(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Biographical annals of Cumberland County, Pennsylvania : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and of many of the early settled families"

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/biographicalannaOOgene 



T5D 



(^Lumt 



o 



SD 



|3i Oj^rap^'^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL ANNALS 



OF 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



PENNSYLVANIA 



CONTAINING 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE 

CITIZENS AND OF MANY OF THE EARLY 

SETTLED FAMILIES. 



6a\ 



ILLUSTRATED 






CHICAGO: 

THE GENEALOGICAL PUBLISHING CO. 
1005. 



THE JW^'V VaRK 
PUBLIC LlBRiilY 

3S064511 

A^10R, LENOX AND 
"tilden FOCNDATIONS 
g 1945 ^ 



PREFACE) 



N presenting to their patrons The Biographical Annals of Cumberland County the 
publishers feel that they are meeting what is now recognized as a necessity 
in every intelligent community. Even public records now show a diversity 
of statistics that would have been considered absolutely unprofitable not manj- years 
ago. Until recently works of this nature have been limited to biographies of public 
men and the family genealogies prepared by the appreciative few who recognized the 
worth of such records. Much might be said of their present and future value; we 
will only call attention to the important fact that they perpetuate information now 
readily obtainable and hence lightly \alued, but easily lost, the \alue of which is not 
always apparent until too late. 

As the title indicates, the book is devoted to biography. But these biographies, 
portraying as they do the lives of many men who were most intimately connected 
with the making of history in the early days of the Cumberland Valley, contain 
much historical matter and thus have a double value to the thoughtful reader. Many 
of these sketches have been compiled by Mr. Jeremiah Zeamer. who has devoted 
much time and study to historical research. The data have been obtained principally 
from those immediately interested and the various items of historical interest are 
well authenticated and possess a lasting worth enhanced by the fact that many of 
them would be preserved in no other way. 

We take this opportunity to express our gratitude for the help and encourage- 
ment we have received in the county, and the volume is issued in the belief that it 
will form a worthy addition to the private or public librarj'. 

The Publishers. 



INDKX 



PACE 

Abrahims, S. K 755 

Addam?, Charles P 199 

Addams Family 200 

Albright, Solomon 489 

Alexander, Laura E 247 

Alexander, William 246 

Alter Family 586 

Alter, W. S : 587 

Atticks Family 606 

Atticks, George \V. 606 

Aughinbaugh. Alfred A 693 

Babble, Henry C 535 

Bacastovv Family 365 

Bacastow. S. P 365 

Baer, David G 649 

Baker, Clarence B 817 

Barbour Family 370 

Barbour, J. Beattie 369 

Barley Family 295 

Barley. Jacob 295 

Barner Family 334 

Barner, George S 334 

Barner, Horace C 413 

Barner, John L 133 

Barnitz Familv 87 

Barnitz, Jacob E 88 

Barnitz, William 87 

Barton, Joseph F., A. iM.. 

M. D. 230 

Basehore Family 291, 782 

Basehore. Frank G ...291 

Basehore, Samuel E 782 

Basehore, Zacharias 598 

Bashore, Chester C 781 

Bashore Family 781 

Batchelor, ^Irs. Mary A 327 

P.atcbelor, William 327 

Baughnian, Capt. William . . . 332 
Bauman, Mrs. Charlotte E. . . 39 

Bauman Fartiily 38 

Bauman, Isaac 38 

Bear, Jonathan 540 

Bear, Sarah 540 

Beattie, John S 485 

Beetem, Edward C 109 

Beetem, JNIrs. Eliza A 223 

Beetem Family 1 10 

Beetem, Mrs Hetty 243 

Beetem, John 223 

Beetem, Joseph 24^^ 

Belmey, John C 716 



PAGE 

Beitzel, David J 446 

Beitzel. William B 283 

Bcntz, John E 636 

Best Family ' 287 

Best, Joseph 1 287 

Biddle, Gen. Edward M.... 11, 849 

Biddle, Hon. Edward W 11 

Biddle Family 8 

Biddle, William M 11,850 

Bishop, Alexander 484 

Blair, Andrew 204 

Blair Family 204 

Blair, Jenny 206 

Blair, John D 799 

Book. Aaron C 665 

Borst, George C, M. D 742 

Bosler, Abraham 210 

Bosler Family 210 

Bosler, Frank C 217 

Bosler. J. Kirk 214 

Bosler, James W 215 

Bosler, John .\ 490 

Bosler. John Herman 212 

Bosler. Joseph 218 

Bowen, Charles R 378 

Bowen Family .378 

Bowers Family 807 

Bowers. Samuel 807 

Bowman. Abram A 318 

Bowman. D. G 505 

Bowman Families 

178,318,435,505,513 

Bowman, 14. N 435 

Bowman, jihn W., M. D 178 

Bowman, a G 513 

Boyer Fannly 6og 

Boyer, Henry M., D. D. S. . . . 608 

Bradley, A, E 406 

Brandon, George B 112 

Brandt, Clarence K .S97 

Brandt Family ,^97 

Brandt, J. S 741 

Bream. H. N 469 

Brechbill, Henry E ^89 

Brechbill. Philip 389 

Brenneman, Lemuel 230 

Brenneman. Samuel E 381 

Bressler, John T.»- 734 

Bretz Families 353. 523 

Bretz. Harry M 523 

Bretz, W'illiam H 353 

Bricker, Joseph 418 



PAGE 

Bricker, Lewis M 335 

Bricker, Peter 613 

Brindel. C. Egbert 414 

Brindel Family 414 

Brindle. David P 632 

Brinton, Caleb S 187 

Brinton Family 187 

Brown, Hon. Harry G 191 

Brownawell, Oliver J. F 732 

Brubacher, George 337 

Brubacher. George W 337 

Brubaker, Jacob N 633 

Brubaker, Reuben 259 

Bucher, Jarred C 798 

Burgett, E. P 316 

Burgner Family 116 

Burgner, Thomas R 116 

Campbell. Dr. Edmond E. . . . 80 

Campbell, Richard L 828 

Carbaugh. William H 352 

Chamberlin. Charles R 486 

Chamberlin Family 464 

Chamberlin, Jesse 464 

Clendenin, Calvin 761 

Clendenin Family 43, 758 

Clendenin. John W 763 

Clendenin. William 43 

Clepper. James 333 

Clever. George 709 

Clippinger. Charles A 746 

Clippinger Family 479 

Clippinger, John 772 

Clippinger, Nannie 747 

Coburn, James P 684 

Coffey, John 479 

Cole, George B 231 

Commings. Alfred B 646 

Cooper Family 340 

Cooper, James S 339 

Coover, Alexander S 483 

Coover Family 581 

Coover, George 443 

Coover. John A. '. 573 

Coover, John H 588 

Coover, Martin 344 

Coover, Samuel R 581 

Cope Family 363 

Cope, William M .^63 

Corman, Mrs. Eliza 613 

Corman, Robert 6ir 

Coulson, Calvin 127 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Coulson. Mrs. Rachel A 128 

Cox, John 1 160 

Cox, William A., Sr 159 

Coyle, David 89 

Coyle, David L go 

Coyle Family 89 

Coyle, Jame? 301 

Coyle, John 8g 

Coyle, Samuel ;\I 00 

Coyle, W. Scott 88 

Dale Family 68 

Dale, Kate C 70 

Dale, William W.. M D 68 

Darr, Samuel ,349 

Davidson Family 104 

Davidson, James A [57 

Davidson, Airs. Jane A ,i,^r 

Davidson, John B 104 

Davidson,. John S ,^30 

Day, Annette 16 

Day. Ira, M. D 15 

Deitch, Charles 284 

Deitch, John 548 

Denny, Maj. Ebenezer 75 

Denny Family 76 

Denny, William 34, y6 

Derick, Thomas A 569 

Derland, Capt. Charles S. . . . 296 

Derr Family 718 

Derr, Thomas M 718 

Dick, H. A 494 

Dietz, Christian 12S 

Dietz, Mrs. Elizaheth 128 

Dietz Family 41 1 

Dietz, Milton C 411 

Dietz, Simon 354 

Diller, Solomon 472 

Ditlow, Hiram 447 

Donnelly, John 444 

Dougherty, William H 155 

Drager, William C 382 

Drawbaugh, Daniel 751 

Drawbaugh Family 616 

Drawbaugh, Jacob. H., M. D. . 61.5 

Drawbaugh, William E 660 

Dunbar Family 143 

Duncan, James M 356 

Dunkleberger Family 823 

Dunkleberger. Mclvin L 82,-^ 

Dunlap Family 534 

Dunlap, James 534 

Eberl}', Edward M 746 

Eberly Family 572 

Eberly, Ira S 572 

Eberly, JMrs. Katberine 640 

Eberly. Mrs. Maggie 74^ 

Eberly, William H 649 

Eckels Brothers 845 

Eckels Families' 48, 63 

Eckels, George M., M. D.... 847 
Eckels. George M. D., A. M., 

Sc. D 48 

Eckels, James 63 

Eckels, John C T2r 

Eckels, Walter L 847 

Eckels, William A 127 

Eckels, William P 825 



PAGE 

Ege, Prof. A. H., A. E., A. M. 696 

Ege Families 629, 696 

Eichelberger Family 544 

Eichelberger, Jacob 544 

Elliott, Abram 507 

Elliott Family 507 

Elliott, James 421 

Elm, Mrs. Charlotte 550 

Elm, Jacob R 549 

Embick Family 141 

Embick. Col. Milton A 141 

Eminger Family 517 

Eminger, Samuel N 517 

Enck, Elmer E 564 

Enck Family 314 

Enck, Harper B 314 

Eppley, M. L .S92 

Eppley. Samuel L 275 

Eppley, U. G ,391 

Erford Family 312 

Erford, John J 312 

Eshleman, Abrah.am L 638 

Eshleman Family 638 

Eslinger, Elias E 567 

Eslinger Family 567 

Ettcr. John 320 

Evans, Frysinger 307 

Ewalt Family 16.5 

Ewalt, Henry = 165 

Ewing Family .304 

Ewing. Hastings' .A 304 

Eyster Family 503 

Fair, Robert W 9,=; 

Fegley, Rev. Henry N 256 

Felty, Jacob L 730 

Ferguson, Rev. Thomas J. . . 139 

Fink, Jacob 447 

Firestone, C. R ,360 

Firestone Family ,360 

Fishbnrn, Adam 426 

Fisbburn, Anthony 429 

Fishbnrn Family 426 

Fishbnrn, Mrs. Salome .'\, . . . 429 

Fishbnrn, Samuel K 427 

Fisher, Henry 403 

Fitting, John 658 

■ Fleming, James C 183 

Fletcher Family 712 

Fletcher, Josiah W 713 

Fletcher, William W 712 

Fogelsanger, George A 493 

Fogelsanger, George W 542 

Fogelsanger, John R 55' 

Fogelsonger. David 451 

Fogelsonger Family 451 

Freed. Evers- S., M. D 356 

Frey. George D 580 

Frey, Capt. Jesse R 580 

Gamlier. George A 570 

Gardner Family 273 

Gardner, Harry 274 

Gardner. Henry 273 

Garland. Sanniel .A 454 

Garman. Benjamin F 32.5 

Garnian Family .325 

Carver. Mrs. Elizabeth .328 

Garver, Jacob 3-'~> 



PAGE 

Gates Family 565 

Gebhard. Philip L 271 

Gebhart, George VV 565 

Gettel, David W 342 

Geyer, David Z 336 

Geyer, Mrs. Sarah A 336 

Gibb Familv 324 

Gibb, W. H' 324 

Gill, David H 290 

Gill Family 290 

Gill, Mrs. Jane 290 

Givler Family 468 

Givler, Jeremiah 434 

Givler, Joseph 469 

Givler, Joseph D 472 

Givler. Peter B 469 

(ilatfelter Family 541 

Glatfelter. Jeremiah 541 

(jleim, Samuel 757 

Good. Mrs'. Catharine 369 

Good. John L 369 

Goodhart Family 400 

Goodhart. Martin A 400 

Goodyear Fannly 162 

Goodyear, Fisk 164 

Goodyear, Jacob ]\I 163 

Goodyear, Samuel M 164 

Gorgas, Mrs. Elizabeth ^^ 

Gorgas, Solomon P 32 

Gottshall. Jacob AI 529 

Gottshall. Peter D 496 

Gottwerth. Henry 254 

Gould, Mrs. Henrietta M. . . . 61.5 

(iould, Samuel H 614 

Graham, Duncan M., Esq. ... 48 

Graham Family 4'. 

Graham, James H., LL.D 44 

Graham, Robert M 467 

Greason Family 40S 

Greas'on, Samuel 'W 411 

Greason, William D 410 

Green Family 557 

Green. J. Kelso 559 

Green. Joseph E 557 

Greenwood. Irvin E 657 

Greybill Family 232 

Greybill, John D 232 

Grimm, Rev. Jacob L 629 

Grissinger, John S 496 

Gutshall. Leonard 501 

Hagerty. Rev. Andrew N. . . . 693 

Halbert. Luther B 270 

Haldeman. Jacob M 829 

Haldeman. Richard J 831 

Hambleton. Conrad 16 

Hambleton Family 16 

Hamilton Family 644 

Hamilton. John S 644 

Hanlin, James 482 

Harman, Christopher, J. P,.. 326 

Harman Family 326 

Harpst. John 296 

Harris Familv 281 

Harris, O. T 281 

Harris, .Samuel 265 

Harris, Samuel J 26.5 

Hartman, Elias 38,3 

Hartz, Henry 340 



INDEX. 



VII 



PAGE 

Hauck, Mrs. Alice 202 

Hauck, George W 200 

Hays, Edwin R /Oi 

Hays Families 428, 697 

Havs, James' 428 

Hays, J. C 745 

Heberlig Family ,351 

Heberlig, J. Edwin ,350 

Heberling, John 504 

Hecker, Henry L 207 

Hecker, Mrs. Julia 208 

Heffelman Family 401 

HefFelman, George \V 401 

Hefflcfinger Family 343 

Hffflefmger, John A 279 

Hefflcfinger, William A 343 

Heiser. Peter M 49i 

Helfrich Family 3/2 

Helfrich, George E 372 

Heller. Marcus .349 

Henuninger Family 120 



120 
536 
5.36 
238 
6 



I knimin.gcr, George. "SI. 1) 

I Icmmingcr. Mary E 

1 Uniniinger. Samuel 

Hemphill, Joseph S 

Henderson Family 

Henderson, John S 146 

Henderson, Richard P 2r 

Henderson, Robert M 6 

Hendricks. Mrs. Amanda C. . . 597 

Hendricks, Peter D 597 

Henry, Rev. George C 704 

Herman, J. Adair 716 

Herman, Martin C "14 

Hertzler Family 260 

Hertzler, Harry 260 

Hertzler, Samuel — , 480 

Hevd, Mrs. Catherine 177 

Heyd, Coover VV. . ../ 177 

Heyd Family i 176 

Heyd, Jacob L V. 176 

Highlands, Edward .,* 390 

Highlands Family . . . \ ^V^,390 

Highlands, Hiram H 
Hildebrandt. John A 

Hilton Family 257 

Hilton, George W 257 

Himes, Charles F., Ph. D., 

LL. D 58 

Himc! Families 58,60 

Himes, George W 60 

Himes, J. H. . 610 

Hippensteel Family 806 

Hippensteel, Henry D .380 

Hippensteel, William 806 

Hippie, John D ,329 

Hoffer Family 530 

Hoffer, George M S30 

Hoon, Joseph E 756 

Hoover Families .338, 432 

Hoover, George 432 

Horner, Augustus 577 

Hosfeld, John 461 

Hosier, Benjamin W 266 

Hosier Family 266 

Hosier, J. R 568 

Hostetter, Abraham 198 

Hostetter Family 198 

Houser, Rev. Frank S 521 




P.\GE 

Houston, Dalbert W 685 

Hoy, Daniel 322 

Hoy Fam'ilies 303, 322 

Hoy, J. W 303 

Hughes, James W., Ph. D. . . . 61 

Hummel, Catharine D 135 

Hummel Family 362 

Hummel, George 135 

Hummel, J. Frederick, Jr. ... 362 

Humrich, Christian P I 

Humrich Family I 

Humrich, William A 793 

Hurs't, Jacob 154 

Hurst, Mrs. Julia 154 

Huston, E. Rankin 688 

Hus'ton Families 676, 682 

Huston, James S 686 

Huston, Samuel L 680 

Ilgenfritz, John 747 

Irwin, George G., M. D 15^ 

Jackson Family 244 

Jackson, Samuel II 244 

Jacobs, John 750 

Jacoby, Christian 376 

Jacoby, Mrs. Wilamina C. . . . 376 

Jamison, Mrs. Emily J 27,3 

Jamison, Mrs. IMary J. S 27.3 

Jamison, William T. S 272 

Johnston, Elizabeth . . . ., 280 

Johnston, George 280 

Jones, William E 661 

Kapp, William H 826 

Kaufman Family 532 

Kaufman, Julius H 531 

Kaufman, Martin N ,39.3 

Kei.ser, Rev. George 652 

Kelley, Mrs. Agnes 190 

Kelley, Cornelius V 190 

Kelley, John 547 

Kelly, Rev. .Austin A 515 

Kelly Family 515 

Kendig Family 589 

Kendig, John F 589 

ndig, Levi 4T8 

Ke"rf^'on Family 12,3 

Ker Family .• . . . 461 

Ker. William 461 

Kissinger^ Samuel M 286 

Kitch, Jadsb 399 

Kitner, SaiWiel M 481 

Kitzmiller, Airs. Mary C. ... 453 

Kitzmiller, Sanuiel E 453 

Kleffman Family 527 

Kleffman, Rev. John E 526 

Kline, James 506 

Klinedinst, Edgar L 576 

Klinedinst Family 576 

Kling Family 385 

Kling, Matthew 385 

Klink, James K 546 

Klugh, Prof. George P 466 

Knaub, Henry 471 

Knisley Family 538 

Knisley, John K 538 

Roller, J. H 742 

Koons, Joseph 831 



PAGE 

Koons, Philip R., M. D 70s 

Koser, Alfred C 45S 

Koser, David, Sr 364 

Koser, John J., M. D 659 

Kost, Jacob 208 

Krause, Ernst J 292 

Kruger, John H 456 

Kunkel, Samuel 136 

Kunkle, George 733 

Kuntz, John B 46.5 

Kutz Family 424 

Kutz, George C 424 

Kutz, John L 509 

Kutz, Joseph 424 

Lamberton, Abraham 669 

Lamberton, Miss Annie G. . . . 32 

Lamberton Families 30, 66g 

Lamberton, Mrs. Margaret E. 

C 671 

Lamberton, Major Robert ... 30 

Lamberton, Robert C 672 

Landis Family 44=; 

Landis, John B ■] | "; 

Lantz Family 31,3 

Lantz, Jacob S 313 

Lawton, Mrs. Elouisa R 24S 

Lawton, Robert J 248 

Lay, Elmer E 571 

Lee, John F 624 

Le Fevre Family 429 

Lehman, William H., Sr 578 

Lenhart, DeLance Y 388 

Liggett, Clarence M 259 

Lindner, John 156 

Lindsay. Alexander 724 

Lindsay Family 487- 

Lindsay, Misses 725 

Lindsay, Thomas A 487 

Linds'ey, Davidson W 591 

Lindsey Family 59T - 

Line. .Alliert .A 224 

Line, Arthur W 402 

. Line. David 626 

Line, Dionycious P 345 

Line, Emanuel C 483 

Line Families ...171,224,322, 

346, 386, 403, 483, 626 

Line, Luther A 174 

Line, William .\ 386 

Line, William H 321 

Line, William R 171 

Lininger Family 374 

Lininger, John B 374 

Lloyd Family 70 

Lloyd, William P 72 

Long, Christian 131 

Long Family 131 

Long, Oron 297 

Longsdorf, Jacob M 553 

Longsdorff, William H., M. D. 703 

Loudon, .'Archibald 818 

Loudon. Elizabeth 30 

Loudon Family 27, 818 

Loudon, James 821 

Loudon, JMatthew 27 

Loudon, William C 823 

McCaleb, George 726 



IXDEX. 



McCarrell, Rev. \\\ A.. D. D. 71 1 

McClelland. Tohn 74Q 

McClellaiul, Miss M, Belle... 750 

McCominon. William B 256 

]\IcCrea, William H 794 

McCreary, J. Bruce, M. D. . . .^41 

McCreary. John F ,Ui 

McCulloch, George H 44^^ 

McCulloch, J. Clark ,167 

McCulloch, William R 4J4 

AlcCullogh. Brady 550 

McDowell, Mrs. Hester M. .. 2.3 

McDowell, Dr. Samuel A. ... 2,3 

McElhare, Harry 447 

McGarv, Dr. Robert M 20,3 

McGaw, Winlield .S 45« 

McGuire Family _. 562 

McGuire, Thomas B. B 562 

McKechan Family 474 

McKeehan, Samuel 474 

Manuing, Hon. Edgar S 222 

IMamiing Family 2ig 

Manning, Hon. Harry 2t8 

Markley, Charles F 181 

Markley, Prof. Henry B 52.5 

i\iarquette, Charles D 251 

Marquette Family 251 

Martin, Mrs. Anna M 309 

Martin, David J\l ,387 

Martin Family 387 

Martin, Joab 574 

iNIartin, Mary 575 

Martin, Reuben ,308 

Martin, William J 575 

Maust, Fillmore 594 

Means F-aniily 92, 227 

Means, James R 92 

Means. Joseph McC 227 

Mechling, John 416 

Meek, Charles' B 804 

Meek, Jacob 804 

Meek, Mrs. Sophia 805 

Mentzer, Anson G 642 

jNIentzer Family 728 

Alentzer. Francis 404 

Mentzer, Frederick B 728 

Alentzer. J. -C 264 

Mickey Family ,347 

Mickey, Robert .347 

Mifflin, Joseph 519 

Mifflin, Capt. Joseph 519 

Miller, C, R 848 

Miller Families 82, ,317, 366 

Miller, Harry S 316 

iMiller, John ,A 834 

^Miller, John L 366 

:Miller. j. D 777 

ililler. J. W 407 

^filler, Samuel F 58^ 

Miller, Samuel N 725 

Miller, Capt. William E 82 

illinium. Henry .A 491 

Mitten, Howard L 797 

Mohler, H. S 773 

Monn, C. J "'/•^ 

Monosmith, Jacob 346 

Montgomery, jNIrs. Anna E. . 137 

Morrison, John 764 



M'.rrison, W. Scott 

.Mnuntz. .Adam J .■ 

i\Iountz Family 809, 

Mountz, Ira F 

Mowers I'amily 

j\Iowers, John 

!\lowers, Peter 

Mullin, Charles 11 

Mullin Family 

Munima, Martin 

Mumma, Milton S 

Mumper, Hon. George W. . . . 

Mumper, John S 

Murray Family 

Jifurray, Harraan D 

jMurray, Rev. Joseph A., D.D. 

Murray, Margaret F 

Alurrav, William F! 

Murtoff, Albert H 

^lusselman. .Alfred W 

Alusselman Family 

Musser Families 288. 299, 

Musser, Henry D 

j\Iusser, John B 

Musser. Joseph F 

Mycr?, Andrew 

Myers Families 502, 

Myers. John F 

i\Iyers. Joseph i\l 

Myers, Robert L 

Myers. William .A 

Nailor, Charles H 

Nailor, Edwin E 

Nailor Family 

Nailor. George W 

Nailor, Jacob S 

Nailor. John R 

Navlor, James F 

Neely. Edward C, .M. D. . .. 

Nell, Adam 

Nell Family 

Nesbit. John C 

Ncvin, Joseph P 

Nevin, Josephine E 

Newcomer, T. J 

Noble, Mrs. Elizabeth M. ... 

Noble. Robert F 

Noftsker Family 

Nof tsker, George W 

Norcross Family 

Norcross, Rev. George, D. D. 



P-\(;e 

7'>.5 
809 
816 

470 

359 
470 

554 

5.S4 

4 

812 

708 

440 

3,3 

3S 

152 

38 

.U 

.Vb 

,?57 

357 

358 

299 

358 
288 

587 
. 587 
502 
355 
185 
560 



443 
441 
44-2 
441 
442 
625 
192 
82S 
8^8 
516 
T19 
120 
563 
276 
276 
595 
595 
^4 
24 



Ocker, John B .^g. 

Officer Family 846 ,' 

Ogilb}', .Anna R 791 

Ogilby, Charles 780 

Ogilby Family 788 

Ogilby, Joseph W 790 

Ogilby, Mollie E 791 

Ogilbv, William i\l 791 

O'Neal, Lindsay P., M. D. . : 62 

Orris, Abram, Esq 584 

Orris Family 584 

Parker, Leonard 294 

Parker, Leonard C 29.5 

Paulding. Mrs. Mary I^ ^,'2 

Peebles Familv 608 



P.\GF, 

Peebles. Robert (108 

Peffer Family 621 

Pefifer, J. Warren 706 

Peffer, lion. William .\ 2,35 

Peffer, William H fur 

Penrose. Hon. Charles B 802 

Penrose. Col. William M 803 

Peters, Earl 39^ 

Peters Family 184 

Peters. Milton R.. M. D. ... 1S3 

Pilcher I^'amily 12 

PUcher, James E., Al. D.. 

A. ^I., Ph. D., L. H. D., 12 

Pittenger, Charles R 849 

Plank, Mrs. Jane M 242 

Plank, Peter 241 

Plough, Joseph 396 

Plover, Frederick K 691 

Pop'e. Miss Tena 385 

Porter Family 282 

Porter, James' 282 

Powell, John W 656 

Pratt, Brig. Gen. Richard H. 64 
Preston, Thomas W., M. D. . 189 

Prince Familv 78 

Prince, Morris W., S. T. D. . . 78 

Quigley, J, Sharp 800 

Radaliaugh. John 623 

Ralston. J. McCallister 549 

Raudabaugh, Daniel X^^ 

Rea. G. Arthur 51^ 

Rea. J. D 5^8 

Reddig. Clarence J., A. M., 

M. A g-^ 

Reddig Familv 95 

Redding, Carvill H 3'o 

Reed, George E., S. T. D.. 

LL. D 5f> 

Reed, Rev. G. M. D. D 767 

Reed, Nathan F ,182 

Rees'e. .Adam 850 

Reeser. J. C 74^ 

Reiff. Jacob H .198 

Reighter. George W 412 

Rice. David S 401 

Rice. William B 253 

Rich, Abraham C 43° 

Richwine, A. Grant 455 

Richwine, Jesse 737 

Ridge Church 552 

Riley, J. Clayton 245 

Riuesmith, George W 262 

Rippey Family 83a 

Robbins. Jesse 499 

Rohland. Abraham L 226 

Rolar. Samuel O 504 

Roney, John C (>3.} 

Ronev, Warren P 734 

Roush, John R 319 

Rudolph, Thomas, J._ P 796 

Rummel, Hon. J. Caivin .... [84 

Rupert Family 477 

Rupert, John L 477 

.Rupp Fahiily 438 

Rupp, Henrv M 6,35 

Rupp, John M .36i_ 

Rupp. Jonas C 438 



INDEX. 



IX 



PAGE 

Russell, David B 37=; 

Russell. Enos INI 536 

Ruth, Alonzo H 4'6 

Rutz, Harry P 3^.3 

Rutz, William E 311 

Sadler Family 169 

Sadler, Joseph 647 

Sadler, Hon. Willnir I'" 169 

Sample, Hiram K 168 

Sample, Mrs. Margaret E. . . 168 

Saxton, J. 206 

Schoch, Jacob L., M. D 601 

Schuchman, George L 628 

Schuchman, John C 285 

Schwarz, J. Grant 307 

Searight, John S 79.=; 

Seibert, C. F 339 

Seidle, Frederick 130 

Seiler Family ' 810 

Seller William H 810 

Seitz Family 413 

Seitz, Jacob B 414 

Seitz, John B 413 

Senseman, John F ". 240 

Scnseman, William 138 

Shambangh Family 195 

Shambaugh, Levi J 195 

Shaplev, Toel 348 

Shapley, William E., M. D. . 348 

Sharp Family 17 

Sharp, :\Irs. Martha A 289 

Sharp, Major Thomas 17 

Sharp, William C 289 

Sharpe, Col. Alexander B. ... 66 

Sharpe, Elder W 543 

Sharpe Family 66 

Sharpe, Airs. Katherinc M. .. 68 

Shaull, Ira E 240 

Sheafer, John U 278 

Shelly, John W 769 

Shenk Family 702 

Shenk, Levi H 701 

Sheriff, William H 321 

Shetron, J. A 825 

Shettel Family 495 

Shettel, Jacoli E 495 

Shnlenberger, Dr. Ephraim . . 261 

Shulenberger r'amily 478 

Shnlenberger, Robert E 478 

Shulenberger, Mrs. S. Belle. . 479 

Shumberger, William C 778 

Simmons. Jacob W 814 

Singer. Davis C , 462 

Singer, Mrs. Mary E 46^ 

,Sipe, Albert W 267 

Sipe, Charles H 271 

Sipe, Charley D 255 

Sipe Family 267 

Skinner, S. M 748 

Smaling, Henry P 808 

Suavely, David D 309 

Suavely Family 309 

Snyder Family 449 

Snyder, John H 279 

Snyder, Joseph H 264 

Snyder, Samuel H 449 

Sollenberger, George A 738 

Sollenberger, John A., D.D.S. 242 



PAGE 

Sours F.imily 510 

Sours,. John .' 510 

Spahr, Cyrus \\ 639 

Spahr Family 179, 639 

Spahr, William 179 

Spangler Family 302 

Spangler, I'rancis H 827 

Spangler, T. J 302 

Speck, Frank R 247 

Spera, George VV 293 

Spong. Lemuel R 473 

Sprenkel, John 39 

Stammel, John 475 

Stauffer Family 425 

Stauffer, John G 42,5 

Stauffer, Mary 425 

Steele, Ephraim 149 

Steele h'amily : . • 143 

Steele, Margaret A 150 

Steele, Martha J 150 

Steese Family 599 

Steese. James A 599 

Stephens' Family 79 

Stephens, Prof. Henry M.. 

A. M.. B. S 79 

Sterrett. John S 224 

Sterrett, Miss S. L 224 

Stewart. George H 842 

Stone. John 848 

Stones'ifer I-'amily 406 

Stonesifer, William H 406 

Strickler, Abraham 331 

Stricklcr, Jacob E 331 

Strickler, Mary G 33^ 

Strock, Andrew G 550 

Strock I'"amilv 559 

Strock, hVank P 263 

Strock, G. Lawrence 59,3 

Strohm, Cieorge 583 

Str(^hm, John 579 

Strdiim, Wilson S 74.- 

Stuart Family 150 

Stuart, Hugh Silas, Est] 7S6 

Stuart, J. Clark 651 

Stuart, John T 787 

Stuart, Walter 150 

Swarncr, George W 419 

Swarner, John A 476 

Swartz Family 73 

Swartz, G. Wilson 75 

Swartz, John B 546 

Swiler Family 104 

Swiler. William E.. M, 1).. .. ro4 

Tajdor Family 618 

Taylor, John S 618 

Thomas Family 40 

Thomas, Col. Robert H 40 

Thomas, Robert H., Jr 42 

Thomman Family 39.3 

Thomman, Harry S 393 

Thompson, David R 797 

Totton Family 298 

Totton, Col. Joseph 135 

Totton, Joseph J 298 

Trickett, William, LL. D. . . . 129 

Trilt Family 431 

Tritt, Samuel J 431 

Tritt, T. Grove 791 



r.\GE 

Underwood, .\nne H 618 

Underwood Family 616 

Underwood, James 6x7 

Vandersaal Family 770 

Van Scyoc. B. F 731 

Wade, Nelson A 577 

Wagner, Major Isaac 56 

Wagner, Mrs. Mary J 56 

Walker Family 133, 648 

Walker, James H 648 

Walker. William M 133 

Walters Family 556 

Walters, (ieorge F 1.92 

Walters', John H 556 

Ward, Mrs. Catherine 834 

Ward, Jacob M 833 

Watts, Edward B 194 

Watts Family 192 

Weakley Family 602 

Weakley, J. King 455 

Weaklev, Hon. James M 721 

Weakley, Willis J 603 

Weary Family 488 

Weary, George W 48S 

Wcast, Jacob 368 

Weaver, John S 509 

Webb, Thomas J 635 

Weber, George B 81 i 

Weber, Henry 631 

Weber, S. H 744 

Weber, W. H 580 

Weidman, Edward J 269 

Weidman, Louis 269 

Weigle, Rev. Elias D 722 

Wertz, George 533 

Wertz, Peter 561 

Wertz, Solomon 48i; 

Wertz, Mrs. Susan 48.5 

Wetzel Family 53 

Wetzel, John W., Esq 52 

Whcrlv Family 395 

Wherly. William R 393 

Whiting, Henrv C 86 

Whiting, Mrs. Mary L 87 

Wilks, Edward J 519 

Willis, Abner 813 

Willis, Mrs. Is'mah 814 

Wilt, William 805 

Wise, Albert M 372 

Wise, Edward J 498 

Wise, Elizabeth A 359 

Wis'e Families 370, 498 

Wise, Frederick J 497 

Wise, George 11 374 

Wise, Isaac H 75a 

Wise, Jacob E 370 

Wise, John P 545 

Wise, William 35!^ 

Wise, William H 459 

Witmer, Abram 779 

Witmer Family 3S0 

Witmer, Henry 7.36 

Witmer, Hervey W 380 

Witmer, Jacob W 384 

Witter, Edward W 814 

Wonderly Family 306 

Wonderly, W. Willis 306 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Woodbuni I'ainily 666 

Woodburii, John I! 666 

Wj'lie, Rev. Samuel S 604 

Yeingst Family 377 

Veingst, Samuel J 377 

Yohe, John H 642 

Yoter, Joseph L 474 

Young, Dr. John H 766 

Zeamer Family g8 



PAGE 

Zeamer. Jeremiali 103 

Zeamer, John 98 

Zeamer, John H . . .■ 104 

Zearing Family 161 

Zearing, Jacoli S 160 

Zearing. Robert \V 367 

Zeigler Family 643 

Zeigler. Leonard W 774 

Zei,gler, William S 643 

Zell Family 463 

Zell. Warren 463 

Ziegler Family 405 



PACE 

Ziegler. William A 405 

Zimmerman. Bishop Benja- 
min F 662 

Zimmerman. Cornelius 310 

Zimmerman Family 662 

Zimmerman. Jonas M 417 

Zimmerman. ^Irs. Sarah R. . 310 

Zinn Family 30.5 

Zinn, Rev. John H 426 

Zinn. McClellan 305 

Zinn. Peter 420 



Tflfi^'EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



A8T0B, LENOX AND 

TU-DEN FnilNDATinNg 

B >> 




^.>. 




BIOGRAPHICAL. 



CHRISTIAN PHILIP HUMRICH. 
The Humriclis are of German descent. 
Christian Hunirich. the grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, came to America in 
1793. He settled in Pennsylxania. and on 
the 14th of June, 1802. before Hon. Hugh 
H. Brackenridge, a Justice of the Supreme 
Court, presiding in the circuit court of Lan- 
caster, he "abjured all allegiance and fidelity 
to Charles Theodore .\ugust Christian, Elec- 
torate Prince of the Palatinate in Clermany, 
of whom he was heretofore a subject." and 
was duly naturalized. He was a saddler by 
trade. In 1807 he removed with his family 
to Carlisle, where he took possession of the 
"Black Bear Inn" property, which he had 
bought at sheriff's sale in Septeml^er. 1806. 
This property is situated on the northwest 
corner of Hanover and Louther streets, and 
has been in the Hunirich name ever since, 
Ijeing now owned by Christian Philip Hum- 
rich. Here Christian Humrich kept hotel 
and carried on the saddle and harnessmaking 
business until 1824. when he retired from 
the active duties of life. He died on Oct. 
22. 1842, aged about ninety-four years. He 
was a successful business man and owned 
nuich desirable property in and about the 
tow'n. He also took a live interest in the 
various public enterprises of his day, and 
was a meiuber of the building committee that 



erected the town hall which stood on the 
court house scjuare near where the soldiers' 
monument now stands. For their serxices 
he and the other members of the commit- 
tee were awarded a vote of thanks by the 
Cumberland Fire Company, as appears by 
the minutes of that organization. He was 
an active member of the German (now the 
First) Lutheran Church of Carlisle, took a 
prominent part in liquidating the debt in- 
curred in 1807 by the erection of the first 
brick church building, on Bedford near 
Louther street, and at different times served 
as vestryman and treasurer. On the 20th 
of April, 1840, when over ninety years of 
age, as an "inspector," he helped to conduct 
the election of church officers, as appears by 
the certificate of that election which is still in 
existence. 

Christian Hunirich was married to 
Chri.stina Foltz, and, as ajjpears by the 
records of the Trinity Lutheran Church of 
Lancaster City, had the following children : 
Anna Maria, born Dec. 24, 179 — ; Cath- 
arine, born April 18, 1795; George Philip, 
born August 19, 1796;, Sarah Elizabeth, 
born March 11, 1798; Johannes, born Aug. 
10, 1799, and John Adams, born Sept. 3, 
1800. 

John Adams Humrich. the youngest 
child of Christian and Christina (Foltz)- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Humrich, learned the saddler's trade, suc- 
ceeded to the husiness of his father and con- 
tinued it until in 1830, when he changed to 
the grocery and provision trade, which he 
conducted on the aforenamed corner at Han- 
over and Louther streets until 1840. He 
then relinquished the mercantile business and 
thereafter directed his attention to farming 
and the management of his properties. He 
died on the i8th of February, 1880. He was 
an energetic, successful business man and 
like his family for generations before him, 
was a member of the Lutheran Church. In 
politics he was an old-line Whig and an ar- 
dent supporter of William Henry Harri- 
son for president. Subsequently he was a rad- 
ical Republican and an "Underground Rail- 
road Man," but ne\er held an elective office. 
In 1830 John Adams Humrich married 
Mary Ann Zeigler, of North Middleton 
township, a daughter of Philip Zeigler, 
whose father, Philip Zeigler, Sr., came from 
W'urtemberg, Germany, in the year 1753, and 
located in Upper Salford township, Phila- 
delphia (now ^Montgomery) county, where 
on Sept. 24. 1763, he was naturalized. He 
was a land owner and a farmer and a warm 
friend of the Continental cause in the Rev- 
olutionary war. He and his wife Ehzabeth 
had six sons, viz. : Henry, Andrew, John, 
George, Mark and Philip, and two daugh- 
ters. Catharine and Elizabeth, as appears by 
his last will and testament, duly probated in 
Montgomery county. His son, Philip 
Zeigler, Jr., who was one of his executors, 
married JNIary Kramer of the adjoining 
county of Bucks, and by her had three sons 
and two daughters born in Montgomery 
county. The sons were John, Abraham and 
Samuel, and the two daughters were Eliza- 
beth and Mary Ann. With this family, in 
iSor, when his daughter Mary Ann was yet 
less than five years old, he migrated to Cum- 



berland county and settled near Sterrett's 
Gap, in Middleton (now Middlesex) town- 
ship, where he resided until the end of his 
days. In addition to the above-named chil- 
dren three sons, Jesse, David and Philip, 
and a daughter. Sophia, were born after the 
family settled in Cumberland county. Three 
daughters, not named, died in infancy, but 
the rest of his children all grew to maturity, 
married, and with a single exception left 
families. Elizaljeth, the oldest daughter, 
married Dr. Conrad Eckert, of Carlisle, and 
died without issue in August, 1823, in the 
thirty-fifth year of her age. Sophia, the 
youngest child, became the wife of Jacob 
Wise, and at the age of almost ninety-two 
years is still living at her home in the village 
of Springville, in this county, reasonably 
active in mind and body. 

Philip Zeigler, Jr., the Cumlierland coun- 
ty ancestor of the Zeigler family, was also a 
member of the German Lutheran Church of 
Carlisle, as were all his children and many 
of his grandchildren. He was a Democrat 
in politics, and took interest in public af- 
fairs, but never sought office. He w^as pos- 
sessed of considerable property and as a 
stockholder and director lost heavily in the 
old Agricultural Bank of Carlisle. His chief 
occupation was farming, at which he en- 
gaged extensively, and the "Mansion Farm," 
which he bought in 1801, is still owned and 
farmed by his grandchildren. 

John Adams and Mary Ann (Zeigler) 
Humrich had four children, viz. : Christian 
Philip (whose name heads this sketch), 
John A., Samuel K. and William A. John 
A. died in 1862, leaving surviving him his 
widow and three children, of whom only the 
widow and one son are now living. The 
other three sons are living and all are resid- 
ing in Carlisle. 

Christian Philip Humrich, the eldest son 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



of John Adams and Mary Ann (Z'eigler) 
Humricli, and the especial snbject of tliis 
sketcli, was born in Carlisle March 9, 1831. 
He grew to manhood and received all his 
education in the town of his birth. On Aug. 
16, 1836, he entered one of the first primary 
schools organized in Carlisle under the free 
school law. Miss Rebecca Wightman was 
his first teacher. From the primary he 
passed through the different grades to the 
high school, from which he graduated in the 
summer of 1847. O'^ leaving the public 
schools he entered the preparatory depart- 
ment of Dickinson College and completed 
a full course in that institution, graduating 
from the college proper in July, 1852. In 
the fall of 1852 he entered the office of R. 
M. Henderson, Esq., as a student-at-law, 
and under his instruction pursued the study 
of the law until Nov. 14, 1854, on which date 
he was admitted to the Cumberland County 
Bar. Since then he has been practicing his 
profession in this and adjoining counties. 
Along with his law practice Mr. Humrich 
has paid some attention to agricultural pur- 
suits and given much time to the study of 
history. The history of Cumberland County 
and of the counties formed from "Mother 
Cumberland'" has been with him a favorite 
theme for many years, and upon this par- 
ticular subject the members of the commu- 
nity in general have long regarded him as an 
authority. 

In politics Mr. Humrich is a stanch Re- 
publican. He helped to organize that party 
in 1856 and has shared its fortunes ever 
since, serving as chairman of its county com- 
mittee, and as the representative of his coun- 
ty in its State organization. On three dif- 
ferent occasions he was a candidate for 
county office, twice for District Attorney 
and once for State Assembly, in each in- 
stance recei\ing a creditable vote, but the 



Democratic majority in the county was too 
large to overcome and he was defeated with 
the rest of his party ticket. In municipal 
affairs he has been prominent nearly all his 
life. As early as 1862 he served as a mem- 
ber of the Carlisle town council, and again 
since 1899. As school director he has en- 
joyed an exceptionally long and honorable 
career, as may be gathered from the follow- 
ing extract from a Carlisle newspaper : 

"On last Monday evening, Dec. 7, 1896, 
C. P. Humrich, Esq., entered upon his for- 
tieth year of continuous service as school 
director of the borough of Carlisle, having 
taken his seat as a member of the school 
board on Monday, the 7th day of December, 
1857. He has also served as secretary of 
the school board since Feb. 6, i860, and the 
minutes of the board are in his hand- 
writing." 

His term of service as school director 
terminated on the 7th of June. 1897, he hav- 
ing served continuously in that capacity for 
almost thirty-nine-and-a-half years. He has 
likewise figured as a fireman. On the 5th 
of March, 1859, he Ijecame a member of the 
Good Will Hose Company ; on April 15, 1862, 
he was elected president of that organization, 
in which capacity he served until June 20, 
1899, when he was made president of the 
board of trustees, which position he still 
holds. On the 6th day of September, 1862, 
he was commissioned captain of the Key- 
stone Guards, a military company which was 
organized by and composed principally of 
members of the Good Will Hose Company. 
This organization shortly afterward became 
Company I, ist Regiment of the Pennsyl- 
vania Militia, commanded by Col. Harry 
McCormick, and served on the State border 
in the Antietam campaign under the procla- 
mation of President Lincoln and the orders 
of Gov. Curtin. In connection with Hon. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



W. F. Sadler and others Mr. Humrich or- 
ganized and put into successful operation the 
Carlisle Building & Loan Association — the 
first of its kind in Carlisle — and acted as its 
secretary from the time of its organization 
until it was voluntarily dissolved by order 
of court, a period of nearly nine years. He 
is now president of the Cumberland County 
Bar Association ; has served as treasurer of 
the Cumljerland County Law Liljrary Com- 
mittee since January, 1875 ; has administered 
the Hamilton Trust School Fund since 
1885 : has been secretary of the Hamilton 
Library Association since 1891, and is a 
charter member of the Pennsylvania Ger- 
man Society. 

On May 12, 1859. Christian Philip Hum- 
rich was married to Miss Amanda Rebecca 
Zeigler, a daughter of Jesse and Mary Ann 
(Peffer) Zeigler, and granddaughter of 
Philip Zeigler, of North Middleton town- 
ship. To their union nine children were born. 
six of whom survive, these being Charles 
F., who is engaged in the insurance business ; 
Ellen King; Carrie Amelia, who is the wife 
of Jacob W. Humer ; Blanche Zeigler, Mary 
Ann and Christian Philip, Jr., all of whom 
reside in Carlisle and are members of the 
First Lutheran Church. On the 8th of May, 
1S99, his wife, Amanda Rebecca, after a 
protracted illness caused by grip and pneu- 
monia, died, and her remains were laid to 
rest in Ashland cemetery, at Carlisle. His 
home and that of his family has been at No. 
149 West Louther street since April, i860. 

Mr. Pfumrich has lived in Carlisle all 
his life. He well remembers the great hail 
storm that struck the town in June, 1839. 
by which the large willow tree standing near 
the First Presbyterian church was blown 
down, the attic gable end of the house of 
William Leonard, corner of Hanover and 
Louther streets, blown out upon the adjoin- 



ing residence of Abel Keeny, and much other 
damage that was done. He vividly recalls 
the election campaign of 1840 and the log 
cabin that was erected on Pitt street opposite 
to where the Opera House now stands : the 
defeat of Henry Clay in 1844 and the medals 
and badges used in that campaign : the burn- 
ing of the court house and town hall in 
ALarch. 1845, and the building of the new 
cinu't hijnse. He is one of the few surviving 
witnesses of the McClintock riot, which oc- 
curred in June, 1847, having been in front 
of the court house when it took place : he 
heard the trial of the defendants at the Au- 
gust court of quarter sessions following, 
and was present when the Confederate Gen- 
eral Fitzhugh Lee, on the night of July i, 
1863, bombardetl the town. 

MARTIN :\IUMAL\, one of the repre- 
sentati\'e business men and popular and re- 
spected citizens of Cumberland county, 
president of the First National Bank of 
Mechanicsburg. was born June 14, 1834, 
near Bainbridge, Lancaster county, son of 
Jacob and Elizabeth (Nissley) ]Mumma, 
the former of whom was born in 1808. near 
High Spire, Dauphin county. The anc;s;ors 
of the Munima f;unilv came from Switzer- 
land to America about 1735. John ^lumma, 
grandfather of Martin, was the father of the 
following children: Jacob, John, Christian, 
Sanniel, Elizabeth and I'rancis, all deceased. 

Jacob Mumma. son of John and father 
of Martin, was born in 1808 near High 
Spire, Dauphin county. He married Eliza- 
l.ieth Nissley, and their children were : Mar- 
tin ; John, deceased; Jacob, a retired farmer 
of Cumberland county: Eli, an implement 
dealer at Mechanicsburg: Amos, an imple- 
ment dealer in Harrisburg: Anna, wife of 
Le\i ]\Iussleman. of Upper Allen township, 
Cumberland county; Eliza, wife of Christian 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Heitler, a retired farmer of Mechanicslnirg; 
and Emma, the wife of John Harnish, a 
dealer in grain and feed at Mechanicsl)urg. 
Jacob Mumma was one of the well known 
citizens and leading farmers of Cumberland 
county, and for many years was a minister 
of the Alennonite Church, a religious body 
to which the family has been attached for 
generations. In 1848, he purchased the 
farm now owned by our subject in Silver 
Spring township, in the limits of Mechanics- 
burg, one of the most valuable properties in 
this part of the county. He was one of the 
most substantial men of this locality, and 
was one of the founders of the Mrst National 
Bank of Mechanicsburg. 

Martin Mumma was reared on the farm, 
and obtained his education in the public 
schools of Silver Spring township, and later 
at Mechanicsburg. In 1859 he married 
Catherine Shelly, of Lower Allen township, 
daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Shelly, of 
Cumberland county. A family of nine chil- 
dren was born to this union, six of whom 
grew to maturity, namely : Mitton S., a 
farmer of Silver Spring township ; Eliza- 
beth, wife of E. X. Xeiswonger, of Mechan- 
icsburg; Edwin, now deceased: Jacob, an 
implement dealer at Mechanicsburg; Will- 
iam and Clara, at home ; and Mary, the wife 
of H. A. Mumper. 

In politics Mr. Mumma has been a life- 
long Republican and has always taken a 
sincere interest in the success of his party. 
In 1866 he became a director in the First 
National Bank at Mechanicsburg, and since 
1895 has been its able and conservative presi- 
dent. From 1875 to 1890 he was a director 
of the Allen S: East Pennsboro Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, and was one of 
the trustees of the celebrated H. G. Moser 
estate for twenty years, and guardian for 
the children. Few men are better known in 



this city, and few have had larger interests 
confided to their care. Coming as he does 
from one of the prominent old families of 
the county, he is a worthy representative of 
its sterling attributes. 

The First National Bank, of Me- 
chanicsburg. Pa., is one of the veteran 
financial institutions of this section of Penn- 
sylvania. Since 1859 it has proved its stabil- 
ity and has passed safely through years of 
great financial stringency, all over the coun- 
try, fulfilling with fidelity all promises made 
to depositors. Its history, while interesting, 
is brief. 

The foundations of this great business 
were laid in 1859. by Merkel. ]\Iumma & Co., 
who established a private banking house 
under that title. In 1861 a charter was se- 
cured, and the name of the Mechanicsburg 
Bank was assumed, and it continued thus 
until 1864, when it became a National Bank, 
and was rechartered as such, in 1883, and 
again in 1903. 

The First National Bank is a bank of 
discount and deposit, making collections, 
dealing in bonds and other good securities, 
and, in fact, transacting all business pertain- 
ing to legitimate banking. In all lines it 
has an extensive and responsible clientele, 
manv of its customers being among the old 
and solid business firms of this section, some 
of them having confided their business in- 
terests to this institution almost since its in- 
ception. The last ofificial report shows in- 
creasing strength. Its capital stock, paid in, 
is $100,000: its surplus is $88,840, nearly 
equaling its capital. This, in the eyes of in- 
vestors, makes a fine showing, indicating 
the careful and conservative management 
which prevails. The officers are: Martin 
Mumma, president: James A. Brandt, 
cashier ; J. D. Landes, teller, while the board 
of directors includes these prominent busi- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



ness men : Martin Mumma, S. F. Houston, 
John H. Bowman. D. R. Merkel, Simon 
Eberly, A. G. Eberly, S. M. Hertzler, J. H. 
Koller and Ira S. Eberly. 

Martin Mumma. president oi the bank. 
is a retired farmer and a man well and favor- 
ably known to the citizens of this locality. 
Other officers have also long been prominent 
in this city. 'Sir. Brandt, the cashier, is a 
banker of large experience and of thorough 
training. Much of the institution's success 
has been due to his efficiency. 

ROBERT MILLER HENDERSON, 
lawyer, soldier, judge, was born in the vicin- 
ity of Carlisle. Cumberland county. Pa., 
March ii. 1827. of Scotch-Irish ancestry, 
comprising on both paternal and maternal 
side, men prominent in the history of the 
county and State. The Henderson and 
Parker families emigrated from the Province 
of Ulster, Ireland, in the early part of the 
Eighteenth century: Richard Parker, and 
Janet, his wife, settled three miles west of 
Carlisle in 1724, acquiring lands by patent 
near the Presbyterian Glebe Meeting House 
(now Meeting House Springs), on which he 
had resided, as recited in his application "ye 
ten years past." His grandson, Major Alex- 
ander Parker, was a distinguished officer in 
the Revolution: an original member of the 
Society of the Cincinnati ; and the founder 
of Parkersburg, W. \'a., at the mouth of 
the Little Kanawha. His remains rest in 
the Parker-Henderson plot in the "old Meet- 
ing House Springs graveyard." Thomas 
Henderson settled about the same date in the 
Pequea \'alley, then within the confines of 
Chester, now Lancaster county. His grand- 
son, Mathew Henderson, in 1790, became a 
citizen of Cumberland county, and resided in 
Middleton township, near Carlisle, and mar- 
ried Margaret \\'ilson (nee Miller), daugh- 



ter of Robert Aliller, and widow of Major 
James Armstrong Wilson, \\\\o was the son 
of Thomas Wilson, one of the earlier pro- 
vincial judges. Major Wilson was educated 
at F'rinceton. and read law with Richard 
Stockton. He was admitted to the Bar of 
Cumberland county on motion of James 
Wilson, in 1774, and died in Carlisle March 
17, 1788, at the early age of thirty-six years. 
a victim of mob violence. Robert Miller was 
a man of prominence in the alTairs of the 
Province, and a member of the Committee 
on Correspondence for Cumberland county 
during the period of the Revolution. 

\Villiam Aliller Henderson, son of 
Mathew and Margaret (Miller) Henderson, 
was born Alay 28, 1795. in Cumberland 
county, and died at his residence, "Oakland" 
farm, a short distance east of Carlisle, Oct. 
16, 1886. He spent the early part of his life 
in Perry county, and with other Perry 
county men, under the command of Capt. 
John Creigh, served' for a short time in the 
war of 181 2. He subsequently returned to 
Cumberland county, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Andrew and Margaret (Will- 
iams) Parker, and soon attained a position 
of influence and prominence in the commun- 
ity. In connection with his brother-in-law, 
the late Richard Parker, under the finn name 
of Henderson & Parker, he established a 
successful milling and distilling business. 
He was one of the original subscribers to 
the Cumberland Valley Railroad, and for a 
number of years a member of the Board of 
Directors. He died at the advanced age of 
almost ninety-two years, — quoting from an 
obituary notice in the Carlisle Herald — 
"running back to the days of Washington 
his life increased and declined through the 
stormy scenes and great conflicts which at- 
tended the 'Building of the Nation.' Through-' 
them all he was a representative man and' 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



an American citizen in tlie broadest meaning 
of the term." 

Robert Miller Henderson, his son, was 
educated in the public schools of Carlisle and 
at Dickinson College, graduating from the 
former in 1838, and from the latter in 1845. 
He pursued the study of law with the Hon. 
John Reed, and on Aug. 25, 1847, was ad- 
mitted to the Bar of Cumberland county. 
He at once entered upon the practice of his 
profession at Carlisle. His interest and 
activity in the politics of that period gave 
him the Whig nomination for the Legisla- 
ture in 185 1, and although the party in his 
district was in the minoritv, he was elected. ' 
and also re-elected in 1852. At the outbreak 
of the war of the Rebellion, he raised a com- 
pany at Carlisle, of which he was elected 
captain, and was duly commissioned April 
21, 1 86 1. The company proceeded to Camp 
Wayne at West Chester, and formed Com- 
pany A, 7th Pennsylvania Reserves. 36th P. 
V. I. This regiment was attached to the 2d 
Brigade, McCall's Division, of the Army of 
the Potomac. Capt. Henderson, served as 
judge advocate, court martial of the division 
from December, 1861 to June, 1862. The 
7th Pennsylvania Reserves was sent to the 
front on July 25, 1861, two days after the 
first battle of Bull Run. and saw the hardest 
kind of service. In the summer of 1862 it 
went into the memorable seven tlays fight 
before Richmond, with full ranks, and when 
the fighting was over scarcely 200 of the 
bra^•e men were left to answer the roll call. 
While leading his company at Charles City 
Cross Roads, on June 30, 1862, in this series 
of battles — the color guard having fallen — 
Capt. Henderson (quoting from the Official 
Records) "seized the standard and bore it 
off the field." receiving at the same time a 
wound in the left shoulder. Although 
wounded he refused to leave his command, 



and on July 4th, upon recommendation of 
Brig. Gen. Seymore, was promoted for 
"brilliant gallantry" to Lieutenant-Colonel 
of the Regiment. Soon afterward the Re- 
serves were transferred from the Peninsula to 
the Army of Northern Virginia, then under 
command of Gen. Pope, and on the 29th and 
30th of August, 1862, participated in the 
second battle of Bull Run. Here the Seventh 
was led by Lieutenant Colonel Henderson, 
and on the evening of the second .day, while 
engaged in a desperate struggle for a vitally 
important position, he was shot from his 
horse, a minie ball passing through his body. 
He was borne from the field by four of his 
soldiers, all of whom feared and believed 
that he had received a mortal wound. He, 
however, recovered, and on the 2d of Jan- 
uary following, rejoined his regiment at 
Belle Plain, and was detailed by Gen. Double- 
day, Inspector General of the Division. He 
served in that capacity until April 18, 1863, 
when President Lincoln appointed him Pro- 
vost Marshal of the Fifteenth District of 
Pennsylvania, in which position he served 
until the close of the war. and was honorably 
discharged Nov. 10, 1865. On March 13, 
1865, he was brevetted colonel and brigadier 
general for gallantry in the seven days fight 
before Richmond, and in the second battle of 
Bull Run. 

After the war Gen. Henderson resumed 
the practice of his profession at Carlisle. In 
April, 1874, he was appointed by Gov. Hart- 
ranft, additional law judge of the Harris- 
burg district (12th). composed of the coun- 
ties of Dauphin and Lebanon. In November 
of that year he was elected to the position 
by the people without opposition, and in 
January, 1882, became the President Judge 
of the District. He subsequently resigned 
from the Bench, and resumed practice at 
Carlisle, associating with him his former 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



partner, John Hays, Esq., and his son, J. 
Webster Henderson, under the firm name of 
Henderson & Hays. A few years later Mr. 
Hays withdrew from tlie firni, and Judge 
Henderson & Son continue in practice. 
The degree of Doctor of Laws (LL. D.) 
was conferred upon Iiim some years ago by 
Dickinson College, his alma mater. He is 
one of the original members and officers of 
the Pennsylvania State Bar Association, and 
was the first president of the Cumberland 
County Bar Association. He is president of 
the Carlisle Deposit Bank ; also of the Boartl 
of Trustees of Metzger College : a trustee 
of the Carlisle Indian Industrial School ; a 
director of the Carlisle Gas & Water Com- 
pany : and of the Manufacturing Company. 
He is a member of the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion of the United States ; the 
Grand Army of the Republic ; and president 
of the "Pennsylvania Reserves Association." 
He is also a member of the Pennsylvania 
Scotch-Irish Society ; Phi Beta Kappa ; and 
other learned and patriotic societies. For 
many years Judge Henderson has been a 
trustee of the First Presbyterian Church, of 
Carlisle, and a ruling elder of the congrega- 
tion since 1871. He married June 7, 1833, 
Margaret Ann Webster, daughter of John 
Skinner and Elizabeth (Thornburgh) Web- 
ster, of "Mt. Repose," Baltimore county, 
Maryland. 

