(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The Bay of San Francisco: The Metropolis of the Pacific Coast, and Its Suburban Cities. A ..."

Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on Hbrary shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http : //books . google . com/| 



I 

Bavot Sa[} pYaDeiseo 



^ 01 



i^' 



f ■ ■ 



VOL !i 



> • *-< 



r . '^ 



r 



.* 



r\\'Q^c^o 






J.^/i. 




J 



-•THE-«»- 



Bayof Sapprapeiseo 

Tlje Metropolis of tl(e Pacific Coast 



and its Suburban Cities. 



1* 1^' 



iJ^ FI5f©'T?'O^^Y 



^4-^'je^ jra±^CD i v^jn. X i^--Hr 










x^istrateB; 



VOL II. 






**A people that take no pride in the noble aohievementa of remote ancestors will never achieve anything 

worthy to be remembered with pride by remote deacendanta."- -i/acaM/«y. 






CHICAGO: 

The Lewis Publishing Company 

1892. 




(3^^a^TTT_iV 





:, H ■•v^^.-.: -^••-^^..■'•:- V <X-jr^jc:^^,:r:^^^^,y^^^ 






.*. 






I BiOCi^/^pt?IC/iC SI^E5(;i?ES. I is' 

-V^■*>.i'|• ' 







3 



ti '.»'". 






4 ,..,. 



•*'. » ' 



/• 



•' ) 



IV.T 






I-': i .' ' ' ! '• •»;!•. tJV-: ilf ♦•!'«• t- 

■ ^ ■"pre,-i'ntativ(» 8on« of ' 
' ': ' li*^ sij.ririic t'n^in I*rut- 

»' : .*;* •'.■ i-i' •-. ;•■ fn'-Mr'' ii<».»[»l<» U^'ontr. 
:' . ■■.,■■ •' li'vMijii' ,-i.lit»»i of ielii:'M!i-^ 

].::•'■. tr . ••;■ : i\< Miit'jxt'rs, \\'iii\; iji"^ 

';^. -rian fn ith. 

llr' wa- i)orii f'.i :i lai in in Iii'!iffvws)iii>\ 

•1. ! .r t|. . .,».iv ell ; livu. iv.tlowe<i witli t\ 
■ !:•".- r"' r !' ■•oii.i"i-*, v«'";'iij; Spiers, redr.lvud 
I ; . riy i** v!'- •••: t .» .-ar': :. rr.-i •♦.' and lifiit ail . 

,'>*;! f:!-.;' ♦ '•» .I'tiri! I'* u-* * i. -'.s. l»etort' » e 

v.. ,'!''.■ -n voais o'.: !. 'MI- : cut Jill th^ 

. it..:.. r'<.,- rtie iuni-i. u.'J :il;ic.'>, lintels ••t.c, 

.,.'::i;'» iiis fatiU-r '.'JiS building. Thi-^ 

:- .-til! 6tun«iin^. a-. I « ri ont* of its 

laiijo ttio carved the initiaU -J-b. 1831/'! 

'^ 84 



\vhi<^*h Imar tostitiiony to thr. skill of tlic v-'utli- 
fill arli/it. 

'iliert.t s^eeininf:; t*j 1k» no open in;: accr.s.ciS'e 
\ ' li M: i\i h».-* fa\..r!'e tradf. rlujl of n)a.!iin- 

}►«••! ft'. -iin;'! it v.»?tr ;4n«l^ i ii lif ♦- < i» rk :»i a 

'uffitir^ ilui* filiV/iei for lojidini/ a .d Ktu»iv. 
ho /•^Jirfie*! uiiirh alH>ut the Wejifcrn WorM, 
and lH»eaino infatuated wirit the idra of notn- 
JMjx to America. l]\um learnin;^ of riiis dosiire 
ot tlif^ youpg advt uturer, hi> father irent hini 
a ]tiT<»»nptorj unJi*»- to corn** lionif. Vonng 
J ;••'• .- ::c-.\t ohtji; i d ornplovJUiiu. an rierk in 
'?• nrji! liorir tlh» iio'fwstcad, •.*hic.h pj>ition. 
l;o.vever, ho tornjinal'd nino ni'»ntlie later by 
!hn Ijnaneiul failure of th«' tirin. After work- 
ing a few months f<M' a -^iiit) and tor ward in*' 
agonc'V in (Tla^jro'r -p-tili d-..rerfuinei] to fj^«»to 
a trade -- h(* sailed, unknown to liip parents, 
for Calais, Fr;0'':c, arrivi'ig there jiht in 
time to witnes> the tmperor review the 
troops on their lea\ini; for fl:e v-Jri mean war. 
Mcvting with. iu> opening to enter i\\K-i\ a 
steady trade, and with the th»Miorht tl-at he 
might become a captain, he i- hipped on boani 
the schooner *^Tidv/' «»f Varmouth, elu^•:.»•l^t 
in the coastiii(:r trade, wiiere lie hinl a few 
mouths' experience in ooafaring life. Finding 



161484 




■ - --. ^ ' ' 







J>J^^U^JUJ-l.J-l^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^.i^J^^^^^^^^^^^^j^^^^^U 



BI0(ll^/ipi7lC/lC SI;E5(;17ES 



x SjJJJJJJJJJUJJJ^JJJjJJJJJJJJUJJJJJJ t J^JJJ^JJ^JjjJU 







AMES SPIERS, who ranks among his 
contemporaries as one of the most dis- 
tinguished mechanical engineers of the 
Pacitic coast, and is one of San Francisco's 
most successful business men, is a native of 
the land of Walter Scott and •'Bobby" 
Burns, and embodies in bis composition the 
strength and elasticity of liber, the intellect- 
ual breadth and equipoise, and the sturdy 
manhood for which the representative sons of 
Scotland are famous. He sprang from Prot- 
estant ancestors, his father's people belong- 
ing to the Armenian school of religious 
belief, and noted as thinkers, while his 
mother's family were of the Calvinistic Pres- 
byterian faith. 

He was born on a farm in Renfrewshire, 
he and one sister, who resides in Scotland, 
being the only children. Endowed with a 
genius for mechanics, young Spiers resolved 
in early boyhood to learn a trade and bent all 
his energies to that end. At twelve years of 
age he left scliool, and, improving every op- 
portunity to learn the use of tools, before he 
was fifteen years old he could cut all the 
the stone tor the jams, tire-places, lintels etc., 
of a cottage his father was building. This 
house is still standing, and on one of its 
iams are carved the initials '^J. S. 1851," 

^ 84 



which bear testimony to the skill of the youth- 
ful artist. 

There seeming to be no opening accessible 
to him in his favorite trade, that of machin- 
ist, near his paternal home, he went to Liver- 
pool and spent a year and^a half as clerk in a 
book-store. Taking advantage of the oppor- 
tunities thus afforded for reading and study, 
he learned much about the Western World, 
and became infatuated with the idea of com- 
ing to America. Upon learning of this desire 
of the young adventurer, his father sent him 
a j»eremptory order to come home. Young 
James next obtained employment as clerk in 
in mill near the homestead, which position, 
however, he terminated nine months later by 
the financial failure of the firm. After work- 
ing a few months for a ship and forwarding 
agency in Glasgow — still determined to go to 
a trade — he sailed, unknown to his parents, 
for Calais, France, arriving there just in 
time to witness the emperor review the 
troops on their leaving for the Crimean war. 

Meeting with, no opening to enter upon a 
steady trade, and with the thought that he 
might become a captain, he shipped on board 
the schooner ''Tidy," of Yarmouth, engaored 
in the coasting trade, where he had a few 
months' experience in seafaring life. Finding 



161484 



10 



THB BAT OF BAN FRANOISOO: 



it distasteful, he yielded to the advice of 
friends and returned to Glasgow, and there 
with some difficulty secured work in a small 
millwright shop, of which John Oaig was 
proprietor, at a salary of three shillings per 
week. Thus was taken the iirst step toward 
gratifying his long-cherished ambition. After 
remaining there two years and four months, 
the dour opened for him to take a step higher in 
the way of apprenticeship in the machine shop 
of the Barrhead foundry, John Cochran, pro- 
prietor. While working there young Spiers 
lived two miles and a half from the shop^ 
which distance he walked twice a day. Eager 
to acquire a technical scieutiiic knowledge of 
his chosen calling, as well as nkill in the use 
of tools, he spent all his leisure time in study- 
ing the principles of mechanics and mechan- 
ical drawing. His superior natural talent, 
industry and zeal 'enabled him to advance 
rapidly, and also won for him the good will 
and esteem of the foreman, who formed a 
strong attachment to the faithful and studious 
young apprentice. 

When Mr. Spiers had been in the establish- 
ment about a year, the foreman, Mr. Whitford, 
accepted a situation in Edinburgh, and at his 
solicitation, and with the prospect of more 
wages than eight shillings per week, which 
he was then receiving, Mr. Spiers joined him, 
though strongly opposed by his former em- 
ployer, who used every means in his power 
to induce Mr. T. M. Tennant, the Edinburgh 
proprietor, not to employ the young man, 
but without avail. About a year after mak- 
ing this change, Mr. Whitford resigned the 
foremanship; and although young Spiers had 
not completed his apprenticeship, the pro- 
prietor, Mr. Tennant, recognizing his ability 
and tru8tworthines8,tendered the boy mechanic 
the management -of his manufactory. The 
position was an extremely critical one for a 
youth of his years to undertake, for in ad- 



dition to the great responsibilities of prepar- 
ing and supervising the work in a large estab- 
lishment, employing many skilled workmen, 
the fact that a mere youth was placed in 
authority over men much older and of larger 
experience was calculated to excite their envy 
and breed discontent. However, with some 
misgivings, Mr. Spiers accepted the proffered 
honor. With the prudence and forethought 
of a philosopher he decided to avoid as far as 
possible everything which would tend to fos- 
ter jealousy, or to humiliate his older co- 
laborers by unnecessary display of authority 
over them. To this end his skill as a me- 
chanical draughtsman served him a good 
purpose, as well as to demonstrate to them 
his capabilities for managing the establish- 
ment. Instead of giving oral instructions 
upon any piece of work, he made complete 
detailed drawings of everything and gave 
them to the workmen to execute. His in- 
structions were always in the forni of requests 
rather than commands. Besides thus evin- 
cing his knowledge and skill as a master of 
his trade, and his consideration for the feel- 
ings of the men under his control, he also 
voluntarily organized the young men of the 
manufactory into a class, and for three win- 
ters taught them mechanical drawing free ot 
charge. This thoughtful and unselfish course 
rapidly won the confidence and esteem of both 
employes and employer, and made his victory 
complete. Under his energetic and efficient 
control, the works experienced an era of great 
prosperity, the number of laborers and the 
volume of business being more than doubled 
during his administration. 

Mr. Spiers's fervent desire to come to 
America had not abated, and to gratify this 
thirst for adventure he resigned his position 
in the spring of 1864. On learning of his 
intention, he was urgently solicited by the 
proprietors oi the Paragon Machine Works, 




IT8 omaa and tsbir sububbb. 



of South Qiieenaburg, to abandon it and ac- 
cept the management of that extensive con- 
cern; but, having determined to see the new 
world, be declined the tempting offer. Messrs. 
Tennant & Co., whom he had so ably served, 
gave hirn liighlj complimentary testimonial 
letters; and the -entire force connected with 
the manufactory, including proprietore and 
employes, joined in -tendering him a grand 
reception and farewell banquet, on which oc- 
casion 200 guestB were present, and speeches 
were made strongly eulogizing their depart- 
ing friend, for his honorable, gentlemanly 
qualities, his snperior talent and skill ae a 
mechanical engineer, and his fine executive 
and administrative powers as a manager. A 
number of elegant presents accompanied 
these expressions of uppreciatien and regard 
as tangible souvenirs of the friendship of 
his associates. The writer of this article has 
read the published proceedings of this (to the 
actors) memorable event, with much interest, 
as a worthy tribute to sterling manhood. 

On leaving Europe Mr. Spiers brought 
away numerous highly complimentary letters 
frotn prominent business men and distin- 
guished persons with whom he had been in- 
timately connected. His objective point on 
this continent was Vancouver's Island; but 
meeting Mr, Risdon, one of the founders of 
the Risdon Iron Works, en route, that gen- 
tleman induced Mr. Spiers to stop off at San 
Francisco. Being offered a position in the 
Miners' Iron Works, he first took three 
months to familiarize himself with the char- 
acter of the machinery manufactured on the 
Pacihc coast and then entered the works as 
general foreman, remaining in that capacity 
three years, when he resigned to embark 
in business as a member of the firm of 
McAfie, Spiers & Co. Subsequently he 
bought bis partners' interests and consolidated 
the business with the Pulton Iron Works; 



and under Mr. Spiers' laaaterly management 
the growth of this great manufactory has 
been almost phenomenal. Through his supe- 
rior qualifications as a mechanical and con- 
structive engineer, and his remarkable execu- 
tive ability, it has become one of the greatest 
productive industries on the Pacific side of 
the continent, giving employment to a small 
army of skilled mechanics and distributing 
many thousands of dollars per month among 
the families of the laboring men of San 
Francisco. 

In spite of the expenditure of time and 
nerve -force necessary in building up such a 
mammoth business enterprisej Mr. Spiers has 
found opportunity to engage in extensive 
reading and research, and is a genteman of a 
broad, cultured mind, belonging to the pro- 
gressive, liberal school of thought, and is an 
analytical reasoner. 

lie was married in San Francisco, to Miss 
Kate Moore, a New York lady, in 1868, and 
they have three children: James, born in 
1870; Katharine, 1872; and William Glad- 
stone, in 1874. 

Arriving in San Francisco with only $200 
as his entire worldly possessiops — which, with 
mure, he subsequently lost in a mining ven- 
ture — Mr, Spiers has by his own efforts and 
thr<mgh purely business methods accumu- 
lated an ample fortune. Indulging his pa- 
triotic spirit for fostering worthy public en- 
terprises, he is an active and zealous member 
of the Mechanics' Institute, and has served 
some eighteen years as a trusted of that or- 
ganization; he is also a member of the Geo- 
graphical Society of San Francisco, the 
Technical Society of the Pacific coast; has 
been president of Sl Andrews Society; is 
now one of the permanent trustees of the 
Cogswell I'olyteehnic College of San Fran- 
cisco, and is connected with several mechan- . 
ical societies. In politics, though not n par- 



12 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAN 01 SCO: 



tisan, he ie a protectionist so far as applies to 
American industries which produce articles 
for American consumption. 



•— •! ) 



>**§ 



I* >■! 




,ENRY KAHN.— The firm of Henry 
Eahn & Co., San Francisco, importers 
of French, German and English dry 
goods, is composed of the following gentle- 
men: Julius Kahn, S. Bine, L. Klein and 
Henry Kahn. The house was established in 
1879. In their particular line (French and 
English goods), they are the largest dealers 
in San Francisco. They also have a house in 
Paris. Since the establishment of their busi- 
ness in this city they have made four moves, 
each time seeking larger and better quarters, 
thus evincing a constantly increasing busi- 
ness. Their trade now extends over Califor- 
nia, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, 
Texas, and several of the Pacific Islands — a 
vast area of rapidly developing country. 

Mr. Kahn is a native of France, born in 
1855. He came to the United States in 1872, 
after the Franco-German war. During the 
siege of Paris, vhen not yet sixteen years of 
age, he served in one of the hospitals. Ilis 
father was financially ruined by the war. His 
brother Emil came from France to enlist in 
the Union army, and served until he lost his 
life in the great struggle to maintain the 
Union. Mr. Kahn is a graduate of the Lypce 
Charlemagne of Paris. He came direct to 
San Francisco in 1872; was at first employed 
by his brothers in the wheat-buying business^ 
and later became a partner with them. The 
firm becoming aware that there was room in 
San Francisco and its adajcent territory for a 
business like that they now conduct, one of 
the brothers returned to Paris and opened 
the house there, while Mr. Kahn and his 
partners established their business in this city. 




Mr. Kahn is married, has invested in 
real estate in San Francisco, and identified 
himself with the affairs of the country of 
his adoption. In his business relations 
he is most courteous and obliging, and 
no house in the city enjoys a higher reputa- 
tion for honorable and liberal methods than 
does that of Henry Kahn & Co. His political 
preferences are with th0 Democratic party. 

S. B. SAWYER has been connected 
with the United States Circuit Court 
in San Francisco since 1870. He was 
born in 1842, in Ohio. Ills father, Rev. 
Lester A. Sawyer, a prominent Congrega- 
tional minister, is still living, and has passed 
his four-score years. After taking a prep- 
aratory course, our subject entered Hamilton 
College, Oneidacounty, New York, graduating 
in the class of 1862. He pursued his legal stud- 
ies in the Columbia College Law School in 
New York city, and was admitted to prac- 
tice in all the courts of the State. He came to 
the Pacific coast in 1867 and engaged in the 
practice of law for two years, when he was 
appointed to his present position, which he 
has held for the past twenty years. 

HARLES TO WE, Fire Marshal, San 
Francisco, was born in the city of Bos- 
ton, in the year 1849, is a caulker by 
trade, shipped before the mast and for some 
years followed the sea. He came to Califor- 
nia in 1873, and two years later joined the 
fire patrol. The following year he became 
connected with the fire department, was ap- 
pointed assistant foreman of engine No. 5, 
and was promoted foreman of hose No. 1. 
In 1886 he received the appointment of Fire 




IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBdRBS. 



13 



Marshal, and siuce then has filled the respons- 
ible position with ability and credit, his office 
being in the new city hall. He belongs to 
the I. O. O. F., Templar Lodge, Unity En- 
campment, and also to the order of K. of P. 



-i>^^e-> 




^OWELL V. ARMISTEAD, one of the 
successful medical practitioners of Ala- 
meda county, was born in Bedford 
county, near Lynchburg, Virginia, February 
26, 1859, the fourth in a family of nine chil- 
dren born to James H. and Sarah Armistead, 
both also natives of Virginia. The Armi- 
steads are of the old and influential Virginia 
families, and their advent into that State 
antedates the Revolution, and members of 
the family also participated in the war of 
1812. The father of our subject entered 
the military service during the rebellion, and 
served with distinction until the close of the 
war, but a short time afteward lost his wife 
by an accident. 

Howell V. was reared and educated in his 
native county, and graduated at the Lynch- 
burg High School in the class of 1879, after 
which he taught school two years in order to 
meet the expenses of his collegiate course, 
and at the same time also read medicine. He 
came to California in 1881, locating in Stan- 
islaus county, where he became steward of 
the county hospital, and also continued the 
study of medicine with Dr. C. W. Evans. 
Mr. Armistead took his lectures in the med- 
ical department of the University of Cali- 
fornia, and also gained clinical experience in 
the hospital of San Francisco. He graduated 
in the fall of 1885, after which he returned 
to Stanislaus county, locating at Hill's Ferry, 
and devoted himself energetically to the 
practice and further study of medicine. 
Three years later he removed to Newman, 



same county, where he remained until 1890, 
and in that year located at Golden Gate, 
where he has since become the partner of 
Dr. Collins, an able practitioner. They have 
a lucrative and growing practice, and Dr. 
Armistead is also interested in stock-raising 
and the breeding of blooded horses in Stan- 
islaus county. 

During his residence in the latter county, 
the Doctor was a member of the Board of 
School Trustees, and was active in the coun- 
cils of the Democratic party. Socially he 
affiliates, with the K. of P., Newman Lodge, 
JSo. 139, of which order he has passed all 
the chairs, and also in the A. O. F. of A., 
Shelmanuel Court, No. 7,261, Golden Gate. 




4^ 




:ILLIAM SHEW, the pioneer pho- 
tographer of San Francisco, was 
born in Providence, Fulton county, 
New York, in 1820, where he was also reared 
and educated. He soon acquired the art of 
taking pictures, and he and his brothers 
were among the first operators in this coun- 
try, taking lessons from the eminent Professor 
Morse, of telegraphic fame. Soon after the 
gold discoveries in California, Mr. Shew de- 
termined to come to the Pacific coast, and 
left New York in 1851, and arrived on the 
ship Tennessee, March 4, of the same year, 
via the Isthmus. He visited the mines 
while waiting for his apparatus, which came 
via Cape Horn, and he afterward established 
a portable machine on the Plaza, on Kearny 
street, between Clay and Washington, but a 
short time afterward removed to a vacant lot, 
and later to Montgomery street. Messrs. 
Shew, Vance and Bradley were the only 
photographers here at that time, and the 
former is now the only one living. He has 
been connected with the profession for over 




14 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



fifty years, and has also been identified with 
various other enterprises, but not with the 
same degree of success as in his chosen call- 
ing. During the early days he was identi- 
fied with political affairs, and has in his 
possession a printed notice of the call for 
the first Free-Soil Convention, to be held 
October 8, 1852, and this meeting was held 
in his rooms on the Plaza. Mr. Shew has 
always been interested in good government, 
and has served as a member ot* the Board of 
Education. His only daughter is married, 
and is now living in Oakland. 





SCHWARZSCHILD, a member of the 
firm of Feigenbaum & Co., 520 to 
^ 526 Market street, San Francisco, rep- 
resents the wholesale fancy goods and toy in- 
terest of the Pacific coast. The firm is 
composed of Meesrs. B. and J. Feigenbaum 
and Schwarzschild, all natives of Germany. 
The co-partnership was formed and house 
established on July 1, 1869, by purchasing a 
small outfit on Battery street, where they 
remained until 1874. At that time, needing 
greater capacity, they purchased a seven - 
story building, 30 x 90 feet, on Sansome 
street, and there conducted their interests 
until 1883, when, needing still greater space, 
they sold their store and moved to their present 
spacious rooms at 520 and 526 Market street. 
Here their main salesroom lias an area of 
60 X 165 feet; the basement is 60 x 165 feet, 
and besides these they have three other 
floors, all of which are well stocked with toys, 
Yankee notions, smokers' articles, stationery, 
willow- ware and musical instruments. Forty- 
one hands are employed in conducting the 
several departments of the business. Their 
territory covers the Pacific coast States, 
Idaho, Arizona. New Mexico, Mexico and 



the Sandwich Islands. Their territory is 
extended because all goods are of European 
manufacture. The business is difficult of 
successful management on account of the 
great distance from market, the bulky goods, 
the heavy rates by freight, shipments by 
water necessarily taking months in transit, 
etc. The peculiar features of the business 
require special knowledge and adaptability. 
Several houses have failed, while this estab- 
lishment has pushed steadily forward, its 
success being largely due to the efficient 
management of Mr. L. Schwarzschild, who 
had eight years' experience in the business 
prior to the establishing of this house. 

He was born at Frankfort-on-the-Main, in 
1841, and at the age of fifteen years began 
his mercantile life. He was first employed 
in a cloth factory, and subsequently as trav- 
eling salesman for hop and wine establish- 
ments of France, where he resided from boy- 
hood. He came to California in 1861, and 
entered the toy-house of Thurnauer & Finn, 
importers and dealers, with whom he learned 
the intricate business. He is now consid- 
ered one of the best judges of toys in this 
country, and is frequently appealed tj by 
the customhouse authorities to fix valuations 
upon importations. Mr. Schwarzschild makes 
an annual trip to Europe, visiting England, 
France, Germany, Italy and Switzerland, 
purchasing from the several manufacturers 
such an assortment as his trade demands, 
consuming about five months on each trip. 

Mr. Schwarzschild was married in San 
Francisco, in 1867, to Miss Amelia Ochs, a 
native of Frankfort-on-the-Main, and to 
them have been born five daughters, viz.: 
Alice, now Mrs. M. S. Hellman, of Los 
Angeles, and Leontine, Adele, Jennie and 
Flora. 

He is a member of the A. O. U. W. and 
several benevolent societies. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



15 



Messrs. Feigenbanm came to this State in 
1857, and settled in Humboldt county, where 
thej engaged in a general merchandise bnsi- 
ness until 1869. They are both married 
and have sons growing up in the business 
with them. 

This firm is the only wholesale toy estab- 
lishment on the Pacific coast, and, with an 
annual business of about $500,000, enjoys 
an extended patronage. 




ANIEL E. HAYES, member of the 
firm of Hinckley, Spiers & Hayes, pro- 
prietors of the Fulton Iron Works, is a 
son of New England, where several genera- 
tions of his ancestors were born, and is re- 
lated to ex- President R. B. Hayes. His 
father was a native of Maine and a graduate 
of Yale. Mr. Hayes was also born in Maine, 
1838. After preparing for college under the 
tutorage of Professor (afterward Governor) 
Chamberlain, he entered Bowdoin College 
at fifteen. 

Coming to California in 1858, he obtained 
the position of bookkeeper in the Fulton 
Foundry. In a year he was making estimates 
on work, and his knowledge of and pro- 
ficiency in the business became so valuable 
that in 1863 he was admitted into the firm as 
an eighth owner. Subsequently his interest 
was enlarged to a fourth, and upon the for- 
mation of the present copartnership in 1877 
his interest was further increased to one-third, 
he thus becoming an equal partner with 
Messrs. Hinckley and Spiers. For thirteen 
years he has been actively connected with the 
financial department of the Fulton Iron 
Works; and much of the remarkable growth 
and success of that great establishment is 
due to his application and ability. Endowed 
by nature with superior mental faculties, ed- 




ucation and experience have developed and 
rounded them out, resulting in the clear, act- 
ive intellect and culture of the true gentle- 
man. 

In 1864 he married, in San Francisco, Miss 
Eleanor A. dwell, an Ohio lady. 

A. ROGEKS, an artist of San Fran- 
cisco, was born in New Haven, Cou- 
.^ necticut, in 1848, the son of New 
England parentt>. During early childhood 
he went to Brooklyn, New York, where he 
was reared and educated. While quite small 
he developed a taste for drawing, and early 
commenced to take lessons in that branch of 
art. He subsequently went abroad and con- 
tinued the pursuit of his studies in Germany, 
Italy and France, receiving instructions from 
some of the best teachers in Europe. On his 
return to Brooklyn he opened a studio in 
New York city, and afterward one in Chica- 
go. Seeking a more congenial climate, he 
came to California in 1877 and located in 
San Francisco. 

In his portfolios and on the walls of his 
studio in the Flood Building are many of 
nis sketches and finished works that have re- 
ceived favorable mention from artists and art 
critics. Among his many subjects and noted 
works are: "Lake Lugano," "Scene in Fras- 
cate," " Street in Ancient Tiber/' " A Covered 
Street in Florence." Several Italian subjects 
recently sold by him brought good prices. 

Mr. Rogers is versatile with brush and 
pencil painting, both in oil and water colors, 
filling many orders for portrait work as well 
as landscape, and has done much in crayon, 
pastel and water colors. The qualities in 
which Mr. Rogers excels in his work is com 
position, light and shade. He has a passion 



16 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAN0I8C0: 




for brilliant effects of color, which he renders 
with rare skill. 

DWARD AUGUSTUS BELCHER, 
subject of the subjoined sketch, b(?longs 
to one of the oldest families of New 
England, being a descendant in the direct 
line (male) from Jonathan Belcher, sometime 
Colonial Governor of Massachusetts and New 
Hampshire, and afterwards Colonial Governor 
of New Jersey, which office he held at the 
breaking out of the Revolution. The late 
Rear Admiral Sir Edward Belcher, K. C. B., 
was from the same stirps. According to the 
Heraldic Journal^ 62, the New England 
History and General Register^ Vol. XX VII., 
244, and the Memorial History of Boston^ 
Vol. II., 60, the coat of arms of the United 
States of America was taken from the coat of 
arms of the Belcher family, of which Jona- 
than was then the head in America. 

Samuel, father of Edward, was born in New- 
buryport, Massachusetts, from which place 
he early en:igrated to Vermont, where, at 
Stockbridge, in the county of Windsor, Ed- 
ward was born. Edward finished his educa- 
tion at Putnam College, in the old home of 
his father, and in 1868, at the instance of 
his two brothers, Isaac Sawyer Belcher (after- 
wards and now of the Supreme Court of Cali- 
fornia) and William Caldwell Belcher, who 
were then associated in the practice of law at 
Marysville, California, under the style of 
Belcher & Belcher,— he came to California, 
read law in their office and in 1876 was ad- 
mitted to the bar. In the following year he 
was appointed City Attorney of the city of 
Marysville; and while holding that office, 
acting under instructions from the City 
(youucil, he commenced the famous '* anti- 
debris" actions, 80-called, by which hydraulic 



mining on the Yuba river and its tributaries 
was eventually enjoined. In 1884 he moved 
to San Francisco, at the bar of which city he 
has since practiced. 

Mr. Belcher has served in the National 
Guards, and in 1880 received a commission 
as aid-decamp, with the rank of Lieutenant- 
Colonel, on the staff of the Governor. 

In politics Mr. Belcher is a liepublican. 
One of the first to join the Dirigo Club after 
its organization in 1884 (of which body 
he was afterwards vice-president for several 
terms), he early saw the necessity for the 
formation of a strong Republican club into 
which could be gathered the foremost men of 
the party throughout the State; and accord- 
ingly, in 1887-8, assisted by Colonel W. H. 
Chamberlain and other ineml)er8 of the Dirigo 
Club, he organized the Union League Club 
of San Francisco, of which he became the 
first vice-president. 

In early years Mr. Belcher betrayed a 
strong penchant for music, as instanced by 
the "Dirigo March," composed for the Dirigo 
Club in 1884, and many other pieces of local 
popularity. 

Mr. Belcher is a life member of the vari- 
ous Masonic bodies at Marysville, with 
which in former years he was prominently 
identified. 




.ON. JOSEPH D. REDDING was born 
in Sacramento, September 13, 1858. In 
1871 he entered the California Military 
Academy at Oakland, of which the Rev. 
David McClure was principal, and the dis- 
cipline to which he was subjected served to 
fix a habit of precision which has adhered to 
him ever since. IL^' -^'xieived an honorable 
discharge in 1873. '^tom that school he en- 
tered the Urban Atitiemy and prepared for a 
collegiate course under professor Nathan W. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



17 



Moore. He graduated there in 1876, and 
was admitted into the scientific department 
of Harvard University in the same year- 
During 1878 and a portion of 1879 he at- 
tended the lectures of Harvard Law School. 
In August, 1879, he entered the law office of 
McAllister & Bergen, in San Francisco, and 
was admitted to practice before the Supreme 
Court of California, in December of that 
year. He has been in active practice in this 
city and county ever since. He has also 
practiced before the Supreme Court of the 
United States and before the departments at 
Washington. He has been one of the attor- 
neys for the Southern Pacific Railroad Com- 
pany since 1881, with special reference to the 
land departments. This was a responsible 
position for a young attorney of only twenty- 
three years of age. 

He had a wide experience in many import- 
ant legal cases, having been directly con- 
nected with them. He conducted that of 
the United States vs. Kagama, before the 
Sv.preme Court of the United States, at 
Washington, and before the Circuit Court of 
the United States, in California, to a success- 
ful termination. The case was one of na- 
tional importance, from the fact that it was 
the first attempt of the United States to ar- 
rest and try an Indian for the killing of 
another Indian, both being upon their reser- 
vation. Mr. Kedding appeared for the de- 
fendant, who was acquitted by the jury under 
instructions from the Circuit Court, regard- 
ing the jurisdiction of the United States in 
these matters. Had he not carefully and 
closely examined the legal points connected 
with this case, he could never have gained the 
victory over the plaintiffs. 

He was connecte*^' ith the Nanon case, 
which was a suit i ving the right of a 
composer of an opera, .o had his conj posi- 
tion in manuscript, to an injunction prevent- 



ing the production of the same by third 
parties. The Circuit Court sat in banc, and 
after three days' argument granted the in- 
junction. 

Mr. Redding has a large and lucrative prac- 
tice, which is estimated at between $15,000 
and $20,000 per year. 

From his boyhood days he has been a pas- 
sionate admirer of music. He commenced 
to coinpose at an early age, and his composi- 
tions evince a remarkable degree of rhythmic 
harmony and pleasing evenness. There was 
•a sympathy and a musicalness in them that 
was delightfully combined with freedom of 
expression and richness of cadence. His 
numerous published compositions have not 
only been greatly admired, but have won their 
way in public favor and popular estimation. 
Such was his proficency in musical execution 
that when, at the age of thirteen, he accom- 
panied Hugo Mansfeldt on a concert tour to 
Marysville, he was pronounced a " phenome- 
non." He studied earnestly under the best 
masters, and by assiduity and determination 
he has reached an eminence in musical skill 
that but few can attain. When he was in 
college at Cambridge, such was his marked 
ability that he received the directorship of the 
college orchestra. He was also stage manager 
of the Athenaeum in 1878-'79. He wrote 
several comedies, which were produced in 
many of the college societies of New Eng- 
land, with great success, and much money 
was gained through them, which was all ap- 
plied to charitable purposes. 

In 1878 he won the cue at billiards at 
Cambridge at the tournament. He is very 
proficient in the fascinating game of chess; 
and his moves and plans are devised with a 
deep knowledge of the game, and his 
manoeuvres are executed with such strategy 
as to insure success. He held the cliess 
championship for 1884-'85. Dr. Zukertort, 



18 



THB BAT OP BAN FRANCISCO: 



the world's champion, visited the coast at that 
time, and when he returned he published in 
the chess magazines that Mr. Redding was the 
best player on the Pacific coast. He suc- 
ceeded in winning three games from Dr. 
Zukertort in 1884 at Mechanics' Library. 

Mr. Redding was appointed Major in the 
State Militia, by Governor Stoneman, in 1883, 
but declined the appointment. He evidently 
does not seek for military glory " in these 
piping times of peace." 

He has taken an active interest in piscicul- 
ture, particularly since the death of his father, 
the late B. B. Redding, in 1882. In this 
matter he has ever evinced a laudable regard 
for the welfare of the State and the happi- 
ness of the citizens, by his active exertions 
in favor of stocking the interior waters of the 
State with fish suitable for food. He was 
appointed special agent of the United States 
Fish Commission for the Pacific coast, by the 
Hon. Spencer F. Baird. 

He was instrumental, with Hon. W. W. 
Morrow, in securing the passage of an act 
of Congress, appropriating $27,000 for the 
purpose of bringing the United States ship 
Albatross to this coast to investigate the 
marine fisheries on it. Mr. Redding has 
shown a persistent determination that the 
fish in our inland waters, the young of which 
were placed there for the benefit of the citi- 
zens, shall be protected from depredations, 
and that the blessings of a plentiful supply 
and a wide variety shall both be firmly 
secured. 

In the multitude of his vocations he still 
finds time to prove that his sympathies are 
with those who are proper recipients for 
charitable aid. In the furtherance of these 
kindly dispensations, he has often expended 
time that otherwise was valuable to himself, 
in preparing to take a part in theatrical rep- 
resentations, the proceeds of which were to 



be used in benevolent purposes. He ap- 
peared upon the stage in San Francisco sev- 
eral times for this generous purpose. He 
was manager of the " Cervantes" booth dur- 
ing the Authors' Carnival in 1880, and also 
manager with Charles E. Locke of the car- 
nival of 1881. He also participated in the 
performance of " Our Boys," at the Alcazar 
Theatre, in 1886, with General Barnes and 
other prominent persons, for the benefit of 
charity, on which occasion over $5,000 was 
realized. This proves what can be accom- 
plished by an able, liberal and energetic man, 
who is desirous to exert himself in the line 
of beneficence and ameliorate humanity. The 
nobleness of his character is proven in the 
fact, that though he has never known want 
or experienced privation, he generously and 
practically sympathizes with those whose lot 
in life has not been favored with all that ex- 
istence requires to produce comfort and sus- 
tenance. To such his hand is ever open, and 
his words and acts prove his sincerity in their 
behalf. 

He is an able, forcible and convincing 
speaker. His predicates are logically sus- 
tained, and the subject matter clearly eluci- 
dated, while his manner is attractive and his 
magnetism decidedly evident. In 1884, he 
delivered a lecture before the Academy of 
Science, on the fish supply of the Pacific 
coast, which was warmly applauded. 

As a writer, his opinions are warmly and 
fairly stated, and his line of argument closely 
followed. In descriptive subjects he is an 
elegant word-painter, and presents them in so 
pleasing, graphic and attractive a manner 
that his readers are charmed and impressed 
by his delineations. He has been, and is a 
frequent contributor of articles to the leading 
magazines and literary journals of this coast, 
on a variety of subjects which always com- 
mand attention. 



ITS 0ITIB8 AND THEIR BUBURBS. 



19 



He is genial and sociable, and his presence 
is desired and welcomed at all times in the 
club rooms and society gatherings. He was 
elected president of the Bohemian Club in 
1885. 

He appreciates art, and is a liberal patron 
of its productions. So well is this feature in 
his character understood and esteemed, that 
in 1886 he was elected to the presidency of 
the Sau Francisco Art Association, which 
honorable position he still retains. He was 
elected president of the Haydn Society in 
1887, and still occupies that chair. He is 
also a member of the Pacific Club, as well as 
of many other societies and organizations of 
this city. 

In his home relations, he is exceedingly 
happy, with a lovely wife who is in full ac- 
cord with his characteristics, and who presides 
over the domestic arrangements in an in- 
telligent and kindly manner. She is the 
daughter of the Hon. Samuel W. Cowles, 
and they were married in 1881. A lovely 
daughter has blessed their union, and their 
home is brightened with the infantile pres- 
ence of the baby girl. 



■ M »| 



SH«t 



» < |» <» 




H. LOUGHBOROUGH, a leading 
lawyer of San Francisco, was born over 
^ fifty years ago in Warrenton, the 
county seat of Fauquier county, Virginia. His 
father, Hamilton Loughborough, was a member 
of the Washington bar, to which he came from 
Richmond after his father's death. Shortly 
after his birth the family removed to the 
Manor House at Grasslands, an estate that 
had passed from father to son for a number 
of generations, and which is now the property 
of ex-Secretary Whitney. Our subject com- 
menced his education in the schools of Wash- 
ington, graduated at Georgetown College, 



studied law in his father's office, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1860. He immediately 
came to San Francisco and entered energetic- 
ally into the practice of his profession and 
therefore successfully. In 1862 he formed a 
law partnership with Julius George, under 
the firm name of George & Loughborough, 
and this partnership continued until the death 
of Mr. George in 1880. Shortly afterward 
Mr. Loughborough formed a partnership with 
W. Mayo Newhall, son of the late H. M. 
Newhall, the firm name being Loughborough 
& Newhall. Upon the death of his father 
Mr. Newhall abandoned the practice of law to 
devote his time to other matters, and so the 
partnership was dissolved. Mr. Loughbor- 
ough's practice has b^en confined almost ex- 
clusively to the probate court, he having a 
wide knowledge of real-estate matters in all 
their bearings; and he has settled a great 
number of estates, both large and small, and 
all satisfactorily. For twenty eight years he 
has occupied the rooms he first rented with 
Mr. George on the northwest corner of 
Montgomery and Sacramento streets. He 
is, both professiorially and socially, a worthy 
follower of his father's footsteps, and is as 
much a Californian as if he had been bom 
here. In 1868 he married Miss Zane, of 
Wheeling, West Virginia, a descendant of 
one of the pioneers of the Ohio valley, after 
whom the town of Zanesville was named. 
They have four children, of whom the eldest, 
A. Z., is studying law in his father's office. 



INGLES JANES, M.D., whose office 
is at No. 643 McAllister street, San 
^ Francisco, has been a resident of Cal- 
ifornia since 1887, and engaged in the practice 
of medicine since 1888. He was born in 
Lambton, Canada, in 1864, and his early ed- 




20 



TEE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



ucation wa8 received in the public schools of 
that city, and in the collegiate institutes of 
Strathroy and Sarnia, graduating at the 
former after a two years' course and receivinga 
teachers' life certificate. He then entered the 
college at Sarnia, where, after one year's study, 
he graduated into the Toronto Medical College, 
where he matriculated in 1884. Deciding 
to study the homeopathic practice of med- 
icine. Dr. Janes entered the Cleveland (Ohio) 
Hospital College, where he attended two and 
a half courses, being with his preceptor all this 
time. Coming to California early in 1887, 
he entered the Hahnemann Hospital College 
of San Francisco, where he graduated in 
1888, receiving the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. The Doctor entered immediately 
into private practice, which he has since con- 
tinued at his present location. Soon after 
his graduatiori he was appointed to a clinic 
in the Hahnemann Hospital, which position 
he now holds. Early in 1889 he was ap- 
pointed to the Chair of Hygiene and Sani- 
tary Science, which professorship he still 
holds. He is a member of the California 
State Homepathic Medical Society. 

Dr. Janes is of English and Scotch de- 
scent, his father having been a native of Eng- 
land and his mother of Scotland. They came 
to Canada about lifty-five years ago, where 
the father engaged in farming for many 
years. One of Dr. Janes' brothers, Dr. S. 
W. Janes, is a practicing physician in Detroit, 
Michigan, and his other brothers are engaged 
in mercantile and farming operations in Can- 
ada. The father died when Dr. Janes was 
but seven years of age, and both he and 
his brother, who is now practicing medicine 
in Michigan, are decidedly self-made men, both 
having earned by teaching and other occupa- 
tions the money necessary to carry themselves 
through college and into active professional 
life. 



^-^ 



^o^ 



-»-^- 




HOMAS McAWLEY WOOD, a phy- 
sician of Oakland, was born in New 
York city, April 9, 1830, a son of 
David and Mary Ann (Van Steenburgh) 
Wood, both natives of New York and born 
in 1800, — Mrs. Wood in the city and Mr. 
Wood in Genoa, near Wascx) Lake, ten days 
later. His grandfather, John Van Steen- 
burgh, was a ship-builder in that city, and 
both himself and his wife were of Knicker- 
bocker descent and lived to be about ninety- 
six years of age. David was at one time an 
importing merchant of New York city, 
moved to Ohio and settled on a farm in 
Huron county about 1833. Some time before 
his death he retired to Cleveland. He died 
in 1870, as the result of medical mal-practice. 
The Woods are of the early English immigra- 
tion, of whom a portion spread into New 
York State and another portion into the 
South. The Doctor's mother is still living. 
At the age of fifteen years Dr. Wood 
returned to New York State in order to have 
better school advantages. Going again to 
Ohio, he at the age of seventeen undertook 
the study of law in Mount Gilead, Morrow 
county, under the supervision of the law firm 
of Stinchcomb &Sanford, and remai'ned there 
three years. In 1851 he came to California, 
by way of Panama, arriving in San Francisco 
in November; mined a short time at Rattle- 
snake Bar in El Dorado county twelve miles 
from Auburn; next, during the summer of 
1852, he assisted in building the Stockton & 
Sonora road in Calaveras county, from the 
Stanislaus river to Sonora, being in charge 
of a company of men; then he located a ranch 
of 160 acres, retaining it but a short time, 
near what is now Copperopolis; came to San 
Francisco in 1852-'53 and followed farming 
in Contra Qx)sta county. He took a place 
eight miles from Martinez, rented 300 acres 



IT8 OITIEB AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



21 



of one party and 300 of another, and pnt in 
crops of wheat and barley and a vegetable 
garden. A year afterward he went to Rabbit 
Creek (La Porte) and Warren Hill, Sierra 
connty, and followed mining daring the win- 
ter of 1853-'54, doing well. He discovered 
some good claims; paying $32 a day to each 
working hand. He bonght other claims 
which afterward turned out well. 

About 1855 he turned his attention to 
scientific investigation, especially in chemis- 
try and the art of daguerreotyping, then pre- 
vailing and followed the art some years, 
beginning at La Porte. From this on for 
several years he traveled through this State, 
Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Nevada, 
practicing the art of dagurreotyping, for a 
livelihood, and medicine as a work of be- 
nevolence. Becoming dipsatisfied with allop- 
athy, he adopted a system of magnetic heal- 
ing, partly his own discovery. In 1876 he 
visited the great Centennial Exposition at 
Philadelphia, where he purchased an " artop 
ticon," with which he illustrated lectures 
that he delivered, thereafter, on his way 
back to the Pacific coast, his topics being 
derived from sundry features of the exposi- 
tion. Since 1879 he has been lecturing and 
writing against the use of narcotic and alco 
holic stimulants in medication, and he also 
continues to practice the healing art, especi- 
ally in the treatment of delirium tremens, 
dipsomania and the opium habit. 

In August, 1890, he located in Oakland. 
His vitality is remarkable. Although sixty 
years old, he can walk sixty miles in a 
day and deliver a lecture in the evening. 
He received his degree of D. M. (Doctor 
of Magnetism) from the college of that 
school in New York city. In 1886 he 
bought 240 acres of land in Lake county, this 
State, which tract he named Wood Dale and 
where he designs to erect a sanitarium this 



year, 1891. It is situated on a plateau east 
of Mount St. Helena, in the healthiest part 
of the coast. His great principle in medicine 
is the removal of obstacles to the upbuilding 
powers of nature, and he believes that walk- 
ing is one of the best universally acceptible 
remedies. In sixty years of life, and thirty 
or more of the full possession of his powers, 
he has accumulated the experiences of a much 
longer life. 



«t«i g > nn ' 2" 



-••»• 




H. VAN SCHAICK, attorney, San 
Francisco, was born in New York in 
^ 1834. He attended school during his 
boyhood, and completed his education at 
Kingsboro Academy, Fulton county. New 
York, taking a collegiate course. He after- 
ward commenced the study of law, and also 
engaged in teaching during the winter 
months in order to continue his lesral studies 
during the remainder of the year. He was 
admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of 
the State of New York in July, 1857, and 
engaged in the practice of law in New York 
city, previous to coming to this State. He 
arrived in California in 1865, when he first 
engaged in teaching. He was principal of 
the Mountain View School, Santa Clara 
county, two years, after which he was elejtei 
to a professorship in the University of the 
Pacific, but resigned this to accept the posi- 
tion of Revenue Assessor for Santa Clara 
county. While teaching in the latter county 
he was a member of the Board of Examiners, 
and ever since his residence in California ha 
has been identified with the educational inter- 
ests of the State. After serving as Revenue 
Oflicer Mr. Van Schaick resumed his law 
practice in San Jose. In 1874 he removed 
to San Francisco, and since that time has 
been successfully engaged in the practice of 



22 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800: 



his profefisioc in this city, and has also been 
connected with important land litigations in 
Federal courts. He was elected a member 
of the Board of Education, and was afterward 
elected President of the board, his ability 
and practical experience giving him a com- 
manding influence in this important position. 
He is a Republican in his political views, and 
is repeatedly solicited to accept nominations. 



^i^^^e* 



^^ 




•OHN CHRISTIAN FRANKS, of San 
Francisco, late United States Marshal, 
was born in Tiffin, Seneca county, Ohio. 
His father had settled there in early days, 
having emigrated from Germany when quite 
young He was a farmer, and on the farm 
Mr. Franks first began his life work in conse- 
quence. He and his brother Frederick at- 
tended the usual country schools during the 
winter months. By the death of his parents 
he was left to take care of himself at the age 
of eight years. He worked for the neigh- 
borinir farmers till he was fourteen, when he 
determined to learn the trade of carriage- 
making. He bound himself to Peter Van 
Ness, of Ohio, with whom he staid until he 
was master of his trade. 

When the war broke out he was very anx- 
ious to go to the front, but his age was a 
bar. His brother Frederick was accepted, 
however, and gave his life for his country at 
the battle of Stone river. 

Young Frank was accepted in the State 
militia, but saw no active service. He did 
guard duty for a time on Johnston's 
Island, near Toledo, where there were some 
3,000 Confederates held as prisoners. The 
Home Guards were called upon for service to 
reinforce other troops on account of a rumor 
that Vallandigham was coining with a force 
from Canada to release the prisoners. 



In 1863 he came to California, and for a 
time worked at his trade in Sacramento. 
When the Central Pacific railroad was being 
built he moved with it from station to sta- 
tion, working at his trade till he reached the 
town of Colfax, Placer county, where he en- 
gaged in the wagon building and repairing 
business with J. A. Culver. He was married 
here, and remained in business till 1872, 
when he removed to Monterey county, locat- 
ing in Salinas. Here he engaged in farming 
and livery business. As in other localities, 
Mr. Franks soon gained the respect of the 
people. He was elected the first Marshal of 
Salinas City, and was selected for the second 
term. Subsequently he was elected Sheriff of 
the county. He was re-elected to this office, 
which shows not alone his popularity there 
but the confidence of the people in his worth 
and integrity. 

Owing to the change brought about by the 
new constitution, he held over for a third 
term, and would have been re-elected had he 
chosen to come before the people again. Be- 
lieving the prospects very bright in fruit- 
raising, he engaged in this business, locating 
near Santa Hosa. He was there some three 
years when he was appointed United States 
Marshal for the District of California by 
President Cleveland, February 19, 1886. 
His term expired February 19, 1890, when 
he was reappointed by Justice Field, the Presi- 
dent not having filled the position. He 
served six months on this appointment. On 
the organization of the United States Circuit 
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Mr. 
Franks was appointed Marshal of said court 
by Justices Fields, Sawyer and Deady, June 
24, 1891. 

Mr. Franks has had seven children, four of 
whom are dead. He is prominent in Ma- 
sonry, being a Sir Knight of Watsonville 
Commandery. Genial and pleasant in man- 



ITS CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



28 



ner to all, Mr. Franks yet shows in his ad- 
dress and carriage that he can be a very tirn} 
and determined man when occasion requires. 



^w*^ 



g ' > i n > 2 



l> M » 




EORGE R. B. HAYES, a suceessfnl at- 
torney of this city, is descended from a 
father and grandfather both of whom 
were brilliant lights in his profession. He 
was bom in Belfast, Ireland, in 1847. Dar- 
ing his yoath he attended the common 
schools, and finished his literary education at 
Queen's College, Belfast. In the year 1863, 
he came to the United States by invitation 
from his uncle, reaching New York city at 
the time of the draft riots wliich occurred 
during the early days of the war of the Re- 
bellion. He came directly to San Fran- 
cisco, where he entered the law office of his 
uncle and completed his legal studies. He 
Was admitted to the bar, and later became 
associated with the firm of Stanly & Hayes, 
after which the firm was known as Hayes, 
Stanly & Hayes. This partnership existed 
three years, when Mr. Stanly withdrew from 
the business, having been elected county 
judge, and the firm was changed to William 
& Oeorge R. B. Hayes, existing as such for 
a number of years. 

Mr. Hayes Jr., then made a trip to the East 
and Europe. After his return he re-engaged 
in the practice of the profession alone. 
A partnership with Judge Stanly was then 
formed, and in 1879 Judge Stoney became 
connected with the firm, which is now known 
as Stanly, Stoney & Hayes. These gentlemen, 
possessing talent, experience and unusual abil- 
ity, have arisen to the first ranks of the legal 
profession of the State and are thoroughly 
deserving of the reputation they have made 
for themselves. 

In his political belief Mr. Hayes is a 




strong Democrat, and has for many a year 
taken a leading part in the counsels of his 
party. He is always a delegate to the city, 
State and national conventions. He was 
elected a member of the State Legislature, 
and was a member of the Board of Free- 
holders who prepared the proposed charter 
for the city and county. 



,AUL JOSEPH SCHAFER, SecreUry 
of the Board of Health of Oakland, 
was born in San Francisco, June 20, 
1863, a son of Albert B. and Katie (Miiller) 
Schafer, who were married in that city in 
1859. His father was born in Germany, in 
1830, and came to California in 1850, and 
engaged in mining a few years. He then 
settled in San Francisco, where he at one 
time conducted the St. James Hotel. He lo- 
cated in Oakland about 1868, and paid a visit 
to the fatherland by the 'first through train 
from the Pacific in 1869. He conducted the 
Nicholl House in Oakland for some years, 
and stood well in the community. He was a 
member of the A. O. U. W. He died in 
1879, his parents living to a more advanced 
age. lie left seven children who, with their 
mother, are yet living, namely: Camilla, now 
married and residing in Bremen, Germany; 
Paul J., the subject of this sketch; Alber- 
tina; Katie, a teacher of music in Oakland; 
Aalonia, attending the high school with a 
view to qualifying as a teacher; Moltke, now 
dei>uty County Clerk, and Daisy. 

Mr. Schafer, whose name heads this sketch, 
graduated in the high school of Oakland in 
December, 1880, was employed a year as a 
searcher of records, and in 1883 he engaged 
as a traveling salesman in the nursery busi- 
ness, which he followed for years. For 
eighteen months in 1887-8 he was again em- 



24 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANOISCO: 



ployed as a searcher of records, and was ap- 
pointed Deputy County Recorder January 1, 
1889, retaining that position untilJuly, 1890, 
when he was appointed Secretary of the Board 
of Health, which oflSce he still holds, having 
been re-appointed by the new board in April, 
1891, as he had proved a very efficient and 
acceptable secretary. In politics he has taken 
an active interest. Was four times a delegate 
to the county convention of the Republican 

party. 

February 1, 1890, he married Miss Zebu- 
line A. Hunt, who was born in Indiana, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1867, a daughter of Symmes H. 
and Josephine A. Hunt, both living in Oak- 
land. Mr. Hunt served as a lieutenant in the 
United States navy during the civil war, and 
has held a position in the customhouse in San 
Francisco for several years. 

Mrs. Katie Schafer, the mother of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was brought from Ger- 
many at the age of five years, by her parents, 
who settled in Louisville, Kentucky, where 
the father was engaged as a produce merchant 
for several years. Mrs. Schafer came to Cal- 
ifornia at about the age of twenty years, and 
was married in San Francisco in 1859. 



««♦ <i 



g ' 3"g - g 



M^ 




M. JOSSELYN & CO. represent the 
oldest ship-chandlery establishment in 
^ San Francisco. Mr. Josselyn was 
born near Salem, Massachusetts, in 1822, and 
at the age of sixteen went to sea, shipping 
before the mast at $5 per month Promotion 
followed the acquisition of knowledge until 
he rose to the position of mate. His voyages 
were from the Atlantic ports to the East and 
West Indies, Liverpool and Russia. He fol- 
lowed the sea until 1849, when he joined a 
company of twenty sailors at Boston, pur- 
chased the schooner Roanoke, which they 



loaded with miners' supplies, and then, under 
command of Captain Shelly, started for San 
Francisco, the men working the ship. Run- 
ning short of fresh supplies they wished to 
land at Rio, but not having snfficient money 
to pay port charges, which was about $30, 
they ran into Grande Harbor, near Rio, and 
there remained until warned to depart. Se- 
curing supplies they sailed from Grande 
Harbor, passing through the straits of 
Magellan to avoid the stormy weather of 
Cape Horn. They entered the Pacific, and in 
due time arrived at San Francisco. The day 
following their arrival they sold their schooner 
and dumped all their supplies upon the beach, 
where they remained unsold and of no value, 
it being too muddy to proceed to' the mines. 
Mr. Josselyn then went to Sacramento and 
engaged in boating between that city and 
Marysville, running a whale boat, which he 
would either row or sail as circumstances 
would permit. This he continued about two 
years, and was among the last to run boats 
upon the river. He next returned to San 
Francisco, and about 1854, in partnership 
with George C. Smith, under the firm name 
of Smith & Co., they established the business 
of ship stores, leasing a small room on the 
Market street wharf, opposite their present 
location. The supplies were largely in can- 
ned and salted provisions, purchased about 
town at auction sales of Eastern consign- 
ments; and as they acquired money with ex- 
perience they added ship chandlery, which as 
soon as possible they imported direct from 
the Eastern markets. About 1856 they pur- 
chased their present property, erected a frame 
structure and began extending their business. 
About 1860 they gave their entire attention 
to ship chandlery, which has developed into 
vast proportions covering every branch of 
ship fitting from the hull to the rigging. The 
firm of Smith & Co. continued about two 



ITS aiTlBS AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



25 



years, when Mr. Smith withdrew, and the 
firm of G. M. Joeselyu & Co. is now com- 
posed of G. M. Josselyn, his son Charles 
Josselyn and Arthur W. Forbes. In 1885 
they built their present handsome and 
spacious structure, which has a foundation 
measurement of 44 x 120 feet, four stories 
high, and liere they transact their extensive 
business. The firm have furnished the well- 
known Hall Brothers with outfits for nearly 
eighty vessels, wliich they have built upon 
the coast. Mr. Josselyn has been a large 
owner of sailing vessels, and has conducted 
an extensive trade with the Pacific Islands 
and Australia. He gives personal attention 
to the purchase of goods, and for that pur- 
pose has made sixty-three trips across the 
Continent. He is a typical California pio- 
neer, genial, whole-souled and enthusiastic, 
and one who would go far to perform a kind- 
ness or correct a fault. 



!•» »t 



2 ' i"t - 2 



! • >o» 




,0N. THOMAS P. STONEY has had 
a long and distinguished career in this 
State. He came to California in that 
memorable year, 1856, and since then be has 
been of those who have materially helped in 
the progress of the State. He has been 
active in his profession ever since. He was 
born in Charleston, South Carolina, and 
comes of an old American family, and of 
Hogenot ancestry in the remote past. In 
this country his people took creditable and 
patriotic part whenever the country desired 
their services. In the Revolutionary war his 
great-grandfather was an ofiicer — Adjutant- 
General of the staff of General Marion — and 
since then the patriotic instinct has always 
been alive with them. 

Judge Stoney came by way of Panama. 
His steamer waited in New York for news 

86 



confirming Buchanan's election. Connection 
was made at Panama with the Golden Age, 
and the first news of Democratic victory was 
consequently given from her here. She 
arrived in December, 1856. 

After his arrival, as was natural, he went 
to the mines. He engaged in quartz mining 
near Mud Springs, El Dorado county. Judge 
Stoney 's natural vocation was the law, 
however, and he turned to this, and by dili- 
gent preparation and his inherent ability he 
mastered its intricacies. Admitted in 1859, 
he entered on a career in entire harmony 
with his inclination, and one in which he has 
certainly achieved distinction. Removing 
to Napa county, he soon enjoyed a large 
practice in that section and gained tlie 
respect and esteem of the people for his con- 
scientious course. His party, the Demo- 
cratic party, there nominated him for County 
Judge, and he was elected by a good majority 
— showing not alone popularity but also the 
belief in his integrity and ability, for Napa 
county was a liepublican county. He held 
from 1872 to 1880. 

February of the latter year Judge Stoney 
came to San Francisco, and since then has 
been engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion here. In 1879, prior to his coming, he 
was nominated for the Supreme Bench. He 
was defeated in this election, however, and 
to our view of it there was great triumph in 
this defeat. He was the only one on the 
ticket defeated, and the only one who did not 
receive the Sand-Lot nomination. His prin- 
ciples prevented any subserviency to such a 
class of agitators, and in consequence he lost 
their votes — an honor, to our thinking. 

Judge Stoney was associated with Judge 
I. S. Belcher and A. C. Freeman on the 
commission appointed by Governor Irwin, 
and re-appointed by Governor Perkins, to 
conform the codes to the new constitution. 



26 



THE BAY OF 8 AN FRANC 1800: 



then but recently adopted. They completed 
their work in a most satisfactory manner. 

He is now a member of the well-known 
firm of Stanly, Stoney & Hayes, associating 
with these gentlemen on coming here. This 
firm goes back to pioneer times, when it 
consisted of Stanly & Hayes (uncles of the 
present gentlemen); afterward it became 
Hayes, Stanly & Hayes, and finally the 
present title. 

Judge Stoney is justly regarded as one of 
our best lawyers. A gentleman of genial, 
pleasant manner, an' excellent convereer, 
well read on almost every current topic, he 
certainly is respected and esteemed by those 
who have the pleasure of knowing him. He 
is a man of strong religious convictions, 
beingr a member of St. John's Episcopal 
Church, on Fifteenth street, near Valencia. 

fOHN J. COFFEY, a successful lawyer 
of San Francisco, was born on the Em- 
erald Isle, May 1, 1845. He was a 
child of fortune, and was afforded every 
opportunity by his parents, who intended 
him for the priesthood. After attending 
Jesuit College, Limerick, Ireland, he entered 
Brompton College, London, and while at- 
tending the latter his parents sent him 
money for incidentals, and with which to 
come home for the holidays. Reaching 
Liverpool on his way home, and while 
walking on the docks, he noticed a shipping 
sign of £4 to America. All .the money he 
had with him was £7-10d, bnt he saw the 
captain of the ship and persuaded him to let 
him come, which he did. Mr. CoflFey 
arrived in New York February 12, 1857, 
and the following day obtained a situation as 
cash boy in the store of A. T. Stewart. He 
remained in New York and Chicago during 




the war of the rebellion, in which he served 
in the Second United States Dragoons. In 
1867-68 he served in the Indian war on the 
plains, and in the lattet year came to the 
Pacific coast, settling in Oregon, where he 
he held the commission of Lieutenant of a 
militia company during the Indian war in 
1872-4. Mr. Coffey has held the office of 
deputy Mining Surveyor, and also of County 
Surveyor. 

He studied law with Governor George L. 
Woods, James Slater and Royal A. Pierce, 
in Oregon, and was admitted to the bar in 
1876. He came to San Francisco in October 
of the same year, and was admitted to the 
Bar of the Supreme Court in 1880, and 
since that time has enjoyed a good general 
practice. Mr. Coffey was Secretary of the 
Irish Land League in 1879 and 1880, and 
was actively connected with the councils of 
the league. 

S * ^"^ * S '^' 

ILLIAM O'NEILL, deceased, one of 
the early pioneers of California, was 
prominently identified with the 
growth and prosperity of Alameda county, 
encountering many hardships and privations, 
but through all acting the part of a gentle- 
man, and laying the foundation of comfort 
and competence for his family. He was born 
in county Donegal, Ireland, and was fifty- 
nine years of age at the time of his death, 
which occurred March 14, 1891. He was 
reared and educated in the county of his 
birth, and in 1849 came to America, and 
later to California, landing in the city of 
San Francisco, where he was engaged in 
steamboating a few years. About thirty- 
five years ago he made the acquaintance of 
his estimable wife, whose maiden name was 
Margaret Donagan, also a native of the 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



27 



Emerald Isle, They were married in San 
Francisco, and immediately located on forty 
acres of land lying between the city of Oak- 
land and Berkeley, and now known as Golden 
Gate. Mr. O'Neill bnilt a residence on his 
land, and carried on general farming until a 
few years ago, when the growth of the two 
cities advanced the value of his property, 
and, like other land owners in the neighbor- 
hood, he surveyed and sold building lots. 
Mnch valuable land owned by his widow is 
located on San Pablo avenue, and besides the 
residence there is one large business block 
at the junction of San Pablo avenue and tlie 
Berkeley Local railroad. 

Mr. O'Neill was an industrious and ener- 
getic man during his life, and was one of the 
leading citizens of this section of the county. 
He was a consistent member of the Catholic 
Church, in which faith his family have all 
been reared. Politically, he was a staunch 
Democrat, and took an active interest in 
political matters Mr. and Mrs. O'Neill 
have had six children, only two of whom 
survive — Wiliam and Mamie — who reside 
with their mother. 



< 




• — - 

4 — 



^ 




HARLES L. TILDEN, an honored 
resident of San Francisco, was born in 
Massachusetts, in 1820. His parents 
and ancestors were natives of New England, 
his original progenitors having been English 
people. Mr. Tilden attended school and 
served an apprenticeship to the carpenter's 
trade in his native state. 

The discovery of gold in California, which 
attracted the attention of the whole world, 
drew him to the Pacific coast. He em- 
barked on the steamer Ohio for Panama, 
thence on the Oregon to San Francisco, ar- 
riving here December 1, 1849. He did not, 



however, follow the throng to the mines, but 
at once began working at his trade. The 
following spring he engaged in business for 
himself, and since then, for the past forty- 
one years, has been identified with the con- 
tracting and building interests of San Fran- 
cisco, he being the oldest builder now in 
active business in this city. The firm of 
Elliott & Tilden did an extensive business 
for many years, employing from fifty to sev- 
enty-five men. Mr. Tilden is now alone in 
business, and gives his attention chiefly to 
general jobbing and store and office fitting. 
He is interested in good government, and 
in politics is a Republican, but not in any 
sense does he seek political preferment. 




OHN M. CHRETIEN, attorney, San 
Francisco, was born in this city, August 
29, 1853, the son of Joseph and Made- 
line Chretien, old and honored citizens of 
this city. Our subject attended school dur- 
his boyhood, and completed his education at 
Santa Clara College, graduating at that insti- 
tution in 1872. He afterward studied law, 
and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme 
Court October 12, 1875, in the first term of 
this court after reaching his majority, and 
since then, for the past fifteen years, he has 
been successfully engaged in his profession. 
While engaged in a general civil practice, he 
has also given much attention to theatrical 
law, representing play-wrights, both in this 
country and England. He has been associ- 
ated with such eminent counsel as ex-Judge 
DitteuhoeflFer, of New York, the best authority 
on theatrical law in the country, and also rep- 
resents Howe & Hummell, of New York, and 
James L. Latham, of Chicago, the leading the- 
atrical attorneys of this country. Mr. Chre- 
tien is an attorney for theater managers in 



28 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



San Francisco, and has an extensive practice 
with play- Wrights and managers on the Pa- 
cific coast and Australia. He is a strong 
Republican in his political principles, and 
while actively interested in good govern- 
ment has no political aspirations. 




OHN McFARLING, of Oakland, owner 
of agricnltnral and mineral lands, and 
breeder of fancy poultry, was born in 
Belmont conntv, Ohio, near Barnesville, 
Jnne 11, 1829, a son of Ralph and Margaret 
(McKnight) McFarling. The father, a na- 
tive of Shenandoah county, Virginia, was a 
farmer and a soldier of the war of 1812. He 
lived to be over fifty. The mother, a native 
of Loudoun county, was a daughter of Benja- 
min McKnight, a soldier of the Revolution 
and afterward a farmer. Ho reached the age 
of about ninety-six, being a pensioner for 
many years before his death. Grandfather 
McFarling was a freighter or teamster in 
ante-railroad days, and his son Ralph, the 
father of our subject, was also brought up to 
that business, teaming to Charleston and 
other mining centers in the Shenandoah 
valley. The McFarlings and McKnights 
are of Scotch ancestry, bat have been settled 
in Virginia for several generations. 

John McFarling received a little schooling 
in his youth, a few months in the year, and 
was brought up to farm work. Early in the 
fifties he spent a part of two years in Iowa, 
where an older brother, James, had settled in 
1844. This brother had come to California 
in 1849 and gone back to Iowa, whence he 
again started for California in 1854, accom- 
panied by our subject, arriving in Nevada 
City August 24, 1854. John McFarling 
went to mining, and continued more or less 
interruptedly engaged in placer-mining until 



1863. He is still interested in that indus- 
try, being general superintendent and part 
owner of the Juniper and Mount Hope mines 
in Lassen county, which are leased to work- 
ing miners. In 1879 he bought 150 acres 
of farming land near Calistoga, Napa coun- 
ty, on which he still carries on a general 
farming business. He took up his residence 
in this city in 1881, and in 1883 adopted as 
a specialty the business of breeding poultry. 
He keeps a dozen or more varieties of fancy 
fowls — blue Andalusians, golden Wyandots, 
Rose-combs, brown and white Leghorns and 
others. With good management and plenty 
of room, the business may be made quite 
profitable; and even a moderate yard in the 
hands of a skilled breeder afibrds a fair 
living. 

Mr. McFarling was married in Gilroy, 
California, in 1880, to Miss Susan J. Rogers, 
born in Washington county. New York, a 
daughter of Francis Rogers, nuw living in 
Calistoga, aged over eighty. This family, 
American for some generations, claims de- 
scent from John Rogers, the Smithfield 
martyr. The mother of Mrs. McFarling, 
nee Mary Boody, died March 1, 1875, aged 
fifty-seven. Mr. and Mrs. McFarling have 
three children— Lura, born May 9, 1881; 
Rose Eleanor, October 27, 1882, and Ashley 
Rogers, November 1, 1884. 



^m 



> Mg > 2 ll t » ^ ~ 




EORGE G. GERE, M. D., whose oflice 
is at No. 112 Grant avenue, has been a 
re^iident of California since 1877, and 
has practiced medicine for the past twenty 
years, ten of which have been in San Fran- 
cisco. He was born in Chenango county, 
New York State, in 1848, the son of Horatio 
N. and Juliana (Grant) Gere, the former a 
native of Massachusetts and the latter of 



IT8 aiTIBS AND THBIR 8UBURB8. 



29 



New York State. Dr. Gere's primary eda- 
catiou was received in the public schools of 
New York State. His parents removing to 
Nebraska in 1857, where they were among 
the early settlers, Dr. Gere attended the 
seminary at Pawnee City, where he gradu- 
ated after a three years' course, in 1867. 
He then entered upon the study of medicine, 
under the preceptorship of Dr. A. S. Stewart 
of Pawnee City, Nebraska, with whom he 
studied, except when at college, until his 
graduation. Meanwhile he entered the Eclec- 
tic Medical Institute of Cincinnati, where he 
graduated after the usual three years' course 
in 1871. He immediately entered upon the 
practice of medicine in partnership with his 
former preceptor at Pawnee City, where he 
continued about two years. Later he prac- 
ticed with Dr. Stewart for two years at 
Tecamseh, Nebraska. Removing further 
West, Dr. Gere settled in Utah Territory, 
where he engaged in his practice in the 
town of Ophir, and later in Silver Reef. 
Finding the fluctuations of mining settle- 
ments uncongenial, he came to California, 
where practiced for four years in Porterville. 
In 1881 he removed to San Francisco, and 
has been in continuous practice since. 

For about five years Dr. Gere held the 
chair of Anatomy in the California Medical 
College, and since that time, for the past five 
years, he has held the chair of Surgery in 
that college. Has been for eight years a 
member of the Board of Examiners of the 
Eclectic Medical Society of California, and 
has been its Secretary for the past seven 
years; has been President of the Eclectic 
Medical Society of the State of California for 
two years, and its Vice-President for the 
same number of years; was health officer for 
several years in Tulare county; was delegate 
to the National Eclectic Medical Association 
which met in St. Louis, in January, 1881, 



and has been a member of the association 
since that time. Dr. Gere's specialty is the 
surgical branch of his profession, and partic- 
ularly the correction of facial and physical 
deformities. He is a member of the F. & 
A. M. He was made a member at the age 
of twenty -one years, and was probably one of 
the youngest men ever elected in the United 
States as Master of a lodge, receiving that 
honor at the age of twenty-three years. 



> H ■ ! 



£ - i"t - 2 



I * %•• 




OSIAH GOULD SEVERANCE, at- 
torney, San Francisco, was born in the 
State of Maine, September 30, 1832, 
prepared for college at Hampden Academy,- 
and was admitted at Bowdoin College in 
1852, but through the persuasions of friends 
withdrew, and entered upon the study of the 
law in the office of Hon. Hannibal Hamlin 
at Hampshire, where he pursued his studies 
for about one year, and then removed to 
Bangor, at which place he prepared himself 
for admission to the Supreme Judicial Court 
in the office of the late Hon. John E. God- 
frey, for many years Judge of the Probate 
Court of Penobscot county. Immediately 
after his admission to practice, in 1855, he 
determined to try his future in California, 
and landing in San Francisco on the first day 
of January, 1856, proceeded at once to the 
mining county of Amador, wnere he was 
elected a member of the Board of Supervisors 
in the fall of 1856, and District Attorney in 
1858 by the Douglas Democracy. He was 
very active in the formation of the Union 
party in Amador, and was chairman of the 
first county central committee, and ran as its 
candidate for the Assembly in 1862, but was 
defeated with the entire ticket, — he requiring 
only twenty- nine more votes to elect him. 
In the fall of 1862 he married Miss M. J. 



80 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANOItiOO: 



Tiel of Jackson, and removed to the adjoin- 
ing county of Calaveras, where he was elected 
District Attorney in the following year, and 
re-elected in 1865 to a second term. In the 
spring of 1869 he took up his residence in 
Sacramento, where he pursued the practice 
of his profession for four years, and then re- 
moved to San Francisco, where he has ever 
since continued the practice of law, being for 
a time Assistant District Attorney under 
Hon. D. J. Murphy. He was candidate at 
large on the straight Republican ticket for 
the late Constitutional Convention, but suf- 
fered defeat with the whole ticket. 

Mr. Severance has, besides his legal labors, 
given some attention to literary work, and 
for a time was editor of the Amddor Ledger^ 
and was editor and proprietor of the San 
Andreas Register, He has written several 
poems, which have appeared in the period- 
icals, and has on numerous occasions com- 
posed and read poems at public celebrations. 

Early in the history of fraternal societies 
Mr. Severance took an active part, and has 
continued to labor for the building up of 
these institutions, — notably the A. O. U. W. 
and Knights of Honor. Passing the chairs 
several years ago, he has been a member of 
the Grand Lodge of the A. O. U. W. every 
year for the past nine years, all of which time 
he has been a member of its most important 
committees — seven years on Com jittee on 
Appeals and two years on Laws. As chair- 
man of the Committee on Appeals his decis- 
ions have been sustained without exception, 
and many of them embraced questions of 
great legal technicality involving important 
rights, without the advantage of precedent 
in the crude state of new fraternal principles 
of law. He is now a meml)er of the Com- 
mittee on Appeals. He is also a member of 
the Grand Lodge of tiie Knights of Honor, 
and has several times served on the Commit- 



tee on Laws of that body. He was made a 
Master Mason before leaving bis native 
State, but has never affiliated in California. 
He is a fluent, eloquent and forcible 
speaker; courteous and affable to all classes; 
a steadfast friend, given to large hospitality 
and very popular. Fraternity is not a mean- 
ingless word with him, and benevolent deeds 
to the unfortunate and distressed have en- 
deared him to his fraters and among those 
who have known him in the community in 
which he has lived. He is a tine specimen 
of physical and mental manhood, and stands 
at the head of the bar as one of the ablest 
lawyers on the Pacific coast. Although he 
has a large and lucrative practice, he finds 
time to attend to fraternal organizations, 
and almost from the commencement of so- 
ciety life he has been called upon to deliver 
addresses on all important occasions. 



-1^ 



^^^ • > • < • 



^^ 




NUD HENRY LUND was born in 
1832 in the small town of Moss, in 
Norway (one of nine children), where 
his father was one of its most prominent 
business men. After receiving his education 
it was intended that young Lund should 
enter the navy, but his viking disposition 
proved too great for him to await a long 
course of study in the naval academy, and 
when fifteen years old he was placed in charge 
of one of his father's friends who com- 
manded a large sailing vessel, with which he 
made two voyages to the East Indies, when 
after two years he returned home to study 
navigation, and which examination he passed 
with the best character in the spring of 1850. 
After that he left for Copenhagen, and from 
there went to New York, where he caught 
the California gold fever, and from whence 
by sailing vessel rounded Cape Horn, found 



ITS CITIES AND TaSlR SUBURBS. 



81 



his way to San Francisco, and landed there 
in January, 1851. After three months here 
the great May fire came, from which during 
the night he had to fiee with his baggage 
from street to street, and daylight next 
morning found him with thousands of others 
on the crest of Telegraph Hill, with the 
whole city beneath them in ashes. That 
afternoon he took steamer for Stockton to 
try his luck in the mines; but, being unsuc- 
cessful there, and also after returning to San 
Francisco, where, meantime, he had em- 
barked in different pursuits, he took, in 1854, 
a position in the old English commercial 
house of Messrs. Cross & Co., with whom he 
remained for more than twelve years, having 
finally becjme their confidential clerk and 
the assistant manager of their large busi- 
ness. 

in March, 1864, he married, and the next 
year (taking his wife with him) he went on 
a business trip for the house to England, and 
visited at the same time most of the conti- 
nent and also his home in Norway, after 
sixteen years' absence. The former proved 
exceedingly profitable to his employers, and 
the latter indescribably pleasant to himself 
and wife. He returned to San Francisco 
early in the following spring. In September, 
1866, Mr. Lund established himself in San 
Francisco as an importer, shipping and com- 
mission merchant in foreign business, this 
necessitating him again leaving for Europe 
to make his connections there, and from 
which, after visiting all the commercial cen- 
ters of Europe, including the Paris Exposi- 
tion, he returned from a few months' hard 
but very successful work. He had then cor- 
respondence established all over the world. 
His business proved very profitable, and in 
1872 he again left for Europe, more for 
pleasure than for business, and with his wife 
visited and made short stays in all places of 



note in England, Scotland, Ireland, France, 
Belgium, Holland, Germany, Denmark, Swe- 
den, Norway, Italy and Austria, including 
the Vienna Exposition, returning to Cali- 
fornia after about ten months' absence. His 
business continued to prosper, and in 1881, 
after sending his wife to Europe, via New 
York, he five months later left for Japan to 
join her, fulfilling the great desire of his 
life for a journey around the world. After 
visiting Japan, China, India, Egypt and 
Italy, he found his wife in Nice, where she 
had wintered, and together they then visited 
all the different countries of Europe, going 
north as far as North Cape to see the mid- 
night sun. Leaving his wife afterward in 
Paris, where his son was at school, he went 
in September. 1882, to Liverpool, and there 
opened a branch of his San Francisco house. 
He had then hoped to be able to retire from 
the active part of his business, but in Au- 
gust, 1883, was unexpectedly compelled to 
return to California, where he found that 
he had been involved in heavy losses through 
speculations that necessitated his taking 
again the entire management of the house 
there, leaving his trusted bookkeeper in Liv- 
erpool to attend to the branch at that place. 
In the spring of 1884 he was requested to 
act as consul for Sweden and Norway in 
San Francisco, and on April 24, 1885, it 
pleased the King of Sweden and Norway 
to appoint him his consul for the whole of 
California, Washington, Oregon and Alaska. 
Up till then there had been but little trade 
between the Pacific coast and the countries 
that Consul Lund represented, and it was 
rarely that their ships were seen there; but 
he at once resolved to try to increase both, 
and besides the existing vice consuls in 
Portland and Seattle, he had others appointed 
in San Diego, San Pedro and Port Town- 
send, making five vice consulates under him. 



82 



THB BAT OF SAN FB AN CISCO: 




Quite a little business has since been estab- 
lished with products of Sweden and Nor- 
way, and about fifty Swedish and Norwegian 
vessels come now annually to his consular 
district. 

The business of Henry Lund & Co., has, 
during the past eight years since his last re- 
urn, continued to improve, and, after its 
twenty-five years of existence, is now in a 
very prosperous condition. At present he is 
ably assisted by his son, Henry Lund, Jr., 
aged twenty- two years. 



"l/l/l/^^l/l/ln^ 



NDREW MYERS, a ranch-owner re- 
siding in Oakland, was born in Ger- 
many in 1827, a son of Jacob and 
Margaret (Julius) Myers. They came to 
America in 1886, settling in Albany, New 
York, and in 1840 moved to Wisconsin, set- 
tling on a farm in what is now Kenosha 
county. They had four sons and one daugh- 
ter, all still living. The eldest son, Jacob, 
is a ranch-owner in Colusa county. F. G. 
Myers, next to the youngest^ who came to 
California in 1849, is now a farmer in Wis- 
consin, but his three sons and one daughter 
are settled on ranches in Colusa county, Cali- 
fornia. Philip J., the other son, is a sheep- 
raiser in Nebraska. The only sifter became 
the wife of Edward Hopkins. 

Andrew Myers, our subject, bought forty 
acres in Wisconsin in 1849 and farmed there 
until he came to California in 1852. The 
party numbered only six: Peter Petrie, the 
husband of his wife's sister, Jacob Myers, a 
cousin, two others not related, his eldest 
brother and himself. They had six horses 
and one wagon, and united with a large com- 
pany at Omaha. At Elk Horn river twenty- 
eight wagons joined them, the Indians being 
somewhat troublesome. A Pawnee chief 



visited their camp when they were still dis- 
tant about thirteen miles from the Platte. 
They entertained him hospitably and induced 
him to stay, Mr. Myers secretly keeping 
watch while he slept. Whenever an Indian 
struck their camp they quietly induced him 
to remain over night as a precaution against 
attack by the roving band to which he be- 
longed. At Shell creek, on May 8, 1852, 
they were threatened by a band that seemed 
to be beyond the control of the chief whose 
friendship they had won, but they bought 
them ofli with some presents. They here re- 
ceived* a note from the captain of a train of 
emigrants who had preceded them, which 
contained the laconic suggestion, "If you are 
strong enough, give them fits." The Indians, 
as far as could l)e conjectured, were more 
sinned against than sinning through wanton 
and unwise outrages by some of the emi- 
grant trains. Escaping without serious dis- 
aster they took Sublette's Cut-off and reached 
Hangtown July 26, having left the Missouri 
on May 6. Of the eighty-two days spent in 
the journey about twenty-two were passed in 
camp at different points, the actual traveling 
being done in less than sixty days. 

Mr. Myers and his brother joined their 
brother, F. G., who after three years' mining 
was then located in Yolo county, and all 
three went to Colusa county, where the other 
two took up land. The subject of this 
sketch, being sick for some time after his ar- 
rival, did not take up land, but in 1853 he 
bought the claim of his younger brother, 
raised two crops on the same, the first being 
all barley and the second mostly wheat, and 
sold the land to the same brother in 1855. 
He then bought in partnership with Peter 
Petrie 280 acres on Grand Island, which 
they farmed together five years. In 1860 
Petrie sold his interest, but Mr. Myers re- 
tained his 280 acres until 1877. In 1875 



ITS 0IT1B8 AND TBBIR SUBURBS. 



he had bonght 320 acres lower down, wliich 
lie Btill owns. He also owns five seetionB of 
land in Lue Angeles and Kem counties. In 
1877 he settled in Oakland, chiefly for tho 
benetit of his wite'a health, liaving invested 
the principal part of his capital here, still re- 
taining Lis ranches iu Colusa and Loe An- 
geles contities. 

Mr, Myers was married in wliat is now 
KenosLa county, Wisconsin, in 1847, to Miss 
Magdalene Nilles, born in Prnssia, a daugh- 
ter i>f Peter and Mary (Uerger) Nilles. The 
mother died in Germany in 1846, aged 6i\ty- 
six. Mr, and Mra. Myers are the parents of 
seven children, of whom four died in youth, 
and one, Katharine, the wife of Henry V. 
Weber, a blacksmith of Colusa, died iu child- 
birth, leaving no surviving issue. Two chil- 
dren are living: Magdalen, the wife of 
William Hamilton, who was coroner of this 
city from 1880 to 1887, and is now an under- 
taker in San Francisco; and Margaret, born 
in Colusa county, now the wife of W. T. 
Wilkins, a rancher of that county, owuiiig a 
place of his own and renting Mr. Myers' 320 
acres in that section. Mrs. Myers died in 
Oakland. August 26. 1886; and Mr, Myers 
was again married in 1887, in San Francisco, 
to Mra, Belle (Chambers) Shepherd, a native 
of that city and an atniable and accomplished 
young widow. Mr. Myers has usually taken 
an active part in politics; was chairman of 
the Financial Committee of the German Re- 
publican Club in this city in 18S8, 



J^OUIS F, DUNAND, of San Fi 
Ilw was born iu the city of New Orleans in 
^SP 1849. ilis father came to this State in 
1850, and the next year was followed by his 
family. The father was a well-known mining 



schools during his boyhood, and afterward 
entered Santa Clara College, where he com- 
pleted his education. He subsequently com- 
menced the study of law, entering Hastings 
College o! Law, and was admitted in 1879 
to practice in the courts of this State. In 
addition to bis general practice he has given 
much attention to land titles, real estate and 
commercial law, and has ac<)uired a success- 
ful and remunerative clientage. Mr. Da- 
nand is prominently identilied with the 
Masonic fraternity, the Ancient Order of 
Druids and other fraternal organizations, 

jMatALTEU G. HOLMES, a lawyer of 
WVffllH San Francisco, was born in the city 

[•■^Tl of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in 1845, 
His parents moved to Cincinnati during his 
infancy, where he was reared and attended 
school, completing his education at Jefferson 
College, Pennsylvania. He began reading 
law in Cincinnati, and in 1869 came to Cali- 
fornia, where he resumed his law etadiee, 
and was admitted to the bar in 1871. While 
engaged in a general civil practice, he has also 
given mnch attention to admiralty practice, 
and in this branch of the profession he has 
attained great success. In politics he is a 
liepubiican, but is not an office-seeker, 

R. J. D. HARTLEY, Grand Medical 
Director of the State of California, 
(J. O. of H., first saw the light of day 
in Baltimore, Maryland, thirty-nine summers 
ago. He is English and Scotch on bis 
father's aide, and German on his mother's. 
During all the years of boyhood he simply 



Louie F. attended the public ' worked and attended school, and thus grew 



84 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANOISOOi 



strong and robust physically and mentally, 
until at the tender age of fifteen years, when 
the Government was calling for more volun- 
teers to protect the American flag and pre- 
serve the Union intact, ho left his quiet home 
and friends behind to join the boys in blue 
in their loyal eflbrts to save the grandest re- 
public on which the sun ever shone. Owing 
to his age and youthful appearance, however, 
he was not accepted by the recruiting officers, 
who, by the way, knew his father, and there- 
fore proposed to return him to his home. 
Being fond of military display and having 
anticipated the fondest hopes of becoming a 
distinguished soldier of Uncle Sam, his dis- 
appointment was met with a more painful 
surprise than being struck by a shell from 
the enemy's camp. Feeling cast down, but 
not discouraged, and possessing a self-reliant 
spirit, he determined henceforth to be a man 
and take care of himself. 

He therefore began his public career when 
less than sixteen years of age, by teach- 
ing school, with an empty pocket, among 
strangers, and with nothing to recommend 
him but an honest face and his manifest de- 
sire to rise in the world. 

Mr. Jacob Barton, of Bedford county, 
Pennsylvania, received him to his heart and 
home and placed him in charge of one of the 
public schools, which he continued to teach 
for one year with great pleasure and profit to 
himself and especially the children, who be- 
came very strongly attached to him. By 
strict attention to business and the practice 
of judicious economy he was able to show at 
the close of his first year's work a cash on 
hand of $400, every cent of which was the 
result of his own labor. 

He taught the public school during the 
day and gave instructions to classes of music 
during the evening; and when not otherwise 
occupied he was always found in Mr. Bar- 



ton's private library of valuable books, pre- 
paring himself for his work the following 
day. His great love of study and high ap- 
preciation of scientific knowledge made him 
ambitious to secure a broad and liberal edu- 
cation. At the age of seventeen years he 
entered Albion College, Iowa, and invested 
his money in real estate in Marshalltown« 
Iowa, which quadrupled itself in less than 
twelve months. He completed his academic 
course at Albion in two years, when he sold 
his real estate in Iowa for $900, and entered 
Adrian College, Michigan, in 1865, at the 
age of nineteen, where he completed his 
literary education four years later. 

In 1869 he matriculated as a student in 
the medical department of the University of 
Michigan, where he graduated with the 
highest honors in the year 1873. During 
his senior year at the university he was ap- 
pointed assistant to the chair of anatomy 
and physiology, and also found time to con- 
tinue his studies in botany, geology and 
mental philosophy in the department of 
literature and arts, under distinguished 
professors. 

After graduating as Doctor of Medicine 
he began his professional career in the city 
of Fort Wayne, Indiana, where he had a 
large practice from the start. From the 
Medical Society in Fort Wayne he was 
elected a delegate to the American Medical 
Association, which met in Detroit, Michigan, 
in 1874, and has continued his membership 
in said body ever since. 

In 1874 he returned to Ann Arbor, Michi- 
gan, the seat of the university from which he 
graduated, and engaged in teaching medicine 
and surgery, and the practice of his pro- 
fession. The same year he was elected a 
member of the Academy of Sciences of the 
University, also to membership in the County 
Medical Society. In 1876 he was elected a 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SU.BURB8, 



85 



member of the Michigan State Medical 
Society, from which body he was elected a 
delegate to the American Medical Associa- 
tion, which met in Atlanta, Georgia, May 6, 
1879. He was also a delegate to the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, which met in New 
York city in 1880. He devoted about six 
months during that year in Philadelphia and 
New York to the special work under eminent 
professors. 

His father died about that time, and he 
returned to his home in Baltimore and was 
elected to membership in the Baltimore 
Medical Association. He established himself 
in a magnificent practice during Xhe short 
time he remained at home. But Baltimore 
was too slow for his Western habits, which 
had fastened themselves upon him. He 
therefore started for California in 1881 and 
located in Los Angeles, where he was soon 
surrounded by a large circle of friends and a 
lucrative practice. 

He located permanently in San Francisco 
in 1883, where he might enjoy the ad- 
vantages of a large city. In 1886 he was 
elected to membership in the San Francisco 
County Medical Society. The same year he 
became a member of the California State 
Medical Society, which appointed him a dele- 
gate at its annual session, April 15, 1887, 
to represent said body at the meeting of the 
American Medical Association at Chicago, 
Illinois. He was at the same time elected a 
delegate to the Ninth International Medical 
Congress, which met in Washington, District 
of Columbia, September 5, 1887. 

Being socially inclined, he has always 
taken a lively interest in fraternal societies, 
in not a few of which he is an active and de- 
voted member. He is a prominent Mason. 
In Odd Fellowship he has held high places of 
honor and trust. He is Surgeon and Major 
of the Second Regiment of the Uniform Ilank, 



I. O. O. F., and the Rebekahs claim him as 
a CO- laborer in their noble work of love and 
philanthropy. He has held various offices in 
the Knights of Pythias order, and is at present 
Physician of his own lodge and Surgeon of 
the First California Regiment Uniform Rank, 
K. of P., with the rank of Major. 

He is a charter member of Burnaby Lodge, 
No. 194, Sons of St. George, and has held 
the office of Physician and Surgeon to the 
same since the time it was instituted. He 
represented his lodge in the Grand Lodge 
at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in August, 188-. 
In 1885 he was elected to the responsible 
office of Grand Medical Director of the U. O. 
of H., for the State of California. In 1886 
he was re-elected to the same office with but 
little opposition, and in May of the present 
year was elected for the third time without 
opposition. Two years ago he visited the 
supreme officers at Indianapolis and received 
a royal welcome. No doubt the report he 
brought back with him of the solid condition 
of the order and the high standing of its su- 
preme officers had much to do with the sub- 
sequent growth of the order in California. 
Upon no officer of the order does its ultimate 
success depend more than the Grand Medical 
Director. He determines the quality of in- 
surable risks. With this power in the hands 
of one so well qualified it is felt that the order 
is safe. The Doctor is a member of the Execu- 
tive Board, and always present at its meetings. 

In person he is five feet seven inches tall, 
is broad-shouldered and stoutly built, and 
weighs about 185 pounds. He has a large 
head, light brown hair and mustache, large, 
dark-blue eyes. He is neat in dress, orderly 
in habits, temperate in everything except 
brain work. He is genial, approachable, 
companionable, and seems eminently adapted 
for the work in which he is so earnestly en- 
gaged, and has strong characteristic features. 



36 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAN 01 800: 




[HARLES E. WILSON, attorney and 
counsellor at law, San Francisco, has re- 
sided here for many years, and as a lawyer 
has an excellent reputation, — a fact suflSciently 
evidenced by the large practice he enjoys. 
He is a prominent man, indeed, in social and 
business circles, — not that . e has ever desired 
this, but it has come naturally, as a result of 
his professional work. He was born at Brad- 
ford, Maine, and comes from an old estab- 
lished American family. The records show 
that his English ancestor, Roger Wilson, of 
Nottinghamshire, was a prominent cotton 
manufacturer. He, with others, belonged to 
the Dissenters, and, in consequence, had to 
flee from the persecution which was then re- 
lentless against them (1608). He went to 
Leyden, Scotland, and afterward returned to 
England and joined the stock company that 
fitted out the Mayflower for America. He 
did not embark with the pilgrims, his inter- 
ests keeping him in England. His youngest 
son. Lieutenant John Wilson, came in 1651 
to this country, however, and settled at Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts. That gentleman had a 
large family, some eighteen children, being 
twice married. His grandson Joseph, moved 
to Thomaston, Maine, in 1794, and in 1806 
to the plantation of Blakesburg, now the town 
of Bradford, Penobscot county, being the 
second settler there. His son Miles, the 
father of Charles E., succeeded him. He is 
still alive and mentally and physically vigor- 
ous, at the ripe age of ninety-one years. 
Miles Wilson held active place in the State. 
Never a politician, his opinions nevertheless 
carried weight. For a number of years he 
was an officer in the State militia, having 
been commissioned in 1828 Lieutenant by 
Governor Enoch Lincoln. He also served in 
the Legislature of his native home. In 1850 
he came to California, mined in Calaveras 



county, and in about two years returned 
home. 

Mr. Charles E. Wilson, our subject, was 
brought up to farm work, thus learning such 
habits of industry as well fitted him for the 
duties of life, and at the same time he re- 
ceived a good academic education. He also 
engaged in teaching, with the intention of 
attending college, but the civil war broke out, 
and he joined the Second Maine Cavalry, in 
1862, and served until he was mustered out in 
December, 1865. Enlisting as a private, he 
was promoted through several positions to 
that of First Lieutenant. His regiment took 
part in the Red River expedition, and was 
present at the capture of Mobile. It was 
incorporated in the Department of the Giilf, 
and although not present at any of the great 
battles, it certainly experienced all the toil 
and peril of war, for it was in innumerable 
smaller actions and skirmishes with the en- 
emy. 

Following the war he began the study of 
law in the offices of Peters & Wilson, at Ban- 
gor, and two years and a half afterward he 
was admitted to practice by the Supreme 
Court of Maine. He then came to this 
State. Then, in July, 1868, he came to Cali- 
fornia, since which time he has been con- 
stantly engaged in his chosen profession, 
building up and maintaining an excellent 
practice. He has had many important cases 
in real estate, lumber interests, etc., his prac- 
tice being civil. He is counsel for such 
wealthy corporations as the Fort Bragg Lum- 
ber Company, the Cotton-Eva Lumber Com- 
pany, the Noyo Lumber Company, the Usal 
Redwood Luml>er Company, a Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, company, operating on this coast, 
etc. If he has any specialty, it is of the 
above character, judging from the importance 
of the cases he has handled in this connection. 
He has, however, an extensive general civil 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



87 



practice. He is one of the best informed 
men in the city on almost every topic. 
Although genial and affable in manner, he 
belongs to but few clubs. Of course he is a 
member of the Bar Association. He has 
always taken an active part in the G. A. R., 
and is now Past Commander of George H. 
Thomas Post. He attended the encamp- 
ments at Portland, Maine, in 1885, at Mil- 
waukee in 1887, and at Boston in 1889. He 
is also a member of the A. O. U. W., and 
the K. of H. Has never taken an active 
part in politics. 




0. VOLBERG, one of Alameda's 
most enterprising citizens, was born 
^ in Fried richsdorf, Germany, July 23, 
1833; and at the age of eighteen years emi- 
grated to the United States, landing at New 
York, where he remained a short time; then 
was two years at Charleston, South Carolina, 
when he went to New York, in order to embark 
for California. Coming by the Nicaragua route, 
he was nine days on the San Juan river, when 
the water was low, and then it required one 
day by mule-back to reach Graytown. He 
arrived in San Francisco in May, 1854. 
Being an upholsterer and saddler by trade 
(in Germany these two are combined in one 
calling), he resumed it here; and he has en- 
deavored to put into practice the Scriptural 
motto, ** Whatever thy hand lindeth to do, do 
it with thy might" — a text inide impressive 
on his memory by a sermon he heard in 
Charleston preached thereon. Within the 
last five years he has been instrumental in 
bringing out a machine for sewing carpets. 
While it is in all respects superior to the 
Singer sewing-machine for such purposes, it 
embraces one principle patented by the Singer 
Company; and as a compromise the company 



agreed to let him manufacture and sell the 
machine for a royalty. It is used already in 
every civilized country on the globe. 

He served a year as a member of the Board 
of Trustees of Alameda fifteen years ago, 
and three years ago he was elected again to 
the same position, on what was called the 
"Anti-High-License " ticket. Although op- 
posed to prohibition he is a temperate man in 
his habits. He was largely instrumental in 
shutting up the Schiitzen Park,where high car- 
nivals were frequently held by the rough ele- 
ment of the surrounding country. In the 
Blaine campaign of 1884, he was instru- 
mental in the establishment of a German 
Republican club, and was made president of 
the same. At that time he thought he 
would find out how American politics were 
carried on; and after a vigorous campaign he 
discovered that the " bosses " had everything 
" fixed up " as usual ; so that about all he had 
to do was to walk up and vote like any other 
man! 

He has ever been an industrious man. 
Landing at San Francisco at four o'clock in 
the afternoon, by seven o'clock that evening 
he had secured a job. The first week he 
earned $42. He then visited a beautiful 
gambling saloon, and put down a dollar at one 
of the tables run by a little French woman who 
smiled on him and let him win several times. 
Eventually luck turned the other way, and he 
was about to put down his last dollar when 
some one from behind tapped him on the 
shoulder. Looking around, behold his em- 
ployer, who said, *' Look here, young man: 1 
am doing this myself; I can't afford to have 
you do it, too." He had not enough left to 
pay his board bill, which hij employer had to 
advance. This was the first and last time 
Mr. Volberg ever invested in a game of 
chance. 

Being associated with William Ehre.i- 



88 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800: 



pfort in a carpet store on Third street, he con- 
tinued in partnership with him from 1856 to 
1860. Mr. Volberg then started out in his 
old trade again. His present business was 
started in 1867, on Third street, and after- 
ward moved to No. 709, Market street, where 
he is now carrying on business. The present 
firm name is Schlueter & Volberg. In 1872 he 
took np his residence in Alameda^ locating 
at West End, where he has some valuable 
property. 

When he was married, September 25, 1856, 
an assemblage of fifty-three persons were pres- 
ent, the only lady present being the bride. 
They were all singers and members of sing- 
ing clubs. Two guitars were on hand, and 
the marriage was celebrated in an ins[)iring 
manner. Mrs. Volberg, formerly Catharine 
Ried, was born but a short distance from her 
husband's birthplace in Germany; arrived at 
San Francisco, at four o'clock, p. m., and at 
seven the same evening was married, in the 
house of A. Sutro, on Washington street, just 
above Dupont. Sutro's wife was then keep- 
ing a lodging-house. Mr. Volberg had his 
shop in the basement of the same house, and 
his sleeping room upstairs. Mr. and Mrs. 
Volberg have had seven chiUrcn, only three 
of whom are now living. 

The first venture made by our subject in 
real estate was a good one. He purchased a 
lot and house on a large sand hill on Natoraa 
street, on credit, and after occupying it about a 
month, the city graders began digging the 
hill down for sand with which to fill up Sixth 
street and consequently lowered the house 
about thirty-five feet, to a level with the 
authorized grade. 

Mr. Volberg is a man of pushing enterprise, 
always ready to assist benevolent movements; 
a man of extensive reading, and thoroughly 
conversant with past and current events; and 
in society is all that could be desired. He 




speaks fluently four different languages. In 
his business ventures he has been remarkably 
successful. 

EORGE WILLIAM REED, District 
Attorney of Alameda county, was born 
in Vassalboro, Maine, June 14, 1852, a 
son of William and Hannah C. (Hall) Beed, 
both of New England ancestry for several 
generations and residents of Oakland since 
1856. The founder of the Reed family in 
America was Paul Reed, born in Londonderry, 
Ireland, in 1735. Emigrating to British 
colonies, he first settled in Yarmouth, Maine, 
and when the struggle for independence came, 
he lent a willing and efiicient hand as a naval 
captain. He commanded a privateer, and is 
credited with having taken several valuable 
prizes. He died in Salem, Massachusetts, 
January 21, 1799. Robert Reed, born about 
the middle of the last century, a son of Paul, 
was married about the close of the Revolu- 
tion, to Miss Sarah Stevens, of Salisbury, 
Massachusetts. He was in the revenue ser- 
vice for several years in command of a cutter, 
with headquarters at Wiscasset, Maine, and 
lived to an advanced age. Captain William 
lieed, his son, born January 18, 1787, en- 
gaged in a seafaring life, was married to Miss 
Hannah P. Hutchins, and moved to Vassal- 
boro, Maine, in 1835. Their son, also known 
as Captain WilMam Reed, the father of the 
subject of this sketch, was born on Cape 
Newagen (now Westport) Island, Lincoln 
county, Maine. October 11, 1811, he began 
going to sea with his father at the early age 
of twenty. He conveyed the first load of 
cotton direct to Europe, from Galveston to 
Havre de Grace, about 1846, and for the re- 
turn voyage loaded at Bordeaux with wines 
and brandies for New York. In his seafaring 
life of nearly thirty years, he entered every 



ITS CITIES AND THEIB SUBURBS. 



89 



important port from Maine to Florida, as 
well as Galveston, Mobile and New Orleans, 
on the Gulf, and made several voyages to Cuba 
and the West India Islands. He was married 
December 30, 1839, to Miss Hannah Carleton 
Hall, born in Vassalboro, Maine, August 16, 
1818, a daughter of John Gotfe and Mercy 
(Taylor) Hall. The first immigration of the 
family, now known as the Halls of Dover, 
New Hampshire, was John Hall, born in 
England in 1617. His son Ralph, born 
about 1650, was the father of John, born 
in Dover, New Hampshire, in 1685; Sam- 
uel, the son of John, born about 1715, 
was the father of Ebenezer, born July 20, 
1741, who died in Gorham, Maine, Au- 
gust 26, 1807. John Goffe Hall, born in 
Newcastle, Maine, March 4, 1792, a son of 
Ebenezer, moved to Vassalboro, Maine, in 
1808, and was there married, December 11, 
1815, to Mercy Taylor, born in Yarmouth, 
Massachusetts, January 12, 1795. Her 
father, a native of Massachusetts, lived to the 
remarkable age of 101 years and eleven 
months. John Goffe Hall was for many years 
Sheriff of Kennebec county, Maine, and after- 
ward represented that district in the Legis- 
lature. He died in V assalboro, in 1887, aged 
ninety-five, where also on March 6, 1879, 
had died his wife in her eighty-fifth year. 

Captain William Reed, the father of our 
subject, first came to California on the Rob 
Roy, by way of Cape Horn, with certain 
associates, arriving in San Francisco August 
9, 1850. The company of which he was a 
member brought as part of the cargo the 
parts of a stern- wheel steamer, which, being 
put together in San Francisco, plied for some 
time between Sacramento and Marysville, 
Mr. Reed being the captain. In 1851 he 
returned to Maine and engaged in farming 
until 1855, when he came again to California, 
and engaged in mining until rejoined by his 



wife and children, who arrived November 14, 
1856. They then settled in Oakland, where 
he has been chiefly occupied with real estate, 
of which he is still a large owner. Mr. and 
Mrs. William Reed have four living children, 
fifteen grandchildren, and one greatgrand- 
child. The children are: Elizabeth Myrick, 
born November 21, 1840, now the widow of 
David Pierce Barstow, a native of Vermont, 
a prominent attorney of San Francisco, de- 
ceased April 24, 1882; Charles Goffe. born 
December 24, 1844; George William, born 
June 14, 1852; Nellie Carleton, born May 
17, 1854, the wife of Thomas C. Mayon, of 
this city, who is at present engaged in de- 
veloping a mine for the Alaska Commercial 
Qompany. 

George William Reed, arriving in Oakland 
in his fourth year, attended the public schools 
until the age of twelve, when ho became a 
pupil in the Oakland College School, from 
which he entered the University of California, 
where he was graduated in 1872. He then 
read law for about a year, when, on the elec- 
tion of his brother, Charles G., as County 
Clerk, he was appointed deputy and filled 
that position for four years. He then re- 
sumed his law studies, and was admitted to 
the bar in December, 1879. In 1880 he 
entered the oftice of A. A. Moore, as law 
clerk, remaining until 1883, when he was 
admitted to partnership, under the style of 
Moore & Reed, which continued until Janu- 
ary 1, 1889, when Mr. Reed entered on the 
discharge of his duties in the office of Dis- 
trict Attorney, to which he had been elected 
November 6, 1888. Mr. Reed is a member 
of the Alameda County Bar Association, of 
University Lodge, No. 144, I. O. O. F., and 
several other fraternal organizations. He was 
re-elected District Attorney at the election 
held No ember 4, 1890. 



40 



THE BAT OF SAN FRAN0I800: 



George W. Keed was married in Oakland, 
October 25, 1877, to Miss Mary Elizabeth 
Munroe, born in Alameda, September 5, 1854. 
Tbey have three children: Mabel Linden, 
born July 26, 1878; Clarence Munroe, De- 
cember 25, 1879; and Russell Albert, May 
2, 1885. 

Charles Goflfe Keed, the elder brother, was 
almost twelve years old when the family set- 
tled in Oakland, and received hie later educa- 
tion here in the *' College School," graduating 
at the age of eighteen, among the first, if not 
the first, in his class in the English course. 
He then became a merchant's clerk for some 
six years, four of which were spent in one 
bouse in San Francisco. In 1868 he went 
into the hardware business, in the firm of 
Goodrich & Reed, for nearly two years. 
Again he was a merchant's clerk for two 
years. On the first Monday in March, 1872, 
he became deputy County Clerk, filling the 
position until 1876, when he became County 
Clerk for four years, and from 1881 to 1884 
was Deputy County Treasurer, lacking but a 
few weeks of twelve years in the service of 
the county as chief or deputy. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1879, but has never 
practiced law. He entered the employ of the 
Union National Bank of this city in Feb- 
ruary, 1884, and now fills the ix)8ition of 
paying teller acceptably to directors and 
patrons. 

Charles G. Eeed was married in this city 
January 8, 1868, to Miss Flora Alice Moore, 
born in Bridgton, Maine, March 22, 1851, a 
daughter of Gorham H. and Mary A. (Jenk- 
ins) Moore. The father died in this city in 
middle life; the mother is still living, being 
now a resident of Oregon. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Reed are: Olive Alice, 
born October 17, 1869; Elmer, January 9, 
1871; Aimee Evelyn, January 28, 1872; Eva 
May, August 31, 1875. 



^o^ 



-»-^i 




OUIS BAZET, M. D., whose oflie^ is at 
No. 22 Geary street, San Francisco, has 
been a resident of California for the 
past eight years, and has practiced medicine 
in San Francisco during those years. He 
was born in Pau, Department of Basses Pyr- 
enees, in the southwestern part of France, in 
1848, the son of Eugene and Rosalie (Touzet) 
Bazet, also natives of that Department of 
France, and where his ancestors for many 
generations have resided. His father was a 
veterinary surgeon of repute in that neigh- 
borhood. Dr. Bazet's primary education was 
received in the schools of his native city, 
passing the usual examinations. At the age 
of seventeen years he left home for Paris, 
where he lived for two years. In 1868 he 
went to Cuba, and lived in Havana about 
nine months, engaged in pharmacy and the 
study of medicine under the preceptorship of 
Dr. Briard. Coming to the United States 
he passed the next three years in private 
study and in earning in various ways the 
funds necessary to carry him through a 
course of medical study. Entering in 1873 
the matriculating class of Jefferson Medical 
College, Philadelphia, he graduated at that 
institution after the usual courses, receiving 
his degree as Doctor of Medicine in 1876. 
Mr. Bazet then went to Europe, where for 
two years in the hospitals of France, Belgium 
and England, he pursued post-graduate 
studies and attended the clinics, receiving at 
the same time an experience only to be had 
in those institutions. Returning to the Pa- 
cific Coast he practiced for one and a half 
years in Eureka, Nevada, and later for nearly 
two years in Chihuahua and Sonora, Mexico, 
and finally settling in San Francisco, in De- 
cember, 1883, since which time he has prac- 
ticed continuously in this city. In 1887 he 
was elected as one of the vieiting physicians 




s.«f 




Zj^t:^^^^^^ , ^!^ 



IT8 CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS, 



41 



of the French hospital of this city, a position 
which he still fills. He is also one of the 
raernl>er6 of the staff of the Polyclinic of 
San Francisco, and also the State and County 
Medical Societies of San Francisco. 



3^H^ 



i> >— 




R JOHN SMALLEY ADAMS, one of 
the foremost practitioners of Oakland, 
was born at Highgate, Franklin coanty, 
Vermont, December 24, 1830, his parents 
being Lemuel and Sallie (Smalley) Adams. 
On his father's side he descended from one of 
the olc^est and best known families of New 
England. Lemuel Adams, his father, a suc- 
cessful farmer and large landowner, was one 
of the substantial men of Franklin county, 
Vermont. His wife, whom he married 
there, also came of an old New England fam- 
ily. They were the parents of four children, 
namely: J. S., our subject; Henry F., who 
was educated at Fairfax, Vermont, in the 
New England Baptist College, and at the 
Missouri Medical College, St. Louis, served 
for a time in the civil war as Surgeon of the 
Tenth Michigan Regiment, resigned on ac- 
count of failing health, afterward rejoined 
the army and had charge of hospitals in Ten- 
nessee, and eventually removed to California, 
dying at Colton, January 18, 1890, from the 
effects of sickness contracted in the service 
of his country; Francis J., now of Jackson- 
ville, Illinois; and Edward Payson, the owner 
of the old Adams homestead, who is now a 
State Senator of Vermont, residing at Swan- 
ton, Vermont, and engaged in commission 
and manufacturing business. 

J. S. Adams, the subject of this sketch, 
was but three years of age when his parents 
removed from Highgate to Sheldon, Ver- 
mont, and in the latter place, on arriving at 
suitable age, he commenced his education in 

86 



the common schools, continuing until four- 
teen years old, after which he attended 
Bakersfield and Franklin Academy, prepara- 
tory to a college course. At Sheldon he be- 
gan the study of medicine, reading for a time 
with Dr. S. W. Landon, after which he at- 
tended lectures at Woodstock Medical Col- 
lege. He next went to Albany, New York, 
and while attending the medical college of 
that city, was a favored student of the late 
celebrated physician and surgeon. Dr. John 
Swinburne, who was afterward quarantine 
officer of the port of New York, was a Sur- 
geon in the Union army, and sent to France 
by the United States Government as a mem- 
ber of the Ambulance Committee, and was, 
later on, Mayor of Albany, New York, and 
a member of Congress. Our subject en- 
joyed the especial interest and care of Dr. 
Swinburne, and until his graduation, De- 
cember 24, 1855, was the almost constant 
companion and protege of that famous Doc- 
tor. 

Leaving college, Dr. Adams went to Troy, 
New York, and there entered upon the active 
practice of his profession, gaining, during 
the years of his residence there, substantial 
recognition of his merit, as well as adding 
largely to his professional knowledge by 
nearly six years' hospital experience in 
Albany and Troy. His health became shat- 
tered, however, by too constant application, 
and in 1863 he left there for California with 
his wife (whom he had mArried in Troy, June 
19, 1856), and his son, Frank L. They made 
the tiresome journey across the plains, via 
Council Bluflfs, the North Platte, Sweetwater, 
Fort Bridger, Salt Lake and Carson City. 
Arriving in California, he spent four years 
in the mountainous county of Alpine. The 
walking and riding incident to his practice 
brought back his former strength and health, 
and leaving that region he removed to San 



42 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Francisco. Finding the climate here iin- 
suited to him, he changed his location to St. 
Helena, Napa county, from which point he 
practiced extensively in that and adjoining 
connties. In 1874 he came t(5 Oakland, and 
here he soon took a front rank in his profes- 
sion, being at first alone in his practice, but 
afterward in partnership with Dr. A. II. 
Agard, with whom he has since for the most 
part l)een closely associated. Shortly after 
taking up liis location here, he went to Eu- 
rope on a tour of recreation. While there, 
he became a constant attendant on the prin- 
cipal hospitals of London, and his trip was 
extended to nearly a year's duration. 

Dr. Adams is a member of the Alameda 
County Medical Association, of which he has 
been president, and was also one of the first 
members of the State Medical Society. He 
is a member of the American Society for the 
Advancement of Science. He has kept 
thoroughly in pace with the progress of 
medical science, and his long and varied ex- 
perience in practice, together with that fact, 
has attained for him his present standing. 
He is known in the profession as one of the 
most practical of its exponents, reasoning 
quickly from effect to cause, — the most im- 
portant element of diagnosis, — and possessing 
the faculty of teing able to readily and ef- 
ficiently apply the knowledge obtained by 
both study and practice. This is, in fact, the 
secret of success in every calling of life, and 
pre-eminently so in*that grandest of all, the 
profession of medicine. 

Dr. Adams was bereaved in 1885 by the 
death of his wife, who died September 4 of 
that year. She was by birth Ellen Tompkins, 
a native of Providence, Rhode Island, and 
daughter of Clark Tompkins, who, when she 
was a mere child, removed to Troy, New 
York, where he was a leading manufacturer 
and inventor. Two children were born to 



Dr. Adams and wife, viz.: Frank L , hereafter 
mentioned, and Carrie T., a young lady of 
promising musical talent, who commenced 
her education here in private schools, and has 
been since 1888 in attendance at Bradford 
Academy, Massachusetts, where it is her 
intention to complete the course. 

Dr. Frank L. Adams, though yet a yonng 
man« has progressed with such strides in the 
medical profession as to be worthy of special 
mention among its leading representatives 
in the cities of Oakland and San Francisco. 
He was born in Troy, New York, July 30, 
1858, and was principally reared in Oakland. 
He received the advantages afforded by the 
public schools of the latter city, and then at- 
tended the Universitv of Calitornia, where 
he graduated in the class of 1881. At the 
commencement exercises attendant on his 
graduation, he delivered an oration which 
commanded marked attention and much fa- 
vorable comment on account of the ability 
displayed, and a succesbful career was pre- 
dicted for the orator. The prediction has so 
far been more than fulfilled. He at once 
entered faithfully and earnestly upon a 
medical career, reading with his father and 
attending Cooper Medical Colleoje, San Fran- 
cisco, where he was graduated in 1883. 
During the year foll«>wing he was on the 
medical staff of the city and county hospital 
of San Francisco, and then began what has 
proven a remarkably successful practice in 
Oakland. He is now serving his third term 
on the Board of Health of the city. 



< M »| 



g - I"t - g 



I* %m 



MACLEAN, M.D., whose oflSce is in 
St. Ann's Building, has been a resi- 
dent of San Francisco since 1879, 

and has practiced medicine during that time. 

He was born in Prince Edward Island, in 




IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS: 



48 



1843, and his education was received in 
Cbarlottetown, graduating at the normal 
school in that city. He then tanght school 
for seven years. In 1866 he commenced the 
study of medicine in Chicago, entering the 
Rush Medical College, where he continued for 
two years. He then entered the drug busi- 
ness, in which he remained until 1873. Dr. 
Maclean next entered the Bennett Medical 
College, at which he graduated in 187-. He 
entered upon the practice of medicine in 
Douglas, Michigan, remaining there until 
1879, when he came to California, locating 
in San Francisco. 

Dr. Maclean is the President and Dean of 
the California Medical College, having held 
this position since 1879. For about ten years 
he filled the chairs of Obstetrics and Gyne- 
cology. For the past year he has given up 
the latter chair, holding that on Obstetrics 
only. He is president of the Board of Ex- 
aminers of the Eclectic Medical Society of 
California, a member of the State Medical 
Society of California, and of the National 
Eclectic Medical Association. 



< 



^€^ 



^ 




JLETT R, COTTON, a short sketch of 
whom follows, is a native of the State 
of Ohio, and a son of John Cotton, a 
native of Massachusetts, and a descendent of 
the noted Cotton family of Colonial days. 
The first instruction our subject received was 
in the common schools; he then attended 
Cottage Hill Academy, Ellsworth, Ohio, and 
afterward became a student at Alleghany 
College, Meadville, Pennsylvania. He after- 
wards went South, and for two years was en- 
gaged in teaching in Fayette county, Ten- 
nessee. At the end of this period he went 
to Iowa, studied law in Davenport, and was 
admitted to the bar. It was about this time 



that the attention of the whole civilized 
world was centered upon California on ac- 
count of the gold discoveries which had been 
made there. Mr. Cotton determined to try 
his fortunes on the coast, and made the trip 
by ox team across the plains in the " ortho 
dox " fashion. He arrived in the State of 
California in October, 1849, and went imme- 
diately to the mines. After a successful 
experience there covering a period of two 
years, he returned to Iowa, and resumed his 
professional work at De Witt. For more 
than thirty years he was one of the leading 
members of the bar of the State, and was 
prominently identified with its legislature. 
In 1851 he was elected Judge of Clinton 
county and held that position for two years. 
He was elected a member of the Consitu- 
tional Convention in 1857, and represented 
this important county in the legislature for 
four years, a portion of which time he was 
Speaker of the House. In 1870 he was 
elected to Congress, and after serving two 
years, was re-elected, discharging the duties 
of the office for four years with great skill 
and credit to himself and the entire satisfac- 
tion of his constituency. 

In 1883 Judge Cotton returned to the Pa- 
cific Coast, and since that time he has occu- 
pied a leading position in the legal profession 
of San Francisco. He has been prominently 
identified with the Masonic order for a half 
century; he was Grand Master of the State 
of Iowa in 1855 and 1856, and is a thirty- 
third degree Maspn, Scottish Rite. He is also 
an honored member of the California Pioneer 
Society. ^ 



C. HUSSEY was born in the State of 
Maine in 1832. His ancestors were 
^ early settlers of New England, and 
his father was a farmer by occupation. 




44 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800 : 



Mr. Hussey attended school and served an 
apprenticeship to the trade of ship-carpenter 
and joiner, and after reaching manhood deter- 
mined to try his fortune on the Pacific coast. 
Accordingly, in 1855, he sei sail on the 
Northern Light for Nicaragua, and thence 
on the Sierra Nevada continued his voyage 
to this city. After a few months' stay in 
San Francisco, he sought the mines and re- 
mained there some time; went up on one of 
the first ships to the Fraser river mines. In 
1859 he returned to San Francisco and en- 
gaged in contracting and building, and for 
over thirty years has been ])rominently 
identified with the building interests here. 

From early boyhood Mr. Hussey has 
depended on his own exertions. When only 
ten years old he left home and learned his 
trade, and before he was twenty had earned 
and saved $500. He has taken some heavy 
contracts, and has had an extensive experience 
in building here; enjoys an enviable reputa- 
tion for fine work, and during his long 
business career in this city has won many 
friends. 

