(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of St. Joseph County, Michigan;"

■■BBBBaBB 




«•»»«■■• 






^>y. 





^M.mfmmmmmmmm$mm^^' 



ifa 



M^^i^i^iiiliiiiiiiiiiiii^^ 



HISTORY 

OF 

ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

MICHIGAN 



PREPARED UNDER THE EDITORIAL SUPERVISION 

OF 

H. G. CUTLER, General Historian 



HON. R. R. PEALER, CHARLES B. KELLOGG, E. B. LINSLEY, 

MRS. DELIA S. CROSSETTE, MRS. ALICE M. BOSSET, 

MRS. HENRY CHURCH, MRS. W. C. CAMERON AND 

OTHER LEADING MEN AND WOMEN, 

ADVISERS AND CONTRIBUTORS. 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME II 



PUBLISHERS: 
THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

CHICAGO NEW YORK 



History of St. Joseph County 



Robert Caldwell Hamilton was born in La Grange county, 
Indiana, June 10, 1830. His parents were Alice and Eobert Hamil- 
ton, who came to this country about 1820, and after some looking 
about for a suitable place, they settled near the town of Lima, then 
the county seat of La Grange, Indiana. Here they built a home on 
the banks of beautiful Crooked Creek, where after battling with the 
hardships pertaining to pioneer life they as the years passed gath- 
ered about them by diligence and labor a fine estate. 

Here the subject of this sketch, Robert C. Hamilton, was born, 
one of a family of twelve children. His parents being educated peo- 
ple, they used every effort to give their children educational ad- 
vantages. The two oldest sons were sent to Gambier College, both 
taking a classical course in that institution. The oldest, William, 
after graduating went to Iowa and taught school, and Hugh, the 
second brother, graduated with honor in the same class with Pres- 
ident Hayes. After graduating Hugh joined his brother in Iowa 
City where they opened the Mechanics Academy. There Robert C. 
finished his education and later taught school both in Iowa and In- 
diana. His life has been one of strenuous labor and whether it 
was farming or other business he did it with all his might. 

In 1856 he was married to Miss Josephine Ayres. Two chil- 
dren were given them, one son and one daughter, who are to-day 
valuable citizens. In 1862 Mr. Hamilton moved from the farm to 
Sturgis, Michigan, where he still lives a much loved and respected 
citizen. 

Hon. Edwin W. Keightley, a leading attorney of Constan- 
tine, Michigan, was bom in La Grange county, Indiana, August 7, 
1843. His father, Peter L. Keightley, was a native of Boston, Eng- 
land, and came to the United States when sixteen years of age ; he 
was a farmer and millwright, and settled in Indiana in 1836. 
Peter L. Keightley was the first man to own a threshing machine 
on White Pigeon Prairie; he died in his eighty-second year. He 

451 



452 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

married Elizabeth Winters, also a native of England, who came to 
the United States when a girl. They had four children, two sons 
and two daughters, of whom Edwin is the youngest living. Mrs. 
Keightley died also in her eighty-second year. 

Edward W. Keightley attended the common school and acad- 
emy, and was graduated from the law department at Ann Arbor 
University in 1865. He established an office in White Pigeon, 
where he remained until 1867, and at that time located in Constan- 
tine ; the first year he spent in White Pigeon he published the White 
Pigeon Eepublicmi. In 1872 Mr. Keightley was elected prosecut- 
ing attorney, and two years later received the appointment of 
circuit judge of the Fifteenth Federal District, to fill an unex- 
pired term ; in 1875 he was elected for a full term of six years. In 
1876 Judge Keightley was elected to Congress and in 1879 was ap- 
pointed third auditor of the treasury department of U. S., serving 
until 1885, when Grover Cleveland was elected. In 1886 Judge 
Keightley removed to Chicago, where he lived until 1899 and then 
returned to Constantine. He retained his home in Constantine 
while residing in Chicago. 

Honorable Keightley has been a lifelong Eepublican, and an 
earnest worker in the interests of the party, in other states as well 
as Michigan ; for many years he has been a member of the Masonic 
order, and has been for thirty-five years a Knight Templar. For 
thirty-seven years he has been connected with the First State Bank, 
of which he is a director and the vice president. He owns a fine 
farm of one hundred eighty-one acres in Colon township, St. Jo- 
seph county. Honorable Keightley is well known throughout the 
county, where he has a host of friends, and is universally liked 
and respected. 

In 1868 Honorable Keightley married Mary S. H., daughter 
of Honorable Thomas Mitchell, of Constantine, who died in 1890 ; 
they had four children, all of whom are deceased. He married 
(second) in 1894, Mrs. Lottie E. Haslett, daughter of Thomas 
Knowlen, of Constantine. 

Hon. Frank W. Wait. — The genealogy of the family of which 
the subject of this sketch is a representative has been traced back 
as far as 1075, to William the Conqueror, who gave the earldom, 
city and castle to Ralph D. Waiet, the son of an Englishman by a 
Welsh woman, and who married Emma, a cousin of the Conqueror. 

Among their descendants were Eichard, John, and Thomas, 
who were among the early settlers of New England. Thomas was 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 453 

the father of Josiah and in turn Josiah was the father of Jonathan 
G. Waite, the father of Frank W. The older generations of the 
family spelled their names in many different ways, the variations 
being as follows: Wayght, Waight, Wait, Waitt, Watt, Weight, 
Waiet, etc. 

Jonathan G. Wait was born in Livingston county, New York, 
November 22, 1811, son of Josiah and Ann (Graham) Wait, na- 
tives of Alstead, New Hampshire, where they were reared and mar- 
ried, aftei'ward moving to Livingston county. New York, and later 
to Lake county, Ohio. Jonathan G. accompanied his parents on 
their removal to Ohio, and from there, in 1834, came to Michigan, 
before she had attained the dignity of statehood. He had been 
reared on a farm, receiving only a district school education, and 
when he landed in Michigan, a young man of twenty-three, he first 
settled on Sturgis prairie. Later he became interested in manu- 
facturing, railroading, and politics, and figured in affairs that were 
state-wide. For a time he was engaged in the manufacture of boots 
and shoes, later turned his attention to the lumber business, and 
in 1850 was in the employ of the Southern Railroad Company, 
securing rights of way, and was a heavy contractor for the road. 
In 1857 he helped to organize the Grand Rapids & Indiana Rail- 
road Company ; was a director of the company, and superintended 
the grading of the road. In 1860 he established the Sturgis Jotcr- 
nai, which was conducted under his management for a period of 
ten years, and which exerted an influence for good that was far 
reaching. His political career covered many years. After serving 
acceptably in numerous local offices, such as township supervisor, 
clerk, etc., he was in 1850 elected on the Whig ticket to the State 
legislature. In 1860 he was honored by election to the State Sen- 
ate, was re-elected two successive terms, and filled the office with 
credit to himself and his constituents. 

October 20, 1839, he married Miss Susan S. Buck, daughter of 
George and Mary (Hersehey) Buck; she being a native of Brie 
county. New York, born January 8, 1821. To them were given the 
following named children: William H. H., bom April 25, 1842; 
Daniel G., March 24, 1844; George, June 18, 1846; Mary E., Sep- 
tember 28, 1847; Thaddeus P., December 28, 1849; Arthur H., 
April 2, 1851 ; Jay G., August 1, 1854 ; Jessie, October 14, 1856 ; 
Frank W., December 22, 1858, and Lee E., July 22, 1861. 

Of the Buck family, we record that George Buck was a native 
of Canada. In 1828, he came west to Michigan, and to him belongs 
the distinction of having built the first house in the present limits 



454 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of the corporation of Sturgis. Susan S. Wait, widow of Jonathan 
6. Wait, lived in Sturgis eighty-one years, sixty-five years of that 
time in one house ; and died in March, 1909, at the age of eighty- 
eight years. 

Frank W. Wait, the direct subject of this review, was bom 
and reared in Sturgis. After finishing his studies in the high 
school, he was one year a student at Hillsdale, Michigan, and in 
1877 he went out on the road as a traveling salesman, representing 
his father's furniture factory, and in this capacity met with marked 
success. He continued to travel until 1885, when he succeeded his 
father in the manufacture of furniture, and had charge of the 
plant until 1888, when it burned, without insurance; a total loss 
to him. That same winter he rebuilt. He continued the manufac- 
ture of furniture until 1897, when he went out of business. Later 
he turned his attention to the manufacture of ties and hardwood 
timber, in connection with farming operations, which latter he is 
still following. He owns 440 acres in St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
and a thousand acres in Kalamazoo county, this state, both of which 
are excellent farms, highly improved. At his home farm in St. 
Joseph county he carried on general farming and stock raising, 
making a specialty of potatoes, and shipping all his products. 

Like his father before him, Mr. Wait has long been an impor- 
tant factor in the affairs of his town. His influence has gone far to- 
ward locating factories in Sturgis, and in various other ways pro- 
moting its best interests. For years he has been active in politics. 
Two years he was a member of the Board of Guardians at Adrian, 
Michigan, a position of prominence and trust ; and in 1898 he was 
appointed Special Commissioner of Court Claims, at Washington, 
D. C, and served a short time, resigning on account of personal 
business pressure. Later he was appointed by President Roosevelt 
to the office of United States Marshal, a position he still holds. 

Mr. Wait is a member of the A. O. U. W., Maccabees, K. of P., 
I. 0. 0. F., and F. and A. M., in the last named he having advanced 
through the degrees of Knight Templar and is a 32d degree Mason. 
In his religious views he is liberal, inclining toward the Unitarian 
church. 

Lawrence D. Knowles, M. D., was for many years engaged in 
the practice of his exacting profession in Three Rivers and he long 
held prestige as one of the able and essentially representative phy- 
sicians and surgeons of the state of Michigan. He labored with all 
of self-abnegation and devotion for the alleviation of human dis- 




^.y^ 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 457 

tress and suffering and his sympathy transcended mere sentiment 
to become an actuating motive for good. Like so many others who 
have brought to the medical profession the equipment of great 
minds, marked technical skill and high purpose, he accomplished 
much, and his gracious personality not less than his professional 
ability gained and retained to him inviolable friendship among all 
classes, the while he had the affectionate regard of the many to 
whom he ministered with so much ability and earnestness. He 
held a secure place in the regard of his professional confreres and 
no citizen has enjoyed more unequivocal popularity in his home 
city and county than did the honored subject of this brief memoir. 
It is mc^t fitting that in this publication there be incorporated a 
brief record of the life and labors of this sterling citizen and tal- 
ented physician. 

Dr. Lawrence Darling Knowles was bom at Mauch Chunk, 
Pennsylvania, on the 30th of November, 1849, and was a son of 
Lawrence D. and Almira (Fellows) Knowles. The doctor's father 
was a native of England, where he was reared and educated and 
whence he came to America in company with his widowed mother, 
three brothers and one sister. The family home was established 
in Pennsylvania. Lawrence D. Knowles, Sr., was a skilled me- 
chanic and for a time he was employed as a boat-builder. Later 
he became identified with the great coal-mining industry in the 
Keystone state, and he was a successful coal dealer at Mauch 
Chunk, Pennsylvania, at the time of his death. His wife, who 
was born in Luzerne county, that state, survived him by a number 
of years. She finally contracted a second marriage, by becoming 
the wife of Samuel P. Kellam, and both passed the closing years 
of their lives in the historic old city of Elizabeth, New Jersey. Of 
the children of the first marriage, six attained to years of ma- 
turity, namely: Amanda S., Charlotte, William, Austin, Law- 
rence D., and Almira. 

Dr. Lawrence D. Knowles gained his early educational dis- 
cipline in the common schools of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, 
and in preparation for the work of his chosen calling he first at- 
tended a course of lectures in the medical department of the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, to which state he came when a young man. 
He next went to New York City, where he completed the prescribed 
course in the celebrated Bellevue Hospital Medical College, in 
which he was graduated as a member of the class of 1874, and 
from which he received his well earned degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. Shortly after his graduation the doctor returned to Michi- 



458 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

gan and located in the village of Kendall, Van Buren county, where 
he was engaged in the practice of his profession for the ensuing 
six years, within which he made an admirable record and met with 
excellent success. In 1880 he removed from Kendall to Three 
Rivers, where he entered into a professional partnership with Dr. 
William Ikeler, with whom he continued to be associated in prac- 
tice for several years. After the dissolution of this alliance Dr. 
Knowles continued in an individual professional business until 
his death, which occurred on the 29th of December, 1908. He 
gained precedence as one of the distinguished representatives of 
his profession in southern Michigan, and for many years he con- 
trolled a large and substantial practice, the extent and importance 
of which gave effective evidence not only of his splendid pro- 
fessional ability, but also of his personal popularity. He kept 
in close touch with the advances made in the sciences of medicine 
and surgery, and his devotion to his profession was constant and 
appreciative during the long years of his faithful and able service. 
He was humanity's friend and he labored with much of skill and 
unselfish zeal for the alleviation of suffering. He was kindly, gen- 
erous and tolerant, and his heart ever responded to the gracious 
harmony of sympathy, so that he held a secure place in the affec- 
tion and conjfidence of those to whom his services were accorded. 
Dr. Knowles was essentially a man of action, and his energies 
found exemplification in marked civic loyalty and public spirit, 
as well as through his active association with various professional, 
fraternal and social organizations, as well as with the militia of 
his home state. At the time of his death these organizations offered 
tributes and resolutions of respect and honor to one who had 
proved so true and worthy in all the relations of life. The military 
department of the state, in General Order No. 57, issued from the 
office of the adjutant general, gave testimony to the high official 
and professional character of Dr. Knowles, and also offered resolu- 
tions of respect and sorrow when he was summoned from the 
scene of life's mortal endeavors. Resolutions were also adopted 
by the Michigan State Medical Society and the St. Joseph County 
Medical Society, both of which indicated high appreciation of the 
professional talents and personal character of their deceased 
brother. Three Rivers Lodge, No. 43, Knights of Pythias, pre- 
pared and published resolutions of most appreciati v^e order, and 
another specially generous tribute was that given in a poem con- 
tributed by Mary B. McGill, of Constantine, as a memorial to the 
honored physician and noble friend. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 459 

Doctor Knowles was colonel and brigade surgeon of theMichi- 
gan National Guard, and with the same, enlisted for service at the 
inception of the Spanish- American war, in which he became divi- 
sion surgeon, with the rank of colonel, in the United States Volun- 
teers. He served as registrar of the Michigan organization of the 
Military Order of Foreign Wars of the United States, was a mem- 
ber of the United States board of examining surgeons for pensions 
for St. Joseph county, was a member of Association of Military 
Associations of the United States, and in addition to being a mem- 
ber of the Michigan State Medical Society, the St. Joseph County 
Medical Society, and the Kalamazoo District Medical & Surgical 
Society, of which he was at one time president, he was also an 
appreciative member of the American Medical Association and 
was local medical examiner for a large number of the leading life- 
insurance companies. Dr. Knowles was affiliated with the lodge, 
chapter and commandery of the Masonic fraternity in Three Rivers 
and with the temple of the Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine in the city of Grand Rapids. He also held 
membership in the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias, as already 
intimated in a preceding statement. He was specially progressive 
as a citizen and was ever ready to lend his influence and tangible 
co-operation in the furthering of all movements and enterprises 
advanced for the general good of the community. In politics the 
doctor was aligned as a stanch supporter of the principles of the 
Jacksonian Democratic party, but he had naught of ambition for 
public office, preferring to give his time and attention to the 
profession for which he had so admirably equipped himself. 

On the 26th of April, 1873, was solemnized the marriage of 
Dr. Knowles to Miss Francella E. Wagar, who was born in Texas 
township, Kalamazoo county, Michigan, and who is a daughter of 
Henry and Mary A. (Boylan) Wagar. Hector Wagar, grand- 
father of Mrs. Knowles, was born and reared in the state of New 
York, and became one of the sterling pioneers of Kalamazoo 
county, Michigan, to which locality he came by way of the canal 
and the Great Lakes to Detroit, from which point the remainder 
of the journey to Prairie Ronde was made with team and wagon. 
He secured a tract of wild land in the township of Prairie Ronde, 
and from this government land he reclaimed a productive farm. He 
contributed his quota to the development and upbuilding of that 
section of the state and livred to see the wild country transformed 
into a w^ell settled and prosperous farming community. The 
maiden name of Hector Wagar 's wife was Sarah Bailey, and she 



460 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

likewise was a native of the old Empire state ; both continued to 
reside in Kalamazoo county until their death, and their names 
merit an enduring place on the roll of the worthy pioneers of 
Michigan. Henry Wagar, father of Mrs. Knowles, was born in 
Canandaigua, New York, and was a boy at the time of the family 
immigration to Kalamazoo county, Michigan, where he was reared 
under the conditions and influences that marked the pioneer epoch. 
After attaining to years of maturity he purchased a tract of tim- 
bered land in Texas township, that county, and in the midst of 
the forest he erected his primitive log cabin, in which he and his 
young bride established their Lares and Penates. Laboring with 
indomitable perseverence, he cleared and improved a fine home- 
stead, and upon the same he continued to maintain his residence 
until his death, at the age of fifty-one years. His wife, whose 
maiden name was Mary Ann Boylan, was born in the state of New 
York and was a daughter of Aaron Boylan, who was either born 
in Scotland or in America soon after the immigration of his par- 
ents to this country. He was reared to manhood in the state of 
New York, where he continued to maintain his home for a number 
of years after his marriage. Finally he came with his wife and 
seven children to Michigan and became one of the early settlers of 
Kalamazoo county. He purchased land in Texas township and by 
sturdy and unremitting application he reclaimed from the forest 
a productive farm, upon which he made substantial improvements, 
including the erection of well arranged frame buildings. Of the 
seven children only three attained mature years — William, Mary 
A. and Albert — and all of these are now deceased. Aaron Boylan 
and his wife, whose maiden name was Eliza Secoy, and who was 
born at Batavia, New York, both continued to reside on their old 
homestead farm until their death, and the latter was seventy-two 
years of age when summoned to the life eternal. Henry and Mary 
A. (Boylan) Wagar became the parents of four children — ^Fran- 
eella E., the widow of the honored subject of this memoir; Ella 
S'., who is the wife of Albert L. Campbell, now sheriff of Kalamazoo 
county; William H., who died at the age of thirty-two years; and 
Dr. Percy E., who died while serving the United States govern- 
ment as governor of one of the Philippine Islands ; he was a gradu- 
ate of the Detroit Medical College and was an able physician and 
surgeon. Dr. and Mrs. Knowles had no children. Mrs. Knowles 
has long been a prominent and popular factor in connection with 
the leading social activities of Three Rivers, where she is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church and also of the Three Rivers Wo- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 461 

man 's Club. Her beautiful home, on Portage avenue, is one of the 
attractive ones in the little city, and has all the evidences of 
cultured and refined tastes, and its gracious mistress finds much 
gratification in opening its hospitable portals for the entertainment 
of her wide circle of friends. 

Augustus M. Dudley. — In every community the newspaper 
press not only exercises most important functions as an exponent 
of local interests but it represents a most potent and beneficent 
force where its objective relations are so intimate as in towns of 
such character as the thriving and attractive village of White 
Pigeon. Through the columns of newspapers of this class are 
shown forth the leading business and civic interests of the com- 
munity, and in the management of an enterprise of this order there 
is ample field for successful and dignified efi:'orts of most produc- 
tive character. The White Pigeon News, under the direction of 
Augustus M. Dudley, its editor and publisher, wields much in- 
fluence and its progressive policy has been a distinct factor in the 
conservation and promotion of the best interests of the village. 
As one of the essentially representative members of the news- 
paper fraternity of St. Joseph county and as a business man of 
utmost liberality and progressiveness, Mr. Dudley is well entitled 
to consideration in this historical publication. 

Mr. Dudley, who is known to his intimates as '^Gus,'' finds 
a due meed of gratification in reverting to the Wolverine state as 
the place of his nativity, as well as of his successful efforts in the 
newspaper field. He was born in Berrien county, Michigan, on 
the 6th of January, 1859, and was the fourth of five children — 
four sons and one daughter— born to Oscar A. and Eunice (Car- 
penter) Dudley. All of the children are still living, and concern- 
ing them the following brief data are given: Charles C, who 
is an optician by profession, resides at Alba, Antrim county, Michi- 
gan; Ada, who was graduated in the Michigan State Normal 
School at Ypsilanti, is now the wife of Rev. J. N. Morris, a resi- 
dent of Piermont-on-Hudson, New York, and a member of the 
clergy of the Reformed church ; William L. is engaged in the news- 
paper business at Grand Forks, North Dakota; Augustus M., sub- 
ject of this review, was the next in order of birth ; and Frank 0., 
who is a mechanical engineer, is a resident of Rosendale, Ulster 
county. New York. 

Oscar A. Dudley, father of him whose name initiates this 
article, was a scion of a stanch New England family, founded in 



462 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

America in the colonial days, and he was born at Guilford Court 
House, now known as Guilford, New Haven county, Connecticut. 
He received in his native state, a good common school education, 
and there he learned the carpenter's trade in his youth. He came 
to Michigan in the '50s and settled in Berrien county, becoming 
one of the pioneer carpenters and contractors of the county. He 
passed the closing years of his life in Antrim county, this state, 
where he died at an advanced age. He was a representative in 
the seventh generation of the Dudley family in America, and the 
original progenitor came from England and settled in Connecticut 
in 1630. Oscar A. Dudley was a man who ever maintained an in- 
flexible standard of integrity and honor, and he thus commanded 
the unequivocal confidence and esteem of his fellow men. Through 
his well directed endeavors he attained a due measure of success 
in connection with the temporal affairs of life, and he was known 
as a man of positive views and marked intellectual strength. He 
gave his support to the Republican party from the time of its 
organization until his death. Mrs. Eunice (Carpenter) Dudley was 
a native of Ohio, was a woman of gentle and gracious personality, 
and was a resident of Berrien Springs, Michigan, at the time of 
her demise. 

' ' Gus ' ' M. Dudley is indebted to the public schools of Berrien 
county for his early educational discipline, which has been supple- 
mented by individual application and reading, as well as by the 
training of a newspaper office, whose discipline has been well said 
to be tantamount to a liberal education. At the age of fourteen 
years he initiated his association with the ^'art preservative of all 
arts'' by assuming the dignified and versatile office of ** devil" 
in the office of the St. Joseph Herald at St. Joseph, Michigan. 
For a quarter of a century he was connected with the Berrien 
Springs Era, at Berrien Springs, the judicial center of his native 
county, and in 1891 he located at Reading, Hillsdale county, where 
he purchased the plant and business of the Telephone-News, a 
weekly paper of which he continued editor and publisher for the 
ensuing seven years. In December, 1908, Mr. Dudley located in 
White Pigeon^ where he became the founder of the White Pigeon 
News, which is issued on Friday of each week in quarto form, and 
has gained repute as one of the best country papers in southern 
Michigan, — a model in letter-press and in handling of subject- 
matter. As a worthy exponent of the interests of the community, 
its news columns are always bright and attractive, and the paper 
is regarded with pride as a local institution by the people of the 





d,.(^^£e. 




HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 465 

locality in which it is published and receives their loyal support. 
The mechanical equipment is of modern order, giving ample facili- 
ties for the execution of the best class of job work, for the high 
grade of which the establishment enjoys a wide reputation. 

In politics Mr. Dudley has always been a Republican. Both 
he and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and the latter has been a teacher in the Sunday school for 
a considerable period of time, besides taking active interest in 
other departments of church work. Mr. Dudley is held in high 
esteem as one of the progressive business men and loyal citizens 
of White Pigeon, and thus it is pleasing to accord this brief review 
of his career. 

On the 2nd of December, 1892, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Dudley to Miss Ada B. Bishop, and to them have been born 
three children, concerning whom the following specific mention is 
made : Yerna H., who was afforded the advantages of the Michi- 
gan State Normal School at Ypsilanti, has been a successful teacher 
in the public schools of the state; Lynn Bishop, the second, re- 
ceived a high school education and is now employed as advertising 
manager of the Hillsdale Dadly Standard Herald; Dorothy is a 
member of the class of 1914 in the White Pigeon high school. 

Mrs. Dudley was born at Allen, Michigan, and is a daughter 
of Horace L. and Emeline (Allison) Bishop, the former of whom 
w^as born in Genessee county. New York, and the latter in Hope- 
well, Ontario county, New York. Her father was a farmer and 
contractor, and was an uncompromising advocate of the princi- 
ples of the Republican party. He died at Allen, Michigan, in 
1893. Mrs. Dudley's grandfather, Isaac Bishop, was a valiant 
soldier of the Continental line in the war of the Revolution, in 
which he served under General Washington at Monmouth and 
Valley Forge, and was present at the surrender of Burgoyne at 
Ticonderoga. Her maternal grandfather, Joseph Allison, was a 
soldier in the war of 1812. 

Hon. Charles B. Kellogg. — In the annals of Florence town- 
ship, St. Joseph county, Michigan, we find personages who figure 
largely in the history of the county, both in the past and present. 
The following sketch is a brief review of the life of Charles B. Kel- 
logg, one of the most widely known citizens of St. Joseph county. 
is a native son of the Wolverine state, born in White Pigeon, Febru- 
ary 6, 1840, and is the eldest of four children, all sons, bom to 
Charles and Jane (Burnett) Kellogg, but only two are now living: 



466 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Charles B. and his brother, Norman B. The latter, who is a resident 
of San Francisco, California, graduated at the Detroit Polytechnic 
School of Civil Engineering, which profession he now pursues. 
The father of Hon. Charles B. Kellogg was a native of the Berk- 
shire Hills, in Massachusetts, and was born May 28, 1810. He was 
there reared and educated, though he was what is termed a self- 
made man. He emigrated to Michigan in a very early day, coming 
to White Pigeon when this country was almost a wilderness, and 
the Pottawattamie Indians were the principal inhabitants in this 
region. He erected the first store building in White Pigeon, and 
of the colonial style of architecture with heavy colonnades in the 
front entrance. He followed the pursuit of a general merchant for 
seventeen years in this town. He was a man of great ingenuity 
and very methodical in his habits. He built with his own hands 
the first church organ ever in St. Joseph county and his son now 
has the instrument in his home. The keys are made of horse ribs, 
and the pipes are made of cedar which he selected from the banks 
of Pigeon river. This instrument was made in 1840 and is in a good 
state of preservation. When Mr. Kellogg came to Michigan in 
1830, the red men of the forest were plentiful and wild animals 
abounded. There was not a railroad in the state, telephones and 
telegraphs were not even dreamed of. He was an enlisted soldier 
in the Black Hawk War of 1832 but never was sent to the front, 
as hostilities with the Indians were quelled. Besides being a 
merchant for many years, he erected the first sugar beet 
plant in the United States and the building stood on the pres- 
ent site of the paper mill in White Pigeon. His methodical 
habits were portrayed in the beautiful copper plate penman- 
ship in his bookkeeping, his ledger and cash books are now 
shown with pride by his son. He could execute engraving upon 
silver, which was very artistic. Religiously Mr. Kellogg clung to 
the belief of his Scotch progenitors, the Presbyterian. He was a 
gentleman well known for his strict business principles and in- 
tegrity. Politically he was an advocate of the Whig policies, and 
very ardent in his belief. He died April 12, 1847, and was interred 
in White Pigeon Cemetery. His wife was a native of Yorkshire, 
England, bom May 15, 1817, and she died February 5, 1892. She 
received a common school education and was a devout member of 
the Presbyterian church. She was a faithful wife, a loving mother 
and a friend to the poor and needy. 

Charles B. Kellogg of this sketch was educated in the common 
schools. He early began to hew out his own way in life, and for 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 467 

twenty-five years he acted in the capacity of a mercantile sales- 
man in the towns of White Pigeon, Mishawaka, Middlebury and 
Constantine. He well remembers when he was a boy of the pri- 
meval conditions of St. Joseph county, Indians were plentiful and 
ofttimes he has seen a herd of deer and has seen wolves and bears. 
White Pigeon was the principal stage depot on the Chicago road, 
which was once an Indian trail. There were no fences, no laid 
out highways, only an Indian trail. During the cold severe win- 
ters he tells of the suffering and death of some of the stage drivers. 

December 3, 1868, Mr. Kellogg married Miss Anna Dickinson, 
and one son has graced this union, Charles Marmaduke. * ' Duke, ' ' 
as he is known by his friends, was reared as a farmer's lad and ed- 
ucated in the Constantine public schools. He spent three years 
of his life as a salesman in Constantine. He wedded Miss Mary 
Ketcham and two children were born to them: Gladys J. and 
Eobert N., both in school at present. The mother of these chil- 
dren died February 1, 1902, and Duke chose for his second wife 
Miss Meda B. Christian, being married December 2, 1903. He is 
a Democrat and cast his first presidential vote for Grover Cleve- 
land. He resides with his father on the homestead. The mother 
of Duke Kellogg was bom in St. Joseph county on White Pigeon 
Prairie, October 14, 1840, and educated in common schools. She 
was of English parentage and was one of six children, three sons 
and three daughters, born to George, and Sarah (Johnson) Dick- 
inson. None of the family are living, Mrs. Kellogg having died 
February 28, 1903. She was a loving wife and mother and an 
earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church at White 
Pigeon and was also a worker in Home and Foreign Missions. 
Mr. Dickinson, her father, came to America when a young man 
and located at White Pigeon and was one of the early stage drivers. 

Politically Hon. Chas. Kellogg in his former years was an 
advocate of the Eepublican doctrines. The first presidential vote 
he cast was for Lincoln. He recalls to mind the great Lincoln cam- 
paign at White Pigeon and drove four white horses to one of the 
floats in the parade. When the Populistic idea was spread before 
the people with its convincing arguments, he embraced that faith 
and with that party and the Democratic party he has cast his lot. 
In 1893 Mr. Kellogg was elected on the Fusion ticket as representa- 
tive of St. Joseph county in the state legislature by one of the 
largest majorities. 

The St. Joseph County Pioneer Society was organized in 1873 
and he was one of the charter members, and at present is secretary 



468 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and treasurer of this society and has been for ten years. He 
is a great friend of the public school system and especially of prac- 
tical education. His religious faith is that of his Scottish progeni- 
tors — the Presbyterian. He is the owner of a beautiful estate of 
200 acres of land on White Pigeon Prairie, lying three and one-half 
miles from White Pigeon and two and one-quarter miles from Con- 
stantine. He is a gentleman who has passed almost three-fourths 
of a century as a resident of St. Joseph county, a gentleman of 
strict integrity of character and whose aspirations have always been 
for the elevation of his town, county and state. 

Christian Wilhelm is now serving as the mayor of Sturgis, 
the highest office within the power of his fellow townsmen to bestow, 
and he is also connected with the city's business interests as one of 
the proprietors of one of its leading manufactories. He is a native 
son of the fatherland of Germany, born on the 9th of January, 1860, 
to the marriage union of Peter and Eliza (Ihrig) Wilhelm. The 
father was a school teacher, and followed that profession for forty- 
two years. The son Christian continued his studies until his fif- 
teenth year, receiving in the meantime a good German education, 
and at that age he began learning the cabinetmaker's trade, also 
attending night school. He served an apprenticeship of two and a 
half years as a cabinetmaker, and then became a journeyman. In 
the fall of 1881 he left Germany for the United States, and making 
his way to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he arrived a poor boy, 
he found employment within a few days and remained there until 
1890. It was in that year that he came to Sturgis, Michigan, as 
the superintendent of the Grobhiser and Crosby Company, becom- 
ing a stockholder of the corporation after the first year, and he 
remained there for seventeen years or until he organized the Steb- 
bins-Wilhelm Furniture Company, manufacturers of office and 
parlor tables, as well as special articles. This corporation suc- 
ceeded the Stebbins Manufacturing Company, and it is now one of 
the well known and substantial institutions of St. Joseph county. 

Mr. Wilhelm married in 1887 Anna B. Irick, born in Pennsyl- 
vania, and they have had two sons and a daughter : Robert, bom in 
1888 and now a student in the Lansing Agricultural College; 
Gladys, bom in 1899 ; and George, who was bom in 1890, and died 
in 1897. Mr. Wilhelm is a member of Meridian Sun Lodge No. 49, 
and is now a thirty-second degree Mason. 

Mrs. Delia S. Crossette. — ^Within the pages of this historical 
publication there is much that touches upon the lives and deeds of 




l/hA^ ^uikM Aj:'^l<>^ ct^ 




w 

H 
H 
W 

CO 
CO 

O 
U 

CO 

< 

W 
Q 

(A 



u 

w 

Q 
»— I 

W 
0^ 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 475 

the noble and gracious women who have contributed their quota to 
the social and material development and progress of St. Joseph 
county, and these records, whether incidental or individual, con- 
stitute a most important part of the annals of the county from the 
time of its formation to the present. In the connection it is a 
matter of special gratification to be able to present a review of the 
life history of Mrs. Delia S. Crossette and that of her husband. 
She is a resident of the attractive village of Constantine, which 
town figures as the place of her nativity, and is a representative 
of one of the old and honored pioneer families of the county. 
Further interest attaches to the record here offered by reason of 
the fact that Mrs. Crossette has proved a valued factor in connec- 
tion with the business, social and religious activities of her native 
village, where she holds a secure place in the confidence and re- 
gard of all who know her. 

Mrs. Delia S. (Harvey) Crossette was born in Constantine, 
on the 3d of May, 1835, when Michigan was a territory, and is a 
daughter of Norman and Rhoda (Moore) Harvey, both of whom 
were born at Rupert, Bennington county, Vermont, where they 
were reared and educated and where their marriage was solem- 
nized. Both families were founded in New England in the colonial 
epoch of our national history and both are of stanch English line- 
age. The parents of Mrs. Crossette were numbered among the 
many sterling citizens of New England, who contributed so gener- 
ously to the development of and upbuilding of southern Michigan, 
which section from the beginning of its settlement drew largely 
upon New England and New York for the citizenship that has 
made it one of the most opulent and attractive social and industrial 
portions of the middle west. In 1833 Norman Harvey and his 
young wife severed the ties that bound them to their old home and 
set forth to establish a new home in the comparative wilds of St. 
Joseph county, Michigan. Both by training and intrinsic strength 
of character they were well fortified for the tension of pioneer 
life, and-upon coming to St. Joseph county Mr. Harvey secured a 
tract of land and established his primitive home on Broad street 
in the town of Constantine, locating on the land which he pur- 
chased from an uncle w^ho had bought it from the government in 
that early day, the price being $1.25 per acre. Mr. Harvey be- 
came the owner of four hundred acres of land and from the forest 
wilds he developed a productive farm. He was a man of strong 
character and of insuperable integrity, and he was an influential 
figure in the early history of the county. Here and in the village 

Vol. IT— 2 



476 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of Constantine he continued to maintain his home until his death, 
which occurred on the 17th of April, 1866, and his cherished and 
devoted wife was summoned to the life eternal on the 5th of March, 
1863. He was a Whig in his political allegiance and both he and 
his wife held membership in the Congregational church of Rupert, 
Vermont, he as an adherent, and his wife a member in the Dutch 
Reformed church of Constantine. Of their twelve children Mrs. 
Crossette was the fourth in order of birth, and of the number only 
three are now living. 

Mrs. Delia S. Crossette was reared to maturity in Constantine, 
to whose pioneer schools she is indebted for her early educational 
training, which was supplemented by one year of study in Albion 
College, at Albion, this state. In 1853, she was united in marriage 
to Millard F, Thayer, who was born in Bennington, Vermont, and 
who was named in honor of his mother's cousin, Millard Fillmore, 
at one time president of the United States. Mr. Thayer's death 
occurred in 1854 and the one child born of this union, Simeon 
Harvey Thayer, born March 9, 1854, died August 27, 1854. On 
the 13th of November, 1856, Mrs. Thayer was united in marriage 
to George I. Crossette, concerning whom more specific mention is 
made in the following paragraphs. 

George I. Crossette, of Puritan ancestry, was born in Benning- 
ton, Vermont, on the 5th of January, 1823, and was a son of Isaac 
and Samantha (Pratt) Crossette, the former of whom was a native 
of historic old Salem, Massachusetts, and the latter was born at 
Bennington, Vermont. Isaac Crossette was a cabinetmaker by 
trade and he was also an inventor of no slight ability. His most 
useful invention was a stave cutter, for which he received a medal 
from Cooper Institute, in New York City. George I. Crossette 
was reared to maturity in Bennington, and his initial business ex- 
perience was there gained as a workman in his father's shop. 
There he continued to maintain his home until 1856, when he came 
to the west and located in Joliet, Illinois, where for the ensuing 
four and one-half years he was engaged in the manufacturing of 
barrel staves and heading for the wholesale trade. From Joliet 
he removed to New Buffalo, Michigan, where he established a 
factory of similar order and where he also engaged in the general 
merchandise business. After maintaining his residence in New 
Buffalo for two and one-half years Mr. Crossette removed to Con- 
stantine, with whose more important business and civic interests 
he was thereafter identified until the time of his death. In 1864 
he became one of the organizers and incorporators of the First 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 477 

National Bank of Constantine, and in 1869 he was chosen president 
of this old and substantial institution, — an office of which he con- 
tinued incumbent for twenty consecutive years. In June, 1894, 
after the expiration of its charter, this bank was re-organized as 
the First State Bank of Constantine, and of the same Mr. Cros- 
sette was president from the beginning until he was summoned 
from the scene of life's mortal endeavors. His liberality and 
public spirit were potent in the promotion of the industrial and 
civic upbuilding of Constantine and for many years he held 
prestige as one of its leading business men and most influential 
citizens. He was stockholder and executive officer in various in- 
dustrial and commercial corporations and his capitalistic interests 
were of wide and varied order. He was loyal to all the duties of 
citizenship, maintained high civic ideals and was active in public 
affairs of a local order. Though never ambitious for official pre- 
ferment, he served one term as president of the village corporation 
and gave his services in other positions of trust to which he was 
called through popular demand. He was a valued member of the 
board of education for the long period of twenty-one years and 
ever did all in his power to further every project and enterprise 
tending to advance the general welfare of the community. He 
was affiliated with the blue lodge, chapter and commandery bodies 
of the Masonic fraternity, and was also zealous and devoted in con- 
nection with religious work. For many years he was an earnest 
adherent of the Presbyterian church in Constantine, and after its 
consolidation with the First Congregational church he became a 
member and earnest and liberal supporter of the latter. * He was 
a man of generous impulses and was ever ready to contribute 
of influence and means to worthy charities and benevolences, 
though he brought to bear in such connection his fine judgment 
and discrimination and never made compromises with his convic- 
tions for the purpose of gaining popular plaudits. He was a man 
of more than ordinary intellectual strength, and though he at- 
tended school very little after he had attained to the age of twelve 
years, he had splendid powers of reception and retention, and 
through his wide and varied reading and his wide association with 
men and affairs he broadened his mental ken and became a man 
of extensive and exact information, and of marked culture and 
refinement. His success was large in connection with the practical 
affairs of life, and the same was the direct result of his own in- 
dustry and well directed efforts. He was a veritable optimist, was 
genial and kindly in his intercourse with all sorts and conditions 



478 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of men, and in the midst of the cares and exactions of a long and 
busy life he never lost his high ideals or his generous tolerance 
and sympathy. His interests centered in his home and within its 
sacred precincts he found his greatest happiness, as its relations 
were ever of idyllic order. He was a musician of no inconsiderable 
talent and found great pleasure in all kinds of musical interpre- 
tations. As a youth he became leader of a band that gained no 
little reputation in the vicinity of his boyhood home in Vermont, 
and for nearly fifty years he was found enrolled as a member of 
a church choir, his love for music having never waned. His po- 
litical allegiance was given to the Republican party and he was 
well fortified in his opinions as to matters of public polity. Both 
Mr. and Mrs. Crossette attended the convention and had seats in 
the wigwam in Chicago, when Abraham Lincoln was nominated 
president of the United States in 1860, and they have heard Mr. 
Lincoln speak. Mr. Crossette was twice married. At Berlin, New 
York, on the 13th of October, 1851, he wedded Miss Minerva A. 
Hull, w^ho died four months later. Of his second marriage record 
has already been made in this context. Mr. and Mrs. Crossette 
had no children of their own, but out of the kindness of their hearts 
adopted two children, one of whom is now living,— Emma Cros- 
sette who is the wife of Levi A. Strohm in Constantine. This 
adopted daughter was first married to John J. Proudfit, who died 
in 1899, and they became the parents of three children, concern- 
ing whom the following brief record is but consistent, as Mrs. 
Crossette finds her claim upon their affections as secure as her in- 
terest in them. George A. Proudfit was graduated in the Detroit 
University School of Detroit, Michigan, and is now a bookkeeper 
in the employ of the Schwarzschild & Sulzberger Packing Company 
in the city of Chicago ; Mary J., who was educated in the public 
schools and The Young Ladies' School at Winona, Indiana, having 
been a student in the art and domestic science departments, now 
remains at the parental home ; Delia Crossette Proudfit, the second 
of the children is a student in the high school in Constantine. Mr. 
and Mrs. Strohm have one son, Edward H., who is now attending 
the public schools. Mrs. Strohm is a lady of more than usual 
business capacity and very domestic in her tastes. She is original, 
i^ well educated, having also a good musical education. She is 
refined and admires the beautiful and the best. A lady of great 
charity, she is always caring for those less fortunate than herself, 
and she has ever been a loyal and devoted daughter. 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 479 

Mr. Crossette passed away on the 17th of December, 1894, 
secured in the high regard of all who knew him and leaving the 
gracious heritage of worthy thoughts and worthy deeds. 

One year after the death of her honored husband, Mrs. Cros- 
sette became president of the First State Bank, and she retained 
this office for five years, at the expiration of which she declined re- 
election, though she is still a member of the directorate of the in- 
stitution, as was she also of the First National Bank for a period 
of thirteen years. She has had wide and intimate business dis- 
cipline and has shown mature judgment and ability in the hand- 
ling of business affairs of large importance. She has interests in 
the city of Chicago as well as in Constantine, and has ably managed 
her portion of the large estate left by her husband. She is a 
woman of excellent education and of distinctive culture, while her 
gentle and gracious attributes of character have drawn to her the 
affectionate regard of those who have come within the sphere of her 
influences. Her views have been broadened by extensive travel 
and she is cosmopolitan in her ideas and tastes, though her inter- 
ests and affections still center in her native town and county in 
whose history she is well versed and in whose welfare she main- 
tains an abiding interest. 

In the year 1899 Mrs. Crossette made a tour of Europe and 
during the same she visited the principal cities and points of in- 
terest in Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, France, Spain, 
England, and Scotland. She has visited the cities of the provinces 
of Canada, down the St. Lawrence river. She has visited every 
state in the Union except five and every territory except Alaska 
and Hawaii. She is a close observer and has made the best use 
of the fine opportunities afforded her in her travels. During her 
European tour she took copious notes and after her return to her 
home she compiled the same into an interesting and instructive 
paper, which she presented by request before the public schools of 
Constantine and before the Constantine Woman's Club, with which 
she is actively identified. Her travels in Mexico, in 1902, also 
proved a source of great interest and gratification to her and on 
this trip she visited the Grand Canyon of Arizona. Her tour of 
the wonderful Yellowstone National Park was also of great pleas- 
ure and interest to her. She is an excellent raconteur and her 
descriptions and reminiscences concerning her extended travels 
are ever graphic and interesting. 

Mrs. Crossette traces her ancestral history back to the early 
colonial epoch in New England. Zachariah Harwood, the father 



480 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of her paternal grandmother, Mrs. Parmelia (Harwood) Harvey, 
was one of the patriot soldiers of the Revolution whose company 
was organized in the town of Bennington, Vermont, October 24, 
1764, and which took part in the memorable battle of Bennington, 
Vermont, under command of General Stark, who on that occasion 
delivered the memorable words ''We will whip the Britishers to- 
night or Molly Stark will be a widow/' Mrs. Crossette has found 
much pleasure in genealogical research in both her paternal and 
maternal lines, and through the service of her ancestors in the 
Revolution she is eligible for membership in the Daughters of the 
American Revolution and also the Colonial Dames. She is a most 
zealous worker in the First Congregational church of Constantine, 
of which she is a member and gives liberally to the support of its 
various collateral benevolences, being identified with both the 
home and foreign missionary societies of the generic church organ- 
ization. She was president of the Ladies' Aid Society of the 
Congregational church for five years ; since then she has been treas- 
urer holding this position for over sixteen years. She is also treas- 
urer of the Home and Foreign Missionary Societies of the church, 
which position she has held for twenty consecutive years and is 
still serving in both societies. Her beautiful and stately home, 
one of the most attractive in Constantine, was erected by Mr. 
Crossette, in 1870, and it has ever been a center of most gracious 
and cordial hospitality. Since her girlhood days Mrs. Crossette 
has witnessed the wonderful and remarkable progress and develop- 
ment of the United States. She has seen the great railroad sys- 
tems stretched across the continent like a net work. The in- 
vention and introduction of the telephone and telegraph, of natural 
and manufactured gas, of gasoline, matches, sewing machines, and 
the clothing which used to be made by hand in the homes now man- 
ufactured in the factories. She has watched the advent of elec- 
tricity into the homes, her own beautiful home being thus lighted 
and all the cooking being done by manufactured gas. 

Hon. Samuel Gibson, president of the Commercial State 
Bank, of Constantine, was born in Northumberland county, Penn- 
sylvania, September 22, 1830, and is a son of John Gibson. John 
Gibson was a native of Ireland, who came to the United States 
with his parents when but two years of age, and they settled in 
Ohio, where he was reared. He was a farmer, and came to Mich- 
igan in 1848, locating in St. Joseph county. He held local offices 
in the township, was a Presbyterian and lived to be about eighty 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 481 

years of age. He was very successful as a farmer. John Gibson 
married Elizabeth DeFrance, also a native of Pennsylvania, whose 
father was French and her mother Irish. Mrs. Gibson died at the 
age of sixty-five. They have seven children, all of whom grew to 
maturity, and five are living at this writing, Samuel being the old- 
est son and third child. 

Samuel Gibson was in his eighteenth year when the family 
moved to Michigan. He received a common school education and 
began working for himself when a young man ; he had charge of 
most of his father's business, and he carried on the farm of two 
hundred acres, in Constantine township. At the death of his 
father the homestead was willed to Samuel, on the condition that 
he pay his brothers and sisters a stipulated sum, and he continued 
to live here until 1903. He then moved to the town of Constantine, 
where he now resides. He increased the farm to four hundred and 
forty acres, paying $100. per acre for one hundred and three acres 
and $112.50 per acre for the remainder. 

Mr. Gibson is president of the Central State Bank in Geneseo, 
Kansas, and besides his interest in the Commercial State Bank of 
Constantine, has many other interests in the state of Michigan. 
He has always been actively interested in political affairs, and 
was a state representative under Governor Pingree's administra- 
tion. He was also chosen a delegate to the Farmers' National 
Congress, at St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1897. Mr. Gibson is a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church, and acted many years as trus- 
tee. He appreciates the value of a good education, and after send- 
ing his children to the public schools of the vicinity, sent them 
away to acquire the benefits of a higher education. His sons went 
to Poughkeepsie, New York, and all are doing well. Mr. Gibson 
himself is a man of liberal ideas, is a great friend of progress, and 
has a wide experience, having traveled extensively through the 
west and south. He stands well in the community, where he is 
well known, and his character appreciated. 

In 1860 he married Martha J. Greene, and they have six chil- 
dren, namely: Elizabeth J., wife of Thomas Balkwill, of Detroit, 
Michigan; Caroline, unmarried, living at home ; John S., vice pres- 
ident of the Central State Bank, of Geneseo, Kansas; Frances I., 
wife of William I. Fell, of Battle Creek ; Gertrude, at home ; and 
William, living on the old homestead, on Broad Street, Con- 
stantine township. 



482 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Chauncey J. Halbert is the present postmaster of Sturgis, 
and he is one of the prominent public men of St. Joseph county. 
He was bom near Battle Creek in Bedford township, Calhoun 
county, Michigan, January 11, 1858. He was born on a farm, but 
after he had attained his fifth year his father, a millwright, lived 
in different towns in Michigan, and the son in the meantime re- 
ceived a graded school training. At the age of eighteen he was 
made a freight and ticket agent by the Grand Rapids & Indiana 
Railroad Company, filling those positions in Indiana and at Men- 
don, this state, and for twenty-two years he was their agent at 
Sturgis. He has since early life been interested in public affairs, 
and he has served Sturgis as mayor, councilman and postmaster. 
He filled the office of mayor for two terms, and on the 1st of Jiuie, 
1906, he was appointed postmaster, under the administration of 
Roosevelt, a position he has since continued to fill with ability and 
efficiency. Mr. Halbert is a substantial citizen, taking an active 
and helpful part in the progress and welfare of his community. 

He has been twice married, wedding first Miss Lenora Barne- 
bee from Mendon. Two daughters were born to this union, Mary 
A. and Almeda. The former is a graduate of the Sturgis High 
School, and was a teacher until her marriage to Walter J. Lein- 
bach, of Three Rivers, this state. Almeda is a graduate of Mich- 
igan Seminary, and is the wife of Homer B. Jacobs, a merchant of 
Sturgis. Mr. Halbert married for his second wife Ella M. Reid, 
of Mendon, Michigan. Mr. Halbert is a member of Meridian Sun 
Lodge No. 49, F. & A. M., of Sturgis Chapter No. 26, R. A. M., of 
Sturgis Council No. 13, R. & S. M., and of Columbia Commandery 
No. 18, K. T. He stands high in the local councils of the Masonic 
fraternity. In politics he is allied with the Republican party. 
The Halbert home is at 205 South Jefferson street, Sturgis. 

Edward W. Howard, one of the substantial citizens of White 
Pigeon, was born in Grand Rapids, Michigan, November 16, 1879, 
and is a son of Horace and Emma (Smith) Howard. He came to 
White Pigeon with his parents when about one year old, and has 
since been a resident of this town. Here he received his educa- 
tion in the public schools, and at the age of seventeen years pur- 
chased stock and started a livery stable at his father's farm. He 
started as the youngest business man of the town, and has rcr 
mained continuously in the same line, nearly as long as any res- 
ident of the town, though still young in years. He possessed 
natural business ability and foresight, and has been very success- 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 485 

ful. In 1898 Mr. Howard built his present barn. By his strict 
attention to the wants of his customers, and the upright manner 
in which his business has been conducted, Mr. Howard has won 
the confidence of all with whom he has had business dealings, and 
is considered a representative, useful citizen. He is a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Elkhart Lodge 
No. 425, and is also insured in the New York Life Insurance Com- 
pany. 

September 16, 1900, Mr. Howard married Camilla Houpt, a 
native of St. Joseph county bom in January, 1877. They are the 
parents of three children, namely: Julia, born July 10, 1902; 
Emma, April 18, 1904; and Lorraine, April 23, 1908. 

Eev. Newell A. McCune. — The intellectual powers and con- 
secrated zeal of Mr. McCune have given him prestige as one of 
the able and honored representatives of the clergy of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church in the state of Michigan, and he is labor- 
ing with all of earnest devotion and with marked administrative 
ability as pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal church of Three 
Rivers, whose spiritual and temporal affairs are being signally 
prospered under his regime. 

Newell Avery McCune was born in the city of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, on the 21st of July, 1881, and is a son of William 
John and Angeline (Snow) McCune, of whose two sons he is the 
younger. The elder son, William G., who attended Albion Col- 
lege, in pursuing his studies along academic lines, was later grad- 
uated in the law department of the University of Michigan, and 
he is now engaged in the successful practice of his profession in 
the city of Petoskey, Michigan, where he is also prominently iden- 
tified with the insurance business. He and his wife are zealous 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and in his home city 
he is the valued superintendent of one of the largest Sunday 
schools in the northern part of the state. 

William John McCune was born in the city of New York, on 
the 28th of May, 1843, and he and his wife now reside in Petoskey, 
Michigan, where he is successfully established in the real estate 
and insurance business, being one of the honored and influential 
citizens of that city. He was reared in New York city and 
Detroit, Michigan, and received collegiate training. His father 
was born in Scotland, and the present-day scions of the stanch old 
family manifest the sterling traits that are so characteristic of 
the people of the land of hills and heather. William J. McCune 



486 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

is an earnest and consistent advocate of the cause of the Prohibi- 
tion party and has been from his youth a zealous member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, in which his cherished and devoted 
wife also labored with much of zeal and devotion. She was born 
in 1846, in the state of New York, and was educated in Cazenovia 
Seminary. She was a woman of culture and most gracious per- 
sonality. She passed the closing years of her life in Petoskey, 
where she died in the year 1891. 

Rev. Newell A. McCune has been a resident of Michigan from 
his childhood days and he was reared to years of maturity in 
the city of Petoskey, to whose public schools he is indebted for his 
early educational training, which was effectively supplemented 
by a course in the Michigan Agricultural College, at Lansing, in 
which he was graduated as a member of the class of 1901. After 
his graduation, he went to Berea, Kentucky, where he was in- 
structor in agriculture and biology until 1903, after which he was 
a special student in the University of Michigan for one year. He 
matriculated in the Union Theological School in the city of Boston, 
and in this institution he completed the prescribed course, being 
graduated as a member of the class of 1907, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Sacred Theology. After effective post-graduate work 
in the same institution he received therefrom the degree of Master 
of Arts. 

In May, 1907, he came to Three Rivers and assumed the 
duties of his assignment to the pastorate of the First Methodist 
Episcopal church, one of the oldest and most representative re- 
ligious organizations in St. Joseph county. Within the pastorate 
of Mr. McCune the church has expended three thousand dollars 
in refurnishing and otherwise improving the church edifice, which 
is now essentially modern and attractive in its appointments, 
which include a fine pipe organ, installed at a cost of twenty-one 
hundred dollars. All departments of the church work have been 
vitalized by Mr. McCune, with the earnest and sympathetic co- 
operation of the church people, and the membership roll now 
shows an aggregate of fully four hundred names of those who are 
active communicants. 

Mr. McCune is an earnest and effective speaker, and his 
sermons show careful study and broad intellectual grasp, the while 
his abiding human sympathy and kindly tolerance add materially 
to the power of his pulpit utterances as well as to the effectiveness 
of his other pastoral labors. He and his gracious wife have a 
secure place in the affection and esteem of the citizens of Three 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 489 

Rivers, and Mrs. McCune has proved a most able coadjutor of her 
husband in connection with his pastoral work. He is a Republi- 
can in his political allegiance and as a citizen he exemplifies the 
highest civic ideals, doing all in his power to further educational, 
moral and social advancement. 

On the 19th of June, 1907, was solemnized the marriage of 
Mr. McCune to Miss Caroline R. Jennings, who was reared in the 
city of Petoskey, Michigan, in whose public schools she secured 
her early educational training, which was supplemented by study 
in the Northern Indiana University, at Valparaiso, and Olivet Col- 
lege, at Olivet, Michigan. Prior to her marriage she had been a 
successful teacher in the public schools and had also been an in- 
structor in instrumental music. Her parents, William H. and 
Rachel (Devitt) Jennings, still reside in Petoskey, where her 
father is a successful horticulturist and business man. 

Thomas J. Hill. — Since the coming of Elisha Hill and his fam- 
ily from New York to Colon, Michigan, in 1849, they have played 
a prominent and praiseworthy part in the affairs of the community. 
Of the four sons of this worthy gentleman, Thomas J. Hill is the 
sole survivor, Edwin R. Hill having passed on to his reward in 1909. 
Thomas J. Hill, the subject of this sketch, is one of the stable men 
of Colon's commercial citizenship. He is the youngest member of 
his family, his father and mother and part of their family having 
come from the Empire State to Indiana, where they stayed for a 
few years previous to their removal to Michigan. It was in Liberty, 
Union county, in the Hoosier state that the birth of Thomas J. Hill 
occurred, the date being October 5, 1840. His parents were Elisha 
and Pamelia (Pope) Hill, the former being a native of Lebanon, 
Madison county. New York, where his birth occurred in 1810. He 
lived to see the greater part of the nineteenth century, his demise 
occurring in the year 1894. He identified himself with Colon in a 
manner which has made his memory an honorable heirloom to the 
younger generation of the town. Although never robust in health 
his indomitable will and executive ability were such that he enjoyed 
much success. For some years previous to his establishment of 
himself in the banking business he engaged in the merchandise 
business in Colon. He was known for his strict integrity of char- 
acter and he and his wife were valued members of the Baptist 
church, having affiliated with it in 1855. Fraternally he was a 
member of the great Masonic order and politically he subscribed to 
the principles of Jacksonian Democracy, being ardent in his sup- 



490 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

port of its tenets. He and his sons, Edwin R. and Thomas J. Hill, 
instituted the E. Hill & Sons Bank in 1870, the father being presi- 
dent, Edwin R. Hill acting as cashier and Thomas J. Hill holding 
the office of assistant cashier. 

Pamelia (Pope) Hill was bom in Cherry Valley, New York, 
November 22, 1810. A descendant of General Pope and coming 
from one of the best known families of the New England states, she 
inherited strength of character and intelligence to an unusual de- 
gree. Always interested in every good work for the benefit of 
humanity, she had no small part in the upbuilding of the commu- 
nity in which she lived. With her marriage to Elisha Hill in 1836, 
she accepted the responsibility of helping to rear his three sons by 
a former marriage, and to them, as well as her own son, Thos. J., 
she was an ideal mother. To her wise counsel, good judgment and 
industry may be attributed largely the success of the firm of E. Hill 
& Sons. In 1897 a beautiful opera house was erected by this firm, 
and on the night of the opening play, Mrs. Hill, then in her eighty- 
eighth year, was able to attend. As she leaned upon the arm of her 
son, Thos. J., who assisted her to enter their box, she was greeted 
with cheers by the audience, many of whom had known and hon- 
ored her for over half a century, and by whom she is still spoken of 
as being the life of every social gathering which she attended. In 
the winter of 1901 she was stricken with paralysis from which she 
never recovered, her death occurring in March of that year. Thus 
ended a life of nearly ninety-one years rich in service for the Mas- 
ter and of blessing to mankind, and when the call came ''Well done, 
good and faithful servant, enter thou into the joy of thy Lord," it 
found her ready to go. 

Thomas J. Hill has passed virtually all his life in St. Joseph 
county, Michigan. His interests have always been co-incident with 
the best interests of Colon and he is a successful business man in 
the truest sense of the word. He attended the public schools and 
what supplementary education he acquired was of a practical na- 
ture. At the age of seventeen he began his experience as a sales- 
man in his father's store, and his career in a mercantile field cov- 
ered about seven years, in the foregoing capacity and also in a more 
independent way. As referred to above, in 1870 the father and 
sons formed a partnership for the establishing of the E. Hill & Sons 
Exchange Bank, which at a much later date became known as the 
E. Hill & Sons State Bank. This has a capital of $40,000 and since 
1909 Thomas J. Hill has been president of the institution, his son 
Frank E., filling the office of cashier with entire competency. The 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 491 

bank is indeed looked upon as one of the solid and substantial insti- 
tutions of St. Joseph county. Mr. Hill's interests, however, have 
not been confined to banking. In 1891 he assumed the manage- 
ment and superintendency of the ''Lamb Knit Goods Company,'' 
which had been organized two years previously. Under the cap- 
taincy of Mr. Hill this became one of the leading industries of Colon, 
its capital stock increasing from $14,000 to $40,000, the business of 
the concern annually averaging between $200,000 and $250,000. 
Mr. Hill resigned from the management of ''The Lamb Knit Goods 
Company" in May, 1910, his connection therewith having been of 
nineteen years' duration. 

Mr. Hill has been four times married. His first wife was Miss 
Fannie Crippen, a native of Michigan and the mother of two chil- 
dren. The elder is deceased, but the son, Frank E. Hill, is cashier 
of the State Bank and one of Colon's favorite sons. After pursu- 
ing his education in the public schools he became a student at Hills- 
dale College. Frank E. Hill has been twice married. His first 
wife was Miss Mertie Smith and two daughters named Charlotte 
and Fannie were bom. Miss Bertha Good became the second wife 
and this union has been blessed by the birth of a son, Raymond G., 
and a daughter, Euth. Frank E. Hill is a Republican of stanch 
convictions and is prominently identified with the Masonic frater- 
nity. 

Thomas J. Hill's present wife was before her marriage to thai 
gentleman Mrs. Evelyn (McNiel) Doak. Mrs. Hill is prominent 
in club work and is a member of the Baptist church. She was bom 
in Springport, Michigan, March 31, 1870. She was the youngest 
daughter of Charles and Sarah (Deyoe) McNiel, who are among 
the early settlers to come from the state of New York to build a 
home in the wilds of Michigan. 

She received her education in the public school of her home 
town, and at the high school in Lansing, later being a teacher. Her 
union to Thomas J. Hill occurred June 8, 1898. They have three 
children, Marian Elizabeth, born May 23, 1900, who is very profi- 
cient in her school work, and gives promise of ability in music and 
art. Edwin R. Hill, Jr., bom Oct. 7, 1901, was named for his 
uncle, who later had a son by the same name. Edwin, Jr., is now 
nine years of age, and is by nature fitted to follow his father's 
foot-steps in the banking business, having been imbued with a strict 
sense of honesty, which even at his early age gives promise that "as 
the twig is bent the tree is inclined." Thos. J. Hill, Jr., named for 
his father, was born July 18, 1910, and at the present time is four 



492 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

months old, and a source of comfort and pleasure to his parents 
and brother and sister, especially to his father, who is nearly seventy 
years of age. 

The Republican party finds a loyal adherent in Thos. J. Hill 
and he has been called upon at various times to serve as delegate to 
county conventions. It would be hard to find anywhere a warmer 
friend of the cause of good education and the elevation of the stand- 
ards of the public schools. He is public spirited, and ready to 
support all measures likely to result in the greatest good to the 
greatest number, and his genial and cordial manners have gained 
for him a large following of friends. His residence is one of the 
most attractive in Colon, which might well be called the town of 
pretty homes. 

Dr. Denton Sleeping Garment Knitting Mills. — One of the 
leading industries of St. Joseph county is becoming known through- 
out the country under the title named above, by those who realize 
the hygienic necessity of being even more particular in adopting 
sanitary sleeping garments than those which are worn in the wak- 
ing hours. At this period of all others, when nature builds up 
strained or exhausted vitality, it is absolutely essential to health 
and useful work that everything should be done to assist her in 
this re-creation of life. The inventor of this garment, those who 
have improved upon his original ideas, and the manufacturers who 
have practically carried out every scientific and hygienic require- 
ment to the letter, should be classed as public benefactors. In 
this class no one can be mentioned who has been more fertile in 
ideas or more energetic and successful in bringing them into the 
practical and marketable form of hygienic garments, than Frank 
S. Cummings of Centerville, secretary and treasurer of the com- 
pany at that place. 

The mill was built in 1872 and operated as the Centerville 
Knitting Company by leading business men and farmers of the 
vicinity. Among the prominent subscribers to the original stock 
were H. C. Campbell, Harvey Cady, John C. Joss, W. J. Major, 
John I. Major, George Yauney and the five Wolf brothers. The 
first period of the business may be said to have concluded in 1885 
and was characterized by considerable friction and rivalry the 
result being that it was thrown into the courts and assigned to 
one of the factions. In the year named it was sold to W. D. Ing- 
ham and Dr. Whitney Denton and until 1891 was operated under 
the style of Ingham & Denton. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 493 

Mr. Ingham retired from the business in 1891, and his interest 
was purchased by Frank S. Cummings, H. P. Stewart, and Frank 
Wolf, all of Centerville. The resulting firm of W. Denton & Com- 
pany then assumed as a specialty the invention of Dr. Denton, a 
sleeping garment, the manufacture of the mills having been virtu- 
ally confined heretofore to men's underwear. At this juncture Dr. 
Denton emphasized and increased the hygienic quality and features 
of the goods turned out by the factory, particularly the sleeping 
garment specialty, and give the business a decided impetus. 

After the death of Dr. Denton in 1896, the business affairs of 
the company were much involved for several years, a receiver- 
ship being appointed in 1899, in order to bring matters into court 
for adjustment. In 1900 the business was assigned to Messrs. 
Cummings, Stewart, and Wolf, who immediately inaugurated a 
revival and expansion of the concern which has resulted in the 
prosperous manufactory of the present. For a year the enterprise 
was conducted under the name of the W. Denton Company, but 
was reorganized in 1901 as a stock concern, called the Michigan 
Central Woolen Company. The machinery was increased in quan- 
tity and improved in quality, a large addition to the original plant 
was made, and the underwear turned out was of a much higher 
grade and in far greater bulk. Other parties became financially 
interested so that the means became fully adequate to the con- 
tinuous expansion and the improvement along all lines. The in- 
creasing sale of the Dr. Denton Sleeping Garment became so em- 
phatic during the first few years of the reorganized business that 
in 1909 the management deemed it best to discontinue all other 
lines of manufacture and also to re-incorporate under its present 
name. 

The capital stock of the Dr. Denton Sleeping Garment Mills 
is $50,000. Much credit for the largely increased business is due 
to W. S. Herron, vice-president, and sales manager and F. W. 
Thomas, general manager. Both of these gentlemen come from 
Toledo, Ohio, and have had much business experience. The officers 
of the company are as follows : Hugh P. Stewart, president ; W. S. 
Herron, vice-president; Frank S. Cummings, secretary and treas- 
urer; F. W. Thomas, general manager; W. E. Clogher, superin- 
tendent ; and Frank Wolf, director. 

Frank Solomon Cummings^ secretary and treasurer of the 
Denton Sleeping Garment Mills, with numerous additional in- 
terests, is a man whose executive ability has won for him recogni- 



494 HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

tion in the business world and whose principles and standards, be- 
ing above par, have gained for him the respect of the community 
in which he makes his home. He was born on a farm midway 
between Centerville and Three Rivers, November 6, 1860, and he 
is proud of the date, not from any sense of personal gratification, 
but because it was upon this day that Abraham Lincoln was for the 
first time elected president of the United States. His parents were 
Charles and Hannah (Grinnell) Cummings, both natives of New 
York state. 

The Cummings family originated in Italy, or rather the 
genealogy begins in Lombardy, in the fourth century. They 
crossed the Alps into France in the sixth century, going from there 
to Scotland, where they remained for centuries and seem to have 
been conspicuous in many wars. The family was designated as 
the Cumin Clan and their badge was the cumin plant. The name 
originated from association with the town of Comines, near Lille, 
on the boundary between France and Belgium. The direct an- 
cestor of Mr. Cummings came from England (where he had earlier 
gone from Scotland), to Salem, Massachusetts, in 1627, seven years 
after the historic ''Mayflower" came. This immigrant's name was 
Isaac Cummings, and he was one of that large colony which 
formed a settlement in what is now Topsfield and Ipswich, Essex 
county, Massachusetts. The lineage in the male line is as follows : 
Isaac, John, Abraham, Jacob, Solomon, Solomon, Charles and 
Frank Solomon, Mr. Cummings being the eighth generation in 
this country and named in honor of his grandfather. Dr. Solomon 
Cummings. 

When the farm was sold and the family came into Centerville 
to live, Mr. Cummings was only five years old, and here he has 
ever since made his home. The father, upon his abandonment of an 
agricultural career, engaged in the furniture and undertaking 
business, and to this the son succeeded upon his father's demise 
in 1883. Mr. Cummings is the second in a family of four children. 
An elder brother is John G. Cummings and two younger sisters 
are Mrs. Nellie Shaffer and Mrs. Clara Gladding. With the excep- 
tion of the father the original family survives. 

Frank S. Cummings was twenty-two years of age when he as- 
sumed the management of his father's business. Some eight years 
later, in 1891, he made a step which was to prove of importance 
in his career. In company with Hugh P. Stewart and Frank Wolf 
he purchased an interest in the Knitting Mills located in Center- 
ville. They were subsequently incorporated under the name of the 



CO 

c 
w 

n 

w 

o 



> 



> 

o 



w 

w 

> 

o 

w 

r 

m 

r 
w 




HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 499 

Dr. Denton Sleeping Garment Mills with Mr. Cummings as secre- 
tary and treasurer of the concern. This has a capital stock of 
$50,000, and has proved a successful and growing affair. He is 
also secretary of the Centerville Power Company ; one of the board 
of managers of the Centerville Water & Electric Light Company, 
and superintendent of the Prairie River Cemetery. 

Mr. Cummings is a citizen who keeps in touch with the prog- 
ress of events and gives his hand to any movement likely to con- 
duce to the common good. He is a straight Republican in politics, 
and as he himself says, he stays straight by crossing out every 
crooked man on the ticket. He believes that his party stands for 
honesty, honor and progressiveness and that there are plenty of 
good men in it, and that if in a moment of forgetfulness its leaders 
place in nomination a crooked man, the best interests of the country 
and the party demand that he should be defeated. He has little 
use for political bosses and easily recognizes the difference be- 
tween a boss and a leader. Mr. Cummings regards as the crown- 
ing glory of his life, his selection as a delegate to the National 
Republican Convention, held in Chicago in 1908. His selection as 
a representative of the Fourth Congressional District resulted from 
the unanimous request and endorsement of the St. Joseph County 
Republican Convention. He has also been honored by the village 
by being created president of the common council. In his youth 
Mr. Cummings united with the Methodist Episcopal church and he 
is actively interested in its affairs and gives his support to its 
good causes. 

On October 16, 1890, Mr. Cummings took as his bride Miss 
Eloise S. Peeke, eldest daughter of Rev. and Mrs. A. P. Peeke. 
Rev. Mr. Peeke was at that time pastor of the Centerville Dutch 
Reformed Church. Whatever of success or usefulness he may have 
achieved, Mr. Cummings attributes largely to his wife's aid and 
sympathy. They have four daughters, Margaret Eloise, Jean Grin- 
nell, Deborah Provost and Josephine Starr. Mrs. Cummings and 
her daughters are members of and actively identified with the Cen- 
terville Presbyterian church. 

Hoisr. Edward B. Linsley.— A citizen who has contributed in 
a generous measure to the industrial and civic progress of the city 
of Three Rivers and why may consistently be designated as one of 
the '^captains of industry'' in this favored section of the Wolver- 
ine state, is Hon. Edward B. Linsley, recently state senator from 
the sixth district, comprising the counties of Branch, Hillsdale and 

Vol. II— 3 



500 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

St. Joseph. He has not only shown marked initiative and con- 
structive ability as a business man but he has also been an influen- 
tial factor in public affairs and has exemplified the most liberal and 
public-spirited citizenship. He has had much to do with the up- 
building of the business of the Sheffield Car Company, one of the 
important industrial concerns of the state and one that has added 
materially to the commercial prestige and business stability of 
Three Eivers. As one of the essentially representative citizens of 
St. Joseph county Senator Linsley is entitled to special recognition 
in this publication. 

Hon. Edward Baldwin Linsley was born in Henrietta, Monroe 
county, New York, on the 27th of July, 1847, and is a son of Darius 
M. and Margaret L. (Baldwin) Linsley. The genealogical line in 
America is traced back in a direct way to John Linsley, who landed 
at New Haven, Connecticut, in 1636, and who was living at Bran- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1644. From 1648 to 1655 he was a resident 
of Guilford, that colony, where his death occurred, as did also that 
of his wife, Ellen. Their son, John Linsley, Jr., was bom in Bran- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1644, and at that place, in 1669, was solemn- 
ized his marriage. The family name of his wife is not recorded 
but her Christian name was Hannah. Benjamin Linsley, second 
son of John and Hannah Linsley, was born in Branford, in 1673. 
Abial Linsley, the eldest son of Benjamin and Mary Linsley, was 
bom March 22, 1700, and his eldest son, Abial, Jr., was bom in 
1730. The latter married Thankful Pond, on the 5th of October, 
1752. The eldest son of this union was Joel, who was bom in 
North Branford, Connecticut, on the 7th of Febmary, 1756. Abial 
Linsley, Jr., was a resident of Litchfield county, Connecticut, in 
1761, and with a number of other citizens of that county, he be- 
came one of the original grantees of the town of Cornwall, Addison 
county, Vermont; his name appears on the original charter or 
grant from King George III of England, by the hand of B. Went- 
worth, governor of the province of New Hampshire. At a later 
period he was engaged in trade with the Indians on the border of 
Lake Erie. 

Joel Linsley, son of Abial Linsley, Jr., was bom February, 7, 
1756, as already stated. In 1775 he removed from Woodbury, Con- 
necticut, to Cornwall, Vermont, where he became one of the first 
settlers. At the outbreak of the war of the Revolution the depre- 
dations of the Indians made it impossible for the settlers to remain 
at Cornwall, and Joel Linsley, therefore, retumed to Connecticut 
in 1777. He and his father were both soldiers in the Connecticut 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 501 

troops in the Revolutionary war, as was also the younger brother, 
Abial (III). In 1783 the father and sons returned to Cornwall, 
Vermont, where they made permanent settlement and where the 
father died in 1800, at the age of seventy years. After a few 
years Abial (III) removed to Augusta, Oneida county. New York. 
The following data concerning his children are given, the respective 
dates of birth being entered in connection with the names : Laura, 
July 6, 1784; Thankful, July 12, 1786; Clarissa, July 17, 1787; 
Henry Gilbert, August 3, 1789 ; and Nancy, September 7, 1791. 

Joel Linsley, of Cornwall, Vermont, was the great-grandfather 
of him whose name initiates this article and was a prominent and 
influential citizen of the old Green Mountain state in his day and 
generation. He was appointed town clerk of Cornwall at the time 
of the organization of the town in 1785, and he held this office con- 
secutively for thirty-three years, save for an interim of two years, 
having been incumbent of the position at the time of his death, in 
1818. He also served as chief judge of the county court and repre- 
sented his town for several years in the state legislature. Judge 
Joel Linsley married Lavina Gilbert, who was bom in December, 
1758, and the names of their children are here given, with respect- 
ive dates of birth : Sally, May 11, 1783 ; Betsey, September 11, 1785 ; 
Horace, December 13, 1787 ; Joel Harvey (who was for many years 
well known in New England as the pastor of the Park Church, Bos- 
ton, and later of the Congregational Church of Greenwich, Connec- 
ticut), July 15, 1790; Gilbert, May 9, 1793; Charles, August 29, 
1795 ; Lucius, May 26, 1798 ; and Julius, February 6, 1801. Sally 
married Rev. Truman Baldwin, who was for many years engaged in 
the work of the ministry in the state of New York and who was 
bom in Granville, Massachusetts, September 27, 1780. He died at 
Cicero, Onondaga county. New York, in 1865, where his wife had 
passed away in 1862. Their children were : Aurelia, Elizabeth, and 
Margaret Lavinia, the last mentioned of whom became the wife of 
Darius M. Linsley, as will be noted more specifically in a later 
paragraph. 

Horace Linsley, eldest son of Judge Joel Linsley, was bom at 
Cornwall, Vermont, December 13, 1787. About 1812 he married 
Temperance Sampson, daughter of Eliphalet Sampson, and their 
children were Lavina, who was bom in 1814, and died in 1834, and 
Gilbert P., who was born in 1816 and died in 1874. After the 
death of his first wife Horace Linsley married Abigail Matthews, 
in 1819. She was a daughter of Dr. Darius Matthews, of Corn- 
wall, Vermont, and her death occurred August 20, 1820. The only 



502 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

child of the second marriage was Darius M., who was bom July 20, 
1820, and who was the father of Senator Linsley, the subject of 
this review. Darius Matthews Linsley was graduated in Middle- 
bury College, Connecticut, as a member of the class of 1841, re- 
ceived the degree of Bachelor of Arts at this time and later his alma 
mater conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. He was 
twice married. On the 6th of September, 1846, he wedded Miss 
Margaret L. Baldwin, daughter of Rev. Truman and Sally (Lin- 
sley) Baldwin, mentioned in a preceding paragraph. The only 
son of this union is Edward Baldwin Linsley, to whom this arti- 
cle is dedicated. 

Darius M. Linsley was a man of fine intellectual attainments 
and was for many years a successful teacher. For a time he was 
principal in the city schools of Rochester, New York, later being 
engaged in educational work in Watertown and Syracuse, New 
York, and Lyons, Iowa, locating in 1857 in Kalamazoo, Michigan, 
where he was engaged in the establishment of the Michigan Female 
Seminary at that place for many years an important factor in the 
educational system of the state. He passed the closing years of his 
life near Medina, New York, where he died in 1894. His first wife, 
mother of the subject of this sketch, was summoned to the life 
eternal in 1865. Both were devout members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

Edward Baldwin Linsley gained his rudimentary education in 
the public schools of his native state and Iowa, and was a lad of 
about ten years at the time of the family removal to Kalamazoo, 
Michigan. There he continued his studies until he had completed 
the curriculum of the public schools, and in 1867, at the age of 
twenty years, he came to Three Rivers, where he has since main- 
tained his home and where he has won large and worthy success 
through his well directed efforts. Upon taking up his residence in 
Three Rivers, Senator Linsley secured a position as clerk in the 
drug store of Wing & Major, with whom he remained four years, 
at the expiration of which he formed a partnership with Ashbel W. 
Snyder, with whom he was associated in the drug business for a 
number of years, under the firm name of Snyder & Linsley. In 
1881 Senator Linsley became one of the interested principals in the 
firm of Geo. S. Sheffield & Co. and engaged in the manufacturing 
of small railway cars and railway velocipedes. From a modest in- 
ception has been built up the large and important industrial enter- 
prise now controlled by the Sheffield Car Company, which was or- 
ganized and incorporated in 1882 and of which he was chosen sec- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 503 

retary and treasurer. He held this dual office until 1902, when he 
became general manager of the company, a position he has since - 
retained. Concerning his identification with this business enter- 
prise the following statements were made in a newspaper article 
and are worthy of perpetuation in this connection : 

''During all these years of service in the company referred to, 
Mr. Linsley has had much to do in building up the affairs of the 
company, especially in the way of advertising its productions. He 
went to England and thence traveled extensively through Europe, 
and the result was that orders from foreign countries came to the 
company, whose business was largely increased.'' 

The Sheffield Car Company may consistently be said to repre- 
sent the most important industrial business in Three Rivers, and 
in the furthering of its affairs Mr. Linsley has done much to pro- 
mote the industrial and civic prosperity of the city in which he 
has so long maintained his home and in which he has ever com- 
manded unqualified confidence and esteem. He has ever shown the 
deepest interest in all that has tended to advance the business and 
civic welfare of the city and his public spirit and generosity have 
been shown along many different lines. He was for several years a 
member of the city board of education, and in this connection he 
gave most effective and loyal service in bringing the schools up to 
the highest possible standard. In 1888 he was elected mayor of the 
city, of which office he continued incumbent for one term, and it is 
a matter of record that his administration of municipal affairs was 
characterized by a broad-minded, progressive and essentiaUy prac- 
tical policy, making his regime as mayor one of the best in the his- 
tory of the city. 

Relative to his active identication with other local interests no 
better tribute can, perhaps, be given than the following, taken from 
an appreciative newspaper article : 

''The organization of a building and loan association was 
first broached in this city by Mr. Linsley and in association with 
others he laid the foundations of one of the strongest and most ably 
managed associations of this kind in the state. This organization 
was effected in January, 1887, and Mr. Linsley was elected presi- 
dent, a position he has held continuously ever since. While he has 
had many efficient officials to aid him in the management of the 
affairs of the association, it is conceded by all who have to do with 
the concern that its present stability and financial prosperity are 
largely due to his careful management and his intense interest m 
the association, which is incorporated under the title of the Three 



504 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Rivers Building & Loan Association. The result of his work in this 
direction may be seen to-day all over the city, in the many hand- 
some residences that have been erected and that would never have 
thus materialized had it not been for the interposition of this asso- 
ciation. 

''Coming down to the time of the establishment of the free 
public library in this city, we find Mr. Linsley again actively en- 
gaged, in building up a library that is now the pride of the city. 
For several years the library was held jointly by Three Rivers and 
Lockport township, but, as usual in such cases, a few disgruntled 
persons in the township became dissatisfied with the small tax re- 
quired of them for the support of the library, and the result was 
that the city purchased the entire library, of which it has since re- 
mained the sole owner. Mr. Linsley has ever been a warm sup- 
porter of the library and about 1903 he opened correspondence with 
Andrew Carnegie, with the result that the latter donated to the 
city the sum of twelve thousand five hundred dollars for a library 
building, on condition that the city raise by taxation twelve hun- 
dred and fifty dollars each year for the support of the library. 
The beautiful library building was completed in 1905, on a fine lot 
in the heart of the city, and it stands as a perpetual monument to 
Mr. Linsley 's faithful work. The lot on which the building is lo- 
cated was donated by Hon. Warren J. Willits, mainly through the 
influence of Mr. Linsley. Mr. Linsley has been president of the 
library from the time of its organization, more than a quarter of a 
century ago.'' 

In politics Senator Linsley has ever been aligned as a stanch 
advocate of the principles and policies for which the Republican 
party stands sponsor and he has shown a lively interest in the pro- 
motion of its cause. He has been active and influential in its local 
councils and on the 8th of November, 1904, was given a consistent 
recognition of his eligibility and loyalty when he was elected to 
represent the sixth district in the state senate, by a gratifying ma- 
jority. In 1906 he was chosen as his own successor and thus was 
given the best voucher for popular appreciation of his services. He 
has been an effective worker on both the floor and in the committee 
rooms of the senate and his course has been such as to gain to him 
the unqualified confidence and commendation of his constituency. 
His second term expired January 1, 1909. The Senator was ac- 
tively identified with the Michigan National Guard for a period of 
ten years, and during much of this time he served as a commissioned 
officer. He still shows a loyal interest in the state militia and is 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 505 

ever ready to lend his influence and aid in the promotion of its 
eifieiency and well being. He and his wife are zealous and devoted 
members of the First Presbyterian church of Three Rivers, in 
which he has been a ruling elder for many years, and he is identified 
with various fraternal and civic organizations of representative 
order in his home city. A man of broad views, of quickened hu- 
man sympathies and tolerance, democratic in his ways and genial 
and kindly in all the relations of life. Senator Linsley well merits 
the high regard in which he is held in the community that has so 
long represented his home and been the scene of his earnest and 
fruitful endeavors as an able business man. and loyal citizen. 

In Three Rivers, on the 21st of September, 1876, was solem- 
nized the marriage of Senator Linsley to Miss Emma L. Burch, 
who was born in Lapeer county and who is a daughter of the late 
Captain Hosea Burch, who served with distinction in the Twenty- 
eighth Michigan Volunteer Infantry in the Civil war. Senator 
and Mrs. Linsley have two children: Raymond Burch, and Mar- 
garet Ellen, both being natives of Three Rivers. The son is con- 
nected with the Sheffield Car Company, being their purchasing 
agent, and the daughter has entered her Junior year in Smith 
College, Northampton, Massachusetts. 

Leverett Augustus Clapp is one of St. Joseph county's na- 
tive sons and most honored residents. He was born in its town of 
Mottville on June 24, 1837, and he traces his descent through many 
generations to one of the most prominent of the early colonists. 
Roger Clapp, born at Salcombe Regis in Devonshire, England, 
April 6, 1609, came to America in the ship ^^Mary and John'' and 
arrived at Dorchester, now the city of Boston, Massachusetts, on 
the 30th of May, 1630. His life was ever a busy one, and he was 
said to have been a God-fearing man and forward and earnest in 
works of benevolence. His ability, energy and sterling character 
were acknowledged by the colony, for at the age of twenty-eight 
he was chosen selectman and was fourteen times returned to that 
office, and he was captain of the militia of the colony, and on 
August 10, 1665, was appointed by the General Court as captain 
of the Castle, now Fort Independence, in Boston Harbor. He held 
that office for twenty-one years, resigning it in 1686, when seventy- 
seven years of age, and as he left the office a volley of nine guns 
were fired as a token of the honor and esteem in which he was held. 
He died on the 2d of February, 1691. 



506 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Roger Clapp married on November 6, 1633, Joanna Ford, she 
having also been a passenger on the same ship which brought him 
to America. She was born on the 8th of June, 1617, and she died 
at Boston on the 29th of June, 1695. The line of descent from 
Roger and Joanna Clapp includes Preserved Clapp, born November 
23, 1643 ; Roger Clapp (2), born May 24, 1684; Asahel Clapp, born 
in about the year of 1717; Asahel Clapp (2), born in about 1745; 
Asahel Clapp (3), born in about 1770; Asahel Clapp (4), born 
January 24, 1804 ; Leverett A. Clapp, born in Mottville township, 
June 24, 1837; and Edwin Lacey Clapp, of the ninth generation 
from Roger and Joanna Clapp. 

Asahel Clapp, the fourth of the name, was born at Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, and he married on the 25th of July, 1833, Char- 
lotte A. May, a daughter of Chauncey May of Pittsfield, Massa- 
chusetts, where the daughter Charlotte was born on the 8th of 
June, 1814. In November of 1835 they, as early pioneers, located 
in Mottville township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, as their per- 
manent home. Asahel Clapp held several important offices in his 
township and county, and in the year of 1854 was elected on the 
Republican ticket as the register of deeds. After occupying that 
office for ten years he moved to White Pigeon and embarked in a 
mercantile business. Both he and his wife were acceptable mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church, and in its faith they passed 
away in death in White Pigeon, he on the 1st of December, 1876, 
and she on the 11th of April, 1904. 

Leverett Augustus Clapp received a common school training, 
and leaving the parental home when a lad of ten years, he after- 
ward resided with an uncle, M. W. Dimick, on a farm in Florence 
township for four years, and at that time, although but a boy of 
fourteen, he was able to manage a peppermint oil distillery as well 
as the most capable of the men. Moving then to the village of 
Mottville Mr. Clapp became a clerk in a general store, and with 
his employer he moved to Shelbyville, Indiana, in 1854, and con- 
tinued along the same line until January, 1857, when he accepted 
the position of deputy register of deeds in his father's office at 
Centerville. In the year of 1864 he was elected to the office and 
served as a register of deeds for two years and then was not a 
candidate for re-election. On leaving the office he compiled the 
books of abstracts of titles of St. Joseph county, although they are 
not now owned by him. The Republican state convention of 1872 
placed Mr. Clapp in nomination for the office of Commissioner of 
the state land office, to which he was elected in November of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 507 

that year and by re-election in 1874 served in the office for four 
years. He had the management and sale of the state lands, and 
his office as Commissioner entitling him to a membership on the 
board of State Auditors which audited all the accounts against the 
state. In the year of 1870 he was elected secretary of the Farmers 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company of St. Joseph county, and he has 
served in that office for forty years, and from the annual published 
reports of the state commissioner of insurance it appears that he 
is the oldest representative in years of service of any secretary of 
any mutual fire insurance company in the state, a high honor and 
one greatly appreciated by Mr. Clapp. He takes a deep and com- 
mendable interest in the welfare of his company. He has served 
as executor, administrator and guardian of many estates. He is a 
Knights Templar Mason, was a worshipful master of Mt. Hermon 
Lodge No. 24 for four years and high priest of Centerville Chapter 
No. 11, Royal Arch Masons, for two years. He attends the services 
of the First Baptist church, and although not a member of the 
church, he has been a trustee of the corporate body of the church 
during the past twenty-two years. 

Mr. Clapp married at Centerville on December 6, 1864, Miss 
Amanda E. Hampson, who was bom here on the 12th of August, 
1840, a daughter of Henry W. Hampson, born at Mill Creek in 
Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, October 17, 1805. He moved 
to Centerville on the 13th of November, 1833, where he followed 
his occupations of carpenter and joiner and farmer. He was for 
many years a faithful member of and a deacon in the Baptist 
church, and he died on the 14th of May, 1874. He had married 
Mahala Fletcher, born at Pompey, Onondaga county. New York, 
July 30, 1813, and in the year of 1829 she located with her parents 
in Nottawa township, St. Joseph county, and she was thus num- 
bered among the early pioneers of that community. She died at 
Centerville on the 30th of October, 1901. Mrs. Clapp received a 
high school education, and before her marriage was a teacher in 
the common and high schools. She is a member of the First Baptist 
church at Centerville. 

Edwin Lacey Clapp, a son of Leverett and Amanda Clapp, was 
born at Centerville on September 24, 1865, and he received a high 
school education and also holds a diploma from Eastman's Busi- 
ness College. He is the present postmaster of Centerville, also the 
secretary of the Water and Electric Company and he is prominently 
engaged in the insurance business. Edwin L. Clapp married on 



508 HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

the 7th of November, 1894, Miss Emma Genevieve Sadler, born at 
Centerville July 8, 1867. 

EussEL Ralph Pealer. — One of the most prominent citizens 
of St. Joseph county, Michigan, in legal, business and political 
circles, is Russel Ralph Pealer, who has been a member of the bar 
of the county since January, 1868. Mr. Pealer was born near 
Rohrsburg, in Greenwood township, Columbia county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 1, 1842, and is a son of George and Rebecca Boyd 
(Hampton) Pealer, being of German ancestry on his paternal side 
and of English ancestry on his maternal side. George Pealer was 
a; son of Daniel and Mary (Kuder) Pealer, and the oldest of twelve 
children. 

Daniel Pealer was an extensive farmer and stock raiser, and 
owned and operated 1,400 acres of land. He was a man of good 
business judgment and executive ability and at his death left a 
large estate. George Pealer 's mother was a member of a German 
family and his father's ancestors were from the ** Schwartz Wald,'' 
or Black Forest of Germany. Rebecca Hampton was a daughter 
of William and Rosanna (Hopkins) Hampton, and her grandfather, 
Caleb Hopkins, was a man of superior gifts and education. He 
was the founder and first rector of the Episcopal church of Blooms- 
burg, Pennsylvania, where he served in that capacity many years, 
and when a young man served for a time as an officer in the Revolu- 
tionary war ; he afterwards became rector of the Episcopal church 
at Angelica, New York. His brother. Usual, was a contractor, and 
at one time senator in Pennsylvania. 

George Pealer was born August 22, 1818, in Columbia county, 
Pennsylvania, and was a farmer and lumberman by occupation. 
He was a Methodist in church relations. He was an ardent Whig 
and late a very strong Republican, and served in local offices among 
them as director of the school board. Rebecca Hampton was born 
in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, in 1819, and was reared in Angelica, 
New York, where she received a superior education and became a 
teacher. Later she taught in Pennsylvania, and at one time 
boarded in the family of Daniel Pealer, where she became ac- 
quainted with her future husband. 

The boyhood of Russel R. Pealer was spent on his father's 
farm, and he has always taken an interest in agricultural matters. 
He studied at home and in the public schools until seventeen years 
of age, and then entered New Columbia Normal School in Luzerne 
county, and afterwards the Orangeville Normal in Columbia 




/?.J^. 





^ 




w 




hJ 




< 




w 




Ph 






iz; 


Q^ 


< 




HH 


^ 






HH 


W 


IS 


O 




Q 


CO 


t^ 


w 


•-J 


> 




HH 


fe 


Pci 


O 


w 


w 




u 


w 


iz; 


H 


w 




Q 




►— 1 




CO 




W 




Pt^ 





HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 515 

county. He often walked five miles to and from school and 
boarded himself and paid his own expenses most of the time. Mr^ 
Pealer was warmly encouraged by his mother m his efforts to 
secure a good education, and had a natural fondness for learning 
so he read and studied as opportunity afforded, working on the 
farm during the summer vacations, teaching through the winter 
and attending the Normal in the spring and fall terms He was 
attending school at the time of the Second Battle o Bull Run and 
went to Washington and volunteered to help take care of the 
wounded. On September 9, 1862, he enlisted for three years 
as private in Company E, Sixteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and 
served until August 11, 1865, when he was honorably discharged. 
He was promoted from time to time through the grades of non- 
commissioned o&ers, to sergeant-major of the regiment for 
"meritorious conduct." Later he was commissioned second and 
then first lieutenant of Company E, and acted as adjutant of the 
regiment and served on the staff of the commander of the regi- 
ment and brigade and at times commanded a company as well as 
sometimes a squadron, and was assigned temporarily to command 
the Second Pennsylvania Cavalry at the Battle of Reams Station, 
Virginia He was wounded while leading companies E and 1 in the 
Battle of Hatcher's Run, Virginia, being carried from the field on 
a stretcher, and removed a distance of 600 miles to his home on 
this stretcher. The ball was extracted in Baltimore, and he then 
proceeded to his father's house in central Pennsylvania, where he 
was cared for by his mother, until able to return on crutches to his 
regiment (then near ParmviUe, Virginia). He participated m 
thirty-five battles and engagements, taking part in the Chancellors- 
ville and Gettysburg campaigns and was at Shepardstown, Cul- 
peper Mine Run, Sulphur Springs, through all the Wilderness 
campaign, at Todd's Tavern, North Anna, Haws Shop, Cold Harbor, 
Z several engagements on the right and left banks of the James 
river, at Petersburg, Weldon Railroad, Boynton, Plank Road and 
Hatcher's Run. His service gave him many exciting experiences 
and he is justly proud of his soldier record 

While confined to his bed by his wound he improved the time 
by studying civil engineering, and after the war he spent some 
time in surveying, in order to help defray the expenses of his legal 
education, which he immediately set about acquiring^ 

At the time of enlisting Mr. Pealer had decided to enter 
Albany Law School in New York, but the call of his country proved 
too strong for him to resist, with the result as we have seen. He 



516 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

began reading law at Lynchburg, Virginia, and entered the law 
office of Eobert F. Clark, of Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, September 
3, 1865, and was admitted to the bar in that city September 3, 1866, 
and soon removed to Three Rivers, Michigan, where he entered 
upon the active practice of his profession November 12, 1867. He 
had to win his success by patient and earnest endeavor, as for the 
first four months of his professional career he received $4 and for 
the first year only $190, while his office rent was $100 ; however, 
the second year his cash receipts were $1,551.75 and from that 
time on he continued to prosper acquiring a large and lucrative 
practice. He was elected circuit court commissioner and later 
prosecuting attorney for the county of St. Joseph. It was during 
his term a grand jury was last called out, thirty-three indictments 
were returned and three trials followed, and the others all pleaded 
guilty, and about $1,800 in fines and costs were collected in one 
term and he was considered an industrious officer throughout. Mr. 
Pealer served six years, from January 1, 1882, until January 1, 
1888, as Circuit Judge of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, and the 
records at Centerville and Coldwater show him to have been prompt 
and most fair in his decisions, and to have possessed a thorough 
knowledge and understanding of his profession. Further honor 
was shown him by the resolution spread upon the court records in 
February 1888. 