(I) WILLIAM BIDDLE (m. Febru- 
ary, 1666, to Sarah Kemp, b. 1635, d. May 
8, 1709), of London, formerly of Stafford- 
shire, was born about 1630 and emigrated 
to the Province of West Jersey in 1681. In 
early life he had joined the Society of 
Friends and had undergone persecution and 
imprisonment by reason of his connection 
with that Society. A few years prior to 
leaving England he had bought a large acre- 



age of land in West Jersey under the con- 
viction that persecuted Friends would there 
find a safe refuge. The first purchase by 
him is represented by a deed dated Jan. 23, 
1676, which is believed to be the first con- 
veyance that was executed by William Penn 
as trustee. 

The name Biddle was identical with Bid- 
dulph, the difference in the letters of the two 
words arising from a carelessness in spell- 
ing at that time, which Macaulay refers to as 
"characteristic of the age." The family had 
lived in Staffordshire for many generations 
and received their surname from the village 
of Biddulph in that county, "of which," says 
Dr. Thomas, "they have been lords since 
the Conquest." Colloquially the two final 
letters of Biddulph are not sounded, so that 
the word has always been pronounced as if 
it were written Biddle. 

Shortly after William Biddle's arrival 
in the Province he fixed his residence on the 
bank of the Delaware river, at what is now 
called Kinkora, about midway between Bur- 
lington and Bordentown. Here he acquired 
500 acres on the mainland and an adjacent 
island containing 278 acres, still known as 
Biddle's Island. By various purchases he 
at length became the owner of 42,916 2-3 
acres of land, the deeds for which with a 
transcript of his land account are in the pos- 
session of his descendants. He was a per- 
sonal friend of William Penn, who was 
prominent in the religious body to which 
they both belonged as well as in the Provin- 
cial government. He died in the early part 
of 17 12, leaving a last will and testament 
which is on file at Trenton, in the office of 
the Secretary of State. 

(II) William Biddle 2d (m. about 1695 
to Lydia Wardell ) , the oldest son and resid- 
uary devisee of the preceding, was born on 
Dec. 4, 1669, and died intestate about 1743, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



having; in his hfetinie distributed among his 
children the principal portion of a large 
landed estate. 

(III) William Biddle 3d ( m. April 3, 
1730. to Mary Scull, d. May 9, 1789), the 
oldest son of the preceding, was born about 
1697 and died in 1756. He and his youngest 
brother John removed to Philadelphia prior 
to 1730 and are the progenitors of a ma- 
jority of the large number of Biddies now 
resident in that city. His wife was the 
daughter of Nicholas Scull, surveyor general 
of Pennsylvania from 1748 to 1761, who, 
in connection with Thomas Cookson. a dep- 
uty surveyor, laid out the town of Carlisle 
in the spring of 1751. In Franklin's Auto- 
biography, Nicholas Scull is referred to as 
one "who loved books and who sometimes 
made verses." His daughter Mary inherited 
his poetic faculty and a number of her metri- 
cal productions are still preserved. 

(IV) Lydia Biddle (m. Dec. 3, 1752, 
to Capt. William Macfunn, of the British 
navy, and Governor of the Island of Anti- 
gua, d. about 1767), the oldest daughter of 
the preceding, was born in 1734 and died 
subsecjuent to 1800. 

(V) William Biddle Macfunn (m. 1797 
to Lydia Spencer, b. Jan. 16, 1766, d. March 
28, 1858), the only son of the preceding, 
was born about 1765 and died in 1809. At 
the instance of his maternal relatives, he 
changed his name to William Macfunn Bid- 
dle. His wife was a daughter of Rev. Elihu 
Spencer, D. D., of Trenton, N. J., who was 
graduated from Yale College with honors 
on September 3, 1746. Issue: 

(VI) Lydia Macfunn Biddle (m. Oct. 
17, 1 81 5, to Samuel Baird, d. July 27, 
1833) was born July 4, 1797, and died 
June 3, 1871. She had issue: 

(1) William Macfunn Baird (m. Dec. 
2, 1847, to Harriet Holmes), died Oct. 19, 



1872. Issue: (a) Robert Holmes Baird. d. 
Sept. 7, 1897. (b) Mary Leaming Baird 
(m. June 17, 1890, to Hugh Silas Stuart, d. 
June 17. 1899). Children: Joseph Alex- 
ander Stuart. William Baird Stuart. Har- 
riet Holmes Stuart. Christine Biddle Stu- 
art. 

(2) Sanmel Baird. d. Oct. 12, 1884. 

(3) Spencer Fullerton Baird (m. Aug. 
8, 1846, to Mary Churchill, d. Sept. 23, 
1891), died Aug. 19, 1887. Issue: Lucy 
Hunter Baird. 

(4) Rebecca Potts Baird. 

(5) Lydia Spencer Baird, d. June 3, 
1871. 

(6) Mary Deborah Baird (m. June i, 
1854, to Henry Johnathan Biddle. d. July 
20, 1862, from wounds in battle), died Dec. 
3. 1900. Issue: (a) Johnathan Williams 
Biddle, killed in battle Sept. 30, 1877. (b) 
Lydia Macfunn Biddle (m. April 22, 1880, 
to Moncure Robinson, d. Dec. 13, 1896). 
Children : Lydia Spencer Moncure Robin- 
son, (c) Spencer Fullerton Baird Biddle 
(m. November. 1897, to Mary Davids), 
(d) Christine Williams Biddle. (e) Henry 
Jonathan Biddle (m. in 1887 in Germany). 
Children: Rebecca Baird Biddle. Spencer 
Biddle. 

(7) Thomas Baird (m. Jan. 24, 1872, 
to Mary Bill), died March 29, 1897. Issue: 
William Macfunn Baird, Lydia Spencer 
Baird, Henry Jonathan Biddle Baird, Caro- 
line Richards Dey Baird. 

(VI) Valeria Fullerton Biddle (m. 
March 16, 1824, to Hon. Charles Bingham 
Penrose, d. April 6, 1857) was born Jan- 
uary, 1799, and died Nov.' 15, 1881. She 
had issue : 

(i) William Macfunn Penrose (m. 
July, 1858, to Valeria Merchant) was born 
March 29, 1825, and died Sept. 2, 1872. 
Issue: (a) Sarah Merchant Penrose, (b) 



10 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Valeria Bidclle Penrose. ( c ) Ellen Williams 
Penrose, (d) Virginia Merchant Penrose. 

(2) Richard Alexander Fullerton Pen- 
rose, M. D. (m. Sept. 28, 1858, Sarah Han- 
nah Boies, d. March 30, 1881), was born 
March 24, 1827. Issue: (a) Boies Penrose. 
United States Senator, (b) Charles Bing- 
liam Penrose, M. D. (in. Nov. 17, 1892, 
Katharine Drexel). Children: Sarah Han- 
nah Boies Penrose, Charles Bingham Pen- 
rose. Boies Penrose, (c) Richard Alexan- 
der Fullerton Penrose, Jr. (d) Spencer 
Penrose, (e) Francis Boies Penrose, (f) 
Philip Thomas Penrose, d. June 8, 1901. 

(3) Sarah Clementina Penrose (m. 
Sept. 1854, William Sergeant Blight, d. May 
9, 1903) was born Oct. 11, 1829, and died 
March 24, 1897. Issue: (a) Charles Pen- 
rose Blight, d. July 4, 1895. H)) William Ser- 
geant Blight (ni. Dec. 6, 1890, Cornelia Tay- 
lor Blight), (c) Elihu Spencer Blight, (d) 
Lydia Spencer Blight (m. Dec. 7, 1886, 
John F. Hageman. Esq., d. July i, 1893). 

(4) Clement Biddle Penrose, Judge fm. 
Sept. 30, 1857, Mary Linnard), was born 
Oct. 2j, 1832. Issue: (a) Emily Linnard 
Penrose, (b) Valeria Fullerton Penrose, 
(c) Charles Bingham Penrose. Cd) Stephen 
Beasley Linnard Penrose (m. June 17, 1896, 
Mary Deming Shipman). Children: ]\Iary 
Deming Penrose, Frances Shipman Pen- 
rose, Nathaniel Shipman Penrose, Clem- 
ent Biddle Penrose. (e) Helen Pen- 
rose (m. Oct. 17, 1901, Thomas Leiper 
Hodge). ( f j Elizabeth Colegate Penrose 
(m. Feb. 3, 1891, Rev. Henry Evertson 
Cobb). Children: Dorothy Penrose Cobb, 
Oliver Ellsworth Cobb, Emily Linnard 
Cobb, Clement Biddle Penrose Cobb, (g) 
Lydia Baird Penrose, (h) Mary Clemen- 
tina Penrose. 

(5) Lydia Spencer Penrose was born 
June 3, 1835. 



(6) Charles Bingham Penrose, Major 
( m. Dec. 29, 1870, Clara Andairese), was 
born Aug. 29, 1838, and died Sept. 18, 1895. 
Issue: (a) Charles Bingham Penrose (m. 

Sept. 30, 1903, Gibb). (b) Clement 

Andairese Penrose (m. Dec. 14., 1904, to 
Helen Stowe). 

(VI) William Macfunn Biddle (m. 
Jan. 2-/, 1825, to Julia Montgomery, d. 
Feb. 24. 1883) was born July 3, 1801, and 
died Feb. 28. 1855. He had issue: 

(i) Lydia Spencer Biddle (m. Feb. 7, 
1850. to Lieut. W. D. Smith, U. S. A., d. 
about 1863) was born Nov. 3, 1825. and 
died Nov. 11, 1855. 

(2) Thomas Montgomery Biddle (m. 
Dec. 10, 1857, to Margaret E. Irvine) was 
born July 9, 1829, and died Jan. 28. 1864. 
Issue: (a) Emily Duncan Biddle (m. 1886 
to Lieut. Sidney A. Stanton, U. S. N.) died 
March, 1892. (b) Lydia Spencer Biddle. 
(c) Sarah Duncan Biddle, died June, 1877. 

(3) Edward Macfunn Biddle (m. Feb. 

2, i860, to !Mary I. Leiper) v.as born Aug. 
25, 1832. died April 17, 1888. Issue: (a) 
William Macfunn Biddle (m. Jan. 3, 1889, 
to Florence Moen Huntington, d. Jan. 20, 
1897) was born Nov. 16, i860, died July 

3. 1893. (b) Mary Lewis Biddle. (c) 
Thomas Montgomery Biddle (m. Septem- 
ber, 1893. '^o Nancy Denny Risher). Child: 
Thomas Montgomery Biddle. (d) Edward 
^lacfunn Biddle. (e) Sara Newbold Biddle. 

(4) Mary Montgomery Biddle (m. Oct. 
18, 1855, to DeGarmo J. Whiting, d. June 
24, 1864; 2d m. Henry A. R. Moen, d. Octo- 
ber, 1887) was born Oct. 10, 1834, and died 
July, 1887. 

(5) William ]\Iacfunn Biddle, born 
Feb. 13. 1837, died May 14, 1877. 

(6) Julia Montgomery Biddle (m. Nov. 
10, 1863, to Charles Stuart Huntington, d. 
Aug. 20, 1890) was born July 14, 1840. 



THE 'SEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOn, LENOX AND 

TUDEN FOUNDATIONS 

" L 




(sUluUr-c^^cl /y(r?3^^-^U-.^-U^ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



II 



Issue: Florence Moen Huntington ( m. Jan. 
3. 1889, to William M. Biddle, d. July 3, 
1893; 2d m. to Owen A. Connor) was born 
Sept. I, 1864, and died Jan. 20, 1897. 

(VI) Mary Elizabeth Dagworthy Bid- 
die (m. April 27, 1826, to Major George 
Blaney, U. S. A., d. May 15. 1835) was born 
April, 1805, and died Sept. 4, 1879. She 
had issue : 

(1) Valeria Biddle Blaney (m. Aug. 

20, 1856, to Brig. Gen. Washington L. El- 
liott, U. S. A., d. June 29. 1888) died May 
6, 1900. Issue: (a) Katharine Blaney 
Elliott, (b) Frances \'aughn Elliott, (c) 
George Blaney Elliott, d. Jan. 7, 1894. (d) 
Mary Biddle Elliott (m. June 5, 1895. to 
Herbert George Pouting). Children: Mil- 
dred Spencer Pouting, Arthur Elliott Pout- 
ing. 

(2) Katharine Mears Blaney (m. Dec. 
19, 1854, to Alexander Brady Sharpe, Esq., 
d. Dec. 25, 1891). 

(3) William Biddle Blaney, d. Feb. 18, 
1862. 

(4) Lydia Spencer Biddle Blaney (m. 
May 18, 1854, to Col. William B. Lane, U. 
S. A., d. June 28, 1898). Issue: (a) Mary 
Biddle Lane (m. Feb. 15, 1883, to Lieut. 
Col. Joseph L. Garrard, U. S. A.). Chil- 
dren : Valeria LaConte Garrard, and Lucy 
Lees Garrard, (b) Susan Bartlett Lane (m, 
Dec. 21, 1887, to Major John Francis Guil- 
foyle, U. S. A.). Children: Christine Spen- 
cer Guilfoyle and Suzanne Lane Guilfoyle. 

(VI) Edward M. Biddle (ni. Jan. 14, 
1836, to Juliana Watts, d. Aug. 9, 1899) 
was born July 27, 1808, and died May 13, 
1889. He had issue : 

( 1 ) David Watts Biddle, born Oct. 28, 
1838, died Aug. 8, 1902. 

(2) Lydia Spencer Biddle. 

(3) Charles Penrose Biddle, born July 

21, 1847, <^li^d March 25, 1890. 



(4) Frederick \\'atts Biddle, born Oct. 
5, 1849, fl's<i -"^"g- -I' 1900. 

(5) Edward William Biddle. Judge (m. 
Feb. 2, 1882, to Gertrude Dale Bosler), w-as 
born May 3, 1852. Issue: Herman Bosler 
Biddle and Edward Macfunn Biddle. 

(6) William Macfunn Biddle. born 
Sept. 24, 1855, died Dec. 8, 1903. 

HON. EDWARD W. BIDDLE, late 
President Judge of Cumberland county,' 
Pa., a son of Edward M. and Juliana 
(W^atts) Biddle, was born in Carlisle May 
3, 1852, and has resided there all his life. 
Sketches of the Biddle and Watts families, 
both of which have furnished to the world 
distinguished men, are given elsewhere in 
this volume. 

After passing through the public schools 
to the high school, the subject of this sketch 
entered Dickinson College and was grad- 
uated from that institution with high stand- 
ing in June, 1870, the youngest member of 
his class. After spending several months 
in civil engineering he commenced the study 
of law in the office of his cousin. William 
M. Penrose, Esq., and was admitted to the 
Bar in April, 1873. From that time he gave 
his attention almost exclusively to his chosen 
profession and pursued a wide range of legal 
studies. In 1877 and again in 1883 he was 
unanimously nominated by the Republican 
county convention for the office of district 
attorney and on both occasions ran far 
ahead of his ticket, but was not elected in 
either instance. 

These political episodes did not in any 
way interfere with his professional work, 
and for many years prior to his election to 
the judgeship he had charge of some of the 
most important cases and largest interests 
in Cumberland county. In 1885 he was 
selected as one of the assignees for the 



12 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



benefit of creditors of P. A. Alil and D. V. 
Ahl, individually and trading as P. A. Ahl 
& Bro., who had valuable landed possessions 
in several States and whose affairs were 
much in\'olved. In the ca])acity of assignee 
and as attorney for the three estates he was 
instrumental in carrying to a successful ter- 
mination the most intricate equity litigation 
e\-er conducted in Cumberland county, as 
well as an important equity suit in Hagers- 
town, Md. His minute attention to details 
and the thorough grasp of the law which he 
displayed in the above and other cases 
brought to his office an extensive miscella- 
neous practice. In the fall of 1894 he was 
elected to the position of President Judge of 
Cumberland county, and on the first Monday 
of the following January entered on the 
duties of a ten years" judicial term. In De- 
cember, 1903, having other lines of work in 
view, he announced in the newspapers his 
intentiiin of retiring from the Bench at the 
expiration of his term of office and declined 
vtnder any circumstances to be a candidate 
for re-election. He was an active mem- 
ber of the law reform committee of the 
Pennsylvania Bar Association from the or- 
ganization of that body in 1895 until 1904. 
On Feb. 2, 1882, he married Gertrude 
D., a daughter of J. Herman and Mary J. 
(Kirk) Bosler, of Carlisle, to which union 
two children have been born : Herman Bos- 
ler, born April 14, 1883, and Edward Mac- 
funn, born May 29, 1886. In the latter part 
of 1899 he and Mrs. Biddle were appointed 
on the Board of Pennsylvania Commission- 
ers to the Paris Exposition, and in pursu- 
ance of their appointment offitially visited 
the Exposition in the following summer, ac- 
companied by their two boys, and then made 
a tour of Europe. Since 1898 Judge Biddle 
has been a trustee of Dickinson College and 
a member of its executive and investment 



committees. He has frequently written and 
spoken (.)n histcjrical subjects, and his pub- 
lished address in 1902 on Three Signers of 
the Declaration of Independence who were 
Members of the Cumberland Countv Bar 
attracted a good deal of attention. 

JAMES EVELYN PILCHER, M. D., 
A. M., Ph. D., L. H. D., editor, author, 
lecturer, military surgeon, now residing in 
Carlisle, Pa., has lived a life of usefulness to 
his fellow men, and has won for himself 
a high place in surgical and military circles. 

When William the Conqueror went from 
Normandy to England, he had in his com- 
pany one Pylchir, who became the ancestor 
of the English Pilchers. He remained in 
England, and held some office at the court 
of William. 

The family was first planted in America 
in the latter part of the seventeenth centurv, 
the emigrant settling at Dumfries, Prince 
William Co., Va., a town eventually washed 
away by the inundations of the James river. 

After the close of the war of the Revolu- 
tion, James Pilcher, the great-grandfather 
of James Evelyn Pilcher, became prominent 
in the public affairs of the new government, 
and was one of the first active Abolitionists. 

Stephen Pilcher, son of James, was bom 
in Prince William county, in 1772, and on 
attaining mature years he crossed the moun- 
tains and came to the North, finally settling 
in Athens, Ohio, where he became a leading 
citizen. For many years he held the office 
of justice of the peace. His occupation was 
that of a farmer, but he devoted a large por- 
tion of his time to public affairs, and was 
exceedingly interested in educational mat- 
ters. With his own hands he helped lay the 
foundation of the Ohio State University. 
His wife was Eleanor J. Selby, a member of 
a distinguished family. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



13 



Elijah Holmes Pilcher, A. M., M. D., 
S. T. D., LL. D., son of Stephen, was born 
in Athens, Ohio, in 1810. He attended die 
Ohio State University for a time, but left it 
at the end of his Sophomore year to prepare 
for the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. For fifty years he was a well 
known divine of that faith in the United 
States. In 1830 he went to Michigan, and 
became active in the work of progress in 
that State, where he was one of the founders 
of .\II>ion College. He was the founder of 
the Michigan Christian Advocate, published 
at Detroit, and at one time he was regent of 
the University of Michigan. In Coklwater, 
Mich., he married. May 24, 1842, Phoebe 
Maria Fisk, daughter of James Fisk ; first 
cousin of Levi Woodbury. Secretary of the 
Treasury in the cabinet of Andrew Jackson; 
and later United States Senator and Justice 
of the Supreme Court of the United States ; 
great-granddaughter of Lieut. James Wood- 
bury, who served with Wolfe at the storm- 
ing of Quebec ; and granddaughter of Capt. 
Peleg Rtmsom, of Ulster county, N. Y., a 
soldier of the Revolution. To their mar- 
riage were l)orn three children: Lewis 
Stephen, A. M., M. D., LL. D., of New 
York, editor of Annals of Snrgcry, and one 
of the most distinguished surgeons in the 
United States; Leander \\'illiam, D. D.. who 
at his death in 1893 was president of Pekin 
Jnixersity, Pekin, China; and James Eve- 
lyn. The father died in New York city in 
1887, and was buried in Greenwood cem- 
etery. The mother passed away in Romeo, 
Mich., Aug. 26, 1866. 

James Evelyn Pilcher was born in 
Adrian, Mich., :\Lnrch 18, 1857. Like the 
other members of the family he was given 
exceptionally good educational facilities. In 
1879 he was graduated from the University 
of Michigan with the degree of A. B. ; in 



1880 he received the degree of M. D. from 
the Long Island College Hospital; in 1887 
the degrees A. M. and Ph. D. from the 
Illinois Wesleyan University; and in 1902 
L. H. D. from Allegheny College. Imme- 
diately after his graduation in 1880, he be- 
came managing editor of the Annals of 
Anatomy and Surgery, a position he most 
creditaljly filled until 1883, when he entered 
the Medical Department of the United States 
Army as Assistant Surgeon, with the rank 
of Lieutenant. In 1888 he was advanced 
to the rank of Captain. In 1898 at the 
breaking out of the Spanish-American war 
he was made Brigade Surgeon, with the 
rank of Major ; he was Surgeon of one of 
the first regiments sent Sovith, serving in 
that capacity at Mobile and Tampa, and later 
going to Jacksonville as Chief Surgeon of 
the forces under Gen. Lawton. When the 
forces of that General were formed into the 
Seventh Army Corps under the command of 
(jen. Fitzhugh Lee, he remained with them 
in the capacity of E.xecutive and Medical 
Supply Officer until the fall of 1899, when 
he was detached and placed in command of 
the Army Medical Supply Depot, established 
at Savannah, Ga., a duty which occupied his 
attention until failing health rec[uired him 
to relinquish active service, and in 1900 he 
was placed on the retired list. During his 
army career he experienced considerable ser- 
vice in the field against the Sioux, Crow and 
Cheyenne Indians, and against Mexican in- 
surrectos. He was the author of the first 
system of drill for the L^nited States Army 
Hospital Corps, published in the United 
States, and his work on "First Aid in Illness 
and Injury," the first edition of which was 
issued in 1892, has maintained its position as 
the principal text-book for the instruction of 
the Hospital Corps from its publication to 
the present time. In 1896 he was appointed 



14 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Assistant Secretary of the Association of 
Military Surgeons of tlie United States, be- 
coming secretary and editor in 1897 — a posi- 
tion whicli with an interval of two years he 
has held to the present time. Under his 
guidance this association has grown from a 
comparatively small voluntary organization 
to be an important official body incorporated 
by Congress and recognized by the United 
States government and by foreign powers. 
He established the Journal of the Association 
of Military Surgeons of the United States 
as a quarterly in 1901, and as a monthly in 
1902. 

Besides his work in the army, Dr. 
Pilcher has filled chairs of military surgeiy . 
in a number of institutions of learning, being 
Lecturer on Military Hygiene, Starling 
Medical College, 1896; Professor of Mil- 
itary Surgery, Ohio Medical University, 
1896-97; Professor of Military Surgery, 
Creighton Medical College, 1897-99; Pro- 
fessor of Anatomy and Embryology, Dick- 
inson College, 1 899- 1 900; Emeritus Pro- 
fessor of Military Surgery, Ohio Medical 
University, 1898; Professor of Medical 
Jurisprudence, Dickinson School of Law, 
1899; and Professor of Sociology, Dickin- 
son College, 1900-1902. 

Dr. Pilcher has spent a busy life, but has 
found time to give his valuable researches 
and practical ideas to the world. The articles 
from his pen are numerous, among them 
being: "First Aid in Illness and Lijury," 
English Edition, London, 1892 — American 
Editions, New York, 1892, 1894, 1896,1897, 
1898, 1899, 1901 (this work is a recognized 
authority in the United States, being the 
official text book of the United States Army 
and Navy, and of the American Red Cross) ; 
"Life and Labors of Elijah H. Pilcher," 
New York, 1893; "Columbus Book of the 



Military Surgeons," Columbus, 1897; "The 
Seals and Arms of Pennsylvania," Harris- 
burg, 1902; "The Surgeon Generals of the 
United States Army"' 1904; (in collabora- 
tion with others) "Reference Handbook of 
Medical Sciences," New York, 1888, 1893; 
and about forty monographs on scientific and 
general subjects, and several hundred con- 
tributions to periodical literature, among 
the latter being "A New Field of Honor," 
in Scribner's Magazine; "Transportation of 
the Disaliled," published bv the Alilitarv Ser- 
vice Institution and in the Reference Hand- 
book of IMedical Sciences ; "Building of a 
Soldier;" "Place of Physical Training in the 
Military Service ;" "Annals and Achieve- 
ments of American Surgery;" "Chauliac 
and Mondeville;" "Mundimus and the Anat- 
omy of the Middle Ages;" "Outlawry on 
the Mexican Border;" "One Sioux Dance;" 
etc. He is engaged in the preparation of a 
book on the "Pilchers in England and Amer- 
ica" for early publication. 

Besides his editorial work on Annals of 
Anatomy and Surgery, he was office editor, 
1887-89; contributing editor, 1889; editor 
Health Department, Nctv York Christian 
Advocate, 1887-95; associate editor Colum- 
bus Medical Jov.rnal, 1896-99; collaborator 
of Janus, of Amsterdam, Holland, a Journal 
of Medical History, 1897; associate editor 
of the Pennsylvania Archives, fourth series ; 
editor of the Proceedings of the Association 
of Military Surgeons of the United States, 
1897-99; editor of the Journal of the Asso- 
ciation of Military Surgeons of the United 
States, 1901-. He is the translator of "Til- 
laux' Topographical Anatomy," from the 
French; "Mundimus' Anatomy," from 
Medieval Latin; and Pierre Franco's "Brief 
Surgery," from Mediaeval French. 

Dr. Pilcher has been honored with mem- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



15 



bership in some of the most noted profes- 
sional societies in the world — societies whose 
membership is a high distinction. He is an 
honorary fellow of the American Academy 
of Railway Surgery, and of the Columbus 
Academy of Medicine: honorary member of 
the Association of Military Surgeons of the 
State of Ohio, of the Ohio Medical Society, 
of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, and of 
the Cumberland County Medical Soci- 
ety: life member of the Association of 
Military Surgeons of the United States; 
fellow of the American Academy of 
Medicine; member of the Pennsylva- 
nia State Medical Society, of the Cum- 
berland Valley Medical Association, of the 
American Medical Association, the Amer- 
ican Medical Editors Association (ist vice- 
president in 1904), of the American Asso- 
ciation for the Advancement of Science, of 
the American Economic Association, of the 
Military Service Institution of the United 
States, and of the Hamilton Library Asso- 
ciation. Carlisle; compatriot of the Sons of 
the American Revolution (medal for service 
in the Spanish-American war) and com- 
panion of the Order of Foreign Wars of the 
United States. Fraternally, he also belongs 
to St. John's Lodge, F. and A. M. ; and True 
Friends Lodge, No. 56, K. P. He is an 
honorary member of the Jr. O. U. A. M., 
and a member and vice president of the Old 
Northwest Genealogical Society. He was 
the organizer and secretary of the Interna- 
tional Congress of ]\I'ilitary Surgeons held 
at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition in St. 
Louis in 1904. 

In 1883, in Brooklyn, N. Y., Major 
Pilcher was married to Mina Adela Parker, 
a descendant of an old New England family 
and a niece of George Edward Reed, S. T. 
D., LL. D.. president of Dickinson College. 



IRA DAY, M. D. Among the honored 
names of the citizens of Mechanicsburg, 
who, after a long life of the utmost useful- 
ness, have passed out of life, that of Dr. Ira 
Day will long be recalled. Dr. Day was born 
near the close of the seventeenth century, 
Aug. 17, 1799, and died at Mechanics- 
burg, in November. 1868, son of Benjamin 
Day, who was born in Connecticut, in 1755, 
and died in 1829. 

The Day family has been prominent in 
New England since early times, it being 
founded at Boston, Mass., by Robert Day, 
who came from England, where he was born 
in 1604, to the American shores in 1634, on 
the good ship "Elizabeth." He was father 
of two sons, Thomas and John, and from 
the latter descended the branch of the family 
in which we are most interested. In later 
times the family settled in Connecticut, and 
Benjamin Day later removed to Royal ton, 
Vt., where he reared these children: Alfred, 
Spaulding, Mary, Benjamin, Asa, Ira, Joel, 
Gad and Dan. 

Ira Day remained in his native place until 
the age of sixteen years, and then leaving 
Vermont with his brother Gad settled in 
Pennsylvania, where he studied medicine, 
returning to Vermont, however, to graduate 
from a college at Burlington. He then re- 
turned to his former home in Adams county. 
Pa., and in 1828 came to Cumberland county. 
Here for forty years he faithfully practiced 
his profession, becoming the leading physi- 
cian at Mechanicsburg and one of the most 
skilled in all Cumberland county. His prac- 
tice cijvered a large country territory, over 
which he was respected and beloved far be- 
yond that of any other citizen. In his day 
there could be no more fatiguing calling than 
that of a medical practitioner who faithfully 
met the demands of his patients. Dr. Day 



i6 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



was not only eminent in his profession, but 
he was also a very prominent citizen, and 
was identified with all public movements in 
and around Mechanicsburg. For many years 
he was one of the trustees of Dick'inson Col- 
lege at Carlisle, and he was interested in all 
the educational reforms in the county, giving 
time and advice to further such enterprises 
which promised benefit to the community. 
In politics Dr. Day always supported the 
principles of the old Democracy, and exerted 
a wide influence in political circles. He was 
a Mason, and one of the charter members of 
the I. O. O. F. Lodge at ^lechanicsburg. 

On Dec. 25, 1828, Dr. Day married 
Elizabeth Forrey, datighter of Jacob and 
Anna (Seitz) Forrey, of Columbia, Lan- 
caster county. A family of ten children was 
born to this union, eight of whom reached 
maturity, as follows: Alfred, Annette, John, 
Mary, Sitsan A., Jacob, Francis and Lizzie, 
all of whom have passed away e.xcept Miss 
Annette, who is one of the most highly 
esteemed ladies of ]\lechanicsburg. Miss 
Day occupies a handsome residence on West 
Main street. Like her father, she is a con- 
sistent member of the Methodist Church. 

CONRAD HAMBLETON, of the firm 
of Wetzel & Hambleton, attorneys-at-law, 
is of Southern ancestry. His jjaternal grand- 
father. Dr. Oliver E. Hambleton, was a 
native of near Danville. Va., where he was 
a prominent practicing physician and a lead- 
ing citizen. 

Dr. Hambleton had a son named John 
White Hambleton, who acquired a liberal 
education and selected the law as his pro- 
fession. He settled at ^Memphis. Tenn., 
where the breaking out of the war between 
the States found him already in possession 
of a fair practice. Being a native of the 
South, and in sympathy with the sentiment 



of his section, he entered the Confederate 
army and served continuously from the be- 
ginning to the end of the war, receiving 
dangerous wounds, which, along with the 
fact that he rose to the rank of brigadier 
general, are conclusive proofs that he was a 
brave man and true to the cause which he 
believed to be right. Though living at the 
end of four years of hard campaigning he 
was in straitened circumstances and com- 
pelled to begin life anew. A short time after 
the close of the war he became acquainted 
with Aliss Josephine Dallas Conrad, to 
whom he was married on Xov. 24, 1866. 
Miss Conrad was a native of Baltimore. Md., 
and daughter of Dr. A. ]\I. H. Conrad, a 
physician, who died Sept. 9, 1855, in a yel- 
low fever epidemic at Vicksburg, Mi.ss.,when 
in his thirty-sixth year; her mother was 
Alary Elderkin, daughter of William Elder- 
kin, who in 1 81 2 was one of the defenders 
of Baltimore, where he was a merchant in his 
earlier years, subsequently removing to 
Philadelphia, where he died when past ninety 
years of age. 

John \\\ and Josephine D. (Conrad) 
Hambleton had one child, a son named Con- 
rad Hambleton, who is the subject of this 
sketch. He was born at ]\Iason"s Depot, 
Tipton Co., Tenn., Sept. 8, 1867. Several 
years afterward 'Sirs. Hambleton removed 
to Waynesboro, Franklin Co., Pa., where 
her mother had previously located, and there 
Conrad Hambleton passed the years of his 
childhood and youth. From the time he 
reached the legal age he attended the public 
schools of his town, and, that his hands as 
well as his mind might be given proper train- 
ing, when thirteen years of age he entered 
a printing office and for four years schooled 
himself in the art of printing. After passing 
through the \\'aynesboro public schools he 
entered upon a three years course in Dickin- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



17 



son Seminary, at W'illiainsixirt, I'a., from 
wliich institution he graduated in 1888. 
After graduating from the seminary he for 
two years taught in the public schools of 
Waynesboro, employing what spare hours 
he had at studying law under the instruction 
of O. C. Bowers, Esq., of Chambersbnrg. 
He was admitted to the l""ranklin county 
Bar in April, 1891, and immediately after- 
ward opened an office at Waynesboro, where 
he remained until the spring of 1892, with 
the experience young lawyers usually under- 
go in their efforts at building up a ])ractice. 
In 1892 he removed to Carlisle, where he 
settled permanently, and thenceforth gave 
to his ])rofession his exclusive attention. For 
several vears he practiced by liimself. l)ut in 
April. 1896, he entered into partnership with 
J. W. Wetzel, Esq., under the firm name of 
Wetzel & Hambleton, through which asso- 
ciation he has become interested in much of 
the most important litigation in the courts 
of Cumberland county. 

Mr. Hambleton is a studious and 
methodical lawyer. He gives business en- 
trusted to him prompt atten.tion. carefully 
prepares his cases, and tries them with a 
directness and force regarded as commend- 
able in attorneys much older and more ex- 
perienced. In politics, he is a Democrat both 
by inheritance and conviction, and is some- 
times discussed by the leaders of his party 
for public position, but as his chief delight 
lies in the practice of his profession he has 
thus far uniformly declined to be a candidate 
for anything. 

MAJOR THOMAS SHARP. Among 
the early settled families of the upper end of 
Cumberland county were the Sharps, who 
have been prominent in this part of the State 
for at least three generations. They trace 
their ancestrv back to Scotland, where at an 



unknown date Thomas Sharp married Mar- 
garet Elder, a daughter of a Scottish laird. 
Thomas and Margaret (Elder) Sharp 
were Covenanters, and removed from their 
native land to the Province of Ulster in Ire- 
land, where four daughters and five sons 
were born to them. The daughters were: 
Jane, Alartha, Mary and Agnes; and the 
sons were : Robert, Andrew, John, James 
and Alexander. Robert came to America 
first, and afterward went back to Ireland 
and brought over the rest of the family. 
They first .settled in the forks of the Dela- 
ware river, in the eastern part of Pennsyl- 
vama, but later nearly all of them came into 
the Cumberland Valley. Robert Sharp first 
appears upon the records of Newton town- 
ship, Cumberland county, in 1775. Andrew- 
settled in that part of the State now com- 
prised in Indiana county, and was killed in 
what was probably the last Indian fight that 
took place in Pennsylvania. Early in the 
summer of 1794, he and three of his neigh- 
bors and their wives started down the Kish- 
kiminitas in a flat boat on their way to Ken- 
tucky. Just before reaching the Allegheny 
river they landed for the night. While the 
men were preparing to camp they were sur- 
prised by a band of Indians. Two of the 
party darted into the woods, but Sharp and 
the other man ran to the protection of their 
families on the boat. While they were push- 
ing the boat into the stream the Indians 
opened fire upon them, severely wounding 
Sharp and killing his comrade. There being 
four rifles in the boat Sharp kept up a run- 
ning fight with the Indians while his strength 
held out. the women loading the guns while 
he fired them. The next day what remained 
of the party reached Fort Pitt, where they 
recei\ed all necessary attentions. Andrew 
Sharp had been shot in three different places, 
but notwithstanding the serious character of 



i8 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



the wounds had prospects of recovering, hut 
the heavy concussions of guns, fired in cele- 
bration uf the 4th of July, started hemor- 
rhages from which he died. He was buried 
in the cemetery of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Pittsburg, with the honors of 
war, he having been a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion. Many of his descendants are yet liv- 
inw in western Pennsylvania and the West, 
and one. Capt. Alexander ?vIcCracken, is 
commander of the United States cruiser 
"Des j\h:)ines." 

Alexander Sharp, the last named of the 
Sharj) brothers, served several short enlist- 
ments in the early part of the Revolutionary 
war, and later was engaged in the important 
service of furnishing supplies to the army. 
He located in Xewton township shortly after 
the close of the Revolution, on land entered 
by his father, Thomas Sharp, in IMay, 1746. 
He was a man of great energy, and much 
of the improvement and development of his 
part of the county in his day were due to his 
enterprise. He engaged extensively at 
farming, milling, tanning and distilling, and 
ship])ed his surplus products by wagon to 
Baltimore. Captain Sharp, as he was famil- 
iarly called, inaugurated the custom of keep- 
ing wagons continually upon the road, and 
by intelligent and careful management made 
the traffic pay. His practical mind saw the 
advantage of having narrow tread wheels 
for mud roads, and Inroad tread for turn- 
pikes, and when the turnpike was completed 
from Baltimore to Hanover, he kept an 
extra set of wheels for each of his wagons 
at Hanover, and would change from narrow 
to broad tread on reaching the beginning of 
the turnpike. He took a paternal interest 
in the young men in his emplov. directing 
their eftHrts so as to give them a good start 
in life. Among the employes in his tanner- 
ies was a voung man named Robert Garrett, 



who showed extraordinary capacitv for busi- 
ness. This young man he advised to go to 
Baltimore and open a commission business, 
promising him all the patronage he had, and 
to use his influence to secure him that of 
others. Young Garrett was then onlv about 
twenty years of age and had never been to 
Baltimore. He was reluctant Xo go. but 
having implicit confidence in Captain 
Sharp's judgment he yielded and subse- 
quently became one of Baltimore's most 
prominent and successful business men. 
This young man Garrett was the father of 
John W. Garrett, and the f(junder of the' 
famous Garrett family of Baltimore. 

Capt. Alexander Sharp was married to 
Margaret McDowell, daughter of John Mc- 
Dowell, of Kishacoquillas Valley, Mifflin 
county, and by her had five sons and one 
daughter : John married Jane McCune, and 
engaged at farming in Newton township 
south of Oakville. William M. graduated 
from Dickinson College, studied medicine 
and practiced his profession in Newville; 
he married Jane Wilson. Andrew married 
Rosanna ^McDowell, of Mifilin county, and 
engaged at fanning in Ne\vton; he died 
when yet in midille life. Thomas died in the 
thirtieth year of his age. unmarried. Eleanor 
married a ;\Ir. IMcCune, of near Shippens- 
burg. The wife and mother, died Aug. 15, 
1 810, in her fifty-first year, and Capt. Sharp 
afterward married Isabella Oliver, a daugh- 
ter of James and Mary (Buchanan) Oliver, 
of the part of the county that is now included 
in Silver Spring township. By his second 
marriage he had no children. 

Alexander Sharp, third son of Capt. 
Alexander and Margaret (McDowell) 
Sharp, was born in Newton township June 
12, 1796. He graduated from Jefferson 
College in 1820, studied theology and was 
ordained a minister of the Associate Re- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



19 



formed Presljyterian Church. On June 2g, 
1824, he was installed as pastor of the 
church of that denomination at Big- Spring. 
About the same time he was elected Profes- 
sor of Theology in the Associate Reformed 
Seminar\- at Oxford, Ohio, but he declined 
the i)rofe.ssorship and continued as pastor of 
the Big Spring Church up to the time of his 
death. The Presbytery of Big Spring in- 
cluded small congregations at Shippens- 
burg. Chambersburg, Concord, (Gettysburg, 
Lower Chanceford, and one in Rockbridge 
county, Virginia. These churches were 
often without pastors, and at such times it 
fell to Mr. Sharp to minister to them, and 
being so widely scattered his duties required 
much exposure and a great amount of horse- 
back riding, which impaireil his health and 
finally caused his death. 

Physically Rev. Dr. Sharp was a large 
and commanding person, and his character 
was so rounded and balanced that it was 
hard to detect in him any prominent traits 
or angles. He possessed a vigorous, com- 
prehensi\e mind, and a manner that was 
simple, kind and courteous. He was a true 
and reliable friend, much respected by his 
ministerial associates, and throughout the 
Synod of Pittsburg, to which the Presbytery 
of Big Spring belonged, was commonly 
spoken of as "Father Sharp." His home at 
the head of the Green Spring was the regular 
stopping place for the ministers of the Asso- 
ciate Reformed Presbyterian Church when 
visiting this part of the State. His neigh- 
bors, regardless of religious affiliations, often 
applied to him for advice and assistance in 
material affairs. He had rare presence of 
mind, and in case of emergency was remark- 
ably quick to see what was the best thing to 
be done. As an illustration of this charac- 
teristic the following incident is related of 
him : One evening, just before retiring, an 



affrighted neighbor rushed into his house 
with the information that a candle moth had 
gotten into his daughter's ear, causing her 
intense suffering. Instantly it flashed upon 
his mind that the rye straws, with which the 
children had been playing in front of the 
door, might be of use in the case. He started 
off with his an.xious neighbor on a run, pick- 
ing up some of the straws as he went. On 
reaching the patient Mr. Sharp cut a straw 
to a length to suit the purpose, and, insert- 
ing one end in the ear, applied his mouth to 
the other and sucked out the fluttering insect 
to the great relief of the young lady. 

Rev. Alexander Sharp married Elizabeth 
Bryson, a daughter of William and Jane 
(Harkness) Bryson, of Allen township. 
William Bryson w'as long a prominent citi- 
zen of the lower end of Cumberland county, 
and the progenitor of an honorable and dis- 
tinguished family. His wife, Jane Hark- 
ness/ was a daughter of William and Pris- 
cilla (Lytle) Harkness. William Harkness 
was born in Ireland. In 1750 he came to 
America, and about the year 1765 settled in 
Allen township, Cumberland county, where 
he lived until the time of his death. He mar- 
ried Priscilla Lytle. of Donegal, Lancaster 
county, and died in May, 1822, and he and 
his wife are buried in the cemetery of the 
Silver Spring Church. \\'illiam Bryson died 
in October, 1818, and he and many of his 
descendants are also buried at Silver Spring. 
William Harkness was a soldier in the war 
of the Revohition. He was ensign of Capt. 
John Mateer's company. Col. Chambers' 
regiment, wdiich was a part of Gen. James 
Potter's brigade. Potter's brigade served 
with distinction in various engagements 
about Philadelphia : At the battle of the 
Brandywine it was on the extreme left; at 
Germantown it was on the right, where in 
driving in the opposing forces it advanced 



20 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



farther than tlie center of the line; at Chest- 
nut Hill, under Gen. Irvine, it helped to 
check the British advance, and. although 
Gen. James Irvine was wounded, and his 
troops driven back, Howe's attempt to sur- 
prise the Americans was frustrated. When 
Washington took up his march from White 
Marsh to Valley Forge, he sent Potter's 
brigade down the west side of the Schuyl- 
kill to guard his left flank. In his reconnoi- 
tering Pcjtter came upon a detachment of 
British under Cornwallis, who had crossed 
at Middle Ferry, and in a spirited engage- 
ment which ensued between them retarded 
the British sufticiently for Sullivan's brig- 
ade, which had crossed the river at the 
Gulph, to recross in safety, .\ day or two 
afterward Washington crossed the river 
higher up without interference, and after 
reaching Valley Forge, he issued general 
orders in which he thanked Potter's lirigade 
for the splendid services it had rendered. 
Rev, Alexander Sharp died Jan, 28. 1857. 
in his sixty-first year. His wife, Elizabeth 
(Bryson) Sharp, died Jan. 27, 1870, in the 
sevent}'-third year of her age. and the re- 
mains of both are buried at Xewville. They 
had the following children: Alexander. 
Jane Elizabeth. William H. B., John Riddle, 
Thomas, Robert Elder and ^largaret Ellen. 
Alexander Sharp, eldest son of Rev. 
Alexander, graduated from Jefferson Medi- 
cal College, and removed to St, Louis. Mo., 
\\here he married Ellen Dent, a sister of 
Mrs. U. S. Grant. After practicing his pro- 
fession for a while in St. Louis, he removed 
to Auburn. ]Mo, This was at the beginning 
of the Civil war and sentiment in that local- 
ity was divided, the dominant part favoring 
secession. One day, on his return from a 
visit to a country patient, he found a Con- 
federate flag floating from his house, which 
was the highest in the village, and a crowd 



standing around awaiting the outcome. In 
reply to his inquiry his wife explained that 
the boys wanted to put a flag upon their 
house, and as it was the first they had raised 
she thought it would lie nice and gave her 
consent. Dr. Sharp then informed the 
crowd that as the house was his he would 
take the tlag down, and return it to them, 
which he did in the face of threats that his 
life should pay for the act. In fear and 
trepidation his wife called out: "Bovs. the 
hen coop is mine, you can put it on the 
hen coop." This ludicrous attempt at con- 
ciliation brought a shout of laughter ivom 
the Union element in the crowd, and acted 
like a shower bath on the Secessionists. 
Their ardor was cooled, and loyalty to the 
Union began to assert itself and crystalize 
about Auburn. 

The rebel element, however, made it un- 
comfortable for him and his family at Au- 
burn, and he removed to Louisiana, Pike 
county, where he was permitted to practice 
his profession unmolested. But the war 
called for his services, and for some time he 
was acting assistant surgeon in the army 
hospitals at Cairo and Mound City. At the 
close of the war he was made special agent 
of the Post Ofirce Department, and reorga- 
nized the mail ser\'ice in the States of Vir- 
ginia and North Carolina. Afterward he 
was postmaster of Richmond, Va., and when 
General Grant was elected President he ap- 
pointed him United States marshal of the 
District of Columbia. At the close of 
Grant's second term he was appointed pay- 
master in the army, which p^isition he held 
until 18S9, when he was relieved on account 
of the infirmities of old age. He died at 
"The Presi(li<i. " California, of ailments 
caused by much horseback exercise in early 
life. Marshal Sharp's oldest son. Alexander, 
is a graduate of Annapolis, and has just been 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



21 



assigned to the command of tlie new cruiser 
"Chattanooga." His second son, Frederick 
Dent, died in the army. His other sons, 
Grant and Louis, are in business in Mon- 
tana, the former at Chinook, and the latter 
at Great Falls. His three daughters mar- 
ried respectively. Col. Petit, and Captains 
Nolan and Bennett, of the army. 

Jane Elizabeth Sharp, the second child 
and oldest daughter of Rev. Alexander, died 
unmarried. 

John Riddle Sharp, the second son, mar- 
ried Martha Woods, of Dickinson township, 
by whom he had two sons, Alexander, who 
lives at Larned, Kansas, and Richard \V., 
who lives in the State of Washington. 

Robert Elder Sharp died without issue. 

Margaret Ellen Sharp, the youngest 
child, married Thomas Patterson, of Fulton 
county, and has four sons surviving, Thomas 
A., Robert S.. John and Ralph. 

Thomas Sharp, the fourth child of Rev. 
Alexander, and the subject of this sketch, 
was born Dec. 6, 1836, at the head of the 
Green Spring in Newton township. He was 
reared on the farm and received an academic 
education, but owing to delicate health never 
engaged actively in any business or avoca- 
tion. At the outbreak of the Civil war he en- 
listed in Company A, 7th Pennsylvania Re- 
serves. While his regiment was in camp in 
Virginia, he was discharged, and shortly 
afterward appointed a Captain in the 65th 
Regiment of United States Colored Troops, 
and served in that capacity in the 
Mississippi Valley until the close of 
the war. He was mustered out of 
service at Baton Rouge, La.,- in the 
fall of 1865. In 1866 he was ap- 
pointed a Second Lieutenant in the United 
States Infantry, and continued in the ser- 
vice of the regular army until he reached his 
retirement, serving in Texas, in the Depart- 



ment of the Lakes, Dakota, Montana, Wy- 
oming, and the Columbus Barracks, Ohio. 
At the commencement of the Spanish-Amer- 
ican War he was stationed at Pittsburg as 
recruiting officer. He was retired in 1898, 
with the rank of Major. 

Thomas Sharp married Ellen Rice, of 
Alackinac, Mich., who bore him the follow- 
ing children : James, Thomas, John Mc- 
Dowell and Ethel Marie. During the Span- 
ish-American War his three sons were in the 
army. James and Thomas belonged to the 
17th United States Infantry, and par- 
ticipated in the battles which took 
place about Santiago, Cuba. " Both are 
now members of the Society of San- 
tiago. James afterward served in the 
Philippines, where he contracted disease 
from which he died in 1902, in Pittsburg. 
After his discharge from the army Thomas, 
turned his attention to civil affairs, and is 
now manager of a live stock company in 
Oregon. John McDowell, the third son, 
was a sergeant in the First Ohio Volunteer 
Cavalry, in the Spanish-American war, but 
his regiment did not get out of the States, 
and consequently saw no engagements. He 
is a civil engineer, and at this writing is lo- 
cated in Bedford county. Pa. Ethel Marie, 
the daughter, married Ralph IMancill Gris- 
wold. United States Navy, and is now with 
her husband at Guantanamo Naval Station, 
Cuba. 

RICHARD PARKER HENDERSON, 

son of Col. William ]\I. and Elizabeth 
(Parker) Henderson, was born at "Oak- 
land," the family homestead near Carlisle, 
Oct. 5, 1838, and all his lifetime knew no 
other home. His youth was spent upon the 
farm, and his education was obtained in the 
public schools of Carlisle and in Dickinson 
College. Upon reaching manhood he en- 



22 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



gaged at farming and milling- with his fa- 
ther and brother, and was entering upun a 
successful business career when the war of 
the Rebellion broke out. Upon the com- 
mencement of hostilities he enlisted. April 
21, iS6i. becoming a pri\-ate under his 
brother, Capt. R. ~Sl. Henderson, in Com- 
pany A, 36th Pennsylvania Infantry (7th 
Reserves). Soon after the organization of 
the company he was made corporal : sub- 
sequently he was promoted to second lieu- 
tenant and later to first lieutenant, which 
rank he hel<l June 16, 1864, when he was 
mustered out of service. On March 13, 
1865, he . was bre\'etted first lieutenant, 
United States Volunteers, "for gallant con- 
duct at the battle of Gettysburg." On tlie 
same date he was brevetted captain "for 
gallant conduct at the battles of the Wilder- 
ness and Spottsylvania Court House," and 
major "for gallantry at Bethesda Church, 
Virginia." On Jan. 11. 1882, he was elected 
a member of the ^Military Order of the Loyal 
Legion of the United States, in Class i, In- 
signia 2290, and his record as a companion 
of that order discloses the services which 
earned for him the brevets awarded to him. 
The records of the 7th Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania Reserve Corps, disclose his loyal ser- 
vice until promotion awarded him with a 
commission, and his merit advanced him to 
a position on the staff of his division com- 
mander. Henceforward the battles he en- 
gaged in brought him honor, marked bv pro- 
motion and by bre\-ets. His commander. 
Major Gen. S. H. Crawford, wrote that he 
with another was "among the foremost" 
when Round Top, the strategical point in 
the battle line of Gettysburg, was seized for 
the Union troops, and that Capt. Li\-ingston 
and he were "deserving of especial com- 
mendation for the prompt and fearless con- 



veyance of orders entrusted to them on the 
3d under the immediate fire of the enemy 
battery." [See Official Records of the Re- 
bellion, Series I, Vol. XXVII. Part I. page 
656.1 

After the war Major Henderson re- 
turned to his home and quietly resumed the 
business, which was interrupted four years 
before by his prompt response to his coun- 
try's call. He assisted his father in the mill- 
ing branch of his business, then in the grain 
and forwartling business, and after his fa- 
ther's death, in 1886, took upon himself the 
milling antl forwarding business, and man- 
aged it successfully until he tlied. He was- 
of a modest and retiring disposition, but 
much esteemed for his integrity, good liusi- 
ness qualities and excellent judgment in mat- 
ters generally. For twenty years he was a 
director in the Carlisle Deposit Bank, and 
the confidence his neighbors had in his pro- 
gressive ideas and sense of fairness carried 
him into the school board of his township, 
where the political party to which he be- 
longed had but a meager minority of votes. 
He was a member of Post No. 201, G. A. R., 
and a regular attendant at its meetings. 

Major Henderson never asked for posi- 
tion and those that came to him came un- 
sought. He was content to walk in quiet 
paths, to manage his business quietly and 
carefully, and to enjoy the companionship 
of his friends, his comrades and his family. 
He won the respect and confidence of all 
he met, and his honor and integrity in civil 
life were as conspicuous and unsullied as 
his courage on the field of battle. His death 
occurred at "Oakland" Feb. 10, 1901, and 
his remains are interred upon the Hender- 
son family plat in the Aleeting House 
Springs gra\'eyard, near Carlisle. Pie was 
never married. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



23 



DR. SAMUEL A. McDOWELL passed 
away in Carlisle in 1887, and his widow has 
since resided in that place, where she also 
had her early home. Though the Doctor 
lived abroad many years, returning- to his 
native land hut a short time before his death, 
he was well known and much esteemed in 
Carlisle and Cumberland county, and as a 
dentist who had the reputation of being a 
leader in his profession in Europe for many 
years he enjoyed considerable renown on the 
Continent. 

Samuel A. McDowell was born in 1828 
in Cumberland county, and was a son of 
John McDowell, a native of the county and 
a lifelong agriculturist, who li\ed near 
North Mountain in the neighborhood of 
McClure's Gap. John McDowell married 
Margaret Laird, who was, like himself, of 
Scotch-Irish descent. Samuel A. was but 
five months old when his father died, and he 
remained with his mother, spending his boy- 
hood and youth on a farm in Cumberland 
county. He first attended the district 
schools, ami later was a student at Tusca- 
rora Academy, in Juniata county. Pa., after 
which he took up the study of dentistry 
with Dr. L C. Loomis, of Carlisle. His 
first location for practice was at Toledo, 
Ohio, but his health failing there he moved 
South, settling at Goldsboro, N. C. When 
the Civil war broke out, in 1861, he was 
forced to flee to the North, and left every- 
thing, household goods, office fixtures, and 
all, to reach a place of safely. They were 
eleven days and nights getting to their 
northern destination, at Norfolk, \'a., hav- 
ing been refused a pass to the North, so that 
they were obliged to retrace their steps and 
go through Tennessee and Kentucky, pass- 
ing through Bowling Green, in the latter 
State. They went to Pittsburg, Pa., and 
thence to Carlisle. Dr. McDowell then went 



abroad, going to Basel, Switzerland, and 
practicing there five years and in London, 
England, for a year. His next move was 
to Frankfort-on-the-Main, Germany, where 
he remained, in active practice, for ten years, 
until his return to America. Dr. McDowell 
was recognized as one of the leading dental 
practitioners of Europe, and counted among 
his patrcMis many scions of the English, Ger- 
man and Russian nobility, as well as famous 
wealthy families, the Rothschilds among 
others. 

Though a successful man in every sense 
of the word Dr. McDowell remained to the 
end an unaffected, lovable character, a Chris- 
tian of the highest type, and a saintly man 
in all the relations of life. While in North 
Carolina he was an elder in the Presbyter- 
ian Church. In politics he was originally a 
Whig, but after his return to America he 
allied himself with the Prohibition party. 

In i860 Dr. McDowell was married, in 
Carlisle to Hester M. McClellan, who sur- 
vi\-es him, and makes her home in Carlisle, 
one of the most respected residents of that 
place. Mrs. McDowell comes from the 
same family as Gen. John B. McClellan, 
being a descendant of Sir Robert McClellan, 
a native of Scotland who was banished 
from that country because of his faith or 
political views, and came to America. He 
returned to Scotland, w here he died, but he 
left two sons here. The McClellans orig- 
inally settled in New Jersey, later in Chester 
county. Pa., but John McClellan, Mrs. Mc- 
Dowell's grandfather, was a farmer of York 
county, owning 200 acres of land. He died 
there. ^litchell McClellan, her father, was 
the first of the family to come to Cumber- 
land county, where he was engaged in farm- 
ing, near Carlisle, to which city he removed 
on retiring from active life. He died on 
the homestead there in 188^. at the ad- 



24 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



vanced age uf eighty-five years, and his wife. 
Airs. Susanna (Black) McClellan, survived 
until 1890, reaching the age of eighty-six 
years. Her father, Thomas Black, was an 
officer in the Revolutionary war. Air. and 
Airs. AlcClellan were the parents of eight 
children, namely : John S., who is a resi- 
dent of Philadelphia, Pa. ; Alartha. who mar- 
ried James Stuart and is deceased: Eliza- 
beth; Jane, who died young; Hester AL, 
Airs. AIcDowell ; Alargaret. wdio died in 
i8y8, unmarried; James AL, who died in 
Alontgoniery county, Pa.; and A^irginia H., 
of Carlisle. James AL AlcClellan left three 
sons and one daughter: Geijrge B.. .-Vrthur 
I.. Samuel A., and Henrietta, of Philadel- 
l)hia. These hoys are being educated by 
Airs. AIcDowell. George B. and Arthur are 
attending Dickinson College, and Samuel A. 
is a student at the Grammar School. 

REV. GEORGE NORCROSS, D. D.) 

the eloquent and scholarly pastor of the Sec- 
ond Presbyterian Cliurch of Carlisle, is of 
English and Scotch-Irish ancestry. His 
great-grandfather, Abraham Norcross. was 
torn in New Jersey, married Xancy Flem- 
ing, and afterward settled at Alilton, Pa. 
After some years he removed from Alilton 
to the then new county of Erie, Pa., where 
he li\ed the remainder of his life. Al^rahani 
and Xancy (Fleming) Norcross had a son, 
John, who was born in New Jersey, but grew 
to manhood on the Susquehanna in central 
Pennsylvania. He preceded his parents to 
Erie county, where he married Alargaret 
AlcCann, who was born in the Xorth of Ire- 
land about the year 1790. The eldest child 
of John and Alargaret (AlcCann) Norcros<j 
was born near the town of Erie. July 9, 1809, 
and was named Hiram. He continued to 
reside in that part of Pennsylvania until in 
1S44, when he removed to Alonmouth, III., 



where he died in 1S79. He was a farmer all 
his working days and for nearly forty years 
a ruling elder in the Presbyterian Church. 

Hiram Norcross, on June i, 1837, mar- 
ried Elizabeth McClelland, of Crawford 
county. Pa., who was the only daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Gibson) AlcClelland, 
both of Scotch-Irish extraction. Sarah Gib- 
son was the youngest daughter of Hugh 
Gibson, who was captured by the Indians in 
Sherman's Valley in 1756, at the same time 
that his mother, the widow of David Gibson, 
was shot and scalped. The scene of this 
bloody tragedy was Robinson's Fort, near 
the site of Center Church, Perry county. 
Pa. Of Hiram and Elizabeth (AlcClelland) 
Norcross's children the following lived to 
maturity: Re\'. Dr. George, the subject of 
this narrative; Hon. William Charles, now 
a banker in Wichita, Kan. ; Hiram Fleming, 
a lawyer of Los Angeles. Cal. ; Isaiah, of 
Alonmouth, 111.; Thomas Rice, of Liberty, 
X^eb. ; and Sarah Gibson, deceased, w'ife of 
Henry Beckwith, of New London, Connec- 
ticut. 

Dr. George Norcross was born near 
Erie, Pa., April 8, 1838. His youth and 
early manhood were spent at Alonmouth, 
111., where he was educated in Alonmouth 
C(jllege, an institution under the care of the 
United Presbyterian Church. After grad- 
uating from college in 1861 he began his 
theological studies in the Seminar)^ of the 
Northwest, now AlcCormick, Chicago, and 
continued them in the Seminary of the 
L'nited Presbyterian Church, at Alonmouth. 
During the latter part of this period he 
served as the supply of a church at North 
Henderson, and also held a professorship 
in Alonmouth College. In October, 1864, 
he entered the Theological Seminary at 
Princeton. X. J., wdiere he spent his last year 
of study in preparation for the ministry. 




