commercial life of the 
community, and for years exercised a controlling power in the business 
affairs of tliis section. 

A native of Medina County, Ohio, where he was born April 13, 1850, 
the late William Heldmyer was a son of Jacob and Julia Heldmyer, 
who in 1848 immigrated from Wuertemberg, Germany, establishing a 
home in Liverpool Township of Medina County, and in 1851 going to 
Ottawa County. Jacob Heldmyer was a harness maker by trade, but 
during his life in Ohio was chiefly a farmer. He died at Oak Harbor 
in 1856. 

PartJy owing to the early death of his father, the early lot of William 
Heldmyer was one of hard circumstance and limited opportunity. He 
gained the rudiments of an education in the country schools, and as 
far back as his memory could recall he was employed in some of the 
duties of farm work. Coming to Elyria in 1867, he found employment 
as a carpenter with the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad. He 
was careful, economical, faithful to his obligations, and wisely laid the 
foundation for his permanent success. In 1880 he became associated 
with the firm of Wright & Semple, under the name of Heldmyer, Wright 
& Semple in the haiSware business at Elyria. He bought the interests 
of the other partners in 1883, and from that time until his death nearly 
thirty years later the hardware business was chief among his interests. 
In 1890 John Krantz became associated with him, and after that the 
style of the company was Wiltiain TIeldrayer & Company. In 1897 the 
business was incorporated as the Heldmyer Hardware Company, with 
Mr. Heldmyer as secretary and treasurer of the corporation. He was 
also a third owner and vice president of the Elyria Hardware Company. 



h.'^iuOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 569 

He also owned stock and was a director in the Lorain Hardware Com- 
pany and tbe Krantz Hardware Company, both at Lorain. 

For many years his activities in the businesa world covered a large 
field. He was president of the Elyria Savings & Bank Company and 
one of iis organizers ; assisted in oi^anizing and became president of the 
Lorain County Building & Loan Association ; was alao president of the 
Andwiir Hotel Company. At one time his interest also extended to the 
lake marine and he was part owner in several vessels. The large Held- 
myer Block where his hardware store was conducted in Elyria was 
erected by Mr. Heldmyer and in 1897 he organized the Elyria Building 
Company and constructed the Elyria Block. The burning of this central 
feature of the business section in 1909 caused him heavy losses and the 
many worries connected with the rebuilding of the new Elyria Block, 
which was completed in 1910 did much to undermine his health. Soon 
after its organization Mr. Heldmyer became a director in the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, and was also a member at one time of the city 
council. 

The immediate cause of Mr. Heldmyer's death was a fall from the 
fourth floor fire escape in the rear of the Elyria Building, and he was 
killed almost instantly. This sad loss to the business and civic com- 
munity occurred Jnly 2, 1912, In his will Mr. Heldmyer named his 
daughter Mrs. Hannaford as trustee of his entire estate, and for those 
large responsibilities she is eminently fitted, being one of the most 
capable business executives in Lorain County. In 1874 Mr. Heldmyer 
married Mary Beese, who was horn at Elyria and died July 19, 1908, 
at the age of fifty-two. The children bom to their marriage were: 
Florence J., Leona M., Alice C. and Harry M. The oldest daughter, 
Florence, had married Albert M. Hannaford just two weeks before hej 
father's sudden death. She was married June 15, 1912, and she now 
haa a son, John Roy Hannaford II, born June 16, 1913, and named for 
his grandfather Hannaford. Mrs. Hannaford has assumed active con- 
trol of all the business and property interests of her father, succeeded 
to his place on the board of directors of the Elyria Savings & Banking 
Company, and is now the only woman in the State of Ohio to hold such 
a position. The daughter, Leona M,, married Jamee Gamett Tyler, 
and they now live in Los Angeles, California, Alice C. is the wife of 
"Willard M. Taylor of Elyria. The son, Harry, also resides at Elyria. 

Hon. Oeorqe G, Washburn. A rare character both in its public 
service and in its varied influences upon the men and institutions of 
Elyria and of Lorain County was that of the late Geoi^ Q. Washburn, 
for many years distinguished in this part of Ohio as a journalist and 
editor, as a business man, and as one of the founders and for a number 
of years one of tbe board of managers of the reformatory at Mansfield. 
His active career covered a most vital period in the history of Lorain 
(Jounty and Ohio, beginning in tbe '40s and continuing until bis death 
at his home' in Elyria on June 8, 1898. 

Though he was largely self-educated and depended upon his own 
efforts for self-advancement, he came of family and antecedents of such 
character, that much might he predicted of his life at its beginning. He 
was bom November 24, 1821, at Orange, Grafton County, New Hamp- 
shire, a son of Azel Washburn, who was bom at Lyme, New Hampshire, 
and is descended from an English family that settled near Boston very 
early in the history of that colony, Mr. Washburn's mother was Eliza- 
l)eth N. Danforth. She was bom at Londonderry, New Hampshire, and 
was closely related to the noted family of Greggs, members of which 
founded tbe Town of Londonderry. The Greggs are distinguished as 
having been the first to manufacture flax spinning wheels in America. 



,Google 



570 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

For a number of generations at least one male member of the Greggs 
famUy was taught the art of manufacturing that implement, and it is 
said that the last wheels of that kind were made in Elyria about 1838 by 
Col. William GrcRgs, now deceased. 

As a boy both in New Hampshire and after the family came to Ohio 
George G. Washburn had many limitations interposed by eireuiostance 
between him and his ambitions for learning and attainment. There were 
no regular schools, and only for brief periods did his parents secure the 
services of a private instructor in their houjsehold for the training of 
their three sons. In 1832 the family removed from New Hampshire to 
Ohio, locating in Perry, now Lake County. For three years the sons 
attended the pioneer schools in that community. In 1835 the family 
came to Camden in Lorain County. This was then A wilderness countrj' 
and the hard work involved iu clearing up a new farm left little oppor- 
tunity for growing boys to attend school. In that locality Geoi^ G. 
Washburn spent seven years, and during the latter part of that period 
taught school during the winters. 

In 1842 he removed to Brandenburg, Kentucky, where he conducted 
a private school, but soon returned to Ohio and for three years alternated 
between teaching in the winter months and in studying at Oberlin during 
the summer. In the spring of 1846 he removed to Elyria, where he be- 
came an articled student of law in the office of Hon. Philemon Bliss. 
Two years later he was admitted to the bar, and for a similar period 
practiced in partnership with Hon. Sylvester Bagg. 

It was not in the law but in journalism that Mr. Washburn exercised 
his greatest influence in the life and affairs of Lorain County. His first 
introduction to that career came in 1850 when he was persuaded to edit 
the Elyria Courier. Moat local newspapers of that time were organs of 
a political party, and the Courier was the mouthpiece for the whig party 
in Lorain County. In 1852, during the last presidential campaign in 
which the whig party was an entity, the office was destroyed by fire 
without insurance, and the entire investment was a total loss. However, 
Mr. Washburn had become thoroughly committed to journalism, had 
proved his ability as a trenchant and forceful writer, and the destruc- 
tion of the plant proved no permanent bar to his continuance in the 
profession. He borrowed money enough to purchase a new outfit, gave 
up the practice of law, and was soon devoting all his time and energies 
to journalism. He was as successful in business management as he 
was as an editor. At that time it was hardly expected that a political 
organ would prove self-sustaining, and in fact such a newspaper proved 
usually a heavy tax upon the party. In a short time Mr. Washburn had 
brought his journal to independence financially, and in 1854 he merged 
it with the Independent Democrat. A number of years later he effected 
another consolidation, merging his enterprise with the Elyria Republi- 
can, and for a long term of years Mr. Washburn was the editor and 
proprietor of this old and influential Lorain County paper. , 

Outside of journalism his services extended in many other direc- 
tions. At the beginning of the war in 1861 Governor Dennison ap- 
pointed him secretary of the County Military Committee, and he was a 
member of that body until the close of the war, spending much time in 
visiting camp.s and battlefields in the interests of the soldiers of Ixirain 
County. Although he was for many years active in the field of political 
warfare, he never sought any political honors for himself, and such 
offices as he did hold were accepted entirely from a desire to perform 
particular service. For a number of years he advocated a state insti- 
tution as a reformatory for young men, and in order to carry out his 
plans effectively became a candidate for the Legislature, and served four 
years in that body. While in the Legislature he was author of the bill 

Diyi.Bohv'^iUU'-^IL' 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 571 

which passed and provided for the establishmeDt of the reformatory at 
Mansfield. It should be explained in passing that the reformatory at 
Mansfield has a somewhat distinctive character, and the ideal was present 
in the mind of Mr. Washburn when he planned and worked for the 
establishment of the institution. It could not be described as the tisual 
type of reform school for boys, since the Mansfield Reformatory takes 
young men between the ages of seventeen and thirty, after weaknesses 
and bad habits have hardened in many cases into permanent lines of 
erjminality. However, they are not irredeemable criminals, and the 
purpose of the reformatory is not penal so much as corrective and edu- 
cative and has doue much to replace old lives and methods of action 
with new. Jlr. Washburn's work in behalf of the institution was fol- 
lowed by his appointment by Governor James G. Campbell on April 27, 
1890, as a member of the board of manners for the reformatory, and 
he was reappointed April 27, 1895, by Governor William MeKinley, 
During the last eleven years of his life the welfare of the Mansfield insti- 
tution was the matter closest to his heart, and of all his services he per- 
haps found that the most satisfying. 

In 1844 Mr. Washburn married Miss LuAna M. Hill. She died in 
1855, leaving two daughters. Celia Oeorgiana is. now the wife of Henry 
Lee Lathrop of San Antonio, Texas. She has two children: Walter 
Washburn Lathrop, now a resident of Tacoma, Washington; and Alice 
Washburn Lathrop of San Antonio. The second daughter, Alice Mar^, 
who married John M. Vincent of Fort Worth, Texas, died at Elyna 
August 12, 1888, leaving two daughters: Stella Louise, now living at 
Carmel, California; and Alice Vincent, who married Harry Coutt Cole- 
man, of Dal hart, Texas., 

In October, 1856, Mr. Washburn married at Buffalo, New York, 
Mrs. Sarah N. Oatman of that city. Mrs. Washburn is sttll living at 
the old residence on Washington Avenue which was built by Mr. Wash- 
burn forty-four years ago, and is one of the residential landmarks of 
many associations in the City of Elyria. 

In 1858 >Ir. Washburn became a stockholder in the Lorain Bank of 
Elyria. a branch of the old State Bank. This subsequently became the 
First National Bank. In addition to hia service in the Legislature he 
was also a member of the city council and for six years was president 
of the school board. However, outside of hia valuable work in behalf of 
the State Reformatory at Mansfield, he deserves to be best remembered 
for his strong influence and success as an editor and newspaper manager. 

Leon.vrd M. Moobe. The development of an industry in a com- 
munity is no less than an epitome of the growth and development of 
the community itself, for a municipality is composed of but an aggrega- 
tion of industries about which gather a large army of men with their 
families who are in some way connected with the conduct of these busi- 
ness enterprises. The City of Lorain, with its numerous industries and 
far-reaching commerce, owes its growth and prosperity to its position 
as a manufacturing center and to its location as a distributing point. 
In this connection a contributing factor to this development has been 
the Lorain Lumber and Manufacturing Company, in operation for forty- 
four years, for much of the success of which credit must be given to its 
secretary and treasurer, Leonard Miller Moore, whose more than ordinary 
enterprise and sagacity have given him a leading position among the 
business men of Lorain. 

Mr. Moore is a native son of Lorain County, bom on a farm, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1869, his parents being Leonard W. and Amanda (Miller) 
Moore. His father, who is deceased, was a farmer. He was one of the 
prominent men of his locality, serving as township trustee for many 



y Google 



672 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

years, and after his removal to Lorain served as a member of the council 
for some time. Leonard Miller Moore was educated in the public schools, 
and when but a lad secured a position as office boy with the Lorain 
Lumber and Manufacturing Company. Later he was to become promi- 
nently identified with that business, but at that time he thought he saw 
better opportunities offered him elsewhere, and after a short time entered 
the office of the Cleveland Plain Dealer, in the capacity of bookkeeper. 
One year completed his experience in the field of journalism, -he then 
going to Erie, Pennsylvaaia, which city he made his home for four 
years while he was gaining his training in planing mills and lumber 
yards and securing a knowledge of the business while employed as a 
bookkeeper. 

In 1893 Mr. Moore returned to Lorain to accept the positions of 
secretary and treasurer of the Lorain Lumber and Manufacturing Com- 
pany, the concern with which he had been connected at the outset of 
bis career. This company was organized in 1881, being the outgrowth 
of the business operated under the style of Brown Brothers & Company, 
and which had been established in 1872. There are now fifty people 
employed in the lumber yards and planing mills, the plant covering 
five acres of land, and the present officers are : Isaac Honeeker, presi- 
dent ; Charles P. Friend, vice president ; and Leonard M, Moore, secretary 
and treasurer. Wise in counsel, prudent in action, energetic in the 
discharge of his duties, and at all times displaying the highest order 
of integrity, Mr. Moore has won and retained the entire confidence an4 
respect of his associates, and in business circles has an excellent reputa- 
tion for ability and fidelity. In addition to the duties mentioned, he is 
serving as vice president of the Lorain Banking Company. For several 
years he served as a member of the council of Lorain, and during that 
time displayed an eagerness to further his city's interests that was 
commendable. At the fall election held in 1915 he was elected mayor 
of Lorain, taking the office January 1, 1916. The term of this office 
is two years. His fraternal connections are with the Masons, in which 
he has attained the Knight Templar degree. His political views are 
those of the republican party and his religious affiliation with the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a trustee. 

Mr. Moore was married March 15, 1895, to Miss Carrie Friend, 
daughter of Charles P. Friend, of Lorain, vice president of the Lorain 
Lumber and Manufacturing Company. Three children have been born 
to this union: Helen, Ruth A. and Eleanor A. 

Judge Washinciton W. Boynton. For a period longer than the 
average lifetime Ju<^ Boynton has been a member of the Ohio bar. 
To the present generation his distinguished services are sufficiently 
familiar. To those who read these pages in the future it will suffice to 
indicate his prominence by saying that for years he stood second to 
none as a member of the Cleveland bar, and that for five years he read 
his clear, logical and forceful opinions into the decisions of the Ohio 
Supreme Court. Lorain County will always regard him as one of its 
foremost citizens and one of its most distinguished native sons. 

Bom in Russia Township, Lorain County, January 27, 1833, Wash- 
ington Wallace Boynton is the son of General Lewis D. and Ruth (Well- 
man) B'oynton, both of whtan were bom and spent many years of their 
early lives in Belgrade, Maine, but in 1826 they removed to Ohio and 
established themselves as pioneers in Lorain County. Judge Boynton 
is directly descended from Sir Matthew Boynton, who was created a 
baronet May 25, 1618, and was a member of the English parliament 
during the reign of Charles I. His sympathies became enlisted on the 
side of the republican cause during the civil wars of England. HIb 



h.'^ioogle 



^ 'f'r /^ (f-^^^tir-. 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 









.-...im-il 






>>li<! 


sc'ii-hIn. 




.Lb 


tht 


I...riiij 


>o Ih- 


l>Jl.t 


]ir...i,;- 


lie 


till. 


i(.'hl 




ash 


■i; 


iin- 


Cf'ltfl-.-.) 


ijia'-il* 


i.l' 


hookktvl-T 


ol' join 
i.k- l.j-, 


iihI 


li.'l 


>■■ tU.-ii 
>r four 


tiiiii; M 


.lis 


ari.t 


hiriiliLT 



.-I ; 



■ :iri to ai-ci-]iT till' jiositioiis of 

.iil"'i' Hiiil .Mrtiiul';u'li!i-iiig (joiu- 

... l>'-i-ii .■(niii-it,>,( ut Ihr ouisel of 

.: ,! in l^M. l«-iiiK the mitsirowtli 

....I.- ol Ifro^vii brothers & t'ompany, 

■ ■ \>~2. Tln'ro MTi' now lifty j>i'Oi>ie 
...i jiliiniiip mills, tin' plant <-overing 

■■.. 1 *li''i'i-s aiv; Isaac lIom-fkiT, jiri'si- 

..int;audUM>n»r.l M. Moon-, Mvivtary 

I'liniiiu in ai-tioii. ojii-rtri'lii' in {hf 

I i lunr!; ,ii^|.|:iyinir ill-- llVlu'Sl nnliT 

► v..i\ n-laiuid Tlic i-ntire I'onfideuce and 

l-;uness ciivlrs lias an fxt-i-ilnit n'lmta- 

: -I'Milioii to till' ihitii's iin'mioiieil. he is 

l.<n-iii Hanking Conipaiiy. For spveral 

•I'.' i-ouiu'il of Lorain, anil liiiriiiK ttint 

■ tiD'lli.T hi.* I'ity's interests that "aa 

■ ;i lu'id ill liilTi'li.- was i-l.-i-l<'.1 mavor 
,iy ], l<mi. Tlh- lenii ol' iliis oftii-i- 

;..-. i;.ins aiv witli tin- Mawns. in wliicii 
-iii'iir ili'jrrpc. Ili.« political vii'ws are 
-.1.-1 ills reliiiioiis at^iliatioii with tin' 
■. 'I '. li.' is a trust.-.'. 
■'. l.'> 1SII5. to .Mi.-s Cnrric Frt"iiil, 

■ ' i ■ -li'i, vici' pn'>tiiifnt of tlii- Ii<irai)i 

■ .-.-■. TliR'p iliil.lrcn have Ii.-it born 
. ; i l.'Hour A. 

■^■. For a period loiifnr lliaii the 

■ ■ S.'i'n a Tii,TiilH-r nf tlio Ohio bar. 
i:nirnishi'<l scrviiM's arc suflii-i-'iilty 

- ;pMc.'s in the f^itnn- it «ill siilUi'f to 
.[ ilia' for vears he slno.1 second to 

■ .1 ■■<r, H';d flial for five v.-ars hi- n-ad 
•-. .i.m-i into tin- decisions of lh.- (tlno 

" i always r.'p-iird liini n*! nnt- of i't 

■ •'. dislinfTiiishi'd nati>*,. sons. 

. . iin Countv, .hinn;irv 21. IkW. WiKM 
.1 nl (;riiHT:il Lowis I), an.i Rntl, 'W-'.i 

•■iH ill 1S28 th.-> remov.-ii to Ohio I 

'— in Lorain ronnty. .Tiid}ji' Uom.^m. 

.\;.'i1th.!W Koyuton. who wa" ireai.-.i ,. 
■•. a tnorahcr of the EhhtHsIi pa'li.i.in >■ 

ilis .-ivinpathi.s hi-oaiiic I'lilist-'t on '.<■ 
lu.'iiiK til'' Pivi! wars of En^dand. I)' 



bv»^iuOglc 



n^ rr> /^ 



(?~y^i-t.X:is~'^^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



^Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 573 

second son, named Matthew, married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert 
Stapleton, and about 1632 emigrated to America and became identified 
with the New England Colony of Boyntons. 

Gen. Lewis D. Boynton was bom in Maine August 5, 1802, and his 
wife was bom February 22, 1806. On coming to Lorain County General 
Boynton acquired a large tract of wild land in Russia Township. It 
is said that much of the land now included in that township was cleared 
under his superintendence and by men employed directly by him. He 
was a leader in thought and action in the early days, and at one time 
served as brigadier general of the State Militia. For the most part his 
years were spent in farming, and he died in September, 1871. His 
wife passed away on the old homestead in Russia Township January 
27, 1840. 

Judge Boynton is a product of pioneer circumstances of the old 
fashioned common schools and into his character were instilled much of 
the fine spirit that went with the building of homes and the clearing up 
of the wilderness district. While the hard work of a farm was his por- 
tion as a boy he was naturally studious, and he brought a superior judg- 
ment to every task. He attended the common schools and select schools, 
but gained much of his liberal education by dint of hard work with no 
stimulus save his own ambition. When he was only a boy the people 
of the community frequently remarked that "he was cut out for a law- 
yer," At the age of sixteen he taught his first term in a district school. 
From 1855 to 1857 he conducted a select school in Amherst Township, 
From 1857 to 1864 he served as county examiner of school teachers. In 
the meantime he had been industriously reading law. His director in 
those studies was his uncle, Elbridge Gerrj- Boynton, then a leading 
lawyer at Elyria. 

It was in 1856, fifty-nine years ago, that Judge Boynton was admitted 
to the Ohio bar. However, his work as an educator continued for a 
year or so longer, and he did not begin active practice until 1858. His 
first partner was L. A. Sheldon, and they were together in practice at 
Elyria until 1861, when General Sheldon went out as lieutenant 
colonel of the Forty-second Ohio Regiment and subsequently gained dis- 
tinction in the Union army. Judge Boynton was soon marked for offi- 
cial honor. He served as prosecuting attorney of Lorain County from 
185!) to 1864, and in the meantime formed a partnership with John G. 
Hale. Owing to ill health Judge Boynton gave up his practice for 
one winter and lived in Minneapolis during that time, until he had 
sufficiently recuperated to resume his work in Lorain County, 

His next partnership was with Laertes B. Smith, and their relation- 
ship continued for several years. It was interrupted when Governor 
Rutherford B. Hayes, afterwards President, appointed Mr. Boynton 
judge of the Common Pleas Court for the second subdivision for the 
Fourth Judicial District. His appointment came February 9, 1869, and 
he retired from the firm of Boynton & Smith and held his position on 
the Common Pleas Bench from 1869 to 1877. His district comprised 
the counties of Lorain, Medina and Summit, It was his splendid work 
aa a common pleas judge that brought his qualifications to wider renown 
when on February 9, 1877. he took his seat on the Supreme Bench of 
Ohio. He had been elected to that office in October, 1876. For nearly 
five years he was one of the able members of that tribunal, and every 
well read lawyer in the state is familiar with some of his clear, crisp 
opinions delivered from that bench. 

It was ill health that compelled Judge Boynton to retire from the 
Supreme Court in November, 1883, and small compensation for his 
work, and he soon afterwards located in the City of Cleveland. There 
he at once took rank with the ablest attorneys of a bar second to none 



,Google 



574 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

in the county. His law business soon taxed all his powers and he called 
to his aid his former associate, Judge John C, Hale, who reagned from 
the Common Pleas Bench to accept a partnership in Cleveland. The 
law firm of Boynton £ Hale had few peers during its existence at Cleve- 
land. In 1888 Norton T. Horr was admitted to the firm, which then 
became Boynton, Hale & Hon*. In 1892 Judge Hale retired to accept 
a place as judge of the Circuit Court, The firm of Boynton & Horr 
bandied the extensive business of the firm until January 1, 1897. Since 
then Judge Boynton has given his services as a special counsel and trial 
attorney in a number of the most important law cases settled before the 
Ohio and Federal courts. However, he no longer considers himself an 
active lawyer and he may be well satisfied to enjoy that "otium cum 
cignitate" which the old Romans regarded as one of the best ends of a 
useful life. 

Judge Boynton, in spite of his many years of public service, has 
been essentially a lawyer. But he has been even more, a great and a good 
man. He has exercised splendid power as a speaker and pleader, and 
knows not only the law but also the sciences and general literature. At 
all times and under all circumstances he has been an honest and fearless 
advocate of the right. His general reading has been very extensive, and 
his knowledge of the affairs of the world and of the human heart has 
enabled him to meet with calm efficiency all the exigencies of a long 
career. 

From the time it was founded Judge Boynton has been a loyal sup- 
porter of the republican party. During 1865-67 he represented Lorain 
County in the State Legslatu're. While in that body he offered the resolu- 
tion providing for the elimination of the word "white" from the fran- 
chise qualification of the state constitution. This resolution was defeated 
in the House on the first vote, but a similar resolution was subsequently 
passed by the Senate. The similar resolution was adopted after a bitter 
contest by the Lower House, and was presented to the people for final 
action in the ensuing state election. It was on this issue essentially that 
the democratic party in Ohio was victorious over the republicans by more 
than 40,000 majority, and incidentally Allen G. Thurman went to the 
ITnited States Senate from Ohio. 

Of Judge Boynton 's services as a local historian it is hardly necessary 
to speak here, since his direct and indirect contribution to this field have 
been acknowledged on other pages of this publication. In the publica- 
tions of the Western Reserve Historical Society Tract No. 83 contains the 
historical address prepared and delivered by Judge Boynton on July 4, 
1876, the American centennial anniversary. Much of. his address per- 
tains to local history in Lorain County. Judge Boynton has for over forty 
years been a director in the Savings Deposit Bank of Elyria and for five 
years served as vice president. He is well known all over the state, was 
for years a familiar figure in the City of Cleveland, and is still a member 
of the Union Club of that city. 

He was married December 20, 1859, at Ridgeville, Ohio, to Miss 
Betsey A. Terrell. She was born at North Ridgeville, Lorain County, a 
daughter of lehabod and Sally Terrell. At the birthplace and home of 
Mrs. Boynton Judge Boynton some years ago erected an attractive coun- 
try home, and he lived there until 1906, when he removed to Elyria and 
he and his good wife have since occupied their home on Washington 
Avenue in that city. 

Rev. Ben,iamin Tompsett Noakts, D. D. A thoroughly trained 
and capable English lawyer, practicing both in England and in America, 
the late Doctor Noakes was chiefiy distinguished and is remembered in 
Lorain County for his prominence as a religious leader and as former 



b.»^iUOglc 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 575 

pastor of St. Andrew's parish of the ProteBtant Episcopal Church at 
Elyria. His daughter, Mrs. Henry J. Eady, is still living at Elyria. 

A son of William and Mary Noakes, Benjamin Tompsett Noakes was 
bora at Ticehurst, Sussex, England, March 25, 1828. After leaving 
school at the age of fifteen he was articled to Thomas Baker, Esq., in 
the City of London for the study of law. He received a certificate aa an 
attorney in the courts of Queens Bench, Common Pleas and Exchequer, 
January 24, 1849, and on January 30, 1849, was made solicitor in the 
High Court of Chancery. He began the practice of law at Aylesbury in 
the County of Bucks, England, but in the early part of 1850 came to 
the United States and located in Rochester, New York. 

After getting established in Rochester he returned to England and 
in St. Peter's Church, Walworth, London, on September 28, 1850, mar- 
ried Miss Sarah Piper. They returned to the United States and lived 
at Rochester until 1855. From childhood Doctor Noakes had been 
under the influence of strong religious convictions. He was a man who 
combined practicality and enthusiasm in everything he did. While at 
Rochester he helped to organize the first Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation in America, became one of its charter members, and was thus a 
pioneer in the movement which has now spread to almost every city and 
town in the United States. On account of his religious convictions he 
finally gave up the practice of law altogether and entered the Theological 
Seminary of the Protestant Episcopal Church at Gambier, Ohio. He 
was ordained at Massillon, Ohio, by Bishop Mcllvaine, April 25, 1857. 
In the same year he was called to his first pastorate at Elyria, becoming 
rector of what is now St. Andrew's Parish. Several years later in May, 
1860, he was called to the Church of the Covenant at Philadelphia, hut 
in 1870 again returned to St. Andrew's at Elyria. During his second 
pastorate he was largely instrumental in causing to be erected the stone 
church now occupied by St. Andrew's Parish. 

In 1876 Doctor Noakes was called to a church in Cleveland, in which 
city he had his home imtil his death, which occurred on All Saints Day, 
November 1, 1904, His remains are interred in Lake View Cemetery at 
Cleveland. 

Mrs. Noakes still lives in Cleveland. There were eight children born 
to their union, seven daughters and one son, and the four now living 
are: Mrs. T. L. Berry of Baltimore, Maryland; Mrs. J. S. Van Epa of 
Cleveland ; Miss Grace Noakes of Cleveland ; and Mrs. Henry J, Eady 
of Elyria. 

Henby J. Eady, For more than halt a century Mr. Eady has been 
a resident of Elyria. Though now retired from active business, he still 
manifests a keen and intelligent interest in all that affects the welfare 
of his home city and county, and is widely and favorably known as a 
man of progress and public spirit. There is much that is stimulating 
and instructive in such a career as that of Henry J. Eady, who came to 
the United States without fame or fortune and through his own efforts 
lifted himself to the plane of prosperity and influence. 

A native of England, bom at Cottesbrooke, Northamptonsliire, April 
28, 1846, he comes of an old and substantial family of that country. 
His parents were Thomas and Susan (Holt) Eady. His grandfather, 
Samuel Eady, kept an inn at Brixworth during that interesting period 
before the construction of railways and when the stage coaches rolled 
along the highways over England. 

In his native environment Henry J. Eady spent the first eighteen 
years of his life, and secured such education as the schools of his native 
county could bestow. In 1864 he set out for the United States, and his 
home has been in Elyria since the third day of December in that year. 

Diyizedtay 



Google 



676 HISTORY DF LORAIN COUNTY 

The Civil war was almoat at its close, and he began life in this eoantry 
at the rising tide of industry and prosperity which started about that 
time. His first employment was in farm work, subsequently he was in 
the factory of Topliff, Sampsell & Ely, but in 1868 began bis real career 
as clerk in the dru^ store of W, H, Park. As a young man he was ever 
alert for opportunity, was a hard and faithful worker, and in a few 
years was able to realize his ambition of becoming an independent busi- 
ness man. In 1873 he opened a drug store on Cheapside, and in tJiat 
locality he made his business a landmark and the central point for a 
large and flourishing business. It is said that for thirty-two years, from 
1873 to 1905, Jlr, Eady's store was never closed for a full day and 
there was no time when it was not under his direct supervision. A 
merchant who steadily pursues such a policy of industry and fair deal- 
ing as Mr. £ady necessarily prospers, and bis prosperity has taken form 
in the construction of several prominent building improvements in 
Elyria. In 1885 he built a large tliree-story brick business block on the 
site of his first drug store at 106 Cheapside, and in 1892 put up a hand- 
some brick block at 122 Cheapside, the latter being a combination store 
and apartment building and bearing the name Northampton, by which 
name he honored bis native shire in England. Mr. Eady retired and 
sold his drug business in 1905, and has since been looking after his 
private investments. 

In the past half century no citizen has manifested a finer public 
spirit and. a more wholesome influence for the upbuilding and improve- 
ment of Elyria. Especially in later years, when he was able to relax 
somewhat his close attention to business, he has given much service to 
the public in ofHcial positions. From 1899 to 1903 he was a member of 
the Elyria city council, and in January, 1908, became president of the 
board of public service and continued in that office two years. He is a 
life member of The Elyria Memorial Hospital Company, an institution 
which is one of the finest of its kind in Ohio, and has been a member of 
its board of managers since its ot^anization. For many years he has 
been identified with the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, has beer prom- 
inent in fraternal circles, is a republican in politics, and for years has 
filled the office of warden in St. Andrew's Episcopal Church. Fra- 
ternally bis relations are with the Masons, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Knights of Honor, and in the latter organization 
he was for more than a quarter of a century its treasurer. 

On February 16, 1876, about eleven years after he came to Elyria, 
and when he was already known as a rising young business man, Mr. 
Eady married Miss Charlotte Ellen Noakes. Mrs. Eady is a daughter 
of Eev. B. T. Noakes, well remembered as an Episcopal clergyman of 
Elyria and of whom separate mention is made in this work. Mr. Eady 
lives in a modern residence on Sixth Street, which he built in 1915. 
Mr. and Jlrs. Eady have lived over fifty-one years in almost one locality 
in Elyria. 

Mr. Eady has crossed the Atlantic thirteen times. He returned the 
last time in November, 1914, leaving London Thanksgiving Day, 1914. 
He was in London when the present war broke out, 

S.\MUEL Davidson. The distinction of having been the most pros- 
perous farmer of Lorain County might be properly claimed by Samuel 
Davidson of Camden Township. Something more than forty years ago, 
after a varied experience in some of the remote colonies of England, be 
came to Lorain County and started business as a farmer with a capital 
of $3,000. Since then his enterprise has rapidly grown and expanded, 
and he probably has as lai^e a landed estate as any other farmer in 
Lorain County. For a great many years he carried on general farming 

DiyizBoby'^iUU'-^IL" 



'fr '^ ^ (hy^^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 577 

and dairying iu connection with the raising of hogs, cattle and other live 
stock. His home farm lies about five miles southwest of Oberlin, and 
the house and other buildings and grounds constitute one of the most 
beautiful estates in the county. Mr. Davidson has erected most of the 
buildings on his land, including a large barn, and a comfortable and 
commodious frame house. 

Samuel Davidson was bom in County Down, Ireland, February 1, 
1845. a son of John and Mary Ann (Brown) Davidson. His grand- 
father was Andrew Davidson, who spent his life as a farmer in the old 
country. The maternal grandfather was Robert Brown, who for twenty- 
one years was a regular soldier in the British army and who died in 1849. 
John Davidson, father of Samuel, was bom in County Down, Ireland, in 
1819 and died in July, 1895. His wife was born at Drogbeda, Ireland, 
in 1825 and died in 1899. They were married in Ireland and some years 
later in 1869 came to Lorain County, where they bought a farm and 
spent the rest of their days. About a year after John Davidson had 
come to this country he was followed by his family in 1870. There were 
nine children, six daughters and three sons, and those now living are: 
Samuel Davidson ; Andrew, who lives in Missouri ; Eliza, whose home is 
in New Zealand ; Emily, Jennie and Mattie, all of whom reside in Toledo ; 
Joseph, who is a resident oE Los Angeles, California; and Alice, also a 
resident of Toledo. Tlie parents were active members of the Presby- 
terian Church. John Davidson learned the blacksmith's trade in Ire- 
land, but after coming to Lorain County followed farming. He affiliated 
with the democratic party. 

Samuel Davidson received his early education in Irish schools. When 
about seventeen years of age he left Ireland on February 19, 1862, and 
went to Melbourne, Australia, and a year later to New Zealand, where 
he lived for about nine years. In those uttermost parts of the earth he 
followed gold mining chiefly, and acquired a modest capital which served 
as the foundation of his prosperity and enterprise after he came to 
Camden Township of Lorain County in 1872. Here his first purchase 
was ninety-five acres of partly cleared land. He set himself steadily 
to work to clear up the balance and improve it and he soon started a 
small dairy farm. Many of his friends say that everything Samuel 
Davidson undertakes turns out successfully and it is a fact that from 
the nucleus of land which he first acquired he has extended his invest- 
ments until he now owns about 760 acres, all cultivated and managed 
directly by him. 

On June 21, 1875, Mr. Davidson married Margaret Stranaghan, a 
daughter of Andrew and Agnes (Cantley) Stranaghan, both of whom 
were born in County Down, Ireland, and died in the old country. Mrs. 
Davidson came to this country with a young woman friend, stopped at 
Pittsburgh a time, but came to Camden Township in 1875. To their 
marriage have been born seven children: Agnes, wife of Otto Huene, a 
Lorain County farmer; William D., who lives on one of his father's 
farms: Andrew S., who assists his father in the farm management; 
Anna Eliza, wife of Lloyd Hudson, a Camden Township farmer; Emma 
G.. wife of Willard A. Brumby of Camden Township: John F. of Cam- 
den Township: and Robert J., a farmer of the same township. 

Mrs. Davidson was reared in the faith of the Presbyterian Church. 
Mr. Davidson while independent in political afBIiation has been a very 
active citizen, and served Camden Township as trustee for three years 
and was a member of the school board for twelve years. 

Patrick Henry Boynton. Many of the distinctions and services 
associated with the name Boynton in Lorain County were the product 
of the career of the late Patrick Henry Boynton, who as a member of 



bv'^ioogle 



678 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

the Elyria bar tor over forty years was one of the most accompliahed 
and succeasful attorneys of tbe county. He continued active in bis pnv 
feasion to ttie last day of his life, and died suddenly while reading in 
his library on April 28, 1911. 

The boyntou family came from the State of Maine and eatablisbed 
its home in the wilderness of Kussia Township, Lorain County, as early 
as 1826. Patrick Henry Boynton was bom in Russia Township, August 
10, 1848, a son of John H. and Hulda (Heath) Boynton. His father, 
John Hancock Boynton, was long a familiar figure in business affairs of 
Elyria and died in that city in July, 1899. 

It was in the City of Elyria that Patrick H. Boynton spent nearly 
all his Ufe, since when he was a child his parents established their home 
there. As a boy he attended the public schools, was also a student in 
Oberlin College and gained part of his legal education in the University 
of Michigan. For some time he read law in the office of John C. Hale, 
and in 1869 stood the test of examination and was admitted to the bar. 
From that time forward until his death he enjoyed a large and growing 
practice. He possessed a broad and thorough knowledge of the law, 
and had more than a local reputation for accuracy and painstaking 
industry. He was frequently called one of the best read lawyers in 
this part of Ohio. He was devoted to his profession but his mind ranged 
among many other fields and interests, and probably to a degree equal 
to any of his contemporaries he was truly cultured both in mind and 
character. He had a broad knowledge of general literature, and Uie 
occupation of the last -hours of his life was reading. 

His life should also be remembered for bis public services. In 1888 
he was elected mayor of Elyria, and was three times re-elected, and gave 
the city an administration notable for its efficiency and vigor. Ou retir- 
ing from the office of mayor he was made a waterworks trustee, became 
president of the board of 'trustees, and worked in that capacity until 
the waterworks ^stem was placed under the control of the board of 
public service in 1903. Up to his death he served as referee in bank- 
ruptcy in the United States Court in Lorain County. He was active in 
Masonry, a member of King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and his funeral was conducted under the auspices of the order. 

An excellent estimate of what he was and what he stood for is con- 
tained in an editorial which appeared in the Elyria Democrat at the 
time of his death : ' ' The death of P, H. Boynton takes from the activi- 
ties of this city's life a man who has stood high in everybody's estimation 
for many years. While he was a conservative man in many ways un- 
demonstrative, yet he won the respect of all who knew him by liis inaate 
sense of fairness and honesty. His ability in his profession was acknowl- 
edged and he was referee in many a legal tangle. He was deliberate in 
his opinions and stood uncompromisingly by his judgment. As a man 
who toc^ delight in the fine and noble things in literature he set a high 
standard for the community, and to his friends he was a constant source 
of inspiration to the acquirement of those things which bring happiness 
and content in this busy world." 

On December 30, 1875, Mr. Boynton married Miss Mary Townshend. 
Mrs. Boynton died at Elyria, March 7, 1915, and there are three sons 
and an adopted daughter who survive. A. J. Boynton of Elyria; H. 
Percy Boynton, of Cleveland ; Sidney H., of Elyria ; and Olga, now a 
student in Oberlin College. 

Mrs. Boynton was bom in Elyria, December 21, 1849, a daughter of 
Dr. and Mrs. Norton S. Townshend. The father was prominent in the 
affairs of the state, at various times was a member of the Legislature, 
was also a member of the Constitutional Convention in 1851-52, and 
filled a position in the faculty of the Ohio State University. He served 
during the Civil war as a medical inspector, and was professor of 



b.»^iUOglc 



vGoogle 




vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 579 

agriculture and was a pioneer in this field of technical education. Mrs. 
Boynton for many years stood for the highest things in the cultural 
activities of Elyria. She attended the public schools of Elyria as a 
girl, continued her education in the Lake Erie Seminary at PainesviUe, 
and it is said that her ambition to continue her education in the Stat« 
University led that institution to adopt plans for coeducation. For the 
last several years of her life Mrs. Boynton suffered bereavement and 
much personal illness through which she set an example of rare Chris- 
tian fortitude and bravery. She was always devoted to her home, and 
made it not only a place of material comfort but gave it the atmosphere 
most stimYilatlng to real culture. Through all her years she continued 
to store her mind with the results of the best thought and information 
and was accomplished and learned in a number of different fields. She 
was a charter member of the Fortnightly Club, the oldest woman's club 
in Ohio and the first purely literary club in the state. She belonged 
to that club until her death and several times filled the chair of presi- 
dent. She was also one of the directors of the Lorain County Historical 
Society and filled a similar position with the Young Women 's Christian 
Association, was a member of the Kozy Klub, and for many years at- 
tended and subsequently became an active member of the First Congre- 
gational Church. At the time of her death she was serving as cor- 
responding secretary of the Historical Society, and had been identified 
with the Young Women's Christian Association from its inception. 

Abthue L. Qarfokd. In that big world of people outside of Lorain 
County the name Garford during the last twenty years has had many 
familiar associations with a very high grade of manufactured products 
and business service. During the decade of the '90s when nearly every- 
body in the United States were riding bicycles, something like two or 
three million people knew the name because it was associated with the 
most popular and best saddle used on that popular vehicle. In later 
years the name has had a growing significance not only in the higher 
circles of mannfacturing and general commerce but also in polities. The 
State of Ohio has no more capable personality in giving vitality to the 
modem ideals of social democracy and the progressive political move- 
ment than Arthur L. Garford of Elyria. 

His influential relations with business affairs are well illustrated by 
a brief list of the large concerns with which he is officially identified. 
He is president of The Garford Manufacturing Company, president of 
The Cleveland Automatic Machine Company of Cleveland, president of 
the Republican Printing Company of Elyria, president of The Worth- 
ington Company of Elyria, treasurer of The Garford Engineering Com- 
pany, chairman of the executive committee of The Elyria Lace Manu- 
facturing Company, a director of The Savings Deposit Biink & Trust 
Company of Elyria, and a director of The Perry-Fay Manufacturing 
Company of Elyria. Prom the limits of Lorain County, in which he 
was bom and which has been his home throughout his life, the influence 
of his work and varied activities have spread far and wide. 

The farm on which he was bom August 4, 1858, is now included 
within the city limits of Elyria. Arthur Lovett Garford is a son of 
Georgia and Hannah (Lovett) Garford, the former a native of North- 
amptonshire and the latter of Leicestershire, England. The paternal 
grandfather, William Garford, was for many years custodian and 
manager of a large English estate, upon which his ancestors had lived 
for generations. The maternal grandfather, Edward Lovett, was a silk 
and lace manufacturer in England, one of his sons was manager of the 
large factory and another son served many years in the British navy. 
George Garford, who was bom in 1829, and was married in 1850 to 
Miss Hajinah Lovett, in 1852 came to the United States and to Elyria. 

Diyizedtay 



Google 



580 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

In 1853 he sent for his young wife and their first child. The parents 
reaided in Lorain County for more than sixty years and until the time 
of their death. George Garford was a famed landscape gardener when 
be came to Lorain County, but subsequently gained a national reputa- 
tion as a breeder and raiser of live stock, exhibiting his sheep and cattle 
at state and county fairs throughout the Central West, and from 1863 
until 1882 was proprietor of the Elywood Stock Farm in Elyria, Lorain 
County. 

Arthur L. Garford grew up on his father's farm, and in 1875 grad- 
uated from the Elyria High School. Two years later, at the age of 
nineteen, he became cashier in the china importing house of Rice & 
Burnett at Cleveland, the following year was promoted to head book- 
keeper, but in 1880 resigned to accept a position as bookkeeper in the 
Savings Deposit Bank of Elyria, He was promoted to teller in 1882 
and in 1884 to assistant cashier, and in 1891 to cashier, from which office 
he resigned in 1892, having in the meantime organized the Garford 
Manufacturing Company. 

Several years ago a special correspondent of the Cleveland Leader 
wrote an interesting article whose language will be used to describe 
Mr, Garford 's entrance into the manufacturing field: "The sedentary 
life told on him, however, and to get fresh air and exercise he took to 
the bicycle. High wheels were then the rage, and Mr, Garford had 
several falls, some of them rather serious. He wondered if something 
could not he done to prevent falling from the bicycle. He studied the 
matter, and the invention of the famous Garford bicycle saddle was the 
result. He patented the invention and offered to sell the patent to a 
Chicago manufacturer for a hundred dollars. The tender was refused 
and 5Ir. Garford made a contract with an Elyria factory for a large 
number of saddles. Before these could be marketed the low or safety 
wheels supplanted the high wheels in public favor. He had several 
thousand saddles on his hands and failure seemed to be staring him in 
the face. He didn't lose courage, but devised a plan by which his 
saddles could be remodeled for the low 'wheel. For three years the sales 
continued to increase, and then occurred the burning of the factory in 
which the saddles were made, destroying the entire stock. The success 
of his invention had been assured, however, and in 1892 Mr. Garford 
built a mill of his own for the manufacture of the saddles. The Garford 
saddle became the most popular in the country, and the inventor's 
concern, as it developed, picked up rival companies, until it controlled 
the bicycle-8ad_dle industry of the United States. A million saddles a 
year were made. The companies were consolidated, and Mr. Garford 
formed the American Saddle Company, a great success. The saddle 
company was in turn absorbed by the American Bicycle Company, of 
which Mr. Garford became treasurer. He subsequently withdrew from 
the concern and organized the Automobile & Cycle Parts Company, 
whose title was later changed to the Federal Manufacturing Compa'ny, 
which had nine mills, located in Cleveland, Chicago, Milwaukee. 
Indianapolis and other cities. The controlling interest was owned by 
the Pope Manufacturing Company, saecessor to the American Bicycle 
Company. Mr. Garford resigned as president of The Federal Manufac- 
turing Company and purchased its automobile-parts plant in Cleveland 
and Elyria, forming the Garford Company in 1905. The Federal Com- 
pany was organized in 1901 and was capitalized for five million dollars. 
In i907 Mr. Garford built the lanre automobile factory in Elyria and 
the same is operated under the title of The Garford Company. The 
great Studehaker Company, manufacturers of vehicles, became inter- 
ested, hut Mr, Garford retained control of the concern of which he is 
the executive head, and the plant constitutes one of the largest auto- 



b,<^,OOglc 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 581 

mobile factories in the land. Id 1902 Mr. Oarford went to France and 
reorganized, witb a commission for the owners, The Cleveland Machine 
Screw Company, under the name of The Cleveland Aatomatic Machine 
Company. This corporation has an extensive plant in Cleveland and 
controls a large business throughout the Unit«d States and the European 
continent and England." 

In 1903 Mr, Garford organized The Columbia Steel Works of Elyria, 
where he built its fine plant, and fjso built the plant of The Worthington 
Company, of which he is president. In 1895 he organized the Fay 
Manufacturing Company, of which he became president, this being 
succeeded by The Worthington Manufacturing Company, and in 1905 
he was a prime factor in organizing The Perry-Fay Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of which he is still a director. He owns the controlling interest 
in The Cleveland Automatic Qlachine Company, a $1,000,000 corpora- 
tion. He secured, the controlling interest in The Republicati Printing 
Company of Elyria in 1898, this company publishing The Elyria Evening 
Telegram, one of the leading dailies of Northern Ohio. In 1907 Mr. Gar- 
ford assisted in organizing The American Lace Manufacturing Company 
of Elyria. It is apparent that he has not only the technical genius 
which underlies all successful manufacturing, but also has developed to 
a high degree the executive and organizing faculty, and has never 
touched an enterprise without making a success of it. 

Of his character as a business man the article from which quotation 
has already been made speaks as follows: "Mr, Garford is of the best 
type of the successful business man. He finds time not only to build 
up his material fortunes but also to build up his city and to do his duty 
as a citizen. The story of his career is an object lesson for ambitious, 
courageous young men. It shows what may be accomplished by the man 
of energy in a comparatively few years by means of push and vigor and 
without deserting the hearthstone about which he played as a boy. The 
home in which he was born is within the city limits of Elyria. In his 
early youth his parents removed to a farm, now also a part of Elyria. 
It was on this farm that young Garford was reared. The frame house 
in which he lived when first married stands upon it today, and on the 
same farm is the commodious and artistic modern stone residence which 
is now his home. Mr. Garford believes the secret of accomplishment is 
the economy of time and enei^. He always finds time to do what he 
has in mind. He methodically divides his time, and thus manages to 
give necessary attention not only to his varied business enterprises but 
also to politics, to church and to various interests of the community. 
Mr. Garford is a long-distance thinker. He has a creative mind. Wben 
he looks into a proposition he analyzes it thoroughly and draws a logical 
deduction of what there is in the future for it. When he makes up his 
mind to go ahead with a venture, be it business or political, he puts 
common sense and industry behind it." 

Taking up his varied interests outside of manufacturing, Mr. Gar- 
ford assisted in organizing and was the first president of The Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, and also was the oi^anizer of the old Elyria 
Board of Commerce and at one time was its president. He is now 
chairman of the board of trustees of the public library of Elyria, and is 
president of the Elyria Y. M. C. A. and a member of the board of 
trustees of the Y. W. C. A. He is a member of the National Civic 
Federation, a member of the Ohio Society of New York, member of the 
Engineers Society of New York, belongs to the Union Athletic Club of 
Cleveland, the Cleveland Athletic Club, is a charter member and was 
first president of the Elyria Country Club, is a life member of the 
Republican Western Reserve Club, and he and his wife are active in 
the First Congregational Church. 



,Google 



6S2 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

It vas Mr. Garford who called the first meeting of local citizens to 
promote the movement to secure a pure water supply irom Lake Erie, 
and was one of the leaders in the long campaign of seven years which 
was required to accomplish the result. This is a sample of his distin- 
terested work and public spirit in local affairs, and be has carried the 
same ideals and practical honesty into the broader field of politics. 

At three different times Mr. tJarford was elected delegate to repub- 
lican national conventions from the Fourteenth Congressional District, 
and was a member of the State Central Committee nine years. He was 
a delegate to the convention of 1896 when McKinley was nomiDated, and 
in 1908 was in the conveutiou at Chicago vihicb nominated President 
Taft. He was already recognized at that time as one of the leaders in 
the Ohio movement for the securing of important reforms within the 
republican party organization, and this progressive stand led him 
naturally into the ranks of the national progressive party iu 1912. He 
was chairman of the Ohio delegates at the republican convention in I9I2, 
and was a candidate for governor before the Republican State Conven- 
tion at Columbus a couple of weeks later as a progressive republican. 
For several ballots his name led all others, and his nomination was 
apparently assured, but on the next ballot he was defeated by a com- 
bination of all other reactionary candidates, who concentrated on Judge 
Dillon of Columbus as a dark horse. Later he joined the progressive 
party and his name was placed on the Ohio State ticket as candidate for 
governor. He had already been prominently mentioned for several years 
as a possibility for that ofiQce, and had it not been for the break in the 
party alignment, as a result of which the original republican vote was 
divided between the republicans and progressives, he would undoubtedly 
have been elected governor of Ohio in that year. Mr. Garford still 
claims allegiance to the progressive party, and in 1914 was its candidate 
for the United States Senate. 

December 14, 1881, Mr. Garford married Miss Mary Louise Nelson, 
daughter of the late Thomas L. Nelson of Elyria, a prominent citiiten 
whose career is sketched on other pages of this work. Mr. and Mrs. 
Garford have two daughters: Mary Katherine, now Mrs. James B. 
Thomas of Elyria; and Louise Ely, now Mrs. E. Lavagnino of Pasadena, 
California. 

Chbistian Pabsch. Something more than half a century ago (he late 
Christian Parsch was known in Lorain County only as a very industrious 
and capable carpenter. He subsequently brought the scope of his activi- 
ties to work as a building contractor, and from that developed one of the 
largest establishments for the supplying of lumber and other building 
materials, and for work in building contracting lines in the entire coun^. 
Christian Parsch was a splendid type of the man who comes up from 
small things to large accomplishments, and his record whether in busi- 
ness, in private life, and in his attitude toward public concerns is one 
that should be remembered in this county. 

When he died at his home in Elyria, July 17, 1 905, he had reached the 
age of seventy-two. Though nearly all his life was spent in Lorain 
County, he was bom at Lamniersdorf on the River Rhine, near Cologne, 
Germany, January 17, 1833. When only ten years of age he came with 
his family to the United States, and after a brief residence at Buffalo, 
New York, they came on to Cleveland. It was in Cleveland that Christian 
Parsch, who in the meantime had gained an education partly in the 
schools of Germany and partly in those of America, took up the carpen- 
ter's trade. From there he moved to Avon in I-orain County, was a 
journeyman worker in that section, and in 1857 removed to Elyria. Not 
long afterward he began taking independent contracts for building, and 

DiyizBohv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 583 

out of that grew the large establiehment which still bears his name in 
Eiyria. 

The late Mr. Parsch was for many years one of the active members 
and liberal supporters of St. Mary's Catholic Church of Elyria, to which 
his family also belong. His wife, Mrs. Catherine (Hurbert) Parseh, died 
at her home on East Broad Street in Elyria, July 20, 1907. She was at 
that time seventy-one years of age, was a native of Ireland, but had lived 
continuously in Elyria for fully forty years. She became the mother of 
nine children, six of whom survived her. There are now three sons and 
one daughter living : William T., president of the Parsch Lumber Com- 
pany; Alexander P., vice president of the company; John C. ; and Mrs. 
Joseph Tyler of Elyria. The daughter Mary, who married C. Esker of 
Elyria, died after her mother, and the other daughter, now deceased, was 
Luey, Mrs. James McCarvel. The son William is also a director of the 
Machine Parts Company of Elyria, 

For a great many years the lumber and building business was eon- 
ducted under the simple name C. Parsch, but in 1900 it was incorporated 
as the Parsch Lumber Company, at which time Christian's sons, William, 
Alexander and John, took an active share in the business. 

John C. P.^bsch, A product of Elyria by birth, education and train- 
ing, John C. Parsch has passed his entire career in this city, where he is 
not only known as a leading factor in business circles, but as a citizen who 
has contributed of his tine talents to the welfare of the community as the 
incumbent of official position. He was born August 16, 1870, and is a 
son of the late Christian and Catherine (Hurbert) Parsch, highly re- 
spected old-time citizens of El3rria, a sketch of whose careers will be 
found elsewhere in this work. 

John C. Parsch was educated in the Elyria public schools and St. 
Mary 's parochial school, following which he took a course at the Oberlin 
Business College. In 1900 he secured an interest in the business which 
had been founded by his father many years before, and at the same time 
his brothers, William T. and Alexander P., became members of the con- 
cern, the name of which was at that time changed from C. Parsch to the 
Parsch Lumber Company, Inc., although the father retained an interest 
in the business until his death, in 1905. The present officers are W. T. 
Parsch, president; A. P. Parsch, vice president; and J. C. Parsch, secre- 
tary and treasurer. The Parach Lumber Company deals in lumber, coal 
and builders' supplies and maintains a planing mill, the ofSee and mill 
being located at Mill and Lodi streets, while the yards are at Cedar and 
Tremont streets. In addition to this concern, Mr. Parach is a director 
of the Elyria Foundry Company. He is known as one of the progressive, 
enterprising business men of the city, with large and important interesta, 
but has not allowed his private affairs to interfere with the performance 
of his duties as a good citizen. He entered politics in 1908, when he 
became the republican candidate for the office of eouncilman-at-large, and 
was elected and served two years, and in the following election ran for 
president of the council. He has been elected to that office three times, 
his present tenn expiring January 1, 1916. In regard to his candidacy 
for the mayoralty, the Elyria Chronicle of May 15, 1915, had this to say 
editorially: "As announced is our columns the other day, John C. 
Parsch will be a candidate for the office of mayor of Elyria, subject to 
the republican primary. His candidacy is one upon which all classes of 
our citizens may well unite. He is the candidate of no clique, no faction, 
nor, in the broadest sense, will he be a mere party candidate. The citi- 
zens of Elyria are to be congratulated that he has been prevailed upon to 
allow the use of his name in connection with the mayoralty. We have 
said that he will not be a mere party candidate and this is true. The 



y Google 



584 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

day of such has passed. Mr. Parsch 's qualifications for the mayor's office 
are not on the political order. He is no politician. He is primarily a 
business man mainly concerned in the conduct of one of Elyria's princi- 
pal enterprises. As his contribution to the civic spirit of our community 
life he has indeed held public office. He has for some years occupied an 
honorable niche in our city government. At' first as a member and then 
for several terms as president of the council, he has with conspicuous 
success discharged his obligations to our municipal government. His 
time and his trained business judgment have ever been unstintedly placed 
at the disposal of the city legislature and his wise counsel has ever been 
gladly availed of by his colleagues in that body. His course has pre- 
eminently been that of the business man applying the powers of his mind 
to the. public business. In this he may have neglected the arts of the 
politician, but we believe that the people will think none the less of him 
for that deficiency. Mr. Parsch was bom in Elyria forty-five years ago 
and has always lived here. His life is an open book. He is known to his 
neighbors, friends and associates as a man of kindly spirit and generous 
impulses. Upright and devout in his private life he is in public affairs a 
man of liberal and enlightened views; no narrow bigotry or sectarianism 
< bounds his intellectual horizon. His place in the estimation of his fellow 
citizens is secure. Although the cMididaey of Mr. Parsch is ui^ed on the 
score of his business qualifications, he is and always has been a staunch 
republican. It is through the instrumentality of that party that he has 
been called to the public posts he has hitherto filled. He therefore nat- 
urally turns to his fellow republican electors to endorse his candidacy, 
nor makes any apolc^^ in so doing. It will be as the republican candi- 
date for mayor that he will make the run or not at ail." At the primaries, 
held August 10, 1915, Mr. Parsch was nominated for mayor on the repub- 
lican ticket by a comfortable majority, the vote standing 640 to 452. He 
defeated his opponent in every precinct of the city, as shown by the 
following figures : First Ward, Precinct A, Parsch 66, Boyden 37 ; First 
Ward, Precinct B, Parsch 36, Boyden 17 ; Second Ward, Precinct A, 
Parsch 59, Boyden 37; Second Ward, Precinct B, Parsch 65, Boyden 52; 
Second Ward, Precinct C, Parsch 20, Boyden 15; Third Ward, Precinct 
A, Parsch 73, Boyden 46 ; Third Ward, Precinct B, Parsch 43, Boyden 25 ; 
Third Ward, Precinct C, Parsch 84. Boyden 75 ; Fourth Ward, Precinct 
A, Parsch 91, Boyden 73; Fourth Ward, Precinct B, Parsch 53, Boyden 
48 ; Fourth Ward, Precinct C, Parsch 50, Boyden 27. But even with the 
above flattering majority Mr. Parsch was defeated at the election held 
November 2, 1915. 

Mr. Parsch is a valued and popular member of Elyria Council No. 
774, Knights of Columbus, in which he has occupied all the chairs j of 
Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; of 
Elyria Lodge of the Catholic Mutual Benefit Association, in which he 
has held a number of the offices; and of Elyria Lodge No. 431, Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, and also holds membership in the Elyria Chamber of 
Commerce and the Elyria Automobile Club. With Airs. Parsch, he is 
aSiliated with St. Mary's Catholic Church of Elyria, and has been a 
leading member of the church choir for twenty-eight years, or since he 
was seventeen years of age. 

At Cleveland, Ohio, December 28, 1898, Mr. Parsch was united in 
marriage witii Miss Lottie M. Greesheimer, who was bom and reared at 
Elyria and here educated in the parochial schools. She is a daughter of 
the late Edward and Mary (Becker) Greesheimer, early residents of 
Elyria, both of whom are now deceased. Mrs, Parsch, like her husband,* 
is a general favorite socially and actively interested in religious and club 
work. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 585 

Mrs. £mha S. Olds. Believing firmly in womaii's political, social 
and industrial freedom, Mrs. Emma S.' Olds for many years has la- 
bored effectively in support of her convictions. There is scarcely a body 
of representative women in Ohio in which she is unknown, and her 
unusual talents have been recognized, utilized and appreciated in many 
other states. Of most pleasing personality, endowed with versatile 
talents, possessed of remarkable executive ability and gifted both as a 
speaker and writer, Mrs. Olds has indelibly impressed herself upon the 
developing pages of the history of her times. 

Mrs. Olds was born at Florence, Ohio. She is a great-granddaughter 
of Reuben and Pearl (Smith) Allen, and of Jasper Miles, all very early 
pioneers of Lorain and Erie counties. In 1817, Reuben Allen with wife 
and children left Vermont and journeyed by wagon to Lorain County, 
Ohio, selecting a site for a home in the forest that then covered Amherst 
Township. As the covered wagon had provided a shelter during the 
long journey it was further used as such until logs were hewed and a 
primitive dwelling was erected on what was then the frontier. On the 
ori^nal site was later built the comfortable farm-house which was one 
of the first if not the very first, frame houses in Amherst Township and 
is yet standing, the accompanying illustration showing its present con- 
dition, it being one of the old landmarks of the county. 

In childhood Mrs, Olds attended the village school at Birmingham, 
Ohio, and afterward was prepared by private tutors for college and at 
the age of fourteen years became a student in Berea College, Kentucky, 
where she spent a year and at the age of fifteen tauglit a mountain school. 
"When sixteen years old she taught school at Birmingham and then 
returned to Berea College for two years, afterward continuing special 
studies with tutors and again teaching school for two more years. 

Mrs. Olds was twenty years old when she married and for some time 
found her time sufficiently taken up in managing her home, but later 
her old ambitions asserted themselves and she returned to the educa- 
tional field and continued to teach school until 1896, and so valuable 
were her services considered by the people of Birmingham that she was 
elected a member of the board of education and served two years as its 
president before coming to Elyria, in which latter city, in 1911, she was 
elected a member of its board of education and her efficient service in 
that capacity covered three years. 

Although Mrs. Olds has been prominently identified with many for- 
ward movements for women, perhaps she is best known in her important 
connection with the order of the Ladies of the Maccabees of the World, 
with which organization she united in 1893. Her first official position 
was as record keeper of the local hive and when, in 1896, she was sent 
as a delegate to the order's state convention, at which she was elected 
state commander, she resigned her position in the public schools in order 
to take up this new work for women with which she was in full sympathy. 

In 1898, when the great hive was organized in Ohio, Mrs. Olds was 
elected great commander and filled that office and managed the affairs 
of the Ttlaccabees in Ohio continuously until June, 1915, when she was 
advanced to a position on the National Conference board and also was 
appointed deputy supreme commander. In consideration of her many 
years of successful and loyal service, at the Supreme Review of the order, 
held in New York at that time, she was given a year's vacation, after 
which she again resumed national work. Under Mrs. Olds' leadership 
the membership of the order in Ohio increased from 7,392 to 28,661. At 
the above named convention several important changes were made in the 
plans of work of the organization, including the abolishing of the inde- 
pendent state hives and the changing of the name to the Woman's Benefit 



,Google 



One op the First Frame Houses Bun/r in Amherst Township, 
LoBAiN County, Ohio 
Built by Ruben Allen sometime in the '20b and standing 
imoceupied. 



Pearl (Smith) Allen 

Who with her husband Ruben Allen were among the very first 
aettlers in Amherst Township, Lorain County, Ohio, in 1817. 



h,<^,oogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 587 

AsGOL-iatioD of the Maccabees. Mrs. Olds is a member of the present advi- 
sory board of the association and formerly served one term as supreme 
lieutenant commander of the Maccabees. Repeatedly, as a delegate from 
this organization, she has addressed the National Council of Women, 

Few women of the present day have led busier or more fruitful lives 
than has ilrs. Olda almost from girlhood. In addition to the responsi- 
bilities which she carried so many years as the Ohio head of the organiza- 
tion above mentioned, she has been concerned and interested in many 
other forward movements of her sex and has been helpful and sustaining 
to a wonderful degree, very often giving herself unselfishly but always 
conseieiitiously. For several years Mrs. Olds was vice president of the 
Ohio Woman's Suffrage Association; for many years was chairman of 
the standing Resolution Committee of the National Council of Women; 
for some years was a member of the Finance Committee of the National 
Fraternal Congress and for two years was chairman of the Committee 
on Ethics ; and is a member of the Ohio Federation of Clubs. On invita- 
tion she has made addresses before the Akron Council of "Women ; the 
Cuyaht^a County Women's Christian Temperance Union; the Toledo 
Peace Association; the Toledo Federation of Clubs; the National Council 
of Women ; the National Fraternal Congress and other gatherings. She 
has appeared before committees from the State Legislature in the interests 
of shorter working hours for women, and also in the interests of adequate 
rates for fraternal organizations. She served two terms as a trustee of 
the Ohio Fraternal Congress and was a delegate from this congress to 
the National Fraternal Congress, representing all the Ohio fraternities 
at the national body. For one year she filled the office of president of 
the Political Study Club, which she founded and which is the largest 
woman's club at Elyria, devoted to civic and social improvement, and 
several times was sent as a delegate from Ohio to the National Suffrage 
Assoi'iation. 

The above recital by no means covers all Mrs. Olds' useful activities 
and notable achievements. Of a decided literary l)ent, had not circum- 
stances led her into executive position with its many strenuous claims, 
she might have had leisure in which to cultivate her talent still farther 
than has been possible. As it is she has numerous stories and poems to 
her credit, which have appeared in the magazines and the newspapers. 
Jlrs. Olds is the author of the ritual for children, called the "Order of 
the Rose.'" which has been adopted for the use of the Junior Auxiliary 
Branch of the Maccabees, and she also wrote many of the songs and 
charges used in the ritualistic work of the order. After a year of rest 
and recreation, her friends and admirers hope that she will again be 
found among the workers for those helpful things to which her life 
has been dedicated. 

Ai-Usox Hn.L B.vBcoCK, president of the A. H. Bahcock Company, 
is a native of Lorain and so much impressed with its business, residence 
and otlier advantages that, like thousands of others, he has never been 
able to see that he could better himself by making a change of location. 
A product of the public schools, his business career, which commenced 
when he was but a lad, has been one of constant and consistent advance- 
ment, and his present connection with some of Lorain's loading enter- 
prises mates hiin a leader in business and realty circles. 

Allison H. Bahcock was born at Lorain. Ohio, January 21, 1874, and 
is a son of Allison 11. and Mary (Hill) Bahcock. His father, who came 
to Lorain in 1873. was originally a merchant and subsequently, became a 
lai^ owner of real estate. He was also one of the prominent men of 
the city in public affairs and for several terras served Lorain in the capac- 



,Google 



688 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

ity of mayor. Allison H. Babcock, of this notice, attended the public 
schools until reaching his Beventeenth year, at which time he entered the 
tobacco business, a line with which he was connected for seven years. 
In 1898 he became the organizer of the A. H. Babcock Company, a real 
estate and insurance concern, of which he has continued as president and 
manager to the present time and which, under his capable management 
and direction, has assumed large proportions. Prom time to time he 
has entered other lines of business endeavor, to which he has been called 
by reason of his fine organizing and executive abilities, and at the present 
time is president of the Hoffman Heater Company, of the Fidelity 
Realty Company, and of the Troike MufBer Company, all well known 
concerns of Lorain. While not a politician, he has discharged the duties 
of citizenship in a public spirited and conscientioua manner, and during 
three terms was city treasurer of I^orain. He belongs fraternally to the 
Masons, in which he has reached high degrees, being a Knights Templar 
and a member of the Mystic Shrine at Cleveland, and to the local lodge 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. His outside relations 
are eminently agreeable and helpful, and he is the sharer in many friend- 
ships, as well as the general good will of a community of which he is ac- 
counted one of the leading and influential citizens. 

Mr. Babcock was married October 15, 1894, to Miss Minnie Mead, of 
Lorain, daughter of James B. Mead, who was connected with the Balti- 
more & Ohio Railroad for many years. Three children have been bom 
to this union : Mildred Dai^, who graduated from the Lorain High 
School with the class of 1915 ; Floyd Ernest, who is still a student ; and 
Leota Amanda. 

Albert "WiUiUH CiNNioBt. Together with the other learued pro- 
fessions, the bench and bar is well represented in Lorain County, a 
lai^ proportion of its members being men of ability, safe counsellors 
and eloquent and effective advocates. One of the most prominent 
engaged in general practice at the City of Lorain is Albert William Cin- 
niger, who has an office in the Century Building. 

A native Ohioan, Mr. Cinniger was bom near Medina, September 
13, 1875, a son of John and Olive Ann (Eden) Cinniger, who were 
farming people in that locality. 

Mr. Cinniger has a very interesting ancestry, and many of his 
family eonnections have been soldiers, not only in this country but in 
Europe. His name is of German origin, and the German spelling is 
Zinniger. His grandfather, Charles Cinniger, who was born at Em- 
mindingen, near Karlsruhe, Province of Baden, Germany, came to 
America in 1834. During the Civil war he enlisted in the First Ohio 
Light Artillery in August, 1862, and served until the following year. 
At the battle of Stone River he was wounded and was taken prisoner 
and confined at Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and after being released was 
discharged on account of bis wounds. Olive Eden, mother of the I-orain 
lawyer, was a daughter of George Eden, a native of England, who in 
1840 married Clarissa Miller of New York. Her brother was a strong 
abolitionist and was commonly known as "Negro" Miller, owing to 
his connection with the undei^ound railroad for assisting the escape 
of slaves. George Eden's brother was John Eden, who served in the 
English array, for twenty-one years, much of the time under the Duke 
of Wellington, and was tailed at the battle of Waterloo. Mr. Cinniger's 
great-great-uncle on his father's side fought in the Prussian army under 
the great Napoleon, and was killed during the invasion of Russia. 
Mr, Cinniger's grest-grandfather, Hans Loefler, whose people were 
among the first settlers at Germantown, Pennsylvania, served in the 



h.'^iUOglc 



I 

DigilizedbyGoOgle j 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COtJNTT 589 

colonial army as a minor officer under General Waehingrton, and marched 
with that great American general from Bunker Hill to Yorfctown, from 
the heginning to the close of the war for independence. 

Reared on a farm and after graduating from hi(fh school, Albert 
William Cinniger in 1894 entered Hiram College, where he finished hia 
literary education and graduated in 1899. He then took up the study 
of law in the office of Judge G. W. Lewis and Judge George Hayden and 
was later in the office of Judge A. B. Webber of Elyria, Ohio. Admitted 
to the bar December 7, 1901, he did his first practice in Elyria, where 
he remained about three and a half years. From January, 1902, to 
April, 1905, he was partner of C. A. Metcalf, under the firm name of 
Met calf & Cinniger. 

Removing to Lorain City in April, 1905, he was a member of the 
firm of Thompson, Glitsch & Cinniger until December 7, 1911, since 
which time he has practiced alone. Well versed in the principles of 
jurisprudence and possessing all the most necessary qualifications for 
success in his profession, he h^ gained a high place in the bar of this 
county and is both respected as an able lawyer and esteemed as a man 
and citizen. He is a member of the Lorain County Bar Association, 
the Masonic order and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a 
member and trustee of the Christian Church. 

September 11, 1900, Mr. Cinniger married Clara L. Gibbs, daughter 
of Alexander and Paulina (Green) Gibbs of Brunswick, Medina County, 
Ohio. She is a descendant of Gen. Nathanael Greene of Revolutionary 
fame. Her father's uncle, Alexander Thayer, was at one time ambas- 
sador from the United States to Austria, while her great-great-uncle, 
Samuel Gibbs, served on Washington 's staff in the Revolutionary war. 
Alexander Gibbs, her father, enlisted in the Union army July 31, 1861, 
and upon reoi^anization his regiment became the Second Ohio Cavalry. 
He remained in the army until the close of the war, being mustered out 
in September, 1865. While a soldier he participated in a number of 
famous battles and had many exciting experiences. Wbile in the Shen- 
andoah Valley he saw Qen. Phil Sheridan in his famous ride, when he 
arrived just in time to rally the broken troops at Winchester and drive 
back Early's almost victorious legions. For several months he served 
as General Grant's orderly and assisted in laying mines at Petersburg. 
He also witnessed the surrender at Appomattox, and took part in the 
grand review at Washington after the surrender of Lee and Johnston's 
armies. He was also with Custer in the service when the latter was but a 
simple colonel, and was with him subsequently in Indian Territory when 
Col. William Cody (Buffalo Bill) was scout for the command. During 
the war Mr. Gibbs had several narrow escapes from death, two horses 
being shot from under him, and one time a bullet passed through his hat. 

Of the three children bom to Mr. and Mrs. Cinniger the one now 
living is Edwin Gibbs Cinniger, bom April 12, 1913. 

Elbert Julian Burrell. A life that was an unusual record of ac- 
complishment and influence came to a close with the death of Elbert 
Julian Burrell on December 28, 1905. While Mr. Burrell spent little of 
his time as a resident in Lorain County, he had many interests there, 
had a- home in Elyria, and his body now rests in the family vault at 
Ridgelawn Cemetery in that city. Mrs. Burrell, his widow, is living at 
124 Harrison Street in Elyria, and is one of the notable women of 
Lorain County. 

Born at Leroy, Medina County. Ohio, on May 30, 1845, Elbert Julian 
Burrell was a son of George and Marionett (Barnes) Burrell, who a few 
years after his birth moved to a farm in Ridgeville Township of Lorain 



y Google 



590 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

County. The late Mr. Burrell grew up in Lorain County, obtained his 
education in the district schools, and though the horizon of his early life 
was bounded by a country scliool and by the duties of a farm, he pos- 
sessed tliat excellent combination of energy and ambition which creates 
opportunity for a career of signal nsefnlness and service. His early 
practical experience was gained in his father's mill at Ridgeviile, and 
he made himself proficient in the handling of machinery and in various 
mechanical pursuits. In 1870 he engaged in the lumber industry in 
Michigan, but not long afterwards was severely injured by the explosion 
of a boiler in the lumber mill. There was no handicap that could be 
permanently imposed upon so energetic and determined a character and 
he was not long in finding other opportunities. He pos.sessed a peculiar 
genius in practical ehentistry, became a manufacturer of chemicals and 
■originated an improved process for the making of commercial alcohol, 
which was used by sixteen large companies in Michigan, Tennessee, 
Canada and Wisconsin. In these various companies Mr. Burrell had 
financial and business interests and was highly successful from a finan- 
cial standpoint. His affairs called him to many parts of the countrj-, so 
that he was never able to consider Elyria his permauent home. For 
several years prior to his death he suffered from ill health and he died 
at Manistique. Michigan, lie was a member of the Masonic fraternity, 
and was a man of utmost integrity and known and honored in many 
business circles in diverse parts of the country. 

Mi-s. Burrell. who for a number of years has had her home at Elyria, 
since the death of her husband has been active as a philanthropist and 
social worker at Elyria, is a member of several woman's oi^nnizations, 
and served as one of the trustees of the Old Ladies Home at Elyria and 
belongs to the Univer,sali.st Church at her old home town, Jlount Oilead, 
Ohio. Mr, and Mrs. Burrell had only one son. Orpheus, who died when 
two and a half years of age. When she married Mr, Burrell in 1868 
she was Mrs. Mahala Sharp, Her maiden name was .Mahala Graves, and 
she was born in Jlorrow County, Ohio, a daughter of William and EfSe 
(Shafer") Graves, the former a native of New York and the latter of 
Ridgeville, Lorain County, Mrs, Burrell's first husband was George S, 
Sharp. 3Irs, Burrell is perhaps best known as the mother of two 
famous men in Ohio. Her twin sons by her first marriage are Hon, 
William G. Sharp and Hon. George W. Sharp. AVilliam Graves Sharp, 
who was born in Monnt Gilead, Ohio, March 14, 1859, was graduated in 
law from the University of Michigan in 1881, and for many years prac- 
ticed at Elyria, and also became engaged in the manufacture of charcoal, 
pig iron and chcTnicals, However, he is best known for his public serv- 
ices. He was prosecuting attorney of Lorain County from 1885 to 1888, 
was a democratic presidential elector in 1892, was delegate to the National 
Convention of 1904, and in 1908 was elected to represent the Fourteenth 
Ohio District in Congress. He served during the sixtj-first, sixty-second 
and sixty-third congresses, retiring in 1915, and was elevated by Presi- 
dent Wilson to the important diplomatic post of ambassador from the 
United States to France, and he and his familv now reside at Paris. 
William G, Sharp married in 1895 Hallie M. Clough of Elyria, Their 
children are Margaret, George, William G., Jr., Effie and Baxter. His 
twin brother, George W., has long Imm active in public affairs in the 
State of Michigan, formerly represented the Thirty-first District of that 
state in the State Senate, and is also favoral)ly known as an author. He 
married Nellie Hitchcock, of Cleveland, Ohio, and they are the parents 
of three children : Anihcll, an author of considerable note ; William G. ; 
and Margueretha, The last named is a graduate of an art school in Cleve- 
land, and is a talented artist. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY - 591 

William Hazlett Hamilton, A successful young business man of 
Lorain, Mr. Hamilton has been chiefly identitied with this (;ommunity 
in connection with the Wood Lumber Company, of which he is sec- 
retary. The present large business, which is both a mercantile and 
manufacturing concern, is the outgrowth of the old B. II, Wood & 
Company, which was started in 1892. In 1900 a reorganization occurred, 
at which time the name was changed to the Wood Lumber (Company, 
with a capital stock of ^lOO.OOO. II. 0. Wood is president, D. H. Aiken 
is vice president, and W. H. Hamilton is secretary-treasurer. While 
the company deals extensively in lumber and building material, it also 
maintains a large plant for manufacturing purposes. The mill for the 
manufacture of sash, doors and other planed and milled materials is a 
two-story building, 54 by 106 feet. The yards occupy a total space of 
six acres and about forty men find regular employment in the different 
departments. 

A resident of Lorain County only a few years, William Hazlett Hamil- 
ton was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, on a farm May 10, 1879, a 
son of L. C. and Rebecca (Hazlett) Hamilton. His father was a miller 
and grain merchant, and is now living at Barberton, Ohio. The son 
received his education in the country schools and in the high school at 
Barberton and in a business college at Warren, Ohio. For two years he 
was employed as a stenographer and bookkeeper and then for two years 
was cashier of the American Strawboard Company at Barberton. Fol- 
lowing that for seven years he was bookkeeper and draftsman in the 
Jackson Lumber Company, and in that way gained a thorough knowledge 
of the lumber and woodworking industry in all its details. For a time 
he was at Akron connected with the B. F. Goodrich Rubber Company, 
but in 1907 came to Lorain, first as elerk, later as bookkeeper, and since 
January 1, 1911, as secretary and treasurer of the Wood Lumber 
Company. 

While practical business affairs have claimed his attention during 
most of his years siuee boyhood, Mr, Hamilton is also a man of many 
interests, and is exceedingly popular at Lorain. lie is a member and 
director of the board of commerce and in 1915 served as ehairman of the 
industrial committee and is especially active in the Knights of Pythias 
order at Lorain, On October 21, 190.1, he married Miss Elnora McFarlin 
of Barberton, Ohio. Thev have a daughter, ^larian Elizabeth, born 
November 5. 1912. 

A. EiTGENE Taylor is president and treasurer of the Elyria Foundry 
Company and one of Elyria 's most prominent citizens. 

Jlr. Taylor was bom in LaPorte. Carlisle Township, Lorain County, 
Ohio. July 3, 1872. and is a son of William G. and Emma (Ilaring) 
Taylor. His father, a native of Tioga County. New York, removed as 
a young man to LoraJn Count.v. Ohio, and in August, 1S62. enlisted as 
a private in Company H, One Hundred and Third Regiment, Ohio Vol- 
unteer Infantry, for service during the Civil war. After two years and 
ten months of faithful and courageous service, he received his honorable 
discharge and returned to Lorain County, where he engaged in farming 
during the remainder of his life and became a leading and well known 
citizen of his community, serving for many years as constable of Carlisle 
Township. He died at Elyria, February 20. 1910, Mrs. Taylor, who 
survives her husband and makes her home with her son at Elyria, was 
born at Republie, Seneca County, Ohio, a daughter of Doctor Haring, 
one of the pioneer physicians of Lorain County. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor 
were the parents of two sons: A. Eugene; and George L., who died 
June 26, 1912, at the age of thirty-seven years. 



y Google 



592 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

A. Eu^ne Taylor was not granted exceptional advantages as a youth. 
He attended the district schools of LaPorte, but the greater part of his 
training has come in the school of experience. However, he always made 
the most of every opportunity, something that has b^n characteristic 
of him during his entire career. When still a lad he was apprenticed to 
a machinist at Elyria, spending three years in the plant of the old 
Elyria Variety Works. Subsequently he was employed at his trade at 
the Garford Saddle Company, where he remained seven years, and then 
passed two years at Cleveland as an employe of the Cleveland Elevator 
Hucket Company. Returning to Elyria, Mr. Taylor became one of the 
promoters of the Elyria Engine Company, then known as the Elyria Gas 
Engine Company, with which he remained until 1906, In 1905, he 
oi^anized the Elyria Foundry Company, of which he has been presi- 
dent and treasurer ever since, and to the management of which he has 
given his undivided attention since 1906. This concern handles light 
and heavy gray iron and semi-steel castings, making a specialty of 
machine tool castings, and under Mr, Taylor's efficient management is 
doing an excellent business. He is an active and working member of 
the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and enjoys the friendship and con- 
fidence of many of the leading business men of the city. 

Mr. Taylor is a member of King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and is president of the Elyria Automobile Club. 
With his family, he belongs to the First Baptist Church of Elyria. A 
generous and liberal man, of charitable impulses, he was one of the 
leading contributors to the movement for the erection of the building 
of the Young ]>Ien'8 Christian Association, of which he is a member, and 
belongs to the Memorial Hospital Association of Elyria. In national 
politics Jlr, Taylor is a consistent republican, and from the time of his 
first vote his sympathy and support have ever been given to the repub- 
lican party. He believes, however, in a great measure of political inde- 
pendence. 

On June 2, 1897, Mr. Taylor was married at Norwalk, Ohio, to Miss 
Sadie R. Miller, who was born, reared and educated there. To this 
union there have been bom two sons and one daughter: Carl L., who 
is attending the Elyria High School; Russell L., also a student at that 
school; and Lucille F., the baby, who is only two years of age. All 
were bom at Elyria. 

Eow.iRD A, Douglas. After nearly fifteen years of service, marked 
by extreme fidelity and efficiency with one of the largest industrial con- 
cerns of Lorain County, Edward A. Douglas was promoted to one of 
the chief offices in the county government, county recorder, and has 
now HUed that position with credit to himself and to the entire com- 
munity for the past six years. 

A native of Pennsylvania, Edward A. Douglas was bom at Derry, 
Westmoreland County, February 1, 1870. His parents were James A. 
and Lydia A. (Blair) Douglas, both natives of Pennsylvania. His father 
served in the Eleventh Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and also with 
the cavalry and artillery branches of the army, and after the war was 
with the Pennsylvania Railway Company until he met his death in an 
accident in 1872. 

As a boy Edward A. Douglas had the responsibilities of mature life 
early thmst upon him. He attended the common schools, and at the 
age of twelve was sent to the Spldiers & Sailors Orphans Hume and 
School at Uniontown, Pennsylvania. He came out of that institution 
at the ape of sixteen, and had soon learned telegraphy and found his 
first work as an operator, Mr. Douglas has been a resident of Lorain 



bv'^iUU'^lC 



(^^. jXc^^\c^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 593 

County for the past twenty years, having come to Lorain in 1895 and 
joined the Johnson Company, which subsequently became The National 
Tube Company. From one position to another he was promoted from 
time to time, aifd was chief clerk of the steel department when be re- 
signed on July 31, 1909. Evidence of his popularity with the working- 
men of the concern is found in a handsome gold watch, which Mr. 
Douglas constantly carries and cherishes, and which was given him by 
the mill men on his retirement from the company. The company also 
showed its regard and appreciation for services by giving him a month's 
leave of absence at full pay at the close of his relations with the concern. 
Mr. Douglas has been a factor in republican politics in Lorain 
County for a number of years. He was nominated and in November, 
1908, elected county recorder, and has since been reelected at the close 
of each two years. He is an active member of the chamber of commerce, 
is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, the Knights of Pythias, the 
Elks, the Loyal Order of Moose and the Sons of Veterans, He is past 
exalted ruler of the Elks and past president of the Eagles, and on Decem- 
ber 3, 1915, was appointed deputy grand president under "William L, 
Gravson, grand worthy president, I*>atemal Order of Eagles, of the 
United States, On October 18. 1898, Mr. Douglas married Miss Eliza- 
beth Grace Boyden, daughter of Henry T, Boyden of Elyria, 

Rev, John T. SchapfeU), By reason of his effective service as pastor 
for more than thirty years the memory of the late Father Schaffeld 
deserves to be lastingly cherished among his people in St, Mary's Parish 
at Elyria. In many ways he made that church strong and flourishing, 
increasing its membership more than sixfold, and upbuilding its institu- 
tions and varied philanthropies and benevolences in proportion. 

John T. Schaffeld, though a thorough American in spirit and spend- 
ing most of his life in this country, was bom in Germany, at laselbeitf, 
October 16, 1837. "When he was ten years of age his parents brought 
him to America and settled in Baltimore, Maryland, where he continued 
his education in a college conducted by the Kedemptorist Fathers, In 
1863 the family removed to Cleveland, where Father Schaffeld entered 
old St. John's College and took his divinity course in St. Mary's Semi- 
Ti&ry. His ordination occurred July 17, 1870, and his first appointment 
as pastor was at St. Patrick's in Hubbard. He served not only that 
church but nearby communities, both parishes and missions. Father 
Schaffeld was not only a spiritual leader but an unusually capable 
executive and organizer. He enlarged the church at Hubbard, built 
school and parochial residence, and also erected St. Joseph's Church at 
Vienna. 

He came to St. Mary's Parish, Elyria, at the time that Father Molon 
became stricken with paralysis and continued in the pastorate of the 
parish and after the death of Father Molon Father Schaffeld succeeded 
him as pastor of St. Mary's Church in Elyria, on May 13, 1880. At that 
time the congregation numbered about 400 souls, and in the next thirty 
years the membership increased to more than 2,500, and the prosperity 
of the church increased even more rapidly than the growth of the city. 
The varied institutions of St, Mary's Parish were lai^ly a material 
monument to the fruitful labors of Father Schaffeld. He left the parish 
with a beautiful church edifice, substantial school building, modem 
parochial residence, and a large home for the Sisters of Notre Dame. 

Members of the parish and citizens at large recall the simple dignity 
and happy associations connected with the celebration in July, 1910, of 
Father Schaffeld 's fortieth anniversary in the priesthood. Many tril>- 
ntes were paid to the worthy priest at this jubilee and it was a fitting 



y Google 



594 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

climax to a life of sei-viee that had continued uninterruptedly for four 
decades. Among his congregation he was esteemed for his zeal, his 
kindiioss, and his fatherly Interest iu every member of his flock. While 
most of his work was done within St. Mary's Parish, he also during his 
pastorate constructed the Chapel of the Sacred Heart at 01>erlin. 

Early on the morning of June 7, 1911, the tolling of the bell of St 
Mary's announced the passing of this devoted priest, who had ministered 
to the congregation gathered within its walls for more than thirty years. 
Father Schaifcld was survived by three sisters : Jlrs. John Sehnitzler 
and Airs. T. Kasinsky of Lorain, and Sister Mary Louise, in a convent 
at New Orleans. He also left a brother, of San Francisco, California, and 
three nephews: Rev. John SehafCeld of St. Michael's Church in Cleve- 
land, and Rev. Joseph Sehaffeld and Rev. John Kasinsky. The high 
position Father Schaffeld had earned in his work was shown in the honors 
paid him at his funeral in St. Mary's. Bishop Farrelly of Cleveland, 
was present at the service, and many priests attended from surrounding 
parishes, besides a host of those whom he had so loyally and unselfishly 
served in Elyria, 

George A. Mosher, superintendent of the Children's Home of Lorain 
County, is a native of Ashtabula County, Ohio, where he was bom 
January 19, 1851. 

His parents were William H. and Margaret E. (Thayer) Mosher. 
His father was bom in Troy, New York, January IS, 1821, and died 
December 8, 1853. The mother was born August 28, 1833, and died in 
February, 1914. William 11. Mosher saw active service in the war with 
Mexico and contracted disease in that war which brought his life to a 
close when only thirty-three years of age. He was married at Lenox, 
Ohio, on December 24, 1849, to Miss Thayer, and of their union were bom 
two children, George A. and Charles H., the latter a resident of Richmond, 
Virginia. William H. Mosher was a harness maker by trade, and in bis 
brief life had been an extensive traveler, having gone practically around 
the world. He was a member of the Congregational Church. William 
H. Mosher was a son of Alfred Mosher, who was born in Vermont, and 
settled in Ohio during the '30s, where he became a farmer and merchant, 
and died in Ashtabula County. Oeot^e A. Mosher's maternal grand- 
father was Calvin Thayer, a carpenter by trade, who died in Cleveland, 
Ohio. George A. Mosher is a member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution hy virtue of tlie fact that his great-grandfather, Anthony 
Morse, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 

George A. Mosher acquired his early education in the public schools 
of Syracuse, New York. For forty-two years he was a clerk and other- 
wise identified with the book business and spent all that time in Syracuse, 
New York. He returned to Ohio in 1900, locating at Oberlin in that 
year, but for five years was connected with the Borrows Bros, store 
in Cleveland. 

In 1905 Mr. Mosher was made superintendent of the Lorain County 
Children's Home, and has filled that office for the past ten years. No 
better selection could have been made for this delicate and important 
responsibility, since he has been all but a father in fact to the children 
under his charge. In the Home proper he now has forty-three young 
people, and has fifty children outside under his direct supervision. For 
ten years he has been superintendent of the Home ; 500 children have 
been at different times under his care and superintendence. 

On September 17. 1874, Mr. Mosher married Laura Coleman. Her 
father, Christopher C. Coleman, lived at Seneca Falls, New York, was 
a harness maker by trade, and also owned a plantation in Virginia, from 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 595 

which he was driven when the Civil war broke out. ilr. and Mra. 
Mosher are the parents of eight children: Alfred R., who graduated 
from Oberlin College ia 1898 and lives on a plantation in Texas ; William 
E,, referred to on other pages; Clifford C, who was a soldier iu the 
Spanish-American war and is now superintendent and miinagcr of the 
East Machine Co. of Lima, Ohio; Bessie B., who is private secretary in a 
wholesale chair company at Chicago; Margaret Eleanor, who graduated 
from Oberlin College in 1906 and is now the wife of Charles A. Capron, 
an attorney of Upper Monfclair, Kew Jersey; Charles A., who is now 
representing the Goodrich Rubber Company of Akron, Ohio, at Aber- 
deen, South Dakota ; Gladys Elizabeth, who completed a domestic science 
course in Rochester, New York, and now teaches at Morenci, Arizona; 
Marion, who ia in the Conservatory of Music at Oberlin. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mosher are members of the Second Congregational 
Church and in polities he is a progressive republican, and is affiliated 
with the Independent Order of Foresters. 

William Eugene Mosiier for the past ten years has filled the chair 
of German Language and Literature at Oberlin College. Professor 
Mosher Js an American born, and is a son of George A. Mosher, one of 
the best known citizens of Lorain County, where for a number of years 
he has been superintendent of the Children's Home. 

Born in Syracuse, New York, November 26, 1877. William Eugene 
Mosher was graduated from the high school of that city in 1893. He 
took one year of preparatory training at Oberlin and was graduated 
from Oberlin College in 1899, For three years he was an instructor 
in the academy, and followed that with two years o£ study abroad in the 
universities at Berlin and Halle. He was given the degree Ph. D at 
Halle in 1904. Returning to the United States, he became Associate Pro- 
fessor of German Language in Oberlin College, but after a year again 
went abroad and continued his studies in Berlin. 

On his return to Oberlin he was given the chair of German Lan- 
guage and Literature in the college and has since devoted his entire 
time to his professional duties. Besides the time spent abroad in study 
he has traveled extensively during the vacations of his college work. 
Mr. Mosher is author of three .books. One of these is a German text 
book, which has been adopted and which has had an extensive sale, known 
as "Lern- und Lesebuch." "Wilkommen in Deutschland" is a second 
year text book. He is also author of "The Promise of the Christ Age 
in Recent Literature." , 

In June, 1905, Professor Mosher married Laura M. Camp of Akron, 
Ohio. Their four children are: Horace Camp, aged eight; William E., 
Jr., aged sis ; Richard Thayer, aged four ; and Frederick, aged two. 
The family reside in a beautiful home on Forest Street, one of the most 
attractive places in Oberlin Village, This house was built under the 
direct supervision of Mr. Mosher. He is a member of the First Congre- 
gational Church and in politics is independent. 

Ch.\bles R. Summers. For at least seventeen years Charles R. 
Summers has been enrolled among the lawyers of Xorthern Ohio, and 
since 1904 has been well established in practice at Oberlin. He is 
known as an industrious and careful attorney, a man who gives all 
his energies to his profession, and has attained a position of commendable 
success. His character is further illustrated by the fact that he paid 
his way through school for his higher education, and completed the 
regular three years law course in two years. 

Though the greater part of his life has been spent in Northern Ohio, 
Charles R. Summers was born in Polk City, Iowa, July 31, 1875, a son 



y Google 



596 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

of Rolaud M. and Anna (Strawn) Summers. His paternal grandfather 
was Horace Summers, who was of West Pennsylvania ancestry, and he 
himself was a carpenter by trade and in the early days moved to Indiana. 
The maternal grandfather was Charles W. Strawn, a native of Ohio 
and a farmer. Roland M. Summers was born in Indiana in 1851 and 
his wife was born in Ohio in the same year. They are now living at 
Elyria, Ohio, which has been their home since 1897. After their marriage 
in Ohio they drove across the country to Iowa, and the father bought land 
in that state and worked it as a farmer for ten or eleven years. He 
then moved to Norwalk, Ohio, and -for a number of years was traveling 
salesman for the Chase Piano Company. Retiring from the road in 
1897, he established a retail piano business in Elyria and has since 
developed a large trade all over Lorain County. He is an active repub- 
lican, member of the Elyria Lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and his wife belongs to the Christian Church. There 
were four children, and the three now living are : Myrtle, wife of 
William H. Wildman, who is a manufacturer of flavoring extracts and 
spices at \orwalk ; Horace W., who is associated with his father in the 
music store at Elyria; and Charles R. 

Charles R. Summers acquired most of his early education in the 
Norwalk public schools. He was a student in Oberlin Collie for two 
years and then entered the law department of Baldwin University at 
Cleveland, where, after making the three years course in two years, he 
graduated LL. B. in 1899. Mr. Summers practiced four years at Norwalk 
before coming to Lorain County, and then for one year was editor and 
manager of the Elyria Chronicle. After this brief experience in the 
newspaper business he came to Oberlin and has since been looking after 
his law practice. He has served as justice of the peace since January, 
1907, and is also teacher of commercial law in the Oberlin Business 
College. 

In 1904 Mr. Summers married Miss Nettie J. Smith, daughter of Wil- 
liam M. Smith. Her father is a real estate and insurance man at Elyria, 
They are the parents of four children : Thelma May, in school ; Roland M., 
also in school; and Stella Anna and Elsie Frances. The family are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and Mr. Summers takes 
much interest in fraternal matters, particularly in the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He has passed all the chairs, is past district deputy in 
that order, and is a retired captain of the Independent Order Odd Fel- 
lows of Canton. In politics he is a republican. 

Mies Elcie JI. Johnston. Not so many years a^ it was considered 
the proper attitude to assume that women had, as a sex, not been gen- 
erously endowed with what is termed, a "business" sense. Idealists 
were ready to acknowledge their many other admirable qualities, their 
beauty, grace and charm, their helpful sympathy and their natural 
virtues, but neither they nor the whole body of mankind eould believe 
that behind all these qualities and attributes, existed the talent, and the 
good, hard, practical commonsense that, in more recent days, has been 
shown in womanly achievement. No better nor more convincing ex- 
ample may be cited than that afforded by the success which has been 
won by Miss Eleie M. Johnston, the president, owner and director of 
the Elyria Business College, at Elyria, Ohio. The original undertaking 
was one of magnitude, requiring courage, diplomacy and foresight, and 
with the keenest of business intelligence she has conducted the enter- 
prise to its present prosperous condition. 

Miss Johnston was born near Detroit, Michigan. That she was fin 
unusually apt pupil in the public schools may be inferred because of 
her early completion of the course, being creditably graduated when 

Diyi.Bohv'^iULJ^ie 



C. /7f ,^>i^ru,-^^t^^^^^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 597 

only sixteen years of age. In making: plans for her future. Miss John- 
ston considered one useful career after another, hesitating for a time 
between that of a trained nurse and a teacher. Finally, deciding to 
hecome an educator, she accepted, shortly afterward, a position in the 
county schools. She proved entirely acceptable to the school board, but 
her observation soon inclined her to the belief that commercial teaching 
offered better opportunities for advancement, and, being frankly am- 
bitious, in the following year she entered a commercial college and com- 
pleted the business course and afterward became a teacher in the college 
from which she was graduated. 

After ex[>erience as a commercial teacher, Kfiss Johnston realized 
that a course in business experience would be one of the most helpful 
assistants in the line of work to which she had committed herself, there- 
fore she accepted an office position in which she rendered service as a 
stenographer for two and one-half years for one of the largest manu- 
facturing firms in the state. During this time not only her days but 
her evenings were busy for she taught night classes in the Y. M, C. A. 
and in a business college, additionally having private pupils. After 
resigning the above mentioned office position, she still further advanced 
her own education, taking a special teacher's course in the Gem City 
Business College, which school has probably the largest annual attend- 
ance of any business college in the world. Upon the completion of 
this special course of study, Miss Johnston was offered a responsible 
position as private secretary to the manager of a large electrical cor- 
poration. She continued with that corporation for two years, when, 
through the death of the president of the company the Boston and New 
York offices were consolidated and Miss Johnston returned to her native 
city. During this business connection she had learned much concerning 
the methods of conducting a large business enterprise and had in- 
evitably, because of her natural quickness of mind, added lai^ly to her 
general knowledge. 

Upon her return to Detroit, Miss Johnston accepted a position which 
gave her charge of the Actufd Business Section of the Shorthand de- 
partment in the largest business college in the city, and her previous 
business and teaching experience made her services very valuable. From 
this college she subsequently went to a still more responsible positi<m, 
becoming teacher, storekeeper and private secretary to the superintend- 
ent of the state industrial school. While the arduous duties and close 
confinement of this position somewhat impaired her health and caused 
her subsequently to resign, she has always felt that the experience was a 
very valuable one because of the opportunity it gave her of studying 
human nature, as every nationality and type came under her person^ 
observation. Later she was identified with a company manufacturing 
special machinery for all purposes, and here, again, her time was not 
lost, for, possessing a natural interest in the wonderful devices that go 
under the name of machinery, she studied machines at first hand. In 
later years many of her graduate students have expressed their grati- 
tude on account of the unusual information she has been competent to 
give on many other than that pertaining to business methods and 
acquirements. 

For many years prior to 1901, when Miss Johnston came to Elyria, 
she had cherished the hope of eventually owning her own school. This 
ambition she satisfied when she became the owner of the Elyria Business 
College, which was incorporated in 1900 and of which Miss Johnston is 
president. This institution stands for all that is most helpful and pro- 
gressive in this line of endeavor. While she has been marvelously suc- 
cessful, she has met with some serious discourf^ments, one of tbes^ 
being a confiagratiou in which the Elyria Block was burned, in which 



y Google 



598 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

the entire equipment belonging to the college was destroyed. Informing 
and iuterestitig is the following quotation from a letter to Miss John- 
ston, from Albert R. Oreen, secretary of the Elyria Chamber of Com- 
merue about tliis time. 

"It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, to 
commend your college and its management for their energy as mani- " 
fested by the manner in which your college was rehabilitated after the 
total loss you sustained by the recent destruction of the Elyria Block 
by fire. To have secured new quarters and refitted them witli even 
temporary facilities in such a short time (one day) and to have restored 
the classes to their usual studies under such trying circumstances, speaks 
volumes for the efficiency of your college and can not help but energize 
the working spirit of your recruits into the ranks of business." Aa 
indicated, iliss Johnston found a new location before the lire was 
extinguished, picnic tables, pine boards and boxes, with new typewriters 
making up the equipment. These rooms being inadequate were occupied 
by The Elyria Business College but two months when the classes moved 
to the present building which had been purchased, remodeled and 
enlarged immediately after the tire. The new college building is situated 
on Second Street, Elyria, and is unique in that it is the only private 
school in Ohio housed in a building belonging to the school owner, unoccu- 
pied by other tenants and the only business college and building in the 
United Slates owned and managed by a woman. Miss Johnston is well 
known among private school owners as the one woman in the prof<.»ssion 
who owns and manages her own building and also a fully accredited busi- 
ness school, this college being a member of the National Accredited 
Schools Association. 

On many occasions Miss Johnston has been signally honoi-ed. As a 
member of the National Commercial Teachers Federation, admiration, 
confidence and esteem was shown her by election to office, serving three 
successive years as a member of the executive committee; as vice presi- 
dent of the School Managers' Section, and at the convention of the fed- 
eration held at the Sherman Hotel, in Chicago, in December, 1914, she 
was not only reelected a member of the executive committee from the 
Alanagers ' Section, but was elected also second vice president of the entire 
association, and during the convention held in Chicago during Christmas 
week, 1915, was elected first vice president. As the federation is composed 
of the best schools in the United States and as more than 700 meml>ers 
were present, this distinction was creditable to Elyria and a recognition of 
the standards maintained by Miss Johnston in her college. An exceed- 
ingly interesting feature of the above convention was the fine address 
made by Mis.s Johnston, who took for her subject. "The "Woman in Busi- 
ness." The 1914 convention was reported as being the most successful 
in the history of the association in that recognition was secured from the 
Educational Bureau at Washington and a committee appointed to secure 
an appropriation for the establishment of a Bureau of Commercial' Edu- 
cation. 

It would be unjust to close this too brief sketch of this able woman's 
eucces.s in business, without giving a glimpse of the womanly side of her 
character in which she is seen to pos.sess all the admirable attributes of 
her sex. In each student who comes under her care, she sees a potential 
future and, with perceptions quickened by experience, she is able to 
judge of capacity. eami?stness and probable success along one or another 
line of study. Her helpfulness, her interest and sympathy have been 
appreciated and by the yearly increasing body of successful graduates 
of her school, she is universall.v held in high esteem. While she has 
become a factor to be counted on in the business world, she is still 



by'^lUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 539 

feminine to the core when it comes to family affection, womanly sym- 
pathy and so<rial service. 

The Elyria Business College, With the motto, "Trains for Sue- 
cess." this institution offers encouragement at the outset very welcome 
to the ordinarj- student as he enrolls his name on a roster which shows 
that this claim is not an idle one but has meant prosperity and content- 
ment to many before him. The flrat school in Northern Ohio to teach 
stenotypy (machine shorthand), it is ernially progressive in other de- 
partments and thorough in every one. 

Tlie Elyria Business College is located at Elyria, Ohio, a city with 
beautiful and healthful surroundings and with an intelligent and edu- 
cated citizenship that insures peace and order and civic and cultural 
advantages. It has large industrial plants, well managed business houses 
in which the graduates readily secure employment, and many fine resi- 
dences and hospitable homes, a public library and an advanced public 
school system, churches of all denominations and a wholesome social life, 
so that students who come from all parts of the United States, to this 
Ohio city to enter the Elyria Business College find not only a complete 
school with highly trained experienced business men and women as 
teachers, but a most desirable place of residence. 

This eoll^e, which is a eommodious two-story pressed brick building, 
beautifully finished and decorated, is situated on Second Street. It is 
equipped with everything that modern art has provided or educational 
science has evolved for the instructiojj and convenience of students in 
every one of its manj- departments, including penmanship, bookkeeping, 
stenotypy, shorthand and typewriting, each department covering every 
detail, manner and method accepted by the business world. 

The Elyria Business Collie was established in 1896 and was incor- 
porated in 1!)00. In 1901 it was purchased by its present able president, 
Jliss Elcie M. Johnston, whose previous business training and experi- 
ence admirably qualified her for the responsible duties she assumed. 
She entered upon these with enthusiasm and no one questions her unusual 
capacity. For fifteen years- she has directed the affairs of the college 
with wisdom and efficiency and has the satisfaction of knowing that she 
has establishe<l its standing on a stable foundation. Not only may the 
graduates of this institution be fonnd occupying important positions at 
Elyria, hut all over the United States are efficient, thoroughly equipped 
young men and women who owe their prosperity to the training received 
in this college and sound the praises of their alma mater together with 
their expressions of sincere regard I'or Miss Johnston, and her corps of 
efficient teachers, whose help and encouragement they feel to have been 
of inestimable value. 

The aim of Ibis college as announced in its handsomely bound fif- 
teenth annual catalog is : to prepare men and women for the work which 
the business man wants done; to train all students to become efficient in 
the shortest possible time consistent with good work ; by environment to 
create a desire for moral living and high ideals in business: and to assist 
all students, at all times, old graduates as well as beginners, in securing 
better positions and better opportunities for advancement. Once a 
student, personal interest is never discontinued. There is little show 
(ir assnmplion about this school for it does precisely what it offers to do, 
each stndi'nt standing in the same relation to president and teacher and 
each one required to live up to the e.stablished standard. Advice is 
given students when they desire it as to what branch of study would 
enable them to excel, but there is no compulsion, every pupil being per- 
mitted to make his own choice and individual instruction being given 



^^^1 



^A 



600 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

him. Social features are offered the students for their entertainment, 
and the college provides a reading room with musical instruments, a 
well selected library, current magazines and daily and weekly papers. 