''Whereas, The Hon. Russel R. Pealer, Judge of this Judicial 
Circuit, is about to retire from the Bench and resume the practice 
of his profession : Now therefore, 

''Resolved, By the Branch County Bar Association, that in all 
his associations during the past six years with the members of this 
Bar, whether on or off the Bench, he has been uniformly courteous 
in his demeanor toward us and a true gentleman in all his rela- 
tions and that we will cherish his memory with pleasure and grati- 
tude. Presiding with dignity, he was never caustic nor overbear- 
ing, always giving a respectful hearing and consideration to the 
arguments of counsel, his decisions have merited and received our 
respect, even when against us. Zealous to guard public interests, 
he has pushed the business of the Court with untiring energy, but 
at the same time has carefully protected the rights and interests of 
litigants. An able and conscientious Judge, who has studiously 
kept himself in line of knowledge and before deciding has carefully 
investigated all questions coming before him. He has done credit 
to himself and honor to the Bench from which he is about to 
retire.'' 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 517 

He was afterwards chosen representative to the state legis- 
lature, as a Republican, in an adverse district. He served on judi- 
ciary and other committees in the session 1889 and took a leading 
part in the enactment of the Local Option law and in every other 
important measure of that term. Later he was a candidate for the 
Republican nomination for judge of the supreme court, and re- 
ceived the vote of every delegate from his county, judicial district 
and congressional district, as well as a large number of votes from 
other parts of the state. There were seven candidates and Mr. 
Pealer had second place, Judge Grant receiving the nomination. 
Mr. Pealer was generously supported for this nomination on two 
subsequent occasions. The delegation from his own county was in- 
structed for him for the Republican nomination for Congress in 
1892. 

Mr. Pealer was appointed by Governor Rich, one of the commis- 
sioners of the state on compilation of laws, and served in 1897. 
Governor Bliss appointed him a member of the State Pardon 
Board, on which he served three years, the last year being presi- 
dent of the board. It is a matter of pride with him that his father 
and grandfather were ardent Whigs and that at the inception of 
the Republican party, in the campaign of 1856 his father favored 
Fremont and in 1860 voted for Lincoln. He was a subscriber of 
the New York Tribune, edited by Horace Greeley, and it was from 
the pages of this paper that Russel Pealer gained his first ideas of 
political affairs. He cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln in 
1864, in the open fields of Virginia while serving as a soldier. The 
votes were collected and returned to the states from which the 
soldiers were recruited. He has ever since been a stanch sup- 
porter of the principles and platform of the Republican party and 
has attended many district and State conventions and rendered 
valuable service in each campaign, and was chairman of the Re- 
publican County Committee in the Garfield campaign and made it 
a live one. Every local speaker was set at work and the last week 
of the campaign there were twenty-three meetings in the county 
on one evening. 

Mr. Pealer has been a member of the Grand Army of the Re- 
public since 1868, and has held all the post and department offices. 
He has served as post commander, commander of the Department 
of Michigan, served several times as judge advocate of the depart- 
ment, and at present is Judge Advocate General of the G. A. R. of 
the United States. He was the first to move for a soldiers' and 
sailors' monument in Three Rivers and was chairman of the 



518 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

monument association, and did most to raise the money to build 
with, and presided at its dedication when the governor and ex- 
governors and many leading citizens were present, and Washing- 
ton Gardner delivered the address. He has been commander of the 
St. Joseph county soldiers' organizations at times. He is also a 
member of the Loyal Legion, which is composed of commissioned 
officers who served in the Civil war, and has had the honor of 
serving as commander of the Michigan commandery. He has at- 
tended most of the state and national encampments of the G. A. R. 
and upon his visit to Europe was given right of way to many places 
where he might not otherwise have been admitted, on account of 
his wearing his badge of the Loyal Legion. Among the interesting 
places he visited was the English House of Commons, and Peace 
Conference at The Hague. Mr. Pealer is also a member of the 
Masonic order and a Knight Templar. He has been a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church since 1859, and has served as class 
leader, superintendent of the Sunday school, trustee and steward 
of the church, delegate to the annual conference and lay delegate 
from Michigan to the general conference held in New York in 1888. 
Mr. Pealer was first married, December 25, 1868, to Sallie A. 
Stevens, the marriage taking place at New Columbus, Pennsyl- 
vania. She was a daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Fellows) 
Stevens, and her ancestors were farmers, of Connecticut stock. 
She died in September, 1874, leaving two daughters, Anna G. and 
Mary A. both born at Three Rivers, Michigan. Anna G. married 
George P. Knappen and they reside at Brookings, South Dakota. 
They have three bright boys, and Mr. Knappen is a banker. Mary 
A. married J. W. Breyf ogle, a farmer of St. Joseph county, and 
they have two daughters and three sons. Both daughters were 
educated in the high school at Three Rivers and at Albion College, 
and were given every advantage. The grandchildren of Mr. 
Pealer have a large place in his affections and time, and are a con- 
stant source of joy to him. 

Mr. Pealer married (second) Amanda Stevens, sister of his 
first wife, who died about a year and a half later. Afterwards he 
married (third) Sue F. Santee, a highly cultured and well educated 
lady, who has been a kind mother to his daughters and a good 
companion and home maker. She is a daughter of William Santee, 
who was a Methodist minister and strong supporter of David 
Wilmot, of the *'Wilmot Proviso '' fame, in whose congressional 
district Mr. Santee and his family resided. Mrs. Pealer is promi- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 519 

nent in local women's clubs and is highly esteemed and admired 
for her many virtues of mind and heart. 

Mr. Pealer owns a couple of well improved farms, on which he 
has erected fine buildings, and keeps good stock and raises pepper- 
mint among other crops. He also has a fine summer home at Bay 
View, near Petoskey, Michigan, where the family generally spend 
a few weeks during July and August of each year. He has been 
at times a trustee of the Bay View Association and has long been 
a liberal contributor in every good cause and has served as chair- 
man of the Home Coming and on many other public committees. 
He has made good investments in western lands, etc., and has often 
proven his business acumen. He was president of the First National 
Bank of Three Rivers, for six years and it was during his term 
that the First National took over the business of the Three Rivers 
National and was receiver of the First National Bank of White 
Pigeon and has many financial interests in the county. He has 
served very creditably in local, school and other affairs. He has 
always been engaged in the general practice of his profession, 
except during the time he spent in holding public office. 

Mr. B. E. Andrews read law with Mr. Pealer and later be- 
came his partner, under the name of Pealer and Andrews. This 
place was later filled by Mr. Pealer 's brother, W. O. Pealer, and 
the firm was known as Pealer Brothers about seven years. W. 0. 
Pealer then engaged in practice in Duluth, Minnesota, and George 
E. Miller became associated with R. R. Pealer, under the name of 
R. R. Pealer and George E. Miller, Att'ys; these two gentlemen 
have been associated in business together for the last twenty years, 
and their relations have been mutually pleasant and profitable. 
They have had a good business in practicing in the U. S. Court, 
the supreme court and the circuit courts of the state. 

Mr. Pealer greatly enjoys travel, and has visited Wales, Ger- 
many, Holland, Switzerland and France. He is highly esteemed 
by most who know him, and his legal ability has been widely 
recognized. He has a host of friends and is very well known 
throughout many parts of the state. 

Daniel M. Eveland. — One of the venerable and highly es- 
teemed citizens of St. Joseph county is Daniel M. Eveland, who is 
now living virtually retired in the village of Mendon and who has 
been a resident of the county for more than a quarter of a century. 
For many years he was engaged in the paper business and since 



520 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

1885 he has been actively identified with business interests of 
Mendon. 

Daniel M. Eveland was born in West Brunswick, Schuylkill 
county, Pennsylvania, on the 22nd of August, 1836, and is a son 
of Daniel and Susanna (Preyer) Eveland, both of whom were like- 
wise natives of the Old Keystone state, where the family was 
founded in the pioneer days. Daniel Eveland, who was a descend- 
ant, in a collateral line, of General Burgoyne, became one of the 
prominent and influential farmers of Schuylkill county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he continued to reside until his death, as did also 
his wife; both were members of the German Reformed church. 
He was a stanch Republican in his political allegiance and was 
called upon to serve in various positions of public trust in his 
home county. Of the children the eldest was Edward R., who 
was a member of the Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer In- 
fantry, in the Civil war, and who sacrificed his life in a battle in 
the state of Virginia; Daniel M., the immediate subject of this 
sketch; James S. was a member of the Forty-eighth Pennsylvania 
Infantry and he is now a resident of Tamaqua, Pennsylvania; 
Lewis B. likewise gave valiant service as a soldier in the war of 
the Rebellion and was in Kansas City at the time of his death; 
Henry J,, who also was a soldier in the Civil war, is a railroad en- 
gineer and resident in Allegan, Michigan ; Sarah Ann, twin sister 
of Daniel H., died in infancy, as did also Elizabeth Hannah ; Mary 
died at the age of five years and Maria C. is the widow of John C. 
Gallagher and resides in Pennsylvania; and Emma is the widow 
of Charles Penglase and she also resides in Pennsylvania. 

Reared to maturity in his native county, Daniel M. Eveland 
received the advantages of the common schools, and continued as a 
resident of his native place until 1880, when he came to Michigan 
and established his home in Schoolcraft, Kalamazoo county, where 
he was engaged in the printing business about one year. He came 
to Mendon about twenty years ago and has been a resident here 
since. 

Mr. Eveland was one of the gallant sons of the Republic who 
went forth in defense of the Union in the time of the Civil war. 
In 1864 he enlisted as a private in Company H, One Hundred 
Ninety-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, with which he 
served in the Fifth Army Corps of the Army of the Potomac, un- 
der General Warren. He participated in the various engagements 
in which his command was involved, including that of Pegran 
Farm, Virginia. He has ever retained a deep interest in his old 




-HUJ . fUjCXX^^ 



HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 523 

comrades of the Civil war and is now chaplain of the 0. J. Fast 
Post No. 193, Grand Army of the Republic, of which he served as 
commander for several years. He also held the office of colonel 
of the St. Joseph County Battalion and he has been prominently 
identified with various demonstrations of the Grand Army of the 
Republic in his county. He is affiliated with the Masonic frater- 
nity and his political allegiance is given to the Republican party. 
On the 10th of March, 1859, Mr. Eveland was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Amanda R. Zuber, of DrehersviUe, Schuylkill county, 
Pennsylvania, where she was bom and reared, being a daughter 
of Peter and Elizabeth Zuber, who continued to reside m Drehers- 
viUe until their death. Concerning the children of Mr and M^. 
Eveland the following brief record is entered: Elizabeth is the 
wife of John J. Firestone, who is engaged in the newspaper busi- 
ness in the city of Allegan, Michigan; Caroline died in childhood; 
Edward Everett died in Ohio at the age of eleven years; Florence 
Estelle is the wife of Lewis G. Clapp; and Theodore, who was the 
editor and publisher of the Mendon Leader, resides in Mendon. 

HiEAM W HuTTON was bom in Bedford county, Pennsylvmia, 
December 7, 1827, a son of Benjamin and a grandson of Levi Hut- 
ton, who came to this country from England. Benjamm Hutton 
married Beulah Harris, bom and reared in P™ylvania, a da^h- 
ter of Benjamin Harris, a soldier in General Washington s W 
In 1847 Benjamin Hutton came with his family to St. Josepft 
county, Michigan, and here the parents spent the remainder of their 
lives and died. In their family were six sons and two daughters, 
including David F., Wesley and Hiram W. Hutton. 

Hiram W. Hutton was a young man of nineteen years when 
he came with his parents to St. Joseph county^ He h^ jt^^^^f 
school in his native state of Pennsylvania, and he ^1«« ^^f ^J' 
during one winter. After coming to St. Joseph coun y he worked 
by the month as a farm hand, remaining in one nian s employ for 
th.ee years for twelve dollars a month during the summers aM 
ten dollars in the winter. He saved his money and was finally able 
to buy land of his own, owning now an estate of one hundred and 
twenty-nine acres in section 30, Constantine townsh^P; ^^^^^^ 

has lived since May of 1855. All °f t^V'^'^'^^'T^Ton Mar^h 
have been placed there by him. Mr. Hutton -f "f ^^^ ^^^f ^^'^ 
11 1852, Emeline Voorheis, bom in the state of New York but 

af^erwark a resident of Canada. Of '^^^^'^f'^'l'^'^^Z 
infancy, and the four living are Homer F., Charles W., Catherine 



Vol. II- 



524 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

E. and Hattie E. The younger daughter is a graduate of the Con- 
stantine High School, and also attended the state normal at Ypsi- 
lanti, and she is now teaching in the high school at Bozeman, Mon- 
tana. The mother of these children died in the fall of 1870, and 
Mr. Button married Sarah Bostock on the 4th of June, 1871. She 
was born in Yorkshire, England, August 19, 1845, and came with 
her parents to the United States in 1848. The family first located 
in Cass county, Michigan, but subsequently came to Mottville in 
St Joseph county, where the daughter was reared. Three sons 
have been born of this union, Edgar C, Hiram M. and Royal C. 

Mr. Hutton is a Republican voter, and he has attained a high 
rank in the local councils of the Masonic fraternity, a member of 
Siloam Lodge, No. 35, F. & A. M., of Constantine Chapter, No. 28, 
R. A. M., and of Three Rivers Commandery No. 62, K. T. Both 
he and his wife have attended the Mottville Methodist Episcopal 
church for many years, Mr. Hutton having been one of its most 
constant attendants and active workers since 1847. He has served 
this church as a class leader since 1854, has been twice a delegate 
to the annual conference, has been one of its ef&cient local minis- 
ters, and during the past fifty-three years has served as its Sunday- 
school superintendent. He has grown old in the service of his 
church, and is one of its best loved and most honored members. 
Mrs. Hutton has been a member of its Ladies' Aid Society for 
many years. They are revered and esteemed residents of Constan- 
tine towniship, where they have lived for many years, and they are 
honored for the upright, honest lives which they have lived. 

Erwin L. Godfrey, M. D., has been a resident of St. Joseph 
county from his childhood days to the present time and for nearly 
thirty-five years he has been actively engaged in the practice of 
his profession in the village of Colon, where his personal popularity 
is on a parity with his recognized ability as one of the essentially 
representative physicians and surgeons of the county. He is an 
exemplar of the beneficent Homeopathic school of practice and 
the record of his professional career has been one marked by the 
most unequivocal success, as well as by unwaveriug devotion and 
abiding human sympathy. From the long period of his kindly 
and effective ministrations to the people of his section of the 
county it is needless to say that he holds a secure place in the 
affectionate regard of the community, the while he has ever ex- 
emplified the most loyal and progressive citizenship, taking part 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 525 

in all that has tended to advance the civic and material welfare of 
his home city and county. 

Erwin L. Godfrey was born in Wyoming county, New York, 
on the 28th of September, 1852, and is the eldest child, only son 
and only survivor of the four children bom to Dr. Luman Godfrey 
and Lydia (Warren) Godfrey, both of whom were bom in Wyoming 
county, New York. Dr. Luman Godfrey was born about the year 
1831 and now maintains his home in the village of Kentland, New- 
ton county, Indiana, where he is living virtually retired, after many 
years of earnest and successful labor as a physician and surgeon 
of fine ability. Be came to the west in 1857 and for two or three 
years thereafter he was engaged in the practice of his profession 
in the state of Wisconsin. At the expiration of this period, in 1860, 
he came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, and established his home 
in the village of Colon, where he continued in the active work of 
his profession until 1876, when he removed to Kentland, Indiana, 
which place has since continued to be his home. He is well re- 
membered in St. Joseph county and during his residence here he 
held prestige as one of the leading physicians and surgeons of this 
section of the state. He has ever been an uncompromising advo- 
cate of the cause of temperance and has been a most zealous worker 
in behalf of the principles and policies of the Prohibition party. 
He is a zealous member of the Baptist church, as was also his 
cherished and devoted wife, and is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. Mrs. Lydia (Warren) Godfrey was sum- 
moned to the life eternal in the year 1905 and her memory is re- 
vered by all who came within the sphere of her gentle and gracious 
influence. She was a woman of culture and most attractive per- 
sonality, and prior to her marriage had been a successful and 
popular teacher in the public schools. 

Dr. Erwin L. Godfrey was a child of three years at the time 
of the family immigration from the old Empire state to the west, 
and was about eight years of age at the time the family home was 
established in the village of Colon, where he has resided during 
the long intervening years, which have been marked by large and 
worthy accomplishment on his part. He was afforded the ad- 
vantages of the public schools of Colon, as well as those of a busi- 
ness college in the city of Jackson. He has never lacked in de- 
cision, self-reliance and resourcefulness, and he early determined 
to fit himself for the work of the profession in which his honored 
father had gained such definite success. With this end in view, 
after having held a clerkship in a drug store in Colon for an in- 



526 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

terval, he began reading medicine under the able direction and 
preceptorship of his father. This technical training was initiated 
in the year 1872 and in the following year he was matriculated 
in Hahnemann Homeopathic Medical College, in the city of Chi- 
cago, in which well ordered institution, one of the best of its kind 
in the Union, he completed the prescribed technical course and 
was graduated as a member of the class of 1876, duly receiving 
his well earned tiegree of Doctor of Medicine. In his professional 
novitiate he was signally favored, in that he was enabled to as- 
sume the well established practice that had already been built up 
by his father in St. Joseph county, as the father removed to Indiana 
in 1876, as has already been noted in this context. For the long 
period of nearly thirty-five years has Dr. Godfrey given faithful 
and effective ministrations in his exacting profession as one of 
the successful and honored physicians and surgeons of St. Joseph 
county, and during all this time he has maintained his home in 
Colon, the while it may consistently be said that in this county 
his circle of friends is coincident with that of his acquaintances. 
The Doctor holds membership in the Michigan Homeopathic 
Medical Society and other professional organizations, and he has 
continued a close and appreciative student of both medicine and 
surgery, so that he has kept in touch with the advances made in 
both sciences and has availed himself of the most modern facili- 
ties, methods and remedial agents. He has a large and select 
library of the best standard and periodical medical literature, as 
well as a fine general library. His residence, at the corner of 
Main and Franklin streets, is a modern and spacious brick struc- 
ture of attractive architectural design and is recognized as one 
of the finest homes in the county, even as it is known for its 
gracious and generous hospitality. 

Well fortified in his opinions as to matters of public import 
and showing a loyal interest in everything that touches the general 
welfare of the community. Dr. Godfrey is progressive and public- 
spirited and is a stanch advocate of the cause of the Republican 
party, though his loyalty to his profession has been such as to cause 
him to make all else subser\dent to its demands, and thus he has 
never sought or desired public office. He is affiliated with the 
time-honored Masonic fraternity and various social organizations. 

Dr. Godfrey has been twice married. In 1873, was solemnized 
his marriage to Miss B. M. Grover. Mrs. Godfrey was summoned 
to eternal rest in 1888, and all of the five children survive her. 
Concerning them the following brief data are incorporated. Clare 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 527 

E., who is now a resident of Morris, Ripley county, Indiana, is 
employed in connection with the United States mail service. He 
availed himself of the advantages of the public schools of Colon, 
after which he continued his studies for two years in the Michigan 
Agricultural College, at Lansing. He married Miss Ilda M. Pierce 
and they have one son, Erwin C. Ina A. is now the wife of John 
D. Morris, a publisher and prosperous business man of the city of 
Philadelphia, and they have one daughter, Mary A. Mrs. Morris 
was graduated in Albion College and for a time she was principal 
of the high school at Mason^ Michigan. Later she attended the 
medical department of the University of Michigan for two years, 
but as she proved successful in the selling of high-grade literary 
works, she gave up the preparation for the medical profession. 
Prior to her marriage she made an extended sojourn in Europe, 
and within this period she gave special attention to the study of 
French and art in the city of Paris. J. L. Godfrey, third child of 
Dr. Godfrey, was graduated in the Chicago Dental College and 
is now successfully established in the practice of his profession at 
Buchanan, Michigan. Glenn E. was graduated in the same college 
as was his brother, and is now established in practice in his native 
village of Colon, where he has gained a successful and representa- 
tive clientage. Hei married Miss Lelia Cleveland, and they have 
one daughter, Louise E. Eva E., who was graduated in the Colon 
high school and who later attended a seminary for young women, 
in the city of Kalamazoo, is now the wife of Rev. William A. Rex, 
who is a clergyman of the Reformed church and who is now pastor 
of St. PauUs church of this denomination in Kansas City, Missouri, 
where a beautiful church edifice has been erected under his pas- 
torate. Mr. and Mrs. Rex have one son, William Alvin. 

Dr. Godfrey contracted a second marriage, being united to 
Miss Julia I. Patridge, who was born and reared in St. Joseph 
county. Mrs. Godfrey proves a gracious chatelaine of the beauti- 
ful home and is a leading factor in the best social activities of the 
attractive little city of Colon. No children have been born of the 
second union. 

Dr. John James Sweetland, a prominent and successful phy- 
sician and surgeon of Constantine, was bom in Tompkins county, 
New York, December 28, 1863. He was reared and educated in 
his native state, and studied medicine with an uncle in Michigan. 
Later he entered Cincinnati College of Medicine & Surgery, from 
which he graduated with his degree in 1889. 



528 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Dr. Sweetland began the practice of his profession in Mott- 
ville, St. Joseph county, Michigan, where he continued with suc- 
cess until 1908, and in that year he located in Constantine. Though 
he has been a resident of the latter city but a comparatively short 
time, he has made his influence felt, and has won great respect and 
confidence. He is a member of the County and State Medical So- 
cieties, and of the American Medical Association. Politically Dr. 
Sweetland is a Democrat, though he takes no active part in public 
affairs, being engrossed in his professional duties. 

Dr. Sweetland was married, in 1886, to Florence May, daugh- 
ter of J. R. May, of Edwardsburg, Cass county, Michigan. They 
became parents of one son, Dennis J., now in South Dakota. 

Arthur W. Scidmore, M. D. — It has been given Dr. Scid- 
more to attain success and prestige in one of the most exacting 
professions to which man may turn his attention, and he is num- 
bered among the skilled physicians and surgeons of his native 
state, while in his energy, his fidelity and his earnest devotion to 
the work of his responsible and humane vocation he gives evidence 
of those sterling characteristics that have marked the sturdy Scot- 
tish race, to which he traces his lineage. He is established in the 
successful practice of his profession in the city of Three Rivers 
and is recognized as one of its leading representatives in St. 
Joseph county. 

Dr. Scidmore reverts with marked satisfaction to the fact that 
he is able to claim the Wolverine commonwealth as the place of his 
nativity, and that he is a scion of one of its worthy pioneer fami- 
lies. He was bom on the old homestead farm, in Waterloo town- 
ship, Jackson county, Michigan, on the 7th of October, 1867, and 
was the seventh in order of birth in a family of eight children, — 
six sons and two daughters, of whom five sons and one daughter 
are now living. The honored father, Abraham Scidmore, was born 
and reared in Saratoga Springs, New York, in which state he was 
reared and educated. In 1840 he came to Michigan and estab- 
lished his home in Jackson county. He developed one of the valu- 
able farms of Waterloo township and became one of the represen- 
tative agriculturists of that section, where he gained a fair meas- 
ure of success as the reward for his indefatigable and earnest ef- 
forts as one of the world's noble army of workers. He allied him- 
self with the Republican party at the time of its organization 
'* under the oaks," in Jackson county, was a great admirer of Lin- 
coln and voted for him on each occasion of his candidacy for the 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 531 

presidency. He was a man of a high order of intellectual strength 
and was well fortified in his views as to matters of public polity. 
He had appreciation of the value of popular education and did all 
in his power to advance the standard of the public schools of his 
home county, in order that the rising generation might have ad- 
vantages that had been denied to him in his youth. He ordered 
his life upon a high plane of integrity and honor, and the natural 
result was that he ever commanded the unequivocal esteem of his 
fellow men. He died on his old homestead farm, in Jackson 
county, in the year 1879, and his wife is yet living, residing with 
Dr. Scidmore. Her maiden name was Hannah Swartz, and she 
was bom at Geneva, New York, of German extraction. 

The influences and conditions that compassed the childhood 
and youth of Dr. Scidmore were those of the home farm, and the 
boy soon found many duties devolving upon him in connection 
with its work, the while he waxed strong in mental and physical 
powers. His preliminary educational training was gained in the 
district schools, and after completing the curriculum of the same 
he entered the high school in the village of Grass Lake, in which 
he was graduated as a member of the class of 1887, coming forth 
with a greater appreciation of his dignity and importance than 
he has ever since been able to muster. In the autumn of the same 
year he was matriculated in the medical department of the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, and in the training and discipline of this fa- 
mous institution he matured his powers under most favorable cir- 
cumstances. He completed the prescribed course of study and was 
graduated as a member of the class of 1890, duly receiving his 
well earned degree of Doctor of Medicine. He was a close and ap- 
preciative student while an undergraduate, and has continued so 
during his years of active and productive work in his profession, 
with the advances in both of the departments of which he has kept 
in constant touch, so that he brings to bear at all times the best 
learning and skill to be gained from careful and thoughtful study 
and research in the realms of both medicine and surgery. The am- 
bition and determination of the young student were shown forth in 
no uncertain way, as he defrayed the expenses of his college course 
almost entirely through his own efforts. 

In June, 1890, almost immediately after his graduation. Dr. 
Scidmore established his residence in Three Rivers and, opening 
an office of adequate equipment, he initiated the work of his pro- 
fession. His novitiate was of comparatively brief duration, as he 
brought to bear not only excellent technical equipment but also a 



532 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

personality that gained and retained to him the confidence and 
good will of those with whom he came in contact. His practice 
has shown a constantly cumulative tendency and is now one of 
large and representative order. His ministrations have been 
given with all of zeal, earnestness and ability, and his genial, 
buoyant nature and abiding sympathy make him a welcome figure 
at the bedside of the suffering as well as in the social circles of the 
community. The Doctor is essentially democratic and unostenta- 
tious in his bearings, and find the elements of good in all sorts 
and conditions of men. He is not only a close student of the pro- 
fession to which he is devoting himself, but he also finds much 
pleasure and profit in the reading of the best in standard and 
periodical literature. His library, one of the best in the city, 
numbers more than seven hundred volumes, including technical 
works pertaining to medicine and surgery and a wide range of 
excellent works of a general character. Realizing the great im- 
portance of the purity of drugs and chemicals utilized, the finely 
equipped office of Dr. Scidmore has as a valuable department that 
devoted to the various remedial preparations demanded in his 
practice, and by thus handling his drugs in a direct way he is cer- 
tain to know the definite results and reactions therefrom. His 
surgical accessories are of the best modern type, and he is specially 
well prepared to meet all demands placed upon him in the work of 
his chosen calling. 

In the midst of the cares and exactions of an essentially busy 
professional career. Dr. Scidmore has not hedged himself in with 
narrow barriers, but has found time to denote himself a progres- 
sive, liberal and public-spirited citizen. He has shown a commend- 
able interest in all that has touched the welfare of the community, 
and that his efforts in behalf of good government and civic prog- 
ress have not lacked popular appreciation is evident when recogni- 
tion is taken of the fact that he is now serving his third con- 
secutive term as mayor of Three Rivers. His administration has 
been marked by due conservatism and wise economy, but his policy 
has been broad and progressive in advocating and furthering those 
measures and enterprises that have tended to benefit the entire 
community. The Doctor is uncompromising in his allegiance to 
the Republican party and has given yeoman service in support of 
its cause. He has several times been a delegate to the state con- 
ventions of the party in Michigan, and in St. Joseph county his 
name is customarily enrolled on the list of delegates to the county 
conventions. He served four terms as representative of the First 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 533 

ward on the board of aldermen and in 1903, by a significantly 
flattering majority, he was chosen to represent St. Joseph county 
in the state legislature. The best voucher for the excellence of his 
service in this capacity is that given by the fact that he was chosen 
as his own successor in 1905. He was alert, careful and conscien- 
tious in his work in connection with the deliberations of the house 
as well as in the councils of the committee room, and he retired in 
1907 with an unblemished record as a loyal and able representa- 
tive of his constituency and of the interests of the state at large. 
During his first term he was chairman of the public-land committee 
and during his second term he was chairman of the committee to 
which was assigned the work of championing the bill that provided 
for the general rate of two cents per mile for passenger trans- 
portation on all railroads within or traversing the state. He was 
one of the most zealous advocates of this bill, which was duly 
passed by both houses of the legislature. In this connection he 
was made the subject of many commendatory statements in the 
newspaper press of the state, and he greatly values these evidences 
of popular approval. Dr. Scidmore is a man of seemingly in- 
exhaustible vitality and energy, and these powers, with his vigor- 
ous mental equipment, enable him to compass work that would 
overtax the capacity of the average man. 

In his home, city and county. Dr. Scidmore has shown the 
highest civic ideals and unwavering loyalty. He was foremost 
among those earnest workers through whose influence was secured 
to Three Rivers its beautiful public library, and Three Rivers will 
feel the effect of his work in a Public Park, purchased through his 
effort, and in an all cement walk system. His enthusiastic co-opera- 
tion is always to be counted upon in connection with measures 
projected for the social or material good of the community. He 
was president of the Three Rivers Lincoln Club, whose definite 
mission is to further the cause of the Republican party, and he was 
for three years president of the Three Rivers Improvement Asso- 
ciation, organized for the purpose of directing and advancing 
civic improvements and embellishments. For two years he was 
chief of the local fire department, and thus it may be seen that 
his activities know no flagging. He is treasurer of the St. Joseph 
County Medical Society, and is a member of the Michigan State 
Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He is 
affiliated with the Free & Accepted Masons, the Chapter of the 
Royal Arch Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
Castle Hall Lodge, No. 43, Knights of Pythias. Of the last men- 



534 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

tioned organization he served as chancellor commander for two 
years, and he has twice represented the lodge in the grand lodge 
of the order in the state. He is a member also of the Uniform 
Rank of the fraternity, and for four years he was surgeon of the 
Michigan grand commandery of this branch. He is also examin- 
ing physician for Three Rivers Camp, No. 840, Modern Woodmen 
of America. Both he and his wife are zealous members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church and are active and liberal in the sup- 
port of the various departments of its local organization. He 
has been a member of the Michigan State Board of Registration 
of Nurses for six years, having been appointed by Governor F. W. 
Warner. 

On the 5th of November, 1890, was solemnized the marriage 
of Dr. Scidmore to Miss Louie J. Parsons, and they have an adopted 
daughter, Margaret, who is now a pupil in the fourth grade of the 
public schools. Mrs. Scidmore was born in Phelps, New York, 
and was a child at the time of her parents' removal to Jackson 
county, Michigan, where she was reared and educated. She was 
graduated in the Grass Lake high school as a member of the class 
of 1888, and is a woman of culture and gracious presence. She 
has delivered public addresses in behalf of the work and support 
of the Young Women's Christian Association and has delivered 
effective extemporaneous addresses to the young women at the an- 
nual camp meetings held under the auspices of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Crystal Springs, Berrien county. She is un- 
compromising in her opposition to the liquor traffic and has given 
most zealous aid in promotion of the cause of prohibition. She 
was president of the Epworth League for eight years and vice 
president of the State Epworth League two years, and of the 
Women's Club for two years. She graduated from Chautauqua 
in 1894. Dr. and Mrs. Scidmore are valued and popular factors 
in the religious, literary and social circles of their home city, and 
here their circle of friends is coincident with that of their acquaint- 
ances. At their attractive home, in Portage avenue, is dispensed 
a generous hospitality and it is a favorite rendezvous for their 
wide circle of valued and appreciative friends. 

Charles H. Clark. — ^No one could belong more thoroughly 
to St. Joseph county than Charles H. Clark who was bom within 
its present borders and has within them lived out a useful and 
successful life as a farmer. It is but natural that he should be 
widely known in this section of the Wolverine state, and that his 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 535 

acquaintances are for the most part good friends is an excellent 
commentary on his character. Mr. Clark's birthplace was Not- 
tawa and the date of his birth January 9, 1848. His parents, Wil- 
liam T. and Mary (Twitmyre) Clark were natives of Pennsylvania 
who came to St. Joseph county some time previous to the middle 
of the nineteenth century. Seven children were bom to them and 
followed diverse fortunes. John T. lives in Nottawa township; 
Mary E. is the widow of J. 6. Armitage of Central America; Sarah 
E. is the widow of William P. Leland and resides in Mendon; 
James W. is a citizen of Concordia, Kansas ; Catherine became the 
wife of George Leland and died in 1873 ; Cora is the wife of James 
Mathewson of Mancelona, Michigan ; Mrs. Mary Armitage and her 
husband were missionaries in Central America for the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Mr. Armitage died there and daughter Jennie 
is now engaged in this good work. 

Mr. Clark received his education in the Michigan public 
schools, received a practical training in the various departments of 
agriculture upon his father's farm and remained under the paren- 
tal roof tree until his marriage in 1875. He became one of Men- 
don township's property owners by his purchase of two hundred 
and forty acres of excellent land. This he has improved and put 
into first-class condition and he may truly be enrolled with the 
successful and progressive farmers of the locality. He believes not 
only in keeping in touch with the latest discoveries in his estimable 
calling, but in studying current events and their bearing on the 
life of the community in which he makes his home. He gives his 
allegiance to the Democratic party. 

On February 9, 1875, Mr. Clark was united in marriage to 
Miss Mary Baer and two children, Chloe E. and Clyde B., were 
bom to them, both of them living at home. They were both stu- 
dents of the Mendon high school. Mrs. Clark died December 8, 
1889, and May 14, 1891, Mr. Clark was a second time married, the 
lady to become his wife being Miss Catherine Neff. She is a na- 
tive of Henry county, Ohio, bom September 15, 1850, and educated 
in the common schools. She is a daughter of Michael and Sophia 
(Shoemaker) Neff, both of German extraction, and both are de- 
ceased. The homestead of Mr. and Mrs. Clark is known as *' Broad 
Lands." It is in Mendon township just northwest of the corpo- 
rate limits of Mendon, Michigan. 

Clark Eice. — ^Among the native-bom citizens of St. Joseph 
county who have spent their lives within its precincts, and have 



536 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

been prominently associated with its agricultural development and 
prosperity, is Clark Rice, who was bom December 14, 1848, in 
Fabius, on the homestead where he now resides, a son of the late 
Stephen Ashley Rice. He comes from honored New England stock, 
his grandfather, Charles Rice, having been bom, October 14, 1788, 
in Rhode Island. He subsequently removed to New York state, 
becoming a pioneer of the Genesee valley, where he lived many 
years. Removing then to Michigan, he spent his last years in 
Fabius. He married Jane Babbitt. 

Stephen Ashley Rice was bom in Monroe county, New York, 
in the town of Henrietta, March 9, 1806, and was there bred and 
educated. In 1829, following the emigrant's trail to Michigan, he 
settled in St. Joseph county, taking up Government land in section 
24, township 6, range 12, west, in what is now Fabius township. 
Clearing a space in the dense forest, he erected a log cabin, and 
immediately began the pioneer labor of redeeming a farm from 
the wilderness. There were no railways in the vicinity for many 
years, and all supplies had to be brought by team from Detroit, 
the nearest marketing point. Courageous and persevering, he 
cleared the land, and made improvements of great value, including 
the erection of a good set of farm buildings, and a brick residence, 
the first one of that material in the township. Here he lived, hon- 
ored and respected as a man and as a citizen, until his death, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1881. 

Stephen A. Rice married, December 10, 1834, Lucy Hicks, 
who was bom in Palmyra, New York, May 14, 1813, a daughter of 
Borden Hicks, and granddaughter of Lawton Hicks, a life-long 
resident of New England. Borden Hicks migrated from Rhode 
Island, his native state, to York state, from there coming in pioneer 
days to Fabius, Michigan, where he spent his last years. He was 
three times married, his first wife, grandmother of Clark Rice, hav- 
ing been Sarah Starkweather. She was bom May 8, 1792, in Pres- 
ton, New London county, Connecticut, a daughter of Avery Stark- 
weather, and granddaughter of Arthur and Ruth (Ward) Stark- 
weather, the former of whom was bom in 1738 and the latter in 
1748, their marriage being solemnized in 1766. Avery Stark- 
weather was bom in Stonington, Connecticut, October 21, 1767. 
He married Sarah Meek, who was bom in Preston, Connecticut, 
February 2, 1765, a daughter of Joshua and Lucy (Kimball) 
Meek. Mrs. Stephen A. Rice preceded her husband to the life 
beyond, dying on the home farm July 26, 1871. She bore her hus- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 537 

band six children, of whom but one, Clark, the subject of this 
sketch, grew to years of maturity. 

Brought up on the homestead, Clark Rice was educated in the 
public schools of his district, and on the death of his parents suc- 
ceeded to the ownership of the entire estate. On September 23, 
1873, he married Sarah Shafer, who was born, May 20, 1852, near 
Fremont, Sandusky county, Ohio, a daughter of John Shafer, and 
a granddaughter of Adam Shafer. Adam Shafer was born in 
Pennsylvania, and lived there until after his marriage. He sub- 
sequently migrated with his family to Richland county, Ohio, be- 
coming one of the original householders of Belleville. He was 
very successful in business, becoming owner of large tracts of land 
in Richland and adjoining counties. John Shafer was born, 
March 29, 1815, in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, and was 
reared in Richland county, Ohio, being taken there by his parents 
at the age of four years. When he was ready to begin the strug- 
gle of life for himself, his father presented him with a tract of 
timbered land in Sandusky county, Ohio, and he was there busily 
employed in its improvement until 1865. Emigrating in that year 
to Fabius, St. Joseph county, Michigan, he purchased land, and 
was here a tiller of the soil until his death, in September, 1880. 
John Shafer married Sarah Houston, who was born in Belleville, 
Ohio, February 6, 1822, a daughter of Samuel Houston. Her pa- 
ternal grandfather, Hugh Houston, was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary war, serving under Washington, and an iron kettle be- 
longing to him, and from which coffee was served to the Revolu- 
tionary soldiers, has been kept in the family, being now in the 
possession of Miss Bertha Rice, Mr. Rice^s daughter. 

Born in Newcastle county, Delaware, Samuel Houston inher- 
ited the patriotic spirit of his ancestors, and served bravely in 
the War of 1812. In 1817 he emigrated with his family to Ohio, 
making the long journey of five hundred or more miles with a 
team, a large part of the w^ay following a path marked by blazed 
trees. Following his trade of a millwright, he built and operated 
one of the first mills in Richland county, carrying on an extensive 
business, his customers coming from miles away, some on foot, some 
on horseback, and some with oxen. He married Isabella Hamilton, 
who was born, March 5, 1805, in Virginia, being descended from 
the same family that Alexander Hamilton was. Seven children 
were born to John and Sarah (Houston) Shafer, namely: 
Mary; Samuel; Sarah, who married Clark Rice; Adam; elohn; 
Freeman ; and Clinton. 



538 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mr. and Mrs. Rice are the parents of two children, namely: 
Fred and Bertha. Fred married Ethel Catell, and is a resident of 
Chicago, Illinois. Bertha is a teacher in the public schools in St. 
Joseph county. Religiously Mr. Rice and his family are Presby- 
terians. Politically Mr. Rice has been identified with the Dem- 
ocratic party since casting his first presidential vote, in 1872, for 
Horace Greeley. He has ever taken an active and prominent part 
in local affairs, and in addition to serving six years as township 
treasurer has repeatedly been elected township supervisor. He is 
a member of Masonic Order. 

Albert C. Shimmel is a native of St. Joseph county, bom in 
Lockport, January 13, 1858. He is a son of David and Mary 
(Duncan) Shimmel, the former a native of Jefferson county. New 
York, born September 23, 1820 ; he spent his life as a farmer, and 
came to Michigan in 1844, locating in Nottawa township, where 
his son now lives. Albert ShimmeFs grandfather, John Richard, 
was born in 1792, in New York state, a descendant of '^Mohawk 
Dutch. ' ' The name Shimmel in the Dutch was spelled Schimmel- 
fenning. John Richard Shimmel married Susan Augsbury, and 
came to Lockport township in 1845, where they spent the re- 
mainder of their lives. He died about 1870 and his wife May 23, 
1866. To this union were born: David, a farmer; Levi, born in 
1822, a carpenter; Solomon, a farmer; Frank, a farmer of Man- 
istee county, Michigan; Elias, died in the army; Susan, wife of 
Noah Everetts, deceased; Rachel, deceased, married Harrison Vin- 
cent; Sabra, married William Bigelow; Ann, deceased, married 
Dr. Caleb Ward, of Topeka, Kansas. 

In 1850 David Shimmel married Mary Duncan, and their chil- 
dren were: Fannie, died in infancy; Alicia, died at the age of 
eighteen ; Rachel, unmarried ; Albert C. ; Ella, wife of Joseph I. 
Tase, of Athens ; Frank, died at the age of eight years ; and Jennie, 
unmarried, living in St. Joseph county. 

Albert C. Shimmel was educated in his native county, and has 
always lived on a farm. At the age of nineteen years he began 
farming with his father, and nine years later commenced farming 
on his own account. He is an intelligent and enterprising farmer, 
and has met with well-deserved success. Politically Mr. Shimmel 
is a Republican. 

June 12, 1890, Mr. Shimmel married Sarah Hetherington, a 
native of Florence township, and they have children as follows: 
Alta, who graduated at the head of her class from Centerville high 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 539 

school, and will attend college ; Earl, born June 12, 1895, attending 
school ; Ethel, born August 6, 1896 ; Mabel, born in 1898, gives 
promise of becoming a fine singer \ and Lester, born in September, 
1900. The entire family have musical talent and good voices, ex- 
cept Mrs. Shimmel. The pretty farmstead is known as ^* Cherry 
Grove Farm. ' ' 

Eev. John Allen Gallaher. — It is most fitting that, in this 
history of St. Joseph county and its representative citizens, there 
be incorporated a brief review of the career of the able and honored 
pastor of the Presbyterian church in the city of Three Rivers. He 
is a man of scholarly attainments and in the work of his high call- 
ing he has manifested all of consecrated zeal, the while he has not 
been denied a gracious fruitage in the furtherance of the spiritual 
and temporal affairs of the various charges which he has held and 
in which he has labored earnestly to aid and uplift his fellow men 
in all walks of life. 

Eev. John Allen Gallaher wa^ bom in Ralls county, Missouri, 
on the 24th of November, 1863, and was the second in order of birth 
of three sons and three daughters of Rev. Thomas and Sarah (Phil- 
lips) Gallaher. Of the children two sons and two daughters are 
now living. Of these Rev. Thomas F. Gallaher is now pastor of 
the Utica Presbyterian church, in the city of San Antonio, Texas. 
Rev. Thomas Gallaher was born in Greene county, Tennessee, 
April 26, 1832, and he became one of the able and revered members 
of the clergy of the Presbyterian church, besides which he became 
a valued factor in connection with educational work, having held 
for eight years a position as instructor in the public schools of 
Hannibal, Missouri. He was ordained to the ministry in 1868 and 
was known as a most able and scholarly speaker, with special facil- 
ity in the giving of extemporaneous sermons and addresses. He 
was the author of a valuable book entitled ^^ Baptism," ** Galla- 
her 's Short Method," and the same received high commendation 
by reason of its sound principles and effective handling of an im- 
portant subject. Mr. Gallaher was educated in Westminster Col- 
lege, at Fulton, Missouri, and in later years he received the honor- 
ary degree of Doctor of Divinity, in recognition of his scholarly 
attainments and his ability and noble services as a minister of the 
gospel. He died, at Rensselaer, Missouri, on October 9, 1909, and 
his widow now resides with her son in Three Rivers. Her paternal 
grandfather was a valiant soldier in the Continental line in the 
war of the Revolution. 



540 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Rev. John A. Gallaher, the immediate subject of this review, 
was reared to adult age in his native state, to whose public schools 
he is indebted for his early educational privileges. After complet- 
ing the curriculum of the high school at LaGrange, Missouri, he 
entered the preparatory department of his father's alma mater, 
Westminster College, in September, 1881, and in this institution 
he completed the full collegiate course, being graduated June 4, 
1886, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then entered the 
McCormick Theological Seminary, in the city of Chicago, where he 
completed the prescribed curriculum and was graduated April 4, 
1889. He was ordained to the ministry of the Presbyterian church 
at Henrietta, Texas, May 8, 1889, and at once assumed his first pas- 
toral charge, at Gainesville, Texas, where he remained until July, 
1891, when after a vacation of a few months he assumed the pas- 
torate of the Clifton Heights Presbyterian church in the city of St. 
Louis, Missouri. This incumbency he retained until November, 
1898, when he assumed charge of the Presbyterian church of Belle- 
ville, Illinois, where he remained until November, 1903, after 
which he was for four years pastor of the Avondale Presbyterian 
church in the city of Chicago. He then, in April, 1908, accepted 
the call to the pastorate of the Presbyterian church in Three Rivers, 
where he has since given a most able administration of the temporal 
interests of the church, in addition to vitalizing its spiritual activi- 
ties. His fine scholarship, his profound knowledge of the scrip- 
tures and his fervid and earnest efforts in furthering the onward 
march of the church militant, make him a power for good in his 
present pastorate, where he receives the earnest co-operation of the 
members of his church. His wife, Mrs. Ada Watson Gallaher, is 
an efficient helper in every phase of church and social life and 
makes an ideal home for husband and four children, Raymond, 
Madelon, Lois and Snellen. 

Mr. Gallaher has marked musical talent and appreciation, and 
it should be noted that he was graduated in the musical conserva- 
tory of the Presbyterian Synodical College at Fulton, Missouri. 
During two years of his residence in Chicago, from 1906 to 1908, 
he was special lecturer on church music and hymnology in McCor- 
mick Theological Seminary, — a position for which he was specially 
qualified, by reason of his studies in music. Progressive and lib- 
eral as a citizen, Mr. Gallaher does all in his power to further good 
government and civic prosperity, and his political allegiance is 
given to the Republican party. 



HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 543 

Amos C. Wolf.— One of the honored pioneer citizens of St. 
Joseph county, with whose history the family name has been 
closely identified for a period of more than three-fourths of a cen- 
tury, Amos C. Wolf is on this score alone well entitled to consider- 
ation in this publication. But in his individuality and personal 
accomplishment are found other sterling elements that render the 
more consonant such recognition. He has long been numbered 
among the able and successful representatives of the great basic 
industry of agriculture in this favored section of the state and has 
been a resident of St. Joseph county since his boyhood days. He 
has assisted in the development and upbuilding of the county, 
which was scarcely more than a forest wilderness at the time when 
his parents took up their abode within its borders. He is now one 
of the venerable citizens of the county and still resides on the fine 
old homestead farm, in Section 27, Lockport township, that was 
secured by his father upon coming to the county, in 1834. He has 
shown progressive spirit in more than one direction, however, and 
for a long period he was an active and influential factor in public 
affairs in the comity, besides which he has been largely concerned 
in banking enterprises and other fields of legitimate business. He 
is now conceded to be the oldest settler in the county, and none is 
held in more unqualified confidence and esteem. 

Amos C. Wolf claims the old Keystone state of the Union as 
the place of his nativity and the genealogy of the family is traced 
back to stanch German origin. He was born in Columbia county, 
Pennsylvania, on the 1st of November, 1829, and is a son of John 
and Barbara (Dresher) Wolf, both of whom were likewise natives 
of Pennsylvania, where they were reared to maturity and where 
their marriage was solemnized. In 1834, when the subject of this 
review was a child of four years, his parents came to St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, and took up their residence in Lockport town- 
ship. His father secured three hundi-ed and twenty acres of gov- 
ernment land in section 27, that township, and later became the 
owner of two other tracts, of eighty acres each, farther north in 
the same township. The land was to a large extent covered with 
heavy timber, and thus a gigantic task faced the hardy pioneers 
upon thus establishing a new home. The first residence of the 
family was a primitive frame house of the type common to the 
locality, built by the father. John Wolf was a miller by trade, 
and as such he found requisition for his services in a number of 
the early mills established in this section of the state. Under these 
conditions much of the work of reclaiming the land devolved upon 

Vol. II — 5 



544 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

his sturdy sons. John Wolf died at the age of fifty-six years, and 
his wife was seventy-seven years of age at the time of her death. 
They became the parents of ten children, of whom Amos C. was the 
eighth in order of birth, and of the number all but one attained to 
years of maturity. Of the two now living Amos C. is the elder, 
and his brother, Thomas B. is a resident of Florence, Wisconsin. 
The parents were persons of great industry and of stanch integ- 
rity of character. Both were members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church and reared their children to lives of righteousness and 
Christian faith. 

Amos C. Wolf was reared to the sturdy discipline of the home 
farm and received such educational advantages as were afforded 
in the pioneer log school house. He early began to assist in the 
reclamation and other work of the farm and during the long in- 
tervening years he has continued to reside on the homestead to 
which he came with his parents when he was but four years of age, 
as has already been stated. Few men of his venerable age in 
southern Michigan can equal this record and it is certain that no 
parallel case can be found in St. Joseph county. After his mar- 
riage Mr. Wolf continued his association with the work of the 
home place and in 1869 he erected thereon his present commodious 
frame house, upon which various improvements have since been 
made, so that it is modern in its equipment and arrangement and 
constitutes one of the attractive rural homes of the county. Con- 
secutive industry and progressive methods, coupled with mature 
judgment and marked discrimination, have enabled Mr. Wolf to 
gain a substantial competency during his long years of earnest 
toil and endeavor, and in retrospective view he finds little to re- 
gret in having thus continued to make St. Joseph county the scene 
of his productive activities. 

In 1881 Mr. Wolf became associated in the organization of 
the A. C. Wolf and Brothers ' Bank at Centerville, the county seat 
of St. Joseph county. In 1890 he became one of the organizers of 
the First State Savings Bank of Three Rivers, of which he is now 
the president and of which his only son, George T., elsewhere men- 
tioned in this volume, is cashier. This is one of the solid and 
popular financial institutions of the county, and the high reputa- 
tion of the venerable president has materially contributed to the 
pronounced success of the enterprise. 

In politics Mr. Wolf is a Democrat and he has always been 
identified with the party save during the existence of the Green- 
back party, when he gave his allegiance to the latter. As the can- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 545 

didate on the ticket of the Greenback party he was elected county 
treasurer in 1879, and of this office he was incumbent for two years, 
during which he gave a careful, conservative and satisfactory ad- 
ministration of the fiscal affairs of the county. He also served for 
several years in the office of highway commissioner. Mr. Wolf 
has ever held a secure place in the confidence and esteem of the 
people of St. Joseph county and is today one of its best known and 
most highly honored pioneers. He has witnessed the magnificent 
development and upbuilding of this favored section of the Wol- 
verine state, has contributed much to the civic and industrial prog- 
ress of his home county, and his reminiscences of the early days 
are graphic and interesting, being well worthy of preservation in 
the history of the county. His homestead farm, in Lockport town- 
ship, now comprises three hundred and twenty acres, and con- 
stitutes one of the best improved and most valuable landed estates 
in this section of Michigan. He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity and his wife holds membership in the Presbyterian church. 
On the 5th of Oct., 1853, was solemnized the marriage of 
Mr. Wolf to Miss Marietta Sickels, who was born in Yates county, 
New York, on the 28th of February, 1831, and who is a daughter 
of Garrett Sickels, who came with his family to St. Joseph county, 
and settled in Lockport township, then Buck's township, in 1831, 
so that Mrs. Wolf, like her husband, has passed practically her 
entire life in this county, where she is held in affectionate regard 
by all who have come within the sphere of her gracious influence. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wolf became the parents of one child, George T., of 
whom individual mention is made on other pages of this work. As 
the gracious shadows of their lives begin to lengthen from the 
golden west, Mr. and Mrs. Wolf find that their *4ines are cast in 
pleasant places," and, surrounded by a wide circle of devoted and 
tried friends, they are enjoying the kindly benefices that shotdd 
ever attend worthy old age. 

William H. Morrison.— A well-known, capable and success- 
ful agriculturist of St. Joseph county, William H. Morrison, of 
Fabius, owns and occupies a valuable farming estate, on which the 
greater part of his life has been spent. A man in the prime of 
life, active and energetic, he has contributed his full share toward 
the advancement and development of one of the best counties in 
Michigan, in the meantime proving himself an honest, trustworthy 
citizen. He was bom, August 22, 1863, in Mottville, this county, a 
son of Andrew J. Morrison, and grandson of William Morrison, an 



546 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

early pioneer of Michigan. His great-grandfather, Andrew Mor- 
rison, was bom, October 20, 1778, and at the age of twenty-one 
years, in 1799, married Sarah Vandercook, a daughter of Henry 
and Anna (Francisco) Vandercook, early settlers of New York 
state, born of Holland ancestry, 

William Morrison was bom in 1801, in New York state, with- 
out doubt, and was there reared and married. In 1833, accompan- 
ied by his family, he followed the march of civilization westward 
to Michigan, making the long journey with teams, and bringing all 
of his household goods with him, bravely daring all the hardships 
and privations incidental to life in an undeveloped country in order 
to establish a home where his children and their descendants might 
enjoy the comforts and even the luxuries of life without the grind- 
ing labor and toil in which his years were spent. He lived for two 
years in Wayne county, from there coming, in 1835, to Fabius, 
where he secured a tract of timbered land near the south line of the 
township. He subsequently devoted his time and attention to the 
clearing of a homestead, on which he resided until his death. His 
first wife, Permelia Pine, to whom he was married in 1820, died at 
a comparatively early age, leaving three children, Peter, Arlina, 
and Andrew J. 

Andrew J. Morrison was bom in Schenectady, New York, De- 
cember 6, 1828, and was a small child when he came with the fam- 
ily to Michigan. Growing up amid pioneer scenes, he early became 
acquainted with the hard labor required in improving a farm from 
the forest, remaining beneath the parental roof -tree until his mar- 
riage. He then bought land in Mendon, St. Joseph county, and 
after living there two years moved to Mottville, where he remained 
a year. Locating then in Fabius, he purchased a tract of land in 
the southern part of the township, and a few years later bought 
the northeast quarter of section twenty-four, in the same township, 
and with indomitable energy began the improvement of a home- 
stead. He enlarged the few buildings then standing on the place, 
put up others, and having placed a goodly part of the land under 
cultivation resided there until his death, in September, 1907. 

Andrew J. Morrison married, in 1856, Sarah Hamilton, who 
was bom December 1, 1836, on Broad street, Constantine, St: Jo- 
seph county, Michigan. Her father, Hon. John Hamilton, was bom 
and bred in New York state, but subsequently became one of the 
pioneer settlers of St. Joseph county. Locating near Constantine, 
he cleared and improved a homestead from the dense forest, and 
there resided until his death, at the venerable age of four score and 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 547 

four years. One of the leading Democrats of the county, he was 
prominent in public affairs, at one time representing his district 
in the state legislature. He married Nancy Poe, who was born 
in New York state, and died, at the age of sixty-seven years, in 
Michigan. Mrs. Andrew J. Morrison died March 10, 1902. To 
her and her husband six children were bom, as follows: Ida, who 
died at the age of seventeen years; Elizabeth; William H. ; Ellen; 
Rhoda; and John. 

Brought up and educated in Fabius township, William H. 
Morrison assisted his father in his work of reclaiming a farm for 
present use, and on the death of his parents succeeded to the own- 
ership of part of the homestead. His land is well improved, being 
under a high state of culture, and yielding profitable harvests. In 
the care and management of his estate, Mr. Morrison exercises 
superior judgment and skill, everything about the premises indi- 
cating the supervision of a systematic, enterprising farmer. 

On October 22, 1887, Mr. Morrison married Lettie Hartman, 
who was bom in Centerville, Snyder county, Pennsylvania, which 
was likewise the birthplace of her father, William Hartman, and of 
her grandfather, Jacob Hartman. The latter married Catharine 
Hummell, a native of the Keystone state, and was for many years 
proprietor of a hotel. William Hartman, who was of German 
ancestry, followed the trade of a cabinet maker when young, con- 
tinuing at it until 1867. In that year, accompanied by his family, 
he migrated to Michigan, locating in St. Joseph county. He lived 
for two years in Parkville, after which he was engaged in tilling 
the soil in Lockport township until 1876, when he bought land on 
section twelve, Fabius township, and was there engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits until 1895. He then purchased a farm near Union 
City, and after living upon it a few years moved to Union City, 
where he is now living retired. He married Sarah Reish, who was 
bom in Pennsylvania, a daughter of Daniel and Margaret Reish. 
She died in 1896, the mother of five children, Artlissa; Lettie, 
wife of Mr. Morrison ; Sovilla ; Blanche ; and Jay. Mr. and Mrs. 
Morrison have one child, Lillian S., a young lady of talent and cul- 
ture, who was graduated from the Three Rivers High School with 
the class of 1908 and is a pleasing and accomplished musician. Po- 
litically Mr. Morrison is a stanch Democrat, and fraternally he 
belongs to the National Protective Legion. Religiously Mr. and 
Mrs. Morrison are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. 



548 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Henry J. Frays was bom in Sherman township, St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, May 19, 1874; he is a son of Fred and Lena 
(Geark) Frays, both natives of Germany, and grandson of John 
and Mary (Brast) Frays. John Frays and his wife had children 
as follows : Fred, born in May, 1844 ; Minnie, wife of Samuel 
Rodebauch, of Pennsylvania; Henry, of Burr Oak, Michigan; 
Will, of Centerville, Michigan; Sophie, deceased, wife of Henry 
Went ; and John, of Topeka, Kansas. 

Fred Frays came to Michigan and settled in Sherman town- 
ship in 1863 in which year he was married, and has since lived 
there. Mrs. Lena Frays is a daughter of Charles and Mary (Hep- 
ner) Geark, also natives of Germany, who located in Sherman 
township about 1840 and lived there the remainder of their lives, 
on a farm. Both were devout members of the German Lutheran 
church of Sherman. Charles Geark was born in Mecklinburg, 
Germany, in 1829, and died at the age eighty-four years ; his wife, 
who was born in the same place in 1823, died when sixty-six years 
Their children were: Minnie, wife of John Hepner, a farmer of 
Saline county, Kansas; Lena, wife of Fred Frays; Charles, of 
Florence township, married Minnie Hepner; Lizzie, wife of Jacob 
Shuster, of Sherman; and Ida, wife of William Switzer, of Sher- 
man township. 

Fred and Lena (Geark) Frays had children as follows: Henry 
J. ; George, born September 2, 1875, unmarried, lives in Sherman 
township ; Fred, bom in March, 1879, married Carrie Boman and 
lives in Sherman ; Charles, bom in April, 1885, unmarried ; Mary, 
born in April, 1888, died at the age of thirteen months ; Ella, bom 
in April, 1896, died in February, 1907. 

Henry Frays received his education in the Tyler and Jones 
schools of Sherman, and spent one year in the Centerville high 
school. He was reared on a farm, and at twenty years began 
working on his own account. He remained five years with John 
McKinley and then spent three years on George BucknelFs farm, 
after which he purchased a farm of sixty-four acres from his 
uncle, Henry Frays, and lived there a year, working the Pierson 
property, and then he traded his sixty-four acres for his present 
farm. He is industrious and energetic, and has carried on his farm 
with success. Both he and his wife are members of the Center- 
ville Presbyterian church, and in political views he is independent. 
Mr. Frays served six years as director of the School Board of 
District No. 3, and he is a friend of the public schools, as is at- 
tested. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 549 

September 2, 1896, Mr. Frays married Ella Walters, of Sher- 
man township, and to this union were born : Ethel and Earl, twins, 
born December 10, 1898; and Elvin, born in April, 1904. Mrs. 
Frays was born in Sherman township and educated in common 
schools. She is the second of five children, two sons and three 
daughters, bom to Christian and Mary (Boman) Walters. Both 
parents are living in Sherman and all the brothers and sisters of 
Mrs. Frays are living. The homestead of Mr. and Mrs. Henry 
Frays is known as ' ' The Prairie River Stock Farm, ' ' of Nottawa 
township. 

William H. Barnard, secretary and treasurer of the Con- 
stantine Milling Company, also supervisor of the township, was 
born in White Pigeon Prairie, November 5, 1861. His father, 
Richard Barnard, was a native of England, who came to White 
Pigeon Prairie, St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1829, and took up 
land from the government. He improved his farm and became a 
successful farmer. He married Betsey Hotchin, also a native of 
England, who was eight years of age when she came with her par- 
ents to America; Samuel and Martha Hotchin settled in Florence 
toT^Tiship, St. Joseph county, on a farm, where they died. Mr. 
Barnard was but one year old when he came with his parents, Wil- 
liam and Eliza (Cross) Barnard, to Michigan. They were pio- 
neers of White Pigeon Prairie. Richard Barnard spent his entire 
life in this county, with the exception of 1849-50 when he went to 
California. He and his wife reared two sons and three daughters, 
all of whom are now living. They are: Mary E., wife of Ed A. 
Hamilton, of White Pigeon; Hattie, wife of Aldis H. Barry, of 
Constantine ; William H. ; Charles L., in hardware business in Con- 
stantine; and Annie L., wife of Howard Bigelow, of Kalamazoo 
county, Michigan. 

William H. Barnard was the third child and the elder son of 
his parents, and lived on the old homestead and received his edu- 
cation in the union schools of Constantine. After leaving school 
Mr. Barnard spent nine years in the grocery business, five years in 
the hardware business and five years in real estate business, in Con- 
stantine. In January, 1909, Mr. Barnard took his present posi- 
tion in the milling company. The capacity of the company's plant 
is two hundred and fifty barrels of flour per day ; W. M. Spencer 
is president and Ed S. Hotchin vice president. For the past four 
years Mr. Barnard has held the office of manager of the Constan- 
tine Creamery Company. He is a man of keen business judgment, 



550 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and unquestioned honesty and uprightness, having the confidence 
and esteem of his fellow citizens. 

Mr. Barnard is a stanch Republican and an active worker for 
the party. He has served as village treasurer, and is now serving 
his seventh year as supervisor of the township. He is a member 
of the Knights of Pythias and the Masonic Order, Blue Lodge and 
Chapter. Having been a lifelong resident of the county he is well 
known, and is well thought of in the community. Mr. Barnard 
married, in 1894, Amelia Dragert, daughter of Fred Dragert, of 
Sturgis, Michigan, and they have one son, Harold D., now attend- 
ing school. 

George E. Miller, of the firm of R. R. Pealer & George E. 
Miller, Attorneys, of Three Rivers, was bom in Mendon township, 
St. Joseph county, Michigan, February 16, 1865. His father, 
James W. Miller, was born also in St. Joseph county, and is a resi- 
dent of Three Rivers. James W. Miller is a son of John Miller, a 
native of Virginia, and one of the first settlers of St. Joseph county, 
Michigan ; he having come to the county in 1837. He took up land 
on Nottawa Prairie, on the ''Indian Reserve." James W. Miller 
married Sarah A. Benfer, a native of Snyder county, Pennsylvania, 
who came to Michigan with her parents in 1857, when about twelve 
years of age ; they located near Mendon. After his marriage James 
W. Miller located on a farm in Mendon township, where he re- 
mained until 1868 and then removed to Park township and there 
engaged *in farming until 1883. In the latter year he sold his farm 
and retired to live in Three Rivers. Mrs. Miller died in 1908. 
They became parents of two sons and one daughter, namely : George 
E., Anna, and John G., the last-named a resident of Porter town- 
ship, Cass county, Michigan. 

George E. Miller was reared on a farm, and received a common 
school education ; at the age of thirteen years he began working on 
his own account, at various things, farm work, etc., and thus earned 
his way through high school, graduating at Three Rivers in 1884. 
He then worked as clerk and bookkeeper, and in 1885 entered Michi- 
gan University, from which he was graduated in 1890, from the 
law department. He had previously graduated from the high 
school at Ann Arbor, in a special literary course. After taking his 
degree in law, Mr. Miller entered the office of R. R. Pealer, and so 
well demonstrated his ability that the following year he became a 
member of the firm, which has since continued. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 553 

Mr. Miller is a Republican in politics and has always taken an 
active interest in public affairs. He served three terms as city at- 
torney and one term as circuit court commissioner. He and his 
partner are leading attorneys and have a large practice. Mr. Mil- 
ler is interested in the public welfare, and has interests outside his 
practice ; he is interested in the telephone company and is a direc- 
tor and stockholder of the First State Bank of Three Rivers. He 
is considered one of the substantial business men of the city and a 
public-spirited, progressive citizen. Mr. Miller is a member of the 
Castle Hall No. 43, Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 80, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and Tent No. 87, Knighted Order of 
Tented Maccabees. 

September 27, 1887, Mr. Miller married Mrs. Emma Frances 
Arnold, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Fowler) Chrysler, 
born in Dunkirk, New York. Mr. Miller and his wife have two 
children, both at home, Mark M. and Roxie. 

John A. Mills. — The late John A. Mills, of Three Rivers, 
Michigan, who passed away, October 9, 1909, had retired from his 
farm but a few days and located in Three Rivers to enjoy a well- 
earned rest. He was one of the highly respected citizens of the 
community. Mr. Mills was bom near Seneca Falls, New York, 
February 29, 1828, son of Isaac Mills, and of Quaker descent. 
Isaac Mills was bom in Trenton, New Jersey, and his father, Dan- 
iel Mills, was bom in the same house. Daniel Mills' parents were 
from Switzerland, and among the earlier settlers in New Jersey. 
He was a Quaker, but at the time of the British invasion of Trenton 
his feelings got the better of his religious scruples, and it is re- 
lated of him that he removed his coat and laid it aside, with the 
remark, ' ' Lie there, Mr. Quaker, I must help drive the British out 
of Trenton.'' Five of his sons served in the Revolution. Some 
years after his wife's death Daniel Mills removed with two of his 
sons to Seneca county. New York, and bought a faim, where he 
spent the remainder of his days, passing away at the age of one 
hundred and three years. He reared fourteen sons and one daugh- 
ter, and three of his sons lived to be over one hundred years of age. 
Isaac Mills was the youngest of the family, and was three years 
old when his sister removed to New York, where he was reared and 
married, and he lived in that state until about 1832, when he and 
his wife, with their five children, moved to Ohio, via the Canal and 
lake as far as Huron, thence by team to Fitchville, Huron county, 
where they were among the earliest settlers. In 1846 they removed 



554 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

to Michigan, by wagon and ox-team, bringing their household 
goods. He bought forty acres in Florence township, of which 
twenty acres were cleared. The land also contained a log house, 
and this was the extent of the improvements. The family contin- 
ued to live in this log house until the death of Mrs. Mills. After 
the death of his wife Isaac Mills lived with a daughter, Charity, 
until her death, and then lived with a son-in-law in Fabius. Mrs. 
Mills was bom in the state of New York and her last days were 
spent in Michigan. Her maiden name was Leah Connor and she 
had been married before her union with Mr. Mills, having one son 
by her first marriage. 

John A. Mills grew to manhood in Ohio and was eighteen 
years of age when he removed to Michigan with his parents. At 
the time the family located in the latter state much of the land was 
in its wild state, and most of the houses were of log. He began 
as a youth w^orking out by the day or month, clearing the land 
or farming. 

August 24, 1861, Mr. Mills enlisted in Company A, Eleventh 
Regiment Michigan Volunteer Infantry, went south with his 
regiment, and serv*ed his full enlistment of three years. He partici- 
pated in many important battles of the war, among them: Stone 
River, Chickamauga and Missionary Ridge. After the last-named 
Mr. Mills became ill and w^as sent to the field hospital at Nashville. 
As soon as he was able to do so he was allowed to wait on the 
table in the mess room and later was detailed to take charge of a 
squad of picked men selected to guard a building filled with army 
supplies, in charge of which he remained until the expiration of his 
term of service. 

Returning home after his service for his country, Mr. Mills 
bought land in Cass county, and lived there about ten years, after 
which he bought land in sections 19 and 30 of Fabius township, and 
resided there until 1909, when he sold out and settled in Three 
Rivers, where he died soon after. Mr. Mills had spent a long and 
useful life, and was an honest, upright, hard-working man, who 
performed his full duty in all relations of life. He was a useful 
public-spirited citizen in times of peace, and proved his earnest 
patriotism by risking life and happiness to serve in the fight for 
the preservation of the Union. He is kindly remembered by many, 
and had the fullest esteem of all who knew him. Mr. Mills is 
survived by one daughter. 

October 30, 1867, Mr. Mills married Mary Elizabeth Masser, 
who was born near Three Rivers, Michigan, January 8, 1839, and 




^ . AJ. x/-^c^.^'^-.^^M^^£JC 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 557 

was a daughter of John Masser, a native of Sunbury, Pennsylvania, 
and a pioneer of St. Joseph county. Mrs. Mills died April 2, 1887, 
leaving one daughter, Sarah Catharine, who eared for her father 
in his last days. 

J. Murray Benjamin, cashier of the Farmers Savings Bank 
of White Pigeon, was bom in Florence township, St. Joseph county, 
Michigan, September 16, 1862, and is a son of William W. and 
Maiy D. (Murray) Benjamin. William W. Benjamin came to 
Michigan with his parents in 1835, when four years of age; they 
located on a farm in Florence township, and he grew up to the 
occupation of farming. The Murray family were from New York. 
To William Benjamin and his wife were bom four children, two of 
whom died in infancy. One son, William H., Jr., became a teacher 
and farmer in St. Joseph county, where he still resides. 

On a farm J. Murray Benjamin was reared and he attended 
district school, after which he became a pupil in White Pigeon 
high school, from which he graduated in the class of 1880. He be- 
came a teacher, and for six years was principal of the grammar 
schools in Dickinson county, Michigan. In 1896 he returned to 
White Pigeon and accepted a position as clerk of the State Bank ; 
upon the failure of that bank he was appointed receiver, which 
position he still holds. In 1904, upon the organization of the Farm- 
ers ' Savings Bank, incorporated as a state bank, under the state 
laws, Mr. Benjamin was offered the position of cashier, which he 
still holds. 

In 1893 Mr. Benjamin married Maude A. Calhoun, and to them 
were bom two children, Willie, bom April 28, 1894, and Agnes, 
June 12, 1899. Willie is a student in the high school. Mr. Ben- 
jamin is one of the leading citizens of White Pigeon, upright and 
honorable in all his dealings, and is held in high esteem. He is a 
member of the Presbyterian church, being one of the elders. He is 
affiliated with White Pigeon Lodge No. 104, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, being a past master, and a member of Constan- 
tine Chapter, Eoyal Arch Masons ; both he and his wife belong to 
the Order of Eastern Star. In politics he is a Republican, 
though he has never taken an active part in such matters. 

Samuel B. Hagenbuch, president of the First State Bank, of 
Constantine, is a native of the county, bom in Constantine town- 
ship, one mile south of the village, February 9, 1855. His father, 
Aaron Hagenbuch, was born in Briarcreek, Columbia county, 



558 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Pennsylvania, and came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1838. 
He purchased land on White Pigeon Prairie, and in 1840 moved 
his family to the farm; at this time the nearest railroad was at 
Detroit. He made several trips to Detroit by team. Mr. Hagen- 
buch improved several farms in the county, was very successful 
and became a leading citizen. He was one of the organizers of 
the First National Bank, in 1864, and at one time was its presi- 
dent. He died in his eighty-third year, widely mourned. He was 
identified with the early history of the county and was known all 
over the state. Mr. Hagenbuch married Rachel Hill, also a native 
of Columbia county, Pennsylvania, who died at the age of seventy- 
one years. They had six children, four sons and two daughters, 
all of whom grew to maturity. 

Samuel B. Hagenbuch is the third child and second son, and 
was reared and educated in Constantine and Hillsdale College. 
After his marriage he located on a farm in Fabius township, and 
for twenty-five years was engaged in farming; he then moved to 
Constantine. Mr. Hagenbuch was one of the organizers of the 
First State Bank of Constantine, also the First State Bank at 
Three Rivers, and in 1899 he became president of the First State 
Bank of Constantine. He is a stockholder still and director in the 
First State Bank at Three Rivers. Besides these interests, Mr. 
Hagenbuch owns about four hundred acres of good farming land 
in Fabius township, St. Joseph county, which he rents. He is a 
strong adherent of the Republican party, and is a prominent and 
leading citizen of the village. 

In 1872 Mr. Hagenbuch married Rosa C, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Ganger) Fox, a native of Pennsylvania, who came 
with her parents to Constantine township, St. Joseph county, in 
1865. They have one daughter, Catherine B., wife of Henry E. 
Lintz, a merchant of Fort Scott, Kansas. 

Henby Caleb Gleason. — A prominent and thriving agricul- 
turist of St. Joseph county, Henry C. Gleason is the owner of a 
large and well-appointed farm in Fabius township, where he holds 
high rank among the enterprising and energetic men who are con- 
tributing largely toward the development of this industrial inter- 
est of this section of the state. A son of Alvah Gleason, he w^as 
born, November 27, 1842, in New York state,, which was also the 
place of birth of his father, and, probably, of his grandfather, Caleb 
Gleason, who was a life-long farmer, and a veteran of the war of 
1812. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 559 

Alvaji Gleason was brought up on a farm, and being very near 
sighted adopted farming as his life work in preference to learning 
a trade. Emigrating with his family to Michigan in 1846, he drove 
across the country from Allegany county with teams, locating in 
St. Joseph county, which was then very thinly populated. He 
bought forty acres of land in Mendon, assumed possession of the 
small house standing in the clearing that had been made, and 
occupied it three years. Coming to Fabius in 1849, he purchased 
eighty acres of heavily wooded land on section twenty-five, and 
haN^ing made an opening in the forest put up a small frame house 
before a stick of timber was cut from the place. Settlements were 
few and far between; Three Rivers was a mere hamlet; and the 
nearest railroad was at Kalamazoo, then a small village. Devot- 
ing his time and attention to the improvement of his place, he 
placed a large part of his land under culture, erected a substantial 
set of farm buildings, and was here a resident until his death, at 
the venerable age of seventy-nine years. He married Laura Ann 
Greene, who was born in New York state, a daughter of Timothy 
Greene. She died at the age of seventy-five years, leaving four 
children, namely : Mary ; Henry Caleb, the subject of this sketch ; 
Timothy ; and Otis. 

Three years old when he was brought by his parents to Mich- 
igan, Henry C. Gleason was reared and educated in Fabius, living 
with his parents until his marriage. He then began housekeeping 
on a farm, located on section twenty-five, in Fabius township, 
which he had previously purchased. That farm, which contains 
eighty-seven acres of choice land, with substantial and convenient 
buildings, Mr. Gleason still owns. He has since purchased the 
adjoining farm of one hundred and fifty-five acres, and on it has 
made various valuable improvements, including the erection of 
commodious barns and outbuildings, and has enlarged and re- 
built the house, rendering the place one of the most attractive 
and desirable in the community. Here Mr. Gleason is actively 
engaged in general farming* and stock-raising, in his operations 
meeting with genuine success. 

Mr. Gleason married, April 29, 1866, Mary Cornelia Burrow, 
who was born, October 11, 1841, in Bethel, Sullivan county, New 
York, a daughter of John Burrow, Jr. Her grandfather, John 
Burrow, Sr., was born in England, where his parents spent their 
lives. After emigrating to this country, he followed his trade of 
a carpenter and joiner for awhile, afterward becoming a con- 
tractor and builder. Moving, finally, to Sullivan county, New 



560 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

York, he bought land, and on the farm that he improved spent 
the remainder of his years. He married Mary Jackson, a native, 
also, of England. She survived him, and after her second mar- 
riage came to Michigan, and spent her last days in Constantine. 

John Burrow, Jr., was born in New York City, but was edu- 
cated in Sullivan county, N. Y., where he subsequently began his 
active career as an agriculturist. In 1849 he came with his family 
to Michigan, coming up the Hudson river to Albany, thence to 
Buffalo by the Erie canal, then by lake boat to Detroit, where he 
changed his mode of travel, going by railway to Kalamazoo, and 
from that place driving across the rough country to St. Joseph 
county. Locating in Fabius, he bought government land in the 
northwest corner of the township, the improvements made on the 
tract that he purchased having been a log cabin, and seven acres 
of girdled trees. After occupying the cabin a number of years, 
he built a set of good frame buildings, and lived on the homestead 
until after the death of his wife. He subsequently made his home 
with his daughter, Mrs. Gleason, passing away at the age of 
eighty-six years. The maiden name of his wife was Anna Maria 
Denniston. She was born in New York City, and was there 
brought up and educated. Her father, Alexander Denniston, was 
born in Ireland, of Scotch ancestry. After emigrating to this 
country, he engaged in mercantile pursuits in New York City, and 
soon became prominent in military affairs. He served in the War 
of 1812, receiving a commission of colonel of his regiment. Sub- 
sequently removing to Bethel, Sullivan county, he bought land, 
and was there employed in agricultural pursuits the remainder of 
his life. He married Anna Maria Parker, who spent her entire 
life of sixty-three years in New York state. 

Mr. and Mrs. Gleason are the parents of two children, namely : 
Lillian and Harry Otis. Lillian married Leslie McJury, and has 
three children, Iva, Gladys, and Florence. Harry 0. married 
Lucy Champion, and they have three children, Helen, Elsie and 
Henry. Politically Mr. Gleason is a Democrat, and religiously 
he and his wife belong to the Methodist Protestant church. 

Elmer L. Eldridge, an agriculturist of Mendon township, en- 
joys in fullest measure the consideration of his associates, both as a 
man and a progressive representative of his estimable calling. He 
is of distinguished family, his mother, Jerissa Grover, being one of 
the Grovers of Massachusetts and a cousin of the late President 
Grover Cleveland who received his Christian name from that source 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 561 

The father was Frank Eldridge and his parents, Sylvester and Sybil 
Eldridge, were also natives of Massachusetts who came to the state 
of New York in early pioneer times and took their farm from the 
virgin forest, enduring the peculiar pleasures and pains of the pio- 
neer. Frank Eldridge was a small boy at the time of the family's 
removal from the Bay State. He was one of a family of six chil- 
dren. Minerva is the wife of Samuel Newton of the state of New 
York ; Sylvester is deceased ; Lorenzo who was a citizen of Illinois 
is deceased; and Francis, James and Ira F. are also deceased. 

Elmer L. Eldridge was bom March 7, 1861, spent his youthful 
years upon his father's farm and secured his education in the village 
schools. He remained under the paternal roof tree until the twenty- 
sixth year of his age when he severed old associations and came on 
to Mendon township. For a number of years he made his liveli- 
hood by working upon a farm and for four years after his marriage 
in 1894, made his home with his wife's parents and assisted in the 
management of their farm. He then purchased two hundred acres 
of land well situated in Mendon township and for the past sixteen 
years has engaged successfully in its cultivation. Mr. Eldridge 
makes it a point to keep in touch with the issues of the day and in 
the matter of politics gives his support to the Republican party. 
Both he and his wife are consistent members of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

The union of Mr. and Mrs. Eldridge was celebrated March 7, 
1894, the latter 's name previous to her marriage having been Ida 
Simpson. The date of her birth was December 19, 1859. Her par- 
ents were Josiah and Jane (Gibson) Simpson, both natives of Ire- 
land. To Mr. and Mrs. Eldridge have been bom two children, 
Harold J., bom March 22, 1896, and Edith L., bom January 19, 
1900. The beautiful and attractive homestead is named ''Ingle- 
side, ' ' a very appropriate name for such a tasty farmstead. 

RoscoE B. Goodrich.— It is pleasing to record that Roscoe B. 
Goodrich of this review is residing upon the farm which was the 
place of his birth and that he has proved a worthy representative 
of the agricultural industry in the county in which his patemal 
grandparents took up their residence in 1837, which year repre- 
sented the admission of Michigan to statehood. He has well upheld 
the prestige of the family name and is a worthy scion of a family 
whose identification with the history of St. Joseph county has been 
of the closest order. 



562 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH' COUNTY 

Roscoe B. Goodrich was bom on his present homestead farm, 
in section 14, Nottawa township, on the 13th of February, 1852, 
and is a son of Luther B. and Mary Helen (Doughty) Goodrich, 
both of whom were bom in the state of New York, whence they 
came to Michigan in the pioneer days, the patemal grandparents 
settling in Nottawa township, St. Joseph county, and the maternal 
grandparents settling in Burr Oak township. Luther B. Goodrich 
was reared to maturity under the conditions and environments of 
the pioneer days in this section of the country and he became one 
of the successful farmers and stock-growers of St. Joseph county, 
where both he and his wife continued to reside imtil their death. 
He was summoned to the life etemal about 1884 and his wife parsed 
away about 1852. Of their children the subject of this sketch is 
the eldest; Charles D. is a representative physician and surgeon of 
Elkhart, Indiana ; Helen is the wife of Marion Grabber, a prosper- 
ous farmer of Colon township, this county ; Hector died at the age 
of twelve years ; and Clyde is engaged in the drug business in Mar- 
cellus, Cass county, Michigan. Luther B. Goodrich was a man of 
sterling integrity and ever commanded a secure place in the confi- 
dence and esteem of the community which represented his home 
during the major part of his life. He identified himself with the 
Republican party at the time of its organization and both he and 
his wife were zealous members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
Roscoe B. Goodrich learned the lessons of practical industry 
under the grateful influences of the home farm and his early edu- 
cational privileges were those afforded in the public schools of the 
locality. His entire life thus far has been one of consecutive and 
fruitful identification with the agricultural industry and he has 
maintained his home on the old homestead from the time of his 
birth, having purchased the interests of the other heirs about 1880. 
His farm comprises one hundred and twenty-two acres of land, 
which is unexcelled in fertility by any in the county and upon the 
place he, individually, has made improvements of the best modern 
type, including a spacious and attractive residence. The old house, 
long occupied by his parents, is now used for tenant purposes. As 
a farmer and stock-grower Mr. Goodrich has brought to bear most 
enterprising ideas and has availed himself of modern machinery 
and other facilities with the outcome that he has gained the best 
results from his efforts and is numbered among the leading farmers 
of his county. In politics he is a stanch supporter of the princi- 
ples and policies for which the Democratic party stands sponsor 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 563 

and cast his first presidential vote for Tilden. Both Mr. Goodrich 
and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

On the 25th of December, 1879, Mr. Goodrich was united in 
marriage to Miss Eva Rogers, who was bom in Colon township and 
who is a daughter of George and Adeline (Huntley) Rogers; her 
father was long numbered among the substantial farmers in Not- 
tawa township, where both he and his wife continued to maintain 
their home until their death. Mr. and Mrs. Goodrich have no 
children. The pretty homestead is known as ^ * Idlewild. ' ' 

EvERARD Geer, retired from active business life and residing 
in Constantine, was born in Lyons, Wayne county. New York, 
December 26, 1829. His father, Harry Geer, was a native of Penn- 
sylvania. He was a farmer and he died at the age of ninety-four 
years and was buried in Wayne county, New York. He was a son 
of Levi Geer, a native of Pennsylvania, and a farmer by occupa- 
tion, who removed to New York state. The family were of Scotch 
descent, and tradition says that three brothers came to America 
from Scotland, agreeing each to spell the name in a different way, 
as Geer, Gear and Gere. Harry Geer married Angeline Roys, a 
native of Massachusetts ; her ancestry is unknown. They had ten 
children, all of whom grew to maturity, Everard being the second 
child and oldest son. 

Everard Geer lived in his native state on a farm until twenty- 
two years of age and then came west and located in Beloit, Wis- 
consin. After his marriage he located on a farm in the neighbor- 
hood of Beloit, and remained there twenty-four years. He next 
located in Iowa, and spent some time in Blackhawk, Grundy and 
Kossuth counties, and near Spirit Lake. In 1900 Mr. Geer 
located in Constantine, Michigan, and spent some time dealing in 
farms, buying and selling them ; he now owns one good farm. He 
has been very successful in his business enterprises in this county, 
and is considered a level-headed business man. He and his wife 
are members of the Congregational church, and he is one of the 
trustees. He is a lifelong Republican and has voted for every 
Republican president since the inception of the party. 

In 1854 Mr. Geer married, in Beloit, Wisconsin, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Peter D. and Martha (Van Antwerp) Goewey, she was 
born in Lake county, Ohio. Her parents were natives of Lansing- 
burg, New York, and removed to Lake county, Ohio, about 1835, 
the father being of French descent and the mother German. Mrs. 
Geer is the last of four children. Her father moved to Wiscon- 

Vol. 11^6 



564 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

sin in 1844, with an ox team. Mr. Geer and his wife have two 
children, Harvey G., a resident of Rockford, Illinois, and Mar- 
garet I., wife of George N. Wood, a real estate dealer of Con- 
stantine. Mr. Geer's grandchildren are: Ethel May Geer and 
Shirley Francis Wood, attending school at Oberlin College and 
Shirley College, and Harvey G., who is the youngest, was gradu- 
ated from Constantine Public Schools in the class of 1910, and 
entered Olivet College. 

Dr. William C. Cameron, a prominent physician of White 
Pigeon, was born in Steuben county, Indiana, November 27, 1866, 
son of John and Mary (Carlin) Cameron. John Cameron was 
born in Scotland, in 1815, and his wife was born in Wooster, Ohio, 
in 1822. He was a contractor, and came to Indiana in 1840, in 
connection with his work on the Maumee Canal. He afterward 
became a farmer, and was very successful in this line. He was a 
Republican, and served in several public offices, among them 
justice of the peace, trustee of Richland township, Steuben county, 
and for six years as county commissioner ; he died while chairman 
of the board of commissioners. Mr. Cameron was a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and active in religious work. He and 
his wife had nine children, eight of whom grew to maturity ; seven 
are now living (1909), three of whom are doctors, and one a 
druggist. 

Dr. William C. Cameron received his early education in the 
district schools, and when fourteen years of age entered high 
school at Angola, Indiana, and in 1889 graduated from the Scien- 
tific Course of the Tri-State College, with degree B. S. He 
taught one year as principal of the school at Hamilton, Indiana, 
and then entered the office of his brother. Dr. J. F. Cameron, 
where he spent four years reading medicine. In 1890 he entered 
Rush Medical College, of Chicago, and took a full course, grad- 
uating in 1893. Dr. Cameron located in Metz, Indiana, and two 
years later removed to White Pigeon, where he has since remained 
in the successful practice of his profession. He is a member of 
the County, State, Northern Tri-State, and American National 
Medical Societies, and has served as secretary and president of the 
county organization. In 1904 Dr. Cameron was appointed a 
member of the United States Pension Surgeons at Three Rivers, 
Michigan. He is a public-spirited and highly respected member 
of society, and considered one of the representative, substantial 
citizens of the town. Dr. Cameron is a member of White Pigeon 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 567 

Lodge No. 104, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and Past 
Master of same. He and his wife are members of the Order 
Eastern Star No. 317, and she has served as Grand Martha of the 
Grand Lodge of Michigan, one year, and she is Past Worthy- 
Matron. She and her children are members of the Presbyterian 
church. In politics Mr. Cameron is a Republican, and he is 
actively interested in local affairs. He belongs to Cold Water 
Lodge No. 1023, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Dr. Cameron married Miss Cora Shore, in 1893. She was 
born near Waterloo, Indiana, in 1866, received her primary edu- 
cation in the district school, and in 1890 graduated from the 
Tri-State College, at Angola, Indiana, with degree Ph. B. She 
taught several years in the Pleasant Lake Schools. Dr. Cameron 
and his wife have two children, Bernardine, a student in high 
school, and Don B., also a student in high school. 

Lester B. Place. — The efficient and popular postmaster of the 
city of Three Rivers has here maintained his home for more than a 
quarter of a century and the unequivoeal esteem in which he is held 
in the community is adequately indicated by his incumbency of his 
present offi^cial position. He is a veteran of the Civil war and is a 
man whose loyalty has been shown in an equally significant way in 
connection with the affairs of the '* piping times of peace.'' Mr. 
Place has made his own way in the world, has encountered his 
quota of the ** slings and arrows of outrageous fortune," but he has 
ever shown that individual optimism which makes for success and 
begets objective confidence and regard. 

Mr. Place claims the fine old Buckeye state as the place of his 
nativity, as he was bom in Delaware county, Ohio, on the 14th of 
February, 1842, and he was but one year old at the time of the 
death of his father, Jacob Place, who was a native of Pennsylvania, 
whence he accompanied his parents on their removal to Ohio in an 
early day, his father, who likewise bore the name of Jacob, having 
been numbered among the sterling pioneers of Delaware county. 
The latter was a valiant soldier in the war of 1812 and his active 
career was one of close identification with the great basic industry 
of agriculture. The lineage is traced baek to French extraction but 
the family was early founded in America. The maideri name of the 
mother of the subject of this review was Mary Foust. She likewise 
was a native of the old Keystone state of the Union, and was a child 
at the time of the family removal to Ohio. Her father, John Foust, 
was one of the early settlers of that part of Delaware county that 



568 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

is now included in Morrow county. This worthy ancestor likewise 
was enrolled as a soldier in the war of 1812, and the Foust family, of 
Pennsylvania German ancestry, found many representatives among 
the early settlers of Delaware county, Ohio, where was solemnized 
the marriage of the parents of the present postmaster of Three 
Rivers. The father was a farmer by vocation and was a compara- 
tively young man at the time of his death. His widow lived to 
attain the venerable age of eighty-seven years and was a resident 
of Fremont at the time of her death. Both were consistent mem- 
bers of the Lutheran church and were folk of sterling attributes of 
character. They became the parents of two sons and three daugh- 
ters, of whom Lester B., of this review, is the youngest. Of the 
other children, one of his sisters is still living, Mrs. M. A. Dehart 
of Spencerville, Ohio. 

Lester B. Place, owing to the exigencies of time and place and 
to the fact that his widowed mother was left to care for her young 
children, received but meager educational advantages in his youth, 
but through self -discipline and through association with men and 
affairs he has well made good this early handicap and is a man of 
broad information and mature judgment. His boyhood and youth 
were passed in the central counties of Ohio, and he became largely 
dependent upon his own resources when a mere child, turning his 
attention to any work he could secure and gradually developing in 
self-reliance and constructive ability. In 1859, when seventeen 
years of age, he located at Mount Gilead, Morrow county, Ohio, 
where he learned the trade of iron moulder, under the direction of 
his only brother. After completing an apprenticeship that had 
made him a capable workman he became a journeyman at his trade. 
After passing about one year at Mount Vernon, Ohio, he removed 
to Gallon, that state, where he was employed in a large iron foun- 
dry for five years, during the major portion of which period he had 
charge of the foundry. In April, 1861, soon after the inception of 
the Civil war, Mr. Place tendered his services in defense of the 
Union, by enlisting as a private in the Third Ohio Volunteer Infan- 
try, but he was rejected on account of lung trouble. He then be- 
came a member of the Home Guard of Ohio, with which he con- 
tinued to serve until September, 1864, when he enlisted and was 
accepted in the One Hundred and Thirty-sixth Ohio Volunteer 
Infantry, in which he became a member of Company G and with 
which he continued in active service until honorably discharged. 

After thus terminating his military service Mr. Place returned 
to Gallon, Ohio, where he resumed the work of his trade and where 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 569 

he was in supervision of the foundry conducted by A. C. Squires for 
a period of five years. Thereafter he was similarly engaged at 
Mount Yernon, Ohio, until 1871, when he removed to Lockport, 
New York, where he was in the employ of the Holly Manufacturing 
Company for the ensuing two years, at the expiration of which he 
came to Michigan and assumed the supervision of the plant of the 
Jackson Machine & Foundry Company, in the city of Jackson. He 
remained in that city about five years and he then went to Allegan 
as superintendent of the Allegan Agricultural Works, with which 
concern he was thus identified until 1883, when he came to Three 
Kivers and assumed the position of manager of the foundry depart- 
ment of the Sheffield Car Company, with which he continued to be 
identified, as a valued and able executive, for the long period of 
twenty years. He then effected, about 1902, the organization of the 
Three Rivers Foundry & Machine Company, of which he was 
elected manager. This incumbency he retained four years, at the 
expiration of which he resigned his offi<3e to enter upon his duties 
as postmaster of the city, to which position he was appointed in 
1906 and of which he has since continued in tenure. He has given 
a most careful, discriminating and popular administration of the 
affairs of this office, which more than all others touches the general 
public, and he has made many improvements in the facilities and 
service of the local postal system. He has long been known and 
esteemed as one of the loyal and progressive citizens and reliable 
business men of Three Rivers and he has at all times lent his aid 
and influence in support of measures and enterprises tending to 
advance the material and civic welfare of the community. In poli- 
tics Mr. Place has never wavered in his allegiance to the cause of 
the Republican party, and he has given effective service in behalf 
of the same. He was chairman of the Republican county committee 
of St. Joseph county for a period of two years and was also chair- 
man of the Lincoln Club, an effective political and social organiza- 
tion of his home city. He is a member of the local post of the 
Grand Army of the Republic and also holds membership in other 
fraternal and civic organizations. His religious faith is that of 
the Lutheran church, of which his wife likewise was a devout 
member. 

In the year 1862 Mr. Place was united in marriage to Miss 
Emily J. Carpenter, of Mount Gilead, Ohio, in which state she was 
bom and reared, and she was summoned to the life eternal on the 
3d of January, 1907. Of the six children none are living. 



570 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Frederick Leaders, a native of Hanover, Germany, was born 
July 31, 1837, and is a son of Henry and Anna (Mitchell) Leaders, 
both of whom died in Germany. They had four children. When 
he was fourteen years old, the parents of Frederick Leaders died, 
and in 1863 he came to the United States. He located first in 
Defiance, Ohio, where he found work at his trade of tanner. Be- 
fore leaving his native country he had married Sophia Hankie, 
also a native of Germany, born October 9, 1839. 

In 1868 Mr. Leaders removed to St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
and purchased a tannery six miles west of White Pigeon, which 
he operated with good profit until 1877. He then sold his busi- 
ness interests, and later engaged in farming. For nearly eighteen 
years he conducted a meat market in White Pigeon, but has now 
retired from active business. Mr. Leaders owns a farm of 
seventy-five acres, as well as residence property and a hotel in the 
town of White Pigeon. He is a stockholder and one of the di- 
rectors in the Farmers' Savings Bank, of White Pigeon, and is a 
prominent citizen of the town and well known and respected in 
the community. Mr. Leaders is a man of recognized integrity, 
honesty and high character, and has a wide circle of friends. In 
political views he is a Republican, though he does not take a very 
active part in public matters. He belongs to Elks Lodge No. 50, 
of Kalamazoo, Michigan, and to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. Mr. Leaders and his wife are members of the Reformed 
church. 