REV. GEORGE NORCROSS, D. D. 



THE "NEW YORK 
PT3B11C LIBRARY 



ASrOB, LENOX AND 

XILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B •' 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



25 



Ha\ing receiveil a call from the congrega- 
tion whicli he for seventeen months had al- 
ready served as stated supply, he, on June 
6, 1865, was orihiined and installed as pas- 
tor of the Presbyterian Church of North 
Henderson, Mercer county. 111. Here he 
was among kind and appreciative people and 
his labors were greatly blessed. 

In the spring of 1866 he was called to 
the Presbyterian Church (O. S.) of Gales- 
burg, 111., where he labored for nearly three 
vears, and then received the call which 
l)rought him to the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle. Here he has labored 
continuously and acceptably for more than 
thirtv-five years. His pastorate began in 
January, 1869, at a time when the churcli 
had about 230 members, and the Sabbath- 
school an attendance of only 125 scholars 
and teachers. Both numbers have been 
greatly augmented; the roll of communi- 
cants to about 500 and that of the Sabljath- 
schools under his care to about 600. 

A pastorate of thirty years' duration was 
remarkable in Carlisle history, and when the 
thirtieth anniversary in Dr. Norcross"s de- 
voted service in the Second Presbyterian 
Church arrived his friends gave the event 
a fitting commemoration. The celebration 
extended o\-er two days. Jan. ist and 2d, 
1899, and ministers and laymen with like 
freedom participated in the interesting 
and memorable exercises. The sermons 
preached, and addresses delivered, along 
with many congratulatory letters received, 
were published in a volume called "The 
Story of a Thirtieth Anniversary,'" which 
forms an important chapter in the recorded 
history of this favored church. 

During his first year at Carlisle the 
]Manse was built, and during the second the 
old church building was torn down to make 
way for the present new Gothic structure, 



erected at a cost of fifty thousand dollars 
and dedicated on May 29, 1873. In 1887 
the present edifice was renovated and im- 
proved at an expenditure of ten thousand 
dollars, provided largely l)y the bequest of 
Mrs. Robert Givin and the generous gift 
of her only daughter, Miss Amelia Steele 
Gi\in, now Mrs. Walter Beall. The bene- 
factions of these faithful friends, at the same 
time, were supplemented by the congrega- 
tion, who expended about two thousand dol- 
lars upon the Lecture Room. 

Dr. Norcross has represented the Pres- 
bytery of Carlisle four times in the General 
.Assembly, viz. : In 1871 at Chicago, in 1874 
at St. Louis, in 1885 at Cincinnati, and in 
1895 'It Pittsburg. In the last two Assem- 
blies he was chairman of important stand- 
ing committees. In 1877 he attended the 
first Pan-Presbyterian Council at Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, as an associate member, 
and \\as present at all the deliberations of 
that historic Iwdy. In October, 1899, '^^ 
was elected moderator of the Synod of 
Pennsyhania, then assembled in the city of 
Erie. This is the second largest synod in 
the world, being outranked only by that of 
New York. The same year he was also a 
member of the Seventh Pan-Presbyterian 
Council, held in ^^'ashington, D. C. 

Dr. Norcross is a man of acknowledged 
learning and culture, a ready and forceful 
speaker, and in recognition of his literary 
attainments, and faithful ministerial service, 
Princeton College, in 1879, conferred upon 
him the degree of Doctor of Divinity. While 
he devotes himself rigorously to the work of 
his own congregation he, both as a minister 
and a citizen, is known as the friend of every 
reform. He has given much thought and 
labor to the temperance cause and when the 
question of Constitutional Amendment in 
interest of Prohibition was before the peo- 



26 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



pie in 1880 lie addressed many pnblic meet- 
ings in its behalf, and his famous "Ox Ser- 
ninn," or, "Our Responsibihty for the Drink 
Traffic," preaclied before the Presbytery, 
was printed and widely circulated. 

After attending tlie sessions of the Pan- 
Presbyterian Council in Edinburgh, in 1877, 
Dr. Norcross and his wife made a tour of 
the continent, visiting the famous places of 
history and observing the different phases 
of European life. Accompanied by his en- 
tire family, he in July, 1890. again visited 
Europe, remaining abroad for more than a 
year. Seven months they s]ient at study in 
the city of Leipsic, Germany, and six months 
in traveling through Holland, Belgium, 
Switzerland. Germany, Austria, Italy and 
France, returning to their native land in 
August. 1891. 

Dr. Norcross has been twice married. On 
Oct. I, 1863, he married Mary S. Tracy, of 
Monmouth. 111., who died March 25, 1866. 
After her death he removed to Galesburg, 
111., where on April 22, 1867. he wedded 
Mrs. Louise (Jackson) Gale, a daughter ot 
Mr. Samuel Clinton Jackson, and widow of 
Major Josiah Gale, the son of Rev. Dr. Gale, 
the founder of Galesburg. By his first mar- 
riage he had one child, which died in in- 
fancy; and to his second union there have 
been born five children, viz. : Delia Jackson; 
George, who died at eight years of age; 
Elizabeth; Mary Jackson; and Louise Jack- 
son. Of these Delia Jackson is married to 
Mr. Carl Foster. Mr. and Mrs. Foster re- 
side in Bridgeport, Conn., and have the fol- 
lowing children: Mary Louise, Julia M., 
Elizabeth Norcross and George Norcross. 

In the year 18S6, upon the occasion of 
the Centennial celebration of the Carlisle 
Presbytery, Dr. Norcross became the edi- 
tor of the publication called "The Centennial 
Memorial of the Presbvtery of Carlisle." 



The work consists of two volumes and is a 
\aluable histiirical and liiographical review 
of the origin and growth of Presbyterianism 
in Southern Central Pennsylvania. As the 
result of this and other literary work he was 
made a meml)er of the American Society of 
Church History, now merged into the 
American Historical Association, and of the 
Scotch-Irish Society of America. At the 
request of the committee of arrangements, 
he in 1896 prepared a paper on "The Scotch- 
Irish in the Cumberland Valley," which he 
read before the Eighth Scotch-Irish Con- 
gress in Harrisburg. In this address he tells 
of the work of this brave and hardy people, 
of the early churches they established, and 
the Ijlood they shed in the cause of liberty, 
concluding with the following eloquent pai- 
agraph : 

"The War of the Revolution was begun 
and maintained for principles peculiarly dear 
to Scotch-Irish Presbyterians. As they were 
among the first to declare themselves in 
favor of separation from the mother coun- 
try, so they were among the last to lay down 
their arms, and that only when the great 
cause was won. They were conspicuous in 
almost every battle of the great struggle, 
and when the conflict ended in the triumph 
of their aspirations, it is not strange that the 
free representative principles of their church 
government should have been adopted as 
the model for our Federal Constitution. The 
Scotch-Irish Presbyterians at last had at- 
tained their ideal; a free church in a free 
State," 

In 1898 the General Assembly of the 
Presbyterian Church celebrated the two- 
hundred and fiftieth anni\-ersary of the 
Westminster Assembly, which was convened 
by the long Parliament of England in 1663. 
Dr. Norcross was requested to prepare a 
paper telling "The Story of the Westminster 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



27 



Assembly," which he did, and dehvered 
same during the sessions of the General As- 
seml)ly at A\'inona I.ake. Ind., in May, 
1898. This i)ai)er was published in the vol- 
ume "ll'i'stiiiiiislcr .■iiiiik'crsary Addresses." 

MA TTHEW LOUDOX. On Dec. 4, 
1751, the ])roprietaries of Pennsylvania is- 
sued to John Hopkins a warrant for 150 
acres of land. This warrant was transferred 
to Matthew Loudon, and on it were surveyed 
to him, on March 26, 1767, two adjoining^ 
tracts, one containing 172 acres and 67 
jjcrches, and the other 48 acres and 67 
perches. This land lies on the slopes of the 
ridge between New Kingstown and Hoges- 
town, in what is now SiK'er Spring town- 
ship, but was then East Pennsboro. At the 
time the warrant was issued, it was bounded 
on the west by lands of Jose])h Junken, and 
on the east by lands of William Walker. 

Matthew Loudon was a younger brother 
of James Loudon, and with him came from 
Scotland in 1754. According to some ac- 
counts there was also a brother John. These 
three brothers settled in the Raccoon Valley, 
in what is now Perry county, early in 1755. 
They were soon afterwards driven away by 
the Indians, and came to the south of the 
Kittatinny Mountains, where they remained 
for five years, waiting for the Indian hostil- 
ities to subside. When peace was restored, 
John and James Loudon ventured back to 
their possessions in the Raccoon Valley, but 
their brother ]SIatthew, having formed new 
alliances, remained in the Cumberland Val- 
ley. While waiting for peace he met in the 
vicinity of where now is Hogestown. a 
young latly named Elizabeth jMcCormick, a 
daughter of Thomas McCormick. Their 
acquaintance ripened into love, and they 
were married, beginning life on the south- 
ern slopes of the ridge where he acquired 



the lands referred to, now (1903) included 
in the farms owned by Albert Breen and 
John C. Parker. Here Matthew Loudon's 
possessions grew with the growth and de- 
velopment of the country. In 1763 he was 
taxed with 150 acres of land, and from year 
to year this amount rose till in 1787 it 
reached 350 acres. His personal property 
increased in the same rapid propottion, and 
according to the assessment rolls of East 
Pennslxjro township, he was for a long time 
in affluent circumstances, and one of the 
leading citizens of the section. 

Matthew Loudon and Elizal^eth McCor- 
mick, his wife, had children as follows: 
Mary, Archibald and Catharine ( who died 
in infancy). Mary, the eldest child, was 
born in May, 1761, and on March 14. 1782, 
married Col. James McFarland, by whom 
she had ten children, four sons and six 
daughters. Archibald was born on March 
I/' ^7(^3- Nine years before, as his parents 
were on their way to America, his cousin, 
Archibald Loudon, was born at sea. This 
cousin subsequently lived and died at Car- 
lisle, and their names being similar, the two 
are apt to be confounded W'ith each other on 
the records. 

Archibald Loudon, son of Matthew, 
married Margaret Bines, daughter of 
Thomas and Margaret (Vance) Bines, and 
began life as a farmer on the ridge a little 
to the northeast of where is now New Kings- 
town, and near where his father settled when 
he came into the Cumberland Valley. He 
prospered, and being enterprising, he and 
John Walker, a neighbor, engaged at manu- 
facturing iron at Mt. Holly, Cumberland 
county, during the years 1800 and 1801. 
The venture was a financial failure, both 
partners losing heavily. He continued to 
li^•e on his fami near New Kingstown until 
abinit 1820, when he exchanged it for a 



28 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



farm lying on the Juniata river, opposite 
Newport, Perry county, and with his family 
removed to it. Here he died March 22, 
1832. His wife died five days after her 
husband, and the remains of b.)th lie interred 
in the cemetery of the Silver .Spring Church. 
Archibald Loudon and Margaret Bines, his 
wife, had children as follows : ( i ) Eliza- 
beth ^IcCormick. the eldest child, mar- 
ried James Bell, and by him had four 
children, only two of whom lived to 
grow to maturity. (2) John ^IcCor- 
mick, born Sept. 18, 1792, married 
Nancy Giffin, who died Aug. 29. 1834. 
He died Sept. 16. 1880. and both are buried 
at Silver Spring. They left no children. 
(3) Matthew, born in December. 1794. 
married Sarah Fulton, in 1840. by whom 
he had four daughters. After his marriage 
he lived for some time in Perry county, but 
subsequently moved \\'est and settled in the 
State of Missouri. Late in life he returned 
to Perry county, and died there on April 21, 
1855. (4) Margaret, born Sept. 15. 1796, 
married Henry Ewalt, and by him had two 
sons and one daughter, viz. : William Henry, 
born in March, 1827, died in February. 
1875 : Loudon Bines, born April 16, 1836, 
died Nov. 30, 1903; and Margaret, born 
Sept. 21, 1838. Henry Ewalt died Jan. 11, 
1 87 1, in the seventy-first year of his age. 
and his wife died Feb. 5, 1874, in her seven- 
ty-eighth year. Both are buried at Silver 
Spring. (5) Thomas Bines, born in June, 
1799, married Martha Irvine, in February, 
1830. He died at Middlesex, Cumberland 
county, Dec. 31, 1848. and his wife died 
while on a visit at Hogestown Nov. 27, 
1879, aged about eighty years. Their re- 
mains lie buried in the Silver Spring grave- 
yard. They had no children. (6) James, 
born Feb. 22, 1802, married, in 1836, Mrs. 
Ann Englehart. and settled in Harford 



county, j\Id.. where he died leaving no chil- 
dren. (7) Mary Ann. born May i, 1804. 
never married. She died at Hogestown, at 
the home of her sister, Mrs. Margery B. 
Snowden, Oct. 26, 1848. (8) Margery 
Bines, born Sept. 30, 180S, married, in 
1832, Dr. Isaac Wayne Snowden, and had 
the following children : Nathan Randolph, 
born Oct. 7, 1833, died in August, 1900; 
Archibald Loudon, born Aug. 11, 1835; 
^Margaret, born Jan. 10. 1838, died March 
25,1 1854; Sarah Gustine, born April y, 
1 841: and Maud Loudon, born March 31, 
1848. Dr. Isaac Wayne Snowden died June 
4, 1850, and his wife died Jan. 25, 1888. 
Both are buried in the cemetery of the Sil- 
ver Spring Church, (q) William McCor- 
mick, born Nov. 12, 181 2. married Eliza 
Patterson, went West and settled in Mis- 
souri. Three children, two daughters and 
a son, were born to them. Both parents are 
dead, and their remains are buried at Han- 
nibal, Missouri. 

Matthew Loudon's first wife, Elizabeth 
McCormick, died at a date not now known, 
and he afterward married .Ann Copenger, 
by whom he had five children. He died 
Jan. 10, 1 80 1, at the age of seventy-two 
years, and his wife, Ann Copenger, died 
Feb. 17, 1829. He and his two wives lie 
buried in the same grave in the cemetery of 
the Silver Spring church. The Carlisle 
Weekly Gazette, Jan. 14, 1801, contained the 
following notice of his death: "On the loth 
instant at his farm in East Pennsboro, Mr. 
Matthew Loudon. None who knew this 
man will hesitate to say that he possessed 
the moral and social virtues in an eminent 
degree. As a husband, a father, a neighbor 
and a member of society, both civil and re- 
ligious, his actions were the testimonials of 
sincerity and real friendship, and strongly 
indicated the goodness of his heart. His 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



29 



remains were interred in Silver Spring 
graveyard on the 12th instant, accompanied 
thitlier by an uncommonly large and respec- 
table number of his relations and neighbors 
who were sensibly affected by the loss of 
this worthy citizen." 

Matthew and Ann (Copenger) Loudon 
had issue as follows: (i) Elizabeth mar- 
ried Tliomas Carothers and by him had five 
children : John, who went to Missouri and 
died there in 1855: Matthew, who died 
young: William, who went to Texas, and it 
is not known what became of him ; Thomas, 
who went South, married and settled in 
Texas; and Xancy, who married a son of 
James Armstrong, of Carlisle, and had two 
sons who located at Columbia, Pa. (2) 
John Loudon married Polly Hoge, daughter 
of John Hoge, and moved to Ohio in 1816. 
(3) James. Ijorn April i, 1781, married 
Mary Pinkerton, and had one son named 
Matthew. James Loudon died Jan. 27, 1847, 
and his wife died May 19, 1857. and both 
are buried in the Silver Spring burying 
ground. (4) Catharine, born Feb. 15, 1783, 
married Andrew Carothers, of Carlisle, and 
by him had three sons, as follows : John C, 
who went to ^Missouri, and there married a 
Miss Carothers, who died without children: 
Matthew, who married a Miss \\'ilson, 
moved to Shelbyville. 'Sin., and had a large 
family of children : and James, who settled 
in California. Mrs. Catharine (Loudon) 
Carothers died Jan. 19. 1820, and her hus- 
band afterward married ^Irs. Isabella 
'Creigh) Alexander, widow of Samuel 
Alexander. Andrew Carothers died July 
27, 1836, antl was buried by the side of his 
first wife in the cemetery of the Silver 
Spring church. His second wife died June 
4. 1861, in the seventy-fifth year of her age. 
and is buried in the Old Graveyard at Car- 
lisle. (5) Ann. born Oct. 29, 1785, was a 



deaf mute, and died unmarried Jan. 18, 
1845, St the home of her brother James at 
Roxbury, in Monroe township, and her re- 
mains are buried at Silver Spring. 

Matthew Loudon made his will April 
6, 1799, and left his estate, subject to certain 
allowances, to his sons, John and James, to 
be divided between the two by the judgment 
of seven men appointed by his executors. 
To his son Archibald, he, some years before, 
had given what he considered his portion. 
In 1822 James" land was purchased at 
sheriff's sale by Thomas Carothers, his 
brother-in-law, who in March. 1827, con- 
veyed it to Andrew Carothers, Esq. 

Matthew Loudon, James Loudon's son 
and only child, was born March 7, 1812. 
He married Catharine Myers, by whom he 
had three children : John Myers, Elizabeth 
and Alfred James. , 

Matthew Loudon never wandered far 
from the place of his birth. In 1845 he pur- 
chased from the Forney estate a farm near 
the village of Hogestown, and upon it en- 
gaged at farming while health and strength 
remained to him. He was a quiet unosten- 
tatious man and much respected for his in- 
tegrity and modest worth. From early in 
life he was a member of the Lutheran 
Church at Trindle Spring, and for many 
years one of its deacons,:- also a trustee, in 
which capacity he was serving at the time of 
his death. He died Oct. 30, 1885, and his 
wife died April 18, 1893, in the seventy- 
seventh year of her age. Their remains lie 
buried in the cemetery of the Trindle Spring 
Church. 

John Myers, the oldest child of ]\Iatthew 
and Catharine (Myers) Loudon, was born 
May 2/. 1841. He married Lyde J. Ellis, 
who is of English descent, and they became 
the parents of the following children : Mar- 
garet Ellis, born Dec. 12. 1875 ; Mary Cath- 



3° 



C UMBERLAND CO UNTY. 



arine, born April 17. 1880; John Matthew, 
born June 24. 1S82; Lilhe Bell, born April 
17, 1886, died Dec. 18, 1901 ; ]\Iiriam Cris- 
tobel, born Sept. 12, 1889. 

John Myers Loudon was a farmer, and 
up to his death engaged at farming on a 
place belonging to the Loudon heirs, not far 
from where he was born, in Silver Spring 
township. He died Aug. 6, 1894. and since 
his death his widow and children continue 
the work, and maintain intact the unity of 
the family. ]\Iargaret Ellis, the eldest 
daughter, married Albert Clouser, li\'es in 
York, Pa., and has had the following chil- 
dren: Mary Elizabeth, born Aug. 9, 1893; 
Charles, born May, 1894, died August, 1894; 
John Horace, born May i, 1898: and Al- 
bert, born Feb. 17, 1903. 

Miss Elizabeth, the second child of ]\Iat- 
thew and Catharine ( Myers) Loudon, was 
born Sept. 16, 1843. She resides in ]\Ie- 
chanicsburg. 

Alfred James, the third and youngest 
child of Matthew and Catharine (Alyers) 
Loudon, was born Aug. 7, 1847, ^"^1 g^'^^^^ 
to man's estate on the farm on which he 
was born, and on which he has always lived. 
He was bred a farmer, and was limited in 
education to the curriculum of the country 
district school, but he is of a spirit that keeps 
him in close touch with public affairs, and 
with the most advanced ideas in his private 
vocation. He has been a Knight of Pythias 
since 1871 ; a Mason since 1873, and a 
Patron of Husbandry since 1S82. He is a 
Republican in politics, and has long been 
regarded a party wheelhorse in his section 
of the county. He frequently figures in 
county conventions and occasionally in State 
conventions as a delagate. For nine consec- 
utive vears he was school director, each time 
elected bv a good majority, notwithstanding 
the strong anti-Republican bias of his dis- 



trict, and in 1902, he was a nominee for 
county commissioner but was defeated by 
only a small majority. On Feb. 19, 1885, 
he was married to Mary Ellen, daughter of 
the late Simon Seller, of Hogestown, and 
their children were : Alatthew James, born 
Dec. 28, 1885, died May 21, 1888: Simon 
Seller, born April 28, 1888: Archibald Pink- 
erton, born Nov. 11, 1892: Charlotte Eliza- 
beth, born Feb. 25, 1896 ■; Mary Marguerite, 
born Feb. 26, 1897. The family are regular 
attendants of the Presbyterian church at 
Sih'er Spring, and are uni\ersally respected 
for their high character and good neighborly 
qualities. 

?^L\JOR ROBERT LAMBERTOX, 

whose active career in the formati\"e period 
of the great commonwealth of Pennsylva- 
nia, as a brave soldier, as a successful mer- 
chant, as a public ofilicial, or as an honorable 
gentleman of true worth, is a part of the 
history of Cumberland county, comes from 
a long line of useful men, who have braved 
dangers, endm"ed hardships, and, in the end, 
accomplished much for the good of their 
country. 

The name of Lamberton is of Scotch 
origin, found in the Lowlands in ancient 
days. The estates of the De Lambertons lay 
in Berwickshire and Ayrshire, and there the 
name is found frequently on the records. 
Li the reign of Edgar (1097-1107). in a 
charter granted by him to the monks at St. 
Cuthbert. and in other grants at that early 
day. the name also appears. William de 
Lamberton, Bishop of St. Andrews, was 
the friend of both Sir William Wallace and 
Robert Bruce. The history of the famih'- 
from that time until the latter part of the 
se\-enteenth century is purely traditional ; 
but with the anti-prelacy agitation it again 
becomes distinct. Religious persecution 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



31 



dro\-e some members of tlic family to tlie 
North of Ireland. 

Robert Lamberton lived at Oughill, four 
miles from Londonderry, Province of Ul- 
ster. Ireland, where he was a prosperous 
cloth merchant. He was about eighty years 
of age when he died. His wife's name was 
Finley. It is known that Robert Lamberton 
had two brothers, James and another, whose 
name is not known. Of Robert Lamberton's 
children, James is mentioned below: Chris- 
topher, who was educated for the ministry in 
Scotland, emigrated to America, read law, 
and then moved to Ohio; John settled in 
Venango county. Pa., and died there; Hus- 
ton and William remained in the old coun- 
try. 

Gen. James Lamberton, son of Robert, 
was born near Londonderry in either 1751 
or 1755. At this time the persecution which 
drove the Scots from their own land to the 
North of Ireland followed them to their sup- 
posed haven of refuge, and they were 
obliged to look to the New World for the 
freedom 'their independent spirits craved. 
Toward the close of the war of the Revo- 
lution, and before the final treaty of peace 
was signed, Gen. James Lamberton came 
to Pennsylvania, and settled among so many 
of liis countrymen in the Cumberland Val- 
ley. Tradition says he crossed in the same 
vessel with the father of the late President 
Buchanan. At any rate he arrived at Car- 
lisle in 1783, after a short stay in Phila- 
delphia. For two years he was in business 
with Major William Alexander, and then 
began business on his own account, being 
one of the most extensive, as well as suc- 
cessful, merchants in the \'alley. His large 
packers' trains crossed the Alleghenies car- 
rying merchandise to the South and South- 



west. 



Gen. Lamberton was bv nature a leader 



of men. His character was too strong to 
rest in minor affairs, and he became a prom- 
inent worker in public affairs. He Ijecame 
an advocate of the Democratic-Republican 
party led by Mr. Jefferson, which sympa- 
thized with the French in their war with 
England. With the reorganization of the 
State militia, in 1793, James Lamberton was 
elected major of the ist Battalion of Cum- 
berland County militia, to rank as such from 
July 28, 1792. In 1795 he was elected to 
the \Tlh House of Representatives, and was 
re-elected the following year. In all the 
legislation of that time, so important in es- 
tablishing the government upon a substan- 
tial basis. Gen. Laml)erton took a c(jnspic- 
uous part — a part that showed the lofty 
principles of the man, and his unswerving 
advocacy of all measures for the progress 
of the republic regardless of party politics. 
In January, 1804, he was commissioned 
brigade inspector, and was mustered into 
L'nited States service, accompanying the 
soldiers to the northern frontier. On July 
4, 1814, he was commissioned brigade in- 
spector of the 1st Brigade, nth Division, 
for seven years; in July, 1821, he was 
elected major-general of the division, for a 
term of seven years. For many years be- 
fore his death he lived retired. Well-edu- 
cated and intelligent, brave and determined, 
he inherited the dauntless upright spirit of 
his ancestors, the Covenanters of Scotland. 
He died at his home. No. 117 High street, 
Carlisle, July 28, 1846, at the patriarchal 
age of more than ninety years. 

On Jan. 4, 1785, Gen. James Lamberton 
was married by John George Butler, of Car- 
lisle, to Jane McKeehen. daughter of Alex- 
ander McKeehen, also a North of Ireland 
emigrant. She died Sept. i, 1812, aged 
iifty-six years. Their children were: Rob- 
ert, mentioned below : Alexander,' James and 



32 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Esther, whu all died at Carlisle unmarried : 
Christoi)her, who died near Baltimore; and 
Jane, wlm married John N(_ible, and died at 
Carlisle. 

Major Robert Lamberti.m, son of Gen. 
James, was l:)orn at Carlisle, March 17, 1787. 
He was educated at Dickinson College, at 
that time under the charge of Rev. Dr. Da- 
vidson, where he formed a friendship with 
a fellow student, James Buchanan, which 
proved strong and true during the remainder 
of their lives. Upon lea\-ing college he be- 
gan reading law. when war was declared 
between Great Britain and the United 
States. He was appointed paymaster in the 
service of the United States for the Penn- 
syl\-ania forces, and accompanied them on 
their march to the fnintier and into Canada. 
The exposure he endured on tliis service re- 
sulted in chronic rheumatism, which afflicted 
him all his life. When the war was over he 
returned to Carlisle, and engaged in mer- 
cantile pursuits. He held the office of post- 
master for many years. 

On April 20, 181 5, Major Robert Lam- 
berton was married, by Rev. H. R. Wilson, 
to Miss Mary Harkness, who was born in 
April, 1791. daughter of William and Pris- 
cilla ( Lytle) Harkness, worthy pioneers of 
Scotch-Irish stock, the former of whom, 
born Oct. i, 1739, died May 4, 1822, and 
the latter, liorn in 1751, died Oct. 31, 1831. 
Of the children born to Major and Mrs. 
Lamljerton four sons and two daughters sur- 
vi\-ed their parents : Robert Alexander, a 
memljer of the Dauphin county Bar, and 
later president of Lehigh Universitv: Al- 
fred John, a prominent merchant in Western 
Minnesota; Charles Lytle, a member of the 
Clarion county Bar, whose political career 
brought him to high official position and 
made him a leader of Pennsylvania Demo- 
crats; Henry Wilson, a prominent merchant 



lianker and f(jrmer mayor at Winona, Minn. ;• 
and Mrs. Mary L. Paulding and Miss Annie 
Graham Lamberton, who both reside at the 
old home in Carlisle. Those dying before 
the parents were James Finley, former 
prothonotary of Cumberland county and fa- 
ther of Rear Admiral B. P. Lamberton, of 
the United States navy, who occupied the 
l;)ridge with Admiral Dewey on the battle- 
ship "Olympia" at the battle of Manila, and 
after the death of Capt. Gridley became cap- 
tain of the vessel ; Col. William Harkness, of 
the Venango County Bar, who died leaving 
a son, \N . R., also deceased, a member of 
the New York City Bar; and Priscilla, Jane 
and Robert C, who all three died young. 
Major Lamberton tiled at Carlisle August 9, 
1852, aged sixty-five years. His widow sur- 
vived many years, and died at Carlisle Dec. 
28, 1880, in the ninetieth year of her age. 
For si.xty-three years she had been a consist- 
ent member of the First Presbyterian 
Church. Her devotion to her home, her 
family, and her church, made her life an ex- 
ample of Christian duty. 

SOLOMON PERRY GORGAS, de- 
ceased. Among the well-known and honor- 
able citizens of Mechanicsburg who have 
joined the congregation in the Great Beyond 
was Solomon Perry Gorgas, whose death 
took place at his home in the city Oct. 20, 
1887. He was bom Aug. 3, 181 5, in Lower 
Allen township. Cumberland county, a son 
of Solomon and Catherine (Fanestock) 
Gorgas. Both the Gorgas and Fanestock 
families are of German extraction, and well 
known in Cumberland county. 

The father of Solomon P. Gorgas was 
born and married in Lancaster county and 
came to Cumberland county in 1803, settling 
on the farm in Lower Allen township, which 
is still in the possession of the family. He 





^rrT.f^ 



5^"NEW YOgf" ' I 
PCBIIC LIBRARY 



A6T0B, LENOX AND 
BLDEN F0UNDAM0N8 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



33 



was an excellent business man, and showed 
enterprise in operating a store and hotel on 
his farm, one of the first in that section of 
the county. He was a man of more than 
usual intelligence also, and was twice chosen 
a member of the State Legislature. His 
death occurred Sept. 21, 1838, and that of 
his widow Aug. 9, 1853, his age being sev- 
enty-four years and hers seventy-nine years. 
They were both worthy members of the 
Seventh-Day Baptist Church. They had a 
family of four sons and three daughters, the 
youngest being Solomon P.. whose name 
opens this sketch. 

Solomon Perry Gorgas was married 
May 8, 1845, to Elizabeth Eberly, who was 
born March 3, 1822, in Hampden township, 
Cumberland county, daughter of Benjamin 
and Barbara ( Kaufifman) Eberly, who were 
of German ancestry, but born in Lan- 
caster county. A family of nine children 
was born to this union, four of whom grew 
to maturity: Kate E., who married Dr. J. 
Nelson Clark, of Harrisburg: William F., 
at one time connected with the First Na- 
tional Bank of Mechanicsburg. but now de- 
ceased: Anna B., who married Jacob H. 
Kahler, a prominent business man of Me- 
chanicsburg ; and Mary E. who married 
William C. Hicks, a business man of Harris- 
burg. 

Mr. Gorgas followed farming in Fair- 
view township, York county, until 1850, 
when he came to Mechanicsburg. In 1855 
he purchased fifty-six acres of land, now in- 
cluded in the eastern part of the borough of 
Mechanicsburg, a very valuable investment. 
He was a man with very clear ideas on busi- 
ness matters, and in 1859, in association 
with Levi Merkel, Jacob Mumma, Jacob 
Levi, Frank and Samuel Eberly, Will- 
iam R. Gorgas. John Nissley and 
John Brandt, formed a banking com- 



pany under the firm style of Merkel, 
Mumma & Co., with John Brandt as presi- 
dent and Levi Kauffman as cashier. This 
was a strong combination of capital, and the 
high standing of the incorporators imme- 
diately invited confidence. In 1861 the great 
volume of business made it desirable to effect 
a reorganization and the bank became the 
Mechanicsburg Bank, chartered under the 
State law, with Levi Merkel as president. 
In February, 1864, the bank was rechartered 
as the First National Bank of Mechanics- 
burg. with Solomon P. Gorgas as president. 
In February, 1883, it was rechartered, and 
Mr. Gorgas was again made president, which 
honorable position he held until his death. 

Mr. Gorgas was identified widi the in- 
terests of Cumberland county for over 
seventy years and there were few successful 
enterprises in his locality in which he had 
not shown an interest. He was one of the 
founders and one of the most liberal dona- 
tors to Irving College, giving the ground 
for its site, and through life was very liberal 
in his gifts. In politics Mr. Gorgas was a 
stanch Democrat; he never sought political 
prominence. For many years he was a lead- 
ing member of the Methodist Church at Me- 
chanicsburg. His memory will long be 
cherished in this city as one of its most use- 
ful and upright business men and as a most 
highly esteemed citizen. 

WILLIAM BOYD MURRAY was 
born in Carlisle, Cumberland county, Penn- 
sylvania, on the 4th of September, 1808. 
He was the eldest son of George and Mary 
(Denny) Murray. 

George ^Murray, his father, was the only 
child of William and Susanna (Slv) ]\Iur- 
ray, and was born ]\Iarch 17, 1762, near 
Fort Pitt, now Pittsburgh, Pa. ; he was said 
to be the first white child born west of the 



34 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Allegheny mountains. William ^Murray, 
father of (".eorge, was a Scotchman, and 
came to this country in one of the vessels 
hearing soldiers for Braddock's army. He 
was a surveyor and surveyed a large part 
of the land along the Ohio river, and through 
the States of Ohio and Kentucky. He ap- 
plied to the authorities for a grant or title 
to the land in Kentucky which he had sur- 
\-eved. This was refused him on the ground 
that it was too large a territory for any one 
man to claim. Mr. Murray then returned 
to the old countrv for a time, and while there 
sickened and died. His wife and child re- 
mained in the home and in the care of her 
father. George Sly- 
Susanna Sly, wife of \\'illiam Murray, 
was a daughter of George and Marget 
Slv, who came to this country from Hol- 
land. An early record of Pittsburgh fur- 
nishes a list (~>f pers<ins at Fort Pitt, not be- 
longing to the army, in Jnly, 1760. In the 
list is the name of Susanna Sly, also the 
names of her two sisters, Elizabeth and 
Rachel, and the names of their parents, 
GcLirge and Marget Sly. Susanna (Sly) 
Murray, mother of George, died leaving the 
boy an orphan. At the age of twelve years 
George came to Carlisle. Pa., with Joseph 
Spear, trader and commissary. He was 
placed in the care of James Pollock, Thomas 
Alexander and George Stevenson, all prom- 
inent and leading men of the county, by 
whom he was ajjprenticed to Simon Boyd, 
blacksmith, of Carlisle. In the Revolution 
Simon Boyd was an officer in the Second 
Battalion of Associators of Cumberland 
county. George Murray afterward became 
the partner of Mr. Boyd, and was consid- 
ered "a model artisan Qf the kind." For 
ye'U's an extensi\-e and a successful business 
was carried on by these two men in the art 
of Vulcan. Upon tlic death of ]\Ir. Boyd, 



Oct. G, 1816, Mr. Murray succeeded him 
in the l)usiness. prospering in it, and 
acquiring considerable property. In those 
early days blacksmithing was a lucra- 
tive business. There were no railroads 
then between the Eastern cities and 
the West. The snort of the iron horse 
had not yet wakened the echoes of the 
Alleghenies. Pittsburgh at that time was 
the "far West." Traveling was done on 
horseback — later by stage coach — while 
trading was carried on by pack horse, and 
by the Conestoga wagon — the latter a huge 
wagon co\'ered with white canvas and drawn 
by si.x or eight horses, bearing merchandise 
to and from the West. At different points 
on the journey these teams were halted for 
rest, and to be fed, and to be shod. Carlisle 
was one of their stopping places. The 
blacksmith shop of Boyd & ^Murray was 
located on West High street, near West 
street. Opposite the .shop was the tavern, 
the headquarters of the teamsters. As many 
as thirty teams at one time might have been 
seen drawn up on lx>th sides of the street, 
near the blacksmith shop, waiting their turn 
to be shod — the teamsters seated along the 
sidewalk eating their lunch of bread, pork 
and molasses. 

On June 27, 1804, George Murray was 
married, 1)y Rev. Robert Davidson, D. D., 
pastor of the First Preslwterian Church of 
Carlisle, to Mary Denny, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Agnes (Parker) Denny. Mary 
Denny was born in Carlisle, Pa., March 5, 
1778. She was a sister of Priscilla Denny, 
wife of Simon Boyd, also a sister of Major 
Ebenezer Denny, and a niece of Major 
Alexander Parker, both of Re\-olutionary 
fame. 

William Denny, father of Mrs. Murray, 
with bis brother Walter, came to Cumber- 
land county from Chester county in 1745. 




^^ ^^.u^w^ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



35 



Walter settteil two or three miles south of 
Carlisle, where he owned a large tract of 
land, afterward divided into several farms. 
He raised a company for the Revolutionary 
struggle and was killed at the battle of 
Crooked Billet. William Denny lived in 
Carlisle. He was the first coroner west of 
the Susquehanna river, and during the 
Revolution was commissary of issues. He 
was the contractor for the erection of 
the court house in Carlisle, in 1765, 
which was destroyed by fire in 1845. 
In 1760 William Denny was married 
to Agnes Parker. They had nine chil- 
dren, three sons and six daughters. 
Agnes Parker was the daughter of John 
and Margaret (McClure) Parker, who bad 
seven children, three sons and four daugh- 
ters, ]\Iajor -Alexander Parker, a distin- 
guished ofiicer of the Revolution, being one 
of their sons. John Parker, father of 
Agnes (Parker) Denny, born in 1716, 
was the eldest son of Richard Parker 
and Janet, his wife, who emigrated to 
this country from the Province of Ulster. 
Ireland, in 1725, and settled three miles 
west of Carlisle, acquiring land by patent 
on the Conedoguinet creek in 1734. His 
application at that date was for the land on 
which he had resided "ye ten years past." 
These lands continued for two or three gen- 
erations in possession of their descendants. 
Richard and Janet Parker, "among other 
children" — as history tells us — had seven 
children, five sons and two daughters. 

The Parker farm — so-called in former 
days — west of Carlisle is "beautiful for situ- 
ation." The old farmhouse has passed away. 
and another structure has taken its place. 
Located on the top of the hill overlooking 
the valley, a magnificent stretch of country 
is spread out before the eye. The prospect 
is a charming one. At the rear of the house, 



and at the foot of the hill, flows the Cone- 
doguinet creek. From the base of the hill 
issues a spring of clear, cold water, which, 
purling and rippling over the stones, finds its 
way into the Conedoguinet creek. !Many 
times in those early days, when, in the dusk 
of the evening, the daughters of the house 
came down to the spring for water, did they 
tremble for their lives, imagining and fear- 
ing that Indians were lurking behind the 
trees. 

William Denny died in Carlisle about 
the year 1800. His wife survived him a 
number of years. George Murray died in 
Carlisle May 6, 1855, in his ninety-fourth 
year; his wife died April 10, 1845, ""^ the 
si.xtv-eighth year of her age. They are 
buried side by side in the family lot in the 
old graveyard at Carlisle, wdiere William 
and Agnes (Parker) Denny, father and 
mother of Mary (Denny) Murray, are 
sleeping in one grave. George and Mary 
(Denny) Murray had seven children : (Sur- 
name Murray), Priscilla Boyd, William 
(who died in infancy), William Boyd, 
Charles Gregg, George, Joseph Alexander 
and Nancy Denny (the last named died in 
infancy). 

William Boyd Murray, the subject of 
this sketch, as a lad was quiet, unobtrusive 
and self-contained. He received his educa- 
tion in the schools of his native borough. 
He was fond of study, was quick and apt 
to learn, and possessed a fine memory, which 
e\en down to old age remained true and vig- 
orous, in a remarkable degree. It was a 
rule with his father, George Murray, that 
each one of his boys should be taught some 
branch of manual art, and that of carpenter 
was chosen for his son William. The re- 
quirements and the labor belonging to that 
particular branch of industry were too heavy 
for one of his slender frame and delicate 



36 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



constitution, and, at the end of the first year, 
he was released from his apprenticeship. 
He did not follijw tliis trade to any extent, 
but turned his attention to the grocery busi- 
ness, which he carried on successfully for 
several years. It was about this time — 
1837 — that the Cumberland Valley Rail- 
road was opened, the tracks having been 
laid through the main street of Carlisle. 
Ambitious and enterprising, and quick to 
see the adwantage of a move in this direction. 
Mr. ]\Iurray conceived the idea of embark- 
ing in the grain and forwarding business. 
With this object in \"iew he and his brother- 
in-law, John Fleming, in December. 1838, 
purchased a property on the south side of 
West High street, west of and adjoining 
property of Dickinson College. On this lot 
they erected a two-story frame warehouse, 
entered into partnership, and in Februarys 
1839, began business under the name of 
Murray & Fleming. On Aug. 12th of the 
same year a sad accident occurred on the 
Cumberland Valle}' railroad, which resulted 
in the death of Mr. Fleming. While detach- 
ing one of his freight cars from the rapidly 
moving train, in order that the car would 
run on the siding, Mr. Fleming, in reaching 
forward to replace the bolt in the car just 
ahead, lost his balance, fell, and was crushed 
by the wheels of his own car. He lived 
seven hours after the occurrence. 

After the death of Mr. Fleming, Mr. 
Murray continued the Ijusiness in his own 
name. He was a prominent lousiness man i;i 
the communit}'. Active and energetic, he 
built up and carried on successfully for 
years an extensive trade in grain, flour and 
other merchandise. In th(jse days shippers 
owned and used their own freight cars. 
They found the market fm" their produce, 
etc., in the eastern cities. Pig iron brought 
from furnaces adjacent to Carlisle was one 



of the articles shipped to the East. In busy 
seasons, when the rush of business was 
great, quantities of this metal might be seen 
stacked in huge piles on the street, awaiting 
shipment. Some years later, lumber was 
added to the stock in trade, and also anthra- 
cite coal. This was the first introduction 
of coal, for famih' use, in the borough of 
Carlisle. 

In 1859 ■^^''- ^lurray retired from the 
acti\'e responsibilities of the grain and for- 
warding business. Later in life, he was 
engaged for a short time in importing a 
choice variety of seed wheat from Florence, 
Italy, for distribution among the farmers 
of Cumberland county. Mr. ^Murray was a 
man of strict integrity, was faithful, honest 
and upright in all his business connections. 
Never to violate a moral obligation was a 
principle of his life. 

The warehouse built in 1839. l)y ]\Iur- 
ray & Fleming, is still standing on the cor- 
ner of High and College streets. It bears 
its age well, and in all these years has been 
a good business stand. At the present time 
it is occupied and used for the grain and 
forwarding business. 

Mr. Murray possessed strong military 
tastes, and in his younger years was actively 
interested in the old militia service of the 
State. For nine years he served as a com- 
missioned officer in the militia of the Com- 
monwealth of Pennsylvania. On April 27, 
1832, he entered the service, receiving his 
commission from Gov. Wolf as second lieu- 
tenant of the Second Company, Second Bat- 
talion. On May 14, 1833, he was appointed 
by the same governor second lieutenant, anti 
the next year first lieutenant, of the Carlisle 
Marion Rifle Company, attached to the 
First Battalion, Cumberland Volunteers. 
On May i, 1837, he was appointed by Gov- 
ernor Ritner adjutant of the First Battalion, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



37 



with tlie rank of major. He continued in 
the service, faithfully performing the duties 
of his position, until May 8, 1841, when he 
was "honorably discharged." He was also 
a member of the Union Fire Company of 
Carlisle, of which the Rev. Robert David- 
son, D. D., was the first president. This 
company numbered among its members 
some of the prominent citizens of the town, 
and the names of John Montgomery, James 
Blaine, David Watts. James Hamilton and 
others are mentioned in the records. The 
company is still in existence. On Sejit. 17, 
1889, Mr. Murray, at the advanced age of 
eighty-one years, took part in the celebra- 
tion of the centennial of this company. 

]\Ir. Murray was- an intelligent and a 
progressive man and kept abreast of the 
times. He was a thorough patriot, a dear 
lover of his country. In June, 1863, during 
the Civil war, although beyond the years 
for active service in the field, yet at a hasty 
call for a home guard to protect Carlisle 
from a threatened invasion, by night, of 
Confederate troops, Mr. Murray was one 
of those who responded to the call, shoul- 
dered his musket and marched out with the 
company. In religious belief, Air. Murray 
was a stanch Presbyterian, as were his fore- 
fathers, strong in the faith, clear and abid- 
ing in his convictions. Eary in life he united 
with the First Presbyterian Church of Car- 
lisle, the church of which his parents were 
members, then under the pastorate of the 
Rev. George Duffield, D. D. In 1832, as 
the result of disputes on doctrinal points 
which created a division throughout the en- 
tire church, a portion of the congregation 
withdrew, and organized the Second Pres- 
byterian Church of Carlisle. This new 
church was established Jan. 12, 1833, with 
a membership of sixty-five persons. Rev. 
Daniel AIcKinley being installed pastor 



.\ug. 7, 1833. Mr. Murray was one of the 
charter members, as was also his father, and 
he was one of the active spirits of the new 
organization. For a number of years he 
served on the board of trustees. He was 
always in his place in the sanctuary, unless 
prevented by illness, which was of rare oc- 
currence. Throughout his entire life he was 
actively and thoroughly interested in every- 
thing pertaining to the welfare of his be- 
loved Zion. At the time of his death, which 
occurred Feb. 7, 1890, he was the last sur- 
vivor of the charter members. 

In stature Mr. Murray was five feet 
eleven inches in height, broad-shouldered, 
erect in carriage, with a well-knit frame, slen- 
der in figure and person and with dark hair 
and blue eyes. He was a high-toned Christian 
man, of rare simplicity and purity of char- 
acter. In disposition, reserved and reticent, 
dignified and courteous in manner, with a 
kindly, charitable spirit toward all — a gen- 
tleman of the old school. Domestic in his 
tastes and habits, he found his chief happi- 
ness with his family and at his own fireside. 
Strongly attached to those of his own blood 
■ — his kinsfolk, loyal and generous, he was 
always to the front when they needed aid 
or counsel. 

On Jan. 9, 1834, William Boyd Murray 
was married, by Rev. Daniel McKinley, 
pastor of the Second Presbyterian Church of 
Carlisle, to Margaret Parker Fleming, 
daughter of James and Margaret (Clark) 
Fleming, of North Middleton township, 
Cumberland county. Margaret Parker Flem- 
ing was born May 27, 1809, in the 
old home situated on the banks of 
the Conedoguinet creek, a few miles 
north of Carlisle. In 1884 Mr. and 
Mrs. Murray celebrated their golden 
wedding in Carlisle, where they resided. 
They were both of Scotch-Irish ancestry 



38 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



and Ijoth were descendants of Richard 
Parker and Janet liis wife, whose names 
have ah^eady been mentioned in tliis sketch. 
Mrs. JNIurray was a beautiful woman — fea- 
tures regular, clear complexiiin. with black 
hair and dark Ijrown eyes. A woman of su- 
perior cast of mind, intelligent, and. as one 
remarked of her, "her face indicated the 
noliility nf her character." she was a thor- 
ough Christian, a devoted wife and mother. 
^Ir. Murray died Feb. 7, 1890, in the 
eightv-second year of his age; his wife died 
April 6, 1886. in her seventy-seventh year. 
Agreeable to the request of ^Ir. ^Murray, 
both are buried in one grave in the family 
lot in the old graveyard at Carlisle. They 
had four children (surname ^Murray) : Alar- 
garet Fleming, Harmar Denny, Mary 
Denny and Mellazena. ^lellazena died Feb. 
16, 1855. Mary Denny died in Allegheny 
City, Pa., Sept. 26, 1903. Their remains 
repose beside those of their parents in the 
family lot in the old graveyard at Carlisle, 
where sleep the representatives of four gen- 
erations. Flarmar Denny Murray is en- 
gaged in the glass business in Pittsburgh, 
Pa. Margaret Fleming Murray resides in 
the old home at Carlisle, Pa. 

ISAAC BAUMAN, a prominent citizen, 
a well-known poet, and a writer of more than 
usual ability, long identified with literary 
work and publishing interests in Pennsyl- 
vania, was born in Ephrata, Lancaster coun- 
ty, May 19, 1829, and died in Upper Allen 
township, Cumberland county, Aug. 24, 
1900. 

The Baumans came originally from Ger- 
man}- and were among the earliest settlers 
of Lancaster county. Different branches of 
the family, under the name of Bowman, are 
living in that county to-day. 

Joseph Bauman, father of Isaac Bauman, 



was born in Lancaster count}, and moved to 
Copper Allen township, Cumberland county, 
in 1830. He bought the present homestead 
and farm at that time and also established 
a printing business at She])herdstown. car- 
rying on both printing and farming until 
186 1, when he retired on account of increas- 
ing age. An interesting relic of his early 
work, which is still held by the family, is an 
old Franklin hand press vhich has been in 
its possession for more than eighty years. 
For three generations Baumans have worked 
on that press, Joseph having brought it with 
him to Shepherdstown. and it was previously 
owned by his father. 

In his early youth Joseph Bauman was 
emplo}-ed in a paper-mill at Ephrata, Lan- 
caster county, all his life having been asso- 
ciated with the printing business in some 
connection. He was a man of strong spir- 
itual beliefs and conscientiously belonged to 
the sect known as the Seventh-Day Baptists. 
The old monastery belonging to that sect, 
and known as the "Sisters and Brothers 
House," still stands in Ephrata and, al- 
though out of use for many years, is still an 
object of interest to visitors, who are in- 
terested in the locality or in historical re- 
search and come long distances to view it 
and learn its story. 

Joseph Bauman married Mary Bitzer, 
who was Ijorn in Lancaster county and died 
in 1876. aged eighty-two years. His death 
took place in 1862, at the age of seventy- 
three years. They reared a remarkable fam- 
ily, every member showing unusual talent in 
some direction : ( i ) Jesse, the eldest, was an 
inventor and machinist, and established the 
first iron foundry in Mechanicsburg : he mar- 
ried Ellen Meily, and they are sur\"ived by 
one son, Joseph, who is a successful ma- 
chinist at Dillsburg. Jesse Bauman died 
in 1894 at Dillsburg, at the age of seventy- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



39 



nine years. {2) Harrison, the second son, 
married Racliel Herman, lived and farmed 
in ^liddlesex township, and died in 1880 
at the age of fifty-five years. (3) Isaac was 
the next son. 

Isaac Bauman was one year old when he 
became a resident of Upper Allen township 
and lierc learned all that the local schools 
coukl teach and also the trade of printing, 
accpiiring such knowledge tiniler his father's 
tutelage. This trade he followed for a num- 
ber of years in Harrisburg and P^hiladelphia, 
and early became a contributor to the then 
leading periodicals. His poems were gladly 
accepted for the columns of the ]Vaverly 
Magazine, Petersons Magazine and the Bal- 
timore Sun and Yankee Blade. For a long 
time he wrote under the nom de plume of 
"Clarence May," but during his later years, 
when recognition was a matter of indiffer- 
ence to him, he signed the initials "I. B." In 
conjunction with the late Dr. William H. 
Egle, early in the fifties, he i)ublished a 
magazine called the Literary Companion, a 
magazine filled with choice original and se- 
lected matter, which had a wide circulation. 
Always unassuming, he was not prone to 
claim the credit due him, and it is recalled 
that upon one occasion, in 1852. when a 
banquet was given to Gov. Bigler at Harris- 
liurg, on Franklin's birthday, by the printers 
of Pennsylvania, the then well known Frank 
Clifford gave the following toast to "Clar- 
ence May:" ".\ Gentleman deserving the 
name; a Poet of no ordinary genius; and a 
Typo who adorns the profession." 

Mr. Bauman was an elder in the Presby- 
terian Church. In politics, early a Whig, 
he later became a Republican and still later 
an adherent of the Prohibition party. His 
lamented death took place as noted above. 

On Dec. 25, i860, Mr. Bauman married 
Charlotte E. Sprenkel. The Sprenkels are 



descendants of old Virginia stock. Peter 
Sprenkel. grandfather of Mrs. Bauman, was 
born in Hanover, York county. Pa., and 
married Lydia Hoover of the same county. 
He was a farmer and large land owner in 
Dover township, where his death occurred 
in his seventy-third years. 

John Sprenkel, father of Mrs. Bauman, 
was born in Hanover and lived there until 
his marriage, when he settled in Baltimore 
county, Md., and engaged in the milling 
business. He died in middle age. In 1840 
he married Leah Ettinger, of York county, 
who died in Cumberland county in 1885, at 
the age of sixty-nine years, and they had 
three children : Sarah married J. C. Nesbit, 
Esq., of Shepherdstown, and they have two 
children — Arthur E.. a prominent druggist 
in Philadelphia, and Russell H., a telegra- 
pher. John A., a teacher and lecturer, who 
lives in New Cumberland, formerly of Vir- 
ginia, married Jennie Bailetts, of Harris- 
burg, and they have one son. Dr. Ward F. 
Sprenkel, a practicing physician in Phila- 
delphia. Charlotte E. is the widow of Isaac 
Bauman. She was born in York county, 
Pa., March 9, 1842, and received her school- 
ing in York and Cumberland counties. Mrs. 
Bauman early devoted herself to literary 
work, becoming a contributor to the Dollar 
Magazine, a well known Philadelphia publi- 
cation in the sixties ; to the hide.v-Appeal, of 
Petersburg, ~\'a., and to the IVaverly Maga- 
zine, her writings always possessing the 
clearness and interest which won her a wide 
audience. In 1868 she joined the Presby- 
terian Church at Mechanicsburg, and has al- 
ways been active in its work and also in the 
work of the ^^^ C. T. U., using her pen in 
the same cause. She is a member of the lat- 
ter organization and one of its officers, and 
annually reads a paper before the yearly con- 
vention. She is intimatelv asosciated and 



40 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



closely connected Avith many of the great 
leaders in temperance work. 

Mrs. Banman can trace her maternal 
lineage far back, her great-grandfather Et- 
tinger being a minister of the German Re- 
formed Chnrch. He lived, ministered and 
died in York county, and his son. Rev. 
y\dam Ettinger, Mrs. Bauman's grandfather, 
was an Evangelical minister for seventy 
years, dying in 187O in York county, aged 
ninety years. 

Mr. and ]\lrs. Bauman had children as 
follows: Norman died in 1882. aged twenty 
years. Edith married J. B. Miller, a farmer 
in Upper Allen township, and has two chil- 
dren, Ada and Xenia. May married J. A. 
Bucher, of Camp Hill, who holds a pusition 
with the Harrisburg Traction Company, and 
they have two children, Clarence E. and 
Norman B. 

COL. ROBERT H. THOMAS. Among 
the prominent men who have long been lieM 
in honor in Cumberland county few have 
been more conspicuous than Col. Robert H. 
Thomas, one of the leading citizens of Me- 
chanicsburg. For forty years he has been 
identified with the commercial, educational 
and civic growth of that city, and still, at 
the age of seventy years, directs large inter- 
ests and influences great bodies. He was 
born in Philadelphia, Jan. 28, 1834, of a 
sturdy ancestry, Welsh-English on one side, 
and Scotch-Irish on the other, a combination 
which has produced some of the finest minds 
of this generation. 

In paternal lines (Welsh-English) his 
great-great-grandmother, Ruth (Morton) 
Nicholson, was a sister of John Morton, one 
of the signers of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. In the next generatian. Col. 
Thomas' great-grandmother, Ruth (Nich- 
olson) Harper, lost her birthright in the 



Quaker meeting because of her maniage 
with Edward Harper, an officer in the Brit- 
ish army, and a Church of England man. 

Elisha Thomas, great-grandfather of 
Col. Thomas, married Ann Wain, a sister- 
in-law of Thomas Mifflin, governor of Penn- 
sylvania, in 1790, through whom he (Eli- 
sha) liecame connected with some of the 
minor affairs of State. 

Robert Thomas, son of Elisha, was born 
five miles from Germantown, Oct. 4, 1777, 
the day when the Continental army under 
Gen. AVashington met the opposing British 
f(3rce under Gen. Howe and fought the his- 
toric battle of Germantown. 

Rev. Edward H. Thomas, son of Robert, 
and father of Col. Thomas, was born in 
I'hiladelphia. Losing his father when he 
was a mere boy, he was obliged to depend 
upon himself for his education, the widowed 
mother having all she could do to care for 
the physical needs of the family, even with 
the aid of the older boys. Consequently 
}-oung Edwartl gained the substantial part 
of his fine education by burning the midnight 
oil. After his ordination he was placed in 
charge of a congregation at Lancaster City. 
Later he came to Mechanicsburg and took 
charge of the Church of God. He married 
Charlotte Ann Nelson, daughter of Andrew 
Nelson, Esq., wdio belonged to a Scotch- 
Irish Presbyterian f.amily in the North of 
Ireland. Rev. Mr. Thomas died in i86g. 

Robert H. Thomas received his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Lancaster city. 
When sixteen years old he decided to fit 
himself for future usefulness and independ- 
ence, and apprenticed himself to learn the 
trade of house and sign painting, including 
wall decorating. This business he followed 
for some years, during the summer seasons, 
teaching school during the winters, but im- 
paired health interrupted his busy life and 







_^2-<=:?' 



THE !NEW YORK I 
PUBLIC LIBRAEY 



ASTOB. LENOX AHD 
lUDEN FOltKDATIONB 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



41 



warned him to engage in some other pur- 
suits. He then turned his attention to mer- 
chandising and in 1850 took up his residence 
in Meclianicsburg. 

During the Civil war Col. Thomas be- 
came very prominent in his active support of 
the Government, and he loyally served in a 
number of emergency regiments, on several 
occasions, resuming his duties at home as 
soon as the exigency which had called him 
to the front had subsided. From 1862 until 
1866 he efficiently served as deputy collector 
of internal revenue for the 15th District of 
Pennsylvania. On June 30, 1863. he was 
appointed special aide-de-camp by Gov. 
Curtin, with the rank of colonel, and was 
assigned to duty in the department com- 
manded by Gen. Smith, of Harrisburg. 
When the Confederate forces had been 
driven south of the Potomac he resigned the 
position and returned to business pursuits. 
Gen. George H. Thomas, of Civil war fame, 
was his cousin twice removed. 

In 1869 Col. Thomas entered the news- 
paper field, purchasing the Valley Democrat. 
changing the name to the Valley Independ- 
ent, and two years later he purchased a rival 
paper, the Cumberland Valley Journal, and 
consolidated the papers and offices under the 
new title of the Independent Journal. In the 
fall of 1872 he began to espouse the cause 
of the Patrons of Husbandry, an agricul- 
tural order then coming into prominence in 
the State, and during the following sum- 
mer he organized a number of subordinate 
granges. Upon the organization of the 
State Grange, at Reading, in 1873, Col 
Thomas was elected secretary, a position 
he most capably held until 1896. 

On Jan. i, 1874, Col. Thomas began the 
publication of the Farmer's Friend and 
Grange Advocate, as the organ of the Pa- 



trons of Husbandry, an agricultural journal 
of high character and great literary merit. 
It has an immense circulation, which is not 
by any means confined to members of the 
Grange. Col. Thomas has always been a 
man of progressive ideas and of philan- 
thropic instincts, and he became impressed 
with the feeling that there ought to be a 
better understanding between the farmers 
and manufacturers of the country. Accord- 
ingly, in 1S74 he originated and organized 
the Inter-State Picnic Exhibition, at Will- 
iams' Grove, Cumberland county. This ven- 
ture proved very popular and has yearly 
increased in interest, becoming a very impor- 
tant movement through the agricultural re- 
gions of Cumberland county. 

Col. Thomas has been many times hon- 
ored by his editorial associates, with whom 
he has always maintained the most cordial 
relations. He has served as president of 
the State Editorial Association and for some 
years has been its secretary and treasurer. 
He is also one of the officers of the Interna- 
tional Editorial Association, was its presi- 
dent at its convention in Galveston, Texas, 
in 1897, and exerts the influence of a broad- 
minded, thoughtful student of the great pub- 
lic problems of the day. He was commis- 
sioned from the State of Pennsylvania to the 
World's Industrial and Cotton Centennial 
Exposition, held at New Orleans in 1884-85, 
and was likewise appointed a commissioner 
to the American Exposition held in London, 
England, in May, 1887. Mrs. Thomas filled 
the position of lady commissioner in 1884-85 
at New Orleans. 