The Elyria Business College is the only school in this part of Ohio 
employing a teacher whose entire time is devoted to teaching touch 
typewriting and correct office forms. The college supplies all the lead- 
ing makes of machines, including the Wahl Adding Maehine, filing de- 
vices and card systems, in the use of wMcli the student is carefully 
instructed, and tliat excellent work is done by the graduates is shown 
by the important positions they are holding in the business worid. Spe- 
cial attention is given t» training teachers for business colleges and the 
commercial department of high schools. The diploma from this school 
has been accepted, without further examination, by schools in Illinois, 
Iowa, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Ohio. 

Always alert to any advance in business methods, the college showed 
its pr(^essive spirit by being the first school in Northern Ohio to install 
the stenotype, the fastest writing machine in tbe world as a part of the 
equipment in the shorthand department. A number of young students 
who had mastered its mechanism, at a shorthand contest held in Cleve- 
land on October 22, 191'i, Eistonished all who attended by their speed 
records. The Elyria Business College is justly proud of the achieve- 
ments of several of these students, William Henke, whose remarkable 
record was a net speed of 138 words a minute, carrying away state 
honors, and Edward Feroa, who won second place with a net speed of 
121 words a minute. 

The Graham System of Shorthand is also taught in the shorthand 
department, and the fact that every graduate from this department is 
employed should convince all who are interested that it pays to attend 
a school where the teachers have had actual office experience. This de- 
partment is under the direct supervision of Miss Johnston, who by 
writing and teaching shorthand, has become thoroughly familiar with 
the demands of business men wlio want first-class stenographers. This 
department is also equipped with every modem device, including a com- 
plete multigraph outfit, upon which instructions are given and most of 
the school literature is printed. This part of the woit includes actual 
office practice, where outside work is taken and prepared by the students 
who are about ready for positions. This not only gives the student 
experience in doing real work before he leaves school, but it enables 
many of the students to earn considerable sums with which t« pay their 
expenses while in school. 

In the bookkeeping department, is tau^t the famous Rowe Book- 
keeping and Accountancy, which system is approved by leading ac- 
countants through the United States, and includes a course in banking, 
according to the lines prescribed by the American National Bankets 
Association. The Burroughs Adding Maehine and other office devices 
used in the large business offices are found in this department and the 
student is given thorough instruction not only in bookkeeping, but in 
arithmetic, penmanship, commercial law, business English, banking, and 
all forms of actual office practice. 

The Accredited Schools Association, of which the Elyria Business 
College is a member, is a national body of high standing among edu- 
cators. President Johnston was elected second vice president of the 
National Commercial Teachers Federation in 1914 and first vice president 
at the annual convention held in Chicago in 1915, and is one of the best 
known commercial educators in the country. The high standard she has 
ever maintained and the wisdom and good judgment with which she has 
managed her business have brought her universal respect and have 



zedtavGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 601 

proved valuable assets for her enterprise. She occupies a somewhat 
unique position in that she owns the only private school in Ohio housed 
in the owner's building unoccupied by other tenants and additionally 
is the only woman in the United States who owns and manages a business 
college. 

It is the proud boast of the faculty of the Etyria Business College 
that every graduate is employed, and one of its slt^ans is, "A position 
the day you complete the course," 

Thomas Henry Artbess. Among the men who have been most 
closely identified with the business life of the City of Lorain during 
the last thirty or forty years a place of special prominence belongs to 
Thomas H. Artress, who now has many active relations with business 
affairs and has held a number of civic responsibilities. The success of 
his career is accentuated by the fact that as a boy he endured many 
privations, and depended upon hard work and honest efficiency to win 
him a place in the world. 

A native of England, he was bom in Gloucestershire, April 21, 1859, 
a son of William and Mary Artress. In 1868, when he was nine years 
of age, the family emigrated to the United States and located on a farm 
HI Lorain County, where the parents spent the rest of theft- days. 

It was a limited education that was assigned to Thomas Henry 
Artress as a preparation for life. When only thirteen years of age he 
was regularly employed at farm labor, and four years later began an 
apprentieeship at the blacksmith's trade. Having completed this appren. 
ticeship at the age of twenty, he set up a shop in the little town of 
Grafton, and from there in 1880 moved to Lorain, where he was a 
workman in the shops of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad and also in 
the Brass Works. Thus by means of a mechanical trade Mr. Artress 
laid the foundation for his present substantial means and influence. 

In 1893 he engaged in the hardware business at Lorain, and made 
that the object of his principal endeavors for ten years. At the same 
time his investments had been more widely directed. In 1912 he built 
at 2147 Broadway a large concrete block garage and automobile sales 
bam, 30 by 75 feet in dimensions. He is the owner of this garage, and 
acts as agept for the Paige car. He is also a director of the Wood 
Lumber Company and a director of the Central Bank of Lorain. He 
has a number of other interests in real estate and business affairs. 

In a public way he has been closely identified with the life of Lorain 
tor the past quarter of a century. For three years he was on the 
board of trustees for public works in Lorain and in 1903 was appointed 
trustee of Black River Township and held that office for a number of 
years by election. Fraternally he is identified with the Masonic order 
in the lodge and council and Royal Arch Chapter, and is also a Knight 
of Pythias. He is a member of the Lorain Board of Commerce and 
also has membership in the Elks Club. He married Miss Ida Ackley, 
who was bom at Grafton, Lorain County, daughter of Henry and Mary 
Ackley, 

Rev. Chauncet N. Pond. Among the citizens of Oberlin whose 
activities have lent additional dignity to that college town and whose 
careers may well be represented in this publication is Rev. Mr. Pond, a 
retired minister, member of a prominent family and a man whose life 
has done much to enrich the influence of the church and many charitable 
organizations. 

He was bom at Medina, Ohio, October 23, 1841, a son of Henry N. 
and Mary (Castle) Pond. His grandfather was Isaac J. Pond, a native 



y Google 



602 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

of Connecticut, where he was married and not long afterward settled in 
Medina County, Ohio. The maternal grandfather, Samuel L. Castle, 
was a music teacher and composer and was a prominent factor in church 
singing circles in tlie early days. Henry N. Pond was born in Medina, 
Ohio, in 1819, and died in 1846, at. the age of twenty-eight. He was a 
prosperous farmer, having bought the interests of the other heirs in the 
old farm, and his death was the result of an accident from a falling tree. 
He was a member of the Congregational Church, and a whig in polities. 
His wife. Miss Castle, was born near Cazenovia, New York, in 1821, and 
died in January, 1906. They were married in Medina County in 1840. 
Rev. Mr. Pond was the oldest of their three children. His brother, 
Chester Pond, served with the rank of colonel in the Union army during 
the Civil war. but for the most part was employed as a Government teleg- 
rapher. After the war he located in the South, started a liirge plantation, 
a school and other activities which made up the Town of Moorhead. Mis- 
sissippi. For a number of years he served as a trustee of Oberlin Col- 
lege, and gave about twenty thousand dollars worth of property to that 
institution. His death occurred in 1912. He was also distinguished as 
the inventor of the self-winding electric clock. After the death of her 
first husband Mrs. Mary Pond married Caleb A. Bowen, and the one son 
of that marriage, William A. Bowen, lived at Honolulu for a number 
of years and was a generous giver to the college and other public insti- 
tutions. Mrs. Bowen married for her third husband Uriah Thompson, 
who also served as a trustee of Olierlin College nearly forty years. 

Chauncey N. Pond spent his early life in Medina, and was graduated 
from Oherlin College in 1864. He graduated from the Theological 
Seminary in 1868. He did his first work as a preacher in 1864, was 
licensed to preach in April, 1865. and was regularly ordained in October, 
1866. His first work as a minister was done in the country districts in 
Medina County, in the same church which he had .ioined when twelve 
years nf age. Xot long ago he celebrated his sixtieth anniversary as a 
communicant of the church. For upwards of a half a century Rev. Mr. 
Pond kept up the active work of the ministry and filled many pulpits 
until two years ago. For several years now he has employed his time 
chiefly in organizing Sunday schools. He is also seeretar>- for the 
State of Ohio of the extension work carried on hy the orgauizsd charities. 
and has for fifteen years heen identified with this work. It is said that 
no one in Ohio has done more for organized charitv and Christian service 
than Rev. Mr. Pond. 

On August 24. 1864, he married Harriet Permelia Pcrkii's. Slie was 
liorn August 3. 1837. and they have lived together in the nuiet harmony 
of spirit and work for more than half a centur\-. To their union were 
born three children. Jennie Evelvn, who died in 1896. married E. R. 
Atwater. hy whom she had four children. Mr. Atwater married a second 
wife, and the entire family were murdered during the Boxer rebellion in 
China in 1900. Mr, Atwater having heen a Chinese missionary. The son 
Henry T. died when three years of age. Percv M. has for a number of 
years been a very suceessful business man in the Hawaiian Islands and 
for a number of vears furnished high grade milk to the f'itv of Honolulu, 
his dairy herd and outfit hut recently sold for *.'i2.rjOO. IT.^ hps also 
developed some large land interests in those islands. 

Rev. Mr, Pond, while by the very nature of his calling he has never 
acquired or aspired to great wealth, has heen sufficiently prospered. He 
started life with only $380 as capital, and in spite of his own generosity 
in giving to church and charity, has managed to aci|uire a competence 
out of his long service for the church and other employment. He owns 
a beautiful home in Oberlin ard has two others residential properties. 



b.i^iuOglc 



vGoogle 



"^^^ ^^,AyA<^<^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



■ HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 603 

In politics he is a republican, and for many years has been quite active 
in affairs and has written many articles during campaigns. For a 
number of years he served in the office of school examiner in Medina 
County. 

Gkorge E. Crisp. The record of a sterling citizen, a soldier, business 
man, public iidniinistrator, and one who played all the varied parts in 
his life worthily and faithfully, came to a close in the death of Geot^ 
E. Crisp at Amherst, Lorain County, Ohio, July 27, 1912. He had been 
a resident of Loraiu County nearly all of the sixty-eight years of his 
life. Probably the work for which he moat deserved the gratitude of his 
fellow citizens was his long service in eonneetion with the Elyria Water 
Works. Upon him devolved the responsibility of superintending the 
construction of that magnificent plant by which the city is now supplied 
with pure water from Lake Erie. Perhaps the characteristic by which 
be was best known among his fellow men was his quiet efficiency, and 
wherever the path of duty led him, in war or in peace, in business or in 
public office, at home or in those varied relations which esist between 
man and man, he was guided by a firm sense of responsibility and 
proved himself faithful in all those manifold small duties which make 
up the sum of a life's achievement. 

A native of England, he was born in the City of Northampton, May 
25, 1844, being one of seven children. His brother William died in 
Elyria only a short time before the death of George E. Crisp, and the 
latter was survived by his sister, Mrs. William Henson of Elyria, and 
his brother, J, A. Crisp of Jefferson. A short time after his birth, his 
parents considering well their own circumstances and the needs of their 
rising family, set out from England to get the better opportunities of 
America. They engaged passage on a ve.s.sel, but their mother, on com- 
ing to the docks, refused to embark, considering that the ship was un- 
seaworthy, and her judgment was well founded since the boat was never 
heard of after it left England. The following day the little family 
went on board another vessel, whicli was buffeted by adverse winds so 
that the voyage required nearly twice the usual time for making such a 
trip. They finally landed at New York three months after leaving 
England. From New York City they came to Ijoraiii County, settling in 
Avon Township, where the father engaged in farming. Six years later 
he died of typiioid fever, leaving his widow to face the world alone with 
her young children. She succeeded in keeping her family together and 
reared them to lives of usefulness and high ideals. 

From these circumstances it can be understood that the early life 
of George E. Crisp was one of considerable hardship. He worked as 
soon as his young strength permitted and gained his »^duea,tion by some- 
what irregular attendance at the country schools. At the age of seven- 
teen he moved to Elyria and became an apprentice in the firm of John 
ToplifF, and after completing his term was given credentials as an effi- 
cient blacksmith. He subsequently had to leave that line of work since 
it affected his eyesight. 

During the Civil war Mr. Crisp enlisted May 2, 1864, in Company K 
of the One Hundred and Thirty-fifth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and con- 
tinued in service with his regiment until mustered out with the rank of 
corporal at Camp Chase, Columbus, September 1, 1864. He was with, 
his regiment in the engagements at Bolivar, Marye Heights, Harpers 
PeiTy and under General Sigel against General Early on July 4-7, 1864 ; 
was one of those who chai^d the enemy at John Brown 'a Schoolhouse ; 
was in the skirmishes at Opequan Creek Bridge, at Harpers Ferry and 
Mar^'e Heights, and was engaged in guarding the Baltimore & Ohio 



,Google 



604 HISTORY OF LOBAIN COUNTY 

nailroad. While on the latter duty a portion of his regiment waa sur- 
rounded at North Mountain and 250 men were captured, half of whom 
subsequently died in Confederate prisons Mr. Crisp waa with hia com- 
pany every day during the term of service, which, thoTi^h brief, was 
characterized by that fidelity which was a mark of his every undertaking 
in public life. 

In May, 1868, at Montezuma, Iowa, Mr. Crisp married Miss Mary L. 
Wyman and three months later they returned to Elyria, and thereafter 
that city was continuously his home until his death. From this nnion 
four children were bom : Albert B., Harry E., Herbert G., and Ernest J, 

After his marriage and permanent settlement at Elyria, Mr. Crisp 
engaged in the wholesale notion business. He dealt with mercliants in 
the territory south and east of Cleveland and his route even extended 
into Western Pennsylvania. He called on his trade, carrying his stock 
with him in a lai^ wagon, known as a "Peddling Wagon," He kept 
up the stock in the wagon by having goods shipped to him, in advance, 
along the route. He was then known as a "Yankee Notion Peddler" 
but soon this method became too slow, the wagon was discarded, and 
Belling was done entirely by samples carried in a case. Thus 5Ir. Crisp 
was one of the pioneer traveling salesmen of this section. This business 
gave him a wide acquaintance and then as always he relied upon those 
solid, old time-tried commercial rules which have ever been the founda- 
tion of true success, and thus he developed an important jobbing busi- 
ness for himself, and continued traveling in its interest until 1899. 

In the latter year Mr. Crisp succeeded Mr. D. M. Clark as superin- 
tendent of the Elyria Qas & Water Company, the plant being then 
owned by the Berry Brothers of Detroit. For fourteen years he filled 
that position, and during the last four years was in the employ of the 
city. 

An indication of his thorough public spirit is found in the fact that, 
while in the employ of private interests, he was one of the strong advo- 
cates of the city-owned plant, and was always a firm believer in mu- 
nicipally owned public utilities. During the construction of the lake 
water system, he waa superintendent and gave constant and careful 
Bupervision to the work which has made Elyria 's waterworks one of the 
best in the country. Those who are most familiar with his work in that 
position realize that every user and patron of the local water system is a 
debtor to the man who exercised such vigilance during the constructive 
period of that important utility. On retiring from the office of superin- 
tendent of the waterworks in 1904, Mr. Crisp gave his time to the inter- 
ests of the Crisp Paper Company, the jobbing business developed by 
him prior to 1889 and was its business representative until his death. 

The late Mr. Crisp was held in high regard for his excellent judg- 
ment and the studious care which he gave to every duty, and these 
qualities, combined with his absolute integrity, cnaHed him to render 
important service to his community. He served four years as a member 
of the city council and two years on the board of public service, and was 
also for sixteen years a member of the board of education, being chair- 
man of its bmlding committee. Through his efforts the extensive grounds 
of the Fifteenth Street and Jefferson Street buildings were purchased. 
Aside from his business and public duties, Mr. Crisp wa^ devoted to his 
(^urch and home. He joined the Methodist Episcopal Church at Elyria 
in 1874, and from 1882 until his death, gave faithful service as one of 
its trustees. He was also a member of Richard Allen Post, G. A. R., 
which had charge of a part of the funeral services following his death. 
Mr. Crisp was survived by his wife and two sons, Albert B., and Ernest 
J. Crisp, his sons Herbert G. and Harry E. Crisp, having died in 1910. 



r,»^iUUyiC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 605 

Ern£St J. Crisp, C. E. Until Mr. Crisp took the active manage- 
ment and presidency of the Peerless Laundry and Dry Cleaning Com- 
pany at Elyria, he was a rect^nized authority as a civil engineer in the 
construction of waterworks plants, sewerage systems and sewage dis- 
posal plants in many localities of Ohio and adjoining states. His first 
important work in the profession was as engineer in charge during the 
coiMtruction of the splendid system by which the City of Elyria draws 
its water supply from Lake Erie. 

Bom at Elyria, Ohio, December 18, 1877, his home has been in that 
city ever since, except from 1904 to 1910, during which time he made 
his home in Canton, Ohio. His father was the late Qeorge E. Crisp, 
whose career as a progressive citizen and business man of Elyria has 
been told on other pages. His mother is Mary (Wyman) Crisp, daugh- 
ter of John "Wyman and still occupying the old home on "West Avenue. 

The early experiences of Ernest J. Crisp were chiefly found in home 
and school. After graduating from the Elyria High School in June, 
1897, he spent a year in Oberlin College and then four years in Case 
School of Applied Science at Cleveland, where he specialized in civil 
engineering. He was graduated Bachelor of Sciences in June, 1902. In 
May, 1910, having presented to Case School a thesis entitled "A Sewage 
Disposal Plant for Jefferson, Ohio," he was awarded the degree Civil 
^Engineer. 

About the time of his graduation in 1902 he became assistant engineer 
to L, E. Chapin, C. E., of Canton, and it was as Mr. Chapin'a represen- 
tative that he served from 1902 to 1904 as engineer in (-harge of the 
construction of the Elyria Waterworks pumping station on Lake Erie , 
and the pipe line connecting the station with the distribution mains of 
the city. Among public improvements the citizens of Elyria probably 
take more pride and satisfaction in this than any other. 

During the nest six years he was almost constantly employed in con- 
nection witli waterworks surveys and construction in different parts of 
the country. He assisted in making a report on the valuation of Tiffin 
"Waterworks in 1904, and constructed the "Vermillion Waterworks in the 
same year; he had charge of construction of waterworks at Barnesville, 
Ohio, in 1904-05; was in charge of construction of Beach City, Ohio, 
"Waterworks and of filtration plant at Benwood, West "Virginia, in 1906 ; 
for the General Water Company he built at Republic and Aaronsburg, 
Pennsylvania, the high pressure pumping station, pipe line and reser- 
voir; constructed the waterworks at Jefferson, Ohio, in 1908, and at 
Huron, Ohio, in 1909. During 1909 and up to April, 1910, he made the 
preliminary surveys for the Commercial Water Company reservoir at 
Youngstown, Ohio ; and from April to August, 1910, was Lorain County 
bridge engineer. 

After the death of his brother, Harry E. Crisp, in AugiLst, 1910, he 
assumed the duties of manager of The Peerless Laundry and Dry Clean- 
ing Company, then located at 117-119 West Avenue in Elyria. During 
the past five years he has greatly expanded the business which is the 
leading one of its kind in Lorain County, his experience and skill as an 
engineer have been instrumental in giving the company a model plant 
for its work. He designed and had chaise of the construction of the 
building now occupied by the company at 336 Second Street, and also 
did all the engineering and designing for the Peerless Plant at the same 
location. Besides the active management of the business. Mr. Crisp is 
also director and president of The Peerless Laundry & Dry Cleaning 
Company, is a director of The Elyria Savings and Banking Company, 
and a director of the Retail Merchants Association. He was a director 
of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce in 1913, was a director and member 
of The American Society of Civil Engineers from 1904 to 1912. 



y Google 



606 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

In 1904 he was raised to Master MasoD in King Solomon Lodge No, 
56, Free and Accepted JIaaona, and in 1914 became affiliated with 
Marshall Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch JIasons. lie also belongs to the 
Ohio Rho Chapter of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon, is a member of H. P. 
Chapman Camp No. 6, Sona of Veterans, and a member of the official 
board of the Methodist Episcopal Church o£ Elyria. At Barnesville, 
Ohio, June 12, 1907, Mr. Crisp married Mias Laura M. Dobbins, daughter 
of Charles P. and Amanda (Blakemore) Dobbins. 

D, W. D.iviES. The record of years well lived, with a creditable 
performance of all those duties which come to a man of high principles 
and integrity of character, belongs to Mr. D. W. Davies of Wellington. 
Mr. Davies has earned his success by application to varied activities. At 
one time he operated a sawmill, has been in the lumber business and 
mercantile affairs but his chief success is founded on farming, and he 
now resides on a splendidly equipped dairy farm near the Village of 
Wellington. 

His birth occurred in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, March 30, 1848, and he 
is a son of David and Marilla L. (Smith) Davies, His father was born 
in Pana, Wales, in 1807, came to America from that country in 1835, 
and landed at Cleveland with 25 centa in hia pocket. He had the faculty 
of a Welshman for hard and thorough work, and he was not long in get- 
ting started in the New World. He worked at different lines until 1850, 
when he moved to Pittsfield Township in Lorain County, and lived on 
his farm there until his death in 1864. He was married at North 
Amherst, Ohio, to Marilla L. Smith, who was bom at Schuylkill, New 
York, in 1823, and survived him many years, passing away in January, 
1901. There were three children. James F,, one of the sona, died dur- 
ing the Civil war. Those living are D. W. Davies and John E., the latter 
a prospering farmer in South AlK'rta, Canada. David Davies was a 
member of the Episcopal Church and in politics a republican, and was 
honored with several town offices. 

D, W, Davies grew up in the country districts of Northern Ohio, 
attended country school in Pittsfield, and after graduating from Oberlin 
Business College took up serious pursuits as a farmer. He has been 
owner of a farm since he was fourteen years of age. For fifteen years 
he was in the lumber business and spent three years in Indiana where 
he managed a sawmill and hoop factory. In 1890 Mr. Davies moved to 
Wellington and bought his present place near that village in 1901. The 
farm had been allowed to deteriorate through bad management, but he 
has restored its fertility and has placed many improvements which now 
make it a model place of eighty-five acres, and he and his family now 
enjoy the comforts of a beautiful home. Mr, Davies makes a specialty 
of dairying, and he also does considerable contracting and building. For 
fifteen years he operated quite extensively in breeding and handling 
thoroughbred cattle, the Hereford, and a large part of hia stock was 
shipped to Chicago markets. 

In 1870 he married Miss Phoebe A. West, a member of an old family 
of Lorain County. To their marriage were Iwrn five children, and those 
li^-ing are: Charles II., who is associated in business with his father; 
James Monroe, who is doing well as a fruit farmer in Southern Colorado ; 
and Dell M., who finished the high school and the Oberlin Business 
College, was a teacher for several years, and is now manager of the 
retail credit department for George H. Bowman Company. The two 
deceased children Sre Frank W. and Cora M. The mother of these chil- 
dren passed away April 2, 1910, about forty years after her marriage. 
She was an active member of the Congregational Church. On August 



tay'^iuu'^r 



^§[^?^^2^^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 607 

22, 1914, Mr. Davies married Mrs. Allie 0. Rood of Lorain, who is also 
a member of the Congregational Church. 

Mr. Davies is affiliated with the Knights of the Maccabees. In poli- 
ties he is a republican and in past years has acquitted himself creditably 
in the performance of various public positions. He was town clerk of 
Pittsfield Township five years, and served as jusftice of the peace there. 
In 1890 he was real estate appraiser o£ Pittsfield Township. For two 
years he was on the Wellington Council, and in 1900 was made city 
appraiser of Wellington and also of Wellington Township. In 1910 he 
was elected real estate appraiser for the Village of Wellington. 

Dennis W. Seward. When Dennis W. Seward was elevated from 
his position as a city mail carrier to postmaster at Elyria, the incident 
was so nearly unprecedented that it attracted great attention among 
postal circles all over the country. While the organization of the postal 
department does not permit of the highest opportunities in the service 
as a. profession, it is true that no other department of government work 
offers the same possibilities of a career with regular promotion for merit 
and efficiency. Mr. Seward began when a boy as a special delivery man, 
and has earned his advancement by the qualities of thoroughness, acca< 
racy and reliability. He is one of the very few men who have been 
taken out of the ranks of delivery men and made heads of postoffices. 

Dennis W. Seward was bom in EljTia, Lorain County, Ohio, August 
16, 1872, a son of Thomas and Etta (Colgan) Seward. Both parents 
were natives of Ireland, but grew up in that country with no knowledge 
of each other. The father came to the United States when about twenty 
years of age and the mother when about sixteen. Both locate<l in Cleve- 
land, Ohio, where destiny brought them together and where their aflfee- 
tion was ripened and matured in the bonds of wedlock. About 1851, a 
year or so after their marriage, they came to Elyria, when that was a 
araall town. Thomas Seward was a railway workman, and was era- 
ployed in laying the tracks through Elyria for the Lake Shore & Mich- 
igan Southern Road. He was identified with the service of that company 
for more than half a century and was esteemed for his hard working 
qualities, his faithfulness, and his value as a member of the community. 
He only retired from railroad work after much persuasion from his 
sons, who were all established in biisiness and were eager for him to 
spend his last days in comfort and leisure. Thomas Seward died at 
Elyria, March 25, 1910, at the age of eighty-two, and his wife is still 
living at the age of seventy-eight. They became the parents of eleven 
children, five sons and six daughters, and this circle remained unbroken 
until the death of Frank E., the fourth in the family, on November 17, 
1914. In order of age the children are : Catherine, who married J. M. 
MeVey, was bom in Cleveland, while all the other children were bom 
in Lorain Coimty. The MeVey children are Florence, Pannie, John and 
Esther. Mary married Robert Gamble of Elyria, and their four chil- 
dren are Thomas, Madeline, William and Walter. Thomas, Jr., of 
Elyria, married Anna Donahue, and they have one child living, Albert. 
Frank E., deceased, married Mary MeDermotf, of Brownhelm, Ohio, and 
left four children,' Thomas, Mildred, Vivian and Helen. Anna is at 
home; William H. married Agnes Myers, of Monroeville, Ohio, and 
they have one child, Stanley; Etta is also at home; James B., cashier of 
the Savings Deposit Bank & Trust Company of Elyria, married Mollie 
Farrell, of Elyria, Ohio, and their four children are Mary, Frank, 
Edward and Catherine; Dennis W.; Helen married Robert B. Lersch, 
a prominent merchant of Elyria, and they have two children, Dorothy 



,Google 



608 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

and Jean ; Jennie Louise ia at home. All the children attended the 
Elyria parochial schools and the bidrh schoot 

Dennis W. Seward after getting his education at Elyria was em- 
ployed in carrying special delivery letters for the Elyria poatofBce. This 
was when he was sixteen years of age, and he was later engaged in 
transferring the mail to the trains. For the last twenty-two years of 
his subordinate service in the postoffice he was a city letter carrier, de- 
livering mail through the business district of Elyria. On April 1, 1915, 
his appointment as postmaster of Elyria by President Woodrow Wilson 
was confirmed by the Senate, and seldom does an appointive political 
honor com^ more justly to one who has already been long identified with 
and thoroughly familiar with the details of the service. 

Mr. Seward is a democrat. He has taken a pronunent part in the 
Knights of Columbus, has been through all the chairs of Elyria Lodge 
No. 774 of that order, and for three years was district deputy with juris- 
diction over the counties of Lorain, Huron, Erie and Cuy^oga. He is 
also affiliated with Elyria Lodge No. 465 of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Com- 
merce. His church is St. Mary's Catholic, where he was married 
November 7, 1899, to Miss Helen Shafer, daughter of Mrs. Pauline 
Shafer of Elyria. Mrs. Seward was bom in Chambersbui^, Pennsyl- 
vania, and comes of a German family. She was educated in the Elyria 
parochial and liigh schools. To their marriage have been born four 
children, two sons and two daughters; Robert Arthur, Theodore Ed- 
ward, Winifred Pauline and Margaret Gertrude. Mr. Seward has all 
his life been a busy man and his forms of recreationhave been largely 
in the direction of outdoor sports, both tennis and baseball being among 
his favorite diversions. 

John Johnson Pollock. Among the greatest benefactors of man- 
kind are those public ofiBcials who realize in full their duty to the people 
and do it faithfully and unflinchingly. To this class belongs John J. 
Pollock, a former mayor of the City of Lorain, who, after assuming the 
chair as presiding officer of the city government, did some most useful 
work greatly benefitting the community. Mr. Pollock was bom in Stark 
County, Ohio, June 14, 1868, a son of John and Catherine (Maine) 
Pollock. The father, for some time a eoal miner and merchant at North 
Lawrence. Ohio, is now living retired at Canton, this state. 

John J. Pollock was educated in the public schools and in the high 
school at Canal Fulton, Ohio, then under the charge of Prof. I. Si. 
Taggart, later taking the preparatory course at Mount Union College. 
He began industrial life as traveling salesman for a wholesale house, 
after which he entered the railroad service and was thus occupied until 
1899, during this time residing at Alliance, Ohio. On December 3, 1890, 
Mr. Pollock married Rachel Fisher, of North Lawrence, Ohio, and for 
the next three years he and his brother-in-law, John Fisher, were engaged 
in operating eoal mines in Ohio. In 1899 he came to Lorain and until 
1908 was in the employ of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. In June of 
the latter year he went to work as yard master for the National Tube 
Company, remaining thus engaged until November, 1913, when he was 
elected mayor of Lorain, taking office in the following Juiuary. He 
had previously served an apprenticeship to politics, having been council- 
man for two years from the Third (now the Fourth) Ward, and his 
public and private record were such as to inspire confidence in his fellow 
citizens and create for him a strong following. After assuming office 
Mayor Pollock gave the people a progressive administration and effected 
some important reforms. The control of the public highway on Twentj-- 



bv»^iUOglc 



HISTORY OP LORAIN OOUNTY 609 

eighth Street has been taken from the street railway company and at 
the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad tracks a subway has been huilt costing 
$150,000. Also the Sixth Ward has been connected with the city by 
continuous pavements and a street railway, and the five former grade 
crossings, which were a great source of danger and cause of accidents, 
eliminated. It was also the policy of the administration to create parks 
and breathing places for children and other inhabitants, and in thoss 
existing various improvements were made. The streets were not for- 
gotten, hut were kept in good condition and improved whenever feasible; 
and during the business depression of 1914 and 1915 the poor were aided 
by an appropriation of $5,000 for charitable purposes. These, and many 
other things, marked Mayor Pollock's administration — a record that 
more than justified the choice of the people in elevating him to the chief 
place in the city government. Mr. Pollock is affiliated with a number of 
social organizations, including that of Railway Conductors ; the Knights 
of Pythias, in which he is past chancellor and representative of the grand 
lodge ; the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; the Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, of which he is worthy president and was ehceen delegate to 
the national conclave to be held at Spokane, Washington, in 1915, but 
did not attend, and the Loyal Order of Moose. He and his wife have 
had three children, one of whom, Bessie, died at the age of three and 
a half years. The two survivors are Adelbert McKinley and Jennie. 

Calvin Wilcox. In the pioneer history of Lorain County, a name 
that stands forth prominently is that of Calvin Wilcox, who came here 
in 1825, was for a long period of years engaged in agricultural pursuits, 
had charge of the railroad station of LaOrange, a position in which he 
was subsequently succeeded by his sons, and was probably the first post- 
master at that place. His was the first frame house erected in the town- 
ship, and his marriage was the first to be performed he're. Throughout 
his life he was known as a solid, substantial citizen, who encouraged 
progress and contributed materially to the public welfare. 

Calvin Wilcox was horn at Charleston, New York, October 4, 1796, 
a son of Gen. Silvanus and Sarah (Johnson) Wileox, The family is 
of English extraction and of Welsh origin. The date of its first emigra- 
tion to America was 1636, when William and Mai^ret Wilcox and son 
came on the ship Planter and settled first at Windsor and later at 
Stratford. Connecticut. Seventen hundred and eight marked the birth 
of Ephraim Wilcox, a descendant of the above, who resided at Simsbury," 
Connecticut, and died in 1773. Silvanus Wilcox joined the Revolution- 
ary Army in 1776 and went to New Haven under General Wood in the 
same year. EuliRting for three months at Ninscaunee, in 1777 he went 
to Alltany and .ioined the Continental Army for six months, serving 
under General Washington, and subsequently was present at the hang- 
ing of llajor Andre below West Point on the Hudson River. He served 
under Colonel Willett in Tryon County and was at Canada Creek when 
Butler was killed, and, having come through the war safely, in 1831 was 
(tranted a pension of $55 per year, which he received until his death. 
Two tombstones mark the resting-place of Silvanus Wilcox and his wife, 
on the west bank of the Schoharie Creek, on the old homestead in Mont- 
gomery County, New York, each bearing an lUTi and willow. The In- 
scriptions follow ; " In memory of Sarah, consort of Gen. Silvanus Wilcox 
and daughter of the late Itobert Johnson of West Stockbridge, who 
departed this life July 1, 1830, aged sixty-five years, three months and 
twenty- four days." This would make her birthday March 6, 1765. 
"Gen, Silvanus Wilcox, died July 10, 1846, aged eighty-four years, one 
month and fourteen days." From the foregoing his birthday must 
have been May 26, 1762, 



y Google 



610 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Id 1825 Calvia Wilcox, then a young man twenty-nine years of age, 
left hia home at Charleston, Montgomery County, New York, and 
struck out across the almost unbroken forests for the West, walking 
the entire distance to the new country of the Western Reserve, his trav- 
els coming to an end at LaQrange, Lorain County, Ohio. There he 
took up a large tract of laud and began the life of the hardy pioneer. 
There were but few people in the southern part of the county at that 
time and neighbors were far apart, but he had not been long here when 
he fell a victim to the black eyes and bewitching smiles of a charming 
young frontier maiden, Harriet Hubbard, and they were married March 
8, 1S27, this being the first marriage ceremony solemnized in LaGrange 
Township. They at once took up their abode in the typical backwoods 
log cabin, but soon became ambitious for a more pretentious and com- 
fortable home, and with much labor drew logs to a water-power sawmill 
with oxen, this being located on the Black River, near the present site 
of Grafton Village. With the lumber thus made was erected the old 
Wilcox homestead, the firat frame house in LaQrange Township, which 
stood until about the year 1910 in the Village of LaGrange, and a cut 
of which will be found in this work. While Calvin Wilcox carried on 
farming as his chief vocation, he also engaged in other pursuits, being 
probably the first postmaster of LaGrange, and, like others of the early- 
day type, was accustomed to wear a shawl and to carry the letters around 
io his high hat and collect the postage and perform numerous other 
duties. His son, Hubbard A., who has separate mention in this work, 
carried the mail on horseback when a boy between LaGrange and Woos- 
ter. Calvin Wilcox was station agent of the old Bee Line, now the Big 
Four Railroad, from the day the station was opened at LaGrange, and 
was succeeded in that position by his son, Geoi^e, and later by another 
son, Hubbard A. Calvin Wileox died January 30, 1871, respected and 
esteemed by the entire community. He had lived a long and useful life 
and had taJien an active and helpful part in the activities which formed 
the foundation for the present-day structure of prosperity. Mrs. Wil- 
cox, who was bom at Champlain, New York, August 11, 1802. died at 
LaGrange, August 31, 1865. They were the parents of ten children, of 
whom three survive : William, of LaGrange ; Mrs. Addie Gott, of Cali- 
fornia; and Mrs. Phoebe Taylor, of Indiana. Those dead are: Charles 
A. ; George ; Edward F. ; Hubbard A. ; Sylvanus ; Sarah A,, who was the 
wife of the late I. A. Paddock ; and Maria L., who was the wife of the 
late William L. Gott. All were bom at LaGrange with the excejition of 
Charles A., who was bom at Wellington, Ohio. 

Hubbard A^tset Wilcox. In the death of Hubbard Avery Wilcox, 
there passed away one of the beat known figures in railroad circles in 
Northern Ohio. He had started to work for the old Bee Line in 1853, 
when LaGrange was little more than a siding, grew up with the rood, 
saw all its clianges, and after fifty-one years of continuous service, re- 
signed from the Big Four Railroad when aging years had sapped his 
enei^y and strength. Few men have had a longer service; none have 
given to that service more conscientious or able effort; certainly none 
bore better reputations or held in greater measure the confidence of their 
employers and the regard and affection of their fellow-employes. When 
he died, February 23, 1906, the entire community mourned. 

Hubbard Avery Wilcox was bora at LaGrange, Lorain Countv, 
Ohio, March 29, 1834, a son of Calvin and Harriet (Hubbard) Wilcox, 
old pioneers of this county, a sketch of whose long and useful careers 
will be found elsewhere in this work. The lad had the benefits of a home 
training that early instilled in him a love for honesty and fidelity, and 
his industry was demonstrated when he was still a lad, when lie en- 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



c// 




Digitized by LiOOSlC 



HISTORY OF LOEAIN COUNTY 611 

gaged in carrying the mail horseback from LaGrange to Wooster. He 
succeeded his brother, George "Wyeox, who in turn had succeeded their 
father, Calvin Wilcox, in the agency of the railroad at LaGrange, the 
father having been the incumbent from the openiug of the office. It was 
a local tradition that the position would always remain in the family, 
but subsequent developments have allowed it to go to other hands. 
From the start of the railroad here Mr. Wilcox watched with interest 
and the eye of a proprietor its history, remaining stanehly with it during 
its various changes of organization, through the days of the old Cleve- 
land, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapolis, to its present style of Cleve- 
land, CiDcinnati, Chicago & St. Louis, or, as it is probably more famil- 
iarly known, the Big Four. The savings from his salary were judiciously 
invested in farm land in the vicinity of the village, and around the 
division office at Cleveland Mr. Wilcox was a familiar and welcome 
figure. Mr. Wilcox was about seventy years of age at the time of his 
retirement, in 1904, when the road lost one of its most faithful servants. 
Popular with all, efficient and prompt in his duties, courteous in their 
discbarge, he had won hosts of friends and well-wishers. During the 
hours of his funeral business was suspended at LaOrange, the business 
men attending in a body, while the cortege to the cemetery was very long 
and included many friends from a long distance. Three sons and three 
grandsons, E. F., A. H., H. C, George, Carl and Albert Wilcox, were 
the pall-bearers. At the funeral services "Refuge" and "Lead, Kindly 
Light," which had been chosen by Mr. Wilcox, were sung. 

On July 3, 1856, Mr. Wilcox was married to Jliss Elizabeth Powers, 
who was born at Ashland, Ohio, May 3, 1837, and died at the family 
home at LaGrange, November 24, 1907. For almost a half a century, 
or until the death of the husband, February 23, 1906, they were the 
principals in one of the most ideal homes of the community. The beauty 
of Mrs. Wilcox's life was in its simplicity. She was utterly devoid of 
ostentation, and rather retired to the privacy of her home, where she 
found her greatest pleasure, and even after her husband's death, when 
left alone and broken in health, she refused to leave its shelter, pre- 
ferring that it might not be broken up. She was a Christian woman 
who lived her Christianity every day of her life, and from her girlhood 
was a devout and active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Of 
the children born to Mr. and Mrs. Wilcox, two are living: Avery H., 
of Pittsfield, Ohio, and Hon. Harvey Clyde, of Elyria, judge of probate 
of Lorain County, the latter of whom has separate mention in another 
part of this work. A son, Calvin P. Wilcox, and a daughter, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth ("Birdie") Van-Benschoten, have been deceased for several years, 
and another son, Edward F., died at LaGrange, in March, 1915. 

Hon. Harvey Clyde Wilcox. Among the members of the Lorain 
County bench, none are more highly esteemed than Hon. Harvey Clyde 
Wilcox, judge of the Probate and Juvenile Courts of Loraiu County. 
Endorsed by civic and professional bodies when he appeared as a candi- 
date for this office, since taking his seat upon the bench be has vindicated 
the faith and trust reposed in him, and is proving a most dignified, 
impartial and capable jurist. 

Judge Wileox was bom at LaGrange, Lorain County, Ohio, Sep- 
tember 27, 1872, and belongs to an old and honored pioneer family of 
the county, being a son of the late Hubbard A. and Elizabeth (Powers) 
Wilcox, a complete sketch of whose career appears elsewhere in this work. 
There were four sons and one daughter in the family, all of whom lived 
to maturity, although Judge Wilcox and a brother, A. H. Wileox, of 
Pittsfield, Ohio, are the only survivors. The early education of Judge 
Wilcox was secured in the public schools of LaGrange, where he gradu- 



,y Google 



612 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

ated from the high school, and this was supplemented by attendance at 
the Ohio State University and Baldwin University. Prom the latter 
iustitution he received first the degree of B. Ph. and later the degree 
of A. M., and received the degree of LL, B. at the Cleveland Law School, 
Thus ably equipped he began the practice of his profession, and followed 
it until elected county clerk of Lorain County in, 1902 for a three-year 
term. "While serving thus he took a post-graduate course at Baldwin 
University, but that he did not allow his studies to interfere with the per- 
formance of his duties is shown in that he was re-elected to succeed him- 
self in the elections of 1905 and made a record in that o£Bce for integrity 
and efficiency that has been excelled by none. Judge Wilcox had been 
admitted to the bar by examination, and when he retired from the 
county clerk's office he resumed the practice of his profession at Elyria. 
Tn the fall elections of 1912 he appeared as candidate for the office of 
judge of probate of Lorain ' County, on the republican ticket, and was 
immediately endorsed by the attorneys of the county as a man who 
had had ample experience in matters of law as well as in court cases 
to justify his request at the hands of the people. By reason of his 
ability, character and experience, he is splendidly equipped for judi- 
cial position. He was also recommended for nomination and election in 
the report of the Oberliu College Civic Club, in its pamphlet issued in 
the fall of 1912. Securing the election, Judge WHcox tods his seat 
upon the bench Pebruary 9, 1913, for a term of four years, and has 
continued to distinguish himself in the performance of his duties in a 
wise and eminently fair manner. He is also judge of the Lorain County 
Juvenile Court, which court was established in 1913, he becoming judge 
of the court at that time. 

Judge Wilcox is an ardent republican and for several years was sec- 
retary of the Republican County Committee, but since assuming hie 
judicial duties has retired somewhat from political life. He is a mem- 
ber of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. His fraternal connection is 
with Lodge No. 465, of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of 
which he was exalted ruler for two terms, and Premier Lodge No. 500 
of the Knights of Pythias. With his family, he attends the Methodist 
Episcopal Church of Elyria, Ohio, in which he is superintendent of the 
Sunday school. He has always been a close devotee of out-of-door sports 
and athletics. 

Judge Wilcox was married at LaGrange, Ohio, to Miss Grace L. 
Freeman, daughter of D. C. and Harriet (Turner) Preeman, of that 
city, where the former still resides, the latter being deceased. Four 
children have been born to Judge and Mrs, Wileox: Elizabeth, Jose- 
phine, Hubbard and Evangeline. 

EdWakd J. St.\nkard. a record for physical efficiency and courage, 
united with capable judgment, were the basis for the promotion of 
Edward J. Stankard from a long career in the interurban railway serv- 
ice to the office of chief of the police department at Elyria. Prior to his 
election as chief Mr. Stankard had no experience as a guardian of the 
peace, but the capable manner in which he has handled the office, the 
effective discipline which has been maintained among his subordinates, 
have so completely justified his original appointment that he has now 
served under three different mayors of the city. 

A native of Erie County, Ohio, Edward J. Stankard was bom ten 
miles south of Sandusky on a farm, June 22, 1876. His parents were 
John and Jane (McQue) Stankard. His father was a native of Prance 
and his mother of Ireland. The latter, aft«r the death of her parents in 
the old country, came to America with her two sisters, and located in 
New York State, where she met and married John Stankard. The latter, 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 613 

whose father was a Frenchman tind his mother an Irish wmnan, was 
taken in early childhood from France to England, where Grandfather 
Stankard died when his son John was abont three years of age. Grand- 
father Stankard was a shepherd by occupation and had the responsibility 
of looking after the sheep of a large estate. When John Stankard had 
reached the age of thirteen he and hia mother started across the ocean 
for the United States. She died while the vessel waa in mid-ocean and 
was buried at sea, and the son soon afterwards landed alone in New 
York City. Though a boy of but thirteen he had that same independence 
of purpose and energy which liave been the characteristics of Chief 
Stankard, and was soon working on a farm just outside the City of 
New York. From there he went to St. Louis, Missouri, and found em- 
ployment as a cabin boy on a Mississippi River cotton packet. The 
vessel was engaged in transporting cotton up and down the Mississippi 
and across the gulf, and this was during the war with Mexico, and at 
one time the boat came so close to a Mexican battery that it was fired 
upon and shells set fire to the cargo. The crew managed to throw over- 
board a large part of the burning cotton and finally got the vessel to 
shore. Later John Stankard found similar employment on another boat 
which was hauling steel for railroad construction. One day he was a 
witness to the tragic death of the captain of the vessel. The captain in 
tipping his chair back on the upper deck fell to the lower deck, and 
striking against a part of the cargo of steel rails was killed. The cabin 
boy was so much aiteeted by this tragic incident that he immediately 
gave up his employment. After this boating experience he returned to 
New York State, where some brothers were working at the time on 
farms. While living there he met and married Miss McQue, and from 
there they moved out to Ohio, locating in Bellevue. There he found 
employment in a distillery, and remained about two years. His employ- 
ment was terminated by the bursting of a big vat and while two other 
men were scalded to death, John Stankard received injuries which laid 
him up for about eighteen months, and he carried to his grave the scars 
from his burns on the side and right arm. This occurred during the 
Civil war period, and while he was recuperating from his injuries he 
was drafted for service in the army, but his condition waa such that he 
was unable to respond. After the war he moved to Erie County, bought 
a small tract of thirty-five acres of land, cleared it up, and continued in 
agricultural lines the rest of his life. He added fifteen acres to the 
homestead, making fifty acres in all, and subsequently bought 100 acres 
half a mile from the first home, and this place of 100 acres is still owned 
by bis estate, being the joint property of Chief Stankard and his 
brothers and sisters. The old homestead of fifty acres was willed tO[ a 
crippled son, John C, before the death of the mother. John Stankard 
died at the old home July 16, 1913, and his wife passed away there June 
9, 1898. In the family were ten children, five sons and five daughters, 
and two of the sons are now deceased. John C, the oldest, and the 
occupant of the old homestead, for more than twenty-five years served 
as assessor of Oxford Township in Erie County. The daughter Margaret 
is now ilrs. Georgt' E. Homan, living near Canton, Ohio. The third in 
order of age was Jlichael, who was an engineer on the Baltimore & Ohio 
Railway and died in 1890 at the age of thirty-six. Mary is the wife of 
J. A, Chay, a railroad man living at Youngstown, Ohio. James is a 
resident of Newark, Ohio, and is a stationary engineer in the Newark 
Glass Works. The daughters Jane and Lillian both reside at home, and 
following them in age is Edward J. Robert H., the youngest, was 
drowned near Huron, Ohio, while fishing, on June 20, 1897, at the age 
of eighteen. All these children were born at the old home in Erie 
County, were educated in that locality, and the daughter Mary also 



,Google 



614 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

attended the normal school at Milan, a village otherwise noted as the 
hirthplace of Thomas Edison, and for several years she taught school in 
the district around her old home in Erie County. 

The early associations of Chief Stankard were with the farm and 
the locality of his birth in Erie County. He attended the local schools 
and for one winter was in the Milan Norm^. He engaged in farming 
until the age of twenty-one and then began his career in railroad service 
at Sandusky. For about two years he was with the old Sandusky & 
Interurban, now a part of the Lake Shore Electric Railroad. He was 
first employed in construction work, and when the road was taken over 
by the Lake Shore he was put on as a motorman on the Sandusky, Milan 
& Norwalk branch. He continued in faithful and efficient service as a 
motorman for fifteen months, making the run between Sandusky and 
Norwalk, and was then transferred to the Cleveland & Toledo Division, 
being a motorman for about two years between Cleveland and Sandusky. 
Leaving the Lake Shore he earae to the Cleveland & Southwestern Elec- 
tric Railway, and was in its service about seven years, operating a 
construction train for four years, and the rest of the time as motorman 
on a run between Cleveland and Wellington. 

It was on January 1, 1910, that Mr. Stankard came to Elyria to take 
the post of chief of police. At that time, as already stated, he knew 
nothing about police work, but his capabilities and qualilications in other 
ways made up for his lack of experience in this particular line. Mr. 
Stankard succeeded in the office of chief of police, "William Whitney, 
who, in 1914, was elected sheriff of Lorain County and mention of 
whom will he found on other pages. Mr. Stankard took the office under 
Mayor Thomas A. Conway, and has since been continued in the ofBce by 
Mayor David S. Troxel and now under Mayor Tucker. 

Politically Chief Stankard is a democrat and has affiliations with the 
Woodmen of the World, the Knights of Columbus, the Elyria Chamber 
of Commerce, and is a member of St. Mary 's Catholic Church. 

Mr. Stankard and Miss Helen G. Swindell of Cleveland, were mar- 
ried in the St. Ignatius Catholic Church of Cleveland, April 28, 1908. 
Her mother is Mrs. Sarah Reynolds, still living in Cleveland. Mrs. 
Stankard 's father died when she was a child, and her mother later 
married Mr. Reynolds, who is also deceased. Mrs. Stankard was bom 
in Grafton, Lorain County, and received her education in the Cleveland 
public schools. To their marriage have been born two children : Edward 
G., who .was bom in Elyria, April 26, 1909; and Marion V., bom 
November 7, 1911. 

Mr. Stankard finds his chief delight in his home and in his associa- 
tions with his small children. He is devoted to the interests and 
responsibilities of his office and is also a lover of the great national 
pastime of baseball. At the meeting in Mansfield, Ohio, August 8, 1914, 
Chief Stankard was elected vice president of the Ohio Police Associa- 
tion, a large organization composed of the chiefs of police, detectives 
and constables in the state, and with a membership of over 200. This 
fitting honor which came to "Big Ed," as he is known among his asso- 
ciates, was followed in August, 1915, by his promotion to president of 
the same association. The meeting of the association in 1915 was held 
at Cedar Point, and Mr. Stankard was elected by a vote of sixteen to 
fourteen, the choice being subsequently made unanimous. As president 
he succeeds Jake Mintz of Cleveland. As a local paper said in comment 
on his election, "the honor that has come to Chief Stankard is worthily 
dispased, and we are sure he will wear it in the same quiet way in which 
he goes about his daily duties in this city." 



y Google 



vGoogle 



^<rA^a,gio^i(u^ 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 615 

John Adams Toplifp was bora April 11, 1827, in Mansfield, Connecti- 
cut, the tenth child o£ Horatio and Sally (Sargeant) TopliflE. The 
father, who was born August 31, 1785, married November 12, 1806, and 
died April 16, 1857. Horatio Topliff was the fifteenth child of Calvin 
and Jcrusha (Bicknell) Topliff. Calvin Topliff was bom in Milton, 
Connecticut, August 24, 1729, married on January 9, 1758, and died 
December 23, 1809. He was the seventh child of Capt. Samuel and Han- 
nah (Preseott) Topliff of Dorchester, Massachusetts. Captain Topliff 
was born May 30, 1695; married February 8, 1715, and died November 
1, 1754. He was made captain after the birth of his second child and 
moved with his family to Connecticut. He was the tenth child of Samuel 
and Patience Topliff. Samuel Topliff was born in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, May 7, 1646, and died December 10, 1722. He was ordained 
deacon August 1, 1692, and ruling elder February 3, 1701. He was the 
fourth child of Clement and Sarah Topliff. Clement was bom in 
England November 17, 1603. and came to America in 1635. He was one 
of the early settlers of Dorchester, Massachusetts. He died December 
24, 1672. 

John A. Topliff was one of twelve children and his father was a 
New England farmer. John was twenty years younger than his eldest 
brother. His father found it a severe tax to educate his large family, 
and John worked as an apprentice and later for wages until he earned 
$100, which he paid to his father for the purchase of the minor years of 
his life. He then earned enough to educate himself, first at Wilbraham 
Academy, at Wilbraham, Connecticut, and later at Union College, Sche- 
nectady, New York. After leaving Union College he studied law, and 
only gave up entering the profession on the advice of Lewis Beers whose 
daughter, Caroline, he wished to marry, Mr. Beers advocating that the 
professions were crowded with men who could not even obtain recogni- 
tion, although they might have merit, but that good business men were 
scarce, and in the business world there was a place for every man of 
ability. 

John Topliff went to Lexington, Kentucky, in 1852 and engaged in 
the manufacture of carriages. A year later he moved to Elyria, Ohio, 
thinking that the opportunities for advancement greater in Ohio than in 
Kentucky. 

On September 9, 1854, he was married in Stratford, Connecticut, to 
Caroline Beers, who was horn July 14, 1827, and died March 2, 1895. 
She was a daughter of Deacon Lewis Beers, bom August 18, 1799, and 
died July 15. 1870. He was married April 19, 1826 to Rebecca Curtis, 
who was born December 14, 1801, and died November 21, 1836. Lewis 
Beers was the son of Matthew Beers (born October, 17.59, and died 
November 25. 1837) and Sarah (Curtis) Beers (born April 23. 1769, 
and died January 6, 1823). Matthew Beers was a Revolutionary soldier 
who received a grant of land for "distinguished service." He was 
wounded in battle and carried the marks to hts grave. He was the son 
of Joseph and Elizabeth Beers. ' 

Joseph 3rd, born October 13, 1727, was the son of Joseph 2nd (mar- 
ried March 6, 1721) and Sarah Clarke. Joseph 2nil was the son of 
Joseph and Abigail. This Joseph was the son of James and Martha 
(Barlow) Beers. James 2nd was the son of James 1st of Kent, England, 
who was a deseendent of Anthony Bere, 1486, 

John A. Topliff was a mayor of Elyria in the year 1856, and took a 
prominent part in the civic life of the city, and always aided in its up- 
building. He was public spirited and generous. There are men of 
mark in the United States today who were helped to receive their edu- 



vGoogle 



616 HISTORY OF LOBAIN COUNTY 

cation by him. His motto was "Help others to help themselves." A 
motto that he lived up to in a way that even bis best friends little 
realized. 

He was the senior partner of the firm of Topliff and Ely whose 
business was the manufacture of carriage hardware. They made a 
specialty of the tubular earriage-bow, which John ToplifE invented and 
patented. 

John and Caroline Topliff were members of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Elyria, which later changed its name to the First Congre- 
gational Church. They had five children: .Fanny Maria, born August 
20, 1855, was a student of Oberlin College. She married August 8, 
1877, Walter Egerton Brooks, of Elyria, and she died December 5, 1893. 
There were three children by this marriage; Harold Topliff, bom 
December 19, 1882, deceased; Margaret Egerton, a graduate of Vassar, 
class 1906, married Theodore E. Faxon, a graduate of Cornell, who died 
in 1914, and they had one child, Theodore Brooks Faxon, bom Sep- 
tember 20, 1908 ; and John Prentice, a graduate of Cornell. Frank, bom 
January 1, 1857, died in 1860. Edmund Lewis, bom September 2, 1860, 
was drowned irhile skating on December 8, 1877. Susan Caroline, bom 
December 14, 1862, class qf '86 Smith College, married September 3, 
1889, Archibald Hunt Davis, a graduate of the University o£ Virginia 
and a resident of Atlanta Geoi^, and they have three children — Archi- 
bald Hunt, Jr., bom July 13, 1890, a graduate, class 1910, of Georgia 
Technological School, awarded a Silver Carnegie Medal in 1909. and 
settled in Schenectady, New York; John Topliff, born June 15, 1893; 
Noah Knowles, horn February 20, 1904. Harry, born in 1864, died in 
1866. 

John A, Topliff was a man of broad culture, with a keen appreciation 
of art and letters. He traveled extensively both in Europe and America, 
and gave the privileges of travel to the others of his family. He lived in 
Elyria until the time of the death of his wife, in 1895, when he went 
to Atlanta, Georgia, and made his home with his daughter Susan until 
his death, on March 27, 1899. 

Susan Toplipp Davis, 

Stanley G. Shaw. Of that prominent and well known Lorain 
County family of Shaw, one of the younger generation now has a con- 
spicuous place in local affairs as county treasurer. 

Bom at Ridgeville in Lorain County, June 23, 1881, Stanley G. 
Shaw was educated in the public schools, graduated from the Elyria 
High School in 1898, and for three years was a student in Oberlin Col- 
lege, On leaving college he became bookkeeper with the old Lorain 
Machine & For^e Company for two years, and then entered the county 
treasurer's office as deputy in 1904. In 1912 he was elected county 
treasurer, and reelected in 1914, and has held that office and given it a 
most capable administration since 1913. In politics he is a republican. 

Mr. Shaw is a director in the Elyria Savings & Banking Company, 
is treasurer of the Associated Charities, and has interests as a stock- 
holder in a number of enterprises both at Elyria and elsewhere. He is 
affiliated with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, 
with Marshall Chapter, Royal .Arch Masons, and belongs to the chamber 
of commerce. 

At Nashville, Tennessee, June 27, 1904, he married Miss Ellen B. 
Wright, a daughter of Herbert H. and Frances (Bosworth) Wright. 
Her parents formerly lived at Oberlin, and Professor Wright held a 
position as dean in Fiak University at Nashville, Tennessee. In 1914 



r,»^iUUyiC 



HISTOET OF LORAIX COUNTY 617 

the Wright family moved to Elyria, and Profeeaor Wright is now re- 
tired, Mrs. Shaw was bom at Defiance, Ohio, and completed her educa- 
tion in the Oberlin Academy and Oberlin College, graduating in 1902. 
She represents a very old American family, her first ancestor in direct 
line having been Thomas Wright, who was born in England in 1610 and 
died in Massachusettts in 1670. The Wrights were also connected with 
several well known families who came over in the Mayflower in 1620. 
Mr. and Mrs. Shaw have three children, all bom in Elyria, and named 
Marguerite F,, Ralph H. and John F. 

The ancestry and family relationship of the county treasurer is one 
of note. His grandparents, Samuel Horatio and Juliaett (Wiley) Shaw 
established their home in Ridgeville Township in 1851, and they are still 
living, venerable people, who celebrated their sixty-fourth wedding 
anniversary in January, 1915. Their home is still at Ridgeville. The 
first ancestor of the Shaw family was Abraham Shaw, who was married 
in Halifax, England, in 1616, and died at Dedbam, Massachusetts, in 
1638. He came to America during the decade of the '30s, and the family 
was numerously represented in Massachusetts until 1800 or later. Be- 
ginning with Abraham Shaw there are eleven successive generations 
down to and including Stanley G. Shaw. In a later generation was 
Constant Shaw, who was bom in 1778, and died in Summit County, 
Ohio, December 27, 1863, His wife, Mercy Pitts, was bora in 1781 and 
also died at Bath. Samuel Shaw, a son of Constant, was bom at Bristol, 
New York, in 1804, was married in 1827 to Charlotte Hale, and he died 
at Bath, Ohio, January 24, 1836, while his wife, who was bom in Bristol, 
Pebraary 28, 1809, died December 24, 1894. 

Horatio Shaw, the venerable Ridgeville citizen already mentioned, 
was a son o£ Samuel and Charlotte, and was born in Bristol, New York, 
April 9, 1829. On January 14, 1851, he married Juliaett WUey, who 
was bom in Erie County, Pennsylvania, September 5, 1830. Her 
father, Joseph B. Wiley, who was bom at Schenectady, New York, June 
22, 1800, and died in Erie County, Pennsylvania, in 1837, was married 
in 1821 to Anna Shaw, who was bom in Massachusetts in April, 1801, 
and died at North Ridgeville, Ohio, December 28, 1867. This Anna 
Shaw was a daughter of Abraham Shaw, who was bom in 1770 and died 
at North Ridgeville, Ohio, in April, 1861. Samuel H. Shaw on coming 
to Lorain County in 1851 located on a small farm in Ridgeville Town- 
ship, and in time cleared up and improved an excellent farmstead. He 
also filled the ofBces of trustee and school director, and his name and 
infiuence have long been closely identified with that community. He 
and his wife bad the following children : Zimri A. ; Arthur B. ; Diana 
B., who married Lafayette C. Phillips; Dora D., who died at the age of 
two years ; Oscar H. ; Alfaretta, who married Morris K. Bills, and 
Lola M. 

Zimri A. Shaw, father of the present county treasurer of Lorain 
County, was bom at North Ridgeville, May 2, 1852, and is now living 
retired, after more than forty-five years of constant service with the 
Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Company. He resigned his 
position in 1914. As a boy of fifteen he had entered the employ of the 
railway company as an assistant at Shawville Station, then known as 
Ridgeville Station. He learned telegraphy, became night operator, re- 
signed to complete his education at Oberlin Academy, and then became - 
agent at Shawville, a position which he held continuously until recently. 
Zimri A. Shaw was married March 9, 1875, to Lizzie Lucinda RamsdeU. 
Their older son is Archer H. Shaw, who graduated from the Elyria 
High School in 1893, from Oberlin College in 1897, and has since been 
identified with the editorial staff of the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Archer 



y Google 



618 HISTORY" OF LORAIN' COUNTY 

H, Shaw married Clara Aiinis Terrell, daughter of Orson J. Terrell of 
RidgeviJle Township. Mrs. Z. A, Shaw, who is also still living, was bom 
in New York State October 6, 1856, and Is descended from Abednego 
Kamsdell, who was killed as a soldier in the Revolutionary war. In the 
next generation was Moses Ramsdell, who was bom in Rhode Island in 
1761, and died in New York State Jlay 16, 1834, and married Nancy 
Laphatn, who was born June 16, 1770, and died April 3, 1844. In the 
next generation was Abner L. Rarasdell, who was bom in New York 
State February 10, 1805, and died there September 8, 1872. He mar- 
ried Lucinda Ilealey, who was born January 25, 1807, and died May 19, 
1886. A sou of Abner L. was Olney Rarasdell, father of Mrs. Z. A. 
Shaw, He was bora in New York February 10, 1829, and was married 
at East Cleveland, Ohio, April 8, 1853, to Mary Jayred, who was bom 
in New Jersey May 19, 1833, and the relationship of the Jayred family 
is traced back for several generations in New Jersey. 

Chapman Family. One of the primary objects of such a publication 
as the Standard History of Lorain County is to give permanent record 
to the activities and personalities of the leading old families. There are 
few that can claim establishment at an earlier date in this section of 
Northem Ohio than the Chapman family. "While nearly a century has 
passed since the tirst of that name came into the then wilderness of 
Eaton Township, for nearly two centuries prior to tiiat time the succes- 
sive generations have been identified with the old colony and State of 
Connecticut and it will be appropriate to begin this record with the 
establishment of the Chapman family on the American shores early in 
the seventeenth century. The Chapmans are not only among the oldest 
of New England stock but as the following paragraphs will show many 
of them have been prominent as leaders in church, legislators, magis- 
trates, in business and the professions, as patriots and soldiers, and with 
careers of dignified and useful service in whatever station of the world 
they have held. 

The record begins with Robert Chapman, who according to family 
tradition came from Hull, England, to Boston in 1635. So far as 
authentic records go he completely dissevered himself from his home and 
family in England when he crossed the ocean, and nothing definite can 
be stated concerning the English ancestry. After arriving at Boston he 
sailed in company with Lyon Gardiner for Saybrook, Connecticut, being 
one of the company of twenty men sent over from England by Sir 
Richard Saltonstall for the express purpose of taking possession of a 
large tract of land and making settlement near the mouth of the Con- 
necticut River under a patent of Lord Say and Seal. The traditional 
date of his birth is placed in 1616, so that at this time Robert Chapman 
was about eighteen years old. After the Indian tribes along the Con- 
necticut River had been sufficiently subdued the company undertook the 
next task, clearing the forest and establishing a permanent community. 
For about ten years after leaving England Robert Chapman kept a 
journal, and many items from this have been preserved. Tt is on the 
authority of the colony records that the remarkable length of the service 
given not only by him but by each of his three sons as lesrislators is 
established. He was elected forty-three times to represent his com- 
munit.v in the law making body of Connecticut, while his eldest sop 
served twenty-two sessions, the second son eighteen sessions, and the 
third son twent.v-four sessions. As bis name appears as a sentinel in 
the Pequot Indian war of 1637, Robert Chapman also did military son-ice 
at that time and perhaps on other occasions as required. The records 
of Saybrook prove him one of the very lai^ land holders in that town 
and in the Town of East Haddam. At the time of his death be left to 



by'^lUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 619 

each of his three sous 1,500 acres. This vast estate had come to him as 
one of the legatees of Uflcas, an iDdian chief. Robert's homestead, on 
a tract of land in the Oyster River quarter, about two miles west of 
Saybrook Fort, has descended in the line of the youngrat son of each 
successive generation, never having been bought or sold outside the 
family, until in 1854 it was occupied by George H. Chapman, Esq., 
youngest in the fifth generation from Robert. A son of Puritan parents, 
Robert Chapman received from them their religious zeal, and all hia 
life was a man of exemplary piety. Only a short time before his death 
he wrote an address to his children, all of who were members of the 
church, in which he exhorted them to a devoted life and to abide by 
the covenant into which they had entered with God and his church. In 
the office of the Connecticut secretary of state are on file several letters 
written to Robert Chapman. 

Robert Chapman died October 13, 1687, at the age of seventy-ime. 
He was married April 29, 1642, to Ann Bliss. That union produced 
seven children : John, Robert Jr., Anna, Hannah, Nathaniel, Mary and 
Sarah. 

Robert Chapman, Jr., second son of the first settler, was bom in 
September, 1646, at Saybrook, and was an extensive agriculturist, own- 
ing at the time of his death not less than 2,000 acres. The town records 
show him to have been a man of large influence in civic affairs. For 
many years he was clerk of Oyster River Quarter, as well as conmiissioner 
and surveyor for the Town of Saybrook. From 1692 to 1711 he was a 
member of the Legislature, as already recorded. An even more interest- 
ing fact is that he was a member of the assembly that drafted the Say- 
brook platform in 1708, a work that has preserved the purity of the 
Congregational churches of Connecticut for more than two centuries. 
Robert Jr.'s first marriage was to Sarah Griswold of Norwich, Con- 
necticut, on July 27, 1671. She became the mother of nine children, and 
died April 7, 1692. On October 29, 1694, he married Mrs. Mary Sbeather, 
and by that union had four children. Those of the first marriage were 
named Samuel, Robert, Sarah, Francis, Dorcas, Steven, tlie next, a son, 
dying in infancy, then a second named Sarah and the last being also a 
son who died in infancy. By the second marriage the children were 
Benjauiin, Steven, Mehitabel and Abigail. Robert Chapman. Jr., died 
suddenly while in the Hartford courtroom in November, 1711. He was 
laid away in the old burial ground at Hartford, in the rear of the Center 
Church, and on his tombstone, which can now be found about a rod 
north of the monument on which are inscribed the names of the first 
settlers of Hartford, is this inscription: "Here lyeth the body of 
Robert Chapman who departed this life November ye 10th, 1711, aged 
65 years." 

Capt. Samuel Chapman, eldest son of Robert Jr., was bom Septem- 
ber 12, 1672. On December 6, 1693, he married Margaret Griswold, a 
daughter of Capt. Samuel Griswold of Norwich. By her he had ten 
children. Mrs. Chapman died December 21, 1750. Captain Samuel was 
prominent both in civic and military affairs. His home was in what is 
now the Town of Westbrook, and he was one of the original fourteen 
persons who were banded into a church organization at that place June 
29, 1726. The date of his death is not known. His children were: 
Sarah. Jlargaret, Samuel, Martha, Temperance, Jcdediah, Mehitabel, 
Caleb, Lucy and Aaron. 

Jcdediah, second son of Captain Samuel, was born at Westbrook, 
October 9, 1703. He married Miss Hester Kirkland June 5. 1723, and 
there were eight children. Jedediah was well known in Westbrook as 
a soldier, citizen and churchman, served as a major in the infantry, 
was by profession a lawyer, and held the possession of deacon in the 



y Google 



820 HISTOBY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

church from 1732 until his death which occurred at Westbrook, Febru- 
ary 10, 1764, in bis sixty-first year. The na&ies of his children were 
Hester, Temperance, Jedediab, Ann, Reuben, Charity, Chloe and Tabitha. 

Jedediah (second) eldest son of Major Jedediah, was bom at West- 
brook, December 15, 1726, and was married to Miss Mary Qrimieli in 
1755. From 1771 until his death on February 29, 1816, a period of 
forty-four years, he also served the church of Westbrook as deacon. He 
was for twenty years a justice of the peace. The Chapmans lived to great 
age, and this Jedediah was ninety at the time of his death. His children 
were Dan, Jedediah, Constant, Hester, Lueilla, Mary, Ann and Aaron. 

Constant, son of Deacon Jedediah Chapman, was born at Westbro<^, 
Connecticut, December 27, 1760, and on January 27, 1785, married Miss 
Jemima Kelsey of Killingworth, Connecticut. They bad nine children. 
The Chapman descendants get their eligibility to membership in the 
Sons and Daughters of the American Revolution through Constant Chap- 
man, who at the early age of sixteen entered the Revolutionary army 
and for six years was under the immediate command of Washington. 
For a time be was one of that general's body guard. He was in the 
battle on Long Island, at Germantown, Trinceton and Treuton, 
experienced all the rigors of the winter at Valley Forge, and participated 
in that great triumph of American arms in the final surrender of Corn- 
wallis at Yorktown. Further interest attaches to his career for the fact 
that he was the first in this branch to follow the sea as a calling. He 
was a sailor for many years, and rose to the position of commander of a 
merchant vessel trading on the coast of South America, also across the 
ocean to Lisbon and other foreign ports. In 1793, during the friction 
between the youthful Republic of America and the French government, 
which almost precipitated a war between the two countries, the vessel of 
which he was captain was captured by the French off Porto Rico, was 
scuttled and sunk, while he and his crew were carried prisoners to the 
French Island of Ouadaloupe. After four months he was liberated. 
On retiring from the sea he chose a residence in the interior, and hia 
last days were spent at Brimfield in Portage County, Ohio, where he 
died in 1850 at the age of ninety. His children were Lydia K., Thurot 
F., John K., Anna M., Chloe P., Mary C, Joseph G., Jemima T. and 
Henry C. It is noticeable that the children of Constant all had middle 
names, a practice which was not followed in the earlier generations. 

The history of the Chapman family in Northern Ohio begins with 
Thurot F. Chapman, eldest son of the Revolutionary soldier Constant. 
Thurot was bom at Old Killingworth, Connecticut, December 7, 1789. 
He was twice married, November 17, 1810, he married Lydia Andress, 
who became the mother of one child. October 16, 183^, he married 
Elizabeth Furray, and there were three children of that union. The 
military record of the family is continued through Thurot F. Chapman, 
who in the War of 1812 enlisted in Colonel Van Rensselaer's Regiment 
of New York Militia, crossed the Niagara River into Canada, and 
participated in the battle of Queenrtown Heights, where he was taken 
prisoner and afterwards paroled. Like his father, he also followed the 
sea for a time, being engaged in the coasting trade, and for a number 
of years operated vessels engaged in eodfishing off the Banks of New- 
foundland and the Straits of Belle Isle. A character sketch of Thurot F. 
Chapman ^ows him to be a man of sterling integrity, of most generous 
impulses, so that the poor and oppressed were never turned from his 
door without practical help, and during the early half of the last 
century, while living in Northern Ohio, his home proved a refuge to 
many a poor slave who was following the underground railroad route to 
freedom in Canada. He kept these fugitives, fed and sheltered them, 
and carried them over bis section of the underground railroad to the 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 621 

neit station. For several years Thorot F, ChapmaD lived at Smithville, 
Chenango County, New York, but in 1817 emigrated to the wilderness 
of the Ohio Western Reserve, aud the greater part of his life thereafter 
was spent in Lorain County. As a pioneer few individuals did a more 
important work in clearing away the primeval wilderness which was the 
primary obstacle to cultivation and the real establishment of civilization 
in this country. For a number of years he carried on this work both 
by his own labor and by superintendence of others, and is said to have 
cleared up and fenced nearly 300 acres of land. Thurot F, Chapman 
died in Lorain County, December 16, 1860, at the age of seventy-one. 
He made his Christianity a practical force in everyday life, was one of 
the early members of the Congregational school in Lorain County and 
was one of the strongest forces working for morality and clean living in 
the early days. The children of Thurot F. Chapman were : Alonzo A., 
whose name is taken up in the following paragraphs: Emily A., wife 
of Lucius R. Fields of Oberlin; Degrass S., who enlisted during the 
Civil war in Company K of the Twenty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 
was wounded at the battle of Antietara and died six days later in the 
field hospital at the age of twenty-four; and Harlan P., of whom a 
separate sketch appears. The mother of the last three children was bom 
in New Durham, Greene County, New York, March 9, 1P04, and lost her 
life as the result of an accident at Oberlin, June 12, 1876. 

Alonzo A. Chapman, eldest son of Thurot F., was born August 25, 
1811, at Smithfield, New York, and was only a child when his parents 
brought him to Lorain County, Ohio, in 1817. He was married Septem- 
ber 30, 1832, to Miss Margaret Taylor, and had seven children by that 
union. He grew up in Eaton Township, and for many years was a 
farmer there, and was also called upon to till various positions of trust 
in civic and religious bodies. For more than half a century he was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and belonged to the first - 
class organized at LaPorte, In 1866 he moved his family to Ridgfville, 
in Henry County, Ohio, and for many years was in the lumber business. 
His death occurred at Ridgeville Comers, August 5, 1890, at the age of 
seventy-nine. His children were : "William T., Mary L., Henry L. 
{first}, Emory N., Pamela A., FacelJa and Henry L, (second). 

William T. Chapman, eldest son of Alonzo A., was bom in Eaton 
Township of Lorain County on Butternut Ridge, July 10, 1833. He was 
married March 21, 1854, to Jliss Fidelia S. Bannister, and l)ecame the 
father of three children. Perhaps no man in Lorain County made a 
more notable record as an educator than William T. Chapman. He 
entered the profession in the fall of 1852 and followed it practically 
continuously save for his service in the array until the spring of 1890, a 
period of thirty-eight years. His record aggregates fifty-seven terms. 
Eighteen of these terms were taught in Lorain County, one term in 
Cuyahoga County, two terms in Defiance County, two terms in Lucas 
County, twenty-three terms in Henry County, and eleven terms in Fulton 
County, al! in Ohio. In 1867 he removed with his family to Henry 
Connty, settling in Ridgeville, and lived there for a number of years. 
His children were : Minnie E., Myra 0., and Myrta J. 

The sons of Alonzo Chapman made a notable record as soldiers in 
the Civil war. William T. enlisted as a private August 4, 1862, and 
upon the organization of his company was made a sergeant. In Decem- 
ber, 1862, he was made orderly sergeant, and in June following received 
his commission as second lieutenant of Company H, One Hundred and 
Third Ohio Volunteer Infantry. In March, 1864, he was discharged for 
physical disability by order of Secretary of War Edwin M. Stanton. 

The second son of Alonzo A. Chapman. Emory N. Chapman, enlisted 
August 11, 1862, in Company H of the One Hundred and Third Ohio 



y Google 



622 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Xufaiitry, and was discharged September 17, 1864, on account of wounds 
received at Resaca, Georgia, on May 14, 1864. 

Henry L., fourth son of Alonzo, enlisted December 24, 1863, in Com- 
pany F of the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Ohio Infantry, and 
being taken with the smallpox was left in a tobacco shed at Concord 
ijtation in East Tennessee, and while there both feet were frozen so the 
toes came off. For these injuries he received an honorable discharee 
May 31, 1865. 

Hari^an p. Chapman. A gallant soldier during the war, a success- 
ful farmer, and long identiiied with public affairs in Lorain County, 
Harlan P. Chapman has well upheld the traditions of the Chapmans 
for loyal and upright citizenship, and is one of the most honored members 
of that worthy family, the lineage of which down to recent generations 
has been traced on preceding pages. 

The youngest child of Thurot F. and Elizabeth (Purray) Chapman, 
Harlan P. Chapman was born on Butternut Ridge in Eaton Township, 
Lorain County, September 6, 1844. In his boyh<H>d and early yonth he 
attended the common schools of that locality, and had the benefit of two 
terms at Oberlin College. The wholesome environment of a farm pro- 
vided bone and sinew for his intellectual training, and he had not yet 
reached years of manhood when the Civil war came upon the country 
and he responded to the call to help preserve the Union. AuguA 4, 1862, 
he enlisted in Company H of the One Hundred and Third Regiment of 
Ohio Infantry, and was first sent to Camp Cleveland and then to Cin- 
cinnati, whence his command marched into Kentucky and spent the 
following winter at Frankfort. In April, 1863, the r^ment moved 
across the state to the Cumberland River, where it was engaged in 
several skirmishes with the Confederates. In the following August they 
. wer6 placed under the command of Burnside, then crossed the Cumber- 
land Mountains and participated in the historic campaign in East 
Tennessee. Mr. Chapman participated in the Battle of Blue Springs, 
Knoxville and Armstrong's Hill, and at the latter battle, which took 
place on Thanksgiving Day, November 25, 1863, received, a serious 
wound, from which he never fully recovered and carries to this day a 
musket ball imbedded yi the hip joint. For nine months he was confined 
to a hospital, and then went home on a furlough. Before being ordered 
back to the hospital he was married on March 31, 1864, and a pair of 
crutches were under his arms as he took his part in the ceremony which 
made him and Miss Mary C. Pitkin man and wife. Miss Pitkin's home 
was at Brunswick, Medina County. Mr. Chapman was not called upon 
for further active service with the army and received his honorable 
discharge June 27, 1864. Having in the meantime become head of a 
family he then settled upon his present farm in Carlisle Township near 
the Village of LaPorte. 

"While fully half a century has been given to his duties as an agricul- 
turist, this has been frequently interrupted by periods of public service. 
A stanch republican, Mr, Chapman has enjoyed the position of a leader 
in his party in this county. For three years he served as postmaster at 
LaPorte and at the same time conducted a general store there. In 
November, 1892, he was elected treasurer of Lorain County for a term 
of two years and re-elected, so that he served altogether four years as 
county treasurer. Since then he has been mainly retired from public 
duties and from the active work of the farm, and now lives quietly at 
his attractive home in LaPorte, three miles south of Elyria. His valuable 
farm of fifty-three acres is nicely situated on the electric interurban line. 

Mr. Chapman is a charter member of Richard Allen Post, G. A. R., 
at Elyria, and has several times been honored with the ofBce of post 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



W^ M.&K&^TUtu^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 623 

commaDder. At the recent general census he was sent as enumerator 
for Carlisle Township. lu January, 1911, the Sons of Veterans organ- 
ized the H. P. Chapman Camp aX Elyria, and the naming of this camp 
was a fit recognition of the services of one of Lorain County's gallant 
soldiers. 

Mr. Chapman and wife are the parents of three children. The 
oldest, Erie D., is individually mentioned on other pages. The son Otto 
B. is married and is now managing the old farm at LaPorte, Oleo E, 
is now the wife of A. E. Giles, also living at LaPorte. The two younger 
children were born at LaPorte, and tJie oldest was born at Brunswick in 
Medina County. Otto and his sister Mrs, Giles were educated at LaPorte 
and in the public schools of Etyria, and Mrs. Giles is a graduate of the 
high school of the latter city. Possessing exceptional musical talent, she 
was trained in that art in the Conservatory of Music at Oberlin and is 
now a well known teacher of piano. Her husband is also a graduate of 
the Elyria High School, and has been prominent in musical circles, being 
a member of the Elyria City Band and of the local orchestra. Mr. Giles 
is now pursuing a business course in the Oberlin Business College, 

Erie D. Chapman. The actual administration of the Elyria post- 
office has been in the hands of Erie D. Chapman now for more than 
seventeen years. As assistant postmaster he has every detail of that 
office at his lingers' ends, and has proved himself vigilant, diligent, pro- 
ficient and well worthy of the responsibilities reposed in him. He is one 
of the best known citizens of Lorain County and possesses the sub- 
stantial character and solid ability for which the Chapman family have 
always been noted. He is a son of Harlan P. and Mary C (Pitkin) 
Chapman, and a member of the noted Chapman family whose line has 
been traced on preceding pages since it was first established in America 
upwards of 300 years ago. 

Bom at Brunswick, Medina County, Ohio, March 21, 1868, Erie D. 
Chapman as a boy attended the public schools both of Elyria and Ober- 
lin, and is a graduate of the Oberlin Business College. His practical 
career began as clerk in a dry goods store in Oberlin, and from there he 
came to Elyria and during the four years his father was county 
treasurer, during the '90s, was chief assistant in that office. O. F, 
Carter of Oberlin succeeded Harlan P. Chapman as county treasurer, 
and the latter's son remained on duty under County Treasurer Carter 
for a little over six months, from September to March. 

It was in March, 1898, that Mr. Chapman became identified with the 
Elyria postoffice as assistant postmaster. At that time I. II. Griswold 
was postmaster. In a short time he had made himself master of the 
varied details of the local office, and made his services so invaluable that 
he was retained in the same position by J. H. Bath, who succeeded 
Mr. Griswold, and when in 1913, following a change from republican to 
democratic administration, D. W. Seward was .appointed under the new 
regime, Mr. Chapman was retained as assistant, and his work has been 
such that he ought to be held in that office as long as he desires it. In 
March, 1915, he completed seventeen years of continuous service, and 
during that time had helped reorganize the local management to provide 
for the successive improvements made in postal affairs, first looking after 
the arrangements of rnral delivery routc-s and in more recent .veara 
having s part in the introduction of the postal savings and parcel post 
features to the local service. 

In politics Mr. Chapman is a stanch republican, and has served on a 
number of committees of the party. Fraternally he is affiliated with 
King Solomon Lodge No. 56, F. & A. M., at Elyria, with the Royal Arch 
Chapters, the Council, with the Knight Templar Commandery and with 
Al Koran Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Cleveland. He is a charter 



y Google 



624 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

member of Lodge No. 465 of the Benevolent Protective Order of 
Elks, a member of the Fraternal Order of Eagles, belongs to the H. P. 
Chapman Camp, Sons of Veterans, w^ich was organized and named in 
honor of his father in January, 191L He is also a charter member of 
the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. Though his duties confine him 
closely he takes his recreations out of doors in ^hing and hunting trips 
whenever possible. 

On April 20, 1898, Mr. Chapman married Miss Minnie Elizabeth 
Thayer of Elyria. Her father, James Thayer, is now living with Mr. and 
Mrs. Chapman, and her mother died here several years ago. They were 
Ohio people, lived near ZanesviUe for a number of years, but Mrs. Chap- 
man was born in Medina County. She was educated in the Elyria public 
schools, and as a musician has a reputation of more than local note. She 
attended the Oberlin Conservatory of Music and the Cleveland School 
of Music, and also took instruction under private teachers at Cleveland 
both in piano and violin. An honor that recently came to her was her 
appointment as director of the Elyria Extension Department of the 
Sherwood Music School of Chicago. The Sherwood Music School, which 
was founded by the late William H. Sherwood, whose reputation as 
America's greatest pianist is hardly disputed, is the only conservatory 
of established reputation to adopt the plan of extension work, though 
several of the noted European schools of music have long applied that 
system. Mrs. Chapman for the past ten years, since 1905, has been 
leader of the theater orchestra of Elyria, and has conducted a large class 
of students in the study of violin and piano. It was her standing in 
local musical circles which led to her selection by the Sherwood School 
to take charge of the local branch of its extension department. This 
extension department affords the prestige and experience of one of the 
best known conservatories to Elyria, so that local students, without the 
expense involved in months of residence away from home, may secure 
the advantages of metropolitan conservatory training and earn credits 
and diplomas that entitled them to recognition for proficiency in their 
chosen art. Mr. and Mrs. Chapman are the parents of three sons; 
Harlan Thayer, who is in the U. S. Navy, Erie Degrass and Max Joslyn, 
They were all bom in Elyria and are the two youngest students in the 
graded schools of that city. 

Erwin Worcester. For a great many years the Worcester family 
have been identified with that part of Lorain County ad.iacent to Oberlin, 
and Erwin Worcester, whose enterprise as a dairyman is the lai^st 
business of its kind in Oberlin, is a brother of P. fl. Worcester, in con- 
nection with whose name are published many facts of family history 
and interest. 

Born near Oberlin, January 31, 1871, Erwin Worcester has had a 
very active career. He grew up in the country, attended the public 
schools and hiprh school, and his first reirular occupation was as a car- 
penter, which he followed ten years. He then went to the Far West 
and from San FranciBco sailed out on various vessels along the Pacific 
Coast nnd in the Pacific trade as a salt water mariner for four years. 
With that experience he came hack to Lorain County, graduated from 
the business college in 1895. and then continued his studies in the Oberlin 
Academy for one vear. For five years Mr. Worcester was connected 
with a mail order house in Toledo, and after that for nine years was at 
Cleveland, engaged in contracting and in the railway mail service. 

On returning to Oberlin in 1910 he engatred in the dairy business 
and now has the larpest concern of its kind tribntarv to the city. 

Tn March. 1897, he mnrried Bertha C. Ba^aley, dauehter of Edwin 
Baggaley, who was a native of England, and since coming to America 



h.'^iUOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 625 

has lived in Wood County, where he has beeD conneeted with various 
lines of business and at one time was postmaster at Weston. Mrs. 
Worcester was born at Weston, Ohio, To their union have been born 
four children : Marion Emeline, now attending high school ; Madge 
in the sixth grade of the public schools; Irene in the fourth grade; and 
Kenneth Edwin, who is four years of age. The family are members of 
the Second Congregational Church at Oberlin, and in politics Mr. 
Worcester is independent. His success in life is due to the fact that 
he has devoted himself absolutely to the business in hand and he is 
now giving his time and attention to the dairy business. 

Hem.in Ely. By its name Elyria will always be a memorial to the 
enterprising activities of the Ely family. While there were a few earlier 
settlers than Judge Heman Ely, he is properly considered the founder 
of the town, gave it its name, and breathed into the community that 
spirit of vitality and progress which in more modern years has made 
Elyria "the hundred per cent city." While the history of the city 
found on other pages is a rellection of the life of Judge Heman Ely, it 
is proper to combine In a special sketch the main facts of his interesting 
career. 

He was bom at West Springfield, Massachusetts, April 24, 1775, and 
died in Elyria February 2, ,1852. His father, Justin Ely, of West 
Springfield, was a very extensive dealer in real estate, and was one of 
the original proprietors of what was then known as "the Connecticut 
Western Reserve" in Ohio, under the Connecticut I^and Company. 
Judge Ely, who was the fourth in the family of his father, subsequently 
succeeded to his father's properties in what is now Lorain County. Aa 
a young man, early in the nineteenth century, he became interested in 
buying extensive tracts of land in Central and Western New York, and 
under his direction much of this land was surveyed and sold to settlera. 
Nearly coincident with these enterprises he was engaged in partnership 
with his brother Theodore in New York City, and for ten years they 
managed an extensive exporting business, dealing with European coun- 
tries and the East Indies. As a matter of business Heman Ely was 
one of the few Americans of that time who frequently "went abroad." 
He visited England, Holland, France and Spain, and remained in 
Prance long enough to acquire the language, for that purpose separating 
himself from pleasant friends and living entirety with French families. 
His residence in Paris, from July, 1809, to April, 1810, made him a 
witness of events of world-wide significance. It was the high tide of 
Emperor Napoleon's reign. In August, 1809, Judge Ely witnessed the 
grand fete when Napoleon appeared with Empress Josephine, and in 
the evening he attended a ball at the Hotel de Vllle, where a cotillion 
was danced by a set composed exclosively of kings and queens. A few 
months later Empress Josephine was divorced, and Judge Ely was a 
spectator of the formal entrance Into Paris of Emperor Napoleon with 
Empress Maria Louise of Austria, followed by the religious ceremony 
of their marriage at the Chapel of the Tuilleries. As all students of 
European history are aware, practically every nation was then engaged 
in warfare, with Napoleon and Prance combating practically the entire 
civilized world except America. Consequently, and partly in view of 
the embargo placed by the French emperor upon all commerce between 
England and the continental countries, It was no easy matter for any 
foreigner to pass from country to country. Judge Ely apparently 
possessed that typical American quality of being able to make his w^ 
anywhere and under any circumstances, and was always quick to act in 
any emergency or adventure. He frequently ran the blockade, was shot 



y Google 



626 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

at by privateers, and wlienever means of transportation failed he would 
seize a small fishing boat to make his way from one country to another. 
Jn entering France he was accompanied by one friend, Mr. Charles R. 
Codman of Boston. They took passage from England to Holland in a 
Dutch fishing boat. Gendarmes patrolled the coast of Holland, and 
fired upon the Httle vessel as it attempted to land. Waiting until the 
cover of darkness, they quickly landed on the shores of an unknown 
country, where neither of the Americans had knowledge of a word of 
the Dutch language. For eight miles they carried their baggage, avoid- 
ing towns and iine mansions, and finally found a peasant who was willing 
to give them food and look after their baggage, which he later buried in 
the sand in order that it might not be discovered in case soldiers should 
search his cottage. The travelers then walked to Rotterdam, and soon 
found means to send a servant into the country to get their baggage. 
The travelers were closely questioned at Antwerp and other places, but 
finally reached Paris on July 9, 1809. While in Paris one raoruing they 
were ordered from their beds to the police courts on suspicion of speak- 
ing ill of Napoleon, but after some delay and annoyance were released. 
All France was then under an elaborate system of espionage, and cau- 
tion and courage were absolutely necessary to safety. 

In 1810 Judge Ely returned to America and the following year he 
paid his first visit to Ohio, going as far west as Cleveland. In some of 
his correspondence he made a special note of his trip by steamboat up 
the Hudson River. That was only several years after Robert Pulton's 
Clermont had made its pioneer voyage propelled by steam. Prom the 
Hudson River he had made most of his journey on horseback. The Ely 
possessions in Northern Ohio a^regated about 12,000 acres lying 
around the falls of the Black River. On going back to New England 
Mr. Ely passed by Niagara Falls, and thence went up the St. Lawrence 
River and through Montreal. The war with England, which broke out 
in 1812, made it unadvisable to open or settle new territory in Ohio, and 
it was not tmtil 1816 that he again visited the lands best known as ' ' No. 
6, Range 17, Connecticut Western Reserve." At that time he made 
arrangements for future settlement, contracting for the construction of 
a grist and sawmill and a log cabin to be completed early in the follow- 
ing year. 

In February, 1817, accompanied by his step-brother, Ebenezer Lane, 
who subsequently became chief justice of Ohio, and attended by a con- 
siderable company of skilled workmen and laborers, he left West Spring- 
field for the Western Reserve of Ohio. He and Mr. Lane rode in a stout 
covered wagon, while the others walked or rode on ox cart conveyances 
which also carried provisions and implements. March 17, 1817, the 
company forded the stream known as Btaek River and took possession 
of tbe log cabin already erected. The site chosen was high land be- 
tween the two branches of the Black River. Each branch had a fall of 
forty feet within a comparatively short stretch, and thus afforded some 
splendid water power, unusual in a country so prevailingly level as 
Northern Ohio. To the settlement Judge Ely supplied the name 
"Elyria," improvised from his own name, and from that time forward 
gave the hest enei^ea of his life to the development of the little com- 
munity of which he was the founder. 

In 1818 several houses were built, the largest being the home of 
Judgo Ely, a cut of which appears on other pages of this work, and 
another was the Beebe Tavern on the opposite side of Broad Street, which 
is also illustrated. Judge Ely's residence, the first frame house erected 
in Elyria, has been described as follows: "In dimensions 45x40 feet, 
two stories, with cellar under the main part; kitchen in the rear; fire- 



DignzBohy'^iUU'-^lL" 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 627 

place in every room, and brick oven in the kitctien. No stoves were 
known at that time. The siding of the house was made from a single 
whitewood tree cut on the place near a bend in the road. A large bam 
was built at the time. Invitatirais were sent to Ridgeville, which was 
settled before Elyria, and both frames were raised on the same day." 

Up to this time Mr. Ely had lived a bachelor, but in the fall of 1S18 
he returned to his old home in West Sprin^eld as a passenger on 
Walk-on-the- Water, the first steamboat that ever plied Lake Erie 
to Buffalo, On October 9th he married Miss Celia Belden, who soon 
afterwards returned with him to the new village. As the house above 
described was not yet completed, they lived for a time in a log house. 
Mrs. Ely was a woman of lovable disposition and it was to the deep grief 
of her many friends that she did not long enjoy the home which she 
helped to niake. She died January 7, 1827. 

In 1818 a postoffice was established at Elyria. Six years later a new 
county was formed, and to it Judge Ely gave the name Lorain, with 
Elyria as the county seat. While abroad he had spent some delightful 
months in the Province of Lorraine, Prance, and it was in honor of that 
country of such diversified national experience that Lorain ('ouuty was 
named. At the same time the First Church of Christ was organized at 
Elyria, with Rev, Daniel W. Lathrop as pastor. Religions services, 
however, had been conducted in previous years. Judge Ely collected 
members of Ihe little colony and read them a semion, and called upon 
professing Christians to offer prayer. While not a member of any 
church himself, he valued Christian institutions, and contributed liberally 
to their maintenance. However, in 1841, the reading of a*"Child'8 
Book on Repentance," written by Rev, Thomas H, Gallaudet, wrought a 
vital change in his personal experience. 

Nowhere is Judge Ely's influence more permanently impressed upon 
the present city than in the plan of the town. He arranged for broad 
intersecting streets, ample public grounds, and on opposite sides of the 
square assigned lots for a church and schoolhouse. He subsequently was 
the prime factor in erecting a building for a high school or academy, in 
a more retired locality, and built a commodious house for the residence 
of the principal in order that boarding pupils from the surrounding 
country might be accommodated. Thus more perhaps than any other 
individual he influenced the early institutional life of Elyria. 

Among the early settlers Judge Ely naturally possessed a leadership 
consequent upon his broad activities and his world travels and experi- 
ence. The range of his interests was remarkable. He was especially 
fond of horticulture, and spent much of the time in the summer seasons 
in his garden, where he collected the choicest varieties of vegetables, 
trees and vines, and this avocation likewise had its beneficial influence 
upon the community, since he freely distributed samples of his trees and 
shrubs to all who desired them. Thus in one way or another he was 
almost constantly engaged in some form of vital public service. During 
1831-32 he served as a member of the state board of equalization, and 
from 1835 to 1845 was one of the associate judges under the old state 
constitution. 

Miss Celia Belden, who married Judge Ely at West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, October 9, 1818, was bom in Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
October 5, 1796, a daughter of Col, Ezekiel Porter and Mary (Parsons) 
Belden. She died at Elyria January 7, 1827. There were three children 
of the iinion ; Heman, Jr., Albert and Mary Belden, all now deceased. 
At Mansfield, Connecticut, August 20, 1828, Judge Ely married Harriet 
M. Salter, daughter of Gen. John Salter. She was born at ftlansfield, 
Connecticut, March 20, 1792, and died at Elyria August 6, 1846. The 



y Google 



628 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

one BOB of this union, Charles A., died in 1864. On December 7, 1846, 
he married for his third wife Mrs. Cynthia Sergeant, widow of John 
Sergeant of Stockbridge, Massachusetts, and daughter of Dr. Jeremiah 
and Amelia (Ely) West of Tolland, Connecticut. She was bom at 
Tolland July 21, 1791, and died at Hartford, Connecticut, August 5, 1871. 

Heman Ely, Jr. Son of Judge Heman Ely, the founder of Elyria, 
whose life and services liave been sketched on other pages, Heman 
Ely, Jr., likewise made himself a conspicuous factor in the business and 
public life of Elyria. Bom at Elyria October 30, 1820, he died in that 
city July 8, 1894, at the age of seventy-four. As a boy he attended the 
old Elyria High School, and also attended a school at Farmington, 
Connecticut. In his father's office he acquired a thorough training and 
insight into the real estate business, which he followed for many y^ars. 
Like his father, though at a later period in the development of the 
county, he identified himself with many of its leading institutions. He 
was connected with the old Lorain Bank, established in 1847, with its 
successor, the First National Bank, organized in 1864, and with the 
successor of the First National, the National Bank of Elyria, organized 
in 1883. He was president of the National Bank of Elyria at the time 
of his death, and had been in each successive institution a director, and 
for a number of years had been vice president. In 1852, with a number 
of other men, he secured the building of that section of the Lake Shore 
&. Michigan Southern Railway, then known as the "Junction Road," 
from Cleveland to Toledo. From 1870 to 1873 he was a member of the 
State Legislature, and assisted in molding the first insurance laws for 
the State of Ohio. 

On September 1, 1841, Mr. Ely married Miss Mary Harris Montieth, 
a daughter of Rev. John and Abi^il (Harris) Montieth. To this union 
were bom three children : Celia Belden ; George H. Ely, who is a well 
known citizen of Elyria, and former state senator; and Mary Montieth. 
The mother of these children died at Elyria March 1, 1849. On May 
27, 1850, Mr. Ely married for his second wife Miss Mary F. Day, 
daughter of Hon. Thomas and Sarah (Coit) Day, of the prominent 
family of that name originating in Hartford, Connecticut. To the sec- 
ond marriage were bom four children : Edith Day, Charles Theodore, 
Albert Heman and Harriette Putnam. Mrs. Ely died at Elyria in 1895, 
about a year after her husband. 

The late Mr. Ely was very prominent in social affairs and was really 
a gentleman of the old school. Distinguished honors were paid him in 
the ^lasonic fraternity. He took his first degrees in that order in 1852. 
From 1858 to 1871 he was worshipful master of King Solomon Lodge 
No, 56, at Elyria. In 1857 he received the Order of Knighthood in 
Oriental Commandery of Knights Templar No. 12, at Cleveland, and 
served as eminent commander there from December, 1861, to December, 
1865, and from 1864 to 1871 was grand commander of the grand com- 
mandery of Knights Templar of Ohio. He was also identified with the 
supreme council of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite for the Northern 
Masonic Jurisdiction of the United States, and was its treasurer from 
May, 1867, to September, 1891. He received the much coveted honor 
of a thirty-third degree. The Congregational Church of Elyria has 
much for which to be grateful to members of the Ely family, and to 
Heman Ely, Jr., in particular. He was a member of that congregation 
from 1838, and for many years one of its officers and for ten years 
superintendent of the Sunday school. In politics he was a republican, 
Personaliy, while the range of his interests was widely extended, he was 
averse to undue notice, and preferred the unassuming, charitable and 
dignified position of the private citizen. 



b.»^iOOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 629 

John J. Nichols. It was given to the late John J. Nichols to become 
one of the representative agriculturists and stock-growers of Lorain 
County, and he was a child at the time when the family home was 
established in Ohio. He wss born at Sizing, Norfolkshire, England, and 
was a son of John and Elizabeth (Dent) Nichols, the former of whom 
was bom and reared at Elzing and the latter of whom was bom at 
Castle Acre, England, a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Titeringim) 
Dent, John Nichols was born in the year 1800 and bore the full patro- 
nymic of his father, John Nichols, Sr. John and Elizabeth (Dent) 
Nichols came to America in the year 1835, and their voyage across the 
Atlantic was made on a sailing vessel of the type common to that period, 
six weeks and one day elapsed ere they disembarked in the port of New 
York City, whence they soon afterward continued their westward journey 
and established their home on a pioneer farm near Sandusky, Ohio, the 
remainder of their lives having been passed in Erie County. Of their 
eleven children five were born in England, and the other six claimed 
the United States as their place of nativity. 

John J, Nichols was a child at the time of the family immigration to 
the United States and he was reared to adult age on the pioneer farm of 
his father iu Erie County, Ohio, where his early education was obtained 
in the common schools of the period. He continued his active association 
with agricultural enterprise in Erie County until about the year 1855, 
when he came to Lorain County and instituted the development of a , 
farm in Black River Township, where he engaged also in the manufacture 
of brick. He became one of the representative men of the township 
and here both he and his wife passed the residue of their lives, as promi- 
nent and honored citizens of Lorain County. They were pioneer mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Lorain County and were 
zealous members of the First Methodist Church of Lorain for many years. 

The marriage of Mr. Nichols to Miss Martha Elwood was solemnized 
in Erie County, and they became the parents of three children. After 
the death of his first wife Mr. Nichols wedded Miss Deborah W. Lowe, 
daughter of Stephen and Rebecca Lowe, and she survived him by a 
number of years. 

Concerning the children of Mr, and Mrs. Nichols the following brief 
data are given: Ezra C. married Miss Ella Thomas; Violet E. became 
the wife of William E. Lowe ; Elmina died in infancy ; Byron G, is indi- 
vidually mentioned on other pages of this publication; Charles A. is 
likewise the subject of a specific sketch in this work ; J. Bert married 
Miss Jennie Ramsdell ; Erwin H. first married Miss Ida M. Hicks and 
after her death wedded Miss Eva Bryant ; and Miss Orace E, is a popu- 
lar teacher in the public schools of Lorain County. 

Of the eleven children of John and Elizabeth (Dent) Nichols the five 
who were bom prior to the family immigration to the United States were 
Thomas. Mary. Susan. John J. and Ann, and the names of those who 
were born in Erie County, Ohio, were as here noted: George, William, 
Samuel, Elizabeth, Delia and Benjamin. 

Ch,\bi,es a, Nichols. He whose name introduces this paragraph is 
a native son of Lorain County and is a scion of staunch English stock, his 
paternal grandparents having come from England to establish a home in 
America somewhat more than eighty years ago. He has been a resident 
of Lorain County from the time of his nativity and is now engaged in the 
real estate and insurance business as one of the representative exponents 
of these lines of enterprise in the City of Lorain. 

Charles Arthur Nichols was bom in Black River Township, Lorain 
County, Ohio, on the 2d of February, 1870, and is a son of John J. and 



y Google 



630 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Deborah (Chase) Nichols, concerning whom more specific mention is 
made on other pages of this work. In the public schools of Lorain 
County Mr, Nichols acquired his early educational training, and in 
the meanwhile he gained effective discipline in connection with the 
operations of his father's farm. As a youth he became a clerk in a 
grocery store in the City of Lorain, and after he had gained a thorough 
knowledge of the details of this line of enterprise he engaged in the retail 
grocery business in an independent way, as a member of the firm of 
Nichols & Gawn, in which his coadjutor was Harry B. Gawn. This 
alliance continued eight years, and since that time Mr. Nichols has been 
engaged in the real estate and insurance business in Lorain, where he has 
built up a substantial and representative enterprise in these important 
lines and where he gives special attention to the handling of city property. 

Mr. Nichols is a progressive business man and alert and public- 
spirited citizen of his native county, where he takes lively interest in 
all things that tend to advance civic and material prosperity. His 
political allegiance is given to the republican party, and he is affiliafed 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and with the Tribe of Ben 
Hur. 

On the 26th of December, 1892, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Nichols to Miss Hattie Burtis, a native of New York State, and they 
have sis children, namely: Lucille, John Raymond, James Burtis, Nina 
May, Charles Arthur, Jr., and Virginia, 

Miss Alha Rose Moriarty. In a list of the prominent citizens of 
any community today, mention is made of women as well as men, for 
whether they are actively in the business world or not, the high position 
of woman as a factor in civilization is being recognized as it has never 
■ been before. Any person, regardless of sex, who has accomplished as 
much real service in a community as Miss Rose Moriarty has performed 
in Elyria, is entitled to all the commendation and respect which true 
ability should command anywhere. 

For nearly fifteen years Miss Moriarty has been identified with the 
municipal government of Elyria. She has served through six successive 
administrations as deputy eity auditor, and is not only a master of the 
routine detail of ofiice but has always been equal to any of the emergen- 
cies and it is said that she possesses a broader, more exact and pertinent 
knowledge of municipal law than any member of the local bar. Few 
individuals are better qualified for civic leadership than this splendid 
young Ohio woman, Rose Moriarty. 

She was born at Elyria, December 19, 1882, a daughter of Thomas 
and Ellen (Enright) Aloriarty, both of whom are now deceased. Miss 
Moriarty acquired her early education in the Elyria public schools, 
graduating from high school in June, 1900, and immediately entering 
the Elyria Business Collie, in which she completed her course by Janu- 
ary, 1901, With the exception of a few months of employment in the 
otfice of Topliff & Ely, she has always worked for the eity. Her appoint- 
ment as deputy city clerk came on October 3, 1901, from W, H. Park, 
and when the office of city auditor was created in 1903, she was appointed 
the deputy. She became clerk of the department of public safety May 
3, 1903, and at the same date was appointed clerk of the sinking fund 
department, and has been clerk of the civil service department since 
January 1, 1910. By her industrj', earnestness, broad comprehension, 
Miss Moriarty has gained the esteem and admiration of all the friends 
and leaders in the good government movement at Elyria. One of the 
strongest testimonials to her ability is found in the public statement 
recently made by C. M, Braman, in his announcement of his candidacy 



hv'^iUU'^IL' 



A-t_^ / '/ c!-iy^ OyM/^ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 631 

for the office of city auditor. Mr. Braman said: "I declare it my 
intcatioD, if DomiDated in the primaries and honored by an election in 
November, to retain the services of Miss Rose Moriarty as deputy, who 
has served in an admirable capacity through three administrations. She 
is too well known to the voters of Elyria to require any extensive intro- 
duction in this article. Not only has she served with high credit in the 
auditing department of the city, hut has rendered invaluable service in 
every department of the city government by reason of her broad and 
correct knowledge of municipal affairs. 1 would regard it a duty to 
retain her in office so long as her services are of such high order, and 
cooperate with her to the extent of my ability. A victory for myself I 
shall construe quite as much a tribute to Miss Moriarty, who has honored 
her city here at home and brought much credit to it over the Stat«." 