Mr. Leaders and his wife are parents of four children, as fol- 
lows: Herman, of Omaha, Nebraska; Fred, of Michigan City, 
Michigan; Edward A., a miller, of Wauseon, Ohio; and Louise, 
wife of Moses Erb, of Elkhart, Indiana. 

WiNPiELD Scott Hopkins.— A farmer of ability and experi- 
ence, Winfield Scott Hopkins is a fine representative of the native- 
bom citizens of Fabius, and one of its most skilful and successful 
agriculturists. A son of William Sidney Hopkins, he was born, 
June 26, 1852, in Fabius, of pioneer stock. His paternal grand- 
father spent his entire life in Maryland, dying while yet in man- 
hood's prime, leaving a widow, who subsequently emigrated with 
her little family to Ohio. 

Bom in Maryland, William Sidney Hopkins was but a boy 
when his widowed mother settled in Ohio. In early manhood he 
came on horseback to Michigan, and had no trouble in finding em- 
ployment in the woods. After his marriage he bought a tract of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 571 

timbered land in the northwest quarter of Fabius township, and 
be^an housekeeping with his bride in the log cabin he built in the 
midst of the forest. Selling that property in 1855, he purchased 
land in section twenty-six, Fabius township, and in the log house 
that he erected moved with his family. This entire section of the 
county was then in its primitive wilderness, with here and there 
an opening in which the early settler had reared his humble cabin. 
There were no public highways, and no railroads had then been 
built in the state, all surplus products being hauled to Detroit, 
the nearest depot for supplies. With his faithful wife and com- 
panion, he bravely endured the trials and privations of pioneer 
life, and in the course of time had a large part of his land cleared, 
and his family established in a comfortable home. Here he re- 
sided until his death, at the advanced age of eighty-eight years. 
He married Ruth Beadle, who was born in Ohio, a daughter of 
Marshall Beadle, who was an early settler of Fabius township. 
She died at the age of seventy-nine years. Both she and her hus- 
band were active members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
They reared four children, as follows: Augusta Marshall, Mary, 
and Winfield Scott. 

Brought up on the parental homestead, Winfield S. Hopkins 
obtained his early education in the schools of Fabius township, 
attending, principally, the winter terms, and laboring on the 
farm during the summer seasons. Finding the occupation of a 
farmer congenial as well as profitable, he devoted his energies to 
agriculture, and has since succeeded to the ownership of the old 
homestead. This farm has been brought to a high state of culti- 
vation, rendering it one of the richest in the neighborhood, and is 
well equipped with substantial buildings. Here Mr. Hopkins is 
carrying on general farming and stock-raising with most satis- 
factory pecuniary results. 

Mr. Hopkins married, September 22, 1886, Sarah Weinberg, 
who was bom in Flowerfield, St. Joseph county. Her father, 
Leander Weinberg, was born in Pennsylvania, of German an- 
cestry. Coming to St. Joseph county at an early day, he bought 
a tract of timbered land in Flowerfield township, from which not 
a tree had been felled. With an energetic spirit and a pioneer's 
axe, he began clearing the land, and from the forest hewed a good 
farm. He lived to see this part of the country develop from a 
wilderness to a well-settled, prosperous agricultural region, dying 
on the home farm, at the advanced age of seventy-eight years. He 
married Catherine Councilman, who was born in Pennsylvania, 



572 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and died in Flowerfield township at the age of sixty-two years. 
To them nine children were born, as follows: William; Polly; 
Joseph; Catherine; Sarah, now Mrs. Hopkins; Lyman; Charles; 
Pharos; and Egbert. William served in the Civil war, and was 
killed in battle. Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins are the parents of two 
children, namely : Neal S., who married Bertha Avery ; and Dennis 
L. Mr. Hopkins is an adherent of the Methodist church, and he 
was reared in that faith, and Mrs. Hopkins is a consistent and 
valueii member of the United Brethren church. 

James Simpson, a retired farmer, living at Nottawa, Michigan, 
was bom in Ireland, August 10, 1833. He is a son of John and 
Eebecca (Adams) Simpson, both natives of Ireland, and he was 
reared and educated in his native country. At the age of twenty- 
two years James Simpson came to the United States, and at once 
located in the locality where he now lives. He worked on a farm 
in Nottawa township for a year and a half, at a salary of twelve 
dollars per month. During the fii^t winter he paid his board and 
attended school three months. The next year he took a position 
on a farm for one hundred sixty dollars per year, and slept in a log 
house, where he often would find several inches of snow on his bed 
in the morning. He then purchased a team and began working a 
farm on shares, which he continued four years, and then purchased 
one hundred twenty acres of land in Nottawa township. Later he 
traded 40 acres of this place for 80 acres, paying a bonus of nine 
hundred dollars difference. This land was located north of the 
town, and he carried it on until he retired in 1890. He raised reg- 
istered cows and hogs, and was a very successful stock- farmer, hav- 
ing at one time a great many sheep. 

Soon after 1850 Mr. Simpson joined the Presbyterian church, 
of which he has since remained a devout member. He is very broad- 
minded and liberal in his views on all subjects ; he first voted as a 
Republican, then as a Prohibitionist, and lastly a Democrat. Mr. 
Simpson is a man of high character, and has the universal esteem 
of his fellow citizens. About eleven years ago Mr. Simpson visited 
his birthplace, and he spent eighteen days in Ireland and two weeks 
in England. Mr. Simpson is a relative of Rev. H. A. Simpson, 
minister in Homer, Michigan. 

In 1874 Mr. Simpson married Nettie B. Dirth, of Ohio, who 
came to Michigan with her parents and located in Niles township, 
Berrien county. Mrs. Simpson died October 18, 1906. They had 
two daughters, Rebecca, who died at the age of three years, and 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 573 

Mary, deceased. They also had one son, James Wray, who carries 
on his father's farm. James Wray Simpson married Miss Hagen 
and the}^ have two children, Rebecca and Oscar. 

John B. George, now retired from active business life and a 
resident of Constantine, was bom in Schuylkill county, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 24, 1833, son of William George, also a native of 
that county. William George was reared and married in his native 
state and in 1836 came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, locating in 
Constantine township. He took up land from the government, 
which he improved, and lived in the county until his death, ninety- 
three years of age. He was of English descent. William George 
married Catherine Brower, also a native of Pennsylvania, who lived 
to be ninety-two years of age. They became parents of five chil- 
dren, all of whom lived to maturity, and two sons are now surviv- 
ing, Abram K., of Constantine, bom in this county, November 21, 
1836, and John B. 

John B. George is the fourth child, and was about three years 
of age when he came to the Territory of Michigan. He was reared 
in St. Joseph county, where he received his education. He re- 
mained with his father and helped with the work on the farm until 
about twenty-one years of age, and then learned the trade of carpen- 
ter, at which he worked until about 1863. He then engaged in 
manufacturing farm implements, worked in the shop and became 
a partner in the business ; the firm became George & Twedale, and 
they continued doing business in Constantine until 1904, when Mr. 
George retired from the business. Since this time he has led a 
quiet life, free from business cares. He was successful in his busi- 
ness enterprises, and is an influential citizen of Constantine. He is 
a Republican, and has the distinction of having cast his vote 
for every Republican president since the inception of the party. He 
served sixteen consecutive years as township supervisor and was 
postmaster four years. Mr. George is vice president of the Com- 
mercial State Bank, and is also interested in the Novelty Works. 
He was one of the organizers of the Commercial State Bank, and 
has always taken an active part in public affairs. 

Mr. George has been a resident of Constantine seventy-three 
years, and is identified with the early history of the county,- he is 
well known and stands well in the community. Mr. George is a 
member of the Masonic Order. 

Mr. George has been thrice married (first) in 1860 to Rebecca 
A. Fisher, who died in 1864. He married (second) Catherine 



574 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Fisher, a sister of his first wife, and they have one daughter, Laura 
Bell, wife of Ed T. Aaron, of Lansing, Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. 
Aaron have one son, George. For his third wife Mr. George mar- 
ried Mrs. Mary E. Roup, a member of the Lutheran church. 

George Rengler has long been identified with the agricultural 
life of St. Joseph county, but he is a native son of Union county, 
Pennsylvania, born there on the 15th of February, 1830, to Daniel 
and Susanna (Duntal) Rengler. Daniel Rengler never left his 
native commonwealth, living and dying in the Keystone state, the 
father of Peter, John, Susanna, Daniel, George, Fannie, Jacob 
and Benjamin, but only four of this once large family are now 
living. 

George Rengler is numbered among the honored early pi- 
oneers of St. Joseph county. He was reared on a farm in Pennsyl- 
vania, and preferring the work of the farm to attending school 
his educational training in his youth was limited, although in 
later life he has become a well read man. He remained at home 
with his parents until his marriage, and afterward rented one of 
his father's farms until he came to Michigan following the Civil 
war period. Four of his brothers also came to this state, bringing 
their families. George Rengler has been very successful as an 
agriculturist, and now owns one hundred and seventy-nine acres 
of fine farming land in section 9, Florence township. The wife 
whom he married in youth, Wilmina Wolfinger, born in Pennsyl- 
vania, died in 1901, and of the four children which blessed their 
marriage union two sons are now living, William C. and James A. 
The younger son has never married, and is at home with his father. 
William C. Rengler, born in Pennsylvania November 25, 1860, 
is one of the prominent farmers and stock raisers of Florence 
township. He owns a fine blooded horse. Magna Charta, and also 
a valuable Morgan horse, and he raises the finest stock of all kinds. 
He is a Democratic voter. He married Rosa Green, and they have 
three children: Hazel, born in May, 1893; Edward, born Febru- 
ary 22, 1895 ; and Clarence, born in 1897. The family reside on 
the Rengler homestead in Florence township, one of the valuable 
farms of the county. George Rengler, the father, is a member 
of the Reformed church which stands near his home. 

William G. Caldwell, deceased, one of the most prominent 
manufacturers of Three Rivers, resided in St. Joseph county for 
more than half a century, and was a vital force in the upbuilding 




A^^^.>^..^^^zc^^^ 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 577 

of its industries, both in their infancy and maturity. He was a 
native of Montour county, Pennsylvania, born near Danville, 
October 30, 1831, son of Thomas and Jane (Gingles) Caldwell. 
The paternal grandfather, Thomas Caldwell, was born in Scotland 
but removed to the north of Ireland, and thence brought his 
family to Pennsylvania, settling on a farm in Montour county, 
where he spent his last years. The father was born and reared in 
that county, and when a young man engaged in merchandise at 
Danville, spending the last years of his life as a farmer near that 
place. His wife was also a native of Montour county and spent 
her life within its bounds ; the seven children of her family were 
Margaret, Susan, Rebecca, William G., Mary, Almira and Martha. 

Mr. Caldwell, of this biography, was educated at Danville 
Seminary; while a youth engaged as a clerk in the office of the 
Montour Iron Works, and in 1852, when he had just attained his 
majority, located at Flowerfield, this county. There he found 
employment as a millwright, and in 1857 located at Three Rivers 
to engage in the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds, associa- 
ting himself for that purpose with L. T. Wilcox. Later, Mr. Wil- 
cox entered the firm, which remained Arnold, Caldwell and Wilcox 
until 1876, when the latter sold his interest in the business ; Cald- 
well and Arnold continued it until the death of the latter, and Mr. 
Caldwell conducted it alone until 1882. He then rented the fac- 
tory and superintended the re-building of the Emery Mills ; upon 
their completion he became their manager and continued as such 
for about fifteen years, the remainder of his industrious, useful 
and honorable life being spent in honorable retirement. His la- 
mented death occurred at Three Rivers on the 25th of July, 1905. 

On December 19, 1859, William G. Caldwell was united in 
marriage with Miss Martha Amy Wilcox, who was born not far 
from Watertown, Jefferson county. New York. Her father, Peter 
Wilcox, was a native of Montpelier, Vermont, born in 1800, and 
her grandfather, Caleb W., also of the Green Mountain state, 
spent nearly his entire life in that city as a manufacturer of mon- 
uments and staves. The father was long engaged in the state 
capital in various mercantile lines; moved to Herkimer county. 
New York, and there married Miss Mary Youker. In 1852 he 
migrated to Michigan, on account of ill health, dying soon after 
at Decatur, Van Buren county. 

Mrs. Peter Wilcox was a native of that county, as was her 
father, George Youker, but her grandfather, Rudolph, was a 
native of the Netherlands and among the early settlers of the Mo- 



578 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 



\ 



hawk Valley. He was a large land holder and died at the age of 
ninety-six years, on his large farm known as Youker's Bush. The 
father, George Youker, spent his life as a farmer of Herkimer 
county, and married Margaret Dnesler, also a lifelong resident of 
the county. The mother of Mrs. Caldwell was left a widow with 
six children, and possessed the hardy faithfulness which en- 
abled her to keep the family together until her sons became self- 
supporting and her daughters married. She died at the age of 
eighty-two years, mother of Nathan, Calvin, Luther, Mary, Sarah 
and Martha. Mrs. Caldwell has two daughters, Mabel, who mar- 
ried Lewis M. Miller and is herself the mother of Jeanne and 
Kathleen, and resides in Kansas City, Missouri; and Jessie, who 
became Mrs. John F. Dunckel and has three children: William 
Caldwell, Lewis Miller and Amy Marie Caldwell, and they reside 
in Springfield, Missouri. Mrs. Caldwell is an active member of 
the Three Rivers Woman's Club and her patriotic ancestry has 
honored her with membership in the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. 

William G. Caldwell, of this memoir, was long identified with 
Three Rivers Lodge A. F. and A. M. ; served both as alderman 
and mayor of the city, and was in every respect entitled to a high 
place in the great fraternity with which he was identified and in 
the annals of the St. Joseph county, to whose advancement he con- 
tributed in such noteworthy measure. 

The Youker family reunion of 1909 was held on Saturday, 
August 28th, with Mr. and Mrs. Marshal Youker at High Falls 
Park, Dolgeville, New York. The Youkers are a large family 
not only in numbers but almost invariably in physique. Before 
this organization they had drifted far and wide. From start to 
finish it was a good time for all. It was something fine to see that 
big family moving about, shaking hands and giving the glad 
words of greeting. They are evidently strong adherents to the 
scriptural admonition ''Sufficient unto the day/' The weather 
was ideal and as every one seemed bent on adding their quota of 
fun (with much help from college graduates of both sexes). Every 
minute was filled with something interesting. First on the pro- 
gram was the big dinner preceded by prayer and ''America," 
sung by everybody, followed by election of officers, etc. There 
were over three hundred of Youker blood present with several 
hundred regrets from others. — Extracts from Dolgeville Bepuhli- 
mn, Herkimer comity, New York. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 579 

William Franklin Plummer. — Possessing good business abil- 
ity and judgment, William Franklin Plummer has for many years 
been an important factor in promoting the industrial interests of 
Fabius, being a brick manufacturer, and a farmer and stock raiser. 
Of pioneer descent, he was born January 23, 1852, in Three Rivers, 
St. Joseph county, Michigan, a son of Peter Smith Plummer. 

His grandfather, Peter Plummer, was born, it is thought, in 
Pennsylvania, where he resided until 1841. Migrating with his 
family in that year to Michigan, he journeyed hither with an ox 
team, his course being marked a part of the way by blazed trees. 
Buying eighty acres of wild land in Flowerfield township, he made 
an opening in the forest for the log cabin which he erected, and 
immediately began the clearing of a farm. In addition to his agri- 
cultural labors, he followed his trade of a blacksmith j erecting one 
of the very first smithies in St. Joseph county. He made an excel- 
lent start in his career, which ere many years was cut short by 
death. His wife, whose maiden name was Mary E. Smith, was thus 
left a widow with seven little children to care for. She kept her 
family together, training them to habits of industry and honesty, 
living until sixty-six years of age. 

Peter Smith Plummer was bom in Pennsylvania, being but a 
child when the family came to Michigan. After the death of his 
father the care of the family devolved to some extent upon him, he 
being the oldest of the children, and he labored industriously to 
lessen the burdens of his mother. After learning the trade of a 
general blacksmith he established himself in Three Rivers, where he 
built up a good business, and after a time opened the first wagon 
and carriage manufactory in that part of St. Joseph county. He 
carried on a substantial manufacturing business for a few years, 
when he, too, was called to the life beyond, his death occurring 
when he was but thirty-two years of age. He married Nancy Eddy, 
who was born in St. Joseph county, a daughter of Jasper Eddy, who 
migrated from New York, his native state, to Michigan in territo- 
rial days. Mr. Eddy first located in Washtenaw county, about three 
miles from Ypsilanti, where he bought a tract of timbered land, 
upon which he built a log cabin, and began clearing a farm, living 
there a few years. In 1837 Mr. Eddy disposed of that property, 
and came with his family to St. Joseph county, settling in Constan- 
tine township, and taking up land near its northern boundary. He 
subsequently purchased an interest in a saw mill, which he operated 
for many years, at the same time supervising the improvement of 
his land. Here he resided until his death, at the age of seventy- 



580 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

two years. He took great interest in the development of the new 
country in which he had taken up his residence, doing his full share 
in promoting its growth, and lived to see the wilderness transformed 
to a wealthy and prosperous agricultural region. Mr. Eddy 's first 
wife, whose maiden name was Polly Pine, died in 1837, leaving four 
children. He subsequently married Mary Alcott, by whom he had 
five children. Mrs. Nancy (Eddy) Plummer was left a widow with 
five children to care for, namely. William F., the subject of this 
sketch; Charles; Carrie; Martha Jane; and Peter. A few years 
later she married for her second husband Duane Parsons, and in 
1882 removed to Flowerfield, from there going to Three Rivers, 
where she spent her last years. 

William F. Plummer was ten years of age when his father died. 
At the age of thirteen he began to earn his own living. Inheriting 
the habits of industry and thrift characteristic of his ancestors, he 
saved his wages, and having become proficient in the making of 
bricks he became a manufacturer of bricks, and has carried on a 
thriving and extensive business in that line since 1885. Mr. Plum- 
mer supplied from his brick yard a part of the bricks used in build- 
ing the County Court House, also manufacturing most of the brick 
used at Three Rivers since he started. He has invested in land, 
owning a fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres on Clear Lake, 
where he and his son, who has charge of the estate, are extensively 
engaged in raising cattle and sheep. 

On November 17, 1872, Mr. Plummer was united in marriage 
with Mary E. Spaulding, who was bom in Orleans county. New 
York, a daughter of Isaac and Lucy (Shafer) Spaulding, who came 
from New York to Michigan in 1859, and after living three years in 
Parkville bought a farm in Fabius township, and here spent their 
remaining years. Mr. and Mrs. Plummer have two children, 
namely: Lucy Elizabeth, wife of Robert Wilson; and Howard S., 
who married Mabel Osborne, and has two children, Warren and 
Edna. Politically Mr. Plummer is identified with the Republican 
party, and fraternally he is a member of Three Rivers Lodge No. 
80, I. 0. O. F. Religiously Mr. and Mrs. Plummer are Christian 
Scientists. 

Gilbert S. Daniels. — Among the native sons of St. Joseph 
county who are here effectively upholding the prestige of the great 
basic industry of agriculture is Mr. Daniels, who is the owner of a 
well improved farm in section 6, Nottawa township, and who is rec- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 581 

ognized as one of the enterprising and progressive farmers and 
stock-growers of this county. 

Gilbert S. Daniels was bom in Sherman township, this county, 
on the 18th of May, 1870, and is a son of Mahlon S. and Mary 
(White) Daniels, the former of whom was bom in Pennsylvania, 
on the 5th of December, 1835, and the latter in St. Joseph county, 
their marriage having been solemnized on the 2d of March, 1844. 
Mahlon S. Daniels is one of the honored pioneers of St. Joseph 
county and he still resides on his homestead farm in Sherman town- 
ship. He is a Democrat in his political proclivities and has long 
been numbered among the prominent and influential citizens of 
his township, where he has been called upon to serve in various 
offices of public trust, including those of justice of the peace, high- 
way commissioner and school director. His first wife died on the 
23d of February, 1876, and is survived by three children, of whom 
the subject of this sketch is the youngest; Leona, who was bom on 
the 6th of September, 1865, is the wife of Frank J. Harrison, a suc- 
cessful farmer of Van Buren county, this state ; and Cora, who was 
born on the 8th of June, 1868, is the wife of William B. Towsley, of 
Downers Grove, a suburb of the city of Chicago. He is assistant 
manager in Marshall Field's great store. For his second wife 
Mahlon S. Daniels married Miss Bertha Richardson, and they have 
one daughter, Adella, who was bom on the 11th of June, 1895, and 
who remains at the parental home. 

Gilbert S. Daniels was reared to the sturdy discipline of the 
home farm and his early educational advantages were those af- 
forded in the public schools of his native township and Adrian 
College. He continued to be associated in the work of his father's 
farm until he had attained to the age of twenty-three years, when 
he began an apprenticeship at the barber's trade, to which he 
devoted his attention for ten years, during a portion of which time 
he owned and conducted a shop in the village of Centerville. In 
1905 he located on his present farm, which comprises eighty-four 
and three-fourths acres, and he has made the best of improvements 
on the place, which gives patent evidence of his progressive manage- 
ment and well directed industry. He is essentially liberal and pub- 
lic-spirited as a citizen and though he has never sought the honors 
or emoluments of public office he gives a stanch support to the cause 
of the Democratic party. He and his wife hold membership in the 
Presbyterian church in the village of Centerville. 

On the 19th of May, 1897, Mr. Daniels was united in marriage 
to Miss Maude L. Miller, who was bom at Berrien Springs, this 



582 HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

state, and who is a daughter of John A. and Harriet (Hardendorf ) 
Miller, the former of whom died in 1876 and the latter is also 
deceased. Mrs. Daniels was born on the 8th of July, 1870, and 
was a resident of Centerville, St. Joseph county, at the time of her 
marriage. In 1885 she was adopted by Mrs. David Hazzard, who 
resides in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Daniels, who accord to her the 
utmost filial solicitude. Mr. and Mrs. Daniels have one daughter, 
Helen Charlotte, who was bom on the 5th of September, 1903. 

Mrs. Helen M. (Brown) Hazzard, widow of David Hazzard, 
was born in Nottawa township, St. Joseph county, on the 27th of 
July, 1842, and is one of the sterling pioneer women of this county. 
Her experiences have been varied and interesting, and it may be 
stated that she twice made the trip across the plains to California 
on horseback, — in 1852 and again in 1857 — before the famous gold 
excitement in that state. The party of which she was a member 
was in almost constant danger from attack by Indians and had a 
number of narrow escapes. Her parents, Samuel and Martha 
(Reid) Brown took up their residence in Nottawa township, this 
county, on the 1st of January, 1832, about five years prior to the 
admission of Michigan to the Union, and her father reclaimed a 
farm from the wilderness. His first log house was of the most 
primitive type and no nails were used in its construction. One of 
his sons, by a second marriage, still resides on the old homestead. 
Mrs. Hazzard has a great fund of interesting reminiscences con- 
cerning the pioneer days in this county, which has represented her 
home during practically her entire life. She first married William 
S. Beardsley and after his death she married David Hazzard, whose 
brother William was the first white child born in St. Joseph county. 
Mr. Hazzard was a valiant soldier in the Civil war and he passed 
the closing years of his life in the village of Centerville, the judicial 
center of St. Joseph county, where he died on the 15th of May, 
1893. Mrs. Hazzard has no children and since the death of her 
husband she has resided in the home of her foster-daughter, Mrs. 
Daniels. 

Wirt M. HAZEN.-^Numbered among the representative and 
essentially enterprising business men of the city of Three Rivers 
is Wirt M. Hazen, who is here engaged in the retail lumber, coal 
and building-material business and whose yards and store-houses 
afford facilities of the best type. 

Mr. Hazen claims the state of Illinois as the place of his nativ- 
ity, as he was born in Sidney township, Champaign county, that 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 583 

state, on the 27th of September, 1876. He is the youngest of the 
seven children of Nathan L. and Sarah (Moore) Hazen. His 
parents were numbered among the pioneers of Champaign county, 
whither they removed from the northwestern part of Massachu- 
setts in the yeai* 1856, and they still continue to reside in that 
county, where the father has long been recognized as a represent- 
ative farmer and stockgrower. 

To the public schools of Sidney, Illinois, Wirt M. Hazen is 
indebted for his early educational discipline, which was supple- 
mented by an effective course in the business college at Dixon, 
Illinois. After leaving the latter institution he became identified 
with the banking business, and for five years he served as cashier 
of the Exchange Bank of Champaign. In 1904 Mr. Hazen came 
to Michigan and established his home at Jonesville, Hillsdale 
county, where he was engaged in the lumber business for three 
and one-half years, at the expiration of which, in 1908, he dis- 
posed of his interests there and removed to Three Rivers, where 
he has since continued in the same line of enterprise and has built 
up a most substantial and extensive trade. His lumber yards are 
the largest in the county and he will have the largest shed in the 
state of Michigan when completed. The yards are at all times 
equipped with an adequate stock of the various grades and va- 
rieties of lumber and building material, besides which he con- 
ducts a large business in the handling of coal. 

As a citizen Mr. Hazen is essentially liberal and public- 
spirited, and he is ever ready to lend his co-operation in the 
support of measures projected for the general welfare of the com- 
munity. His political proclivities are indicated by the stanch 
support he accords to the cause of the Republican party, and in 
the time-honored Masonic Fraternity he has attained the chivalric 
degrees, his maximum affiliation being with Hillsdale Command- 
ery. Knights Templars. 

He and his wife are zealous and valued members of the First 
Presbyterian church of Three Rivers and are active in the various 
departments of its work. He has served since 1909 as a member 
of the board of trustees of this church. 

On the 1st of August, 1899, was solemnized the marriage of 
Mr. Hazen to Miss Etta B. Brewer, daughter of Meshech L. 
Brewer, of Philo, Champaign county, Illinois, where she was bom 
and reared. Mr. and Mrs. Hazen have two sons, Harold Locke, 
who was born on the 1st of August, 1900, and Linn Moore, who 
was born on the 23rd of January, 1909. 

Vol. II— 7 



584 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Alfred M. Wickett has been a resident of White Pigeon since 
1866, and was born in Belville, Canada, August 18, 1843. He was 
reared on a farm, and throughout his life has attended school but 
three months, but he has always made the most of his advantages 
and opportunities for obtaining an education, and has acquired 
most of it through his own unaided efforts. In 1864 Mr. Wickett 
came to the United States and enlisted in Company C, Eighth 
Michigan Cavalry; he never saw active service, but is now able 
to draw a pension of twelve dollars per month. At the close of 
the war he learned the trade of cabinet maker, which he has since 
followed. In 1866 he began working in White Pigeon as under- 
taker and cabinet maker, and has followed it forty years in this 
town, thirty of which he has been in business on his own account. 
He has prospered well, and he and his wife own one hundred and 
twenty acres of land, in St. Joseph county, besides his business 
location and residence in White Pigeon. He several years ago 
passed the examination required by state law, and secured his 
license for the practice of his profession. 

Mr. Wickett was one of the organizers of the Funeral Direct- 
ors' Association which first met in Jackson, Michigan, January 
14, 1880. He is the oldest undertaker in the county and among 
the oldest in the state in the length of time engaged in this voca- 
tion. He is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
White Pigeon Lodge No. 104. In political views he is a Demo- 
crat, and is now serving his fifth year as mayor of White Pigeon. 
Mr. Wickett is a public-spirited, patriotic citizen, and has thor- 
oughly imbibed the sentiments of his adopted country. His 
parents were natives of England, and emigrated to Canada when 
young. 

Mr. Wickett married (first), July 4, 1868, Miss Middleton, 
who died childless in 1878. He married (second) Mary Catton, 
and they became parents of one daughter, Fannie May, born in 
1883, graduate of the high school of White Pigeon, and now the 
wife of Sherman D. Boone, a book-keeper with a milling company 
of Coldwater, Michigan. Mr. Boone and his wife have two chil- 
dren, Ralph W. and Walter. 

Mrs. Mariah Richards is a member of one of the earliest pio- 
neer families of St. Joseph county, their name being traced on the 
pages of its history from the days of its earliest development. She 
was born in Montgomery county. New York, September 30, 1831, a 
daughter of John Young, born in the same county May 27, 1802, 




u 

H 
< 
O 

< 

u 
o 

Q 
< 

H 



O 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 587 

and of Jane Demett, his wife, bom February 9, 1802. They came 
to St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1835, driving through from New 
York, and they settled on the land which John Young had previ- 
ously purchased, he having made the journey to this county some 
time before he brought his family. He became a well-to-do and 
influential man in his new home, spending the remainder of his life 
here, and he was laid to rest among the honored pioneers of St. 

Joseph county. 

Mariah was one of the eight children bom to John and Jane 
Young, and she was reared on her parents' farm and attended 
school in the little log school houses known only to the pioneer 
period. The country around was then inhabited principally with 
Indians, deer and wild animals, and she can yet recall to mind 
those f^ntier days of St. Joseph county. She married in 1849, on 
the 21st of March, J. S. Richards, and the following children blessed 
their marriage union: Harvey, George, Charles, John and Ardella, 
but John Richards is the only one of the children now at home. 
He was born in September of 1869, and is now farming his mother's 
homestead in section 9, Florence township. He is the present 
supervisor of his township, and has also served as a township clerk 
and treasurer. Mrs. Richards is a church member, and she is hon- 
ored and revered as one of the pioneer residents of St. Joseph 
county as well as for her sterling personal characteristics. 

Clark Roatch.— A prosperous agriculturist, pleasantly located 
in Flowerfield township, on the farm where the greater part of his 
life has been passed, Clark Roatch is widely known as a public- 
spirited, trustworthy man and citizen, who is now rendermg eic^- 
lent service as township supervisor. A son of the late George R. 
Roatch, he was bom April 17, 1871, in Marcellus, Cass county, 
Michigan, of pioneer ancestry. ^ , ,. * 

His grandfather was bom, it is thought, in New York state, 
coming from thrifty Scotch ancestors. During the latter part of 
his life he came to Michigan, and spent his last days with his chil- 
dren dying in MiddleviUe, Barry county. To him and his wife 
seven sons and two daughters were bom, a fair sized family m 

tthose days. t. t, x i, i;„^ 

A native of Genesee county. New York, George R. Roatch hyed. 
there untH ten years old when he came to Michigan to make his 
home with an older brother. When ready to begin the battle of 
life for himself, he embarked in the lumber industry, for a number 
of years owning and operating a saw mill in Marcellus, where he 



588 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

was subsequently employed for a time in buying and shipping live 
stock, building up an extensive trade. Coming with his family to 
St. Joseph county in 1875, he located in Flowerfield township, buy- 
ing a farm which was located in sections 1, 2 and 11. Here he each 
season made improvements of a good character, and continued to 
buy and ship cattle in connection with general farming, carrying 
on a substantial business until compelled by ill health to retire from 
active pursuits. He passed away on the home farm in October, 
1907, at the age of seventy- three years, his death being a loss to 
the community. His wife, whose maiden name was Martha Jane 
Ridgely, was born in Ohio, and died, in 1898, on the homestead, in 
Flowerfield township. Three children were born of their union, 
namely: Frank, Edward, and Clark, the youngest. 

As a young man Frank Roatch, the eldest son, went to Luce 
coimty, and having secured a tract of wild land near Newberry 
cleared a farm from the wilderness, laboring with the courage and 
perseverance characteristic of the early pioneers of the state. He 
is now a prominent resident of Escanaba, where he is a leading con- 
tractor in the building of roads and bridges. 

Educated in the public schools, Clark Roatch began when a 
boy to assist on the farm, and at the age of twenty-two years 
assumed its entire management. He is a systematic and practical 
farmer, and under his supervision the land has been highly culti- 
vated and improved, and he, as a general agriculturist and stock- 
raiser is meeting with genuine success. Fraternally Mr. Roatch is 
a member of Schoolcraft Lodge, No. 118, A. F. & A. M., and Prairie 
Ronde Chapter, No. 54. Politically he is an earnest supporter of 
the principles of the Democratic party, and has served wisely and 
well in official capacities, having for two years been township 
treasurer, at the present time being its supervisor. 

George W. Slote. — In the annals of St. Joseph county the 
name of Slote occupies a place of note, James Slote, grandfather 
of George W., having been one of its pioneer settlers. A native 
of Pennsylvania, he came from excellent Holland ancestry, and as 
a young man learned the trade of a tanner, which he followed 
to some extent in connection with farming and other industries. 
He accepted the contract for building the Wire Run Church, in 
Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and burnt the brick which 
was used in its construction. 

In 1837 James Slote, accompanied by his own family, and 
those of his son-in-law, William McCormack, and of Henry Snyder, 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 589 

came to Michigan, making the long trip with teams. He located 
in Park township, St. Joseph county, purchased a tract of heavily 
wooded land, and began to clear and improve a homestead. About 
a year later he made a business trip to Pennsylvania and while 
there was taken ill and died. He married Hannah Hower, who 
was born in Pennsylvania, and to them eleven children were born, 
eight sons and three daughters. His widow survived him many 
years, dying in Michigan. 

George Slote, father of George W., was born in Northumber- 
land county, Pennsylvania, and as a boy and youth received excel- 
lent educational advantages. Entering upon a professional career 
while young, he was one of the pioneer teachers of St. Joseph 
county, teaching school eighteen consecutive winters. For many 
years after he came here with his parents the people lived in a 
very primitive manner, much of the travelling being performed 
on foot or horseback. There were no railways in this section of 
the country, and Detroit was the nearest marketing place. A 
flour mill, however, had been built at Three Rivers in 1836, and 
to this mill he used to take wheat to be ground, rafting it down 
the St. Joseph river. When ready to establish himself perma- 
nently in life, he rented land, but afterwards he purchased the 
interest of the remaining heirs in a part of the old homestead, and 
was there engaged in tilling the soil until his death, in 1861. 

Geouge Slote was twice married. He married first Margaret 
Fair, who was born in Ireland, and came with her father, Robert 
Fair, to the United States, living for awhile in New York City, 
from there coming to St. Joseph county. She died in 1850, leav- 
ing three children, namely: James; George W., the subject of this 
brief sketch; and Margaret. Mr. Slote married second Mary 
Waldron, who survived him, passing away in 1876. 

George W. Slote was born, October 1, 1844, in Nottawa town- 
ship, St. Joseph county, where, during his boyhood, he attended 
the district schools. He obtained a practical common school edu- 
cation, and on the home farm acquired an excellent knowledge 
of the various branches of agriculture. Subsequently buying land 
in Florence township, Mr. Slote was there prosperously employed 
in general farming until 1896, when he removed to Fabius town- 
ship, locating in section thirty-five, on the Lewis K. Brody home- 
stead, where he has since resided. 

Mr. Slote has been twice married. He married first, Novem- 
ber 11, 1877, Kate Hartman, a native of Pennsylvania. She died 
in 1891, leaving one daughter, namely: Myrtle, who married 



590 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

William Harder, and has one child, La Verne Harder. Mr. Slote 
married second, February 19, 1896, Miss Arabella Brody, who was 
born in Fabius township, a daughter of Lewis K. and Rebecca 
(Crawford) Brody, of whom a brief sketch appears elsewhere in 
this volume. After the death of her mother, Mrs. Slote remained 
with her father, caring tenderly for him in his declining years, 
and has since succeeded to the ownership of the parental estate, 
known as Oak Hill Farm, which is one of the most valuable and 
desirable pieces of property in the county. Mr. Brody had made 
valuable improvements on the farm, including the erection of a 
fine set of buildings, and Mr. and Mrs. Slote are keeping up the 
place in the same good way, constantly adding to the improve- 
ments already inaugurated, everything about the premises indi- 
cating the existence of cultivated tastes and ample means. In his 
political views Mr. Slote is independent, voting according to the 
dictates of his conscience. Religiously Mr. and Mrs. Slote are 
adherents to the Reformed church. 

Lewis K. Brody. — ^An honored representative of the early pio- 
neers of St. Joseph county, Lewis K. Brody, late of Fabius town- 
ship, was a true type of the energetic, hardy and enterprising men 
who actively assisted in the development and growth of this fer- 
tile and productive agricultural region. When he first came to 
this vicinity the wild beasts of the forest had not fled before the 
advancing steps of civilization, but, with the dusky savage, 
habited the vast wilderness. In the grand transformation of the 
forest-covered country that gradually ensued he took an import- 
ant part, and at the same time, by his sagacity and foresight, he 
was enabled to accumulate a good property. A native of Ohio, 
he was born, June 4, 1808, in Columbiana county, where he grew 
to manhood. 

James Brody, father of Lewis K., was one of the original set- 
tlers of Columbiana county, Ohio, living there a number of years. 
Migrating then to Michigan, he bought a tract of heavily timbered 
land, and upon the farm which he redeemed from the wilderness 
spent the remainder of his life, passing away at a ripe old age. 

When, in the early thirties, Lewis K. Brody came to 
St. Joseph county the country roundabout was in its pris- 
tine condition, being a veritable wilderness, where few, if 
any, evidences of civilization existed. Now, through the judi- 
cious labor of its settlers, flourishing towns and cities, and mag- 
nificent agricultural communities have usurped the place of the 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 591 

forest, while the well-cultivated acres yield abundantly and to 
spare. Beginning life here even with the world, Mr. Brody found 
employment clearing the land and tilling the soil. Industrious 
and economical, he saved his earnings, and in due course of time 
invested his money in land, buying a tract of timber in section 
thirty-five, Fabius township. Making an opening in the forest, 
he erected a humble log cabin of typical pioneer style, hanging 
a blanket across the doorway, and in this lived for a time. Bears, 
deer, wild turkeys and other game were plentiful, and Indians 
were numerous though seldom unfriendly. There were neither 
railways nor canals for many years thereafter, all produce and 
supplies being transported to and from market on river boats. 
Laboring with courage and perseverance, Mr. Brody cleared a 
good homestead, and after awhile erected a more substantial 
house of logs, which, in turn gave way to a commodious frame 
house. He possessed excellent judgment, and made judicious in- 
vestments, adding to his estate until he became owner of upwards 
of eight hundred acres, all lying in Fabius and Constantine town- 
ships. Meeting with undisputed success as an agriculturist, he 
continued his operations throughout his active career, living on 
his home farm until his death, August 1, 1901. 

Mr. Brody married Rebecca Crawford, who was born in 
Virginia, February 13, 1813, a daughter of Robert Crawford. 
Robert Crawford was a native, it is supposed, of Virginia, where 
he spent the earlier part of his life. He subsequently came with 
his family to St. Joseph county, Michigan, making the journey 
overland with teams, a part of the family riding in the wagon, 
while his wife and daughter took turns in riding horseback. He 
died March 26, 1841, aged sixty-five years. His wife, Mary Craw- 
ford, survived him, passing away October 28, 1850, aged sixty 
years. Mrs. Brody passed to the higher life February 7, 1884, 
leaving eight children, namely : Lucina ; Louisa ; Amanda E. ; 
James P. ; Lewis K. ; William S. ; Adalia R. ; and Arabella, wife of 
George W. Slote, of whom a brief biographical sketch may be 
found on another page of this work. Politically Mr. Brody was 
a Democrat. 

William W. Marantette. — A member of one of the best 
known pioneer families of St. Joseph county, William W. Maran- 
tette is the owner of the Wakeman Hotel, in the village of Mendon, 
and he is well known and held in unqualified esteem in the com- 
munity that has represented his home since the time of his birth. 



592 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mr. Marantette was bom in Mendon township, this county, on the 
21st of July, 1844, and is a son of Patric and Frances (Montaw) 
Marantette, both of whom were of French lineage. Patric Maran- 
tette was one of the first settlers in Mendon township and was a 
citizen of prominence and influence in the pioneer days. Both he 
and his wife continued to reside in Mendon township until their 
death, and there he reclaimed a farm from the virgin wilds. He 
was a Democrat in his political proclivities and both he and his 
wife were communicants of the Catholic church. 

William W. Marantette was reared to maturity on the home 
farm and is indebted to the public schools of his native township 
for his early educational discipline. After his marriage he wa^ 
engaged in the mercantile business at Mendon for a period of five 
years, after which he was for a time located on the farm of eighty 
acres, which he had inherited from his father. In 1876 he sold his 
farm and engaged in the hotel business in Mendon. He has since 
continued in this line of enterprise and his hotel, modern in its 
equipment and service, caters to a large and appreciative patron- 
age. Mr. Marantette is one of the veteran hotel men of his native 
state and enjoys marked popularity with the traveling public as 
does he also in his home county. He has ever shown a deep inter- 
est in public affairs of a local order and is one of the influential 
citizens of the village of Mendon. His political support is given 
to the Democratic party and both he and his wife are communicants 
of St. Edward's Catholic church. 

On the 5th of February, 1868, Mr. Marantette was united in 
marriage to Miss Celia Eeeves, who was born in Ohio and who is 
a daughter of Lucian B. and Susan Reeves. Her father died when 
she was a child and her mother later became the wife of Adam 
Wakeman : they passed the closing years of their lives in St. Joseph 
county, where Mr. Wakeman was a successful farmer. Mr. and 
Mrs. Marantette have two children — Edward G., who was born on 
the 26th of October, 1868, married Miss Elizabeth Harold, and they 
have two children,— Mignon and Edward, Jr., they now reside in 
Binghamton, New York ; Jessie, who was bom on the 8th of Octo- 
ber, 1884, remains at the parental home and is one of the popular 
young ladies in the social circles of Mendon. 

Francisco Klady, a prominent farmer of Nottawa township, 
is a native of that township, bom March 12, 1841. His father, 
William Klady, was born in New York state, in 1810, and was of 
German descent. He removed from New York to Kalamazoo 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 593 

county, Michigan, and later located in Nottawa township, St. 
Joseph county, on a farm. Lat^r he sold his farm and settled at 
the station, where he lived the remainder of his life. He was a car- 
penter by trade, and in politics was a Whig and later a Republi- 
can. Mr. Klady was a member of the Reformed Church of Cen- 
terville, was greatly interested in the schools, and held various 
school ofiSces. He married Nancy Knickerbocker, in New York, 
and they came to Michigan together; she was bom March 17, 1800, 
and her parents were well-to-do farmers. Mr. Klady and his wife 
had children as follows: Hugh A., died in 1872, was married; 
Isaac, also married, died in 1864 ; Ray, died in infancy ; Francisco ; 
Schram, died in infancy ; and Lee, living retired, at Sturgis, Michi- 
gan, is unmarried. 

Francisco Klady received his education in the district schools 
of Nottawa and Colon townships, and has spent most of his life 
on a farm. He spent two years learning the trade of cabinetmaker. 
In August, 1861, Mr. Klady enlisted in the Eleventh Michigan 
Volunteer Infantry, and after December of that year went to 
Kentucky and camped the remainder of the winter. For three 
years he took part in all the important battles, and was in the cam- 
paign before Atlanta; he was with the Army of the Cumberland 
and with General Thomas the remainder of his time, and was mus- 
tered out September 30, 1864. He always carried a Springfield 
rifle. 

After his marriage Mr. Klady bought one hundred and twenty 
acres of land, which he cleared himself, and he has built the 
houses, barns, etc., now on the land, which he keeps in good order, 
as he also does his fences. He has made modem improvements, 
and has handsome lawns and other surroundings. He is an expert 
farmer, and pays close attention to his work on the place. He is 
a Republican and for two years held the office of township treas- 
urer. He is a charter member of the Grand Army of the Republic 
David Oaks Post No. 135, at Centerville. 

In September, 1865, Mr. Klady married Katherine Elizabeth, 
daughter of John and Margaret McKercher, farmers, who died 
before the war. She was bom in Moscow, Hillsdale county, Mich- 
igan ,April 14, 1840, and lived there until she was thirteen years 
of age, when she came to St. Joseph county. She received her edu- 
cation at Moscow and Albion, Michigan, taught school eight terms 
in the district schools of Nottawa and Lockport townships, one 
year in Hillsdale county and one year in Jackson county. She 
purchased a farm on the Centerville and Nottawa road. Her 



594 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

father, a Republican, served ten years as supervisor of Nottawa 
township. Mr. Klady and his wife have two children, Florence 
Elizabeth, born September 23, 1866, and William C, born August 
15, 1870. Florence E. is the wife of C. C. Andrews, a salesman, 
of Sturgis, and William C. is a carpenter and lives at home; he 
married Winnie Agnes Lohr, and they have one child, Mildred 
Agnes. 

Dr. William H. Snyder, a rising young physician of White 
Pigeon, was bom in Jefferson township, Wells county, Indiana, 
January 16, 1871, and is a son of Solomon J. and Elizabeth (Mal- 
lonee) Snyder, the latter bom in Adams county, Indiana. The 
parents came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1905. 

The primary education of William H. Snyder was obtained in 
the district schools of Wells county, Indiana, and he graduated 
from the high school of White Pigeon, Michigan, in 1893. He 
taught in the district schools some time, and in 1897 graduated 
from the State Normal School of Ypsilanti, Michigan. In 1902 he 
entered the Detroit College of Medicine, from which he graduated 
with degree M. D. in 1906. Dr. Snyder first practiced his profes- 
sion in Kalamazoo county, Michigan, and in 1909 located at White 
Pigeon. He has built up a good practice, and has a high standing 
in his profession. He belongs to the County, State and American 
Medical Societies and gives his best attention to the vocation which 
he has made his life work. 

In August, 1902, Dr. Snyder married Bernice Fisher, of 
Battle Creek, Michigan; she is a graduate of the State Normal 
School, and was a teacher of prominence and success. Dr. Snyder 
is a member of the Maccabees, Tent No. 919 ; his wife is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, and an enthusiastic worker in 
both church and Sunday School affairs. In politics he is a Demo- 
crat as to principles, but in local matters votes independent of 
party. He is a public-spirited citizen, and highly respected. 

Charles D. Cutler, a prominent merchant of Nottawa, was 
born October 21, 1881, son of Thomas D. and Eva (Dickinson) 
Cutler, both natives of St. Joseph county. Thomas D. Cutler was 
born in Centerville, in 1854, and died August 31, 1905; his wife 
was bom February 18, 1855, and died April 8, 1906. They were 
married February 19, 1880. The father was a general merchant 
at Nottawa, and lived there from 1878 until his death. Previous 
to entering into business on his own account he was postmaster and 
five years a clerk. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 595 

The father of Thomas D. Cutler was bom March 25, 1815, 
and settled at Colon, Michigan, where he became a miller. In 1854 
he sailed from New York to California, and was gone six months. 
He returned to Michigan and spent a few months with his family, 
when he again went to California, this time by the overland route. 
He spent some time at various points and then located at Redwood 
Palls, where he owned a half interest in a mill. He died Septem- 
ber 11, 1865, and through the good ofSces of the Masonic Order, 
of which he was an honored member, his business interests were 
disposed of and the proceeds sent home to his family in Michigan. 
He married, October 28, 1840, at Colon, Michigan, Desire A., 
daughter of Abel Belote of Nottawa, bom October 28, 1824. 

Thomas D. Cutler and his wife had five children, namely:: 
Charles D. ; Robert Walter, born December 15, 1883, is married 
and engaged in general merchandise business at Wawaka; George 
Irving, bom June 23, 1886, lives in Colorado; William Lloyd, 
bom May 17, 1888, also in lumber business in Colorado, single; 
and Frank Harold, bom June 22, 1897, is single and makes his 
home with Charles D. 

Charles D. Cutler received his education in Centerville high 
school and spent one year at Kalamazoo College. After leaving 
college he came to Nottawa and engaged in business in company 
with his father, in the line of general merchandise. After the 
death of his father he continued the business in partnership with 
his brothers. They keep the leading store of the town, and deal in 
produce, wool, grain, oil and general merchandise. They also buy 
and ship potatoes. They do a prosperous and constantly growing 
business, and have proven themselves possessed of good business 
ability and judgment. Socially Mr. Cutler is a member of Her- 
man Lodge No. 24, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 

June 21, 1904, Mr. Cutler married Neva Mcintosh, bom Janu- 
ary 16, 1882, daughter of Milton and Mary (Onley) Mcintosh, re- 
siding at Wasepi ; they have two children, Lucille and Arnold. 

John M. Laird. — St. Joseph county ^s strength is in great part 
due to her substantial and progressive agricultural element and 
standing as a stanch and estimable representative of his calling 
is John M. Laird of Mendon township. He was born September 2, 
1851, his parents being H. W. and Susan M. (Brown) Laird, both 
of them natives of Maryland. The father had been a slave-owner 
and a man of property in his native state, but becoming a convert 
to the cause of abolition, he freed his slaves, even though at 



596 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

great personal loss, and moved westward, locating in Ohio. This 
was in the early '30s. He eventually came to Michigan and be- 
came the ownei* of a valuable farm of three hundred acres located 
on the prairie. He was a man of influence and one of the pro- 
moters of the Grand Rapids & Indiana Railroad. His wife was a 
worker in the Methodist church. Mr. Laird was one of a family 
of nine children, these being as follows: William H., George C, 
Gilbert W., James M., John M., Charles W., Caroline F., Samantha 
and Mary J. All are alive with the exception of Samantha and 
Mary J. 

John M. Laird in the fashion of the usual young American 
received his education in the public schools and remained under 
the home roof until his marriage in 1884. He spent ten years 
farming on the old homestead, and removed to the Bacon farm, 
which he operated very successfully for fifteen years. Desiring to 
become an independent land owner he bought eighty acres of ex- 
cellent land and has ever since engaged in general farming. He 
gives his support to the men and measures of the Republican party 
and belongs to the K. 0. T. M. 

Mr. Laird laid the foundation of a happy home life by his 
marriage April 1, 1882, to Miss Alice J. Simpson, daughter of 
John and Lydia A. (Yondermark) Simpson. The date of Mrs. 
Laird's birth was May 30, 1859. This union has been blessed by 
the birth of the following children : Bessie Happle, born Decem- 
ber 20, 1884 ; Charles H., born June 11, 1887 ; Winifred M., born 
December 18, 1890; John P., born February 8, 1893; and Alice 
M., born March 28, 1894. 

Frank Mendenhall. — ^Well worthy of representation in this 
volume is Frank Mendenhall, the genial, accommodating, and 
popular agent of the Lake Shore Railroad at M;oore Park. A 
native of Indiana, he was born February 20, 1866, at Lima, now 
Howe, La Grange county, coming from honored Virginian stock. 

His father, Thomas Mendenhall, was born and bred in Vir- 
ginia. Emigrating in early manhood to Indiana, he learned the 
miller's trade, and subsequently operated mills in different parts 
of the state, being in Bristol a number of years. Finally locating 
in Van Buren, he purchased a mill, and was there actively em- 
ployed until his death, at the age of sixty-six years. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Sarah Calista Wheeler, was born in New 
York state, and died, at the age of seventy-nine years, in Michi- 



"7^ 
W 
w 

d 

W 

o 

w 

o 

> 

a 

(— ( • 
o 

o 
> 



> 



u 
w 

> 

r 
r 




HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 599 

gan. Five children were born of their union, as follows: Mary 
Althea, deceased; Thomas, Fred, Ella and Frank. 

After completing his studies in the public schools, and as a 
student at the Northern Indiana University, at Valparaiso, Frank 
Mendenhall learned the trade of a house and carriage painter, 
which he followed a short time, in 1886 entering the employ of the 
Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Company, as painter, 
being located at Elkhart. Soon afterwards, Mr. Mendenhall began 
studying telegraphy at the Flowerfield railway station, and when 
proficient was given a position at Grand Rapids, where he con- 
tinued as an operator until 1889. In that year he accepted the 
office of station agent at Moore Park, and has served continuously 
since, giving entire satisfaction to the company, and to the general 
public. He is also agent for the American Express Company, and 
for the Western Union Telegraph Company. 

December 3, 1891, Mr. Mendenhall was united in marriage 
with Lillie May Weinberg, who was born in 1872, at Three Rivers, 
Michigan, a daughter of Monroe and Sarah (Bramer) Weinberg. 
In a sketch of Mrs. Mendenhall, on another page of this biograph- 
ical work, further history of her parents may be found. Two 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Mendenhall, one of whom, 
Adrian, died in infancy ; Vera, the other child, is living. 

In 1903 Mr. and Mrs. Mendenhall formed a partnership in 
the mercantile business, opening a store, which Mrs. Mendenhall 
has since conducted in an able manner, Mr. MendenhalPs railway 
and express business occupying his entire time and attention. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mendenhall are also interested in real estate, owning 
a fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres, in Park township, 
which is well improved and in a high state of cultivation. This 
farm, which is operated by a tenant on shares, yields them a good 
annual income. Fraternally Mr. Mendenhall is a member of Moore 
Park Camp, No. 9,972, M. W. M., and he is Clerk of the Camp. 

Mrs. Lillie May (Weinberg) Mendenhall.— An accom- 
plished and enterprising business woman, Mrs. Lillie May Men- 
denhall, of Moore Park, St. Joseph county, is well known in both 
commercial and social circles, and, in partnership with her hus- 
band, Frank Mendenhall, is carrying on a substantial mercantile 
business, of which she has the sole charge. A daughter of Monroe 
Weinberg, she was born March 21, 1872, in Three Rivers, coming 
from German ancestry. Her grantfather, George Weinberg, Jr., 
was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, where her great 



600 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

grandfather, George Weinberg, Sr., a native of Germany, spent 
his last years. 

George Weinberg, Jr., resided in Northampton county, Penn- 
sylvania, until 1836, being engaged as a contractor and builder. 
Going then to Armstrong county, Pennsylvania, he bought land, 
and carried on general farming for ten years, at the same time 
following his former occupation to some extent. Disposing of his 
interests in that locality in 1846, he came to St. Joseph county, 
Michigan, accompanied by his family, making the long journey 
with teams, bringing all of his worldly possessions, and camping 
and cooking by the wayside. He located at Three Rivers, where, 
but six months later, his death occurred. He married Susanna 
Switzer, who was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, of 
German ancestry, and was there bred to habits of thrift. After 
the death of her husband, she removed with the children to Flower- 
field township, bought a tract of land, and at once moved into 
the only building on the place, a small granary that had been 
previously erected. She occupied that during the winter, and in 
the spring built a frame house. The sons at once began clearing 
the land, working so earnestly and diligently that in due course 
of time they had a well-improved, productive homestead. There 
she spent the remainder of her life, passing away at the age of 
sixty-three years. She reared seven children, as follows : Samuel, 
Mary Ann, Leander, Reuben, Monroe, George H., and Jerry. 

Monroe Weinberg gained an excellent knowledge of the 
various branches of agriculture in his youthful days, and when 
ready to start in life for himself, bought land in Park township, 
this county, and was there employed in tilling the soil until 1867. 
Removing then to Three Rivers, he was engaged in mercantile 
pursuits for five years, when he became a resident of Moore Park, 
where he was actively and successfully engaged in buying and 
shipping grain until his death, June 8, 1908. He married Sarah 
Bramer, who was born in Park township, a daughter of George 
and Margaret (Fetter) Bramer, natives of Pennsylvania. She 
died in December, 1903, leaving five children, as follows : Eliza- 
beth, Darius E., Chailon, Lillie May, and Merle M. 

Lillie May Weinberg received good educational advantages 
as a girl ; while under her mother 's instruction she acquired a 
practical knowledge of domestic affairs. On December 3, 1891, 
she married Frank Mendenhall, of whom a brief sketch also ap- 
pears in this volume. In 1903 Mrs. and Mr. Mendenhall opened 
a mercantile establishment in Moore Park, and have since built 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 601 

up an extensive and lucrative trade. The business is under the 
exclusive management of Mrs. Mendenhall, a woman of tried and 
true ability, who is meeting with eminent success in her mercan- 
tile career. Gifted with a charming personality, she has a host 
of warm friends, and both she and her husband, whose time is 
fully occupied at the railway station, are held in high esteem. 
In addition to managing the store, Mrs. Mendenhall is also serving 
as postmistress. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Mendenhall, namely: a daughter, Vera; and a son, Adrian, who 
died in infancy. Vera wedded Glenn D. Reiff, who is engaged in 
the railroad business, being the present agent of the Lake Shore 
Railroad, at Moore Park, Michigan. They reside with Mr. and 
Mrs. Mendenhall. Mrs. Mendenhall is an active member of the 
Royal Neighbors Society, No. 1,059, and was recorder of this order 
for a number of years. 

James W. Ferguson. — Noteworthy among the many active 
and prosperous agriculturists of St. Joseph county is James W. 
Ferguson, who is successfully employed in general farming in 
Fabius township, having a well-improved estate. A son of David 
Ferguson, he was born March 8, 1848, in Toledo, Ohio, coming 
from thrifty Scotch ancestry. 

A native of Scotland, David Ferguson was born September 
25, 1825, in Wigtonshire, and when a small boy was left father- 
less. At the age of ten years he began to earn his own living by 
herding sheep in the green pastures of his native county. At the 
age of twelve years he began to learn the shoemaker's trade at 
Kirkoswald, in Ayrshire, where he served an apprenticeship of 
five years. He afterwards worked as a journeyman, and sup- 
ported his aged mother. In 1846, at the age of thirty-one years, 
he started for America, crossing the Atlantic in a sailing vessel, 
and being seventy days in making the voyage. Provisions and 
water ran short, and the passengers landed in New York City a 
worn and hungry crowd. After living a few months at Nyaek-on- 
the-Hudson, David Ferguson moved to Toledo, Ohio, where for six 
years he carried on an extensive business in manufacturing soles 
for custom-made shoes. Coming from there to Michigan, he spent 
one winter at Sturgis, and then located at Constantine, St. Joseph 
county, where he was engaged in business until 1856. In that 
year he bought, in Fabius township, forty acres of land, seven of 
which had been cleared. Building a log house, he cleared and im- 
proved about thirty acres of his farm, living there seven years. 



602 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Eeturning to Constantine in 1863, he was there employed as fore- 
man in a shoe factory for a number of years, after which he opened 
a store, and in the sale of shoes, and as a cobbler, he carried on an 
extensive business, being quite active until his death, in the 
eighty-third year of his age. He married Jane Boyd, who was 
born in Greenock, Scotland. She died at the age of thirty-nine 
years, leaving six children, namely: James W., the subject of 
this sketch; John B., Ellen, Walter S., David, and Euphemia. 

James W. Ferguson was a boy of eight years when the family 
located in Fabius township. There were but few schools in the 
place at that time, and he first attended the one located near the 
Morrison cemetery, and the next year attended the Hopkins 
School, which had been erected in the meantime. At the age of 
fifteen years he went to Cass county, where for three years he 
was employed as a farm laborer. Returning to Fabius township, 
he continued thus employed until 1871, when he assumed charge of 
his father's farm, which he managed for six years. Removing 
then to Three Rivers, Mr. Ferguson was for a time employed in a 
paper mill, after which he was engaged in teaming until 1892. 
The following three years he had supervision of the Hopkins 
farm, and on giving it up moved to N'ottawa township, where he 
rented land for three years. Successful in his undertakings, Mr. 
Ferguson then bought the farm of sixty acres in Fabius town- 
ship, on section 22, which he now owns and occupies. Here he 
is carrying on general farming with encouraging results, having 
his land in a good state of cultivation, and fairly improved. 

Mr. Ferguson married in 1872, Adalia Cochran, who was born 
in Fabius township, a daughter of the late William Cochran. Mr. 
Cochran came to Michigan in early manhood, locating as a pioneer 
in St. Joseph county in the early thirties, and for some time was 
employed in clearing and breaking land, working for wages. 
Prudent in his expenditures, he accumulated some money, and 
subsequently bought forty acres of land in Fabius township, built 
a log cabin, in which he installed his bride. He was fortunate in 
his labors, and afterward added by purchase four acres to his 
farm, and erected a set of substantial frame buildings. He con- 
tinued his work as an agriculturist until his death, at the age of 
sixty-seven years. His wife, whose maiden name was Phoebe 
Williams, came with her parents to St. Joseph county when a girl. 
She died at the age of sixty-seven years, also, leaving four chil- 
dren, namely : Adalia, wife of Mr. Ferguson ; Thomas, Uriah and 
Arthur. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson has been blessed by 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 603 

the birth of two children, namely: Arthur and Emma. Arthur, 
owning and occupying a farm near the parental homestead, is 
now serving as treasurer of Fabius township. He married Dora 
Pratt. Politically Mr. Ferguson is a stanch supporter of the prin- 
ciples of the Democratic party, and in 1909 was appointed high- 
way commissioner. 

Rector R. Russell, a prosperous farmer of Nottawa town- 
ship, was bom September 30, 1875, and is a son of Andrew C. and 
Chrysothemus (Thurston) Russell, both natives of Ohio. Andrew 
C. Russell was bom in 1840, son of Joseph Russell, who lived in 
Ohio. He was married in 1862 in St. Joseph county, Michigan; 
his wife was bom in St. Joseph county, in 1842, and was a daugh- 
ter of a farmer. After his marriage Mr. Russell purchased a farm 
in Nottawa township, which he afterwards sold and invested in a 
livery stable in Sturgis; afterwards he carried on a meat market 
there and then purchased a farm in Sherman township. He sold 
this farm and removed to Nebraska, where he followed farming 
four years and returned to Branch county, Michigan, where he 
spent four years on a farm, and then he purchased a farm in Not- 
tawa township, where he spent the remainder of his life. He died 
in 1901 and his wife survives him. He was a Republican and 
served as justice of the peace while living in Nebraska. Andrew 
Russell and his wife had children as follows: Hector D., bom in 
1866, a farmer of Washington state, married; Clare V., bom in 
1869, died unmarried in 1889; Iffigenia, bom 1873, married Eu- 
gene Sharp, of Colon, and died in 1901, left two sons, Obid E., four- 
teen years of age and Leon R., twelve years ; Rector R. ; Carlton W., 
of St. Mary's, Idaho, married and has one child, Andrew, four 
years old; and Cecil L., born in 1886, single, lives at home. 

Rector R. Russell was reared on a farm and received his edu- 
cation in the public schools. When seventeen years of age he be- 
gan working by the month on a farm, and some time later pur- 
chased the one hundred and fifty-two acre farm he now occupies. 
The land is in good condition, he has made all modem improve- 
ments, and the buildings and fences are in good condition. In pol- 
itics Mr. Russell is a Republican, and cast his first presidential 
vote for McKinley. He is industrious and ambitious, and is a 
public-spirited citizen. 

Grant E. Farrand. — A member of one of the honored and 
venerable, old pioneer families of Colon township, Grant E. Far- 

Vol. II— 8 



604 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

rand was bom and reared to maturity on the old homestead, on 
which he still resides. He was born on the 25th of September, 
1863, and is a son of Phineas and Betsey M. (Kinne) Farrand, both 
of whom were natives of Naples, Ontario county. New York. The 
former was bom in 1820 and died in 1896, in St. Joseph county, 
Michigan, and the latter was bom in 1826 and died in the year 
1894. In October, 1837, the year which marks the admission of 
Michigan to statehood, when Phineas Ferrand was a youth of 
seventeen years of age, he accompanied his parents to Colon town- 
ship, where they purchased a tract of ninety acres of land, which 
they reclaimed from the virgin forest to the productive farm on 
which Grant E., the subject of this sketch, and his brother, Joseph 
K., now maintain their home ; Mrs. Farrand likewise came to Leon- 
idas township with her parents, in 1845. Their marriage was sol- 
emnized in Leonidas, St. Joseph county, Michigan, and they be- 
came the parents of three children, namely: Joseph K., who was 
born on the 18th of July, 1847, assists his brother in the general 
supervision and management of the home farm; he is a bachelor; 
Theron G., who was born on the 22d of May, 1851, and died in 
1875, was married but had no children; and Grant E., the subject 
of this review. Mr. Farrand was a stanch adherent of the princi- 
ples and policies of the Republican party after its organization in 
1856 and he did much to aid in the upbuilding and development of 
Colon. 

Grant E. Farrand was reared to the sturdy discipline of the 
home farm and received his preliminary education in the district 
schools of the locality and period, which he attended during the 
winter terms, assisting in the cultivation of the farm during the 
summers. As already stated, he and his brother Joseph K. main- 
tain their home on the old homestead and they make a specialty of 
stock-raising, having large herds of registered shorthorn cattle and 
flocks of Delaine sheep. They are the most extensive stock-growers 
in the county and their well improved and valuable farm of over 
800 acres, on the banks of the St. Joseph river, adds greatly to the 
attractiveness of this section of the state. The name of this beau- 
tiful estate is known as Lakeside Stock Farm. 

On the 21st of June, 1893, Mr. Farrand was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Catherine Roy, who traces her lineage back to stanch 
old Scotch and Irish origin. She was bom on the 4th of July, 1865, 
and is a daughter of John G. and Elizabeth (Tullis) Roy. The 
former was bom at Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, and was one of the 
first white children to be born in that vicinity; the latter was 



HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 605 

bom in 1837, at Bellefontaine, Logan county, Ohio. They were 
married at Constantine, St. Joseph county, Michigan, where they 
maintained their home until their death and where Catherine was 
reared to maturity. Mr. and Mrs. Grant E. Farrand became the 
parents of five children, concerning whom the following brief rec- 
ord is entered here : Phineas Roy was bom on the 11th of April, 
1894, and he attends the Colon high school; Ray McKinley was 
bom on the 24th of November, 1896, and attends the public schools 
of Colon; Theron Kitchel was born on the 3d of February, 1900, 
died April 26, 1902 ; Virgil Clark was bom on the 20th of March, 
1902 ; and Walter Joseph was bom on the 4th of February, 1905. 
All remain at the parental home. 

Mr. Farrand, like his father, gives his political support to the 
Republican party. He is a member of the board of review and 
both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Colon. 

Thomas D. Givan, M. D. — ^Within the pages of this historical 
compilation will be found mention of many of those who stand 
prominent in professional and business circles, and it is most con- 
sonant that recognition be accorded to Dr. Givan, who is one of the 
representative physicians and surgeons of St. Joseph county and 
who is established in the practice of his profession in the city of 
Three Rivers, where he holds a secure place in popular confidence 
and esteem. 

Dr. Thomas Dale Givan was born at Liberty, Dekalb county, 
Tennessee, on the 17th of September, 1875, and is a son of Bluford 
H. and Cynthia J. (Dodd) Givan, both of whom were likewise bom 
and reared in Tennessee, being representatives of old and honored 
families of the fair southland. Of the six sons and two daughters 
all are living except two and all attained to years of maturity, he 
whose name initiates this review being the fourth son and sixth 
child. 

Bluford H. Givan spent the major part of his active career as 
a clothing merchant, and about the year 1882 he removed with his 
family to Missouri. He located at Springfield, Missouri, and Dr. 
Givan secured his early educational discipline in the public schools 
and after completing the curriculum of the high school he contin- 
ued his studies in Neosho College, at Neosho, Missouri. 

In 1895 he began the study of medicine, and in preparation 
for the work of his chosen profession he finally entered the St. 
Louis College of Physicians and Surgeons, in which he was gradu- 



606 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

ated as member of the class of 1900 and from which he received the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He initiated the active practice of 
his profession in the city of St. Louis, where he built up an ex- 
cellent business and where he continued to maintain his home un- 
til 1906, in which year he came to Three Rivers, where his pro- 
fessional success has been on a parity with his ability as a physi- 
cian and surgeon and where his personality has gained to him un- 
qualified popularity. 

In 1908 Dr. Givan completed a post-graduate course in the 
Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat College, in the city of Chicago, and since 
that time he has devoted special attention to the treatment of the 
diseases of the organs mentioned, although he still conducts a gen- 
eral practice. He has continued a close student of the sciences of 
medicine and surgery and is thoroughly en rapport with his pro- 
fession, to which his devotion is of the most insistent order and in 
which he has gained both success and prestige. The Doctor is 
identified with the St. Joseph County Medical Society, the Michi- 
gan State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. 
In the Masonic order he has become affiliated with the lodge, chap- 
ter and commandery of Three Rivers and he is a most apprecia- 
ive member of this time-honored fraternity, besides which he holds 
a membership in Knights of Pythias and other organizations of 
fraternal or social order. In politics, although never imbued with 
aught of desire for public offilce, he is aligned as a stanch sup- 
porter of the cause of the Democratic party. He is a member of 
the Baptist church, and his wife is a member of the English Luth- 
eran church. 

On the 8th of March, 1906, was solemnized the marriage of 
Dr. Givan to Miss Emma L. Timm, who was bom and reared in 
St. Joseph county, and who is a daughter of Helmar H. Trimm, 
an honored pioneer of the county, whither he and his wife came 
direct from Germany. Dr. and Mrs. Givan are popular factors in 
connection with the best social activities of the community and as 
a citizen he is progressive and public-spirited. He and his wife 
have no children. They reside in one of the prettiest and coziest 
homes in Three Rivers. It is beautifully lighted by electricity, the 
stairway is finished in mahogany and the floors laid in squares. 
The furniture and everything in the place is in keeping with the 
surroundings. They have a fine library, containing almost one 
thousand volumes of choice literature. Dr. Givan has his labora- 
tory and office fitted up in the most approved modern style, his 
apparatus for electrical treatment being of recent design. 







pq 

CO 

o 
•-) 

t^ 
o 

w 
u 
iz; 
W 
Q 

HH 
CO 

w 

< 

t4 
u 

O 
H 
c/} 

P^ 
> 

o 
u 

o 
p^ 



c 

H 

< 
Q 

I— ! 

o 
w 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 609 

John F. Frisbie. — The agriculturist is one of the most potent 
factors in the wealth and prosperity of a state or nation, and in 
the following review of Mr. Frisbie we present the record of 
one of the prominent and successful farmers and stockmen of 
St. Joseph county, where he resides on a beautiful estate in 
Leonidas township. Mr. Frisbie was born in Ashtabula county, 
Ohio, April 4, 1854, and is the third in a family of twelve children, 
— seven sons and five daughters, — born to Theodore and Celia 
(Moore) Frisbie. There are four sons and three daughters yet 
living, but only three reside in St. Joseph county. 

Theodore Frisbie was a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio, 
and was born February 29, 1830, and died in 1907. By trade he 
was a carpenter and joiner and by occupation a farmer, and he 
was reasonably successful in life. Politically he was an old line 
Whig and well remembered the ''Tippecanoe and Tyler Too," 
campaign, when the log cabin and a barrel of hard cider were 
made the slogans, but upon the birth of the Republican party under 
the ''Oaks" at Jackson, Michigan, he ever after advocated those 
principles. Officially he held such offices as supervisor of his 
township and also director of the public schools. Fraternally he 
was a member of the Masonic order, his obsequies being con- 
ducted by it. He was interred in his home county and cemetery, 
the latter having been plotted and presented to the community by 
his father, the subject of this sketch well remembering the plot of 
ground. The wife and mother was also a native of old Ashtabula 
county and was reared there. She was a devout member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church and was a true wife and devoted 
mother to her large family. 

Mr. Frisbie, of this review, was reared as a farmer lad and 
was early in life inured to the tilling of the soil. He is purely 
a self-made and self-educated man. He began at the early age 
of eleven years as a wage earner, the first wages he received being 
six dollars per month. At the age of thirteen he came with his 
parents to Burr Oak township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, and 
worked for a Mr. Atwood for five years. Whilst living in Ohio 
he calls to mind the time of the Civil war, when Lee was invading 
Pennsylvania and the battle of Gettysburg was fought in '63. 
At this time the word came to the citizens to collect guns and to 
be ready to defend their homes, and his employer, Robert Smith, 
gave him an old musket to do his part, but the citizens escaped 
being called upon for active duty. 



610 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

When Mr. Frisbie began life in Michigan he worked as a farm 
laborer at fifteen dollars per month, so it is readily seen that he 
began at the bottom and has had to ascend the ladder of life round 
by round. His educational advantages were quite meager, as he 
attended school only three months during the winter time and 
paid his own way. 

Mr. Frisbie wedded Miss Effie C. Whiting, in Mendon, Michi- 
gan, August 14, 1877, and eight children were born to the union, 
six living at the present. The eldest is Celia M., wife of Claude 
Adams, an agriculturist of Colon, Michigan, one child having been 
born to them, named Cecil ; Mrs. Adams was one of the successful 
teachers of St. Joseph county. Eben T. is a resident of Kalamazoo 
county and one of its successful farmers; he married Miss AUie 
West. Ida M. is a student in the Kalamazoo Normal school and 
is also one of St. Joseph county's teachers. Una B. is at home 
and is a member of the class of 1911 of the Mendon high school. 
John B. and Cecil E. are in the ninth and eighth grades at school, 
respectively. Mrs. Frisbie, the mother of the children, is a native 
of St. Joseph county and like them was educated in the Mendon 
high school, and afterward taught in the public schools. She is 
a member of the Congregational church of Leonidas, Michigan. 
Her mother still resides in Leonidas township. 

Politically Mr. Frisbie is one of the tried and true Republi- 
cans of his county, having always adhered to the principles of 
the Grand Old Party. He cast his maiden presidential vote for 
Hayes and has supported Blaine, Garfield, McKinley and Roose- 
velt, and is a great admirer of the Colonel. He has been selected 
by his party as delegate to the state conventions held at Detroit 
and Grand Rapids, and a number of times to the county conven- 
tions to represent the interests of the Republican party. Officially 
he has been a valued member of his county, serving as deputy 
sheriff of the county for six years, and he has been director of the 
home school for years. He is a great friend of the public schools 
and is highly in favor of universal education for both sexes. 
Fraternally he has passed all the chairs in the I. 0. 0. F. at 
Leonidas Lodge, No. 117, and both he and his wife are members 
of the Rebekahs. At present he is P. C. P. of his lodge, and both 
he and Mrs. Frisbie are members of the K. 0. T. M. and L. 0. T. M. 
at Leonidas. He has been selected as delegate to the coming 
grand lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Frisbie is owner of three hundred and six and one-half 
acres of fine land" all beautifully situated in Leonidas township. 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 611 

on the banks of the romantic St. Joseph river. This estate is 
known as ''The Red Clover Stock Farm.'' Its owner is well 
known in the county as a buyer and shipper of live stock, having 
been in the business for twenty-six years, and having been in 
partnership with Wood Brothers, of Athens, Michigan, for nine- 
teen years, and recently retired on account of ill health. During 
the first year the firm did $106,000 worth of business and last 
year it amounted to $368,000, sixty-eight carloads having been 
shipped to Chicago, Detroit and Buffalo in one month. 

Mr. Frisbie is a gentleman, who, from a business standpoint, 
has made a signal success of life, for he began with absolutely 
nothing except strong will power, fortitude and ambition, coupled 
with rare business ability. It is a pleasure to compile the record 
of such a man, since it is a worthy example from which poor boys 
may take courage and try to duplicate. 

George A. Ash. — Conspicuous among the able and intelligent 
men who have taken an active part in promoting and advancing 
the agricultural interests of Fabius township is George A. Ash, 
who has the distinction of being a native-born citizen of St. 
Joseph county, and one of its representative men. A son of 
George Ash, he was bom in Flowerfield township, April 15, 1841, 
of English ancestry. 

James Ash, his grandfather, was born in Lincolnshire, Eng- 
land, and after his emigration to America lived several years in 
Canada. About 1830 he came to the territory of Michigan, and 
was one of the first settlers of Washtenaw county, where he took 
up a tract of wild land. Selling out in 1836, he came to St. Joseph 
county, and bought a section of land in Flowerfield township, 
where he was one of the first settlers. He cleared and improved 
a homestead, and acquired a handsome property, as his sons 
married, giving to each a tract of land, that locality becoming 
known as the Ash settlement. He lived to the ripe old age of 
ninety years, and reared four sons and four daughters. 

Born in Canada, George Ash came with the family to Wash- 
tenaw county, Michigan, and there grew to manhood. When he 
married he received as a gift from his father after his death, 
eighty acres of land in Flowerfield township, and in the log cabin 
that he erected he installed his bride as housekeeper. The country 
roundabout was then in its virgin wildness, game of all kinds 
was abundant, and the Indians outnumbered the white settlers. 
There were neither railways nor convenient markets, all trans- 



612 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

portation was with teams. He cleared a part of his land, in the 
meantime working at various employments in order to get ready 
money. In the fall of 1841 he went down the river with a load of 
flour, was taken ill, and died away from home. He married, in 
Washtenaw county, Mary Ann Lewis, who was born in Seneca, 
Ontario county, New York, a daughter of Charles C. P. Lewis, 
and grand-daughter of John Lewis. 

A native of Massachusetts, John Lewis served as a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war, after which he settled in New York state, 
becoming a pioneer of Seneca. Purchasing land, he cleared a farm 
from the forest, and there resided until his death. He was active 
in local affairs, and was a member of the State Militia. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Rebecca Wheaton, was born in Massa- 
chusetts, and died, at the age of sixty-eight years, in Seneca, New 
York. 

Charles C. P. Lewis was born in York state, and received more 
educational advantages than the majority of country boys in 
those days, completing his studies at a college in Geneva. An 
only son, he assisted his father on the farm during his boyhood 
days, and after the death of his father, in 1834, he started west- 
ward in search of cheap lands, traveling by way of the Erie Canal 
to Buffalo, thence by lake boat to Detroit, and from there to 
Washtenaw county with a team. Buying land near Salina vil- 
lage, he began the pioneer labor of reclaiming a farm from the 
wilderness. Selling out a few years later, he removed to St. 
Joseph county, and was here a resident a number of years. He 
spent his last days at the home of a son, in Nebraska. 

Charles C. P. Lewis was twice married. He married first 
Nancy Barnard, who died in 1826, leaving three children, namely: 
Mary Ann, who became the wife of George Ash ; John ; and James. 
He married second Mary Woolsey, who died in Nebraska. 

Mary Ann Lewis inherited the intellectual tastes of her father, 
and after leaving the district schools, attended a private school 
in Washtenaw county. Desirous of making good use of her 
talents, and also of assisting her young husband in his efforts to 
accumulate some property, she began teaching after her marriage 
with George Ash, in her log cabin home, opening the first school 
established in Flowerfield township, having fourteen pupils, and 
receiving for her services as teacher $20 a month, a handsome 
remuneration for those times. She was a woman of high moral 
principles, and when a young girl united with the Baptist church. 
On coming to St. Joseph county she united with the Methodist 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY ' 613 

Episcopal church, and has since been one of its most valued and 
consistent members. She was a charter member of the Women's 
Foreign Missionary Society, and also of the Wbmen's Home 
Missionary Society. She remained a widow for three years after 
the death of Mr. Ash, caring tenderly for her only child, George 
A. Ash, the subject of this sketch. In 1844 she married for her 
second husband William Arney, Esquire, who was born in Ver- 
mont, a son of John Arney. 

John Arney, a native of England, served as a young man in 
the British Army. Subsequently emigrating to Vermont, he soon 
after lost an arm by the premature explosion of a gun. He then 
fitted himself for a professional career, and for awhile taught 
school in Pennsylvania. Migrating from that state to Michigan, 
he bought timbered land in St. Joseph county, and here lived 
and labored until his death. William Arney taught school when 
young, and afterwards invested his earnings in land, buying one 
hundred and sixty acres of land lying four miles west of Three 
Rivers, and was there successfully employed in tilling the soil the 
remainder of his years. He was an influential and active member 
of the Democratic party, and for twelve years served as justice 
of the peace. To him and his wife eight children were born, as 
follows : Daniel L. ; Charles W., who served in the Civil war, and 
died while in the service ; Mary ; Frances ; John W. ; Edgar ; Ella ; 
and Ruth. Mrs. Arney, who now makes her home with her oldest 
son, Mr. Ash, is a venerable woman of nearly ninety years, well 
preserved mentally and physically, bearing her burden of years 
easily and gracefully. 

Growing to manhood among pioneer scenes, George A. Ash 
has witnessed with pleasure and gratification the gradual trans- 
formation of St. Joseph county from a dreary wilderness to a 
rich and productive agricultural region, and in its development 
and advancement has been an important factor. A poem which 
he has written gives an interesting account of the labors involved 
in eliminating the vast forests and building up the populous and 
prosperous villages and towns, and the rich farming estates, 
giving a brief account of the struggles of the brave pioneers, in 
whose footsteps the rising generations shall follow with far less 
exertion, and with a far greater number of the comforts and 
luxuries of this world. Reared to agricultural pursuits, Mr. Ash 
has carried on farming a large part of his life. Soon after arriv- 
ing at man 's estate he bought wild land in section 2, Fabius town- 
ship, and having improved a part of it sold at an advantage, and 



614 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

bought property at Three Elvers, where for awhile he conducted 
a restaurant. He afterwards bought a farm about two miles out 
from the village, and lived there twenty years. Trading that 
farm for one near Centerville, he resided there five years, and 
then traded for his present fine estate near Three Rivers, where 
he is now carrying on general farming with good results. 

In June, 1864, Mr. Ash married Mary A. Maehin, who was 
born in Lincolnshire, England, and came to this country at the 
age of two and one-half years. Her father, William Maehin, 
emigrated with his family to the United States in the forties, be- 
ing three months crossing the ocean in a sailing vessel. From 
New York City he came to Michigan, and for a time lived in 
Florence township, St. Joseph county. He subsequently bought 
wild land in Fabius township, and on the farm which he redeemed 
from the wilderness passed the remainder of his life, dying at the 
age of fifty-six years. He married Elizabeth Towne, who at- 
tained the age of four score and four years. She reared four 
children, as follows: John, William, Joseph, Mary, twin sister 
of Joseph, married Mr. Ash. Ten children have blessed the union 
of Mr. and Mrs. Ash, namely : George, who married Clara Carver ; 
William married Grace Lovejoy, and they have one child, Leo; 
Joseph married Mary Saunders, and they have three children, 
Jacob, Harvey, and La Verne; Elizabeth, wife of Walter Major, 
has one child, Warren; John married Lora Coloska; Edgar mar- 
ried Mamie Speese, and they have one child, Marie Antoinette; 
Mary ; Nellie ; Orin, who married Erta Catell ; and Elva. Politi- 
cally Mr. Ash is a steadfast Republican, and religiously both he 
and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church in 
Three Rivers. 

Henry J. Hampson, a prosperous merchant of Centerville, 
is a native of that city, bom September 27, 1849. He is a son of 
Henry W. and Mahala (Fletcher) Hampson. His father was born 
in Pennsylvania, in 1804, and died in Centerville, in 1872; the 
mother was bom in the state of New York in 1806. Henry W. 
Hampson came to St. Joseph county in 1832, and afterward 
entered one hundred sixty acres of land ; after the founding of Cen- 
terville he lived in that village, where he followed the trade of car- 
penter. His wife came with her parents in 1829 and located two 
miles northeast of the town ; they were married in 1834, and had 
seven children, of whom but two survive, Henry J. and Mrs. L. A. 
Clapp. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 615 

Henry J. Hampson received his education in the public 
schools of Centerville, and when sixteen years of age began clerk- 
ing in a general store, which he continued ten years. He went to 
Kansas and spent two years in the grocery business, then returned 
to Centerville, and two years later started business on his own ac- 
count, in the line of groceries, which he has since continued. He 
carries a fine stock and the most complete line of groceries in the 
town. He is an enterprising and competent business man, and has 
other interests outside of his store, being president of the Electric 
Light Company since its organization, and Treasurer of the St. 
Joseph and Branch County Mutual Village Fire Insurance Com- 
pany. In the spring of 1909 Mr. Hampson was elected justice of 
the peace. In political views he is a Democrat, and has served six 
years as township clerk. 

In October, 1882, Mr. Hampson married Ida, daughter of 
James Stoddard, bom in Van Buren county, Michigan, in 1858; 
they have no children. 

Almeron R. Barnes.— a capable, skilful and thrifty farmer, 
Almeron R. Barnes, of Fabius township, occupies a position of 
note among the representative agriculturists of St. Joseph county, 
and by his strict and honorable dealings has gained the confidence 
and respect of his neighbors and fellow-associates. A son of the 
late George W. Barnes, he was bom, December 29, 1852, in Dover 
township, Fulton county, Ohio. His grandfather, who came of 
Holland ancestry, migrated with his family from Maryland to 
Ohio in the early part of the nineteenth century, and, with his 
wife, spent his last years in Fulton county. 

The youngest member of the household, George W. Barnes was 
a mere child when he accompanied his parents to Ohio. Brought 
up on a farm, he became a tiller of the soil from choice, and was 
busily engaged in agricultural pursuits when the tocsin of war 
rang out through the land. Leaving his plow in the furrow, he en- 
listed in Company A, Sixty-seventh Ohio Volunteer Infantry, went 
with his comi^and to the front, and died while in service. He 
was twice married. His first wife, whose maiden name was Hester 
Schoonover was bom in New York state, of Holland ancestry. 
She died about 1860, leaving one child, Almeron R., the subject of 
this sketch. ' George W. Barnes married for his second wife Julia 
Ann Smith, who outlived him. 

Left fatherless when young, Almeron R. Barnes began to be 
self-supporting as a boy, working on a farm, and on a railroad. 



616 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Coming to Michigan at the age of sixteen years, he was for awhile 
employed on a farm near White Pigeon, St. Joseph county. Be- 
ginning his career subsequently as an independent farmer on 
rented land, he was exceedingly prosperous, each year making 
money, and in 1888 he purchased his present fine farm of one hun- 
dred and forty acres, in Fabius township. His land is well im- 
proved, and the buildings are pleasantly located, and made at- 
tractive by the numerous beautiful black walnut and elm trees 
that furnish ample shade in the summer season. 

Mr. Barnes married, in January, 1884, Flora C. Seeley, who 
was bom and brought up in this township, a daughter of Clark P. 
and Dolly (Beadle.) Seeley. Her father, a native of New York 
state, was a natural mechanic, but after his emigration to Michi- 
gan bought wild land in Fabius township, and was here employed 
in agricultural pursuits until his death. Mr. and Mrs. Barnes 
had four children, — Dolly, wife of Charles Milhan, a resident of 
Three Kivers ; Leaf a, at home ; AUie, who died at the age of eight- 
een months; and G. Lee, at home, a high school student. 

Mr. and Mrs. Barnes and two of their children are members of 
the Methodist Episcopal church at Three Elvers. They have on 
their farm one of the most beautiful barns in the county— a credit 
to the township of Fabius. Mr. Barnes is a member of K. O. T. M., 
Tent No. 87 at Three Rivers and Mrs. Barnes a member of the 
Mystic Workers, also at Three Rivers. 

Frank M. Case. — A valued member of the city council of 
Three Rivers and recognized as one of the representative citizens 
and business men of St. Joseph county, Mr. Case is a member of a 
family whose name has been identified with the industrial and 
civic history of this county for nearly half a century, and here he 
has lived from his infancy to the present time, save for an interval 
of five years passed in the city of Kalamazoo. In Three Rivers he 
conducts a large and successful business as a wholesale and retail 
dealer in coal and lumber, in which connection he has the best of 
facilities, and he is also a stockholder in the Three Rivers Knitting 
Company, one of the most important industrial concerns of the 
county. Progressive and public-spirited, he wields no little influ- 
ence in his home city and county, and his course has been so guided 
and governed by principles of integrity and honor that he has not 
been denied the full measure of popular confidence and esteem. 

Frank Merrit Case was bom on a farm in Berrien county, 
Michigan, on the 14th of February, 1862, and in the following year 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 617 

his parents removed to St. Joseph county and settled on a farm in 
Park township. He is a son of William P. and Sarah (Branch) 
Case, both of whom were bom and reared in the state of New York, 
where their marriage was solemnized and whence they came to 
Michigan in 1861. The father was of English descent and the 
family was founded in America in the colonial days, as was also 
that of the mother, whose lineage likewise is traced back to stanch 
English origin. Frank M. is the only child of this union and he 
was three years of age at the time of his mother's death, in 1865. 
William P. Case later married Mrs. Emeline Snow, now residing 
in Colon, and they became the parents of two children, — Sarah 
A., who died at the age of thirty-two years, and Edward P., who is 
a representative business man of Three Rivers. Upon coming to 
Branch county the father located in Sherwood township, where he 
continued to be actively identified with agricultural pursuits until 
his death, which occurred when he was in his fiftieth year, in 
1879. He espoused the cause of the Republican party at the time 
of its organization and ever afterward continued a stanch advo- 
cate of its principles. He was a consistent member and local 
preacher of the Methodist Episcopal church, as were also his first 
and his second wives. 

He whose name initiates this review passed the days of his 
boyhood and youth on the homestead farm in Sherwood township, 
and after completing the curriculum of the district schools he con- 
tinued his studies in the village schools of Athens, in the adjoin- 
ing county of Calhoun, this place being not far distant from his 
home. For a number of years after leaving school he continued 
his active association with the great basic industry of agriculture, 
and in 1891 he took up his residence in the city of Kalamazoo, 
where he was engaged in the retail lumber business for about two 
years, at the expiration of which, in 1893, he removed to Three 
Rivers, where he engaged in the same line of enterprise, as senior 
member of the firm of Case & Coon, in which his associate was Fred 
H. Coon. At the expiration of the first year he purchased his 
partner's interest in the business, which he has since continued 
very successfully and to which he has added the handling of coal, 
both at wholesale and retail. The enterprise is one of the impor- 
tant business undertakings of the county's metropolis, and fair 
and honorable dealings are the basis of the substantial support ac- 
corded. Mr. Ca^e has been a stockholder of the Three Rivers Knit- 
ting Company from the time of its incorporation, and in divers 
other ways has he lent his encouragement and co-operation in the 



618 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

support of enterprises and measures that have inured greatly to 
the industrial and commercial advancement of the city. 

In politics Mr. Case is found arrayed as a stalwart supporter 
of the cause of the Republican party, and while he has never been 
a seeker of public office he has never failed in the performance of 
any civic duty, and since 1908 he has represented the First ward 
as a member of the city council, in which body he has put forth 
every possible effort to conserve good municipal government. He 
is affiliated with Three Rivers Lodge, No. 43, Knights of Pythias, 
and with the Knights of the Maccabees. 

On the 8th of March, 1883, Mr. Case was united in marriage to 
Miss Laura Bowman, who was bom in Medina county, Ohio, and 
reared in Leonidas township, St. Joseph county, and who is a 
daughter of John W. and Eliza Bowman. Mr. Bowman died 
March 21, 1880, and his wife is now living in Hastings, Michigan. 
Mr. Bowman was one of the successful farmers of this part of the 
county. Mr. and Mrs. Case have no children. They are both mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church of Three Rivers. 

Conrad A. Lamberson was for many years one of Colon 
township's millers, having conducted what is now the oldest mill 
in the county. It was erected in 1839. From 1877 until 1880 it 
was conducted by Lamberson and Hoffman, and in the latter year 
Joseph Farrand purchased Mr. Hoffman's interest. In the mean- 
time, in 1895, Franklin D. Lamberson, a son of Conrad A., had 
been admitted into the firm as a partner, and until Mr. Farrand 
came into the company the style of the firm was C. A. Lamberson 
& Company. The average daily output of the mill is one hundred 
barrels of flour. 

Conrad A. Lamberson was bom in Brady township, Kala- 
mazoo county, Michigan, January 23, 1841, a son of Abraham 
Lamberson and a grandson of Conrad Lamberson who was of Ger- 
man descent and lived and died in Pennsylvania. His wife, a Miss 
Boone, also of German descent and to whom he was married in 
Pennsylvania, bore him the following children: Nicholas; John, 
who died in Pennsylvania when fifty years of age ; Abraham, men- 
tioned below; Isaac, who died in Pennsylvania when about sixty- 
five years of age ; and Sarah, wife of Abraham Anthony, who died 
in her native state at the good old age of eighty-six years. Some 
of these children died at the home of Conrad Lamberson in Colon 
township. Abraham Lamberson was born in Pennsylvania in 
1809, became a carpenter and farmer, espoused the cause of the 




< 

pq 

o 



m 

P4 

Q 

< 
o 

Q 

W 
I— I 

w 

P 

o 

CO 

w 

H 

O 

iz; 
O 

:z; 

w 



< 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 621 

Whig party, but was not a politician, and was married in Michi- 
gan to Maria, a daughter of John Crad«es, who was bom and 
reared in Berks county, Pennsylvania, and who was a participant 
in the war of 1812. 

After his marriage Mr. Lamberson bought land in Kalama- 
zoo, and then moved to Park township in St. Joseph county, and 
later removing to Yicksburg, he died in that city in 1885. He 
helped to erect mills and other buildings in the city of Three Riv- 
ers. His wife passed away at Yicksburg in 1887. 

Conrad A. Lamberson received a common school training, 
worked as a carpenter and later as a farmer, and then entered 
upon his long and successful career as a miller. He has long been 
one of the leading citizens of Colon, contributing his share and 
more toward its growth and upbuilding, and now after a success- 
ful and useful career he is living retired from an active business 
life. In August of 1861 he enlisted in the Sixth Michigan Infan- 
try, going first to Baltimore, thence to Newport News, to the Gulf 
of Mexico and the mouth of the Mississippi river to New Orleans. 
He took part in the first assault on Port Hudson, May 27, 1863, 
and in the battle before the surrender on July 8, 1863. He en- 
dured the hardships of the Mississippi campaign, took part in the 
battle of Baton Rouge on July 8, 1862, was made a high private 
in rear rank, having charge of the doctors' mess and was mustered 
out in August, 1864. He is a member of the Masonic order, hav- 
ing served as both junior and senior warden of the Colon Blue 
Lodge, is also a Knight Templar of Sturgis Commandery, and 
during the past eight or ten years has served as king of the Colon 
chapter. 

On the 28th of March, 1865, Mr. Lamberson married Elizabeth 
Dentler, bom in Park township in June, 1843, a daughter of Penn- 
sylvania farmers. The following children have been born to them : 
Nettie, who died when but a day old; Franklin D., bom March 
18, 1870, was wedded twice ; first to Miss Katharine Anderson and 
two children were born — Marie, in the eighth grade and Harriett 
E. in the fifth grade. The mother of these children died in 1902, 
and for his second wife Franklin D. married Miss Edith Ralph, 
and they have one son, Franklin Abraham. Franklin Lamberson 
is a member of Colon Blue Lodge, Colon R. A. M., and Sturgis 
Commandery, K. T. 

John B. Larkin. — One of the noble and honored veterans of 
the Civil war, who so freely gave his services to the cause of his 



622 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

country and who figured prominently at Fredericksburg, Rappa- 
hannock and in the battle of Bull Run with Hooker, and who was 
a member of the Army of the Potomac, is John B. Larkin, pioneer 
settler in St. Joseph county, Michigan. 