Since 1 85 1 Col. Thomas has been a 
Mason. He became a member of the Grand 
Lodge of Pennsylvania that year, and an 
officer of the same in 1864, serving for thir- 
teen consecutive years as District Deputy 



42 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



Grand Master, and as representative of his 
home lodge to the Grand Lodge for fifty 
years consecntively. 

In 1853 ^'-'1- Tliomas married Miss An- 
nette Kimmel, daughter of Henry Kimmel, 
Esq., of one of the old and prominent fami- 
lies of the Cumljerland Valley. Five chil- 
dren were born of this union, three of whom 
died young. The survivors are: Robert H., 
Jr., of the Thomas Printing House, of 
Mechanicsburg ; and Estelle, wife of J. \r\m 
Steele, a descendant of Gen. Irvin, of Frank- 
hn county. During his long and useful ca- 
reer Col. Thomas has become intimately as- 
sociated with the leading men of his State, 
and has enjoyed in marked degree their re- 
spect and esteem. 

ROBERT H. THOMAS, Jr. Con- 
spicuous among the active business men of 
Mechanicsburg is Robert H. Thomas, Jr., ot 
the well known Thomas Printing House. 
He is a son of Col. Robert H. and Annette 
(Kimmel) Thomas, and was boi^n in Me- 
chanicsburg Jan. 19, 1861. Fie is one of two 
surviving children, the other being ;\Irs. J. 
Irvin Steele, of Ashland, Pennsylvania. 

Robert H. Thomas, Jr., was educated in 
the ]3ublic schools of Mechanicsburg, and at 
the Cumberland Valley Institute. He has 
spent all his days in the place of his birth, 
and it may be said that his entire career, 
from early boyhood down to the present, 
has been a continuous period of business 
activity. Upon leaving the school room, in 
1878, he entered the printing- office, and both 
by study and practice learned thoroughly the 
details of his father's extensive business. 
With this knowledge and practical training 
he became business manager of the house, 
which exacting position he has successfully 
filled ever since. .'\s his business has con- 
stantly brought him into contact with the 



aggressive minds that shape and direct mat- 
ters in the \^arious spheres of life, he is gener- 
ally well informed, and is possessed of a 
progressive and enterprising spirit. He has 
traveled much, mingling freely with the peo- 
ple, is naturally quick to observe, ready and 
accurate in speech, and a good judge of 
human nature. He is a clear and forceful 
writer, a good conversationalist, and holds 
high rank among the journalists of the State. 
Fie is a Republican and takes an active inter- 
est in local and State politics. 

Like !iis distinguished father, Mr. 
Th( imas has long been prominent in Ma- 
sonry, and has reached the thirtynsecond 
degree of the fraternity. He also belongs 
to the Knights of Pythias, the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America. (Lodge No. 164, of 
Mechanicsburg), and the American Me- 
chanics. He is an enthusiastic fireman, and 
has been chief of the Mechanicsburg Fire 
Department. He is also identified with the 
Grange movement, and is treasurer of the 
Grangers' Picnic Association, which holds 
annual exhibitions at Williams Grove, Cum- 
berland county. 

In January, 1891, Robert H. Thomas, 
Jr., married Miss Frances Coover, only 
daughter of Ira D. and Ellen (Downs) 
Coover. She was born in Upper Allen 
township, and on the paternal side is a de- 
scendant from one of the oldest and most 
respected families of that part of the county. 
Her mother was a memljer of an old and 
prominent family of the Eastern Shore, 
Maryland. She has two brothers, Alfred 
D. and David R., both of whom reside in 
Arizona. To Robert H. and Frances Coover 
Thomas have been born three children, 
Robert H. (3), Francis Edward and Mary 
Estelle, all of whom are living. Mr. and 
Mrs. Thomas are members of the Methodist 
Church. 






v^^2^ 



^Zc<Z>C-i^^.^{f-L..(^ 



'a 





c/-^ 



TEE ^'EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AOTOIi, LENOX AND 
TUOEN FOIINIIATIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



43 



WILLIAM CLliXDLNLN. Elsewhere 
it lias been shown that the first John Clen- 
denin. who settled in Cumberland county, 
was married to Janet Huston. John and 
Janet ( Huston ) Clendenin, among other 
children, liad a son John, who was a soldier 
in the War of the Revolution, and rose to 
the rank of cai)tain. He married Elizabeth 
Caldwell, a sister of Martha Caldwell, 
the nidthe.- of John Caldwell Calhoun, 
the southern statesman. John and Eliza- 
beth (Caldwell) Clendenin had ten chil- 
dren, four sons and six daughters. Their 
second child was a son named William, born 
in 1785, and his genealogical line is the sub- 
ject of this sketch. 

During his life time tlie father of Will- 
iam Clendenin became seized of a farm, 
lying on the State Road in the northwestern 
part of East Pennsboro, now Silver Spring 
township, which afterwards was for a long 
time owned by Daniel Fought and his heirs 
Captain Clendenin made his will in May, 
1802, which was ])rol)ateil in August, 1802. 
Li it this farm stands bequeathed to his sun 
William, and on it in 1814, William began 
farming on his own account, his sister Eliza- 
beth keeping house for him. On March 7, 
1816, he was married to ALarv ^\'allace, who 
was born Feb. 22, 1800. With the exception 
of a period of about three years, during 
which he was in poor health, this farm was 
William Clendenin's home for the rest of his 
lifetime. He died Jan. 22, 1835, and his re- 
mains were interred in the Pine Hill grave- 
yard, the earliest public graveyard in that 
part of the countv. His widow remained 
upon the farm until in the spring of 1837, 
when she, with her family of small children, 
moved to New Kingstown. William and 
Mary (W^allace) Clendenin had children as 
follows : Elizabeth, Robert Wallace, Isa- 
bella, William and Mary A., all of whom 



were born on the old farm on the State 
Road in Silver Spring township. Isabella 
died May 16, 1836, at the age of ten years, 
and was laid to rest in Pine Hill graveyard. 

Mrs. Mary Clendenin lived at New 
Kingstown until in the spring of 1839, and 
then moved to New Castle, Mercer, now 
Lawrence, county, where she lived all the 
rest of her days. She died Oct. 29, i885, 
and is buried at New Castle. She was a 
woman of rare qualities of head and heart, 
and a genial, commanding person in what- 
ever community she lived. Her memory 
was remarkable, and among her kinsfolk 
and neighbors mooted questions were often 
referred to her as arbiter, and whatever 
"Grandmother Clendenin's" recollection was 
on the subject was readily acquiesced in. 

Elizabeth, the olde.st child of William 
and Mary (Wallace) Clendenin, married at 
New Castle, Henry Falls, and early in the 
fifties moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, where Mr. 
Falls engaged in the carpet business. During 
the Civil war they returned to New Castle, 
where in 1873 ^I""- Falls died and was buried. 
Afterward his widow returned to Cincinnati, 
and died there in 1894. Her remains are in- 
terred in Spring Gro\-e cemetery at Cincin- 
nati. Henry and Elizabeth (Clendenin) 
Falls had one daughter and two sons, viz. : 
Elizabeth died when yet a child, and Will- 
iam H. and John C. are living in Cincinnati, 
the former a successful practicing physician, 
and the latter a druggist. 

When Mrs. Clendenin moved from the 
farm to New Kingstown, her son, Robert 
Wallace, was put with friends in Carlisle, 
where he lived until in September, 1840, 
when he followed the rest of the family to 
New Castle. At New Castle he entered a 
dry goods store while yet a boy, and ac- 
quired a thorough mercantile training. Thus 
equipped he, in 1848, started in business for 



44 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



himself at the corner of Washington and 
IMercer streets, New Castle, and he has con- 
tinued in that business on the same corner 
e\'er since. In 1840 he married Belinda, 
daughter of Dr. Joseph Pollock, a noted phy- 
sician of his day. Their children are \\'illiam 
\\'allace, Joseph Pollock, Wells Bushnell, 
John McMillan and ]\[ary E. Joseph Pol- 
lock died in childhood, and John Meridian 
died in 1870, at the age of sixteen. William 
Wallace married Marguerite Davis ; Wells 
Bushnell married Mary Boyles, daughter of 
George V. Boyles, of New Castle, and Mary 
E. married Edward Hadnett \\''ard, of New 
York, who died in 1003, leaving one (laugh- 
ter, Helen C. All the survivors of the family 
are li\-ing at New Castle, and are conducting 
the business of R. W. Clendenin & Sons. 
Robert ^\^ Clendenin and wife are still 
(1904) living, he having reached the great 
age of four score and one years. 

]\Iary, the third child of William and 
Mary (^Vallace) Clendenin, married B. B. 
Pickett, attorney of New Castle. After their 
marriage they located permanently at Mead- 
ville, Crawford county, where Mrs. Pickett 
died in 1894, leaving surviving her her 
husband and five children. The children are 
Lydia, Alary, Benjamin B., Jr.. Lucy and 
W^illiam Clendenin. Benjamin B. Pickett, 
Jr.. is an attorney at Meadville, and in 1894- 
5-6 was district attorney of Crawford county, 
"\Wlliam Clendenin is a physician and pro- 
fessor of nervous aiid mental diseases at the 
Medico-Chirurgical College, Philadelphia. 
The three daughters are living at Meadville. 

^^'illiam, the youngest child of William- 
and Alary (Wallace) Clendenin, studied 
medicine and became a famous surgeon. In 
1 86 1 he entered the army, and was given 
charge of the Emory Hospital, at Washing- 
ton, D. C. Later he was on the staff of Gen- 
eral Rosecrans, and when the war closed was 



Assistant Medical Director of the Army of 
the Cumberland. After the war he helped 
to organize the Miami Medical College in 
Cincinnati, in which he became professor of 
.\natomy and Surgery, and at the time of 
his death. May 3, 1885, was Dean of the 
Faculty. At one time he was appointed 
Consul to St. Petersburg, but declined the 
honor, preferring to remain at home and 
devote himself to his profession. 

Dr. William Clendenin married Sabra 
Burchard and had two children, William 
and Alary. Alary died while a child. \\\\- 
liam married Adelaide Logan at Cambridge 
Springs, Pa., who died in 1900, leaving one 
child, a daughter named Alary, who is living 
with Airs. Sabra^ Clendenin. her grand- 
mother, at Aleadville. William lives in 
Chicago. 

Evidently there was a traveling streak 
in this branch of the Clendenin family, for 
of the fifteen descendants of A\'illiam and 
Alary (Wallace) Clendenin who grew to 
maturity, ten visited the different countries 
of Europe, five attended the best schools of 
Europe, four visited the three different con- 
tinents of Europe, Asia and Africa, and one 



circled the globe. 



JAMES HUTCHINSON GRAHAAI, 
LL. D. The subject of this sketch was of 
Scotch-Irish descent. His great-grandfather 
emigrated from the North of Ireland at an 
early day and located in Salisbury township, 
Lancaster county. Pa. There are no family 
records in the possession of his descendants 
which show the precise date of his coming 
to this country, but the earliest documentary 
evidence now in possession of his great- 
great-grandchildren of the settlement of 
their great-great-grandfather in Lancaster 
county is a deed from Thomas and Richard 
Penn, dated the 13th of Alarch, 1734. to 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



45 



Jared Graham, of Salisbury townshii), Lan- 
caster county, for a tract of land in the 
manor of Maska, in what is now West 
Tennsboro township, Cumberland county. 
Jared Graham never resided on this pur- 
chase. He remained in Lancaster county 
until his death. Soon after its purchase, 
however, his son James, the grandfather of 
James H., removed from Salisbury township 
to this land and built his log caliin on the 
banks of the beautiful Conedoguinet, about 
thirty miles west from the Susquehanna. 
This property, then deep in the backwoods, 
was subsequently conveyed to him, and was 
liis home and the home of his descendants 
through several generations. In those days 
clearings and neighbors were few and far 
between and to provide a refuge against the 
hostile Lidians the settlers built a fort on a 
high limestone bluff within a few hundred 
rods of James Graham"s dwelling. The 
place of this pioneer home is yet well known, 
but time has wrought a complete transfor- 
mation in the locality. Instead of the dense 
primitive forest there are now to be seen 
only isolated clumps and fringes of trees; 
the echo of the Redman's war whoop died 
out more than a hundred and thirty years 
ago, and only notes of peace fall upon the 
traveler's ear ; the log fort on the bluff gave 
way to a large stone mansion which in its 
turn has fallen into decay, and where once 
fled the hunted fugitive the husbandman 
unmolested now pursues his daily round of 
toil. 

James Graham died in 1808 at the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-two years, leaving five 
sons, towit : Jared, Thomas, Arthur, Isaiah 
and James. James Graham, the youngest 
son, was educated at Dickinson College, 
Carlisle. After graduating from college he 
studied divinity under the learned Dr. Rob- 
ert Cooper, was ordained as a Presbyterian 



minister, and for thirty years was pastor of 
the church at Beulah, Allegheny county. Pa., 
where he died in 1844. Jared, the eldest, 
after the death of the father, moved to Ohio, 
and the paternal estate was apportioned 
among Thomas, Arthur and Isaiah. The 
part on which stood the cabin built by their 
father fell to Isaiah, the youngest of the 
three, and it was his home for a long time. 

Isaiah Graham received a rudimentary 
English education and then learned the tan- 
ning trade. Subsequently he established a 
tannery on the banks of the Conedoguinet, 
in the vicinity of his home, and engaged at 
that avocation through most of his lifetime. 
He was a man of indomitable will and more 
than ordinary powers of intellect. Possessed 
of an intuitive desire for knowledge 
he from early youth devoted much 
of his leisure to the acquisition of 
useful information. He became thor- 
oughly versed in the history of our 
country and its affairs and ardently engaged 
in the heated political struggles which 
marked the early days of the republic. He 
was a participant in the great contest which 
resulted in the defeat of John Adams and 
the election of Thomas Jefferson. He was 
likewise an enthusiastic supporter of the ad- 
ministrations of Madison and Monroe. Nat- 
urally his activity in those exciting contests 
won for him political prominence, and in 
181 1 he was elected a member of the Penn- 
sylvania State Senate. At the expiration 
of his term he was re-elected, and a few 
years after the expiration of his second term, 
in 1 819, he was appointed by Gov. Findlay 
associate judge of the courts of Cumberland 
county, which position he occupied till his 
death, in 1835. Although active in public 
affairs, Isaiah Graham did not permit the 
exciting subject of politics to divert his mind 
from the more important considerations of 



46 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTY 



religion. He earlv in life covinected himself 
\vith the Presljyterian Church and thor- 
oughly schooled himself in its tenets, which 
were peculiarly adapted to his vigorous and 
discriminating" mind. His lihrary contained 
most of the standan.1 works of the great 
Preshyterian writers of that day, and he read 
them with much interest and avidity, and 
few laymen could more ably discuss and de- 
fend the doctrines of the Presbyterian faith. 
For more than twenty years liefore his death 
he was a ruling elder of the Big Spring Pres- 
byterian congregation. 

Isaiah Graham, in 1793, married Xancy 
Lindsay, who also was of Scotch-Irish de- 
scent and whose ancestors also were among 
the first settlers of the Cumberland Valley. 
Isaiah and Nancy (Lindsay) Graham were 
the parents of the subject of this sketch, 
James Hutchinson Graham. He was born 
on the loth of September. 1807, on the same 
domain which his great-grandfather bought 
fmm the Penns in 1734, and in the same 
cabin of unhewn logs which his grandfather 
built on the banks of the Conedoguinet 
when yet the pioneers of civilization in Cum- 
lierland county had more frequent visits 
from the Redman and wild animals than 
from the white man. After young James 
had passed the branches taught in the coun- 
try schools of that day, he, at the age of 
fifteen, was placed under the tuition of Dr. 
David McConaughy, who then was pastor 
of the Presbyterian congregations of Gettys- 
burg and Hunterstown, Adams county, and 
principal of the Gettysburg Academy. In 
the spring of 1825 young Graham returned 
to his native county and entered Dickinson 
College, as a member of the Junior class, 
from which institution he graduated in 1827, 
sharing the honors of a class which included 
in its memljership students \\ho afterward 
were some of the most eminent divines. 



statesmen and jurists of their generation. 
Upon completing his college course James 
H. Graham registered as a student at law 
with Andrew Carothers. Esq., and after 
reading the prescribed time was admitted to 
the Bar in Xovemlier, 1829. He remained 
with his preceptor until the fullowing April 
and then opened an office and began the 
practice of his profession. At that time the 
Carlisle Bar included talented and experi- 
enced laywers like Andrew Carothers, Sam- 
uel Alexander, John D. ]\Iahon, Charles B. 
Penrose, Frederick Watts and William M. 
Biddle, who in legal attainments and profes- 
sional standing compared favorably with the 
foremost jurists of the land. To enter into 
competition with such an array of ability 
was a daring undertaking for a young law- 
yer, Init by his energy, his assiduous applica- 
tion, his persistent research and character- 
istic accuracy, combined with a thorough 
preliminary training, young Graham soon 
secured a comfortable practice. 

When James H. Graham began practic- 
ing law the Carlisle Bar consisted mostly of 
Whigs, and as he from early youth had been 
an ardent Democrat this one-sided condition 
frequently involved him in the political con- 
tests of the day. He, however, never per- 
mitted political controversy to di\-ert his 
mind from professional duty, nor the allure- 
ments of office to beguile "him into the ways 
of the professional politician. Upon one 
occasion the nomination for Congress was 
tendered him unsolicited, but he declined the 
honor, although the district was strongly 
Democratic and a nomination was regarded 
as equi\'alent to an election. He frequently 
was a delegate to Democratic conventions 
and his opinion and advice always had great 
weight in the councils of his party. In 1839 
Gov. Porter appointed I\Ir. Graham deputy 
attorney general for Cumberland county. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



47 



which position he filled for six years with 
marked efficiency, but he dechned a re-ap- 
pointment at the hands of Gov. Shynk, be- 
cause of the demands of a lar^e and increas- 
ing practice. In 1851, after the State con- 
stitution was amended so as to make judges 
elective. Air. Graham received the unani- 
mous nomination of the Democratic party 
for president judge of the district composed 
of Cumberland, Perry and Juniata counties, 
and was elected. Through long and earnest 
study, and the practice of his profession, he 
was peculiarly fitted for the duties of this 
])osition, and at the age of forty-four, in die 
])rime of life and vigorous intellect; he will- 
inglv exchanged the drudgery of a hea\y 
practice for the less arduous but not less hon- 
orable duties of a judgeship. In 1861 he 
was renominated and re-elected, and served 
another full term, but retired in 1871 after 
an honoraljle career of twenty years' con- 
tinuous service upon the Bencli. On retiring 
from the Bench he associated with him liis 
son, Duncan M. Graham, and resumed the 
practice of the law, at which he continued 
till within a short time of his death, in the 
fall of 1882. 

Judge Graham was in many ways « 
useful man in the community in which iie 
li\-ed. He was one of the earliest members 
of the Second Presbyterian Church of Car- 
lisle, and for many years president of its 
board of trustees. He was director and pres- 
ident of the Carlisle Deposit Bank until his 
election to the Bench, and filled many other 
positions of trust and honor \\'ith scruindnus 
fidelity. In 1862 Dickinson College con- 
ferred on him the degree of LL. D. In his 
profession he was honored and respected 
bv lawvers as well as laymen. At his death 
was held a meeting of the Carlisle Bar, which 
formally paid respect to his memory. Hon. 
Frederick Watts presided and W. F. Sadler 



acted as secretary. Judge W'atts, Lemuel 
Todd, A. B. Sharpe and Judge M. C. Her- 
man addressed the meeting, and paid the 
character and services of their deceased 
brother high tribute of praise. The meet- 
ing also resolvedj 

"That during the fifty-three years Judge 
Graham practiced at the Bar and presided in 
our courts he exhibited and maintained an 
unspotted character for integrity and faith- 
fulness in the discharge of duty that com- 
manded our highest confidence and respect. 

"That the purity and consistency of his 
life, in all its relations, his firm and consci- 
entious performance of all personal, pro- 
fessional and judicial obligations, and his 
modest and unpretentious conduct and de- 
])ortment were so marked and real as to chal- 
lenge and possess the respect and esteem of 
the bar and all who were associated with 
him. 

"That as a lawyer and judge he was 
learned and upright, firm and decided in his 
convictions, courageous and -trong in exe- 
cuting them, and at all times governed by a 
high moral sense of private and public duty." 

In his domestic relations Judge Graham 
was very fortunate, and he found much of 
comfort and happiness in the quiet of his 
home. He was twice married and left a 
large family. His first wife was Nancy 
Davidson, of West Pennsboro township, by 
whom he had the following children : Isaiah 
H., late captain U. S. Volunteers, who died 
from the effects of wounds received in the 
service ; Jane, deceased : and Laura, of Phil- 
adelphia, now deceased, tlis second wife 
was Mary Criswell, of Shippensburg, who 
bore him the following children : John C, 
who died at Evansville. Ind. ; Agnes M., of 
Washington, D. C. ; Samuel L., lieutenant 
L'. S. Navv now stationed at Mare Island, 
California; James H., formerly of St. Louis, 



48 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Mo., now deceased ; Mary, wlio married 
C. H. Watts, of Washington, D. C. ; Alice 
P., of Carlisle, Pa. ; Duncan M., of Carlisle. 
Pa. ; Sarah, who married Re\-. Rodgers 
Israel, D. D., of Scranton, Pa. ; Lillian, of 
Scranton ; and Frank Gordon, of Utica, New- 
York. 

DUNCAN M. GRAHAM. Esq.. the son 
of James H. Graham and Mary Criswell 
Graham, received his preparatory education 
in the common schools of Carlisle and the 
preparatory school of Dickinson College. He 
entered Dickinson and graduated after the 
full four years' course in the class of 1873. 
After graduation he was attached for two 
years to the United States ship "Ports- 
mouth" in a surveying expedition and taking 
dee]i sea soundings in the Pacific ocean. 
Upon his return to Carlisle he entered the 
office of his father, Judge Graham, with 
whom he studied law, and was admitted to 
practice in August. 1876. Mr. Graham has 
been engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion from tliat time to the present. He has 
filled the offices of city and county solicitor 
acceptably to the people, and in 1891 was 
appointed assistant to Hon. W. U. Hensel, 
attorney general of the State, a position he 
held for four years. Pie is the author of 
several statutes now in force in Pennsyl- 
vania. One permitting illegitimate children 
born of the same mother to inherit real and 
personal property from each other remedied 
wdiat was regarded as a great injustice and 
has been adopted by a number of States. 
Another relating to tramps and vagrants 
has saved the taxpayers many thousands of 
dollars. As secretary of the Board of Ex- 
aminers of the Cumberland county Bar he 
took a deep interest in reforming the system 
of admitting law students to the Bar and 
aided in the establishing of the State Board 



of Examiners appointed by the Supreme 
Court. 

Mr. Graham married, in 1893. ^I^ry 
Latimer Coble, of Carlisle, and of the chil- 
dren born to this union, three daughters, 
]\Iary, Elizabeth and Sarah, are now living. 
Mr. Graham is president of the board of 
trustees of the Second Presbyterian Church, 
and interested in everything that makes for 
the good of the community. 

GEORGE MIFFLIN DALLAS ECK- 
ELS, A. M., Sc. D. The name Eckels is 
spelled in various ways. It most frecjuently 
occurs on the earlier records spelled Eccles, 
which is probably the original spelling, but 
at the present day it is generally spelled 
Eckels, which form is preferred by the 
liranches of the family touched upon in this 
sketch. 

In the Eckels family there has long been 
cherished a tradition that a child in the kin- 
ship was born upon the sea, while its parents 
were on the way to America. The story has 
it that the elder Eckels, with his family, set 
sail from Ireland in a ship that became dis- 
abled, and had to return to the port from 
which it started for repairs. While out the 
Eckels child was born, and on the vessel's re- 
turn the family disembarked, concluding to 
defer migrating to America till some more 
suitable time. Soon afterward the wife died, 
which e\'ent, for the time being, ended the 
project of finding a home in the new country 
beyond the sea. In course of time Mr. 
Eckels married again, and finally reached 
America, settling in what was then western 
Pennsylvania. This progenitor, it is said, 
had six children by his first marriage, and 
six by his second. Among his children by 
his first marriage were a Nathaniel and a 
Francis, and among his children by his sec- 
ond, a James. Accounts differ as to whether 



^PBIJC LIBRARY 






CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



49 



it was Nathaniel or Francis that was born 
upon the sea, bnt viewed from the stand- 
point of the present, the weight of circum- 
stances favors the tlieory that it was Francis. 
Nathaniel, Francis and James are favor- 
ite names in the Eckels family, and the first 
to appear upon the records of Cumberland 
county. They were sons of the first Eckels, 
who came to this part of America. Finding 
the section they first settled in too wild and 
dangerous a locality, they came into the 
lower Cumberland Valley, and cast their lot 
with their Scotch-Irish kindred and ac- 
quaintances. Nathaniel Eckels took up his 
al)ode in East Pennsboro in 1779, and re- 
mained there until in 1787. He then moved 
west of Carlisle, and for about twenty years 
lived in the townships of \\'est Pennsboro 
and Dickinson. John Huston, a brother- 
in-law, also from East Pennsboro, moved to 
that locality about the same time, and it is 
probable that their going there simultane- 
ously was by mutual arrangement. While 
living in that part of the county, it appears, 
he was a member of the Big Spring Pres- 
byterian Church, for in December. 1787, the 
southern part of that congregation asked the 
consent of the session to the appointment of 
one of their nuiuber as a ruling elder, and 
among the signers to the petition was Na- 
thaniel Eckels. In 1810 he returned to East 
Pennsboro, and for a year or two lived upon 
the farm of another brother-in-law, also 
named John Huston. This farm is now 
( 1904) owned by Abraham Gutshall. Here 
his second wife died, and he soon afterward 
Ixjught a small property situated near the 
North Mountain, just east from the Stony 
Ridge, now owned by the estate of the late 
William Jacobs. After living here a few 
years he retired from active life, and for the 
rest of his days made his home in the family 
of his youngest son. 



Nathaniel Eckels was twice married. Ir 
it not now ascertainable who his first wife- 
was, but it is said that by her he had chil- 
dren as follows : Samuel, Charles, John, 
James, Nathaniel and a daughter whose- 
name is unknown. His second wife was- 
Mrs. Isabella (Huston) Clendenin, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Isabella (Sharon) Hus- 
ton, whose first husband was James Clen- 
denin, a son of John and Janet (Huston) 
Clendenin. On the farm where Nathaniel 
Eckels lived for a short time after his return 
to East Pennsboro, there is a famous burying 
ground, which is now almost obliterated. 
It was first located deep in a pine wood, from 
which circumstance it was named Pine Hill 
Graveyard, and it is still so designated, 
though the wood with its tall pines long ago 
entirely disappeared. Nathaniel Eckels, his 
two wives, and four of his children by his 
first wife, are buried in that graveyard. By 
his second marriage Nathaniel Eckels had 
children: William, born March 3, 1787, 
died Nov. 15, 1861 ; and Francis, born April 
I, 1 79 1, died Feb. 6, i860. 

Francis Eckels, the second son, was born 
in West Pennstoro township, and grew to 
manhood in that part of the country. He 
was reared on the farm., but like most 
farmers in those days did much wagoning on 
the road, and while yet quite young drove 
his father's team to Baltimore and back. 
His long and useful career marks him as a 
man of more than average intellect, and of 
great strength of character, but it nowhere 
appears that he received any education other 
than what the country schools of the period 
afforded. He early in life engaged at coop- 
ering, which seems to have been the family 
trade, as his brother William started as a 
cooper, as did also some of his other near 
Eckels relatives. He also did merchan- 
dizing and scrivening, and gave so mucli 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



attention to public affairs that while 
yet comparative!}' young lie was sin- 
gled out for places of trust and re- 
sponsiljility. Fnmi iSiS till his death in 
i860 he was justice of the peace, first by 
appointment by the Governor of the State, 
and afterward by election by the people. 
From 1829 to 1 83 1 inclusive he was county 
commissioner: in 1843 '''^ ^'^"'^^ elected a 
member of the State Legislature, serving one 
term. Besides filling these offices of honor 
and responsiliility he for a long time was 
school director, and almost continuously en- 
gaged in the settlement of estates. In 
church work he was equally energetic and 
prominent, and from November, 1840. to 
the day of his death held the position of 
ruling elder in the old Silver Spring Pres- 
byterian Church. 

On April 3. 1S17, Francis Eckels was 
married by the Rev. Henry R. Wilson, then 
pastor of the Silver Spring Church, to 
Isabella Clendenin, of East Pennsboro, 
who was l)orn Feb. 2. 1790, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Caldwell) 
Clendenin. Soon after their marriage [Mr. 
Eckels jiurchased a small home in the north- 
western part of East Pennsboro, and lived 
there until in 1829. In the spring of that 
year he moved to a large farm on the south 
side of the Conedoguinet Creek, and for al- 
most all the remainder of his lifetime en- 
gaged at farming. In October. 1834. he 
purchased a farm a short distance to the 
north of Xew Kingstown, in Silver Spring 
township, took possession of it in the follow- 
ing spring, and, improving it, made it his 
home for the rest of his working days. To 
Francis and Isabella ( Clendenin ) Eckels 
were born the following children : Nathaniel 
Htiston ; Elizabeth ; Agnes : Isabella : John 
Clendenin; William Penn ; and Catherine A. 

Nathaniel Huston Eckels, eldest child of 



Francis, was Ijorn Dec. 29. 1817. in the 
northwestern part of what is now Silver 
Spring townshi]). where his parents began 
their married life. He continued at home 
on the farm until almost a man grown, when 
he for a short time held a clerkship in the 
store of William and Thumas Loudon, in 
New Kingstown. Later on he taught school, 
and was the first teacher of the Mt. Pleasaitt 
school in Silver Spring township, then known 
as the McHoe school. That was in the winter 
of 1838-39. soon after the law establishing 
free schools went into operation. Twenty- 
five years afterward his son. George j\I. D. 
Eckels, taught his first term of school at 
the same place. In 1846 he moved from 
New Kingstown to the north side of the 
Conedoguinet Creek in Hampden township, 
to a farm which his father had bought, and 
of which he afterward acquired the owner- 
ship. While living here, in the winters of 
1847-48 and 1848-49, he taught the school 
on the State Road long known as Shaull's. 
In 1870 he sold his farm in Hampden town- 
ship, and bought one a short distance north 
of New Kingstown, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He died Jan. 21, 1871, 
and is buried in the Longsdorf graveyard 
near New Kingstown station. 

Nathaniel H. Eckels had no educational 
training except what he gained in the coun- 
tr_v schools of his day, but being naturally 
of a bright mind he acquired much informa- 
tion through persistent reading, and liv in- 
tercourse with intelligent people, and was re- 
garded as a leader in the community in 
which he lived. He took great interest in 
public affairs, was an active worker in the 
Democratic party, and in 1858 was elected 
county commissioner, which responsible po- 
sition he filled satisfactorilv at a \-ery trying 
period of the country's existence. He was a 
member of the Lutheran Church at New 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



SI 



Kingstown, as were nearly all of his immedi- 
ate family. On Sept. 15, 1840, Nathaniel H. 
Eckels married Margaret \\'illiams, daugh- 
ter of George and Elizabeth (Slonaker) 
Williams, by whom he had children as fol- 
lows : Francis Luther, George Mifflin Dallas. 
Elizabeth Jane, Isabel Catharine. John Cleii- 
denin, Sarah Agnes, Margaret Alice, James 
Milton and Mary Gertrude. 

George Mifllin Dallas Eckels, the second 
son of Nathaniel H., was born in a log house 
on the old Saxton farm near New Kings- 
town, Dec. 23, 1844. and spent the first eigh- 
teen years of his life upon the farm, and in 
attending the country district school. He 
then spent three terms at the ]\Iillersville 
State Normal School, preparing himself for 
teaching, and in the winter of 1863-64 
taught his first term at the I\It. Pleasant 
school in Silver Spring township, as above 
stated. He next taught in Hampden town- 
ship; then again in Sih'er Spring; then for a 
year was assistant i)rincipal of the Wick- 
ersham Academv at Marietta, Pa. After 
this he taught in New Kingstown, and then 
for six years in the schools of Mechanics- 
burg. In addition to the course of instruc- 
tion received at the Millersville normal 
school he took, while teaching, prix'ate in- 
struction from competent teachers in Latin, 
Greek and French. He had already made 
arrangements with Dr. Brown, head of the 
faculty of the Theological Seminary at 
Gettysburg, to enter in the fall of 1871 upon 
a theological course, when the death of his 
father interrupted his plans, and he contin- 
ued in the work of teaching. In this field he 
has found rich opportunitv for rendering 
his best services to his fellowmen. and he 
has never regretted the fact that circum- 
stances uniformly held him fast to the pro- 
fession of teaching. In May. 1878. he was 
a candidate for county superintendent of 



public schools, and made a creditable show- 
ing, but was not elected. In the summer of 
1878 he entered into a partnership in the 
general merch.andizing business at New 
Kingstown with his brother-in-law, W. H. 
Humer. This partnership was dissolved in 
the early part of 1882. In the fall of that 
year he was elected a member of the lower 
branch of the Pennsylvania Legislature as 
a Democrat, and reelected in 1884. In the 
Legislature he serxed on the most important 
committees, such as Ways and ]\Ieans. Tu- 
diciary General. Constitutional Reform, Ajr- 
riculture and Elections, and on all of them 
was efficient and influential. In the special 
session called by Governor Pattison to ap- 
]xirtion the State, a duty which was neg- 
lected in the regular session, he was honored 
with an appointment on the Apportionment 
committee, which was the sole committee of 
the House for this special session. He de- 
livered what was considered to be. from the 
Democratic standpoint, the ablest argu- 
ment for a fair apportionment presented to 
the House at that session. During his sec- 
ond term in the Legislature the marriage li- 
cense law of the State was placed upon the 
statute books largely through his influence 
and efforts. He led the Democratic forces 
in support of the Bullit bill, and made its 
passage in the House possible, and was an 
ardent friend of all legislation calculated to 
promote the cause of education. He was 
urged by leaders of his party at the end of 
his second term to become a candidate for 
Lieutenant Governor, but refused to con- 
sider the matter on the ground that he 
wished to retire from politics. There were 
strong influences at work to have him ap- 
pointed superintendent of public instruction 
at the close of Dr. Waller's term of office, 
but he refused to co-operate with his friends 
in the matter because he believed that Dr. 



52 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Scliaeffer's claims for tlie position were su- 
perior to his own, and in a personal interview 
with the Governor recommended Dr. Scliaef- 
fer's appointment. Before his second term 
in the Legislature was ended, he was elected 
an instructor in the Cumberland Valley 
State Normal School, and two years later 
was promoteil to the important chair of 
Pedagogics and General History. In iSSS 
Pennsylvania College, at Gettysburg, after 
a searching incjuiry into his ability and 
worth, honored him with the degree of Mas- 
ter of Arts, and in 1892 the same institution 
conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of 
Science. In 1889 he was made principal of 
the Cumberland A'alley State Normal 
School, which position he has held continu- 
ously ever since, a period of over fifteen 
years. He has worked hard in season and 
out of season, and the sclniol under his care- 
ful and prudent management has prospered 
beyond the expectations of its most sanguine 
friends. Part of his duties as principal con- 
sists in lecturing at teachers' institutes and 
other educational gatherings, which work he 
has done so w-ell that he has long been re- 
garded as one of the leading educators of 
Pennsylvania, and the institution of which 
he is the efficient head, as one of Pennsyl- 
vania's most successful and promising nor- 
mal schools. 

On June 6, 1872,' Dr. Eckels was mar- 
ried to Anna, daughter of Daniel and Jane 
(Brownawell) Hunier, and to their union 
have been born the following children : Min- 
nie Gertrude, born March 7, 1873; George 
Hunier, born Dec. 8, 1875: Nathaniel Ort, 
born Jan. 12, 1880. Minnie Gertrude is a 
graduate of the Cumberland Valley State 
Normal School, and of Bucknell University. 
She belonged to the first honor group in 
her class at Bucknell, and is now taking 
post graduate work at Pennsylvania Uni- 



versity. George Hunier Eckels is a grad- 
uate of the Scientific Course of the Cumber- 
land Valley State Normal School, and of 
the classical course of Pennsylvania Col- 
lege. Gettysburg, Pa., belonging to the honor 
list of his class in the latter institution; he 
has also taken post graduate work in Latin 
and Greek at Cornell L'niversity. and he is 
at present principal of the Atlantic City High 
School. He was married Dec. 20. 1900. to 
Nettie Bae Roop. ilaughter of Dr. J. W. 
and Sarah Elizabeth (Harp) Roop, of Har- 
risburg. Pa., and they have one child, Eliza- 
beth .Anna, born Dec. 21, 1901. Nathaniel 
Ort Eckels is a graduate of the Cumberland 
Valley State Normal, and of the Philadel- 
phia College of Pharmacy, and at present is 
proprietor of a drug store in Shippensburg, 
Pennsylvania. 

JOHN W. WETZEL, Esq. Aliout 
the time Cumberland county was formed 
one William Davidson took out a warrant 
for 22S acres of land lying in Middleton 
township, due north of Carlisle. In making 
his will he directed that the first one of his 
brothers or sisters, or brothers' or sisters* 
children, that came to America should have 
one-half of this land. 

Through this peculiar bequest Samuel 
Davidson, a nephew, came into possession of 
one-half of this tract of land, and he on Dec. 
21, 1773, conveyed it to George Wetzel, 
"of Middleton township. Blacksmith." The 
conveyance was dated in 1773, but it is 
probable that the purchaser was in that vicin- 
ity a year or two earlier, as he then already 
was "of Middleton township." This is the 
first appearance of the \\'etzel name on tlie 
records of Cumberland county. This tract 
of land lies in the vicinity of Wert's school- 
house. North Aliddleton township, and is 
now owned bv T- Weslev Hov, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



53 



George Wetzel was a native of Germany 
and came to America from Rotterdam in tlie 
ship "Bennet Galley," landing at Philadel- 
phia Aug. 13, 1750. He first settled some- 
where in the eastern part of the Province, 
where he married and remained until the 
Indian troubles had subsided, when the op- 
portunities for acquiring land and a home 
induced him to migrate to the Cumberland 
Valley. He lived upon this land the remain- 
der of his lifetime, farming and blacksmith- 
ing. He was a quiet and reserved citizen 
and participated very little in iniblic affairs. 
During the war of the Revolution he was 
commissioned an ensign in the lodi Regi- 
ment, Pennsylvania Militia, but from the 
data at hand it does not appear that he was 
in active service, although he may have 
been. He died in 1786, leaving to survive 
him his wife Mary and four sons, named 
respectively : Jacob, George, John and Mar- 
tin. 

Jacob W'etzel, the eldest, was born March 
II, 1 77 1, and had not yet reached his six- 
teenth year when his father died. He grew 
up on the farm, and along with farming 
learned blacksmithing, all his lifetime fol- 
lowing these two occupations in the same 
locality in which his father purchased a 
home in 1773. He was a worthy and in- 
fluential citizen and a member of the German 
Reformed Church of Carlisle from the time 
of its first organization. He served as one 
of its trustees for twelve years continuously 
and following his trusteeship was an elder 
up to the time of his death. For many years 
he was prominently identified with all its 
afifairs, and its charter, dated Dec. 23, 1811, 
bears upon its face his name as one of its 
original incorporators. His brother John 
was also long a member of the same \-estr3% 
and the family, through all its different 
branches and generations, has uniformly 



adhered to this church. The John Wetzel 
here named was a private in the Carlisle 
Light Infantry, one of the companies which 
in 1814 marched from Carlisle to the Niag- 
ara frontier and there participated in the 
battle of Chippawa and other engagements. 

Jacob Wetzel married Phoebe Moses, a 
daughter of Peter Moses, of Tyrone town- 
ship. Perry county. Pa., and by her had the 
following children : John, Joseph, Moses, 
Jacob, Phoebe, Susan, Mary and Eliza, all 
of whom lived to maturity, married and set- 
tled down within a short distance of their 
birth place. As but few members of this large 
family .sought homes elsewhere their de- 
scendants have become very numerous with- 
in the bounds of their native county. Jacob 
Wetzel died on Oct. 15, 1828; his wife died 
Oct. 14, 1825, and their remains were in- 
terred in the German Reformed graveyard 
on South Hanover street., Carlisle, but when 
the growth of the town made it necessary to 
remove that burying-place they were trans- 
ferred to the Wetzel family lot in the "Old 
Grave Yard" at Carlisle. 

John Wetzel, the eldest child of Jacob 
and Phoebe (Moses) Wetzel, was born May 
3, 1805. He grew to manhood in Middleton 
township and became a farmer and incident- 
ally also did blacksmithing. On March 9, 
1826, he married Catharine Wise, Rev. 
John Ebaugh, pastor of the Reformed 
Church of Carlisle and vicinity, performing 
the ceremony. Catharine Wise was born Jan. 
25, 1804, and was a daughter of George 
Wise, who was a son of Jacob Wise, and for 
a long time owned the property known upon 
the records as "Mansfield," lying on the 
south side of the Conedoguinet creek at 
Wise's Bridge, in what is now North Mid- 
dleton township. John and Catharine 
(Wise) Wetzel had children as follows: 
George, Jacob, Susan, Mary E., John, Cath- 



54 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



arine, Josepli, Phoebe, Moses. Henry and 
Eliza. This generation also all grew to ma- 
turity and, with a single exception, re- 
mained in the county of their liirth, and they 
and their descendants form a very respecta- 
ble and influential element in the social and 
business activities of the section. John W'et- 
zel died on May 26, 1842: his wife died 
Oct. 5, 1881, and both are buried at Car- 
lisle Springs. 

George Wetzel, the first child of John 
and Catharine (Wise) Wetzel, was born 
Dec. 25, iS26,in North Middleton township, 
on the farm long 1 iwned by the late Capt. 
George Braught. His parents lived on sev- 
eral different properties in that vicinity until 
in the spring of 1832, when they moved to 
the George Wise farm, and there engaged at 
farming for a period of eleven years. The 
father dying when the boy George was only 
a little over fifteen years of age, and there 
being ten other children still younger, it be- 
came necessary that they be early taught to 
be self-supporting. Accordingly George 
was apprenticed to the wagonmaking trade 
in Carlisle with Charles Pfleager, who by 
marriage was a cousin of the boy's father. 
He entered upon his apprenticeship early in 
the month of March, 1845. Three weeks 
afterward the Carlisle courthouse and town 
hall were burned, and the young man, wit- 
nessing their destruction, was so worked up 
by the excitement of the occasion that he 
soon thereafter joined the Union Fire Com- 
pany, and lias been a faithful and enthusi- 
astic fireman through all his long lifetime. 
There was much doing at wagonmaking in 
those days, and upon completing his trade 
he built himself a shop and began business 
on his own account. Being a good mechanic 
he commanded a patronage which afforded 
steady employment both for himself and for 
a force of journeymen and apprentices. In 



1866 he f|uit wagonmaking to engage in the 
hotel business. He kept the well-known 
"Pennsylvania House" for two years and 
afterward the "Franklin House" for six 
years. Being an ardent Democrat and an 
influential party worker he in 1861 was 
elected to the borough council, and in 1869 
was elected county treasurer, which was 
then a two-year ofiice. Afterward, when 
Carlisle was passing through a reign of ter- 
ror from firebugs and other lawless char- 
acters, he served a term as tr>wn constable, 
anil the courage and fidelity with which he 
perf(irmed the trying duties oi that position 
were highly commended. In 1846 he jc:)ined 
the Washington Artillery, one of Carlisle's 
famous nfilitary companies, of which he was 
a member iov seven years. In September, 
1862, when the Confederates crossed the 
Potomac and threatened to advance still 
farther northward, he enlisted in the State 
militia under Capt. Ephraim Cornman, Col. 
Henry McCormick, and during the emer- 
gency did military service on the borders of 
]\Iar}dand. In religion, he followed the ex- 
ample of his ancestry and early united with 
the Reformed Church of Carlisle, sang in 
its choir, served as deacon and trustee and 
was otherwise prominent in promoting" its 
interests. Since he has retired from the 
active duties of life he lives in the pleasant 
home of his daitghter, Mrs. H. G. Rinehart, 
on North Bedford street, Carlisle, where, 
with faculties unimpaired, he continues to 
take a lively interest in the afYairs of the 
day and composedly awaits the future. 

On June 2S, 1849,' George Wetzel was 
married to Sarah Ellen Shade, Rev. A. H. 
Kremer, pastor of the Reformed Church of 
Carlisle, performing the ceremony. Sarah 
Ellen Shade was a daughter of John and 
Susan Shade. John Shade, her father, was 
a carpenter and builder, long of Carlisle, but 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



55 



formerly of Perry county and a descendant 
of a Revolutionary ancestor. George and 
Sarah Ellen (Shade) Wetzel had the fol- 
lowing children: John \\'., Charles Henry, 
Catharine, Sarah Adelia, Rebecca Florence, 
Mary Elizabeth, George B. McClellan, 
Annie Matilda. Ida May and Frank Wil- 
liam Dale. 

John Wise Wetzel, the eldest of these 
ten children, and the especial suljject of this 
sketch, was born in Carlisle April 20, 1850. 
In his boylK)od he attended the i)nl)lic schools 
of Carlisle, and then, after prei)aring under 
Prof. Da\id Sterrett, entered Dickinson 
College, from which institution he grad- 
uated in 1874. While in college he read 
law with C. E. ^laglaughlin, Esq., and was 
admitted to the Bar of Cumberland county in 
April, 1874, two months be tore his gradu- 
ation. He then entered upon the practice 
of his profession in the town of Carlisle and 
has steadily and assiduously pursued it ever 
since. Fie has made good progress and 
ranks high as a lawyer and counselor, both 
in the courts of his own and those of ad- 
joining counties. He is extensively em- 
ployed l)y leading corporations, being attor- 
ney for the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad 
Company, the Crescent Pipe Line, the Lind- 
ner Shoe Company, the Carlisle Carpet Mills. 
the Letort Carpet Company, the Letort Axle 
Works, the Carlisle Chain Works, and others 
that might be mentioned. He is a member 
of the Cumberland County Bar Association, 
also of the Pennsylvania State Bar Associa- 
tion, and for many years has been secretary 
of the committee on Admissions to the State 
Bar Association. He is one of the incorpo- 
rators of the Dickinson School of Law at 
Carlisle, and since 1884 has been a trustee 
of Franklin and Marshall College, at Lan- 
caster City. He works hard, gives prompt 



attention to business, is liberal and progres- 
sive in all things, and an inlluential factor 
in the social and material development of 
his town and county. He is one of the in- 
corporators of the Merchants National Bank 
of Carlisle, and since 1893 president of its 
board of directors. He gives studious and 
careful attention to the finances of his sec- 
tion of the country and is a member of the 
Pennsylvania State Bankers' Association. 
He aids in establishing" and jiromoting busi- 
ness enterprises, and was for a number of 
years a director of the Carlisle Gas & Water 
Company, is now a member of the Beetem 
Lumber & Manufacturing Company, and 
president of the Big Spring Turnpike Com- 
pany. 

Like nearly all of his large family Mr. 
Wetzel, in politics, is a Democrat, and before 
his law business absorbed so much of his 
time and attention was very active and prom- 
inent in ])arty management. In 1876 he was 
a delegate to the Democratic State Conven- 
tion and again in 1890. In 1880 he was 
elected District Attorney of Cumberland 
county by an unusually large majority, and 
in 1882, in an exciting and memorable cam- 
paign, was chairman of the Democratic ex- 
ecutive committee. Fraternally, he is a 
member of the order of Knights of Pythias, 
also of the Cumberland Star Lodge of Free 
and Accepted Masons, in which he is a past 
master. 

On Sept. 3, 1872, John W. Wetzel was 
married to Miss Lizzie Wolf, youngest 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Wolf, of 
Carlisle. Both are members of the Re- 
formed Church of Carlisle, in which Mr. 
Wetzel has been a deacon and is now an 
elder. To John W^ and Lizzie (Wolf) 
Wetzel one child has been born, a son named 
George Frank Wetzel, who is a graduate of 



56 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Franklin and ^vlarshall College. He is also 
a member of the Cumber-land county Bar 
and is practicing his profession at Carlisle. 

MAJOR IS.\AC WAGXEK, late one 
of the prominent and highly esteemed citi- 
zens of Newville, was born Aug. ii, 1821, 
near Walnut Bottom,' Cumberland county, 
son of Joseph and Hannah (Rodes) \\'ag- 
ner, early settlers of the county. Joseph 
Wagner, his grandfather, came of German 
parentage. He married a Miss Walters. 

Major Isaac \\'agner was reared a 
farmer boy and was educated in the district 
schools of his locality. After reaching his 
majority he entered the service of his coun- 
try, joining Company F, 126th P. V. I., in 
which he served faithfully for three years, 
being promoted from time to time for sol- 
dierly gallantry. He was honorably dis- 
charged in 1864, with the rank of major. 
After his discharge he went to Green 
Springs, Cumberland county, where he en- 
gaged in general farming and stockraising, 
meeting with much success. He became a 
prominent man, was a director of the New- 
ville Bank, was assessor and tax collector 
of his township, and was frequently chosen 
to administer estates. In politics he was a 
strong Democrat of the Jeffersonian type. 
His death occurred Oct. 24, 1886. 

In 1869 ]\Iajor Wagner was united in 
marriage with Mary J. Christlieb, of Green 
Springs, widow of Charles Christlieb. They 
had two sons born to them, AValter and 
Homer J. The latter, a graduate of the 
State Normal School at Shippensburg, is 
principal of the High School and professor 
of General History at Centralia. Wash. ; 
he married Belle Over,' of Newville, and they 
have one son, J. Homer. 

By her former marriage. Mrs. Wagner 
had two children, viz : Isaac Clark Christ- 



lieb, of Hutchinson, Minn.; and Joseph 
Linsay Christlieb, a skilled machinist in 
Washington. She was born in 1832 in 
Cumberland county, a daugiiter of Joseph 
and Margaret ( Shillerbarger) Linsay. The 
Linsay family is of Scotch-Irish descent. 
Mrs. Wagner is a valued member of the 
United Presbyterian Church at Newville. 
Major Wagner belonged to Newville Post, 
G. A. R'., where he was held in high esteem 
by his comrades. 

GEORGE EDWARD REED, S. T. D., 
LL. D., seventeenth president of Dickin- 
son College, was born in Brownville, 
Maine, in 1846. His father, a clergyman of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, came to 
America from Devonshire, England, in 
1836. 

The father dying when the son was aliout 
six years of age, the mother, a woman of 
ereat strensfth of character, removed with 
her large family to Lowell, Mass., where 
George received the rudiments of his edu- 
cation. The family, however, being in 
straitened circumstances the boy was com- 
pelled at an early age to begin the battle of 
life for himself, which he did, serving for 
several vears in various capacities in one of 
the large manufacturing companies of the 
city, first as a "runner" in the counting- 
room, and later as a "bobbin boy" in the 
mills. In the summer he worked on farms 
adjacent to the city, gaining in this severe 
school the stalwart, vigorous irame which 
has stood him in such good stead in later 
years. Having accumulated money enough 
to warrant the continued pursuit of the 
studies he had been compelled, temporarily, 
to lay aside, he in January, 1865, entered 
the ^^'esleyan .\cademy, ^^'iIbraham, ]Mass., 
to prepare for college. This he accom- 
plished in one term and a half, doing in that 



TflE "SEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AST8K, LENOX ARD 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONg 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



57 



surprisingly Ijrief period the amount of work 
for wliich nine montlis are usually required. 
He regards this as the greatest achievement 
of his life, the record never having been sur- 
passed. In September. 1865, he entered 
Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., 
from which he graduated in 1869, with dis- 
tinction, in a class famous for the number of 
its members who have attained eminence in 
their various callings. 

After graduating from college he spent 
one year in the School of Theology of 
the Boston University, and then began 
the work of the ministry of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, serving two of 
the most important churches of that 
bodv, in Willimantic, Conn., and in 
Fall River, Mass. In 1875, when but twen- 
ty-nine years of ago, he was transferred to 
the Hanson Place Church, Brooklyn, N. Y.. 
then and now the largest Methodist Church 
in this country. At the end of three years 
he was appointed to an influential church 
in Stamford, Connecticut. In 1881 he 
became pastor of the Nostrand Avenue 
Church, Brooklyn, where he continued for 
three years, and then again served the Han- 
son Place Church. On leaving the city of 
Brooklyn he was tendered a reception in the 
Brooklyn Tabernacle by citizens of the city, 
irrespective of denominational lines, in rec- 
ognition of public services rendered. 

In 1887 Dr. Reed assumed the pastorate 
of Trinity Church, New Haven, and while 
serving his second year there he was hon- 
ored with a unanimous call to the presidency 
of Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., one of 
the oldest colleges in the country. Here 
he has assiduously labored ever since and 
with eminent success. He gives careful 
personal attention to all duties of his 
position, and in the years of his ad- 



ministration the number of students 
has more than doubled and evidences 
of the prosperity of the institution in all 
other lines are corresponding-jy apparent. 
In 1886 he received the honorary degree of 
Doctor of Divinity from his Alma Mater, 
the Wesleyan University, Middletown, 
Conn., and in 1889 the degree of Doctor of 
Laws from LaFayette College, Easton, 
Pennsylvania. 

In addition to the various duties of his 
position as college president Dr. Reed is in 
great demand as a lecturer and a preacher 
in all parts of the country and with con- 
stantly increasing fame. He is a careful 
thinker, eloquent in diction, self-possessed, 
and interesting and attractive in the mode of 
presenting his subject. He distinctly enunci- 
ates his propositions and convinces the minds 
and wins the hearts of his hearers by clear- 
ness of statement and sincerity and earnest- 
ness of manner. While a clergyman by pro- 
fession, and devoted to his calling, he nev- 
ertheless holds pronounced opinions in re- 
gard to political affairs. He has always been 
a Republican, and when he deemed it neces- 
sary and proper never hesitated to pulilicly 
advocate his party's candidates and policies, 
but just as freely and courageously has led 
in independent movements when his sense 
of duty called him in that direction. Not- 
ably was this the case while he lived in 
Brooklyn, when in his judgment it was nec- 
essary to act outside of party lines. As a 
political orator, no less than a preacher and 
lecturer, Dr. Reed has won enviable dis- 
tinction. Although in no sense a seeker 
after party recognition — his well known in- 
dependence being a handicap upon political 
aspirations — he for four years was Pennsyl- 
vania's State Librarian, a public position 
which he occupied at the request of Gov. 



58 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



William :V. Stone. Init resigned before tlie 
expiration of the term for which he was 
appointed. 

I^-esident Reed in June, 1870. was mar- 
ried to Ella Frances Leffingwell. of Nor- 
wich, Conn., a lineal descendant of the fam- 
ous Puritan, Aliles Standish. of the Plym- 
outh Colony. To them one son has been 
born, George L., who is a student in Dickin- 
son College. 

CHARLES FRANCIS HIMES, Ph. 
D., LL. D.. for more than thirty years pro- 
fessor in Dickinson College, was born in 
Lancaster county, Pa., in 1838. 

The Himes family is of Pennsylvania- 
German stock, the immigrant ancestor, Wil- 
liam Heim. coming from the Palatinate to 
Philadelphia in 1730, on the same vessel 
with the celebrated Peter Miller, of Epbrata, 
and settled in Chester cnunty. Pa. One of 
his sons, Francis, born in that county in 
1737, settled in York county, at Hanover, 
where he engaged in keeping a tavern, farm- 
ing, running an oil mill, etc. He died there 
in 181 1. His youngest son, George, mar- 
ried a daughter of Daniel Barnitz, of Han- 
over, and for many years kept the "Oxford 
Tavern," at what is now New Oxford, Pa., 
one of the noted old time hostelries on the 
road from Philadelphia to Pittsburg. He 
subsequently engaged in various business 
enterprises, in many of these closely con- 
nected with Thaddeus Stevens, and he was 
also much mterested in politics. He became 
a large holder of real estate, including iron 
works, in Adams and adjoining counties. 

William D. Himes, eldest son of George 
and the father of the subject of this sketch, 
was born in New Oxford, Pa., in 1812. 
He married Magdalen Lanius, of York, Pa., 
a daughter of Christian and Anna (Von 
Updegraff) Lanius, Her immigrant ances- 



tor, Jacob Lanius, came from Meckenheim 
in the Palatinate in 1731. William D. Himes 
engaged in merchandising in Lancaster 
county, Pa., but, shortly after the birth of 
his eldest son, Charles F. Himes. called by 
the business interests of his father. Col. 
George Himes, he removed to New O.xford, 
Adams county, where he C(5ntinued to reside 
until his death, in 1896. He was well known 
as a business man in the southern portion of 
the State, at one time largely engaged in 
iron manufacture. A younger son, Wil- 
liam A. Himes, resides at the old homestead. 
Charles Francis Himes enjoyed unusual 
educational advantages for that time, at an 
academy conducted by Dr. M. D. G. Pfeiffer, 
a German physician, graduate of the Uni- 
\-ersity of Berlin, and well known as a very 
learned and public-spirited man. He en- 
tered the Sophomore class in Dickinson Col- 
lege, near the close of the college year, in 
1853, and was graduated at the age of seven- 
teen, in 1855, with excellent rank in his class. 
Imn:ediately after his graduation he taught 
Mathematics and Natural Science in an 
academy in \\'ayne ci:)unty. Pa., for a year; 
he then went to Missouri, where he taught 
in the public schools, and read law at the 
same time. During a visit to the East, in 
1858, he resumed teaching, and after being 
connected with Baltimore Female College 
for a year he became tutor, and afterward 
professor of mathematics in Troy Uni\er- 
sity, Troy, N. Y. From that position he 
went to the University at Giessen, Germany, 
in 1863, to prosecute scientific studies. In 
the falL of 1865 he returned to America to 
enter upon the professorship of Natural 
Science in Dickinson College. He at once 
proposed, and carried out successfully, elec- 
tive laboratory courses in the Junior and 
Senior years, among the very first of the 
kind in the country, according to the report 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



59 



of the National Commissioner of Education, 
and by pen and addresses advocated the New- 
Education of that date. By his persistent 
advocacy of enlarged facilities for scientific 
instruction in the expended department, he 
contributed to the erection of the Tome Sci- 
entific building, and at its opening, in 1885. 
ma le the address, and assumed the Chair of 
Physics. Complete lalmratory courses in 
I'hvsics were at once added to the curricu- 
lum of the college. In 1896 he resigned the 
position, owing to the demands made upon 
his time by the purely routine work of the 
]irofessorship. The Board of trustees of 
the college., "in recognition of his attain- 
ments and great services to the College," 
conferred the degree of LL. D. upon him, 
and the graduating class presented a portrait 
of him to the college. The concensus of 
opinion of the alumni, of the thirty-one years 
of his professorship, seems to be that as a 
teacher his success w-as due to the personal 
rather than conventional methods employed, 
not confined by the text-books, and ins])iring 
to thoughtful study, whilst as a disciplina- 
rian he was eminently successful by reason 
of his friendly but dignified intercourse with 
his students. As senior professor in service 
he was acting president of the college for 
months at a time and aside from his duties 
as professor he was for many years treas- 
urer of the corporation, and secretary of the 
board of trustees up to the time of his resig- 
nation. 