^liss Moriarty out of her experience and study is a woman who has 
something to say, and has the ability to state her position and her argu- 
ments with an earnest forcefulness which has frequently brought admir- 
ing comments. She has quite frequently delivered addresses before 
various gatherings and one of her addresses which attracted wide atten- 
tion wa£ that on Civic Righteousness, which she delivered several times 
in Lorain County. Miss Moriarty is a republican in politics, and is one 
of the local leaders in the equal suffrage movement, and a member of the 
Ohio Woman Suffrage Association. She is also affiliated with the Ladies 
of the Maccabees, and the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Ohio. 
Miss ^loriarty is numbered among the stockholders of the Lorain County 
Bank. 

Sumner G. Crooks. A native of the old Buckeye State, Sumner 
Ceorge Crooks has gained prestige as one of the representative business 
men of the younger generation in the thriving City of Lorain, where he 
is the efficient and popular manager of the substantial business here con- 
ducted by the Sumner Creamery Company, which is a branch of an 
extensive business which has its headquarters in the City of Akron, the 
enterprise in Lorain having been established on the 1st of March, 1909, 
and the progressive, careful and energetic administration of the present 
manager having been the force through which the business has here 
been developed to its lai^e volume, making it a valuable contribution to 
the industrial prestige of the City and County of Lorain. 

Mr. Crooks was bom in Medina County, Ohio, on the 16th of March, 
1886, and is a son of Earl E. and Elta (Sumner) Crooks, likewise natives 
of this _state and representatives of sterling old families of Medina 
County.' He whose name introduces this article acquired his early 
education in the public schools of his native county, and when but twelve 
years of age he gained his initial experience in the creamery business, 
with which he has been continuously associated from his boyhood, and 
in the details of which, both technical and commercial, he is specially well 
informed, so that his judgment is authoritative in this important Held 
of enterprise. He manifests loyal interest in all that concerns the civic 
and material welfare and progress of his home city and is essentially a 
wide-awake and reliable young business man who has secure place in 
popular confidence and esteem. 

In the City of Akron, on the 3d of July, 1908, was solemnized the 
inarrinpe of Mr. Crooks to Miss? Flora Fclver, and their three children are : 
Audrey Burdell. Ruth Oene and June Agnes. 

Levi Morse. In this venerable and honored citizen who died at his 
home in Elyria July 28, 1899, aged eighty-seven years twenty-seven days, 
the city possessed not only one of its oldest residents but also a man who 



,Google 



682 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

represented in his long career the promlneat social and civic element 
which compoaed the citizensliip of this community throughout its growth 
from frontier settlement to a modem municipality. The late Levi Morse 
was a very remarltable man. Of his eighty-seven years of life, he had 
spent sixty-four at Elyria. He was both a witness and actor in the 
changing development of this long time. A substantial degree of ma- 
terial prosperity rewarded his industrious efforts, hut the honor paid 
to his memory is more specially due to his fine independence of char- 
acter, his active influence in the civic, social, religious and business 
community. He was a pioneer settler, a successful business man, and 
a broad minded, vigorous, charitable citizen. 

He brought with him to Elyria the stock of ideas, traditions, and 
character of a sturdy New England community. His ancestors were 
English, and he was descended from one of three brothers who came 
from England in the very early days. Many members of the Morse fam- 
ily are still living in and about New Haven, Connecticut, and in the 
county of that name at the Village of Prospect Levi Morse was bom 
July 1, 1812, in the same year that the second war broke out with Great 
Britain. His parents were Lent and Lydia (Doolittle) Morse. His 
father was bom in Cheshire, New Haven County, Connecticut, was a 
farmer by occupation and died at the age of sixty-seven. Mrs. Lydia 
Morse died at the age of fifty, and of her six children, Levi was the 
fourth in age. 

He was reared and educated at his native village and in 1835, at the 
age of twenty-three, came West in company with S. W. Baldwin and 
David B. Andrews. With these enterprising associates he boarded a 
sailing vessel at New Haven for New York, went by boat up the river to 
Albany, by canal packet to Buffalo, sailed up the lake as far as Cleve- 
land and from there came by stage coach to Elyria, where he arrived 
May 13, 1835. He found here a hamlet, with only three stores, a log 
bouse used for a jail and no church building, the population of the 
little community being about 400 inhabitants. He was associated with 
the enterprise of S. W. Baldwin, who established a store in the town, 
and his first years were spent as a trader among the settlers of Northern 
Ohio, exchanging articles of merchandise for furs and other frontier 
products. For a number of years he was in the employ of Mr. Baldwin, 
and then in 18i8 embarked in the dry goods business with another one 
of his companions who came West in 1835, David B. Andrews, under 
the firm name of D. B. Andrews & Company. About two years later 
Mr. Andrews died and Mr. ^lorse carried on the business alone for a 
time. 

One of the interesting facts which identifies him witli the early 
history of Elyria was his appointment as the first ticket agent for the 
Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway, and he assisted in running 
the first train to Berea and return on July 4, 1853. He filled that office 
for three years, after which for a time he was in the produce trade, buy- 
ing and selling grain. For many years he was associated with the firm 
of Baldwin, Laundon & Nelson. 

In 1863 Mr. Morse was elected township trustee, and with the excep- 
tion of one term filled that office continuously up to the time of his death. 
He was also superintendent of the county infirmary for over two years 
and at one time v&h township treasurer. In politics he was a repub- 
lican, but had cast his first vote for the whig candidate in 1833, and 
beginning with 1836 voted for every successive whig or republican 
candidate until the end of his life. In church relations he was a 
Methodist, joining the church when he first came to Elyria, when the 
society itself was only six or seven years old and was one of its oldest 



r, VlC.HJ'^JlL 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 633 

members when he died. He had been foremost in encouraging and sup- 
porting every interest of the church, had continuously held a position 
on the official board, and again and again had sacrificed time and money 
for the benefit of the organization. He was of the type of Christian who 
takes his religion into his daily life and affairs and expressed through 
his life many of the highest ideals of Christian manhood. He took a 
prominent part in building the first church home of the Methodists, now 
used by the Disciples Church on East Second Street, the church edifice 
having been dedicated there in 1851. Since 1S43 he had held an official 
position in the church, and at the time of his death was one among less 
than a dozen of the original membership of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church at Elyria. He was also the oldest living member of Elyria Lodge 
No. 103, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and always exemplified its 
highest mottos and symbolisms in his daily life. 

On December 15, 1840, Levi Morse married Miss Betsy Minerva 
Mann. She was bom in New York State December 7, 1818, and died at 
the home of her daughter, Mrs. J. F. Brant in Boston, Massachusetts, 
June 29, 1909, having succumbed to the infirmities of an age that made 
her ninety-one yeara old when she died. Following the death of her 
hoaband she had removed to Boston to live with her daughter in that 
city, but her remains were brought back to Elyria and laid beside those 
of her husband. To their marriage were bom ax children : Milo Wes- 
ley, who was born April 21, 1842, and in the full tide of his youth in 
1862 enlisted in Company E of the Forty-second Regiment of Ohio 
Volunteer Infantry and was killed while on duty as a sharpshooter at 
the siege of Vieksburg, May 25, 1863 ; Clara Adelia, who was born Jan- 
uary 15, 1846, and died February 18, 1849; Alfred D., born January 
20, 1851, and now a resident of Elyria; Edward P., bom November 11, 
1853, also a resident of Elyria; Lydia Blay, who is the wife of Rev. J. F. 
Brant, now prominent in the anti-saloon movement and living at Boston ; 
and Charles L., the youngest of the family, a resident of Elyria and 
mentioned on other pages. 

At the death of Levi Morse an entire community paid the sincere 
tribute of their respect and admiration for his. good and purposeful 
life. Addresses and resolutions of respect came from the church which 
be had so long served from the lodge of which he was the oldest initiate, 
and from men and women in all the walks of life. While these cannot 
be included in this brief sketch, it is only a matter o£ justice to quote 
somewhat at length from the remarks of his old friend and associate, 
William A. Braman, who spoke from intimate knowledge of the life and 
works of the good man who had gone to his reward. Mr. Braman spoke 
of Mr. Morse 's coming to Elyria when the present city was but a hamlet 
and when poverty was a common inheritance and when the ties of com- 
mon brotherhood were strong and enduring. He knew Mr. Morse as a 
boy and one of the first faces he remembered outside of his home circle 
was that of the citizen who had just died. That face he spoke of as 
kind and sympathetic, ' ' such a one as boys do not run away from. There 
was nothing forbidding about it, there was nothing imperious in his 
bearing. Our friend had early teamed an important secret, namely, 
that in order to have friends it is necessary to be friendly. 

"As a merchant Mr. Morse was popular. I recall remarks which 
were made by my father and mother, showing their estimate of his 
worth. In our family living six miles away, Mr. Morse was known as 
Levi. He was sought out as the favorite of the men doing business in 
Elyria at that time as being the one to trade with. They felt safe in his 
hands. Their faith in his honesty and integrity was unbounded. 

"In later years, when I became associated with him on the board of 



y Google 



634 HISTORY OP LORAIN pOUNTT 

trustees of the- township, I waa impressed with his fidelity to his con- 
stituents and his scrupulous regard for every detail pertaining to his 
office. His early education in his New England home had fitted him 
for the duties which he was called upon to perform. He early learned 
the value of money and in all my acquaintance I have never known a 
public officer in the distribution of the people's money to be more pain- 
staking and conscientious. For nearly forty years his office brought him 
in contact with the poor and unfortunate, and his hand, though not 
lavish, never closed against worthy objects. 

"He died in the harness at eighty -seven, having been chosen but a 
few months previous by his fellow citizens as their representative for 
the following three years. What a record! In full possession of all 
his faculties at eighty-seven. What a commentary! It speaks of his 
good habits and his correct life. Mr. Morse was one of the pillars of 
society, one of that class of sturdy men of character without which 
society would be a failure. His citizenship was always of a high order. 
In the agitation of every moral and social question he waa always to be 
found on the right side. It was never necessary to see him to find out 
where he stood. He was in favor of temperance, social order and the 
enforcement of laws. Not in a sensational sense, but his firmness was 
like the rock of ages."' 

In conclusion Mr, Braman quoted as typical of the conditions under 
which Levi Morse had quitted the earthly tabernacle the following beau- 
tiful lines : 

■ ' Let me die where the blue heaven bends over me lovingly, 

And the soft summer air as it goes by me stirs my thin white hair, 

And from my forehead drives the death damp as it gathers. 

And the sky seems waiting to receive my soul to their clear depths. 

Or let me leave the world when round my bed, 

Wife, children, weeping friends are gathered. 

And the calm voice of prayer 

And holy hymning shall ray soul prepare 

To go and be at rest with kindred spirits. 

Spirits who have blessed the human brotherhood 

By labors, cares, and counsels for their good." 

CH.tRLEs L, Morse. The youngest son of the late Levi and Betsy 
Minerva (Mann) Jlorse, whose long and worthy lives spent in Lorain 
County has been previously described, Charles L. Morse has given his 
career primarily to business pursuits and for a number of years lias been 
iu the insurance and real estate business and the handling of surety 
■ bonds. Ilis office is in the Ely Block. 

Born at Elyria October 3, 1861, he received his early education in 
the public schools of that city, and after reaching manhood spent nine 
years as a local merchant. At .IDO Broad Street he established himself 
in the cigar. tobactK) and restaurant business, and that street number 
has been the location of the restaurant ever since, being now the home 
of the J. R. -Tones restaurant. For the past sixteen years Mr. Morse has 
been in the fire insurance business, having engaged in that line in 1898. 
lie now represents twelve of the strong and reliable companies doing 
business at Elyria. His offices were in the old Elyria Block until it 
burned in 1910. since which time he has had his business headquarters in 
the Ely Block. 

Mr. Morse is a man of quiet, retiring nature, a great lover of home 
and ontside of business has seldom identified himself with public life. 
He is a member, however, of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. Oc- 



tavGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 635 

tober 18. 1882, he married Miss Clara M. Bassett of Eaton Township, 
Lorain County, and a daughter of Henry and Betsey B. (Slauter) Bas- 
sett. Further particulars concerning the late Henry Bassett will be 
found in succeeding paragraphs. Mrs. Morse was born in Eaton Town- 
ship, but was educated in the Elyria public schools, graduating from 
high school in the class of 1881, about a year before her marriage. Mr. 
Morse when opportunity offers takes his recreation in hunting and 
fishing. 

He.vby B.vpsett. In his lifetime Henry Bas-sett was one of the best 
known and most highly respected farmers and citizens of Lorain County, 
having been a resident of Eaton Township continuously for nearly sixty 
years. He performed his share in the pioneer labors which transformed 
the wilderness into a country of homes, farms and institutions, and was 
a witnes.s to almost every important change which occurred in Lorain 
County from the time of early settlement until well toward the close 
of the last century. 

His birth occurred at Chili, Seneca County, New York, July 23, 
1814, and when he died at his home in Eaton Township of Lorain 
County, January 21, 1891, he had lived usefully and well for seventy- 
six years six months. His parents were Daniel and Phebe (Covert) 
Bassett. who were natives of the same county in New York State, were 
married there, and in 1834 started west with their family of children, 
finally arriving in Lorain County and making settlement in Eaton Town- 
ship. Daniel Bassett died at LaPorte in this county in 1846 and his 
wife passed away in Eaton Township at the age of eighty-two. 

Twenty years of age when the family emigrated to Lorain County, 
Henrv Bassett had in the meantime profited by attendance at the 
schools of his native town. Arriving in Eaton Township, he applied 
himself to the heavy task of clearing away the woods and cultivating 
the land under the primitive conditions that then prevailed. Farming 
was his life occupation and from it he secured an ample competence for 
himself and family. 

On November 5, 1835, a few months after his twenty-first birthday, 
he was mafrried in Carlisle Township to Miss Betsey E. Slauter. She 
was born in 1818 in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, a daughter of Jared 
and Sarah (Curtis) Slauter. Her parents were horn in Stockbridge, 
Massachusetts, were married there, and soon afterward moved to Luzerne 
County, Pennsylvania, and in 1826 allied themselves with the new coun- 
try of Lorain County, making settlement in Carlisle Township, They 
came west by wagons and teams, and at that time Mrs. Bassett was 
eight years of age, and walked the greater part of the distance from 
Pennsylvania alongside or following the wagon, Mr. and Mrs. Slauter 
spent the rest of their days in Lorain County, and he passed away about 
eight years after the death of his wife. There were ten children in the 
Slauter family : Ephraim. who went to Wisconsin, where he died ; Lydia, 
now deceased, was the wife of Everett Stoddard, one of the early settlers 
of Eaton Township ; Mary Ann, deceased : Sarah, who became the wife 
of Henry "Warner and moved to Whitehall, Wisconsin ; Betsey E,, who 
married Henry Bassett; Henry, who died in Wisconsin; Jared, who 
died in Carlisle Township ; Jane, wife of D. L. Qibbs of Carlisle Town- 
ship; Olive, wife of R. Qibbs, of Carlisle Township; and Hiram, who 
spent his active career at LaPorte. 

In the home of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Bassett there were born thirteen 
children, all of whom grew to maturity, and most of them married and 
established homes of their own, and there were seventeen great-grand- 
children when Mrs. Henry Bassett died. These children in order of age 



y Google 



636 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

are mentioned as follows : Charlotte, now Mrs. Anson Lines of Grafton 
Township, Lorain County; Caroline, wife of John Hart of Elyria; 
Sarah, wife of Sylvester Tompkins; Charles, who died in 1879; Daniel, 
who lives at Defiance, Ohio; Ollie, who died in Lorain County as Mrs. 
Lemuel Barlow ; Frankie, Airs. Nathaniel Benedict of Michigan ; Julia, 
wife of Marion SuUiff, of Elyria j Edwin, of Eaton Township; Qeorge, 
of Eaton ; Serepta, wife of Edwin Welton of Elyria ; Clara M., wife of 
Charles L. Morse, of Elyria; Alice, wife of Frank Jaciisoii, of Eaton 
Township. 

At the beginning of his career Henry Bassett found himself aligned 
in political opinion with the whig party, and afterwards became an 
energetic and ardent republican. He enjoyed the confidence of his 
fellow citizens and filled a number of offices of trust in his home town- 
ship. It should be recalled that Mrs. Baasett taught the second school 
held in Eaton Township. She was a woman of culture, and presided 
with dignity and charm not only over her own household but stood high 
socially all over the township. It is difficult for the younger generation 
to retdize .the toil, privations and hardships which such old settlers as 
Henry Bassett and wife endured while establishing their homes in Lorain 
County. When he erected his first home in Eaton Township the country 
was almost a dense forest, and it required not only persevering toil day 
after day, month after month and year after year, but also a high degree 
of courage, enthusiasm and sturdy ambition in order to convert the 
forest surroundings into a welt cultivated farm. He succeeded in this 
and in his later years lived in a substantial house and had around him 
all the comforts and conveniences he required. About fifteen years be- 
fore his death he gave up active fanning and bought a house and lot on 
Butternut Ridge. There he by no means ^ent his time in leisure, but 
employed it in superintending the cemetery and was almost constant in 
his care of this attractive city of the dead. As a result of his administra- 
tion the cemetery in that locality surpassed in neatness and general 
upkeep any burying ground in the county. Thus these years of his 
retirement were devoted to a useful service for which he received the 
gratitude of a great many people. His entire life was upright and 
honorable and whether as a friend or neighbor or in his business trans> 
actions he gained the lasting respect of all who knew him. 

James T. Horsley. Born ' and reared in England, Mr. Horsley 
has maintained his home in the United States since 1886, in which year 
he established his residence at Lorain, Ohio, where he is now living 
virtually retired, after an active career marked by consecutive industry 
and worthy achievement. 

James Thomas Horsley was born in 'Worcestershire, England, on 
the 11th of November, 1851, and is a sou of Geoi^ and Emma Horsley, 
who passed their entire lives in England, where the father was a pros- 
perous farmer in Worcestershire. He whose name initiates this article 
is indebted to the excellent schools of his native land for his early educa- 
tional discipline, and his boyhood days were compassed by the in- 
vigorating influences of the home farm. He continued his activities 
in various occupations in England until 1886, when he came to America 
and in the same year established his permanent home at Lorain, 
where he conducted a meat market for some time, after which he 
had supervision of a corps of stevedores in the service of the C. L. & W. 
Railroad for a period of six years. Thereafter he was superintendent of 
the building employed by the Sheffield Land & Improvement Company 
during the time when this corporation was laying out and developing 
South Lorain, his service in this capacity continuing about nine years. 



bv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 




Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY DP LORAIN COUNTY 637 

Upon becoming a naturalized citizen of the United States Mr, Horsley 
espoused the cause of the republican party, and as a candidate on its 
ticket he was elected justice of the peace in 1903. In this office he gave 
an administration marked by mature judgment and much circumspection, 
and he continued its incumbent for nine years, after wliich he served for 
a time in the t^ce of constable at Lorain. His upright character and 
genial personality have gained to him in Lorain County a circle of friends 
that is limited only by that of his acquaintances, and he is a citizen 
who is well entitled to recognition in this publication. He is affiliated 
with the local organizations of the Knights of the Maccabees and the 
Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

In his native land, on the 8th of October, 1874, was solemnized the 
marriage of Mr, Horsley to Miss Mary Collins Griffin, and thus his 
family accompanied him on his immigration to the United States, some- 
what more than a decade later. Mr. and Mrs. Horsley have four children : 
Edith is the wife of Luceme Hinckley and they reside in the City of 
Cleveland. They have two children, James L. and Beatrice. George 
Henry is identified with business activities in the City of Lorain. He 
marrie<l Mrs. Cornelia Steiner. and they have one child, Eleanor. Laura 
is the wife of Samuel Yokes, of Cleveland. She has one child by a former 
marriage, named Edward. Miss Beatrice remains at the parental home. 

Hon. George H. Chambbruin. As a lawyer of undoubted ability 
and a public leader whose influence has helped toward the success of the 
republican party in a number of campaigns and has himself enjoyed 
the distinctions of legislative office, George Henry Chamberlain has been 
an active member of the Elyria bar for more than twenty-five years. He 
is a native of Lorain County and has earned his advancement by definite 
purpose, high aims, and the possession of exceptional talent. 

The Chamberlain family has been identified with Lorain County 
since 1848, when his grandfather, John Chamberlain, settled in Grafton 
Towndiip. John Chamberlain was bom in New York State and married 
Amy Perkins, whose grandfather, John Perkins, was a soldier of the 
American Revolution. John Chamberlain died in Grafton Township 
in 1S50 at the age of fifty-four and his wife passed away at seventy-five 
in 1873. 

During the middle period of the laat century Lorain County num- 
bered among its industrial and capable farmers and business men 
George B, Chamberlain, the father of Senator Chamberlain. George B. 
Chamberlain was bom at BnxAfield, Cortland County, New York, in 
1834, was brought to Lorain County when a boy of fourteen, was trained 
to farming and made that his vocation during most of his life. In 1880 
he retired and for a short time was engaged in the hardware business at 
LaGrange. He died in 1884. George B. Chamberlain married Elizabeth 
Cragin, who now lives with her son George H. and was seventy-seven 
years of age December 27. 1914. She was bom in LaGrange Township, 
Lorain County, a daughter of Benjamin and Mahala (l^ynton) Cragin, 
who were among the early settlers of Lorain County. Her father was 
bom in Weston, Windsor County, Vermont, was married in that state, 
and his children were named Lorena. Benjamin, Charles C. Adna A., 
Esther, Horace, Harrison and Elizabeth, the last being the only one bom 
in Ohio. In September. 1835, the Craein family left Vermont, drove a 
wagon as far as Buffalo, and thence came up the lake to Cleveland and 
across country to Lorain County. Settling in Grafton Township, Ben- 
jamin Cragin paid $4.00 an acre for a tract of woodland consisting of 
105 acres. He built himself a log cabin, cleared up. planted and culti- 
vated a large part of bis farm, and lived there until his death on July 



,Goog[e 



638 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

31, 1865. His wife had passed away about ten yeara before. They were 
members of the Methodist Church, and Mr. Cragin was prominent in 
the local church during the early days, serving it as trustee, class leader 
and steward. The four children of George B. Chamberlain and wife 
were: William P., who is now a rural mail carrier from Grafton; 
George H. ; Charles C, who died at the age of twelve ; and Emma Jane, 
who died in infancy. 

On the old homestead in Grafton Township George Henry Chamber- 
lain was born June 21, 1862. Some of his happiest memories concern 
themselves with his boyhood in the country, and Mr. Chamberlain then 
imbibed a love of fanning and country life which has never left him and 
which recently led him to move from his city home to his attracrive farm 
of 142 acres just outside the city limits of Elyria in RJdgeville Town- 
ship. One of his farm boundaries joins the city limits. The first seven- 
teen years of his life were spent in Grafton Township, and along with 
other experiences he received instruction in the district schools and also 
attended Oberlin College. Among the records of his earlier experience 
are found several terms spent as a school teacher. Soon after reaching 
his majority he began the study of law in the office of E. G. Johnson, 
one of the ablest members of the Lorain County bar for many years, 
kept up this course of study for three years, and was admitted to the 
bar by examination on June 9, 1887. He tried his first cases and earned 
his first fees in Elyria, where he practiced two years, and then moved 
to Jlilwaukee, Wisconsin, to become general agent for the Home Life 
Insurance Company. Though a resident of Milwaukee six years, he was 
in the insurance business only two years, and the rest of the time was 
spent as one of the interested principals in a manufacturing concern. 
Returning to Elyria in the spring of 1895, Mr. Chamberlain has since 
conducted a large general practice as a lawyer, and the character of the 
patronage entrusted to his care, his frequent appearance in cases of 
importance, sufficiently testify to his high standing as a local lawyer. 
On April 1, 1913, Mr. Chamberlain removed from Elyria to his farm 
just outside the city, and has since been taking life somewhat easily, 
though visiting his city office daily. He has a fine farm, a splendid 
orchard which he keeps in condition by spraying and is able to pursue his 
farming as a recreation as well as profit. 

His first important participation in politics came in 1896, when he 
stumped Lorain County for the election of William McKinley, and was 
also a speaker in various other parts of the state. He has since par- 
ticipated in every campaign in that section of Ohio. In 1900 he pre- 
sented the name of E, G. Johnson to the congressional convention, and 
in 1901 his own name was placed on the republican ticket for the State 
Senate. ' He was elected and served in the Seventy-fifth and Seventy- 
sixth assemblies. In the latter session he was chosen president pro tern 
by acclamation, and had the united support of both parties. In the Sev- 
enty-fifth Assembly he was chairman of the Committee on Federal Rela- 
tions, and a member of the committees on Labor, Taxation, Benevolent 
Institutions, Judiciary, Insurance, Universities and Colleges, and Mu- 
nicipal Corporations. In the Seventy-sixth session he was a member of 
the committees on Public Works, Judiciary, Common Schools, County 
Affairs, Taxation, and Soldiers and Sailors Orphans Homes. A unique 
feature of his record while in the Senate was that every bill introduced 
or actively supported by him was passed. Since his service in the Senate 
Mr. (Chamberlain has been looked upon as one of the ablest and most 
influential public men in Lorain County and this was well demonstrated 
in the congressional convention of 1906, when he retained throughout 
the long deadlock the united support of Lorain County as nominee 



hv'^iUU'^lL 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 639 

from the Fourteenth District and came within four votes of the neces- 
sary number for nomination. He finally withdrew, and gave his support 
to the nominee who was subsequently elected. In May, "1910, he was 
nominated by the republicans for Congress, but in that year the tide 
of political favors was flowing in another direction, and his party was 
defeated. 

Of his service in his own precincta there should be noted his mem- 
ber^p on the Board of Education of Elyria for twelve years up to 
January 1, 1912, He was president of the board five years until 1910, 
He has also served as president of the Board <)t Elections, and is one 
of the live members of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. In the 
Methodist Episcopal Church he is a member and trustee, and for twelve 
years served as superintendent of the Sunday school. 

While he may well be satisfied with his individual accomplishments, 
Mr. Chamberlain takes his greatest pride in his fine family. In June, 
1883, he married Miss Etta K. Mynderse, who was born in LaOrange, 
Ohio, daughter of Andrew C. and Louise (Hart) Mynderse, both now 
deceased. To their union were bom nine children: Charles B., the 
oldest, is now assistant manager of the service station at Detroit, Michi- 
gan, for the Wheeler & Schebler Carburetor Company; Geneva E., the 
oldest daughter, was graduated from the Elyria High School, pursued 
her higher education at Rochester, New York, and for the past eight 
years has been instructor of domestic science in the Elyria public schools; 
the daughter Vera died at the age of fourteen ; George H., Jr., who after 
graduating from the high school was employed for a time by the National 
Tube Company at Lorain, is now the man in charge of the Safety Sani- 
tation and "Welfare Department Exhibit at the Panama Exhibition in 
San Francisco (1915) of the United States Steel Corporation; Gertrude 
A., now living home, at the time of her graduation from high school 
in 1909 was accorded the honor of having made the highest general 
average throughout her course in the records of the school. The daugh- 
ter Ruth since graduating from high school has spent one year of train- 
ing at the Elyria Memorial Hospital and is now continuing her work of 
preparation for trained nurse at St. Luke's Hospital in Cleveland. The 
sons William and Robert are now in their last year in the local high 
school, while the youngest, John, is attending the grammar schools. 

Georgb B. Kelly. One of the most active business men of Oberlin 
ij George B. Kelly, who starting his career in early youth and without 
money or influence has gradually accumulated about him much that repre- 
sents solid accomplishment and also much of the esteem paid an honorable 
and hard-working citizen. 

A native of Lorain County, he was bom May 2, 1864, a son of Nathan 
and Jane (Davis) Kelly. His father was bom in Rutland, Vermont, in 
1830, and died in September, 1914, while the mother was born in Michigan 
in 1835, and died several years ago. The parents were married in 
Lorain County, and the father followed farming all his active career. 
He was a democrat and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
The maternal grandfather, Joseph Davis, was a native of Michigan and 
spent his life there as a farmer. George B. Kelly is the second in a 
family of four living children, out of six bom to his parents. His brother, 
James, is a farmer at Oberlin. His sister, Louisa, married Seth Bailey, 
of South Amherst, while Belle is the wife of Clarence Kellmer, a 
machinist at Amherst. 

George B, Kelly as a boy attended the common schools at Amherst, 
and was still in his teens when he took his first regular occupation as 
driver of a milk wagon. For fourteen years he earned a living and gained 



y Google 



640 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

business experience by that line of work at Amherst. He also spent five 
years as a worker in a quarry. The foundation of his present prosperity 
was largely laid as a farmer in Russia Township, and Mr, KeUy now 
owns two farnifl in Lorain County. In 1901 he moved to Oberlin and has 
since been engaged in the livery business, under the firm of Kelly & 
Jones, his partner being H. H. Jmies, as the largest establishment of its 
kind in the town. Mr. Kelly in association with Q. H. Bailey also con- 
ducts a delivery business, and has the contract for delivering goods for all 
the merchants. 

In 1890 he married Elizabeth Bailey, who was bom in England and 
came to America with her parents when five years of age. Her father, 
John Bailey, located in Lorain County forty-five years ago. To their 
marriage have been bom two children: Blanche, now in high school; 
and Lois, also a student of the public schools. Mr. Kelly and family 
attend the First Congregational Church and in politics he is a republican. 

F. E. Bradley. Of the third generation of the Bradley family in 
Lorain County, F. E. Bradley represents a name that has been closely 
identified with this county since pioneer times. The work by which he 
has commended himself to the esteem of the community has been chiefly 
as a farmer, though he has also performed with credit a share of public 
duty. He owns a fine farm in Wellington Township, and his prosperity 
has been well earned. 

He was born in Wellington Township of Lorain County, February 
28, 1865, a son of William and Hannah A. (Fritchard) Bradley. His 
paternal grandfather, William Bradley, came to Wellington Township 
as a pioneer, and he and his family for a time occupied an old log house. 
He spent most of his time on the farm, but died in the Village of Wel- 
lington. His maternal grandfather was Joseph Fritchard, who made 
settlement in Medina County, where he spent his years. William Brad- 
ley, who was born in Berkshire County, Massachusetts, in 1819, and' 
died September 21, 1892, had an early experience as a "bonnd boy" in 
Massachusetts. He came to Lorain County in 1836, when a vigorous 
youth of seventeen, went into the woods, and in the course of a few 
years had cleared up 100 acres of land for his father. Later he bought 
that farm, and made it the scene of his prosperous activities. He was 
very active in the Methodist Church and a, devout Christian, and exer- 
cised a wholesome influence in the community. At the lime of his death 
he left an estate of 150 acres. His wife was bom in Connecticut in 1823 
and died in .1899. They were married in Lorain County. Of their nine 
children the six now living are: Albert Oscar, who ia a grape grower in 
California; Burton P., who has an orange grove at Arlington Place, 
California; Sarah, wife of W. F. Starr, of Penfield Township; Joseph 
Henry, who lives in California ; Mary A., in California ; and F. E. 

Mr. Bradley grew up on the home farm in Wellington Township, 
attended the district schools, and has never sought any better or more 
attractive occupation than that of farming. In his earlier years he 
worked very hard to get a start, and in 1908 was able to buy out the 
interests of the other heirs in the old homestead. Besides the general 
crops, he raises some thoroughbred cattle and hogs, and does some 
dairying. 

On December 24, 1891, Mr. Bradley married Kate Bachtell, who 
was born in Brooke County, Vii^nia, and moved from there to Medina 
County, where she met her future husband. They have four children : 
Merle, now twenty -one years of age and at home; Katherine, Neal and 
Scott, all still at home. The family are all members of the Methodist 
Church at Wellington, and Mr, Bradley is a republican. In the way ot 



,y Google 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 641 

public service he waa for seven years a trustee of Wellington Township, 
and proved as able and conscientious in the performance of public duties 
as be has in the management of his private affairs. 

Judge Amos R. Webber. It was forty years ago that Judge Webber 
began the practice of law at Elyria. On the public life of his home city 
and county he has since made in indelible impression. Probably no 
citizen of the county is more respected, and enjoys more completely the 
confidence of the people. Judge Webber is a man of unimpeachable 
character, has high attainments aa a lawyer, and in the management of 
his private practice aa also in the administration of different offices, from 
common pleas judge to congressman, has brought the highest quali^ca- 
tions and has shown a ready grasp of every problem presented for his 
solution. Since retiring from his seat in Congress ten years ago Judge 
Webber has been quietly engaged in his large law practice and has 
offices in the Elyria Block. 

Amos Richard Webber was bom January 21, 1852, in Hinckley, 
Medina County, Ohio. His great-grandfather, Joseph Webber, was an 
Englishman who on coming to the United States located in New Eng- 
land. In the next generation is Rev, Richard Webber, who became a 
pioneer minister in Medina County, Ohio, He has been described aa 
a preacher of much eloquence and force, and a man who was through- 
cut bis career devoted to the arduous vocation which he chose early in 
life. He was frequently sou^t as an adviser not only in spiritual 
matters but in the common relationships and duties of temporal existence, 

George E, Webber, father of Judge Webber, was bom in Massachu- 
setts and was fourteen years of age when the family moved to Ohio. He 
became a man of substantial character and a factor in business affairs in 
Medina. As a young man he returned to his native state and learned 
the trade of moulder, and then returmng to Ohio established a foundry 
at Hinckley in Medina County. AfJ«r giving this business all the en- 
ergies he possessed for twenty years, impaired health led him to take 
up work as a fanner, at which he spent several seasons. With renewed 
vigor and health he then established a foundry for the manufacture of 
hollow ironware at Medina, and developed the industry to one of im- 
portant proportions and made it one of the chief factories at Medina. 
Geoi^ E. Webber married Jane Woodruff. During her young woman- 
hood she had taught school at Hinckley. Her father, Amos Woodruff, 
was a Hinckley shoemaker, and was distinguished in that community as 
the first avowed abolitionist and took Wm. Lloyd Garrison's Liberator 
for a great many years. His home became a station of the underground 
raihvaj', and he lived to see the peculiar institutitm abolished to which 
he was so .strongly opposed. 

Judge Webber grew up in Medina County, was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, and is a graduate of old Baldwin University at Berea near 
Cleveland. He studied law largely by himself and under the preceptor- 
ship of local lawyers, and on being admitted to the Ohio bar in 1876 
opened his office in the same year at Elyria. While it would not be 
practicable to review in detail his work as an attorney, it is only an 
expression of a general judgment among his associates that he has dur- 
ing the past forty years been rated as one of the best advocates and 
counselors in the Lorain County Bar. His career has also been punctu- 
ated by important public service. His first noteworthy promotion in 
public affairs was his election in 1887 as prosecuting attorney for Lorain 
County. He was re-elected and continued in the office until 1894. After 
an interval came his election to the Court of Common Reas and he pre- 
sided over this branch of the Ohio bench with admirable dignity and 



y Google 



642 HISTORY OF LOBAIN COUNTY 

efQeiency for nearly three years. He resigned from the bench to accept 
the republican nomination for Congress to fill the unexpired term caused 
by the death of the representative from the Fourteenth District. He 
was then elected a member of the Fifty-eighth Congress in 1904, and 
his service in that body ran from 1903 to 1906. He was defeated for 
renomination because of his activities against the liquor ioteresta, a 
power which he has consistently fought all his life. Another factor in 
his failure to secure the nomination was due to his having repudiated 
the then governor of Ohio, Myron T. Herriek, because of that gentle- 
man's attitude on the liquor question. Judge Webber has been an active 
and determined opponent of the liquor traffic for the past thirty years. 
He carried his convictions and his activity into Congress, where he intro- 
duced a bill for the abolition of saloons in the District of Columbia. He 
aroused much interest in the campaign at Washington, and on the day 
his bill was brought before the committee a procession of several thou- 
sand people marched through the streets to the eapitol as a demonstra- 
tion of popular support to the measure. In spite of Judge Webber's 
strenuous efforts in behalf of the bill, it was never reported from the 
committee, but the sentiment thus aroused caused similar bills to be 
.introduced in every Congress since, which have been supported by a 
large number of congressmen. He* was one of the prime movers in the 
organization of the Anti-Saloon League, and was for a number of years 
a member of the judiciary committee of that organization, and spoke 
over the State of Ohio in the interests of the work. Mr. Webber has 
lectured for a number of years before churches, Young Men 's Christian 
associations, and other public organizations, in the interest of the young 
men of this country. 

Ju^e Webber was married May 17, 1875, to Miss Ida E. Finch. 
Mrs. Webber died in Washington while Judge Webber was a member of 
Congress. Their two sons were: Gilbert W. and Lawrence N. Judge 
Webber's first wife was Miss Nettie Finch of .Anna, Illinois. 

La WHENCE Habrison Webbee. A son of A. R. Webber, whose career 
as a Lorain County lawyer has been previously sketched, is Lawrence 
Harrison Webber, who has already earned his first distinctions in the 
law and in public affairs. In the city primaries in August, 1915, Mr. 
Webber attracted much notice by his gallant fight for the republican 
nomination to the office of city solicitor, and in spite of his youth his 
recognized ability and fitness for the nomination and his vigorous and 
persistent campaigning methods brought him success over four rivals. 
He received more than a fourth of the entire vote cast, and led his nearest 
opponent by more than sisty. 

Bom at Elyria March 25, 1891, Lawrence Harrison Webber is a 
graduate of the Elyria High School with the class of 1910, and the fol- 
lowing two years were spent as a student in the Ohio Wesleyan Uni- 
versity at Delaware. He is a graduate of the Cleveland Law School with 
the class of June, 1914, and completed the regular three years' course in 
the two years from 1912 to 1914. He was admitted to the practice of 
law in Ohio December 18, 1913, and is now junior member of the law 
firm of Webber & Webber in the Elyria Block at Elyria, being associated 
with his father, A. R. Webber. 

In politics Mr. Webber is a republican, and was elected city solicitor 
on November 2, 1915, 

Outside of his profession Mr, Webber is a young man of general 
personality and has identified himself with the best interests of his 
home city. He is an active member of the Young Slen's Christian Asso- 
ciation, is a member of the Church of Christ, and belongs to the National 



y Google 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 643 

College Fraternity, Phi Delta Theta, in which he was initiated Novem- 
ber 5, 1910, at Ohio "Wesleyan University. 

June 18, 1913, at Elyria he married Jean E. Bath. Her father, John 
W. Bath, was for eight years postmaster at Elyria. They are the par- 
eats of one daughter, Shirley Webber, who was born Jlay 25, 1915. 

William A. Brauan. Few men exercised a stronger and wider in- 
fluence in the affairs of Lorain County than the late William A. Braman, 
who was in bis sixty-mnth year when he died at Elyria April 12, 1905. 
In early life hard work and self-reliance were his portion, but in later 
years he was a vigorous force in the republican party of Lorain County, 
was both broad minded and practical in promoting everything good in 
his home city, and was highly successful in business, being president 
of the Elyria Savings and Banking Company at the time of his death. 

He was bom in Carlisle Township of Lorain County October 24, 
1836. His Scotch ancestors came to America about 1700, locating in 
Boston, and several of them were revolutionary soldiers and the family 
was also represented in the War of 1812. One characteristic which has 
persisted through a number of generations is splendid physical develop- 
ment. Mr. Braman himself stood six feet three inches in height, and it 
is said that his grandfather and two brothers and two sisters were each 
six feet or more in height. Grandfather Braman was one of the pioneer 
settlers in Lorain County, coming from Genesee County, New York, to 
Avon Township in 1S22. William A. Braman was the son of Anson and 
Emeline (Vincent) Braman. His father was bom in Genesee County, 
New York, May 30, 1811, grew np pai^ly in Avon Township, and for 
many years was a farmer and nurseryman in Carlisle Township. He 
was in the nursery business at Elyria from 1855 to 1872, and then re- 
moved to Michigan. Emeline Vincent was born in Massachusetts October 
8, 1818, and had come with her parents in 1834 to Carlisle Township, 
where she was married the following year. 

From his very boyhood the late William A. Braman had the inde- 
pendence to pursue a self-sustaining course, and on reaching manhood 
he was equal to the solution of any problems involved in his business 
and personal affairs. Apparently everything he undertook proved suc- 
cessful. He attended the district schools of bis home neighborhood, 
and on reaching manhood, being thrown upon his own resources, he 
worked out on farms and also taught country school in order to pursue 
advanced studies in higher institutions. In 1864 he began dealing in 
live stock, and in 1870, associated with Mr. Boynton, he took up the 
cheese business. In the spring of 1874 he was one of the oi^anizers of 
the firm of Braman, Horr & Warner, manufacturers and general dealers 
in butter and cheese. This business became one of the most extensive 
of its kind in Northern Ohio. During the last twenty-five or thirty 
years of his life his interests were not confined to any one line. In 1890 
a stock company was organized by leading republicans in Elyria and 
Lorain County to purchase the Elyria Republican, which it was de- 
termined should become a temperance republican paper, true to the best 
interests of the party and in favor of temperance and moral interests. 
The directors of this company insisted upon Mr. Braman taking the 
position of editor, though he was without practical experience in that 
profession. He took the position at first only temporarily, but was un- 
able to relinquish it for eight years, and made of it a journal notable 
for its high ground and standards as a republican paper and an exponent 
of temperance and every other reform. He was not only an able editor 
but made the Republican self-supporting financially. 

In his later years Mr. Braman was best known as a banker. For 



,Google 



644 HISTOBT OP LORAIN COUNTY 

twenty years or more he was a director in The Savings Deposit Bank 
Company, for several years was vice president, and eUso president of 
The First National Bank of Lorain, and was a director of The Pen- 
tield Avenue Savings Bank at Lorain from its otf^anization in 1895. 
Subsequently his banking interests were concentrated in the Elyria 
Savings & Banking Company, of which he was president. 

The ideals of useful citizenship were seldom better exemplified than 
in the career of William A. Bramao. Always with credit he filled vari- 
ous positions of responsibility and honor. Personally he was dignified 
in his demeanor, possessed an impressive personality, and in everything 
was thoroughly American and patriotic. It was truthfully said of him 
that he was a better American than he was a partisan. 

In politics his father had been an old line democrat, but in spite of 
that affiliation Mr. Braman had gone with the new republican party in 
1S56 and voted for Jolm C. Fremont. William A. Braman came to 
manhood about the time the republican party was organized and about 
the time the great national crisis was evolved between the North and 
the South. Like many others he was influenced in his attitude toward 
public questions at that time by an early reading of Uncle Tom 's Cabin, 
and he was an ardent boy partisan of Fremont in 1856. In 1860 he cast 
his lirst vote for Abrahun Lincoln, and thereafter for more than forty 
years was a champion of the best in the grand old party. While living 
in his home Township of Carlisle he filled moat of the township offices, 
trustee, clerk, treasurer, and at the age of thirty-one was appointed 
county commissioner for one year. In 1877 he was elected count}' 
treasurer by a majority of 2,800, the lat^est given to anyone on the 
ticket. He filled that place with fidelity and eflSciency for two terms of 
two years each, receiving his nomination without opposition. In 1887 
he was nominated and elected to the State Legislature, in which he 
served two terma He was a member of the Finance Committee in both 
sessions of the Legislature, and among other things established the pro- 
vision that each state institution should be regularly visited and inspected 
hy a legislative committee. While in the Legislature he also showed 
himself an efl^ecUve force in behalf of temperance reform. It was largely 
due to his efforts that the township local option law was passed and also 
the Simday law, prohibiting sale of liquor on Sunday. Mr. Braman 
was one of the strongest supporters of Major McKinley in his first 
nomination for governor of Ohio, and did some effective work in con- 
Holidating the party on that candidate. For many years Mr. Braman 
was president of the Lorain County Humane Society, and though an 
intensely practical and busy man, the influences of humanitarianism 
were always guiding factors with him. For many years he was a mem- 
ber of the city council at Elyria, and was a trustee of the local schools 
for nineteen years. He was president seven years of the Lorain Comity 
Agricultural Society and for three years was president of the Farmers 
Institute. 

With all these activities and interests he was essentially domestic in 
his tastes and found his highest happiness in his home and among his 
family, April 27, 1865, he married Miss Sophia E, Patterson, daughter 
of Hiram Patterson. Mrs. Braman is still living at Elyria. To their 
marriage were born three children, Theodore W., who was bom in 1867, 
and is now decea-st-d ; Charles M., horn in 1869 ; and Belle Louise. 

CnARi.Es M. Br.\man. Since he was twenty-two years of age Charles 
M. Braman lias been giving his best ability and energy to banking and 
his present position represents a steady promotion on the basis of merit 
and by reason of the prompt and efficient handling of all the responsi- 
bilities entrusted to his care. 



b.»^iUOglc 




Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAI.V COUNTY 645 

Born at Carlisle in Lorain County March 5, 1869, Charles Martin 
Braniau is a son of William A. and Sophia £. Braman. The Brunau 
family is of Scotch-Irish descent. As will be found more fully stated on 
other pages the late William A, Braman was for many years prominent 
in county affairs, served as a member of the General Assembly fotir 
years, as county treasurer two terms, for many years was editor of the 
Elyria Republican, and was one of the organizers and until the date of 
his death in 1905 was president of the Elyria Savings and Baling 
Company. 

Having finished his education in the Elyria public schools in 1886, 
Charles M. Braman at the age of twenty became clerk in the Savings 
Deposit Bank of Elyria. In 1892, after three years, he left to become 
cashier of the Savings Deposit Bank of Medina, Ohio. He was there 
two years and four months. However, he gained his reputation as a 
banker by his nineteen years of service as cashier of the Central Banking 
Company of Lorain, from which he resigned to take the position of vic« 
president of the Savings Deposit Bank Company of Elyria in January, 
1914 ; was elected to the presidency January 30, 1916. He is now vice 
president of the Central Banking Company of Lorain, is a director of the 
Wood Lumber Company of Lorain, and treasurer of the Eastern Heights 
Land Company of Elyria. In banking circles he enjoys an enviable 
position, and is the chief executive officer of one of the largest institutions 
of Northern Ohio, The Savings Deposit Bank and Trust Company tiaving 
total resources of more than $2,000,000, representing not only large capi- 
tal but the experience and business ability of a number of well known 
financiers. 

In the spring of 1915, at the solicitation of his many republican 
friends, Mr. Braman consented to become a candidate for the republican 
nomination for city auditor of Elyria. Though he had five rivals for the 
nomination, in the August primaries he received more than a third of 
the total vote east, and at the election, held November 2, 1915, was 
elected to fill that office. For more than thirteen years he served as 
deputy city treasurer of Lorain, Ohio, and on January 1, 1915, was ap- 
pointed a member of the Elyria Board of Health and for two years had 
also been a member of the Elyria School Board, He is a director of the 
Elyria Chamber of Commerce, is a member and director of the Country 
Club, is president of the Men's Club of the Congregational Church, 
president of the Social Settlement Association, and a trustee of the 
local Young Men's Christian Association. Mr. Braman is an attendant 
. of the First. Congregational Church, and is affiliated with King Solomon 
Lodge and also with the Royal Arch Chapter of Masonry and with the 
Elks. 

On June 20, 1395, at Elyria, Mr. Braman married Miss Anna B. 
Polger, daughter of the late Thomas Polger, to whom reference is made 
on other pages. The Folgers are an English family, and the first of the 
name emigrated to this country during the eighteenth century and 
founded the City of Nantucket. The late Thomas Polger was a nephew 
cf Charles J. Polger, former secretary of the United States Treasury 
under President Garfield, Thomas Polger rose to the rank of adjutant 
in the Ci^il war with the Twenty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 
was a commission merchant in Cleveland several years, and served as 
mayor of Elyria two years. Mr, and Mrs. Braman have two children : 
Theodore P. and Josephine L. Mr. Braman finds his chief recreation 
in golf. He is a clean-cut business man, popular in social circles, and 
stands for all that is progressive and substantial in his home community. 



y Google 



646 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Thomas Folger. What the late Thomas Polger represented as an 
individual asset to the community of Lorain County is concisely de- 
scribed in an editorial from an Elyria paper published shortly after his 
death, which occurred at his summer home on Avon Point October 13, 
1909. The opinions there expressed are vouched for by all the practical 
facts of his honored lifetime. The editorial was as follows: 

"The sudden death of Thomas Folger came as a sad blow to his many 
friends in the city. Mr. Folger's personality bad won for him during 
his long residence in Elyria a place in the respect of all his fellow cit- 
izens. His quiet, unassuming way spoke of a big nature, and those who 
knew him intimately were attracted strongly by his frankness and hon- 
esty as well as by a cordiality that never failed. He was quick to make 
up his mind, and his decisions were announced positively. One always 
counted on a square deal with Thomas Folger and was never disap- 
pointed. He attended to his business affairs in a quiet manner, accom- 
plished successful results and won friends, which is much to say for a 
man in these days. His successful election as mayor a few years ago, 
against a strong party opposition, showed the confidence of the com- 
munity and he made a most able official. He was impartial in his court 
work, rich and poor receiving impartial justice, while his rulings were 
ever tempered with good sense. He has always been a democrat in 
politics, and in his death the party loses one of its most loyal supporters. 
The city loses a good and patriotic citizen. His early years were cheer- 
fully given to the service of his country and he also cheerfully under- 
took those civic duties entrusted to him. He was just preparing for 
an arduoiis campaign for re-election to the mayoralty when death cut 
him down, and he was entering into it with a zeal bom entirely of a 
desire to help toward a needed reform in the various branches of the 
city government. He was glad to assume the burdens which would 
foUow if his fellow citizens desired it. A good man indeed has gone 
from us." 

Born in Wadsworth, ]Medina County, Ohio, February- 14, 1842, 
Thomas Folger was a son of Henry G. and Eliza A. (Ingersoll) Folger. 
The Folger family was established in America in colonial times, and 
one of the name was among the seven original proprietors of the Island 
of Nantucket. At Nantucket Thomas Polger's grandfather, also named 
Thomas, lived for many years, being identified with the old-time whal- 
ing industry, which had one of its important centers at Nantucket. He 
owned several whaling vessels, and when the English government pro- 
vided a subsidy for the whaling industry, Thomas Folger moved his 
residence to London, England, and lived there until the abolition of the 
whale-oil bounty, and then returned to Nantucket. While living in 
London he was married, and in that city Henry G. Folger was bom. 
Another of his sons was the late Charles J. Folger, who was United 
States sub-treasurer under President Grant, was secretary of the treas- 
iu*y under Presidents Garfield and Arthur, was otherwise a high Gov- 
ernment official, and was judge of the Court of Appeals of New York. 
Henry C. Polger was the founder of the family in the Western Reserve 
of Ohio, for many years lived in Medina County, where he was a farmer 
and died at Elyria, November 26, 1885, having spent years of his life at 
Avon Point. His wife, whose maiden name was Eliza A. Ingersoll, 
a native of Auburn, New York, died March 7, 1904, at the home of her 
son Thomas. 

Educated in the common schools of Medina County and in the West- 
em Reserve College at Hudson, the late Thomas Folger was ninete*^n 
when the war broke out and in August, 1861, enlisted as a private in 
Company H of the Twenty-ninth Ohio Volunteer Infantry. He was 



izedtavGoOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUJMTY 647 

raustereil out of that regiment and received his honorable dischai^e in 
July, 1S65, after nearly four years of active service. While his regi- 
ment was in the army of the Potomac he fought at Gettysburg, Chan- 
cellorsville and Peters ^lountain, beside many minor engagements, and 
when the regiment was transferred to the army under Sherman he took 
part in the Atlanta campaign, and accompanied Sherman on the march 
to the sea and up through the Carolines, finally participating in the 
Grand Review at Washington, in 1865. He was promoted out of the 
ranks to lieutenant and adjutant, and later received the brevet rank 
of captain. With the close of the war he took up his residence at Cleve- 
land, was in the produce and commission business for about nine years, 
and up to 1878 gave his attention to the wholesale commission trade. 

Lorain County's prominence as a grape growing center is largely 
due to the leadership of the late Thomas Folger. It was in 1878 that 
he identified himself with viticulture both for pleasure and profit, and 
on his farm of 15(1 acres at Avon Point along the shores of Lake Erie 
he cultivated the grape for many years and perhaps as extensively as 
any other vineyardist in Lorain County. The industry is still continued 
by his family and no grapes of better quality are shipped out of Ohio 
than those from the Folger vineyard. For the last twenty years of his 
life Mr. Folger lived at Elyria, though for months at a time his resi- 
dence there was only nominal, since he found his chief pursuit and 
pleasure in the supervision of his beautiful country estate. He per- 
formed a useful service in bringing the grape growers t(^ether in the 
organization of the Lorain County Grape Growers Shipping Association, 
and for fourteen years was manager of the association and had chai^ 
of the selling and shipping of the crops of the 150 growers who were 
its members. 

Always a democrat in politics, while not ambitious for official pre- 
ferment, his civic loyalty was such that he did not deny himself or his 
services to the public. He served several years as a member of the city 
council of Elyria, and was the nominee of the party for the office of 
mayor in 1903, His election was not only a triumph for the cause of 
good government locally, but was particularly interesting from the fact 
that he was the first democratic mayor of Elyria in more than half a 
century, and his administration was distinctly creditable to the party. 

The late Thomas Folger had been identified with the Royal Arch 
body of Masons for more than forty years, and was also afOliated with 
the Knights of Pythias and with the Grand Army of the Republic. On 
Jlay 6, 1867, he married Miss Delia M. Beswick, who was bom and 
reared at Medina, daughter of Asahel and Emma A. (Richards) Bes- 
wick. Mrs. Folger is slill living at Elyria. She was the mother of four 
daughters: Anna B., wife of Charles M. Braman, president of the 
Savings Deposit Bank and Trust Company of Elyria; Josephine D., 
wife of Dr. Charles H. Cushing of Elyria, further mentioned on other 
pages; Ida A., who died at the age of eight yeara; and Jean P., wife of 
Arthur D. Pettibone of Cleveland. 

Henry F. Smith. For a man who started in life absolutely depend- 
ent upon his own resources, even to the extent of paying his way 
through school, Henry F. Smith, who is now vice president of the 
Peoples Banking Company of Oberlin, has made a success that is stimu- 
lating and encouraging to younger men. 

He was born in Elyria, Ohio, November 30, 1867, a son of Charles 
W. and Anna Mary (Loux) Smith. Both parents were natives of Wuert- 
emberg, Germany. His father was born in 1842 and is still living, having 
been brought to the United States when twelve years old. The mother 



,Google 



648 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

was born in 1845, came to this country with her parents at the age of 
three, and died in 1896. They were married in Cleveland. Cliarles W. 
Smith was a jeWeler by trade, and followed the business all his active 
career. He established himself at Elyria in 1862, and was in active busi- 
ness there until he retired about fifteen years ago. At one time he 
served as chief of the fire department in Etyria. He is a democrat in 
politics, and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
of St. Paul's Evangelical Church. His wife was a Catholic. Of their 
six children, four are living: William C, a shoe merchant at Elyria; 
Henry P. ; Julia Mary, wife of M. J. McGuire, manager of the Standard 
Foundry Company at Cleveland; and Prank W.. who was formerly 
a jeweler but now lives retired at Elyria. 

Henry P. Smith attended the public schools at Elyria for a time, 
and out of his own earnings he paid for a course in pharmacy in the 
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, where he finished in 1891. Prom 
his earnings as a pharmacy clerk he set himself up in business as a 
druggist at Oberlin in 1893. He prospered and continued active in that 
line of business until 1906, when he sold out. Since then he has been 
the chief executive officer of the Peoples Banking Company, of which 
he is vice president, and he also owns stock in the State Bank of Oberlin. 
He has also invested in real estate, both in Oberlin and in Lorain City. 

In 1894 Mr. Smith married Dorothy Schubert, who was born near 
Oberlin, a daughter of William Schubert, one of the early settlers of 
Lorain County. They have one daughter, Catherine Dorothy, now in 
school. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are members of the First Congregational 
Church, and he has always taken much interest in Masonry, being junior 
warden of the Blue lodge, and a member of the Royal Arch Chapter 
and the Knights Templar Commandery. For a number of years he 
has been an enthusiastic republican and has given his influence without 
reserve to the benefit of his home community. He is still a member of the 
city council and has been connected with that body for the past six years. 
At one time he was a member of the water board and for a number of 
years was precinct committeeman. 

Lafayette Brush. On the 30th of August, 1905, was summoned to 
the life eternal the soul of a man whose sterling integrity and most ex- 
emplary christian character have left an indelible impress upon the 
hearts of his fellow men. At the time when he was called from the scene 
of his mortal endeavors he was in his sixty-eighth year and it may be 
said concerning him that "his strength was as the number of his days." 
The prestige which he gained as a fair and honorable man was the 
result of his own well-directed endeavors and his success was on a parity 
with his ability and well applied energy. 

Mr. Brush was a farmer during the greater portion of his active 
career but during the latter years of his life he resided in Elyria, He 
was bom at Butternut Ridge, Lorain County, Ohio, January 11, 1837, 
and he died August 30, 1905. He is buried in the Butternut Ridge 
Cemetery, near the old parental home. He was a son of Benjamin S, 
and Sarah (Miller) Brush, both natives of Connecticut, where they were 
married and whence they immigrated to Ohio in 1832. The parents 
located in Eaton Township, Lorain County, and there cleared and tilled 
a fine farm which is still owned by the family. There were twelve chil- 
dren born to Mr. and Mrs. Brush and all grew to maturity except one 
who died at the age of fifteen years. Lafayette Brush was the youngest 
in the family, of whom Mrs. Hitchcock, widow of ex-Shcriflf Hitchcock, 
is the only survivor, in 1915; she lives at Jackson, Michigan, and is in 
her eighty-fourth year. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 649 

Lafayette Brush was reared to maturity on his father's farm and he 
was educated in the neighbonng district schools. He early began to 
assist his father in the work and management of the farm and after the 
latter 's demise he bought out the other heirs and beeame sole owner of 
the parental estate. His mother lived with him until her death at the 
ripe old age of eighty-two years. The above farm consists of forty-seven 
acres and it has long been known as one of the finest little farms in this 
section of the state. Jlr. Brush, whose workaday motto was "What's 
worth doing at all is worth doing well," took splendid care of his little 
estate and it was one of the model farms in this vicinity. Since his death 
Mrs. Brush sold the place to a nephew, Charles B. Brush, and he is the 
same kind of a fine, intelligent farmer that his uncle used to be. Mrs. 
Brush visits the old place occasionally and is much delighted with the 
splendid care her old homestead receives. In the early days Mr. Brush's 
father erected a log house on this land and subsequently he had built 
one of those old fa^ioned, heavy frame houses and the same is still 
standing. It has heen modernized throughout and makes a fine, comfort- 
able home for its present occupants. 

In 1892 Lafayette Brush gave up fanning and came to Elyria, lo- 
cating in the beautiful home at 234 Eighth Street, now owned and occu- 
pied liy his widow. He was considered a man of excellent judgment and 
used to be called upon by his neighbors to appraise property. His word 
was as good as his bond and he commanded the love and esteem of his 
many loyal friends and acquaintances. Ue was a republican in politics 
and in religious faith was a devout member of the First Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. 

May 27, I860, was solemnized the marriage of ^Ir. Brush to Miss 
Marie Beulah Hulin, a daughter of Edward and Olive (Palmer) Hulin. 
Mrs. Brush was bom near Bucyrus, Ohio, and she lost her mother when 
she was a child of but two years of age. She was reared to maturity 
in the home of her maternal grandparents at Rldgeville, Ohio. Mrs. 
Brush is possessed of a sweet, Idndly disposition and her life has been 
exemplary in all respects. She has a iine, generous heart and is always 
extending a helping hand to neighbors and friends in distress. 

Mr. Brush was a man of fine mentality and broad human sympathy. 
He thoroughly enjoyed home life and took great pleasure in the society 
of his family and friends. He was always courteous, kindly and affable 
and those who knew him personally accorded him the highest esteem, 

Albert A. Plato. That he is not lacking in the mature judgment 
and resourcefulness implied in his classical family name, is shown hy 
the position which Mr. Plato holds in connection with the more im- 
portant industrial activities of the City of Lorain, where he is the general 
manager of the Crystal Ice Company, engaged in the manufacturing of 
artificial ice on an extensive scale. This company was organized in 
1907 and was incorporated with a capital stock of $65,000, which was 
increased in 1914 to $75,000. The personnel of the company official 
corps is as here noted: William Seher, president; John S. Dorn, vice 
president; August Kuebeler, secretary; Edward A. Brown, treasurer; 
and Albert A. Plato, general manager. The plant of the company 
occupies a substantial modern building 130 by 150 feet in dimensions, 
a portion of the same having a height of three stories and the remainder 
of two stories. The establishment has a capacity for the output of fifty 
tons of ice daily, and a storage capacity for 3,000 tons. Employment is 
given to an average force of thirty men and the enterprise virtually 
represents one of the most importatit public utilities of the thriving 
City of Lorain. 



y Google 



650 HISTORY OF LOHAIN COUNTY 

Albert Aloysius Plato has the distinction of claiming Lorain County 
as the place of his nativity, for he was boru in the Village of Amherst, 
this county, on the 11th of September, 1870, a son of lleurj- A. and 
Elizabeth (Hildebrand) Plato. Henry A. Plato was born in Germany 
and came to the United States in 1857. He became eventually a prosper- 
ous merchant at Amherst, this county, where he is now living retired, 
a citizen of sterling character and one who has secure place in popular 
esteem. Both he and his wife are zealous communicants of the Catholic 
Church, in the faith of which their children were carefully reared. 

Albert A. Plato gained his preliminary education in the parochial 
and public schools and supplemented this by an effective course in the 
celebrated \otre Dame University at South Bend, Indiana. Thereafter 
he continued to be associated with his father in the general merchandise 
business until 1899, when he established at Amherst an independent 
business enterprise, as a dealer in men's furnishing goods. To this 
enterprise he continued to devote his attention until 1904. in May of 
which jear he assumed the position of collector for the Lorain & Elyria 
lee & Coal Company. Upon the reorganization of the corporation in 
1907, as the Crystal Ice Company of Lorain, Mr. Plato was made general 
manager, of which responsible office he has since continued the efficient 
and valued incumbent. He is also president of the Amherst Hardware 
Company, a leading mercantile concern in his native village, and he 
served from 1891 to 1893 as township clerk of Amherst Township. He 
is a democrat in politics, is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and his religious faith is that of the Catholic Church, of 
which his wife likewise is a communicant. 

On the 26th of September. 1895, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Plato to Miss Rose A. Ludwig, daughter of John L. and Carrie E. 
Lndwig. of Amherst, Mr. Ludwig being a skilled machinist. The two 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Plato are Paul Ludwig and Bernice Wil- 
helmina. 

Elyri.a ilEMORi.\L HOSPITAL. A tragedy in the City of Elyria, oc- 
curring on Memorial Day of 1907, in the shape of a street railroad 
disaster, in which lives were lost and injured, gave and formulated the 
definite impulse to the founding of the Elyria Memorial Hospital, which 
takes its name from that occasion, and which is dedicated to the high 
ideal of caring for and affording medical or sui^ieal treatment to the 
sick, injured or disabled persons residing in Elyria or Lorain County. 
As an institution, it represents the liberal contributions and support 
of the people of the city and county, rich and poor, and of every station 
in life, and as such a project is to relieve suffering and save lives with- 
out distinction as to race, nationality, color, sex or religious convictions. 
Neither directly nor indirectly is its management under the control of 
any religious or sectarian bodies, nor of any particular school of medi- 
cine or treatment. Certainly one of the best of the many distinctions 
connected with this institution is the broad and liberal basis on which 
it was founded and has been maintained. 

For several years prior to 1907 a private hospital had been main- 
tained in Elyria, assisted by limited contributions from individuals. 
In Way, 1907, a short time before the tragic accident above mentioned, 
a movement had been started to oi^nize a hospital association with the 
co-operation of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. The plans were 
hastened in their fruition by the emergency created by the street rail- 
way disaster, and the entire community was aroused to the need for 
adequate hospital facilities. 

The Elyria Chamber of Commerce took the general supervision of 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 651 

the campaign which in three months netted over $80,000 in popular 
aubscription, to which was added the sum of $25,000 donated by the city- 
government in annual payments of $5,000, which was to be applied to 
the maintenance. In June, 1907, the Elyria Memorial Hospital Company 
was organized and incorporated under tbe laws of Ohio. This company 
owns and controls all funds and property and is directly responsible 
for the conduct and management of the institution. The company com- 
prises fifty persons, of whom forty must be residents of Lorain County. 
Twenty-five of these were originally chosen by the members of the 
hospital association, and these in turn selected fifteen others. The re- 
maining ten comprised the five members of the advisory board of physi- 
cians and elected by the physicians' committee of the assooiation, and 
five who are members of the company by virtue of their o£Bcial posi- 
tions, including the mayor of Elyria, the chairman of the commissioners 
of Lorain County, the senior judge of the Court of Common Pleas, the 
president of the hospital association and the president of the hospital 
auxiliary. The active management of the company is vested in a board 
of trustees, nine in number, three being elected each year by members 
of the corporation. 

During 1907 tbe company had secured a tract of about three acres of 
ground on East River Street, and the first real work on the building 
was begun October 17th of that year, the cornerstone being laid in the 
following November. The doors of the institution were opened for the 
reception of patients on October 30, 1908. The main hospital building 
completed in that year is of modem design and equipment, of the 
colonial style of architecture, built of red pressed brick and sandstone, 
with the floors of re-enforced concrete and the entire structure fire- 
proof. Its westerly frontage is 175 feet and its depth is 55 feet. Dur- 
ing the first year 408 people were treated as patients of the hospital, 
and since then the growth and service of the institution have been 
steady and uniform. During the first year the average daily number of 
patients cared for was 18; an average number of 22 in the second year; 
27 in the third year; 32 in the fourth year; 37 in the fifth year; 41 in 
the sixth year; and 46 in the seventh year, which closed in November, 
1915. The first important addition to the hospital buildings was the 
erection of a nurses' home, which was begun in the fall of 1910 and was 
dedicated in the fall of 1911. The quarters formerly occupied hy the 
nurses in the main hospital were then taken to enlarge the facilities of 
that institution. 

The first important addition of land was the purchase of about two 
acres adjoining the old tract in the spring of 1914, while about a year 
later the company secured another strip of land, making a total of 
practically eight acres in the heart of the city, with an ideal location. 

The most recent addition to the buildings and service of this mag- 
nificent institution was the opening of the W. N. Gates Hospital for 
sick, crippled and deformed children in the spring of 1915. After the 
death of her husband, William N. Gates, who had been one of the 
original trustees of the hospital company, Mrs. Gates donated as a me- 
morial to her husband the entire amount of money necessary for the 
erection of the building. The site and necessary improvements were 
furnished by the hospital company, and the cost of equipment was con- 
tributed by relatives and friends of Jlr. Gates and by the school children 
of Elyria. This institution is under the management of the Elyria 
^Memorial Hospital Company and is maintained especially for the care 
of the children of Lorain County. It has been found necessary to em- 
phasize the fact that the Gates Hospital is not an orphan asylum, and 
only those children are received who need such care and medical or 
surgical attention as the institution is designed to give. 



y Google 



6S2 HISTORY OF LOBAIN COUNTY 

The future plans of the hospital compaoy contemplate the erection 
of two more buildings, one of them power house and laundry, and the 
other a maternity home. 

It is noteworthy that the first cheers of the Elyria Memorial Hos- 
pital Company are still in active service and have been retained year 
after year in the executive management. The officers are : Judge W. W. 
Boynton, president; P. A. Smyi&ie, vice president; E. P. Allen, treas- 
urer ; and Charles E. Tucker, secretary. The original board of trustees 
under whom the hospital was opened in 1908 were: W. W, Boynton, 
W. N. Gates, E. P. Allen, A. L. Garford, F. A. Smythe, Albert Kistner, 
Geoi^e D. Nicholas, Sr., T. T. Robinson and J. P. Sala. At the present 
time the trustees in addition to the president, vice president and treas- 
urer are: T. T, Robinson, George D. Nicholas, A. L. Garford, W. S, 
Miller, L. B. Fauver. 

As the Memorial Hoepital is in the best sense of the word a great 
philanthropy, it requires support from other sources than the receipts 
from pay patients and other income. One of the organizations which 
have been formed to aid and assist the company in maintaining the 
hospital and extending its charitable work has been the Elyria Afemorial 
Hospital Association, this being a men's organization, while the Elyria 
Memorial Hospital Auxiliary is an organization of women formed for 
the same purpose. There is also an organization of young people known 
as the Elyria Memorial Hospital Junior Auxiliary. 

This hospital is one of the few in the United States run on strictly 
business principles so far as its management is concerned, without con- 
flicting with the true spirit of philanthropy which governs its service to 
individual patients. One feature that illustrates this business system 
that pervades the entire management is the card catalog by which every 
patient ever received or treated in the hospital has been kept track of, 
containing a record of the ailments and treatment, when the patient was 
received and when discharged. For this businesslike efficiency in the 
management of the fiscal affairs of the institution much credit is given 
to the treasurer, E. P. Allen, who since the organization of the hospital 
company has given liberally of his time to its general welfare and par- 
ticularly to the accurate and systematic conduct of its business affairs. 
As the usefulness of any institution of this kind must, in the last 
analysis, depend upon the efficiency of its financial management, it will 
not be inappropriate to quote a portion of the report of the auditing 
committee covering the books of the company up to November 7, 1914. 
This report in part says : "At the request of the officers of the Hospital 
Company we are making further examination of the books and records 
of the company regarding their system of accounting for patients and 
the general plan in the office adopted by the hospital in reference to its 
records of patients received and discharged, and we wish to say for the 
benefit of the general public of Elyria and Lorain county that the sys- 
tem in handling accounts and records is complete and comprehensive, - 
and when the company makes statements that during the past year they 
have handled nearly fifteen thousand hospital days of service, of which 
two-thirds, or over ten thousand days, are all or part charity work, that 
these statements are correct, and we also are glad to state that the figures 
given for cost of patient, somewhat under two dollars per day are 
considerably lower than reports given by other institutions of similar 
character. We feel that the public should know as we know that the 
accounting system in connection with the Elyria Memorial Hospital is 
more elaborate and complete than we had any idea of, and we recom- 
mend to the general public and other institutions of similar nature an 
examination of same," And the financial report covering the fiscal 
year ending November 1, 1915, is even more flattering than the above. 

DiyizBohv'^iUU'-^lL' 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 653 

Claib 0. Goss is proprietor of one of the distinctive eaterprises of 
Lorain County, namely: The Glendale Ferret Company of Wellington. 
This is an important department of Ms farm on Rural Route No. 1 oat 
of Wellington, and he has had a great deal of success in raising ferrets 
for commercial purposes. He ships his animals to every state in the 
Union, and has a complete set of buildings and equipment necessary for 
the propagation and training of these very valuable animals. He has 
. shipped as high as 1,000 in a season. 

Mr. Goss was bom in Brighton Township, January 22, 1883, and is 
one of the live and progressive younger citizens of Lorain County. His 
parents were Otis F. and Mary (Sinclair) Goss. His father was born 
at Berea, Ohio, April 23, 1839, and died March 20, 1908. He was a son 
of David and Aurelia (Porter) Goss, the former a native of Montague, 
Massachusetts, and the latter of Vermont. David Goss came out to 
Ohio when a single man and after investigating the country went back 
East and returned with his bride. He was a very prosperous and enter- 
prising citizen, owned a large farm and operated two mills, Otis F. 
Goss was seven years old when he came with his parents to Brighton 
Township, received his education in this county, and became a farmer 
and also conducted a sawmill and followed his trade as a carpenter. He 
was a republican in politics, but later gave his support to the prohibition 
cause. He pursued his business as a farmer on eighty acres of land. 
Both he and his wife were active members of the Congregational Church, 
His wife, Mary Sinclair, was born in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, August 
12, 1850, and is still living. They were married September 26, 1876. 
Her father was Alexander Sinclair and he brought his family to the 
United States in 1852 when Mrs. Goss was two years of age. The Sin- 
claira settled near Ruggles, and afterwards went to Clarksfield. where 
Mr. Sinclair bought a farm and spent the rest of his days. In the Sin- 
clair family were eleven children, and the three now living are Mrs. A. E, 
Watt of Greensburg, Pennsylvania; Mrs. Isabelle Ross, a widow, living 
at Wakeman, Ohio; Mrs. Goss. Alexander, deceased, was a farmer at 
Clarksfield, 

Clair 0, Goss is the only child of his parents. He received his edu- 
cation in the district schools and had much preliminary training on a 
farm before taking up agriculture as his regular vocation. His farm 
comprises eighty acres of land, and he gives his time to general farming, 
to the operation of the Glendale Ferret Company, and he also does some 
dairying. The farm is well improved, and he has one of the best silos 
in the entire county. 

On September 8, 1910, Mr. Goss married Ona Niles, a daughter of 
Jerome and Carminetta A. (Gillett) Niles, and a granddat^hter ot 
Ichabod and Miranda (Lake) Niles. Her father was bom in Canada in 
1860 and died in 1890 and her mother was born in Lorain County in 
1854 and is still living. Mrs. Goss has one brother, Edwin, who is a 
policeman at Kansas City, Mrs. Goss is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, while Mr. Goss belongs to the Congregational Church. 
He is a member of the Maccabees and politically is a republican. In the 
fall of 1915 he was elected township trustee and had served two terms in 
that office prior to that election. He is a very popular and widely 
known citizen in Wellington Township, 

Hon. CiiABEnce G. Washburn, It was in 1892 that Judge Washburn 
began the practice of law at liOrain and the honors of office and a profit- 
able patronage as a lawyer soon followed. For many years Judge 
Washburn Im represented the qualities of the true leader in the life 
of Lorain County, and the worth of his career is attested by many im- 
portant relations with the institutions and affairs of his home city. 



y Google 



654 HISTOKY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Clarence Griffin Washburn was bom in Greenwich Township of 
Huron County, Ohio, February 19, 1867, a son of Henry C. and Char- 
lotte (Griffin) Washburn. His parents came to Ohio from the vicinity 
of Syracuse, New York, and in earlier generations the ancestors were 
Connecticut people. Judge Washburn was sixteen years old when his 
mother died and ten years later the father died. 

His father was a farmer, but in later years lived in the Village of 
Greenwich, where Judge Washburn spent the first eighteen years of hia 
life. With a common school education and with good natural endow- 
ments, he then went out to Kansas with an older brother, and after his 
return three years later spent one year in conducting a retail shoe busi- 
ness in Huron County. This was the sura of his experiences before he 
took up the study of law in the office of T. L. Strimple. From the 
private study of law about two years later he entered the law depart- 
ment of the University of Jlichigan, where he was graduated June 30, 
1892. In the spring of 1892, having been admitted to practice law in 
Ohio, he obtained a leave of absence from the University and opened an 
office at Lorain, returning to Ann Arbor in June to take examinations 
which gave him the degree of Bachelor of Laws. His first important 
official position was village solicitor, to which he was appointed by the 
council of Lorain in 1894. About that time came a much more important 
event in his life, his marriage on July 25, 1894, to Miss Maude M. Marsh, 
of Greenwich, and an old schoolmate of Judge Washburn. Few wives 
have been more practical and helpful companions to their husbands 
than Mrs. Washburn. Prior to her marriage she had been deputy in the 
probate office of Huron County, and when Judge Washburn was elected 
clerk of courts of Lorain County in 1896 she assisted him in the office, 
and in all their relations, both in business and at home, their lives 
have been singularly felicitous and harmonious, Mrs. Washburn was 
admitted to practice law in Ohio in 1896, but has never exercised that 
privilege in a professional way. 

In 1897, following hia election to county office. Judge Washburn 
moved to Elyria, and has since had his home in that city. He was re- 
elected to the office of clerk in 1899, and did not return actively to the 
practice of law until the fall of 1903. In 1904 Governor Myron T. Her- 
rick appointed him judge of the Common Pleas Court for the second 
sub-division of tlie Fourth Judicial District, to serve until his successor 
was elected. At a special election he was chosen his own successor in 
November, 1905, and by re-election in 1906 continued on the bench until 
1913. In 1912, while still in office as Common Pleas judge, he was 
nominated by the republicans for judge of the Court of Appeals in the 
Eighth Judicial District, which included the City of Cleveland. Owing 
to the split in the republican party of that year Judge Washburn failed 
to receive an election which otherwise would have been largely a matter 
of course. In February, 1913, he resumed the practice of law at Elyria. 

When Judge and Mrs. Washburn were married they were both poor, 
and they have used their abilities and opportunities to secure the most 
cherished of their ambitions, a good home and family of fine children, 
and means to live comfortably. Their children are : Charlotte Edwards, 
aged seventeen ; Anna Paine, aged sixteen ; Warner Marsh, aged twelve ; 
and Elizabeth, aged seven. Mrs. Washburn has proved a model mother, 
and in her success as a home-maker and in her capable judgment in 
business affairs she shares the honors of accomplishment associated with 
the name of her husband. Both are active members of the First Congre- 
gational Church of Elyria. For about ten weeks every summer the fam- 
ily live at the Summer Assembly Grounds maintained by the Congrega- 
tional Church at Crystal Lake near Frankfort, Michigan, and Judge 



izedtavGoOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 655 

Washburn manages to ^end about two weeks of the year at the same 
place. 

Judge Washburn is affiliated with the JIaaonic Order and the Knights 
of Pythias and in politics has always been a republican. He is a di- 
rector in the Savings Deposit Bank & Trust Company of Elyria, is a 
member of the Elyria Chamlwr of Commerce, a life member of the 
Library Board, a member of the Board of Trustees of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, a life member of the Elyria ^lemorial Hospital, 
was former president and is now a trustee of the Social Settlement at 
Elyria, has served as president of the Elyria Country Club, and has 
been president of the Men's Club of the Congregational Church, an 
oi^anization that has been in existence for the past eight years. Through 
these and other channels he finds opportunities to do a great deal of 
public-spirited work in behalf of his home city and county. Judge 
Washburn is a member of the Lorain County Bar Association and is 
trustee of the Lorain County Law Library Association. His chief recrea- 
tion is golf. 

BviiON Qerald N1CH0L.S. For more than thirty years Byron (Jerald 
Nichols has been identified with the business interests of Lorain, first as 
a successful merchant and more recently as an operator in real estate 
and insurance. His connections are so numerous and important, how- 
ever, that it would be difficult to find a field to which his activities 
have not led him, and each of his various ventures has been brought 
to a success through the exercise of his fine abilities. His business talents 
have always been used to further the interests of the eity, and as a mem- 
ber of the Lorain City Council for five years he contributed materially 
to civic improvement and advancement. 

Mr. Nichols is a native son of Lorain, and was born October 12, 
1864, his parents being John and Deborah (Lowe) Nichols. The parents 
came to Lorain County in 1857, settling in the vicinity of Lorain, on a 
farm, and here the father continued to be engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits during the remaining years of his life, and passed away November 
1, 1878. He was one of the substantial, practical farmers of his locality, 
was a man of the highest honor and integrity, and won and held the 
entire confidence of the people of his community. Mrs. Nichols survived 
him for a long period, and passed away at the old home. May 15, 1899. 

The public schools of Lorain furnished Byron Gerald Nichols with 
his early education, following which he enrolled as a student at Baldwin 
University, at Berea, Ohio, from which institution he was duly graduated 
in 1883. Thus equipped, Mr. Nichols entered business life at Lorain, 
establishing himself as the proprietor of a general merchandise estab- 
lishment, of which he continued to be the head for a period of twelve 
years. In the meantime he had at various times invested in realty hohl- 
ings, and his interests in this direction grew so extensively that he 
decided to give more of his attention to the real estate business. He 
accordingly disposed of his holding in the store, which he had built up 
to large proportions, and opened an office aS a dealer in real estate, loans, 
insurance, etc., in which field of endeavor he has steadily advanced to a 
foremost position among the business men of Lorain. Mr. Nichols has 
been connected with vaj-ious transactions of large magnitude, and his 
great capacity and thorough knowledge of values, coupled with many 
vcars of business association with capitalists and men of affairs, render 
him a valued medium for the carrying through of real estate deals. 
Mr. Nichols' abilities have been recognized and appreciated by his 
associates at Lorain, and his connection with enterprises of an important 
character are many, including directorships in the Lorain Banking 



y Google 



656 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Company, the Black River Telephone Company, the Lorain Glove 
Company and the Lorain Casting Company, He is a member and steward 
of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Lorain. Mr. Nichols' first 
political office was that of township clerk, in which capacity he served 
very acceptably for two years. He was then sent to the Lorain City 
Council, whfere he served five years, and while a member of that body 
served on the finance and other important committees, 

Mr, Nichols was married November 20, 1884, at New London, Ohio, 
to Miss Elizabeth Brightman, daughter of P, B. Brightman, who is 
engaged in agricultural pursuits in Huron County, and a member of a 
family that has been well known and prominent in Ohio for many years. 
Three children have been born to Mr, and Mrs. Nichols; Howard Kent, 
who graduated in June, 1914, from Western Reserve University, and is 
now associated with his father in the real estate business. He was 
married September 10, 1915, to Miss Gladys White, a daughter of John 
F. and Mae (Reed) White, of Cleveland, Ohio, Enid Lucretia and 
MiUieent Deborah reside with their parents. Personally, Mr, Nichols' 
manner and bearing are those of the brainy, successful business man, 
and he thus possesses peculiar advantages for his chosen vocation. His 
friends are as numerous as his acquaintances, and his career in the real 
estate history of Lorain County is no doubt destined to continae as a 
brilliant one, 

Artemas Beebe, who had the distinction of being the last survivor of 
the first pioneers of Elyria, was bom at Russell, Hampden County, Massa- 
chusetts, October 7, 1793, and died at Elyria, Ohio, March 29, 1880, aged 
eighty-six years, five months, twenty-two days. Educational advantages 
during his youth were not such as they are today in Massachusetts, but 
such opportunities as were afforded by the common schools were eagerly 
grasped by the lad during the intervals between his labor, and he grew up 
alert in mind and active in body, with an education which allowed him 
to take his proper place and hold his own among men. 

When still a youth, Mr. Beebe became a clerk in his father's store, 
there acquiring a rudimentary knowledge of business that laid the founda- 
tion upon which was later hailt a structure of business success, but his 
ambition at that time was to do more for himself than the opportunities 
promised in his native place, and when in his twenty-third year he engaged 
to accompany Heman Ely to his new possessions in the Far West, as Ohio 
was then regarded, in the capacity of carpenter and joiner. This com- 
pany consisted of Heman Ely, Ebenezer Lane, Luther Lane, Artemas 
Beebe, Ann Snow, the housekeeper, and Ned, Mr. Ely's colored servant, 
and left Springfield, Massachusetts, February 20, 1817, for the wilderness 
of the Western Reserve, where since has been built the community of 
Elyria. After a long and toilsome journey, the little party arrived at 
their destination on the evening of March 18, 1817, and found lodgings 
in the hut of logs that had been erected in the previous months, the only 
house in the settlement, which stood on what now is the south side of 
Broad Street, near where the "Old Tavern" still stands as a landmark of 
early days. It is not necessary to follow Mr. Beebe through his years 
of activity in preparing homes for those who were to share in the hard- 
ships of the pioneers ; suffice it to say that his resolute purpose to realize 
the ambitions of his youth never forsook him, and that from early morn 
until late at night he labored with the tools of his trade, or with the axe 
and hand-spike drove back the solid forest and added to the comforts of 
his home and the area of his farm. In February of the year following his 
arrival, he purchased a horse and returned to his home in New England, 
where he remained only a short time, and when he came back had a horse 



hv'^iUU'^lL' 



<,,<^7^^>^^«^ /O/^o'UyO 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 657 

aod wagon. Again, in February, 1820, he went to Massschusette, cover- 
ing the greater part of the journey on foot, and on the 4th of the follow- 
ing October was married in that state to Miss Pamelia Morgan. With bis 
bride and a wagon containing the most important implements of house- 
keeping he started for the new country again, arriving November 17. She 
continued to be his true and faithful helpmate during his long and useful 
career, and her death, which occurred June 26, 1878, had a very depress- 
ing effect on Mr. Beebe and no doubt hastened his own demise. 

Six years after he commenced housekeeping in the "Beebe Tavern," 
Mr. Beebe became the contractor for carrying the mails between Elyria 
and Cleveland', and this enterprise, beginning in a small way, eventually 
grew into a line of stage coaches which ran between Cleveland and Lower 
Sandusky, which was afterwards called Tremont. The handling of this 
business required the ptwsesaion of considerable executive ability and 
energy to insure its success, but Mr. Beebe was not found lacking in either, 
and the result was that after fifteen years of labor in this venture he sold 



Artemas Beebe Tavern, 1820 

his entire line, in 1842, to Neil, Moore & Company, and began to devote 
his then ample means to enterprises more directly beneficial to his imme- 
diate community. 

The Beebe House, which Mr. Beebe erected in 1846, was at that time 
the largest and best appointed hostelry in any country town in the West. 
He was one of the stockholders of the Lorain Bank at Elyria at the time 
of its organization, this now being known as the National Bank of Elyria, 
and was a member of its board of directors from its inception, in 1847, 
through its nationalization, up to the time of his death, and at all times 
had the regard and confidence of his associates, who looked to him for 
advice and leadership in important ventures. During all these years hia 
early habits of industry never forsook him, and he was constantly em- 
ployed in personally superintending the operation of his large estate, often 
performing work that could have been done by other hands, merely from 
the habit of keeping energetically at work. But the stoutest muscle can- 
not always endure and the strongest will must sometimes yield to the 
inexorable laws of nature. On November 18, 1876, while walking in his 
yard, he suffered a severe attack of paralysis, which for a time rendered 
his limbs on one side powerless to perform their functions, and it was 
feared for a time that he could not recover. His strong constitution and 
indomitable will, however, gradually overcame the dreaded disease, and he 



y Google 



658 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

was able to use his arms, although he never recovered the use of his lower 
limbs and from the day of bis attack never left the bouse unless carried 
to bis carriage for a short drive amid the scenes of former labors. 

Mr. Beebe contributed liberally to the church and Sunday school, as 
well as to benevolent and charitable movements. His mind continued 
alert to the last, and with the strict probity and integrity that bad 
governed all bis actions, he arranged his business affairs in an orderly 
manner, preparing thus calmly and resignedly for his final departure. 
He survived all the others of the party who came as pioneers to Elyria. 
Heman Ely died February 2, 1852 ; Ebenezer Lane, who became a chief 
justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, June 12, 1866; Luther Lane, No- 
vember 23, 1868 i and the colored boy, Ned, at West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1830, while Ann Snow died some time before Mr. Beebe, 
although the exact date is not known. 

Mrs. Beebe, who died June 26, 1878, was born at West Springfield, 
JIassachusetts, November 9, 1799. On October 4, 1820, she was mar- 
ried to Mr. Beebe at West Springfield, by the old blind pastor. Rev. 
Joseph Lathrop, assisted by his colleague, Rev. William B. Sprague. 
Prior to her marriage, Mrs. Beebe had been a member of the First Con- 
gregational Church of West Springfield, but when in 1824 the First 
Presbyterian Church of Elyria was formed, she became one of the ten 
original members, and at the time of her death only one other of the 
first ten survived. At the time of their deaths, Mr. and Mrs. Beebe 
belonged to the First Congregational Church of Elyria. 

There were three daughters and two sons in the family of Artemas 
and Pamelia (Morgan) Beebe: Mary, who died September 11, 1903, 
as the wife of Edwin Hall, leaving two children, of whom one is living, 
— Mrs, R. S. Sloan, of Sandusky, Ohio; Henry, who died February 15, 
1905, at Toledo, Ohio, leaving one son, George, who died at Cincinnati 
soon after his father's death; Artemas, a sketch of whose career will 
be found on another page of this work; Sarah, who died October H, 
1904, as the wife of Frank Turner, and left one daughter, — Winnifred 
L., who makes her home with her aunt ; and Pamelia Beebe, the youngest 
of the family and the only one now living, who makes her home at the 
old Beebe residence, 264 Broad Street. Pamelia Beebe was the only 
one of the children to be bom in this home, the others all being bom 
in the old Beebe Tavern here, an old landmark of Elyria, a cut of which 
is shown herewith. She was educated here and in girlhood joined the 
First Congregational Church, of which she has continued to be a 
member since the time of her father's joining, her mother having l>een 
a charter member when the church was organized, Pamelia Beebe 
is president of the Lorain County Historical Society, an office which 
she has held since the death of her sister, Mary, whom she succeeded. 
She is well known in church and social circles, and is held in high esteem, 
not only for her many personal attainments, but as the rep resent atiTe 
of a family than which none has done more to make Elyria 's history. 
From her father's interesting reminiscences of early days, the late 
Mrs. Mary Hall compiled a 58-page book, containing many early-day 
cuts of building and scenery, "Reminiscences of Elyria, Ohio," which 
was published in 1900 and dedicated to the Lorain County Historical 
Society, of which she was then president. This interesting work met 
with a large sale, the proceeds from which were turned over to the 
society to further its work. 

Artemas Beebe, In the death of the late Artemas Beebe, which 
occurred at his farm residence on Cleveland Street, August 27. 1891, 
Elyria lost a citizen who was a native son, who had grown with the 



r,»^iUUVl<. 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 659 

community, and whose history was a part of the history of the locality. 
He watched the straggling little hamlet of his boyhood grow and develop 
into a center of husiness, agricultural, educational and religious activ- 
ity, and while bearing his full share of the labors and responsibilities 
necessary to bring this great development about, won fairly and re- 
tained unquestionably the warmest regard and fullest confidence of his 
fellow men. 

Mr, Beebe was bom in the old hotel known as Beebe Tavern, at 
Elyria, Lorain County, Ohio, October 10, 1825, and spent his entire 
sixty-six years of life here. He was the second son of the late Arte- 
mas Beebe, who had come to this community with the late Heman Ely, 
from Massaehusetts, in 1817, and assisted in making a home in the 
wilderness where Elyria now stands, and a sketch of whose career and 
achievements will be found on another page of this work. Artemas 
Beebe of this review was educated in the public schools, which he 
attended until nearly fifteen years of age, and at that time became a 
clerk in the dry goods store of the late Seymour W. Baldwin, where lie 
remained for several years, then turning bis attention to farming. On 
November 25, 1847, he was married to Miss Nancy L. Fisher, of 
Grafton, Lorain County, and soon thereafter removed to his farm near 
the city, where, with the exception of two years, he passed the remainder 
of his life. At the time of his father's death, in 1880, he became the 
owner of the Beebe Hotel, which he leased until 1886, in which year he 
took possession as manager, but after two years of experience in this 
direction returned to farming and continued to be engaged tlierein until 
his death. As an agriculturist he was energetic, progressive and enter- 
prising, winning a substantial property through straightforward and 
above-board transactions. He was an active worker in religious affairs 
in Lorain County, and was a member and regular attendant of the 
Congregational Sunday School of Elyria for sixty years, for ten years 
of which time he acted in the capacity of assistant superintendent. In 
addition, he was for a long period chairman of the executive commit- 
tee of the Lorain County Sunday School Union. During thirty-three 
years he was an active and highly honored member of the Congregational 
Church of Elyria. A highly regarded man among his associates, in 
his home he was a kind husband and an indulgent father, and, in fact, 
in every walk of life, followed the dictates of a conscience that never 
failed to point out the proper course for him to pursue as an honest, 
Ood-fearing man. 

Jlrs. Beebe, who was born at Grafton, Lorain Cgunty, Ohio, Janu- 
ary 12, 1825, died at Elyria. November 15, 1898. They became the 
parents of four children, as follows: Mary M. (Beebe) Williams, who 
died suddenly at the family home in the same year as her mother, when 
apparently in the best of health ; William A., born October 14, 1848, at 
Elyria, for years a telegraph operator with the Lake Shore & Michigan 
Southern Railroad, a gSod citizen and a respecter of the Golden Rule, 
married Fanny Mills and had a son and daughter, the latter of whom 
died in October, 1900, and himself passed away December 10, 1902, 
mourned by a wide circle of friends and acquaintances; Frank, who is 
a resident of Elyria ; and Artemas, also of this city. 

Artemas Beebe. During a period of more than seventeen years, 
Artemas Beehe has been identified with the Cleveland & Southwestern 
Railway, in the capacity of conductor, and in this time has become one 
of the b«st known and most popular officials on the line. He belongs 
to one of Lorain County 's pioneer families, which was founded here by 
his grandfather, Artemas Beebe, who came to Elyria in 1817. Since 



y Google 



660 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

that time the history of the family has been that of the city and county. 

Mr. Beebe of this review was born at Elyria, May 26, 1869, and is a 
son of Artemas and Nancy Louise (Fisher) Beebe. Separate mention 
is made in this work of his father and grandfather, as well as of bis 
brother, Prank Beebe, of Elyria, who is the only other survivor of the 
family of four children, of whom Artemas is the yonngest. Educated 
in the public schools of Elyria, Artemas Beebe was graduated from tbe 
high school with the class of 1890, and at that time became the proprietor 
of a book store, located on Broad Street, at the present site of the 
Haserodt jewelry store, at No. 503. During the four years that Mr. 
Beebe conducted this establishment, under the firm style of Beebe & 
Company, Edward Fisher, the jeweler, shared the rooms with him. 
In 1895, when he sold his business to John C. Bins, Mr. Beebe went to 
work under his father-in-law, the late George H. Mapes, of whose career 
further notice will be fonnd elsewhere in this work. He began as yard 
clerk at the Baltimore & Ohio Junction, and later for five years was 
identified with the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway, and when 
be left that concern entered the service of the Cleveland & Elyria Elec- 
tric Railway, which has since become the Cleveland & Southwestern 
Railway. Since June 2, 1898, he has acted in the capacity of conductor 
and his faithful, efBcient and courteous performance of his duties has 
made him one of the company's moat trusted and valued employes, as 
well as placing him high in the regard of the passengers who patron- 
ize this line. 

Mr. Beebe has large interests in the Beebe estate, owning a part of the 
200-acre farm which his father had on the east side of the city, and in 
addition holding a number of valuable pieces of city realty. In business 
circles he has many warm friends among leading and influential citizens 
and has built up a reputation for integrity and fidelity which the mem- 
bers of his family have always enjoyed. Raised a Mason in 1901, 
Mr. Beebe has taken a keen interest in Masonic work, and when the 
Masonic Temple was being built probably collected more money for its 
erection than any other person in Elyria. He is a member of King 
Solomon Lodge Xo. 56, Free and Accepted Mason, of which be is past 
master; was eminent commander of Elyria Commandery No. 60, in 
1910; in 1911 and 1912 was thrice illustrious master of Elyria Council 
No. 86, and belongs to Lake Erie Consistory, being a thirty-second 
degree Scottish Rite Mason. He also holds membership in the Knights 
of the JIaceabees and the Royal Arcanum. As a member of the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Beebe has assisted in forwarding move- 
ments which have advanced the commercial and industrial welfare of 
the city, and he also belongs to the Elyria Memorial Hospital Relief 
Association, and, with his family, to the First Congregational Church 
of Elyria. "When the Young Men 's Christian Association Building was 
being erected at Elyria he took a prominent part in the collection of 
funds, being a member of Captain Butte n bender's team. 

On December 16, 1891, Mr. Beebe was married to Miss Minnie An- 
geline Mapes, who was born at Bellevue, Ohio, the only child of George 
and Marietta E. (King) Mapes, by whom she was brought to Elyria 
when she was one and one-halt years of age. Mr. Mapes is now deceased, 
and his widow owns the home at No. 626 Broad Street, which Mr. Mapes 
built, and in which Mr. and Mrs. Beebe now reside. 

Oeorgb JI.vpes. For thirty-three years the late George Mapes was 
a well-known and highly respected citizen of Elyria and was one of the 
most popular railroad men of this community, his connection with the 
Lake Shore & Michigan Southern 'Railway having commenced in 1873. 



h.»^ioogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 661 

From that time until his retirement he contioued in the service of that 
road and grew to be one of its most trusted employes. 

Mr. ilapes was born at Willoughby, Ohio, August 18, 1841, the 
youngest in a family of seven brothers and sisters and the last of them 
to die, the preceding death in the family having been that of his sister, 
Mrs, Katherine Alvord, of Peoria, Illinois, who passed away only a week 
before her brother's demise. Educated in the public schools of his 
native community, when his school days were finished he took up teleg- 
raphy, then a new vocation, which he made his life work. He was still 
a youth when he entered the service of the Lake Shore & Michigan 
Southern Railway, and at various times held the position of telegrapher 
at Wakeman, Clyde and Bellevue, Ohio, and at the latter place was 
promoted to station agent. In 1873 he was transferred from Bellevue 
to Elyria. in the capacity of agent, where he continued until his retire- 
ment in December, 1903, he then being pensioned by the road in the 
service of which he had spent forty years of energetic, conscientious and 
capable work. Mr. Klapes was' one of the old-time "knights of the 
key," his experiences having covered the era of the greatest develop- 
ment of the telegraph. He was known as a rapid operator and his mes- 
sages could be depended upon absolutely. Among railroad men he was 
widely known and had many frienc^ among the high officials of the 
road with which he was connected. 

While at Bellevue, Mr. Mapes was raised a Mason, and continaed 
to be actively interested in the work of that fraternity up to the time 
of his death. For three years prior to that event he had been secre- 
tary for the several branches of the order at Elyria, including E^g 
Solomon Lodge No. 56, and Marshall Chapter No. 47, and he was also 
recorder for Elyria Council No. 86, and a member of Elyria Command- 
ery No. 60, Knights Templar, of which he was made a member April 13, 
1905. He became a member of the Royal Arcanum at the time of its 
organization at Elyria. Mr. Mapes died March 29, 1907, and his funeral 
was in chaise of the Masonic order and held at Masonic Temple. He 
was widely mourned, not only among his family and immediate friends, 
but among a wide acquaintance who knew him as a kindly, charitable' 
man, and as a citizen who was always giving his support to some bene- 
ficial movement in the community. 

On January 27, 1866, Mr. Mapes was married to Miss Mary Etta 
King, who survives him and resides at the old family home on Broad 
Street. One daughter was bom to this union : Minnie Angeline, who 
is now the wife of Artemas Beebe, of Elyria, the daughter and son-in- 
law making their home with the mother at the old home which Mr. Mapes 
built many years ago. 

Charles P. Edwards. When Charles P. Edwards came to Oberlin in 
1882 he was an ambitious young man, possessing considerable skill and 
experience in the tin and metal working trade and as a plumber. For a 
number of years he went steadily ahead as an employe of different firms 
in the town, and in 1905 he borrowed some capital and started a business 
of his own. That he has done well is the general consensus of opinion in 
that community. He now furnishes perhaps the most reliable service 
in plumbing and tin and metal work in the community. 

He was horn at Seville, Medina County, Ohio, June 24, 1860. His 
parents were James D. and Ellen (Sickner) Edwards. His grandfather 
was Andrew Edwards, who was bom at Paisley, Scotland, and emigrated 
to the United States about 1825, first settling in New York, aod thence 
moving to Seville, Ohio, during the early '50a, He was a tanner and 
currier by trade, having served a thorough seven years apprenticeship in 



y Google 



662 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

those lines in Scotland. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Edwards was 
James Sicklier, who was born in one of the New England states and for 
many years sailed the ocean as an able hodied seaman, and saw practically 
all the ports of the civilized world. On leaving the sea he came inland to 
Ohio, and there followed his trade of hlack.smith. James D. Edwards, 
father of Charles P., was born in Watertown, New York, in 1836. while 
his wife was born at Strongsville, Ohio, in 1837, and died in 1897. They 
were married in Seville, Ohio, in 1858, James D. Edwards was a tinsmith 
for more than forty years in Seville, and he now lives at Jefferson and 
is still working at his trade. He is a member of the Baptist Church and 
is affiliated with the Masonic Order and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. As a republican he served as mayor of Seville a number of ye^ars 
and was also a member of the town council. During the Civil war he was 
one of the Ohio volunteers who aided in repelling Morgan's raids, while 
his brother John lost his life at the siege of Knoxvilie, Tennessee. 

Reared in his native Village of Seville, Charles P. Edwards ae(|nired 
a common school education, and when only a boy began working and 
learning the trade of tinsmith under his father. After his apprenticeship 
he became a journeyman, and while he is duly modest aliout his own 
accomplishment, his friends say that he has prospered by steady adherence 
to one line and by doing everything he undertakes well and thoroughly. 

In 1881 he married Mary Freehold, of Cleveland. To their union 
were born four children : Arthur, who is in business with his father ; 
Mrs. Stella "Williams, of Elyria, whose husband is a motorman ; Mrs, 
Fannie Rathwell, wife of a farmer in Lorain County; and Alma, who is 
employed in a local telephone office. The mother of these children died in 
1893. In 1895 Mr. Edwards married Eliza Rathwell, who was born at 
Oberlin. There are also four children by this union : May Udora, Grace 
and Harley, all of them at home. Mr. Edwards is a member of the 
Baptist Church, and finds an outlet for his interests in fraternal work. 
He has passed the chairs of the subordinate lodge of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and is also a member of the Knights and Ladies 
of Security. In politics he is a republican, and is a factor in the munici- 
pal government of Oberlin, where he has served in the city council for 
the past four years. 

II. C. Otterbacher. For many years the name Otterbacher has been 
closely and successfully identified with business affairs at Wellington. 
The late John Martin Otterbacher, who died September 8, 1910. was in 
early life trained to the trade of harnessmaker, and he used that trade 
to build up and develop a business which made him prominent at 
Wellington. 

The successor of his father in mercantile affairs at Wellington is H. 
C. Otterbacher, who was born at Wellington, September 6, 1879, a son 
of the late John Martin and Rosa L. (Fahrion) Otterbacher. 

H. C. Otterbacher acquired his early education in the Wellington 
public schools, graduating from high school in 1897, and afterwards 
attending Oberlin Business College for one year. He then became his 
father's assistant in the harness business and has eontimicd and expanded 
the business since his father's death. He now has a large and well 
equipped store and factorj-, keeps all supplies in the way of harness 
required by the trade, and keeps a large stock of buggie-s. wagons and 
farm implements. He is an ex-president of the Tri-State Vehicle and 
Implement Association and is at present a director in that organization. 

On September 2. 1914, Mr. Otterbacher married Miss Phillipine 
Handiges of Cleveland, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C. Handiires. 

Mr. Otterbacher is a prominent Mason, being senior warden of Wel- 
lington Lodge, No. 127, Free and Accepted Masons, and has taken his 



b.»^iuOglc 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 663 

degrees iu both the York and Scottish Rites, is a thirty-second degree 
Mason and is a member of Al Koran Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of 
Nobles of the IVlystic Shrine of Cleveland, Ohio. In politics be is a 
republican. 

Thomas T, Winckles. Now in the seventy-ninth year of his age, 
Thomas T. AVinekles has had a truly noteworthy career, not in the 
abnormal sense of the term but in the sturdy accomplishment of duty, the 
fulfillment of obligations to home, friends and community, and a straight- 
forward career, loving justice, practicing charity, and walking in the 
fear of Qod. Mr. Winckles has spent practically all the years of his 
life in Lorain County, and is now one of the grand old men among its 
native citizens. 

Born on a farm in Avon Township, March 29, 1837, a son of Thomas 
T. and Ann (Buck) "Winckles, both of whom were bom in' Northampton- 
shire, England, and were married there, emigrating to the United States 
early in 1836 and spending about a year in New York City. His father 
bought property in New York City but sold it on moving to Avon Town- 
ship in Lorain County. They settled in this county the same year that 
Mr. Winckles was bom and the elder Winckles spent his active career 
as a farmer. In 1845 he removed to Ridgeville, and built a fine estate 
in that section of the county. He had owned about ninety acres in Avon, 
and selling that bought fifty acres first in Ridgeville and later acquired 
more than 200 acres of wild land. His estate was finally reduced to 
187 acres in Ridgeville, and for more than sixty years that has been 
in the possession of the Winckles family. The father lived in that com- 
munity until his death at the age of forty-four, and his wife passed away 
at the age of fifty-one. The elder Thomas T, Winckles took an active 
part in local affairs, serving as a township trustee and justice of the 
peace at Ridgeville. In his family were seven children, three sons and 
four daughters. Elizabeth, who married Thomas Martin, died in Vir- 
ginia ; tlie second is Thomas T., Jr. ; Cary H. was a graduate of Oberlin 
College, early enlisted in the army daring the Civil war as a private, 
was promoted to orderly sergeant and finally to first lieutenant only a 
few days before his death, his fatal illness having overtaken him when 
near Covington, Kentucky, in 1863, while with the One Hundred and 
Third Ohio Volunteer Infantry ; Sarah Jane died in childhood and all 
the other children died in infancy. 