John B. Larkin was born in Rhode Island on the 10th of 
September, 1840, and is a son of Christopher and Ruhamah 
(Bently) Larkin, both of whom were born near Newport, Rhode 
Island, the father in March, 1817, and the mother on the 18th of 
January, 1818. Christopher Larkin died in Genesee county, New 
York, in April, 1895, and his cherished and devoted wife was 
summoned to the life eternal in the following month of the same 
year. Except for three or four brief visits to their son, John B., 
who was the only child to venture forth to seek his fortunes in 
the then sparsely settled state of Michigan, Mr. and Mrs. Larkin 
spent their entire lives in the east; they lived in Rhode Island 
until 1847, whence they removed to the state of New York, when 
John B., subject of this review, was but seven years of age. Mr. 
and Mrs. Larkin became the parents of six children, namely: 
Hannah, wife of Stilwell S'tillman, who is now deceased, was born 
in 1838 and maintains her home in Genesee county, New York; 
John B., to whom this sketch is dedicated ; Mercy, who was born 
in 1842, is the widow of Henry Norton and resides in Elba, New 
York, with her two sons ; Roland, who was born in Rhode Island 
and who died in infancy; Mary, who was born in New York in 
1846 and who died in 1905, was married to Francis Hackley and 
is survived by two children ; her husband is also deceased ; Mertie, 
who was born in 1848, married Henry Raymond, now deceased, 
and she lives with her two children in New York. 

John B. Larkin, whose name initiates this review, received 
his preliminary education in the east, attending the public schools 
of Kingston, Rhode Island, until eighteen years of age, when he 
engaged in agricultural pursuits, and on the 22nd of September, 
1861, at the outbreak of the Civil war, he enlisted in Company F, 
One Hundred and Fifth New York Volunteer Infantry, at Haw- 
ley, Orleans county. New York. The company proceeded to 
Washington, where it went into camp for three or four weeks and 
whence it proceeded to Alexander, where it remained in winter 
quarters until June, 1862 ; Company F then proceeded to Slaughter 
Mountain, Fredericksburg and Rappahannock and later fought 
the notable battle of Bull Run, under Hooker. Mr. Larkin was a 
member of the First Brigade of the First Division of the First 
Army Corps of the Army of the Potomac, and was mustered out 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 623 

in Washington, in 1864. In the fall of that year he came to St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, where his devotion to the good of his 
country caused him to re-enlist on the 13th of March, 1865, and 
he was mustered out on the 16th of September, 1865, as a member 
of Company F, Eleventh Michigan Volunteer Infantry. He went 
with his company to Nashville, Tennessee, and from there to 
Cleveland, Tennessee, where they remained until the last of 
August when they proceeded to Knoxville, from which place the 
army came home to Jackson, Michigan, where Mr. Larkin was 
honorably discharged. Mr. Larkin participated in many battles 
in this great, internecine conflict and he displayed much valor 
and patriotic loyalty by coming to the front and offering his serv- 
ices at a time when the help of every able man was needed in 
order to restore peace and order to the seceding states. After 
his return to Michigan he was employed at farming near Leonidas, 
St. Joseph county, Michigan, where he has since maintained his 
home with the exception of two years, which he spent in Mendon, 
St. Joseph county, Michigan. 

On the 17th of January, 1866, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Larkin to Miss Elizabeth Ann Harvey, who was born in 
Leonidas, Michigan, on the 31st of May, 1845, and who is a 
daughter of Addison and Anna E. (Hall) Harvey. Addison Har- 
vey was a native of Cattaraugus county. New York, and Mrs. 
Harvey was bom in Ashtabula, Ashtabula county, Ohio. The 
latter died in 1848, when Mrs. Larkin was but three years of age. 
Mr. Harvey was born in Randolph, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, on the 21st of August, 1814. In 1837 he removed with his 
family to Leonidas township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, where 
he followed the great basic industry of agriculture. Mr. Harvey 
was thrice married, the mother of Mrs. Larkin being his second 
wife. Mr. Harvey died on the 1st of October, 1889, in Mendon, St. 
Joseph county, Michigan. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. 
Larkin resided in Mendon for seven months, after which they re- 
moved to the farm of Mr. Harvey, in Leonidas township, where 
they maintained their home until 1899, since which time they 
have been living in Leonidas, St. Joseph county, Michigan, where 
Mr. Larkin is engaged in farming. Mr. and Mrs. Larkin became 
the parents of five children, of whom the following brief data is 
recorded, — Mertie, born in Leonidas, Michigan, on the 6th of 
October, 1866, became the wife of Adam Longenecker, who is a 
merchant; they reside in Leonidas and have three children, — 
Margaret, Meda and Ruhamah; Porter, born on the 27th of Sep- 

Vol. II— 9 



624 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

tember, 1868, resides in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and is an ex- 
press messenger ; he has one son, Clyde, who married Jane Parker ; 
Nellie S., born on the 13th of March, 1873, is the wife of Harvey 
Schoock and they reside with their four children,— Harlie, Arnold, 
Yera and Norma, in Three* Rivers, Michigan ; Lewis H., born on 
the 18th of April, 1880, is a resident of Cleveland, Ohio, and is a 
railroad engineer on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern; he 
married Leona Burkheart; Leo, born on the 25th of May, 1885, 
is a barber in Union City, Branch county, Michigan; he is a 
bachelor. 

Mr. John B. Larkin has a fine collection of war and Indian 
relics, gathered on his travels during the Civil war. In politics 
Mr. Larkin is a stanch adherent of the principles and policies of 
the Democratic party and though never a seeker of public office 
he has ever been zealous for the advancement of the general wel- 
fare of the community in which he makes his home, and no one 
ranks higher in the esteem and confidence of his fellow men than 
does this energetic and progressive citizen. He is affiliated with 
the Grange and with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
has been a charter member of the 0. J. Fast Post, No. 193, Grand 
Army of the Republic, for the past twenty-seven years. Mr. Lar- 
kin and his wife are devout members of the Congregational 
church. 

Thomas H. Boles.— Familiarly known to the residents of 
Fabius township as one of its most prosperous, enterprising and 
progressive agriculturists, Thomas H. Boles owns and occupies a 
well-improved homestead, and in its management has ever shown 
much ability and superior judgment. Coming from thrifty pi- 
oneer stock, he was born on the farm where he now resides, May 
31, 1835, a son of James Boles. 

Born June 9, 1790, in Pennsylvania, James Boles was there 
brought up and married. Soon after his marriage he moved to 
Ohio, and was a resident of Marion for a number of years. In 
1835 he took advantage of the cheap land for sale by the Govern- 
ment in the territory of Michigan, and came with his family to 
St. Joseph county, being one of the first settlers of Fabius town- 
ship. The land was in its pristine wildness, with only an occa- 
sional householder. He entered the northwest quarter of section 
28, paying the regulation price of $1.25 an acre, and after build- 
ing a rude log house, began the improvement of a homestead. 
He had made but little progress, however, when, in 1841, his death 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 625 

occurred, while he was yet a comparatively young man. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Phyannah Hamilton, was born in Penn- 
sylvania, and died on the farm, in Fabius township, in June, 1885, 
in the ninety-first year of her age, her birth having occurred 
September 4, 1794. To her and her husband ten children were 
born, as follows : Samson, John, Robert R., James C. S., Washing- 
ton, Thomas H., Sophia, Elizabeth, Henry and Clarissa. 

But five years of age when his father died, Thomas H. Boles 
acquired his early education in the pioneer schools of his day, and 
as soon as physically able began to assist in the farm labors. At 
the age of fourteen years he assumed the entire management of 
the homestead, which at that date had only twenty acres cleared, 
although plenty of grain had been raised for the family use. 
Deer, wild turkey, and other kinds of game were then abundant, 
supplying the family larder with what in these days would be 
called luxuries. Since that time Mr. Boles has witnessed many 
wonderful transformations in the face of the country, the pathless 
forests having given way before the axe of the pioneer; the log 
cabins of the fathers being replaced by commodious frame houses ; 
while the hamlets of early times have developed into thriving vil- 
lages and populous cities and towns. Succeeding in course of 
time to the ownership of the home farm, he has cleared the land, 
putting it in a high state of cultivation, and further enhanced its 
value by the erection of a good set of farm buildings. Of recent 
years, with his son, he has become interested in tree planting, 
having set out several thousand forest trees of different varieties, 
including black walnut, catalpa, yellow locust, white oak, red oak, 
hickory, pine, willow, elm, ash, and white maple. 

On February 19, 1858, Mr. Boles married Rachel V. Trattles, 
who was born November 28, 1833, in Yorkshire, England, which 
was also the birthplace of her father, William Trattles. Learning 
the trade of a wagon maker when young, William Trattles fol- 
lowed it a very short time, and then turned his attention to farm- 
ing. Leaving his native shire in 1844, he emigrated with his wife 
and six children to America, embarking on the sailing vessel 
** Joseph Cunard,'' and battling with the wind and waves eight 
weeks and two days before arriving in New York harbor. From 
there he proceeded by way of the Hudson river and Erie canal to 
Buffalo, thence by lake Iboat to Detroit, and from there by railway 
to Adrian, the western terminus of the road. Going then by team 
to Cass county, Michigan, he visited his wife's brother, William 
Hebron, who had previously located there. He purchased forty 



626 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

acres of land, known as the Oak Opening, built a log house, and 
had just begun to clear the land when, in April, 1845, his death 
occurred. The maiden name of his wife was Jane Hebron. She 
was born in Yorkshire, England, a daughter of William and Ann 
Hebron, and she and her brother were the only members of the 
family that ever came to the United States. She survived her hus- 
band many years, dying in Porter township, at the home of a 
daughter. Mr. and Mrs. Trattles reared twelve children, namely: 
Jane, William, Ann, Mary, Joseph, Sarah, Thomas, Hannah, Eliza- 
beth, Rachel V., Ruth and Daniel. All were born in England, and 
seven of them came to the United States, William being the first 
to emigrate. 

Mr. and Mrs. Boles have three children, namely: Florence 
A., wife of Eugene Hutchinson, of Portland, Oregon, has two sons, 
Frederick Boles and Howard; Frances L., wife of Harry C. Hay- 
man, of Constantine township, has one child, Rachel Marie; and 
Thomas Frederick, a wholesale lumber dealer in Chicago, Illinois, 
married Annette Hinman, and they have two children, Marion 
B. and Winifred B. Mrs. Boles was one of the successful teachers 
of St. Joseph county for five years and her daughters were also 
teachers, Florence being a teacher in Muskegon for seven years, 
and Frances also at Muskegon and for several years in Nebraska. 
Frederick was a teacher in St. Joseph county for years. Mrs. 
Boles is a member of the Congregational church in Constantine. 

Mr. and Mrs. Boles have in their possession one of the old 
deeds executed under the hand and seal of President Yan Buren, 
and dated September 10, 1838. They also have a fine collection of 
Indian arrow heads, about fifty-five in number, all collected from 
their own farm. These are arranged in an attractive cabinet. 
The homestead of Mr. and Mrs. Boles is known as Forest Home. 

Levi W. Pitts, a prosperous hardware merchant of Centerville, 
was born in Florence township, St. Joseph county, September 20, 
1855. His parents, Hiram A. and Eliza (Thompson) Pitts, were 
natives of New York state, and came to Michigan with their 
parents, about 1832. Hiram's father, Gardner Pitts, entered land 
in St. Joseph county, and died about forty-five years ago. Hiram 
Pitts was a Democrat and held township and school offices, and 
died at the age of seventy-four years. He had children as follows : 
Maria, deceased ; Luella, deceased ; Jerome, a railroad clerk, lives 
in Indianapolis; Levi W. ; and Mary Louise, wife of William 
Mowry, of Branch county, Michigan. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 627 

Levi W. Pitts received his education in Florence township 
and at Constantine, and lived at home until the death of his father. 
He carried on the farm until 1889 and then moved to Centerville, 
where, with the exception of one year when he had a meat market, 
he has since carried on a hardware business. He also buys and 
sells grain, and does a profitable business. Mr. Pitts takes an 
active interest in public affairs, and is a Jackson Democrat. He 
is now supervisor of Nottawa township, for ten years served as 
moderator of the school board and four years as deputy sheriff 
under William Addison. Mr. Pitts is a member of the Ejiighted 
Order of Tented Maccabees, Star Tent No. 89, in Centerville. His 
wife belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church. 

April 21, 1877, Mr. Pitts married Rosanette Mooney, born in 
July, 1857, in Sandusky, Ohio, and they have three children, 
namely : Emery, in business with his father, married Lulu Weber ; 
Zoa and Arley, living at home, unmarried. Zoa is a stenographer 
in Kalamazoo, and Arley is engaged in business with his father. 

Myron H. Barker. — Among the substantial and energetic 
citizens who have achieved noteworthy success and who have ex- 
hibited unlimited interest in all matters pertaining to the general 
welfare of the community in which they reside, Myron H. Barker 
has shown himself well capable of maintaining the prestige of the 
fine old name which he bears. 

Mr. Barker was born on the 7th of April, 1840, and is a son 
of Joseph S. and Margaret (McConnell) Barker, natives of Massa- 
chusetts and Maryland respectively. The former was born on the 
16th of October, 1810, and the latter on the 29th of February, 
1811. The paternal grandparents were Elisha D. and Thankful 
Barker, who immigrated from England to the old Bay state, and 
who were the founders of the family in America. Mr. and Mrs. 
McConnell, maternal grandparents of Myron H. Barker, were both 
representatives of stanch old Scotch ancestry and they came to 
America about 1800 and settled in Maryland, where the mother 
of the subject was born and reared to maturity. Joseph Barker 
and Margaret McConnell were married in New York in 1832, and 
they became the parents of children whose names are here recorded 
in order of birth, — Alexander, William B., Betsy, Eliza, Byron V., 
Myron H. (subject of this sketch), and Thankful S. Betsy died at 
and early age and Thankful S. is the wife of L. Libbert of St. Joseph 
county, Michigan. 



628 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Myron H. was one of triplets and he remained at the paternal 
home until he had attained his legal majority, in the meanwhile 
duly availing himself of the advantages afforded in the public 
schools of his native county, and early exhibiting the sterling traits 
of character so pronounced in his fore-fathers. Mr. Barker 
initiated his adventurous career by enlisting in Company A, of the 
Eleventh Regiment of the Michigan Volunteer Infantry, at the in- 
ception of the Civil war. He proved himself a valiant soldier in 
the battles at Franklin and Chattanooga and was one of the faith- 
ful followers in Sherman's historic march to the sea. He also 
participated in the battle of Chickamauga and at the end of the 
three years, for which he had first enlisted he further showed his 
loyalty to the cause of the Union by re-enlisting and finishing the 
war. He saw much active service and was wounded in the battle 
at Kingston, Georgia. He received his honorable discharge in 
1865, and thereafter followed with profit for forty-five years the 
trades of masonry and carpentry, which he had learned. 

On the 8th of October, 1871, in New York, was solemnized 
the marriage of Myron H. Barker to Miss Lucinda Phillips, who 
was born on the 29th of February, 1857, and who died on the 5th 
of October, 1884. To this union were born two children, both of 
whom died in infancy. For his second wife Mr. Barker married 
Mrs. Louise Jacobs, who was born on the 22nd of August, 1857, 
and who was a daughter of Loremus Whiting. Mrs. Barker died 
on the 4th of February, 1896, and is survived by one daughter, 
Minnie. 

EiiiAS Wagner, who owns one of the most productive farms 
and most interesting homesteads in St. Joe county, consisting of 
one hundred and eight acres on the shores of Palmer lake, near 
Colon, is a native of the county, bom October 30, 1836. His birth- 
place was an old log house in Colon, near the mill race, and the 
event took place about seven months after his parents had come from 
Pennsylvania to make this new western country their home. The 
month of their arrival was March. Peter Wagner, the father, had 
been bom in the Keystone state in 1810 ; married Catherine Peters, 
also of Pennsylvania, and for many years engaged in farming 
about a mile west of Colon, where both he and his wife died. They 
were the parents of the following: Mary Ann, who was bom in 
Pennsylvania, became the wife of John Wagner, of Mendon, this 
county, and is now deceased; Joshua, also a native of that state 
bom in 1835, who is now farming west of Colon and is the father 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 629 

of five children (two being deceased) ; Elias, of this sketch; Cath- 
erine, born in 1838, who died in 1905 as the wife of Charles Frye, 
of Batavia ; Edwin, married, who also lives west of Colon, as does 
also Isabel; Addie, wife of Edward Bennett; Julia, Mrs. Edward 
Staminger, the latter a resident of Brie, Pennsylvania; Ellen (Mrs. 
Charles Shuck) and Daniel, both living near the old homestead 
west of Colon, and Mrs. Maggie Lepley, a resident of Colon, and 
has two sons, Glenn and Fred. The father of this family, who 
died in 1879, devoted most of his time to farming, although he ac- 
complished much in the upbuilding of Colon, his residence for some 
years being the third house built in the place. Although his edu- 
cation had been neglected, he was a man of decision and native 
force, and always inspired respect. He was a Democrat and an 
active member of the Reformed church. 

Elias Wagner has also been engaged since his youth in some 
form of agriculture, having been a general farmer, a raiser of live- 
stock and a horticulturist. For a number of years he has followed 
all of these pursuits, to a greater or less extent. Mr. Wagner has 
occupied his present farm since he was a comparatively young 
man; has erected all the buildings of the homestead himself and 
has always maintained them according to advancing requirements, 
so that they are now models of convenience. His place is also 
beautified by the so-called Wagner's grove and includes a fine vine- 
yard. In the latter is a grapevine which is said to be the largest 
in Michigan. Among the attachments to his farm, which he also 
greatly prizes, is a hog which good judges pronounce the biggest 
animal of his kind in the county; literally speaking, he is so 
attached to his pen that he is all but a fixture. Mr. Wagner can 
show a ton of hay in good condition which he cut in 1873, a fine 
collection of Indian relics many of which were gathered in the 
vicinity of his home, and other curiosities, agricultural and his- 
toric, which make a visit to his comfortable homestead both in- 
teresting and instructive. 

In 1862 Mr. Wagner married Miss Nancy Amey, who is a na- 
tive of Ohio, born February 2, 1843, and they have become the par- 
ents of four children. Franklin A., their eldest, was born in 1865, 
and first married Miss Hattie Ward and secondly, Harriet Long. 
The three daughters by his first wife, Nina, Pearl and Gladys, are 
all living in Colon. Lydia Ann, second child of Mr. and Mrs. Elias 
Wagner, was bom in 1867 ; is now the wife of John Smith, a resi- 
dent of Idaho, and the mother of Grace, Moe, Wave, Ray and 
Fred. Catherine, born July 7, 1871, married Elmer Walters, an 



630 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

electrician of Kalamazoo, Michigan, and, besides the parents, the 
family consists of Zoe L., bom April, 1890 ; Carl, in January, 1894 ; 
Kenneth, born in 1896, and Grace, born in 1904. Isabel, the 
fourth born to Ml-, and Mrs. Elias Wagner, July 11, 1878, is a 
resident of Colon, the wife of John Watson, but has had no chil- 
dren. 

Albert Beerstecher, a leading merchant of Centerville, was 
born there June 15, 1878, and is a son of Charles Adolph and Mary 
(Huff) Beerstecher, the former a native of Switzerland. Charles 
A. Beerstecher was bom July 8, 1832, in Berne, Neuveville, and 
came to the United States at the age of twenty-four years, locating 
at Kalamazoo, Michigan, where he engaged in bookbinding. He 
came to Centerville in the later sixties, and continued this busi- 
ness until seven or eight years ago; he still resides in Centerville. 
His wife was born June 20, 1846, in Germany, and came to the 
United States when three years old, with her parents. They spent 
one year at Chicago, and then removed to Lake county, Indiana, 
where they spent the remainder of their lives. Mr. Beerstecher 
and his wife were married in 1866, at Kalamazoo. He was a Re- 
publican and a member of the Presbyterian church. To them were 
born children as follows: Charles David, a painter and paper- 
hanger, living at Three Rivers; Frederick Henry, a telephone 
lineman living at Three Rivers ; Mary Louise, unmarried, teaching 
in the city schools, educated at Kalamazoo Normal School; and 
Albert. 

Albert Beerstecher received his education in Centerville, and 
at the age of eighteen years began working as clerk in a grocery 
store; he started in business on his own account when tw^enty years 
old, as grocer, and has since continued at the same location. He 
keeps a good stock and pays close attention to the wants of his 
customers. Mr. Beerstecher has a growing trade, and is consid- 
ered one of the substantial citizens of Centerville. In politics he 
is a Republican, and holds the office of township clerk, which he 
has filled four years; he has also served three years as village as- 
sessor. He is a member of Mount Herman Lodge No. 24, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, also of the Knighted Order of Tented 
Maccabees, Star Tent No. 89 at Centerville. He married Miss 
Daisy E. Welty, January 22, 1910. 

John S. Will. — Sterling integrity of character in a man with 
business ability are the cardinal points of success in life. This ex- 




MRS. JOHN S. WILL 




Uc/iLy.(^, 




HISTOBY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 635 

cellent combination is the possession of John S. Will, one of Not- 
tawa township's most influential citizens. Mr. Will can trace his 
lineage to the sturdy Scotch. He is, however, a native of Flat 
Rock, Ohio, his birth having occurred in that place, February 18, 
1853, and the names of his parents being Benjamin and Margaret 
(Spayd) Will. The father was bom in Center county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1830, and died in 1898. Although reared as a farmer, 
he took up the trade of carpenter and joiner. His removal to Ohio 
was made in 1857 after his marriage and he purchased a lot in Flat 
Rock, erected a house and there pursued his trade. Later he came 
to Michigan and purchased forty acres of land near Three Rivers. 
He sold that and bought eighty acres in Park township which he 
disposed of in turn to buy one hundred and twenty acres likewise 
in Park township. The latter property went the way of all the 
rest (was sold), and for the next two years Benjamin Will worked 
at his trade. But the memory of former agricultural experiences 
was attractive and he bought land again, — one hundred and fifty- 
two acres near the corporate limits of Mendon, one hundred and 
four acres not far distant, and one hundred and sixty acres in sec- 
tion 8, just across from the property now possessed by Mr. Will. 
This made him the possessor of three hundred and twelve acres in 
Mendon and Nottawa townships. Benjamin Will was independent 
in politics and cast his vote for the man he considered best fitted 
for the office, irrespective of party. He was an ardent friend of 
the public school and a member of the Masonic lodge of Mendon. 

The mother was also a Pennsylvanian, her birth occurring in 
1828 and her demise in 1895. She was a true wife and a tender 
and affectionate mother. She and her husband are interred in the 
Mendon cemetery and a beautiful monument stands sacred to their 
memory. They were the parents of four children, three of whom 
survive as follows: Fietta, wife of D. W. Langdon, a retired 
farmer, residing in Mendon; John S. ; and George B., a farmer 
residing in Mendon. 

Mr. Will was a child but two years of age at the time of the 
family 's removal to Michigan, which means that he was reared and 
educated in the ''Wolverine State.'' Following in his father's 
footsteps he learned the trade of carpenter and joiner and for 
some eight years made his livelihood in its pursuit, the scenes of 
his activity in this line being St. Joseph and Kalamazoo counties 
and the city of Chicago. He went to Chicago in the fall of 1871, 
shortly after the great fire and his residence there lasted for about 
a year and a half. 



636 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mr. Will and his brother George purchased the present farm 
of one hundred and sixty acres in section 8, Nottawa township, and 
finally divided the farm, each taking half. They had worked to- 
gether harmoniously for five or six years. Subsequently he traded 
his eighty acres for one hundred and fifty-two acres near Mendon, 
this farm being land belonging to the father, and upon it Mr. 
Will resided and operated it for about three years. In course of 
time he traded this farm for his present estate of one hundred and 
sixty acres ; he has two other tracts of forty and eighty acres. He 
thus has two hundred and eighty acres, all in Nottawa township. 

Mr. Will was married August 10, 1880, in Detroit, Michigan, 
to Miss Mary House, their union being solemnized in the Episco- 
pal rectory by Rev. George Worthington, D. D. 

Mrs. Will w^as a native of Onondaga county, New York. 
When she was but three years of age death deprived her 
of her mother and her father is now also deceased. She was 
educated in the public schools of her native county, later came 
westward and after her marriage spent the remainder of her life 
upon the beautiful Will homestead. She died Wednesday, April 
6, 1910, after an invalidism of about five years' duration, having 
been a great sufferer and confined to her bed a considerable por- 
tion of the time. To quote from the Centerville Observer of April 
14, 1910 : ^ * All that love or science could suggest has been done for 
her, but only death could give her relief and entrance into peace 
and rest and the joy of the Redeemer. The funeral occurred at 
the pretty home on Sunday the 10th inst., and was conducted by 
Rev. Fries, of Mendon, a long-time and intimate friend of the 
family. Brother members of the Masonic fraternity, J. R. Truck- 
enmiller, Herman Cruse, Joseph Timm and John Person acted a^ 
pall bearers, A delegation of ladies of the Eastern Star of which 
order Mrs. Will was a member acted as escort. The interment was 
in the family burial lot in the Mendon cemetery. ' ' 

Mrs. Will was a lady of high aspirations and godly character 
and her married life was one of pleasure and joy. She w^as of a 
cheerful and sunny nature and always tried to make her home a 
welcome haven for her husband and her friends. She was a de- 
vout member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Mendon. For 
over a quarter of a century Mr. and Mrs. Will traveled the jour- 
ney of life together, sharing alike the joys and sorrows of life. 
The vacant chair of a loving and affectionate wife is hard to fill. 

Mr. and Mrs. Will had no children, but in the kindness of 
their hearts adopted a little boy four years of age, whose name is 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 637 

Fred S. Will. They have reared and educated him, the latter be- 
ing accomplished in the common and high schools of Mendon. He 
is one of the active young men of the community and gives valuable 
assistance to his father in the farm duties. 

Mr. Will is a member of the Masonic order, belonging to Mt. 
Hermon Lodge, No. 24, and Centerville Chapter No. 11, R. A. M. 
both of Centerville and he belongs to the Eastern Star in which 
his wife also had membership, the lodge number being 305. He is 
a member of the Methodist church, he and his wife having joined 
at the same time. Methodist services were frequently held at the 
Will residence. 

Mr. Will is the possessor of a very ancient parchment deed 
made to Daniel Will for eighty acres in Pennsylvania, the Daniel 
Will in question being Mr. WilPs grandfather. It is a valuable 
and interesting heirloom. 

Mr. Will is classed among the successful agriculturists and 
stockholders of St. Joseph county. He is truly a self-made man 
and whatever he possesses he came by, by hard work and strict 
economy. He stands high in the estimation of the people and his 
word is considered as good as his bond. It is a pleasure to pre- 
sent the full record of this gentleman's life to be preserved and 
saved in the genealogical record of the history of St. Joseph 
county, Michigan. 

Charles A. Palmer.— In glancing over the history of St. Joe 
county, Michigan, it becomes apparent that the greater part of the 
bone and sinew of the county, consists in those men and women 
who are native to it. Charles A. Palmer, of this review, a success- 
ful merchant of Wasepi, who was bom in Nottawa township, St. 
Joseph county, July 31, 1841, the second in a family of seven chil- 
dren, — six sons and a daughter,— born to Cyrus and Mary 
(Schreder) Palmer. All of them are living at present. George W. 
(married) is a resident of Wasepi, Michigan, an agriculturist and 
sawyer; Charles A. is the second in order of birth; Harvey D. 
(married) is a Chicagoan and is foreman of the Sherwood Manu- 
facturing Company, this firm being engaged in the manufacture 
of school furniture. Celia L. resides in Wasepi and has the care of 
the aged mother. Cyrus A., (married) is a citizen of Detroit and 
a machinist in an automobile plant. Ellis A. lives in Montcalm 
county, Michigan, and is an agriculturist; he, also, is married. 
Fred A. is a resident of Wasepi, Michigan, he and his wife being 
landlord and landlady of the *' Palmer House.'' 



638 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

The father of this family traces his lineage to English stock, 
but his immediate progenitors were natives of New England, the 
cradle of so much of our national history, Connecticut being the 
scene of their activities. The Palmers of the early days were sol- 
diers and patriots and figured as heroes in the Revolutionary war. 
The father, Cyrus P. was born in Wayne county. New York, May 
7, 1816, and was summoned to his eternal rest, October, 1886. He 
was reared and educated in his native state until he became eight- 
een years of age, and at that age came westward with his father, 
John Palmer, to Lenawee county and there they entered four hun- 
dred acres of land from the government. There were eleven sons 
in the family and no daughters. The grandfather and grand- 
mother resided there until their demise. Cyrus Palmer was in the 
first place an Old Line Whig and an ardent member of the Know- 
Nothings and at the birth of the Republican party he joined its 
ranks. He was a public-spirited man and a great friend of the 
public schools. He was a member of the state militia of Michigan 
and was successful in all the relations of life. It was in 1833 that 
he and his brother John entered one hundred and sixty acres of 
land — eighty acres apiece — and at the death of John, Cyrus pur- 
chased his half and since that time the land has never changed 
hands, always remaining in the name of Palmer. The Palmers re- 
tain the original deed, executed by President Andrew Jackson, a 
valuable document. The land entered in St. Joseph county was 
northwest quarter section 13, in Nottawa township, and at that 
time the county was a wilderness and the Indians were more plen- 
tiful than the whit« people. Deer and other wild animals were 
abundant and the pioneer settler sometimes lived high indeed. 

The mother of Charles A. Palmer was born in Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, July 21, 1818, and is still living at the age 
of ninety-two years, her intellect being unimpaired at this ad- 
vanced age. She was a young maiden twelve years of age when she 
came to Michigan with her parents, John F. and Susannah (Wam- 
bold) Schreder. In the family there were six children, five 
daughters and one son, and three survive at the present day. 
She received a good education for those days, attending Brussel- 
town Academy and afterward she taught school in Lenawee 
county, this state. She is an ideal mother, having ever been de- 
voted to the interests of her children, and ever mindful of their 
moral training. She has a great heart and the poor, the needy 
and the disconsolate have ever found in her a friend. She still 
maintains her home in Wasepi. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 639 

Mr. Palmer was reared as a farmer's boy and was educated in 
the township schools. At the age of eighteen he began life for 
himself with no capital save courage, energy and persistence. His 
first services were as a farm hand at a wage of eleven dollars a 
month, but he did not stay long at the bottom of the ladder of life. 
The first land he bought was thirteen acres of Nottawa township, 
all wild land. 

He married Miss Ella Nora Powers, August 9, 1864, at Stur- 
gis, Michigan, and one daughter, Lora, was the issue of their 
union. The untimely death of this daughter occurred at the age 
of twenty-nine years. She was a graduate of the Mendon high 
school and a proficient musician, both vocal and instrumental, and 
a favorite in the community both for her noble character and her 
accomplishments. The first Mrs. Palmer died August 15, 1901, 
and on January 1, 1904, Mr. Palmer wedded Miss Julia Newland. 
She is a native of Ohio, her parents being Robert and Pauline 
(Brunney) Newland, who removed to Manton, and it was there 
that she received her education. It was in 1892 that Mr. Palmer 
began merchandising in Wasepi, and he has continued ever since. 
He is a stalwart Republican and cast his first vote for the martyred 
Lincoln, and he was a strong advocate of the President's principles 
at the time of the Rebellion and has supported every Republican 
candidate since his maiden vote. He has many times been dele- 
gate to county conventions and has advocated all measures for the 
betterment of his county and state. Officially he has fulfilled his 
part. At the age of twenty-four he was elected justice of the peace 
in Nottawa township and he has held the office ever since with the 
exception of four years, — certainly a splendid record. He has been 
township drain commissioner for twenty years, and county drain 
commissioner for sixteen, this office being one of the most impor- 
tant of the county trusts. Thousands and thousands of dollars 
have passed through his hands and thousands and thousands of 
acres have been reclaimed. One of the greatest benefits of this drain 
work was its sanitary effect, for it did away with all miasmatic 
troubles and with fever and ague. Mr. Palmer has served as school 
director for a quarter of a century, and he is, indeed, a stanch 
champion of the betterment of that bulwark of the nation, the pub- 
lic schools. In 1887, under President Cleveland's administration, 
he was appointed postmaster at Wasepi, Michigan, to fill out a 
vacancy. In 1900 he was relieved of the office and in 1904 he re- 
ceived his regular appointment, as postmaster at Wasepi. 



640 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Fraternally Mr. Palmer is a member of the Mendon Masonic 
body, F. & A. M. No. 137, and he was Worshipful Master for four- 
teen years. He became a Master Mason, December 24, 1862, and 
he is a member of the Centerville Chapter, E. A. M., that connec- 
tion dating from March 4, 1863. In 1904 he joined the Three 
Rivers Commandery No. 29. He has been a delegate to the Grand 
Lodge and Grand Chapter as many as twenty times. 

Mr. Palmer is a man who has passed his entire life in his na- 
tive county and state. He stands high in the estimation of the 
people of St. Joseph county and all who know him, are convinced 
of his honor and strict integrity of character. Prominent and 
useful in every walk of life, his value as a citizen is indeed high. 

Calvin Montgomery Bingaman. — An able representative of 
the agricultural, horticultural and floricultural interests of St. 
Joseph county, Calvin M. Bingaman, of Flowerfield township, is 
a thorough master of his pleasant and profitable calling. He pos- 
sesses rare business ability, and this, combined with his close ap- 
plication to the various branches of his favorite industry, has 
given him a place of importance among the foremost farmers of 
this section of the state. He was born May 2, 1850, in Buffalo 
township, Center county, Pennsylvania, a son of Peter Bingaman, 
Jr. His grandfather, Peter Bingaman, Sr., was born in Columbia 
county, Pennsylvania, of German ancestors, and was a life-long 
farmer in his native state. 

Peter Bingaman, Jr., was also born in Columbia county, 
Pennsylvania, where he was reared to agricultural pursuits. In 
early manhood he removed to Center county, and having purchased 
a tract of timbered land in Buffalo township, cleared and improved 
a homestead, and was there employed in farming and stock rais- 
ing until his death, at the age of seventy-six years. He married 
Catherine Martz, who was born in Union county, Pennsylvania, 
and died, at the age of seventy-two years, on the home farm. 

One of a family of nine children, Calvin M. Bingaman re- 
mained with his parents until fifteen years old, when he started in 
life for himself. Ambitious to take advantage of every offered 
opportunity, he came directly to Michigan, arriving here a 
stranger among strangers, with no available capital excepting 
willing hands and a courageous heart. For two years he worked 
as a farm hand, after which he was employed on a railroad for a 
year. Then, although quite young, Mr. Bingaman commenced his 
career as an independent farmer, renting a tract of land. Pros- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 641 

perity smiled upon his ventures, and in the course of four years he 
was enabled to buy eighty acres of land, a tract that is now in- 
cluded in his present fine farm in Flowerfield township. At first 
he confined his attention almost entirely to the raising of stock 
and grain. Soon, however, seeing the great possibilities in grow- 
ing fruit, Mr. Bingaman turned his attention to that industry, 
and is now an extensive grower of apples, pears, peaches, grapes 
and small fruits, reaping abundant harvests each season. About 
1895 he began raising garden herbs, including tansy, peppermint 
and spearmint, and in connection with this line of business ope- 
rates a distillery. To these numerous enterprises Mr. Bingaman 
gives his personal attention, and, it is needless to say, is meeting 
with eminent success. He now owns upwards of three hundred 
acres of choice land, situated in sections 34 and 35, his estate, 
which is one of the finest in its improvements and appointments 
of any in this part of the county, being a credit to his energy, 
sagacity and superior judgment and foresight. 

Mr. Bingaman married, when but eighteen years of age, 
Mary M. Null, who was born in Ohio, a daughter of Isaac and 
Martha Null, who were pioneers of Ohio, migrating there from 
Pennsylvania, their native state. The union of Mr. and Mrs. 
Bingaman has been brightened by the birth of nine children, 
namely: William, Franklin, Ida, Newton, Irving, Rosa, Arthur, 
Lonas, and Claudia. Politically Mr. Bingaman is a sturdy Re- 
publican, and religiously Mrs. Bingaman is a worthy member of 
the United Brethren church in Flowerfield township. 

Peter L. Hartmaist, M. D. — The medical profession in St. 
Joseph county has an able representative in the subject of this 
review, who has here been engaged in the successful practice of 
his profession since 1893, maintaining his home in the attractive 
little city of Colon and controlling a large and representative 
practice throughout this section, where he is held in unqualified 
esteem as a physician and as a loyal and progressive citizen. The 
doctor was reared in the stern school of adversity, and his advance- 
ment stands as the direct result of his energy and well ordered 
efforts, so that he is the more worthy of commendation for the 
large and definite success that it has been his to achieve. 

Dr. Hartman claims the fine old keystone state of the Union 
as the place of his nativity and there also were born his parents, 
a fact that bears evidence that the respective families were early 
established in that commonwealth. He was born in Luzerne 



642 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

county, Pennsylvania, on the 9th of November, 1866, and is the 
younger of the two sons of Daniel and Rebeeeah (Rood) Hartman. 
The elder son, Rev. Franklin E., is a clergyman of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and was graduated in the Williamsport Sem- 
inary, Pennsylvania, and in the Drew Theological Seminary, in 
New Jersey. He is now pastor of a church at Mahaffey, Clearfield 
county, Pennsylvania. The father was born and reared in Penn- 
sylvania and there followed mechanical pursuits during the major 
portion of his active career. He died in 1868. His wife long sur- 
vived him, her death having occurred in 1901. 

Dr. Hartman was afforded the advantages of the common 
schools of his native state, but early began to depend largely upon 
his own resources. His ambition to secure an education was satis- 
fied through his own endeavors, as he earned the funds which 
enabled him to prosecute his higher academic studies, as well as 
his professional course. He was for two years a student in the 
high school at Pleasant Hill, Pennsylvania, and for an equal period 
of time continued his studies in Huntington Mills Seminary, that 
state, after which he devoted two years to successful teaching in 
the public schools of Pennsylvania. He began the study of medi- 
cine in a private way and made excellent advancement in his work. 
Finally, in 1887, he was matriculated in the celebrated Jefferson 
Medical College, in the city of Philadelphia, in which he com- 
pleted the prescribed course and was graduated as a member of 
the class of 1890, duly receiving his well earned degree of Doctor 
of Medicine. He initiated the practice of his profession at* Jami- 
son City, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, where he remained 
until 1893, when he came to Michigan and established his home 
in St. Joseph county, which has since continued the stage of his 
earnest and successful endeavors as a physician and surgeon. 
He has maintained his home in the attractive village of Colon from 
the time of coming to the county and his practice extends not only 
throughout this section of St. Joseph county but also into the 
adjacent county of Branch. The doctor has ever continued a 
close student of his profession, has a fine library of standard medi- 
cal works, is a subscriber to the best periodical literature of his 
profession and keeps in close touch with the advances made in 
both medicine and surgery, so that he is admirably equipped for 
the onerous duties and responsibilities of his exacting profession, 
to which he is devoting his most careful attention. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Medical Association and also of the Michigan 
State Medical Society. As a citizen he is loyal and public spirited 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 643 

and his political allegiance is given to the Republican party. In 
the Masonic fraternity he is identified with Colon Lodge, No. 73, 
Free & Accepted Masons; Colon Chapter, No. 81, Royal Arch 
Masons; and Sturgis Commandery, No. 18, Knights Templars, 
at Sturgis, this county. He and his wife are popular factors in 
connection with the best social activities of the community. Their 
home is one of the many attractive and modern residences of 
Colon and is a center of generous hospitality. 

Dr. Hartman has been twice married. In 1886 was solemnized 
his marriage to Miss Daisy Barrett and she is survived by one 
daughter, Hazel H., who is now the wife of Thomas Lutz, a suc- 
cessful merchant and representative citizen of Cambria, Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania. On the 17th of June, 1909, Dr. Hartman 
was married to Miss Alma Decker, who was born in the city of 
Muskegon, Michigan, on the 25th of November, 1876, and who 
was reared in St. Joseph county, this state. She is a daughter of 
George and Jane (Arnold) Decker. Her father was a native of 
Pennsylvania and passed the closing years of his life in St. Joseph 
county, where the mother, who was born in the state of New York, 
still resides. No children have been bom to the second union. 

Charles H. Kepler, a retired merchant, ex-postmaster and 
honored pioneer of Flowerfield, St. Joseph county, is a native of 
Three Rivers, born April 26, 1840, so that he is now in his 
seventieth year of his residence in the county. He was but one 
year old when his parents moved from Three Rivers, where the 
father had resided for several years as a merchant, and located 
on the Flowerfield homestead. At that time there was not only no 
railroad in St. Joseph county, but very little of the farming land 
was improved, deer, wild turkey and Indians being chiefly in 
possession of the country. At the usual age the boy commenced 
his winter schooling in the district institution nearest home, James 
Bates being his first teacher. In the summer months he worked 
on the family farm, and resided with his parents as long as they 
lived. 

In 1862, when he was twenty-two years of age, Mr. Kepler 
enlisted in Company G, Nineteenth Regiment, Michigan Volunteer 
Infantry ; was with his regiment in all its campaigns and battles ; 
and finally participated in Sherman ^s famous march to Atlanta, 
with his northward movements through the Carolinas, and the 
great review of the Union armies in Washington, one of the most 
noteworthy military parades of history. Returning to his home 

Vol. 11—10 



644 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

in Plowerfield township, Mr. Kepler resumed farming for six 
years, and then located at the village of Flowerfield to engage in 
general mercantile pursuits. In this line and as postmaster of 
the place, he was busily and profitably engaged for the succeeding 
eighteen years, after which he sold his business and retired to the 
comforts and honors which he had so fairly earned. 

Mr. Kepler's parents were Reuben and Ann (Huckle) Kepler, 
the family name indicating sound German ancestry. The paternal 
grandfather, John Kepler, was a native of Pennsylvania, and spent 
his business life as a hatter. The father, who was born near Dan- 
ville, same state, learned the trade of a shoemaker and, locating 
at Three Rivers in 1836, became one of the pioneers of St. Joseph 
county. For a number of years he was engaged in custom work, 
in the line of his trade ; then worked as a farm hand for about two 
years and still later renting land. By this time a master farmer, 
Reuben Kepler purchased eighty acres of land in section 1, Flower- 
field township, which embraced thirty-five acres of improved land 
and a small house. This was the family homestead for about 
twenty years, when, through continuous and wise improvements, 
it had so increased in value that the property was sold at a fine 
advance, and a farm of one hundred and forty-one acres purchased 
in the same section. The latter homestead was the scene of the 
father's death at the age of sixty-four. His wife was a native of 
Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of John 
and Mary (Adlum) Huckle. Her father was an Englishman, the 
only member of his family to come to America, who bought large 
tracts of land near Muncy and prospered as a farmer and a land 
owner. Mrs. Reuben Kepler, the mother of Charles H., lived to 
be seventy-three years of age, and also gave birth to two daughters, 
Mary and Alice. Charles H. Kepler wedded Mary H. Bean, 
a native of Michigan, of St. Joseph county, in 1871, and they have 
five children, one son and four daughters; Elta, wife of Guy S. 
Brown, of Central Lake, Michigan, who has four children : George 
K., Beulah B., W. Elton and Guy Francis; Lela L, wife of Clayton 
Allen, a resident of Kalamazoo, has one daughter, Kathryn L. ; 
Eva M., wife of Harry F. Benton, a resident of Toledo, Ohio, has 
two daughters, Mary E. and Lucile Genevieve; Loo L, residing in 
Kalamazoo, was educated in high school; and Chas. Willard, a 
resident of Toledo, Ohio, is time keeper in the American Canning 
Company. Mr. Kepler died March 17, 1910, and his remains are 
interred in Flowerfield Cemetery. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 645 

John W. Miller.— A scion of one of the honored pioneer 
families of St. Joseph county, John W. Miller is numbered among 
the representative farmers of Mendon township, where he was 
born on the 17th of June, 1859. He is a son of Joseph J. and 
Margaret (Bachman) Miller, both of whom were born in North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, where they were reared and edu- 
cated and where their marriage was solemnized. Joseph J. Miller 
came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1856 and two years later 
he returned to his native state, where his marriage occurred. He 
then returned with his wife to St. Joseph county and located in 
Mendon township, where he reclaimed a farm of eighty acres 
from the virgin forest. He was one of the honored and influential 
citizens of his township, where he continued to reside until his 
death, which occurred on the 28th of August, 1903, and his widow 
still resides on the old homestead. He was a stanch Democrat in 
his political proclivities and he served for many years as justice 
of the peace, having been incumbent of this office at the time of 
his demise. Joseph J. and Margaret (Bachman) Miller became 
the parents of five children, concerning whom the following data 
are given : Mary died in infancy ; John W. is the immediate sub- 
ject of this sketch ; Irvin resides in the city of Niles ; and Sadie M. 
is the wife of Perrin Heimbaugh of Mendon township, and they 
have three children: Margaret, Lillian and Sadie; Margaret is 
the wife of Harry W. Garman, of Park township, and they have 
five children : Louise, Neva, Paul, Marlin and infant ; Irvin Miller 
married Miss Pearl Hallam, of Mendon, and they have four chil- 
dren: Hah, Martha, Thomas and Genevieve. 

John W. Miller was reared to maturity on the home farm 
and received the advantages of the public schools of his native 
township and continued to be associated with the work and 
management of his father's farm until he was married, when he 
initiated his independent career as a farmer and stock-grower. 
He is now the owner of one hundred and five acres of land, besides 
which he has the supervision of the old homestead farm, on which 
he was born. He is known as one of the enterprising and pro- 
gressive farmers of Mendon township and his success has been on 
a parity with his industry and ability. He gives an unswerving 
allegiance to the Democratic party and has shown at all times a 
lively interest in public affairs of a local nature, though he has not 
been an aspirant for public office, he was on the Board of Directors 
and Justice of the Peace for six years. He and his wife are promi- 
nent members of the Evangelical Association of their township, of 



646 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

which his father was one of the founders, and he is class leader 
and superintendent of the Sunday school. 

On the 28th of September, 1882, Mr. Miller was united in 
marriage to Miss Mary Lang, who was born near Manheim, Ger- 
many, on the 13th of July, 1859, and who is a daughter of Barnard 
and Elizabeth (Kaiser) Lang, who established their home on a 
farm in Mendon township, St. Joseph county, in 1870, and who 
here passed the residue of their lives. Mr. and Mrs. Miller became 
the parents of three children : Delbert J., Ralph J. and Mabel Y. 
The elder son was born on the 22nd of July, 1886, and he now re- 
sides in the city of South Bend, Indiana; he graduated in the 
public schools and also took a course in a correspondence school; 
he married Miss Tracy Kehler. Ralph J. is associated in the work 
of the home farm. Mabel Y. is at the parental home and was 
graduated in the public school, class of 1906, and is a student in 
the Centerville High School. The pretty homestead is known 
as **The Elms Farm. ^' 

Mrs. Edwin R. Hill. — Secure in the possession of the friend- 
ship and esteem of the inhabitants of Colon, Michigan, is Mrs. 
Edwin R. Hill, formerly Susan Y. Staley, widow of the late Edwin 
R. Hill, whose loss the town still regrets as one of the flower of her 
citizenship. To Mrs. Hill, in her capacity of an enlightened and 
conscientious teacher, is St. Joseph county indebted in high de- 
gree, for she gave splendid service previous to her marriage in 
the district and Colon schools. She is bound to Michigan by ties 
of birth and ancestry, having been born in Colon, January 9, 1864, 
her parents being Andrew and Catherine (Evarhart) Staley. She 
was the fourth child in a family consisting of five daughters and 
one son, all of whom are living at the present day. Ida became 
the wife of Dayton Hafer, an agriculturist and resides in Stanton, 
Michigan. She is well educated, having been graduated from the 
Colon high schools and afterward supplementing this with a 
course at Yalparaiso College, Like her sister, Mrs. Hill, she was 
a teacher, the scene of her activities in a pedagogical capacity 
being Branch and St. Joseph counties. Adelia, is the wife of Will- 
iam Tomlinson, a lumber dealer residing in Colon. She likewise 
attended Colon high school and Yalparaiso College and became a 
successful teacher. Ella became the wife of Andrew Jackson, a 
prosperous farmer located in Colon township. It is a singular 
coincidence that she too became a public school teacher of marked 
ability. The fifth child, John W., is a Branch county agriculturist, 



w 

w 

d 
w 

n 

w 

o 

> 

u 



1^ 

in 

W 
U 



^ 



r 
r 




HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 651 

and latterly has engaged in the trades of carpenter and joiner. 
He married Miss Ellen Copeland. Mary, the youngest child, 
married Wallace Wagner, a successful poultry dealer, resident in 
Colon. She also was a teacher in Colon and vicinity. 

Andrew Staley, father of the above family, was a native of 
Ohio, born in 1829 and living until 1901. He received his educa- 
tion in the common schools and came to Branch county, Michigan, 
when a young boy. He hearkened to the agricultural calling, 
which he followed throughout his long life with a good deal of 
success. He was an adherent of the Republican party, and fra- 
ternally was a Mason, having membership in the lodge at Colon, 
Michigan. His wife was a native of Keystone county, Pennsyl- 
vania, her birth having occurred there in 1831. She was a loyal 
wife and devoted mother and the poor and needy ever found in 
her a friend. Truly her good deeds will ever live in the hearts of 
her children and the many who loved her. Her death occurred in 
1907. 

Susan V. Staley Hill spent her early years in Colon and there 
attended the common and high schools, afterwards attending 
Albion College and the Alma Summer Normal School. She fitted 
herself for the teacher's profession and at the age of sixteen began 
upon her career, which consisted of four years in the schools of 
St. Joseph county, and nine years in those of Colon. She achieved 
signal success, not only as an instructor, but as an individual 
whose example in womanhood alone was beneficial, and to this 
many of her former pupils will enthusiastically attest. 

Mrs. Hill was married May 9, 1894, and to her and Mr. Hill 
were born two children named Amelia Staley and Edwin Ruthven, 
Jr. The former is preparing to enter the Liggett private school 
for young ladies, situated at Detroit, and the son is in attendance 
at the public school. Mrs. Hill and her children reside on State 
street, in one of the most beautiful residences in Colon, and hers 
is a home whose portals are ever open to her friends. She is of 
pleasing personality and plays an important part in the life of 
the town. She was the founder of the Ladies' Pleasure Club, an 
organization intended for the attainment of pleasure and literary 
culture. She was its first president and served in this capacity for 
four years. 

The death of Edwin Ruthven Hill, one of the leading factors 
in the business and civic life of Colon, occurred May 19, 1909, and 
was the cause of universal sorrowing in the community in which 
he was best known. He was born in Ostelic, Chenango county, 



652 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

New York, May 21, 1834, and was the son of Elisha and Mariah 
Cooley Hill, the latter the daughter of Judge Cooley of Philadel- 
phia. In the '40s Mr. Hill's parents came west to Indiana, later 
removing to Coldwater, Michigan, and in November, 1849, estab- 
lishing their home in Colon. Young Edwin was at this time about 
fifteen years old and two years later he began upon his career as a 
wage earner by entering Bowman's store as a clerk. Three months 
later he and his father bought the Bowman store, and the firm of 
E. Hill & Son came into being. They continued this business until 
the fall of 1868, when they sold out, and in 1870 they established 
the Exchange Bank of E. Hill & Sons. This continued until April 
1, 1909, when it was changed to the E. Hill & Sons State Bank. 

On September 29, 1856, Mr. Hill was married to Amelia R. 
Bowman of Colon, a daughter of John H. Bowman. To them were 
born two sons, John H. and Elisha B. John died February 27, 
1879 and Elisha November 18, 1880, and, August 26, 1892, their 
mother also departed this life, thus leaving Mr. Hill bereft of 
both wife and children. As elsewhere mentioned Mr. Hill's 
second marriage was an event of the year 1894. Although Mr. 
Hill had been in ill health for a good many years and had endured 
great suffering, he lived to an old age, being at the time of his 
death, seventy-four years and eleven months old. Besides his wife 
and children he left to mourn his loss one brother, Thomas J. Hill 
and a nephew, Frank E. Hill, who had been associated with his 
uncle in the bank for twenty years and in whom Mr. Hill had im- 
plicit confidence. 

An extract is hereby appended from an account given in a 
local paper at the time of the death of this estimable gentleman: 
*'By his honesty and integrity Mr. Hill won many friends and 
was known all over the country. His word was as good as his 
bond. As Lawyer Stuart once said of him; 'Mr. Hill is the most 
refined, most dignified and most gentlemanly business man I have 
ever met in a country town. ' He has been prominently identified 
with the interests of Colon for more than fifty years and his 
familiar countenance through the bank window will be sorely 
missed by the citizens of Colon for many a day to come. He was 
a great lover of home and family and could always be found at 
his own fireside, when not at his business. 

* ' The funeral which was one of the largest ever held in Colon, 
took place from his late residence Saturday forenoon and was at- 
tended by nearly every business man in Colon, all of whom closed 
their places of business from 10 o 'clock until noon out of respect 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 653 

for their departed associate. The floral offerings were many and 
beautiful, which seemed most appropriate, as Mr. Hill was a great 
lover of flowers — in his daily life always wearing one of his 
favorites. ' ' 

The subjects of this review are of that type of citizenship 
which has served to give St. Joseph county prestige in the state 
of Michigan. Upright and generous, always ready to give their 
support to any cause likely to contribute to the general welfare, 
never confined within the narrow walls of self-interest, it is seemly 
that the records of Mrs. Hill -and her honored husband should be 
preserved in this genealogical review. 

Ezra C. Graham.— Having by diligence, persevering labor 
and thrift accumulated a fair share of this world's goods, Ezra C. 
Graham is now living retired from active pursuits at his beauti- 
ful home in Three Rivers, St. Joseph county, enjoying the reward 
of his many years of toil and labor. A native of this county, he 
was bom, March 12, 1847, in Lockport township, coming from pio- 
neer stock. 

James L. Graham, his father, was bom near Sandy Hook, 
New York, August 10, 1807. Reared on a farm, he remained in 
New York state until about 1830, when, with his wife and three 
children, he migrated to Ohio, making the journey with teams, 
and taking along all of his worldly possessions. He became one 
of the early settlers of Mansfield, where he resided a number of 
years. Subsequently thinking to still further improve his fortunes 
by going still nearer the frontier, he made an overland trip with 
his family and household belongings to Michigan, locating at Long 
Lake, in what is now Fabius township. At that time the greater 
part of Michigan was a wilderness, much of the land being owned 
by the government, and for sale at $1.25 an acre. Deer, wolves, 
turkeys, wild hogs and other beasts of the forest were plentiful, 
while the Indians had not yet abandoned their hunting grounds. 
He lived in Fabius township a number of years, and in addition to 
farming made a specialty of breaking up new land, using a team 
made up of fourteen pairs of oxen. He moved to Lockport town- 
ship during the forties, and was there a resident until his death, 
in 1850, while yet in the prime of life. 

James L. Graham married Elizabeth Paul, who was bom, May 
2, 1804, a daughter of John Paul. She was accomplished in the 
domestic arts, having learned the trade of a tailoress when young, 
and being an expert spinner and weaver. When left a widow with 



654 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

a large fa,mily of children to provide for, and but small means, 
she earned sufficient with her loom and needle to keep the family 
together until the children became self supporting. She also 
carded, spun and wove the material from which she made the gar- 
ments for her household, keeping busy all of the time. She lived 
to a good old age, passing away December 6, 1888, aged eighty- 
four years. She reared eleven children, as follows: William L., 
bom September 1, 1828 ; Jane Agnes, born October 30, 1830 ; Mar- 
garet Ann, born January 11, 1833 ; Sarah Elizabeth, born Septem- 
ber 21, 1834; John Paul, born August 8, 1836; Martha L., born 
January 11, 1838, died at the age of nine years; Mary Joanna, 
bom November 29, 1839; Charlotte Amanda, bom July 8, 1841; 
Emily S., born March 8, 1843; James H., bom March 3, 1845; 
Ezra C, born March 12, 1847 ; and Ellis F., born March 11, 1850, 
Ezra C. Graham was three and one-half years old when his 
father died, and six years later, at the age of eleven years, he be- 
gan to earn his own living, working in a paper mill for forty cents 
a day. He mastered the trade, and as his service became more 
useful to the company his wages were gradually increased until 
he commanded a salary of $75 a month. In March, 1864, Mr. Gra- 
ham enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Forty-first Eegi- 
ment of Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and continued with his com- 
mand, in the states of Kentucky, Tennessee and Missouri, until 
receiving his discharge, in December, 1864, when he returned to 
Three Rivers. In 1867 he went to Kent coimty, where he was em- 
ployed in a saw-mill for a year. The following two years he re- 
sided in Three Rivers, and in 1870 removed to Iowa, locating first 
in Mitchell county, afterwards going to Worth county, where he 
bought wild prairie land, from which he improved a farm. Sell- 
ing out in 1880, Mr. Graham migrated to Traill county, North 
Dakota, becoming one of the original settlers of Irving township. 
Securing a homestead eight miles west of the Red river, he began 
its improvement. In common with the other pioneers, he endured 
all of the privations and hardships of frontier life for a few years. 
But the tide of fortune subsequently turned, and slowly but surely 
prosperity waxed strong, and he, perceiving the future possibil- 
ities in the new and growing country, invested in real estate, buy- 
ing extensively in Traill and adjoining counties, and at the same 
time was profitably engaged in buying horses in Iowa and Minne- 
sota, and shipping them to Dakota. In 1903 Mr. Graham, having 
acquired a competency, retired from active business, and having 
returned to Three Rivers bought his present attractive home, 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 655 

which is pleasantly located on the west bank of the St. Joseph 
river. 

Mr. Graham married, July 3, 1866, Evelyn C. Pentlin, who 
was born, June 28, 1840, in Macomb township, St. Lawrence 
county. New York, a daughter of Willard Pentlin, Jr. Her grand- 
father, Willard Pentlin, Sr., was a Scotchman by birth and breed- 
ing, and on emigrating to the United States settled in Vermont, 
where he followed the trade of a molder until his death. Willard 
Pentlin, Jr., was born in Vermont in 1803, and there learned the 
molder 's trade. Going to St. Lawrence county when a young man, 
he there met and married Serena Cole, who was born in that 
county, June 8, 1805. In 1852, accompanied by his wife and nine 
children, he came to Michigan, journeying by canal and lake to De- 
troit, thence to Adrian by railway. Buying land in Lenawee 
county, he lived there until 1869, when he settled at Three Rivers, 
where his death occurred during that same year. His widow sur- 
vived him, and lived to the venerable age of ninety-three years. 
Of the children born of their union, eight grew to years of matur- 
ity, as follows : Melissa, George W., Mary, Julia, Jane, John, Lydia, 
and C. Evelyn, now Mrs. E. C. Graham. 

Mr. and Mrs. Graham are the parents of four children, 
namely: Albert W., Milton E., Mildred E. (twins), and Royce. 
Albert W. married L. Jean Liggon, and they have three children, 
Alberta, Jennie, and Edwin Cole. Milton E. married Emma 
Riley, and they have three children, Max, Doris, and Evelyn. 
Mildred E., wife of Robert Corry, has one child, Evelyn Corry. 
Royce lives at home. Politically Mr. Graham and his sons are all 
stanch Republicans. 

George S. Mitchell is one of the well known and highly es- 
teemed citizens of the village of Colon, where he is engaged in the 
jewelry business and he is a member of one of the old and honored 
families of St. Joseph county. He was born on the homestead farm 
in Colon township on the 25th of November, 1869, and is a son of 
Dr. Nathan and Harriet (Summereaux) Mitchell. Dr. Mitchell 
was of English descent and came from Vermont to St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, in an early day. He located in Burr Oak town- 
ship, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits in connection 
with the practice of his profession. Later he removed to Colon 
township, where he continued to reside until his death, which oc- 
curred in 1879. He was a Republican in politics, served as justice 
of the peace and was ever held in unqualified confidence and esteem 



656 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

in the community that so long represented his home. He first mar- 
ried a Miss Trussell and they became the parents of three chil- 
dren of whom Curtis and Eugene are deceased and Sarah, a 
maiden lady, resides in Colon. No children were born to his second 
marriage and his third wife, Harriet (Summereaux) Mitchell, who 
was born in 1817 and died in May, 1896, was of French lineage on 
the paternal side and Scotch on the maternal side. Concerning the 
children of this union the following brief data are given, — Henry, 
who is a resident of Colon, married Miss Alice Nelson ; the second 
child, a son, died unnamed, at the age of three weeks ; and George 
S., the subject of this review, is the youngest. 

George S. Mitchell is indebted to the public schools of St. 
Joseph county for his early educational training and when about 
twenty-five years of age he entered upon an apprenticeshij) to the 
jeweler's trade, in connection with which he was employed in the 
village of Burr Oak for eleven years and he is now engaged in the 
jewelry business in Colon, where he has a well equipped establish- 
ment. In politics he accords a stanch support to the cause of the 
Democratic party and he is a prominent and valued member of the 
Colon Lodge, No. 96, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in 
which he has passed the various oflScial chairs. 

On the 5th of August, 1908, Mr. Mitchell married Miss Eliza- 
beth Gough, who was born on the 3rd of December, 1883, and who 
is a daughter of Ellis and Harriet Gough, of Staten Island, New 
York. No children have been bom to this union. 

Simeon Dunn. — For many years widely known as a farmer, 
a brick manufacturer and a citizen of high repute in Fabius town- 
ship, the late Simeon Dunn was a native of Erie county, Pennsyl- 
vania, born on the 25th of September, 1820. His father, Ambrose 
Dunn, was a farmer and teamster of that state, who passed the later 
years of his life near the city of Erie, while the grandfather was an 
Englishman, who emigrated to this country and resided successively 
in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The mother (nee Jane Clossen) 
spent her life within the Keystone state. 

Simeon Dunn reached the age of nineteen as a resident of 
Pennsylvania, and then located in Kalamazoo county, Michigan, 
then being in the third year of her statehood. The youth at once 
commenced the manufacture of brick in the growing community 
and was thus chiefly engaged until 1852, when he purchased a tract 
of land in Fabius township, this county, and located upon it as his 
homestead, at the same time continuing the manufacture of brick. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 657 

When he purchased the place about twenty acres were under cul- 
tivation, the other improvements comprising a frame house and 
barn. In connection with the conduct of his brick manufacture, 
he gradually placed the greater part of his land under cultivation 
and erected a substantial brick house, in which he resided until his 
death September 20, 1909. The maiden name of his wife was 
Esther Blodgett, who was bom in Pennsylvania and was a daugh- 
ter of Ezra and Clarissa (Kibbee) Blodgett. She died December 
6, 1897, mother of four children, Eliza Z., Mary E., John S. and 
Willis J. 

William G. Simpson. — Integrity of character coupled with 
business acumen are the principal exponents of a successful bus- 
iness man, and the following is a brief review of such a man, one 
who is respected and revered by the citizens of Mendon and Men- 
don township. William G. Simpson is a native son of the ** Wol- 
verine state ^' having been born in St. Joseph county. May 10, 
1865, and is the fourth child in a family of five, two sons and three 
daughters, born to Josiah and Jane (Gibson) Simpson. Of these 
children four are living: Mary J., wife of E. Eldridge, a resident 
of Mendon township, where he is an agriculturist ; Sarah J., is the 
wife of James Ettwein, a farmer of Colon township; William G. 
is next in order of birth; and James A., a resident of Leonidas 
township, who is an agriculturist. 

Josiah Simpson, was a native of the Emerald Isle, born in 
1831. He was reared in his native land till the age of fourteen 
when he crossed the Atlantic with his parents, coming first to New 
York state and from there to St. Joseph county, Michigan. He 
was an agriculturist and a very successful man, and at his death 
he was a large landowner, having nine hundred acres and excellent 
buildings. Though virtually a poor boy when he landed in Mich- 
igan, by his strict economy and business sagacity he became well- 
to-do. In politics he was a Democrat. He and his estimable wife 
were members of the United Presbyterian church. He died in 
1897, and his wife, who was also a native of Ireland where she was 
bom in 1822, died in 1908. 

William G. Simpson of this sketch was reared as a farmer's 
boy, and received a good practical education in the common 
schools and at Mendon high school, and also a full business course 
in Parson's Business College at Kalamazoo. In 1906 he came to 
Mendon and in the following year he entered into partnership with 
Sidney Severance in the hardware business which partnership 



658 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

existed for two years, when Mr. Simpson purchased his partner's 
interests. He has a staple line of shelf hardware and the volume 
of business he does amounts to $12,000 to $15,000 annually. A 
gentleman of fine business ability and character he has now, by 
his upright dealings, the full confidence of the people. He wedded 
Miss Mattie Leiser November 7, 1894, in Mendon township. Mrs. 
Simpson is a St. Joseph county girl, having been educated in the 
common schools and being a graduate of the Centerville high 
school. She has also received both vocal and instrumental musical 
instructions. Mr. and Mrs. Simpson are members of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church at Mendon and she is one of the faithful 
teachers in the Sunday-school. Her parents, Abraham and Sarah 
(Leimbach) Leiser are both living and of venerable age. They 
reside in Mendon. Mr. Leiser, the father, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania and was an agriculturist. He served three years as a soldier 
in the Rebellion and received his honorable discharge. His wife 
is also a native of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Simpson politically is a Democrat and cast his first pres- 
idential vote for Grover Cleveland. He has been often chosen to 
represent his township at county conventions. Officially he served 
as highway commissioner and justice of the peace for a number 
of years and also was a member of the town council at Mendon. 
He was a member of the library board and assisted in establishing 
the beautiful Carnegie library in Mendon. Fraternally he is a 
member of the A. F. & A. M. at Mendon. Besides his hardware 
business he has a splendid farm of eighty acres with excellent im- 
provements in Nottawa township and owns a beautiful brick resi- 
dence on Main and Pleasant streets in Mendon. Mr. Simpson 
began in business but a few years ago and has met and is still meet- 
ing with signal success and he possesses the attributes of a sound 
and strict business man. 

William B. Tomlinson, who has resided at Colon for nearly a 
quarter of a century as a progressive figure in its building in- 
dustries and its business activities, is now one of its leading mer- 
chants and public spirited citizens. He is a son of Orson and 
Jane A. (Kennedy) Tomlinson, and was born July 9, 1859, in Colon 
township, about a year after his parents had come hither from 
Orleans county. New York, where they were bom. Later, for a 
year, the family resided in Illinois, returning then to Colon where 
the father purchased a farm of sixty acres west of the village, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. Orson Tomlinson was a 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 659 

man of varied and decided abilities. He conducted his farm prac- 
tically and successfully ; was widely read, an original thinker and 
a ready speaker and writer. When he first came to the township 
he served as superintendent of schools and was on the board of 
examiners for teachers. He was a leader in the local Grange; 
was reporter for a Three Rivers paper; author of a book en- 
titled ''The Origin, Growth and Tendencies of Education in the 
United States/' and in numerous other respects a citizen whom 
the community admired and honored. 

Seven children were born to the union of Mr. and Mrs. Orson 
Tomlinson. Leona Electa, the first, was born October 16, 1846 ; is 
now the wife of Daniel B. Wagner, lives on a farm about a mile 
and a half from Colon, and is the mother of six children, of whom 
five are alive. Dina Maria, born January 30, 1849, is living in 
Michigan, the childless widow of Charles Wilkinson, a former 
grocer of Colon. Ellen Jane, the third child, was born April 19, 
1851, first married Perry Russell, of Manistee, Michigan, by whom 
she had three children, and, as his widow, wedded William Wendt, 
a leading lumberman of that place, who is now engaged in the 
same line of business at Vancouver, British Columbia. Mrs. 
Wendt 's husband is not only a successful lumberman, but deeply 
interested in all historical work and researches. Orson Charles, 
the fourth to be born to Mr. and Mrs. Orson Tomlinson, is now an 
architect of Colon, his birthday, October 11, 1853. He has never 
married. Minnie Caroline, his younger sister, was born January 
24, 1857, and is the wife of William Wildt, of Homer, Michigan, 
and mother of four children. William B., of this sketch, was the 
next to be added to the paternal household, and Lucy Amanda, 
the seventh, was born May 20, 1865, and died in Colon township, 
unmarried, February 12, 1885. 

William B. Tomlinson was a sturdy youth, well educated for 
one of his day and place, when, at the age of nineteen, he com- 
menced to work by the month and to teach winter terms of school. 
He married when twenty-four and for a number of years there- 
after was employed by neighboring farmers. His next move was 
to settle in the village of Colon and engage in carpentry and slate 
roofing for a couple of years. Thereafter, until 1900, he was as- 
sociated with his brother Orson in the lumber business, since 
which year he has successfully conducted it alone. Mr. Tomlinson 
has been of great public service to the community in the man- 
agement and improvement of its educational system, haWng 
served as an active school inspector and member of the board of 



660 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

education for the past fourteen years. His marriage to Miss Delia 
Stailey occurred January 2, 1884, his wife having been born Feb- 
ruary 28, 1858, at Bronson, Michigan, daughter of Andrew and 
Catherine Eberhard Stailey, Pennsy Iranians by birth and early 
residence. Two sons were born of this union: Cecil Burr, born 
October 4, 1887, who is unmarried and living at home, his father's 
business associate ; and Frank, who died when only three months 
of age. 

Joseph Farrand has been a resident of Colon since 1875 and 
is a representative of one of the honored pioneer families of St. 
Joseph county. The lineage in the paternal line is traced back to 
stanch French-Huguenot stock, the family having been early 
founded in the state of New York. Mr. Farrand was born in 
Elmira, Chemung county, New York, on the 5th of May, 1837, and 
is a son of James Harvey and Fannie Little (Smith) Farrand. 
Joseph Farrand, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, is sup- 
posed to have been born in either New Jersey or New York and 
he came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, soon after the admission 
of the state to the Union. He secured a tract of wild land on the 
St. Joseph river and contributed his share to the industrial and 
civic development of the county. He here continued to maintain 
his home until his death and was actively interested in public 
affairs of a local order though he never sought political prefer- 
ment. James H. Farrand became a successful lumber man and 
was one of the prominent and influential citizens of Chemung 
county, New York, at the time of his death, which occurred in 
1842, at which time he was about thirty-two years of age. His 
wife, who was born about the year 1804, in Elmira, New York, 
died in that place when about eighty-two years old. Both were 
members of the Presbyterian church and he was a Whig in politics 
until the organization of the Republican party, when he identified 
himself therewith and he continued an ardent supporter of its 
cause during the remainder of his life. 

Joseph Farrand is indebted to the common schools of his native 
state for his early educational discipline. He was for a number of 
years engaged in railroad contracting and in this connection he was 
employed by the government in railroad construction work, in the 
south, during the Civil war, having spent the greater portion of 
the time in the state of Virginia, and having had charge of six 
hundred men attached to the Army of the Potomac of the U. S. 
Construction Corps. He witnessed the battles of Fair Oaks and 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 663 

Fredericksburg and he rendered most efficient service in support 
of the Union during that climacteric period of its history. In 
1875 Mr. Farrand located on a farm southwest of the village of 
Colon and since 1900 he has resided in the village. He is a stock- 
holder in the Lamb Kiiit Goods Company, is also a stockholder 
in the local banks and has always maintained the attitude of a 
liberal and progressive citizen and he is a stockholder in the Colon 
Mills, taking a deep interest in all that touches the welfare of the 
community. He is a Democrat in his political allegiance, has 
served as a member of the village council of Colon and also as a 
director of the St. Joseph County Agricultural Society. He is 
affiliated with Colon Lodge, Free & Accepted Masons and is a 
member of the Colon Chapter. Mr. Farrand has been a great lover 
of fine horses and at different times has owned standard bred 
stock of the best type. At one time he was owner of the pacer, 
'^Silver Maker,'' with a record of 2:11. He now owns ^' Frank 
Arney," who has a record of 2:20, and Mr. Farrand finds much 
pleasure and diversion in connection with turf events. 

In 1900, Mr. Farrand was united in marriage to Miss Lillian 
Clement, who was born and reared in St. Joseph county and who 
is a daughter of Sylvester and Corinth (Legg) Clement. Her 
father was a successful farmer and stock-dealer and was espe- 
cially interested in the breeding of high grade horses. Both he and 
his wife continued to reside in St. Joseph county until their 
death. Mr, and Mrs. Farrand have no children. 

Daniel W. Feas. — A man of sterling worth and integrity, 
Daniel W. Feas fought bravely for his country during the Civil 
war, and has since been equally as faithful in the performance of 
his duties as a loyal citizen. He has been actively identified with 
the industrial interests of Three Rivers for many years, and is 
well known as one of the successful farmers of Fabius township. 
He was born, June 29, 1837, in Berks county, Pennsylvania, which 
was likewise the birth place of his father, Samuel Feas, and the 
county in which, it is supposed, his grandfather, Henry Feas, 
spent his entire life. 

Learning the trade of a cooper, Samuel Feas followed it in 
Pennsylvania until 1849, when with his wife and family, which 
then consisted of six children, he moved to Sandusky county, 
Ohio, where he lived for two years. Coming from there to Mich- 
igan in 1851, he located at Three Rivers, St. Joseph county, where 
he was employed as a cooper until his death, at the age of sixty- 



664 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

three years. His wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Sehlo- 
tenman was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania. She survived 
him a few years, at her death leaving ten children, as follows: 
Mary, Abraham, Sarah, Daniel W., Elizabeth, Samuel, John, Het- 
tie, Lucy and Addie. 

About fourteen years old when he came with his parents to 
St. Joseph county, Daniel W. Feas began soon after his arrival to 
work as a farm hand, but afterwards learned the trade of a 
cooper. On August 11, 1862, his spirit of patriotism being 
aroused, he enlisted in Company D, Twenty-fifth Michigan Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and went with his command to the front, being 
with his regiment in all of its various marches, campaigns and 
battles. One of the fiercest contests in which he was actively en- 
gaged having been, on July 4, 1863, when, at Tebbs Bend, Ken- 
tucky, his regiment, consisting of two hundred men, commanded 
by Col. Moore, battled with upwards of two thousand of Morgan 's 
guerrillas, and defeated them, the enemy, with a severe loss in 
killed and wounded, being completely routed. On May 14, 1864, 
at the Battle of Resaca, Georgia, Mr. Feas was wounded, and sent 
to the hospital at Knoxville, Tennessee. He was afterwards trans- 
ferred to Jeffersonville, Indiana, thence to Detroit, Michigan, 
where, in May, 1865, he received his honorable discharge from the 
service. Returning to Three Rivers, he here carried on a suc- 
cessful cooperage business a few years, after which he bought 
land in Fabius township, and has since been prosperously em- 
ployed in farming and stock raising, although he retains his res- 
idence in Three Rivers, making this place his home. 

Mr. Feas married, June 29, 1867, Jane E. Stull, who was born 
in Union, Union county, Pennsylvania, November 22, 1840. The 
only child born to Mr. and Mrs. Feas lived but ten months. Mr. 
and Mrs. Feas are valued members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. Fraternally Mr. Feas belongs to the Ed. M. Prutzman 
Post, No. 72, G. A. R. at Three Rivers. 

H. James Klose. — As a representative of the worthy agricul- 
turists of St. Joseph county, and as an honored and respected citi- 
zen of Moore Park, H. James Klose is especially deserving of men- 
tion in this volume. Since the days of his boyhood he has wit- 
nessed many changes throughout this locality, and as a general 
farmer has contributed his share toward the development and 
growth of its prosperity, at the same time accumulating enough of 
this world's wealth to enable him to spend his later years retired 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 665 

from active business. A son of Daniel Klose, he was born Sep- 
tember 19, 1842, in Beaver township, Union county, Pennsylvania. 

Daniel Klose was bom in Northumberland county, Pennsyl- 
vania, of German ancestry, and remained in the Keystone state, 
employed in tilling the soil, until 1854, when he migrated with his 
family to St. Joseph county, Michigan. Locating in Lockport 
township, he bought a tract of land lying three miles northeast of 
Three Rivers, and on the farm which he cleared and improved he 
spent the remainder of his life, dying at the age of seventy-seven 
years. He was twice married, his first wife dying in early woman- 
hood. He married for his second wife Mrs. Elizabeth (Stennin- 
ger) Smith, who was born in Pennsylvania, of German ancestors, 
and who died at the age of sixty-eight years. She, too, was twice 
married, and by her two unions became the mother of fifteen chil- 
dren. 

Twelve years of age when he came with his parents to Michi- 
gan, H. James Klose attended the district schools of Lockport 
township, and as a youth assisted his father on the farm. Having 
thus acquired a practical knowledge of the various branches of 
agriculture, he chose farming as his life work, and for two years 
followed his occupation on rented land. Succeeding well in his 
ventures, he then bought seventy-nine acres of land in Park town- 
ship, and there devoted his time and energies to the improvement 
of a farm, carrying on general farming and stock-raising. He 
labored wisely, and in course of time erected a substantial brick 
house and other buildings adapted to farming purposes, and fur- 
ther added to the value and beauty of the place by setting out a 
variety of fruit and shade trees. In 1881 Mr. Klose retired from 
active pursuits, and has since resided at Moore Park. He still 
owns a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Park township, and 
from its rental receives a good annual income. 

On November 22, 1861, Mr. Klose married Lovina Miller, who 
was bom in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of 
John Miller, who migrated with his family from that state to Michi- 
gan, and spent his last years in Park township. She died in Octo- 
ber, 1890, leaving three children, namely. Mary, wife of Samuel 
Andre, has five children, Allen, Will, Maude, Enos, and Frankie ; 
John D., married Angle Stahl and they have two children, Clarence 
and Lovina; and Enos J., who married Emma Bender, has three 
children, Ethel, Earl and Lloyd. 

Mr. Klose married for his second wife, in June, 1891, Mrs. 
Lucinda (Bramer) Weinberg, who was bom in Park township, St. 

Vol. 11—11 



666 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Joseph county, Michigan, August 25, 1845. Her father, George 
Bramer, was a pioneer of Park township. He traded his house 
and lot in Pennsylvania, his native state, for ninety-five acres of 
land lying in the southeast quarter of section 28, Park township, 
and, bringing with him a team of horses, came here with his fam- 
ily. Building a log house, he began the arduous task of reclaiming 
a farm from the wilderness, and was there engaged in tilling the 
soil until his death, in 1850. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Margaret Fetter, lived until 1871. To the marriage of George and 
Margaret (Fetter) Bramer seven children were born, two sons and 
five daughters, of whom three are now living : The eldest, Caroline, 
resides with Mrs. Klose; Lucinda (Mrs. Klose), is next in order 
of birth ; and Margaret is the wife of Simon Bloom, a retired farmer 
of Garden City, Missouri, and they have four sons and five daugh- 
ters and are members of the Evangelical church. Mrs. Lucinda 
Klose was bom and reared in Park township, St. Joseph county. 
She married first, in 1862, Jeremiah Weinberg, who was a native 
of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, a son of George Weinberg, 
a pioneer settler of St. Joseph county. He died October 5, 1886, 
leaving no children. 

Mr. and Mrs. Klose are members of the Evangelical church at 
Center Park. Mr. Klose is a Republican in politics and cast his 
first vote for the martyred Lincoln, and had the honor of voting 
for Blaine, Garfield and McKinley as well as for the great typical 
American, Roosevelt. 

Although she had no children of her own, Mrs. Klose adopted 
an infant, Wilma E. Vale, who was left an orphan when a few 
weeks old, her father, John W. Vale, having died in a hospital 
while a soldier in the Civil war. The child was reared and edu- 
cated by Mrs. Klose as her own daughter, and subsequently she 
was happily married to Dr. G. A. Hughes. Mrs. Hughes passed 
to the higher life April 17, 1894, at the age of twenty-nine years, 
seven months and ten days, leaving a host of friends to mourn her 
loss. The following shows the esteem in which Mrs. Hughes was 
held: *' Wilma E. Hughes, wife of Dr. G. A. Hughes, rested from 
her labors on the 17th of April, 1894. She was a woman who will 
be greatly missed in our village. She was identified with every 
organization for the advancement and welfare of mankind and 
now that an irreparable loss has come to her own household, let 
none of those who ever received good at her hands forget their 
obligations. Her home was always open to the needy, her bounties 
were shared with others, and her sympathies were not limited to 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 667 

her own household. Such friendship deserves and will receive 
life-long gratitude. We honor her as one who stood well and best 
at home and as a neighbor. We feel as if one of our own household 
had been taken, and mourn with her family as she and they have 
mourned with us, and hope that we, as neighbors may meet again 
in that brighter and better land. A Christian not only in her 
belief but in her life, she learned to love her Savior in her early 
youth, uniting at the age of fifteen with the Lutheran church at 
Moore Park. Married at the age of twenty to Dr. G. A. Hughes, 
she came with him to Jones, where she joined the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, of which she was a member at the time of her death. 
She was greatly loved and honored, but we will not mar the sweet 
memory of a loving wife and daughter by any attempt to speak of 
her virtues in the home circle, as these are too sacred to be touched 
upon, but we as neighbors and friends join with her family in 
cherishing, so far as known, the history of her home life, who will 
remember with reverence her last hours with us, for if God ever 
reveals to the spirit while yet in its earthly tenement the peace and 
happiness of the heavenly home, such revelation was hers. She 
will hold a place in the memory of her many friends until the bright 
sun of life sinks in its great West, only to rise in eternity ^s great 
East." The funeral of Mrs. Hughes brought together the largest 
assemblage of people on any similar occasion in the history of the 
village. The services were conducted by Eeverend Montgomery; of 
Three Rivers, assisted by Reverend Emmons, of Vandalia. The 
chapter read was Mrs. Hughes' selection, and the text was her own 
last word. A lover of flowers, her casket was adorned within and 
without by the loving tributes of her family and friends. The 
interment was at Pleasant Valley Ceimetery, Kalamazoo county. 

Glover E. Laird. — Bonnie Scotland, the **Land of the Thistle,'' 
has contributed many of her sturdy sons and daughters to aid in 
the development of Free America and the following is a brief 
review of a descendant of the Scotch people, the grandfather of 
Glover E. Laird having been the first to come to the United States 
to lay the foundation of the Lairds of this line. 

Mr. Laird, the worthy and genial postmaster of Mendon, Mich- 
igan, is a native of St. Joseph county and was born November 20, 
1858, being the youngest of three sons born to Gilbert and Soloma 
(S'chofield) Laird, and all the sons are still living. The eldest, 
George R., is a resident of Egan, South Dakota, and is connected 
with the United States Mail service. He was a soldier in the 



668 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Rebellion for three years and received an honorable discharge. 
He is married. Gilbert J., the second son, resides on the old 
homestead in Mendon township, and is married. Glover Laird 
is next. 

Gilbert Laird came to Michigan when but a young man and 
he devoted his life to agriculture. He was born in 1815 and died 
on August 12, 1858. He was always a Republican politically. 
Glover E. Laird of this sketch, had very meager chances for a 
good education, as he ceased going to school at the age of four- 
teen. He was reared as a farmer ^s lad and had his full quota of 
work to perform and he is strictly a self-made and self-educated 
man. He became connected with the United States mail service 
early in life, as he received his appointment as Route Agent at 
Mendon in 1900, and on April 1, 1906, under the administration 
of President Roosevelt, received his commission of Postmaster at 
Mendon, and is still the present incumbent. He is filling this re- 
sponsible position with credit to himself and the people. There 
are six mails delivered every twenty-four hours in Mendon. 
There are four rural routes and one star route. 

Mr. Laird has been married twice — first to Miss Delia Barne- 
bee, whom he married December 19, 1878, and four children, one 
son and three daughters, were born to this union. Lulu is the wife 
of H. H. Davis of Detroit, Michigan, where he is a foreman in an 
automobile tire manufacturing company and they have three chil- 
dren: Herbert, Newell and Dorothy; OUie Belle is cashier in the 
large grocery house of Peter Smith & Son at Detroit, and is highly 
educated ; Glenn W. is deceased ; Ruth is the wife of Edison Had- 
ley of Mendon, Michigan. Mrs. Laird, the mother of these chil- 
dren, died October 10, 1892, and for his second wife Mr. Laird 
chose Mrs. Edith E. (Vale) Reedy, and one son was born to them, 
Eugene. He is in the fourth grade in school. Mrs. Laird is a 
native of St. Joseph county, where she was reared and educated. 
Her father is deceased but her mother still lives and resides in 
Flowerfield township. 

Mr. Laird is a stanch and true Republican and has always 
ardently upheld those sterling principles of the G. 0. P. He cast 
his maiden presidential vote for the beloved Garfield and has 
always supported each presidential nominee of the Republican 
party since. He has always been known to stand firmly on his 
principles politically, and has been selected at divers times as dele- 
gate to the Congressional and county conventions, to represent 
his party's interests. Mr. Laird is a warm friend of the public 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 669 

schools, although he received but little education himself and that 
through his own efforts, but he believes in the practical training 
of the young, and his influence was felt, in the building of the 
modern and beautiful high school building, erected in Mendon, 
only a few years ago, which is a credit to the town and county. 
In fact he has endeavored to advance all measures for the benefit 
of his little city. He has seen Mendon when it was a small strug- 
gling village, and points out the first brick building erected on 
Main street. There were no railroads in the township, nor tele- 
phones nor rural deliveries of mail. Fraternally he is an enthu- 
siastic Mason, being a member of Lodge No. 137, A. F. & A. M. also 
a member of the Centerville Chapter R. A. M. He was worship- 
ful master two years and at the present time holds the same office 
in Mendon, Michigan. He is also a member of the K. 0. T. M. 
Tent, No. 349, at Mendon. Mr. and Mrs. Laird are members of 
the Methodist Episcopal church at Mendon of which he is one of 
the stewards. He is a genial, cordial gentlemen, modest in his 
demeanor, and a friend whom one may prize. He has seen some 
of the rough places in the pathway of life but by fortitude, dili- 
gence and good business ability has now a high place in the 
estimation of his colleagues and friends. 

Daniel B. Wagner. — Fully three quarters of a century have 
dropped into the abyss of time since the Wagner family was founded 
in St. Joseph county and the name has thus been long and promi- 
nently identified with the civic and material development and up- 
building of this favored section of the Wolverine state. It is 
pleasing to record that the subject of this sketch is not only a 
member of one of the pioneer families of the county but also that 
he has been identified in a most successful way with the agricultural 
industry, which enlisted the attention of his father, who absolutely 
hewed out the farm from the virgin forest. 

Daniel B. Wagner was born in Colon township, this county, on 
the 28th of February, 1846, and is a son of Peter and Catherine 
(Peters) Wagner, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania, 
where the former was born on the 24th of March, 1810, and the lat- 
ter in the year of 1815. They were reared to maturity in their 
native state, where their marriage was solemnized and whence they 
removed to Ohio, where they remained one winter, at the expiration 
of which, in 1835, they came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, where 
the father purchased one hundred and sixty acres of government 
land in Colon township. Here he erected his primitive log cabin 



670 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and set himself the herculean task of reclaiming a farm from the 
wilderness. A portion of the original estate constitutes the present 
homestead of the subject of this review. The parents played well 
their part in connection with the development of this section of the 
state and here they continued to reside until their death, the father 
having passed away on the 24th of May, 1889, and the mother on 
the 21st of May, 1877. They became the parents of thirteen chil- 
dren and of the number three sons and seven daughters are now 
living. The old homestead lies contiguous to the present village of 
Colon, which was established a number of years after the family 
located in this vicinity. 

Daniel B. Wagner was reared under the conditions and influ- 
ences of the pioneer days and availed himself of the privileges of 
the common schools of the locality and period. He continued to be 
associated in the work and management of the home farm until he 
had attained to his legal majority when he began working by the 
month as a farm hand. Soon after initiating his independent 
career he married and finally he gave evidence of his ambition and 
resourcefulness by renting a farm and thereafter he continued his 
operations under these conditions for a period of eight years dur- 
ing which his success was on a parity with his industry and well 
directed efforts. After the expiration of his farm lease he located 
on the old homestead, which is now his place of abode; the same 
comprises thirty-two acres and is an integral portion of the land 
secured by his father many years ago. Mr. Wagner is known as 
one of the progressive and essentially representative farmers and 
stock-growers of his native county and is a citizen who has ever 
been true to the civic advancement, taking a deep interest in every- 
thing that has touched the welfare of the community. He is a 
Republican in his political allegiance and served three terms as 
highway commissioner and one term as member of the board of 
reviews of Colon township. Both he and his good wife are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

On the 6th of May, 1866, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Wagner to Miss Leona E. Tomlinson, who was born in New York 
on the 16th of October, 1846, being one of the seven children of 
Orson and Jane Ann (Kennedy) Tomlinson, who were natives of 
the state of New York and who established their home in St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, in the late '50s, here passing the residue of their 
lives. Concerning the children of Mr. and Mrs. Wagner the fol- 
lowing brief record is given: Helen Gladys, who was born on the 
31st of December, 1866, is the wife of Eugene Grimes, of Colon; 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 671 

Wallace Hull, who was born on the 17th of July, 1868, and who is 
the present supervisor of Colon township, married Miss May Stailey 
and they have two children ; Peter Anthony, who was bom on the 
2nd of December, 1870, died on the 13th of May, 1884; Ansel 
Russell, who was born on the 21st of August, 1872, is a telegraph 
operator in Homer, Michigan ; he married Miss Harriet Rathbum 
and they have two children; Maude Isabel, who was born on the 4th 
of February, 1874, is the wife of William Simpson, of Leonidas town- 
ship, this county, and they have one son ; Gertrude Jane, who was 
bom on the 12th of Febmary, 1879, is the wife of Frederick 
Thomes, a successful farmer of Matteson township. Branch county, 
Michigan, and they have one son ; Mary Forestina, who was bom 
on the 26th of October, 1890, and who remains at the parental 
home, was graduated in the Colon high school as a member of the 
class of 1910, now a student at Kalamazoo, Michigan. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wagner's homestead is known in Colon to^vnship as **Oak 
Woods.'' 

John Henry Worthington. — In evidence of the confidence in 
which he is held by his fellow citizens are the numerous public 
offices filled by John Henry Worthington. He has, in fact, held 
nearly all the offices of the township, having been township super- 
visor for ten years, assessor for two years, highway commissioner 
for nine years, constable for three, and justice of the peace for 
four. He stands high in Masonry and has for twenty years held 
the office of treasurer of Mendon Lodge No. 137. Mr. Worthington 
was for many years a farmer, but afterward removed to Mendon 
and for a short time before his retirement from active business 
was engaged in the butcher trade. 

John Henry Worthington is English in origin, his parents, 
William and Mary (Prayforth) Worthington, having been natives 
of Great Britain who came to America in 1837 and took up their 
residence in the Empire state. Three years later they came to 
Kalamazoo county, Michigan, and after living there a short time, 
entered eighty acres of land in Brady township. They engaged in 
farming for the rest of their lives and experienced the strenuous, 
but wholesome life of the Michigan pioneer. The father hauled 
the first load of lumber into Mendon. He was a Democrat, but 
afterward gave his allegiance to the Republican party and he and 
his wife were earnest members of the Methodist church. Bom in 
1810 he lived to the age of eighty-three, his demise occurring in 
1893. The mother, bom in 1808, passed to the other shore in 1858. 



672 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

This estimable couple were the parents of a good sized family of 
children. William died in infancy ; Mary became the wife of Leon- 
ard Button, a farmer, who lives in Bruce, Wisconsin; Jane, Eliza- 
beth and an unnamed child died in infancy; John Henry was the 
sixth in order of birth ; Richard is a farmer living in Kalamazoo 
county, Michigan, and Mark and Thomas are likewise Kalamazoo 
county farmers. 

John Henry Worthington was born in New York on March 10, 
1837. As a lad he attended the district school and assisted in the 
farm work, the practical experience thus gained serving him in 
good stead when, grown to manhood, he became an independent 
agriculturist. When twenty-one years of age he started out for 
himself, and for three or four years farmed on shares. He then 
bought a farm of eighty acres in Mendon township and there resided 
until 1897, when he brought his household into town and engaged 
in the butcher business. After two years of this new occupation 
he retired and made his home in the village. He and his family 
enjoy affiliation with the Methodist church and play a prominent 
part in the life of Mendon. 

Mr. Worthington was married in 1858 in St. Joseph county to 
Sarah Bourn, a daughter of Ezra and Lois Bourn of New York 
state and to the union the following children were bom : Delmar L., 
born May 16, 1859, and engaged in the grocery business in Men- 
don until 1909, when he became a dealer in implements ; he mar- 
ried Nettie Kepper of Mendon in 1887, and they have one son, 
Harry, born August 29, 1888. Ida L., born December 17, 1861, is 
the wife of Chester Stevens, now living in Exeter, Nebraska. Clara 
B., born in 1863, became the wife of Edward Troy and died in 
1890. Lottie is the wife of William Goodrich and lives near Colon. 
William H. lives on his father's farm; he married Effie Reid and 
they have one child, Marie. Charles A., bom in 1873, lives in 
Schoolcraft and is superintendent of the lighting plant ; his wife 
was Alice Shaffer of Mendon, and a son named Clare has been born 
to them. Grace, born in 1875, is the wife of Calvin Walters of 
Mendon, buyer for the New York Poultry Company. George, born 
in 1880, is an undertaker in Three Rivers, Michigan ; his wife was 
Miss Mabel Schoonmaker. 

Mrs. John H. Worthington died in Mendon, December 9, 1904. 
The following is taken from one of the local papers: 

' ' Sweetly, quietly, her pure spirit slipped away from her bed 
of pain to enter the mansions above. She was the daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. Ezra Bourn. The family came to Michigan in 1842, set- 




o^^, iwf /^^-^^ 




HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 677 

ding at Dexter, but Father Bourn soon after purchased a farm near 
Mendon, where the deceased grew to womanhood among many 
friends. June 30, 1858, she was united in marriage with J. Henry 
Worthington. They built their home on a farm just west of Men- 
don. Eight children came to glorify their lives, seven of whom are 
living, and were with their mother during her long illness. The 
children are : Delmar L. of Mendon ; William who lives on the home 
farm; Charles of Schoolcraft; George, of Three Rivers; Mrs. Ida 
Stevens of Exeter, Nebraska; Mrs. Lottie Goodrich of Colon; and 
Mrs. Grace Walters of Mendon, all of whom are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

''Mrs. Worthington was a devoted follower of Jesus. She was 
converted and united with the Methodist Episcopal church at the 
age of twelve. Her life became radiant through constant commun- 
ion with her Saviour. She looked forward with unwavering faith 
to that more abundant life that is with Christ. The prayer-meet- 
ing, class-meeting, ladies ' aid society and all the church circles will 
miss her sorely. Hers was an unselfish and beautiful character — 
full of thoughtful care for the comfort of others; never murmur- 
ing through the long hours of intense suffering of her last eight 
months of life. The Word was her sweet consolation ; in the prom- 
ises she found peace. During her illness she watched the progress 
of the new church building, hoping that it might be completed be- 
fore her summons came. In this she was not disappointed, although 
the church was not entirely ready for final occupancy. The funeral 
was held from the church, conducted by her pastor, who spoke 
from the text that she had selected, 2 Tim. 4:7, 8. The quartet 
choir rendered beautiful music, and at midday her body was laid 
away under a canopy of pure white snow. 'Wash me, and I shall 
be whiter than snow.' — Frank M. Cottrell.'' 