AMES LARUE, of the firm of Mathews 
& Larue, real-estate and insurance agents, 
of Oakland, was born in St. Joseph, Mich- 
igan, April 12, 1840, a son of James R. and 
Sarah (Van Buskirk) Larue, who were mar- 
ried in their native State, New Jersey. His 
father was a paper manufacturer in Bergen 
county, that State, and about 1838 moved to 
Michigan, settling in St. Joseph county, as a 
pioneer, and engaged in real estate, lumber- 
ing and farming. Two sons were born there, 
— L. B. and James, and two daughters, — 
Maria and Cathleen. The father first came 
to California in 1849, across the plains, and 
went to mining in El Dorado county near 
Placerville; then for two years was engaged 




in the produce business in Sacramento; next 
went to San Francisco and took up a claim of 
160 acres near the willows, and carried on a 
dairy business about a year. Selling out 
there he moved to what was then San Anto- 
nio in 1852, bought about 200 acres of the 
Peralta ranch, kept a general store, — the first 
in that place — bought redwood from the lum- 
ber manufacturers and sold it in Oakland and 
San Francisco, he being thus the first lum- 
ber dealer in what is now Oakland. The 
lumber yard is now conducted by E. M. 
Derby & Co. He continued in that business 
until 1858; built two steamers, the San An- 
tonio and Oakland, ferry boats, running them 
between San Francisco and Oakland until 
about 1866. After selling the boats to the 
Central Pacific Railway Company, he con- 
tinued in the lumber huincss until his death 
in January, 1872. He was born in February, 
1800. In 1856-7 he was a member of the 
State Assembly. The mother and one child, 
Luke B., came out in 1852; James and Cath- 
leen followed in 1853; the others remained. 
One sister, Maria, now Mrs. J. B. Suther- 
land, of St. Joseph, Michigan, and James 
(our subject), are living. She is aged about 
sixty years. Their mother lived to be about 
sixty-eight years old, dying in 1878. The 
grandparents on both sides, natives of New 
Jersey, were well advanced in years at the 
time of their death. 

Jamov^ Lame was first educated in Olivet, 
Michigan, and after coming here, in the Jes- 
uit College at Santa Clara; then in John R. 
Jarboe'p academy in Alameda, about three 
years. In 1858 he went to work as a steam- 
boat clerk for his father, remaining so em- 
ployed until the saleof his boats to the railway 
company in 1866; next he was engaged in min- 
ing in Montana, near Helena, for a year; then 
was assistant of his father here in Oakland in 
the lumber business until his death in 1872 



IT8 OITIEa AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



i5 



He then cod tinned the same nntil 1880, 
when he sold out and engaged in hie present 
basiness. In 1885 he formed a partnership 
with Mr. Mathews, under the present style 
of Mathews <& Larue. Mr. Larue has been 
Assessor of Brooklyn township, and a mem- 
ber of the Council of the City of Oakland. 
Is a member of Brooklyn Lodge, F. & A. M. 
He was married in Oakland, in 1869, to 
Miss Lydia Palmer, a native of New York, 
and a daughter of Silas and Kuth (Reed) Palm- 
er, both natives of New York State, who 
lived to about the age of seventy, the father 
dying in Wisconsin and the mother in Oak- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. Larue have five living 
children, — Ruth, Mamie, James Buskirk, 
Lloyd Palmer and Sarah Yan Buskirk Larue. 



*« ^3 «' C ' S 



II I M 




,ENRY SEYENING, President of the 
Bank of Alameda, was born in the city 
of Herford, Westphalia, Germany, June 
8, 1833, and from the age of twelve to fifteen 
years he was an attendant at the gymnasium. 
Then for four and a half years he was engaged 
in mercantile pursuits. In the fall of 1852 
he started for California, came around Cape 
Horn and arrived at San Francisco in June 
the next year. He immediately went on to 
^itolumne county, to meet there his brother 
^ho had preceded him to this State, and en- 
Ipiged in mining there for several years. In 
1856 he entered into partnership with Fritz 
Boehmer in mercantile pursuits at Campo 
Seco, and later at Columbia, that county, with 
satisfactory success. In 1879 he became 
President of the Tuolumne Water Company 
and held that position during his residence 
there. He was also Wells, Fargo & Co.'s 
express agent at Columbia for about twelve 
years, and carried on private banking. In 
1884 he disposed of his interests there and 



came to Alameda, where he has since. resided. 

In April, 1886, he was elected President 
of the Bank of Alameda, which position he 
now fills, with entire satisfaction to the stock- 
holders, as well as to the public. He is a 
thorough, practical business man and an hon- 
ored citizen. Following is an account of the 
bank as published in the local papers: 

"The Bank of Alameda is the ontgro'^th 
of a private bank which commenced business 
in Alameda, October 1, 1878. The firm 
name was John W. Hinds &Co. Mr. Hinds 
was then President of the First National 
Bank of San Jose. At the end of one year 
this bank was succeeded by the First National 
Bank of Alanieda, with a paid-up capital of 
$50,000. This was the first national bank to 
be organized in California upon a currency 
basis, the others being national gold banks. 
In January, 1881, the capital was increased 
to $75,000, and in July, 1881, to $100,000. 
In January, 1883, Mr. Conrad Liese was 
elected president of the bank, the directors 
being Messrs. Liese, Thompson, Linderman, 
Knowl and Schroeder. Upon the death of 
Mr. Liese, in April, 1886, Mr. Henry Seven- 
ing was elected president, and he has con- 
tinued to serve in that capicity every since. 
The bank moved tq its new building January 
1, 1888, and now occupies the handsomest 
and best appointed banking room on this 
side of the bay, with possibly one exception. 
The large fire-proof vaults and the burglar- 
proof safe protected by a time lock, are the 
most expensive and the most secure that are 
ma*nufactured, all being from the well-known 
manufacturers, Messrs. Hall & Co. The 
vault is exposed to plain view on every side, 
and is inspected by a watchman at short inter- 
vals during the night, making it simply 
impossible for burglars to obtain an entrance. 
The well-known integrity and high standing 
of every officer and director places the bank 



46 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISOO: 



apon as solid a basis as any bank can be. 
Tlie assets of the bank are now $329,598.63. 
These are periodically examined in detail by 
a committee of the directors, and at the last 
examination, jnst held, were pronounced per- 
fectly good and satisfactory in every partic- 
ular. The fact that the deposits have 
increased about $80,000 in the past year is 
the best evidence that both the bank and city 
are on the high road to prosperity." 

The present paid-up capital is $100,000; 
surplus and undivided proiits, $30,000. The 
Alameda Savings Bank was organized Feb- 
ruary 1, 1890, with a capital stock of $100,- 
000, and is managed by the same company 
and in the same manner as the Bank of Ala- 
meda. The number of shareholders is forty- 
nine, the most of whom are residents of Ala- 
meda. The vice-president of these banks is 
Dell Linderman; cashier and secretary, J. E. 
Baker; the other directors are A. Schroeder, 
R. R. Thompson, J. Knowl, D. L. Randolph 
and Columbus Bartlett. 

Mr. Sevening is a member of the Masonic 
fraternity, belonging to Oak Grove Lodge, 
No. 215, of Alameda, Alameda Chapter, No. 
70, R. A. M., and of Pacific Coramandery, 
No. 3, K. T., of Sonora, Tuolumne county, 
California. At Columbia, that county, in 
June, 1860, he married Miss Louisa Wedl, 
a native of Bavaria, Germany, and they have 
one son and three daughters. 

EELY F. LONG, M. D., whose office is 
at 14 Grant avenue, San Francisco, has 
been a resident of California for the 
past thirteeen years, and has practiced medi- 
cine in San Francisco for the past nine years. 
He was born in St. John's, New Brunswick, in 
1855, and is of German and English descent, 
his ancestors having been early settlers of New 




England. About the close of the Revolu- 
tionary war, being in sympathy with the Eng- 
lish government, they left the United States 
and removed to New Brunswick, where the 
family have remained, many members of it, 
however, having returned to this country 
within the last fifty years. 

Dr. Long received his early education in 
the schools of New Brunswick, and com- 
menced the study of medicine in January, 
1878, under the preceptorship of Dr. S. B. 
Foster of Eureka, Humboldt county, Cali- 
fornia. Soon afterward he entered the medi- 
cal department of the University of Cali- 
fornia, where he attended two courses of lec- 
tures. In 1880 he went to New York and 
entered the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of the City of New York, where he grad- 
uated after the usual course, in 1881, receiving 
his degree as Doctor of Medicine. He returned 
at once after graduation to California, and 
entered into private practice in San Fran- 
cisco, where he has built up a large and lucra- 
tive patronage. Dr. Long is a member of 
the State and County Medical Societies, of 
the Masonic, the Odd Fellows, the Knights 
of Pythias, and other fraternal societies. 



%%^ 




ILLIAM SEYMOUR PHELA'N, 

of the firm of Phelan «&; Fish, whole- 
sale and retail importing grocers 
of Oakland, was born in New York city, 
February 19, 1838, a son of John and 
Prudence L. (Husted) Phelan, both of whom 
died at the age of about forty years. The 
maternal grandfather, Thomas Seymour Hu- 
sted, was a farmer of Fairfield county, Con- 
necticut, and lived to the age of seventy 
years; and his wife, by birth a Miss Crissey, 
lived to about the same age. Both were of 
New England ancestry for several genera- 



IT8 CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS, 



47 



tions. John Phelan, the father of W. S., 
was by birth an American of Irish descent, 
and a carpenter by trade, in New York city, 
and at his death left four children, George 
E., John R., William S. and Charles T., of 
whom the two eldest came to California 
about 1850 and engaged in mining. George 
E. was occupied near Jacksonville, Oregon, 
when last heard from in 1853, and John R. 
died near San Andreas, in Calaveras county. 
William S. and Charles T. were placed 
under the guardiatiship of W. K. Tattersall, 
an official member of the Sixth Street Bap- 
tist Church, of New York, of which their 
parents had been members. They were sent 
to board at a farm house in central New 
York at the expense of the estate left by 
their father, and attended a country school. 
By mismanagement of the estate or the self- 
seeking of their guardian they were at the 
age of fourteen years thrown on their 
resources, and were obliged to take legal 
steps to obtain their inheritance. 

Mr. W. S. Phelan, our present subject, is 
a good type of the self-made man, owing but 
little to fortune except what he has wrung 
from her by hard work from his youth up, 
by persistent industry and frugal living, and 
to birth the common inheritance of a 
good name, good sense, good health and the 
indomitable energy that have made him 
literally the *' architect of his own fortune." 
After a brief experience of farm work, he 
learned telegraphy at the age of eighteen at 
Fonda, New York, and was for many years 
operator and station agent on railroads in 
Canada and the Western States, when he 
emigrated to Califor.iia, by way of New 
York and Panama, arriving in San Francisco 
in June, 1861. Soon after his arrival he was 
employed as telegraph operator at Virginia 
City, Nevada, and afterw.irl entered into 
partnership at Gold Hill, Nevada, with S. 



W. Chubbuck, who had the postoffi^e, tele- 
graph office and stationery store at that 
point. He was admitted into partnership in 
the bankino: business of H. H. Flairar & Co., 
Gold Hill, in 1870, withdrawing a year and 
a half later, and after a few months in Sin 
Jose came to Oakland, in 1872. After a 
year or two more in the service of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company as oper- 
ator, he engaged in sheep-raising in Fresno 
county for four or five years; after that he 
was a money broker in San Francisco; and 
in 1880 he formed a partnership with 
George L. Fish, a retail grocer in East 
Oakland, and from this has grown in ten 
years the prosperous wholesale and import- 
ing grocery business of Phelan & Fish, of 
Oakland, who are now universally regarded as 
among the largest houses in their line on this 
coast. Their main store, Nos. 466 to 472 
Eleventh street, is eighty feet wide by ninety 
to 100 feet in depth. They do a large 
jobbing trade throughout the coast, pur- 
chasing their goods in carload lots in the 
East, for cash, thus securing the double ad- 
vantage of low freights and cash discounts. 
Their enterprise has been of the wide awake 
and unremitting order, and their business 
has accordingly grown with phenoiienal 
rapidity, until their large central store and 
outside warehouses are really insufficient to 
accomrnodate the demands of their trade. In 
their retail department their success has 
been equally great, and to meet its require- 
ments they established a branch at 1308 San 
Pablo avenue, in March, 1890, and one at 
the corner of Seventh and Henry streets 
in June following. They employ six delivery 
wagons and eighteen men in their city trade, 
besides the labor and service required for 
shipping goods to outside points. They 
have made but few mistakes, and have 
forced success by unremitting industry. 



48 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCI8C0: 



Straightforward business methods, close at- 
tention to the wants of their patrons and 
a consistent uniformity in the fair treat- 
ment of their customers. The least expert 
buyer is always sure of full measure, correct 
weight and good quality at the lowest rates 
when dealing with Phelan & Fish. The 
firm are among the leading stockholders of 
the First National Bank of Oakland, in 
which Mr. Phelan is a director. 

Mr. Phelan was married in San Fran- 
cisco, January 19, 1871, to Louise M. 
Putnam, who was born in New Hampshire, 
a daughter of Hervey and Lovina (Hall) 
Putnam, both of New England descent for 
several generations, and still living. Mr. 
and Mrs. Phelan have two children: Amy 
Louise, bom June 12, 1873, and now attend, 
ing the Oakland High School; and Seymour 
Husted, bom in Fruitvale, May 21, 1880, and 
attending the public school. The beautiful 
home of the family is surrounded by thirty- 
five acres of fruit land in the pleasant suburb 
of Fruitvale. 




^OHN LEFFLER, M. D., whose office is 
at No. 22 Geary street, San Francisco, 
has been a resident of California since 
1864, and has practiced medicine on the 
coast for the past sixteen years. He was 
born in Van Buren county, Iowa, in 1842, 
on the farm which is still owned and con- 
ducted by his father. His early education 
was received in the public schools of that 
county, and he also worked on his father's farm 
until the age of eighteen years. During the 
Pike's Peak excitement of 1862, Mr. Leffier 
left home, and, except a visit home in 1884, 
he has remained West since that time. He 
spent two years in Colorado, engaged in 
mining, ranching and stock-raising. On 



coming to California in 1864, he worked on 
a ranch for about two years, and then 
attended the Sotoyome Institute at Healds- 
burg, from 1867 to 1869. He then engaged 
in teaching school, in which he continued for 
about five years, meanwhile engaging in the 
study of medicine. In 1872 he came to San 
Francisco and studied under the preceptor- 
ship of Dr. L. C. Lane, at the same time 
attending lectures at the Medical College of 
the Pacific, now the Cooper Medical College, 
graduating at that institution November 5, 
1874. Dr. Leffier commenced the practice of 
medicine at Martinez, Contra Costa county, 
and continued there for about thirteen yeara. 
In 1887 he returned to San Francisco, where 
he has built up a satisfactory practice. Dr. 
Leffier is one of the medical examiners of the 
Society of Chosen Friends of San Francisco* 

.1 ■l ^ ' IUl ' gl ' » ■ 




OSEPH KNOWLAND.— There are few 
names better known in connection with 
the lumber and shipping interests of 
this coast than that of the above gentleman. 
Mr. Knowland came to California when quite 
young, a stranger in a strange land. He 
brought with him, however, a heritage of 
good principles, a sound and vigorous frame 
and indomitable resolution to make his life 
here successful, and these were of infinitely 
greater service to him in his contests here 
than wealth would have been. His life work 
since coming has been marked by continued 
industry, and to this was added keen busi- 
ness ability; so, that he succeeded in his aims 
is but natural. He now is well known par- 
ticularly in commercial and shipping circles; 
hence we doubt not the facts of his history 
herewith given will be read with some 
interest. 

Mr. Knowland was born in New York and 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



49 



raised at Sonthampton, Long Island, and there 
he received his schooling. He was yet in his 
'teens when the news of the gold discovery 
here was carried East, and this aroused in 
him a spirit of enterprise that only the ven- 
ture to the far West could satisfy. In com- 
ing to California he was well equipped. 
He had, as we stated, good health, and the 
moral home education he received was a 
staunch foundation for his after work. He 
came by way of the Isthmus, going to Aspin- 
wall on the George Law. He arrived in 
San Francisco February 14, 1857, on the 
John L. Stephens. 

Shortly after he went to the mines and 
worked in the usual manner of that early 
time in the neighborhood of Yankee Jim's, 
Placer county. He did not mine long, how- 
ever, for taking sick he returned to San 
Francisco. Mining indeed was not such as 
imagination had painted it, nor did it prove 
as lucrative. In this city he soon secured an 
engagement with the shipping house of 
Moore & Folger, then agents for a line of 
clipper ships running between here and 
New York. He was with them for a con- 
siderable period, and also had other engage- 
ments of like character prior to his entering 
the lumber business. His first experience 
in this business was in the year 1862, when 
he began with Benjamin Dore. Afterward 
he was with the house of Blyth & Wether- 
bee. In 1867 he entered business for him- 
self with Mr. Springer, under the title of 
Springer & Knowland, and so continued for 
some three years. About this period Mr. 
Knowland had a sick spell and was out of 
business for about a year. He next entered 
the lumber business, associated with Charles 
F. Doe, under the title of Knowland & Doe. 
He was so associated for a number of years. 
Prior to his connection with the Gardiner 
Mill Co. in 1882, Mr. Knowland made a trip I 



East. From 1882 up to the present he has 
been agent here of this company, and is in 
fact the managing owner. The Gardiner 
Mill Company have a very important enter- 
prise. The mill, which was located at Gar- 
diner City, Oregon, was burned in October, 
1888, but this impeded operations only for a 
time. Of this company Mr. Knowland is 
the president as well. It owns extensive 
lumber lands, and has interests in a lar^e 
coasting fleet. In its operations indeed large 
capital is used, and used in a very enterpris- 
ing manner. In giving this running sum- 
mary of Mr. Knowland's history we do not 
go into detail, for these would take more 
space than our limits would permit. Enough 
is shown, however, to give an idea of his 
enterprise and the industry that has charac- 
terized him since coming here. Besides the 
above, indeed, he has at various times en- 
gaged in other important undertakings. He 
has truly been a far-seeing man and used the 
wealth that by his own energy he has accum- 
ulated very wisely. For instance, he was the 
main owner in the well-knovTn whaler, the 
Amethyst, wrecked some time ago, and to 
the rescue of the crew of which the Govern- 
ment dispatched a relief vessel. He at one 
time was also interested with the Hoopers 
and Talbots in the San Pedro Lumber Co., 
and was a director of that company. He 
also had laf^e interests in the Southern 
Lumber Co. of San Diego, which he closed 
out. Of this he was president and one of 
the board of directors. With Gov. Low, 
Egbert Judson and other prominent men, he 
was interested largely at one time in Ari- 
zona mines. 

He has been a resident of Alameda since 
1872. Is now one of the directors and the 
largest owner in the Alameda Bank. Nor 
has he allowed business undertakings to con- 
sume all his time. He has given freely of 



50 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANC I 800: 



both his time and money to the fostering of 
many worthy institutions, such as the Old 
People's Ilome here, of which he is one of 
the trustees. In matters of this kind, how- 
ever, Mr. Knowland's friends know but little, 
for he makes no display of such acts, aud 
therefore the good they, do is doubled to 
both giver and receiver. Mr. Knowland did 
belong, we believe, to both the Masonic and 
1. O. O. F. bodies, — Golden Gate Lodge, F. & 
A. M., San Francisco Lodge I. O. O. F. In 
home life, however, he finds the greatest 
happiness, for he is the father of 'three chil- 
dren, one son, Joseph II., and two daughters. 
Sadie E. is the wife of Professor George E. 
Coe; the other daughter is Lucy B. Another 
son, HoUis P., is dead. May 13, 1863, he 
married Hannah B. Russell, a native of 
Bingham, Maine. 

In his life work he certainly can take all of 
satisfaction, for he has achieved a great 
measure of success by his honorable industry. 
He is the architect, too, of his own fortune, 
for all is owing to his own push and energy. 
Mr. Knowland is held in deserved esteem by 
all who know him. He is to-day the same 
unassuming, pleasant and courteous gentle- 
man of the past, and that he is so is indeed 
the more to his credit. In his history and 
life work his people should take certainly 
very justifiable pride. 



-^ 



^EH<^^< 



c». 







fOSEPH RICHARD BRADWAY, M. 
D., of Oakland, was born in Carlisle, 
Schoharie county. New York, June 5, 
1818, a son of Benoni and Althea W. (Van- 
dervere) Bradway, natives of New York 
State. The father, born about 1792, a car- 
riage maker by trade, became a manufacturer 
in that line, chiefly at Carlisle, until he 
moved to Delavan, Wisconsin, in 1844, where 



he continued that business until his death in 
1846. Grandfather Richard Bradway, born 
in New York or just across the line in an ad- 
joining State, of Huguenot ancestry, settled 
in America, was also a carriage maker, and 
died about 1808, comparatively young, leav- 
ing five children, of whom one son lived to 
the age of seventy, another to that of fifty- 
five, and the eldest child — the father of Dr. 
Bradway — to fifty-four. His widow, Hnldah 
(Rouse) Bradway, born about 1772, of mixed 
Spanish and Portuguese ancestry, lived to the 
age of eighty-four. The maternal ancestry 
of Dr. Bradway is of Knickerbocker and 
English blood, his grandparents being John 
and Polly (Sweet man) Vandervere, both na- 
tives of New Jersey and there married. Soon 
after that event they settled in Schoharie 
county. New York, the husband being then 
aged twenty- two. His chief occupation was 
farming, and he lived to the age of about 
seventy. His wife was a daughter of Captain 
Sweetman, of the Revolutionary army, who 
settled in New Jersev after the close of 
the war for independence, and there lived to a 
good old age. 

J. R. Bradway, the subject of this sketch, 
attended the district schools to about fifteen 
years of age, then the Schoharie Academy 
for two terms, and the Gallupville Academy 
one term. Then he taught school for two 
seasons, and at the age of twenty entered the 
Rensselaer Institute at Troy, New York. 
Two years later he was graduated a Bachelor 
of Natural Science, and also received a diplo- 
ma as Civil Engineer. He followed the 
business of land surveying for some time, 
and in 1842 opened a select school in Dela- 
van, Wisconsin. Having for some years 
entertained a preference for the medical pro- 
fession, which had been emphasized by his 
studies in natural science in the Rensselaer 
Institute, he now took up the study of medi- 



ITS C1TIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



51 



cine, under the gnidance of Dr. H. Hunt, 
the leading physician of Delavan, continuing 
these private stadies under such favorable 
auspices for two years while conductiHg his 
school. He went to Chicago lo complete his 
professional education at Hush Medical Col- 
lege, where he graduated in March, 1847. 
Returning to Delavan, he there practiced in 
partnership with his former preceptor, Dr. 
Hunt, until 1853, when he came to Califor- 
nia across the plains and settled at Red Bluif. 
Medical service, and indeed all services, were 
liberally rewarded in those days, and Dr. 
Brad way's practice was soon worth $1,000 a 
month. He remained in Red Bluff until 
1872, when he settled in Oakland, where he 
has continued in active practice until the 
present time. From 1873 to 1878 he was 
associated with Drs. Baldwin & Riley, under 
the style of Baldwin, Riley & Bradway. 
From 1878 to 1885 the firm was Riley & 
Bradway, and from 1885 to 1891 Dr. Brad- 
way has practiced alone. He is a member of 
the Alameda County Medical Society, and of 
the California State Medical Society. He 
has also been at one time a member of the 
American Legion of Honor, and of the 1. 
O. 6. T., taking an active interest in the 
temperance reform for many years. 

Dr. Bradway was married in Delavan, 
Wisconsin, in 1848, to Elvira I. Irish, born 
near Auburn, New York, February 15, 1824, 
a daughter of Joseph E. and Abigail (Miner) 
Irish, afterward of Wyoming county, New 
York, and still later of Delavan, Wisconsin. 
Mr. Irish's chief career was that of a farmer 
and he lived to the age of eighty-two. His 
father was Elder Irish, of the Baptist church, 
well-known in his day in Western New York 
as a prominent figure in that church. Mrs. 
A. (Miner) Irish, born in Rhode Island, a 
daughter of Captain Peris Miner, of the 
Merchant Marine, reached the age of eighty- 




three; and his father also reached old age. 
Mariella Bradway, the adopted daughter of 
Dr. and Mrs. J. R. Bradway, born in Cali- 
fornia, September 24, 1860, is a graduate of 
the Oakland high school, an excellent musi- 
cian and an accomplished lady, whose devoted 
attachment to her adopted parents has been a 
source of unalloyed happiness for many 
years. 

EORGE WALLACE HORTON, Prin- 
cipal ot the Lincoln Grammar School, 
of Oakland, was born in Cooperstown, 
New York, December 25, 1846, a son of 
Lyman and Phoebe Fenton (White) Horton. 
The mother was born in New York State, a 
daughter of Artemas and Lois White and a 
descendant of Peregrine White, one of the 
earliest emigrants to Plymouth colony. 
Among her ancestors school -teaching was a 
sort of hereditary profession. An uncle 
of G. W. Horton, Lyman White, was 
for thirty-six consecutive years connected 
with the public schools of Brooklyn, New 
York, and had been a teacher for forty years, 
and died aged over eighty. Daniel White, 
another uncle, has been for twenty years 
president of Cornell University, retiring only 
a few years since, well advanced in years. A 
third uncle. White, has been for many years 
a teacher in the Northwest. The mother is 
still living, born in 1817. Her parents also 
lived to an advanced age, the father being 
eighty and the mother about seventy- eight at 
their death. 

The father of the subject of this sketch 
was of the Pennsylvania family of Hortons, 
but a native of New York State. He died 
August 10, 1876, aged about sixty years, 
from an injury received in lifting. He was 
a carriage manufacturer in Cooperstown, New 
York, and afterward in Bridgewater, same 



52 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800: 



State, in both which places he filled some 
official positions. In 1860 he moved with 
his family to soathern Minnesota, settling on 
a farm, where he died, leaving seven children, 
all of whom are still living, namely: Tru- 
man Bliss Horton, a miller at Stewartville, 
Minnesota; George Wallace; Lucinda Ann, 
now Mrs. Woodworth (widow of R. B.) of 
Went worth, Dakota, where she has been a 
teacher for abont ten years; Willard Lyman, 
in the employ of the Chicago & St. Paul 
Railway Company for twelve years or more; 
Alice J., the wife of William Stuart; a 
farmer of Wessington, Dakota; Lizzie Lois, 
wife «)f Alfred Koehne, a farmer of Went- 
worth, Dakota; Albert Artemas, in the em- 
ploy of the Chicago & St. Paul Railway 
Company since 1882, at Edgarton, Minne- 
sota. 

Grandfather Asel Horton and wife moved 
from Pennsylvania to New York State and 
lived to an advanced age, being over eighty. 

George W. was educated first by his mother 
and the primary schools from about the age 
of thirteen years, then received a special ed- 
ucation under a private tutor, a graduate of 
Harvard, and was graduated at a normal 
school at the age of nineteen years. He then 
entered the Minnesota State Normal School, 
receiving his diploma at about the age of 
twenty-two. He had been teaching district 
schools in winter at intervals during the 
progress of his higher education from about 
the age of eighteen. After graduation he 
taught in teachers' training schools and 
county institutes several years, besides teach- 
ing in the village school of High Forest, 
Minnesota, five or six years, and then in the 
schools of Rochester, Minnesota, until he 
came to California in 1874. Here he first 
taught in Old Liberty school district in San 
Joaquin county one year, then in Lathrop, 
t«ame county, over two years, and then was 



invited to Tulare City, where himself and 
wife took charge of the public schools. 

He was married in Lathrop, Jane 1, 1876, 
to Miss Amanda Crane, a native of Litch- 
field, Maine, and a daughter of Eldward and 
Julia (True) Crane. The Trues were a long- 
lived stock. Two uncles of Mrs. Horton, 
twins, died in 1890, aged ninety-six, and 
their brother. A., in 1889, aged ninety-four; 
and her aunt, their sister, born in 1792, is 
stilll Uving, in Hallowell, Maine. 

After a residence of two years in Tulare, 
Mr. and Mrs. Horton came to Oakland, in 
1879, and began teaching in the Peralta 
schobl, Mrs. H. remaining a year and a half, 
and then l>ecoming principal of the Piedmont 
school, which position she now holds. Mr. 
Horton, two years after coming here, went to 
the San Pablo Avenue School of Berkeley, as 
principal, remaining al>out seven years. Id 
1888 he went as first assistant to T. O. Craw- 
ford in his Polytechnic School. In April, 
1889, he was elected principal of the Lincoln 
school, his present position. 





S. COOK, M. D., has his office at 
No. 224 Post street, San Francisco, 
^ where, in partnership with his wife, 
he is enga^d in the practice of medicine. 
Mrs. Dr. Cook is one of an old Highland- 
Scotch family, her father, Alexander McKay, 
having come from Scotland to Canada when 
she was yet an infant. She has been a resi- 
dent of California since 1856, and com- 
menced the study of medicine about twenty- 
five years ago, and has been in practice over 
twenty years. She has made a specialty of 
the treatment of cancerous diseases, in which 
she has been very successful. Dr. Cook is a 
native of Boston, Massachusetts, and his 
father was a prominent insurance man of 



ITS OITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS, 



58 



that place for many years. The family* are 
of the early New England stock. The Doc- 
tor came to California in 1850, where he 
was engaged in active business pursuits until 
about twelve years ago, when he commenced 
the study of medicine. He entered the Cali- 
fornia Medical College (Eclectic) in 1878, 
and graduated at that institution in 1881, 
receiving the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
He has since that time been engaged in the 
general practice of medicine in San Fran- 



cisco. 



'*— * 'L * 3 » ' £ * ^ '* *' 




AMES F. STUART, the well-known 
lawyer of San Francisco, is certainly a 
California pioneer, dating his arrival 
January 7, 1850. The difference in time 
from '49 is slight, and no progress of the 
city worthy of mention was made in the 
meantime. We consider those who came 
hei*e in the early '50''©, in fact, entitled to 
what of distinction there is in the term 
"pioneer," for it was not till after this period 
the State or city advanced with much of 
energy. Mr. Stuart came to this coast on 
the ship Vistula, of Boston, being seven 
months on the voyage. The captain and he 
owned a quarter interest in the vessel, the 
remainder being the property of Mr. CoflBn, 
of Boston. She carried only a limited num- 
ber of passengers, a dozen or so, all told. 
The long passage, no doubt, was caused by 
contrary winds and high seas, as she only 
stopped for short intervals at Valparaiso and 
the Island of St. Catherine's. 

Mr. Stuart is a New Yorker by birth. 
His maternal grandfather, Nicholas Hill, 
was a soldier in the Revolutionary war under 
Washington. Nicholas Hill, Jr., his son, 
was a celebrated lawyer of New York State. 
He was the author of Hill's New York Re- 
ports, well known to all lawyers. In the 



eulogy delivered by Chief Justice Johnson, 
on Mr. Hill's death, he stated that fully one- 
fourth of the cases coming before the high 
court of appeals of the State had been orally 
argued by him. The Chief Justice said: 
"With the character of his mind the Judge 
was thus made intimately acquainted, while 
his admirable moral and social qualities 
warmed into affectionate regard the respect 
and admiration which his intellectual abili- 
ties commanded. He made no parade of 
learning. He had great reverence for the 
law itself. His arguments were, therefore, 
marked no less by the masterly handling of 
legal principles than by the entire candor 
and fairness with which he encountered the 
difficulties standing in his way." 

Mr. Stuart's father married this Mr. Hill's 
sister. The early moral grounding he re- 
ceived gave him correct principles for his 
guidance, and this proved to him a mainstay 
during all the early days of California, when 
a fall into temptation was so easy for a young 
man, considering the character of their sur- 
roundings out here. Before coming here he 
had a house built, and this he set up on a lot 
he purchased on Jackson, below Montgomery. 

He began business in this building, — a 
general commission business in consignments 
sent him from the East. He prospered in 
this far beyond his expectations. With him 
was associated a partner. Captain John 
Raynes, who had made the voyage here in 
the Vistula. This gentleman was his part- 
ner, in fact, until he gave up the commission 
business. 

During the time he was in business two 
great fires swept the city. In the first of 
these, in 1850, he lost all. Besides the house 
he had brought here, he had erected an addi- 
tional one on a lot adjoining, which he had 
purchased. His first lot covered 25 x 90, 
and the second 27 ^ x 50. He had three 



54 



THE BAY OP SAN PRANOISGO: 



Stores, in fact, on these, and they were con- 
sumed with the goods in them, the value of 
the latter reaching about $42,000. There 
being no insurance companies her. at the 
time, the loss was a total one. He rebuilt at 
once, however, and in the fire of 1851 he did 
not suflFer much damage. 

Mr. Stuart continued in the commission 
business and made up his losses, and this lot 
he sold after this to Mr. Rowe, the well 
known circus man, for $18,000. He changed 
his business shortly afterward, and began in- 
vesting in Spanish and Mexican grants. He 
operated in these extensively, and lost heav- 
ily through unexpected interpretations of 
law. 

The law bearing on title at this time Mr. 
Stuart studied closely. He has written many 
very instructive treatises on it. No doubt 
his study at this time led him to become a 
lawyer. He was admitted in 1867, and has 
since practice! here principally, and at 
Washington, in law cases, and it is conceded, 
even by his professional brethren, that there 
is no abler authority on titles here than he. 
His land operations left him heavily in debt, 
and ihe character of the man can be best 
judged when we state that, although handi- 
capped at the beginning of his practice with 
this debt, still he never sought relief from 
it, but paid dollar for dollar to those he owed. 
When the war broke out, Mr. Stuart was 
in Washington, engaged in the settling of 
some of his claims. At this time he was in 
difficulties, or otherwise we may be sure that 
he would have acted very liberally with the 
Sanitary Fund Committee here. He was 
decidedly for the Union, and during the 
war, his brother, G. T. Stuart, published one 
of the most outspoken northern war papers 
of the time, the Dubuque (Iowa) Daily 
Tunes. 

Mr. Stuart certainly has, during his resi- 



den(^ here, been most industrious. His life 
has been a worthy one. 




Viny^^^ 



F. FUG AZI & CO., Pacific coast agents 
of the Compagaie General Transatlan- 
^ tique^ ?.lso agents of the Union Pacific, 
Chicago, Rock Island and Pennsylvania rail- 
ways. No. 5 Montgomery avenue, San Fran- 
cisco. This company is one of the largest 
steamship agencies in thecity,and does a vast 
amount of business. During the past sev- 
enteeen years they have brought to the 
United States not less than 35,000 passen- 
gers. They also transfer large quantities of 
money to and from all parts of Europe, and, 
in fact, of the world. 

Mr. Fugazi, who is the senior member of 
the firm and who started the business in San 
Francisco in 1872, i a native of Italy, born 
in 1838. In 1855 lie landed on American 
soil. For several years previous to his com- 
ing to San Francisco, he was engaged in the 
agency business in New York. He is a very 
enterprising and successful business man, 
has made some valuable investments in real 
estate here, and ever since he came to Cali- 
fornia has been thoroughly identified with 
the best interests of this city and State. 

Mr. E. C. Palmieri, the junior member of 
the firm, became connected with it in 1887. 
He, too, is a native of Italy, born in 1854. 
He landed in New York in 1874, and after a 
short time spent in that city came to San 
Francisco and engaged in business. He had 
an agency with the California Insurance 
Company, which he still holds; also a na- 
tional railroad agency. A man of strict in- 
tegrity and fine business qualifications, he 
has met with most flattering success in his 
various undertakings. He is a prominent 
Republican, and was elected on that ticket to 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



55 



the State Senate in 1884; had the honor of 
being a member of the Republican State 
Executive Committee during the campaign 
in which Mr. Markham was elected Gov- 
ernor. He is a member of the Union League 
and of the I. O. O. F. and Masonic frater- 
nities. In the social, political and business 
circles of this city, Mr. Palmieri is well 
known and highly respected. 




ILLIAM P. SPRAGUE, M.D., whose 
office is at 502 Taylor street, San 
Francisco, was born in New Haven, 
Connecticut, in 1860. His early education 
was received in the public schools of several 
of the New England States, passing three 
years at the Boston Latin School. He also 
attended for some time the Adelphi Acad- 
emy, of Brooklyn, New York, where his 
father, Dr. Homer B. Sprague, late president 
of Mills' Seminary, California, and now 
president of the University of Northern 
Dakota, was then principal. Later he took 
a special course in the Chauncy Hall School 
of Boston, preparatory to taking up the study 
of medicine, which he commenced in 1879, 
under the preceptori»hip of Dr. Welcome W. 
Sprague, of New York, with whom he re- 
mained one year. He then entered the 
Bellevue Hospital Medical College in 1880, 
graduating at that institution in 1882, and 
receiving his degree as Doctor of Medicine. 
IAt, Sprague practiced for one year at Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, next for three years at 
Brooklyn, New York, and then came to Cal- 
ifornia in 1886, where he has since been 
engaged in medicine in San Francisco. The 
Doctor is a member of the State Medical So- 
ciety of California, and of the County Med- 
ical Society of San Francisco. He is also a 
medical director of the Bankers' and Mer- 



chants' Mutual Life Association of San Fran- 



cisco. 



Dr. Sprague's family are of early New 
England stock, on his father's side from 
Massachusetts, and on his mother's {nee 
Antoinette Pardee) from Connecticut. Dr. 
Sprague's father, Colonel Homer B. Sprague, 
now president of the University of Northern 
Dakota, is a self-made man, and one who has 
added honor to every position in life he has 
been called upon to fill. He was the second 
of nine children, whom he, at the early age 
of nine years, began to assist in supporting. 
He worked successively in a cotton factory, 
later at shoemaking, and afterward at farm- 
ing while a boy. He carried himself through 
the Leicester Academy, and later through 
Yale College, by working at odd jobs, and 
later by teaching during the term and vaca* 
tions. He continued that occupation after 
graduating at Yale, and at the same time 
studied law. At the breaking out of the 
war of the rebellion he was practicing la«r at 
Worcester and New Haven with marked 
success. He at once, in 1861, iurned his 
office into a recruiting depot, and went out 
as Captain of the Thirteenth Connecticut 
Volunteer Infantry. He .saw service with 
his regiment in the Department of the Gulf, 
and in 1864-'65 in the Shenandoah valley, 
under Sheridan. HU record was a splendid 
one in Louisiana at Irish Bend, Port Hud- 
son, and on Banks' Red river expedition of 
1863-'64r. At Irish Bend he was wounded 
in the arm, but continued in the fight until 
the battle was won, and still carries part of 
that bullet which was splintered on his sword 
hilt. His regiment fought its way step by 
step up to the breastworks of Port Hudson, 
Captain Sprague there volunteering as one of 
a storming party of 200 to leap into the 
rebel works, but they were recalled. An- 
other storming party of 1,000 men was 



56 



TUB BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



called for the next day by General Banks, as 
a forlorn hope to again storm the works. Of 
sixty-live officers and 918 soldiers who joined 
this column, Captain Spragne's regiment 
furnished fifteen officers and 225 enlisted 
men. The news of the surrender of Vicks- 
burg and the certainty that Port Hudson 
must follow, rendered that assault unneces- 
sary. Captain Sprague was brevetted Colonel 
for gallant and meritorious conduct. He was 
later promoted through the various grades of 
the colonelcy of the Eleventh Regiment, C. 
D. A. Early in the summer of 1864, after 
the failure of Banks' Red river expedition, 
Colonel Sprague's regiment went to Virginia 
as part of the Nineteenth Army Corps, and 
took a conspicuous part in the Shenandoah 
valley campaigns. Colonel Sprague with his 
regiment holding the enemy at the battle of 
Wincliester, until they were surrounded in 
front, flanks and rear, and finally captured. 
He was afterward exchanged, but did not 
regain the strength lost in rebel prisons for 
two years. 

He remained in military service until 1886, 
when he again engaged in teaching, as prin- 
cipal of the State Normal School of Con- 
iiecticut, and later as Professor of Rhetoric 
and English Literature at Cornell University. 
He has since held some of the most promi- 
nent and responsible positions as an educator 
in the United States, lately, for some time, 
as president of the American Institute of 
Instruction, founder and president of the 
Martha's Vineyard Summer Institute, the 
oldest and largest of the summer schools of 
the world, and now as president of the Uni- 
versity of Northern Dakota. Colonel Sprague 
has made an honored place for himself in 
literature and statesmanship, as well as in 
educational work; is the author of the article 
on education in the Constitution of Northern 
Dakota. At the present writing the press 



and the best men in the State are catting on 
the people of Northern Dakota to honor him 
by sending liim to the United States Senate. 




M. F. SOTO, attorney, San Francisco 
is possessed of a name that certainly 
^ has a distinguished place in the history 
of early exploration in this country. It is 
Spanish, but is borne by but few, and doubt- 
less these all belonged originally to one 
family. One of our early missionary priests 
was a Father Soto. In the fact that his 
people were originally Spanish, Mr. Soto can 
take pardonable pride, for to the heroic and 
adventurous men of that nation is owing tlie 
opening up and civilizing, not of California 
alone, but also of the greater part of the two 
Americas. The early Spaniards who went out 
to seek new countries, were certainly of the 
flower and chivalry of Spain and represented 
her first families. Mr. Soto's father, J. M. 
Soto, was born in Peru. He came to Cali- 
fornia in early days, however, and soon ^ined 
a prominent position here, owing to his abil- 
ity. His counsel and assistance were of great 
service to the people. In politics Mr. Soto 
was always a staunch Republican, and very 
frequently has made stirring speeches during 
the diflferent campaigns that were very effect- 
ive for his party. For many years he was a 
very large land owner in this State. He 
owned, for instance, the large San Francisco 
ranch, Los Angeles county, in partnership 
with the late H. M. Newhall. He also 
owned the Santa Rita ranch, Monterey 
connty. He was, besides, in mercantile busi- 
ness. He is at present engaged in various 
mining interests in Lower California. Many 
leading Republicans have suggested him as a 
most fitting representative of his country as 
consul at Mazatlan, if he would accept the post. 



IT8 CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



57 



The present Mr. Soto was born in Monte- 
rey county. He attended Santa Clara Col- 
lege, where he graduated in 1876. Tlien he 
went to the law department of Harvard Col- 
lege, where he graduated in 1878. On his 
return heenterei the office of Winans, Bel- 
knap & Godoy for a time, and was admitted to 
practice by the Supreme Conrt in 1879. He 
was also admitted by the United States Cir- 
cuit Court in 1885. He began the practice 
of his profession in Salinas city, Monterey 
county. In 1884 the nomination of Dis- 
trict Attorney of the county was tendered 
him, and he was elected by a handsome ma- 
jority, showing the esteem in which he was 
held. He held the office for the term 1885- 
'86. Mr. Soto during his term secured the 
payment of some $23,000 railroad taxes. In 
1887, as we stated, he became associated with 
Mr. Herrmann. These two gentlemen, in- 
deed, for many years have been friends and 
associates. They studied at Santa Clara and 
graduated there the same year, also at Har- 
vard College. In politics Mr. Soto is a staunch 
Republican, like his father. His practice 
now takes up the greater part of his time, 
however. He is still of a very studious dis- 
position and spends many hours at his office. 
He is certainly an able and painstaking law- 
yer, devoted to the interests of his clients. 
He makes their interests his own, and owing 
to this and his ability great confidence is felt 
in him. For a great success in his chosen 
profession the auguries are certainly most 
promising. 



>— *i 



g - Mt ' 3 



l> <■» 



ILLIAM HOLTZ, engaged in real- 
estate and insurance, and holding 
several offices in Alameda, was born 
in Hamburg, Germany, September 21, 1829, 
a son of John C. and Mary Holtz. Of his 

87 




father's family of three sons and two daugh- 
ters, a brother and a sister, besides himself, 
came to the United States. The brother, 
Edward Holtz, is now a resident of Mexico, 
and the sister is Mrs. Henrietta Jager, of 
San Francisco. Mr. Holtz was thrown upon 
his own resources at the early of fourteen 
years. From that age until he was twenty- 
one he was a clerk in a grocery in Hamburg; 
he was then drafted in the army and served 
three years. 

The California gold excitement being still 
at its height, he embarked from Hamburg in 
the sailing vessel Herman, about the middle 
of June, 1852, and came by way of Cape 
Horn to San Francisco, arriving in Decem* 
ber. Here he found every one a stranger to 
him and speaking tongues equally strange to 
him, while he was at the same time entirely 
out of money. Of course he had to take 
whatever job of work he could get. The first 
three days he shoveled sand on Du punt street, 
and then obtained a situation in a brick yard, 
which he retained for five years, saving a 
considerable portion of his wages. In 1858 
he bought a half interest ir^a grocery on the 
corner of Third and Howard streets. Selling 
out at the end of three years he purchased a 
half interest in another store, on the corner of 
Montgomery and Pacific streets, where he did 
business up to 1867. In the early part of 
this year he sold out and with his family 
visited his parents in Germany. 

Returning to California in October he 
bought back his old grocery stand and kept 
it until 1869, when, his health becoming im- 
paired, he sold out again and moved with his 
family over to Alameda. In company with 
others he bought a tract of land on Santa 
Clara avenue, his share being two acres. He 
afterward opened a store on that avenue near 
Thir?f avenue. That portion of the village 
had then but few improvements. This gro-r 



58 



TEB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



CQTs he kept until 1883, since whicli time he 
has been engaged in his present business. 

While conducting the grocery trade on 
Santa Clara avenue, he served as Justice of 
the Peace, first by appointment and afterward 
by election, for three years. In the fall of 

1888 he was again elected Justice of the 
Peace for Alameda township, lie was first 
appointed Notary Public in June, 1885, by 
Governor Stoneman, and reappointed by 
Governor Bartlett in 1887, and still again in 

1889 by Governor Waterman, — the last com- 
mission being given for four years. His 
oflScial duties, together with his real estate 
and insurance business, kept him. pretty busy. 
He is a zealous Democrat, but has many fer- 
vent friends among the Republicans, as he is 
very popular. At the last election he was 
the only Democrat chosen in the county. 
March 7, 1872, he was elected a member of 
the Board of Education of Alameda, and he 
served three years. He is a Freemason, a 
Knight of Pythias and a member of the A. 
O. 11. W., of which latter lodge he has been 
Financier for the last eight years. He was the 
first Master Workman of West End Lodge, 
JVo. 175, of this order ten years ago. Judge 
Holtz can emphatically be regarded as a self- 
made man, considering that he has risen to 
his present position, as above meagerly de- 
scribed, from nothing when he first arrived 
here but his inherited talents, — even with no 
knowledge of the English language and no 
money. He has been industrious, thoroughly 
devoted to his business and successful in 
almost all his undertakings. He now owns 
considerable property, some of the most valu- 
able of which, in a business point of view, is 
in the west end of the city. In his ofticial 
relations he has given the best satisfaction to 
the people. 

He was married in 1858 to Miss Augusta 
lienn, a native of Germany, and they now 



have one daughter, the wife of P. C. Jurgens, 
postmaster at Traver. Tulare county. They 
lost two children, — Louisa dying in San 
Francisco several years ago, a mere child, and 
Fred J., who died December 6, 1889, at the 
age of thirty years; this was a sad blow to 
the family. 



HNI 



¥^ 



^ 




OHN S. MUIR, M. D., whose office is a 
No. 225 Geary street, San Francisco, has 
been a resident of California since 1880, 
and has been engaged in the practice of med- 
icine in this city for the past year. He was 
born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1847. His 
parents moved to the West during his in- 
fancy, and he received his early education in 
the public schools of St. Louis. He com- 
menced the study of medicine in 1868, in 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons of 
Keokuk, Iowa, graduating at that institution 
in 1876, during which time he had practiced 
for several years in Illinois, Kansas and Mis- 
souri. After graduation Dr. Muir returned 
to Kansas, where he again engaged in the 
practice of his profession, remaining there 
until 1880, in which year he came to Cali- 
fornia, tie located in Han ford, Tulare 
county, where he remained until burnt oat 
by the disastrous fire which swept the busi- 
ness portion of that town in 1887. For the 
next seven months he engaged in real estate 
in San Diego. Returning to Fresno the Doc- 
tor again engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession, where he remained for about eif^ht 
months. From Fresno he came to San Fran- 
cisco., and here is building up a satisfactory 
practice. Dr. Muir has made a special study 
of the application of electricity to the care 
of diseases. One of his inventions, a port- 
able apparatus for the use of the farad ic cur- 
rent, is certainly one of the most convenient 



IT8 CITIES AND TflEIR SUBURBS, 



59 



and ingenious devices for that purpose. It 
is small enough to be carried in the pocket, 
and yet is as powerful as any physician's 
office battery. While engaged in the general 
practice of medicine, he is paying: attention 
to the nse of electricity as a curative agent. 



■■< »i 



Sh«h|' 



%• M » 




«SEPH F. CAVAGNARO, a prominent 
young lawyer of San Francisco, was born 
in Calaveras county. His father came to 
this Slate in the early days; and shortly 
after, as was natural, went to the mines. He 
did not remain long in Calaveras county, but 
removed to Mariposa county, and in that 
county the present Mr. Cavagnaro was raised 
and partly educated. He attended the pub- 
lic schools there and made good progress, for 
he had a quick mind and retentive memory. 
He was entered afterwards at Santa Clara 
College, where so many bright young men 
graduated; this was in 1874. In 1878 he 
took the degree of B. of S. there, and the fol- 
lowing year the degree of Master of Science. 
When he had completed his studies at Santa 
Clara he came to this city and took the course 
in the Hastings College of Law, graduating 
there in the year 1882. About a year after- 
wards he began the practice of his profession 
here, having in the meantime obtained an 
excellent familiarity in pleading, etc., and 
routine law work through careful observa 
tion and attendance at court. Mr. Cavagnaro 
practiced alone until the first of the year, 
when he associated with Congressman A. 
Caminetti and Wm. J. McGee, under the title 
of Caminetti, McGee & Cavagnaro. His 
practice has been in the main a civil one, to 
which line he readily inclines, for he is a 
thoroughly conservative man, and has little 
liking for parade or the sensationalism that 
attends a criminal practice. Mr. Cavagnaro 



devotes his whole time to his law duties. He 
is a zealous, industrious advocate, and leaves 
no stone unturned in a legitimate way to at- 
tain success in his actions. This is well rec- 
ognized; hence his practice is steadily increas- 
ing. He belongs to few clubs or societies 
if we except Yerba Buena Parlor of Native 
Sons. Mr. Cavagnaro is a well-read, cultured 
man, an earnest man in everything. He is 
well esteemed for his kindly, genial traits of 
character, and respected for his ability, and 
the worthy ambition he shows to make a suc- 
cess of his life-work and leave a good record- 
to those who may come after him. 



*•• »t 



SH«f*| 



»♦ «o* 




AGRA A. S. BALLARD, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 205 Powell street, has 
'been since 1875 a resident of California, 
and has practiced medicine during that time, 
and for the past twelve years in her present 
location. She was bom in Sheffield, Ashta- 
bula county, Ohio, in 1834, and received her 
early education in the Ringsville Academy in 
the adjoining town, and later at the seminary 
of Beloit, Wisconsin. She commenced the 
study of medicine in 1865, under the precep- 
torship of her brother. Dr. L. Stow, a gradu- 
ate of Nashville (Tennessee) Medical College. 
She engaged in the application of medical 
electricity until 1873, when she went to Chi- 
cago and entered the Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege of that city, graduating there in 1875, 
after a full course of study and lectures, and 
receiving her degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
Dr. Ballard came to California in that 
year, where she has been continuously en, 
gaged in practice. She is one of the con- 
sulting physiciaiis of the Pacific Homeo, 
pathic Dispensary; a member of the State 
Homeopathic Medical Society; a member of 
the American Institute of Homeopathy 



60 



THE BAY OF SAN FliAN CISCO: 



Her son, Dr. J. Stow Ballard, a graduate of 
the University of California, has lately taken 
his degree from the Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege of Philadelphia, after a three years' 
course, and has entered into practice in part- 
nership with his mother. He is al«o attend- 
ing physician in the Pacific Homeopathic 
Dispensary. Ur. Ballard has built up a very 
satisfactory practice. 




..I i igO ti t ' ^i ** " 

,0N. JOSEPH ALMY, ex-Judge of the 
County and Probate Courts of Marin 
county, is a native of Uhode Island? 
born at Tiverton, September 13, 1822, and is 
a California pioneer of '49. After attending 
the common schools of his native State, he 
shipped before the mast, sailing from New 
Bedford in the whale ship Fenelon, at the 
age of sixteen years. At the expiration of 
eleven months his ship returned, laden with 
2,700 barrels of oil, this being one of the 
most successful voyages on record. He next 
sailed on the ship Selma, but was not as suc- 
cessful as on the first trip; having met with 
an accident it was found necessary to put 
him ashore in order to save his life. This 
was done at the island of New Zealand, where 
he was cared for by the American consul 
until he regained his health sufliciently to 
return to Tiverton, where he attended school 
one year. Mr. Almy afterward njade many 
whaling voyages; was ship- keeper on the 
brig Governor Hopkins, and on this voyage 
his ship was in sight of the peak of the vol- 
cano TcnerifEe several weeks, and visited the 
Cape De Verde and Canary Islands. In 
1842 he sailed on the ship Jeannette, as boat- 
steerer, for spearing whales in the Pacific 
ocean, and during this voyage he was on the 
Juan Fernandez or Robinson Crusoe Island. 
He was discharged from this ship at Tahiti, 



and from there he again shippeu as boat- 
steerer on the ship Ceres, of Wilmington, 
Delaware, and on this vessel he visited Wal- 
lace Island and Lahainaothe Mani, one of 
the Hawaiian group, where Mr. Alma en- 
gaged in the hotel business three years. He 
took passage from there on the ship Abra- 
ham Barker, arriving at New Bedford in 
May, 1848, whence he returned to the home 
of his youth after an absence of more than 
six years. 

About this time the letters of Colonel Fre- 
mont were being published in the Eastern 
papers, giving glowing accounts of the dis- 
covery of gold in California, which led Mr. 
Almy with others to form a joint-stock com- 
pany of eighty members. This association 
was known as the Fall River Mining and 
Trading Company. They purchased the bark 
Mallory, which they provisioi»ed and loaded 
with lumber and the frame.work for seve al 
large buildings, and set sail, arriving at San 
Francisco September 13, 1849, where the 
cargo and vessel were sold. Mr. Almy 
0|)ened a public house on Jackson street, 
known as the New England Home, but a tire 
in the fall of the same year destroyed his 
building. He next went to Bolinas, Marin 
county, in the spring of 1850, after which 
he woiked for two years in the mines. He 
then returned to Bolinas, and in 1852 was 
elected Justice of the Peace, and held that 
office eight years, and was also School Trustee 
one year. He was master of the Mill Com- 
pany's vessel Julia, transporting lumber to 
San Francisco. In 1855 he built the schooner 
H. C. Almy; then made a visit to the East, 
and on his return was appointed by Governor 
Low as County Judge, February 18, 1867, 
to fill an unexpired term, and by election 
filled the same office until in Janiiary, 1880. 

Judge Almy is one of those men whom 
any community may be proud of. From his 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



61 



own exertions he has risen to the top round 
of the ladder of fame, and his life has been a 
very active and useful one both on land and 
sea. He has presided as County and Pro- 
bate Judge in all about thirteen years, and 
has enjoyed the confidence and respect of the 
bar and the people to an entraordinary de- 
gree. A more conscientious and upright 
man has not filled the judicial chair of Marin 
county, and his decisions have been made 
with such care and precision that they have 
almost universally been sustained by the 
higher courts. He has sailed once around 
the world, and rounded Cape Horn four dif- 
ferent times. 

He was married in Bolinas, Marin county, 
May 10, 1857, to Miss Lucinda Miller, a 
native of Indiana. Judge and Mrs. Almy 
are the parents of nine children, five of whom 
are still living, viz.: Thomas B., Hattie, now 
Mrs. Gibson, of San Francisco; Amanda, 
Nellie M. and Charles. Judge Almy politi- 
cally is a staunch Republican, but of late 
years has not been active. In 1886 he was 
last called upon by his party to represent the 
people in the State Assembly, and occupied 
his seat two terms, one of them being an 
extra session called by Governor Stoneman. 




ILES H. GRAY is one of the oldest 
practitioners at the bar on the Pa- 
cific coast. He was born in New York 
city, and was educated in his native State, 
and studied law in California. In 1863 he 
came to the Pacific coast, and three years 
later, in 1856, was admitted to the bar. He 
engaged in the practice of law, and soon 
afterward became associated with James M. 
Haven, the firm of Gray & Haven, with one 
exception, being the oldest law firm in San 
Francisco. 



Giles H. Gray is a conscientious advocate^ 
was identified with many important land 
suits in early days, and also during the later 
years of his practice. As far as possible he is 
now retiring from the active duties of his pro- 
fession. 

In politics he is a consistent Republican, 
ever active in the councils of his party. He 
has served as a member of the Board of Su- 
pervisors of the City of San Francisco, and 
also of the Board of Education; and waselec* 
ted and has served as a Representative to the 
Legislature from San Francisco. He was ap- 
pointed Surveyor of Customs at the port of 
San Francisco by President Grant, and for 
four years held this important office with 
credit to himself and to the satisfaction of the 
citizens. Indeed, he has been identified with 
all the important movements for the advance- 
ment of the best interests of both city of San 
Francisco and State of California. 



fe 



•ff 



54 



^^ 




P. SCHMITZ, M. D., whose office is at 
the California Medical College, No. 
® 1442 Folsom street, San Francisco, a 
resident of California for thirty years, and 
engaged in the practice of medicine for the 
past ten years, is a native of Germany, 
born in 1834, and received his early education 
in the Government and private schools of 
that country. At the age of twenty-one he 
came to AAicrica, and engaged in mercantile 
pursuits until 1874, when he retired from 
said business, having gained a competency. 
During all his life, having had a desire for 
medical studies, feeling that he could now 
devote the balance of his life to his profes- 
sion, he entered the Medical College of the 
Pacific (now Cooper College), in San Fran- 
cisco, in 1875, remaining during the years 
1785-6-8, continuing his medical studies 



G2 



TUB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



until 1880, when he entered the California 
Medical College, graduating in the spring of 
1881, and then entered into practice, in 
which he has successfully continued. 

In 1886 Dr. Schmitz was invited and ap- 
pointed to the chair of Physiology and Ner- 
vous Diseases, in the California Medical 
College, still holding that position; being 
also a member of the State Board of Medical 
Examiners, as well as a member of the State 
Medical Society of California, and of the 
County Medical Sjciety of Physicians and 
Surgeons of San Francisco. 



Q 



<s> 







,ISS EVA WITHROW.— This gifted 
young lady is a native of California. 
She inherits her taste and artistic 
talent in a measure from her mother, a 
woman of rare mental attainments. Her 
father, an old and honored citizen of Califor- 
nia, came from his native State, Virginia, to 
this coast in 1853, and his death occurred in 
1881. 

Miss Withrow early developed a taste for 
art, and after graduating at Clark Institute, 
entered the San Francisco Art School. Sub- 
sequently for a time she was under the in- 
structions of Henry Raschen and Theodore 
Wores, after which she went abroad with her 
mother and sister to continue her art studies, 
remaining principally at Munich, Germany, 
Her master there was the eminent J. Frank 
Currier, and she was accorded the honor of 
being the only pupil he ever consented to 
take. She speaks of him in highest terms of 
gratitude, and has in her studio some of the 
works of her distinguished teacher. She was 
favored in her studies in having the encour- 
agement and companionship of her mother 
and sister, and this was a constant stimulant. 

After applying herself closely to her stud- 



ies for four years, and making a tour in 
France and Italy, spending some time in 
Paris and Rome, she returned to her home 
in San Francisco. Here she opened her stu- 
dio, and has taken a leading position in her 
profession. Miss Withrow has two full 
classes, and although her method is in direct 
opposition to academical training, she be- 
lieves to a degree in the latter. Her controll- 
ing idea in teaching is concentration. The 
pupils are instructed to draw from life, with- 
out attempt at display. Her works in her 
studio, at the annual exhibition and at the Art 
Association are subjects of admiration and 
honorable mention. 

Miss Withrow resides with her mother and 
sister, and their attractive home on Pine 
street is noted for its hospitality, as it is for 
culture and refinement. 

S. AZEVEDO, of the firm of Aze- 
vedo. Snares & Co., proprietors of 
^ the. Laurel Grove Dairy, San Ra- 
fael. This firm leases about 1,500 acres of 
grazing land and carry on a large dairy busi- 
ness, milking over 100 cows, and employing 
four milkers constantly. The large output 
of milk and butter is shipped to San Fran- 
cisco markets. 

Mr. Azevedo, the subject of this sketch, is 
a native of Portugal, born at St. George, Jan- 
uary 18, 1857. He was reared and educated 
in his native country, and emigrated to the 
United States in 1875, first locating in the 
State of Missouri, and sixteen months later 
came to California. He was a farm laborer 
in Contra Costa county for two years, and 
then came to Marin county, where he en- 
gaged in the dairy business, and has since 
been actively engaged in that industry. His 
partner, Antonio M. Snares, is also a native 




IT8 0ITIB8 ANJ) THEIR SUBURBS 



68 



of Portugal, is a man of family, and now re- 
Bi'des in San Rafael. The parents of onrsab- 
j«ct were M. S. and Coloto Azevedo, both 
natives and still subjects of Portugal. Mr. 
Azevedo is the eldest in a family of four 
children, and is yet nnmarried. He was nat- 
uralized at San Rafael, in 1887. Politically 
he is a Republican, although not active in 
politics. Socially he affiliates with the be- 
nevolent association of his countrymen, at 
Sansalito. 




OTTLIEB ZEH, one of the substantial 

iVSTf ^^^^2^°^^^ Alameda, was born in Frank- 
er'. fort-on-the-Main, Germany, May 14, 
1834:, and learned the trade of butcher from 
his father, Carl Zeh. At the age of eighteen 
years he emigrated to the United States, 
landing at New York, and worked there 
about three months. In 1852 he and his 
brother Louis came to (Jalifornia, by way of 
the Isthmus, and landed at San Francisco in 
September. They worked at their trade 
there, the subject of this sketch being em- 
ployed by Mr. Jcnes, on Pacific street, on 
the hills before they were graded. Next he 
was employed by George Mitchell at the cor- 
ner of Yallejoand Dupont streets; and after- 
ward the two brothers started in business 
together at the corner of Broadway and Du- 
pont street. In 1865, Mr. Gottlieb Zeh re- 
turned to Germany and brought back here 
with him his youngest brother, Theodore, 
who afterward died in this city, about eleven 
years ago. About that time Gottlieb and The- 
odore went to Petaluma, and, having secured 
a piece of land near there, worked about a 
year and a half, raising live-stock. Return- 
ing to the city they resumed business in their 
line, at the corner of Dupont and Union 
streets, while Louis took charge of the ranch. 




In 1864 Gottlieb was married, and the fol- 
lowing year moved over to Alameda, since 
which time he has made that place his home, 
except eighteen months spent in Hayes' 
valley. 

Mrs. Zeh's maiden name wa^ Juane Cha- 
con. She is a native of Mexico, of Spanish 
origin and highly educated and accomplished. 
They have three sons and two daughters: 
Amanda I.; Annie I., wife of Dr. J. G. 
Humphrey, of Alameda; Carl R.; Gottlieb 
J., and Theodore L. All these were born 
in Alameda, except Carl, who is a native of 
San Francisco. 

*- 2 * ^ * *^ * S 

DWARD K. TAYLOR, the City Attor. 
ney of Alameda, is a native of New 
York, and was born in Elmira, August 
2, 1860. His parents are natives of Virginia; 
they emigrated to the Pacific coast in 1849. 
The father is the well-known Bishop Taylor, 
an honored member of the California Pioneer 
Society, and one of the most eminent divines 
in the Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
the present bishop of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church in Africa. His home is in 
Alameda, where his estimable wife, who 
has labored zealously with her husband, now 
resides. Mrs. Taylor is a member of the 
Kimberlin family, one of the first families of 
Virginia. There were four sons in the family, 
three of whom are engaged in business in San 
Francisco, and one in Chicago. 

Edward K. Taylor, the subject of this brief 
sketch, received the greater part of his ed- 
ucation in the State of California. He was 
graduated in the class of 1881, from the 
University of the Pacific, taking a Master's 
degree in 1884. He then took a course of law 
reading, and graduated at Hastinprs College 
of Law in 1886; was admitted to the bar of 



64 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCI8C0: 



the Supreme Court on his birth-day, August 
2, 1885. 

After his graduation from the law school, 
Mr. Taylor went to Europe, and made an ex- 
tended tour of that country. Upon his re- 
turn to this country, he engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession, and since that time has 
devoted his whole interests to it. Through 
his ability and devotion to the interests of his 
patrons, he has secured a large clientage and 
corporation business. Although his oflSce is 
in San Francisco, he resides in Alameda, 
where he is also attorney for the Commercial 
Bank, the Loan Association and Savings 
Bank. ^Ff^g the past four years he has held 
the oflSce of City Attorney of Alameda. 

^ * ^ ' t * |» *< " — 




ILLIAM H. JOKDAN is a distin. 
guished member of the San Francis- 
co bar. Before he established him- 
pelfin his profession he had become well- 
known throughout the State by his pominent 
connections with philanthropic and fraternal 
organizations and since then has won a repu- 
tation, not only as a lawyer but also as a legisla- 
tor possessed of broad and liberal views. An 
epitome of his life is embraced in the follow- 
ing sketch. 

Mr. Jordan was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, 
September 3, 1849. He was the son of a 
carpenter and farmer. The family had been 
in America since 1630, when its progenitor 
in this country. Rev. Robert Jordan, of the 
Church of England, settled in Portland, 
Maine. Mr. Jordan came with his lather 
and family to California in 1859, driving an 
ox team across the plains and walking most 
of the journey. They settled near Red Bluff 
in Shasta county. The great floods ofthe 
winter of 1861 and '62, destroyed his father's 
property. His mother, too, had died and the 



father and son removed to San Jose, the lat- 
ter soon afterward finding employment on a 
farm. At the age of fifteen he went to Oak- 
land with the purpose of getting an educa- 
tion. As far as schools are concerned his 
education may be comprehended in about two 
years at Brayton Academy at Oakland, one 
year at the Norwich Free Academy in Con- 
necticut, and two years at Yale College. His 
withdrawal from Yale was enforced by fail- 
ing health, and it may be said in this con- 
nection that Mr. Jordan from that time al- 
most to the present was subject to severe pains 
in his eyes. It was only in the summer of 
1889 that he found in electricity a relief that 
was instant and still promises to be permanent. 
Years after he left college, in 1888, at the 
unsolicited request of his former classmates 
the faculty of Yale conferred upon him 
the degree of Master of Arts as a recogni- 
tion of his intellectual and professional at- 
tainments. 

Returning to California in the fall of 1873, 
Mr. Jordan entered upon a business career in 
Oakland, which proved one of great prosper- 
ity; subsequently he invested his capita] in 
an extensive vineyard enterprise, in which he 
met with heavy losses. 

In the fall of 1884 Mr. Jordan was elected 
to the Assembly from Alameda county. 
Two years later he was re-elected to the Legis- 
lature and was then chosen for Speaker of the 
House. As Speaker he maintained himself 
throughout the session with great dignity 
and capacity, and such was the tact with 
which he discharged his duties that he is to- 
day universally conceded to have been the 
ablest presiding ofiicer the Legislature of Cal- 
ifornia has ever had. As a parliamentarian 
he was without a peer, his rulings were fair 
in their administration and correct in law. 

From early boyhood Mr. Jordan " wanted 
to be a lawyer." He began to study law on 



ITS 0ITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



65 



the farm. Such was his interest in the sub- 
ject that he read law books whenever oppor- 
tunity afforded in preference to others of a 
lighter character. In May, 1885, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar and upon July 6 of 
that year opened an office in San Fran- 
cisco, maintaining his residence in Oakland. 
He has established a large and valuable prac- 
tice; is attorney for nearly all the large lum- 
ber companies of the State, some fifteen large 
and wealthy corporations, including the 
Southern Pacific Company and a host of pri 
vate capitalists. 

In addition to his law practice, Mr. Jordan 
finds time to take an interest in the subject 
of astronomy. He is a member of the As- 
tromonical Society of the Pacific coast; and 
under a commission from the late Anthony 
Chabot recently visited Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and secured an instrument for the 
Chabot Observatory at Oakland, an institu- 
tion that owes its origin to his efforts 
and of which he is still the Associate 
Director. 

His association with the A. O. U. W. has 
been well-known throughout the United 
States. He was the first Grand Master Work- 
man of the Order in California and held office 
for a second term. During his administra- 
tion the membership grew from 300 to 900. 
He was Supreme Master of this great order 
for the year 1888, the jurisdiction extending 
over the United States and Canada. As Su- 
preme Master be made a tour of both coun- 
tries in the interest of the order named. 
Daring his term of office an increase of 
membership was brought about of 34,000 — 
the largest the order has ever known in any 
one year. Mr. Jordan was candidate for 
Lieutenant-Governor before the last State 
convention, but failed of the nomination. 

As a speaker, Mr. Jordan is fiuent and 
logical. He possesses that peculiar mag- 



netic influence over his audience that ren- 
ders his oratory attractive and effective. 



-^j==4^j 







[HRISTIAN SCHREIBER, the pioneer 
furniture merchant of San Francisco 
and Oakland, was born near Carlsruhe, in 
Baden, Germany, November 14, 1828, a son 
of Philip and Elizabeth Schrciber. The fam- 
ily came to America about 1835 and settled 
in New York. The father, a tailor by trade, 
moved to Rochester a few months later and 
was there established as a merchant tailor. 
In 1852 he paid a visit to this cot-^i with his 
son, the subject of this sketch, remaining a 
year, and again in 1854 with his wife. The 
mother died in Oakland at the age of sixty- 
seven; the father survived her some years 
and died in that city also, in his ei^^hty-tirst 
year. 

Christian Schreiber learned the trade of 
cabinet-maker and moved to Akron, Ohio, in 
1849, where he worked in a furniture store 
until he was struck with the gold fever early 
in 1850. Borrowing $300, which he repaid 
two years later, — the original note he still 
treasures as a valuable relic, — he left Akron, 
Ohio, for the land of gold April 15, 1850. 
The company was numerous at the start and 
had forty wagons, but gradually divided up 
and separated until he and a single com- 
panion, named Graffelman, found themselves 
making the journey alone and on foot from 
Green river, with a single mule as pack- 
bearer and but little to carry. They would have 
perished were it not for the kindness of the 
maligned Indians. At Carson river they 
were fortunately able to buy some provisions 
of a Mormon trader. They arrived at Weav- 
erville, July 27, and on the 29th at Coloma, 
where Mr. Schreiber mined about two months. 
His health having been impaired by the 



66 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



hardships of the journey and the insuflBciency 
as well as unwholesomeness of the food, he 
gave up mining and went to Sacramento. 
Recovering somewhat, his first job of work 
was to make a bagatelle table, another party 
supplying the funds and the billiard balls. 
They got $450 for the table, which they 
divided equally. Mr. Schreiber then made 
one trip as teamster to the mines, and in No- 
vember moved to San Francisco, where he 
worked a short time as carpenter. Before the 
close of the year 1850, he went into the fur- 
niture and carpet business. Among his ear- 
liest jobs in that line was the making of ship 
mattresses, which were in great demand at 
that time. But he soon yearned for the mines 
and was not content until he again tried that 
pursuit. Remaining, however, but a short 
time so engaged, he resumed mattress-making 
in San Francisco, in the spring or early sum- 
mer of 1851. Mr. Schreiber went East in 
January, 1852, paid his indebtedness to the 
money-lender in Akron, Ohio, and went to 
Rochester, New York, where he rejoined his 

wife. 

He was married in Rochester, in 1848, to 
Miss Jane Scutt, a native of Monroe county, 
New York. After six months' absence he 
returned to San Francisco, via the Isthmus, 
with his wife and accompanied by his father, 
his brother Philip, his sister (the late Mrs. 
Graffelman) and her four children. Re- 
suming business he has continued ever since 
in the manufacture and importation of furni- 
ture, bedding and carpets. He started a 
branch store in Oakland in 1873, in charge 
of his brother, Philip, now in Tucson, Ari- 
zona. In 1875 he sold out his business in 
San Francisco and took charge of his store 
here, to which he has since given his atten- 
tion, enlarging his floor room from time to 
accommodate his constantly increasing trade, 
until he now occupies the stores 1,064, 1,066 



and 1,070 Broadway, the entire floor-room 
being 20,000 feet. In furniture and carpets 
and the supplemental lines of goods asually 
found in such stores, he keeps a large and 
varied assortment of quality and the latest 
style. Mrs. Christian Schreiber died in San 
Francisco in 1865, leaving one child, Lo- 
lita J., now residing in this city, the widow 
of James Mitchell. In 1867, with his daugh- 
ter, Mr. Schreiber made a trip to Europe, 
being absent about six months. On his re- 
turn he was married in Rochester, New York, 
to Martha Gerald, born in Vermont, a daugh- 
ter of Carley Gerald, also a native of that 
State and now living with his daughter at 
Oakland, at the age of eighty-five. Mr. and 
Mrs. Schreiber have five children: Mary 
Elizabeth; Gerald, a graduate of Heald'e 
Business College in San Francisco, and book- 
keeper for his father; Martha, now attending 
an art school in San Francisco; Brock, Christ- 
ian and Gracie, both attending the Cole School, 
Oakland. 

>«*->« g * ? M t * g t--- — 

BIJAH POND EVERETT, a business 
man of San Francisco, residing in 
Alameda, was born in Foxborough, 
Norfolk county, Massachusetts, August 10, 
1820, of an old Massachusetts family. His 
father, Daniel Everett, was also born in that 
State, in 1776, and died in May, 1856, in the 
same State. lie was Captain in the war of 
1812, stationed at South Boston, and was a 
farmer by occupation. Mr. Everett's mother's 
maiden name was Clarissa Pond, and she 
also was a native of Massachusetts. In that 
family were six children, of whom one died 
young and three are now living. 

The youngest of these, our subject, was 
brought upon his father's farm until he was 
fifteen years old. He then served a seven years' 
apprenticeship in a Boston grocery. Next 




1T8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



67 



he was at Para, Brazil, on the Amazon river, 
in charge of the basiness of a gentleman who 
was absent two years in the United States. 
Then Mr. Everett returned home on account 
of ill health. Within two months he em- 
barked as supercargo on board a trading ex- 
pedition to the northwest portion of Africa, 
visiting Gambia, Oathaw, Basaw and Gore — 
the latter point being the most western on 
the coast of Africa. In six months he was 
back at Boston. Four months afterward he 
left for Honolulu, arriving there in March, 
1846, and resided there about fifteen years, 
engaged in auctioneering and commission. 

In the meantime, in 1850, he visited San 
Francisco, being in this city four months. 
In 1851 he was appointed Chilian Consul at 
Honolulu, which position he filled as long as 
he resided there. During his residence there 
he was under the reigns of Kings Kameha- 
meha III and IV, and Karaebameha V came 
into power about the time he left there. 
Also, while he was a resident of Honolulu, 
he married in 1851, Carmen Escainilla de 
Rodreigus Vide, a native of Santiago, 
Chili. Rodreigus Vide, her father, was then 
Chilian Consul at Honolulu. He died in 
1851, leaving two daughters. The other 
daughter married Robert C. Janion, an 
Englishman, who succeeded Vide to the con- 
sular office; finally Mr. Everett succeeded 
Mr. Janion to the same position. 

In 1861 Mr. Everett disposed of his busi- 
ness in Honolulu, resigned the consulship 
and moved to San Francisco. His first bus- 
iness association here was with the house of 
McRuer & Merrill, commission merchants, 
on California street. He was next salesman 
and auctioneer for another party nearly eight 
years. For the past seventeen years he has 
been in business for himself at 405 Front 
street. He moved to Alameda in 1881. 
Politically he is an ardent Republican. 



His first presidential vote was cast for Abra- 
ham Lincoln for his second term. April 11, 
1887, he was elected a member of the Board 
of Trustees of Alameda. 

His first wife died in October, 1864, the 
mother of four sons, living. His present wife 
he married in 1877. 



!■> »| 



S ' l ' T - g" 



♦•*- 



>^^OHN D. GODEUS, a photographer of 
San Francisco, was born in the city of 
Rotterdam, Holland, May 10, 1831. In 
1840 his parents moved to the city of Cleve, 
Germany, where he attended school and also 
studied engineering; in 1848, came with his 
parents to America. He first lived in New 
York four years, and afterward held the po- 
sition of engineer at the Croton Water 
Works three years. During the days of the 
gold discoveries in California he determined 
to come to the Pacific coast, and sailed from 
New York on the ship North Star around 
the Horn, and during the voyage the dreaded 
disease of small-pox broke out on the ship. 
After a passage of 165 days he reached San 
Francisco, October 20, 1851, and first worked 
for John Morris in the survey for the Pre- 
sidio Water Works, and was also engaged as 
architect and contractor for some time. In 
1856, the time of the Vigilance Committees, 
he was a member, and also captain of a com- 
pany. In 1857 he tried his luck at Frat?er 
river, in British Columbia, and returned 
after a short stay again to San Francisco, 
where he started in the butcher business in 
1858, and was married the same year. He 
was taken sick in 1863 and had to sell out 
his business in consequence. In 1864, when 
he and his wife were going to Sacramento 
on the steamer Washoe, the boiler exploded 
and his wife was killed: he himself escaped 
uninjured. 



68 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC I 800 1 



After making a trip to the Eastern States 
on a visit, in 1865, and was married to Miss 
Marj Clifton Kemp, van-E., October 10, 
1865, he returned in 1866 to San Francisco, 
where he engaged in the photograph busi- 
ness in the South Park Gallery on Third 
street, near Bryant. In 1872 he opened the 
People's Art Gallery at No. 34 Third street, 
which he afterward sold. He then built hib 
present gallery, No. 10 Sixth street, which 
he has conducted for the past five years, 
doing all kinds of photograph work, and em- 
ploys several persons in the different depart- 
ments of his business. Mr. Godeus has in- 
vested his surplus means from time to time 
in real estate, and in this has been quite suc- 
cessful. Godeus street, running from Mis- 
sion street to California avenue, was named 
in his honor. He has one daughter, Mary 
Clara. 







iANUEL EYRE was born in Dela- 
ware county, Pennsylvania, February 
5, 1842. His ancestors for four 
generations were natives of the " Empire 
State," his maternal grandfather having 
owned the farm taken up from William Penn 
by the earlier settlers. 

Manuel Eyre, the father of our subject, was 
a native of Pennsylvania, and was a man 
of large means ; the mother's maiden 
name was Painter. Manuel Eyre. Jr., 
the fifth in the line of descent bearing 
that name, was reared and partly educated in 
the State, in which he was born; he was 
graduated from the University of Missouri in 
1859, receiving the degree of A. B., and 
afterwards that of A. M. He was deeply 
engrossed in the reading and study of law at 
the time the war of the Rebellion broke upon 
us; he, therefore, abandoned this work and 
enlisted in the Third Delaware Volunteer 



Infantry in January, 1862; he was made 
Second Lieutenant September 24, 1862, and 
Wrt8 promoted to First Lieutenant August 15, 
1864. He was wounded in battle, and after- 
wards had additional honors conferred upon 
him in the way of promotion; he was made 
Lieutenant Colonel of the Sixth United States 
Veteran Volunteers, September 22, 1865, and 
was mustered out of the service, receiving 
honorable discharge June 12, 1866. 

The following year Mr. Eyre came to the 
Pacific coast, and in 1872 he located at Napa, 
where he resided until 1878; then became 
to San Francisco and engaged in general civil 
practice. He was admitted to the practice of 
the Federal Courts March 4, 1878, and was 
admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court 
October 8, 1883. He has given much atten- 
tion to trade marks and patent law, and has 
made a marked success in this line of his 
profession. 

Politically he aflSIiates with the Republican 
party. He belongs to the American Legion 
of Honor, to the Knights of Honor, and to 
the A. O. U. W. 

OHN LETVELLING, deceased, was a 
native of North Carolina, who emigrated 
at an early day to Indiana, and later to 
Iowa. In 1850 he crossed the plains to 
California, where he was engaged in mining 
until 1852. He then returned to Iowa, and 
in 1853 brought his family to California by 
the water route. They landed in San Fran- 
cisco January 3, where he met Mr. Beard, 
from whom he leased fifty acres of land at the 
Mission San Jose for a term of seven years. 
At the expiration of five years he sold the 
lease to Beard & Ellsworth, and bought a 
squatter's claim to forty acres of land be- 
tween Hay wards and San Lorenzo, for $40 an 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



69 



acre. He afterward had to pay $60 per acre 
to satisfy a Spanish title. This land was a 
part of the Castro grant. Mr. Lewelling 
afterward bought seventy-tive acres and en- 
gaged in the nursery business, which he sue 
cessfnlly followed until 1868, when, on 
account of ill health, he went to Napa valley, 
and bought a place, on which he planted a 
vineyard of over 100 acres. His death oc- 
curred there in 1886. His son, Eli, who 
now owns the old home place, bought it from 
his father previous to his going to Napa val- 
ley. He has since carried on the fruit busi- 
ness, shipping large quantities of the finest 
fruits under the old J. Lewelling brand, 
which is so well known to fruit dealers. 

John Lewelling was a man well-known in 
San Francisco, having been president of the 
of the Grangers' Bank, corner of Sansome arid 
California streets, for several years, and a 
heavy stockholder. Eli Lewelling has recently 
erected a very handsome residence on the old 
homestead, one and a half miles northwest of 
Haywards. He is a quiet, unassuming man, 
and enjoys the confidence and respect of a 
large circle of friends, and is recognized as 
one of the most successful men in the valley 



»•» •% 



2 - i"t - 2 



I* < M 




D. HOPE, a rancher near Borden, was 
born in Scotland county, Missouri, 
^ in 1848. His father, A. M. Hope, 
was a farmer, but with the tide of emigration 
in 1852 he brought his family to California 
across the plains, in the old prairie schooner, 
with ox teams. He farmed about one year 
in Contra Costa county, and then followed 
mining in Amador and Calaveras counties 
until 1872, when he came to Fresno county 
and pre-empted 160 acres near Borden, where 
he died in 1883. 

Oar subject lived at home through all the 



changes, but devoted his life to farming in- 
stead of mining, and he now occupies the 
ranch of his father, to which he has added 
and now owns 320 acres. He rents additional 
land, sowing annually about 600 acres in 
wheat and barley. Mr. Hope returned to 
Fairfield county, Ohio, in 1884, and was 
married to Miss Mary Smith, whom he 
brought to his Western home. They have 
one child, Robert Bruce, who was born in 
January, 1887. Having prospered in this 
world's goods, Mr. Hope is about taking his 
family East for a visit to the home of their 
childhood. 



^: 



^ 




,0N. CHARLES W. CROSS has taken 
about as active a part in public matters 
in the last fifteen years as any of our 
public men. We can truthfully say that he 
was a leader in the Constitutional Conven- 
tion, and afterward in the State Senate for 
four sessions of that body. He was one of 
the most zealous men in either body, and 
aimed to do his whole duty. In the result of 
his work, the undoubted benefit to the people 
arising from it, he certainly should have 
satisfaction. On the conclusion of his last 
term at Sacraiiiento, Mr. Cross came to this 
city, and, resolving to devote himself solely 
to his profession of the law, he has since 
been so engaged. Had he so desired, we 
doubt not further and higher political honors 
were open to him, but, as in the instance of 
other good lawyers, political preferment, and 
the turmoil of such a life weighed not in 
comparison with the rewards arising from his 
profession. Mr. Cross, of course, valued the 
honor conferred upon him by his constitu- 
ents. 

He was born in Syracuse, New York, of 
English ancestry, as the name would go to 
show. On his mother's side he is of the 



( 



70 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANOISCO: 



Clinton family, famous in Revolutionary 
times and afterward. De Witt Clinton, twice 
Governor of New York and one of the prom- 
inent men of the country in the first quarter 
of the present century, was a near relation. 
Mr. Cross was yet young when his parents 
moved to Illinois, and there he was raised 
and educated. He was graduated at the 
Northwestern University, at Evanston, in 
1869. Following this he began the study of 
law, and was admitted to the bar in 1871 by 
the Supreme Court of Illinois. 

In 1872 Mr. Cross came to California and 
settled in Nevada county. When the ques- 
tion came up of sending a delegate to the 
Constitutional Convention he was chosen for 
that important work, and well did he meet 
the requirements of his constituents. He 
took active part in the debates, and wielded 
considerable influence by reason of his sound 
logic and his discernments. In the reports 
of the convention we find that Mr. Cross was 
one of the most diligent workers. As he was 
favorable to the new Constitution he aimed 
to make that instrument as perfect as possi- 
ble. He was a leader, indeed, and voiced the 
be«%t legal talent on such matters as the 
judiciary, penal enactments, trial by jury, 
corporations, lil)el, etc.* In 1882 Mr. Cross 
was elected to the State Senate and served 
for four sessions. His previous experifnce 
was of benefit to him there to some extent. 
In the Senate he also wielded great influence, 
as was natural, and was instrumental in hav- 
ing passed many wise measures. He also 
combatted with vigor such schemes of ques- 
tionable merit as came up. During his time 
in the Senate there were many bitter contests 
in connection with railroad matters and the 
irrigation question principally. The debates 
were often acrimonious. Mr. Cross natu- 
rally took active part, but, though at times 
bitter feelings were engendered, he yet all 



through preserved very harmonious relations 
with his colleao:ues. He was Chairman of 
the Judiciary Committee during the entire 
period that he was a member of the Senate. 
Since 1886 Mr. Cross has resided in San 
Francisco. For a time he had as partner 
James K. Byrne. Afterward he was associ- 
ated with ex- Judge Denson. He is now 
single in his profession, however. He has 
been in practice some twenty years, and in 
that time, notwithstanding the political in- 
terruptions, he has had many important cases. 
These have been principally in connection 
with mining, water rights, etc. Mr. Cross 
has the reputation of being a very capable, 
painstaking lawyer, who does the best pos- 
sible for his clients. He is keen, discerning 
and an excellent judge of character. He be- 
longs to the Bar Association and the Man- 
hattan Club. He is a consistent and stead- 
fast Democrat. 

'S ' ^"t ' 2 i* " ' — 




DMUND TAITSZKY, in his profession 
of the law, has been counsel in many 
cases of general interest. To him also, 
as Court Cofnmissioner, have been assigned 
several suits involving large sums of money. 
Hib name, therefore, has frequently appeared 
in the daily papers since he began his prac- 
tice here. He now enjoys a very fair share 
of legal business, and this is the more cred- 
itable to him inasmuch as it is entirely owing 
to his own energy and talent. He began 
without the aid of wealth or influence. By 
his own resources, indeed, has he gained his 
present excellent standing and practice at 
the bar. Outside of his profession, Mr. 
Tauszky is also well known personally. He 
has many friends, and this is a natural result 
of his pleasant, courteous and open manner. 
No measure of success could change thip, 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



71 



indeed; hence, he will always retain the 
friendship and the good will of those who 
have known him, and to the rising young 
advocates this is not unimportant. 

The name Tauszky is Hungarian. Than 
Hungary, there is no other country where 
people have suffered so much for their 
patriotic and liberty-loving qualities. Mr. 
Tauszky's people were of those who *' went 
ont " in 1848. His grandfather was, we be- 
lieve, with Kossuth. They were all in active 
sympathy with the movement for the rights 
of the people. His father, in later times, 
was well-to-do in Pesth. He owned a large 
brewery there and had extensive business in- 
terests. These the family sold when it was 
decided to come, in 1866, to the new world. 
The oldest brother of Mr. Edmund Tauezky, 
who was a physician, had come to the United 
States some years previously, and it was 
owing to his favorable reports, indeed, that 
the family decided to make the change. That 
gentleman, Mr. Rudolph Tauszky, was then 
a practicing physician in New York city. 
He died about two years ago. He was emi- 
nent in his profession, and wrote several 
valuable works on medical subjects; was res- 
ident physician at Mt. Sinai Hospital, New 
York; also a surgeon in the United States 
Army, and took part in active service. Dr. 
Tanszky visited his brother some j'ears ago. 

Mr. Edmund Tauszky was but a child 
when his people came to the United States. 
With his parents he resided for some years 
afterward in New York, where he attended 
school. Upon his mother's death, in 1869, 
he went to St. Louis to a married sister, and 
there he finished his education. To perfect 
himself in commercial studies, he attended 
for a time afterward the Jones' Commercial 
College, of St. Louis, the leading business 
college of that city, from which he received 
a diploma. 



In 1876, Mr. Edmund Tauszky came to 
California. In this city bent was first given 
to him in the direction of the law, where he 
studied with great diligence, and graduated 
May 28, 1883, and was admitted to practice. 
While attending the Hastings College of 
Law, he was with the firm of Wallace, 
Greathouse & Blanding, succeeded by the 
present firm of Pillsbury, Blanding & Hayne. 
He joined them in July, 1879, and was with 
them until 1885. This was indeed an excel- 
lent preparation for him, for it brought him 
in contact with actual practice and well sup- 
plemented his studies. In 1885 he began 
practice, and since then has been so engaged, 
and with a steadily increasing business that 
must be very satisfactory, both from a ma- 
terial standpoint and from the higher stand- 
point of the evident l)enefit to clients such 
an increase shows. He has had charge of 
some noted cases, and in these he acquitted 
himself creditably. Mr. Tauszky's study 
and experience have given him an intimate 
knowledge of the principles of law and the 
authorities. He is well read in law matters, 
and has good practical knowledge in other 
matters. He prepares his cases exhaustively, 
and in court his arguments are based on law 
and sound logic. He speaks pointedly, con- 
cisely and plainly. Many of his cases have 
received considerable publicity in the daily 
papers, as we stated. His practice has been 
altogether civil, corporate, probate, real-es- 
tate matters, etc. Mr. Tauszky was attorney 
for the Sutro Tunnel Company in its im- 
portant litigation, and is now attorney for its 
successor, the Comstock Tunnel Company. 
In 1887 he was appointed Court Commis- 
sioner. As such commissioner his work has 
given great satisfaction, indeed. In the 
noted case of Hinckley V8, Stebbins, which 
involved the California Theater, and in which 
the niece of Hinckley contested the accounts. 



72 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



etc., of Dr. Stebbin», and other trustees, his 
report was accepted by both sides as satis- 
factory. In this, several hundred thousand 
dollars were involved. The case of Wood- 
ward vs. Ranm was also referred to him. 
This is the Woodward's Gardens suit. There 
are four heirs, to sell as a whole, or subdi- 
vide, and the question is, which would be 
most profitable to the heirs, to sell as a whole 
or subdivide. With Timothy J. Lyons, Mr. 
Tansky prepared Judge Coffey's decisions 
for the Law Journal. He also prepared the 
syllabi of decisions published in book form. 
The whole, it is intended, will be shortly 
published. 

In politics, Mr. Tauszky has always been 
a staunch Republican. For several years he 
has been a trustee of the Mercantile Library. 
When the matter of consolidation with the 
Mechanics' Institute came up, Mr. Tauszky 
strongly opposed this. He was appointed a 
committee of one to furnish a report on this, 
althoui^h the youngest member of the board, 
and John S. Hittell was appointed to furnish 
a counter report. The best argument on both 
sides was, therefore, presented, and by a vote 
of four to one afterward consolidation was 
defeated. 

To his law practice he devotes his best en- 
ergies, and has done so, indeed, from the be- 
ginning; hence, his success. He is a thor- 
ough lawyer, painstaking, energetic, and 
certainly has a very bright future before 
him. Mr. Tauszky belongs to the Concordia 
Club and the San Francisco Bar Association. 



— »- •! 



SHMt-5. 



• <01 



DWIN ROBBINS, M. D., whose office 
is in the Flood Building, has been a 
resident of California for the past ten 
years, during which time he has practiced 
for six years in Los Angeles and in San 




Francisco about two and a half years. He 
was born in Tipton, near Birmingham, Eng- 
land, in May, 1850, and received his early 
education in the schools of his native town. 
At about the age of twenty-two years he left 
home and traveled through Canada and the 
United States, and proceeded to Australia, 
where he spent seven years, traveling in 
New Zealand and Australia. He returned to 
the United States in 1879 and entered the 
American Eclectic Medical College of Ohio, 
where he graduated in 1882, receiving his 
degree as Doctor of Medicine, and at the 
same time received the honorary diploma of 
Doctor of Medical Laws. He then entered 
upon the practice of his profession at Los 
Angeles, where he remained six years. Com- 
ing to San Francisco in December, 1888, he 
commenced practice here, and has since built 
up a large and lucrative business. Dr. Rob- 
bins makes a specialty of chronic and nerv- 
ous diseases, in the treatment of which he has 
been very successful. 




•UDGE ROBERT THOMPSON.— There 
are certainly few names better known, 
or even more favorably known, to San 
Franciscans, than that which heads this 
sketch. He has been a resident of Califor- 
nia ever since 1849, and in San Francisco for 
many years past. His philanthropic work 
in different chatmels since his residence here 
has made him known to many who would 
have never learned of him through his prac- 
tice, and possibly vice versa. Being a gentle- 
man of most kindly sympathies and pleasing 
manner, it is but natural that he should 
have many friends throughout the State. 
In many lines of work and thought he shows 
a youthful ambition, and we doubt not that 
he will carry on his work with the same 



ITS GITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



78 



energy to the last, and then resign it well 
content. Indeed he shows in his manner a 
life well passed, having no regrets over oppor- 
tunities wasted. 

He was born in Waldo county, Maine, of a 
good American family, established in New 
England in Colonial days His people went 
to Maine from Massachusetts, where they had 
ori<yinally located on their arrival from the 
mother conntry. With the history of New 
England, therefore, Judge Thompson is 
familiar. He remembers his grandmother 
speaking of the battle of Lexington, of which 
she was indeed a spectator. This lady, like 
many of his people, lived to a ripe old age — 
ninety-eight years. Judge Thompson's father 
was a militiaman in the war of 1812. 
The family were generally farmers. Judge 
Thompson, our subject, was educated in 
Massachusetts, from 1840, the year of his 
arrival there. He also commenced the study 
of law there, and continued it at Philadel- 
phia. Prior to the gold discovery he came 
westward and traveled about a year in the 
Western States. He went down the Ohio 
river and up the Mississippi, and returned to 
Philadelphia by way of the lakes. It was his 
intention to follow up the study of law at the 
latter city, and after his admission to the bar 
begin his practice in Chicago, but the great 
gold discovery in California changed his 
mind. 

He left Philadelphia February 1, 1849, 
with some forty others, on the schooner 
Thomas Walter, commanded by her owner, 
after whom it was named, and arrived at 
Tampico, Mexicc^, on the 22d. There they 
engaged horses for riding, and mules for 
their goods, and so crossed the country to 
Mazatlan, consuming forty-three days in the 
journey. At that time of the year it was 
pleasant enough, and they met with no seri- 
ous accident or sickness on the way. From 

88 



Mazatlan their troubles really began. There 
was then lying there a Mexican schooner of 
some twenty three tons, the San Blasina, and 
this vessel they chartered, or rather she was 
turned over to them for their passage money. 
About thirty-five agreed to make the venture, 
although several hesitated, the vessel was so 
small and seemingly not stanch. When the 
passengers took possession it was without 
wood or water. There was then in the har- 
bor an English whaler, and from this vessel 
a number of casks were bought, and theee 
were taken on board at night so as to avoid 
the heavy Mexican duty on such a sale. 
Water was put in these at San Jose, so they 
ran some forty miles beyond and there hove 
to and cleaned and burned out the casks for 
fresh water. At this place a Scotch bark, 
the Coloma, was at anchor. A week after- 
ward they started out again. A gale came 
up and their boat was swamped, their oars 
lost, and the sails torn. To renew the latter 
Judge Thompson gave them some of his 
tents. 

The next day they arrived at Cape San 
Lucas, where several left the vessel. Two 
friends of Judge Thompson advised him also 
to do the same; but, as they were unused to 
roughing it, and the intention of the others 
being to walk to California, he refused to do 
so unless a German named Beck, — like him- 
self ,a good shot and with some experience 
of outdoor life, — also agreed to go along. 
Beck finally fell in with the plan. They 
started along the gulf shore and came to 
where the Coloma was lying. The alcalde 
of the place strongly advised against such an 
undertaking as theirs, and although the Co- 
loma was crowded they were finally admitted 
aboard. All the passengers but one agreed 
to this, and even he was willing except that 
he wished to be free in case he should desire 
to proceed against the captain for overcrowcj. 



74 



THE BAY OF SAiV F RANG I 800: 



ing, and he refused to sign the petition with 
the others. However they all went aboard, 
and finally reached San Francisco, after a 
passage of thirty-five days, June 25, 1849. 

Going to Sacramento on a New York pilot 
boat that had come around the Horn, Judge 
Thompson recruited his depleted energies 
for a few days, and then proceeded to the 
north fork of the American river and spent 
the summer mining there, being fairly suc- 
cessful, making about an ounce a day. His 
was a large company there, and they worked 
together well. When sick or from other 
cause he could not work, the Judge found a 
substitute, but at a high price, one time pay- 
ing an Irishman $12 just for one day's work! 
During the following autumn he returned to 
Sacramento, bought a lot and l)egan on it a 
general mercliandise business, in a rudely 
constructed store, or rather tent, on K street. 
The great flood of 1850, however, damaged 
trade so badly that he had to leave, although 
he liad done very well up to that time. 

Next with two Ohio men he bought some 
stock, but he soon sold out his interest, and 
in the spring of 1851 he went to Calaveras 
county, where he resumed his law studies, 
was admitted to the bar and practiced some 
eleven years, enjoying a good patronage. He 
was elected Superintendent of the sch(»ols 
there, and also Justice of the Peace several 
times, — in fact as long as he desired it. As 
a J ustice he often sat as an associate of the 
County Judge in certain cases, and hence his 
title as "Judge." From 1863 to 1867 he 
followed his profession as an attorney in Al- 
pine county, and since that time he has been 
a resident of San Francisco, practicing his 
profession with signal success. Three-fourths 
of it has been in bankruptcy cases in the 
Federal Courts. In this class of litigation 
bo has certainly had great experience; but he 
is good also in general law. 



Judge Thompson has always been one of 
the strongest temperance advocates on the 
coast, and has specially advanced the cause of 
the Good Templars. He is a trustee of the 
Orphans' Home at Vallejo, of which his 
wife, formerly Miss Caroline Batchelder, was 
one of the lady managers, being president of 
the board, indeed, for about fourteen years. 
Judge Thompson first met her in Andover, 
Massachusetts, where he taught school in his 
young days, and he afterward married her in 
New York city. Two years and a half after- 
ward he returned East from California by 
way of the Isthmus, and brought her here 
by way of Cape Horn. The Judge also be- 
longs to the Masonic order, the Odd Fellows, 
the Knights of Pythias, and. naturally, to 
the Society of Pioneers. He is one of the 
Odd Fellows' Hall Association. He has 
three children. His son resides at Suflol; 
one daughter is the wife of Rev. H. H. 
Rice, and the other married Fred Warren, of 
the South San Francisco Water Company. 

^ * ? >' I * ^ ***** — 

(OBERT E. BUNKER, M. D., whose 
oflSce is at No. 46 O'Farrell street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of Cali- 
fornia since 1886, and has been engaged in 
the practice of medicine since 1889. He was 
born in Bloomington, Minnesota, in 1864, 
and is of English and Scandinavian descent, 
his father being a native of Massachusetts, 
and his mother of Norway. His father's 
family have been residents of New England 
for a number of generations. 

Robert received his early education in the 
public schools of Minneapolis, Minnesota. 
He commenced the study of medicine in 
1885, under the preceptorship of J. R. Free- 
man, of Minneapolis, with whom he studied 
one year, and at the same time entered the 




IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



75 



Minnesota Hospital College, where he took 
the course of 1885-'86. On coming to Cali- 
fornia Dr. Banker entered the medical de- 
partment of the University of California, 
where he graduated in 1889, receiving his 
degree as Doctor of Medicine. He is now 
the Assistant Police Surgeon of San Fran- 
cisco, a poition he has held since January, 
1890. He is also resident physician of the 
Crocker Old People's Home. 




'AMES MEE was born in Ireland, Octo- 
ber 26, 1828, and received his education 
in his native land. In his youth he 
entered Temple Moile Agricultural Seminary, 
north of Ireland, and was graduated from this 
school with honor. This was one of the 
most noted educational institutions in Great 
Britain. Upon reaching man's estate he 
came to the Pacific coast, making the trip 
via Cape Horn on the barque Carthagenia. 
He arrived in San Francisco July 11, 1850, 
and soon after went to the southern mines, 
where he remained three years. He was very 
prosperous in this enterprise, and in 1863 
returned to his native land where he wedded 
the love of his youth. He then came back to 
California, and re-engaged in mining, which 
industry he pursued until 1857. In that 
year he went to San Mateo county and in- 
vested in a large herd of cattle; he was occu- 
pied with the live-stock business until 1860, 
when he sold out, as the Government at that 
time took up all the lands. He then came to 
San Francisco, and was admitted to the bar, 
and engaged in the practice of law. 

Mr. Mee is a great lover of horses, and is 
largely interested in the development and 
improvement of the breeds. For twenty 
years he owned an extensive stable, and spent 
much time on the turf. He is acknowledged 



one of the best horsemen on the Pacific coast, 
and lias one of the largest collection of books 
relating to the horse that can be found in the 
State of California. 

He has made very successful investments 
and speculations in mining and real estate, 
and withal has found America a happy and 
prosperous home. 

While a resident of San Mateo county, Mr. 
Mee was elected to theofliceof Justice of the 
Peace, and discharged his duties with ability 
and to the satisfaction of the public. He has 
been frequently urged to accept nominations 
for office, but has steadily declined to do so. 
Politically he is a staunch Democrat, and is 
one of the party's leaders. He is a man of 
public spirit, and gives liberally to the support 
of all worthy charities. 



-**^^^^'(8J®"*^^ 



^^ 




ATRICK J. O'NEILL, M. D., whose of- 
fice is situated at No. 126 Fourth street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1883, and engaged in the 
practice of medicine since 1888. He was 
b<»rn in county Roscommon, Ireland, in 1858, 
and received his early education in the na- 
tional schools of Ireland. At the age of six- 
teen years he came to America, remaining 
for five years in Rhode Island, and then came 
to California and was engaged for the first 
two years in mercantile pursuits. In 1885 he 
commenced the study of medicine in the med- 
ical department of the University of Southern 
California, where he spent three years, grad- 
uating in 1888, and receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. He then went to New 
York, where he took a course at the Post- 
Graduate School of Medicine, from which he 
•received his certificate in the latter part ot 
1888. Mr. O'Neill then went to Philadel- 
phia, where he entered the Jefferson Medical 



-.6 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



College, and after a year's study and a course 
of lectures he received his degree as Doctor 
of Medicine. During those four years Dr. 
O'Neill had the fullest opportunities of the 
hospital and college for the practical applica- 
cation of the teaching of the schools. He then 
came to San Francisco, where he entered up- 
on the practice of his profession. He is a 
member of the County Medical Society of 
San Francisco; of the Young Men's Insti- 
tute; of the Ancient Order of Foresters; and 
of the Knights of the Red Branch, I. O. O. 
F., and Knigiits of Pythias. 



-^^ 



• > . C.*^ii 



^ 




ilCHAELKANE is an old and retired 
citi/en of Alameda, California. In 
the fall of 1848 he formed a com- 
pany of young men in Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
vania — sons of wealthy men, organized with 
much ceremony as the Pittsburg & California 
Enterprise Company, for the purpose of com- 
ing to California and mining for gold; and 
also organized as a military company for self- 
protection. Mr. Kane, although then quite 
a young man, was elected president. Char- 
tering a steamer, they left Pittsburg March 
16, and arrived at St. Joseph, Missouri, two 
weeks later, where a committee had arrived 
previously to purchase mules. They left St. 
Joseph May 4, some crossing the river at 
that point, and some further up; and, bid- 
ding adieu to civilization, they started across 
the almost interminable wilds by what was 
known as the Fremont route, namely, the 
North Platte, Sublette's cut-off, etc., camp- 
ing at Green river on the Fourth of July, 
which day they celebrated in company with 
the United States Dragoons in camp near by. 
The only white settler tliey saw between 
St. Joseph and Hangtown (Placerville), was 
a lame man called •* Peg-Leg" Smith, who 



had married a squaw and was engaged in 
hunting and trapping on Green river. 

The mess under the supervision of Mr. 
Kane reached Hangtown August 22, 1849. 
The company had been divided into messes 
from the start, on account of its large num- 
ber (310 members), and having the care of so 
many mules, they arrived somewhat scatter- 
tering. For protection against Indians on 
the route, and for the sake of forage and 
provisions, they were obliged to co-operate 
in crossing the plains and deserts. Although 
their primary intention was to remain to- 
gether after their arrival in California, they 
immediately found it more convenient to 
separate. 

On the trip they once saw approaching 
them a band of Sioux Indians, who were 
apparently returning fiom a battle, as they 
had their squaws with them and were car- 
rying several wounded braves on litters. 
These litters consisted of two long poles fast- 
ened at one end to the sides of the ponies, 
while the other ends dragged upon the 
ground; and over these, hides were stretched. 
On approaching a small portion of the emi- 
grant party they stopped and indicated by 
motions toward their mouth that they de- 
sired something to eat. Mr. Kane ordered 
bread, sugar and tobacco to be given them, 
and they rode peacefully away. 

On reaching the Forty-mile desert, the ani- 
mals of the emigrant party were greatly re- 
duced in strength, and were scarcely able t« 
get across. One mule indeed, had to be staid 
up by men walking on each side of him. 
When within a few miles of Cai-son river, 
the animals seemed to smell the water, 
pricking up their ears and making a 
direct line for it. The mules on arriving at 
the bank plunged in full up to their eyes. 
A rest of three days was enjoyed there. 

The party reached Hangtown August 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



77 



22, bat they bad virtually disbanded on 
leaving St. Jopeph, Missouri, dividing up 
into fifty-two messes on account of their hav- 
ing different routes. In crossing the plains, 
however, they met frequently and exchanged 
salutations. In Mr. Kane's mess — No. 11 
— were six persons. He had furnished their 
outfit on condition that they should pay 
him in work on shares for two years; but on 
arriving here he released them from their ob* 
ligations, as, it appeared that each one would 
make more money by working independently 
for himself; and he said they might pay him 
when they could. One man indeed did 
pay him, — about $100, — »which was all that 
Mr. Kane ever received on those contracts. 
Tlie outfit for the whole mess has cost him 
$2,500. 

The first winter in California Mr. Kane 
mined at Mud Springs. Early that season he 
went to San Francisco for his mail and goods, 
which had been shipped by sea; but the stor- 
age on the goods was so high that he told 
the warehouse man that he might keep the 
goods for the storage charges, as he could 
get the same in Sacramento at the same 
prices. 

Meeting his old friend, Colonel Geary, 
Alcalde of the city, he Was advised to select 
and accept a lot in San Francisco. After ex- 
amination, he . returned to his friend, dis- 
gusted with the appearance of the place, say- 
ing he would not pay even the charges for 
recording the claim to the best 160 acres he 
could find in the city. Colonel Geary replied 
that be would regret it some day. 

Mr. Kane returned to the mines. It had 
then commenced to rain, thus introducing 
one of the wettest winters ever witnessed in 
California. During a beautiful interval of 
the weather in February, Mr. Kane started 
for Downieville. At Marysville, on his way, 
he bought a half interest in four yoke of 



oxen, and he with his partner proceeded 
toward Downieville. On approaching Yuba 
river, a terrible snow-storm delayed them 
about two weeks. After the storm had 
ceased they moved upon a bar in the river 
where the road to Downieville crossed it; 
and, as there was no wagon road leading 
further, they sold their oxen to a butcher for 
considerably more than they had paid for 
them. Storing their provisions at the bar, 
they proceeded on foot, camping in the deep 
snow at the top of the ridge the first night. 

On waking the next morning, Mr. Kane 
was horrified to find an Indian lying along 
side of him. Finding the snow too deep for 
further progress by way of the ridge, they 
returned and took the river road to Downie- 
ville. On arrival there, they found that this 
village then consisted of only two or three 
log cabins and a few occupants, and provis- 
ions becoming scarce; but soon a pack train 
came in loaded with provisions, arriving by 
the only road open through the snow. 

After a time they started out prospecting, 
turning by a dam the Yuba river above Down- 
ieville out of its channel, but did not find 
gold in paying quantities. The remainder of 
the winter season they spent at Rough and 
Ready, near Grass Valley. At that place 
they made about $10 a day, in the dry dig- 
gings. 

The next summer (1851) Mr. Kane re- 
turned to " the States." 

In the spring of 1853 he again came to 
California, by way of Panama, having been 
appointed United States Mail Agent for the 
trip. Afterward he was appointed by Major 
Richard P. Hammond, Collector of the Port 
of San Francisco, to be one of the Inspectors 
of Customs, which position he held for a 
term. He was then promoted to the position 
of Government Storekeeper. These two po- 
sitions he held under the administration of 



78 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANVISOO: 



President Pierce. Under Buchanan he was 
appointed United States Appraiser, and this 
post he held four years. Next Mr. Kane 
was a member of the firm of Hunter, Wand 
& Co., wholesale liquor dealers. After 
Mr. Hunter died the firm bought his inter- 
est and their name changed to Wand, Kane 
& Co.; subsequently Wand sold out to Fer- 
ii^us O'Leary, and the firm style became 
Kane, O'Leary & Co. Five years after that, 
January 1, 1882, they sold out to Newmark, 
Gruenburg & Co., and since that time Mr. 
Kane has been comparatively out of busi- 
ness, though he is interested in various enter- 
prises. 

In the fall of 1884, he made a trip to 
Europe, and on his return visited the 
World's Fair at New Orleans. He is a life 
member of the Pioneer Society of San Fran- 
cisco, and has served the same as Director 
for several terms of one year each. 

Mr. Kane was born in county Derry, Ire- 
land, in March, 1817, and in 1830 the family 
emigrated to America, locating at Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, in which city he learned the 
cabinet-making trade; and afterward he car- 
ried on the business in partnership with a 
cousin also named Michael Kane. In the 
great tire in 1845, he was burned out, losing 
his dwelling-house, ware-rooms and factory. 
After that he formed a partnership in busi- 
ness with William B. Roberts, who was soon 
afterwards elected Colonel of the Second 
Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, which 
proceeded to Mexico. Colonel Roberts hav- 
ing died at the close of the war with Mexico, 
in the city of Mexico, his remains were 
brought to Pittsburg by Mr. Kane's brother, 
James, Lieutenant of the Hibernia Greens, a 
a company of the Second Regiment, where- 
upon Mr. Kane closed out the business of 
the firm. 
The gold excitement of 1849 determined 



him to organize a company to come to Cali- 
fornia. He has a fine, comfortable home in 
Alameda, toward the west end of Railroad 
avenue, where he is surrounded with a happy 
family and all the comforts of a quiet life. 



» m 



>» »t ? » j f t ^ w Tf — 




EROME A. ANDERSON, M. D., whose 

office is in the Odd Fellows building, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1872, and engaged in the 
practice of medicine since 1873. He was 
born in Randolph county, Indiana, in 1847, 
and his early education was received in the 
public schools of Kansas, to which State his 
parents had moved during his early child- 
hood. He later attended a private seminary 
at Neosho Falls, Kansas. He commenced 
the study of medicine in 1868, under the 
preceptorship of Dr. J. W. Driscoll, of Ne- 
osho Falls, with whom he studied three 
years. In 1871 he entered the Medical Col- 
lege of Ohio, at Cincinnati, where he re- 
mained one year, and in 1872 entered the 
medical department of the University of Cal- 
ifornia, graduating in 1873, in the first class 
graduating from that institution, and receiv- 
ing the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He 
•Bt once entered in the practice of his profes- 
sion in San Francisco, where he has since 
been continuously engaged. The Doctor is 
a member of the State Medical Society of 
California, of the County Medical Society of 
San Francisco, Fellow of the San Francisco 
Obstetrical and Gynecological Society, ex- 
President of the Alumni Association of the 
Medical Department of the University of 
California, President of the Golden Gate 
Branch of the Theosophical Society, and editor 
of a literary monthly, the New Califomian, 
Dr. Anderson's family have been residents 
of America for many generations, and are 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR 8UB0RB8. 



79 




probably of Scotch descent. Five genera- 
tions in a direct line have been school teach- 
ers, including the Doctor, he having paid his 
expenses through the university by teaching 
school. His father, W. G. Anderson, came 
from North Carolina with his parents when 
a child. He was also a pioneer settler of 
Kansas. The parents both died in Kansas 
since the Doctor's arrival in California. 

EORGE GERLACH, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 1,000 Webster street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1867, and engaged in the 
practice of medicine since 1874. He was 
born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, in 1846, 
the son of George Gerlach, who was a director 
of the high school of Alzey, Hesse-Darm- 
stadt. This was a very ancient town, estab- 
lished by the Romans during the invasion by 
Julius Cffisar. The family have been edu- 
cators and professional men for generations. 
George received his early education in the 
public schools of Germany, graduating in 
the high school of his native city in 1863. 
He then commenced the study of medicine 
as a pharmacist, and graduated at the Col- 
lege of Pharmacy in 1865. In that year he 
came to the United States, settling in Phila- 
delphia, where he engaged in the drug busi- 
ness, and at the same time commenced the 
study of medicine, under the preceptorship 
of Dr. Aitken of that city, with whom he 
studied almost two years. Dr. Gerlach then 
came to California and engaged in the drug 
business, and at the same time entered the 
Medical College of the Pacific, now the 
Cooper Medical College, where he graduated 
in 1874, receiving the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. He at once entered into pri- 
vate practice, which he has since continued. 



He is a member of the State Medical Society 
of California, and of the County Medical 
Society of San Francisco. 



— > »t 




S > 3"i ' 2' 



OHN A. WALL.— While the subject of 
this notice has not the distinction of be- 
ing a pioneer of the Golden State, he 
has the next best honor, that of being a na- 
tive. He was born in Alameda county, Oc- 
tober 7, 1860, his parents having emigrated 
here during the early days of the settlement 
of the Pacific coast; the father was a farmer 
by occupation, and he also gave considerable 
attention to the raising of live«-stock. 

Young Wall attended the common schools 
of Oakland during his boyhood, and when 
he was older he went to the State of Mich- 
igan and entered the Battle Creek College, 
where he completed his literary studies. 

On his retarn to California he entered the 
law office of Nye & Richard. on, of Oakland, 
with whom he remained about one year, and 
then went into the office of Charles and Ben 
Darwin in San Francisco, where he finished his 
studies in one year and a half, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1885, — since which time 
he has been engaged in the practice of his 
profession and has offices at 325 Montgomery 
street, San Francisro. 

In 1885 he married Miss Alice M. M. 
Winter of Cloverdale, California. 



"y^^x/xn/lr 



l/inn^^ 




jUDOLPH HEROLD, a pioneer musi- 
cian of the Pacific coast, and an hon- 
ored citizen of San Francisco for nearly 
forty years, was born in the province of Sax- 
ony, Prussia, in 1831, where he was also 
reared and educated. At an early age he 
developed musical talent and began taking 



80 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



lessons, and afterward entered the Leipsic 
Conservatory of Music, where he pursued i 
his studies under the gifted Mendelssohn and 
Moscheles and other eminent teachers. Upon 
reaching manhood he came to the United 
States, and the following year to the Pacific 
coast, with the Catherine Hayes' Opera 
Troupe. lie decided to remain here, believ- 
ing the prospects in the musical profession 
would be more permanent than following the 
uncertain fortunes of an operatic company. 
After coming here he was prominently iden- 
tified with all the musical events of the future 
metropolis. The Italian opera, given at the 
old Metropolitan theater under Segnore Bian- 
chi, was conductedby Mr. Herold, and also the 
management of the grand concert in 1870, 
to aid in liquidating the debt on the Mercan- 
tile Library, was entrusted to him, in company 
with Camilla Urso. In * 1871 Mr. Ilerold 
went to Europe to make an extended tour, 
and was stricken with paralysis, but recov- 
ered in 1876 and resumed his famous pop- 
ular matinees, which he continued until 1883. 
Among all the leading uiusicians he was 
recognized as a master, and was justly pop- 
ular in the profession, fle collected a mag- 
nificent library at a great expense, compris- 
ing many rare works of great value. His 
death occurred in July, 1888, mourned by a 
large circle of friends, and leaving a widow 
and four sons, three of whom adopted the 
musical profession, and all were born in this 
city. Rudolph is at the head of an insur- 
ance business in this city; Oscar is now in 
Honolulu; Roderick is engaged in the musi- 
cal profession, and Hugo is now pursuing 
his studies in Italy. 

lioderick, the third son, has inherited the 
musical talent of his father in a marked 
degree, and has taken a prominent position 
in the profession. He was reared and re- 
ceived his education in this city, early de- 



veloping talent for music, and under his 
father's teaching enjoyed unusual opportnni- 
ties. He and his brother Oscar went to 
Europe, where they pursued their musical 
studies in Stuttgart and Paris, and after their 
return lioderick engaged in teaching. He 
has appeared in public a number of times, 
acquitting himself with credit, and receiving 
favorable notice from! the profession and the 
press. 



■■* »t 



1-^^ 



[ |» <0» 




.ERMAN A. MUHR, M.D., a physician 
and surgeon of the regular school, was 
born in Pomerania, Prussia, in 1825, a 
son of Dr. Adolph and Emilie (Stilke) Muhr. 
The father had studied chemistry under the 
celebrated Oersted t, in Copenhagen, had 
the honor of the personal friendship of A. 
v. Humboldt, became a physician and sur- 
geon, and served as an army surgeon in the 
war against Napoleon, and died of apoplei^y 
in 1836, aged forty-eight. Mrs. Muhr sor- 
\ived him nearly half a century, dying in 
1885, at the age of eigty-seven. 