Thomas T. Winckles received most of his education in the Elyria 
public schools, with a few terms in Oberlin College. His school and home 
training well prepared him for the serious and practical duties of life, 
and he then took up farming on the old estate. He was only twenty 
years of age when his father died, and he continued to cultivate and 
manage the homestead until 1881, at which time he bought the property. 
This fine farm of 187 acres in Ridgeville is easily one of the best in Lorain 
County, and is now the property of his son Cary T. Winckles. Thomas 
T. Winckles owned and managed the farm up to 1900, since which year, 
he has lived almost retired in Elyria. His home in Elyria comprises a 
substantial residence surrounded with four and a half acres of land and 
as it would be contrary to his nature to be idle, he finds employment in 
working his large garden. His home is at the corner of Cleveland Street 
and Winckles Street, the latter being named in his honor. lie laid part 
of this street out, and the late Parks Foster continued the thoroughfare, 
and it is now one of considerable length. 

During his residence in Ridgeville Mr. Winckles took an active part 
in civic and religious life. He was a trustee of the township for a num- 
ber of years and since coming to Elyria served six years as a member of 
the city council, representing the first ward. In polities he \s a repub- 



,Google 



664 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

liean. In the way of local improvemente be had erected four residences 
on Wiuckles Street, and still owns three of these, which he rents. He 
is also interested as a stockholder in The Farm Implement Company at 
Elyria, of which his son Harvey T. Winekles, mentioned on other pages, 
is president and the active head. Mr. "WinckleB has long been prominent 
in the Congregational Church at Ridgeville, and up to a year ago served 
as one of its trustees, bis service in that t^ce beginning when be was 
only twenty years of age and at the time of the organizatioB of the 
church and continuing for more than fifty-five years. He helped to 
build the first church home, and has been one of its main supporters, a 
work and interest in which his wife was equally zealous. 

At the home of Thomas and Jane (Townshend) Hurst in Dover, 
Cuyahoga County, on January 16, 1861, Mr. Winekles married Miss 
Lucy A. Hurst. She was bom in Dover, received her early schooling 
there and lateir attended Oberlin College. For more than fifty-four years 
Mr. and Mrs. Winekles have traveled life's highway t(^ther, and theirs 
has been a marriage ideal in its communion and its interests and accom- 
plishments. A few years ago they celebrated with family and friends 
their golden wedding anniversary. Of the five children bom to them 
three are still living. Arthur died when three years of age ; Lillian is 
now Mrs. W, M. Bamee of Cleveland. Cary T. is president of The Elyria 
CoDStniction Company and owns and operates as a dairy farm the old 
homestead in Ridgeville, as related on other pages. Lena died at the 
age of eighteen, being at that time a graduate of the Elyria high school. 
Harvey T. is president and general manager of The Farm Implement 
Company of Elyria and his career as a business man is recited on other 
pages. All these children received their early education in the Elyria 
public schools. 

Perrt G. Worcester, One of the best known carpenter contractors 
in Lorain County is Perry G. Worcester of Oberlin. Mr. Worcester 
as the basis of his business learned his trade thoroughly and skillfully, 
and during the past twenty or thirty ypars has employed bis individual 
services and the organization which he has built up and maintained in 
the construction of some of the best homes, offices and other buildings 
in the county. 

He comes of a very old American family, -which originally came from 
England and settled in Massachusetts and Vermont, from which states 
the stock has spread to all parts of the Union, There were a number 
of the Worcesters who served in the rank and file in the patriot army 
during the Revolution, and one of them was colonel of a regiment. 

It was fully seventy years ago that this branch of the Worcesters 
became identified with Lorain County. Grandfather Samuel Worcester, 
a native of Vermont, came to Lorain County in 1845, took up a tract 
of land and lived on it as a farm until his death. Perry G. Worcester 
was born in Lorain County on a farm May 1, 1863, a son of James M, 
and Adeline {Hill) Worcester. The father was born at Fort Ticonderoga. 
New York, in 1828 and the mother in Vermont in 1831. His father died 
in August, 1907, and his mother in June, 189S. James M. Worcester 
was about seventeen years of age when the family came to Oberlin. and 
he combined farming and work as a carpenter. He owned several farms 
in the county, and was quite successful, though he started in life with 
practically nothing. In the '40s and '50s he was an active abolitionist, 
and helped to keep up the undei^ound railroad. He was a republican 
in politics, served »s a member of the city council at Oberlin, as town 
trustee for a number of years and also as assessor. He was also a 
member of the Masonic order, while his wife was a Methodist. They 
were the parents of thirteen children, eleven of whom are living. 



b.»^iOOgle 



f> A i^^^-^-^u.^^ , 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 665 

The Dinth in order of birth, Perry G, Worcester completed his early 
education in the Oherlin High School. For the first twenty-one years 
of his life he lived almost entirely on the farm, and then learned the 
carpenter's trade and gradually developed his trade into a contracting 
busioess. It is said that he has contracted and built more of the first 
class homes in Oherlin than any other man. He has been in the business 
for twenty-one years, at Oherlin, and for four years he was located at 
Mentor, Ohio. 

On February 27, 1889, Mr, Worcester married Emily Corning, 
daughter of Nelson and Adelia (Tyler) Coming. Her father was bom 
in Mentor, Ohio, in 1831, and died in 1907, and her mother was bom in 
New York State in 1832 and is still living at the age of eighty-four. 
Nelson Corning was a farmer by occupation and spent practically all 
the days of his life at Mentor, Mr. and Mrs. Worcester have four 
children : Nelson C, a farmer at Oberlin ; Mills E., who is in the United 
States regular army; Emily A,, who is still attending school at Oberlin; 
and Harriet Elizabeth, bom September 16, 1900, and died February 
5, 1905. 

Mr. Worcester has for many years taken much interest in the Masonic 
order, and is affiliated with the Lodge, Royal Arch Chapter, Knight 
Templar and Commandery, is a thirty-second degree Mason and belongs 
to Alkoran Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
at Cleveland, Ohio. He has served as junior warden of his lodge and 
is now generalissimo in the Knights Templar. In politics he is a 
republican. 

Orlando T. Maynard, M. D. If there is one institution more than 
another of which the citizens of Lorain County are proud it is the Elyria 
Memorial Hospital, and it was a high tribute to the standing, ability 
and recognized qualiftcatons of Dr. Maynard as a physician and surgeon 
that he was chosen as the first president of the medical staff of that 
hospital when it was oi^anized. He has continued a member of the staff 
ever since, and is also on the medical staff of the Nurses' Training School. 
Dr. Maynard is one of the older physicians of Elyria, where he has prac- 
ticed more Oian a quarter of a century, and his entire record of service 
in that profession covers forty years. 

Bom at Ripley, Huron County, Ohio, September 14, 1851, he is a son 
of George C, and Polly (Woodward) Maynard. His father was born 
in New.Tork State, February 18, 1821, and when a boy accompanied his 
parents to Huron County, where he became a substantial farmer, and 
died there June 29, 1897. The doctor's mother was also a native of 
New York State, born October 8, 1827, and when a girl was brought 
to Hancock County, Ohio, by her parents. She died in Huron County, 
August 12, 1903, on the same farm she came to as a bride flfty-tbree 
years before. 

The first twenty-one years of his life Doctor Maynard largely spent 
on his father's farm in Huron County, attending in the meanwhile the 
public and select schools of that locality. Prior to his twenty-first birth- 
day he taught school for two terms in Ripley, his native township, and 
taught another term later, just before entering medical college, and part 
of his expenses while studying medicine were defrayed from his earn- 
ings as a teacher. He began the study of medicine at North Fairfield, 
Ohio, and in 1875 was graduated from the Eclectic Medical Institute at 
Cincinnati. Since then, a period of forty years, he has been continuously 
in the practice of his profession. Few medical men in Lorain county 
have secured for themselves so generous an equipment and training in the 
various medical centers of the world. In 1884 Doctor Maynard grad- 



,Google 



666 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

uated from Western Reserve Medical School, and in 1886 was given a 
diploma by the New York Polyelinie. He has also traveled extensively 
abroad, spending four summers in hospitals in London, and has done 
post-gradnate work in that city, in Berlin, Germany, and Dublin, Ire- 
land. Doctor jMaynard and his wife have made two trips to Egypt and 
the Holy Laud, the first in 1906 and the second in 1912, 

From 1875 to 1877, Doctor Maynard was assistant physician in the 
Hospital for the Insane at Toledo. His home has been in Elyria since 
1887. He is a member of the Lorain County Medical Society, the Cleve- 
land Academy of Medicine, the Ohio State Medical Association, the 
American Medical Association, and is a trustee of the Elyria Public 
Library. 

Doctor Maynard in politics has always endeavored to support the 
cleanest and best man who was candidate for ofiGce and where no dif- 
ference has been apparent in their respective qualifications has usually 
supported the republican ticket. He is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, the Royal Arcanum, and has been a member of 
the Baptist Church since 1873. In 1877 in Amherst Township of Lorain 
County, Doctor Maynard married Mary E. Lyman, daughter of Charles 
Lyman. 

Henry Oswald Wurmseb, Architecture, the art which constructs 
either for beauty or utility, or combines both, is one of the oldest of the 
refining and civilizing agencies of man. While it has necessarily been 
regulated by natural conditions and configuration of the country in 
which it is exercised, the development of a modem palace, either for 
residence or business, step by step from the ancestral cave or tent, is 
one of the great and interesting romances of civilization. 

Worthily in the front rank of this difficult and important profession, 
Henry Oswald Wurmw^r possesses a very large circle of professional 
and social friends. The mention of his name brings at once to mind 
Lorain's beautiful school buildings, which have been incidents in an 
immense field of labor successfully and honorably accomplished. Just 
as the names of some public and business men who have passed into the 
history of the county suggest their fulfillment of important enterprises, 
so also it is probable the name of Mr. Wurmser will be identified with 
the architectural and building interests of Ohio for many years to 
come. 

Henry Oswald Wurmser was bom at Findlay, county seat«of Han- 
cock County, Ohio. April 27, 1861, and is a son of Oswald and Mary 
(Alheile) Wurmser, who were born in France and came to the United 
States soon after they were married. As a boy Oswald Wurmser, Sr., 
adopted the building profession and followed it with success throughout 
the period of his active life, designing and erecting many of Pindlay's 
most beautiful and imposing structures of the early days. 

n. 0, Wurmser's direction of study was mapped out for him early in 
his life, and his preparatory education for the professions of engineering 
and architecture, quite often united in that day, received most careful 
development and supervision from his father, under whose guidance be 
chiefly gained his preparatory education in his calling, beginning to 
learn" ils rudiments while still a student at the public schools. After 
some years of practice at Findlay in 1893 he came to Lorain, and from 
that time to the present his name has continued to he identified with the 
best work of his profession, which he has followed throughout the State 
of Ohio. 

The labors whieh have brought this accomplished architect most 
prominently into public view have been probably in the line of public 

Dignzeatav'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 667 

school buildings. At Lorain he has erected all the public school build- 
ings during the past twenty-one years with the exception of three. 
Among these are to be found the Oakwood Park School, a $40,000 
structure, and the Lincoln School, located at Vine and East Thirty-iirat 
Street, the contract price for which was $60,000. This latter structure, 
built in 1913, two stories and basement, occupies ground dimensions 
106 bj' 76 feet, with basement under all, and with an auditorium 31 by 
76 feet. During his active career Mr. Wurmser has designed and built 
1.224 buildings in Ohio, including among many others the Methodist 
Church at Elyria and the Reeves Hotel at New Philadelphia, Ohio, the 
latter costing $75,000. 

Mr. Wurmser has various business connections outside of his calling, 
one of which is with the Parkside Automobile Company, of which he is 
vice president. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. 
In former years he took much interest in politics, having been a 
meml)er of the Central Committee of Lorain, but recently the demands 
of his profession have been so heavy as to take his entire time and 
attention. 

In 1884 Mr. Wurmser was married at Findlay, Ohio, to Miss Allie 
S. "Woodley of that city. Pour children have been born to their union. 
Prank J., who is now traffic manager for the National Stove Company 
of Lorain, married Jessie Rood, and they are the parents of one child, 
Joan. Roy G. and Cliffe L., twins, have also reached the stage of inde- 
pendent usefulness in their careers, and Roy is identified with the Park- 
side Automobile Company in the capacities of secretary and treasurer, 
while Cliffe is one of the popular and efficient teachers in the public 
schools of Lorain, The youngest child, Paul W,, is a student in the 
Lorain High School, 

Bert 0. Dur.vnd. The oldeat real estate and insurance business in 
Lorain County under the continuous management of members of one 
family was established at Oberlin in 1865, the same year as that in which 
occurred the birth of Bert 0. Durand, who is now head of this old and 
reliable business, wbicb has recently completed a record of fifty years. 

The business was established by the late William B. Durand, who 
was born in Ohio in 1839 and died at Oberlin in 1909. He followed 
the work of an educator for several years, but in 1865 opened his office aa 
an insurance and real estate man at Oberlin, and developed a very 
extensive business, though he had gone into the work with practically 
nothing. He was also prominent in local affairs. During the Civil war 
he spent two years with an Ohio regiment until stricken with brain fever 
and taken from the army to the hospital at Nashville, Tennessee. Wil- 
liam B. Durand was the son of Henry Durand, who was bom in Bed- 
ford. Connecticut, and was an early settler on a farm in Erie County, 
Ohio. William B. Durand served as township clerk at Oberlin for 
twenty-eight years, and was a member of the school board eight years. 
He was a republican and was affiliated with the Royal Arcanum, and for 
thirty-five years was superintendent of the Baptist Sunday School and 
very active in the church itself. His wife belonged to the First Con- 
gregational Church. William B. Durand was married at Grafton, Ohio, 
in 1861, to Hannah Breckenridge, who was born at Grafton in 1842, and 
died in 1914. Her father, Benjamin Breekenridge. was a native of Illi- 
nois and moved to Ohio, following farming near Orafton. 

Bert 0. Durand, the only son of his parents, was horn at Oberlin 
October 30, 1866, He was liberally educated, graduated from Oberlin 
College in 1890. and soon afterwards entered business with his father. 
A little later his father went on the road in the interests of business 



y Google 



668, HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

and turned the mana^ment of the home office over to hie son. Mr. 
Durand is now one of the leading representatives of the general insurance 
and real estate field in Lorain County, and his business connections also 
extend to Cuyahoga County. 

In 1889 he married Lillian B. Burgess, of Norwalk, Ohio. They have 
two children : William Brecbenridge, who is attending high school ; and 
Corinne, in the Conservatory of Music at Oberlin College. The family 
are members of the First Congregational Church. Mr. Durand is a past 
chancellor of the Knights of Pythias and has filled the various chairs in 
the lodge of Masons. In politics he is a repuf>lican. For sixteen years 
he filled the office of township clerk at Oberlin, and was chief of the local 
fire department for eight years. 

Charles K. Wn^soN. From a successful career as a farmer in Avon 
Township, Charles E. Wilson graduated into a position of business and 
public leadership at Elyria. Mr. Wilson is one of the honored veterans 
of the Civil war, has spent most of his life in Lorain County, has 
served with credit in public office, and among other important relations 
which he sustains toward business is chairman of the board of directors 
of the Lorain County Savings & Trust Company, one of the largest and 
solidest banking institutions of Northern Ohio. 

Charles E. Wilson was bom in Avon Township, Lorain County, 
Ohio, August 26, 1840, a son of William and Elvira (Clisbee) Wilson. 
The father was bom in Northamptonshire, England, in 1812, and came 
to the United States at the age of eighteen with his father, William. 
William, Sr., was twice married, and his first wife died in England and 
his second in Avon Township. After living in Cleveland, Ohio, for a 
few years William Wilson, Jr., was married in that city to Miss Elvira 
Clisbee, and in 1839 they removed to Avon Township, Lorain County, 
settling on a tract of land which at that time was covered by woods. 
He died there January 19, 1860, at the age of forty-seven years two 
months and nine days. In politics he was a democrat, and a member of 
the Baptist Church. His wife, who was of New England stock, lived to 
be eif^ty-five years of age and passed away at Tabor, Iowa, May 25, 
1904. In 1867, after the marriage of her son Charles, she and three of 
her children went to CassopoUs, Michigan, lived in that state about three 
years, and then went West to Tabor, Iowa, where she spent the rest of 
her years. Mrs. Wilson in Iowa took a very prominent part in church 
work, was a devoted Baptist, and was especially known for her kindness 
and helpfulness in times of ^ckness and need. She was laid to rest at 
Tabor. In the family were six children, three boys and three girls, of 
which two sons and one daughter are still living: Charles E., who is 
the oldest of the family ; Nancy, wife of N. S, Phelps, living on a farm 
near Glenwood, Iowa; Louis E., of Tarkio, Atchison County, Missouri; 
Anna, wife of J. S. Graves of Tabor, Iowa, died there leaving one aon, 
Thaddeus L., who after the death of his mother was brought to Lorain 
County by his uncle, Charles E. Wilson, was reared and graduated from 
the Elyria schools and is now married and lives in Portland, Oregon; 
Willis S., who died at the age of twenty-three in Tabor, Iowa, where he 
is buried ; and Alice, who died and was buried at Tabor, Iowa. All these 
children were bom in Avon Township, Lorain County. 

Charles E. Wilson had the stimulating environment of the partly de- 
veloped farm during his early youth, and when the oceasion and oppor- 
tunity were given attended the common schools of Avon Township. He 
afterwards had one term of instmction in Oberlin College. He had just 
reached manhood when the war broke out, but did not enlist until 
1864, when he left the heavy responsibilities of the home and enlisted 



jgic 




s 



DignzedbyGoOgle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 669 

in Company H of the First Ohio Heavy Artillery, which was in service 
chiefly in Eastern Tennessee. He remained with the army until after 
the close of the war, and was discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, in June, 
1865. After the surrender of Lee he returned home, and iu the fall of 
the same year drove a team to Iowa, and spent one year on a farm in 
that state. Returning to Lorain County, he was married, and located 
on the old homestead, which for several years he rented, and later 
bought. Mr. Wilson was an active and progressive farmer in Avon 
Township until 1886, and now for almost thirty years has been a resi- 
dent of the City of Elyria, In public affairs he has always been an influ- 
ential factor, and his chief service was as county commissioner, a posi- 
tion he held for six years and ten months, two terms of three years each, 
after which he served an appointive term of ten months. 

.Mr. Wilson has long been active in financial affairs at Elyria, and 
was formerly a stockholder in the Elyria Savings Deposit Company. 
With the organization of the Lorain County Banking Company, he sold 
his stock in the former institution and became one of the original 
stockholders of the new company, and on the 15th of November, 1915, 
the bank was reorganized as the Lorain County Savings & Trust Com- 
pany and its capital stock increased. He has been one of the directors 
for a number of years, and is now chairman of the board. The Lorain 
County Savings & Trust Company has capital stock of $150,000, and 
surplus and undivided profits of nearly $115,000. The total resources 
according to a statement made in the spring of 1915 aggregated over 
^2,000,000. Probably the item in this statement which most accurately 
indicates the high standing of the bank in Northern Ohio is that show- 
ing the deposits, which at the time aggregated over $2,000,000. The 
executive officers of the banking company are : Arthur B. Taylor, presi- 
dent; Richard D, Perry, vice president; Louis B. Fauver, second vice 
president ; Alvin J. Plocher, secretary ; Herbert A. Daniels, treasurer ; 
Aloysius ^I. Thome, assistant treasurer. The board of directors com- 
prise a number of the best known business men and citizens of Lorain 
County. 

In addition to his responsibilities as chairman of the board of di- 
rectors of the Lorain County Savings & Trust Company Blr. Wilson is 
a stockholder in various enterprises in Elyria and elsewhere, including 
the Cleveland, Columbus and Southwestern Electric Railway. He is 
president of the Masonic Temple Building Company of Elyria. He is a 
member of Richard Allen Post, Q. A. R., of Elyria ; of King Solomon 
Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons; and of the Elyria Chamber 
of Commerce. While not a member of any church, he is a regular 
attendant and supporter of the Methodist Episcopal Society of Elyria, 
where his wife has an active membership. Among other public services 
he has been a member of the Elyria city council, and in politics is a 
republican on national issues. 

In Avon Township, on April 16, 1867, Mr. Wilson married Hiss 
Elzina Lucas. She became his wife when he was still stru^ling to get 
a start as a young farmer, and they have traveled life's highway to- 
gether, sharing and dividing each other's joys and sorrows for nearly 
half a century. To their marriage were bom two daughters. Mrs. 
Alice E. Edwards, the only one now living, resides at the Wilson home 
in Elyria, and her daughter. Miss Alice W. Edwards, after graduating 
from the Elyria High School in the class of 1914 entered the Ohio Wes- 
leyan University at Delaware. The other daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilson was named Grace, and died at the age of sixteen years. The 
daughter, Mrs. Edwards, and her daughter, are members of the Con- 
gregational Church at Elyria. 



y Google 



670 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Albert Z. Tillotson. While most lawyers o£ Lorain County have 
their homes in Eiyria, one of the able representatives of the profession 
is Albert Z. Tillotson, of Oberlin. Mr. Tillotson has a very large private 
practice, and his position is such that it is evident he made no mist^e 
when he returned from his career as a school man, which he had fol- 
lowed for a number of years, to the law. 

Born at Brunswick, Medina County, Ohio, August 2, 1867, he is a son 
of Zadock and Emily M. {Metealf) Tillotson. Both parents were natives 
of Ohio, his father born in Brunswick in 1835 and his mother in Liver- 
pool in 1843. They were married in Liverpool, Ohio, in 1860 and the 
father died after a long career as a farmer in May, 1913, at the home of 
his only son and child, Albert Z„ in Oberlin. The mother died in 
1898, The latter was a member of the Baptist Church while the father 
was a Methodist, was a republican in politics and was afBliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Albert Z. Tillotson finished his education in the Oberlin Business 
College, and had also attended a select school at Brunswick. His work as 
a teacher was continued through sixteen terms, and in the meantime he 
had taken up the study of law under his uncle. C. A. Metealf, and after 
his admission to the bar practiced with his unele at Oberlin and Eiyria 
for five years. Since then he has been alone in practice and has handled 
eases before all the courts of the state and the Federal district. 

In polities he is a republican and an active party man in his section 
of Lorain County. He has served as justice of the peace, and was 
elected police judjie of Oberlin, being one of the youngest men honored 
with that office. He has also been a candidate for nomination as probate 
judge. 

In 1888 Mr. Tillotson married Emily C. Felakins. She was born in 
Sullivan, Ashland County, Ohio, daughter of George Felakins, a 
farmer and early settler there. Mr. and Mrs, Tillotson have a fine 
family of eight children: Roy Ei, who is now a senior in Oberlin Col- 
lege; Jessie, a teacher in the public schools; Mary E.. a teacher at Pen- 
field; Frances E., who is employed in Cleveland. Ohio; Ruth Marie, 
Esther M., Ruby Lou and Rose Elaine, all at home. 

Mr. Tillotson is a member of the Baptist Church, is a Mason, having 
served as senior deacon in his lodge, has passed all the chairs of local 
lodge of Royal Arcanum, and is also a member of the Knights of 
Pythias. 

Qeorgf L. Weller. Lorain County has produced a tew men whose 
work has been notable in the realm of invention, and one of these is 
Geoi^ L. Weller, who for many years was superintendent of the Eiyria 
waterworks, and is now engineer of the steam plant in the Great National 
Tube Company's works at Lorain. Mr. Weller has from an early age 
manifested great skill, both in handling and in perfecting mechanical 
apparatus and at different times has given to the industrial world a 
number of devices which have served to lighten and cheapen the labor 
and time involved in the older methods of performing a given piece 
of work. 

Eiyria has been the home of Mr. Weller practically all his life. He 
was born there March 24, 1864, a son of John and Mary (McCnllum> 
Weller. His father died in 1890 at the age of fifty-seven. The old Weller 
homestead is just north of the city. There Geor^ L. Weller grew to 
manhood, gained his early education in the public schools of Eiyria. was 
also a student in Oberlin College for a time, and then attended that old 
and substantial institution for hnsiness training, the Eastman Business 
College at Poughkeepsie, New York, His father was a stone mason, and 

Dignzeotav'^iUU'-^lL: 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 671 

from bim he learned the same profession and that furnished him his 
chief means of livelihood until 1890. In the meantime, in 1889, he was 
appoint«d superintendent of the Elyria waterworks, and held that ofBce 
consecutively for more than twenty years, until 1912. During the recon- 
struction of the waterworks after municipal ownership had been decided 
upon and while the pumping station was being constructed on the shores 
of Lake Erie, he did much work of the nature of civil engineering, and 
after having seen the new plant installed and in successful operation 
he resigned in 1912, and then went with The National Tube Company 
at Lorain. There he has charge of everything in that big plant that 
nms by steam power. The steam boilers generate altogetiier about a 
quarter million horse-power, and Mr. Weller is the capable man who has 
the responsibility of keeping up to the highest point of efficiency all of 
tim power making plant. 

Out of the originating genins of bis own mind and his long experience 
in handling machinery, Mr. Weller designed the filters and the filtering 
process now for a number of years used in the Elyria waterworks. The 
value of this invention can be best told in terms of cost. When he 
became superintendent the company paid about nine dollars per million 
gallons for the filtering of water, but his new process reduced that cost 
to 50 cents a million gallons. In 1912 Mr. Weller secured patents both 
in the United States and in Canada for what is known as the Weller 
Water Meter. .Another of his inventions is a channeling machine, used 
in stone quarrying, and this machine was one of the principal products 
manufactured by the Weller Engineering Company for a number of 
years. He has also invented and patented a number of other implements 
and processes used in atone quarries. 

He is one of the prominent members of the Lorain County Engineer- 
ing Club, whose membership includes electrical, mechanical and steam 
engineers residing in this county. He is affiliated with the Modern 
Woodmen of America and belongs to The Elyria Chamber of Commerce 
and in politics is a republican, Mr. Weller was married July 19, 1893, 
to Miss Ida Alma Black of Vermilion, Ohio, daughter of John and Mary 
Black. They are the parents of two children: Jay C, who graduated 
from the Elyria high school in the class of 1912, and is now a student 
in Oberlin College ; and Vileda, who is a member of the graduating class 
of 1917 in the Elyria high school. 

Albert V. Hageman. A native son of Lorain, Albert V, Hageman 
has passed his entire career in this city, among whose business men 
by his learning, industry, ability and character he holds a high place, 
while he is no less valued in the community as a liberal-minded and 
enterprising citizen. During Ms business life here, Mr. Hageman 's 
hands have taken hold of incipient enterprises and have guided them to 
success ; he has been honored by his associates with election to positions 
of trust not because of his self-seeking or importunity, but because such 
positions seek one who has shown rare intelligence and fidelity in the 
management of his own affairs. 

Mr. Hageman was born at Lorain, October 12, 1871, and is a son 
of Conrad and Catherine (Claus) Hageman, natives of Germany, the 
father having come to this country in 1845 and settled in Ohio, where his 
subsequent career was passed in farming in the vicinity of Lorain. 
After attending the public schools of Lorain, Albert V. Hageman entered 
a commercial college at Oberlin, Ohio, where he completed a business 
course. His first position was that of bookkeeper for the Amherst Stone 
Quarries, where he remained three years, subsequently becoming clerk 
in the Lorain Savings and Banking Company, in October, 1894. In 



y Google 



672 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTT 

1901 he was made secretary and treasurer of this iastitution, positions 
which he held until it was sold to the Cleveland Trust Company, in 1905, 
when Mr. Hageman was made manager of the new ownership and held 
that position until October, 1907. In 1897 he had been elected treasurer 
and general manager of the Black River Phone Company, which under 
his direction has grown and developed rapidly and now has 3,600 sub- 
scribers. Various other positions have been and are held by Mr. Hage- 
man. He is president of the Amherst Home Telephone Company ; was 
one of the organizers of the Cleveland Life Insurance Company, of 
which he served as a director two years and then resigned ; was fMmerty 
a member of the advisory board of the Cleveland Trust Company ; was 
one of the purchasers of the Hoffman Heater Company when that com- 
pany had failed, and assisted in bringing it to success, when he sold out 
his interests, in 1911; is a director of the Citizens Home and Savings 
Association and a member of the finance committee of that enterprise, 
and was one of the organizers of the Wiekens Company. He has shown 
his faith in the future of Lorain and its industries by investing his means 
in realty and other holdings, and for some years has been the medium 
through which some large and important real estate transactions have 
been carried through. As a city servant he has ever been ready to do his 
full share toward advancing the community's welfare, and in 1915 his 
abilities were recognized by his appointment to the position of trustee 
of the Lorain Sinking Fund. He belongs to the Cleveland Athletic 
Club and is also well and favorably known in fraternal circles, being a 
Knight Templar and Shriner in Masonry, and a member of the Knights 
of Pythias, the Knights of the Maccabees and the Improved Order 
of Red Men. With his wife, he belongs to the Episcopal Church of the 
Redeemer, at Lorain, in which he is serving as vestryman. Mrs. Hage- 
man was formerly Eleanor M. Cunningham, of Clyde, Ohio. 

George P. Walton. It is not every man who can leave, when called 
from earth prematurely, a successful and growing concern to his family. 
The Walton Ice Company at Elyria, regarded as one of the important 
institutions in the commercial district, is a monument to the enei^ and 
integrity of the late Geoi^ P. Walton, and it is still carried on as a 
prosperous concern under the direct management of his family. While 
Mr, Walton deserves great credit for building up this flourishing enter- 
prise, he is remembered not only for what he did in a material way but 
also for the genial personality, the kindly nature, and the public-spirited 
citizenship which were dominant qualities in his character all his life. 

There was one locality in the City of Elyria with which Geot^ P. 
Walton's career was identified more than any other. This was the place 
of his birth, and in a house which is now the family homestead and he 
himself assisted to construct, located on the same Mte, he passed away. 
The Walton home is at 671 East River Street. There George P. Walton 
was born October 31, 1859, and he died January 4, 1912, when a little 
past fifty-two years of ape. His parents, John and Catherine (Garrety) 
Walton were early settlers of Elyria, having established their home 
there in 1844. They came to Lorain County from Vineland, New Jersey, 
but John Walton was born in Northamptonshire, England, and his wife 
in Dublin, Ireland. Mrs. Catherine Walton died in Elyria thirteen 
years after the birth of her son George. John Walton was a brick- 
maker, worked at that trade for a number of years, but late in life be- 
came paralyzed and was helpless for several years before his death, which 
occurred in April, 1S97. In the family were three sons and two daugh- ■ 
ters, all of them now deceased. 

In the environment which he knew from early childhood until the 



hv'^iUU'^lL 




Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 673 

close of bis life, George P. Waltoa was reared, gained hia education at 
Elyria, and when still a boy learned the butcher's trade from the lat© 
John Savage. He was employed in that line until 1893, and then took up 
the ice business. For a number of years he handled the natural product, 
and got his supply from Black Biver which in years gone by was the 
scene of ice cutting and gathering in all this section of Northern Ohio, 
He also operated a eider press at Coon's Mill, thus making his ice gath- 
ering operations and cider making furnish alternate employment for 
the diflferent seasons of the year. In the spring of 1911, about a year 
before he died, Mr. Walton erected an artificial ice plant on WincUes 
Street, and had the plant in full running order before his death. The 
immediate cause of his death was an injury to the foot occasioned by 
the falling of an iron bar at the ice plant, from which injury blood 
poison developed, and after an Illness of ^x weeks he passed away. Mr. 
Walton had a host of friends not only in Elyria but in all the surround- 
ing country, and enjoyed success because of the fact that he was master 
of his business. Personally he was extremely popular, and the estima- 
tion in which he was held was well stated in the words expressed at 
the time of his death that "he was a big hearted, jolly, good natured 
man that it was a pleasure to meet." While always busy and d<Hng 
something that was worth while, he was devoted to his home and family, 
and outside of business hours could usually be found within the family 
circle. 

As already stated. The Walton Ice Company is a family busincBB, 
and the oldest child, Miss Florence M. Walton, has shown herself to be 
a splendid business woman and has assumed many of the responsibilities 
connected vrith the business since her father's death. Prior to that 
time she had kept the books of the company and thus acquired a con- 
siderable knowledge of its affairs. The artificial ice plant on Winckles 
Street has a daily capacity of fifteen tons of ice, and the ice is manu- 
factured from distilled water. There is also storage space for 1,500 
tons, and iu 1915 the company erected a cold storage plant which fur- 
nishes facilities for the storage of fruit, eggs and butter. The company 
operates a number of wagons for supplying the local and family trade 
and the business is making rapid progress each year. 

Before his death George P. Walton was a member of the Catholic 
^lutual Benefit Association. His family are members of St. Mary's 
Catholic Church at Elyria. At St. Mary's Church on May 17, 1882, he 
and Miss Elizabeth C. Neipfoot were married. She was bom on Sugar 
Ridge in Elyria Township, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Meyer) 
\eipfoot. Her mother was bom in Germany, coming to this country 
with her parents when she was eleven years of age. The father was bom 
in Saxony, Germany, came over when about twenty-six, was a cabinet 
maker for a number of years, but subsequently bought a farm on Sugar 
Ridge and looked after its operations the rest of his active life. The 
mother died on that farm December 10, 1894, and the father subsequently 
lived in the home of hia daughter, Mrs. Walton, at Elyria, until bis 
death. December 6, 1896, at the age of seventy-seven. Mrs. Walton was 
educated in St. Marj-'s Parochial School in Elyria. 

Mrs. Walton's five children are Florence M., Roland H., Charles P., 
Karl P. and Elmer W. All were bom in the comfortable brick house at 
671 East River Street, in which their father died. Gleorge P. Walton 
and his father and another man burnt the brick for the construction of 
this old residence. The children all attended St. Mary 's Parochial School 
until they were about twelve years of age, and later continued their edu- 
cation in the public schools. Elmer, the youngest, is a member of the 
class of 1916 in the Elyria High School and is a capable young student, 



y Google 



674 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

showing a high average in all his classes. All the children have been 
brought ap with more or less familiarity with their father's business, 
taking an active part in its affairs, and its success and continued pros- 
perity are largely due to the harmonious workings of the members of 
the Walton family. The son Roland H. is now the active manager of 
the company. He is affiliated with Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, Elyria Lodge No. 431 of the Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, Elyria Lodge No. 778 of the Loyal Order of Moose, 
the Knights of St. John and the Elyria Chamber of C«nmerce. The son 
Karl P. is also affiliated with the Elyria Lodge of Elks. The Walton 
Ice Company as a business institution has membership in the Elyria 
Automobile Club. 

Andrew W. Davujson. In the rural districts the honors of politics 
are usually better bestowed on the basis of merit and qualilicatioDs than 
in the large city communities. At the present time the trustee of Cam- 
den Township is Andrew W. Davidson, who was first elected to that 
offiee in the fall of 1913 and was re-elected in 1915, Mr. Davidson has 
for years been recognized as one of the most substantial citizens in the 
Eipton community and is a man in whom his fellows place implicit con- 
fidence both for what he has done and for what he is. 

He was born in Russia Township of Lorain County, September 28, 
1869, a son of Andrew and Martha (Edgar) Davidson. His father is 
the venerable Andrew Davidson, and the name of Davidson has for more 
than half a century been linked with the sterling qualities of industry 
and integrity in Lorain County. 

Andrew W. Davidson grew up on his father's farm in Camden Town- 
ship, acquired an education in the local schools, and started out when 
quite yoimg to make his own way in the world. With the sturdy dis- 
cipline of the farm, he was able to fit in usefully in any employment to 
which he turned his hand. For seven and a half years he was in the 
butcher business at Kipton, and in 1902 bought a farm of eighty-eight 
acres, which has since been the principal object of his energy and am- 
bition. He subsequently added fifty acres to his first purchase, but 
having sold twenty-five acres his estate now consists of 113 acres. In 
many ways he has improved his land, and for a number of years has 
conducted a small dairy, shipping considerable milk to the city centers. 

As a result of his growing prosperity Mr. Davidson was able in 1910 
to put up a comfortable and commodious two-story frame house, and by 
home advantages and otherwise he has provided liberally for his family. 
He also put down a well on his land and has a sufficient supply of gas 
for domestic uses. In October, 1899, Mr, Davidson married Miss Eliza- 
beth Geist. Her father, Adam Geist, was a native of Germany and when 
quite young came to Camden Township but is now living retired at 
Eipton. Mr. and Mrs. Davidson have four children: Mildred A., Earl 
E., Florence E., and Melvin Howard, all of whom are at home and are 
getting their education in the Kipton schools. Mrs. Davidson is a mem- 
ber of the Disciples Church at Kipton. In politics Mr. Davidson has 
always affiliated with the democratic party. 

V. Adair, M. D, It is as a very capable and skillful physician and 
surgeon that Doctor Adair has contributed his best known and most 
useful services to the City of Lorain, where he established his home 
and office after an unusually thorough training for his life vocation. 

A native of Ohio, he was born at Winterset. December 1, 1882, a 
son of P. M. and Letitia A, (Johnston) Adair. His father was a farmer 



y Google 



5IR. AND MBS. ANDREW W. DAVIDSON 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 67S 

and stock raiser, and the son grew up on a farm, attended country 
schools, finishing his literary training in the Muskingum College, and 
soon afterward entering the Starling Medical College at Columbus, 
where he was graduated with the degree M, D. in 1906. Doctor Adair 
before craning to Lorain had unusual opportunity for experience by 
the four years passed as assistant physician in the Massillon State 
Hospital. From there he came to Lorain, December 1, 1910, and has 
since enjoyed a very line practice, and his capabilities were recognized 
in his appointment in May, 1914, as health officer for the City of Lorain. 
He is a member of the Lorain County and Ohio State Medical societies 
and the American Medical Association. 

Fraternally Doctor Adair is identified with the Masonic order and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. On October 8, 1913, ■ 
he married Miss Mabel MacRae of West Bay, Novo Scotia, Canada. 

Hon. Laertes B. Smith. The distinction gained by the late Judge 
Smith during his long career as a lawyer and man of affairs comprise 
an important addition to the many worthy associations of the name in 
Lorain County. His was one of the first families to make permanent 
homes in this section of Northern Ohio. The year 1914 was the centen- 
nial of the Smith family residence in this county, and it is due to the 
varied achievements of the family during the century as well as to the 
individual attainments of tJie late Judge Smith that the following brief 
history is offered for permanent record. 

This branch of the Smiths was long identified with New England 
and was of Puritan stock. The founder of the name in the wilds of 
Lorain County was Chiliab Smith, grandfather of the late Judge Smith, 
He was bom in the colony of Connecticut, November 11, 1765, and 
died in 1840, his boyhood having been spent in the midst of the Revo- 
lutionary war. For a number of years his home was in Berkshire 
County, Massachusetts, where he married Nancy Marshall, who was 
bom January 19, 1765, and died December 5, 1824. In 1814, toward 
tile close of the second war with England, they set out with their family 
for the old Western Reserve of Ohio. "Wagons drawn by oxen conveyed 
them by tedious stages to the present site of Elyria, and from there 
they were five days in cutting a road through the heavy forest to their 
permanent place of settlement, where they arrived October 16, 1814. 
Their home was included in the territory which in April, 1817, was 
organized as Amherst Township. The land came into the Smith posses- 
sion through a trade of eastern property with the Connecticut Land 
Company. Chiliab Smith was a tailor, and white looking after the 
work involved in clearing up a new tract of land he also gave his 
services to such of the pioneer families as required his skill in the cut- 
ting and fashioning of the homespun garments then almost universally 
worn. He was also an exhorter in the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and in the absence of regular preachers or missionaries he held many 
meetings in his neighborhood and frequently the Smith home was the 
scene of a gathering for prayer and the reading of the gospel. When 
old age came upon him, grandfather Smith turned his farm over to his 
children, who also inhei^ted the good name of one of the finest pioneer 
characters in Amherst Township, The Smith homestead was located 
on Little Beaver Creek, four miles west of the present City of Elyria, 
and the home was also employed for purposes as an inn, and was the 
first tavern in that locality. 

In the next generation was David Smith, who was bom in Berkshire 
County, Massachusetts, March 20, 1797, and was a growing youth of 
seventeen when the family moved to Lorain County. In 1824 he mar- 



,Google 



676 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

ried Miss Fannie Barnes. She was bom in Berkshire County, December 
23, 1802. To their union were bom nine children, six of whwu reached 
maturity. David Smith was a man who lived at peace with bis neigh- 
bors and accomplished a grea.t deal in his quiet way. In politics he was 
a democrat. He died April 30, 1861. His wife survived until August, 
1888. She was of the Presbyterian faith, and attended the congrega- 
tion at Elyria until 1840. 

The third in his faUier's family, Laertes B. Smith was bom in 
Amherst Township of Lorain County, September 21, 1828, and was 
sixty-nine when he died at Elyria, May 12, 1897. Though a lawyer 
for many years, his early experiences were all of the farm and mechan- 
ical trades. Educated in the common schools of his native township, 
he left the farm at twenty-one to learn the trade of harness-maker, 
which he followed for several years as his chief means of livelihood. 
At twenty-five he accepted employment in a hardware store at LaPorte, 
Indiana, and lived there about five years. His commercial experience 
bad not entirely satisfied him, and on returning to Lorain County in 
1858 he began to prosecute his law studies as vigorously as circum- 
stances would permit. The firm with which he studied was Vincent & 
Sheldon in Elyria, Admitted to the bar in 1860, he began his practice 
with the same firm. During the following year Mr. Vincent retired, 
leaving Sheldon and Smith together, but soon after the outbreak of the 
war the former went into the army. The next year he formed a part- 
nership with Judge W. W. Boynton, the venerable lawyer and jurist, 
who remains as one of the oldest figures in the Lorain County bar. 
They were in practice together about four years. 

In June, 1871, Mr. Smith was appointed probate judge of Lorain 
County to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of John W. Steele, 
and by subsequent elections his services were continued in that capacity 
until February, 1882, more than eleven years. It was often remarked 
that the widow and orphan had a firm and just friend as long as Judge 
Smith was on the probate bench. For the greater part of his remaining 
years Judge Smith performed the duties of justice of the peace in 
addition to his private law practice. He was not only well known but 
had hosts of warm friends throughout the county. 

His marriage occurred December 26, 1871. Mrs. Smith, who is 
still living in Elyria, bore the maiden name of Margaret Smyth. She 
was formerly from Ontario County, New York. To their marriage were 
bom seven children, four of whom are still living: Mrs, S. H. Squire, 
of Elyria; Mrs. A, B, Taylor, of Elyria; Frank C, who is now city 
editor of the Elyria Evening Telegram; Mrs. Frank T. Horan, of 
Elyria. Leroy B. died in 1907 in New Mexico. In politics the late Judge 
Smith was a democrat until Civil war times, after which he was firmly 
allied with the republicans, 

Wesley L. Grills. Another of the native sons of Lorain County 
who is doing much toward upholding the high standard of the bar of the 
county and who is one of the representative young members of his pro- 
fession in the City of Lorain, is he whose name introduces this review 
and who has here built up an excellent general practice. In numerous 
litigated cases of important order, in both criminal and civil departments 
of practice, he has tested and proved his power as a resourceful and 
ef^cient trial lawyer, and as a counselor he has shown himself well forti- 
fied. He subordinates all other interests to the demands of his profes- 
sion and continues a close and appreciative student of the involved 
science of jurisprudence. 

On his father's well-improved homestead farm, in Carlisle Township, 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 677 

Lorain Comity, Mr. Grills was bom on the 6th of February, 1885, a Bon 
of Samuel and Elizabeth (Qratit) Grills, who atiU maintain their home 
on the farm anil who are well known and highly honored citizens of thia 
section of the state. In the public schools of the City of Elyria Mr. 
Grills pursued his youthful studies until he had completed the curriculum 
of the high school, and thereafter he attended the literary department of 
the great University of Chicago for four years. In preparation for the 
profession in which he has achieved marked success and prestige, he 
entered the law department of Western Reserve University, in the City of 
Cleveland, where he completed the prescribed course and was graduated 
as a member of the class in 1911, his admission to the bar of his native 
state being virtually coincident with his reception of the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. 

In June, 1911, he opened an office in the City of Cleveland, Ohio, 
and there remained until June, 1913, when he opened an office in the City 
of Lorain, where his ability, close application and personal popularity 
caused his professional novitiate to be of brief duration, as he soon 
developed a substantial practice, to which he has since continued to 
give his close attention, with a clientage of representative order. He 
is a member of the Lorain County Bar Association, is a republican in 
his political allegiance, is afBliated with the Masonic fraternity, in which 
he has received the chivalric degrees, a member of Lorain Commandery, 
Knights Templars. He holds membership also in the local organizations 
of the Knights of Pythias and other fraternal organizations, and ia affili- 
ated with the Phi Alpha Delta college fraternity. 

On the 18th of October, 1911, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Grills to Miss Virginia Morehouse, of Elyria, she likewise being a native 
of Lorain County, where she was reared and educated, and their only 
child is a winsome little daughter, Ida Virginia, 

Rev. Samuel L. Stewart, D. D. On other pages of this work will 
be found an interesting article on "Methodism in Elyria," the author 
of which is Dr. Stewart, pastor of the First Methodist Church of Elyria. 
Dr. Stewart has spent nearly twenty years in the active ministry of 
the ^lethodist Church in Ohio, and is well known not only for his 
power and influence as a preacher, hut also as one of the able construc- 
tive workers in church development. 

Samuel Lemen Stewart was bom in Guernsey County, Ohio, Novem- 
ter 24, 1870. His father, Robert Stewart, spent his life in Guernsey 
County as a farmer, and also saw active service during the Civil war in 
the Fifteenth Ohio Voltmteer Infantry. The mother, whose maiden 
name was Emilinc Ferguson, has also been a resident of Guernsey 
County most of her life. 

It was the public schools of Guernsey County that gave Doctor 
Stewart his early edupation, and from those he entered the Ohio Wes- 
leyan University at Delaware, where his worir gained him several de- 
grees. He was graduated A. B. in 1894, received the Master of Arts 
degree in 1896, and his alma mater conferred upon him the degree 
Doctor of Divinity in 1913. In 1896 Doctor Stewart was graduated 
S. T. B. from the Boston University School of Theology, and immedi- 
ately after graduation joined the North Ohio Conference of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a member of the North Ohio 
Conference until it was merged with the East Ohio Conference, making 
the Northeast Ohio Conference the largest body under conference organ- 
ization in all Methodism. In the course of his active ministry Doctor 
Stewart has held pastorates at Chicago Junction, Clyde, and for six 
years before taking the pastorate of the First Methodist Church of 



,y Google 



678 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Elyria in September, 1911, was pastor of the First Methodist Church 
at Mansfield. While at Mansfield his successful work was signalized by 
the erection of a church edifice costing $85,000, Doctor Stewart has 
been an active member of the church since 1882. 

On September 2, 1896, at West Lafayette, Ohio, he married Miss 
Margaret R<^ers, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Rogers, lifelong resi- 
dents of Coshocton County. Her mother's father was Judge James 
Burt, one of the early settlers of Coshocton County. Mrs. Stewart is 
also descended from Morris Fought, who was a soldier in the American 
Revolution. To their marriage have been bom four children: Kuth 
Evangeline, Paul Rogers, Mildred Margaret, and James Robert Stewart. 

Robert George Anderson, M. D. In 1915 Doctor Anderson con- 
cluded his twentieth year of consecutive practice as a physician and 
sui^eon at Elyria. There is abundant testimony of his ability and 
standing as a physician in his lai^e private practice, his infiuential asso- 
ciations with the local profession, and the general esteem paid him as a 
man and citizen. 

Though Elyria has been the scene of all his work and experience as 
a professional man. Doctor Anderson was born on a farm in the Province 
of Ontario, Canada, May 25, 1868, and lived in Canada until coming to 
Elyria. His parents, Archibald and Mary (Bums) Anderson were 
Protestant people from the north of Ireland, came with their respective 
families to America, and Archibald Anderson cleared away the forest 
from a tract of land and developed a good farm home in Ontario, where 
he lived many years and died at the age of seventy-eight in July, 1895. 

It was on this farm that Doctor Anderson spent his boyhood, acquir- 
ing the equivalent of a high school education, and after some varied 
experience in paying his own way finally entered Trinity Medical Col- 
lege, now the Toronto Medical College, where he was graduated in 1895, 
A few months later he was in Elyria and began practice on the West 
Side. For twenty years now he has given his professional service to a 
widening circle of patrons and has also been actively identified with 
The Elyria Memorial Hospital as a member of its medical staff since it 
was opened. 

Doctor Anderson is a member of The Lorain County Medical Society, 
The Ohio State Medical Society and the American Medical Association, 
and in IMasonry is afi^iated with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and Marshall Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons. 
He married Miss Laura E. Ferguson, who was born in Toronto, Canada. 
Their children are Eva Louise and Geoi^ Bertram. 

Mark A. Whitney. Representing one of the oldest and most sub- 
stantial family names of Pittsfield Township, Mark A, Whitney was for 
many years a prosperous farmer in that locality of Lorain County, and 
is now engaged in the grain business at Oberlin. 

He was born on a farm in Pittsfield Township Xovember 22, 1869, 
a son of Mark and Cordelia K, (Gifford) Whitney. The grandfather, 
Joseph Whitney, was a native of Rutland, Vermont, and about 1836 
pioneered into Lorain County and acquired a tract of land in Pittsfield 
Township. The maternal grandparents were Cornelius and" Hannah 
(Nye) Gifford, the former born at Lee, Massachusetts, and passing 
away at a great old age November 13, 1900, while his wife was born 
November 17. 1782, at Columbus, New York, The Gifford family estab- 
lished a home in Lorain County in 1833. Mark Whitney, father of 
Mark A., was horn in Rutland. Vermont, in 1818, and died in 1882, 
His wife was born in Columbus, New York, April 5. 1825, and died 
March 10, 1916, at the age of ninety years, eleven months and five days. 



DignzB 



bv»^iuOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 679 

Mark and Cordelia Whitney were married in Pittafield Township April 
27, 1848. He had come to Lorain County when eighteen years of age , 
and was a man above the average in education and reading and one 
of the leading farmers of the township. Though with little capital to 
start on he aequired a good estate, and built a fine brick residence which 
at the time was one of the best in Pittsfield Township. He spent his 
last years in Oherlin, 

Mark A. Whitney was the fifth in a family of six children. He 
acquired his early education in the schools of Oberlin, also took a busi- 
ness course there, and made farming the first object of his effective 
endeavors. He prosecuted his industry in that line until 1905, when 
he moved to Oberlin, having sold hig farm, and has since enjoyed the 
comforts of a good home in the college city. For two years he was in 
the carriage and implement business with O. E, Peabody. Since April, 
1911, he has been associated with Mr. C. W, Ward in the grain business 
and they have one of the principal establishments in that line in this 
part of Lorain County. 

In October, 1893, Mr. Whitney married Miss Lula Avery, daughter of 
William Avery, a well known Lorain County citizen who was born in 
Pittsfield Township where his father, Carlos Avery, was one of the first 
settlers. Mr. and Mrs. Whitney have one adopted child, Alice Mills. 
They are members of the Meth(>dist Episcopal Church, and fraternally 
he is aflfiliated with the Masonic Lodge, the Royal Arch Chapter and with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. As a republican he served for 
a number of years as clerk of his home township. 

WiLM.VM Andrew Hiscox. To his present duties as county super- 
intendent of Lorain County's schools, Mr. Hiscox has brought a broad 
range of experience as a capable educator, and from the time he taught 
bis first country school near Lisbon, Ohio, has lived in almost constant 
association with his duties as a school man. 

Bom at Lisbon. Ohio, he is the son of Joseph and Rose Anna (Fife) 
Hiscox, both of whom are now deceased. His father was born at Brad- 
ford-on-the-Avon in England, the son of John Hiscox, who brought the 
family to America and settled at Lisbon, Ohio, when Joseph was three 
years of age. Grandfather Hiscox died at Lisbon, and his wife at Hicks- 
ville, Ohio. Grandfather Hiscox was a weaver in England, but after 
coming to Ohio settled on a farm, did a great deal of the pioneer work of 
clearing and lived there the rest of his days. Mr. Hiscox 's mother was 
bom at Lisbon, her parents having come from Germany when young 
and married in Ohio and spent most of their lives around Lisbon. Jo- 
seph Hiscox likewise spent his active career as a farmer at Lisbon, and 
died there March 12, 1906, being survived by his wife until April 6, 1915. 

W. A, Hiscox spent his early life on a farm, learned its duties and 
shared in its toils, and laid the foundation of his education in the com- 
mon schools of Lisbon. His higher education was acquired in the North- 
eastern Ohio Normal, from which he was graduated Bachelor of Science 
in the class of 1892, and in 1910 he was given the degree Master of 
Science by Baldwin University. His first work as a teacher was done 
in Center Township near Lisbon, where he taught about four years. Of 
his more importnnt service in administrative positions, Mr. Iliscos was 
superintendent of schools at Washingtonville, Ohio, sis years; at Grafton, 
Ohio, six years ; at LaGrange. Ohio, two years ; at Waterf ord, Pennsyl- 
vania, four years; and at New Cumberland, West Virginia, two years. 
He also taught in the Wooster University Summer School for nine 
summers. 

On July 20, 1914, Mr. Hiscox was elected county superintendent of 



y Google 



680 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

schools in Lorain County, and on June 1, 1915, was re-elected for a 
term of two years. He is a hard working and enthusiastic edncator, 
and has done much to increase the efficiency of both the personnel and 
of the orpinization of the local schools under his supervision. 

While not a farmer in the practical sense, Mr. Hiscox owns a place 
of fifty acres near Lisbon in Columbiana County. He is a republican, 
and fraternally is affiliated with the lodge of Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows at Washingtonville, in which he is a past grand, and is a mem- 
ber of Lodge No. 399, Fceo & Accepted Masons, at LaGrange, Ohio. At 
Elyria he belongs to The Elyria Chamber of Commerce and is active 
in the work of the Methodist Episcopal Church of that citv. 

At his old home Town of Lisbon November 24, 1892, Mr. Hiseox 
married Miss Ella S. Lindeamith, daughter of Jacob and Nancy Linde- 
smith, who were old settlers of Columbiana County. Her father died 
there in August, 1892, and her mother now lives at Malvern, Ohio. 
Mrs. Hiscox was educated in the rural schools of Columbiana County. 
To their marriage have been bom three children : Ethel May Hiscox was 
graduated from the New Cumberland High School in West Virginia in 
19i;-i, taught the following year in the fourth grade at Weirton, "West 
Virginia, and then entered Oberlin College, where she completed her 
freshman year in 1915. Harold W. Hiseox, the second child, is now a 
junior in the Elyria High School, while Norman L., the youngest, is 
in the seventh grade of the public schools. The daughter was bom at 
Washingtonville, Ohio, while the sons are natives of Grafton, Ohio. 

Elisha M. Pierce. One of the men most prominent in making Lorain 
an industrial center is Elisha M. Pierce, whose influence can be traced 
through the principal financial, manufacturing and other business con- 
cerns that have their headquarters in that city. He is president of the 
Lorain Casting Company and is treasurer of the Thew Automatic Shovel 
Company, these being perhaps the two largest plants at Lorain, except 
the National Tube Works. Some facts regarding the Thew Automatic 
Shovel Company will be found on other pages. The Lorain Casting 
Company was organized in November, 1906, with a capital of $100,000. 
Its first crfBcers were r Elisha M. Pierce, president ; Richard Thew, vice 
president; F. A. Smythe, secretary. During the first year about fifteen 
men were employed in the firm, while now the average payroll includes 
about fifty. The present officers are-Mr. Pierce, president and treasurer; 
and Richard Thew vice president and secretary. The company has an 
average output of about 175 tons of castings each month. The main 
building plant is 110x130 feet ; pattern house, 40x90 feet ; storage house 
20x24 feet ; and the office building a two story structure 25x25 feet. 

Elisha M. Pierce was bom at York, Medina County, Ohio, June 26, 
1845. His parents were Thompson and Harriet (Little) Pierce, both of 
whom were bom at Peru, Berk^ire County, Massachusetts. Grandfather 
Levi Pierce brought his family to the Western Reserve of Ohio in 1836, 
locating in Medina County. The maternal grandfather was Samuel Lit- 
tle, who came to Medina County about the same time. 

Educated in the schools of Medina Connty and at Oberlin College, 
Elisha M. Pierce began his career as a telegraph operator at his native 
town of York. He next became station agent for the Cleveland, Lorain 
& Wheeling Railroad Company at Uhrichsville, but in the spring of 
1880 came to Lorain to take charge of the Tuscarawas Valley Coal Com- 
pany. In 1882, resuming railroad work, he took charge of the terminals 
of the Cleveland, Lorain & Wheeling, and only resigned that important 
responsibility in 1907. 

In the meantime he had identified himself in many ways with other 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 681 

institutious in Lorain. He assisted in organizing the Lorain Savings & 
Banking Company, of which he was president until 1905, when it was 
succeeded by the Lorain Banking Company, of which he was secretary 
and treasurer. In 1908 he became secretary and treasurer of the Thew 
Automatic Shovel Company. He helped promote the Black Hiver Tele- 
phone Company and became president of the company on its organiza- 
tion and still holds that office. From 1887 he was agent for the trustee of 
the Black River Land Company. On the organization of the Lorain 
Chamber of Commerce, now known as the Board of Commerce, he became 
its president, and has also served as president of the Lorain Library 
Association, as president of the Young Men's Christian Association, was 
for sis years president of the Lorain School Board and for eight years 
a member of the city council and also president of that body for a time. 
Considering these various activities and relationships, there is no ques- 
tion that his public spirited influence has been one of the large factors 
, in making the town. By his marriage to Almira Pentield. who died in 
1887, he has two daugbterst Marian F. is the wife of Thomas M. Duncan, 
postmaster of Brii^port, Belmont County, Ohio, and they have one 
child, Mary Margaret. Inez J., at home, is a graduate of Lake Erie Col- 
lege and has for the past eight years been connected with the work of 
the Cleveland Day Nursery and Free Kindergarten Association. The 
second wife of Mr. Pierce was Mary Penfield, a sister of Almira. She 
died January 7, 1916. Both were daughters of Samuel Penfield, who 
was bom in New York State and came as a boy to Lorain County, the 
Penfields having been the first settlers in Penfield Township, Lorain 
County, the town taking its name from that family. A local publica- 
tion in writing of the death of Mrs, Pierce paid the following tribute : 

"Mrs. Mary Penfield Pierce, wife of E. M. Pierce, secretary and 
treasurer of the Thew Automatic Shovel Co., and one of Lorain's best 
known women, died at 2 o'clock this afternoon at her home, 103 Arkan- 
sas Avenue. 

"Death came after an illness of a few days. She was seized with an 
attack of pneumonia Saturday. Weakened heart action aided the dis- 
ease in ending her earthly existence. 

"Probably no other woman in Lorain carried on greater work of a 
charitable nature than Mrs. Pierce. Her charity to a lai^e extent was 
accomplished quietly and without the knowledge of even her most inti- 
mate acquaintances. In addition she was prominently identified with 
the Lorain Associated Charities and its work. 

" As a member of the First Congregational church Mrs. Pierce partici- 
pated prominently in the religious life of the city. She was first vice 
president of the Congregational Women's Association, taught a class 
in the Sunday school for many years and was otherwise identified with the 
work of the church. 

"In club life of the city Mrs. Pierce was equally as prominent. She 
was a charter member of the Wimodaughsis club. On the 20th anniver- 
sary of the club to be celebrated next April she was the scheduled hostess. 
Her club affiliations also included the Bound Table and Colonial clubs. 

"Mrs. Pierce was a native of Lorain county, having been bom in 
Oberiin 67 years ago. Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Penfield, were 
pioneers of the county. Early in her womanhood she taught school in 
the southern part of the county. In 1889 she was united in marriage 
to Mr. Pierce, She had been a resident of Lorain since 1880. 

"The surviving members of the family include her husband, E. M, 
Pierce, two daughters, Mrs. T. M. Duncan, of Bridgeport, 0., and Miss 
Inez J. Pierce, of Lorain, a sister, Mrs. M. W. Smith, of Shelby, Mich., 
and a granddaughter. Miss Duncan, of Bridgeport," 



y Google 



6S2 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

James B. Seward. What The Savings Deposit Bank & Trust Com- 
pany of Eljria represents as one of the chief financial organizations of 
Lorain County is made a matter of comment for other pages. Its officers 
and directors probably constitnte the most influential group of business 
men in the entire county, and among those that could be singled out for 
individual personal mention is the cashier, James B. Seward, who has 
been identified with the institution nearly fifteen years, and is now its 
trusted and efficient cashier. 

Born at Elyria December 23, 1869, Mr. Seward is a son of Thomas 
and Esther (Colgan) Seward, who, as old settlers of Elyria, are further 
mentioned on other pages of this publication in the biography of D. W. 
Seward. James B. Seward grew up at Elyria, attended the parochial 
and public schools, and after considerable experience and training in 
various commercial lines established his first independent venture in 
the grocery and provision trade under the name of Seward & Goldberg. 
This finn was located on West Broad Street for about seven years. On 
March 1<), 1901, Mr. Seward entered The Savings Deposit Bank & Trust 
Company, and soon made his ability appreciated and recognized in that 
institution. On January 1, 1914, he was made cashier, and now has a 
very important share in handling the large business of that bank. 

Politically Mr, Seward is a democrat, is a member of The BljTia 
Chamber of Commerce, is affiliated with the Knights of Columbus, and 
his church home is St, Mary 's Catholic. On October 2, 1900, at Elyria, 
he married Miss JIary Helen Farrell, daughter of the late M. J. Farrell, 
who was a pioneer hotel man at Elyria, Mrs. Seward is an accomplished 
musician, and is well known both in musical and social circles in Elyria. 
They are the parents of four children, Mary, Frank, Edward J, and 
Catherine Seward. 

Thomas Jaues Hume. Among the followers of any of the leading 
trades, no better recommendation may be secured than employment by 
a reliable firm and the possession of the trust and confidence of their 
employers. Since May, 1914, Thomas James Hume has been identified 
with the well known contracting firm of L. A. Burgett & Company, 
at Lorain, where through ability and fidelity he has won standing for 
himself as a master workman and as a young man of ability and enter- 
prise who will accomplish much in the line of his chosen calling. 

Mr. Hume was born at Cuylerville, Livingston County, New York, 
April 26, 1886, and is a son of James and Bridget (McKinnon) Hume. 
His parents, lifelong residents of that county, were farming people and 
Thomas J. was reared in an agricultural atmosphere, his education being 
secured in the public schools. As a youth he displayed a mechanical 
bent, preferring work with tools to the tilling of the soil, and accordingly 
he was placed with a carpenter to learn the trade, which he mastered 
thoroughly and in a due length of time began to work as a .lourueyman 
carpenter. Subsequently he spent some years in the East, but in May, 
1914, came to Lorain, Ohio, where he secured a position with the firm 
of L. A. Burgett & Company, one of the leading contracting concerns 
in this part of Ohio. During his connection with this company, Mr. 
Ilume has been engaged in work on some of the leading structures 
erected at Lorain, particularly school buildings, in the erection of which 
the firm specializes. In this connection he was one of the force which 
built the new Lorain High School, in 1915, a $275,000 edifice which is 
one of the finest of its kind in the state. Mr. Hume is a young man 
of energy and industry, of pleasing address and courteous manner, and 
since his arrival at Lorain has succeeded in attracting to himself a large 
number of friends. 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 683 

Mr, Hume was married first to Miss Florence Burroughs, who died 
leaving one child — Ehner Thomas, who was bom April 8, 1912. Ou 
June 2, 1915, Mr. Hume was again married, being united with Miss 
Blondena U. Biirgett, of Lorain, daughter of L. A. and Josephine B, 
(Miller) Burgett. Mr. Burgett is one of the leading contractors and 
builders of Lorain County, and president of the firm of L. A. Burgett & 
Cwnpany. Mr. and Mrs. Hume are members of Saint Mary's Catholic 
Chureh. 

C. W. AVard. Of the business firms now in active service at Oberlin, 
one of the best known is that of Ward & Whitney, grain merchants and 
elevator men. The senior member of this firm, C W. Ward, was orig- 
inall.v a farmer, comes of one of the old families of Pittsfield Township, 
but for the past ten years has been very prosperously engaged in the 
grain business and ia one of the leading citizens of Oberlin. 

lie was born in Pittsfield Township of Lorain County June 28, 1866, 
a son of William F. and Susan M. (Graves) Ward. The Ward family 
was established in Lorain County more than eighty years ago when 
(irandfather James R. Ward, a native of Vermont, moved to Ohio and 
bought a farm in Pittsfield Township, on which he spent the rest of his 
days. He was a real pioneer, had the virtues of the typical New Eng- 
lander, and was one of the men who helped to develop Lorain County 
during its formative period. Mr. Ward's maternal grandfather, Lynam 
Graves, a native of New York State, moved in pioneer times to Bath, 
Ohio, later to Royaiton, and finally to LaGrange in Lorain County, where 
he died. William F. Ward was bom in Rutland, Vermont, April 15, 
1828, and was still a lad when he was brought to Ohio. He grew up 
and received his education in Pittsfield Township, and spent all his 
active career as a farmer until about twenty years before his death, 
after which he lived somewhat retired in Oberlin. His death occurred 
August 14, 1911. In 1861 at Sullivan, Ohio, he married Miss Graves, 
who was bom at Bath, Ohio, October 11, 1836, and died February 25, 
1905. W^illiam F. Ward was a democrat in politics and was a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He and his wife are the 
parents of five children : Frank D., a dealer of horses at Goshen, New 
York : C. W. Ward ; Edith M.. wife of Albert Chadwick, of Watertown, 
New York; Mary E., wife of George Winnie, a machinist at Rochester, 
New York ; and Flora M., wife of Herbert B. Hineline, a machinist at 
Toledo. 

Mr. C. W. Ward spent his early days on a farm in Pittsfield Town- 
ship, and acquired a common school education. When he started out in 
life it was with practically no capital and he worked at farm labor and 
in other ways until he could get a start. He remained a practical 
farmer in Lorain County until 1905, in which year he established himself 
in the grain trade at Oberlin. He now handles a large business in grain, 
hay an<l feed and is associated with Mr. M. A. Whitney under the firm 
stvle of Ward & Whitney. 

On January 14. 1903. Mr. Ward married Frances Whitney, daughter 
of Silas Whitney, and a member of one of the oldest families of Lorain 
Oountv. Her father was bom in Pittsfield, Ma.ssachusetts. and was 
brought to Pittsfield Township in Lorain County in 1834. The father 
of Silas Whitney acquired a tract of 1,600 acres of land in Pittsfield 
Township, all in one body, and of this he gave 100 acres to Thomas 
Wait for assisting him in making the settlement and clearing the land. 
Grandfather Whitney was one of the first settlers in Pittsfield Town- 
ship, and both he and his son. Silas, spent the rest of their days there. 
Silas Whitney was the owner of a farm of 201 acres and was quite 



y Google 



684 HISTORT OP LORAIN COUNTY 

prominent during Ms lifetime, both aa a farmer and as a public spirited 
citizen. For years he held the ofSce of justice of the peace, was township 
trustee, and used his means and encouraged wherever possible substantia 
improvements. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ward are members of the Pittafield Congregational 
Church, and he is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd PellowB. 
In politics he ia a democrat. 

Samuel 6. Rawson. Judged by the fruits of his career, the late 
Samuel Bela Rawson of Elyria wa^ one of the prominent constructive 
Americans of the past century, and his reputation in business affairs 
was by no means confined to one locality, though his home from birth to 
death was in Lorain County. By exercise of his native qualities of un- 
usual activity and earnest endeavor, he rose unaided to a foremost place 
in the telephone business of the United States. 

Bom in Elyria October 19, 1848, almost sixty years later he died at 
bis home in the same city April 9, 1908. His earliest American ancestor 
was one of the grantees of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, and served 
as second town clerk and registrar of Boston, Bela Rawsou and Harriet 
Nichols, the parents of the late Samuel B. Rawson, were bom within 
eight miles of each other near Watertown, New York, but first formed 
their acquaintance in Lorain County. Bela Rawson was a successful 
farmer for many years in Pittsfield Township, and of his seven chil- 
dren the late Samuel B., the second in age, was the first to die. The 
oldest son, Arthur B., died at Elyria in December, 1909. The other 
children were: Bird, Ora, Mrs. Prankie Bath, Mrs. Alice Root, and 
Mrs. Ella Gleason. 

About 1854 the Rawson family moved to Pittsfield Township, and 
S<amuel B. Bawson, who was then six years of age, grew up in a rural 
environment. At the age of fourteen he left the puldie schools to begin 
the study of medicine. The death of his preceptor changed his plans, 
and fortunately for him, since his inclinations and talents were for 
practical and mechanical affairs. He learned the tinner's trade, and 
almost by nature could be considered an inventor. He combined the 
genius of the inventor with the care and expertness of the trained me- 
chanic, and also with the broad judgment and executive ability of one 
who developed important enterprises. At the age of nineteen he re- 
turned to Elyria, and lived in that city more than forty years. Por a 
time he was a nickler in the Garford works, and at one time conducted 
a large laundry. 

However, it was in the telephone field that he chiefly distinguished 
himself. He made some improvements of a practical nature on the 
telephone apparatus, took out patents and, securing capital, organized 
the Rawson Manufacturing Company, which started in a small way to 
manufacture telephones that represented the Rawson patent and ideas. 
In order to secure a market for his goods Mr. Rawson branched out in 
the organization of independent telephone companies, and that subse- 
quently became his chief scope of activities. Out of the original business 
which he established at Elyria grew the Dean Electric Company of 
Elyria, which' took its name from W. W. Dean, a prominent capitalist 
of Chicago, bat in which Mr. Rawson was president. He was also presi- 
dent of the Rawson Electric Company, the American Construction & 
Trading Company of Elyria and the Independent Union Telephone Com- 
pany, which a few years ago transferred its business from Elyria to 
Albany, New York. Mr. EJawson was also a director in a number of 
independent telephone companies in New Yorii State, including the 
following : Niagara County Home Telephone Company ; Interstate 



hv'^iUU'^lL' 



^a/...^^^- 



D,„ izedbvGoOgle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 685 

Telephone Company of Little Falls; Seneca County Home Telephone 
Company; Schenectady Home Telephone Company; Albany Home Tele- 
phone Company; Cohoes-Waterford Home Telephone Company at Co- 
hoes ; Watervliet-Green Island Home Telephone Company of Watervliet, 
New York; "West Shore Home Telephone Company at Catakill: and 
Citizens Standard Telephone Company at Kingston. 

The memory with which Mr. Rawson's name will always be cherished 
in Elyria was due not only to his large business accomplishment but 
also to his spirit of public enterprise and his work and support in the 
foundation of worthy charity. He look a very deep interest in the 
establishment of the Memorial Hospital at Elyria, was one of the pro- 
jectors of the institution, and selected the splendid site which the 
hospital occupies. He was one of the incorporators and was chairman 
of its building committee at the time of his death. He contributed lib- 
erally to churches and other local institutions, belonged to the Men's 
Club of the Congregational Church and was active in fraternal affairs. 
He was affiliated with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted 
Masons; was a charter member of Elyria Commandery No. 60, Knights 
Templar; was a charter member of Elyria Lodge No. 156, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and a past exalted ruler; and also a mem- 
ber of Elyria Chapter No. 165, Order of Eastern Star. 

In 1870 Mr. Rawson married Miss Mary A. Roe, daughter of William 
Roe of Elyria. Her death occured a few months after their marriage. 
In June, 1872, he married Miss Faustina Bikers. Mrs. Rawson, who 
for a number of years has been one of the social leaders of Elyria, was 
bom at Fairview, Pennsylvania, daughter of William and Helen M. 
(Payson) Biggers, and a granddaughter of Samuel and Betsey (Colt) 
Biggers. Mrs. Rawson has one daughter, Helen Doris, who on Decem- 
ber 23, 1914, married Mr. Paul H. White of Cleveland. 

During the life of her husband Mrs. Rawson made her home a center 
for the cultured hospitality of Elyria. In recent years she has given 
her attention to many charitable and social oi^anizations, and has a 
breadth of sympathy as large as the world itself. She was (me of the 
seven incorporators of the Old Ladies' Home at Elyria, and for several 
years a trustee. She has been a member of the auxiliary board of the 
Memorial Hospital since its organization, and a few years ago furnished 
a room at the hospital in memory of Mr. Rawson. She ie a member of 
St. Andrew's Episcopal Cliureh. Perhaps she is beat known over the 
country at lai^ for her work in women's organizations of a fraternal 
nature. In the Eastern Star she was secretary three years, worthy 
matron three years, Electa two years of the Elyria chapter,, was Grand 
Martha of the Grand Chapter of the State of Ohio in 1904, and repre- 
sented the State of Wyoming until 1912 and prior to that had rep- 
resented the State of Minnesota. She has been identified with the 
Woman's Relief Corps many years, has been president of the Twelfth 
District of that oi^anization three years, and in 1915 was the national 
delegate representing that district of four counties in Northern Ohio 
at the general convention in Washington. She was also national dele- 
gate at Cincinnati in 1899. At the present time Mrs, Rawson is the 
oldest member in point of years of association in the Daughters of Re- 
bekah. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in Lorain County. She is 
also a member of Palestine Shrine No. 2, the White Shrine of Jerusalem, 
at Cleveland, an organization affiliated with the Eastern Star. She has 
attained some of the highest posts in the Ladies of the Maccabees of the 
World, and at the fourth biennial review of that organization, held at 
Port Huron, Michigan, July 16-19, 1901, she was one of the five repre- 
sentatives selected in the State of Ohio and was appointed and sent as 



y Google 



686 HISTORY OF LOKAIN COUNTY 

supreme representative of the Supreme Hive, choseD in place of Mrs. 
£mma S. Olds, the great commander, who had only recently left the 
hospital after a serious illness and was unable to perform her official 
duties. Thus many honors have been bestowed upon this Elyria woman, 
and they have always come unsolicited. Mrs. Rawson has well been 
characterized as a woman of sweet dignity and broad charity, and en- 
joys the love and esteem of an entire community. 

E. E, Sperby. One of the moat pri^ressive citizens of Oberliu, 
where for the past fifteen years he has handled a large amount of the 
local grocery trade, Mr. Sperry has been a strenuous worker since early 
youth, having started out on his own account without capital and rely- 
ing upon industry and efficiency to advance him in the world, and as a 
result of his efforts in the past he is now able to take life somewhat 
leisurely. 

Born in Chautauqua County, New York, April 29, 1861, he is a son 
of Roland and Mary (Cowles) Sperry, Both parents were natives of 
New York State, and the grandfather, Merritt Sperry, was an early 
settler in Herkimer County, New York, and a well-to-do farmer there. 
His parents came from Connecticut to New York and practically all the 
Sperrys in America are descended from one or other of three brothers 
who came from England to the United States early in 1600. Mr. 
Sperry 's maternal grandfather, Darius Cowles, spent all his life in 
New York State as a farmer. Roland Sperry was born in 1833 and 
died in 1910, and in 1858 married Miss Cowles, who was born in 1837 and 
is still living. Roland Sperry was an active farmer, spent most of his 
career in New York, hut in 1901 moved to Oberlin and lived retired until 
his death. E. E. Sperry has one brother, Merritt D., who is also in the 
grocery business at Oberlin, Their mother is a member of the Baptist 
Church and their father was an active prohibitionist. 

E. E. Sperry received his early education in Chautauqua County, 
attended the high school at Panama, New York, where he was graduated 
in 1879, and soon afterwards took up telegraphy as a profession and 
for fully twenty years was an operator, largely in the western states. 
In 1886 he moved out to the vicinity of Kansas City and followed his 
work with several different lines of railway and in several western 
states. On coming to Oberlin in 1901 he established himself in the 
grocery business, and has sinee had an ample share in the rewards 
paid to local merchants. During the last session of the State Senate 
of Ohio Mr. Sperry served as postmaster. 

In 1890 .he married Miss Martha Hilbert, who was bom in Eastern 
Pennsylvania. Their three children are: "Walter, now a .iunior in 
Oberlin College; Mary, in the freshman year at Oberlin; and Charles, 
attending the grade schools. Mrs. Sperry is a member of the Baptist 
Church. He is a republican in politics, has served as a member of the 
board of elections, as clerk of the school board, and never fails to take 
a progressive part in all local affairs. Fraternally he is affiliated with 
the Masonic order and with the lodge of Elks at Elyria. 

Clemon H. Snow. Through practically all his life Mr. Snow has 
been a resident of Ijorain County. His record shows that he has been 
a citizen of varied usefulness, and altogether a vigorous and mdependent 
man though working with and for the best interests of community life. 
He has had the courage of his convictions, and has had the rare for- 
tune to keep an unbiased mind and judgment while effectively identify- 
ing himself with those departments of life which require co-operation 
and loyalty. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 687 

His birth occurred September 22, 1848, in the southeastern corner of 
Avon Township of Lorain County. His birthplace was a log house on 
the east side of what is now known as the Snow Road. His parents 
were Edwin Snow and Julia Lewis. This is one of the oldest families 
in Northeastern Ohio, and the immediate ancestry is also directly re- 
lated with some of the earliest American settlers. The Snows came to 
America from England prior to 1640, settling in Massachusetts. Frank- 
lin Snow, father of Edwin, emigrated from Beckett in Berkshire County, 
Massachusetts, to Portage County, Ohio, about 1806 or 1807. That was 
several years before the second war with Great Britain, and only a few 
years after Ohio became a state. Edwin Snow was born in Ohio in 
1809. His wife, Julia Lewis, was born near Warsaw in Wyoming 
County, Xew York, April 7, 1818, and died April 5, 1905, at a very 
venerable age. The Lewis ancestors came to America in the year 1632. 
The famous explorer Lewis of the Lewis & Clark Expedition, which 
was sent out by President Jefferson to explore the upper valleys of the 
Missouri River in the Louisiana Purchase, was a near relative to Julia 
Lewis' ancestors. She was one of a family of ten children, and all of 
them reached advanced years. 

The earliest recollections of Clemon H. Snow are identified with that 
splendid agricultural and civic community known as Avon Township. 
He attended both the common and high schools of that township, spent 
two terras in the Elyria public schools, and for about six terms was a 
student in Oberlin College. However, he did not pursue his college 
course to graduation. He early showed a proficiency in mathematics 
and in the exact sciences, and in 1872, when a young man of twenty- 
four, secured a position as assistant to J. M. Ackley, who was then county 
surveyor of Cuyahoga County. He continued with him during the sea- 
sons of 1872 and 1874. Then followed a period of about ten years during 
which his chief vocation was farming, though he was employed fre- 
quently making surveys and in general civil engineering work. 

Jlr. Snow's chief public service, by which he will be best remembered 
in Lorain County, was his long record as county sur\'eyor and city en- 
gineer of Elyria. In June, 1886, he was appointed county surveyor to 
fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of E. C. Kinney, and in No- 
vember of the same year he was elected to the office for a three-year 
term beginning in January, 1887. In November, 1889, he was re-elected 
to the same office, to which he gave six years and six months. While 
Ber\'ing as county surveyor he was appointed in 1887 city engineer of 
Elyria, and for a number of years carried on both offices. In January, 
1893, his last term as county surveyor terminated, though he continued 
in the service of the county for about a year longer. During the next 
ten years he was kept in the office of city engineer, and his service in 
that position covered a period of sixteen years. Practically all the im- 
portant improvements in Elyria up to the year 1903 were planned and 
carried out by Mr. Snow. In addition to his long-continued service in 
these two offices he also served as a member of the Board of Education of 
Elyria. 

It is noteworthy that throughout his entire career Mr. Snow has been 
an independent in politics, and held that attitude at a time when party 
loyalty and regularity were much more strongly insisted upon than at 
present. He has at the same time affiliated with the republican party, 
hut has not considered himself bound to its policies, and has never been 
in sympathy with its tariff principles. In 1912 he gave his vote to 
Woodrow Wilson for president. Mr. Snow is essentially a "peace" 
man and not only in recent years but has always shown an implacable 
hatred of anything and everything pertaining to war. He belongs to 



,Google 



CSS HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

DO secret society, but is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, 
and for forty years has been identified with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

In his native locality of Avon Township on May 24, 1880, he mar- 
ried Miss Mary M. Sweet. Her father was Calvin Sweet, whose father 
in turn was one of the first settlers in Avon, having located there in the 
year 1817. As the history of that eommumity shows, most of the promi- 
nent early pioneers came just about that time, and the permanence of 
the Sweet family is indicated by the fact that some of the land which 
the pioneer acquired nearly a century ago is still in the possession of 
his descendants. To Mr. and Mrs. Snow were bom two children: 
Franklin Chadwiek Snow, born December 26, 1882, has for the past seven 
years been professor of civil engineering in the Montana State College, 
and in December, 1906, married Lorena Gilbert. Briceua A. Snow, the 
only daughter, was bom March 16, 1891, is a graduate of the Elyria 
High School, and is an accomplished musician; she is still living with 
her parents at their home in Elyria. 

Fred J. Penney. For many years the name Penney has been 
familiarly known in business circles at Lorain, and has been chiefly 
identified with the coal and builders' supply trade. Fred J, Penny now 
has extensive yards and a large amount of capital invested in coal and 
other necessary commodities, with plant and yards at 1463 Broadway. 
He is one of the younger and very enterprising business men of Lorain 
County. 

Born at Port Huron, Michigan, June 23, 1875, he is a son of Daniel 
J. and Catherine (McDonald) Penney, who moved from Michigan to 
Lorain, Ohio, in the fall of 1891. Daniel Penney was for many years 
engaged in the coal and building supply business at Lorain and his 
sou Fred grew up in the business, and is now sole proprietor, the con- 
cern having been conducted under his individual name as F. J. Penney 
since July, 1915, he having then bought out the interests of R. J. Mills. 
He was formerly a member of the firm of Penney & Smith, a coal and 
supply company, and operated in that line for several years. 

Jlr. Penney is aflSliated with the Knights of Pythias and the Fra- 
ternal Order of Eagles and is a member of Pioneer Tent No. 1072, 
Knights of tlie Maccabees. On April 30, 1915, he married Miss Martha 
Wenger of Lorain. 

D.^NiEL "West Hyi«\nd. Not many men now past seventy in Lorain 
, County have filled their years with more activities than Daniel W. 
Hyland, who has earned the right to retire and enjoy life at leisure. 
During his active career his name was chiefly identified with the coal 
and ice trade in Elyria. Outside of his honorable business and civic 
record, he is especially distinguished by his service in the Civil war, 
where he fought in a score of the battles familiar to every schoolboy 
and did more arduous duty than many who came out with oflScer's straps 
upon their shoulders. 

While his home has been in the United States as long as he can re- 
member, he was born in England, at a place about sixty miles below 
London, on October 18, 18i2. His parents, Thomas and Martha (West) 
Hylaud, about six months after his birth, set out for the new world, and 
on a sailing vessel that was six weeks between ports arrived in Canada 
in April, 184.3. From Quebec they went to Port Stanley, and after six. 
years in Canada came to Lorain County. The father bought a farm of 
120 acres in Carlisle Township, but had not long to cultivate it or enjoy 
its fruits. He bought in April and died the following September 29, 



b.»^iUOglc 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 689 

1849. His widow 8ubsequent]y married John Lees, another farmer in 
Carlisle, and she earvived him many years, passing away at the home of 
her youngest daughter in Eaton on November 11, 1906, aged ninety-four 
years six days. There were eight children in the Hyland family, two 
sons and six daughters. Two died in infancy in England, five came tfl 
the I'nited States, and one died in Canada, Only the two youngest are 
now living, Daniel W. and his sister Sarah, the wife of Jacob Jonas, who 
lives on the farm in Eaton Township. The little family party that emi- 
grated from England to Canada also included the grandfather and 
grandmother Hyland, and they also came to Lorain County. The 
grandfather died in an old brick bouse which stood where the Second 
Congregational Church is now in Elyria. The grandmother died just 
after Daniel Hyland went away to the army. The grandfather's name 
was also Thomas. 

Daniel W. Hyland was about old enough to attend school when he 
came to Lorain County, and his education came from the district 
schools of Cariisle and Amherst. Up to the age of sixteen his working 
experience was with farming, but he then learned the trade of harness 
making and carriage trimming in Amherst, and earned his living at it 
three years before going to the war. 

It was a full three years' service that he gave to the Unicm in the 
dark days of the Civil war. August 6, 1862, he enlisted at Amherst, and 
was mustered in as private at Camp Mitchell, Kentucky, in Company F 
of the One Hundred and Third Ohio Volunteer Infantry under Capt, 
P. C. Hayes and Coi. J. S. Casement. The r^ment was attached to 
the Second Brigade, Third Division, Twenty-third Army Corps. His 
record of service included the following engagements and campaigns: 
Mouticello, Kentucky, May 1, 1863; Carter's Depot, Tennessee, Septem- 
ber 20-21, 1863; Jonesboro, September 21; siege of Knoxville, Novem- 
ber 17 to December 5, 1863; Dandridge, January 6 to 17, 1864; Dalton, 
Georgia, Jlay 8 to 13, 1864; Resaca, in May; promoted to corporal May 
4th; at Cartersville, Georgia, May 20th; battles about Dallas, New 
Church and Altoona Pass, May 25 to June 5, 1864 ; near Marietta, June 
1 to 19; Kenesaw Mountain, June 10 to July 2; Lookout Mountain, 
June 15 to 17 ; Muddy Creek, June 17 ; Noyes Creek, June 19 ; Kenesaw 
Mountain, June 27 ; Nickajack Creek, July 2 to 5 ; Chattahoochee River, 
July 5 to 17, and his was the first regiment to cross; Decatur, July IS- 
IS ; siege of Atlanta, July 22 to September 2 ; Lovejoy Station, Sep- 
tember 26 ; Columbia Ridge, November 24^27 ; Franklin, Tennessee, 
November 30; Nashville, December 15-16; Sugar Loaf Battery, North 
Carolina, February 11, 1865 ; Fort Anderson, February 18-19 ; Wilming- 
ton, February 22; Johnston's surrender, April 26, 1865. Thus he was 
in practically all the campaigns which drove the Confederate forces out 
of Kentucky and Tennessee, Georgia and the Carolinas. On June 12, 
1865, he received his honorable discharge at Raleigh, North Carolina. 

Once more at home a private citizen, he worked two years in a 
harness shop at South Amherst, and for four years wa£ engaged in 
fanning in Ionia County, Michigan. On his return in 1872 he was with 
the grocery department of the Starr Brothers establishment in Elyria 
until March, 1873, when the Heman Ely Block burned. The site of that 
old building is now covered by the Commercial Block. For a time, 
including the year made notable by the women's crusade, he and Orin 
Dole were in the soft dnnk business under the name of Dole & Hyland, 
hut on selling his interest Mr. Hyland spent a year and a half in Cleve- 
land with the wholesale drygoods house of Alcott & Hortou. The next 
year he conducted the grain elevator at Elyria for Clark & Sampsell, 
and from that graduated into the coal and ice business, which, together 



y Google 



690 HISTOBY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

with the handling of general supplies, formed hia chief eommereial 
interests for the next thirty years or more. With Mr. Dole he organized 
what was known as the Elyria Coal & lee Company. After three years 
Mr. Dole sold out, and D, M. Clark came into the organization for three 
years, at the end of which time Mr. Hyland sold to Clark and then 
became connected with the City Fuel & Ice Company along with Ed 
Carter. A number of years later he bought out Carter and sold a half 
interest to John Murhaeh. With Mr. Murbach he was associated for 
the long period of seventeen years in conducting the Elyria Coal & lee 
Company. 

Ztlr. Hyland has a most successful record in business affairs at Elyria. 
For the last ten years he has been retired- from more active responw- 
bilities, though he employs his capital in the buying and selling of farms 
and city property, and has bandied no small amount of real estate in 
his time. His own substantial home on Sixth Street he built about 
twenty-seven years ago. He is also vice president of the Hygienic Ice 
Company, and is one of the original stocMiolders in the Lorain County 
Banking CtHupany. 

He has always maintained kindly and helpful associations with cAd 
army comrades, and in the Elijah Hayden Post, Qrand Army of the 
Republic, at Elyria, is now post commander and has filled that office 
several times before. While a republican, he has never sought an office. 
Besides owning city property in Elyria, he has some interests in lands 
in Ionia County, Alichigan. His name has been on the rolls of mem- 
bership in the Elyria Chamber of Commerce since it was organized. 

On May 7, 1866, a few months after his return from the army he 
married Miss Sade Shephard of Elyria. Her death occurred in May, 
1867. On December 28, 1872, he married Miss Lena E. Howe at Grand 
Rapids, Michigan, which was her home. After more than forty j-ears 
of wedded companionship she passed away February 20, 1913. 

Frank A. Sanpobd, For more than a score of years Frank Allen 
Sanford has maintained his residence in the City of Lorain and as a vigor- 
ous, alert and progressive business man of the younger generation in 
Lorain County he has proved effectually his administrative and con- 
structive power, especially through his active association with the syndi- 
cate that succeeded to the ownership and control of much of the valuable 
property and business of the Sheffield Land & Improvement Company 
when the affairs of this important corporation were placed in the hands 
of a receiver. Through his connection with the extensive activities 
initiated by this company Mr. Sanford has become very prominently 
identified with the civic and material advancement and development 
of Lorain, and is to be designated as one of the representative men of 
affairs in this city. 

The Sheffield Land & Improvement Company was organized in 1894 
and was incorporated with the gigantic capital of $1,000,000. The 
company purchased 4,400 acres of land in Lorain County, and initiated 
the development and upbuilding of South Lorain, as a virtual extension 
of the City of Lorain. It platted a large district into city lots, improved 
streets and established proper water and sewer systems, as well as 
installing effective street car service. The company erected in this 
section of the county 80O houses and loaned money for the construction 
of 200 additional houses. The best type of street paving and sidewalks 
marked the development of the new district, and the company achieved 
a splendid work in furthering the material and industrial proeress of 
Lorain, though its affairs finally became involved and necessitated a 
receivership. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 691 

Mr. Sanford associated himself with the real estate department of the 
ShefiSeld Land & Improvement Company in 1900, in the capacity of sales- 
man, and when the business of the corporation was placed in the bands 
of a receiver Mr. Sanford became an interested principal in a syndicate 
that purchased a large part of the company's property, so that the new 
organization practically succeeded to the control of the property and 
business of the original company, and Mr. Sanford is one of the repre- 
sentative factors in the handling of the extensive affairs of the syndicate, 
his association with which has brought to him large success and dis- 
tinctive precedence in connection with broader business activities in 
his home city and county, where he has secure place in popular confidence 
and good will. 

Frank Sanford was born in Lewis County, West Virginia, on the 
23d of June, 1875, and is a son of Rev. James L. and Lillie (Simpson) 
Sanford, his father being a clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and having also achieved success as a merchant in Lorain, Ohio, where 
be established his residence in 1895 and where be and his wife still 
maintain their home. 

To the public schools of West Virginia and Ohio Frank A. Sanford is 
indebted for his early edueation. which was effectively supplemented by 
a course of high study in the Ohio Wesleyan University, in the City of 
Delaware. He left this institution in his senior year and then became 
associated with his father in the mercantile business 'at Lorain, where 
he soon made an excellent record as a reliable and progressive young 
business man. In 1900 he identified himself with the Sheffield Land & 
Improvement Company, as previously noted, and this context has already 
given adequate record concerning his activities since that time. 

Mr. Sanford is distinctively popular in business and social circles 
in Lorain County, is a member of the Elyria Country Club, at the county 
seat, and is affiliated with the Lorain lodges of the Knights of Pythias 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

On November 9, 1912, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Sanford 
to Miss Bess Whitmore, of Lorain, she being a daughter of Frederick C. 
Whitmore, who is now manager for a machine company in the city of 
New York. Mr. and Mrs. Sanford have one child, Betty Jean. 

John Joseph Smtthe. One of the youngest members of the Lorain 
County bar, Mr. Smythe is a lawyer with a promising practice, and has 
already obtained some distinctions which furnish indications of a usefal 
and honored career. He is a member of the firm of Baird & Smythe, 
with offices both in Elyria and Amherst. 

John Joseph Smythe was bom at Dennison, Tuscarawas County, 
Ohio, December 12, 1889, a son of Joseph Weaver and Elizabeth Smythe. 
His father, who is of English descent, is a railroad engineer in the 
employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company.' The mother is of 
French-Canadian birth and parentage, and when a child came from 
Quebec to Pennsylvania. 

John J. Smythe graduated from tbe Dennison public schools in 1908, 
His parents were not wealthy people, and while they contributed all 
they could to further the ambitiona of the young man, he early became 
dependent upon his own resources and by his own work paid practically 
all his way through college. In the year of his graduation from the 
public schools he entered the Ohio State University in the College of 
Arts, and in the following year entered the College of Law. from which 
he was graduated LL. B, in 1912. While in university he was much 
interested in athletics and was captain of the university baseball team 



y Google 



692 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

in 1911-12, and has taken much interest in athletic affairs since locating 
in Lorain County. 

After graduating from law school Mr. Smythe worked with William 
Herbert on Page's Ohio Digest until January, 1915. He then located in 
Elyria and opened a law office with I). A. Baird under the name Baird 
& Smythe. In April of the same year he established and took charge of 
the branch office of the firm at Amherst. This firm represents several 
corporations, inchidiug the Amherst German Bank and the Amherst 
Home Telephone Company. 

One month after settling in Amherst Mr. Smythe was appointed eily 
solicitor of the village by the village council, and after being a resident 
there only six mouths, on account of his prominence in municipal 
affairs, was nominated on a non-partisan ticket for mayor and in No- 
vember, 1913, at the age of twenty-three, was elected to the office. At 
that time he was reported as being the youngest mayor Ohio had ever 
known. He is a democrat, and in November, 1914, was candidate for 
derk of courts of Lorain County, being defeated by the republican nom- 
inee of Lorain, William H. Oldham. Mr. Smythe is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Fraternal Order of Eagles 
and the Knights and Ladies of Security. 

Qeorge Louis Bl'eix. It is a man's first duty to provide for his 
family while he lives and to see tliat suitable provision is made for 
tho«e dependent upon him after he has passed away. One of the most 
effective methods of providing for future contingencies due to death is 
by means of insurance — a fact so generally recognized nowadays that 
the insurance business has grown to be one of the largest and most 
important in the country. One of its leading representatives in this 
section is George L. Buell, of Lorain, who was horn in Summit County, 
Ohio, November 10, 1861. His parents, Ichabod and Mary (Robinson) 
Buell, were farming people. He was educated in the public schools 
and in the normal school at Medina, Ohio, and at the age of twenty 
years began industrial life as a telegraph operator. After being thus 
occupied for about four years, he came in 1885 to Lorain and for three 
years subsequently was here engaged in the same line of work. Then, 
in company with James Reid, he established himself in the insurance 
business. Subsequently the firm became Buell and Cozad, its present 
style, real estate being added to the interests of the concern, which, 
since its establishment has steadily advanced in prosperity. Mr. Buell 
organized The Black River Telephone Company, of which he was also 
manager for some time. One of Lorain's leading citizens, he has 
served for the last fifteen years as a justice of the peace. In politics 
he is aligned with the republican party, while his fraternal affiliations 
are with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In 1890 Mr. 
Buell married Miss Anna Reid, daughter of James Reid of Lorain. 

WiLUAM Milne Adams. Of the class of men who owe their success 
in business life solely to their own efforts and abilities, William Milne 
Adams, of Elyria, is an excellent example. Induced to come to this 
country in his youth by stories of the wonderful opportunities awaiting 
ambitious young men here, he found that in America, as elsewhere, the 
only road to pro^erity and position was over the highway of hard and 
persistent work. This road he has traveled perseveringly, and at length 
has reached the goal of success, occupying an honorable position among 
Elyria's business men as the Elyria and Lorain representative of the 
Citizens Gas and Electric Company. 

Mr. Adams was bom March 20, 1851, in the City of Forfar, County 



bv'^iUU'^IL' 




MW^^«-.^<,^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 693 

Forfar, Scotland, and is a son of George and Emily (Tuck) Adams, 
both born at that place, the father of Scotch and the mother of Scotch- 
English descent. In his early life Geoi^ Adams waa engaged in con- 
tracting, but later took up gardening, and for over forty years acted 
in that capacity for a number of wealthy families in Scotland. He died 
in that country in 1902, aged eighty-seven years, while the mother passed 
away in i89S, aged eighty-three years. They were the parents of three 
children : William MUne ; Betsy, who came to the United States a num- 
ber of years after her brother, married John Taylor, and resided near 
Youngstown, Ohio, where she died, and Rev. John C, a graduate of the 
College of London, England, who became a missionary to the Orkney 
Islands, and was found frozen to death aft«r his failure to return from 
making calls, the supposition being that he had suffered an attack of 
heart failure. 

William Milne Adams received but scant educational advantages in 
the public schools of his native city, but was a yonng man of industry 
and ambition, and when only sixteen years of age was foreman in a 
Ijnen manufacturing factory, with over 125 girls under his superin- 
tendency. It would seem that a position of such responsibility would 
have satisfied a youth of his age, but he had repeatedly heard stories of 
the wealth to be easily gained in the United States, and in 1869, when 
between eighteen and nineteen years of age, he resigned his position 
and set sail for \ew York, determined to rapidly gain a fortune. When 
he arrived in this country, he found that the conditions pictured as so 
favorable had been greatly exaggerated, and he was glad to accept such 
honorable employment as came his way. In a factory at Ithaca, New 
York, he learned to make hubs and spokes, and resided in that city until 
about 1871, when he went to Ilion, New York, and secured a position 
with the Remington Anns Company, where he assisted in the manufac- 
ture of 350,000 guns used in the Franco-Prussian war. Still later he 
went to Paterson, New Jersey, where he worked in a factory in the 
manufacture of machinery for the making of silk ribbons, but in 1873 
left that position to come to Toledo, Ohio, where, and at Delphos, Ohio, 
he was engaged in making hubs and spokes. In 1884 Mr. Adams 
received his introduction to matters electrical when he located at 
Fremont, Ohio, and worked for the Central Union Telephone Company, 
and after four years in that capacity entered the service of the Fremont 
Oas, Electric Light and Power Company, becoming one of its stock- 
holders and remaining in that city until 1905, although he sold his stock 
in the concern in 1902. On AprU 1, 1905, he came to Elyria, where he 
has since been connected with the electric light and natural and artificial 
gas business, having since that year been representative of the Citizens 
Gas and Electric Company for the cities of Lorain and Elyria. He is a 
member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and the Lorain Chamber 
of Commerce, and has an excellent reputation in business circles of both 
cities. In political matters he is a republican and his first vote was cast 
for an old friend, with whose family he had become acquainted while a 
resident of Fremont, Rutherford B. Hayes, who subsequently became 
President of the United States. He has continued to be a stanch sup- 
porter of republican candidates and principles, although not a seeker for 
preferment at the hands of his party. Fraternally, Mr. Adams belongs 
to Brainard Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Fremont, Ohio, and 
Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, in 
both of which he has numerous friends. He attends and supports St, 
Andrew's Episcopal Church of Elyria, of which his wife is a member. 

On October 16, 1884, Mr. Adams was married at Toledo, Ohio, to 
Miss Catherine Elizabeth Botsford, daughter of Hiram and Eliza 
(Caton) Botsford, natives of New York State, who died at Toledo, where 



,Google 



694 HISTOHY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

their daughter, Mrs. Adams, was born and educated. Two children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Adams; Eraily, born at Fremont, Ohio, a 
graduate of the Fremont High School, who also took a business course 
in that city, married W. J. Derr, of Toledo, Ohio, who is engaged in 
the musical instrument business, and has two daughters, Mary Louise 
and Emily, the latter of whom was bom in the same hour of the same 
day of the same month as her uncle, William H. Adams; and William 
Hilaud, a graduate of the Elyria High School, class of 1906, who 
attended Gambria College, Mount Vernon, Ohio, now agent of the Logan 
Natural Gas and Fuel Company, at Ashland, Ohio, married Miss Fay 
Bankard of Mount Vernon, and has one daughter, Lois, 

Thomas Rath. For fully twenty years Thomas Rath has been an 
effective factor in the industrial life of Lorain. He is division manager 
at Lorain for the National Stove Company, a division of the American 
Stove Co., and has been the chief man locally responsible for the progress 
and direction of that enterprise almost since its establishment. 

What is now a branch of a great manufacturing corporation was 
established in 1893 at Lorain as The National Vapor Stove & ilanu- 
facturing Company. At that time about fifty people were employed 
in the plant. In 1902 the business was taken over by the American 
Stove Company, and since then many changes and extensions have 
been made. Nearly two hundred and twenty-five persons are now on 
the regular payroll of the plant, and the works cover a large tract of 
ground. The main building is 450 by 60 feet, with a wing 119 by 45 
feet. The warehouse is 80 by 150 feet ; the japanning plant is 80 by 40 
feet ; the plating room and brass foundry is 70 by 40 feet ; the enameling 
room is 180 by 60 feet ; the power plant is 40 by 60 feet ; and the storage 
room is 30 by 110 feet. The products of the works at Lorain are sent 
all over the world and include all classes and types of stoves and ranges. 

Thomas Rath was born in Cleveland, Ohio, November 3, 1866. a son 
of John and Mary (Mackin) Rath. Educated in private schools, when 
only fourteen years of age he became an office boy with the Hall Vapor 
Stove Company of Cleveland. Sinee then he has earned every step in 
his progress. He possessed natural capabilities for higher positions, and 
with experience and maturity has graduated from one grade of the 
service to another. While at Cleveland he worked his way to division 
manager, and in 1895 took charge of the works at Lorain, and is now 
the chief executive official of that extensive industry. 

At the same time he has been closely identified with the civic and 
general business life at Lorain, and is a member and former director of 
the board of commerce. On September 4, 1890, he married Sarah Ann 
Taylor of Cleveland. Their four children are : Raymond George, who 
is associated with his father in the stove works; Charlotte Frances, 
Thomas Joseph and Joseph Edward. 

Addison E. Lord. During the past half century few men have 
touched at more points the business and civic community of Elyria than 
Addison E. Lord, who several years ago reached that stage in his busi- 
ness lite which enabled him to retire and enjoy a well-earned leisure, 
and who first became identified with Elyria soon after leaving the * 
navy, in which he served during the Civil war. Mr. Lord was for many 
years a tobacco manufacturer, was subsequently in the telephone con- 
struction business, and is also remembered for his service in the old 
volunteer fire department of Elyria and in the office of sheriff of Lorain 
County. 

Of New England birth and ancestry, Addison E. Lord was born in 



zedtavGoOglC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 695 

Warehouse Point, Connecticut, on the headwaters of the Connecticut 
River, October 15, 1842. Hie parents were Chester A, and Lucretia 
(Moran) Lord. When he was two years old his mother died and his 
father passed away in 1882. He was one of a lai^ family, and several 
of them foun<l their way into this section of Northern Ohio. His brother 
Cordon O. was one of the 6rst cigar manufacturers in Lorain County, 
and died at Elyria. - Gilbert was also a resident for some time in this 
county, but tinally returned to Connecticut where he died. Atkins A. 
spent all his life in the East. Three of Mr. Lord's sisters came to 
Lorain County in 1857, and lived here the rest of their lives. Clara M. 
was the wife of Lorain Wood. Martha was the wife of Samuel Hines. 
All these are now deceased. Cynthia Wells is still living at Elyria, the 
widow of Addison Wells, who died shortly after the war. Another 
sister was Lavina who married Stephen Clark in Connecticut and both 
died there. The oldest of the children was Cordon, while Addison E. 
was the youngest. 

The latter obtained his early education in the public schools of his 
native village, hut gained a more substantial and practical training 
by actual contact with the world and with men after he was fifteen years 
of age. An experience such as very few residents of Lorain County 
can include in their careers was four years spent on a whaling vessel, 
and in that time as a boy employed in the hard and exciting life of 
whaling he saw a great deal of the world. Returning home, at the out' 
break of the war he enlisted in the navy, or as the more exact term was 
"shipped in the navy." This was in July, 1861, and his service con- 
tinued until September, 1864. While much of the time he was on 
blockade duty, he was also in the naval engagements around the mouth 
of the Jlississippi by which the City of New Orleans was captured by 
the Federal forces, and he was also at the siege of Mobile. The boat 
on which he served was part of the West Gulf blockading squadron. 

On being dischai^d from the navy Mr. Lord eame to Elyria in Oc- 
tober. 1864. Since that date this has been his home. He was employed 
in different capacities and with his brother Cordon learned the cigar- 
making trade, and in 1873 started in that business for himself in part- 
nership with P. H. Sudro under the firm name of Lord & Sudro. Their 
establishment was located where the cigar and tobtteco store now stands. 
They carried on both a retail and wholesale business, and were very 
snccessful. 