In 1907 Mr. Worthington married Miss Alice Kleckner of 
Flowerfield, bom in 1846. She died January 29, 1909, and since 
that time he has lived alone. 

Solomon Yeatter.— Among the well known and most success- 
ful farmers of St. Joseph county is Solomon Yeatter, born April 
13, 1839, to Jonathan and Barbara (Decker) Yeatter. Jonathan 
Yeatter was born April 8, 1806, in the state of Pennsylvania. 
Several years after his marriage to Miss Barbara Decker, also a 
native of Pennsylvania, he removed to Ohio, where they made their 
home for ten years. To them were born eight children : Michael, 
Sarah, Katherine, Solomon, John, Lovina, Emanuel and Alfred. 



678 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Both Lovina and Emanuel died there, when very young. In 1853, 
when Solomon was thirteen years old, the family left Ohio, com- 
ing to Michigan, where they bought two hundred acres of land in 
Colon township. At that time this section of the country was very 
sparsely settled, and what afterwards became a well cultivated 
farm was then merely a stretch of woods. Jonathan Yeatter 
cleared the land and built a house and barns, a part of the old 
homestead still being in use. In the early days he was a soldier, 
and as the years passed held various political offices, at one time 
filling the position of overseer. After a long and busy life, he 
passed away at his home on September 18, 1888, at the age of eighty- 
two. Mrs. Yeatter, who was bom April 22, 1814, died August 
9, 1879. 

Solomon Yeatter, having attended the Colon high school, 
started out for himself at the age of twenty-one by teaching school 
in Colon and in Bronson. He continued at this work for four 
years, during which time he bought a farm of sixty acres, and later 
another of the same size. However, he still lived at home with his 
father, and when twenty-six years of age, married Miss Martha 
A. Benedict, daughter of Alfred and Cynthia Benedict of Burr 
Oak township. Mrs. Yeatter was three years her husband's junior, 
having been bom February 23, 1842, in Morrow county, Ohio. 
She came to Michigan with her parents when a very young child. 
She had taught school for several years, her education having been 
received in Burr Oak and Colon. The young couple lived at the 
old homestead until the completion of their own new home, which 
is still occupied by Mr. Yeatter. There were three children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Yeatter: Sidney E., born January 27, 1867, mar- 
ried Katherine Dean and has two children; Effie 0., born July 
17, 1869, wife of Albion Eussel, also has two children ; and Ethel 
L., born October 10, 1874, is the wife of Hart Shaffmaster and 
mother of one son. All of these are now living on farms of their 
own, in and near Colon. 

Mr. Solomon Yeatter is a member of the Reformed church, as 
were his parents and also his wife. He is a stanch Republican, 
having adhered to the principles of this party since casting his 
first vote, which was for Abraham Lincoln. His life has been a 
very successful one, and his ability as a farmer is unquestioned. 

After about a year's illness, Mrs. Yeatter died during an 
operation at a hospital in Kalamazoo, on May 14, 1903. She was 
one of the noble and God fearing women of St. Joseph county 
and lived a life of love and happiness, her home being her paradise. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 679 

She was a devout Christian, having been an active member of the 
Reformed church and was President of the Ladies' Aid Society 
and for many years President of the Sunday School. The follow- 
ing is extracted from an obituary published in the Colon Express 
at the time of her death : 

She was united in marriage to Solomon Yeatter, February 22, 
1866. This unioji was blessed with three children all of whom are 
living. Their wedded life was a happy one to which her last dying 
words bear testimony. Her last words spoken to her husband 
were: ''Solomon, I am going to die; when we lived together we 
had a happy life, but on account of my disease for the last three 
years it was nothing but sorrow and grief for both of us, but now 
comes the crown of joy and everlasting life in dear Jesus.'' Oh! 
what a legacy for those left behind. How beautiful are these 
words, words that will never die. 

She leaves to mourn her departure, a devoted husband, three 
children, five grandchildren, two brothers and two sisters besides 
many dear friends. She was a lifelong member of the Christian 
church, early giving her heart to God, being in every way a most 
earnest member of the St. Paul Reformed church of South Colon. 
She w^as not simply a member by name, for her Christianity meant 
far more than that. Her Christian life and spirit was mani- 
fested each day in the Saviour whom she loved. No better ex- 
ample could be given other than her beautiful life and character 
as it was acted out day by day. Her amiable disposition and her 
wise and good counsels will never die. The funeral services were 
conducted by her pastor, Rev. H. S. Nicholson, who spoke words 
of comfort to a very large concourse of people from the 126 Ps., 
5, "They that sow in tears shall reap in joy." Her body was laid 
to rest in the cemetery by the St. Paul Reformed church to await 
the glorious resurrection. Peace to her ashes. 

George Franklin Knevels. — Holding high rank among the 
skilful and prosperous agriculturists of St. Joseph county, George 
Franklin Knevels owns and occupies a valuable homestead in 
Fabius township, where the greater part of his life has been 
passed. A son of the late Granville Knevels, he was born May 
15, 1853, in Sullivan county, New York, being descended from 
distinguished Holland ancestry. His great grandfather, Isaac 
Adrian Knevels, Sr., a native of Holland, was educated for the 
vninistry, and for twenty-five years had charge of a church on the 
Island of Saint Johns, a Danish possession in the West Indies. 



680 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

He married a rich heiress, a Miss Borm, and of the eight sons 
born of their union but two grew to years of maturity. 

Isaac Adrian Knevels, Jr., grandfather of George F. Knevels, 
was born on the Island of Saint Johns, and was but twelve years 
old when his father died. According to the last request made by 
his father, he was very soon after sent to New York to be ed- 
ucated. Having completed his preliminary education, he began 
the study of medicine, and having received the degree of M. D. 
returned to Saint Johns Island, where he was engaged in the 
practice of his profession a number of years. Coming back then 
to New York, Dr. Knevels was for several years a prominent 
physician of Fishkill-on-the-Hudson. Removing from there to 
Sullivan county. New York, he bought four hundred acres of land 
near White Lake, and there continued his professional labors, 
leaving the management of his farm to his sons, living there until 
his death. 

Dr. Isaac A. Knevels, married, on Saint Johns Island, Mar- 
garet Catherine Vriehuis, who was born on Saint Thomas Island, 
one of the Danish islands, a daughter of D. Juno Vriehuis. Her 
father was born in Prussia, and educated at a German university. 
He subsequently became the King's physician on board a Danish 
man-of-war, and went to Saint Thomas, where he practiced med- 
icine a few years. Going from there to the Island of Saint Johns, 
Dr. Vriehuis became prominent in public affairs, being made 
burgomaster, as such serving as head of the Burgo Council, which 
met at his house once each month. There he spent the remainder 
of his life. He married Miss Tonis, a daughter of Henry Tonis, 
of Amsterdam, Holland. Their daughter, Margaret Catherine 
Vriehuis was sent to America when eight years of age to attend 
a seminary at Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Having completed the 
course of study, Margaret started for Saint Johns Island, to join 
her parents. The vessel on which she embarked was captured by 
a French privateer, and the captain was placed under arrest. She 
and her colored maid, the only women aboard, were treated most 
courteously, and her baggage was unmolested. Having searched 
the vessel, the Frenchmen released the captain, who proceeded on 
his voyage. Upon landing at Saint Johns, Miss Vriehuis met Dr. 
Knevels, who had just completed his medical course in New York, 
and she subsequently became his wife, as above stated. She sur- 
vived him several years, dying at Monticello, New York. Dr. and 
Mrs. Knevels, reared eleven sons and one daughter. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 681 

Granville Knevels was born at Fishkill-on-the-Hudson, and 
received excellent educational advantages. Choosing farming for 
an occupation rather than a professional career, he came to Mich- 
igan in 1850, and for two years was resident of Three Rivers. 
Locating then in Fabius township, he purchased a tract of land, 
ten acres of which had been cleared, and a small frame house 
had been erected. He superintended the clearing of the re- 
mainder of the estate, placed it in a good state of culture, and here 
resided until his death, in 1894. The maiden name of his wife 
was Margaret Phillips. She was born in Sullivan county. New 
York, a daughter of James and Margaret (Debron) Phillips, the 
former of whom was born, either in York state, of German par- 
ents, or in Germany, while the latter was a native of Sullivan 
county. She died on the home farm, in Fabius township, in 1893. 
Thirteen children were born to her and her husband, namely: 
Margaret C, James Adrian, Granville, Sarah J., John H., Mary 
E., Louise, Octavius, George Franklin, Maria, Frances, Carrie L. 
and Howard. All received good educations, and, with the excep- 
tion of George F. and Granville, all became school teachers. 

James Adrian and John H. were soldiers during the Rebellion. 
James A. was a member of the Regimental Band, Eleventh Michigan 
Volunteers, for two years, and in a number of battles includ- 
ing Lookout Mountain, Chattanooga and Siege of Atlanta. 
John H. was a member of Company E, Eleventh Michigan Volun- 
teers, and served for three years, being in all the actions in which 
his brother took part. Both were honorably discharged and were 
very fortunate, since neither was wounded, sick or taken prisoner. 

But four years of age when brought by his parents to Mich- 
igan, George F. Knevels was educated in the rural schools of 
Fabius township. He became a farmer from choice, and always 
lived with his parents, during their closing years, caring for them 
tenderly. Succeeding to the possession of the homestead, he has 
been extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits during his active 
life. Enterprising and energetic, he began when a young man 
to buy and ship cattle to Buffalo and Chicago, and in that profit- 
able industry was employed for a quarter of a century or more, 
building up a large business. His home, a modernly built frame 
structure, is pleasantly located near Little Corey Lake, of which 
it commands a fine view, having also an extended view of the 
surrounding country. 

Mr. Knevels married, June 18, 1879, Anna M. Bell, who was 
born in Hameringham, Lincolnshire, England, a daughter of John 



682 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and Susan (Bradley) Bell. John Bell learned the trade of a car- 
penter in Lincolnshire, and became a contractor and builder. His 
health failing, he came, by the advice of his physician, to America 
to recuperate. Locating, in 1872, in Cass county, Michigan, he 
bought a farm in Newburg township, and after living there a while 
sold, and bought another farm in the same township, and was there 
engaged in its management until his death, in 1900. His wife, 
passing away in 1891. Mr. and Mrs. Bell reared nine children, as 
follows: Mary, Richard, Sarah, Henry, Caroline, Alfred, Timothy, 
Anna M. and William R. Of these Mary, Richard, Sarah and 
Caroline, settled in Australia. 

Six children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Knevels, 
namely: Clyde Richard, Mary Louise, Anna Lora, Edwin George, 
Margaret Vriehuis, and her twin sister, Katharine Bell. Clyde R. 
married Myrtle Heslett, and they have three sons, John Cameron 
and Robert Granville, Samuel Adrian, Anna Lora, a graduate of the 
Three Rivers High School of Class 1905, and of the State Normal 
School at Kalamazoo in class of 1908, was a teacher at Sturgis 
and at present is at Three Rivers, Michigan. Mrs. Knevels and 
her daughters are members of the Methodist Protestant church 
and Margaret and Katharine are students in Three Rivers high 
school. 

David B. Purdy, owner of ''Lone Oak Farm,'' is the son of 
Elijah and Martha (Barker) Purdy, natives of Westchester 
county. New York. Elijah Purdy was born November 26, 1805, 
and his wife on March 20th of the same year. They were married 
on New Year's day, 1830, and remained in their home town for 
several years, where two of their children were born. In the fall 
of 1835, Elijah Purdy, together with his brother-in-law, David 
Barker, left for the West, coming to St. Joseph county, where he 
acquired four or five hundred acres of land. Mr. Purdy then re- 
turned to New York, and in the spring of 1836 brought his family 
to the new Michigan home. In the course of time, three more 
children were born. Two daughters, Sarah L., born February 1, 
1831, and Martha A., bom March 15, 1840, died in infancy. The 
other children born to this couple were: John A., born October 
15, 1833, who in 1862 married Mary Galloway, who died June 20, 
1864, and for his second wife married Emily C. Davis, who sur- 
vives him and still lives in Leonidas; he died February 18, 1902, 
leaving no children; Mary C, born November 22, 1836, wife of 
John McDonald, now living in Leonidas ; and David B. In politi- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 683 

cal affairs, Elijah Purdy cast his lot with the Republican party. 
He died on August 12, 1876, and his wife on July 24, 1898. Both 
were members of the Lepnidas Methodist church. 

David B. Purdy was born on March 21, 1845, on the farm 
which he now owns, and he has always lived on this farm. At 
the age of nineteen, David Purdy started to work, and shortly 
after received a gift of eighty acres from his uncle, Hakaliah Purdy. 
After a lapse of two or three years, during which Mr. Purdy de- 
voted his time entirely to the cultivation of this land, he was 
married, on October 16, 1867, to Dell M., the only child of Bassett 
and Martha W. Orcutt, natives of Monroe county, New York, 
who came to St. Joseph county about the year 1846. They re- 
mained here only six months, returning to New York for a period 
of four years, after which they again came to Leonidas. Mrs. 
Purdy was born November 25, 1847. About six weeks after their 
marriage, David B. Purdy and his bride came to live on the farm 
presented him, where they remained until 1880, when they built 
a beautiful new home. After forty years of happy married life, 
Mrs. Purdy passed away, at her home, on February 11, 1907. She 
left no children. 

David B. Purdy is a Republican, as was his father, and is a 
charter member of Leonidas Grange. He still lives on the farm, 
which is one of the best equipped and most prosperous in the 
county. Miss Martha Sherman, who has been with the family for 
nearly twenty years, is keeping house for him. 

George A. B. Cooke. —Few citizens of St. Joseph county have 
wielded greater or more beneficent influence in the community 
than George A. B. Cooke, who has maintained his home in the 
city of Three Rivers for nearly half a century and who is now 
living virtually retired, after many years of earnest and fruitful 
endeavor. He came to this county when a young man and gained 
advancement through his own ability and well directed efforts. 
As a newspaper editor and publisher, as incumbent of various 
offices of distinctive public trust, including that of postmaster of 
his home city, and as a citizen of high civic ideals and utmost 
loyalty and progressiveness, he has done much to further the 
best interests of the community and has made for himself a secure 
place in popular confidence and esteem. No citizen of St. Joseph 
county is better known than Mr. Cooke, and in points of sterling 
character and worthy accomplishment none is more distinctively 
worthy of representation in this publication. 



684 HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

George A. B. Cooke is a scion of a family whose name has 
been identified with the annals of American history from the early 
colonial epoch, and the family was early founded in the state of 
New Jersey, being of stanch English lineage. Mr. Cooke was 
born at Belvidere, Warren county, New Jersey, '-on the 8th of 
February, 1842, and is a son of Colonel Joseph and Sarah A. 
(Bowman) Cooke, the former of whom was born on a farm near 
Hope, Warren county, New Jersey, on the 21st of June, 1812, and 
the latter was born at Mifflinville, Columbia county, Pennsyl- 
vania, on the 9th of November, 1816. William Cooke, father of 
Joseph, was likewise a native of Warren county, New Jersey, 
and was a son of Consider Cooke, who was a son of Elisha Cooke. 
The latter was a native of Massachusetts and was a son of William 
Cooke, who was a son of Jacob Cooke (2). The latter 's father, 
Jacob Cooke (1), was a son of Francis Cooke, who was the founder 
of the family in America, whither he came with other of the 
historic Puritan band on the ''Mayflower." His wife and chil- 
dren later joined him in the new world, and they made the voyage 
on the ship ''Ann,'' in 1623. The family home was established 
in the Plymouth colony, and there both Jacob (1) and his son 
Jacob died. The latter 's son William, died at Kingston, Massa- 
chusetts. Elisha Cooke, son of William, eventually emigrated 
from New England to New Jersey and settled in what is now the 
county of Warren. He became one of the substantial farmers of 
that county, where he continued to maintain his home until his 
death, which occurred in 1799. He was the father of eighteen 
children, nearly all of whom attained to years of maturity. Con- 
sider Cooke, son of Elisha, was born on the 4th of February, 1745, 
and he married Sarah Bell. He continued to be identified with 
agricultural pursuits in Warren county, New Jersey until his 
death. His son William likewise gave his allegiance throughout 
his active career to the great basic industry of agriculture, and 
his entire life was passed in Warren county, where, like his father, 
he was an honored and influential citizen of sterling character. 
He married Margal*et McMurtrie, who was born in Warren county, 
in 1779, and who was a daughter of Captain John McMurtrie, a 
valiant soldier and officer of the Continental line in the war of the 
Revolution. Captain McMurtrie served as first judge of the court 
of Sussex county. New Jersey, after the close of the war and was 
a prominent figure in the public affairs of his section of the state. 
Mrs. Margaret (McMurtrie) Cooke continued to reside in her 
native county until she was summoned to eternal rest. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 685 

Joseph Cooke, son of William and Margaret (McMurtrie) 
Cooke and father of him whose name initiates this sketch, gained 
his early educational training in the common schools of his native 
state and as a youth he entered upon an apprenticeship to the 
printing trade, at Belvidere, New Jersey. A year later he went 
to Newton, that state, and he completed his apprenticeship in the 
office of the Sussex Register. He had strong native powers and 
became a man of broad intellectuality. After the completion of 
his apprenticeship in connection with the ^^art preservative of all 
arts'' he was engaged in teaching school for a time, and he also 
served as a county official of his native county. In 1848 he re- 
moved to Washington, Pennsylvania, where he became associated 
with Seth T. Hurd in the editing and publishing of the Washing- 
tmi Commonwealth. He continued as one of the publishers of this 
paper until 1853, when he purchased a printing plant at Waynes- 
burg, Pennsylvania, where he continued editor and publisher of 
the Wayneshurg Eagle, a Whig paper, until 1857, after which he 
retired from active business. When the dark cloud of civil war 
cast its gruesome pall over the national horizon Joseph Cooke 
ardently espoused the cause of the Union, and in 1862 he enlisted 
with the rank of Commissary Sergeant, in Company A, Eighteenth 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry, with which he proceeded to the 
front. He participated in the various battles, marches and cam- 
paigns in which his command was involved and was finally captured 
by the enemy, after which he was held in duress in various southern 
prisons, including Andersonville prison, in which odious place he 
was confined for a period of six months. At the time of his capture 
his weight was two hundred and twenty-five pounds, and when he 
was released he weighed only ninety-six pounds, a fact that indi- 
cates the severity of the hardships and privations he had to endure 
in the southern prison pens. Wasted in health, he received his 
honorable discharge soon after his release and he forthwith re- 
turned to his home in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania. Soon after his 
return to that place he was appointed postmaster, and of this 
office he continued incumbent about twenty-one years. He con- 
tinued to reside in Waynesburg until his death, in 1890, and his 
funeral was held on his seventy-ninth birthday. He held a com- 
mission of Governor Curt in of Pennsylvania, as Colonel of the 
State Militia, during Curtin's administration as governor. 

Sarah Ann (Bowman) Cooke, wife of Colonel Joseph Cooke, 
was a daughter of Jesse and Sarah (Aten) Bowman, and, as 
already stated, she was a native of Mifflinville, Pennsylvania. Her 

Vol. 11—12 



686 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

father was born at Mount Bethel, Northampton county, that 
state, on the 10th of June, 1769, and his marriage to Sarah Aten 
was solemnized in 1795. He was a son of Christopher Bowman 
(or Baumann, as the name was originally spelled), and the latter 
was born near Ems, Germany, whence he came to America in 
1754. He first settled in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, where he 
remained for a number of years, and he then removed to North- 
ampton county and settled on the banks of the Delaware river, 
where he maintained his home until late in life, when he re- 
moved to Briar Creek township, Columbia county, where he passed 
the residue of his life. He married Susan Banks, who was of 
English and Scotch lineage and who was a member of one of the 
sterling pioneer families of the old Keystone state. Jesse Bowman 
devoted his active life to agricultural pursuits and he was one 
of the representative farmers in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, 
where he died at an advanced age. His daughter, Sarah A., who 
became the wife of Colonel Joseph Cooke, died at the home of her 
daughter, Mary A. (Cooke) Bradley, in Cleveland, Ohio, on the 
6th of December, 1901, at the venerable age of eighty-five years. 
Of her five children, the subject of this sketch is the eldest ; Mary 
became the wife of Charles R. Bradley, about 1865. He was a 
musician in Company I, Eighth Pennsylvania Reserves, and died 
about 1885; she resides with a daughter, Mabel, at Cleveland, 
Ohio; Henry, at sixteen years, enlisted in 1862, was corporal in 
Company A, Eighteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and was killed at 
the battle of Opequan, near Winchester, Virginia, under General 
Sheridan, September 19, 1864; Winfield S. was bom in 1848, en- 
listed in Company I, One Hundred and Ninety-third Pennsylvania 
Infantry, on July 19, 1864. About 1870 he went to Salt Lake 
City, Utah, and later married there Laura Hunter, and with his 
family, consisting of two sons and one daughter, still resides there ; 
he is engaged in mining interests and real estate ; Arthur I. was bom 
in 1853, married Arabella B. Adams in 1875, resides in Waynes- 
burg, Pennsylvania; is president of two natural gas companies, 
and interested in farming and other business enterprises; family 
consists of one son and five daughters. 

George A. B. Cooke was seven years of age at the time of the 
family removal from New Jersey to Washington, Pennsylvania, 
and when but nine years of age he began to assist in the work of 
his father's printing and newspaper office, where he proved the 
consistency of the staten^nt that the discipline of a newspaper 
office is equivalent to a liberal education. He familiarized him- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 687 

self with all details of the work of a country printing office and 
continued to be associated with his father's business until 1857, 
when he secured employment as compositor in the office of the 
Pittsburg Gazette, in the city of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. To 
amplify his knowledge of the printing business he served a virtual 
apprenticeship of two years in the well equipped job department 
of this paper, and he then returned to his home in Waynesburg. 
His patriotic fervor was on a parity with that of his honored 
father, and both tendered their services in defense of the Union 
about the same time. In August, 1862, George A. B. Cooke enlisted 
as a private in Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-third Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Infantry, with which he continued in active 
service until the expiration of his term of enlistment, and he was 
promoted from the ranks to the non-commissioned office of third 
sergeant. With the other members of his regiment he received 
his honorable discharge in May, 1863. He took part in the second 
battle of Bull Run and also in the sanguinary engagements at 
Antietam, Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville. It is worthy of 
note that his father became a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic, in which he himself has been a prominent figure, as will 
be more definitely indicated in another paragraph. 

In November, 1863, Mr. Cooke took up his residence in Three 
Rivers, Michigan, where he has since maintained his home and 
where he has made for himself a place of prominence and influence 
in civic and business affairs. In November of the year mentioned, 
he assumed the position of foreman in the office of the Three 
Rivers Reporter, and he retained this incumbancy until 1868, when 
he purchased a half interest in the business, in which he was there- 
after associated with Wilbur H. Clute until January, 1876, when 
he retired from the firm. While connected with the Reporter he 
introduced the first rotary job printing press into Three Rivers. 
He passed the greatest part of the following year in the east, and 
upon his return to Three Rivers he established a job printing 
office, to which he gave his attention until August, 1878, when, in 
connection therewith, he founded the Three Rivers Tribune, in- 
troducing therewith the first steam power printing press ever 
brought into the city— a four-roller Campbell ^'Complete'' press. 
He continued editor and publisher until 1895, when he disposed 
of the plant and business. Since that time he has lived virtually 
retired. He made of the Tribune one of the model country papers 
of Michigan, both in the matter of letter-press and news and edi- 
torial functions. The aggressive policy and enterprising methods 



688 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of Mr. Cooke were shown not only in connection with the specific 
business affairs of his newspaper and job office, but also in the 
advanced stand maintained in the furtherance of all measures 
tending to further the best interests of the community and the 
able and effective influence given in support of the principles and 
policies of the Republican party, to which he has ever given an 
unqualified allegiance. In 1890 Mr. Cooke was appointed post- 
master of Three Rivers, and he continued incumbent of this office 
for four years, under the administration of President Harrison. 
He retired after the election of Grover Cleveland to the presidency 
and had no hesitation in admitting himself to be an ''offensive 
partisan.'' 

Mr. Cooke has at all times been zealous and unselfish in his 
civic attitude and through the columns of his paper as well as 
through personal influence he has done much to forward the com- 
mercial and social progress of his home city and county. He is a 
man of well fortified opinions and has never lacked in the courage 
to uphold his convictions, but his genial and kindly nature has 
made him tolerant of the views of others, so that his antagonisms 
have not created objective rancor. He is known and respected by 
the people of St. Joseph county and now, free from the exactions 
of active business, he finds the full and gracious measure of solace 
and enjoyment in the indulgence of much and well directed read- 
ing and the companionship of friends who are tried and true. He 
served for a number of years as a member of the board of educa- 
tion, was a member of the village council about four years, prior 
to the incorporation of Three Rivers under a city charter, and he 
was the first secretary of the public-library board of Three Rivers. 
He is one of the appreciative and valued members of Ed. M. 
Prutzman Post, No. 72, Grand Army of the Republic, and serv^ed 
several terms as adjutant and two terms as its commander. In 
1909-10 he was aide-de-camp on the staff of Commander-in-chief of 
the G. A. R., Samuel R. Van Sant, of Minnesota. Mr. Cooke's 
wife is a communicant of the First Methodist Episcopal church of 
Three Rivers and he is a member of the society and of the board 
of trustees of the church. He was a member of the directorate of 
the old Three Rivers National Bank, and also a stockholder and 
director of the First National Bank of this city. 

On the 23d of February, 1870, was solemnized the marriage of 
Mr. Cooke to Miss Sarah M. Rice, who was born in Trucksville, 
Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, on the 7th of November, 1840, and 
who is a daughter of Rev. John P. and Sally Ann (Kunkle) Rice, 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 689 

the former of whom was born on a farm near Hope, Warren county, 
New Jersey, and the latter near Blairstown, that state, a daughter 
of Philip and Maria Kunkle. Rev. John P. Rice was a local 
preacher in the Methodist Episcopal church, as was also his father, 
Rev. Jacob Rice, who likewise was a native of Warren county, 
New Jersey, and a son of Christopher Rice. The latter was born 
in Hesse, Germany, in 1757, and was an only son. At the age of 
nineteen he emigrated to this country with a band of Hessian 
soldiers to assist the British forces in the Revolutionary war, but 
after the battle of Trenton, New Jersey, he deserted and joined 
the American forces and became a stanch supporter of the colonies. 
After the close of the war he settled near Hope, Warren county. 
New Jersey, where he was thereafter engaged in farming until 
his death. His son Jacob removed thence to Trucksville, Pennsyl- 
vania, in the sricinity of which place he became the owner of a 
large farm. He married Sarah Cooke, a daughter of Levi Cooke, 
who was a brother of Consider Cooke, paternal great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch, so that Mr. Cooke and his wife are 
of distant kinship in a collateral line. Rev. Jacob Rice and his 
wife continued to reside in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, until 
their death. Their son John P., father of Mrs. Cooke, was a sub- 
stantial agriculturist and business man of that county, where he 
operated a woolen mill and conducted a general store. He was a 
prominent and influential citizen, was a local preacher in the 
Methodist church, as already stated, and late in life he sold all 
of his farm land and business property and lived retired, at Hun- 
lock Creek, Luzerne county, until his death, at the age of eighty- 
one years. His wife died at the age of fifty-eight years, and of 
their children two sons and one daughter are now living. Mr. 
and Mrs. Cooke have one daughter, Florence, who is the wife of 
Victor H. Van Horn, a representative business man of Three 
Rivers. Mr. and Mrs. Van Horn have three children : Robert C, 
Bernard S. and George W. 

Capt. Charles P. Wheeler. — Residing in the city of Three 
'Rivers and giving his attention principally to the management of 
the affairs of the large landed estate of the family in Flowerfield 
township, Captain Wheeler is a native son of St. Joseph county 
and is a scion of one of its honored pioneer families, of which he 
is a representative of the third generation in the county, with 
whose history the name has been identified for three-quarters of 
a century. Within this period this section of the Wolverine state 



690 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

has been developed from the status of little more than a forest 
wilderness into one of the most opulent and progressive districts 
of the Michigan commonwealth. The captain maintains his home 
in Three Rivers save during the winter seasons, which he custom- 
arily passes in the state of California. 

Capt. Charles Partridge Wheeler, who receives his military 
title from gallant service as an officer in the Spanish- American 
war, was bom in Three Rivers, Michigan, on the 21st of August, 
1866, and is a son of William E. and Orissa (Partridge) Wheeler, 
both of whom were bom and reared in the state of New York, 
where their marriage was solemnized. The first representative of 
the Wheeler family in St. Joseph county was Daniel Wheeler, 
grandfather of him whose name initiates this sketch. This hon- 
ored ancestor, who was of stanch English lineage, was likewise a 
native of the state of New York and was a member of a family that 
was founded in New England in the colonial epoch of our national 
history. He was a successful merchant in his native state, whence 
he came to Michigan in 1835, about two years prior to the admis- 
sion of the state to the Union. In Flowerfield township, St. Joseph 
county, he secured by entry and purchased a tract of fourteen 
hundred acres of wild land, a considerable portion of which is 
still retained in the family possession, now constituting a most 
valuable property. Daniel Wheeler did not personally establish 
his home in Michigan, but soon returned to New York state, where 
he died in the prime of life. 

William E. Wheeler, father of the captain, was a man of 
broad mental ken and marked business sagacity, and he did much 
to further the industrial and civic upbuilding of Three Rivers and 
St. Joseph county. In 1859 he came to Three Rivers, which was 
then a mere village in the midst of the forests surrounding, and 
here he became one of the pioneer merchants of the county, the 
while he assumed the supervision of the reclamation of the large 
tract of land previously secured by his father, in Flowerfield town- 
ship. He continued in the mercantile business for a period of 
fully twenty years and he gained precedence as one of the repre- 
sentative business men and influential citizens of the county. He 
was a stanch advocate of the principles and policies of the Demo- 
cratic party and was zealous in the support of its cause. He gave 
his aid and influence in support of all measures and enterprises 
projected for the general good of the community, and was known 
as a broad-minded, liberal and progressive citizen, as well as a 
man of insuperable integrity and honor. He was one of the or- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 691 

ganizers of the Three Rivers National Bank and served for a 
time as its cashier. He was an appreciative member of the time- 
honored Masonic fraternity and his religious faith was that of the 
Episcopal church, of which his widow also is a devoted member. 
He ordered his life to goodly ends, so that there is all of justice 
and consistency in the high honor accorded to his memory in the 
city and county that so long represented his home. He died in 
Three Rivers, on the 18th of January, 1881. His widow now main- 
tains her home in Los Angeles, California, and is venerable in 
years. She was a gracious figure in the social life of Three Riv- 
ers for many years, and here her circle of devoted friends is lim- 
ited only by that of her acquaintances. She was born at Seneca 
Falls, Seneca county, New York, and is a daughter of Erastus and 
Sarah (Bruffu) Partridge. Her father was bom at Norwich, 
Connecticut, on the 9th of May, 1798, and as a young man he re- 
moved to the state of New York and engaged in the mercantile 
business at Cayuga. In 1824 he established a branch store at 
Seneca Falls, and eventually he transferred his entire business to 
the latter place, where he met with great success in his various 
operations. In 1848 he engaged in the banking business, and in 
1859 he established the Bank of Seneca Falls. During the disas- 
trous financial panic in 1857 his was one of only three or four 
banks in the state that met all obligations. Soon after the institu- 
tion of the national-bank system he secured a charter for his bank, 
as the First National Bank of Seneca Falls, and he continued as 
president of the institution until his death. He was without doubt 
the most influential citizen of Seneca Falls, where he gave his sup- 
port to all worthy causes and was a large stockholder in most of 
the leading industrial concerns. In 1820 was solemnized his mar- 
riage to Miss Sarah Bruflfu, a daughter of William and Ann 
Bruffu. She was bom at Homer, New York, in 1797, and her 
death occurred on the 5th of February, 1881, her husband having 
been summoned to the life eternal on the 20th of January, 1873. 

William E. and Orissa (Partridge) Wheeler became the par- 
ents of one son and four daughters, and two of the daughters died 
in childhood. Jessie is the widow of James W. Morgan, of Los 
Angeles, California ; and Laura E. is the widow of Renick C. Car- 
son, of Los Angeles, California. The only son is the immediate 
subject of this sketch. 

Capt. Charles P. Wheeler is indebted to the public schools of 
Three Rivers for his early educational discipline, which was sup- 
plemented by a course in the Michigan Military Academy, at Or- 



692 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

chard Lake, long one of the splendid educational institutions of 
the state and one whose closing, only a short time ago, was a source 
of unqualified regret to its many alumni, as well as to the people 
of the state in general. In this academy Captain Wheeler was 
graduated as a member of the class of 1884, and thereafter he con- 
tinued his studies for two years in the literary department of the 
University of Michigan. In 1889 he became associated with his 
brother-in-law, James W. Morgan, in the banking business at 
Bellingham, Washington, where he was thus engaged for a period 
of seven years. Upon his retirement, in 1893, he went to Cali- 
fornia, and there he remained until 1896, when he returned to 
Three Rivers, where he has since maintained his home. 

Captain Wheeler's thorough military training at Orchard 
Lake has begotten an abiding interest in military affairs, and that 
he has not held himself aloof from definite polemic service is 
shown in the fact that at the inception of the war with Spain, in 
1898, he promptly enlisted as a member of Company K, Thirty- 
third Michigan Volunteer Infantry. This regiment was mustered 
into the United States service on the 20th of May, 1898, and Cap- 
tain Wheeler forthwith received his commission as captain of 
Company K. The regiment was commanded by Colonel Charles 
L. Boynton, of Port Huron, and it started for Camp Alger, Vir- 
ginia, on the 28th of May. The regiment participated in the ex- 
pedition, under General Shafter, against Santiago, and bore its 
full share of the dangers and hardships of that expedition, in 
which Captain Wheeler proved a most gallant commanding of- 
ficer, retaining the unqualified confidence and regard of his men 
as well as of his superior officers. The regiment continued in ac- 
tive service until the close of the war and was mustered out at 
Three Rivers, on the 4th of January, 1899. Captain Wheeler 
manifests his continued interests in his comrades by retaining 
membership in the Spanish War Veterans Association. 

In politics Captain Wheeler is arrayed as a stalwart sup- 
porter of the cause of the Republican party, and while he has 
given effective service in behalf of the party he has only once ap- 
peared as a candidate for public office. In 1901 he was elected 
representative from St. Joseph county to the state legislature, in 
which he served the regular term of two years and made an excel- 
lent record. His election to this offijce was the more gratifying by 
reason of the fact that he was candidate on the ticket of a party 
that was normally much in the minority in the county, showing 
that his friends in the opposition party rallied to his support at 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 693 

the polls. He is affiliated with the Three Rivers organizations 
of the Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen of America, and 
while a student in the military academy at Ann Arbor he held 
membership in the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity. He is well known 
in his native county and his personal popularity here is of the 
most unequivocal type, as his genial and buoyant nature and un- 
varying courtesy have gained him stanch friends in all classes. 
On the 1st of June, 1899, Captain Wheeler was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Cora Drusilla Sager, who was bom in Pavilion town- 
ship, Kalamazoo county, Michigan, and is a representative of one 
of the honored pioneer families of that county. Her father, 
Joseph Sager, was likewise born in Pavilion township, on the 21st 
of April, 1845, and is a son of John Sager, who was a native of 
Ohio, whence he came to Michigan and settled in Kalamazoo county 
in the early pioneer epoch. He erected a water-power saw mill in 
Pavilion township and in addition to operating the same he super- 
vised the clearing of his land. He became one of the prosperous 
pioneer farmers and business men of that township, where he con- 
tinued to reside until his death. The maiden name of his wife 
was Ann Carney, and she was born in September, 1820. At the 
time of this writing, in 1910, she still resides at Pavilion, and Sep- 
tember of this year celebrated her ninetieth birthday, thus being 
practically the oldest pioneer now resident of Kalamazoo county. 
Joseph Sager continued to assist his father in the operation of the 
mill and farm until his marriage, and he then came to St. Joseph 
county and purchased a farm in Flowerfield township, where he 
continued to reside imtil 1898, since which time he has maintained 
his home in Three Rivers, where he is living retired, after many 
years of earnest and productive endeavor which placed him among 
the most extensive farmers of the county, even as he is one of its 
well known and sterling citizens. His wife, whose maiden name 
was Catherine Imogene Bartlett, was bom at Gilboa, Schoharie 
county, New York, in 1850, and is a daughter of George and Har- 
riet (Bouten) Bartlett, likewise natives of the old Empire state, 
whence they came to St. Joseph county and located in Flowerfield 
township fully a half-century ago. Mr. Bartlett followed his 
trade of wagonmaker, in connection with farming, and continued 
his residence in Flowerfield township imtil his death, in 1897. 
His wife passed to the life eternal in 1888, and they are survived 
by one son and one daughter. Captain and Mrs. Wheeler have no 
children. 



694 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Samuel Arrowsmith Walton, a retired business man of 
Three Rivers, was born near Chillieothe, Boss county, Ohio, No- 
vember 17, 1826, and is a son of John Walton, who was a native 
of New Jersey, and came to Ohio about 1819, locating in Ross 
county, where he worked at his trade of cooper and also conducted 
a farm. In 1834 Mr. Walton removed to Crawford county, and 
later to Wyandot county, Ohio, where he died in 1835, a young 
man of thirty-eight years. John Walton married Casander Rit- 
ter, a native of Kentucky, who died at about the age of fifty-two 
years. Of their nine children six grew to maturity, four sons and 
two daughters, of whom Samuel A. is now the only survivor. 

The boyhood of Mr. Walton was spent in Wyandot county, 
Ohio, and in 1850 he removed to McLean county, Illinois, travel- 
ing on horseback. He purchased one hundred and sixty acres of 
prairie land for one hundred and forty dollars, which he im^ 
proved. June 2, 1851, in Colon, Michigan, he married Mary A. 
Bissell, a native of Pennsylvania, and they returned to the home 
in Illinois with a wagon, camping out by the way. They remained 
on this farm six years after marriage, adding eighty acres of 
prairie and twenty acres of timber; they then sold out and re- 
moved to Three Rivers, Michigan, arriving there in the spring of 
1857. He at once purchased a store building and engaged in mer- 
cantile business, which he followed about seventeen years, with 
good success. 

Mr. Walton assisted in organizing the First National Bank 
of Three Rivers, in 1864; he served twenty-five years as director, 
also some years as vice president and president. In 1903 Mr. 
Walton sold his stock in the bank and has since been retired from 
active business. He owns considerable real estate, and is a self- 
made man, having acquired his property and success through his 
own enterprise and ambition. Mr. Walton has traveled exten- 
sively, having been in every state of the Union except five, and in 
1894 he took a trip to Europe, traveling through England, Ire- 
land, Scotland, Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy and 
France. He spent three weeks in London, also some time in Rome 
and Paris. Mrs. Walton, who was bom in 1828, died in 1884, 
leaving four children, namely: Myron K., Marion I., May E. and 
Sherman G. Mr. Walton married (second) in 1886, Jennie 
Wheeler, who wa^s bom in Michigan, in 1858. 

Mr. Walton is a stanch supporter of the Republican party and 
has served as a member of the school board and as a member of 
the City Council. Mr. Walton has been a resident of Three Riv- 







y^ ' ^r/uy^C~~rr^ 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 697 

ers for a period of fifty-three years, and has been identified with 
the progress and development of the city. He has lived in one 
house forty-two years. He has given liberally to every worthy ob- 
ject and has assisted in building every church in the city. Mr. 
Walton gave $3,500 to the Methodist Episcopal church, and has 
attended the same church for a period of forty-two years. He is 
well known throughout the county, where he is universally re- 
spected and esteemed. 

Charles L. Blood.-A strong and noble character was that 
of the late Charles Lyman Blood, who exerted an emphatic and 
beneficent influence in connection with civic, business and finan- 
cial affairs in St. Joseph county during the long period of nearly 
half a century, and who ever commanded secure vantage ground 
in the confidence and esteem of all who knew him. He gained suc- 
cess through his individual ability and application, ever stand- 
ing exemplar of that integrity of purpose which figures as the 
plumb of character and makes 'for objective valuation in connec- 
tion with the varied relations of life. He was a financier of marked 
discrimination and conservatism and was long and prominently 
identified with the affairs of the First National Bank of Three 
Rivers, of which institution he served in turn as cashier and presi- 
dent, and his aid and influence were ever accorded in support of 
all measures and enterprises that tended to advance the material 
and social well-being of the community. His strength was as 
the number of his days and he was summoned from this mortal 
life in the fulness of years and honors, his death occurring at his 
home, in the city of Three Rivers, on the 3d of July, 1907, at the 
venerable age of seventy-nine years, eleven months and eight days. 
Charles Lyman Blood was born at Westminster, Windham 
county, Vermont, on the 25th of August, 1827, and was a son of 
Ivory and Susan (Lindsay) Blood, the former of whom was born 
in Pepperell, Middlesex county, Massachusetts, and the latter was 
a native of Jamaica, Windham county, Vermont. The father de- 
voted his entire active career to agricultural pursuits and passed 
the closing years of his life at Cavendish, Vermont, as did also 
his cherished and devoted wife. He was a man of strong men- 
tality and sterling integrity, and his political allegiance was given 
to the Whig party. The subject of this memoir was reared to 
the sturdy discipline of the New England farm, and he waxed 
strong in mind and body through hard manual labor and through 
availing himself of such educational advantages as were afforded 



698 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

in the common schools of the locality and period. Like many 
another youth reared under similar conditions, he initiated his in- 
dependent career with no financial reinforcement, but his equip- 
ment of energy, ambition and integrity of purpose proved ade- 
quate, as is shown by the fact that he won large and definite 
success through his own well directed efforts, the while he gained 
and retained the inviolable confidence and regard of those with 
whom he came in contact during the passing years. Honesty of 
purpose and honesty of character indicated the man during the 
entire course of his active and useful career as one of the world's 
noble army of productive workers, and upon the history of his 
life there rests no shadow of wrong or injustice. He was thirty- 
one years of age at the time of his marriage, in 1858, and before 
the close of that year he set forth with his bride for Michigan, 
which was then considered by residents of New England as being 
in the ''far west." He made Kalamazoo county his destination 
and located in the village of Schoolcraft, where he entered into 
partnership with other men and engaged in the general mer- 
chandise business, in which he continued for seven years, at the 
expiration of which the partnership was dissolved and he removed 
to Three Rivers, which place ever afterward represented his home 
and the scene of his earnest and productive endeavors. Here he 
established his home in 1864, at which time he became cashier of 
the old First National Bank, an incumbency which he retained 
for nineteen years, after which he served for thirteen consecutive 
years as president of the institution, to whose upbuilding as one 
of the strong and popular banking houses of the state he con- 
tributed in large measure, through his executive ability and 
through the prestige of his sterling character. He retired from 
the presidency only when impaired health demanded this action. 
He was essentially careful and conservative in all of his business 
transactions and associations, and this fact made him a strong 
power in connection with financial and commercial affairs in this 
section of the state. He was a man of distinct individuality, 
strong in his convictions but not intolerant, always firm in the 
right but with no room in his heart for revenge. Compassion and 
pity dwelt with him as constant guests ; flattery could not cajole 
him into compromise nor power awe him into silence. True to 
himself and his ideals, he was brave in defense of principle, yet 
gentle and forbearing in his judgment of his fellow men, who 
were thus prompted to admiration, respect and friendship. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 699 

It was but natural that a man of so broad mental ken and 
so marked business acumen should show a loyal and helpful in- 
terest in public affairs, especially those of a local order, and he 
was ever to be relied upon for the supporting of all measures 
projected for the general good of the community, the while the 
interests of his home city ever lay close to his heart. He identified 
himself with the Republican party at the time of its organization, 
having cast his first vote for this party's first candidate for the 
presidency, General John C. Fremont, and ever afterward having 
given a stanch allegiance to its cause, though he had naught of 
ambition for public office in a personal sense. Loyalty was an 
intrinsic element of his character, and this showed forth in his 
home life, in his business associations and in his intercourse with 
his fellow men. His kindly and generous nature had naught of 
ostentation and he respected every man that was worthy of respect, 
no matter what his station in life. An appreciative estimate of 
his character and services was written by one of his tried and 
valued friends at the time of his death and was published in a 
local paper. The article is worthy of perpetuation and is there- 
fore reproduced in this memoir, with but slight change in phrase- 
ology. 

''It is certainly well for the younger people to realize their 
indebtedness to those who have gone before, those who have 
through many years, furthered the interests of our beautiful city, 
solved its problems and struggled for its prosperity. Such serv- 
ices, such men are too soon forgotten. One has recently passed 
away, and it is with the hope of perpetuating a little longer the 
memory and deeds of Charles L. Blood that these lines are written. 

"Born and reared in the old Green Mountain state, Mr. 
Blood's character partook of the granite quality of those hills, 
and, like them, it was not stern and bare, but clothed upon with 
a foliage of attractive and genial traits. He came to Michigan in 
1858, and located in Schoolcraft, where, as a merchant, he estab- 
lished a reputation for ability and integrity, which made him 
known in the region around. When the old First National Bank 
of Three Rivers was organized, by men whose stanchness and 
honor were from the first a. guaranty of its success, these men 
looked for one of like qualities and possessing the business abili- 
ties to be the power behind the throne. They found him in Mr. 
Blood, and installed him as cashier and real manager of the in- 
stitution, which grew and prospered until its name became a 
synonym for absolute integrity and financial stability. In 1884 



700 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mr. Blood was made president of the bank, and he ably and 
honorably filled this position until 1896, when failing health 
warned him that he must have relief from the arduous duties of 
the office. 

'*Mr. Blood loved the town in which he had made his home, 
rejoiced in its beauty, growth and prosperity, to all of which his 
interest, counsel and money were given without stint. He was 
ever the friend of those who needed help or advice, and many a 
lowly one would gladly have laid a flower of grateful remembrance 
on his bier when he died. The memory of his pleasing social 
qualities is yet fresh in the minds of those of us who remain and 
who have found loyalty to friends a marked characteristic of the 
man. His genial humor and ready wit made him always a de- 
lightful companion, whether in his own attractive home or in the 
homes of neighbors and friends. While shrinking from publicity 
of speech, who can forget his rare gift as a narrator of stories, 
which were always as clean and pure as the streams of his native 
state. The precincts of the home, where he was the model husband 
and father, are too sacred to be invaded here. And Mr. Blood 
loved the church of his adoption in Three Rivers. He was a con- 
stant attendant, a reverent worshiper and a liberal contributor to 
the old First Presbyterian church. Though not a member, such 
was the strength of his support and such his appreciation of the 
work that one of the pastors said of him, with deep feeling and 
real affection: *Very near the kingdom.' During the long weeks 
of enforced silence preceding his demise, as he approached the 
bound of life, his courage, his patience and his gentleness showed 
that he found the kingdom of God within him. The beautiful 
verses suggested by the passage, 'He giveth his beloved sleep,' 
were sigfinicantly read by Dr. Skinner at the brief funeral service. 
On these Mr. Blood had pondered long, until he came to feel them 
as the expression of his faith in a loving Father's thought toward 
himself." 

On the 9th of May, 1858, at Cavendish, Vermont, was solemn- 
ized the marriage of Mr. Blood to Miss Mary E. Ely, who survives 
him, as do also their two children, and who still resides in the 
beautiful old homestead, in Three Rivers, a home endeared to 
her by the gracious memories and associations of the past. Mrs. 
Blood was born in Rockingham, Windham county, Vermont, on 
the 27th of May, 1834, and was the fifth in order of birth of the 
six children — four sons and two daughters — of Rev. Richard M. 
and Lora (Skinner) Ely. Of the children she is now the only 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 701 

survivor. Her eldest brother, Dr. James W. Ely, was graduated 
from Brown University and was for sixty years engaged in the 
practice of his profession, having long been one of the leading 
physicians and surgeons of the city of Providence, Rhode Island, 
where his death occurred. Rev. Richard M. Ely was born in 
Windsor, Vermont, on the 10th of February, 1795, and his death 
occurred on the 10th of June, 1861. He traced his lineage back 
to stanch English stock, and the family was founded in New Eng- 
land in the colonial days. He was a clergyman of the Baptist 
church and his entire ministerial service was in his native state. 
He erected two churches and also served as pastor of a church at 
Rockingham, Vermont, whose edifice, still an historic landmark, 
was erected in 1760. Mr. Ely was a man of fine intellectual powers 
and his life was one of signal consecration to the work of the 
divine Master and to the aiding and uplifting of his fellow men. 
In politics he was originally an old-line Whig, but he gave his 
support to the cause of the Republican party from the time of its 
organization until his death, which occurred only a short time 
after the inception of the Civil war. He was a stanch abolitionist 
and temperance advocate, and his abiding Christian faith was 
shown in his daily life. He was an appreciative member of the 
Masonic fraternity and a close student of its noble teachings. 
Both he and his wife were laid to rest in the cemetery at Caven- 
dish, Vermont, where a beautiful monument marks their resting 
place. 

Mrs. Lora (Skinner) Ely, mother of Mrs. Blood, was born at 
Pomfret, Vermont, on the 16th of June, 1796, and she was sum- 
moned to the life eternal on the 20th of October, 1881. She was 
a woman of excellent education and of distinctively gracious 
personality, thus proving a true companion and helpmeet to her 
husband and a valuable assistant in connection with his ministerial 
labors. Her father, Benjamin Skinner, was an ardent and loyal 
soldier of the Continental line in the war of the Revolution, hav- 
ing served as piper for his command at the battle of Bunker Hill, 
and having also been present at the surrender of General Bur- 
goyne. He was born in Connecticut, m 1754, and died in 1813. 

Mrs. Blood was reared and educated in the old Green Moun- 
tain state, where she was afforded the advantages of Black River 
Academy, at Ludlow. Her marriage to Mr. Blood was solemnized 
at Cavendish, Vermont, and the two children of this union, whose 
associations were ever of ideal order, are Charles Herbert and 
Lora Isabel. Charles H. Blood was graduated in the Three Rivers 



702 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

high school, served six years as cashier of the First National Bank 
and also bookkeeper for seven years, and is now one of the repre- 
sentative business men of this city, where he has the management 
of the estate left by his honored father. He is a Republican in 
politics and, like his sister, is a member of the Presbyterian church. 
He was born in Schoolcraft, Kalamazoo county, on the 9th of 
August, 1862. Miss Lora Isabel Blood remains with her widowed 
mother and is a popular factor in connection with the leading 
social activities of Three Rivers. After graduation in the local 
high school she entered Mount Holyoke Seminary, in the city of 
Kalamazoo, in which institution she was duly graduated. She 
is justly proud of her ancestral history, particularly in that it so 
closely touches the war of the Revolution, and she has secured 
her fourth bar in her Revolutionary lineage, as four of her an- 
cestors were soldiers in the great struggle for independence. She 
has been a teacher in the Sunday school of the First Presbyterian 
church for fully a decade, ^has served as president and secretary 
of the Three Rivers Women's Club, of which both she and her 
mother are charter members, and is at the present time (1910) 
secretary of the Abiel Fellows Society, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, in her home city. In their beautiful home Mrs. Blood 
and her daughter have a number of interesting heirlooms, includ- 
ing a powder-horn carried by Moses Blood, great-grandfather of 
the subject of this memoir, in the war of the Revolution. This 
horn bears the following inscription: ^' Moses Blood — his horn — 
1742.'' Other prized relics in the home are an old-time mirror, 
which was the property of Mrs. Blood 's mother and which is fully 
seventy -five years old; and a double woven coverlet, which was 
woven by Mr. Blood's maternal grandmother, Mrs. Annie Reed, 
fully three-fourths of a century ago. The Blood residence has 
long been recognized as a center of gracious hospitality and is a 
favored rendezvous for a wide circle of friends. 

Robert Romeig.— Noteworthy among the well-known and 
highly respected citizens of St. Joseph county is Robert Romeig, 
who is now living retired from active pursuits in the village of 
Moore Park. He is a self-made man in every sense implied by the 
term, his success in life being due to his own efforts. Beginning 
his active career poor in pocket, but rich in energy and ambition, 
he labored with sturdy industry, toiling onward and upward, 
rising by slow degrees from a state of comparative poverty to a 
condition of affluence and influence. A native of Pennsylvania, 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 703 

he was born, October 18, 1844, in Snyder county, which was also 
the birthplace of his father, John Romeig, Jr. His grandfather, 
John Romeig, Sr., was born in Pennsylvania, and as a child re- 
moved with his parents to Snyder county when it was included 
within the limits of Union county, going there from the eastern 
part of the state, crossing the mountains with teams. 

John Romeig, Sr., was a small lad when his parents moved to 
Union county, and as soon as strong enough to wield an axe he 
began to assist in the pioneer labor of redeeming a homestead 
from the wilderness. When ready to begin the battle of life for 
himself he embarked in agricultural pursuits, and in addition to 
farming, operated a grist mill and a saw mill. He accumulated 
considerable property for his times, at one time owning two 
farms, on each of which he built a stone house. He lived to a 
good old age, he and his wife, whose maiden name was Rebecca 
Try, spending their last days on the homestead, in Snyder county. 

John Romeig. Jr., grew to manhood in Snyder county, Penn- 
sylvania, and, following in the footsteps of his ancestors, became 
a farmer, owning two hundred acres of land in his native county, 
and there- being employed as a husbandman until 1866. Migrating 
then with his family to Michigan, he spent two years in Kalama- 
zoo county, and then came to St. Joseph county. He purchased 
two hundred and nineteen and one-half acres of land in Park 
township, and was here engaged in agricultural pursuits until 
his death, at the age of sixty-four years. He married Elizabeth 
Wyand, who was born in Snyder county, Pennsylvania, where her 
father, George Wyand, was a pioneer settler. She died at the age 
of sixty-five years, having borne her husband twelve children, 
ten of whom grew to years of maturity. 

Coming with the family to Michigan in 1866, Robert Romeig 
remained with his parents for two years, and then began life for 
himself, working as a farm laborer. Industrious and frugal, he 
saved his earnings, and when he had accumulated a sufficient sum 
to warrant him in so doing, bought eighty acres of land in Flower- 
field township, on which a log barn and a house had been pre- 
viously erected. With a resolute will, he began clearing the re- 
mainder of the land, and in course of time erected a substantial 
set of buildings. Selling out at an advantage, Mr. Romeig pur- 
chased one hundred acres in the same township, and was there 
actively engaged in general farming for seventeen years, meeting 
with undisputed success in his labors. He then rented that farm, 
moved to Moore Park, where he bought the village home which 

Vol. 11—13 



704 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

he now occupies, and has since been numbered among the useful 
and valued citizens of this place. He likewise bought a farm of 
one hundred acres adjoining the village, and this estate, too, he 
rents. 

Mr. Romeig married, in 1866, Rebecca Kline, who was born 
in Snyder county, Pennsylvania, where her paternal grandparents 
were pioneer settlers. Her father, John Kline, spent his entire 
life of seventy years in Snyder county. Her mother, whose 
maiden name was Lydia Feas, was also a life-long resident of that 
county, dying there at the age of fifty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Romeig are the parents of five children, namely; Jack, Ellen, 
Reuben, Rosa and Frank. Jack married Mamie Northrup, and 
they have three children, Oscar, Harvey and Neva. Ellen, wife of 
William Griner, has three children, Maude G., Ray G., and Guy G. 
Reuben married Sophia Trickle, and they have four children, 
Verne, Hazel, Bertha and Willard. Rosa, wife of John Welty, has 
three children, Bessie, Myrtle and Blanche. Frank married Sadie 
Williams, and they have one child, Mildred. Politically Mr. 
Romeig is a stanch Republican. Religiously Mrs. Romeig is a 
member of the Reformed church. 

Chandler R. Kingsley, a representative farmer and Civil 
war veteran of Leonidas, has been justice of the peace for the past 
fourteen years and an honored resident of St. Joe county since 
1866. In many other forms has civil preferment come to him as 
an unmistakable evidence of the esteem in which his abilities 
and virtues are held by his associates of the past and the present. 
As a supporter and vigorous promoter of the moral and religious 
activities of his community he has been second to none in his en- 
thusiasm and persistency. A faithful and useful citizen, an ad- 
vocate and a worker for the secret fraternities and the open chari- 
ties, and a stanch Christian who has been bravely standing by 
his guns before even the days of the Civil war, Squire Kingsley is 
the right kind of man to claim as a friend and a citizen whom all 
delight to honor. 

Mr. Kingsley traces his American ancestry to John Kingsley, 
who came from England about 1635 and settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. From 1648 until his death January 6, 1677, he 
resided in Rehoboth, that colony, where his first wife (name un- 
known) also passed away. He married his second wife (nee Mary 
Mowery) November 16, 1673, and of his six children Eldad was 
next in direct line of descent. The latter died in August, 1679, 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 705 

father also of six children. His son, John (II) was bom May 6, 
1665, married Sarah Sabins, of Rehoboth, July 1, 1686, and by her 
became the father of eight children. Of these, Jeremiah and 
Amos were twins, the former being the ancestor of Judge King- 
sley. The mother died at Windham, Connecticut, March 9, 1709, 
and that town remained the family home until it was transplanted 
to Canaan, New York, and thence to the Western Reserve. Josiah, 
who spent his life in the Connecticut town, had ten children, of 
whom Jeremiah was the great-grandfather of Chandler R. Jere- 
miah, who was bom in Windham April 3, 1738, married Hannah 
Libble January 9, 1757, and died nearly one hundred years of 
age. His wife passed away September 23, 1830, ninety-one years 
of age, mother of seven children. Frederick Kingsley, the grand- 
father, was bom May 18, 1782, married Abigail Kellogg June 21, 
1808, and a few years thereafter they moved to Canaan, New 
York, where the former died December 13, 1862, eighty-one years 
of age, his wife having preceded him April 20, 1835, when fifty- 
five years old. Among their children were twins, Aaron K. and 
Mary, bom at Canaan January 14, 1815, the former becoming the 
father of Justice Kingsley of this sketch. He was a life-long 
farmer, coming to Leonidas, Michigan, after the Civil war in com- 
pany with his son, of this sketch. He was killed by falling from a 
scaffold July 12, 1888, aged more than seventy-three years. The 
deceased was stanch both as a Republican and as a member of the 
Congregational church at Leonidas. He first married Miss Cor- 
nelia O. Tracy, on the 4th of November, 1840, and their only child 
was Chandler R., born at Canaan, New York, February 11, 1843. 
The mother died August 15, 1855, and in 1859 Mr. Kingsley mar- 
ried Miss Mary E. Lewis, his second wife dying childless, July 27, 
1886. 

Chandler R. Kingsley received his education in the common 
schools of his New York home, spent several years of his youth 
and earliest manhood in the conflicts of the Civil war and returned 
to Canaan immediately after his honorable discharge, in the fall 
of 1865. In the autumn of the following year he located at Leoni- 
das, and in 1867 purchased the farm which is still his homestead. 
In politics, he has known nothing but Republicanism, and in pub- 
lic life has held membership on the township board for ten years, 
besides serving his long term a^ justice of the peace. Ever since 
coming to Leonidas he has been one of the leading members of the 
Congregational church, of which he has been superintendent of 
the Sunday school and deacon for a number of years. He has also 



706 HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

filled all the chairs in Blackman Lodge No. 117 of the I. 0. 0. F., 
and for some years has been an active member of the I. 0. G. T. 
and the Leonidas Grange. On November 24, 1875, at Leonidas, 
the judge married Miss Lucy D. Clark, daughter of George G. 
and Nancy (Alexander) Clark, who had been an efficient teacher 
in the Constantine High School. The child by this marriage is 
now Dr. Aaron Floyd Kingsley. Chandler R. Kingsley took as his 
second wife Miss Effle G. Moore, whom he married March 6, 1889, 
and who bore him Lewis Verne Kingsley. There is no issue by his 
third marriage to Miss Alice B. Furlong, July 3, 1895. His pres- 
ent wife is a native of Toronto, Canada. 

Norman W. Garrison. — To the larger and surer vision there 
is no such thing as luck. No man achieves anything worthy until 
he learns the power of conviction and, appreciative thereof, bends 
his energies to the accomplishing of a definite purpose. It has 
been within the province of the able and popular cashier of the 
First National Bank of Three Eivers to gain through his own ef- 
forts a place of security as one of the essentially representative 
business men of the county that has been his home from the time 
of his nativity, and that his course has been marked by invincible 
integrity of purpose needs no further voucher than that afforded 
by the unqualified confidence and esteem reposed in him in the 
community in which he is best known. The responsible office he 
holds in connection with one of the leading financial institutions 
of the county stands in significant evidence of his technical and 
administrative ability, and he is a recognized power in connection 
with the financial and business activities of his home city and 
county. 

Norman W. Garrison was born on the homestead farm of his 
father, in Fabius township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, and the 
date of his nativity was March 7, 1875. He is a son of Andrew 
Lewis Garrison and Louisa (Boles) Garrison, the former of whom 
was bom in St. Joseph county, on the 27th of March, 1845, 
and the latter was also bom in St. Joseph county, on the 
27th of March, 1842, members of sterling pioneer families of this 
county. Andrew Lewis Garrison served three years during the 
Civil war as a member of Company H, Twenty-eighth Michigan 
Infantry, after the war living in Kalamazoo county until 1894, 
when he removed to the city of Three Rivers, where he is now liv- 
ing virtually retired. The mother of Norman W. Garrison died in 
1876, the year following his birth, and thus he is the youngest of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 707 

the three children. His only sister, Lucy, is now Mrs. M. Owtman, 
of Leonidas, Michigan, and the brother, Perry J., is engaged as 
machinist at Mt. Vernon, Illinois. 

Under the invigorating discipline of the home farm Norman 
W. Garrison grew to years of maturity, and in its work he early 
began to lend assistance, the while he availed himself of the ad- 
vantages of the district school. After completing the curriculum 
of this rural institution he entered the high school in Three Riv- 
ers, in which he continued his studies for two years. Thereafter 
he completed an effective course in the Three Rivers Business 
College and fortified himself for the practical responsibilities of 
life. He began to depend largely upon his own resources when 
but fifteen years of age, and through his own efforts earned the 
money that enabled him to defray the expenses of his educational 
training after that period in his career. It is needless to say that 
a youth of such marked ambition, determination and self-reliance 
could not long remain in obscurity, and thus we find that in 1893, 
when eighteen years of age, Mr. Garrison secured a clerical posi- 
tion in the Three Rivers National Bank, with which institution he 
remained until December, 1895, when he secured a similar position 
in the offices of the First National Bank, with which he has since 
been identified and in which he has won promotion by faithful and 
effective service. In 1897 he was chosen assistant cashier and of 
this office he continued incumbent until August, 1900, when he was 
elected to the office of cashier, in which he has since given careful 
and abl6 administration of the practical affairs of the institution. 
The First National Bank is recognized as one of the solid financial 
institutions of southern Michigan and its history has been one 
marked by conservative management, so that its reputation is on 
a parity with its unmistakable solidity. It has received the ex- 
ecutive and capitalistic support of the representative business men 
and capitalists of the county and its hold upon popular confidence 
is of the most secure order. This bank dates its inception back 
to the year 1864 and it is incorporated with a capital stock of fifty 
thousand dollars. Its reserve fund and undivided profits have an 
aggregate of fully $12,000 at the time of this writing, 1910. Hon. 
Gardner Powell is president of the institution; Conrad Schaad is 
vice president ; and Charles G. Cox is assistant cashier. Mr. Gar- 
rison is a stockholder in the bank and a member of its directorate. 

Thoroughly interested in everything that tends to conserve 
the social and civic progress of his native coimty, Mr. Garrison is 
public-spirited and liberal in his civic attitude. Though never a 



708 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

seeker of political office he is a stalwart in the local camp of the 
Republican party and in a fraternal way he is identified with the 
Knights of Pythias, 

On the 7th of June, 1905, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Garrison to Miss Marie Babcock, who was bom and reared in Three 
Rivers and who is a daughter of Darius A. and Olive (Avery) 
Babcock, of this city, where her father is retired. Mr. and Mrs. 
Garrison have two children — Keith and Chandler. 

Joseph Brown, of White Pigeon, is a native of England, 
born April 9, 1834, son of Charles and Elizabeth (Kempshell) 
Brown. Charles Brown died when his son was two years of age. 
The widow married again, and in 1845 the family emigrated to the 
United States, locating at White Pigeon, Michigan. When still a 
boy, Joseph Brown began working away from home, earning at 
first but a sixpence (twelve and one-half cents) per day; he was 
eleven years of age when the family located in White Pigeon, and 
soon after he began working on a farm at from six to ten dollars 
per month. By 1851 he had saved sufficient money to enable him 
to pay his passage to Panama, and from there worked his passage 
on a schooner to San Francisco, going from there into the moun- 
tains. He first worked at mining at a salary of one hundred dol- 
lars per month, and afterwards began mining on his own account, 
which he continued five years, thus being able to get enough 
money to start him in business. 

In 1856 Mr. Brown returned to White Pigeon, and feeling 
the disadvantages of his meager education began to attend school, 
though the most he learned was the rudiments of arithmetic, get- 
ting little farther than multiplication in this study. Soon after 
he embarked in the business of threshing, and lost the money he 
had made in the West. He then found it necessary to begin at 
the bottom, but kept his courage and ambition, and soon bettered 
his position, so that not long after he had become possessed of a 
comfortable fortune. 

After Mr. Brown's marriage to Catherine Dale, he purchased 
of the other heirs the whole Dale estate, consisting of four hundred 
and forty acres of good land, and he still owns three hundred 
acres, three-quarters of a mile northeast of WTiite Pigeon. Mr. 
Brown now devoted his time to feeding and buying sheep and 
hogs, and he was at one time the largest shipper of sheep in the 
state. He and W. B. Conley were engaged in feeding lambs the 
last winter, which they shipped at a good profit in the spring. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 709 

For twenty-eight years Mr. Brown was occupied with threshing, 
summer and winter. He has worked hard from childhood, and 
well deserves his present success and good fortune. He was the 
first president of the Farmers' Sav^ings Bank, of White Pigeon, 
and is an influential and prominent citizen. He is enterprising and 
industrious, and was the first man in the community to use an 
engine instead of horse power for the work of threshing. In 
political principles Mr. Brown is a Democrat, though not a sup- 
porter of W. J. Bryan. 

Mr. Brown's wife died in 1890, and he married, August 29, 
1896, Mrs. Thankful McBride, who was born March 10, 1841 ; they 
have no children. Mrs. Brown was reared on a farm, received 
her education in the district schools, and married (first) James 
McBride, who died in 1882. She has a comfortable fortune, and 
owns some property in White Pigeon. Mrs. Brown is a devout 
Christian, a member of the Baptist church, and lives in accordance 
with her beliefs, being a much esteemed, highly-respected, useful 
member of society. 

By his first marriage Mr. Brown had five daughters, namely : 
Mary, wife of H. M. Rouse ; Anna, wife of Edward Craig, of Howe, 
Indiana ; Allie, widow of Albert Dale, of Lansing, Michigan ; and 
Yirna and Helen, single, living in Benton Harbor, Michigan. In 
1908 Mr. Brown made each of his daughters a holiday present 
of a check for one thousand dollars. 

Fred A. Spade, D. Y. M.— The professional interests of White 
Pigeon find a representative in Dr. Fred A. Spade, a veterinary 
surgeon. He was born in Steuben county, Indiana, September 8, 
1878, a son of Cyrus W. and Sarah E. (Arnold) Spade. Cyrus 
W., the father, was born in Springfield county, Ohio, and is now 
a retired farmer living in Steuben county, Indiana. 

Dr. Spade was reared as a farmer's son, receiving in his 
early life a district school education, and entering the Grand 
Rapids Yeterinary College in 1905 he graduated with the class of 
1907, and with the degree of D. Y. M. Locating in the same year 
in White Pigeon, he took up the work that he had laid aside to 
enter college, for he had previously practiced in this city, and 
his well known ability in his profession has won for him a large 
patronage. He deserves great credit for the success he has 
achieved, for he has been distinctively the architect of his own 
fortunes. He is a member of the Wolverine Yeterinary Associa- 



710 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

tion and of the State Veterinary Association, and stands high in 
the profession. 

Dr. Spade married on AprillS, 1897, Miss Margaret E. Immel, 
born in Stark county, Ohio, September 13, 1879, and educated in 
the common schools. They have three children: Oral, born July 
4, 1898; Pauline, born January 4, 1899; and Wayne M., bom 
September 11, 1908. The doctor is a member of White Pigeon 
Lodge No. 104, F. & A. M., and in politics he is allied with the 
R'Cpublicans. Both he and his wife are members of the Eastern 
Star, White Pigeon Lodge, No. 317. 

Thomas G. Greene, one of the well known and highly hon- 
ored citizens of St. Joseph county, where he formerly served as 
county recorder of deeds, is a scion of a family whose name has 
been identified with the annals of the state of Michigan for nearly 
sixty years, and one that was founded in America in the early 
colonial epoch, as is evident when we state that Christopher 
Greene, grandfather of the subject of this review, was a second 
cousin of General Nathaniel Greene, who was a distinguished 
figure in the war of the Revolution. 

In Cumberland township. Providence county, Ehode Island, 
Thomas G. Greene was born on the 2d of July, 1834, and is the 
eldest of a family of two sons and two daughters, born to William 
W. and Jane A. (Gray) Greene. Of the children only two are now 
living, — Thomas G. and Martha J., the latter of whom is the wdfe 
of Samuel Gibson, who is engaged in the banking business at 
Constantine and who is individually mentioned on other pages of 
this work. William W. Greene was born at Greenwich, Rhode 
Island, on the 20th of July, 1806, and he passed the closing days 
of his long and useful life in Cass county, Michigan, where he died 
at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Lillie Sooy, in January, 1892, 
at the venerable age of nearly eighty-six years. In his earlier 
life he was a sailor on the high seas, and in this connection he 
circumnavigated the globe, having visited many of the foreign 
ports and having on one occasion been becalmed for three months 
on the west coast of Africa. He was a man of strong mentality 
and of sterling character, and he ever commanded a secure place 
in the confidence and esteem of his fellow men. In 1840 he re- 
moved with his family to Ohio and located in Dover township, 
Cuyahoga county, near the city of Cleveland. There he purchased 
a small farm, upon which he continued to reside until about the 
year 1852, when he came to Michigan and bought a tract of land 




THOMAS G. GREENE 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 713 

near Millburg, Benton township, Berrien county, where he con- 
tinned to reside until 1872, when he sold the property and pur- 
chased another farm, in the vicinity of Bangor, Van Buren county. 
There he remained until 1884, after which year he resided in the 
home of his daughter, Mrs. Lillie Sooy, in Cass county, this state, 
until he was summoned to the life eternal. After the death of his 
first wife, he married Miss Betsey Taylor, who likewise preceded 
him to eternal rest and who is survived by one daughter, Lillie, 
the wife of Henry Sooy, a prosperous agriculturist in the state of 
Oklahoma. William W. Greene was a stanch Abolitionist, he 
being an implacable adversary of the institution of human slavery, 
and he united with the Republican party at the time of its or- 
ganization. He was an ardent admirer of Lincoln and gave every 
possible support to the cause of the Union during the climacteric 
period of the Civil war. While a resident of his native state he 
held membership in the old Roger Williams church, an historic in- 
stitution of Rhode Island. His devotion to principle was of the 
most impregnable order and he exemplified in all the relations of 
life the cardinal virtues of integrity and personal honor. His first 
wife, mother of the subject of this review, was a woman of singu- 
larly gentle and gracious character and endeared herself to all 
who came within the sphere of her influence. She was generous 
and kindly and the poor and needy ever found in her a sincere 
and helpful friend. She died at Dover, Ohio, where her remains 
were laid to rest. 

Thomas G. Greene, whose name initiates this sketch, was but 
six years of age at the time of the family removal from Rhode 
Island to Ohio, and he was reared to the sturdy discipline of the 
pioneer farm. He was afforded the advantages of the primitive 
schools of the pioneer days, but his education, implying broad 
general information, has been gained principally through self- 
discipline and through instruction secured under that wisest of 
head-masters, experience. When but sixteen years of age Mr. 
Greene began learning the contracting business, with which he 
was identified, in the city of Cleveland, Ohio, for a period of three 
years, at the expiration of which he came to Michigan, where he 
followed the business of contracting and building imtil 1867. 
Upon coming to this state he took up his abode in St. Joseph 
county, having thus established his home in this county in 1854. 
Having become a resident of this county more than half a century 
ago, it has been the privilege of Mr. Greene to witness the mag- 
nificent development of this favored section of the old Wolverine 



714 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

state, and also to contribute in no slight measure to the civic and 
material progress and upbuilding of St. Joseph county. At the 
time when he established his home in the county, only one rail- 
road line, the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern, entered its borders 
and he has witnessed the development of transportation systems 
throughout the county, while he recalls with satisfaction the great 
advantages engaged today in the matter of widely disseminated 
telephonic service and the installation of the effective rural free 
delivery of mail, — advantages which the pioneers could little 
have imagined as possible. When he came to the county, Three 
Rivers was its largest town, with Sturgis a close second, but both 
of these thriving cities were then mere villages. 

In 1867 Mr. Greene and his two brothers-in-law purchased 
a sash, door and blind factory in Three Rivers, and the same was 
operated under the title of Schurtz, Greene & Company until 
1872, when the partnership was dissolved. Mr. Greene then as- 
sumed the position of bookkeeper for Griffith & Dunham, millers 
and. dealers in agricultural implements, with which firm he con- 
tinued to be thus identified until 1876, when he was elected 
register of deeds of St. Joseph county, on the Republican ticket. 
He gave a most effective administration of the duties of this im- 
portant office and was re-elected in 1878 and again in 1880, thus 
serving six consecutive years. Since his retirement from office he 
has been engaged in the abstract and real estate business, in which 
connection his operations have been of important order as touch- 
ing the development and progress of the county. He has main- 
tained his home in Centerville, the judicial center of the county, 
from the time of his election to the office of register of deeds and 
his long experience in this office enabled him to assemble and 
perfect his valuable sets of abstracts of titles, which cover the 
entire county and to which recourse is had by nearly all w^ho make 
transfers of real estate in the county. 

Mr. Greene has been aligned as a stalwart in the camp of the 
Republican party from the time of its organization and he has 
been an able exponent of its principles and policies. He cast his 
first presidential vote for the Republican party's first nominee 
for the presidency. General John C. Fremont, and he has voted 
for every presidential candidate of the party since that time. He 
finds pleasure in reverting to the fact that the state of Michigan 
was the birthplace of the Republican party, which was organized 
** under the oaks,'' at Jackson, this state. Mr. Greene has been 
a delegate to party conventions of the state and of his senatorial 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 715 

and congressional districts. He was president of the village 
council of Centerville for two years, for three years served as 
county superintendent of the poor and for two and a half years 
he was state oil inspector of this district. For four years he was 
treasurer of the Republican county committee of St. Joseph county, 
and for one year he served as chairman of this county. He is 
president of the St. Joseph county Village Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, of which office he has been incumbent since 1888, and since 
1899 he has been a valued member of the state board of correction 
and charities. 

Mr. Greene is a most appreciative member of the time-honored 
Masonic fraternity, with which he has been affiliated since 1859, 
when he became a member of Mount Hermon Lodge, No. 24, Free 
& Accepted Masons, at Centerville. He is also affiliated with 
Centerville Chapter, No. 11, Royal Arch Masons, and he received 
the council degrees in Three Rivers Council, No. 7, Royal & Select 
Masters, in 1867. On the 10th of February, 1871, he received 
the chivalric degrees in Columbia Commandery, No. 18, Knights 
Templars, at Sturgis, from which organization he subsequently 
withdrew and assisted in the organization of the Three Rivers 
Commandery, No. 29, of which he is now the only living charter 
member. He received the orders of high priesthood on the 4th of 
January, 1872, and in 1875 he was elected president of the order 
in the state, retaining this office one year. On the 15th of January, 
1889, Mr. Grreene had the distinction of being elected most illus- 
trious grand master of the Michigan Grand Council of Royal & 
Select Masters, an office of which likewise he remained incumbent 
for one year. He has served twenty-five years as master of his 
local lodge, for thirty-four years as high priest of the Centerville 
Chapter and of the Chapter at Three Rivers, and he has officiated 
at one hundred and ten Masonic funerals, besides which he has 
conferred the several Masonic degrees more than two thousand 
times. He served as master of the Three Rivers Council, Royal & 
Select Masters, for seven years and eminent commander of Three 
Rivers Commandery, No. 29, two years. He has been a delegate to 
the state conventions of the various Masonic bodies for a total of 
one hundred and forty times and he is well known to the fraternity 
in the state as a Mason who well exemplifies the high principles 
and precepts of the order. He is an earnest and consistent mem- 
ber of the First Presbyterian church of Centerville, and has long 
been active in the various departments of its work. He is recog- 
nized as one of the sterling citizens and representative business 



716 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

men of Centerville and in addition to his abstract business he con- 
ducts a successful real estate and loan business. His attractive 
cottage home is located on Burr Oak street and has long been 
known for its gracious and refined hospitality. A resident of St. 
Joseph county for more than one half a century, the career of Mr. 
Greene, both in private and social connections, has been an open 
book challenging the closest scrutiny, the while no blemish can 
be found upon his record, which has been such as to gain to him 
the inviolable confidence and esteem of his fellow men. No citizen 
is more worthy of consideration in this twentieth century history 
of St. Joseph county. 

On the 13th of January, 1859, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Greene to Miss Julia A. Gibson, a sister of Samuel Gibson, 
in the sketch of whose career, on other pages of this work, is 
given due record concerning the family history. Mr. and Mrs. 
Greene became the parents of one daughter, Jennie A., who is 
now the wife of George J. Sadler, chief clerk in the ticket office of 
the Wabash Eailroad, in the city of Detroit. Mrs. Sadler com- 
pleted the curriculum of the public schools of Three Rivers, in- 
cluding the high school, and later continued her studies at Mount 
Holyoke Seminary, in the city of Kalamazoo. Mrs. Sadler was 
for six years a successful and popular teacher in the public schools 
of St. Joseph county, having taught one year in Three Rivers and 
five years in the schools of Centerville. She is a fine musician, 
and has particular ability as a pianist. She holds membership in 
the First Presbyterian church of Detroit. Mrs. Greene was born 
at Milton, Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, on the 20th 
of May, 1839, and is a daughter of John S. and Elizabeth (De 
France) Gibson. Mrs. Greene was a girl at the time of the family 
removal to St. Joseph county and, having received excellent edu- 
cational advantages, she became a successful teacher in this county, 
continuing to follow the pedagogic profession for some time be- 
fore her marriage. A woman of most noble character, she endeared 
herself to all who came within the sphere of her gracious and 
gentle influence, and she was summoned to the life eternal on the 
7th of November, 1909, her remains being interred at Riverside 
cemetery, at Centerville, where a beautiful stone marks her last 
resting place. Concerning her and her family the following 
pertinent statements are those that appeared in a Centerville paper 
at the time of her death, and they are well worthy of reproduction 
in the present article. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 717 

''In 1848 there came to this county from Northumberland 
county, Pennsylvania, a family destined to play a very prominent 
part in the social, commercial, religious and political history of 
southern Michigan. They brought with them that sturdiness of 
character, indomitableness of purpose, reverence for all things 
righteous and uplifting, which are characteristic of Pennsylvanians 
and which win success everywhere. The family was that of John 
Gibson, and consisted of five daughters and two sons. They pur- 
chased the Gibson homestead near Constantine, which soon be- 
came, and has since remained, a center around which much local 
history has revolved. The sons, Samuel and William, now reside 
in Constantine and Battle Creek respectively. The daughters, 
Mrs. Daniels and Mrs. Arnold in Three Rivers, and Mrs. Schurtz 
in Kalamazoo. Mrs. Nancy Wolf and Mrs. Julia A. Greene have 
passed over to the other shore. 

' ' In this remarkable family, Mrs. Greene was the fourth child. 
She was born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, May 20, 
1839. On January 13, 1859, she was married to Thomas G. Greene. 
They established their home in Constantine and here their one 
daughter, Mrs. George J. Sadler, about whom their lives there- 
after centered, was born. In 1867 they removed to Three Rivers, 
where Mr. Greene was engaged in manufacturing. 

''In 1876 Mr. Greene was elected register of deeds of this 
county and shortly thereafter they removed to Centerville. Their 
fiftieth anniversary occurred in January of this year. Arrange- 
ments had been made for celebrating the event, but Mrs. Greene 's 
health prevented. The entire family joined the Presbyterian 
church in Three Rivers in 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Greene's member- 
ship was transferred to the Centerville church in 1908. A few 
weeks ago on communion Sabbath she desired to participate in 
that holy commemoration and was served by her pastor and four 
elders in her home. She participated with a zest and reverence 
indicative of her deep religious convictions. 

"For over twenty-two years she has been an invalid and for 
eleven years has not taken a step, suffering untold agonies from 
rheumatism. For the past month she has been in a most pitiful 
condition with suffering so intense that when on Sunday evening, 
November 7, 1909, the end came peacefully and she *fell asleep' 
to awake in the better world, free from pain, it seemed as though 
the shadow of her joy and peace rested on her features. She was 
seventy years, five months and seventeen days old. 



718 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

^'The funeral occurred at the home on Tuesday, November 
9th, and was conducted by her pastor, Rev. H. A. Simpson. The 
same elders who officiated so recently in the communion service, 
acted as honorary bearers — ^H. F. Major, H. S. Leinbach, James 
Yauney and Alex Sharp. The active bearers were J. R. Trucken- 
miller, William F. Meyer, George Weber and L. Reitz. 

' ' The floral offerings clearly indicated the respectful affection 
entertained for the entire family. She was laid to rest in the 
Greene-Sadler space in our beautiful Riverside cemetery. '^ 

Henry B. Jones is a member of one of the oldest families of 
St. Joseph county, and the name which he bears is indissolubly 
identified with the annals of White Pigeon township from almost 
the earliest epoch of its history. Lorenzo Jones, his father, born 
in Cambria, New York, May 27, 1811, came with his father, John 
Jones, to this community before the year of 1831. This John 
Jones was born in Maine, February 26, 1784, a son of Stephen 
Jones, and coming to Michigan he located on the south bank of 
Pine Lake, which is now known as Klinger Lake. He purchased 
land there of a Mr. Klinger, made for himself and family a good 
farm, and there he lived and labored during the remainder of his 
life. He was the father of fourteen children, of whom Lorenzo 
was the eldest, and his daughter Eliza A., was the first child born 
at Klinger Lake, bom June 9, 1832, the year following his set- 
tlement there. Lorenzo Jones married Catherine Crounse, a mem- 
ber of another of the pioneer families of St. Joseph county. Her 
parents came originally from Germany to New York, and in 1835 
they located a mile and a half from White Pigeon in White Pig- 
eon township, St. Joseph county, Michigan. Six children were 
born to Lorenzo and Catherine Jones, and the four now living 
are : Amelia, wife of Sylvester Noel ; Mary, wife of Henry Kittel ; 
Henry B. ; and Jane, wife of David Kidd. 

Henry B. Jones, bom on his father's farm in White Pigeon 
township August 11, 1845, was there also reared, and he now owns 
and farms this old homestead of one hundred and fifty acres in 
section 11. He is prominently known as a farmer and stock raiser, 
and has been successful in his chosen vocation. He married Mary 
A. Ritz, who was bom in Switzerland, October 10, 1849, and com- 
ing with her parents to the United States in 1852 they located at 
Hillsdale, Michigan, where she received a common school educa- 
tion. Nicholas Ritz, her father, was bom in Switzerland in 1817, 
and made the joumey to this country with his wife and six chil- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 719 

dren in a sail boat, spending forty-four days on the ocean. He 
was then a comparatively poor man, by trade a carpenter, and in 
his later days he was a farmer. Six children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Jones, namely : Bertha, who was born December 29, 
1877, and is the wife of Frank Morrow ; John F., born September 
3, 1882 ; May, bom February 7, 1879, became the wife of Harold 
Lockhart of Texas, and she is now deceased; Hallie H., bom Oc- 
tober 7, 1884; George W., born February 6, 1887; and Ray A., 
bom March 3, 1889. Mrs. Jones is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Klinger. 

Lemuel S. Huff is one of the representative business men of 
White Pigeon township, successful, progressive and well known. 
He was bom near the city of White Pigeon on the 13th of July, 
1856, a son of A. W. and Elizabeth (Sixbey) Huff, both of whom 
were bom in the state of New York, the father in the county of 
Montgomery. They came to Michigan in the year of 1836, locat- 
ing near White Pigeon, and they were married there in 1847. In 
1870 they moved to a farm south of Klinger Lake, and spent the 
remainder of their lives there. The following seven children were 
born into their home : Charles S., Ed N., Ida O., L. S., Anna, Hen- 
rietta and Almeda. 

Lemuel S. Huff was the fourth born of this family of children, 
and he was reared as a farmer's son and received a distrid: school 
education. After the death of his parents he left the old home- 
stead and bought the farm of eighty-four acres in sections 11 and 
12 where he now lives and where he is extensively engaged in gen- 
eral agricultural, horticultural and apiarian pursuits. He has 
thirty-two colonies of Italian bees, and has an orchard of twenty 
acres devoted to apples, peaches and some small fruits, including 
strawberries. Mr. Huff is a well known business man in this sec- 
tion of St. Joseph county, known and honored for his honesty, up- 
rightness and true citizenship. 

He married on January 1, 1893, Mary E. Timmis, who was 
born in Van Buren township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, Feb- 
ruary 9, 1868, and their children are: Ethel, bom April 8, 1894; 
Sarah, born December 28, 1896; Andrew, April 11, 1898; Ruth, 
August 30, 1900; Henry, September 1, 1902; Mary, January 3, 
1906, and Theodore Lemuel, February 22, 1910. In politics Mr. 
Huff has recently transferred his allegiance from the Republican 
to the Prohibition party, and he and his wife are active members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church at Klinger Lake, and he is its 



720 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

steward, trustee, class leader and the superintendent of its Sun- 
day school. 

James C. Grimes. — Among the farmers and stock-raisers of 
White Pigeon township is recorded the names of James C. Grimes, 
who has spent the greater part of his life in St. Joseph county. 
He was bom in Sandusky, Ohio, March 13, 1855, to the marriage 
union of Isaac and Margaret (Boor) Grimes, but when he was 
only eight weeks old the family home was established in St. Joseph 
county. After a time however they moved from here to Missouri, 
but returned after an absence in that state of two years. The 
son James when he became old enough worked on the home farm 
and attended the neighboring district school, and he remained 
with his parents until he was twenty-one. He now owns an es- 
tate of two hundred and forty-two and a half acres of highly im- 
proved land in sections 10 and 11, White Pigeon township, and is 
well known as a general farmer and stock-raiser. 

On the 20th of August, 1880, Mr. Grimes was married to 
Christine Kline, a native daughter of Indiana, and their eight 
children are: Alta, bom December 17, 1881, and now the wife of 
Herman Schmidt; Edna, bom June 17, 1884, and the wife of 
Frank Blair ; Delia, bom December 25, 1886 ; Opal, bom June 15, 
1893; Leona, bom April 21, 1895; Florence, born December 6, 
1896; Trillie, bom November 29, 1897; and Elizabeth, bom Oc- 
tober 6, 1903. Opal and Leona are students in the White Pigeon 
High School. The family are members of the Methodist Episco- 
pal church at Klinger Lake, and Mr. Grimes is serving as one of 
the stewards of his church. In politics his affiliations are with the 
Democratic party. 

Lewis C. Perrin was bom at Conesus, New York, Septem- 
ber 2, 1841, and he was reared as a farmer's son there. When he 
was a boy of fourteen he came with his parents to Michigan, the 
family locating in what afterward became the station of Perrin, 
named in honor of his father, and they were early residents of this 
community. There the son Lewis attained to years of maturity, 
and in 1858 he was married to Frances Van Vleck, and these 
children have blessed their marriage union : William who died at 
the age of two and one half years ; Alta, the wife of William T. 
Favorite ; Lewis, whose home is in Chicago, Illinois ; and Pearl, at 
home with her parents. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 721 

Mr. Perrin was a traveling salesman for agricultural imple- 
ments until 1892, and in 1904 he came to White Pigeon and be- 
came interested in buying grain. He now owns fifty acres of valu- 
able land at the corporation limits of White Pigeon, where he 
has erected a good home, and there resides with his family. In 
politics he is a Republican voter. 

Richard H. Frank has been identified with the business in- 
terests of White Pigeon township during many years, but he is a 
native son of Indiana, bom on the 16th of December, 1862, to 
Henry and Caroline (Schneider) Frank, both of whom were bom 
in Germany, and they were also married there. Emigrating to 
the United States about the year of 1848, they established their 
home in White Pigeon, Michigan, but moved from there to La 
Grange county, Indiana. Henry Frank bought heavily wooded 
land there, which he in time cleared and improved, and on this 
farm which he hewed from the wilderness both he and his wife 
spent the remainder of their lives, Mr. Frank dying on the 2d of 
November, 1904, and his wife on the 1st of May, 1902. The three 
sons and a daughter bom to them are : Richard H. of this sketch ; 
Charles H., whose home is in Marshall county, Indiana; Alvin, a 
La Grange county farmer; Emma, wife of John R. Davey, of 
Const antine, this state. 

Richard H. Frank was reared on his father ^s farm in his na- 
tive county of La Grange, assisting his father with its work dur- 
ing the summer months and attending the district school in the 
winters, and this was followed by a course in the White Pigeon 
High School. During the four years following his marriage he 
continued to reside in Indiana, and coming to White Pigeon town- 
ship, St. Joseph county, Michigan, in November, 1894, he bought 
a farm in section 5, and now owns thirty-eight acres. He has 
served White Pigeon township during the past seven years as a 
supervisor, being the present incumbent of the office, and he is 
prominent in the local councils of the Democratic party. He has 
also attained prominence as an auctioneer, and that vocation con- 
sumes the greater part of his time. 

On the 12th of March, 1889, Mr. Frank was married to Ida 
E. Schmidt, also from La Grange county, Indiana, and they have 
two children : Orlie and Mary, the elder bom April 12, 1893, and 
now a high school pupil at White Pigeon, and the younger was 
bom March 17, 1905. The family are members of the Lutheran 
church. 

Vol. 11—14 



722 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Harden Sabin, M. D. — For nearly half a century Dr. Sabin 
has been engaged in the practice of his profession in St. Joseph 
county, maintaining his home in Centerville, the county seat, and 
the years have told a story of a successful career^ — successful by 
reason of hiis innate talent and a<3quired ability along the line of 
one of the most important vocations, to which a man may devote 
his energies, the alleviation of pain and suffering and the restora- 
tion of health, which is a man's most cherished and priceless pos- 
session. This is an age of progress in all lines of professional and 
material achievement and Dr. Sabin has kept abreast of the ad- 
vancement that has virtually revolutionized methods of medical 
and surgical practice, rendering the efforts of the physician of 
much more avail than they were at the time when he himself en- 
tered upon his professional career. Not only is Dr. Sabin num- 
bered among the best known and essentially representative physi- 
cians and surgeons of St. Joseph county, but he has also been 
called upon to serve in public offices of distinguished trust, in- 
cluding that of member of the state senate and it was his to ren- 
der valiant service as a leal and loyal soldier of the Union in the 
Civil war, so that there is no dearth of interesting data pertaining 
to his career. 

Descended in the paternal line from stanch French-Huguenot 
stock and in the maternal line tracing his ancestry to English 
origin, Dr. Sabin claims the old Hoosier state as the place of his 
nativity. He was bom at Orland, Steuben county, Indiana, on the 
2d of January, 1840, and was the eldest in the family of five chil- 
dren — four sons and one daughter — of Stephen C. and Martha 
M. (Stocker) Sabin. Of the children only one other than himself 
is now living — ^namely: Oscar C, who is a resident of the city of 
Chicago and who is identified with the United States Collector 
of Customs Office. Oscar C. Sabin served as a soldier in the Twenty- 
ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in the Civil war and held the of- 
fice of quartermaster, continuing in the service for more than three 
years. He is a stanch Republican in his political proclivities and 
both he and his wife are members of the Baptist church. Stephen 
Choate Sabin, father of the doctor, was born at Jamaica, Wind- 
ham county, Vermont, in the year 1812, and his death occurred 
in 1894. He was a carpenter and joiner by trade but in later 
years he turned his attention also to agricultural pursuits. He 
was reared to maturity in the old Green Mountain state and was 
a man of broad intellectual ken and sterling integrity of charac- 
ter. He finally came to the west and located in Steuben county, 




^^. 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 725 

Indiana, where he purchased a tract of land near the present loca- 
tion of the village of Orland. In business he was successful and 
he was one of the honored and influential pioneers of that section 
of the state where his marriage was solemnized. At the time of 
the memorable gold excitement in California he made the long and 
venturesome trip across the plains to the new Eldorado, where he 
remained about two years, at the expiration of which time he re- 
turned to the east by the way of the Isthmus of Panama. Mr. 
Sabin was originally a Whig in his political adherency and he 
supported General William Henry Harrison for the presidency, 
having been active in the campaign, which brought forth the cry, 
''Tippecanoe and Tyler too." He united with the Republican 
party at the time of its organization and he was very influential 
in party affairs of a local nature, while his maturity of judgment 
caused his advice to be sought by his neighbors in matters of per- 
sonal importance. About the year 1863 he was elected to repre- 
sent his county in the state legislature of Indiana, in which he 
served several terms, being prominent in councils of the legislative 
body and having been selected as one of the representatives of 
Indiana in escorting the remains of the martyred president Abra- 
ham Lincoln from the national capital to Springfield, Illinois, 
where interment was made. He took a broad-minded interest in 
all that touched the general welfare of the community and was 
influential in religious and moral work, as well as in connection 
with the promotion of the public schools. He was an appreciative 
member of the Masonic fraternity and both he and his wife were 
earnest and zealous members of the Baptist church. When they 
were well advanced in years they removed to Centerville, Michi- 
gan, where they passed the residue of their lives in the home of 
their son, Dr. Sabin, subject of this review, who accorded to them 
the utmost filial solicitude. They were laid to rest in the Center- 
ville cemetery. The mother of Dr. Sabin was likewise a native of 
Jamaica, Vermont, where she was bom in the year 1819 and she 
died in 1894, only a few weeks previously to the death of her hon- 
ored husband. She endured the vicissitudes of pioneer life in 
Steuben county, Indiana, and was a woman of most gracious and 
sympathetic nature with intense interest in religious affairs, her 
faith having been shown in her daily life. Her mother, whose 
maiden name was Betsey Howard, was a relative of the mother 
of President Taft. Her father was numbered among the pioneers 
of Steuben county, Indiana, where he became a successful agri- 
culturist. Ebenezer Sabin, grandfather of the doctor, was a sol- 



726 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

dier in the war of the Revolution and was wounded in one of the 
battles thereof. While he was lying practically helpless on the 
field General Washington passed by and solicitously questioned 
him in regard to his injuries. By reason of this service of his 
grandfather, Dr. Sabin is eligible for membership in the Society 
of the Sons of the American Revolution. 