He revisited Europe, accompanied by his 
family, in 1872, 1883, and 1900, and as he 
had at an early day taken great interest in 
the science of Photography, and was always 
abreast of the most advanced methods, the 
camera was used to secure valuable notes 
of travel, including the glaciers of the Zer- 
matt regicjn, in Switzerland. He also gave 
Practice of Photography a place in the Phy- 



sical Laboratory of the College, for its edu- 
cational value, and as an aid in scientific 
investigation, and delivered an address be- 
fore the Congress at the Columbian Exposi- 
tion, in 1893, on "Photography as an Edu- 
cational Means." He organized, in 1884. 
at Mt. Lake Park, Md., the first Summer 
School of Photography, which is still in 
successful operation. He has delivered 
numerous lectures and addresses on scientific 
and educational topics. Among those pub- 
lished, some fully illustrated, may be named : 
"Actinism, or the Scientific Basis of Pho- 
tography," before the International Elec- 
trical Exhibition, at Philadelphia: "The 
Stereoscope and its Applications" : "Ama- 
teur Photography in its Educational Rela- 
tions" ; "Photo Record Work"; "Photo- 
graphic Permanence," before the Franklin 
Institute, Philadelphia; and "The Making 
of Photography," at its seventy-fifth anni- 
versary ; "The Scientific Expert in Forensic 
Procedure." before the Franklin Institute, 
and the Dickinson School of Law; "Science 
in the Common Schools,"' before the Penn- 
sylvania State Teachers' Association ; "Sci- 
entific Theories and Creeds," before the 
American Institute of Christian Philosophy ; 
address as retiring president before the 
Pennsylvania-German Society. Among 
numerous contributions to scientific and ed- 
ucational literature are "Phenomenon of the 
Horizontal Moon and Convergency of the 
Optic Axes in Binocular Vision," before the 
New York Academy of Sciences ; "Methods 
and Results of Observations of the Total 
Eclipse of the Sun," and "Report of the 
Section of the U. S. Government Expedition 
stationed at Ottumwa, Iowa-, to Observe and 
Photograph the Total Eclipse of 1869;" 
"RWiew of Professor Porter's American 
College and American Public"; "Methods 
of Teaching Chemistry" ; "Investigation of 



6o 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



the Electric Spark by means of Stereoscopic 
Pliotograpliy" ; "Preparation of Plioto- 
graphic Plates by Daylight" : etc. From 
1872 to 1879 Dr. Himes was associated with 
Prof. S. F. Baird, of the Smithsonian Insti- 
tution, in the preparation of the "Record of 
Science and Industry" He published "Will's 
Tables for Chemical Analysis," translated 
and enlarged in three editions; "Bunsen's 
Flame Reactions" : "Leaf-Prints, a Hand 
Book of Photographic Printing" ; "History 
of Dickinson College, more particularly of 
its Scientific Departments," illustrated ; etc. 
Prof. Himes is an Honorary ]\Iember 
of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia; 
a Member and Fell(_iw of the .Amer- 
ican Association for the Advancement 
of Science; member of the Amer- 
ican Philosophical Society of Phila- 
delphia ; of the New York Academy 
of Sciences ; of the Maryland Academy of 
Sciences ; of the Philadelphia Photographic 
Society ; of the Pennsylvania German Soci- 
ety, of Philadelphia; and of the Hamilton 
Library Association of Carlisle, Pa., the 
official Historical Society of Cumberland 
County, in which he is actively interested, 
and of which he has been president for a 
number of years. 

Prof. Himes married, Jan. 2, 1868, Miss 
Mary E. Murray, a daughter of Rev. Joseph 
A. Murray, D. D., a prominent minister of 
the Presbyterian Church. Her death oc- 
curred Dec. 3, 1904. They had two daugh- 
ters, Mary M. Himes, and Anna M., the 
wife of Rev. George V. Metzel. 

GEORGE W. HIMES, secretary and 
treasurer of Rummel, Himes & Co., of Ship- 
pensburg, is one of the leading business men 
of that city. The business was established in 
1888 with a capital stock of $50,000, and 
through the energy and executive ability of 



Mr. Himes has been built up to its present 
mammoth proportions. In addition to his 
connection with this concern Mr. Himes is a 
member of the People's Coal Co. ; of Rum- 
mel, Himes & Co., fruit growers, and vice- 
president of the People's National Bank of 
Shippensburg, which financial institution 
was organized in August, 1903. 

George \V. Himes is a native of Cum- 
berland county, born in 1869, the only son 
of Rees C. and Cecilia H. (Himes) Himes. 
The father died in February, 1904, at seven- 
ty-five years of age, leaving a large estate. 
His birth occurred in Gasconade, Mo., but 
he was reared in Cumberland ciiunty, and at 
sixteen went to Philadelphia where he was 
educated. In young manhood he returned 
to the Cumberland Valley, to take charge 
of his father's business, and here remained. 
He married Cecilia H. Himes, a native of 
Gap, Pa., daughter of Rees C. and Sarah 
(Eckert) Himes, and she still survives, at 
the age of seventy years. 

George \V. Himes, father of Rees C. 
Himes and grandfather of our subject, was 
born at Honeybrook, Chester county. Pa., 
in the old "Anthony Wayne Hotel," of 
which his father, Thomas Himes, was pro- 
prietor. Thomas Himes married Catherine 
Clemens. George W. Himes was reared at 
Honeybrook. He married Miss Johanna 
Sturgis, daughter of Dr. John Sturgis, of 
New Holland, Lancaster county. Pa., and 
after marriage went to what is now St. 
Louis, Mo., making the entire trip out and 
back in a Conestoga wagon. For a time he 
owned and operated a sawmill on the pres- 
ent site of St. Louis, and his daughter Louisa 
E. was the first white child born in that sec- 
tion. Thence the family removed to Gasco- 
nade, Mo., where Mr. Himes also operated 
a sawmill. Later he returned to Pennsylva- 
nia, settling in Southampton township. Cum- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



6i 



berland county, where he owned consid- 
erable property, comprising three good 
farms which are still in the possession of the 
only descendant of the family, George W. 
Himes, whose name introduces this sketch. 
Here he spent the greater part of his re- 
maining days, and here his death occurred. 
However, he lived in Philadelphia for a 
time in order to give his family better educa- 
tional ad\-antages. Mr. Himes was always 
successful in the real estate business, and 
was an extensive owner of real estate in 
different parts of the country. 

After finishing the public school course 
George W. Himes, fiur subject, entered the 
Cumberland Valley State Normal, and still 
later took a course at a select school in 
Newark, N. j., where he completed his edu- 
cation. 

In 1893 ^Ir. Himes married Aliss Annie 
Slaymaker, who was born at Gap, a sister 
■ of Dr. J. M. Slaymaker, who is now a resi- 
dent and prominent physician at Gap. To 
Mr. and'i\Irs. Himes two children have been 
born, Cecilia and Rees S. Mr. and Mrs. 
Himes are members of the Presbyterian 
Church, in which he is a member of the 
board of trustees, and be is also a member 
of the Y. M. C. A., and very active in all 
the work of the church. Fraternally, he is a 
member of the Loyal Legion of America. 
The residence of the family is on North 
Normal avenue, in Shippensburg, and in 
addition to this valuable property Mr. Himes 
owns some very desirable city property and 
two good farms. 

JAMES W. HUGHES. Ph. D., of 
Shippensburg, professor of modern lan- 
guages and higher mathematics, is a native 
of Pennsylvania, born in Juniata county 
upon a farm near wdiat is known as Tusca- 
rora Academy, Nov. 16, 1835. His father, 



Hugh G. Hughes, was born in the Tusca- 
rora Valley, in 1806, son of James and 
Rachel (Gray) Hughes, the former born in 
Greene county, in 1780. 

Hugh G. Hughes married Margaret Mc- 
Donald, who was born in Juniata county, 
Pa., daughter of David McDonald, a native 
of Scotland. Three children were born to 
these parents : James W. ; David M. was a 
soldier in the Civil war, and died while in 
service ; and John G. resides in Huntingdon 
county, Pennsylvania. 

James W. Hughes spent the first seven- 
teen years of his life at Pleasant View, Ju- 
niata county, where he received his primary 
education. His mother died in 185 1. and 
he then went to make his home with his 
grandfather Hughes, who lived and died in 
Fulton county. From 185 1 to 1854, he re- 
mained w'ith his grandfather, and in the lat- 
ter year, entered Cassville Seminary, there 
continuing until 1862. At that date he went 
to Martinsburg. Blair county, Pa. From 
1863 to 187 1 he was made professor of 
Rainsburg seminary. Li 1871 he went to 
Everett, Bedford county. Pa., where he was 
professor of schools for five years, but later 
he became superintendent of Bedford county 
schools. At the expiration of tha: period, 
he became clerk in the establishment of Fair- 
weather & Ladew, prominent merchants. 
Following this he taught school for two 
years. 

In February, 1890, he came to Shippens- 
burg, and became a professor in the Cumber- 
land Valley State Normal School as teacher 
of ancient languages. After this he accepted 
the chair of mathematics, which he held 
consecutively for eight years, and at the ex- 
piration of that time, he became teacher of 
German and general history, and later of 
German, French and, finally, of higher math- 
ematics. 



62 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



In i860. Prof. Hughes married ^liss 
Sarah Cresswell, of Cassville, Pa., a daugh- 
ter of Jacob and Alary (\\'ilson) Cresswell. 
Mrs. Hughes was born in 1838, at the old 
forge in Trough Creek Valley, Huntingdon 
county. Pa. The children born to diis union 
are : William C, a graduate of the Cumber- 
land Valley State Normal School, is now em- 
ployed in the railroad yards at Rutherford ; 
Josephine, a graduate of the same school 
and a \'er}- highly educated young lady, was 
married. Aug. 17, 1904, to John F. Hughes, 
a teacher in the Mannington. \\'. Va., 
schools. 

Prof. Hughes is a member of Everett 
Lodge No. 524, A. F. & A. AI. : of Bedford 
Chapter No. 215, R. A. M. ; and of Carlisle 
Commandery, No. 8, K. T. He and his 
wife are consistent members of the Metho- 
dist Church. Prof. Hughes has devoted his 
entire life to educational matters, and is a 
man of remarkable talents in this direction, 
who possesses a great love for his work ana 
pupils. In 1882 he was elected to the Leg- 
islature from Bedford county, and served 
through the sessions of 1883 and 1884, giv- 
ing efficient service on a number of import- 
ant committees, being chairman of that on 
Vice and Immorality, and a member of that 
on Education and Local Judiciary. Prof. 
Hughes is serving his third term as presi- 
dent of the school board of Shippensburg. 
and under his administration two new school 
buili lings have been erected. 

LINDSAY PITTS O'NEAL. M. D., 
a prominent and successful physician of 
Mechanicsburg, was born Oct. 11, 1838, on 
his father's plantation in Essex county, Va., 
a son of Albert G. and Anna (Wearing) 
O'Neal, both of whom were born in Essex 
county. 

Thomas O'Neal, the grandfather of Dr. 



O'Neal, was born in Dublin, Ireland, where 
he became a merchant with business stand- 
ing until his sympathy with the rebellion 
against England made it athisable for him 
to leave his native land. He emigrated to 
Virginia, and there, in Essex county, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Pitts, who was of English 
ancestry. To this union were born two sons 
and three daughters, namely: Albert G., 
Johnson, Elizabeth, Alary and Emeline. 

Albert G. O'Neal became a large planter 
in Essex county, but during the Civil war 
lost his possessions. He served as a captain 
in the A\'ar of 1812. In 1S31 he married 
Anna Wearing, and two sons were b(^rn to 
them, viz : Thomas J. and Dr. Lindsay P. 
Dr. O'Neal was but sixteen years old 
when he left home to make a career for him- 
self. At Baltimore, Aid., he engaged in 
clerking, in grocery and in drug stores, re- 
maining there until 1858, when he began 
the study of medicine, supporting himself 
by running a stitching machine in his 
brother's boot and shoe factory. In the fall 
of i860 he entered York Academy, and in 
the spring of the following year, he entered 
the Washington L'niversity of Medicine 
and Surgery. In the fall of 1861, he en- 
tered the medical department of the United 
States Army. It was not until the fall of 
1864 that he returned to the A\'ashington 
Lhiiversity of Aledicine and Surgery, Balti- 
more, where he studied and attended lect- 
ures and clinics, until Alarch. 1865, gradu- 
ating with degree of AI. D. He located in 
York county that spring-. There he prac- 
ticed his profession until 1870, when he set- 
tled at Alechanicsburg. where he has met 
with the most flattering success. 

On Nov. 26, 1868. Dr. O'Neal was 
united in marriage with Alargaretta W^ 
Eckels.' born near Alechanicsburg, daughter 
of Samuel and Alary (Cooper) Eckels. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



63 



Mrs. O'Neal is a valued member of the 
Presbyterian Church. Dr. O'Neal is pro- 
fessionally connected with the National 
Medical Association of Pennsylvania, and is 
a charter member of the Eclectic Association 
of the State. He has served four terms on 
the Medical Examining board of Pennsyl- 
vania through the administrations of Govs. 
Robert E. Pattison, Daniel Hastings, Wil- 
liam Stone and Samuel Pennypacker, and 
was re-appointed for the fifth term in 1904. 
For many years he has been an influential 
memljer of the Democratic party in Cum- 
berland county. In his profession he ranks 
very high, being regarded as an expert in 
his successful treatment of smallpox, and up 
to this time (1904) has never had a death 
from this dread disease. He keeps thor- 
oughly abreast of the times, and is well ac- 
quainted with all modern methods and dis- 
co\-eries. Personally, he is a man of high 
character and enjoys universal esteem. He 
is an example of the self-made man owing 
but little to any fortunate circumstances of 
birth, kindred or friends, having bravely 
carved out his own fortune. 

JAMES ECKELS. Nathaniel, Francis 
and James are favorite names in the differ- 
ent generations of the Eckels family. These 
three were sons of the first Eckels who set- 
tled in Pennsylvania. Although not proven 
by documentary evidence it is reasonably cer- 
tain that the father's name was Francis, and 
that he was married twice. Tradition has 
it that he had six children by his first wife, 
and si.x by his second, but very little is 
known of any of them excepting the three 
here named. Nathaniel was born Oct. 2, 
1744, and died on Sept. 16, 1830. He is 
buried in Pine Hill graveyard, in Silver 
Spring township. Francis was born in 1 75 1 , 
and died Aug. 13, 1814, and is buried in the 



Old Graveyard at Carlisle. According to 
tradition Francis was born at sea. 

James Eckels, youngest child of Francis 
Eckels, Sr., by his second marriage, was 
born Oct. 15, 1772, in Cumberland county. 
In 1817, he settled at or near Fair Haven, 
Allegheny county, where he married Nancy, 
daughter of John and Esther ( Twinen) 
Cameron, who were early settlers in Wash- 
ington county. Pa. By this marriage he had 
the following children: James, Jr., John, 
Esther Ann, Robert, Sarah, Amelia and 
William. John became a Methodist Epis- 
copal minister, married Caroline Leech and 
settled at Cambridgeboro, Crawford county, 
Pa. ; Esther Ann married Samuel Donald- 
son, a farmer ; Robert married Elizabeth 
Ramsey, and engaged at farming; Sarah 
married Perry Donaldson, and settled in 
South Dakota; Amelia married John Gib- 
son, capitalist; and William died unmarried. 

In 1832 James Eckels removed to 
Clarksville, Mercer county, where he died 
Jan. I, i860. He and his wife, Nancy Cam- 
eron, were both active members of the Pres- 
byterian Church, and among the first to be 
interred in the new cemetery at Clarksville. 
After settling in western Pennsylvania 
James Eckels became effectually separated 
from his relations in the Cumberland Val- 
ley, and it is not known that he ever ex- 
changed visits with them. He, however, 
never faded from their memory, and mem- 
bers of the present generation of the Cum- 
berland county Eckelses recall having fre- 
quently heard their fathers speak of him. 
In 1854, a grand-nephew, James S. Eckels, 
Esc|., now of Princeton, 111., who is a grand- 
son of Nathaniel Eckels, taught school in 
Mercer county, and then met him and had 
several conversations with him. 

James Eckels, Jr., oldest son of James 
and Nancy (Cameron) Eckels, was born 



64 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



at Fair Haven, July ii, 1S19, and went 
with his parents to Clarksville, Mercer coun- 
ty, in 1832. In 1840 lie embarked in the 
furniture and undertaking business at which 
he continued until 1874. On Sept. 8, 1842. 
he married Mary, daughter of James and 
Mary (Gaston) Warnock, who were early 
settlers of Beaver, now Lawrence county, 
Pa. His children were Edwin Dowling; 
Frances A., who married A. T. Brown; 
John Warnock ; Helen ; Amanda Caroline ; 
Emma ; Frank Cameron ; Anna ; Walter 
Howard and Mabel, who married Dr. E. W. 
Shields. Edwin D., Helen, Amanda C, 
Anna and Emma are dead, as is also Mr. 
Brown, the husband of Frances A. 

In 1 88 1 James Eckels, Jr., and family 
moved to Pittsburg, and in 1S92 he and his 
wife celebrated their golden wedding. His 
wife died June 14, 1895, and he died wdiile 
visiting his daughter, Mrs. A. T. Brown, 
at Gallipolis, Ohio, Jan. 31, 1899, and with 
his wife and deceased children is interred at 
Clarksville. His grandchildren are James 
W., Mary W., Florence and Grace, children 
of Edwin D. and Anna (Wilson) Eckels; 
Edwin A., Mary E., Harry and Louise, chil- 
dren of A. T. and Frances (Eckels) Brown; 
Robert Bonner, son of John W. and Mary 
(Echols) Eckels, and Margaret and Jean, 
children of Frank C. and Margaret (Pais- 
ley) Eckels. 

BRIG. GEN. RICHARD HENRY 
PRATT, who was for almost a quarter of a 
century in the position of superintendent of 
the United States Indian Industrial School 
at Carlisle, was born Dec. 6, 1840, in Rush- 
ford, Allegany Co., N. Y., and was the eld- 
est of three sons born to Richard S. and 
Mary (Herrick) Pratt. The father was a 
contractor and builder of canals, and con- 



structed a portion of the \Velland canal, in 
Canada, and the canal in New York. 

In the summer of 1846 the family moved 
to Logansport, Ind., and there Gen. Pratt 
began his education in the common schools. 
Later he attended the Logansport Seminary. 
In 1858 he removed to Delphi, Ind.. and on 
April 16, 1 86 1, at the breaking out of the 
Civil war, he enlisted for the three months' 
service, and was made a corporal in Com- 
pany A, 9th Indiana Infantry; he was mus- 
tered out July 29th, following. On Sept. 
iSth he re-enlisted, in Company A, 2(\ In- 
diana Cavalry, with which he served, as ser- 
geant and first sergeant, until April 19, 1864, 
when he was promoted to first lieutenant in 
Company C, iitli Indiana Cavalr}', of which 
company he became captain on Sept. i, 1864. 
He served as inspector and judge advocate 
for the 5th Division Cavalry, Mil. Div. 
Miss., on the staff of Gen. Hatch, through- 
out the Nashville campaign, 1864 and 1865, 
and until he was mustered out of the service, 
May 29, 1865, with a record of active ser- 
vice in the following engagements: 1861 — 
Philippi, Va., June 3; Laurel Hill, Va., July 
7; Bealington, Va., July 10; Carrick's Ford, 
Va., July 13-14; 1862 — Shiloh, April 6-7; 
Pea Ridge, Tenn., April 15; Monterey, 
Tenn., April 17; engagements around Cor- 
inth, Miss., April 30 to May 30 ; Tuscumbia 
Creek, Miss., May 31 ; McMinnville, Tenn., 
Aug. 9; Gallatin, Aug. 13; engagements 
about Murfreesboro, Tenn., Aug. 20, 25, 27, 
Sept. 7; New Haven, Ky., September (in 
the capture of the 3d Georgia Cavalry) ; 
Perryville and Crab Orchard Oct. 6-7-8; 
Stone River, Dec. 31 to Jan. 3; 1863 — Mur- 
freestoro, Tenn., March 10; Shelbyville 
Pike, June 6; Triune, Tenn.. June 11 ; Shel- 
byville, Tenn., June 23 : Tullahoma, June 
25 ; Middleton, June 24 ; Gray's Gap, June 



TBE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 
TH-DEN FOUNDATIONS 




[ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



65 



27 ; Elk River Bridge, July 2 ; Sparta, Aug. 
9; Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19-20; Ander- 
son's Cross Roads and pursuit of Wheeler 
(in which he saw daily fighting) ; 1864 — 
Huntsville, Ala., October; Shoal Creek, 
Ala.. Xo\'. 9; Lawrenceburg, Tenn., Nov. 
22; Campbellsville, Tenn.. Nov. 24; Nash- 
ville, Tenn., Nov. 15-16; Hollow Tree Gap, 
Tenn.. Dec. 17; Linnville, Tenn., Dec. 23; 
I'ulaski, Tenn., Dec. 25-26. 

After the clo.se of hostilities Capt. Pratt 
returned to Delphi, Ind., remaining there 
until September, 1865, when he went to Be- 
ment. 111. After a year there he went to 
IMinnt'Siita, where he stayed only a few 
months, returning thence to Logansport, 
Ind., where he was tendered an appointment 
by Schuyler Colfax, as second lieutenant in 
the United States cavalry. Accepting, he 
joinetl his command at Fort Gibson, in the 
Indi.-ui Territory, in June, 1867, and on 
lulv 31st was promoted to first lieutenant 
of his company, continuing as sucli until 
Feb. 7, 1883. when he became captain. On 
July I, 1898, he was made a major; on Feb. 
2. 1902, Lieutenant-colonel; and on Jan. 24. 
1903. colonel. He was retired from army 
service on Feb. 17th of the same year, was 
promoted to brigadier-general on the retired 
list in April. 1904. and was relieved from the 
superintendency of the Indian School July 
I. 1904. 

In the spring of 1879, by special .\ct of 
Congress, he was detailed for Indian educa- 
tional work at Hampton Institute, Virginia. 
Being unwilling to remain at Hampton, Ise- 
cause he did not esteem it best to combine 
the work for the Indians and negroes, he 
suggested the use of Carlisle Barracks and 
the establishment of an Indian industrial 
school. This was accepted, and he was made 
superintendent and placed in charge in Sep- 
teml.ier of that year. Under his management 
5 



the school has grown to include over a thous- 
and pupils, from eighty different tribes, 
with about ninety employes, and has met the 
substantial support of the people and Con- 
gress throughout its career. Perhaps the 
best commendation Gen. Pratt has for his 
work at Carlisle is contained in the award 
made to the school for its exhibit at the 
World's Fair in Chicago : 

The United States of America by act of their 
Congress have authorized the World's Columbian 
Commission at the International Exhibition held in 
the city of Chicago, State of Illinois, in the year 
1893, to decree a medal for specific merit which is 
set forth below : 

Indi.an Industri.\l School, Carlisle, 

Pennsylvania. 

Exhibit: Work, Photographs and Courses of Study. 

— Award, — 

For excellence of methods, objects' and results 
as a part of the best plan for the industrial, intel- 
lectual, patriotic, social, moral and spiritual train- 
ing of the Indian to take his place as a member of 
civilized society, seen first, in his separation from 
savage surroundings ; second, in wise and well-fitted 
plans and methods of theoretical and practical 
training of boys and girls in the several years of 
school life, during which they learn the conditions of 
caring for health and are prepared for active 
affairs, in common studies, such as reading, writing, 
drawing, arithmetic, compos'ition, geography, music, 
bookkeeping and morals, and in industries for girls, 
such as household economy, needlework, cutting of 
garments, and cooking; and for boys, farming, car- 
pentering, blacksmithing, harnes's and wagon mak- 
ing, the making of tinware and shoes, and printing; 
third, as seen in the outing system, by which pupils, 
are placed in good families, where both boys and 
girls for a year or more become familiar by observa- 
tion and practice with all the customs and ameni- 
ties of American home life, fixing what they have 
been learning in the theory and practice of the 
school; fourth, as' seen in results attained (a) in the 
outing sys'tem in 1892, which resulted in the earn- 
ing by 404 boys of $16,698.85, and by 293 girls of 
$5,170.15. or a total of $21,868.98, all of which was 
placed to their individual credit, and (b) in the 
usefulness and worthy lives of the great majority of 
all who have returned to their Indian homes. 



66 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



The earnings of the students under the 
outing for the fiscal year 1903, eleven years 
later, was $31,393.02. and their combined 
savings deposited and earning interest for 
them amounted to (Tver $40,000.00. 

In 1889 Col. Pratt was chairman of the 
commission which treated with the Sioux 
tribe for half of their reservation. 

On April 20, 1864, Col. Pratt married 
Miss .-Xuna Laura Mason, oi Jamestown. N. 
y.. daughter of Eelden B. and Mercy 
(Whitcoml)) Mason, and four children have 
blessed this union, namely: Mason D.. born 
Jan. 23. 1865: Cora Marion, Oct. 2. 1S6S'; 
Nana Laura, July 2y. 1871 ; and Richenda 
Henrietta, Aug. 25, 1882. 

COLONEL ALEXANDER BRADY 
SHARPE, who passed away at his home 
in Carlisle, Cumberland county, Dec. 25, 
1891, was throughout his active years one of 
the most prominent lawyers of that place. 

The Sharpes were among the early set- 
tlers of Newton township, Cumberland 
county, and are still numerously represented 
in that section. Our subject was a great- 
grandson of Thomas and Margaret ( Elder ) 
Sharp (as the name was originally spelled). 
Covenanters, the latter the daughter of a 
Scottish kurd, who. because of their relig- 
ious faith, were driven from Scotland and 
took refuge in the Province of Ulster, in 
the North of L-eland, living near Belfast, in 
Countv Antrim, until their emigration to 
the New World. Their son, Robert, had 
crossed the Atlantic at a very early age. and 
soon returned to Ireland to persuade his 
father to bring the rest of the family over. 
This could not have Ijeen later than 1746, 
as two tracts of land, one of 2,000 acres and 
one of twenty, are recorded in the list of 
land warrants as having been taken up by 
Thomas Sharp in May, 1746. The family 



settled in Newton township. Cumberland 
county. Pa. Thomas and Margaret (Elder) 
Sharp had fi\'e sons and four daughters, 
namely: Robert. Alexander, Andrew (who 
was killed Ijy Indians at what is now Sharps- 
burg, which was named in his honor), John, 
James, Mary (Mrs. John McCune), Agnes 
(Mrs. Moses Hemphill), Martha (Mrs. 
Huston) and Mrs. Patton. All of this 
family but Andrew owned land in Cumber- 
land county, and lived and died in the neigh- 
borhood of Big Spring, and there in the old 
graveyard of the Lhiited Presbyterian 
Church, at Newville, rest their remains, as 
well as those of their children, and many of 
their grandchildren. All of the sons of 
Thomas Sharp except Alexander were com- 
missioned ofiicers in the Indian or Revolu- 
tiijnary wars, and he served as a private. 

Alexander Sharpe, son of Thomas, be- 
came the largest land owner in Newton 
townshij), his holdings extending from near 
Newville, to the turnpike above Stoughs- 
town, a tract about four miles long 
and several miles wide, nearly all of 
which, though divided, is still in the 
possession of his descendants. Its north- 
ern boundary was the headwaters of 
the Green Spring. Besides his extensive 
realty holdings Alexander Sharpe had a tan- 
nery, distillery, mills, etc. One of his ap- 
prentices in the tanning business, which he 
conducted on quite an extensive scale, was 
Robert Garrett, whom he sent to Baltimore 
after he had finished his apprenticeship, and 
before he was twenty years of as'e, to e^et a 
start in life. He had never been to that city, 
but Mr. Sharpe secured a warehouse for 
him, and turned much of the trade of the 
valley, then carried to Baltimore in wagons, 
in his direction, thus hndng the foundation 
for the fortune he accumulated. He became 
the father of John W. Garrett, and grand- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



67 



father of Robert M. Garrett, both presidents 
of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. 

Alexander Sharpe married (first) Mar- 
garet McDowell, and they had children as 
follows : Andrew, Rev. Alexander, William 
M., John (father of Alexander B. Sharpe), 
Col. Thomas, Elder (who died unmarried, 
aged nineteen), and Eleanor (wife of Sam- 
uel McCune). Of these, Rev. Alexander 
Sharpe lived at the Green Spring, and was 
pastor of the Church at Newville (Big 
Spring) from 1824 until his death, which 
occurred in Januarv, 1857. He married Eliz- 
abeth Bryson, and they had seven sons and 
two daughters, of whom Dr. Alexander R. 
married Xellie Dent, a sister of the wife of 
Gen. Grant. 

Andrew Sharpe, son of Alexander and 
Margaret (McDowell) Sharpe, w^as the 
father of the late Hon. J. McDowell Sharpe, 
a native of New^ton township. Cumberland 
county, who was one of the ablest lawyers of 
Pennsylvania, and one of the most promi- 
nent members of the Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1872-73. 

John Sharpe, son of Alexander and Mar- 
garet (McDowell) Sharpe, and father of 
Col. Alexander B. Sharpe. was known as 
"John Sharpe of the Barrens." He married 
Jane McCune, granddaughter of James and 
Abigail McCune, of Newton township, and 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Brady) 
McCune. The latter was a daughter of 
Hugh Brady (2), whose father, Hugh 
Brady, came from Enniskillen, Ireland, and 
was one of the first settlers in what is now 
Hopewell township, Cumberland county. 
Thus it will be seen that Col. Sharpe's ances- 
tors on both sides were among the first set- 
tlers in the upper end of the county. 

Alexander Brady Sharpe was born Aug. 
12, 1827, in Newton township. In 1839 he 



began to prepare for college under Joseph 
Casey, the elder (father of Gen. Joseph 
Casey), after his death going to Academia, 
Juniata county, and completing his studies 
under the direction of Vanleer Davis, at 
Chambersburg. In 1843 lie entered Jeffer- 
son College, at Canonsburg, Pa., as a Soph- 
omore, and graduated from that institution 
with the highest honors of his class, Sept. 
2T,, 1846. Hon. William H. West, of Ohio, 
and Hon. John M. Kirkpatrick, of Pitts- 
burg, were among his classmates. After 
the completion of his college course, he com- 
menced the study of law with Robert M. 
Bard, Esq., of Chambersburg, completing 
his legal studies under Hon. Frederick 
Watts, of Carlisle. The committee ap- 
pointed to examine him consisted of Hugh 
Caullagher, W. M. Biddle and Hon. J. H. 
Graham, and on motion of the last named 
he was admitted to practice Nov. 21, 1848. 
He continued with his last preceptor. Judge 
Watts, until the ist of the following April, 
when he opened an office and commenced 
independent practice, in which he continued 
until his death, with the exception of the 
time he served in the army. 

On April 21. 1861, Alexander B. Sharpe 
enlisted for service in the Union army, be- 
coming a private in Company A, 7th Regi- 
ment Pennsylvania Reserve Volunteer 
Corps, which was attached to the 2d Brig- 
ade, McCall's Division. He served in the 
ranks until Sept. 25th, when he was com- 
missioned second lieutenant of Company E, 
same regiment, and appointed, adjutant. On 
Dec. 4th he was relieved from duty with his 
regiment and ordered to report to Brig. Gen. 
Ord, commanding the 3d Brigade, who had 
appointed him aide-de-camp. He joined 
Gen. Ord the same day, and served on his 
personal staff until the General was wounded 



68 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



and tempoiarily disabled f'or field service, 
when lie resigned. After tlie General re- 
covered our subject was at his instance again 
commissioned captain and assigned to duty 
with him, serving until his resignation, on 
Jan. 28, 1865. Thus, with the exception of 
the period from Dec. 27, 1862, to Aug. 28, 
1863, he was in constant service, being on 
field duty with the armies of the Potomac, 
Rappahannock, Tennessee, West Virginia, 
the Armv of the Gulf and the Army of the 
James. He took active part in the battles 
of Drainesville, Dec. 20, 1861 ; luka, Sept. 
18 and 20, 1862 ; Big Hatchie, Oct. 5, 1862 ; 
Burnside's mine explosion, July 30, 1864; 
Newmarket Heights (or Chapin's Farm) 
and capture of Fort Harrison, Sept. 9 and 
10, 1864. He was brevetted and promoted 
to the rank of captain and aide-de-camp. 
United States Army, for gallant and merito- 
rious conduct at the battle of Drainesville, 
and on ]March 13, 1865, on the recommenda- 
tion of Gens. Ord, Meade and Grant, re- 
ceived the brevet ranks of major, lieutenant- 
colonel and colonel. United States Volun- 
teers, for gallant conduct at Petersburg, 
and the various operations before Richmond, 
Virginia. 

On Dec. 19, 1854, Alexander B. Sharpe, 
married Katherine Mears Blaney, daughter 
of Major George Blaney, ot the Engineer 
Corps, United States Army, now deceased. 
Gen. Sharpe was a stanch member of the 
Republican party, from the time of its orga- 
nization, but he ne\-er held an office, or was 
a candidate for official honors, political, judi- 
cial or otherwise. In religion he clung to 
the faith of his forefathers, holding member- 
ship in the Second Presbyterian Church of 
Carlisle. Socially, he was connected with 
Capt. Col well Post, No. 201, G. A. R., and 
with the Loyal Legion. He was missed in 
many of the interests of Carlisle outside of 



professional circles, f<jr he was an influential 
advocate of any cause he chose to champion, 
and a leader in many local enterprises. 

\\TLLTA:\I WALTERS DALE, M. D. 
Among the soldiers which King William, in 
1690, sent into Ireland was one Charles 
Dale, who. after the distiu'ljances which 
called for the presence of the troops ended, 
married and remained in that country. Not 
much is known concerning him except that 
he had a son named Samuel, who resided in 
County jMonaghan, and raised a family. 
According to tradition he had three sons 
named, respectively, Nathaniel, Matthew 
and Samuel. He also had daughters, one 
of whom married a man named McCord, 
came to America and afterward lived in 
Pittsburg. 

Samuel Dale's son Samuel was born in 
1735. About the year 1766 he came to 
America and settled in Chester county. Pa., 
where on Jan. 17, 1769. he married Ann, 
daughter of Samuel and Ruth (Steel) 
Futhey. After marrying he lived in West 
Fallowfield township, Chester county, until 



1774. 



when he removed to White Deer 



township, Northumberland, now Union 
county. In 1777 the Indians drove him 
and his family from their frontier home, 
and they went back to Chester county where 
they remained for four years. In 1781 they 
advanced a second time toward the frontier, 
moving as far westward as Dauphin county, 
where they tarried for three years, and then 
again journeyed to White Deer, where seven 
vears before they had settled with the inten- 
tion of permanently making their home. 

Samuel Dale was a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution, and on Jan. 24, 1776, was 
commissioned captain of the Fourth com- 
pany of the Second Battalion of the 
Northumberland Countv Associators com- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



69 



manded by Colonel James Potter, and was in 
the battle of Princeton. The same year he 
was elected a member of the Pennsylvania 
General Assembly, and re-elected in 1777, 
1778 and 1779. He helped twice to elect 
Joseph Reed President of the Supreme Ex- 
ecutive Council ; also helped elect John Dick- 
inson, and later Benjamin Franklin, Presi- 
dent of the same body. After the war (in 
1795), he was elected State Senator, and 
afterward regularly re-elected until 1801. 
He was an undeviating Democrat, and an 
ardent supporter of eciual rights. He died 
in 1804. In person, Samuel Dale was very 
tall, about six feet seven inches, and his 
walking stick, which was long preserved by 
the family, was a curiosity because of its 
great length. His children were also noted 
for their height, each of the sons measuring 
over six feet. They were slender and 
straight of form, were all well educated, 
and noted for their suavity of manner. Sam- 
uel and Ann (Futhey) Dale had the follow- 
ing children: Ruth, Samuel Futhey, Wil- 
liam, Jane, James, Ann, ^lary and Margaret. 
Samuel Futhey Dale, the second child 
of Samuel and Ann (Futhey) Dale, was 
born in ^^'est Fallowfield township, Chester 
county, his parents soon afterward settling 
upon the Pennsylvania frontier. The boy 
grew to manhood with A-ery meager educa- 
tional opportunities. Being possessed of a 
very vigorous mind he made good use of 
what advantages were within his reach, and 
managed to prepare himself fairly well for 
the useful career upon which he entered 
early in life. In 1800 he was appointed 
deputy surveyor of A^enango county, and in 
the following year located in Franklin, the 
county seat of that county. In 1807 he was 
elected to represent Venango and Mercer 
counties in the State Legislature, and re- 
elected everv vear thereafter until 1813. In 



1812, while attending the session of the 
Legislature sitting in Lancaster, he mar- 
ried Eliza Gundaker, oldest daughter of 
]\Iichael Gundaker, of Lancaster. In the 
war of 18 1 2 he was elected a colonel, his 
commission dating August, 181 1. and 
among other services that he rendered, had 
command of troops who afforded protection 
to the workmen who prepared Commodore 
Perry's fleet at Erie. 

After the war was over he removed to 
Lancaster and permanently made his home 
there. In 1819 he was appointed an Asso- 
ciate Judge for Lancaster county, which po- 
sition he held during the rest of his lifetime. 
He died Sept. i, 1842. Eliza Gundaker, 
his wife, died July 5, 1830, and the remains 
of both rest in Woodland Cemetery in Lan- 
caster City. On July 29, 1834, Judge Dale 
married for his second wife Leah Lightner, 
who was born in March, 1789, and died in 
February, 1886. 

Samuel F. and Eliza (Gundaker) Dale 
had issue as follows : Ann Mary, IMichael 
Gundaker, William Walters, Barbara Ann 
Margaret, James John, Eliza Gundaker, 
Catharine Clementina, and Charles Henry. 
William Walters Dale, the fourth child 
and third son of the family, was born in 
Lancaster, Pa., Nov. 15, 1817. He was 
educated in the public schools, in the Lan- 
caster County Academy, and Franklin Col- 
leee ^^'ith this preliminary training he be- 
gan the study of medicine with Dr. Kerfoot, 
of Lancaster, and then entered Jefferson 
Medical College, of Philadelphia, from 
which institution he graduated in 1838. 
After his graduation he located at Millers- 
ville, Lancaster county, but soon left there 
to come to Mechanicsburg, Cumberland 
county, where he and his brother James pur- 
chased a drug store. Tliere he practiced 
medicine for several years, and assisted his 



70 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



brother in the management of tlie drug store. 
He next moved to Turbutx'ille. Xorthumber- 
land county, and for a short time practiced 
there. From Turlnitviile he returned to 
Cumberland county, and for several years 
was located at New Kingstown, from which 
place he in 1847 removed to Carlisle, where 
he continued to practice until his death, Feb. 
24, 1 89 1. 

As a practitioner Dr. Dale was highly 
successful and popular, and was the only 
physician through the successive generations 
of some families at Carlisle, down to the 
close of his long professional career. He 
had the confidence and respect of his entire 
community, and his brethren of the profes- 
sion entertained for him the same high re- 
gard. He was one of the organizers of the 
Cumberland County Medical Society, and 
twice its president. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Inter-State Medical Society, em- 
bracing Southern Pennsylvania and North- 
ern Maryland, and twice its vice-president. 
During the Civil war he was assistant exam- 
ining surgeon, and after the war long a 
member of the pension board for Cumber- 
land county, and was one of the most widely 
known physicians of central Pennsylvania. 

As a business man Dr. Dale likewise 
ranked high. For thirty years he was a 
director of the Carlisle Deposit Bank, and at 
the time of his death its vice-president. He 
was president of the Carlisle Gas and Water 
Company; a member of the Koard of Direc- 
tors of the Carlisle Manufacturing Com- 
pany ; a trustee of the Metzger Female Col- 
lege, and active in the promotion of all enter- 
prises that promised to advance the general 
good of the town. He was a Knight Tem- 
plar and an Odd Fellow., and far advanced 
through the chairs of both orders. In relig- 
ious faith lie was a Presbyterian, having 
united with that Church at Silver Spring 



while yet a young man. Upon removing to 
Carlisle he united with the Second Presby- 
terian Church, -and was a faithful memljer 
and earnest supporter of that congregation 
until his death. He was a man of strong 
convictions, and had a keen sense of the 
right, with the courage to allign himself 
with it, but was possessed of a gentle and 
gracious nature that won the confidence and 
respect of all with whom he came in contact. 
Dr. Dale was married June i, 1841, to 
Miss Sarah Martin, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (Basehore) Martin, of East 
Pennsboro township, the Rev. N. D. Stook 
performing the ceremony. To their union 
four children were born, namely : Elizabeth 
Gundaker, who married E. P. Imhoff, of 
Carlisle: Annie J., who married H. P. Can- 
mm, of Bridgeville. Del., and to them three 
children have been born : Sara Dale. Harry 
Laws, and Katherine Dale; Kate C, un- 
married ; W. James, who married Annie 
Rhey and is now deceased. 

LLOYD. The Lloyd ancestors came 
from \\'ales as a body of Welsh Quakers 
who had received a grant of a large tract 
of land along the Schuylkill river from Wil- 
liam Penn before he came to America. 
These Welsh immigrants, with a few excep- 
tions, came over in the ship "Lyon," and 
landed on the west bank of the Schuylkill 
Aug. 13, 1682, about three months before 
\\'illiam Penn landed at Lpland, now Ches- 
ter, on the Delaware river. This ^^'eIsh 
tract included the townships of ^lerion, 
Haverford, Radnor and others, and was sit- 
uated west of, and adjoining, Philadelphia. 

Among the members of the Lloyd fam- 
ily whose names appear earlv in the public 
annals was Thomas Lloyd, third son of 
Charles Lloyd, of Dolobrand, Wales. He 
was a physician, and came to America with 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



71 



William Penn on the ship "Welcome." He 
subsequently became deputy governor under 
Penn, i)resident of the council, and keeper 
of the great seal of the Commonwealth. He 
filled tlie positions named for several years, 
and until his Quaker principles prevented 
him from taking the oath required by Eng- 
land, which would have bound him to par- 
ticipate in military affairs. It will be noted 
that some of the subsequent descendants of 
the Lloyd family seem not to have been 
troubled with these conscientious scruples. 
Thomas Lloyd's family consisted of his 
wife and nine children. He died in Penn- 
sylvania Sept. 10, 1694. His great-grand- 
son and namesake, Thomas Lloyd, was lieu- 
tenant-colonel in Col. James Burd's battal- 
ion during the French and Lidian w-ar. 

David Lloyd, a cousin of the first named 
Thomas Lloyd, became a member of the 
General Assembly in 1693. •I'l'l the follow- 
ing year w^as Speaker of that body. Pie 
was also a member of the Supreme court, 
and for fourteen years Chief Justice of the 
Province. He died in 1731. 

Hugh Lloyd, who was prominently asso- 
ciated with Anthony Wayne, Thomas Mc- 
Kean and other patriots, in representative 
assemblies when the storm of the Revolution 
was gathering, was also colonel of the 3d 
Battalion of Chester County troops during 
the war, and after our independence was 
achieved was twice a representative in the 
Legislature, and subsequently an Associate 
Judge of Delaware county for thirty-three 
years, resigiiing after he had reached his 
eighty-third year. He died the year follow- 
ing. 

It was from the gristmill on Darby creek 
owned by Hugh Lloyd and his brother, Isaac, 
sons of Richard Lloyd, that Washington 
after the battle of Brandywine ordered the 
mill-stones to be removed and hidden in the 



woods, that the mill might not be of service 
to the British. 

During tlie century which elapsed from 
the landing of these \\'elsh immigrants, in 
1G82, the Lloyd name appears very fre- 
Cjuently in the records of Delaware county, 
showing that, while in this lapse of time the 
original family had become separated into 
several branches, yet the members of all of 
these W'Cre the descendants of the Lloyd 
Welsh Quaker immigrants of 1682. 

Isaac and Rebecca Lloyd, grandparents 
of William Penn Lloyd, and residents of 
Delaware county, had the following chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, born in 17S6; Phoebe, in 
1788; Joseph, in 1790; John, in 1792 ; Isaac, 
in 1793; Rebecca, in 1794; and William, 
the father of William Penn Lloyd, in 1796. 
]\Ir. Lloyd's grandmother being deceased, 
his grandfather, Isaac, removed from Dela- 
ware county to Lisburn, Cumberland Co., 
Pa., in 1799, bringing with him his daugh- 
ter Rebecca and three sons, John, Isaac and 
William. He died at Lisburn in 1834. John 
returned to Delaware county in 18 12, and 
died there in 1850. Isaac died in 1849, ^"^ 
William in i860, both in Lisburn. 

On the maternal side, Islr. Lloyd's great- 
grandfather was George Anderson, of 
Scotch-Irish lineage. He came from Scot- 
land early in 1700 and settled in Chester 
county. Pa. In 1755 he was commissioned 
by Robert H. Morris — lieutenant-governor 
and commander-in-chief of the Province of 
Pennsylvania — a lieutenant in Col. W'illiam 
Moore's Chester County regiment, and 
served in the Braddock campaign of that 
year. He had five sons who grew to man- 
hood. John and George served in the Con- 
tinental army in the war for independence. 
John returned and settled in New York 
State, but George was never heard from. 
The remainmg three moved west of the Sus- 



72 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



qiiehanna river in 1787. Benjamin, the 
yonngest of the sons, and the grandfatlier 
of Mr. Lloyd, liKated at Lisburn, Cumber- 
land Co., Pa., J'inies at Martinsbnrg, and 
Nathan at Wincliester, Va. Benjamin was 
born in 1767, and died in 1830. at Lisburn. 
He married Charity Martin in 1795, and 
their daughter, Amanda, married Mr. 
Lloyd's father in 1827. Their children who 
grew to mature age were William Penn and 
his three sisters, Mary Ellen. iNIargaret Jane 
and Sarah R'ebecca. The first named mar- 
ried John M. Hart, tlie second George W. 
Ettele, and the third Frederick K. Ployer. 

William Penn Lloyd married Anna 
Helena Boyer May 23, 1865. She was a 
daughter of Israel L. and Margaret Moser 
Boyer, who removed from Berks to Cumber- 
land county in 1841. Her paternal grand- 
parents were Michael and Dorothy Helena 
Luther-Boyer, who came from Germany in 

1797- 

Mr. Lloyd was l^orn at Lisljurn, Cum- 
berland Co., Pa., Sept. I, 1837. He worked 
on a farm in the summer and attended the 
public school in the winter until he reached 
his seventeenth year, when he was employed 
as a teacher. He taught eight years, six 
prior to entering the army and two after his 
return, teaching winter sessions, and attend- 
ing special schools and studying law tlie re- 
mainder of the year. He became a private 
soldier in Company G, of the ist Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry, Sept. i, 1861, and was dis- 
charged with the rank of regimental adju- 
tant at the expiration of the term of service 
of his regiment, Sept. 9, 1864. During his 
last year of service he was frequently as- 
signed to duty as adjutant general of a brig- 
ade. He participated in all the campaigns 
of the Army of the Potomac during the 
three years' service of his regiment, and was 
present and engaged in tlie following bat- 



tles: Drainesville, Dec. 20, 1861 ; Harris- 
onburg, June 6, Cross Keys, June 8, Cedar 
Mountain, Aug. 9, Gaines Mills, Aug. 28, 
Bull Run, Aug. 29 and 30, and Fredericks- 
burg, Dec. 13 — all in 1862; Brandy Station, 
June 9, Aldie, June 21 and 22, Gettysburg, 
July 2 and 3, Shepherdstown, July 16, New 
Hope Church, Dec. 2-/ — all in 1863: Todd's 
Tavern, the Wilderness and Spottsylvania, 
May 5, 6, 7 and 8, Childs1)urg, jNIay 9, Rich- 
mond Heights and Meadow Bridge, ]\Iay 
12, Haws' Shop, May 28, Cold Harbor, 
June I, Barker's Mill, June 2, Trevillion 
Station, June 12, White House, June 21, 
and St. Mary's Church, June 24 — all in 
1864. He also participated in thirty-five of 
the skirmishes in which his regiment and 
brigade were engaged during his term of 
service. He was detailed on special service at 
Camp Cadwallader, Philadelphia, and at the 
United States Garrison at Carlisle, Pa., to 
organize and forward drafted men to the 
army, from Aug. 3 to Nov. 6, 1863. These 
three months, and one ten days' leave of ab- 
sence, cover the period of his absence from 
the front during his whole term of service. 

On the reorganization of the National 
Guard of Pennsylvania, after tlie close of the 
war, Mr. Lloyd was commissioned division 
inspector with the rank of lieutenant-colonel, 
by Gov. Hartranft. He was commander of 
the Grand Army Post of Mechanicsburg, 
Pa., for seven consecutive years, has been 
a member of the Loyal Legion since 1888, 
and is author of the "History of the First 
Pennsylvania Cavalry." 

He read law with Col. William M. Pen- 
rose, of Carlisle, for tliree years prior to his 
army service, and on his return revie\\'ed his 
course of study, and was admitted to the 
Cumberland County Bar April 18, 1865. He 
is now also a member of the York and 
Dauphin County Bars, has been admitted to 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



73 



practice in tlie Supreme and Superior courts 
of Pennsylvania, and in the Eastern District 
court of tile United States, and has been a 
member, and the treasurer of the Pennsyl- 
vania Bar Association since its organiza- 
tion Jan, 1 6, 1895. He represented the 32d 
District, composed of the counties of Cum- 
berland and Adams, in the Senate of Penn- 
sylvania, from 1890 to 1894. This was the 
only political office for which he has been 
a candidate, and his majority was nearly 
three times that of any former candi- 
date in the district. In 1866 he was 
appointed Internal Revenue collector for 
the 15th Congressional District of Pennsyl- 
vania. This office he resigned in 1869 to 
accept a position in the Dauphin Deposit 
Bank, of Harrisburg, where he remained for 
nearly fifteen years. He quit the bank in 
1884, snd has been engaged in the practice 
of his profession in Mechanicsburg, Pa., and 
in the management of extensive financial 
and agricultural interests, to the present 
date. He at once met with encouraging suc- 
cess in the practice of his profession, it be- 
ing largely in the Orphans' court in the 
settlement and- distribution of decedents' 
estates, and also as counsel for large individ- 
ual and corporate interests. He is now fill- 
ing a number of important positions of pub- 
lic antl private trust. While in the Senate 
he gave special and untiring attention to the 
subjects of public roads, common schools, 
fence laws, equalization of taxation, Sun- 
day laws and municipal government, and 
since then, as a speaker and writer, has vig- 
orously advocated improvements in these 
branches of our State government. 

Mr. Lloyd's family now consists of his 
Avife, Anna H., his daughter, Mary E., mar- 
ried to Dr. H. A. Smith, and liis son, George 
E., all now residents of Alechanicsburg, Pa. 
His eldest son. Weir B. Lloyd, died June i, 



1903, lea\-ing to survive him his widow, Eliz- 
abeth A., and three children, Ruth, Anna H., 
and William Penn Lloyd, Jr., also residents 
of Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Lloyd's maternal ancestors were 
Presbyterians, and in his youth he frequently 
attended the Silver Spring Church with his 
Uncle George and Aunt Martha Anderson, 
who were also residents of Lisburn. The 
round trip was fourteen miles, and horse 
back was then the means of travel. He is 
an elder in the Presbyterian Church of Me- 
chanicsburg, and has been a Sabbath-school 
teacher for more than forty-five years. 

SWAPv.TZ. The Swartz family were 
residents of Copper East Pennsboro town- 
ship, Cumberland county. The precise time 
of their coming into that locality is not now 
ascertainable, but it is reasonably certain that 
it was in the early part of the last centuiy. 
The county records show that a Jacob 
Swartz purchased a tract of land on the 
State road, a short distance west from West 
Fairview, April 6, 1827. He was then a 
citizen of East Pennsboro, but a family tra- 
dition has it that he came from Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania. 

Jacob Swartz was a carpenter, an en- 
ergetic, adept mechanic, and while in his 
prime built many houses and barns, and did 
much other work in that part of the country 
which still bears pronounced evidence of his 
skill and industry as a builder. During the 
active period oi his busy life farming was to 
him only a secondary employment. He 
married Mary Longnecker, a daughter of 
Joseph Longnecker, who was one of the 
early settlers in that section. Jacob Swartz 
died Nov. 1 1, 1872, at the age of sixty-eight. 
His wife died Jan. 20, 1893, at the age of 
eighty-six. The remains of both lie buried 
in the cemetery of the Brick Church, a short 



74 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



distance north-west of West Fairview. Mary 
Longiiecker was a direct descendant of John 
Jonas Kupp. who emigrated to America 
aljout one hnndred fifty years ago. Jacob 
and Alary (Lohgnecker) Swartz had the 
following children : Georg-e, Abraham, Jo- 
seph. Catharine, and Marv Jane. .-\l)raham 
learned the carpenter trade with his father, 
went West and died in St. Lonis, Missouri, 
when he was alinut twenty-eight years of 
age. He was never married. Joseph studied 
medicine, graduated from JeiTerson Medical 
College, in Philadelphia, and located at Dun- 
cannon, Perry Co., Pa., where he met with 
great success and practiced his professi(>n 
until his death. During the Civil War he 
was a surgeon in the Union Army for a per- 
iod of three years. He married Susan C. 
Ebert, a daughter of Dr. Ebert. of Fishing 
Creek valley. Perry county, b_v whom he had 
one child which died in its infancy. Dr. 
Swartz died suddenly of apoplexy in 1887, at 
the age of fifty-one, and is buried at Dun- 
cannon. Catharine ne\'er married, and re- 
mained at Iiome until after the death of both 
parents. Mary Jane married Andrew Stone, 
of Hampden township, by whom she bad one 
child, a daughter who married David A, 
Darr, a carpenter, and is now residing in 
Wormleysburg, 

George Swartz, the oldest member of the 
family, grew to manhood on the Swartz 
farm in East Pennsboro. Like his brother 
Abraham, he learned the carpenter trade, 
but possessing a vigorous intellect his atten- 
tion naturally turned to books, and he soon 
accjuired an education far beyond that of the 
average young man in his neig'hborhood. 
He then began teaching in a school close by 
the Brick church, and not far from his home. 
His success as a teacher was marked, and, 
as his reputation spread, his services were 
called for in other places, and wdien, in 1857, 



a normal school was opened at Newville, he 
was selected as one of its leading instructors. 
Subse(|uently he became princiiial of the 
scho(jI, which position he filled for two terms. 
He rose rapidly in his profession and was 
noted for his proficiency in higher mathe- 
matics: firmness of discipline was one of his 
strongest characteristics, and good order al- 
ways pre\'ailed in schools o\-er which he pre- 
sided. He graduated from the Millersville 
.State X<:irmal -School, recei\'ing" a dii)loma 
upon passing the examination prescribed by 
the laws of the commonwealth, notwith- 
standing the fact that he ne\er attended 
said school as a student. In 1S60 he became 
a candidate for the county superintendencv, 
but the contest was close and an older man 
was then elected. Three vears afterward he 
was elected on the first ballot, serving 
through two terms with acknowledg'ed suc- 
cess and ability. In 1867 he purchased a 
small farm near Boiling- Springs, and lived 
upon it until the death of his father, when he 
sold out and bought the old homestead in 
East Pennsboro, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He died March 30, 
1899. His remains rest in the cemetery of 
the Brick church, not far from the place of 
his l)irth, side 1)}- side with those of his father 
and mother, 

George Swartz, on Aug. 30, i860, mar- 
ried Hester Eveline Fleming, of Boiling 
Springs, and they had children as follows : 
George Wilson, Flora Eveline and Robert 
Fleming, The daughter, Flora Eveline 
Swartz, born ]\Iay 3. 1866, married Austin 
G. Rupp, one of the descendants of John 
Jonas Rupp, above-named, and lives near 
Shiremanstown, the former home of her 
husband. They have five children, one boy 
and four girls. 

Robert Fleming Swartz, born at Boil- 
ing Springs May 5, 1870, married Bessie 



THE ^EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOH, LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B L 




^-^^J^y/X^^^-Yv^ U^^r^y^^ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



7S 



S. Lenhart. of Xew Cumberland. Sept. i6. 
1897, and now lives in Eniigsville. York Co., 
Pa., where he is engaged in the mercantile 
business. 

George Wilson SwARxz.the eldest child 
of the family and the subject of this sketch, 
was born in Shiremanstown. Aug. 27, 1864. 
Later the family mo\-ed to Boiling Springs 
where he passed through the primary stages 
of his education. In 1874 his parents moved 
to East Pennsboro township. He attended 
the country district school known as Lantz"s. 
wliere teachers changed almost as regularly 
as did the seasons. Among his instructors 
was the well-known Jesse Laverty, then far 
advanced in years; also Stephen Magee. 
Charles H. Smith and Daniel E. Burtner, 
who taught the youth many valuable lessons. 
In the fall of 1881 he had a protracted spell 
of typhoid fever, which caused him to miss 
an entire term of school. However, as soon 
as he had sufficiently recovered, he took up 
the studies of trigonometry and surveying at 
his home, and under the instructions of his 
father, who was a skillful and practical sur- 
veyor, acquiring an efficiency in these 
branches that has always remained with him 
and served him well. Afterward he entered 
the Harrisburg Academy, of which Profes- 
sor Jacob F. Seller was the principal. This 
institution he attended for three years, tak- 
ing the honors of the school for two terms. 
Under thorough instructors he paid special 
attention to mathematics, Latin, Greek, and 
history. Having made rapid progress in his 
studies, he, in 1884, took up teaching, and 
for three successive annual terms taught the 
Mount A'ernon school in Hampden town- 
ship ; then for one term the Wormleysburg 
high school, and after that for one term was 
an assistant in the Harrisburg Academy. In 
1886 he registered as a student-at-Iaw with 
Stuart & Stuart, Carlisle, and engaged the 



greater part of his time at reading law until 
1888, when he entered the law offices of his 
preceptors, and gave law his entire attention 
up to Sept. 9, 1889. when he was admitted 
as a member of the Cumberland county Bar. 
He immediately settled down to the practice 
of his chosen profession, and has kept stu- 
diously at it ever since. He is one of the most 
careful, persistent, determined lawyers at the 
Bar, and his rule is to push the business en- 
trusted to him step by step without delay, 
until it is finally concluded. This in<lustrious 
habit has won for him favor and prominence, 
and he is now rated as one of the ablest and 
busiest young attorneys at the Cumberland 
county bar. He has a large, valuable and 
well selected law library of about seven hun- 
dred volumes, to which he is constantly add- 
ing new books, as they are published, and as 
the need for them arises in his practice. He 
also has a fine miscellaneous library at his 
home, and is well-equipped for any profes- 
sional or literary work that may come in his 
way. In September. 1901, he was elected a 
member of the faculty of the Dickinson 
School of Law, as professor of practice in 
the courts of common pleas, to the duties of 
which he devotes much time and labor. 

On June 2. 1898, Mr. Swartz was mar- 
ried to Miss Margaret V. Kenyon, of Ship- 
pensbtirg, who formerly was a teacher in the 
public schools of that place. Tliey live in a 
modest home on Walnut street, Carlisle, and 
\\2l\q one child, a daughter, Helen, who was 
born March 27, 1902. 

MAJOR EBENEZER DENNY is one 
of the most notable early contributions of 
Carlisle to the present prominent families of 
Pittsburg, Pa. His ancestors came to Ches- 
ter county, Pa., from Ireland, but at what 
time is not precisely known. 