On accepting the nomination for sheriff of Lorain County, an ofBce 
to which he was elected, Mr. Lord sold his interests to his partner, Sudro, 
and began his official duties in January, 1894, For four years he made 
an enviable record of efficiency and faithfulness to duty in this office, 
ilr. Lord east his first vote for president in the fall of 1864 after coming 
to Elyria, and almost as a matter of course gave his support to Abraham 
Lincoln. Since then he has been steadfastly aligned with the republican 
party. In one of the Elyria papers there recently appeared an interest- 
ing comment on the old volunteer fire force of the city, in which Mr, 
Lord was mentioned as one of the four survivors of the forty who com- 
posed the old hook and ladder company of 1868, The old fire organiza- 
tion had many associations with the social life of the city, and everyone 
was interested in the conventions and tournaments at which contests 
were staged between various fire companies. Mr. Lord in those days 
was frequently called to duty with the ladder company and is now one 
of the oldest of the surviving company. The old fire truck which was 
built by John Topliff in 1869 for this company is stilt in good condition 
and is often taken to the volunteer conventions. 

After leaving the office of sheriff for seven years Mr. Lord was en- 



,Google 



696 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

gaged in biisiness as a telephone constructor. He erected plants through- 
ont tliis coimty, at Colombia, Eaton, Qrafton, L&Orange and Amhergt, 
also installed plants at Medina and Berea. He was a member of the 
firm of Bawson & Company in this business. For about a year while 
in the telephone construction business he was at Joplin, iVIiraoTiri, and 
while there acquired some interests in the zinc mines, but that never 
proved a profitable venture, and he has no very pleasant memories of 
the experience. 

For the past eight years Mr. Lord has lived retired aud usually 
Efpends about three months each summer with his son in Benzie County, 
Michigan. This son is a successful fruit grower, having about eighty 
acres devoted to apples, peaches and cherries, and during the last year 
be sold fourteen tons of cherries to the local canning factory. In 1902 
Kir. Lord built his substantial home on West Avenue in Elyria. He is 
affiliated with King Solomon Jjodge No. 56, Ancient, Free & Accepted 
Masons, with Elyria Lodge No. 103, Independent Order of Odd FeUows, 
and in the Richard Allen Post, Grand Army of the Republic, has held 
all the offices, being now a past commander. 

Mr, Lord's domestic life has been one peculiarly happy and on 
January 20, 1916, he and his wife celebrated their golden wedding anni- 
versary. They were married in Elyria at the old Methodist Episcopal 
parsonage. Louise L. Ward, who became fais bride at that time, was 
bom in Elyria, educated in that city, and is a daughter of James and 
Calista Ward, who were early settlers in Lorain County from Vermont. 
Her father was for many years a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. Lord have 
two children living. Edward G. is the Michigan fruit farmer already 
mentioned. Pearl Louise lives at home in Elyria. Both were born 
in this city and received their education here, graduating from the 
high school when it was under the superintendence of the late Professor 
Parker. Another child. Burton H., died in 1871 when a year and a 
half old. 

Joseph Martin Houfp. The Houflf-McNeil Company is one of the 
largest flour milling concerns around the southern shore of Lake Erie. It 
was organized at Lorain in May, 1911, with a capital stock of *60,000. 
The capital stock remains the same to the present writing and the com- 
pany now has all the facilities for manufacture of grain products of the 
very highest quality. The main building is 40 by 70 feet, with a 
capacity of eighty barrels of flour per day. The moiJern roller process 
is employed exclusively, and about sixteen people have a place on the 
payroll. At the organization the first officers were : J. M. Houtf, presi- 
dent ; Adam Kolbe, vice president ; and Miss Ida Houff, secretary and 
treasurer. The present officers are : J. M. Houff. president ; William 
B. Tbompson, vice president; and Mrs, Margaret C. MeXeil, secretary 
and treasurer. 

The company has the benefit of the experience and thorough tnisiness 
ability of Joseph M. Houflf as its president. Mr. Houff has for many 
years been engaged in the grain trade, and is one of the successful 
manufacturers of Lorain County. He was bom at Sandusky. Erie 
County, Ohio, May 26. 1866, a son of Martin and Mai^aret (Maher) 
Houflf. His father was a contractor. Mr. Houff as a boy attended 
the public schools at Bellevue, Ohio, and at the age of fifteen learned 
telegraphy and became an operator. From that he got into the grain 
business, buying and selling grain for ten years, but since August. 1904, 
has been in the milline industry, and was mainly responsible for organiz- 
ing the Houff-McNeil Company and has brought the business to its 
present prosperous condition. 



,Google 



vGoogle 



-^^ ASt'-^- 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTT 697 

On February 2, 1892, Mr. Houff married Mias Ghristina Arnold, 
of York Town^ip, Sandusky County, Ohio. To their marriage have 
been born seven children: Arnold, who is connected with the milling 
company at Lorain; Mai^aret, at home; Gordon; Qerald; Rachel; 
Jonathan ; and Robert Hugh. 

Carl Q. Friday. One of the oldest and at the same time one of the 
most progressive business houses of Elyria is that now conducted under 
the name of Friday & Thomas, a furniture and undertaking concern 
that has won a firmly-established place in the business history of the 
city. It was founded here in 18&1 by the maternal grandfather of Carl 
G. Friday, the senior partner, Henry Rimbach, Sr., who was succeeded 
hy his sons, Henry and Geor^ Rimbach, who conducted the busi- 
ness under the style of Rimbach Brothers. When they dissolved part- 
nership Henry Rimbach, Jr., was alone in the business for eighteen 
years, or until his death, when it was continued by Ernest and George 
Rimbach, who restored the old name of Rimbach Brothers, it being 
carried on as such for six years. At the time of Ernest Rimbach 's 
death, Carl G. Friday bought his interest from Mr. BJmhach's widow, 
the firm name then becoming Rimbach & Friday, which continued until, 
one year before his death, Mr. Rimbach sold hia share in the enterprise 
to Glade B. Thomas, Friday, Octoiber 13, 1913, the firm then becoming, 
as at present, Friday & Thomas, the first time in more than fifty years 
that the name of Rimbach had not been connected with the establish- 
ment. 

Carl G. Friday, senior member of the firm of Friday &, Thomas, 
was born at Elyria, Lorain County, Ohio, February 14, 1881, and is a 
son of Charles F. and Anna M. (Rimbach) Friday. His father, a 
native of Germany, was about four years of age when he came to the 
United States with his parents, who settled at Elyria. Here the youth 
was reared and educated, and as a young man became identified with 
railroading, in which he has passed his entire career, liaving been for 
twenty-nine years in the employ of the New York Central Lines, first 
as fireman, and later, as at present, as locomotive engineer.. Sirs. Friday 
was bom, reared, educated and married at Elyria, and like her husband 
survives and is living in their comfortable home. They are the parents 
of three children, namely r Carl O., of Elyria ; E. Louise, of Cleveland, 
Ohio; and Clara May, residing with her parents at Elyria. All three 
childrep were bom and educated at Elyria, and E. Louise was given 
the advantages of a business course at Oberlin, 

Carl G. Friday received only meager educational advantages in his 
youth, as his parents were in modest circumstances at that time, and 
the family needed the wages which he could earn. However, he was a 
bright, alert lad, possessing industry that caused him to take advantage 
of every opportunity and a retentive mind that made him an excellent 
scholar, and during the time he attended the German Lutheran schools 
he acquired an education far in advance of many of his fellows who 
enjoyed greater advantages. He was only fourteen years of age when 
he put aside his studies to accept his first position, employment at the 
old candy factory of Clark & Company, on Cheapside, located on the 
present site of Bivins' Walk-Over Boot and Shoe Store. Later he drove 
a delivery and grocery wagOD for Seward & Goldbei^, prior to the 
erection of the first Elyria Block, which was destroyed by fire, and 
which st4>od on the present site of the new Elyria Block, ilr. Friday's 
next employer was W. H. Smith, the West Side grocer, for whom he 
worked for five years, then entering the employ of the National Tube 
Company of South Lorain, where he was employed as chemist in the 



Ay zedbyGoOgle 



698 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

chemica! labratory for five years under W. B. N. Hawk, who is bUU 
chief chemist there and who remains as one of Mr. Friday's best 
friends. 

Mr. Friday entered business on his own account at Elyria, in May, 
1905, in partnership with George Rimbach, under the firm name of 
Rimbach & Friday, as before mentioned. At that time, in order t« 
prepare himself for his new duties, be took a course at the Massachusetts 
College of Embalming, at Boston, from which he was duly graduated. 
He is also a graduate of the Barnes School of Anatomy, Sanitary Science 
and Embalming, of Chicago, Illinois, and received his state license from 
the Ohio State Board of Embalming Examiners in June, 1906. 

In addition to carrying the largest stock of furniture at Elyria, the 
firm of Friday & Thomas conducts the leading undertaking business 
here. Mr. Friday is a thorough master of the art of embalming and 
has received letters from i>eople in various parts of the United States 
where he has shipped bodies commending his work. The business has 
grown from a $10,000 per year concern, as when Mr. Friday came, to 
an enterprise doing a business annually of $50,000. The chapel and 
morgue are located at No, 580 Broad Street, while the furniture estab- 
lishment is at No. 582, next door, and occupies two floors, in addition to 
which there are maintained three warehouses. Air. Friday has charge 
of the undertaking department, while Mr. Thomas has full control of 
the furniture end of the business, although both are capable men in 
both directions and assist each other when necessary. The firm has 
the finest automobile funeral equipment in the northern part of Ohio, 
not excepting Cleveland, and has just purchased one of the finest auto- 
mobile invalid carriages in the country. This is a combination of hearse 
and invalid carriage, with a full limou^ne front and very pleasing body 
design, being ornamented tastefully with hand-carving to relieve the 
plainness. The finish is a beautiful silver gray with gold striping, and 
the interior of the car is veneered with genuine mahogany. An adjust- 
able invalid bed is included, one that may be taken up and down the 
average stairs. The chassis is the Riddle Coach & Hearse Company's, 
of Ravenna, Ohio, six-cylinder, forty-five horse-power, a motor which 
under severe tests has shown itself capable of traveling the worst roads 
in the country. 

Mr. Friday is a member of the Ohio Funeral Directors' Association, 
and of various civic and social organizations at Elyria. Still a young 
man, he has gained such an excellent reputation in his native community 
that in 1915 the citizens of Elyria circulated a paper, with 200 signa- 
tures, boosting Mr. Friday for the mayoralty, and even in the face of 
Mr. Friday's prompt and decisive refusal tried for a long time to 
persuade him to be a candidate. However, he finally convinced them 
that it is his belief that public service and business are not congenial. 
Last year Mr. Friday served as treasurer of the Democratic Club, of 
which he is vice president at this time. He owns his own home at No. 123 
"West Bridge Street, which he erected in 1912. 

On November 27, 1910, at Elyria, Mr. Friday was united in marriage 
with Miss R. Mae Arpin, of Alpena, Michigan, who was reared and 
educated in the city of her birth and is now well and popularly known 
in social circles of Elyria. 

Glade B. Thomas. Among the business men of the younger genera- 
tion at Elyria, one who has attained success through his own efforts and 
who occupies a substantial position and has a high reputation, is Glade 
B. Thomas, junior member of the undertaking and furniture concern of 
Friday & "Thomas. Mr. Thomas was bom in Union County, Ohio, July 



Dion2Babv»^iUO^-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 699 

i, 188i, and is a son of R. P. and Nattie A. (Bailey) Thomas, who both 
reside at Columbus, Ohio, R. P. Thomas being a funeral director of 
that city. The elder Thomas has been an undertaker at different loca- 
tions in Ohio since 1889 and during this more than a quarter of a 
centurj' has won and held his associate's' regard and esteem by reason 
of his integrity and straightforward dealing. Both the parents were 
bom in Logan County, Ohio, They have had four children: Glade B.. 
who is the only son ; and Fleeta, Mona and Tempa, who were educated 
in the public schools of the communities in which their parents have 
lived and who are now residing at home. 

The public schools of Marion, Ohio, and Marion Business College 
furnished Glade B. Thomas with his education, but some time before 
his graduation from the latter institution he had received his introduc- 
tion to business, having learned the art of embalming largely under the 
preccptorship of his father. In the spring of 1898, when he completed 
the embalmer's course and secured a certificate, he was not quite four- 
teen years of age and was the youngest certified embalmer in Ohio. He 
continued to be engaged with his father until 1905, when he entered 
the employ of the Cleveland Burial Case Company, as traveling sales- 
man, selling undertakers' supplies. During the next six years he went 
over the states of Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia, 
Tennessee and Michigan, or tour separate and distinct territories. It 
is a significant fact that, starting in with the worst territory, he finished 
with the best the company had. 

With the foregoing experience and preparation, in October, 1911, 
Mr. Thomas decided he was ready to enter upon a business career of his 
own, and accordingly accepted the opportunity offered of buying the 
interest of George Rimbach, in one of the oldest-established business 
enterprises of Elyria. This concern had been founded in 1861 by Henry 
Rimbach, Sr., who was shortly succeeded by his sons, Henry and Geoi^e 
Rimbach, who carried on the business under the name of Rimbach 
Brothers. Later Henry Rimbach, Jr., conducted the business alone for 
eighteen years, and at his death Ernest and George Rimbach became 
the owners and restored the old name of Rimbach Brothers, which it 
kept for six years, Ernest Rimbach then died and Carl G. Friday 
bought his interest from the widow, the tlrm name then becoming Rim- 
bach & Friday, which it continued until Mr. Thomas, bought into the 
firm, which became Friday & Thomas, its present style. The firm now 
carries the lai^est stock of furniture at Elyria, Mr, Thomas being in 
charge of the furniture department, while Mr, Friday carries on the 
funeral directing. The business has steadily grown from modest pro- 
portions to a venture doing $50,000 worth of business annually, having 
a modem chapel and morgue at No. 580 Broad Street, with the furniture 
store next door, at No. 582, where it occupies two floors, in addition to 
which the firm maintains three warehouses. The firm also has the finest 
funeral automobile equipment in the northern part of this state, and 
this does not except the City of Cleveland. In it is what is considered 
the most complete and up-to-date combination of hearse and invalid 
carriage in the country, a vehicle manufactured for this concern by the 
Riddle Coach and Hearse Company, of Ravenna, Ohio. Mr, Thomas is 
a member of the Ohio Funeral Directors' Association. He has been 
prominent in the business life of Elyria as a promoter of movements 
for the welfare of the city's commercial and industrial interests, having 
been a member of the industrial committee of the Elyria Chamber of 
Commerce for two years, and at this time being a member of the 
publicity committee of that body. Fraternally, he is affiliated with 
King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 



,Google 



700 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

£!lyria, and the various bodies of Masonry up to and ioclading Al Koran 
Temple, MysUc Shrine, of Cleveland; and the local lodges of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Knights of Phythias. 
On April 11, 1911, Mr. Thomas was married to Miss Frances Zeiner, 
vho was bom and educated at Jamestown, Ohio, and they have two 
daughters, Una Clare and Martha Fleets, both bom at Elyria. 

Theodore Cheist Gow. A practical electrician by trade, Theodore 
G. Qow has applied his knowledge to a capable performance while in 
the employ of others, and now for a number of years has been an inde- 
pendent business man and ia head of the Parteide Auto Company at 
Lorain. 

Born on a farm in Elyria Township of Lorain County July 13, 1871, 
he is a son of Henry and Hannah Gow, both of whom were bom in 
Germany and came to the United States in "1866. Though reared on a 
farm and educated in country schools, Mr. Qow has spent all his active 
career in the industrial centers of Lorain County. Learning the electrical 
trade, he was in the employ of the National Tube Company of Lorain 
for eleven years, and then became one of the interested parties in the 
Lorain Electric and Automobile Company, of which he was president 
for eleven years. On selling out bis interests in that concern in Sep- 
tember, 1914, Mr. Gow organized the Parkside Auto Company, and built 
for it a brick and cement fireproof garage and shop at Washington and 
West Erie avenues in Lorain. This company now handles the agency 
for the Chalmers and Dodge Bros, cars, and carries on a large business 
with its capitalization of $10,000. Mr. Gow is well known among 
automobile men, is a very popular citizen in Lorain, and fraternally is 
identified with the Knights of Pythias Lodge. 

In September, 1896, he married Elizabeth Geist of Erie County, 
Ohio. They are the parents of four children : Irving Frank, Harold 
Paul, Lester Carl and Gladys May. Mr. Gow and family are members 
of the German Evangelical Church. He is a republican in politics and 
a member of the board of commerce. 

Charles E. Tucker. There are few offices that furnish greater 
opportunities for real and substantial service to a community than that 
of mayor in a thriving commercial city like Elyria. While the present 
incumbent of that office, Mr. Tucker, has made an admirable record as 
a business man in this city and was also for eight years county recorder, 
it is probable that his most lasting claim to local distinction will rest 
upon his able, conscientious, efficient and economical administration as 
mayor of Elyria. 

First elected to that office in 1911, and now a candidate on an inde- 
pendent ticket for re-election, Mr. Tucker has been a real executive, haa 
devoted himself without reserve to the practical needs of the city, and 
has performed his exact duties both in the letter and spirit regardless of 
political consideration. 

Perhaps the soundest testimonial to his service is found in the hearty 
response given to his present candidacy for re-election. Recently The 
Elyria Democrat, in a strong editorial, explained its position in ui^^g 
the re-election of Mayor TueliEer instead of the regular democratic 
nominee. After stating the cardinal principle that party politics should 
have as little influence as possible in the selection of candidates to mu- 
nicipal offices, the editorial continued: "The city of Elyria is in a 
position where everything must soon be put on the most economical 
basis. That means every department must be run at a maximum of 
effiiceney. Now, does it appeal to anybody of good judgment that a 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 701 

good official who has worked towards that end and made good, should 
be turned out aimply because a party candidate wants to win for his 
party's advantage! Mr. Tucker has made a good mayor. He has at- 
tended to the work faithfully and his appointees have been men of 
ability and judgment and the city has had better service through their 
efforts than it has enjoyed for years. Why shoiild the voters throw him 
out and put in an entirely new set of men who will experiment on dif- 
ferent lines and then in turn likely be thrown out in two years? This 
does not make towards an economical and intelligent administration of 
' city affairs. Mr. Tucker is honest, industrious and capable. Keep him 
in for four years if possible." 

Lorain County was Mayor Tucker's birthplace. He was bom in 
Carlisle Township February 11, 1860, a son of the late William H, and 
Clarissa (Andrews) Tuckerl His mother died at Elyria January 20, 
1870, and his father passed away May 22, 1902. William H. Tucker was 
bom March 21, 1826, in Windham, Portage County, Ohio, the youngest 
son of Jacob and Chloe Tucker. As a boy he removed with his parents 
to Lorain County, the family settling in the woods of what is now f^tou 
Township. It was a time when the public school system had not yet 
been fairly started, though he received advantages as liberal as most 
boys of that time. As the result of his hard work and close savings he 
afterwards completed a higher education in a select school at Ridge- 
ville. For many years his work was as a teacher, and many of the 
older men and women of Lorain County recall with gratitude his influ- 
ence on their early lives. This occupation he followed for twenty-two 
years, in different parts of Ohio. In 1864 he was elected recorder of 
Lorain County, a position he held by re-election for nine consecutive 
years, finally retiring from the office in 1874. In the meantime he had 
taken up the study of law, and on retiring from the recorder's office 
was admitted to the bar during a session of the District Court at Cleve- 
land. From 1864 until the close of his life, William H, Tucker was a 
resident of Elyria, and as a lawyer he enjoyed a substantial practice. 
He was also prominent in the organization at Elyria of the Royal 
Arcanum and the Knights of Honor, and in those two fraternities filled 
the highest positions in the State of Ohio. 

Charles E. Tucker grew up in Elyria, attended the common schools, 
but his practical career of self-support began in 1873, when he was 
only thirteen years old. In 1882 he became an employe of the late John 
W. Hart in the lumber and planing mill industry. In 1892 Mr, Tucker 
and L. J. Hart, a son of John W, Hart, bought the entire plant from 
the latter 's father, and these two men developed the business and made 
it one of the principal supply centers for lumber and building material 
in Lorain County. L. J. Hart is now a resident of New York City. Mr. 
Tucker was engaged in the lumber business utitil 1901. In 1904 he or- 
ganized The Lorain County Abstract Company, and is still its secretary- 
treasurer. This business has its offices at 212 Middle Avenue in Elyria. 

Nearly twenty years after his father had retired from the office of 
county recorder, Charles E. Tucker was elected to the same office, and 
served three terms, from 1902 to 1909. Fraternally he is affiliated with 
King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted ^lasons, and 
with Elyria Lodge No. 465 of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

On September 20, 1882, Mr. Tucker married Miss Hatty E. Hart, 
daughter of the late John W. and Caroline O. Hart. 

Alvin J. Plocher. Few of the younger generation of business men 
in Lorain County have made their abilities count more quickly in the 



,Google 



702 HISTORY OP LORAIX COUNTY 

business world than Alvin J. Ploeher, now assistant secretary of the 
Lorain County Banking Company at Elyria. 

He was born in Elyria August 10, 1885, a son of Christian W. and 
Olive E. Ploclier. He attended the public schools of his native city, and 
was graduated from high school in June, 1902, at the age of seventeen. 
During his school years he assisted in paying his way by employment at 
any task which a hoy of his years could perform and in such capacities 
as were offered by a small town. He was always faithful and reliable 
in even these small duties, and his sturdy independence won him many 
friends among his schoolmates. 

On graduating from high school he applied for and received the 
position of bookkeepfr in the Savings Deposit Bank & Trust Company 
of Elyria, a position he filled to the entire satisfaction of the officers for 
one year. At the end of that time, in 1903, he was offered a similar 
place at the Lorain County Banking Company. He went with this com- 
pany and has continued in its employ up to the present time, a period 
of twelve years. On account of his fidelity and untiring service in 
behalf of the bank, he has from time to time been promoted aad has 
held the positions of teller, assistant cashier and secretary, his connec- 
tion with that institution at the present time being in the latter capacity. 
Air. Ploeher has a pleasant and genial way of meeting the customers of 
the bank and all other persons with whom he comes in contact, and this 
trait makes him a valuable man for any business position. From his 
known ability as a banker and accountant and from his popularity 
among the citizens of Elyria, he was elected in 1913, treasurer of the 
city. Of the five city candidates, he was paid the deserved compliment 
of an uncontested nomination. For the other four offices lively contests 
took place, especially for those of auditor and of solicitor. Mr. Ploeher 
in known to practically every citizen and taxpayer of Elyria. His pub- 
lie work is as creditable as that which he has long performed in the 
bank, and has increased the honors with which his name is associated. 
He is now trt-asurer of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr, Ploeher early became interested in Masonry, and is a member and 
past master of King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons; a memhcr of ^larshall Chapter No. 47^ Royal Arch Masons; 
Elyria Council No. 86, Royal and Select Masters; a member and treas- 
urer of Elyria Commandery No. 6, Knights Templar; and also belongs 
to At Koran Temple of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a mem- 
ber of the First Congregational Church of Elyria. 

Socially ^Ir. Ploeher is a genial and companionable neighbor and 
friend, and takes an active part in all social functions whieh he attends. 
He is a growing man in the community in which he lives, and has a host 
of admiring friends who hold him in the highest esteem. 

John T. Jellev. Since 1894 Mr, Jelley has maintained his resi- 
dence in the City of Lorain and has been a valued executive in cooneclion 
with the extensive operations of one of the important industrial plants 
of the city, that of the National Tube Company, originally the Johnson 
Company, which is engaged in the manufacturing of steel products. 
He has held since 1897 the position of superintendent of the company's 
brick-construction department, is a skilled artisan as a brick mason, 
is 11 straightforward, energetic and reliable business man and is a 
progressive and loyal citizen who has won unqualified esteem in the 
city which has represented his home for nearly a score of years. 

A scion of a sterling old family of the Keystone State, John Thomas 
Jelley was bom at Danville, the judicial center of Montour County, 
Pennsylvania, and the date of his nativity was June 14, 1856. He is a 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



^p^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 703 

son of Richard and Mary (Conebear) Jelley, who continued their resi- 
dence in tliat state until their death, the father having been a shoemaker 
by trade and vocation. The public schools of Pennsylvania afforded to 
John T. Jelley his early educational advantages, and as a youth he served 
a thorough apprentice^ip to the trade of brick mason. As a journeyman 
workman he was thereafter in the employ of the great Cambria Iron 
Company of Pennsylvania, and in 1881, as a young man of about twenty- 
five years, he went to Pueblo, Colorado, where he continued until 1887, 
in charge of the company's brick department. He severed this association 
in May, 1887, and then returned to Penn^lvania and entered the employ 
of the Carnegie Steel Company, at Braddock. He thus continued his 
activities in his native state until 1894, when he came to Lorain, Ohio, 
and assisted in the erection of the original plant of the Johnson Com- 
pany, with which important industrial corporation he has since been 
identified and with which he has held since 1897 the superintendency of 
the brick-construction department, as previously noted. 

As a loyal and broad-minded citizen Mr. Jelley has not denied his 
service in connection with general community affairs, as shown by the 
fact that for eight years he was a member of the board of education of 
Lorain, of which body he was president for two years of this period. 
He is a republican in political allegiance, and is aiGliated with the Free 
and Accepted Masons, and the chapter of Royal Arch Masons, both of 
Pueblo, Colorado. 

On the 5th of January, 1882, Mr. Jelley wedded Miss Clara Bennett, 
of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, in which state ^e was reared and educated. 
Concerning the children of this union the following brief data are given 
in conclusion of this article: Mabel is the wife of Frank A, Eyman, of 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, her husband there holding the posilion of 
physical director in the Carnegie Institute of Technology; Eleanor 
Bennett Jelley is a teacher of domestic science in the public schools of 
the City of Cleveland ; Dr. Herbert Charles Jelley is a dentist by pro- 
fession and is establisbed in successful practice at Lakewood, Cuyahoga 
County, Ohio ; and Miss Sarah Langman Jelley remains at the parental 
home and is a successful and popular teacher in the public schools of 
Lorain. 

E. Cameron, M, D. The late Doctor Cameron, whose death occurred 
at Elyria, October 8, 1914, while serving as county coroner, possessed 
and exercised many qualities of mind and manhood which his community 
could ill afford to lose. He stood for the best things of life, was not 
only a successful physician, but also a deep and thorough student of 
medicine, and was a gentleman of the highest type and a social leader 
in the best sense of the term. He was identified with Lorain County for 
twenty years, and his work in that time deserves the recognition of a 
permanent memorial. 

Of Canadian birth and ancestry, he was born at Alhani, Prince 
Edward's Island, August 1, 1847. He was a graduate from the med- 
ical department of Bowdoin College in the State of Maine, took post- 
graduate work at Harvard University, at Bellevue Hospital in New York 
City, and all his life was devoted to study and research so that he never 
considered his education ended. For a number of years he practiced 
medicine in Canada, and in 1894 located in the City of Lorain, which 
was the center of his growing practice for a number of years. In 
November, 1912, he was elected on the republican ticket as coroner of 
Lorain County, and in order to perform the duties of that office he re- 
moved to Elyria in January, 1913, As a coroner he discharged his 
duties faithfully, was a moat capable official, was deeply interested in 



y Google 



704 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

public affairs, and in all his relations maiatained Ms high ideals, an 
unblemished character, and was a man of thorough poMic spirit. 

Doctor Cameron was one of the founders of The Lorain Coirnty 
Medical Soeiety. He also belonged to The Ohio State Medical Society 
and The American Medical Association, and from May, 1899, had been 
affiliated with Easton Lodge No. 7, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
at Eastport, Maine. He attended the First Congregational Church of 
Elyria and was a member of the Men's Club of that church. For a 
number of terms he filled the offices of president and vice president 
,of The Lorain County Medical Soeiety, 

Doctor Cameron's first wife died at Grand Manan, Canada, in Feb- 
ruary, 1892. Three of their children died there in infancy. Doctor 
Cameron's only son is Dr. R. L. Cameron, who is now head snrgeon at 
The Republican Rubber Company in Youngstown, Ohio. He fdso has 
two daughters: Mrs. R. G. Chapman, whose husband is a barrister at 
Winnipeg, Canada; and Mrs. R. R. J. Brown, whose husband is also a 
member of the bar at Winnipeg. Mr. Brown is also a major in a Cana- 
dian regiment, and is now expected to be called to the front almost any 
day. Doctor Cameron is also siurvived by seven grandchildren. 

On September 16, 1908, at Elyria, Doctor Cameron married Mrs. 
Bena Woodruff. She is a daughter of F. F. and Marie (Martin) Kuhlow. 
Her parents were born and married in Germany, and in 1881 came to 
Lorain County and bought a homestead of fifty acres dtuated within 
the city limits of Elyria. Mrs, Cameron now owns that old homestead, 
and is still occupying it as her home, and it was also their home during 
the life of Doctor Cameron. 

WiLUAM Seuer, During the pa^t score of years Mr. Seher has 
been a prominent and representative figure in connection with the indus- 
trial and civic activities of the City of Lorain, and his has been a 
dominating force in the furtherance of enterprises that have contributed 
much to the commercial precedence of the city, the while he has shown 
the loyalty and progressive spirit that ever indicate the best ideals of 
citizenship. He is manager of the Lorain Brewing Company, which 
was organized in 1903 and which is a branch of the Cleveland & Sandusky 
Brewing Company, as agent of which he came to Lorain in 1895. The 
local company has a modern plant of the best equipment and facilities 
and with an output capacity of 50,000 barrels per annum. In connec- 
tion with the operation of the plant about thirty persons are employed, 
and the excellence of the product has gained to the establishment a large 
and prosperous trade throughout Lorain and county and other counties 
in this section of the state. Mr. Seher continued as agent for the Cleve- 
land & Sandusky Brewing Company at Lorain until the organization 
of the Lorain Company, as a branch of the former, since which time 
he has held his present position, that of general manager. He is president 
of the Ijorain . Crjstal Ice Company, of which admirable Lorain insti- 
tution further mention is made on other pages, in the sketch of the 
career of its general manager, Albert A. Plato, Mr. Seher is a member 
of the directorate of the National Bank of Commerce of Lorain, Ohio, 
one of the strongest financial institutions in Lorain County, and is one 
of the most active and influential members of the Lorain Board of 
Commerce, of which he is second vice president. 

William Seher was born in the City of Sandusky, Erie County, Ohio, 
on the 24th of January, 1868, and is a son of Frederick W. and Carolena 
Maria (Brecher) Seher, his father being a representative real estate 
broker and pension agent in the City of Sandusky. Frederick W. 
Seher was bom and reared in Germany and eame to America about 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 705 

the year I860. He soon afterward found opportunity to signalLse hifl 
intriusic loyalty to the land of his adoption, for he tendered his service 
in defense of the Union and was a gallant and faithful soldier in the 
Civil war, in which he served two years, as a member of Company C, 
Sixty-fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 

The excellent public schools of Sandusky afforded to William Seher 
his early educational advantages, which were supplemented by a course 
in a business college In that city. He then assumed a clerical posititm 
with a Sandusky ice company, and upon the establishing of the electric 
street railt>'ay system in his native city he was the fifth man to be 
engaged as motorman for the new company, in the service of which he 
continued six years. One the Ist of October, 1895, Mr. Seher came to 
Lorain as agent for the Cleveland & Sandusky Brewing Company, and 
concerning his business activities since that time adequate mention has 
already been made in this article. 

Mr. Seher is a popular factor in both business and social circles in 
Lorain and is known for his buoyant, whole-souled nature and cheery 
optimism. He is a charter member of the Lorain Lodge, No. 1301, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and also of the local aerie of the 
Fraternal Order of Eagles, besides which he is affiliated with the Loyal 
Order of Moose and is a representative member of the Lorain Liedertafel. 

On the 25th of September, 1889, was solonnized the marriage of Mr. 
Seher to Miss Emma Motry of Sandusky, and they have two children — 
Norma and William Frank, both of whom remain at the parental home 
and the latter of whom is bookkeeper for the Lorain Brewing Company. 

Ephraim Keyes Carpenter, On other pages is published an inter- 
esting record concerning the prominent early settlers of Avon Town- 
ship, a.s reproduced from an article written and read at the centennial 
anniversary of the first settlement of Avon, this celebration having been 
held in 1914. In this article, written by Horace J. Gaboon of Blyria, a 
descendant of one of the old-time families of that township, mention 
was made of E. K. Carpenter and wife as a pioneer couple who made 
their influence definitely count in this new country. Keyes Carpenter, as 
he was always known, was in fact a man whose industry, wholesome char- 
acter, and private and public activities would comprise a valuable influ- 
ence in any locality. It is only a matter of just due that some permanent 
record should be made of his life, especially as it affects Lorain County. 

Bom in Lee Township, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, December 
29, 1799, Ephraim Keyes Carpenter was a son of Levi and Hannah 
(Keyes) Carpenter. The sources of his early training anad education 
are not a matter of record, but the facts of his later life show ample evi- 
dence of a wholesome development of character ajid a considerable knowl- 
edge of hooks and the world. About the time he attained his majority 
he set out with a boy companion, Hosca Harris, for the new country of 
Northern Ohio. These two young men walked practically all the way to 
Lcrain f'runty. The only exception was one day when tbey were sup- 
posed to ride on a stage, but as a matter of fact they carried stakes most 
of the day and helped pry the coach out of the mud. The destination of 
Keyes Carpenter was his uncle's home in Lorain County. It was in 
honor of his uncle that Mr. Carpenter was named. Arriving in Avon, 
he worked for his uncle and gradually paid for the fifty acres of new 
land which he secured as the nucleus of the old Carpenter homestead in 
Avon Township, 

It was in 1819 that Keyes Carpenter came to Ohio. He was then not 
quite twenty-one, and had bought his time from his father on leaving 
home, and his entire capital on reaching Ohio was $20. For the fifty 



y Google 



706 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

acres above mentioned the purchase price was $5 per acre, and it took 
considerable time to pay for this liuid. He poeaessed great industry, 
was very enterprising and successful as a farmer and he gradually in- 
creased his holdings in Avon from 50 acres to 150 acres. In 1832 he 
built the old frame house on the farm in Avon, and that house, now one 
of the oldest and most interesting landmarks of the early days, is still 
standing and in good repair, and is the home of John B. Dechant, who 
now owns a part of what was the old Carpenter farm. 

After a residence in Lorain County of more than forty years E. K, 
Carpenter sold his farm in Avon Township to Bartel Thome. Record 
of the sale and deed was dated April 23, 1863. The old farm is located 
on Stony Ridge Road in Avon, not far from French Creek. After di^os- 
ing of his property in Lorain County, Mr, Carpenter moved with his fam- 
ily to East Gilead in Branch County, Michigan. He bought 120 acres of 
good land in that picturesque and attractive section of one of Southern 
Michigan's finest counties. The old house on the Alichigan farm had 
been built a number of years before, and still stands today in good 
condition. 

Mr. Carpenter once served as township trustee in Avon Township, 
and for a long time was road supervisor. For a number of years he 
steadily supported the whig candidates in politics, and became a repub- 
lican upon the organization of that party. Outside of his work as a 
farmer and home maker, he was probably best known for his activities 
as a churchman. He was a charter member of the Avon Alethodist Epis- 
copal Church, was a class leader from its beginning for fully forty years, 
and was also a licensed exhorter and local preacher. He was one of the 
men who helped to build up churches and extend religious influences 
in the old 'W^estem Reserve of Ohio. In the absence of regular preachers 
or missionaries be frequently held meetings in his neighborhood, and the 
Carpenter home was often the scene of gatherings for prayer and Bible 
reading. After moving to Michigan he became a member and active 
worker in the Evangelical Church at East Gilead. He was a good man 
through and through, highly respected in any community where he re- 
sided, and members of the present generation who enjoy an unexampled 
prosperity which the sacrifices of such pioneers made possible may well 
pay a tribute of gratitude to such early settlers as Keyes Carpenter. 

E. K. Carpenter died at East Gilead, Branch County, Michigan, 
February 9, 1869. In Avon Township, Lorain County, Ohio, he met and 
married Miss Lavina Carly Cooper, a daughter of David and Polly 
Cooper, all of whom were born in New York State. David Cooper, her 
father, died at Troy, Ashland County, Ohio, and is buried there. His 
wife, Polly Cooper, died in Steuben County, Indiana, and is buried at 
Lake Gage, Indiana. Mrs. E. K. Carpenter died September 29, 1863, 
shortly after the family arrived in Michigan. Both she and her husband 
now rest in the cemetery at East Gilead. Their children were named 
Orin Gilmore, Julia Etta, Sarepta Cordelia, Tressa Melissa, Theodore 
Jasper, Luke Johnson, Charles Norton, all of whom grew to maturity. 
These children were all bom in the old house which is still standing on 
the farm in Avon Township. The four who are still living are: Tressa 
Melissa Warrincr, of Steuben County, Indiana; Theodore Jasper Car- 
penter, of East Gilead, Branch County, Michigan ; Luke Johnson Carpen- 
ter, of East Gilead, Branch County, Michigan; and Charles Norton 
Carpenter, of Jonesville, Michigan. 

David Thomas. One of the few citizens of this immediate section of 
the Buckeye State who can claim as his place of nativity the ru^ed and 
picturesque district of the northwestern part of Wales, is David Thomas, 



bv'^iUU'^r 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 707 

who is a skilled mechanic and who has made an admirable record in hia 
chosen sphere of constructive industry. He is now living virtually 
retired in the City of Lorain, where for twenty-three years he was in 
the employ of the corporation at present known as the National Tube 
Company. He has also served as justice of the peace and is a sterling 
citizen to whom is accorded the fullest measare of popular confidence 
and good will in the community that has represented his home for the 
past score of years. 

David Thomas was born in Carnarvonshire, Wales, on the 9th of 
October, 1839, and is a scion of one of the old and honored families of 
that section of Great Britain. In his native land Mr. Thomas gained 
his early education and there also he served a most thorough apprentice- 
ship to the trade of machinist, in which he. became a skilled artisan. 

In Wales Mr. Thomas continued in the work of his trade until 1887, 
when he came with his family to the United States and established his 
home at Johnstown, Pennsylvania, where he found profitable employment 
as a machinist and where he remained six years. In 1895 he removed 
with his family to Ohio, where he has since continued his residence in 
the City of Lorain, and where for nearly a quarter of a century he was 
retained as one of the expert and valued machinists and minor executives 
in the manufactory now controlled by the great corporation designated as 
the N'ational Tube Company. 

As a naturalized citizen of the United States Mr. Thomas is found 
aligned as a staunch supporter of the principles and policies of the repub- 
lican party, and his mature judgment and sterling integrity made him 
especially eligible for the office of justice of the peace to which he was 
elected in 1912, and of which he was the efficieiit incumbent until January 
1, 1916 — an office which his administration has made to justify its 
name, in the conserving of justice and the preservation of peace and 
good will. Mr. Thomas is zealously affiliated with the time-honored 
Masonic fraternity, in which he has received the chivalric degrees and 
holds membership in Lorain Commandery, Knights Templars, besides 
which he is affiliated also with the Knights of the Golden Eagle. Reared 
in the faith of the established Church of England, Mr. Thomas and his 
wife are eommunieants of its American counterpart, the Protestant 
Episcopal Church, 

On the 3d of August, 1863, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Thomas to Miss Emily Hill, who likewise was born and reared in Wales 
and who has proved a devoted companion and helpmeet to him during 
the long intervening period of more than half a century. Of their chil- 
dren four are living — William James and David John, both of whom 
reside in Lorain; Arthur, who maintains his home at Elyria, the county 
seat ; and Gwiltymn Ernest, who resides at Lorain, so that the venerable 
parents have the satisfaction of having all of their children within close 
proximity, all of the sons being well established in life and all paying to 
their father and mother the deepest of filial solicitude. 

HoR.\CE J. Cahoon. Civilized man, with his institution.s of home, 
school and church, with his implements of husbandry and industry, and 
with his forward looking efforts for continued improvement and better- 
ment, has been established in Avon Township now for a little more than 
a century. Without trespassing any further the domain of this history, 
which has been so well told on other pages, the following paragraphs 
will be devoted primarily to some account of the Cahoon family, which 
was distinguished for making the first permanent settlement in Avon 
and which among other worthy and excellent citizens includes the mem- 
bership of Horace J. Cahoon, who is himself one of the oldest living native 



y Google 



708 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

sons of Avon and has been a prominent fi^j^e in the public life of 
Lorain County and has done much to cherish among the present genera- 
tion a proper regard for the interesting associations of the past. 

Horace J. Cahoon was born in Avon Township May II, 1837, and is 
a son of Ora B. and Jane T. (Jameson) Cahoon and a grandson of 
Wilbur and Priscilla (Sweet) Cahoon. 

The family was established in Avon by Wilbur Cahoon, who was 
born in Hancock Township, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, December 
27, 1772, but for a number of years he and his wife, Priscilla, lived in 
Saulsbury Township of Herkimer County, New York, in which locality 
all their children but one were bom. It was in the year 1814 that these 
worthy people, participating in that great westward movement which 
began about the close of the second war with Great Britain, left New 
York State for the far West. Wilbur Cahoon traded his 100 acres of 
land in Herkimer County for a tract of 800 acres, all covered with heavy 
forests in what is now Avon Township of Lorain County, Arriving here 
with his family after the numberless difficulties of travel in such times 
and circumstances, he established such rude accommodations as condi- 
tions permitted for liis first home. A few years later in 1825 he erected 
the first frame house that was built in Avon. The tract of land which 
thus early came into the possession of the Cahoon family was in 1814 so 
isolated that in order to reach it Wilbur had to cut a trail for eight 
miles through the woods. Not until some time afterwards was a single 
settlement planted between the Cahoon habitation and the little hamlet 
at Cleveland, Ohio. What is now a great city at that time had only 
thirty houses. Wilbur Gaboon's distinction in the early history of Avoti 
does not rest entirely upon bis being the advance guard of the first 
settlers. His character and activities would have made him influential 
in any country. He was one of the early members of the whig party 
and was thi; jirst justice of the peace elected for the jurisdiction now 
divided among the townships of Avon, Sheffield and Dover, all of which 
country was at that time one township, Dover being now in the county to 
the east of Lorain. There were only two justices of the peace, and the 
other was Isaac Burrell. Wilbur Cahoon and wife were charter mem- 
bers of the first Baptist Church established in Avon, and until a proper 
church edifice could be built meetings were frequently held at their home. 
Though he thus played a large and influential part in the early life of 
Avon, Wilbur Gaboon had lived there only twelve years until his death on 
September 27, 1826. His wife, Priscilla (Sweet) Cahoon, was bom in 
Rhode Island, and died in Avon May 2, 1855, both having been laid to 
rest side by side in the old township. They were the parents of eight 
children, and all but one lived beyond middle age. Susan, the oldest, 
who died in Florence Township, Huron County, December 16, 1880, 
married Harley Mason. Jesse S. died in Avon February 28, 1836. Wil- 
bur, Jr., died in California September 9, 1852, Ora B., father of Horace 
J. above mentioned, died on the old homestead in Avon March 17, 1881. 
Orra, who died in Avon April 18, 1875, was the wife of Henry Titus. 
Hulda died at the age of sixteen on July 16, 1826, the same year of her 
father's death. Nancy M., who was the wife of John Steel, died August 
27, 1851, in Amhurst Township. All these children were born back in 
Herkimer County, and it was the distinction of the youngest of the 
family, Leonard, to be the first white child born in Avon Township, 
Leonard died in Avon May 3, 1890. 

Ora B. Cahoon, through whom this sketch of the family relationship 
is continued, was born in Herkimer County, New York, May 25, 1804, 
and was almost seventy-seven years of age at the time of his deatii. As 
a boj' of ten years he retained many recollections of the interesting jour- 



h.»^iUOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 709 

uey which brought himself and other members of the family from New 
York State to Lorain Comity. A trip around the world in modem times 
is fraught with not half the difficulties which attended b, migration from 
one of the eastern to one of the states of the Ohio Valley a century ago. 
It required the Cahoon family a month of tedious travel. The first ob- 
jective point in their migration was Dover in Cuyahoga County, where 
■Wilbur Cahoon had a brother, Joseph, who in the local history of Dover 
13 likewise distinguished as the first settler, having located there in 
1810. After a visit at Joseph's home the family came on to their 
chosen spot in the Northern Ohio wilderness in Avon. Ora B. Cahoon 
had attended school in Herkimer County and also had tlie limited ad- 
vantages afforded by some of the first district schools in Avon. Ilis life 
was spent as a farmer, and his home was a portion of his father's old 
estate in Avon. For a number of years his fellow citizens in that town- 
ship honored him with the ofiSee of trustee. In politics until the advo- 
cation of the slavery question became acute he was a regular democrat, 
but his views changed about war time and as a republican he gave hia 
support to the grand old party until his death. He and his wife were 
members of the Baptist Church in Avon. On December 10, 1834, Ora B. 
Cahoon married Miss Jane T. Jameson in Avon. She died August 29, 
1890, having survived her husband several years. She was a dau^ter 
of Joseph B. and Thankful (Smith) Jameson, who came to Avon from 
Monroe County, New York, in 1820. In the family of Ora B, Cahoon 
and wife were seven children, six sons and one daughter, all of whom 
reached maturity. The oldest of these is Horace J. Melissa A., who died 
at her home in Avon March 30, 1884, was the wife of James M, Lent. 
Joseph B. still occupies a portion of the old Cahoon homestead in Avon. 
Wilbur D. died in California in March, 1912. Ora B., Jr., also died in 
California February 11, 1890. Burritt E. lives in Monterey County, 
California, and in the same county lives his brother Charles S. 

The early life of Horace J. Cahoon was spent in that environment 
and times which represented the middle period between the conditions 
of the true pioneer epoch and the great progressive age of modem years. 
He attended the public schools of his native township, grew up on a 
farm, and his practical career. was that of a farmer until his fellow 
citizens of the county required his services elsewhere. At the fall election 
of 1891 he was elected county recorder and assiuned the duties of that 
position January 1, 1892. He was twice re-elected as his own successor 
in office and thus served three regular terms. Owing to a change in the 
law making some new provisions as to the length of terms in county 
ofliees, he was appointed at the conclusion of his third term for eight 
months of service until the beginning of the new term under revised 
conditions. Thus for nine years eight months he was continuously 
county recorder of Lorain County. From 1907 to 1913 inclusive Mr. 
Cahoon was clerk of the Board of Review at Elyria. Before removing 
to Elyria, the county seat, he served one term as justice of the peace in 
Avon and for fifteen years was personal property assessor of that town- 
ship and also held the offices of school director and clerk of the board. 

A public record of Mr. Cahoon would not be complete without ref- 
erence to hia experiences as a soldier in the Civil war. In August, 1862, 
he enlisted in Company E of the Forty-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 
a regiment which was distinguished by having as first colonel James A. 
Garfield, later President of the United States. This regiment was at- 
tached fo the southwestern army, and during most of its service operated 
along the ^lississippi River. Mr. Cahoon had a part in the strenuous 
campaign leading up to the siege and capture of Vicksburg, and was 
present at the ^ttle of Chickasaw Bayou when the army of Sherman 
was repulsed in 1863. He was also at Arkansas Post when that point 



y Google 



710 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

was wrested from the control of the Confederates, and was soon after- 
ward taken ill and sent to hospital at Jefferson barracks in St. Louis. 
He was discharged from hospital March 25, 1863, and sent home after 
nearly eight months of life aa a soldier. He then resumed the tabors 
of peace on the old farm. 

Mr. Gaboon has had his residence in Elyria since 1892. He is a 
member of the Richard Allen Post No. 65, Grand Army of the Republic, 
and was its quartermaster two years. He attends and is a supporter of 
the First Methodist Episcopal Church at Elyria, of which his wife is a 
member. 

On February 10, 1861, in Avon, Mr. Cahoon married Miss Elizabeth 
Lucas, daughter of Jonathan and Ann (Ire) Lncas. Mrs. Cahoon was 
bom in Avon, and her parents were bom and reared in England, having 
come to Avon in 1831, To the marriage of Mr. and Sirs. Cahoon were 
bom five children. Carrie L., who was bom and received part of her 
education in Avon, also took a course in the Normal at Milton, waa a 
popular teacher for several years in Avon, Ridgeville and Sheffield, and 
for nearly nineteen years was a clerk in the county recorder's office up 
to 1912, and is now living at home. Ella S., the widow of Don John- 
son, lives on her farm with her family in Elyria Township. The son 
Fred "W. also lives at home. Maud, who lives at home, has for the past 
twenty-three years been a clerk in the county recorder's office, having 
entered that office under her father. Anna B., who died December 12, 
1903, was the wife of Claud Poyer, Alt the children were natives of 
Avon Township and received at least part of their education there. 

On September 10, 1914, the descendants of the original settlers of 
Avon Township celebrated the hundredth anniversary of the first settle- 
ment and Mr. Cahoon was chosen historian of the occasion and prepared 
and read a historical account of Avon which appears elsewhere in this 
history. 

William E. Cahoon. Bearing a name that has many intimate re- 
lations with the early settlement of Lorain and Cuyahoga counties, Wil- 
liam E. Cahoon was for many years actively identified with merchan- 
dising and with public affairs in Elyria, was a veteran of the Civil war, 
and the memory which he left behind him was that of a thoroughly 
capable citizen, honest and true and steadfast in any position to which 
duty called him, and the type of man who makes any community the 
better for his presence. 

He was bom in Elyria May 15, 1846. His parents were William 0. 
and Melissa (Etdred) Cahoon. His maternal grandfather. Judge Eldred, 
settled at Ridgevilte in Lorain County as early as 1812. The paternal 
grandfather, Joseph Cahoon, settled in Dover Township of Cuyahoga 
County, Ohio, in 1810, and was the first actual permanent settler in that 
township, where he lived and died on a farm. William 0. Cahoon was 
bom in the State of New York and was only two years of age when 
his parents settled in Dover Township at Cuyahoga County in 1810. 
lie lived there until he was about seventeen years of age, then went to 
the southern part of the state for a year or so, and on returning to the 
North located at Elyria in 1835, and made his home in that city until 
his death. He passed away in Elyria in 1878. In politics he was a 
republican and a free soiler, and in religion a Methodist. His wife died 
at Elyria in 1888. There were six children who lived to grow up, five 
sons and one daughter. The only one now living is Charles A. Cahoon, 
deputy sheriff of Lorain County and a resident of Elyria. The oldest 
son, E. A. Cahoon. was a member of Battery E, First Ohio Artillery, 
and served two and a half years with that command until his honorable 
discharge. 

Dion2Babv»^iL-)U'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 711 

The late W, E. Cahoon acquired his early education in the graded 
schools in Elyria, and the first business in which he regularly engaged 
was tile stove and tinware business at Elyria, He followed that for 
eight years, Iwing located on West Broad Street where the Elyria Block 
now stands. 

In the meantime he had made a record as a soldier. At the age of 
seventeen he enlisted in Company K of the One Hundred and Thirty-fifth 
Ohio Volunteer Infantry for the 100 days' service. His regiment was 
sent East and saw some campaigning in Virginia and Maryland, being 
stationed at Harper's Ferry, Martinsburg and Maryland Heights, and 
participating in the fight at John Brown's Sehoolhouse. On his return 
home from the army Mr. Cahoon learned the trade of tinner, and fol- 
lowed this altogether for about twelve years. On Decoration Day, 1874, 
while assisting in firing ofF a cannon he accidentally lost his right arm, 
and this interfered so much with his active work that he closed up his 
business in 1878. 

in 1875 Mr. Cahoon was elected assessor of Elyria Township, and 
filled that office four consecutive years. In 1882 he was elected county 
recorder of Lorain County, and filled that ptosition until January 1, 1892. 
After tliat he was engaged in business as an abstractor of titles until his 
death. He filled the office of county recorder three successive terms. 
This gave him an unusual knowledge of local titles, and he did a great 
deal of work in looking up abstracts for others. He was an active mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of the Republic and of the Royal Arcanum. 

On July 30, 1874, Mr. Cahoon married Mrs. Maria P. (Bush) Tyler 
of Cleveland, a daughter of Rev. E, H. Bush, who was a Methodist minis- 
ter at Cleveland, but is now deceased. Mrs. Cahoon, who is still living in 
Elyria, was horn in Fremont, Ohio, a daughter of Rev. Eurotus H. and 
Marj- (Goodsell) Bush, both of whom were bom in Rochester, New York. 
In politics the late Mr. Cahoon was a stanch republican and did much to 
promote the interests of his party in Lorain County and was a citizen 
whose support could always be depended upon to forward those interests 
most closely in harmony with real and substantial welfare. 

St.vnlkt Aodison Ault. Among the business men of Lorain, none 
stands higher either in business reputation or in social character than 
Stanley Addison Ault, vice president and general manager of the 
Hoffman Heater Company. While still in the prime of life, he has by 
his energy and steadfastness of purpose obtained a name in the eom- 
mereial world well worthy of his labors and of which he has the 
strongest reasons to be proud. 

Mr. Ault is a product of the farm, having been born on his father's 
homestead at Chillicothe, Ross County, Ohio, March 2, 1870, a son of 
Reason and Catherine (Comer) Ault. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native vicinity and brought up in the atmosphere of the 
farm, and was engaged in agricultural pursuits until reaching the age 
of twenty -four years, when he decided upon a business career. At that 
time he became a solicitor for life insurance, and after working in his 
native place for four years came to Lorain, in 1898, where he believed 
he would find a better field. Mr. Ault continued to work as a life 
insurance salesman, representing various concerns until he entered the 
service of the Equitable Life Insurance Company, in which he rapidly 
rose to be district manager for Ohio. He left that position in 1907 
to become manager of the Lorain and Elyria Ice and Coal Company, 
a capacity in which he acted for one year, and in 1908 joined the Hoffman 
Heater Company as traveling salesman. Mr. Anit was successful in this 
line, and when the company was incorporated, in 1911, he was made vice 
president and general manager, positions which he has since retained. 



y Google 



712 HISTOBY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

The Hoffman Heater Company, whose slogan "We Start the Fire 
With Wat«r," is now known all over the country, was incorporated in 
1905, with a capital of $25,000, and at that time was housed in a building 
consisting of 4,000 square feet of floor space, employing a force of five 
men. Some idea of the great growth and development of the industry, 
during the ten years of its existence, may be gained from the facts that 
it is now a $100,000 corporation, with a floor space of 40.000 square feet, 
all on the ground floor, and employs on an average of more than ninety 
people. The plant is modem in structure and equipment, and includes 
its own brass foundry in which all the brass used in the manufacture of 
the product is made, and its own japanning plant for the japanning of 
castings ; the company also owns its own land. All kinds of gas-fired 
water heaters are manufactured and the product of the company has / 
gained a wide and substantial reputation. In 1915 the concern secured 
the contract for furnishing all heaters for the Panama-Pacific Interna- 
tional Exposition Company at San Francisco, where, June 11, 1915, the 
company was awarded the medal of honor on its entire line exhibited 
at the fair. The present oflScers of the company are: A. H. Babcock, 
president ; S. A. .^tult, vice president and general manager ; and -T. M. 
Jones, secretary and treasurer. In addition to discharging the duties 
of his positions with this company, Mr. Ault is also concerned in a like 
manner with the Troike MuflBer and Manufacturing Company, of Lorain, 
as vice president and general manager. He is well known in fraternal 
circles, being a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and in Masonry is a Knight Templar and Shriner. 

Mr. Ault was married March 2, 1892, to Miss Ella M. Wheeler, of 
Chillicothe, Ohio, and they are the parents of five children, namely : 
Clarence W., Harold Q., Merle S., Marguerite G. and Janice Jeanette. 

William WHrrNET. There is no little significance in the motto 
which Mr. Whitney used during his campaign as republican nominee 
for sheriff of Lorain County in 1914. "Bill Whitney always knows 
you" suggests one of the qualifications most needed in political life, 
and in this ease the reverse of the motto was also true, since practically 
every responsible citizen of Lorain County knows Bill Whitney. The 
citizens of Elyria knew him on account of his fourteen years of capable 
and efficient service on the police force, and the people of the county 
at lai^e are now becoming well acquainted with his admirable manage- 
ment of the office of sheriff. Sheriff Whitney is by no means a passive 
factor in the civic life of his home county. His name everywhere 
suggests the character of an upright citizen, and he has been a vigorous 
force in behalf of clean politics, and like his father is strongly opposed 
to the domination of the saloon element. 

William Whitney was born in Camden, Lorain County, Ohio, within 
seven miles of the University Town of OberHn, May 13, 1874. His 
parents are Thomas and Philena (Johnson) Whitney. His father was 
bom at Kipton in Lorain County and the mother was bom at Paines- 
ville in Ashtabula County, Ohio. Grandfather William Whitney came 
to Ohio from England, and was one of the early day settlers of Lorain 
County. The maternal grandfather, Solomon Johnson, was for two 
terms sherifl' of Pulton County, Ohio, Thomas Whitney and wife are 
now living on a small farm which they bought for their declining years 
south of the Village of Kipton. At one time Thomas owned 800 acres 
of land in Lorain County, including the sit« of the present Village of 
Kipton. During the Civil war he served from the beginning to the 
end of hostilities, as a private in the Forty-third Ohio Regiment. He is 
a man of exemplary personal habits, never drinks and never has. and 



r,»^iUUyiL 



^^^&. 



T- 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 713 

has proved a decided influence in his community in behalf of permanent 
reBtrictions upon the liquor trafBc. He attends the Disciples Church of 
which he is a regular member. In the family were six children, two 
of whom died in infancy, and there are two daughters and two sons 
still living; Anna, Mrs. Claud Jenkins of Berlin Heights, Ohio; Wil- 
liam; Hattie, wife of B. A. Perkins of Elyria; and George, who is a 
farmer and has eighty acres adjoining his father's place near the 
Village of Kipton. All the children were bom in Lorain County, and 
attended the public schools of Camden. 

Sheriff Whitney's vigorous personality and ability are reflections 
from his rugged and thorough experience and training as a young man. 
He lived at home on the farm, worked in the fields and attended school 
until the age of twenty, and after his marriage moved to Oberlin, where 
for a little more than a year he was foreman in the lumber yards of 
George Persons. He then came to Elyria and found work under the 
superintendent of streets. At the same time he put in an application 
for a place on the Elyria police force. It was the custom then for the 
members of the city council to vote upon such applications, and a 
majority was required for the employment of any applicant. When 
Mr. Whitney was taken on to the force he received a unanimous verdict 
from the councilmen and thereafter continued a member of the police 
force of Elyria fourteen years, and throughout that time, at each 
recurring spring election, when the council formally voted upon the 
police force, he received an endorsement from every member of the 
council. That is a record of confidence which is well deserved and of 
which Sheriff Whitney is properly proud. For three years he was a 
patrolman, and three years a police detective, and was then made 
captain and chief. He continued chief of police until 1911, when a 
change in administration occurred, the democratic mayor removing most 
of the republicans from the municipal offices and substituting democrats 
in their stead. In the meantime Mr. Whitney had already determined 
to become a candidate for the office of county sheriff, and as his plans 
were already, well under way he left the position of chief of police 
without regret. 

During the primaries Mr. Whitney was one of thirteen candidates 
for the nomination for sheriff, and gffined the nomination by about 
1,300 votes more than bis nearest opponent. In the election he was 
chosen by over 3,800 votes in majority of those received by the democrat- . 
progressive candidate. He was regularly installed in the office of sheriff 
on January 4, 1915, for a term of two years. 

While Mr. Whitney is new in the office of sheriff he has already 
shown a vigor of administration which has proved gratifying to his 
many supporters and is an earnest of a strong and sufficient force 
for law and order in Lorain County. He had been in office about four 
months when he discovered nine automobiles that had been stolen by a 
clique of Cleveland automobile thieves operating in Loraiu and other 
counties. At the present writing an automobile ease is being tried 
before the local courts of the circuit and is attracting wide attention 
not only in Ohio but in other states. Several convictions have been pro- 
nounced upon the members of the gang and they were sentenced to prison. 
This is an ot^anization which has worked with a great deal of cleverness 
in stealing and disposing of automobiles. They have made a practice 
of stealing cars in first class condition, hurrying them to a plant in 
Cleveland, where the ears are made over and so completely changed 
in all ordinary identification marks that the original owners from whom 
they were stolen could by no possibility establish proofs fitting their 
original machines. The remade cars are sold and the profits divided 
among those interested in the steal. 



»Google 



714 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Sheriff Whitney is a man thoroughly honest and competent in his 
official duties, and is moreover a gentleman and has hosts of friends. 
He is affiliated with Harlan P. Chapman Post of the Sons o£ Veterans 
at Elyria, with the Modern Woodmen of America, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, the Loyal Order of Moose and the Fraternal 
Order of Eagles. He also belongs to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce 
and in politics is a republican. 

Last but not least there should be mentioned another important 
factor in the career of Sheriff Whitney. This was his marriage to Miss 
Mary Dunkle of Wellington, Lorain County. They were married at 
Elyria. Her father, Frank Dunkle, was a soldier in the Civil war on 
the Union side, and lived for many years at Wellington, where he died 
in 1913. Mrs. Whitney was only seven years of age when she lost her 
mother. Mrs. Whitney was bom in Pennsylvania, was educated at 
Lattisburg, Wayne county, Ohio, where her parents lived during her 
girlhood, and since her marriage has proved herself an excellent home- 
maker and a devoted mother to their only daughter, Reva Mae Whitney, 
who was born in Elyria, received her education in that city, was married 
July 22, 1915, to Hugh McCray, of Oheriin, Ohio. 

Philip Brunk. The career of Philip Brunk well illustrates what 
may be accomplished by the following out of an honorable purpose with 
firm determination and self-reliance. His only resource when he began 
active life was natural ability, but he possessed also will-power and was 
able to make the most of his opportunities. He learned early the value 
of self-help and the virtues of industry, frugality and fidelity, set him- 
self a high ideal, and in a practical common-sense way has directed his 
every effort toward its attainment, with the result that now, still in the 
strength and vigor of manhood, he has achieved a most gratifying 



Philip Brunk, secretary and treasurer of the Brunk Machine and 
Forging Company, Incorporated, of Lorain, Ohio, was born in Germany, 
December 22, 1858, and is a son of Philip and Dorothy Brunk. He was 
educated in the public schools of his native land and as a youth learned 
the blacksmith's and still later the machinist's trades. He found his 
opportunities limited in the Fatherland, and as a young man came to 
the decision that America offered a more advantageous field for the 
display of his abilities. Accordingly, in 1884, he emigrated to this coun- 
try, settling at Lorain, where he secured employment in the shops of the 
C. L. & W. Railroad, which is now a part of the Baltimore & Ohio System. 
After seven years with this road, during which he gained promotion 
through industry and faithful performance of duty, and carefully saved 
his earnings, he established himself in business as the proprietor of a 
machine shop. From small beginnings, this venture was developed into 
an industry of pretentious size, and in 1903 was incorporated under the 
style of the Brunk Machine and Forging Company, with a capital of 
$35,000, its present officials being: W. M. Dabney, president; C. Krentz, 
vice president : and Philip Brunk, secretary and treasurer. The company 
employs twenty skilled mechanics, and its products meet with a ready 
sale in the large markets of the state, shipping to all points. The plant 
consists of two buildings, both two stories in height and of modern con- 
struction and equipment, a machine shop 50 by 100 feet, and a garage, 
132 by 30 feet, the latter erected in 1915. The life of this firm has been ' 
typical of the life of the city itself, for its foundation and resources were 
principally the sound judgment and accurate foresight of its founders, 
and as the city stands prominent for its rapid development, so of the firm. 
for its founders builded better than they knew, and from a small begin- 
ning the amount of business transacted has grown to large proportions. 



hv'^iUU'^IL 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 715 

Mr. Brtuk was married in 1884, shortly after coining to Lorain, to 
Hiss Emma Heyer, and to this union there have been bom three children, 
namely : Lena, who is the wife of Arthur Eppley, a foreman in the plant 
of the National Tube Company, of Lorain j Eda, who is now Mrs. Edward 
Merthe, wife of a machinist of this city ; and Laura, who is the wife of 
Gilbert Irish, connected with the Baltimore & Ohio Byroad. at Lorain. 

Mr. Bruuk is a popular member of the local lodges of the Knights of 
Pythias, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Knights 
of the Maccabees. He is a member of the Immanuel Evangelical Church, 
In politics his work for his party 's interests is as a citizen and a voter 
rather than in active participation in political affairs. In Mr. Brunk'a 
life are found all the habits, methods and qualifications which have 
rapidly brought the American nation to the forefront, as compared with 
the older countries, in all that pertains to the growth, prosperity and 
development of the national spirit and life. 

John F. Haeehodt. A life which strongly impressed its influence on 
the commercial and civic affairs of Elyria for many years was that of 
John Haserodt, who died in his home in Elyria in ^e fullness of years 
on April 26, 1910. He had spent practically his life in this part of 
Northern Ohio, and had lived in Elyria for thirty years. He was an 
excellent business man, always industrious and a master of his own 
circumstances and as he went through the world he did much good for 
others. 

His birth occurred on the old homestead farm in Liverpool Township, 
Medina County, Ohio, July 8, 1836. His parents, Henry C. and 
Margaret (Berdz) Haserodt, were both born in Prussia, the former in 
1799 and the latter in 1807. They were long lived people, and were 
splendid home makers in the New World. In 1834, after their marriage, 
they came to the United States and soon afterwards settled in the 
Western Reserve of Ohio. Their location was a farm in Medina County 
and during their many years residence there they gained success and 
independence. The last years of their worthy lives were spent in Elyria, 
where Henry C. Haserodt died in 1887 at the age of eighty-eight, and 
his wife in 1891, also past fourscore. Both were devout members of 
the Evangelical Lutheran Church. 

The common schools such as were found in the middle pioneer epoch 
in this part of the Union supplied John F. Haserodt with the rudiments 
of his education. At the age of seventeen he came to the City of Cleve- 
land and served a thorough apprenticeship at the trade of harness- 
making. In a few years he was known for his skillful workmanship in 
this craft, and in 1857 moved to Memphis, Tennessee, and followed a 
trade there until 1861, His sympathies being with the Union he then 
returned to the North at the outbreak of the war and resumed his resi- 
dence in the City of Cleveland. There he became foreman in a large 
harnessmaking establishment, and continued that relation until 1867. 
Returning to the old home farm in Medina County, he was identified 
with its work and management until 1880, in which year he gave up 
agriculture for his old business as a harness maker. This time his loca- 
tion was in Elyria and his shop soon gained a reputation for its superior 
product of light harness. In this line and in general harnessmaking he 
had a large and profitable trade not only in Lorain but in adjoining 
counties and actively prosecuted the business until 1904. He then sold 
his establishment and lived retired until his death. 

His interest was always keen in movements for the upbuilding and 
advancement of his home city. At one time he was quite prominent in 
local affairs, serving three full terms in the city council as representative 



vGoogle 



716 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Irom the Fourth Ward, and made himself valuable to the city while in 
that office. He was a stanch repubUcan, and hoth he and his wife active 
members of Grace Evangelical Church in which he was an elder. 

In 1861 Mr. Haserodt was married in Cleveland to Miss Johanna M. 
Meyer. She was bom in Germany, and is now living at Elyria at the 
age of seventy-one. The marriage ties which united herself and husband 
were unbroken for almost half a century. The honest work of their own 
lives is continued and amplified through their large family of children. 
George P., the oldest, is a salesman in the Heldmyer Hardware Company 
of Elyria; Rev. Henry H. is a minister of the Evangelical Lutheran 
Church at Sacramento, California; Lillie C. is a professional nurse and 
lives with her mother in Elyria; Edmund B., now a resident of Cleve- 
land, is serving as county clerk of Cuyahoga County; William L. is a 
mail carrier living at Lakewood ; Otto E. was a prominent and widely 
known member of the family in Elyria, where he died October 2, 1912, 
and separate mention of him is found on other pages; Oscar P., also 
mentioned elsewhere, is president and treasurer of the Haserodt Brothers 
Company, jewelers and opticians, at Elyria; Paul M. is connected with 
The Widlar Company of Cleveland ; Violet L. is now the wife of Wilbur 
Smith of Lima, Ohio; Emanuel is now with the Enamel Pipe Works of 
Elyria; Elmer, who pursued his studies in the Concordia Theological 
Seminary at St. Louis, is now pastor of the Evangelical Lutheran Church 
in Chicago. 

Otto E. Haserodt. Lorain County never had a more popular citizen 
whose public services and private character commended themselves more 
highly to the esteem of a host of friends and more deserving of memory 
than the late Otto E. Haserodt, who for many years capably filled the 
post of county auditor and died while still in office October 9, 1912. 

At the time of hia death he was not yet forty years of age, yet in 
the sum of human service and accomplishment he lived intensively, and 
cultivated with extraordinary energy the abundant opportunities that 
were presented to him. He was bom at Liverpool in Medina County, 
Ohio, December 24, 1873. Hjti grandparents were Henry C. and Mar- 
garet (Berdz) Haserodt, who were bom in Prussia, the former in 1799 
and the latter in 1807. They came to the United States in 1834, locating 
on a farm in Medina County, and after acquiring a fair share of the 
world's goods they spent their last years in Elyria, where Henrv C. 
Haserodt died in 1887 and his wife in 1891. The late Otto E. Haserodt 
was a son of John P. and Johanna M. (Meyer) Haserodt, His mother 
is still living in Elyria while his father, who died there April 26, 1910, 
is individually mentioned on other pages of this publication. 

Otto E. Haserodt when seven years of age came with his parents to 
Elyria, and attended the public schools of that city up to the age of 
fourteen. At that early date he became identified with self-supporting 
activities and laid the foundation of a business career by work as clerk 
in a grocery store and in other capacities. At the age of twenty-two he 
became bookkeeper for the Elyria Lumber Company. In September, 
1898, he was made deputy auditor of Lorain County, and in October, 
1905, the county commissioners appointed him county auditor to fill 
the vacancy caused by the death of Henry J. Barrows, who died before 
taking up his duties as auditor after election to that office. In 1906 
Mr. Haserodt was elected without opposition as county anditor, and in 
1908 was again chosen, and in that election received the largest vote 
given to any candidate in Lorain County, either on the county or state 
ticket. After that, so capably did he continue to administer his duty 
and make the most of the functions of the office, that his incumbency 
was a matter of his own choice, practically without opposition so far 



jglc 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 717 

as local politics was concerned. It lias been frequently remarked since 
his death that the affairs of the county auditor's office were never in 
better hands than while administered by Mr. Haserodt. 

It is important to make some record of his career both as an official 
and as a private citizen. As a man he was loved by all, and there were 
many expressions of this sincere esteem when he was compelled to give 
up his life in the midst of a useful career. He was implicitly trusted 
by the people, who felt honored in having him in one of the most 
important offices in the county. Thus proof of his efficiency as an 
official is found in the fact that he retained that office for eight con- 
Becutive years, and administered its afFairs with a degree of intelligence 
and ability that brought him into prominence not only in his home 
locality but throughout the state. While county auditor he was called 
upon to pas upon many important questions. He was absolutely familiar 
with aU legal questions that came to his attention. He -wes assiduous in 
placing upon the tax duplicates at their true value both corporations 
and individuals who endeavored to hide their assets. In the Nichols 
case alone he compelled the heirs to pay into the county treasury nearly 
$100,000 that woidd not otherwise have been collected. The efficiency 
of his office was also highly complimented after examination by the 
state bureau of accounting. He was a man who had a methodical mind, 
was a master of detail, and kept every account with a scrupulous nicety 
that was only a reflection of the workings of his individual mind. 
Mr. Haserodt had first entered the auditor's office as a clerk under the 
city administration of George H. Lewis, and in that capacity proved a 
degree of trustworthiness which made his appointment at the death of 
Auditor-elect H. J, Barrows both logical and wise. For three successive 
terms he was regularly elected and practically died at his post. 

The late Mr. Haserodt was a republican in politics, belonged to the 
Elyria Chamber of Commerce, was a stockholder and directer in the 
Lorain County Banking Company and had various business interests. 
He never affiliated with Secret societies, but was an active member of 
the Grace Evangelical Church. On October 8, 1901, Mr. Haserodt 
married Miss Anna G. Baldinger. Her father was John Baldinger, a 
former resident of Massillon, Stark County. Mr. Haserodt is survived 
by his widow and two daughters, Catherine and Virginia. 

Oscar Padl Haserodt. Among the children of the late John P. 
Haserodt, whose career has been sketched on other pages of this Lorain 
County History, Oscar Paul has distinguished himself as one of the 
leading business builders at Elyria, and is now sole proprietor of the 
largest jewelry establishment in that city, operating not only a general 
jewelry store but also a plant and business as manufatturing opticians. 
Mr. Haserodt served as president of The Haserodt Brothers Company 
from its incorporation in 1911 until he recently acquired the entire stock 
of the business. This is a business that is readily recognized as a land- 
mark in the Elyria shopping district, having been established as early 
as 1859. 

Bom in the home of his parents at Liverpool, Medina County, Ohio, 
February 15, 1876, Oscar Paul Haserodt came to Elyria with his father 
and mother when about four years of age, and in 1890 graduated from 
the German Lutheran School. His energetic disposition found employ- 
ment first as delivery boy for the dry goods firm of Biggs, Bowen & 
Company, the predecessors of the present house of D. IjcwIs & Company, 
and after six months with that concern his next position really pointed 
out his permanent destiny as a business man. He secured work with 
E. H. Pisher, the jeweler who had established many years before a con- 
cern which is now The Haserodt Brothers Company, otherwise known as 



,Godgle 



718 HISTORY OF LOBAIN COUNTY 

"The Quality Store," and it is conducted bow at the aame site where 
Mr. Fisher had his little shop more than half a century ago. Under 
Mr. Fisher the boy quickly learned the jeweler's trade, and remained 
with that old time jeweler for about eight years. He worked at the bench 
in repairing watches, did engraving, and specialized particularly in the 
optical branch of the business. Thus in time he acquired a thorough 
knowledge of all. branches of the business, and for three years fitted 
glasses before passing the regular examination as an optician in 1897, 
after the death of Mr. E. H. Fisher. He attended the Spencer Optical 
Institute in New York City, and after receiving his diploma as a graduate 
continued working in the institute for a short time. He returned to 
Elyria and assumed the chief responsibilities of the business for Mrs. 
Fisher for about three years, endeavoring to give special attention to 
the optical department, though he also worked as an engraver and 
waited on the trade. Subsequently Mrs. Fisher married Mr. E. E. Critz, 
and Mr. Haserodt went on working for them for eight years, and then 
went into partnership with Mr. Critz. This partnership relation was 
formed in 1907, and the store which had long been known simply as 
Fisher's jewelry store then went under a new title as The Critz-Haserodt 
Company. Four years later Mr. Critz retired, and the Haserodt Brothers 
Company was then organized and incorporated, with Oscar P. Haserodt 
as president and Emanuel H. Haserodt, his brother, as secretary. In 
March, 1915, his brother gave up his relations with the business, leaving 
Oscar as sole proprietor. 

As already stated, this is the largest jewelry store at Elyria. It 
carries a splendid stock of jewelry, and is particularly headquarters for 
optical goods. Besides the supplies usually found in a first class optical 
store, Air. Haserodt has introduced all the apparatus and the equip- 
ment necessary for manufacturing, and grinds all the lenses for liis trade. 
Since its organization in 1909 Sir. Haserodt has also had a business 
interest in the Strong, Kennard & Nutt Company, wholesale opticians 
in the Schofield Building at Cleveland. This company has enjoyed much 
prosperity and has a large trade among optical dealers throughout 
Northern Ohio. 

Mr. Haserodt is a member of the National Retail Jewelers Associa- 
tion, the National Optical Association, is a republican in politics, a mem- 
ber of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and worships in the English 
Lutheran Church at Elyria. 

On October 1, 1901, at Rochester, New York, he married Miss Julia 
Bell, who was bom at Webster, a suburb of Rochester, New York, but 
was educated in the Elyria public schools. She came to Elyria when a 
small girl and was adopted into the family of the late John Hert. Mr, 
and Mrs. Haserodt have two children: Edward John and Josephine 
Estelle, both bom in Elyria. Mr. Haserodt is essentially a buftincss man, 
though thoroughly public spirited in his citizenship, and such time as 
he is able to take from business affairs he devotes to such wholesome 
recreation as automobiling, fishing and other outdoor sports. 

Arthur Pierre L.\gron. Of the professional men of Lorain County 
who have turned their attention to other pursuits, with benefit to them- 
selves and to the advancement of the community welfare, one of the 
best known is Arthur Pierre Lagron, of Lorain. His early training was 
along the line of civil engineering, a vocation in which he spent many 
profitable years and in which he gained a substantial reputation, but in 
recent years he has devoted his abilities to business affairs, and at the 
present time is president of the Lagron Coal and Supply Company, 
one of the leading industries of the city. 

Mr. Lagron was bom at Rhineland, Montgomery County, Eastern 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 719 

Missouri, February 11, 1871, and is a eon of Arthur aod Mary (Breton) 
Lagron. Arthur Lagron, the father of Arthur P. Lagron, is a son of 
Pierre Lagron, who was a native of France and came to America at an 
early date. He descended from the family of that name who settled in 
Missouri on the original Louisiana Purchase. Arthur Lagron came to 
the United States from France about the close of the Civil war and 
settled in Montgomery County at Rhineland, Missouri. He had fol- 
lowed civil engineering in his native land and was a captain of a civil 
engineering corps in France, having graduated from a French polytechnic 
institute. He remained in Missouri until about 1896, when he located 
in Peoria, Illinois, where he has since remained. He followed railroad 
construction work for many years. To him and liia wife were born seven 
children as follows : Margaret, who married a Mr. Bussman and resides 
on the old homestead in Missouri ; Naomi, single ; Gustavus A., of Elyria, 
Ohio; Gabrielle, in Missouri, single; l^rtha, who died single; Edward, 
who lives at Peoria, Illinois; and Arthur P., of this review. 

The early education of Arthur Pierre Lagron was secured in the 
public schools, following which he became a student of civil engineering, 
and at the age of twenty years entered upon the practice of his chosen 
calling. Coming to Lorain County in 1892 he secured employment with 
the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad, and subsequently was 
with the New York, Chicago & St. Louis Railroad. When he left the 
latter company he engaged in private practice and built up a substantial 
business, becoming known as one of the skilled and reliable civil engineers 
of this part of Ohio and engaging in much important work. For a time 
he acted in the capacity of city engineer of Lorain, but resigned from 
that position. Mr. Lagron gave up his practice in 1905, when he 
founded the Lagron Coal and Supply Company, Incorporated, to the 
development of which he has since devoted his activities. From a 
modest beginning it has grown to large proportions and is now accounted 
one of the firmly established commercial adjuncts of Lorain. Mr. Lagron 
is a member of the Masons and the Knights of Pythias and is popular 
in fraternal circles. He is a public-spirited and stirring citizen and 
gives his support to all movements which make for civic betterment and 
advancement. 

In February, 1899, Mr. Lagron was married to Miss Josephine Amelia 
Billings, of Elyria, Ohio, daughter of Henry M. Billings, a merchant 
of that city. They have one daughter, Mary Margaret. 

Claude B. Bivin. The City of Elyria— "The 1007< City"— can 
boast of no more enthusiastic and helpful promoter and supporter of its 
varied industries and inter^ts than Claude B. Bivin, secretary of the 
Elyria Park Amusement Company. Now in a substantial position among 
the business men of his adopted community, Mr. Bivin 's career is typical 
of those of many of Ohio's foremost citizens. He entered upon life's 
stnif^les without advantages, worked his own way and learned as he 
worked, pushed himself forward by sheer enei^y and indomitable grit, 
and all the time kept his eyes upon a higher goal. Still a young man, 
his accomplishments have been many and his life story is an interesting 
and instructive one. 

Mr. Bivin was bom on a farm in Owen County, Indiana, near the 
Village of Spencer, September 18, 1877, and is a son of William B. and 
Verlinda (Diekerson) Bivin, natives of Kentucky, the former born in 
Bourbon County and the latter in Clark County. They were married at 
Mount Sterling, Montgomery County, Kentucky, and after their mar- 
riage left the old home in the Blue Grass State and migrated to Owen 
County, Indiana, where William B. Bivin, who had been born on a 
farm and had been a farmer all his life, purchased a tract of 196 acres. 



y Google 



720 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Bear Spencer. On this he continued operations until 1883, although 
the farm was not sold until 1907. The parents are now living: &t Lexing- 
ton, Kentucky, where William B. Bivin is engaged in the express busi- 
ness, owning his own equipment. The^e were six sons and two daughters 
in the family, three of the children being deceased: Thomas Owen, 
named after Oweo County, Indiana, now a resident of Lexington, Ken- 
tucky; Frank W., also of Lexington; Hattie, who is the wife of J. S. 
Daugherty of that city; Claude B,; James T., who died in 1903, aged 
twenty-eight years, at Lexington ; Walker, who died in infancy ; LuUie, 
who is now Mrs. Moses Baker, of Oakley, a suburb of Ciacinnati, Ohio; 
and John, who died in infancy. All were bom in Owen County, Indiana, 
except the last-named, whose birth occurred in Kentucky, and Claude 
B. and Airs. Baker are the only residents of Ohio. 

The education of Claude B. Bivin came from the public schools of 
Kentucky, and when he was still a small lad he displayed his industry 
and ambition by carrying newspapers on the streets of Lexington, being 
engaged as a newsboy for some fourteen years. He then entered a livery 
business as elerk, remaining two years, and for a year followed the 
vocation of drayman, but was not satisfied with the outlook and devoted 
himself to learning the trade of telephone lineman. In that capacity 
he removed to Toledo, Ohio, and after a short time went to Maumee, 
where he was put in charge of work of this nature and retained that 
position nine months. Thus he also received his introduction to the 
City of Lorain, where for three years he continued work as a lineman 
and for seven mouths worked in the shipyards engaged in wiring boats 
for electric lights, etc. In 1905 he embarked in the grocery business 
at Lorain, at the comer of First and Reed streets, but after one year 
and ten months sold out to become a traveling salesman for the A. R. 
Champney Company, of Elyria, wholesale liquor dealers, continuing on 
the road for that concern for six years. 

In November, 1910, Mr. Bivin was elected sheriff of Lorain County, 
taking office January 2, 1911, and his term was so satisfactory to the 
people that in 1913 he was re-elected, by the largest ma,iority of any 
official in the county. He has always taken a keen interest in democratic 
politics, and is accounted a leader of his party in Tjorain County. On 
Saint Patrick's Day, 1914, Mr, Bivin bought out the business of the 
Walk Over Shoe Company, at No. 138 Cheapside, from Fred C. Wolf. 
This business he purchased merely as a speculation, and while be still 
owns it has no active participation in its management, as he prefers 
employment which keeps him out of doors. However, he has placed it 
under the capable management of Mr. M. B, Faulbaber, an old-time 
citizen and shoe merchant of Elyria, under whose supervision the busi- 
ness is proving an excellent investment. 

On July 1, 1914, Mr. Bivin founded the Elyria Park Amusement 
Company, an enterprise located on the Elyria Fair Grounds, of which 
he has since been secretary, and at the present time is acting manager. 
Here are conducted various kinds of amusements during the summer 
months, including automobile races, carnivals and picnic parties, and 
firat-clasB entertainments of all kinds are offered the public. The 
grounds are finely situated, everything is conducted in an orderly and 
strictly respectable manner, and Mr. Bivin is meeting with the splendid 
success which he deserves. He is also interested as a stock holder and 
director in the Elyria Cedar Post and Lumber Company. He is a work- 
inc member of the Chamber of Commerce, and in local parlance is a live 
wire, a hustler and a good mixer with his fellow men. Fraternally he 
i.s widely and popularly known, being a member of the Knights of 
Pythias; King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, Mar- 
shall Chapter No. 57, Royal Arch Masons and Elyria Council No. 86, 

DiyizBohv'^iUU'-^lL: 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 721 

Royal and Select Masters; Elyria Lodge No. 465, of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; Elyria Lodge No. 431, Fraternal Order o£ 
Eagles; and Elyria Lodge No. 778, Loyal Order of Moose. 

ilr. Bivin was married December 1, 1902, to Miss Edna M, Hinish, 
of Mauuiee, Ohio, who was bora, reared and educated there, a daughter 
of Thomas and EUa M. (Reed) Hinish. Her father, who died in 1900, 
was a well known citizen of Maumee and for more than twenty-five 
years proprietor of the Maumee Paper Mills, and her mother still residea 
at that place. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Bivin: 
Thomas Hinish, bom at Lorain, Ohio, April 9, 1905, and now attending 
the graded schools; and Harry Jerome, bom at the county jail at Elyria, 
while his father was serving as sheriff, October 12, 1912, who is con- 
sidered by his parents "An 100% Boy." 

Thom.is B. Aluson. By hard and successful work as a farmer, by 
good citizenship, by an influence steadily directed toward the better- 
ment of his own family and the community in which be lives, Thomas 
B. Allison has played a worthy part in Lorain County, where he has con- 
ducted a large farm for many years. 

A native of Ohio, he was bom in Ashland County, November 5, 1864, 
a son of Alexander and Elizabeth (Provines) Allison. The Allisons were 
among the early settlers of Ashland County. Alexander Allison was 
born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, in 1806 and died in 1889. 
He went to Ashland County when young, and was twice married, Thomas 
B. Allison being the child of his second wife. There were twelve chil- 
dren altogether, six by each marriage. Besides Thomas B, there are two 
daughters living, one by the first and one by the second union ; Rachel, 
who lives at West Salem, Ohio, is by the tiret union, and Anna, who 
lives with her brother Thomas, is by the second union. 

Alexander Allison was a man of more than ordinary influence and 
prominence. He was active in the Presbyterian Church, and held some 
ofBce in that denomination for many years. Politically he was a repub- 
lican, and filled various township offices. A man of good education and 
of the strictest integrity, he was frequently honored with trusts, par- 
ticularly in administering estates. In Ashland County he had cleared 
up a large tract of land, and made a success of farming. 

Thomas B. Allison spent his boyhood days in Ashland County, at- 
tending the public schools there, and he also had other courses in higher 
schools at Cleveland, His first regular vocation was school teaching, 
and from that he went to a farm. His father was incapacitated for 
regular work at the age of fifty-four, and it was Thomas who took charge 
of affairs and kept the estate together in his declining years. Later he 
bought the old homestead, buying the interests of the other heirs, and 
managed it for several years. He then took a business course and spent 
nine months in Toledo as a bookkeeper and six months at Akron. On 
first coming to Lorain County Mr. Allison was on the road for two years 
selling goods, and then was in the oflUce of the railway at Wellington for 
some months. 

On December 22, 1897, he married Mary Elizabeth White, daughter 
of Samuel White, a farmer and cheese maker, Mrs. Allison was born 
in Lorain County. She was a successful teacher for four yeara. They 
have six children. Forest Alexander, bom February 22, 1900 ; Ruth 
Marion, bora May 17, 1901; Grace Eliza, born November 11, 1903; 
Howard Raymond, bora March 9, 1905 ; Truman Bennett, bom July 4, 
1908; and Dorothy Elizabeth, bora December 18, 1912. Mrs. Allison is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Fraternally Mr. Allison is a Maecabee, and has been very active in 
the Patrons of Husbandry, having served as state deputy • master four 



y Google 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 721 

Royal and Select Masters; Elyria Lodge No. 465, of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; Elyria Lodge No. 431, Fraternal Order of 
Eagles ; and Elyria Lodge No. 778, Loyal Order of Moose. 

Mr. Bivin was married December 1, 1902, to Miss Edna M. Hinish, 
of Mauiiiet-, Ohio, who was bora, reared and educated there, a daughter 
of Thomas and Ella M. (Reed) Hinish, Her father, who died in 1900, 
was a well known citizen of Maumee and for more than twenty-five 
years proprietor of the Maumee Paper Mills, and her mother still resides 
at that place. Two children have been bom to Mr. and Mrs. Bivin: 
Thomas Hinish, born at Lorain, Ohio, April 9, 1905, and now attending 
the graded schools; and Harry Jerome, bom at the county jail at Elyria, 
while his father was serving as sheriff, October 12, 1912, who is con- 
sidered by his parents "An 100% Boy." 

Thom.\8 B. Allison. By hard and successful work as a farmer, by 
good citizenship, by an influence steadily directed toward the better- 
ment of his own family and the community in which he lives, Thomaa 
B. Allison has played a worthy part in Lorain County, where he has con- 
ducted a large farm for many years. 

A native of Ohio, he was bom in Ashland County, November 5, 1864, 
a son of Alexander and Elizabeth (Provines) Allison. The Allisons were 
among the early settlers of Ashland County. Alexander Allison waa 
born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, in 1806 and died in 1889. 
He went to Ashland County when young, and was twice married, Thomas 
B, Allison being the child of his second wife. There were twelve chil- 
dren altogether, six by each marriage. Besides Thomas B. there are two 
daughters living, one by the first and one by the second union; Rachel, 
who lives at West Salem, Ohio, is by the first union, and Anna, who 
lives with her brother Thomas, is by the second union, 

Alexander Allison was a man of more than ordinary influence and 
prominence. He was active in the Presbyterian Church, and held some 
office in that denomination for many years. Politically he was a repub- 
lican, and filled various township offices. A man of good education and 
of the strictest integrity, he was frequently honored with trusts, par- 
ticularly in administering estates. In Ashland County be had cleared 
up a large tract of land, and made a success of farming. 

Thomas B. Allison spent his boyhood days in Ashland County, at- 
tending the public schools there, and he also had other courses in higher 
schools at Cleveland. His first regular vocation was school teaching, 
and from that he went to a farm. His father was incapacitated for 
regular work at the age of fifty-four, and it was Thomas who took charge 
of affairs and kept the estate together in his declining years. Later he 
bought the old homestead, buying the interests of the other heirs, and 
managed it for several years. He then took a business course and spent 
nine months in Toledo as a bookkeeper and six months at Akron. On 
first coming to Lorain County Mr. Allison was on the road for two years 
selling goods, and then was in the office of th€ railway at Wellington for 
some months. 

On December 22, 189?, he married Mary Elizabeth White, daughter 
of Samuel White, a farmer and cheese maker. Mrs, Allison was bom 
in Lorain County. She was a successful teacher for four years. They 
have six children. Forest Alexander, born February 22, 1900; Ruth 
Marion, born Jlay 17, 1901 ; Grace Eliza, bom November 11, 1903 ; 
Howard Raymond, bom March 9, 1905 ; Truman Bennett, bom July 4, 
1908 ; and Dorothy Elizabeth, bom December 18, 1912. Mrs. Allison is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Fraternally Mr. Allison is a Maccabee, and has been very active in 
the Patrons of Husbandry, having served as state deputy master four 



y Google 



722 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

years, and was secretary for eight years. Politically he is a republicaii. 
For eleven years he filled the oflBce of township trustee and every public 
duty has been thoroughly discharged by him. 

It was in 1900 that they bought their present farm of 257 acres, now 
known as "Riverby," and in the past fifteen years have been constantly 
working for its improvement and development. Among other things he 
has tiled a large part of the land, and has erected several substantial 
buildings. His enterprise is largely general farming and he also keeps 
a herd of nine thoroughbred Holstein cattle and graded Holstein stock. 

William Raymond Comings. Not every well-meaning man, although 
leading in a community's citizenship perhaps, is able to realize the 
present need of a wider and deeper service that the public schools should 
give. Radical changing conditions in economic and social life, call for 
new and better methods and it is encouraging to learn of the remark- 
able and gratifying results that have been obtained in some sections 
by the arousing of intelligent public opinion by progressive educa- 
tionalists. To illustrate, the public schools of Elyria, Ohio, with their 
enrollment of 2,934 pupils, very largely through the earnest, faithful, 
wise and farseeing efforts of Supt. "William Raymond Comings, have 
been given unusual advantages. There are an adequate number of 
buildings with complete equipment for the most approved modern 
methods of instruction and for health and comfort, fire-proof and amply 
safe guarded. There are play grounds and play rooms : there is a corps 
of teachers with professional training; there is a high school that fits 
students for college, and there is vocational work in both high and grade 
schools. The bringing about of such changes within tlie short space of 
fourteen years, makes an interesting chapter in the educational history 
of Lorain County and centers attention upon the educator mainly 
responsible. 

William Raymond Comings was bom February 16, 1851. at Kast 
Berkshire, Franklin County, Vermont, and is a son of Andrew and 
Amanda Comings. His father was a farmer in Franklin County, all 
his immediate ancestors being tillers of the soil. On the paternal side 
the family is of English extraction and may be traced as far back as 
the reign of Henry VIII. Like many other ancient families the 
orthography of the name has changed, but the Comines, the Comyns, 
the Ciimmings and the Comings all came from the same sturdy stock. 

Of studious bent and inquiring mind, young Comings soon absorbed 
the instruction offered in the country schools in his boyhood, and, as 
agricultural effort did not appeal to him, he prepared for higher educa- 
tional opportunity and entered Oberlin College, from which institution 
he subsequently received the honorary degree of A. M. He further 
pursued his studies in other institutions, studying at the normal school 
at Kirksville, Missouri, and at Chicago, and while a resident of Chicago 
he served as mercantile collector for one year. 

After completing his proposed courses of study, Mr. Comings ac- 
cepted the position of superintendent of schools at Medina, Oliio, where 
he remained for eight years, going then in the same capacity to Xorwalk, 
Ohio, for nine years, and from there to Ironton, where he remained two 
years, in each city leaving a marked impress on the public school system. 
Mr. Comings then displayed his versatility by successfully engaeing in 
newspaper work at Springfield, Missouri, for five years, and for two 
years at Lorain, Ohio. On retiring from the .loumalistie field he accepted 
the superintendency of the Elyria public schools and to their upbuild- 
ing and welfare he has devoted fifteen years of fruitful endeavor. 

During this period the school enrollment at Elyria has increased from 
1,400 to nearly 3,000. To care for the increase during this time there 
have been erected twelve entire or parts of school buildings, including 

Diyi/Bohv'^iUU'-^lC 



vGoogle 




vGoogle 



HISTORT OF LORAIN COUNTY 723 

the uew manual training building on Sixth Street. Under Mr. Comings' 
supervision many new departmenta have been installed, these including 
the kindergarten, physical training in all grades, with physical examina- 
tion of all pupils, manual training and domestic science and arts in 
the sixth, seventh and eighth grades and high school, special schools for 
ungraded children and a vocational school for boys who are not eligible 
for regular high school work. All these departments are in fine run- 
ning order and that this progressiveness appeals to many young people 
outside the city is attested by the fact that each year many paying 
pupils enter the Elyria High School from the different townships in the 
county eager to enjoy the advantages here afiForded. 

In accepting a re-election in 1915, Mr. Comings issued a letter in 
which he said, in part, as follows: "If I see aright there are still larger 
and perhaps more vital problems coming in the next t*n years than 
those of the past ten, and they will call for the efforts of expert and far- 
seeiag supervision. The old-time educational shell has lieen broken, but 
what the new life is to be will depend upon the wisdom and sagacity 
of a new generation of men who are rapidly coming to the front, men 
trained in the great schools of investigation that have been fathered by 
some of the large universities with their corps of pedagogical experts. 
It is time for old men and for men who hark back to the old conditions 
to retire." 

At Medina, Ohio, August 1, 1878, Mr. Comings was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Loretta Kennedy, who is a daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Kennedy, and a descendant in direct line, from Alexander 
Hamilton. Mr. and Mrs. Comings have two daughters : Josephine, who 
is the wife of J. A. Egbert, of Indianapolis, Indiana; and Marian E., 
who resides with her parents. The faifiily attend the Congregational 
Church. 

Ever concerned in the public welfare, Mr. Comings has long been 
an aroused student of political history and is afHliated with the re- 
publican party. Seldom has he found time to serve in public office but 
for a quarter of a century he performed the duties of county school 
examiner in Medina, Huron and Lorain counties. Widely known in 
educational circles, Mr. Comings is a member of various educational 
bodies and is chairman of the executive committee of the Ohio State 
Teachers' Association. Genial by nature, sympathetic and tactful, he 
is welcomed in every social circle and values his membership in several 
such bodies at Elyria and in other cities. He is a member of the board 
of trustees of the Young Men's and the Young Women's Christian 
associations and of the board of managers of the Memorial Hospital, 
aU at Elyria. 

Measured by high standards, Mr. Comings as superintendent of the 
schools has been a pronounced success and whether he remains at Elyria 
beyond his present term or not, the avenues of usefulness he has opened 
and the illumination he has thrown through his rare personality and his 
progressive methods, along many paths, will show the great and lasting 
service he has performed for this city. All that he has done has been 
so useful and so admirable that approval cannot be witheld by those 
who have either education, industrial efficiency or child welfare at heart, 

Hon. WiLUAM B. Thompson. The recent appointment of William B. 
Thompson as judge of the new Court of Common Pleas in Lorain County 
has brought a new distinction to the career of one of the oldest and 
most prominent lawyers and business men in this section of Ohio. Judge 
Thompson has been identified with the profession of law for more than 
twenty-six years, though he is perhaps best known through his extensive 
relations with public and business affairs. 



y Google 



724 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

111 the fall of 1914 Judge Thompson was republican candidate for the 
office of judge of the Court of GommoQ Pleas, his rival for that office 
being H. Q. Redington. The election being contested, the Circuit Court 
ordered a recount, which showed the vote to have been a tie. The case 
then went to the Supreme Court, which in the spring of 1915 afiSrmed 
the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeal, and declared that Mr, 
Redington, who had already been seated on the bench by appointment 
from Governor Cox would continue in office until the next election. A 
new turn was given to the matter. when the Lorain County Bar Asso- 
ciation petitioned the Legislature to create another judg^ip on the 
ground that there was too much work for one judge. The Legislature 
then passed the necessary legislation, and on May 20, 1915, Governor 
Willis selected Mr. Thompson for the newly created position. 

The family to which Judge Thompson belongs is one of the oldest in 
Lorain County. He is himself a native of Columbia Township of this 
county, where he was bom September 6, 1863, a son of Samuel B, and 
Kmular L. (Osborn) Thompson. His paternal grandfather, Jobn V. 
Thompson, was a Connecticut man and one of the earlietrt to settle in 
Columbia Township. The maternal grandfather, WiUiam B. (^bom, 
was bom in Columbia Township, where his father, A. P. Osborn, had 
located as early as 1810, having also come from Connecticut. Samuel 
B. Thompson, who is still living in Columbia Township nearly eighty 
years of age, was born there in 1836, and spent all his active life as a 
farmer. His wife, who was born in the same township in 1837, died in 
July, 1899. Judge Thompson's only brother, John B. Thompson, is a 
stock farmer and dealer in Columbia Township. 

When Judge Thompson was eleven years of age his parents left the old 
farm in order to give their soA the better educational advantages found 
at Berea. William B. Thompson completed the high school course there, 
and in 1885 was graduated bachelor of philosophy from Baldwin Uni- 
versity. Following his college career came a year as a farmer and school 
teacher, hut in 1886 he entered the law office of Judge G. M. Barber, at 
Cleveland, and a year later went into the office of Judge A, R. Webber, ' 
of Elyria. When Judge Thompson qualified as the judge of the new 
Court of Common Pleas he took the oath of office before Judge Webber, 
who is also a notary public. 

Admitted to the bar in 1888, Judge Thompson has had a long and suc- 
cessful career as a lawyer. For many years his home has been in the 
City of Lorain, and he is the first citizen of that city to reach the dignity 
of judicial office. He still retains his residence there, and goes back 
and forth to attend court in Elyria. 

Few practical business men in Lorain County have had larger and 
more influential relations with financial and industrial affairs than this 
well known attorney. He was one of the three organizers of the old 
Penfield Avenue Savings Bank of Lorain, was its president for twenty 
years after organization, and when the bank was reorganized under 
the new name the Central Bank Company he continued as president, an 
office which he still holds. Judge Thompson is also president of the 
Home Building Company of Lorain, and was president of the Bar- 
rows Milling Company until it was succeeded by the HoufE-McNeil 
Company, in which he is vice president and a director. He is a director 
of the Cleveland. Columbus & Southwestern Railway Company, a director 
of the Black River Telf^hone Company and is vice president of the 
Amherst Furniture Company of Amherst. He is also president of the 
Tri-County Realty Company. On taking his seat as judge he gave up. as 
the law requires, a long standing relation with the Lake Erie and Pitts- 
burg Railway Company. He organized this company, was its vice presi- 
dent and director while it was being constructed, managed its legal 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 725 

affairs, and the, main office of the road was in Mr. ThompsoD's office at 
Lorain. In bis work as a lawyer Judge Thompson has had few partner- 
ship relations. In 1899 George L. Glitsch heeame a member of the firm 
of Thompson & Glitsch, and later A. W. Cinniger joined them under the 
title of Thompson, Qlitach & Cinniger. 

For a number of years Judge Thompson was a trustee of Baldwin 
University, his alma mater, until the recent consolidation of that insti- 
tution. He organized and incorporated the Lorain Chamber of Com- 
merce at Lorain, and was its first president. In July, 1913, Judge 
Thompson completed twenty-six years of service as attorney for the 
Citizens Home and Savings Association Company of Lorain. The most 
important political office he held prior to his appointment as judge was 
as mayor of Lorain, to which he was elected in April, 1890, and again 
in 1892. Judge Thompson is an active Mason; is affiliated with Lorain 
Lodge No. 552, Free and Accepted Masons; Mystic Chapter No, 170, 
Royal Arch Masons; the Council and also the Lorain Commandery of 
the Knights Templar, He belongs to Black River Lodge No. 682, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, to Lake Shore Encampment No. 242. 
He and his wife are members of the First Methodist Church at Lorain. 

On December 17, 1890, Judge Thompson married Lulu Sanford, 
daughter of the late Rev. .James L. Sanford, of Delaware, Ohio, who spent 
his last days in Lorain. There are two children : Helen Marie, the 
older, is a graduate of. Gunston Hall at Washington, D. C, and also spent 
a year in the Boston Conservatory of Music at Boston. The son, Robert 
William, is now attending high school at Lorain. Judge Thompson is a 
member of the Elyria Country Club, 

Maj.-Gbn. Quincy a. GiLLHORE. The nation owes a lasting debt of 
gratitude to the services of a notable group of men from the Western 
Reserve of Ohio who as soldiers or statesmen gained individual renown 
and made themselves invaluable to the Union during the dark period of 
the Civil war. Every school boy could recall some of these names, 
notably James A. Garfield and William MeKinley, but in his spiecial 
field as a military strategist one of the ablest was Quincy A, Gillmore, 
who was bom in the Black River community, now the City of Lorain, 
February 25, 1825, and during the war earned an international reputa- 
tion as an organizer of siege operations and a revolutionizer of naval 
gunnery. 

A member of the well known Gillmore family of Lorain County and 
a son of Quartus Gillmore and wife, mentioned elsewhere, Quincy Adams 
GiUmore as a boy attended the Norwalk Academy and the Elyria High 
School. He began to study medicine and wrote for publication. There 
was a vacancy at West Point and the boys appointed failed to pass. 
Finally, in attempting to find a suitable person, Gillmore was recom- 
mended because of his integrity and scholarship. He was not in the 
neighborhood at the time and so missed seeing the gentleman who was 
looking for him. Hearing of it later, he mounted his horse and rode to 
an adjoining town, where he overtook him just in time to secure the 
appointment, which was going to another. He acquitted himself with 
credit as a cadet, graduating in 1849 at the head of his class and en- 
tered the service. 

General Gillmore 's fame as an artillery officer was established during 
the siege and capture of Fort Pulaski, Georgia, in 1862. At this siege 
and bombardment he planted his batteries at distances which previous 
to this time were thought to be suicidal, but in less than two days he 
reduced the fortress which had been pronounced by eminent engineers 
as impregnable. 

It has been well said that General Gillmore 's cannonade and capture 



,Google 



726 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

of Fort Pulaski revolutionized the naval gunnery of tlif world and 
extended his fame throughout Europe as well as America. For this 
service he received the brevet of lieulenaut-colonel and was made briga- 
dier-general of volunteers April 28, 1862. His nest notable success was 
with the uot«d '"Swamp Angei," a gun used in the siege of Charleston. 
The gun was apparently planted in the edge of the sea, but really in 
the shallow marsh between Morris and James Island. There a firiu 
foundation was laid, a low breastworks put up in a circle around the 
guns, and 100-pound shells were "dropped" into Charleston. But it 
was only fired thirty-six times, exploding at the last discharge. Other 
guns soon after did as effective work, but the "Swamp Angel" is re- 
membered because it first proved the practicability of the method. 

Later, with the Tenth Corps, he took part in the final operations of 
the Army of the James River. He was breveted four times for meri- 
torious conduct, the last time as raajor-general United States Army 
"for gallant and meritorious conduct in capturing Forts Wagner and 
Gregg and for the demolishing of Fort Sumter." He resigned his 
volunteer commission as major-general in December, 1865. 

After the war General Gillmore was engaged upon important en- 
gineering work, and his name is most intimately associated with the 
improvements of the harbor at Charleston and Savannah and with other 
like works along the Atlantic Coast, and, as president of the Mississippi 
River Commission, with the great works which have been projected for 
the rectification of that important waterway. His treatise on roadmak- 
ing and paving is regarded as the highest authority. . Not long after 
the war General Gillmore bought back the old farm on Black River, con- 
verted it into a vineyard and occasionally visited it. He died at 
Brooklyn, New York, April 11, 1888. 