II. A. Muhr was educated from the age of 
nine at Berlin, receiving a collegiate and 
university education. Being of liberal ten- 
dencies in politics, he was interested in the 
revolutionary movement in 1848, like Gen- 
eral Siegel, Carl Schurz and many others 
who have become well known in the United 
States, and with whom he became intimate in 
this counry. He found refuge in Paris, 
and in 1849 entered the " Ecole de Mede- 
cine,'' or medical college of that city, where 
he took a full course of three years, includ- 
ing the "externe" education or practice, 
which consisted in attendance at different 
"outside " hospitals of the city, which attend- 
ance was enforced to insure completeness of 
instruction, the advanced students thus learn- 
ing to perforu) all the duties of an assistant 



IT8 OITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



81 



physician and surgeon. Receiving his di- 
ploma in 1852, he was married in Germany, 
in 1854, to Miss Augusta Muller, born in 
18B2, and came to America in that year, 
settling in New York city. For the first four 
months he was engaged chiefly with the sick 
of the Social Benevolent Society of that city, 
composed of Germans and German-Amer- 
icans, numbering about 250 members. He 
then became the regular physician of the 
members and their families at a regular sal- 
ary, and served there fourteen years, but 
had to give up the position for more general 
practice, continued for nineteen years. He 
was a resident of that city thirty-three years. 
His republican tendencies found full scope 
on his arrival in America, and he soon be- 
(mme a real republican, even before he was a 
citizen. He identified himself with the 
Republican party as early as 1856, taking an 
active part even to the prejudice of his pro- 
fessional interests He was Chairman of the 
German Republican Club of New York city 
for five terms, and delegate to the Republican 
General Committee of the city and county 
of New York, enjoying the fullest confidence 
and intimacy of the most prominent leaders 
of that party. 

Dr. Muhr was attacked with a serious 
disease of the eyes in 1877, losing entirely 
the sight of the left eye, and taking five 
years of treatment before the cataract was 
removed from the right eye by Dr. Knapp, a 
prominent oculist of New York. Still active 
for his years, and despite his partial blind- 
ness, he continued to practice his profession, 
and in 1887 concluded to seek the genial 
climate of California. He settled in Oak- 
land, and has here carried on his professional 
labors with success and marked acceptance 
wherever he has become known in the brief 
period of his residence. 

Dr. and Mrs. Muhr have had seven children, 



of whom five are living: Julia, the wife of 
Arnold Entzman, now of Alameda, an ex- 
officer of the Austrian army, later employed 
in the office of the United States Surveyor 
General, and at present a bookkeeper in San 
Francisco. They have two daughters, the 
oldest born in New York, where they were 
married, and the youngest born in California. 
Adolph F., a photographer, formerly of Chi- 
cago for many years, and now of the firm of 
Richthofen & Co., photographers, of Denver; 
Helena, living with her parents; Herman, 
Jr., cashier and bookkeeper in a mercantile 
house in San Francisco; Theodore, now of 
the firm of Eichwede, Muhr & Co., grocers 
of this city. All the children have had the 
advantages of a good education. Two maternal 
uncles of the children, Ferdinand and Her- 
man Muller, came to America in 1857, and 
served in the Union army during the civil 
war. Ferdinand was promoted as a Lieu- 
tenant for bravery in the field, and was se- 
verely wounded at the battle of Cro3s Keys. 
Herman was an orderly with General Kear- 
ny. Both are residents of New York city. 
With his literary tastes and deep political 
convictions, Dr. Muhr has recently accepted 
the editorship of the widely circulated Ger- 
man weekly, the Oakland Journal^ corre- 
sponding, too, for the Nord California 
Journal^ Sacramento; the California Trib- 
une^ Fresno; the San Jose Herald; the 
Freie Blatter^ Tacoma and Portland, Ore- 
gon. His sharp causeries are widely copied 
in many other papers. 

DWIN O. COCHRANE, D. D. S., 

whose office is situated at No. 850 Mar- 
ket street, San Francisco, has been a 
resident of California since 1874, and has 
been engaged in the practice of dentistry 




82 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANGItiOO : 



since 1869. He was born in New Orleans, 
LouJBiana, in 1848, and received his early 
education in the public schools of that city, 
graduating from the high school in 1866. 
He commenced the study of his profession 
in the office of Dr. J. W. Allen, entering 
that office as a student, but having an inter- 
est in the practice before he left for New 
York in 1870. He remained at that place 
and vicinity for the next four years, engaged 
in the practice of dentistry. In 1874 he 
came to the Pacific coast, and has since been 
continuously engaged in dental practice in 
San Francisco since 1876 in his present 
office. On the organization of the dental de- 
partment of the University of California, he 
was appointed Demonstrator of Mechanical 
Dentistry, and in 1884 was appointed Clinical 
Professor of Mechanical Dentistry, now called 
prosthetic dentistry. This position he re- 
signed in 1886, his private engagements not 
allowing him to hold that position longer. 

Dr. Cochrane's family are among the early 
settlers of this country. His father was a 
native of Kentucky, and his mother of New 
York. His father was for many years a well- 
known business man of New Orleans. 



<■> » i; 



'i'^i^ 



l» ♦•» 




,RS. SxVRAH E. HENSUAW, the 
subject of this sketch, was born in 
Connecticut, a descendant in the 
fourth generation of President Jonathan Ed- 
wards, and is a grandaughterof Colonel Daniel 
Tyler, the Adjutant of Colonel Israel Put- 
nam of Bunker Hill. Her grandmother was 
the daughter of Timothy Edwards, the eldest 
son of Jonathan and the uncle of Aaron 
Burr. General Daniel Tyler, a son of the 
Revolutionary Colonel Daniel and the uncle of 
Mrs. Ilenshaw, is well known in the history 
of the country. 



Hi was in the regular army during most 
of his mature life, and served with distinc- 
tion throughout the civil war. After the 
war he was entrusted by the United States 
Government with important commissions 
abroad, and finally retiring from active ser- 
vice discovered important iron deposits in 
Alabama, founded the town of Anniston, 
established iron foundries and became largely 
interested in railroad enterprises. His home 
was at Red Bank, New Jersey, where he died 
a few years since, aged over eighty. His 
nephew. General Robert O. Tyler, was on 
General Sheridan's staff throughout the civil 
war, and earned a nanie scarcely less distin- 
guished. He died from effect of wounds 
received in battle, about the end of the strife. 
Mrs. Henshaw also rendered valuable service 
to the cause of the Union during that mem- 
orable period as Secretary of the North- 
western Sanitary Commission in Chicago. 
She contributed to the literature of that val- 
uable succursal department of the great strife 
for national existence, — a work entitled "Our 
Branch and its Tributaries." She has occa- 
sionally written for the Century and Lippin- 
cott Magazines. Since her arrival in Oakland 
in 1873, she has been actively interested in 
the benevolent societies of the city, being 
for many years Secretary of the Ladies' Re- 
lief Society, and retiring therefrom only to 
devote herself to charities needing greater 
efforts for their success. She was also the 
first secretary of the Fabiola Hospital. 

Mrs. Henshaw married early in life, Edward 
C. Henshaw, who was born in Vermont in 
1825, a relative of Bishop Henshaw, of Rhode 
Island, and of David R. Ilenshaw, at one 
time Secretary of the Navy. The first Ameri- 
can Henshaws were two orphan lads sent out 
from England by their guardian with the 
view of thus more easily diverting their in- 
heritance to his own use. They grew to man- 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR 8UB(IRB8. 



83 



hood in Boston, where David died without 
issue. Joshua there married and lived to an 
advanced age, and from him are descended 
the Henshaws of this country. A branch .of 
the family settled in Middletown, Connecticut, 
before the Revolution, and rendered val- 
uable aid to the Continental army, by secur- 
ing stores, provisions, etc., for the troops 
without compensation. For this service 
he was after the war honored by a visit 
from General Washington at his home near 
Middletown, and the mementos of that visit 
are still preserved by the family. It was 
from this branch that Edward C. Eenshaw 
descended. He became a midshipman iu the 
United States navj, serving under Captain 
Tatnall, who afterward becanie a Commodore 
in the Confederate service. Withdrawing 
from the navy, Mr. Heushaw went West with 
his wife, and was engaged in business for 
some twelve or fifteen years, chiefly in Ottawa, 
Illinois. There were born to them the chil- 
dren hereafter named. At the outbreak of 
the Rebellion Mr. Henshaw organized and 
equipped an artillery company, largely at his 
own private cost, and oflFered it to the State. 
fle was commissioned its Captain by Gov- 
ernor Yates, and served throughout the war. 
After the war he entered the regular army, 
and served seven years more, dying finally in 
service at Fort McKavitt, Texas, in 1872. 
One of his brothers. Major John Cory Hen- 
shaw, served through the Seminole war, and 
later through the Rebellion. 

The living children of Mrs. Sarah E. 
Henshaw are four sons, all now of mature 
years: 

Edwin T. Henshaw, who came to Cali- 
fornia before the other members of the family. 
He is now a member of the firm of Taylor, 
Henshaw & Taylor, prosperous lumber mer- 
chants of this city. His wife, by birth. May 
Ranlett, a native of Maine, was reared in 



California from childhood. They have two 
children. 

Frederick W. Henshaw graduated from 
the University of California, and early entered 
the profession of the law, was elected Police 
Judge of the city for three terms, and from 
thatoflice was elected to one of the Judge- 
ships of the Superior Court of the county, 
a position he yet fills. He married Grace S. 
Tubbs, a daughter of Hiram Tubbs, and has 
two children. 

William G. is vice- President of the 
Union Savings Bank, of Oakland, and is 
largely interested in real estate. He married 
Kitty Tubbs, also a daughter of Hiram 
Tubbs, and has two children. 

Tyler Henshaw, the youngest son, as 
yet unmarried, is secretary of the H. C. 
Gregory Company, manufacturers and agents 
of mining and milling machinery in San 
Francisco. 




P. P. VAN DEN BERGH, M. D., who 
has retired from active practice, is one 
^ of the pioneer physicians of California, 
having been in practice in this State since 
1850, most of the time in San Francisco. 
He was born in A.ix-la-Chapelle, on the 
Rhine, Germany, in 1815, soon after the 
defeat of Napoleon at Waterloo, the son of 
Casper Lietrio Van den Bergh, who was also 
a physician, and practiced for many years in 
Germany and France. He was an army phy- 
sician with Napoleon I, and in the French 
invasion to Moscow lost his nose and upper 
lip. 

The subject of this sketch received his 
early education in the gymnasium of his na- 
tive city, and later entered the University of 
Bonn, where he graduated in 1834, receiving 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He at 
once went to Brussels, where for three years 



84 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



he was engaged in medical practice. He was 
then commissioned as Assistant Surgeon to 
the British army in the East India service, 
but through the influence of a medical friend 
he resigned his commission and remained in 
the hospital service in England for three 
years. In 1839 he came to the United 
States, where he engaged in the practice of 
medicine in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and 
later in Richland county, Ohio. In 1847 
lie removed to Iowa, where he was among the 
early settlers, and where he was engaged in 
his profession until 1850. In the 'spring of 
that year he crossed the plains to California, 
arriving in August, and after a short time 
devoted to merchandising, Dr. Van den 
Rergh again took up the practice of medicine, 
which he continued until twelve years ago, 
when he was disabled by an accident in which 
his hip was crushed. Since that time he has 
devoted himself to real estate operations and 
building. 

The Doctor has been three times married, 
and has had twenty-four children, ten of whom 
are now living. He has had for many years an 
extensive practice, and is one of the very few 
men yet living, who was in practice in this 
State in 1850. 

jAJOR MOSES G. COBB, a promi- 
nent lawyer of San Francisco, was 
born in Princeton, Worcester county, 
Massachusetts, November 24, 1820, and is 
the son of New England parents; the father, 
Elias II. Cobb, was a carriage manufacturer 
in Princeton; the mother's maiden name was 
Rebecca Boylston. Our subject received his 
education in New England, and was graduated 
from Harvard University in 1843; he then 
studied law, graduating at the law school of 
Harvard University in 1846. He then en- 




gaged in the practice of law in Boston, from 
1846 to 1861, the legal firm being Dana & 
Cobb. 

At an early day Major Cobb took an 
active interest in military affairs, and in 1853 
organized the Boston Light Artillery, which 
was under his command until 1858. Upon 
the breaking out of the Rebellion he raised a 
new company known as Cobb's Battery, went 
to the front and served in the array of the 
Potomac. In the winter of 1861 he resigned 
the command of this battery and came to the 
Pacific coast, located at Stockton and engaged 
in the practice of his profession there till 
1867, when he came to San Francisco, and for 
the past twenty- three years he has been a 
successful practitioner in the courts of the 
city and State. At the outset of the paper 
he was connected with the San Francisco Law 
Journal^ holding the position of editor on 
pleading; his extensive experience and natural 
ability fitted him well for this work, which 
he conducted for quite a while. 

While a resident of Stockton Major Cobb 
was a member of the School Board ; he raised 
the Stockton Light Battery, and held the 
command for two years, until he left that city. 
While living in his native State he was a 
member of the Governor's Council for a term 
of years. He was commander of the An- 
cient Honorable Artillery Corps in 1856, — a 
branch of the corps of the same name there 
and now established in London, and founded 
in Boston in 1836. 

Politically the Major is identified with 
the Republican party. He was formerly a 
Whig, afterward a Douglas Democrat. For 
a great many years he has been a prominent 
meml>er of the Masonic Order; he is a Knight 
Templar, and also belongs to the Boston En- 
campment, Boston, Masbachusetts, I. O. O. F., 
and Olive Branch Lodge, at Charlestown, 
Massachusetts. 



IT8 CITISa AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



85 



• : 3 "C 




UDGE A. C. ADAMS is not only an 
honored member of the San Francisco 
bar and the Society of California Pio- 
neers, but is also a pioneer of the Columbian 
Exposition city. He is a native of the 
"Keystone" State, and was born in 1824. 
His parents removed to Illinois in 1836, and 
located just outside of Chicagb, at Downer's 
Grove, one of the earliest settlements. He 
attended school there during his boyhood, 
and then returned to his native State and en- 
tered the Franklin Institute, where he took 
a four years' course. He read law in Chi- 
cago with Messrs. Spring and Goodrich, who 
for many years were leading members of the 
bar of Illinois. He was admitted to the bar 
in 1848. 

The discovery of gold in California the 
following year, which attracted the notice of 
the whole country, determined him in his 
future course; he came to the Pacific coast 
early in 1850, making the trip across the 
plains, and for several years was engaged in 
mining and trading. He then returned to 
the practice of his profession, and in 1869 
he was appointed District Judge of the 
Eleventh Judicial District, consisting of 
Calaveras, Amador and El Dorado counties. 
At the expiration of his term of office, he 
received the nomination, and was reelected 
for the ensuing term of six years. At the 
close of this term he came to San Francisco, 
and has since been successfully engaged in 
the practice of law in this city. While de- 
voting a great portion of his time to general 
civil practice,' he has been prominently iden- 
tified with litigation connected with the 
swamp land reclamation districts of the 
State. 

Judge Adams is reserved and thoughtful 
iu his manner, painstaking and deliberate in 
his pleading and decisions, and there are few 



members of the profession whose opinions 
are entitled to greater respect. 

Charles A. Adams, son of Judge Adams, 
is associated with his father in practice. He 
is a native of California, and has been reared 
and educated there. When he was a pupil 
in the high school he was authority on par- 
liamentary law; afterwards he entered the 
Hastings College of Law, and is the young- 
est graduate of that institution. He was 
admitted to the bar in January, 1889. 

Charles A. Adams is prominently identi- 
fied with the Ancient Order of Foresters, 
and is Past Chief Ranger of the order; he is 
also connected with many other fraternal or- 
ganizations. 





R. CALVIN MOORE, deceased, whose 
office was for many years in St. Ann's 
building, San Fjancisco, was a resident 
of California from 1871, and was engaged in 
the practice of dentistry from early manhood, 
first in the State of Maine, and later in this 
State. He was born in York county, Maine, 
in 1824, and his early education was received 
in the public schools of that State. He 
commenced the study of dentistry in Boston, 
Massachusetts, at about the ago of twenty 
years, when dentistry in America was in an 
infant state of development. The Doctor 
was present at the second operation in which 
ether was administered in dental practice. 
After completing the study of his profession, 
he located in his native State in Belfast until 
1871, when he came to California. Dr. 
Moore has been recognized for the past 
eighteen years as one of the leading dentists 
of the Pacific coast. He died March 5, 
1890, and has been succeeded in his office 
and practice by his step-son, Dr. C. W. 
Locke, who was his assistant for twelve years. 



8G 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800: 



Dr. Locke was born in Belfast, Maine, in 
1854, and received his early education in the 
public schools of that city, and later attended 
Heald's Business College in San Francisco, 
where he graduated in 1874. In 1876 he 
commenced the study of dentistry, under the 
preceptorship of Dr. Moore, with whom he 
remained until 1882, since which time he 
has been engaged in his present profession. 



- M » •! 



2 - i"t - 2 



l> M « 




^OIIN D. POWELL, D. D. S., who 
occupied rooms 43-44-46, Academy of 
Sciences building, was born in Ilealds- 
burg, Sonoma county, California, in 1862. 
He received his early education in the public 
schools of Henldsburg, and later attended for 
three years the Santa Clara College, and for 
two years the Lytton Springs College. In 
1883 he commenced the study of dentistry, 
under the preceptorship of Dr. E. W. Biddle, 
a dentist of Healdsburg, with whom he re- 
mained two years. He then went East and 
entered the Philadelphia Dental College, 
where he graduated in 1885. He at once 
entered into the practice of his profession in 
Philadelphia, where he remained several 
years. In 1889 lie returned to San Fran- 
ciaco, and has since that time been engaged 
in his profession. 



* 



^ 




ON. FRANK J. MOFFITT.— As a 
rule, when meeting one who has made 
a name for himself in either political or 
commercial life, we expect to find a man who 
has felt the weight of years, and gathers the 
successes of his position from the hard ex- 
periences of the past. This is, however, not 
always the case; and especially here in Cali- 
fornia are met admirable instances of the 



welding together of the ardor and enterprise 
of youth with the wisdom and ability so often 
relegated to age. A better example of this 
fact can hardly be found than is presented in 
the case of Hon. Frank J. MoflRtt, the editor 
and one of the proprietors of the Oakland 
Daily Times, whose life counted by events 
and successes would seem to require twice the 
number of years it has contained. 

Mr. MofBtt is a native of Oakland, born 
October 16, 1859, and is the typical and rep- 
resentative native son of the Golden State. 
In 1879, when less than twenty years of asre, 
he began his newspaper experience, estab- 
lishing in that year the East Oakland News, 
In a short time he sold out, and going down 
to Newark began the Newark Enterpriaey 
conducting it with success for some time. 
Later he took a position on the reportorial 
staff of the San Francisco Examiner^ doing 
effective work for that paper. In 1884, Mr. 
Moffitt established the Oakland Enquirer^ 
carrying it on until he sold out to F. A. 
Leach and resumed work upon the Examiner. 
Finally, in 1889, he purchased the Oakland 
Daily Thnea, the only morning paper in the 
city. When he took it in hand three report- 
ers only were employed upon it, and its edi- 
tion was run off on a single cylinder Cottrell 
press. To-day ten reporters are kept busily 
employed and a double-cylinder Hoe press 
and patent folding outfit does not meet the 
requirements of the popular paper, and a 
perfecting press will soon supplant it. The 
circulation has been more than quadrupled, 
and the paper is regarded with pride by the 
better and business element of the city for its 
bold and fearless stand in regard to moral 
matters and against monopoly or jobbery. 
The Times is riglitly considered one of the 
brightest and breeziest journals on the coast, 
clean and pure, yet witty and readable; 
severe when occasion warrants, yet never 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



87 



malicious. A very attractive feature is the 
suburban work, covering as it does news from 
the dozen or so small hamlets tributary to 
Oakland. But, notwithstanding the press of 
his editorial and other duties, Mr. Moffitt has 
found time always to take an active interest 
in local and general politics. He is a Dem- 
ocrat of pronounced views, but liberal in car- 
rying them out, being always ready to help 
the best cause. It was mainly through his 
instrumentality that the new city charter was 
successfully carried in 1889 through the Leg- 
islature, a matter of general congratulation, 
although Mr. Moflitt was not congratulated 
for this piece of work by the workers of his 
party. When president of the Oakland Board 
of Trade, he took the lead in diffusing in- 
formation in regard to the unequaled attrac- 
tions of the city, and in forwarding many 
public works of a beneficial nature. Mr. 
Moffitt has served his county also in more 
than one public capacity. He was deputy 
Sheriff of Alameda county during the shriev- 
alty of Mr. McCleverty, and has twice been 
returned to Sacramento, first in 1885 as a 
member of the Assembly, and secondly in 
1887 to the State Senate, being the youngest 
member of this house at the time, and one of 
the youngest ever in attendance. During 
these years he proved his fitness for legisla- 
tive work, promoting actively many good 
measures and watching well the interests of 
his constituents. As a speaker he is very ef- 
fective, and is a power in the conventions, all 
of which he attends, and is now on all the 
central committees of his party in the State, 
city and county. It is the general feeling 
that other and more honorable, if not more 
responsible, offices than those he has so far 
held lies before him in the future should be 
care to aspire, but as it is he is regarded as a 
coming man in his party. 

He i8 a member of Oakland Parlor, No. 




50, N. S. G. W., and many other organiza- 
tions. 

Mr. Moffitt is married and has a son. 

S. HARLOW.— No brighter record 
can be made than to have per- 
^ formed honestly and diligently the 
duty of the hour, no matter what the circum- 
stances of the case. To have done so all life 
through is the remark of a reliable and trusted 
citizen, and he is worthy of our highest re- 
gard and truest respect. As such a on^ par 
excellence we cite the name of W. S. Harlow, 
the under-Sheriff of Alameda county, for the 
past seventeen years connected with that of- 
fice, and previously a journalist of eminence. 

Mr. Harlow was born at Nantucket, Mass- 
achusetts, February 2, 1838, the family re- 
moving to Troy the following year. His 
father, James Harlow, came to California in 
1849, being followed a year later by his wife, 
and the sons being left at school to complete 
their education. W. S. Harlow received his 
education first in the public schools of Troy, 
and later at a boarding school at the East 
Green bush and Schodac Academy near Al- 
bany. Ill the fall of 1852, he with his three 
brothers, set out for the voyage; around Cape 
Horn to join their parents in California. The 
trip was made on the ship George Riynes, 
and is looked back to with many pleasant 
memories. They reached San Francisco in 
1853, and Mr. Harlow became assistant to his 
father in the mercantile business then carried 
on by him in San Francisco. In 1857 they 
removed to Oroville, Butte county, and the 
succeedinsj four years were spent in the mines 
in that vicinity. His father died in San 
Francisco in 1883, but his mother is still alive 
at a good old age. 

Since 1870 Mr. Harlow has been engaged 



88 



THB BAT OF SAUT FRANCIbCO: 



in journalism, and in that year began his per- 
manent residence in Oakland: wetindhim then 
in connection with the Oakland Transcript 
in an editorial capacity, and later on the News^ 
of which he had charge of the local depart- 
ment. One day in November, 1875, he was 
sitting in the court-house taking a report of 
a case, when Harry Morse, who was then the 
Sheriff of Alameda County, proposed to him 
to become his under-Sheriff. After some hes- 
itation he took the position, and since then 
has been constantly in the office, and practi- 
cally in charge of all its affairs. Mr. Harlow 
is now the oldest Sheriff officer in California, 
with the single exception of Thomas Cun- 
ningham, Sheriff of San Joaquin county. He 
has known many exciting times and stirring 
episodes, being often in trying and perilous 
circumstances, but always prompt, energetic 
and successful. Reference to some of the 
most famous incidents will be found else- 
where in connection with the criminal history 
of this section, Alameda, Santa Clara and 
San Joaquin counties being the haunts and 
scenes of operations of the Mexican and 
Spanish desperadoes, who were once numer- 
ous in California. As would be expected 
from his long experience in the office, Mr. 
Harlow is regarded as an authority upon pro- 
cedure and the management of hisoffice. His 
work, " Duties of Sheriffs and Constables," 
published by Summer, Whitney & Co., in 
1884, U the leading authority on the subject 
on this coast, and is in the hands of every 
lawyer. Mr. Harlow is also in constant re- 
ceipt of letters asking information on new 
points arising from all over the coast, even 
from judges. As is natural from his long 
continuancy with legal matters, Mr. Harlow 
is himself a thorough lawyer, and his admit- 
tance to practice in 1888 is but a proper trib- 
ute to his attainments. He is very popular, 
not alone with the legal profession, but with 



the general public, being regarded as an effi- 
cient, energetic and thoroughly reliable of- 
ficial, and of those engaging personal quali- 
ties that cannot fail of creating a favorable 
impression. He writes a good deal still for 
the press, utilizing such incidents as come in 
his way in his office — a work that is much 
appreciated by the press of the section. 

He is a member of the Athenian Club, and 
is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Harlow is married, and has had and 
lost one child — a daughter. Of his two 
brothers, one, J. C. Harlow, is State Printer 
of Nevada, an office he has held for three 
terms. The other, James E. Harlow, has 
been in the employment of Locke & Laven 
son of Sacramento for the past twenty years. 




DAM TRIBE DICKSON, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 322 Third street, has 
been a resident of California since 1886, 
and has been engaged in the practice of med- 
icine for the past twenty years. He wan born 
in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1845. His early 
education was recaived in the grammar 
schools of his native place, graduating in the 
high school of that city. He commenced 
the study of medicine in 1864 in the Univer- 
sity of Glasgow, where he graduate 1 in 1870, 
after a full course of six years, receiving the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He at once 
entered into the practice of medicine, which 
he continued in Scotland for three years. He 
was then engaged about three years in the 
New Zealand emigration service, having been 
appointed by the New Zealand Government, 
Surgeon, his business carrying him between 
New Zealand and Great Britain. Later he 
took a course and passed the necessary exam- 
ination at the Royal College of Physicians of 
Edinburgh, Scotland, receiving his diploma 




^ ^'^^^M, 



ITS CITIES AND TDEIR SUBURBS: 



89 




and becoming a member of that college. He 
then practiced for four years in Lancashire, 
England, and for several years again in Scot- 
land. Ill 1886 he removed to the United 
States, settling in California, where he has 
been engaged in the practice of his profession 
in San ^rancisco. He is the examining phy- 
sician for several benevolent societies in San 
Francisco. 

Dr. Dickson belongs to a family of physi- 
cians, there having been a nnmber of both 
his father's and his mother's side for several 
generations back. His grandfather was a 
surgeon in the royal navy for many years. 

ILBURN HILL LOGAN, Ph. G., 
M. D. — Although still but a young 
man, Dr. Logan has by his energy 
and ability already risen to a very high rank 
in that most laborious and taxing profession^ 
the meiical. He has had a busy life and a 
successful one, and the only wonder to the 
writer is, how he has managed to accomplish 
all he has during his years. 

Dr. Logan was born in the little village of 
Richview, Washington county, Illinois, Au- 
[ust 5, 1855, and is the son of J. I. and 
Jity J. (Livesay) Logan. His father is now 
^Mg at St. Helena, Napa county, in this 
j§me, where he is carrying on an extensive 
furniture business On another page will be 
found a full description of his most interest- 
iiig^ife. The family removed to Centralia, 
IIlitii9is, whore his father entered the business 
in which he is at present engaged. Here 
""^onng Logan attended common schools until 
he was nine years of age, when he came with 
his parents across the plains to California, 
ispeading six months on the journey and visit- 
ing Salt Lake City and all points of interest, 
finally reaching this State in August, 1864. 

89 



After remaining a short time at Santa Clara, 
the family removed to Oakland and there 
Milburn attended school for two terms. Here 
his father met with severe financial reverses, 
being robbed of nearly all he possessed, and 
after remaining a year they went to Napa 
county, locating at St. Helena, and taking a 
small farm on the outskirts of the town, 
known later as Logan's Addition to St. 
Helena. Here Milburn attended grammar 
and private schools until 1871, spending his 
vacations and times of leisure in working for 
his father and brother at carpentry, building, 
etc. In 1873 and 1874 he took private 
instructions from Dr. C. W. Hughes, now 
deceased, in physics, hygiene and physiology, 
and from J. P. Dinsmore, M. D., now also 
deceased, in the principles and practice of 
homeopathy. In 1876 he entered the Univer- 
sity of California, College of Chemistry, class 
of 1879. After two years' attendance there, 
during a vacation, he temporarily lost his 
eye-sight by the premature explosion of a 
large can of blasting powder. This neces- 
sitated his ceasing study for nearly two years, 
and largely determined his future course. 
After so long an absence from his class, and 
also wishing to begin life in earnest and be 
independent, he abandoned the idea of com 
pleting at that time his course at the Univer- 
sity, and entered the California Medical Col- 
lege at Oakland, his university career giving 
an advantage of six months' time. In 1881 
he graduated with the highest honors at the 
head of a large class, there meeting the estim- 
able lady who afterward became his wife. 
After a few weeks' rest at home, he began 
practice in San Francisco, re entered the 
university and took the gold medal at grad- 
nation in the department of pharmacy, thus 
completing his university course. Shortly 
afterward he was elected Assistant Professor 
of Chemistry and Toxicology in the Medical 



•-•■ 



00 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



College. Two years later, in 1883, on tlie 
resignation of Professor S. P. Mead, A. B., 
he was promoted to the chair of Chemistry 
and Toxicology, which he still holds. 

Dr. Logan has practiced continnonsly in 
the city since July, 1881, when he first 
opened his office, building up rapidly a very 
large and lucrative practice, which necessitates 
the employment of several assistants. It 
should be stated that Dr. Logan is an eclectic 
physician conscientiously selecting or choos- 
ing from any or all schools the methods and 
treatment best adapted to particular cases. 
He has had great success in his practice, a 
result of his assiduous care and careful study 
of each case, not less than to skill and experi 
ence. Dr. Logan is well read, being a grad- 
uate of the Chautauqua Scientific and Liter- 
ary Circle, in addition to his scientific and 
professional courses. Notwithstanding his 
multifarious professional engagements he has 
yet found time to write two works, standards 
in their line, the one a system of urinology, 
and the other a system of organic chemistry, 
suited to the practical uses of the student. 
He has been a very prominent member of the 
Knights of Pythias since the early part of 
1878, having since then assisted in organiz- 
ing many lodges, and been a member of the 
Grand Lodge. He is also a member of the 
I. O. O. R, of the F. & A. M., a thirty-second- 
degree member of the Scottish Rite, and 
ninety-fifth-aegree member of the Egyptian 
Rite of Freemasonry, of the A. O. U. W., of 
the K. & L. of H., and of the K. of H. 

Dr. Logan has always had a fondness for 
study, paying great attention especially to 
numismatics, having formed a large and valu- 
able collection of coins, among them a coin or 
medal of the time of Moses, a most antique 
specimen. Archaaology is another of his 
favorite pursuits, coupled with kindred 
branches, and in mineralogy, conchology, etc , 



he has been an ardent collector. He has also 
a fine collection of petrifactions. He has 
traveled extensively throughout Europe and 
the British Isles, spending considerable time 
in study and observation, visiting the famous 
hospitals and seats of learning, especially at 
Edinburgh, London, Berlin, Vienna, Paris, 
Italy, as well as other parts. 

Dr. Logan was married May 30, 1883, to 
Miss Leta A., daughter of Mr. and Mrs. H. 
M. Rosekrans, who are of old Knickerbocker 
stock. The ceremony was performed by 
Rev. Dr. N. L. Rowell, at the Rosekrans 
residence in San Francisco, in the presence ot 
a large number of the friends of both parties. 
They have now one son, Milburn Homer, 
four years and a half old. Dr. Logan^s 
office is centrally located at 101 Grant ave- 
nue, corner of Geary. His residence is at 
627 Webster street, near Hayes. 

We have entered somewhat more folly into 
his biography than is customary for the 
reason that the history of Dr. Logan is of 
great value, especially to the young, as show- 
ing what may be accomplishel, even at an 
early age, by energy and application, when 
combined with natural talent. 



•■> »t ) 



>*H| 



I* M l 




flTO H. HUND, M. D., whose office is 
at No. 716 Howard street, residence at 
1634 Golden Gate avenue, San Fran- 
cisco, has been a resident of California since 
1881, and engaged in the practice of medicine 
since 1880. He was born in Homberg, 
Hessen-Cassel, Germany, in 1857, receiving 
his early education in the gymnasium of that 
city. In 1871 he came to the United States 
and settled in Now York, where he commenced 
the study of pharmacy, graduating in 1877 
at the College of Pharmacy of the city of 
New York. He then commenced the study 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



91 



of medicine nnder the preceptorship of his 
uncle, Dr. John Friedrich, of that city. In 
1877 he entered the medical department of 
the University of New York, at which he 
graduated in 1880, after a full course of three 
years, receiving the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. Dr. Hund at once entered into 
the practice of medicine as assistant to his 
uncle, Dr. Friedrich, for one year, and visit- 
ing at the same time the clinics of the hos- 
pitals. In 1881 he came to California, where 
he has since been engaged in San Francisco 
in the active practice of his profession. 
In 1887 he went to New York, and passed 
throuijh a ct)ur6e at the Post-Graduate 
School of Medicine, receiving the diploma of 
that institution. 

Dr. Hund's father was a clergyman of the 
Lutheran church, and was also professor at 
the Seminary of Homberg. A number of 
the Doctor's uncles and immediate ancestors 
were members of the medical and other pro- 
fessions. The record of the family extends 
back to the ninth century; the family up to 
the last generations having been prominent 
land-owners in that part of Germany, and 
since then professional men. His uncle. Dr. 
Friedrich, of New York, under whose care Dr. 
Hund and his brother were brought up after 
the deatlL of their father, is a well-known 
physician, having practiced in New York for 
over thirty years. 




^ETERWILHELMPOULSON, COUNT 
FAGERSTJERNA, M. D., Ph. D., 
Captain of Infantry, and First Lieuten- 
ant of Artillery, and General-in-chief for the 
Order of the Golden Cross, was born at 
Copenhagen, Denmark, in 1841. His mother's 
family was sent to Norway from Germany, 
by Dr. Martin Luther, as Lutheran priests, to 



carry out his reformation, and continued a 
line of priests for more than 300 years. His 
father's family is of old Swedish lineage, 
the Counts Fagerstjerna. Sven Nelson 
Fagferstjerna was governorofSkaane, Sweden, 
and his son, Count Paul Svenson Fagerstjerna, 
married a la ly from Halland, Sweden, and 
emigrated to Denmark, . where he bought 
large estates, but at his death left the children 
as minors. The Countess, a very beautiful 
woman, married again, and the children were 
sent out in the world. 

The Doctor's father, Count Ole Ponlson- 
Fagerstjerna, received a military education, 
and became a distinguished engineer, archi- 
tect and inventor, and a well-known manager 
of large manufactories and enterprises. 
When Count Peter Wilhelm was five years 
old he was made a pupil of the Royal Mili- 
tary School, where he remained to his eleventh 
year, when his mother died, and he was 
transferred to the Royal College of Literary 
Education, and graduated there when fifteen 
years old. About a year later he entered the 
Royal Military Academy of Commands, and 
after the regular term passed examination as 
a brevetted Lieutenant in the army. Two 
yeirs later he entered the Royal Theological 
Seminary, and after three years' study, gradu- 
ated there with the first degree. He entered 
in the law department at the University of 
Copenhagen for about one year, but not being 
satisfied he changed over to the medical de- 
partment, and studied for three years, and 
was for two years a volunteer surgeon to the 
common hospital, and received the testimo- 
nium of the faculty. He entered then the 
Military High School of Artillery, at Copen- 
hagen, and after the regular course graduated 
there and received a commission as Lieuten- 
ant of Artillery. During the war with Ger- 
many he served in the army and received 
from the king the war medal. Being of ill- 



w 



THE BAN OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



health from excessive studies, the government 
granted him two years' leave- of -absence to go 
to the United States of America for military 
observations, at a period when the war be- 
tween the North and South was approaching 
its end. 

At the conclusion of the war he presented 
his medical credentials before the New York 
Medical Society, and after having passed 
examination was accorded a license and 
diploma to practice medicine and surgery. 
From New York he went, however, very 
soon to Council Bluiis, Iowa, where he was 
engaged in his profession for a short time, 
and returned to New York. There he entered 
the Homeopathic Medical College, and grad- 
uated and received its diploma in 1866. 

His health, however, did not improve, and 
he concluded to return home to Copenhagen, 
when he was recommended to try the climate 
of California. Accordingly he came on a sea 
voyage via Panama to San Francisco; but his 
healtli continued to be poor, and, his nerves 
prostrated, and his diseased condition threat- 
ening to become chronic, he wrote to the 
king of Denmark and requested his resigna- 
tion from active service in tie army. This 
was granted him with royal grace as a First- 
Lieutenant in the Artillery, and as a Captain 
of Infantry. At the same time he commenced 
a vigorous water-cure and sea bathing, and 
recovered slowly, and did considerable medi- 
cal practice; but as soon as the Union Pacific 
railroad went into operation with the Cen- 
tral Pacific railroad he crossed the continent 
and returned to Council Bluffs, Iowa. 

The changeable climate of Iowa proved to 
be more beneficial to him than the Pacific 
coast, and especially horseback riding. He 
improved gradually and the most lucrative 
practice socm greeted him. In 1874 a rail- 
road accident disabled his knee for a short 
time, and he took a long needed rest for a 



few months at Salt Lake City. There be did 
some practice, but devoted himself to lectur- 
ing at the Liberal Institute, and organized, 
February 14, the first club of the Liberal 
party, and became the founder of the political 
Liberals, who now controls Salt Lake City 
and Ogden, and the greatest part of Utah 
Territory. 

In 1876 he made a visit to California, 
where he had printed a dramatical work, 
^' Kay Lykke," in the Danish language, a 
play for which King Oscar II., of Sweden, 
sent him a complimentary letter. He also 
published two diplomatic works concerning 
the past and present Danish diplomacy; the 
Diplomacy of Germany and the Duchicb; and 
another, the Diplomacy of Scandinavia and 
Russia. Shortly after his return to Iowa, he 
attended the American Health College at 
Cincinnati and graduated, and received the 
diploma from the institution. 

In 1881, at a meeting of the National 
Convention of the American Institute of 
Home(»pathy, the Doctor was elected a dele- 
gate from the United States to the Interna- 
tional Convention held in London that year, 
but a sudden illness prevented him from leav- 
ing New York when the steamer sailed. In 
Iowa the Doctor bought two farms, with in- 
tention to build a sanitarium, but came to 
the conclusion that California could l)etter 
answer the purpose. Mistaken or not in his 
idea, he gave up practice at Council lilufFs 
and Omaha, where he previously had resigned 
his position as a County Physician, and came 
to Oakland, where in 1886 he bought four 
acres of land at Fruitvale, planted them with 
choice fruit-trees and built the Fruitvale 
Hospital for the treatment of mental, ner- 
vous and chronic diseases. The hospital had 
its severe drawbacks for want of proper help 
to assist the Doctor's effort, but can count 
some very successful cures. 



ITS ClTISa AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



93 



In 1888 he pabliehed a Beries of article? on 
mental philosophy and messages of a spirit- 
ual-religioas composition called the '< Light 
of Messiah." This work is now continued, 
and we be continued for abont two years. 

The year after he was created a Doctor of 
Philosophy (Ph. D.) by the S. S, University 
of Chicago, Illinois. 

The Doctor belongs to nnmerons secret 
societies, and to numerous medical societies, 
and we mention only a few prominent ones, 
as the American Institute of Homeopathy, 
Northwestern Academy of Medicine, Iowa 
Hahnemannian Association, California Ho- 
meopathic Medical State Society, and the In- 
ternational Hahnemannian Association, etc. 

The Doctor married Miss Alice Staples, of 
Elba, New York, and has by her a daughter 
named Deborah Fagerstjerna, who is the 
pride of the Countess. 

The Doctor is longing seriously to greet 
his native soil and take a rest at home, but 
does not think the moist and cold sea-climate 
can be endured for a long time; yet he hopes 
to make the trial. 

The Doctor is at present working in his 
San Francisco office, where he makes chronic 
diseases a specialty, and divides his time be- 
tween the hospital and his office and family 
practice. 




fABER, photographic artist. — The men- 
tion of this name introduces a familiar 
subject to the lovers of high art the 
world over, for there is no one who has not 
admired the fine results of his artistic skill, 
either in the faces of noted people or repre- 
sentations of the finest scenery in the world. 

Mr. Taber is a native of New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, and came here in search of 
gold in February, 1850. For three years he 



prosecuted mining, and returned to New 
England in 1854. There he studied pho- 
tography, and mastered all the minutisB of the 
profession. The atmosphere of New England 
lacks the purity of the heavens in California, 
and in 1864 Mr. Taber returned here, im- 
pressed with the belief that better results 
could be obtained than in any other climate. 
For several years he was the chief operator 
in the Bradley & Rulofson Photograph Gal- 
lery. In 1871 Mr. Taber established the 
"Taber Gallery" at No. 12 Montgomery 
street, a location at once central and easily 
reached from any section of the city. There 
his rooms have formed the most interesting 
and eagerly sought for feature of this city for 
tourists and those who are in search of the 
beautiful, or who desire to perpetuate their 
own features in the most enduring and ar- 
tistic style. From the opening of his gal- 
lery until now his business has constantly in- 
creased and to-day requires fourteen large 
rooms to accommodate all the departments of 
the magnificent business. 

Mr. Taber did not achieve his unprece- 
dented success at a single bound. First, he 
had to possess a natural gift not only for 
creating the highest artistic effects, but of so 
popularizing them as to make them sought 
after by the largest number. Then the 
closest personal application was demanded, 
and constant supervision over the minutest 
details of the operating departments. There 
was peculiar fitness in his artistic organiza- 
tion, and great executive ability, and these 
have been exercised from year to year. He 
has wasted no time or money on "new 
things" which were valueless, but all im- 
provements have been adopted by him, and 
very many are due to his own industry and 
investigation. To-day his name is well known 
in all the galleries of New York, Philadel- 
phia, Baltimore, Chicago and Boston; but 



04 



THtt BAY OF SAN FEAN CISCO: 



equally familiar is it in the leading galleries 
of London, Paris and Berlin. 

Mr. Taber has not gone in for specialties, 
e^^eept to make every piece of work bearing 
the imprint of "Taber" specially excellent- 
Nevertheless his ivorytype and porcelain 
miniatures receive very marked commenda- 
tion; and his crayon portraits are so emi- 
nently superior that they cause very many of 
the prominent people East to send commis- 
sions to him, and scarcely a tourist is satis- 
fied to return beyond the mountains without 
carrying a souvenir of his or her visit in the 
shape of a fine photograph ly Taber. 

Mr. Taber has been an industrious col- 
lector of views. These embrace every sub- 
ject of interest from Mexico to Alaska, and 
the bare negatives of the multitudes of scenes 
represent a fortune in value. There is no 
collection to compare with it in America, and 
the person who can obtain a fair number of 
these has a living illustration of most of the 
places of interest and persons of note on the 
Pacific slope. They have everything de- 
lineated with such trueness as was never 
done by scenic painter, and can visit the 
places photographed as often as they like. 

REDERICK J. HUND, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 759 Folsom street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of Cali- 
fornia since 1882, and engaged in the prac- 
tice of medicine since March 8, 1879. Born 
in Romberg, Hessen-Cassel, Germany, in 
1858, hie early education was received in the 
Latin schools of that city. lie came to the 
United States in 1872, remaining in New 
York with his uncle, Dr. John Frederick, and 
under his preceptorship commenced the study 
of medicine in 1874, continuing until he en- 
tered the medical department of the Univer- 




sity of New Y'ork city in 1877. He grad- 
uated at that institution in 1879, after a full 
course of two years, receiving his degree as 
Doctor of Medicine. Dr. Hund had already 
passed the examination as assistant pharma- 
cist before the Board of Pharmacy of New 
York city (1874), and commenced the prac- 
tice of medicine at College Point, Long 
Island, where he remained one year. During 
that time he became connected with the 
Northwestern Dispensary of New York city, 
returning to that place early in 1880. In 
1882 h^ came to California, where he has 
since been engaged in the general practice of 
his profession in San Francisco. Dr. Hund 
is a member of the San Francisco Medical 
Benevolent Society. 

His father, Henry Hund, who died in 
1864 in Horn berg, was a teacher in the semi- 
nary for the education of teachers in that 
city. Dr. Hund's ancestors have been a well 
known family of Hessia, and can trace their 
ancestors back to the ninth century, they 
having been landed proprietors until the last 
four generations, which have been engaged 
in professional life. One of Dr. Hunt's 
great-grand uncles on his mother's side was 
in the Hessian army, which fought with the 
British during our Revolutionary war, re- 
maining in the United States after the close 
of the war. 



M » » i; 



««-••• 




^HARLES PALMER CHESLEY, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 754 Howard 
street, San Francisco, has been a re«i- 
dent of California since April 2, 1850, and is 
therefore one of California's early pioneers. 
He has been engaged in the practice of medi- 
cine since 1870. He was born in Derry, 
New Hampshire, May 7, 1834, receiving his 
early education in the public schools of Dur- 
ham, New Hampshire. He left school and 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR 8UBUBB8. 



95 



his native State at the age of thirteen years. 
The next two years were passed at sea, and 
two years later he was employed in the man- 
ufacturing establishments at New Market 
and Dover, New Hampshire. In January, 
1849, having been struck by the gold fever, 
he started as cabin boy of the schooner Mary 
Simpson, which had been fitted out for Cali- 
fornia. The vessel was wrecked oflF Cape 
Eatteras, and was forced to return, being 
towed into New York harbor. Nothing 
daunted, he made another start in the latter 
part of that year to reach California by the 
Nicaragua route. Being short of funds Mr. 
Chesley was forced to remain in Nicaragua, 
where he earned the money to reach this 
State by assisting parties who were furnish- 
.ing mules to the passengers for the trip 
across. In March of the next year he con- 
tinued on his trip to California. He re- 
mained in San Francisco, and for eight years 
he was engaged in dental and commercial 
pursuits, and for the next seven years he was 
engaged in the study and practice of dentis- 
try. He commenced the study of medicine 
in 1865, under the preceptorship of Dr. L. 
C. Lane and the late Dr. Isaac Rowell, with 
whom he studied until 1869, when he entered 
the Toland Medical College, now the medi- 
cal Department of the University of Cali- 
fornia, where he took a two years' course of 
lectures and study. He then went East, and 
entered the medical department of the Uni- 
versity of Vermont, February 17, and was 
graduated June 14 of the same year. In 
1870 he returned to California, entering the 
Medical College of the Pacific, now the 
Cooper Medical College, in August, 1870, 
and graduated November 7, 1870, receiv- 
ing the degree as Doctor of Medicine from 
both of those universities. Mr. Chesley at 
once engaged in private practice, in which he 
has since continued. 



He is a member of the State Medical So- 
ciety of California, of the County Medical 
Society of San Francisco, and also of the 
National Medical Association, to which he 
was a delegate in 1871. Dr. Chesley is of 
New England and Penobscot Indian descent; 
his [grandfather, Thomas B. Waters, was a 
member of Washiugton's body guard during 
the Revolutionary war. During the war of 
1812 fonr uncles were engaged in the Amer- 
ican army, two were privateersmen, and two 
were killed during that war. Dr. Chesley is 
a member of the Masonic fraternity, Cali- 
fornia Lodge, No. 1, F. <fe A. M., California 
Chapter, No. 5, Royal Arch Masons, Cali- 
fornia Commandery, No. 1, Knights Tem- 
plar, Islam Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine of San Francisco, California, Odd Fel- 
lows Lodge, No. 1, California, of San Fran- 
cisco, and Golden Gate Encampment, No. 1, 
SanFrancisco ;a member of YerbaBuena Lodge 
Perfection, No. 6, of San Francisco, Yerba 
Buena Lodge, No. 4, Knights Rose Croix, San 
Francisco; also Godfrey de St. Omar Council 
No. 1, Knights Kadosh,San Francisco; also an 
active member of Grand Consistory of the An- 
cient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Free- 
masonry; is a life member of all the Masonic 
bodies to which he belongs, except the Grand 
Consistory, that not having a life member- 
ship. 





M|jURPHY, GRANT & COMPANY.— 
TrJOtt This firm is the largest and oldest 
wholesale dry-goods house on the 
Pacific Coast. It was organized in 1851 by 
Eugene Kelly, J. A. Donohoe, Daniel T. 
Murphy and Adam Grant, Mr. Grant being 
now .the only survivor of the original com- 
pany. 

They opened their business near the north- 
west corner of San some and Sacramento 



96 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANC I 800 1 



Streets. In 1862 Mr. Kelly retired from the 
business and engaged in banking in New 
York. Mr. Donohoe also retired from the 
business at the same time and started the 
Bank of Ralston & Co. The firm then be- 
came Murphy, Grant & Co., its members, 
Daniel T. Murphy, Adam Grant and Thomas 
Breeze. In 1863 John Dean entered the 
lirm, and it stood that way until 1864. On 
April 28, 1885, the last named gentle- 
man died, after an illness of only one day. 
This firm was re organized and new articles 
of co-partnership were drawn, admitting 
Joseph A. Ford, Daniel T. Murphy and 
Joseph D. Grant. 

On June 5 of the same year Mr. D. 
T. Murphy died in New York, and soon 
afterward a new company was formed, con- 
sisting of Adam Grant, Henry M. Murphy 
(of New York, and a brother of D. T. Mur- 
phy), Joseph A. Ford, Joseph D. Grant (son 
of Adam Grant), Daniel T. Murphy (son of 
D. T. Murphy, Sr.), the firm retaining its old 
name. Murphy, Grant & Co. In 1887 H. L. 
Whipple was admitted, and in 1889 D. T. 
Murphy retired. 

Mr. Adam Grant, so well and favorably 
known in connection with this houee and the 
mercantile afiairs of San Francisco, is a na- 
tive of Scotland. Mr. Ford was born in 
Maryland. Their present building, owned 
by Mr. Grant, was built in 1867. It is lo 
cated on the northeast corner of Sansome and 
Bush streets, is 137J feet square, four stories 
and a basement, and is one of the most sub- 
stantial buildings in the city. The greater 
portion of this immense building is filled 
with the stock of the firm, their goods find- 
ing a makert in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, 
Arizona, Nevada, the islands of the Pacific, 
and all over the Pacific slope. No firm on 
the coast has enjoyed so long a period of un- 
remitting prosperity or a higher reputation 



for honorable and liberal dealing. The mem- 
bers of this firm are men of tlie highest busi- 
ness ability and integrity, and richly deserve 
the high position they have attained in San 
Francisco and on the Pacific coast 



mm*' 




"2o t ii > 2 



S. HORAN, attorney, San Francisco, 
is a native of St. Louis, Missouri, 
^ where his parents wore early settlers, 
was reared there and came to California in 
1863. First he engaged in teaching at Fol- 
som, Sacramento county; then studied law 
in the office of C. G. W. French, later Chief 
Justice of Arizona, and was admitted to the 
bar in 1866. Three years later, in 1869, he 
was elected a Representative from Sacramento 
to the State Legislature, and served during 
the sessions of 1869-70. He was admitted 
to the bar of the Supreme Court in 1873, 
and was elected Judge of the Police Court 
in 1875, and since 1878 he has been engaged 
in the practice of his profession in San Fran- 
cisco. In his political views he is a Demo- 
crat, taking an active part in the councils of 
his party. He received the nomination for 
Judge of the Superior Court in 1890, but, 
owing to differences in the party, the whole 
ticket was defeated. He has been prominently 
identified with the militia of the State, serv- 
ing in the ranks, and by promotion was com- 
niissioned Captain and afterward Major, and 
in March, 1877, was appointed by Governor 
Irwin Brigadier General, Fourth Brigade, 
California National Guards. 

OUIS ZEISS, commission merchant and 
wholesale dealer in grain, potatoes, 
beans, peas, etc., at the southwest corner 
of Clay and Drumm streets, San Francisco, 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



97 



wa8 boru in Gam bach, near Frankfort on-tlie- 
Main, Germany, December 13, 1850, and at 
the age of seventeen years came to America, 
taking up his residence in San Francisco. He 
is the youngest of four children. His par- 
ents, Martin and Wilhelmina Zeiss, were both 
natives of Germany, and are now deceased. 

Mr. L. Zeiss landed in the city of San 
Francisco as a young boy, and could speak no 
English; but by dint of hard work, close 
study and economy he has accumulated a con- 
siderable amount of valuable city property. 
He is the owner of the southwest corner of 
Clay and Drumm streets, fifty feet fronting 
on Clay and sixty on Drumm street, and the 
building in which he conducts his business, 
besides valuable residence property on the 
southwest corner of Laguna street and Olive 
avenue, 30x100 feet, also 25x90 feet, run- 
ning through to Ellis street, with nice im- 
proved flats thereon. 

On his first arrival in this city Mr. Zeiss' 
business enteprise was that of butchering, 
which he carried on successfully for four 
years, and in 1872 he established himself in 
the commission business. His business quali- 
ficatioDR and shrewd manaorement have rend- 
ered him very successful in all his enterprises, 
and he now enjoys a good and growing trade 
which extends well into the interior of the 
State. In addition to this he is the general 
agent for the Pacific coast of " The Hilmer 
Chemical Works" at Petaluma, formerly in 
this city. He h s been identified with a 
nnmberof the growing industries of San Fran- 
cisco, and is therefore well-known in business 
circles. 

He was married in this city February 
7, 1875, to Miss Catharine Zimmerman, 
a native of Germany, and they have four 
children: Louis F., Otto J., Walter P. and 
Katie M. 

Socially Mr. SiCiss affiliates with Ivy 



Lodge, No. 1716, Knights of Honor, and 
has been one of its trustees for the past eight 
years; also he is a member of Court Zenith, 
No. 7474, A. O. F. of A. ; of the German 
Hospital Benevolent Association for the last 
eighteen years, and for the last twenty years 
of the Turn-Verein — all of San Francisco. 



— I M > | 



g - > i' t - 2 



i» — »i 




OBERT H. TAYLOR was born in the 
city of New York in the year 1822, 
his ancestors being of English descent. 
His father was a native of the *' Empire 
State," and his mother was born in Con- 
necticut. He grew to manhood in the State 
of his birth, received his literary education 
there, and had begun the study of law when 
the discovery of gold in California began to 
attract the attention of the civilized world; 
he determined to go to the Pacific coast, and 
made the journey by way of Cape Horn on 
the barque " Peytona," named for the famous 
race horse. It was expected that the voyage 
would be accomplished in four months, but 
it was prolonged to seven months, the date 
of their arrival in San Francisco being Au- 
gust 7, 1849. 

In March, 1850, Mr. Taylor went to Marys- 
ville, and established a newspaper there 
which he conducted for three years; thence 
he removed to Downieville, and was con- 
nected with the Recorder's office, having the 
active management of it. In the spring of 
1854 he was admitted to the bar, and en- 
gaged in the practice of his profession until 
1859; he was then elected District Judge of 
Sierra and Plumas counties, and at the ex- 
piration of his term of office he resumed 
the practice of law. In 1863 he went to 
Virginia City, and was successfully engaged 
in the practice of law there for a period of 
eighteen years. In 1868 he received the 



98 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



nomination for Judgeof the Supreme Court, 
but failed of the election, as the whole ticket 
was defeated. In July, 1881, he removed to 
San Francisco, and since that time he has 
given his whole attention to the interests 
and practice of his profession in the courts 
of the city and State. 

Judge Taylor is a Republican in his poli- 
tics, and active in the party counsels. He 
is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and 
is prominently identified with the I. O. O. 
F., having been the first Noble Grand in the 
State of California, namely, California Lodge, 
No. 1, which was instituted September 9, 
1849, just one year before the admission of 
California into the Union. 

.NDREW GEORGE BOOTH was born 
in New Hampshire in 1845, and re- 
ceived his education in New England; 
he attended Kimball Union Academy, Meri- 
den. New Hampshire, where he took a pre- 
paratory course, and completed his collegiate 
course at Amherst, Massachusetts. 

Having determined upon the profession of 
law as a calling for life, he enter d the office 
of the Hon. H. W. Parker, M. C, from New 
Hampshire. In the year 1869 he came to 
California, and entered the office of A. J. Gun- 
nison, where he finished his legal studies, and 
was admitted to the bar in 1870. For the 
past twenty years he has been a prominent 
member of the San Francisco bar, and has 
won a reputation for ability and zeal which he 
certainly deserves. 

Several years after his admission to the bar 
he formed a partnership with A. J. Gunnison. 
The firm of Gunnison & Booth are attorneys 
for the California Safe Deposit and Trust 
Company, one of the heaviest financial insti- 
tutions on the Pacific coast, and for several 




railroads and other co:nmercial corporations. 
Mr. Booth is prominently identified witli 
the Republican party, and is active in its 
counsels. He was elected to the State Legis- 
lature, and is a Trustee of the California 
State Library. He is often a delegate to 
municipal and State conventions, and is a 
forcible spaaker. In important politica! cam- 
paigns he takes an active part in '* stamping" 
the State, and does telling work in behalf of 
his party. In the Masonic order he occupies 
a high position, having been Commander of 
the Golden Gate Commandry, K. T. He 
held this position during the triumphal tour 
to the Triennial Conclave at Washington, 
D. C, in 1889. He has been Grand Chan- 
cellor of the Knights of Pythias, and has 
been connected with many other fraternal 
organizations. 



»»» «! 



|H«f^ 



|> < M 




OLOMON LEVY is the senior member 
of the firm of S. Levy & Co., general 
commission merchants and dealers in 
poultry, eggs, fruit, potatoes, butter, hides, 
California and Oregon produce of all kinds, 
218 and 220 Washington street, San Fran- 
cisco. This house was established in 1864, 
and is one of the representative commission 
firms of the coast doing a large and profit- 
able business in the northwest, besides hav- 
ing an extensive local trade. 

The gentleman whose name heads this 
sketch, was born near Carlsbad, Austria, in 
December, 1839, and when a young man, 
learned the tanner and currier's trade. He 
came to America in 1854. On his arriv^al in 
the city of New York he learned the jewel- 
er's trade, and later embarked in merchan- 
dising for a time. In the fall of 1856 he 
came to California, landing in San Francisco 
from the steamer Golden Age. Near the 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



99 



close of the same jear he located in Napa 
city, and was there nearly a year when he 
retnrned to San Francisco and engaged in 
the fruit trade some three years, then in ex- 
pressing until 1864, when he finally estab- 
lished himself in the commission business. 

In 1861 Mr. Levy and Miss Ester Robeck 
were joined in marriage in San Francisco- 
They have five children living, and have lost a 
daughter and a son. The names of those 
living are: Rosa, Sarah, Lenora, Josephina 
and Helena. 

Mr. Levy himself is the third of eight chil- 
dren in his father's family. His father died 
in 1886, and his mother is still living. 
Socially Mr. Levy is connected with several 
secret societies and benevolent associations. 
Among them may be mentioned the blue 
lodge, No. 216, F. & A. M.; San Francisco 
Chapter; Qermania Lodge, No. 116, 1. O. O. 
F.; California Lodge, No. 70, I. O. R. M.; 
Chebra B'nai Israel; and Chebra Ahoboth 
Zion, — all of San Fran-cisco. 



^^^^=-^0^ 




EORGE LEZINSKY, a prominent 
lawyer of San Francisco, is a native 
son, born in 1862. His father was one 
of the early settlers, coming here in 1850, 
and being one of the leading pioneer mer- 
chants. Mr. Lezinsky, after graduating 
from the San Francisco high school in 
1878, entered the law office of Dr. E. K. 
Taylor, now President of the San Francisco 
Bar Association, where he remained until 
1884, and during which time he took the 
regular law course at the Hastings College 
of Law, graduating in May, 1883, and was 
admitted to the bar August 25, 1883, the 
day upon which he became of age. In March, 
1884, and until 1889, he associated himself 
with Mr. D. M. Delmas and pursued a gen- 




eral civil practice, engaging in many impor- 
tant cases, among which were a large 
number of damage cases against the railroad 
and other corporations, and being uniformly 
successful in obtaining very large verdicts 
for his clients. He has taken an active in* 
terest as attorney for the State and its rep- 
resentatives in the matters of the tax cases 
against the railroad corporations. At all 
times he has taken an open and aggressive 
part in procuring an honest and fair admin- 
istration of justice through the courts and 
juries, and has accomplished many beneficial 
reforms for that purpose. 

RTHDR L. SOBEY, M. D., whose 
otfice is at No. 810 Twentieth street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1874, and has been engaged 
in the practice of medicine since 1872. He 
was born in Cornwall, England, in 1851, and 
received his early education in the private 
school of his neighborhood. Later he at- 
tended the Independent College at Taunton, 
England, and the Portland Grammar School 
at Plymouth. He commenced the study of 
medicine in October, 1868, in the St. Bar- 
tholomew's Hospital College, graduating at 
that institution in 1873, and becoming a 
member of the Royal College of Surgeons. 
After passing the examination for member- 
ship of this college in 1872, he was ap- 
pointed Surgeon in charge of the West 
London Hospital at Hammersmith, which 
he tilled for one year and a half. After a 
few months devoted to travel on the conti- 
nent of Europe and as much more time in 
travel in the United States, he came to Cali- 
fornia, locating in San Francisco, and 
devoting himself to the practice of his pro- 
fession. In 1873 he became a Licentiate of 



100 



THE BAT OF SAN FRAN 01800: 



the Royal College of Physicians, of London 
(L. R. C. P. L.) 

Dr. Sobey's father, Thomas Sobey, was a 
farmer of Cornwall, owning quite a large 
estate, and farming as hi^h as seven or eight 
hundred acres. The family are well known 
in Cornwall and Devonshire. Dr. Sobey is 
a member of the State Society of California, 
and of the County Medical Society of San 
Francisco. 




^R. C. S. HALEY, a leading physician 
and one of the most prominent educa- 
tors, net only on the Pacific coast, but 
equally well known among practical educators 
in Eastern States, is a son of New England. 

He was born in York county, Maine, Oc- 
tober 23, 1832. His parents were natives of 
New England, his father, John M. Haley, 
being a well-known physician. Dr. Haley 
attended school and received his early educa- 
tion in Maine, and his collegiate course in 
Georgia and New York. He engaged in 
teaching in the public schools when only 
seventeen years of age. He went South and 
taught in Georgia when it required the cour- 
age of one's convictions for a Yankee to en- 
gage in that profession in the Southern States, 
and remained there four years. 

The Doctor was a self-made man, as his 
parents could ill afford to pay his collegiate 
course; therefore, when he determined to 
take up the study of medicine, he carefully 
nursed his funds, laying aside his earnings 
from teaching till he had saved a sufficient 
sum to carry him through college, when he 
entered the Augusta Medical College of 
Georgia, in the year 1854; and in the follow- 
ing year he pursued his studies at the Atlanta 
Medical College, from which institution he 
received his diploma. 

Determined to avail himself of every op- 



portunity of gaining a thorough knowledge of 
his chosen profession, he went to New York 
city, taking a third course in the University 
Medical College, where, having daily access 
to the hospitals of this large city, he had a 
chance of studying diseases in every form, 
which proved a great benefit to him in his 
after career. 

After practicing medicine in Georgia for a 
year or two, he returned North, and for ten 
years successfully practiced his profession in 
Middlesex county. New Jersey. While 
there he was actively identified with educa- 
tional interests; was elected Superintendent 
of Public Schools, the law there requiring 
the superintendent to examine teach rs and 
grant certificates. Ele also took an active 
part in the city, county and State conventions. 

Dr. Halev came to the Pacific coast in 1865, 
and engaged in the practice of medicine, be- 
ing successfully and prominently identified 
with the profession in San Francisco and 
other portions of the State for fifteen years. 

In 1881 the Doctor was induced to identify 
himself with Heald's Business College, and 
since that time has been the active head of 
this noted commercial school, and one of its 
proprietors; and under his successful man- 
agement it has attained its present high 
standard. During the year 1889 Dr. Haley 
took a well-earned vacation. In April of 
that year he and his estimable wife started on 
a tour around the world, visiting England, 
France. Germany, Austria, India, Ceylon 
Island, China and Japan, giving much time 
and attention in observing the educational 
methods in all the countries visited; and in 
not one of them did he find a strictly com- 
mercial college. He returned much benefited 
by his tour, and is giving his co-educators 
the benefit of what he has observed and a<^ 
quired, his lectures being full of interest and 
instruction. He is also contributor to maga- 



IT8 0ITIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



101 



zinee and educational jonrnals. Dr. Haley 
is very genial, always approachable and is 
justly popular with the students of the insti- 
tution of which he is the head. 

Besides the college, he is largely identified 
in developing the farming interests of his 
adopted State, owning two raisin vineyards 
in Fresno county, also interested in stock- 
raising in Tulare county, where blooded 
horses, both for speed and draft, are produced 
for the market. While he holds landed in- 
terests in other portions of the State, San 
Joaquin valley is his favorite section, where 
in the main he is directing his energies, hav- 
ing great confidence in the future of this far- 
famed valley. 

' S * ^' 't ' S" * " 



[LADIMIR CHINDA is a general com- 
mission and shipping merchant, and 
wholesale dealer in domestic and for- 
eign fruits and produce, at 419 to 423 Wash- 
ington street, San Francisco. 





lOBERT STEVENSON LECKIE, As- 
sessor of Alameda county, was born in 
Dnnbarton, Scotland, February 23, 1854, 
a son of William and Margery (Stevenson) 
Leckie. 

Mr. Leckie, the subject of this sketch, 
arrived in New York city July 21, 1867. 
After remaining East about three years he 
came to California, and has resided in Ala- 
meda county ever since. From his arrival 
here until 1878 he was employed by A. G. 
Lawrie, searcher of records. Besides learning 
his business thoroughly, he gave his spare 
moments to the study of real-estate law and 
related topics. In 1878 he was appointed 
chief deputy by J. M. Dillon, City Assessor 
of Oakland, with whom he remained until 



1886. He then filled a like position in the 
County Assessor's office one year, when he 
resigned and went into the business of rec- 
ord searching on his own account, April 1, 

1889. W. G. Uawkett became a partner, 
but the firm of Leckie & Hawkett sold out 
tneir business October 2, 1890, to Joseph 
Lyons and F. L. Krause. 

Mr. Leckie was nominated by the county 
convention of the Republican party for the 
office of County Assessor September 16, 

1890, was elected in November by a plurality 
of 4,127, and entered on the discharge of his 
duties in January, 1891, and sold his busi- 
ness of searching records. He is considered 
specially well adapted to fill the office of 
County Assessor, being familiar with real- 
estate values throughout the city and county, 
his whole career since his arrival in Oakland 
being an admirable preparation for the' effi- 
cient discharge of its duties. He is at 
once alert, expeditious and careful, and has 
commanded the confidence of the community 
by his thoroughness as a searcher of records. 

He was married in Hartford, Connecticut, 
December 23, 1877, to Miss Annie R. Pur- 
ves, a daughter of John Purves, of that city. 

— 2 * ^"^ ' S" * " 




HANNING H. COOK, whose office is 
at 1826 Howard street, San Francisco, 
is a native of California, born in San 
Francisco, in 1863, the son of Elisha Cook, 
who was one of the prominent attorneys of 
this city, and who died in 1871, in the very 
zenith of success. He was one of the pio- 
neer settlers of California, arriving here 
early in January, 1850. Channing received 
his early education in the Urban school, of 
San Francisco, where he remained until the 
age of thirteen years. He then went to New 
Hampshire, where, for three years, he at- 



102 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANOI8C0: 



tended St. Paul's school at Concord. He 
then returned to California, and at the acre of 
sixteen years he passed the necessary exami- 
nations and entered the State University, 
which he attended for one year. Mr. Cook 
then went to Europe, and after traveling 
with his family about two years he returned 
to San Francisco, but on account of sickness 
was not able to resume his studies for a year 
and a half. In 1884 he entered the Cooper 
Medical College, where he graduated in 
1887, after a three years' course. He at 
once entered upon the practice of his pro- 
fession in San Francisco, which he has since 
continued. For two years Dr. Cook was 
assistant to the surgical clinic of the Cooper 
Medical College. He now holds the position 
of lecturer on anatomy and physiology at the 
Trinity School of San Francisco. 



'99^^ 



^^ 




DWARD CONSTANT ROBINSON, 
attorney, of Oakland, was born in Jack- 
son county, Oregon, February 6, 1855, 
a son of Ur. Jesse and Lavinia Jane (Con- 
stant) Robinson, both living in Solano county. 
His mother, who was born in Sangamon 
county, Illinois, March 12, 1834, a daughter 
•jf Isaac and Lucinda (Merriman) Constant, 
was married in Jackson county, Oregon, 
April 27, 1854. Isaac Constant, born in 
Clark county, Kentucky, April 5, 1809, a 
son of Thomas and Margery (Edmonson) 
Constant, was married in Sangamon county, 
Illinois, February 14, 1833, to Lucinda Mer- 
riman, born in Scott county, Kentucky, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1813, a daughter of Reuben and 
IJetsey (Bennett) Merriman. Isaac Constant 
came to Oregon in 1849; made a homestead 
entry; returned to Illinois; sold his property 
there; brought his family to Oregon in 1852. 
settling in Jackson county, where he died 



late in December, 1889, and his wife early in 
January, 1890. His father, Thomas Con- 
stant, born in Virginia August 14, 1769, 
moved to Kentucky, was married there June 
17, 1796, and settled in Clark county. 
About 1810 he moved to Xenia, Ohio, and 
thence in 1820 to Sangamon county, Illinois. 
They had five sons and eight daughters. 
Both died at Athens, Illinois, he on Decem- 
ber 14, 1840, and she on March 1, 1842. 
Reuben Merriman, the father-in-law of Isaac 
Constant, born in Connecticut September 6, 
1790, went to Kentucky in 1811, and return- 
ing was married May 4, 1812, when he went 
back to Kentucky, settling on Big Eagle 
creek, in Scott county, where he was engaged 
for several years in milling and coopering. 
In 1829 he moved to Sangamon county, Illi- 
nois, and settled in Williams township, 
where he died February 28, 1842, having 
survived his wife a single day. 

The paternal ancestry of the subject of this 
sketch is of New England descent for several 
generations, and is perhaps derived from 
William Robinson, one of the early colonists 
of Cambridge, said to be a kinsman of Rev. 
John, pastor of the Pilgrims in Leyden. Be 
that as it may, Eliakim Robinson, the great- 
grandfather of our subject, was a resident, 
and probaly a native, of Worcester county, 
Massachusetts. He was married about 1770, 
to Deborah Brown, a daughter of Bryant and 
Hephzibah (Chandler) Brown, of Thompson, 
Connecticut, the mother being a nacive of 
Pomfret, Connecticut, where she was born 
August 12, 1720. Eliakim and Deborah 
Robinson had seven sons, the oldest of whom, 
Samuel, lived and died in Worcester county, 
Massachusetts; Silas, Jesse and Solomon 
settled at Hartwick, Otsego county, New 
York; Moses and Aaron, twins, settled in 
Wyoming county. New York, and Bryant, 
the youngest, is supposed to have settled in 



ITS CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



103 



Rhode Island. Jesse, the third son, who 
was born in Webster, Worcester comity, 
Massachusetts, November 14, 1773, was 
married November 16, 1806, being then a 
widower with one son, to Abiah Lamed, 
born in Dudley, in the same county, Novem- 
ber 19, 1784, a daughter of John Lamed, by 
whom he had five sons and three daughters. 
He died in Hartwick, New York, January 6, 
1848, his wife surviving to March 21, 1866. 
One of her sisters, Lovina, by marriage Mrs. 
Head, was remarkably long-lived, having 
been born July 13, 1783, and living to Jan- 
nary 14, 1890. 

Jesse, the youngest but one of the chil- 
dren of Jesse and Abiah Robinson, and the 
father of the subject of this sketch, was born 
in Hartwick, New York, August 28, 1825, 
and received his early education there. At 
eighteen he entered the medical college at 
Woodstock, Vermont, at which, after a course 
of over three years, he was graduated, in 
1846. Then he moved to Lee county, Iowa, 
where he practiced until he left for Cali- 
fornia, arriving in Septeml>er, 1849. He 
engaged in mining, and between mining and 
prospecting at different points, some fifteen 
montlis had passed, when, on the organiza- 
tion of Shasta county, in December, 1850, 
he was elected its first County Clerk. In 
1851 he bought a farm in Scott Valley, Sis- 
kiyou county, on which he raised cattle 
chiefly; and in 1853 he moved into Southern 
Oregon, where he engaged in a more varied 
business, including a sawmill, gristmill and 
packing. He was married there, April 27, 
1854, to Lavinia Jane Constant. In 1861 
he was appointed Quartermaster of the 
First Oregon Cavalry, United States Volun- 
teers, which he accompanied in its various 
expeditions, and was mustered out Septem- 
ber 30, 1865, as Chief Quartermaster of the 
District of Boise, Idaho Territory. 



Returning to Oregon he settled in Jack- 
son county, where he engaged in farming until 
he moved to Oakland, in November, 1868, 
chiefly for the better education of his chil- 
dren. He was variously engaged here until 
April, 1881, when he entered upon the dis- 
charge of his duties as Assessor of Oakland 
township, to which he had been elected in 
1880, and which he held by re-elections until 
January 1, 1887. Before the close of the 
latter year he t6ok up his residence on his 
fruit ranch of 160 acres in Vaca valley, So- 
lano county, where he still resides His 
children are: Edward C, named at the head 
of this sketch; Chester Larncd, now a sales- 
man for C. M. Plum & Co. of San Francisco, 
married in 1881 to Annie Belle Prince, a 
native of Maine, and has one child, Jesse, 
who was born in 1886; Thomas M., the third 
son, who is the subject of the following 
sketch; and Maury, who is interested with 
Thomas M. in a ranch in Vaca valley, which 
he superintends. 

Edward C. Robinson completed his school 
days in the University of California. From 
1873 to 1878 he was in the coal business as 
collector, bookkeeper or foreman for F. Chap- 
pellet & Co., and for six months as half owner 
of their branch yard at Alameda, and finally 
as superintendent of their headquarters in 
this city. In 1878, his health being some- 
what impaired, he went to the mountains ar»d 
engaged in hydraulic mining, owning at one 
time a two-thirds interest in the Josephine 
mine in Josephine county, Oregon. Dispos- 
ing of his mining property he returned to 
Oakland, and was appointed in 1880 a 
deputy County Clerk, and detailed as Clerk 
of Department Two of the Superior Court of 
Alameda county. Finding an opportunity to 
study law, under the guidance of the late 
Henry Vrooman and afterward of the Hon. 
W. E. Greene, then and now one of the 



104 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCI800: 



Judges of the Superior Court, he was admit- 
ted to the bar of the Supreme Court of Cali- 
fornia, August 9, 1882. Retiring from the 
position of deputy County Clerk in January, 
1883, he entered upon the practice of law 
under the style of Robinson & De Golia 
(which partnership continued one year), and 
was appointed Attorney to the Public Ad- 
ministrator, and served as such to the close 
of 1886. From June 1, 1§87, to October 1, 
1888, he was one of the law firm of Smith & 
Robinson, otherwise practicing alone since 
January, 1884. In July, 1890, he was ap- 
pointed Town Attorney of Berkeley. He has 
successfully conducted some cases that have 
attracted attention on account of the principles 
involved, and has established an excellent 
stjinding among, and is now one of the 
prominent members of the bar of Alameda 
county. 

Mr. Robinson is Fast Master of Live Oak 
Lodge, No. 61, F. & A. M., and Past Grand 
of University Lodge, No. 144, L O. O. F. 
In June, 1888, he was elected Colonel of the 
Sons of Veterans. United States army, Di- 
vison of California, for the usual term of one 
year. 

He was married October 17, 1889, to Miss 
Sarah Theodora Merritt, who was born at 
Payson, Adams county, Illinois, March 27, 
1867, a daughter of James B. Merritt, now 
residing in Seminary Park, a suburb of this 
city. 

IIOMIS M. ROBINSON, Clerk of 
Department Two of the Superior Court 
of Alameda county, was born in Jack- 
son county, Oregon, February 28, 185S, a 
son of Dr. Jesse Robinson. (For parentage 
see preceding sketch of his brother.) In his 




eleventh year he came with his parents to Oak- 
land; he went first to Lafayette school, then 
to the high school, and afterward learned 
bookkeeping and commercial law under a 
pry^ate tutor. In November, 1877, he be- 
came a clerk in Oakland, and on July 29, 
1878, became bookkeeper of the Josephine 
Mining Company in Josephine county, Ore- 
gon, holding that position until 1880, when 
he returned to Oakland. In April, 1881, he 
was appointed deputy Assessor of Oakland 
township by his father, with whom he re 
mained until the close of his administration 
of that oHSce in January, 1887. He was then 
appointed deputy by Thomas Molloy, As- 
sessor of Alameda county, under whom Mr. 
Robinson held the position of chief deputy, 
with the marked acceptance of his principal 
and the public, until the close of his term in 
January, 1891, when he received the appoint- 
ment of deputy County Clerk, and was de- 
tailed as Clerk of the Superior Court, Depart- 
ment Two, which position he now tills. Mr. 
Robinson is an ideal public officer, being at 
once capable, diligent and careful, as well as 
courteous and obliging to all with whom his 
duties bring him in contact. 

He is a member of the Sons of Veterans., 
U. S. A., Divii^ion of California, and a Knight 
of Pythias. He is interested in a fruit ranch 
of 225 acres in Vaca Valley, Solano county, 
with his youngest brother, Maury, who man- 
ages the place. 

Mr. T. M. Robinson was married in Oak- 
land, July 27, 1887, to Miss Mary J. Havens, 
born in Essex county. New York, March 22, 
1864, a daughter of Judge H. H. and Eliza- 
beth H. (Shattuck) Havens, now living in 
this city. They have three children: Ethel, 
born September 6, 1888; Constant Havens, 
January 6, 1890, and Florence, June 23. 
1891. 



ITS 0ITIB8 AND THEIR 8UBURB8. 



105 




(OBERT EDGAR, attorney at law and 
deputy County Clerk of Alameda 
county, was born in Ireland in 1862? 
and when only a few months old was brought 
to America by his parents, Archibald and 
Ann Jane (Osborougli) Edgar. They came 
direct to Chica^^o in 1862, and thence to Cal- 
ifornia in 1864, settling in Berkeley, where 
they still reside. The father worked on 
ranches and on difierent jobs until 1869, 
when he was appointed foreman of the uni- 
versity grounds in Berkeley, which position 
he still holds. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Archibald Edgar are: Robert, the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Margaret, born in Illi- 
nois, now Mrs. John Stutt, of Berkeley; 
William James, Arthur and Samuel, born in 
Berkeley. William J. has been employed 
since about 1885 as a locomotive tireman on 
the route from Oakland to Lathrop; Arthur, 
similarly employed on the Berkeley Locab 
was married in November, 1889, to Annie 
Evarista Van Haslingen, a native of Cali- 
fornia. Samnel Edgar is also in the employ 
of the Southern Pacific at Oakland Point. 

Robert Edgar, educated first in tiie Peralta 
school and afterward in the Berkeley school, 
was graduated at the Oakland Business Col- 
lege, and made some preparatory study to 
enter the university, but concluded to go to 
earning something. At seventeen he went 
to work in a wooden ware factory in San 
Francisco, and January 1, 1880, entered a 
general store in Berkeley, remaining until 
18S5, serving as clerk and bookkeeper, the 
house being also the local agents for Wells, 
Fargo & Co.'s express. On the first Monday 
in January, 1885, he was appointed deputy 
Coanty Clerk and Auditor, and still retains 
that position. He has meanwhile studied 
law under the guidance of a competent 
attorney, and was admitted on examination 

40 




in November, 1889, to the bar of the Su- 
preme Court of California. Mr. Edgar is a 
member of Durant Lodge, No. 268, F. & 
A. M., and of Oakland Chapter, No. 36, 
R. A. M.; Oakland Council, No. 12; Royal 
and Select Masters; Oakland Lodge of Per- 
fection, No. 12, A. & A. S. R.; Gethsem 
ane Chapter, No. 5, Rose Croix; De 
Molay Council, No. 2, Knights of Kadosh, 
and California Consistorv, No. 1, of the 
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. He is 
also a member of the Reliance Athletic 
Club. 

UGENIO BIANCHI, an honored citi- 
zen and one of the best known teachers 
of mudic in San Francisco, was born in 
Italy. He was reared and educated in his 
native land. He came from a musical family, 
and his musical education was received under 
the instruction of the great composer, Pacini, 
and others. 

In 1856 he came to America, and in Mex- 
ico sang with all the great opera companies. 
The following year he located in San Fran- 
cisco, and since that time, for the past thirty- 
four years, has made this city his home. He 
introduced Italian opera here in 1857, and 
since then has sung with all the great opera 
companies, having taken part in tifty-eight 
different operas. He possessed in his day 
the most noted tenor voice on this coast, and 
one of the greatest in this country. For 
many years his time and attention have been 
given to teaching advanced pupils. 

Professor Bianchi's wife, Madam Bianchi, 
received her musical education in Milan, at 
the Conservatory. She commenced her 
musical education in Venice, under the able 
Prof. Devalle, and finishing at Milan under 
Lamperti, Sr. She is a well-known prima 
donna, who possessed a remarkable soprano 



106 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCI800: 




voice, and has taken part with her husband 
in all great operas. 

They are the parents of three children, 
two of whom are now dead. Their surviving 
child, a son, is now studying law, and hopes 
to make the same his profession some time 
in the future. 

M. MA(3PHEKS0N, of the firm of 
Macpherson & Kucker, commission 
merchants and wholesale dealers in 
California and Oregon produce, 215, 217 
and 219 Washington street, San Francisco, 
was born in Nova Scotia, November 1, 1857. 
His parents, James and Catharine (McDon- 
aid) Macpherson, were both natives of Scot- 
land, and came to America about the year 
1810. The father died in 1875, aged sev- 
enty years, and the mother also deceased, in 
1880, aged sixty-nine years. 

The Macphersons have descended from the 
clan Macpherson, whose chief was Lord 
Cluny. This man warmly espoused the cause 
of the exiled Stuarts in their efforts to re- 
cover the British throne. Our subject's 
great-grandfather, John Macpherson, fought 
in the battle of Colloden for Prince Charles 
Stuart. Alexander Macpherson, his grand- 
father, was born in Inverness-shire, Scotland, 
in 1764, and emigrated to America in the 
ship Hector, arriving in 1810. His grand- 
mother's maiden naine was Catharine Gillis. 
They were married in 1808, and had a fam- 
ily of seven sons and four daughters. James 
Macpherson, the father of A. M., was the 
second oldest son, being born in 1805. He 
was ccmsequently l?ut five years of age when 
he landed in America. He died in March, 
1875, aged seventy years. 

Mr. Macpherson's mother's people came 
from Moidart, Inverness, and belonged to the 
clan Ronald. They also arrived in the ship 



Hector at the same time. They had a fam- 
ily of seven sons and six daughters. All of 
the sons followed the sea, and were masters 
and owners of ships till the time of their 
death. Mr. Macpherson's maternal grand- 
father's name was John Ban McDonald, and 
his grand ra )ther's was Mary McDonald, 
she living to be 101 years of age. 

Mr. Macpherson, the youngest of his 
father's family of five children, left the par 
ental roof when but twelve years of age, and 
went to sea. He engaged in the fishing 
trade a few years, when he became a deep- 
water sailor, and has visited many parts of 
the world. He cauje to California in Sep- 
tember, 1874, and engaged in clerking for a 
time, and some nine years ago embarked in 
the commission business, under the firm style 
of Macpherson & Branagan. This basiness 
continued until 1889, when Mr. Macpherson 
purchased the entire business, soon atlterward 
taking in his present partner, Mr. Rucker. 
The business of this firm has been a success 
from the start, and now extends far into the 
northwest, and also to the Sandwich Islands. 
They supply perhaps seventy-five per cent, 
of the American shipping from the port of 
San Francisco. 

Mr. Macpherson was married in this city, 
December 25, 1880, to Miss Georgiana F. 
Young, a native of California, and a daughter 
of William E. Young, a native of Massa- 
chusetts, who came to California in 1849, and 
has been for many years a contractor and 
builder, erecting many of the substantial 
buildings of San Francisco. Mr. and Mrs. 
Macpherson's family comprises six children, 
namely: Georgiana C, Alexander W., John 
Hugh, Charles J., Harry H., and an infant 
daughter, Nellie E. 

In politics Mr. Macpherson is a stanch 
Republican, casting his first vote for Garfield. 
In society he affiliates with the A. O. F., 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



107 




Occidental Lodge, No. 6,676; K. of U.,Yerba 
Buena Lodge, No. 1^788; and A. O. Q. W., 
Spartan Lodge, No. 36, — all of San Francisco. 
Mr. Macpberson is a man of business in 
the full meaning of that term, strictly tem- 
perate, never yet having tasted of liquor or 
tea. 

,EV. DR. S. H. WILLEY, President of 
Van Ness Seminary, 1222 Pine street, 
San Francisco, is one of the early 
pioneers, and in length of service one of the 
oldest and most prominent clergymen of the 
Pacific coast, being a citizen of the Golden 
State for more than forty-three years. He 
was born at Campton, New Hampshire 
March 11, 1821. His parents, Darins and 
Mary Willey, were also natives of that State. 
The Doctor received his education in New 
England, and graduated at Dartmouth Col- 
lege, in the class of 1845. He then entered 
Union Theological Seminary, in New York 
city, in 1845, and after completing his 
theological course, instead of locating among 
his friends and accepting a pastorate of a 
church in a congenial, pleasant community, 
he decided to seek a broader field of labor 
and came to the Pacific coast. He sailed on 
the ship Falcon to Chagres, and on this side 
of the Isthmus he came on the first trip of 
the California, and arrived at Monterey, Feb- 
ruary 23, 1849. He remained there about 
eighteen months, and in May, 1850, came to 
San Francisco and established the Howard 
Pre.-'byterian Church, and for twelve years 
was the honored pastor. In 1862 he accepted 
the position of Vice President of the College 
of California in Oakland, where he remained 
until 1870, when he accepted the pastorate of 
the Congregational church at Santa Cruz, 
and remained there ten years. In 1880 he 
enoved to Benicia, and became pastor of the 



Congregational church, serving faithfully for 
nine years. In 18S9 he became the head of 
Van Ness Seminary, one of the most promi- 
nent schools for young ladies in the State. 
Dr. Willey is well-known as a writer. He is 
the author of valued publications, among 
which are <* Annals of Santa Cruz," published 
in 1876, and subsequently, "Thirty Years in 
California," and an exhaustive history of the 
College of California. 

He was married September 19, 1849, to 
Miss Martha N. Jeflers, of New Jersey, and 
they have had 8ix children, four of whom 
survive, — two sons and two daughters. All 
live in California except one, who resides in 
Arizona. 

VAN NESS YOUNG LADIKS' SEMINARY 

is an elegant instituti >n, located at 1222 Pine 
street. Tue school was first commenced 
about 1860, by Miss James, a daughter of the 
well-known G. P. R. James. In 1865 she 
was succeeded by Miss Prince; in 1876 by 
Mrs. Colgate- Baker; in 1883 by Mrs. Sarah 
B. Gamble, and in 1889 by the present pro- 
prietor, Dr. Willey. Up to 1883 it was on 
Van Ness avenue: hence its name. This 
institution ib practically a home for its pupils. 
Special attention is given to music, taught by 
Professor Stewart, Mrs. Marriner-Carnpbell 
and Henry Heyman. Painting and art 
study also receive close attention, under the 
direction of Miss Withrow. The seminary 
receives pupils who are eight years old and 
over. Christian influences pervade the 
school. Neatness, cleanliness, comfort and 
elegance are conspicuous in all the depart- 
ments. 

[INCENT KINGWELL, proprietor of 
the California Brass Works, San Fran- 
cisco, although a comparatively young 
man, has been actively identified with his 




K8 



TUB BAT OF SAK FRANC I SCO: 



present business for the past quarter of a 
century. He served an apprenticeship in 
Boston, and came to 'the Pacific coast in 
1859, and began work in the shop of John 
C. Ayres, and a few years later, in 1865, be- 
came connected with the business of which 
for many years he has been the proprietor. 
The California Brass Works gives employ- 
ment to twenty-five to thirty five hands, in 
the manufacture of ship work, including all 
kinds of brass composition, phosphor and 
white-metal castings, as well as church, 
steamboat and fire-alarm bells. It is one of 
the pioneer establishments of the kind in the 
city and on the coast, and its trade extends 
from Southern California along the whole 
extent of the Pacific coast to Portlaud, 
Seattle and Tacottia, and has an enviable rep- 
utation for the character and standard of its 
finished work. Mr. Kingwell is a thorough, 
practical mechanic in all the details of his 
business, giving it his personal supervision. 
He had nothing when he began life, and his 
success is owing to his own eflbrts. He was 
elected a member of the Board of Supervisors, 
and is one of the most practical and eflScient 
members of the board. 




M l > i^ i 3i!C i ^ 

iLISHA OSCAR CROSBY, one of the 
n)ost historic men of California, now 
resides in Alameda. A systematic bio- 
graphical sketch would require us to refer in 
the first place to his parentage and ancestry, 
who were English and came to America dur- 
ing its early history. His first paternal ances- 
tor in America, Simon Crosby, settled in this 
country in 1635, and his first maternal ancestor, 
Spaulding, in 1633, — both locating in Plym- 
outh colony. Those were the progenitors of all 
the Crosbys on this continent. Simon Crosby 
was twenty-six years of age when he emi- 



grated to America, in the ship Susan and 
Ellen, with his wife Ann, aged twenty-five, 
and their young son Thomas. Both the 
grandfathers of Mr. Crosby were soldiers in 
the lievolutionary war. Enoch Crosby, the 
hero in Fenimore Cooper's " Spy," was a 
first cousin of Samuel Crosby, the grand- 
father of our subject. 

After the close of the Revolution Samuel 
Crosby, with his family and whomsoever of 
his neighbors he could induce, moved into Cen- 
tral New York, upon a tract called the Mili- 
tary Reserve. Being a man of considerable 
means and public spirit, he did much toward 
developing that section of the country and 
aiding the needy settlers. He died there 
and was buried in the old Presbyterian 
cemetery in the town of Groton, Tompkins 
county. New York. His son Samuel suc- 
ceeded to the homestead, where Elisha O., 
the present subject, was born, July 18, 1818. 
The father was a Lieutenant of a volunteer 
company in the war of 1812, served under 
General Wadsworth, was taken prisoner at 
the battle of Queenstown and conveyed to 
Quebec, where he remained until exchanged. 
Mr. Crosby's mother, nee Mehitabel Spaul- 
ding, was a daughter of Edward Spaulding, a 
Revolutionary soldier, who also came into the 
Military Reserve. 

Mr. Crosby, the subject of this biographical 
sketch, was employed upon his father's farm 
until he wa^i seventeen years of ajre, together 
with two brothers and two sisters. Receiv- 
ing a fair classical education at Cortland 
Academy, in the town of Homer, Cortland 
county, New York, he graduated there, in 
1839. Next he began the study of law in 
the office of his uncle, E. G. Spaulding, at 
Buffalo, who was prominent in the early his- 
tory of New York State; in October, 1841, 
he was admitted to the bar of the Court of 
Com mon Pleas of Cor tland and Tompkins coun- 



ITS OITIBS AND THBIR SUBURBS, 



100 



ties; July 14, 1843, he was admitted as at- 
torney and counselor of the Sapreme Conrt 
of the State of New York; Solicitor of the 
Coart of Chancery on the twenty-fifth anni- 
versary of his birthday, July 18, 1843; and 
by the Supreme Court of the United States 
December 6, 1865. Going to New York 
city in 1843, he associated himself in prac- 
tice with Abner Benedict, a distinguished 
lawyer, especially in admiralty cases. Dur- 
ing the five years of this partnership the firm 
of Benedict & Crosby had for their clients 
the large shipping house of Howland & 
Aspinwall, of New York, who had the sub- 
sidy for building three steamers for the 
Pacific coast trade, as noted elsewhere in this 
volume. (And here we should remark that 
many passages in the life of Mr. Crosby, our 
present subject, are already given in the 
general history in the first portion of this 
volume.) 

The knowledge of this coast which Mr. 
Crosby thereby incidentally attained and the 
discovery of gold induced him finally to 
come to California. On Christmas day, 1848, 
he sailed from New York on the steamer 
Isthmus to Chagres, having as compagnona 
de voyage Thomas Van Buren and E. V. 
Joyce. He reached Panama only five days 
ahead of the ship California, which had 
doubled Cape Horn and which he had aimed 
from the first to intercept. Leaving Panama 
on this vessel February 1, 1849, he lauded at 
San Francisco on the 28th. The incidents 
and hardships of the trip Mr. Crosby does 
not care to dwell upon. He says the passen- 
gers generally were a hilarious company of 
fellows, disposed to take things as they found 
them, etc. 

On arrival here the crew deserted the ship 
for the mines; and as San Francisco was only 
a mud hamlet and could afford no protection 
to the vessel, the captain (Forbes) applied to 



Commodore Jones, in command of the 
squadron on board the United States frigate 
Ohio, for the protection of the vessel while 
it remained in that harbor. After landing 
Mr. Crosby met Dr. Leavenworth, then act- 
ing as alcalde of San Francisco, whom he 
had previously known and whoihad come out 
as surgeon and chaplain in Colonel Steven- 
son's regiment in 1848. Leavenworth re- 
ceived Mr. Crosby very courteously, gave 
him quarters in his room in the old City 
Hotel, where he was administering justice, 
opposite the plaza. The two great objects in 
life among all the people here at that time 
seemed to be to get something to eat and to 
reach the mines. Prices of provisions were 
consequently very high, and accommodations 
poor. Two days afterward Mr. Crosby pur- 
chased an old whale-boat, had it repaired and 
with six passengers who had come with him 
on the California rowed up to Sacramento. 
Each passenger paid $50 fare, besides having 
to row; the proceeds paid for the boat. At 
Sacramento Mr. Crosby met a man named 
Morris, the boatswain of the steamer Cali- 
fornia, who for $500 hired Mr. Crosby's boat 
to take down to San Francisco a number of 
miners who desired to go there for supplies. 
Mr. Crosby first arrived at Sacramento 
March 10, 1849, when a survey of the city 
plat was in progress, by order of General 
Sutter. Going out to the fort, two miles 
distant from the embarcadero, he was invited 
to take quarters with Alcalde Frank Bates, 
who was administering law in California 
fashion. With his assistance, and as soon as 
he could obtain an animal, Mr. Crosby started 
for the diggings at Mormon Island, at the 
junction of the north and south forks of the 
American river, and arrived there about the 
middle of the second day, exhausted by heat. 
He became convinced that mining was not 
his "forte." There was plenty of gold 



no 



THE BAT OF SAN FB AUG 1800: 



indeed, but the labor and heat were fearful, 
and scarcity of the necessities of life was a 
matter to be seriously considered. He sold 
coin, which he had brought with him, for 
gold dust at the rate of $10 an ounce, which 
afterward netted him $17 an ounce at the 
Philadelphia mint. 

From Mormon Island Mr. Crosby wont to 
Sutter's mill (now Coloma), where gold was 
first discovered, and met Marshall, the first 
discoverer of gold, who told him the whole 
story of the discovery. After visiting sev- 
eral other diggings also, and buying a con- 
siderable quantity of gold dust, at $10 and 
$12 per ounce, he returned to Sacramento, 
recupeiated a little, subscribed for a number 
of lots that were still to be surveyed, and 
found that Morris had' returned from San 
Francisco with the whale-boat, with which he 
and Mr. Bates went down to that city, hiring 
some men to do the rowing. On arrival 
there he sent his gold dust to the East on 
the steamer Oregon, which then carried out 
the first mail and the first shipment of 
gold. 

Returning to Sacramento again, Mr. Cros- 
by, in company with Frank Bates and Samuel 
Morris, bought a strip of land a mile wide 
and three miles long on the east side of the 
Sacramento river, opposite the mouth of 
Feather river, and laid out the town of Ver- 
non, at what they supposed was the head of 
navigation; but after the water went down 
they found that sand bars lay in the river all 
the way down, and the smaller craft only 
being able to reach Vernon. They, however, 
commenced selling lots there, as soon as they 
could to good advantage. From this point Mr. 
Crosby, in July, 1849, by invitation accom- 
panied Hon. Thomas Butler King and a 
number of Government officials, includ- 
ing General Persifer F. Smith, Colonel 
Joseph Hooker, Commodore Jones and 



staff, and other prominent men from the 
East to the gold mines on the Yuba river. 

Returnincr to Sacramento the third time, 
Mr. Crosby spent some time there recover- 
ing from a fever; and during his sojourn in 
that city he was elected a delegate to the 
first Constitutional Convention, which met at 
Monterey, September 1, 1849. (See a pre- 
ceding page in this volume for a history of 
this convention.) 

During the session of that convention, Mr. 
Crosby was appointed Chairman of the Fi- 
nance Committee, and Prefect for the Sacra- 
mento district by Bennett Riley, the military 
Governor of California. On arrival at Sac- 
ramento the last of Ovitober, he appointed 
Colonel A. M. Winn sub- Prefect, to aid him 
in establishing precincts and collecting the 
vote of the district on the adoption of the 
constitution, at the election, November 13. 
With four or five special couriers he estab- 
lished fifty-two precincts, and after the elec- 
tion he expressed the returns to Monterey, 
to he counted by General Riley, December 
10. While the whole vote of the State was 
12,872, Mr. Crosby returned almost half, 
namely 6,052, at his own expense, which was 
$3,000. 

At this same election, which took place 
November 13, 1849, Mr. Crosby was elected 
one of the State Senators from the Sacra- 
mento district, and during the legislative 
session was Chairman of the Judiciary Com- 
mittee, and served as such throagh both the 
first two sessions. That position was then 
by far the most important in the Legislataro. 
Too much credit cannot be given Mr. 
Crosby for the interest he took, with great 
personal self-sacrifice, in the crowning efforts 
of his life in the organization of the govern- 
ment of this State. In the Constitutional 
Convention he opposed the system of elective 
judiciary, believing that popular excitement 



ITS CITIBa AND THEIR 81/BUBB8, 



HI 



would Bometimes make unwise selections, 
and that the stability of the bench, in this 
country as well as in England, is due to the 
life-tenure system — the judges being reinova- 
ble only for cause. The elective system, not- 
withstanding, was adopted; and Mr. Crosby 
took special interest and great pains in the 
inauguration of the judiciary system of this 
State under the first constitution. Soon 
after the meetings of the Legislature he pre- 
pared and presented a report, with a bill ac- 
companying, for the organization of the Su- 
preme Court of California; and a few days 
after that he prepared and presented a bill 
to the Senate for the organization of the dis- 
trict courts of the State. Considerable pop- 
ular interest was manifested in the problem 
of introducing the civil law, or the American 
system as it existed in the older States of the 
English common-law, especially as up to that 
time the Californians were familiar with the 
Mexican system and with the temporary 
military government necessarily intervening 
between the old and the new epochs. The 
immigrants from the old States were used 
only to the common-law system of England, 
as modified by our republican form of gov- 
ernment. After a thorough investigation of 
all these matters the Judiciary Committee of 
the Senate reported favorably to the adop 
tion of the English common-law system, 
with modifications, Mr. Crosby doing most 
of the work; and the report was received 
with the highest commendations, both by 
the bench and bar of this State, as well as by 
jurists from the East. 

The division of California into counties 
and the establishment of county courts and 
the inauguration of local officers, received 
also great attention from Mr. Crosby, involv- 
ing much laborious detail of work, as Califor- 
nia was in a condition more heterogeneous 
and peculiar than all our colonies together 



were in 1789. Some of the statutes framed 
by him are still in force. It may therefore 
be truly said that Mr. Crosby is one of the 
" Fathers of the State of California." 

In 1852 he removed to San Francisco and 
engaged in the practice of law, and was em- 
ployed as attorney for claimants of titles to 
land grants in this State before the United 
States Land Claim Commission, organized 
that year and beginning to hold its sessions 
in this city. Of the 812 claims presented 
he had nearly a hundred. He was engaged 
in prosecuting these claims both before the 
Commission, and, in appellate cases, also be- 
fore the United States District Court, up to 
1860. As many of these claims were by 
operation of the law referred to the Federal 
Supreme Court, Mr. Crosby went to Wash- 
ington to prosecute them, and was there dur- 
ing the winter of 1860-61. 

Within three weeks after Mr. Lincoln was* 
firot inaugurated President, Mr. Crosby was 
appointed United States Minister to Guate- 
mala, at the personal request of William H. 
Seward, Montgomery Blair, E. G. Spaulding, 
Preston King (Senator from New York), 
Senator Doolittle and others. March 14 he 
was nominated for that office, and on March 
22 he was confirmed; and he held the posi- 
tion four years. While holding this position 
he had the further honor to be appointed 
Presiding Judge and Umpire of the Mixed 
Commission to settle treaty stipulations be- 
tween Great Britain and Honduras, held in 
the city of Guatemala in 1862-63. At the 
end of this time, being somewhat enfeebled 
in health, he repaired to Philadelphia for 
medical treatment, and while there he pur- 
chased a residence in that city. In the spring 
of 1867 he went to Europe, to satisfy a long 
cherished desire, and he enjoyed a pleasur- 
able tour. 

In 1870 he returned to San Francisco and 



112 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANC I8G0: 



resumed the practice of law. In 1877, meet- 
ing with a severe afHiction to his ejes, he 
was compelled to abandon his practice to a 
great extent, and since that time he has been 
a resident of Alameda. During the first year 
of his residence here he was elected Justice 
of the Peace, and he held the office nine years. 
In 1889 he was appointed Judge of the Ke- 
corders' or Police Court for the city of Ala- 
meda. For two years he has also been No- 
tary Public. He has been a member of the 
Society of California Pioneers ever since its 
organization; and he is a Knight Templar, 
belonging to Commandery No. ;1. In pol- 
itics he has always been a Republican since 
the organization of that party. Is also a 
member of the Veteran Tippecanoe Club, the 
qualification for membership therein being 
the fact that the subject voted for William 
Henry Harrison for President in 1840. 



^^ 



#• 



♦^ 




^NDREW SMITH HALLIDIE, inven- 
tor of the cable railway. Incidents 
unimportant in themselves, have led to 
many of the greatest discoveries and inven- 
tions which mark the progress of the human 
race. A falling apple observed by Newton 
heralded the discovery of the law of gravita- 
tion, that mighty force which holds the 
wheeling worlds in their courses. A l>oiling 
tea-kettle inspired in the mind of Watt the 
birth-thought of the steam engine. A spi- 
der's web across the garden walk suggested 
the suspension bridge. In other instances an 
appeal to a sympathetic heart has been the 
inspiration of inventive minds whose crea- 
tions have enrolled them in history among 
the world's benefactors. The fall of one of 
the horses struggling up a hill with a loaded 
street car in San Francisco excited the pity of 
a beholder and led him to the invention of 



the cable railway, which has revolutionized 
the method of travel in large cities. 

Mr. Hallidie, the gentleman referred to, is 
a native of Scotland, born in 1836. In early 
youth he studied civil engineering and sub- 
sequently worked three years in a shop. At 
the age of seventeen he came to California 
and spent several years in the mines, dividing 
the time between searching for gold, survey- 
ing roads and constructing water ways. Be- 
fore he had passed his twenty-first birthday, 
young Hallidie had built a suspension bridge 
and aqueduct across the middle fork of the 
American river with a span of 220 feet, the 
cross section of the conduit being three feet 
by two. He also designed and put in oper- 
ation a number of important improvements 
in mining apparatus. A sudden rise of the 
river in 1855 having swept away everything 
he had previously earned, Mr. Hallidie set 
about retrieving his loss with doubled energy. 
He ran a quartz mill in 1856, and spent the 
following year in improvising ni|u$hiuery on 
the middle fork of the American river. Here 
he made and put in operation the first wire 
rope ever used on the Pacific coast. It was 
employed for transporting the ore from a 
quartz mine to the stamp mill, was 1,600 
feet in length and operated on an incline of 
twenty-four degrees. Turning hisjmecban- 
ical genius to good purpose, he devoted his 
spare time to sharpening and repairing tools 
for the miners, at which he made $15 to $20 
a day. 

In 1857 he surveyed and ran the tnnnel 
for a water way through a spur of a mono* 
tain, using instruments made by himself on 
the ground, and his levels run from opposite 
sides met midway within half an inch! About 
this time the Indians were troublesome, rob- 
bing and murdering the whites; and Mr. 
Hallidie, having borrowed and repaired all 
the old guns he oould Mcrare, he and •oine 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



113 



twenty others pnrsaed and captured two bands 
of the red marauders; but before reaching the 
settlement with their prisoners they were 
snowed in for nearly a month in the moun- 
tains, and the whole party narrowly escaped 
perishing. Six years — 1852-'58 — were pas- 
sed by him amid the exciting and perilous 
experiences of pioneer life as a prospector and 
engineer — years full of adventure and haz- 
ardous experiences not distasteful to one ot 
his daring spirit. On one occasion he nar- 
rowly escaped death from a premature explo- 
sion of a blast at the entrance of a 600- foot 
tunnel. Soon after this he was entombed by 
a caving bank of earth; and when completing 
his suspension bridge the scaffolding gave way 
and precipitated him upon the rocks twenty 
feet below. At another time he was carried 
over the fall and rapids of the American 
river a mile and a half, clinging to a stick of 
timber. 

For a number of years Mr. Hallidie was 
engaged ii\ designing and erecting bridges, — 
chifly suspension bridges, — of which he built 
some fourteen on the Pacific slope, of 220 
to 360 foot span. In 1858 he established 
a manufactory of wire rope in San Francisco, 
in which he has been successfully engaged 
ever since, and which he has developed into 
the *' California Wire Works," an organiza- 
tion with half a million dollars capital, of 
which he is president and managing head, 
and giving employment to 225 men. 

His experience in inventing and operating 
aerial wire-rope ways in the mines for trans- 
porting ore and other heavy material over 
rough mountain surfaces prepared him for 
his greater invention, the cable railway, a 
few years later. It was on an unpleasant day 
in 1869 that he witnessed the fall of a horse, 
before mentioned in this article, while it and 
four others were striving in vain to draw a 
filled with passengers up Jackson street 



hill. The harsh treatment of the poor ani- 
mals and their mute appeal for sympathy 
touched his heart, and he then and there re- 
solved to devise a more humane and effective 
method than horse-power for propelling cars 
over the hilly streets of San Francisco; and 
in spite of numerous onerous private and 
official duties demanding his attention, he 
set about solving the problem with his char- 
acteristic energy and determination. Many 
serious obtacles and difficulties confronted 
him on every hand, not the least of which 
were the discouragements thrown in his way 
by the faithless persons who assumed the 
role of adverse advisers and obstructionists; 
but with unswerving persistency lie pursued 
his purpose, neither halting or faltering, en- 
listing the interest and support of two or 
three friends to whom he had submitted his 
designs and plans in 1871, and who had firm 
confidence in his genius to achieve suc- 
cess. 

Clay street was selected on which to build 
the experimental cable line, because on this 
street the road would traverse Russian hill, 
one of the highest points in the city 
reaching an altitude of 307 feet from the 
starting on Kearny street, and thus would be 
presented all the difficulties likely to be en- 
countered on any other street. In June, 
1873, ground was broken and the work of 
construction begun, under the personal super- 
vision of the inventor; and on the first day 
of August that year, at four o'clock in the 
morning, the trial trip was successfully made. 
Then was demonstrated for the first time in 
the world's history the practicability of pro- 
pelling street cars by a stationary engine, 
through the medium of an endless wire cable 
running below the surface of the street. Mr, 
Hallidie had solved the problem of street 
travel in cities without obstructing general 
traffic, and made it possible to build cities on 



fij 



114 



TUB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



hills without marring the beauty of the nat- 
ural landscape. 

After three years and a half of successful 
operation of the Clay street cable railway, the 
Sutter street line was built in San Francisco. 
Other ruads of the kind were rapidly built 
in this and other cities, until there are now 
hundreds of miles of cable roads in operation 
in the United States. Great Britain, Austra- 
lia and even China have adopted this im- 
proved mode of transportation, which is 
destined to extend to all the principal cities 
of the world. 

For years Mr. Ilallidie was absorbed in 
his great invention, perfecting it in all its 
details and taking out a number of patents, 
in foreign countries as well as in the United 
States. For further particulars, see page 303- 

In addition to these he has secured patents 
on nearly a hundred other mechanical de- 
vices, covering an extensive field and placing 
him in the front rank of noted inventors of 
this proliiic age. Despite his wonderful 
activity in this channel, he has given much 
thought and efEort to scientific questions and 
enterprises. In 1868 he was elected presi- 
dent of the Mechanics' Institute of San 
Francisco, and filled the oflSce for ten succes- 
sive years during the most critical period of 
its existence, and through his self-sacrificing 
devotion to its interests paid otf thousands 
of dollars of its indebtedness, and left the 
ottice with thousands of dollars .o its credit 
and the Institute occupying a position of 
commanding prominence. lie is one of the 
trustees of the mechanical school endowed 
by the late James Lick with $450,000; he 
has served as a member of the Board of Re- 
gents of the University of California for 
twenty-one years, being chairman of the 
finance committee He was also one of the 
founders of the San Francisco public library; 
is a leading, active member of the Manufact- 



urers' Association of the State, having served 
three years as its president; was the prime 
mover in organizing the Society for the Sup- 
pression of Vice, and the Boys and Girls' 
Society; was one of the founders of the San 
Francisoo Art Society; is a member of the 
California Academy of Sciences, and of the 
Geographical Society of San Francisco; was 
president of the San Francisco Industrial 
Association from 1868 to 1878; also a mem- 
ber of the State Historical Society, and of 
the American Geographical Society of New 
York, and is now serving on the San Fran- 
cisco Executive Board of the World's Colum- 
bian Exposition for 1892-'93. 

On national questions Mr. Hallidie is a 
Republican, was a member of the County 
Executive Committee, and was at one time a 
nominee for the State Senate; is vice-presi- 
dent for California of the National Protective 
TarifE League. 

Even these multitudinous interests and re- 
sponsibilities have not fully occupied his won- 
derfully energetic and acti ve mind, which has in 
its researches reached out beyond the confines 
of the Pacific slope and of this continent. Be- 
sides traveling extensively in this country^he 
has visited Europe and Australia, and has at- 
tended several of the great international ex- 
positions and spent some time at several of 
the most celebrated technical schools. Nu- 
merous published articles from his potent 
pen and addresses attest his marked ability 
to deal with live questions of interest and 
importance to the public weal. Among these 
may be mentioned his address before the 
Mechanics' Institute on '* Trade Tuition: its 
Status at Home and Abroad: " his paper read 
before the Manufacturers' Association of Cal- 
ifornia on the " Position of the Manufacturer 
in San Francisco;" and numerous articles 
in the daily press. In the Overland 
Monthly^ of April and May, 1890, was 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



115 



"A Study of Skilled-Labor Organizations;" 
and his report to the convention of Pacific 
Coast Chamber of Commerce on the Canadian 
Pacific Railroad, and numerous addresses 
before scientific and social organizations, have 
also been published. 

In his wide business and social relations, 
Mr. Hallidie is esteemed and honored for his 
gentlemanly qualities and his affable manner. 
He possesses a highly nervous temperament, 
a strongly sympathetic nature, and is in- 
tensely loyal to the interests of society and 
of the Golden State. 

For his wife he married Miss Mattie 
Woods, a native of Quincy, Illinois, and 
daughter of pioneer settlers in Sacramento. 



— » •% 



2 - 3"t - 2 



l> M l 




^HILIP MELANCTHON FISHER, 
Superintendent of Schools of Alameda 
county since 1883, was born in Berlin, 
Somerset county, Pennsylvania, June 1, 
1852, a son of J. Henry and Anna (Gilbert) 
Fisher, both natives of Germany (near Mar- 
burg), and there married. They came to 
America with their first-born and settled on 
a farm near Berlin, Pennsylvania, in 1834, 
where eight sons and three daughters were 
born to them. Eight sons and one daughter 
are now living. Emma J., who became the 
wife of Rev. Benjamin Collins, went as a 
missionary of the English Lutheran Church 
to Liberia, was taken sick with malaria, and 
died at sea on the return voyage in 1875, at 
the age of twenty-seven. Her sister, Mary 
E., the wife of Charles Wincoff, a lumber 
dealer of Berlin, Pennsylvania, also died 
young. The first-born, Charles, died at the 
age of nineteen. Six sons and two daughters 
were trained in normal schools and colleges 
for the profession of school-teaching. Their 
great-grandfather Fisher was a teacher for 



forty years in the same town in Germany, 
dying at the age of ninety-three. His father 
had also been a teacher. John Fisher, the 
grandfather of the present generation of 
school-teachers, changed the record to farm- 
ing: he died of some acute disease in mid- 
dle life. His wife died at forty-eight. The 
father of P. M. Fisher died several years ago, 
at about the age of sixty; the mother is still 
living, aged eighty three. Her father, Carl 
Gilbert, the village blacksmith, and his wife 
lived to be about seventy. The children of 
J. H. and Anna G. Fisher are: Charles, de- 
ceased; Daniel H., a farmer near Berlin, 
Pennsylvania; John Gilbert, Clerk of the 
Board of County Commissioners of Bedford 
county, Pennsylvania, since 1875; Harry 
W., formerly Superintendent of Schools of 
Bedford county, Pennsylvania, now principal 
of the Washington Schools, Pittsburg, Penn- 
sylvania; Tobias S. and Samuel P., twins; 
T. S. enlisted in the spring of 1862 in the 
One Hundred and Forty-Second Regiment 
of Pennsylvania Volunteers, was wounded 
once, captured twice and held in three 
Southern prisons- Libby, Belle Isle and 
Salisbury — for about nine months; honor- 
ably discharged in June, 1865, he became a 
farmer near Berlin, and has since l»een a 
Justice of the Peace, and is a pensioner of 
the civil war; his twin brother, S. P., is a 
shoemaker in Decoto, California; Caroline L., 
the wife of Rufus Landis, of Berlin, Penn- 
sylvania, who was also a soldier of the 
Union, was in the Tenth Pennsylvania Re- 
serves for three months, in 1861, reenlisted 
that year, and again in 1864, was in every 
battle of his regiment, never asked for a 
furlough, was never wounded — a typical 
mountaineer soldier, six feet two inches in 
height, stalwart, muscular and fearless; 
Mary E., deceased; Emma J., missionary, 
deceased; William E., a graduate of Gettys- 



116 



THB BAT OF SAN FJRANGI8G0: 



burg Theological Seminary, and now a min- 
ister of the English Lutheran Church at Center 
Hall, near Bellefonte, Pennsylvania; P. M., 
the subject of this sketch; August Henry 
Francke, also a graduate of Gettysburg, and 
now minister of the English Lutheran Church 
at Barren Hill, near Philadelphia. 

P. M. Fisher was educated in the public 
schools of Berlin, Pennsylvania, and *made 
his first venture in school-teaching in Octo- 
ber, 1866, taking charge of thirty-five chil- 
dren early in his fifteenth year. He was 
principal of the Meyersdale School, Penn- 
sylvania, at the age of eighteen, and at the 
same time as District Deputy, L O. G. T. ; 
he made speeches all over the country, doing 
what he could to carry it for *' local option." 
Teaching usually in the winter terras, he 
learned and worked at the trade of plasterer 
for health, strength and wages during the 
summer. In 1873 he entered Mount Union 
College in Ohio, at which he was graduated 
as Ph. B. in the fall of 1876, and was chosen 
principal of schools of his native town in the 
season of 1876-7. He then came to Califor- 
nia, arriving in Oakland, May 4, 1877, with 
the intention of going to Oregon, where he 
was acquainted with Senator Mitchell and 
Congressman Herman. He, however, went 
to work here at his trade as plasterer for three 
months, and then obtained on examination a 
certificate as teacher. He taught the school 
at Suflol the winter of 1877-8, and after- 
ward until he was chosen principal of the 
Irvington school in 1880. This position he 
held until he entered upon the discharge of 
his duties as County Superintendent of 
Schools, on the first Monday in January, 
1883, to which he had been elected in 1882, 
and was re-elected in 1886. Meanwhile he 
had become a member of the Mission Lodge, 
No. 56, A. O. U. W., in 1878, and had act- 
ively identified himself with its work. He 



is Past Master of the lodge and was for three 
years orator at the annual picnic of the order. 
He is also a member of Alameda Lodge, No. 
167, F. & A. M. and has filled the oflice of 
Secretary of that lodge. 

Mr. Fisher was married in Mission San 
Jose, January 3, 1884, to Miss Anna C. Lau- 
meister, born in San Francisco, September 5, 
1858, a daughter of John A. and Frederika 
(Haussler) Laumeister, the latter still living, 
aged sixty-two years, the former dying De- 
cember 15, 1890, at the age of seventy-four. 
Mr. Laumiester was a pioneer miller of San 
Francisco, and still earlier in New York, 
where he was awarded a silver medal, at the 
State Fair at Syracuse in 1843, for the first 
introduction of the popular manufacture of 
farina for the table. His nephew Charles is 
at this date serving his second term as Sheriff 
of San Francisco. Mrs. Fisher's grandpar> 
ents Laumeister and Haussler lived to a good 
old age. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fisher have two children, 
Thusnelda, born in Mission San Jose in this 
county, August 25, 1884, and Philip M., Jr., 
born in Oakland, California, July 8, 1891. 

S ' ^"^ * S' **'*""-^ 




ROF. R. S. ANDERSON, Principal of 

** Anderson's Normal School and Uni- 
versity Class," is a native son, bom 
September 4, 1864. His father. Prof. J. W. 
Anderson, the efficient and popular superin- 
tendent of the public schools of San Fran- 
cisco, is one of the most thorough and 
experienced educators on the Pacific coast. 
Our subject received his education in this 
State, under the direct tutelage of his father, 
thereby enjoying exceptional advantages. 