Dr. Harden Sabin was reared to adult age in his native 
county of Steuben, to whose common schools he is indebted for his 
early educational discipline, which was supplemented by study in 
a well ordered academy at Orland, that county. In the year 1859, 
when nineteen years of age, he was matriculated in the literary de- 
partment of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, where he 
continued his studies for three years. After the Civil war had 
been in progress about a year Dr. Sabin subordinated all other 
interests to tender his aid in defence of the Union. He returned 
to his native state and at Orland enlisted in Company B, One Hun- 
dredth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which at that time was being 
raised by Capt. Joseph W. Gillespie. His enlistment was made on 
the 15th of August, 1862, and the regiment was mobilized at Fort 
Wayne, Indiana, whence it proceeded to Indianapolis and then to 
the front, being assigned to the command of General Sherman, at 
Memphis, Tennessee. Dr. Sabin was an active participant in the 
siege of Yicksburg and the battle of Jackson, Mississippi, and he 
then proceeded with his command to join General Grant's force, 
with which he participated in the battle of Chattanooga and Look- 
out Mountain. He also took part in the Atlanta campaign, in- 
cluding the battles of Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain and those about 
Atlanta and in this connection his regiment was virtually under 
fire for one hundred consecutive days, or until the capitulation of 
the city of Atlanta. The doctor then proceeded with Sherman's 
forces to the pursuit of Hood's army to Tennessee and then on the 
ever memorable march from Atlanta to the sea and from Savan- 
nah, Georgia, proceeded with his command through the Carolinas, 
taking part in the battle of Bentonville, North Carolina, which 
was the last definite battle of the war. He had the distinction 
of accompanying his command to the city of Washington, where 
he participated in the Grand Review of the victorious but jaded 
and battle-scarred veterans, an event that has become a matter of 
important history in the annals of the nation. On the march 
from Savannah, Georgia, to the north Dr. Sabin held rank as first 
lieutenant and acting adjutant in his command and his regiment 
was near Raleigh, North Carolina, when was received the welcome 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 727 

news of the surrender of General Lee, of which as adjutant he 
read in orders to his regiment there in bivouac. About five days 
later the gallant soldiers of the Union found their joy practically 
set at naught by the receipt of the news of the assassination of 
President Lincoln. In all of Dr. Sabin's long service as a leal and 
loyal soldier, of the republic he was never wounded, never taken 
prisoner and never absent from duty, except a short time in hos- 
pital from sickness, a record that redounds to his lasting credit. 
He was in continuous service from August 15, 1862, until he was 
mustered out and received his honorable discharge, in June, 1865, 
having been promoted from sergeant to sergeant major of regi- 
ment, and to first lieutenant and to captain of his company which 
he took to Indianapolis where it was mustered out and disbanded 
in June, 1865. 

Soon after the close of the war Dr. Sabin determined to com- 
plete his preparation for the medical profession and with this in 
view he came to Centerville, Michigan, where he began the study 
of medicine under the able preceptorship of Dr. John Bennitt. 
Six months later, however, he again entered the University of 
Michigan, in the autumn of 1865, and from that institution the 
next year he went to Ohio and entered the medical department of 
the Western Reserve University, which was located at Cleveland, 
Ohio. He received credit for his previous academic training in 
the University of Michigan and was graduated in the medical de- 
partment of Western Reserve University as a member of the class 
of 1867, duly receiving his well earned degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. In May of the same year Dr. Sabin returned to Centerville 
and during the long intervening period of more than two score 
years he has continued in the active practice of medicine and sur- 
gery in St. Joseph county, where his success has been on a parity 
with his recognized ability and earnest devotion. He has minis- 
tered with all of zeal to the people of this county and has long 
retained a large and representative clientage so that his services 
continue to be in demand in many families where he is giving at- 
tention to the second and third generations. He has a strong hold 
upon the affectionate regard of the community, which has so long 
been his home and no citizen is better known or held in higher es- 
teem. 

Dr. Sabin gives his allegiance to the cause of the Republican 
party and he had the privilege of casting his ballot in support of 
President Lincoln, while he was serving in the ranks of the Union 
army. He has shown a broad and intelligent interest in matters 



728 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

of public import and in 1890 he was elected to represent the 
Eighth senatorial district in the state senate. In 1892 he was re- 
elected but the district had been changed in the meantime and he 
was thus chosen to represent the Sixth district. The doctor has 
served for fully twenty years as president of the board of educa- 
tion of Centerville and for several terms was president of the 
village board of trustees. He has frequently been a delegate to 
the state and district conventions of his party and for a number 
of years was a member of the Republican congressional committee 
of his district. He is an enthusiastic member of David Oaks Post, 
No. 135, Grand Army of the Republic, of which he has served both 
as commander and as surgeon. He is a member of the St. Joseph 
County Medical Society and of the Michigan State Medical So- 
ciety, of which former he has served several terms as president. 
The doctor has been a close student and investigator and his pri- 
vate library is of the most extensive order, both in connection with 
the best standard and periodical literature of his profession and 
the best in the classics and general literature. His library com- 
prises fully two thousand volumes and is one of the largest and 
most select private collections in the county. Dr. Sabin is a dig- 
nified gentleman of the old-school type and yet is possessed of an 
affability that has gained him friends in all classes. His personal 
popularity offers the best voucher of his sterling attributes of 
character and it is a pleasure to offer even this brief review of his 
career in this history of the county that has been the scene of his 
labors for so many years. Both he and his wife are members of 
the Baptist church. 

On the 23d of May, 1867, was solemnized the marriage of Dr. 
Sabin to Miss Mary M. Smith, and they became the parents of two 
children. Edna B., the elder of the two children, is the wife of 
H. Curtis Hoffman, who is an architect by profession and who re- 
sides at Oak Park, Illinois, one of the beautiful suburbs of the 
city of Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Hoffman have one son, Howard B. 
Mrs. Hoffman completed the curriculum of the Centerville high 
school and later continued her studies in the Baptist College at 
Kalamazoo and the Cook County Normal School, in the city of Chi- 
cago. Prior to her marriage she was a successful and popular 
teacher in the public schools at Chicago Heights. Leland Howard, 
the younger of the two children, is engaged in the practice of law 
in the city of Battle Creek, Michigan. He attended the Center- 
ville high school and thereafter pursued his studies in both the 
academic and law departments of the University of Michigan, 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 729 

in both of which he was graduated, thus receiving the degrees of 
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws. He married Miss Eloise 
Skinner of Battle Creek, Michigan, and they have one son, Brain- 
ard S. The wife of Dr. Sabin was bom in Leroy, New York, but 
was reared and educated in Michigan. She is a daughter of Per- 
rin M. and Harriet T. (Bishop) Judd Smith. Her father likewise 
was a native of the old Empire state and he became one of the 
representative members of the bar of Michigan, where he also 
served as circuit judge of the Fourth Judicial circuit, an office of 
which he was incumbent at the time of his death February 12, 1866. 

At the commencement exercises of Michigan University on the 
30th of June, 1910, there was given to Dr. Sabin the Honorary De- 
gree of Master of Arts as the following record, under the head of 
conferring that degree fully sets forth: 

^ * Doctor Marden Sabin for three years a member of the Class 
of 1863 in the Department of Literature, Science and the Arts, he 
left the university to serve his country in her hour of peril, a brave 
soldier, a painstaking and conscientious physician and a public- 
spirited and progressive citizen, who during his terms as state 
senator exemplified high ideals in public service the degree of 
Master of Arts." 

Stephen M. Snyder. — Holding a place of note among the 
well-known citizens and prosperous residents of Fabius township 
is Stephen M. Snyder, a successful agriculturist, distinguished not 
only for the splendid service he rendered his country during the 
Civil war, but for the honored pioneer ancestry from which he 
is descended. His birth occurred May 18, 1843, in Lockport town- 
ship, St. Joseph county, where his father, Henry Snyder, was an 
early settler. 

Born in Union county, Pennsylvania, Henry Snyder was 
brought up on a farm, and as a young man served an apprentice- 
ship at the mason 's trade, which he afterwards followed for a time 
in Snyder county, Pennsylvania. In 1837, about the time Michigan 
was admitted to statehood, he came here in search of cheap lands, 
and settled as a pioneer in Park township, St. Joseph county. At 
that time there w^ere no railways, telegraph lines or telephones, 
means of transportation and communication with the outside 
world being scant. Little do the people of this generation realize 
the hardships and privations endured, the great ambition required, 
and the physical vigor demanded, to secure the homes established 
by the early settlers for themselves and their descendants. "What 



730 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

are now considered indispensable necessities of the larder were 
then luxuries not thought of even by the most opulent. The pro- 
ductions of the farm, and the fruits of the chase, supplied the 
family tables, while the garments of the entire household were 
made of homespun material, and manufactured by the good wife 
and mother. After a few years, Henry Snyder sold his land in 
Park township, and bought another tract in Lockport township, 
where he began the improvement of a homestead. Going by way 
of the Isthmus to California in 1854, he remained there three years, 
and on returning to his former home, assumed management of the 
farm which his wife had inherited, and was here engaged in 
agricultural pursuits until his death, at the age of sixty-eight 
years. 

Mr. Henry Snyder was twice married. He married first 
Sarah Slote, a native of Pennsylvania. She died in 1841, leaving 
four children, James, Mary J., Hannah M., and William. He 
married second, in 1842, Mrs. Lydia (Moore) Hoffman, who was 
born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of Abner 
Moore. Migrating from Pennsylvania to Michigan, Abner Moore 
became a pioneer of St. Joseph county, locating in Mendon, where, 
in addition to farming, he followed his trade of a cabinet maker 
for several years, afterwards taking up the business of a cooper. 
He died at the age of eighty-six years, on his farm in Mendon. 
Lydia Moore married first John Hoffman, who came from Pennsyl- 
vania to St. Joseph county in pioneer days. He died in 1841. Of 
the five children born of their union, three grew to years of ma- 
turity, Mary J. Hoffman, Elizabeth H. Hoffman, and Harriet Hoff- 
man. By her second marriage she had four children, namely: 
Stephen M., the subject of this sketch; John H. ; Catherine R. ; 
and Charles F. 

Brought up in his native township, Stephen M. Snyder was 
educated in the district schools, while under his father's instruc- 
tions he became familiar with the many branches of agriculture. 
In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Twenty-fifth Michigan 
Infantry, and with his regiment took part in many important bat- 
tles, including among others, the engagements at Resaca, Dalton, 
Rocky Face, Etowah River, Kingston, Altoona, Pine Mountain, 
Lost Mountain, Gulps Farm, Kenesaw Mountain, Chattahoochee 
River, Decatur, Atlanta, Rome, Georgia, Cedar Bluffs, and Nash- 
ville. At Salisbury, N. C, June 24, 1865, he received his honorable 
discharge with his regiment, and returned to the parental homestead. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 731 

He has since confined his attention to general farming, an occupa- 
tion in which he finds pleasure and much profit. 

Mr. Snyder married Utica E. Stuck, in February, 1869. She 
was born in Pennsylvania, a daughter of Jacob and Rebecca (Sny- 
der) Stuck. Her father settled in Flowerfield township, St. 
Joseph county, in 1860, and subsequently moved to Park township. 
In 1868 he made another removal, going to Indiana, and is now 
a resident of Hanna, that state. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder are the par- 
ents of two children, namely: Willis C. and Alvin J. Willis C, 
who manages the home farm, married Mary E. Krum, and they have 
one (Child, Frank W. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder are both valued mem- 
bers of the Reformed church, towards the support of which they 
contribute liberally. Socially Mr. Snyder belongs to the Ed. M. 
Prutzman Post, No. 72, G. A. R. 

John B. Probst has made a remarkable record, and from the 
study of his life history one may learn valuable lessons, for de- 
pending upon his own resources he has made his way from ob- 
scurity to a place of prominence in the industrial life of St. Joseph 
county. From his little German home he made his way to this 
country and entered upon a career which seems most marvelous, 
but it is only the outcome of the honest reward of labor, good 
management, ambition and energy, without which no man can win 
prosperity. 

Born in Frank-in-Furst, Germany, June 19, 1829, he was 
reared on a farm there and attended the public schools until the 
age of fourteen, being also compelled to attend Sunday-school, 
and until eighteen years of age he lived out and worked at farm 
labor. He married in his early life Anna Bower, born in that 
country October 16, 1831, and coming to the United States, they 
arrived in Toledo, Ohio, on the 1st of June, 1854, after sixty days 
spent on the ocean on a sail boat. They remained in that city 
about a year, Mr. Probst working as a wood sawyer, and from 
there made their way to Goshen, Indiana, and thence to White 
Pigeon, Michigan, in 1856, where he obtained work in the harvest 
fields. He then worked at railroad building at Sturgis, this state, 
for about a year, was then employed in the railroad yards at 
Toledo, Ohio, and all this time he worked hard and saved his 
earnings and was finally able to buy eighty acres of land in St. 
Joseph county. But he has added to this purchase until he now 
owns three hundred and twenty-seven acres of the choicest farm- 
ing lands of the county. During the first years of his residence in 



732 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

this state he was employed on the railroad then being built here, 
and after the completion of the road he was retained as a section 
hand and as a foreman. His life has been characterized by energy 
and perseverance, and step by step he has climbed the ladder of 
his own making, until he now occupies a place of prominence in 
the life of his community, highly esteemed by all who know him. 
In politics he is allied with the Democracy. 

The following children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Probst : 
Anna and Mary, twins; Margaret, John, Helena, Henry; Joseph, 
deceased ; George, died October 23, 1909 ; Joseph and Rose. The 
family are members of the Catholic church at White Pigeon, 
Michigan. Mrs. Probst died February 10, 1910. She was always 
a kind mother and a faithful wife, and a devout member of St. 
Joseph Catholic church. She was interred in the Catholic ceme- 
tery at White Pigeon. 

James L. Smith. — During many years James L. Smith was 
prominently identified with the agricultural interests of St. Joseph 
county, but he is now living retired on his estate in Mottville 
township. He is a native son of this township, born on his father ^s 
farm here on the 9th of May, 1853. He is a son of Samuel and a 
grandson of Daniel Smith, the latter moving from his native state 
of Pennsylvania to Iowa, where he lived during the remainder of 
his life. Samuel Smith became in his early life one of the farmers 
of Mottville township, St. Joseph county, and he was married here 
to Elizabeth Klechner, they spending the residue of their days 
here and dying on the farm now owned by James L. Smith. 

James L. Smith was the only child born to Samuel and Eliza- 
beth Smith, and he grew to mature years on the farm where he 
now lives, beginning when old enough to help his father with its 
work during the summer months and attending the district schools 
in the winter. After laying aside his text-books he gave his entire 
attention to farm work, and he now owns two hundred and twelve 
acres in section 15, Mottville township, this tract having been in 
the Smith name for many years. But in recent years he has laid 
aside the active work of the farm, and is now enjoying a well 
earned rest. Mr. Smith remained at home vrith his parents until 
twenty-seven years of age, and was then married, on the 27th of 
October, 1880, to Emma Line, born in Pennsylvania, June 7, 1854, 
a daughter of Henry Line, who became a resident of Michigan in 
1864, establishing then his home in White Pigeon township. A 
daughter, lone, now the wife of William Friesner, has been born 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 733 

to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, and she and her husband live with her 
father on the Smith farm, the parents of two children, James 
Harvey and Catherine E. Mr. Smith is a member of White Pigeon 
Lodge, No. 104, F. & A. M., and in politics he upholds the princi- 
ples of the Republican party, but is an independent local voter. 

David B. Perry was bom in Montour county, Pennsylvania, 
March 5, 1839, a son of David and Eva (Barkley) Perry. The 
father was born, reared, spent his entire life and died in that com- 
monwealth, and he was by trade a blacksmith. The Barkley family 
were also from Pennsylvania, and the maternal grandfather of 
David B. served as postmaster of his village there for many years. 
Of the eleven children which were born to David and Eva Perry, 
only two are now living, the younger being Wesley Perry, yet 
living in Pennsylvania. 

The elder of these two surviving sons, David B. Perry, was 
reared to agricultural pursuits, and on arriving at a suitable age, 
he helped his father with the farm work and attended the district 
schools during the winter months. He began learning the harness- 
maker's trade when seventeen years of age, and after working 
for others for twenty years he embarked in the business for him- 
self. Coming to St. Joseph county, Michigan, in 1859, he located 
in the town of Mottville, and continued at his trade until the Civil 
war came on, and he volunteered with the Sixteenth Michigan 
Regiment and saw his first battle at Petersburg, afterward doing 
guard duty. He was mustered out of the service at Jeffersonville, 
Indiana, and was discharged at Detroit, Michigan, returning then 
to his home in Mottville and to the work of harness-making. He 
now receives a pension of fifteen dollars a month in compensation 
for his Civil war services. 

Mr. Perry, on the 9th of November, 1862, was married to 
Cornelia Knorr, who was born in Mottville township, St. Joseph 
county, on December 21, 1842. Her father was from Pennsyl- 
vania and her mother from the state of New York. The four 
children of this union are : May, born June 7, 1864, and now the 
wife of George H. Arnold, of Three Rivers, Michigan; Maggie, 
deceased ; Joseph, born October 29, 1873 ; and Jacob, born July 2, 
1878. Mr. Perry in politics is a Republican, and he is the present 
clerk of Mottville township. He has held that office during many 
terms, and was first elected when the township had a Democratic 
majority of from thirty-five to forty votes. He is held in the 
highest esteem by all who know him. 



734 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

( 

Amos T. Perrin, an honored and retired farmer of New Hart- 
ford, Butler county, stands in the community as one of its most 
substantial financiers, now holding the presidency of the local 
bank and the secretaryship of the Butler County Farmers' Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company. His wide acquaintance, solid abilities 
and stanch character admirably fit him for these positions and 
any others of responsibility which he may assume. He comes of 
an old New York family, of English descent, and was himself 
born in the Empire state, on the 2d of December, 1843, a son of 
Amos, and a grandson of Porter Perrin. The latter emigrated 
to the United States from England, and was married in the United 
States, his son Amos having been born in Washington county. 
New York, on the 30th of March, 1810. The father reached man- 
hood as a sturdy farmer of the Empire state, well educated and 
also an expert judge and dealer in livestock. About 1852 he 
migrated to Michigan, locating on Sturgis prairie, St. Joseph 
county. At a later date he moved to Sherman township, section 12, 
where he continued to reside until his death. Amos Perrin was a 
man who was highly respected both for his practical abilities and 
his absolute integrity. The lake near his old homestead in St. 
Joseph county bears his name, and he has left a strong impress on 
the community in which he lived for so many years. He was a 
stanch Republican, and he was one of the many whose attitude to- 
ward Lincoln was little short of worship. To the wife of his 
youth, these four children were born : Thomas P., now a resident 
of Detroit, Michigan; Lewis C, of White Pigeon, also that state; 
Amos T., of this biography; and Luna M., Mrs. M. E. Osborn, of 
New Hartford, Iowa. The mother of this family died in 1847, and 
Amos Perrin took for his second wife Miss Rachael Van Winkle, 
who bore him the following children : Lester F., now a farmer of 
Sherman township, St. Joseph county, Michigan ; Eliza, deceased ; 
Mary, wife of Charles Warren of Bancroft, Michigan; William, 
of Kalkaska county, that state ; Edward N., of Sherman township, 
Michigan, and Fred E., who resides in Montana. 

Amos T. was a lad of thirteen when the family settled in St. 
Joseph county, Michigan ; received his education in Sherman town- 
ship of that county, both in the district schools and on the farm ; 
and in the year 1871 migrated to Butler county, a young man of 
limited means but of abundant energy and resources. As his 
unchecked progress in his agricultural and livestock enterprises 
brought him abundant means, his honorable dealings and character 
gave him a high standing in citizenship, and when he retired from 




J-ji^-^^i^-''^^ 




HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 737 

his activities in these lines and settled at New Hartford, he entered 
another phase of his broad and useful life. He had been a stock- 
holder in the bank for some years and has since creditably served 
as its president (which position he still holds) ; and, as stated, he 
is also secretary of the Butler County Farmers' Mutual Fire In- 
surance Company, whose interests have been solidly advanced by 
his activity and influence. In politics, Mr. Perrin is a firm Repub- 
lican, but his naturally quiet disposition has prevented him from 
ever becoming a politician. His record has shown, however, that 
back of his rather retiring nature there is a goodly fund of de- 
termination and a fine supply of practical abilities. 

Mr. Perrin was first married to Miss Harriet J. Proctor, of 
Iowa, a woman of high and lovable character, who bore him the 
following children: Susan, now the wife of Frank Jones; Mary, 
Mrs. Fred Johnson; and Fred Perrin, who married Miss Lizzie 
Schreurs. Mrs. Harriet Perrin died in 1884 and in 1888 Amos 
T. Perrin wedded Miss Maggie Olmstead, a lady of rare intelli- 
gence and womanly character. She was born, reared and educated 
in the Hawkeye state, and is the mother of the following: Willie, 
who was educated in his native county, and at his death was the 
efficient cashier of the New Hartford Bank ; Edward F., who is a 
graduate of the Iowa Commercial School at Waterloo, Iowa; and 
Hazel and Theodore L., bom respectively in 1893 and 1905. It 
should be stated to complete the personal record of Mr. Perrin that 
he is a stanch Mason, affiliated with Beaver Lodge No. 472, of New 
Hartford, and is in every respect a worthy exemplar of the princi- 
ples of that noble fraternity. 

Lewis E. Miller.— He whose name initiates this sketch is 
specially eligible for representation in this publication, as he is a 
most valued and efficient factor in connection with educational work 
in St. Joseph county, where he is the incumbent of the office of 
county commissioner of public schools, with residence and official 
headquarters in Centerville. Further interest attaches to his career 
from the fact that he has passed the major part of his life in this 
county, where his official preferment well indicates the high esteem 
in which he is held in the community, besides which it gives evidence 
of his fine intelectual attainments and marked executive ability, 
both of which are demanded in the position of which he is incum- 
bent. He has accomplished a most valuable work in systematizing 
the public schools of the county and has brought the same up to a 
very high standard, the while he has enlisted the earnest and effect- 



738 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

ive co-operation of the people and of the various teachers employed 
throughout the county. 

Lewis E. Miller was bom in Northampton county, Pennsylva- 
nia, on the 19th of December, 1864, and is the second in order of 
birth of the four children of John J. and Margaret S. (Schall) 
Miller. Concerning the other children the following brief data are 
given, — Ambrose P. is now a resident of Garrett, Indiana, and is 
employed as a conductor on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad ; Richard 
N. is also in the employ of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad as a pas- 
senger conductor and resides in the city of Garrett, Indiana; and 
Jennie M. is the wife of Herbert Snyder, who is engaged in the fur- 
niture business at Easton, Pennsylvania. John J. Miller, the 
father, was likewise bom in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
and he died in Lebanon county, that state, on the 31st of March, 
1898. During the greater part of his active career he was identified 
with agricultural pursuits, besides which he operated a mill for sev- 
eral years. He came to Michigan on the 31st of March, 1879, and 
secured a tract of land in Park township, St. Joseph county, where 
he continued to be successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits 
for the ensuing nine years, at the expiration of which he returned 
to Pennsylvania and located in Lebanon county, where he passed 
the remainder of his life. He was a stanch Democrat in his politi- 
cal proclivities and while a resident of Park township, St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, he served as township treasurer. He was affil- 
iated with the Masonic fraternity and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and his religious faith was that of the Evangelical 
church. His cherished and devoted wife, who likewise was bom in 
Northampton county, preceded him to the life eternal and she was 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Miller was 
again married, his second wife being Cecelia Holland, to which 
union were bom two daughters, Ada and Kate. They both have 
comfortable homes in Lebanon, Pennsylvania, where they provide 
for their mother in her latter years. 

Lewis E. Miller gained his rudimentary education in the pub- 
lic schools of his native state and was a lad of fourteen years at the 
time of the family removal to St. Joseph county, Michigan. Owing 
to a physical infirmity it became expedient for Mr. Miller to turn 
his attention to some vocation not demanding heavy manual labor 
and his ambition was one of definite action and purpose, as is shown 
by the fact that he determined to secure a liberal education and 
prepare himself for the pedagogic profession. After attending the 
district schools in St. Joseph county for three years he entered the 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 739 

Three Rivers Business College, where he completed the prescribed 
course, in the meanwhile working for his board and also earning 
money to partially defray the expenses of his course. After teach- 
ing for four months in district No. 1, Park township, he received in 
compensation for his services the sum of ninety dollars and with 
this fortification he was matriculated in the Michgan State Normal 
School at Ypsilanti, which institution he attended during the spring 
term of 1885. Thereafter he taught and attended normal school 
at intervals until he was enabled to complete the normal course and 
he was graduated as a member of the class of 1888. For the ensu- 
ing year he held the position of principal of the public schools at 
Royal Oak, Oakland county, and for a similar period he thereafter 
served as principal of the public schools at Birmingham, that 
county. His next charge was that of principal of the schools at 
Hanover, Jackson county, where he remained one year, at the ex- 
piration of which he became a teacher of sciences in the high 
school at Howell, Livingston county, where he remained two years. 
For the ensuing two years he was superintendent of the public 
schools at Fowlerville, Livingston county, and he then returned to 
St. Joseph county, where he was principal of the public schools 
of Mendon for five years. He then accepted the principalship of 
the schools at Colon, this county, where he remained two years, 
until the spring of 1901, when he became candidate on the Demo- 
cratic ticket for the office of county commissioner of public schools, 
to which office he was elected for a term of two years. The 
efficiency of his administration has been uniformly conceded and 
he has been twice re-elected, each time with his majority double 
the preceding one. His present term of office will expire in July, 
1911. He will then have served ten years. Mr. Miller is an in- 
defatigable worker and his ability and genial personality have 
gained to him the warm friendship of the teachers of the county, 
who extend to him every possible assistance in the work of his im- 
portant office. 

Reared in the faith of the Democratic party Mr. Miller has 
never severed his allegiance thereto and is well fortified in his 
opinions as to matters of public polity. He is affiliated with 
Dennis Lodge, No. 96, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in the 
village of Colon, and he and his wife hold membership with the 
adjunct organization, the Daughters of Rebekah, in the city of 
Three Rivers, besides which they also hold membership in Center- 
ville Grange, in which Mr. Miller is lecturer. He and his wife are 
zealous and devout members of the Methodist Episcopal church 



740 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and he is president of the St. Joseph county Sunday-school asso- 
ciation. Both he and his wife are active in all departments of 
church work and he is teacher of a boys' class in the Sunday- 
school of a church in Centerville. 

On the 10th of January, 1895, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Miller to Miss Delia Greenaway and they have two sons 
and one daughter — John H., Fred L. and Margaret E., all of whom 
are attending the public schools of Centerville. Mrs. Miller was 
born in Livingston county, Michigan, and is a woman of distinctive 
culture, having been a successful teacher of instrumental music 
prior to her marriage. Her parents are both deceased and her 
father was a native of England. 

In Centerville, Mr. and Mrs. Miller have builded a comfort- 
able home not only for their family but for many others. They are 
hospitable and socially inclined and their pleasant home is the 
scene of many social entertainments. 

Alfred Fairchild. — Prominent among the intelligent and en- 
ergetic agriculturists who have been for many years identified 
with the farming interests of St. Joseph county, and by good man- 
agement and thrift have accumulated a fair share of this world's 
goods, is Alfred Fairchild, now living retired from active pur- 
suits at Three Eivers. A Pennsylvanian by birth, he was born, 
May 16, 1841, in Newport township, now Nanticoke, Luzerne 
county, which was likewise the place in which his father, John 
Fairchild first drew the breath of life. 

Solomon Fairchild, Mr. Fairchild 's grandfather, was a farmer 
by occupation, and, it is supposed, spent his entire life in Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania. He married Elizabeth Lutsey, who was 
born in Pennsylvania, a daughter of John Lutsey. A native of 
Germany, John Lutsey was drafted into the German Army, and, 
in 1775, belonged to the command that was loaned to the British 
government at so much a head to come to America to fight the 
colonists during the Revolutionary War. On arriving in this 
country, he fought under Cornwallis, and was among the troops 
surrendered at Yorktown. Instead of returning to the Father- 
land, he located in Pennsylvania, becoming a pioneer of Luzerne 
county, where he spent the remainder of his days, there marrying 
and rearing his family. 

John Fairchild was reared on the parental homestead in 
Luzerne county, and became a farmer from choice. Inheriting 
from his father land in Newport township, he managed it success- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 741 

fully, becoming one of the leading agriculturists of his community. 
He was a natural mechanic, and made good use of his talents by 
doing his own blacksmithing and carpentering, a great saving of 
time, money and patience in those days as it is now. A part of 
his farm he platted, and it is now included within the corporate 
limits of the borough of Nanticoke. There he resided, an honored 
and respected citizen, until his death, in 1879. He married Martha 
Line, who was born in Hanover township, Luzerne county, Penn- 
sylvania, a daughter of Henry and Ann (Slyker) Line. The father 
of Henry Line, was born and bred in Hackettstown, New Jersey, 
and removed from there to Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, in 
pioneer days. To Mr. and Mrs. John Fairchild five children were 
born, as follows : Annie E., Henry S., Alfred, Martha L., and John 
M. The mother survived her husband, passing away in 1882. 

Alfred Fairchild received his early education in his native 
county, after eleven years of age attending school during the 
winter terms, only. Leaving home soon after attaining his ma- 
jority, he rented land in Luzerne county, and was there profitably 
engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1879. In that year, impelled 
by the restless American spirit that is still leading men of energy 
and enterprise to seek homes in the uncultivated regions of our 
vast country, Mr. Fairchild came to St. Joseph county, Michigan. 
Locating in Lockport township, he bought two hundred and eigh- 
teen acres of land in section 33, and for ten years carried on 
general farming and stock raising with most satisfactory pecuniary 
results. Removing then to Three Rivers, he has since resided 
here, retired from active labor. Mr. Fairchild still owns his farm, 
which is now managed by his son, and in addition to this valuable 
property, he has interests in the coal regions of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Fairchild married, November 25, 1863, Euphemia Gar- 
inger, who was born in Hanover township, Luzerne county, Penn- 
sylvania, March 23, 1842, a daughter of Charles and Elizabeth 
(Lueder) Garinger. Mr. and Mrs. Fairchild have four children, 
namely : Laura, Ervin, Gertrude, and Minnie. Laura, wife of Fred 
Pashby, has one son, Ralph. Ervin married Norma Pashby, and 
they have two children, Ernest and Edith. Gertrude, wife of M. 
W. Lott, has three children, Gerald, Hubert, and Winfield. Mr. 
Fairchild is a Republican politically. 

The first Fairchild reunion was held at Fairchild Park near 
Berwick, Pennsylvania, August 27, 1908, and was a great success. 
The family was represented by one hundred and thirty-two per- 

Vol. 11—15 



742 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

sons ranging in age from eight weeks to eighty-six years, four 
generations. 

Allen Wescott. — The worthy representative of an honored 
pioneer family of St. Joseph county, Allen Wescott inherited in a 
marked degree the energy, enterprise and thrift characteristic of 
the brave men and women that assisted in transforming this part 
of Michigan from a wilderness into a land rich in its agricultural 
and industrial resources. By untiring industry and good man- 
agement he has acquired a competency, and is now passing the 
evening of his days in ease and comfort, having a pleasant home at 
Three Rivers. He was born, August 2, 1831, at Christian Hollow, 
Onondaga county, New York, twelve miles from the city of Syr- 
acuse. His father, William Wescott, and his grandfather, Samuel 
Wescott, were both natives of the Empire state. 

Brought up in New York City, Samuel Wescott there learned 
the shoemaker's trade, which he followed for a time. Subsequently 
locating in Onondaga county, he turned his attention to agri- 
cultural pursuits, living there until 1836. In the fall of that year 
he came to Michigan, making the long trip with teams, bringing 
with him his family, which consisted of his wife, two sons, William 
and Charles, and a daughter. Locating in St. Joseph county, he 
secured one hundred and sixty acres of land in Lockport township, 
buying it from the government. This part of the state was then 
in its virginal wildness, with few visible evidences of civilization, 
there being no railways here for many years after, while through 
the forests, the happy hunting ground of the Indians, wild animals 
of all kinds roamed at will. He built two log houses on the place, 
one for himself and one for his son William, and began the clear- 
ing and improving of a homestead, a work of no small magnitude, 
and here lived until a short time before his death, which occurred, 
when he was eighty-four years of age, at the home of his daughter, 
Mrs. Wolf. His wife, whose maiden name was Deborah Brown, 
and to whom he was married in 1802, bore him four children. 

William Wescott assisted his father in clearing the land that 
he bought on locating in Lockport township, during the time oc- 
cupying the log cabin given him for many years. He eventually 
moved to the farm belonging to his second wife, in the same local- 
ity, and was there successfully employed in general farming until 
his death, May 28, 1843. He married first Sally Ann Wright, who 
was born in New York state. She died on the home farm, in 
Lockport township, June 7, 1841, leaving six children, namely: 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 743 

Alvin ; Emeline ; Edward ; Allen and Alma, twins ; and Alonzo. By 
his second marriage he had one son, Hiram D. Wescott. 

A child when he came with his parents to St. Joseph county, 
Allen Wescott received the rudiments of his education in the dis- 
trict school. After the death of his father he lived for a year 
with his grandparents, and then began earning his own living, 
working as farm hand, and receiving at first six dollars a month 
and his board, his wages being gradually increased from time to 
time. On August 7, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Twenty-fifth 
Michigan Volunteer Infantry, and served until the following 
January, when he was honorably discharged from the army. Re- 
turning to St, Joseph county, Mr. Wescott remained here until 
1868, when he went to Dakota county, Minnesota, and a short time 
later bought a tract of land near Farmington, and began his career 
as an independent farmer. Succeeding in his ventures, Mr. Wes- 
cott continued his operations there until 1886, when he rented his 
farm, and came back to his old home to spend a year. In 1887 he 
returned to Minnesota and having opened a confectionery and ice 
cream parlor in Farmington, where he built up a fine business, 
and this he conducted for about seven years. Disposing then of his 
business and his farm, he once more came to St. Joseph county, 
and has since lived retired from active pursuits in Three Rivers. 

Mr. Wescott has been twice married. He married first, 
August 18, 1858, Charlotte Amanda Graham, a daughter of James 
L. and Elizabeth (Paul) Graham, of whom a brief account may 
be found elsewhere in this volume, in connection with the sketch 
of Ezra C. Graham. She died January 21, 1891, in Farmington, 
Minnesota, leaving two children, namely: Alfred B. and Charles 
0. Mr. Wescott married second, September 14, 1893, Mrs. De- 
borah Ann (Rider) Francisco, a native of Syracuse, New York. 
Her father, William Rider, and her grandfather, Jacob Rider, 
were both bom in Albany, New York. Jacob Rider removed to 
Rochester, New York, where he owned and operated a line of 
boats on the Erie Canal for a number of years, continuing his res- 
idence in that city until his death. William Rider was born Oc- 
tober 21, 1803. He li>red near Syracuse for sometime, from there 
removing to Rochester, where he had charge for awhile of his 
father's boats, going then to the town of Greece, where he 
operated a saw mill a few years. Migrating with his family to St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, in 1838, he lived for a number of seasons 
in Lockport township, and then bought a farm in Sherman town- 
ship, and there spent the remainder of his days. He married 



744 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Rachel Wescott, who was born in New York state, a daughter of 
Samuel and Deborah (Brown) Wescott, and died in Three Rivers, 
Michigan, at the home of her daughter, with whom she lived after 
the death of her husband. Deborah Ann Rider married first, in 
1838, Daniel Francisco, a son of Cornelius Francisco. Mr. Fran- 
cisco lived in his native state until 1844, when he migrated to 
Michigan, locating in Lockport township, where he was engaged 
in agricultural pursuits for eight years, after which he resided at 
Three Rivers until his death. On September 14, 1893, as above 
stated, Mrs. Francisco married Mr. Wescott. By her marriage 
with Mr. Francisco, Mrs. Wescott had two children, namely : Wil- 
liam B., who married Josetta Knapp, and has two children, Grace 
and Frank L. ; and Frank E., who married Nellie Clapp. Mr. 
Wescott 's oldest son, Alfred B. Wescott, married Anna Hosmer, 
and they are the parents of three children, namely: Stella, wife 
of Otis Day, has two children ; George ; and Charles. The younger 
son, Charles 0. Wescott, married Hattie Needham. Fraternally 
Mr. Wescott is a member of Three Rivers Lodge, No. 62, A. F. & 
A. M., and of Ed. M. Ptutzman Post, No. 72, G. A. R. 

George W. Buck. — A venerable and highly respected citizen 
of Three Rivers, George W. Buck is a son of George Buck, an early 
pioneer of St. Joseph county, who dauntlessly pushed his way 
into an uncultivated country, and has left behind him a record for 
persistent industry, enterprise and usefulness of which his descend- 
ants may well be proud. Mr. Buck was bom, November 12, 1829, 
in Columbiana county, Ohio, coming from thrifty Scotch-Irish 
ancestry. 

A son of John Buck, George Buck spent his early life in Ohio. 
In July, 1830, accompanied by his wife and seven children, he came 
to the territory of Michigan, crossing the intervening country 
with an ox-team, and a horse, being several weeks on the trip, in 
the meantime camping and cooking by the wayside. Leaving his 
family at Mottville, St. Joseph county, he started in search of a 
favorable location. This entire section was then a wilderness, 
with only here and there an opening in which stood the cabin of 
the early settler. Deer, bears, wolves, and other wild animals 
were plentiful, wild turkeys being more abundant than the barn- 
yard fowl in those days. The land was owned by the government, 
and sold at the uniform price of $1.25 an acre. On the present site 
of Three Rivers there were just six log cabins. He selected a 
tract of timber containing six hundred and forty acres, a part of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 745 

which is now included within the corporate limits of the city of 
Three Rivers, and then went back for his family. On his return, 
he erected his little cabin at what is now the junction of Buck and 
Fourth streets, plastering it inside and out with clay, and build- 
ing a stick and clay chimney. He made the floor of puncheon split 
from bass wood logs, and the doors of the same material, while 
the shake-covered roof was held in place by poles. He immedi- 
ately began clearing his land and putting it under cultivation, in 
his work having only the most primitive implements, the share of 
his wooden plow having been covered with tin, while the drag had 
wooden teeth. He cleared much of his land, and for many years 
raised flax, and following his trade of a weaver, which he had 
learned when young, used to scutch, spin and weave the home- 
spun material from which his wife fashioned all the garments worn 
by the family. 

A few years after locating here, Mr. George Buck erected a 
two-story frame house, and opened it to travelers, it being the first 
public house in this locality. It was known as Buck's Hotel, and 
the place was called in his honor Bucktown. He built boats, and 
for several years operated a ferry. He served as first postmaster 
of the town, as first justice of the peace, and the first convention 
to nominate county officers was held at his hotel, being largely at- 
tended, Mrs. Buck, with the help of his hired man, serving dinners 
to seventy-six people. The Pottawatomie Indians at that time had 
a camp near Three Rivers. They were friendly with the whites, 
and gladly exchanged honey or wild game for potatoes or flour. 
When the hotel was completed they came there and had a dance 
in a large room, having no musical instruments, but chanting as 
they danced. 

Mr. George Buck married Martha Ira, who was born, it is 
thought, in Virginia, coming from Holland ancestry. He died in 
1856, aged sixty-six years, and she outlived him a number of years, 
passing away in the seventy-eighth year of her age. Of the thir- 
teen children born of their union, twelve grew to years of matur- 
ity, namely: Philip, Lewis, Rachel, Elizabeth, George W., Martha, 
Hannah, Mary, Susan, Robert, Thomas, and Charles. 

But seven months old when he came with his parents to Three 
Rivers, George W. Buck was here brought up. The old log school 
house in which he received his first lessons was furnished with 
slab seats having wooden pins for legs, with no desks in front. As 
a boy he began to assist in felling the giants of the forest, remain- 
ing at home until ready to establish a household of his own. His 



746 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

father then gave him two lots in the village, and in 1855 he erected 
a dwelling house there. In the meantime his father had organ- 
ized a company to develop the local water power, and Mr. Buck 
and his brother Lewis took the contract to build the race, which 
was to be three-fourths of a mile in length. Subsequently the two 
brothers built a sawmill, which they operated successfully a num- 
ber of years. Mr. Buck then invested in land, buying a farm 
southeast of Three Rivers, where he still continued his residence, 
at the same time looking after his land. On December 21, 1861, 
Mr. Buck enlisted in Company H, Thirteenth Michigan Volunteer 
Infantry, and served about ten months, when he was honorably 
discharged on account of physical disability. 

On June 21, 1854, Mr. Buck was united in marriage with Lucy 
J. Arnold, who was born in Constantine township, St. Joseph 
county, September 1, 1836, a daughter of William F. Arnold, Esq. 
Her grandfather, Caleb Arnold, for many years a farmer in New 
York state, came to St. Joseph county about 1830, purchased a 
tract of timbered land in Constantine township, and was there 
engaged in tilling the soil until his death. His wife, whose maiden 
name was Rachel Bennett, was born in New York state, and died 
in Constantine township, Michigan. William F. Arnold was born 
on the home farm, near Unadilla, in 1812, and as a young man ac- 
companied the family to Michigan. Moving from Constantine 
township to Three Rivers in 1854, he purchased land in Lockport 
township, and a part of the farm which he improved is now within 
the city limits. Soon after locating here, Mr. Arnold was elected 
supervisor, and served in that capacity, and was also justice of the 
peace several terms. He died at the advanced age of seventy- 
eight years. The maiden name of his wife was Rhoda Churchill. 
She was born in Ohio, a daughter of William Churchill, a pioneer 
settler of St. Joseph county. She died at the early age of thirty- 
seven years, leaving nine children. 

Mr. and Mrs. Buck are the parents of two children, namely : 
Effie M., and Gertrude. Effie married Henry Robinson, who died 
in 1906, leaving two children, John, who married Mamie 'Keef e ; 
and Lulu, wife of Lee Carpenter. Gertrude Buck married Roy 
Gleason, and they have one child, Harriet Gleason. Mr. Buck is 
a charter member of the Ed. M. Prutzman Post, No. 72, G. A. R. 

Mr. Buck's father, George Buck, was a soldier in the war in 
1812, and his grandfather was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 
Three brothers, Robert, Thomas, and Charles, besides Mr. Buck 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 747 

himself were soldiers in the Civil war, and all lived to return home 
and were never wounded. 

Charles S. Huff is a native born son of Mottville township, 
where on the 17th of December, 1848, he was born to the marriage 
union of A. W. and Elizabeth (Sixbey) Huff. Nicholas I. Sixbey, 
his maternal grandfather, was one of the first settlers of White 
Pigeon township, settling there among the Indians, and he spent 
the greater part of the remainder of his life there. He was a mem- 
ber of the Dutch Reformed church at Constantine. A. W. Huff 
was born at Montgomery county, New York, February 24, 1816, a 
son of a wealthy farmer and land owner in the Mohawk Valley, 
the latter owning an estate of four hundred acres there. A. W. 
Huff came to Three Rivers, Michigan, when a young man, and 
being a cooper by trade he found ready employment there, but 
subsequently he moved to the farm of two hundred acres in White 
Pigeon township, now the property of L. S. Huff, and lived there 
until his death. He was the father of seven children : Charles S., 
Edward, Ida 0., L. S., Anna, Henrietta and Meda. 

Charles S. Huff was reared on his father's farm in White 
Pigeon township, attending in the meantime the district and other 
schools, and he assisted with the work of that homestead until his 
marriage. He now owns one hundred and twenty acres of land, 
a part in Mottville township and the remainder in Constantine 
township, and he is both a farmer and stock raiser, raising both a 
high grade of cattle and horses. His marriage in 1875 was to Miss 
Martha Caskey, bom in Mottville township in 1849, and a daugh- 
ter, Grace, was born to them on the 22d of October, 1876. She 
attended the public schools and the State Normal at Ypsilanti, and 
following her graduation at that institution taught in both the 
country and graded schools. She married on the 10th of March, 
1909, and is living on a large farm in Canada. Mr. Huff is a mem- 
ber of the Democratic party, of the Grange and of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at White Pigeon. He is well known in the com- 
munity in which he has so long resided and is one of Mottville 's 
representative citizens and business men. 

Henry Bonebright. — The name of Henry Bonebright is en- 
rolled on the pages of the history of St. Joseph county as the first 
white child bom within its borders, and he has always lived here 
and been prominently identified with its agricultural interests. 
Jacob Bonebright, his father, was born in Pennsylvania, and mov- 



748 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

ing from there to Stark county, Ohio, he was married to Barbara 
Myers, also from Pennsylvania. "Together they came to Constan- 
tine, Michigan, arriving on the 20th of May, 1829, and Jacob Bone- 
bright entered one hundred and sixty acres of land in section 22, 
and later entered another tract of forty acres. He lived there 
until 1835, settling then at the present home of his son Henry, and 
the latter has known no other home. Jacob Bonebright built the 
second house in Constantine, a log cabin with a puncheon floor. 
The first house had been built by Judge Meek, who laid out the town 
and it was first called Meek's Mills. Mr. Bonebright died on the 
3d of February, 1857, and his wife survived until the year of 1880. 
They were the parents of nine children, namely : John and Joseph, 
both deceased ; Delilah, born July 16, 1828, is the widow of James 
H. Voorhees and the mother of two children ; Mary J. is the wife 
of Oliver Harker, of Denver, Colorado; Samuel and Jacob were 
twins, and both are deceased ; Henry was the next born ; Catherine 
was born July 3, 1832; and Rebecca was born November 24, 1834, 
and is deceased. The children all received good common school 
educations. 

Henry Bonebright, born on the 3d of February, 1830, owns 
the old Bonebright homestead of one hundred and sixty acres, and 
he resides there with his two sisters, Delilah and Catherine. He 
is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and he has served in the 
office of path master. He is highly esteemed in the community 
where he has so long resided, and he bears a name which is honored 
in the pioneer history of St. Joseph county. 

William H. Wilson, who is established in the successful prac- 
tice of his profession in the city of Three Rivers, merits recognition 
in this volume as one of the representative members of the bar of St. 
Joseph county. He is a native son of the Wolverine state, where he 
has ever maintained his home and where he has won prestige in one 
of the most exacting of professions, — a fact that implies thorough 
knowledge of the science of jurisprudence and the power of apply- 
ing its principles and precedents in the practical work of the advo- 
cate and counselor. 

William H. Wilson was bom in Marlette township, Sanilac 
county, Michigan, on the 12th of March, 1874, and is a son of George 
and Eliza (Rudd) Wilson, both of whom were born in Ireland, but 
both of whom were children at the time of the immigration of the 
respective families from the fair Emerald Isle to America. The 
Wilson family came in the year 1859 and first located in the prov- 



MISSING PAGE 



MISSING PAGE 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 751 

ince of Ontaria, Canada; the Rudd family came in the preceding 
year, establishing a home in the state of New York, but they shortly 
afterward came to Michigan, where the mother of the subject of this 
review was reared to maturity and where was solemnized her mar- 
riage to George Wilson. Of this union were bom five sons and 
three daughters, all of whom grew to maturity and of whom Wil- 
liam H. was the third in order of birth. All are now living. The 
parents are residents of Marlette township, where the father is a 
farmer. 

William H. Wilson was reared to maturity in his native county 
and there received his early educational discipline, which included 
a course in the high school at Marlette, Michigan, and in this school 
he was graduated as a member of the class of 1892. That he made 
good use of the opportunities thus afforded him is evident when we 
revert to the fact that upon leaving the high school he proved him- 
self eligible for pedagogic honors, and for a period of seven years 
he was a successful and popular teacher in the public schools of his 
native state. He then, in 1899, with the financial reinforcement 
gained through his efforts as a teacher, was matriculated in the 
law department of the celebrated University of Michigan, in which 
he completed the prescribed technical course and was graduated as 
a member of the class of 1902, with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. 
He was forthwith admitted to the bar of his native state and he 
initiated the practice of his chosen profession by locating at Bald- 
win, the judicial center of Lake county, Michigan, where he soon 
justified his choice of vocation and proved himself an able trial 
lawyer and well fortified counselor. He became one of the promi- 
nent young representatives of the bar of the northern part of the 
state, served for six years as prosecuting attorney of Lake county, 
and continued his residence at Baldwin until 1908, in the fall of 
which year he came to Three Rivers, where he has found a wider 
and more attractive field for his professional labors, which have 
here been likewise attended with unequivocal success, as he is rap- 
idly building up a substantial business and has gained a represen- 
tative clientage. He has admirably proved his powers in connec- 
tion with important litigations since coming to Three Rivers, and 
his abilty and his close observance of the unwrtten ethical code of 
his profession have gained him the high esteem of his confreres as 
well as that of the general public. In politics Mr. Wilson has ever 
accorded an unwavering allegiance to the Republican party, in 
whose cause he has given effective service in various campaigns as 
well as in its local councils. He is affiliated with the Masonic fra- 



752 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

ternity, and both he and his wife are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

On the 6th of August, 1904, Mr. Wilson was united in marriage 
to Mrs. Rachel (Vernon) McLean, who was bom and reared in 
Canada, and who is a daughter of William Vernon, who is engaged 
in agriculture at Samia, Canada. Attorney Wilson has one of the 
full and complete law libraries of Three Rivers, Michigan, and is 
a great reader. 

Seymour H. Hogle, cashier of the Burr Oak State Bank, was 
born at Dale, New York, January 19, 1845. He is a son of Hugh 
R. and Minerva (Fuller) Hogle, natives of the state of New York. 
Hugh Hogle was born in 1810, and died in Pekin, Illinois, in 1853 ; 
his wife was born in 1826 and died in 1891, in Grand Rapids, Mich- 
igan. When nine years of age Mr. Hogle came with his mother 
and stepfather, David Green, of New York, to Auburn, Indiana, 
where they spent a year and then went to Wisconsin, where they 
spent another year, and in 1856 came to Coldwater, Michigan. 
Mr. Green died in Coldwater and his widow removed to Grand 
Rapids to live with a son. To Hugh R. Hogle and his wife were 
born children as follows : Seymour H. ; and Alma, born in New 
York, in 1850, died in Denver, Colorado. The latter was the wife 
of Henry Kale, formerly of Branch county, Michigan, who re- 
moved to Denver ; he was a farmer, and they had two sons. Mr. 
Green and his wife had two children, William H. and Elmer E. 
William H. Green, born about 1857-8, lives in Chicago, where he 
is employed as foreman in a shop; he is married and has one 
daughter. Elmer E. Green, born in 1862, lives in Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, is married and has a daughter. 

Seymour H. Hogle began working on a farm by the month 
when twelve years of age, going to school in the winters, until he 
was seventeen years old, and then he enlisted in Battery C, First 
Michigan Light Artillery; he was with Sherman's Army all the 
time. He took part in the Atlanta campaign in the march to the 
sea, up through the Carolinas, and took part in twenty-tw^o im- 
portant engagements, the battle of Atlanta being one of them. Mr. 
Hogle served under Captain William W. Hyzer, and was mustered 
out in June, 1865, at Detroit. During the entire war he was 
wounded only slightly. 

In 1866 Mr. Hogle returned to Branch county, Michigan, and 
married Belle, daughter of Jacob Lilly, of Noble township, Branch 
county; she was born in 1849 and died in Burr Oak in 1897. Her 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 753 

parents, who were farmers, are now deceased. After his marriage 
Mr. Hogle removed to Burr Oak and worked four years as clerk 
in a general store; he then went into partnership with Ed Smith 
in the line of dry goods and groceries, the firm doing business 
about a year and a half. He was with D. F. Parsons seven or eight 
years and then purchased the business of Mr. Parsons, carrying it 
on until 1898. He sold out his mercantile interests and took care 
of a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, which he continued until 
taking his present position in the bank. 

Mr. Hogle enlisted while attending school at Coldwater, Mich- 
igan; he holds a scholarship in Bryant & Stratton's Commercial 
College, from which he graduated in 1866, immediately after he 
was mustered out. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Re- 
public, being the first Post Commander in St. Joseph county, The 
Post, B. G. Bennett Post, has lost nearly all the older members. 
Mr. Hogle is affiliated with the Masonic Order^ and is a Knight 
Templar ; he held the office of Worthy Master of Eagle Lodge No. 
124, and has held an office ever since becoming a member. He 
belongs to the Presbyterian church of Burr Oak, in which he is an 
elder, and he was elected a delegate to the National Assembly at 
Philadelphia, in 1901. He is a prominent and influential citizen, 
and well known in the community, where he has won universal 
respect and esteem. 

Mr. Hogle and his wife had children as follows : Clifford, born 
in 1871, died November 1, 1909 ; he lived in Cheyenne, Wyoming, 
married Cora Fuller, of Bronson, and they had one daughter; 
Fayette, born in 1880, of Roodhouse, Illinois, married Lucy Doran, 
of Chicago, and has no children ; Marjorie, born in 1890, unmarried, 
lives at home. Marjorie graduated from Burr Oak High School 
and for the past year has been in college in Ontario, Canada ; she 
is specializing in music and domestic art. 

Mr. Hogle married (second) in 1898, Mary Bennett, of Sturgis, 
Michigan ; she is a daughter of Atwell Bennett, who lived at Law- 
ton, Michigan. They have no children. 

George S. Sheffield, a leading manufacturer and business 
man of Burr Oak, was born September 8, 1831, in Geneva, New 
York; he is a son of James G. and Lydia Ann (Edwards) Shef- 
field, the father a native of New York and the mother of Rhode 
Island. James G. Sheffield was born in 1811 and died in 1905 ; his 
first wife was born in 1813 and died in 1875. He married (second) 
Ann Shummell, of Nottawa, who died in 1901. The family came 



754 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

to Branch county in 1856, and lived with a brother in St. Joseph 
county some time, where Mrs. Sheffield died. By his first wife 
James G. Sheffield had children as follows : George S. ; Liza Jane, 
wife of James Henry Mathieson, moved to Kankakee, Illinois, and 
had three children, both parents now dead; William H., married 
Miss Hammontree, and has no children; James U., married and 
living on a farm in Colon township ; Mary, wife of James McKay, 
of Grand Rapids ; and Josephine, wife of J. K. Finehart, of Detroit, 
who died, leaving two children. James G. Sheffield was a Demo- 
crat and a member of the Baptist church. He purchased a farm 
in Branch county, and was a member of Bronson Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons. 

When twenty-one years of age George S. Sheffield began work- 
ing as a carpenter, and about 1858 began as cabinet-maker at 
Centerville. August 24, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, Eleventh 
Michigan Infantry, under Captain David Oakes. He went to 
White Pigeon, to Louisville, Kentucky, and then into camp at 
Bardstown, Kentucky, for the winter of 1861-2. He went to 
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, by boat to Louisville and Nashville, and 
the first battle in which he participated was Murfreesborough. 
Mr. Sheffield took part in fourteen important battles, went across 
the Tennessee River to Lookout Mountain, and to Stevens Gap, 
participated in a hard battle at Davis Cross Roads, also Chick- 
amauga. Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge, Kenesaw Mountain, 
Rough Station, and wound up with the capture of Atlanta. This 
division of the regiment was under fire ninety days, and was 
mustered out September 29, 1864, at Sturgis, Michigan. Mr. 
Sheffield received no wound, but keeps as a dear possession a to- 
bacco box which saved his life from a bullet that cut across his 
shoulder. 

Upon returning from the war, Mr. Sheffield spent seven years 
on a farm and then built a house on the place. In February, 1871, 
he located in Three Rivers, and began working at pump manu- 
facturing for Willis & Hagen, and in 1878 he secured a patent on 
a three-wheeled hand-car; he formed a co-partnership for the 
manufacture of this car and sold a half interest for a half -interest 
in a pump factory. Four years later he sold out, and the firm is 
now Willis & Lindsey. Mr. Sheffield then located in Bronson and 
began perfecting a hand cornplanter, on which he took out a patent 
in 1891. It is called the Sheffield corn planter, and is used in all 
parts of the world. Mr. Sheffield came to Burr Oak and formed a 
partnership with A. C. Himebaugh for the manufacture of the 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 755 

planter ; afterwards he erected a fine white brick plant near the rail- 
road, and the goods are shipped from here to South America, Af- 
rica, New Zealand, Australia, and all civilized parts of the world. 
Mr. Sheflfteld is still engaged in manufacturing the corn planter, 
and has been very successful in the venture. 

Besides his manufacturing interests Mr. Sheffield and Mr. 
Himebaugh organized the First National Bank, of Burr Oak, of 
which Mr. Himebaugh is president and Mr. Sheffield holds a half- 
interest. Mr. Sheffield owns the fine new bank building where the 
business of the bank is carried on. Mr. Sheffield is an organizer 
and a large stockholder in the South Michigan Telephone Com- 
pany. He is a man of good business judgment, and pays close at- 
tention to his financial interests. He has contributed a large share 
towards the growth and development of Burr Oak, and is one of 
the leading citizens. 

Mr. Sheffield is a member of Hackett Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic, of Bronson. He is a Democrat in politics, but is too 
much occupied with his business affairs to care to hold public 
office. Mr. Sheffield married Mary, daughter of Alanson and Ann 
Haynes of Ontario, Wayne county, New York. They came to 
St. Joseph county and located in Centerville, afterwards removing 
to Indiana. Mr. Sheffield was married in 1852. He has no 
children. 

Willis A. Carpenter was bom in Carlton Center, Barry- 
county, Michigan, August 16, 1876, and is a son of Augustus and 
Marietta (Conkright) Carpenter, both natives of New York. 
Augustus Carpenter was bom in 1836, and died in Barry county, 
Michigan, in 1882 ; his father was a native of Germany. Marietta 
Conkright was bom in Ohio, July 29, 1839 ; her father was a native 
of New York, and her grandfather, a Revolutionary soldier, was 
born in Holland. She was married to Augustus Carpenter in Barry 
county, Michigan, in 1869, and they had children as follows: 
Charles H., bom September 23, 1872 ; Frances L., bom March 29, 
1874, and Willis A. Charles H. is an employe of a railroad and 
lives at Gladstone, Michigan. Frances L. is the wife of Rev. G. G. 
Wilson, a pastor of the Church of Christ, of Cadillac, Michigan ; 
they have two daughters, Bessie and Bertha. Mr. Carpenter was 
a Republican, and held almost every township office. He and his 
wife were both members of the Methodist church of Carlton Center. 
For her second husband Mrs. Carpenter married James DuBois, 
and now lives at Grand Ledge, Michigan, on a farm. Mrs. DuBois 



756 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

is a woman of considerable literary talent, and has always written 
for publication since her youth. She is a contributor to the Mich- 
igan ChrisUmi Advocate, and has recently written a series of 
articles for a San Francisco paper, entitled ** Amusement for the 
Young," and '^The Home.'' She is a woman of culture and refine- 
ment, and widely known and esteemed. 

Willis A. Carpenter has been a printer since boyhood, and 
began working on his own account at the age of thirteen years. He 
spent five years working at the Battle Creek Sanitarium, and has 
worked in various positions since, at the same time, however, carry- 
ing on his printing business until 1900. At the age of nine years he 
edited and printed, on his own press, the ^^ Carlton Kicker." Au- 
gust 16, 1900, Mr. Carpenter married Lulu, daughter of James and 
Anna Clark, of Ionia. Her father was a railroad conductor and 
died some years ago; her mother lives at Fruitport, Michigan. 
Mrs. Carpenter was born January 6, 1883. 

Mr. Carpenter and his wife have two children, Helen Aline, 
born June 21, 1903, and Maxine Adell, bom January 15, 1907. 

In the fall of 1905 Mr. Carpenter and his wife purchased a 
one-half interest in the Bwrr Oak Acorn, going into partnership 
with L. H. Mallory. The paper is widely circulated, and the in- 
vestment proved successful Mr. Carpenter is a man of literary 
ability and conducted the paper in a manner that assured him a 
large number of subseribers. He sold his interest to L. H. Mal- 
lory and purchased the MiCndon Leader^ which he intends to make 
the best paper in St. Joseph county and will boost Mendon until 
it is the most talked of town in the county. Mr. Carpenter is a 
Kepublican and a member of the Modem Woodmen of America; 
he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Lucius F. Fillmore.— Possibly there is not a family in St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, which has the prestige, genealogically 
and historically, of the Fillmores. Mr. Fillmore is a relative of 
President Millard Fillmore, his own father being a nephew of the 
president. It is true, in the words of Emerson, that the true his- 
tory and progress of a nation is recounted in the history of the peo- 
ple. The Fillmores of St. Joseph county are so well known as pio- 
neer agriculturists that they need no introduction to the people of 
the county. 

Lucius F. Fillmore is a scion of one of the families that have 
long been founded in America. The first progenitor was Capt. 
John Fillmore— but the name, which is of English origin, was 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 757 

variously spelled, as ''Filmer/' ''Filmore/' ' ^ Fillamore/ ' ^'Phill- 
more/' and Fillmore, and the rising generation have adopted the 
present spelling. The original English name is traced to Robert 
Filmore, living in time of Edward II. A descendant, in time of 
Queen Elizabeth, had a coat of arms conferred upon him, this coat 
of arms being— sable, three bars, three cinquefoils in chief — the 
date of conferring being 1570. 

The first of the name found in the United States was John 
Fillmore or Phillmore, mariner of Ipswich, Massachusetts, who pur- 
chased an estate at Beverly, Massachusetts, on November 24, 1704, 
and this Fillmore was the common ancestor of all the Fillmores of 
America. The Fillmores of this sketch trace their lineage back to 
the Revolutionary war, since President Millard Fillmore's grand- 
father was a soldier in the battle of Bennington, where General 
Stark made the memorable expression that **We will whip the 
Britishers or Molly Stark will be a widow tonight." This makes 
the Fillmores eligible to membership in the Sons and Daughters 
of the Revolution. 

Mr. Fillmore of this sketch has one of the most costly bibles 
in the county, which was the property of President Fillmore, and 
on the clasp of the bible is inscribed, Millard Fillmore, Buffalo, N. 
Y., 1846. This is a valuable relic and besides this bible Mr. Fill- 
more has a gold headed cane with his name and the date, 1852, 
and a thorn cane, cut on the Tippecanoe Battle Ground, and pre- 
sented by the Whigs of Indiana in 1841. And it was given to his 
father, Nathaniel Fillmore, and passed on down to the present de- 
scendant of the Fillmore family. They also have a gold-plated 
clock under a glass cover, which was the property of President 
Fillmore, and Lucius Fillmore also has two steel plates of the 
president. There is no family possibly in St. Joseph county who 
can furnish such historical data as the Fillmores. Lucius Fill- 
more is a native of La Grange county, Indiana, and was born Jan- 
uary 28, 1852. He is the oldest of three children, two sons and 
one daughter born to Benjamin F. and Mary (Baker) Fillmore 
and all are still living. They are as follows : Lucius F. ; Leonard 
M., who is one of the prosperous agriculturists and stockmen of the 
county; he was reared to manhood in La Grange and politically 
is a Democrat ; Ella V., wife of B. F. Crandall, a farmer, residing 
in La Grange township, and they have two daughters, Benjamin 
F. Fillmore, the father of this family, was born in Erie, New 
York, December 29, 1825. He was but a small boy when his par- 
ents located in Northern Ohio near Fremont in 1830, in the 



758 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Black Swamp, and there they lived until 1837, when they 
located in La Grange county, Indiana, when the country was almost 
an unbroken wilderness. They rented for awhile and then pur- 
chased a farm, the father adding to his possessions time and again 
till he owned over four hundred acres in that county. Benjamin 
F. Fillmore grew to manhood in his adopted county and there was 
educated in the pioneer schools. He became an agriculturist and 
also a thresher. He was a successful man in his business and re- 
sided in Indiana till 1891, when he sold his estate and came to Not- 
tawa township, Michigan, and resided with his son till his death, 
which occurred January 12, 1895. He was a Mason of high rank, 
being a member of the lodge and chapter and he was always a true 
Mason and was interred by Masonic rites. He was first a Whig, 
but later became a Jackson Democrat. 

Both he and his wife are interred in Brighton, Indiana, and 
beautiful stones have been erected to their memory. Mother Fill- 
more was a native of New Hampshire and she was bom in Camp- 
ton, New Hampshire, March 19, 1826. She died June 17, 1883. 
She was twelve years of age when she came with her parents to 
New York and was reared there till her marriage. 

Lucius F. Fillmore of this sketch was reared in his native 
state of Indiana till manhood. He has been an active man as an 
agriculturist, teacher and has been a solicitor. His education was 
received in the common schools and also at the high school at 
Orland, Indiana. He became one of the successful teachers in 
Branch county, Michigan, and then taught six terms in La Grange 
and Steuben county, Indiana. Mr. Fillmore has been twice mar- 
ried, first to Miss Nettie Paxson, in Springfield township, December 
25, 1877, and one daughter was bom, May, now the wife of Chester 
Bucknell, a resident of Nottawa township, where he is a prosperous 
farmer; they have two children, Arthur F. and Pearl. Mrs. Buck- 
ner was educated in the common schools. Her mother died March 
11, 1887. For his second wife Mr. Fillmore chose Miss Charlotte 
C. Crandall, to whom he was married January 31, 1890, at La 
Grange county, Indiana, and four children, two sons and two 
daughters, have been bom to them: Yiva A., who received her 
diploma from the common schools in 1908, and at the present time 
is a student in the Centerville high school ; Verne Z. is in the sev- 
enth grade in the public schools; Marian B. is in the second grade, 
and Clara L. is also in school. 

Mrs. Fillmore is a native of Constantia, New York, and was 
bom March 2, 1869, being a daughter of Andrew and Sophia 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 759 

(Hoyt) Crandall. There were three children, two sons and one 
daughter in her parents' family: Charles Crandall, a resident of 
near Coldwater, Michigan ; Adelbert D., a resident of Orland, Indi- 
ana, and Mrs. Fillmore. The father, Andrew Crandall, was 
a native of New York bom in 1840. He was reared as an agricul- 
turist and educated in the? common schools. He came to Indiana 
when Mrs. Fillmore was but an infant, and Angola was but a 
wilderness. He was a soldier in the Civil war, having enlisted in 
Company F. 189th New York Volunteer Infantry, September 
5, 1864, at Oswego, New York, and was in many battles, including 
Hatcher's Bun, Nelson's Farm, Boylston, Plank Eoad, 
Gravelly Run and Five Forks. His regiment was under the com- 
mand of General Grant, and in the Army of the Potomac. Mr. 
Crandall was honorably discharged May 30, 1865. In 1901 he came 
to Michigan and purchased land in Nottawa village. He is a 
Republican. Mrs. Crandall was a native of New York and was 
bom April 25, 1843, and she died November 8, 1907. She was 
bom in Hastings, Oswego county. New York. She was a devout 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church and was converted 
when she was sixteen years of age. Mrs. Fillmore was educated in 
Orland, Indiana. 

It was on ''Thanksgiving Day," 1891, when Mr. Fillmore 
came to Michigan and took possession of his present estate. He 
has a beautiful estate of ninety-four acres of good land in Nottawa 
township and this pretty place is known as ' ' Ingleside. " In poli- 
tics he is a Democrat, but in local affairs he casts his vote for the 
man, not the party. He has acted on the board of directors of 
public charities for several years, and he has also been on the 
board of review. Fraternally Mr. Fillmore is a member of Mt. 
Hermon Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 24, and he and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Eastern Star. No. 225, at Centerville, Michigan. He 
is sentinel and Mrs. Fillmore is Ruth of the Eastern Star and has 
held the office for three years. The county organization of the 
Eastern Star was held at Centerville, May 11, 1910. 

George T. Wolf. — There is every reason for St. Joseph county 
to be proud of those of her native sons who are lending their in- 
fluence and co-operation in forwarding her industrial, commercial 
and civic advancement, and one of this number is George T. Wolf, 
who is cashier of the First State Savings Bank of Three Rivers and 
who is a scion of one of the oldest and most honored pioneer 
families now represented in the county. On other pages of this 

Vol. 11—16 



760 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

work appears a brief review of the life history of his father, Amos 
C. Wolf, one of the county 's most venerable and honored pioneers, 
and to that article reference may be made for further data con- 
cerning the family record. 

George T. Wolf was born on the old homestead farm, in sec- 
tion 27, Lockport township, this county, on the 8th of September, 
1854, and the place of his nativity was the property secured from 
the government by his paternal grandfather more than seventy- 
five years ago. To the public schools of his native township Mr. 
Wolf is indebted for his early educational discipline, which was 
effectively supplemented by a course in the Parson's Business 
College at Kalamazoo, Michigan. He learned the lessons of in- 
dustry in connection with the work of the home farm, and he has 
ever maintained a deep appreciation of earnest and honorable toil, 
no matter in what field. In 1878 he became deputy county treas- 
urer, under the regime of his father, and he continued incumbent 
of this position for two years. In 1881 he became associated with 
his father in the organization of the A. C. Wolf and Brothers' 
Bank, at Centerville, the judicial center of St. Joseph county, and 
he served as cashier of the institution from its inception until 1888 
when he came to Three Rivers, Michigan, as assistant cashier of 
the First National Bank and remained as such until 1891 when he 
became associated with his father and others in the organization 
and incorporation of the First State Savings Bank of Three Rivers, 
of which he has since served as cashier and of which his father has 
been president from the beginning. The bank is incorporated with 
a capital stock of $60,000 and is one of the substantial and ably 
managed financial institutions of the county. It receives a repre- 
sentati\^e support and it^ business is handled along duly conserv- 
ative lines. 

Mr. Wolf has at all times shown a public-spirited interest in 
all that has touched the welfare of his native county, and as a 
citizen he is essentially liberal and progressive. He accords an 
unwavering allegiance to the cause of the Republican party; is 
affiliated with the Masonic fraternity. His wife is enrolled as 
member of the Presbyterian church in Three Rivers, where Mr. 
Wolf is recognized as a representative business man and where he 
has a secure place in popular confidence and regard. 

On the 29th of November, 1882, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Wolf to Miss Amanda McKinley, who was born and reared 
in St. Joseph county and who is a daughter of Robert McKinley, 
a representative citizen of that place at that time. Mr. and Mrs. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 763 

Wolf have one son, George M., who was born on the 24th of Sep- 
tember, 1886, and who is now assistant cashier of the First State 
Savings Bank of Three Rivers. He is one of the representative 
young business men of the city and is popular in the social circles 
of the community. 

Walter J. Hoshal. — In the matter of definite accomplishment 
and high personal integrity St. Joseph county has every reason to 
be proud of those of her native sons who are lending their influ- 
ence and co-operation in the forwarding of her industrial, commer- 
cial and civic enterprises. Among such progressive and highly 
esteemed representatives of the industrial interests of the county 
is numbered Walter J. Hoshal, who has shown marked initiative 
and administrative ability in the various lines of activity to which 
he has directed his attention and who is now general manager of 
the Beard Skirt Company, whose manufactory and general business 
headquarters are established in the attractive little city of Burr 
Oak, where he maintains his home and where he is a valued factor 
not only in business circles but also in social, public and church 
work. He has secure vantage ground in the confidence and regard 
of the people of his native county and is well entitled to represen- 
tation in this publication. 

Walter J. Hoshal was bom in White Pigeon township, St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, on the 13th of December, 1879, this 
coimty having also been the birthplace of his mother, though the 
family home was in Newago county at the time of the birth of him 
whose name initiates this review. Mr. Hoshal is the second in 
order of birth of the three children of Walter J. and Rosella (Rob- 
inson) Hoshal. Of the children Walter J. is the elder of the two 
surviving, and his brother, William F., is now foreman in one of 
the departments of the Sheffield Car Works, in Three Rivers, this 
county. William F. is a Republican in his political proclivities, is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, and he and his wife have 
two children. Walter J. Hoshal, Sr., was bom near the city of 
Toronto, Canada, on the 16th of November, 1852, and his death 
occurred, in Newago county, Michigan, on the 25th of January, 
1885. He was reared and educated in the province of Ontario and 
during the greater part of his active career he was identified with 
the lumbering industry, in which connection he passed many years 
in the forests of Michigan. He was loyal to old England so long 
as he remained a resident of the Dominion of Canada, but after 
coming to the United States he manifested equal loyalty to the 



764 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

institutions and interests of the great American Republic, in which 
he became a naturalized citizen. 

In the year 1873 Walter J. Hoshal, Sr., removed from Onta- 
rio, Canada, to Newago county, Michigan, where he remained until 
1875, when he came to St. Joseph county and located near White 
Pigeon, where he found employment in connection with farming 
operations. Here it was that he formed the acquaintance of Miss 
Rosella Robinson, a representative of one of the honored pioneer 
families of Pigeon prairie, this county, and here their marriage 
was solemnized on the 9th of August, 1876. Mr. Hoshal remained 
in that locality about one year after his marriage and then returned 
to Newago county, where he established his permanent home and 
where he continued to be identified with lumbering enterprises 
until his death. He was distinctively successful in his independent 
business activities, was a man of sterling character and strong men- 
tality, and he ever held the high regard of those with whom he 
came in contact in the various relations of life. He was a stanch 
supporter of the cause of the Republican party and was loyal to 
all civic duties. He was affiliated with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and under its auspices his funeral was held. One of 
his ancestors, loyal to the British crown, served as a soldier in the 
war of the Revolution. Mrs. Rosella (Robinson) Hoshal was born 
in St. Joseph county, on the 5th of April, 1857, and is a daughter 
of Peter Robinson, who was numbered among the sterling pioneers 
of this county, where he reclaimed a farm and where he continued 
to reside until his death. Mrs. Hoshal married J. E. Weeks in 1890 
and now resides in the city of Three Rivers. She is a zealous mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Walter J. Hoshal, the immediate subject of this review, has 
had a varied experience in the battle of life, and the brief data of 
this sketch adequately indicate that he has been the artificer of his 
own fortunes. His course has been characterized by industry, am- 
bition and inflexible integrity of purpose, and he has won his own 
way to a position of definite success, the while he has not been de- 
nied the fullest measure of popular confidence and esteem. 

The boyhood and youth of Mr. Hoshal were passed in four dif- 
ferent states— Michigan, South Dakota, Iowa, and Washington. 
His rudimentary education was secured in Newago county, Michi- 
gan, after which he passed two years in Brown county, South Da- 
kota; one year in the state of Washington; and eight years in 
Iowa. Through his own efforts principally he secured an excellent 
practical education, thus admirably fitting himself for the business 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 765 

responsibilities which he later assumed. He was graduated in the 
Washington township high school, in Greene county, Iowa, and he 
recalls with appreciation that the first wages he received was twen- 
ty-five cents a day for pulling weeds, which dignified occupation 
enlisted his attention when he was a lad of twelve years. The dis- 
tinctive elements that have characterized his career and that have 
led to definite success have been perseverance and honesty of pur- 
pose. After his graduation in the high school Mr. Hoshal put his 
scholastic acquirements to practical test and utilization by engaging 
as a teacher in the country schools of Greene county, Iowa, where 
he successfully followed the pedagogic profession for a period of 
four years. 

After remaining in the Hawkeye state for eight years he re- 
turned to Michigan and assumed the position of general manager 
of the sale of the *^ Reference Library'' in this state. In this field 
of endeavor he made a most excellent record and developed marked 
executive ability. He devoted his attention to this line of educa- 
tional work for six years, within which he placed the valuable ref- 
erence library in countless schools, libraries and private homes. 
He continued in this line of effort until the autumn of 1909, when 
he resigned his position to accept that of general manager of the 
Beard Skirt Company, of Burr Oak. This company was incor- 
porated under the laws of the state in October, 1909, with a capital 
stock of $3,500, and its executive corps is as here noted: Clinton A. 
Boyer, president; Robert B. Ferris, vice president; Ansell R. Fer- 
ris, secretary and treasurer ; and Walter J. Hoshal, general mana- 
ger. The company has established a well equipped plant in Burr 
Oak and its products are sold through agents in all sections of the 
Union. The concern has thus proved a valuable acquisition to the 
industrial and commercial enterprises of St. Joseph county. 
Through his previous experience in the securing and directing the 
work of agents Mr. Hoshal is specially well qualified for his pres- 
ent administrative office, and it is largely due to his efficient super- 
vision of its affairs that the company's business is so rapidly ex- 
panding in scope and importance. 

In politics Mr. Hoshal is aligned as a stanch supporter of the 
principles and policies for which the Republican party stands spon- 
sor, and he cast his first presidential vote for the late and lamented 
President McKinley. The high esteem in which he is held in his 
home city is shown in the fact that in 1909 he was elected mayor 
of Burr Oak. As chief executive of the municipal government he 
gave a most able and progressive administration, and he retired 



766 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

from office in March, 1910. Mr. Hoshal is affiliated with Burr Oak 
Lodge, No. 123, Free & Accepted Masons, and with the Sturgis 
chapter of Royal Arch Masons, besides which he holds membership 
in the Burr Oak Camp of the Modem Woodmen of America. He 
is president of the Burr Oak Public Library Association, and it is 
largely due to his earnest efforts that this organization has been 
brought to its present prosperous condition, involving the collect- 
ing and maintaining of an excellent public library. Both Mr. 
Hoshal and his wife are zealous and valued members of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church in their home village, and he is a member 
of its board of trustees, as well as superintendent of its Sunday 
school. He is active in all departments of the church work and is 
at the present time president of the Niles District Epworth League, 
a position of which he has been incumbent since August, 1908. He 
has also shown deep interest in the work of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association and is a member of its executive committee for St. 
Joseph county. He does all in his power to further educational, 
moral and social advancement and has ever shown a high sense of 
his stewardship, thus striving to aid and uplift his fellow men and 
to prove worthy as one of the world's sterling army of productive 
workers. The following estimate, given by one familiar with the 
career of Mr. Hoshal, is worthy of reproduction in this article: 
* ' Mr. Hoshal is one of the alert young business men of St. Joseph 
county, and both he and his wife have the unqualified esteem of all 
who know them. Their attractive home, at the corner of Fourth 
and Eagle streets, in Burr Oak, is known for its gracious hospi- 
tality, and among its attractions is a fine library of more than five 
hundred volumes of choice literature. Mr. Hoshal is a close student 
at all times when his business cares are laid aside, and thus he does 
not permit himself to retrograde along intellectual lines, striving 
to keep in touch with the march of progress in this line as well as 
in that of practical business." 

On the 29th of November, 1905, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Hoshal to Miss Janie Lancaster, and they have two fine lit- 
tle sons — ^Walter J., Jr., and LaVeme. Mrs. Hoshal, a young 
woman of much charm of personality, was bom in Burr Oak, on 
the 23d of May, 1884, and is a daughter of Benjamin and Martha 
(Ferris) Lancaster, who still reside in this place. Mrs. Hoshal 
was reared and educated in Burr Oak, and after her graduation in 
the high school she was a successful and popular teacher in her 
native county, besides which she held for some time the position of 
deputy postmaster of Burr Oak, She is active in the work of the 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 767 

Methodist Episcopal church, is a valued member of the Women's 
Club, a social and literary organization, and is a popular factor in 
the best social activities of the community. 

David W. Embley. — One of Mendon's most highly esteemed 
and prominent citizens and one whose interests have long been 
identified with those of the community in which he now makes his 
home is David W. Embley. He owns one hundred and twenty 
acres of fine land and also a desirable home in the village. He 
and his wife have always led quiet lives, but their influence has 
been none the less potent, and has always been exerted in the right 
direction. Mr. Embley was bom May 25, 1839, his parents being 
William and Margaret (Hill) Embley. The father was a native of 
New Jersey, where he was bom in 1810, being either of English or 
of Scotch descent. The mother was born in New York in 1812, her 
father having come to America from Ireland at the age of sixteen. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Embley came to Michigan with their parents 
when quite young, and after their marriage bought a farm of eighty 
acres, which they operated for a number of years, finally selling 
it and retiring. They were good church members, the mother be- 
ing a communicant of the Covenant church in New York, and the 
father belonging to the Methodist church. He voted the Republi- 
can ticket and previous to its organization was a Whig. They 
were the parents of the following children : James, born May 17, 
1837, and now lives in Mendon; he married Aseneth Olney and 
has no children; David W., the subject of this sketch; a twin to 
David W. died in infancy, unnamed; Margaret E., born January 
18, 1843, is the wife of Franklin Woodard and lives in Hershey, 
Michigan ; she was the mother of seven children, six of whom sur- 
vive ; Nancy J., born January 6, 1846, is the wife of Elisha Wood- 
ard, a retired farmer, residing at Guide Rock, Nebraska, and they 
have six children. William Embley died in 1861, and his wife in 
1856. 

Soon after the attainment of his majority, David W. Embley 
started out for himself as a farmer, by working land on shares. 
He married in 1864, and by the exercise of industry and thrift, he 
and his wife were enabled to become independent land owners. 
They farmed successfully for a number of years, then disposed 
of part of their land to a son and came to Mendon where they se- 
cured a home and are here spending their later years. Mr. Embley 
subscribes to the policies of the Republican party, is interested in 
matters pertaining to the common good and for a number of terms 



768 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

served as justice of the peace. He and his good wife are consistent 
members of the Methodist church, and give their sympathy to all 
its good works. 

Mrs. Embley^s name before her marriage was Sarah Eliza 
Barnabee, she being a daughter of Stephen and Maria Barnabee. 
They came early in the nineteenth century from Ohio and located 
near Schoolcraft township, where the father entered a farm in 
1833. They removed to Mendon township and later to Mendon 
village where they lived out the remainder of their days. Mrs. 
Embley was born July 5, 1844, north of Mendon, and was one of a 
family of nine children. Her union to Mr. Embley was celebrated 
on the first day of January, 1864. They are the parents of a good 
sized family of children, as follows: Edson S., born April 17, 1865, 
lives on the farm once owned by his father and upon which his 
wife's father also once lived; his wife was before her marriage 
Mrs. Nettie (Hall) Caldwell, and there are no children ; Nellie M., 
born November 8, 1866, died October 9, 1867 ; Margaret was born 
August 28, 1868, and became the wife of Daniel Marten, and they 
were the parents of one child ; Mr. Marten was killed by lightning 
about twelve years ago, and the widow married Frank Baer, who 
is also deceased and she is now living in Idaho ; Irvin S. was born 
December 24, 1872, and died September 9, 1873 ; Verna, born May 
31, 1874, (her twin dying unnamed) is now the wife of Orson 
Kellogg, an Idaho farmer, and the mother of three children; 
Jennie, born August 1, 1876, is the widow of Car] Roberts of Men- 
don, whose death occurred in October, 1909; she has two sons; 
Louella, born February 16, 1880, is the wife of Guy Hamilton, who 
is engaged in the implement business in Mendon. Mr. and Mrs. 
Embley have thus manifold interests in their children and grand- 
children and are to be numbered among Mendon 's most genial and 
delightful citizens. 

Wn^LiAM H. Burger is one of the land owners, agriculturists 
and prominent business men of Constantine township, and he was 
bom in this township July 12, 1857, a son of Jacob and a grandson 
of Henry Burger. The last named was bom in Pennsylvania and 
was by trade a stone mason. He came to Michigan during its early 
history, and his son Jacob was bom in Pennsylvania in 1830. He 
married Lavinia George, and their five children are: Mrs. W. B. 
AUerton, of Constantine township ; William H. ; Charles M. ; John 
J., deceased; and one who died in infancy. Jacob Burger was a 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 769 

self-made man and one of the prosperous agriculturists of St. 
Joseph county. He was a member of the Masonic fraternity. 

William H. Burger was bom, reared and educated in Constan- 
tine township, and he now owns two hundred and fifty acres of its 
rich farming lands and is well known as a general farmer and 
stock raiser, raising a good grade of stock. He is one of the orig- 
inal stockholders as well as one of the present directors of the Com- 
mercial Bank of Constantine, and he owns a half interest in the 
Constantine Lumber Company. Mr. Burger married first Lizzie 
Smith, a daughter of Dan and Ellen Smith, and the only child of 
that union, William M. Burger, was born in May of 1893, and is 
now a student in the Constantine High School. Mrs. Burger died 
in September of 1895, and he married for his second wife Carrie 
E. Helme, bom at Rockford, Illinois. The second union has been 
without issue. Mr. Burger is one of the supporters of the Repub- 
lican party, and he is one of the most highly esteemed business 
men and citizens of Constantine township. 

William Smith is one of the most prominent of the farmers 
and stock raisers of Constantine township. He was bom within the 
borders of this township on the 10th of November, 1865, and he 
represents one of the early pioneer families of St. Joseph county. 
His parents, August and Philipena (Mabius) Smith, came from 
Germany to this country and established their home in Constantine 
township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, where they were farming 
people for many years. There were five children in their family, 
namely: Christ P., of Three Rivers; Emma, the wife of Carl John- 
son, of New York ; Minnie, deceased ; Henry, of Constantine ; and 
William. 

William Smith was reared to farm life, and choosing it as a 
life occupation he has become an agriculturist and he and his wife 
own an estate of one hundred and ninety-four acres, one hundred 
and ten acres of which lie in Constantine township. The farm con- 
tains one of the finest homes in the township, and it is a valuable 
estate, well improved and productive. Mr. Smith started in life 
for himself as a poor lad, and the competence which he has secured 
is the result of his own patient endeavor. He was married Octo- 
ber 9, 1889, to Emma P. Morrison, who was born in February, 1872, 
and she was reared on a farm in St. Joseph county. The two chil- 
dren of this union are Ethel F. and Gertrade N., bom respectively 
in 1890 and in 1895, and the younger is a student in the district 
schools. Mr. Smith in politics is a member of the Democratic 
party. 



770 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

William L. White is numbered among the business men of 
Constantine, and he was bom in Sherman township of St. Joseph 
county on the 25th of Au^st, 1870, a son of John W. and Martha 
(Bayn) White. Although his father was a Methodist Episcopal 
minister William L. White was bom and reared on a farm, and he 
assisted with the farm work while attending school, passing 
through the high school and later attending college at Albion, 
Michigan. After farming for a short time he embarked in the real 
estate business at Coldwater in Branch county, this state, and re- 
turning to Constantine in November of 1905 he resumed his real 
estate operations here, and he is a stock seller and promoter of 
prominence. He is a member of the firm of White and Stark Com- 
pany with offik^es in both Constantine, Michigan, and Elkhart, In- 
diana, Mr. Stark residing in the latter city. 

Mr. White married in 1890 Lizza Johnson, and of their five 
children. Earl L., Rena Mae, Paul N., Bessie and Marguerite, four 
are living. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and Mr. White is also associated with Constantine Lodge, 
No. 241, Knights of Pythias. He is a Republican, and while in 
Branch county he served as a deputy sheriff. He is numbered 
among the representative business men and citizens of Constantine. 

ZiBA B. RuGGLES. — For the long period of sixty-five years has 
the honored subject of this sketch maintained his home in St. 
Joseph county, and his is the noteworthy distinction of being at the 
present time the most venerable citizen of this county, as he is 
ninety-two years of age at the time of this writing, in 1910. His 
has been an earnest and upright life, and, while he has endured his 
quota of the vicissitudes and reverses that come to all, he has ever 
retained a buoyant optimism and has found satisfaction and due 
recompense in numbering himself among the world's noble army of 
workers. It is a matter of much gratification to the publishers of 
this work to be able to offer within its pages a brief review of the 
career of this patriarchal citizen of Three Rivers. 

Ziba Bennett Ruggles claims the old Keystone state of the Un- 
ion as his native heath, as he was bom in Hanover township, Lu- 
zerne county, Pennsylvania, on the 22d of June, 1818. He is a 
son of Lorenzo and Polly (Bennett) Ruggles, bom in Connecticut, 
where the father followed the trade of blacksmith during the major 
part of his active career and he resided in Pennsylvania until his 
death, in his seventy-seventh year. At the present time there are 
no authentic data by which may be decisively determined the ori- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 771 

gin of the Ruggles family genealo^, but it is supposed to trace 
back to stanch German stock and that two brothers of the name 
came from the Teutonic fatherland in an early day and established 
homes respectively in Pennsylvania and Ohio. The brother who 
settled in the latter state became a citizen of prominence and in- 
fluence and held the office of judge of one of the courts. The lin- 
eage of the Bennett family is traced back to French origin, and 
many representatives of the name were enrolled as valiant soldiers 
in the Continental line in the war of the Revolution, among the 
number being the father of Polly Bennett, who became the mother 
of him whose name introduces this review; she likewise continued 
to reside in Pennsylvania until her death. 

Ziba B. Ruggles was reared to the age of sixteen years in his 
native county and his early experiences were those gained in con- 
nection with farm work and through assisting his father in the 
blacksmith shop. His limited educational edvantages were those 
offered in the common schools of the locality and period and at the 
age noted he went to Columbia county, Pennsylvania, where he 
learned the trade of carriage-maker, serving an apprenticeship of 
four and one-half years' duration. Thereafter he was for a time 
engaged in farming for a period of six years in the same county, 
that state, and in 1845 he came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
and established his home in Three Rivers. For the first four years 
he was employed by the day, at various lines of work, and he then 
purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty acres, in Lockport 
township, where he continued to be identified with agricultural 
pursuits for six years. He then returned to Three Rivers, where 
he erected a small shop and engaged in the work of his trade, in 
which he continued under these conditions for four years. He then 
purchased an established manufactory of carriages and wagons, 
and with this line of enterprise he continued to be actively identi- 
fied for many years. He built up a large and prosperous enter- 
prise and for a number of years gave employment to an average 
force of twenty-five men. Mr. Ruggles finally disposed of his busi- 
ness and has since lived virtually retired, save that for some time 
he was engaged in traveling as a salesman of monuments and tomb- 
stones. Through his earnest and well directed efforts he gained 
a sufficient competency to enable him to pass the golden evening of 
his life in peace and comfort. He is a man of strong mentality and 
has ever taken deep interest in all that has touched the welfare of 
his home city and county, as well as in public matters of a generic 
order. His political allegiance was originally given to the Whig 



772 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

party, but upon the organization of the Republican party, * ^ under 
the oaks," in Jackson, Michigan, he was among the first to align 
himself as a supporter of its cause. During the long intervening 
years he has continued to be a stanch advocate of the principles 
and policies of the '^ grand old party." 

Mr. Ruggles has been a devout and earnest member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church since he was seventeen years of age 
and he is the most revered figure in the local church of this denom- 
ination in which he has been most zealous as a worker and in 
which he has served in every official position except that of pastor. 
He identified himself with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
many years ago, but does not now maintain active affiliation there- 
with. He is well known throughout the county that has so long 
represented his home and no citizen is held in more unqualified 
confidence and esteem than this sterling patriarch. 

In the year 1839 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Ruggles 
to Miss Mary Gearhart, who was bom and reared in Pennsylvania 
and who has continued his devoted wife and helpmeet during the 
long intervening period of more than sixty years. She died 
about 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Ruggles became the parents of one son, 
Ezra C, who died in 1909. 

Sherman D. Hass resides in Constantine, prominently identi- 
fied both with its business and official life. He was bom in Elk- 
hart county, Indiana, August 5, 1868, a son of William and Re- 
becca (Gray) Hass, both of whom were born in Pennsylvania. 
They came from there to St. Joseph county, Michigan, but later 
moved to Elkhart county, Indiana, and both have passed away. 
Sherman D. was the sixth bom of their children, and only two 
others are now living, Melvin H. and Elizabath, the latter the wife 
of Alonzo Rainer. 

Sherman D. Hass was reared on his father's farm in Elkhart 
county, Indiana, receiving his education in the meantime in the 
nearby district school, and he remained at home with his parents 
until the age of twenty-one. During the six years following his 
marriage he lived in Mottville, and he came from there to Constan- 
tine in the fall of 1896. His first work here was running a dray, 
while later he embarked in the ice and coal business, and he is now 
employed with the Constantine Hydraulic Company. Mr. Hass is 
also the present township and village treasurer, and during four 
years he served as a member of the Constantine council. His polit- 
ical party is the Republican. 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 773 

Mrs. Hass was before marriage Ida M. Mann, and a daughter, 
Vinnie, was bom to them on the 29th of August, 1890. She was 
born in Indiana, and is now a high school student. Mr. Hass is a 
member of Siloam Lodge, No. 35, F. & A. M., and he is also a mem- 
ber of the Modern Woodmen of America. He owns his own prop- 
erty on White Pigeon street, Constantine. 

James Donovan, of Three Rivers, so well known as an inven- 
tor and an originator and patentee of related devices, is a native of 
Bath, province of Ontario, Canada, where he was born April 3, 
1858. The history of the family in North America commences 
with the father, for the grandparents spent their lives in their na- 
tive county of Cork, Ireland, and so far as known Richard Donovan 
and his brother Michael were the only members of the family to 
cross the Atlantic in search of homes and more favorable condi- 
tions than were to be found in the Emerald Isle. Michael settled 
in New York state, while Richard first located at Kingston, later 
purchasing a farm at Bath, eighteen miles west of that city. There 
the father spent the remainder of his life, rearing seven children 
and leaving the heritage of an honorable name. 