Edmund Gillmore. Few families antedated the Qillmores in settle- 
ment in Lorain County, and in the agricultural, commercial and ship 
building communities around the mouth of Black River at what is now 
the City of Lorain none were more prominent in the early days. For 
more than a century the name has been one of the most effective in the 
entire county. ■ 

Before taking up briefly the life of the late Edmund Gillmore it wiU 
be appropriate to say something of his parents and grandparents. The 
Gillmores were of English and Scotch ancestry. Edmund and Eliza- 
beth (Stuart) Gillmore, paternal grandparents of the late Edmund Gill- 
more, were bom in Massachusetts, and from that state came out to what 
was then known as the Connecticut Western Reserve in 1811, settling 
in what is now Lorain County, where Mr. Gillmore secured wild land, 
became a farmer, cleared and improved a lai^ acreage and in its 
cultivation passed the rest of his days. There is record for the years 
1843-44 of his owning land both in Amherst and the Black River Town- 
ship. Edmund and Elizabeth Gillmore were the parents of ten children, 
nine sons and one daughter, briefly referred to as follows: Quartus, 
bom July 1, 1790; Aretus, who was bom in Massachusetts, Septeml)er 
7, 1792, and died in Ixirain County ; Orrin, who was born in Massa- 
chusetts, September 27, 1794, and died in Cuyahoga County. Ohio; 
Simon, born in Massachusetts, August 19, 1796, and died at Detroit, 
Michigan in 1833, having been a ship carpenter by trade ; Truman, bom 
October 25, 1798, and died in Lorain County in 1881 : Linas, born 
January 12, 1801, and died in Lorain County in 1881 ; Roxana. Iram 
February 9, 1803, was married in Lorain County to Robert Wright, 
and died in the State of Oregon; Alanson, bom April 12, 1805, and 
died in Lorain ; Edmund, born March 19, 1808. and died in Minnesota ; 
and James Madison, bom July 1, 1811, and died at Lorain. 



b.»^iOOglc 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 727 

Quartus Gillmore, the eldest of the children above meDtioned, was 
born in Massachusetts in 1790, bein^ a native of Chester, Hampdea 
County. When twenty years of age he came to Western Reserve ia 
1810, but lived here only temporarily and was soon back East. He 
again eame to the West in 1812 and at that time located on land about 
a mile west of Black River, now the City of Lorain. He made the long 
journey from Massachusetts with wagons and teams. He married Eliza- 
beth Reid, who died in 1876, having sur\'ived her husband seven years, 
his death taking place in April, 1869. Quartus Gillmore was an active 
whig in politics, and became a republican when that party was organ- 
ized. For many years he served as a magistrate and about 1837 was 
appointed the first trustee of Black River Township in Lorain County, 
For several years after settling in Lorain County he followed farming, 
and in the early '30s joined with others in platting a tract of ground 
around the mouth of Black River and incorporating the Village of 
Charleston, now the City of Lorain, where he spent the rest of his days. 
Quartus Gillmore and wife had four sons: Gen. Quincy A., one of 
Lorain County's eminent soldiers in the Civil war, whose career is 
sketched elsewhere ; Edmund, Cornelius R, and Quartus, Jr., and four 
daughters, Elizabeth, Sophia, Alice and Roxana. 

The late Edmund Gillmore was born in Black River Township of 
Lorain County, February 10, 1833, and died at the City of Lorain on 
Thanksgiving Day in 1902. He was educated in the public schools of 
his native township, and at the age of fifteen became an employe on 
one of the lake boats, making trips to Oswego, Chicago and all the lake 
ports. He was a sailor for ten years, and was also employed in the ship 
yards around Lake Erie, working as a ship caulker. While thus en- 
gaged on one occasion he received a severe injury which made him an 
invalid the rest of his life, and for forty-two years he never walked a 
step. However, he was able to attend to business and filled various local 
offices, such as justice of the peace, treasurer of the school board, 
assessor, township clerk for fifteen years, and for more than twenty 
years as notary public. He was first elected justice of the peace in 
1863, and served in that capacity thirty-nine years. For ten months he 
was with his brother. General Gillmore, in New York City acting as 
shipping agent and assistant draughtsman. He was an active republican 
and a man of the highest character. 

In 1857 Edmund Gillmore married Miss Adelaide E. Gillmore, a 
daughter of Alanson and Evelyn (Jones) Gillmore. Her father came 
out of Massachusetts about the same time as the other members of that 
family, and was identified with the early shipbuilding interests at the 
mouth of Black River. He was later a farmer, and in 1880 removed to 
Lorain, where he died when about ninety years of age. Mrs. Edmund 
Gillmore was bom November 22, 1833, on Washington Street in Lorain. 
She spent practically the entire eighty-two years of her life in one com- 
munity, and saw a village of 300 inhabitants grow and develop to a 
city of more than 30,000 people. She was the devoted companion of her 
husband for nearly half a century, and many tributes were paid to her 
as a pioneer woman of Lorain County at the time of her death in July, 
1915. She was one of the early members of and for many years an 
active worker in the First Congregational Church at the comer of Wash- 
ington Avenue and Fourth Street. She was also one of the members of 
the Old Friends Circle, which was organized in 1888, and until her death 
she never failed to attend each annual meeting of that organization. 
For forty-four years Mrs, Gillmore occupied the old homestead on 
Washington Avenue opposite the City Park. Mrs. Gillmore 's only sur- 
viving sister is Mrs. Fannie Wilford of Lorain. The only son and child 



,Google 



728 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

of the late Edmund and Adelaide Qillmore is Quincy A., now a promi- 
nent attorney at Elyria, and mentioned in following paragraphs. 

Quincy A. Gillmoke. Named in honor of Ms distinguished uncle, 
the late Maj.-Gen. Quiney A. Gillmore, one of the greatest soldiers and 
engineers produced by Lorain Oouuty, and whose career is briefly 
sketched on other pages, the subject of this brief article has for more 
than thirty years enjoyed high standing and fsteem as a lawyer and 
citizen at Elyria. 

A son of the late Edmund Gillmore, whose career has been pre- 
sented in these pages, Qnincy A, Gillmore was born in the City of 
Lorain, then called Black River, May 12, 1859. His youth was one 
of inspiring associations and excellent advantages. He attended the 
common schools up to 1872, following which he was for four years in the 
Elyria High School, was a student for one year in Oberlin College and 
one year in Western Reserve College and in 1881 graduated A. B. from 
lie Ohio Wesieyan University at Delaware. He had already determined 
upon the law as his profession and after two years in the Cincinnati 
I^w School was graduated LL, B. in 1883. Admitted to the Ohio bar, 
he began practice at Elyria in the fall of 1884 and is now one of the 
senior membere of the local bar. He has found within the strict limits 
of his profession a pleasant employment for all his time and enei^es, 
has for years enjoyed a large and profitable practice, and so far as his 
regular business is concerned is flrst and last a lawyer. His many 
friends also speak of him as a whole souled gentleman, a charming com- 
panion and though his qualities are rather positive than negative he has 
acquired firm and lasting friendships, and has made his influence count 
for much in beiialf of the movements for local welfare undertaken during 
the last thirty years in Elyria. His law offices are in the Elyria Block. 

Only once was Mr. Gillmore drawn into the political arena. In 1894 
he was candidate for prosecuting attorney of Lorain County and lost 
the election by just one vote. Both before that and since he has been 
active as a republican, a worker for party success, and in these modem 
times acknowledging his position as a stand patter. Mr. Gillmore is a 
member of the Lorain County Bar Association, of the Elyria Country 
Club, of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and has afliliations with the 
various branches of Masonry and with the Knights of Pythias, He is a 
member of King Solomon Lodge No, 56, Free and Accepted Masons; of 
Marshall Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons; of the Scottish Rite Con- 
sistory at Cleveland and the Al Koran Temple of the Mystic Shrine at 
Cleveland. 

On November 27, 1884, at Delaware, Ohio, Mr, Gillmore married 
Miss Frankie G. Brown, who was bom in Delaware, a daughter of Jacob 
A. and Nancy A. (Graham) Brown, both now deceased. They have 
one son, Scott E., who was bom in Elyria August 23, 1890. This son 
was graduated from the University School at Cleveland in 1910, spent 
one year in the Case School of Applied Science at Cleveland, and then 
entered Yale University, where he pursued a course of mechanical 
engineering and was graduated Bachelor of Philosophy in June, 1914. 
He is now employed by the Wamer-Swasey Company of Cleveland. 

Charles P. Ahams, lawyer and present prosecuting attorney of 
Lorain County, has bad his home in the City of Lorain for the past 
eighteen years. No attorney in Lorain County stands higher in the 
estimation of his fellow lawyers than Charles F. Adams, and it is note- 
worthy that while he has conducted his office with utmost fearlessness 
and with fidelity to duty, his popularity has suffered nothing in conw- 
quenee of his official acts. 



y Google 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 729 

He represents a very old family in Northern Ohio, He was bom at 
Olmsted J?'alls in Cuyahoga County, September 9, 1872, a son of L. B. 
and Hulda B. (Carpenter) Adams. His grandfather, Ransom Adams, 
was a native of Connecticut, where the family had lived for a number of 
generations. Ransom Adams when a young man left his home in Water- 
bury, Connecticut, and going west settled at Olmsted Falls in Cuyahoga 
County, Ohio. He was a useful factor in that early community, and 
followed his trade of wood turner until advanced years came upon him. 
He was also a licensed preacher, and in the early days he filled many 
pulpits as a supply Methodist agister. Ransom Adams married Phoebe 
UnderhiU, descended from an old New England family. These two people 
met some years after Ransom had come to Ohio. They had four children : 
Lorenzo, Cynthia, Wilbur and James. The two youngest sons were 
drowned while boys in Rocky River. The daughter married Asel Osbom, 

Lorenzo B. Adams, father of the Lorain lawyer, was born in Olmsted 
Falls, Ohio, in 1833. During his youth he learned the trade of tinsmith, 
and he followed that until hia death, when still in the prime of life, at the 
age of fifty-three. Along with his work as a tinsmith he conducted a 
small hardware store at Olmsted Falls and the management of this store 
devolved upon his widow after his death. ■ Mr. Adams enlisted in 1861 
in Company B, First Ohio Light Artillery. Upon the expiration of his 
first enlistment he enlisted in the Eighty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry, serving until the close of the war. He was a very public spirited 
man and did much to help any worthy cause. He served eleven years as 
mayor of Olmsted Falls. Mrs. Adams showed much capacity in con- 
ducting the business for about fourteen years, being assisted in the mean- 
time by her son, Lorenzo B., Jr., and also during vacation terms by her 
son, Charles. Mrs. L. B. Adams before her marriage was Hulda B. 
Carpenter, a daughter of Caleb and Susan (Haynes) Carpenter. Lorenzo 
B. Adams, Jr., who is now engaged in the real estate and brokerage 
business on Long Island, New York, married Eva Haight. After the 
death of her first husband Mrs, Hulda Adams married, in 1900, George 
Avery, who is now deceased. In religious belief the Adams family has 
always adhered to the doctrines of the Congregational Church. 

There was just enough of hardship and privation in the early life 
of Charles F. Adams to keep his energy and ambition at a high tension. 
As a boy he attended the public schools of Olmsted Falls, and he also 
continued his literary education at Baldwin University at Berea and 
in the Ohio Northern University at Ada. He was still a boy when he 
set his ambition for the law, and he had done much reading along that 
line before he entered law school. 

In 1892 Mr. Adams entered the law department of the University 
of Michigan, where he was graduated LL. B. in 1894. His first field of 
practice was at Niles, Ohio, where he remained a year and a half. It is 
interesting to recall the fact that his first office was in the building 
where the late President William MeKinley was born. From Niles he 
removed to Cleveland, where he continued practice in the office of George 
Foster, and had some experience that proved very valuable to him during 
the two years he spent at Cleveland in association with Mr. Foster. 

In 1898 Mr, Adams established hia ofBce and residence at Lorain, 
and since that time his reputation as an able lawyer and high minded 
citizen has spread over all the townships of Lorain County. He has 
handled a number of very important, eases tried in the district courts. 
During 1905-06 he served as city solicitor of Lorain. In November, 
1912, Mr, Adams was elected to the office of prosecuting attorney of 
Lorain County, beginning his oflHeial duties January 1, 1913. He was 
re-elected in 1914, and is a candidate for re-election in 1916. During 
his administration he has shown great executive ability and it is well 



,Goog[e 



730 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

imderatood that never before in the history of the county has the office 
of prosecutiiig attorney exhibited a cleaner record than that made by 
Mr. Adams. 

He takes much interest in fraternal affairs, and is afQliated with the 
Patriotic Order Sons of America at Lorain, the Woodland Lodge, Knights 
of Pythias at Lorain, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks at 
Lorain, and other fraternal bodies. 

In 1895 Mr. Adams married Miss Florence Terrell, who was bom at 
North Ridgeville, Ohio, a daughter of Clayton and Cyrene Terrell, both 
members of old Lorain County families. Airs. Adams' great-grand- 
mother was a sister of General Halleek of the Revolutionary army. Mr. 
and Mrs. Adams have two children. Thelma is now a student in the 
New England Conservatory of Music at Boston. The son, L. Burton, 
is still in the public schools at Lorain. 

S. Jesse George, during the past five years, has been associated with 
very many of the largest and most important real estate transactions at 
Elyria. That he has attained unusual prominence and demonstrated 
marked ability in this direction is seemingly a refutation of the adage 
that "the shoemaker should stick to his last," for his inclinations as 
a youth led him to a widely different channel of usefulness, and his 
career as an engineering accountant of railroads, covering a period of 
fifteen years, was no less successful than has been his management of 
his present business. 

Mr. George was bom at Bairdstown, Pennsylvania, April 21, 1864, 
and is a son of Mathew and Rachel (Lowry) George. His father, a 
native of Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, was in his earlier years 
a merchant and kept the Canal Supply Store, a general store during the 
prosperous years of the canal, but later turned his attention to land 
surveying and passed his entire life in Westmoreland County, where he 
died, at the age of sixty-three years. He was ooe of his community's 
prominent and influential men, and was an elder in the Presbyterian 
Church, Mrs. George, who was bom in Indiana County, Pennsylvania, 
died at Mount Pleasant, Westmoreland County, at the age of ninety- 
seven years. There were five sons and one daughter in the family, all 
of whom grew to maturity, and alt of whom are now living except the 
daughter: William, of Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, Daniel 
Lowry, a resident of Mount Pleasant, Pennsj'lvania ; Lewis, of Blairs- 
ville, that state; Nettie, who died at Irwin, Pennsylvania, as the wife 
of Tobias Crock ; Robert M., of Blairsville ; and S, Jesse. 

S, Jesse George received his education at Blairsville Academy and 
preparatory schools, and at Curry Institute, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 
After leaving school he followed civil engineering for two years, and 
then, bis earlier instincts influencing him, he entered upon a career as 
an engineering accountant of railroads that covered fifteen years. He 
was with the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern, the Chicago & North- 
western and the Baltimore & Ohio railroads at different times and 
various places, being located at Norwalk, Painsville and Cleveland while 
with the first named road ; material agent for the Chicago & North- 
western in the construction work of double-tracking the road through 
Iowa, and stationed at Ames, Iowa, during that time; and while with the 
Baltimore & Ohio was chief clerk of engineering of the Cleveland Divi- 
sion, with headquarters at Cleveland. After that for several years he 
was variously employed, and in 1903 came to Elyria, where he l>eeame 
construction clerk in the employ of the National Tube Company. A fter 
participating in the erection of the numerous mills that were built at 
Lorain at that time, Mr, George became secretary to the chief engineer 
of the National Tube Company, and held that position until 1910. 



h.»^iuogle 



vGoogle 



""""'j^^ 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 731 

Having in his long and extensive railroading experience witnessed the 
possibilities of the great Middle West in the way of real estate transac- 
tions, he resigned his position at that time and embarked in the realty 
and insurance business at Elyria. Since that time his services have been 
in very general demand. His attention is devoted to the buying and 
selling of real estate, the renting, tare and management of property, the 
paying of taxes for non-residents, acting as notary public, and dealing 
in life, tire, accident, tornado, plate glass and automobile insurance 
and surety bonds. His offices are maintained at Nos. 206-8 Masonic 
Temple. His great capability and thorough knowledge of values, coupled 
with many years of business association with men of atl'airs, render him 
a valued medium for the successful carrying through of deals of im- 
portance, and his business slogan, "Let George do it," is widely known 
not only at Elyria, but all over the surrounding county. Mr. George 
is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce. 

On June 4, 1890, Mr. George was married to Miss Mabel C. Beard, 
of Carnegie, Pennsylvania, and to this union there have been bom two 
daughters: Alice and Alma both graduates of the Elyria High School. 
Mr. George is a leading republican. Fraternally, he is a member of King 
Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, past commander of 
Elyria Commandery, past high priest of Marshall Chapter, and secre- 
tary of Marshall Chapter and present recorder of Elyria Council and 
Elyria Commandery. Mr. George's manner and bearing are those of 
the brainy, successful man of business, and he thus possesses peculiar 
advantages for his chosen vocation. His friends are as immerous as his 
acquaintances, and his career in the real estate business at Elyria is 
undoubtedly destined to be a brilliant and successful one. 

Charles H. Savaob. It seldom happens that an earnest purpose, a 
mature experience and full mastery of details, and industry and close 
application, do not overcome all the traditions which are supposed tQ 
militate against success. An apt case in point is that of the well known 
Elyria jeweler and silversmith, Charles H. Savage, whose establishment 
at 401 Broad Street is the best known shop in the trading district. Mr. 
Savage is not superstitious, and has effectively refuted some popular 
notions by starting his independent business career on PViday the 13th 
of November. 1901, That was the beginning of his career as a jeweler 
independently, and the continued success and growth of his enterprise 
is at least one strong evidence that prosperity is not subject to lucky 
auspices of beginning. 

Throughout practically all his life Charles H. Savage has lived in 
Elyria, where he was bom February 8, 1867, a son of John and Harriet 
(Hobill) Savage. His father was bom in England, came to the United 
States with his parents when a boy, grew up on the old home farm in 
Avon Township of Lorain County, and subsequently moved to Elyria, 
where for many years he conducted a meat market on Cheapside where 
the Wilder Cigar Store is now located. He died in Elyria, March 18, 
1895. Politically he was a republican, but after one experience as a city 
councilman in Elyria for a term had a sufficiency of practical politics, 
and cared for no other active participation in that line. He was one 
of the honored business men and left bis family the heritage of a good 
name. His wife, who was bom in Massachusetts, came with her parents 
when a girl to Elyria, and she died in that city in 1908. Their two 
sons and one daughter are still living, Charles II. being the oldest, 
George W. being a conductor of the Green line of electric transporta- 
tion, while the daughter, Annie E., is now Mrs. B. A. Francis, the wife 
of a grocer in Elyria. All the children were bom and educated in 
Elyria. 



y Google 



732 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

The early educati<«i of Charles H. Savage was gained in the public 
schools of his native city and he also attended high school and a busi- 
ness college. Up to the age of eighteen he had aome experience in work- 
ing with his father in the meat market, but then started to leara the 
technical side of the business in which he is now engaged. He became 
an apprentice in the establishment of J<riin Murbach, the veteran jeweler 
and sUveramith who is still in business at Elyria and remained with that 
employer for eighteen years, learning not only the trade but also the 
detaiU of the business from the selling standpoint. He also attended 
for some time the technical school conducted by John L. Finn, the old 
jeweler and watchmaker, who had a small school for instructing boys 
in the trade. Mr. Finn is still living in Elyria, though now retired from 
business. After all these years of apprenticeship and experience in the 
employ of others, Mr. Savage finally started at the time mentioned in a 
business of his own, and now has a splendid establishment centrally 
located in the shopping district. 

Besides his successful business record he has shown himself a public 
spirited citizen in supporting many movements for the good of the com- 
munity. Mr. Savage is a director in the Savings Deposit Bank and 
Trust Company of Elyria, a stockholder in the Elyria Savings & Bank- 
ing Company, president and a director of the Elyria Chamber of Com- 
merce, and holds stock in several other local enterprises. He is well 
known socially, being a member of the Elyria Country Club, the Elyria 
Automobile Association, is identified with the Firat Congregational 
Church, and takes much part in Masonic affairs. He is affiliated 
with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons ; Marshall 
Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons ; Elyria Council No. 86, Royal and 
Select Masters, of which he is now past thrice illustrious master; 
Elyria Commandery No. 60, Knights Templar, also Thirty-second Degree 
Scottish Bite and AI Koran Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Cleveland. 

On October 15, 1890, early in his business career, Mr. Savage mar- 
ried Miss Anna E. Emne, who has been his capable compauit^ and 
homemaker for twenty-five years. Mrs Savage was bom in Elyria, is a 
graduate of the high school, and in 1914 was honored with the otRce of 
president of the local alumni association. Her parents were Mathiaa 
and Elizabeth (Walters) Emne, both of whom were bom in Switzer- 
land. Her father died at Elyria, January 17, 1906, and her mother is 
still living. 

J. C. Hill. Few banking institutions in Northern Ohio have a 
more notable record than the Savings Deposit Bank & Trust Company 
of Elyria, with which Mr. Hill has been identified since its beginning 
as a private bank years ago, and of which he is now president. It hafl 
been a conservatively managed institution, and emphasis has always 
been placed upon strength rather than mere size. However, the com- 
pany now stands in the front rank of banks as to its tangil)le assets, 
and at the close of business in 1914 its total resources a^regated more 
than $2,000,000. A report of the condition of the company at that time 
showed capital stock of $211,900, surplus of $100,000, undivided profits 
of over $23,000, and deposits of approximately $1,740,000. Its banking 
house at one of the principal corners in the business district of Elyria, 
has been a landmark in the financial life of that city for many years. 
The names of the principal officers are; J, C. Hill, president; C. M. 
Braman, and C. E. Blanchard, vice presidents; James B. Seward, cashier, 
and F. R. Eckler, assistant cashier. The list of directors includes other 
men of the highest financial standing in Lorain County, 

J. C, Hill, who was cashier of the company when it began business 
in the early '70s, has had a long and noteworthy career. More than 

DiyizBohv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 733 

fifty years ago he was a practicing lawyer at Elyria and gave up the 
law for bu^ness and has long been a forceful figure not only in local 
finance but in civic enterprise. A native of Erie County, Ohio, he was 
the son of E. P. and Sarah Hill, both natives of Connectiaut, from which 
state father and grandfather came as pioneers in the little community 
of Berlin Heights in Erie County. E. P. Hill served as a member of 
the Ohio State Senate from Erie County in 1852-53. 

J. C. Hill finished his public education in the high school at Berlin 
Heights, and subsequently attended Antioch College at Yellow Springs, 
Greene County, where he was under the instruction of the great educator, 
Horace Mann. He graduated A. B. from Antioch in 1860 and studied 
law at Cleveland, where he was graduated from law school LL. B. in 
June, 1861. He then came to Elyria with a young lawyer whose 
acquaintance he had formed in Cleveland, Judge J. C. Hale, who was 
for a number of years identified with the Lorain County bar and is 
now living retired in Cleveland, and is mentioned elsewhere in this 
publication. These two young lawyers came together to Elyria aqd 
practiced as partners one year, Mr. Hill then being in practice by 
himself for the same length of time, after which he resumed partner- 
ship with Judge Hale and so continued until 1864. 

In 1864 Mr. Hill largely gave up the law and formed a co-partner- 
ship in the live stock business with the late W, A, Braman, whose 
peraonal record will be found on other pages. For three years they 
were together in business, and this was a period of financial profit to 
both members, and for several years following that Mr. Hill was engaged 
in the nursery business, and had an extensive trade both wholesale and 
retail. 

On November 1, 1872, Mr. Hill with the late T. L. Nelson, organized 
and opened the doors of a private banking house, with unlimited liability 
of stockholders. At the end of the second year there were twelve 
members of the company, and their aggregate resources at the coiumand 
of the bank amounted to $500,000. It was largely the character of the 
men behind the institution which insured its early success and gave it 
the unbounded confidence of the public. As a result the bank was soon 
aible to double its capital from its own earnings, and at the same time 
paid regular dividends to stockholders. In the early days it was known 
as the Savings Deposit Bank of Elyria, and without doubt was one of 
the most flourishing and safest institutions of the kind in the state. 
The reorganization and incorporation as a regular stock bank under the 
title The Savings Deposit Bank Company were effected in 1890. Its 
paid up capital at that time was $200,000, besides a surplus of $12,000. 
In March, 1893, the bank carried loans to the extent of over $1,000,000 
and had deposit accounts aggregating $950,000. Mr. Hill was the first 
cashier and manager of the company, and on the death of Mr. T. L. 
Nelson, the president, in 1890, was elected his successor, and in con- 
nection with the chief executive oSiee has since had the practical manage- 
ment of the company. Mr. Charles M. Braman, who is vice president 
and a director now shares the responsibility of management with Jlr, 
Hill. A sketch of Mr. Braman will be found elsewhere. 

On January 2, 1861, at the outset of his eareer as a lawyer. Mr. Hill 
married Miss Etta M. Wilson, of Blizabetii, N'ew Jersey. They first 
became acquainted while schoolmates under Horace Mann at Antioch 
College, Mrs. Hill lacked one year of graduating from Antioch. To 
their long and happy union were bom five children, of whom two are 
still living. Prank, the oldest, gradnated from Oberlin College with 
the class of 1883 and died in Denver, Colorado. Ralph W., was reared 
and educated in Elyria where he is stiD living. Arthur E. also died in 
Colorado. Edith L., who was bom at Elyria, was graduated from the 



y Google 



734 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

high school and pursued a higher education at the National Park 
Seminary in Washington, District of Columbia, is now the wife of 
Ernest Motimer, a manufacturer of ladies corsets at Derby, Connecticut. 
The youngest child, Harrj-, was accidentally shot at Elyria by a com- 
panion some years ago. 

In politics Mr. Hill is a republican, but his work has been more 
notable in the broad fields of citizenship than as a partisan. For many 
years lie was a member of the board of education of Elyria and its 
president from 18S8 to 1908. He is now the oldest living member of 
King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, is a 
past master of the lodge, and also a Knight Templar ilason. He belongs 
to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and is a stockholder but not now 
a member of the Elyria Country Club. Mr. Hill is a man of broad 
views, of extended experience with men and affairs, has a keen quick 
perception, and at the basis of his unusual success as a financier is the 
sterling integrity of his character, the quality which has secured him 
the unlimited confidence of the people with whom he has come in 
contact. As an executor he has settled several large estates in addition 
to his duties as a banker, and these duties he has discharged with 
characteristic fidelity. Mr. Hill is also president of the Citizens Build- 
ing Company of Elyria ; president of the Home Land Company of 
Elyria; president of the Hill Realty Company; and treasurer of the 
Lorain Realty Company. 

Franklin Pelton Crosse. The present Lorain County surveyor is 
a civil engineer of more than fifteen years' practical experience in his 
profession, in which he has made a record of constant advancement. In 
1899 Mr. Crosse was a rodman in the employ of the Sheffield Land 
and Improvement Company of Lorain. In 1901 he became connected 
with the United States Geological Survey as an assistant, and in 1903 
was made engineer with the Ohio Engineering Company. 

In 1905 Mr, Crosse was appointed assistant and deputy to the county 
surveyor. In 1914 he was elected county surveyor for the term begin- 
ning September 6, 1915, and on February 15, 1916, was appointed 
surveyor by the county commissioners for the unexpired term of T. L. 
Gibson, deceased. In politics Mr. Crosse is affiliated with the republican 
party. 

Franklin Pelton Crosse represents some old and honored family lines 
both in Ohio and in New England. He was born at North Amherst, 
Ohio, February 20, 1880, a son of Dr. Asahael Allen and Ella G. 
(Pelton) Crosse. The paternal grandfather was Rev. A. A. Crosse of 
Cineinnatus, New York. At Cincinnatus Dr. A. A. Crosse was bom. 
and leaving home at the age of thirteen took up the struggle of life 
for himself. Later he paid his way through a medical school at 
Willoiighby, Ohio, an institution now absorbed in the Western Reserve 
University. He began practicing medicine at the age of eighteen, and 
after his marriage located at Amherst, where he continued his work 
as a physician and surgeon until his death. Tie had a large practice, 
covering a wide scope of country, and was also a good business man, 
and at one time owned 640 acres of land in Amherst and Brownhelm 
Township. He sold some of this land but at his death owned 312 acres. 
He and his wife were married at Vermillion, Ohio, where Miss Pelton 
was Iiom, and after a residence of a number of years at Amherst he 
moved to his farm and tried to retire from his heavy practice. It was 
almost impossible, since his patients were insistent upon his tried service, 
and he was the trusted medical adviser in many a household until his 
death. He was affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and held the offices of township clerk and justice of the peace of Amherst 



izedb, Google 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 735 

Township and was the first mayor of the incorporated Village of Xorth 
Amherst, and during the term of President Johnson was postmaster of 
that village. He died on his farm west of North Amherst, September 13, 
1882. His widow is now living in Elyria, and Franklin P. Crosse was 
the only one of their children to reach maturity. 

Mr, Crofise comes of a notable maternal ancestry. His maternal 
grandfather was Franklin Pelton of Vermillion, Ohio, and a descendant 
of John Pelton. John Pelton was bom in England about 1616 and 
belonged to the Esses branch of Peltona or Poltons. He came to Boston 
between 1630 and 1633, as is proved by the appearance of his name and 
a description of bis property in the "Book of Possessions" the oldest 
land record of Boettm. In Boston his possessions were described as one 
house and household lot bounded with Owen Roe west; the street north; 
the cove south; and the marsh on the east. The4and comprised lots 104 
to 108 on the south side of the Essex Street from Washington Street 
eastward. About 1635 he moved to Dorchester, then a few miles np 
the Boston Peninsula, but now a part of the City of Boston. Dorchester 
had been settled a few months earlier in that year. Either in 1635 or 
1636 he became by grant or purchase a joint owner of the Dorchester 
Patent, and received his share as did also his heirs in its many divisions. 
He was one of the forty-seven owners of the "Great Lots." That he 
was admitted among the very select company at Dorchester is sufBcient 
proof that his character and religious opinion were considered correct. 
The only item of information concerning his wife is found in his will, 
which gives her Christian name as Susanna. They were probably 
married about 1643. He was a young man when he came to Boston, 
and some additional light is thrown on his occupation by the words 
of the will which shows that he was engaged in the fisheries, . 
then, as now an important industry. He died in Dorchester, January 23, 
1681. He had three sons, John, Samuel and Robert, and a daughter 
Mary, His widow probably lived until May 7, 1706, and various circum- 
stances indicate that she was the "old Mother Pelton" who was buried 
May 10, 1706. Mention is made of her burial in Clapp's History of 
Dorchester {page 281) compiled from the records of the oldest church 
there, and as it was an unusual record she must have been a very well 
known person. 

From John and Susanna Pelton the line of descent runs as follows: 
Samuel Pelton, second son of John, was born at Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, about 1647 and died about 1713-14. John Pelton, second son 
of Samuel, bom at Dorchester January 9, 1682, died July 15, 1735. 
Josiah Pelton, the fifth son of John, probably bom in Iladdara, Con- 
necticut, in 1714, died February 2, 1792. Josiah Pelton, Jr., fourth son 
of Josiah, was bom at Chatham, now Portland, Connecticut, March 5, 
1772, and died July 9, 1834. He had an eventful career. He went to 
sea as a cabin boy, became a sailor before the mast, and later captain 
and owner of a vessel. He was engaged in trade with the West Indies 
and also the Spanish Main, touched at many ports in both North and 
South America, and did much business in Brazil and Guiana. In 1811, 
during the Mexican insurrection under Hidalgo, he was captured while 
in command of a vessel owned by himself and his brother Moses. The 
vessel and $30,000 in specie were confiscated and he was held as a 
captive for three years. On being released he found that his vessel had 
been sold and owing to the destruction of his papers was unable to 
recover any of the property. After this disaster he abandoned the sea, 
and in June, 1815, gathered up his family and with a wagon dra^vn 
by an ox team started for Ohio. In August he arrived at Euclid, near 
Cleveland, where in the previous year his cousin Jonathan Pelton, a son 
of Joseph Pelton, had settled. In 1819 he bought land a portion of 



y Google 



736 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

which bad been cleared, and with it a \og bouse, from John Sherrart, 
in Vermillion, Huron (now Erie) County, and removed to the new farm. 
It was in the midst of the wilderness, and his home was close to the 
haunts of wolves, deer, bear, and wild turkey, and even the Indians still 
roamed the woods. Thon^ he had applied himself vigorously to the 
new life of farmer, he oonld not forget tiie old vocation, and living close 
to the Lake Erie shore he built a small vessel, which be named Franklin 
in honor of his youngest son. He died at Vermillion in 1834. Franklin 
Pelton, the fifth son of Josiah, Jr., was born at Portland, Connecticut, 
November 13, 1814, and died February 27, 1897, in Vermillion, Ohio. 
Among his eleven children Ella Gertrude, wbo became the wife of 
Dr. A. A. Crosse, was the eighth. She was bom April 2, 1855, and is 
still living at Elyria. 

Franklin P. Crosse secured his education in the Elyria public schools 
and the Ohio Northern University at Ada. From that he entered his 
practical career as a civil engineer at the age of ninet«en, and has been 
steadily engaged in some department of bis profession to the present 
rime. 3Ir. Croase has taken both the Scottish and York Bite degrees 
in Masonry. He belongs to all the Masonic bodies from Blue Lodge to 
Knight Templar at Elyria, including Elyria Commandery, and the 
Consistory bodies at Cleveland, inciu<Ung Lake Erie Consistory of the 
thirty-second degree and also Al Koraji Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 
He attends the Congregational Church of Elyria. 

At Wooster, Ohio, December 22, 1906, Mr. Crosse married Miss 
Gertrude Elizabeth Mamin, daughter of William and Mary (Berwick) 
Mamin. Her father was a miner and coal mine superintendent through 
the Ohio fields, and died in 1910 at Doylestown, Ohio, where his widow 
is now living. Mrs. Crosse was bom near Doylestown at Silver Creek, 
and is a graduate o£ the Doylestown High School. She received her 
musical education, both instrumental and vocal, at the Academy of 
Our Lady of Lourdes, Cleveland, Ohio. She is a member of the Eastern 
Star. They have one son, Franklin Pelton Crosse II. 

Oscar fi. Dunn. For a young man who only recently passed his 
thirtieth birthday, Oscar G. Dunn has proved an exceedingly live 
member of the Elyria business community, and has identified himself 
in so many ways with local affairs that he was recently chosen to the 
important office of county commissioner. He began to be self support- 
ing when only a hoy, and consequently his practical career has been 
longer than his years would indicate. 

He was born in Bellwood, Pennsylvania, April 29, 1884, and is a son 
of William Henry and Mattie K. (Godard) Dunn. His parents were 
married in Mapleton, Pennsylvania, where the mother was bom, while 
the father was a native of BelLwood. William H. Dunn was a contractor 
in the tinning, plumbing and hardware supply business at Mapleton 
and later at Johnstown, Pennsylvania. Owing to the disastrous flood - 
at Johnstown in 1889 he moved to Lorain in Lorain County and became 
assistant superintendent in the tinning department for the Johnson 
Steel Company. This company it will be recalled was later merged with 
the National Tube Company. On account of health the father finally 
returned to Johnstown, where he died in 1899. The mother is still 
living at South Lorain. The father was a very active member of the 
Baptist Church in Johnstown, served as superintendent of the Sunday 
school, but had formed no active church connections in Lorain. The 
mother is now equally diligent in her attention to church duties as a 
member of the Presbyterian Church at South Lorain. In the family 
were eight children, three sons and five daughters, seven of them reach- 
ing maturity. In order of age they are: Mrs. Charles Drusendahl of 



hv'^iUU'^lL' 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 737 

Elyria; Mrs. Harry Kirtley of Johnstown, Pennsylvania; Oscar G.; 
Mrs. Anna Barclay who lives along Rural Route No. 2 out of Lorain ; 
Mrs. R. Glaaser of Spokane, Washington ; Stewart Dnnn, who lives with 
her mother in South Lorain ; Hershel, who is a wireless operator, and 
as hia whereabouts have been unknown to his family for the past two 
years it is not known whether he is living or not. All the children were 
bom in Mapleton and Bellwood, Pennsylvania, with the exception of 
Stewart, who was bom in Johnstown and is a twin sister of the one 
who died at the age of two years. 

Oscar 0. Dunn for his education attended the public schools of 
Johnstown, and when nine years of age came with an aunt from Johns- 
town to Lorain, and after that bad practically no schooling, since he 
became a boy worker with (he Johnson Steel Company of Lorain. After 
four years in that industry he was a clerk in the South Lorain Savings 
Bank, now known as the City Bank of Lorain, remaining in that service 
four years. There were no prospecte of advancement and his salary 
was low, consequently he resigned, and was soon engaged in learning 
a trade with the National Tube Company of Lorain in the electrical 
department. That might have constituted for him a permanent busi- 
ness, since he was connected with the company for seven years^ until a 
serious injury caused him to leave his work, to which he has never 
returned. His next work was with the Pennsylvania lines in the ticket 
office at Pittsburgh for two years, but by that time having considerable 
experience and with confidence in his own ability he left the railroad 
and engaged in business for himself at Elyria, opening a real estate and 
insurance ofBee. Mr. Dunn has been a permanent resident of Elyria 
since 1906 and none of the young business men of the city has a better 
standing in the community. In November, 1914, he established the 
Amherst News, a weekly paper that has served its purpose well. 
Mr. Dunn was its principal owner and manager, but a few weeks after 
the business was incorporated in 1915, retired from the enterprise in 
order to have more time for his duties as county commissioner, and 
while he has sold his real estate and insurance business to enable him 
to devote his undivided time and attention to the office of county com- 
missioner, be still retains some valuable investments in real estete in 
Elyria and vicinity. 

He has the distinction of having been the youngest man ever elected 
to the Elyria City Council, on which he served two terms or four years. 
In November, 1914, he was elected one of the county commissioners of 
Lorain County, for the term of two years beginning in September, 1915. 
In politics he is a republican and very active, having been a voter and 
worker in the party interests since he reached his majority. 

Mr. Dunn is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, is 
affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights 
of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Knights of the 
Slaccabccs. His name is also found among the members of the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, and he belongs to Harlan P. Chapman Camp of 
the Sons of Veterans at Elyria. His eligibility to that order is based 
on the fact that his maternal grandfather George Godard was a gallant 
soldier in the Civil war. 

BIrs. Dunn before her marriage was Miss Clara E. Dreitzler, daugh- 
ter of B. F. and Martha (Schwartz) Dreitzler of Lorain, Ohio. She 
was born, reared and educated in Lorain and since her happy marriage 
on January 15, 1908, they have lived in Elyria. Their one son, Ronald 
Oscar, was bom at Elyria, September 15, 1910. 



;y Google 



738 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Hbnbt W. Ingebsoll. The family to which this prominent and old 
established attorney of Elyria belongs ia one of tiie very oldest in 
Lorain County, where it was founded almost a century ago by his great- 
grandfather, Maj, William IngersoU, who eame from Berkshire County, 
Massachusetts, and was the first of the name to penetrate the wilderness 
which then prevailed over Grafton Township, with whose history and 
development the subsequent generations of the Ingersoll family have 
been so closely identified. Mr. Ingersoll still owns part of the ancestral 
domain in Grafton Township, a place that had been developed and 
owned for many years by his grandfather, William Ingersoll, and which 
was the birthplace of his father, George M. Ingersoll, as well as his own 
place of birth. Of these well known characters of successive periods in 
the history of Grafton Township, further information is supplied on 
other pages of this work. 

Bom on the old Ingersoll farm, a son of George M, and Mary 
(Preston) Ingersoll, Henry W. Ingersoll had a rural environment for 
his youth, attended the public schools of Elyria, and received his higher 
education in the University of Michigan, partly in the literary depart- 
ment and in the full course of the law school, from which latter he was 
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1885. Mr. Ingersoll 
has been engaged in practice at Elyria since 1886, his first partner 
having been Lester McLean, who in 1891 left Elyria and removed to 
Denver, Colorado. In July, 1903, Mr. Ingersoll formed a partnership 
with Frank A. Stetson, who is now assistant prosecuting attorney of 
Lorain County, and their relations were continued until September 1, 
1910. In October, 1912, Mr. Ingersoll became associated with R. F. 
Yandemark, under the firm name of Ingersoll & Vandemark, and this 
firm continued until October 1, 1915, since which time Mr. Ingersoll has 
maintained hia practice of law alone, with offices in the Masonic Temple. 

Mr. Ingersoll has taken an active part in Masonry, being affiliated 
with King Solomon Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, Marshall Chapter, 
Boyal Arch Masons, Elyria Council, Royal and Select blasters, and 
Elyria Commandery, Knights Templar, and was the local citizen who 
procured the site for the Masonic Temple Building and was first presi- 
dent of the Masonic Temple Company. He belongs also to the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, the Elyria Automobile Club, the Cleveland 
Chamber of Commerce and the Tippecanoe Club, of Cleveland. 

In the course of his long practice as a lawyer, Mr. Ingersoll has 
acquired varied and important interests and is first vice president of 
The Elyria Savings and Banking Company, secretary and director of 
The Machine Parts Company, chairman of the board of directors of The 
Elyria Enameled Products Company, a director of The Lorain County 
Savings and Loan Company, the Fay Stocking Company, The Elyria 
Knitting Company, the Home Land Company and the Citizens Building 
Company, secretary and director of The Parts Realty Company, and 
president of the Cadillac Veneer Company, of Cadillac, Michigan, and 
is officially identified with a number of other corporations. For many 
years he has been treasurer and one of the trustees of the Elyria 
Library and for more than thirty years has been active in the First 
Congregational Church, having held several of the church offices and 
also serving as superintendent of the Sunday School. 

Mrs. Ingersoll before her marriage was Slay Belle Hamilton, a native 
of Berea, Ohio, and a daughter of Leonard G. and Cassandra il. Hamil- 
ton. Their children are ; Mary Cassandra, who graduated from Elyria 
High School in 1909, spent one year at Maryland College for Women, 
Lutherville, Marj-land, and graduated from Oberlin Kindergarten Train- 
ing School in 1912, and now lives with her parents-, and Henry Walter, 
who is now attending the public schools of Elyria. 



y Google 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 739 

Thomas Lothbop Nelson. Pew men did more to impress their 
strength and isdividuality upon the business and civic life of Elyria 
than the late Thomas Lothrop Nelson, who was continuously identified 
with that locality for over forty years preceding his death, which 
ocearred February 21, 1891, and during that time rose to a first rank 
among the county 's leaders and philanthropists. 

His was a career in which character was the all dominating factor. 
Of New England birth and ancestry, he possessed the rugged ijualities 
which have long been familiarly associated with that people. With an 
indefatigable vigor and extraordinary capacity for taking pains he 
combined an incorruptible honesty which allowed him to aspire only to 
that kind of success which is accomplished with truth and righteousness. 

Mr. Nelson was bom at Lyme, Grafton County, New Hampshire, 
January 11, 1823, a son of Asa and Sarah (Qilbert) Nelson. His 
mother's father, Maj. Thomas Lothrop Gilbert, in whose honor he was 
named was long a prominent citizen of Lyme, New Hampshire. The 
Qilbert family had emigrated to Lyme from Hebron, Connecticut, and 
at the time of the birth of the late Jlr. Nelson his ancestors had lived 
in that one locality for at least 180 years, and the old Gilbert homestead, 
in which he was born, is still occupied by one of the family's relatives. 
Asa Nelson, his father, was a merchant at Lyme, but died when his 
children were still small, leaving his widow without means. She 
possessed a strong heart, and made a courageous battle with adverse 
circumstances in rearing her small children. The conditions of his 
childhood were such that Thomas L. Nelson had to face the serious 
aspects of life at an early age. He spent much of his boyhood in the 
family of his grandfather Gilbert. Early manifesting a practical and 
studious nature he made the best use of the few educational advantages 
which the locality afforded- For a time he attended Thetford Academy, 
a noted institution in Vermont not far from his old home. All his life 
Mr. Nelson was a close student and careful reader, and wisely mingled 
the knowledge gained from hooks with his observation of men and 
affairs. On leaving school he spent about two years as clerk in a dry 
goods store in his native town, and this was his preliminary training 
for a business career. On attaining his majority, he started for the 
great West with its golden opportunities. He reached Oberlin, Ohio, 
where he spent some time in the home of Deacon Porter Turner, who 
had married an aunt of young Nelson, His ambition at that time was 
to acquire an education in Oberlin College but conditions were such that 
he went through a long and successful career without a collegiate degree. 
On arriving at Oberlin his possessions consisted of $1 in money and a 
small bundle which he carried in his hand. Out of his early struggles 
Mr. Nelson gained a sympathy for aspiring youth which never left him, 
and which in fact led him to extend a helping hand on many occasions 
to boys whose lot seemed similar to his own. He soon left Oberlin, 
walked all the way to Mansfield in Bichland County, and after many 
attempts and failures to find employment secured a position as clerk in 
a dry goods store. That clerkship he held about six months. 

A kind Providence directed his steps toward Elyria, where he entered 
the store of Baldwin, Starr & Company. In their employ he quickly 
showed the stuff of which he was made. At the end of five years of 
industry, strict economy and self-denial he was promoted to a partner- 
ship, and the business was reorganized under the name Starr &, Company. 
In 1857 the firm of Baldwin, Laundon & Nelson was formed, and 
Mr. Nelson became known throughout Lorain County as an honest, 
upright and successful merchant. His house conducted the largest busi- 
ness enjoyed by any mercantile establishment in Lorain County, and 
there were very few families who did not have more or less regular 



y Google 



740 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

dealings with the establiBhment. The firm also conducted a large store 
at Wellington in this county. In 1872, having retired from merchan- 
dising, Mr. Nelson became associated with J. C. Hill in organizing the 
old Savings I>eposit Bank of Elyria, became its chief stockholder, and 
was the honored president of that institution until tiie date of his death. 

His business success constituted only a part of his attainments as a 
citizen and factor in local prosperity. He waa one of the most valuable 
men of the community and was regarded as a tower of strength in any 
movement or meeting for the consideration of business, civic or religious 
or moral problems. Perhaps as a result of his own early struggles to 
secure an education, he showed particular interest in broadening those 
facilities which would make schools and their advantages free to all. 
For thirty-one years he served as a member of the board of education in 
Elyria, and for eighteen years was president on the board. For nearly 
twenty years he was a trustee of Oberlin College. The only other public 
office which he held was as mayor of Elyria for one year, and he stead- 
fastly declined all other political honors ui^ed upon him. As to politics 
Mr. Nelson cast his first vote for a whig candidate, and afterwards was 
a member of the liberty and republican parties as they successively 
came into existence. 

The Congregational Church of Elyria will always honor bis name 
and memory, since for thirty-seven years he was one of its most constant 
attendants and one of the most ready to bear the burdens of its main- 
tenance. He was a regular worker in its Sunday school. It is said that 
when a young man Mr. Nelson laid down certain rules for the governing 
of his life, among which were emphasized the principles of honor, strict 
business integrity and Christian charity. 

The late Mr, Nelson was three times married. July 24, 1851, he 
married Miss Lucretia Churchill, daughter of Judge Churchill of Lyme, 
New Hampshire. Her death occurred January 18, 1853, and her only 
daughter, Lucretia, became the wife of Rev. E. P. Butler of Sunder- 
land, Massachusetts. August 21, 1856, Mr. Nelson married Miss Mary 
L. Moody of Chicopee, Massachusetts, who died February 13, 1863. The 
three daughters of this marriage are; Mary L., now the wife of Mr. 
A. L. Garford. a prominent manufacturer of Elyria, whose interesting 
career is found on other pages of this work ; Lizzie Gilbert, who died 
in childhood ; and Sarah M., the widow of Hobert Frey, now living in 
Pasadena, California, Ten years after the death of his second wife 
Mr. Nelson married, February 19, 1873, Miss Frances H, Sanford of 
Elyria. Mrs, Nelson died November 16, 1915. She was the daughter of 
Frederick Burr and Eveline (Nichols) Sanford. 

John Lebsch. The work by which John Lersch has most distin- 
guished himself among his fellows has been as a merchant. Hif active 
career, dated from his mercantile apprenticeship, covers more than six 
decades, during which time he has sold goods to a widening circle of 
patronage in Lorain County and for many years has been at the head 
of the John Lersch & Company, operating the largest dry goods store 
I>etween Cleveland and Toledo. Probably every resident of Ijorain 
County knows this Elyria emporium, which occupies more tioor space, 
has a larger pay roll of employes, and probably sells more goods than 
any other two stores in Lorain County, A merchant who for .so many 
years is identified with one community necessarily possesses the best 
qualities of the business man — integrity, a settled policy of square 
dealing, and the ability to win and keep the confidence of his customers. 
Many of the patrons of the John Lersch & Company knew that place 
of business when they were children. The "good will" of such an 



b.Google 



4 .'- -/■ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 741 

estAblishment as that o£ John Lersch & Company is of greater value 
than the capital and stock of many leas substantial concerns. 

This veteran merchant of Lorain County was born in Duerhheim 
in the Bavarian Palatinate, (Jermany, on July 25, 1841. His parents, 
Karl and Ionise (Schweitzer) Loersch, always spelled their name in 
that way, but John Lersch subsequently simplified the spelling by 
dropping the "o. " In 1851 the family emigrated to America, embark- 
ing on a sailing vessel at Havre, France, July 25th of that year, and 
landing in New York September 4th, being forty days in crossing the 
Atlantic. They went directly to Cleveland, thence to Mansfield, from 
there to North Dover, Cuyahoga County, where the father bought a 
forty-acre farm about thirteen miles east of Elyria, Later in life the 
parents moved to Elyria, making their home with their son John. His 
mother died February 21, 1878, aged seventy-eight years, and his 
father on March 1, 1887, aged eighty-two years. 

On April 13, 1854, when our subject was twelve years of age, he 
entered the store of H. E, Museey and Company on a thirty-day trial. 
The mouth of probation was marked by a strict application to business 
on his part and constant punctuality so that at the end of the prescribed 
time indentures were signed for three years. The compensation he 
received for the first year was $40 and his hoard ; for the second year 
$50 ; for the third year $75, and for the fourth year $175 and board, 
his salary being advanced in proportion to his promotion in the store. 

In 1858 S. W. Baldwin, T. W. Laundon and T. L. Nelson bought out 
the firm of H. E. Mussey & Company, and John Lersch remained with 
them until they retired from business in 1872, They then sold the dry 
goods department of the business to D. C. Baldwin & Company, of which 
John Lersch was the junior partner. He was already a master merchant, 
and by hard training was ready for every freah responsibility. He soMi 
built up one of the lai^est retail stores in the state, and in the meantime he 
had expanded his knowledge as a practical salesman and store manager 
to an equal expertness in the buying of goods. The D. C. Baldwin & 
Company was continued until 1880, when the name was changed to Bald- 
win, Lersch & Company, although at that time Mr. Baldwin had partially 
retired and Mr. Lersch was carrying the chief responsibilities of active 
management. 

About that time Mr. Lersch established the Northern Ohio Syndicate, 
composed of Baldwin, Lersch & Company, at Elyria, the Fries & Scheuele 
Company of Cleveland, and the B. C. Taber & Company of Norwalk. 
The purpme of this syndicate was to purchase goods, chiefiy from manu- 
facturers or their agents, thus saving jobber's profit, and bringing the 
retail houses in the syndicate within close and prompt relations between 
the manufacturers and the buying public. The syndicate kept an agent 
constantly in the field, so that prompt advantage was taken of bargains, 
and the retailers were enabled to sell at considerable advantage and 
also afforded all the greatest service to their stores. This syndicate was 
subsequently expanded to include about fifteen large dry goods houses 
in Ohio and Pennsylvania, with a total purchasing capacity of about 
$3,000,000 annually. Mr. Lersch was elected president of this larger 
organization. 

In addition to building up this splendid business now conducted as 
John Lersch & Company, he has formed at diA'crent times other useful 
connections with Elyria affairs. For many years he was a director and 
member of the finance committee of the Elyria Savings Bank, and 
later one of the founders of the Elyria Savings & Banking Company, 
of which he is one of the directors and was at one time its vice president. 
He has always been a stanch member of the republican party and his 



y Google 



742 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

judgment both in busmeas and on other matters everywhere commands 
respect and is eagerly sought by younger men, many of whom at critical 
points o£ their career found the counsel of John Lersch invaluable. He 
served on the school board twelve years, and was president of the board 
for a short time. He cast his first presidential vDt« for Abraham Lin- 
coln, and has been an ardent protectionist. He was a prominent advo- 
cate of the plan for securing a supply of lake water for Elyria and of 
municipal ownership of all public utilities. He has been a. liberal con- 
tributor to the Young Men's Christian Association, the Elyria Jlemorial 
Hospital, the Young Women's Christian Association, and is a strong 
advocate of all practical temperance work. 

Mr. Lersch in 1868 married Miss Pamela Boynton, daughter of the 
late Joshua Boynton, who was born in Maine but was an early settler in 
Lorain County, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Lersch gave their children good 
educational privileges, and both sons and daughters are now well estab- 
lished in the world. The children are : Carl T. ; Robert B. ; Louise De- 
Lano, wife of John R. Gobey, a prosperous wholesale lumber tiierchaut 
in Columbus, Ohio; Carlotta, wife of T. C. Cherry, manager of the 
Annapolis & Baltimore Street Railway ; J. Walter ; Arthur E. ; and 
Harwood, a graduate of Dennison University, and for the past eight 
years one of the Division Engineers in the State Highway Department. 

As the above brief outline has suggested John Lersch is a splendid 
example of the self-made man. He is a great reader, has depended a great 
deal upon the information obtained from encyclopedias, and has one of 
the largest private libraries in Elyria. Mrs. Lersch is a fine type of the 
mother and home maker. She has a broad and liberal education, and for 
a number of years taught in the Elyria public schools. She is well 
versed on literary subjects, and has frequently shown a masterful logic 
and a fluent style of literary composition in various articles which have 
come from her pen. She is particularly able in the discussion of political 
matters. Mr. Lersch has been back to Europe to visit his old home 
twice, first in 1882 and again in 1914. He was able to leave Liverpool 
the day before the beginning of the great European war, sailing from 
that port July 31, 1914, and receiving the news by wireless when in mid- 
ocean of the commencement of the war. Mr. Lersch is probably the 
oldest merchant in point of continuous service in Lorain County, having 
begun his career as a business man in 1854. He has shown a high sense 
of responsibility in the use of his general success, has given liberally to 
all worthy institutions and has striven for everything that would make 
Elyria a better and greater city- 

Carl TiiEODOKE Lersch, the oldest son of John and Pamela (Boynton) 
Lerseh, is one of the younger business men of Elyria who has contributed 
his part to the prestige of the name, and is recognized as a successful and 
loyal citizen. 

He was born January 6, 1870, at Elyria, gained his e<lucation in 
the public schools, and in the third year of high school gave up his 
studies in order to enter the store of his father. With that great busi- 
ness, elsewhere described, he has been identified ever since. For the 
past fifteen years he has been buyer and successful manager of the 
carpet and curtain department. 

In political views Mr. Lersch is a stanch republican, though not to 
the extent of considering party before principle. To a question in 
regard to his religious views he would doubtless reply — "they are 
embodied in Leigh Hunt's poem 'Abou Ben Adhem.' " 

On January 16, 1895, he married Miss Lelia B. Boynton at hor home 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTV 743 

in Elyria. Of this union there was one child, Miriam B., who died at 
the age of fifteen on January 9, 1915, 

Robert B. Lersoi. Junior raemlier of the well known firm of John 
Lerseh & Company, proprietors of the lai^est dry goods store between 
Clevelajui and Toledo, and vice president and a director of the National 
Bank of Elyria, Robert B. Lersch is a native of the city in, which he is 
now engaged in business and is a son of John and Pamela (Boynton) 
Lersch. The career of John Lerseh furnishes subject matter for another 
article, published elsewhere in this work. 

Robert Boynton Lersch was born at Elyria, November 10, 1871, grew 
up at Elyria, where he was graduated from the high school in 1889, 
and following this took a partial pourse in law at the Western Reserve 
University, Cleveland. However, he did not pursue the law as a voca- 
tion, tumin^is attention to business affairs, although his legal training 
has been of no little value to him in subsequent years. Leaving college 
to identify himself actively with the firm of John Lersch & Company, 
he has been an associate member of the firm since 1893. 

For a number of years Mr. Lerseh has also been a figure in public 
life in the city and county. He began voting the republican ticket as 
soon as he reached his majority, and in 1896 was elected a member of 
the city council of Elyria, to which body he was re-eleeted four times, 
and in which he gave much service of a definite and helpful order in 
shaping the policies of the city government during that time. In 1903 
the Lorain County Republican Convention chose Mr. Ijerseh on the first 
ballot as candidate for the State Legislature, and during his term at 
Columbus he was ehairmah of the finance committee and secretary of the 
committee on cities that prepared and presented the Payne bill, pro- ) 
viding for the municipal code of Ohio. "While a member of the Elyria 
City Council, 5Ir. Lersch was also chairman of the water committee, 
during the great seven-year fight, which enlisted the services of some of 
the greatest lawyers in the countrj-, and which resulted in securing for 
Elyria its own water works plant on the shores of Lake Erie, where the 
water is pumped and filtered and piped to the city from the lake. He 
is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and is fraternally a 
Knight Templar Mason, affiliating with Elyria Commandery No. 60, 
and a member of the Order of Elks and the Knights of the Maccabees. 
Socially, he is a popular member of the Elyria Country Club and the 
Cleveland Athletic Club, of Cleveland. A trustee of the Young Men 's 
Christian Association, Mr. Lersch has alvyays taken an active interest 
in that organization. He was captain of one of the teams at the time 
the money was raised to build the beautiful building of the institution 
here, and was one of the twenty guests at a dinner given by the late 
W. N. Gates, at which time the subject of erecting such a structure at 
Elyria was first broached. 

On November 10, 1897, Mr. Lersch was married to Miss Helen 
Seward, who was born and reared in Lorain County, Ohio, a daughter 
of Thomas and Etta Seward. To this marriage there have been born 
two daughters : Dorothy and Jane. 

Harry Moore Redington, son of Judge Horace G. Redington, whose 
sketch appears on other pages, was born in Amherst, Lorain County, 
February 22, 1886. He attended the public schools at Amherst, also 
Oberlin Academy, and entering the Western Reserve Law School was 



vGoogle 



744 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

graduated LL. B. in June, 1910. He was admitted to the bar by examina- 
tion in June of the same year. 

On July 6, 1910, only a few weeks after setting up in practice at 
Elyria, he married Miss Mary Lydia Peck of Oberlin, Ohio, daughter of 
Jonathan F. and Medora E. (Wack) Peck. Her father died many years 
ago and is buried at his old home in Attleboro, Massachusetts, and the 
mother is now living with Mr. and Mrs, Rediugton. Mrs. Redingtou was 
graduated from Oberlin Academy, spent several years in the Oberlin 
Conservatory of Music and about two years in the New York Art School 
of New York City. 

Mr. Bedington had his first law office in the Redingtou Block, where 
he established himself August 4, 1910, and where his father later had his 
offices. After one year of practice alone he and his father shared the 
same office until February 1, 1914, The son then moved into the Elyria 
Block, continued alone until January 7, 1915, and then became junior 
member of the firm of Pounds & Redingtou, his associate being Harry A. 
Pounds, mention of whom is found on other pages. 

In politics Mr. Rediogton is a democrat, and was the first president 
of the democratic club known as the Elyria Democratic Club and was 
active in its organization on July 17, 1914. He continued as its president 
until January 1, 1915, and is now a member of its executive committee. 
Fraternally his affiliations are with King Solomon I^odge \o. 56, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. He also belongs to the Elyria Countrj- Club, the 
Chamber of Commerce, and to the Men's Club of the Congregatiimal 
Church. Mrs. Redingtou was brought up as an Episcopalian and attends 
that church. They have a daughter, Rosemary, born at Elyria, May 13, 
1912, and a sou James Peck, born October 30, 1913. 

THOHis JouNSTON. In the history of Lorain County, a name that 
appears frequently is that of Johnston, the members of this family 
having borne honored parts in profes^onal, business, military, public 
and civic life. This family was founded here as early as 1838 by Thomas 
Johnston, now long since deceased, but whose descendants still repre- 
sent the family honorably and bear evidence of the possession of the 
sturdy qualities of this old pioneer, 

Thomas Johnston was bom at Palmerston (Wilton), Saratoga County, 
New York, August 30, 1777, and was a son of Peter and Susannah 
(Johnson) Johnston. His father was bom at Lockerby, Annandale, 
Dumfriesshire, Scotland, in 1735, and in 1773 applied for and received 
a certificate of good character signed by the magistrate of the borough 
of Lochmaben, in the same year taking his wife and children and start- 
ing for America. Embarking at Dumfries, they were carried in safety 
to the new country, the vessel duly making port at New York, from 
whence Pet«r Johnston took his family to Palmerston, Saratoga County, 
New York, which township afterwards was renamed Wilton. This was 
a newly-settled community, and the new arrivals were forced to face 
many hardships and overcome numerous obstacles. The heavy timber 
with which the tract was covered was cleared, cut into logs and made 
into rafts, and these were floated down to Troy, Albany and New York 
City. When the Revolutionary war broke out Peter Johnston first joined 
a company of Minute Men for the protection of the home community, 
but afterward enlisted in the Thirteenth Regiment of Albany County 
militia, known as Col. Cornelius Van Veghten's Regiment, and served 
as private in Capt. Ephrnim Woodworth's Company. When his military 
service was completed, Peter Johnston returned to his Sarat<^ County 



y Google 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 745 

farm and there passed the remainiDg years of his life in the development 
of a home, dying at Wilton, New York, September 13, 1798, aged sixty- 
three years. He was twice married, first in 1763 to Jane Mundle, by 
whom he had a son and a daughter, Andrew and Elizabeth. She died 
about 1771 and a year later he married Susannah Johnson, born in Scot- 
land, and died at Wilton, New York, December 29, 1787. daughter of 
Archibald Johnson. They became the parents of four children : Jane, 
Thomas, Naney and Mary, Peter Johnston and his wife Susannah 
were buried in the cemetery near Emerson's Comers, at Wilton. 

Thomas Johnston passed his boyhood on the home farm near Blount 
McGregor, New York, and received his early education in the common 
schools. It was the desire of his father that he become a minister, and 
he was sent away to be educated, but the youth did not finish the course 
nor did he adopt the calling, although to the end of his life he was 
ever ready to uphold his views in regard to religious topics, and was 
willing even to neglect his work to expound his theolc^cal doctrines 
to whomsoever should bring the subject up. His father was a devout 
Presbyterian, but early in life Thomas concluded from his researches 
that baptism by immersion was the only true form, and accordingly 
identified himself with the Baptist Church, although he did not become 
a professed member thereof for many years. 

In 1800 Thomas Johnston was married to Lucy Benedict, daughter 
of Elisha and Thankful (Gregory) Benedict, of Northumberland, New 
York, and settled in that vicinity, where a son was bom to thera the 
next year, but both mother and child died within a few days, the former 
August 4, 1801. Later Mr. Johnston moved to Fairfield, Franklin 
County, Vermont, where he married Susanna Cleveland, daughter of 
Stephen and Polly (Goodin) Cleveland. She was born at Bennington, 
Vermont, October 2, 1781, and was a member of a family the descend- 
ants of which have spread all over the country and have become promi- 
nent in every walk of life. The founder of this family in America, 
Moses Cleveland, is supposed to have been born in 1624, and came from 
Ipswich. Suffolk, England, to Wobum, Massachusetts, in 1635, aa an 
indentiired apprentice to a housewright. He became a freeman in 1643 
and was married September 16, 1648, to Annie Winn, who bore him 
eleven children : Moses ; Hannah ; Aaron, the direct ancestor of Presi- 
dent Grover Cleveland ; Samuel ; Miriam ; Joanna ; Edward ; Josiah, 
the ancestor of Gen. Moses Cleveland, founder of the City of Cleveland, 
Ohio; Isaac; Joanna (2) and Enoch. Susanna (Cleveland) Johnston 
was in the sixth generation of the family in America, 

Some time after his second marriage, Thomas Johnston bought a tract 
of land in Vermont, adjoining Fairfield, and settled there with his bride, 
but in 1804, being pressed for deferred payments on this property, dis- 
posed of it in o^er to save his improvements and bought a piece of 
land in Fairfield, Franklin County, Vermont, where he resided until 
1811, In that year he moved to Oneida County, New York, and while 
he was residing in that locality witnessed the outbreak of the War of 
1812 and enlisted in Capt Earl Fillmore's company of Colonel Stone's 
regiment. New York militia. He served with that organization for 188 
days as a private, and after his death his widow drew a pension for this 
service. In 1822 Mr. Johnston removed to Leyden. Lewis County, New 
York, and after three years made removal with his family to Shelby, 
Orteans County, New York, where he purchased a fine property on 
Maple Ridge, not far from Millville. 

In 1832 the Johnston family started for the Western Reserve of Ohio, 
taking pasage on a canal boat to Buffalo and sailing thence by steamer 



y Google 



746 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

to Cleveland, Ohio, where they embarked in two wagons, thus traveling 
to Urunswiek, Aledina County, Ohio, where they settled on a farm. In 
November, XHSS, they made another removal, this time into the adjoin- 
ing county of Lorain, where they settled on a farm on the east branch 
of the Black River, about a mile south of Grafton, which was then known 
as Rawsonville. They were among the pioneers of that locality, where 
they huilt a log house and planted an orchard, but after their children 
were all married the parents sold the farm, and it has since changed 
hands several times. Thomas Johnston died July 22, 1858, at the home 
of his son, Paul M., at LaGrange, Ohio, whence he had moved at the 
time of his retirement, while the mother survived him until July 19, 
1873. and passed away near the old homestead. They were buried side 
by side in the cemetery three miles east of LaOrange, where a substantial 
monument marks the resting-place of these two sturdy old pioneers. 
They were the parents of twelve children, namely : Polly SI., who mar- 
ried Theodore Perkins; Peter B. ; Stephen C. ; Lucy^., who married 
Horace Perkins; William L,; Betsey M.; Drew M.; Betsey M. (2), who 
married Elihu F, Terrell ; Sarah J,, who married Sanford Thorp ; Lois 
Ann Miller, who married first David Gregory, and second Virgil H, 
Worden ; Charles W. ; and Paul Milton. All of these children are now 
deceased. 

Paul JIilton Johnston, Sr. Although thirty-five years have passed 
since the death of Paul Milton Johnston, a record of his life is worthy 
of a place in any history of the community of Lorain County. One of 
the early school teachers of tJiis vicinity, he was also engaged in business 
and agricultural ventures, and throughout a life of industry and use- 
fulness held the confidence and warm regard of those with whom he 
was brought into contact in any capacity. 

Jlr. Johnston was born at Shelby, Orleans County, New York, April 
12, 1827, and died at Grafton, Lorain County, Ohio, November 28, 1880. 
He was a son of Thomas and Susanna (Cleveland) Johnston, pioneers 
of the Western Reserve of Ohio, of whom separate mention is extensively 
made in another part of this work. In 1832 Mr. Johnston moved with 
his parents to Ohio, settling at Brunswick, Medina County, on a farm, 
and in November. 1838, came to Lorain County, the family locating on 
land on the east branch of the Black River, about one mile south of 
Grafton. There the father erected a log house and planted an orchard, 
and there the sons were brought up to agricultural pursuits, Paul M. 
Johnston worked on the old home farm until attaining his ma.iority, 
and in the meantime secured such educational training as was afforded 
by the pioneer schools. He qualified as a teacher and for several years 
was in charge of schools in his locality, but subsequently engaged as a 
drover in company with his brother Charles, with whom he made a tour 
of the states of Ohio, Indiana. Illinois and Wisconsin. 

On Christmas eve, 1857, Mr. Johnston was married at LaGrange, 
Ohio, to Maria Hicks Obitts, who was bom at Antwerp, Jefferson County, 
New York. April 17, 1834, a daughter of Jacob and Betsey (Gillett) 
Obitta. Not long after his marriage Mr. Johnston engaged in the gen- 
eral merchandise business with George Robbins, Freeman Sheldon -and 
Lionel Sheldon, but about 1860 moved to Liverpool, Medina Couuty, 
Ohio, and there with George W. Noble became the founder of an iron 
foundry. Sir. Johnston was a man of phenomenal strength and at vari- 
ous times it was his pleasure to show his prowess in this direction to his 
friends. While living at Liverpool, on one occasion he made a wager 
that he could carry a hog for a quarter of a mile, a task which was aeeom- 



y Google 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 747 

pUshed by him, but which soon cost him dearly, as within the next few 
days he was stricken with apoplexy, from the ^ects of which he never 
fully recovered. For several weeks he lay at death's door, but finally 
reecfvered sufficiently to do ordinary work. About 1864 he disposed 
of his interests in the iron foundry and purchased a farm in Qrafton 
Township, Lorain County, near Kingsby's Comers, and in 1869 traded 
this for another farm, located on the Black Eiver about one-quarter ot 
a mile from the original place on which his father had settled. Here 
he lived in comparative comfort and happiness for several years, but 
August 12, 1875, his wife died after only a few weeks of illness, during 
which the devoted husband nursed her night and day, and really wrecked 
his own health which had not been any too strong. His constitution was 
hearty, however, and undoubtedly he would have recovered had he made 
the effort, but the death of his wife, of whom he was fond beyond the 
average nature of conjugal love, caused him to lose interest in life, and 
while he survived her for five years, it was ever his expressed wish that 
he go to join her. To add to his troubles, in the next winter, at La- 
Grange, whence he had gone to live for a year after leasing the home 
farm, he slipped upon the icy streets and fractured the cap of his knee 
in three places, which rendered him a cripple for life. In the following 
year he moved back to the farm, but was dependent upon his sons, 
William and Charles, for all the work in the fields, and upon his dao^- 
ter Helena, for the care of the house. In 1879 he sold his farm and 
bought a property at Grafton, and there the remaining year of his life 
was passed. 

There were four children in the family, namely : "W. B., who is a 
practicing attorney at Elyria; Mrs, Helena M. Rawson, who died at 
LaQrange in September, 1914 ; Capt. Charles E., of Washington, D. C. ; 
and Paul M. Jr., of Elyria, of whom special mention is made in following 
sketch. The children were all educated in the schools of Lorain County, 
and Capt. Charles E. is a graduate of Elyria High School and the mili- 
tary academy at Annapolis; while Helena was a graduate of the Grafton 
High School ; and Paul M. completed his studies at the LaOrange High 
School. 

PauIj iliLTON- JoDNSTOK, Jk. One of the beneficent institutions of 
Lorain County, the founding of which was regarded with general satis- 
faction by members of the bar, as well as by people interested in the 
welfare of children, and the importance and value of which has become 
more and more recognized as the years have passed, is the Lorain 
County Jnvenile Court, which under the administration of its officers 
has proved a triumphant success, vindicating the faith of its projectors 
and realizing the hopes of the humane men and women who had called 
it into being. Since April, 1913, one of the leading contributors to the 
success of this court has been Paul Milton Johnston, Jr., who bears the 
title of Chief Probation Officer, and who has labored energetically and 
disinterestedly in behalf of the welfare of the youthful charges placed 
in his care. 

ilr. Johnston was bom at Grafton, Lorain County, Ohio, June 9, 
1875, and is a son of Paul M. and Maria Hicks (Obitts) Johnston, whose 
histories furnish subject matter for another sketch to be found elsewhere 
in this work. Mr. Johnston 's mother died when he was about two months 
old and at that time he was taken into the family of his aunt, Mrs. Julius 
Beeman Gott. of LaGrange, Ohio. He grew up at that place and 
attended the public schools, and was graduated in 1890, following which 
he took a commercial course at Caton's Business College, Cleveland. On 
his return to LaGrange, he secured employment in a general merchandise 



vGoogle 



748 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

store, where he earned the reputation of being faithful, industrious and 
enei^tie. An odd coincidence is found in the fact that this store was 
located on the identical site of the one in which Mr. Johnston's father 
had commenced business many years before. In 1908, with associates, 
Mr. Johnston incorporated the LaGrange Elevator Company, with which . 
he was identified until Apiil, 1913. While at LaOrange he had served 
in the capacity of councilman, corporation clerk and township clerk, 
having been first elected to the last named office when he was but twenty- 
one years of age and continuing to hold it as long as he remained at 
LaGrange. He came to Elyria in April, 1913, when he received the 
appointment of chief probation officer from Judge H. C. Wilcox of the 
Juvenile Court, a position in which he has won the universal regard of 
the community because of the work he has accomplished for the youth 
of the county. 

Mr. Johnston is a member of LaGrange Lodge No. 399, Free and 
Accepted Masons, as well as the Chapter and Council at Elyria ; and the 
Modem Woodmen of America, Camp No. 7729, of LaGrange. With his 
family, he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Johnston was married June 15, 1898, to Miss Hattie Electa 
Underhill, daughter of Hon. A. R, and Sophronia (Sweet) Underbill. 
Mrs. Johnston was bom at LaGrange, a member of that city's old and 
honored family of Underhill, her father now being mayor of the city. 
She received good educational advantages, being a graduate of the La- 
Grange High School. Mrs. Johnston is not a clubwoman, preferring her 
borne to outside connections, but is a member of the Order of the Eastern 
Star, and is active in religious work of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, in which she belongs to several societies. Two children have 
been bom to Mr, and Mrs. Johnston: Wilms, bom at LaGrange; and 
Paul M. Ill, bom at Elyria. 

Angklo Delia. As Italy has been the source of some of the world's 
greatest art and literature for centuries, it is a distinction to the City of 
Elyria that it possesses among its citizens one of the most finished 
sculptors from the shores of that artistic nation. Angelo Delia had a 
passion for art as a boy, went against the wishes of his parents and 
friends, who had planned a career for him in the church, and passed 
years of study and hard apprenticeship in learning all the details of 
sculpture. Mr. Delia is now one of Elyria 's successful business men and 
head of the firm of Delia & Galli, manufacturers and dealers in cemetery 
memorials of granite, marble and bronze, and contractors in building and 
carving. The home of the company is at 244 East Broad Street, 

The birthplaiie of Angelo Delia was the Town of Besano, Italy, where 
he first saw the light of day July 15, 1884. His parents are Giovanni 
and Angela (Galli) Delia, the former also a native of Besano and the 
latter of Quasso, Italy. His father is a mason by trade and a railroad 
contractor and still lives at Besano and in the course of his active career 
has been steadily pursuing his trade and the contracting business and 
is one of the influential citizens of his community. He saw active ser^'ice 
for the required time in the standing army of Italy, but being now past 
the militory age will probably not be called upon for active service in 
the present war, except in case of extreme need. Angelo is the youngest 
of a family of two sons and two daughters. The oldest is Mrs. Marta 
Bottinelli of Besano, Italy ; Ija7.zaro Delia is married and is residing in 
Algeria, Northern Africa, where he is a mason contractor in railroad 
building; Maria Bottinelli who married a cousin to her older sister's 
husband, died at Wilmington, Delaware, in 1912. 

A short time before the birth of Angelo Delia a new priest came to 
the parish including Besano, and his was the first birth under the 



h.'^iUOgle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 749 

pastorate of that venerable father, who was greatly beloved in that 
locality and in many ways befriended the members of the Delia family. 
As already stated it was the wish of his father that Angelo Delia should 
enter the priesthood, and the devout priest used all his influence to the 
same end. The boy might have received the best advantages of the 
Italian schools and seminaries, but from an early age his desire was all 
for an artistic career. After attending the schools of Besano until he 
was ten years of age, he found opportunities to study the art of sculpture 
at Vigiu. Vigiu is a town noted for its fine opportunities to students 
of this art, and he remained there working and studying for five years. 
He received no pay during this apprenticeship, and as Vigiu was five 
miles from his home he walked back and forth the entire distance both 
ways night and morning, and through rain or shine. While atVigiu he 
was employed two or three hours of each day with the hammer, and 
then went with the other students to study and practice drawing and 
designing, and also in clay modeling and figure moulding. Then after 
the day's stady and work was completed he attended what is called the 
Corporation College during the night classes. This college is conducted 
for the benefit of young men learning the technical trades, and classes 
are held for instruction in practically all of the technical and industrial 
arts. At the end of his five years at Vigiu he won a first premium for 
his skill in carving. The next step in his profession was to locate at 
Milan, Italy, where he attended the Brera Milano, one of the largest 
colleges in Italy for the teaching of drawing, sculpture and architecture. 
He remained in that college two years. 

In 1901 Mr. Delia came to the United States, landing at Castle Garden 
in New York, and first locating at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he was 
employed for two months in a monument shop. The persistent smoky 
atmosphere of Pittsburg caused him to leave and go to Cleveland, where 
for a year and a half he was employed in monument work by Joseph 
Carabelli, and then in similar employment with the firm of Broggini 
Brothers for six months at Cleveland. In 1905 Mr. Delia came to Elyria, 
and was in the employ of S. L. Sands until he and his partner, Mr. Galli, 
bought out the business in 1912. The firm of Delia & Oalli are now the 
principal center in Lorain County for artistic products in sculptured 
material. 

Fraternally Mr. Delia is affiliated with Elyria Aerie No. 431 of the 
Fraternal Order of Eagles. He married Miss Amelia Malnati in Cleve- 
land, a daughter of Angelo Malnati and wife, both of whom died at 
Cleveland. 

Caesar A, Galli, Junior member of the firm of Delia & Galli, manu- 
facturers and dealers in cemetery memorials, of granite, marble and 
bronze, and contractors in building and carving of all kinds, Caesar A. 
Galli is a competent associate with Mr. Delia in one of the most important 
concerns of its kind in Northern Ohio. Both proprietors of this firm are 
experienced stone carvers, sculptors, and have both the practical and 
artistic side of their profession thoroughly mastered. 

A native of Italy, Caesar A. Galli was bom in Saltrio, July 20, 1886, 
a son of Fedele and Lucia (Sartorelli) Galli. His parents were born in 
the same locality, and his father is still living there and for years has 
carried on the same business as that in which his son is engaged at Elyria. 
He had a large business as a manufacturer until the European war 
brought the industry practically to a standstill. Formerly he took many 
contracts for the construction of buildings out of solid granite, but that 
durable and expensive process has practically become obsolete since the 
introduction of tile, cement and other materials in building construction. 
The father saw active service with the Italian army in the war against 



,y Google 



750 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Austria both in 1859 and again in 1866, and is now a pensioner for his 
service. The mother died in Italy about 1895, They had a large house- 
hold of children. Nine of the sons are now in the United States. One 
of them, James Galli, is manager of the Presbrey-Cuykendall Company, 
at Barre, Vermont, one of the largest concerns of its kind in the East 
for contracting in granite work and in the building of mausoleums. 
Some of the other sons are employed under James Galli at Barre, and 
there are two sisters living in that city, besides one at home in Italy. 
Four of the family are deceased, and altogether there was a lai^ number 
of children who grew up in the Galli household back in Italy. 

Until he was twelve years of age Caesar A. Galli attended the local 
schools. He then was placed in the Brera Milano at Milan, Italy, and 
learned both the technic of the practical trade and the art of sculpture. 
His training was unusually thorough. While in the school he worked in 
clay modeling each day for two hours, then spent a similar time in 
designing, and then performed practical work with the chisel for two 
hours. In this way he went along for seven years, and at the age of 
nineteen years had finished his apprenticeship as a sculptor. 

On coming to the United States and landing in New York City on 
May 2, 1904, he went at once to Barre, Vermont, where some of his older 
brothers had located ten years previously. He found work in that great 
center of the granite industry for two years, and at the age of twenty 
went to Boston and for three months was employed on the Cambridge 
Bridge, His next location as a journeyman was in New York City, and 
also in Newark, New Jersey, where he was employed in several different 
contracts of carving and sculpture work. From there he went to the 
Southwest, at Llano, Texas, and for about six months was engaged in 
stone carving for a church at Houston, Texas. Returning East, he 
worked on the Metropolitan Building at Twenty-third Street and Sixth 
Avenue in New Yorlr City as a carver, subsequently on the courthouse 
at Jersey City, New Jersey, and for six months was one of the can-ers at 
Washington, District of Columbia, on the National Museum Building. 
Then followed a period of travel over the New England states ending 
with his arrival at Cleveland, Ohio, in 1909, He spent about a year in 
Cleveland, most of the time engaged in carving for the Cuyahoga County 
Courthouse. 

On March 29, 1909, Mr. Galli married in Cleveland Miss Pearl 
Malnati. She was also born in Italy. After their marriage Mr. Galli 
returned to Barre, Vermont, and for a time was employed by the 
Presbrey-Cuykendall Company as a traveling inspector for their mauso- 
leums and other granite construction contracts. After six months his 
employment in this firm was terminated by the big strike in the granite 
quarries by the granite cutters. This interval he filled up by work on 
the Soldiers and Sailors Monument on the public square in Syracuse, 
New York, and then returned to Barre and took a well earned vacation. 
His next location was at Boston, where he took for himself a contract to 
perform part of the carving for the Municipal Building in New York 
City. The carving was all done in Boston, and the finished material 
shipped from that city to New York. 

Having finished this contract, Mr. Galli came from Boston direct to 
Elyria in 1912, and here joined his brother-in-law, Angelo Delia, who 
had also married a Miss Malnati, and tt^ether they bought the monument 
business of S. L, Sands. In the past three years they have built up 
their business second to none of its kind in Lorain County and among 
the first in Northern Ohio, 

Mr. Galli is affiliated with Elyria Lodge No. 431 of the Fraternal 
Order of Eagles, is a member of the Granite Cutters International Union 
Association, of the Ohio Retail Monument Dealers Association, and the 



b.»^ioogle 



vGoogle 



v-\.xAy^jX'^^^-^^-<A 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 751 

National Retail Monument Dealers Association. He and his wife have 
one daughter, Alma C, who was bom in Barre, Vermont, and b now 
five years of age. 

Francis 0. Bichey. Tlie only member of the Lorain County bar 
making a specialty of patent law, and the only one thoroughly qualified 
in this county for ita practice is F. 0. Richey, who since locating here 
has developed a large business mostly in corporation and patent work. 
For a number of years Mr, Richey lived in Washington, District of 
Columbia, and while there was connected with the patent office, an 
experience which has proved invaluable to him in bis practice as a patent 
lawyer. 

A YirgLDian by birth, Francis 0, Richey was bom in Clarke County 
of that state August 15, 1878, a son of John S, and Ella M, (Locke) 
Bichey, who were also natives of Virginia and since 1913 have lived in 
Elyria, John S. Richey as secretary of the Retail Merchants Association 
of Elyria has offices in the Chamber of Commerce, In earlier years he 
was a merchant at Port Defiance, Virginia, and in the same line of busi- 
ness at St. Joseph, Missouri, until moving to Elyria in 1915. F, 0. 
Richey is the oldest in a family of nine children, eight of whom are 
living, three of them in New York State, one in Boston, one in Tennessee, 
and one in Montana, He and his brother Herbert are the only ones living 
in Lorain County. Herbert has his home in the Y. M. C. A. Building 
at Elyria. 

Mr. Richey was liberally educated, took his preparatory work in the 
Augusta Military Academy in Augusta County, Virginia, and then 
entered the University of Virginia, from which he received a degree in 
electrical engineering. He is thus a man of thorough technical training, 
and in the branch of law to which he gives his chief attention that is 
almost as essential as his knowledge of the fundamental principles of 
jurisprudence. While living in the City of Washington Mr. Richey 
studied law in the National University, and his degree of LL. B. was 
given by that institution. For three years he was assistant examiner in 
the patent office at Washington, then in March, 1909, came to Elyria as 
special counsel for the Deau Electric Company, having charge of their 
law and patent work. Since 1914 Mr. Richey has been in practice as 
attorney and counselor at law, with special attention to patent and trade 
mark causes, and with offices in the Masonic Temple. 

Owing to the fact that his home after reaching majority was in the 
City of Washington until coming to Elyria, Mr, Richey cast his first vote 
in this city. This is due to the fact that all residents of the District of 
Columbia are without the right of franchise. Mr. Richey is affiliated with 
Elyria Lodge No. 456 of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, is 
a member of the Y. M. C. A., the Elyria Country Club, the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, and his hard work at his profession is varied 
by his recreative pursuits of golf in the summer and hand ball in the 
winter. 

On May 21, 1914, he married Miss Helen D. Betteridge of Elyria, a 
sister of Dr. Edward Betteridge of that city. Mrs. Richey was born in 
Kentucky but received her education in the public schools at Elyria, 
being a graduate of the high school in 1912. Mr. and Mrs. Richey have a 
little daughter, Bettie Jane, horn June 29, 1915. 

Frank Marion Stevens. Since establishing himself in active prae- 

' tice of the law at Elyria nineteen years ago, Mr. Stevens has enjoyed 

many of the most substantial successes of the able lawyer, has interested 

himself in politics with disinterested motives and has several times been 

honored with office and his professional, business and social connections 



y Google 



752 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

indicate that he has won a most enviable position in the community. 
A native of Chicago, Frank M. Stevena was bom February 27, 1873, a 
son of George W. and Iilellissa (Fullington) Stevens. His parents are 
both living in Elyria, and have had their home there since 1887. His 
father, who was born in the vicinity of Concord, New Hampshire, spent 
his active career as a railroad man, and for many years was with the 
Lake Shore and Michigan Southern. While living in Chicago he was 
superintendent of the shops of the West End, later was stationed at 
Elkhart, Indiana, as master mechanic, and was superintendent of motive 
power at Cleveland until he retired from the service. His wife was 
born at Ypsilanti, Michigan. Their children, all living, are three boys 
and two girls, mentioned in order of age as follows: Mrs, T. S, Faxon, 
of Elyria ; Frank M, ; George, a resident of New York City ; H. C, of 
Chicago; and Mrs. Robert Ely of Elyria. All were born in Elkhart, 
Indiana, except Frank Marion. 

Mr. Stevens was liberally educated, having graduated from the 
Elyria High School with the class of 1891, and subsequently was a 
stndent in Adelbert College, Western Reserve University and Ohio State 
University. He attended the academy of Western Reserve University 
one year, then entered Adelbert College, and during two years, 1893 to 
1895, spent at home after leaving coll^^, he read law in the office of 
Johnston & Leonard at Elyria. He then continued bis studies in the 
University of Ohio, where he was graduated LL. B. in 1897. During 
1898 he gained his initial experience as a lawyer at Elyria in the office 
of the late E. G. Johnson, who was in his time one of the moat prominent 
members of the Lorain County bar. Since 1899 Sir. Stevens has con- 
ducted an independent practice, and has looked after a broad range of 
legal business, having been connected with 'some of the most important 
cases tried in the local courts during that time. Most of bis public 
service has been within the line of his profession. In politics he is an 
active republican, and served four years from 1899 to 190i as city 
solicitor of Elyria, and for seven successive years was prosecuting 
attorney of Lorain County, from 1906 to 1912. Mr. Stevens is also a 
director of the National Bank of Elyria, a director of the Hecock Floral 
Company of Elyria, a director of the Lorain Building Company, of the 
Lorain County Electric Company. 

He is a member of all the Masonic bodies of Elyria and is also a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason. He is also affiliated with the 
Knights of the Maccabees at Elyria, the Woodmen of the World, and 
Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. His 
name is found on the membership rolls of such organizations as the Lorain 
County Bar Association, the Elyria Coiintry Club, the Elyria Chamber 
of Commerce, and his fondness for outdoor life leads him into such 
recreations as baseball, golf and tennis. In a political way he rendered 
some valuable service as secretary of the Lorain County Republican 
Executive Committee during McKinley's two campaigns in 1896 and 
1900, and from 1900 to 1904 was the clerk of the board of elections. He 
is a member of the Elyria Board of Education. 

On October 4, 1901, Mr. Stevens married Miss Helen M. Moriarty, 
daughter of Mrs. Ellen Moriarty of Elyria. She was bom and educated 
at Klyria. and is the mother of two children : Frank E.. bom at Elyria, 
March 27, 1904; and Richard F., bom at Elyria, November 3, 1907. 

Dr. H. Lynn Knapp, D. 0. At Elyria one of the physicians who can 
claim a patronage of exceptional numerical strength and value is Doctor ' 
Knapp, osteopath, who during nearly ten years of residence in Lorain 
County has enjoyed a success and standing that are creditable not only 
to him personally but to his profession. It is largely through the able 



b.'^ioogle 



HISTORY OP L'ORAIN COUNTY 753 

and conscientious work of such men as Doctor Kuapp that ostet^athy, 
■which originated only about twenty years ago, has won its place with 
the older schools of medicine. Doctor Knapp is one of the ablest 
exponents of this science in Northern Ohio. 

A New Yorker by birth. Doctor Knapp was bom in North Collins, 
Erie County, twenty miles from the City of Buffalo, on July 19, 1883, 
His parents are Anthony Wayne, who was named for the famous Indian 
fighter, and Florence (Wood) Knapp, His father was bom in Perrys- 
burg. New York, and his mother at North Collins, and they were married 
and spent many years in the latter locality. They now reside retired at 
East Aurora, New York. Anthony W. Knapp spent twenty-six years as 
a teacher in country schools in New York State. He received his educa- 
tion from the public schools of Erie County. He is affiliated with the 
Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at North Collins. Of 
the three children in the family the first two are twin daughters, Clara 
and Carrie, the former now Mrs. H. H. Graham of Buffalo, New York, 
and the latter Mrs. A. Ross Gray, of Pittsburg," Pennsylvania. All the 
children were bom at the home of their parents in North Collins in Erie 
County, and received their education in the public schools of Buffalo. 

Doctor Knapp is a graduate of Hasten Park High School of Buffalo 
with the class of 1901, and having determined upon a professional career 
he soon afterwards entered the S. S, Still College of Osteopathy at Des 
Moines, Iowa, from which he received his degree D. 0. in 1905. His 
practice began in Galveston, Texas, in 1905, but after nine months ho 
returned north and since July, 1906, has had his home and office at 
Elyria. Doctor Knapp has his offices in the Masonic Temple, and is a 
member of the American Osteopathic Association. Fratemally he is 
identified with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, 
with the Royal Arch Chapter, and takes an active interest in local affairs, 
largely through the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. His religious faith 
is that of the Unitarian Church. His principal recreation is found in 
automobiling, and he is a member of the Elyria Automobile Association. 

September 30, 1907, Doctor Knapp married Miss Esther M. Kamper, 
a woman of broad culture and a member of one of the fine old families of 
Buffalo, New York, her parents being W, R, and Lulu Lenice (Wilgus) 
Kamper, both of whom are now living at Buffalo, where her father is in 
the wholesale business. Mrs. Knapp was born in Buffalo, attended the 
public schools and is also a graduate of the Masten Park High School. 
Dr. and Mrs. Knapp have two children, Leuice Florence, who was bom 
March 2, 1909, in Elyria and her names are in honor of her two grand- 
mothers, and Lester Ben, bom September 3, 1915. The residence of 
Doctor Knapp and family is at 206 Harvard Avenue. 

H.\RRY A, Pounds, who has been a lawyer in this city for more than 
fifteen years, is a member of the firm of Pounds & Redington, with offices 
in the Elyria Block. This firm has a high reputation for the successfnl 
results of many important cases which have gone through their bands. 

Harry A. Pounds was bom in Eaton Township of Lorain County, 
Ohio, July 25, 1874, a son of Thomas M. and Mary Prances (Zehring) 
Pounds, His father was bom in Mercer County, Pennsylvania, and was 
brought when a child to Wayne County, Ohio, where he married Miss 
Zehring, a native of that county. They were married about 1865, and 
in 1868 they settled in Eaton Township of Lorain County. Thomas 
Pounds spent most of his life as a farmer, but during his youth had 
served an apprenticeship to a tanner, and while living in Wayne County 
worked at his trade and also had a tannery at West Lebanon. He was 
connected with the tanning business after locating in Lorain County. 
He gave up farming in 1883 and moved to Elyria, where he lived retired. 



y Google 



754 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

renting his place in Eaton Township, until his death on February 28, 
1887, His widow is still living in Elyria, There were two children, and 
the daughter Mildred Louise now lives with her mother and is a teacher 
in the Elyria public schools. 

Harry A. Pounds has lived at Elyria since he was nine years old. His 
education was continued in the public schools of that city, and he grad- 
uated from high school in 1891. After a brief attendance at the Ohio 
Wesleyan University in Delaware he entered the law department of the 
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and remained until graduating 
LL. B. with the class of 1898, In October of the same year he was 
admitted by examination to the Ohio bar, and began active practice in 
Elyria on March 1, 1898. He soon came to be known as a youug attorney 
of excellent habits and ability and the skill and enei^ which he put into 
the conduct of his cases soon brought him an important practice. He 
was engaged in individual practice until January, 1915, at which time 
the present partnership of Pounds & Redington was established. His 
associate is Harry M. Bedington, a well known lawyer whose name is 
mentioned on other pages. 

Mr. Pounds has not given all his time to private practice. From 1908 
to 1912, a period of four years, he served as city solicitor of Elyria. He 
was director of public safety for one year from January 1, 1912, to 
February 1, 1913. He is a republican in politics and a member of the 
Lorain County Bar Association. 

On June 4, 1908, Mr. Pounds married Miss Nellie M. Hastings, daugh- 
ter of Lewis and Harriet (Gott) Hastings of Elyria. Both the Gott and 
Hastings families have been long established in LaOrange Townrfiip of 
Lorain County, and Mrs. Pouads was bom and educated in the Village 
of LaGrange in that township. 

H4ERY HiNKSON. Ouc of thc old established men in the contracting 
and building business in Lorain County is Harry Hinkson, who has 
recently opened offices alone in the Masonic Temple at Elyria, and now 
looks after a large business as a contractor and builder and also in real 
estate and insurance. He eame to Lorain County more than a quarter of 
a century ago, and has been almost continuously identified with contract- 
ing and has acquired a number of other interests. 

His early life was spent mainly in Buffalo, New York, though he was 
bom in Dubuque, Iowa, September 15, 1867, a son of Ransom and Hattie 
(Barnett) Hinkson. His father was born in Ottawa, Canada, and the 
mother was born in Wiltshire, England, and when about two years of 
age was brought to the United States by her parents who located in 
Dubuque, Iowa, in which city she was reared and married. In the spring 
of 1873 the family removed to Buffalo, New York, where she died in 
1907, at the age of fifty-eight.' Ransom Hinkson when a boy went with 
bis parents to Iowa, and lived there until the removal to Buffalo already 
mentioned. Grandfather Hinkson owned and kept a tavern on the (Ad 
overland route to California. It wecs a flourishing institution during 
the memorable days of '49 and following, when all the roads of the 
West were crowded with emigrants and gold seekers, and large numbers 
of them were entertained at the Hinkson Tavern. This house was the 
last of its type along that route to give way to a more modern hotel. The 
Hinksons were thus among the early settlers of Iowa, and Ransom Hink- 
son hauled the first poles for the first telegraph line built through that 
section of the state, not many years after the telegraph had become a 
practical means for the transmission of intelligence. By business he 
was a general contractor and since 1873 has lived in Buffalo, and begin- 
ning with the first administration of President Cleveland has continuously 



hv'^iUU'^IL 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 755 

served as cattle inspector at the Buffalo Stock Yards. He is uow sixty- 
eight years of age. Of the tive children in the family, two sous and three 
daughters, two died in infancy and the three now living are: Uarry; 
Ruby, Mrs. tilen Fai^o of Buffalo ; and May, wife of Harold Itlartin of 
Cleveland, Ohio. All the children were born in Iowa, 

About hve years of age when the family left Iowa and established 
their home in Buffalo, Harry Hinkson regularly attended the public 
schools of that city up to thirteen. Since that age he has been doing for 
himself, and bis tirst employment was in a planing mill. He remained 
with that industry in Buffalo until 1889, and in that year came to Elyria 
to take charge, as foreman, of the sash and door department of the John 
Hart Planing Mill. A few years later ill health compelled him to give 
up the contlning work of the mill, and for a year he was employed in 
farm labor in the country districts. Since returning to Elyria in 1895 
he has been engaged in contracting and his business record now covers 
fully twenty years. A general opinion in that community is that Mr. 
Hinkson put the full force of his character and ability into everj' under- 
taking, and it was as a result of this characteristic that in a few years 
he had a larger business than he could individually attend to, and con- 
sequently in 1903 he organized the Hinkson-Halpin Company, contractors 
and builders. After retiring from this concern, he organized the corpora- 
tion known as Hiukson-Butten bender Company, general contractors, and 
dealers in real estate and insurance. He became president of the new 
organization, and after the Elyria Block in which the offices were located 
bad burned the company moved its headquarters to the Masonic Temple. 
On March 1, 1915, the corporation was dissolved, and throughout its 
existence Mr. Hinl^on had been president. As already stated he is now 
in business alone. In the course of his career at Elyria he has constructed 
a lai^ number of the more substantial business buildings and residences, 
and has done an important work in developing unimproved real estate. 
He is also treasurer of the Park Amusement Company of Elyria, is 
president of the Elyria Fence Supply Company, and a stockholder in 
several other enterprises. He is the owner of considerable real estate 
and his own home is on Lake Avenue in Elyria Township juat outside the 
city limits. 

In politics he has been active as a democrat, though the subordinate 
position of that party in Lorain County has not permitted his able 
qualifications to represent the people in public office. He was the unsuc- 
cessful candidate of his party for sheriff in the fall of 1914. He is a 
member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, belongs to the Elyria Auto- 
mobile Association, and takes a prominent part in fraternal orders. He 
is chairman of the trustees of the local branch of the Fraternal Order of 
Eagles, and a member of its building committee, and is also affiliated 
with Elyria Lodge No. 465, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the 
Loyal Order of Moose, the Knights of Pythias, the Knights of the 
Maccabees, and in Masonry belongs to King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free 
and Accepted Masons, Marshall Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons, and 
Elyria Council No. 86, Royal aqd Select Masters. 

October 23. 1890, he married Miss Bertha M. Eekler of Cariide, 
Lorain County, daughter of John H. and Cornelia M. (Hart) Eekler, 
who were old settlers of Carlisle having come originally from Connecticut. 
Her father died on the homestead in Carlisle and her mother is now 
living in Elyria. Mrs. Hinkson was born and educated in Carlisle. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hinkson have a son, Rollin E., who was bom at Elyria and 
following the work of the public schools finished his education in the 
Elyria Business College. 



y Google 



756 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Hi:gh D. Greer, D. D. S. Of the many professional men who have 
their headquarters ia the Masonic Temple at Elyria, Dr. Hugh D, Qreer, 
dentist, is regarded as one of the ablest members of his profession and 
during his residence in Lorain County has made himself an influential 
factor in local affairs. Doctor Greer has a wide and varied experience 
in his profession, covering more than twenty years, and has seen a great 
deal of the country and of men and affairs generally. 

His birth occurred in Lexington, Missouri, April 4, 1864. His 
parents were Joseph R. and Tabitha (DickinsOD) Greer. His father was 
born in Virginia and his mother in Kentucky. When Doctor Greer was 
six years of age his father died and he was only two years old when 
deprived of 8 mother's care. The parents were married in Mecklin, 
Jackson County, Missouri. Joseph R. Greer was descended from the old 
McGregor stock of Scotland, where his father was bom. Grandfather 
Greer on coming from Scotland brought two other brothers and first 
settled in New York and then moved to Virginia, where his son Joseph 
was born. Tabitha Dickinson was a Kentucky girl from the Blue Grass 
State, but her mother and father were both natives of England. Joseph 
R. Greer and his wife are buried in a little country churchyard located 
four miles west of ^lecklin and about twenty-eight miles east of Kansas 
City, Missouri, a place which their son Doctor Greer visits whenever he 
is in that vicinity. Doctor Greer has one sister, one brother and a half 
brother: Mrs. Charles H. Ayers of Independence, Missouri; Thomas S,, 
a physician and sui^on of Edgerton, Kansas; and Charles L., a half 
brother, whose mother was Nannie (White) Greer and who died at the 
birth of this only child, who is now a resident of Kansas City, Missouri. 
Nannie White's father lived at Pleasant Hill, Missouri. She died in 
April, 1870, and Joseph R, Greer passed away November 30, 1870, All 
the children including Doctor Hugh were reared in the home of an 
uncle and aunt, William Thomas and Elizabeth J. (Greer) Bell at 
Lexington, Missouri. In the spring of 1913 Doctor Qreer visited these 
worthy people, for whom he has the strongest affection, for the first time 
in four years, but prior to that time had made it a practice to see them 
every year. Mr. Bell was an active farmer but has been retired for the 
past thirty years. 

Doctor Qreer lived with Mr. and Mrs. Bell on their farm until the 
age of fifteen. His education came from the public schools of Lexington, 
Missouri, but when quite young he found work as weighmaster in the 
coal mines at Wellington, Missouri, for the Wellington Coal Company, 
and was with that firm about four years. His next position was in the 
wholesale grocery house of Beckham-Mercer & Company at Kansas City, 
banning as stock boy and having a place in the bookkeeping depart- 
ment when he left. It was while in that business that he gained his real 
education and training for life except his equipment for his profession. 
On leaving the grocery house he went to Texas and was at first one 
place and then another for about a year, after which he returned to 
Independence, ^lissouri, spent one year iji the retail coal business, and 
then entered the dental office of Parker & Monser, dentists, and after 
being with them two years received a preceptor's certificate, which in 
those days entitled the holder to practice after registering the same with 
the county clerk. After ten months of practice Doctor Greer determined 
that he was insufficiently equipped for the profession, at least to pursue 
it independently, and accordingly gave up his office and went west to 
San Francisco. While he practiced dentistry there to some extent, his 
ill health interfered with any regular vocation and he put in his time 
chiefly in recuperating his strength. He lived on the Pacific Coast from 
the spring of 1888 to the fall of 1891, and after returning East his 
physician confided to him that he had sent him out to the coast to die, 



b,»^iUU' 



,glc 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 757 

but was pleasantly disappointed at the rapid recovery. On returning 
to Kansas City Doctor Greer entered the office of Dr. George S. Monser, 
dentist, who had in the meantime moved to that city from Independence. 
He remained with him in practice about a year, and then going to 
Wichita, Kansas, was for six months in the employ of Doctor Boyd, a 
dentist there. He then opened an office for himself in "Wichita, but at 
the end of six months sold out, and his next home was in Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, where for about a year he was employed in the offices of 
the New York Dentists in that city. He then opened an office of his 
own in Allegheny, now a part of Greater Pittsburg. This was about 
1894. While in practice at Allegheny he also attended the Pittsburg 
Dental College, and few members of the profession have studied harder 
and done more to acquire proficiency and expertness in this calling. In 
1898 Doctor Greer registered for practice in Ohio, and in May of that 
year located at Elyria. For nearly ten years he practiced with offices 
in the Wurst Block at 535 Broad Street, but sold out his practice in 
October, 1907, and for the following six years practiced in the metro- 
politan City of Cleveland, where his office was located just across from 
Higbee Company's big store on Euclid Avenue. On leaving Cleveland 
Doctor Greer returned to Elyria in June, 1913, and in the subsequent 
two years has acquired a large and profitable practice. 

In politics Doctor Greer is a democrat, and that is unfortunate for 
the community, since he is eminently qualiBed for public service, but 
Lorain County has long been unfavorable to democratic candidates how- 
ever well qualified, and it is only seldom that the individual popularity 
of a candidate overcomes the normal party prejudice. Doctor Greer in 
the fail of 1914 was on the democratic ticket as nominee for county 
auditor, and at an earlier date in 1902 had been a candidate for council- 
man at large in Elyria. 

Fraternally Doctor Greer is affiliated with King Solomon Lodge 
No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, at Elyria, with the Knights of the 
Maccabees at that city, and is well known both professionally and 
socially. His favorite recreation is mountain climbing, and whenever 
able to take a vacation he generally finds his Way to the mountainous 
districts, usually in the West. 

At Wichita, Kansas, November 25, 1892, Doctor Greer married Miss 
Ida >I. Crawraer, daughter of James P. and Elizabeth Crawmer of 
Wichita. Sirs. Greer was bom in Iowa, and was educated in the public 
schools of her native village and at Randell in that state, graduated 
from the high school at Superior, Nebraska, and subsequently finished 
a course in the Kansas State Normal School. Dr. and Mrs. Greer have 
a happy family of six children, five sons and one daughter: Arthur G. 
is now an engineer and is on one of the Great Lakes boats; Reed C. is 
in the real estate and insurance business with offices in the Masonic 
Temple at Elyria ; Hugh D., Jr., is in high school ; William Thomas Bell 
is also a high school student ; Elizabeth D., is in the grades ; and Richard 
H. begins school life in 1915. The first three children were bom in 
Pennsylvania and the others in Elyria. 

Lorenzo Dow Hamlin. At an early stage in his career, about thirty 
years ago, Lorenzo Dow Hamlin was known to a limited circle of people 
in Lorain County as a country school teacher. For some four or five 
years he was a faithful and rising employe in the service of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad, and the next stage of his career found him a Lorain 
County farmer. fVom this business he turned his attention to the law, 
and now for more than ten years has been one of the able and successful 
attorneys at Elyria. 