The school of which he is now Principal 
was founded in 1873, by his father, and he 
has had control of it since 1883. In this 



ITS CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS, 



117 



Bchool graduates of the grammar class and 
persons of eqnal acquirement are prepared to 
enter the California State University, Stan- 
ford University and other colleges of the 
United States. The time required to make 
this preparation is from one to three years, 
according to the capacity and attainments of 
the student, the term commencing in July. 
There is also a department in which pupils 
are prepared to take examinations in any 
connty of the State for teacher's certificates. 
Though a person may have the requisite gen- 
eral education to become a teacher, he usually 
requires a special course in order to pass the 
examination. The class studying for the 
university recite in the morning, and the nor- 
mal class in the afternoon. Lectures on 
mathematics are delivered free to all teachers 
daily. 

Prof. Anderson limits the number of pu- 
pils, so as to be able to devote his personal 
attention to each, giving them the stimulus 
of his personal watchfulness and inspiration. 
He has published a work entitled " Philo- 
sophical Arithmetic," in which demonstrations 
accompanied with philosophical explanations 
are given instead of rules. 

Prof. Anderson was married November 1, 
1884, to Miss Minnie Thurgood, a naive 
daughter, and they have one daughter, named 
Genevieve, and a son, named after his father, 
R. S. 



•^^^^ 




ULIUS E. KRAFFT, archicitect, San 
Francisco, is a native of Germany, born 
November 11, 1855, and completed his 
education at Stuttgart, where he pursued the 
study of architecture. He came to America 
in 1872, spent a year or two in Chicago, and 
came to San Francisco in 1874. Entering 
the office of T. J. Welsh, a prominent archi- 
tect, he remained there twelve years in charge 



of the draughting department, and then 
opened an office and engaged in business on 
his own account. Among the buildings de- 
signed and erected by him is the residence of 
Marshal Frank, attorney Forebaugh, the five- 
story hotel at the comer of Ellis and Leaven- 
worth streets, now in course of construction, 
the German Evangelical churches here and in 
Alameda, and many other buildings, includ- 
ings residences. By his ability and personal 
application to the details of work entrusted 
to his care, he is building up a successful 
business. 




R. ROBERT MACKINTOSH, whose 
office is at No. 1208 Mission street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1850, and has been engaged 
in the practice of medicine during that time. 
He was born in Valencienne, France, in 1816, 
while his father was stationed as surgeon of 
artillery of the British army, and occupied 
for three years after the battle of Waterloo a 
position in the fortresses of France. Later, 
his father was stationed at Edinburgh, in the 
military service, where his sons were edu- 
cated. Dr. Mackintosh commenced the study 
of medicine under the preceptorship of his 
father, who had also an extensive private prac- 
tice, and was also a prominent lecturer on med- 
icine. He was the author of a popular work on 
the practice of medicine. Our subject entered 
the medical department of the Edinburgh Uni- 
versity in 1833, and graduated at that institu- 
tion in 1839, receiving his degree as Doctor of 
Medicine and Surgery. He at once entered into 
the practice of his profession at Edinburgh, 
his two brothers becoming surgeons in the 
British army. After a few years he went to 
Australia, where he was engaged in the 
practice of medicine for ten years. In 1850 
he came to California, where he has since 



118 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



been continuously engaged in medical prac- 
tice, Jinl identifiei with 'the growth of its 
medical institutions. 

Dr. Mackintosh comes from a family of 
physicians,, both on his father and mother's 
side, extending back to a number of genera- 
tions. He is still engaged in active practice, 
and is probably the only man actively en- 
gaged in his profession who was in practice 
here in 1850. 





ARON MEEK, M. D., was born in 
Culpeper county, Virginia, July 29, 
1814, the son of Rev. Jacob and 
Rachel (Lanning) Meek; the former was a 
native of Virginia, and the latter of New 
Jersey. For many years the father was a 
traveling preacher in the Pittsburg Confer- 
ence, and about the year 1818 moved to what 
was then the Territory of Ohio. Aaron 
Meek received his education at the common 
schools, and subsequently graduated at the 
Medical College in Cincinnati, in 1840. He 
at once began the practice of medicine, which 
he followed for a period of forty-seven years. 
In 1847 he moved from Ohio to Peoria, 
Illinois, where he was engaged in practice 
until 1854, when he moved to Lexington, 
Missouri, and in 1858 to Chicago, remaining 
until 1868; then to Davenport, Iowa, re- 
mainins until 1875, when he came to Cali- 
fornia. Eight years of the Doctor's life w.ere 
spent in lecturing in different States on an- 
thropology, physiology, anatomy, etc. He 
has been a close student all his life; has for 
many years kept a meteorological record, and 
has in manuscript some very interesting 
theories concerning the cause of cyclones 
and other scientific subjects, which if pub- 
lished in proper form would make a work 
that would add materially to scientific works. 



and enroll his name among the great men of 
the earth . 

In 1849, at Mount Vern(Jn, Ohio, Dr. 

Meek was married to Miss Rhoda Gardner, 

daughter of James Gardner, and they have 

six children, viz.: Orendorff H., who died 

in infancy; Flora Nevada, the wife of P. W: 

McManning, of Davenport, Iowa; Sierra 

Ella, the wife of D. W. Ballon, now deceased; 

Channing F., manager of the Union Pacific 

and Denver & Gulf railroads; Dr. R. W. 

Meek, a dentist in Oakland; Edward R., 

attorney-at-law in Denver. Dr. Meek is and 

has been for many years a prominent member 

of the Masonic fraternity, having taken the 

lioyal Arch degree in 1849. Politically he 

affiliates with the Prohibition party, and is a 

*'livini^ epistle for temperance known and 

read of all men." 



^##' 



♦^ 







(OWELL A. MoDONELL, a pioneer of 
1849 and a veteran of the Mexican war, 
was born in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, Jan- 
uary 18, 1826, and reared and educated in 
Greene county, that State. His parents were 
William and Nancy (McFerras) McDonell, 
natives of South Carolina and of Scotch ex- 
traction. The ancestors on both sides were 
among the old and influential settlers of that 
State. The father died in 1836, and the 
mother a few months later. Powell A. was 
the second of seven children in the family, 
two of whom are still living. 

He came to California in September, 1849, 
by way of New Orleans, Matamoras and 
Chihuahua, Mexico, making the entire trip 
overland, on one occasion camping on the old 
canip-ground of General Taylor the night 
before the battle of Buena Vista. 

On his arrival in California he at once went 
to the Mariposa mines and engaged in rain- 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



119 



ing until 1853, when be located on Bay 
Farm Island, and has since resided there. 
His property consists of twenty -one acres, 
devoted to raising vegetables, asparagus be- 
ing the principal production. He has a 
profitable business. Ships all his products 
to San Francisco. 

Mr. McDonell was a member of the First 
Regiment of Alabama Volunteer Infantry, 
enlisting in 1846, for the Mexican war, and 
participating in the engagement at Vera 
Cruz. He was discharged at New Orleans 
in 1847. For many years he has been asso- 
ciated with the Veterans of the Mexican 
War — a society. Politically he is allied with 
the Democratic party, although not active in 
the political machinery. He is well known 
and highly respected as a worthy citizen. 

He was married on Bay Farm island, 
April 17, 1862, to Miss Hattie Hamlin, a 
native of Illinois, who came to California 
in 1861. 



M l %\ 



So >' i ' 2 



l> » M 




P. DANFORTH, Naval Officer of the 
Port of San Francisco, is a native of 
^ Boston, Massachusetts, born in 1855. 
He-is a son of Edwin and Frances (Abbott) 
Danforth, who were descendants of one of 
the oldest and most prominent families in 
New England. They came to the Pacific 
coast in 1859. Mr. Danforth, the subject of 
this sketch, received his preparatory educa- 
tion here and completed his school course at 
Andover, Massachusetts. After his return 
he engaged in business. For ten years he 
was a member of the Benicia Tanning Com- 
pany, subsequently the firm of E. P. Dan- 
forth & Go. He afterward was associated 
with Mr. Oilman until he was appointed to 
his present position as Naval Officer by 
President Harrison, January 13, 1890. The 



firm of Oilman & Danforth were prominent 
warehousemen for a number of years. 



< 



K 




ISS JEANNE BOLTE, Principal of 
the French and English School, 
Jackson street, San Francisco, was 
educated in Europe, has had an extensive ex- 
perience as a teacher, and is eminently quali- 
fied for her present position. She first engaged 
in teaching in New York, afterward came 
West, and was employed as a private tutor in 
the family of Horatio Liver more, Esq., for 
several years, in this city; next taught in 
Madam Foitska's school for young ladies^ 
went to the Sandwich Islands, where she was 
also engaged in her profession for a time. 
Upon her return to California she accepted a 
position as principal in Professor Larcher's 
School of Languages, Oakland, and also 
taught in Snell's Seminary there. 

The school with which Miss Bolt6 is now 
connected was established about twelve years 
ago as a kindergarten, and is centrally located 
at 2127 Jackson street. Daring the past 
year its scope has been enlarged and girls and 
young ladies admitted, and already the num- 
ber of pupils has increased fourfold. Par- 
ticular attention is given to the fundamental 
branches and most thorough methods are em- 
ployed, one special feature of the school 
being that no extra charges are made for the 
study of lanf^uages. There are three English, 
three French and two German teachers. The 
kindergarten department is under the care of 
two excellent teachers, especially adapted for 
their line of work. Miss Bolt^, assisted by 
this able and efficient corps of instructors, is 
conducting a school that is rapidly growing 
in popularity and that merits the confidence 
and esteem it receives from its patrons. A 
coach calls for the children whenever desired, 



15K) 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAN G I SCO: 



and taking all things into consideration there 
is no more satisfactory school in the city than 
Miss Bolte's excellent academy. 




FmOTHY guy PHELPS, United 
States Collector of Customs at the port 
of San Francisco, was born in Chenan- 
go County, New York, December 20, 1824. 
His family was ot that good old Puritan 
stock which has given this country its bright- 
est minds and its most liberal and liberty- 
loving people. He is a descendant of Will- 
iam Phelps, who came from England in 1630 
and was afterward prominent in the coh)ny of 
Connecticut; and some of the descendants 
took a fitting part in the Revolutionary strug- 
gle as patriots. Joel Phelps, the father of 
the subject of this sketch, like his father in 
other wars, volunteered in that of 1812 and 
distinguished himself for his bravery. Hav- 
ing met with reverses, his son Timothy was 
obliged to commence early in the hard work 
of the farm. At the a^e of twenty-one the 
latter went to New York city and entered 
into business in partnership with his older 
■brother, and enjoyed a profitable trade. He 
then returned to Chenango county and began 
the study of law. 

About this time the news of the gold dis- 
covery in California was carried East. Giv- 
ing up his law studies, Mr. Phelps started 
for San Francisco, arriving December 14, 
1849, and soon afterward went to the south- 
ern mines and spent the winter and spring 
there. In August, with health somewhat 
impaired, he returned to San Francisco and 
entered into mercantile business, in which 
he was very prosperous. The fire of May, 
1851, however, swept away the bulk of his 
fortune in a night; nevertheless he re-estab- 
lished his business at once and soon re- 



cuperated from his financial distress. In 
1854 he was a candidate for the Legislature, 
in company with Colonel E. D. Baker, but 
was defeated; in 1856, however, he was 
elected on ttie first Republican ticket put up 
in the Slate of California. Twice after this 
he was elected to the State Senate. During 
these years he won for himself a reputation for 
honesty and for persistency in fighting ques- 
tionable schemes. The bulkhead scheme he 
fought particularly, and for this victory alone 
he gained favorable prominence. He was 
also the originator of the first street-railway 
bills which were passed by the State Senate 
allowing the Market street. Omnibus and 
North Beach and Mission lines to be built. 
In 1861 he was elected^to Congress, and the 
same fearlessness in behalf of what he 
deemed right chara^'terized his attitude in 
the State Senate. Among other noteworthy 
acts during his term of Senatorship was his 
vote for the emancipation of slaves in the 
District of Columbia. Mr. Phelps was a 
warm friend of President Lincoln, and was 
often consulted by that great man upon mat- 
ters of importance concerning the Pacific 
coast. In 1869 he was appointed Collector 
of Customs of this port. In 1875 he was 
nominated for Governor, but was defeated on 
account of a disruption in the party. His 
home is on his farm near Belmont, whore he 
has 2,600 acres under cultivation and a large 
dairy. He is vice-president of the Society 
of Califoraia Pioneers, and a Regent of the 
University of California. 



>— »« 



s*»«^ 



I* M » 



M. MORTON, shipping commissioner 
at San Francisco, is a native of the 
^ State of Indiana, and was born in 1846. 
His father, the Hon. Oliver P. Morton, was 
well known throughout the country as the 




IT8 GiriES AND THEIR aUBUHBa, 



121 



distinguished war Governor of Indiana, 
United States Senator, and one of the leading 
statesmen of his time. His mother's maiden 
name was Lucinda M. Burbank. Onr sub- 
ject received his preparatory education in his 
native State, and attended the Northwestern 
University and the Miami University at Ox- 
ford, Ohio. Coming to the Pacific coast in 
1870, he was connected with the Alaska 
Commercial Company, and went to Alaska 
every year for some years in his capacity as 
agent. He was also engaged in viticulture 
in Kapa valley for some years, and still owns 
vineyard interests there. In 1880 Mr. Mor- 
ton received the appointment of Surveyor of 
Customs and filled that position for six years, 
and was appointed to his present position of 
shippino^ commissioner in 1889. 

Mr. Morton married Miss Harriet M. 
Brown, of Washington, District of Columbia, 
a daughter of Hon. S. P. Brown, Naval 
Agent during the war, and Commissioner of 
Public Works of the District of Columbia 
during Grant's administration. Mr. and Mrs. 
Morton have two children, one son, Oliver P. 
(named for his distinguished grandfather), and 
oue daughter, Hattie M. In the ofQce of the 
commissioner is an excellent portrait of Gov- 
ernor Morton, painted by his little daughter 
when only twelve years of age, without in- 
struction, and is a remarkable production. 
She has since developed unusual taste for art 
and is making rapid progress in her studies. 





ILBERT TOMPKINS, proprietor of the 
Souther Farm, located two miles north- 
east of San Leandro, was born in Oak- 
land, California, the son of the late Hon. Ed- 
ward Tompkins, a well-known attorney and 
member of the State Legislature. Gilbert 
Tompkins was educated at Harvard Univer- 

41 



sity, and three years after leaving college 
bought the San Leandro Reporter^ of which 
paper he was editor and proprietor for about 
two years. In 1889 he sold out to Dr. B. F. 
Mason, and took charge of the farm, which 
demanded his attention. It consists of 312 
acres and is devoted to fruit-culture and 
horse-raising, the latter being the most 
prominent. The following brief summary 
will give some idea of the stock: There are 
four stallions of the best American trotting 
blood. In January, 1887, the proprietor 
brought from Palo Alto the bay stallion 
Figaro. In December, 1887, Jester D. was 
purchased, and in December, 1889, two 
finely- bred sons of the great Electioneer were 
added to the stock of the Souther Farm. 
Glen Fortune and El Benton have the blood 
of the greatest trotting families in the world. 
The brood mares are of much merit. The 
Souther Farm is fitted for almost every 
variety of care and ed ucation of iiorses. Per- 
sonal attention is given to every branch of 
the work, and visitors are always welcome. 
A specialty is made of the care of stock 
owned by Eastern parties, who wish to give 
it the benefit of the California climate to 
assist early maturity and training. 



-*€>-♦♦ 



Sh*^ 



l» M « 




^SAPH CLEVELAND.— Among the 
old and respected pionee^s of Alameda 
county, none are more deserving of 
mention in this or any other historical work 
than the gentleman with whose name we head 
tnis notice. Deep in the heart of the virgin 
forests of Vermont, far up toward the line of 
the Canadian snows, is where A^saph Cleve- 
lan<I first saw the light, August 28, 1820. 
His father, Sylvester Cleveland, was also a 
native of that State. He had nine children, 
of whom our subject was the seventh in order 



122 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC I 800 : 



of birth. He was reared to farm life in 
Eastern Canada, whither his parents had 
moved when he was but a lad. In the fall of 
1849 he started to California, by way of 
Panama, arriving at the port of San Francisco 
March 3 following. Thence he went to Ne- 
vada coanty and spent three years mining 
there; and he also engaged in mining near 
Tuolumne Hill in Calaveras county. In 1855 
he permanently located on Bay Farm Island, 
where he has since resided. He is the owner 
of sixty acres of rich and valuable land, be- 
sides other property in the city of Alameda. 
He established himself in the nursery busi- 
ness, which he followed nine years. His 
property is now devoted to raising vegetables 
almost exolutjively, which he ships to San 
Francisco, where he finds an excellent market 
for his products. 

He was married in Canada, and has had 
four children, three of whom are still living, 
namely : Linda, Winifred and Edwin. 
Thomas died in 1874, at the age of fourteen 
years. 

Politically Mr. Cleveland is a Republican, 
although not active in political matteri*, and 
he is not a member of any secret order. He is 
a gentleman well known in the community, 
and highly respecteJ as a good and worthy 
citizen. 



^^^nyin/o- 



~^-^. 



zarx^y^ 




W. CARD, M. D., whose office is at 
No. 502 Devisedero street, San Fran- 
i^ Cisco, has been a resident of California 
since 1876, and has been engaged in the prac- 
tice of medicine since 1884. He was born 
in Ontario, Canada, in 1861, the son of 
Ebenezer Card, who was formerly engaged in 
mercantile pursuits in Canada, but is now 
engaged in fruit- raising in San Leandro, he 
having purchased a ranch there. The family 



have been residents of Canada for several 
generations. 

Our subject received his education in the 
public schools of his native place, and later 
in the public schools of Port Huron, Michi- 
gan, and in San Francisco. He commenced 
the study of medicine in 1880, under the 
preceptorship of Dr. Theodore Kellogg of 
Los Angeles, with whom he studied for one 
year. In 1881 he entered the Cooper Medi 
cal College of San Francisco, graduating 
there in 1884, after a full three years' course, 
and receiving his degree as Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He entered at once into the practice 
of medicine, being appointed Surgeon for the 
Oceanic Steamship Company, in which service 
he remained two years, being employed on 
the steamship plying between San Francisco 
and Australia. Dr. Card was then appointed 
Surgeon of the Carlisle Gold Mining Com- 
pany, operating in Grant county. New Mexico, 
where he remained for one and a half years. 
He then came to San Francisco, where he 
engaged in private practice in 1887, and 
where he has since continued. Dr. Card is 
a member of the County Medical Society of 
San Francisco, and of the Alumni Associa- 
tion of Cooper Medical College. 







'OHN M. CURTIS.— The American peo- 
ple are, above all others, characterized 
by the individual ambition and self- 
reliance which leads each to set out for him- 
self, fixing the goal of his endeavor upon 
the high limit of accomplishment afforded 
by freedom and equality; the consequence is 
that while a certain portion of what are so 
properly styled " self-made men " will be 
found in every land, nowhere will the pro- 
portion of that better element of the popu- 
lation be found greater than here. It is that 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS . 



128 



class above all others that the American peo- 
ple delight to honor, and most deservedly so, 
for the man of humble origin whose indus- 
try, energy and power have enabled him 
to snrmonnt thosfe drawbacks, and place him- 
self on the same plane with his more favored 
contemporaries, commands our good opinion 
in a higher degree, and proves himself the 
possessor of genuine worth and effective 
capacity. He has been tried and has been 
fonnd worthv. 

The above short statement is a fitting 
preface to the article* which follows, describ- 
ing briefly the life of one who, as much as 
any we know of in San Francisco, is deserv- 
ing of the honor of his fellow-citizens. We 
refer to John M. Curtis, the distinguished 
architect, who owes nothing of his success to 
fortune or birth, but all to his indomitable 
perseverance and indefatigable determination. 
He was born September 7, 1852, at Warsaw, 
Illinois. At an early age he was left an 
orphan, and his early boyhood was spent upon 
a farm in Missouri. He was thrown upon 
his own resources, and his early lessons were 
those of independence and persevering in- 
dustry. He was educated in St. Louis, Mis- 
souri, and evinced great merchanical genius; 
entered into service of Bent & Garrity, lead- 
ing contractors and builders, and afterward 
entered the oflBce of Mitchell & Brady, prom- 
inent architects of that city. 

In 1874 he came to the Pacific coast, and 
since then for the past sixteen years he has 
been prominently identified with the build- 
ing interests as superintendent of the largest 
and finest buildings in the city and on the 
coast, and was assistant architect of Baldwin's 
hotel and theater, and architect of the Sonoma 
county court-house, jail and hall of records, 
jail and hall of records at Ukiah, Mendocino 
county, and Humboldt county court-house, 
the Mutual Relief building, Petaluma; Santa 



Cruz county buildings and jail, the Mam- 
moth winery, corner of Second and Folsom, 
occupied by Messrs. Kohler and Frohling, 
and many others. He is a member of the 
San Francisco Chapter of American Insti- 
tute of Architects, and Treasurer of the 
same; is a member of the Pacific Coast 
Technical Society, and has attained a high 
reputation in his profession. Mr. Curtis is 
prominently identified with the leading 
fraternal societies. He is a member of Mis- 
sion Lodge, JSo. 169, F. & A. M.; California 
Chapter, No. 5; California Council, No. 2; 
California Commandery, No. 1, and Islam 
Temple. Is a member of the I. O. O. F., 
Fidelity, 222, Oriental Encampment, No. 57, 
Uniform Degree, No. 5, and Templar (Re- 
bekah) degree. He holds membership also 
in tlie San Francisco group of Good Samar- 
itans, No. 1, Ivy Chapter, Order of the 
Eastern Star, and is also a stafi* ofiicer of the 
Fifth Regiment, National Guards of Cali- 
fornia. 




ILLIAM GEORGE MARCY, one of 
the eldest and most highly respected 
residents of Alameda, is a son of 
William Larned Marcy, one of the most 
noted statesmen and public officials the Gov- 
ernment of the United States ever possessed. 
The father of William George, a native of 
MassHchnsetts, settled in Troy, New York, 
in the practice of law. He was born De- 
cember 12, 1786; graduated in 1808 at 
Brown University; served as an officer in the 
war of 1812, capturing at St. Regis, Canada, 
the first prisoners and the first flag taken on 
land in the war; became in 1816 the Re- 
CiHcler of Troy, and for a time conducted the 
Troy Budget^ then a leading anti-Federalist 
organ; became in 1820 Adjutant General of 
New York, in 1823 Comptroller, and in 



124 



TnS BAT OF 8 AN FBAN0I8G0: 



1829 Judge of the State Supreme Court; in 
1831 he was elected United States Senator, 
which office he resigned the following year, 
being elected Governor of the State of New 
York. To the latter position he was reelected 
twice, but the fourth time, when] he was a 
candidate, in 1838, he was defeated by Will- 
iam H. Seward. In 1839 President Van 
Buren appointed him Commissioner to adjust 
Mexican claims. In 1845 President Polk 
selected him as Secretary of War, and it was 
during his term of office that the war with 
Mexico occurred, in which he exhibited 
great ability, as well as in the settlement of 
numerous intricate diplomatic questions. In 
1853 President Pierce appointed him Secre- 
tary of State, in which capacity he added to 
his already established reputation as a states- 
man of a high order. Many of his State 
papers were masterly productions. On the 
inauguration of President Buchanan, Mr. 
Marcy retired from public life. He died at 
J^allston Spa, New York, July 4, 1857. 
About the time he was elected Governor of 
New York, or shortly previous, he was a 
member of the Albany Regency, an organ- 
ization of great political influence in both 
State and national affairs. 

He was married twice. For his first wife 
he wedded, in September, 1812, Miss Dolly 
Newell, of Southbridge, Massachusetts, by 
whom he had two sons: Samuel, a captain in 
the United States navy, who was killed dur- 
iDif the war of the Rebellion while in com- 
mand ofthe U. S. ship Vincenues; and William 
George, whose name heads this biographical 
history. Mrs. Marcy died March 6, 1821. 
For his second wife, Mr. Mircy married Cor- 
nelia Knower, of Albany, and they had one 
son, Edmond, who died early in life, of con- 
sumption; and one daughter, Cornelia, also 
deceased. The second Mrs. Marcy died Feb- 
ruary 8, 1889. 



Secretary Marcy 's career was a noted one 
for its brilliancy and world-wide celebrity 
His intellectual power and statesmanship 
were extraordinary, appearing, indeed, as 
prominent as the corresponding qualities of 
those great contemporaries, Clay, Webster, 
Jackson, Van Buren, Calhoun, etc. It is to 
his courage and decision of pnrpose that all 
naturalized citizens owe their protection by 
this Government against the country of their 
birth. In the famous Koszta case he demon- 
strated that a person who has once declared 
his intention to becogie a citizen of the 
United States is entitled to all the protections 
that the Government can give to any citizen; 
and lie declared that all the power of the 
Government should be exerted to protect him. 
This principle has been the ground of action 
in all subsequent cases, and it is now the 
recognized rule between the United States 
and all other nations. 

Mr. William G. Marcy, the subject of this 
biographical outline, was born in Troy, New 
York, October 18, 1818. After finishing 
his education he engaged in the banking 
business in Albany and New York city. At 
the age of twenty -one years he was made pay- 
ing teller of the Bank of Commerce in New 
York, at that time the largest bank in the 
United States. In 1846 he was commissioned 
a Captain in the Commissary Department of 
the United States army, and was appointed 
to duty with the First Regiment of New York 
Volunteers (Colonel Stevenson's regiment), 
and accompanied it to this State, arriving at 
San Francisco March 20, 1847. Monterey be- 
ing the military headquarters, he was sta- 
tioned there in charge of the Commissary 
and Quartermaster's departments until the 
termination ofthe Mexican war. 

When the first State Convention aasembled, 
at Monterey, he was elected withoat opposi- 
tion its Secretary, the duties of which he per- 



ira CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



123 



formed so admirably as to meet the high 
commendation of its members. He was 
afterward associated with Washington Bart- 
lett, late Governor of California, and others 
in the first State printing in California. In 
1853 he was appointed Paymaster in the 
United States navy, which position he filled 
for seventeen years, seeing service in various' 
parts of the world. One of his craises was 
made in the old frigate Cumberland, when 
she was the flag ship of the African squad- 
ron. This vessel, as will be remembered, 
was sunk during the late civil war by the 
Confederate iron-clad Merrimac in Hamp- 
ton Roads, her crew firing a broadside while 
she was siiiking. 

Since his retirement from public service 
Mr. Marcy has been engaged in business in 
San Francisco until within a few years. He 
resides in Alameda, where he is personally 
very highly esteemed. May 2, 1881, he was 
elected a Trustee of Alameda and served one 
term. He is a member of the Society of 
California Pioneers. 

He was married, November, 1842, to Miss 
Catharine Forman Thompson, daughter of 
Demise Forman Thompson and Eliza Knott, 
and granddaughter of Thomas Thompson and 
Jane Forman, and great-granddaughter of 
John Forman and Jane De Nise,of Freehold, 
Monmouth county, New Jersey. Thomas 
Thompson, his grandfather, served in the 
Revolutionary war, and was one of the largest 
landholders in Monmouth county. He and 
his family were members of the Episcopal 
Church of Freehold. 




B. POND, Mayor of San Francisco, is 
a native of the Empire State, born 
^ September 7, 1833. His ancestors 
were among the earliest settlers of this coun- 




try, coming only fifteen to twenty years after 
the landing of the Mayflower. Mayor Pond's 
grandfather took part in the Revolutionary 
struggle, participating in the battles of 
Braudywine, Germantown and others. His 
son, the father of the subject of this sketch, 
was the Rev. Charles Pond, of Oneida county, 
New York, who died in 1876. His wife, nee 
Abigail Bates^, was a native of New York 
State. They had eight children. 

Mayor Pond, the youngest of four sons, 
received his education in his native State, 
preparing for college, but did not enter it. 
Upon his reaching manhood the great gold 
discoveries in California were attracting the 
attention of the civilized world, and he made 
the journey across the plains in 1854, settling 
at Chico, Butte county, and remained there 
until 1867, when he removed to San Fran- 
cisco. Here for many years he was the 
head of the prominent wholesale house of 
Pond & Eleynolds. Subsequently he became 
prominently identified with the grain trade — 
buying, shipping and exporting grain and 
banking — and while thus engaged, in the 
fall of 1888, he was elected a member of the 
Board of Supervisors. After serving two 
years, in 1884 he was again nominated and 
re-elected for a second term. At the expira- 
tion of his four years, in 1886, he received 
the nomination for Mayor, and was elected 
by a very large majority, receiving in a great 
degree the support of business men of both 
parties. His administration was so accept- 
able — after serving two years — that in 1888 
he was re- nominated and elected for a second 
term. His administration has been safe, con- 
servative and progressive, and he has brought 
to the position as head of the city govern- 
ment, a high standard of ability and ex- 
perience; and the opinion prevails that he is 
worthy of still higher honors. He is a 
a director in the San Francisco Savings 



136 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Union, one of the strongest and safest finan- 
cial institutions on the Pacific coast, and 
other commercial and manufacturing enter- 
prises. 

Mayor Pond is happily situated in his 
domestic relations. In the fall of 1861 he 
was united in marriage to Miss Sarah McNeil, 
of the State of Ohio, and of Scotch descent. 
They have two sons, the elder a graduate 
of the Yale College, and the younger now 
in school. 




iARY B. WEST.— There is no educa- 
cational institution on the Pacific 
coast of higher standing and better 
known than is Miss West's School for 
Girls. It was established by her on Rincon 
Hill, in 1872, but after three years it was re- 
moved to a more central location, and in a 
more commodious building on Sutter street. 
Here for nine years the school grew and 
prospered, and in 1884 it was removed to 
Van Ness avenue, and remained there until 
1890, when Miss West perfected her plans to 
erect and occupy a large building arranged 
specially for the accommodation of her pupiU. 
As a result, upon the opening of the school 
year, September, 1890, she occupied the large 
doable building, No. 2014 Van Ness avenue, 
built from her own plans and under her own 
direction. The building, which is four 
stories high, is all occupied for school pur- 
poses. The second and tbird floors are for 
the various class and recitation rooms, the 
fourth floor being used as a studio, and for 
the accommodation of ten boarding pupils; 
the basement is finished for a gymnasium, and 
completely equipped, being under the control 
of the Professor of Physical Culture in the 
University of California. This is one of the 
finest educational institutions in the country. 
In the erection and arrangement of the whole 



building particular attention was given to 
sanitary features and ventilation, introducing 
latest and most approved methods. The 
building with its equipment is said to be 
one of the most commodious and complete in 
its detail of all private schools iu the coun- 
try. Miss West issues a pamphlet circular, 
giving the regulations, names of instructors, 
courses of study, etc., of the school, with the 
names of a few prominent, first-class men 
who are patrons. 

Miss West, to whose ability, accomplish- 
ments and untiring effort is due the pro- 
nounced success of this school, is a daughter 
of New England, a native of the grand old 
commonwealth of Massachusetts. She re- 
ceived her education in her native State, being 
a graduate of Wheaton Seminary, one of the 
most noted educational institutions in the 
country. 




OHN LEWIS BROMLEY, real-estate 
agent, of Oakland, was born in Balti- 
more, Maryland, December 24, 1820, a 
son of Lewis and Ann Catherine (Irons) 
Bromley. His mother, who was born in 
Hampton, Maryland, in 1800, of a family 
originally English and long established in 
that State, was married in 1819. His grand- 
mother, by birth a Miss Scott, of Elk Ridge, 
Maryland, was brought up as a Hicksito 
Quaker, and lived to the age of about seventy 
years, and Mr. Irons also reached an ad- 
vanced age. William Bromley, the great- 
grandfather of John L., was from Nine Part- 
ners, New York, born in 1719, and in 1770 
moved to "^^ermont. He is on record as 
Town Clerk of Dan by, Vermont, 1776 to 
1780; as a member of the Committee of 
Safety in 1777; Selectman in 1781; Town 
Treasurer, 1783 to 1785. He died in 1803 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



127 



aged eij^hty-fonr, his wife dying a few jeard 
earlier, also at an advanced age. 

Of the patriotism of the Bromley family 
and their military ardor, interesting evidence 
is preserved in the roaster roll of a company 
of militia at Danby Corners, in the war of 
1812, in which twelve of that name appear 
on record. John, a son of William, born also 
in New York, was married in Vermont, to 
Eliza Palmer, a native of that State, who died 
comparatively young. After her death the 
husband, who dealt in horses and cattle and 
sometimes conducted droves as far south as 
Virginia, settled in Maryland, becoming 
known as John Bromley of Mt. Savage, 
Maryland; he lived to the age of seventy. 
His son Lewis, the father of him whose 
name heads this sketch, was born in Ver- 
mont, moved to Maryland, and was married 
in Baltimore, 1819, to A. C. Irons. Of their 
children two are on this coast — John L., of 
Oakland, and Washington L., a merchant of 
San Francisco. 

Mr. Bromley, our subject, completed his 
school days in an academic course in his na- 
tive city, being a pupil of three distinguished 
educators of that day — Professors Cooper, 
Post and Reese. From the age of seventeen 
to twenty he was clerk in a wholesale gro- 
cery house, and in his twonty-first year en- 
gaged in the grain and feed business on his 
own account, continuing in that line some 
three years. lie then went to farming, 
chiefly stock-raising, on land he owned in 
Virginia, amounting finally to about 500 
acres. 

In 1846 he enlisted in the Mexican war, 
becoming Orderly Sergeant in the Four- 
teenth Regiment, and was amiy'.ig the first to 
enter the city of Mexico. Wounded in the 
service, he returned home in 1848, and has 
now for some years been a pensioner of that 
war. 



Before the close of 1848 he engaged in 
business in Baltimore, in the firm of Rut- 
ledge, Bromley & Co., foreign and domestic 
commission merchants. Selling out his in- 
terest in 1852, he came to California, by way 
of Cape Horn, arriving in San Francisco in 
May, 1853. He then entered the produce 
firm of Booth & Co., remaining till 1854, 
when he moved to Contra Costa county, buy- 
ing some 128 acres, afterward increased to 
400 acres, of the Mt. Diablo ranch, between 
Concord and Clayton, which he still owns. 
Engaged chiefly in stock-raising, he resided 
in that county until 1873, enjoying the con- 
fidence of the community, as shown by his 
election and appointment on various occa- 
sions to offices of trust and honor. He served 
as Justice of the Peace and Associate Justice 
of the Court of Sessions two years, Super- 
visor three years, and Assessor by appoint- 
ment for an unexpired term, about 1861. In 
1873 he settled in Oakland, mainly with a 
view to securing a higher education for his 
children. Since comino; here he has chiefly 
been engaged in real estate, often as Joint 
Commissioner on opening streets, appraising 
estates, and was a member of the Committee 
on the New Charter. 

He has been married three times: first, at 
the age of twenty- three, to a lady who died 
leaving no children, fifty-one weeks after her 
marriage. In 1848 he was again married, 
his second wife dying in child-birth, fifty- 
three weeks after marriage, and leaving no 
children. In 1851 Mr. Bromley married, in 
Baltimore, Miss Anna Levering, who was 
born in that city in 1829, a daughter of 
William and Susan (Hall) Levering, natives 
of Maryland, and died in Baltimore, at an ad- 
vanced age. Mr. Bromley's children, all but 
two born in Contra Costa county, are: Will- 
iam Lewis, born in Baltimore, May 30, 
1852, died in Oakland in 1883; Thomas, 



128 



THE BAN OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



born Febrnary 1, 1854, now a topograpliical 
engineer and artist of Oakland; Anna Cath- 
erine, born in San Francisco, April 17, 1855; 
Robert Innie, born January 24, 1857, now a 
pljysician and surgeon of Sonora, California; 
Martha Maryland, born October 16, 1858; 
Joseph Hall, born in 1860, died in his ninth 
year; Ella Virginia, born in 1862, died in 
her third year; Walter Frederick, born in 
1863, also died in childhood; Marion, born 
March 22, 1865, now a student in the Uni- 
verpity of California; Virginia, bom February 
5, 1867; and Roscoe Palmer, May 29, 1869. 
Mrs. Bromley's father was born in Philadel- 
phia, and died young. His father, Peter 
Levering, was a native of the same city. 

Mr. Bromley has been endowed with a re- 
markable vigor of body and mind, which 
give fair promise of adding several years of 
usefulness to the three-score years and ten 
already reached. Apparently a frail man of 
small frame, he has been sick but one day in 
more than forty years. Mrs. Bromley also 
is in full possession of her mental faculties 
and bodily powers. 



' — *»« «i 



S'4Mf 



' %^ »o> -. 




ILLIAM J. BLATTNER, the popu- 
^ lar and efficient County Clerk, San 
V ^EoM Francisco, was born and reared in 
tliis city. His people came here in 1851. 
and entered business. His father was a 
native of Switzerland, and naturally, coming 
from that old-time Republic, he found our 
institutions most congenial to his liberal 
ideas. His son he sent to our public schools 
and afterward to St. Mary's College. 

After completing his studies Mr. Blattner 
was engaged by a firm in the produce busi- 
ness. In 1882 he was tendered a political 
position and concluded to accept it. This 
was in the County Clerk's office, under Mr. 



Sesnon. He gained experience there ot 
great benefit to him now. In 1885 he was 
also in the County Clerk's office, under Mr. 
Ruddick. For a year and a half be was 
cashier in the Tax Collector's office during 
Mr. Wad ham's term. He was for two years 
Chief Deputy in the Recorder's office under 
Mr. Russell, the late Recorder. From hie 
familiarity with the routine of work in the 
County Clerk's office Mr. Blattner ia well 
qualified tor his present position. 

As a Republican he has done excellent 
service for his party. He was Secretary of 
the Republican County Committee for four 
years, and showed every energy in properly 
discharging all the onerous duties of that 
position. Except to Pacific Parlor of the 
Native Son?, he belongs to few societies. 

Mr. Blattner is a man of quick perception, 
good judgment, and strong individuality of 
character, and, considering the marked suc- 
cess he has already attained, he certainly has 
a bright future before him. 

UGUST JOHNSON, of San Leandro, 
was born in Finland, May 2, 1818, the 
son of John and Justin Johnson, who 
had a family of eleven children. The par- 
ents were very poor, and it is said that the 
father never had $5 at once in all his life, 
and the children had no educational advan- 
tages whatever. August started out in the 
world for himself at the age of nine years. 
He took care of stock on a farm until he was 
eighteen years of age, and then commenced 
to learn the tanners' trade, at which he served 
only six months. He then went to sea, and 
his first experience as a seafaring man was as 
cook on a vessel which sailed to Amsterdam. 
On this vessel he made two trips, and after- 
ward went as an ordinary seaman to the 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR 8UB0EBS. 



139 



Mediterranean on the ship Abo, and thence 
to Liverpool with wheat from Leghorn. He 
ran away from his ship, and was an able sea- 
man on an English ship going to St. Johns, 
New Brunswick, and then shipped on the 
brig Halifax to the West Indies, New York 
and Hnlifax. They then sailed for Liverpool 
and were cast away on the Irish coast, reach- 
ing Liverpool by steamer. Mr. Johnson 
then shipped on a Scotch brig to Russia, re- 
turning to Hull, England, and from there by 
land back to Liverpool. He then made a 
trip to the East Indies, which was a hard 
voyage, as they ran short of provisions and 
had only " hard tack " for many days. At 
St. Helena they obtained some rice and man- 
aged to live until they returned to Liverpool 
Mr. Johnson's next trip was to Savannah 
Georgia, then from New York to Liverpool ^ 
sailing on the coast of America, and was 
second mate for a period of seven years. In 
all he has followed the sea for fifteen years, 
and was one of the few who thoroughly 
understood the laws of navigation. 

In the spring of 1850 he came as a passen- 
ger from New York city to San Francisco, 
via Cape Horn, having a very tedious pas- 
sage, and landing May 3, 1851. When off 
Cape Horn they were swept far south of the 
cape, everything on the deck being swept 
away; the vessel sprung a leak, and they 
were put back to Montevideo for repairs. 
After seven weeks they sailed again and 
reached San Francisco on May 3, in time to 
witneBB from their ship the burning of the 
city in the year 1851. In New York Mr. 
Johnson bought a small boat on the ship, 
thinking he might follow fishing, but not 
being favorably impressed with the outlook 
he sailed up the Sacramento river to Marys- 
ville, and followed mining about three 
months. He afterward moved to Yreka, and 
engaged in the lumber business. He then 



went, via Yuba City, to San Francisco, where 
he met an old friend from New York, with 
whom he went in partnership on a ranch on 
the Estudillo grant. After one year he 
bought out his partner's interest for $1,500; 
the land was a squatter's claim, and Mr. 
Johnson had to pay $30 an acre to compro- 
mise, after a five year's lawsuit. His first 
purchase was 160 acres, but he subsequently 
bought 40 more, and for fifteen years he 
farmed this land very successfully. Eight 
years ago he sold one half of this ranch, and 
twenty-three years ago be bought three acres 
in San Leandro, on which he erected a tine 
residence where he has since lived. 

Mr. Johneon has been married three times: 
first in 1856, to Miss Jane Coleman, a native 
of Alabama, who died ten months later. In 
1867 he married Sophronia Young, a native 
of Ohio, and by this marriage there was three 
children: Fred A.., who died at the age of 
twenty-three years; Frank E., who died at 
the age of eight months; and Frances J., 
wife of S. W. Johnson, of Vacaville. In 1882 
the mother died, and May 27, 1883, Mr. 
Johnson married Sarah Bibber, a native of 
Bath, Maine. 

We have thus briefly outlined the life of 
one of Alameda county's pioneers, and one 
of her best citizens. As a business man he 
has been eminently successful. He is a 
thorough self-made man, having been on his 
own resources from the age of nine years. 
He is an adherent of the Spiritual denom- 
ination. 

J. WELSH, architect, San Francisco, 
although a comparatively young man, 
^ has been identified with the building 
interests of this city for the past sixteen 
years, and has won a prominent place in his 
profession. He came to the Pacific const 




130 



THB BAY OF SAN FRAN 01 SCO: 



during childhood, learued the trade of car- 
penter and joiner in the practical department 
of building, and entered the office of Kenit- 
zer & Farquharson, who were among the 
oldest and most prominent architects on the 
coast, and here he acquired his professional 
education. After opening an office for him- 
self he secured a desirable class of work, has 
designed some of the line buildings and res- 
idences in the city and has built up a large 
business. He holds the position of architect 
for the Board of Education, and is at present 
erecting the Girls' High School building, and 
is also architect of the new cathedral. 

Mr. Welsh is President of the San Fran- 
cisco Mutual Loan Association, and also of 
the Oakland and San Francisco Loan Asso- 
ciation and other organizations, either as 
stockholder only or in the board of manage- 
ment, and is prominently identified with the 
benevolent societies of the city. He began 
life a poor boy and his success is owing to his 
own efforts. 



*»■» *i 



SH«f-| 



l> <— 




J. DODGE, senior member of the 
firm of Pollard & Dodge, manu- 
•^ facturers and wholesale dealers in lum- 
ber, shingles, posts, bark, etc., and shipping 
and commission merchants; office. No. 3 
Stewart street, San Francisco. This firm 
was established in 1883, and is one of the 
substantial lumber firms of San Francisco. 
Their immense trade in redwood, which is a 
specialty, is not confined to this State alone, 
but extends also throughout the entire Pa- 
cific coast, they having five steamers engaged 
in the coast trade. 

The subject of our sketch, Mr. E. J. 
Dodge, was born in the old town of Henni- 
ker. New Hampshire, in 1836, the eighth in 
order of birth in a family of ten children. 



The parents were Israel P. and Ann i (Con- 
nor) Dodge, the father a native of Massachu- 
setts. His ancestors emigrated to America 
in the sixteenth century. Mr. Dodge's great- 
grandfather was a patriot soldier of the Rev- 
olutionary war. The mother was born in 
New Hampshire; her ancestry were among 
the early settlers of that State. She died in 
1843, when our subject was a mere lad, the 
father surviving until 1890, at the age of 
eighty-nine years. 

Mr. Dodge passed his boyhood on his 
father's farm. In 1853 he went to sea and 
followed it until 1836, when he returned 
home and remained amid the haunts of his 
boyhood until 1861; then he came to Gali- 
fornia and located in Amador county, where 
he engaged in mining and various pursuits 
until 1865. Then he went to Humboldt 
county, engaging in mercantile pursuits and 
establishing the first business in that line in 
the now thriving town of Ferndale, where he 
was Postmaster for ten years. In 1877 he 
went to Santa Ana, Los Angeles county, and 
built the first brick building in that flourish- 
ing city. The following year Mr. Russ; his 
former partner, desired him to join the firm 
of Russ & Co., and take charge of the com- 
pany's business at San Francisco, which he 
did, and remained with that firm about four 
years, when a change was made by connecting 
the firm with a foreign syndicate. Mr. 
Dodge, not approving this move, retired 
from the firm. The connection referred to 
did prove financially a success to Mr. Russ. 
After doing business alone for a year Mr. 
Dodge formed a partnership with Mr. Pol- 
lard, under the style mentioned. For the 
past twelve years he has resided at 2,018 Al- 
ameda avenue, one of the most pleasant and 
charming suburbs of San Francisco. He is 
also officially connected with the Eel River 
Valley Luml>er Company, being now its 



ITS OITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



181 



president. The mills of this company are 
situated in Eel river valley, Hnmboldt county, 
and manufacture redwood exclusively. 

In his domestic affairs Mr. Dodge is de- 
cidedly a home man, rarely leaving home ex- 
cept when required by business. He has 
been married three times and has four 
children. 

• Politically he is a Republican and a 
staunch advocate of temperance. 

During his seafaring life Mr. Dodge vis- 
ited many parts of the world, among which 
may be mentioned the Azores Islands, the 
island of Juan Fernandez, almost all parts 
of South America, Mexico," Sandwich Islands 
and parts of Asia. He is a thorough Cali- 
fornian and proud of the progress of his 
adopted State and of the position she takes 
among her sister States of this glorious 
Union. 

S ' ^"^ * S) **' 




YRON MAUZY, one of the most en- 
terprising music dealers of San Fran- 
cisco, is the subject of the following 
brief biographical sketch. He was born and 
reared in the State of Indiana, and received 
his edncation there. In 1876 he came to 
California, and entered the old and well- 
known music house of Kohler & Chase, where 
he remained some years. In 1883 he em- 
barked in the music trade in a small way on 
his own account, his store being located on 
Post street; there he conducted a growing 
bnsiness for more than three years, when to 
meet the demands of his patrons he removed 
to the commodious quarters he now occupies, 
Nos. 308, 310, 312 and 314 Post street, in 
the Pacific Union Club building; there he has 
a frontage of fifty-four feet, and a depth of 
125 feet, the finest location of any music 
house in the city. Mr. Mauzy here has a 
large show and sales room which is in every 



way suited to his necessities. He has the 
agency for the Pacific coast of four leading 
manufacturers of pianos : the celebrated 
Sohmer & Co., Chase Brothers, Hallett & 
Cumston, and Newby & Evans; also the Pal- 
ace reed and pipe organs, and the Hook & 
Hastings pipe organs. He carries a large 
stock of what is termed small goods, which 
includes various kinds of musical instru- 
ments. 

The Sohmer piano has rapidly grown in 
public favor, and this house has constantly 
increasing demands for this popular instru- 
ment A very attractive feature of Mr. 
Mauzy's house is the fortnightly concerts 
which he introduced three years ago. He was 
the first to inaugurate this class of entertain- 
ment, securing the best musical talent and 
attracting the lovers of music from all over 
the city. Much has been done in this way 
to cultivate the musical taste and elevate the 
standard. Mr. Mauzy's rooms are excellently 
suited to this sort of gathering, and the in- 
vitation he so heartily extends is just as 
heartily accepted. Through his ability and 
energy he has made his business a marked 
success, a fact all the more creditable in con- 
sideration of the strong competition he has 
been obliged to meet. It might be mentioned 
in this, connection that Mr. Mauzy has just 
secured the contract for placing the Sohmer 
and Newby & Evans pianos in the gr^at '*Le- 
land Stand ford, Jr., University." He also 
supplied the large Chapel " Palace" organ. 



■ <•» • ! 



2o"t - S 



l> M > - 




ENNIE ENSIGN BARROW, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 634, Sutter street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1888, and ha sbeen engaged in 
the practice of medicine since 1870. She was 
eajly born in New York city in 1845, and her 



182 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



edncation was received in the public schools 
of that city, and later under private tutorship. 
She commenced the study of medicine in 
1865, entering the Woman's Homeopathic 
College, New York, and graduating at that in- 
stitution in 1868, receiving her degree as 
Doctor of Medicine. She then entered the 
New York Eclectic Medical College, where 
she was graduated in 1889, and again received 
the degrree as Doctor of Medicine. Being a 
lady of means. Dr. Barrow established the 
first Free Homeophatic Woman's Dispensary, 
and practiced for some years gratuitously 
among the poor of New York. She estab- 
lished at dififerent times six free dispensaries 
in New York city and one at Yonkers, it 
costing her at one time $300 per month in 
this work. She practiced medicine in New 
York until 1888, when she removed to Cali- 
fornia, and has since been practicing in San 
Francisco. 

Dr. Barrow is a member of the State 
Homeopathic Society of New York State, 
and of the National Institute of Homeopa- 
thy. She has not yet identified herself with 
any of the medical societies of the Pacific 
coast. The Doctor intends to establish in 
San Francisco a free dispensary on the basis 
of those established by her in New York. 
She makes a specialty of the treatment of the 
diseases of women and children. She uses 
static electricity as well as the resources of 
the materia medica in the treatment of dis- 
eases, possessing the only Holtz machine now 
in use on the Pacific coast. 



M l t\ 



2 - i"i ' S 



i> <■> 



F. HAMILTON, of the firm of Percy 
& Hamilton, architects, San Francisco, 
^ is a native of New England. He re- 
ceived his education and studied architecture 
in the city of Boston, where he remained un- 




til 1875, when he came to the Pacific coast, 
and since then for the past fifteen years has 
been prominently identified with the archi- 
tectural and building interests of the city and 
State. Among the many prominent and sub- 
stantial structures designed and erected by 
the well-known firm, are the magnificent 
building of the Academy of Sciences, the 
First Unitarian Church, the Omnibus & Ca- 
ble Company's buildings, the play-house at 
Golden Gate Park, Leland Stanford, Jr.'s 
Museum at Palo Alto, several large apartment 
houses, Insane Asylum at Stockton, and many 
others. The firm of Percy & Hamilton have 
taken a leading position in the profession and 
enjoy an enviable reputation. 



^^^ 




H. ROSEWALD was born in the city 
of Baltimore, Maryland, in 1842. He 
was reared and educated in his native 
city. Early developing a talent fyr music, 
he began and pursued his musical studies 
there. In 1865 he went to Europe and stud- 
ied under Edmund Singer at the Stuttgart 
Conservatory of Music, and under other 
noted teachers, and after passing a rigid ex- 
amination was appointed concert master at 
Mayence Upon his return to America he 
was concert master of the Peabody Institute 
Orchestra under Asger Hamerick, then served 
in the same capacity with the Strakosc^i 
Opera Company, and as solo violinist with 
Materna, Gerster and Marie Roze, and was 
conductor of the Emma Abbott English 
Opera Company. He now has a large class 
of pupils in San Francisco, and, with his tal- 
ented wife, Madam Julia Rosewald, occupies 
a leading position in this city, as conductor 
and solo violinist. 

Madam Julia Rosewald was born in Stutt- 
gart, of a family that was shown much favor 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



183 



on accoant of their musical ability. She re- 
ceived her musical education at the Conserv- 
atory of Stuttgart and the Royal Theater 
School of the same place, since which time 
and previous to her permanent location in 
San Francisco with her husband she enjoyed 
a successful connection with the operatic 
stage of tlie old country under management 
that sought only the highest talent. Her suc- 
cess as the original Filina in this city will be 
remembered. The well-known success of her 
pupils, the latest being Miss Marie Barnard) 
the soprano of the Mendelssohn Quintet 
Club of Boston, and Mrs. Carrie Millzner 
Hamilton of the Bostonians. A text-book, 
entitled, "How shall I Practice," just pub- 
lished, evidences superior culture and research, 
and is a complete guarantee of her success as 
a teacher. Both she and her husband are 
widely known and are deservedly popular. 

EORGE DOWN IE, of San Leandro, was 
born in Edinburg, Scotland, in 1830, 
receiving his education in the common 
schools. In 1853 he sailed for the United 
States, and for four years after landing he 
worked at the milling business in New York 
city. In 1857 he went back to Scotland on 
a visit, but remained only two months, and 
then went to Australia, where he followed 
the milling business three years. In 1860 
he came to San Francisco, remaining only a 
short lime in the metropolis and then came 
to the Sacramento valley, where he was en- 
gaged in the same business ten years. After- 
ward he was a partner with Jacob Samm, in 
a mill in Oakland for four years. Mr. Downie 
then went' to Salinas, and bought a small mill, 
which he ran three years. While there he 
made the discovery which has made him fa- 
mous the world over; this is known as Dow- 




nie's Eucalyptus Oil, for the prevention and 
removal of scale in steam boilers. A brief 
statement of the manner of his discovery is 
as follows: 

While running his mill in Salinas, Monte- 
rey county, he was accustomed to filtering 
the water, which contained large quantities 
of alkali, through straw. One day, not being 
able to get any straw, he used a quantity of 
eucalyptus leaves, and to his surprise the 
water thus filtered took the scale from the 
boiler. He subsequently made a study of it, 
and to-day the huge boilers used in the 
steamers of the Atlantic, and indeed all 
waters, are kept free from scale by the ui?e of 
Downie's Encalyptus Oil. In 1884 he ob- 
tained a patent in the United States, and has 
subsequently received patents from nearly all 
the countries in the world. In 1887 Mr. 
Downie came to San Leandro, and bought his 
residence property on Hay wards avenue. 
Here he has erected a fine residence, where 
he expects to spend the remainder of his life. 
He was married in 1869, to Miss Mary 
Driver, a native of Scotland. Socially Mr. 
Downie is a member of the Masonic order, 
Eden Lodge, No. 113. He has served as 
Trustee of San Leandro, and is an intelligent 
supporter of the Republican party. 




AMES GILLERAN.— This gentleman 
has been a resident of San Francisco for 
over twenty years. He is emphatically 
a self-made man. Coming here as a laborer, 
he has risen step by step to a position of 
wealth and influence. A brief review of his 
life is as follows: 

Mr. Gilleran was born in Ireland of good 
ancestry, and at the age of six years came to 
this country, receiving a good education in 
the excellent schools of Massachusetts. Hav- 



134 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



ing been educated and brought up in this 
country, he is a thoroughly patriotic Ameri- 
can. After leaving school he served an 
apprenticeship to the trade of moulder at 
Worcester, Massachusetts, subsequently lo- 
cating in Minnesota and remaining there four 
years. He came to San Francisco in 1871, 
and worked at his trade of moulder for some 
years. By industry and economy he saved 
enough from his earnings to become proprie- 
tor in 1877 of the Winchester House. In 
1885 he became proprietor of the Windsor 
Hotel, corner Fifth and Market streets, and 
has since conducted that well-known hostelry. 

Mr. Gilleran has occupied many important 
positions, always conscientiously performing 
the duties entrusted to him. He was ap- 
pointed administrator of the estate of Gresh- 
am P. Jessup, and is still serving in that 
position, giving a bond of $85,000 for the 
faithful performance of his duty. In politics 
he is a Republican. In 1884 he was elected 
Supervisor from the Tenth Ward, and tilled 
that responsible office with credit to himself 
and benefit to the city. In the fall of 1890 
he was elected to the office of Superintendent 
of Streets for the city of San Francisco, and 
is proving himself a most efficient officer. 

In social life Mr. Gilleran's genial quali- 
ties have won him hosts of friends. He has 
held offices of honor and trust in several fra- 
ternal societies. He is an officer of the A. 
O. U. W., Chosen Friends, Society of Old 
Friends, an honorary member of the Forest- 
ers and a member of the Knights of St. 
Patrick. 



ILLIAM SMITH O'BRIEN, attor- 
ney at law and Clerk of the Police 
Court of Oakland, was born in San 
Francibco, April 18, 1859, a son of Terrence 
and Bridget (Moore) O'Brien, both natives 




of Ireland and brought up in the United 
States from their youth. The mother, born 
in 1820, is still living; her grandfather, James 
Moore, a farmer by occupation, reached the 
remarkable age of 110 years, and longevity is 
otherwise marked in the family. Grandfather 
O'Brien, a member of the historic family of 
that name, located for many generations in 
the county of Clare, Ireland, and related to 
the late William Smith O'Brien, at one time 
a member of the British Parliament and the 
leader of the young Ireland party in 1848, 
died about 1831, leaving two sons: Terrence, 
the father of our subject, and an elder 
brother, who afterward came to America and 
settled in Peoria, Illinois. The late W. W. 
O'Brien, a prominent attorney of that city 
and afterward of Chicago, was a son of the 
elder brother. Terrence O'Brien was ap- 
prenticed to the trade of carpenter in his 
youth and came to America soon after the 
expiration of his apprenticeship, locating in 
New Orleans, where he was married. He 
left that city in 1849 for California, arriving 
on this coast in the spring of 1850. He did 
some mining, but soon settled down to his 
trade of carpenter and builder in San Fran- 
cisco, which he carried on for twenty years, 
chiefly in this city, though a resident of 
Oakland during most of that time. He died 
in 1871, leaving two sons and two daughters 
who still survive: W. S., the subject of this 
sketch; Edward Francis, now a plumber and 
contractor of Monterey, having two children, 
William Smith and Mary Ellen. The daugh- 
ters of Mr. and Mrs. Terrence O'Brien are 
Jennie and Mary Ellen. Besides . these four 
children they had eleven others, who all died 
in infancy. 

W. S. O'Brien was educated in one of the 
public schools in Oakland to the age of thir- 
teen; then in St. Joseph's Academy, and 
afterward took a collegiate course in the 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS: 



185 



Sacred Heart College in San Francisco. In 
1875 he entered the law office of Montgoin- 
ery & Martin in that citj, remaining six 
years. In 1882 he was appointed deputy 
County Clerk and detailed as Clerk of the 
probate department of the Superior Court 
of Alameda county, serving two years. 
Meanwhile he was admitted to the bar of 
the Supreme Court, in 1883. In 1885 he 
entered the ofBce of the Public Adminis- 
trator as Assistant Attorney, and in 1887 
practiced law for a short time. Before the 
close of 1887 he received the appointment of 
United States Deputy Collector of Internal 
Revenue, which he held until he took his 
present position of Clerk of the Police Court 
in April, 1889. Mr. O'Brien is a charter 
member of Oakland Lodge, No. 171, of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

^*-i^ 




N. BLOOD, D.D. S., whose office is 
at the northwest corner of Sixteenth 
^ and Valencia streets, San Francisco, 
was born in Plumas county, California, in 
1861, and has been engaged in the practice 
of dentistry since 1883. His early education 
was received in the schools of his native 
county and later in one of the business col- 
leges in San Francisco. 

He commenced the study of dentistry 
under the preceptorship of Dr. H. J. Plom- 
teaux of Oakland, and while with him entered 
the College of Dentistry of the University of 
California, graduating from that institution 
in 1888, in the first class which underwent 
the full course of two years' training. He at 
once engaged in his profession in the same 
office he now occupies. Dr. Blood was one 
of the original members of the " California 
State Odontological Society," which j^rocured 
the legislation governing the practice of 



dentistry in this State. His family are of 
English descent, the originators of the fam- 
ily in this country being among the early 
settlers of Massachusetts. 

Dr. Blood's father, J. N. Blood, Sr., was 
born at Rochester, New York, but moved 
with his parents to Illinois at an early age. 
From there he emigrated to California in 
1852, the trip across the plains being his 
wedding journey. With his young bride he 
settled in Marysville, but after three years' 
residence there he moved to Plumas, where 
he continued to deal extensively in mining 
and cattle-raising until his death in 1879. 



-^^y^nfl/b 




—•^^ — 'Z/l/T/i^'^ 



S. BUSH, well known in business as 
well as political circles in San Fran- 
>^ Cisco, a man of successful business ex- 
perience on the Pacific coast, is a native of 
West Virginia, born October 81, 1835, a son 
of Jacob and Elizabeth Bush. He attended 
school during his early boyhood. Before he 
reached manhood the country was filled with 
stories of the great gold discovery in Cali- 
fornia, and at the age of seventeen years he 
with six others started across the plains for 
the land of gold. They went by steamer 
from Racine, on the Ohio river, to St. 
Joseph, Missouri, and outfitted at St Louis 
and St. Joseph. Their route overland was 
via Platte river, Sweetwater, Salt Lake, 
Humboldt, Carson, and brought up in Cali- 
fornia at Hangtown or Placerville, on Sep- 
tember 19, 1853. 

He went to the mines and remained there 
six years, with average miners' luck — at 
times successful and again unsuccessful, 
making money and spending it in prospect- 
ing. At the end of that time he went to 
Washington Territory and engaged in stock- 
raising, had a large farm and drove cattle 



l:^ 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



across the inonntains and plains to Cheyenne. 
The last drove contained 5,000 head. He 
was also successfully engaged in saw-milling 
and the lumber business for many years. 
He came to San Francisco in 1882 and en- 
gaged in the hotel business, refitting the 
Brooklyn Hotel, and was successfully identi- 
fied with this well-known house from 1883 
to 1889, when he disposed of it and retired 
from active business. In the fall of 1886 
Mr. Bush was elected a member of the 
Board of Supervisors of the city of San 
Francisco, and two years later he was 
re-elected to the same position. While liv- 
ing in Washington Territory he was elected 
a member of the Board of County Commis- 
sioners in the county of Walla- Walla and 
was also elected Representative to the Legis- 
lature, serving in the regular session of 1873. 
Mr. Bush is a man of generous impulses, 
ever ready to answer to the call of suffering 
humanity. His success in life is owing to 
his own efforts. 

-» ♦* ^ * 3 > ' t * S '* * '* — 

ENERAL R. H. MAGILL, who stands 
in the front rank of insurance men on 
this coast, was born in Westport, county 
Sligo, Ireland, in 1830. Removing to Canada 
with his parents in 1841, he remained there 
for twelve years, when he went to Covington, 
Kentucky, and engaged in the insurance busi- 
ness in Cincinnati; and so rapidly did he pro- 
gress in the acquirement of a thorough knowl 
edge of the profession, under the prince of 
underwriters. General J. B. Bennett, then 
general agent of the ^tna Insurance Com- 
pany, that he was appointed, in 1857, with 
his brother Henry, general agent for the 
entire West and South for the Phoenix Insur- 
ance Company. Although this was a young 
company of but moderate pretensions and 




acquaintance in the South and West, Mr. 
Magill, with his brother Henry, succeeded 
in building up for it a large and profitable 
business and a name and prestige only to be 
secured through the agency of thorough and 
energetic underwriters. 

When the Phoenix coucladed to establish 
a branch in California, General Magill was 
the man selected to do the work. In 1863 
he opened his office in the old James King of 
William building on the southwest corner of 
Montgomery and Commercial streets, San 
Francisco; and such was his success in this 
field that the Phoenix, during his connection 
with the branch, transacted a business that 
in point of quantity, quality and profit was 
second to that of no other company repre- 
sented on the coast. Mr. Magill was the first 
manager to locate agencies throughout the 
coast, with agents authorized to issue policies, 
— a system which, though then condemned 
by other managers as reckless and unwise, is 
now the popular system. Mr. Magill also 
represented the ^tna. Home of New York, 
and North British and Merc in tile Insurance 
companies for a time. 

In 1874 he retire! from the mani^ement 
of these companies and commenced the organ- 
ization of the Oakland Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, of Oakland; but before he had com- 
pleted his subscription list the Home Mutual 
Insurance Company of California made over- 
tures to him to accept the position of general 
agent at large and manager of their Alameda 
county branch, then about to be organized. 
The success met with by the company in this 
branch since its organization is proof conolu- 
sive that General Magill is a prudent as well 
as an energetic and successful underwriter. 

He removed to Alameda in 1867, purchas- 
ing four acres from Mr. Minturn, on which 
he erected his first Alameda home, and 
christened the beautiful place ^'Oakahade." 




.•'t 



jiS)/oc/'//r////, 



IT8 CITIES AND TUEItt SUBURBS. 



137 



>eMa!t'/' whir}; «Mn!.»ra»*es the l>lt>ck 
La Fa\otte :wi«i ChwHtTiut ^t^oet6. This 

* 

tnitti^d i'» ]'<? t'l't: of the inOHt delightful 
►est-kept ;iv>in**- in Alanied.i. 
»neral ^IaJ:ill li.4.^ liUiiyti tak«=>ri a lively 
•i.st III ti:e &;if(;ohK of Alaniedii, having 
it jrrow* from a \»l!:iv.'e it al.»')iu tOO 
nUxwU W h l-HWtif'u city :.f 12,0lH). 
* ?K)vt' ill th<* |.'iiiie of vii/ornus ins:?!- 
. i» a ^*'mIu1 frit II 1 and t plca^inp• corn- 



Kreinont tvunty, Iowa, in 1802, settling in 
Talhir, where Mrs. WiUon iroritinne<i her 
intMlieal studies with a I>cal [>hysii.Man, and 
under the iiistractionft ut" tlu' dean ot" the 
(Mevoland Codeij^o. Havinir oht.aineti the 
usual license. Mr^. Dr, Wilson practiced her 
prufutjsion in Tabor until 1S*59, and in Couneil 
I^dulfs for live yfars. In l>^74r she eaiae t" 
California, and, r^eeiviuj/ a certiHcate a^ a 
homeopathic Nj>hy;sician from th»- St;ite Board, 
t=he practi(*e<l in Maryfiville two and half 
years. There Mr. WiLson die<l, of apoplexy. 



»u, a tlioroUijh master of the pr(»t«»bdion j in 1877, at the ai^e of fifty-seveu. Before 



iiich he helnnif^, is well and fav'^rablv 
t: throuchtuit tlu* coast, and »•» the 
ral aiffn^ <»f the lliune Nfutual lii«*urAii.'e 



16 <Kjen a ;jra»»d rtueccsb. 



^'■? y?^^?j?A'-^ 



-v- 



t-.US. M I>. STOCKIIAM, M. ]).. a 



till! dose i>f the voar hlie winie to Oakland 
with her two surviving ehildren, a'Ml has 
practiced here ever since, except in lS^'1-2, 
w'K-n she wa«* ill <>f BrightV disease. Given 
u]) L»y visitiiirr physicians as beyond aM liofH? 
of recovery, sh(» took full c.liar^e of lier own 
case, and by iiotin^ all the chaTijj^es an<i care- 
fully fteekiuij: the pro}K*r ren edy for f»:ich 



, -V I'liysici'iii '»r <?ak!an<i siiice 1S77, , pha&CHhe succeeded in securinir her con, lete 
S^ was JK-rn. in V'.TiiU»nt a da'.^'^hter of , recovery. She has sintre published a pa:n- 



iiel and MariuiWelpi Ife.i^e?. way. both 
e.« of Mus?arhus<'rt«4, and niv.-j with 

1 t*» Ohio, ir* t!ir rdnth y *!tr of lu^'.Jt^. 

inir in (ieau< >, co'iuty T?ie iatlier iivi*,J 

le a:r« of ^ixtytw. », tnouoh his coTiditioi 
l>een weakctufd bv a Sf^vere attack of 

■ 

sles at ihe aire of twenty tive. The m.^ther, 
rally a *^tronp, healthy woman, died 
le ag<^ of fifty -thre'\ of acute disease, 
subiect of thi'- nk^rtch wa^ married in 
Wk't. Ohio ISt*-, In William Wiibon, l»orn 
hio, a sor- t)f Luke and Melisga ( Bt»th- 
V\ViIs«>(:, the fat f IV?' Ikmu^ a native of 
tvillc, \VHshi»igit)n county. New York. 



phleton the subject, which has attracted st-me 

attention; has l)een very succt»sdful in trcat- 

in»jj HrightV disease of the kidneys, dialH»tes, 

etc. I)uring her illness she sjKMit some 

month^ in Colorado, which proved of some 

Inmefit. She has for many years con<lucLed 

a cancer h«»spital on Twelfth street, Oakland, 

be--ides attendingr to her general practice. 

Mrs. Pr. \\^il8t»n had four sons: Arthur 

L., born in lS4ii, i#j#rrie<l \\\ Council Biutls 

It 

Miss Helen Moore la* nati\e (»f Xi it land, 
Oiiio). and died ill Puebi », (^olorado. at the 
ap^e of tw»'nty four years, the re.-^ult of an 
accident, and tlip bursting (»f a small bI(K>d- 



r their marriage Mr. an<i Mrs. Williarn , vessel, terminatinof in consu!nj)tion. He had 



;on i'V'd for s*»me years in Kirtland, 
3 coufitv, 0:;it», engajyetj chietly in farm- 
Mr:- \Vils^n took up the study o^' medi- 



two children, who died in infancy. Alton S., 
her secfUid son, died of diphtheria, in Kirt- 
land, Ohio, at the age of ten years. Her 



in tin: llo]n»i(»pathic Me<lical Colle«^e of oi»le*it surviving son is A. W. Wilson, U)ru 

flan . Mr. and Mrs. W»l{-6n moved to in 1^54, marrie<l in Oakland to Miss S)pbia 
4a 







^•^/or/'/ff'//', 



IT8 CITIES AND TUEIit SUBURBS. 



137 



[•«1ali/* whith oiiii»rh*»eH the hlock 

a K;ii<>tte Hn-.l CheKtriut c^treett^. Tliis 
littMi I.. I«t3 oik: r>f rhe moHt delightful 
r.>>t-k»^j t ;K>iru'r« if! Alafneda. 
leral >I:\^ili li.*.-* iiUnyfi tak^^ii a lively 
.-rt III tin*. *!K'ri»SK f^[ AlKnie<ijK iiiiviug 
it ^r^)\\' iroiii H villittfO < t al-onc l^K^ 

novv ih tht* j/'iiuo »»f vitf<;n>us fiiJi?i- 
i< ft ^^?iijil frit II ] and a plcabin^' <*<i?ii- 
n, a t}i<in)U2h rnanU r of tiie i^rotPh^iori 
ic]» he heh>!iir'=^, is w<j!1 and fav'^rabiv 
r: throiit^huiit thf coa^^t, {ind hs thr 
:il A^t'U-. C'f t":ie 11 nuN Muluai iij^Jiiraii 't- 
^ ^»oeii a L!Vinnl -^noccsh. 



^V^/>^'-"/^?/?/i'^ 



t;K8. M I>. STOi^KHAM. M. I)., a 
\ j'iiyriri:i;; of i-'akland siMce 1S77, 
■^ ^^as i^r-rn in Vvrnioni h da'.;rhtor of 
ol and Muriu { \Vo\ o? Ht .ne^.w-ay. hoth 
.»M of .\''ts?:H(hii><'Tt<i. :uid ri»iv.»{? with 
t«» (.HiiiK \r. 'lit' Tiirith y-ar ot h< •*. ii^e. 
Ml in (i<*an«*»i oo-.iutv 1 it*' ratlier lived 
i Htre of >i\ty-tw. », th(»:i^li hii* coTi«liti«»i 
iK^en '.veakrnvd bv a i5<^nere attack t)f 
le^ at iho Mijf of twenty live. The m.^ther, 
ally J» *troiig, healthy woman, <lied 
o ago of fifty -threo, <.<f acnte diseafc»f». 
sul»iect of thi- pk«*t«*li wa?* married in 
rer. Ohi«» iSl^^.to William WiibOiK l»orn 
lio. ;i sor- of Luke an*! M'di^sa {IJoth- 
.\\'ils<»fi, the father In^inir •* native of 
ville, WH^hillg^)n r'v)uiwy. New York. 



Fremont (v»nnty, Iowa, in 18<>2, scuttling in 
Tahor. where Mr.s. Wiitioii ex)n tinned her 
medieal studies with a local ['hysitNan. and 
under the instriicti'/nfl of tlu* dean of the 
OlevelafKJ Codeixo. Havini^ ohtair.ed the 
usua* lieensc*. Mre. Dr. Wilson practiced her 
proftu-sion in Tahor until lKr)9, and inOouneil 
Iliuifs for five years. In 1>^74 she eame t" 
(•alifornia. and, r**eeivinfr a certitic^ite a? a 
hoTneopathie^j>hy:iieian from rlir Statt* l^^ard, 
t^he practic^^d in Marysville two and half 
year.-:*. There Mr. WiLstm died, of apoplexy, 
in 1877, at the ao;c of fifty-stnen. Before 
the close of the year .she canie to Oakland 
witli lier two surviving ehihlren, a'ld hafi 
praeliced here ever since, except in lS.^1-2, 
w:ien siie was ill of Hright's dii^ease. Given 
up hy visiti ncr physicians a> beyond ail hof»e 
of recovery, she took full charije of her own 
case, and by n>tin^ all the changtis and care- 
fully seeking the projK^r ren edy for each 
pha&e, she succeeded insecurini; her con, let-e 
recovery. She has since published a pain- 
phleton the subject, which hasattractL*dM»rne 
attention; has l>een very successful in treat- 
int^ Hright's disease of the kidneys, dial>etes, 
etc. During her illness she s|M:*nt siime 
month^ in Coli»rado, which prove<l of s*»me 
Inmefit. She ha.** for many years u)ii«liicUMj 
a cancer hospital on Twelfth street, Oakland, 
lieddes atte:«din^ to her general practice. 

Mrs. Dr. Wilson had four sons: Arthur 
L., born in 1S4U, i|i#rried in Council liiutfs 
Mi"^> Helen Moore la* nati\e of KirthuMl, 
Oiiio). and died iti Puebio, Colorado, at the 
aoe of tw.-ntv four vear8, the result of an 



jicc'.dent and the bursting of a small bl«K»d- 
their i:iarriage Mr. and Mrs. William ^ vessel, terminatini^ in ct>nsumption. He had 

Ml !'.'"d f'r sf»me years in Kirtland, two childreii. who died in infancy. Alt*)n S., 
ctni'.tv, 0:ni», ena^^od chieHy in farm- h( r second son, died of diphtheria, in Kirt- 
\\\> \Vils?»n t.)ok up the study o*' mc^li- land, Ohio, at the age often years, fler 

It tin: Iloni*.-opathic Mt^lical Colle«re of oldest surviving son is A. W. Wilson, \>ovn 
an ■ Mr. anri Mrs. Wil.-on moved to in l>^54, married in Oakland to Miss S)phia 



4;i 







i. jfm/cr/'/t"//'. 




IT8 CITIES AND TilEIH HUJUTHRS. 



■•■ ■• / ■' -^ ,.- / ' 



n -.; Vi w^ .. ■ 



: Sljlijwt <il tiii- -i.-lO:Wit- t;-:i..-i" i M 

sBtLT, '>liii. l^•^S,t.■ W.Ji:tiii .Vi.,(>.. rri 

>liiu, a ran uf Luke mxi M<-l'>i-ai^ |l><>ih 
t).W"ilBog, tha fitber being a uatiiii ot 
-N.-«. York. 

ir. tnd Un, wii 

tci K'rll.1' d. 



M ■. :i.>i-i M-' 






■-', ^ V 



ITS CITIES AND TiiEId SUBURBS. 



137 



)qaeDtly he purchased his present place, 
^edale," which embraces the block 
dod by Buena Vista and Eagle avenaes 
jBi Fayette and Chestnut streets. This 
tnitted to be one of the most delightful 
>eBt-kept homes in Alameda, 
ineral Magill has always taken a lively 
B8t in the success of Alameda, having 
it grow from a village of about 400 
)itant8 to a beautiful city of 12,000. 
J now in the prime of vigorous man- 
y is a genial friend and a pleasing com- 
>D, a thorough master of the profession 
aich he belongs, is well and favorably 
rn throughout the coast, and as the 
ral agent of the Home Mutual Insurance 
IS been a grand success. 

,RS. M. D. STOCKHAM, M. D., a 

physician of Oakland since 1877, 
was born in Vermont, a daughter of 
lel and Maria (Wells) Hemenway, both 
'es of Massachusetts, and moved with 
I to Ohio, in the ninth year of her age, 
ing in Geauga county. The father lived 
e age of sixty-two, though his condition 

been weakened by a severe attack of 
lies at the age of twenty-five. The mvrther, 
rally a strong, healthy woman, died 
le age of fifty-three, of acute disease. 

subject of this sketch was married in 
Iter, Ohio, 1848, to William Wilson, born 
hio, a son of Luke and Melissa (Both- 
) Wilson, the father being a native of 
iville, Washington county. New York, 
r their marriage Mr. and Mrs. William 
ion lived for some years in Kirtland, 
5 county, Ohio, engaged chiefly in farm- 
Mrs. Wilson took up the study of medi- 
in the Homeopathic Medical College of 
eland. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson moved to 

42 



Fremont county, Iowa, in 1862, settling in 
Tabor, where Mrs. Wilson continued her 
medical studies with a local physician, and 
under the instructions of the dean of the 
Cleveland College. Having obtained the 
usual license, Mrs. Dr. Wilson practiced her 
profession in Tabor until 1869, and in Council 
Bluffs for five years. In 1874 she came to 
California, and, receiving a certificate as a 
homeopathic physician from the State Board, 
she practiced in Marysville two and half 
years. There Mr. Wilson died, of apoplexy, 
in 1877, at the age of fifty-seven. Before 
the close of the year she came to Oakland 
with her two surviving children, and has 
practiced here ever since, except in 1881-2, 
when she was ill of Bright's disease. Given 
up by visiting physicians as beyond all hope 
of recovery, she took full charge of her own 
case, and by noting all the changes and care- 
fully seeking the proper remedy for each 
phase, she succeeded in securing her complete 
recovery. She has since published a pam- 
phlet on the subject, which has attracted some 
attention; has been very successful in treat- 
ing Bright's disease of the kidneys, diabetes, 
etc. During her illness she spent some 
months in Colorado, which proved of some 
benefit. She has for many years conducted 
a cancer hospital on Twelfth street, Oakland, 
besides attending to her general practice. 

Mrs. Dr. Wilson had four sons: Arthur 
L., born in 1849, married in Council Bluffs 
Miss Helen Moore (a native of Kirtland, 
Ohio), and died in Pueblo, Colorado, at the 
age of twenty-four years, the result of an 
accident and the bursting of a small blood-* 
vessel, terminating in consumption. He had 
two children, who died in infancy. Alton 8., 
her second son, died of diphtheria, in Kirt- 
land, Ohio, at the age of ten years. Her 
oldest surviving son is A. W. Wilson, bora 
in 1854, married in Oakland to Misi Sjphis^ 



138 



THE BAY OF SAN FRAN 01 800: 



Meallj) and has one daughter, Marrillia 
Jane, born July 25, 1888. Her other 8on is 
Armo H. Wilson, of Oakland, born in 1856, 
married Miss Ethel Brodt of Pleaeanton, and 
has one child, Arthur B., born June 26, 1889. 
Mrs. Dr. M. D. Wilson was attain mar- 
ried, January 26, 1890, to Dr. G. H. Stock- 
ham, of Oakland, who was born in Dublin, 
Ireland, and educated in that city. Dr. 
Stockhara is a member of the Eclectic Medi- 
cal Society of Alameda county, and a writer 
of marked ability on professional topics. He 
is recently the author of the work entitled 
'•Tenperance and Prohibition," which is 
considered a very able treatise. He is the 
father of two children by a former marriage, 
both residents of Chicago, namely: William 
H., now connected with the Illinois Malleable 
Iron Works in that city, and Cora L., the 
proprietor and editor of the *' Kindergar- 
ten," a monthly magazine now published in 
Chicago. 

Mrs. Dr. Stockham continues in the prac- 
tice of her profession, is a member of the 
California Homeopathic Medical Society and 
an honorary member of the California Eclec- 
tic Medical Society, being willing to accept 
right principles from any source. 



^ 



^^ 



> 




OHN W. QUICK, proprietor of the 
San Francisco Pioneer Screen Works, 
who has been identified with the manu- 
facturing interests of this city and coast for 
the past thirty years, is a native of Ireland, 
where he was reared. His father was a prom- 
nent machinist and had large machine 
shops, and gave his son the choice of enter- 
ing college or learning a trade in the shops. 
Following his mechanical taste, he chose the 
latter. After acquiring his trade he came to 
this country in 1854, and came to the 



coast the same year and followed his 
trade. In 1860 he established his present 
business on Third street, and from there 
moved to Mission near Third, from there to 
the Vulcan Iron Works, and afterward to 
Pritchell Machine Works, 203 Fremont, then 
to 32 Fremont, where he remiined tea years, 
and finally built his present factory at 221 
and 223 First street. The building is three 
stories in height, erected especially for the 
requirement of his trade. The shops are 
large and commodious. He has built up a 
large businass, his trade extending through- 
out the coast and adjoining Territories — Ari- 
zona, Utah, Mexico, Oregon, Australia and 
British possessions. He is also interested in 
mining and real estate. He started in busi- 
ness with small capital, aul his success is 
owing to his own efforts. 



- <— * t 



i-»*^ 



i > — * 




S. TROWBRIDGE is a member of 
the firm of Stewart & Trowbridge, 
^ general merchants and dealers in hay, 
grain, wood and coal, on Dwight Way, at 
Berkeley. He was born at Battle Creek, 
Michigan, July 6, 1845, the third in order 
of birth of the seven children of James 8. 
and Mary A. (Seymour) Trowbridge. His 
father was a native of Vermont, his fore- 
fathers being among the early settlers of 
that State. His mother was a native of the 
State of New York. 

Mr. Trowbridge, whose name introduces 
this sketch, accompanied his parents across 
the plains to California, in 1852, first locating 
at Shingle Springs, El Dorado county, where 
the father engaged in mining until 1854, at 
which time the family removed to Jackson, 
Amador county. He graduated at the State 
Normal School in May, 1866, and taught 
school in several places in California; be- 



ITS CITIES AND THE IB SUBURBS. 



189 



came the bookkeeper for the Oneida Mining 
Company in January, 1869; later he went to 
Santa Cruz and clerked a year. In 1871, he 
went to Nevada and engaged in raerchandis 
ingand mining until 1890, when he came to 
Berkeley and formed the partnership already 
mentioned; but he U still interested in busi- 
ness in Nevada. 

Politically he inclines toward the Ameri- 
Cin party, although he takes no active part 
in political machinery. 

May 19, 1869, he was married, at East 
Oakland, to Miss Kate Clayton, a native of 
Alabama, and they have six children living, 
namely: Jessie J., Eloise H., Leslie A., Katie 
E., Nelson S., Jr., and Olive R. Their oldest 
child, James Clayton, died at Eureka, Ne- 
vadi, in October, 1872, aged two years. 




ETH BABSON, of San Francisco, one 
of the oldest architects on the Pacific 
coast, is a native of Maine and was 
reared in Massachusetts. Upon the discov- 
ery of gold in California he came via Cape 
Horn, and arrived here in April, 1850. Two 
months after arrival he went to Sacramento 
and opened an office and engaged as architect 
and for more than a quarter of a century 
held a leading poiition in his profession. 
After the floods in Sacramento he took a 
prominent part in the methods adopted in 
bnlkheading the levee and for protection of 
the city. He designed and erected many of 
the most notable buildings in the city — the 
residences of Governor Stanford, Charles 
Crocker, and Judge C. B. Crocker, the Crocker 
Art Gallery and many others. In 1875 he 
removed to San Francisco and opened an 
office, and since then tor the past fifteen years 
he has resided here, although he still does a 
large amount of work in Sacramento. Ho 



has been actively identified with the archi- 
tectural and building interests of this State 
for over forty years, and enjoys an enviable 
reputation in his profession, being one of the 
most prominent architects on the Pacific 
coast. He waa a member of the I. O. O. F. 
in early days; also a prominent member and 
supporter of the Sons of Temperance, being 
one of the original members of that organi- 
zation. 



^>g=E2^ 




*^ 



^ 




RS. I. H. CHANDLER ife CO., real 
estate dealers, rent collectors, money 
lenders and insurance brokers. Ma- 
sonic Building, Park street, Alameda. To 
illustrate the ability with which a woman may 
successfully carry on an enterprising and 
profitable business, it would perhaps be d\fR- 
cult to select a more fitting example than the 
lady with whose name we introduce this 
article. When we see a woman ambitious, 
energetic and determined to succeed in any 
special undertaking which she may have 
marked out for herself, yet at the same time 
be retiring in disposition and not seeking 
publ city, she not only excites our admiration 
but also commands at once our respect. 
Among the enterprising and progressive citi- 
zens of Alameda there is to be found such a 
woman. 

Mrs. Chandler, nee Abbott, was born in 
Andover, Massachusetts. She was reared 
and received her education in the public 
high school of Andover. Her parents were 
Charles M. and Helen K. (Smith) Abbott, — 
the former a native of Massachusetts and one 
of the old and respected pioneers of that 
State; and the latter, born in Scotland, came 
to the LTnited States when twelve years of 
age. She died in 1869. 

Our subject, the eldest child in a family of 
three, was married to Increase H. Chandler, 



140 



THE BAT OF SAN FRAN0I800: 



a native of Maine, in 1881. Thej came from 
California in 1882, locating in the city of 
San Francisco. They located in Alameda in 
1885, where for some years Mrs. Chandler 
was a teacher of vocal music. She estab- 
lished herself in her present business in 1891, 
first under the firm name of HardwicktfeCo., 
under which the business continued but a 
short time when Mrs. Chandler became sole 
proprietor. In the same building Mr. Chand- 
ler also carries a well selected stock of wall 
paper and window shades, and all material 
connected with the paper-hanging and decor- 
ating trade. 

Mr. and Mrs. Chandler have an interesting 
family of three children, viz.: Helen M., 
Irene A. and Ralph. 

,ENRY W. TAYLOR.— While Berkeley 
is justly proud of its educational facili- 
ties, and not without grounds, claims to 
be the center of learning and culture for the 
State, we can expect ^that at no distant day 
she will quite as well be known for her in- 
dustrial and mercantile interests. The ad- 
vantages she possesses in her superb water 
front and railroad connections which only 
await the growth of the State to stimulate 
their development, will enable her in time 
to come to rival if not surpass her neighbors 
in manufacturing and commercial interestn, 
on which almost all others so largely depend. 
Already a praiseworthy beginning has been 
made along the line of supplying the wants 
of not only the rapidljr growing community 
at its doors, but also in more distant parts of 
the State and coast. 

One of these establishments is the Henry 
W. Taylor lumber yard, on the bay at West 
Berkeley. For supplying this trade Mr. 
Taylor ha-s ampV :ind perfect facilities which 




are so convenient for both discharging and 
shipping lumber and building materials, that 
his business is rapidly extending in all direc- 
tions and even mere than keeps pace with the 
developments of Berkeley. A side-track 
from the great Southern Pacific system extends 
along the wharf to the end of the immense 
dock, so that cars c^n be loaded directly from 
the vessel for shipment to the interior. 

Mr. Taylor, a son of Horace B. Taylor, of the 
well-known firm of Foster & Taylor of Bos- 
ton, was born at Boston, Massachusetts, Jan- 
uary 8, 1858, graduated at Phillips Academy, 
Andover, Massachusetts, in the class of '79, 
and the following year came to California, 
establishing himself in the town of San Ber- 
nardino, where he was ensraGred in both 
manufacturing and retailing lumber. 

About three years later, while visiting the 
northern part of the State, he was so favor- 
ably impressed with the advantagres of Berke- 
ley, that he established himself in his present 
business, as already described. 

2 ' ^"^ ' S 




REDDY, a prominent member of the 
San Francisco bar, is a native of Woon- 
^ socket, Rhode Island, bom February 
15, 1839. His parents were natives of Ire- 
land. He received his education in his native 
State, and in February, 1861, came to the 
Pacific coast and engaged in mining. He 
subsequently studied law in Inyo county, and 
was admitted to the bar in May, 1867, en- 
gaging in the practice of his profession 
there until April, 1879, when he removed to 
Bodie. For several years he continued to 
reside there. In 1881 he opened an office in 
San Francisco, and two years later made this 
his permanent residence. Since then he has 
successfully conducted a law practice here. 
Mr. Reddy was a member of the Oonstitu- 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR 8UBURB8, 



141 



tional Convention, repreeonting Inyo and 
Mono counties. He wad elected to the State 
Senate in 1883, representing the district of 
Mono, Inyo, Kern, Tulare and Fresno coun- 
ties, and represented this important district 
four years. He was appointed Prison Di- 
rector by the Governor, and resigned that 
office in I>ecember, 1890. He is the senior 
member of the prominent and well-known 
law firm of Keddy, Campbell & Metson. 



^ 




C. BATES, an attorney practicing in 
San Francisco, was born in Richmond, 
^ Maine, of old New England parents, 
his father being Frederick Bates, and his 
mother's maiden name Twing. He graduated 
at Bowdoin College in the class of 1863, 
being a college mate of the Hon. Thomas B. 
Reed, the present Speaker of the national 
House of Representatives. During the same 
year he began reading law, and for over a 
quarter of a century he has been an honored 
member of the San Francisco bar, having 
been admitted to the Supreme Court of the 
United States. While engaged in general 
civil practice, he has a large probate practice; 
and he has also given much attention to the 
laws relating to street assessments. On these 
branches of the profession he is authority, 
and he has secured a successful and remuner- 
ative practice. He has not yet had a partner 
in his profession. Though not an office- 
seeker, he is interested in good government, 
and has repeatedly been urged to accept nom- 
ination for office^ 

He is a consistent member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church. For many years he 
has been Superintendent of the Sunday-school 
at the Bush Street Methodist Episcopal 
church. 

In 1863 he married Miss Bertha Comstock, 




a native of Louisiana, and they have one son 
and three daughters. 

't> :®^^\^ 

L. HANSCOM, of Berkeley, dates 
his birth at Elliott, York county, 
'• Maine> February 5, 1843. When 
eleven years of age he accompanied his par- 
ents by way of Panama to California. His 
father, Isaiah Hanscom, was a well-known 
naval constructor, having been connected with 
the construction of many war vessels, some 
of which have become famous. He married 
Sarah C. Frost; they were both natives of 
Maine. 

Mn Hanscom, of this sketch, returned to 
the East anu graduated at Harvard College in 
1867, after which he returned to California 
and engaged in the lumber business from 
1876 to 1883. He owned and conducted a 
mill in Coos county, Oregon, and is now en- 
gaged in the lumber trade, being bookkeeper 
for Henry W. Taylor of West Berkeley. 

In 1868 Mr. Hanscom was united in mar- 
riage, in New York, with Miss Louisa F. 
HydO) a native of Connecticut, but reared in 
the State of New York. They have six 
children, namely: Meldon I., Edmund H., 
Marian L., Adelaide M., Sarah D. and Fran- 
cis G. 

Politically, Mr. Hanscx>m is a decided Re- 
publican, and in every respect he is a worthy 
citixen and generous friend. 



^^^i/l/^^'i/V 



SIMPSON, for many years prominently 
identified with commercial interests of 
^ the coast, and official representative 
of the Danish Government, at San Francisco, 
is a native of Denmark, born at Nestved, 
August 15, 1840. He received his education 




112 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



in the high schools of his native city, takiug 
his examination in Copenhagen in 1862. He 
emigrated to the Pacific coast two years later, 
coming to Mexico as first officer on a Chilian 
ship. On account of severe illness, he left 
the ship and came up the coast on the steamer 
Pacific, arriving in this city in 1864. He 
was master of many vessels and followed the 
sea for many years, then retired and became 
the leading member of the firm of Simpson 
& Fisher, wholesale dealers in cotton duck 
and twine, sail-makers and manufacturers of 
bunting flags, etc. 

Captain Simpson received his present 
appointment as Consul from the king of 
Denmark about seven years ago. He was 
complimented and decorated by the king of 
Denmark November 15, 1889, as a ** Knight 
of the Order of Dannebrog." He has been 
prominently identified with the public be- 
nevolent interests of the city. In 1877 he was 
chosen President of the Master Marines' 
Benevolent Society, and in 1879 was chosen 
President of the Scandinavian Society of this 
city. In 1888, with his family, he returned 
to his native country, making a prolonged 
visit, visiting among other places the exposi- 
tion at Copenhagen. He is correspondent of 
the private bank of Copenhagen. In 1876 
he married Miss A. Ortvod, a native of 
Copenhagen, the Danish capital city, and they 
have three children, Agnes Louise, Margarite 
and Amelia. 

,ENKY DAMKROEGEK, M. D., whose 
oflice is on Golden Gate avenue, 
has been engaged in the practice of 
medicine since 1888. He was born in San 
Francisco, California, in 1865, the son of 
Gottlieb D. Damkroeger, a native of Prussia, 
Germany, who was a resident of this city 
from the early '608. 




Henry, our subject, received his early edu- 
cation in the public schools of San Francisco, 
and in 1886 commenced the study of medi- 
cine, entering the Hahnemann Hospital 
Homeopathic College, graduating at that in- 
stitution in 1888, after a full course of three 
years, and receiving his degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. He at once entered into the prac- 
tice of his profession, passing the first year 
as resident physician of the Hahnemann 
Hospital. He now holds the chair of Lecturer 
on Minor Surgery and Demonstrator of 
Anatomy for that college. Dr. Damkroeger 
is a member of the California State Homeo- 
pathic Medical Society. He is essentially 
a self-made man, having carried himself 
through his professional studies by his own 
exertions and earnings. While engaged in 
the general practice of his profession, the 
Doctor pays special attention to surgery. 
Since August 1, 1891, he has been a resident 
of Modesto, Stanislaus county. 



-*l^ 



5-f 



^E 



_s 




HOMAS TENNENT, manufacturer of 
mathematical instruments, San Fran- 
cisco, was born in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, October 17, 1822. On his mother's 
side, the Deweeses, he comes of old Quaker 
stock that settled in Pennsylvania in the days 
of William Penn. His father was of Scotch 
descent, of the same family as Sir Thomas 
Tennent, the great brewer, and Sir Emerson 
Tennent, noted in Ceylon research. Mr. 
Tennent was educated in private schools in 
Philadelphia and in Pennsylvania College, 
not graduating, however, preferring to begin 
his life work in his chosen profession. He 
was apprenticed in the house of William J. 
Young, 9 Dock street, Philadelphia, a very 
prominent mathematical instrument maker, 
and served seven years with him. This hoasc 



ITS aiTIES ANJ) THEIR SUBURBS. 



143 



covered the whole field of work, and cast the 
different parts, finishing with the completed 
instruments. His time expired October 17, 
1843, and afterward he followed his profes- 
sion until he came to California. For two 
years he was engaged in Massachusetts, 
making instruments for a new invention, 
that, however, did not come op to the in- 
ventor's expectations. 

He left Boston February 2, 1849, and in 
twenty days arrived at Cha^res river. Ar- 
riving at Gorgona, up the river, he found the 
conditions favorable for freight business to 
Panama. Buying several horses, he made 
nineteen trips for passengers, with a hand- 
some income. Although that district is 
notoriously nnhealthful, no element of fear 
daunted him. He was careful in his mode 
of life and avoided the peculiar malarial 
fever of that country, but was at last laid up 
with a severe attack of dysentery that re- 
duced him to a weight of only ninety-five 
pounds. Taking passage on the brig Copiapo, 
a 200-ton vessel carrying 225 passengers, he 
started for California, arriving at San Fran- 
cisco after a journey of ninety-five days. The 
passengers were severely pressed for water 
and provisions, and the commander had to 
put in at Acapuico and Monterey for sup 
plies. Prior to the last landing they had 
been reduced to half a pint of water every 
twenty-four hours. On arriving at Monterey 
Mr. Tennent left the sea and walked to the 
city. 

While he was awaiting his tools and in 
struments that he had shipped by Cape Horn, 
he took a position under William M. Eddy, 
then City Surveyor, and it was he who laid 
out all that portion of the city west of Lar- 
kin street and both north and south of Mar- 
ket. By March, 1850, his instruments had 
not yet arrived, and he went to the mines. 
Buying a small sloop of some four or five 



tons and loading it with merchandise, he 
started for the Trinity river. At the end of 
fifteen days he got as far as Marysville, 
whence he paid twenty-five cents a pound 
freight as far as Clear creek. There he con- 
cludel to remain, as freight to Trinity would 
cost him about $1 a pound. At this place 
he entered upon an undertaking which re- 
sulted nnprofitably, although afterward rich 
claims were found adjacent. He dammed the 
creek and excavated a race-way, spending 
what money he had, besides the proceeds of 
his sloop and merchandise. With only $5 in 
purse he started for Sacramento, passing the 
sites of the present Red Bluff, Tehama, etc., 
in July, 1850. At Red Bluff the thermome- 
ter stood at 110 degrees in the shade! No 
water was obtainable the greater part of tho . 
way, and he suffered greatly. Meeting a 
friend in Sacramento who lent him $25, he 
took passage on the Gold Hunter for San 
Francisco, and here he was laid up for a time 
with chills and fever brought on by the ex- 
posures of the trip. 

His tools and apparatus having arrived, 
he started in business on Sacramento street, 
below Montgomery, and for years he was 
subject to constant removal caused by fires, 
etc. About 1870 he located a-t 18 Market 
street, and now conducts his business in a 
more substantial building at No. 4 California 
street. 

He has for many years been the ofiicial 
time- keeper of the city, appointed by the 
Board of Supervisors; and it is he who fur- 
nishes valuable tables for the newspapers. 
For twenty-six years he has also published 
the welUknown Tcnnent's Nautical Almanac. 
In his profession he is noted for his accuracy 
and the care taken with all instruments in- 
trusted to him or made by him. For several 
vears he was a member of the Pennsylvania 
Engine Company, No. 12, and he is now an 



14i 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Exempt. In early times be was a Supervisor 
for the Sixth District, first appointed, and 
afterward twice elected on the People's 
ticket; and while in office he introduced and 
had passed an ordinance instituting the 
present decimal system in numbering the 
bouses: prior to that time it was all con- 
fusion. 

His family consists of one son and two 
daughters, all grown up. Mr. Tennent is a 
pleasant, entertaining gentleman. His trade- 
mark, the Wooden Mariner, has been con- 
spicuous wherever he has located, and is 
familiar to the citizens as the oldest land- 
mark in San Francisco. 



••»•« 



■" S ' : " ! ' ^' - 




ATHAN S. BACHMAN.— The whole- 
sale dry goods firm of Bach man Bros., 
San Francisco, so well and favorably 
known, consists of the following members: 
Messrs. Herman S., Nathan S., David S. and 
Leopold 8. Bach man. They are natives of 
Germany, and came to the United States in 
1846, 1848, 1850 and 1861, respectively. 

At the time of his arrival on American 
soil, Nathan S. Bachman was in his thirteenth 
year. He attended school for a few years and 
subsequently became a clerk in a New York 
house, and later at Mobile, Alabama. He 
arrived in San Francisco in 1854, and, in con- 
nection with his oldest brother, Herman S. 
Bachman, started their wholesale business, 
then a small one, on Sacramento street. They 
were there only a year before they were com- 
pelled to seek larger quarters. As time 
elapsed the firm made five successive moves, 
each time into larger rooms, until they moved 
into their present store,Nos. 10 and 12 Battery 
street. The history of the house shows an 
increasing prosperity from its commencement. 
They have sailed safely through all the busi- 



ness panics and all the excitements of the 
early history of this city. They had been in 
business only a year when, in 1855, the great 
failure of the Adams Company occurred and 
several of the banks suspended. In 1856 
came the great struggle in San Francisco for 
law and order,at d Mr.Bachman became a mem- 
ber of the Vigilance Committee. Through 
the earnest efibrts of this organization the 
good order and good name of the city was 
preserved. (For detailed account of this, see 
city history in this book.) The trade of the 
firm now extends all along the coast and to 
the Sandwich and South Sea Islands. 

Nathan S. Bachman was united in marriage, 
in 1863, to Miss Pauline Speyer, a native of 
New York. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., 
in all its branches, and has long been con- 
nected with the Board of Trade, and bad the 
honor of being one of its directors during 
the past five years. He has also taken an 
interest in and connecte<i himself with sev- 
eral of the charitable societies of the city, 
and interests himself in the good government, 
growth and prosperity of San Francisco. 

RNEST H. SCHULTZ, dentist, whose 
office is in the Murphy building, has 
been a resident of California since 
May, 1874, and has been engaged in dental 
practice since 1877. He was born in New York 
city, in 1854, the son of Ferdinand Schnltz, 
a native of Frankfort-on-the-Main, who came 
to New York. He was fur many years a 
merchant of that city. Our subject received 
his early education in the public schools of 
New York city, and later attended the high 
school of that city. He commenced the 
study of dentistry in 1868, under the preoep- 
torship of Dr. M. A. Lassner, a well-known 
dentist of that city, with whom he remained 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



145 



five years. He then came to California in 
1874, and has since been continuously en- 
gaged in dental practice in San Francisco. 





,LBERT P. WOODWARD, M. D., 
whose office is at the corner of Cali- 
fornia and Fillmore streets, San Fran- 
cisco, has been a resident of California since 
1868, and has been engaged in the practice 
of medicine since March, 1886 He was born 
in Pleasantville, Iowa, in 1855. The Wood- 
ward family are of English descent, the 
early settlers of that family in America com- 
ing over in the sixteenth century. One of 
his ancestors served in the Revolutionary 
war. His grandfather settled in Ohio about 
1823, and was a pioneer settler of Iowa, 
coming to that State in 1850. 

Our subject received his early education 
at Santiam Academy, in Linn county, Ore- 
gon, where he attended for six years. Later 
he attended the Pacific Methodist College of 
Santa Rosa, where he graduated in 1876, re- 
ceiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Next 
he engaged in teaching school, in which he 
continued, generally, until 1883. In June 
of that year he commenced the study of 
medicine^ entering the Cooper Medical Col- 
lege, where he spent one year. He then 
went to New York and entered Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College, where he gradu- 
ated in March, 1886, after a full course of 
three years, and receiving his degree as Doc- 
tor of Medicine. Dr. Woodward was then 
appointed house physician and surgeon of 
Charity Hospital oti BlackwelPs Island, 
where he served one and a half years. 
He was then appointed resident physician 
and surgeon of the New York Skin and 
Cancer Hospital, in New York city, where 
he also remained one and a half years. He 



then returned to California in 1889, and 
located in San Francisco, where he has since 
been engaged in private practice. While 
Dr. Woodward is engaged in a general fam- 
ily practice, he has also raide a special study 
of the diseases of the skin, for which his ex- 
perience in the New York Skin and Caticer 
Hospital has specially fitted him. 



< 



m^ 



^ 




E. HOUGHTON, engaged in the 
legal profession at San Francisco, is 
^ a native of the State of Maine, born 
in 1840, and received his education in New 
England. Upon reaching manhood he en- 
listed after the breaking out of the rebellion, 
and served in the Army of the l^otomac. 
Then he accepted a position in a depart- 
ment at Washington, studied law and was 
admitted to the bar. He came to California 
in 1866, and since then, for the past twenty- 
five years, has been engaged in general civil 
practice. For some years he has devoted his 
whole attention to law pertaining to water 
rights, and has an extensive practice through- 
out the State, particularly in Southern Cali- 
fornia. He had the management, for Messrs. 
Miller and Lux, of the noted cise of Miller & 
Lux v%. Haggin, involving vast interests, 
which settled the important question of 
riparian rights in California, and requiring 
his attention for ten years. He is counsel in 
all water- right questions connected with the 
vast landed interests of Miller & Lux. For 
years he has been counsel for Riverside Col- 
ony and Water Company, and also for the 
Bear Valley Land and Water Company of 
Redlands, a company possessing the largest 
reservoir and most valuable water right in 
the State, and he is also counsel for the Bear 
Valley and Alessandro Development Com- 
pany, a company known from the Pacific to 



146 



THE BAY OF 8 AN FRAN0I800: 




the Atlantic, it having established the most 
extensive and successful colony for citrus 
fruits ever established in California. 

»*> M^ > 3 ii t « g i*>»> 

[DWARD T. RAUN, a capitalist of San 
Francisco, is an old and honored citizen, 
and a member of the Society of Cali- 
fornia Pioneers, arriving here June 20, 1849. 
He went to Sacramento and joined the 
throng composed of all classes hastening to 
the mines. Going to Coloma, he engaged in 
mining and merchandising, also in ditching 
for some years. He built the first toll bridge 
in the State. After a number of years he 
made a trip to the Eastern States, and upon 
returning he located permanently in San 
Francisco, engaging in his profession, archi- 
tecture, and for tifteen or twenty years was 
prominently identified with the building in- 
terests in the city and State. He was asso- 
ciated with Henry Kenitzer, and some of the 
largest and l)est buildings in the city were de- 
signed and erected under the supervision of 
Kenitzer & Raun, who were for many years 
leading architects of the Pacific coast. He 
was architect for the Board of Education for 
seven years. 





,()N. WILLIAM W. LONG, United 
States Marshal for the Northern Dis- 
trict of California. The Long family 
has been noted for energy, honesty and 
marked ability in New England since the 
early colonial days. Members of the family 
have represented their communities in State 
let'ifc^latures or national Congress from most 
of the New England States. Long anterior 
to the Revolutionary war they had belonged 
to the volunteer soldiery, and won distinction 



in the fierce conflicts which took place in the 
numerous Indian and French wars, and the 
Long family was well represented in the 
Revolutionary straggle and the war of 1812. 
The family name has lost nothing of its 
luster through the active habits and promi- 
nent and aggressive methods of the Longs 
who have lately and are now conspicnonsly 
l)efore the public in New England. They 
are thorough-paced Americans, with all the 
peculiarities which render genuine Americans 
the most noted people in the world — honor, 
courage and untiring energy. 

The subject of this sketch was born in 
Thomaston, Maine, at a time when ship- 
building was the main industry there, and 
when New Englanders to man all the ships 
built were abundant and to spare, and when 
it was generally believed that American- 
built ships, manned by Americans, and float- 
ing the American flag, were to have unques- 
tioned supremacy on all open seas of the 
world. There are plenty of men and women 
now living who can remember when such an 
expectation was not unreasonable, absurd as 
it would appear to be at the present time. 
In such a community, imbued with such am- 
bitious expectations, young Long had his 
early training. Some of his ancestors have 
won distinction on the seas, and their heroic 
acts were recounted in the long winter eve- 
nings, and l)efore he could hardly climb a mast 
he was ambitious to follow in the footsteps 
of John Paul Jones. As soon as it was 
possible for him to accept he was an articled 
sailor, making voyages to foreign ports. Be- 
fore he was out of his 'teens he had been to 
the East Indies, to many ports in Europe, 
and to the west coast of Africa. Gold alone 
was not the inducement. A thirst for adven- 
ture, and the innate certainty that his fortune 
might equal that of any of the heroes of sea 
fiction of which he had heard or read, if only 



IT8 0ITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



147 



the opportnnity would offer, had more to do 
wiUi his early adventures than any desire for 
the pay given a seaman. 

Returning from one of his voyages he 
heard the story of gold found in California. 
By that time the fact of gold being here in 
abundance had been verified. Some few had 
been in the land of gold, in proof that the 
wildest stories were not incredible. It did 
not take a large amount of real gold to con- 
vince any one East that gold could be picked 
up anywhere in California by a blind person. 
The writer of this sketch remembers receiv- 
ing a small nugget from a brother who was 
in California in 1850. It weighed less than 
$2, but it was a veritable California nugget, 
and not less than half a dozen of his ac- 
quaintances looked upon that nugget until 
they abandoned fairly paying positions and 
started for California by way of Panama. 
Mr. Long found the Osceola loading at Phil- 
adelphia with a miscellaneous cargo of mer- 
chandise for California. The Osceola came 
around the Horn, and only put into the port 
of Valparaiso between Philadelphia and the 
Golden Gate. The trip was long and tedious 
and not devoid of danger. Some weeks be- 
fore reaching this port he encountered a 
violent storm, and during the fierce contest 
with wind and waves the ship lost her rudder. 
Finally, calm weather succeeding the hurri- 
cane, she reached this port in the early part 
of 1850. 

Mr. Long remained but a short time in San 
Francisco. He started out in search of a min- 
ing locality, and made his first mining venture 
on Wood's creek, in Tuolumne county. Hit* 
experience as a sailor stood him in good stead 
here. His constitution was thoroughly sea- 
soned, and he could wrestle successfully with 
hard knocks and be satisfied with insufScient 
or badly prepared food when a genuine ten- 
derfoot would have surrendered and died, or 



abandoned the field without regard to any 
amount of riches assured the persevering. 

No finer evidence of the marked superior- 
ity of Mr. Long could be furnished than the 
remarkable facility with which he adapted 
himself to an entirely changed life. His 
growing years had been spent upon a sea, 
and all his future expectations had hinged 
upon the fortunes of a sailor. Without 
preparation he adopted the calling of lands- 
man, abandoned all desire to roam, and cast 
his lot in with miners and agriculturists. 

In 1853 Mr. Long returned to the East. 
He went as a visitor, and returned in 1854, 
and he is somewhat reticent as to all his ex- 
periences in the East. Anyhow he returned 
there again six years later, in 1859, and when 
he came back here in 1860 he introduced 
Mrs. Long to his large circle of welcoming 
friends. The reasonable inference is that he 
becan)e acquainted with Mrs. Long during 
his short visit in 1853. Be that as it may, 
this was about the most happy and fortunate 
in which Mr. Long has been engaged during 
his long and successful career. Four sons 
and two daughters have come as a blessing 
upon the union consummated during the 
trip East in 1859. His eldest son is a suc- 
cessful merchant in Haywards, and the other 
children will add to the honors already at- 
tained by their long line of ancestors. 

Mr. Long has been an active business man 
and has engaged in such adventures as would 
not alone benefit him individually, but should 
also result in the greatest good to the greatest 
number. To that end he has inaugurated a 
system of ditching in his section for the pur- 
pose of conveying water where it is greatly 
needed for irrigation, and will increase the 
agricultural productions of the country. His 
mining ventures have been of that class 
which requires a large force of workers, and 
in all of his business arrangements he has 



148 



THB BAT OF BAN FBANOISOO: 



been actuated by a desire to improve his 
county and section without encroaching upon 
the rights of others. 

As a side issue Mr. Long has been some- 
what interested in politics, and is and has 
been a working Republican. His county 
may be put down as reliably Democratic ex- 
cept when Mr. Long happens to be on the 
Republican ticket. Then it turns out to be 
an " oflE year " for the Democrats, and the 
Republicans have a picnic. Mr. Long has 
been a successful contestant for the Legisla- 
ture for the sessions of 1873-4 and 1883-4, 
being elected upon l)oth occasions by a large 
majority. These facts tell of his popularity 
among his neighbors. His hold upon them 
is of such sterling worth that personal fealty 
outweighs party fealty, and Mr. Long comes 
in ahead in a political race. Mr. Long was 
also Collector of Internal Revenue in his 
district for a time, and was alternate delegate 
to the last National Republican Convention. 
The sickness of Mr. Simpson, the delegate, 
threw the duties upon Mr. Long, who took an 
active part in the nomination of General 
Harrison, and a very decidedly active part 
later on in the election of that gentleman to 
the Presidency. 

William G. Long is now United States 
Marshal for this very important district. He 
possesses the exact qualities necessary in the 
man who would till that position worthily 
and well. He is firm, self-possessed, coura- 
geous and not likely to lose his head in any 
emergency. There are emergencies in the 
experiences of almost every man who has 
tilled the office of marshal in any district in 
the country when the possession of these 
qualities made the officer, and his lack of 
them announced his failure. Citizens of San 
Francisco can call to mind one remarkable 
case of this kind at no late date. Whatever 
happens during his incumbency of the office. 



Mr. Long vnll not be found wanting. The 
same sterling qualities which have carried 
him successfully through many exciting 
scenes in the past will stand by him in the 
end. 

Mr. Long is a life-long Mason. We have 
heard it said, and our own observation fully 
vouches its truth, that a man who is a good 
Mason must be a good man. He has served 
his term as Mflister of Tuolumne Lodge, No. 
8. He is Past High Priest of Sonora Chap- 
ter, No. 2, and Past Eminent Commander of 
Pacific Commandery, No. 8, Knights Tem- 
plar. The record accords with the social 
standing of Mr. Long, which is eminently 
first-class, and is widened by the kind words 
spoken of him by all with whom he has ever 
come in contact, socially or in business deal- 
ings. 



■■• ii ; 



en ■— 




RTHOR HILL MILLBERRY, dentist, 
whose office is at 1202 Sutter street' 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1875, and has been engaged in 
the practice of dentistry since 1881. He was 
born in Milltown, New Brunswick, in 1844, 
and is of English and Scotch descent. The 
family were among the early settlers of New 
Brunswick after the cession of Canada to the 
British. His great-grandfather, Samuel Mill- 
berry, came to St. Stephens in 1779, where 
he engaged in lumbering. Dr. Millberry's 
uncle, Samuel Millberry, came around Cape 
Horn to California in 1849, where he was 
engaged for thirty years previous to his 
death in 1889, in real-estate business. He 
brought from St. Stephens around Cape Horn 
•his house, in which he lived in San Fran- 
cisco for several years. His wife was the 
only lady aboard the ship. He was engaged 
in the real-estate business during most of his 
stay in this State. 



ITS 0ITIB8 AND THBIB 8UBUBB8. 



149 



The subject of this sketch received his 
earlj education in the public schools of his 
native country, graduating in Milltown 
Academy in 1862. He then came to the 
United States, remaining in Wisconsin five 
years, where he was engaged in the mercan- 
tile business, and later returned to New 
Brunswick and remained tour years. In 
January, 1875, he came to California, locat- 
ing in Tehama county, and in 1881 com- 
menced the practice of his profession in San 
Francisco, and later removed to Butte county. 
Next he went to Siskiyou county, where he 
was engaged in his profession, and also in 
mining operations for two years. In 1885 
he returned to San Francisco, where he has 
since remained. 



^y^trin/l 



'^Wyi/\^^ 




^AMES H. HATCH, D. D. S., whose 
office is at No. 1011 Pine street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of the 
Pacific coast since 1853, and has been en- 
gaged in the practice of dentistry since 1859. 
He was born in Williamstown, Vermont, in 
1839, the son of Henry L. Hatch, who was 
one of the pioneer viticulturists of the State, 
his wines in Nevada county having a valu- 
able reputation, even all over the coast. 
In 1886 he took the premium for the best 
Port and Angelica wines at the State fair. 
He is now a resident of the lemon and raisin 
district in Tulare county. 

James H., our subject, received his early 
education in the public schools of Waukegan, 
Illinois, to which place his parents had re- 
moved when he was five years of age. At 
the age of fourteen, in 1853, he came with 
his mother and family to California, his 
father having come to the coast in 1850. In 
1859 he commenced the study of dentistry in 
the office of Dr. A. Chapman, a well-known 



dentist of Nevada City, with whom he studied 
three years. He then went to Philadelphia, 
where he entered the Pennsylvania College 
of Dental Surgery, graduating in 1863. For 
a year he practiced in Carson City, Nevada, 
and another year in San Francisco. He then 
passed eleven years in dental practice in 
Portland, Oregon, and in 1876 returned to 
this city, where he has since been continu- 
ously engaged in his profession. For two 
years Dr. Hatch was connected with the 
Clinical Board of the College of Dentistry 
of the University of California. 



%m <i 



2 - i"t - 2 



! • !■> 




C. MACY is not only a well-known 
pioneer of this city and State, but 
^ is also a well-known pioneer archi- 
tect and builder. He is a native of the island 
of Nantucket, born August 4, 1821; learned 
the trade of carpenter and joiner; early de- 
veloped taste for architecture, and when 
eighteen years of age went south to superin- 
tend the building of churches. He made a 
voyage to England, and upon his return he 
remained in Providence and New Bedford, 
pursuing a course of study in architecture. 
Upon the breaking out of the gold excite- 
ment in California, he joined the throni^ and 
sailed May 6, 1849, on the ship Edward 
Everett, an old whaler, and came around the 
Horn. They had a long and rough voyage, 
were six months and four days on the way, 
and arrived here December 9, 1849. Instead 
of going to the mines he engaged in contract- 
ing and building. He and J. Whitmore and 
Harry Meiggs built the California street 
wharf, the first wharf in the city. Mr. Macy 
has been one of the leading architects of the 
city and State for more than a third of a 
century. He built the Merchants' and Ma- 
rine Insurance block, next to the bank of 



150 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAK0I8G0: 




California; Dr. Samuel Merritt's block at 
the foot of California street; the Toland 
Medical College; Eli Gladstone's block on 
Van Ness avenue and O'Farrell street; Stet- 
son's building, Clay street and Van Ness 
avenue; the elegant Holbrook residence at 
the corner of Washington street and Van 
Ness avenue, and many others. Mr. Macy 
has taken an active interest in the progress 
and development of the city. He is one of 
the founders of the Mercantile Library, and 
is a life member and director of the Me- 
chanics' Institute. 

R. NAT. T. COULSON.— There is no 
more useful reading than a history of 
the lives of those men who, against all 
disadvantages and vicissitudes, have forced 
their way from the lowest round in the lad- 
der of life to the plane whereon ambition may 
be reasonably content with the success 
achieved. The lesson to be learned is not 
the accumulation of wealth alone, but the 
value of those sterling qualities of integrity 
and manhood which command universal re- 
spect. These lives are examples to the young 
men of America, who by circumstances are 
placed midway in the ladder of life, by being 
educated regardless of cost by fond and ambi- 
tious parents. 