In 1745 William Denny and his wife 



76 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



Agnes came to Cuml^ierland county, from 
Chester county, with three children. He 
settled on a large tract of land in South '\1\<1- 
dleton township, about two miles south of 
Carlisle, of which the farm of Jacob Ritner 
is a part, where he died in 1751. His eldest 
child (i) Martha, married John McCIure, 
named in his will, on record in Cumberland 
county, as his son-in-law and one of his ex- 
ecutors, probably a son of John McCIure 
and Janet jMcKnight, who li\-ed near Letort 
Spring. He removed to Pittsburg, and the 
family is a prominent one in western Penn- 
syhania. (2) \\ 'alter, the eldest son. 1)_\- the 
will of his lather, according to the custom of 
the day, inherited the "place," one half at 
the decease of his father, the other half at the 
decease of his mother. He commanded a 
company, and was killed at the Ijattle of 
Crooked Billet, in Bucks county, in May, 
1778, and liis eldest son, Walter, was capt- 
iu"ed at the same time, and kept for three 
months on a Jersey prison-ship. His wife, 
Mary, received a pension from the State of 
Pennsylvania, through the commissioners 
of Cumberland county. His sons Daniel 
and John lived and died at the old home- 
stead, south of Carlisle. William married 
a Miss Crain, and settled in Crawford coun- 
ty, Pa. ; David was graduated at Dickinson 
College in 1788, and also studied divinity 
under its distinguished "principal,"' Dr. Nis- 
bet. He was licensed by the Carlisle Pres- 
bytery in 1792, and remained a member of 
it for thirty-eight years. He married Mar- 
garet, eldest daughter of William Lyon, a 
very prominent citizen of Carlisle, Pa., and 
died in 1845, aged seventy-eight years. 
They had seven sons and three daughters 
who lived to adult age, of whom Daniel, a 
lawyer, and graduate of Dickinson College, 
removed to Natchez, Miss. ; John F. prac- 
ticed law at Chambersburg ; Ann married 



Hon. Nathaniel Ewing, of Uniontown, Pa. ; 
Alice and ]Margaretta lived unmarried at 
the old home in Chambersburg. Mary 
Denny, daughter of Walter, son of William, 
married Searight Ramsey and lived and died 
in Carlisle, without issue. 

(3) William Denny, father of the subject 
of this sketch, born in Chester county, was 
brought to Cumberland county in 1745. As 
}-ounger son he was left, by his father's will, 
£jo, a horse, and the cost of his schooling 
and learning a trade, to be paid out of the 
estate. He became cjuite a skilled cabinet- 
maker and carpenter, and was the contractor 
for the court house built in 1765, which 
served until destroyed by fire in 1845. ^^ 
married Agnes Parker, born in 1741, eldest 
daughter of John Parker, son of Richard 
and Janet Parker, immigrants from Ulster, 
Ireland, in 1725. He appears as a citizen 
of Carlisle in the tax-list of 1762, and on 
Armstrong's plot of Carlisle, of 1763, as the 
owner of Lot No. 29, on West Main street, 
on which he resided in a substantial log 
cabin, which only gave way to a more mod- 
ern building in 1894, and was at that time 
one of the best authenticated old land-marks 
of Carlisle. It was presented, together with 
the lot, to Dickinson College, by Miss Ma- 
tilda Denny, granddaughter of Ebenezer 
Denny, and the proceeds from sale of it were 
used in the erection of Denny IMemorial 
Hall. In the days of pack mules it was a 
prominent public house, and depot of sup- 
plies in the trade with Pittsburg. In it t\-ere 
born his nine children, the eldest being Eben- 
ezer, the subject of this sketch. William 
Denny was coroner of Cumberland county, 
which then included a great part of the west- 
ern portion of the State, by commission 
from John Penn, 1769, and as such re-ex- 
amined the important case of James Smith, 
pronounced at an inquest in Bedford guilty 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



77 



of willful murder, and after three days the 
jury found it impossible for him to have 
committed the crime. [Loudon's Narratives 
(Indian \\'ars). Vol. I, p. 256.] Reappears 
as called out with the militia in 1778, and in 
1780 was assistant commissary of supplies. 
He died about 1800, and is buried in the old 
, cemetery in Carlisle. 

Major Ebenezer Denny, the son, was 
born in Carlisle March 11, 1761. Although 
a lad of only fifteen at the opening of the 
Revolution he was employed as bearer of 
important tlispatches to Fort Pitt, crossing 
the Alleghenies alone, lying out at night, 
chased by Indians. He is described at the 
time as a "slender, fair, blue-eyed, red- 
haired boy." He also assisted his father in 
the store in Carlisle. Later he shipped as 
a volunteer, on a vessel of marque and repri- 
sal which made a daring cruise in the West 
Indies, in which the intrepidity and trust- 
worthiness of the youth led to his promotion 
to the command of the quarter-deck. After 
a short stay at his home in Carlisle, although 
discouraged by his family, he shipped again, 
this time as supercargo. Having invested 
the proceeds of this venture in flour and 
whiskey for the Philadelphia market, just 
after crossing the Susquehanna he was of- 
fered a commission as ensign, which he 
promptly accepted, disposed of his goods, 
and \\-as attached to the command of Lieut. 
Col. William Butler, rendezvoused at Car- 
lisle, and transferred to York in May, 1781, 
in the 7th Pennsylvania Regiment, incorpo- 
rated with the 4th. His journal, begun at 
this time, and continued with varied inter- 
missions through the Revolutionary and 
subsecjuent Indian wars, until 1795, is not 
only highly interesting, but filled with val- 
uable information. It has been published 
by the Pennsylvania Historical Society. 



.\fter the forced marches and sharp fight- 
ing under Gen. \\'ayne, in Virginia, he took 
part in the siege and capture of Yorktown, 
and was in the advanced attack on the Brit- 
ish redoubts, and was designated by Col. 
Richard Butler to plant the colors on the 
rampart, after the surrender, but Baron 
Steuben dismounted, took them from his 
hand, and planted them himself, a procedure 
that only the efforts of Washington and 
LaFayette prevented from leading to a hos- 
tile meeting between Col. Butler and the 
Baron. After Yorktown he served under 
St. Clair in the Carolinas, and in the subse- 
quent Indian wars was adjutant to Gen. 
Harmar, and aide-de-camp to Gen. St. Clair. 
He was present at the disastrous defeat of 
the latter, Nov. 4, 1791, and delivered the 
news, in person, by express to President 
Washington, in Philadelphia, who was very 
much affected by it, and is said to have 
broken out into a violent passion. Shortly 
after, Major Denny resigned his commis- 
sion, and July i, 1793, married Nancy Wil- 
kins, who was born in Carlisle, youngest 
daughter of John Wilkins, Sr., a noted busi- 
ness man of Carlisle, who removed to Pitts- 
burg, in 1783, to engage in business. Col. 
E. Blaine being his partner. He had been 
a captain in the Continental service, partici- 
pating in the battles of Brandywine and 
Germantown, was a member of the conven- 
tion of 1776, and afterward one of the 
associate judges of Allegheny county, chief 
burgess of Pittsburg, treasurer of as many 
as nine counties at one time, member of the 
Supreme Executive Council, etc. He had 
twenty children, and many of his descend- 
ants are of national prominence as well as in 
the western part of his State, among them 
his son John, in the Surgeon's Department ; 
his grandson, William Wilkins, judge of 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



United States District Court, United States 
Senator. Minister to Russia, Secretary of 
\\'ar, etc. 

In 1794 Alajor Denny was appointed 
cliief in command of tlie expedition to Le 
Beuf, and in the war of 181 2 was commis- 
sary of purchases. He was a commissioner 
of Allegheny county, and its first treasurer, 
and also first mayor of Pittsburg. He was 
equallv pronfinent in many business enter- 
prises, one of the pioneers in the manufact- 
ure of glass, director in a branch of the Bank 
of Pennsylvania, and of the Bank of the 
United States. He was a large holder of 
real estate in the vicinity of Pittsburg, which 
acquired great value subsequently as part 
of the city. The death of his wife, JNIay i, 
1806, affected him greatly. He died at 
Pittsburg, after a brief illness, July 21, 
1822. His descendants are prominent and 
influential in Pittsburg, Pa. Of his chil- 
dren, (i) Harmar, born May 13. 1794. 
named after his intimate and dear friend, 
Gen. Harmar, was graduated at Dickinson 
College in 1813, was a prominent lawyer 
and politician, a member of the Legislature, 
member of Congress, 1829- 1837, member 
of the Constitutional Convention, 1838. He 
married Elizabeth O'Hara, daughter of Gen. 
O'Hara. of Pittsburg. They had eleven 
children. (2) ^^■illiam H. became a physi- 
cian. (3) St. Clair became a major in the 
United States Army. (4) Agnes (Nancy) 
married Edward Harding of the United 
States Army. 

MORRIS WATSON PRINCE, S. T. 
D.. has been connected with Dickinson Col- 
lege, Carlisle, since 1896, as Professor of 
History and Political Science. 

Dr. Prince comes from old Colonial and 
Revolutionary New England stock, and the 
family has been represented in every war 



in which this countrv has been engaged from 
the French and Indian to the Spanish-Amer- 
ican. The first ancestor of whom there is 
record was John Prince, of Abbey Foregate, 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, to whom 
Queen Elizalieth, by her Garter King at 
Arms, granted the coat of arms still borne 
by the Prince family in England. 

The first of the family to come to this 
country was John Prince, the .son of the 
rector of East Stafford, Berkshire, and he 
came to escape the persecutions of Arch- 
bishop Laud, emigrating to America in 
1633. His son, Thomas, was born in Hull 
in 1658, and in 1685 married Ruth, daughter 
of John Turner, and great-granddaughter 
of Elder William Brewster, who came to 
America in the "Mayflower," landing Dec. 
20, 1620. Sewell Prince, grandfather of 
Morris W., was in the battle of Lake Cham- 
plain on the Flagship "Champlain," with 
McDonough. 

Ammi C. Prince, father of Dr. Prince, 
was born in Portland, Maine, July 16, 1818, 
and died Dec. 7, 1894. in Warren, ]\Iaine. 
He entered the ministry of the ^Methodist 
Episcopal Church when about thirty years of 
age, giving up a prosperous business, but he 
felt that duty' called him. He was an able 
preacher, and for forty years prominent and 
influential m the councils of the church. He 
was Presiding Elder for eight years, serving 
a term of four years each on the Rockland 
and Bangor districts. Maine. He was rec- 
ognized as one of the strongest minds in 
his church, and was a member of se\-eral 
General Conferences. He married Miss Jane 
Davis, of Kennebunk Port, ]\Iaine, who was 
also of Revolutionary stock. 

Morris Watson Prince was born at East 
Boothbay, Maine, and received his educa- 
tion at Bucksport, that State, and in the 
Wesleyan University at Middletown, Conn. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



79 



In 1 8/ 1 he entered the ministry of the M. 
E. Church, his first parish l^eing at Plym- 
outh, N. H., and he subsequently served 
pastorates at Concord, N. H., Dover, N. H., 
Haverhill, Mass., until he became president 
of Bucksport (Maine) Seminary. After 
three years in this incumbency he returned 
to the active work of the ministry, and was 
stationed at Stamford, Conn., Brooklyn, N. 
Y., Meriden, Conn., again at Stamford, at 
Bristol, Conn., and Trinity Church, New 
Haven, Conn. During these years he re- 
peatedly declined the Presidency of Educa- 
tional Institutions, but in 1896 accepted an 
election to the Chair of Political Science in 
Dickinson College. He has won deserved 
recognition as an educator, preacher and 
lecturer, having frequently taken the lecture 
platform, though he has never allowed such 
work to interfere with his regular duties. 
Dr. Prince is a member of several historical, 
scientific .-uid literary societies, and is a 
Knight Templar Mason. In politics, he 
thinks and acts independently. 

Dr. Prince married Miss Katherine 
Buck, of Bucksport, Maine, which town her 
family founded. Mrs. Prince also has Rev- 
olutionary ancestors. Two children have 
blessed this union : Leon C, who is Profes- 
sor of history and International Law in 
Dickinson College; and Edith, who is at 
home with her parents. 

Dr. Prince has written quite a number of 
pamphlets on different topics, principally ad- 
dresses, lectures, etc., along church lines, 
which he has published. He has also done 
considerable in assisting in the compilation 
of various works, notable among which 
might be mentioned "Simpson's Encyclo- 
pedia of Methodism," etc. He has made two 
trips abroad, the first, in 1885, purely for 
pleasure, covering most of Europe. Again 
in 1903 he and his wife traveled extensively 



through the British Islands and on the con- 
tinent of Europe, he at the same time making 
considerable research along scientific lines. 
He has traveled over the greater portion of 
the L^nited States and Canada. 

PROF. HENRY MATTHEW STE- 
PHENS, A. M., B. S., Professor of Biology 
at Dickinson College, Carlisle, Cumberland 
county, has been connected with that insti- 
tution as one of the instructors since 1892. 
He has filled his present chair since 1899. 

Mr. Stephens comes of a race which has 
given Pennsylvania many of her best citi- 
zens, being- a great-great-grandson of Rev. 
jMatthew Stephens, a Presbyterian min- 
ister, and Scotch native of the North 
of Ireland, who came to America at 
an early day and made his home in 
Huntingdon county. Pa., where he passed 
the remainder of his life. William 
Stephens, son of the emigrant, was born in 
Huntingdon county, and he and his wife 
Hannah had a son Matthew, the Professor's 
grandfather, who was likewise born in Hun- 
tingdon county. He married Ann Gilliland, 
of that county, whose mother was an Alex- 
ander. Matthew Stephens died at the age of 
ninety years, in 1893, at Neosho, Missouri. 

William Alexander Stephens, D. D., 
father of Henry Matthew, was born on a 
farm in Huntingdon county. Pa., in 1835, 
and was reared at the place of his birth. He 
received his early education in the district 
schools, prepared for college in Bedford 
county. Pa., and entered Dickinson College 
in 1859. At the outbreak of the Ci\'il war he 
left college to enter the Union service, being 
a member for a time of a regiment of Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. At the close of his 
term of enlistment he commenced to read 
law in the office of John Scott, of Hunting- 
don, who was afterward attorney for the 



8o 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Pennsylvania Railroad, ami in due time he 
was admitted to the Bar in Huntingdon 
county. Going West to the State of Mis- 
souri, he located at Neosho for practice, but 
after a few years decided to enter the min- 
istry of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and ci'>mpleted his preparation within a short 
time. His first pastorate was at Carthage, 
Mo., and he also served charges at Sedalia 
and Butler, in that State. Then he was 
transferred to Ennisville, Pa., in his native 
county, and he subsequently was located 
at various places in Pennsylvania — Jersey 
Shore, Renovo, Shamokin, Clearfield, and 
Bellefonte. For a term of six years he was 
presiding elder of the Williamsport district. 
Dr. Stephens was married, in Huntingdon, 
to Miss Letitia M. Africa, daughter of Jacob 
and Elizabeth (Zlimmerman) Africa, and 
they are the parents of two children, Henry 
Matthew and Walter C, the latter a resident 
of Clearfield, Pennsylvania. 

Henry Matthew Stephens was born Jan. 
4, 1868, in Neosho, Mo., and came East with 
the family in 1877 to Ennisville, Pa. His 
preliminary training was obtained in the 
public schools of the various places in which 
his father was located, at the high school of 
Renovo, and at Dickinson Seminary, Wil- 
liamsport, Pa., from which latter institution 
he graduated in 1888. Then he entered 
Dickinson College, whence he graduated in 
1892, and the same year he commenced his 
professional work, being elected as instruc- 
tor in physiology and hygiene in his Alma 
Mater. He continued as such until 1895, in 
which year he was made adjunct professor 
in that branch, which position he filled until 
1897, when he was made adjunct professor 
of biology. In 1899 he became professor of 
biology, and has continued to fill that chair 
to the present time, having proved an ac- 
ceptable addition to the Faculty. His studies 



did not cease after graduation. In 1894 he 
went to Leipsic, Germany, to further his 
knowledge in the line of his specialties, was 
subsequently a student at the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, Boston, and in 
1897, 1898 and 1899 studied at the Marine 
Biological Laljoratory at Cold Spring Har- 
lx)r, on Long Island. Thus it will be seen 
that he had a thorough and elaborate prepar- 
ation for the work he has undertaken, and 
that he has a gift for teaching is proved by 
his success with the pupils who have come 
under his care. 

Prof. Stephens was married in Carlisle, 
in 1900, to Miss Elizabeth Young Stuart, of 
that city, daughter of William P. and Eliza- 
beth Graham (Young) Stuart, the former 
of whom is deceased. One child has come 
of this union, William Stuart, born Jan. 24, 
1904. The Professor and his wife attend 
the M. E. Church, and fraternally he is con- 
nected widi the Phi Delta Theta and the Phi 
Beta Kappa, the latter being an honor fra- 
ternity. In politics, he is independent, act- 
ing as his conscience and principles dictate. 

DR. EDMOND ERNEST CAAIP- 
BELL, President of Irving College, an edu- 
cator of Pennsylvania well known in many 
States of the Union, was born Jan. 21, 1859, 
at W'aynesboro,Pa..son of Rev. John Francis 
Campbell, D. D.. for many years prominent 
in the Lutheran ministry through Pennsyl- 
vania, Maryland and \'irginia. The grand- 
father of Dr. Campbell, Blackford Camp- 
bell, was born in ?^Iaryland, where English 
founders of the family settled in early days. 

Rev. John Francis Campljell, D. D., was 
born in 1810 and died in 1893. He was sur- 
vived by his widow, who resided at Capon 
Road, Va. She was fcirmerly ]\Iartha Cath- 
erine Gatewood and was born at Newtown, 
Va. The nine children born to them were as 



THE >{EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, \JEHCa. iSat 

TILDEN WHTSDATIHW 

B !> 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY..- 



8i 



follows- Lucy W., wife of Albert Ash, of 
Front Rwal, \'a. ; Rev.. \\\ G., of Wood- 
stock. V-a. ; E. L., now om the old home farm 
at Capo-Bi Roaa, A^a. ; J. F., of Orleans Cross 
Roads, W. Va.; Eva, of 'Stras"burg, Va.; Dr. 
Edmond Ernest, of this sketch ; Emma and 
Annie E, 'bdth decease<1 ; and James H., a 
merchanl at Cajaon Road. Va. Mrs. Martha 
C. Canrpibell died Eeb. ay, 1904. 

Dr. Campbell was 'eight years of age 
\vhen his ipareitte removeil to tlie Sbenandoah 
\'alley, Va..'his father, in 1S67. being elected 
■ to the Linrfheran ChnrcTi at Strasburg, Va. 
'This was verygratifyiiTg to liis mother, as it 
itook her teck 'to lier girlhood home. The 
-youth early exhibited mirrlced ability, and his 
'Education was carefuTly attended to, first in 
'excellent pTi-\-ate ■schools, -and later at Roan- 
oke College, Salan, Va., which he entered 
in 1875. In 1879 he -was graduated at this 
not*:! institution with tlie degree of A. B., 
his father recei\ing the degree of D. D. 
'from the same institution on the same day. 

©r. Campbell then began teaching', filling 
rpositiwns in graded and select schools contin- 
aioush' until 1882, when he Avas elected a 
Trkemlier of the FacultA' of the Hagerstown 
!F«male Seminary, filling the chair of Latin 
and IMerdtal Science. The name of this edu- 
cational institution has been changed to Kee 
^lar College. Dr. Campbell remained as- 
sociated with it until 188S, when he was 
elected to a chair in tlie Staunton Female 
Seminary. Staunton, Va. In 1890 Dr. 
Campbell was called to become the principal 
of the educatiorial department of Tressler 
Orphans' Home, at I,oysville, Pa., which was 
followed in July. 1891, by his election as 
president of Irving College. 

Irving College was founded by the late 

Solomon P. Gorgas. who through life was 

liberal in his support of it. It was named in 

honor of ^Vashington Irving, the father of 

a 



American literature, who showed his ap- 
preciation of the honor by donating a com- 
plete set of his works and by serving as a 
trustee until his death. In 1856 Irving Hall 
was built; in 1893, since Dr. Campbell be- 
came president, Columbian Hall was erected, 
and in 1900 the beautiful Art Studio and 
Annex were completed. This does not in- 
clude all the improvements which have taken 
place under the wise, careful and economical 
management of Dr. Campbell, additions hav- 
ing been made to the music and dining halls 
and general repairs on every hand which 
have added to the attractiveness of an in- 
stitution which was originally located among 
beautiful surroundings. In the heart of tlie 
Cumberland Valley, it is easily accessible by 
means of the Cumberland Valley railroad 
or the Harrisburg and Mechanicsburg trol- 
ley. The College offers instruction in four 
departments, viz. : Collegiate, Music, Art 
and Elocution. Since Dr. Campbell has had 
charge the annual enrollment has been con- 
tinually increasing and at present there are 
in attendance some 150 young ladies from 
ten different States of the Union. 

That Dr. Campbell should have shown 
himself eminently fitted for the work in 
which he has met with such success is not so 
remarkable when we look back over an edu- 
cated, scholarly ancestry. He is a direct de- 
scendant of Rev. John Campbell, D. D., who 
was distinguished during the earlv days of 
the settlement of the Cumberland Vallev. as 
the inspirer of religious enthusiasm and the 
valued and beloved rector of the First Episco-. 
pal Churches at Carlisle and York. From 
his father, also, Dr. Campbell inherited 
mental qualities and sterling attributes \\hich 
have, in a measure, contributed to his 
success. 

Dr. Campbell was married (first) to Ag- 
nes Zufall, daughter of W. H. Zufall. of 



82 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



Meyersclale, Pa. She died Feb. 23, 1896, 
leaving four children, namely: Annie C., 
Emma X., Clara E. and William E. 

On Dec. 21. 1897, Dr. Campbell was 
married (second) to INIiss Grace Koser, 
daughter of Rev. D. T. Koser. of Arendts- 
ville. Pa., and three children have been liorn 
to this union, Paul, Josephine and John 
Francis. 

In politics Dr. Campljell has always been 
a consistent Democrat. He is a popular and 
esteemed citizen. He is a memlier of the 
Lutheran Church. 

CAPT. WILLIA^I E. DULLER. One 
of the best known and most highly esteemed 
citizens of Carlisle is the practical, unassum- 
ing individual whose name introduces this 
biographical sketch. He is of German an- 
cestry, both paternally and maternally. 

Christian Miller, his paternal great- 
great-great-grandfather, with his wife, 
Anna Margaret, and children, Andrew, 
Anlis and Anna Barbara, came from Ger- 
many in 1 730, landing at Philadelphia from 
the ship "Joyce" on the 30th of November 
of that year. Christian Miller's son Andrew 
became one of the pioneers of the part of 
Lancaster county that has since been erected 
int() Lelianon. receiving a warrant for land 
within its bounds as early as 1743. He bore 
his full share of the hardships and dangers 
of his adopted land, and it is upon record 
that during the French and Lidian wars he 
was a lieutenant in Capt. Matthew Dill's 
Company, of Col. Benjamin Cliambers' 
Regiment. On Xov. 5, 1738. he married 
Margaret Funk, who bore him the following 
children : Aliraham, Jacol). Andrew and 
Christina. He died in 1754, and his widow 
afterward married Christian Burkholder. 

Aliraham ^liller. the eldest son of An- 
drew and Margaret ( Funk) Miller, came 



into possession of the greater portion of his 
father's real estate and in 1762 laid out 
upon it the town now known as Annville, sit- 
uated six miles west from the city of Leb- 
anon. Formerly the place for many years 
was known by the name of Millerstown. 
Abraham INliller married Reliecca, daughter 
of John Philip and Elizabeth Eprecht, of 
Harrisburg, and about the year i y/y moved 
from Lancaster countv to the lianks of the 
Yellow Breeches, a short disUmce from Lis- 
burn, in Cumberland county. He died in 
1805, and his remains are interred upon the 
top of a high hill on the farm on which he 
lived. Abraham and Rebecca (Eprecht) 
Miller had the following children : Joseph, 
Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Andrew, John, 
Philip and Rebecca. 

Abraham Miller, the second son of Abra- 
ham and Rebecca Miller, married Catharine, 
a daughter of Frederick Boyer, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, son of Joseph and ^lary 
Boyer of York county. His first wife died 
without issue, and he afterward married 
Elizabeth Boyer, a sister of liis first wife. 
This second Abraham Miller lived for most 
of his lifetime on the Yellow Breeches creek 
near the place where his father settled in 
1777. By occupation he was a fuller, and he 
operated a fulling-mill which Abraham 
Miller, his father, built in that vicinity and 
which is still ( 1904) in existence. Later in 
life he moved from the Yellow Breeches to 
Mechanicsburg, where he began merchan- 
dising, and from Mechanicsburg he removed 
to Abbottstown, Adams c(iunty, where he 
continued in the mercantile business until 
his death. Abraham and Elizabeth ( Boyer) 
Miller had children as follows : Joseph, An- 
drew G., Martin, John, Eliza, Catharine 
and Dainel. 

Andrew G. Miller, the second son of 
Abraham and Elizabeth (Boyer) IMiller, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



83 



was boni at the aforenamed fulling'-mill. in 
Allen (now Lower Allen) township, on 
June 7, 181 1. Like his father and grand- 
father before him he became a fuller, starting 
to learn the trade with his partner, and com- 
pleting it with his cousin. Edward Millei, 
who had a fulling-mill at Roseburg, near 
Ickesburg, Perry county. Edward Miller 
was a son of John Miller. He was married 
to Polly Umberger, a daughter of David 
and Dorothy (Maish) Umberger. who lived 
in York county, a short distance east of Lis- 
burn. Through living in the family of his 
cousin Edward. Andrew G. Miller became 
acquainted with Eleanor Umberger, a sister 
of his cousin's wife, which acquaintance 
ripened into love, and they became man and 
wife. The Umbergers were also of German 
origin. David Umberger, the father of 
Polly and Eleanor, was a son of Adam and 
Mary Gertrude (Vernon) Umberger, and a 
grandson of Michael and Anna Maria 
(Rambler) Umberger, and Michael Um- 
berger was a son of Henry Umberger, who 
was born in Germany in 1688. and landed 
at Philadelphia from the ship "Hope" on 
Aug. 28, 1733. An early Lancaster county 
church record contains the information that 
Michael Umberger was married to Anna 
Maria Rambler, of Tulpehocken, on Oct. 
18, 1784, at the hands of the Rev. John 
Casper Stoever. 

After his marriage Andrew G. Miller 
started in the fulling business on his own 
account, renting a fulling-mill which then 
stood on the banks of the Conedoguinet 
creek, near what is now known as Burgner's 
Mill, in West Pennsboro township. He con- 
tinued in die fulling business one year and 
then he and a man named Jonathan Roberts 
bought out a general store at West Hill, 
which they jointly conducted for two years. 
At the end of that time he sold his interest 



in this mercantile venture and bought a 
hotel and store at Centerville. m Penn town- 
ship. Here he was in business until 1840, 
when he bought from George Martin the 
store property at the "Stone House," in 
Dickinson township, where he conducted a 
flourishing mercantile business until the 
spring of 1848, when he again made a 
change. Returning to Centerville he there 
bought a property which included a farm, 
hotel, store and blacksmith shop, and there 
farmed, kept store and gave much attention 
to general business for about eight years. 
Along about 1850 he met with an 
alfliction that cost him the loss of 
one of his limbs. When making fires 
he would break sticks for kindling 
across his knee and in doing this inflicted 
in injury which never healed, and finally 
amputation had to be resorted to in order 
to save his life. After a stay of about seven 
years in Centerville he sold out his interests 
there and bought a farm lying along the 
Yellow Breeches creek^ in the same town- 
ship. The loss of one of his limbs did not 
seriously impair Andrew G. Miller's busi- 
ness energ}'. As soon as he had recovered 
from the effects of the amputation he re- 
sumed his characteristic enterprise, and 
reaching out beyond the limits of his imme- 
diate neighborhood became one of the lead- 
ing spirits in the organization of the Farmers 
& Mechanics Bank at Shippensburg. Be- 
coming first cashier and afterward president 
of this institution, he removed to the town 
of Shippensburg, where he resided till his 
death. He was a potential factor in politics 
as well as in the business field, and in 1868 
was elected State senator from the district 
then composed of Cumberland and York 
counties. In religion he affiliated with the 
Presbyterian Church. He died Feb. 14, 
1880. His wife died Feb. 2, 1896, at Car- 



84 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



lisle, and their remains are buried in Spring 
Hill cemetery, at Shippensburg. 

Andrew G. and Eleanor (Umberger) 
Miller had children as folohvs : William 
Edward, Mary Elizabeth, John Roberts, 
Sarah Eleanor, Henrietta M. and Andrew 
George. Mary Elizabeth died Feb. i6, 
1839. in infancy; John R. is an attorney-at- 
law and was formerly burgess of Carlisle; 
Sarah Eleanor married Henry Lee Snyder, 
of the U. S. Navy: Henrietta M. married 
George Bridges, and Andrew George is an 
attorney-at-law, and formerly was District 
Attorney of Cumberland county (he married 
Jennie Kennedy, who a few years after their 
marriage died without issue). 

William Edward Miller, the eldest child 
of Andrew G. and Eleanor (Umberger) 
Miller, and the special subject of this sketch, 
was born at West Hill, Cumberland county, 
Feb. 5, 1836. Until the breaking out of the 
Civil war he remained at home, receiving 
such education as the district schools then 
afforded and working upon the farm. 
Through the stress of circumstances it early 
fell to his lot to direct the farming operations 
for his father, which in\'oI\cd much hard 
work and careful, economical management, 
but gave him a discipline which he turned 
to good account in after life. At the begm- 
ning of the war he enlisted, becoming a pri- 
vate in Company H, 3d Pennsylvania Cav- 
alry, and at the organization of the company 
was made its second lieutenant. His mili- 
tary career from start to finish was a hard 
and dangerous one. In the winter of 1861- 
62 his regiment was stationed at Camp 
Marcy, Va., where it underwent a rigid 
course of training conducted by Col. W. W. 
Averill, a graduate of West Point Military 
Academy. When the celebrated peninsular 
campaign began in the following spring it 
was sent to Yorktown, where it received its 



baptism of fire, and then was kept well in 
front as the army advanced. After the evac- 
uation of the defences at Yorktown it fol- 
lowed hard on the heels of the Confederates 
until they were driven behind Fort Ma- 
gruder, at Williamsburg, and when driven 
from tliat position followed tliem in hot pur- 
suit beyond the Chickahominy. During the 
period of preparation for the capture of 
Richmond Lieut. Miller was detailed to 
hunt out and make maps of the roads which 
led to the James river, and in this his duty at 
times led him as much as twenty miles into 
the enemy's country, which fact is a matter 
of record in "Battles and Leaders of the 
Civil War," Volume H, page 431. While 
on the peninsular campaign he met the Count 
de Paris and a friendship sprang up between 
the two which lasted until the death of that 
distinguished French soldier and author. 
At Antietam. on Sept. 16, 1862, Lieut. 
Miller's regiment led Gen. Hooker's advance 
across Antietam creek, and as a detail Com- 
pany H, under his command, drew the first 
fire of the eneni}' in that famous and bloody 
battle. For this daring action he was after- 
ward promoted to the captaincy of his com- 
pany over all the first lieutenants in the regi- 
ment. His regiment was one of the most 
active in the Army of the Potomac, and in 
the campaigns of 1863 took conspicuous 
part in the battles of Brandy Station, Aldie, 
Middleburg, Upperville, Hay Market and 
Gettysburg. At Gettysburg Capt. }vliller 
was in command of a squadron of four com- 
panies and won proud distinction by making 
a timely cliarge and breaking the flank oi 
Wade Hampton and Fitzhugh Lee's com- 
mands, in their attempt to turn the extreme 
right of the Union Army. The charge was 
made in violation of orders, !nit the supreme 
importance of making it and the Ijrilliancy 
of its execution were recognized 1jv the 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



85 



government in awarding him a medal of 
honor. The Secretary of War. in forward- 
ing this medal, wrote : 

At Gettysburg, July 3, 1S63, this officer, then 
Captain, 3d Pennsylvania Cavalry, and command- 
ing a squadron of four troops of his regiment, seeing 
an opportunity to strike in flank an attacking col- 
umn of the enemy's cavalry that was then being 
charged in front, exceeded his own instructions and 
without orders led a charge of his squadron upon 
the flank of the enemy, checked his attack and cut 
oflf and dispersed the rear of his' column. 

The reverse side of the medal bears the 
following inscription : 

The Congress to Captain W. E. Miller. Com- 
pany H, 3d Pennsylvania Cavalry, for Gallantry at 
■Gettysburg, July 3d, 1863. 

This extraordinary action attracted the 
attention of military authorities of this and 
other countries, and Arthur L. Wagner, U. 
S. A., in his work on "Organization and 
Tactics," pages 187 and 222, refers to it as 
follows : "At Balaklava a heavy force of 
Russian Cavalry ad\'ancing to attack the 
British Heavy Brigade, deliberately slack- 
ened its pace before contact and received a 
counter charge at a halt. In this action the 
flank of the Russian Cavalry was exposed 
to the Light Brigade, whose commander. 
Lord Cardigan, failed to avail himself of the 
opportunity thus presented because his 
orders did not contemplate such action ; but 
he afterwards engaged in a heroic but sense- 
less charge on the Russian batteries, which 
furnished a theme for .poets but not a model 
for a cavalry general. In the great cavalry 
battle at Gettysburg, Captain Miller, of the 
3d Pennsylvania Cavalry, seeing an oppor- 
tunity to strike Wade Hampton's column in 
flank as it was charged in front by Custer, 
turned to his lieutenant with the remark : 
"I have been ordered to hold this position, 



but, if you will back me in case I am court- 
martialed for disobedience, I will order a 
charge." The charge was opportune and 
effective and no mention of a court martial 
was ever made. Miller's conduct on this 
occasion is in striking contrast with that of 
Cardigan at Balaklava." 

After the war closed Capt. Miller en- 
gaged in the hardware business in Carlisle 
and continued at that until 1898, in which 
year he was elected to the Pennsylvania 
State Senate from the district composed of 
Cumberland and Adams counties. He is of 
a retiring disposition, but firm in his convic- 
tions and purposes. Some estimate of the 
man can be found in the remarks made by 
his old commander. Gen. D. McM. Gregg, 
at the dedication of the cavalry shaft at 
Gettysburg, on Oct. 15, 1884: "Of course 
everybody expects to hear from Capt. Miller, 
whose name is so inseparably and honorably 
connected with our shaft. Possibly, having 
built so well on the very ground on which 
he fought so well, he will try to escape talk- 
ing, which he can do well also. How point- 
edly he can write you can all attest.'' 

Capt. Miller has long been conspicuous 
in his native county as a Democrat and a 
party worker. He served twice as chairman 
of the Democratic county committee, once 
in 1877, when the Democratic State ticket 
was given over one thousand majority, and 
again in 1888, when Cleveland was given 
a majority of 696 over Harrison. In 1878 
he was a member of the Democratic State 
Central Committee. In municipal affairs he 
has always borne a conspictious part. He 
was twice elected chief burgess of Carlisle, 
first in 1882 and again in 1883, antl was a 
member of the Carlisle board of health for 
about twelve years, and president of that 
body for four years. In 1898, after much 
importuning from members of both political 



86 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



parties, he consented to stand as a candidate 
for the State Senate and was easily nominat- 
ed and also easily elected. As a legislator he 
was assiduous and attentive to the interests 
of his constituents, and discharged the entire 
roll of his duties with conscientious fidelity. 
His term included the famous session that 
was dead-lockeil upon the election of United 
States senator, and he was present and voted 
upon all the ballots that were held. He also 
had the honor of being his party's nominee 
for president pro tem of the Senate. In 
Girand Army circles he has always been 
acti\'e and prominent and was the first Com- 
mander of Capt. Colwell Post, No. 201. He 
is a member of the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion of the United States, and 
while he has filled various positions of 
honor and responsiliility he has ne\-er aspired 
to any of the places which he has filled. 
He is secretary of the Carlisle Board of 
Trade and gives much of his time and labor 
to the promotion of the industrial welfare of 
the town. Since relinquishing the hardware 
business he has turned his attention to writ- 
ing fire insurance, in which he hi-; succeeded 
in building up a very satisfactory line. 

Capt. William E. Miller has been twice 
married. His first wife was Elizabeth Ann 
Hocker, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Henry) Hocker, of Hockersville, Penn 
township. Mrs. Miller died Sept. 8, 1859, 
at the age of twenty-three years, leaving two 
daughters, named respectively Carrie Olivia 
Rankin and Elizabeth. Elizabeth died in 
April, 1862. Carrie grew to womanhood 
and married George K. McCormick. by 
whom she has three children, ^^'illianl, Anna 
and George K. Mr. McCormick is a civil 
engineer and at present is located at Knox- 
ville, Tennessee. 

On June 25, 1868, Capt. ^filler married 
for his second wife Anna DePui Bush, 



daughter of J. S. Bush, of Tioga, Tioga 
Co.. Pa., who tiled Aug. 4. 1894, leaving no 
issue. Both wi\"es were intelligent, cultured, 
amiable ladies and the loss of each was a sore 
bereavement. }ilrs. Anna DePui (Bush) 
Miller was :^ writer of ackno\A-ledged ability, 
a contriljutor to literary periodicals and 
author of a book entitled "WIio and \Miat." 
Such is the record of Capt. ^^'illiam E. 
Miller, a worthy citizen and a gallant soldier. 

HENRY CLAY WHITING was for 
over twenty years prior to his death, which 
occurred Feb. i, 1901, connected with Dick- 
inson College, at Carlisle, as a member of 
the Faculty, and he occupied a high position 
in the educational circles of the community. 

]Mr. Whiting was born March 27, 1845. 
in SiJeedsville, N. Y., and comes of a family 
which has long been settled in America, and 
which is descended from three brothei s who 
came from England. His grandfather, 
Samuel Whiting, was a blacksmith and car- 
riage builder by occupation, and his father, 
Samuel Whiting, was also a blacksmith by 
trade. The latter was a native of Connecti- 
cut, and settled in Speedsville, N. Y., where 
he died. He was twice married, his first 
wife being Mary Keeney. by whom he had 
two children, Henry Clay and Josephine 
(Mrs. David Smith), both now deceased. 
For his second wife he married Cai-oline 
Ford, who survives him, and to this union 
were born six children, namely: Percy, 
Frank (deceased). Randolph, Romeo, 
Charles and Cora. 

Henry Clay \\'hiting attended the com- 
mon schools in his \'i;)uth, was prepared for 
college at Ithaca, N. Y., and took a clas- 
sical course at Union College, Schenectady, 
N. Y., after which he entered upon his career 
as an instructor. He accepted a position as 
teacher in the Drew Theological Seminary 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



87 



at Madison, N. J., where he also studied for 
the ministry, and he was ordained, but never 
took a charge, continuing to teach all his 
life. From Drew he went to Hackettstown, 
N. J., and taught in the semmary there for 
four years. His next experience was as vice- 
principal of Pennington Seminary, at Pen- 
nington, N. J-. and in the fall of 1879 he 
came to Carlisle, Pa., to become professor of 
Latin in Dickinson College. He remained 
in that incumbency until the close of his life, 
practically, although he was out on a year's 
leave of absence when he died, suddenly of 
heart disease, on Feb. i, 190 1. Mr. Whiting 
was a gentleman of the highest standing, in- 
tellectually and socially; and was greatly es- 
teemed among the circle of his friends and 
acquaintances in Carlisle. He was long a 
prominent member of the First ^I. E. 
Church of that city, and served at one time as 
trustee and Sunday School superintendent. 
In politics, he was a strong Republican, and 
fraternally, be was associated with the F. & 
A. M. 

Mr. Whiting w'as married, in Schenec- 
tady, N. Y., Nov. 21, 1867, to Miss Mary L. 
Freeman, who was born June 16, 1847. i" 
Schenectady, daughter of Jonathan R. and 
Leonora (Terrell) Freeman. Her parents 
were both natives of Connecticut, the father 
born in Mansfield, and he settled in Schenec- 
tady, N. Y., after his marriage, conducting 
a mercantile business there for many years. 
Six children came to Mr. and Mrs. Wliiting, 
viz : ( I ) Henry F. graduated from Dickin- 
son College in the class of 1889, and is now 
engaged as an instructor in tliat institution. 
He married Miss Grace Derland, and they 
have had three children, Lawrence D., Rus- 
sell F. and Gerald. (2) Leonora M., is un- 
married, and is engaged in teaching. (3) 
Earle F., died when he was two years old. 
(4) Miss Helen is a teacher in Dowingtown, 



Pa. (5) Mabel is deceased. (6) Paul is 
now a student in Dickinson College. ]\Irs. 
\\'hiting and the family still make their home 
in Carlisle, and are among the most highly 
respected residents of that city. 

WILLLAM BARXITZ, for many years 
president of the Farmers' Bank, now the 
Farmers' Trust Company, of Carlisle, is of 
old Pennsylvania-German stock. The name 
is frequently spelled Bernitz in the records. 
His great-grandfather, John George Karl 
Barnitz, was born in Alsace, in the Hessian 
Palatinate, in 1722, and came to America, 
by way of Baltimore, about the year 1740, 
settling in York county : he died in York 
according to the record in the Lutheran 
church yard in that city, Dec. 14, 1796. 
z-\ccording to the records of the same church, 
he was married to his wife, Anna Barbara^ 
Nov. II, 1750; she is also mantionea in his 
will, together with their chilaren, Charles, 
John, Michael, George, Daniel, Jacob. Su- 
sanna and Barbara. 

Daniel Barnitz, the grandfather of Wil- 
liam Baniitz, was born in 1755. He served 
in Capt. Rudolph Spangler's Company of 
Associators in 1776. He married Susanna 
Eichelberger. After his marriage Daniel 
Barnitz resided in Hanover, Heidelberg 
township, engaged in various occupations, 
tavernkeeper, brewer, farmer, etc.. and died 
there in 1827. 

Martin Eichelberger, father of Mrs. Su- 
sanna (Eichelberger) Barnitz, was the 
oldest son of Philip Fredrich Eichelberger, 
who w^as born near Sinsheim, Baden, in 
1693, and m 1714 married Anna Barbara 
Dorners. They emigrated to America, by 
way of Rotterdam, in 1728, landing in Phil- 
adelphia, and he died at Hanover, 1776. He 
had nine children, six being sons, and was 
the ancestor of many influential families. 



■88 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Martin Eiclielberger was bum in Germany, 
and came with his father to America. He 
purchased Lot No. 120. in York, when it 
was laid out in 1741. and was one of the 
original members of the Lutheran Church 
there. He was a very influential citizen ; 
was commissioned Court Justice by George 
n, and also by George HI : and subsequently 
justice of the peace; and the latter also by 
the convention that framed the first consti- 
tution of Pennsylvania. He was one of a 
committee of eighteen prominent citizens, 
who joined in a communication to Benjamin 
Franklin, President of the Committee of 
Safety, Sept. 15, 1775. relating to the form- 
ing of new battalions, choosing officers, and 
SO' forth. He also filled many other positions 
of trust. He died in 1781. 

Jacob Barnitz, the father of William, 
according to the family record, neatly kept 
by Daniel, was the oldest of nine children 
who lived to maturity, six being sons, and 
was born in Hanover, April 6, 1777. He 
married Miss Mary G. Etzler. and resided 
on a farm, purchased liy him near Hanover, 
until 1836, when he removed to Cumberland 
county, where he had purchased a mill prop- 
erty on the Yellow Breeches, in Dickinson 
township, at present the .station Barnitz 
on the Harrisburg & Pittsburg branch of the 
Philadelphia & Reading Railroad. This 
station is now operated by U. Grant Barnitz, 
son of William. Jacob Barnitz was a man 
of enterprise in his day. He was one of the 
originators of the Carlisle & Hanover Turn- 
pike, and was interested in education. He 
died in 1863, aged eighty-six. His children 
were, Henry. Charles. Eliza (married to 
Michael Bucher. of Hanover), Mary (mar- 
ried to Michael Carl, of near Hanover), 
Jacob Elder, Daniel, Susan, William, Alex- 
ander, Jane, and Augustus. 

William Barnitz, the subject of this 



sketch, was born near Hanover, July 29, 
1817. He reccix'eil his education at Penn- 
sylvania College, Gettysburg, and Dickinson' 
College, being a member of the class of 
1840 in the latter institution. After his- 
graduation he taught school in Pennsylvania 
and Delaware. Since his marriage he has 
resided in Carlisle, actively engaged in vari- 
ous manufacturing and Ijusiness operations. 

\n 185 1 William Barnitz married Miss 
Caroline Wonderlic'h, daughter of John and 
Susanna (Hetrick) NVonderlich, okl settlers 
of Middlesex township, Cumberland county. 
Plis children, all Ijorn in Carlisle, are: John 
A. H., deceased, born in 1853, graduated at 
Dickinson College, 1875; Jacob Edwin is. 
a prominent lawyer of Carlisle; S. Marian 
was educated at the Moravian Seminary, at 
Bethlehem, Pa. ; U. Grant graduated at 
Dickinson College in 1888, and at present is 
engageil in the merchant-milling and for- 
warding business at Barnitz. and is a direc- 
tor in the Farmers' Trust Company, of Car- 
lisle. 

William Barnitz is esteemed in the com- 
munity in which he has spent the greater 
part of his long and useful life as one of its 
leading business men, liighly intelligent, and 
always thoughtful and practical in his meth- 
ods, and of unquestioned integrity. Pie was 
one of the original stockholders of the 
Farmers' Bank, now the Farmers' Trust 
Company. ;ind for seventeen years was the 
president of the original corporation. He 
has always been a prominent and influential 
member of the Lutheran Church in Carlisle. 

WILLLAM SCOTT COYLE. The 
subject of this biographical sketch is a de- 
scendant of James Coyle and Eliza Carson. 
James Coyle is said to have been of L"ish and 
Eliza Carson of Scotch-Irish ancestry. They 
were married on Jan, I, 1760, and at some 



THE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 




^^W °t^^M^^^ 




^f/-^'/^ 



THE IJEW vo^ 
fUBlJC UBUARY 



ASTOK, LENOX AND 
^mOEN FOlINtUTiUNg 
L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



89 



unknown date came to America and settled 
in Pennsylvania. It is not definitely known 
where in Pennsylvania they located, but 
there is reason to believe that in their latter 
years they lived in the section that is now 
included within the bounds of Franklin 
county. James Coyle died Nov. 1 1 , 1 798. 

James and Eliza (Carson) Coyle had a 
son named David, who was born on Dec. 22, 
1777, in what is now Fulton county. At one 
time during- his life he lived near the vil- 
lasfe of Burnt Cabins, Fulton county, luit as 
early as 1808 was a resident of Tyrone town- 
ship, in what is now Perry county, where he 
that year was assessed \\\x\\ land and per- 
sonal property. Sfibsequently he lived near 
Ickesburg, in Saville township. He was a 
farmer all his lifetime. David Coyle mar- 
ried ]\Iartha Linn, whose parents were resi- 
dents of Madison township, and bv her he 
had the following children : James, Betsey, 
Andrew, Martha, Ann, John, Ellen, Wil- 
liam, Jane, Scott, Samuel A. and Mary. 
James, on Oct. 17, 1S22, married Mary Pat- 
terson, of Toboyne township. Perry county. 
Andrew, on Nov. 1,1827, married Eliza Mc- 
Collough, of Newton township, Cumberland 
county. Betsey married David McCollough. 
Martha married John Fleming, of North 
Middleton township, Cumberland county, 
who was killed on the railroad on Main 
street, Carlisle, Aug. 12, 1S39; his widmv 
survived him until in January, 1873. Ann 
married James Clark, a -farmer of Madison 
township, Perry county. Ellen married \Y\\- 
liam Blair, who was for many years one of 
Carlisle's leading business men ; she died in 
March, 1868, in the fifty-first year of her 
age. Jane married IMcGinley Walker, and 
moved to Fountain Green, 111. ^^'illiam 
died when quite young. Scott went into 
the mercantile business with his brother 
Andrew in Newville, later was in business 



by himself in Newville, and afterward pur- 
chased and ran Doubling Gap Springs hotel 
for several years. Subsequently he for sev- 
eral years kept what is now the "Lochiel 
Hotel," in Harrisburg. He then relinquished 
hotel-keeping and went into the mercantile 
business with his nephew, James Coyle, in 
Philadelphia. On retiring, from lousiness he 
removed to Newville. Samuel A. married 
Eliza Linn, and Mary married Thomas Mc- 
Candlish. 

David Coyle died Aug. 22, 1865; his 
wife, Martha Linn, died Nov. 19, 1831, and 
the remains of both are buried in the grave- 
yard of the Center Presbyterian Church in 
Perry county. Mrs. Coyle's ending was 
peaceful and singularly impressive. She 
had returned home 'from church at about 
half past eight o'clock in the evening. About 
nine the family were called together for de- 
votion, and while they engaged in singing 
a hymn she leaned upon the knee of her hus- 
band, who was sitting by her side, and in this 
position expired without a struggle or a 
groan. Her death came when all her eleven 
surviving children, except a daughter of 
eight years, were in full communion with 
the church. Although for the greater por- 
tion of his life a resident of Saville town- 
ship. Perry county, Mr. Coyle died at New- 
ville, Cumberland county. He was a quiet, 
unobtrusive, efiicient Christian, long a mem- 
lier of the Presbyterian Church and for more 
than fifty years a ruling elder. He took a 
warm interest in everything relating to the 
spread of evangelical truth and the advance 
of Godliness. 

John Coyle, the sixth child of David and 
Martha (Linn) Coyle, was born Nov. 16, 
1806, on the parental homestead in Saville 
township. He grew to manhood in that part 
of the country, and on Feb. 16, 1832, mar- 
ried Elizabeth T. McCord, of Madison town- 



90 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



sliip, who was born in Perrv county in Sep- 
tember. 1807. Upon lieginning- life for him- 
self he engag-ed in tlie mercantile Imsiness 
in Ne\v\"ille with his brdther Andrew, and 
continued there for five years. He then re- 
turned to Perry county, where for a short 
time he farmed his father-in-law's place, 
which he afterward purchased. Next he and 
his brother Samuel opened a store in Land- 
fsburg where they continued in business 
several }'ears. In search of a larger field, 
they in 1842 removed to Hogestown, Cum- 
berland county, where under the firm name 
of J. & S. .\. Coyle they for years did a 
H(5urishing' business. Finally Samuel A. 
withdrew and went into business in Carlisle, 
and on Oct. 15, 1855. John died, and by 
reason of his death the Imsiness was chased 
out. John Ci )yle's remains were first interred 
in the cemetery of the Sih'er Spring Church, 
but subsequently remo\'ed to the Center 
Presbyterian Church, in Perry ciumtv. and 
interred by the side of those of his wife, who 
died in 1840. 

John and Elizabeth T. (AlcCord) Covle 
had the following children : Samuel McCord. 
William Scott and David Linn. 

Samuel M. Coyle, the eldest of these sons. 
liegan his business career as a salesman in 
Philadelphia. Afterward he and his bn.jther 
W'. Scott, for a few years, conducted a gen- 
eral store at Andersonburg, Perry county. 
W. Scott sold his interest to David L. and 
Samuel and David as a firm continued it for 
several years more. Wishing to make a 
change of locality they sold out and Samuel 
came to Carlisle, and for a while clerked in a 
store. (3n Dec. 16, 1858, he married Annie 
M. Campbell, of Carlisle, and began house- 
keeping in Andersonburg, Soon afterward 
be and his Ijrother W. Scott began the 
wholesale notion business at Carlisle, and he 
then removed to a home on East Pomfret 



street, Carlisle, where he lived until his 
death, which occurred Aug. 2^. 1879. 

Da\'id Linn Coyle, the youngest of the 
three Coyle brothers, was Ijorn ]\Iay i, 1838, 
on the old McCord farm in Perry county. 
He received the principal part of his educa- 
tion in the public schriols, and early in life 
turned his attention to mercantile pursuits. 
On the breaking out of the Civil war he en- 
listed in Company E, 9th Pennsylvania Cav- 
alry, and for more than three years served 
his country as a soldier. After the war he 
was for several vears a clerk in the commis- 
sary department of the arm\- at P)altimore. 
From there he went to S. A. Coyle & Co., 
wholesale grocers of Philadelphia, as a sales- 
man, Ijecame a member of the firm and event- 
ually the head oi the house. The name of the 
firm was afterward changed to Ci\vle, Mc- 
Candlish &: Co., and for a time was one of 
Philaclelphia's leading business houses, 
much of its prominence and success being 
due to David L. Coyle's energy and good 
business tact. He died July 31, 1891, at At- 
lantic City, and was buried at Center Church. 
The following testimonial from the Phila- 
delphia Grocers' and Importers' Exchange 
is an indication of the esteem in which he 
was held : 

"Having received the sad intelligence of 
the death of our esteemed late fellow mem- 
ber, Da\'id L. Coyle. the Grocers' and Im- 
. porters' Exchange, in memorial meeting as- 
sembled, do hereby give expression to their 
appreciation of the many estimable qualities 
of the deceased, notably his spotless integ- 
ritv, his sense of mercantile honor, and his 
genial, kindly disposition, joined to an ur- 
banity of deportment that won the confidence 
and respect of all who were brought in con- 
tact with him. As a former director and 
long time associate we shall miss him from 
our number, and herewith tender our sincere 



THE 'NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AfiTOK, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 




(slifi^ ^mL 





^a^^^ 




THE "KEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 
TILDEN POtlNUATIONS 



JME NEW YORK 
PUBIIC IIBRARY 



ASTOIi, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



9^ 



sympatliies to his family in their affliction." 
Wilham Scott Coyle, the second of these 
three Coyle brothers, and the especial subject 
of this biography, was born on July 20, 
1836. on his father's farm in Madison town- 
ship. Perry county. Piioi to his father's 
ownership of the farm it belonged to a-.id was 
the hunie of his McCord grandparents. His 
early da_\-s were passed upon the farm. By 
the time his father removed to Hogestown 
he had reached the school age and became a 
scholar in the Hogestown school. John 
Firoved, Thomas Hampton, Mr. Senseman, 
Eliza Thomson and Miss Greathead were 
some of his teachers; and the Buchers, the 
Boslers, the Snowdens. the Capps. the Clen- 
denins, the Fircveds, the Bells, the Ketter- 
ings, and other well known people of that 
vicinity, were among his schoolmates and as- 
sociates. On leaving the public school he 
attended for a term and a half the famous 
academv of Prof. R. C. Burns, located at 
what was then known as Good Hope Station, 
on the Cumberland \'alley Railroad, five 
miles west of Carlisle. Then for a while he 
attended the Cumberland Valley Institute, 
conducted at Mecbanicsburg by Ixcv. Joseph 
Loose. In the summer of 1855 he was sent 
to his uncle, James Clark, in Perry county, 
for the benefit of his health, where he re- 
mained for some months. While there his 
father took sick and word was sent to him 
to come home. When the summons reached 
him he was suffering from a severe attack of 
fever and ague and was in a bad condition 
to travel, but started. He went by stage by 
wav of New Bloomfield to Newport, from 
which point he went by train to Harrisburg 
and from there by train to Mecbanicsburg. 
At Mecbanicsburg he happened to meet a 
friend in a con^'eyance who took him up and 
landed him at Hogestown, so weak that he 



could scarcely walk. After his father's 
death he had his home with his uncle James 
Clark in Perry county. He also for a while 
attended the Mt. Dempsey Academy at 
Landisburg, of which Prof. Theodore Buch- 
er, whose parents resided at Hogestown, was 
the principal. Next he taught a country 
school in Perry county, near the home of 
his uncle James Clark. He taught one term 
and then he and Robert Clark, a cousin, 
opened a general store in Andersonburg. In 
a short time Robert Clark sold his interest 
to Samuel M. Coyle and for a while the two 
brothers continued the business. Then Wil- 
liam Scott sold his interest to David L., and 
in 1857 Samuel and David sold out their 
joint interest. In 1861 W. Scott came to- 
Carlisle, where he invested in a horse and 
wagon and took to the road, wholesaling no- 
tions to the country stores. His trade in- 
creased rapidly, and at the end of the first 
six months had so enlarged that he needed a 
two-horse team. He and his l^rother Samuel 
then formed a partnership under the name of 
Coyle Brothers. At first they had their store 
in a room in the basement of Samuel's resi- 
dence, on East Pomfret street, but the busi- 
ness grew and soon more commodious quar- 
ters had to be provided, and they rented a 
large room in the Inhoft' building, on South 
Hanover street. Inside of two years their 
business also outgrew these c|uarters and 
they rented the large room in the Good Will 
Hose Company's building in South Han- 
over street. Here the business was contin- 
ued until in 1893, when it was removed to 
the building that was formerly the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, at the corner of ]\Iain and 
Pitt streets. 

After Samuel Coyle, the senior member 
of the firm, died, W. Scott Coyle associated 
with him as partners W. Linn ]\IcCullough 



92 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



and James G. Linn, but retained the old 
firm name until he nominally retired from 
the business. About 1893 ^^^^ fi'""'' 'became 
RlcCulliiugh & Linn, but 'Mr. Coyle contin- 
ued to be a silent partner for several years 
afterward. After retiring from the notion 
business he became interested in the Letort 
Carpet Company, and later also a partner 
in the Indian Rug Company, of Carlisle, and 
between these two manufacturing industries, 
his farms, and his investment interests, he 
now divides his time. 

In politics Mr. Coyle is a stanch Republi- 
can, and he cast his first Presidential vote for 
Abraham Lincoln, but he is not a biased 
partisan nor a seeker after office. Li relig- 
ion he is a Presbyterian, to which church be- 
longed his ancestors for generations past. He 
is a member of the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle, in which he holds the po- 
sition of deacon. In his earlier years he was 
also an active worker in the Sunday-school. 
To church and charitable causes he gives lib- 
erally, and in 1891 he built a parsonage and 
a sexton's house at the Center Presbyterian 
Church, where members of his family for 
four generations lie buried. He has been a 
director of the Merchants' National Bank of 
Carlisle ; is the trustee for the Thorn Fund, 
devised by a member of that family to the 
church : is frequently selected to take charge 
of responsible business trusts, and were it 
not for the misfortune of defective hearing- 
he would be yet more in demand for such 
duties. He is a highly esteemed and viseful 
member of the community in which he lives. 
Through energy, good judgment, industry 
and close application he has succeeded in 
€very laudable purpose save in that of get- 
ting a wife. At this writing he is still un- 
married, for which many of his friends cen- 
sure him. 



JAMES RA^^ISEY MEANS. The de- 
scent of the Means family of Cumberland 
county is readily traced back to John Means, 
of Paxtang, Dauphin county. To go back 
of him the historian must rely mainly upon 
traditions that necessarily are vague and 
douljtful. Little is known as to when John 
Means settled at Paxtang except that it was 
at some date prior to the Revolution, and 
when that part of the province was yet in- 
cluded in Lancaster county. An Adam 
Means lived in that vicinity at the same time, 
as is shown by the Paxtang Church records. 
According to a well founded tradition John 
and Adam [Means were brothers. Their 
father was probably Joseph Means, of Coun- 
ty Tyrone, Ireland, who never came to 
America. 