Bom at Ridgeville Comers, Henry County, Ohio, August 21, 1867, 



y Google 



758 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Mr. Hamlin comes of oue of the oldest American families, and his people 
have been identified with Ohio for several generations. Going back along 
the line of ancestry for a number of generations we eoiue to the record 
of James Hamlin, who emigrated from London, England, in 1639, to 
the Massachusetts Colony, and settled at Barnstable, JIassachusetts. He 
and his deseeudants became connected by marriage and other«ise with 
nearly all the old New England families. The next in line is James, II, 
and following him comes James, HI, and then James, IV. A son of the 
last James was Job Hamlin, whose life fell in the hi^oric period that 
concluded with the separation and independence of the American colonies. 
Job Hamlin was a colonial volunteer in the French and Indian wars, was 
with General Wolfe at the taking of Quebec, and later became an officer 
in the War of the Revolution. Although an i^cial member of the 
church, a record is found of his being fined for profane swearing and 
doubtless he possessed the violent temper which has been always more or 
less an inalienable characteristic of the family. Continuing the lineage 
from Job the next is David Hamlin, whose son was David II, the last 
being the grandfather of Lorenzo Dow Hamlin of Elyria. David Ham- 
lin 11, married Roxanna Crocker, and both were of the Puritan stock 
and the Crockers were likewise among the first settlers of \ew England. 
David and Roxanna came from Lee, Berkshire County, Jlassaehusetts, 
and became early settlers at Dover, Cuyahoga County, Ohio. At their 
home there Noah Crocker Hamlin, father of the Elyria lawyer, was bom 
December 14, 1832. He was a farmer, an earnest and consistent Christian 
and for sixty-five years a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and 
for more than sixty years class leader in that church. He is now living 
at the age of eighty-three on his farm two miles southeast of Elyria, 
Noah Crocker Hamlin married Lydia Lucinda Fauver on March 27, 1860, 
She was bom April 8, 1840, in Eaton Township of Lorain County, a 
daughter of Walter and Alzina (Cornell) Fauver, who came to Ohio 
from New York State many years ago. 

This brief account of the family shows that Lorenzo Dow Hamlin 
began life with the fortune of a good heritage and he grew up in a home 
of Christian ideals and with influences tending towards substantial char- 
acter and good citizenship. During the winter of each year from 1873 
to 1883 he attended the country district schools. In the latter year he 
spent one year in the Oberlin Academy, and then qualified and began 
teaching district schools in Lorain County. He alternately taught and 
attended school in Oberlin and Berea for the succeeding five years. Not 
being satisfied with the prospects arising from teaching, Mr. Hamlin in 
1889 went to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in search of employment, and 
while there attended a technical school. He never graduated from any 
institution except that of hard experience. 

Soon after going to Pittsburg he found employment with the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad as common brakeman on the main line east. He 
possessed qualities which make for advancement in any calling, and after 
ten months was promoted and spent two years as a conductor and master 
of wrecking train and crew, and the company then sent him into the Union 
yards at Pittsburg as assistant yard dispatcher. Resigning from the 
railroad service in June, 1893, with a certificate testifying to his good 
service, he returned to Lorain County and took up the vocation of fanner 
in Carlisle Township. That was his work for seven years. In 1900 he 
began the study of law with Judge Lee Stroup in Elyria, who was at 
that time prosecuting attorney of the county. Mr. Hamlin was admitted 
to the bar in 1903, and has been in active practice at Elyria since May, 
1904, with offices now in the Turner Block. It should also he mentioned 
that while a student of law between 1900 and 1902 he paid part of his 
expenses as a teacher in the Elyria Business College. 



y Google 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 759 

For a number of years Mr. Hamlin has been active in republican 
polities, and is a man of pro^essive inclinations, but believes that all 
reforms should be conducted within the ranks of the party rather than 
by the familiar practice of "bolting" or disruption. For three years he 
was a member of the Republican County Executive Committee. Though 
an active party worker Mr. Hamlin's scrupulous integrity and rigid 
adherence to the ideals of public service have not been entirely favorable 
to his political advancement. His first public otBce was as clerk of Carlisle 
Township to which he was elected in 1894 and in which he served six 
years. In 1902 Governor George K. Nash appointed him a member of 
the Ohio Investigating Canal Commission and he remained with that 
commission eighteen months and it is said that during that time he waa 
the only man who had ever personally inspected or even seen the entire 
canal system of the state. In the fall of 1903 the same governor 
appointed him to fill a vacancy on the State Board of Public Works caused 
by the death of Hon. Charles Goddard. He was on that board until Hon. 
George Watkins who at the time of the last appointment was the repub- 
lican nominee for the office, was elected and qualified. Mr. Hamlin spent 
most of his time in Columbus in the service of the Canal Commission 
until the close of the 1904 session of the State Legislature. In 1904 he 
was a candidate before the Republican State Convention for nomination 
as a member of the State Board of Public Works, and in that convention 
openly contested the nomination against the "electrical mule" group of 
exploiters of state property. It was a bold and admirable stand to take 
in the interests of good service in the state, but as Mr. Hamlin says him- 
self he was so badly licked that he has not "come to" yet politically. 
Fraternally he is affiliated with the Masonic order at Elyria, and in 
church matters was formerly a Methodist, but is now an independent 
thinker so far as independent thought is possible in that sphere. 

On November 21, 1890, in Carlisle Township of Lorain County, Mr. 
Hamlin married Stella J. Brush, daughter of William and Facelia (Hum- 
phrey) Brush. She was descended on both sides from New England 
ancestry. On September 7, 1910, at Akron, Ohio, Mr. Hamlin married 
for his present wife Lillie O. Bloom, who was then a widow, daughter of 
William and Margaret (Hahns) Gault, The Caults are of Protestant 
Irish descent, while the Hahns are Pennsylvania Dutch, William Gault, 
her father, was a volunteer in the Union army and served throughout the 
Civil war. By his first marriage Mr. Hamlin has the following children : 
Facelia Brush Hamlin, bom April 19, 1892, and now living in Chicago, 
Illinois; David Walter Hamlin, bom August 28, 1895, and living in 
Lorain County; Lydia Irene Hamlin, bom September 24, 1897, and a 
student in Oberlin College ; and James Thurman Hamlin, bom December 
19, 1906, and now in the public schools. 

ISA.vc EvERSON. In the course of a long life Isaac Everson has had 
many interesting associations with Lorain County. It was his birth- 
place, the home of his youth and mature manhood, and while for all 
these reasons he is loyal to the county he has also made himself useful 
by active work and real service as a farmer and in every position to 
which the destiny of life has assigned him. 

His birth occurred in Brighton Township of Lorain County, April 
10, 1840. His parents were Isaac and Hannah (Hammond) Everson. 
His paternal grandfather was also named Isaac Everson and died in 
Massachusetts when the second Isaac was seven years of age. The 
maternal grandparents were Edmondson and Hannah Hammond, who 
were early settlers in Lorain County, where Mr. Hammond followed 
shoemaking at Brighton for many years, Isaac Everson, Sr., was born 



,Google 



760 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

in Massachusetts in 1777 and died in 1868. He came to Brighton Town- 
ship in 1836, buying 120 acres and clearing it up, erecting a log house 
as his first habitation, and spending the rest of his days on a farm. His 
first wife was Mary Usher, and their children were Franklin, Bamuel, 
Norman, Orville, Lafayette, George, Maty and Lucy, all of whom are 
now deceased. By his marriage to Miss Hammond there were three 
children : Harriet, who graduated from Oberlin College and who died 
in 1879 as the wife of Howard Burrill, who was also a graduate of 
Oberlin College, and for a number of years was an editor in Iowa and 
is now living retired at Washington, in that state ; Elizabeth, who died 
in infancy ; and Isaac. Isaac Everson, Sr. and wife were active members 
of the Baptist Church, and he was a whig and a republican in politico 
He developed a farm of 120 acres well improved, and nearly all of it 
cleared by his own hands, and he put up some very substantial buildings. 
He was one of the prominent men of the township in his day. His wife 
was bom in Chenango County, New York, twelve miles from Utiea, New 
York, in 1800, and died March 12, 1883. 

Isaac Everson, Jr., has made his own way in the world for many 
years. He started with a district school education acquired in Brighton 
Township, and took up farming as his first vocation. 

On May 8, 1879, he married Mary CoUen, a daughter of Ephraim 
and Mary (Drayton) Collen, both of whom were natives of England. 
They came to Chatham in Medina County, Ohio, where her father fol- 
lowed farming until his death at the early age of thirty-nine. His widow 
survived to be eighty-two. Of the seven Collen children the three now 
living are Mrs. Everson, Elvira Whitney of Toledo and William T., a 
farmer at Norwalk, Ohio. Mrs. Everson was born in England. April 
14, 1847. 

Mr. and Mrs. Everson have a fine family of eight children, and may 
properly take pride in their accomplishments and the worthy positions 
they occupy. The oldest, Arthur, born March 25, 1870, is a lineman 
with the Postal Telegraph Company; Franklin James, borfl October 24, 
1871, is located at Milan, Ohio, and has served as lineman and is now 
district manager for the telephone company; Charles H. was born Sep- 
tember 10, 1873, and is still at home; Walter H., bom November 7, 1877, 
and is also at home; Norman B., bom December 7, 1879, is in the real 
estate business at Cleveland, Ohio; Jessie May, born July 17, 1880, is the 
wife of Rev. Newton Moore, a Congregational minister at Muscatine, 
Iowa; George H., born August 18, 1885, graduated from the Wellington 
High School and from Oberlin College, and from Columbia University 
of New York City, and was recently chosen among twenty-three appli- . 
cants and is now secretary to the Criminal Court Committee in New 
York City, and has a very promising career of usefulness before him; 
Howard H., the youngest, was born Febmary 10, 1888, and is also a 
telephone man. 

Mr. and Mrs. Everson are members of the Congregational Church 
and quite active in church affairs, Mr. Everson serving as a member of 
the board of trustees. He is a republican in politics. 

Mr. Everson started out as a farmer on 105 acres of land. Slany 
changes have resulted from his ownership and control, and his is un- 
doubtedly one of the finest farms in Brighton Township. It is located 
close to Brighton Center and besides general farming he carries on some 
dairying, and keeps shorthorn cattle, Berkshire hogs, some good road 
horses, and a number of White Rock chickens. AH of this prosperity lie 
has won from a start of only $300 of capital. He also owns ninety acres 
of his father's old homestead. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 761 

Earl J. Stbiceland. Perhaps no branch of busiaess is more indic- 
ative of an advanced state of civilization than that of insurance in its 
different forms of life, fire and accident, and it would be hard to find 
another that in recent years has had a more phenominal growth. Finan- 
cial protection a^inst the results of death or accident has come to be 
looked on as a modem necessity among all classes of people who have 
claims to reasonable intelligence, and since this necessity has come to 
be generally recognized the insurance busLnesB has grown by leaps and 
bounds. One of the leading men engaged in this line of business in 
Lorain County, Ohio, is Earl J. Strickland, general agent for The Ohio 
National Life Insurance Company, of Cincinnati, Ohio, who has an 
office at 318 Elyria Block, Elyria, this county. Mr. Strickland was 
horn in Jamestown Chautauqua County, New York, September 23, 1883, 
a son of Parker D. and Josephine (Moynihan) Strickland. The father, 
a native of Dayton, New York, was an upholsterer by trade and spent 
most of his life in Jamestown, where he died in 1903. His wife Josephine 
was bom in Ireland, and was seventeen years old when she came to the 
United States, where she had brothers and sisters living, her parents 
remaining in their native land. She is still living, being a resident of 
Jamestown. She and her husband were the parents of nine children — 
four sons and five daughters — of whom the subject of this memoir is the 
eldest of the family and the only one now living in Ohio. 

Earl J. Strickland was educated in the public schools of Jamestown, 
New York and began industrial life as a clerk in the employ of the 
American Express Company at Jamestown, where he continued in that 
capacity for two years. He was then transferred to Coraopolis, Pennsyl- 
vania, a suburb of Pittsburg, and was agent of the company there for 
one year, being then, in August, 1907, transferred to Oberlin, Ohio. After 
acting as the company's agent in Oberiin for five years he resigned from 
this position to enter the employ of The Ohio National Life Insurance 
Company of Cincinnati, as general agent for this territory, with head- 
quarters at first in Oberlin. In 1913 the headquarters for the district 
were established in Elyria, with a commodious office in the Elyria Block. 
The company is an "old line" insurance company, organized under the 
laws of Ohio, and engaged in the sale of " nonparticipating insurance" 
at a low fixed guaranteed rate, which plan of insurance is rapidly com- 
ing to be considered as superior to that which provides for the participat- 
ing in so-called "dividends," which are simply overcharges held in trust 
by the companies and returned, in whole or part, at the end of the year, 
or stated period of years, to the person holding the policy. The fifth 
annual statement of The Ohio National Life Insurance Company, issued 
December 31, 1914, shows a surplus to policyholders of $654,560.62, 
which is greater than that of all other Ohio companies combined, ex- 
cept the Union Central. That Mr, Strickland is a man of force, with a 
thorough grasp of the business in which he is engaged, may be gathered 
from the fact that his name appears as second in the list of the five lead- 
ers for paid up business for the first quarter of 1915. As a member of 
the builders' club of his company, he was elected secretary in January, 
1916. He is an active and useful member of the Elyria Chamber of 
Commerce, while his fraternal affiliations are with the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias, of Elyria. 

Mr. Strickland was married, July 19, 1906, to Miss Nellie E. Scott, of 
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, who was bom in West "Virginia, but reared 
and educated in Coraopolis where she attended business college. Thoy 
are the parents of one son, Donald Scott, who was bom in Oberlin, 
Ohio, November 13, 1908. 



y Google 



762 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

Horace GRSELEr Bbdinoton (son of BaDsom Natbauiel BediQ^a 
and Melissa E. Tyler) was born on a farm in Amheist Townahip, Lorain 
County, Ohio, on July 10, 1858. His father was a direct descendant of 
John Rediugton, who came over from England in 1646 and settled at Tope- 
field, Massachusetts. His mother belonged to the Tyler family which set- 
tled in Massachusetts, and later moved to Connecticut and took part in 
the founding of the New Haven Colony. Ransom N, Kedington was born at 
Fredonia, Chautauqua County, New York, in 1816. In 1819 his father, 
Harry Redmgton, moved his family from Fredonia to Amherst Town- 
ship, Lorain County, Ohio, where he resided until his death on Novem- 
ber 18, 1848. Melissa E. Tyler was born in Eaton Township, Lorain 
County, in 1822. Her father, David Miles Tyler, came to Lorain County 
from Connecticut prior to 1820. She was married to Ransom N. Reding- 
ton at Elyria, Ohio, on July 24, 1844. He died at Amherst, Lorain 
County, in October, 1885. She died at Amherst in 1905. Thus the Red- 
ingtons and Tylers have been identified with the history of America for 
over 250 years, and with that of Lorain County for nearly a century. 

Horace G. Redington attended the public schools in Amherst Town- 
ship and Oberlin Village, was graduated from Oberlin Academy, and 
entered Oberlin College with the class of 1881. However, he left that 
institution in the early part of 1880 during his junior year, and entered 
Cornell University where he finished the school year. From the fall of 
1880 until the spring of 1884 he read law under the supervision of Jacob 
F. Burkett, of Findlay, Ohio, He was admitted to the bar on June 4, 
1884, an at once opened an ofiice and began to practice his profession 
at Amherst, Ohio. On December 4, 1884, he married Miss Lucy Cor- 
nelia Moore, of Amherst, daughter of Dr. Abner C. Moore and Elizabeth 
Onstiiie. Doctor Moore came t« Amherst in 1851, and actively practiced 
medicine there for over forty years. Her mother was a daughter of 
George Onstine, who, with his father, Frederick Onstine, settled in 
Amherst Township in 1819. 

Three children were bom to Mr. and Mrs. Redington : Harry Moore, 
born February 22, 1886; Blanche Lucile, born August 4, 1888, and 
Horace Ray, bom May 30, 1891. They continued to reside in Amherst 
Village until February 1911, when they moved to Elyria, Ohio, where 
Mr. Redington continued to practice law. In 1885 he was elected mayor 
of Amherst, which office he held for four terms or eight years. He 
oi^anized the Savings Deposit Bank of Amherst in 1891, and served 
as its president until 1905, He organized the Amherst Water Works 
Company, and is still its president. For several years he was president 
of the Amherst Chamber of Commerce. While in Amherst, he was 
financially interested in numerous other enterprises, and was recognized 
as one of the leading citizens there. He became affiliated with the Ma- 
sonic, Odd Fellow, and other lodges at Amherst, as well as the Elks 
Lodge and the Masonic Chapter at Elyria. 

In 1911, he and Judge David J. Nye were elected as the two delegates 
from Lorain County to the Ohio Constitutional Convention, Mr. Red- 
ington being the high man in the field of ten candidates. On Septem- 
ber 1, 1914, he was appointed judge of the Court of Common Pleas to 
serve until the election in November, 1914, Judge Stroup having re- 
signed. At the November election in 1914, he was a candidate for elec- 
tion to serve until January 1 , 1917, the end of Judge Stroup 's term. He 
and his opponent, W. B. Thompson, each received 4,985 votes. The 
result being a tie, there was no election, and Judge Redington, by virtue 
of his appointment, will hold the office until January 1, 1917. 

From June 4, 1884, to September 1, 1914, Judge Redington was 
almost continuously engaged in the practice of law, and was recognized 
as one of the able lawyers of Lorain County. His broad experience and 



tav Google 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



7'i2 il [STORY OF LOUAIX COUNTY 

iliip',ri.: i;i;j;kiky l!^:ul^;^^TO^f (son nf Kaiisom Natliaiiifl Iii;<liiie:!(i(i 
,!■'■! Ui l'<~\.i !■;. TvliTj n.Ls liorii on a I'linu in Auiiifi-st Towiishiij, Lorain 
C.iu.ty. (Mil... <■;, .Inly lU. lNi8. liii fi.!li.T WHK a, liiivrt (i-'sotmlant ..£ 
J.-ri. Ki i!;ii^''H], ulii. cjiiiiL'OviT Tnnii Kiiirhiiiii iii 11) 10 and Kt-!llwl at Tops- 
■:.A.l. \i,ls^a.■ll';-.■^s His imithtT W]misr,..i t.> the T.\l.'r famiiy wlik-h h<-i- 
tli'tl ill .Mii".;iv|nisrlts. iin<l iHtiT lUDwd In Cjiinfi-lic'iil him! t-.uk i.ar; in 
"..■ r.i;'ii.!:,EL'..ri!ic N.'W Ilavi-(i t'olnnv. I!..i.s(iiji \. U(-ilii.>!t'i,. «iis l>orti at, 
F. .ii.uia. r;;,-.-;t=iuqua C.Hliirv. X.-\> Voik, in ISHi. hi !>■,■. -ins falh. r. 

]l«i-rv J!..|iih;!nii. i,i .i hi:; !-uii]v fmi,. 1': -.Im.la to Amir :>t T .ini- 

sliil.. Lor.-iiii roniitv, Olii,., vl^Te li,. mm. 4;- 1 ixi'-; Ir- lii'iill' 'Mi •■.ov;.-m- 
Kt JH, IS-lS. Miliw, K. Tvlrv ivas lior-n in K.,\.. ■'■■'nv...-J.M--. Uniin 
(.■ounty. in l^'Ji' li-r ;'.iik.'r. David .\lil,'s Tvii-r. .-.im. io l.onnn Tonmy 
from ('i'i'-i'i-iir-:ii I'l :iir- u>l,"-^(l. Sin- wa.s inarrii'ii ■< l.\uiaoMi N, K.'d^it'- 
ton at K.vi-i. ■; . n-i .hilv 24, lS4-t. He liicd a! Ami,.T?.t. Ixrsin 
Connty. n. <'.■.. . l--',. Sh,- ili.-d at Auihwsi. in \:<o:< TIniH Uie K.-d- 
iinft'iP!- ,'•.,.' 1 ■. v ;..ixi. ii.'1-ii idfiiiitiid witli tlit- iii'-toiy nf AiJi'-rica Tor 
oil-, :•'■' - ,..' iMM I hat of Loiiiiii C'mniiv f.Ji' iivui-U ■„ c.'LitLirv. 

II. ■ ': I.. i,:."n,i iulHuK'd lli<- p'lt'Hi's^limds :n'Amlu-csl fowi,- 

•.:.'• ■•■■.-... ' ■•.<.:>■. WHS jrra.luiit.-d tnun (H>>rliii Ai-„l.-i,n-. and 

.■■>- ■ ... ,,ii. ..,. with tl.,- rlas-s ol' ]h;^l. llowi-ver. h.' Wt that 

1 "^ ■.. ■* iL.i't ot l!S80 diirii!« his jut., or vear, and Mitt'ri:([ 

' . ... 'ii.i- Jio linislu'd the svlto.ii y.'ur. "From ilie fnl! of 

■ -: ".J (.1 !?i>i4 h<- nail liiH' undt-r thi' HnpiTvisiiii. 'iJafob 

'■ -.-..■y. <.»liio. lit; \va.s adiniilfid to the bar on June 4, 

< • • .■■■d an oIlicL- and U'<(aii to practice his profession 

.II': l>.'.-('mln-r 4. If^.s4. he iiiarricil Mi>« i-iicy Cor- 

■ ■ ■ 'I. I, danghti-r of Dr. Aluipr ('. Moon' and Klizabt'th 

. . ■.'■..pH' i-aiiio to AnditTst in \i<'>\, and actively praetii'vi! 

. •■\-'f flirty yrai'j;. lli-r niotli.-r wjis a ilaiijrhter of 

' '■ ■■.- --'f. v.ith hii lidlii'r, Fri'diTJ.-k Onstino, st'tilix! in 

. .. >■■ . ;. ■., 'oMr. and Mrs. HedinKlon: Harry Moor^ . 

■ . -'L' !-^'i: llli.Tn-l;,- LiK-ih'. Iiurn Allfflist 4, 1S^^. and 

' . ■■■■■,. y..i\ ■:<■ IM'l. Thcv I'outiiiTii'd to reside in Anihi-rst 

■ ■ . ■ I '.!■..„ V i:ill, «l,cn lliey moved to Klyria, Ohio. whtr.. 

' ■■• ■■<■' .'.. .| IO in'Hi'tiee l;iw. In lM?ir> he was eh'cteii mayor 

I .'!,:.. ■ ■ .■>. '•■■■ hi'ld for four ternih' or I'ijrht vear;*. Tl<- 

. ; ■;,- ;-;N:t--, i>.-;— 11 Hank of Andierst in ISin. and serve.! 

i . ■ , ■■ :•!. iM .^.f : ]■•■ . \\r oi-jraniml the Andfi-st Water Work* 

' . 1 ■■ (r:-.: i- -; : ■■■ -.lU-nt. For st'veral vears he was pr>'s.ide-i' 

•■■ .. ■■ -.. ■■-•'■ ■• ■■• luimrierir. Wliile in Amh.THt. lie ^^aK 

''■'■•• ...-i- •■"' "■'■ 1 '■ 'li-; oilier enferpriM-N. and Ha,'" reeoffiiiic ■ 

.1- nr'i ..1 ;,.. I. ■■ . .. . Itii-r,-. He hee.iniv af1ili:o..d ,.irh til,- M;. 

-■■-, <'., ; ;■,(,. ., . .■ ._, , IndL'es ill Ajoh.rst, as H-.-lt a- the Fi;-. 
L.v :.:.■ It.,- v;,... , ..,,,..r nt Klvria. 

In 1!'M. !....! . ;, .::...d .I,Nv,.-wer.-,t.rtedas the twodeU-,.'. 

fio.,1 l.nviii,, I,,'.'. [,. -:..■ n'.io l■o1l^1i1uIi,mal foiiv,.ntion. Mr. 1.. 
iiiifton \,v,ii i; :,. ■• ■■ 'ii m llie li,ld of tin .andiilal.'^. On S.-j.t- 
lier 1, i:)i4, !■. .-..^ .■ ;'..,n!.'d ludL'e ol lh.. < onrt of f 'oinmon I'l. .,- 

wn- iinhl 'il,. .1... ■: , \ov,.iid).i-. mil. .TndKe Stroui, h.ivij.- 

siiriied.. At In, -v.., ...li,,.!. .Ii-,-tion in VM-i. lie was a iiindidale for 
tjon tos.'i\e untd .li.nn.ir^ !. li'lT. the crid of -hidL.'.- Stroiip\ term 
and his oppon.-it. W. li. Thompson, .-a. h re.-.-ived 4.!IH.'> vot.'s-. 
nsidt l">intr » lie. tliere was no e!.-l:ori, ;.e,| -Indtr,- IJ.'dinffton. hv . 
i,i ills ajiiioint'tient, will liold the oili-c ii.i!il .laiinarv 1. V.m. 

From Jnm. 4. 1SS4. fo SepteirU.er 1. !'n4. .lu'dfre KwJinRloe 
aimo"! eoniinmiiis^y eo./;'i;.',| in the jiiv!i''ii .■ of law, inid was reciH," 
as one nl" the ahlr lawyers of I.ornin (oiiriiy. ]Jis Itroad experieii' 



bv'^ioogle 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 763 

suct-ess as a lawyer, his wide experience as a man of affairs, coupled with 
the highest integrity, made it only natural that he should be a successful 
judge. His judicial service has been notable. 

Politically, Judge Redington is a democrat, and has been chairman 
of the Lorain County Central Committee on several occasions, and has 
acted as a deleffate to various democratic conventions. He belongs to 
the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, the Men's Club of the Congregational 
Church, and other civic and social organizations. Judge and Mrs. Red- 
ington are still residing in Elyria. 

The biography of Harry M. Redington is elsewhere contained in this 
publication. 

Blanche Lucile attended the public schools at Amherst, and Miss 
Mittleberger 's School for Girls in Cleveland; was graduated from Ober- 
lin Academy, and took two years' work in Oberlin College. She was one 
of the most popular members of Elyria 's younger social circles, and on 
April 21, 1915, was married to E. Carl Danner. They are now residing 
in Johnstown, Pa., where Mr. Danner is connected with the Cambria 
Steel Company, 

Horace Ray attended the public schools at Amherst, was graduated 
from Oberlin Academy, took his freshman year at Oberlin College, en- 
tered Brown University as a sophomore the next fall, and was gradua- 
ted from that institution in June, 1913. On October 30, 1915, he mar- 
ried Miss Bess Fell. They are residing in Elyria. He is connected with 
the National Tube Company of Lorain. 

Roy p. Vandemark is accounted one of tlie leading lawyers of Elyria 
of the younger generation and a citizen whose activities in civic life are 
rapidly bringing him to the forefront. He was born at Lodi, Medina 
County, Ohio, December 22, 1887, and is a son of B. J. and Mary (Burk- 
holder) Vandemark. 

B. J. Vandemark was born in Spencer Township, Medina County, 
Ohio, and throughout his life has been engaged in agricultural pursuits, 
in which his industry and energy have gained him success. ITe was mar- 
ried in Harrisi'ille Township, Medina County, to Mary Burkholder, 
who was bom in Congress (or Canaan) Township, Wayne County, Ohio, 
and both still survive and reside on their farm in the vicinity of Lodi, 
although they are now retired from active labor. An active and influ- 
ential republican, Mr. Vandemark has been a prominent figure in local 
politics, having been a trustee of Harrisvilie Township and held other 
township offices, and at this time being a commissioner of Medina County. 
Mr. and Mrs. Vandemark are the parents of five sons and one daugh- 
ter, all living, as follows: A. W., a resident of Chippewa Lake, Ohio; 
C. v.. H. A. and V, A., who all reside at Lodi; Effa, who is now Mrs. 
Charles Overs, of Ashland, Ohio; and Roy P., of this notice. All the 
children were bom in Medina County, and all received their educa- 
tional training in the public schools of Lodi. 

Roy F. Vandemark was graduated from the Lodi High School in 
the class of 1907, following which he entered the Western Reserve. Law 
School, and was duly graduated in 1910, with the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws, In June of tbe same year he commenced practice at Elyria, in 
association with Henry W, Ingersoil, a connection which continued until 
October 1, 1915. since which time Mr, Vandemark has maintained an ofBee 
in tbe Elyria Block and practices alone, 

Mr, Vandemark is a member of the Lorain County Bar Association 
and holds an established position in the confidence of his clients and the 
regard of his fellow-practitioners. A republican in politics, he is at 
the present time a candidate for the office of city solicitor. Mr. Van- 
demark belongs to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and his religious 



,Google 



764 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

eotmection is with the First Congregatioiial Church, in which he ia a lead- 
ing member of the Men's Club. He belongs also to King Solomn Liodge 
No. 56, of Elyria, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and Marshall 
Chapter and Elyria Council, also of this city, and is lecturing knight of 
the Elks Lodge at Eljrria. That his tastes are intellectual and his habits 
of a very enei^etic character, his career up to the present time has shown. 
Before him unquestionably are many honorably years of participation in 
professional life. 

On March 31, 1914, Mr. Tandemai^ was married to Miss Zepha 
White, who was bom in Harrisville Township, Medina County, Ohio, 
daughter of C. N. White. Like her husband she is a graduate of the 
Lodi High School, class of 1907. In the spring of that year her mother 
died, but her father still survives and resides on the old home place in 
Spencer Township, Medina County, Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Vandemark 
there has been born one son : Robert W. ("Bob White"). 

William Cbisp, In the death of William Crisp, which occurred in 
November, 1910, Elyria lost one of its veteran business men, one who was 
honest and conscientious in all he did, and enjoyed a reputation for 
fair dealing second to none. 

Bom in the Village of Mausley, Rugby, England, February 23, 1840, 
William Crisp was brought to this country in 1844 by his parents, who 
bought a farm in Avon, Lorain Connty. When only fourteen years of 
age he entered the employ of John A. Tf^liff as an apprentice and 
learned the carriagemaker's trade. When twenty-two he was taken into 
partnership with his employer, and this relationship continued for 
seven or eight years. Then Mr. Crisp formed a partnership with Wil- 
liam Benson which continued until his death. The firm of Crisp & Hen- 
son was the oldest partnership existing in Lorain County when it was 
broken by Mr. Crisp's death. They had been engaged in business in 
the same location on West Avenue for forty years. 

Besides his business career Mr. Crisp served two terms on the city 
council and was a member of the board of health at the time of his 
death. 

Mr, Crisp married Georgina Goodwin and they became the par- 
ents of four children, as follows : Edith, Lottie, Zada and John C. 

Robert Hughes Bice. Junior member of the law firm of Stroup, 
Pauver & Rice, whose offices are in the Turner Building at Elyria, Rob- 
ert Hughes Rice is a young man of natural capabilities and thorough 
training, and has already taken his position among the leading pro- 
fessional men and citizens of Elyria. 

Bom at Riceville, Crawford County, Pennsylvania, December 14, 
1886, he is a son of Elmer M, and Carrie C. Rice. The family moved 
from Riceville, Pennsylvania, to Elyria in 1897, and Elmer M. Rice is 
cashier of the Elyria Savings and Banking Company. 

Robert H. Rice enjoyed the advantages of a liberal education and 
made the best of his opportunities while in school and university. Gradu- 
Ating from the Elyria High Schori in 1904, he entered Oberlin College, 
where he was graduated A, B. in 1908, and in 1911 took his degree LL. B. 
from the Columbia University Law School at New York City. He was 
elected to membership in the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity, the scholarship 
honor fraternity, from Oberlin College in 1908. While in the Columbia 
University Law School he was one of the editors of the Columbia Law 
Review. In 1908 he represented Oberlin College in the intercollegiate 
debate, and enjoyed similar honors at Columbia University in 1909 and 
1910. Prior to that, in 1907, he was president of the Northern Oratorical 
League. While his educational career was apparently uninterrupted in 



h.'^iUOgle 



vGoogle 



:^J^- 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 765 

its continnity, Mr. Rice paid a large share of his expenses, and entirely 
supported himself while in law school by tutoring, teaching and lecturing. 
During the sommers of 1908, 1909 and 1910 he held a clerical posi- 
tion ia the Elyria Savings & Banking Company. 

Immediately on his admission to the bar June 29, 1911, he began 
practice in the oflBce of L. B. Fauver. He was a member of the firm 
of Fauver & Rice from 1912 to 1914, and has since been junior in 
Stroup, Fauver & Rice, one of the leading law firms of Northern Ohio. 
Mr. Rice was a member of the first charter commission of Elyria in 
1913. While non-partisan as to local politics, he is a republican in 
national affairs, though in many ways he is completely independent. In 
Masonry he is affiliated with King Solomon Lodge \o. 56, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and Marshall Chapter Royal Arch Masons. His church 
is the First Congregational. At Elyria on December 26, 1914, Mr. Rice 
married Harriet E. Garford, daughter of 0, H. Qarford of Elyria. 

Melvin F. Hahbibon. The rapid growth of the, automobile industry 
has been responsible for the development of a new profession, the fol- 
lower of which much necessarily possess qualifications and talents 
requisite in few other lines. Engaged in the automobile business at 
Elyria since 1908, Melvin P. Harrison, of the Harrison Motor Company, 
has become one of the best known figures in the automobile world of 
Ohio, being the fortunate possessor of just those attributes which make 
for success in this newest of vocations. 

Mr. Harrison was bom at Dover, Cuyahc^ County, Ohio, Decem- 
ber 20, 1876, and is a son of John B. and Carrie H. ("Witham) garrison, 
both re^dents of that place today. The father is a real estate dealer and 
farmer, a native of the place, and has spent his entire life at Dover, 
where the mother was also born and where they were married. Geoi^e 
Harrison, the grandfather of Melvin F. Harrison, came to Ohio from 
Connecticut, making the journey with an ox-team, and for many years 
conducted the old half-way house between Elyria and Cleveland. He 
is now deceased, and the maternal grandfather, a veteran of the Civil 
war, in which he fought as a Union soldier, A. B. Witham, survived 
until January, 1916. He was then ninety years old and a resident of 
Cleveland. John B. Harrison has held several minor offices of a civic 
and township nature, and is one of the community's influential and 
highly respected citizens. He and his wife have been the parents of 
three sons and one daughter: Melvin F.; Lua-Ella, who is now the wife 
of Geoi^ A. Hogue, of Blue Cass Springs, Woodbum County, Indiana; 
Herman, who died at the age of six years, nine months, fifteeu days; 
and Calvin L.,' a resident of Dover. All were born at Dover and there 
educated. 

After graduating from the Dover High School, Melvin F. Harrison 
attended Burke & Dyke 's business college, at Cleveland, and began his 
business career by opening a stall in the new market house in that city, 
dealing in butter and eggs, an enterprise in which he was engaged for 
about a year. At this time his father lost his health and was compelled 
to go to Northern Michigan, and the son disposed of his Cleveland busi- 
ness and returned to the home farm to take charge of its management 
for twelve months. His next move was to Cheboygan, Michigan, where 
with his father, he built a range of greenhouses, the first of any size to 
be erected in that state north of Bay City, and remained in business 
together for one and one-half years, under the style of Harrison & Son, 
The father then returned to the home farm and for three and one-half 
years longer Melvin P. Harrison carried on the business alone, but 
finally sold out to a cousin, George H. Harrison, and returned to Cleve- 
land, from which city he Erubsequently removed to Greenwood, Indiana. 



y Google 



766 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

There, with his brother-in-law, George A. Hogue, he erected and in- 
stalled a telephone exchange, known as the Home Telephone Company, 
with the idea of forcing its purchase, through competition, by the Bell 
Telephone Company. The older organization, however, did not come 
to terms, but Mr. Ilogue, a practical man of business, organized a home 
company at Greenwood, to which the partners sold the line and equip- 
ment. Returning to Cleveland, Mr. Harrison again invaded the florist 
business, locating an establishment on Euclid Avenue, on the present 
site of the Hippodrome. There he conducted the M. F. Harrison Flower 
Shop, with a branch store in the lobby of the Holland Hotel, for two 
years, and sold out to the Ohio Floral Company, for which concern he 
became secretary and treasurer, positions in which he remained for one 
year. At that time he engaged in another venture with his brother- 
in-law, going to Lincoln, Illinois, where they erected an eleetric line from 
that point to Springfield for the McKinley Syndicate. With the com- 
pletion of that enterprise, Mr, Harrison went to Chicago and became 
manager of the north side store of the Fleischman Floral Company, with 
which he was identified for three years. He then returned to the old 
home at Dover, but shortly thereafter, in October, 1908, came to Elyria, 
where he purchased a one-half interest in the business with which he is 
connected at this time, with Harry McKinley, the business being located 
on its present site, but under the name of the Auto Inn. About four 
months later Mr, Harrison bought his partner's interest and conducted 
the enterprise alone for two years, handling the Overland automobile, 
a car with which he has been associated since entering the business. In 
this connection it may be mentioned that Mr. Harrison sold the first 
Overland sold in Lorain County, being the first county agent, an agency 
which he has retained to the present time. In 1911 Mr. Harrison sold a 
half interest in the business to Mr. A. L. Jackson, a sketch of whose 
career appears elsewhere in this work. The partners were unable to 
decide whose name should appear first in the new firm style, so finally 
agreed to "flip a coin," with the result that the name Jackson-Harrison 
Company was adopted, i^hich existed until September 1, 1915, since 
which time Mr, Harrison has continued the business alone. He has 
taken over the agency of the Ford and Mercer automobiles and com- 
mercial trucks, as well as the Hudson and a number of others as side 
lines. The large, up-to-date and finely -equipped offices and salesrooms 
are located at No. 625 Broad Street, and the business is now recognized 
as one of Elyria 's leading enterprises. 

Mr. Harrison's only venture in politics was while a resident of Che- 
boygan, Klichigan. He lived in a democratic ward and was put on the 
republican ticket to run against an old-time democrat for supervisor, hia 
opponent never having been beaten in that ward, Mr. Harrison defeated 
him by three votes for the office, which he held for only one year, as he 
then left Cheboygan. Mr. Harrison is a life member of Elyria Lodge No, 
465, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; King Solomon Lodge 
No. 56. Free and Accepted Masons, and a member of the Elyria 
Chajnber of Commerce and Elyria Lodge No. 4U1, Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, He is not only a capable salesman, hut an enthusi- 
astic motorist and expert driver, and belongs to the Elyria Au- 
tomobile Club, being a member of its board of directors. As evi- 
dence of Mr. Harrison's skill as a driver may be cited his trip 
to the San Francisco Exposition in 1915. Starting from Elyria, 
he went to Blue Cass Springs, Indiana, then via the Lincoln Highway to 
Salt Lake City, Utah, from there on the Overland Trail via Ogden and 
north of Great Salt Lake into Reno, Nevada, then over the Sierra Ne- 
vada Alountains to Lake Tahoe, down to Sacramento, Fresno, Los Ange- 
les and San Diego, on to Tijuana, Mexico, and back up the coast route to 



hv'^iUU'^lL 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 767 

Santa Barbara, and through Santa Cruz to San Francisco. This trip 
of 5,047 miles was aeeomplished witliout a puncture, the only mishap on 
the entire trip being a burned out magneto caused by fording a swollen 
creek. However thrilling experiences were not lacking, especially in 
the mountains, where on one occasion he avoided a serious accident only 
by driving his macbine into a barrier of rocks on the edge of a deep 
gorge. He was accompanied on this trip by hia wife and daughter. 

Mr. Harrison was married December 24, 1896, to Miss Marion B. 
Weed, of Cleveland, who was bom and reared there, and educated in 
the public schools. Mr, and Mrs. Harrison were married Christmas Eve, 
at North Olmsted, Cuyahoga County, Ohio. She is a daughter of Westel 
J. and Mary Ann (Hoore) Weed, the former an old ship-builder of 
Cleveland, where he resided during the active period of his career. He 
was well known by every captain on the great lakes, and was superin- 
tendent of the two shipyards of Quayle & Sons. Mr. "Weed, at the time 
of his retirement, went to North Olmsted, Ohio, but wlien his health 
began to fail moved back to Cleveland, where his death occurred, aud 
where Mrs. Weed still resides at the old home. Mr. and Mrs. Harrison 
have had three children : two sons who died in infancy, and Miss Thelma 
Fay, who was born at Cheboygan, Michigan. The family home is in 
the exclusive Colonial Apartments. 

Joel Vinton Sampseli^ M. D. From the point of continuous service 
as a physician and surgeon Doctor Sarapsell is now one of the oldest in 
Elyria. He came to this city a young man fresh from medical college 
nearly forty years ago, and so far as strength has permitted has ac- 
cepted the almost innumerable opportunities which are offered to the able 
and unselfish physician for service to humanity. Among other profes- 
sional distinctions Doctor Sarapsell, whose offices are at 331 Second 
Street, is local medical examiner of Lorain County with the Industrial 
Commission of Ohio, and is also one of the pension examiners in this 
county. 

It would have been contrary to an almost established family custom 
if Doctor Sampsell had chosen any other line of work than the medical 
profession. His father and a number of his uncles and many other 
relatives have at different times been engaged in this profession, and 
on his mother's side there were also an unusual number of doctors. Dr. 
J. V. Sampsell was born in Ashland, Ohio, May 19, 1850, a son of Dr. 
J. B, F. and Catherine (Luther) Sampsell. The Sampsell family in 
Ohio is descended from an old Maryland German family of that name. 
The Sampsells settled in Columbiana County, Ohio, in the very early 
days. Dr. J. B. P. Sampsell had four brothers and eight cousins, all 
of whom were physicians of repute, while his wife's father was also a 
pioneer physician, and the latter had four cousins who were identified 
with the same profession, while one of his female cousins married a doc- 
tor. Dr. J. B. F. Sampsell was born in Columbiana County, and his 
wife in Ashland, Ohio. Her father. Dr. Joel Luther, was the first physi- 
cian and surgeon to locate in Ashland, having moved to that pioneer local- 
ity from Jefferson County, New York. He brought with him five thou- 
sand dollars in gold, and though he died at the age of thirty-five he ac- 
cumulated a considerable fortune after locating in Ashland. Dr. J. B. F, 
Sampsell was engaged in the practice of medicine at Ashland for a num- 
ber of years until the outbreak of the Civil war, and then engaged in 
the hardware business. For a year or so, from 1871 to 1873, he prac- 
ticed medicine at Elyria, and moving to Delaware, Ohio, resumed prac- 
tice and continued it there until his death, which occurred in 1877. His 
wife died in Ashland in 1868. He bad also served as mayor of Ashland 



,Google 



768 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

and took a prominent part in local politics. Dr. J. V. Sampsell has one 
uster, younger than himself, Mrs. Frank Semple of Ashland. 

Joel V, Sampsell received his early education in the public schools 
of Ashland, and for a time attended the noted old college founded by 
Alexander Campbell at Bethany, West Vii^nia. His medical studies 
were pursued in one of the oldest and best schools for medical training in 
America, the Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, from which he 
was graduated M. D. with the class of 1877. He also took post-graduate 
work in the New York Polyclinic. ■ 

Doctor Sampsell located for practice at Elyria in 1877, and in all the 
years subsequent to that date has continued as a general physician. He 
practiced here when Elyria was a comparatively small city, and had his 
share of pioneer experience as a doctor, attending his country calls over 
the roads that existed before the beginning of the good roads movement 
and long before such facilities were introduced as the telephone and the 
automobile. Doctor Sampsell is a member of the staff of the Elyria 
Memorial Hospital. 

In politics he is a democrat. His interest in keeping up the party 
organization has caused him a number of times to allow his name to go 
on the ticket as candidate for mayor, though without expectation of suc- 
cess, since no candidate on the democratic ticket in Elyria ever expects to 
be elected. Though Doctor Sampsell never did any campaign work in 
connection with such elections, he at one time came within nine votes of 
being made mayor, and a little campaigning on his part would doubtless 
have swung the tide in bis favor. His opponent at that time was Doctor 
Reefy on the republican ticket. Doctor Sampsell is afBliated with King 
Solcmion Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons. 

On May 17, 1879, he married Miss Nettie Nichols of Elyria, who died 
in August, 1895. His present wife, before her marriage, which occurred 
April 26, 1898 was Miss Mary Oroscup of Ashland, Ohio. 

Ernest Perry Clement, M. D. Among the men whose activities 
are devoted to the science of healing in Lorain County, none bring to 
bear upon their calling laigei' gifts of scholarship and resource than 
Dr. Ernest Perry Clement, of Elyria, a specialist in abdominal sui^ry, 
a field in which he has won more than local reputation. His entire pro- 
fessional career has been passed in Lorain County, at Qrafton from 
1898 until 1910 and since the latter year at Elyria, and his success in 
his vocation has been won in a locality not wanting in men of broad 
and thorough medical learning. 

Doctor Clement was born at Brunswick, Medina County, Ohio, Decem- 
ber 22, 1874, and is a son of Charles R. and Sophia W. (Benjamin) 
Clement. His paternal grandparents, Edward Clement and wife, came 
to America from Devonshire, England, about the year 1832 and settled 
at Strongsville, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, where they were pioneer set- 
tlers and early farmers. The maternal grandparents of Doctor Clement 
came from New York State to Ohio about 1845, settling at Brunswick, 
Medina County. Charles R, Clement was bom at Strongsville, Ohio, 
and as a young man moved to Medina County, where he was married 
and for many years carried on agricultural pursuits, although he is now 
living retired at Medina. As a young man he enlisted for service in the 
Union Army during the Civil war, but the regiment of which he was a 
member was never asked to go to the front. He has always been known 
as a good and public-spirited citizen, taking a keen and helpful inter- 
est in the affairs of his community, and during his younger and more 
active years was the incumbent of a number of minor offices, such as 
township trustee, etc. Mrs. Clement, who was bom at Brunswick, Medina 
County, Ohio, died in 1907. There are three sons and three daughters 

Diyi.Bohv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 769 

in tbe family, namely : Mrs. Lampoh, of Cleveland, Ohio, the wife of 
Capt. J. H. Lampoh, a captaia on the Great Lakes and at this time 
master of the Thomas A, Andrews; George B., who is engaged in dealing 
in real estate and allottment property at Cleveland ; Fruik A., a car- 
penter contractor of Medina, Ohio ; Elma E., who is the wife of Charles 
Barry, of Medina, Ohio ; Dr. Ernest Perry, twin of Elma E. ; and Willis, 
who is a painter contractor of Cleveland. All were bom at Brunswick 
and received their early education there. 

After graduating from the Brunswick High School, Ernest Perry 
Clement spent three years at the Ohio Northern University, pursuing a 
literary department course, and then engaged in the study of medicine 
at Starling Medical College, which is now the medical department of 
the Ohio State University. He was graduated in that institution in 1898, 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, and in the same year entered 
practice at Grafton, Lorain County, that continuing to be the scene of 
his professional labors until August 1, 1910, when he came to Elyria. 
Here he has offices in the Elyria Bloci, on Broad Street. Skillful in 
diagnosis and successful in treatment of long standing cases, he is prob- 
ably best known as a specialist in abdominal surgery, and the demand for 
bis services in that line has opened up a career of exceptional breadth 
and usefulness. He has continued to be a close and careful student, 
having taken poet-graduate work at the Post-Graduate Medical School, 
New York City, and is a member of the surgical staff of the Elyria 
Memorial Hospital. He belongs to the Lorain County Medical Society, 
the Ohio State Medical Society, the American Medical Association and 
the Ohio State Clinical Association, an organization which includes in 
its membership the leading surgeons of the Buckeye State. Fraternally, 
the doctor is aftiliated with the Knights of Pythias lodge at Grafton, 
and he holds membership also in the State Automobile Association, the 
Cleveland Automobile Club and the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, 

Doctor Clement was married to Miss Grace M. Humphrey, who was 
bom, reared and educated at Elyria, daughter of J. 0. and Elizabeth 
(Worthington) Humphrey, both of whom are now deceased, old settlers 
of Eaton Township, Lorain County. To Doctor and Mrs. Clement there 
fass been bom one daughter: Clara Mae, bom at Grafton. 

Hubert Dat. Successful merchandising finds many advantages in 
long estahliahed relations with the trading public. One of the oldest 
hardware houses in Lorain County is that conducted under the present 
firm name of Hubert Day & Sons, with a large store at 421 Broad Street, 
Elyria. This house has a reputation gained by many years of handling 
goods of recognized quality and with the individual guarantee of the 
firm behind every article sold. In earlier years the business was con- 
ducted by A. G. Carpenter, and was bought about twenty years ago by 
Hubert Day. Mr. Day is a man whose abilities have well fitted him for 
the service of a reliable merchant, and though his previous training had 
been that of a fanner he carried on the store without any intermption 
to its long established reputation, and in later years has taken into the 
firm his two sons, H. Kellc^ and George M. Day. The firm now carries 
a large stock of general hardware, tools, factory supplies, paints, stoves, 
house furnishings, sporting goods, victrolas and records and other special 
stock, and many of the most widely advertised and best known goods of 
standard manufacture have a place in their store. 

Hubert Day is a native of Ohio, and was bom at Sheffield August 
11, 1844. He is descended from Robert Day of Hartford, Connecticut, 
who came to America in 1634. A more definite account of the early 
history of the Day family will be found on other pages in connection 



y Google 



770 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

with S. B. Day. Mr. Day's parents were John aBd Cornelia Ann 
(Sackett) Day. His father was bom in Sheffield, Massachusetts, and his 
mother in New York State, and the former died in Sheffield of Lorain 
County in 1871 and the mother in 1881, They were suhetantial farming 
people, and Hubert Day grew up on the old homestead, with an educa- 
tion begun in the district schools and continued for several terms at 
Oberlin College. Until middle life his pursuits were those of agricul- 
ture and its related activities, but in 1896 he left the farm and came to 
Elyria, and in June of that year bought out the old established hard- 
ware house of A, G. Carpenter. For a number of years he conducted 
the business under hia individual name, and when the two sons came in 
the title was changed to Hubert Day & Sons. In its endeavor to fur- 
nish the highest ciasB of mereantiie service the firm relies not only upon 
the best (Quality of goods but also upon those facilities which bring a 
store into prompt relation with its customers, and employ both auto- 
mobiles and horses in their delivery service. 

Mr. Day is a republican, a member of the Elyria Chamber of Com- 
merce, and has long been actively identified with the Con^egatiocal 
Church. He has served as deacon for the past thirty-five years, having 
held that office in the church at Sheffield, and is now deacon in the First 
Congregational Church at Elyria. 

On November 26, 1878, at Elyria Mr. Day married Annie Lou Cham- 
bers, daughter of Richard Chambers, who was born in Somersetshire, 
England, and came to this country in 1865. Mrs. Day was eleven years 
old when she came to the United States, Mr. and Mrs. Day in 1914, 
before the outbreak of the present European war, spent two months 
abroad, visiting among other places the scenes of her early childhood, 
and also traveled through Belgium and France, stopping at Paris and 
spending some time in Brussels and Antwerp, and from the former city 
visiting the Waterloo battlefield. Mr. and Mrs. Day's four children 
were all bom in Sheffield, namely : Mildred Eleanor Day ; Hubert Kel- 
logg Day, an active member of the firm, who married Ethel Hancock; 
George Myron Day who married Silver H. Geldmacher of Denmark, 
Iowa; and Dorothy Anne Day. All the children graduated from the 
Elyria High School except Hubert, who left school in his junior year. 
The daughter Dorothy was graduated in June, 1913, from Oberlin Col- 
lege, where she specialized in kindergarten work. 

Henry A. Beck. In the course of many years the business title 
"H. A. Beck, general contractor and builder and real estate" has come 
to signify a substantial service in that community. Mr. Beck's primary 
work has been as general contractor, and probably no man in Elyria 
has a better reputation nor a longer list of achievements in construetion 
work. He became a carpenter during his youth and for the past fifteen 
years has been engaged in constant service as a general contractor. He 
is naturally proud of his work and aims to perform the highest type 
of building service. 

At the same time his service has taken on a broader scope, and he 
has done much to develop vacant real estate in and about Elyria. A 
great many people are familiar with the Beek addition of the City of 
Elyria, located on High Street with interurban car service. This is Mr. 
Beck's individual allotment, and originally comprised more than four 
acres of ground, but it has been completely built up and practically all 
the lots and homes are now aold. Mr. Beck has developed a great deal 
of property and sold it on the installment plan, and has another allot- 
ment in the Second Ward out Lake Avenue. 

A native of Medina, Ohio, Mr. Beck was born November 25, 1869, 



v'^iUUVl'- 



^^/a^o^t 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 



771 



a son of Fred and Elizabeth (Freidt) Beck. His father was boro near 
Stuttgart, Germany, and came to the United States when seventeen 
years of age, first located near Philadelphia, and later moving to Stark 
County, Ohio, and from there to Wadsworth in Medina County. For a 
number of years be was a blacksmith, but subsequently retired to a farm 
and became identified with political affairs in Medina County, serviug 
as county recorder and in other positions. Fred Beck was married in 
Pennsylvania, his wife having been born near Allentown in that state. 

It was on his father's farm in Guilford Township of Medina County 
that Henry A. Beck grew to manhood. He obtained his education in 
the Gomraoii schools and at the age of eighteen started to learn the 
trade of carpenter. The trade came naturally to him, since from boy- 
hood he was handy with tools, and with experience as a practical work- 
man he has combined a good business judgment and the ((uality and 
reliability so essential to the performance of every contract in its utter- 
most detail. As a journeyman carpenter he worked in Cleveland, Akron 
and other cities, and in 1893 removed to Blyria, He did the general 
work of his trade for a number of years, but since 1901 has been in gen- 
eral contracting, and now maintains an office as general contractor in 
the Masonic Temple. Many of the substantial bu^ness houses and resi- 
dences in Lorain County have been constructed by Mr. Beck, and a long 
list might be drawn up to indicate the local monument to his industry and 
skill. His work includes the construction of a number of school buildings 
in this county, and besides a lai^e number of residences at Elyria Mr. 
Beck also put up one of the factory plants in that city. 

In the Builders Exchange of Elyria Mr. Beck has served as trustee, 
and is a citizen who identifies himself actively with every public move- 
ment. He is also a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and is 
affiliated with the Knights of the Maccabees and the Knights of Pythias, 
is a republican in politics and alderman of the Second Ward, and is a 
member of the Second Congregational Church, In Masonry his affilia- 
tions are with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and with Marshal Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons. Mrs, Beck before 
her marriage was Pearl Kindy, daughter of Henry and Caroline Kindy. 
She was bom in Medina County. The two children of their marriage are 
Nellie A. and Pauline A. Nellie is the wife of Walter C. Roe, who is an 
electrical contractor, with offices and display rooms for the handling of 
everything electrical in the Masonic Temple. 

Rev. James Augustine McFadden, The moat recently oi^anized 
Catholic Church in Lorain County is the St. Agnes Church on Lake Ave- 
nue in Elyria. The laying of the cornerstone for the new edifice on July 
25, 1915, was, to quote the words of a newspaper account, "the occasion 
of one of the lai^est demonstrations of the kind ever held in this city. 
It is estimated that at least five thousand people stood for over two 
hours and witnessed the ceremony." A feature of the celebration was 
the large parade which marched from St. Mary's Church to the scene of 
^ the cornerstone laying. Composing this procession were 100 mem- 
\bers of the Knights of St. John, the Knights of Columbus, 'delegations 
from Catholic congregations all over Northern Ohio, and a number of 
visiting priests, the mayor, city and county ofBcials and other citizens. 
The principal church official was Monsignor O'Reilly, who extended the 
congratulations of the bishop, to which response was made by the pastor 
of St. Agnes, Father McFadden, who told of the work he had before him, 
expressed gratitude for the splendid Christian fellowship that he had 
found both among Catholics and Protestants in Elyria, and asked for 
the co-operation of the public in carrying out the plans for a new 
church. The principal address of the day was delivered by Father Jen- 



y Google 



772 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Dings of the St. Agnes Church at Cleveland. At the eoDcIusioa of his 
address Father JenDings spoke as follows: 

"I have a word of praise, therefore, to give to your young pastor, 
who will come into this parish like a messenger of Israel, to cure the 
wounds of the afflicted and to bring God's message among men. I will 
say that the bishop has priests as good, but he has nobody better than 
your pastor. A word of commendation is due Father McFadden. He 
came to this city a stranger. By hard work and untiring zeal he has 
oi^anized St. Agnes parish. He has shown remarkable executive ability, 
and has commanded the respect of all with whom be has come in con- 
tact. The future of St. Agnes church is in his hands, and there is no 
reason to believe that he will not make a good account of his steward- 
ship." 

The young pastor of St. Agnes Church of Elyria, James Augustine 
McFadden, was bom December 24, 1880, a son of Edward and Mary 
(Cavanaugh) McFadden. He obtained all his education in schools of 
Cleveland, attending thfe Holy Name Parochial School, St. Ignatius Col- 
lege, and St. Mary's Seminary. He was ordained a priest June 17, 1905, 
and his first appointment was as assistant to Rev. Qilbert P. Jennings, 
pastor of St. Agnes Church at Cleveland. The St. Agnes parish at 
Elyria was organized June 17, 1914, and in a year's time the young 
pastor had carried forward the responsibilities entrusted to him to the 
fortunate event chronicled above by which the beginning has been made 
on the building of a beautiful home for this parish. St. Agnes Church 
when completed will furnish a lai^ audience room for worship and 
general church activities and with a school in connection. 

RiN.\LDO Rollins Stetson. Now living retired at Elyria, Mr. R. R. 
Stetson is one of the old time printers and newspaper men, having begun 
his apprenticeship in a printer's office before the Civil war, and for many 
years managing the Oberlin News. 

A SOTi of Thomas and Mary Little (Leigh) Stetson, he was born 
March 22, 1844, at Newbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. His birth- 
place was the Pearson-Leigh house near Old Town Hill, Newbury, and he 
was a member of the seventh generation to be bom in that house. It 
was built by Capt. John Pearson in 1728 and three generations of the 
Pearson family and three generations of the Leighs have been bom in 
the same place. Mr. Stetson 's father, Thomas Stetson, was born at Lis- 
bon, New London County, Connecticut, July 22, 1814, while his wife was 
horn in Newbury, Essex County, November 24, 1814, and was in the 
sixth generation bom in the Pearson-Leigh house already mentioned. 

Mr. Stetson has an interesting ancestry, and it is traced back through 
many generations to Cornet Robert Stetson, from whom, according to 
the tjest information obtainable, R. R. Stetson is a descendant in the 
eighth generation. Cornet Robert Stetson was bom in 1613, though 
whether in England or Scotland is a matter still to be settled by his 
descendants. The accepted tradition in the family to account for his 
removal to America is that he was led to make this move by the presence 
of a (rirl for whom be had formed an ardent affection in the Colony of 
Massachusetts. Anyhow, he came to this country in lfi34, settling at 
Scituate, now called Norwell, Massachusetts. His first wife was named 
Hannah. She was still living in 1681 and was mother of his children. 
His second wife was Mary Bryant, who outlived him. The children of 
Cornet Robert of whom there is record were Joseph, Benjamin, Thomas, 
Samuel. John. Eunice, Lois, Robert and Timothy. The line of descent 
to the Elyria family of Stetsons was carried by the son Robert, after- 
wards known as Robert of Pembroke. He was bom January 29, 1653. 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 773 

at Scituate, Massachusetts, in the old family home, and was baptised 
February 26, 1653. By the will of his father, Cornet Stetson, this son 
received his father's old clothes, which were considered a sufBcient inher- 
itance in addition to what had already been given Mm. The datfi of the 
death of Cornet Robert Stetson was about Februaty 1, 1703. 

As a result of a movement started some ten years ago (1905) there is 
now an incorporated organization known as "The Stetson Kindred of 
America," and some account of this organization may properly be intro- 
duced into this sketch. In the month of August, 1905, four memliers of 
the Stetson family met and agreed upon a plan to assemble as many as 
possible of the descendants of the original Comet Robert Stetson, and the 
executive details were left in the hands of George W, Stetson of Med- 
ford, Massachusetts. On October 14th of that year there were gathered 
in the Town of Norwell eighty-four persons, all of them lineal descend- 
ants of the Cornet Robert. They stood about the spot where once was 
the house of their ancestor, went through the house then standing on 
the site, which had been in existence nearly 180 years, being built probably 
about 1725, and they quaffed water frtan the spring which had been used 
by Cornet Robert and which had never been known to fail from the year 
1634 to the present time. The company also visited Stetson Hall, ate their 
basket lunch, and then decided to orftanize an association to be known 
as the Stetson Kindred of America. They elected temporary officers, 
who were instructed to incorporate under the laws of Massachusetts, and 
the officers chosen at that time were: Hon. Francis Iiynde Stetson of 
New York City, president ; the late John B. Stetson, the famous hat 
maker of Philadelphia, vice president; and George W. Stetson of Med- 
ford, secretary and treasurer. The matter of incorporation was entrusted 
to Robert Stetson Gorham, who is now vice president of the organization. 
This organization bought the old homestead at Norwell where Comet 
Robert Stetson settled in 1634. 

Rinaldo Rollins Stetson gained his early education in the public 
schools of ilassachusetts and New York. In choosing a career he fol- 
lowed his inclinations for the mysteries of the "art preservative of all 
arts," and began a regular apprenticeship as a printer in the Rochester 
Evening Express office at Rochester, New York, in September, 1859. For 
a number of years he followed his trade in Boston, Massachusetts, and 
Chicago. Illinois, hut in 1876 came to Oberlin, Ohio, to take charge of 
the News in that city. Since 1906 Mr. Stetson has had his home in 
Elyria. 

In his political associations he has been always a republican since 
easting his first vote. In 1869 he was made a Mason in Valley Lodge 
No. 109 at Rochester. New York, and also took his degrees in Odd Fellow- 
ship in Rochester City Lodcre No, 66. During 1892-95 he served as 
master of Oberlin Lodge No. 380, Free and Accepted Masons, and is now 
afllilialed with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and with Marshall Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, at Elyria. He also 
belongs to the Masonic Club and the Volunteer Veteran Fire Association ■ 
of Lorain County, His church home is the Methodist. 

At Rochester, New York. Auffust 18. 1868. Mr. Stetson married Mary 
Elizabeth Read, daughter of B. H. and Lucinda Read. Her father was 
a native of Bennington, Vermont, and of old New England ancestry. 
Her mother, whose maiden name was Lucinda Felt, was horn in Pabius, 
New York, the first Felt having lived at Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 
1633. Mr. Stetson is the father of four children, three of whom are 
living, and has four grandsons and two granddaughters. The children 
are : Mary Alice, wife of Rev. S, L. Bristor, bom at Windridge, Penn- 

Diyizedtay 



Google 



774 HISTOKY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

sylvania; Binaldo Bollins, Jr., who died at Oberlin March 31, 1888; 
Frank Arthur, an Elyria lawyer, referred to in following paragraphs; 
and Florence Edith, of Elyria. 

Prank Arthur Stetson. In the Lorain County bar Frank A, Stet- 
son has been one of the steadiest and most industrious workers during 
the past thirteen years, and bis position is now one of assured success 
and prominence. Mr. Stetson has the distinction of being the first 
lawyer in the history of Lorain County to hold the office of assistant 
prosecuting attorney, an office which was only recently created and which 
he has held since January 1, 1915. 

A native of Lorain County, Frank Arthur Stetson was born at 
Oberlin, April 27, 1877, a son of Rinaldo Rollins and Mary Elizabeth 
(R-ead) Stetson, who are now living at Elyria. Mr. Stetson's interesting 
family record will be found in the sketch of his father. His early years 
were spent at Oberlin, where be attended the public schools and the 
academy, and in 1900 graduated A. B. from Oberlin College. As a 
means of furthering his higher education he taught school for some 
time, part of the time in the country and part of the time in graded 
and high schools, having been an instructor in the high school at 
Vermilion. 

In 1901-02 Mr. Stetson was a student in the Western Reser^'e Uni- 
versity Law School at Cleveland, and defrayed some of his expenses 
in that institution by teaching in the city night schools. Admitted to 
the bar in 1903, he soon afterward formed a partnership with H. W. 
Ingersoll, under the firm name of Ingersoll & Stetson. This firm was 
in existence until 1910, since which time Mr. Stetson has practiced 
alone, and now gives most of his attention to his duties as assistant 
prosecuting attorney. 

For the past fourteen years Mr, Stetson has been active in local 
politics as a republican. He has served at different times as secretary 
and treasurer of the county executive committee and was secretary and 
had chaise of the local campaign during the fall of 1914 along with 
P. R. Fauver, who was chairman of the county central committee. Jlr, 
Stetson is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, of the Lorain 
County Bar Association, and has fraternal affiliations with King Solo- 
mon's Lodge, No. 56, Free and Accepted Masons, of which lodge he is 
worshipful master; with Marshall Chapter, No. 47, Royal Arch Masons; 
Elyria Council, No. 86, Royal and Select Masons, and is also a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Etks, the Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, the Knights of the Maccabees and the Modern Woodmen of 
America. His church home is the Methodist Episcopal. 

On October 6, 1910, at Cleveland, he married Miss Ethel M. Bart- 
lett, daughter of Willis P, and Nettie Bartlett, Her mother died May 
19, 1915, in Cleveland, and her father is still living in that city. Mrs, 
Stetson's family ancestry is traced back to Colonial times. She is also 
a graduate of Oberlin College, To their marriage have been born three 
children: Neva Claire, Carol Elizabeth and Frank Arthur, Jr. 

John Kaiser. It is not always easy to measure and appraise defi- 
nitely the accomplishments of the individual in business or professional 
affairs. However, the case is comparatively simple in consideration ot 
the building contractor, whose work stands out conspicuously and its 
value and importance are at once recognized. There is one company in 
Lorain County which during the past fifteen or twenty years lias prob- 
ably been identified with the construction and handling of more impor- 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



/tl 



vGoogle 



<^\^crZy(L.<yi _/J/7ct.<>S 



cz-^c/i-e^ 



Digitized by LiOOQlC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNT? 775 

tant contracts in the building Held than any other concern. This is 
the John Kaiser Building Company of Elyria, of which John Kaiser 
is president, and his brother L. P. Kaiser, is secretary and treasurer. 
In the sketch of the secretary of the company, L. P. Kaiser, will be 
found an enumeration of the more important structures and contracts 
which this company has handled and that list will serve to indicate the 
prominence of the Kaiser Brothers as business men in this county. 

The career of John Kaiser as a building contractor has been a 
product of long continued practical experience and efficient business 
management. He was born in Dover Township, Cuyah<^a County, 
Ohio, April 2. 1862, His parents, both now deceased, were Antone and 
Catherine (Wereh) Kaiser, the former a native of Canada and the 
latter of Germany. The family established their home in Dover Town- 
ship of Cuyahoga County in 1872, and afterwards lived in Wood County, 
at the City of Dayton, and at Cleveland and Cincinnati. In these 
various localities John Kaiser spent that period of life usually assigned 
to boyhootl and youth, though he had entered upon the practical stage 
of man's activities before his youth was spent. 

At different places and under different contractors he learned thor- 
oughly the trade of carpenter and builder, and is a man whose later 
business success is based upon the foundation of a thorough technical 
knowledge of the chief trade at the foundation of his business. For 
nearly ten years he was with John Rouser & Company of Dayton, three 
years of that time as foreman, and while there was a factor in the build- 
ing of the Barne.y & Smith Car Works at Dayton, in the construction of 
several buildings of Springfield College, and of courthouses at Tiffin, 
Sidney and Columbus. For several years while living at Cincinnati Mr, 
Kaiser paid particular attention to the intricate and difficult art of stair 
building. He engaged in contracting on his own account in Cincinnati in 
1885), During the next eight or nine years he completed a large addition 
to the University of Ohio, put up a large block on Walnut Hills in Cin- 
cinnati, and a large number of other houses in that city and vicinity. 

5Ir, Kaiser has been a resident of Elyria since April, 1898. The con- 
tracting business was first carried on under the name John Kaiser & 
Brother, but in 1905 the John Kaiser Company was organized and in- 
corporated, and for the past ten years that company name has been one 
of familiar association in connection with most of the lai^r building con- 
tracts in the city and vicinity. At the present time the company is erect- 
ing the new St. Agnes Catholic Church at Elyria. The John Kaiser & 
Brother Co. has built two schoolhouses in Lorain, and these are buildings 
of which any firm of contractors might well be proud. They opened up 
what is known as Kaiser Court in Elyria, where they have built and im- 
proved by the most modern methods and where Wth the brothers own and 
reside in fine residences which they built. Mr. Kaiser is one of the 
most prominent members of the Elyria Builders Exchange and served as 
its president in 1908. He and his family are members of St. Mary's 
Catholic Church, and he belongs to the Knights of Columbus. 

On June 17, 1889, he was married to Jliss Mary O'Connor of Sidney, 
Ohio. They have a happy family, for whom Mr, Kaiser has provided 
liberally, and the eight children are named as follows: Bessie, wife of 
Norman Terrill ; Margaret, wife of Frank Roekwood; Charles; Andrew, 
now deceased ; Mary ; Harry ; Ernestine ; and George, 

Locis Philip Kaiser. N'o man within the City of Elyria has contrib- 
uted in greater degree to the making of his surroundings than has Louis 
Philip Kaiser, secretary and treasurer of The John Kaiser & Brother 
Company, general contractors and builders and real estate agents. Turn 



,Google 



776 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

where you will, lar^ buildings and small, beautiful residences and mod- 
ern homes, banks and industrial structures, places of worship and edu- 
cational institutions, edifices for the housing of public utilities — these, 
and more which contribute to the architectural ensemble of a flourishing 
community, have been erected under the direction of Mr. Kaiser and 
the firm which he represents, and no greater tribute could be paid to hia 
skill, business sagacity and reliability. 

Mr. Kaiser was boru at Custar, Wood County, Ohio, August 8, 1875, 
and is a son of Autone and Catherine (Werseh) Kaiser, the former a 
native of Canada and the latter in Germany. They came to the United 
States about 1856, settliug at Dover, Ohio, where for a few years the 
father was engaged in blacksmithing. They then noved to Wood County, 
Ohio, and settled at Custar, but soon moved back to Dover Township, 
Cuyahoga County, Ohio, and subsequently lived for various periods in 
Wood County and at Cleveland, Ohio, When Louis P. Kaiser was about 
seven years of age the family returned to Dover, and there resided until 
about 1895 when the family came to Elyria, and here the parents both 
passed away. Antone Kaiser was a blacksmith by trade, a vocation which 
he followed during the greater part of his life, although he was also 
largely interested in farming. There were five sons and seven daughters 
in the family, of whom aU lived to maturity except one child who died 
when about twelve years of age. The oldest child, Mrs. Marj' Schuster, 
died in 1912 at her home at Custar, Wood County, Ohio, as the wife of 
Nick Schuster and the mother of twelve children ; font of the Kaiser sons 
and three of the daughters reside at Elyria, these being John, who is 
president of The John Kaiser & Brother Company ; Louis Philip, of this 
review ; Antooe ; Frank J. ; Mrs. C. R. Engles ; Mrs. Clinton Wadsworth, 
and Mrs. Prank Squires. 

Louis Philip Kaiser was given his literary training in the public 
schools of Dover Township, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, and in correspond- 
ence schools, but is lai^ely self educated, having learned more in the 
schools of hard work and experience than in any other kind. As a youth 
he learned the trade of carpenter, which he followed from his eighteenth 
year until he went into business on his own account in 1900, in company 
with his brother, John, in general contracting and real estate. The firm 
was known as John Kaiser & Brother until January 8, 1906, when the 
ctanpany was incorporated, and since then has been known as The John 
Kaiser & Brother Company, with John Kaiser as president of the con- 
cern, and L. P., as secretary and treasurer. In addition to doing the 
major part of the best work accomplished at Elyria since the inception 
of the company, this concern has erected three large churches at Lorain 
and has handled many other outside contracts. Notable among the 
structures erected at Elyria may be mentioned the Elyria Memorial Hos- 
pital, the Nurses' Home, the Elyria Savings and Banking Company, the 
Young Men's Christian Association Building, Washington Terrace, the 
American Lace Manufacturing Company 's plant and Saint Agnes ' Cath- 
olic Church. Por the last named, the contract figure was approximately 
$30,000, and work was commenced in May, 1915, Bishop Parrelly, of 
Cleveland, having authorized Pather MePadden, the local priest, to pro- 
ceed with the work. This is a brick edifice on Lake Avenue, 56x114 ft., 
with a seating capacity of 500 persons. The floor of the edifice is con- 
structed of reinforced concrete, and at some future date it is planned 
to erect an addition to the building, in which the altar and sanctuarj' will 
be located, thus increasing the seating capacity by 100. 

The John Kaiser & Brother Company have evolved new methods 
for use in particular cases, and in the conduct of their business all the 
way through have demonstrated the possession of progressive ideas and 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 777 

energetic spirit. In their own particular magazine, "Homes of Char- 
acter," they state; "The one big thought — the bnilding — which must 
continue to satisfy, delight, rest and relax, is the construction of the home 
itself — herein we specialize. We are not satisfied merely to assist you in 
securing a home. We wiah to render you a still larger service in aiding 
you in the selection of the style of home which your taste and your family 
position may require. To this end we are presenting you with a year's 
subscription to our publication. Homes of Character Magazine. Each 
iaaue will contain a wide range of building designs, as in this number. 
They will be actiial homes designed by the John H«nry Newson Company, 
probably the best known firm of designers of home architecture in the 
country. If you have a special design construction in mind, we shall be 
glad to give you the benefit of our services, as the exclusive representa- 
tives of the John Henry Newson Company, having your home designed 
according to your own ideas or in combination with some of these plans, 
securing this work for you friMn 10% to 20% cheaper than if you 
were to secure the same high grade of service direct. It is to our advan- 
tage to have every home in which we are interested as well as yourselves, 
built of the very hi^est and most artistic style obtainable." In the fore- 
going there are incorporated ideas which distinctively evidence the 
progressive and energetic methods by which this concern is actuated and 
operated, as well as a conception of the dignity and importance of the 
business that has contributed so materially to its success. The concern, 
as a dealer in real estate, land and homes, sells its properties at popular 
prices and according to easy payments which make it possible for even 
the man most modestly situated iinancially to secure a home of his own, 
and at the office of the company are to be found approximately 200 dif- 
ferent designs of homes, ranging from $2,500 to $15,000. 

In the building up of this large enterprise, Louis P. Kaiser has borne 
no small part. He is a well informed and broad-minded man, lending to 
the business a progressive spirit and to his community an extent of prac- 
tical usefulness the extent of which is difficult to adequately estimate. 
Fraternally, he is alfiliated with the Elks and Eagles lodges of Elyria, 
and also holds membership in the Elyria Automobile Club and the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Kaiser was married in March, 1912, to Miss Elsie M. Hauhn, who 
was bom and educated at Vermilion, Ohio, and also attended the Elyria 
Business College, daughter of Mrs. Mary Hauhn, who still resides at 
Vermilion. One son has been bom to Mr. and Mrs. Kaiser : Robert Louis, 
bom at Elyria, Ohio, April 2, 1914. 

Charles C. Lord. It is as & veteran newspaper man that Charles 0. 
Lord is best known in Lorain County, though his other activities have 
also brought him those quiet distinctions associated with the popular and 
capable citizen. 

At the present time Mr. Lord is city editor of the Elyria Daily Chron- 
icle. He has been in the newspaper business for a number of years, and 
is a printer by trade, having learned that business under the late Qeoi^e 
G. Washburn. Mr. Lord was born in Darlington, Wisconsin, and came 
to Elyria when a boy in 1870. Thus for forty-five years he has known 
Elyria in its changes and growth. Four years ago he became editor of 
the Chronicle. For some time he was in the fire insurance business, and 
in the way of public service he held the office of justice of the peace in 
Elyria Township many years. 

On June 10, 1885, at Elyria, he married Miss Alta Penfield. Their 
children, all graduates of the Elyria High School, are : Ralph Lord, now 
clerk in the United States district clerk 's office in Cleveland ; Clara, who 



y Google 



778 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

owns 8 ladies' shoe store in Fremont; and Walter C. Lord, who is a 
member of the class of 1917 in the Elyria High School. 

Henby ^Iiller is engaged in the real estate and insurance business 
at Elyria, Ohio. For many years he has been connected with the upbuild- 
ing of Lorain County and he has just reason to be proud of the fact that 
to his efforts can be traced many a substantial enterprise or advancement 
contributing greatly to the growth and prosperity of this section of the 
state. In every sense of the word he is a representative citizen and a 
business man of marked capacity. 

A native of Lorain County, Henry Miller was born at Brownhelm 
Station, Ohio, Hay 28, 1865, and he is a son of Adodate and Regina 
(Smith) Miller, both of whom are now deceased. The father was born 
in Mecklenburg Sehwerin, Germany, and his parents passed their entire 
lives in the Fatherland. He was a substitute for Henry Lutz when men 
were being drafted for service in the Civil war, but that struggle was 
terminated before he was called. During the greater part of his active 
career he was a stone quarryman but for a number of years he conducted 
a butcher and saloon business. Mrs. Miller was born at Brownhelm 
Station, Ohio, and her father, Henry Smith, was a native of Hessen, 
Germany, whence he immigrated to the United States in an early day. 
Henry Smith drove an ox team from Brownhelm Station to Cleveland 
to the first grist mill established in the latter city. En route he forded 
the Rocky River, and it took him three weeks to make the round trip. 
He built a log house in the vicinity of Brownhelm Station and subse- 
quently erected a frame house, which is still standing and which is now 
used as a store house on the old Smith homestead. It is roofed with hand 
split and shaved shingles and has been in continuous use for over forty-six 
years. This farm is owned by Sirs. Henry Brown, an aunt of the subject 
of this review. Mrs. Miller was summoned to the life eternal October 8, 
1912, and Mr, Miller died in 1889; both are interred in the Brownhelm 
Station Cemetery. 

Concerning the eight children born to R[r. and Mrs. Miller the fol- 
lowing brief data are here incorporated : Jacob lives at Amherst, Ohio; 
Henry is the subject of this sketch ; Lizzie is the wife of C. W. Sales, of 
Huron, Ohio; Mary is the wife of Edward "Wittmer, of Vermillion, 
Ohio; Charles A. lives on the old Miller homestead near Brownhelm 
Station and is unmarried ; William is a resident of Amherst, Ohio; Freda 
is the wife of Fred Strehle, of Brownhelm Station : and Peter is deceased. 
Peter, the last mentioned, was killed in front of the old home, at the 
age of twenty -one years, by accidentally falling off a train and striking 
on an iron bridge girder. He lived only three days. The Miller chUdreu 
were ediicated in the little frame schoolhouse just east of Brownhelm 
Station and two miles distant from their home. 

Henry Miller attended school until he had reached his eleventh year, 
at which tender age he began to work on a farm for Charles Cooley. 
Subsequently he worked for Joshua Phelps for several years and then 
he pound-fished on the lake for a time, and November 29, 1886. he entered 
the employ of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad Company 
as a brakcman. continuing as such until 1894, when he was promoted to 
the position of conductor on a freight and construction train. He served 
in the latter capacity until April 26, 1907, on which date, while standing 
on the running board of the tender, he was brushed off by accident and 
both legs were cut off below the knee. This accident happened at West 
Park, a suburb of Cleveland, and of course put an end to his railroad 
career. Six months later Mr. Miller, plucky and energetic still, began 
to solicit fire, life and accident insurance on his stumps. He received 



y Google 



vGoogle 




tx-^>i_ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 779 

no help whatsoever from the railroad company. He has continued in 
this business to the present time and in addition now handles real estate 
and is agent for the Winkley Artificial Limb Company, of Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, the largest manufacturers of artificial limbs in the world. 
Needless to say Mr. Miller is equipped with a pair ol the Winkley artitieial 
limbs and is an ardent .advocate of their patent adjustable double sUp 
socket artificial leg, which is warranted not to chafe the stump. He haa 
represented the above company for the past five years, during two of 
which he traveled for that concern. He has made a splendid success of 
business in recent years and owns a fine, big automobile which he drivea 
as well as if he had never been crippled. 

In politics Mr. Miller is an ardent republican. He was elected 
infirmary director of Lorain County in the fall of 1909 and took up the 
reins of office, with two other directors, January 1, 1910. He served in 
the above capacity with the utmost satisfaction to his constituents for 
two years. This office is now under the supervision of the county com- 
missioners and is no longer elective. In the fall of 1912 Mr. Miller ran 
for the office of county recorder but owing to political exigencies met 
with defeat at the polls. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias at 
Elyria and is still affiliated with the Brotherhood of B^way Conductors. 

March 18, 1889, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Miller to Misa 
Ella Buswell, a daughter of Otis and Thankful (Pisk) Buswell, old 
settlers in LaGrange, Ohio, where they lived on the same farm for nearly 
fflxty years. Mr. and Mrs. Buswell are now deceased. Mis. Miller was 
reared and educated in Lorain County, She and her husband have one 
daughter, Dorothy E., bom in 1901. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are popular 
with their fellow citizens at Elyria and command the high esteem of all 
with whom they come in contact. It is to the inherent force of character 
and commendable ambition and the unremitting diligence of Mr. Miller 
himself that he steadily advanced in the business world until he now 
occupies a leading place among the active and representative men of 
Elyria. 

Joseph Binehower. For more than twenty-five years a resident of 
Wellington, Joseph Binehower though now in his seventy-fifth year is 
still active, looking after his business every day, and has had a most 
eventful and unusual experience. He is one of the surviving veterans 
of that grand army that fought for the preservation of the Union during 
the dark days of the Civil war. He has met every difficulty, has solved 
every problem, with the same unflinching courage and fidelity which 
characterized his service as a soldier. 

Some idea of his career is reflected in a short paragraph which was 
published in 1915 under the title Pifty Years in Business. It reads 
as follows: "On July 10, 1865, Joseph Binehower took his first applica- 
tion for insurance, it being on the property of Jane S. Brown of Savan- 
nah. Ohio, and on Saturday, July 10, 1915, he celebrated his fiftieth 
anniversary in the business. He has bad over 500 losses, all of which 
were settled without contesting a claim. This is certainly a great record. 
He is enjoying a good business at this time, and his many friends con- 
gratulate him upon his long and successful career as an insurance agent 
and wish him many more years in the business. He is still a live wire 
at the age of seventy-four, and represents some twenty-five companies." 

Joseph Binehower was boru in Wayne County, Ohio, June 17, 1841, 
' a son of John and Fannie (Ault) Binehower, both of whom were natives 
of Pennsylvania. The paternal grandparents were John and Susan 
(Stober) Binehower, who moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio, where they 
spent the rest of their days. John Binehower served as a teamster in 
the War of 1812. The maternal grandfather, Valentine Ault, who mar- 



y Google 



780 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

ried a Miss Lauer, was also a native of Pennaylvaiiia and was an early 
settler in Wayne County, Ohio. John Binehower, father of Joseph, was 
bom May 12, 1810, and died December 20, 1893. His first wife, mother 
of Joseph, died April 29, 1844. They were married in Wayne County, 
Ohio, and the father followed the trade of plasterer for some years and 
afterwards became a farmer. He died in Ashland County. By his first 
wife there were two children: Susan, now deceased, was the wife of 
Richard Palmer, and Joseph. For his second wife John Binehower 
married Sarah Klotz, and of the two children of that marriage one is 
now living, Mrs. Maria C. Karth of Adiland, Ohio. Mr. Binehower's 
parents were members of the Lutheran Church, and his father was first 
a whig and later a republican. John Binehower by close application to 
buainesB became quite well to do, but before his death lost nearly all his 
property. 

Mr. Joseph Binehower received his early education in the district 
schools of Ashland County, and had four months of attendance at an 
academy. He had begun his career as a practical farmer when the war 
broke out, and on September 4, 1861, he enlisted in Company B of the 
First Ohio Light Artillery, He served three years seven days, and 
was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, September 12, 1864. 
He was always on duty, and the record of important engagements in 
which he participated includes Wild Cat, Kentucky; Perrysville, Ken- 
tucky ; Stone River, Tennessee ; siege of Tullahoma ; Chickamauga ; Look- 
out Mountain and Missionary Ridge, and he left the army while the 
Atlanta campaign was in progress. Following the war he returned to 
Ashland County, worked on a farm a time, also attended the academy 
already mentioned, and then in July, 1865, started the insurance busi- 
ness as already noted. He remained in Ashland County until 1866 and 
from there moved to West Salem, Ohio, where he remained two years, 
was then in Nova, Ohio, six years, and three years at Polk, Ohio, where, 
in connection with insurance, he conducted a stove and tin business 
altogether eleven years. 

On July 18, 1867, Mr. Binehower married Mary A. Marks, a daugh- 
ter of George and Sophia (Hartraan) Marks, her father a native of 
Richland County and her mother of Ashland County, Ohio. Mr. and 
Mrs. Binehower became the parents of five children and four are now 
living: John M., who died April 9, 1905; Osea A., who married Morton 
A. Daugherty, is now a widow, employed as a clerk in a store at Welling- 
ton, has one child, Prances; Fannie M. married W. J. Slemmons. a 
dentist at Cleveland, and they have two children, Rhea Rutheda Pay 
and Joseph R. ; Ada S., who is secretary to the John J. Rhodes Insurance 
Agency Company at Cleveland; and Azalia Blanche, wife of F, A. 
Davies, a shoe merchant at Wellington. 

Mr. Binehower has always been prominent in Grand Army eireles 
and filled the various offices in his post. He is also a Royal Arch Mason 
and he and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Id politics he is a republican. 

For the past seventeen years Mr. Binehower has filled the office of 
justice of the peace, and has an unusual record in this office. He has 
disposed of 633 cases, and in all that time has had only six jury trials. 
During his residence at Polk in Ashland County, Ohio, he also filled the 
office of constable, deputy sheriff and town marshal. He was elected 
town marshal for the express purpose of putting a man out of the saloon 
business in the community, and he succeeded. While filling one of these 
offices just mentioned he also had the distinction of arresting for murder 
the last two criminals in Ohio who were hanged outside of penitentiary 
wallB. 

Mr. Binehower has been a resident of Wellington since 1888, at which 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 781 

time he established hia office aa an iiuurance man, and he has always 
enjoyed a large and profitable business in that line. His prosperity is 
the more creditable on account of the fact that he had nothing given to 
him at the outset of his career, and has accomplished a great deal by 
relying upon his own efforts and courageously facing every cireumstajice. 

Arthur Thomas Glew, D, D. S, Though a comparative newcomer 
to Elyria, Dr. Glew is an old resident of Ohio, spent many years in the 
successful practice of dentistry at Germantown, and is now fortunately 
located and enjoys many influential professional and social ccmnections 
in his new home. 

A native of Canada and of English parentage, Arthur Thomas Glew 
was bom at Toronto May 8, 1871, a son of Thomas and Marguerite 
(McBride) Glew. His father was born in Yorkshire, England, and his 
mother in Toronto, Canada. Thomas Glew, who was brought by his 
parents to Canada when five years of age, grew up in that country, and 
became a school teacher, a profession which he followed practically all 
his active life, and for more than twenty-five years was engaged in hia 
work in and around Toronto. He died in that city in May, 1903, and his 
widow is still living there. There were three children : Albert Edward 
died in Chicago in 1892; the second in age is Dr. Glew of Elyria; and 
Horace Greeley, who was given that name on account of his father's 
ardent admiration for the famous editor of the New York Tribune, is 
now a dentist at Warren, Ohio. 

Dr. A. T. Glew received his early education in the public schools of 
Toronto, prepared for his profession in the Philadelphia Dental College 
at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he graduated with the degree 
D. D. S. in 1896. He at once moved to Germantown, Ohio, and was soon 
recognized as one of the leading dentists in that section, and remained 
in practice for eighteen years. Mrs. Glew's health suffered in the climate 
of the valley of (^rmantown, and on this account Dr. Glew in June, 1914, 
removed to Elyria, and has since met with excellent success in this locality. 

Fraternally Dr. Glew is affiliated with Germantown Lodge No. 157, 
Free and Accepted Masons; with the Royal Arch Chapter of Milesburg, 
Ohio ; with the Modem Woodmen of America ; and is a member of the 
Lorain County Dental Society and the Ohio State Dental Society. He 
also belongs to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. He and his wife are 
both active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Elyria, and 
they have taken much interest in church affairs. 

On December 30, 1896. Dr. Glew married Miss Martha Elizabeth 
Lee of Toronto, Canada. She was bom in England, but when five years 
of age came to Toronto with her parents and lived in that city until her 
marriage. Her parents were Ephraim and Jane (Roberts) Lee. Her 
father was a dry goods merchant in Toronto and died in 1903, the same 
year of the death of Dr. Glew's father. Her mother is still living in 
Toronto. Dr. and Mrs. Glew have two children : Lillian Marguerite, who 
was bora in Toronto, and Mildred lone, bora in Germantown, Ohio, 
Lillian is a member of the class of 1916 in the Elyria High School; while 
Mildred is in the 1918 class. Dr. Glew's offices are at 114 Middle Avenue. 

AUKN R. Branson. The business manager of the Elyria Chronicle, 
Alan R. Branson, while still a young man as age is measured in years, 
has had a broad and varied experience in business life, and during his 
career has at times filled offices of public trust. He is one of the live, 
energetic and progressive men of his adopted city, whose enthusiasm and 
industry have contributed to the growth and prestige of the paper with 
which he is connected. Mr. Branson was bom at Wellington, Ohio, 
October 24, 1886, and is a son of Edwin C. and Carrie Louise Branson. 



y Google 



782 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Edwin C. Branson was bom at Altoona, Pennsylvania, and learned 
the carpenter's trade at Defiance, Ohio, where he was married. Subse- 
quently going to Wellington, he formed a partnership with G. H, Palmer 
and founded the Wellington Bending Works. This existed until the 
plant was merged into, what is known as the Pioneer Pole & Shaft Co. 
After retiring from the firm he was elected county treasurer of Lorain 
County two terms of two years each ; later was appointed tax commis- 
sioner of Lorain County by Governor Cox, which expired January 1, 
1916. Mr. Branson is president of the ChrtHiicle Printing Company of 
Elyria, although he and Mrs. Branson make their home at Wellington. 

Alan R. Branson attended the public schools of his native place, and 
in 1904 was graduated from the Wellington High School, following which 
he took a course at Oberlin Business College, where he was graduated 
in 1905. He then went to Cheyenne, Wyoming, to enter upon his first 
business venture, the conduct of a hardware eBtabtishment. For several 
years thereafter he was engaged in playing professional baseball, at 
York, Pennsylvania ; Worcester, Massachusetts ; Ogden, Utah, and Tecum- 
seh, Michigan. After this experience Mr. Branson returned to Welling- 
ton, where he became manager of the Wellington Cold Storage Company, 
a position which he held for four years and which he resigned to come to 
Elyria and take over the business management of the Elyria Chronicle. 
In his career he has shown the possession of versatile talents which have 
allowed him to succeed in several directions, his present position being 
no exception to the rule. Mr. Branson is a Master Mason. A republican 
in politics, he has taken a lively interest in party affairs, and has appeared 
in a favorable light in public matters, having served as clerk of the board 
of public affairs at Wellington from 1911 to 1914 and as clerk of the 
Wellington Township School Board during 1913 and 1914. 

Mr. Branson was married at Wellington, June 16, 1910, to Miss 
Alberta May Knowlton, who was left an orphan when not yet six years 
of age, and after her thirteenth birthday made her home with Dr. and 
Mrs. R. G. Holland, of Wellington, until her marriage. Two children 
have been bom to ilr. and Mrs. Branson : Edwin Alan, aged four years; 
and Jack Holland, two years old. 

Frederick W, Colson is one of the prominent members of that group 
of live and enterprising business men and industrial leaders who have 
built up and given prestige to Elyria as a manufacturing city. 

Bom at Kent, Ohio, a son of W. B. Colson of Cleveland, and educated 
in the Cleveland public schools, Frederick W. Colson began his active 
business career about twenty-five years ago. He has the distinction of 
having been the firat traveling man for the Garford Saddle Company 
and for a number of years he was closely associated with Mr. A. L, 
Garford and had an important share in extending the sales of the original 
Garford saddles. It was in 1890 that he accepted the commission to go 
out on the road for this company, and he continued with the firm for about 
eight years. After that he was in business in Chicago, Buffalo and Cleve- 
land, and in 1907 retumed to Elyria, and has since been actively identified 
with the Worthington Company and with the Machine Parts Company. 

Mr. Colson is president of the Worthington Company, the other oflScers 
of which are: H. S. Pollansbee, first vice president; F. Colson. second 
vice president, and Thomas N. Cook, secretary ; and is vice president and 
treasurer of the Machine Parts Company, of which J. P. Brophy is presi- 
dent and H. W. Ingersoll is secretary. The Worthington Company man- 
ufactures a large line of wheeled vehicles under the trademark Fairy, 
including velocipedes and similar vehicles for children, and invalid wheel 
chairs and other wheel equipment and furniture for hospitals and sani- 



h.»^iOOgle 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 783 

tariums. The Machine Parts CompaDy alao manufactures wheel goods, 
screw machine products, and fine reed furniture, 

Mr. CoLson is an honorary member of the Ohio National Guard, is a 
republican in politics, is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks at Elyria, is a member of the Cleveland Athletic Club, the 
Elyria and Cleveland Automobile clubs, the Elyria Country Club and 
the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. His church is the Presbyterian. At 
Cleveland on December 18, 1894, he married Miss Ivy Edmondson, 
daughter of George W. Edmondson of Norwalk, Ohio. 

Smith W. Moore. The representative of the Ohio State Life Insur- 
ance Company, of Columbus, Ohio, at Elyria, Smith W. Moore has been 
identified with this line of business only since 1912, but in the short period 
of three years has become known as one of the leading insurance men of 
this part of the state. Mr. Moore was bom at Deersville, Harrison 
County, Ohio, March 1, 1878, and is a son of Samuel S. and Alice A. 
(Smith) Moore. 

The parents of Mr. Moore were married at Deersville. The father is 
a native of Harrison County and the mother of Canal Dover, Ohio. 
Samuel S. Moore was the first school principal at Deersville, and subse- 
quently gave up the vocation of education for that of the law, having been 
admitted to the bar about 1878, after some study at Hopedale, Ohio. He 
practiced at New Phildelphia, Ohio, for about eight years, and then en- 
tered journalism as editor and owner of the New Philadelphia Times, 
with which he was connected for eighteen years. Selling out at the end 
of that time he returned to his legal practice at New Philadelphia for two 
years, and in 1909 moved to Oberlin, Lorain County, Ohio, where he con- 
tinued to be engaged in practice until 191^. In that year he was ap- 
pointed one of the state examiners, in the Bureau of Accounting, a posi- 
tion which he still holds, his residence being at Oberlin, where Mrs. 
Moore also resides. There are four children in the family, all living; 
Smith W., the eldest, and the only son; Evangeline, who is now the 
wife of Boy Gordon, of Mineral City, Ohio; Isabel, who is the wife of 
Franklin D. Whitwell, of Knowlesville, New York; and Josephine, who 
lives with her parents at Oberlin. Mrs. Gordon is a graduate of the New 
Philadelphia High School and Mrs. Whitwell of Oberlin Academy, while 
Josephine is attending Oberlin High School and will graduate with the 
class of 1916. 

Smith W. Moore attended the public schools of New Philadelphia, 
following which he took a two-year course under Prof, John P. Kuhn, 
who was one of the most able professors in Ohio. At the normal school 
he specialized in mathematics, and subsec|uently went to the New Phila- 
delphia Business College, where he took a course in stenography. He 
was next with James B. Clow & Company, at Newcomerstown, Ohio, for 
a short time, and then became associated with his father, on the letter's 
paper at New Philadelphia. After being thus engaged for two years, he 
went to EvanstOD, Wyoming, as assistant bookkeeper and stenographer 
with the Beeman & Casliin Mercantile Company, but two years later re- 
signed that position to enter the service of the Union Pacific Railway 
Company, where he remained as night ticket agent and freight clerk for 
one year. Returning to New Philadelphia, he became connected with the 
Pennsylvania lines, at Canal Dover, Ohio, as bill clerk for one year, and 
then went to the Southwest, locating at Tyler, Texas, where he entered 
the service of the Saint Louis & Southwestern Railroad. There be was 
employed in connection with joint account settlements in the auditor's 
office for four and one-half years, when he again returned to New Phil- 
adelphia, and when his parents went to Oberlin he accompanied them to 
that place and remained there until accepting a position with the Lake 



y Google 



784 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad at Elyria. After working there 
for two years aa bill clerk, in 1912 he engaged in the life insurance busi- 
ness with the Ohio State Life Insurance Company, in which connection he 
has since specialized in health and accident insurance as general agent, 
his oflBces being located in the Elyria Block. Mr, Moore has made a de- 
cided success of his operations in this line, and has written some large 
business for his company. This is recognized as one of the strongest and 
safest institutions in the Middle West, having a cash capital (1915) of 
$661,902. and total assets of over $954,722.03. Its reputation for prompt- 
ness and hdelity to agreements has given it high standing, a position 
which Mr. Moore shares among those with whom he has had transactions. 
Mr. Moore is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Oberliu. 

On February 27, 1898, Mr. Moore was married to Miss Bertha Jones, 
of Stillwater, Ohio, who was bom and educated there and an accomplished 



William Fobd Lord. A family that has been identified with Lorain 
County for fully seventy years is represented by William P. Lord, a well 
known and successful carpenter contractor at Elyria, who is himself a 
native of this county, and has done a good deal to extend the associations 
of the name with usefulness and honor in this section of the state. 

Born at Ridgevjlk, Lorain county, September 11, 1847, William Ford 
Lord is a son of Thomas and Alaria (Ford) Lord. Both his parents were 
natives of England, and after their marriage came to the United States 
in the early '40s, landing in New York City, and shortly afterwards set- 
tling at the old Village of Olmsted in Cuyahoga County, Ohio. About 
a year later they moved to Ridgeville in Lorain County. Thomas Lord 
ran away from his home in England when only nine years of age, and 
shipped on an ocean going vessel, and spent many years in seafaring life. 
He sailed both on ocean vessels and in the marine of the Great Lakes, 
and part of his early career was spent in the United States Navy, from 
which he received an honorable dischai^. All this occurred many years 
before the Civil war, and before he had married. Returning to England, 
he married there Miss Ford, and then crossed the ocean to establish his 
permanent home in the Middle West. Many years later when he was 
quite an old man, he returned to England on a visit. This was about 
1875. Thomas Lord owned about fifty acres in Ridgeville and cleared 
it <out from the wilderness, partly with the help of his son William F, 
Six years before his death Thomas Lord moved to another place two miles 
distant, in Ridgeville Township, and both farms were in his estate at the 
time of his death. He attended with his wife the services of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, in which he was an active member. There were 
four sons and two daughters in the family; all of them grew up, and 
three boys and one girl are still living. Sarah, the oldest, and the wife of 
Thomas Kelly of Olmsted, Cuyahoga County, is now deceased, as is also 
her husband. Minnie is the wife of Percy Saulsbury of Olmsted. The 
third in age is William F. of Elyria. Richard J. died at Olmsted. George 
lives at Olmsted. Bert H. is a resident of Elyria. All these children were 
born on the old farm in Ridgeville and received their early education in 
that township. 

For many years William F. Lord was identified with the agricultural 
activities of Ridgeville Township. In 1895 he moved to Elyria and has 
since carried on a large business as a carpenter contractor, has con- 
structed a number of houses in and about Elyria, and has some valuable 
holdings in local real estate. In politics he is an active republican. 
While B resident of Ridgeville he served as supervisor a number of times. 
Fraternally he is a member of King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free and 
Accepted Masons. 

DiyizBohv'^iUU'-^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 785 

September 11, 1879, he married Miss Marie Westley of RidgevUle 
township. Mrs. Lord was bom in England, but was only nine years of 
age when her parents, George M. and Charlotte (Luck) Westley, came to 
this countrj'. Her mother is now living at Butternut Ridge, in Lorain 
County, past ninety-one years of age, while her father died at Elyria in 
1906. "Three children comprise the household circle of Mr. and Mrs. 
Lord. Lottie M., Merwin H. and Frank G. were all bom in Ridgeville, 
but finished their education in the Elyria public schools. Frank gradu- 
ated from the high school with the class of 1908. The stai, Merwin H., 
married Miss Marietta Cox of Elyria, and thus there are two grand- 
daughters in the family, Marion and Vivian. 

Chakles "W. Sualley, the proprietor of a flourishing grocery and 
bakery at No. 579 Broad Street, Elyria, is a business man and citizen of 
substantial standing who has won his position of honor by years of labor 
and intelligently directed industry. Mr. Smalley was bom April 10, 
1871, at Petroiia, Pennsylvania, one of the noted centers of oil production , 
of the Keystone State and the home of the famous "Coal Oil Johnnie," 
who was a neighbor and close acquaintance of Mr. Smalley. He is a son 
of Lorenzo W. and Mary E. (Larkin) Smalley, the former a native of 
the vicinity of Elmira, New York, and the latter born near New York 
City. The parents were married in New York State and at an early day 
moved to Petroiia, Pennsylvania, where the father was engaged as an 
express owner and baggageman, but subsequently went to near Oilman, 
Illinois, in 1879. There Lorenzo W. Smalley followed farming for a 
period of twenty years, then moving to Onarga, Illinois, where he con- 
ducted a bakery and restaurant for- one year, then retiring and living 
quietly until his death in April, 1900. He was buried at Onarga, fol- 
lowing which Mrs. Smalley moved to Cleveland, Ohio, where her son was 
at that time located. She has since made her home with the subject of 
this sketch. During the Civil war Lorenzo "W. Smalley made an effort 
to enlist in the Union Army, but was unable to pass the examination 
for physical soundness. He was a member of an old Yankee family, 
while Sirs. Smalley was of Scotch-Irish descent. There were four sons 
in their family, all of whom are living : William L., a bachelor, who was 
last heard from several years ago at Sioux City, Iowa; George W., of 
Cleveland, Ohio, engaged in the real estate and collecting business ; P. E., 
who is representative for the Frank Leslie Publishing Company, of New 
York, publishers of Judge and other magazines, having charge of their 
business in Texas, Oklahoma and a part of Mexico, with headquarters at 
Dallas, Texas ; and Charles W, 

The two older iKjys were educated in the public schools of Petroiia, 
Pennsylvania, while F. E. and Charles W. attended the district schools 
of Illinois, where the family resided at the time. Mr. Smalley 's parents 
were not financially able to give him the education that either they or he 
would have desired, but he was an assiduous student, making the most 
of his opportunities, and when he left the district school, at the age of 
thirteen years, had secured a good training. At that time, to quote his 
own words, he "began to hustle." His first business venture on his own 
account was as the successor of his father in the bakery and restaurant 
at Onai^a, an enterprise which he owned and conducted for four years, 
then selling out and moving, in 1896, to Cleveland, Ohio, where he secured 
a position as traveling representative for the great packing firm of Swift 
& Company. For eight years he was engaged in traveling in Cleveland 
and to points within fifty miles of that city, and believes that during this 
period he gained more real education and secured more practical knowl- 
edge than his schooling and experience had ever given him. On leaving 



y Google 



786 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

the employ of this concern, Mr. Smalley went to Ridgeville, Lorain 
County, Ohio, and there, in partnership with F. S. Bates, bought a general 
store and conducted it under the name of Batee & Smaliey for three years, 
at the end of which time ilr. Smalley disposed of his interests. At this 
time, in 1907, Mr. Smalley came to Elyria, where he bought the business 
of D. L. Curtis, grocer and baker at No. 579 Broad Street, where he has 
since carried on an excellent business in fancy groceries and bakery 
goods. Mr. Smalley is one of the wide-awake business men of Elyria, and 
is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, the Elyria Grocers' and 
Butchers' Association, the United Commercial Travelers and the Elyria 
Automobile Club. Personally he is a large, jovial man, whose many 
sterling qualities attract friends to him wherever he goes, but, although 
he enjoys the companionship of his fellows, he is more of a home man, 
and belongs to no fraternal orders. While they are not members, Mr. 
and Mrs. Smalley attend the First Methodist Episcopal Church. 

On December 15, 1903, at Cleveland, Mr. Smalley was married to 
Miss Grace A. McGarrell of Westfield, New York, where she was bom, 
reared and educated, daughter of the late Michael and Zilpha (Bristol) 
McGarrell. Mr. McGarrell died at Westfield, in 1913, and the mother 
still resides there, where the family is an old and honored one. After 
nine and one-half years of wedded life, Mr. and Mrs. Smalley became 
the parents of a daughter, Marion Zilpha, who was born at the Elyria 
Memorial Hospital, June 22, 1913, The saddest event in Mr. Smalley 's 
life occurred April 26, 1915, when this little one was taken away, dying 
at the age of twenty-two months. 

Louis Hadaway. The junior member of the firm of Hadaway 
Brothers, one of the rapidly growing business enterprises of Elyria, Louis 
Hadaway has been connected with this establishment since its inception 
and has had an active part in building up its business to its present large 
proportions. He is a native son of Elyria and with the exception of two 
years has passed his entire life here, his career being typical of the rewards 
to be attained through industry and integrity and the following out of 
an idea along well directed lines. 