Dr. Coulson, whose office is at No. 1206 
Market street, corner Golden Gate ave- 
nue, opposite Sixth street, in the Hotel 
Marquette, San Francisco, has been a 
resident of California since 1876, and has 
been engaged in dental practice since 1886. 
He was born in Penzance, Cornwall, England, 
in 1853, and is descended from a very prom- 
inent family in that country, members of 
which still occupy positions of wealth and 
trust in both church and Stafe. Dr. Coul 



son is eminently a self-made man. Left to 
his own resources at a very early age, he has, 
amid the many changes which he has found 
it advisable to make in life before selecting 
the profession for which he found himself 
especially adapted up to the time of his grad- 
uation at the University of California, util- 
ized the earnings of a lifetime to his gradual 
education. Coming as a boy from a farm, and 
later passing several years at sea, Dr. Coulson 
worked his way gradually upward, continually 
adding to his knowledge and acquirements 
until he took charge of the books of a stock- 
broker's firm in San Francisco, in connection 
with which, after office hours, he became 
identified with journalism on several of the 
daily papers. Feeling that he wanted a per- 
manent direction for his talents, and p>ssess- 
ing a mechanical ae well as a studious turn of 
mind, he commenced the practice of dentistry, 
under the preceptorship of Dr. B. Beers, one 
of the well-known dentists of San Francisco. 
In 1884 he entered the dental department of 
the University of California, where he grad- 
uated after a full two-years course, receiving 
his degree as Doctor of Dental Surgery. 
After graduation Dr. Coulson at once entered 
into the practice of his profession, in which 
he has been pre-eminently successful and has 
built up a large clientage. 

Dr. Coulson is a member of the Masonic 
and Odd Fellows fraternity; is also a mem- 
ber^of the Union League Club, and late Treas- 
urer of the Liberty Club. He is a Good 
Templar, and is identified with several other 
fraternal organizations. 



■rtfft — \^ 



E. KNOWLES, M. D., D. D. S., 
whose ottice is at No. 236 Post street, 
^ San Francisco, has been a resident of 
this city since April, 1854, and has been en- 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR 8UBUBB8. 



151 



gaged in the practice uf dentistry since 1866. 
He was bom in Lowell, Mas^^achusetts, in 
1848, the son of Dr. C. C. Knowles, who was 
one of the pioneer settlers of California, and 
one of the pioneer dentists of San Francisco. 
The family are of English descent, and were 
among the early settlers of N^ew England. 
Our subject received his early education in 
the public schools of this city, commencing 
in the primary schools and graduating at the 
high school in 1866. He then CDmmenced 
the study of dentistry, under the preceptor- 
ship of his father, Dr. C. C. Knowles, who 
was for many years a prominent resident of 
this city, and at the same time entered the 
medical department of the University of the 
Pacific, now the Cooper Medical College, 
where he graduated in 1871, receiving his 
degree as Doctor of Medicine. He then went 
East, entering the Philadelphia Dental Col- 
lege, where he graduated in 1873, receiving 
his degree as Doctor of Dental Surgery. He 
then returned to San Francisco, where he has 
since been continuously engaged in his pro- 
fession. 

The Doctor is a member of the State Den- 
tal Association, and of the San Francisco Den- 
tal Association. He is also a member of 
the State Medical Association of California, 
of the County Medical Society of San Fran- 
cisco, of the International Medical Associa- 
tion, and of the State Board of Dental Ex- 



ammers. 



^^♦#•-♦^^4^ 




W. KENITZER, architect, San Fran- 
cisco, is a native of Germany, born 
1^ November 4, 1836. He received his 
education in his native country, and also 
took a three-years course in architecture; 
then engaged in active work of his profes- 
sion until 1862, when he left a good posi- 




tion to emigrate to this country, and came 
the same year to the Pacific coast. He 
worked for six years, practically as a builder, 
and entered the otfice of his brother, one of 
the oldest and most prominent architects in 
the State, and became thoroughly familiar 
with the practiciil methods in designing and 
building. After assisting him for some 
years, he became a partner in the business' 
and since then he has been prominently iden- 
tified with the building interests of the city 
and State. Many of the finest buildings and 
private residences in the city have been 
erected by this old established firm. 

lORNICES AND ARCHITECTURAL 
DECORATIONS.— Throughout the 
history of the human race the charac- 
ter of the architecture of a people has been 
a true index to their intellectual and aesthetic 
advancement. From the Indian wigwam to 
the mansion, man's dwelling place is the 
measure of his intellectuality and refinement. 
And, as in no other age of the world have 
culture and knowledge been so general 
among the people of civilized nations, so in 
no other period have the homes of the masses 
embodied so many elements of beauty as 
now, when, in this country at least, few 
human habitations are devoid of some at- 
tempt at the ornate. This appreciation of 
the beautiful not being confined to possessors 
of plethoric purses, architectural ornamenta- 
tions less expensive than sculptured marble 
or granite are demanded by people of refined 
tastes and moderate means. This demand is 
met in galvanized iron, and lately in copper, 
for cornices and other exterior ornamental 
decorations for buildings. By the use of 
these metals in the hands of ingenious de- 
signers a!id skillful mechanics, a variety of 



152 



TSB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



pleasing architectaral effectd are produced 
uneqiialed in any former era. 

In the later and better class of buildings 
erected in San Francisco and surrounding 
cities, perhaps no other man has done so 
much towards gratifymg and cultivating this 
taste as Mr. Joseph F. Forderer, who has 
carried on a large cornice and ornamental- 
iron manufactory and roofing business at 224 
and 226 Mission street, for the past fifteen 
years. 

Mr. Forderer is a native of Baden, Germany, 
but was brought up from infancy in Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, attending the city schools till nine 
years of age, when, being the eldest of a 
family of three children, and his parents in 
indigent circumstances, he started out to help 
earn a living. He first found employment in a 
cotton factory for a year and a half, at twenty- 
five cents a day, and then worked a year 
weaving wire cloth in a wire factory at $2 
per week; he then entered into a contract 
with Mr. Henry Beck, to learn the galvanized 
iron trade, his remuneration being $1.50 a 
week and board the first year, $2 per week 
for the second, and $3 per week the third 
year. During his apprenticeship he spent 
his spare hours in diligent study, acquiring a 
good knowledge of the common branches, 
and becoming quite proficient in arithmetic 
and geometry. Being a natural-born mechanic 
and a lover of art, he made such rapid prog- 
ress at his trade that before his apprentice- 
ship expired he was foreman of the shop, and 
at the age of nineteen started in business for 
himself as a partner with W. G. Bierman, 
which relation continued about five years, the 
firm doing a successful business. Learning 
in 1874 that the Napa Insane Asylum was to 
be built, they, with two other gentlemen, 
secured the contract for the galvanized -iron 
work, which amounted to about $46,000, and 
involved the manufacture of over two miles 



of cornices, besides seven towers. It was to 
execute this job that brought Mr. Forderer to 
California, expecting to return to the Ohio 
metropolis when it was finished, but during 
the eighteen months required to complete it 
he became so enamored with the country 
and climate that he decided to make the 
Qolden State his permanent home, and opened 
a shop in San Francisco. His artistic designs 
and superior workmanship won the indorse- 
ment and confidence of architects and build- 
ers, and created a prosperous, growing busi- 
ness, which has steadily extended over the 
Pacific coast. His extensive works are 
equipped with the best improved machinery 
and tools for making gal vanized-iron and cop- 
per cornices and other ornamental work. The 
latter metal is coming into favor because of 
its fine finish — requiring no paint — and of 
its great resistance to the HCtion of the ele- 
ments, rendering it as durable as adamant. 
Mr. Forderer also does a large business in tin, 
iron, copper, slate and tile roofing. He em- 
ploys fifty to seventy-five skilled men, to 
whom he pays $2,000 to $3,500 per month 
in wages, and turns out $100,000 worth of 
work a year. 

.Among the important buildings on this 
coast which bear testimony to his industrial 
enterprise and skill, are the Napa Insane Asy- 
lum, the Lick Observatory, Union Club 
building, Huntington-Hopkin's Company's 
building, St. Ann's, Stock Exchange, Lach- 
man Block, Pioneer Hall, Masonic Temple, 
Safe Deposit Building, Polytechnical School, 
Academy of Sciences; Deaf and Dumb Asy- 
lum in Oakland; Dolph & Thompson Build- 
ing, Portland, Oregon; Odd Fellows Hall, 
Reno, Nevada; Sacramento Cathedral; Eu- 
reka Court House; Masonic Hall, Bakersfield; 
Leland Stanford, Jr., University, the Chron- 
icle Building, with its immense copper tower, 
and the Concordia Building. 



IT8 CITIES AND TFTBTR SUBURBS, 



153 



Mr. Forderer is an inventor as well as a 
coustructer. Forderer's Improved Patent 
Ventilated Skylights are recognized as the 
best yet invented, being built so as to secure 
perfect ventilation through all parts cf the 
iron work, thus preventing condensation of 
moisture and consequent corrosion. It is 
also stronger and more substantial than any 
other, lor which qualities it was awarded the 
diploma at the State Fair at Sacramento. 
Mr. Forderer won the silver medal at the 
late Oregon State Fair, for the finest display 
of galvanized-iron work. His high standing 
as a manufacturer and his honorable record 
as a business man have earned the confidence 
and esteem of architects and builders, and his 
large establishment is taxed to its utmost to 
turn out work as fast as the trade demands. 

Mr. Forderer was born in 1850, and was 
married in 1873 to Miss Carrie ELeidt. Their 
family consists of three sons and five daugh- 
ters. 

jYER JACOBS, an attorney of San 
Francisco, was born in this State, 
his father, S. Jacobs, the well known 
merchant, having come here in 1851, and for 
a short time resided in Sacramento; then he 
came to this city and established himself in 
business. Mr. Jacobs, whose name heads 
this sketch, graduated at the Boys' High 
School in this his native city in 1872, and in 
1876 at the State University, as Ph. B. After 
studying law in private for about a year he 
went \X} the Columbia Law College in New 
York city, and graduated there in 1879, as 
LL. B. The same year the California Uni- 
versity conferred on him the degree of A. M. 
These facts show the thoroughness of his 
preliminary work. He was admitted to prac- 
tice by the Supreme Court of New York in 
May, 1879, and the following year by the 

48 




Supreme Court of this State. Since then he 
has ol)tained a good clientage here in San 
Francisco. His practice is mainly in the 
civil law, — mercantile, land, probate, etc. 
Being talented and painstaking, he is in every 
way worthy of the great confidence reposed 
in him by the public. At present he occu- 
pies the position of First Assistant City and 
County Attorney of San Francisco. 

In politics he is a sound Republican, and 
he has certainly done effective work for his 
party. For several years he was president 
of his district club. During the registra- 
tion period he was in constant attendance at 
the City Hall. He felt that he had a duty 
to perform to his party, and he went there 
and performed it fearlessly and well. By his 
vigorous action and his watchfulness, fraud- 
ulent registration was prevented. He was 
chairman of the Executive Committee of the 
Republican County Committee, and he felt 
the responsibility of his position. Has been 
delegate to many conventions, where he has 
been an efficient worker. He is also a me i- 
ber of the University Alumni Association, 
and of the Alumni of the Boys' High School, 
succeeding Dr. Henry Gibbons as president 
of the same. He is also a member of the 
Harmonic Club, the Union League Club, the 
Eureka Benevolent Association, of California 
Parlor, No. 1, N. S. G. W., and of the State 
Bar Association. 



IZZI'** 



©©•^ 




HE PACIFIC MUTUAL LIP^E IN 
SU RANGE COMPANY of California 
was organized in Sacramento, in 1868, 
at a time when steps were being taken to con- 
serve the interests of the Pacific coast by 
starting various financial, manufacturing and 
transportation enterprises. Many of the lead- 
ing capitalists and business men of the coast 



154 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



were active in this moveraent, feeling, as 
they did, the necessity of bniding np the 
material interests of the country. Among 
others, Senator Leland Stanford was noted 
for his energy in the direction referred to, 
and it was largely through his influence that 
the company was formed; he became its first 
president, and to-day holds its policy. No. 1, 
for $10,000. 

The company transacts both a life and ac- 
cident insurance business. It is organized 
under the insurance laws of the State of Cal- 
ifornia and its stockholders are by law made 
liable for the debts of the corporation, and its 
directors made responsible for the acts of the 
officers. During its existence it hat paid 
policy holders over $4,000,000, it has loaned 
to citizens of this coast $4,200,000, and its 
assets in 1891 are $2,268,469.45. It holds, 
invested according to law for the protection 
and security of its policy holders, $1,687,814. 
Its policies, both life and accident, contain 
provisions against forfeiture, impose no re- 
strictions upon residence or travel, and pro- 
vides for immediate payment on presentation 
of satisfactory proofs of claim. Its life pol- 
icies contain the indisputable clause, and 
contain no restrictions as to occupation 
or employment after the second year. The 
stockholders are limited in their profits to 
the interest actually earned by the capital 
stock, and every dollar paid in by policy 
holders is for their benefit alone. After pro- 
viding for the necessary expenses and the 
legal reserve fixed by law, all the rest is re- 
turned to them or their representatives, in 
the shape of policy claims and dividends. 
It is not to be wondered that a business con- 
ducted so justly and liberally should meet 
with such a remarkable ruccess. 

Its officers are: George A. Moore, Presi- 
dent; George W. Beaver, Vice-President; 
W. U. Cliincss, M. D., Medical Director; J. 



N. Patton, Secretary; S. M. Marks, Assistant 
Secretary; William O. Gould, Actuary; 
Thomas Bennet, General Superintendent, 
and Fox, Kellogg & King, Attorneys. Its 
Board of Directors comprises fifteen rep- 
resentative business men of California. 



5-» 



¥^ 



V' 




EORGE BENJAMIN FLINT, drugg-^ 
at the northwest corner of Broad ^ 
and Twelfth streets, Oakland, was bor»^ 
in Salem, Massachusetts, August 28, 184^ 
son of Simeon and Rebecca (Pollard) Fl' 
and grandson of Benjamin, a son of Benja- 
min, a son of William, a son of Thomas, a 
son of Thomas Flint. The last named, who 
was the original immigrant, is believed to 
have come from Wales about 1640, and is 
known from contemporary records to hav 
been one of the first settlers of Salem villaoro, 
now Peabody, Massachusetts. His name first 
appears "of record" in 1650, but his brother 
William is mentioned in 1642, and it is con- 
jectured that they came together. Thomas 
Flint is on record under the date of Septem- 
ber 18, 1654,' as purchaser of " 150 acres 
lying within the bounds of Salem;" and sub- 
sequently, January 1, 1662, he purchased a 
tract containing fifty acres. This homestead 
was still in possession of one of his descend- 
ants in 1860. His wife bore the name of 
Ann, and they had four sons and two daugh- 
ters. He died April 15, 1663. 

Thomas Flint, bom about 1645, the oldest 
child of Thomas and Ann Flint, inherited a 
part of his father's farm and became owner 
of other lands in Essex and Middlesex coun- 
ties by purchase at intervals from 1664 to 
1702. He was by trade a carpenter, and the 
builder of the first meeting- house in Salem 
village. He was engaged in " King Philip's 
war," and in the expedition against the Nan* 



ITS CITIES AND TUBIR SUBURBS, 



155 



ragansetts in 1675, and is known as <* Captain 
Thomas Flint." He was twice married, — 
first May 22, 1666, to Hannah Moulton, who 
died March 30, 1673, leaving a daughter and 
a son. September 15, 1674, the Captain 
married Mary Dounton, and had five sons and 
four daughters. He died May 24, 1721, aged 
about seventy-six years. William, the sixth 
qhild and fourth son of Captain Thomas Flint, 
1^ b'lrn July 17, 1685, and married to 
jLoigail Nichols, April 30, 1713. He farmed 
^.parcel of land containing abbut six-score 
•^8," given by his father through *' natural 
4- ;oction," March 22, 1720, and is known as 
" Deacon Flint, of North Reading," having 
been chosen to that office in the precinct 
church, June 28, 1727. He had six sons and 
three daughters, and died October 2, 1736. 
^^ Benjamin Flint, born December 26, 1728, 
u. son of Deacon William and Abigail (Nich- 
ols) Flint, was a lieutenant in the •* old French 
war," and was engaged in the expedition to 
Crown Point in 1755. He was twice mar- 
ried: first, to Peggy Sawyer, June 17, 1775, 
and they had two sons and one daughter; and 
February 18, 1762, he married Rachel Upton, 
by whom he had five daughters and four sons. 
He was chiefly a farmer of North Reading, 
and the date of his death is unknown; but 
his youngest child was born December 31, 
1779. Benjamin Flint, born April 8, 1757, 
the olde;3t child of Lieutenant Benjamin and 
Peggy (Sawyer) Flint, was a soldier of the 
Revolution, and settled on a farm in Swansea, 
New Hampshire. He was twice married. 
April 20, 1774, he wedded Mary Swain, and 
and they had six sons and four daughters; 
and his next marriage was to Eunice Stowell, 
by whom he had one daughter and three sons. 
He died January 18, 1829. Simeon Flint, 
born in Winchester, New Hampshire, Janu- 
ary 18, 1817, the youngest child of Benjamin 
and Eunice (Stowell) Flint, learned the trade 



of mason, and in mature life was a builder, a 
manufacturer of sewer pipe and a dealer in 
various kinds of building materials at Salem, 
Massachusetts. He was married November 
26, 1845, to Ellen Rebecca Pollard, who was 
born in Hallowell, Maine, June 9, 1822, a 
daughter of George and 'Rebecca (Pnnchard) 
Pollard. They had seven children, namely: 
George B., the subject of this sketch; Charles 
Henry, born May 30, 1848; Edward Win- 
chester, August 27, 1850; Albert Stowell, 
September 12, 1853; Williatn Cornelian, 
September 10, 1855; Mary Ellen, September 
18, 1857; Arthur Poland, February 11, 1860. 
The father died July 16, 1876, but the mother 
is still living. 

Mr. George B. Flint, whose name heads 
this sketch, received his education in the pub- 
lic schools of Salem, including a course in 
the high school, which he left in his sixteenth 
year to go to sea, shipping " before the mast" 
in 1862, in a full-rigged Boston ship engaged 
in tUe East India trade. In December, 1863, 
he arrived in San Francisco from Hong Kong, 
and soon afterward became a drug clerk in 
the drug store of his uncle, Charles P. Pol- 
lard, ot Marysville, with whom he remained 
four and a half years. In 1868 he made a 
trip to the East, and on his return settled in 
this city as a clerk in the drug store of E. P. 
Sanford, in September, 1868. In 1872 he 
became a member of the firm of Sanford, 
Kelsey & Co., and while so engaged took oc- 
casion to follow a professional course in the 
Pharmaceutical College of San Francisco. 
In 1878 Mr. Kelsey and he sold their inter- 
ests to the senior partner, and under the style 
of Kelsey & Flint purchased a drug store 
at the corner of Broadway and Eleventh 
streets, afterward removing to No. 1073 
Broadway. In 1885 they moved to the present 
location. No. 1101 Broadway, corner of 
Twelfth street, and in 1887 Mr. Flint bought 



156 



TUB BAT OF SAN FEANCI800: 



out his partner's interest, continuing the 
business alone, under the style of George B. 
Flint. 

For several years Mr. Flint took an active 
interest in the local military organizations, 
being a member of the Oakland Light Cav- 
alry from a few weeks after its organization, 
and its First Lieutenant when attached to the 
Fifth Regiment, Second Brigade, N. G. C, 
as Company F., of which he became Captain, 
holding that rank until his withdrawal 
through pressure of professional business in 
1886 He is a member of University Lodge, 
No. 144, L O. O. F. 

In Oakland, August 24, 1887, Mr.' Flint 
married Miss Abbie L. DeGolia, who was born 
in Placerville, California, April 15, 1859, a 
daughter of Darwin and Lavinia W. (Baldwin) 
De Golia. The father, a grandson of the origi- 
nal immigrant De Golia, came to California in 
the early '50s from the region of Lake Cham- 
plain, New York, followed mining for some 
time in California and Nevada. He after- 
ward published a newspaper, and still later 
was engaged as a contractor and builder at 
Placerville, where he was married in 1855. 
He moved with his family to Oakland in 
1873, and died in 1888, at the age of sixty- 
nine years. The. mother, who was born in 
Ohio, a daughter of David and Lavinia 
(Wheeler) Baldwin, came across the plains in 
1854 or 1855. She died in October, 1887, 
aged fifty-eight years. Grandfather Baldwin 
lived to the age of eighty-four. Mrs. Flint 
has three brothers living, viz.: Darwin C, 
an attorney at Waterville, Washington; 
George E., an attorney residing in Oakland; 
and Edwin B., an underwriter of San Fran- 
cisco. 

Mr. and Mrs. George B. Flint have one 
child, Arthur DeGolia Flint, born July 30, 
1890. Albert S. Flint, the only surviving 
brother of George li., is a graduate of Har 



vard University and has developed a special 
interest in astronomy. After graduation ho 
spent one year each at the observatories of 
Princeton and Cincinnati, about seventeen 
years at the United States Naval Observatory 
at Washington, District of Columbia, and is 
now Assistant Astronomer at the observatory 
of the University at Madison, Wisconsin. 





RS. FANNIE BARR, the present 
proprietor of the Pioneer Paraso 
and Umbrella Manufactory of San 
Francisco, now located at No. 323 Bush 
street, is the widow of the late J(»hn D. Barr. 
The latter started the business in 1864 on 
Mission street, near Second, where it was con- 
ducted live years, and was then moved to its 
present location. Mr. Barr was born January 
1, 1829, in New York, and his ancestors were 
from the North of Ireland, who came to New 
York early in the eighteenth century. He 
was educated in New York city, and learned 
his trade, that of a parasc 1 and umbrella maker, 
in that city. When the great war of the 
Rebellion burst upon the country, and at the 
call of President Lincoln, he enlisted in Com- 
pany I, One Hundred and Sixty-second New 
York Volunteer Infantry, and after serving 
two years as a soldier he became sjcfc. He 
received an honorable discharge and returned 
to New York, where he recovered his health 
to some extent. He then came to San Fran- 
cisco, and as before mentioned, started the 
pioneer factory in his line in the State. 

Mr. B?rr was married in 1865, to Miss 
Fannie Blanc, a native of Ireland, and of 
French-Huguenot ancestry. They were the 
parents of fourteen children, nine of whom 
still survive. Mr. Barr was a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, of the I. O. O. F., the 
A. O. U. W., and the G. A. R. He was an 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



157 



indnstrions, honest and honorable business 
man and a kind and indnlgent husband and 
father. His death occurred June 12, 1890, 
of softening of the brain. Mrs. Barr, who 
had been his faithful wife for thirty- five 
years, and had from the start become an 
efficient helper in his business, is now con- 
ducting the same. Two of her sons, Stewart 
A. and Milton H., help her in the business. 
Mrs. Barr has a thorough knowledge of this 
business, and she now gives it her special at- 
tention, and they make goods for the whole- 
sale trade and also on special orders for their 
customers. She is a quiet, unassumiug lady, 
and is deserving of the highest esteem and 
patronage of the citizens of San Francisco. 



» > M 



.. g . l i. I . g .. 



••^ 




ACIFIC SAW MANUFACTURING 
COMPANY. — Among the men who 
have contributed a liberal share in im* 
proving the machinery and appliances in use 
in other countries so as to adapt them to the 
requirements of California and its productions 
are the founders of the Pacific Saw Works, 
the oldest and largest manufactory of its 
kind west of the Rocky Mountains. 

At different times along in the fifties, 
Charles P. Sheffield, James Patterson and 
N. W. Spaulding, all young men and practi- 
cal mechanics, came to California. In 1858 
James Patterson, on reaching San Francisco, 
started to work in a little repair shop on the 
corner of Battery and Jackson streets. In 
1863 he entered into partnership with Charles 
P. Sheffield, a former shop- mate in Balti- 
more, Maryland, under the firm style of 
Sheffield & Patterson, and carried on a repair 
shop until 1865, when N. W. Spaulding be- 
came a member of the firm, and under the 
title of Pacific Saw Manufacturing Company 
they established their works on Pine street. 



where they manufactured the first saws made 
on the Pacific coast. Being familiar with 
the needs of thi^ coast, and adopting the 
highest standard of excellence as the ruling 
principle in the manufacture of their goods, 
the business of the firm grew rapidly in vol- 
ume, soon demanding larger facilities for 
production. In 1868 they secured the land 
and erected the commodious quarters they 
now occupy at Nos. 17 and 19 Fremont Street. 
Th: buildings are substantially built of brick 
and cover the entire lot, which is 45.10 x 137 J 
feet. The main structure is two stories, be- 
sides the basement in height and 110 feet in 
depth, and the engine room, one story, oc- 
cupies the rest of the lot. The business was 
conducted as a private co-partnership until 
1884, when, for convenience in its manage- 
ment, it was incorporated, with a nominal 
capital of $300,000, divided into shares of 
$100 each, the original owners taking nearly 
all of the stock. Mr. James Patterson was 
elected president and manager of the com- 
pany, which position he still fills. The line 
of manufacture embraces circular and up- 
right saws of all kinds for cutting lumber, 
veueer and band saws, and cross-cut and hand 
saws of every description. California having 
the largest timber in the world, the largest 
saws in the world are required to cut it; and 
these have been made by the Pacific Saw 
Manufacturing Company. They have manu- 
factured upright mill saws fourteen feet long 
from a single plate; have made band saws 
fifty-four feet long, and a cross-cut saw thirty- 
two feet in length. This saw cut the mam- 
moth tree. Sequoia gigantea^ of Tulare 
county, ninety feet in circumference, a por- 
tion of which will be sent to the World's 
Fair at Chicago in 1893. The Pacific Saw 
Company also make knives for planing mills, 
knives for curriers and tanners, for cutting 
tan-bark and paper-cutting machines; in short 



153 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



they are prepared to tarn out to order any- 
thing that can be made from sheet steel. 

The steel plates used in manufacturing 
saws are imported from Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, where they are made and cut into the 
shapes desired for different kinds of saws. 
The plates are shipped in their untempered 
state; and if it is a circular saw that is to be 
manufactured, the first step is to punch the 
hole in the center; then the plate is firmly 
fastened upon a shaft, and while revolving 
the edge is pared until the peripliery of the 
blade is a perfect circle. It is then attached 
to a circular machine called an index which 
marks and cut the teeth, any number desired, 
exactly alike and equal distance apart. The 
saw is now ready for tempering and is 
placed in a largo furnace and heated to a dull 
red color, 'when it is removed and submerged 
in a vat filled with oil, with which some other 
ingredients are combined. On being taken 
out the saw is as hard and as brittle as glass. 
It is cleaned, replaced in the furnace and 
heated to a less degree, and is drawn down 
to the proper temper. In the tempering 
process the blade becomes badly warped, and 
has to be straightened by hammering it on 
an anvil. This is the most critical and difli- 
cul t part of the work, requiring the highest 
skill and scientific knowledge of the business; 
for not only does the saw have to be brought 
to a perfectly true plane, but the requisite 
tension must be given to the blade by the 
anvil work. An expert at hammering re- 
ceives $5 to $6 per day. Following the an 
vil work comes the grinding and polishing. 
The stones used in the grinding room weigh 
when new 3,500 to 5,000 pounds, and last 
from four to six weeks. The polishing is 
succeeded by another hammering to remove 
any warping that may have been produced in 
the grinding, and to bring the saw to just 
the tension necessary for the work it is to 



perform. The saw now only requires sharp- 
ening to be ready for use. 

In December, 1889, Mr. Sheffield died, 
thus breaking the business connection which 
had existed between the three founders of 
this prosperous and important industrial en- 
terprise for nearly a quarter of a century. 
The Pacific Saw Manufacturing Company 
controls a large portion of the trade of the 
Pacific slope in their line of manufacture, 
which has been built up upon the superior 
quality of their goods as compared with those 
produced elsewhere; and also upon the 
thoroughly honorable method of dealing with 
their customers; hence the reputation of the 
company is of the highest character. 

Mr. James Patterson, the president and 
manager of the company, is a native of Scot- 
land, but came to America a lad of ten years. 
He began learning the trade of saw manufac- 
turing in the city of Baltimore when twelve 
years of age and has been actively connected 
with the business ever since. He married 
in New York city. Six living children, two 
sons and four daughters, comprise their 
family. The elder son has mastered all the 
details of the manufactory, and is an efficient 
assistant in the business. 

Mr. Sheffield was of English nativity, 
came to America about 1844, soon after 
learning his trade of saw maker, and con- 
tinued in the business all his life. He was 
a California pioneer of 1850. 

,EISS BROS & CO., importers and 
wholesale dealers in cloth and tailors' 
trimmings, have one of the leading 
establishments of their kind in San Francisco. 
The house was founded in 1865 by the brothers 
Solomon and Bernard Reiss, a few years later 
admitting another brother, Isaac Achilla 




ITS C1T1B8 AND THEIR 8UBUHBS, 



159 



Ileibs, who resides in Paris and does the buy- 
ing there. Another member of the firm, 
Mr. L. Bine, was admitted in March, 1891. 
They first did business on Kearny street, a 
few years later moved to 113 and 115 Sutter 
street, and from there came to their present 
quarters, 21 and 26 Sutter street, where they 
have tine facilities for their large jobbing 
trade. They employ a force of sixteen men 
and have a trade that extends over the Pa- 
cific coast and into Montana and Colorado. 
Employing only the most honorable business 
methods in conducting their affairs, the 
trade of their house has enjoyed a steady and 
healthy growth from its establishment. 

The gentlemen composing this firm are all 
married and have families; have bought real 
estate and made homes in this city. They 
are enterprising business men and are thor- 
onu:hly identified with the best interests of 
this city and State. 



■ M • ! 



SoMt > 2 




HE MISSION POTTERY, Tracy 
Brothers, proprietors, was established 
at its present location, Seventeenth and 
Harrison streets, in 1883. It was founded 
by Daniel McMenamin, J. J. and B. A. Tracy, 
the plant consisting of a building 40 x 100 
feet in area and one eighteen-foot kiln. In 
1884 a duplicate building containing a 
twenty-foot kiln was added; and in 1888 
another building, 60 x 70 feet, and in it 
built a twenty-four-foot kiln. At first the 
wurks were supplied with such machinery 
as was then in general use, comprising the 
"screw press," with a capacity of 300 pieces 
of pipe per day. When the next bailding 
was completed the old machinery was re- 
placed with new and improved machinery, 
including the best steam press manufactured 
by Messrs. Turner, Vaughan & Taylor, Ca- 



yuga Falls, Ohio. The press was capable of 
turning out 1,200 pieces of twelve to twenty 
inch pipe a day, or 2,000 pieces of the smaller 
sizes, while it required two men less to oper- 
ate it than any other press in use. The works 
were first established on leased ground; they 
subsequently bought and now own the land, 
which is bounded by Seventeenth and Eight- 
eenth and Harrison and Channel streets. 
The original capital invested was about $13,- 
000, and the value of the above described 
property was $70,000. December 4, 1890, 
these works were entirely destroyed by fire, 
at a loss of $50,000. Four months afterward 
the enterprising proprietors had an entire 
plant rebuilt: Shop, 140 feet square and 
three stories high, with all the latest im- 
proved machinery. It is one of the most 
complete sewer-pipe works on the coast, and 
the only sewer-pipe manufactory in San 
Francisco. The concern employs twenty five 
to thirty men, and the output for 1889 ex- 
ceeded $160,000 in value, consisting of 
vitrefied sewer pipe, water pipe, drain tile, 
chimney pipe and fire brick. The clay, of 
which 25,000 to 28,000 tons are consumed 
annually, is shipped from Amador county. 

Mr. B. A. Tracy, who has the active man- 
agement of the works, has invented a press- 
feeder which is capable of conveying sixty to 
seventy-five tons of clay per day, and per- 
forming the labor of two men. The firm's 
olHce and sample yard are situated at 20 and 
22 Eighth street, San Francisco. 

The Tracy brothers are natives of tie 
north of Ireland. Bernard A. Tracy is 
thirty-one years old, and in his youth learned 
the plasterer's trade. He landed in the 
United States in 1876, and after attending 
the International Exposition at Philadelphia 
came on to California. Mr. J. J. Tracy, two 
years older, left his native land in 1881 and 
went directly to Seattle, Washington, where 



IGO 



THB BAT OF SAN FBAN0I800: 



lie engaged in the manufacture of soda 
water. Two years later he came to San Fran- 
cisco, where he formed his present relation. 



»— •% 



|H«f 



C i» -« 




AMES ALEXANDER JOYCE, im- 
porter of dry-goods at Oakland, was 
born in Headford, county Galway, Ire- 
land, December 28, 1866, a son of Tatrick 
and Catherine (Kyne) Joyce, both of whom 
are still living, the father aged seventy and 
the mother sixty -four. Of their eleven chil- 
dren, nine are living, live being residents of 
the United States; and of these Charles and 
John are in the employ of the subject of 
this sketch. The father has been for many 
years clerk of petty sessions in Headford, 
and a iarmer, and is a man of good education. 

James A. Joyce received a fairly good edu- 
cation in his youth under the tutorship of 
Mr. O'Reilly, of Headford, and at the age of 
fourteen entered a dry-goods store in the city 
of Galway, serving an apprenticeship of four 
years. At sixteen he came to America, by 
way of Liverpool and New York; and after 
serving three years as a dry-goods clerk in 
the East, paid a visit of five months to his 
native land. Returning to New York in 
J 877, he came to Marysville, California, 
where a maternal aunt, the wife of M. C. 
Ellis (a rancher and miller), resided, and 
there remained over two years as clerk in a 
dry-goods store. In 1880 he came to Oak- 
land and served a few years as clerk in the 
store of J. T. O'Toole & Co. In December, 
1884, at the age of twenty eight, after twice 
seven years' service in the dry-goods trade, 
he became an owner, by the purchase, with 
one of his fellow clerks, of the business of 
their deceased employer, Mr. O'Toole. The 
new firm, Joyce & McDonald, carried on the 
business two years; but since 1886 James A. 



Joyce has been sole proprietor, and his suc- 
cess as a dry-goods merchant has been phe- 
nomenal. His store has been repeatedly 
enlarged and remodeled to meet the ever 
increasing demand of his business. It com- 
prises a first floor and basement, 50 x 110 
feet, well provided with all conveniences for 
the display of goods and transaction of busi- 
ness. Mr. Joyce carries as large a stock as 
possible, and keeps incessantly replenishing 
it, as the best available substitute for still 
larger accommodations. Buying direct from 
the manufacturers, he can sell at the lowest 
price possible, according to the quality of the 
goods offered. Dealing on the same basis, 
and with precisely the same advantages as 
merchants of San Francisco, he can and does 
undersell them for the simple reason that 
his expenses are not so great. Hence, it has 
come to pass that great numbers of Oakland 
ladies have learned to buy their goods of Mr. 
Joyce, being fully satisfied from their own 
experience and observation that goods of 
equal quality can not be bought so cheaply 
across the bay. They have ascertained that 
bargains can be obtained in his store that 
could not be had elsewhere without nullify- 
ing the cheapness by the inferiority of the 
goods. These bargains in good wares have 
proved the most effective advertising, being 
based on the bed-rock of undeniable merit. 
It has thus been clearly established in this 
community that a piece of goods from his 
store can not be duplicated at his prices; and 
ladies have learned to f^ave themselves the 
labor of searching further. So it has become 
mainly a question of meeting the varied 
tastes of his numerous patrons, and in cater- 
ing to these Mr. Joyce is an ex|)ert. The 
remarkable development of his business can 
perhaps be best illustrated by the increase in 
clerical force, which in seven years has grown 
from one clerk to fifty; and all this success 



IT8 CITlBa AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



161 



has been won on Washington street, which 
was regarded at the time when Mr. Joyce 
be^n business there as laboring under insur- 
mountable objections as a location of a dry- 
goods store. It was said that it could not be 
made a businecs thoroughfare in the lines 
recognized by ladies; it was not improved; it 
was not a through street; it could not draw 
trade from popular Broadway. Mr. Joyce 
has proved that all these drawbacks could be 
overcome by the simple process of making it 
worth while to visit him on Washington 
street. He had unquestionably much to con- 
tend with, and it is equally undeniable that 
the combination of personal energy, business 
enterprise, good judgment and great industry, 
that has enabled him to overcome all these 
obstacles, and many more that might be 
enumerated, is as rare in the mercantile as in 
any other line of human endeavor. Mer- 
chants of this class contribute largely to the 
welfare of the community. 

Mr. Joyce is a' member of the Y. M. I., 
and of Pacific Lodge, No. 7, A. O. U. W., 
of Oakland. He was married in this city, 
October 1, 1882, to Miss Ella G. Skaill, bom 
in Headford, Ireland, August 23, 1863, a 
daughter of Derby and Margaret Skaill, both 
now deceased — the father in Headford, in 
1867, aged forty-five, and the mother in 
Oakland, in 1884, aged sixty. 

He has had three children, of whom two 
are living, namely: Margaret Catherine, born 
July 17, 1883, and deceased in infancy; 
Charles Christopher, born January 13, 1885, 
and Lillian Frances, born March 16, 1887. 



4i 



^^ 



EORGE A. MOORE, President of the 
Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany of Califoinia, was born in Phila- 
delphia, February 9, 1834. His father, Her- 




bert T. Moore, a native of Maine, descended 
from English ancestry that settled in Amer- 
ica during the reign of Queen Anne. Mr. 
Moore was reared and educated mostly in 
New York city, and was a student of medi- 
cine and the natural sciences. 

During all his mature life he has been en- 
gaged in and devoted to the insurance business, 
and is now giving his attention to the inter- 
ests of the Pacific Mutual Insurance Company. 
Early in his history he was engaged in fire 
and inland marine insurance. In 1864 he 
became* general agent for life-insurance com- 
panies, and in 1874 came to California. In 
1876 he accepted a position with the com- 
pany with which he has ever since been con- 
nected; serving first as managing director 
and afterward as vice-president, until in 1880 
he became president of the company. Dur- 
ing his presidency the assets of the company 
have increased 200 per cent., and its agencies 
have been extended into thirty States and 
Territories, thereby adding largely to the 
volume of its business and annual income. 




KVT. EDMUND McNEVIN, the well- 
known principal and head of the Nau- 
tical School, 406 Beale street, San 
Francisco, was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 
1832. His father, Daniel McNevin, was 
a prominent attorney and Sheriff of Galway. 
His mother, nee Emily Catharine Blake 
Foster, was from Glasnevin, Dublin. The 
Captain's eldest brother, Thomas, was one 
of the leading barristers of Dublin and the 
author of numerous historical works, as the 
History of the Yolnnteers of 1782, the 
Confiscation of Ulster, Memoirs of Shiel, 
McNevin's State Trials, and was connecte<l 
with Gaven Duffy (now Sir Charles) as pro- 
prietor of the Nation; also with Smith 



162 



TEE BAN OF SAN FBANOISOO: 



O'Brien and a leader of the Yonng Ireland 
party. The subject of our sketch was edu- 
cated for the army in the Henry IV College, 
Paris. This was not according to his fancy, 
however, and he ran away from college and 
went to sea. 

In 1847 he crossed the Atlantic in the 
Great Western, one of the first steamers to 
cross the ocean, and a few years later, in 
1852, he was in command of the old ship 
Davenport, and thereafter for eighteen years 
he sailed all over the world in command of 
different ships. In 1874 he came to San 
Francisco and was engaged with the Oregon 
Steamship Company, under Henry Yillard, 
and made several trips. 

Acting on the advice of the Hon. Mr. 
Booker, the well-known English consul, now 
of New York city, and at the solicitation of 
citizens, Captain McNevin established his 
Navigation School or Nautical Academy 
under the Board of Underwriters, and for 
the past fifteen years this institution has 
maintained a high standard. It has a mem- 
bership of over 1,500, and the certificates 
issued by the board number over 1,300. 

Captain McNevin was appointed through 
the French consul French superintendent or 
desiirner and constructor. In 1881 he de- 
signed the gunboat Taravao and the New- 
heva. He went to Tahiti in command of 
the former with his class, and also sent a 
class in the latter boat. He received a hand- 
some testimonial in the shape of a magnifi- 
cent chronometer from Admiral Oorbiney of 
the flagsliip Triumphant. 

Captain McNevin is the author of several 
valuable works on navigation, among which 
is his epitome on practical navigation, marine 
law, seamanship, abstract taken from ad- 
miralty courts of all nations — a very valu- 
able compendium and adopted in nautical 
training schools. He has an extensive 



library, completely equipped with the finest 
chronometers and mathematical and nautical 
instruments. 

His first wife was Miss Tatem, of Leeds, 
England, and a cousin of John Bright, the 
great English statesman. She left two sons, 
Edmund Henry and Alfred Darcy. The 
Captain's present wife was Miss Walker, 
daughter of the Hon. Judge G. B. Walker of 
San Francisco. They have three children, 
two daughters, Alice E. De Burg and Julia 
Emily Walker, and one son, Peter Collins 
McNevin. Mrs. McNevin's uncle, Dr. John 
Walker, is a resident of Chicago, having his 
office at 85 Washington street. 





[MIL JOHN is an architect having his 
office in the City of Faris building, 
No., 14 Grant avenue, third floor, 
rooms 45 and 46, San Francisco. 



^-^i/l'^^d?/^ 



W. HESEMEYER, druggist, Golden 
Gate, was born at Oldenburg, Ger- 
^ many, July 15, 1855; was reared and 
studied medicine in his native country, and 
later graduated in pharmacy. His parents 
were Frederick W. and Helen K. (Renken) 
Hesemeyer, both natives of Germany. They 
had three children, of whom our subject is 
the second. The father died in. 1869 and the 
mother in 1872. 

Mr. Hesemeyer, our present subject, re- 
mained in New York some six years; then 
went to Chicago, where he resided four years, 
when he came to California. On his arrival 
here he engaged as prescription clerk to the 
firm of Leipnitz & Co. of San Francisco, and 
in 1890 he purchased the drug business of Dr. 
Collins on the corner of San Pablo and Klink- 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



168 



ner avennes, where he carries a large stock of 
drugs, toilet articles, perfumery, etc., maklDg 
prescriptions a specialty. Although com- 
paratively a stranger in the community, he 
has already established for himself a reputa- 
tion as a skilled prescription druggist and a 
social gentleman. 

He was married in Chicago, October 11, 
1884, to Miss Louisa von Muenster, a native 
of Germany, and they have three children, 
namely: Curt F. W., Otto U. and Olga L. 

On American questions Mr. Hesemeyer is 
a consistent Ilepublican. In fraternal rela- 
tions be affiliates with the Knights of 
Pythias, Rising Star Lodge, No. 152, and 
the Chosen Friends, Harbor View Council, 
No. 188. 



< M •% 



S - i"t - 2 



I* <■» 




LOIS FRANCIS LEJEAL, one of the 
best known and most accomplished 
musicians on the Pacific coast, was 
born in Alsace, France, in 1840, and was 
reared and educated in his native country. 
His uncle, Ignatz Garner, who was promi- 
nent in the musical profession, gave him his 
first instructions, which he continued under 
Ig. Trueg, and studied counterpoint with M. 
E. Sachs. Upon completing his musical 
course Mr. Lejeal came to New York, and 
later founded the New York Conservatory of 
Music, in conjunction with the well-known 
violin virtuoso, Edward Mollenhauer, and S. 
N. Griswold, in 1867. In the following 
year Mr. Lejeal assumed the sole musical 
direction of the conservatory, then number 
ing about 1,500 students. He taught the 
advanced classes on the piano, and also took 
an active part as pianist in the concerts of the 
conservatory, given under his directions. On 
account of ill health, resulting from over- 
work, he came to the land of golden promise, 



and in 1875 became a resident of San Fran- 
cisco, and since then, for the past sixteen 
years, he has been successfully engaged in 
giving instructions in piano and harmony. 
Professor Lejeal has done much in composi- 
tion and as musical author, and among his 
works the Modem School of Piano Technics 
is deserving of special mention. It com- 
prises over 150 quarto pages, and is well cal- 
culated to prepare the hands for all require- 
ments of modern virtuosity. Chromatic 
progression through all the keys is a predom- 
inent feature of the work, and all the triads 
and chords of the sevenths with their result- 
ant arpeggios are treated in an exhaustive 
manner. Among his piano solos are Atalanta 
Fantaisie, Minuet de la Princesse, Twilight 
Reverie, a suite in five numbers for piano and 
vioiin, etc. Among his vocal compositions 
are four Masses, a Requiem, Vespers, Episco- 
pal morning and evening services, Te Deums, 
duets, etc. 

Professor Lejeal has had a long and suc- 
cessful experience in teaching and enjoys an 
enviable reputation in the profession in New 
York, Boston, Philadelphia and other East- 
ern cities, and with the most eminent musi- 
cians of the musical centers of Europe. He 
takes yearly vacation visits in New York, 
Boston, Philadelphia and other Eastern cities. 
Professor Lejeal has an elegant and attractive 
home on Clay street in this city. 



"S ' lul ' g — 



EORGE H. MARTIN, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 921 Polk street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of Cali- 
fornia since 1881, and has been engaged in 
the practice of medicine since that time. He 
was born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, in 
1859, and is of Sco^^ch descent, but the fam- 
ily were among the early settlers of New 




164 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRAN0I800: 



England. His great-grandfather served in 
the Revolutionary war in the American army. 
His father, J. M. Martin, was killed daring 
the war of the Rebellion, bein^ at the time a 
member of the Eighth Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Infantry. 

The subject of this eketch received his 
early education in the graded schools of 
Middlebury, Vermont, where he prepared for 
college and graduated in 1877. He then 
commenced the study of medicine, entering 
the medical department of the Boston Uni- 
versity, where he graduated in 1881, after a 
four years' course, receiving his degree 
as Doctor of Medicine. While yet attending 
medical lectures he received the appointment 
of Assistant Surgeon of the National Mili- 
tary Home for Veterans at Hampton, Vir- 
ginia, where his stepfather. Dr. A. J. Hare, 
was surgeon in charge, and where he re- 
mained one year. Later he was for about a 
year in the same position in the Soldiers' 
Home, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin. In 1881 
Dr. Martin came to San Francisco, where he 
remained one year, engaged in private prac- 
tice. In 1882 he went to the Sandwich Is- 
lands, where for five years he was engaged in 
practice in Honolulu. Returning to Cali- 
fornia in 1887 the Doctor went to New York 
and entered the Post-Graduate Medical 
School of that city, where he took the post- 
graduate course. Returning to San Francisco 
in the spring of 1888, he again engaged in 
the practice of his profession, where he has 
remained since that time. 

For two years Dr. Martin held the Chair 
of Clinical Medicine and Electricity at the 
Hahnemann Hospital College. In 1890 he 
was appointed to the Chair of Mental and 
Nervous Diseases. He is Secretary of the 
California State Homeopathic Medical Soci- 
ety, a member of the State Board of Medical 
Examiners, and also Secretary of the Board 



of Directors of the Hahnemann Hospital 
College of San Francisco. 




S * ^"^ ' 2) 

ENERAL WILLIAM H. DIMOND, 
Superintendent of the United States 
Mint, San Francisco, i^ a man of self- 
reliance and firmness of purpose, possessing 
the natural traits for a wise leadership. He 
has attained a succe s in his business career 
in this city of which even the most sanguine 
might be justly proud. He located herein 
1868, and since that time has been promi- 
nently identified with the best interests of 
both city and State. 

General Dimond's ancestors settled in 
America in colonial days. He belongs to 
the eighth generation in this country from 
Captain Thomas Dimond, who located in 
Fairfield county, Connecticut, and in his 
veins runs the blood of both the Puritan and 
Hollander. The family name was originally 
Dimon, and is so spelt in old archives. The 
General's father was a native of Connecticut 
and his mother of New York State. His 
ancestors were opposed to tyranny and oppres- 
sion of any form, and in the various conflicts 
of this country took fitting part. His father 
was educated for the ministry of the Congre- 
gational Church, and in the 30s, when there 
was an urgent call for missionaries to many 
fields of labor, the Rev. Mr. Dimond was 
among the first to respond. He and his wife 
were among the first American missionaries 
to the Sandwich Islands, and since that early 
day their labor has been continuous. 

In the Sandwich Islands General Dimond 
was born. He was educated at the College 
of Oahn, on the island of that name. After 
completing his studies he entered a mercan- 
tile house and became familiar with business 
transactions. He was so engaged when news 



IT8 CITtES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



165 



of the civil war in this country reached his 
home. As tidings of the struggle grew more 
mournful for those attached to the Union, 
young Dimond's patriotic instincts were 
aroused, and, hastily adjusting his affairs, he 
came to the United States. Arriving in 
"Washington in 1864, he was appointed by 
President Lincoln, Assistant Adjutant-Gen- 
eral on General Saxton's staff. Department 
of the South. This was an independent com- 
mand, and was in service in South Carolina 
and that section, with headquarters at Beau- 
fort, where he served until the close of the war. 

After the war General Dimond married a 
daughter of Mr. Charles Merriam, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, of the publishing house 
of G. & C. Merriam. publishers of Webster's 
Dictionary. He traveled extensively in 
Europe afterwards, and in 1866 returned to 
the islands. His wife's health would not 
permit of a permanent residence there, how- 
ever, and in consequence he came to this 
city, locating here in 1868, as already stated. 
Mrs. Dimond, who had endeared herself to 
all who knew her, recently died in this city. 

Shortly after his arrival here, he began a 
connection with the Russell & Erwin Manu- 
facturing Company. Some time after the 
company sold out to Huntingdon, Hopkins 
& Co., and he transferred to the latter firm. 
He remained with them about a year, when 
he entered the firm of Williams, Blanchard & 
Co. This firm subsequently became Will- 
iams, Dimond & Co., and since the General's 
entrance into the firm its business has been 
materially extended. It is now one of the 
most important mercantile houses in this 
metropolis. 

General Dimon's connection with the Na- 
tional Guard of California dates from the 
time of Governor Perkins. He was appointed 
A. D. C. on his staff. When General Mc 
Comb retired he was tendered the command 



of the Second Brigade, N. G. C, which he 
accepted. By Governor Waterman he was 
appointed Division Commander, N. G. C, 
and re-appointed by Governor Markham, 
which position he now fills. Since his connec- 
tion with this organization his labors have 
been unremitting in behalf of it. 

He is a Knight Templar, a member of the 
Golden State Commandery, belongs to the 
I. O. O. F., the A. O. U. W., K. of P., and 
also the Union League. He is also First 
Vice-President of the San Francisco Chamber 
of Commerce. 

In politics General Dimond has always 
been a consistent Republican. He was very 
prominently mentioned in connection with 
the Governorship of the State, and, in fact, 
received a large share of the votes of the con- 
vention which met at Los Anoreles, without 
great effort on his part. During the last 
presidential contest General Dimond was 
Chairman of the Republican State Central 
Committee. He is universally popular not 
only with his own party but with others as 
well, and in his present position, as Super- 
intendent of the Mint, has the confidence and 
respect of all. 

Such is an epitome of the life of one of 
San Francisco's most worthy citizens. 

2 * ^"^ * 2 ***** — 



JSIDOR JACOBS, president of A. Lusk 
& Co., commission merchants and pack- 
ers of hermetically sealed goods, has been 
connected with this company since 1888. 
Their paid up capital stock is $300,000, and 
they are no doubt the most extensive handlers 
of canned and dried fruits, also raisins in 
the United States, having representatives in 
all the principal cities of America and the 
Old World. Their shipments for 1890 aggie- 
gated 2,000 car-loads, or about one-sixth of the 



166 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANOISCO: 



total shiptiients from the State. The present 
year, 1891, will give an increase of fully 500 
car-loads over last year. The Fresno Can- 
ning Compatiy, of Fresno, California, is the 
largest corporation of the kind in the central 
part of the State, and Mr. Jacobs is president 
of this, association; also A. Lnsk & Co. are the 
general agents for the company as well as the 
Martinez Fruit-packing Company, Martinez, 
California; the Whittier Canning Company, 
Whittier, California, located twelve miles 
from Lo^ Angeles; also the Fresno Raisin 
Producers' Association, of Fresno, California. 
The latter is a combination of prominent 
raisin-producers of Fresno, California, who 
will pack about 150 car-loads of Fresno rais- 
ins. Mr. Jacobs is also president of the Sut- 
ter County Orchard Company, located in Sut- 
ter connty, California. This orchard, form- 
erly known as the Briggs orchard, is one of 
the largest on the coast, and famous for its 
production of early fruits. Mr. Jacobs is 
also president of the California Canned Goods 
Association, as well as a director of the Cali 
fornia Fruit Canners' Association, a director 
of the San Francisco World's Fair Associa- 
tion, a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, of the San Francisco Board of Trade, 
of the State Board of Trade and the Horti- 
cultural and Agricultural societies. His 
oflBces are located at 308 Market street, San 
Francisco, corner of Front street. 

The subject of this sketch is one of Cali- 
fornia's '' native sons," born in San Fran- 
cisco, August 4, 1860, the second in the fam- 
ily of ten children of William and Bertha 
(Wisner) Jacobs. The former was a native 
of Germany, and well known in the city of 
San Francisco and throughout the coast dur- 
ing his active business life. He died Decem- 
ber 17, 1884, at the age of fifty years. The 
mother of our subject was a native of New 
Jersey. Mr. Jacobs was reared and educated 



in his native city. In 1878 he began the bat- 
tle of life on his own account, being con- 
nected with the insurance business, until he 
entered the firm of A. Lusk & Co., in the 
year 1880. 

He was joined in marriage, July, 1887, 
with Miss Mira J. Straus, also a native of 
San Francisco, and they have three children. 

In national politics Mr. Jacobs is a Re- 
publican; in local matters he is liberal and 
active. Socially he affiliates with a number 
of secret and benevolent societies. He has 
taken most of the degrees in the Masonic fra- 
ternity, having passed all the chairs in the 
blue lodge and the chapter of Royal Arch 
Masons, is an officer in the Grand Consistory 
of California, and a director of the Eureka 
Benevolent Society of San Francisco, also a 
member of the San Francisco Verein and 
Concordia Club. 



< 



^ 




[ALVIN NUTTING, Sr., deceased, was 
entitled not only to the honors of a Cal- 
ifornia pioneer of 1849, but he also won 
the greater distinction of being a pioneer 
manufacturer, and hence also was one of the 
literal builders of this grand commonwealth 
and its great metropolis. Descended from 
one of the early New England families, and 
the son of Ephraim Nutting, he was born in 
Groton, Massachussetts, May 18, 1813. Pos- 
sessing a natural taste and aptitude for me- 
chanics, he became an apprentice to the black- 
smithing trade, which his constructive talent 
and industry rapidly mastered in all its de- 
tails, and he pursued his chosen vocation for 
a number of years in his native State. 

January 27, 1849, he embarked on the 
Marietta for Chagres on the way to California. 
On reaching the isthmus he was detained 
thirty-four days waiting for transportation, 



ITS 0ITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



167 



at the end of which time he procured passage 
to San Francisco on the bark Equator, arriv- 
ing at his destination June 16. In July, 
1850, he entered into copartnership with Mr. 
Edwards, under the firm style of Nutting & 
Edwards, to carry on blacksraithing and gen- 
eral wrought-iron work. In 1853 this part- 
nership was dissolved. In 1854 Mr. Nutting 
took another partner, the firm becoming 
Nutting & Zottman. At the expiration of 
two years he purchased Mr. Zottman's inter- 
est and continued the business alone until 
1868, when Calvin Nutting, Jr., became as- 
sociated (vith his father, under the firm name 
of Calvin Nutting & Son, as proprietors and 
managers of the Pioneer Iron Works. 

Mr. Nutting was married in the city of 
Boston, to Miss Judith Adams, a native of 
New Hampshire. They had six children, — 
three sons and three daughters. In July, 
1887, Mr. Nutting pasped away, and thus 
ended a useful and honorable life of seventy- 
four years. He was an active and highly 
esteemed member of the Society of Cali- 
fornia Pioneers, and was enthusiaetic in his 
devotion to its interests. 

Calvin Nutting, Jr., was born id Boston, 
Massachusetts, in 1842, and in 1853 came to 
California. He has been a resident of San 
Francisco, therefore, over thirty seven years. 
After learning his trade with his father, he 
gradually assumed the responsibilities of the 
business until in 1884 he because sole pro- 
prietor and manager of the Pioneer Iron 
Works; and his successful conduct of the 
manufactory proves him a worthy successor 
to his respected sire. 

This pioneer establishment has changed its 
locati<m only twice in a quarter of a century, 
and has occupied its present commodious 
quarters, erected and owned by the firm at 
235 and 237 Main street, for the past nine 
vears. The line of manufacture is exclu- 



sively of wrought iron and steel work, being 
chiefly house or architectural iron work of 
all kinds. Among the specialties are steel- 
lined bank vaults, prison cells, fire-proof iron 
doors, iron fencing, etc. The manufacture 
of patent metallic tubular wheelbarrows is 
also a feature of the works. 

January 1, 1868, Calvin Nutting, Jr., 
married Miss Ada J. Riley, a native of Dover, 
New Hampshire. 



%m • % 



^^«^^ 



I* M » 




ARILLAGA was born at Tolosa, prov- 
ince of Guipuzcoa, Spain, 1847. Be- 
^ fore he was ten years of age he began 
the study of solfeggio under a master who 
used the old Spanish method and employed no 
instrumental accompaniment. He began the 
study of piano music as recreation, under D. 
C. Aguayo, organist of the parish church. 
He attended school in Spain and France 
until sixteen years of age, when he was sent 
to the Royal Conservatory at Madrid, and 
became a pupil of Don M. Mendizabal in 
piano music, Don R. Hernando in harmony, 
and Dr. H. Eslava in counterpoint. After 
a three years' course he graduated with the 
highest honors and obtained first prizes in 
public examinations, and was decorated with 
the gold medal of the university, which was 
conferred upon him by the Queen. In 1867 
he went to Paris and studied in the conserva- 
tory. 

Upon reaching his majority. Professor 
Arillaga went to South America and the An- 
tilles, and from there came to this country, 
remaining at San Jose de Costa five years. 
On account of ill health he came to San 
Francisco in 1875, and since then has resided 
here engaged in teaching music. 

As a pianist his playing is characterized 
by its elegance and graceful style. When 



168 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANOISCO: 



Carlotta Patti visited the Pacific coast she 
engaged him for her concert tour. Although 
his time is devoted chiefly to teaching, the 
Professor has done much in composition 
work, including many piano compositions 
and church music. 



M Mg » ] l H > g 



— m 




HOMAS A. SMITH, real-estate agent, 
etc., Alameda, was born in Sparta, 
Hancock county, Georgia, April 6, 
1835. His American ancestors on his fa- 
ther's side were old Virginia families of the 
counties of Mecklenburg and Lunenburg, 
which counties were probably settled by im- 
migrants from Germany. On his mother's 
side Mr. Smith's ancestry were from Eng- 
land, his maternal grandparents being from 
Bath, in that country. His mother's maiden 
name was Eliza Justine Broad. Her first 
husband was Dr. Fraser, a surgeon of the 
ship Ben Franklin, which at that time was 
tTie largest battle ship in the American navy. 
He was a brother of Captain Alexander 
Fraser, commander of the port of San Fran- 
cisco in 1850. While Mrs. Smith (mother 
of the subject of this sketch) was the widow 
of Dr. Fraser above alluded to, she was a 
member of the committee of ladies appointed 
to receive General La Fayette, in 1825, in 
Georgia, and had many pleasant conversa- 
tions with him. Her next husband was 
Thomas A. Smith, and after his death «he 
changed her residence several times. She 
was bom in New York city. After she left 
Georgia she went to Tennessee and afterward 
resided in several States, but toward the 
close of life she resided mainly in Jackson, 
Mississippi. She made many visits in the 
Northern States among acquaintances, of 
whom she had many, some of them eminent, 
as she was a lady of high educational accom- 



plishments. By her first marriage she had 
one daughter, who died, and by her second 
marriacre four children, of whom Thomas A., 
our present subject, is the only son. She 
was married a third time, and afterward died 
in Alameda, California, in August, 1869. 

Mr. Smith came to California before he 
was sixteen years old, sailing from New Or- 
leans on the steamer Ohio for Havana, then 
on the steamer Georgia to Chagres, and 
from Panama the remainder of the trip 
on the steamer California, arriving in 
San Francisco August 23, 1850. After 
spending a year and a half in the mines 
in Tuolumne county, he became manager at 
the age of sixteen years of the Big Oak Flat 
Mining Company, having under his charge 
about thirty-five men. Next he studied law 
a year and a half, in the ofHae of Sloan & 
Rhodes in San Francisco, but, his health be- 
coming impaired, he moved over to Ala- 
meda, where he still resides. He followed 
farmingabouttwelveor fourteen years, during 
which time he wa^ Justice of the Peace for 
Alameda tONvnship and Associate County 
Judge for several terms. About 1862 he 
entered into mercantile and real-estate busi- 
ness; and when the town was incorporated 
in 1872 he was elected City Treasurer, which 
position he held until he was elected Coanty 
Recorder in 1876. After his terra of two 
years in that office had expired, he spent 
eight months in Europe, for recreation and 
health, including the World's Fair at Paris 
amontr the points visited. He commenced 
in the real-estate business here in Alameda, 
as above stated, and his i^ therefore prob- 
ably the oldest real-estate firm in that county. 
He was appointed City Treasurer again on 
May 12, 1890, to dll the vacancy caused by 
the death of N. W. Palmer. A notable in- 
cident in connection with this is that Palmer 
was appointed to fill Smith's unexpired term 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



169 



when the latter assamed the duties of County 
Recorder. Palmer was afterward elected and 
held the oflSce until Mr. Smith again took it. 
In politics Mr. Smith was a Democrat to 
the year of Cleveland's second nomination, 
when he joined the American party. 

He was marriel January 23, 1881, to 
Miss Alida B., daughter of the late A. B. 
Andrews of Alameda. They have had a 
daughter and son: the son, Clifford A., who 
was born August 8, 1887, is now their only 
child, the daughter having died. 



">*» g ' > « t ' ^' 



♦•-•• 




RS. ROWE DE DERKY, of San 
Francisco, received her musical edu- 
cation in New York, having devoted 
her whole time to voice culture and vocal 
study. After completing her course she en- 
gaged in teaching in that city, and later went 
to Cleveland, where she had a large class of 
pupils. On account of ill health she was 
obliged to seek a more genial climate, and 
accordingly came to California, where she 
engaged in teaching. She is very thorough 
and painstaking in her met hods, and her ability 
has met with deserved success. She has a thor- 
ough musical education, which includes a 
knowledge of instrumental music, but vocal 
culture is her specialty. 




^ANIEL O'CALLAGHAN, a member 
of the firm of C. F. O'Callaghan & 
Bro., shipping and commission mer- 
chants in general produce, 427 and 429 Front 
street, San Francisco, was born in San Fran- 
cisco, the youngest of the seven children of 
James and Margaret O'Callaghan, of Irish 
birth. Mr. James O'Callaghan came to 
America when only seven years of age, and 



coming to California in 1849 became one of 
California's sturdy pioneers. He came in the 
sailing vessel Flavirus aronnd Cape Horn, 
landing at this port in September. He, like 
many other forty-niners, engaged tor a time 
in mining, being very successful. Having 
great faith in the future of San Francisco, he 
invested his capital in city property here, and 
was of course successful in this enterprise, 
as his possessions advanced in value with the 
rapid growth of the city. He was a man of 
genial and generous disposition, public- 
spirited, and identified with the development 
of the city from the beginning. He was 
City Assessor and Tax Collector from 1851 
to 1853, and Pnblic Administrator for San 
Mateo county for a number of years. He 
always kept abreast of the times and took a 
lively interest in public affairs; waa a liberal 
contributor to public enterprises, and was 
ever ready to assist a friend, and there are 
many who deeply and sincerely mourn his 
loss, his death occuring in 1867. He was a 
member of the Society of Pioneers, a worthy 
and conscientious citizen. 

Our subject, Mr. Daniel O'Callaghan, 
completed his studies in the high school of 
his native city, and at the age of sixteen 
years became the bookkeeper for the whole-r 
sale grocery house of Goldberg, Bo wen & 
Co. He remained in the employ of this firm 
until 1887, when the wholesale produce and 
commission house of C. F. O'Callaghan & 
Bro. was established. It has since had a 
flourishing existence, its trade extending far 
into the northwest. 

Mr. O'Callaghan is a conservative Demo- 
crat, taking an active interest in local politics. 
Is a prominent member of the Stanford 
Parlor, No. 76, N. S. G. W., of Columbia 
Council, No. 55, Y. M. I., and has the hcmor 
of being the first vice-president of the latter 
at the present time. He is also a junior 



170 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANVISOO: 



member of the Society of California Pioneers, 
and of the Sons of Exempt Firemen of San 
Francisco. 





;AMLIN NASH, dealer in coal, wood, 
hay and grain at No. 1318, San Pablo 
avenue, Oakland, was born in Washing- 
ton connty, Maine, in 1857, a son of Abra- 
ham and Sophia (Cates) Nash. Grandfather 
Nash, of New England descent for several 
generations, by occupation a farmer, lived to 
the age ot nearly eighty. Grandfather 
Cates, also a farmer of Washington county, 
Maine, lived to be almost seventy. 

H. Nash, our subject, received the usual 
district school education in his youth, and 
helped on his father's farm to about the age 
of sixteen. He then went to sea, making 
some trips in the coasting and West India 
trade, continuing his education between times 
for three or four years longer, attending a 
seminary near Portland, Maine, for a few 
terms, and also a business college in that city 
for a season. In his seafaring career he was 
advanced to the position of mate of a 
schooner at eighteen, and later became mate 
of a brig. He continued in that line tq the 
age of twenty-two, and made a voyage from 
Boston to New Zealand. He came to this 
coast in 1880, as mate of the brig Cadet, ar- 
riving in San Francisco in April. Making a 
visit to some relations at HoUister, San Be- 
nito county, he concluded to remain in Cali- 
fornia. He went to work on a ranch in that 
section for six months and then rented a ranch 
in San Benito county, where he remained 
until the autumn of 1886, when he settled in 
Oakland in his present business. He has 
not entirely separated himself from the 
agricultural industry, being still owner of a 
steam thresher which he operates every sea- 
son. At his present location on San Pablo 



avenue below Seventeenth street, he has built 
up a good business in his line. 

Mr. Nash was married in this city, in 1884, 
to Miss Tenia Brown, born in 1863, and they 
are the parents of three children: Carl L., 
born in 1885; Percy C, in 1887; and Stella 
J., born in August, 1890. 



M l >| 



g * 3 t« ^g 




H. KENT, a contractor and builder of 
San Francisco, was born in Boston, 
Massachusetts, in 1832, a son of 
Saii.uel Kent, also a native of Boftou, and a 
ship carpenter by trade. Our subject was 
reared and educated in his native city, and 
also served an apprenticeship with his uncle, 
Barker Kent, a prominent ship-builder of 
that city. When only nineteen years of age, 
young Kent determined to come to the Pa- 
cific coast, during the early days of the gold 
excitement, and accordingly sailed on the 
Cherokee to Havana, and then to Chagres, 
and on this side of Panama on the old Cali- 
fornia, arriving in San Francisco in June, 
1851. He did not follow the throng to the 
mines, but engaged in steamboat work for 
one year, next engaged in mining about one 
year, and then returned to this city and 
worked at his trade. For ten years he ix as in 
the employ of the Pacific Mail Company, 
after which he engaged in business for him- 
self, and also did a great deal of Government 
work during the war. Mr. Kent was elected 
Superintendent of Streets, and held that of- 
fice two years, and was then appointed Su- 
perintendent of Erection of the State Normal 
School at San Jose, which cost $150,000. 
He next went to Los Angeles to supervise the 
building of the branch State Normal School 
there, after which he engaged in mining a 
short time. Upon his return Mr. Kent again 
commenced contracting and building, and 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



171 



since that time has done an extensive and 
snccessfnl business. He was elected Presi- 
dent of the Builders' Exchange in 1889, was 
re-elected in 1890, and again in 1891, thus 
serving his third term as the head of this large 
organization, and has been again re-elected, 
makincr the fourth term. He is also at the 
present time one of the Trustees of Calvary 
Presbyterian church, the leading church of 
this denomination on this coast. 



I M *l 



S*i«Hf 



H m 




B. PASMORE was born in Wisconsin, 
in 1857. His father, a native of 
® England, came to the United States 
in 1850 and settled in Wisconsin. The fol- 
lowing year he returned to England and 
brought his wife to their new home. 

Coming from a musical family, Mr. Pas- 
more developed a talent for music in early 
childhood. He still has the violin which he 
played when he was only four years of age. 
He received instructions in music there until 
1875, when he came to San Francisco, con- 
tinuing his studies here under the direction 
of Professor John P. Morgan, and also en- 
gaging in teaching. In 1882 he went to 
Europe and attended the Leipsic Conserva- 
tory of Music, and afterward studied vocal 
methods under William Shakespeare, of the 
Royal Academy. 

Upon his return to this city, he engaged in 
teaching the Shakespearean method. His 
great success, in an artistic way, has been in 
composition. A number of his song compo- 
sitions have been printed and published in 
Eastern cities and Europe. Mr. Pasmore 
has attained distinction as an organist. For 
the past thirteen years he has played in 
different churches and is now organist of St. 
John's Episcopal Church. He has been 
elected Dean of the California Conservatory 



of Music connected with California College, 
and holds that position at the present time. 
He is also principal of the vocal department 
of the University of the Pacific, and taught 
at Berkeley Gymnasium. 




ELIO V. PAULUCCI, of the firm of 
Paulucci & Casassa, commission mer- 
chants and general produce dealers, 515 
and 517 Davis street, San Francisco, dates 
his birth near the city of Lucca, Italy, Octo- 
ber 20, 1855, the youngest of seven children 
of Vincent and Alisabetta (Pucini) Paulucci; 
the parents, also natives of Italy, are de- 
ceased, the father dying in 1874 and the 
mother surviving until 1887. 

Our subject emigrated to America and 
landed at San Francisco in 1871, where he 
secured a position as grocery clerk, occupy- 
ing the same for some three years, when he 
went to Mendocino county and engaged in 
mining for a year. This business not being 
in keeping with his tastes, however, he re- 
turned to San Francisco and engaged in 
clerking for many years. In 1884 he be- 
came the partner of Mr. Casassa (whose 
sketch is given elsewhere), and has since 
carried on the coin mission business in this 
relation. Their trade has continued to flour- 
ish and increase in volume from the day of 
opening, and is now classed among the most 
substantial in the city. 

Mr. Paulucci was married in San Fran- 
cisco, October 26, 1879, to Miss Katherine 
J. Murphy, a native of Iowa, and they have 
three children living and one daughter de- 
ceased. The living are Eva, Lelio and Vin- 
cent; Estelle died in 1881. 

In politics Mr. Paulucci is a conservative 
Democrat, and quite active in local matters. 
He is a member of Laurel Grove, No. 17, 



172 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



A. O. D., and of the Knights of Honor — 
both of San Francisco. Mr. Panlncci was 
naturalized in Sau Francisco, in 1883. 



•mm^ 



■■ 2 - i"t - 2 '- 



4«*' 




OCRATES HUFF, Treasurer of Ala- 
meda county, was born in Crawford 
county, Ohio, July 1, 1827, a son of 
William and Pleasa (Garber) Huflf. The 
father was bora in New York State, in 1800? 
and the mother in Pennsylvania, in 1806; 
was married in Ohio, and in 1829 moved to 
St. Joseph, Berrien county, Michigan, being 
among the early settlers in that section. The 
mother died there, in 1830; her father 
reached the age of seventy-five, dying near 
Elkhart, Indiana. William Huff became 
owner of landed interests in the new settle- 
ment of St. Joseph, but his career was chiefly 
that of a country merchant and Indian 
trader. He died in 1848. Grandfather 
HuflThad come from Georgia to Central New 
York; but the first American Huff was of 
the early Dutch immigration, some inter- 
mediate ancestor having probably settled in 
Georgia. Grandfather Huff lived to be over 
100 years of age, and some of his children 
also reached advanced age. 

The subject of this sketch had the benefit 
of such limited ^educational advantages as 
were accessible in the pioneer settlements (»f 
the period, and grew to stalwart and vigorous 
manhood in St. Joseph. 

When the news of the gold discovery in 
California was confirmed, Mr. Hufl^, with his 
brother, L. B., and four others, set out for 
the land of golden promise, in February, 
1849. Ascending the Missouri from St. 
Louis on the steamer Dacota, with their out- 
fit for their journey across the plains, this 
steamer sunk some sixteen miles from Coun- 
cil Bluffs; thp party escaped with their lives, 



with loss of entire outfit. Fitting out again 
at Council Bluffs, they crossed the river and 
started on the weary trip by the usual route, 
by way of Salt Lake and the Truckee Pass, 
reaching Bear river on August 12, 1849. 
There Mr. Huff was quite successful in min- 
ing, but thinking business more profitable 
proceeded to Sacramento, where he engaged 
in business for a short time. The hardships 
of the journey across the plains and the 
malaria of Sacramento constituted a succes 
sion of assaults that had a serious effect on 
even his rugged constitution. Leaving Sac- 
ramento, he reached the Mission San Jos6, 
in what is now Alameda county, remaining 
in that f^ection until March, 1851, when he 
visited the Eastern States. 

Returning in August, 1851, he bought a 
freighting vessel, and engaged in that busi- 
ness, plying between Alvarado, San Fran- 
cisco and Stockton, until November, 1852. 
He then made another trip to the Ea^t, and 
was married, February 14, 1853, to Miss 
Amelia Cassaday, born in Pennsylvania, in 
1833, a daughter of James Cassaday, who 
had afterward settled in Cook county, Illi- 
nois, at what is now Pullman, near Chicago. 
Her father reached the age of sixty-five, but 
her mother died at about middle age. After 
his marriage, Mr. Huff went to Iowa, whence 
he drove a herd of cattle to Green valley, 
Alameda county, where he resided until 
1857, when he went t(» Haywards. In 1859 
he again went East, accompanied by his wife 
and children. Returning once more, in De- 
cember, 1859, he settled at San Leandro, 
which has been the home of the family, 
though he was afterward engaged in mer- 
cantile business in Carson City some years 
prior to 1870. Meanwhile, in 1863, he was 
first elected Treasurer of Alameda county, 
holding the position four years. Besides his 
fanning and real-estate interests, he has been 



ITS 01TIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



173 



interested in banking and insurance business. 
Always faithful in the discharge of the duties 
of citizenship, Mr. Huff has been active and 
prominent in the domain of politics, and was a 
delegate to the National Republican Conven- 
tion at Chicago in 1880. He was again 
elected County Treasurer in 1886, and re- 
elected in 1888 and 1890, his present term end-^ 
ing with the close of 1892. His unblemished 
reputation for integrity and absolute up^ 
rightness of character makes him an ideal 
treasurer, commanding the unquestioning 
confidence and unqualified respect of the 
whole community, without reference to party 
lines. 

Mr. and Mrs. Huff are the parents of seven 
daughters, all born on this coast; Ida, the 
wife of J. F. Sloane, a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, now secretary and treasurer of the 
Lindsley Mercantile Company of Spokane, 
has one son; Sidney H., born in that city in 
1889; Jennie, residing with her parents; 
Katie, deceased in 1883; Nellie E., the wife 
of Orrin P. Downing, born in Yalparaisoj 
Chili, of Massachusetts parents, now a 
wholesale druggist of San Francisco, has two 
children — Edith and Bonnie Downing; Car- 
rie, Mamie and Laura, all residing at San 
Leandro. 

EE LASH,Vho figures prominently in 
the art circles of San Francisco, is a 
native of Vancouver. His parents, early 
settlers of California, went up to that island 
and the year following his birth returned to 
this State, where he was reared and attended 
school. Having a taste for art, he began his 
studies under Wandesford and the Italian 
Toyetti, subsequently going to Paris and 
oontinuing his art studies there under Boul* 
anger and Lefebvre. He made rapid ad- 
vancement in his work, and his picture, the 




''Old Sailor's Home," attracted much atten- 
tion in the salon there; his work has also 
been seen in the New York and Chicago ex- 
hibitions. His subject, the " Death Watch," 
was exhibited in the Universal Exhibition at 
Paris, and received favorable mention. 

After remaining abroad eight years, Mr. 
Lash returned to San Francisco, opened his 
studio, and began his noted painting, "Life 
in the Olympic Club." This is a large paint- 
ing of fifty-three figures, half life-size, and is 
the first ever done of the kind. Mr. Lash 
gives his whole time and attention to his 
profession, and for one so young has attained 
much prominence. He is one of the in- 
structors in the San Francisco Art Associa- 
tion. 



fH-C**— • 




F. CRAUMER, capitalist, an old and 
honored citizen who, although strictly 
® speaking not a '49er, arrived here 
before the State was admitted to the Union, 
is a native of Maryland, bom April 12, 1829, 
and learned the trade of carpenter and joiner. 
He sailed from Baltimore on the ship State of 
Maine, and came around the Horn, and af- 
ter an eventful voyage of 148 days he arrived 
in San Francisco, in August, 1850. Good 
mechanics were in demand, and he worked at 
his trade until May, 1851, and then went to 
the mines on the North Fork of the Ameri- 
can river at Long Bar, and was engaged at 
mining there and at Auburn Ravine until 
the spring of 1853; then he returned here 
and resumed his trade until 1858; next he 
went to Eraser river, but remained only a few 
months, when he returned home and engaged 
in building. In 1862 he went to Caribou 
mines, but was there only a few months, and 
this closed his mining experience. Since 
then, for about a quarter of a century, he has 
been actively identified with the building in- 



174 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 




terests of this city, contracting and building 
and ship-boilding. Having retired from 
business, he and his estimable wife are en- 
joying well-earned repose in their comfort 
able and attractive home at 2132 O'Farrell 
street. 

Mr. Cranmer was married July 8, 1858, to 
Mary E. Craig, a native of Ohio, and they 
have one son, Fred, who is bookkeeper for a 
large commercial house in the city. He mar- 
ried Miss Rose Brook, of the city of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and they have one 
daughter. 

S ' ^ ' ^ ' S" * " — 

THOMAS FITCH, Jr., general commis- 
sion merchant at 202 Sacramento street, 
San Francisco, is one of the native 
sons of California and representative business 
men of the metropolis of the West. He is a 
native of San Francisco, dating his birth No- 
vember 30, 1862, a son of Hon. Thomas 
Fitch, a native of New York, well known 
throughout the Pacific coast as the •* silver- 
tongued orator." 

At the age of twenty- two years, Mr. Fitch, 
the second born in the above family, began 
the battle of life on his own account, and 
has been identified with the largest and most 
prominent commission houses of this city. 
Starting in business without capital or any 
financial aid from any one, but being a man 
of quick perceptions and of enterprise and 
natural ability, he has advanced steadily to 
the front ranks of the more progressive 
element of commission merchants His busi- 
ness extends far beyond the confines of the 
State. The name is well known in every city 
and town of consequence west of the Mis- 
souri river; and indeed it is no undue praise 
to say he is even better known in the sur- 
rounding territory than in his native city. 
He is a stanch believer in California's future 



greatness as a fruit and grain- producing 
State, and loses no opportunity of adver- 
tising that belief. Among the few business 
men who in their daily transactions with 
Eastern houses endeavor to advertise the 
State in connection with mercantile pursuits, 
may be seen the unique method adopted by 
Mr. Fitch. Every car he sends to the East 
bears the following placard: '* California 
beats the world. Thomas Fitch, Jr., Com- 
mission Merchant, 202 Sacramento street, 
San Francisco: Fruits, beans, produce, honey, 
nuts, grain, etc. All correspondents and 
consignments receive our immediate atten- 
tion." In connection with the above the 
emblem of the State is given and the picture 
of a huge bear. The placard attracts much 
attention. Numerous letters are received by 
Mr. Fitch concerning California. He makes 
a specialty of furnishing patrons with the 
best the market affords. Long experience 
has made him thoroughly conversant with 
every branch of produce, and merchants in 
the interior dispose quickly of all consign- 
ments forwarded by him. 

Mr. Fitch was married in San Francisco 
in 1884, to Miss Sue M. Shaw, a native of 
Louisville, Kentucky, and they have two 
children, viz.: Wallace and Milton. Politi- 
cally he is a Republican and takes an active 
interest in local matters. Socially he affili- 
ates with Oakland Parlor, N. S. G. W. 

AMES B. STANSFIELD, manager and 
part owner of the Broadway Stables, 1368 
Broadway, Oakland, is a native of Eng- 
land, born February 14, 1864, and brought 
up in Lancashire. His father, William Stans- 
field, was a land surveyor, architect, and for 
some six years before his death, in 1875, 
master of the Middleton Grammar School; 




IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



175 



was of superior education and bigh standing 
in tlie community, and died at forty five 
years and seven mouths of ago. 

Mr. Jamcu B. Stanlield was only eleven 
years old at his father's death. From boyhood 
up he was engaged in the care of horses, and 
in all grades of stables, even before his 
father's death. Indeed he was for a time 
too intensely fond of stable life. In 1883 he 
came to America, with the intention of loca- 
ting in Texas, where he had a prospect of fol- 
lowing profitably his favorite vocation. After 
making a brief visit to his maternal uncle, 
John Brierly, a foreman in a Philadelphia 
cotton mill, he proceeded to Texas, and for 
the first nine months was employed by Lieu- 
tenant Rumbough, of the Third Artillery, 
then located in San Antonio, taking charge 
of his stables. The military company was 
then removed, and he took charge of J. A. 
White's breeding farm at Boerne, Kendall 
county, Texas, where the proprietor kept four 
stallions, and remained three years. Then, 
in the fall of 1887, he came to California, 
first settling at Santa Paula, Yeutura county, 
where he broke two trotting-bred colts for 
Mr. Baker, a real-estate man and horse- 
fancier. 

The following year he quit Mr. Baker and 
traveled through Southern California, and 
then was employed by A. J. Snyder in Oak- 
land, a year or more. He afterward broke 
sixty Dead of horses for Kheinhold Hesse, a 
hardware merchant of Oregon, who became 
the possessor of many horses through the 
hardware trade, in the settlement of bills 
etc. Mr. Stansfield then took hold of horse- 
training on his own account. September 23, 
18 — , with the help of Mr. Hesse, he bought 
out the Broadway Boarding and Livery Sta- 
bles, established some ten years before. Under 
his superior management colts are thoroughly 
and quickly broken to work, without whip- 




ping or cruel treatment, vicious and unman- 
ageable horses and mules made gentle, and 
bad habits ^entirely broken up, while in the 
livery business his turnouts cannot be sur- 
passed. He has a good patronage, while in 
his special lines the public regard him as an 
expert. 

OHN LUTGEN, of the firm of Wich- 
man & Lutgen, importers of and dealers 
in wine and liquors, and manufacturers 
and proprietors of Dr. Forester's Alpine 
Stomach Bitters, 318, 320 and 322 Clay 
street, San Francisco, was bom in Amt, 
Hagen, Germany, August 8, 1837, the eldest 
of the nine children of Henry and Oddel 
Bottger Lutgen, natives also of Germany. 

Our subject followed farming until 1866, 
when he emigrated to America. For two 
years he was employed in New York, and in 
1868 he came to San Francisco, via Panama, 
and engaged in the grocery business for 
some six years. Then he formed a partner- 
ship in the liquor business, as above stated. 
Their trade has been prospsrous from the 
start, and has since extended not only through- 
out the State, but also throughout the coast, 
their establishment being one of the repre- 
sentative liquor houses of the Golden Gate 
City. 

Mr. Lutgen is a man of family. He was 
married in San Francisco, in 1871, to Miss 
Sofia Borman, a native of Germany, and they 
have had four children, two of whom are 
living — Louisa and Adelia. Two sons, 
Henry and John, died in 1880. Tiie father 
of Mr. Lutgen died in 1858, and his mother 
still resides in Germany. 

Politically Mr. Lutgjn is a Democrat, al- 
though not active in political matters. He 
is a member of the Board of Library Trus- 
tees of Alameda, where he resides, and owns 



170 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 




a beautiful residence on Santa Clara avenue, 
a neat cottage of modem architecture sur- 
rounded by a beautiful lawn set to shrubbery 
and flowers. He is also the owner of busi- 
ness property in San Francisco. He belongs 
to no secret orders, but affiliates with several 
German benevolent associations. 

H. RICKETTS, a well-known lawyer 
of San Francisco, may be classed 
'^ among those Califoruians who are to 
the manner born, as he was brought here 
when only five* years old, by his mother, in 
the spring of 1854. Her husband, Judge 
Ricketts, who had died some years previously, 
was a prominent English counselor in his day. 
11 is family occupied a good position, and he 
took np the study of law more to be employed 
than anything else. He was at length raised 
to be Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, 
sent first to the West Indies and afterward 
transferred to British Guiana. Those coun- 
tries had a bad climatic effect upon him, for 
he died shortly after his return to England. 
When he was old enough, Mr. Ricketts, 
our subject, was sent to the public schools, 
and in due time attended the Union and 
St. Ignatius colleges — the latter principally. 
Then he went to Virginia City, Nevada. 
He was several years in the office of Judge 
13. C. Whitman, ex-Chief Justice of that 
State, who had just left the bench in fact 
when Mr. Ricketts joined him. While study- 
ing there Mr. Ricketts was acting United 
States Marshal about six months. In Vir- 
ginia City, he was appointed Chief of Staff 
to Brigadier-General J. H. Mathewson,a man 
of wonderful nerve and courage. Mr. Ricketts 
was some eleven years in Nevada, being there 
during all the excitement of the " bonanza" 



period. It was there that he was admitted 
to the bar. 

His first case and victory was in the United 
States Circuit Court at Carson City, Nevada. 
Mr. Ricketts has always made it the great 
policy and rule of his practice to be well pre- 
pared and thorough in his knowledge of all 
details of every case he brings into court. 
His cases have almost all been in the Federal 
Courts or before the departments at Wash- 
ington, —not that this has been through any 
desire or special arrangement of his own; it 
chanced to be so. 

In 1884 Mr. Ricketts came to San Fran- 
cisco, and began practice with Judge Whit- 
man, for a year; then he was alone until R. 
B. Mitchell joined him, but this partnership 
was short-lived, and since then he has 
been alone in his practice. 

In mining law, involving title, etc., Mr. 
Ricketts is an acknowledged authority. In 
4;his branch of litigation he has had charge 
of many important cases. At the present 
time he is counsel for several leading com- 
panies. 




HARLES ALLERTON SHURTLEFF 
was born in Shasta, California, April 4, 
1857. He is the son of Dr. Benjamin 
ShnrtlefF, a well-known citizen of the State, 
and Mrs. Ann M. Shurtleff, nee Griffith, both 
of whom came from Plymouth county, Massa- 
chusetts, and now reside in Napa. 

After attending the public schools of 
Shasta, at the age of seventeen he moved 
with the family to Napa and entering the 
Napa Collegiate Institute graduated in the 
class of 1879. 

Removing to San Francisco, he studied 
law with Estee & Boalt and graduated at the 
Hastinirs Law School in the class of 1882. 
Admitted to the bar by the Supreme Court 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS: 



177 



of the State be immediately commenced the 
practice of his profession at the chief city of 
the Pacific coast. 

In the fall of 1887 he was married to Miss 
Ada S. West, daughter of Captain John 
West, an old and worthy pioneer of Califor- 
nia, now living in Orange county. 

In 1890 Mr. Shurtleff was appointed 
Assistant United States Attorney for the 
Northern District of California, the duties of 
which office he is now faithfully performing. 
He possesses good ability, agreeable social 
qualities and immovable integrity, qualities 
which inspire the esteem and confidence of a 
wide circle of friends. 

When he told the late Judge William P. 
Daingerfield that he had chosen the profes- 
sion of law, the Judge congratulated the 
young man and told him that success in law 
did not depend upon genius alone, but was 
only achieved by close, constant application — 
by work, work, work. Inspired by the 
wisdom of this advice he makes patient 
industry the inflexible rule of his lite. 



^-^l/S/^r^?/?/^ 




ON. WARNER WALTON COPE is a 
native of Kentucky. He was left an 
orphan at the age of ten years and his 
subsequent minority was passed under the 
care of relatives on the maternal side, living 
most of the time with an uncle, who though 
kind in many ways was too deeply immersed 
in business to pay much attention to his 
nephew's training or development. He was 
educated at an academy in Simpson county, 
Kentucky, where his uncle resided. The 
course of instruction included English, Latin, 
Greek and mathematics, but his attendance 
was not regular and he did not receive all 
the benefits of which even such an institution 
is capable. 



He studied law and was admitted to prac- 
tice before leaving Kentucky, from which 
State he migrated in 1850 and came to Cali- 
fornia, arriving here on the 9th day of July 
of that year. He afterward engaged in min- 
ing, but with very little success, an din 1853 
began the practice of his profession in El 
Dorado county. In 1864 he removed to 
Jackson, Amador county, where he continued 
his practice until 1859. He was elected to 
the Assembly from Amador county in 1858, 
and during the following session served as 
chairman of the Judiciary Committee. 

In 1859 he was elected an Associate Jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of this State, his 
term of office to commence January 1, 1860. 
He, however, became a member of that body 
prior to the above date by appointment of 
the Governor, to succeed Judge David S. 
Terry, who resigned from the Supreme 
Bench in September, 1859. As th^ succes- 
sor of Judge Terry he took his seat in the 
Supreme Court on the 20th day of Septem- 
ber in that year, and remained upon the 
bench until January 1, 1864, when his serv- 
ice was terminated by the election of a new 
court, under a constitutional amendment, 
which took effect at that time. 

Upon the formation of the first Supreme 
Court Commission, Judge Cope was selected 
by the Supreme Court as one of the com- 
missioners, in pursuance of a plan that it 
would be composed of Judge Cope and 
Judges Temple and Belcher. Judge Cope 
was, however, compelled to decline the dis- 
tinction, as also did Judge Temple. 

At that time he was occupied in reporting 
and publishing the decisions of the Supreme 
Court as offical reporter. He was the incum- 
beiit of this office until 1888, when he re- 
signed, having prepared and published ten 
volumes of reports. 

He has never taken an active part in pol- 



178 



THE BAY OF SAN FRAN0I800: 



itics. He began and remained a Wbi^ until 
the disintegration of that partj, since which 
time he has acted with the Democrats. 

Judge Cope is a married man. He had 
three sons and three danghters. One of his 
sons is married and a resident of Oakland, 
with hio family, consisting of his wife and 
five children. 

Another son resides in Santa Barbara. 
Following his father's profession, he has, al- 
though still a young man, filled the oflSce of 
District Attorney, and now occupies* the 
bench of the Superior Court ot* that county. 

The third son lives upon and has charge of 
an estate owned by Judge Cope in Contra 
Costa county, where the family home is lo- 
cated and his daughters, one of whom is a 
widow, reside. 

After leaving the Supreme Bench Judge 
Cope resumed the practice of his profession, 
and in. 1866 he became established perma- 
nently in San Francisco, where he has since 
remained. 

Judge Cope was one of the founders of 
the Bar Association of San Francisco, of 
which the late Judge Hoge was the first 
president. He was succeeded by Judge Cope, 
who was the president for six years, and then 
retired. On his retireiuent he was presented 
by the association with a membership for life, 
an honor never conferred upon any other 
member of the association. 

Judge Cope's vocation in life and his ca- 
reer have been the natural and practical 
operation of his mental qualities. Gifted 
with a studious and thoughtful nature, he 
has found in the practice of law a genial and 
healthy mental exercise. His choice of a 
learned profession was undoubtedly deter- 
mined by a sense of his intellectual necessi- 
ties and powers. His early educational 
advantages were limited but he made the 
most of them, not from compulsion but be- 



cause he loved study and reflection. His 
professional life has been but the flow of a 
natural current with continuous accretions, 
growing broader and deeper as advancing 
years have opened up new and more ex- 
tended experiences. 

The expressions "judicial mind" and "le- 
gal mind" are common enough and somewhat 
vague, but if they have any descriptive mean- 
ing it is to the tone and quality of Judge 
Cope's mind that they truly belong. Who- 
ever has listened whi'e he has been speaking 
to a question of law, must have observed 
how free from all heat and color of associ- 
ation, prejudice or fancy was his treatment 
of the matter in hand. In the course of 
his practice he has been mainly connected 
with cases where large interests were at stake, 
but however great his responsibility, or in- 
tense his desire for success, on his part the 
argument always proceeded with a clear and 
cool discussion of the whole case, and un- 
clouded judgment as to the relative strength 
of both sides. He has a broad and fair mind, 
<2apable of perceiving and duly weighing all 
that ought to be considered in arriving at a 
sound conclusion upon any proposition of 
law. Well versed in principles he under- 
stands their proper limits and boundaries, as 
defined by authority. An obscure or com- 
plicated question, in his hands becomes grad- 
ually clear and simple as "The Gordiau knot 
doth he unloose familiar as his garter." 

In general literature, he is a man of dis- 
criminating and cultivated taste, and while 
not an omnivorous reader, is well up in all 
the standard authors and current literature, 
from which he is fond of enlivening his con- 
versation with happy quotations. 

Those who have the most correct and at the 
same time the highest appreciation of his 
character and qualities, are the friends who 
are fortunate enough to know him as an "all 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



179 




round " man, — as a Judge, able, upright and 
learned; as a lawyer, shrewd, faithful and 
persistent; as a gentleman and man of the 
world, accomplished, sagacious and observing; 
as a companion, so interesting that his society 
is a continued happiness; and last and best 
of all, as a friend, ever loving and true. 

Thus Judge Cope has hosts of friends, but 
his intimate companions are few. Over these 
last, the charm of his varied acquirements 
and kindly nature is spread, and from its 
magnetism they catmot escape, and would 
not, if they could, for they feel and say, " He 
hath given me medicine to make me love 
him." 

S * ^ *'' ^ * S" ' " 

C. SEIB, who has been identified with 
the musical profession in this city 
^ and State for more than a quarter of a 
century, was born in Bremen, Germany, in 
1844. His father and mother were both fine 
musicians, as were also his sisters. Our 
subject was educated in his native city, and 
began the study of music at an early age. 
Upon reaching his majority he came to the 
United States, and after remaining a short 
time in New York he came to San Francisco, 
arriving July 1, 1865. He immediately en- 
gaged in teaching, and since that time, for 
more than twenty-five years, he has had a 
large and successful experience. Professor 
Seib has also done much in composition, and 
has a great fondness for improvisation, and 
his creative power is acknowledged in the 
profession. During his residence in this 
city he has made several visits to Europe 
and his native country, and in 1888, while 
in Germany, he attended the "Wagner Fes- 
tival at Bayreuth, the great musical event of 
the year in Europe. Professor Seib has 
been identified with musical organizations 
and events in this city, is a Mason and an 




Odd Fellow, and is always ready to lend his 
services and assist in entertainments in 
behalf of worthy charities, and is a generous, 
high-minded gentleman. 

iDW ARD PICKETT VANDERCOOK, 

a real-estate agent of Oakland, was 
born in San Francisco, January 31, 
1864, a son of Frederick Augustus and 
Emily M. (Oatman) Vandercook. The pa- 
ternal ancestry dates back to the settlement 
of Netherland by the Dutch, though the 
record of the first two generations is not 
accessible. This branch of the family has 
descended from Michael, born in New Jer- 
sey, November 10, 1715. He was married 
in 1842, to Cornelia Van Ness, born in 
1721, a descendant of Aneke Jans, whose 
estate included the site of Trinity Church, 
New York. In May, 1763, Michael Vander- 
cook settled with his family on what became 
known, from the abbreviated form of his 
name, as Cook's Patent, in Rensselaer 
county. New York, where he afterward laid 
out the village of Cooksborough, and where 
he died in 1786. Of his five sons and three 
daughters, Simon, born August 17, 1749, 
and married about 1773, to Livinia Van der 
Hoff, born May 5, 1754, was a soldier of the 
Revolution. There was a tendency in his 
day to drop the initial syllables of his family 
name, and he is on record as Simon V. D. 
Cook. Michael S., born April 8, 1774, the 
oldest of his six sons and three daughters, 
was three times married: August 27, 1792, 
to Mehitabel Haskins, who died after having 
borne him two sons and two daughters; 
December 14, 1806, to Sally Eddy, who died 
in 1823, the mother of five sons and one 
daughter; and in 1825 to Mrs. Betsey (Rob- 
erts) Pickett, born September 4, 1784, who 



180 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FEAN0I800: 



bore him two sons, — Roberts and Frederick 
Augustus. Michael S., a Major in the war 
of 1812, died at Raymertown, Rensselaer 
county. New York, February 17, 1852; his 
widow died in Bennington, Vermont, Oc- 
tober 28, 1865. Sally, his youngest child 
by his first wife, born July 24, 1803, by 
marriage Mrs. Twogood of Rockford, Illi- 
nois, is still living. Charles R., her half- 
brother, born in 1819, is living in Austin^ 
near Chicago; Prudence, his full sister, born 
April 20, 1821, is living in Wisconsin. One 
of her brothers died a few years ago, in Troy, 
New York, at the age of ninety-six years. 
Robert Yandercook, born in Rensselaer 
county. New York, September 5, 1825, ar- 
rived in San Francisco January 11, 1850, 
whither he returned two or three times 
during eleven years of varied experience on 
this coast, — mining, prospecting, keeping 
miners' store at Long Bar, Yuba county, 
and at times working at his trade at car- 
pentering. Since 1861 he has been a promi- 
nent resident of that city, engaged chiefly 
at his trade during his more active years. 

Frederick Augustus, the father of our 
subject, and the brother Roberts was born at 
or near Cooksborough, Rensselaer county, 
New York, September 28, 1829, moved to 
Wisconsin in young manhood, and came to 
California about 1852. Here he joined his 
brother Roberts, at Long Bar, Yuba county, 
in mining, and conducted a general store, 
continuing in that line until January, 1861. 
lie had meanwhile made a trip to the East, 
and was married to Emily M. Oatman, of 
a Rochester (N. Y.) family of that name. 
Her mother, by birth Lucy A. Williams, 
and a descendant of Roger Williams, lived to 
the age of seventy years. Mr. Vandercook 
moved in 1861 to San Francisco, where he 
engaged in real estate until bis death, March 
29, 1871. Mrs. Yandercook moved to Illi- 



nois in 1875, settling in Evanston, near 
Chicago, mainly for the better education of 
her children, — Robert Oatman and Edward 
Pickett Yandercook. The former is now 
publishing the Evanston Presa^ an influential 
and successful local journal of that city. 

E. P. Yandercook, the subject of this 
sketch, entered the Northwestern University 
at Evanston, and aflerward spent some time 
in Amherst (Massachusetts) College. In 1883 
he returned to California, the land of his 
birth, and alter a few years spent in various 
subordinate positions he engaged in the 
real-estate business, in 1886, under the style 
of Jackson & Yandercook, and since the 
withdrawal of Mr. Jackson in 1389, as E. P. 
Yandercook & Co., but without a partner to 
date of writing. 

He is a member of the college fraternity of 
Beta Theta Pi; of the Athenian Club; of 
Oakland Parlor, No. 50, N. S. G. W., and of 
Brooklyn Lodge, No. 225, F. & A. M. 




ILLIAM H. CHAPMAN is a native 
son, being born in Sacramento 
county, October 19, 1856. His 
parents, Daniel fi. C. and Martha (Coolidge) 
Chapman, came here in 1849 and were among 
the earliest and best known pioneers of Sac- 
ramento valley. Aft«r being here eight years 
the senior Chapman started East, in Septem- 
ber, 1857, on the ill-fated Central America, 
and was among the lost. The mother is still 
living ac Sacramento. The well-known 
White Rock Spring ranch, their old home, 
is yet owned by the family. Our subject 
completed his school education at the Cali- 
fornia State University, graduating in the 
class of 1879 and taking the degree of M. A. 
Adopting the legal profession, he read law 
and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



181 



Court upon examination in January, 1881. 
He engaged in the practice of law in Oak- 
land for one year, then opened an office in 
San Francisco, and since then has success- 
fully followed liis profession here. Since 
1883 he has been associated with Mr. Slack, 
and the well-known firm of Chapman & 
Slack have secured a large and responsible 
clientage. Mr. Chapman has never sought 
political preferment, devoting his whole time 
to the interest of his profession. He was 
prevailed upon to accept the office of City 
Attorney of Berkeley, and member of the 
School Board. Re is a prominent member 
of the I. O. O. F.,and is also connected with 
the A. O. U. W., Chosen Friends, and the 
Legion of Honor. 

Mr. Chapman married Miss L. E. Medbery? 
a native of Wisconsin and a graduate of the 
University of California, in the class of 1880. 
They have three interesting children, — Alice 
Mabyn, aged seven; Lester Hudson, aged 
four; and Carroll Charles, aged one year. 



" g - i"t ' S 



f ■■! 




•OSEPH LINCOLN SCOTCHLER, of 
Scotchler & Gottshall, real-estate agents 
of Oakland and Berkeley, was born in 
3an Francisco, October, 1856, a son of 
Joseph B. and Ellen M, (Taggard) Scotchler. 
The father, born in Boston, May 7, 1831, a 
son of James and Harriet (Eluntress) Scotch- 
ler (see sketch of his brother, John J., in 
this volume), after graduating from the high- 
school of New Bedford, Massachusetts, where 
the family then resided, spent two or three 
years with Lawrence Grinnell in the insur- 
ance business in that city. In 1832 he came 
to San Franclscsi by way of Cape Horn, and 
obtained a situation as bookkeeper for a 
wholesale houne, where he remained two or 
three years. After filling a similar position 



for another mercantile house for about a 
year, he became the confidential agent of 
Jonas G. Clark, who is famous among other 
things for having endowed the University of 
Worcester, Massachusetts, with $1,000,000. 
J. B. Scotchler tilled several responsible posi- 
tions in this section, but was perhaps best 
known as the President of the Merchants' 
Mutual Marine Insurance Company of San 
Francisco, which he helped to organize. He 
was its first Secretary and then its President 
until his early death, October 10, 1874. He 
was also prominent in the Masonic order. 
Six children and their mother survived him. 
The sons are J. L., the subject of this sketch; 
Thomas G. and Harold Scotchler. The 
mother, born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
in 1832, a daughter of John L. Taggard, 
formerly a merchant of that city and of San 
Francisco after 1852, is in good health and 
vigor for her years. Her parents lived to be 
over sixty. 

J. L. Scotchler was educated chiefly in the 
schools of Oakland, and in the University of 
California, class of 1879; his first work was 
as bookkeeper for Whittier, Fuller & Co., in 
this city; then in San Francisco with J. N. 
Knowles in the shipping and commission 
business; then as cashier of the Sun Insur- 
ance Company of San Francisco, organized 
in 1882, being its cashier and bookkeeper 
from the first and continuing five years. In 
July, 1887, ho formed a partnership with 
Louis Gottahall, under the style of Scotchler 
& Gottshall, real-estate acrents, first at 1010 
Broadway, and now at the southeast corner of 
Ninth and Washington^ Oakland, with an 
office also in Berkeley. Mr. Scotchler has 
been Chairman of the Republican County 
Committee, campaign of 1888. He is a 
member of Durant Lodge, No. 26S, F. & A. 
M., and of Oakland Parlor, No. 50, N. S. 
G. W. 



182 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 




He was married in San Francisco, in 1881, 
to Miss Nellie B. Whirlow, born in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, in 1858, her father 
being of Pennsylvania and her mother of 
New England descent for several generations. 
Mr. and Mrs. Scotchler have three children: 
Wallace, Mabel and Nelson. 

• 

.UGUST HINRICHS, of San Francisco, 
was born in Germany, May 3, 1863, 
His mnsical education was received in 
Hamburg, where he studied the violin with 
H. E. Kayser, piano and organ with Carl 
Armbrust, and harmony under Angelo Reiss- 
land. He played at the Hamburg Stadt 
theater for three years, during which time 
he assisted at the first performance of Saint 
Saens' " Samson and Delilah," as well as Ru- 
binstein's " Nero," and ** Damon," under the 
personal direction of the composers. In 
1883 he came to this country, and three 
years later, while first violinist of the Bald- 
win theater, San Francisco, he gave a num- 
ber of orchestral concerts, with an orchestra 
of fifty men, which was a great artistic but 
not financial success, although the subscrip- 
tion list contained the greatest number of 
names ever signed for a similar purpose in 
that city. As leader of the Baldwin theater 
he has done much to elevate the standard of 
theat^^r music, and has indeed won a most 
enviable national reputation for himself by 
the high artistic quality of the entr'act music 
rendered, and also has received many flatter- 
ing and tempting ofl^ers from the East, all 
of which, however, were declined. He con- 
tributed much toward the success of the 
famous Ovid Musin concerts in 1888-'91, at 
which he conducted the orchestra. In 1890 
Mr. Hinrichs conceived the excellent idea of 
instituting a musical competition for local 



composers, the competitive pieces to be ren- 
dered as entr'act music at the theater. No 
less than forty compositions of almost every 
description and character were sent in, and 
the prize was finally awarded to Harry Falk- 
enau for a graceful gavotte, entitled '* Roses, 
Music and Love." 

In addition to his mnsical labors Mr. 
Hinrichs is correspondent for the Stuttgart 
Musik Zeitung^ and has composed a one-act 
operetta, and, together with Richard Genee, 
he is at present engaged upon a grand opera 
which has for its theme the thrilling event 
that led to the establishment of the Amer- 
ican Republic, and which must kindle in the 
hearts of every loyal citizen the most enthu- 
siastic patriotism. Tlie opera is to be fin- 
ished in time to be produced at the opening 
of the World's Fair, in Chicago, where it is 
destined to have an immense run. 

- — -^^ -^ ^ ^.^r^.M^ .M^.^^ — 

•M ••^•il •t*^'» ••• 

KEDERICK DELGER, a landowner of 
Oakland, California, and the son of 
Gottlieb and Dorothea (Wechtler) Del- 
ger, was born in Saxony, March 11, 1822. 
His father, whose life-work was mainly farm- 
ing, died at about the age of sixty, and his 
mother also reached that age. Frederick was 
brought up to farming, but later learned the 
shoemaker's trade, serving three years as an 
apprentice, and afterward perfecting himself 
in the art as a traveling journeyman, after 
the manner of the craft at that time in his 
native country. He traversed Germany, 
Switzerland, Austria, Hungary and Bohemia 
for some years, and in November, 1847, 
came to America, by way of Hamburg and 
New York, going to work at his trade in 
New York. He was married in that city, in 
1848, to Ernestine Blecher, a native of 
Darmstadt. He afterward worked in Pbila- 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



183 



delphia and again in New York, whence he 
set out with his wife for California, by way 
of Cape Horn, in 1852, arriving in San 
Francisco, January 7, 1853. After working 
a short time for others he opened a shoe-shop 
on his own account, and, himself being fru- 
gal and thrifty, he began to accumulate. 
Money was abundant in those days, and 
work of all kinds was paid for on a liberal 
scale, so that an industrious mechanic, with 
no disposition to misspend the fruits of 
his labors, was on the high road to 
fortune. 

In 1855 JMr. Delger opened a regular shoe- 
store, and in a little while a second one, and 
by 1857 was able to open a branch store in 
Sacramento, supplying all three with goods 
sent too lavishly from the Eastern factories 
and sold at auction in San Francisco at prices 
which left a handsome margin for the retail 
trade. After a few years' profitable business 
he sold out his retail stores and embarked in 
the wholesHle shoe business for about a year. 
Meanwhile he had bought several pieces of 
real estate in San Francisco, on Third street, 
Clay street, at the corner of Second and 
Silver streets, where he lived, and on San- 
some street. Selling some of these at good 
prices, he went to Oakland, in 1860, and 
bought ten acres for $4,500 on Telegraph 
avenue, between Seventeenth and Twentieth 
streets, and running west in part to San 
Pablo avenue. Of this tract he eventually 
sold three and a half acres to Alexander 
Campbell, and subdivided the remainder, 
laying out what he named Frederick street 
(now Nineteenth) through the center; Will- 
iam street, between Nineteenth and Twen- 
tieth, and Delger street (now Twentieth), 
reserving 175 x 600 feet on the north side of 
Frederick street for his own homestead. This 
he has beautifully and lavishly improved 
until the mansion and grounds have beconre 



fit for one of the sovereign people with a 

good bank account. He built on a large 

proportion of the lots in his subdivisions, 

selling most of them when thus improved. 

His great success in accumulating wealth is 

founded on no special favor of Dame Fortune, 

nor any alleged luck in buying lottery tickets, 

of which neither himself nor wife have ever 

owned a sino^le one, or any fraction of one. 

The phenomenon has not the faintest tinge 

of mystery, being the simple result of a 

thorough appreciation of the value of land 

possession in a new and growing community. 

While making a little money in the humble 

vocation of repairing shoes, and still more in 

the business of boot and shoe merchant, he 

knew that the margin of profit in such lines 

was necessarily of a fluctuating character, 

and that the flush times would not last long, 

even in California, and that the only sure 

thing of steady, permanent and ever increas* 

ing value is land. 

As an illustration of this growth, let one 
instance here suttice. The piece of property 
he owned on Sansome street, which he had 
bought for $4,500, after bringing him $175 
a month rent for about twelve years, he sold 
for $50,000, with which amount he purchased 
the unimproved property 100 x 100 feet, on 
the southwest corner of Broadway and Four- 
teenth ►treets in Oakland. Previous to this 
he had bought the adjoining property on the 
northwest corner of Thirteenth and Broad- 
way, 100 X 100 feet, for $32,500, and had 
erected a building thereon. It is foreign to 
the purpose of this sketch to enumerate all 
the pieces of valuable property of which he 
has gradually become possessed. It is but 
just to state that it is all the fruit of his 
thrift, economy and good judgment, and that 
but few men could have accumulated so much 
property with less injury to themselves or in 
justice to others than Mr. Delger. As a 



184 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



landlord he is exceptionally attentive to the 
reasonable requirements of his tenants. 

In illustration of his benevolence of char- 
acter and the motives that prompt his benefi- 
cence on proper occasions, it may be interest- 
ing to state that himself and wife have 
contributed $8,000 to that excellent local 
charity, the Fabiola Hospital, the impelling 
motive being the remembrance of kind treat- 
ment received by him in a similar institution 
in his native land, in the days of his poverty, 
when he had nothing but his needs to entitle 
him to such consideration. 

Mr. Delger has revisited Europe several 
times, the last time being in 1885. Since 
1886 Mrs. Delger has been an invalid, and 
his faithful companion for more than forty 
years receives at his hands a devoted and 
chivalrous attention that all the gold in Cali- 
fornia could not buy. 

• Mr. Delger is a stockholder in the Oakland 
Bank of Savings, of which he was a director 
some years since, but his increasing years 
and responsibilities debar him from taking as 
active a part in public duties as his kindly 
spirit and sincere interests in the welfare of 
a community would otherwise impel him to 
contribute. 

Mr. and Mrs. Delger are the parents of 
four children, all of whom are married. The 
eldest daughter, Mrs. Matilda Brown, was 
born in the year 1849; the next, also a 
daughter, Mrs. Annie MoUer, was born in 
1854; the son, Edward F. Delger, was born 
in 1859; the youngest, another daughter, 
was born in 1866. 



»«-H 



2 > i »» i > g ' 



i> — 



EORGE H. BURGESS, the well-known 
jjg-f portrait artist of San Francisco, was 
V^ born in London, England, in 1831. His 
father was a prominent surgeon and parochial 



physician in the parish of Saint Giles, and sev- 
eral members of the family were gifted with 
a talent for art. A brother of our subject, 
William Oakley Burgess, the noted mezzo- 
tint engraver of London, was a pupil of Lup- 
ton. His exquisite delicacy in art may be 
instanced in both large and small plates which 
he engraved from Sir Thomas Lawrence's 
portrait of the Duke of Wellington. The 
last of his works were portraits of Sir John 
Moore, the Archbishop of Canterbury and 
the Duchess of Northumberland. He also 
made a tine engraved portrait of Lord Nel- 
son. 

George H. developed a talent for drawing 
at an early age, and afterward attended the 
Somerset House School of Design. He 
worked at artistic lithographing, both por- 
trait and landscape work. Upon reaching 
manhood he came to America and located in 
California, where he continued his art pur- 
suits. During the Eraser river excitement 
in 1858, he went up that river in a canoe and 
made some very valuable sketches, and while 
there painted a picture which was purchased 
frjm him by Governor Douglass. Since that 
time he has devoted more than thirty years 
to his profession here, working in oil and 
water color, both portrait and landscape, 
chiefly the former. Mr. Burgess has recently 
completed his great picture, *' San Francisco 
in '49," on which he has been engaged for 
years. It is undoubtedly the most correct of 
any thing ever portrayed of this most inter- 
esting subject. The painting is twelve feet 
long and five feet high. He has received 
certificates of its realty and correctness 
from many of the pioneers and histori- 
cal writers on this coast. This magnificent 
painting should adorn the walls of the State 
Capitol or the new City Hall, or would be 
conspicuous in any of the private galleries of 
San Francisco. 




■fi-lO'LK f -'-■'-' 



/>/"/V .- 



ITS OITIES ANT) TUEIR SUBURBS. 



186 



Mr. Burgees married Miss Emma Clint, of 
England, daughter of a noted artist and Pres- 
ident of the Society of British Artists. Her 
grandfather, George Clint, was a painter of 
the best known theatricals of his day, and 
many of his admirable works are found in 
Kensington Museum and in the National 
Gallery. 




ENERAL W. H. PRATT, United 
States Surveyor-General, is of pioneer 
New England stock, his people having 
settled at Saybrook, Connecticut, as long ago 
as 1635, and the history of the country at- 
tests the patriotism of their descendants. 
General Pratt was born at East Haddan), that 
State, was early left an orphan and brought 
up on the farm. At the early age of seven- 
teen years he began business for himself as 
stationer^t Springfield, Massachusetts. After- 
ward he was connected with the India-rubber 
manufacture conducted by his uncle in New 
York and Brooklyn. 

On the outbreak pf the gold excitement, he 
sailed from New York December 20, 1848, 
on the small steamer Orus, and after a stormy 
passage reached Aspinwall. February 1 he 
left Panama on the first trip of the pioneer 
steamer California, and arrived in San Fran- 
cisco on the 28th. In a few days he started 
in a small launch and in nine days and a 
half he reached the point where Sacramento 
now stands, paying $30 for his passage. He 
visited Coloma, where gold was first discov- 
ered, and then went on to the middle fork of 
the American river, to a place afterward 
known as Big Bar, where he engaged in mining 
during the summer and fall, with good suc- 
cess. About the middle of November he 
returned to San Francisco en route for the 
East, coming down the Sacramento on the 
first trip of the old-time steamer Senator. 

45 



He reached New York Christmas morning, 

1849, and shortly purchased a large 8t<»ck of 
general merchandise for the purpose of going 
into trade in San Francisco. Part of his 
goods he shipped around the Horn on the 
fast clipper. Surprise, and the remainder by 
steamer and across the IsthmuG of Panama 
by canoes and on the backs of natives. He 
came up with his goods on the Sarah Sands, 
his freight bill on that vessel amounting to 
$2,000; but he had been in business here 
but two weeks when the great fire of June, 

1850, burned him out, and he lost at least 
$20,000. He immediately borrowed $1,000 
on his bills of lading on the goods coining 
around the Horn, agreeing to pay ten per 
cent, per month, and purchased a quantity of 
goods here, and took them to Big Bar, where 
he was signally successful in trade. He soon 
had four large stores in operation, owning his 
teams and freight wagons; and he was also 
interested in large mining operations, equally 
successful. In 1852 he built a sawmill, at 
Ford's Bar, on middle fork of American river, 
which at that time was a great enterprise, as 
everything had to be packed in on mules. In 
1852, however, he suflTered heavily by the 
first fire in Georgetown, in the days be- 
fore the insurance business had been intro- 
duced on the coast. In 1854 he removed to 
Georgetown, rebuilt his stores and erected a 
large hotel and store about two miles from the 
town; and he also engaged largely in tunnel 
mining that year, with uniform success. In 
1856 he built a large building and added the 
banking business to his other enterprises in 
Georgetown ; he also became the owner of 
the telegraph line from Coloma to Iowa Hill, 
but early in July of that year the place was 
entirely destroyed by fire, and he again lost 
heavily. Next he erected two large fire- proof 
buildings there, rented them and moved to 
his hotel and store in the country, where he 



186 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



established one of the finest orchards and 
vineyards in the State at that time. 

Early in 1856 the first Republican club in 
El Dorado county was formed in his parlors. 
He became chairman of the County Com- 
mittee and afterward made many speeches, 
in company with the gifted Colonel E. D. 
Baker and other noted men. In that year he 
was the nominee for the State Senate, and 
also in 1860, and, although he ran far ahead 
of his ticket, he failed of election. In 1861 
he went East to be present at the inaugura- 
tion of President Lincoln, who soon after- 
ward tendered him the position of Receiver 
of Public Moneys at the Humboldt Land 
Office, which he accepted and moved to 
Eureka in June. Indian troubles coming on 
in that section, land-office business became 
slack, and General Pratt was appointed by 
Governor Stanford First Lieutenant and 
Quartermaster of the First Battalion of Moun- 
taineers, California volunteers, and engaged 
in the prosecution of the Indian war, serving 
from 1863 to 1865. In 1867 he resigned 
his position in the land office and took the 
Indian agency at Hoopa Valley, succeeding 
Agent Stockton, who was killed by the In- 
dians. In 1869 the Indian Department was 
turned over to the military, and General 
Pratt returned to Eureka to go into business. 
He soon erected a fine building in which he 
has carried on the mercantile trade. He was 
elected a member of the Eureka Board of 
Trustees, and has always been an active 
worker there for local interests. In 1875 he 
erected a beautiful opera house there known 
by his name, which was destroyed by fire in 
1881. In 1880 he was a candidate for the 
Assembly. From 1883 to 1888 he was Col- 
lector of Customs for the district of Hum- 
boldt, having beer^ appointed by President 
Arthur. General Pratt was selected to pro- 
ceed to Washington in 1887, ^qd again in 



1888, to assist the Congressmen from his dis- 
trict in securing an appropriation for the 
improvement of Humboldt Bar, and was 
euiinently successful. He was one of the 
alternate delegates to the National Republi- 
can Convention held at Chicago in 1888. 
He is a member of the California Pioneer 
Society of San Francisco, and also of the 
Humboldt County Pioneer Society. He was 
appointed to his present position as United 
States Surveyor. General by President Har- 
rison. 