In 1776 John Cleans enlisted under Cap- 
tain John Murray, whose company was a 
part of Col. Samuel Mile's rifle battalion, 
which participated in the battles of Long 
Island. AMiite Plains, Trenton and Princeton, 
Subsecpiently he was in several other enlist- 
ments and rendered his country valuable 
service down to the end of the war. He died 
Oct. 3, 1795, at the age of fifty years, and is 
buried in the graveyard of the Paxtang 
Presbyterian Church in Dauphin county. 
His wife was [Martha Ramsey, daughter of 
James and Janet (Woods) Ramsey, and 
granddaughter of Robert Ramsey. She was 
a brave, self-reliant. God-fearing woman, 
and several years after her husband's death 
removed from Paxtang to Allegheny coun- 
ty, carrying on the backs of pack animals 
her household effects and her children, one 
of whom was a baby boy who was not yet 
born when his father died. This baby boy 
was named Joseph McCord [Means, and sub- 
sequently became a distinguished citizen of 
Cumberland countv, the head of one of its 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



93 



representative families and a most exem- 
plary church worker. As soon as his years 
and strength permitted, he learned the tan- 
ning trade under his brother^ Nathan, in 
Allegheny county, and later, in quest of em- 
ployment, came to Carlisle on foot, carry- 
ing in a small budget all his personal effects. 
He first obtained work with Andrew Blair 
in Carlisle, who then had a tannery upon the 
lot on South street, where now are the Ep- 
pley livery stables. Next he for some time 
worked at Newville for a man named David- 
son. On Feb. 15, 1820, he was married to 
Jane Woods, of Dickinson township, the 
Rev. George Duffield. pastor of the Presby- 
terian Church of Carlisle, performing the 
ceremony. 

After his marriage Joseph M. Means lo- 
cated at Newburg, in the northwestern 
part of Cumberland county, where with no 
capital save his own energy and a thorough 
knowledge of the trade, he succeeded in es- 
tablishing a large and profitable tanning 
business, and also accjuiring several farms. 
His private affairs, although extensive and 
exacting, did not cause him to neglect the 
duties of the citizen. He gave to public 
affairs a due share of his time and attention, 
which gained him prominence, and in Jan- 
uary, 1827. Gov. Shulze appointed him a 
justice of the peace for the district composed 
of the townships of Shippensburg and Hope- 
well, a position which he held for more than 
forty years. He was known by the familiar 
title of "Squire Means" during more than 
half his long lifetime, and by it recalled to 
memory for many years after his death. In 
1835 he was elected county auditor, and in 
1845 niember of the State Legislature, and 
in each capacity rendered his constituents 
efficient and satisfactory service. The train- 
ing of his pious mother landed him withii? 



the folds of the Presbyterian Church in his 
early youth, and he continued active and 
zealous in its cause all through life. In the 
year 1836 he was elected an elder in the Mid- 
dle Spring Presbyterian Church, and held 
that honored station until 1875, when he 
transferred his membership to the Second 
Presbyterian Church of Carlisle. In 1867 
he removed from Newburg to a property he 
purchased at i\Iiddle Spring. The years were 
now rapidly accumulating upon his head, 
and he was gradually entering upon a well- 
earned retirement. Six years later he re- 
moved to Carlisle where on Jan. 8, 1878, 
his wife died. After her death he had 
his home with his daughter, Mrs. D. W. 
Huston. As man and wife they had lived 
as one for almost three score years, and in 
death were not long divided. He died on 
June 8, 1880, and their remains rest side by 
side in Ashland cemetery at Carlisle. 

Joseph M. and Jane (Woods) Means 
had the following children : John, Jane 
Mary, Martha Ramsey, Samuel Woods, 
James Ramsey, Elizabeth, Joseph McCord, 
William Davidson, Agnes Rebecca and John 
Alfred. There were also three others who 
died in infancy. John, the first named child, 
died in his twenty-third year, and before his 
brother, John Alfred, the youngest child, 
was born. 

James Ramsey Means, the seventh child 
of this large family, was born at Newburg, 
Oct. 30, 1829, where he grev/ to manhood. 
His education was limited to the public 
schools of his native town, and for an avo- 
cation he learned the tanning trade with his 
father. His brothers preferring to do the 
work of the farm^ it fell to him to work 
steadily in the tannery, which he did until 
he was twenty-six years of age. Having 
become discouraged by the losses suffered 



94 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



frequently by floods, he concluded, soon 
after marriage, to relinquish tanning and 
engage at farming. 

On Sept. 20. 1855, James R. Means was 
married, by the Rev. Alexander K. Nelson, 
pastor of the Rocky Spring Presbyterian 
Church, to Susan Smith McClelland, daugh- 
ter of John McClelland and ]\Iartha Ann 
Cummins, his wife, and granddaughter of 
Thomas and Susan (Smith) McClelland. 
Thomas [McClelland was a son of Thomas 
McClelland, and his wife, Janet Trimble, 
who was the first white child born in the 
vicinity of Newburg. John McClelland died 
in 1859. at the age of fifty-four years; his 
wife died in 1883, at the age of sixty-nine, 
and both are buried in the graveyard of the 
Rocky Spring Church, Franklin county, of 
which church he was an elder, and in the 
vicinitv of which the Cummingses lived. The 
McClellands and the Smiths lived within the 
bounds of the Middle Spring Church. Mar- 
tha Ann Cummins was a daughter of Wil- 
liam and Catharine (Patton) Cummins, and 
a granddaughter of Charles Cummins. Cath- 
arine Patton, Susan McClelland"s maternal 
grandmother, was a daughter of Samuel 
Patton, who was a captain in Col. Joseph 
Armstrong's battalion in the war of the 
Revolution. Many of her Patton and Cum- 
mins ancestors are buried in the graveyard of 
the Rocky Spring Church, for whose main- 
tenance a grand uncle, Matdiew Patton, left 
a legacy. In the time of the Revolution the 
congregation of this church was both large 
and patriotic, and at the close of the war it 
was found that all its male members, except- 
ing one or two,, had been soldiers. 

In April, 1856, James R. Means moved 
to South Middleton township, three miles 
southwest of Carlisle, to a farm then belong- 
ing to his father, but of which he afterward 
acquired the ownership. Here he lived and 



farmed for many years. In different ways 
he greatly improved his propertv, and later 
bought an adji)ining farm. In 1893 he quit 
the farm, and moved to a home he pur- 
chased in Carlisle, where he contentedly 
spent the declining vears of his life. Like 
his ancestors for generations liefore him he 
was a devout Presbyterian. He was a mem- 
ber of the Second Presbyterian church of 
Carlisle, in which he was for many years a 
trustee. He died Dec. 4, 1901. and his re- 
mains were interred in Ashland cemetery. 

James R. and Susan ( ^IcClelland ) 
Means had children : Martha Jane, Mar- 
garetta Anna and Joseph James. The last 
named was born on Oct. 2},, 1873, and died 
April 7, 1876. The daughters are both 
graduates of Millersville State Normal 
School. Margaretta Anna is married, 
and Martha Jane and her widowed mother 
comprise all of the family now living in the 
pleasant home at 263 West South street, 
Carlisle. 

On Dec. 26, 1878. at Carlisle, :\Iarga- 
retta A. Means, daughter of James R. and 
Susan (McClelland) Aleans, was married 
to Prof. R. Willis Fair, son of James and 
Harriet (Smith) Fair, of Indiana county, 
Pa., Rev. George Norcross, D. D., perform- 
ing the ceremony. A hundred years ago 
the Fairs, the Smiths and the McClellands 
lived comparatively near each other, and it 
is probable that they knew of each other, 
and that they may in some way have been 
related. About that many years ago there 
lived in the Path Valley, which now is in- 
cluded in the laounds of Franklin ciiunty. a 
yottng man named Samuel Fair. With the 
general westward trend of emigration he 
drifted from that locality to Westmoreland 
countv. where he married Ann Campbell, 
who bore him sixteen children, ten of whom 
were sons. The oldest son — and second 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



95 



child — of Samuel and Ann (Campbell) 
Fair, was named James and married Har- 
riet Smith. 

At a correspondingly early date there 
lived in the Cumberland Vallev, not far from 
Sliippensburg, a man named Joseph Smith, 
who married Jenny ]McClure, and among 
nther children had a son named Daniel. This 
son Daniel was a sickle and scythe maker, 
and some time prior to 1 794 moved to Wash- 
ington county. Pa. From Washington coun- 
ty he moved to the vicinity of Blairsville, 
Indiana county, where he prospered, and in 
course of time became one of the wealthiest 
men of that section. He died in the year 
185 1, and is buried in the Bethel Presbyte- 
rian graveyard in Indiana county. Daniel 
Smith married, first, Elizabeth Blaine, who 
died early. Afterward he married IMrs. 
Jane ( Sibbet) Copley, and the only child of 
this second marriage was a daughter named 
Harriet, who }^Iarch 9, 1842, married James 
Fair, son of the aforesaid Samuel Fair. 

James and Harriet (Smith) Fair had 
nine children : Jane Elizabeth, Samuel, Dan- 
iel ^IcClure, Robert Willis. James Camp- 
bell, Alice, Harriet Smith, George Hill and 
May C. 

Robert Willis Fair, the fourth of 
these children, married Margaretta A. 
Means. He was born on Alarch 20, 1S51, 
near Blairsville, Indiana county, on a farm 
which then belonged to his grandfather, 
Daniel Smith. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of his native county, and at the 
Millersville State Normal School, graduat- 
ing at Millersville in the elementary course 
in 1875, and two years later in the scientific 
course in the State Normal School at In- 
diana, Pa. After his graduation he taught 
in the Millersville Normal School one year, 
and then was elected a member of the faculty 
of the Indiana State Normal School, where 



he taught for a period of twelve years. In 
1888 he resigned his position at Indiana, and 
with A. W. Wilson, Jr., established the Kis- 
kiminitas Spring School, at Saltsburg, West- 
moreland county, a private school for boys, 
which they have successfully conducted for 
si.xteen years. In 1892 the Western Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania conferred on Mr. 
Fair the degree of Ph. D. To Robert Willis 
and Margaretta (Means) Fair the following 
children have been born : Ethel Marian. 
James Means, Helen McClelland and Lois 
JNIargaret. Ethel is a member of the Junior 
class at V^assar College; James is a member 
of the Freshman class in Lehigh University ; 
and the other two are with their parents in 
their home by the Kiskiminitas, in West- 
moreland county. 

CLARENCE JACOB REDDIG, A. 

M.., M. A., one of the leading merchants and 
substantial men of Shippensburg, was born 
Nov. 4, 1855, in that city, and he has con- 
tinued to make it his home. He is a son of 
Jeremiah Burr Reddig. and comes of an old 
and honorable family. 

( I ) Henry Reddig, of German descent, 
was born May i, 1779, in Meyerstown, 
Berks Co., Pa., and married Julia Reinoehl, 
of Lebanon, Pa., June 7, 1804. Later in life, 
Henry Reddig moved to the vicinty of Mid- 
dlespring, Cumberland county, Pa., and 
there passed away, Jan. 22, 1855. 

(II) Jeremiah Burr Reddig, son of 
Henry, was born at his father's homestead, 
near Middlespring, Oct. 28, 1825. When but 
a boy of fourteen, on March i, 1840, he made 
his way to Shippensburg, and by persistence 
obtained a position in a dry goods store. 
For some years the lad worked along this 
line, and then in January, 1851, he with his 
brother Jacob, was oft'ered a partnership in 
the dry goods establishment at the north- 



96 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



east corner of Mail and Railroad streets, 
owned by Joseph P. Nevin. This offer was 
accepted, and the firm of Nevin & Reddig 
was organized. In 1857, the brothers bought 
the interest of Mr. Nevin as well as the real 
estate upon which the store 'was located. 
The style of the firm was changed to J. & 
J. B. Reddig, and the Reddig name has been 
continued in the dry goods business at the 
same location for more than half a century. 
In 1888 the brothers transferred their in- 
terests to the four sons of J. Burr Reddig, 
whose hand had safely guided the house 
through many a financial storm, and the 
firm name adopted was the Reddig Com- 
pany. 

On Jan. 30, 1849, Mr. Reddig married 
Barbara Ann Heck, daughter of John and 
Lydia ( Cressler) Heck, who died Jan. 29, 
1890. Four sons were born of this mar- 
riage : William E. ; Clarence J. ; Albert B. ; 
and Charles H. Mr. Reddig was a man of 
genial disposition, and was courteous and 
pleasing in manner. All his life,he was indus- 
trious, persevering, ambitious, and capable 
of carrying out his designs. His executive 
ability and keen, business judgment were 
phenomenal, and yet in all his transactions 
he was conservative and strictly honorable. 
The house he built to such proportions, is 
scarcely second to any in the Cumberland 
Valley. Not only was he a shrewd business 
man, but Mr. Reddig had another side to his 
character. On Jan. 5, 1850, ne joined the 
E\'angelical Lutheran Church at Snippens- 
burg, and remained its leading support 
until his death. Liberal to a fault, he con- 
tributed generously toward the erection of 
the handsome Memorial Lutheran Church, 
and bis contributions were made in both time 
and money, the former being as valuable as 
the latter. He was chairman of the building 
committee of the church, while his brother 



Jacob was treasurer of the committee. The 
four-dial tower clock was the gift of Jacob 
and J. B. Reddig, while Mr. Jacob Reddig 
bestowed upon the church the magnificent 
pipe organ of twenty-seven pipes, built by 
Odell, of New York. For thirty years this 
most excellent man was a teacher in the Sun- 
day School, and for many years was secre- 
tary of the church council. Althousrh he 
never held a public office, he was trustee of 
the State Normal School of Shippensburg. 
On March 31, 1899, this able and suc- 
cessful business man, great financier and be- 
loved and honored member of the church, 
passed awav, leaving the community stricken 
with sorrow and his family prostrated. 
Every hono'- which loving hearts, and a com- 
munity which valued him at his true worth, 
could devise, was paid his remains, and his 
memory is kept green in the citv where he 
labored and his good works show forth. 

Clarence Jacob Reddig was educated 
in the public schools of Shippensburg, 
being graduated as valedictorian of the high 
school class of fS/i, and at the age of 
eighteen years entered the Freshman class 
of Pennsylvania College, Gettysburg, Pa., 
in September, 1873, ^^ith a view of prepar- 
ing for a professional career. After three 
years of faithful study, with extra work in 
fraternity and literary societies, his health 
failed, and he was compelled to relinquish 
the completing of his college course, and his 
cherished plans for a chosen profession. 
After a year's recuperation, he decided to 
enter the mercantile business and therefore 
took a full course at Eastman's Business 
College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., receiving the 
degree of Master of Accounts in 1877. Prop- 
erly equipped for business, he returned to , 
Shippensburg, and established The Peoples 
Cash Store, in 1878, which he successfully 
conducted until 1886, when the business 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



97 



houses of J. and J. B. Reddig and tlie Peo- 
ples Cash Store were united, and conducted 
luider the firm name of J. and J. B. Reddig 
& Sons. \\'ith tlie different changes of the 
firm since 1886, Clarence J. Reddig has re- 
mained identified with it, and in 1894, he 
became owner of the original Nevin-Reddig 
real estate, which included the store prop- 
erty, as well as the Reddig corner property, 
where the post office is now located, and 
which was also the Reddig mansion home. 

While .It college Mr. Reddig was a char- 
ter member of Pennsylvania Beta Chapter of 
the Phi Delta Theta fraternity, and was del- 
egate of the same to the national convention 
held at Philadelphia in 1876; to Wooster; 
Ohio, in 1878; to Indianapolis in 1880, and 
to Richmond, Va., in 1882. He held the 
highest offices in the gift of the fraternity, 
being national president from 1878 to 1880, 
and national treasurer from 1880 to 1882. 
In the fields of literature, he has contributed 
to three editions of the song book of his fra- 
ternity, including the "Greeting" and "Part- 
ing" Centennial song, written for the re- 
union in Philadelphia in 1876. He is a fre- 
quent contributor to the public press, and a 
careful historian in collecting data of events. 
His alma mater, Pennsylvania College, Get- 
tysburg, gave him his honorary degree of 
Master of Arts in 1896. 

Mr. Reddig joined the Evangelical Luth- 
eran Church, Jan. 22, 1871, and for over 
thirtv vears has been a very liberal contribu- 
tor, and for twenty-five years was an earnest 
Sunday School worker. For ten years, from 
187S to 1887, he took an active part in Coun- 
ty and State Sunday school work, being an 
organizer of superior ability, and was record- 
ing secretary for five years ; statistical secre- 
tary four years, and president one year of 
the Cumberland County Sunday School As- 
sociation, and for three years a member of 
7 



the Pennsylvania State Executive Commit- 
tee, being president of the Fourth District 
of the State, and was one of the first advo- 
cates of the Chautaucjua idea in connection 
with the County Sunday School Convention, 
which developed into the Cumberland Val- 
ley Sunday School Assembly. 

On Oct. 17, 1882, Mr. Reddig was mar- 
ried to Eva Dolores Mansfield, only child of 
Albert and Harriet (Munson) Mansfield, 
both of English origin, the father being for 
forty years superintendent of the Mt. Holly 
Paper Mills at Mt. Holly Springs. On the 
mother's side, Mrs. Reddig is descended 
from Revolutionary stock, her great-grand- 
father having served in the Revolutionary 
army. Her line of ancestors is also traced 
back to Thomas Munson, of English de- 
scent, who was one of the first settlers of 
New Haven, Conn., in 1638. Mrs. Reddig 
is a lady of great refinement and takes an 
active part in social affairs. She was a mem- 
ber of the Ladies Auxiliary of the World's 
Fair Committee from Cumberland county. 
Two children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Reddig : Eva Pearl Mansfield, born 
June 7, 1885, who now attends Dickinson 
College, Carlisle, Pa. ; and Clarence Mans- 
field, born June 3, 1892, a student of the 
Cumberland Valley State Normal School. 
In politics, Mr. Reddig was a Republican, 
and took an active part in the campaigns, 
supporting Garfield and Blaine, and was a 
friend of Harrison, from all three of whom 
he has autograph letters. He joined the in- 
dependent Republican movement in 1884, 
engaged in the local option contest of the 
same year, and in 1886 supported Hon. 
Charles S. Wolf, the Prohibition candidate 
for governor, and was secretary of the State 
Prohibition Committee for four years, 1886 
to 1889. By reason of his wide knowl- 
edge of public men and his practical 



98 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



business and political ideas, he was 
selected as secretary of the Pennsylva- 
nia Non-Partisan amendment committee 
in 1889, with headquarters in Philadelphia, 
which position he tilled with great effitiency, 
and he was regarded as a "most systematic 
secretary comliining discretion and judg- 
ment with zeal for the cause of Prohibition." 

Public-spirited, aggressive and progres- 
sive, Mr. Reddig is a practical citizen and 
business man. and for three years he was 
secretary of the Shippensburg Manufactur- 
ing Company, of which he was a charter 
member, a period continuing from 1889 to 
1 89 1. In 1S90, he organized the Shippens- 
burg Electric Light Company, and was 
treasurer of the same from its organization 
until 1896. Mr. Reddig is past regent of 
the Shippensburg Council, No. 995, Royal 
Arcanum, and has done much to make his 
council one of strength and influence. Amid 
a busy mercantile life, he finds time to keep 
in touch with the leading events of the day, 
and daily takes time for reading and study. 
He is a careful, judicious reader, :i clear 
thinker, a logical reasoner and a good public 
speaker. 

The Reddig family has been identified 
with the mercantile afifairs of the city for 
many years and has made an indeliljle 
mark upon the trade interests of Shippens- 
burg for a period of more than fifty years. 
\\'ith a business experience built upon the 
principles of integrity and honesty, incul- 
cated l)y an honored father and uncle, Mr. 
Reddig holds a high place in the favor and 
confidence of the public, and with his pro- 
gressi\e. energetic and systematic dealings, 
he well merits the success which attends him. 

JOHN ZEAMER. On Nov. 9, 1738, 
there arrived at the port of Philadelphia 
from Rotterdam a ship named the "Charm- 



ing Nancy." She was commanded by 
Charles Stedman. and among the immi- 
grants she had on board was one whose 
name was entered upon the ofircial records 
as Jeremiah Zamer. It is not kncnvn whether 
this young German immigrant settled, but 
it is prolxijjle that it was in Brecknock town- 
ship, Lancaster county, for it is in that part 
of the country that he is next heard from. 
When, in 1752, Berks county was formed, 
the new county line divided Brecknock, mak- 
ing two townships of that name, one for 
Lancaster and one for Berks county. On 
April II, 1763, this same immigrant, then a 
full-grown antl mature man, was natural- 
ized before Judges Allen and Coleman, at 
Philadelphia, and he was then entered upon 
the records as Jeremiah Zimmer, of Breck- 
nock township, Berks county. 

Jeremiah Zimmer remained in Breck- 
nock township, Berks county, to the end of 
his days, and became the progenitor of num- 
erous descendants, some of whom yet live in 
the vicinity in which he first settled. The 
public records show that the proprietaries of 
the Province in Januarv. 1765. patented 
to him 218 acres of lan'd, lying in Breck- 
nock township, 172 acres of which he in 
November, 1787, conveyed to his son, Henry 
Zimmer. A part of this same tract of land 
is still in his name, being owned and oc- 
cupied by Peter Ziemer, a great-grandson. 

Jeremiah Zimmer made his will on Nov. 
20, 1793, which was probated in the Berks 
county courts on March 14, 1796, and re- 
corded in German. In it his name is spelled 
Ziemer. which form all of his descendants 
yet living in Berks county, and some who 
live in other parts of the country, still prefer. 
In his will he names his son, Heinrich, whom 
he made his executor, a daughter, Christina, 
and a son-in-law, Andrew Bogart. The 
Heinrich Ziemer of the will is the Henrv 



THE TJEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AprOB, LENOX AND 

XttDES FOUNDATIONS 

B h 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



99 



Zimmer to whom Jeremiah Zimmer in 1787 
deeded 172 acres of land. 

Henrich Ziemer married Catharine 

, and had issue five children, 

namel)- : John, born Feb. 5. 1773; Henry; 
Catharine, born ]\Iarch 17, 1776; Jeremiah, 
Jan. 25, 1778; and Peter, Nov. 21, 1778. 
Heinrich Ziemer died July 9, 1822 ; his wife, 
Catharine, died May 12, 1827, and both are 
buried in the graveyard of the Allegheny 
Union Church, in Brecknock. On his tomb- 
stone the name is Johan Heinrich Ziemer. 
Jeremiah Ziemer (Zimmer, Zamer) is likely 
also buried in the same graveyard, as it has 
been a place of interment for that section 
since in 1767, at which time the first church 
building was erected there. The subject of 
this sketch was a grandson of Johan Hein- 
rich Ziemer, and was nine years old when 
his grandfather died. He cannot recall of 
ever having seen him, but remembers that he 
was nearly always spoken of by the name of 
Henry only. He better remembers his 
grandmother, who died five years later. Af- 
ter her husband's death she lived with Peter, 
her youngest son. and died in his home. 
Johan Heinrich Ziemer was a large man, re- 
markable for his physical strength and great 
powers of endurance, and stories concerning 
his feats linger yet among the traditions of 
the locality in which his lifetime was spent. 

Jeremiah, the fourth child of Johan 
Heinrich Ziemer, and grandson of Jere- 
miah, the immigrant, married Regina Gep- 
hart, also of Brecknock township, but of 
whose family history little is known. They 
had issue as follows : Catharine, born in De- 
cember, 1808, died in July, 1896; Isaac, 
born Aug. 27, 1810, died Feb. 24, 1883; 
John, born May 9, 1813; Margaret, Oct. 19, 
1815, died March i, 1892: Henry, March 2, 
1819, died Feb. 21, 1899; and Harriet, born 
April 16, 1827. About the year 1822 Jere- 



miah Ziemer moved from Berks county to 
the vicinity of Churchtown, Lancaster 
county, where for ten years he engaged in 
farming as a renter. In 1832 he moved to 
a short distance west of Lancaster city, to a 
farm owned by William Jenkins, a Lancaster 
lawyer. There he lived for five years. In 
the spring of 1837 he removed to a farm on 
Conoy creek, near Bainbridge, and the fol- 
lowing spring to the vicinity of the ore banks 
on Chestnut Hill, in West Hempfield town- 
ship, where he lived for two years, and then 
removed to Cumberland county. 

When Jeremiah Ziemer moved from 
Berks to Lancaster county his son John went 
to live with his uncle Peter, who then was in 
possession of the original Ziemer homestead, 
consisting of part of the land which Jeremiah 
Ziemer, the immigrant, obtained from the 
Penns in 1765. He remained with his uncle 
one year and then w^ent to the home of his 
parents in Lancaster county. When near 
fourteen years of age he was hired to a 
neighboring farmer, with whom he re- 
mained one year. Next he hired with a 
farmer who had a team constantly on the 
road doing hauling to Philadelphia and other 
points. The driver of this team unexpect- 
edly quit, and, as the boy John had proven 
himself handy with the farm horses, he was 
temporarily given charge of the road team. 
He first did hauling about home, and did it so 
well that his employer considered that it was 
safe to send him to Philadelphia with the 
team, and to Philadelphia he went. On his 
first trip, a neighbor, also driving a team, 
accompanied him and gave him some at- 
tention, but after that the bfiy drove regu- 
larly to Philadelphia and back without at* 
tention or assistance from any one. He re- 
mained with this employer nearly four years, 
teaming on the road almost constantly. As 
a result he grew up among horses, and 



»>f>ni^AriU 



lOO 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



horses and teaming Ijecame tCi him an in- 
fatuation tliat remained with b.im through 
all of his long lifetime. Wdien he quit the 
services of the man who had initiated him 
into the art of team dri\-ing he went home, 
and through the following winter and spring 
drove his father's team between Church- 
town and Philadelphia. It was while the 
family lived at Churchtown that the spelling 
of the name was changed from Ziemer to 
Zeamer. 

During the five years the family lived in 
Lancaster, John Zeamer drove his father's 
team constantly. The railroad from Phila- 
delphia to Columbia was then being built and 
he hauled much material for contractors en- 
gaged upon its construction. Columbia at 
that time was a great stopping-place for rafts 
from the upper Susquehanna river, and the 
young teamster found much to do at haul- 
ing lumber from Columbia to Lancas- 
ter and Philadelphia, and whiskey from 
Lancaster to Columbia, whence it was 
shipped down the river in arks and 
up the river in canal-boats. He passed 
the most impressible period of his ex- 
istence at Lancaster and absorbed so much of 
its life and activities that he became essen- 
tially a Lancasterian. In after years he in a 
large measure practiced Lancasterian meth- 
ods and judged men and things by the Lan- 
casterian standards. 

At Bainbridge the pressure of farm work 
did not permit of much teaming on the road 
and his time was almost entirely occupied 
on the farm. On Chestnut Hill it was differ- 
ent. There the ore banks, that afterward 
became so famous, were being opened and 
afforded hauling to all the teams for miles 
around. A Zeamer team, driven by John 
Zeamer, was regularly on the road hauling 
ore to Columbia, whence it was shipped by 
river and canal to furnaces, and the fine ap- 



pearance of the team, and the heavy loads it 
hauled, gave its driver a reputation that 
secured him a lucrative position with one of 
the wealthiest team owners on Chestnut Hill. 
This employer he ser\'ed for eighteen 
months, by which time the family concluded 
upon another removal. For some time there 
had been a general trend of population to the 
westward, and while Jeremiah Zeamer and 
his oldest son were on a visit to some friends 
who had drifted into the Cumberland Val- 
ley they bought a farm in the nurthern part 
of Silver Spring township. Cumberland 
county, to which they moved in the spring 
of 1840. 

In wagoning to Philadelphia from Lan- 
caster. John Zeamer became acquainted with 
two young teamsters from the vicinity of 
[Marietta, named \\'illiam and Samuel Hart- 
man. They became friends, and afterward, 
when on a visit to Marietta in quest of some 
hauling. John Zeamer met Samuel Hartman, 
who. after giving him some attention, asked 
him to the home of his parents for supper. 
He accepted the invitation and it proved an 
epoch in his histon'. for on that occasion 
he met Susanna, sister of William and Sam- 
,uel Hartman. who on April 12, 1838. at the 
hands of Rev. H. B. Shaffner, pastor of the 
Reformed Church at Marietta, became his 
wife. Susanna Hartman was the daughter 
of Peter Hartman and Anna Maria Voneida, 
his wife, and was born June 25. 1812. near 
Adamstown. Lancaster county. Peter Hart- 
man in his early tlays was a cooper and later 
engaged in distilling. Through bailing 
friends he failed in business and to re- 
cuperate his fortune he changed his calling 
and location. He rented a farm on the 
Chickies Creek, south of Mount Joy. 
where he lived for se\-eral years, and 
then moved to a farm at the edge of 
Marietta, owned l)v David Rinehart. When 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



lOI 



his sons became young men they, too. be- 
came wagoners and did hauling to and from 
Philadelphia. 

The farm which Jeremiah Zeamer 
bought in Silver Spring township had upon 
it two houses, one located at its farther edge 
close by the foot of the North Mountain. 
Into that house John Zeamer mo\-ed with his 
wife and year-old babe early in the spring 
of 1840. Coming from a thickly populated 
section and settling in a secluded spot in a 
new country, where neighbors were few and 
all strange, was a radical transition, and 
years elapsed before they became reconciled 
to the changed conditions. Instead of driv- 
ing a fine team on crowded turnpike roads 
John Zeamer was now chopping wood, split* 
ting rails, building fences, digging ditches, 
quarrying stone and burning lime to fertil- 
ize the barren acres which his father had im- 
prudently bought. He worked under the 
most discouraging circumstances, and when 
the prospect was at its darkest fell sick and 
came near dying. iMedical skill and the care- 
ful, tender nursing of his devoted wife, how- 
ever, brought him back to health and he lived 
to see happier days. After four years a 
neighbor whose confidence and respect he 
had won offered to rent him his farm. It 
was a tempting opportunity, but he hesitated, 
for he had not as much as five dollars toward 
buying stock and implements for the under- 
taking. But a way was found and in the 
spring of 1844 he began farming. Jeremiah 
Zeamer had an old gray mare thiit came over 
from the ore bank team on Chestnut Hill. 
He also had a black mare that was blind, and 
these two decrepit creatures John Zeamer 
bought to begin farming with, agreeing to 
pay for them $25 each. On an equally cheap 
and simple scale he acquired cattle, sheep 
and implements, and when once he had got 
fairly started he found the undertaking 



easier than he had anticipated. In four 
years" time he made sufficient progress on 
that little farm to rent a large farm in the 
lower end of the township, where he suc- 
ceeded far beyond his expectations, accumu- 
lating stock and implements and reducing 
his indebtedness. After another four years 
he was able to rent a larger farm in the same 
neighborhood, but in the adjoining township 
of Hampden, where he farmed for thirteen 
years, all the while making steady progress. 
To his natural fondness for horses he could 
now give free rein, and he at one time had a 
team of six Jarge blacks, well trained and in 
good condition. And so careful was he of 
them that no one in his employ was per- 
mitted to drive them. He always drove 
them himself and considered it trifling to 
haul small loads. When hauling lime from 
beyond the Conedoguinet, or grain to Me- 
chanicsburg, or flittings in the spring of the 
year, every horse had to be groomed till he 
glistened and properly hitched so the team 
would pass muster before the most critical 
judges. Whene\'er there were a number of 
teams in the line, as in case of a flitting, his, 
by general consent, was always given the 
lead; and when in the neighborhood there 
arose a question about horses and heavy 
hauling his judgment was almost always con- 
sulted and nearly always ruled. 

In the spring of 1865 he made an im- 
portant change. He was now fifty-two 
years old and physically had seen his best 
days, so to lighten his labors and cares he 
reduced his stock and rented a smaller place. 
He removed from Hampden to Monroe 
township, in the vicinity of Locust Point. 
Here he farmed four years and then had 
sale and quit, after having farmed rented 
farms continuously for twenty-five years. 
Bv this time most of his children had reached 
maturity and left home. His family had 



I02 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



dwindled to a few memljers and to relieve 
the growing lonesomeness he moved to the 
village of Chnrchtown, and fiir a while tried 
living in retirement. It was the second time 
in his experience that he had met with a 
Churchtown. Before another year had gone 
he bought a little farm a mile west from 
Churchtown, which he made his home for 
the next twenty-three years. 

It wMs circumstances that led John 
Zeamer to leave his former moorings and 
settle in Cumberland county. The change 
was against his judgment, but once made he 
never went back to Lancaster county, as did 
the other members of his father's family. He, 
however, sometimes contemplated moving 
farther west or south. About the year 1846 
he and a neighbor made a horseback trip into 
the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, visiting- 
Harper's Ferry, Charlestown, Winchester 
and other points in that section. He was so 
well pleased with the country that he after- 
ward made a second trip on a visit. In 1855 
he w'ent West, visiting Ohio, Michigan, Illi- 
nois and Indiana, bringing back with him 
very favoraljle impressions of the ^Vest and 
its grand opportunities, but he thought it 
wise to let well enough alone and remained 
in the Cumberland Valley. At the close of 
the Civil war he and a friend made a visit 
to eastern Virginia, but what they saw there 
was not sufficiently tempting to induce them 
to locate or invest, and so he ended his days 
in the section to which circumstances had 
brought him. 

In January, 1849, John Zeamer' s mother, 
Regina (Gephart) Zeamer, died in the sixty- 
third year of her age. She was buried in the 
graveyard where now is the Stone Church 
on the State road, in Silver Spring township. 
After her death, her husband, Jeremiah 
Zeamer, made his home with his eldest son, 
Isaac. In March, 1852, Isaac Zeamer moved 



back to Lancaster county, and a few days 
after reaching his new home, Jeremiah 
Zeamer died at the age of seventy-four years. 
His remains were buried in a little private 
graveyard near the banks of the Chickies 
creek, in Rapho township. He was more 
than six feet tall, of powerful build, and 
weighed over three hundred pounds. Llis 
large form, great strength and good humor 
were subjects of comment wherever he went. 
The little farm near Churchtown, which 
John Zeamer purchased in 1870, was a place 
adapted to his years and strength, and he 
there spent his declining years reasonably 
contented and happy until the death of his 
wife, which occurred July 16, 1889, '^^ the 
age of seventy-seven years. Her remains 
were laid to rest in the Longsdorf graveyard 
in Silver Spring township, where a daugnter 
and her entire family had already been 
buried. Susanna (Hartman) Zeamer was 
a kind and loving wife and mother, modest 
and affectionate, but the most marked of all 
her admirable qualities was her piety. After 
the death of his wife John Zeamer continued 
(in the farm with his vonngest daughter till 
in the spring of 1893, when he moved to 
Carlisle, that he might be convenient to more 
of his children. He had now passed four- 
score years of life and while he was compar- 
atively strong it was yet apparent that he 
was rapidly approaching the end. Naturally 
in his closing years he became indifferent to 
the affairs of the world, l)ut he retained 
his interest in horses until the last and owned 
one as long as he could give him attention. 
He died May 19, 1903, aged ninety years 
and ten days, and his remains were buried 
by the side of his wife in the Longsdorf 
graveyard. Physically John Zeamer was a 
large man, and while in his prime \t\-y 
strong. He was a little over six feet tall, 
straight as an arrow, and well proportioned 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



103 



both in form and weight. Never having had 
tlie ad\-antages of the schools he lacked book 
learning-, bnt the varied and trying experi- 
ences of his early life gave him a practical 
education that served him well in his inter- 
course with men, and his opinions and ac- 
tions always commanded respect. Integrity 
was an especially strong trait in his charac- 
ter, and with people who knew him his ver- 
bal promise made his bond superfluous. He 
was a Democrat and as firm and consistent 
in his political convictions and practices as 
in other respects. He belonged to the Re- 
formed Church, which was the church of his 
ancestors, as it was also the church of his 
wife's family. 

John and Susan (Hartman) Zeamer 
had issue seven children, viz. : Mary, born 
April 4, 1839; Jeremiah, April 5, 1842: 
Sarah, Aug. 10, 1844; Harriet, 1847; Chris- 
tiana, Dec. 22, 1850 (died March 5, 1852) ; 
Susan, March 7, 1853; and John Henry, 
Jan. 12, 1856. 

Mary married Charles Miller, of Perry 
county, by whom she had three children, 
only one of whom is living. In October, 
1873, Charles Miller was killed at :Mary- 
ville while in the employ of the Pennsylvania 
Railway Company. Frank H. Miller, her 
surviving son, married Alta Diener, and has 
issue two daughters. 

Jeremiah, the second child, remained 
upon the farm until his twenty-first year, 
when he began teaching school, teaching his 
first year in West Hempfield township, Lan- 
caster county. Afterward he took a course 
at the Millersville State Normal School, 
where he graduated in 1868. He then 
taught and read law until 1872, when he was 
admitted to the Cumberland County Bar. 
In the spring of 1873 he was elected cashier 
of the Columbia Deposit Bank, which posi- 
tion he held until December, 1878, when he 



resigned to purchase the American I'ohin- 
tccr, a newspaper at Carlisle which he owned 
and edited for twenty-two years. Since re- 
linquishing newspaper work he has been 
doing special writing, principally of an his- 
torical character. In August, 1871, he mar- 
ried Isabella B. Benner, of North Coventry, 
Chester county, who has borne him two chil- 
dren, Maud and Jay. Maud is a graduate 
of Dickinson College, holding the A. B. and 
A. M. degrees from that institution. She 
has also done post-graduate work at Colum- 
bia University, and for five years past has 
been engaged in teaching-, being now vice- 
principal of the Carlisle high school. She 
was married to John H. P. Keat, and has 
one son, Harold, born Jan. 16, 1896. Jay 
is a stenographer and clerk in the employ of 
the Mexican National Railroad Company, in 
the City of Mexico, Mexico. 

Sarah, the third child, married Jacob 
Barnhill, by whom she had three children. 
She and her husband and all her children 
are dead. They are buried in the Longsdorf 
graveyard. 

Harriet, the fourth child, married George 
\V. Reeser, of Upper Allen township, by 
whom she has three children, two daughters 
and a son. The eldest, Lizzie, is married to 
Robert Armstrong, and has issue one daugh- 
ter, Pauline. The son, Richard, is a grad- 
uate of Jefferson Medical College, and for 
several years has been surgeon on the Penns- 
sylvania school ship "Saratoga." The 
youngest child, Susan Gertrude, is at home. 
George W. Reeser and family at present live 
in Mechanicsburg. 

Susan, the sixth child, is unmarried and 
is living with her sister, Mrs. Mary Miller, 
in Boslertown, a suburb of Carlisle. Since 
October, 1893, she has been an instructor 
in the sewing department of the Carlisle In- 
dian School. 



I04 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



John Henry learned the blacksmith's 
trade and followed blacksmithing for thir- 
teen vears, for a number of years in the town 
of Median icsliurg. He afterward went into 
the livery business in Mechanicsburg which 
he has l:)een conducting successfully for 
twenty years. 

Such is the biography of John Zeamer, 
written and respectfully submitted by one of 
his family. 

JOHN BL,\n^ DAVIDSON, bank 
cashier, and a very prominent man of New- 
ville, comes of an old and honoraljle family 
of this locality, his family history being re- 
corded as follows : 

( I) John Davidson was one of the first 
to take up land in West Pennsboro township, 
and his farm is still in the possession of a 
descendant, James A. Davidson. John Dav- 
idson was born in 1743, and died in 1823. 

(II) John Da\'idson (2), son of Jnhn 
(i), was born in 1772, married Elizabeth 
Young, and died in 1810, his widow dying 
in 1823. They had five children, — Eleanor. 
John Young. Samuel. Nancv and \\^illiam. 

(III) Samuel Davidson, son of John 
(2), was born April 20, 1804, and after ob- 
taining such education as the schools of that 
day afforded went to Carlisle, and learned 
the trade of tanner with Andrew Blair. 
Mastering his trade, he came to Newville, 
and worked in a tannery which he soon 
bought, operating it for a number of years. 
An upright, hard-working, generous man, 
he often assisted others to his own loss. 

On Oct. 19. 1830, Samuel Davidson 
married Catherine Leckey, who was born 
May 21, 1807, daughter of Alexander 
Leckey, of West Pennsboro township. To 
this union were born three children : Alex- 
ander Leckey, who died in 1852 ; John Blair: 
and Elizabeth A., who lives at Newville. 



The father died in August, 1880, tb.e mother 
in Ajjrd of the >ame year. For fiirt\-lour 
years he was elder of the Big Spring Presby- 
terian Church, and be was a thoruughly 
good man. 

John lilair Davidson was born Dec. 24, 
1833, in Newville, Pa., and after attending 
the common schools comi)leted his education 
at Jefferson College, in ^^'ashington county. 
Pa., graduating in 1852. For the following 
ten years he taught school, and then entered 
the Quartermaster's Department at W'ash- 
ington, remaining five and nne-half vears, 
and learning those methodical haliits he has 
ever since found so useful. In 1869 he re- 
turned to Newville and entered the First 
National Bank, in 1882 receiving promotion 
to the responsible position of cashier, 
which he still holds, discharging his onerous 
duties with faithful accuracy. 

In October. 1857, Mr. Davitlson mar- 
ried iMargaret Ellen, daughter of William 
Burnside. of Center county. Pa. One of the 
early members of the family. Thomas, a 
great-uncle of Mrs. Davidson, became a 
judge of the Supreme court of Pennsylvania. 

The Davidson family are all members of 
the Big Spring Pre.sbyterian Church. Mr. 
Davidson's career has been char-acterized by 
straightforward methods throughout. He is 
unremitting at his work, and has many 
friends among those he has served for so 
many years, and, in fact, all over Cumber- 
land county. 

WILLIAM E. SWILER, M. D. In 
October, 1751, there came to America in the 
ship "Queen of Denmark," a George 
Schweiler. 

In September. 1752. there came in the 
ship "Nancy." a Jacob Schweiler. 

In October. 1753. there came in the ship 
"Louisa," a Johan Christian Schweiler. 







m 




m 


/'\ 


:^K;*-^ 


. J 


' ■''"i^^w"' ^"~ 




-t 


s^^ 








THE NEW YOUK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



105 



These three immigrants shipped from 
Rotterdam and diseml^arked at Pliiladelpliia, 
wliere their r.ames were entered upon the offi- 
cial records. As their first names have been 
perpetuated tlirough several generations in 
the different branches of the family, it is 
probable that the three men were Ijrothers, 
though they did not cross the ocean at the 
same time. The third of these brothers set- 
tled in Lancaster county, where he married 

Susannah , and engaged in farming. 

In course of time his name became adjusted 
to its new environments. The name Johan 
was dropped, as was generally done in Gei"- 
man names after those who bore them asso- 
ciated for awhile with English speaking peo- 
ple. Also the German form Schweiler, in 
vsdiich it stands recorded in the archives. 
became Anglicised into Swiler. He lived 
in Lancaster county almost forty years, by 
which time he had quite a good sized family, 
and realized that liy moving farther to the 
westward he could more easily provide for 
them. 

In August. 1748, there was patented to 
Edwartl Shippen, a tract of land in East 
Pennsboro township, then in Lancaster coun- 
ty, containing 196 acres. Edward Shippen 
conveyed it to Rev. Richard Peters, whose 
executor, Richard Peters, Esq., of Belmont, 
Philadelphia county, on March 30, 1792, for 
the sum of £467, los, conveyed it to Chris- 
tian Lawerswyler, of Lancaster county. This 
Christian Lawerswyler was no other than 
the aforenamed Christian Swiler, the name 
having been distorted probably through a 
whim of the scrivener who drew up the con- 
veyance. There were other Lawerswylers in 
the province, some of wdiom were prominent, 
but Christian Swiler never wrote his name 
Lawerswyler. Once in transferring part of 
the land which was conveyed to him as 
Lawerswyler he signed it Christian L. Swi- 



ler, but in receipting on the same deed for 
the money paid him he wrote it simply Chris- 
tian Swiler. This land lies to the north of 
the Conedoguinet creek in the eastern part 
of what is now Silver Spring township, 
Cumberland county. It remained in the 
Swiler name till 1859, when in the settle- 
ment of the estate of the second Christian 
Swiler, it was sold to Samuel Eshelnian. 
Christian Swiler and his family moved from 
Lancaster county to this farm in 1793, and 
lived there until his death, in 1857. He had 
children as follows : Jacob, Matthias, John, 
Christian, Catharine and Elizabeth. All of 
these six children grew • to manhood and 
womanhood, married and reared families, 
and some of their descendants figured prom- 
inentlv in the affairs of the country, but it 
is the object of this sketch to dwell princi- 
pally upon the genealogical line of the son 
Christian. 

Christian Swiler was bora in Lancaster 
county July 4, 1782, and was only a little 
more than ten years old wdien the family 
came to Cumberland county. He always 
lived on and near the homestead which his 
father purchased in 1792. Although a 
farmer, and giving much attention to the 
cultivation and improvement of his acres, 
he had, during the active period of his life, 
mucli~to do with the settling up of estates 
and other business. He also took a deep in- 
terest in public affairs, and was a prominent 
figure socially and politically in his part of 
the county. He was constable for East 
Pennsboro township for nine consecutive 
years, and discharged the duties of the posi- 
tion with an intelligence and fidelity that 
won him flattering compliments from the 
court, and also from the public. 

When the Swilers settled in East Penns- 
boro, there was already living there a fam- 
ily of English nationality named Hume. 



io6 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



They were among the earliest settlers of the 
sectii)!!, Wihiam Hume, tlie first of the name, 
having come there prior to 1774. Wilham 
Hume had a son named James, who was a 
soldier in the war of the Revolution, and 
served as a private in Capt. fohn McTeer's 
Company of Cumberland County Militia, 
called into service in Jul)', 1777. Along with 
the distinction of having been a Revolution- 
ary soldier. James Hume was a prominent 
citizen. He owned a large amr)unt of land, 
and engaged in farming, also carrying on 
tanning and other enterprises, and did much 
toward the development of the country. 
James Hume married Frances Robinson, of 
Maryland, and by her had ten children, six 
sons and four daughters. The sons were 
Samuel. William, James, Andrew, John and 
David. The daughters were, Ann, Isabella, 
Frances and Jane. James Hume died in 
June, 181 1, his wife, in March, 1841, and 
both were Ijuried in the graveyard of the 
Silver Spring Church. Their lands descended 
to their children, some of whom lived out all 
their days in the immediate locality in which 
their ancestors settled when they first came 
to America. The settling of families in the 
same neighborhood established social rela- 
tions which grew and strengthened with 
time. This was the case with the Swilers 
of German and the Humes of English de- 
scent. Christian, son of Christian and Su- 
sannah Swiler, married Ann, daughter of 
James and Frances Hume, and by her had 
children as follows: (i) James, born Jan. 
7, 1807, died Sept. 20, 1869. (2) John, 
born Aug. 9, 1809, died Dec. 25, 1839. (3) 
Susan, born Dec. 15, 1S13, died Nov. 7, 
1866. (4) Josiah, born Jan. 22, 181 7, died 
Sept. 15, 1 89 1. (5) David Hume, born July 
16, 1819, died July 25, 1894. 

John Swiler the second son of Christian 
and Ann ( Hume) Swiler, grew to manhood 



in the locality in which he was born, with 
such training as fell to the lot of country 
boys at that day. Being naturally of a Ijright 
mind, he accjuired kno\\dedge notwithstand- 
ing' the unfavorable conditions in which he 
was placed, and became a teacher. It being 
prior to the era of free schools, and the 
school term being short, he engaged at farm- 
ing, along with his intellectual pursuits. On 
Feb. 9, 1832, John Swiler was married to 
Isabella Eckels, the ceremony being per- 
formed by Rev. James Williamson, pastor 
of the Silver Spring Presbyterian Church. 
Isabella Eckels was the eldest child of Wil- 
liam and Rebecca (Huston) Eckels, and a 
descendant of two of the oldest and most 
prominent Scotch-Irish families of that part 
of the country, the Eckelses having located 
in East Pennsboro in 1 779, and the Hustons 
some time prior to 1752. John and Isabella 
(Eckels) Swiler had issue as follows: (i) 
A\'illiam Eckels: (2) Josiah Huston, born 
July 22, 1835, died Oct. 11, 1901 ; (3) John 
Christopher, born Sept. 18, 1839. 

William Eckels Swiler, the eldest of 
these three children, was born Oct. 2^, 1833, 
on Chestnut Hill, one and one-half miles due 
south of Mechanicsburg, on a property 
which then fronted on the road which leads 
to Shepherdstown. The buildings of the 
place have long ago disappeared, and there 
now is no trace of where they once stood. 
His parents lived there but a short time. 
That same fall the}- moved to the north of 
the Conedoguinet creek to a property which 
originally had been a part of the Swiler 
homestead, and which through sundry con- 
veyances came into the possession of John 
Swiler. Here they lived and farmed for six 
years, and in the winter months ]\Ir. Swiler 
taught school in a log house that the citi- 
zens of the vicinity had erected for church 
and school purposes, on the State Road, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



107 



where now stands the stone church known 
as St. Paul's. In the same house he also held 
the Hrst Sunday school that was organized in 
Jiat part of the county, and was superintend- 
ent of it at the time of his death. He died at 
the age of thirty years, and his death, coming 
while their children were yet small, was a 
heavy hlow to the wife and mother. The 
little farm had been sold the previous sum- 
mer, but the sum received from it was small, 
considering that from its proceeds there 
were four mouths to feed and fdur backs to 
clothe. The bereaved woman faced a 
gloomy prospect, but, relying upon that 
Power whence cometh the hope and courage 
for such ordeals, she bravely entered upon 
it. Three months after her husband's death 
slic and her children went to the hospitable 
home of her father-in-law, Christian Swilcr, 
where they remained until the following 
fall. Then lor a period of eighteen months 
she kept house at Hogestown for her brother, 
Jonathan Eckels, a school teacher. Then her 
brothers, Jonathan and William Huston 
Eckels, jointly went to farming, and both 
being single they employed their widowed 
sister to keep house for them. With them 
she remained three years. Next she kept 
bouse for W^illiam Huston Eckels and John 
Chambers Sample, who also jointly farmed, 
and while with them she married for her sec- 
ond husband, Isaac WcGuire. She died in 
May, 1858. Isaac McGuire died in May, 
1869, and she and her two husbands lie 
buried in the cemetery of the Silver Spring 
Church. 

After his mother's marriage to Isaac Mc- 
Guire, William E. Swiler made his home 
with bis grandfather, Christian Swiler, and 
remained with him for four years doing 
farm work in the summer, and attending the 
country district school in the winter. He 
was not large for his years, nor strong, but 



self-reliant and an all-arouTid useful boy. 
Often he undertook tasks that older and 
stronger hands feared to undertake, and 
upon one occasion had a thrilling adventure 
in which he narrowly escaped being killed. 
He was preparing corn ground with a large 
heavy cultivator, drawn by three frisky 
horses. Being too small to follow on foot 
and guide the team with a line, as a full- 
grown man would ha\'e done, he rode the 
nigh horse, and in that way drove the team, 
leaving the cultivator to follow without any 
one steering it. While going along in this 
way the horses took fright and ran off. Over 
the levels and down the hills they went, as 
fast as thev could gallop, the big cultivator 
bounding behind. In his frantic efforts to 
stop the team the lad was slipping off his 
horse backward, but realizing that it was 
sure death to him to fall under the cultivator 
he clutched the rein with renewed despera- 
tion and finally stopped the team by am- 
ning them against a post fence. This expe- 
rience he often vi\idly recalls, but seldom 
without a shudder. 

From his grandfather Swiler, \\'illiam 
E. went to his uncle, David H. Swiler, who 
with Mr. H. H. Fells had a general store 
in ;Mechanicsburg, and for two years he 
clerked for them. Here he managed to get 
time enough off to attend a select school, 
then conducted by Frank Gillellan, and 
under that noted educator made good pro- 
gress in his studies. Leaving Swiler & 
Fells he for a short time was clerk in a large 
store in Harrisburg. Next we find him with 
his uncle, William Huston Eckels, who then 
had a store at Sporting Hill, and while with 
him he found time to attend Prof. Denlin- 
ger's academy at White Hall, and also to 
take private lessons in Latin from his uncle, 
James S. Eckels, who was a gradaute of 
\\'ashington and Jefferson College, and had 



io8 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



been an instrnctor in an academy. Along 
about tliis time a man named David M. 
Snavely entered upon a mercantile \-enture 
at Yocumtown, York county, and having 
heard of voimg Swiler's proficiency as a 
clerk, he offered him good wages to come 
into his employment. He went, and for 
ten months very acceptably managed Mr. 
Snavely's Inisiness. At Yocumtown he was 
beyond the liounds of his nati\-e county, 
away from his relations and the comrades of 
his youth, yet in a little while he won many 
new associates who afterward became long- 
time friends. 

From his earliest recollection William E. 
Swiler felt a natural interest in the science 
of physiology, and whatever pertained to 
the human anatomy and its diseases attracted 
his attention and engaged his leisure time. 
Even the regulation medical almanac was to 
him a source of instruction, and being thus 
predisposed he earl_y resolved to Ijecome a 
physician. Conditions favormg his purpose, 
he, in the spring of 1854, entered the office 
of Dr. R. G. Young, of Shiremanstown, 
and liegan the customary course of medical 
reading. On completing his course with 
Dr. Young, he matriculated at Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia, and after two 
3'ears more of close application graduated 
from that institution, on March 9, 1857. 
Having thus regularly prepared himself, his 
next step v.'as to look up a place in which 
to begin practice. His financial circumstan- 
ces did not permit him to spend much time 
or money on this part of the program. Dur- 
ing his stay at Yocumtown he had formed 
many pleasant associations, and, while in his 
judgment it was not an ideal locality in 
which to build up a practice, be concluded 
that it was a good place to make a start, and 
he accordingly began his life work in that 
modest country town, with the mental reser- 



vation that as soon as he had accumulated 
experience and some means he would locate 
in a more desirable field. His selection of 
place, however, proved more satisfactory 
than he had anticipated, for.his industry ana 
skill soon brought him as much work as a 
physician ordinarily can attend to, and he 
continueil at Yocumtown for thirty-hve long 
years. His practice there extended over a 
wide range of country, which necessitated 
much tra\-eling and made it very laborious, 
especially in the winter months. He had 
deferred making the contemplated change 
quite a loi^g time, and the accumulating 
years were beginning to remind him of the 
fact. Feehng that his strength was waning 
under the long continued strain, he in 1892 
turned his patronage at Yocumtown over to 
his son, and removed to Mechanicsburg, 
with the intention of there limiting" his prac- 
tice in amount, and enjoying some well- 
earned ease in his declining years. But his 
fame had preceded him to his new location, 
and without seeking it he in a few years 
again had a large practice, and was again 
a very jjusy man. and he still attends to his 
professional work. 

Dr. William E. Swiler has lieen twice 
married. On Nov. 23, 1859, he was united 
in wedlock to Miss Catharine E. Pretz, by 
Rev. George Morris, pastor of the Silver 
Spring Presbyterian Church. Catharine 
Pretz was the daughter of Abraham and 
Catharine (Monosniith) Pretz, and was 
born at Lewistown, Mifflin Co., Pa., but 
when she was eleven years old the family 
mo\'ed to the lower end of Cumlierland 
county and lived there the rest of their lives. 
To their union came the following children : 
( i) Minnie Isabel, born April 22, 1861, mar- 
ried William F. Troup, and has two chil- 
dren li\ing, Catharine and Ralph, their sec- 
ond child, a son, Swiler, haA'ing died in in- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



109 



fancy. (2) Elizabeth L., bom June 2, 1864, 
was married, May 13, 1882, to John H. 
Troup, and has had five cliiklren : Vernie 
(wlio died young), Robert D., Charles, 
Edith and John. 'William F. and John H. 
Troup are brothers, sons of Abraham and 
Mary Troup, of Lewisberry, York county. 
They have long been engaged in the sale of 
pianos, organs and other musical instru- 
ments, and are located at Harrisburg, from 
which point their business radiates over a 
large scope of territory. (3) Robert David, 
born June 7. 1868, read medicine, graduated 
from Jefferson College, and when his father 
retired from Yocumtown assumed bis prac- 
tice at that place. He remained at Yocum- 
town until in 1902, when he removed to Har- 
risburg, where he is now in successful prac- 
•tice. He married Susan Fortenbaugh, 
daughter of Henry and Julia Fortenbaugh, 
of York county, and they have two children 
living, Margaret and Julia, their first child, 
a daughter, Ruth, having died while small. 
(4) Carrie Eckels, born Sept. 19, 1873, 
married William W. Conkling, formerly of 
Highspire, Dauphin county, and they began 
married life at Steelton, where they resided 
several years, thence moving to West Fair- 
view, where they are now keeping* a 
boarding house and doing a prosperous 
business. To them have been born two chil- 
dren: Ruth and Swiler. (5I Annie Hume, 
born May 9. 1876, died July 11, 1876. 

Mrs. Catharine (Pretz) Swiler died 
Dec. 9, 1878, and is buried in the cemetery 
of St. John's church, near Shiremanstown. 
Dr. Swiler afterward married INIrs. [Matilda 
Groom, widow of William D. Groom, and 
daughter of Hiram and Susan (Reeser) 
Prowell, of York county, by whom he has 
no children. 

Dr. Swiler is a member of the Cumber- 
land county Medical Association, and has 



been its president. He is also a member of 
the State Medical Association, and ranks 
high as a physician and a man wherever he 
is known. During his long professional 
career, which is not yet ended, seven differ- 
ent students have read medicine under his 
instructions, all of whom graduated at Jef- 
ferson Medical College, and are successful 
physicians and devoted friends, of their pre- 
ceptor. In religion. Dr. Swiler is a Presby- 
terian ingrained, having inherited the faith 
through both his paternal and maternal lines 
of ancestry. Though worshiping in other 
churches while residing beyond the reach of 
his own he never faltered in his adherence to 
the principles of piety taught him by his par- 
ents and grandparents. In politics, he has 
always been a Democrat, but has made it a 
rule of his life to decline office and conse- 
quently has never figured in public aft'airs. 
He is deeply imbued with a love for his pro- 
fession, labors conscientiously to elevate and 
dignify it, and the honors which he prizes 
most highly are such as come to him through 
it. He is a true type of American manhood, 
and has set before the struggling youths of 
the land the inspiration of a good example. 