James Donovan, of this sketch, was educated in the schools of 
Bath, and in his early youth was apprenticed to the trade of car- 
pentry, of which he became a master after four years of faithful 
work as a learner and a subordinate. At the age of twenty-two he 
moved to New York state and there conducted a good business as 
a contractor and builder until 1891, when he became a resident of 
Three Rivers. At once entering the employ of the Roberts Car 
Wheel Company as a pattern maker, Mr. Donovan was soon ad- 
vanced to general superintendent, and while holding that position 
invented and patented the Donovan Car Wheel and several minor 
devices quite extensively adopted by car manufacturers. In 1905 
he resigned as superintendent, sold his patents and has since de- 
voted himself to the care and development of his investments. 

In 1878 Mr. Donovan married Miss Harriet Greenwood, a na- 
tive of Kingston, Canada, daughter of Maxim Greenwood, who was 
born in Montreal of French ancestry. Mr. and Mrs. Donovan have 
had two children : Richard, who died at the age of thirteen years, 
and Oliver, who is now in the grocery business. The latter, who 
married Miss Margaret Mahana, is the father of a daughter, Eileen. 
The members of the Donovan families are all identified with the 
Immaculate Conception church and are loyal Roman Catholics. 



774 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Robert Mandigo represents one of the early pioneer families 
of St. Joseph county, but he was bom in Greene county, New York, 
October 11, 1838, a son of Archibald Mandigo, born in the same 
county and state, on the 9th of October, 1800. With his wife and 
children he journeyed by canal and lake thence to Florence town- 
ship, St. Joseph county, Michigan, reaching here on the 12th day 
of October, 1851, and buying a farm in section 11 he spent the re- 
mainder of his life there and died in 1879. He had married Clor- 
inda Haines in the state of New York, and she was born at Web- 
ster in Monroe county of that state in 1804. There were eight 
children born of that union, Jane, John, David, Archibald, Nich- 
olas, Robert, Rachel and Jeremiah, but only three of that once large 
family, David, Nicholas and Robert, are living in 1909. 

Robert Mandigo was about fourteen years of age at the time of 
the family's removal to Florence township, and in those early days 
he swung the axe, rolled logs and helped to clear, improve and 
beautify the home farm. He had received the rudiments of his ed- 
ucation in New York, completing his studies in Michigan, and al- 
though he never enjoyed the advantages of a high school or col- 
lege training he became a well read and well educated man. Re* 
maining under the parental roof until twenty-two years of age, he 
in 1863 was married to Anna Pashby, bom in Florence township, 
St. Joseph county, September 26, 1842, a daughter of Robinson 
and Hannah (Scobie) Pashby, both bom in Yorkshire, England, 
the father in 1812 and the mother in 1822. Hannah was a daugh- 
ter of William and Eliza (Moorehouse) Scobie, from England and 
Scotland respectively. Robinson Pashby and Hannah Scobie came 
with their respective parents to the United States and were married 
in Florence township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, December 15, 
1841, and there Mr. Pashby entered his land, made his home and 
finally died, on the 26th of February, 1888, his wife, Hannah, pass- 
ing away in March of the same year. They became the parents 
of nine children, namely : Anna, bom September 26, 1842 ; Charles 
A., Febraary 6, 1844; William F., April 21, 1846; Joseph, Decem- 
ber 14, 1848; Mary and Martha, twins, bom December 1, 1851; 
Benjamin F., June 5, 1854; Walter G., March 6, 1857; and Orris 
L., July 6, 1861. To the marriage union of Robert Mandigo and 
Anna Pashby seven children were bom, five of whom grew to ma* 
ture years: Edgar, born August 20, 1866; Fannie, May 9, 1868; 
William, December 31, 1869, and he died in 1903 ; Clarinda ; and 
Fred, born June 13, 1876. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 775 

''Put" Mandigo, as he is familiarly known to his many friends 
and acquaintances, is out-spoken in manner but fearless and faith- 
ful in his honest convictions. He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity at Centerville, and follows as closely as possible its honor- 
able precepts. He owns fifteen acres of land on the banks of 
Klinger Lake in White Pigeon township, a splendid fishing resort 
and patronized by people from far and near during the fishing 
seasons. He also owns forty acres of land in section 25, Florence 
township. Mr. Mandigo is honored and revered in the community 
in which he has so long made his home. 

George T. Bothamley is one of Florence township's repre- 
sentative agriculturists and well known citizens. He was bom in 
Sherman township of St. Joseph county January 5, 1869, a son of 
John and Isabelle (Comer) Bothamley, both bom in England, the 
father in Yorkshire and the mother in Lincolnshire, and they were 
married in their native land and came from there to the United 
States. John Bothamley was twice married, having four children 
by his first wife and seven by his second, to whom he was married 
in Constantine, Michigan. The children of the latter are Clem, 
George T., Ella, Belle, Fred, Emma and Frank, all living at the 
present time. 

George T. Bothamley was reared as a farmer's son in Sherman 
township, helping with the work of the home farm and attending 
district schools during his early life, and remaining at home with 
his parents until twenty-one years, he then began farming for him- 
self, renting land in company with his brother. He continued as 
a renter for thirteen years and was prosperous, and on the 19th of 
April, 1904, he bought eighty acres in section 33, Florence town- 
ship, where he now lives and follows general farming and stock- 
raising. He married December 27, 1893, Luella Tash, bom in 
Sherman township September 14, 1874, a daughter of William and 
Carrie (Hepner) Tash, the father born in Waukesha, Wisconsin, 
and the mother in Sherman township, St. Joseph county, Michi- 
gan. They were farming people, and their daughter Luella was 
reared on their farm in Sherman township. Mr. and Mrs. Botham- 
ley have two sons, Harry, born August 22, 1895, and Clarence, 
born August 24, 1901, both now attending school. Harry is now 
a student in White Pigeon High School and Clarence in grammar 
school. Mr. Bothamley is a Democrat in his political affiliations, 
but has never cared for the honors or emoluments of public office. 
His family are numbered among the leading residents of Florence 



776 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

township, and they also have a host of friends in Sherman town- 
ship. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bothamley are affable, unassuming" and 
gracious, and are held in the highest esteem by all who know them. 

John A. McKindley is a successful representative of that 
honorable class, the agriculturists, and the scion of one of St. Joseph 
county's pioneer families. He is a man revered by his associates 
for his sterling manhood and integrity of character. Mr. McKind- 
ley is a native of St. Joseph county, Michigan, having been born 
within its boundaries, February 10, 1866, and is the youngest in a 
family of three children, he and a brother William, a resident of 
Kalamazoo, still surviving. The parents were Francis L. and Su- 
san M. (Reynolds) McKindley. The father was born in Galway, 
Saratoga county, New York, July 3, 1817, dying January 25, 1896. 
He was educated in the public schools, was of studious inclina- 
tions, and learned the trade of a stone and brick mason. He re- 
moved to Michigan in 1845 and located in Mendon township, St. 
Joseph county, where he worked for a very short time at his trade 
and in the fall of 1845 purchased a one hundred and sixty acre 
farm in Mendon township. He was an old line Whig, and latterly 
became a Republican, and although he was interested in the trend 
of events he was by no means an office seeker. He was a member 
of the Scotch Reformed church, his ancestry, as the name indicates, 
having been Scotch. The mother was born near Troy, Rensselaer 
county, New York, November 20, 1826, and she is now living with 
her son at the good old age of eighty- four years, her mind clear and 
her enjoyment of life unimpaired. 

John A. McKindley was bom and reared in St. Joseph county 
and received his education in the public schools. He spent his 
youth upon the farm, learned all the secrets of agriculture, and 
when he grew to maturity was drawn to adopt the same career. He 
owns a beautiful estate of one hundred and sixty acres, which he 
has improved in splendid fashion. He is a productive farmer and 
stock raiser and one of his specialties is the feeding and shipping 
of sheep. He has all the most modem machinery and keeps in 
touch with the latest scientific researches in his line. His home, 
one of the attractive places of Mendon township, is known as 
*' Sunny Side'' and is as convenient and comfortable as a city resi- 
dence, being fitted with steam heat, water and the like. 

The marriage of Mr. McKindley took place December 12, 1888, 
the lady to become his wife being Miss Vila A. Olds, and the union 
being solemnized in Athens, Calhoim county, Michigan. They are 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 777 

the parents of two sons and a daughter. Mildred A. was a mem- 
ber of the class of 1909 of the Mendon high school, and after at- 
tending the Kalamazoo Normal School, took up the profession of a 
teacher. She belongs to the Women's Club in Mendon and is a 
communicant of the Methodist Episcopal church. Homer F., al- 
though but fifteen years of age, is a junior in the Mendon high 
school, and has unusual attainments as a Latin scholar for one of 
his years. Ralph Archie, the youngest, is in the sixth grade at 
school. Mr. and Mrs. McKindley find one of their greatest sources 
of gratification in their ability to give their children the benefit 
of a good education. 

Mrs. McKindley is a native of Branch county, Michigan, where 
she was bom January 1, 1868. Her parents were Homer H. and 
Chloe S. (Howard) Olds, and she is the eldest of three children, all 
of them living. Charles Olds is married, resides in Kalamazoo ; and 
Filla is the wife of Elmer H. Huff, of Reno, Nevada. The father, 
a native of Genesee county, New York, (born in 1840) is an agri- 
culturist and a Republican in politics. The mother was bom in 
Berrien county, Michigan, in 1848. Both of them are still living 
and make their home in Bendon, Michigan. 

Mr. McKindley, the subject, is a sound and unfaltering Re- 
publican, who cast his first vote for the martyred president, James 
A. Garfield, and has supported each Republican candidate since 
that time. He is the great friend of good schooling and has served 
upon the board of directors of the public schools for twelve years. 
His fraternal relations extend to the A. F. & A. M., Mendon Lodge, 
No. 137, of which he has been an officer. Both he and his wife are 
members of the Mendon Eastern Star in which order the latter 
holds the ofifice of Ruth. They are members of the Methodist 
church and aided financially in the erection of the beautiful place 
of worship at Mendon. Mr. McKindley is one of its board of trus- 
tees and Mrs. McKindley is a member of the Ladies' Aid Society 
and a teacher in the Sunday school. They stand high in the esteem 
of those who know them best and this record will be cherished in 
the years to come. 

Herbert W. Hagerman is one of the prominent business men 
of Sturgis, a real estate and insurance dealer. He is a son of Will- 
iam and Lucy (Bentley) Hagerman, and he was bom on their 
farm in Florence township, St. Joseph county, February 9, 1860. 
His paternal grandfather, John Hagerman, located in section 18 
of Florence township in 1836, and he was a successful farmer there. 

Vol. 11—17 



778 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

William Hagerman became well known as a raiser and distiller of 
peppermint, and in his family were three sons and three daugh- 
ters, but only three are now living: Frank, living in Constantine; 
Annetta, the wife of Frank Keasey, of Jackson, Michigan; and 
Herbert. 

Herbert W. Hagerman was reared on a farm in his native 
township of Florence, and became the owner of two hundred and 
forty acres of land there, but in 1887 he left the farm to engage in 
the drug and grocery business and in 1894 he came to Sturgis to 
take up the real estate and insurance business. He has been very 
successful in his operations here, and stands among the leaders of 
the industrial interests of his city. He owns his property here, and 
he has served Sturgis seven years as the supervisor of its Second 
ward, nine years as the secretary of its school board and he has also 
served as the secretary of the Sturgis Improvement Association. 
He has also served three terms as the county commissioner, and 
was a former nominee of his party, the Democratic, for the office of 
representative. He is a member of Meridian Sun Lodge, No. 495, 
F. & A. M., and also of the fraternal order of Maccabees. 

Henry Lee Anthony is the cashier of the First National 
Bank of Sturgis, one of the strong financial institutions of St. 
Joseph county. He was bom at Bedford in Calhoun county, Michi- 
gan, November 9, 1843, and he traces his descent to the fatherland 
of Germany, to William Anthony, who was bom in the city of 
Cologne of that country in the fifteenth century. He was the 
father of John Anthony, the founder of the Anthony family in 
America. He settled at Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and among his 
children was Abraham Anthony, bom in 1650. Abraham had a 
son William, bom October 31, 1675, and among the sons of William 
Anthony was Jonathan, bom in 1733. Jonathan Anthony mar- 
ried Elizabeth Good, bom in 1757, and they were the parents of 
David Anthony, born May 25, 1809. This David Anthony became 
the father of H. L. Anthony of this review. He was a native son 
of the Empire state of New York, and with his wife, nee Cynthia 
Maynard, he came to the west and located on a farm in Calhoun 
county, Michigan, about the year of 1835. In later years he took 
up contracting and erected many farm buildings. 

H. L. Anthony, a son of David and Cynthia Anthony, was 
born and reared on his father's farm, receiving in the meantime a 
district and high school training. While attending the Battle 
Creek high school the Civil war broke out, and young Anthony en- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 779 

listed in September of 1862 and was made a member of Company 
A, Seventh Michigan Cavalry, which joined Custer's Brigade and 
the Army of the Potomac. He was honorably discharged at the 
close of the war, leaving the ranks in December of 1865. His war 
record is one of which he may well be proud, and which will ever 
redound to his credit as a loyal son of America. With his regiment 
he took part in thirty-five battles, and on the 19th of October, 
1863, he was wounded and confined in a hospital during the follow- 
ing six months. He was discharged from the service as a second 
lieutenant. During the year following his return from the war 
Mr. Anthony continued his studies, and in June of 1866 he came 
to Sturgis as a teacher of penmanship. From 1873 until 1895 he 
was in business for himself as a druggist, and among other invest- 
ments became interested in the National Bank as one of its stock- 
holders, and in 1895 he was made the cashier of the institution, and 
has ever since served in that capacity. 

In 1871 Mr. Anthony was married to Emma A. Morse, who 
died three months after her marriage, and in 1875 he wedded Lou- 
isa M. Pinney. A daughter, Mary E., was bom to them in Febru- 
ary of 1886. She is a graduate of the Sturgis high school, was two 
years at Albion College and is now the wife of George B. Hunt, of 
Battle Creek. Mrs. Anthony died on the 26th of December, 1907. 
Mr. Anthony usually affiliates with the Republican party, but is 
known as an independent in politics, and has served as a member 
and as the president of the board of supervisors. He has attained 
a high place in the ranks of the Masonic fraternity, becoming a 
Mason in April of 1870, while in April of 1871 he became a Royal 
Arch Mason, in both of which bodies he has passed all the chairs, 
and in January of 1872 became a Knight Templar. On the 12th 
of March, 1880, he was made the eminent commander, and was 
elected warder of the Grand Commandery in 1893-4. He served 
through all the offices in the Grand Commandery up to its highest 
place as Right Eminent Grand Commander, and is now serving his 
eleventh year as grand recorder. He is also a member of Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite Masons in the Valley of Grand Rapids. 
Mr. Anthony is not a member of any religious denomination, but 
attends the services of the Presbyterian church. 

John B. Woodman, of Burr Oak, St. Joseph county, was bom 
in New Hampshire, December 21, 1885, and is a son of Ira and 
Phebe (Morrison) Woodman, both natives of New Hampshire. Ira 
Woodman was bom in 1810 and died in 1892, in the house where he 



780 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

was born. His wife died in 1839, at the age of twenty-five years, 
and he married for his second wife Betsy Jane Wiggins, also of 
New Hampshire. He had but two children by his first marriage, 
John B. and an infant that died unnamed. By his second marriage 
his children were: Sarah Elizabeth, educated at New Hampton 
Institute, is unmarried and lives on the old home; Alice, wife of 
George Leavitt, a New Hampshire farmer, has five children; 
Charles C, married Miss Mason, lives in New Hampshire and has 
two daughters. Ira Woodman was a Democrat in political views 
and served as justice of the peace, and a member of the State Leg- 
islature. He and his wife were members of the Baptist church. 

John B. Woodman became clerk in a store when eighteen 
years of age, and in the spring of 1859 went to California, where 
he became clerk in the Yernon House, of Sacramento and remained 
four years. He then removed to Nevada, where he worked some 
time as book-keeper and collector for a wholesale firm, later was em- 
ployed in the postoffice at Yirginia City. He worked as book- 
keeper in a meat market in Yirginia City and later conducted a 
market of his own at Gold Hill, Nevada. In 1873 he located at 
Burr Oak, Michigan, where he carried on a farm ten years and 
then retired and settled in town. He sold his farm and now owns 
the public scales of Burr Oak, and takes care of them. He makes 
his home with his daughter, Mrs. Bordner. 

Mr. Woodman takes an active interest in public affairs, and is 
a Republican in his political views. He held the office of justice 
of the peace seven terms of four years each, served two terms as 
supervisor and one year as school inspector. He is affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has held all offices 
in the lodge. He i^ a public spirited and useful citizen, and wqII 
known throughout the community, where he is highly esteemed. 

Mr. Woodman married in Yirginia City, Nevada, March 31, 
1865, Sarah, daughter of Israel and Minerva Slocum, of Burr Oak, 
Michigan, born February 2, 1836, and died January 5, 1894. They 
had children as follows : Frank R., bom November 10, 1869 ; Harry, 
bom February 21, 1871, died in infancy; Ira G., born August 8, 
1874; Yinnie M., born September 28, 1876. Frank R. Woodman is 
a painter and lives in Burr Oak ; he married Lucinda Marvin and 
has two daughters. Ira G. Woodman is a laborer and lives in 
Three Rivers ; he married Mabel Parkinson, and has one daughter. 
Yinnie M. is the wife of Guy D. Bordner, cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Burr Oak and they have three children, Howard, 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 781 

born June 23, 1903, Dorothy^, bom August 25, 1907, and John 
B., bom November 18, 1909. 

Frank L. Burdick. — A spirit of distinctive enterprise and 
progressiveness has dominated the business career of this influen- 
tial and honored citizen of St. Joseph county, and his initiative 
power has been such as to enable him to achieve marked success in 
connection with the business and industrial interests with which 
he has allied himself and in the administration of whose affars his 
fine executive ability has been called into effective play. He is 
secretary, treasurer and general manager of the Sturgis Steel Go- 
Cart Company, which has a large and well equipped manufactur- 
ing plant in the city of Sturgis and which represents one of the 
most important industrial enterprises of St. Joseph county. He 
also has other capitalistic interests of importance and is one of the 
substantial business men of the county in which he has long main- 
tained his home and in which he holds an inviolable place in pop- 
ular confidence and esteem. 

Frank L. Burdick was born on a farm in Jamestown township, 
Steuben county, Indiana, on the 30th of July, 1846, and is a son 
of Jared and Lurancy (Franklin) Burdick, natives respectively of 
Vermont and Connecticut. His father was One of the sterling pio- 
neers of Steuben county, where he reclaimed a farm from the syl- 
van wilds and where he was long a citizen of prominence and influ- 
ence, commanding the unequivocal esteem of all who knew him. 
He passed the closing years of his life in Hillsdale county and was 
about seventy-eight years of age when summoned to eternal rest. 
His wife was about seventy-two years of age at the time of her 
death, and of their twelve children, seven are now living. Frank 
L. Burdick, of this review, was reared to the sturdy discipline of 
the farm and imbibed deep draughts from the generous chalice ever 
upheld to those who thus live close to nature * ^ in her visible forms. ' ' 
After completing the curriculum of the common schools of his na- 
tive county he found opportunity to realize his ambition for fur- 
ther educational discipline. Though appreciative of the dignity 
and value of the great basic industry of agriculture, he had a pre- 
dilection for other lines of endeavor than that to which he had 
been reared, and his higher educational work tended to fortify him 
properly for busiliess life. At the age of nineteen years he entered 
the commercial department of the Commercial College at Ann Ar- 
bor, in which celebrated institution he was graduated in 1865, and 
from which he received the degree of B. A. 



782 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

After leaving the university Mr^ Burdiek loeated at Cambria, 
Hillsdale county, Michigan, where he engaged in the general mer- 
chandise business, and in this line of enterprise he continued to be 
associated with his brother-in-law in that county for three years, 
under the firm name of Gilbert & Burdiek, after which time he 
bought the business and the following ten years the firm was F. L. 
Burdiek. He finally disposed of his interests at Cambria and for 
somewhat more than two years thereafter he was a traveling sales- 
man for the wholesale dry-goods house of C. L. Luce & Company, 
of Toledo, Ohio. He then located in Mendon, St. Joseph county, 
Michigan, where he engaged in the mercantile business and built 
up a large and flourishing enterprise. His establishment gained 
wide reputation and drew a large trade from the fine territory trib- 
utary to the little city of Mendon. There he continued operations 
for thirteen years, at the expiration of which, in 1883, he removed 
to Sturgis, where he opened a large department store. His long 
experience, enterprising policy and progressive ideas enabled him 
to make this establishment one of the most extensive and substan- 
tial mercantile houses of the county, and his name became known 
as that of one of the most successful retail merchants of this sec- 
tion of the state. It will be noted as somewhat of a coincidence that 
he was engaged in business at Cambria, Hillsdale county, for thir- 
teen years; was at Mendon for thirteen years, and. the record of 
his identification with the retail merchandise business in Sturgis 
covered the same period of time. It is evident that Mr. Burdiek 
has no superstitious fear of the unlucky number, and his pro- 
nounced success during the insistent ''thirteen" intervals is a grat- 
ifying refutation of the dire prophecies so often made in connec- 
tion with the popularly disfavored numeral. Thus, at the expira- 
tion of thirteen years of most successful operation, in 1906, Mr. 
Burdiek disposed of his mercantile interests in Sturgis, and on the 
26th of December of that year he became a stockholder and execu- 
tive officer of the Foyer Manufacturing Company, of which he be- 
came general manager in the following January. This company 
had established a factory in Sturgis and had engaged in the manu- 
facturing of collapsible, metal go-carts for children. Under the ac- 
tive and discriminating management of Mr. Burdiek the enterprise 
was rapidly pushed forward and the scope of its operations was 
greatly extended. In July, 1907, the business was reorganized and 
imder the title of the Sturgis Steel Co-Cart Company, was duly in- 
corporated under the laws of the state. The collapsible go-carts 
or carriages manufactured by this company are of original design 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 783 

and have recognized superiority over other devices of similar order. 
In attractive appearance, minimum weight and facility of adjust- 
ment, they are so effective as to constitute their own best adver- 
tising, and the trade of the company now places demands that 
practically test the large capacity of the well equipped plant. 
Largely through the personal efforts of Mr. Burdick the commer- 
cial growth of the business has been insured, and the products of 
the factory now find sale not only throughout the United States 
but also in every foreign nation on the globe. The executive corps 
of the Sturgis Steel Go-Cart Company is as here noted: Martin E. 
Aulsbrook, president; Jerrald F. Walton, vice president; and 
Frank L. Burdick, secretary, treasurer and general manager. In 
addition to these officers the directorate includes Christopher S. 
Spofford and Augustine B. Tennent. Mr. Burdick has also other 
large capitalistic interests, and in this connection it should be noted 
that he is the largest stockholder and also vice president of the 
Branch County Savings Bank, at Coldwater, Michigan, a substan- 
tial institution that was organized through his personal efforts and 
that is fortified by his mature business judgment and his own capi- 
tal. 

In politics Mr. Burdick is found arrayed as a stalwart sup- 
porter of the principles of the Republican party, and both as a 
business man and as a loyal citizen he has ever given his influence 
anli material support to those agencies and measures that have been 
projected for the general welfare of the community. He has never 
been a seeker of political office but is essentially a broad-minded, 
liberal and public-spirited citizen. He has achieved a large and 
worthy success, but has not hedged himself in with the affairs of 
business, and his genial personality, sterling integrity and tolerant 
views have gained to him unqualified confidence and regard. He is 
a member of the Presbyterian church, is affiliated with the time- 
honored Masonic fraternity, and holds membership in various civic 
organizations of representative order. 

Mr. Burdick has been twice married. In 1847 he wedded Miss 
Emma Merritt, who was born in Wisconsin, and reared in the state 
of Michigan, and who was a daughter of Isaac Merritt. She was 
summoned to the life eternal, and of the three children two are 
living: Carrie E. is the wife of Augustine B. Tennent, of Sturgis; 
Lura L. is the wife of Hall M. Slemons, of Monrovia, California; 
and Leo J., the only son, died on the 25th of April, 1904, at the 
age of twenty-nine years, one month and one day. 



784 HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

At Three Rivers, Michigan, on the 11th of January^ 1882, was 
solemnized the marriage of Mr. Burdick to Miss Pannie E. Mussel- 
white, who was born in Kinderhood township. Branch county, 
Michigan, on the 3d of December, 1853, and who was a daughter 
of John and Mary A. (Wood) Musselwhite, both of whom w^ere na- 
tives of London, England. Mrs. Burdick died in Grace hospital, in 
the city of Detroit, on the 1st of November, 1907, of uraemic poison 
and exhaustion following an operation. She was a woman of most 
gracious personality and the following extracts from an apprecia- 
tive article appearing in a Sturgis paper at the time of her death 
are worthy of perpetuation in this connection : ' ' With the respon- 
sibility of the home came that of mother to Mr. Burdick 's three 
children, and no mother ever gave to her own children more de- 
voted attention, while her untiring effort in their behalf was re- 
warded with their love and tenderest devotion. No personal sacri- 
fice was too much or care too great for her to undertake for those 
she loved. Her whole life was devoted to loving service for her 
family and friends." No children were born of the second mar- 
riage of Mr. Burdick. 

Theo T. JxiCOBS has attained a representative place at the bar 
of St. Joseph county, and is practicing in his home city of Sturgis, 
where he was born on the 8th of December, 1874, to Thomas H. and 
Mary A. (Hall) Jacobs, both yet living in Sturgis. The son, Theo, 
passed through the graded and high schools of Sturgis and gradu- 
ated with its class of 1894, and in the fall of the same year he 
matriculated in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, com- 
pleted the regular four years' course and graduated from its law 
department in 1898 and with the degree of LL. B. While at the 
university he distinguished himself by winning the Governor Pin- 
gree prize in Obsolete Law contest. 

On the 1st of August, 1898, he opened his law office in Sturgis, 
and has since practiced here, having been retained in the meantime 
as counsel in important litigated interests. Prom 1902 until 1904 
he served as a circuit court commissioner, and he was five times 
elected the clerk of Sturgis, finally resigning the position to enter 
the office of prosecuting attorney of St. Joseph county to w^hich 
position he had recently been elected, and was re-elected to suc- 
ceed himself in the fall of 1907, making four years that he served 
his county in that capacity. The following excerpt from a St. 
Joseph county paper shows the esteem which Mr. Jacobs commands : 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 785 

''We do not believe that the only time an official is deserving 
of comment is just previous to an election, when he generally pays 
liberally for it, but more so when he is in the midst of official af- 
fairs, laboring to carry out the desires of the people and when it 
comes unsolicited. If ever a young man was deserving of the ap- 
preciation of the people of the county he is Prosecuting Attorney 
Theo T. Jacobs for his vigorous efforts in trying to enforce the 
liquor laws. There are now eight cases pending in the circuit 
court for violation of this law in the county and it is apparently 
a fact that the prosecutor intends to put a stop to the loose manner 
in which saloons are run. And we believe that where he may make 
one enemy by doing this he will gain dozens of friends by perform- 
ing his duties in a fearless manner.'' 

Mr. Jacobs has a complete law and literary library comprising 
about one thousand four hundred volumes. 

Morris D. Wolf. — It cannot be other than gratifying in view 
of the nomadic spirit, which is growing to animate all classes of 
American citizens, to find a locality in which are to be found citi- 
zens of worth and prominence, who have passed their entire 
lives in the localities in which they were bom and who com- 
mand the respect and esteem of those who have been familiar with 
their entire careers. In the older settled sections of the far east 
we find many instances in which property has been held from gen- 
eration to generation by one family, and where the old homestead 
signifies something more than mere names but in the middle and 
western states this condition has not been so pronounced. In St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, however, are to be found many repre- 
sentatives of families who here initiated the work of reclaiming 
the virgin wilderness and who here made for themselves homes 
which their children and grandchildren are glad to retain. One 
of the worthy scions of pioneer stock in St. Joseph county is Mr. 
Wolf and he has well upheld the standard for which the name has 
ever stood exponent, the while he has, like his father and grand- 
father, contributed his quota to the civic and industrial progress 
and upbuilding of this section of the state. 

Morris Daniel Wolf was born on the old homestead farm in 
Lockport township, St. Joseph county, on the 7th of July, 1857, 
and is the second in order of birth of the three children of John F. 
and Nancy D. (Gibson) Wolf. The other surviving child is Ella 
M., who is now the wife of Dr. W. B. Clark, who is engaged in the 
practice of his profession in the city of Three Eivers and who is 



786 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

one of the representative physicians and surgeons of St. Joseph 
county. John F. Wolf was born in Columbia county, Pennsylva- 
nia, on the 1st .of January, 1825, and his death occurred on the 17th 
of November, 1893. He was but nine years of age at the time of his 
parents' removal to Michigan and the family became numbered 
among the prominent pioneers of St. Joseph county, which sec- 
tion was then an untrammeled sylvan wild, in which the Indians 
still disputed dominion with the beasts of the forest. The Wolf 
family made the long and weary trip from Pennsylvania to 
Michigan with teams and wagons, passing through the moun- 
tains and forests and across swampy lands in Pennsylvania 
and Ohio and finally reaching their destination. The father of 
John F. Wolf secured a tract of land from the government in what 
is now Lockport township and there established his home in the 
year 1834, about three years prior to the admission of Michigan to 
the Union. The government deed to his land is now in the posses- 
sion of the subject of this review and is not only a valued heirloom 
but is also a document that is worthy of preservation in the ar- 
chives of the county. The deed bears date of December 1, 1835, 
and bears the signature of General Andrew Jackson, who was then 
president of the United States. Grandfather Wolf made a clearing 
on his farm and there erected a log house of a primitive order 
common to the pioneer days. Settlers were few and widely sepa- 
rated and the farmers of the early days had to make the trip to 
Detroit in order to find facilities for grinding their grain, while 
lumber was secured from Grand Rapids, a point still further dis- 
tant. John F. Wolf was reared to maturity in St. Joseph county 
and as a youth and man lived up to the full tension of the pioneer 
days, enduring his share of hardships and vicissitudes but finding 
satisfaction in the cumulative profit through his identification with 
the development of the agricultural resources of this now favored 
section of the Wolverine state. His educational advantages after 
coming to Michigan were those afforded in the pioneer schools, 
whose facilities were necessarily meager, and he assisted in the up- 
building of the county, in which he continued to reside until his 
death and in which he ever held a secure place in popular confi- 
dence and esteem. It may be noted that the Wolf family is of 
stanch German origin, the original progenitors in America com- 
ing from Wiirtemberg, Germany, in the year 1771, and establish 
ing the home in the state of Pennsylvania. It is widely recognized 
that the German farmer has stood as the highest type in the matter 
of industry and good judgment and excellent management, not 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 787 

onl}^ in the fatherland but also in the various sections of the United 
States, where a farm owned and operated by one of German birth 
or ancestry is, in the average case, readily distinguishable by rea- 
son of its manifold evidences of thrift and prosperity. John P. 
Wolf was a man who was a veritable tower of strength in all that 
tended to conserve the best interests of his home county who was 
notable for his exceptional business acumen and his impregnable 
integrity of purpose in all the relations of life. Not only was he 
a prominent factor in connection with the hardy agricultural ac- 
tivities of the county but he was one of the most prominent in con- 
nection with the development of the growing of peppermint and 
the distillation of its essential oil, — a line of enterprise that has 
given to St. Joseph county great commercial prestige and that has 
contributed greatly to the prosperity of this section. He achieved 
large and worthy success in connection with the practical activities 
of life but was ever mindful of his stewardship and was not hedged 
in by selfish motives or personal aggrandizement. His was a ro- 
bust and sterling character and he was ever ready to give his sym- 
pathy, encouragement and aid to those less fortunate, besides which 
his civic liberality and progressiveness prompted him to give sup- 
port to all enterprises and measures tending to advance the social 
and material prosperity of his community and state. He was ac- 
tive in connection with securing the construction of the Michigan 
Central Air Line Railroad and was for some time a member of the 
directorate of the company. He did much for the promotion of the 
interests of the village of Centerville and to secure the establishing 
of the county seat at this place. Education and religion found in 
him a devoted friend. He was a zealous and consistent member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church at Centerville. In politics he was 
originally an old-line Whig and in later years he recalled with 
pleasure many incidents in the campaign which resulted in the 
election of General William Henry Harrison to the presidency, a 
campaign which brought forth the historic slogan, — *^ Tippecanoe 
and Tyler too. ' ' He united with the Republican party at the time 
of its organization, '^ under the oaks," at Jackson, Michigan, and 
voted for its first presidential candidate, General John C. Fremont. 
He was an earnest and appreciative member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, in which he attained to the chivalric degrees, having been 
a member of the commandery of the Knights Templars, at Three 
Rivers, and having been affiliated with the lodge and chapter in 
Centerville. 



788 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mrs. Nancy D. (Gibson) Wolf, the beloved and devoted wife 
of John Wolf, who was born and reared in Lycoming county, 
Pennsylvania, was bom on the 31st of December, 1837, and she 
died in the village of Centerville on the 17th of March, 1909. The 
Gibson family was founded in St. Joseph county, Michigan, in the 
pioneer days and adequate data concerning the family is to be 
found in the sketch of the career of Samuel Gibson, appearing on 
other pages of this work. Mrs. Wolf was a woman of most beauti- 
ful traits of character and her strength and devotion enabled her 
to well upbear the burdens which were laid upon the shoulders of 
the pioneer women of this section of the state. Her gentle and gra- 
cious personality won to her the affectionate regard of all who 
knew her and her memory is revered in the community which was 
so long her home. Of her it may well be said that ''her children 
rise up and call her blessed.'' Her remains were laid to rest be- 
side those of her husband in Riverside cemetery and a beautiful 
monument marks the place where repose the mortal relics of this 
honored pioneer couple. 

Morris D. Wolf, the immediate subject of this review, was 
reared to the sturdy discipline of the home farm and early began to 
contribute his quota to its work. In the meanwhile he was af- 
forded the advantages of the public schools of Centerville and 
throughout his mature life he has not served his allegiance to the 
great basic industry of agriculture, besides which he has been 
prominently identified with the essential oil industry, in the ex- 
ploiting of which his father was so important a factor. He is a pro- 
gressive and broad-minded business man and in his attitude as a 
citizen he has shown his appreciation of the precepts and example 
of his father and mother, having been true to principle and having 
ever maintained the high ideal of duty and responsibility so that 
he has not been denied the finest measure of popular confidence and 
regard. His capitalistic and business interests are of broad scope 
and importance and he still retains possession of the old homestead 
farm, located about one mile distant from Centerville, a place en- 
deared to him by the gracious memories and associations of the 
past. This farm comprises one hiuidred and sixty acres of most 
arable land and its improvements are of the best order in all par- 
ticulars. He maintains his home in the village of Centerville, 
where he owns an attractive, modem residence, besides which he is 
the owner of valuable real estate in the city of Chicago. 

Mr. Wolf is aligned as a stanch adherent of the Republican 
party and takes an intelligent interest in the questions and issues 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 789 

of the hour^ the while he gives his support to all measures pro- 
jected for the general welfare of his native county. He has served 
for a number of years as a member of the board of education of 
Centerville, but has never been an aspirant for political office. He 
holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal church in his home 
city and is at the present time president of its board of trustees. 
His affiiliations in the Masonic fraternity are as here noted, — 
Mount Hermon Lodge, No. 24, Free and Accepted Masons ; Center- 
ville Chapter No. 11, Royal Arch Masons, both in Centerville; 
Council No. 37, Royal and Select Masters, in the city of Three Riv- 
ers, where he is also affiliated with Three Rivers Commandery 
No. 29, Knights Templars. His Masonic affiliations are further 
amplified by his membership in Saladin Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, in the city of Grand 
Rapids. 

On the 20th of November, 1895, was solemnized the marriage 
of Mr. Wolf to Miss Emeroy Rees and they have one daughter, 
Florence Ella, bom December 23, 1896, who is now attending the 
public schools of Centerville. Mrs. "Wolf was born near the city of 
Battle Creek, Calhoun county, Michigan, on the 19th of July, 
1867, and is a daughter of Lambert Burghardt Rees and Margaret 
Elizabeth Lawler Rees. She is a communicant of St. Thomas' 
church, Protestant Episcopal, at Battle Creek. Mrs. Wolf is the 
most gracious chatelaine of their beautiful home and is a prominent 
and valued factor in connection with the best social activities of 
the community. Mrs. Wolf's father, Lambert Burghardt Rees, 
was the eldest child of Andrew Rees and Electa Burghardt, both of 
whom were of Holland descent and natives of West Stockbridge, 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts. Clarissa Crane, mother of An- 
drew Rees, was at the time of her death in 1863, the last survivor 
of the Massacre of Wyoming. Electa Burghardt was born in 1792, 
during the first term of Washington's administration and her 
father was a prominent man in Massachusetts. She married An- 
drew Rees in 1811 and they moved to Michigan in 1833, settling 
at Battle Creek, Calhoun county, when there were only six houses 
in the place. The deed of the farm on which they lived for forty- 
four years was signed by Andrew Jackson. Martin Yan Buren was 
a cousin of Electa Burghardt, and while he was secretary of state 
a number of the relatives settled in Michigan, her nephew, Norman 
Rawson, taking up a tract in St. Joseph county in 1833. His father, 
Erastus Rawson, lived here two years and then went to Chicago to 
build the first trestle across Lake Michigan, where the Michigan 



790 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Central Railroad now runs. He died in Chicago in 1863, and is 
buried in Graceland cemetery. Col. Isaac Toll was another cousin 
who settled at Fawn River. Margaret Elizabeth Lawler, Mrs. 
Wolf's mother, was the daughter of John and Ann Lawler and 
w^as born in Onondaga county, New York. She came with her par- 
ents to Michigan in 1843, settling on a farm west of Battle Creek. 
She was married in 1852 to Lambert Burghardt Rees and they 
built a house on a portion of the old homestead and lived there all 
their married life. 

Among the interesting relics in the Wolf family are the pewter 
plates from which the family used to eat and now in the possession 
of Amos Wolf ; the old musket which the great-grandfather, Daniel 
Hoan, carried in the Revolutionary war ; old lamps in which bears ' 
grease was burned ; the old German family Bible, bound in vellum, 
in which the family record goes away back to the time of the family 
in Germany; this Bible is now in the possession of Hon. Francis 
Millard Wolf, a prominent lawyer of St. Louis, Missouri. 

Hon. Otho Moe. — On the roster of the St. Joseph county of- 
ficials is recorded the name of the Hon. Otho Moe, a representative 
to the legislature during the session of 1879, a former supervisor 
of Fawn River township and one of the honored pioneer residents 
of St. Joseph county. He was bom in Ashtabula county, Ohio, 
January 29, 1834, a son of Charles and Maranda (Culver) Moe. 
Captain Charles Moe gained his title as an officer in the war of 
1812. He was from the state of New York, and he married there 
and moved with his young wife to Ashtabula county, Ohio, and 
in 1836 they came to St. Joseph county, Michigan. Captain Moe 
entered land here, developing it into a splendidly improved farm. 
The land was covered with timber when he took possession, his 
log cabin built there and reared his family, and there died. 

It was in that pioneer home that the Hon. Otho Moe passed his 
early life, learning to swing the axe while helping to clear away 
the trees, and while developing from boyhood to manhood he saw 
the county pass from an almost unbroken wilderness to a land of 
prosperity and cultivation. As there were no schools near in his 
immediate neighborhood he was instructed in a district school two 
miles away, and he remained at home with his father until the 
latter ^s death, when eighty- two years of age. On the 15th of Feb- 
ruary, 1863, Mr. Moe was married to Sarah A. Lewis, who was 
bom in Wayne county, New York, July 4, 1838, and she came to 
Michigan with her parents in 1858. A daughter. Alma, was bom 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 791 

to Mr. and Mrs. Moe on the 13th of May, 1860. She attended the 
Sturgis High School and the Notre Dame Seminary at South Bend, 
Indiana, and she is the wife of S. E. Williams, of Sturgis. She is a 
member of the Episcopal church. Mr. Moe has been twice married, 
and Mrs. Williams is a daughter by his first wife. He is a member 
of Meridian Sun Lodge No. 49, F. & A. M., of Sturgis Chapter 
No. 26, R. A. M., and of Columbia Commandery No. 18, K. T. In 
politics he is allied with the Democracy. He spends his winters in 
the south. Throughout his life his career has been marked by the 
strictest fidelity to duty, by loyalty to every trust reposed in him, 
and his example is well worthy of emulation. 

RossLYN H. Van Buren, of the Morincy-Van Buren Manu- 
facturing Company, Sturgis, Michigan, is one of the representa- 
tive young business men of the city, and as such is entitled to per- 
sonal mention in this work. A brief sketch of his life gives the fol- 
lowing facts: 

Rosslyn H. Van Buren was bom in Florence township, St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, January 28, 1875, son of William H. 
and Carrie (Major) Van Buren. William H. Yan Buren is one of 
the well-known and highly respected citizens of the county; en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits for a number of years, and ex-Re- 
corder of Deeds of St. Joseph county, his term in this office having 
expired in January, 1909. Rosslyn H. was reared on his father's 
farm and received his early education in the district school. He is 
a graduate of the Centerville High School, with the class of 1893, 
and of the State Normal College at Ypsilanti, where he completed 
the classical course in 1897. His first business experience was in 
Wolf Brothers' bank at Centerville. He remained there one year, 
and then for five years he was cashier in the office of the State 
Auditor General. From the time he became a voter he has been 
active in Republican politics, and it was on the recommendation of 
the Republican County Chairman of St. Joseph county that he was 
appointed to the position in the Auditor's office. 

In 1901, Mr. Yan Buren became associated with Frank W. 
Wait in the lumber business, under the firm name of Wait- Yan 
Buren Lumber Co., and was engaged in this enterprise until re- 
cently, when the business passed into the hands of Mr. Wait. As 
a member of the firm of Morincy-Yan Buren Manufacturing Com- 
pany, Mr. Yan Buren is now interested with A. F. Moriney in the 
manufacture of plumbers' brass goods. 



792 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

In 1900, at Lansing, Michigan, Mr. Van Buren married Miss 
Rebecca McCoUum of that city, and they have two children : Tracy, 
bom March 27, 1902, and Mary, October 6, 1903. Mr. Van Buren 
is a member of Meridian Sun Lodge, No. 49, F. & A. M. ; Sturgis 
Chapter, No. 26, R. A. M., and Columbia Commandery, No. 18, K. 
T., and he is also a Shriner, having membership at Grand Rapids. 

Curtis A. Freeland, who is prominently identified with the 
manufacturing interests of Sturgis, Michigan, was born in Elk- 
hart county, in the neighboring state of Indiana, March 22, 1869, 
son of B. F. Freeland, and was reared and educated in the '^Hoo- 
sier^' state. 

In 1893, he became one of a company which established at 
Middlebury, Indiana, a plant for the manufacture of galvanized 
steel tanks, and which operated there for several years. In Sep- 
tember, 1902, this plant was moved to Sturgis, Michigan, where 
the business has since been successfully conducted, the output com- 
prising furnaces, boilers, tank heaters, galvanized steel tanks and 
storage oil tanks. From twenty-five to fifty men, all skilled labor, 
are employed, and the product of the plant is shipped all over the 
United States and to various foreign countries as well. To the de- 
velopment and general management of this business, Mr. Freeland 
gave his best energies, arid such confidence did he place in the en- 
terprise that from time to time he purchased additional stock un- 
til now he is the head of the concern and is its sole owner. 

Mr. Freeland is in the true sense of the word a public-spirited 
man. The deep interest he has manifested in the local affairs of 
Sturgis, his reputation for integrity, and his high-standing as a 
business man were early recognized, and in 1906 he was honored by 
being elected to the office of Mayor, in which he served most ac- 
ceptably in 1906 and 1907. Politically he is a Democrat. He be- 
longs to the Masonic order, having membership in Meridian Sun 
Lodge, No. 49, of which he is Senior Warden ; and he is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mr. Freeland has a wife and four sons, his children in order 
of birth being as follows : Harold, bom January, 1894 ; Arden, No- 
vember, 1895; Kenneth, September 19, 1900, and Glenn, June 17, 
1904. 

Henry E. Osbon, a traveling salesman living at Sturgis, 
Michigan, is a native of this city, bom December 1, 1840, son of G. 
W. and Cornelia H. (Howes) Osbon. G. W., son of Kichard Os- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 793 

bon, was born in Livingston county, New York, in 1811, and was 
reared in his native state. He removed to Fort Wayne, Indiana, 
in 1833, and there traded with the Indians ; in 1838 he located at 
Sturgis, where he engaged in the dry goods business. In 1845 Mr. 
Osbon moved on to a farm, where he resided until his death, in 
1870 ; his widow survived him and passed away in 1906. They were 
parents of five children, of whom two survive. George W. Osbon 
was educated for a Methodist Episcopal minister, and was of a 
quiet, thoughtful nature. He was a successful dry goods merchant 
and highly respected; politically he was a Republican. 

The early days of Henry R. Osbon were spent in Sturgis, 
where he attended the public schools. He afterward engaged in 
traveling as a salesman for various lines, and continued this occu- 
pation some twenty years, his territory being Indiana, Michigan, 
and Ohio and all western states and territories except California 
and the Dakotas. His chief work was the sale of buggies, which he 
continued until 1906, when he was elected to the office of super- 
visor of the First ward of the city of Sturgis, which he still holds. 
He has been very successful in his business enterprises, and his 
honor and integrity are widely recognized. Mr. Osbon has been a 
life-long resident of Sturgis, where he is well known and has a 
large circle of friends. 

Mr. Osbon is a prominent member of Sturgis Prairie Lodge 
No. 37, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he has been a 
member since March 28, 1872. He is well informed in the work- 
ings of the order and has serv^ed twice as representative from his 
lodge to the grand lodge of Michigan. 

June 7, 1863, Mr. Osbon married Emma V. McGown, who was 
born in Trenton, New Jersey, November 27, 1847, and came to 
Sturgis in 1859 ; they have two sons, D. Alton A., born October 1, 
1864, and Frederick A., bom August 24, 1868. D. Alton A. is ad- 
vance agent for the Hagenbach- Wallace shows, and in this capacity 
has traveled all through the United States; he is a well-informed, 
public-spirited citizen, of pleasant manner and high character. He 
married Edith Vogler, of Sturgis, and they have two sons, D. T., 
bom April 12, 1889, and Walter J., born October 12, 1898. Fred- 
erick A. Osbon married Montie Roat, and they live in Sturgis. He 
owns sixteen acres of the old homestead, and is an industrious, 
enterprising citizen; politically he is a Republican. 

0. C. Grove, a prominent citizen of Sturgis and an enterpris- 
ing business man, was bom in Darke county, Ohio, April 6, 1885, 

Vol. 11—18 



794 HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and is a son of Hiram and Leah (Boyer) Grove. His parents 
moved to Geneva, Indiana, when he was about eleven years of age, 
and he finished his education in the public schools of that town; 
however, while he was still in the eighth grade his eyes became so 
much affected he found it necessary to leave school, and never re- 
turned, although he has since made the most of his opportunities to 
acquire learning and culture. Mr. Grove was employed for some 
time in the grain and elevator business at Geneva, and continued 
in that business after removing to Huntstown, Indiana, until July, 
1908. At that time he located in Sturgis, Michigan, in the employ 
of Egley Grain Company, and is now the manager of the plant. 
He owns stock in this company, which is incorporated and doing 
a large business both in Sturgis and the surrounding country. 

Mr. Grove takes an active interest in local affairs, and is a 
public-spirited, useful citizen ; politically he is a Democrat. He is 
a bright, hustling business man, and has a promising future before 
him. Mr. Grove is a member of the United Brethren church and also 
belongs to Lodge No. 634, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
is well known in Sturgis, and stands high in the estimation of his 
fellows. 

In June, 1906, Mr. Grove married Anna Taylor, of Geneva, 
Indiana, born and reared in Adams county, and educated in the 
public schools of Geneva. 

William Hazard.— One of the most venerable and honorable 
of the native sons of St. Joseph county, with whose history the fam- 
ily name has been identified since the territorial epoch in the his- 
tory of the nation, this sterling pioneer citizen of Centerville is spe- 
cially deserving of consideration in this publication not only by rea- 
son of his being thus a scion of one of the sterling pioneer families 
of this section of the state but also on account of his having been for 
many years one of the prominent and influential citizens of the 
county, where he has ever commanded a secure vantage ground in 
popular confidence and esteem. His reminiscences of the early days 
are most graphic and interesting and his memory forms an indissol- 
uble link between the period when this section was on the border of 
civilization and the twentieth century with its opulent advantages 
and prosperity. 

Mr. Hazard was bom on the old homestead farm in Nottawa 
township, St. Joseph county, on the 12th of March, 1830, and he is 
the fourth in order of birth of fourteen children — seven sons and 
seven daughters^ — of William and Cassandra (Coan) Hazard. Of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 795 

this large family he is one of the two now living and the other is 
Elvira, who is the widow of Mr. Oakly and who now resides in Cali- 
fornia. William Hazard was bom in the state of Vermont in Feb- 
ruary, 1798, one year before the death of General Washington, and 
he was eighty years of age at the time of his death, which occurred 
in Mendon, St. Joseph county, Michigan. He was reared to the 
sturdy discipline of the farm and was but a boy at the time of the 
family removal from the old Green Mountain state to that of New 
York. As a young man he set forth to establish a home in Michi- 
gan, which was then considered in the far west. He was accom- 
panied by his widowed mother, two brothers and two sisters and the 
long and weary journey was made with an ox team. This was in 
the year 1817, fully twenty years before Michigan wa^ admitted to 
statehood. He secured a small tract of land near the city of Mon- 
roe and the first home of the family was a primitive log house of the 
type common to the locality and period. In 1829 William Hazard 
came to St. Joseph county and located in Nottawa township, where 
he secured a tract of wild land in the midst of the primeval forest 
and where the neighbors were principally Indians. No highways 
or bridges had been constructed and the settlers were few and far 
between. Mr. Hazard set to himself the herculean task of reclaim- 
ing a farm from the forest and of him it may well be said that 
^^his strength was as the number of his days." Both physically 
and mentally he was of the robust type that is best suited to en- 
counter the hardships and vicissitudes of pioneer life and he 
assisted in reclaiming his land to cultivation. Upon coming to the 
county he secured eighty acres of government land, to which he 
later added an adjoining tract of equal area. This homestead he 
retained until the time of his death. In politics he was originally a 
stanch Democrat of the Jeffersonian type, but upon the organization 
of the Republican party he transferred his allegiance thereto, ever 
afterward remaining a stanch advocate of its principles and poli- 
cies. Both he and his wife were devout and earnest members of 
the Methodist Episcopal church and were numbered among the 
organizers of the first church of this denomination in St. Joseph 
county. Their home was one in which the pioneer ministers were 
sustained and these circuit riders in their arduous and devout 
work found gracious hospice in the modest home of this sterling pio- 
neer couple. William Hazard, Sr., assisted in the interment of the 
first white man in this county, this man having been killed by the 
falling of a tree. Mr. Hazard himself was laid to rest in the same 
cemetery, which has long been known as Pioneer cemetery and 



796 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

which is located in section 16, Nottawa township. Mrs. Cassandra 
(Coan) Hazard, mother of the subject of this review, was born in 
the province of Ontario, Canada, in the year 1806 and was sixty- 
four years of age at the time of her death, which occurred in 1870. 
She was one of the noble pioneer women of St. Joseph county and 
her gracious and gentle influence was felt and appreciated in the 
community in the early days. She was a most devout member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church and her faith was shown in her 
daily walk and conversation. She was a friend to those in afflic- 
tion and distress and no wayfarer was sent empty away from her 
home. Her remains were laid to rest beside those of her husband 
in the Pioneer cemetery. 

William Hazard, Jr., the immediate subject of this review, has 
passed the long period of eighty years in an honorable and useful 
life in his native county and he has the distinction of being at the 
present time the oldest citizen who was bom and reared in the 
county and who is now living within its borders. The pioneer log 
school house of this section found him enrolled as a student and he 
well recalls this primitive institution with its puncheon floors, slab 
benches and desks and wide fireplace — a school far different from 
those whose privileges are enjoyed by the youth of the present day 
in the same section of the state. Of the twelve children who at- 
tained adult age in the Hazard family, all became successful teach- 
ers with the exception of the subject of this sketch, who had a nat- 
ural predilection for business and who thus gave his attention to 
conducting work along other lines. In a reminiscent way Mr. Haz- 
ard recalls that Pottawotamies used frequently to stop at his fath- 
er's home for something to eat and for the purpose of trading in the 
simple commodities of the locality. Mr. Hazard was reared to the 
sturdy invigorating discipline of the husbandman and throughout 
his active career he gave close allegiance to the great basic art of 
agriculture. He assisted actively in the reclamation of nearly four- 
teen hundred acres of timbered land. It is a recognized fact that 
he has plowed up a greater area of virgin soil than any other man 
now living in St. Joseph county. He continued to be associated in 
the work and management of his father's farm until he had attained 
to his legal majority, at which time his father gave him five hun- 
dred dollars which figured as the basis of his independent opera- 
tions. He secured one hundred acres of land in Nottawa township 
and through industry and good management he was able to add to 
his landed estate until he became the owner of three hundred acres 
of good land, all of which was located in that township. 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 797 

Mr. Hazard ever give his aid and influence in support of all 
measures and enterprises tending to advance the material and social 
welfare of his native county and in thought and action he has been 
animated by the highest principles of integrity and honor. He is 
an uncompromising supporter of the cause of the Prohibition party. 
He has been true to high ideals of duty in all relations of life and 
has maintained a high sense of stewardship as touching his influ- 
ence upon all with whom he has come in contact. He has been an 
earnest and consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal church 
for sixty-eight years and he is the only one identified with that 
church in Centerville that can claim so long a continuous identifica- 
tion therein. He has been most liberal in his support of all branches 
of church work and has contributed with earnestness to charitable 
and benevolent objects. No citizen is held in more unqualified es- 
teem and as the gracious shadows of his life begin to lengthen from 
the golden west he finds that ''his lines are cast in pleasant places/' 
as he is surrounded by a host of friends, though most of those w^ho 
were associated with him in the earlier days have now crossed over 
the ''great divide." Mr. Hazard has made several trips to Cali- 
fornia, where he has found pleasant recreation and where he has 
ako been able to visit with his brother, the late Rev. Augustus C. 
Hazard, who was for many years a clergyman of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Mr. Hazard has maintained his home in the vil- 
lage of Centerville since 1870, but still retains the ownership of his 
fine farm in Nottawa township. 

On the 2nd of April, 1851, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Hazard to Miss Salina E. Jones and they became the parents of 
two children,— Alice, who is the wife of Herbert L. Day, who is 
engaged in farming near Battle Creek, Michigan ; and Salina, who 
is the wife of William Ablett, who resides in Allegan county and 
who is a skilled carpenter and joiner. Mrs. Day, the elder of the 
two daughters, was afforded the advantages of the public schools of 
Centerville and those of Albion College, and for a number of years 
before her marriage she was a successful and popular teacher in 
the public schools of Calhoun county. She is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, as is also her sister, Mrs. Ablett. Mrs, 
Salina E. (Jones) Hazard was summoned to the life eternal on the 
30th of August, 1857, and her remains are interred in the Center- 
ville cemetery. She was a devoted wife and mother and was a 
woman who was held in high esteem in the community. In 1857 
Mr. Hazard contracted a second marriage, being then united to 
Miss Laura S. Auten. She passed to the life eternal in February, 



798 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

1894, having been a devout church worker and having been known 
for her many gracious attributes of character. Concerning the 
children of the second marriage the following brief data are given : 
Charles M., who is employed as an engineer on the Chicago & East- 
em Illinois Railroad, has been connected with this company for the 
past fifteen years, and he maintains his home in Watseka, Illinois. 
He received a good practical education and for several years was a 
successful teacher in the schools of St. Joseph county. He mar- 
ried Miss Julia Smith and they have one son, William H. Eleanor 
S., the second child of the second marriage, is now the wife of 
George L. Peacock, who is identified with the coal, ice and wood 
business in the city of Detroit, with the Pitmans & Dean Company, 
one of the largest concerns engaged in this line of enterprise in the 
metropolis of the state. Mrs. Peacock is a vocalist of distinctive 
talent and has pursued her musical studies in a number of the lead- 
ing colleges in Europe. She has recently returned from a sojourn 
in Europe and has been tendered, in 1910, a position as a teacher in 
the Conservatory of Music, in the city of Ypsilanti, Michgan. Mr. 
and Mrs. Peacock have three children, — Marshall, Edward and 
Laura. Mr. and Mrs. Peacock are both members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. In 1896 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Hazard to Mrs. Harriet Adelaide Welch, the widow of Wesley 
Welch. She is the mother of two daughters by her first union, — 
Grace M., who is employed in the office of the probate court of St. 
Joseph county at Centerville and who likewise held a position in 
the office of the county treasury; and Gertrude E., who is the wife 
of Arthur Pashby, a resident of Chicago and an electrician by pro- 
fession. Mrs. Hazard is a most zealous member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church in Centerville and is a teacher of the Ladies' 
Bible Class, besides which she is a prominent factor in connection 
with the work of the Ladies' Aid Society of the church. 

J. H. Whitmer, a leading citizen and successful business man 
of Sturgis, Michigan, was bom in Wells county, Indiana, April 25, 
1843, son of Michael and Yolumnia A. (Knox) Whitmer. Both 
parents were natives of Pennsylvania, where they were reared and 
married, and later emigrated to Indiana, where they located in 
Lancaster township, Wells county, in 1838. In the spring of 1865 
they removed to St. Joseph county, Michigan, on a farm northeast 
of Sturgis ; here Michael Whitmer still resides, at the age of ninety- 
six years. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 799 

The boyhood days of J. H. Whitmer were spent in his native 
county, and he received his education in the district schools. He 
was still a boy at the breaking out of the Civil war, but enlisted in 
1861 in Company H of the Forty-seventh Indiana Regiment, and 
spent three years and nine months in service; he participated in 
the siege and capture of Vicksburg and many other important bat- 
tles. Meanwhile, Mr. Whitmer 's father had purchased a farm in 
St. Joseph county, Michigan, whither he also went, and bought a 
part interest in the farm ; he and his father carried on the farm to- 
gether ten years and then J. H. Whitmer sold his interest and 
located in Sturgis. He purchased an interest in a small planing 
mill in Sturgis, in 1876, and has since been occupied with this en- 
terprise ; as soon as he was able he bought out his partner, and has 
since continued the business on his own account. He has been very 
successful in a business way, and now has extensive lumber yards in 
connection with his planing mill. He is a highly respected citizen 
of the town and a man of undoubted business honesty and probity. 
He is a stockholder and vice president of the First National Bank 
of Sturgis, as well as a director of same; he owns four houses in 
Sturgis besides his own residence. Politically Mr. Whitmer is a 
Republican, and he has served as supervisor of the Third ward and 
several times as alderman. He and his family are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is a trustee and he has 
served for the past twenty-four years as superintendent of the Sun- 
day School. He is a member of Meridian Sun Lodge No. 49, A. F. 
& A. M., and is a prominent member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic, Post No. 73, and attends the national meetings of the 
organization. Mr. Whitmer is past commander of the post, and 
receives a soldier's pension. He started in life with very small 
capital, and by his industry and ambition has acquired a compe- 
tence. 

Mr. Whitmer married Cornelia Thompson, a native of Sherman 
township, St. Joseph county, Michigan, and they have two children, 
Mabel, wife of Albert Eastman, of Sturgis, and Eva, who died in 
1895. 

Charles W. ScheiXiHOUS, district deputy oil inspector, is a 
grandson of Lorensie and a son of Leonard E. Schellhous, all 
prominently connected with the development of St. Joseph county. 
The grandfather — as will be seen in the general history — ^lived 
for many years at Colon, where he died, and of his sons, Leonard 
E. passed away at Parkville and Loran W. is a citizen of Colon. 



800 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mr. Schellhous, of this sketch, succeeded his father, Leonard 
E., as proprietor of the woolen mill at Parkville and continued 
thus for twenty-five years. He lived in the house in which he was 
bom at that place for fifty years, lacking a month, but for some 
time has resided in Three Rivers, engaged in the real estate busi- 
nsss and the inspection of essential oils, in connection with his 
present office. His district embraces three full counties and a part 
of Allegan coiuity. Mr. Schellhous has also been active in local 
politics, having served as chairman of the Republican County 
Committee for three terms, or six years. He is married and has 
two sons, Ellis L. and Roy A. Schellhous. 

Levi B. Blass^ a successful business man of Sturgis, Michigan, 
was borne in Wayne county. New York, April 25, 1827, son of 
Jacob and Mary by (Newell) Blass. In 1832 Jacob Blass removed 
to Branch county, Michigan, locating near Batavia, where he en- 
tered a farm, and lived two years; he then located in La Grange 
county, Indiana, near Lima, now Howe. He lost his wife in 1838, 
and after he was eleven years old Levi B. Blass was reared by rela- 
tives. He worked on a farm, and being fond of horses began learn- 
ing the trade of blacksmith in 1851, at LaGrange, Indiana, where 
he served as apprentice four years. 

In 1855 Mr. Blass removed to Sturgis, Michigan, and became 
machine forger for the Sturgis Foundry & Machine Company, 
where he worked fifty-four years. He walked to and from his work 
for all these years, a distance altogether of some thirty-three thou- 
sand miles, and during that time had as many a^ seventeen foremen 
over him; he saved enough meanwhile to buy him two houses and 
also a shop of his own in Sturgis. He has a good trade, and is a 
man of sterling business honesty and good character. He is well 
known in the city, and respected by all. Politically Mr. Blass is a 
Republican and has served the city as school commissioner. He 
belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church, where he and his wife 
have belonged for fifty-six years; he has held all the official posi- 
tions in the church, and has been many years secretary and treas- 
urer. He is affiliated with Meridian Sun Lodge, No. 49, A. F. & 
A. M., of which he has been a member for forty-six years, and he 
has held many offices in the lodge. 

January 1, 1851, Mr. Blass married Amorett Gurney, who was 
born October 2, 1829, and they became parents of seven children, 
of whom five survive, namely: Chester, a mechanic, foreman in a 
furniture factory in Chicago; Mary, wife of George Phelps, of 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 801 

Chicago ; George ; Clary and Clayton, twins ; Vondovia, a graduate 
of Evanston school, is deceased, and Inez is also deceased. 

Charles Erbsmehl. a citizen of Sturgis, Michigan, and con- 
nected with manufacturing interests in the city, is a successful and 
highly respected business man. He was bom in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, in May, 1854, and is a son of Ferdinand and Caro- 
line (Leupold) Erbsmehl; both parents were natives of Germany 
and came to the United States in their youth. They were married 
in this country and located in Philadelphia, where their family 
was reared. The early years of Charles Erbsmehl were spent in his 
native city, where he received his education in the public and pri- 
vate schools. He learned the trade of printer, at which he worked 
several years, and in 1878 came to St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
where he has since resided. He successfully conducted a German 
newspaper at Sturgis, from 1878 until 1886, the only one ever pub- 
lished in the county, or southern Michigan, which had a wide cir- 
culation and became well known throughout the state. He is well 
known in the city of Sturgis, where he has resided since 1878, 
except for four years spent in Centerville, while he served the 
county as clerk. Politically he is a stanch Republican and actively 
interested in public affairs ; he was elected county clerk by a large 
majority, and served with efficiency in this office from 1889 until 
1893. 

Mr. Erbsmehl is a keen and enterprising business man, and is 
a stockholder in the First National Bank of Sturgis. He belongs 
to the Presbyterian church, and is affiliated with the Maccabees and 
Sturgis Prairie Lodge, No. 37, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of which he is past noble grand and has served twenty years as 
secretary. In 1876 Mr. Erbsmehl was married, in Philadelphia, 
and he and his wife became parents of three children, who are 
graduates of the Sturgis high schools. 

John S. Flanders is a native of Sturgis and at present holds 
the office of City Attorney and is manager of the city water, elec- 
tric light and power utility and of the municipal hydro-electric 
development of the St. Joseph river in Lockport township, in which 
$175,000 is being expended by the city for the purpose of supplying 
the city and its citizens with water and electric light and power 
for its extensive manufacturing industries. 

The subject of this sketch was bom February 10, 1861, the son 
of Jonathan W. and Elizabeth Flanders. Jonathan "W. Flanders 



802 HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

was born at Colbrook, New Hampshire, April 18, 1822, the son of 
Francis and Elizabeth (Chandler) Flanders and grandson of Eze- 
kiel Flanders who was a soldier in the Eevolutionary war. He 
moved with his parents to Ontario county. New York, where he 
received his early education and later graduated from the Canan- 
daigua Academy at Canandaigua, New York, where he studied law 
and was admitted to the bar. He engaged in the practice of law 
at Sturgis, Michigan, in 1856, and continued here until his death 
August 9, 1896. Mr. Flanders was one of the leading Democrats 
of the county and prominent in state politics. He was the nominee 
of his party for the office of Attorney-General, State Senator, Cir- 
cuit Judge and other positions of honor and filled many positions 
of honor and trust in his home city, for the upbuilding of which he 
devoted much of his time and means. Mrs. Flanders was a daugh- 
ter of Josiah Sutherland of Canandaigua, New York, where she 
united in marriage with Mr. Flanders in 1856. Her death occurred 
May 2, 1879, and Mr. Flanders died August 9, 1896. 

The primary education of John S. Flanders was acquired in 
the schools of Sturgis and he graduated from the high school in 
1878. In the same year he entered the University of Michigan at 
Ann Arbor, from which he graduated in 1882 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Law. With his father he established the Michigan 
Democrat in 1880, which has been the recognized organ of the De- 
mocracy of this county and section for thirty years. He became 
its editor and publisher in 1882, which work he continued, with the 
exception of six years, until 1908 when he sold the paper to Henry 
O. Eldridge. 

In 1888, Mr. Flanders with his uncle. Dr. D. L. I. Flanders, 
organized the Diffusible Tonic Company, acting as secretary and 
treasurer, until the present time and looking after the business in- 
terests of the concern, which is engaged in the preparation and 
distribution of Dr. Flanders' Diffusible Tonic, a remedy for the 
relief of feverish colds, malaria and all fevers, for which ailments 
it has proved a specfic remedy and is extensivey used throughout 
the United States and in the tropics. 

Politically Mr. Flanders is one of the prominent Democrats of 
St. Joseph county. He takes an active interest in public affairs 
and has given his support to many of the leading measures for 
the public welfare. His fellow citizens have honored him politic- 
ally, and he has served three consecutive terms as mayor of the 
city. He also served as postmaster of Sturgis from 1894 to 1898, 
has been a member of the school board, library board and board of 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 803 

public works. Mr. Flanders has also been twice the nominee of his 
party for the office of State Senator and for member of the State 
Constitutional Convention. He is w^ell known in the county, where 
his life thus far has been spent and has a wide circle of personal 
friends. He is a member of Meridian Sun Lodge, No. 49, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of Sturgis Chapter, No. 26, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons. His grandfather, Francis Flanders, organized Meridian 
Sun Lodge and was its first Master. 

April 26, 1882, Mr. Flanders married Miss Henrietta Sturgis, 
of the well known family from which the city of Sturgis was named. 
She is a daughter of William Sturgis and granddaughter of Judge 
John Sturgis, who came to this locality in 1827 and became the first 
settler of Sturgis Prairie. Her father, William Sturgis, came with 
his parents in 1828 and spent many years of his active life in pio- 
neer work in the west, developing water powers and building and 
operating saw-mills in Iowa, Minnesota and Montana. He built 
the dam at Cedar Falls, Iowa, and organized the company that built 
the dam across the Mississippi at Little Falls, Minnesota, which 
was the foundation of that thriving city. He built the first saw 
mill in southwestern Montana and at one time was operating three 
saw mills in Beaverhead county. He furnished the lumber for the 
first placer mining at Butte, Montana, and for many other camps 
that became famous producers of gold and silver. He married 
Rosanna Steele at Iowa City, Iowa, and, after years of pioneer life, 
they spent the last years of their lives at their homestead on 
Sturgis Prairie. 

Henrietta Sturgis was born in Little Falls, Minnesota, June 15, 
1859. She resided with her parents five years in Montana and 
returned with them to Sturgis in 1871 ; attended the Sturgis school, 
graduating from the high school with the class of 1879. Mrs. 
Flanders is an active member of the Woman's Club and Sorosis, 
having been honored with the office of president in both and is a 
member of Olive Branch Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star. As 
president of the Woman's Club she started the movement and nego- 
tiations that resulted in the building of the Carnegie Free Public 
Library, which is one of the most attractive buildings of the city 
and contains a lecture room for the women's clubs. 

Mr. and Mrs. Flanders have one son. Dr. Henry I., bom June 
7, 1883, a graduate of the Detroit College of Medicine, with the class 
of 1906 ; now located at Salt Lake City, Utah. He married Grace, 
daughter of W. H. McCord, of Greenwich, Connecticut, October 5, 
1907. 



804 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Mrs. Nelson I. Packard has been a resident of Sturgis, Michi- 
gan, since 1855, when she came here with her parents, who settled 
on a farm and here spent the remainder of their lives. She was 
bom in Schenectady county, New York, in August, 1838, daughter 
of Bracey Tobey. He became possessed of considerable wealth, 
and died in 1884, in Sturgis. She was reared in New York and at 
the age of seventeen years began teaching school. She was married 
one year after coming to Michigan, in October, 1856, to Dr. Nelson 
I., son of Dr. Ira Packard, a pioneer physiican of Sturgis, Michi- 
gan. In 1849 Nelson Packard graduated from the Medical School 
at Cleveland, Ohio, and during the same year his father went to 
California, leaving the practice to his son. Dr. Nelson I. Packard 
was born in New York, April 8, 1830, and was not of age when he 
began practising medicine in Sturgis, where he remained until his 
death in 1897. He had the entire confidence and esteem of all who 
knew him, and met with great success in his profession. During 
the Civil war he served as first assistant surgeon in the Eleventh 
Michigan Infantry. 

Dr. Packard took a high place in his profession, and belonged 
to the county, state and national medical associations. He was rail- 
road physician for a number of years. He was a man of generosity 
and sympathy, having a kind heart and pleasant manner; he was 
always ready to give his influence freely to any cause for the public 
good, and was a public-spirited, useful citizen. He was a man of 
great nature and high attainments, who devoted his life to others 
and was never weary of doing good. Politically he was a Demo- 
crat, and fraternally was a member of the Masonic Order, having 
attained the degree of Knight Templar, and had served as eminent 
commander of the local lodge. He was twelve years president of 
the National Bank and six years president of the Citizens Bank, 
and was a good business manager. His fellow citizens delighted to 
show him honor, and he served four different times as president of 
the village board of Sturgis and for many years was connected 
with the village board. His loss was mourned by all, and his pres- 
ence was missed from many gatherings, both public and private. 

Mrs. Packard is a lady of high character and refinement ; she is 
an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and a liberal 
supporter of every good cause, connected with the church, as well 
as for any worthy object. She has many friends and her influence 
for good is widely appreciated. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 805 



Orlando D. Russell.— St. Joseph county numbers among her 
native sons Orlando D. Russell, and since 1888 Sturgis has claimed 
him among her citizens and business men. He was first engaged 
in the agricultural implement business in this city, continuing in 
that vocation until 1896, and he has since been engaged in the sale 
of farm produce. During the past eight years he has represented 
the Second ward on the board of supervisors and was a member of 
Sturgis city council two terms. Mr. Russell was born in Nottawa 
township on the 15th of March, 1840, to the marriage union of 
Joseph and Luncinda (Knox) Russell. The father was born in 
Defiance, Ohio, and came to St. Joseph county in 1833 or 1834 and 
he spent the remainder of his life here. 

Orlando D. Russell was early inured to the work of the farm, 
for his early life was spent in the country, and he attended the 
countr}^ schools as well as those of Sturgis, and for two years he 
was a student in the Agricultural College at Lansing. In 1861 he 
offered his services to the Union cause in the struggle between the 
North and the South, becoming a member of Company 6, First 
Michigan Infantry, and with his command he went to Washington. 
His first battle was that of Bull Run, and owing to illness he was 
brought back to Washington and was never afterward able to rejoin 
his regiment. He now draws a pension from the government and 
is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and the commander 
of his post at Sturgis. Some time after returning home from the 
war Mr, Russell located on a farm in Nottawa township, St. Joseph 
county, but afterward sold his farm there to come to Sturgis. He 
is a prominent local worker in the interests of the Republican party. 
Mrs. Russell was before her marriage Miss Louisa Schoch, 
born at New Berlin in Union county, Pennsylvania, June 6, 1840, 
and their only son living is Dorian M. Russell, a graduate in phar- 
macy at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and now a sales- 
man representing the Parke Davis Company of Detroit, Michigan ; 
another son died in infancy. Mrs. Russell was a daughter of Sam- 
uel Schoch and wife. She was married January 28, 1864, to 
Orlando D. Russell and the young couple came direct to St. Joseph 
county and during the forty-six years of their married life their 
home has been here. Mrs. Russell's death on February 8, 1910, 
was not only a bereavement to her family but a loss to the com- 
munity. The following from an obituary in a local paper speaks 
for itself : 



806 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

^*Mrs. Eussell, during her long residence in this city, gathered 
around her a large circle of friends, who deeply regret that she was 
called from them at this time, but rejoice in the knowledge that they 
were permitted her acquaintanceship for so many years, for the 
deceased was something more than a loving wife and mother to 
those nearest her heart. She was a woman who lived and moved 
in a sphere of womanhood to which many aspire, but few enter 
within; with cheerful disposition and high ideals the sordid cares 
of life were met and disposed of by a woman of firm mind and 
quick decision. Unlike many, she was not disposed to sit idly by 
and watch the setting of the sun in the evening of life, but rather 
preferring to live a useful life until the end, which she was permit- 
ted to do. From the life of this woman many inspiring and uplift- 
ing sermons might be written, for those who have known her long- 
est mourn deepest.'' 

Jacob Rusterholtz^ numbered among the agriculturists of 
Sturgis township, was born in McKean township, Erie county, 
Pennsylvania, on the 4th of August, 1836, to Jacob and Catherine 
(Kaufman) Rusterholtz, natives respectively of Switzerland and of 
Wurtemberg, Germany. The father came to the United States in 
1816, and at Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, he was sold for three 
years for his passage money. The mother came to this country 
under the same unfortunate conditions, and they were married in 
Lancaster county in 1824, and started on their married life very 
poor as regards this world's goods. They later drove with a team 
to Erie county, Pennsylvania, and there they lived and labored until 
death. They were farming people, and Jacob Rusterholtz cleared 
his land in Erie county, owning at first but fifty acres, but in time 
increased his landed possessions to two hundred acres. 

Jacob Rusterholtz, the son, was reared on that Erie county 
farm, working there until twenty-one years of age, and he too 
started out in life for himself as a poor boy, working by the month 
a« a farm hand for three years. Since then he has farmed for him- 
self, being at first able to purchase ninety acres. He married 
Louisa Weigel, also born in McKean township of Erie county, 
Pennsylvania, and in 1875 they came to Michigan and settled on a 
farm in Fawn River township, St. Joseph county, where they spent 
eighteen months, and in 1877 bought and moved to their present 
estate of two hundred and eighty acres in Sturgis township. With 
the exception of the home, which had already been erected, Mr. 
Rusterholtz has made all the other improvements the farm contains, 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 807 

and it is now one of the best of the township. He is a Republican 
in his political affiliations. 

The following four children, two sons and two daughters, have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Rusterholtz: Clara J., James C, Garfield 
A., and Margaret L., who has been teaching for three years in Sher- 
man township. James C, the elder son, is a graduate of the Stur- 
gis High School and of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, 
and he is now a druggist in Sturgis. Mrs. Rusterholtz, the wife 
and mother, has been called from this life, her death occurring Jan- 
uary 18, 1894. 

Daniel L. Arney is a farmer in Sturgis township, owning a 
splendid estate there of one hundred and ten acres, where he is 
quite extensively engaged in the raising of hogs and was in former 
years in the dairy business. He has spent his entire life in St. 
Joseph county, and was bom in its township of Fabius on the 21st 
of September, 1844, a son of William and Mary (Lewis) Arney. 
His paternal grandfather took up government land in St. Joseph 
county in an early day and lived here during the remainder of his 
life, and his son William, although born in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, 
was reared on the land here and subsequently married and lived 
in Fabius township. The last years of his life, however, were spent 
in Three Rivers, Michigan, and his widow is yet living there, she 
having attained the age of eighty nine years. They became the par- 
ents of ten children, but only five are living at the present time. 

Daniel L. Arney worked on his father's farm until the age of 
twenty-two years, attending school in the meantime until twenty- 
one, and this included a course at the college in Ontario, Indiana. 
He thus obtained a sufficient knowledge to enable him to teach, and 
he remained in the profession for twelve years in St. Joseph county, 
teaching mostly in Sherman and Sturgis townships. He married 
in 1873 Emily Hibbard, who was bom and reared in Sturgis town- 
ship, and of their three children only the son is now living, the two 
daughters, Ruth and Grace, being both deceased. The son, William 
Arney, born on the 15th of May, 1877, is a graduate of the Sturgis 
High School and for two years was a student at Lansing, Michigan. 
He married Ola Sharp, from Centerville, and has two children, 
Ruth and William. He is a Sherman township farmer. Daniel 
L. Arney and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and he has served his church as a member of its official 
board. He exercises his right in support of Republican principles, 
and has served Sherman township as superintendent of schools. 



808 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

George Kline.— Although born in Wayne county. New York, 
George Kline was but two years old when brought to St. Joseph 
county, Michigan, by his parents, and he has since been identified 
with its interests and has long been one of its land owners and 
business men. He was born in 1857 to Andrew and Mary (Engle) 
Kline, who located in St. Joseph county in the year of 1859, becom- 
ing farmers of Florence township. They afterward moved to Burr 
Oak township, where the son George was reared, and the latter now 
owns a valuable farm there. For some time he was in charge of the 
elevators in Findley, and during two years of the time his wife 
was the postmistress of the town. In 1907 Mr. Kline was appointed 
keeper of the county home, his wife being its matron, and the mem- 
bers of the board of the county home include Elias Zable, of Sher- 
man; Dr. M. Sabin; and Samuel Jordon, of Three Rivers. Mr. 
Kline is well adapted for the many public positions to which he has 
been appointed, and he is an active local worker in the ranks of the 
Democratic party. 

He married in 1885 Mattie Mowery, who was born in Holmes 
county, Ohio, in 1860, a daughter of James W. Mowery, a farmer, 
and their two children are Harvey, bom in 1887, and Leo, bom in 
1894. Mr. and Mrs. Kline are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Burr Oak, of which he is a member of the board of trus- 
tees and Mrs. Kline is the president of its Ladies' Aid Society. 
They are well known residents of their community and active in 
the various walks of life. 

William E. McKee has long been associated with the public 
life of St. Joseph county, whither he came with his parents in 1865. 
During seventeen years he was a member of the board of super- 
visors of Fawn River township, and he was the chairman of the 
board during the building of the court house at Centerville, so that 
he has the honor of having his name incribed on that building. He 
also serves as the superintendent of the township schools during a 
long period, and he is an active and influential worker in the ranks 
of the Democratic party. His splendid estate in Fawn River town- 
ship contains one hundred and twenty acres of valuable land. 

Mr. McKee traces his ancestry on the paternal side to the time 
of the Revolutioniary war, his great-grandfather serving with 
Washington in that struggle and was with him at Valley Forge. 
The grandfather was Captain James McKee, a valiant soldier of the 
War of 1812. William S. and Nancy (Ellis) McKee, the parents 
of William E. of this review, were from Columbia county Pennsyl- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 809 

vania, the birthplace of the son on the 9th of November, 1844. 
They were also married in Columbia county, and came from there 
in 1865 to LaGrange county, Indiana. The son William was reared 
on the home farm in Pennsylvania, and when old enough assisted 
in its work and attended the neighborhood schools, later teaching 
during one term in Indiana. And he was married while in that 
state to Rose H. Fobes, who was bom in its county of LaGrange, 
and their five children are : Nellie E. ; Mary E., wife of Mark Bord- 
ner; Rose, wife of Claude Van Vorst, of St. Joseph county, Michi- 
gan; Edward F., who is married and living in Iowa; and Bessie 
B., the wife of Frank Spaide, of Idaho. Mr. McKee is a member 
and a past noble grand of Sturgis Prairie Lodge, No. 37, I. O. O. F. 

Paulina Adams. — Fawn River township numbers among its 
representative citizens the Adams family, who have been identified 
with its interests for many years, and Henry Adams, the eldest 
son in the family of Paulina Adams, is the present township treas- 
urer. Mrs. Adams was bom in Mecklenburg, Germany, May 24, 
1852, and she was but two years of age when brought to this coun- 
try by her father, Henry Spongberg. Her mother had died during 
her early infancy, and her father was afterward again married. 
He lived for some time in Canada after coming to America. 

The daughter Paulina came to Michigan at the age of eighteen 
years, and on the 11th of April, 1873, she was married to Fred 
Adams, who was also born in Mecklenburg, Germany. They be- 
came the parents of five children, namely: Henry, Emma, Lena, 
Lizzie and Sarah. Henry Adams is a young man of splendid busi- 
ness ability, progressive and enterprising, and he has gained the 
confidence of the citizens of Fawn River township and is now serv- 
ing his second term in its office of treasurer. He resides with his 
mother, and the family is an honored one in the township. Mrs. 
Adams is a member of the German Lutheran church at Sturgis. 

Benjamin F. Bordner. — St. Joseph county numbers among 
her upright, substantial and prosperous citizens and business men 
Benjamin F. Bordner, one of the property owners and farmers of 
Fawn River township. Mr. Bordner was bom in Williamsville, 
New York, August 2, 1841, a son of Jacob Bordner. His parents 
both died when he was three years old, and he afterward lived with 
his maternal grandmother, Mrs. Wolf, until he attained the age of 
twelve, when he found a home with an older brother, George Bord- 
ner. In the meantime he had attended school. During the prog- 

Vol. 11—19 



810 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

ress of the Civil war he enlisted in Company D, Eleventh Michigan 
Infantry, and during his army service of three years he took part 
in the battles of Stone River and Chickamauga and in the Atlanta 
campaign. He now draws a pension in compensation for his mili- 
tary services. Returning to Burr Oak, where a brother was living, 
Mr. Bordner began learning the cooper ^s trade, and from Burr 
Oak he went to Three Rivers, where he worked at his trade for 
some time, and then returning to Burr Oak was in the grocery 
business there a short time. At the close of this period Mr. Bord- 
ner moved to a farm of forty acres which he had bought, and from 
there in 1874, he came to his present homestead in Fawn River 
township, a splendidly improved estate of two hundred acres. In 
politics he upholds the principles of the Republican party, and is 
an active local worker in its cause. 

In February, 1866, was celebrated the marriage of Benjamin 
F. Bordner and Mary Dunlap. She was born in Branch county, 
Michigan, in October, 1842, a daughter of John Dunlap, who was a 
Pennsylvanian by birth. Three sons have blessed this marriage 
union : Ralph, bom November 14, 1870, a graduate of the business 
school at Kalamazoo and now an agriculturist; Guy, born May 4, 
1876, also a graduate of the Kalamazoo Business College, and the 
present cashier of the National Bank of Burr Oak ; and Mark, born 
July 19, 1879, a carpenter in Burr Oak. Mr. Bordner of late years 
has been greatly afflicted with deafness, and for that reason de- 
mitted from the Masonic lodge. As a citizen he commands th. 
respect of all who know him, and as a business man he has long been 
a leading factor in his community. 

Frank L. Swihart is one of Fawn River township's best 
known agriculturists and business men. He owns one hundred and 
seventy-seven acres of its richest and best improved land, and is 
prominently known both as an agriculturist and as a sheep feeder 
and shipper. 

Mr. Swihart was bom in La Grange county, Indiana, Janu- 
ary 10, 1870, a son of Benjamin F. and Savilla (Lilly) Swihart, 
and a grandson on the paternal side of Jonathan Swihart. Frank 
L. was the eldest of the three children bom to Benjamin F. and 
Savilla Swihart, and his brother, Harry C. Swihart, is engaged in 
farming in Canada, and his sister, Mary G., is the wife of George 
Watson. Frank L. Swihart was reared as a farmer boy, attending 
first the district schools, then the Burr Oak High School and from 
1889 to 1890 was a student in the Northem Indiana University at 




CO 

w 
< 

W 
K 
H 



< 
> 



Q 



Q 



C 

w 
u 

B 

CO 

W 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 813 

Valparaiso. He was thus well fitted to begin the active duties of a 
business life. February 8, 1892, he was married to Marinda W. 
Cummins, who was born in Branch county, Michigan, February 
6, 1873, and a son and a daughter have been born to them, but the 
only son, Clair B., born on the 5th of April, 1898, died in April, 
1902. The daughter, Helen C, bom, September 9, 1894, is a mem- 
ber of the Burr Oak High School, class of 1911. Mr. Swihart has 
membership relations with the Grange at Burr Oak, and in politics 
he affiliates with the Republican party. He is a practical, pro- 
gressive and influential farmer, using the latest and best improved 
methods of agriculture, and he is one of the township 's most highly 
esteemed citizens. The pretty country seat of Mr. and Mrs. Swi- 
hart is known in Fawn River Township as '^ Maple Street Farm" 
and is a credit to the township. 

Andrew N. Vieman is one of the most prominent of the 
farmers of White Pigeon township, and his entire life has been 
spent in this township. He was born here on the 21st of August, 
1858, a son of William Vieman, from the fatherland of Germany, 
bom there in November of 1823. William Vieman came to this 
country when a young man, a stone mason by trade, and he was 
married in New York to Margaret Callahart, bom in the year of 
1839. In December of 1858 they came to White Pigeon, Michigan, 
Mr. Vieman then turning his attention to farming, and both he 
and his wife are yet living on their homestead in White Pigeon 
township, honored early residents of the community. Five sons 
and five daughters blessed their marriage, as follows: Andrew N., 
Maggie, Tresa, Johanna, Emma, Ellen, William, Fred, Michael 
ajud George. 

Andrew N. Vieman attained to mature years on his father's 
farm in White Pigeon township, attending meanwhile until his 
fourteenth year, the Crooked Creek school, and finishing at the 
Barnes school. He left the parental home at the age of twenty- 
three, married, and began fanning for himself. He now owns 
eighty acres of land in section 36, a well kept and well improved 
farm on the north bank of Klinger Lake. This is a valuable estate, 
and it represents years of honorable effort and determined purpose, 
for he started out in life for himself a poor man. In politics he 
votes with the Democracy, and he has held several of the township 
offices. 

June 9, 1881, Mr. Vieman married Matilda Rhoades, born 
March 3, 1863, and reared in White Pigeon township, and a son, 



814 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Lyman W. Vieman, was bom to them on April 5, 1882. He at- 
tended the same district school which gave to his father his early 
educational training. The family are representative citizens of 
White Pigeon township. The beautiful country home of Mr. and 
Mrs. Yieman is known as ^*The Maples." 

Simon W. Nidy was bom in Portage county, Ohio, but he was 
only about nine years of age when he come to Michigan, and he has 
since resided within its borders, and has for a number of years past 
been one of the well known farmers and stock raisers of Fawn 
River township in St. Joseph county. He was bom on the 29th of 
March, 1857, to Adam and Nancy (Snider) Nidy, the father born on 
the 28th of April, 1825, and the mother on the 27th of February, 
1826. They came to Michigan in 1872, and locating in Kalamazoo 
they spent the remainder of their lives in that city, both dying in 
the year of 1892, the father on the 9th of October and the mother on 
the 4th of December. They had become the parents of eight chil- 
dren, four sons and four daughters. 

Simon Nidy began farm work in his early life, receiving in the 
meantime a district school training, and after coming to St. Joseph 
county he was married to Mary Moe, a daughter of Albert Moe. 
She was born on the farm where she now lives on May 26, 1857. A 
daughter, Emma, was born to Mr. and Mrs. Nidy on the 15th of 
June, 1883, and she was married to Lloyd E. Coler on the 17th of 
March, 1909. She attended both the common schools and the Stur- 
gis High School and was a teacher of drawing for one year before 
her marriage. She is not only proficient in her art of drawing but 
is also a splendid musician, a violinist of well known ability. Mr. 
Nidy is a Democratic voter but not an active politician, but he is 
one of the substantial and enterprising agriculturists of Fawn 
River township. He is a Unitarian in religious views. 

Alfred D. Miller. — One of the finest farming estates in Fawn 
River township is the property of Afred D. Miller, who is one of 
the township's native sons and a representative of old and well 
known families of St. Joseph county. He was bom on the 15th of 
October, 1857, a son of Adam and Nancy (Yan Ausdal) Miller, 
born respectfully in Ohio and in Pennsylvania, but they came to St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, in their early lives and were married and 
spent the residue of their days in Fawn River township. They be- 
came the parents of nine children, and seven of the number are 
living at this writing (1910). 



HISTOKY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 815 

Alfred D. Miller was early inured to the work of the farm, 
working in the fields during the summer months and attending the 
district schools during the winters, and thus he passed the early 
years of his life until he attained the age of eighteen, after which 
he gave his entire attention to the farm. He continued with his 
father until his marriage, and with his bride he then located on a 
little farm in Fawn River township, which continued as their home 
until moving to their present farm in the spring of 1894. The es- 
tate is located in sections 12, 13 and 14, and contains two hundred 
and fifteen acres of the richest and best improved land of the town- 
ship, constituting one of the most valuable estates in Fawn River, 
The place is devoted to general farming and stock raising, and Mr.. 
Miller devotes his time to looking after the estate, having relegated 
its actual work to others. He is a Democratic voter and one of the 
influential citizens of his community. 

On the 17th of September, 1882, Mr. Miller was married to 
Olive Deal, who was bom in Tuscarawas county, Ohio, October 13, 
1858, but accompanied her parents to Fawn River townhsip in St. 
Joseph county, Michigan, in her youth. A daughter, Zada, was 
born to them on the 11th of June, 1891, and she was educated in 
the common schools and in the Burr Oak High School, and has also 
received a good musical training. Mrs. Miller is a member of the 
United Brethren church at Fawn River. 

Christian Zabel is numbered among Sherman township's 
substantial citizens. He has resided within its borders during the 
greater part of his life, and he is well known to its residents and 
has proved a citizen of worth in its public life. He is one of its 
justices of the peace, and in October of 1907 was elected the super- 
intendent of the poor for a term of three years, being the present 
incumbent of the office. He owns an estate of one hundred and 
sixty-eight acres in sections 9 and 16, Sherman township, but owing 
to his skill as a carpenter the work of the farm has been carried on 
by his sons, although during the last two years he has devoted his 
attention entirely to his estate. 

Mr. Zabel is a native son of the Fatherland of Germany, born 
September 27, 1845, to Joseph and Carrie (Drager) Zabel. The 
wife and mother died during the early boyhood of her son, Chris- 
tian, and Joseph Zabel subsequently married Frederica Tedaman, 
who reared his children, and the family in 1857 came to the United 
States and settled in Genesee county. New York. After three 3^ears 
there they came to Sherman township, St. Joseph county, Michi- 



816 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

gan, arriving here in the spring of 1860, and Joseph Zabel spent 
the residue of his life here and died in 1875. He was a member of 
the Lutheran church. The three sons which were bom of his first 
marriage are John, Fred and Christian, and there were also two 
children by his second marriage : Mary, the wife of Charles Balk, 
and William, deceased. 

Christian Zabel was a lad of eleven years at the time of the 
emigration of the family to the United States, and in New York he 
continued the education begun in the Fatherland, continuing his 
studies until about sixteen years of age. He then spent two years 
at work on a farm, receiving but small wages in compensation for 
his services, and from the close of that period until 1864 he was an 
employe of the Lake Shore Railroad Company. Then going south 
to Chattanooga, Tennessee, he was in the employ of the govern- 
ment there until returning to Sherman, Michigan, in 1865, where he 
resumed work and later bought forty acres of land in Sherman 
township and continued its cultivation until 1870. He then began 
work at the carpenter's trade and continued along that line for 
forty years or more, at the same time giving more or less attention 
to his farm. He is one of Sherman township's oldest and best 
known residents, and is prominent in local Democratic circles. 

On the 23d of December, 1873, Mr. Zabel was united in mar- 
riage with Lena Brast, who was bom in Germany, July 6, 1856. 
She came to the United States in 1857, and her home thereafter 
was in the state of New York until she came with her family in 
1865 to Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. Zabel have become the parents 
of nine children, namely: Lillie, bom October 15, 1874; Fred, 
born May 7, 1878; Leda, bom June 27, 1880, deceased; Carrie, 
born April 28, 1883 ; Louis, April 14, 1885 ; Freda, March 9, 1887 ; 
Christ, December 23, 1888; Walter, April 7, 1891; and Frances, 
December 5, 1893. The children have all received good educational 
advantages. Mr. Zabel and his family are members of the German 
Lutheran church. 

Clinton J. Wolfinger was bom on the farm where he now 
lives in Sherman township, and he represents a family which has 
long been identified with St. Joseph county and its interests. His 
parents, Solomon and Leah (Smith) Wolfinger, were both from 
Pennsylvania, the mother from Bucks county, and they came to 
St. Joseph county, Michigan, before their marriage, in 1857. Their 
union, which occurred in this county, was blessed by the birth of 
eight children, and the following five are living at this writing: 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 817 

Clinton J. ; John A., in Colon, Michigan ; Margaret, the wife of C. 
H. Bemenderfer; Judson C, whose home is in Canton, Ohio, a trav- 
eling salesman ; and Gertrude, the wife of A. A. Timm, of the state 
of Idaho. 