General Pratt was married in 1865, and 
has four sons and three daughters. In man- 
ner he is genial and pleasant, and shows the 
ready sympathy and courtesy of the old Cali- 
fornian. 



-Hj^HH^-i 





EORGE WASHINGTON STIMPSON, 
Y. S., Oakland, was born in St. Albans, 
Maine, August 15, 1859, a son of G. 
W. and Elvira A. (Pillsbury) Stimpson. His 
father, born in Newport, Maine, was a lum- 
berman there in his younger days, and came 
by way of Cape Horn to California in 1849. 
He followed mining some time, accumulating 
a considerable sum, and returned to Maine, 
intending to sell his property there and come 
again to California, but was dissuaded. He 
resumed lumbering for a while, first in Maine 
and then in Michigan, becoming a pioneer in 
this industry in Mackinaw. He also engaged 
extensively in fishing, shipping largely to 
Chicago, and becoming one of the largcbt 
operators in this trade on the straits. He 
was Justice of the Peace in Mackinaw several 
years, until his death in 1866, at the age of 
sixty-three years. He left four sons and 
two daughters, one of whom. Forest J., was 
accidentally drowned in the straits of Macki- 
naw in October, 1889. He had been marine 
reporter, telegraph operator and signal service 



IT8 0ITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



187 



reporter for some time, at the date of his 
death being a marine reporter for Chicago 
and Detroit papers; was also Postmaster and 
express agent. All the children were : 
Charles, a farmer in Michigan, near Macki- 
naw; Forest J., already mentioned ; the third 
was the snbject of this sVetch; John B., now 
at his mother's home in Mackinaw; Lydia, 
by marriage, Mrs. B. C. Milliken, of Che- 
boygan, Michigan; Ida E., also living with 
her mother. 

Grandfather Stinipson, a farmer by occnpa- 
tion, lived to an advanced age — indeed, all 
of Mr. Stimpson's grandparents lived to be 
quite old. Both families were of New Eng- 
land nativity for several generations, except 
his mother's mother (or grandmother on 
mother's side), who was of Scotch descent, 
her people having come from England. An 
aunt, Sarah E. (Pillsbury) Leavitt, is now 
living in Palmyra, Maine, aged about sixty- 
five years. An uncle, James Pillsbury, of 
Muskegon, Michigan, is about sixty-three, 
and is superintendent of the sawmill and 
lumber interests of his cousin, O, P. Pills- 
bury. His grandmother Pillsbury was a Miss 
Garter. 

Ct. W. Stimpson, Sr., was all his life a 
great lover of horses, for pleasure as well as 
business. 

Mr. Stimpson, our subject, moved to 
Mackinaw with his parents in 1867; attended 
graded school at Cheboygan three years from 
the age of fifteen, in the senior department. 
Finally he attended the Valparaiso (Indiana) 
Bu^iness College a year. He had a prefer- 
ence for his present profession from his youth 
up, but was discouraged from entering it by 
his parents, who thought that such a profes- 
sion would necessarily cast him amongst 
a low class of people devoid of principles. 

From the age of nineteen to twenty-one 
he remained at home in Mackinaw, being 



bookkeeper for his father, who was then, with 
other vocations, grading the Mackinaw term- 
inus of the Michigan Central and the Grand 
Rapids & Indiana railroads. At the age of 
twenty-one he entered the Ontario Veterinary 
College in Toronto, the recognized leading 
college in thirf line on the continent, the staff 
being composed of eight professors of in- 
ternational reputation. Professor Andrew 
Smith, a graduate of the old Edinburgh Col- 
lege, was the principal. Mr. Stimpson re- 
mained to take a full course, and graduated 
with high honors, March 29, 1883. 

Between sessions he engaged in actual 
practice with Pr«»fe8sor Smith, taking every 
opportunity, short and long vacations. 

On his way to California he was induced 
to fill an opening in Quincy, Illinois, and 
remained for five years, during three of which 
he was Assistant State Veterinary Surgeon. 
He came to California mainly for the health 
of his wife and child, arriving at San Fran- 
cisco in February, 1888; and on account of 
the great improvement of his wife's health, 
he continued to remain here, and during the 
next month moved over to Oakland. His 
resignation of his office in Illinois, was re- 
ceived with regret by the State Board of 
Live-stock Commissioners, who also gave him 
a letter of the very highest recommendation 
as to his ability as a surgeon and integrity as 
a man. 

He has established a hospital here, of 
which his growing business has already re- 
quired an enlargement in 1889. The build- 
ing accommodates twenty-five head of horses. 
Dr. Stimpson's practice is not merely local, but 
already extends by correspondence and visits 
over a large part of the State and coast, even 
into Oregon. He has also begun the rearing 
of l)looded horses. 

In regard to his success in practice here 
and the value of his opinions, he is quoted 



188 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



as authority here and in the eurronnding 
country on matters pertaining to his profession, 
indeed, so much so. that it is ofttimes annoy- 
ing, for in any important case in court he is 
almost invariably called to give expert testi- 
mony, even against some of his brother prac- 
titioners engaged by private individuals; and, 
although in practice eight years, and so called 
upon many times, his opinion has always 
won, without exception, even to reversing the 
judgments of the lower courts where he was 
not called, and when taken to the superior 
courts the judgments were reversed. Re- 
cently he was called upon to go to San Fran- 
Cisco and give expert testimony in an 
important case, where they had fourteen 
veterinaries already practicing. Besides, he 
receives many cases of valuable stock from 
that city to treat. 

Mr. Stimpson became a Freemason in 
Quincy, Illinois in 1886, and is now a Royal 
Arch Mason. Is also deputy High Chief of 
Oakland Court, I. O. F., and is a member of 
the A. O. U. W. Himself and wife were 
charter members of the first lodge of the O. 
E. S. in Quincy. 

He was married in Canton, Missouri, 
September 9, 1884, to Miss Emma Kibby, 
who was born in Palmyra, that State, of Ken- 
tucky parentage. Her father, Dr. Kibby, 
was a surgeon in the army, and her mother's 
maiden name was Mary Oldham, daughter of 
Edward Oldham, whose father was born in 
England, and was brought to America with 
a brother William when boys, by their 
father who was a great-grandfather of Ed- 
ward Oldham. Both are now deceased. The 
children of Dr. and Mrs. Stimpson are: 
George Earle, born May 3, 1885; and Ruby 
Estella, born May 31, 1886,— both in Quincy, 
Illinois. 




ERDINAND A. HABER, prominently 
connected with the wine interests of 
California, was born in Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, in 1839, and is descended from French, 
Spanish and German ancestry. His father, 
Abraham Haber, was a leading merchant in 
New Orleans, was prominently identified 
with the financial and cf>mmercial interests 
of that city, and died in 1888 at the age 
of eighty years. 

Ferdinand A. Haber was reared and re- 
ceived his education in the South, partly in 
New Orleans, New York and partly in the 
Military Institute of Kentucky, where he 
prepared to pass examination for West Point. 
On account of physical reasons, however, he 
followed the footsteps of his honored father 
in commercial pursuits, and remained in the 
city until the Rebellion. He- enlisted in the 
First Regiment from LouisiaTia, served all 
through the war with honor and returned to 
New Orleans in 1866. Receiving a fortune 
from his father, he engaged in business ex- 
tensively and became prominently associated 
with the business and commercial circles of 
that city. He was elected chairman of the 
executive committee of the Chamber of 
Commerce, the only legislative body in New 
Orleans during the carpet-bag rule, and, 
upon hid resignation came to the Pacific 
coast, and was the recipient of many hand- 
some testimonials and resolutions. Mr. Ha 
ber came to California in 1876 and engaged 
in the stock business for several years, during 
this time making a fortune and losing it. In 
1880 he engac^ed in the California wine 
business, and since that time has ]al)ored 
assiduously to bring that business up to a 
high standard; indeed, there is not a repre- 
sentative of the wine interests in California 
who has done more in that direction than 
Mr. Haber. In 1890 he accepted the man- 



ITS 0ITIE8 AND TEEI& SUBURBS. 



1»9 



agement of the well-known Inglenook Vine- 
yard, belonging to Captain Niebaum, at 
Rutherford, Napa county (although identi- 
fied with it since 1884), or rather the man- 
agement for the marketing of its output. 
Giving his whole attention to the work, he 
opened up a tine market for the Inglenook 
wines and brandies all over the world, his 
name being as well known to the leading 
representativtjs of vineyards in France and 
America as it is in California. On the first 
of last January Mr. Ilaber opened business 
on his own account as well, and lately has 
taken the commodious store at iTo. 122 
Saiisome street, San Francisco, which he has 
fitted up in luxurious elegance, replete with 
" articles de vertu " and wine lore, a fitting 
adjunct to magnificent " Inglenook." 

Mr. Haber is a man of generous impulses, 
is a linguist, well read and possesses a culti- 
vated mind, finding his greatest pleasure in 
home life. He was appointed by Governor 
Waterman Commissioner to the Paris Expo- 
sition of 1889 for California, and although 
Mr. Ilaber takes a lively interest in public 
affairs has eschewed politics, notwithstanding 
many tempting offers. 




^O RATIO McFARLIN, a rancher of San 
Joaquin County ,residing in Oakland, was 
born in Carver, Massachusetts, June 3, 
1830, a son of Samson and Polly (Shurtleff) 
McFarlin. The father, born in Plymouth 
county, Massachusetts, a son of Hewitt and 
Mercy (Tilsou) McFarlin, both natives of that 
State, was a farmer and lived to the age of 
eighty four; his father, also a farmer, reached 
the age of eighty, and his mother was sixty 
at her death. His wife, Polly Shurtleff, died 
at the age of thirty-seven, the mother of ten 
children, of whom seven are now living: 



William Samson, a farmer on the old home- 
stead; the subject of this sketch; Charles 
Dexter, a farmer in Oregon; Henry S., who 
was killed in the civil war, at the battle of 
Cold Harlx)r; one died an infant; Peleg, a 
manufacturer of ironware in Carver, Massa- 
chusetts; Jason B., in the same business; 
and a fourth son, Thomas Hewitt McFarlin, 
an iron-founder of Carver, Massachusetts, 
now deceased, left two children, Polly and 
Samson. The two daughters are Mrs. Myra 
L. Maxim and Mrs. Polly S. Gushing. The 
great-grandfather McFarlin was born in 
Plympton, Massachusetts, of Scotch parentage 
or descent. 

H. McFarlin, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in his native 
town, being for a brief period a pupil of his 
kinsman. Dr. G. A. Shurtleff, now of Stock- 
ton, California. He learned the trade of 
wheelwright, beginning at Middleboro and 
finishing in Wareham, where he worked as 
journejunan until he left for California in 
1853. Setting out with one comrade about 
March 1, he reached Peru, Hlinois, by rail- 
road, and St. Joseph, Missouri, by boat, by 
way of St. Louis. For the overland journey 
across the plains- he was employed as one of 
eight drivers of a cattle train, arriving in 
Sonora, October 5, 1853. Continuing with 
the herd until they reached their destination 
near Modes t-o, he thence came to Stockton, 
where he worked two or three months. In 
1854 he engaged in farm work a few miles 
out of town, and in 1855 rented a farm and 
bought the crop. Having accumulated some 
money he went East in 1856, by the Panama 
route, and returned by the same in 1857. He 
resumed farming, buying a claim to 200 
acres, which he sold the ensuing year at a 
loss. In 1858 Mr. McFarlin went to the 
Gopher Gulch in Calaveras county, near what 
is now Copperopolis. liemaining about a 



no 



TUB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



^e2iT he dag a Uiree-poUDcl chunk of gold, 
probably the largest nugget ever found there. 
In 1859 he engaged in the Blieepraising 
business, which he followed twenty years, 
having at one time over 8,000 head. In 1868 
he began to buy land for pasture, mostly in 
San Joaquin county, where he still owns 
4,000 acres, which are cultivated to wheat. 
He resided on his ranch ten or twelve years, 
but of late years has usually rented it for a 
share of the crops. 

Going East again, Mr. McFarlin was mar- 
ried, in Plymouth county, Massachusetts, in 
1867, to Miss Susan M. Atwood, born in Car- 
ver in 1846, a daughter of Sumner and Clio 
(Humphrey) Atwood; both are now living, 
the father aged eighty-three and the mother 
about seventy- three. Mr. and Mrs. McFar- 
lin have had live children, all born in San 
Joaquin county: Myra H., in 1869; Herbert 
Samson in 1870, who was graduated at the 
Stockton high school in 1887, and is now a 
member of the class of 1891 of the Univer- 
sity of California; Francis Horatio, born in 
1874 and died in 1877; Ralph Atwood, born 
in 1878 and died in 1879; RufusCobb Free- 
man, in 1878, now attending school in Oak- 
land. Mr. McFarlin came to reside in this 
city in 1887 for the better education of his 
children. Besides the visits to the East 
already mentioned, he made one in 1888, 
going and coming by railroad, which afforded 
a striking contrast to the plains thirty years 
before. Mr. McFarlin is a member of 
Charity Lodge, Ko. 6, I. O. O. F., of 
Stockton. 



* 



^ 




SCHILLING & Co.— The wine inter- 
est of California is worthily represented j 
^ by the above named firm at their spa- i 
cious wine vaults at 230 and 240 Bran nan 
street, San Francisco. The house was estab- 



lished in 1866 by G. Groezinger, who started 
a small establishment on the corner ot Pine 
and Battery streets. In 1871 Mr. C. Schil- 
ling became connected with the hoose as 
bookkeeper, and with his keen insight and 
practicability he improved every opportunity 
tor gaining knowledge of the wine industry. 
In 1870 Mr. Groezinger purchased 500 acres 
in Napa Valley, and planted a vineyard, and 
in 1871 built a large winery, where he made 
his own wines and conducted an extensive 
business. In 1874 a branch house was 
established in New York, at 24 Dey street, 
under the firm of Tyson & Totten, successors 
to J. R. Tyson, one of the first to introduce 
California wines in the Eastern States. In 
1880 Mr. Groezinger sold his business to the 
firm of Walter Schilling & Co., which con- 
tinued at the old stand until 1886, and was 
then transferred to the present firm of C. 
Schilling & Co. Mr. Schilling looks after 
the business in San Francisco, while Tyson & 
Totten manage the Eastern branch, with 
mutual interests. Under Mr. Schilling's 
able management the business became so 
extended that in 1889, instead of renting 
cellars here and there about the city, they 
decided to concentrate their interests under 
one roof, and to that end they leased the 
building 137^ x 275 feet, on Brannan street, 
between First and Second, which has a front- 
age of 137J feet, and a depth of 275 feet, 
and which was erected tor their present com- 
modious wine vaults, which have a capacity 
of 1,750,000 gallons. The building is one 
story with basement, and, being very light, 
with broad passage-ways, is one of the most 
convenient and attractive wine-vaults in the 
city. Mr. Schilling being practical in every 
detail, has arranged his spacious tanks and re- 
ceptacles for convenience as well as utility. 
He has one tank containing 28,000 gallons, 
and four others, each holding 7,500 gallons 



IT8 0IT1B8 AND THBIR 8UBURB8, 



191 



which are used in the process of blending 
wineg; also many small tanks, and over 2,000 
puncheons for the storage and matnring of 
wines. The company own no vineyards, but 
are large purchasers throughout different 
portions of the State, their chief supply 
coming from Sonoma and Napa valleys. The 
company have spacious and attractive offices 
and sample and store rooms, with every con- 
venience for the bottling and Cire of wines, 
all of which Mr. Schilling personally superin- 
tends. All wines are labeled with firm name, 
no foreign labels being used. In 1889 the 
firm established a branch house under the 
name of California Wine Company, at Bremen, 
Germany, being the pioneers in the establish- 
ing of a foreign house. To meet the laws of 
Germany, all wines have been carefully an- 
alyzed, and have received the cordial endorse- 
ment of many prominent authorities. They 
are thus building up a reputation for pure 
wines and square dealing. Cleanliness and 
"a place for everything and everything in 
its place," is the rule governing the Brannan 
street establishment. 

^AVID SKILLING, M. D., deceased, 
a physician and surgeon of Oakland, 
was born in Wayne county, Ohio> 
August 4, 1822, a son of Hugh and Cath- 
erine (Dobbins) Skilling. The father, born 
in Enniskillen, Ireland, about 1792, came to 
the United States in 1811, and was married 
in Beaver county, Pennsylvania, a few years 
later. The mother was of Scotch parentage, 
and the young couple first settled on the 
home place, moving afterward to Wayne 
county, Ohio. They had seven sons and 
three daughters, all living in 1890 except the 
oldest brother and sister. The father lived 
to be seventy-eight, and the mother seventy- 




two, and the oldest surviving child, Leonard 
Skilling, M. D., of Hazleton, Kansas, is 
seventy-four. Another son, William, of 
Oswego, Kansas, by trade a carpenter, is 
seventy; and still another son, Joaiah Skil- 
ling, M. D., a cavalry surgeon in the civil 
war, is now living in Los Angeles, California. 
The grandparents on both sides lived to an 
advanced age, dying in Beaver county, Penn- 
sylvania; and an uncle, William Skilling, 
reached the age of ninety. 

David Skilling, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in the schools of 
his native district, and taught two terms in 
Butler county, Ohio, before he was nineteen. 
He then entered the University of Ohio, at 
Athens, remaining three years, when he 
moved to Nashville, Tennessee, where he 
taught school three years. Returning to 
Ohio, he studied medicine under Dr. Harper, 
of Lima, Ohio, three years, when he entered 
the medical department of the University of 
Kentucky, in Louisville, and followed a 
course of lectures in medicine one year. Ho 
began practice in 1848, at- Atlas, Pike county, 
Illinois, and was there married in 1849, to 
Miss Mary E. Long, a native of Baltimore, 
Maryland. He practiced at Atlas nearly five 
years, when he took an additional course in 
the medical department of the University of 
Missouri, in St. Louis, receiving a diploma 
from that institution in 1853. He then 
settled in Winchester, Scott county, Illinois, 
and became a member of the American Med- 
ical Association in 1854. In April, 1862, at 
the request of the Sanitary Commission of 
St. Louis, he took charge of the military 
hospital at Shiloh, with 1,400 patients, and 
in May was commissioned by the Governor 
of Missouri as Surge 3n of the Twentv-first 
Missouri Regular Volunteer Infantry. He 
was in the three days' battle of Pittsburg 
Landing, and remained in the service three 



10:3 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANC IbCO: 



months, when he was compelled to resign 
through the pressure of work. He returned 
to private practice in Winchester, and was 
one of the organizers ot the First National 
Bank, and was elected vice-president of that 
institution in 1865. In 1867 he took a trip 
to Europe, and availed himself of the oppor- 
tunity for clinical observation while in Lon- 
don and Paris. Returning the same year he 
resumed practice and was elected President 
of the Firbt National Bank, holding the 
position for about ten years. In 1877 he 
came to California and settled in Oakland, 
where he practiced until his death. 

The Doctor had recently inherited $40,000 
from the estate of a deceased relative in Ne- 
vada, and he took a trip (1891) into the 
Saorebrush State to settle the business attend* 
iug the bequest. He had to endure a long 
stage-drive through the cold, and on his re- 
turn erysipelas set in and caused his death. 

He was a member of the Alameda County 
Medical Association, and was a member of 
the National Convention of the Grand Army 
of the Republic at Columbus, Ohio, in 1888. 

Dr. and Mrs. Skilling were the parents of 
two children: Henry Hugh, a graduate of 
the California College of Pharmacy, now a 
druggist of this city, at the comer of Wash- 
ington and Fourteenth; and Minnie L., a 
graduate of the Oakland high school, and an 
artist, was married in this city, June 28, 
1890, to William H. Leffler, of Fresno. The 
home is at 1004 Fourteenth street. 




iROF. E. S. BONELLI, who has reached 
eminence in the profession of music, 
first as a performer and later as one of 
the most successful instructors in the world, 
was born in St. Thomas, West Indies. He 
is of Italian parentage, and bis musical 



talent was developed in him at a very early 
age, and was so marked that his parents sent 
him to Berlin, Hamburg and Leipsic, where 
the advantages for a thorough training were 
better than anywhere else in the universe. 
He studied hard, graduated with the highest 
honors, and immediately entered the concert 
field, where fame and profit would have been 
the reward of such skill and genius as he 
possessed. But he had severely taxed his 
constitutional 6trength by the severity ot the 
training voluntarily undertaken, and he aban- 
doned that promising field for the no less 
laborious avenues to fame — teaching. 

From Germany Prof. Bonelli went to 
South America, where he remained but three 
years, going thence to Boston. But the in- 
hospitable climate of the Atlantic coast drove 
him away from the "Hub," and he came to 
the land of music, sunshine and flowers, in 
1879. His record here has been an unin- 
terrupted series of successes, the most re- 
markable of them being the grand invention 
of severing the accessory slip of the tendons 
of the ring finger, by which means flexibility, 
freedom, a greater stretch of the hand and 
strength equal to any of the other fingers on 
the hand is attained. After receiving this 
inspired idea, the Professor deemed it neces- 
sary to take a surgical course in a medical 
college to gain practical knowledge of how 
the operation should be performed painlessly, 
and to prove to himself and others that it 
Was exactly as he had supposed. He became 
so proficient that he could perform the opera- 
tion in a few seconds, without causing any 
pain, leaving no scar, and causing no possible 
inconvenience, the hand requiring to bo band- 
aged but a single day. Here was an opera- 
tion that was simple and efficient, and which 
the Professor performed in San Francisco on 
more than 575 pupils, without injury in a 
single case. He does not claim that tlie 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIB SUBURBS. 



198 



operation is an absolute necessity, bat only 
that it is a great convenience, as clumsy 
fingers cannot interpret. " The brain con- 
ceives, the fingers execute. Hence the neces- 
sity of training them for their duty. Liber- 
ate them first, if you would lessen your 
labor." Expert pianists were not slow to 
appreciate the value of the invention, and the 
fame of the Professor on this continent was 
vastly enhanced thereby. He is still a young 
man, and no one can say what other aids to 
training he may not discover. 

About six years ago Prof. Bonelli estab- 
lished a school on Market street, with a 
capacity of about 100 pupils, but it was not 
long before he was compelled to reject so 
many applicants that he had to find more 
spacious quarters, and in November, 1890, 
he moved to the corner of Golden Gate ave- 
nue and Franklin street. The Grand Con- 
servatory of Music now occupies the whole 
building of thirty-two spacious rooms, and 
the faculty is composed of fifteen efficient 
teachers, and 285 pupils are being trained in 
the different branches of music. A specialty 
is made of harmony, ear training, and all 
that goes to make a perfect musician. This 
is not the largest, but is the most thoroughly 
equipped conservatory in the United States. 
The Professor proposes building a perfect 
concert hall, and the enterprise has the back- 
ing of the best men in San Francisco, and 
when completed a full orchestra will treat the 
people to a grand concert every month. 

No rtader must contract the erroneous idea 
that the fame of Prof. Bonelli is confined to 
the scene of his grandest achievements — the 
Pacific coast. No instructor is better known 
in New York and Boston than he, and his 
great invention and his successful methods 
are known and adopted in the best conserva- 
tories of Europe. He has lived long enough 
to place a brilliant mark upon the musical 



training of the age, and make a record that 
will live as long as music is valued among 
men. His successful work has fairly begun, 
and before it is complete the San Francisco 
Grand Conservatory of Music will have be- 
come the Mecca of music lovers throughout 
the world. 



-f^ 



« 



t 




ETER FREDERIC CLERC, proprietor 
of Clerc's Machine Works, San Fran- 
cisco, was born in France, January 1, 
1827. He was educated in his native land, 
and spent nearly ten years in Paris, learning 
the trade of machinist. September 15, 1855, 
he set sail for America, and after spending 
some time in several cities in the East, 
including Springfield, Illinois, and St. 
Louis, Missouri, he came to California via 
New Orleans, Havana and Panama, landing 
at San Francisco from the steamer Golden 
Gate at six o'clock on the morning of De- 
cember 16, 1857. He remained in the city 
until June of the following year, when he 
went to British Columbia. He took $600 
with him, and after a six months' experience 
in prospecting and mining returned with $16 
and some gold which he had made into a 
watch chain and still keeps as a memento of 
his British Columbia experience. He then 
engaged in work at his trade for Paul Garcin, 
worked two ye&rs for him, the following two 
years in a foundry, and afterward as a ma- 
chinist in Mr. Gordon's sugar refinery, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1861. Hi bought a half interest 
in a machine shop, which he named the North 
Machine Shop, his partner in this enterprise 
being Mr. Klinclaus. They continued in it 
until 1866, then purchased the Railroad 
Foundry and named it the City Foundry, 
Clerc & Co. conducting the business until 
1870. He had loaned $3,200 to the Vulcan 
Foundry; they failed, and Mr. Clerc's part- 



194 



THE BAT OF BAN FBAN0I800: 



uer left him to pay up. Financial embar- 
rassment followed. Mr. Clerc again began 
working for wages, and was in the employ of 
Mr. Garratt a year and a half. At the end of 
that time, with three others he purchased a 
gold and silver mine in Mexico, each owning 
a fourth interest. They went to the mine 
and were there six months. All of them 
were taken sick, and two of the partners died. 
Mr. Clerc returned to this city, and it was 
two years before he recovered his health. He 
was then in the employ of the Rusdan Iron 
Works, and also worked for a time at the 
City Foundry. In 1882 he again started in 
business for himself, and has since been suc- 
cessful in his undertakings; is now out of 
debt, owns his machinery, and has seven men 
in hid employ. 

In 1868 Mr. Clerc married Miss Marie 
Granadou. They had one child, a son, who 
died, and after fourteen years of happy mar- 
ried life Mrs. Clerc was called home. After 
remaining single four years, he married Mrs. 
Pauline Henry. She has two sons by her 
former husband; one resides with tLem and 
the other in Jefferson City. 

Mr. Clerc has been a Mason since 1864. 
He was one of the organizers of the Union 
Laborieuse, Norr, Sons of Hiram, a labor 
union society designed wholly for mental 
improvement, and of this society Mr. Clerc 
has been elected President fifteen times, oc- 
cupying that position at the present. He is 
a trustee of the Sons of Hiram Society. He 
has been elected twice a member of the 
French Benevolent Society. 

Such is the short history of one o( the 
early settlers of San Francisco — one who has 
met with adversity, not, however, through 
any fault of his own, and who, by his skill as 
a machinist and his courage and persever- 
ance, has overcome the many obstacles as 
they presented themselves, and is now one of 




the responsible business men of the city. 
Mr. Clerc contemplates a visit to France, the 
home of his youth, which he has not seen 
since 1855. 

■-«i g > 3nt « ^i 

AMES MAIRS 8ELFRIDGE, a physi- 
cian and surgeon of Oakland, California, 
was born in Argyle, Washington county. 
New York, September 29, 1824, a son of 
Isaac and Mary (McEachran) Self ridge, both 
natives of that county and of Scotch- Irish 
descent. His grandfather, Oliver Selfridge, 
and two of his brothers were Americans by 
birth, having been born before the Revolu- 
tion, in which they served as soldiers in the 
American armv. All lived to an advanced 
age, Oliver being ninety-eight at his death. 
His wife died about 1828, being over seventy. 
They were the parents of six sons and four 
daughters, of whom Isaac, the father of our 
subject, lived to the age of sixty-five, dying 
of heart disease in Caledonia^ Livingston 
county, New York, where he had settled with 
his family in 1832, after having resided a 
short time near Clyde, Wayne county, and 
one year in Freedom, Cattaraugus county. He 
had been a soldier in the war of 1812, was a 
blacksmith by trade and in later life a farmer. 
The m6ther reached the age of eighty-five, 
and her mother, Nancy McEachran, was 
seventy-nine, but his grandfather, Cornelius 
McEachran, a Scotchman by birth, died of 
some acute disease in middle life. 

J. M. Self ridge, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in the district 
schools of Argyle, Freedom and Caledonia. 
He learned his father's trade of blacksmith 
and farmer in young manhood, and at twenty- 
one was an acknowledged expert in both lines, 
as work was done in those days. Meanwhile 
he had shown marked proficiency in his studies 
and kept them up assiduously at intervals. 



ITS 0ITIB8 AND TEBIR SUBURBS. 



195 



At twenty-one he began to attend the Ronnd- 
house Academy in Leroy, Genesee county, 
New York, under Principal McCall, doing 
chores for his board and earned his clothes by 
working out during harvest. Through the 
recommendation of Mr. McCall he was ap- 
pointed teacher in the Limestone district of 
Caledonia, Livingston county, attending the 
academy between school terms. In the win- 
ter of 1847-'48 he taught in Leroy, and in the 
summer of 1848 he went to Riga Academy, 
where he tinished his academic educa- 
tion. He then took up the study of medi- 
cine in that town, with Doctors Smith and 
Lovejoy, and in the winter of 1848-'49 
taught school in the town of Sweden, Monroe 
county. New York, returning to the oflSce of 
his medical professors in the spring of 1849. 
Later he took a similar position with Dr. 
Wirtsin Waterloo, Seneca county. New York, 
but before the close of the year was taken 
sick of typhoid fever and returned to his 
home. In the winter of 1849-'50 he again 
taught school in Riga, and in the summer of 
1850 studied under Dr. Patterson of Water- 
loo, paying his way with him and Dr. Wirts 
by doing chores. In the spring of 1851 he 
began to attend lectures in the medical de- 
partment of Hobart College in Geneva, and 
for a few months during the summer took 
the place of Mr. Botsford, Principal of the 
Waterloo Academy, who required a rest from 
his labors. In the winter of 1851-'52 he 
studied in the University of Buffalo and by 
close application, under Doctors Austin 
Flint, Frank H. Hamilton and other pmfes- 
sors, he was enabled to secure his diploma, 
February 25, 1852. Invited by Dr. Patter- 
son of Waterloo, he joined him under the 
firm name of Doctors Patterson & Selfridge, 
physicians and surgeons. 

This arrangement was short-lived, as in 
June, 1852, Dr. Selfridge set out for Califor- 



nia, leaving New York in the steamship 
Illinois. He was in Panama on the Fourth 
of July, and arrived in San Francisco July 
26, by the old steamer California. He then 
went to Sacramento and spent some time 
prospecting for a location, finally settling in 
that city, October 2, 1852. A month later 
he escaped from the big fire with his medical 
books and returned to San Francisco, where 
he remained until March 3, 1853, when he 
moved to this county, settling near the Mis- 
sion San Jose. In May, 1855, he went East, 
and was married, in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
to Miss Elizal)eth Loveridge, born in Seneca 
county, New York, whose acquaintance he 
had formed when a medical student in Water- 
loo, and who, by his assistance, was then fin- 
ishing her education in Holyoke Seminary. 
Leaving Mrs. Selfridge for a season in the 
home of her father, a farmer of Seneca coun- 
ty, New York, Dr. Selfridge went to Phila- 
delphia to take a post-graduate course in the 
Jefferson Medical College, from which he 
received a diploma, March 8, 1856. Joining 
his wife, he opened an office in Seneca Falls, 
New York, where he practiced his profession 
until October, when he moved to Iowa, 
settling in Winterset, Madison county, in 
November, 1856. Being invited to return 
to California he set for this coast, landing in 
San Francisco from the steamer Golden 
Gate, with his wife and child, June 27, 1857. 
He again settled in this county, near Centre- 
ville, and soon built up a good practice. He 
there erected a home, where five children 
were born to him, one of whom died in 
infancy. His surviving children in order of 
their birth are: Mary, born in New York, a 
graduate of the Oakland high school, and a 
pupil of the school of design in San Fran- 
cisco, went to Paris in 1879 to perfect her- 
self in art, recently married to M. Forget, 
Assistant Professor in the University of 



196 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCI8C0: 



Lauvain, Belgium; Arthur James, who com- 
pleted his literary course in Hamilton Col- 
lege, New York, studied law in the Harvard 
Law School, at which he was graduated with 
high honors, and is now an attorney in Boston. 
He is married to Miss Louise Johnson, born 
in Maine, a daughter of C. F. A. Johnson of 
that State, who was a Presidential Elector on 
the Republican ticket in 1884. They have 
one child, Mildred. Clarence M., now a 
physician and surgeon in Port Townsend, 
Washington, received his literary education 
in Oakland, and his professional studies, 
begun under his father, were completed in 
the Hahnemann Medical College of Phila- 
delphia. Grant, who completed his literary 
studies in Hamilton College, New York, also 
a physician, began his medical studies with 
his father, then attended lectures for two 
years in the Cooper Medical College of San 
Fmncisco, and was graduated at the Hahne- 
mann Medical College in Philadelphia. He 
afterward took up the special study of the 
eye and ear, under the celebrated Dr. Knapp 
of New York, receiving his certificate of 
proficiency. He began practice in San Fran- 
cisco in April, 1890, in his special line, and 
received the appointment of oculist and aurist 
to the Pacific Homeopathic Dispensary of 
that city and of the Oakland Dispensary in 
Oakland. Grace, educated in Field's Semin- 
ary, is by marriage Mrs. Joseph B. Dyer of 
Oakland. 

Dr. J. M. Selfridge practiced his profes- 
sion as an allopathic physician from 1852 to 
1863, when, becoming dissatisfied with cer- 
tain features of that system, he looked into 
the homeopathic system and soon became 
convinced of the superiority of the principle 
on which it is based. He moved to Oakland 
in 1866, and has practiced as a physician of 
the new school ever since. He helped to 
organize the State Medical Society of Homeo- 



pathic practitioners, and in 1874 became a 
charter member of the later Pacific Homeo- 
pathic Medical Society of California, and co- 
operated in 1878 in securing the coalition of 
the two bodies into the California State 
Qomeopathic Medical Society, and was its 
President in 1881. He also aided in organ- 
izisig the Ala'neda County Homeopathic Medi- 
cal Society, of which he has been twice 
President, and of the Oakland Homeopathic 
Hospital and Dispensary Association, which 
institution is now known as the Fabiola 
Hospital, of which he was the first surgeon, 
and with which he is still connected as Sur- 
geon. Dr. Selfridge was elected Coroner for 
one term, and from 1872 to 1878 was the 
attending physician of the Institution for the 
Deaf, Dumb and Blind in Berkeley. He is 
universally regarded as a representative phy- 
sician of the school of practice to which he 
belongs. He is a member of the American 
Institute of Homeopathy, the California 
Academy of Sciences, the San Francisco 
Microscopical Society and of the Astronom- 
ical Society of the Pacific. 

A^ will be seen by the above brief sketch 
Dr. Silfridge is emphatically a self-made 
man, having received assistance from no one 
during his career. 

Although sixty -seven years old, his surgical 
operations are a surprise to all who witness 
them, for coolness of head and steadiness of 
nerve, due largely to the fact that he neither 
drinks tea, coifee, nor spirituous liquors. 




,RS. AURELIA GRIFFITH, one of 
the most competent and experienced 
educators in the public schools of 
San Francisco, is a native of the State of 
Ohio. Her parents came from New York, 
and were early settlers of the Ohio Western 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



197 



Reserve, and her father, Rev. D. M. Conant, 
was a well-known minister in the M. E. 
Church. He was the oldest itinerant after 
Peter Oartwright, and his death occurred in 
December, 1873. Our subject's mother's 
family name was Wardwell, and her mother a 
Chase, of the old Chase family. Mrs. Grif- 
fith's mother wao born in 1800, and is now 
living in this city with her daughter at the 
age of ninety-one years. 

Mrs. Griffith received her education in her 
native State, and was very fond of her stud- 
ies; but ill health would not permit of close 
application. She engaged in teaching in 
Ohio, commencing when but fourteen to teach 
a district school. She was married in that 
State to Milton Griffith, a merchant. They 
came to the Pacific coast in 1853, where he 
engaged in the mines on the Klamath river. 
They came to San Francisco in the summer 
of 1863, and in May of the following year 
Mrs. Griffith was elected a teacher in the 
Union street school, but her first work was 
to organize a school on third Street, for an 
absent principal. After a few months' service 
as assistant, without soliciting the honor, she 
was elected principal of a new primary school 
which she named Union Primary. Her 
duties were arduous, having to teach a class 
of seventy pupils, and overseeing classes in 
four buildings, without the assistance of a 
vice- principal. She held that position with 
conspicuous ability for over twenty-one 
years, and was then, in January, 1885, trans- 
ferred to her present position, making twen- 
ty-eight years of continuous service in the 
public schools ot San Francisco. In the Union 
Primary and also in the Golden Gate school, 
she lias children whose parents, when boys 
and girls, were also her pupils. Thus Mrs. 
Griffith has been identified with educational 
interests for more than forty years. When 
she came to this coast she not only attended 



to her children and household duties, but 
taught classes and wrote for the papers and 
magazines under several noma de plume as 
well as under her own name. During her 
earlier service in San Francisco, she prepared 
essays and lectures on educational methods, 
and in any meeting in relation to school af- 
fairs her wisdom and experience was called 
out. For many years she has been a con- 
tributor to papers and magazines. The San 
Francisco Sunday Mercury of 1864, in 
sketches of Old Bohemians, speaking of Mrs. 
Griffith and her well-rounded ability, said 
that she was equal to any position, and that 
if she were traveling by stage and the driver 
should fall ofi^, she would take his place and 
not upset anything but a demijohn or an im- 
position. 

Mrs. Griffith has two children, — Mrs. H. 
Jay Hanchette, of Los Angeles, who is a very 
successful principal of a large grammar 
school; and Edgar Milton, who was surgeon 
in the United States army, then for three years 
surgeon in charge of St. John's Hospital at 
Shanghai, China, but is now a practicing 
physician and surgeon in San Francisco. 





REDE RICK FLOHR is a painstaking 
artist and has done much to advance the 
interests of his profession on this coast. 
He came to San Francisco in 1875, opened a 
studio, and has since devoted his whole time 
to art. He has executed some important 
commissions, among others the fountain in 
Blair Park, Piedmont, the Winn monument 
at Sacramento, for the Native Sons of the 
Golden West, besides many private com- 
missions. 

Mr. Flohr is a native of Germany, born in 
Dresden in 1852, the son of a merchant. He 
was reared and educated in Gerniany, and 



108 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRAN CISCO: 



studied his profession there. In 1873, on 
reaching his majority, he came to New York, 
and two years later took up his his abode in 
San Francisco. 



' 2 ' 1"P2 



l > > M 




OSEPH BURWELL McCHESNEY, 
Principal of the Oakland High School, 
was born in Brunswick, Rensselaer 
county, New York, October 12, 1832, a son 
of Francis and Mary (Betts) McChesney, both 
natives of New York State. His maternal 
grandparents were also natives of that State, 
and of English ancestry, and were aged be- 
tween seventy and eighty at death ; both were 
Quakers. The grandfather was a farmer by 
occupation and prominent in the Society of 
Friends. The paternal grandfather, Joseph 
McChesney, was a native of the State of New 
York and of Scotch descent; his wife, a native 
of Dutchess county, that State, and of Ger- 
man descent, lived to the age of eighty 
years. Mr. McChesney, our subject, has 
therefore descended from a long-lived family, 
mainly of the agricultural class, sober, Indus- 
trious and thrifty. His father died at the 
age of seventy-live, in 1882, and his mother 
is still living, in Syracuse, New York; she 
was born in Brunswick, New York, in Feb- 
ruary, 1807. 

Mr. McChesney was reared to farm life. 
At the age of eighteen he entered ah acad- 
emy at Cambridge, Washington county, New 
York, and pursued his studies there a year; 
then he was two years in school at West 
Poultney, Vermont; then he entered Union 
College at Schenectady, New York, where he 
was gradated in 1857. He was elected a 
member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society for 
distinguished attainments in general studies. 
In February, 1858, he left New York for 



California, coming by way of the Isthmus 
route and arriving in San Francisco in March. 

He was married near Forbestown, Yuba 
county, to Sarah S. Jewett, who waft born in 
1834, a native of Vermont and a daughter of 
George D. Jewett, at this time a miner in 
Yuba county, and also a farmer. His wife 
was by birth Clarinda Tagsjart and a native 
of New York, and her husband of Vermont. 
He lived to the age of seventy-four years and 
she to about seventy. 

Soon after marriage Mr. McChesney taught 
a district school in Forbestown daring the 
summer, and the ensuing winter at Oroville. 
In 1859 he was nominated by the Repabli- 
cans for the Legislature, but was defeated, 
which he does not regret, as his success might 
have diverted his attention from what seems 
to have been his true vocation, teaching. 
From 1862 to 1867 he was principal of the 
high school at Nevada City. Then he was 
invited to go to Oakland and organize and 
grade the schools of the city, while having 
the position of principal of the first gram- 
mar school, which he organized in 1867. In 
1869 he organized the high school, and was 
appointed its principal, which position he 
still holds. For one term he was president of 
the California State Teachers' Association, in 
1882, and generally he has held a prominent 
position among the educators of the State. 
Since 1888 he has been editor of the official 
paper, the Pacific Educational Journal. He 
has also been a member of the Berkeley 
Club, a literary association of the highest 
standing. 

His children are: Clara Taggart McChes- 
ney, now an artist of New York city; Mary 
Alice, at home; George Jewett, a student in 
the high school, and of the class of '91. 
From Eastern papers we learn that Miss 
Clara T. McChesney is a constant contributor 
to the art exhibitions at Boston, Pittsburg, 



1T8 0ITIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



199 



Buffalo, Philadelphia and Indianapolis. An 
exquisite little water color by her, entitled 
" Violets," first attracted attention to her 
unusual ability some two years ago; and 
last spring a pastel, "A Cabbage Field by 
Moonlight," and "An Old Lady Knitting" 
were accorded flattering criticisms. A be- 
liever in no particular method, and using 
whatever medium offers the clearest expres- 
sion of her ideas, she inclines to the Dutch 
school more than any other. She has the 
frank, responsive manners of most earnest 
and giited women. She is medium-sized, 
with a fine intellectual brow and wonderfully 
abundant reddish gold hair, curling softly 
above clear, kind eyes that are eloquent of 
her fine nature. 

Mary Alice, the second daughter, was for 
two years a student in the State University 
in Berkeley. She left that institution to de- 
vote herself to music. 

Mr. McChesney has been president of the 
Equity Building and Loan Association of 
Oakland for two years, and for ten years of 
the Home Security Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation ; for about ten years he was a member 
of the Oakland Library Association, and after 
its transfer to the city was elected by the 
people a Trustee of the Oakland Free Li- 
brary. In all the years of his connection 
with the schools of Oakland he has always 
been deeply interested in everything calcu- 
lated to promote the educational interests of 
the city, and he is universally regarded as 
the "right man in the right place" as prin- 
cipal of the high school. 

H. PETERS, of San Francisco, was 
born in Germany in 1832. He came 
^ to New York in 1851, and the same 
year to California, on the ship Rockland, ar- 




riving in October, 1851. He first followed 
the throng to the mines, and remained in 
Tuolumne county until 1865, when he came 
to San Francisco, and has remained in this 
city for over a quarter of a century. He 
engaged in photography in Sonora, Tuol- 
umne county, in 1863, In Howland's gal- 
lery, in 1865, two years later, he became a 
partner in the business, located at No. 25 
Third street, and the old firm of Howland & 
Co. remained there nineteen years. A few 
years later Mr. Peters established his present 
gallery at No. 914 Market street, where he 
makes all kinds of photographic pictures 
and portraits, from miniature locket pictures 
to life size, but largely cabinet work. Mr. 
Peters has had a large practical experience, 
and gives his personal attention to the super- 
vision of his gallery, employing only skilled 
operators and retouchers, and has an old 
established and successful practice. 



<•» ♦♦ 



i*»*^ 



» • #o» 




[HARLES HESS, deceased, was born in 
Cassel, Germany, in 1821, and was ed- 
ucated and learned his trade in that 
country. In 1855 he came to California in 
a sailing vessel, and soon after his arrival in 
San Francisco he started the optical business 
on Kearny street, near California. In 1866 
he removed the business to its present loca- 
tion, 519 Kearny street, and it is now one 
of the oldest and most reliable houses in its 
line in San Francisco. Mr. Hess was mar- 
ried in Germany, and they had five children, 
viz.: William E.; Edward, who died aged 
nine years; Charles, Jr., Otto and Frank: 
those living are business men of this city. 
After an honorable and successful business 
career of thirty-four years in San Francisco, 
Mr. Hess died, April 22, 1890. He had 
gone to the mountains for an outing, and it 



200 



THE BAY OF SAN FBAS0I8G0: 



is believed that over-exertion brought on 
apoplexy, which caused his death. He had 
attained the age of seventy years, had led an 
upright life, and was highly esteemed by a 
wide circle of friends. 

His sons, Charles, Jr., and William E., are 
continuing the business, and are men of abil- 
ity and of the highest respectability. With 
their mother they reside in a home built by 
their father. Their store is filled with all 
kinds of optical goods and other scientific 
instruments, and they manufacture, test and 
fit the eyes with the latest improved meth- 
ods. Messrs. William E. and Charles Hess, 
Jr., are native sons of San Francisco, and are 
interested in all that tends to build up and 
develop the country, are members of several 
social societies, — Corinthian Yacht Club and 
Olympic Athletic Club. 




JCHOLAS RUSSEL, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 1529 California street 
has been a resident of California since 
1887 and has been engaged in the practice of 
medicine since 1875. He was born in 
Mogeleff, Russia, in 1850, and received his 
early education in the public schools of that 
city, where he attended eight years, graduat- 
ing in 1868. He studied law for one year 
in the Univertiity of St. Petersburg, and in 
1869 commenced the study of medicine in 
the University of Kief, where he graduated 
in 1875, after a full course of five years, and 
received his degree as Doctor of Medicine. 
In 1877 he took a further degree as Doctor 
of Medicine at the University of Bucharest, 
Roumania. He was appointed Surgeon of 
the Roumania army, and served in that capac- 
ity during the Russo-Turkish war, his work 
being conducted in the hospitals at Pitesti. 
Next he was engaged in the Roumania civil 



hospital service two years, and from that 
time until 1882 he practiced medicine in 
Paria, in Geneva, Switzerland, in the city of 
Olges, Algiers, Africa, and Constantinople. 
In 1883 Dr. Russel established himself in 
Philipopolis, Bulgaria, where he remained 
until coming to California in 1887, the un- 
healthy climate of that city having compelled 
him to come to this State. Before leaving 
Bulgaria both Dr. Russel and his wife, Dr. 
Leocadie Russel, were employed by the Bul- 
garian government in the hospitals during 
the late Servian war. It was while engaged 
in hospital service during that war that Dr. 
Russel met his wife, who was also a surgeon 
in that service. Since coming to San Fran- 
cisco both the Doctor and his wife have been 
in the practice of their special branches of 
the medical profession; he of the diseases of 
the eye, ear and throat, and she of diseases of 
women and children. Dr. Russel is a mem- 
ber of the State Medical Society of California, 
and of the County Medical Society of San 
Francisco. 

EOKADIA V. (Reoutenko) RUSSEL, 
M. D., the wife of Dr. Nicholas Russel, 
is a native of Russia, and a graduate 
of the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of Berne, Switzerland. She received 
her early education at Odessa. After gradu- 
ating in medicine, she entered the medical 
service of the Russian army, in the Turko- 
Rucfsian war, and was appointed ordinator of 
a first-class military hospital at Rustschick. 
She was later in charge of a civil hospital at 
that place for several years. During the 
recent war between Servia and Bulgaria, she 
again had charge of a military hospital, 
where she made the acquaintance of her 
husband, Dr. Nicholas Russel. After the 
conclusion of that war and her marriage, they 




ITS OiriES AND TnEIR SUBURBS. 



201 



came to California, where they have been 
engaged in the practice of their profession 
since 1887. 



^m 



^'' S ' ^'^g" '■ — 




JOSEPH C. SAL A, successor to John 
Roach, maker of snrveyors,' nautical and 
mathematical instrameuts, 429 Mont- 
gomery street, San Francisco, is a native of 
Belgirate, Italy. His father, a wholesale 
merchant, gave his children every educa- 
tional advantage and careful home training. 
There are three brothers in the family, of 
whom Joseph C. is the youngest. The old- 
est brother studied law, and is now promi- 
nent in his profession in Italy. For twenty 
years he has been Mayor of his native city. 
The next brother, imbued with strong pa- 
triotism, joined the army of Garibaldi, and 
fou^cht all through the troublous days of 
'48. He went to Australia in 1854, where 
he still resides, having been very successful 
in mining. 

Joseph C. Sala was partly educated at 
home. When quite young he went to Paris 
to live with an uncle, who was engaged in 
the manufacture of mathematical instru- 
ments, and under whose instruction Mr. 
Sala learned his business. After serving an 
apprenticeship of six years, he engaged four 
years as a journeyman, becoming thoroughly 
practical in every branch of the work. Seven 
years of that time he attended the evening 
classes of the best French schools, thus com- 
pleting bis education and at the same time 
pursuing his work. Having read of Cali- 
fornia as a place of excellent prospects for 
an ambitious young man, in 1861 he came 
to this State. The day following his arrival, 
he was engaged by Mr. John Roach, lately 
deceased, who had established his business 
for the ^manufacture of nautical and meteoro- 



46 



logical instruments in this city in 1855. In 
1861 Mr. Sala was his only assistant. He 
remained with him thirty years, and for 
twenty years had exclusive charge of the 
manufacturing department. At the death of 
Mr. Roach, March 19, 1891, he purchased 
the entire interest. The business was estab- 
lished during the infancy of San Francisco; 
now, like the city, it has reached broad pro- 
portions. In 1862 Mr. Sala made the large 
transit for the re-survey of the city of San 
Francisco, upon which he worked for a 
period of seven months. The instrument 
has since been^sold by the city and used for 
all the triangulations of the Sutro tunnel in 
Nevada, the tunnel being the drainage sys- 
tem of the Com stock mines. 

Mr. Sala was married in San Francisco, in 
1880, to Miss Julia Huant, a native of New 
York, of French descent. Four children 
have been added to their union — Sylvia, 
Henry, Joseph and Guido. 

Mr. Sala is Past Master of the Masonic 
Lodge Speranza Italiana, and for ten years 
has been Treasurer. He has been a member 
of the I. O. O. F. since 1867. In 1874 he 
was elected President of the Italian Benevo- 
lent Society, and has held the office continu- 
ously for seventeen years. He takes just 
pride in having built up the society from its 
bankrupt condition, with few in number and 
an indebtedness of $8,000, to its present 
glorious standing, with over 1,000 members 
and the indebtedness paid off. The society 
owns a beautiful cemetery and has over 
$15,000 in the treasury. Mr. Sala has been 
inspector of mathematical instruments for 
the Government for some ten years. He 
became a citizen of the United States in 
1880; and believes all foreigners should liva 
in the country at least fifteen years before 
becoming naturalized. In his life work 
he has certainly made an honorable record, 



202 



TUB BAT OF 8 AS FRAN0I800: 



and merits the respect and esteem in which 
he is held 'by all nationalities of the city. 



■>> • 



^•>*H| 



\ %* • ** 




'AMES MILLER, owner of the Oakland 
Art Pottery and Terra Cotta Works, was 
born at Carlton Hill, Edinbiirg, Scotland, 
March 25, 1838, a son of James and Mar- 
garet (Campbell) Miller, both now deceased, 
aged about seventy. The father, a graduate 
of Edinburg University, became a barrister 
at law and followed his profession all his life, 
one of his cases being the celebrated Made- 
line Smith murder case, which attracted 
much attention. His brother, James Miller, 
represented Leith, Musselborough and Porto 
Bello for two terms in the House of Com- 
mons. Grandfather Garvin Miller was a 
manufacturer of tiles, and the subject of this 
sketch took a fancy to that business in his 
childhood. He amused himself making mar- 
bles and turning a potter's wheel in his 
grandfather's yard at the age of seven, going 
to school only in ' winter. He was early 
bound as an apprentice in Thompson's pot- 
tery, serving seven years, and attending night 
school for his general education. At the 
close of his apprenticeship he went to Porto 
Bello and worked about eighteen months in 
Livingston's pottery, under the instructions 
of Leroy, an Italian artist in that line, and 
recotriiized as the best molder in ail Scotland. 
In his nineteenth year Mr. Miller was ap- 
pointed superintendent of Thompson's pot- 
tery in Glasgow, serving two years. He then 
started the terra-cotta works at Gardenkirk 
for Baird Bros., of the Gsrtsherie Iron Works, 
and worked there as molder some fifteen 
months. His work attracted some attention 
at that time, especially his model of an 
equestrian statue of Queen Victoria, still 
preserved at Falkirk. He also modeled 



fountains and vases for the decoration of the 
buildings and grounds of the Crystal Palace 
in London, in 1862. He then traveled 
through France, Germany, Switzerland and 
Italy, spending over three years in Naples 
to perfect himself in his art. He came to 
America in 1866, and obtained employment 
in Taylor's Marble Works in New York, 
chiefiy as molder of busts, at $20 a day, re- 
maining about a year. His next enterprise 
was to start a stoneware factory at Queens- 
town on the '^Hudson, which proved a suc- 
cess, the owners forming an incorporated 
company after two years to. prosecute the 
business in a larger way. At this time in- 
ducements were held out to Mr. Miller by a 
Mr. Johnston to start terra-cotta works in 
St. Louis, Missouri, and he worked there on 
a salary of $300 a month for about two 
years, until everything was in good running 
order. In 1872 he came to California and 
settled in what was then known as Brooklyn, 
now East Oakland. He formed a partner- 
ship first with Mr. Robert Crabb, under 
the style of Miller & Crabb, for about a 
year, manufacturing architectural ornaments 
chiefly, Mr. Miller being the first to intro- 
duce terra cotta for such purposes in this 
State. Then with Mr. Windsor, as Miller & 
Windsor, he started the California Pottery 
and Terra Cotta Works, remaining together 
until August, 1886, when Mr. Miller estab- 
lished his present factory, the Oakland Art 
Pottery and Terra Cotta Works. 

With such a master of his art as Mr. 
Miller is acknowledged on all hands to be, 
and with his active and vigilant supervision 
of every detail, the most artistic and perfect 
work in the diflerent lines of production 
could not fail to be realized. A man of tire- 
less energy as well as of great business abil- 
ity, combined with a natural endowment of a 
very marked pasrion for artistic excellence, 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



203 



enhanced by years of patient study, hard 
work, wide experience in every department, 
and perfected by travel and observation of 
whatever was best in others' methods, Mr. 
Miller has achieved an invincible reputation 
as a manufacturer of the best goods in his 
line on this coast, where his trade is only 
limited by his capacity of production. His 
working force is about sixteen hands, and his 
goods have received first premiums wherever 
exhibited, as the most beautiful in finish, 
superior in quality to foreign and domestic 
manufactures. "Terracotta," says Mr. Mil- 
ler, "when properly made is an improve- 
ment on nature's geological formations. It is 
harder and more durable than any natural 
stone, includinor even marble and granite." 
Mr. Miller is owner of a variety of patents 
connected with different departments of his 
manufactures, the best-known being Miller's 
Filter, the merits of which are within the 
scope of popular appreciation. He molded 
all the ornaments of the Oakland courthouse. 

He built in 1890, in East Oakland, a neat, 
artistic residence, abundantly decorated with 
the products of his art, and surrounded hy 
extensive, ornamental grounds, — a delightful 
home for his young family. 

Mr. Miller was married in Oakland, Sep- 
tember 9, 1873, to Miss Isabella Crabb, a 
daughter of Robert and Sarah (Prophit) 
Crabb. The family came to America in 
1868, and about 1870 to Car&on, Nevada, 
where Mr. Crabb was engaged for a year or 
two as contractor and builder. They then 
moved to San Francisco and Mr. Crabb 
became the partner of Mr. Miller. The 
mother died of acute disease in 1873, aged 
thirty-six, and the father a year or two later, 
at the age of fifty. Grandfather Crabb was 
living in England in 1889, aged over ninety; 
and grandmother Prophit died there a few 
years ago, at the age of ninety- three. 



The children- of Mr. and Mrs. Miller are: 
Emma, born March 22, 1875; James, Jr., 
March 14, 1877; Maud, February 5, 1879; 
Sarah, October 5, 1880; Margaret, July 14, 
1883; Isabella, February 1, 1886; Elizabeth 
Ann, June 29, 1890. 

Mr. Miller is a member of Oakland Lodge 
of Perfection, No. 12, A. & A. S. Rite, of the 
thirty-second degree, and is also a member 
of the A. O. U. W. and of the Knights of 
Honor. 




ILLIAM GRAHAM HAWKETT, 
deputy Assessor of Alameda county, 
was born in Todd's Valley, Placer 
county, California, March 23, 1856, a son of 
Arthur Wellington and Margaret B. (Tow- 
ner) Hawkett. His father, who was born in 
Essex county, New York, December 17, 
1826, first learned the trade of nail maker in 
his father's factory at Altoona, Pennsylvania, 
whither the family had meanwhile moved 
from New York. He afterward learned the 
trade of mason and brick-layer, and in 1852 
came to California, locating in Placer county 
as a miner. Mrs. Hawkett, who was born in 
Canada, January 2, 1830, of American par- 
ents, rejoined him in Placer county in 1853. 
He continued so engaged for several years, 
and is interested in mines and mining prop- 
erty to the present time, in this State and in 
Oregon. He came to this State early in the 
'60s and embarked in the business of con- 
tractor and builder. He constructed the first 
macadamized street in Oakland and built the 
Wilcox block, the first three-story building 
erected here. He afterward built the Benitz 
block and the Broadway block. He was a 
half owner of the Altoona cinnabar mines, 
thought to be the richest quicksilver mines 
in California, which he sold in 1875. He is 
still interested in mining in Oregon. 



204 



THE BAT OF 8AN FRANCISCO: 



W. G. Hawkett, the only living child of 
his parents, came to Oakland in August, 
1865, attended Brajton College, and at the 
age of fourteen took a situation as messenger 
in the State Assemhly in Sacntmento, which 
he held for two sessions. He then went to 
Gold Hill, Nevada, and for a year wat* clerk 
in a quartzmill. In 1874 he returned to 
Oakland and resumed his educational course 
for a season. In his twentieth year he went 
into the grocery business on his own account 
in West Oakland, under the style of W. G. 
Hawkett & Co., continuing eight months, 
when he sold out to H. M. Collins. In 1878 
he was appointed deputy County Recorder 
under P. R. Borein, serving live years and 
ten months, and then under his successor one 
year. Resigning that position, he was ap- 
pointed deputy City Assessor by J. M. Dil- 
lon, and remained with him until the close o\ 
hip long term of twenty seven years in April, 
1889. Mr. Hawkett then joined Mr. R. S. 
Leckie, under the style of Leckie & Hawkett, 
searchers of records. They built up a good 
business in their line, employing nine clerks, 
and their professional work was so carefully 
done that it is accepted as standard by the 
banks, insurance companies and attorneys in 
Oakland. In 1890 Mr. Leckie was elected 
Assessor of Alameda county, and he at once 
appointed Mr. Hawkett as his chief deputy. 
They then sold their business as searchers of 
records and now give all their attention to 
official business. 

Mr. Hawkett was a member of the old 
Oakland Parlor, No. 2, N. S. G. W., and at 
the organization of the Grand Parlor of the 
State was chosen its first president; he is now 
a member of Piedmont Parlor, No. 120, and 
also of Occidental Lodge, No. 6, A. O. U. 
W. in which he served as recorder twelve 
years and passed through all its offices; also 
of Upchurch Legion, No. 9, S. K., and of 



Ivanhoe Lodge, No. 1889, Knights of Honor, 
and of Harbor Lodge, No. 256, I. O. O. F. 
Mr. Hawkett was married in this city. Oak- 
land, October 8, 1879, t6 Miss Emma F. 
Webb, a native of Lancha Plana, Amador 
county, California, and they have three 
daughters, viz.: May Isabelle, bom August 
8, 1880; Frank Ethelyn, September 4, 1885; 
Marguerite Helen, February 23, 1889. 

" * '' £ * 3 » » t * !5 




H. CURTIS, M. D., whose office is at 
No. 922 Sutter street, San Francisco, 
^ has been a resident of California since 
1883, and has been engaged in the practice 
of medicine since 1880. He was born in 
New York city in 1840, and is of Scotch and 
English descent; his father's family were 
early settlers of Maine. Our subject received 
his early education in the public schools of 
his native place, and in 1877 commenced the 
study of medicine at the Chicago Homeo- 
pathic College, and graduated at that institu- 
tion in 1880, after a full three-years conrse 
and receiving his degree as Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He at once entered into private prac- 
tice in Chicago, where he remained lor three 
years, and during that time occupied the 
position of demonstrator of and lecturer on 
anatomy at that college. In 1881 Dr. Curtis 
went to Europe and spent four months in the 
hospitals and clinics of London, devoting 
special attention to surgical studies. In 1888 
he came to California and took charge of the 
Homeopathic Hospital, which is now occu- 
pied by St. Luke's Hospital, and at the same 
time entered into private practice. He has 
since continued in the general practice of his 
profession, but devotes special attention to 
surgery. 

Dr. Curtis has held the Chair of Anatomy 
and Surgery since the establishment of the 



1T8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



205 



Hahnemann Hospital Homeopathic College. 
He is a member of the State Homeopathic 
Medical Society of California, and also has 
charge of the surgical clinics at the Homeo- 
pathic Hospital. In 1886 the Doctor went 
to New York, where he studied for a term at 
the New York Polyclinic. 



^ 



^e-^ 



:i- 




fOHN L. DAVIE, of the Washington 
Coal Company, is one of the most ener* 
getic and successful business men, one 
who takes an active interest in the public 
schools, and in all public improvements, 
politics, and in everything which will add to 
the welfare of the community and the attrac- 
tions of the city of his home. Having a 
musical and literary bent and being of studi- 
ous habits himself, he and his estimable wife 
(who is a descendant of the old New England 
Puritans) take an intense interest in the train- 
ing and education of their three boys, who 
constitute the family. 

Mr. Davie was born in Saratoga county, 
New York, June 24, 1850, being the oldest 
living son of Tbaddeus and Helen Davie. 
His father died in 1876, aged seventy years. 
Mr. Davie was educated in the public schools 
of his native county, and at the age of six* 
teen began his business career as grocer's 
clerk at Albany, the capital city. Soon after 
he spent a year in the same line of business 
at Chicago, Illinois. Early in the seventies 
he started for northern California, where the 
chief industry was stock-raising, to which he 
was specially adapted and in which he speed- 
ily engaged. Eventually he became the 
owner of a large ranch, embracing several 
thousand acres. This life, though healthy 
and remunerative, was lonely and afforded 
little opportunity for literary pursuits and 
for the cultivation of the higher nature. He, 



therefore, at intervals spent a few years in 
San Francisco, and finely sold his interest in 
land and stock and came in 1884 to the 
Athens of the Pacific coast, Oakland, and en- 
gaged in his present business, which has 
grown to be one of considerable magnitude. 

From 1871 to 1888 he was an active Re- 
publican; he has since then been prominent 
in the councils of the American party, being 
especially pronounced against ecclesiastical 
interference of the Roman hierarchy with our 
public schools. 

Mr. Davie was married in San Francisco, in 
188U, to Miss A. E. BiJdolph, who was bom 
in Boiton, June, 1858, is of Puritan stock, her 
ancestors having come to America among the 
first. She is a daughter of James and Sarah, 
who are both living. Her father was mar- 
ried in Boston in 1854, and a few years later 
came to California. Her mother was born in 
1837, also a native of Massachusetts. Mrs. 
Davie's maternal grandmother, Cbipman, nee 
Dyer, was born 1802; she is living at the old 
homestead of the Dyer family at Wellsfleet, 
Massachusetts. 

Mr. and Mrs. Davie have three sons: Frank, 
born March 17, 1884; William, born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1887; Fred, born April 5, 1889. 




ESSIE C. FARMER, M. D., whose 
ofiice is at No. 921 Larkin street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of Cali- 
fornia since 1878, and has been engaged in 
the practice of medicine since 1888. She 
was born in Melbonrne, Australia, in 1866, 
and is of English descent, her father, T. S 
Farmer, having emigrated to America with 
his parents at an early age. He was one of 
the early settlers of California, and engaged 
largely in mining operations, being a civil 
engineer by trade. In one of his engage- 



200 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



ments he spent two years in Australia, where 
Dr, Farmer was born. 

Our subject received her education in the 
public schools of California, and in 1880 
entered the classical course of the University 
of Washington, where she attended three 
courses. In 1885 she commenced the study 
of medicine, entering the California Medical 
College, and graduating at that institution in 
1888, after a full three years' course, and re- 
ceiving her degree as Doctor of Medicine. 
She at once entered into the practice of her 
profession in San Francisco, where she has 
already built up a satisfactory clientage. Dr. 
Farmer is a member of the State Eclectic 
Medical Society. 



" "g ' l"t ' 2" 



«•»■ 




ILLIS A. DEWEY, M. D., whose 
oflSce is at No. 824 Sutter street, 
San Francisco, was born in Middle- 
bury, Vermont, in 1858. Ilis family have 
l)fen residents of New England since 1632, 
and were well represented in the Revolution- 
ary war and that of 1812, as well as in 
the late civil war. Dr. Dewey's father, 
Josiah E. Dewey, is still living in Vermont. 
He was for about forty years a well-known 
business man of New York. 

Our subject received his early education in 
the public schools of New York city, and 
later attended the Burr & Burton Seminary 
at Manchester, Vermont, which he attended 
two years. Later he graduated at Pack- 
ard's Business College in New York city, in 
1876. Soon after this he commenced the 
study of medicine at the Now York Homeo- 
pathic Medical College, where he graduated 
in 1880, after a full course of three years, 
receiving his degree as Doctor of Medicine. 
Immediately after graduation he was ap- 
pointed house surgeon of Ward's Island 



Homeopathic Hospital of New York city, 
where he remained one and a half years. He 
then went to Europe, where for two and a 
half years he studied in the colleges and hos- 
pitals of Vienna, Paris, Berlin and Loudon, 
taking post-graduate courses in tho«*e cities. 
After practicing for a short time in New 
York after his return, he came to California, 
where he has since been engaged in private 
practice in San Francisco. Dr. Dewey held 
for live years the Professorship of Anatomy 
in the Hahnemann Hospital Homeopathic 
College at San Francisco, and is at present 
Professor of Materia Medica and Registrar 
of that institution. He is also an editor of the 
California Homeopathiat^ the only journal 
published on the Pacific coast devoted to 
homeopathy. The Doctor is a member of the 
California State Homeopathic Medical Soci- 
ety, also of the American Institute of Home- 
opathy. He has been a member of the State 
Board of Medical Examiners, and has also 
been quite prominent in medical literature. 
His and Dr. Boericke's work on "The Twelve 
Tissue Remedies of Schussler," a very com- 
prehensive work of 324 pages, has already 
gone within two years through two editions. 
Dr. Dewey and Dr. Boericke are now at work 
on a new homeopathic work, something which 
will meet a much felt want in homeopathy. 

He was married in 1885, to Miss Celina 
J. Lalande, and has one son, now in his third 
year. 



■ M ■! 



2 ' > ' i - 2 



II W i»i>. 




'RED ZECH, Jr., a muscian of San 
Francisco, was born in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, in 1858, a son of Freder- 
ick Zech, a noted piano manufacturer of that 
city In 1860 he came with his wife and 
only child, Fred, to California, and since 
then, for more than thirty years, he has been 
prominently identified with the manufacture 



ITS CITISa AND THBIB SUBURBS. 



207 



of pianos, and an honored citizen of San 
Francisco. Young Frederick was reared and 
educated in this city, and began tlie study of 
music at an early age. He studied here 
until 1877, when he went abroad to complete 
his musical education in Germany. He 
studied under the eminent teacher. Professor 
Theodore Kullark, of Berlin, as private 
pupil, for five years, having all the advan- 
tages that money and influence could pro- 
cure. Dpon his return in 1882 he engaged 
in teaching, and has held the position of 
Professor of Music in Miss Lake's Seminary, 
Shu Francisco, Snell's Seminary, and Miss 
Field's Seminary in Oakland, also having a 
large class of pupils at his own home. 

Mr. Zech has done much in the way ot 
musical composition; composed symphonies, 
overtures, concertos and other works. He is 
a member of the Manuscript Society of New 
York, to which no one admitted except those 
who are authors of musical compositions of 
high standard. He has been a director of 
different musical societies, and as a teacher 
he has met with pronounced success. 

S ' ^"^ ' 2 — 

'AMES PATRICK McELROY, an at- 
torney of Oakland, was born at St. John, 
New Brunswick, August 30, 1885, the 
son of Edward and Rose (McKenna) McEl- 
roy, both of Irish descent. His father, born 
in 1799, was a blacksmith by trade and also 
engaged in farming up to the time of his 
death in 1881. James in 1853 entered the 
Morrisonville Academy, Vermont, where he 
studied two years. In 1855 he entered the 
law otiice of Thomas Gleede of the same 
place, with whom he remained until his ad- 
mission to the bar in 1858. He then com- 
menced the practice of law in Waterville, 
Vermont, which he continued until 1862, 




when he enlisted in the Ninth Regiment, 
Vermont Volunteer Infantry. He spent 
three years m the Union army, mostly on 
detached duty, bat taking part in the engage- 
ments at Harper's Ferry, Fort Harrison and 
several other points. His term of service 
expired with the close of the war in 1865, 
when he commenced anew the practice of law 
in Bakersfield, Franklin county, Vermont, 
where he remained until 1872. Daring this 
time he had gradually become dissatisfied 
with the East, and, believing that in the 
West he should find a broader field for the 
exercise of his talents, removed thither, set- 
tling in Chicago. There he formed a part- 
nership with Colonel S. Park Coon, which 
continued until 1876, when he connected 
himself with C. Stewart Beattie, with whom 
he practiced until 1879, doing a general bus- 
iness and meetincr with success. He has 
since practiced alone, and in 1887 came to 
Oakland, where he has built up a good, growr 
ing practice. Besides his professional work 
he is interested in mining lands and opera- 
tions, and has taken active interest in poli- 
tics, taking a prominent part as a speaker 
throughout the presidential ca,nipaign of 
1888. 

He has a member of the G. A. R. since 
its organization, and in 1890 is Lieutenant 
Colonel of the Army and Navy League of 
Alameda county. 

Mr. McElroy was married in 1861, to 
Miss Amy Carpenter, a daughter of Josiah 
Carpenter of Waterville, Vermont. The an- 
cestral Carpenter is thought to have come 
over in the Mayflower, and the family is at 
least an old one in New England. Mrs. 
McElroy is a cousin of Richard B. Carpen- 
ter, a prominent citizen of Los Angeles, and 
of the late Senator Matthew Carpenter, of 
Wisconsin. 

Mr. McElroy has had two children: Ed- 



208 



THE BAT OF SAN FBAN0I8C0: 



ward Josiah, born December 27, 1862, and 
Charles B., born September 17, 1864, de 
ceased in 1886, at the age of twenty-one, in 
Chicago, where he had served in the post- 
ofBce for several years. Edward J., after 
receiving his education in the public schools, 
entered the law oflSce of the late Emery A. 
Storrs, at the age of seventeen. At nine- 
teen he went up to Minnesota for his health, 
and engaged in farming for a season. Re- 
turning to Chicago he was employed three 
years in the distributing department of the 
postoffice. Again feeling the need of out- 
door work, he was occupied in various posi- 
tions for mercantile houses of that city until 
he rejoined his parents in Oakland in 1890. 

^OHN M. FULWEILER was born in 
Cincinnati, Ohio, October 17, 1833, and 
is a son of the Rev. Abraham Fulweiler, 
a native of Pennsylvania. The 'father emi- 
grated from Pennsylvania to Ohio in 1830, 
being among the early settlers of the State. 
Our subject was educated in Dubuque, Iowa, 
and becoming much interested in the gold 
discoveries in California, came across the 
plains, arrivinor at Hangtown, September 18, 
1850. He went to the mines and remained 
one year; then he came to San Francisco, 
and at the end of one year resumed his work 
in the mines; he was more than ordinarily 
successful, and continued in this business 
until 1865. At that time he began reading 
law, and was admitted to the bar in 1869, 
when be entered upon the practice of his 
profession. He was elected District Attor- 
ney of Placer county in 1871, and, after 
serving two years, was re-elected to the same 
office; upon the completion of his term he 
resumed his private practice. While having 
a general civil practice he has given much 




attention to mining law, and has been con- 
nected with important mining litigation. 
Early in 1891, he opened an office in San 
Franeieco, where his ability and broad ex- 
perience won a large share of patronage, but 
during this year he returned to Auburn. 

Mr. Fulweiler is an earnest and consist- 
ent Republican, and is active in the counsels 
of his party; he was formerly a Douglas 
Democrat, and although not an office seeker 
he has for the patt twenty years made a can- 
vass of the county and district in the inter- 
ests of his party. He is a prominent- mem- 
ber of the Masonic order and belongs to the 
chapter. For twenty years he has been con- 
nected with the Improved Order of Red 
Men, and is also associated with the A. O. 
Q. W.; he is Grand Counselor of the Order 
of Chosen Friends. 

M. Fulweiler was united in marriage to 
Miss Mary Dunavent, of Bellville, Illinois. 
He still resides in Auburn, Placer county, 
where he has an attractive home and other 
property interests. 




E WITT CLINTON GASKILL, a 
capitalist of Oakland, was born in Clar- 
endon, Vermont, August 7, 1826, a son 
of Joseph and Sabra (Weeks) Gaskill. Great- 
grandfather John Weeks was born in Con- 
necticut in 1737, was married to Thankful 
Slade, a native of that State, born in 1748, 
and a sister of Governor Slade, of Vermont, 
and moved to Clarendon, Vermont, where 
they died at an advanced age. William Weeks, 
their son, born in Clarendon in 1775, was 
married to Hannah Steward, a native of the 
same town, born in 1779. Their granddaugh- 
ter, Sabra, also born in Clarendon, in 1802, 
married, October 6, 1822, Joseph Gaskill, 
born June 10, 1795. The paternal ancestry 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR 8UB0RB8. 



209 



of D. W. C. Gaskill is traced to Joseph Gas- 
kil], who emigrated to Rhode Island with his 
brother Silas, from Kichmond, England, at 
the time of the persecution of the Quakers, of 
which sect they were members. Jonathan, a son 
of Joseph, moved to Richmond, New Hamp- 
shire, and was the father of five daughters 
and three sons, Samuel, Silas and Varnej. 
Levida, one of the daughters, by marriage 
Mrs. Guernsey, was living near Richmond, 
New Hampshire, as late as 1856. Samuel 
settled in Cohoes, and Silas in Watertown, 
New York. Varney, the grandfather of D. 
W. C. Gaskill, was married to a Miss Bnffum, 
and moved first to Shrewsbury, Vermont, in 
1804, and thence to Royalton, New York, 
in 1815, with all his children except Esther, 
the wife of Mr. Beaverstock, of Shrewsbury, 
and Joseph, the father of our subject, born 
June 10, 1795. He was a volunteer of the 
war of 1812, enlisting at the age of seven- 
teen. His company was ordered back from 
Yergennes after the battle of Plattsburg, 
their service being no longer necessary. He 
learned the trade of blacksmith, was married 
October 6, 1822, to Sabra Weeks, and settled 
in Clarendon as a blacksmith and farmer. 
He had three brothers: Varney, William and 
George. The sons of his brother William — 
George, Jedediah and Hannibal — lived for a 
time in Porter, New York, but afterward 
moved farther West, to Michigan and Hli- 
nois, one or more being now residents of 
Chicago. The sons of George, the brother 
of William and Varney, are Varney, Elijah 
and George, born in Somerset, New York. 
The sons of Varney are Varney, Franklin 
and Joshua, living in Lockport, New York. 
The children of Joseph and Sabra (Weeks) 
Gaskill were as follows: Varney, bom in 
1824, De Witt Clinton, the subject of this 
sketch, born in 1826; Mahala, bom in 1831, 
deceased in 1849; RoUin Carol us (see sketch 



of his son Varney W., in this volume); 
Joseph, born August 27, 1886, now a mer- 
chant of Marietta, Ohio; Lois Sabra, born 
August 10, 1842, now the widow of Matthew 
Anderson, late professor of music in San 
Francisco. By a fourth wife, Mary Landon, 
born in 1819, now living in Oakland, Joseph 
Gaskill had one son, John William, born 
December 18, 1854, now a traveling sales- 
man for Voorhies & Co., of Sacramento, 
where he now resides. Varney, born in 
1824, the oldest child of Joseph, had one 
daughter, Cora, and two sons, Charles, now 
living in Atlanta, and Clinton, living in 
Chattanooga. Joseph, son of Joseph, has 
one daughter, Birdie Gaskill. Lois Sabra 
Anderson has four daughters; Nellie J., 
Jeanne tte, Jessie and Kittie Anderson. 

D. W. C. Gaskill, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in the public 
schools of Clarendon, Vermont, supplemented 
by one term in Castleton Seminary. In his 
youth he helped his father in the shop and 
farm, and at eighteen began to teach school, 
continuing in the occupation during the terms 
of 1844-5 and 1845-6. In 1846 he went to 
Boston, entered a wholesale dry-goods store 
as salesman, and was three times advanced in 
his first year. In 1848, with an uncle, 
Newman Weeks, he went into business in 
East Clarendon, Vermont, in a general mer- 
chandise store, chiefly to supply the needs of 
railroad hands, then occupied in excavating 
a deep cut in that section. Taken with the 
gold fever in 1849, Mr. Gaskill hypothecated 
his interest in the store for $500, left Boston, 
Massachusetts, March 1, on the bark Thames 
for Chagres, crossed the Isthmus, and leaving 
Panama by the bark Copiepo May 11, ar- 
rived in San Francisco August 14, 1849. 
The chief difficulty encountered was in get- 
ting out of Boston, the harbor being covered 
with ice two feet thick, through which it be- 



210 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANC ISCOi 



came necessary to cut a channel for the pas- 
sage of six merchant vessels and one sloop of 
war, the expense being borne bj merchants of 
Boston and the United States Government, 
both parties bein^ interested in the release of 
their respective vessels. In San Francisco 
Mr. Gaskill worked a week as a carpenter at 
$8 a day, but could not restrain his desire to 
try his fortunes in the gold fields, and set out 
for Mokelumne Hill, where he was engaged in 
mining until the spring of 1850. He then 
proceeded to Yuba and worked a while at 
Goodyear's Bar, then prospected at different 
points until he reached the north fork of the 
Feather river. On his return toward Mokel- 
umne Hill, he reached Forbestown, Butte 
county, September 1, 1850, where there were 
rich diggings. He had mined and prospected 
one year in all, and was for many years after- 
ward interested in mining property, but he 
now engaged in mercantile business with two 
partners, Cowperthwait & Bogardus, con- 
ducting a general and miners' supply store. 
In 1852 Cowperthwait sold out to his part- 
ners and the firm became Gaskill & Bogar- 
dus. In that year Mr. Gaskill was joined by 
his brother RoUin C, who became a clerk in 
the store. 

On June 11, 1853, D.W.C. Gaskill, being 
a sufferer from chronic diarrhoea for two 
months, came to San Francisco to consult a 
physician and buy stock for the store. Hav- 
ing shipped the necessary supplies to Forbes- 
town, he remained in the city under a 
doctor's care until the end of August, and 
on September 1, 1853, went back to Vermont 
by way of Nicaragua. With his father and 
sister and a lady cousin, he visited the 
World's Fair in New York, and afterward 
made an extended trip by way of Ogdens- 
burg, Cleveland, Cincinnati, New Orleans, 
Mobile, Montgomery, Atlanta and Washing- 
ton, back to New York. The benefit to his 



health was evidenced by the increase in 
weight, which rose from 117 poands in San 
Francisco, September 1, 1863, to 166 pounds 
in New York, March 1, 1854. Meanwhile 
he had, through his brother, Rollin C, 
bought the interest of his partner, Bogardus, 
in Forbestown. California. On his arrival in 
York, after his trip through the West and 
South, he received letters recalling him to 
California and returned immediately by way 
of Nicaragua. Resuming active control of 
his business, then conducted in his individ- 
ual name, he remained in Forbestown until 
1856, when he again went East, leaving the 
business to his brother. In 1857 he returned 
to this coast with his sister, now Mrs. Ander- 
son of San Francisco, and going back with 
her in 1858 remained a year. He wa« mar- 
ried in Camden, New Jersey, December 25, 
1859, to Mrs. Anna (Cowperthwait) Everett, 
the sister of his partner Cowperthwait of 
Forbestown, California, and set out with her 
for this coast January 1, 1860. Arriving in 
Forbestown he found that his brother, Rollin 
C, had meanwhile been elected to the State 
Senate, and he bought of him the old busi- 
ness which he carried on until 1875. Mean- 
while Mrs. Gaskill died, in Forbestown, April 
12, 1861, and both herchildren, one by each 
marriage, are also deceased. Mr. Gaskill 
had loaned $25,000 in 1857, to the South 
Feather Water Company on their ditch and 
water interests at Forbestown. A Mr. Bar- 
tholomew had loaned them an equal amount, 
and on the failure of the company in 1861, 
Gaskill and Bartholomew became joint own 
ers of the property. On the death of Mr. 
Bartholomew in 1863, Mr. Gaskill carried on 
the business with the widow until 1867, 
when he bought her interest and conducted 
the ditch enterprise alone until 1875. He 
obtained a half -interest in the Ohio Flat min- 
ing claim in return for supplying water and 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



211 



had alBo become interested in other mining 
properties. 

Overwork had now begun to sap hie 
energy and he concluded to wiud up his 
affairs. 

He realized handsomely on his Ohio F^lat 
claim and disposed of all his mining inter- 
ests. He next sold his ditch and stoi*e and 
left Forbestown in Jnne, 1875, to make out 
the final transfer papers in San Francisco, 
which' he had but just completed when he 
was attacked by nervous prostration in the 
home of his brother, Rollin C, in Oakland, 
where he remained until November. Par- 
tially restored, he again set out for the East 
on Thanksgiving Day, 1875, accompanied by 
wife and children and freed from the cares of 
active business, in which he has ever since 
engaged. 

Mr. Gaskill was married in Forbestown, 
California, May 8, 1862, to Mrs. Emeline 
(Duncan) Norris, a widow with one child, 
born in 1857, deceased in 1864. Mrs. Eme- 
line Gaskill was born in Monroe, New Hamp- 
shire, May 8, 1832, a daughter of Isaac and 
Betsey (Whipple) Duncan. Her father, born 
in 1779, of the early settled New Hampshire 
family of that name, died November 5, 1859; 
the mother, born in 1791, a member of the 
Whipple family, also long settled in that 
State, died in 1854. The two children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Gaskill, born in Forbestown, 
and who accompanied them to the East in 
1875, are: Annie Louis, born May 7, 1864, 
now the wife of Dr. H. P. Carleton of San 
Francisco, has one child, Sidney Gaskill 
Carleton, born October 13, 1888; Herbert 
Duncan Gaskill, born June 8, 1868, now a 
young merchant of San Francisco. With 
these children, then aged respectively eleven 
and seven, Mr. and Mrs. Gaskill traveled 
over the East from 1865 to 1877, vir^iting 
points of most interest and the Centennial 



Exposition in Philadelphia in 1876. On 
their return to this State in 1877, Mr. Gas- 
kill purchased the beautiful and extensive 
site now occupied by his residence in this 
city for $16,000, and proceeded to erect the 
family home at a cost of $8,000. This they 
have occupied since February 12, 1878, and 
it was extensively remodeled and beautified 
in 1890 at an outlay of several thousand dol- 
lars. Here was born, November 22, 1878, 
their third child, Percy DeWitt Gaskill. 

Mr. Gaskill joined the Masonic order in 
Rutland, Vermont, in 1856, and is now a 
member of Oakland Commandery, No. 11, 
Knights Templar. He was quite active in 
politics for many years, especially during the 
civil war, being at one time Chairman of 
the Republican Committee of Butte county, 
a delegate to every State Convention of the 
party for seviral years, and Postmaster of 
Forbestown for two terms. 





OBERT HENRY MAGILL, Jr., edi- 
tor of the Alameda Daily Ifews^ was 
born in San Francisco, May 14, 1866 
a son of R. H., Sr., and Lida (Miller) Magill. 
(See sketch of his father.) He graduated in 
the Alameda schools at the early age of thir- 
teen and a half years, and then assisted his 
father in clerical work in his insurance office. 
About the same time he took up as amateur 
work the art of printing, and at the age of 
sixteen started the Bumile Bee in Alameda, 
and kept up that publication from 1881 until 
March, 1891, when he changed his amateur 
publication into a professional daily, and 
christened it the Alameda Daily News^ at 
the same time taking as a partner in the 
business Mr. A. F. St. Jure» an accomplished 
and experienced journalist. Being outspoken 
and independent, these gentlemen at once 



212 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



pushed the News into popular favor among 
the people of Alameda, where it is now con- 
sidered the leading newspaper of that city. 

In 1887 Mr. Magill became a member of 
Alameda Parlor, No. 47, N. S. G. W., and 
the next year was transferred to Oakland 
Parlor, No. 50. In 1890 he was again 
transferred to Alameda, and joined Halcyon 
Parlor, No. 146. In his political sympathies 
he is an enthusiastic Democrat 

He was married in Alameda, on May 15, 

1888, to Miss Sophie Miller, who was born 
in Vermont and brought during her infancy 
to this State by her parents. Mr. and Mrs. 
Magill have one daughter, born May 14, 

1889, and named Helen Marguerite. 




R. DAINGERFIELD, a prominent 
lawyer of San Francisco, is a s<m 
^ of the late Judge W. P. Dainger- 
field, one of the most eminent jurists of the 
State of California. He was a native of 
Virginia, where he received his education 
and studied law. Upon the discovery of 
gold in California he came to the Pacific 
coast, arriving here in 1850, where he en- 
gaged in the practice of law. He was early 
elected Judge of the Ninth Judicial District, 
comprising the most of the northern portion 
of California, which position he held until 
the war of the Rebellion. He then came to 
San Francisco and engaged in the practice of 
his profession, having been associated at 
different times with Judge W. W. Cope, J. 
Douglas Hambleton, Henry E. Highton and 
Warren Olney. Mr. Daingcrfield was subse- 
quently elected Judge of the Twelfth Judicial 
District, comprising the southern portion of 
the city and county of San Francisco and all 
of San Mateo county, and held this position 
until the judgeship was abolished by the 



new constitution. He was immediately 
thereafter elected Judge of the Superior 
Court, having been chosen the first presiding 
Judge of that court, and served with dis- 
tinction until his death, which occurred May 
5, 1880, from a stroke of apoplexy while on 
the bench, leaving a wife and two children, a 
son and daughter. The latter lost her life in 
a railroad accident in December, 1888. 

W. R. Daingertield, the only surviving 
son, and the subject of this sketch*, is a 
native son, born in Shasta, June 9, 1857. 
He received his education in this State, 
graduating at the State University at Berke- 
ley, in the class of 1878. He afterward 
studied law, and was a member of the first 
graduating cla^s of Hastings' College of 
Law. He was admitted to the bar in Octo- 
ber, 1879, after which ho engaged in the 
practice of law, and two years later was ap- 
pointed Court Commissioner of the Superior 
Court. He held this position until 1888, 
when he resigned this position to join the 
law firm of O'Brien, Morrison & Daingcr- 
field, now O'Brien & Daingcrfield. The firm 
enjoys a large clientage, and holds a promi- 
nent place in the profession. 

2 ' ii ' t ' S 

[HARLES MATHIAS, dealer in wood, 
coal and salt, at Nos. 516 and 618 
Third street, Oakland, was bom in 
Grimstad, Norway, December 11, 1830, a 
son of Marcus and Anna (Sorensen) Mathias. 
His mother died about the age of fifty-five; 
his father, who was a farmer and tanner, lived 
to the age of eighty-eight years'. They had 
five sons and three daughters, and all are 
living except one son, a seaman, lost at sea. 

Mr. Mathias, our subject, received some 
formal schooling to the age of eleven, after- 
ward helping his father in work suitable to 




IT8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBUUBS: 



218 



his years to the age of fourteen, when he 
shipped as a cabin boy, being next an ordinary 
seaman and then an able seaman, spending 
seven years in European waters. In his 
twenty-first year he shipped on an American 
vessel at Cardiff, Wales, and arrived in Au- 
gust, 1851, at San Francisco. He went to 
raining in Sonora, but not finding it profit- 
able or agreeable, and knowing that work of 
various kinds was abundant in San Francisco 
and commanding liberal remuneration, he 
returned in a few days. He then shipped on 
a Panama steamer as quartermaster, making 
one voyage. In 1852 he served as acting 
sailing master of a small sloop engaged 
chiefly in conveying various farming supplies 
to the region of what is now Redwood City, 
with return cargoes of fire- wood to San Fran- 
cisco. His next employment was with the 
Mountain Spring and Sausalito Water com- 
panies, successively, occupied mostly in sup- 
plying vessels in the harbor with fresh water. 

June 20, 1856, he once more began to try 
mining, going to Poverty Bar, on the Mokel- 
umne river, and remaining about a year, 
only to find it was appropriately named as 
far as his test of its resources went. Again, 
in San Francisco, in 1857, he engaged in a 
watering cart on his own account, and con- 
tinued about eighteen months. In 1859, 
with a partner, he embarked in the dairy 
business in Marin county, conveying the 
product in butter, together with eggs and 
other commodities, and also some passengers, 
between Sausalito and San Francisco. Selling 
out his dairy be began, on May 15, 1861, his 
present business as wood and coal dealer, with 
a partner, under the firm name of Mathias & 
Nelson. Sometimes alone and at other times 
with different partners, he remained so en- 
gaged in San Francisco until November 5, 
1877, when he moved to his present place of 
business in Oakland, where he had no part- 



ner at any time. His yard and residence 
occupy 100 X 125 feet, and his business is 
fairly good and squarely conducted. 

Mr. Mathias became a citizen in 1861, and 
has since been a Republican in national 
politics, while in State and municipal con- 
tests he has found it necessary, in his view of 
the best interests of the people, to vote ac- 
cording to his judgment irrespective of party. 
He is one of the original twenty-eight organ- 
izers of the Scandinavian Benevolent Society 
of San Francisco, retaining his membership 
four years, until, dissatisfied with the dissen- 
sions and contentions arising mainly from 
national prejudices between Swedes, Norwe- 
gians and Danes, with which he had no sym- 
pathy, he preferred to withdraw, although 
fully in accord with the benevolent purposes 
of such institutions. 

He was married in San Francisco August 
24, 1862, to Miss Theresa Hasselman, who 
was born in Hamburg, Germany, April 10, 
1840, and came to San Francisco by way of 
Cape Horn, in 1856. They had seven chil- 
dren, four of whom died in infancy, and one, 
the oldest, Adelia, died at the age of fourteen, 
of typhoid fever, the survivors being Dora, 
born in 1864, and Charlotte, born January 
17, 1877. 





:ANK v. smith (or Francisco V. 
do Nasamento), a well-known dairyman 
of Marin county, was born at St. George, 
Western Islands (Azores), April 24, 1858, 
was educated and reared in his native country 
until 1875, when he emigrated to America. 
For a few months he remained at New Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts, and then came by rail to 
California, locating at Port Madera, Marin 
county, where he began the dairy business. 
Removing later to Green Brase, he reuiained 
there some two years. In 1887 he leased 



214 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



1,300 acres of trrazing land near San Rafael, 
known as San Pedro, where he now resides 
and carries on a large dairy business, milking 
more than 150 cows and supplying a part of 
the local trade of San Rafael and San Fran- 
cisco, with a delivery service in both cities. 
lie also manufactures large quantities of 
butter, selling it at San Francisco and at 
points nearer home. 

At San Rafael, February 26, 1884, he mar- 
ried Miss Rosa J. Bittancurt, a native of the 
Western Islands, and they have three daugh- 
ters, viz.: Maria, Anna and Rosa, aged re- 
spectively seven, six and three years. Mr. 
Smith is the fourth of a family of seven 
children of Manuel V. and Anna (Josifa) 
Smith. He was naturalized at San Rafael. 
He is not a member of any secret society, but 
is a gentleman of close business habits and 
cordial manner. 

^ENRY CLAY TAFT, senior partner 
and founder of the house of Taft & 
Pennoyer, dry-goods merchants of Oak- 
land, was born in Rochester, New York, May 
29, 1847, a son of Mason and Samantha 
(Gray) Taft. The father, a native of New 
Hampshire, was for many years a merchant in 
Dansville, New York, where he died of cancer 
of the stom ch nearly thirty years ago, at the 
age of fifty. Two of his brother**, born 
about 1818 and 1820, are still living; and 
their father, Samuel, also a native of New 
Hampshire and one of the first manufacturers 
of combs in that State, lived to the age of 
seventy. His father, Elijah, for many years a 
resident of that State and probably a native 
thereof, also reached an advanced age. The 
Tafts are of the early New England immigra- 
tion. The mother of H. C. Taft is still living, 
at the age of seventy- five. 




Mr. Taft received a common -school educa- 
tion, supplemented by a term in an academy 
in Dansville, New York. He obtained a 
situation as clerk in the United States Express 
office of that city in 1863, and in 1864a simi- 
lar position in the Dansville Bank. In 1865 
he came to California and engaged as a clerk 
with Haskell & Campbell, dry goods mer- 
chants of Petaluma. In 1868, at the age of 
twenty-one, he went into business there on 
his own account, in the same line, ander the 
style of H. C. Taft & Co. He had two part- 
ners at diflFerent times, for short periods, being 
most of the time sole proprietor. In 1877 
he started a branch store in this city, and in 
1879 he sold out in Petaluma. Since that 
date he has given undivided attention to his 
business in Oakland. In 1880 Mr. Albert A. 
Pennoyer became a partner, under the style 
of Taft & Pennoyer, which continues un- 
changed to the present time. Tlie firm is 
confessedly in the front rank in the dry-go:;d8 
line, with all the usual accessaries of that 
trade. Their store is in every sense metro- 
politan, having a frontage of seventy feet and 
a depth of 125 feet on the main floor, on 
Broadway near Fourteenth, in the very center 
of trade. Up-stairs they have 70 x 140 feet 
besides the large cellar rooms for storage pur- 
poses. They are among the first in this city 
to introduce the modern convenience of a 
passenger elevator, and in all the appoint- 
ments of a first-claims dry-goods house, Taft 
& Pennoyer are fully abreast of the times, 
being determined to aflFerd no pretext to the 
ladies of this city for carrying their trade to 
the rival city across the bay. Mr. Taft visits 
the Eastern markets twice a year to bay 
goods, and in 1886 went to Europe to estab- 
lish connections for direct importation from 
Paris. 

U. C. Taft was married in St. Peter's 
Church, Dansville, New York, in 1877, to 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



215 



MisB Lizzie Maxwell, born in that city, August 
27, 1854, a daughter of Olney Bryant and 
Elizabeth (Foote) Maxwell. The father was 
a man of prominence, wealth and influence 
in Dansville and reckoned among relatives 
two men of more than national reputation, 
William CuUen Bryant and Theodore Pome- 
roy. United States Senator from New York. 
Mr. Maxwell died in middle life, aged about 
fifty -six years. His wife, a relative of Will- 
iam H. Seward and H. W. Beecher, is living, 
at the age of sixty-six years. Grandfather 
Wymond Maxwell was a son of Joshua, who 
was of Scotch birth or descent. 

Mr. and Mrs. Taft have three children: 
Joshua Maxwell, born March 11, 1878, 
Clara Maxwell, April 21, 1879, and Dorothy 
Elizabeth, December 18, 1890 — all natives of 
Oakland. Mr. Taft was for eight years a Ves- 
tryman of St. John's church, Petaluma, and 
for some years Treasurer of St. Paul's, Oak- 
land. He is a Knight Templar and a mem- 
ber of the A. O. U. W. 

WAIN BROS., proprietors of Swain's 
bakery, 213 Sutter street, San Fran- 
cisco, are enterprising business men 
and have an establishment second to none of 
its kind in the city. This pioneer bakery 
was started in 1855 by Mr. R. R. Swain, 
father oi the present proprietors, and has 
always maintained a leading place among the 
confectioners here. 

R. R. Swain was born in New York city 
and is of Danish descent. His ancestors 
immigrated to this country in 1664, settled 
on the island of Nantucket and subsequently 
removed to New York. He had the misfor- 
tune to lose his father when quite young, and 
at the age of fourteen he was apprenticed to 
learn the trade of baker, receiving a salary 




of $30 per year. After completing his ap- 
prenticeship, he established a small bakery in 
New York and continued it until 1852. That 
year he sold out, made the voyage to Califor- 
nia, via Panama and landed safely in San Fran- 
cisco. He at once started for the mines on 
Yuba and Feather rivers, soon, however, be- 
coming tired of the hardships of mining. 
He then resumed his old business and estab- 
lished a provision store and miners' hotel at 
the camp, which he continued until 1855. 
Returning to San Francisco, he opened the 
original Swain's Bakery, and from the first 
met with marked success. His location was 
changed from time to time with the develop- 
ment of the city until 1875, when he settled 
at 213 Sutter street, and, in connection with 
his bakery, opened • an oyster saloon, which 
subsequently developed into a fully equipped 
restaurant, now the leading one in the city. 

After a long and successful career, Mr. 
Swain retired on March 1, 1887, and the 
business passed into the hands of his sons, 
Edward R. and Frank A. The bakery and 
restaurant occupy a frontage of twenty feet, 
a depth of 130 feet and a width of forty 
feet in the rear. It is conveniently ar- 
ranged and divided into separate depart- 
ments, the restaurant having a seating 
capacity for 105 persons. The baking is all 
done in the basement, about forty hands are 
employed in the several departments, and all 
meals are served a la mode. The firm does 
an extensive business in bread and pastries, 
four wagons being employed to serve cus- 
tomers. This popular establishment is fully 
equipped with all the latest impro ements, 
even having their own dynamo and accumu- 
lators for electric-lighting purposes. 

The Swain Bros, are courteous and obliging 
gentlemen, and through their earnest eflForts 
to please their patrons they are achieving 
signal success. 



216 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRAN 01800: 



0o^ 



■ » 




HOMAS WOLFE MORGAN, City 
Engineer of Oakland, was born in New 
Orleans, Louisiana, December 3, 1839, 
the onlj son of Judge Thomas Nicholson 
Morgan and Mary De Neale (Wolfe) Morgan. 
The father was born in that State in 1809, a 
son of George J. Morgan and his wife, who 
was a daughter of Judge John Nicholson. 
The parents had come to Louisiana from Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania, of which State they 
are thought to have been natives. T. N. 
Morgan was a gold- medal graduate of Yale 
College in the class of 1831, and ascended 
the bench as Associate Justice of the city of 
New Orleans at the age of twenty four, re- 
taining that position until hid early death, in 
his thirty-tifth year, in Nashville, Tennessee, 
in 1844. Judge Morgan took an active and 
leading part in reform work, was scrupulously 
strict with himself and of unbounded charity 
toward others. The mother, born in Win- 
chester, Virginia, May 17, 1817, a daughter 
of Dr. Thomas Wolfe, a native of that city, 
and his wife, Mary Ann (Patten) Wolfe. 
Left an orphan* in iier ninth year, she was 
adopted by an aunt who was the wife of lie v. 
Dr. Wheat, of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 
a professor in the university of that State. 
She was married to Judge Morgan in 1837, 
T. W. Morgan being the only living issue of 
that marriage. She was again married in 
Lake Providence, Louisiana, in 1850, to J. B. 
Harmon, now an attorney of San Francisco, 
residing in Berkeley. Mr. and Mrs. Har- 
mon moved to Warren, Ohio, in 1852, and to 
California in 1864. Mrs. Harmon's mother, 
burn April 5, 1785, married May 14, 1816, 
died December 25, 1825; her grandmother, 
Mary (Roberdeau) Patten, born in Philadel- 
phia, May 6, 1774, removed with her parents 
to Alexandria, Virginia, where she was mar- 
ried November 14, 1783, to Thomas Patten, 



born in Roxbnry, Massachusetts, July 22, 
1769, a son of Thomas and Anna Patten. 
He was a merchant in Alexandria. The elder 
Thomas Patt«n, born April 4, 1734, died 
January 31, 1805; Anna, his wife, born Sep- 
tember 25, 1742, died January 5, 1800. 

T. W. Morgan, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in New Orleans 
and in Warren, Ohio, and his finishing course 
under his mother's adopted father, Rev. Dr, 
Wheat, at Chapel Hill, North Carolina, from 
about the age of fifteen to eighteen. He 
came to this coast by the Panama routte. ar- 
riving in December, 1857. Here he engaged 
as assistant to James Terrell, United States 
Deputy Surveyor, then occupied in Monterey 
county, remaining with him four months. 
He had learned something of that science in 
the University of North Carolina, and now 
continued his studies, being somewhat unde- 
cided whether to embrace architecture or 
engineering as a career. In 1861 he decided 
in favor of the latter, under Robert L. Har- 
ris, the first work being the survey of the 
first horse railroad in San Francisco. Re- 
maining with Mr. Harris some four years, he 
was engaged in different jobs, such as the 
Opliir railroad in Virginia cit}', which was 
abandoned as a railroad enterprise, but the 
survey was utilized for a wagon road. He 
did the instrumental work on the Point San 
Jose survey, and at Black Point Fort about 
1863, and was transit man on Harris^ work 
for the Central Pacific railroad in 1864 and 
1865. He next surveyed under George C. 
Potter, City and County Surveyor of San 
Francisco, acting chiefly as leveler and com- 
puter, and afterward as chief draughtsman 
to Assessor Wheaton for two years. In 1868, 
in partnership with another pupil of Robert 
L. Harris, he formed the firm of Morgan & 
Smith, civil engineers and surveyors. He 
had charge of the land party in the survey of 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



217 



the Oakland water front. In 1870 he was 
chief engineer of the first horse railroad in 
Sacramento. In 1871 he surveyed the town 
of Calistoga, making a map thereof, which is 
still recognized as standard. In 1872 he 
came to work as deputy to T. J. Arnold, city 
engineer, and made a map of the Northern 
Addition to Oakland. In 1873 he was put in 
charge of the office as chief deputy, so re- 
maining until Mr. Arnold's death in 1878. 
He was then appointed City Engineer by the 
City Council, holding the same by their re- 
appointment until the new charter took effect 
in April, 1889. He is now his own succes- 
sor, under the new regitne^ by appointment 
by the Board of Public Works. Some few 
year:j ago he made the preliminary survey of 
the Cliff House steam railroad, and also laid 
off the grounds on Sutro Heights for the 
proprietor, but his work of late years has 
been chiefly confined to the discharge of his 
official duties. He is a member of the Tech- 
nical Society of the Pacific coast; also of the 
California Society of Civil Engineers. 

Mr. Morgan wa? married in Santa Cruz, 
December 25, 1865, to Miss Christiana Agnes 
Ross, born in Oxford, Ontario, October 16, 
1847, a daughter of Daniel and Janet (Mac- 
neille) Ross, born, reared and married in 
Scotland, whence they emigrated to Canada 
about 1843, with five sons and one daughter. 
A son and two daughters were born to them 
in Canada, whence they came to California, 
in March, 1856. They were the parents of 
thirteen children, of whom three sons and 
two daughters are living: Daniel Ross, of 
Santa Cruz, born in 1827; Joseph, of Mon- 
terey; Frank, of Selma; Jennie, by marriage 
Mrs. W. A. Sanborn, of Watsonville; and 
Christina A., the wife of T. W. Morgan, the 
subject of this sketch. Another brother of 
Mrs. Morgan, John Balfour Kirkwood Ross, 
died in Selma, Fresno county, May 9, 1890, 

47 



of acute pneumonia, at the age of forty-six. 
The father, Daniel Ross, born May 13, 1802, 
died in Watsonville, February 18, 1870, and 
was buried in Watsonville; the mother, Janet 
Macneille, of the Macneilles of Ayr, Scotland, 
born October 3, 1805, died in Oakland. De- 
cember 4, 1889, and was buried with her 
husband in Watsonville. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Morgan are: Ross Mor- 
gan, born January 5, 1867, is a graduate of 
the University of California of the class of 
1891, preparing for the profession of civil 
engineer, having taken an interest in his 
father^s work since the age of eleven years; 
Miss De Neale Morgan, born May 24, 1868, 
a student of the School of Design in San 
Francisco, is a young lady of marked talent; 
Janet H. Morgan, bom April 22, 1870, died 
November 29, 1877; Thomas W., Jr., born 
August 22, 1875; Dana Roberdeau, born 
February 3, 1879; James Wheat, born Janu- 
ary 17, 1881, and Jennie Christine, born 
March 18, 1884, complete the list of seven 
children. 

'^ M l »| ^ » }H£ » ^ |> M l — 

LLIS A. HAINES, a farmer residing in 
Oakland, was born in Frederick county, 
Virginia, Janua^y 2, 1829, a son of 
Thornton Washington and Sarah (Baer) 
Haines, both natives of that State. The 
mother died young of an acute disease to 
which she had no inherited tendency, leav- 
ing four children, two of whom are living, 
on this coa?it, — E. A. in Oakland, and Susan 
Elizabeth, the wife of James W. Hudson, a 
farmer of Alameda county. The grandfather, 
Benjamin Haines, lived to be over seventy 
years old, dying on the home place in Fred- 
erick county. T. W. Haines, referred to, 
moved from there to Ohio, where his wife 
died, about 1835. They lived in Franklin 
county, Ohio, until Ellis A. was about thir- 




218 



THB BAT OF SAN F RAN U I BOO: 



teen years old, and then, about 1842, re- 
moved to White county, Indiana. The 
father, born in 1796, died in Tippecanoe 
county, Indiana, in 1849. One of his broth- 
ers, Benjamin, also a farmer, settled in Illi- 
nois about 1840. 

Mr. Haines, our subject whose name in- 
troduces this sketch, was brought up to 
farm life, and arrrived at Hangtown, this 
State, August 12, 1850, coming overland. 
He followed mining about fourteen months, 
but did not "strike it rich." In Decem- 
ber, 1851, he went into Sacramento county, 
prospecting for agricultural land, and struck 
good land near San Leandro, Alameda 
county, settled there, and bought, in 1856, 
nearly 600 acres, with a partner. They had 
meanwhile rented and cultivated land in that 
vicinity, raising* barley and potatoes for the 
first two or three years, and later wheat also. 
They ;<radually drifted into cattle-raising, 
which has since been Mr. Haines' chief pur- 
suit. In 1857 the partnership was dissolved, 
Mr. Haines receiving 158 acres, and his share 
of the cattle. A few years later he pur- 
chased 133 acres which became the "home 
place," and held it until 1888. When he 
bought it he sold the 158 acres of the older 
place. In 1879 he bought two jJaces, 
amounting to 1,550 acres, in that neighbor- 
hood, and he has carried on some general 
farming ever since, but his main industry 
hari been the rearing of live stock. 

Mr. Haines has been a Freemason ever 
since 1873, joining the order in Oakland. 
In 1865 or 1866 he had taken up his resi- 
dence in this city. He is a director in the 
Oakland Savings Bank, since 1884; he had 
been previously a director of the Union Sav- 
ings Bank for about twelve years. 

He has been East three or four times since 
he came to this ooa.-t. During one of those 
visits, when he was in La Fayette, Indiana, 



he married Miss Mary Heath, the daughter 
of a merchant of that place. He was a na- 
tive of Ohio, and lived to be about seventy- 
seven years old, but his wife died at the age 
of thirty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Haines 
have three living children, born on the 
"home place:" Thornton Washington, John 
Joshua, Charles Warner. The two eldest 
completed their school days at Heald's Busi- 
ness College in San Francisco. The removal 
to Oakland was mainly for the education of 
the sons. The oldest married Miss D. Nt>ra 
Heller, who was born in Haywards, a daugh- 
ter of Thomas Heller. Her father is still 
living, aged about sixty-five years; and her 
mother lived to be about sixty. Mr. T. W. 
Haines has two daughters: Ella and Miriam. 
All three of the sons are residing upon their 
father's land, — T. W. near San Leandro, and 
the other two near Haywards, their chief vo- 
cation being that of rearing live stock. 

F. WOOD, San Francisco, was born in 
New York in 1829, and was reared and 
* educated in his native State. The 
glowing accounts of the discovery of gold in 
California induced him to make the voyage 
to this coast. In 1850 he left New York on 
board the ship Empire City, was detained 
five months on the Isthmus of Panama, and 
made the Pacific voyao^e in the steamer Sar.th 
Sands, landing in California September 9, 
1850, the day this State was admitted in!^o 
the Union. Like all other new-comers to this 
coast at that time, he had his experience in 
the mines. He afterward took up the study 
of law and was admitted to the bar by Chief 
Justice Searle, in Nevada City, in 1857. A 
few years later, in 1861, he went to Nevada, 
and three years later came to San Francisco, 
and for more than a quarter of a century has 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



219 



been a resident of this city. He has been en- 
gaged in various business enterprises, and has 
been largely interested in mining operations. 
Judge Wood is a consistent Republican. 
He was Sheriff of Nevada county in the early 
mining days, and held various other offices. 
He was elected Justice of the Peace in No- 
vember, 1890, and since then has held that 
office. 



-* M » m% 



t - i>n - l 



l » I M 




ILLIAM WALKER CAMRON, of 

the city of Oakland, real-estate dealer 
and land owner, was bom in Oska- 
loosa, Iowa, August 26, 1843, a son of Thomas 
Porter and Zillah (Emry) Camron. This 
branch of the Camron family begins with 
Thomas, who arrived in America in 1767 or 
'68, with wife and at least one son, Thomas, 
Jr., born near Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1764. 
They located in Elbert county, Georgia, where 
Tliomas, Sr., was for many years engaged in 
teaming and freighting, and at length became 
the owner of a large farm. Thomas Camron, 
Jr., was married there, about 1789, to Nancy 
Miller, also born near Edinburgh, Scotland, 
in 1772. They had five sons and six daugh- 
ters. The sons were John Miller, Thomas, 
William, James and a second William. Of 
these, James, born in 1804, is still living, in 
Bernadotte, Fulton county, Illinois. The 
father died July 15, 1844, and the mother 
November 11, 1852. The oldest son, John 
Miller, born August 12, 1791, moved with 
his parents to Kentucky in 1804, locating 
about ten miles south of Red Banks, and 
resided there some seven years. 

John M. Camron, the first to omit the " e " 
in the name Cameron, in 1811 married Mary 
Orendorff, previously of South Carolina and 
probably of Russian birth or parentage. 
After his marriage Mr. Camron settled in 
what is now Henderson county, Kentucky, 



where two children, Betsey and Thomas 
Porter, were born. In 1814 or '15 he moved 
to White county, Illinois, made a clearing, 
built a house and planted an orchard. In 
1817 he moved to Looking-glass Prairie in 
St. Clair county, same State, some twelve 
miles east of Belleville, bought a tract of land 
and began improving it, but in two years he 
sold out and moved across the Sangamon 
river, locating about seven miles north of 
Springfield. About two miles south of his 
farm he established, in partnership with a 
relative by marriage, what was known as 
Orendorflfs ferry. In 1822 he sold out his 
interests in that section and moved to Rock 
creek, about twenty miles northwestof Spring- 
field; but in 1825 he again sold out and lo- 
cated at Clary's grove and sixteen miles below 
the Orendorff ferry. Near his mills he sur- 
veyed and laid out the village of New Salem 
and settled there, in 1827; and while residing 
there he was formally licensed to preach by 
the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, April 
20, 1829; and there, too, Abraham Lincoln 
was for a time a member of his family, the 
future President being then, as he says in his 
autobiography, *' a sort of clerk in a store" 
in New Salem. At his store liquor was sold, 
of course, as was uniformly the cnstom in 
the country stores of that day; and when, in 
the famous campaign of 1858, Mr. Douglas 
accused Lincoln of having but a short time 
before " practiced behind the bar," Mr. Lin- 
coln retorted, " Yes, I did, while my friend 
Douglas practiced hefove the bar I " 

Again selling out his interests in farm, 
mills and village. Rev. John M. Camron 
moved in 1831 or '32 into Fulton county, 
locating on Spoon river, near Bernadotte. 
There he built a house and gristmill, besides 
making the usual improvements on his farm. 
His brothers, James and William, were also 
settled at Bernadotte; and the fourth born, 



220 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Thomas, about fifteen miles further north. 
In 1835 J. M. moved to Rives' Prairie, eight 
miles northwest of Canton, and two or three 
years later he once more " pulled up stakes " 
and moved into Jefferson county, Iowa, in 
1837, settling near Fairfield. In 1841 he 
moved to a farm in the vicinity of what is 
now Oskaloosa, of which he became one of 
the founders in 1844. About 1847 he ex- 
changed this farm for merchandise, and in 
the mercantile trade he went into partner- 
ship with his son in Oskaloosa. He soon 
bouofht another farm three miles from Oska- 
loosa, which he held about long enough to 
build a house, and built a house and store 
in Oskaloosa, where he again took up his 
residence. 

In May, 1849, with his son and both fam- 
ilies, he set out for California, arriving at 
Fremont, Sacramento county, November 6, 
whence they soon proceeded to Sacramento 
city and remained about three months. Father 
and son went to mining at Long Bar, Yuba 
county, and they gathered up several thou* 
sand dollars. In the autumn of 1850 they 
moved to Martinez, built a brick house and 
entered mercantile business, and also raised 
live stock on their farm in Danville, that 
county. In 1851 they moved to Petaluma, 
and in 1852 to Green valley, settling on a 
farm near Sebastopol. In 1852 they dissolved 
partnership. 

In 1854, Rev. Camron returned to Petalu- 
ma, where he built the iirst house that was 
finished with plaster in that town, but 
about 1856 he went back to his farm in Green 
valley, built a new house and remained sev- 
eral years. After a union of sixty-one years 
his wife died, March 25, 1872, aged seventy- 
eight years. Mr. Camron then resided at 
different places until February 3, 1878, when 
he died, at the age of eighty-six years, six 
months and nine days. He was a man of 



remarkable energy and zeal. He had ten 
daughters, as follows: Betsy, now Mrs. Bax- 
ter Berry; Nancy, the wife of S. M. Martin; 
Martha, the wife of Rev. B. N. Bonham; 
Vina, first Mrs. Proise and by second mar- 
riage Mrs. Henry Lyster; Jane, Mrs. Charles 
Purvine; Serena, wife of Rev. Baxter B. Bon- 
ham; Selena, wife of Rev. Andy McNamer; 
Eliza Arminda,Mrs. Hiram Fogg, and by third 
marriage Mrs. Hugh Mundell; Caroline, the 
wife of Judge Thomas A. Brown; Margaret, 
Mrs. Jesse Thompson. Eight of the fore- 
going are still living, the eldest, Betsy, being 
aged about seventy-eight; Nancy and Selena 
are deceased. 

The only son, Thomas Porter Camron, the 
father of the subject of this sketch, was bom 
in Henderson county, Kentucky, February 
24, 1814, and in his youth learned the mill- 
wright and similar trades, in connection with 
his father's mills, and also aided in the over- 
sight of his farms. He was married in 1837, 
to Zillah Emry, who was born in 1816, a 
daughter of David Emry. Soon after his 
marriage he moved with his father into Iowa, 
spent some years in farming and then en- 
gaged in mercantile business, in partnership 
with Jasper Smith, in Oskaloosa, and so con- 
tinued in business from 1844, the year of the 
founding of the town to 1847. Mrs. T. P. 
Camron died in 1846, leaving four sons: 
John Henry, born in 1837, and died in Mar- 
tinez, California, in 1850; David Emry, 
born September 5, 1839, now a farmer at 
Alila, Tulare county, California; has three 
daughters and one son, Russell; Alvah Oren- 
dorff, bom March 6, 1841, also a farmer at 
Alila, and has six daughters and one son; 
and W. W. Camron, our subject. 

T. P. Camron was again married in 1847, 
to Cynthia Hiler, a native of Ohio, by whom 
he had two children, now living: Oliver Por- 
ter, born in California, August 15, 1852; and 



ITS OITISa AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



221 



Mary Emily, bom also in tliis State, April 6, 
1854, both now residing in San Francisco. 
Oliver P. has one daughter, Pearl Camron. 

About 1847 Mr. T. P. Camron became as- 
sociated with his father in the store in Oska- 
loosa, and in 1849 came with him to this 
coast. After a change or two he settled on a 
farm at Danville, Contra Costa county, and 
built a house. Here he had a critical en- 
counter with some robbers who had stolen 
his horses. Being very brave he pursued 
them, but his pistol ])roving ineffectual they 
seized and bound him. Leaving him for a 
time with the purpose of returning and kill- 
ing him, as was afterward confessed by one 
of the gang, he succeeded in escaping death 
at their hands, only to meet it a few years 
later in an equally tragic form. At the 
"Three Brothers" in the entrance to San 
Pablo bay, on board the steamer Secretary, 
he was killed by the explosion of her boilers, 
April 14, 1854. Being among the first to 
notice the impending danger, he had suc- 
ceeded in inducing the women and children 
to take their places in the after part of the 
boat; and, hastening forward to labor with 
the captain and engineer to reduce the steam 
pressure, the boiler burst and he was killed, 
while the women and children through his 
forethought were all saved. 

Mr. W. W. Camron, whose name heads 
this biography, reached California in the 
seventh year of his age, where he has since 
resided, and has experienced all the hardships 
of a frontier life, his first notable experience 
here being the discomfort of the family in 
going through the great floods in Sacramento 
in 1849-50. 

Becoming a full orphan at the age of eleven 
years, he was placed in the care of his uncle 
by marriage. Judge Thomas A. Brown^ who 
did a good part by him. By industry and 
careful economy he has acquired a fair edu- 



cation. Since leaving school, he devoted his 
time to stock-raising, mining, farming and 
at present is engaged in reaUestatc business 
and fruit culture. 