Mr. Hadaway was born September 19, 1878, and is a son of Charles 
and Margaret (Mayers) Hadaway, the former born near London, Eng- 
land, and the latter in Ireland. Charles Hadaway was about nineteen 
years of age when he emigrated to the United States and settled at Elyria, 
and here continued to maintain his home during a period of more than 
twenty-eight years, his death occurring when he was forty-eight years of 
age. During seventeen years of tliis time he was employed on the stock 
farm of the late T. W. Laundon, located near Elyria. Mrs. Hadaway, 
who survives her husband, makes her home here. There were eight chU- 
dren in the family, as follows ; one who died in infancy ; Mrs. Kate Bath, 
deceased, who left two sons, now grown, Alfred and Charles, residents 
of Cleveland ; George H., who is the senior member of the firm of Hadaway 
Brothers, and whose sketch will be found elsewhere in this work : Eliza, 
who is the wife of Alfred Myers, of Cleveland ; Charles, of Elyria ; Louis ; 
Pred, of Elyria ; and Susan, who is the wife of Walter Johns, of Cleveland. 
All the children were born at Elyria and here educated in the public 
schools. 

After securing his educational training in the public schools, Louis 
Hadaway went to work with H. M. Andress, who was engaged in the 
livery business at Elyria, thus early gaining experience in a business in 
which he was later to win marked success. He remained with Mr. Andress 
for six years, and then turned his attention to the trade of machinist, in 
the plant of the National Tube Company, a concern with which he was 



by'^lUU'^lL' 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 787 

connected for eight years. When he had thoroughly mastered his trade 
and demonstrated his ability and capacity, he was sent by that company 
to Cleveland, Ohio, as an inspector, but after two years returned to the 
mills at Elyria, where he was employed until engaging in business with 
his brother, George H. In 1902 they bought the livery business of 
George Bivins, who was located on the present site of the American 
Theatre, on Broad Street, and from the start the venture was a decidedly 
successful one. In 1905, finding larger and more up-to-date quarters 
necessary, they built what is the largest storage building and livery in 
Lorain County, located at No. 607 Broad Street. Here are kept seventy 
horses and ten automobiles and automobile trucks, used for hack and 
transfer service, heavy teaming, moving, etc., with a patronage that 
extends all over the county. The Hadnway Taxi Company maintains a 
line of tasicabs, and makes a specialty of furnishing these vehicles for 
weddings, funerals, touring parties, etc. 

Like his brother, Mr. Hadaway is a republican, but also like him his 
activities in civic life have been confined to an eflfort to secure good legis- 
lation and efilicient officials. He is an enthusiastic automobilist and a 
popular member of the Elyria Automobile Club, but finds his greatest 
recreation, perhaps, in trout fishing. Each summer he spends his vacation 
in the vicinity of Traverse City, Kliehigan, and rarely returns without 
some magnificent specimens to show for his skill in the piscatorial art. 

Mr. Hadaway was married October 11, 1899, to Miss Margaret M, 
Hutehins, who was bom and educated at Elyria. where her family were 
old pioneers. Her parents were Almon and Phoebe (Madison) Hutehins, 
the former of whom is deceased, while the latter still makes her home at 
Elyria. Mr. and Mrs. Hadaway are the parents of two sons: Louia 
Sterling, born June 15, 1901 ; and Almon Russell, bom September 9, 1907, 
both at Elyria. 

James A. Hewitt. As a general contractor and builder Mr. Hewitt 
has filled an important niche in the business community of Elyria for 
more than ten years. His record of practical achievement as a builder is 
a long one, and is unmistakable evidence of his thoroughness and reliabil- 
ity and his reputation is now such that people entrust to him a tiisk with 
the complete confidence that it will be fulfilled in both the letter and spirit 
of the contract and the specifications. Mr. Hewitt was formerly asso- 
ciated with other firms and partners, but now is in business alone, and his 
offices are in the Masonic Temple. 

A Canadian by birth and of English ancestry, James A. Hewitt was 
born in the Village of Blyth, Ontario, December 26, 1878, a son of James 
A. and Annie Elizabeth (Wismer) Hewitt, the former a native of Lon- 
don, England, and the latter of Jordan, Ontario. They were married in 
the Town of Oshawa, Ontario. James A. Hewitt, Sr., was about seventeen 
years of age when he came from England to Canada, and for many years 
has been a successful contractor and in addition to that business now 
conducts a planing mill and lumber yard at BearasviUe, Ontario, where 
he and his wife have lived for the past t«n years. He was formerly 
a resident of Grimsby, where he was honored with the offices of mayor 
and councilman several times. He and his wife were active members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, All their five children, two sons and 
three daughters, are living: Mrs. S. S. Russ of Beamsville, Ontario; 
James A., who is the only member of the family in the United States; 
Mrs. T. J. Noble, living near London, Canada ; Ethel, at home ; and Roy, 
who is with his father at Beamsville. 

James A. Hewitt got into practical activities when little more than a 
boy, after finishing his education in the common and high schools of 



,Goog[e 



788 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Grimsby, Ontario. His first work was one year in a printing oflBce, the 
Grimsby Independent at Grimsby, but he left that to learn the car- 
penter's trade. He had been doing carpenter work for two years when he 
met an accident. His right hand was deeply cut by a saw, inflicting a 
painful if not danf^erous wound, and for nearly a year totally incapaci- 
tated him for further work at his trade. By careful treatment the wound 
was healed, and only a scar now exists as a memento of' the accident. 
Though unable to work at his trade, he found a situation as conductor 
and station agent on the H. G. & B. Railway at Grimsby. This position 
was given him on account of his acquaintance with C. H. Green, who was 
at that time superintendent of the road. Mr. Green is now superintend- 
ent of motive power for all the radial lines and city lines running into 
Hamilton, Ontario. Being once more fit for work, Mr. Hewitt resumed 
his apprenticeship as a carpenter, and was one of his father's trusted and 
efficient workmen up to eleven years ago. 

Mr. Hewitt came to Elyria from Grimsby, Ontario, in 1904, and for 
the following two years was foreman with the general contracting firm 
of Hinkson & Halpin. He was next with F. C. Wolf, general contractor 
at Elyria, for a little more than a year. ■ In 1907 he started out for him- 
self as a general contractor, but in November of the following year 
formed a partnership. The Halpin & Hewitt Company, general contrac- 
tors. After a year and a half Mr. Hewitt withdrew from the company, 
on April 1, 1909, and at that time opened his c^ce as an individual con- 
tractor in the Masonic Temple. He has since looked after his business 
alone, and has been highly successful. His specialty in the building line 
is the confftruetion of residences, and there are now more than a hundred 
houses in Elyria and vicinity wliich testify to his ability in this direction, 
and which represent investments of many thousands of dollars. Some of 
the notable private homes and other structures which have gone up under 
his superintendence and with the facilities which he supplies are the 
following: The A. B. Taylor residence on Washington Avenue; Mrs. 
Clayton Strauss' home on Washington Avenue ; the residences on Colum- 
bus Street of A. L. Patrick and J. B. Thomas; P. A. Smyth's home on 
Washington Avenue, and he also built the Charles Flower Block and 
the Hecock Floral Company's building. 

While a young man living in Canada Mr. Hewitt took an active part 
in politics, but he has not Iwen inclined or has found no time for such 
matters since locating in Elyria. Fraternally he is best known in Ma- 
sonic circles, having affiliations with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Free 
and Accepted Masons, with Marshall Chapter No. 47, Royal Arch Masons,' 
of which he is past high priest, with Elyria Council No. 86, Royal and 
Select Masters, Elyria Commandery No. 60, Knights Templar, in which 
(1916) he is eminent commander, and with Al Koran Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine at Cleveland. He is also a director and second vice presi- 
dent of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Elyria 
Automobile Association. While not members be and his wife attend and 
give their support to the First Congregational Church. 

On November 20, 1901, at Beamsville, Ontario, Mr. Hewitt married 
Miss Fannie T. Gibson. Her parents Joseph G. and Margaret (McGill) 
Gibson, were both bom in Scotland, and on coming to this country 
settled in Grimsby, Ontario, from there moved to Olmsted Palls in Cuya- 
hoga County, Ohio, and died there. Mr. Gibson was foreman of railway 
bridge construction. It is interesting to note how the destiny of life 
brought Mr. and Mrs. Hewitt together. She was bom in Grimsby, On- 
tario, in a house next door to where her future husband then lived, but 
so far as known neither one of them was conscious of the other's exbt- 
ence until years later. When she was one year old her parents took her 
to Olmsted Falls. Ohio, and she did not return to Canada until an attrae- 

DiyizBohv'^iULJ^ie 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 789 

tive young lady of about eighteen, and while at Beamsville she and Mr. 
Hewitt first came to know each other. A few years after their marriage 
tliey came to live in Elyria, which is not far from her girlhood home in tte 
adjoining county in Ohio. Mrs. Hewitt was educated chiefly in the 
public schools of Olmsted Palls, To their marriage have been born two 
children : Margaret Prances, whose birthplace was Beamsville, Ontario, 
and Geot^ Phelps, who was born in Elyria. Their home is at S15 Park 
Avenue. Mr. Hewitt takes his principaJ recreation in automobiling. 

Fr.ink Allen Smith. A resident of Lorain County most of his life, 
Mr. Smith's name is associated with various phases of Elyria 's commer- 
cial activities. For nearly twenty years he has been in the real estate and 
insurance business as his chief line of enterprise, has assisted in the pro- 
motion and has financial int«rests in different business concerns, and has 
identified himself with the organized movements for the general improve- 
ment of the community. There is hardly any event of importance in the 
civic and commercial history of Elyria during the past twenty years with 
which he has not been connected in some public spirited manner. He is 
now secretary and treasurer of The P. A. Smith & Brother Company, 
probably the leading concern in Lorain County in the handling of real 
estate and insurance and surety bonds. The corporation, which has been 
only recently formed to succeed the former partnership of F. A. Smith 
& Brother, has offices in the Elyria Block. 

He was bom in Wellington, Lorain County, Ohio, April 25, 1868, a 
son of Milo R. and Abigail (Haskell) Smith. His father died at Elyria 
August 30, 1913, and the mother is still living, her home being in Oberlin. 
Milo R. Smith was bom at Amherst in Lorain County, and his wife is a 
native of Augusta, Maine, bom on the Penobscot Rjver. She came to 
Lorain County with her mother, locating about 1856 in Oberlin, where 
she and Milo Smith married. The Smiths came to Ohio from Northern 
New York, their original seat having been near the head of the Hudson 
River. Milo Smith spent all his active years as a farmer in Huntington 
Township in Lorain County. There were six children, four sons and two 
daughters, all of whom reached maturity and all but one are now living. 
In order of age the children are: Will M., now president of The P. A. 
Smith & Brother Company; Edward H., who died in 1884 at the age of 
twenty-one on the home place in Huntington Township; l^argaret, Mrs. 
L. S. Hazel of Atlanta, Georgia; Frank A.; Mason D., a teacher in the 
public schools at Elyria; and Minerva, Mrs. Harry Crosier of Pittafteid, 
Ohio. All the children claim Lorain County as their birthplace, and as 
children attended the local public schools and all graduates of the 
Wellington High School. Will and Prank also attended business college 
in Terre Haute, Indiana, while Mason took his higher instruction in the 
Ohio Northem University at Ada. 

Frank A. Smith graduated from the Wellington His'h School with , 
the class of 1888, then entered business college at Terre Haute, and fol- 
lowing his graduation became bookkeeper with J. R. Duncan & Company 
of that city. A year later he went to Williamsburg, Kentucky, and spent 
five years with the Kentucky Lumber Company as bookkeeper. Return- 
ing to his home county, he located in Elyria in 1895, and about a year 
later engaged in the insurance and real estate business. He shared an 
office with -Clayton Chapman, but did business alone until 1912, when 
he was joined by his brother Will. Mr. Prank Smith moved from the 
Chapman office into the old Elyria Block, and was the first tenant in that 
structure, which subsequently was burned. With the construction of the 
new Elyria Block he was the first tenant to take possession, and that is 
still his business home. When his brother Will joined him in the busi- 



,Google 



790 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

ness the firm became known as P. A. Smith & Brother, but in May, 1915, 
the business was incorporated under the name The F. A. Smith & 
Brother Company, with Will Smith as president and Frank A. Smith 
as secretary and treasurer. This company handles surety bonds, fire 
insurance and city real estate, and is the leader in these lines in Elyria. 
The firm platted and laid out the Dewey Avenue allotment in Elyria 
in 1907, and all of that subdivision is practically sold out. 

Mr. Frank Smith is a stockholder in the Lorain County Abstract 
Company, In poiities he is a republican, and in many ways has made his 
influence count for good in the improvement of the eoinmunity. He 
served five years continuously as a member of the city council, and dur- 
ing the first two years represented the Third Ward and in the last three 
years was councilman at targe. He was also city assessor in the Fourth 
Ward for three successive years. 

Mr. Smith is much interested in fraternal affairs, and is affiliated 
with King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
at Elyria ; Oriental Commandery of the Knights Templar at Cleveland ; 
Al Koran Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Cleveland; Lake Erie Con- 
sistory of the Thirty-second Degree at Cleveland ; ajid is a raember of 
the Indepaident Order of Odd Fellows, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias, the Royal Arcanum, the Tribe of 
Ben Hur, the Modem Woodmen of America, the Order of the Eastern 
Star and the National Union in the local bodies at Elyria. He is a 
working member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Smith was married to Miss Nell E. Short of Wellington, Novem- 
ber 4, 1891, and on the same day he also voted for Major MeKinley for 
governor of Ohio. Mrs. Smith was bom in Devonshire, England, and 
when about two years of age was brought to the United States by her 
parents, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Short. About six years later she lost her 
father, and her mother had passed away when Mrs. Smith was about six 
years of age. She was reared and educated principally in Berea, Ohio, 
and subsequently lived at Wellington until her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith have a daughter, Esther La Rue, aged twelve, and now attending 
the grade schools at Elyria. 

Will M. Smith. The active business career of Will M. Smith covers 
fully thirty years, and the first half of that period was spent in the 
lumber industry and for the past fifteen years he has been associated 
with his brother in the lai^ real estate and insurance firm now known 
as The P. A. Smith & Brother Company, with offices in the Elvria Block 
in Elyria. 

A native of Lorain County, bom at Huntington October 9, 1860, 
Will M. Smith is a son of the late Milo R. and Abigail (Haskell) Smith. 
His mother is still living at Elyria, Further particulars concerning the 
family will be found in the sketch of Prank A. Smith. Reared on a farm, 
Will M. Smith attended the country schools, also the Wellington High 
School, and prepared for business by a course in the Terre Haute Busi- 
ness College of Terre Haute, Indiana. He got into active business life as 
a sawmill operator, and spent fourteen years in that industry, two years 
in Huntington and twelve years at Centerton, near Chicago Junction, in 
Huron County. Having sold out his interests at Centerton he moved 
to Elyria in September. 1901, and the following summer built his 
attractive home in that city, performing a large share of the work him- 
self. In the fall of 1902 Mr. Smith entered into business relations with 
his brother Frank A. under the firm name of P. A. Smith & Brother. 
In May, 1915, his husiness was incorporated as The F. A. Smith & 
Brother Company, with Will Smith president and his brother secretary- 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 791 

treasurer. This company bandlea surety bonds, fire insurance and city 
real estate and stands at the top as a reliable agency in these lines. The 
firm in 1907 platted and laid out the Dewey Avenue allotment in Elyria, 
and at this writing practically the entire subdivision is sold out. 

Mr. Smith takes much interest in fraternal affairs. He is secretary 
of the Brotherhood of American Yeomen, and has held that office for 
the past ten years. For the past eight years he has been recording secre- 
tary of Elyria LiOdge No. 103, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
is a member of King Solomon Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Elyria. He belongs to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, 
and in politics a republican, was quite active in local affairs while living 
at Centertou, in Huron County, serving as a trustee of Norwich Town- 
ship, as justice of the peace and as school director during his twelve 
years of residence tliere. His chuEch is the ilethodist Episcopal, and 
he was treasurer of the Sunday School a number of years up to Janu- 
ary, 1915. 

His first wife was Miss Stella M. Rotson of Spencer, Medina County, 
Ohio, She died in Elyria in 1901, one mouth after the family removed 
to this city. Her only daughter is now Mrs. C. R. Summers of Oberlin. 
On August 24, 1904, Mr. Smith married Mrs. Nellie White of Chicago 
Junction. The two children of her former marriage, both now with. 
Mr. and Mrs. Smith, are Dale and Ethel White. Dale White is a young 
man who has become widely known for his athletic accomplishments. He 
is fond of all outdoor sports, including basketball, football, and is an 
expert swimmer. In the spring of 1915 he assisted the local p(Jice as 
expert diver in recovering the body of a small boy who had been drowned, 
and also swam out and saved the life of a boy whose canoe had been over- 
turned. He is a graduate of the Elyria High School with the class of 
1913 and is a young man of great promise. 

Haevet T. Winckles. Two of Elyria 's most successful business 
men are members of the Winckles family, which was originally established 
in North Ridgeville of Lorain County. The parents of these two men 
are Thomas and Lucy (Hurst) Winckles, who are now living retired at 
Elyria. On other pages will be found information eoneerning them, 
and also the brother, Carey T. 

Harvey Winckles was bom at the homestead in North Ridgeville 
June 3, 1871. When a boy he attended the district school, also the 
public schools of Elyria and made himself independently supporting 
before he was out of his teens. 

For a time he and his brother were engaged in farming together, 
He took great interest in live stock and horses, and at different times 
owned and handled a number of fine animals. 

In 1896 he became actively associated with the Farm Implement 
Company, of which he is now the head. This company originated as a 
joint enterprise of the Winckles brothers and four senior associates. 
These were in turn bought out, while Mr. Robbins retained his interest 
and remained with them until his death in 1811. Thus the Winckles 
brothers own most of the stock in the Farm Implement Company, but 
Harvey T. has all the responsibilities of its management. 

The Farm Implement Company is the largest concern of its kind in 
Lorain County. Besides having a large supply of general hardware, it 
handles farm machinery, bu^es, harnesses, stoves, paints, oils and var- 
nish, and also has a large trade in field and garden seeds. 

Harvey T. Winckles is a director of and largely interested in the 
Elyria Construction Company, of which his brother is president and 
manager, and is also one of the directors of the Savings Deposit Bank 



y Google 



792 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

and Trust Company of Elyria. He is a member of the Elyria Chamber 
of Commerce and of the Firat CoD^regational Church, 

On December 2, 1896, Mr. Winckles married Miss Lizzie Philpott, 
a sister of George Philpott, the well known shoe merchant of Elyria. 
Mrs. Winckles was bom and educated in Elyria, is a graduat« of the 
high school, and for about four years prior to her marriage was one of the 
popular teachers in the public schools of Elyria. 

J. H.vRRy Hurst. The proper measure of importance and prosperity 
for a city is not found in its buildings and other material facilities so 
much as in its men. In proportion as a community has a group of live 
and enterprising individuals, it is performing its share of the world's 
serviee and is making progress in the right direction. In the nucleus of 
live and energetic citizens who are the core of Elyria's prosperity, one of 
the first to deserve mention is J. Harry Hurst, Mr. Hurst was for many 
years in the employ of the National Tube Company, rising from an 
humble place in that industry to an executive ofQce. A few years ago he 
resigned and has since directed the full current of his energies to the 
business life of Elyria, He is president of its Chamber of Commerce, 
is identified with a number of local concerns, and is active head and 
senior member of the firm of The Wilkins-Hurst Company, the largest 
and cddest furniture and undertaking bouse in Lorain County. 

At their location 382-386 Broad Street, three large floors are filled 
with an elaborate stock of furniture and rugs, while at 248 Broad Street 
are located the undertaking parlors, containing a chapel, a morgue, and 
a show and storage rooms for the largest line of caskets in Lorain County. 
The company also operates an auto invalid car and has every facility for 
perfect serviee. 

J. Harry Hurst was bom at Latrobe, Westmoreland County, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 9, 1859, a son of Joseph Lee and Naney (Jack) Hurst 
His father was bom in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, and is now living 
at McKeesport in that state at the age of seventy-eight. Since 1900 he 
has continuously held the office of county assessor of real estate. The 
mother is also still living at the age of seventy-nine. Joseph L. Hurst 
made a notable record as a soldier in the Civil war, serving as a private 
in Captain Henry L, Donnelly's Company G of the One Hundred and 
Thirty-fifth Pennsylvania Infantry. He enlisted August 8, 1862, for a 
term of nine months, and was discharged at the expiration of his term on 
May 24, 1863, at Harrisburg. He is now a popular member of Colonel 
Sam W. Black Post, No. 59, Grand Army of the Republic, at McKeesport, 
He and his wife are the parents of six sons and three daughters, hut the 
daughters all died in infancy. The six sons are living, and in order of 
age are named J. Harry, Frank W., Charles F., James Edward, J. Lee 
Jr., and William B. All except J. Harry live in McKeesport, are con- 
nected with the National Tube Company interests in various capacities, 
as foremen, furnace men, etc., and their homes are so located that all 
can be with their parents if required in fifteen minutes time. The 
children were bom at different localities in Pennsylvania, but within a 
radius of 100 miles around Pittsburg. 

A short time after the w^r Joseph L. Hurst had engaged in the dry 
goods business at Latrobe, but reverses came and the financial stress fell 
heavily upon bis family. J. Harry Hurst was at that time attending 
the public schools, but soon afterward found it necessary to get into some 
self-supporting activity. Most of his school attendance was at McKees- 
port, and it has always been a matter of deep regret with him that he 
was unable to continue his education as far as he desired. An education 
he holds one of the greatest advantages man or woman can possess, and 
with this idea he has been very liberal in securing the best of schooling 



izeatav'^iUOglc 




>^^— rlt-Z^^v, 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 793 

for his own children. "When fifteen years of age Mr. Hurst entered the 
employ of the National Tube Company, and continued with that industry 
for twenty-seven years. Prom a position hardly more than that of office 
boy, he went through many grades of responsibility, had charge of a 
number of departments, and after the company entered the trust be was 
transferred from McKeesport to the treasurer's office in the Frick Build- 
ing at Pittsburg, where he remained five years, and was then transferred 
to South Lorain, Lorain County, as chief clerk of tube and pipe depart- 
ment. This was in March, 1905, and after holding that position two 
years he resigned, and has since been actively identified with the business 
community of Elyria. 

Mr. Hurst came to Elyria in November, 1907, and secured an interest 
in what is now the Wilkins-Hurst Company. At the location on Broad 
Street already named a furniture store has been in business continuously 
since 1837. Until Mr. Hurst came to Elyria the firm was Ensign & 
Wilkiufi. On the death of Mr. Ensign Mr. Hurst bought his interests. 
Mr. Ensign was at one time a sheriff of Lorain County. The business 
has ^ince been incorporated as the Wilkins-Hurst Company. Mr. C. H. 
Wilkins still has an interest in the company, but since 1911 on account 
of ill health has been obliged to live in Redlands, California, where he 
looks after an insurance business. Mr. Hurst is now the senior partner 
and owns the bulk of the stock and is active head of this flourishing 



Known as a successful businessman, Mr. Hurst has been drawn into 
many of the activities which are making for a greater or better Elyria. 
In politics he is a republican, and in 1913 was appointed a member of 
the board of education to fill out the terra of W. W. Austin, who had 
resigned, and at the fall election held in Elyria on November 4, 1915, he 
was elected a member of the board for a term of three years and January 
1, 1916, was elected first vice president of that body. He is chairman 
of the building committee of the board of education. He is also a director 
of the Elyria Savings and Banking Company, a director and trustee of 
the Elyria Y. M. C. A., and a director of the Y. W. C. A., is president 
and a director of the Chamber of Commerce, a director of the Merchants 
Association of Elyria, treasurer of the Men's Club of the Episcopal 
Church, treasurer of the Men 's Federation Club of Elyria, and a member 
of the Elyria Country Club. When business permits, he enjoys a quiet 
game of golf with his friends at the Country Club. He baa been elected 
a life member of the Memorial Hospital Association of Elyria and is a 
member of the official board of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 
Masonry he has taken the thirty-second degree of Scottish Rite, belongs 
to the Council and the Knight Templar Commandery at Elyria and to 
various other Masonic bodies in McKeesport, to Syria Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine at Pittsburg and to the Eastern Star, a Ladies' Auxiliary 
of the Masonic order. He is also a member ot Harlan P. Chapman Post, 
Sons of Veterans, at Elyria, to the Elyria Tent of the Knights of the 
Maccabees, while his firm has membership in the Automobile Club. 

Mr. Hurst's first wife was Miss Hattic B. Powers of Elizabeth, Penn- 
sylvania. She died three years after their marriage at McKeesport. Her 
one daughter. Lulu LaRue, is now the wife of Howard B. Soraers of 
Elyria, now special agent there for the Northwestern Mutual Life 
Insurance Company of Milwaukee, with offices in the Century Block. 
Mrs. Somers was born in McKeesport, was educated there in the high 
school, spent nearly two years in the Indiana State Normal at Indiana, 
Pennsylvania, but left school on account of ill health. 

The present Mrs. Hurst before her marriage was Miss Elizabeth S. 
Robb, who was bom and reared in Beaver County, Pennsylvania, and was 
educated at McKeesport, being a graduate of the high school of that city, 



y Google 



794 HISTORT OP LORAIN COUNTT 

alid lived there until her marriage. For a number of years she taught 
school at Braddock, five miles from MeKeesport, going back and forth 
to her duties every day. Her parents were T, J. and Ellen (Veasey) 
Robb of Beaver County, where her father difd about 1900. Her mother 
now lives at Elyria with a son. Two daughters and one son have been 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Hurst. The daughters are Eleanor and Isabel, 
both of whom are graduates of the Elyria public schools, each has taught 
a year in Elyria Township, and both are now students in the Ohio 
Wesleyan University of Delaware, where Eleanor will graduate with the 
class of 1916. Both the daughters were bom in MeKeesport. The son 
is Orlando Hunter Hurst, who was born in MeKeesport, April 28, 1903, 
and is now attending the grade schools at Elyria. 

William Stolzenbubq 's record as a building contractor and in public 
affairs is one that gives him a special place in the history of the City of 
Elyria during the past thirty years, and reflects high credit upon his 
ability and public spirit. 

A brother of Henry Stolzenburg of Elyria and a son of Christian and 
Mary (Ebel) Stolzenburg, William Stolzenburg was born in Mecklen- 
burg-Schwerin, Germany, September 11, 1862. He came to the United 
States in the early '80s, several years before his parents emigrated to 
this country, and has been a resident of Elyria more than thirty years. 
His education came from the public schools of Germany, and after his 
confirmation in the Lutheran Church he attended night school four times 
a week for three years, taking second premium for scholarship the first 
year, first premium the second, and also received honors the third year. 
Before coming to this country he had served an apprenticeship of three 
years as a carpenter, worked as a journeyman one year and came to 
this country soon after his marriage. In 1885 Mr. Stolzenburg began the 
business of general contracting, and in the past thirty years it is doubt- 
ful if any building contractor in Lorain County has done a more extensive 
business. To his credit may be assigned the construction of more than 
400 buildings in Elyria, including business blocks and some of the finest 
residences in the city. 

At the same time he has been closely identified with the civic develop- 
ment of the city during his residence. For eighteen years he was a 
member of the volunteer hook and ladder company of the fire department, 
and is now a member of the Lorain County Volunteer Firemen's Asso- 
ciation. He was appointed assistant chief of the fire department, but 
resigned that post in 1907 when elected councilman at large, a position 
he has filled with judgment and ability for four successive terms, and is 
regarded as one of the strongest men in the city council. He is a member 
of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and the Elyria Builders' Exchange, 
and for many years has been one of the most influential members and 
officers of St. John's Lutheran Church, having served eighteen years as 
trustee, and is still in the office of head cashier of the church. 

On July 13, 1883, Mr. Stolzenburg married Miss Augusta Bobzien, 
who was also bom in Mecklenburg-Sehwerin. To their marriage were 
bom six children, all but one of them still living. Albert M., who was 
bom before bi-s parents left Germany, is in business at Elyria and married 
Tilla Stettin, and they have three children, Guy, Pearl and Ralph; 
Christian C„ born in Elyria, as were the other children, is a machinist, 
and married Hattie Peters of Elyria, and has two children, Chester and 
Helen ; "William H., who was a soldier in the regular army of the Ignited 
States for five years, married Lucy Pauley, and has one child, William; 
Rev. Otto P., who is now a minister of the Lutheran Church at Pomeroy, 
Ohio, married Nettie Vortman; Anna is at home with her parents; and 



bv'^iUU'^lL 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 795 

Eimna is deceased. AH the children are married except Anna and all 
received their early education in the German Lutheran School at Elyria, 
while Rev. Otto attended the public schools, the college at Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, and prepared for the ministry at the Concordia Theological 
Seminary in St. Louis, Missouri. 

Pall W. Saupsell, Jl. D. No history of the medical profession in 
Lorain County would be complete without reference to the personality 
and the conspicuous success of the late Dr. Paul W. Sampsell, who for 
many years was undoubtedly the strongest practitioner of the Eclectic 
School in Lorain County, and stood first and foremost among all repre- 
sentatives of the profession in this part of the state. He possessed all 
the qualifications for the successful physician, and in the end had hosts 
of atlmirers of the symmetry and wholesomeness of bis character. 

Though spending the greater part of his long lifetime in Lorain 
Countv, Dr. Paul W. Sampsell was born in Columbiana County, Ohio, 
June 22, 1828. He died in Elyria May 8, 1888. He belonged to a fine 
old family and one that furnished a large number of physicians to the 
world. Educated in the common schools, he attended the Eclectic Medi- 
cal College and also the Homeopathic School of Medicine at Cincinnati, 
from both of wbicb institutions he graduated. His first place of practice 
was in Ashland, Ohio, and from there he moved to South Bend, Indiana. 
He enjoyed a liigh degree of popularity and standing among the leading 
citizens of that young manufacturing city, and continued there until 
failing health obliged him to seek a change of occupation and climate. 
A few years before gold had been discovered on the Pacific Coast, and 
among young men of venturesome spirit no undertaking was more highly 
in favor than a trip to California. Believing that such a journey would 
be of great benefit to him, he crossed the plains about the year 1852, 
the party going by wagon. Among other members of this little expedi- 
tion were several of the famous Studebakers of South Bend, then .young 
men and close friends of Doctjjr Sampsell. These young men not only 
conducted their own tour but looked after a number of wagons and 
families on the road to California. At the end of one year in California 
Doctor Sampsell was greatly encouraged by his renewed health, and 
then decided to return to his native state. 

In 1854 be made a permanent location in Elyria, and continued there 
in the Eclectic practice of medicine until his death more than thirty years 
later. After going to Elyria be was offered a chair in one of the colleges 
of Cincinnati, but declined a position where his ability and learning 
would have made him useful as an influence in the instruction of young 
men preparing for medicine. This was mainly due to his great prefer- 
ence to remain in active private practice. The opinion has frequently 
been expressed that as a physician Doctor Sampsell had no superior and 
had few peers during his active career. He enjoyed not only a large 
office practice, but as long as health and age permitted be had demands 
u[M)n his time and energies requiring almost constant riding about the 
City of Elyria. Doctor Sampsell served as mayor of Elyria, and it is 
to his administration that the nucleus of the present beautifully shaded 
streets of Elj'ria is indebted, as the first shade trees were planted at 
that time. 

In 1855 Doctor Sampsell was married in Elyria to Miss Evaline 
Childs. To their marriage one son was born, Warren W., who died 
December 1, 1887, at the age of thirty-one. Mrs. Sampsell was a native 
of Elyria, and came of an early and highly respected family there, and 
she herself was a woman of high culture and popular esteem. She died 
at Elyria in 1904 at the age of sixty-seven. At the present time there 
is only one direct descendant of the late Doctor Sampsell. The son. 



y Google 



796 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

Warren W., and his wife are both deceased, but they left a son, Paul 
W., a grandson of Dr. Paul W., and now a auccessful lawyer practicii^ 
in Los Angeles, California. He has had his home in California since 
his grandmother's death in 1904, 

Gboeoe Benjamin Ranshaw. Few men possess the talent for the 
exercise of sueh extended activities for usefulness in the world as 
George B. Ranshaw, who is prominently known in Elyria through his 
work as a religious and social leader, and more recently as district 
agent for the Berkshire Life Insurance Company. A record of his 
life in detail makes interesting readii^. 

Bom in Covington, Kentucky, January 27, 1864. George Benjamin 
Ranshaw is a son of Henry and Emma (Warwood) Ranshaw. His 
father was born in London and his mother in Birmingham, England, 
coming to America when young, and were married at Cincinnati, Ohio, 
whence they removed to Covington, Kentucky. The mother came to 
the United States when about fourteen years of age. Her parents set- 
tled first at Pittsburgh, and later moved to Cincinnati. The Warwoods 
made the trip from England to the United States in a sailing vessel, 
which required about five weeks for the voyage. Cholera broke out 
among the passengers, and three of her brothers fell as victims of the 
disease and were buried at sea, and scores of the other passengers died 
before the end of the voyage. Henry Ranshaw came to America with 
an older member of the family, George Stacey, a half-brother. He waa 
about twenty-two years of age at the time, and they both settled in 
Cincinnati. They also made the trip from England in a sailing vessel. 
Henry Ranshaw had learned the trade of machinist and shipwright in 
London, and after coming to the United States he and his half-brother 
established an iron railing works in Cincinnati. They subsequently 
developed this into a plant for steel fabrication. Henry Ranshaw was 
on terms of intimacy with General Rosecrans and General McClellaii, 
both of whom were distinguished leaders of the Union army during the 
Civil war, and through the influence of General Rosecrans a large amount 
of Government business was turned to the plant at Cincinnati. The 
^business for which George Stacey furnished capital and which grew 
up largely under the supervision and as a result of the enei^ of Henry 
I^nshaw was known as the Stacey Manufacturing Company, and the 
firm is owned today by the children and grandchildren of Henry Ran- 
shaw and George Stacey, both of whom are now deceased. While they 
had not yet completed their naturalization as American citizens at the 
time of the Civil war, they organized a regiment for the defense of 
Cincinnati, in which Henry Ranshaw became first lieutenant, and his 
brother a captain. It was known as Col. Amos Shinkle's Regiment, 
and it may be noted in passing that Colonel Shinkle built the suspension 
bridge over the Ohio River at Cincinnati. Henry and Emma Ranshaw 
were the parents of eleven children, eight sons and three daughters, 
all of whom grew up, and all are still living except two sons and one 
daughter. 

The third son and the fifth child, George B. Ranshaw obtained hia 
early education in the public schools of Covington, and also attended the 
famous old Chickering Institute of Cincinnati; a school which at different 
times enrolled many students who afterwards became famous, among 
them William H. Tatt. Mr. Ranshaw entered the law department of 
the Cincinnati University, while Jacob D. Cox was its dean, and was 
graduated LL. B. with the class of 1885, and the same year, by special 
examinations, was admitted to the bar of Kentucky, and for about four 
years practiced in the office of George R, Sage and Thornton M. Hinkle 



bv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 797 

at Cincinnati. Later he went out to. the frontier in Dakota Territory, 
locating in Edmunds County, where he established himself in the town 
called Roscoe, that name having been given the new town in honor of 
the noted New York lawyer and politician, Roscoe Conkling. While in 
Dakota he purchased the newspaper Appeal, the official organ of the 
prohibition party, became sole proprietor, and through voice and pen 
did a notable work in educating the people of both North and South 
Dakota to establish prohibition as one of the cardinal principles of state 
policy. Mr. Ranshaw and Rev. James H. Kyle were co-workers in 
Dakota, and they subsequently moved to Aberdeen in South Dakota. 
Kyle outlined the platform of the populist party in South Dakota, and 
was elected on that ticket for the United States Senate, and died while 
filling his second term as a senator at Washington. During the four 
years in Dakota Mr. Ranshaw was elected state president of the Christian 
Endeavor work of. the State of South Dakota, and spent much of his 
time in presenting the principles of the Endeavor Society and in 
organizing it in various churches. 

It was this work which finally brought him to answer the call to the 
active ministry. Having sold his newspaper in South Dakota, the 
Appeal of Aberdeen, to members of the populist party who employed its 
columns to advocate that brand of polities, he returned to Kentucky and 
entered the Transylvania University at Lexington, where he took the 
English theological course. As a minister of the gospel Mr. Ranshaw 
had charge of churches at Paris, Indiana, for one year, two and a half 
years at Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, and in the third year entered upon 
his duties as pastor of the Walnut Hill Disciple Church in Cincinnati. 
He remained in that charge three years, and was then sent to Taylor, 
Texas, for a year. He was a member of the boards of both the Home 
and Foreign Missionary societies of the Disciples Church, and on account 
of his knowledge of the work of these two organizations he was sent as 
missionary pastor of the First Christian Church of San Antonio. Texas, 
and while there organized the first congregation of the Disciples faith 
among the Mexican population, and continued to superintend the work 
in the Mexican field as long as he remained in Tesas. Later returning 
to Cincinnati he became assistant secretary of Home Missions, and that 
was his principal work for ten years, though in the meantime he did much 
preaching, and also . founded and was editor of the American Home 
Missionary at Cincinnati. This paper is still published. Mr. Ranshaw 
has occupied the pulpit as a preacher in nearly all parts of the United 
Statea 

In 1910 Rev. Mr. Ranshaw was called to Elyria to become pastor 
of the local Disciples Church, and remained its minister up to October 
1, 1914. Since transferring his work to the field of Lorain County he 
has practically identified himself with many important movements in 
this locality. He has been called upon for numerous addresses of a 
memorial character and especially in the cause of prohibition, and at 
the same time has proved himself a thorough student ami vigorous 
worker for civic improvement. He was one of the commission of 
fourteen local citizens who drew up a new charter for the City of El.vria, 
though that charter was defeated by the machine politicians from both 
the dominant parties. He is now serving on the Elyria Citv Board 
of Health. 

On October 1, 1914, Mr. Ranshaw entered business as district agent 
for the Berkshire Life Insurance Company of Pittsfield. Massachusetts. 
This is one of the oldest life insurance companies in the country, having 
been incorporated in 1851, and for sixty-three years it has measured up 
to the highest standards of an ideal insurance service, has successfully 



y Google 



798 HISTORY OF LORAIX COUNTY 

met all the different tests applied by experience and cbauging conditions 
to insurance management, and offers practically all the most progressive 
forms of life insurance policies. Mr, Banshaw's office as district agent 
is in the Masonic Temple, and he has already built up a large clientele 
over his district, which covers the counties of Lorain, Erie, Sandusky, 
Muron and Medina. 

Mr, Ranshaw is a member of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce. 
Politically he is identified with that progressive branch of the original 
republican party whose champion is Theodore Roosevelt, but in local 
politics he votes independently. At the present time he is leader of the 
large men's class in the First Congregational Church Sunday School. 
He is also leading a large young men 's bible class in the Elyria Young 
Men's Christian Association, known as the Automobile Bible Class, and 
the first to be instituted in America. In 1915 he was elected chairman 
of the religious work committee of the Young Men 's Christian Association. 

In the way of public service while living in Dakota Territory he 
served as city magistrate and police judge at Roscoe. 

Oh October 25, 1894, at Covington, Kentucky, he married Miss Zue 
Lou O'Neal, daughter of Col. "Weden O'Neal and Caroline (Fenley) 
O'N'eal. On both sides Mrs. Ranshaw is descended from old Virginia 
stock. Her father was colonel of the Fifty-fifth Kentucky Re^ment of 
the Union army during the Civil war, and for many years was one of 
the prominent lawyers and republicans in Northern Kentucky, A num- 
ber of years ago he led a forlorn hope of the republicans against that 
eminent Kentuckian. John G. Carlisle, Mrs, Ranshaw 's parents both 
died at Covington. She was bom in Crittenden, Grant County. Ken- 
tucky, where her grandfather, John Penley, a wealthy planter and 
slave owner, was one of the first settlers. Mrs. Ranshaw was educated 
in the public schools of Covington, and for years has been a leader in 
church work. At Elyria she has given special attention to the Mothers' 
and Teachers' Organization. She is a forceful speaker, and possesses 
almost a genius as an organizer. She organized tlie first Teachers' and 
Parents' Association in Elyria. and has directed its work to a point 
productive to great good to all the public schools and has brought about 
proper co-operation between the parents and the teachers. She is also 
president of the Political Study Club, the largest club in Elyria; is 
president of the Federation of Parents' and Teachers' organizations of 
Elyria : and is vice president of the exclusive social club known as the 
Four O'clock Club, which is one of the oldest woman's orgamzations in 
Elyria, and has a membership limited to twenty-four, With the rcsitma- 
tion of Emma S. Olds from the hoard of education of Elyria. Mrs. Ran- 
shaw was appointed in her stead in December. 1914. and later she refused 
reappointment to the same office. She is frequently called upon to give 
addresses throughout the country around Elyria. largely on the subject 
of mothers' and teachers' co-operation in school affairs. 

To the marriage of Mr, and Mrs. Ranshaw were bom two children: 
Weden 'Neal. who was horn in Texas while his parents resided in that 
state, is now concluding his fourth year in the Staunton Military Academy 
in Virginia. Emilv Warwood, the daughter, graduated from the Elyria 
Tligh School in 1914, the leader of her class of eighty-four, and is now 
one of the most promising students in the large freshman class of 385 at 
Oherlin College. She was bom in Cincinnati, Ohio. ■ 

Hon-, Anthony Niedino, Lorain County has had many occasions to 
he grateful to its present representative in the Lower House of the State 
Legislature. Anthony Nieding. who was elected on the republican ticket 
in 1914, Representative Nieding, who is a prominent lawyer of Elyria, 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



C^Cc^^-/3^^^t^^y^/^U^^i.i^-<^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 799 

with offices in the Masonic Temple, is less of a politician than a public 
spirited citizen, and has shown excellent judgment in his work in the 
Legislature, The city council of EJyria recently passed resolutions thank- 
ing him for his effective work In defeating the Behne bill, which it was 
generally believed would have proved seriously detrimental to the cause 
of municipal ownership in Ohio. The bill was referred to a committee 
and Mr. Nieding, knowing of the bill and the action the committee was 
to take, was instrumental in sidetracking the bill for two weeks, when 
it was finally defeated. Another part of his legislative record was his 
bill, introduced at the request of the State Coroners Association, per- 
mitting coroners to deputize private citizens to serve writs and receive 
fees. This bill passed both houses of the Legislature in May and is now 
a law. t 

Descending from old German stock of Lorain County, Anthony 
Nieding was born on a farm in Elyria Township, August 2, 1875. His 
parents were Henry and Elizabeth (Neufer) Nieding. His father was 
bom in Germany, was brought to America as a child, his parents settling 
in Black River Township, and bis life has been spent as a farmer, largely 
in Ridgeville Township. Elizabeth Neufer was bom in Michigan, and 
Bier father, George Neufer, was also a native of Germany, and after 
coming to America saw service as a Union soldier in the Civil war. 

Educated in the country district schools, Anthony Nieding later 
attended Baldwin College near Cleveland, and spent two years in the 
Cleveland Law School. He was admitted to the bar June 12, 1903, and 
for the past twelve years has been engaged in active practice at Elyria 
and has a large clientage and has been unusually successful in handling 
many important cases. His activities in behalf of the public welfare 
began with manhood, and he has proved an effective worker in many 
movements. He was formerly a member of the Republican County 
Central Committee, is active in the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and 
in 1901 was elected secretary of the Lorain County Agricultural Society, 
a post he held for a number of years. Fraternally he is identified with 
the Fraternal Order of Eagles, belonging to Elyria Aerie No. 431 of 
Elyria; with the Modern Woodmen of America; the Knights of Pythias; 
Elyria Lodge, No. 465, of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
and with Harlan P. Chapman Camp of the Sons of Veterans at Elyria, 

On October 14, 1903, Mr. Niediag married Miss Grace Babcock, 
daughter of George P. and Lois A. (Mathison) Babcock. Her father 
came from New London, Connecticut, and after living in Lorain County 
a number of years went to New Jersey, where he was a Federal employe, 
and where he died in 1891. Mr. and Mrs. Nieding have one daughter, 
Lois E., born June 14, 1905. 

William E. Roe. Among those who have quite recently entered 
the professional circles of Elyria, on the basis of attainments and talents 
at the age of twenty-five William E. Roe has the promise of a brilliant 
future in the law and as a leader in public affairs. Mr. Roe belongs 
to a highly respected family which has been identified with Lorain 
County a number of years, and is of English parentage. 

He was born in Amherst, Lorain County, Ohio, May 6, 1890, a son 
of Samuel and Anna (Bancroft) Roe. His father was bom at Kirchkar, 
England, in September, 1862, and died at Amherst in Lorain County 
July 29, 1901. His son has apparently inherited many of his sub- 
stantial qualities of character and ability to win his own way. Samuel 
Roe came to the United States alone when about twelve years of age, 
and coming to Elyria in 1874 found employment which finally started 
him in the stone quarrying business. For a number of years prior to 



vGoogle 



600 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

bis death he had been connected with the Qray Canyon Quarry No. 6 
at Amherat and had charge of the entire west end as assistant superin- 
tendent. At an earlier day he had opened the quarry in Elyria in 
Cascade Park, went from here to Amherst about 1886, and his home waa 
in that town with the exception of about four years, during which time 
he was located in Cedar Valley, Iowa, as superintendent of the Bubler 
Stone Quarry there from 1892 until tiie year 1895. He returned from 
Iowa to Amherst and had his home there until his death. He is a very 
active church worker, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church at 
South Amherst, and is also known in the Masonic order and the Inde- 
pendent Order of Foresters, belonging to Amherst Ixtdge of the former. 
His wife was born in Yorkshire, England, was brought to this country 
when leBs than a year old by her parents, who settled in Amherst, 
' subsequently lived for a time in Canada, and then returned to Amherst. 
She was liberally educated, attending the public schools of Amherst 
and Elyria, where her parents lived for a time, and completed her 
education in the Oberiin High School at Oberlin. She died at Elyria, 
November 8, 1912. She was very devout as a Christian and a worker 
in the churches at Amherst and Elyria. Of the two sons, William is 
the older, and his brother, Elmer E., is now proprietor of the Amherst 
Bakery at Amherst. • 

Growing up in Amherst, William E. Roe attended the public schools 
there, the high school one year, and was graduated from the Elyria 
High School with the class of 1909. From there he entered the law 
department of Western Reserve University, and remained until gradu- 
ating in June, 1913, with the degree Bachelor of Laws, In the same 
year he was admitted to the bar by examination and in October opened 
his office in the Century Building at Elyria. In two years he has made 
his mark in the profession, and has earned a reputation for solid ability 
and proficient handling of all business entrusted to him, which assures 
him a fine future. 

He is a member of the Lorain County Bar Association and has 
recently entered actively into politics, having become a candidate for 
city solicitor of Elyria. He is a republican, a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce of Elyria, affiliates with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Knights of the Maccabees at Elyria, and is one of the 
young men who comprise the active membership of the Olympic Club. 
He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church of Elyria and to the 
Young Men's Christian Association. 

Earl Garfielo Jenkins. Every occupation of mankind demands 
certain special qualities which are applicable to no other in the same 
degree. That of funeral director in particular calls for a kind and 
sympathizing heart, refined manners and ready tact in embarrassing 
situations; for the undertaker touches humanity at its most sensitive 
point, when the personal feelings are least under control and the 
individual most in need of outside aid and guidance. One of the 
prominent representatives of this honorable profession in Lorain County 
is Earl Garfield Jenkins, of Elyria, whose funeral parlors are rituated 
at No. 335 Second Street. 

Mr. Jenkins was born at Morristown. St. Tjawrence County, New 
York, June 30, 1881. three days before the assassination of President 
Garfield, an event which accounts for his middle name. His parents 
were Rev, Owen and Delora lone (Doty) Jenkins, his father a native 
of South Wales and his mother of Troy. Ashland County, Ohio. Rev. 
Owen Jenkins came to the United States when twenty years of a«e 
in company with a man name Evans, both settling in Oberlin, Ohio. 



by'^lUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 801 

in 1865. At that time he was unacquainted with the English language, 
except for a few words which he had picked up from his fellow WeMi- 
man on the boat during the passage. But it was not long after his 
arrival in America before Owen Jenkins had acquired a practical knowl- 
edge of the English toogue. He was entered and was graduated from 
Oberlin College and Seminary, and was ordained to the Congregational 
ministry December 24, 1876. Previous to his ordination and wliile 
attending college he had preached at Grafton in Lorain County, and 
since that time he followed his calling chiefly in the State of Ohio, 
though about eight years were spent in other localities, including the 
State of New York. Reverend Jenkins passed away February 9, 1916, 
in Cleveland. At one time he lived at CoUinwood, Ohio, a suburb of 
Cleveland, and while there served one term as mayor. 

Rev. Owen Jenkins married Delora lone Doty, who completed her 
education at Oberlin College. They became the parents of three chil- 
dren : Parry D., also a graduate of Oberlin and now employed by the 
National Casket Company in the Cleveland branch; Earl Qarfjeld; and 
Royal J., deceased; the last mentioned died March 2, 1911, in Cleveland. 
He was bom in Cuyahoga County, Ohio, while his two brothers. Parry 
and Earl G., were both natives of the State of New York. 

Earl Garfield Jenkins acquired his education in public schools at 
Dover, CoUinwood, Chardon and other places where his father was a 
pastor. He began earning his own way in the paint factory of the 
Sherwin & Williams Company at Cleveland, in whose employ he remained 
one year, and then became bookkeeper for J. H. Libby, a cement con- 
tractor of Cleveland, in whose service he was for a year. Having 
determined upon the undertaking business as his profession, he began 
an apprenticeship with the firm of J. P. Hogan & Company at Cleveland 
on January 2, 1901, remained with them about three months, spent a 
season working at Euclid Beach, and then entered another undertaking 
firm of Cleveland, Black & Wright, with whom he remained two years. 
After continuing his apprenticeship with Saxton & Son of Cleveland 
he entered the Huron Road Hospital in Cleveland and studied anatomy. 
On October 25. 1904, he took the examination before the Ohio State 
Board of Embalming Examiners and was granted a license to practice 
his profession. He then became embalmer for J. L. Cross of Warren, 
Ohio, with whom he remained for a year and a half, subsequently remov- 
ing to Qarretsville. Ohio, to take charge of the undertakiog department 
of H, A. Wadsworth. A little later he moved to Akron, remained there 
nearly three years in the employ of C. T. Parks as an embalmer. On 
August 1. 1909. Mr. Jenkins came to Elyria and in the following October 
became a stockholder in The Wilkins-Hurst Company, with whom he 
was associated until April 18, 1914. In the following month he engaged 
in business for himself at his present location, No. 335 Second Street, 
and has developed an establishment thoroughly modem in every respect, 
including tasteful and commodious parlors, a complete line of funeral 
supplies, and be has one of the handsomest auto funeral cars in North- 
ern Ohio. 

Mr. Jenkins is a member of the Masonic order, being affiliated with 
the lodge in Akron, Marshall Chapter of Elyria and Elyria Council; 
also Elyria Commandery, Knights Templars. Since 1905 he has been 
a member of the Kniphts of Pythias of Warren. In politics he is inde- 
pendent, voting for the man rather than for the party. A member of 
the First Congregational Church of Elyria, he has served one term as 
deacon, and Mongs to the Men's Club of that church. He is a well 
known member of the Ohio Funeral Directors' Association. 

On January 14, 1908, Mr. Jenkins married Miss Mary Alice Cratsley 



,y Google 



602 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

of Warren, Ohio, daughter of Albert B. and Lottie (Herst) Cratsley. 
Her father is a retired farmer. Mrs. Jenkins was born in Trumbull 
County, Ohio, but was educated in Warren, being a graduate of the 
Warren High School. Her parents removed to Warren when she was 
a girl of twelve years, and are still residing there. Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins 
are the parents of one child, Albert Owen, who was bom in Elyria 
September 22, 1911. 

John T. Hendebson. Modern business requires practical and thor- 
ough training in the same degree as the professions and scieuces. In 
the entire State of Ohio there is no institution which affords a better cur- 
riculum and practical business education than the Oberlin Business Col- 
lege. This school, since its founding, has trained and graduated hundreds 
of young men and women, giving them a thorough preparation for 
entrance into business life. Throughout the United States can l>e found 
substantial business men who acknowledge the intluence of the Oberlin 
Business College as an important factor in their early developing career. 

The success of this important Lorain County institution can be 
attributed chiefly to John T, Henderson, now president of the college 
and an educator of long and varied experience. Mr. Henderson is also 
one of Oberlin 's foremost citizen's and business men and is president of 
the People's Banking Company. He was born near McConnelsville in 
Morgan County, Ohio, May IS, 1862, a son of John and Cecelia (Richard- 
son) Henderson. His father was bom in Virginia in 1822, a son of 
William Henderson, also a native of that state, whence he came to Ohio 
in the early days and located on a farm, Cecelia Richardson was born in 
Ohio in 1831, a daughter of Thomas Richardson, who was born in that 
portion of Virginia now West Virginia. John Henderson and wife were 
married at MeConnellsvitle, Ohio, and they afterwards bought a farm 
near that town and spent the rest of their days there. He died in 1884, 
while his widow is still living. Of their nine children eight are living, 
and Professor Henderson was the fourth in order of age. The parents 
were active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and the father 
was an Odd Fellow and in politics a republican. As a farmer he was 
successful beyond the average and at the time of his death left an estate 
of 240 acres. 

The boyhood of John T. Henderson was spent on the old farm in Mor- 
gan County. He attended the district schools in the winter time, and 
when quite young his aspirations and ambitions went beyond the horizon 
of his immediate surroundings. One step in his career was attending 
Normal School for several summers, and he was also a student in the 
Baldwin University at Berea, Ohio. For four years he was a teacher 
in the common schools and then for one year had charge of the commercial 
branches at Baldwin University. He was also a practical bookkeeper in 
the First National Bank of Berea. 

It was as a student in the old Oberlin Business College that he first 
became identified with this community in 1884. After doing some 
special work in penmanship he was employed in September, 1884, as a 
teacher of general business subjects. Later he increased his associations 
with the college by buying a half interest, and in 1895 he incorporated 
the institution under the name of The Oberlin Business College. At that 
time about half the stock was distributed among other owners, but he has 
since bought hack the greater part and is now practically sole proprietor. 

The Oberlin Business College has an enrollment of about three hun- 
dred students each year, and on the whole they come to the school mature 
in years and early training, and for that reason the graduates go out with 
a superior fitness and equipment for the positions to which they aspire. 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



1^ ^.^^^:XUrr'K-.-^ 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 803 

The college has two large buildings and in equipment stands in the front 
rank. One distinction of the school that should he noted is that it was 
the first husiness college in Ohio to be placed on the Accredited List by 
the State Department of Public Instruction for the training of commer- 
cial teachers. The normal department for training commercial teachers 
is now an important feature of the institution. All these improvements 
have been brought about during the progressive and enlightened adminis- 
tration of Mr. Henderson. Its growth has been such that in enrollment 
and in point of instruction and facilities the school is now four times 
as large as when he took charge. He has under him a staff of seven 
teachers and the curriculum includes, in addition to the normal depart- 
ment, all practical business courses, and special courses in penmanship. 
The officers and board of directors at the present time are : J. T. Hender- 
son, president; J. D. Yoeom, vice president; C. A, Barnett, J. E. Camp- 
bell, Dr. Lyman B, Sperry, G. L. Close, secretary, and Hon. A. R, 
Webber. 

On June 1, 1885, Mr. Henderson married Ada V. Lawrence, who 
was also bom near MeConnelsville, Ohio. Of the five children bom to 
them, four are still living : Elmer C, who was graduated from Oberlin 
College in 1912, spent one year as a teacher in the Chamberlain Military 
Academy, located at Randolph, New York, and is now employed as a 
teacher and athletic coach in the Broadway High School at Seattle, 
Washington. Harold, who was graduated from Oberlin College in 1914, 
having specialized in political science, and is now connected with the 
New York Bureau of Municipal Research; Alice E., graduated from 
Oberlin College in 1915, and is now teaching commercial studies in the 
Oberlin Business College; Herbert R., who is a junior in the high school 
and a member of the high school football team. 

Mr. Henderson and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and in politics he is an independent republican. He has been 
active in local affairs for a number of years, having served on the school 
board, as a member of the Board of Health for more than twenty-five 
years and for a long time was president of the local board of charities, 

Conrad A. Hokn. For ten years Mr. Horn has been connected with 
the office of county auditor of Lorain County either as deputy or 
auditor. His qualifications for the important duties of that position are 
so definite and well known that he is everywhere recognized as the 
man for the handling of these responsibilities in the county government. 
Mr, Horn has a self-made career, and has done well not only for himself 
but for others, and is one of the most popular men in Lorain County. 

Conrad A. Horn was bom at Lorain, Lorain County, December 3, 
1873, a son of Martin J. and Catherine (Krantz) Horn. His father was 
born in Huron County, Ohio, and died at Lorain, February 22, 1895. In 
early life he was a farmer and subsequently was mill foreman for the 
Lorain Lumber and Manufacturing Company and also identified with 
the general lumber business. He was a practical mill man, and by trade 
a sash and door maker. His widow, still living at Lorain, was born in 
Schenectady, New York, and was brought to I^rain County in infancy. 
Her father, Conrad Krantz, who died in May, 1915, at the age of eighty- 
six, was the last survivor of a group of ship builders who a generation 
ago laid the foundation of Lorain's ship building interests. He was one 
of the wealthy and prominent men of Lorain County. Martin J. Horn 
and wife had one son and two daughters: (1) Elnora, a widow living 
with her mother has two children, Norris and Katherine; (2) Conrad A., 
snb.iect of this article and (3) Cora, who died in infancy. 

Conrad A. Horn had a limited education in the Lorain public schools. 



y Google 



804 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

His tastes were early indicated for practical action; and he probably did 
not attend school up to the full measure of his opportunities. He has 
been working for his own support since early boyhood and has had a 
great variety of experiences. For a time he was a Great Lakes sailor, 
and for two years was a brass molder in the old Brass Works at Lorain. 
When his father died he became an employe of the lumber company in 
which the elder Horn had a position, and continued in the office of that 
firm for eight years. Having realized the need of a better education, he 
then gave up his business career temporarily in order to complete a 
course in the Oberlin Business College. Returning to Lorain, he was for 
a time employed by the Lorain City Waterworks Department, and while 
in that position was married August 5, 1905, to Miss Jessie E. Stuff of 
Fredericksburg, Ohio. Mrs. Horn is a daughter of John and Mary Stuff, 
both now deceased. 

Soon after his marriage Mr. Horn entered the county auditor's office 
as a deputy on December 1, 1905. He rapidly familiarized himself with 
the details of the office, and continued deputy five years and seven months. 
He then became a candidate for the office of auditor, and was unopposed 
for the republican nomination. He was elected in 1912 and re-elected for 
his second term in 1914, 

Mr. Horn and family reside in a beautiful residence at 651 Hamilton 
Avenue in Lorain, which he built in 1908. This home is on part of the 
original farm owned by his grandfather Krantz. Mr. and Mrs. Horn 
have one son, Robert L., who was bom in the family residence at Lorain 
just mentioned. 

Mr. Horn takes much interest in fraternal affairs. He is affiliated 
with the Masonic bodies at Lorain and with AI Koran Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine at Cleveland. He is also affiliated with the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks at Lorain, the Knights of Pythias, and 
other fraternal bodies. Other connections are with the Lorain Chamber 
of Commerce and with Emanuel's Evangelical Church of Lorain. Mr. 
Horn is well known in musical circles in Lorain County, has much natural 
ability in that art, and for the past nineteen years until very recently 
has been identified with either the Elyria or Lorain bands and is (1916) 
a member of Al Koran Band of Cleveland, Ohio, in connection with the 
ftfystic Shrine. He is also a lover of outdoor sports, and is usually to be 
found among the spectators at baseball, football, or basketball games. 

Rev. James B. Moonet. Among the CathoUc cleiT?y in Lorain 
County, Rev. James B. Mooney has distinguished himself for the earnest- 
ness of his labors, for his effective pastorate of St, Mary's Church at 
Elyria, and for his active support of everything that is wholesome in 
the life of the community. 

A native of Cleveland, Father Mooney was born July 22, ItiTO, a 
son of John and Catherine Mooney, both of whom were born in Ireland, 
came to this country as children, and were married in Cleveland where 
they are still residents. 

As a boy Father Mooney began his education in the Holy Family 
School (now St. Edward's) at Cleveland, at the age of fourteen entered 
St. Vincent's College at Beatty, Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, 
and three years later became a student in St. Charles College at Ellieott 
City, Maryland. At the age of nineteen he entered St. Mary's Theo- 
logical Seminary at Cleveland, and on October 18, 1894, was ordained to 
the priesthood by Right Reverend Bishop Horstmann at St. Slarj's 
Seminary. 

A few days later, on October 31, 1894, he was stationed as as^tant 
to Rev. R. A. Sidley, pastor of St. Peter and Paul's Church, at San- 



bv'^iUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LOEAIN COUNTY 805 

dasky, Ohio, Two years later he became assistant to the Rev. A. B. 
Manniug, pastor of St. Rose Church at Lima, Ohio, and remained there 
six years. Then came his first regular pastorate at St. Patrick's Church 
in Kent, Portage County, Ohio, and two years later he became pastor 
o£ St. ilary's at Conneaut, Ohio. On September 20, 1911, the Rt. Rev. 
John P. J'arrelly, Bishop of Cleveland, assigned to the pastorate of St. 
Mary 's Church in Elyria, and he has now been identified with this com- 
munity as one of its leading churchmen for more than four years. 

William H. Klinect. A native son of Lorain County, William H. 
Klinect at the beginning of his independent career had less than two 
hundred dollars in cash. He now has a fine farm of 110 acres all paid 
for, and besides has provided liberally for his growing family which 
numbers some seven or eight sturdy young men and women. He'is the 
type of man who generally makes a success of anything he undertakes, 
and his capability in managing his private interests has brought him 
at different times prominently into the public life of his home township 
and of the county. 

He operates a fine farm and dairy three and a half miles southeast 
of Grafton on rural route No, 3. William H. Klinect was bom in the 
house where he now lives October 28, 1868, a son of Jacob and Frederiea 
(Wise) Klinect. His father was bom in Liverpool Township of Medina 
County about five miles southeast of the present Klinect farm in Lorain 
County, and was a son of Michael and Catherine Klinect, both of whom 
were natives of Germany. Reared on a farm in Medina County, the 
father afterwards bought considerable land in Grafton Township and in 
the spring of 1868 he bought the eighty acres included in the present 
estate of his son William, There he spent his last days and passed away 
July 5, 1900. He was twice married. By the first union there were two 
children : Mrs. Elizabeth Cousins, who lives in Eaton Township and is 
the mother of eight children; and John, who lives in Orange County, 
Florida, and is married and has eight children. On January 17, 1865, 
Jacob Klinect married Miss Frederiea Wise, who was born in Southern 
Germany near the French border and when thirteen years of age came 
to America with her parents Peter and Louise (Mueller) Wise, who 
settled in Medina County, By this second marriage there were three 
children: William H., the oldest; Anna, wife of Charles Marsh, living 
in Elyria, and she has two sons named Orlo and Clarence ; and Frederic, 
who lives in Grafton Township and is married to Bertha Marsh and has 
three children, 

William H. Klinect spent his early youth on the old homestead, and 
profited by attendance at the local schools. He was well trained for 
his present vocation under the direction of his father and he not only 
worked in the fields but also bought stock and learned the butchering 



On December 12, 1894, he married Miss Lottie Marsh. She was bom 
and reared in Liverpool Township, of Medina County, a daughter of 
Irvin and Edith (Taylor) Marsh. Her father was also a native of 
Medina County while her mother was bom in Lorain County. Irvin 
Marsh was a farmer. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Klinect were 
horn ten children, two of whom died in infancy. The others are: 
Ir\-in, who was born September 19, 1895, and completed his education 
in the little white schoolhouse near the old home; Rosa, bom Noveral)er 
21, 1896; Mabel, Iwrn August 2, 1898; Lewis, bom January 29, 1900; 
Howard, born January 8. 1902; Lee, horn June 7, 1903; Manrice, born 
December 8, 1907; and Hazel, born March 15, 1910. 

After his marriage Mr, Klinect pursued a course of steady Indus- 



izeduGoogle 



806 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

try, thrift and economy, in which he was loyally aided by his wife, 
and in 1900 he was able to buy the old homestead from his mother. 
Since then he has created many improvements which have increased 
the value of his property. In 1907 he bought thirty acres of adjoining 
land. He erected a fine new bam in 1913 and has also remodeled the 
old house. With all this fine property to his credit and with his 
happy family, he can well be said to have accomplished all that an 
ambitious man can desire. 

In polities he is a democrat, and is now a member of the County 
Executive Committee. He served several terms as township assessor 
and in 1910 was both assessor and land appraiser. In 1914 Governor 
Cox appointed him member of the board of complaints and he served 
as president of the board. In 1910 Mr. Klinect was nominated for the 
ofiBce of county commissioner. Hia district is normally about 3,500 
majority republican, but he lost the election by only 490 votes. He was 
reared in the Lutheran Church, but his family attend the Methodist 
Episcopal and he helps to support that denomination. 

Thomas A. Conway. The active career of Thomas A. Conway has 
been spent in Henry and Lorain counties, and in both of these localities 
he has gained a gratifying number of official honors, and his ability 
as a lawyer and public leader are now generally recognized throughout 
this section of the state. He gained his education and every successive 
degree of advancement by hard work, and some twenty-five years ago 
was a country school teacher in Henry County, using that as a stepping 
stone to his position in the bar and has now been in active practice 
for twenty-two years. 

Mr. Conway's parents, Patrick and Jane (Callahan) Conway, were 
born in Ireland, came to this country when young, were married at 
Cleveland in 1862 and soon afterwards purchased a small farm near 
Olmsted Falls in Cuyahf^a County. While living on that farm and in 
a humble home, Thomas A, Conway was bom on June 19, 1864. In 
the following spring his parents' removed to Wood County, and after 
living in that county until 1883 they moved to Henry County, where 
the father died in 1913, aged eighty-seven years, and where the mother 



The healthy environment of the country was Jlr. Conway's early 
source of strength, and he attended the district schools and the Grand 
Rapids High School in Wood County, and beginning in 1885 was for 
eight winter terms a teacher. The summer seasons for four of these 
years, 1886-87-88-89, were spent as a student in the Northern Ohio 
University at Ada, and thus he perfected his literary education. In 
the fall of 1890 he began reading law with Judge John V. Cuff of 
Napoleon, Ohio, and was admitted to the bar in October, 1893. His pre- 
ceptor having been elected probate judge of Henry County, Mr. Con- 
way bought Mr. Cnflf's practice and during the next ten years was a 
lawyer of growing prestige and influence in that county. In 1903 he 
was elected prosecuting attomev, and held that office from 1904 to 
1907. 

His home has been in Elyria since September, 1907. In the spring 
of 1898 he formed a partnership with Harry A. Pounds under the firm 
name of Conway & Pounds, which continued until Mr. Conway's appoint- 
ment to the office of probate judge. 

Judge Conway has been a prominent factor in democratic politics 
since coming to Lorain County, and in 1908 his vigorous campaign for 
election as prosecuting attorney of T^orain County attracted wide altea- 
tion since he ran more than a thousand votes ahead of his ticket. This 



bv»^iOOgle 



</7lU>-vi'«-/«--* ^- -'vS-v.<-«*'T3C^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 807 

demonstration of popular esteem led to bis name being placed on the 
demoi^ratic ticket as nominee for mayor of Elyria after the death of 
Thomas Folger, who had been the first democrat to be elected to that 
ofBee since the Civil war, and who was again nominated for the office 
in 1909. but died several weeks before the election. About ten days 
before the election Mr. Conway entered the race, and to the happy sur- 
prise of liis friends was elected by a margin of twenty votes, though 
at the same election the republican candidate for city treasurer was 
elected by 1,400 majority. Mr. Conway gave Elyria a very efficient 
administration as mayor, beginning January 1, 1910, and serv- 
ing a term of two years. Since then still further official honors have 
been given him. Governor Harmon in 1912 appointed him judge of 
probate of Lorain County' to fill the unexpired term caused by the death 
of Judge E. H. Hinman, and he filled that office for eight months from 
June, 1912 to February, 1913. He was also a member of the charter 
eomiiiisaion of Elyria, which formulated a new charter for the city but 
this instrument was rejected by popular vote in 1913, On May 5, 1915, 
Mr, Conway was appointed referee in bankruptcy, an office he still 
fills. 

Fraternally he has served as grand knight of the Elyria Knights of 
Columbus, and is now a member of St, Mary's Catholic Church. He 
also belongs to the Elyria Chamber of Commerce, and is always found 
supporting every movement for a better and greater city. His offices 
are in the Reddington Building. June S, 1897, Mr. Conway was married 
at Ada, Ohio, to Miss Stella J. Owens. She was bom at Bluffton, Ohio, 
daughter of Henry P. and Elizabeth (Alerding) Owens, Mr. and Mrs. 
Conway have five children, all of whom were born in Napoleon, Ohio, 
except the youngest, a native of Elyria. Their names are Owen Thomas, 
Charles Bernard, Esther Elizabeth, Dorothy Estella and Eugene H. 

Hox. William G. Sharp. Lorain County has been well honored 
by the services of its public men in numerous high stations. The most 
recent distinction of the county in this respect was the appointment 
by President Wilson in June, 1914, of Hon. William G. Sharp as ambas- 
sador to France. Mr. Sharp has spent most of his life in Lorain County, 
though his activities as a lawyer and business man has led him far 
afield, so that he is a cosmopolitan in experience and has a wide and 
thorough knowTedge of world politics. Mr. Sharp resigned his place 
in Congress, where for the third successive term he was representing 
the Fourteenth Ohio District, in order to accept his present post, which 
is one of the most important in the diplomatic circles of the world. 

Without respect to party the appointment of Mr. Sharp was re- 
garded not only as a high compliment to an Ohio man, but as one com- 
pletely jiistified on every consideration because of Mr, Sharp's experi- 
ence as a lawyer, business man and congressman. The Cleveland Plain 
Dealer said: "William G. Sharp, nominated to succeed Mr. Herrick, 
will fill the office in a manner no less acceptable to both nations. Friends 
of the present member of Congress from the Elyria District will be 
pleased at the honor which has come to him. Three times in succes- 
sion the republican fourteenth district has returned Mr, Sharp to the 
House. In republican as well as democratic weather, the voters have 
signified their confidence in his character and ability, ignoring party 
lines and increasing his plurality at each election. Under the last re- 
districting act Mr. Sharp's home county of Lorain was thrown into a 
new group and the representative had already announced his disinclina- 
tion to seek another nomination," Likewise the Toledo Blade referred 
to the appointment in these words: "It is unlikely that the president 



y Google 



808 HISTORY OF LOHAI.N COUNTY 

could have filled the place more acceptably, even though he had cared to 
look elsewhere than in the ranks of those made eligible by the party 
expediency. Mr. Sharp in addition to being a citizen of soundest char- 
acter, is a gentleman of those social and financial attainments which 
particularly fit bim for the delicate and yet somewhat rigorous duties 
of representing the United States in Paris." 

At the time of his appointment Mr. Sharp was ranking member on 
the Foreign Affairs Committee of the House, and had become a power 
in the movement for international peace through his zealous efforts to 
accomplish this much desired condition. It is noteworthy that the 
Foreign Relations Committee paid him a compliment by agreeing to a 
report for his confirmation without referring the appointment to a com- 
mittee for investigation, as is usual. That was the first appointment to 
the diplomatic service which had thus been treated during the Wilson 
administration. 

Pew men in Ohio have displayed a greater versatility and thorough- 
ness of attainment than the present ambassador to France. He has 
been known as a lawyer, writer, astronomer and also a power in the 
industrial world. 

Bom at Mount Gilead, Morrow County, Ohio, March 14, 1859, be 
is a son of George and Mahala (Graves) Sharp. His mother is still liv- 
ing at Elyria. His paternal ancestors took a prominent part in public 
affairs of Maryland in the early days, his grandfather, George Sharp, 
serving as state senator and afterwards holding for many years a con- 
spicuous position in politics and journalism. Ambassador Sharp's father 
was well educated, came to Ohio about 1830, and was a pioneer news- 
paper man. The ancestors of Mahala Graves were Connecticut people, 
some of whom served in the Revolutionary war, and there were men 
of distinction on both sides. 

William Graves Sharp was reared in Elyria, graduated from the 
high school in 1877 and in 1881 took his degree in law from the Univer- 
sity of Michigan. On leaving college he spent some months in the North- 
west, in the Dakotas and Minnesota, and was principally employed in 
newspaper work. In 1882 he began active practice as a lawyer at Elyria, 
hut while successful in the ordinary channels of legal work, he has 
given most of his attention to industrial development and organization. 
In 1887 he became the legal adviser to a southern manufacturiug eor- 
poration, and this indirectly opened the field in which he attained his 
greatest business success. He effected the organization of a number 
of large companies manufacturing pig iron and chemicals in Michigan, 
Wisconsin and Canada. In 1907 he was chiefly instrumental in con- 
solidating the various companies in which he was interested into the 
Lake Superior Iron & Chemical Company, which soon became the lai^est 
concern for the manufacturing of charcoal pig iron in the world, owning 
numerous furnaces, mines, timber lands and chemical plants in Michi- 
gan and Wisconsin. The headquarters of the corporation are now in 
Detroit. Mr. Sharp's interests also include valuable holdings in real 
estate in Elyria and Lorain. 

In public life Mr. Sharp's advancement has always lieen against the 
serious obstacles presented by a normal republican majority. In 1884 
he accepted the democratic nomination for prosecuting attorney of 
Lorain County, and in his election overcame a normal republican ma- 
jority of 2,500, He declined renomination at the end of three years, 
and in 1887 was nominated for state senator and though leading his 
ticket was defeated. In 1892 he was a democratic presidential elector 
when Mr, Cleveland was elected for his second term. He was also 
democratic nominee for Congress in 1900, and a delegate to the Demo- 



by'^lUU'^lC 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 809 

cratic National Convention in 1904, In his election to represent the 
Ohio Fourteenth District in Congress in 1908 Mr. Sharp, as has been 
well said, succeeded in makin^^ the impossible possible. It was against 
his individual protest that he was nominated by the democrats in that 
year though in every respect he was one of the best qualified men in 
Ohio to represent the state in the halls of the national Legislature. 
He was elected by a large plurality, and this plurality was increased at 
each election, both in 1910 and 1912, and in the last year reached the 
impressive figures of 11,384. Almost from the first he occupied a posi- 
tion of unusual prestige and influence in the House of Representatives, 
and he was by no means unknown in diplomatic circles and over the 
country at large when his appointment as French ambassador brought 
him 80 prominently into the public eye. 

Mr. Sharp was married at Blyria in 1895 to Miss Hallie M, Clough, 
daughter of Henry H. and Margaret (Barney) Clough. Their five 
children are Margaret, George, William, Effee Graves and Baxter Sharp. 
Mr. Sharp is a Mason, an Odd Fellow, Elk, Woodman, and has mem- 
bership in many clubs both in Ohio and in the East. For several years 
he served as a member of the Elyria School Board. Among a more 
limited circle Mr. Sharp is known for his scientific attainments, particu- 
larly in the field of astronomy. That science attracted him when a boy, 
and as means and success came to bim Jie has never relaxed his enthusi- 
asm and is an amateur whose knowledge is unusually thorough and 
exact. He enjoys the friendship and association of many of the best 
known astronomers in the world. \ 

August Straus. The commercial history of Oberlin could not be 
written without frequent reference to the Straus family. The first 
head of this family in Oberlin is August Straus, who is one of the 
oldest active merchants. 

His cousin was the late Marks Straus, whose enterprise was one 
of the cornerstones of Oberlin's prosperity. Marks Straus was born 
in Germany and first came to Oberlin in 1848 as a traveling peddler. 
He possessed a splendid commercial genius, and when he died he was 
worth half a million dollars. His wealth and his influence went to the 
upbuilding of Oberlin in many ways. He founded a dry goo<l3 business 
which for years he conducted under his name and it was the chief trad- 
ing center of a large surrounding territory. He also owned a large 
hotel, but subsequently willed the building to Oberlin College. He 
was generous, broad minded, and was never selfish in his success. He 
married Miss Bartholomew of Oberlin and had one son, Clayton Straus. 
Marks Straus died in 1912 and his wife passed away in 1904. 

August Straus, who on first coming to Oberlin more than half a 
century ago, was associated with his cousin Marks in business for some 
years, was bom in Germany in April, 1843, a son of Abraham and 
Rose (Summerfelt) Straus, who were natives of the same district in 
the old country. His father was bom in 1798 and died in 1870, and the 
mother was bom in 1811 and died about 1868. Abraham Straus was 
a dealer in horses and cattle in Germany and the parents spent their 
lives in that country. Of their eight children five are living, August 
and two of his brothers came to the United States, but August is now 
the only one living in this country. 

He was about seventeen years of age when he came to America and 
in 1860 entered the employ of his cousin Marks Straus at Oberlin. He 
remained with him for eight or ten years, and then bought the clothing 
department, Marks Straus keeping the dry goods store. Since then for 
a period of more than forty-five years August Straus has conducted 



,Google 



810 HISTORY OF LORAIX COUNTY 

the leading clothiug business at Oberlin and has displayed much of the 
commeroial ability which so distinguished the late Marks Straus. 

In 1873 he married Sarah Wood of Birmingham, Erie County, Ohio, 
Their two children are: Bertha E., who married E. JI. Cook of Oberlin, 
who is associated with Mr. Straus in the clothing business, and they 
have a son named Elton Straus Cook. Claudia S. is the wife of W. P. 
Carruthers, and they have a son Arthur S. Mrs. Straus died in Novem- 
ber, 1912. 

Fraternally Mr. Straus is a Royal Arch Mason, and in politics is a 
democrat. At one time he served as vice president of the Oberlin Bank 
and was a charter member of the Oberlin Banking Company. 

W. P. Carruthers, who is now actively associated with his father-in- 
law Mr. August Straus in the clothing business at Oberlin, was born in 
Elyria, Ohio, April 14, 1870, a son of George N, and Mary Elizabeth 
(Chapin) Carruthers. His father was born in Virginia in 1831 and died 
in 1911. His mother, also deceased, was born in Amherst, Lorain County, 
in 1832. Both parents were early students of Oberlin College, and soon 
after George N. Carruthers graduated in 1858 he married, and then 
took up his active profession as an educator. He taught for a time in 
Oberlin College and also in the business college after the war. During 
the war he served as chaplain of the Fifty-first United States Infantry. 
Many hundreils of people have grateful memory of the late George Is'. 
Carruthers for his splendid wort as an educator. He was superintend- 
ent of public schools for forty years, part of the time at Elyria and also 
at Chillieothe and Salem, Ohio. , When he retired from actual school 
management, he bought a farm east of Oberlin, and lived there until bis 
death. The Carruthers farm under bis direction became a place of 
beauty as well as illustrating a profitable and progressive management. 
He introduced the first silo in this part of Ohio and took a very active 
part in faruiers associations and in other progressive movements. He 
was an active member of the Second Congregational Church and in 
politics a republican. 

George N. Carruthers and wife were the parents of seven children: 
Alice, deceased, was the wife of Dr. W. C. Bunce, and at her death left 
three children, Wilda, Catherine and Marjorie; Mrs. Bunce was a very 
prominent woman and a leading spirit in the Sorosis Club, the first 
woman's club in Oberlin. Arthur, deceased, married Bertha Wilcox and 
left one daughter, Zilpha. Mrs. I. H. Tftylor, widow of the former busi- 
ness manager for the Frederick Stearns Company of Detroit. P. I. Car- 
ruthers who is a successful newspaper man, for ten years business man- 
ager of the Denver Republican and is now with the Denver Post. W. P. 
Carruthers was the fifth in order of birth. Carleton F, died at the age 
of eighteen years. Harold G. is connected with the transmission depart- 
ment of the Willys-Overland Automobile Company. 

W. P. Carruthers after getting his education was clerk in a jewelry 
store at Oberlin for eleven years and then for fourteen years conducted 
a business in that line in Oberlin. Selling out in 1913, he has since been 
active in Jlr. A. Straus' clothing store. In 1900 he married Miss Claudia 
Straus. They have a son Arthur. Mr. and Mrs, Carufhers are mem- 
bers of the Second Congregational Church, and he is affiliated with the 
Masonic Order and in politics is a republican, 

Henry Stolzenburq. Aside from his responsibility and standing as 
a successful business man at Elyria, the chief characteristics of Henry 
Stolzenburg are his bigness of heart and breadth of sympathy which have 
brought him friends from every rank and station of life, and few local 
citizens have given a better and kindlier service to their fellow humans 
than this genial and popular resident. 



^Google 



-^^ 



,v^ 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 811 

A native of Germany, he was bom in Mecklenburg-SchweriD, Octo- 
ber 13, 1867, a aoD of Chriatian and Mary (Ebel) Stolzenburg. His 
father, who was a carpenter all his active years, brought his family to 
the United States in 1887 and in the same year located in Elyria. 
Between him and his son Henry existed more than the usual ties of 
affectioD between a father and son, and the latter was especially devoted 
to his parents, and the father lived in his home until his death on May 
8, 1915, having passed his eightieth birthday on June 22, 1914. The 
mother died at Elyria, April 15, 1893. There were four sons in the 
family : William, a brief sketch of whose career is found on following 
pages ; Henry ; Fred, a resident of Cleveland ; and Herman, the young- 
est, who died in 1908. 

Henry Stolzenburg received his early education in the public schools 
of Germany, and was about eighteen years of age when brought to the 
United States in company wiUi his parents. After coming to Elyria 
he showed his readiness to accept every opportunity offered by fortune, 
and worked in various employments up to 1899, since which year he has 
been in business for himself. For about three years he was loeat«d at 
Lorain, was in Cleveland for a year, and since then has been in Elyria. 
Mr. Stolzenburg owns a large amount of valuable city real estate. In 
1914 he put up the strictly fireproof three-story building on Broad 
Street at the corner of Chapel, the first floor of which is occupied by 
the People's Theater, a moving picture house, while the second and 
third floors are the elub and lodge headquarters of the Loyal Order of 
Moose. This building is one of the handsome and modem fireproof 
structures on the main business thoroughfare of Elyria and is distinctly 
a credit to the city. Mr. Stolzenburg owns other business property on 
Broad Street, and has constructed several residences which he rents. 

Thougli long identified with the republican party he has never sought 
any official position for himself. He is a member of the Elyria Auto- 
mobile Club, is affiliated with the Loyal Order of Moose, with Huron 
Tribe No. 200 of the Improved Order of Red Men, and with Elyria 
Aerie No. 431 of the Fraternal Order of Eagles. He also is a member 
of three local German societies, and was reared in the faith of the Ger- 
man Lutheran Church. 

On May 25, 1888, Mr. Stolzenburg married Miss Hulda Hyman of 
Lorain, daughter of Peter and Anna Hyman of that city. Mrs. Hyman 
is now living in the home of her daughter, Mrs. Stolzenburg. Mr. Hyman 
died at Xew Philadelphia, Ohio, in 1900. Mrs. Stolzenburg is a native 
of Switzerland, was about two years of age when she came to the United 
States with her parents, and grew up and received her edncation at 
Lorain, To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Stolzenburg were bom six 
children, and three sons and one daughter are living: Anna, now Mrs. 
R. P. Meyers of Elyria ; Louis A..; Edward W. and Henry Jr. Herman 
died aged two and one-half years, and Minnie died at the age of four 
and one-half years. The daughter Anna was bora in Lorain but the 
rest claim Elyria as their birthplace, and besides their education in the 
local schools they attended the Oberlin Business College. Mr. Stolzen- 
bui^ among other business interests is a stockholder in the Lorain County 
Banking Company at Elyria. He finds his chief recreation in auto- 
mobiling. 

George H. Hadawat. In the business history of Elyria. an enter- 
prise that is notable in that it furnishes an example of the energy and 
progressiveness that have built up this thriving community is the firm 
of Hadaway Brothers. Founded in 1902 in a modest way. this venture 
has grown and developed steadily until today it is the largest livery 



y Google 



812 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

and stora^ biisinese in Lorain County, handling a voliune of patronage 
that is not exceeded by a firm in any city in the state of the size of Elyria, 
George H. Hadaway, the senior member of thjs company, had hia 
earliest experience as a business man in the livery business. When he 
returned to this line after ten years in a different field, he began the 
development of the large livery, feed and sale stable which the con- 
cern now owns, and soon added automobiles to his equipment, a depart- 
ment which is now a very important part of the business, 

Mr. Hadaway was bom at Elyria, December 12, 1869, and is a son 
of Charles and Margaret (Mayers) Hadaway. His father, born near 
London, England, came to the United States when about nineteen years 
of age, locating at Elyria, where he was married, his wife being a native 
of Ireland, Charles Hadaway was forty-eight years of age at the time 
of his death, having been a resident of Elyria for more than twenty-eight 
years, during seventeen years of which time he worked for the late 
T, W, London on that gentleman's stock farm near Elyria. Sirs, Hada- 
way still survives her husband. There were eight children in the family : 
one who died in infancy; Mrs, Kate Bath, deceased, who left two sons, 
now grown, — Alfred and Charles; Geoi^e H. ; Eliza, who is the wife of 
Alfred Myers, of Cleveland ; Charles, of Elyria ; Louis, who is engaged 
in business with his brother, Oeorge H., and whose sketch appears else- 
where in this work; Fred, of Elyria; and a daughter who is the wife 
of Walter Johns, of Cleveland. All the children were bom at Elyria 
and here educated in the public schools. 

When still a lad, George H. Hadaway received his introductiou to 
the livery business with H. M. Andress, who conducted an establish- 
ment here for some years, but later became identified with railroading 
as a conductor on the C. L. & W. Railway, now a branch of the Balti- 
more & Ohio. Mr, Hadaway continued to be thus engaged for ten 
years, in which time he accumulated some small capital, with which 
he engaged in business with his brother Louis, under the firm style of 
Hadaway Brothers. They bought out George Bivins, locating in the 
livery which was located on the present site of the American Theatre, 
on Broad Street, but after three years found their business grown to 
Boch proportions that larger quarters were needed, and accordingly, 
in 1905, erected the present large storage building and livery-, at No. 
607 West Broad Street, the largest structure of its kind in Lorain 
County. Here they keep seventy head of horses, operate a hack and 
transfer line, do all kinds of heavy teaming and maintain an up-to-date 
and efficient moving service. They have also ten automobiles and auto- 
mobile trucks, while a taxicab service, operated under the name of the 
Hadaway Taxi Company, makes a specialty of weddings, touring par- 
ties, etc. 

Mr. Hadaway is a republican and has taken some active part in 
politics, although not as a seeker for preferment at the hands of his 
party. He is a director in the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and has 
shown a keen interest in agricultural development, being at this time 
vice president of the Lorain County Agricultural Society. Fraternally, 
he is afBliated with Lodge No. 465, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and Elyria Lodge No. 431, Fratemal Order of Eagles. 

Mr. Hadaway was married April 13, 1900, at Beach City, Ohio, to 
Miss Beulah E, Raff, who was bom at Beach City and is a graduate of 
the Beach City High School. Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Raff 
are old settlers of that place, where Mr. Raff is engaged in the cloth- 
ing business. Mr. and Mrs. Hadaway are the parents of two children : 
Vivian and Ruth, both born at Elyria. 



y Google 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 813 

Zavalah B. Parsons, It is conaistent with the eminent titness of 
things that a member of the Parsons family should now be holding the 
ctffiee of county commissioner of Lorain County. Zavalah R. Parsous is 
one of the most esteemed citizens of this county, represents one of its 
older families, and has made his own career conform to the best ideals 
of citizenship and private character. 

Bom on his father's farm in LaGrange Township of this county 
May 19, 1853, Zavalah R. Parsons is a son of Ralzaman and Esther 
Biantha (Nobles) Parsons. His parents were among the early settlers 
of LaGrange Township, There were four children in the family, one son 
and three daughters, the son being the oldest : Juatitia A. is now Mrs. A. 
E. McCasfeey of Chicago, Illinois ; Velette is Mrs. H. C, Sehultz of Des 
Moines, Iowa; and Nettie C, who married Benjamin E. Eston, died in 
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, in 1907 and is buried in LaGrange 
Township, All the children were bom in LaGrange Township, attended 
schools there and at Oberlin, and the oldest daughter graduated from 
Oberlin College, while the second attended the Conservatory of Music in 
Oberlin College and later taught music for several years. The daughter 
Nettie attended the Union School of Oberlin. 

Zavalah R. Parsons grew up in a rural environment and belonged 
to a family which well appreciated the 'necessity for education as well 
as moral training. He attended the district schools in LaGrange Town- 
ship, also a select school, and was a student in the preparatory depart- 
ment of Oberlin College when his scholastic career was unfortunately 
terminated. At the age of nineteen he suffered a severe attack of the 
measles, and the permanent effects of the disease weakened his eyesight 
BO that he was unable to continue at his books and bis eyesight has never 
since been normal. The measles was quite an epidemic at Oberlin about 
that time, and there were about 2,000 cases in the town. 

His education thus having been interrupted Mr. Parsons returned 
to the old farm and took an important share in its management. On 
December 31, 1873, when in his twenty-first year he was married at 
Oberlin to Miss Mary £. Blanchard, daughter of Darwin E. and Lucinda 
L. (Obits) Blanchard. After his marriage Mr. Parsons continued mn- 
ning the old homestead, since his father had moved into Oberlin. The 
farm at that time contained 170 acres, and at one time Mr. Parsons and 
his father together owned 260 acres, but these possessions have since 
been reduced until his present homestead comprises 105 acres, an excel- 
lent farm, with fine improvements and is a valuable and productive prop- 
erty. The old homestead had been bought by his father eighty yeara 
ago when the family came to Lorain County. 

Mr. Parsons continued to give his active supervision to his farming 
interests until the death of his wife on June 27, 1906. Since then he 
has rented his farm and has lived part of his time at his home in Elyria 
and part of the time in the country. He has given much time to public 
affairs, served as trustee and township assessor a number of terms in 
LaGrange. and has long been a -figure in the republican party in the 
county. Eight years ago he began his duties as county commissioner, 
having been elected to the office in the fall of 1905 and assuming its 
duties in the fall of 1906. He remained in ofifice five years was then out 
two years, and in the fall of 1912 was again elected, his term beginning 
in the fall of 1913 and terminating in September, 1915, No member of 
the board has given a more conscientious and capable administration 
than Mr. Parsons. 

Fraternally he is affiliated with the Lodge of Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows at Grafton, with the Knights of the Maccabees and the 
Knights of Pythias at LaGrange, with Elyria Lodge No, 456, Benevo- 



y Google 



814 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

lent and PFotective Order of Elks, and is an active member of the Elyria 
Chamber of Commerce, He is a working member of the Second Con- 
gregational Church of Elyria and helps supports two church^ in La- 
Grange Township. He and his wife had only one daughter, Grace J., 
who was born on the old farm in LaGrange Township December 10, 
1879, and died there September 11, 1880, at the age of nine months. 
Mrs. Parsons died suddenly of apoplexy. They were greatly devoted 
to each other, and her death was the moat severe bereavement which 
he has been called upon to suffer, and with home ties broken and with 
bis love of home and children unsatisfied, he has found the cares of 
public office a grateful diversion from his own personal bereavement 
and has exercised his big hearted nature in performing many kindly 
5 for others. 



Caeet T. Winckles. One of the flourishing business concerns of 
Elyria is the Elyria Construction Company, which is the outgrowth 
of the individual enterprise of Carey T. Winckles in general construc- 
tion work. The construction company was incorporated March 16, 1912, 
with Mr. Winckles as president, treasurer and general manager. The 
offices of the company are in the Elyria Block. Mr. Winckles had for 
some years prior to that time been engaged in road building and pav- 
ing construction, and has a notable record to his credit in the construc- 
tion of many miles of high grade highways and city streets throughout 
Lorain County. The company has an organization and ample facilities 
for ahnoet unlimited work in excavating, grading, paving, road build- 
ing, sewer construction, and other contracts of that nature. 

While this business has naturally brought Mr. Winckles into special 
notice among Lorain County business men he is primarily a farmer and 
dairyman. He now owns and resides upon a fine farm of 187 acres at 
North Ridgeville, the old homestead where he was bom May 23, 1869. 
His parents are Thomas T. and Lucy (Hurst) Winckles, both of whom 
are now living in Elyria retired. His father for a number of years 
operated the old home farm in Ridgeville, but about 1884 moved to 
Elyria. He served as a trustee of the township and held various other 
offices there, and both be and his wife were especially active in the Con- 
gregational Church at Ridgeville, and from Uieir home in Elyria they 
still drive out almost every Sunday to attend worship in their old home 
church. Thomas Winckles has been a deacon in the church for a great 
many years. Tbi.s is one of the older families of Lorain County, and 
Thomas Winckles was born in Avon Township, His wife was bom in 
Dover Township in Cuyahoga County. A brief record of their foi:r 
children is: Lillian, now Mrs. William Barnes of Cleveland; Lena, 
who died at the age of eighteen; Carey T. and Harvey T. of Elyria. All 
the children were bom on the old homestead in Ridgeville and attended 
public school there and in Elyria. 

The old farm on which Mr. Winckles was bom is known as the 
Meadow View Dairy Farm, and he has made it one of the finest of the 
farms in Lorain County. He keeps a herd of high grade cows, about 
sixty in number, and sends his milk products daily to Cleveland by the 
electric lines. It was in 1908 that Mr. Winckles took up the business of 
road building and paving contracting, and now divides his attention 
between the business of the Elyria Constmction Company and his dairy 
farm. Mr. Winckles is also president of the Farm Implement Company 
of Elyria. 

He is actively identified with local organizations, being a member 
of the Elyria Chamber of Commerce and a member and director of the 
Elyria Automobile Club, and fraternally he is identified with the Knights 



>c-iA^.^_ 



Digitized by LiOOQIC 



vGoogle 



HTSTORT OF LORAIN COUNTY 81B 

of the Maccabees at North Ridgeville. He was married in Hudson, 
Micbigao, to Miss Grace V. HoUister, who was bom and educated there. 
Her father, John H. Hollister, is now living in Hillsdale, Michigan, and 
her mother, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Olds, died several years 
ago. Mr. and Mrs. Winckles have a daughter, Ruth E., who is now 
attending the high school at Elyria. 

Fred E. Denn. An enterprising and progressive citizen of Eiyria 
Township, this county, is Fred E. Denn, who lives at Stop 93, Oberlin 
Line, where he is engaged in truck gardening, in addition to which he 
is rural mail carrier for this section. He is a man of keen intelligence 
and he gives a loyal support to all matters tending to improve local 
conditions. 

A native of the fine old Wolverine State, Fred E, Denn was born at 
Tecumseh, Michigan, August 12, 1874, and he is a son of Frederick 
and Catherine (Dueree) Denn, the former of whom was born just 
south of Oberlin, Ohio, and the latter at Geneseo, New York. Frederick 
Denn left home in 1870, at the age of nineteen years, and entered a 
veterinary college, in which he was subsequently graduated, with the 
degree of Doctor of Veterinary Surgery. He entered upon the active 
practice of his profession at Teeumseh, Michigan, and continued to re- 
side in that city until 1880, when he began to travel in order to improve 
his health. He had contracted consumption and that dread disease ended 
in his demise three years later, at which time he was living in Grafton, 
Ohio. He was but thirty-two years of age when death called him but 
bis kindly disposition had made an indelible impression on those who 
knew him and his memory will ever be green in the hearts of big 
friends. Mrs. Denn survives her husband and is now a resident of 
Elyria Township, where she is beloved by all who know her. Two chil- 
dren were bom to Mr. and Mrs. Denn, namely : Charles Henry, engaged 
in the electrical business and accidentally killed by an electric shock 
in 1901 ; and Fred Ernest, the subject of this review. 

Fred E. Denn was bereft of his father at the tender age of nine years. 
He completed the prescribed course in the common schools of Elyria 
Township and for a time attended the high school at Elyria. On 
leaving school he entered the service of the United States Express 
Company and for the ensuing thirteen years was driver of their only 
wagon in this section. Later he became agent for this company at South 
Lorain, remaining there for one year, at the expiration of which he was 
train messenger for the same concern for two years. In 1903 he was 
appointed rural mail carrier on Route No. 3 and he hDs continued to 
fill this position with the utmost efficiency to the present time, in 1915. 
On his plot of sixty-five acres Mr. Denn is most successfully engaged in 
dairying and general farming, finding a good market for his produce in 
Elyria. 

June 15, 1898, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Denn to Miss 
Anna F. Arndt, a daughter of Charles and Fredericka (Kchultz) Arndt, 
residents of Amherst, where Mr. Arndt was for many years engaged in 
the stone quarry industry. Mr. and Mrs. Denn have two children, both 
boys : Charley Ernest, born May 25. 1899, is a junior in the Elyria High 
School; and Clarence Albert, horn November 11, 1901, is a pupil in the 
graded schools. 

In politics Mr. Denn is a stalwart republican and in a fraternal way 
be is a valued and appreciative member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and of the Modem Woodmen of America. Mrs. Denn is 
a devout member of the Lutheran Church at Elyria and she takes an 
active part in both its religious and social work. Mr. and Jlrs. Denn are 



y Google 



816 HISTORY OP LORAIN COUNTY 

popular with their neighbors and they are looked upon as substantial and 
progressive citizens. 

Dewitt £u){tED. An evidence of thrift and industry exists iu the 
cozy and comfortable residence of Dewitt Eldred, located in Elyria 
Township, in the midst of a fertile tract of land whieh has within its 
borders sufficient gardening and other interests to beguile the compara- 
tive leisure of this erstwhile general farmer and stock raiser, 

Mr. Eldred was born in 1840 in Elyria Township, Ohio, a son of Noah 
and Mary Minerva (Murray) Eldred, His paternal grandfather was 
Moses Eldred, who came from Rome, New York, to Cuyahoga county, 
Ohio, settling on a farm west of Rocky River. He served in the War 
of 1812, following which he settled on what was known as the Shore 
Road, but later, finding that this was not to be the main thoroughfare, 
moved to a location on the Center Ridge Road, 2^ miles east of Elyria, 
in Lorain County. There he built a log tavern and later a frame house, 
which, substantially built of heavy timbers, is still standing as a land- 
mark of pioneer times. He continued to conduct the tavern until his 
wife's death, when he gave up the business, and from that time until 
bis death, at the age of eighty-three years, made his home successively 
with bis several children. 

Xoah Eldred, his son and the father of Dewitt Eldred. was bom 
at Rome, New York, in 1798, and accompanied his parents to Ohio at the 
age of ten years, .He was eighteen years of age when he engaged in 
farming on bis own account, purcliasing a property on Murray Ridge 
Road, in the western part of Elyria Township, and there accumulated 
105 acres of good land. His health failing he sold a part of his land, re- 
taining but fifty-five acres, but lived to the age of eighty-three years, 
dying in 1881. He was three times married, his first wife being Betsey 
Rlurray, who was an aunt of his second wife, Mary Minerva Murray. 
By his first union he had one son, Albert, who grew to manhood and 
died about 1909. The mother died about six months after his birth, 
and Mr, Eldred was again married, there being six children in this fam- 
ily: Charley and Betsy, deceased; Dewitt; one who died in infancy; 
Newton, and Mary. After the death of his second wife Mr. Eldred 
was married a third time, being united with Harmony Redington, of 
Amherst Township, Lorain County. There were two children born 
to them: Frank, deceased, whose widow is living on the old farm in 
Elyria Township ; and Martha, who resides at Elyria. 

Dewitt Eldred was reared on the family homestead and remained 
at home until attaining bis majority, when, in 1861, he enlisted in Colonel 
Barnatt's regiment of light artillery, with which he served three years, 
receiving his honorable discharge in 1864. During bis service he re- 
ceived a severe injury to his back, and this has troubled him more or 
less all of his life, although, at the age of seventy-five years, he is still 
erect, with a good carriage, and appearance of one many years youi^er. 
His military career ended, be secured employment with the Lake Shore 
Railroad, on the section between Cleveland and Erie, but after five 
years was compelled to resign as his injury troubled him severely, and 
his nest employment was in the handling of a stationary engine at 
Cleveland, a calling whieh he followed for five years. Mr. Eldred then 
turned his attention to farming pursuits in Dover Township, Cuyahi^a 
County, where he resided until 1890, and in that year practically retired 
from farm work. He has resided on his present place on Murray Ridge 
Road. Elyria Township for two years, this being a part of the old home- 
stead, where he has a small but comfortable residence, with a handsome 
garden. Mr. Eldred has been industrious, honest and thrifty and is 



hv'^iUU'^lC 



vGoogle 



vGoogle 



HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 817 

richly entitled to the exemption from care which attends his later 
years. 

On September 17, 1865, Mr, Eldred was married to Miss Mary 
Crawl, a native of Cleveland, whose father came from Pennsylvania. - 
Her mother died when she was a small child and her father two yeara 
later. Six children have been born to Mr, and Mrs. Eldred : Edwin, 
Burton, Arthur, Claud, Melville and Heott, all living with the possible 
exception of the last-named, who left home when sixteen years of age, 
aud has not since been heard from directly. 

The Columbia Steel Company. Perhaps no local industry at Elyria 
has had a more satisfactory record since it was established some thirteen 
years ago than The Columbia Steel Company. Moved to Elyria in 
1903, from small beginnings it has developed into a business that now 
supplies material not only to all parts of America but to foreign coun- 
tries as well. Its product ia known technically as cold rolled strip steel, 
largely employed in the manufacture of stamped, drawn and formed 
parts used in automobile equipment, typewriters, sewing machines, light 
hardware, and many other lines. The company speci^izes in the finer 
grades of this material, as for the most part the strips and sheets it 
makes are electroplated in the finished article. 

It was through the efforts of Arthur L, Garford, who was at the 
time general manager of the Federal Manufacturing Company, that 
what is now The Columbia Steel Company was removed from Chicago 
and re-established at Elyria under the present corporate name. At that 
time the plant was laid out on a generous scale, with a view to the require- 
ments of a growing business. In 1905 The Federal Manufacturing; 
Company was liquidated, and The Columbia Steel Company plant then 
came into the possession of The Pope Manufacturing Company of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. At the same time Mr. Garford retired to look after 
bis other extensive affairs. In May, 1905, the present manager, Mr. 
Charles E. Lozier, was installed by the Pope interests as general manager 
of the plant, and he still retains that position. 

It was the growth of the automobile industry which most favorably 
affected and brought about the rapid progress and prosperity of The 
Columbia Steel Company. Its products were used for many of the most 
important parts in automobile construction, though the output by no 
means goes exclusively to automobile factories. During the brief finan- 
cial panic of 1907-08, The Pope Manufacturing Company failed, and 
within less than a year the control of The Columbia Steel Company 
passed into the hands of a Chicago syndicate whose successors are 
largely included in the present official roster as follows : C. D. Smith, 
presidenb; W. L. Smith, treasurer; E. J, Scott, secretary; C. E. Lozier, 
vice president and manager. 

Probably nowhere in the country is a factory so well equipped for 
producing cold rolled strips and sheets of steel in accurate gauges and of 
excellent (luality. Special attention is paid to the matter of finish, and 
in consequence the Columbia product can be electro- plated without 
expensive pre- treatment, and for this reason the company enjoys the 
patronage of a wide circle of buyers who have grown to be fast friends 
of this Elyria industry. While a very lar^ proportion of the company's 
product* is of basic open-hearth quality suited to deep drawing opera- 
tions, the Columbia people sell also a considerable tonnage of high carbon 
and alloy strips, used in certain lines of manufacture. While The 
Cohimbia Company can be considered somewhat of a "specialty con- 
cern," its output is of such staple character, that the mill operates the 
entire year through and furnishes steady employment to about two 



y Google 



818 HISTORY OF LORAIN COUNTY 

hundred and fifty men, constituting a most valuable asset to the general 
prosperity of the city. The warehouses of the company contain a great 
tonnage of semi-fini^ed strips in the form of hoops, bars and bands, so 
that most orders can be promptly filled, and often with greater expedi- 
tion than by some of the larger competitors of this local indnstry. 
Wherever cold-rolled strips are in demand, the reputation of Columbia 
steel is that of the first rank in quality. The company has facilities for 
strips ranging in width from 5/16 inch to 20 inches, and in the matter 
of unusual widths it has practically no competition. The plant is most 
eligibly located at the junction of Uie tracks of the Lake Shore & Michi- 
gan Southern and the Baltimore & Ohio Railway, and no industry at . 
Elyria has better shipping facilities. 

W, G. Nichols, besides representing one of the oldest families of 
LaOrange Township, has made his own career count effectually for im- 
provement and prepress in that section and there is no resident there 
who shows greater capability in the management of the soil and his live- 
stock, and who enjoys more esteem among