Clinton J. Wolfmger, born on the 20th of September, 1860, has 
spent his entire life on the farm where he now lives, and it repre- 
sents the scenes of his boyhood and youth, of his first business ven- 
ture and his subsequent success as an agriculturist and business 
man. It contains one hundred and forty acres of rich and fertile 
land, all lying within Sherman township with the exception of 
twenty acres in Nottawa township, and it is a valuable and well 
improved estate. Mr. Wolfinger is a member of the directorate of 
the Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company in St. Joseph, and he is 
a Democratic voter. On the 2d of June, 1897, he married Dora 
Leyda, bom in Carroll county, Ohio, and their union has been with- 
out issue. 

Christopher Foss. — One of the highly esteemed citizens of 
Sherman township is Chritsopher Foss, whose life history furnishes 
a splendid example of what may be accomplished through deter- 
mined purpose and well directed efforts. He started out in life a 
poor boy, and has steadily worked his way upward, gaining at the 
same time success and the public esteem. He was born in Prussia, 
Germany, December 6, 1848, and his parents dying when he was 
but a year old he was adopted by John Foss and his wife and by 
them was brought to the United States in 1849. Their home after- 
ward was in New York until coming to St. Joseph county, Michi- 
gan, in 1852, and young Foss remained with his adopted parents 
until his marriage, working on the home farm and obtaining his 
education in the district schools. He now owns an estate of one 
hundred and twenty acres of well improved land in section 8, 
Sherman township, and this goodly estate represents many years of 
hard and persistent labor and years of purposes well directed. 

Mr. Foss married on the 7th of November, 1868, Ida Mecklen- 
berg, also from Prussia, Germany, bom on the 10th of November, 
1852, and who came with her parents in her early life to the United 
States and to Sherman township, St. Joseph county, Michigan ; she 
attended its district schools and grew to maturity here. The fol- 
lowing children have graced their marriage union, namely: Ma- 
tilda, born June 9, 1870, the wife of Andrew Jessy and a resident 
of Sturgis, Michigan; Lewis, bom November 29, 1872, living in 
Chicago; Anna, born February 9, 1874, is the wife of Fred Ded- 



818 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

rick, of Sherman township; Caroline, born February 24, 1880, is 
the wife of Henry Kruger and lives near Centerville, this state; 
Alta, born March 11, 1888, is the wife of Hugh Holtz ; and George, 
born March 17, 1891, is at home with his parents. Mr. Foss is one 
of Sherman township's Democratic voters, and he and his family 
are members of the Lutheran church. 

Frederick J. Kruger. — St. Joseph county numbers among her 
early settlers the Kruger family, and its representatives have been 
substantial citizens, taking an active and helpful part in the prog- 
ress and welfare of the community. Frederick J. Kruger was bom 
in Sherman township April 5, 1866, a son of Henry and Sophia 
(Hardwick) Kruger, both of whom came from their native land of 
Germany to the United States when young, and their marriage was 
celebrated in St. Joseph county, whither they had come from the 
state of New York in 1862 and the father spent the residue of his 
life here. Mrs. Kruger survives her first husband, and has been a 
second time married. Five sons were born of the first union, 
namely: George, F. J., Edward, William and Henry, all living in 
Sherman township with the exception of Henry, whose home is in 
Nottawa township. 

Frederick J. Kruger attained to mature years on his parents' 
farm in section 15, Sherman township, and from an early age he 
assisted in its work, attending the district schools during the win- 
ter months, and after his father's death he continued on the farm 
with his mother until his twentieth year. At the time of his mar- 
riage he bought land, which placed him in debt, and with the pass- 
ing years he has not only cleared his place of its indebtedness but 
has also added to its acreage until it now ocntains two hundred 
acres of rich and well cultivated land in section 18, Sherman town- 
ship. Its complete set of new and substantial buildings have been 
placed there by its present owner. 

On the 23d of March, 1886, Mr. Kruger was married to Anna 
Hecht, who was reared in Fawn River township, St. Joseph county. 
Her parents came from Germany. A daughter, Myrtie, was bom 
to them on the 8th of March, 1893, and a son, Clarence, was born on 
the 16th of June, 1897. The daughter is now a student in the Cen- 
terville High School. The family are members of the German 
Lutheran church. Mr. Kruger in politics is a Democrat. He 
served Sherman township two years as its treasurer, and is its 
present supervisor, in which position he is now serving his ninth 
year. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 819 

Alexander Sharp.— Although Alexander Sharp, the old-time 
farmer and honored citizen of Sherman township is in his seventy- 
first year, he is far from retired, but still takes a lively interest and 
an active part in the progress of the agricultural, public and relig- 
ious affairs of St, Joseph county, of which he has been a resident 
for the past thirty-five years. For a quarter of a century of that 
period he has occupied the fine country place formerly known as 
the Silas Cady farm of two hundred and twelve acres. Mr. Sharp 
has not only been active in farmers' institutes and served as presi- 
dent of the County Agricultural Association for four years, but 
was elected county treasurer in 1894, serving one term, and was re- 
nominated but was carried away by the wave of Bryanism which 
swept the county. There is no more ardent or stanch Republican 
than Mr. Sharp, and for twenty years he has represented his town- 
ship as a member of the county committees. As a typical Scotch- 
man he has also evinced his sturdy patriotism in the cause of the 
Union of his adopted country. 

Mr. Sharp was bom near the old town of Ayr, Scotland, on 
the 1st of August, 1839, his father, George Sharp, dying during 
that year. The result was that the widow brought her two children 
to live near her relatives in the town of Coalsnaughton, near the 
Frith of Forth. At the age of sixteen, with his mother, he emi- 
grated to the United States, going directly to Bellevue, Ohio, where 
he arrived May 4, 1856. After completing his education the youth 
worked steadily on a farm for some time, and in 1862 went to Sagi- 
naw, Michigan, as an employe of the salt works. While thus en- 
gaged he enlisted (November, 1862) in Company H, First Michi- 
gan Engineers' and Mechanics' Regiment, and remained in the 
service until the close of the war. 

Mr. Sharp was with his regiment throughout the Nashville, 
Chattanooga and Atlanta campaigns, and (being on detached duty 
at the time) witnessed the historic act of Major Anderson, April 
14, 1865, in the raising of the same flag and hanging of the same 
mail bag at Fort Sumter, which he was compelled to take down just 
four years before. Upon that occasion Henry Ward Beecher de- 
livered an eloquent oration on the Reconstruction of the States, 
which is still fresh in the mind of the Michigan veteran. Mr. Sharp 
also marched with Sherman's army to Washington, and partici- 
pated in the grand review before President Johnson and Generals 
Grant and Sherman, on the 22d of May, 1865. His regiment was 
mustered out of the service in October of that year, and Mr. Sharp 
returned to Bellevue, where his mother and brother still resided. 



820 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

On the 26th of October, 1869, Alexander Sharp was united in 
marriage to Miss Mary Ann Aigler, of Bellevue, and in March, 
1874, the family moved to Michigan, locating on a farm in section 
20, Nottawa township, which he had previously purchased. In 
March, 1884, just ten years thereafter, he located on his present 
homestead, and here he has reared a large family, lived a happy 
domestic life and earned honor for himself and his descendants. 
Besides becoming prominent as a progressive agriculturist and citi- 
zen of public affairs, he has served for a decade as president and 
treasurer of the Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company of St. 
Joseph county. He was long an active member of the Reformed 
church of Centerville. About two years ago that body went over 
to the Presbyterian church of which Mr. Sharp is now an elder. 
He is also president of the St. Joseph County Pioneer Society and 
has been for six years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sharp have raised to maturity and usefulness six 
sons and three daughters. The eldest, Clarence, is at present mak- 
ing the tour of Palestine with his wife; Chester D. and Elmer E. 
are Kansas City attorneys; Roy H. and Alexander T. are in Chi- 
cago, the latter having just completed a course in law; and Carmi 
G. is assisting in the farm work and management. One of the 
daughters, Oly, is married to William H. Arney, of Sherman town- 
ship; Blanche is the wife of Dr. L. H. Power, of Battle Creek, 
Michigan, and Lulu is Mrs. William Price of Fairfax, Colon town- 
ship. 

William F. Wahl is well known throughout Sherman town- 
ship and this vicinity because of his effective, earnest labors in be- 
half of the Republican party, being one of the few Republicans of 
Sherman township, and he is at the present time the chairman of 
the Republican Central Committee of the township. He is also 
well known as an agriculturist and stock raiser, owning a well im- 
proved estate of one hundred and five acres. 

Mr. Wahl was bom in Germany December 1, 1864, and is a 
splendid example of the enterprise and progressiveness of the Ger- 
man-American citizen. His parents, Carl and Hattie (Bower) 
Wahl, came from the Fatherland with their respective parents in 
1874 and located in Lockport township of St. Joseph county, Mich- 
igan, from whence they came to Sherman township in 1884. As 
soon as old enough the son, William, began working on the home 
farm, which he alternated with his attendance at the district 
schools until his twentieth year, and he continued on the home- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 821 

stead until his marriage at the age of twenty-five to Emma Senf, 
who was born in Lockport township, of St. Joseph county. Her 
splendid educational training included attendance at the common 
and high schools and the Three Rivers Business College, and she 
w^as one of St. Joseph county's teachers before her marriage. Af- 
ter their marriage in 1893 Mr. and Mrs. Wahl located on their 
present homestead in Sherman township. They have six children, 
namely : Willis, a graduate of the high school, John and Hazel, who 
are both high school students, and Melva, Carl and Blanche. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wahl are members of the Presbyterian church in Center- 
ville, and he is also affiliated with the Maccabees and with the M; 
W. A. Camp 840, of which he is also a charter member. 

William Meyer. — One of the prominent and respected citi- 
zens of Sherman township is William Meyer, who through strug- 
gles and hardships has worked his own way to high esteem and a 
place of prominence in his community. It was 1870 that he came 
to St. Joseph county and to the farm where he now lives in Sher- 
man township, and building a log house for himself and his young 
wife and a place for his team, he, in the midst of the forest, set to 
work to hew out a farm. He accomplished the arduous work in 
time and finally completed the many improvements which now 
adorn the homestead, including the erection of a splendid residence 
in 1883 and his substantial and commodious bam in 1877. This 
is now one of the best farms in Sherman township and includes 
one hundred and one acres, all well improved and fertile. 

Mr. Meyer was born in Ferken, City of Demmen, Province of 
Stettin, Prussia, Germany, September 1, 1843, a son of Christ and 
Marie (Brandt) Meyer. He was reared in his native land and 
educated in his native tongue, attending school until his fifteenth 
year, and he was then confirmed in the Lutheran church and 
turned his attention to farming. At the age of twenty-three he 
came from his native Fatherland to the United States, and making 
his way to Chicago, Illinois, he arrived in that city with four dol- 
lars as his entire capital. He worked for a farmer and also on the 
railroad, and in time was able to purchase a team of horses and 
work independently. In 1870 he came to St. Joseph county, Mich- 
igan, and in the following year of 1871 was married to Caroline 
Schacko, who w^as also bom in Prussia, and she came to the United 
States in 1867. They had known each other in their native land, 
and were also in Chicago at the same time. Their union has been 
blessed by the birth of seven children : John C, born in 1873, and 



822 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

now a farmer in Burr Oak township; August, bom in 1876, of 
Sherman township- Ida, bom March 24, 1878, the widow of Ed- 
ward Meyer ; Adam, born in 1880, living in Sturgis ; Louise, born 
in 1882, the wife of Edward Menelson; Fred, born October 26, 
1885 ; and Henry, born May 9, 1888. The family are members of 
the Lutheran church at Sturgis, and in politics Mr. Meyer is allied 
with the Democratic party. 

John Kasdobf is one of Sherman township's oldest and most 
highly esteemed residents and has been for many years one of its 
leading agriculturists. He was born in Glendoln, province of Stet- 
tin, Prussia, Germany, July 1, 1838, a son of Michael and Mary 
(Kasdorf) Kasdorf, who were of the same name but not related 
by the ties of blood. The son John at the age of seventeen years 
left his native Fatherland for the United States, where he arrived 
in the spring of 1856, a stranger in a strange land, unable even to 
speak the English language. His first employment in this country 
was on a farm in the state of New York, moving from there to La 
Porte county, Indiana, in August of 1856, where he secured em- 
ployment on the Lake Shore Railroad, and from there he went to 
Chicago, Illinois, and spent a year in that city. It was in the year 
of 1858 that he arrived in Sherman township, St. Joseph county, 
Michigan, and this place has continued his home since those early 
days. He had only about sixty dollars in money when he arrived 
here, and he worked first at farm labor and at threshing, thus ac- 
cumulating a small capital, and he was also identified for some time 
with the carpenter's trade. 

On the 6th of January, 1864, Mr. Kasdorf was united in mar- 
riage with Caroline Peters, who was born in Prussia, Germany, 
September 3, 1842, and she came to the United States in the fall of 
1856 and to St. Joseph county, Michigan. Their eight children 
are: Adam, a Burr Oak township agriculturist; Adeline, wife of 
Fred Hecht ; Louise, wife of Fred Sauer ; Minnie, the wife of Fred 
Michael; Ida, wife of Charles Wagnor; Helen, wife of Charles 
Eemer ; August, whose home is in Sherman township ; Emma, wife 
of Frank Michel. The family are members of the Evangelical 
Lutheran church at Sturgis. Mr. Kasdorf is a Democratic voter, 
and he has held many of the offices of his township, including those 
of justice of the peace, treasurer and the supervisor from 1882 un- 
til 1900, his incumbency in the latter office covering eighteen years. 
He and wife own a valuable estate of two hundred and twenty- 
five acres in Sherman township, and although advanced in years 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 823 

he superintends the work of his large farm and is active in the 
public life of his community. Mr. and Mrs. Kasdorf are numbered 
among the old and honored settlers of Sherman township, esteemed 
for their true worth of character. 

'1 

Albert Nallinger is numbered among the substantial and 
successful farmers and stock raisers of Sherman township, St. 
Joseph county. He was born in Germany on the 13th of November, 
1854, and his parents, Francis and Rose Nallinger, were born, 
reared and spent their lives in that country. After leaving school 
at the age of fourteen Albert Nallinger farmed for three years, and 
then for two years attended an agricultural college, after which he 
was employed as an overseer of a number of farms for nine years. 
In 1882 he emigrated to the United States, and locating in Noble 
township, Branch county, Michigan, he was employed at farm la- 
bor there for three and a half years. He was married at this time, 
and the young couple located in Sturgis, where Mr. Nallinger was 
employed as a section man on the Grand Rapids and Illinois Rail- 
road until moving to Sturgis township, where for nine years he 
farmed as a renter. At the close of that period, in 1899, he came 
to Sherman township and bought his present farm of one hundred 
and ninety-two acres, where he is extensively engaged in farming 
and stock raising. 

Mary Kalberer became the wife of Mr. Nallinger. She was 
born in Germany on the 7th of July, 1862, and was twenty years of 
age when she came to the United States and to Sturgis, Michigan. 
The five children which have been bom of their marriage are : Emil, 
born March 25, 1888, is a teacher in the Elkhart, Indiana, Busi- 
ness College ; Carl, born May 15, 1891 ; Dora, born May 25, 1893 ; 
Gustav v., born December 27, 1897 and Esther, bom November 13, 
1904. The family are members of the German Lutheran church at 
Sturgis, and in politics Mr. Nallinger upholds the principles of the 
Republican party, but he is an independent voter and not bound 
by party ties. 

Bekjamin F. Sheldon, an extensive grain dealer, living at 
Burr Oak, Michigan, was bom in La Grange county, Indiana, June 
29, 1841, son of Dr. William and Chloe (Goodsall) Sheldon. Dr. 
Sheldon was born in the state of New York, and after moving to In- 
diana practiced medicine; he had graduated from a fine medical 
institution and stood high in his profession. He was a public- 
spirited citizen and liberal in his views. He worked considerable 



824 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

among the poor, from whom he did not try to collect his fees, and 
did a great deal for the betterment of the community in which he 
lived. Dr. Sheldon died in 1852, but his wife survived him many 
years, passing away in Burr Oak, Michigan, in 1903. They were 
parents of but one child, Benjamin F. 

The early days of Benjamin F. Sheldon were spent on a farm, 
and he attended school in his native county until twelve years of 
age; he then removed with his parents to Orleans, Indiana, where 
he attended school until he was seventeen years old. He worked 
on a farm in the summer time and attended the district school win- 
ters, and then attended the academy at La Grange, Indiana. 

In February, 1861, Mr. Sheldon married Sarah Eichards, a 
native of Branch county, Michigan, and they moved to a farm in 
that county, in Noble township, where he purchased 160 acres of 
land, eighty acres of which was partially cleared, and the rest in 
the woods. After living on this farm three years he sold it at a 
nice profit ; later he purchased another eighty acres, which he sold 
at a profit, and in 1865 removed to Burr Oak township, St. Joseph 
county, where he purchased 160 acres of land one mile south of the 
town of Burr Oak. He lived on this place two years, after which 
he sold it at a good price, and invested in another farm, which he 
soon sold, also at a profit. He then located in Burr Oak, where he 
began buying grain, and has since dealt etxensively in this commod- 
ity. While at times he has lost some money, yet in the main Mr. 
Sheldon has done very well financially, and has proven himself a 
business man of ability, good judgment and enterprise. 

Politically Mr. Sheldon is a Eepublican, and he served at one 
time as Supervisor of Burr Oak ; he is a public-spirited citizen, and 
accounted one of the representative men of the county. Mr. Shel- 
don has money invested outside of his grain business, and is a stock- 
holder in the National Bank, of Burr Oak. 

Mr. Sheldon and his wife became parents of two sons, — Frank, 
who died at the age of twelve years, and F. W., a grain buyer at 
Angola, Indiana. Mrs. Sheldon died in the fall of 1901 and Mr. 
Sheldon married (second) Miss Jessie Maude Lyons. 

Dr. F. W. Clements, a prominent physician and surgeon of 
Burr Oak, St. Joseph county, Michigan, graduate of Detroit Medi- 
cal College, was born at Laingsburg, Michigan, December 5, 1876. 
He is a son of George W. Clements, and was reared on a farm, 
receiving his primary education in the common schools and Laings- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 825 

burg High School. He entered Detroit Medical College in 1901, 
and was graduated May 4, 1905. 

Dr. Clements has been engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion at Burr Oak since 1906, locating in that town in May, of that 
year, taking an office over the State Bank. He is a member of the 
Phi Rho Sigma, of his college, was secretary of his class in his sen- 
ior year, and is now president of St. Joseph Medical Society. He 
is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, being con- 
nected with Eagle Lodge, No. 124 ; Benevolent Protective Order of 
Elks, Coldwater Lodge No. 1023; Modem Woodmen of America, 
Camp No. 5698, and Royal Neighbors, No. 4654. 

In 1902 Dr. Clements married Genevieve M. Pratt, a native of 
Grand Rapids, Wisconsin ; she was a graduate of high school, had 
passed the necessary government examination, and had taught two 
years among the Indians at Hyword, Wisconsin. Dr. Clements 
and his wife have one son, Floyd Wayne. Dr. Clements is actively 
interested in all measures for progress and improvement, is a pub- 
lic-spirited citizen, well known and highly esteemed in the com- 
munity. He stands high in his profession, and his high character 
and professional ability have won him many friends. Politically 
he is a Republican, and he is a prominent member of the State Med- 
ical Society, and of the American Medical Association. 

Robert Akey, who has lived in St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
most of his life, owns a large farm, where he carries on general 
farming and stock-raising. He was bom in Defiance county, Ohio, 
September 8, 1864, son of J. B. and Mary E. (Yates) Akey. J. B. 
Akey and his wife were both natives of Pennsylvania, the former 
bom in Fredericksburg, and both were brought as children, by 
their parents, to Ohio, where they grew to maturity and married. 
In the fall of 1864 they removed to St. Joseph county, Michigan, 
settling on a farm near Burr Oak. He became a prosperous farmer 
and owned 180 acres; later he purchased fifty acres more. Mr. 
Akey made a specialty of stock-raising, and became a very prosper- 
ous man. He was quiet and unassuming, and a strong Republican. 
He was a member and elder of the Presbyterian church. J. B. 
Akey had four children, of whom three survive, namely: William 
B., of California; J. B., also of Calif omia, and Robert. 

When his parents removed to Michigan, Robert Akey was a 
babe, and he has spent his entire life since in St. Joseph county; 
he was reared on a farm and attended school in Burr Oak. When 
he reached his majority he engaged in farming and stock-raising, 



826 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

and has been very successful, being now the owner of 450 acres of 
land in Burr Oak township; he has earned a large part of his 
property himself, raising sheep, cattle and horses, and he also buys 
cattle for feeding, in carload lots, and afterwards ships them to 
market. Mr. Akey is an enterprising, wide-awake farmer, and 
has acquired his present success by industry, thrift and economy. 
He is a public-spirited citizen, and takes a keen interest in public 
affairs. Mr. Akey is a good business man and has money invested 
in various enterprises, he is a stockholder in the two banks of Burr 
Oak. 

Fraternally Mr. Akey is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, Coldwater Lodge, and of Eagle Lodge, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, Sturgis Chapter and Columbus 
Commandery, Knights Templars. He has travelled some, is well 
known in the community where he lives, and is highly esteemed. 

George W. Baumeister. — Farming has attracted many men 
who have begun their active business life engaged in other occupa- 
tions, but have recognized the fact that very good profits could be 
obtained from agricultural pursuits. George Baumeister, of Burr 
Oak township, was well educated in music, and in early life gave 
private lessons in instrumental mu^ic, but later on gave it up in 
order to give his best efforts and attention to the care of his farm. 
He was bom in the township where he now lives, January 19, 1861, 
a son of John and Sophia (Stull) Baumeister. John Baumeister 
was born in Germany, and married November 20, 1859 ; he had only 
one son, George W. 

In his native township George W. Baumeister was reared and 
he attended the Burr Oak schools. He married, January 25, 1888, 
Ella Trost, who was bom September 12, 1864, and was reared on a 
farm in Colon township; she attended the common schools. They 
became parents of children as follows: Maude, bom June 15, 1889, 
now a student of Bush Temple Conservatory, of Chicago, Hlinois; 
Clara, bom January 21, 1892; Lena, bom August 28, 1893, and 
John, February 7, 1899. They are all members of the Lutheran 
church, of Burr Oak, Mr. Baumeister being one of the trustees. 
Politically Mr. Baumeister is a Demoerat, and takes a commenda- 
ble interest in public affairs. He is an intelligent, progressive 
farmer, who well deserves the success he has achieved. He has 
two hundred and sixty acres of land in sections 2 and 11, where he 
carries on general farming and stoek-raising. He is well known in 
the community, and has a host of friends. 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 827 

F. C. KiNSEY, M. D. — St. Josph county is favored in the per- 
sonnel of its representatives of the medical profession, and num- 
bered among those who stand unmistakably as able and popular dis- 
ciples of Aesculapius within the county is Dr. Kinsey, who is es- 
tablished in the successful practice of his profession in the city of 
Three Rivers and who is known as a man of fine intellectual and 
professional attainments. Dr. Kinsey reverts to the fine old 
Hoosier state as the place of his nativity, as he was born in the 
city of Ft. Wayne, Indiana, on the 10th of February, 1877. He is 
the son of J. J. and Letitia (Palmer) Kinsey, both of whom were 
likewise bom in Indiana, the father having been a native of Switz- 
erland and Mrs. Kinsey being of stanch Scottish lineage. Of the 
two children the subject of the sketch is the younger, and Edward 
A., is now a resident of New York City. J. J. Kinsey has been 
identified with manufacturing enterprises during the greater part 
of his active business career and he and his wife are now residents 
of Saginaw, Michigan. 

When Dr. Kinsey was young his parents removed to Grand 
Rapids, Michigan, in whose public schools he gained his early edu- 
cational training. After his graduation in the high school he was 
matriculated in the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, in 
which he was graduated in 1901 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. In 1903 he received the degree of Master of Arts from the 
Northwestern University, at Evanston, Illinois. While a student 
in the literary department of the University of Michigan he at- 
tended lectures in the medical department of the institution for 
two years and for three years was a regular student in that depart- 
ment. He completed his medical course, however, in the medical 
department of the Northwestern University, from which he re- 
ceived his degree of Doctor of Medicine. After his graduation Dr. 
Kinsey returned to Grand Rapids, Michigan, where he served for 
some time as interne and general assistant in Butterworth Hos- 
pital. In this connection he gained most valuable clinical experi- 
ence. While incumbent of this position he was tendered the post 
of assistant surgeon in the Michigan Soldiers Home, at Grand Rap- 
ids, but he deemed it expedient to establish himself in the private 
practice of his profession and accordingly came to Three Rivers, 
in 1904. Here he has met with unqualified success in the work of 
his profession, having gained precedence as an earnest and skill- 
ful physician and surgeon and as one who keeps constantly in touch 
with advances made in both departments of his chosen vocation. 

Vol. 11—20 



828 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

The doctor is a valued member of the St. Joseph County Medi- 
cal Society, of which he is secretary and treasurer at the time of 
this writing, in 1910. He also holds membership in the Michigan 
State Medical Society, the American Medical Association and the 
American Academy of Medicine. He is affiliated with the Masonic 
fraternity and the Knights of Pythias. Dr. Kinsey has social char- 
acteristics of the most attractive type and this fact has contributed 
materially to his personal popularity in the city in which he has 
elected to establish his home. 

Franklin C. Marantette. — The late Franklin C. Marantette 
was a representative of one of the old and honored families of St. 
Joseph county with whose annals the name has been prominently 
identified since early pioneer days. The lineage, as the name indi- 
cates, is French and the family was founded in America in Colonial 
days. His parents were Patric and Frances (Moutaw) Marantette, 
the father being a descendant of the Navarres who until the time 
of the Civil war conducted one of the leading French trading posts 
for the Indians. The mother was a descendant of the Moutaws, 
who were among the first settlers in this territory. Patric Maran- 
tette was one of the earliest settlers in Mendon township, with 
whose civic and industrial history the name has been prominently 
identified for more than three-quarters of a century. There were 
ten children in the family and of this number the following six 
survive: Mrs. William McLoughlin of Sturgis, Michigan; Mrs. I. 
A. Bosset of Detroit; Mrs. J. R. Wilhelm of Defiance, Ohio; and 
three brothers, — W. W. ; P. H. and L. E., all of Mendon, Michigan. 

Franklin C. Marantette was born in St. Joe county on the 20th 
of May, 1842, and spent almost his entire life in the township 
which had witnessed his birth. The pioneer schools of Mendon 
tow^nship afforded Mr. Marantette his early educational advan- 
tages, his training for life being completed in Notre Dame Univer- 
sity and Toronto College. He was also reared to the sturdy disci- 
pline of the farm and never severed his allegiance to the great basic 
industry of agriculture and the home farm where his death oc- 
curred was developed by him. He was one of the few remaining 
pioneers of the section and to converse with him w^as both delight- 
ful and beneficial for his memory of events in the locality was re- 
markable and he well remembered the laying of the foundation of 
the town of Mendon. He owned at the time of his death a fine es- 
tate of three hundred and twenty acres, the present home of his 
widow and family. He was a man of sterling integrity and com- 



w 



w 

n 

w 

o 



> 



^t3 
O 
O g 

> w 

d 



> 

r 



p 

> 
> 

"Z 
H 
W 
H 
H 
W 



«»i«'«l 



tJi- 






isi^i'. 









■^^,, 



Z'^U, 






HISTORY OP ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 831 

manded the implicit confidence and esteem of the community in 
which his life was passed. He was a Democrat in political alle- 
giance and his religious faith was that of the Catholic church, he 
and his family being communicants of St. Edward's church, in the 
village of Mendon. Although it was known that he was in poor 
health, his death came as a shock to his friends and neighbors and 
indeed to many throughout this part of the state of which he was 
a representative and influential citizen. Impressive obsequies were 
held on August 17, 1908, in St. Edward's church and he was laid 
to rest in the adjacent cemetery beside the loved ones who had pre- 
ceded him. To quote from an appreciation in a local paper: ''Ht; 
was a very cheerful as well as a popular and charitable man. He 
always had a pleasant smile and word for those passing his home, 
and was always ready to help the poor or give his assistance to 
those who needed it, thereby gaining many friends. Spending verv' 
little time away from his family, he will be especially missed in the 
home which he loved so much and where he was always seen. ' ' 

Mr. Marantette was twice married, the first time on the 26th 
of August, 1870, to Miss Emma Johnson who died in the following 
year. He was again married on June 15, 1881, to Miss Mary 
Ewing, daughter of Robert and Mary (Connor) Ewing, both ol 
whom were natives of Ireland. Both of them emigrated to Amer- 
ica in their youth and were married in the east. They lived for a 
time in the state of New York and later came to St. Joseph county, 
numbering themselves among the pioneer settlers of Mendon town- 
ship. Robert Ewing was a soldier in the Civil war, belonging to 
Company E, Twenty-seventh Michigan Volunteer Infantry. He 
gave up his life for the country of his adoption being killed in the 
Battle of the Wilderness in June, 1864. The mother survived him 
for many years, dying in Mendon township. May 29, 1892. They 
became the parents of three children, namely: Sarah E., who is 
the wife of P. H. Marantette of Mendon township; Mary A., the 
widow of the subject of this memoir; and Jennie M., the wife of 
William English. 

Concerning the children of the second marriage of Mr. Maran- 
tette the following brief record is given. Franklin Leo is a resident 
of the city of Indianapolis ; M. Adelaide who was born on the 25th 
of July, 1884, became the wife of Grant Fisher, and her death 
occurred on March 9, 1908 ; Loretta C, who was born on the 15th 
of September, 1886, remains on the old homestead with her wid- 
owed mother; as do also Joseph H., who was born on the 2d of De- 
cember, 1892, and Ruth B., who was born on the 20th of August, 



832 HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

1899. A third son, Eobert, died in February, 1892. All of the 
children were afforded the advantages of the public schools of Men- 
don, as well as those of Nazareth Academy, in the city of Kalama- 
zoo. The two elder daughters, M. Adelaide and Loretta C, be- 
came successful and popular teachers in the public schools of their 
home county. Mrs. Marantette is a communicant of St. Edward's 
church in Mendon, and the attractive Marantette home is known 
as the center of generous hospitality. 

G. C. Hill, superintendent of the plant of the Oscar Felt & 
Paper Company, of White Pigeon, was bom in Kentucky in 1880. 
Thrown upon his own resources at the age of fourteen, he began 
learning his trade, and when he had finished, began working at 
ninety cents per day as a start. By strict application to the work 
he had in hand, and untiring energy and industry, Mr. Hill was 
promoted from time to time, and in 1905 he was made superinten- 
dent of the General Roofing Manufacturing Company plant at 
Marseilles, Illinois, where he remained four years. He assumed 
his present position July 17, 1909, and has proven his ability and 
fitness for the position from the first. Though he is comparatively 
young in years, his experience has been valuable, along the line of 
his work, and his employes give him their hearty support in all 
ways. Mr. Hill is a man of keen perceptions and good business 
instinct, and stands well in the community. Mr. Hill married 
Pearl Smock, of Willington, Illinois, and they have three children, 
Ethel, Harry and James. 

The plant of Oscar Felt & Paper Company was erected in 
1908, and the concern is operated by a stock company. They ope- 
rate one of the largest paper machines in the country, having two 
cylinders, eighty-one dryers, one stack of calenders and a winder. 
They manufacture dry roofing, felt and paper; the building is 
580 by 85 feet, two stories high, made of brick. They have sixteen 
beading engines, four rag cutters and three refining engines. The 
capacity of the plant is about forty-five tons of paper daily, and 
the product is sold in carload lots. The enterprise has been a 
marked success, and has a promising future, having at its head some 
of the most substantial citizens of the community. 

Isaac S. Ulrich, who died thirty -two years ago, was one of 
the earlist and most useful pioneers of Park township and St. 
Joseph county, migrating to the territory of Michigan in the early 
thirties, when the Indians were still lingering in their reservations 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 833 

and around their old hunting grounds. As a skillful surveyor he 
staked out Indian lands whi(3h were thrown open to the settlement 
of the whites, ran lines for plank roads through the wilderness 
and eventually was identified with the building of the pioneer rail- 
roads. In his more personal relations he was a farmer and a splen- 
did type of the domestic man. 

Mr. Ulrich was bom in Harden Creek township, Berks county, 
Pennsylvania, on the 12th of May, 1801, his father having been a 
paper manufacturer of that section, of German ancestry, if not 
parentage. Early in life the son commenced to work in his fath- 
er's mill, and continued to reside in Pennsylvania until 1834, when 
he placed his wife, five children and household goods in a wagon 
and commenced his journey overland to the frontier territory of 
Michigan. Although he had a good team of horses, it took him six 
weeks to penetrate the forests and ford the streams which lay be- 
tween his old home and his destination on the east side of Fisher's 
lake, Park township. At that time the greater portion of Michi- 
gan was government land and, after entering the northeast quarter 
of section 35, that township, he entered government employ as a 
surveyor of Pottawatomie and Nottawa Indian reservations. St. 
Joseph river was then the great highway of commerce; later, the 
plank road was built from Kalamazoo to Grand Rapids. For years 
afterward the latter was used by the farmers who found their near- 
est markets at those points for their grain and other produce. 

For years after his coming Mr. Ulrich also enjoyed a wonder- 
ful abundance of game around his homestead, his first season yield- 
ing him one hundred and twenty-six deer within his own lands, 
while turkeys and squirrels were *Hoo numerous to mention" 
While not employed in surveying, he mainly devoted himself to the 
cultivation of his farm, which readily and abundantly responded 
to his efforts. When Mr. Ulrich first located in the township he 
built a substantial log cabin which accommodated his rapidly grow- 
ing family for twenty years. Eventually he erected a large and 
comfortable frame residence, in which he died at the age of sev- 
enty-six, in 1877. The deceased had married Miss Elizabeth Leach, 
bom in Union county, Pennsylvania, in 1804, daughter of John 
Leach, also of that state. Mrs. Ulrich survived until 1898, when 
she died in her ninety-fifth year, mother of the following: La- 
fayette W. F.; Johanna M. C, who died at the age of twelve; 
Peter I. L., Sarah C. E., John J. J., Madison J. M. ; Belinda E. N. ; 
Susanna M. M. and Johanna M. C, twins; Cyrus V. H., Josiah M. 
D. and Albert W. 



834 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Joshua Wagner was an honored and venerable pioneer of St. 
Joseph county, where he maintained his home since the time of his 
birth, and was a member of a family whose name has been insep- 
arably identified with the annals of the county for nearly three 
quarters of a century. He had been a resident of Colon township 
from his infancy, as his parents, Peter and Catherine (Peters) Wag- 
ner, here took up their residence in the year 1835, about two years 
before the admission of Michigan to statehood. He was born in 
Center county, Pennsylvania, on the 21st of October, 1834, and was 
thus an infant at the time of the family removal to Michigan. He 
was reared to the sturdy discipline of the pioneer farm and his edu- 
cational advantages were those afforded in the primitive log school- 
house with its puncheon floor and slab benches. He contributed 
his quota to the reclamation of the home farm, which was a forest 
wilderness at the time of the location of the family in Colon town- 
ship, and it has been his to witness and assist in the development of 
this section of the country into one of the most opulent and 
attractive divisions of the state of Michigan. The homestead, 
comprising eighty acres, is an integral part of the land se- 
cured from the government by his father many years ago and 
the same is one of the well improved farms which lend attractive- 
ness and stability to St. Joseph county. Mr. Wagner not only 
showed a deep interest in all that touched the welfare of the com- 
munity, but was also liberal and public spirited in his attitude. He 
was a Democrat in his political allegiance and with his wife held 
membership in the Methodist Episcopal church at Colon. 

On the 7th of April, 1855, Mr. Wagner was united in marriage to 
Miss Mary Ann Snook, who was born in Pennsylvania, on the 6th of 
May, 1835, and whose death occurred in September, 1874. She was 
a daughter of William and Rebecca Snook, who were numbered 
among the sterling pioneers of St. Joseph county. Concerning the 
children of this marriage the following data are entered — Minerva, 
who was bom on the 18th of June, 1857, was the wife of Don Good- 
rich of Fairfax, Michigan ; she died November 11, 1909 ; Fransina, 
bom on the 12th of April, 1860, became the wife of Louis Baker, of 
Burr Oak township, St. Joseph county, where she died on the 14th 
of October, 1907 ; Charles, who was bom on the 29th of February, 
1865, married Miss Caroline Goodwin and they reside in Leonidas 
township. On the 25th of April, 1879, Mr. Wagner contracted a 
second marriage, being then united to Miss Margaret Boyer, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Catherine (Kline) Boyer, of Union City, Branch 
county, Michigan. Three children were born to the second mar- 



HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 835 

riage, namely : Hiram, who was born on the 9th of January, 1881, 
is employed as a painter by the Michigan Central Railroad Com- 
pany; he married Miss Jennie McLeod of Bay City, Michigan. 
Joseph Ray, born on the 1st of April, 1886, is likewise employed by 
the Michigan Central Railroad Company and resides at home ; and 
Neal, who was born on the 17th of August, 1888, was drowned in 
the lake at Colon, on the 29th of December, 1905. Mr. Wagner 
died May 12, 1910. The following is taken from an obituary printed 
in the Colon Express of May 19th : 

In life's school from his first consciousness he has always an- 
swered ''Present'' to its duties and its responsibilities, its joys and 
its sorrows, its disappointments and its accomplishments. He has 
never been a shirk but was always up and doing and was a success. 
There have been no vacations and no recesses. Life was real to him 
and time too precious to spend in loitering. He accepted its pun- 
ishments and its rewards and strove with all his might to learn life's 
lessons and finally merit the approbation of the Supreme Teacher. 
While he was increasingly conscious of the stem realities of life, he 
was also keenly alive to its beauties and refinements, and to him 
nature spoke in lessons of joy and beauty. He lived close to nature 
and in it saw the handiwork of his Creator. 

His parents brought him to Michigan when but two years of age 
and he has ever since resided in Colon township, witnessing its 
transformation from a wilderness to a garden. That he had en- 
deared himself to his neighbors was evidenced by the large com- 
pany present at his funeral and the unusual respect and esteem 
shown by countenances and words. 

Of his father's family of twelve children, six sisters and three 
brothers survive. 

His illness has been long and most distressing. For the last 
thirty-six days of his life no nourishment was accepted by his dis- 
ease stricken body and though his sons and wife, to whom he was 
tenderly attached, were unceasing in their devotion to him he longed 
for relief from his suffering. His funeral occurred at his home on 
Saturday and was conducted by his pastor, Rev. J. C. Cook. He was 
laid to rest in Lakeside cemetery. 

John C. Thoms, a prominent grocer of Three Rivers, was born 
in Lockport township, this county, on the 10th of May, 1852, and is 
a son of J. F. and Eleanor (Dougherty) Thoms. He is the third 
born and the younger son, the other members of the family being as 
follows: Alice, wife of Alfred R. Klose, of Sherwood, Michigan; 



836 HISTORY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 

Fannie, wife of A. A. McKey, of Chicago ; and Frank J., who died at 
Sherwood, Michigan, at the age of fifty-five years. 

J. F. Thorns, the father of this family, was born in the canton 
of Neufchatel, Switzerland, July 28, 1813. The grandfather was an 
honored soldier in the army of Napoleon the Great, and, what was 
more to the purpose, was a man of industrious and unblemished pri- 
vate life. At the age of four years, J. F. was brought by his par- 
ents to Philadelphia, where he was educated and assisted his father 
in various mercantile pursuits until 1836. In that year, at the age 
of twenty-three, he located in St. Joseph county and commenced to 
clear a tract of land entered by his father and which he subsequently 
purchased and improved. 

The senior Mr. Thoms not only prospered in a material sense, but 
in the way of building up a character in whose ability and probity 
his fellows had firm confidence. At different times he was elected 
assessor, justice and commissioner of the corporation of Three 
Eivers, and reached a high station in Masonry. In politics he was 
a stanch Democrat and in his religious connection, a faithful Meth- 
odist. He was married twice — in 1838 to Louisa Friedelin, and three 
years after her death in 1840 to Miss Eleanor Dougherty, of Branch 
county, Michigan, who became the mother of John C. Thoms. 

Mr. Thoms, of this review, was reared in his native township, 
and attended local schools until he was fifteen years of age, when he 
took advantage of the more complete educational advantages of 
Three Rivers. He then began his business career as clerk in the 
employ of Barkman & Thorp, grocers of that city. With them he 
remained six years and in March, 1876, formed a partnership with 
Jacob Dunham, the firm being known as ''Jake & Jack." They 
continued associated for sixteen years, when Mr. Dunham became 
sole proprietor of the business and Mr. Thoms established the gro- 
cery which he has since continued so successfully. He has been en- 
gaged continuously in this line of business, at Three Rivers, for a 
period of forty-one years — ^the oldest grocer in the city — and 
throughout his long career ha^ built up a high reputation for honest 
dealing and close attention to the varied wants of his customers. 

Mr. Thoms has spent his entire life in Lockport township and, 
outside his business, is widely and favorably known, as he has al- 
ways taken an active part in public affairs and used his strong 
influence in the furtherance of any good cause. In his political 
views, he is decidedly Democratic. He is also a leading Mason, 
having advanced from the Blue Lodge through the Shrine and held 
many offices in the different bodies of the order. 

In 1875 John C. Thoms married Ella A., daughter of Theodore 
and Rosann (Clubine) Troy, who died in 1904, leaving three chil- 



HISTOEY OF ST. JOSEPH COUNTY 837 

dren, namely: Gertrude, wife of J. Frank Starr, of Three Elvers ; 
Athol, wife of W. J. Predmore, also of that city; and Jim E., a min- 
ing engineer. In 1906 Mr. Thorns married (second) Mrs. Eose M. 
(Davis) Grout, daughter of Gharles Davis and widow of Norman 
Grout. The family homestead consists of a good farm of eighty 
acres two miles northeast of Three Eivers and a substantial, com- 
fortable residence. 



INDEX 



Abiel Fellows Chapter, D.A.R., Three 

Rivers, 350. 
Abbott, Ira C, 265-6. 
Adams, Isaac O., 145, 440. 
Adams, Paulina, 809. 
Adams, Samuel P., 327. 
Akey, Robert, 825. 
Alba Columba Club, 448. 
Allen, Albert, 146. 
Allen, John, 203. 
Allen, Moses, 32, 199. 
Allman, William, 359, 364-5. 
Amidon, E. S., 374. 
Amulet, David B., 299. 
Anderson, John W., 42, 79, 91, 144-5, 

294-7. 
Andrews, Bishop E., 129, 130, 304-5, 

325 335 
Andrews, E. H., 304-5, 336. 
Andrews, Lucy (Fellows), 305, 350-1. 
Andrews, Norman S., 92, 278, 325. 
Antes, David D., 51. 
Anthony, Henry L., 374, 778. 
Arlen, Henry, 446. 
Arney, Daniel L., 807. 
Arney, John, 338. 
Arney, William, 338, 341. 
Arnold, Duane D., 333. 
Arnold, George E., 334. 
Arnold, Lydia, 176. 
Arnold (Dr. Orin B.) & Son, 331. 
Arnold, T. L., 337. 
Arnold, William F., 103, 175-6, 121, 

345. 
Ash, George A., 611. 
Ashley, W. Irving, 94, 423. 
Aulsbrook & Jones Furniture Co., 373, 
Aulsbrook, M. E., 358, 373-4. 
Avery, L. G., 282. 
Avery, 0. T., 333, 335-6. 

Bacon, Nathaniel, 291. 

Bailey, Isaac G., 92, 223, 224. 

Bailey, Romanzo J. E., 260. 

Bair, William, 155, 156. 

Baird Skirt Company, 430. 

Baker, John J., 252, 253, 254. 

Balch, Nathaniel, 301. 

Baldwin, Frank D., 252, 253, 255, 282. 

Ball, Albert E., 440. 

Bancker, Floris, 184. 



Bandholtz, Harry H., 283. 

Barker, Myron H., 627. 

Barnard, William E., 327, 335. 

Barnard, William H., 378, 549. 

Barnes, Almeron R., 615. 

Barnett, J. N., 387-8. 

Barnum, Joshua, 81. 

Barrows, David, 392. 

Barry, Charles, 376. 

Barry, John S., 145, 149, 169, 292, 
300, 375, 376, 379. 

Bartholomew, Joseph, 187. 

Bassett, Isaac C, 348. 

Bateman, David M., 292, 327. 

Baumeister, George W., 826. 

Baxter, Levi, 148, 149, 151. 

Beadle, Michael, 163, 165, 176, 217, 
218. 

Bean, Lyman, 173. 

Bear, Asa, 166. 

Bearss, Truman, 195, 196. 

Beatty, C. J., 333. 

Beatty, Frank E., 333. 

Beaver, C. G., 399. 

Beckley, David R., 406. 

Beckwith, Levi, 159. 

Beerstecher, Albert, 630. 

Beisel, George W., 106, 151. 

Bell, Digbv V., 292. 

Belote, Abel, 211, 213. 

Belote, Isaac R., 87. 

Bench and Bar — State Supreme Court, 
284, 287; first judges, 285; division 
of legislative and judicial, 286; 
state supreme court as a separate 
body, 289; circuit court judges, 289; 
probate court judges, 292; pioneer 
probate matters, 294; first regu- 
lar court room, 296; the old county 
court, 296; first lawyer admitted 
to the bar, 298; pioneer lawyers, 
300; attorneys of 1877, 305; law- 
yers of today, 305. 

Benedict, Myron C, 242. 

Benham. Isaac, 170. 

Benham, Tower S., 264. 

Benjamin, J. Murray, 557. 

Bennett, Asa, 386, 425, 426. 

Bennett, Benjamin C, 242, 245. 

Bergstresser, Peter, 387. 

Beuchterlein, Louis G., 346. 



839 



840 



INDEX 



Bingaman, Calvin M., 640. 

Bishop, James L., 366. 

Black Hawk, 22, 29. 

Black Hawk War, 236. 

Blass, Levi B., 800. 

Bliss, W. W., 45. 

Blood, Charles L., 334, 697. 

Blood, Mary E., 700. 

Blue, Isaac, 445. 

Blue, John, 380. 

Blue, Minnie, 436. 

Boardman, W. E., 379, 418. 

Boles, Thomas H., 624. 

Bonebright, Henry, 107, 747. 

Bonebright, Jacob, 169. 

Bonham, Asher, 119. 

Bordner, Benjamin F., 809. 

Bosset, Alice (Marantette), 18. 

Boss, Charles, 408. 

Bothamley, George T., 775. 

Bothwell, C. L., 336. 

Botting, L. J., 381. 

Bourn, Ezra, 412. 

Bower, Adam, 396, 398. 

Bowman, John H., 163, 164, 167, 211, 
310, 391, 394. 

Bowman, William F., 211, 394, 398, 
400. 

Boyer, C. A., 429, 430, 431. 

Boyer, (C. A.) Lumber Company, 429. 

Boynton, Jeremiah, 432. 

Brady, Anna, 381. 

Branch, A. L., 399. 

Brezee, Harry H., 182. 

Brody, Lewis K., 590. 

Bronson & Doan, 402. 

Brosy, J. D., 345. 

Brown, Eldredge, 402. 

Brown, Hazen W., 252. 

Brown, Joseph, 708. 

Brown, Melvin, 402. 

Brown, William, 365. 

Buck, George W., 42, 47, 81, 162, 164, 
165, 176, 183, 195, 196, 197, 314, 
356, 744. 

Buck, Philip, 182, 197, 198, 356, 359. 

Buck, Susan S., 356. 

Buck's township, 81, 174. 

Buell, J. L, 425. 

Building and Loan Association, Three 
Rivers, 335. 

Bumphrey, M. H., 280, 314, 316, 350. 

Bungay, Frank, 125, 127, 128. 

Burdick, Frank L., 373, 781. 

Burger, William H., 768. 

Burke, W. H., 333, 336. 

Burns, David, 340, 343. 

Burrows, J. C, 120. 

Burr Oak — Platted and founded, 428; 
the corporation, 429; manufac- 
tories, 430; banks, 431; electric 



light and power plant, 432; 
churches, 433; societies, 434. 

"Burr Oak Acorn," 432. 

Burr Oak Methodist church, 433. 

Burr Oak township — Its creation, 
213; first town meeting, 214; gen- 
eral description, 216, first comers 
to, 35. 

Butler, Joseph, 38. 

Cade, Stephen W., 122, 181. 

Cad,«, Thomas, 1^2, 179, 180, 183, 
188. 

Caldwell, Martha W., 577. 

Caldwell, William G., 574. 

Calhoon, Alvin, 33, 102, 111, 167, 172, 
173, 174, 442. 

Cameron, William C, 140, 436, 448, 
564. 

Campbell, H. C, 417. 

Campbell, James V., 70, 289, 290. 

Cann, J. L., 336. 

Carey, Christopher, 183. 

Carpenter, Talcott, C, 92, 303. 

Carpenter, Willis A., 432, 755. 

Case, Frank M., 616. 

Case, Fred M., 282. 

Case, Richmond E., 327, 336. 

Castle, W. H., 118, 120. 

Cathcart, G., 170. 

Cathcart, John G., 384. 

Cavanaugh, John, 369. 

Cavin, W. A., 361. 

Centerville — Original plat surveyed, 
34, 205; its founding, 414; village 
corporation, 416; manufactories, 
417; banks, 417; village of today, 
422; newspapers and schools, 423; 
churches, 425; societies, 427. 

Centerville Knit Goods Manufactur- 
ing Company, 417. 

Centerville "Leader," 423. 

Centerville Methodist church, 425. 

Centerville Presbyterian church, 425. 

Centerville Reformed church, 425. 

Centerville Water & Electric Com- 
pany, 422. 

Chapin, David, 179. 

Chapman, William, 384. 

Charlton, Thomas, 171, 380. 

Chicago road, 31. 

Chicago trail 28, 30. , 

Chief White Pigeon, 136, 153. 

Chipman, Henry, 144, 286, 287, 298. 

Christiancy, Isaac P., 289-90. 

Church, (Mrs.) Henry, 62. 

Church of the Immaculate Concep- 
tion, Three Rivers, 34. 

Church, J. W., 276. 

Churchill, Rhoda, 171. 

Churchill, Rose, 175. 

Churchill, Thomas, 176. 



INDEX 



841 



Churchill, William, 175, 177, 345. 

Citizens' State Bank, Sturgis, 374. 

Civil War — Michigan's part in it, 
240-2; Eleventh Michigan Infantry, 
242-52; Nineteenth, 252-6; Twenty- 
fifth, 256-61; Seventh, 261-5; First, 
265-7; Second, 267-71; Fourth, 271- 
3; Sixth, 273-5; Fifteenth, 275-6; 
artillery, 276. 

Clapp, E. L., 422. 

Clapp, H.A., 374. 

Clapp, H. C, 405, 406. 

Clapn, Leverett A., 505. 

Clark, Charles E., 273. 

Clark, Charles H., 534. 

Clark, Duncan R., 42. 

Clark, Fred T., 273. 

Clark, George M., 379. 

Clark, John B., 78, 195, 197, 356. 

Clark, John M., 153. 

Clark, Robert, Jr., 42, 145, 153, 182. 

Clark, Ruth A., 42, 195. 

Clark, Thomas M., 322. 

Clark, W. A., 50. 

Clark, Whitman E., 322, 335. 

Clarke, Adam, 365. 

Clemens, Clayton W., 381, 383. 

Clemens, Earle R., 383. 

Clement, Charles, 394. 

Clements, F. W., 824. 

Clute, Wilbur H., 336. 

Coffinberry, S. C, 181, 301. 389. 

Coffinbury, Jacob W., 91, 176. 

Cole, Ezra, 348. 

Cole. G. W., 334. 

Cole, Levi, 406. 

Cole, Nathan A., 432. 

Collins, T. J., 374. 

Colon — Its projectors, 34; first mills 
founded, 391; Opera House block, 
393; manufactories, 394; secures 
railroad connections, 394; in the 
seventies, 396; newspapers, 396; 
schools. 397; library, 398; churcJies 
and societies, 399. 

Colon Baptist church, 399. 

"Colon Express," 396. 

Colon Methodist church, 400. 

Colon Seminary, 397. 

Colon township — 81; description of, 
207; village platted, 210; roads 
imd bridges, 213; first town meet- 
ing and officials, 213. 

Colon village — Its platting, 210; in- 
dustries and business, 211. 

Corry, Joshua, 175. 

Connor, William, 36, 102, 115, 199, 
203, 204, 292. 

Constantine — Its original site, 33; 
founded, 375; development of river 
trade, 376; corporations of 1837 



and 1861, 376; water-power im- 
provement, 377; early banks, 378; 
the town of the present, 380; news- 
papers, 381; churches, 383-9; so- 
cieties, 389. 

"Constantine Advertiser-Record," 381. 

Constantine Board and Paper Com- 
pany, 378. 

Constantine Casket Company, 378. 

Constantine Congregational church, 
384. 

Constantine Hydraulic Company, 377. 

Constantine Methodist church, 383. 

Constantine Milling Company, 377. 

"Constantine Record," 383. 

Constantine Reformed church, 386. 

Constantine's "Safety Fund Bank," 
378. 

Constantine township — Meek's mills, 
or Constantine, 168; village sur- 
veyed, 169; first town meeting, 
170; natural features, 171. 

Constantine village — Founded as 
Meek's mills, 168; Judge Meek sur- 
veys Constantine, 169; early manu- 
factories, 169. 

Constantine "Weekly Mercury," 382. 

Converse, H. C, 432. 

Cook, D. M., 190. 

Cook, Joseph C, 400. 

Cook, J. D., 359. 

Cooke, George A. B., 683. 

Cooley, Thomas M., 289. 

Cooper, Cora B., 441. 

County Agricultural Society, 50. 

County records (robbery of), 87. 

Cowen, James, 92, 223-4. 

Cowen, Jane, 39. 

Cowen, Robert, 39, 223, 224. 

Cowen Mills, 223. 

Cox, Charles W., 334. 

Crane, E. H., 16-17. 

Crawford, David, 48, 146, 172-3. 

Cross, Julius C, 256. 

Cross, William H., 36, 120, 292-3. 

Grossman, Abel, 179. 

Crossette, George I., 377, 379-80, 476. 

Crossette, (Mrs.) Delia S., 10, 109, 
380, 385, 468. 

Cummings, Frank S., 417, 493. 

Cummings, Solomon, 82. 

Cush-ee-wees, 237. 

Cushman, Henrv D., 417. 

Cutler, Charles 'D., 594. 

Cutler, Leonard, 32, 42, 43, 142, 168. 

"Dailv Commercial Hustler," 336. 
Daniels, Gilbert S., 580. 
Day, Gershom B., 365, 366. 
Defrees, John D., 48, 441. 
Denison, Arthur C, 284. 



842 



INDEX 



Dr. Denton Sleeping Garment Knit- 
ting Mills, 417, 492. 
Dickinson, George, 128, 129. 
Diffusible Tonic Company, 374. 
Dimick, Elisha, 173. 
Dean, G. P., 403, 404. 
Dockstader, Cadalzo A., 292, 322. 
Donovan, James, 773. 
Doty, Sherman, 336. 
Doty, W. S., 396. 
Douglass, Luther, 197. 
Drake, John P., 378. 
Draper, Hiram, 214. 
Dudley, Augustus M., 461. 
Dudley, G. M., 441. 
Dukette, (Mrs.) Fanny, 406. 
Dukette, Michael, 412. 
Dunkin, Isaac B., 291. 
Dunkin, James B., 37. 
Dunkin, Samuel, 37. 
Dunn, Simeon, 656. 

Eberhard, John P., 261-3. 

Eck, William R., 391, 398. 

Eddy, Henry D., 309. 

Eddy Paper Company, 309. 

Edwards, Abram S., 42. 

Ed. M. Prutzman Post, G.A.K., Three 

Rivers, 349. 
Eesley (J. F.) Milling Company, 378. 
Eldred, Andrew J., 339. 364. 
Eldredge, H. O., 371, 372. 
Eldridge, Elmer L., 560. 
Elliott, W. N., 49, 103, 116, 440. 
Ellison, Andrew, 125. 
Ely, Lora S., 701. 
Embley, David W., 767. 
Engle, George, 422. 
Engle, Jonathan, Sr., 117, 203. 
Erbsmehl, Charles, 801. 
Ercanbrack, John, 342, 363, 364, 383. 
Evans, P. H., 366. 
Evangelical Lutheran St. John's 

church, 433. 
Eveland, Daniel M., 407, 519. 
Eveland, T. Z., 405, 407. 
Evers, H., 433. 
Evert, John F., 96, 406. 

Fairchild, Alfred, 740. 

Fabius township — Formation of, 174; 
its sparkling lakes, 174; first per- 
manent settler, 175; first elections 
and officers, 176. 

Factoryville, 228. 

Fanning, Gamaliel (murder of), 191. 

Farmers' Savings Bank of White 
Pigeon, 441. 

Farquhar, John M., 382. 

Farrand, Grant E., 393, 603. 

Farrand, Henry K., 211, 395, 397. 

Farrand, James, 268. 



Farrand, Joseph, 393, 660. 

Farrand, Phineas, 397. 

Fast, O, J., 405. 

Fawn River, 2. 

Fawn River Manufacturing Company, 
377. 

Fawn River township — Formation and 
first settlers, 186 ; first postmasters, 
187; rise of manufactories, 188; 
first elections and roads, 188; prop- 
erty and population, 189; village 
of Freedom, 190; Fawn River vil- 
lage, 192; Fawn River mills, 193; 
present township, 194. 

Feas, Daniel W., 663. 

Fellows, Clarence A., 322. 

Felton, Erastus, 146, 161, 198, 337, 
338, 342, 383, 425, 442. 

Fenner, R. J., 378. 

Ferguson, James W., 601. 

Ferrier, Edward A., 371. 

Ferris, R. B., 431. 

Fillmore, Lucius F., 756. 

First National Bank, Burr Oak, 431. 

First National Bank of Centerville, 
418. 

First National Bank, Three Rivers, 
334. 

First State Bank of Mendon, 404. 

First things and events — ^Land en- 
tries, 41; land offices, 42; orchards, 
live-stock and agricultural imple- 
ments, 43; mills, 43; merchants, 
46; hotel, postoffice and mail route, 
46; railroad, 47; marriage, birth 
and death, 47; churches, schools 
and newspapers, 48; physicians, 49. 

Fisher, J. Emery, 444, 445. 

Fitch, Charles B., 163. 165, 169, 176, 
291, 440. 

Fitch, Samuel, 118. 

Flanders, (Mrs.) E., 406. 

Flanders, Francis, Jr., 194, 240. 

Flanders, Francis, Sr., 187, 193, 194, 
369. 

Flanders, J. W., 301, 372. 

Flanders, John S., 301, 359, 372, 374, 
801. 

Flanders, L. L, 374. 

Fletcher, John W.. 32, 33, 113, 120. 
188, 203. 

Fletcher, William A., 287, 288. 

Florence township^ — Formation of, 
172; earliest settlements, 172; Al- 
vin Calhoon, 172; banner mint and 
oil township, 174. 

Flowerfield township — Old township, 
217; Flowerfield and Howardville, 
218; reduced to present area, 219; 
noted trail, 219; first township of- 
ficers, 220. 

Fogarty, (Mrs.) Mary, 448. 



INDEX 



843 



Foley, Nelson, 378. 
Foote, Harriet, 183. 
Foreman, Alexander, 223. 
Foss, Christopher, 817. 
Foster, John J., 322. 
Francisco, Daniel, 321. 
Frank, Richard H., 721. 
Frays, Henry J., 548. 
Freedom village, 190. 
Freeland, Curtis A., 361, 792. 
Freeman, E. W., 372. 
French, Ebenezer, 272. 
French, Jacob, 359. 
French, J. W., 309. 
French, Willard W., 322. 
Frisbie, John F., 609. 
Fulkerson, William, 256-60. 

Gallaher, John A., 344, 539. 

Garrison, Norman W., 334, 706. 

Gascon, Washington, 166. 

Gaston, Albert H., 344. 

Gates, Alvin, 214. 

Geer, Everard, 563. 

George, John B., 378, 573. 

Gibson, Ethelyn, 397. 

Gibson, John, 109. 

Gibson, Samuel. 380, 480. 

Gilbert, Henry, 48, 252-3. 

Gill, Robert, 218. 

Gillet, D. A., 340. 

Givan, Thomas D., 605. 

Gladdy, C. L., 333. 

Gleason, Henry C, 558. 

Glover, William. 153. 

Gloyd, Martin, 400. 

Godfrey. Erwin L., 524. 

Goff, E. J., 429. 

Goldsmith, J. D., 405. 

Goodrich, Benjamin D., 192. 

Goodrich, Roscoe B., 561. 

Gose, H. 367. 

Graham, Ezra C, 653. 

Granger, T. B., 342-3. 

Green, Cogswell K., 300. 

Greene, Thomas G., 91, 92, 347. 348, 

710. 
Grimes, James C, 720. 
Grobhiser, W. C, 373. 
Grobhiser-Cabinetmakers' Companies, 

372. 
Grove, G. C, 793. 
Gurley, Lyman B., 338, 383. 

Haas, John A., 412. 
Hackstaff, (Mrs.) Mary, 371. 
Hagenbuch, Aaron, 379-80. 
Hagenbuch, Samuel B., 380, 557. 
Hagerman, Herbert W., 777. 
Hagerman, William, 174. 
Hahn, Theodore, 367. 
Halbert, Chauncey J., 482. 



Hall, Henry, 7. 

Hall, Robert, 7, 322. 

Hall, Thomas, 187. 

Hamilton, (Mrs.) Burritt, 371. 

Hamilton, John, 237. 

Hamilton, Robert C, 63, 371, 451. 

Hampson, Henry J., 422, 614. 

Handy, John B., 256, 260. 

Hartman, Peter L., 641. 

Hartman, Solomon, 160. 

Harvey, George Crossett, 380. 

Harvey, Norman, 379. 

Harvey, N. S. & Company, 403. 

Harvey, O. K., 378. 

Harvey, W. W., 379-80. 

Harwood, E. E., 335. 

Harwood, Hiram, 176. 

Haslet, Samuel, 35, 215. 

Hass, Sherman D., 772. 

Hatch, Indian trader, 222, 237. 

Haynes, William K., 356, 361. 

Hazard, William, 794. 

Hazen, Wirt M., 582. 

Hazzard, Helen B., 582. 

Hazzard, William, 111, 126, 200. 

Heald, Arba, 33, 42, 43, 143. 

Hecox, Hiram A., 201, 203. 

Heimbaugh, A. C, 430, 431. 

Henkel, G. A., 367. 

Hennicke. F. J., 366. 

Hewitt, Adolphus E., 325. 

Heywood, Henry, 161. 

Hill, Edwin R., 393, 395, 646. 

Hill, Mrs. Edwin R., 646. 

Hill, Frank E., 393-4. 

Hill. G. C, 832. 

Hill, Thomas J., 393-4, 489. 

4ill, William T., 442. 

Hill. E. & Sons, 393, 396. 

Hill, (E. & Sons) State Bank, 393. 

Hoffman, C. B., 391, 395. 

Hoffman, John, 391. 

Hoffman. Philip H., 163, 164, 165, 322. 

Hoffman & Troy, 396. 

Hogle, Seymour H., 431, 752. 

Hollingshead, James, 391. 

Holmes, John T., 431. 

Hood, Calvin C, 242. 

Hopkins, Winfield S., 570. 

Hoshal, Walter J., 430, 763. 

Hotchin, E. S., 378. 

House, Peter, 228. 

House, W. T., 379. 

Hovev, W. S., 328. 

Howard, Clarence A., 322, 336. 

Howard, Edward W., 482. 

Howard, Franklin, 218. 

Howard, John, 173. 

Howe. Amos, 33, 101, 112, 201. 

Hubbard, George, 32, 199. 

Huff, Charles S., 747. 

Huff, Lemuel S., 719. 



844 



INDEX 



Hull, (F. W. & L. W.), 383. 
Hull, Lee G., 382, 383. 
Humphrey, Hiram, 182. 
Hunt, John, 286-7. 
Huss, M. J., 325, 328, 336. 
Hutchinson, James, 234. 
Hutton, Hiram W., 523. 

Ikeler, William M., 50. 

Indians — Nottawa-seepe reservation, 
17; the Pottawatomie nation, 18; 
the Pottawatomies in 1830, 19; 
Sau-au-quett relinquishes reserva- 
tion, 20; started for Kansas, 21; 
the Black Hawk war, 22; killing 
of Sau-au-quett and Morreau, 26. 

Ingersoll, Cyrus, 292, 416. 

Irwin Brothers, 378. 

"Items of Constantine," 383. 

Jacobs, Crebilion, 360, 362-3. 

Jacobs, Hiram, 116, 198, 199, 362. 

Jacobs, Orange, 301. 

Jacobs, Oscar E., 442. 

Jacobs, Theo T., 784. 

Jewett, Joseph, 231. 

Johnny Cake prairie, 175. 

Johnson, James, 188. 

Johnson, J. Eastman, 50, 119, 292, 300. 

Johnson, Lyman H., 433. 

Johnson. Samuel E., 231. 

Johnson, S. S., 182. 

Johnson, William, 180. 

Jones, Charles, 181. 

Jones, DeGarmo, 357. 

Jones, E. L., 373. 

Jones, Henry B., 718. 

Jones, John H., 380. 

Jones, Mero, 181. 

Jones, William, 145, 181, 442, 444. 

Jorn, G. K, 373. 

eJoss, John C, 268. 

Joss. John J., 417. 

Judson, Melancthon, 291. 

Kasdorf, John, 822. 

Kass, H. C, 431. 

Kaufmann, H. J., 369. 

Kaufmann, Henry J., 346, 407, 411, 

447. 
Keech, George, 182. 
Keightley, Edwin W., 92, 109, 132, 

134, 291, 303, 305, 451. 
Kellogg, (Mrs.) A. E., 156. 
Kellogg, Charles B., 107, 125, 127, 

129, 130, 132, 134, 149, 151, 465. 
Kellogg, Edwin, 45, 149. 
Kellogg, Elizabeth, 107. 
Kellogg, Erastus, 174, 363, 383, 425. 
Kellogg, George, 149. 
Kellogg (R. M.) & Co., 329-333. 
Kellogg, Russell M., 330. 



Kellogg & Brothers, 148, 149. 

Kelsey, James, 325, 327. 

Kelsey, Stephen, 322, 327. 

Kennedy, J. B., 266. 

Kepler, Charles H., 643. 

Ketchum, Isaac S., 425. 

Kingsley, Chandler R., 704. 

Kinne, A. J., 395, 398, 400-1. 

Kinney, Harvey, 232. 

Kinsey, F. C, 827. 

Klady, Francisco, 592. 

Kline, A. J., 211. 

Kline, George, 808. 

Klinger, Peter, 117, 147. 

Klose, H. James, 664. 

Knapp, James, 145. 

Knapp, John, 297, 298. 

Knapp, Joseph, 47. 

Knappen, Loyal E., 284. 

Knevels, George F., 679. 

Knights of Pythias, Three Rivers, 348. 

Knowles, Francella W., 459. 

Knowles, Lawrence D., 49, 454. 

Knox, Charles H., 416. 

Knox. David, 198, 363. 

Knox, Sarah, 188, 202. 

Korst, C, 410, 447. 

Kroh, Daniel, 345. 

Kruger, Frederick J., 818. 

Kums, John, 183. 

Kyte, J. A., 371. 

Laffey, William, 87. 

Laird, Glover E., 667. 

Laird. John M., 595. 

Lamb, Isaac W., 393. 

Lamb Knit Goods Company, 393, 397. 

Lamberson, Conrad A., 618. 

Lamberson, C. A., 392. 

Lamberson, Frank D., 392. 

Lamphere, C. H., 277. 

Lancaster, Columbia, 91, 118, 205, 298, 

299, 300, 418. 
Land offices, 75, 77. 
Langley, M. S., 336. 
Langley, Thomas C, 103. 
Langley, Thomas W., 205, 296, 415, 

416, 418. 
Langley, William B., 103, 124, 415. 
Lanrick, John, 199. 
Lantz, Philip, 321. 
Larkin, John B., 621. 
Laughran, Peter, 410. 
Lawrence, Jeremiah, 173. 
Lawrence, Wolcott H., 174. 
Leaders, Frederick, 570. 
Lee, S. P., 340. 
Leland, John M., 163. 
Leland, Louis A., 210. 
Leonard, William, 183. 
Leonidas township — How it was 

named, 220; description, 221. 



INDEX 



845 



Leonidas village, 228. 

Levison, Henry, 123. 

Lilley, E. F., 426. 

Linsley, Edward B., 324, 328, 329, 335, 
336, 499. 

Livermore, Josiah, 215. 

Livermore, Marshall, 214, 215. 

Lock, William, 428. 

Lockport Hydraulic Company, 310. 

Lockport township — Formation of, 
161; drainage of, 162; first settlers, 
162; EschoPs rise and fall, 163; 
early mill enterprises, 163; Moftb 
and St. Joseph villages, 164; Three 
Rivers platted, 164; first town 
meeting and officers, 164; boat 
building and boating, 166. 

Lockwood, C. J., 372. 

Logan, Samuel C, 384. 

Longaker, George, 345. 

Loomis, Hubbel, 48, 49, 79, 145, 292, 
294-5. 

Lovell, Cyrus, 300. 

Luce, Cyrus G., 123. 

Ludwig, Samuel, 345. 

Lyman, Lewis B., 403. 

McCrary, Henry, 256-60. 

McCune, Newell A., 343, 485. 

MacDonald, J. C, 366. 

McDowell Brothers, 396. 

McGaflfey, George, 125. 

McGaffey, Neal, 48, 79, 145, 148, 298, 

300, 440, 443, 444. 
Melnterfer, Jacob, 34, 47, 162, 164. 
Mclnterfer, Mary, 166. 
McKee, Jeff P., 327, 334. 
McKee, William E., 808. 
McKenzie, J. H., 369. 
McKerlie, James, 189. 
McKindley, John A., 776. 
McLaughlin, William, 368. 
McLean, W. A., 424. 
McMath, Robert, 344. 
McMillan, Alexander, 33, 38, 49, 202. 
McMillan, Paulina (Harmon), 412. 
McNeish, David, 386-7. 
Maffett, C. A., 337. 
Mail routes and stage lines, 31. 
Major, John J., 417. 
Major, P. P., 334. 
Major, W. J., 417. 
Mallory, L. H., 432. 
Mandigo, Robert, 774. 
Manning, Randolph, 289. 
Marantette, Franklin C, 828. 
Marantette, Mary E., 831. 
Marantette, Patrick, 18, 19, 24, 29, 

30, 34, 229, 230, 402, 406, 408, 409, 

410. 
Marantette, Patrick H., 412. 
Marantette, William W., 591. 
Vol. 11—21 



Marsh, James A., 380. 

Martin, George, 289. 

Martin, John, 172. 

Mason, J. J., 389. 

Masonic lodges. Three Rivers, 346. 

Massey, Albert, 91. 

Matthews, George, 36, 222. 

Matthews, Otis, 173. 

Matthews, Reuben, 173. 

May, Chauncey, 291. 

Medical societies, 48. 

Meek, Richard C, 338, 342, 363, 383. 

Meek, William, 11, 33, 44, 45, 168, 
169, 170, 297, 389. 

Melendy, R. W., 291, 303. 

Mendenhall, Frank, 596. 

Mendenhall, Lillie W., 599. 

Mendon — French pioneers of, 34; the 
present village, 401; early manu- 
factories, 402; old hotels, 402; the 
corporation, 404; schools, 405; 
township library, 406; newspapers, 
406; churche? and societies, 407. 

•'Mendon Eagle," 406. 

Mendon Exchange Bank, 404. 

•'Mendon Globe," 407. 

"Mendon Independent," 406. 

"Mendon Leader," 407. 

Mendon M. E. church, 412. 

Mendon township — How named, 228; 
Mendon village founded, 230; set- 
tlers of 1833-7, 231; old-time offi- 
cials, 231; physical features, 232. 

Mendon Township Free Public Lib- 
rary, 406. 

"Mendon Weekly Times," 407. 

Merrill, Fred D., 322. 

Messiah Evangelical Lutheran church, 
387. 

Metcalf, Ezekiel, 41, 195. 

Metha, Leander, 35, 230, 231, 402. 

Mexican war, 238. 

Meyer, William, 821. 

Michigan Boxboard Company, White 
Pigeon, 442. 

"Michigan Statesman and St. Joseph 
Chronicle," 441. 

Middagh, (Mrs.) Henry (nee Betsey 
Klinger), 108, 117. 

Millard, Elisha, 166. 

Millard & Troy, 310. 

Millard, Joseph B., 310, 325. 

Miller, Alfred D., 814. 

Miller, Charles L., 211, 292, 392, 398. 

Miller, George, 35, 215, 216. 

Miller, George E., 550. 

Miller, Hagenbuch & Harvey, 376. 

Miller, John W., 645. 

Miller, Lewis E., 96, 737. 

Miller, W. E., 328-9. 

Mills, John A., 553. 

Miner, William, 404. ; 



846 



INDEX 



Miskill, J. D., 373. 

Mitchell, George S., 655. 

Moe, Charles, 187. 

Moe, Jane, 188. 

Moe, Otho, 790. 

Moffatt, Orlando, 398. 

Moore, Edward S., 165, 233, 234, 310, 
312, 325, 327, 334, 343. 

Moore & Prutzman, 310, 312. 

Moore Park, 234. 

Moore Park Reformed church, 345. 

Morell, George, 287, 288. 

Morreau, Isadore, 26. 

Morrison, William H., 545. 

Morse, Charles H., 328, 329. 

Morse, J. C, 320, 321, 322. 

Morton, (Mrs.) F. H., 398. 

Mosher, C. D., 419. 

Mottville township — Its creation, 158; 
first settlement, 159; Mottville vil- 
lage platted, 160; first bridge, 160; 
a great shipping point, 161. 

Mound builders — Garden beds in St. 
Joseph county, 16; the Colon 
mounds, 16; fortifications, 16; sac- 
rificial fireplace, 17. 

Moutan, Frances, 230. 

Moutan, Francois, 34, 229, 402. 

Mowry, H. P., 431. 

Naggs, William (Billy), 145, 155. 

Nallinger, Albert, 823. 

National Bank of Sturgis, 374. 

Neddeaux, Peter, 35, 230. 

Newhall, John S., 196. 

Newsom, C. B., 366. 

"Kews Reporter," Three Rivers, 337. 

Newton, Luther, 42, 43, 79, 145, 291, 
297. 

Nichols, George, 220. 

Nicholson, S. H., 398. 

Nidy, Simon W., 814. 

Noffze, Paul, 399, 434. 

Nottawa, 428. 

Nottawa Creek, 2. 

Nottawa-seepe reservation, 17, 36, 
235. 

Nottawa township — Creation of, 81; 
its beautiful prairies, 199; Judge 
William Connor, first settler, 199; 
Judge John Sturgis arrives, 200; 
other early comers, 200; introduc- 
tion of fruits and grains, 203; or- 
ganized, 204. 

\ 

Oakes, David, Jr., 242. 

Odd Fellows lodges, Three Rivers, 348. 

Odell, Thomas, 161. 

Ogden, Benjamin, 344. 

Oil distillation, 7. 

Olds, Joseph, 144. 

Osbon, Henry R., 792. 



Osborn, Nathan, 291, 301. 
Osborne, S. A., 340, 383. 
Osgood, Benjamin, 292. 
Osgood, Grace, 406. 

Pack, William F., 279. 

Packard, Ira F., 49. 

Packard, J. J., 359. 

Packard, (Mrs.) J. J., 63. 

Packard, Nelson I., 17, 49, 369, 374, 

804. 
Packard, (Mrs.) Nelson I., 804. 
Page, David, 33, 49, 91, 144, 440. 
Page, William, 344. 
Paine, Philander A., 45. 
Palmer, Charles A., 637. 
Park township— Its creation, 232; 

first settlers along Fisher's lake, 

232; first town meeting, 233; Park- 

ville and Moore Park, 234. 
Parker, John, 181, 196. 
Parker, J. E., 196. 
Parker, J. J., 337. 
Parkville, 234. 
Patterson, (Mrs.) S. G., 360. 
Pealer, Russel R., 92, 119, 235, 280, 

284, 291, 304, 327, 334, 349, 508. 
Pealer, Sue S., 518. 
Pealer, W. 0., 335. 
Pearsoll, Rice, 199. 
Peatling, J. D., 407, 413. 
Peirce, Jarius, 227. 
Pendleton, (Mrs.) E. W., 128. 
Pengelly, Richard, 383. 
Perrin, Amos T., 734, 
Perrin, Andrew, 182. 
Perrin, Lewis C, 720. 
Perry, David B., 733. 
Petty, David, 180, 196. 
Phillips, (Mrs.) Ada, 448. 
Physicians, 49. 
Pitts, Levi W., 626. 
Place, Lester B., 129, 130, 322, 567. 
Piatt, Henry S., 242. 
Plummer, William F., 579. 
Podgham, Philip, 304. 
Porter, C. G., 432. 
Post, Henry, 203. 
Post, Russell, 33, 200, 202. 
Powell, Gardner, 334. 
Powers, Henry, 33, 79, 201, 203. 
Powers, James, 101. 
Pratt, Samuel, 45, 92, 145, 151. 
Probst, John B., 731. 
Prutzman, Abraham C, 165, 310, 313, 

325, 327. 
Prutzman, Edward M., 260. 
Prutzman, J. E., 313. 
Prutzman, J. P., 313. 
Purdy, David B., 682. 
Putney, L. S., 372. 



INDEX 



847 



Quimby, Joseph, 159. 

Railroads — First in the county, 47. 

Randall, C. L., 407. 

Ranney, Joseph A., 344. 

Ransom, Epaphroditus, 48, 287, 288, 
291. 

Raymond, Oliver, 182, 196, 197, 198. 
214. 

Reading, (Mrs.) George B., 63. 

Redfield, Alexander H., 300. 

Reed, Richard, 374. 

Reichert, Selinda, 47. 

Rengler, George, 574. 

Reynolds, A. H., 417. 

Reynolds (Mrs.) Jessie A., 436, 448. 

Rhodes, Lewis, 122. 

Rice, Clark, 535. 

Rich, L. B., 322. 

Richards, J. S., 587. 

Richards, Mariah, 584. 

Richardson, Orlo W., 317-20. 

Richter, H. C., 367. 

Riley, H. H., 301, 377. 

Ringe, Alfred, 407. 

Risdon, Orange, 160. 

Risley, Carl S., 425. 
Roatch, Clark, 587. 

Roberts, Cyrus, 335, 348. 

Roberts, H. S., 241. 

Roberts Wheel and Car Company, 

308, 310. 
Robinson, (Mrs.) Alma, 371. 
Robinson, James D., 372-3. 
Robinson, Richard, 363. 
Roderick, Edward, 442. 
Roe, Alfred, 238. 
Rolfe, James, 182. 
Romeig, Robert, 702. 
Roode, J. Q., 381. 
Root, H. E., 121. 
"Rosette" paper mill, 309. 
Rowen, Matthew, 166. 
Roys, Norman, 173. 
Rudd, F. M., 334. 
Ruggles, Ziba B., 770. 
Ruggles, (Mrs.) Z. B., 339. 
Runyan, Isaac, 199. 
Russell, Orlando D., 805. 
Russell, Rector R., 603. 
Rusterholtz, Jacob, 806. 
Ryan, William, 400. 
Ryckaert, C, 368, 410, 447. 

Sabin, Marden, 130, 131, 722. 

Sabin, Peter, 364, 383. 

Saddler, William, 302. 

Salsig, (Mrs.) Louis (Mclnterfer), 

338. 
Sau-au-quet, 20, 24, 26. 
Savery, Asahel. 42, 46, 78, 100, 106, 

144, 145. 



Schaeper, Fred, 411. 
Schalm, W. T., 367. 
Schellhous family, 34. 
Schellhous Brothers, 391. 

Schellhous, Charles W., 6, 799. 

Schellhous, Cyrus, 209, 291. 
Schellhous, George F., 208, 209, 213. 

Schellhous, Lorensie, 101, 208, 209, 
210, 399. 

Schellhous, Martin G., 208, 209, 210, 
213. 

Schellhous, Robert, 81. 

Schellhous, Roswell, 208, 210, 213. 

Scidmore, Arthur W., 50, 322, 325, 
528. 

Sears, Reuben, 297. 

Seaver Brothers, 432. 

Severens, Henry F., 92, 130, 284, 302. 

Shank, George E., 405. 

Sharp, Alexander, 132, 819. 

Sheffield Car Company, 327, 329. 

Sheffield, George S., 328, 329, 430, 753. 

Sheffield (George S.) & Company, 
328. 

Sheffield Manufacturing Company, 
Burr Oak, 430. 

Sheldon, A. C, 327. 

Sheldon, Benjamin F., 823. 

Sheldon, E. H., 378, 379. 

Sheldon, T. P., 42. 

Sherman, Benjamin, 38, 92, 117, 164, 
203. 

Sherman, E. B., 298. 

Sherman township — Its formation, 
178; early settlers, 179; lands, 
taxes and products, 180; cultiva- 
tion of mint, 181; township officers, 
181; roads and postoffice, 182; 
schools, 183; population, 185; poli- 
tics, 185. 

Sherman (see Sturgis). 

Shimmel, Albert C, 538. 

Shinnaman, Christopher, 164. 

Shipman, John B., 291, 302. 

Shoecraft, (Mrs.) F. W., 361. 

Showerman, R. E., 433. 

Sibley, Solomon, 286, 287. 

Sickles, Garrett, 175. 

Sides, L, 401. 

Sidner, Jacob, 359. 

Silliman, Arthur, 315. 

Silliman, Sue I., 325. 

Simonds, C. E., 372. 

Simons, J. W., 380. 

Simpson, H. A., 133, 417, 426. 

Simpson, James, 572. 

Simpson, William G., 657. 

Sixbey, Nicholas I., 92. 

Slote, George W., 588. 

Slote, James, 343. 

Smith, George F., 359. 

Smith, elames L., 732. 



848 



INDEX 



Smith, Niles F., 414. 

Smith, Perrin M., 291, 301, 304. 

Smith, William, 769. 

Snyder, Stephen M., 729. 

Snyder, William H., 594. 

Southern Michigan Telephone Com- 
pany, Burr Oak, 432. 

Spade, Fred A., 709. 

Spencer, A. F., 378. 

Spencer, W. M., 378. 

Sperry, T. A., 334. 

Starr, C. H., 122. 

State Bank of Burr Oak, 431. 

State Savings Bank, Three Rivers, 
334. 

Steele, Salmon P., 339, 342. 

Stevens, Wilmot E., 384. 

Stewart, Alanson C, 42, 46, 187. 

Stewart, Charles H., 300. 

Stewart, Hart L., 42, 46, 160, 161, 
196, 291, 298. 

Stewart, H. P., 417, 419. 

Stewart, Samuel, 187. 

Stewart, William, Jr., 183. 

St. Edwards Parish (Catholic), Men- 
don, 408-12. 

St. John's Evangelical Lutheran 
church, 345. 

St. Joseph Canal and Lockport Manu- 
facturing Company, 309. 

St. Joseph county — Drainage, 1 ; rivers 
and lakes, 2; prairies and oak open- 
ings, 3; geological features, 3; 
building materials, 4; soil and agri- 
culture, 5; peppermint and oil, 5; 
the county in 1838, 10; St. Joseph 
river, 10; land and water area, 10; 
government inaugurated, 78; origi- 
nal townships, 78 ; first election, 79 ; 
changes in government, 79; sub- 
division of townships, 81; first 
town meeting, 81; county seats, 82; 
first county building, 83; court 
houses, 85; the county's poor, 89; 
county officials (1830-1910), 91; 
education, 94; bird's-eye view of 
pioneer history, 96. 

"St. Joseph County Advertiser and 
Constantine Weekly Mercury," 382. 

"St. Joseph County Advertiser," 381. 

St. Joseph County Bank, 417. 

"St. Joseph County Democrat," 372. 

St. Joseph's Mission, "V^Tiite Pigeon, 
447. 

St. Joseph County Pioneer Society 
(1873 to 1910)— Organized, 98; con- 
stitution, 99; first oflScers, 100; 
came prior to 1840, 100; death of 
Hon. E. H. Lothrup, 111; first na- 
tive male speaks. 111; year 1845 
made membership limit, 114; set- 
tlers of thirty years eligible, 114; 



historical contribution in 1880, 117; 
death of three former presidents, 
120; letter from Samuel P. Wil- 
liams, 123; last (thirty -seventh) 
annual meeting, 134. 

St. Joseph County Republican, 423. 

St. Joseph river — ^Drainage by, 1; 
Mrs. Delia S. Crossette's paper on, 
10; first bridge on, 12; first dam 
across, 13; Indian name, 155. 

St. Joseph township, 77. 

Stoner, W. G., 364. 

Stoughton, W. L., 241, 245, 301, 303. 

Stoughton, William L., 356, 359, 361. 

Stoughton, (Mrs.) William L., 360. 

Sturgis, Albert, 373. 

Sturgis, Amos, 198. 

Sturgis, Charles A., 333. 

Sturgis, David, 187, 198. 

Sturgis, John, 33, 41, 78, 79, 181, 186, 
187, 198, 200, 291, 297. 

Sturgis, Thomas, 198. 

Sturgis, William, 120. 

Sturgis — Its railroads, 353; replatted 
under present name (1858), 356; 
present city, 357; public schools, 
358; city water, light and power, 
359; free public library, 360; cor- 
poration and fire department, 361'; 
Oak Lawn cemetery, 362; churches, 
363-9; societies, 369-71; newspa- 
pers, 371; manufactories, 372-4. 

Sturgis township — Organization of, 
195; settlers on site of Sturgis, 195; 
first hotels and landlords, 197; 
other first things, 197. 

"Sturgis Journal," 371. 

Sturgis "Michigan Democrat," 371. 

Sturgis Steel Go-Cart Company, 373. 

Sumner, Watson, 170, 376. 

Swan creek, 2. 

Swartwout, Wade L., 279. 

Sweet, Charles P., 407. 

Sweet, Ebenezer, 187, 188. 

Sweetland, John J., 527. 

Sweitzer, F., 336. 

Swihart, Frank L., 810. 

Taft, Moses, 228, 231. 

Talbot, George, 417. 

Taylor, Elias, 48, 79, 144, 160. 

Taylor, William, 365. 

Tedrow, W. L., 389. ' 

Temperance societies, 48. 

Temple, C. M., 360, 440. 

TenBrook, G. K, 427. 

Terry, Elmore G., 228, 399. 

Three Rivers — Its original site, 34; 
its founding, 307; water power and 
manufactories, 307-10; Moore & 
Prutzman, 310; Home-coming pi- 
oneer literature, 314-21; corpora- 



INDEX 



849 



tion of Three Rivers, 321; public 
schools, 322; public library, 324; 
fire department and water works, 
325; Riverside Cemetery, 325; 
banks, 334; civic league, 336; news- 
papers, 336; churches, 337; socie- 
ties, 347. 
Three Rivers Baptist church, 344. 
"Three Rivers Herald," 337. 
Three Rivers Methodist church, 337. 
Three Rivers Presbyterian church, 

343. 
Three Rivers Publishing Company, 

336. 
Three Rivers Reformed church, 345. 
"Three Rivers Reporter," 336. 
Three Rivers Robe Tannery, 333. 
Thomas, D. Ev, 360, 
Thomas, F. W., 417. 
Thomas, Wilbur F., 292. 
Thompson, David, 291. 
Thompson, Elijah, 179. 
Thompson, Julius A., 213, 214, 428, 

429. 
Thoms, James F., 327. 
Thoms, John C, 835. 
Thorne, Edward, 377. 
Throop, W. A., 266. 
Thurston, George, 114, 187. 
Tinker, Chauncey, 218. 
Tinker Town, 218. 
Tisdel, Freeman A., 188, 189, 190. 
Titus, A. C, 335. 
Todd, Albert M., 7. 
Toll, Isaac D., 91, 112, 187, 191, 238, 

240, 414, 415. 
Toll, Philip R., 187, 192, 193, 414, 416. 
Tomlinson, William B., 658, 
Town meetings (firsjt), 81. 
Townships (original), 78, 81. 
Trowbridge, Luther H., 345. 
Troy, Sylvester, 31*5, 391. 
Truesdell, S. W., 49, 91. 
Trumbull, Edward A., 91. 
Trussell, Reuben, 214. 
Tucker, E. G., 132, 133, 141, 318, 320. 
Tulloss, R. E., 389. 
Turner, E. D., 92, 301. 
Tyler, Ansel, 102. 
Tyler, Comfort, 211, 396. 
Tyler family, 227. 
Tyler, Job, 212. 
Tyler, Samuel, 102. 
Tyler, William, 102. 

Ulmann, Isaac J., 196. 
Ulrich, Isaac S., 233, 234, 832. 
Upson, Charles, 291. 
Urie, C. P., 359. 

Valentine, James, 177. 

Van Buren, E. J., 416, 423. 



Van Buren, George, 403. 
Van Buren, Rosslyn H., 791. 
Vander Mel, C, 387. 
Van Doren, D. A., 346. 
Van Patten, John P., 193. 
Vansaw, R. P., 397. 
Van Vleck, V. H., 360. 
Van Vranken, A. H„ 426. 
Vieman, Andrew K., 813. 
Voorhis, Isaac S., 211, 
Vough, Justus L., 227. 

Wagner, Daniel B,, 669. 
Wagner, Elias, 628. 
Wagner, Joshua, 834. 
Wagner, Peter, 396. 
Wahl, William F., 820. 
Wait, Frank W., 359, 452. 
Wait, Jonathan G„ 354. 
Wakeman, Adams, 231. 
Wakeman, Mark H., 50. 
Wakeman & Lewis, 403. 
Wakeman House, 403. 
Wakeman township, 82, 228. 
Walker, George W., 338. 
Wallace, E. H., 357. 
Walton, A. P., 374. 
Walton, J. E., 374. 
Walton, J. F„ 373, 374. 
Walton, Samuel A., 334, 694. 
Ware, Freeman, 345, 447. 
Warren, Charles C, 334. 
Warriner, P. W., 156, 384. 
Wasepi, 428. 
Washburn, Sarah, 214. 

Washtenaw trail, 35. 

Waterman, John A., 275. 

Waterman, Levi, 197. 

Watkins, Andrew, 40. 

Watkins, L. D., 51. 

Watkins, Levi, 221, 224, 226, 227. 

Watkins, Martin C, 227. 

Watkins, William M., 122, 226. 

Watson, F. B., 336. 

Watson, James V., 442. 

Wayne county— Pioneers, 32; orga- 
nized, 74. 

Webster, Daniel, 157, 376. 

Weir, John, 378. 

Weir, Robert, 378. 

Wells, Franklin, 125, 377. 

Wescott, Allen, 317, 742. 

Wetherbee, Asa, 166. 

\\Tieaton, James H., 266. 

Wheeler, Challenge S., 218. 

Wheeler, Charles P., 279, 280, 689. 

Wheeler, C. S., 220. 

Whipple, A. v., 345. 

Whipple, Charles W., 291. 

White, Elisha, 43. 

^Yh\te, Levant E., 374. 



850 



INDEX 



WJiite Pigeon — Sketch of village, 435; 
historical review, 437; White Pig- 
eon Academy, 440; district and 
union schools, 440; newspapers and 
banks, 441; churches, 443; so- 
cieties, 448. 

White Pigeon Academy, 146, 440. 

White Pigeon M. E. church, 442. 

"White Pigeon News," 441. 

White Pigeon Presbyterian church, 
442. 

White Pigeon Eeformed church, 446. 

White Pigeon river, 2. 

White Pigeon township — Original, 81; 
The prairies, 135; story of Chief 
White Pigeon, 136; unveiling of 
memorial by Willie White Pigeon, 
137; Mrs. W. C. Cameron's address, 
140; the three pioneers, 142; first 
farms, 144; "Old Diggin's," first 
hotel, 144; village platted, 145; 
first schools and churches, 146; 
changes in area, 146; natural 
features, 147; pioneer incidents, 
(Charles B. Kellogg), 148; Web- 
ster's visit to White Pigeon (Mrs. 
A. E. Kellogg), 156. 

White, William L., 770. 

Whitehouse, Alfred I., 431. 

Whitehouse Underwear Mills, 431. 

Whitmer, J. H., 798. 

Whitmore, W., 401. 

Wickett, Alfred M., 584. 

Wiegand, Henry, 446. 

Wilcox, Edward K., 119. 

Wilcox, Luther T., 327. 

Wilhelm, Christian, 361, 468. 

Wilkins, John, 287. 

Wilkins, Ross, 287. 

Will, John S., 630. 



Will, Mary H., 636. 

Willard, Isaac W., 91. 

Williams, Joseph R., 50, 376. 

Williams, Samuel P., 106, 125. 

Willis, Joseph, 372. 

Willits, Warren J., 327, 329, 335. 

Wilson, Isaiah, 341. 

Wilson, William H., 748. 

Winchell, David, 166. 

Winchell, John, 32, 42, 46, 79, 91, 142. 

Witherell, James, 286-7. 

Wolf, (A. C. & Bros.) Bank, 418. 

Wolf, Amos C, 92, 335, 543. 

Wolf brothers, 6, 165, 417. 

Wolf Brothers Bank, 419. 

Wolf, Frank, 419, 442. 

Wolf, George M., 335. 

Wolf, George T., 334, 335, 759. 

Wolf, John, 421. 

Wolf, Josiah, 419. 

Wolf, Morris D., 422, 785. 

Wolfinger, Clinton J., 816. 

Wood, A. R., 271-2. 

Woodbridge, William, 144, 286, 287, 

298. 
Woodman, John B., 779. 
Woodward, Augustus B., 285, 287. 
Worthington, Delmar L., 677. 
Worthington, John H., 671. 
Wright, W. A., 359. 

Yaple, George L., 119, 291. 
Yauney, Henry, 327. 
Yauney, James, 127. 
Yauney, (Mrs.) Mary J., 108. 
Yeatter, Martha B., 678. 
Yeatter, Solomon, 677. 

Zabel, Christian, 815. 
Zacharias, Allen H., 261. 



'i^'^'w ^^'t^^^J^^} 















■i^srj: 



^ <'^'/'W-^^r 






^v:;^ 



•"S^ .:-^- 



"'.J'^j