Having accumulated a little money, early 
in 1869 he entered the Sheriff^s office at Mar- 
tinez, as deputy of Warren Brown, the brother 
of Judge Brown, already referred to. He 
was married in Martinez, September 5, 1871, 
to Miss Alice Frances Marsh, born March 16, 
1851, at the old homestead near Brentwood, 
a daughter of Dr. John and Abby S. (Tuck) 
Marsh. Dr. Marsh had left the United 
States in 1835, traveled through what is now 
New Mexico and other portions of Mexico 
and arrived in this section in 1836. In 1837 
he purchased Los Meganos rancho, about 
10 X 12 miles in extent, since popularly 
known as the Marsh grant. 

After his marriage Mr. Camron resided in 
Martinez for two years, where his daughter, 
Amy Gertrude was born, June 13, 1872. He 
was one of the five who organized the first 
bank in Contra Costa county, at Martinez, 
being owner of one-fifth interest in that in- 
stitution. He also erected a good residence 
there, but concluded to settle in Oakland in 
1874, where their second daughter, Grace, 
was born October 9, 1875, deceased October 
13, 1877. Here he continued the business 
of buing and selling realty, one of his firsty 
purchases being the north half of the block 
bounded on Thirteenth and Fourteenth 
streets, and Broadway and Washington street. 

Towards the close of 1875 he interested 
himself in re-organizing the Oakland Bank 
of Savings, now one of the strongest financial 
institutions in the State, and he was chosen 
vice-president of the bank, which position 
he held four years, resigning May 10, 1880, 
after his election to the Assembly, to protect 
the bank from all appearance of being inter- 
ested in politics. 



223 



THE BAY OF SAN FBANCI8C0 : 



In 1877 he entered the Camron block on 
Fourteenth street, where is now the postoffice, 
In the same jear Mr. and Mrs. Cameron 
visited Europe, with their only child, Amy 
Gertrude. Returning after an absence of 
five months Mr. Camron resumed his cus- 
tomary vocation of dealing in real estate. 

He was appointed a member of the City 
Council September 3, 1877, to till a vacancy. 
In 1880 he was elected to the Assembly by a 
majority of about a thousand, and while in 
the Legislature he was chiefly occupied in 
resisting the *' mining lobby" and prevent- 
ing the passage of obnoxious debris and water 
bills. At the next State convention of the 
Republican party, with thirteen candidates 
in his district, he was nominated by acclama- 
tion, as a tribute to " his conscientious and 
able services in behalf of the people." In 
1882 he entered the contest for State Senator, 
and was supported by 120 of the 153 dele- 
gates, but being requested to withdraw in 
the alleged interest of party harmony he re- 
tired from the field, thus losing the vantage 
ground gained in the Assembly and his well- 
earned prestige in State politics. He has 
since devoted his energies to his private af- 
fairs. In the '* citizens' " movement of 1889 
he was induced to accept the nomination for 
Councilman at large, which position he filled 
with the marked acceptance of the people. 




^OHN BRIGHAM RICHARDSON, an 
attorney of Oakland, was born in Pitts- 
ford, Monroe county. New York, Jan- 
uary 17, 1853, the youngest son of Rev. J. 
B. and Susan Amelia (Bronson) Richardson. 
The father, a minister of the Presbyterian 
Church, lived to the age of eighty-one, dying 
in Geneva, New York. The mother died 
about 1856, at the age of forty -seven, leaving 



four sons, of whom the eldest, E. B., a nur- 
seryman of Geneva, is now about fifty. 
Grandfather Nathaniel Kichardson, a native 
of Connecticut, by occupation a farmer, rep- 
resented his district in the Legislature, and 
lived to the age of ninety-five. His wife, 
Comfort (Piatt) Richardson, also a native of 
Connecticut, reached the age of eighty. An- 
other of their sons w&s a minister of the 
Episcopal Church, Nathaniel Smith Richard- 
son, D. D., born in Middlebury, Connecti- 
cut, January 8, 1810. He was a writer of 
some note and died in Biidgeport, Connecti- 
cut, August 7, 1883. Great-grandfather 
Richardson, also named Nathaniel, a native 
of Massachusetts, moved to Connecticut, 
where he followed the occupation of farming. 
Grandparents Philo and Chloe (Bronson) 
Bronson, after their marriage settled in On- 
tario county. New York, being among the 
pioneer farmers of that region, and both 
lived to an advanced age. 

J. B. Richardson, the subject of this 
sketch, was educated in the common schools 
of Geneva in his youth, and at the age of sev- 
enteen years entered Hamilton College, and 
after a four years' course was graduated at that 
institution in 1874. He then entered the law 
office of Judge Folger, afterward Secretary ot 
the Treasury under President Arthur, but then 
practicing law in Geneva, New York. Aftei 
the elevation of Judge Folger to the bench 
of the Court of Appeals, Mr. Kichardson 
continued in the office until he was admitted 
on examination to the bar of the Supreme 
Court of New Y'ork in 1876. In 1877 he 
came to Santa Barbara, California, where an 
aunt, Mrs. L. M. Bronson, resided, and there 
practiced his profession one year. In 1878 
he came to Oakland, and for the first year 
was chiefly occupied in preparing two young 
men for the university. In 1879 he entered 
the law office of Judge S. G. Nye, and was 



ITS CITIES AND TUEIH SUBURBS. 



223 



admitted to partnership by him in May, 1880, 
nnder the style of Nye & Richardson, which 
has continued to the present time, except 
that the Judge withdrew from active practice 
from October, 1888, to February, 1890. 

Mr. Richardson was married in Sacra- 
mento, to Miss Anna Bruce, born in Syra- 
cuse, New York, May 3, 1853, of Scotch 
parentage, an adopted daughter of Patrick 
Lynch, a salt miner of that city, and there- 
fore better known as Miss Anna Lynch. Mr. 
and Mrs. Richardson have two children, 
Frances N., born August 12, 1883, and 
Girard N., born April 22, 1886 

Mr. Richardson is a member of the Ala- 
meda County Bar Association; is recognized 
as a trustworthy, careful and well-informed 
lawyer, more especially, in the probate de- 
partment of jurisprudence, of which the law 
firm of Nye & Richardson have made a 
specialty. 

,MERICUS V. LANCASTER, one of 
Alameda^s progressive and enterprising 
citizens, is a native of Belfast, Maine, 
born September 5, 1885; was reared and ed- 
ucated in Penobscot county, same State; and 
when a young man he learned the cooper's 
trade. His parents were Joseph and Elsie 
(Potter) Lancaster, both natives of Maine. 
The father died in 1846, and the mother re- 
sides with our subject, now in her seventy- 
sixth year, hale and hearty. She had six 
children, of whom our subject is the eldest. 
He came to California in 1854, by way of 
Panama. The first eighteen years of his resi- 
dence in the Golden State were devoted to 
mining, and he has been more or less con- 
nected with that interest ever since. He has 
hIso been more or less engaged in mercantile 
pursuits for many years, but of late more 
actively in quartz-mining. He and a part- 




ner, W. T. Smith, of Elko, Nevada, are the 
owners of the Young America South mine, 
located in the same district, Tuscarora, where 
he built the first house erected in that flour- 
ishing camp. He also deals heavily in real 
estate in Alameda county. He has been 
prominent in many of the public aud private 
enterprises of the city of Alameda, among 
which may be mentioned the erection of the 
Masonic Hall, one of the finest of Alame- 
da's edifices, built at a cost of $60,000; it is 
now owned by a joint stock corporation, but 
will eventually pass into the possession of 
the fraternity. Mr. Lancaster is one of the 
directors, and a brother of the F. & A. M., 
Oak Grove Lodge, No. 215; also of Chapter 
70, of Alameda, and of Oakland Comman- 
dery. No. 11, K. T. 

Mr. Lancaster has been twice married, the 
first time in 1858, by which union there are 
four children, namely: Ernest M., Charles 
A., Schuyler C. and Cora E. The second 
union was consummated in the State of 
Maine, in 1871, with Miss Adeline Geary, a 
native of that State, and by this marriage 
there are three children, viz.: Chester J., 
Lillian C. and Edna May. 



< 



^^^~o» o 



> 




[HRIS JORGENSEN, one of the prom- 
ising young artists of San Francisco, is 
a native of Norway and was born in 
the city of Christiania, in 1859. 

Young Jorgensen came with his mother 
and family to the United States during his 
early childhood, arriving here in 1869, and in 
this city he was reared and attended school. 
When a small boy he displayed a taste for 
drawing, and entered the art school the first 
day it was opened, taking his first lesson 
under Virgil Williams, who was kind to him 
and took much interest in his progress. Mr. 



224 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Jorgensen says he owes everything to his 
faithful instructor, who was in many ways a 
father to him. After pursuing his studies 
several years, he taught a class iu the art 
school and for two years was assistant direc- 
tor. He devotes much time and attention to 
work in water-color portraits, marine and 
landscape scenes, and his work has attracted 
much attention in the art exhibitions and 
elicited favorable criticism. Mr. Jorgensen 
now has a large class of pupils and his studio 
is always busy and attractive. 



5-* 







DWAKD EDEN, Coroner and Public 
Administrator of San Rafael, is a 
native of Holland, horn at Rotterdam* 
June 5, 1837. Mr. Eden is the youngest in a 
family of seven children born to John and Jo- 
hanna (Doodhagen) Eden, the father a native 
of Hanover and the mother of Holland. They 
emigrated to America and located in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1849. In 1852 Mr. Edward Eden 
came to California by water, and for a time 
remained in the metropolis of the West. Jn 
1854 he located in Marin county. In 1875 
he established the undertakers' business, 
which he still conducts. In 1876 he was 
elected County Administrator and Coroner, 
and has continued in office since. Politically 
he affiliates with the Republican party and 
has been actively connected with political 
matters. He affiliates with the A. O. U. W., 
the order of Druids, Chosen Friends and 
Labor Union, all of San Rafael. Mr. Eden 
is a man of many sterling qualities and one 
who has the respect and eoniidence of the 
citizens of the community in which he 
resides. 

He is a man of family, having espoused in 
marriage Miss Mary E. Gannon, a native of 
Ireland, at San Rafael, in 1868. They have 



had ten children, five of whom are deceased. 
The living are Stephen, Mary E., William, 
Gertrude and Edward. 





ON. GEORGE W. SIMPTON, of 
Sausalito, is a native of the Lone Star 
State, born at Galveston, November 2, 
1846. His parents were George and Mary 
(Hughes) Simpton, natives of England and 
who emigrated to Texas in 1836. The family 
came to California in 1849, when our subject 
was three years of age. The father was a 
prominent member of the Society of Califor- 
nia Pioneers until his death. The family 
were of a long-lived and prolific race. The 
father died in 1887, and the mother in 1853. 

Young George, the sixth of their seven 
children, was reared and educated in Marin 
county, concluding with a course at Heald's 
Business College in San Francisco. After a 
few years of seafaring life, during which he 
was for a time on the Mexican coast as Span- 
ish interpreter, he returned to San Francisco, 
and was for many years connected with the 
street railroads. Going again to Marin 
county, in 1882, he was a special deputy 
Sheriff until 1885; then owned and kept a 
boat-house at Tiburon, in which latter he is 
still engaged at Sausalito. 

While a resident of Tiburon he was elected 
a Justice of the Peace of Sausalito township, 
and is now filling the same office at Sausalito 
for the third term, and is also Notary Public. 
Politically he is a Republican, and is quite 
active in public afliirs. Socially he has 
affiliated with the I. O. O. F., Fidelity Lodge, 
No. 222, of San Francisco, and is at present 
a member of the A. O. F., Court Star, of 
California, No. 7814, of Sausalito. 

In San Francisco, May 12, 1873, he mar- 
ried Miss Matilda Trummel, a native of San 



ITS aiTlSa AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



225 




Francisco. Her father was a pioneer of 
1850, a carpenter bj trade, and prominently 
identified with the early mining interests of 
northern California. He has one son, Frank 
G. by name. 

HODES BORDEN, attorney at law, 
Oakland, is the eldest son of Dr. Joseph 
Borden and Jnliet Elizabeth (Rhodes) 
Borden. He is a native of Alabama, and 
comes of Revolutionary stock on both sides. 
His father. Dr. Joseph Horden, was born in 
Carteret county, North Carolina, in 1806, 
and moved to Alabama in 1832. Said Joseph 
Borden was the son of Joseph Borden, Sr,, 
and Esther (Wallace) Borden; and Joseph 
Borden, Sr., was the son of William Borden, 
who represented Carteret county in the Pro- 
vincial Congress which met at Halifax in 
1776, and formed the first constitution of 
the State of North Carolina. Ben. Borden, 
a historic personage of Virginia, to whom 
the Continental Congress gave authority to 
issue bills of credit, was a kinsman of said 
William Borden. The above political fact 
was the origin of the expression, "as good 
as Ben. Borden's bill." 

Both William and Joseph, Sr., were large 
land and ship owners. They owned Bogues' 
Banks (a corruption of Borden's Banks), 
where Fort Macon now stands, on the eastern 
coast of North Carolina; and they suffered 
large losses both by British and French 
spoliation. The name Borden was originally 
" Bourdon" in Normandy, whence the family 
came; but became changed when transplanted 
to English soil. Simon Bourdon went to 
England with William the Conqueror in 
1066 and obtained lands in Kent- his coat 
of arms being a lion rampant, holding a 
mace. 

The family remained in England until the 



civil wars of the Stuarts, when three brothers 
emigrated to the American colonies, settling 
first in Rhode Island. One of the name 
(John) was a companion of Roger Williams 
in his retreat among the Indians, and was by 
them called "honest John." One branch of 
the family went South and settled in Vir- 
ginia and North Carolina; the other re- 
mained in New Jersey and that vicinity. 
Our subject's father (Joseph) graduated as a 
physician in New York State, at the State 
Medical Institute at Herkimer, and after- 
wards in the Medical College of Pennsyl- 
vania. He practiced his profession in Ala- 
bama, where the best years of his life were 
spent, and died at nearly seventy years of 
age, in Fresno county, California. His 
brothers were: William Hull, a graduate of 
West Point; Benjamin, Thomas, David and 
Isaac Pennington, planters in North Caro- 
lina, and afterwards in Alabama; and James 
Wallace, a judge on the Federal bench in 
Indiana for many years. His only sister was 
Mary Wallace, the wife of Israel Sheldon, of 
New York, a retired capitalist and million- 
aire. All the brothers lived to old age ex- 
cept Thomas, who died in middle life. 

The mother of our subject, Juliet Eliza- 
beth (Rhodes) Borden, who is still living, is 
a daughter of James Rhodes, of Wayne 
county. North Carolina, in which county she 
was bom. In 1848 she was married, in 
Sumter county, Alabama, to Dr. Joseph 
Borden, the father of our subject. Her 
father, James Rhodes, was a man of promi- 
nence and wealth, both in North Carolina 
and in Alabama, to which State he subse- 
quently removed, and where he died in 1886, 
at the age of seventy-nine. 

Her grandfather. General James Rhodes, 
was also a citizen of North Carolina; he 
represented his district (Wayne) in the State 
Senate for many years; was a General of the 



226 



THB BAT OF SAN FRAN0I8C0: 



State troops, and was ordered into the field 
when war was declared against France in 
1797, and Washington was made Oom- 
mander- in-Chief. He was the kinsman of 
W. R. King, and the friend and contempo- 
rary of Judge William Gaston. He mar- 
ried Anna Blackledge Bass (the only child of 
Dr. Andrew Bass, a prominent patriot of the 
Revolution), and died about 1810, when not 
yet forty years of age. 

The father of General James Rhodes 
served in the Revolution as a Lieutenant- 
Colonel of the State troops; was on the State 
Committee of Safety from the Wilmington 
district, and represented his county in the 
Provincial Congress which met at Halifax in 
1776, and formed the first constitution of 
North Carolina. Dr. Andrew Bass, above 
mentioned, was also a delegate to this Con- 
gress, which marked one of the most im- 
portant epochs in the history of the State. 

The children of the marriage between Dr. 
Joseph Borden and Juliet Elizabeth (Rhodes) 
Borden are four sons and one daughter, 
to wit: Rhodes Borden, our subject; Nathan 
Lane Borden, a farmer in Fresno county, 
California, having one son (Rhodes); Shel- 
don Borden, an attorney at law in Los An- 
geles, California, having two sons (Cecil 
Alexander and Harry Innes); Ivey Lewis 
Borden, superintendent of Alameda Water 
Works; and Anna Helen Borden. 

The immediate family of our subject came 
to California in 1868, settling in Fresno 
county in the Alabama settlement, near Bor- 
den. The colony consisted of about twenty 
families, and it acquired a large area of the 
richest and levelest land in the great valley 
of the San Joaquin. 

Rhodes Borden's early education was re- 
ceived at Greene Springs school, in Greene 
county, Alabama, a special school of high 
reputation. Subsequently he pursued a col- 



legiate course at the University of Ken- 
tucky, at Lexington, Kentucky, until 1869, 
when he came to California and condacted 
the farm in Fresno county until 1881. Next 
he came to San Francisco and pursued the 
study of law in the Hastings College of Law, 
and in the office of Garber, Thornton & 
Bishop, for three years; and received his 
diploma in the law department of the Uni- 
versity of California in 1884. He has since 
been engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Oakland and San Francisco. 




EORGE STURTEVANT, Postmaster 
at Alameda, is one of the rising young 
men of Alameda county. He is the 
son of George and Jane E. (Webster) Sturte- 
vaut, both of whom were natives of New 
York State. George Sturtevant, Sr., now 
deceased, was a California pioneer in 1850, 
while our subject is a ''native son," born in 
the city of San Francisco, January 20, 1866. 
Although a young man he is already identi- 
fied to a remarkable extent with the progress 
and enterprise of Alameda. Having been 
thrown upon his own resources early in life 
by the demise of his father, his intended 
collegiate course was abandoned, thus prob- 
ably changing the entire course of his life. 
When about twenty years of age he accepted 
a clerkship in the Alameda postoffice, in 
which position he remained until April 11, 
1889. when he was appointed Postmaster. 
His method of handling the business of the 
office, we are told, is highly satisfactory to 
the public of that city. 

Politically, he is a stanch Republican; and 
socially he affiliates with the I. O. O. F., 
Encinal Lodge, No. 164: of Halcyon Parlor, 
No. 146, N. S. G. W.; also of Oak Grove 
Lodge, No. 215, F. & A. M. He takes an 



ITS CITIES ANT) THBIR SUBURBS. 



227 



active ieteredt in school matters, and readily 
encourages all enterprises, both public and 
private, which tend to advance the welfare of 
the city and county. 



^, 



-?.[ST > ^ 



^^ 




jOBERT OLIVER BALDWIN, M. D., 
of Oakland, was born in San Ramon 
valley. Contra Costa county, California? 
April 20, 1864, a son of Robert O. and 
Mary (Cox) Baldwin, both now living. The 
father, born in Ohio, March 30, 1828, and 
there brought up on his father's farm until 
he left for California, March 18, 1850, with 
one brother, since deceased, and six other com- 
panions, came by way of Salt Lake and the 
sink of the Humboldt, arriving at Hangtown 
July 28. After some experience in mining 
and prospecting in that region he abandoned 
that pursuit and engaged in farming in the 
fall of 1852, in Contra Costa county, at 
what has ever since been his home, near 
Danville. With a partner he first bought 
320 acres, which they divided in 1855, and his 
160 acres has since increased to 1,000 acres, 
devoted mainly to general farming and stock- 
raising, with some attention to fruit-growing 
in later years. He has been a School Trus- 
tee for many years, and Master of the local 
grange, and is also a Deacon and active mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church. He was 
married in San Ramon Valley, March 25, 
1858, to Mary Cox, born in Indiana, January 
9, 1838, a daughter of Mr. Elmer H. Cox; 
her father died in 1882, aged seventy-four, 
hut her mother is still living, now aged 
seventy-eight. Of their five daughters and 
two sons, three daughters and one son are liv- 
ing. The Doctor's grandparents, Baldwin, 
were also long lived, the grandmother reach- 
ing the age of eighty-five; and of their five 



sons and four daughters two sons and three 
daughters are living. 

Dr. Baldwin has two sisters and three 
brothers: Mary M., born May 1, 1859, and 
now the wife of Dr. W. E. Hook, of Oak- 
land; Elmer H., born September 6, 1861, 
now a farmer in Stanislaus county; Jennie 
C, born April 30, 1866, now Mrs. Geo. L. 
Everett, of Oakland ; Perry A., born August 
14, 1869, a farmer and part owner with 
Elmer H. and Dr. R. O. Baldwin in the 
ranch in Stanislaus county; John S., born 
December 20, 1873. 

R. O. Baldwin, our present subject, was 
educated in the public school at Danville to 
the age of seventeen, helping some on the 
farm between terms, and for about one year 
after quitting school. At eighteen he entered 
the medical department of the University of 
California, and at the end of three years re- 
ceived the degree of M. D., in 1885. He 
was then appointed by the Board of Health 
of San Francisco, on the recommendation of 
the faculty, as houte surgeon of the City 
and County Hospital, receiving the usual cer- 
tificate at the close of his connection with 
that institution in 1886. In February, 1887, 
he commenced the general practice of his 
profession in the city of Oakland. He is a 
member of the State and County Medical 
societies, of Oakland Parlor, No. 50, N. S. 
G. W., and of P. O. S. of A. 



^Me-^^ 

B. M. MILLER, a San Francisco at- 
torney, was born in Norwichville, 
^ Canada, January 31, 1860, a son of 
Dr. Joseph A. Miller, a native of Canada. 
His mother's name before marriage was Ella 
J. McClellan, and her father. Rev. William 
McClellan, a native of Canada, was a cousin 




228 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANC I SCO: 



of the ^reat military general, George B. 
McClellan. 

At the age of fourteen years the subject of 
this sketch came to San Leandro, California, 
with his parents, where he attended school 
for about a year, when he left his home and 
started in life for himself at San Francisco by 
becoming a messenger boy, meanwhile devot- 
ing all his leisure hours to study. At the 
age of eighteen he passed the teachers' exam- 
ination and engaged in teaching for several 
years; studied short-hand and entered the 
employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad 
Ct)mpany, where he remained about five years; 
and during this time he read law, studying 
nights, and was admitted to the bar in 1887. 
Since then he has devoted his attention ex- 
clusively to his chosen profession. Having a 
large acquaintance, his prospect for building 
up an extensive practice is good. 



^%r^^^. 



'OSEPIl H. SOPER, M. D., whose office 
is in the Phelan building, Market street, 
San Francisco, was born in Gerard, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1844, the son of Alonzo and 
Sarah (Dyke) Soper, both natives of Connect- 
icut, whose ancestors came to the United 
States a short time prior to the Revolutionary 
war, in which his grandfathers on both the 
father's and mother's sides served. On his 
mother's side his grandfather served in the 
war of 1812. His father was a farmer, and 
later owned a blast furnace in Pennsylvania 
for many years before his death. He died 
when the Doctor was but four years of age; 
the mother still lives in Ohio. 

Our subject received his early education in 
Erie, Pennsylvania, and at the age of sixteen 
years, in 1861, he enlisted in the First Regi- 
ment of Western Engineers, a command 
raised in St. Louis, and served under Fre- 




mont in the campaign against Price in 
southwestern Missouri. In 1862 the regi- 
ment was under the command of General 
Pope, and engaged in cutting the canal 
around Island No. 10, which resulted in its 
capture. Their first fight was at New Madrid, 
just before the surrender of Island No. 10. 
Later they were under General Halleck in 
the campaign at Corinth, Mississippi. Dr. 
Soper was in the second fight also at Corinth, 
then under Grant in the early stage of the 
Vicksburg campraign, when part of his com- 
pany was captured at Holly Springe, Missis- 
sippi. While out on a foraging expedition 
from Moscow, Tennessee, the Doctor being 
the Acting Commissary Sergeant, with one 
other of the command was captured and later 
paroled, and returned to St. Louis until ex- 
changed. He then rejoined his regiment and 
was under Sherman in the campaign from 
Lookout Mountain to Atlanta, and then on 
the march to the sea. After the close of the 
war he took part in the grand parade at 
Washington, and was finally mustered out at 
St. Louis, Kentucky, and with his regiment 
wa8 veteranized in 1864. 

Ur. Soper then entered the Central Ohio 
Seminary at South Toledo, Ohio, where he 
remained three years. He commenced the 
study of medicine in 1861, at the medical 
department of the University of Michigan, 
at Ann Arbor, and later graduated in Chicago 
in 1869 He then entered into practice in 
Chicago, remaining four years; then removed 
to Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, where he prac- 
ticed nine years; next he returned to Chicago, 
and took a post-graduate course at the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons, graduating 
in 1883; then returned to Sturgeon Bay, re- 
maining until 1886, and then came to Cali- 
fornia, where he has since been actively en- 
gaged in practice in San Francisco. He is 
a member of the State Medical Society of 



ITS 0ITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



229 



California and of the County Medical Society 
of San Francisco. 



>■> »i 



g > 3Mt > gl >-* 




EORGE E. De GOLIA, attorney at law, 
957 Broadway, Oakland, was born at 
Placerville, El Dorado county, Cali- 
fornia, in 1857. His father was a "forty- 
niner" from Lake Champlain, New York, a 
descendant of a family tracing their ancestry 
back to the twelfth century, and to Piedmont, 
Italy. His mother, a descendant of the Bald- 
wins, dating their ancestry back to the early 
English settlers of this country, came " across 
the plains" to California in 1855, from Ohio. 
At the age of fourteen years Mr. De Golia 
was appointed a page in the California Leg- 
islature, and saved from the earnings of that 
position enough to enable him to attend col- 
lege. At sixteen he entered California Uni- 
verity and graduated in 1877, No. 5 in a 
class of twenty-six, and No. 1 in a specialty, 
that of civil engineering. For the next year 
he was engaged in journalism, becoming city 
editor of the Oakland Daily Transcript, 
While thus engaged he made the acquaint- 
ance of Hon. Henry Vrooraan, who took the 
office of District Attorney in March, 1878, 
and Mr. De Golia was his office man from 
the start, and more or less identified with his 
work until the death of the latter, in April, 
1889. He was admitted to practice law in 
1879. At the legislative session of 1880-'81 
he was Secretary of the Senate Judiciary 
Committee. He maintained a law office in 
Oakland until January, 1883, when he was 
appointed Deputy District Attorney, which 
position he held six years. In 1889 he 
stepped into Mr. Vrooman's law practice, 
sncceeding to a large library, and ever since 
then he has been engaged exclusively in his 
pnifession, and with marked success. He 



has been prominent in politics, being one of 
the leaders of the " stalwart " element of the 
Republican party in the county. He holds a 
captain's commission in the University Bat- 
talion, a branch of the United States service. 
Is a charter member of the Athenian Club, 
also a Knight Templar, a member of the 
Mystic Shrine, Scottish- Rite Masonry, orders 
of Odd Fellows, N. S. G. W. and of the 
Oakland Lodge of Elks, which he organized 
and of which he is the Exalted Ruler. At 
college and since his connection with it he 
has been an " all-round " athlete, engaging 
in base ball, rowing, running, swimming, etc., 
being a member of the respective clubs. He 
is a gentleman of strict integrity and of 
good standing in the community as well as at 
the bar, and is a popiriar man every way. 

He was married, in 1883, to Miss Rabe, 
whose father. Dr. L. Rabe, was a cousin of 
the famous musical composer, Felix Mendels- 
sohn Bartholdy. Mr. and Mrs. De Golia 
have two children and occupy a nice home in 
the fifth ward, an aristocratic quarter of 
the city. 

;SCAR O. BURGESS, M. D., whose of- 
fice is at No. 329 Geary street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of Cali- 
fornia since 1867, and engaged in the practice 
of medicine since 1857. He was bom in 
Evans, Erie county, New York, in 1831, and 
is of English descent, he being of the eighth 
generation from the original members of the 
family who settled in New England in 1624. 
His father, Otis Burgess, was a native of 
Saratov county. New York, and during the 
last thirty years of his life was a lumber 
dealer of Ashtabula county, Ohio. 

Oscar O. received his earlv education in 
the public schools of his native State, and 
later pursued his studies privately while en- 




230 



THB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



gaged in self support. He commenced the 
study of medicine in 1854, entering the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons of New 
York, whore he graduated in 1857. He at 
onc3 commenced the practice of his profes- 
sion in New York city, where he remained 
ten years, or until he came to California in 
1867. In that year he commenced practice 
in San Francisco, where he has since been 
continuously engaged. Dr. Burgess has been 
connected in various capacities with the 
California Women's Hospital, which was es- 
tablished in 1873, and is now a member of 
Consulting Staff of that hospital, the Chil- 
dren's Hospital, and St. Luke's Hospital. He 
is also a member of the California State 
Medical Society, of the San Francisco County 
Medical Society, and oC the Obstetrical So- 
ciety. He is now (1891), President of the 
State Medical Society, and has been Presi- 
dent of the two others. 

Dr. Burgess is eminently a self-made man, 
having been thrown upon his own resources 
at the age of sixteen years. He pursued his 
studies in New York by money earned in 
various directions, and also acquired the 
French language. He had always kept the 
medical profession in view, and when he had 
accumulated sufficient means to complete his 
studies he embarked in that profession, in 
which he has built up a iine reputation. He 
has been especially successful in the removal 
of ovarian tumors, and for several years past 
has made almost a specialty of the treatment 
of the diseases of women. Dr. Burgess has 
twice made extensive trips to Europe, both 
for pleasure and in the interest of the medical 
profession. In his first visit he made a special 
study of ^intiseptic surgery, which was then 
being introduced, and which has since added 
so much to the safety of the more serious 
surgical operations. On his return he per- 
formed the first antiseptic ovariotomy ever 



done on the Pacific coast. In his last visit, 
which occupied sixteenth months, he visited 
the hospitals and clinics of London, Paris, 
Vienna, Berlin, etc., paying special attention 
in Paris to Dr. Apostoli's method of treating 
fibroid tumors of the womb by electricity. 

- ^ * ?"i ' S" " ■ — 




DGE STEPHEN G. NYE, of Oakland, 
was born in Chautauqua county, New 
York, January 10, 1834, a son of John 
and Harriet (Smith) Nye. The mother, a 
native of Dutchess county. New York, and 
with her parents among the early settlers of 
Chautauqua county, lived to the age of fifty- 
nine, dying in 1870. Her mother, Anna 
(Ellis) Smith, died in Fredonia, New York, 
aged eighty-seven. John Nye, born in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, in 1804, settled about 
1830 on the Holland Land Company's pur- 
chase in Western New York, then an almost 
unbroken wilderness, and there married. He 
came to be much respected in the community, 
and despite the trials and privations incident 
to pioneer life lived to the age of nearly 
seventy-two, dying in San Leandro, Califor- 
nia, in 1875. The children of John and 
Harriet Nye were two sons, the subject of 
this sketch and his brother George, who en- 
liiited in the Ninth New York Cavalry and 
died of pneumonia in camp in Virginia, in 
1862. Uncle Frank Nye, born in 1802, a 
farmer in Barre, Massachusetts, is still living. 
Samuel D., bom in 1835, a eon of Uncle 
Lyman Nye, deceased, was for many years 
manager of the Worcester Steel Works, and 
is Sherifi^of Worcester county, Massachusetts. 
He is the father of three sons. Benjamin 
Nye, the ancestor of this family, if not all the 
American Nyes, is on record as a resident of 
Sandwich, Massachusetts, in 1639. The 
great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



281 



Major Benjamin Nye, with six brothers, took 
part in the battle of Bunker Hill. His wife 
reached the age of ninety-six. Grandfather 
Nye, also named Benjamin, was a farmer in 
Worcester county, Massachusetts. 

Stephen G. Nye, the subject of this sketch, 
made good use of such opportunity for edu- 
cation as the district schools afforded and 
became a teacher in his seventeenth year. 
With his earnings he prepared for college, 
principally at Alfred Seminary, Allegany 
county, New York, and afterward entered 
Alleghany College at Meadville, Pennsylva- 
nia, at which he was graduated in 1858. For 
the ensuing year and a half he was principal 
of the Westfield A^cademy and then entered 
the law office of Hon. Thomas P. Grosvenor, 
in Dunkirk, New York, where he studied 
law until November, 1861, when he cam^ to 
California. Here again he taught school for 
three months in Centerville, this county, and 
in the spring of 1862 became a law clerk in 
San Francisco. He was admitted to the bar 
of the Supreme Court in April, 1862, and in 
1863 settled in this county. Here he was 
elected District Attorney in the fall of 1863, 
and served one term of two years. He then 
practiced two years, and in April, 1867, was 
appointed County Judge of this county by 
Governor liOw, and held the office by election 
and re-election until 1878. He resigned be- 
fore the close of his last term, his resignation 
taking effect September 1, 1878, and resumed 
practice. In 1879 he was elected State 
Senator, serving three years, while the Legis- 
lature was in session, and practiced law during 
its intermissions and afterward without inter- 
mission until October, 1888. Meanwhile, in 
May, 1880, he formed a partnership with J. 
B. Richardson, under the style of Nye & 
Richardson. In October, 1888, he retired 
from active practice to his ranch, remaining 
until February, 1890, when he resumed prac- 



tice and partnership with Mr. Richardson. 
Besides their general practice in all the courts, 
Judge Nye's long tenure of the office of 
County Judge has given him a marked pres- 
tige in the conduct of probate cases, which 
constitute a valuable specialty. 

Stephen G. Nye was married in San Fran- 
cisco in January, 1863, to Miss Emma M. 
Hall, born in Westfield, New York, a daughter 
of Deacon Asa Pauline (Mack) Hall, who were 
early settlers of Chautauqua county. New 
York. The mother reached the age ot fifty- 
nine and the father seventy-five. Mr. Nye 
purchased a block of land in San Leandro in 
1865, and erected a residence which he oqcu- 
pied with his family for twenty-four years. 
His present residence is at Oakland. Mr. 
and Mrs. Nye have two children. Myrtle and 
Harriet. Mr. Nye has made four trips to 
the East, being accompanied by his family on 
the last one, in 1885. 




EOPOLD NEUMANN, D.D.S., whoso 
office is at No. 24 Montgomery street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1876, and engaged in the 
practice of dentistry since 1878. He was 
born in New Breslau, Germany, in 1857, the 
son of William Neumann, who was for many 
years engaged in business pursuits in that 
city, where the family have lived for many 
generations. Our subject received his early 
education in the gymnasium of Thorn, where 
he also commenced the study of dentistry 
under the preceptorship of Dr. Malakoff, of 
Bromberg, Germany, with whom he remained 
four years. He then came to the United 
States, settling at once in San Francisco, 
where he studied with Dr. Bush, of that city. 
In 1877 he went East, entering the Pennsyl- 
vania College of Dental Surgery, where he 



232 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANC I 800: 



graduated in 1878. Returning to San Fran- 
cisco tl:e Doctor engaged in the practice of 
bis profession, which he has since continued. 
From 1878 to 1887 he was in partnership 
with Dr. Bnsh. Dr. Neumann is a member 
of the State Dental Association of California; 
also of the San Francisco Dental Association 
and American Dental Association. 



^ 



-e.6T^*- 



^ 




ALTER BLAIR, deceased.— Certain 
types of our American civilization 
as developed in California have been 
selected for the pages of this volume, the 
study of which should quicken the patriotism 
of a people proud not only of the country's 
marvelous developments but also of the 
phenomenally large proportion of citizens 
the record of whose lives are worthy to be 
entered among the permanent archives of our 
national history, — none perhaps more worthy 
of recognition than the deceased gentleman 
whose name heads this biographical notice, 
Walter Blair was one of Oakland's pro- 
gressive and representative citizens. He was 
born at Ryegate, Vermont, A.pril 2, 1830, of 
Scotch parents, one of a family of twelve 
children, nine of whom are living He grew 
up inured to the activities of a life upon a 
New England farm, and in 1852 came by 
water, rounding Cape Horn, to the new El 
Dorado of the West. During his tirst year 
in California he engaged in various pursuits 
in San Francisco, and in 1853 came to Oak- 
land and purchased the land adjacent to this 
city, including the site of Piedmont and the 
property known as Blair's ranch. He 
engaged in farming for a number of years 
and also conducted a dairy. He was success- 
ful in all his business ventures, while prop- 
erty advanced in value. He always had great 
faith in Oakland's future prosperity, and as 



property advanced in value he sold a portion 
of his land and purchased inside property. 
At length he left the Piedmont homestead 
and moved into Oakland, where he built a 
residence and occupied it many years. He 
also built a large three-story hotel in 1876, 
at the corner of Fourteenth and Clay streets, 
known as the " Centennial," which is still a 
portion of his estate and was his home at the 
time of his death. He was a man of genial 
and generous disposition, a fond father and 
devoted husband. In his intercourse with 
men he was a gentleman of the strictest in- 
tegrity and honor; he was public spirited and 
had been identified with the development of 
the city of Oakland from its earliest history. 
He invested his means in enterprises of a 
public character. He was extensively inter- 
ested in the building of street railroads, hav- 
ing been one of the builders and owners of 
the Broadway and Piedmont railroad, the 
Fourteenth street system, with the Market 
and Adeline street branches, and the Pied- 
mont branch, w ich was his own individual 
enterprise. He also owned considerable real 
estate about the city, and at one time was a 
director of the Oakland Bank of Savings. 
Some years ago he purchased a portion of the 
Tompkins property, near the Laundry farm, 
which he still owned by his estate. 

He was a man of intense activity, and 
gave his personal supervision to his various 
interests; and, possessing natural mechanical 
ingenuity, he invented numerous appliances 
in the ruiming-gear of street cars, and de- 
voted much time to their improvement. He 
kept abreast of the times and always took a 
lively interest in public affairs. 

Politically he was a stanch Republican and 
for many years a member of the City Central 
Committee and a liberal contributor to* the 
campaign fund. He was at one time nomin- 
ated as an independent candidate for the As- 



ITS CIT1B8 AND TUBIR SUBURBS. 



sad 



serably, and waa frequently mentioned for 
the office of Mayor, but of late years had de- 
clined to enter public life. 

To the appeal of charity he never turned 
a deaf ear, and many were his unostentatious 
deeds of benevolence. He was ever ready to 
assist his fellow man, and there are many who 
gratefully remember his generous assistance. 

There are two sisters of the deceased re- 
siding in Oakland, namely: Mrs. J. Young, 
Mri». O. 1. Denison. William Blair, a brother, 
Las recently deceased. Matthew Blair is a 
resident of San Francisco; also his brothers, 
James and George, reside in Solano county. 
Other members of his family reside in the 
East. 

In 1862, at Napa City, Mr. Blair was 
united in marriage with Miss Phebe Harvey, 
who also was a native of. Vermont, and they 
bad two daughters, — Ethel and Mabel E. 

After an active and useful life of fifty- 
seven years, although his death was sudden 
and unexpected, Mr. Blair passed to the 
higlier life January 17, 1887, leaving a wife 
and two grown daughters to mourn his loss. 



-•'^^' T~^" 




kERALTA HALL, of which we present a 

view on the preceding page, is entirely 

new. It contains over sixty large 
sleeping apartments, all equipped with the 

most elegant furniture, also new. It has 
steam elevator, gas lights,* hot and cold 
water in each room, over twenty bathing- 
rooms, stable accommodations for twenty 
horses, calistheneum, and double lawn-tennis 
court. It is believed that no other school 
building in America is so attractive, so finely 
furnished, so favorably located, or so thor- 

* It i^ fitted up for electric lights, which will be in 
troduced io 1^92, as per contract. 

«8 



oughly equipped for the instruction of young 
ladies. 

\Jb'ro7n the First Announcement^ ^<3ty, 189 1,\ 
While visiting the Pacific Coast in the 
summer of 1890, in fulfillment of literary 
engagements, Colonel Sprague, then Presi- 
dent of the State Universiry of North Dakota, 
was repeatedly urged by citizens of the high- 
est standing to open a seminary for young 
ladies in or near San Francisco. Among 
these solicitations was the following: 

San Francisco, August, 1890. 
Hon. Homer B. Sprague, 

President of the Unioersity of North Dakota : 
Deak Sir : 

The undersigned, believing that in addition to the 
educational institutions of which California is proud, 
there is still need of another to prepare young ladies 
thoroughly for the best colleges and universities, as 
well as for high position and extended usefulness, and 
being aware of your long experience and disiin- 
guishe 1 success as an educator, earnestly invite you 
to consider the feasibility of establishing on the west 
side of the bay, in some locality easily accessible to 
San Francisco, such a seminary, to be under your per- 
sonal direction and supervision, and to be made second 
to none of the kind in America. 

If this suggestion shall meet with favor on your 
part, we shall be pleased to extend to you such in- 
fluence and cooperation as we consistently may to se- 
cure the success of the enterprise. 
Wm. Ingraham Kip, Horatio Stbbbins, Pastor 

Bishop of California. First Unitarian Church. 

Wm. F. Nichols, Robert Mackbnzib, 

Assistant Bishop Pastor First Presbyterian 

of California. Church. 

Geo. W. Gibbs. W. W. Montagus. 

Mark Sheldon. K. Bbvbrlt Colb. 

H. H. Bancroft. L. L. Baker. 

Ira p. Rankin. I. Lawrence Pool. 

John Swett. Frank J. Sthhbs. 

Thomas Magbb. W. F. Whittibr. 

Jambs K. Wilson. J. F. Merrill. 

William L Merrt. B. F. Dunham. 

W. T. Reid. 

Considerations of climate and of health 
predisposed Dr. Sprague to consider favorably 
this invitation. Accordingly, careful and 
protracted examination was made of different 



1 1 



, I , 



l.\.« I 'I 



. J 






• A'US Jl I;. 
■ .ict . 









>. 11 A I i 

I 111- JUv • 



■ V" 






■ I- 



4 ■• ^M ifc It 



■ :.- I ,•■■:. 1.1' < ;. 

■»■:■ v'r : ^'n*sl)yi<'ri,«i;' 

W \V. ^|.^^■rA^l k. 
It lir-:^ M.f V < ,.|.K. 

I !. A H >•.■■« i',i,>r 

J'jiA.V '■ .'. .-S^ MIL-. 

■^ . ! .'* ;:'r Uip 
.^ I" M .tJ'.U:.' . 



W. r. Ik..;. 

* , ir-i(i.M':ir;t>is :■* .-'iiir:' :;■ ■; ot ' 
■; r^ji.wtMl Mr. S|.n*/'i<- Ti- ,■ : .- . '• ♦" 



■ .* 



■ ■■•..• 1 ■ 



284 



TUB BAY OF SAN FRANOISOO: 



localities with a view to the selection of the 
most eligible. After long search and delib- 
eration, nothing was found between the ocean 
and the bay at all conjparable to the property 
which at last was fortunately secured at North 
Berkeley within two miles of the State Uni- 
versity. It is a part of the old Peralta ran- 
cho. The grounds were laid ont as a park 
many years ao^o by Mr. Ralston, then presi- 
dent of the Bank of California. They are 
admirably adapted to the purpose, and in 
some respects are hardly equaled in America. 
Among the attractions of the new institu- 
tion may be mentioned the following: 

1. The Location. — This possesses all those 
advantages which induced Dr. Horace Bush- 
nell and other eminent gentlemen, after 
months of examination, to select Berkeley as 
the best site in California for the State Uni- 
versity. 

The climate is unsurpassed. The temper- 
ature is uniform, and considerably warmer 
than in San Francisco. Fogs and high winds 
are infrequent. The air and water are ex- 
ceptionally pure. The drainage is perfect. 

The grounds are nearly three hundred feet 
above the sea level. The prospect on every 
side is enchanting. From the windows, por- 
tions of seven counties are visible: the slopes 
and peaks of the Contra Costa range are in 
the back-ground; San Pablo, the Berkeleys 
and Oakland on the right and left; San Fran- 
cisco, the Golden Gate, Mount Tamalpais, 
Alcatraz, Angel Island, etc., in full view in 
front across the magnificent stretch of water. 

The proximity of the university not only 
insures an atmosphere of culture and refine- 
ment, but also affords special advantages in 
literature, art, science history and philosophy. 

2. The Buildings. — These were begun 
within the last three years. The main build- 
ing, a splendid structure, 200 feet long, four 
stories in heip;lit, and crowned with lofty 



spires, is exceedingly well fitted for a ladies' 
college. 

Every student has her separate apartment, 
if she so desires. A tine steam elevator runs 
at all hours to the top floors. The rooms are 
abundantly supplied with all the modem im- 
provements; gas, steam heat, hot and cold 
water, bath-rooms, electric bells, electric 
alarms, electric annunciators, wardrobes, 
costly carpets, and elegant furniture, includ- 
ing all articles of bedding^-the whole being 
entirely new. Electric lights will be added 
in 1892. Outside are a well-equipped bow- 
ling alley, calistheneum and double tennis 
court; also, a stable sufficient to accommodate 
a large number of horses for such pupils as 
wish to take lessons and exercises in eques- 
trianism. 

3. The Grounds. — These are at once ac- 
cessible and secluded. In addition to the 
enclosed plat on which the villa stands, com- 
prising six or seven acres of lawns, parterres, 
walks and drives, beautifully combining sun- 
shine and shade, the pupils have free use of 
the noble park of forty acres contiguous to 
the premises. 

4. The Educational Facilities. — It is 
intended to make thcrte equal to any of like 
degree in the United States or in Europe. 
No pains nor expense will be spared to secure 
the most eminent talent and the most thor- 
ough equipment. 

Particular attention is given to that learn- 
ing and discipline which, while insuring 
physical, intellectual and moral excellence, 
best qualify the possessor for social position 
and wide practical usefulness. 

The curriculum also includes the studies 
commonly taught in grammar and high 
schools and academies, and in some of the 
classes of the foremost colleges. 

There are two sessions yearly. The lirst 
commenced on Tuesday, August 4. 1891; the 



ITS CITIES AND THISIR SUBURBS, 



235 



eeeond, Tuesday, January 5, 1892. Each 
lasts twenty weeks. 

[^From the Second Announcement^ June^ 
1S9L] 

In addition to the information con- 
tained id the " First Announcement," atten- 
tion is I espectf uUy called to the following 
points in the new seminary: 

Quality. — Peralta Hall will be select. A 
very large attendance of pupils is neither ex- 
pected nor desired. A careful study will be 
made of each one^s individual needs with a 
view to the best training. The school is in- 
tended to be a home for earnest study, and 
not an arena for fierce competition. 

Health. — Good health is reg^ided as of 
more importance than high scholarship. The 
sanitary conditions of the institution are be- 
lieved to be all that could be desired. The 
utmost vigilance will be exercised to prevent 
illness by removing possible causes, by avoid- 
ance of excitement and overwork, and by 
explaining and enforcing the laws of hygiene. 

Scope of Studies. — In studies above the 
grade of the younger pupils, the immediate 
object is two-fold: (1) Special preparation 
for admission to the best colleges and univer- 
sities; (2) General preparation for important 
and influential positions in active life. Below 
these is the 

F&iMARY. — It is assumed that in the not 
distant future all candidates for admission 
will be at least of academic grade; i. e., fa- 
miliar with common arithmetic, geography, 
grammar, United States history, reading, 
orthography, penmanship, the simplest geo- 
metrical forms, and the rudiments of draw- 
ing, of natural history, etc. During the first 
year or two, however, young pupils needing 
to pursue further these elementary studies 
are given an opportunity to do so under 
careful supervision and instruction. 

HiGHEB Studies. — Here the two courses 



already mentioned may appropriately be des- 
ignated as the fitting and the finishing. In the 
former, by methods tested during the last few 
yeairs under the eye of the president by the 
accomplished instructor secured for element- 
ary Llitin and Greek, the time usually occu- 
pied in acquiring the requisite knowledge of 
these two branches is much abbreviated; four 
years' work can without urging be accom- 
plished in three; three years' in two. In the 
latter course, the programme is more elastic, 
to meet the varying needs of pupils. 

The appropriate studies of each coure may 
be continued and supplemented for several 
years in the collegiate department. 

The Latin of the first year of the fitting 
course may very profitably be taken by stu- 
dents of both courses, unless special reasons 
exist to the contrarv. The same is true of 
the English and some other studies during 
several years. The etndy of the English lan- 
guage and literature is believed to be of 
prime importance. It may be carried fur- 
ther than in other institutions of the kind, or 
even in any of the colleges. The leading 
aims are, first, to make eve^y student correct j 
fiuent^ and graceful in both spoken and 
written speech; and secondly, to cause her to 
appreciate and enjoy the finest productions 
of the best authors. 

The hicrher Enoclish classes in both the 
academic and collegiate departments will 
t)e under the personal instruction of President 
Sprague, who will use as text- books among 
others his own annotated editions of Hamlet^ 
Macbeth^ Merchant of Venice^ Julius Ca^ar^ 
ComuSy Lycidas^ Paradise Lpst^ and of se^ 
lections from Chaucer, Spencer, Bacon, Ir- 
ving, etc. 

In the collegiate department, also, some 
of the masterpieces of Greek, Roman and 
Hebrew literature are carefully studied under 



230 



THE BAT OF BAN FRAK0I8C0: 



the instruction of the president, using freely 
translations as well as originals. 

Tt is not expected that girls will become 
orators; but the principles of elocution and 
oratory are elucidated by the president, ac- 
cording to the system originated by him while 
a professor at Cornell University, and which 
is perhaps more simple and effective than 
any other. 

French and German may be read more ex- 
tensively, and, it is hoped, will be spoken 
more fluently and correctly than in most 
colleges. 

Mathematics and natural and physical sci- 
ence may receive more extended treatment 
than is usual in preparing for freshman 
classes. 

Special attention is given to the fine arts. 
Music, drawing, painting, the history of art, 
etc., are taught by distinguished profeseors or 
experienced artists. 

For good cause deviations from the regular 
courses are freely accepted. The curriculum 
is for the student, not the student for the 
curriculum. 

Physical Exercises. — Under wise super- 
vision and with proper precautions, physical 
exercises will meet with warm encouragement, 
and proficiency in them will receive due 
recognition. Liberal provision will be made 
and ample time allowed for calisthenics, 
bowling, tennis, archery, dancing, military 
drill, equestrianism, etc. 

Manners. — Careful instruction will be 
given and exemplified in regard to the cour- 
tesies and usages of the best society. Awk- 
ardness and carelessness are corrected pri- 
vately, and in such a way as not to wound 
the feelings. 

Morals. — The motto of Feralta Hall, Per 
alta ad altiaaima^ indicates both means and 
end, high endeavors towards high results. 

In the deoade upon which we have just 



entered, a right and vivid conception of what 
a woman's life in the first half of the twen- 
tieth century ought to be, an ardent desire 
and a fixed purpose to reach and realize that 
ideal, and luminous principles to guide every 
step in the progress thitherward, — these, re- 
spectively, should suggest to ev^ry school 
girl the goal, the motive, and the pathway; 
and to every teacher the chief concern, 
rarely avowed perhaps but never quite for- 
gotten, should be at first to awaken and ever 
afterwards to intensify in the pupil a love of 
truth, of beauty, and of goodness; for, from 
such love, the highest type of human excel- 
lence must spring. 

While, therefore, unremitting efforts are 
made to surround pupils with the sunshine, 
the good humor, the light-heartedness, the 
elegance, and the sympathy of a refined 
home, it is hoped that the atmoophere of Pe- 
ralta Hall will always be pervaded with lofty 
sentiment arising from profound convictions, 
and inspiring each student to cherish truth, 
to obey implicitly the voice of duty, to live a 
life devoid of selfishness, to regard personal 
honor and purity as unspeakably precious; in 
fine, to create vividly and pursue unweariedly 
the idea of perfect womanhood. 

Such an institution must, of course, bo 
religious, but it need not parade its piety, 
nor rudely invade the sacred privacies of the 
individual soul. In the brief daily worship 
there is nothing to offend in the slightest de- 
gree the sensibilities of any one who believes 
in the fatherhood of God, the brotherhood of 
Man, and the essential grace of Jesus the 
Christ. 

FACULTY OF INSTBUCTIOlf. 

Homer B. Sprague, A. B., A. M. (Yale Univ.); Pb. D. 

(Univ. of New York); President. Rhetoric and 

English Literature. 
L. H. Grau, A. B. (Univ. of Halle-Wiltenberg ); Ph.D. 

(Univ. of Munich) Modern Languages. 
Jennie Allen, A. B. (Univ. of Wisconsin). Latin and 

Greek. 



IT8 OITIES AND THEIR aUBURBS. 



237 



George J. Brewer (Eton College, Eogland); Fellow of 
the Quild of Organists, London; Licentiate of Mu- 
sic (London College of Masic) ; Choirmaster and Or. 
ganist of St. Luke*s Church, San Francisco. Piano. 
Organ, Vocal Music and Harmony. 

A.1ice Mills (Welleslev College; Vermont Normal 
School; Mass. Normal A.rt School; and Acad^mie 
TuIUq, Paris). Drawing and Painting. 

Fannie M. Allen, A. B. (Univ. of North Dakota). 
Mathematics and Physical Science. 

, Mandolin, Guitar, etc. 

Ahbie L. Cadle (Boston Univ. School of Expression). 
Del Sarte, Vocal Culture, Elocution. 

May Duncan, and Mrs. Dora Gray Duncan (Pianist) 
Dancing. 

, Equestrianism. 

The president of Peralta Hall refers by 
express permission to the following: 

Hon. Wm. M. Evarts, New York. 

Rt Rev. J. Williams, D.D., LL.D., Bishop of Conn. 

Rev. Richard S. Storrs, D.D., Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Prof. Gold win Smith, LL.D., Toronto, Canada. 

John G. Whittier, Oak Knoll, Danvers, Mass. 

Chauncey M. Depew, New York. 

Rev. Dr. Phillips Brooks, Boston, Mass. 

YL^v. Dr. Edward Everett Hale, Boston, Mass. 

Gen. Wade Hampton, U. S. Senator, South Carolina. 

[James Russell Lowell * Cambridge, Mass.] 

Rev. Dr. J. H. Vincent, Founder ** Chautauqua," N. Y. 

Oliver Wendell Holmes, Boston, MasK. 

R«v. Dr. T. De Witt Talmage, Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Dr. Timothy Dwight Pres. Yale University. 

Col. Wm. Preston Johnston, Pres. Tulane Univ., La. 

Hon. Andrew D. White, ex-Minister to Germany. 

Rt. Rev. F. D. Huntington, Bishop of Central N. Y. 

£kG >v. John B. Gordon, U. S. Senator, Ga. 

Hon George F. Hoar, U. S Senator, Mass. 

George William Curtis, LL.D., New York. 

Col. T. W. Higginson, Cambridge Mass. 

Dr. Noah Porter, ex-President of Yale University. 

Prof. Moses Colt Tyler, LL.D., Cornell Univ., Ithaca 

Daniel C. Oilman, LL.D., Pres. Johns Hopkins Univ. 

Joseph Cook, D.D., Boston, Mass. 

Edmund Clarence Stedman, LL.D., New York. 

Rev. Dr. J. K. McLean, Oakland, Cal. 

Larkin Dunton, LL.D., Boston, Mass. 

Rev. Dr. T. T. Munger, New Haven, Conn. 

Rev. W. F. Mallalieu, D.D., Bishop of M. E. Church, 

Hon. Joseph R. Hawley, U. S. Senator, Conn. 

Dr. Wm. C. Collar, Roxbury, Mass. 

Hon. John W. Noble, Secretary Interior, Wash., D. C. 

Rt. Rev. T. P. Davies, D.D., Detroit, Mich. 



^ Lowell died in August, 1891. 



Horace Howard Furness, LL.D., Phila. 

G. So C. Merriam & Co., Publishers, Springfield, Mass. 

Hon. H. W. Blair, Minister to China. 

Hon. H. W. Sage, Ithaca, N. Y. 

Mrs. Sarah B. Cooper, San Francisco. 

Prof. E. N. Horsford, Harvard Univ. 

Hon. H. C. Hansbrough, U. S. Senator, N. Dakota. 

Gen. J. W. Sprague, Tacoma. Wash. 

Dt. Daniel B. Hagar, Salem, Mass. 

Dr. E. J. Robinson, ex-President Brown University. 

Hon. W. E. Simonds. Hartford, Conn. 

Hon. Calvin E. Pratt, Judge Sup. Court, Brooklyn. 

Judge Albion W. Tourgee, Mayville, N. Y. 

Hon. Wm. li. Garrett, Pres. Nat. EdU Ass'n, Nashville 

W. D. Wilson, D.D., LL.D., Cornell University. 

Dr. A. C. Perkins, Brooklyn, New York. 

Prof. H. C. Hallowell, Sandy Springs, Maryland. 

Charlton T. Lewis, LL.D.. New York City. 

Hon. J. W. Patterson, LL.D., Supt. Pab. Inst, N. H. 

Hon. J. W. Dickinson, LL.D , Sec. Bd. Ed*n, Mass. 

David H. Cochran, LL.D., Pres. Pol. Inst., Brooklyn. 

Hon. H. C. McCormick, Williamsport, Pa. 

Hon. D. L. Kiehle, Supt. Pub. Inst., Minn. 

Prof. J. Morgan Hart. LL.D., Cornell Univ. 

Hon. John Miller, ex>Governor N. Dak. 

Prof. J. W. Churchill, Andover Theol. Sem. 

Gen. Francis A. Walker, LL.D., Boston. 

Dr. Samuel Eliot, ex-Pres. Trinity College, Boston. 

Selim H. Peabody, LL.D., Pres. Univ. Illinois. 

Hon. M. N. Johnson, M. C, N. Dak. 

Hon. W. C. Wallace, M. C. New York. 

Hon J. H. Walker, M. C, Worcester, Mass. 

Hon. Wm. T. Harris, LL.D., U. S. Com»r Ed*n. Wash. 

Hon. S. C. Gale, Minneapolis. 

Hon. T. F. Bicknell, LL.D., Boston. 

Rt Rev. J. H. D. Wingfleld, D.D., Benicia, Cal. 

Rt. Rev. J. A. Paddock, D.D., Tacoma, Wash. 

Rev. Dr. W. F. Warren, Pres. Boston Univ. 

Hon. Wm. M. Stewart, U. S. Senator, Nevada. 

Prof. Geo. H. Howison, Univ. California. 

Hon. Wm. Claflin, ex-Gov. Mass. 

Hon. D. H Chamberlain, ex*Gk)v. South Carolina. 

Hon. H. L. Dawes, U. S. Senator, Mass. 

Prof. Francis A. March, LL.D., Easton, Pa. 

Dr. David Starr Jordan, Pres. Stanford Uoiv. 

Cyrus Northrop, LL.D., President University Minn. 

Matthew H. Buckham, D.D., LL.D., Pres. Univ. Vt. 

Gen. Henry W. Slocum, Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Judge E. C. Billings, LL.D., New Orleans, La. 

Dr. Chauncy A. Schaeffer, Pres. University Iowa. 

Dr. L. Clark Seelye, Pres. Smith Col., Northampton. 

Prof. Hiram Corson, LL.D., Cornell Univ., Ithaca. 

Hon. Geo. C. Perkins, ex-Governor California. 

Hon. H. B. Harrisvin, ex-Governor Conn. 

Hon. H. B. Bigelow, ex-Governor Conn. 



2:.8 



THE BAY OF SAN FUANCI8C0: 



Dr. Franklin Carter, Pres. Williams College. 

Rev. Dr. J. M. Taylor, Pres. Vassar College. 

Dr. Martin Kellogg, Acting Pres. University Cal. 

Hou. O. H. Plait, U. 8. Senator, Conn. 

Dr. W. A. Mo wry, Boston, Mass. 

Hon. A. P. Marble, Worcester, Mass. 

George P. Fisher, D.D., LL.D., Yale University. 

Rev. A. D. Mayo, A. M., Boston, Mass. 

Judge Lawrence, McCuIly, Honolulu. 

Hon. Wallace Bruce, U. 8. Consul, Edinburgh, Scotland 

Hon. Wno. Walter Phelps, Minister to Germany. 

Gen. John Eaton, ex-Com*r. Ed., Marietta, O. 

Judge F. M. Finch, Court of Appeals, Albany, N. Y. 

G. Stanley Hall, LL.D., Pres. Clark University. 

Dr A. C. Hirst, President University Pacific. 

Dr. Edwin C. Hewitt, Pres. Normal Univ. Illinois. 

Rev. Henry Clay Trumbull, D.D., Philadelphia. 

W. F. Poole, LL.D., Librarian, Chicago. 

Hon. Gilbert A. Pierce, ex. U. 8. Senator, Minn. 

Judge Marcus Lyon, Ithaca, N. Y. 

Wm. J. Rolfe, Litt. D., Cambridge, Mass. 

Hon. B. G. Norlhrup, LL.D., Clinton, Conn. 

Judge C. E. Vanderburg, Supreme Court, Minn. 

Prof. Geo. E. Jackson, Washington Univ., St. Louis. 

Prof. John A. Himes, Univ. Pa., Gettysburg. 

Prof. T. Ogden R'lod, Columbia College, N. Y. City. 

Principal Ira More, Los Angeles, Cal. 

Prof. Moses. Merrill, Head Master Latin Sch., Boston 

Hon. Aaron Gove, Supt. Pub. Instr., Colorado. 

Dr. C. M. Tyler, Ithaca, N. Y. 

Dr. John Tetlow, Head Master Girls' H. Sch., Boston. 

Prof. I. Tisdale Talbot, M. D., Boston Univ. Med. Sch. 

Hon. Henry Barnard, LL. D., Hartford, Conn. 

Hon. A. B. Cornell, ex-Gov. New York. 

Gen. Randall L. Gibson, U. 8. Senator, La. 

Prof, rdward 8. Holden, Lick Observatory. 

Helen A. Shafer, Pres. Wellesley College, Mass. 

Hon. Wayne McVeagh, ex-Atty. Gen. U. 8., Penn. 

Hon. Wm. E. Sheldon, Boston, Mass. 

Hon. J. L. M. Curry, LL.D., Richmond, Va. 

"on. G. Haven Putnam, New York City. 

Hon. James B. Angell, LL.D., Pres. Univ. Mich. 

Dr. T. C. Chamberlain, Pres. Univ. Wisconsin. 

Prof. Chas. I. Moore, Head Master Cathed'l School, L. I 

Hon. Benj. F. Tracy, Sec. Navy, Washington, D. C. 

Gen. O. O. Howard, Governor's Island, N. Y. 

Hon. Stewart L. Woodford, New York city. 

Rev. Geo. R. Van de Water, D.D., New York city. 

Hon. John D Long, ex-Gov. Mass., Hingham. 

Hon. Geo. D. Robinson, ex Gov. Mass., Springfield. 

Hon. Alex. H. Rice, ex-Gov. Mass., Boston. 

Rev. Joseph T. Duryea, D.D., Omaha, Neb. 

Hon. Rufus L. Bullock, ex-Gov. Georgia. 

Hon. Oliver Ames, ex-Governor Mass., Boston. 

Hon. Geo. H. Stoneman, ex-Governor California. 

Hou. A. C. Mellette, Governor 8. Dak. 



Hon. Edwin P. Seaver, Supt Pub. Inst., Boston, Mass' 
Hon. G C. H. Corliss, Chief Justice, North Dakata. 
Hon. Lyman R. Casey, U. 8 Senator, North Dakota. 

De. homer B. SPRAGUE, 

PRESIDENT OF PERALTA HALL. 

(The following biograpical Bketch of Mr. 
Spragne is taken largely from The Cosmo- 
politan magazine, London, England.) 

Ilomer 13. Sprague Ib a native of Sntton, 
MaBsachiisetts. He was the second of nine 
children. His father was a hard worker, a 
man greatly respected for his annsaal intelli- 
gence and high moral character, successively 
a blackbmith, a skillful maker of axes and 
adzes, and a farmer. The family had more 
brains than money, and the boy was trained 
up to assist in supporting the rest. At the 
age of nine, he was accordingly set to work 
in if^ovett's cotton factory, in East Douglas, 
Masiiachusetts; afterwards at shoemaking for 
Simon J. Woodbury, of Sntton, and Joel 
Bacheller, of Northbridge, and at agricult- 
ural employment on his grandfather's and his 
father's farm, in South Sutton. 

At Leicester Academy, Massachusetts, 
which he. entered in 1847, he was noted for 
his industry, usually rising for study at five 
o'clock in the morning, summer and winter. 
Obliged to practice the very strictest econo- 
my, he, for a long time *' boarded himself," 
in a little room at the top of the academy 
building, where he lived mostly on bread and 
milk. When he entered the institution, and 
for a year afterwards, he did not believe it 
possible that his father could spare the means 
to give -him a liberal education, nor that suf- 
ficient funds could be obtained otherwise. It 
seemed like a vain dream; but the principal, 
Rev. Josiah Clark, one of the most gifted 
teachers of Massachusetts, conceived an ex- 
traordinary attachment for him, and from the 
first insisted that he should go to Yale. He 
was the valedictorian of his class at the 



1TB OITIES AND TUBIB aUBURBS. 



239 



academy in 1848, closing his oration wiHi 
original poetry in blank verse — " very blank," 
he used to say. 

He entered Yale in 1848, occupying a room 
in South Middle College, first floor, north 
entry, back corner. He had not money enough 
to carry him through the first term. Ac- 
cordingly, upon admission, he bought a saw 
and ax, and began to earn something by 
sawing and splitting wood in the college 
wood-yard, after the manner of the present 
Senator Dawes, of Massachusetts. This labor 
was too severe, and he soon found easier and 
more remunerative employment in private 
teaching. While in college he was elected 
*' First President" of Linonia, and, by a nearly 
unanimous vote, editor of the Yale Literary 
Magazine; also class valedictorian. He took 
many prizes, and received many honors from 
the college authorities and from his class- 
mates. He was the first student that ever 
gained the hundred -dollar De Forest gold 
medal. 

Upon leaving college, having received the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts, he continued to 
support himself by teaching, engaging at the 
same time in the study of law and literature. 
He lectured, and often wrote for the news- 
papers. At New Haven, Connecticut, he taught 
in Mayor Skinner's school and General Rus- 
sell's school at Worcester, Massachusetts, and 
the Worcester Academy. At both places he 
had private pupils in Latin and Greek. Three 
years after graduation he became Master of 
Arts. The anti-slavery agitation was now 
approaching its climax, and many fiery 
speeches and newspaper articles were spoken 
or written by him. Some of these were 
printed in pamphlet form by State and na- 
tional anti-slavery societies. His father had 
lieen one of the original Liberty-party men. 

A vacancy suddenly occurring in the office 
of principal of the public high school in 



Worcester, Massachusetts, Mr. Sprague, who 
was then a member of the city school board, 
was induced to take the position, which he 
retained for more than three years. 

Some of the ablest men in the nation, 
among them ex-Governor Daniel H. Cham- 
berlin, editors Walter Allen and Henry Boy- 
den, President David Brainerd Perry, and 
others hardly less distinguished, were among 
his pupils; and they have often expressed 
their deep sense of obligation to him for the 
training and inspiration they then received. 
Returning to New Haven he became for a 
short time principal of the Webster school, 
and afterwards a member of the school board 
of that city. The New Haven teachers were 
warmly attached to him, and, on his entrance 
into the army, signified their friendship by 
costly presents, among them an elegant 
sword, still in his possession. 

On the breaking out of the war he had 
been practicing law in Worcester and New 
Haven with marked success, though ^^ not 
long enough," he used to say, " to do much 
harmt" He immediat-ely threw open his 
office as a recruiting rendezvous. He made 
many patriotic speeches and wrote many 
newspaper articles, urging a vigorous prose- 
cution of the war, stimulating to a love of the 
Union, and arguing vehemently in favor of 
the immediate emancipation of the slaves as 
a war measure. He persuaded many to enter 
the service. For the Seventh Connecticut 
Infantry he recruited at his own expense a 
company of fifty men, to whom he adminis- 
tered the oath of enlistment, and who unani- 
mously elected him Captain; but the en- 
treaties of family and friends, for he was 
married and had three young children, pre- 
vented his acceptance at this time. Later 
on, when the strife grew darker and more 
bloody, and when it became evident that the 
fighting was to be more desperate and pro- 



240 



TUB BAT OF SAN FEANCISCO: 



longed, be, with Lieutenant J. F. Clark, 
recruited another company of one hundred 
men for the Thirteenth Connecticut Infantry. 
This was in the fall of 1861 and the winter 
of 1861-'62. Unanimously elected Captain, 
he could no longer resist the call of his coun- 
try. He now entered into barracks with his 
soldiers in New Haven in December, 1861, 
and drilled them daily in the school of the 
soldier and of the company. 

In March, 1862, he lefi witli his regiment 
for the Department of the Gulf. Here his 
anti-slavery views brought him into collision 
with General B. F. Butler, at New Orleans, 
in the latter part of May, 1862, when at some 
personal peril he dared to disobey an order 
commanding him to deliver up a fugutive 
slave to the owner. Of this incident, the 
editor of the Waterhury (Cojinecticut) Ameri- 
can^ the late Major John C. Kinney, in his 
issue of August 9, 1868, who was present at 
the time and cognizant of the facts, says: 
" Colonel Sprague was also appreciated in the 
regiment as the only man in the department 
who ever caused General Butler to retract an 
order, or in other words, ' to take the back 
track.' The Colonel's action prevented a 
slave, who had sought his protection, from 
being returned by order of Butler." 

Amusing accounts of his disputes with 
slaveholders were published in the New York 
Tribune and other papers. 

For four years he was in the service, re- 
ceiving successively commissions as Captain, 
Major, Lieutenant-Colonel and Colonel, and 
sharing all the hardships, sufferings and 
dangers of active warfare. In the battle of 
Irish Bend, Louisiana, April 14, 1863, while 
charging at the head of his company on a 
rebel battery, with sword brandished, and 
shouting, "Come on, boysl" he felt a sting- 
ing, benumbing shock in his right hand and 
arm, and blood spurted in his face. A rebel 



fifie ball, that but for his uplifted sword 
would have pierced his forehead, had splin- 
tered on his sword-hilt in front of his eyes, 
portions of the lead tearing open his wrist, 
and making what the surgeons called " a very 
pretty wound," while other pieces of the bul- 
let entered his face and right arm, where some 
of them still remain imbedded. Getting a 
handkerchief bound tightly upon the disabled 
wrist, he continued in the fight till victory 
was won. 

Twenty-three years afterwards, in 1886, he 
was appointed, with Majors Kinney and 
Frank Wells, by the legislature of Connecti- 
cut, a committee to restore to its original 
owners the beautiful silk flag so captured at 
Irish Bend, bearing the inscription, " The 
Ladies of Franklin to the St. Mary's Can- 
noniers." 

On the 7th of March, 1863, a State election 
approaching in Connecticut, Captain Sprague, 
while facing the enemy in the swamps of 
Louisiana, feeling that it was of vital impor- 
tance that the troops at the front should be 
sustained by the voters at home, wrote an 
intensely earnest address to the people of 
Connecticut, closing with the words, " Let us 
make a clean sweep of the secessionists; you 
at the ballot-box, we on the battle-field." 
This address was extensively signed by Con- 
necticut oflBcers and men of both political 
parties, at Baton Kouge, Louisiana, and was 
published in the Connecticut papers. It con- 
tributed largely to the victory of the Union- 
ists at the polls in that darkest period of the 
war. 

On the terrible 14th of June, 1863, when 
the Thirteenth Connecticut, having fought 
its way step by step up to the very breast- 
works of Port Hudson, lay shattered and 
mangled under the muzzles of the enemy's 
guns with several other regiments behind and 
beside them, the commanding general, Banks, 



ITS CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



241 



sent one of his aids, calling for a storming 
colomn of 200 men to leap into the enemy's 
works at that point. Captain Spragae im- 
mediately volnnteered, and the number was 
nearly made up, when the proposed dash of 
the 200 into the rebel works was counter- 
manded. 

In the Waterbury American^ August, 1868, 
is the following statement: '' Colonel Spragne 
WHS noted in his regiment not less for his 
thorough knowledge of tactics than for his 
unflinching bravery. When General Banks, 
after his second defeat at Port Hudson, called 
for a storming column, the Colonel was the 
first man who volunteered. * * * * J^^ 
speak of what we know?'^ The writer of this 
statement (the italics are his) in the Water- 
hury American^ Major Kinney, here refers to 
the celebrated storming column of 1,000 men 
called for by Banks' famous general order No. 
49, Headquarters, Department of the Gulf, 
June 15, 1863. The day before had wit- 
nessed the disastrous and bloody repulse of 
the Union forces in their assaults on the rebel 
works. On receipt of Banks' order at 9 a. m., 
June 16, Captain Sprague immediately dis- 
patched a special messenger, notifying the 
commander that he and Lieutenant Kinney, 
who was occupying the tent with him, volun- 
teered in this forlorn hope, and requesting 
that their names be enrolled. This was be- 
fore they had learned of any others being 
willing to volunteer. Captain Sprague then 
at once called bis own company together, read 
to them the order of General Banks, told 
them that he had already joined the storming 
party, and appealed to their patriotism to 
follow his example. There were present at 
this time investing Port Hudson, forty- one 
regiments of infantry and cavaliy, besides 
many batteries of artillery, and the large and 
well-appointed fleet in the Mississippi river. 
To all of these. General Banks eloquently 



appealed, urging them to come forward and 
fill up the forlorn hope. The result was that 
sixty five commissioned oflScers and nine hun- 
dred and eighteen soldiers and marines joined 
this storjiing column. Of this number. Cap- 
tain Sprague's regiment alone furnished fif- 
teen officers and two hundred and twenty -five 
enlisted men! In his diary of that day, June 
16, among other similar memoranda about 
this forlorn hope, is the following: " I have 
in my pocket about $220 in treasury notes, 
of which, in case of my death (in this assault), 
I wish $200 sent to my wife, New Haven, 
Connecticut, by Adams Express. The re- 
mainder will pay my servant. 1 wish my 
remains to be sent to New Haven for inter- 
ment. Lieutenant Tibbetts or Dr. Clary will 
see to the execution of the foregoing." He 
and others made their wills, and quietly trans- 
ferred watches, money, etc., to those who had 
not volunteered. 

The time fixed for the assault was the 
morning of July 4; but, the day before, 
rumors had arrived of the capitulation of 
Vicksburg, and Banks wisely waited for con- 
firmation of the tidings, which speedily came, 
rendering the attack unnecessary. 

Of the Thirteenth Regiment, General Gro- 
ver, commanding the Division, afterwards 
wrote: " It is one of the best in the army, 
and is entitled to great consideration for its 
distinguished services." 

In recognition of this offer of his life for 
his country, and of other services. Captain 
Sprague was made Colonel hy Brevet^ " for 
gallant and meritorious conduct." 

In the heat of Sheridan's battle of Win- 
chester, September 19, 1864, when our lines 
recoiled before the overwhelming advance of 
Early's army (see Harper'^s Monthly for 
November, 1864, for the best account* of this 

♦ By Major J. W. DeForest. 



242 



THB BAT OF 8 AN FRANC 1 800: 



terrible battle), Colonel Spragae, being in 
command of the Thirteenth Connecticut, held 
his position to the last in obedience to direct 
orders, holdins: the enemy back in front by 
tierce fighting, until they closed upon him on 
both flanks and rear, and he found himself in 
what appeared to b^ the very center of the 
rebel array. 

After some months of imprisonment at 
Danville, Salisbury and Richmond, he was 
paroled to distribute supplies of clothing sent 
on by the United States Government through 
the Confederate lines. He now saw what no 
United States officer had been permitted to 
see before him, the inside of some of the 
worst prison pens of the South. 

He engaged in repeated attempts to escape, 
one of which was attended by fatal results. 
The others were baffled. At last, when he 
was greatly reduced by sickness and hunger, 
and was expecting to die in prison, the rebel 
commandant, who was really a kind gentle- 
man, and formerly a Yale student, seeing 
Sprague's decline, offered to parole him, and 
give him good food, good clothing, and good 
quarters " if he would assist a little in cleri- 
cal work at the commandant's headquarters." 
Colonel Sprague replied, " My business is to 
do your Confederacy as much harm as I can. 
That is necessary. It is not necessary that I 
should live^ Freemasonry saved his life. 

After nearly six months' imprisonment he 
was exchanged, and immediately rejoined his 
command; but it was more than two years 
before he regained his full bodily strength. 
Acting for the most part as president of 
courts martial and military commissions, he 
was not mustered out until the last of April, 

1866. 

In September, 1866, he became Principal 
of the State Normal School at New Britain, 
Connecticut. In the spring of 1868 he found 
himself, without having sought the position, 



a representative of New Britain in the State 
Legislature. He was appointed *" House 
Chairman" of the Committee on Education. 
He gave his energies to three measures, in 
all of which, after a hard struggle and much 
maiioBuvering, he was entirely successful: (1) 
the rehabilitation of the Normal School, es- 
tablishing it upon the firm basis on which it 
has stood ever since; (2) trebli ig the amount 
previously appropriated for teachers' insti- 
tutes in Connecticut; (3) abolishing the rate- 
bills (i. e. tuition bills), and so making the 
schools of Connecticut more nearly /r^ than 
they had been before. 

In the summer of 1868 he accepted the 
professorship of rhetoric and English litera- 
ture in Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. 
Here his labor was very severe, all the in- 
struction of four hundred students in rhetoric, 
English literature, elocution and essay-writ- 
ing, devolving upon him. While at Ithaca 
he strongly urged in newspaper articles the 
establishment of chairs of didactics or peda- 
gogics in colleges. This is believed to have 
been the first public advocacy of that feature 
now recognized as of educational importance 
in some of the great American [Jniversitiea. 

His position at Cornell he resigned, to ac- 
cept the principalship of the Adelphi Acade- 
my, Brooklyn, New York. The following 
from Hon. F. M. Finch, Judge of the Court 
of Appeals of the State of New York, ex- 
plains itself: 

My Dear Professor: — 

The accompaDing resolution on your resigoatioo as 
professor in Cornell UniTersitj, was passed at a meet- 
ing of our executive committee. Strongly as it is 
phrased, it scarcely does justice to oar great appreci- 
ation of the ability with which you filled your profes- 
sorship, and our unwillingness to see you go elsewhere. 
If any poor words of mine can strengthen your 
assurance of our regard for you, both as a professor 
and a man, you are at liberty to use this note for that 
purpose. 

RMoloedy That in accepting the resignation of Prof. Uo. 



ITS CITIES AND TUEIR SUBURBS: 



248 



mer B. Sprague, the trustees desire to express their cod- 
fideDce in bis ability aod capacity as aD instructor, and 
their great regard for him as a man ; and also to express 
their regret that circumstances render it necessary to 
dissolve relations which have been so invariably 
pleasant, and which the trustees would gladly have 
seen prolonged. 
A true copy from the minutes. Attest : 

F. M. Finch 
Secretary Board of Trustees, Cornell University. 

In Brooklyn he found the academy in at 
8tate of great depression; but by extraordi- 
nary efforts, judicious organization and skill- 
ful management, he contributed to build up 
the Adelphi to an unprecedented height of 
prosperity. In 1872 he was, unexpectedly 
to himself, honored with the degree of Doc- 
tor of Philosophy by the University of New 
York. 

In 1876 he accepted the position of Head 
Master of the Girls' High School in Boston, 
Massachusetts. This is the largest institu- 
tion in New England for the high-school 
education of young women. He held the 
head-mastership for nine consecutive years, 
introducing some features of permanent value, 
and making himself felt in important educa- 
tional movements. 

In 1877 he originated, and with great labor 
established, on a plan of his own, the Martha's 
Vineyard Summer Institute, at Cottage City, 
Massachusetts. This claims to be the oldest, 
the largest and the best of the non-Chautau- 
qua summer schools. Nearly forty summer 
schools, on nearly or exactly the same model, 
in successful operation, attest at once the 
value of such institutions, and the wisdom of 
his plan. Into this institute he drew some of 
the foremost educators of the nation. He 
held its presidency until he resigned it just 
before his departure for Europe in ]882. 

At Cottage City, which was his summer 
home for thirteen years, he not only estab- 
lished the celebrated summer institute, with 



its thirty or forty teachers and hundreds of 
students, but he also originated the public 
library, donating the first books for a nucleus, 
and, by cards and handbills at his own expense, 
calling the citizens together and pressing the 
matter upon their attention. By energetic 
and persistent effort he secured the establish- 
ment of the money-order department in the 
postoffice there. At his own expense, also, 
and after a good deal of personal exertion, he 
induced that community to form a Rural 
Improvement Society. This association has 
contributed much to render that beautiful 
summer resort still more lovely. 

All this while, during his nine years in 
Boston, his pen never rested, but was busy 
writing articles mostly appearing as editorial, 
but often over his own signature attacking 
abuses and insisting on educational reforms. 
His pamphlet on free text-books in the public 
schools was influential in securing that great 
measure of educational progress in the State 
of Massachusetts. 

After Boston, he spent a year and a half 
in California. Returning to the East, he was 
made president of the University of North 
Dakota. In the four years of his presidency, 
among other marks of unmistakable progress, 
the numbers grew from sixty-live to nearly 
two hundred; the standard of prepar- 
ation for entrance was raised one inserted 
year; a complete normal department was or- 
ganized; a course in letters was added, three 
literary societies, an athletic association, and 
a Young Men's Christian Association were 
founded; military and gymnastic drill was 
introduced; regular training was begun in 
elocution and oratory; vocal and instrumental 
music and drawing were brought in, a pro- 
fessorship of physics was established, and a 
professorship of biology, each with its ap- 
propriate laboratory; a handsome magazine 
was successfully published; and the first two 



244 



THE BAT OF BAN FRANCISCO: 



genior classes were graduated with quite 
brilliant snccess. 

Among the publicatiuDS of Mr. Spragne 
are carefully annotated editions of some of 
the masterpieces in English literature, in- 
cluding select works of Chaucer, Spenser, 
Bacon and Bunyan, Milton's Lycidas^ ComuB^ 
Hymn on the Nativity^ and first two books 
of Paradise Lost; Shakespeare's Hainlet^ 
Macbeth and Merchant of Venice; select- 
ions from Irving's Sketch Book; History 
of the Thirteenth Connecticut; and many 
lectures, essays and addresses, mostly educa- 
tional or patriotic. He was president of the 
oldest of the great educational associations of 
the country, the American Institute of In- 
struction, in 1883-84, declining a re-election. 

In addition to his university work, he 
addressed many teachers' institutes in North 
Dakota. He was president of the North 
Dakota Teachers' Association for the year 
1888, but refused re-election. He is the 
author of the principal sections of the article 
on education in the constitution of North 
Dakota. With much expense of comfort, 
labor, time and money, he secured the incor- 
poration of those provisions in the fundameu. 
tal law of the new State. The phraseology 
proposed by Mr. Sprague for these sections 
was unfortunately changed (see the magazine. 
Common School^ October, 1889, pages 5, 6, 
7, showing the propositions as Mr. Sprague 
formulated them), but the substance is nearly 
identical with his. Especially is this true of 
the most important, viz., the first section. 
In this section, for the first time in any na- 
tional or State constitution, the vital impor- 
tance of thorough education, not of a few, 
not of a majority, not of the great mass even, 
but OF EVERY VOTER, is distinctly enunciated. 
A standard is thus uplifted which entitles that 
new State to a place in the very van of the 
armies of education. 




In the creation of this ideal iu her consti- 
tution. North Dakota leads all her sister 
States. Said Mr. Sprague, " I desire for 
myself no other epitaph than this: ' He origi- 
nated the leading sections of the article on 
Education in the ConstitiUion of North 
Dakota? " 

ON. JOHN D. WORKS.— The author 
of the " Bench and Bar in California" 
says, the very strong name which Judge 
Works bears etymologically furnishes a good 
index to his character and career. And in 
this statement, all who are familiar with his 
life east of the Rockies or since he came to 
this coast, will heartily agree. 

Judge Works was born in Indiana in 1847. 
He was reared on a farm and educated in 
the country common schools. At the age of 
seventeen he became a member of an Indiana 
Regiment, and served nearly two years in the 
civil war, taking part in the battle of Nash- 
ville and the capture of Mobile. Returning 
home, he entered the law class of his uncle, 
Hon. A. C. Downey, thoroughly prepared 
hinjsclf for the legal profesaion, and in 1868 
was admitted to the bar, shortly afterward 
joining his father, James A. Works, in prac- 
tice. His father having an extensive prac- 
tice and being well advanced in years, let 
much responsibility fall on his son, and in 
this way the latter soon found himself at the 
head of a large and lucrative practice. 

In 1883 he came to California, and in 
April located in San Diego, at once engaging 
in a law practice there. October 1, 1886, he 
was appointed by Governor Stoneman to 
serve out a part of a term as Judge of the 
Superior Court of his county. At the next 
election he was chosen his own successor, re- 
signing at the end of a year thereafter, be- 
cause the practice of law offered hira much 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBORBS. 



245 



larger cumpensation. October 1, 1888, Gov- 
ernor Waterman commissioned him a Justice 
of the Supreme Court of California to suc- 
ceed, until the next election, Hon. E. W. 
McKinstry, who had resigned; and Novem- 
ber 6, 1888, he was elected to that position by 
the people. At the close of his term, Janu- 
ary 1, 1891, Judge Works decided to be a 
candidate for reelection as a Justice of the 
Supreme Court, and resumed the practice of 
law in San Diego. 

On the bench as elsewhere, his duties have 
been faithfully and conscientiously performed 
and during his comparatively short residence 
on the Pacific slope, he has won for himself 
an enviable reputation. 

Aside from the labors already referred to, 
Judge Works has given much time and atten- 
tion to the performance of literary duties. 
In 1877 he began his " Indiana Practice and 
Pleading," a work in three volumes, which 
came to be accepted as indispensable. In May, 
1887, at San Diego, he completed a small work 
entitled "Removal of Causes fom State Courts 
to Federal Courts." And an able article by 
him in the Century Magazine for January 
1889, on "Lawyers' Morals," attracted no 
little attention. 

Judge Works is mairied and has a large 
family. 

ILLIAM AUSTIN HOLCOMB, a 
grain merchant of San Francisco, 
residing in Oakland, was born on the 
island of North Hero, in Lake Champlain 
Grand Isle county, Vermont, April 26, 1833, 
a son of Jonathan and Electa Ann (Clark) 
Holcomb. The Holcomb family in America 
dates back to the Puritan immigration, and 
has been traced in England to the twelfth 
century; but this sketch is concerned only 
with the one California offshoot of the branch 




which settled on the islands of Lake Cham- 
plain some years before the organization of 
Grand Isle county in 1802. The grandfather, 
Amos Holcomb, was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, and was also his father. Amos, a Con- 
necticut farmer, who, after the close of the 
war, with one or more of his brothers, took 
a leading part in settling the islands of Lake 
Champlain. He died at an advanced age, 
leaving three sons: Amos, Jonathan and 
Chester. Amos and Jonathan served in the 
war of 1812, the latter taking part at least 
in the battle of Plattsburg. A generation 
later four sons of Chester gave ther lives to 
the preservation of the Union during the civil 
war, from which it may fairly be assumed 
that self-sacrificing patriotism is a hereditary 
trait in this branch of the Holcomb family. 
Of Chester's five sons, John William alone 
survives, a farmer on Isle La Motte. 

Jonathan Holcomb, born in October, 1796, 
after his brief experience of military life in 
the war of 1812 took an active interest in the 
militia of Vermont, and later in life was 
known as General Holcomb; but his chief oc- 
cupation was farming. About 1818 he mar- 
ried Electa Ann Clark, who was burn in 1800. 
a daughter of Truman and Aphena (Wheeler) 
Clark. Her father, a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion and afterward a member of the State Leg- 
islature and otherwise prominent, lived to 
be over eighty years of age, and his widow 
reached a still more advanced age. In March, 
1835, Jonathan Holcomb settled on a farm 
on the Saranac, near Plattsburg, New York, 
and about 1839 moved into St. Lawrence 
county, same State. In 1846 he went to Ill- 
inois, in search of a new location, and in that 
year Mrs. Holcomb died, on Isle La Motte, 
aged forty-six, leaving six sons and four 
daughters, the oldest of whom, Newell, was 
born in 1820, is now living in Jo Daviess 
connty, Illinois. The father, with three sons. 



24G 



THE BAY OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



Henry, Alonzo and William A., settled in 
that county in 1846, and other members of 
the family followed later. 

Mr. Holcomb, whose name introduces this 
sketch, besides an elementary education, re- 
ceived private lessons from a Yale graduate, 
and embarked early in mercantile pursuits. 
In his seventeenth year he was Employed at 
an Indian trading post at the mouth of the 
Little Rock in Minnesota, in 1849, and had 
some experience of the Indian troubles of 
that period. In 1853 he set out for Califor- 
nia, across the plains, arriving in Nevada 
City August 27. He went to mining on 
Bear river, but with indifferent success, and 
WAS afterwards engaged in various pursuits,- — 
carpentering, keeping store, acting aa deputy 
Sheriff and treasure messenger for an express 
company. In 1861 he went to Humboldt 
county, Nevada, and spent a few month? in 
prospecting, but with no marked success. In 
1862 he Wis appointed Assessor by the Board 
of Supervisors, and at the general election of 
that year was unanimously elected County 
Treasurer, and in 1864 was re-elected, receiv- 
in2 500 more votes than his fellow candidates 
on the Republican ticket. He was also Post- 
master agent for Wells, Fargo & Co., Notary 
Public, Commissioner of Deeds, District Re- 
corder of Mining Claims, secretary of twenty- 
two mining companies, correspondent of five 
newspapers and editor for a time of the Hum- 
boldt Register in the absence of its editor. 
A peculiar endowment, inherited or acquired, 
of being able to get along with fewer hours 
of rest and sleep than any one he has ever 
known, alone made it possible for him to 
attend to so many and various duties as he 
was then charged with, though many of these 
were of infrequent occurrence and soon dis- 
patched. 

In 1865 he resigned his office of Treasurer 
and abandone'! his multifarious vocations, 



and in September came to San Francisco, to 
engage in the warehouse business, and about 
1866 added the grain trade. It was he who 
made the first shipment of grain at the Oak- 
land wharf, in 1870, and later the first ship- 
ment from Vallejo, and was also the first to 
ship flour and wheat overland to Chicago 
and New York. He continued in the busi- 
ness of grain merchant in San Francisco, on 
a considerable scale, until 1884, when he 
virtually withdrew from the heavier class of 
mercantile transactions. 

He is a member of the Pacific Coast Board 
of Trade, tlie San Francisco Chamber of 
Commerce, the Merchant's Exchange, the 
Produce Exchange, the United States Postal 
Service Advisory Committee of this coast, and 
a life member of the San Francisco Art 
Association. Among the social orders, he is a 
member of the Athenium Club of Oakland, of 
the Masonic order for many years, having 
been Master of the lodge at St. Louis, Sierra 
county, as early as 1858, and is a life member 
of Oakland Lodge, No. — , F. & A. M. 

In the sphere of politico he is a member of 
the liepublican Alliance, and is recognized as 
a leafing and devoted Republican. In 1885 
he was prominently mentioned as a suitable 
candidate for the United States Senate, and 
receiveu some complimentary votes for that 
high office though he had withdrawn his 
name. He has been frequently spoken of for 
less important offices, the latest being Mayor 
of Oakland, in 1891. He has been a dele- 
gate to the city, county and State conventions 
of his party, and his deep and constant inter- 
est in the success of Republicanism being 
free fro»n the taint of self-seeking has won 
him an influential and respected place in its 
councils. 

He was married in Stockton, December 31, 
1872, to Miss Louisa Carr, who was born in 
St. Louis, Missouri, December 11, 1847, a 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



247 



daughter of Judge Levi T. and Eliza A. 
(Block) Carr. Mr. Carr, a Southerner by 
birth and a lawyer by profession, is living in 
Oakland, now aged seventy-three. Mrs. Carr 
died here in 1884, aged about sixty. Mrs. 
Holcomb also died in Oakland, of pneumonia, 
December 9, 1875, leaving two children, born 
in San Francisco: Lulie Carr Holcomb, born 
October 4, 1873; and Lydia Susie Holcomb, 
September 10, 1874, both actively prosecut- 
ing their studies as day pupils in Field's Sem- 
inary, and both giving evidence of marked 
talent in art and music. Losing their mother 
in infancy, they have receieed the most de- 
voted attention from their beloved father, 
who has labored with much zeal and no small 
measure of success to minimize to them at 
least the irreparable loss which he and they 
sustained in the early death of the wife and 
mother. 



3EH 



♦^^^t- 




P. CHRISTIESON is the manager of 
the Pioneer Mill and Lumber Com- 
® pany, of San Rafael, who are dealers in 
redwood and pine lumber, shingles and lath, 
carry a full line of building material and manu- 
facture plain and fancy mill work. In 1874 
Mr. Christieson became the bookkeeper of this 
company, then controlled by Isaac Shaver, the 
plant being erected four years previously. 
In 1886 Mr. Christieson became a stock- 
holder, and has since managed the mill and 
lumber department. The entire plant has 
been remodeled, larger and more expensive 
machinery put in, and is now turning out as 
good work as any mill in the State. Mr. 
Christieson is also a member of the firm of 
Wood, Christieson & Co., real-estate dealers 
and insurance agents. 

He is a native of Denmark, dating his birth 
September 7, 1846, the eldest in a family of 



six children. He was reared and educated in 
his native country, and emigrated to Amer- 
ica in 1867, locating at San Francisco until 
1874, and was married at San Francisco, in 
September, 1886, to Miss Hattie Fisher, a 
native of California. They have one son, 
Harry. Mr. Christieson is a man of pleas- 
ing address. Socially he aiBliates with the 
F. & A. M. Lodge, No. 191, of which he is 
Past Master; also the I. O. O. F., Marion 
Lodge, JN'o. 200, both of San Rafael. 



» ■ — 




'•*« S * ^"^ * S* *** 



^OSEPH B. LANKTREE, cashier of the 
Oakland Home Insurance Company, was 
born in Grass Valley, Nevada county^ 
California, December 25, 1859, the only 
child of Joseph 6. and Susanna {nee Lank- 
tree) Lanktree, both natives of Canada, who 
came to California in 1857. The father died 
in 1861, but the mother still survives, a resi- 
dent of Alameda. 

Mr. Lanktree was reared in Seattle, Wash- 
ington. In 1880 he returned to his native 
State. Shortly afterward he was employed 
by the above named company, and in 1884 
he took his present position. He is also a 
meujber of the Alameda Board of Education, 
to which position he was elected first in 1887 
and re-elected in 1891. Politically he is a 
zealous Republican, and as an organizer has 
been of much service to his party, having 
been treasurer and member of the County 
Central Committee and a delegate to the 
county and State conventions for several 
years. He is also associated with the Inter- 
national Transit Line, — an incorporation of 
Oakland, — for the purchase and shipment of 
all kinds of fruit and vegetables to the East. 
Of this company Mr. Lanktree is secretary 
and treasurer. 

In society he afiiliates with Encinal Lodge, 



248 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



No. 165, I. O. O. F., and is an active, influ- 
ential member of Alameda Parlor, No. 47* N. 
S. G. W., both of Alameda. He is a pro- 
gressive, worthy citizen, respected by a large 
circle of acquaintances throughout county and 
State. 

In Alameda, February 17, 1881, he mar- 
ried Miss Harriet Cooper, a native of Olym- 
pia, Washington, and they have three inter- 
esting children, Susanna, Joseph B., Jr., and 
Elizabeth F. 





ILLIAM M. PIERSON.— ''WhenI 
arrived in San Francisco, fifteen 
years ago," said a well-known citizen 
to tlie writer, ^^ I had occasion one day to 
visit the courtroom of the old Fifteenth Dis- 
trict Court, then situated at the corner of 
Montgomery avenue and Montgomery street. 
The late Judge Samuel H. Dwindle was upon 
the bench, and when I entered the room a 
young lawyer was addressing the court. His 
tones, as well as his presence, impressed me, 
and I listened to his argument; I was at 
once astonished and pleased. His reasoning 
was convincing; at times his language was 
really eloquent. While his handsome face 
and grace of maimer would have been suffi- 
cient to arrest attention anywhere, the sound 
logic of his utterance secured the careful 
consideration of the bar as well as of the 
court itself. I found upon inquiry that the 
young lawyer was William M. Pierson." 

Perhaps no higher encomium could be paid 
the subject of our sketch so far as it gives 
the cursory views of a very close observer of 
human nature. But Mr. Pierson is more 
than a showy, eloquent and logical speaker. 
He is a sound lawyer, in the broadest sense of 
that term. His mind is of an analytical turn, 
and beneath the Chestertieldian grace of his 



manner there lies an active, never-slumbering 
intellect that is ever ready to avail itself of 
any weak spot in his opponent's armor; to 
meet with deadly foil any false thrusts from 
his adversary's weapon. 

William M. Pierson was born in Cincin- 
nati, in February, 1842, where his parents 
were living temporarily. He comes of Knick- 
erbocker stock, his mother being a lineal de- 
scendant of Anneke Jans, the grantor of real 
estate to Trinity Church in New York city, 
which has made that institution the wealth- 
iest church corporation in the country. He 
came to California via the Horn, arriving here 
on Independence Day, 1852. For a while he 
attended a school then kept by Ahira Holmes 
at the corner of Broadway and Kearny 
streets. There the restless spirit of the lad 
asserted itself; he left school and found em- 
ployment in the picture and stationery store 
of Marvin & Hitchcock, located on Mont- 
gomery street, between Washington and 
Jackson. After eighteen months of this 
work he attended a session of the high school, 
and then entered the oflSce of the late Judge 
Nathaniel Bennett as a law student. After- 
ward he studied with Frank Pixley, and com- 
pleted his studies in the office of Henry H. 
Haight. He was admitted to the bar in 1862, 
at the age of twenty years, a special act of 
the Legislature being passed for that pur- 
pose. He formed a law partnership with Mr. 
Haight, which continued until t\\e latter wns 
elected Governor in 1867. Mr. Pierson has 
a vivid recollection of the Vigilante days, 
and witnessed from his home on Broadway 
the taking from the jail of Cora and Casey^ 
when they were executed. 

While Mr. Pierson's practice has been gen- 
eral, it is mostly confined to civil cases, his 
specialty being corporation law. In this 
class of jurisprudence he has been eminently 
successful. One of the most important liti- 



ITS CITIES AND THBIB 8UBURB8. 



249 



gatiuns in which he lias been engaged was 
the case of the People V8, Wells-Fargo, where 
he ap|>eared for the people. The commercial 
banks, when the act ci*ea*ing the Bank Com- 
mission went into effect, refused to submit to 
examination by the Bank Commissioners, 
claiming that the act applied only to savings 
banke. Half a dozen of the most prominent 
lawyers of the city took this ground, and ad- 
vised the banks accordingly. Mr. Pierson 
argued the case with great ability, and the 
Supreme Court sustained him, and compelled 
the banks to submit to examination. He was 
attorney for the plaintiffs in the great case of 
the People V8, the American Sugar Refinery, 
an action brought to dissolve the corporation 
because it had joined the sugar trust. This 
action was begun simultaneously with one of 
a like character in New York city. Judge 
Wallace recently decided the case in favor of 
the People and against the sugar trust, tak- 
ing the position assumed by Mr. Pierson in 
his argument. Later a receiver was ap- 
pointed by Judge Wallace and the refinery 
closed. The proceedings were sought to be 
restrained by a writ of prohibition issued by 
the Supreme Court, and the whole matter 
was re-argued by Mr. Pierson in that court. 
A member of the profession has said that 
a mere lawyer is at most a moiety of a man: 
heathen and soulless. Mr. Pierson is not a 
mere lawyer. Besides having fine literary 
tastes, which his means permit him to enjoy, 
he is a fine amateur astronomer, and at his 
residence on Van Ness avenue he has the 
largest telesC/Ope in the city, the object-glass 
being eight and a half inches in diameter. 
It is mounted in an observatory attached to 
his residence, and here of a cloudless night 
Mr. Pierson spends many an hour gazing at 
" the starry cope of heaven." Mr. Pierson 
is President of the Astronomical Society of 
the Pacific, has free access to the Lick Ob- 

48 



servatory, has the largest telescope in the 
State outside of the observatory, and is an 
enthusiast in the science. He is a member 
of the Pacific- Union Club and of the Bar 
Association. He is married and has a family 
consisting of a wife, who was the daughter 
of Captain L. B. Edwards, and two sons, both 
of whom are in mercantile employment. 



m <i 



SH«t*| 



»♦ •■» 




V. BROWN, dentist, whose office is at 
the corner of Turk and Taylor streets, 
^ San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1853, and engaged in dental 
practice since 1864. He was born in Mercer 
county, Illinois, in 1843, the son of Isaiah 
Brown, one of the early settlers of that State, 
who, since his arrival to this coast in 1853, 
has been engaged in mining and Inmberincr, 
the latter in Santa Cruz county. He died in 
1868. The family are of English descent 
originally, and were among the early settlers 
of Pennsylvania Isaiah Brown removed 
from that State to Illinois in an early day. 
His sister is the widow of the Hon. Jesse W. 
Fell, formerly a State Senator of that 
State, and also the founder of the town of 
Normal, Illinois. He donated $40,000 to the 
establishment of the State Normal School at 
that point. He it was to whom the late 
President Lincoln, at his request, wrote in 
1858 his celebrated autobiography, which has 
since become so familiar to the American 
people. His father, William Brown, was 
also a State Senator from Illinois in its early 
history. 

The subject of this sketch received his 
early education in the public scnools of his 
native county, and later in California. His 
parents brought him to this State in 1853, 
crossing the plains from the Mississippi river. 
He commenced the study of dentistry in 



250 



TUB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 




1861, in the o£Sce8 of varions dentists of this 
State. In 1864 he engaged in practice in 
Los Angeles, where he continued three years, 
and later practiced in Santa Cruz and Mon- 
terey counties for seventeen years, having 
offices at the same time at Watsonville, Santa 
Cruz and Salinas. In 1884 he removed to 
San Francisco, where he has since remained 
in his present location. Dr. Brown is a 
member of the State Dental Association of 
California. 

KEDERICK EUGENE WHITNEY, 
Attorney and Court Commissioner of 
Alameda county, residing at Oakland, 
was born at Farraington, Maine, November 
26, 1850, a son of George Washington and 
Violet (Haines) Whitney, both natives of that 
State. His father was County Clerk of 
Franklin county about 1864, and acted as 
secretary of the first convention that called 
itself Republican, which was held at the 
town of Strong in that county, being previ- 
ously a Whig, and engaged chiefly as a mer- 
chant. He died in 1866, at the age of fifty- 
seven. His mother lived to the age of seventy, 
six, and two of her sisters are still living, 
one being Mrs. Rosilla Haskell, aged about 
ninety, the mother of Edwin Haskell, editor 
of the Boston Herald^ and the other surviv- 
ing sister lacks only a few years of that age. 
Several members of the Haines family have 
been long-lived. Of the seven children of 
Mr. G. W. Whitney, two died in infancy; 
the others are: Franklin Waldo, who enlisted 
before he was of age as a soldier of the First 
Maine Cavalry in the civil war, and died in 
the hospital at Washington; Henry A., also a 
soldier of that war, became Major of the 
First Colored Regiment Volunteer Infantry, 
afterward known as the Thirty- third United 
States Regiment, Colonel T. W. Higginson, 



serving in all over four years, is now a dentist 
in Salt Lake City; Hon. George E., of Oak- 
land, ex-State Senator of this State; Colum- 
bia, the wife of J. C. Tarbox, a merchant of 
Farmington, Maine. 

F. E. Whitney, our subject, graduated at 
the State Normal School in 1868, and the 
following year at the Watcrville Classical 
Institute, Maine, and in 1873 at Bowdoin 
College, at Brunswick, Maine, in the classical 
course, with the highest honors. He then 
taught in the public schools of Boston for 
four years, and then came to Oakland, where 
he became a searcher of records in the em- 
ploy of Lawrie & Whitney, and at the same 
time began reading law, under the direction 
of his brother. Senator George E. Whitney. 

The following year Mr. Whitney accepted 
a position in the Government University at 
Tokio, Japan, where he was engaged in teach- 
ing English literature and rhetoric for three 
years, when he resigned; and aft-er traveling 
around the world returned home by way of 
Europe, and at once entered the St. Louis 
Law School, connected with the Washington 
University at St. Louis, Missouri, where he 
graduated in 1882, and immediately returned 
and made Oakland the permanent home of 
his family. After being admitted to practice 
in all the State and Federal courts, he formed 
a co-partnership with his brother for a gen- 
eral practice of law under the firm name of 
Whitney & Whitney. The following year 
this partnership was dissolved upon Mr. F. E. 
Whitney being appointed by the Superior 
Court as the Court Commissioner of Ala- 
meda county, the duties of which office he 
ably performed until the beginning of 1889, 
when his term of office expired, since which 
time he has devoted himself to a general and 
important practice of law, particularly con- 
nected with probate matters. 

He has taken a lively interest in political 



ITS CTTIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



251 



matters, and has l>een for several terms chair- 
man of the Republican City Central Com- 
mittee of Oakland down to the calling of the 
city convention in March, 1891, and is also a 
member of the State Central Committee. 

Mr. Whitney's rise at the bar was rapid, 
bnt the fact that he has maintained his stand- 
ing showrt that it was deserved. He came to 
Oakland, as stated, immediately after his 
graduation at the St. Louis Law School, and 
here began the active practice of his profes- 
sion. After a year at the bar he was ap- 
pointed to the responsible position of Court 
Commissioner by the Judges of the Superior 
Court of the county of Alameda, and this 
appointment indicated the standing he gained 
at the bar, even when tirst he began to prac- 
tice. Many important cases have been en- 
trusted to his care, and he has de It with the 
interest? of his clients to their satisfaction- 
In awarding him a fee of $6,000 for his ser- 
vices in the Wakerly case, early in 1891, 
Judge Hunt paid a high compliment to his 
eflBciency and industry in guarding the inter- 
ests of his clients, representing the larger 
part of the estate. Mr. Whitney was again 
appnnted Court Commissioner in January, 
1891, which position he still holds. 

He is a member of Oakland Lodge, No. 
188, F. & A. M., a life-long member of St. 
PhuI Chapter, R. A. M., of Boston, Massachu- 
setts; of Fountain Lodge, No. 198, L O. 
O. F.; of Buena Vista Encampment, No. — 
and of Canton No. 11, Patriarchs Militant. 
After five years a member of the staff of 
General Trumbull, N. G. C, with rank of 
Major, he is now serving as Assistant Judge 
Advocate-General on the staff of General 
Black, commandin;^ the Pacific coast division 
of Patriarchs Militant. 

He was married in Oakland, March 22, 
1884, to Miss Edith Adams, who was born 
in Farmington, Maine, April 18, 1860, a 



daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Corbett) 
Adams, both of whom are still living. Their 
children are: Frederick Adams, born April 
5, 1885; Edna, April 30, 1887. 



"^y\nn 




fb--^*^--^l/inr^^^ 



SA P. TOWNER, a California pioneer 
of 1853, and one of the substantial 
farmers and dairymen of Marin county, 
came here in 1863, locating on his present 
farm of a thousand beautiful acres two and a 
half miles east of San Rafael, the situation 
overlooking the great bay of San Francisco. 
The firm is devoted to dairying and poultry 
raising, with a few acres of orchard. He has 
had as many as a hundred cows at one time. 
The products of his dairy he has sold prin- 
cipally in San Francisco. 

Mr. Towner's early life was passed on his 
father's farm in Boxford, Essex county, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was born, November 24, 
1825. He learned the carpenter's trade in his 
native State, and followed that calling for 
many years. His parents, Samuel and Char- 
lotte Towner, were both natives of Massa- 
cliu^^etts, and of the old and influential fam- 
ilies of that State, Asa being the ninth in a 
family of twelve children. January 20, 1853, 
he took passage from New York, by way of 
Panama, for California, on the old stetmers 
Ohio and Golden Gate, arriving February 19. 
He followed his trade until 1857, when he re- 
moved across the bay to Oakland and carried 
on business as a contractor and builder until 
1863, at which time he came to Marin 
county, and has since been considered one of 
the prominent dairymen. During his resi- 
dence here he has been Road Master six 
years. He also takes an interest in school 
matters and all enterprises that have for 
their object the welfare of the community. 
Politically he is a staunch and progressive 



252 



THB BAY OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



Republican. He is Btill unmarried and 
aflSliates with no secret order. He is a gen- 
tlenjan of retiring and modest disposition, 
and one who is highly respected by his friends 
and neighbors. 



^ 



^^%% 



HE 




R. EDWARD K. TAYLOR, one of 
the best-known members of the San 
Francisco bar and President of the 
Bar Association; is a native of Illinois, born 
at Springlie't^J- September 24, 1838. His 
father's family was among the oldest in the 
State of Delaware, and his mother belonged 
to one of the oldest and most prominent 
families in Philadelphia. 

Dr. Taylor received his education in Mis- 
souri, and after reaching manhood came to 
the Pacific coast, in 1862. He studied medi- 
cine and graduated at the Toland Medical 
College, after which he was engaged in the 
practice of that profession until 1867, when 
he accepted the position of private secretary 
to Governor Haight, performing the duties 
of that important post during the Governor's 
administration. He then took up the study 
of law, and was admitted to the bar of the 
Supreme Court in January, 1872 He en 
tered the law otKce of Jarboe & Harrison, ^nd 
two years later engaged in the practice of law, 
forming a co-partnership with Governor 
Haight in January, 1874. They continued 
in practice together until the death of Gov- 
ernor Haight, which occurred in September, 
1878. Soon after George W. Haight became 
a partner with Dr. Taylor, and they remained 
together until 1890, when the Doctor with- 
drew from the firm and has since continued 
to practice alone. He is a great student and 
not only a leading member of the San Fran- 
cisco bar but is prominently identified with all 




the progressive literary and educational in- 
terests of the city. 

Dr. Taylor was one of the fifteen free- 
holders to frame a charter in 1886 and 1887 
for the city of San Francisco. He is one of 
the Trustees of the Free Public Library, is 
Vice- President of the Cooper Medical College, 
and is an honorary member of the State 
Medical Society, the San Francisco County 
Medical Society, and the Alumni Society of 
the medical department of the University 
of California, besides being connected with 
other societies and organizations. 

W. SEELY, another prominent mem. 
ber of the San Francisco bar, was 
^ born in Pennsylvania, in 1859. His 
ancestors were early settlers of Pennsylvania, 
and filled honorable positions in life. His 
great-grandfather was born in that State, and 
was an officer in the Revolutionary war. His 
father. Colonel F. A. Seely, is likewise a 
native of the Keystone State, and served 
through the war of the Rebellion, and was 
retired as a Brevet Lieutenant-Colonel. He 
was appointed and served as a delegate to the 
international convention for protection of the 
industrial property held at Madrid, Spain- 
in 1890; now holds the position of Principal 
Examiner in the Patent Office at Washing- 
ton, D. C. 

Mr. L. W. Seely was reared and educated 
in his native State. He studied law in Wash, 
ington, and graduated at the Columbia Law 
School, after which he was admitted to the 
bar, and engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession. For six years he was a Solicitor of 
Patents. He is now associated in his law 
practice with General Ellis Spear, formerly 
Commissioner of Patents, the firm being 
Spear & Seely, with offices at San Francisco 



ITS 02 TIBS AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



253 



and Washington, D. C. Mr. Seely is the 
resident partner in San Francisco. 





[LMER CHILDS, architect, residing in 
Oakland, was born in Leavenworth, 
Kansas, April 24, 1863, a son of WiU- 
iam Wilkins and Sarah (Marshall) Childs, 
who came to California in 1874. The father, 
who was a native of New Jersey, has been 
mainly a builder, while the mother is a na- 
tive of IHiuois. Alter marriage they moved 
to Leavenworth, where the father followed 
the business of contracting for building. 
They have three living children: Eugene 
William, now of Florence, Pinal county, 
Arizona, Supervisor of Pinal county, en- 
gaged in cattle-raising; Lillian May, the wife 
of Hon. M. C. Chapman, attorney at Oakland, 
and the subject of this sketch. The last 
mentioned, being eleven years of age when 
he came to this coast, has received his educa- 
tion chiefly in Oakland. In his sixteenth 
year he entered an architect's ofSce, and has 
been an architect to the present time. In 
1891 he opened an office on his own account. 
He is a member of some of the athletic 
clubs. 

Ue was married in Oakland, in 1889, to 
Miss Anna Keier, a native of this city. 



W l 9% 



S - i"t - 2 



! • M > 




iMASA WRIGHT BISHOP, Postmas- 
ter of Oakland, is an old resident and 
prominent citizen, having been in this 
city for the past twenty- three years. He 
was born at Wallingford, Rutland county, 
Vermont, August 18, 1832; was educated 
for the bar, and at the age of twenty entered 
the law office of the Hon. David E. Nichol- 
son. By the laws of Vermont, five years' 



reading in the office of an attorney was 
necessary before admission to the bar, and 
then only upon the certificate and affidavit of 
good character and thorough examination. 
Mr. Bishop pursued his studies in the same 
office for five years, practicing in the mean- 
time in the courts of justices of the peace 
in his own and neighboring towns, and was 
always very successful. In 1857 he was ex- 
amined and admitted an attorney of the Rut- 
land County Bar. Always predisposed to 
literature, he wrote while a st 'ent more or 
less for the press. In 1857, lu connection 
with a schooUuiate and student in the same 
office, the late Hon. Philip H. Emerson, 
who for fifteen years served as District Judge 
and Associate Judge of the Supreme Court 
* of Utah, he started a small paper, simply for 
amusement, called the Local Spy^ which 
created no little stir in the staid community. 
The paper was continued for more than a 
year, and until Mr. Bishop left for Califor- 
nia, arriving in the Golden State early in 
1859 

He sought his fortune in the mines, as did 
nearly all new-comers at that time; but it 
did not require a great length of time to con- 
vince him that that calling was not for him. 
He returned to Marysville and for eight or 
nine months was engaged in the saddle and 
harness store of John W. Moore, one of 
Marysville's best citizens. Early in January, 
1860, at the request of Mr. Moore, he went 
to Red Bluff, Tehama county, to take charge 
of the same business for his brother, C. A. 
Moore. While in Marysville he was a con- 
stant writer for the press, and after locating 
in Red Bluff was a steady contributor to 
the Marysville Appeal and also to the Red 
Bluff Beacon, At the solicitation of lead- 
ing Republicans and anti-Lecompton Demo 
crats, he gave up his position with Mr. 
Moore and started the Semi-weekly Iiide- 



254 



THB BAY OF SAN FBANCISGC: 



pendent at Red Bluff, the first paper issued 
oitener than once a week north of Marys- 
ville, and the first paper to take the dis- 
patches — first of the Pony Express across the 
continent and afterward the telegraphic dis- 
patches. The first paper was issued August 
14, 1860. 

In the fall of 1860 he was appointed dep- 
uty District Attorney of Tehama* county; 
and, the District Attorney leaving the State 
soon after, he exercised that otlice until the 
next election. Tehama county was at that 
time one of the firmest Democratic strong- 
holds in the State, only thirty-nine Republi- 
can votes having been polled in 1859. At the 
presidential election of 1860, however, through 
the untiring labors of Mr. Bishop and the in- 
fluence of his paper, the Independent^ this 
vote was increased to 242 for Abraham Lin- 
coln, the remainder being divided between 
Douglas, Bell and Breckenridge. 

The next year, 1861, Mr. Bishop accepted 
the nomination of District Attorney from 
the Republican convention, and worked with 
so much energy and efiiciency, visiting near- 
ly ever voter in the county, that he beat the 
nominee of the combined Democracy (Breck- 
enridge and Douglas) by seventy-six votes. 
In 1862 the Republicans carried the county, 
electing its full ticket. Such was the change 
in public sentiment; and the credit of that 
change was due in p. great measure to the 
personal work of Mr. Bishop. At the session 
of the Legislature of 1863-64 his services 
were recognized, and he was chosen Assis- 
tant Secretary of the Senate by acclamation, 
and served during the session. The same 
year the Democratic paper, the Beacon^ suc- 
cumbed, and was bought by Mr. Bishop and 
merged in the Independent, 

November 7, 1863, Mr. Bishop married 
an estimable lady of Red Bluff— Ellen M., 
the daughter of Captain E. G. Reed, the pio- 



neer settler of the town, who located the 
town site and built the first house, a hotel, at 
the steamer landing. 

In 1865 Mr. Bishop sold his paper and de- 
voted his time to his profession, holding at 
the same time the position of Collector of 
Internal Revenue for the division inclnding 
Tehama, Colusa and Butte counties. The 
people of Chico, Butte county, learning that 
he had sold out his paper at Red BlofiT, pre- 
vailed upon him to locate at Chico and start 
a paper at that fast-growing and prosperous 
town. He went to Chico in the faH of 1865 
and started the Weekly Courant^ editing the 
paper and practicing law up to May, 1869, 
when he again sold out his business, office 
and dwelling, and moved to Oakland. In the 
summer he took a trip to hisold home in Ver- 
mont, and visited many points in the East- 
ern States. In J uly of that year he returned 
and opened a law office in San Francisco. 
Never idle, always most happy when pressed 
with business, he started the Masonic Mir- 
ror^ which he edited and published for four 
years. In 1872 he was solicited by many 
prominent citizens of Oakland to purchase 
the Oakland Daily Transcript and make it 
a stanch Republican journal. He yielded 
and succeeded in placing the paper upon a 
paying basis, although it cost him several 
thousand dollars — all he possessed, in fact — 
besides nearly breaking his constitution with 
severe labor, as he did the work of two or 
three men dnring the four years he conducted 
the paper. In 1876 he sold his interest in 
the paper, having previously sold a half in- 
terest, and in the summer of 1877 received 
the appointment of Superintendent of 
Bonded Warehouses of San Francisco, which 
position he held untilJuly, 1880. The same 
year he was elected City Justice of the 
Peace for Oakland, and in 1882 was re- 
elected, without opposition. 



IT8 0ITIB8 AND THBIR 8UBURB3, 



"SniO 



In 1884 he formulated the plan and or- 
ganized the Mutual Endowment Association 
of Oakland, which has proven a success, hav- 
ing paid to members during the past seven 
years over $200,000 in endowments, death 
claims and disability benefits, furnishing a 
profitable investment for savings as well as 
life and endowment insurance. At the city 
election of March, 1887, at the earnest solici- 
tation of the citizens of the Fifth Ward, Mr. 
Bishop accepted the nomination for Council- 
man, and was elected; and on the assembling 
of the new council he was unanimously 
elected president of that body, and served in 
that capacity two years. In May, 1890, he 
was appointed Postmaster of Oakland by the 
President of the United States, which oflice 
he now holds, to the satisfaction of the peo- 
ple generally, having in the short time of his 
incumbency made many important improve- 
ments in the postal service, and has many 
more inaugurated, which, with the assistance 
of the people, he will carry out during his 
term, in hopes that the culmination of his 
labors will be a new postoflice building cred- 
itable to the city. 

Mr. Bishop has always been active in poli- 
tics, but he has never stooped to deceive or 
forfeit his integrity, ever holding that hon- 
esty should prevail in politics as well ae in 
the business afiairs of life. If he could not 
support a man, he was ever free to tell him 
so. When he does support a man at all, he 
does it with his whole might, mind and soul. 
A friend he never forsakes ; and if he has an 
enemy it. never troubles him or disturbs his 
feelings. His motto has ever been the gol- 
den rule. It would be impossible, it is true, 
for a man to be active in politics and publish 
a strict, terse, incisive party paper and not 
make enemies; yet Mr. Bishop has probably 
as few enemies as any man in Oakland, for 
the reason that he has always avoided person- 



alities, dealing wholly with principles and 
not with men. When he combats what he 
considers false doctrines, his pen is as sharp 
and effective as a two-edged sword. 

His literary works aro all of a high order. 
A California romance, " Kentuck," received 
the highest encomiums from the press 
throughout the coast, as the best exposition 
of California life ever given to the public. 
He is also author of a romance entitled 
" Dandy Doane," which also was highly com- 
mended, copied and re-copied by literary 
papers both West and East. 

Mr. Bishop is a member of all the Masonic 
bodies and a past officer of most of them, as 
well as a past officer of the order of United 
Workmen. 

Few persons in California have a more ex- 
tensive acquaintance than Mr. Bishop, and 
those who know him best most appreciate 
his integrity of character, firmness of pur- 
pose, honesty of motives and upright life, 
while all admit his ability as a terse and for- 
cible writer, a man of general information, 
well read in the law and a useful citizen. 



' g ' l"f2 ' 



I* ♦ o 




W. SHAW is the oldest artist in the 

profession in California, and resides 

^ in San Francisco. He has painted the 

portraits of many prominent men on this 

coast, and is not only the oldest but is the 
best known artist in the State. He was born 

on a farm near Windsor, Vermont, December 
15, 1817, and is a descendant of early New 
England ancestry. Both his grandfathers 
served in the lievolutionary war. 

Mr. Shaw received a common school edu- 
cation, and, being of a mechanical and in- 
ventive turn, learned the trade of mechanic. 
He subsequently taught penmanship for three 
years while a pupil in an academy at Norwich, 



250 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



Vermont. He was elected Professor of 
Drawing in the Military College there, this 
being the first stepping-stone to his life work. 
He went South in 1842, and for several 
years was engaged in artistic work in the 
Southern States. When General Taylor re- 
turned from Mexico after the war, Mr. Shaw 
went to Baton Rouge and painted several 
portraits of the General — one being for the 
General's own family. Subsequently he was 
commissioned by the city of New Orleans to 
paint a full-length portrait of General Smith, 
then Military Governor of the city of Mex- 
ico. On his way to the city of Mexico he 
served as aid-de-camp on the staff of General 
Loomis from Vera Cruz to the city. 

He came to California from New Orleans 
via the Isthmus route, making the Pacific 
voyage in the Humboldt, arriving at San 
Francisco August 30, 1849. He followed 
the throng to the mines and epent the winter 
there, thence to Sacramento, and from there 
came to this city. Being a member of the 
expedition that discovered Humboldt bay, he 
was of the first party which entered the bay 
in an open boat just as the sun was setting, 
April 5, 1850. Some of the party wished to 
name it for him and for other members o^ 
the company, but he objected and insisted 
that it should be called Humboldt. He made 
a sketch of the bay and surroundings and 
named the island*; was there several years, 
and during that time painted a number of 
portraits, among them being one of the old 
chief. 

Returning from that expedition, he loca- 
ted i)erraanently in San Francisco. The first 
portrait ho painted here was that of an old 
friend. Mayor Geary. He was commissioned 
to paint a portrait of Colonel Baker for Presi- 
dent Lincoln, after the former was killed at 
Ball's Bluff. By the War Department he was 
commissioned to paint a portrait of General 



Scofield, and he also held commisBions for pur- 
traits of a number of prominent men, among 
whom were Chief Justice Field, John B. Felton 
and the late William Ralston. He has painted 
all the past officers of grand bodies of the 
Masonic order and several subordinate lodges 
in the State, besides the past officers of many 
other societies, including those of his own 
lodge, California No. 1, of which he has 
been a member for thirty-six years. Not- 
withstanding his advanced age, he is still 
actively engaged in his profession, and does 
his work without the aid of glasses. For 
one of his portraits of General Taylor he re- 
ceived a medal from the American Institute 
of New York. 

The Professor's two children are Mrs. 
Edward H. Martin, of Los Angeles, and El- 
ton R., now of San Jose. 




EORGE WILLIAM DAVIS, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 431 Geary street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California for the past twenty-one years, 
practicing his profession. Bom near St. 
Joseph, Missouri, in Buchanan county, his 
early education was had in the public and 
private schools of his neighborhood. At the 
age of eighteen, in 1862, he enlisted in the 
Confederate service during the late war, and 
served until the close of the struggle. He 
was wounded April 9, 1864, in the battle at 
Pleasant Hill, Louisiana, while under the 
command of General Richard Taylor, operat- 
ing against General Banks' expedition. 

After the close of the war he attended 
school at the Union Academy near Spring- 
ville, Louisiana. Subsequently he taught 
school almost a year. Returning to his home 
in Missouri, he began the study of medicine 
under the preceptorship of his father. Dr. S. 



ITS OITIES AND THBIR 8UBURB8. 



267 



Davis, and after a year thus spent he went to 
St. Louis, Missouri, attended lectures at the 
Missouri Medical College and graduated in 
March, 1870. Removing immediately to 
California, he located at Chico, Butte county, 
and practiced there until 1881. Then he 
Bpent the larger part of a year in New York 
city, reviewing his medical studies at the 
Beilevne Hospital Medical College, devoting 
himself more especially to surgery. On his 
return to California he located at Sacramento 
where he remained a year; and in the spring 
of 1883 he removed to San Francisco. In 
May, 1888, he went to Europe and studied in 
the hospitals of London, Paris, Berlin and 
Vienna for fourteen months, with special 
reference to gynecology. He is a member of 
the American Medical Association, of the Cal- 
ifornia State Medical Society, and of the San 
Francisco Medical Society, and of the Geo- 
graphical Society of the Pacific. 

On his father's side he is of early New 
England stock, his great-grandfather. Captain 
Daniel Davis, having been a prominent man 
in Boston, and later a Captain in the Kevo- 
lutiunary war; afterward he joined the 
company of Ohio Associates, under General 
Rnfus Putnam, who commenced the settle 
ment of Ohio in 1788. On his mother's side 
he is of Irish stock ; her ancestry early settlecf 
in New York city, and subsequently at Win- 
chester, Virgin ia> where his mother was bom. 

His grandfather, Colonel Jesse Davis, born 
July 23, 1778, at Killingly. Ohio, was in 
many respects a remarkable man. He had not 
only a stalwart frame, a noble and command- 
ing presence, but strong intellectual endow- 
ments joined with a decisive character, a 
moral courage and persistence in maintaining 
the right whicli made his influence for good 
great in the community in which ho lived. 
He was active in public affairs; for many 
years Town Clerk, Justice of the Peace, Col- 



onel of Militia — a very eflicient officer, and 
when lounted on his horse in military dress 
presented a fine appearance. He died in 
the fullness of a ripe and vigorous man- 
hood. His father. Doctor Simon Davis, 
born August 21, 1808, in Washington coun- 
ty, Ohio, had a good common-school educa- 
tion, and at seventeen years of age received 
a certificate of qualification to teach. At an 
early age he removed to Audrain county, 
Missouri, where he continued teaching till 
1841, when he was married to Eliza M. Gray; 
and at about the same time began the study 
of medicine in the Kem])€r Medical School 
in St. Louis, graduating in 1844. Shortly 
after he located in Buchanan county, Mis- 
souri, where he resided till removing to Cal- 
ifornia in 1869. He died in San Francisco, 
July 21, 1889. He was an honorable and 
successful physician. His life was an active 
one. He was an nntiring student, a pains- 
taking investigator of every subject and 
question that required his consideration. He 
wrote extensively. He abounded in the 
amenities of life. Though of a genial, kindly 
and to a degree of a timid disposition, 
he yet possessed great boldness in defence of 
the right; and entered with the heartiest 
sympathy in the protection of the weak and 
needy. He was a most exemplary Christian 
gentleman; preeminently conscientious and 
true; and no man occupied a higher position 
in the genuine respect and esteem of all who 
knew him. His wife, who was a noble and 
true companion, and a loving and devoted 
mother, is living, and resides at Alameda, 
California. 



* »•# »i 



h^ 



9 < l> >Ot 



^N. F. M. ANGELLOTTI, Judge of the 
Superior Court of Marin county, is 
among the leading legal lights of the 
Golden State, none perhaps being more 




258 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



worthy of mention than the above named 
gentleman. He is a native of California, and 
probably the youngest Superior Judge in the 
State. He was born at San Rafael in 1861, 
his parents being Joseph and Frances (Osgood) 
Angellotti. The father, now deceased, was a 
native of Italy, and the mother of Maine. 
Our subject; the eldest of their two children, 
is a graduate of the Boys' High School, San 
Francisco, in the class of 1879. Immediately 
afterward he entered the law office of Judges 
Darwin and Murphy, of San Francisco, as a 
law student, and graduated at the Hastings 
Law School in 1882, and was admitted to 
practice by the State Supreme Court the same 
year. The year 1883 found him in active 
practice in his native city. In 1884 he was 
elected District Attorney, and filled that im- 
portant otKce until elected to his present 
position, which was in November, 1890. 

He was joined in marriage in Alameda 
county, in 1884, with Miss Emma Cearley, 
and they have one daughter living, Marion, 
and one deceased. Politically Mr. Angellotti 
is allied with the Republican party, and so- 
cially affiliates with the F. & A. M., Marin 
Lodge, No. 1*91, in which he is Past Master; 
also the I. O. O. ¥. and the order of Druids, 
and is a prominent member of the N. S. G. 
W., Mount Tamalpais Parlor. He was a 
charter member of the latter, and had the 
honor of being its first President. Socially 
he is a gentleman, and has the contidence and 
respect of his fellow-citizens. 



ANUEL Y. FERRER.— The subject 
of this sketch, the well-known mu- 
sician and an honored citizen of San 
Francisco, is a native of Lower California, 
born in May, 1832. He came from a musical 




family and developed a talent for music at 
an early age, making rapid progress in his 
studies. 

In 1850 Seflor Ferrer came to San Fran- 
cisco, continued his musical studies here and 
also engaged in teaching, and for the past 
thirty-five years has taught classical masic 
in this city, numbering among his piipiis 
some of the brightest and most talented ma- 
sicians on the Coast. While he teaches the 
mandolin and other instruments, he makes a 
specialty of guitar music. He is very pains- 
taking and thorough and is never satisfied 
until hit) pupils attain a high standard in 
their art. Seilor Ferrer has devoted mach 
time and attention to composition for gaitar 
music, his work being adopted not only here 
and in Eastern cities, but also in Europe. 

He wedded Miss Jesusita Zuniga de Yiyar, 
a lady of rare attainments and, like her hus- 
band, an accomplished musician. Of their 
ten children all inherit their parents' talents 
for music, and in their home circle is an 
orchestra of rare merit. Miss Eugenie is a 
pianist. Miss Carmelita's special instrument 
is the mandolin. Miss Adele's the guitar, and 
Mr. Ricardo is a violinist, each being an 
instructor. The three latter, upon a recent 
Eastern visit, while in Washington, under 
tlie patronage of Mrs Senator Hearst, by in- 
vitation of President and Mrs. Harrison, 
played at the White House. At the musi- 
cales given by Mrs. Hearst at her elegant 
home in Washington these gifted musicians 
were the recipients of hearty congratnlatious 
from the select circles who enjoyed the 
privilege of being present. The exquisite 
harmony of their playing was equally appre- 
ciated ill New York, where they gave musi- 
cales at the Vanderbilt mansion, and other 
places, in other Eastern cities, their success 
being a great musical triumph. The young- 
est members of the family, Miss Amelia and 



ITS 0ITIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



259 




Leonore, have decided talent for the strings 
and the piano. 

Professor Ferrer is a modest and reserved 
gentleman at all times. He has done much 
to advance the interests of the musical pro 
fessiou here, and both socially and profession- 
ally enjoys an enviable reputation. His 
attractive home on Pine street is a noted 
musical center, and in it their large circle of 
appreciative friends are most graciously re- 
ceived and royally entertained. 



^-^vi/^^Z?/^ 



iLiJAM D. McCarthy, m. d., 

whose office is at 111 Eddy street, 
residence 1030 Mission street, San 
Francisco, has been a resident of California 
since 1861, and has been engaged in the 
practice, of medicine since 1882. He was 
born in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1861, and 
came to California with his parents while he 
was yet an infant. His education was 
received in San Francisco, in the St. Mary's 
College, where he spent about thirteen years, 
and was graduated as Master of Arts. He 
then went to St. Mary's Hospital, where he 
was a druggist for several years, and later 
filled the place of interne. In 1879 he en- 
tered the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of the Pacific, now the Cooper Medical 
College, graduating at that institution in 
1882, and receiving his degree as Doctor of 
Medicine. He was immediately appointed 
Superintendent of the St. Mary's Hospital, 
which position he held for three years. Since 
1885 he has been engaged in private practice 
in San Francisco. In 1887 Dr. McCarthy 
was appointed a member of the Board of 
Health, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. 
William Douglas, who resigned at that 
time. He was then reappointed, and held this 
position for three years, or until 1869, when 



he resigned. He is a member of the State 
Medical Society, and of the County Medical 
Society of San Francisco, and is Surgeon of 
the Second Artillery, in which he has served 
for over four and one-half years. At present 
he is Senior Surgeon of the Second Brigade. 

H I Mg . j ll t i g 




D. BRANDON, a lawyer of San Fran- 
cisco, was born in England, in 1846, 
^ studied civil engineering during his 
youth, and in early manhood, in 1874, emi- 
grated to the United States. Two years later 
he came to California, studied law, was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1880, and since then hae 
been successsully engaged in his practice, 
which is mainly in the civil department of the 
law — probate practice, real estate, land titles, 
etc. Coming here an entire stranger, his 
success is owing to his own efforts. He has 
no aspiration or taste for office, preferring to 
devote his time to the interests of his chosen 
calling. 

He is identified with the order of Chosen 
Friends, for which body he drew up the con- 
stitution of the present Grand Council of 
California. He is also an active member of 
the Ancient Order of Foresters and of the 
Sons of St. George, for which body he pre- 
pared the constitution of the Grand Lodge 
of the jurisdiction to which he belongs, and 
is engaged in a revision of the entire body of 
laws of the Supreme Lodge. 





RANK KENNEDY, a member of the 
San Francisco bar, canie to the Pacific 
coast from Boston in 1853. He at- 
tended school at Boston during early boyhood, 
and completed his education in this State. 
Entering the law office of the late Hon. 



260 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRAN0I8G0: 



Horace Hawes, a leading member of the bar, 
who was the author of the Consolidation 
act and the Great Kegistry law of Califor- 
nia, he was admitted to the bar of the Sii- 
preme Coart at Sacramento, and later was 
admitted to the bar of the United States 
Circuit and District Courts, and engaged in 
general civil practice in the city. State and 
Federal Courts. He has given much atten- 
tion to probate, divorce and land matters. 
He is a Republican in politics, and cast his 
first presidential vote for General Fremont. 
He is connected with the Masonic order and 
I. O. O. F. For many years he was actively 
identified with the military department of 
of the State. In 1864 he was a member of 
the Sacramento Light * Artillery Company? 
under Captain Edgar Mills and Lieutenant 
M. M. Estee. For many years he was also 
connected at San Francisco with the Washing- 
ton Guards and the San Francisco Hussars, 
and was a member of the said Hussars who 
did camp service in 1861 in Alameda; and 
he and Sergeant Kruse, the Mexican war vet- 
eran, were instructors there in sabre prac- 
tice. Mr. Kennedy is also connected with 
other organizations. 

AMUEL JAMES CORBETT, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 402 O'Farrell 
street, San Francisco, has been a resi- 
dent of California since 1858, and engaged 
in the practice of medicine since 1868. He 
was born in Rome, New York, in 1837. and 
is of Scotch and French descent. His family 
trace their ancestry back to 1650, when they 
came from Scotland and settled in New Eng- 
land. His maternal grandfather was a native 
of France, who came to America previous to 
the Revolutionary war, and commanded a 
regiment as colonel on the patriot side 




during that war. Dr. Oorbett's father, 
Samuel Fulton Corbett, owned a farm where 
Rome, New York, now stands. He died in 
Massachusetts in 1849. 

Samuel, our subject, received his early ed- 
ucation in the public schools of Newton, 
Upper Falls and Cambridgeport, Massacha- 
setts, and graduated at the high school 
of the former city. He came to California 
by way of Cape Horn in 1858, and for aboat 
three years was engaged in mining and 
ranching. In 1862 he joined the military 
company known as the California Hnndred, 
which became Company A, Second Massa- 
chusetts Cavalry. This command served 
during the war, first in the Department of 
Washington, and later in the Army of the 
Potomac, and for the last year in the Shen- 
andoan Valley in Sheridan's Cavalry. Dur- 
ing that time Dr. Corbett took part in the 
battles of South Anna Bridge, Brook ville, 
Doyle's Tavern, Ashby's Gap, Little River 
Pike, Drainsville, Rectortown, Point of 
Rocks, Addie, Frederick Pike, Tenallytown, 
Rockville, Poolsville, Leesburg, Snicker's 
Gap, Nolan's Ford, Shepardstown, White 
Po8t, Middletown, Kernstown, Winchester, 
Cedar Creek, Perryville Pike, Charlestown, 
Summit Point, Halltown, Berryville, Smith- 
field, Opequan Creek, Knox Ford, Fort 
Royal, Snake Mountain, Luray Court- 
house, Mills' Ford. Waynesboro, Monnt 
Crawford, Tom's Brook, Strasburg, Madison 
Court house, Gordonsville, White-Oak Road^ 
South Anna, Dinwiddie Court house, Five 
Forks, Southside Railroad, Devil's Ford, 
Sailor's Creek and Appomattox Court- 
house. During these engagements Dr. 
Corbett was twice wounded; first in the 
skirmish near Winchester, and later at Din- 
widdie Court house. He was mustered out 
in July, 1865, and returned at once to Cali- 
fornia. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR aUBURBS. 



261 



He 8oon commenced the study of medicine 
under the preceptorehip of Dr. L. C. J-Ane, 
and at the same time entered the medical 
department of the University of the Pacific, 
graduating at that institution in 1868. He 
at once commenced the practice of his pro- 
fession, in which he has since been continu- 
ously engaged. He is a member of the Grand 
Army of the liepublic, Lincoln Post, No. 1, 
of which he was Commander during the 
national campaign parade of 1886. He has 
been for a number of years Surgeon of that 
post. In 1889 he was elected Surgeon of 
the Department of California. 



i4 




¥£ 




BOUSHEY, M. D., whose office is at 
No. 1303 Mission street, San Francisco, 
^ kft been a resident of California since 
1876, and has been in the practice of medi- 
cine since 1874. He was born in La Porte, 
Indiana, in 1841, and his early education was 
received in Detroit, Michigan, where he at- 
tended the public schools. At the age of 
twenty-one years he removed to Cincinnati, 
where he attended private schools for a num- 
ber of years, and also spent about six years 
in various mercantile pursuits. In 1869 he 
commenced the study of medicine, under the 
preceptorship of Dr. Charles Kearns, of Cov- 
inorton, Kentucky, and later under Dr. James 
T. Whitaker and P. S. Conner, a surgeon of 
Cincinnati. Dr. Boushey then entered the 
Medical College of Ohio, at Cincinnati, 
graduating at that institution March 4, 1874. 
He practiced for about one year in Ohio, and 
then came to California, first locating in Oak- 
land, and later, in 1880, in San Francisco, 
where he has since been engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession. He is a member of 
the County Medical Society of San Francisco, 
and of the State Medical Society of California. 




Dr. Boushey is of French descent on the 
paternal side; his father was a native of Can- 
ada. His mother is of Dutch descent, whose 
ancestors settled in Pennsylvania, although 
she was a native of Kentucky. Dr. Boushey 
was married to Mrs. Richards, of Prescott, 
Canada, a daughter of Major Glendenning, 
who fought in the British army at Waterloo, 
and later was a pensioned British officer in 
Canada. 

M l *i ^ • ] •> { * § '* • " — 

[HARLES T. DENNIS, San Francisco, 
was born in Dan vers, Massachusetts, 
August 30, 1840. His father, Thomas 
Dennis, came to California with his family 
in 1855, locating in Santa Barbara. In 1859 
he was appointed Sheriff of Santa Barbara 
county, in 1860 elected to the same office, and 
was re-elected for the two succeeding terms. 
The subject of our sketch was appointed 
jailor when hardly twenty years of age. 
After serving a short time be was appointed 
Under-Sheriff, which office he held four years. 
Before he was of age he was appointed Post- 
master at Santa Barbara, by President 
Buchanan, and while serving as Und^r- 
Sheriff and Postmaster he was also appointed 
Collector of Internal Revenue. In 1863 he 
removed the Internal Revenue office to Los 
Angeles, where he resided about two years. 
Then he returned to Santa Barbara and en- 
gaged in mercantile pursuits. This venture 
proving unprofitable, in consequence of suc^^ 
cessive years of drouth, Mr. Dennis removed 
to San Francisco and entered the employ of 
the Sutter Street Railroad Company, holding 
the responsible position of conductor on the 
road of that company nearly five years. After 
that he with his uncle, E. K. Cooley, engaged 
in the business of manufacturing the tule 
bottle cover, an invention of their own; but 
the expense of maintaining their rights in 



263 



T8E bay of SAN FRANC I 800 1 



the courts made the business unprofitable and 
they sold it out. In 1873 Mr. Dennis opened 
a general collection and commission agency, 
which he continued until 1885, when he 
opened a real-estate office on Kearny street. 
He has now large tracts of laud in Tehama, 
Kern and Fresno counties, and smaller tracts 
in Shasta, Modoc, Lake, Sonoma and Contra 
Costa counties. He is also doing a large 
business in Oakland properties. 

Mr. Dennis was married, in 1861, to Miss 
Jenettie C. Cooley, a daughter of Judge F. 
Cooley, late of Woodville, Mississippi. He 
has one son and two daughters. 



-^7=^©* 



:i- 




E. VAN METER, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 428 Ellis street, 
'^ San Francisco, has been a resident 
of California since 1884, and engaged in the 
practice of medicine since 1874. He was 
born in La Salle county, Illinois, in 1851, 
and is of Scotch and English descent, being a 
descendant on his father's side of one of two 
brothers named Van Meter who came from 
Holland and settled in Virginia in an early 
day. Our subject's parents were both natives 
of Kentucky, and moved to Illinois in the 
early '408. The father, Jacob Van Meter, 
was a farmer, and was also interested in other 
business pursuits. He was a pioneer of Ar- 
kansas, Missouri and Illinois, and died in the 
latter State in 1879. 

The subject of this sketch received his 
early education in the public schools of 
Brookfield, Missouri, where he graduated, at 
the Brookville Academy, and later entered 
the Whipple Academy, Jacksonville, Illinois, 
where he took a business course, graduating 
in 1870. After leaving school Dr. Van 
Meter's first occupation was teaching, in Mis- 
souri, continuing in that profession for two 



years. In 1873 he commenced the study of 
medicine, under the preceptorship of his 
brother. Dr. A. Van Meter, of Maltabend, 
Missouri with whom he remained two years. 
His health having become impaired, the 
Doctor came to the Pacific coast, where he 
spent about two years iu the mountains and 
teaching school, traveling to regain his health. 
Returning to Missouri, he entered the St. 
Joseph Hospital Medical College (regular) at 
St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1877, graduating at 
that college in 1879. After his graduarion 
he took a special course on diseases of women 
at the same college. He then entered into 
practice in Wakenda, same State, remaining 
until 1883, when he located at Lamar and 
Marysville, Missouri; next he went to St. 
Louis, where he took a special course in sur- 
gery and diseases of women. He came to 
California in 1884, locating at Red Bluff, 
where he built up a large patronage, and 
while there was appointed Surgeon for the 
Southern Pacific Railroad Company, where 
he had a large surgical practice amjng the 
employees. He also gained an enviable 
reputation in the treatment of diseases of 
women, patients having been brought to him 
for over 100 miles from adjoining counties. 
In 1889 Dr. Van Meter came to San Fran- 
cisco and entered the California Medical Col- 
lege (Eclectic), where he took a full post- 
graduate course. Being invited to take a 
professorship in that college, and recognizing 
the vastness of the field offered by this me- 
tropolis in his professional work, the Doctor 
settled up his business in Red Bluff, and re- 
moved to this city, in June, 1890, where he 
expects to remain permanently in the prac- 
tice of his profession. He at first occupied 
the Chair of Theory and Practice, but in the 
latter part of the season of 1890 he was 
appointed to the Chair of Clinical and Ortho- 
pasdic Surgery, which position ho still holds. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



268 



He is also associate editor and dnsiness 
manager of the California Medical Journal. 
Dr. Van Meter is a self-made man, having 
paid for his own taition in the various 
schools and colleges, both literary and medi- 
cal, at which he has graduated. He is an 
enthusiastic and enterprising student of sur- 
gery, having among other operations success- 
fully engrafted the skin of a dog upon a 
patient suffering from a severe burn. The 
operation was attended with complete suc- 
cess, and is recorded in the annals of surgery, 
the only case of the kind on record in the 
United States. He used the skin from a 
hairless pup. This was a case of severe and 
extensive burn. He took sections of skin 
for the face and neck from the father and 
brother of the patient. For the arms he 
used puppy grafts taken from the two young 
puppies of the Mexican hairless breed. Dr. 
Van Meter has also invented some valuable 
surgical instruments, which are in use by the 
profession. 




LETCHER F. RYER is a native son, 
born in this 8tate of parents who 
were old and honored citizens. His 
father. Dr. W. M. Ryer, a prominent physi- 
cian and an honored citizen, came here iu 
1849, and is still a resident here, though at 
present in Europe. Mr. Ryer was reared 
and attended school here, and he also attended 
the University of California. After com- 
pleting his preparatory course he entered 
Harvard College and graduated in the class 
of 1883. He studied law, taking a course at 
the Columbia Law School, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1885, and since has successfully 
practiced his profession here. While en- 
gaged in general civil practice he has given 
much attention to reclamation of lands on 
the Sacramento river, and is President of the 



Board of Trustees of Reclamation District 
No. 501. While connected with several col- 
lege societies he is not prominently identified 
with fraternal organizations, devoting his 
whole time to the interests of his profession. 



-J^ 



^ 




A. BERTELING is a native of Boston 
Massachusetts, where he was born in 
'^ 1847. He lost both parents when 
quite young and suffered many hardships in 
consequence, but being naturally self-reliant 
he fought his way to manhood uncomplain- 
ingly. Having a natural inclination for 
mechanics, he served an apprenticeship, and 
became an expert instrument maker. In 
1866 he came to California, and after re- 
maining awhile in Oroville he came to San 
Francisco, where he sought employment and 
worked at pattern-making until the job gave 
out. He then went to Santa Cruz, where he 
obtained employment again, but was de- 
frauded of his pay. Assisted by friends he 
returned to New York, but soon became dis- 
contented, and in 1868 he came again to San 
Francisco. Here he commenced the study of 
optics, in which he persevered for years, often 
under adverse circumstances, but with a de- 
termination to succeed. Thinking to better 
his condition financially he went to Arizona 
in 1874; but, not l)eing pleased with the 
prospect there, after barely escaping drown- 
ing in the Colorado, and scalping by the 
Indians, he returned to San Francisco and 
embarked for South America, where he spent 
nearly five years, principally in Ecuador and 
the United States of Colombia, engaged in a 
general merchandise and jewelry business. 

During this time he continued his studies, 
and invented several valuable optical instru- 
ments, his skill as an instrument-maker being 
of great assistance to him. At length he 



264 



THB BAT OF SAN FEAN0I8C0: 



determined to devote himself to his profes- 
sion, and he sold oat his business and re 
turned to San Francisco in 1879, where he 
established himself in the business in which 
he has since become so eminent. Among 
the most noted of his inventions some are of 
comparatively recent date, as his demonstra- 
tive ophthalmoscope, refraction ophthalmo- 
scope, prismometer, compound optometer, 
simple optometer, myopic scale, eye glasses, 
charts and objective, etc. He has also dis- 
covered a simple and accurate method by 
which to determine imperfections of the eye. 
He was married, in 1880, to Miss E. L. 
Knoll, a daughter of George Knoll, of San 
Francisco. 






•M^A 




ILLIAM WllsTEK, who died No- 
vember 6, 1890, was one of the pio- 
neer settlers of California, having 
arrived in this State in the early part of 1850. 
He was born in Greenwich township, War- 
ren county. New Jersey, in 1825, and re- 
ceived his early education in the public 
schools of Belvidere. His father, Daniel F. 
Winter, was the Sherifl' of Warren county 
for some years, and also kept a hotel in* Bel- 
videre, in both of which occupations he was 
assisted for some years by the subject of this 
sketch, and who in turn filled the office of 
Slieriff himself. Later Mr, Winter removed 
to New Y^ork city, where he remained until 
1849 engaged in mercantile pursuits. Mean- 
while his family had removed to Wisconsin, 
where they had permanently settled. In 
1849, attracted by the wonderful stories of 
the gold found in the new El Dorado of the 
West, he started for New York, where he 
took passage on one of the first ships starting 
to this coast by way of Panama. Being de- 
tained on the Isthmus, he did not reach Cali- 
fornia until early- in 1850. He engaged for 



a short time in mining, but soon decided to 
enter the pursuits connected with business 
life. He at first opened an establishment for 
sign painting, at which he was an adept, and 
in which he received the first premium for 
ornamental sign painting at both the Me- 
chanics' Industrial Exposition and the Bay 
District Fair at San Francisco in 1860. For 
the past twenty years Mr. Winter has been 
engaged in real estate transactions, mostly in 
city property. He was a member of the 
Vigilance Committee of 1856, and assisted 
prominently in clearing the city of its obnox- 
ious elements. 

Mr. Winter was married in 1858 to Miss 
Fanny M. Croft, of Horicon, Wisconsin, a 
native of Lincolnshire, England, and daugh- 
ter of Matthew E. Croft, who removed to 
the United States, and lived to the age of 
ninety years in Dodge county, Wisconsin. 
Mr. Winter had eleven children, of whom 
two sons and six daughters are now living, 
the eldest being Mrs. G. G. Wickson, of this 
city. Another daughter is Mrs. E. B. Saisig, 
living in Mendocino county. Mr. Winter 
was a life member of the San Francisco Art 
Association, and of the Mercantile Library 
Association; also, for many years Secretary 
of the Territorial Pioneer Association. 



-*i W — '""T '♦■^^^M' 





N. BUSH, Principal of the Com- 
mercial High School in San Fran- 
^ Cisco, was born in Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1857, of New England parents, 
attended school during boyhood, and after 
completing his preparatory course, entered 
Harvard College and graduated in the class 
of 1882. The following year he went to 
Peoria, Illinois, and the same year came to 
San Francisco, and was appointed to the head 
o\' the mathematic il department of the Oak- 



ITS CITIES AND TUEIB aUBURBS. 



265 



land high school, and retained that position 
three years. He then occnpied a similar po- 
sition, as the head of the mathematical de- 
partment of the Boys' High School in San 
Francisco. The Commercial High School 
was organized in 1883, the coarse embracing 
twelve to eigKteen months. In October, 
1889, it was declared a high school by the 
Board of Education. Professor Bush was 
offered and accepted the position as Principal 
of the school. The course was lengthened to 
two years, and several academic studies 
added, together with English literature, 
geometry, physics and Spanish. In the 
type-writing department are thirty-five type- 
writers, and each pupil has two hours' daily 
practice in short-hand. There are ten regu- 
lar and several special teachers. The enroll- 
ment has increased from 50 to 500. Prof. 
Bush is prominently identified with the 
teaching profession of the city, with the 
State Teachers' Association, and educational 
work of the Pacific coast generally, being a 
regular contributor at the sessions of these 
organizations. 




^ ' 3"^^" 

HOMAS KEANE, deceased, for many 
years one of San Francisco's most 
prominent business men, was a resi- 
dent of California since 1863, and up to the 
time of his death, in April, 1890, was 
actively interested in business interests in 
this city. He was born in Kilrush, county 
Clare, Irelaiid, in 1841, of a good Irish fam- 
ily. His father was a well-to-do farmer of 
that county, and the family have been well 
known and highly respected for many genera- 
tions. Thomas received his early education 
in the school of the Christian Brothers, of 
Kilrush, where he graduated in 1856. He 
commenced his business education in his 
native land, serving an apprenticeship to the 

60 



dry-goods businest, which he learned very 
thoroughly. In that country the young men 
apprentices to that trade learn not only how 
to sell goods, but of what material they are 
made and how they are woven, so that almost 
by the touch they can tell the quality of a 
fabric. He caine t(» America in 1862, and 
was employed a short time at his Imsiness in 
New York city. In 1863 he came to San 
Francisco, where he soon afterward made his 
first venture into business, opening a dry- 
goods house on Third street, meeting with 
immediate success. In 1867 Thomas Keane 
and his brother James formed a copartner- 
ship with Messrs. O'Connor and Motfet, 
opening a store in Kearny street, under the 
firm name of Keane, O'Connor & Co. This 
business continued until the term of partner- 
ship expired in 1879, when the firm name of 
Keane Bros, was again resumed. Since his 
brother's death in 1880, Mr. Keane has been 
the sole manager of the business, although 
the firm name of Keane Bros, has been re- 
tained. In 1887 the business was removed 
to its present location on Market street, 
where it has since continued. 

In 1873 Mr. Keane was married to Miss 
Mary Josephine Difley, a native of St. Louis, 
Missouri, but who has been a resident of 
California since her early childhood. Her 
father, Peter Difley, also a native of Ireland, 
has been a successful business man of San 
Francisco, first as a contractor and builder, 
but for many years retired from business. 
Mrs. Keane is a highly cultivated woman, 
who received the fullest educational training 
in her mother's home and at the Convent of 
the Sacred Heart of San Francisco, where 
she graduated in 1869. She has brought up 
her family with the same care she received in 
her own home. Her mother was a remark- 
able person, a woman of education and good 
judgment, and of ^ family highly connected 



266 



TUB BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



in St. Louis. Her maiden name was Carlin, 
the town of Carlinville in Southern Illinois 
having been named for one of the family, 
Governor Thomas Carlin. Mr. Keane left a 
widow and eight children: the eldest, James, 
born in 1874, and the youngest, Marguerite, 
was less than a year old at her«father's death. 
He fortunately left his family in good cir- 
cumstances, and during all the years of his 
active connection with the business interests 
of San Francisco he held an enviable reputa- 
tion, and has left a name of which his chil- 
dren may be proud. Mr. Keane was a Roman 
Catholic, and a member and regular attend- 
ant of the Church of the Sacred Heart. He 
was a gentleman reverenced among his busi- 
ness associates for his honesty and upright- 
ness of purpose, respected by his employes 
as a friend, known throughout the entire 
community as a model Christian and gener- 
ous benefactor, whose kindly smile and genial 
ways won all hearts, whose business life was 
a synonym for honor and integrity, and whose 
home life was lovable and beautiful in the 
highest degree. 



-^^x/zn/l 



^,nnri^^ 




RED V. WOOD, of the law firm of 
Wood & Sawyer, of Oakland, was born 
in Sparta, Wisconsin, October 6, 1866, 
a son of Walter and Ellen M. (Armstrong) 
Wood, both natives of New York. After 
their marriage in Warsaw, New York, they 
moved to Wisconsin. The father, by trade a 
bricklayer and builder, enlisted in the Tenth 
Wisconsin Regiment Volunteer Infantry in 
1861, and served to the close of the war. 
He was wounded in the battle of Perry villa, 
and after returning to duty was in the battle 
of Murfreesborough, He was taken prisoner 
at Chickamauga, and was confined in Rich- 
mond, Danville and Andersonville prisons 



nineteen months. He escaped with some 
others from Danville, but was recaptured and 
held to the close of the war. In 1885 he 
came to this coast with his wife and two 
sons, Fred V. and Carl Franklin, arriving in 
Oakland November 3, 1885. He is a mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of thd Republic and 
of the Masonic order. Grandfather Arm- 
strong died in Michigan about 1884, aged 
ninety-seven. 

Fred V. Wood, the subject of this sketch, 
received his early education in his native 
town, and was graduated at its high school. 
Soon after his arrival in Oakland he became 
a law stadent and clerk of Edward C. Robin- 
son, and was admitted from his office to the 
bar of the Supreme Court of California, No- 
vember 12, 1888. He remained with Mr. 
Robinson until December 1, 1889, when he 
opened an office on his own account, and in 
May, 1890, formed a partnership with F. W. 
Sawyer, under the style of Wood & Sawyer. 
Mr. Wood is a member of Enterprise Lodge, 
No. 298, I. O. O. F., and of E. D. Baker 
Camp, No. 5, Sons of Veterans. He was 
elected Adjutant-General of the California 
Division Sons of Veterans in 1889, and 
Colonel of the same in 1890. He is a young 
attorney of great promise, and stands in the 
front ranks of the junior members of his 
profession. 



-*^-«* 



S - i"i - 2 



1^ M » 




YMAN I. MOWRY, attorney and 
counselor at law, San Francisco, is a 
native of Rhode Island, born at Woon- 
socket Falls, in 1848. His ancestors were 
among the founders of New England. His 
father, Lyman Mo wry, was a native of Rhode 
Island, and his ancestors wore the founders 
of the Smithtield plantation in 1648. His 
mother's family name was Whiting, whose 
ancestors were n^tjves of Massachusetts since 



IT8 CITIES AND THEIR 8UBURB8, 



267 



the seventeenth century. The father, Lyman 
Mowry, upon the discovery of gold in Cali- 
fornia, came to the Pacific coast in 1849, was 
among the early pioneers and engaged in 
contracting. He was one of the early con- 
tracting stevedores, and for many years loaded 
and discharged every important cargo arriv- 
ing and departing. When he came here he 
bought house and stables on the ship and 
erected the same on Pine street, where the 
Stock Exchange is now located, and the fam- 
ily resided there until 1875. His death oc- 
curred in January, 1855, being murdered in 
his own house. His violent death aroused 
the indignation of all classes, and his funeral 
was the largest that had ever been held in the 
city. His death was one cause of the organ- 
ization of the Vigilarf^ Committee. He left 
a widow and three children — two daughters 
and one son. The death of Mrs. Mowry oc- 
curred December 24, 1878. The elder daugh- 
ter died in 1863. The younger daughter, 
now Mrs. Dr. Welch, is a resident of this city. 
Lyman I. Mowry, the only son and the 
subject of this mention, came here with his 
mother and family in 1854. He attended 
school during boyhood and received his pre- 
paratory education here, went East and 
entered Harvard College, and graduated in 
the law department in 1871, taking the de 
gree of Bachelor of Laws. Upon his return 
he was admitted to the bar and for the past 
twenty years he has successfully practiced his 
profession in the city, State and Federal 
courts. He has a large Chinese practice, has 
tried more homicide cases among them per- 
haps than any other attorney in the State- 
He was also largely ini^trumeutal in the ex- 
posure of the corruption in what is known 
as the " Little Pete " bribery case**, and spent 
more than six months in doing so, and was 
several days before the well-remembered 
Menzies grand jury. 




Mr. Mowry is in political views a Repub- 
lican, but in no sense an office-seeker. 

T. CALLAHAN, M. D., whose resi- 
dence is at 1003 Devisadero street, 
^ San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1852, and for a few years of 
his earlier life was engaged in practice of 
medicine. He was born at Grand Gulf, 
Mississippi, in 1846, the son of the late Jere- 
miah Callahan, who was one of the pioneer 
merchants of San Francisco. He was con- 
nected with his brother, Daniel, in the early 
days of California in Shasta county. In 
1857 he established himself in this city and 
attended to the receiving and forwarding of 
merchandise to the houses in Shasta. He 
was also prominent in the organization of 
the Hibernian Bank of this city, in which he 
was a director for many years. At an early 
day Mr. Callahan bought largely of real es- 
tate in this city, which has become very val- 
uable. He died in this county iu 1872; and 
was a native of the connty of Cork, Ireland, 
having come to America as a young man, 
settling first in New York and then at Grand 
Gulf, Mississippi, where he acquired con- 
siderable property interests. The excitement 
following the discovery of gold brought him 
to California, where he soon became recog- 
nized as one of the active and leading spirits 
in its material development. 

The subject of this sketch received his 
early education at the Mount St. Mary's Col- 
lege of Emmitsburg, Maryland, where he re^* 
mained four years. He later went to Europe, 
where he studied at the TEcole des Mines, re- 
ceiving his education in chemistry, raining, 
mineralogy, etc. Returning to California, 
he entered the medical department of the 
University of California, where he graduated 



2(» 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANOISOO: 



in 1875. He then entered into practice in 
San Francisco and Oakland, in which he con- 
tinned for several years. Failing health 
caused him to give up the practice of medi- 
cine, and he has since devoted himself to his 
private property interests and literary pur- 
snits. Dr. Callahan has published since that 
time several volumes of poetry, among 
which are best known "Calderon Antiope," 
and the drama entitled "The Legion of 
Honor," which has been brought out at the 
Baldwin Theater of this city. The latter is 
a production adopted from the French drama, 
entitled L'Honneur de la Maison. Besides 
his literary work. Dr. Callahan occasionally 
indulges in speculations. 




'ULES CALLANDREAU, M. D., whose 
office is at No. 1,307 Stockton street, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1873, during which time he 
hag been continuously engaged in the prac 
tice of medicine. He was born at Oradour- 
Sur-Vayres, Haute- Vienne, France, in 1849, 
and his early education was received in the 
local schools of his native village. He after- 
ward entered the preparatory college at Dorat, 
in the same department where he was gradu- 
ated in 1865, receiving the degree of Bache- 
lor of Arts and Bachelor of Sciences. He 
then commenced the study of medicine at the 
preparatory Medical School of Limoges, 
where he remained two years, and during the 
second year was selected as interne or assist- 
ant to the clinics. Dr. Callandreau then 
entered the college of the faculty of medicine 
at Paris, graduating at that institution after 
a course of six years, early in 1873. During 
one of those years he was externe or outside as- 
sistant at the hospitals, and for two years 
served as interne, having had an extensive 



general practice, and especially in the field 
of infants' and children's diseases; also follow- 
ing assiduously the clinics of the best sur- 
geons in Paris. After passing his examin- 
ation, but previous to reaching his decree of 
Doctor of Medicine, the Franco-Prussian 
war came on, and he was appointed in one of 
the ambulance corps, which was stationed on 
the ramparts of Paris during the siege, re- 
maining in this service until the close of the 
war. He also served in the hospitals during 
the reign of the commune in Paris. Soon 
after receiving his degree he came to San 
Francisco, engaged in private practice, in 
which he has since continued. He is a mem- 
ber of the State Medical Society of California, 
and of the San Francisco Medical Benevolent 
Society. Dr. Callandreau has always de- 
voted himself to a general family practice, in 
which he has been very successful. • 

The Doctor's family on his father's .side 
have been long residents of the Charente De- 
partment, and on hi^j mother's side of the 
Haute- Vienne Department of France. Those 
families have long represented the business 
and professional ranks of life in those parts of 
France. His father is now a Justice pf the 
Peace, which office he has held since the 
fall of the late Emperor Napoleon. Dr. 
Callandreau went to Europe in 1884 as a dele- 
gate of the San Francisco Medical Benevo- 
lent Society to the Medical C<ingre8s held at 
Copenhagen, and remained fitlteen months, 
pursuing the great studies made in medicine 
and surgery on the continent of Europe. He 
is now over there again with the view of in- 
specting the London and Paris hospitals, 
taking besides a well-earned rest amid the ar- 
tistic treasuries of the Old World, of which 
he is a keen connoisseur, and is expected 
back from Europe to resume his practice 
about the end of September of the present 
year. 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



2(59 



He is a life member of the San Francisco 
Art Association, and of the Astronomical 
Society of the Pacific. He is the Consulting 
Physician to the French Hospital, and a life 
member of the French Benevolent Society. 
He was one of the founders of the Spanish 
Benevolent Society, of which he is a life mem- 
ber and a phjsician. 




ILLIAM H. SHARP, deceased, was 
an attorney of San Francisco. Many 
gentlemen have won high distinc- 
tion in the profession of the law in Cali- 
fornia; but there are very few, perhaps, who 
enjoy to so full an extent the esteem and con- 
fidence of their fellow citizens as does the 
gentleman whose name heads this article. 

He was born in the city of New York, in 
1824. From eighteen to twenty years of age 
he attended Yale College, preparing for the 
profession he has chosen. Being of regular 
and studious habits, he made rapid progress. 
He then entered the law ofiice of Charles 
Edwards, well known as the author of ''Ed- 
wards on Chancery" and other valuable 
works, and in due time he was admitted to 
practice before the Supreme Court. In 1852 
be cast his lot with the young and rapidly 
growing State of California, whither his 
elder brother, the late lamented George F. 
Sharp, had preceded him, and upon his arri- 
val in San Francisco the brothers entered in- 
to a law co-partnership, which continued 
until the death of the elder brother, in Octo- 
ber, 1883. Their practice was a lucrative 
one, and their clientage embraced many of 
the large business houses and corporations. 
The important snitsentrustecf to their charge 
were many and various; the principal part of 
their practice, however, was confined to the 
civil courts. Among the causes celebres 



which they conducted successfully may be 
mentioned those of Donner vs. Palmer, a suit 
to quiet title, the litigation growing out of 
the failure of Adams & Co., of express noto- 
riety; Davis vs. Perley; Noe vs. Card; Chater 
vs. California Sugar Refining Co., etc. In 
all these cases heavy interests were involved, 
and the fact that they were entrusted to the 
Messrs. Sharp, attests the high legal reputa- 
tion which those gentlemen enjoyed. 

After the brother's death, October 16, 
1882, Mr. Sharp, we believe, formed no legal 
copartnership, but conducted his extensive 
business with the assistance of several clerks. 
His brilliant legal attainments, his ardent de- 
votion to his profession, and his irreproach- 
able character as a gentleman and a citizen, 
won for him universal respect,' and placed 
him foremost among the many able men who 
adorn the legal profession in California. 
During the administration of President Lin- 
coln he was United States District Attorney, 
the duties of which position he discharged 
with exceptional ability. Had he chosen to 
enter the field of politics, he might have 
achieved distinguished honors. The ignis 
fatuus of politics had, however, no power to 
lure him from the path he had chosen. The 
study and practice of his profession had a 
charm for him more attractive than those 
held out by all other occupations. 

Mr. Sharp died June 1, 1888. 

In person, he was tall, with slender, well 
knit form, clear-cut and pleasant features of 
Grecian type, which are often lighted up by 
a genial smile; dignified in deportment and 
carriage, and moving with a firm, decided 
step, the vigor and elasticity of which the 
burthen of three-score years had failed to 
impair. He was a fluent andforcible speaker, 
ready and convincing in debate, and quick at 
repartee. Wlien the rigor of professional 
duties relaxed, he found that rest and enjoy- 



270 



TH3 BAT OF SAN FHANCIaCO: 



ineut most congenial to hiin in the presence 
of bis familj. Mrs. Sharp is a most esti- 
mable lady, of New England birtb. They 
had eight children, ^nd with theee jewels 
around him, Mr. Sharp was wise in preferring 
the true comforts of home to the superficial 
and ephemeral enjoyment of societies and 
clubs. 

George F. Sharp, his brother, was born in 
New York city in 1822. When a boy, he 
attended a select school conducted by the 
father of Eugene Gasserly. At an early age 
he studied law in the office of Charles Ed- 
wards, previously referred to in this sketch, 
and completed his studies in the office of Mr. 
Townsend, the author of *' Townsend's Code 
and Practice." 

Arriving in California August 1, 1849, he 
soon afterward commenced practice. Before 
the war he was a Democrat, but afterward a 
Republican; but he was in no sense a poli- 
tician or an aspirant for office. In person he 
was tall and commanding, clean-shaved, and 
with sharp-cut features. As an advocate, he 
ranked high, and as a pleader, he was forci- 
ble and to the point. 



N. THORXE, attorney of San Francisco, 
arrived here in November, 1849. He 
^ was born in Onondaga county. New 
York, March 5, 1824. His father was a 
fanner; his mother's maiden name was Maria 
DeGroff, and both his parents were natives of 
Dutchess county. New York. He attended 
preparatory school at Homer, Cortland county. 
New York, and at length graduated at Union 
College, Schenectady, that State, in the class 
of 1843. Taking a trip to South America 
he spent two years on the island of Trinidad, 
as clerk on a sugar plantation. He studied 
.aw in Louisiana and was admitted to the bar 



in the spring of 1848. Visiting his home 
during the summer of that year, he heard of 
the gold discoveries, and daring the follow- 
ing winter he joined a company at Ithaca and 
came overland to the new El Dorado. Leav- 
ing home about the last of March or first of 
April, he floated down the Susquehanna on a 
raft and thence by canal to Pittsburg. In 
the company were fifty persous, — some clerks 
and several doctors and lawyers, — headed by 
Elijah White, a doctor and a Methodist mis- 
sionary in Oregon in 1343. From Pittsburg 
they went by steamer to St. Louis, Missouri, 
and thence to Independence, to which point 
they had sent an agent to buy mules and 
three months' provisions. He procured some 
mules and some unbroken horses, which of 
course had to be subdued. They also pur- 
chased a portable mint in Philadelphia and 
shipped it around the Horn for coining their 
gold; also they shipped liquors, gold -washers 
and other miners' supplies. Well equipped 
and well armed, they left Independence May 
16, in the afternoon and traveled until night, 
encountering a heavy thunder storm, and 
camped about ten miles out. Then they had 
to wait three days to find all their mules, 
and they found all excepting twenty, with 
their packs. Colonel Whiting had an India- 
rubber bed and the water floated him off. 

At the end of the first week the company 
had to throw away tents and India-rubber 
beds. They took the ordinary route to Fort 
Bridger, but before arriving there diverged 
to the Arkansas river and Bent's Fort. There 
was a plenty of grass, but no wood. Three 
of the men were attacked with cholera, and a 
party was sent back for a wagon to convey 
the sick onward. The physician tried the 
experiment of scarifying the breast of the 
patients and rubbing in morphine. The 
effect was wonderful, and in three days the 
sick were able to move on in the wagon. 



IT8 CITIES AND THBIR SUBURBS. 



211 



Along the route in those days were immense 
herds of buffalo, whose tread on a stampede 
sounded like heavy rolling thunder. On ar- 
riving at the Arkansas river in the neighbor- 
hood of Bent's Fort, they had to secure a 
guide across the mountains. Mr. Thome 
swam the river first and back, and then he 
swam the horses across and they went on 
down the river for '^ green -horns." On arriv- 
ing there the few settlers who were at work 
in the fields with their arms thought that 
these comers were hostile Indians. The 
party waited in the fort with their horses and 
cows, and were well pleased to find friends 
there. Mr. Thorne and the other committee- 
men appointed for the purpose bargained for 
a guide at $10 a day, but they had to leave 
the wagon. 

At length they reached Salt Lake, having 
had no trouble with Indians. After a sojourn 
of six weeks at Salt Lake, recruiting their 
animals, they again struck out, on the old 
Spanish route, and finally crossed the Mojave 
Desert — the hardest part of their journey — 
snffering much from heat and want of water, 
and even from lack of food, their rations 
finally being reduced to a very small piece of 
bacon with a little coffee twice a day. After 
going through the Cajon Pass, they reached 
the eastern portion of Los Angeles county, 
where grapes were so plentiful that one could 
buy for ten cents all he could eat at one time» 
On arriving at Los Angeles M r. Thorne and 
Colonel Whiting went on to mill to buy 
flour. Many minor details of this trip are 
on record, for which we have not f ufficient 
space here. 

Mr. Thorne and Charles V. Stuart on 
arriving in San Francisco took a 100-vara lot 
each, at the mission, according to the common 
understanding and custom, and hired a Mor- 
mon to plow around it, and then, with John 
Center, bought some forty acres of land, on 



which they built a house when lumber was 
very high, and therefore used tarred canvas 
to a considerable extent. They dug a canal 
several hundred- feet long so that boats up 
Mission creek could reach their place. They 
cjmmenced cultivating their land, with 
what few rude implements they could secure 
and with fractious animals. They raised 
cabbage and celery, and other vegetables, cel- 
ery selling for $1 a head. They took a load 
of vegetables to town every day, which they 
sold at high figures. Two or three years 
afterward Stuart was elected Alderman, and 
during the same fall was elected to the Leg- 
islature, on the Whig ticket. In company 
with Mr. Varney, Mr. Center also started a 
laundry, and Mr. Stuart a saloon. After the 
adjournment of the Legislature, in the spring 
of 1852, they divided some of their land and 
Mr. Thorne engaged in buying and specula- 
ting in lands, execution sales, etc. For a 
number of years past Mr. Thorne has had 
considerable experience in land litigation, 
and has large mining interests, etc. 

In 1854 he married Miss Bryant, a native 
of Kentucky, and they have four sons and 
three daughters. 

ANIEL ROGERS, a member of the bar, 
is a native of the State of Delaware. 
His ancestors were of English descent. 
Llis father, James Rogers, was a prominent 
attorney, and Attorney-General of the State* 
of Delaware for twenty years. His uncle, 
Molton C. Rogers, was Judge of the Supreme 
Court of Pennsylvania for twenty-five years. 
His mother's family name was Booth, and 
her father and grandfather were both distin- 
guished lawyers; the former held a commis- 
sion under the English crown, and the latter 
was Chief Justice of the Su[)reme Court of 




272 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FBANCI8C0 : 



Delaware. Mr. Rogers was named for his 
grandfather, Governor Daniel Rogers, who 
was prominently identified with the early his- 
tory of Delaware, and was one of the early 
governors of the State. Mr. Rogers, the pres- 
ent snbject, was reared and attended school 
in his native State, completing his education 
at St. Mary's College, Baltimore. He studied 
law in Delaware, was admitted to the bar, 
and engaged in practice. 

In 1854 he came to the Pacific coast by 
way of the Isthmus, and upon his arrival 
here did not follow the throng to the mines, 
as did mosi of the profession, but engaged in 
the practice of law, and since then for more 
than thirty-seven years has been a well-known 
and honored member of the bar of the Pacific 
coast. While engaged in general civil prac- 
tice he has given much attention to probate 
matters. He was elected to the State Legis 
lature and served during the sessions of 1859 
-'60; and he was again elected in 1874. In 
his political affiliations he is a Democrat, rep- 
resentin^r the very best elements of his party, 
and being active in its councils. 

LORENCE N. SALTONSTALL, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 723 Sutter street, 
San Francisco, is a native of this city, 
and the daughter of J. P. Ferguson, one of 
the early settlers in California, having come 
to this State early in the fifties. He is. a 
well-known business man of San Francisco. 
Florence received her early education in the 
public schools of her native city, graduating 
at the high school in 1878, and at the nor- 
mal school in 1879. She soon afterward 
commenced the study of medicine, which 
was continued until she entered the Hahne- 
mann Medical College of San Francisco in 
1883, where she graduated in 1887, after a 




full course of study, receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. She then went to New 
York city, where she took a post-graduate 
course at the New York Polyclinic, during 
the winter of 1887-'88. Dr. Saltonstall then 
returned to San Francisco, where she has since 
been engaged in private practice. For one 
year she was assistant to the Chair of Gyne- 
cology, and is now one of the attending 
physicians at the Southern Homeopathic 
Dispensary. She is also physician to the 
Occidental and Silver street kindergartens, 
and also physician for the Society of Helpers, 
a member of the State Homeopathic Society 
of California, and of the American Institute 
of Homeopathy. 

■ M ■ ' ? * 3 * * I * S" *** 




AMES A. C. ROEDER, M. D., whose 
office is at the southeast corner of Fil- 
bert and Mason streets, San Francisco, 
has been a resident of California for the past fif- 
teen years, and a medical practitioner twenty - 
nine years. He was born on the banks of 
the Rhine in Prussia, in 1836, and his early 
education was received first in the public 
primary schools, and later in the gymnasium, 
from which he passed the usual Government 
examinations. He commenced the study of 
medicine at the University of Giesen, Ger. 
many, in 1857, and graduated at that institu- 
tion in 1861, receiving the degree of Doctor 
of Medicine. For about six years Dr. Roe- 
der practiced as Assistant Surgeon in the 
hospitals of Vienna, Stuttgart and Paris, 
settling down to private practice in his native 
place in 1868, where he remained until he 
came to San Francisco in 1876. Since that 
time he has devoted himself to a strictly 
private practice in this city, and most of the 
time in the same locality. 

Dr. Roeder's father was a District Judge 



ITS OITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



273 



in his native place for the last fifteen years of 
his life. He had been State's Attorney from 
the age of twenty-five to thirty years, and 
from that age until his death he held a judi- 
cial position. His forefathers have been 
professional men for many generations: one 
of his ancestors established the first woolen 
factory in his part of Germany, and another 
in Frederic, Denmark. One of Dr. Boeder's 
children, Lily, at less than twelve years of 
age was graduated at the Broadway grammar 
school for admission to the high school. She 
is also a wonderful performer and composer 
of music for a child of that age. 







^NDREW CRAIG, a San Francisco law- 
yer, was born in 1836, in ZanesvlUe, 
Ohio, of which State his parents were 
early settlers. His father, a merchant, re- 
moved to Missouri and his son was reared 
and received his education in that State. He 
studied law in the office of Hon. C. H. Man- 
sur, came to the Pacific coast in 1863, located 
at Stockton, was admitted to the bar and re- 
mained there two years, when he removed to 
Santa Cruz and engaged in the practice of 
his profession for fifteen years. He was 
elected District Attorney of the county, and 
afterward received the nonination and was 
elected County and Probate Judge, and filled 
that office with ability and credit. His 
county also honored him with the nomination 
for the State Senate and member of the Con- 
stitutional Convention. 

In 1880 Judge Craig removed to San 
Francisco and since then has successfully 
practiced his profession in the city. State and 
Federal Courts. Up to 1882 he was asso- 
ciated with D. T. Sullivan, the firm being 
Sullivan & Craig, and is now connected with 
Judge R. H. Taylor, in the firm of Taylor & 



Craig. He yi9A appointed Af^sistant City and 
County Attorney by Judge J. L. Murphy, and 
held that position during Kallock's admin- 
istration, a very arduous position, character- 
ized by vexatious litigation. Judge Craig is 
a staunch, consistent Democrat, and is now, 
as he always has been, active in the councils 
of his party. In 1890 he received the nom- 
ination for the office of Superior Judge of 
San Benito county, notwithstanding he was 
a resident of this city. Judge Craig is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity, is Past 
President of the Society of True Friends 
and of the Society of Independent Old 
Friends, and is also connected with other 
local organizations. 



'■»-'— ■■•c» » 



' S ' i"i ' 2 




ERALD. J. FITZGIBBON, M. D., 
whose office is at No. 21 Powell street, 
San Francisco, was born in Sacramento, 
California, October 19, 1855, the son of Mau- 
rice Fitzgibbon, a native of county Limerick, 
Ireland, who came to America when a child. 
He was one of the early settlers of California, 
and was engaged first in mining and later in 
in the hotel business in Sacramento. He is 
now living in San Francisco, retired from 
active business. Gerald received his early 
education in the public schools of Sacra- 
mento, graduating at the high school in 1872. 
He commenced the study of medicine in 
that year, under the preceptorship of Dr. G. 
G. Tyrrell, now secretaiy of the State Board 
of Health. Dr. Fitzgibbon entered the St. 
Mary^s Hospital in 1875 as interne, and soon 
afterward entered the Medical College of the 
Pacific, now the Cooper Medical College, 
where he graduated November 6, 1877. He 
was at once appointed Resident Surgeon and 
Physician of St. Mary's Hospital, where he 
remained until January 1, 1880. He then 



2U 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



entered into private practice in his present 
locality. The Doctor is now a member of 
the State Medical Society of California, and 
of the County Medical Society of San Fran- 
cisco, also of the San Francisco Medical 
Benevolent Society of California. 



— '■^' ig . Mt . g i 



• ■■« 




^OHN J. ROCHE, attorney, is a native of 
Ireland, born in 1846. His parents emi- 
grated to this country by way of the 
Isthmus, and arrived here in 1853, during his 
early childhood. He attended school here 
during his boyhood and completed his educa- 
tion at the Jesuit College. He studied law 
and was admitted to the bar in 1867, and 
since then, for the past twenty -four years, he 
has successfully practiced his profession in 
the courts of the city and State, avoiding 
criminal business and giving his attention to 
general civil practice. In 1871 he held the 
position of City and County Attorney under 
Judge Nouges. .He has been associated in 
practice with Mr. Parker, and later with T. C. 
Van Ness. He has no taste for office, and 
devotes his whole time to the interests of his 
profession. 



^ 



^^ 




C. CAMPBELL, a lawyer of San Fran- 
cisco, was born in Indiana, October 31, 
^ 1852. His father, John Alexander 
Campbell, a native of Scotland, was a prom- 
inent pioneer minister in the Scotch Presby- 
terian Church of Indiana. He married a 
Miss Claybaugh, a native of Ohio. Mr. 
(3ampbell was reared and received his edu- 
cation in his native State, attending for a 
time the academy at Logansport. He stud- 
ied law and was admitted to the bar in June, 
1873. Three years later, in October, 1876, 



he came to the Pacific coast and engaged in 
the practice of law at Stockton. Here his. 
ability and devotion to the interests of bis 
profession was quickly recognized. He re- 
ceived the nomination for District Attorney 
and was several times holding this important 
otiice, six years. He remained in Stockton, 
one of the leading members of the bar of 
the Sacramento and San Joaquin valleys, un- 
til the fall of 1890, when he was induced to 
come to San Francisco and became a member 
of the prominent law firm of Reddy, Camp- 
bell & Metson. 

Mr. Campbell is in his political views 
strongly Republican, and during the late 
campaign he took an active part in the elec- 
tion of Governor Markham, making a can- 
vass of the State. Mr. Campbell is promi- 
nently identified with the Masonic order. 



w > »| 



2o"t - S 



! • Ill 




ASHINGTONDODGE,M. D., whose 
office is at No. 1417 Van Ness ave- 
nue, San Francisco, was born in 
Tuolumne county, California, in 1859, the 
son of Dr. Mark T. Dodge, who was one of 
the early settlers in California, coming from 
New York State, and was engaged in the 
practice of medicine until his death, which 
occurred in 1866 in Jamestown, Tuolumne 
county. Our subject comes from a family of 
physicians, his grandfather. Dr. Jonathan 
Dodge, having practiced medicine in Con- 
necticut for over thirty years, and his uncle, 
Jonathan W. Dodge, practiced in Vermont 
for many years. The family were among the 
early Puritan settlers in New England, and 
Dr. Dodge is the only living male represent- 
ative of his branch. 

The subject of this sketch received his 
education in the public schools of Tuolumne 
county, and later graduated at the high school 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBORBS. 



275 



of San Francisco in 1877. He commenced 
the study of medicine while engaged in 
teaching, entering the medical department 
of the Univ.rsity of California, in 1881, and 
graduated at that institution in 1884, with 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. While 
attending the university he taught a class in 
the Washington Evening Grammar School. 
Dr. Dodge served one year as house phy- 
sician of the city and county hospital of San 
Francisco, after which he engaged in private 
practice, which be has continued since that 
time. The Doctor is now visiting physician 
to St. Luke's Hospital, which position he has 
held since 1888. He is also Professor of 
Therapeutics at the medical department of 
the University of California. He is a member 
of the State Medical Society of California, 
and of the County Medical Society of San 
Francisco. Dr. Dodge is eminently a self- 
made man, his father having died when he 
was six years old; he has since his early 
manhood been thrown entirely on his own 
resources, and has built for himself a credit- 
able position in the medical profession. 

ETRAGLAND, a San Francisco attor 
uey, is a native of Kentucky, born in 
1^ 1833, of which State his parents were 
early settlers. His father, Robert V. Kag- 
land, was a prominent stock- raiser and dealer 
at Bowling Green, and was well known 
throughout the great blue-grass stock region. 
He desired that his son, the subject of this 
mention, become interested in him, but the 
latter preferred to follow the bent of his own 
inclination. He was reared and received his 
education in his native State, studied law 
there and was admitted to the bar in 1885. 
He came to California the same year, locating 
in this city, and since then has successfully 





practiced his profession in the city. State and 
Federal Courts. Mr. Ragland has an excel- 
lent law library and devotes himself to the 
interests of his profession. He owns large 
ranches and other lands in the northern part 
of the State, and also owns property in Oak- 
land. His success is owing to his own 
eflforts. 

ILLIAM A. HARVEY, M.D., whose 
office is at No. 112 Grant Avenue, 
San Francisco, has been a resident of 
California since 1884, and engaged in the 
practice of medicine since 1888. He was 
born in Monticello, Missouri, in 1866, the 
son of Doctor J. W. Harvey, a native of 
Bethlehem, Indiana, and of English Quaker 
descent, his ancestors having come to America 
with William Penn. He has practiced medi- 
cine for the past twenty-five years in Iowa 
and Missouri, and is a graduate of the Ameri- 
can Medical College, and later a post-graduate 
of the California Medical College. He is now 
practicing in Anderson, Shasta county. Will- 
iam received his early education in the public 
schools of Edina, Missouri, and later in the 
Oak Hill College of Edina, where he gradu- 
ated in 1883. He then commenced the study 
of medicine in the office of his father, which 
he continued after coming to California in 
1884, and until he entered the California 
Medical College in 1886, where he graduated 
1888. He then engagdd in the practice of 
medicine with Dr. Logan, of San Francisco. 
Dr. Harvey, during the absence of the regu- 
lar professor in Europe, during the year 1890, 
filled the chair of chemistry in the California 
Medical College. He is at present lecturing 
on microscopy and histology at the same 
college. He was also a member of the class 
of 1890 in the College of Pharmacy, a branch 
of the University of the State of California. 



276 



THB BAT OF SAN FRANC 1800: 



Since November, 1888, he has been a mem- 
ber and Recording Secretary of the State 
Eclectic Medical Society of California. Dr. 
Harvey is also Visiting Physician to the 
Home for Invalids, corner of Thirteenth and 
Howard streets, San Francisco. 



^^^'^O' 



^^- 




VON BDLOW., M. D., whose office is 
at the corner of Mission and Eleventh 
^ streets, San Francisco, has been a 
resident of California for the past twenty- 
three years, and engaged in the practice of 
medicine since 1854. He was born in Prus- 
sia, Germany, in 1831, and received his edu- 
cation in the public schools, and later grad- 
uated at the gymnasium at Bromberg, Prus- 
sia, in 1846. He then attended the high 
school at Berlin four years, passing the Gov- 
ernment examinations necessary to entering 
the university. He entered the University 
of Greifswald, and devoted the first year to 
general study, as well as medicine. After 
that he devoted his time exclusively to med- 
icine, during which time he served one year 
as a soldier in the German army, but as he 
was stationed at Greifswald he was enabled to 
continue his studies during that time, and for 
three months of that year he was detailed in 
the military hospital. He passed his final 
examinations in 1854, and received his degree 
as Doctor of Medicine. Dr. Von Billow at 
at once entered into the practice of his pro- 
fession in Berlin, and at the same time at- 
tended the hospital clinics in that city for 
about six months. He then went to Heligo- 
land, where he entered the British navy ser- 
vice as Surgeon, on board the man-of-war 
Cedar, on which he proceeded to the Black 
Sea and took part in the siege of Sebastopol 
in the Crimean war. At the close of that 
war he returned to Germany and traveled for 



about three and a half years, studying and 
visiting the hospitals and practicing medicine 
as the occasion demanded. In 1861 he came 
to America, entering the Union army, and 
receiving the rank of Major in the Second 
Massachusetts Infantry, and was placed on 
special detached service as a recruiting officer, 
continuing in that duty until the cloee of 
the war. 

After the war the Doctor settled in Buf- 
falo, and remained in the practice of his pro- 
fession during the cholera epidemic of 1866. 
He later came to the Pacific coast, and pur- 
chased a mine in Idaho, where he remained 
eighteen months, and there sunk all his cap- 
ital. On coming to California he engaged 
in the practice of medicine in San Francisco, 
remaining one year; he then spent three 
years in Sacramento, and then fifteen years in 
Nevada City. Five years ago he returned to 
San Francisco, and has practiced continually 
since that time. Dr. Von Billow is a mem- 
ber of the County Medical Society of San 
Francisco. He was early engaged in quartz- 
mining in Nevada City, sinking about 
$40,000 in the Billow Consolidated Mining 
Company; he still owns a large mining inter- 
ests in that county which are now lying idle. 
The Doctor is the Surgeon of the First Regi- 
ment, California Brigade of Knights of 
Pythias; the Medical Examiner of a number 
of fraternal societies. In 1877 he receired 
an honorary diploma from the State Univer- 
sity of California. 

Dr. Von Billow's father, Oeneral Von 
Billow, was in Blucher's army at the battle 
of Waterloo, and was later in the civil ser- 
vice. He was killed on the Russian border 
of Germany in 1834, at the age of seventy- 
two years, while in the discharge of bis 
duties (m the frontier. Dr. Von Billow's 
brother, General Julius Von Billow, is still 
in active command in the general army, and 



1T8 CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



277 



was lately in command at Breslaii. Teq 
family are an old and prominent one in Ger- 
many, tracing their ancestors back hnndreds 
of years. 

S ' ^"^ ' 5" ' " 




LI SHERWIN DENISON, the well- 
known news agent of the Southern 
Pacific Kailroad system, with head- 
quarters in Oakland, was born in Onondaga 
county, New York, August 7, 1827, a son of 
Barry and Lurana (Sherwin) Denison. The 
father, also born in that county, in 1800, was 
a builder of turnpike roads in New York 
State, before the advent of railroads, and 
moved to Illinois in 1852, settling on a farm 
in McHenry county, near Marengo, where he 
died of cholera in 1854. The mother, a 
native of Oneida county. New York, survived 
him some years, dying at the same place at 
the age of sixty. Grandfather John Denison, 
a native of Vermont, of Scotch descent 
moved to Onondaga county, New York, fol- 
lowed the vocation of a farmer and lived to 
the age of ninety-six. Grandfather Joshua 
Sherwin, a farmer of Oneida county. New 
York, died about 1839, at the age of seventy- 
six, and his wife, Lurana, lived to be over 
sixty. 

Eli S. Denrson, the subject of this sketch, 
was educated in Monroe Academy atElbridge, 
New York, and helped on his father's farm 
in his youth. He left home at the early age 
of thirteen to earn a living for himself, and 
after several years of precarious struggle 
became a railroad man at the age of twenty, 
being employed on the New York Central. 
In 1849 he went to Nicaragua as foreman of 
a gang of men engaged in constructing 
thirteen miles of plank-road between Lake 
Nicaragua and San Juan. After eight months 
so engaged became to San Francisco in 1851 
and went to mining on Feather river, remain- 



ing thus engaged at different points until 
1859. He had meanwhile made a trip to the 
East by the Panama route, going in 1851 and 
returning in 1852, when he spent four years, 
to 1856, at Craig's Flat or Morristown. In 
1859 he went to work as baggage man on the 
Sacramento Valley railroad, from Sacra- 
mento to Folsom, continuing so employed 
until the winter of 1861-2. In the spring 
of 1862 he came to Virginia city, Nevada, 
and was engaged in quartz-mining there and 
at Marthaville in Alpine county, for about a 
year. Eeturning to Sacramento, he went to 
work for the Central Pacific, his run being 
from the city to the end of the road — a grad- 
ually lengthening trip, and was present May 
12, 1869, at the driving of the golden 
spike at Promontory, the junction of 
the Central with the Union Pacific. He 
took his present position as news agent 
June 1, 1869, and has been engaged 
in that business ever since. Since 1886 
he has employed about fifty newsboys on the 
different roads of that system. With three 
other capitalists he bought out, in 1890, what 
wan known as the Laundry Farm railroad, 
recognized under the style of the California 
Kailroad Company, of which he was chosen 
president. The road is chiefly used as a means 
of reaching a valuable stone quarry, the pro- 
duct of which is coming into extensive use 
for macadamizing roads and streets in the 
bay section of this county. It is also some- 
what used in local excursions to Laundry 
Farm for picnic and camping purposes. 

Mr. Denison is prominent and active in 
politics, having been a delegate to the Na- 
tional Republican Convention of 1884, and 
1888, in Chicago; and at the State Republi- 
can Convention of Sacramento in 1890, he 
was nominated for State Senator from the 
Sixteenth District. At this writing his 
party seems so well pleased with his pros- 



278 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



pects of election that they consider it a fore- 
gone conclusion. Having spent the most of 
his life in Oakland, he knows the needs of 
the community. He is a member of the 
Union League; of Tehama Lodge, Mo. 3, 
F. & A. M., of Sacramento; and of Oolden 
Oate Lodge of the Knights of Honor. 

Mr. Denison was married in Sacramento, 
in 1868, to Mrs. Celia (Fern) Sloper, a widow 
Mrith one son, Harvey Sloper, who is now the 
assistant of Mr. Denison in his business as 
news agent. The children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Denison are the Misses Lurana and Mollie 
Denison, residing with their parents in this 
city. 




(OBERT HARRISON, attorney, though 
a comparatively young man, has been a 
member of the San Francisco bar for 
nearly a quarter of a century. He is a native 
of the Empire State, born at Newburg on 
the Hudson, received his education and 
studied law in his native State, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar. He came to the Pacific 
coast in 1867, and for more than twenty-four 
years has successfully practiced law in the 
city. State and Federal Courts, giving his at- 
tention to general civil practice. He was 
appointed special United States Attorney 
and held that position several years. He is 
not an office-seeker, but interested in good 
government, devoting his time to his pro- 
fession. 




M. ARNOLD, real estate dealer, San 
Francisco, was born in Illinois, in 
? 1842. In 1853 he came with his 
parents to San Francisco, and soon afterward 
entered the German grammar school, well 
known to all the early residents of the city, 
attending this school nearly two years. 



Afterward he entered the University 
Pacific, at Santa Clara, where he con 
his education, graduating in 1864. li 
he commenced the study of law, in th 
of Judge Nathaniel Bennet, of San 
Cisco, and while thus prosecuting his i 
he supported himself by teaching in 
College, then located on the corner of I 
and Bryant streets, holding the posit 
Professor of Higher Mathematics, h 
admitted to the bar in 1868. The nej 
he went to San Diego, where he oper 
office, but, soon becoming convinced 
bright future of that city, he decid 
abandon his profession and engage i 
real-estate business. Associating h 
with D. Choat, of San Diego, they c 
an office, and for many years the firm d 
largest real-estate business of all agen< 
the city. 

Mr. Arnold was instrumental in p 
a stop to the work of a large lot of i 
who had commenced "jumping" the 1 
others. At that time there were 
vacant lots and blocks belonging to no 
dents. A number of the roughs comn 
to fence a block belonging to the H 
M. Pixley. Foreseeing that such pr 
ings, if allowed to continue, would I 
much trouble and probably bloodshe< 
Arnold determined to put a stop to 
once, if possible. With six other citiz 
organized one evening the only vig 
committee ever in existence in San J 
It immediately became known that e 
committee had been organized, but non 
side of the organization knew its nui 
Next morning Mr. Arnold collected a 
ber of law-abiding men and led them t 
land being fenced by a crowd of the n 
Quickly the fence was demolished, the 
rial piled in a heap and set on fir 
roughs being too much surprised to mal 



ITS CITIB8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



279 



mding this school nearly two years. 

ustance. Threats were made against Mr. 

lold's life, but the boldness and determina- 

shown prevented any further trouble. 
Mr. Arnold returned to San Francisco in 
176, and opened a money-broker's oflSce on 
[eamy street, where he remained about two 
; but in 1878 he again engaged in real- 
itate business. In 1886 he put on the 
larket a large tract of land south of the 
'k. This property has greatly appreciated 
[in value, much of it being now worth ten 
times the amount it then sold for. He has 
dealt largely in Tehama county and Fresno 
Qonnty lands, and is paying especial attention 
to country property. Mr. Arnold is a mem- 
ber of San Francisco Chapter, R. A. M.; 
Pacific Lodge, F. & A. M.; Sotoyome Tribe 
of Red Men; Social Council Order of Chosen 
Friends, and the sitting Past Grand Council- 
lor, and is Vice Councillor of the Supreme 
Conncil of the last named order. Mr. Arnold 
is married, and has one son. 




,ENRY JOHN PLOMTEAUX, D. D.S., 

of Oakland, was born in Milan, Ripley 
county, Indiana, November 3, 1838, a 
son of Samuel and Priscilla (Palmer) Plom- 
teanx. Grandfather John Henry Plomteanx 
a native of France, who settled on a farm 
near Syracuse, New York, and was there 
married to a native of this country, was the 
founder of the family. Grandmother Meri- 
bah Ann Plomteaux survived her husband 
many years, and died in Winnebago county, 
Illinois, aged about eighty. Tliey were the 
parents of two sons and two daughters, the 
sons bearing the names of John and Samuel. 
John died in Minnesota, leaving two sons, 
who constitute with their children the only 
other branch of the Plomteaux family in the 



United States. Samuel, the father of Dr. 
Plomteaux, was born near Syracuse, New 
York, March 8, 1807, married October 30, 
1827, to Priscilla Palmer, born in New York 
State, July 22, 1809, and of a family of six 
sons and six daughters, who all lived to be 
married and to raise families. Some time 
after marriage Samuel and Priscilla Plom- 
teaux moved to Indiana, settling in Ripley 
county, and in 1850 removed to Will county. 
Illinois, near Joliet, and still later lived for a 
time in Winnebago county, in that State, 
and also near Beloit, Wisconsin. They had 
three sons and six daughters, of whom Dr. 
Plomteaux and two sisters still survive. The 
father died June 14, 1863; the mother Sep- 
tember 11, 1865. 

H. J. Plomteaux, educated in the district 
schools in his youth, began while yet in his 
'teens to learn dentistry under Dr. George S. 
Spring of Geneva, Ohio, with whom he set 
out for California in 1856, coming by way of 
Panama. They first went to the mines in 
Placerville, El Dorado county, and met with 
varying fortune. Mr. Plomteaux followed 
that line at intervals until 1859. With such 
skill in the art of dentistry as he had acquired 
from his preceptor, and with such farther 
knowledge of the same as he had been able 
to acquire from books by close application, he 
embarked in his chosen career in Elk Grove, 
Sacramento county, in 1859. He has ever 
since • kept fully abreast of the great ad- 
vance made in that eminently progress- 
ive profession, and by close scrutiny as 
well as practical testing of new devices 
and methods he labored to supply the many 
defects common to the art at the time he 
first engaged in its practice. He has thus 
been enabled to select a method for all opera- 
tions upon the natural teeth, which is less 
wasteful of time and money while it is also 
less painful to the patient. He practiced, as 



280 



THE BAT OF SAN FRANCISOO: 



stated, at Elk Grove, then at Sacramento 
next at Lincoln, then at Woodland, and since 
1875 in this city and San Francisco. He has 
been actively identified with all organized 
efforts to elevate the standard of the pro- 
fession. He served eight years as Secretary 
of the California State Dental Association, 
organized June 29, 1870, and in the same 
capacity two years for the California State 
Odontological Society, organized December 
27, 1884. He was President of the former 
organization for the year 1875-6. Generally 
a member of the Publication Committee, an 
active member of the Legislative Committee, 
and frequently of other committees, he was 
always zealous in the promotion of its inter- 
ests by word and deed. Prominent in its 
debates and councils as well as by contribu- 
tions to the professional press, he has reached 
a recognized position in the front rank of the 
practitioners of the United States. He has 
been a member of the Council for the Inter- 
national Medical Congress, Dental Section, of 
the California State Board of Dental Exam- 
iners, Professor and Clinical Instructor in the 
dental department of the University of Cali- 
fornia, and President of the Alumni Asso- 
ciation of the same. Some years ago, when 
the press of professional business was not so 
overwhelming, Dr. Plomteaux was a frequent 
contributor in prose and verse to the local 
press of this State, and some of his more 
elaborate compositions found ready acceptance 
on the pages of the old Waverly magazine of 
Boston. He has been an Odd Fellow, a 
Druid, and member of several other secret 
orders, but professional labors have left him 
no leisure of late years to attend to the duties 
of membership in these organizations. He 
is, however, still a member of Oakland 
Lodge, No. 188, F. & A. M., and of Ala- 
meda Chapter, No. 36, R. A. M. He and 
his immediate family are also members of 



the First Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Oakland. 

Dr. Plomteaux was married in San Fran- 
cisco in 1861, to Miss Julia M. Roff, a 
native of England, who died in Oakland, 
November 24, 1881, the mother of three sar- 
viving children: Lenora Evadne, born in 
Sacramento March 31, 1863, now Mrs. John 
lioddin, of Wheatland; Charles Henry, born 
in Sacramento, August 8, 1865, married in 
1890 to Miss Philomena Carrie Tafaro, a 
native of Santa Clara county, of Spanish de- 
scent; Daisy Mercedes, born in Oakland, 
November 11, 1878. Dr. Plomteaux was 
again married February 13, 1882, to Miss 
Frederica Spanhacke, born in New York city 
of German parents, who are both living. 
Her maternal grandmother is also living, at 
the age of seventy-seven, hale and hearty. 
There is living one child by this marriage, 
Elbert Carleton, born March 7, 1890. 




II. IlEID, a member of the bar of San 
Francisco, is a native of New York 
^ State, born in 1845. His father was 
of Scotch descent and was a merchant and 
fardier. The mother's family name was 
Hutchinson. Her ancestors have been resi- 
dents of that State for 200 years. H. H. 
Reid was reared and attended school in his 
native State and received his education there. 
He studied law and was admitted to the bar 
in New York city in 1868, and engaged in 
practice. He went to Virginia and remained 
there until 1872, when he came to California 
and since then, for the past seventeen years, 
has been a member of the San Francisco bar, 
successfully practicing his profession. He 
hjis twice received nominations from the 
Democratic party for office in Alameda 
county, but the party being largely in the 



ITS OITIBS AND TUBIB BUBURB8. 



281 




minority the whole ticket was defeated. 
Mr. Reid is a member of the A. O. U. W. and 
the Eqnitable Aid Union and other organi- 
zations. 

,NDREW JOSEPH MoGOVERN, of 
the firm of McGovem & Cahill, carpet 
and fnmiture merchants of Oakland, 
was born in Albany, New York, October 27, 
1852, a son of Andrew and Margaret (Dolan) 
McGovern, both natives of Ireland. The 
mother died at about the age of forty-seven, 
but her parents were long-lived, especially 
the father, who was about eighty. The father 
of our subject lived to the age of sixty-seven. 
A. J. McGovern was educated in the public 
schools of Albany to the age of twelve, when 
he began to earn a living. He CAme to San 
Francisco in 1868, and obtained work in a 
wall-paper house, where he remained seven 
years, meanwhile improving his education by 
attending night school. He earned the con- 
fidence of his employers and became a trusted 
salesman. In April, 1875, he engaged in the 
wall-paper business in this city as a member 
of the firm of Van Ambey & McGovern, 
which continued until March, 1876, and 
afterward in his own name alone for a few 
months. In August, 1876, the present firm 
was formed and has continued to the present 
time without other change than a steady, con- 
tinuous growth in their original business and 
the expansion of its scope to the wider field 
of carpets and furniture as well as wall-paper, 
lace-curtains, window shades and the allied 
wares usually found in all first-class houses 
in their line, their stock being as complete 
and varied as any on this coast. They were 
first located at 1157 Broadway, and in 1883 
moved to larger quarters at 1060 on the same 
street, comprising two stores and a basement, 
25 X 100 feet. In 1887 they opened their 



furniture store at 400 Twelfth street, corner 
of Franklin, consisting of main floor and 
basement, of 50 x 100 feet. 

Mr. McGovern is also President of the 
Whitney, Standard and Oakland Transfer 
Company of this city. He is owner of a 
ranch in Contra Costa county, and a fine 
home in Oakland. He is a member of the 
Y. M. I., and was Treasurer of the Grand In- 
stitute of California in 1884. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and takes an active 
interest in the welfare of his party. He was 
a delegate to the State Convention in Sacra- 
mento in 1890. 

Mr. McGovern was married in Oakland in 

1879, to Miss Mary Carey, born in Kentucky 
in 1860, a daughter of John and Ann (Mur- 
phy) Carey, both natives of Ireland, who 
came to this State from Kentucky in 1861. 
The father died in East Oakland in 1878, 
aged about fifty-six; the mother is still living, 
at the age of about sixty. Mrs. McGovern's 
grandparents on both sides were fairly long- 
lived. Mr. and Mrs. McGovern have two 
children; Francis Andrew, born May 20, 

1880, and Genevieve, bom April 6, 1881. 



■■> Mg . lMt . g l> 



■■*■ 




ILLIAM THOMAS, a member of the 
well-known legal firm of Olney, 
Chickering & Thomas, San Francis- 
co, was born in the city of Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. His parents were natives of New 
England, and his ancestors were among the 
earliest settlers. His great-grandfather, 
Isaiah Thomas, was the founder of the Wor- 
cester /Spy, one of the oldest journals in the 
country. He also founded and endowed the 
American Antiquarian Society. The father 
of our subject, Hon. Benjamin F. Thomas, 
was a prominent member of the Boston bar, 
and was on the most distinguished Supreme 



282 



THE BAY OF 8 AN FRANCISCO: 



Bench Massachivsetts ever had. Justice 
Lemuel Shaw was its presiding Judge; Hor- 
ace Grey, afterward Chief Justice and now 
of the United States Supreme Court, was its 
official reporter. Judge Thomas married the 
daughter of Dr. John Park, surgeon in the 
army, and well-known as the founder of a 
young ladies' school. He died in 1878, and 
his wife's death occurred in 1885. 

Mr. Thomas received his education in New 
England. After completing his preparatory 
course he entered Harvard College, taking 
a full course of four years, and graduated in 
the class of 1873. He studied law, and after 
taking a two-years course at the Harvard 
Law School, graduated in 1876, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar. He went abroad spend- 
ing one year in Europe. Upon his return in 
1877 he came to California, and associated 
himself with W. H. Chickening, his present 
partner, in the practice of law, the firm be- 
ing Chickering & Thomas until 1887, when 
the present firm was formed of Olney, Chick- 
ering & Thomas, one of the active leading 
law firms in the city and State. 

Mr. Thomas is independent in politics. In 
his social relations he is prominently identi- 
fied with the New University Club, and was 
chosen its first President, and he is Secretary 
of ihe Harvard Club. 



»•♦ •I ) 



*^ 



i> — 




L. BARKER, a well-known citizen of 
Oakland and formerly a member of 
^ the City Council, was born in Bran- 
ford, New Haven county, Connecticut, March 
13, 1828, a son of Timothy and Martha 
(Leonard) Barker. The first Barker settled 
in Branford in 1647, and the Leonards were 
early settlers in Massachusetts. Grandfather 
Justin Leonard, a native of that State, served 
as a fifer in the army of the Revolution, be- 



ing quite young at enlistment. In mature 
life he was a miller and farmer near West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and moved in 
1835 to a farm in Cayuga county. New York. 
He was over seventy-five at his death; and 
his widow survived him many years, dying 
at the home of her daughter, Mrs. T. Barker 
at the age of ninety-one. Grandfather 
Timothy Barker was over eighty-five at his 
death. His son, also named Timothy, the 
father of the the subject of this sketch, learned 
the trade of shoemaker and engaged in that 
line of manufacture, in connection with his 
farm, employing a few men. He was a 
member of the local troop of militia and felt 
honored by being a member of the escort of 
General Lafayette in 1825. 

T. L. Barker was educated in the local 
schools and in an academy at Auburn, New 
York, where his uncle had settled. At the 
age of sixteen he became a clerk in a store 
and resided in Auburn until he left for Cali- 
fornia. He came out as a member of the 
Cayuga Joint-Stock Company, organized in 
February, 1849, comprising seventy-nine 
members. Owning vessel and cargo, they 
came out by way of Cape Horn, arriving at 
San Francisco, October 12, 1849. About 
twenty members, including Mr. Barker, went 
to mining that winter at Agua Frio, near 
what is now Mariposa, but with no marked 
success. Meanwhile others of the company 
engaged in getting out shakes and shingles 
in the redwood forest of that day across the 
bay from San Francisco. In January, 1850, 
Mr. Barker returned to San Francisco, and 
worked for a time conveying shakes and shin- 
gles by boat from the embarcadero at San An- 
tonio to San Francisco. In February, 1850, the 
company disbanded, and in May, with five 
others of the company, he went to mining on 
Bear river, with little gain, and then Big 
Ravine, three or four miles below Auburn, 



ITS 0ITIE8 AND THEIH SUBURBS. 



283 



where they did fairly well. From August to 
December, 1850, they worked within two 
miles of what is now Newcastle, a great 
center of the fruit industry, but where then 
the only product was gold dust. Up to that 
time everything earned went into the common 
fund, and on winding up, Mr. Barker found 
the capital stock of $500 was reduced to 
$350. January 1, 1851, he went to work in 
a wholesale grocery store in Sacramento as 
clerk, and one of his customers was Charles 
Crocker, then engaged in freighting to the 
mines. In 1853 Mr. Barker came to Ala- 
meda county, and farmed with two comrades 
one treason, renting a squatter's claim near 
Haywards. The second season he farmed 
alone, raising grain, being among the early 
producers in that line, and closing his farm- 
ing venture in the fall of 1855. In the 
spring of 1856, in connection with L. A. 
Booth and C. T. Wheeler, he bought the 
business of Kleinhans & Co. in Sacramento, 
Kleinhaus & Co. retaining an interest as 
special partners, and established the firm of 
Booth & Co., Mr. Barker representing the 
firm in San Francisco as buyer. In 1858 
they bought a part of Kleinhaus' interest, and 
ill 1860 the remainder was purchased, and L. 
A. Booth was replaced by Newton Booth, af- 
terward Governor of California. In 1863 Mr. 
Barker sold his interest to his partners and 
accompanied by William Hardy, of Gold Hill, 
Nevada, made a trip to the East, by the over- 
land stage route from Folsom, California, to 
Atchison, Kansas, which was in striking con- 
trabt to the modern Pullman palace car. 
Soon after his return he resumed his post as 
buyer in San Francisco for Booth & Co. In 
1868 he became a member of the firm of 
Wellman, Peck & Co., of San Francisco, 
retaining that connection until 1880. Ap- 
pointed by Governor Booth a Trustee of the 
Deaf, Dumb and Blind Institution in Decem- 



ber, 1872, he served until 1876, when he 
resigned. Meanwhile he had settled in Oak- 
land in 1874, and has resided there since. 
He was elected to the City Council in 1885, 
serving one term of two years. From early 
manhood he has been keenly alive to the 
political issues of the times, and was in sym- 
pathy with the old Free-soil party before he 
was a voter. In 1852 he voted for General 
Scott, the last Whig candidate for president, 
and in 1856 for Fremont, the first Republican 
candidate. He still takes an active intei-est 
in local politics, and was Treasurer of the 
Third Ward Republican Club in the campaign 
of 1888. His voice and vote can always be 
relied on for good government in city and 
county, as well as in the State and nation. 

Mr. Barker became a member of Sac- 
ramento Lodge, No. 2, I. O. O. F., in 1856, 
and in 1859 was transferred to San Francisco 
Lodge, No. 3. He has had the unusual honor 
of being elected a Noble Grand from the floor 
of the lodge, and was Lodge Representative 
to the Grand Lodge in 1874. 

Mr. Barker was married in the old First 
Congregational Church of Oakland, June 12, 
1872, to Mary R. Simpson, a native of New 
York city, and daughter of William and 
Mary (Richardson) Simpson, both deceased 
in middle life and buried in Greenwood 
cemetery, near that city. They have one 
child, Mary Simpson Barker. 




UDGE NOBLE HAMILTON, of San 
Francisco, is a native of Indiana, born 
at Lawrenceburg in 1822. His father, 
William Hamilton, came there in 1812; 
his wife's family name was Sparks, and 
her father was a -prominent lawyer, a 
Judge of the courts, and a Methodist 
preacher. Judge Hamilton was reared and 



284 



THE BAY OF SAN FRAN CI 800: 



received his edncation in his native State; 
also studied law there and was admitted to 
the bar in 1845. Soon after war was declared 
with Mexico he entered the army and served 
throngh the war. After his return in 1850 he 
was elected Collector and County Treasurer of 
Dearborn county, Indiana, of which Law- 
renceburg was the county seat. In 1852 he 
was a delegate to the National Democratic 
Convention at Baltimore, where President 
Pierce was nominated. The following year 
he came to the Pacific coast. After taking 
a trip through the mines, he formed a part- 
nerbhip with Joseph Combs in the practice 
of law at Alvarado, then the county seat of 
Alameda county; and Judge Hamilton says 
"slugs" were more plentiful then than $20 
pieces are now. In 1854 he was associated 
in practice with J. B. Townsend. In De- 
cember of that year he married Miss Lydia 
D. Marston, of Maine. He practiced law 
there until 1859, when he removed to San 
Leandro, which had then become the county 
seat, and while there he was appointed by 
Governor Stanford to till a vacancy on the 
bench. Later he was nominated on the 
Union ticket, and elected County Judge, 
served four years and then resigned to en- 
gage in mining. This venture, however, 
proved disastrous. In 1871 he removed to 
Oakland. In 1881, under the provisions of 
the law to increase the number of Judges of 
the Superior Court, he received the unani- 
mous recommendation of the bar and was ap- 
pointed by Governor Perkins to the bench, 
and after serving two years he received the 
nomination without opposition, and was 
elected by 2,400 majority, running far ahead 
of his ticket, Governor Stoneman's ma- 
jority on the same ticket being only 400. 
He remained on the bench until January, 
1888, and then resumed the practice of his 
profession in San Francisco. Judge Hamil- 



ton is a Republican in his political views, 
and active in the councils of his party. He 
is also connected with the Masonic order and 
other fraternities. 




iYRON ALLEN WHIDDEN, Coun- 
ty Auditor of Alameda county, was 
bom in Washington township, this 
conntj, February 23, 1860, a son of William 
and Sarah (Akerman) Whidden, both natives 
of New Hampshire. The father, born in 
Portsmouth, July 8, 1822, learned the trade 
of blacksmith and followed that vocation in 
his native city, and was there married Au- 
gust 14, 1845. In 1847 he moved to Exeter, 
New Hampshire, where he followed the same 
line of business until April, 1850, when he 
set out for California by way of Panama. 
Arriving on this coast he tried mining fur a 
short time, and then located in Stockton at 
his trade. In 1851 he went East, returning 
in November with his wife and onlv child, 
George A., born in October, 1847, and re- 
sumed work in Stockton. In August, 1853, 
he moved to San Francisco and opened a 
blacksmith shop on Pine street, where he re- 
mained until 1855, when he again went East, 
returning in October as far as Alpha, Ne- 
vada, where he spent the winter engaged in 
mining. In 1856 he resumed his old busi- 
ness in San Francisco, where another son, 
William G., was bom to him in 1857. 
About that time he went to ranching in San 
Mateo county, but soon sold his place there, 
and in 1858 moved to this county, and en- 
gaged in farming near Centerville, at the 
same time carrying on a blacksmith shop in 
that town. There his third son, the subject 
of this sketch, was born. About 1865, in 
partnership with A. E. Crane, he bought the 
Eighenbrodt ranch of 252 acres near Alva- 



ITS CITIE8 AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



285 



rado, and there resided for some years. He 
was also interested at one time with Abijah 
Baker in h ranch in Murray township. Sell- 
ing out his interest in the Eighenbrodt 
ranch about 1874, he moved to Alameda, 
and after a few months to Haywards, where 
he lived three years and was elected Justice 
of the Peace for one terra. In 1878 he 
moved to Alameda, and was there elected a 
Trustee for two or three terms. He died in 
Alameda, September 9, 1882, much respected 
in the community for many excellent quali- 
ties of head and heart. His oldest son, 
George A., is superintendent of the San 
Joaquin ranch of 103,000 acres, in Los An- 
geles county (the Irvine estate). William 
G. is clerk in a lumber yard in San Fran- 
cisco. 

Myron A., the subject of this sketch, re- 
ceived his earliest schooling in Alvarado, 
then in Alameda, and next in the Haywards 
high school, at which he graduated at the age 
of eighteen. He then took a business course in 
Barnard's College, in San Francisco, and be- 
came foreman of the Baker & Whidden ranch, 
in which his father was interested, remaining 
three years. He was married August 1, 
1883, to Mary A. Neal, born in Pleasanton, 
February 19, 1863, a daughter of J. A. Neal, 
a rancher of that place. Mr. Neal was a 
native of New Hampshire, and left that 
State in the fall of 1846, arriving in Califor- 
nia in the spring of 1847. In thiise early 
times he followed various occupations, being 
a clerk for some time in one of the first 
stores in San Francisco, mining a little, and 
dealing in cattle, which he bought in the 
southern section of the State and drove to 
market in the mining regions. He married 
a daught^r of the late Augustin Bernal, de- 
ceased June 19, 1872, at the age of eighty- 
seven. Mr. Bernal was bom in what is now 
Santa Clara county, served two years in the 



Mexican army and received a grant of the 
rancho El Valle de San Jose, comprising 
48,000 acres, which he divided equally with 
his brother, Juan Pablo, and their two sis- 
ters, and which is still largely held by their 
descendants. Mrs. Neal died young, leaving 
two daughters: Mrs. Myron A. Whidden 
of Oakland, Mrs. T. W. Harris of Pleasanton. 
Mr. Neal died of heart disease, October 14, 
1887, being found dead in a bath-house in 
San Francisco, aged about sixty-two. He had 
filled the oflBce of Supervisor of this county 
for three terms. 

After his marriage in 1883 Mr. Whidden 
was occupied for a time on the Neal farm, 
and in 1884 engaged in the warehouse and 
commission business in Pleasanton, with his 
brother^ William G. About a year later he 
bought out his brother, and after another 
year sold the business to Harris & Son. 
Again engaged on the Neal ranch for a year, 
he came to Oakland in 1889 to fill the posi- 
tion of deputy County Assessor, which he 
held for two years. He was elected County 
Auditor in 1890, by a plurality of 4,871 
votes. He is a member of University Lodge, 
No. 144, I. O. O. F.; Secretary of Oakland 
Lodge, No. 171, B. P. O. Elks; and is First 
Vice-President of Oakland Parlor, No. 50, 
N. S. G. W. 

[EORGE CHASE, deputy Treasurer of 
Alameda county, was born in Newbury- 
port, Massachusetts, April 17, 1841, a 
son of Moses and Emily (Stickney) Chase. 
The Chase family was founded in New Eng- 
land by Aguila, William and Thomas Chase, 
who were among the early immigrants. 
Great-grandfather Chase, a resident of Maine, 
made a visit to Newburyport at the age of 
ninety-eight, to visit his descendants settled 
there, and lived a few years longer, dying at 




286 



THE BAt OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



his home in Maine. Grandfather Moses 
Chase, for many years a resident of New- 
biiryport, Massachusetts, lived to the age of 
seventy- four. His son, Moses, the father of 
George Chase, born Jnly 31, 1806, in New- 
bury port, was bred to a seafaring life, and 
being taken with the gold fever in 1849 set 
out for Calilomia by the ship Capitol from 
Boston, January 24, 1849, around the Horn, 
arriving in San Francisco on the 19th day of 
July. He went to mining for a while, but 
was driven out of that pursuit by the moun- 
tain fever. Returning to San Francisco he 
came across the bay and put up a tent at 
West Oakland Point, supporting himself 
chiefly by hunting. Later he moved his tent 
to what is now the foot of Broadway, and 
Anally to what has since been known as 
Clinton, where he put up the first frame 
house, 14x24 feet, still in existence as the 
extension of his son George's house at the 
corner of Fourth avenue and Ninth street, 
East Oakland. He and three brothers Pat- 
ten leased from Peralta a body of land ex- 
tending over and beyond what became 
Clinton. After a few years the land was 
sold by Peralta subject to their lease, and 
they obtained "Clinton" in settlement of 
their claim, which they subdivided into 
building lots and which was known as Clinton. 
They also built the first hotel in what is now 
known as East Oakland, and the largest on 
this side of the bay. It was called the 
Clinton House. This was burned during Mr. 
Chase's absence in the East in 1853, and 
proved a total loss, there being no insurance 
in those days. He returned in 1853 by the 
Isthmus route, and his son George followed 
in 1854, in company with his aunt Mary and 
her husband, James Allen. The mother, 
Emily (Stickney) Chase, died in Newbury- 
port, May 11, 1841, when George was but 
three weeks old. Grandfather Enoch Stick- 



ney lived to the age of ninety-one. Moses 
Chase died FebrDary 17, 1891, at the age of 
eighty-four years, six months and sixteen 
days. 

George Chase went to school in Newbnry- 
port in his boyhood, and for a few terms, 
whenever school was held, after he came to 
Clinton. In 1856 he worked as assistant to 
the toll-collector on the Twelfth-street bridge, 
an institution of those days. He attended 
the Durant College and went through the 
preparatory department. He then helped 
his father on the sloop he owned and used 
in freighting to and from San Francisco until 
1860. At the age of eighteen Mr. Chase 
began to learn the trade of carriage- painter 
with A. H. Cochran, receiving $300 the first 
year, and for the second year one- third inter- 
est, he paying for half the stock. The third 
year Mr. Cochran went out of the carriage- 
painting business and kept a store in which 
Mr. Chase was a helper for about one year. 
He then went to work for Bangle Brothers, 
carriage-painters, and in 1865 went to house- 
painting for them, the pay being better in 
that line. In 1867 he went to work on his 
own account and hired his former employer, 
Cochran, for one day, when they formed the 
firm of Cochran & Chase, continuing to 
August 27, 1868. Mr. Chase then went 
East, by the Panama route, chiefly for rest 
and recreation, visiting his three maiden 
aunts Stickney in Newburyport, going also to 
Portland and Hallowell, Maine, and Boston, 
Massachusetts. After an absence of five 
months he returned, and having squared up 
accounts with his partner he occupied him- 
self in hunting "divers," for which he was 
paid $1.25 each by the manufacturers of 
ladies' collars and muff's. In May^ 1869, he 
formed a partnership with Bransom Bangle, 
a former employer, under the style of Bangle 
& Chase, house-painters and contractors, their 



ITS CiriES AND THEIR SUBURBS: 



287 



field of labor covering San Francibco, Oak- 
land and Alameda. The firm continued until 
1878, diesolving mainly on account of an in- 
jury to Mr. Chasers ankle. He then obtained 
the position of copyist under P. R. Borein, 
County Recorder, which he held three and a 
half years, when he was appointed deputy 
Treasurer by James A. Webster, remaining 
with him from October, 1881, to December 
31, 1886. He was appointed to the same 
position by Socrates HuflE, taking office " the 
first Tuesday after the first Monday m Janu- 
ary," 1887, and is still filling the position of 
deputy to Mr. Huff. Mr. Chase is a member 
of Orion Lodge, No. 189, I. O. O. F., of 
East Oakland. He was married in Clinton, 
now of Oakland, December 25, 1869, to Miss 
Mandana E. Boynton, born in Hallowell, 
Maine, about 1843, of an old New England 
family. Both parents lived to an advanced 
age. Mr. and Mrs. Chase are the parents of 
three living children: Mary Emily, born De- 
cember 20, 1870, a graduate of the Oakland 
high school in December, 1889; George 
Moses, born June 15, 1873, now six feet two 
and one-half inches in height (his twin sister 
Gertie, died at the age of eleven months); 
Albert Boynton, born August 29, 1879. 





iOAH GEORGE STURTEVANT, a 
Deputy County Clerk of Alameda 
county, was born in Chicago, Illinois 
February 17, 1847, a son of Noah and Cath- 
erine (Cassidy) Sturtevant. The Sturtevants 
are of the Knickerbocker stock, the first of 
the name in America settling in New 
Amsterdam, now New York, in 1621, the sub- 
ject of this sketch being one of the descend- 
ants in the ninth generation. Grandfather 
George Sturtevant, a native of New York, 



lived to the age of seventy-eight, and his 
wife, also a native of that State, was fifty- 
eight at her death. The Cassidy ancestry is 
of Scotch-Irish immigration, which settled in 
New York State in 1758. Grandfather Cas- 
sidy reached the age of seventy-six, and his 
wife, whose ancestry was also of the Scotch- 
Irish immigration referred to, lived to the 
age of sixty. 

Noah Sturtevant, the father of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in Allegany county. 
New York, settled in Chicago in 1835, two 
years before its incorporation as a city, and 
there engaged in the manufacture and sale of 
lime, being the heaviest dealer in the com- 
modity in those early days. He was elected 
to the office of Supervisor and Water Com- 
missioner, and was quite prominent in the 
business and official circles of the young city. 
He died of some acute disease at the age of 
forty-two. The mother survived him many 
years, reaching the age of sixty-five. 

Noah G. Sturtevant was educated in the 
public schools of his native city, and there 
grew to manhood, with the instinct of a 
pioneer, a sort of inborn impulse to penetrate 
into the farther West. Soon after reachins: 
his majority he went through Texas and New 
Mexico, engaged chiefly in cattle-driving and 
freighting, and often coming in contact with 
Indians and other more objectionable deni- 
zens of the wild West. He afterward ex- 
tended his explorations and broadened his 
experience by travels in Nebraska, Wyoming 
and Colorado, residing several years in the 
latter while it was yet a Territory. In 1877 
he left El Paso county, Colorado, for Cali- 
fornia, and settled in San Leandro, where he 
engaged in mercantile bnsiness, and was 
Postmaster from 1878 to 1883. He was ap- 
pointed Deputy Sheriff of Alameda county, 
January 1, 1885, serving two and a half 
years, and in October, 1887, became Dep- 



288 



THE BAT OF 8 AN FRANC ISOO: 



uty Connty Clerk, which position he still 
holds. 

Mr. Stnrtevant was married in Chicago, 
in 1870, to Miss Caroline M. Keed, born in 
Massachusetts, a daughter of Thomas G. and 
Elizabeth (Rowland) Reed, still living in 
Chicago. Mr. Reed was born in England 
about 1822, and Mrs. Reed in Vermont, 
about 1825. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sturtevant are the parents of 
six children, of whom the first four were born 
in Colorado, the others being natives of this 
connty: Noah Thomas, born March 10, 1871, 
educated in the public schools, is now en- 
gaged in the building of harvesters, having 
learned the business in the San Leandro Ag- 
ricultural Works; Lucy E., born May 5, 
1872; Nellie M., July 15, 1874; Hugh 
Francis, February 28, 1876; Catherine, Sep- 
tember 30, 1884; Eugene Reed, January 30» 
1886. Mr N. G. Sturtevant is a member 
of the A. O. U. W. 




,ENRY C. McPIKE, an attorney at law^ 
came of a good family. His father 
came to this State in 1850, and for many 
years his home has been at St. Helena. Prior 
to coming to California he had lived in Mis- 
souri. The maternal grandfather of Mr. 
McPike, Dr. Crane, also resides at St. Helena- 
Dr. Crane graduated in the College of Medi- 
cine at the University of New York, under 
the famous Dr. Valentine Mott, and after- 
ward attained eminence in his profession. 
Hie original home was at Croton Lake farm 
in New York State. After graduating he 
practiced in several of the Eastern States, — 
New York, Alabama and Missouri, — before 
coming to California. The maternal grand- 
father of Mr. McPike's mother, Daniel 



Young, of Ohio, was an eminent Methodist 
minister. 

He was born in San Jose, June 25, 1857. 
Shortly afterward his parents moved to Napa 
county, where he grew up, alternating be- 
tween study and work on his father's farm. 
Noveml^er 10, 1879, he was admitted to the 
bar. Notwithstanding this, he studied closely 
afterward for some two years, at the Hastings 
Law School, graduating there in its first 
class, in 1881. Soon afterward he commenced 
practice in San Francisco. 

In 1886 he ran for Congressman from the 
Third District, against Joseph McKenna. 
The canvass he made was satisfactory to bis 
party, as he reduced his opponent's former 
majority of 4,400 down to less than half 
Since then he has taken some part in politics. 
He was a member of the State convention at 
Stockton, and of the Democratic convention 
at Los Angeles in 1888. In 1886 he was 
appointed Assistant United States District 
Attorney, which position ho resigned in 
1888. He tilled that oflice with honor to 
himself and benefit to the people. His at- 
tack upon theopiutn ring was a notable series 
of cases. He acted in the Hackett, Grant 
and McKee cases, convicted of smuggling, 
and the Ciprico-Boyd cases. During this 
period Mr. McPike was also connected with 
several cases in the State courts, among them 
being the Dixon- A Hen libel suit in San Jose, 
the prosecution of Wright Leroy for the 
murder of Nicholas Skerrett, and the defense 
of W. P. Bullard. 




OHN H. DURST, City and County At- 
torney of San Francisco, was born in 
Sacramento, graduated at the State 
University and Hastings Law School. About 
1883 he began the practice of his profession 




ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS, 



289 



in this city, and has ever since been building 
np a 8ul)8t;antial and remnnerative practice, 
being a man of great industry and shrewd 
judgment. He is a consistent Republican. 
His father is the well-known Dr. D. P. 
Durst, of Yuba county, a pioneer. The 
latter came of a good Lutheran family, born 
in Pennsylvania, and was highly esteemed in 
Colusa county, this State, where he resided 
prior to the war. 




EORGE WILLIAM FISHER, manager 
of the Oakland branch of the Puget 
Sound Lumber Company, was born in 
Nantucket, Massachusetts, March 28, 1841, 
a son of Captain Nehemiah Coy and Susan 
C. (Folger) Fisher. The father, a sea captain 
for thirty-five years, chiefly in the line of 
whaling, died at the age of fifty-four, about 
1866. The mother survived to 1888, dying 
in Oakland, aged seventy-four. Grandfather 
Fisher, a farmer at Martha's Vineyard, lived 
to the age of ninety-two. The first Ameri- 
can Fisher is thought to have settled in Prov- 
idence Plantations, Rhode Island, where there 
is still a place known as Fisher's Plantation. 
George W. was a cabin boy on board his 
father's ship Coper at the age of ten, the 
father beinp part owner as well as Captain. 
They went on a whaling voyage to the Arc- 
tic ocean in 1851, going and returning by 
way of Cape Horn, the round trip with the 
accessary fishing expeditions taking three 
and a half years. After the return home 
George W. was sent to school at Foxcraft, 
Maine, where he studied four years, and was 
graduated at the Foxcraft Academy, at the 
age of eighteen. He received a certificate as 
a qualified teacher, but did not follow that 
career, having a preference for mercantile 
life. He entered the service of Sackett, Da- 



vis & Co., manufacturing jewelers in Prov- 
idence, Rhode Island, in 1859, and their 
Boston house in 1861, retaining his connec- 
tion with the firm about four years, chiefly 
as salesman. In 1863 he went into business 
at Bridgewater, Massachusetts, being inter- 
ested in general merchandise with his father, 
and having charge of the store, under the 
style of N. C. Fisher & Son. In 1864 he 
sold out in Bridgewater, and after about a 
year spent with the army before Richmond, 
just before the close of the civil war, he re- 
turned to his home in Massachusetts, and 
was variously engaged for a couple of years. 
In 1868 he came to California by way of 
Panama, February 28, and engaged in real- 
estate transactions for some years. About 
1872 he became interested in mines and 
mining property in Virginia City, Candel- 
aria and at other points in that section, and 
followed that vocation with considerable suc- 
cess for about ten years. He was then ap- 
pointed to a position in the United States 
Sub-Treasury in San Francisco, under N. W. 
Spaulding of this city, remaining so engaged 
about eighteen months, being at that time 
also a School Director of Oakland. In 1885, 
when the Puget Sound Lumber Company es- 
tablished a branch in this city, buying out 
the Merritt lumber yard, Mr. Fisher being 
so well and favorably known as an active and 
shrewd business man, was appointed as man- 
ager, with full charge of the Oakland inter- 
ests, this being the receiving point for the 
vast business of the company, which is 
among the most extensive on the Pacific 
coast. The wharf is situated at the foot of 
Washington street, is 650 feet long, with a 
width and frontage of 700 feet, carrying a 
stock of 6,000,000 feet of lumber, which is 
kept constantly supplied from their mills on 
Puget Sound and from Humboldt county and 
Eureka. He usually employs from forty to 



290 



THE BAY OF SAN FRANCISCO: 



eighty liands in the Oakland branch. Mr' 
Fisher is a member of Oakland Lodge, No. 
188, F. & A. M., and of the Masonic Vet- 
eran Association of the Pacific coast. 

He was married in Foxcraft, Maine, Jan- 
nary 5, 1862, to Miss Abbie B. Holmes, a 
daughter of Captain Salmon Holmes, a prom- 
inent citizen of Foxcraft. They have had 
two sons: one son, Frank Holmes Fisher, 
now living, was born Jnly 6, 1868. After 
graduating from the Oakland Academy, F. 
H. Fisher studied the science and practice of 
dentis ry in the College of Dentistry of the 
University of California, receiving his di- 
ploma June 10, 1890, and is now foUowing 
that profession, having an oflice in San 
Francisco. 

fOHN T. HUMPHREYS, an attorney 
practicing in San Francisco county, is a 
native of the Old Dominion, born in 
1830. His parents were also natives of Vir- 
ginia. He received his education in his na- 
tive State, at the Charlestown Academy and 
from private tutors, and commenced reading 
law before reaching his majority. When the 
gold discoveries in California began to at- 
tract the attention of the civilized world, he 
reached here, in 1849. The following year 
he returned to his native State and completed 
his law studies, and received license to prac- 
tice law in May, 1851. He went to Arkan- 
sas in that year, engaged in the practice of 
law at Van Buren, afterward at Fort Smith, 
and was prominently identified with the bar 
of that State for a quarter of a century, and 
no man in the southwest country was better 
known than Colonel Humphreys. He took 
an active part in the military service during 
the war, served as an officer of artillery un- 
der General McCullough in western Missouri, 
and under Generals Van Dorn, Bragg and 




E. Kirby Smith. He came to California in 
1875, and since then has saccessfolly prac- 
ticed his profession in San Francisco. In 
1886 he was appointed Assistant City and 
County Attorney, and until the present year 
held this office; and during this time has 
conducted some of the most important liti- 
gations in the municipal history of the city. 
He has performed the arduous duties of thid 
responsible position with marked ability and 
for the best interests of the city. Colonel 
Humphreys is in his political faith a Dem- 
ocrat, and active in the councils of the party. 



■ H <| 



So"i - S 



I I m 




L. GEAR, attorney, is a native of 
Marietta, Ohio, born December 1, 
^ 1842. His parents were natives of 
New England and were among the early set- 
.tlers of Ohio. His father, liev. Hiram 
Gear, was a prominent minister in the Bap- 
tist cliurch, who died in 1843. The mother, 
whose family name was Sage, resided in 
Granville, Ohio, for a number of years pre- 
ceding her death, which occurred in the 
spring of 1891. Our subject attended 
school during boyhood, entered Marietta 
College and graduated in 1862. He began 
reading law while a tutor in the college, and 
entered the law office of Judge Ewart, of 
Marietta. Upon reaching his majority he 
came to the Pacific coast and pursued his 
legal studies with Judge Van Glief, of 
Downieville, and was admitted to the bar on 
his twenty-first birthday, December 1, 1863. 
He engaged in the practice of law in Sierra, 
Plumas and Lassen counties until 1870, when 
he returned to his native State and remained 
until 1883. Coming then again to Califor- 
nia, he located in San Francisco, and since 
then has successfully practiced his profession 
here. While engaged in general practice he 



ITS CITIES AND THEIR SUBURBS. 



291 



has *given much attention to mining law and 
mining litigation. Mr. Gear was elected 
District Attorney of Plumas county in 1868, 
and held that oflSce two years. For the past 
two years he has been Assistant Reporter of 
Supreme Court decisions, and has prepared 
an Index Digest of the California Supreme 
Court Reports for sixty-seven volumes, also 
Supplemental Digest to Volumes 56 to 64 
inclusive, California Reports: and also wrote 
a treatise on the " Law of Landlord and 
Tenant." Mr. Gear is a consistent Repub- 
lican, with prohibition proclivities, but not 
an office-seeker. 

T. HARDING, attorney at law, is a 
native son, born in San Francisco, in 
i^ 1860. His parents were among the 
early settlers, coming here in 1853. His 
father, August Harding, was for many years 
a prominent chemist, and is now living in^ 
Oakland. R. T. Harding received his educa- 
tion in this State, entered the State Univer- 
sity and graduated in the class of 1882. He 
studied law in this city, graduating at the 
Hastings College of Law in 1885, and en- 
gaged in general civil practice, giving much 
attention to the law of land titles. 




"^^nyrrjl 



QTJXr.^^ 




'OHN JAMES SCOTCHLER, a retired 
merchant of San Francisco, and land- 
owner of Oakland