EDWARD C. BEETEM. In April, 
1802, one Samuel Beetem bought two small 
tracts of land in the lower end of Frankford 
township. This is the first appearance of 
the Beetem name on the records of Cumber- 
land countv, and the purchaser was the pro- 
genitor of the large Beetem family that has 
figured prominently in the affairs of this 
county for over one hundred years. After 
residing in Frankford township five or six 
years he removed to the part of Dickinson 
township which has since been erected into 
Penn township. Here, in 1808, he pur- 
chased from Thomas Norton a tract of land 
known as "Norton's Choice," containing 



no 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



158 acres. Later he acquired other lands in 
the vicinity and engaged extensively at farm- 
ing and also at distilling. In April, 1814, 
he bought from Daniel Smith, "innkeeper," 
a farm lying along the road to Pine Grove, 
on which there was a tavern stand which he 
kept for se\-eral years. He was an intelli- 
gent, enterprising citizen, was in close touch 
with the people, and in 181 3 Gov. Simon 
Snyder, reposing especial trust and confi- 
dence in his integrity, appointed him a jus- 
tice of the peace for Dickinson township, 
which office he filled long and satisfactorily, 
and for more than forty years he was popu- 
larly known as "Squire Beetem." He died 
July 8. 1856, at the age of eighry-nine years. 
He was a prominent member of the Lutheran 
Church, and in August, 18 19, he and his 
wife, Mary, for the consideration of one 
dollar, deeded to the wardens of "the Ger- 
man Lutheran and German Presbyterian 
Church called Beetem's Church," 121 
perches of land, which is the land now occu- 
pied by the Lutheran Church and graveyard 
at Centerville. Samuel Beetem was married 

twice. His first wife was Alary , who 

died Feb. 1 1, 1834. at the age of seventj'-two 
years and twenty-three days. On May 28, 
1835, he married Mrs. Nancy Turner, who 
died ]May 2, 1862, aged eighty-six years. He 
and his two wives lie buried on the ground 
that he and his wife Mary donated to "Bee- 
tem's Church" in 18 19, now the Lutheran 
Church at Centerville. Samuel Beetem and 
Mary, his wife, had issue as follows: Abra- 
ham, born Aug. 28, 1789 (died Aug. 12, 
1833) : George, Nov. 23, 1792 (died Jan. 
3, 1852) : Jacob, Jan. 9, 1794 (died March 
24, 1859) ; and Catherine. He had no chil- 
dren by his second marriage. 

Abraham Beetem. eldest son of Samuel, 
was known as Capt. Beetem. He married 



Elizabeth Smith, and began life in the same 
locality in which his father settled in 1808. 
He engaged in farming, first as a cropper, 
but later acquired land of his own. He also 
engaged in distilling and milling, and also 
manufactured flax seed oil and plaster. His 
distillery and mill properties were located 
where the village of Huntsdale now is. He 
was a man of great energy and rare business 
qualities, but died in the prime of manhood, 
Aug. 12, 1833. His wife died Feb. 2, 1872, 
and both are buried in Ashland cemetery, at 
Carlisle. Capt. Abraham and Elizabeth 
(Smith) Beetem had the following children: 
Samuel, born Aug. 17, 1816, (died Jan. 29, 
1901); Jacob; Elizabeth; John; George 
Smith, born Jan. 8, 1824 (died May 30, 
1892) ; Abraham; Mary; and Joseph, born 
Dec. 16, 1830 (died Feb. 8, 1894). 

Jacob Beetem, the second of these eight 
children, was born in Dickinson (now Penn) 
township, July 20, 18 18. He grew to man- 
hood in that part of the county, was educated 
in the public schools and learned the carpen- 
ter's trade. Afterward he went to Philadel- 
phia, where he worked at his trade and 
studied architecture. Upon reaching man's 
estate lie took up his abode in the town of 
Caflisle, where he followed the occupation 
of carpenter and builder until his death, 
which occurred Sept. 7, 1856. His industry 
and superior workmanship brought him 
much to do, and during the period of his 
activity he erected some of the largest and 
most important buildings in the county. He 
was a man of good judgment, and his advice 
in mechanical, business and social affairs 
was often sought by those who knew him. 
Like his parents and grandparents before 
him. he was a consistent Lutheran, and took 
a warm interest in the affairs of his church. 
He was a good musician, led the choir of his 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Ill 



church for twenty years, and purchased the 
first organ that found its way into the Luth- 
eran Church of Carhsle. 

Jacob Beetem married Isabella Wunder- 
licli, a daughter of Simon and Catherine 
(Crane) Wunderlich, and granddaughter of 
Benjamin Crane and Catherine, his wife. 
Catherine Crane, the grandmother, was re- 
markable for her great longevity. For a long 
time prior to her death the venerable woman 
was an invalid and much of the time confined 
to her bed. She lived in the family of her 
daughter, Mrs. Ann JNIatthews, in a small 
house back of the Episcopal church, and on 
the night of July i, 1863, when the Confed- 
erates shelled Carlisle, narrowly escaped a 
tragic death. Against her wishes and pro- 
tests the family took her out of her bed and 
away from the house, beyond the range of 
the enemy's fire. This pro\ed a wise pre- 
caution, for soon after her removal a shell 
entered her room and completely demolished 
the bed in which she had been lying. She 
died in the following December, at the great 
age of 103 years. Her husband died in 
183 1, thirty-two years before. To Jacob 
and Isabella (Wunderlich) Beteem the fol- 
lowing children were born: (i) William 
L., born Aug. 27. 1841, was killed under 
the following circumstances : About 3 
o'clock on the morning of April 23, 1861, 
a mounted courier came galloping into Car- 
lisle with news from Hanover that a large 
body of men, — presumably Rebels — was 
marching upon that town from the direction 
of Maryland. Soon a second courier came 
with the confirmation of the startling report. 
Carlisle was aroused by the ringing of bells, 
and the Carlisle Infantry, commanded by 
Capt. Robert McCartney, marched at double 
quick out the Baltimore turnpike to meet the 
supposed invaders. Before the company 
reached Mt. Hollv, the news met them that 



the report was false, and after taking a rest 
the soldiers turned about and came back. 
^^'illiam L. Beetem and Jacob Wunderlich 
out of curiosity had followed the company 
in a buggy, and when the march homeward 
began they proposed to some of the soldiers 
that they give them their muskets to carry 
back in their buggy. Several passed their 
guns over to the young men, but in the hand- 
ling one was discharged, the ball pasisng 
through Beetem's body in the region of the 
heart, killing him almost instantly. An hour 
afterward his widowed mother was apprised 
of the sad occurrence by the arrival of his 
dead body at the door of her home in Car- 
lisle. (2) Ann C, born Sept. 9, 1843, died 
Feb. 15, 1887; all her lifetime she lived in 
Carlisle, and died unmarried. (3) Marian, 
horn May 23, 1846, died Aug. 26, 1846. 
(4) Bella M. became a teacher, and taught 
successfully in the schools of Carlisle for a 
number of years. Afterward she married 
Rev. Edward Devine, who no\s is pastor of 
a Methodist Church in the Philadelphia Con- 
ference, and to them three children have been 
born, a son named Edmund Devine, and two 
who died in infancy. (5) Emma married 
Dr. C. W. Krise, a physician of Carlisle, 
who died Jan 23, 1900, aged fifty-one years. 
His widow and two children, Helen E. and 
Raymond Worth, survive him. (6) Edward 
C. is the subject of this sketch. (7) Jacob S. 
born Oct. 5, 1856, is a druggist, and resides 
in \\' ilmington, Del. He married Miss Belle 
Ogborn. of Lancaster, Ohio, and to them 
two children have been born, Catherine and 
Eleanor. 

Edward C. Beetem, the sixth child of the 
family and the subject of this sketch, was 
born Aug. 28, 1852. As soon as he reached 
the legal age he was sent to the public 
schools, which he attended until he was four- 
teen years old. That completed his scho- 



1 12 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



lastic education. He then went to work in 
a grocery store; afterward he clerked in dif- 
ferent dry-goods stores in CarHsle, both for 
the sake of employment antl as a means of 
preparation for a business career. He con- 
tinued to be employed in this way until Oc- 
tober. 1873. when he and the late John C. 
Stephens, under the firm name of Stephens & 
Beetem, founded the Carlisle Carpet House, 
located firsr for nine years on East IMain 
and afterward for si.xteen years on South 
Hanover street. This house was the leading 
retail carpet store in the county from the 
time it was established until 1901, when the 
firm relations were terminated by ]\Ir. Ste- 
phens's death. 

After engaging in the retail carpet busi- 
ness for four years Messrs. Stephens & Bee- 
tem began the manufacture of carpets. In 
1882 they erected a large building on South 
Bedford street, where they continued until 
their business outgrew the capacity of their 
factory and it became necessary to provide 
a larger plant. In July. 1901, after Mr. 
Stephens's death, the old firm was succeeded 
by a new one consisting of E. C. Beetem, 
\Y. E. Johnson and C. G. Beetem. the last 
named member being the only son of the 
head of the firm. Thus organized they con- 
tinued, on a more extensive scale than form- 
erlv. the manufacture of linens, domestics, 
finest rag ?nd yarn homemades, jutes, all- 
wool and Venetian carpetings. During the 
summer of 1902, they erected, at the corner 
of Louther an<l Spring Garden streets, a 
large new plant named the Carlisle Carpet 
Mills, measuring 250 x 50 feet, the main 
building three stories and the wings one 
story high. Here is given constant employ- 
ment to a force of fifty skilled workmen, 
producing a large output of carpetings which 
finds a market throughout Pennsylvania, 
Xew Jersey, Xew York, Delaware, IMary- ' 



land, Virginia, West Virginia and the West- 
ern States. The business is under the imme- 
diate personal direction of the three mem- 
bers of the firm, is managed with the most 
commendable care and enterprise, and con- 
tributes much to the general prosperity of 
the community. 

Edward C. Beetem was married. Sept. 
16, 1880, to ^liss Celia L. Bentz, daughter 
of Jacob and Celia L. (Noell) Bentz, and a 
member of another large representative Car- 
lisle family. To this union there have been 
born the following children : ( i ) Charles 
Gilbert, born Nov. 24, 1881, was educated 
at Metzger College, in the public schools 
of Carlisle and at Dickinson Preparatory 
School. Subsequently he graduated from 
the Carlisle Commercial College and as soon 
as he reached his majority became associated 
with his father in the carpet manufacturing 
business. He is secretary and treasurer of 
the new firm and is a very industrious and 
promising young man. (2) Mary Isabella, 
Ijorn June 14, 1886, and (3) Edith Louisa, 
born Feb. 26, 1889, are at home and being- 
educated at :Metzger College, one of Car- 
lisle's excellent institutions of learning. 

Like his paternal and maternal ances- 
tors Edward C. Beetem was baptized into the 
Lutheran Church. He long was a member 
of the choir and was otherwise prominent in 
the First Lutheran Church of Carlisle. His 
wife's family were Presbyterians, and since 
their marirage Mr. Beetem. out of deference 
to his wife's lifelong church associations, has 
united with the Second Presbyterian Church 
of Carlisle, where the entire family have for 
some years been worshiping. 

GEORGE B. BRANDON, proprietor of 
the "Hotel Wellington," Carlisle, bears an 
English name but is of Irish nationality. He 
was born in Limerick, Ireland, in 1843, and 



I 



THE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 
TUiDEN FOUNDATIONB 

« L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



"3 



his parents were Michael and Sarah (Cocli- 
lan) Brandon. His father was a leather 
merchant, and a man of intelligence, force 
of character and literary inclinations. He 
died when (jeorge was vet too young to 
rememlier him, and the mother, afterward 
marrying again, came to .America and set- 
tled in Jersey City. Here George was sent 
to the iniblic schools, until he reached his 
thirteenth year. Feeling that he was old 
enough to do something for himself, he then 
left home and went to sea. His first position 
was as cabin boy on a sailing-vessel plying 
between New York and Liverpool, which 
place he held for three consecutive voyages. 
Emboldened by this experience, he next 
\-entured upon a voj-age which took him from 
home in a different direction. He managed 
to become firemen's mess boy on the "Black 
Warrior," to New Orleans. Tlie firemen 
of an ocean steamer are not excessively 
tender in their treatiuent of Ixiys over whom 
the\- lia\e authority, but he reached his desti- 
nation in fairly good condition and with 
another chapter added to his experience. 

Having a natural talent for music he 
early accustomed himself to play on what- 
ever instrument he came across, and at New- 
Orleans this accomplishment rendered him 
a good service. A man from Montgomery, 
Texas, named W'alkenshaw, heard him play, 
and believing that he could use him in his 
business offered him $io a month to come 
into his employ. The man was a merchant 
and among his stock in trade had a li:it of 
musical instruments which he fancied a clerk 
who could play upon them cou.ld sell at big 
prices. Texas was then a new land, with a 
reputation for excitement that appealed as 
strongly to an ambitious boy as did a $io 
a month job, and thus, doubly tempted, he 
accepted. In going to Montgomery they 
went up the Red ri\er by boat to near the 



Texas State line, and thence bv stage and 
private conveyance several hundred miles 
across the country. The trip was tiresome, 
but a memorable experience, and one of its 
pleasant incidents was the honor they had of 
a short stage ride with Gen. Sam Houston 
and Col. Thomas J. Rusk, two distinguished 
men whose names are conspicuously and in- 
delibly wo\'en into the history of the great 
State of Texas. 

^Montgomery was then a place of about 
three hundred inhabitants, of an enterpris- 
ing class, but in spite of young Brandon's 
abilities as a performer was a poor market 
for musical instruments. The Texan of that 
period had less use for flutes and violins 
than for guns and bowie-knives. Part of his 
duty was to make periodical trips to Houston 
over a road that was hardly more than a trail 
blazed through the sparse wood. It was a 
long distance and a lone w'ay. Deer would 
cross his path within easy view- ; coveys of 
quail would fly up from in front of his pony's 
feet with startling suddenness, and as the 
gloom of evening settled over the land the 
howd of wolves and other wild animals could 
be heard in the distance. 

Three months of Te.xas experience sat- 
isfied the Ijoy, and he concluded to go back 
to New York. He had saved only $15 out 
of his earnings, barely enough to pay his 
fare to Galveston, but he had a stock of self- 
reliance and audacity, not measured by dol- 
lars and cents, which he felt was sufficient 
for the undertaking, and he started. Among 
his fellow- passengers on the stage was a man 
wdio asked him many cjuestions. He an- 
swered them frankly and politely, and before 
they had reached Houston he had made a 
friend of the stranger, and through his favor 
got an opportunity to work his way on a ves- 
sel to New Orleans, and also from New Or- 
leans to New York. His services proved 



114 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



valualjle, and the steward placed his name 
iip(in the ship's pay-roll, so that when he 
reached home he had more money in his 
pocket than he had when he left Mont- 
gomery. 

After a l)rief stay at home he a second 
time liecame a caliin boy on the "Black War- 
rior," plying between New York and New 
Orleans. This time he remained about a year 
with the vessel, antl left her at New Orleans 
to take the pusition of second steward on the 
steamship "Mexico," of Morgan's Gulf 
Line. Morgan's Gulf Line consisted of five 
or six steamships which ran from New Or- 
leans to GaI\-eston and other ports on the 
coast of Texas, With this company he con- 
tinued until the Civil war broke out. In the 
month of April. 1861, his ship was lying at 
Galveston when the Confederates seized the 
"Star of the West," at Indianola, and the 
"Mexico's" first ofificer was detailed to go to 
Indianola and take the captured vessel to 
New Orleans. A week afterward, when the 
"Mexico" steamed up the river to New Or- 
leans, Mr. Brandon saw the "Star of the 
West" anchored oft' the city with the Stars 
and Bars floating from her masthead over 
the Stars and Stripes. The sight was a sore 
humiliation to him and decided his course 
in the impending conflict. He then con- 
cluded to go back to New York, and the 
"Cahawba." the vessel upon wdiich he came 
away, was the last the Confederate authori- 
ties, permitted to leave New Orleans for 
New York. This was Mr. Brandon's last 
sea voyage for some years. The opening of 
hostilities between the North and South 
ended all commercial traffic between New 
York and the Gulf, and he was compelled to 
lav oft'. While waiting for something to 
turn up he yielded to the promptings of pa- 
triotism and joined the army. On Aug. Q, 
1 86 1, he enlisted in Company C, of the 6th 



New Jersey Volunteers, and soon afterward 
went to the front, where, with the excep- 
tion of a single furlough of ten days, he 
remained until Sept. 23, 1864, when he was 
mustered out of service at Trenton, N. J., 
his term of enlistment having expired. His 
regiment jjarticipated in all the battles fought 
by the Army of the Potomac during its term 
of service, excepting South Mountain and 
Antietam, and although he was in all these 
\'ari(_)us engagements he was never wounded, 
nor was he ever so sick as to be sent to 
hospital. 

After a rest from his army experience, 
Mr. Brandon concluded to make a trip to the 
other side of the Atlantic. He got a berth 
in the steamer "Western Metropolis," which 
in due time landed him at Southampton, 
England. From Southampton he went to 
London, and after seeing the sights of that 
great city took a trip to the North of Eng- 
land, where he visited an aunt he never be- 
fore had seen. From there he went to Liv- 
erpool, from Liverpool to Dublin, and from 
Dublin to Nenagh, in the western part of 
Ireland, where he visited his maternal grand- 
mother, whom he also had never before 
seen. After completing his visits he con- 
cluded to return to America, and for that 
purpose went liack to Liverpool. As he 
had not the money to pay his fare it was 
necessary for him to work his way. He did 
not know a soul in the whole city of Liver- 
pool, which, coupled with his lack of money, 
left him at a disadvantage. His hopefulness 
never forsook him. In sauntering along the 
streets one ex-ening he was attracted by an 
open air vaudeville performance and stopped 
to enjoy it. While thus absorlied he was 
dealt a friendly slap on the 1>ack, and on 
turning round his gaze met that of an old 
acquaintance, who unawares to him then 
lived in Liverpool. About the same time, he. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



"5 



to his surprise, found in an unfrequented 
pocket four gold sovereigns, the gift of an 
aunt he had visited, who, knowing they 
would be declined if offeixd to him, sur- 
reptitiously put them into his clothes. He 
ajipreciated the kindly spirit which prompted 
her act, but returned them to her with 
thanks. On making known his intentions to 
the friend who had so unexpectedly found 
him, he advised him to apply to the port 
captain of the Guion Line, which he did with 
the result that he got an opportunity to work 
his way back to Xew York on the steamer 
"Nebraska." 

After his return to Xew York ISIr. Bran- 
don obtained the position of second steward 
on the steamship "South America," plying 
between Xew York and Rio Janeiro. This 
was a round trip of ii,ooo miles, but Air. 
Brandon found it an agreeable voyage and 
was pleased with his work. On his sec- 
ond trip, in addition to the duties of his own 
position, he had much to do with the man- 
agement of the entire steward's department. 
and on getting back to Xew York, by the 
advice of his captain, he made application for 
the position of chief steward. The officials 
of the company thought him too young and 
inexperienced for the stewardship on such 
a long voyage and offered to make him chief 
steward of the steamship "San Jacinto," run- 
ning from Xew York to Savannah. This 
position he accepted for one year, until that 
vessel went ashore on Body Island, on the 
coast of Xorth Carolina. By that time he 
had the required experience and without 
difficulty got the position of chief steward 
on the '"Xorth America," one of the steam- 
ships of the Brazilian Line. He continued in 
the capacity of chief steward with this line 
for six years, till the company was com- 
pelled to go out of business by reason of 
the governments of the L^nited States and 



Brazil refusing to further extend the sub- 
sidy with which they had been supporting it. 
He next was steward for about six years on 
the Stonington Line steamers "Stonington" 
and "Massachusetts," between X^ew York 
and Providence. He then turned his face 
landward, came to Pennsylvania, and with 
a Mr. Kenshaw leased the "L'nited States 
Hotel" at Easton, and there, under the firm 
name of Kenshaw & Brandon, managed it 
successfully for two years, ^^'hen he re- 
turned to Xew York he was soon employed 
by the United States and Brazil Mail 
Steamship Company and ordered to the 
Steamer "Advance." After being on this 
ship for two years the company sent him on 
the new steamer "Allianca," where he re- 
mained for nearly two years, when, getting a 
bit tired of the sea, he again invaded Penn- 
sylvania, and leased the "Brockerhoff 
House" in Bellefonte, where he remained for 
six years. At this time Daniel Hastings, 
afterward governor, built a large hotel for 
him in the mining town of Spangler. The 
town proved to be a failure, when he came 
to Carlisle and leased the "Mansion House" 
for six years. Thence he changed to "The 
\VelIington," in the same town, where he has 
been proprietor and host since the spring 
of 1902. 

Fraternally, Mr. Brandon is a member of 
Hiram Lodge, A. F. & A. M., No. i, Jersey 
City ; Enterprise Chapter, No. 2, Jersey 
City: St. John's Commandery, Carlisle: and 
Rajah Shrine, of Reading, Pa. He is a 
member of the G. A. R.. and has been com- 
mander of his post, which he has also repre- 
sented at the National Encampment. He be- 
longs to the Veteran Legion and was instru- 
mental in organizing the Veteran Legion at 
Bellefonte. 

Mr. Brandon has been twice married, 
first to Miss Dolly Burgen, of Jersey City, 



ii6 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



who bore him two children. George N. and 
Mary, both of wliom are Hving and unmar- 
ried. George N. Brandon is a professor of 
music, and thiiugh young in years has 
achieved special distinction in his art. Mrs. 
Dolly (Burgen) Brandon died in February. 
1882, and Mr. Brandon afterward married 
Mrs. Lucy Patterson, of Bellefonte, wln.i 
has borne him one child, Winnefred Lucy 
Brandon. By her former marriage Mrs. 
Lucy (Patterson) Brandon had one son, 
Robert Patterson, who remains a menilier of 
the family and is an efficient and ol)liging 
hotel clerk. 

Mr. Brandon from early youth has had 
a must varied and interesting career. At 
home and abroad, on land and at sea. he has 
met and associated with the world's different 
natiiinalities and studied them as a student 
does a book. He has dealt with men of 
high and low degree, under favorable and 
unfavorable circumstances : entertained all 
kinds of people, in ,'dl kinds of mocnls, and 
by observation and experience gained a 
knowledge of the whims of humanity which 
few men possess. A glance tells him the 
wants and needs of his guests, and he person- 
ally sees that they are provided for, so that 
the traveler who stops at his house is at 
home — he who does not is not wise. 

THOMAS RAUB BURGNER, one of 
the prominent citizens of West Pennsboro 
township, is a native of Lebanon county. Pa. 
He was born in East Hanover township, that 
county, July 14, 1838, and his parents were 
Jacob and Anna Maria (Raub) Burgner, 
who also were natives of Lebanon county. 

The earliest American ancestors of both 
the paternal and maternal lines of the family 
first settled on the banks of the Schuvlkill 
river, near the mouth of the Tulpehocken, 
and from there gradually drifted westward. 



Jacob Burgner was born in 181 1, and died 
near the place of his birth on July 13, 1886. 
He was a carpenter and contractor, a skillful 
workman, and remarkable for his great en- 
ergy and industry. He was long in the em- 
ploy of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad 
Co. as building foreman. Anna Maria Raub 
was Ijijrn in 18 18. in Fredericksburg, Leb- 
anon county, where her ancestors for several 
generations had lived. She died on Dec. 26, 
1899, and she and her husband are liuried 
at Walmer's Church, in LInion township, 
where the Burgner grandparents are also 
buried. 

Jacob and Anna [Maria (Raub) Burgner 
had children as follows : Thomas Raub, ]Ma- 
tilda, Franklin. Charles Henry, Jacob, John, 
Da\-id, Ennna, Milton and Solomon. 
Thomas Raub. the eldest child and the sub- 
ject of this sketch, owing to the delicate 
health of his mother, when \et a babe was 
put with his maternal grandparents and with 
them spent his childhriod and youth. When 
six years old he started to the country dis- 
trict school, not because of any special desire 
to go, but because his grandfather, with a 
switch in hand, persuaded him. His first 
teacher was a man named Horace Dasher. 
Following him came Daniel Uhrich, who 
was a graduate of Mercersburg College. 
L'hrich was his teacher for several years, and 
under him he made good progress. He re- 
members him as a natural instnictor and a 
good disciplinarian, but as receiving a sal- 
ary of only $16 a month. On reaching his 
seventeenth year Thomas R. Burgner was ap- 
prenticed to the milling trade with Solomon 
Shaeffer. at Harpers, on Indian Town creek, 
a stream which had so much fall that the 
mills along its banks were all propelled by 
overshot wheels. After completing his ap- 
prenticeshii) he worked as a journevman for 
eio"hteen months in the same mill. He next 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



117 



worked for a short time as journeyman in 
a mill at Jonestown, Lel^anon county. From 
Jonestown he came to Cumberland county 
and rented the Eckert mill, situated at the 
mouth of the Green Sprin^, on the Conedo- 
guinet creek, and started in business for 
himself. After two years he went from 
Eckert's to the Trindle Spring, to a mill 
owned by one Samuel Benson, and which 
possessed a special interest for him in that 
his father, when a young man, had helped 
to build it. 

By this time the war of the Rebellion was 
on, there came a call for troops to defend 
Pennsylvania from invasion by the Confed- 
erates, and he enlisted for the emergency. 
He joined the company of Capt. Daniel 
Shelly, of Shiremanstown, which went 
(never ofificially mustered) into service as 
Company A of the ist Regiment Pennsylva- 
nia Militia, Col. Henry McCormick, which 
was a part of the body of 35,000 untrained 
and patriotic men which under Gen. Johti F. 
Reynolds crossed into ^Maryland and took 
position to the right of Gen. McClellan's 
army, while the result of the battle of Antie- 
tam hung trembling in the balance. Upon 
this memorable occasion Mr. Burgner was 
made ciuartermaster and assigned the diffi- 
cult and important duty of distributing ra- 
tions to his regiment after the men had been 
without food for two days, and all this time 
lying in line of battle in an advanced posi- 
tion. 

While this army of emergency men did 
not come into actual conflict with tlie enemy 
the experience was a taste of war that after- 
ward led many of the participants to volun- 
teer for the war. Among this number was 
Thomas Burgner. Immediately upon being 
discharged from the militia service he en- 
listed, Oct. 17, 1862, in Company C, 3d 
Pennsylvania Artillery, I52d Regiment in 



line, for three years or during the war. This 
regiment was formed specially for the sea- 
coast heavy artillery service, and with a 
view of making it part of the garrison of 
Fortress Monroe. Thirty-one of his com- 
rades were from the vicinity of Mechanics- 
burg and Shiremanstown, and his company, 
almost entirely, was made up of men from 
Cumberland county. The regiment was as- 
signed to the Department of the Virginia, 
afterward the James, and belonging to the 
artillery arm of the service was divided up 
and distributed to different points on the 
peninsula and about Richmond, as the opera- 
tions of the army required. Two companies 
of it participated in the famous engagement 
at Chapin"s Farm, and others were engaged 
at Petersburg, Sailor's Creek, and Appo- 
mattox. 

Early in 1863, soon after getting to the 
front, Mr. Burgner was recommended for 
the position of military librarian, whose 
chief duties were to take care of the 
historical collections and artillery school 
stores at Fortress Monroe. He passed 
a regular examination before a board 
of United States army officers, was ap- 
pointed to the place, and faithfully dis- 
charged its duties until the end of his term 
of enlistment. During that time he also held 
the position of recorder to general courts 
martial and military commissions, and as 
such recorded many secrets of the_gravest 
character. He was discharged on Oct. 19, 
1865, at the expiration of his term of service. 

On returning home from the army Mr. 
Burgner for a period of two years engaged 
in the mercantile business at Shiremanstown 
with Daniel Rupp, and then for two years 
more sold nursery stock for Henry S. Rupp, 
of Shiremanstown. He then returned to 
the milling trade and for six years was head 
miller for Thomas B. Bryson, at the Silver 



Hi: 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Spring. Next he and John G. Krall pur- 
chased the Hays Mill, located on the north 
side of the Conedoguinet creek, in Frank- 
ford township, and for two years operated it. 
After two years they dissolved their partner- 
ship, and on April i, 1876, Mr. Burgner 
leased what formerly was known as the 
Lindsey Mill, in West Pennsboro township, 
which he l.as been operating continuously 
ever since. 

Mr. Burgner is an intelligent, progres- 
sive man. and a vigorous independent 
thinker. He devotes much time to reading 
and studying the current literature of this 
time, also that relating to his business, and 
consequently is well informed on all up-to- 
date ideas and inventions. He is a member 
of the Pennsylvania Millers' Association, 
which covers all of the country east of the 
Ohio river, and for the past seven years has 
been one of its board of directors. He is 
one of the active spirits of the organization 
and frequently appears upon the program 
of its proceedings, having in late years de- 
livered a number of addresses which have 
been published in the trade journals and ex- 
tensively circulated throughout the country. 
Chief among these productions are "Credit, 
or Pay as You Go," and "Eastern Field for 
Eastern Millers." In politics, he is a Repub- 
lican and Lakes an active interest in public 
afifairs. He is not an office-seeker, but was 
elected county auditor in 1875 and again 
in 1878, and through his rigid care and dis- 
crimination substantial reforms were accom- 
plislied. 

Thomas Burgner was married, on Dec. 
I, 1857, to ]\Iiss Lizzie Eckert, of Newville, 
a daughter of John Eckert, of Cumberland 
county, who in i860 moved to Morgan coun- 
ty, Va., and died there in 1880 at the age of 
eighty years. To their union the following 
children have been born: Mary Agnes; 



John E., who for more than twenty-five 
years has been in the West and has now 
charge of a large mill at North Platte, Neb. ; 
Alice, who is married to Simon W'. Brehm 
and lives at Uniontown, Pa. ; Francis Henry, 
who died in infancy; Lizzie A., who is mar- 
ried to Mervin J. Shambaugh, and lives in 
York, Pa. ; Emma C. ; Ida Margery ; Re- 
becca Ray: Thomas U. S. ; Carrie Lucretia; 
and Arthur LeRoy. Three of the daughters, 
Alice, Lizzie and Rebecca, have been success- 
ful teachers in the public schools of Cumljer- 
land county. 

There are some incidents in the life of 
Thomas R. Burgner that his biographer 
thinks of sufficient importance to lay before 
the reader in this connection : While the 
Pennsvlvania Militia. exhausted from 
marching and lack of food, were lying with- 
in hearing distance of Antietam's guns, 
orders came that the commissariat should 
enter the neighboring houses and prepare 
coffee and food for the command. This w'as 
done, in some instances against the protests 
and opposition of the occupants. About three 
o'clock in the morning, while making great 
quantities of coffee, in a Maryland farmer's 
kitchen. Quartermaster Burgner was hon- 
ored with a call from Gen. Reynolds and 
Col. McCormick. They had been riding 
around most of the night, studying the situa- 
tion, and sniffing the aroma of the Quarter- 
master's steaming coffee, had stopped in to 
sample it. They drank of it heartily and 
pronounced it the best they had ever tasted. 
Coming from such judges he considered it 
high praise. 

In the performance of his duties at 
Fortress ]\Ionroe events that have become 
imbedded in our national histoiy came under 
his immediate observation. For about one 
year there lay in Hampton Roads three Rus- 
sian ships of war, most advantageously an- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



119 



chored in case of conflict between tliem and 
some British ships of war that lay there at 
the same time. The presence of these Rus- 
sian battlesliips was a token of that country's 
friendship for our government and a warn- 
ing to England to keep hands off. This was 
understood l)y the officers and men at the 
Fort, and the Russian officers were highly 
favored by the Americans. Upon one occa- 
sion they were tendered a banquet which 
lasted from 8 p. m. of one day to 4 a. m. of 
the next. Of this banquet, by reason of his 
official presence, Mr. Burgnier saw much that 
did not appear in the newspaper reports of 
the affair, and which with him will always be 
an interesting reminiscence. 

During the early part of the year 1865 
Mr. Burgner's eyes were greeted with a 
sight that seared itself into his memory for 
life. It was a group of some of the most 
conspicuous characters in the great conflict, 
in a peace conference. Alexander H. Ste- 
phens, John A. Campbell and Robert M. T. 
Hunter, Confederates, had met President 
Lincoln and Secretary Seward on the boat 
"Sylvan Dell." anchored al)out a hundred 
feet out from the union wharf. The distin- 
guished party had come out upon deck and 
were engaged in conversation near the stern 
of the boat, in full view of those upon shore. 
There stood the tall spare form of President 
Lincoln, in sharp contrast with that of Mr. 
Stephens, Vice-President of the Southern 
Confederacy, discussing one of the weight- 
iest problems of history, while those who 
beheld them, knowing what was the subject 
that was being considered, were awed into 
silence. 

After Jefferson Davis was captured he 
was confined in Carroll Hall, Fortress Mon- 
roe, in close proximity to the post 
library in the same building. By or- 



der of Gen. Nelson A. Miles, Davis 
was given the use of the library, and 
it became a part of Mr. Burgner's duties to 
carry to him such reading matter as the dis- 
tinguished prisoner called for. He was a 
great reader, his preference being memoirs 
and auto-biography. Members of his family 
frequently called to see him and Mr. Burg- 
ner'w^as the ofticer charged with admitting 
them, also to the post library while on their 
visits. In this way he saw much of Mr. 
Davis, and had good opportunity of studying 
him. He was calm and dignified in his bear- 
ing, and courteous and polite to all, irre- 
spective of rank and authority. His appear- 
ance impressed everyone who saw him with 
the fact that he was a man of great power, a 
mortal of more than ordinary mould. While 
Mr. Burgner is not a product of the schools, 
he had ten six months' terms in the common 
schools during the period of his youth. The 
common schools of that day were models of 
discipline and attention. The training re- 
ceived during his three years of army life 
was varied and far-reaching, being gained 
under the guidance of able men. The tokens 
of high regard held by him from his supe- 
riors must always remain a source of grati- 
fication to him and his family. 

JOSEPH PIERCE NEVIN (de- 
ceased ) , who for many years was one of the 
leading merchants of Shippensburg, was 
born March 30, 1813, in the borough of 
Shippensburg, son of David and Mary 
(Pierce) Nevin. 

The records of the family have not been 
carefully preserved, but it is known that the 
great-grandfather was one Daniel Nevin, 
who married Mrs. Margaret (Williamson) 
Reynolds. On the maternal side, the family 
resided near Carlisle, in Cumberland county. 



I20 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



David Xevin, father of Joseph P., was 
a prominent merchant in this city, and was 
extensively interested in real estate, the 
owner of se\-eral good farms and a couple 
of mills, which he operated in connection 
with his other business enterprises. 

The late Joseph Pierce Xe\'in was reared 
in Shippensburg where he secured a good, 
common school education, and assisted his 
father at home until his maturity. That he 
was a young man of parts and character, 
may be inferred when it is known that, al- 
though so young, he was entrusted h\ his 
father with the task of looking after his 
large lousiness interests in the South. This 
mission he successfully performed, and upon 
his return to Shippensburg, took the superin- 
tendency of his father's business, continuing 
with him as such until the latter's death, 
when he settled up the extensive estate. Mr. 
Nevin then entered into a dry goods business 
on his own account, and built up a large 
trade, also, in the meantime, superintending 
several farms. 

Mr. Xe\in was twice married, first to 
Miranda Kellogg, of Shippensburg, former- 
ly of Connecticut, who died in 1844. To 
this union three children were born, the only 
survivor being Miss Josephine E. The sec- 
ond marriage was to another estimable lady. 
Miss Jane Craig, of Welsh Run, Pa., who 
died in 1902. Both wives were interred in 
Spring Hill cemetery. 

The late Mr. Xe\-in was a stanch Demo- 
crat, and held a number of the minor town- 
ship offices. For a number of years he was 
trustee in the Presbyterian Church, and one 
of its most liberal supporters. In business 
he was honorable and upright ; in the domes- 
tic circle, a kind and affectionate husband 
and a careful and indulgent father. He built 
the handsome family mansion known as 
"\\'a\'erlv," a conunodious stone structure. 



with attractive surroundings, and here he 
spent his last days. His death took place 
July 15, 1859. 

GEORGE HEMMIXGER, ^I. D., a 
prominent physician and surgeon at Car- 
lisle. J 'a., comes of sturdy old German stock 
and of a family that is honorably known in 
a number of the States of the Union. 

John Hemminger, his grandfather, emi- 
grated fr(im Germany and settled in Lan- 
caster county. Pa., when a young man, and 
there married Barbara Rhemm. To them 
were born three sons, John, Jacob and Sam- 
uel, and one daughter, Xancy, who married 
George Stubbs, of Cumberland countv. in 
1 800. 

J(jhn Hemminger, the eldest .son of John 
Hemminger. Sr., married Eliza Heagy, and 
they settled on the old farm two and a half 
miles west of Carlisle, where the followins" 
named children were born to them: Jane A., 
who became the wife of Lafayette Peffer, of 
Dickinson township, and had children ; John, 
Jr.. who became a farmer near Waynesboro, 
Franklin county: Sarah: Samuel, deceased; 
Catherine, who became the wife of J. E. 
B. Graham and removed to the vicinity of 
Lincoln, X^b., (they have a family) : Wil- 
liam, who died in 1S73, leaving a widow; 
Joseph, wlio died in 1883, leaving a widow: 
Mary, who married William McCullough, of 
near Shippensburg, Cumberland county 
(they have a family) : Hettie, who became 
the wife of Joseph Beetem, of Carlisle, and 
had a family ; Jacob, of Carlisle ; Dr. George ; 
and Susannah. 

George Hemminger was born Sept. 8. 
1840, on his father's farm near Carlisle, and 
received his primary education in the district 
schools. Li 1 86 1 he entered Pennsylvania 
College, in the Freshman class, and one year 
later successfully passed the examination for 




J^. 



^f^.. 



THE XEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOH, LENOX AND 

lUDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



121 



the Sophomore year, but the outbreak and 
continuance of tlie Civil war changed his 
plans at that time. In August, 1S62, in com- 
pany with se\'en of his classmates, he went 
to Harrisburg', and on the i6th his name was 
enrolled as a member of Company B, 138th 
r. \'. I. With his command he was as- 
signed to duty at the Relay House, where he 
remained until June 16, 1863. As a member 
of the 2d Brigade, 3d Division, he was en- 
gaged with the force transporting stores to 
Washington, D. C. From the ist to the 5th 
of July he was at Wapping Heights, \'a. ; 
July 23 was at Kelly's Ford : Nov. 7 at 
Brandy Station; Nov. 8 at I\Iine Run; from 
Nov. 26 to Dec. 2 at Locust Grove. In 
March, 1864, he was assigned to the 6th 
Corps, and from May 5th to 7th took part in 
the battle of the Wilderness ; was at Spottsyl- 
vania from the 12th to the 19th; at Cold 
Harbor June ist to 3d; in the trenches at 
Bermuda Hundred, June 17; destruction of 
the Weldon railroad, June 22-22, ■ '^^ ^lono- 
cacy, Md., July 9; from Feb. 17, 1865, until 
March 25th, when he was paroled, he was a 
prisoner of war, at Danville and at Libby, in 
Richmond. On April 10, 1865, the young 
soldier returned to his regiment, marching 
with it to Danville, where he had suffered 
imprisonment, and then proudly with Gen. 
Sherman's victorious army to attend the 
Grand Review at Washington, June 8, 1865. 
Having gallantly and faithfully served 
his country, the young student returned to 
his books, entering Dickinson College, at 
Carlisle, for a year, and then beginning the 
study of medicine under Dr. J. J. Zitzer: 
later he spent one term at the University of 
Michigan, at Ann Arbor. He then entered 
the College of Medicine at Detroit and was 
there graduated in 1 869. For the succeeding 
six years he practiced his profession at New- 
^■ille, removins' thence to Baltimore, Md., 



where he formed a partnership with his old 
preceptor. Dr. J. J. Zitzer, with whom he 
remained until the fall of 1875, when he re- 
turned to Carlisle. Here Dr. Hemminger 
has been actively engaged in practice ever 
since, his clientele being so large at the pres- 
ent time that it is almost burdensome. Both 
as a physician and a citizen he is held in the 
highest esteem. 

Dr. Hemminger was married (tirst) 
Feb. II, 1871, to Annie Powell, a native of 
Maryland, daughter of Col. Samuel R. and 
Mary A. (Kelly) Powell, of Baltimore. One 
son, George R., was born to this union April 
2^. 1872, was graduated at St. Stephen's In- 
stitute, and is now located at Manchester, 
N. H., where he is superintendent of the 
United Gas Improvement Co., whose main 
offices are in Philadelphia, at the corner of 
Broad and Arch streets. 

Dr. Hemminger married for his second 
wife Miss Nina Oyster, daughter of D. K. 
and Catherine (Drabaugh) Oyster, of Mis- 
souri, a lady of charming manners and a 
true Southern type. Dr. Hemminger is a 
member of the Lutheran Church. He is con- 
nected with the various medical organiza- 
tions and is prominent fraternally in the 
Masonic bodies, belonging to St. John's 
Commandery, No. 361, Knights Templar, of 
Carlisle. 

JOHN CLENDENIN ECKELS. Else- 
where in these biographical annals it is re- 
lated that the first Eckels known to have set- 
tled in Pennsylvania had a son named Na- 
thaniel. This Nathaniel Eckels for his sec- 
ond wife married Mrs. Isabella (Huston) 
Clendenin, who was the widow of James 
Clendenin c^nd a daughter of Samuel and 
Isabella (Sharon) Huston. Nathaniel Eckels 
and Isabella, his wife, had a son Francis, 
who married Miss Isabella Clendenin, daugh- 



122 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



ter of John and Elizabeth (Caldwell) Clen- 
denin. by whom he had seven children, 
among them a s^n named John Clendenin 
Eckels. [Histories of the Clendenins and 
the Hustons appear in other parts of this 
volume. ] 

John Clendenin Eckels was born April 
13, 1824, in the northwestern part of what 
is now Silver Spring township, in a home 
now owned by the heirs of the late William 
Jacobs, \\hen five years of age his father 
moved to a large farm lying in Coffman's 
Point, on the south side of the Conedoguinet 
creek, on the eastern border of Silver Spring 
township, where he farmed as a renter for 
six vears. Here began the boy's education 
and preparation for the serious duties of life. 
He was first sent to a school taught in a log 
house which stood on the north side of the 
turnpike, a little way east of where that 
road crosses the Silver Spring as it courses 
northward towards the Conedoguinet. The 
Eberlys, the Sprouts, the Emingers and the 
Cobles were some of his school and play- 
mates. The turnpike was then the great 
thoroughfare of the country, and from 
morning until night was crowded with 
traffic. Swift stages, filled with dusty pas- 
sengers, came and went; large Conestoga 
wagons with high bowed covers and bell 
teams passed in endless procession, and in 
full view of this moving panorama, among 
these shifting, distracting scenes. John C. 
Eckels was first taught to mind his books 
and study his lessons. 

The next school he attended was on the 
McGuire farm, on the north side of the 
Conedoguinet, taught liy his cousin Jona- 
than Eckels, who, though of diminutive size 
and deformed, was in his day one of the 
most successful teachers in the county. The 
jMcGuires, the \\'ilts, the Adamses and the 
Sprouts were some of his fellow pupils in 



this school. Afterward he attended for a 
session or two. a school at Hogestown. which 
being situated on the turnpike presented to 
him much the same scenes which met his 
gaze from the door-steps of his first school, 
but being some years older they did not so 
vividly and effectually root themselves into 
his memory. In 1835 his parents moved a 
mile due north rif Xew Ivingst(~iwn, to a farm 
which became John C. Eckels's home for 
nearly all the rest of his lifetime. Here he 
attended a school located near Crider's Alill, 
on the road leading to Hogestown, and 
which was patronized by the Beltzhoovers, 
the Irvines, the Armstrongs, the Hermans, 
and other representative families of that sec- 
tion. By this time he had reached boyhood's 
prime and won for himself prominence in 
class and on playground. He was beginning 
to feel the promptings of ambition, studied 
hard, and freely participated in the games 
and frolics which gave to the country school 
life of those days interest and zest. In his 
reminiscences in after years he frecjuently 
referred to his experiences at this school, and 
often related how a teacher of precious mem- 
ory named Ben Hippie, on being barred out 
at the Christmas holidays, smilingly in- 
formed the boys that in anticipation of the 
event he had engaged with "Black Jack" 
at Hogestown a whole bushel of cakes, and 
capped the announcement by appointing a 
delegation to fetch the grand treat, of which 
proud and happy delegation John C. Eckels 
was a member. The adoption of the free 
school system wiped the school at this place 
out of existence and he then for several 
terms attended school at Xew Kingston. 
He was naturally of a bright mind and made 
good progress in the various branches that he 
studied. He also attended a Sunday-school 
which his father and John Herman orga- 
nized and conducted in the old log school 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



123 



house near Crider's Mill, and in his leisure 
hours did miscellaneous reading which 
added much to his stock of general informa- 
tion. Between school terms he worked upon 
the farm and with hands and mind thus con- 
stantly employed he steadily advanced upon 
the years of young manhood. 

His standing at school had attracted at-, 
tention and become the subject of conversa- 
tion in the neighborhood ; his conduct and 
address had won him the respect and favor 
of influential people, and one day a commit- 
tee unexpectedly called upon him with a 
formal request that he come and teach a 
school which they represented. He appre- 
ciated the compliment but hesitated to accept 
the responsibility; besides his father feared 
it might prove too much of an undertaking 
and cautioned him against acting hastily in 
the matter. The committee, however, were 
urgent, and finally persuaded him to teach 
their school. This was in the fall of 1845, 
and the school in question was known as 
Lambertons, in North Middleton, now Mid- 
dlesex township. He boarded in the home 
of Squire Abraham Lamberton, where he 
found congenial associates who encouraged 
and strengthened him in his labors. In Feb- 
ruary of that winter his mother died, which 
was a very heavy affliction, but in the Lam- 
berton home he found sympathy, and he 
often afterward recalled how Mrs. Lamber- 
ton consoled him in his sore bereavement. 
Squire Lamberton was an enthusiastic friend 
of popular education, and a practical sur- 
veyor, and from his example the young 
teacher caught inspiration that had much to 
do with shaping his course through life. 

His term of teaching in North Middleton 
township was the opening of John C. 
Eckels' career. In the following summer a 
new school house was built and a new school 
created in the immediate vicinity of his 



home. He did hauling and in other ways 
assisted in the erection of this house, and the 
school, because of its situation and associa- 
tions, came to be known as the Eckels 
school. He became its first teacher, teaching 
it in the winter term of 1846-47 at a salary of 
$16 a month. In the spring of 1847 '""^ s"" 
tered New Bloomfield Academy, of which 
Rev. ^latthew B. Paterson was the principal, 
and from Mr. Paterson received his first 
instruction in the science of surveying, in 
which he afterward so long and so success- 
fully engaged. He spent one term in the 
New Bloomfield Academy and on his return 
home resumed teaching at the Eckels school, 
which he taught in all four winter terms. 
In the fall of 1850 he was employed 
to teach in the New Kingstown school. 
New Kingstown then had but one 
school and that was held in an old 
house which stood back of the former 
Lutheran church, and so low in the ground 
that in wet seasons the w'ater would run in 
on the floor. This school was large and 
there were frequently between eighty and 
a hundred pupils in attendance. He con- 
tinued to teach here until in the spring of 
1852, when he started farming on the Eckels 
homestead, his father removing to New 
Kingstown. 

On May i, 1851, John C. Eckels was 
married to Mary Lee Kenyon, by Rev. O. 
O. McLean, pastor of the Dickinson Presby- 
terian Church. Mary L. Kenyon was a 
daughter of Samuel Maxson Kenyon and 
Eliza Jane (Kincaid) Kenyon. Both the 
Kenyons and the Kincaids were intelligent 
and progressive families, and in their day 
prominent and influential in the affairs of 
Cumberland county. The former were from 
New England, Roger Kenyon, the father of 
Samuel Maxson, being born in the State 
of Rhode Island. He married Esther IMax- 



124 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



son and soon after his tliird child was born 
mo\-ed to Connecticut. From Connecticut 
he came by sea to Baltimore and from there 
to Adams county, Pa., where he follo\ved the 
a^'ocation of farming until near the end of 
his life. His wife died in their home in 
Adams county and is Ijuried at Round Hill, 
in that county. After her death he removed 
to Allegheny county, to which locality his 
son had preceded him, and where he died 
at an advanced age. Roger and Esther 
(Maxson) Kenyon had the following chil- 
dren : Esther, who married William Moor- 
head, and lived near York Springs ; Denni- 
son. who enlisted in the army and was lost 
in the campaign against the Indians in Flor- 
ida : Samuel Maxson ; Robert, who married 
Eliza Halbert, of Carlisle, and removed to 
Pittsburg, and later to Missouri; Phineas, 
who went to California ; and William, who 
died of vellow fever on board a vessel coming 
from Florida, and was buried at sea. 

Samuel Maxson Kenyon was born at 
"\^'esterly, R. L, July 27, 1801. and was yet 
very young when his parents moved to Con- 
necticut, and only a youth when they lo- 
cated in Pennsylvania. His boyhood days 
were spent with his parents on the farm, 
but it is known that he also lived several 
years with "Judge" Neely. who was a farmer 
near Gettysburg. When about sixteen years 
of age he came to Carlisle, and attended a 
select school taught by a famous teacher 
named Gad Day. Stephen Culbertson and 
Dr. Robert Young, late of Mechanicsburg, 
were two of his schoolmates. About the 
time he reached his twentieth year he began 
teaching at a schoolhouse situated on the 
Y'ork road, in Dickinson township, at a place 
which was frequently known as Kenyon's 
Cross Roads. Later the place was known 
as Weakley's, and at present the schoolhouse 
is known as "The Hedge." Here he taught 



a long time, and after some years bought a 
lot and built himself a house. Along with 
his teaching he also did farming, and for 
seven years farmed the farm now owned 
by John Monroe. Afterward he moved to a 
point on the Walnut Bottom road, where he 
li\ed during the latter years of his life. He 
taught for over forty years, and with the 
exception of one term all his teaching was 
done in Dickinson township. The Peffers, 
the Weakleys. the Hustons, the Stuarts, and 
other old families, wdiose names are insepa- 
rably connected with that part of Cumber- 
land county, were his jmtrons, and in some 
instances into the second generation. He 
began teaching long before the free school 
system was created and his schools, though 
raised by subscription, were nearly always 
large, and included a winter and a summer 
term. After an interruption of several years 
he taught at "The Savannah," wdiich he 
taught against the advice and protests of his 
family. In 1849 l^^ ^^'''^s elected justice of 
the peace, and afterward, at the expiration 
of each term, re-elected until his death. 

The religious predilections of the Ken- 
yons were Baptist, but on locating in Cum- 
berland county Samuel M. united with the 
Presbyterian Church in Carlisle, then in 
charge of Rev. George Duffield, of whom he 
was a great admirer. He continued in this 
church until after he became permanently 
settled in Dickinson township, when he 
transferred his membership to the Dickinson 
Presbyterian Church because of it being 
nearer and more convenient. On Nov. 15, 
1827, he was married to Eliza Jane Kincaid, 
the Rev. Dr. Duffield performing the cere- 
mony. Eliza Jane Kincaid was born on 
March 14, 1806, and was a daughter of John 
Kincaid and Mary Lee, his wife. John Kin- 
caid was married to Mary Lee on April 27, 
1796, by Rev. Dr. Robert Davidson, and en- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



125 



gaged at fanning in Dickinson township 
until well advanced in years. He died while 
visiting one of his children in Sinking Val- 
ley, Huntingdon county, and is buried there. 
Mary Lee Kincaid, his wife, died Sept. 12, 
1866, at the age of ninety-five years, and is 
buried in the graveyard of the Dickinsoa 
Presbyterian Church. 

Samuel M. and Eliza Jane (Kincaid) 
Kenyon had the following children: Mary 
Lee, Jane Ellen. Esther Elizaljeth, Anna 
Grizzelle, John Roger, Charles Cummins, 
James A\'oodburn and Benjaiuin Franklin. 
Six of theie eight children became teachers, 
several of them teaching for a long while 
and with distinguished success. Samuel 
Maxson Kenyon died Sept. 12, 1869; Eliza 
Jane Kincaid, his wife, died Sept. 21, 1856, 
and the remains of both rest in the graveyard 
of the Dickinson Presbyterian Church in 
Penn township. Mary Lee Kenyon. the 
eldest child, was born Nov. 10, 1828. in 
Dickinson township. She received her edu- 
cation in the public schools of her native 
district under the immediate supervision of 
her father, and early began teaching. Among 
the schools she taught were Shady Grove 
and Savannah, of Dickinson township. Cen- 
ter, of Southampton, and Green Hill, of 
West Pennsboro. Her teaching career ter- 
minated with her marriage, but subsequently 
she several times taught as substitute for 
her husband, upon occasions when he was 
temporarily called away upon other business. 
John C. Eckels had grown to manhood 
on the home which his father bought in 
1835 and circumstances being favorable he 
started farming upon it in the spring follow- 
ing his marriage. He farmed continuously 
for twenty-seven years. After his father's 
death he purchased the place and improved 
it. increasing the producti\'eness of its acres 
and the con\'enience and appearance of its 



buildings. To him it was the most loved 
spot on earth, for it had been the home of 
his parents, it was his home for forty-four 
years, and upon it all of his children were 
born and grew to maturity. He was a sur- 
veyor and along with his farming did much 
surveying. His reputation as a surveyor and 
draftsman spread, and in 1862 he was 
elected county surveyor continuing in that 
office for about twelve years. His friendship 
for the cause of education led to his election 
as school director in Sil\-er Spring township, 
in which capacity he continued for twenty 
years and did some of his most beneficent 
and lasting work. Besides these trusts of a 
public nature he was also frequently called 
upon to act as trustee and guardian in pri- 
vate estates in which line he had much to 
do up to near the time of his death. In 1878 
he was elected to the office of county treas- 
urer and for three years discharged the 
duties of that responsible position with credit 
to himself and satisfaction to the public. 
After his election as county treasurer he re- 
linquished farming and removed to Carlisle 
in order to be near his post of duty and to 
give several of his sons college advantages. 
After his term as county treasurer he again 
became interested in the settlement of estates, 
also in business enterprises, and for about 
fourteen years was a director of the Farmers' 
Bank of Carlisle. In the fall of 1879 he pur- 
chased a home on South West street, Car- 
lisle, where he lived until the end of his days. 
In religion John C. Eckels was a Pres- 
byterian, as were his ancestors before him. 
He united with the Church at Silver Spring 
when nineteen years of age, and in 1851, 
the year in which he married, transferred his 
membership to the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle. In June. 1861, he was 
elected an elder, and from that date down to 
the time of his death, a period of thirty-five 



126 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



long years, discharged the duties of his elder- 
ship with the most reverent and conscien- 
tious fidelity. He was a delegate to the 
Presbyterian General Assembly at Detroit 
in 1872, also at Saratoga in 1883. He also 
attended the Assembly which met in Phila- 
delphia in 1870; the Centennial Assembly in 
1888, and the Assembly which met in Wash- 
ington, D. C, in 1893. He was an industri- 
ous and zealous friend of the Sunday-school, 
was teacher of a Bible class almost contin- 
ually and for several years superintendent of 
the school. He died May 22, 1896. and was 
laid to rest in Ashland cemetery at Carlisle. 

John C. and Mary L. (Kenyon) Eckels 
had children as follows : Cynthia Jane, 
Mervin Johnston, Francis Kenyon, John 
Clendenin, Charles Edmund. William Alex- 
ander, and a daughter who died in infancy. 
Of the si.x children named five had the ad- 
vantage of higher institutions of learning, 
three became college graduates, and all of 
the five in their earlier years engaged at 
teaching. Cynthia J., on leaving the com- 
mon school, attended a young ladies' semi- 
nary at Mount Joy, Pa. She is unmarried, 
and her aged mother and she comprise all 
of the family that is now left in the home at 
No. 156 South West street, Carlisle. 

Mervin Johnston Eckels, the eldest son, 
was born June 18, 1854, and prepared for 
college at the Chambersburg Academy. He 
then entered Lafayette College and gradu- 
ated from that institution in 1877. After 
his graduation from college he taught in the 
A-cademy at West Xottingham, Md., until 
in 1879, when he entered the Western Theo- 
logical Seminary at Allegheny as a member 
of the class of 1882. He was ordained a 
minister of the gospel Ijy the Presbytery of 
Baltimore in Octolier, 1882. The first 
charge to which he was called was at Havre 
de Grace, Md., where he remained three 



years. Next he was called to Salisbury, Md., 
where he continued five years, after 
which he served a charge at Bradford, 
Pa., for three years He then received 
and accepted a call to the \\'est Arch 
Street Presbyterian Church, in Philadelphia, 
which he has continued to fill ever since. 
In 1894 Lafayette College conferred upon 
h.im the degree of D. D. He is a member of 
the Board of Publication of the Presbyte- 
rian Church ; a trustee of the Presbytery of 
Philadelphia, and a trustee of Wilson Col- 
lege, Chambersburg. During the summer of 
1901, and again in 1904, he took trips abroad 
visiting England, .Scotland and Ireland, also 
France, Switzerland, Italy, and other coun- 
tries on the continent. 

On Dec. 11, 1883, Rev. Mervin J. Eckels 
was married to Miss Susan Tudor Kenly, 
of Harford county, Md., by whom he has 
had two children, both of whom died in 
infancy. 

Francis Kenyon Eckels, the third child, 
was born on Sept. 7, 1856. On leaving the 
public school he learned the printing trade 
in the ofifice of the Valley Sentinel and after- 
ward for a long time worked as a journey- 
man in Mechanicsburg. Later he worked 
in Carlisle and was foreman of the Sentinel 
composing room when he died. On Dec. 
25, 1879, he married Katie Sheibner, of Me- 
chanicsburg, and by her had one child, a 
daughter, who died at the age of six and a 
half months. He died on March 25, 1887, 
and afterward his wife had her home with 
his parents in Carlisle imtil her death. She 
passed away Jan. 7. 1904. and with her hus- 
band is buried in Ashland Cemetery. 

John Clendenin Eckels, the fourth child, 
bears his father's name. He was born Dec. 
22, 1858, and was educated in the common 
school and at the Cumberland Valley State 
Normal School. Before completing his 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



127 



course at the normal school he was called 
home by the illness of his father to attend to 
the management of the farm. With his farm 
duties he found time and inclination to do 
teaching and taught the Hepburn school in 
Middlesex township and the Eckels school 
in Silver Spring township, each one term. 
When his parents moved to Carlisle he took 
entire charge of the farm and farmed until 
1 88 1, wlien he also came to Carlisl^ At 
first he clerked in a store, but soon formed 
a partnership with L. R. Brenneman, and 
under the firm name of Brenneman & Eckels 
conducted a retail shoe business. Mr. Bren- 
neman sold his interest to W. C. Stuart, and 
Eckels & Stuart continued the business until 
in July, 1903, when Mr. Eckels sold out to 
Mr. Stuart for the purpose of going into the 
insurance and real-estate business, in which 
he is now engaged. In 1897 he was elected 
a director of the Merchants' National Bank 
of Carlisle, and was made secretary to its 
board, which place he still holds. On Feb. 
19, 1 89 1, he was married to Miss Alice E. 
Smiley, daughter of Rev. James W. and 
]\Iaria Emma (Green) Smiley, of Carlisle, 
Rev. W, A. West performing the ceremony. 
Mr. and Mrs. Eckels belong to the Second 
Presbyterian Church of Carlisle, the church 
of their parents, in which ]Mr. Eckels is an 
elder and clerk of the session. Formerly he 
held the place of trustee. He is also presi- 
dent of the Y. M. C. A. of Carlisle, and is 
acti\e and influential in whatever sphere he 
is called upon to act. 

Charles Edmund Eckels, the fifth child. 
was born Aug. 15, 1861. and graduated as 
A. B. from Dickinson College in 1885. He 
then taught in Cecil county, ]Md., and pri- 
vately studied theology. After being thus 
engaged for two years he entered the Senior 
class at Princeton Theological Seminary, 
from which he graduated in 1888. He then 



placed himself in the hands of the Presby- 
terian Board of Foreign ^Missions, who the 
same year sent him as missionary to Siam, in 
which field he has been devotedly laboring 
ever since. He is now in charge of the sta- 
tion at Nakawn-see-tamarat, Siam, on the 
west coast of the Gulf of Siam. On Nov. 
24, 1892, at Petchaburi, Siam, he married 
Miss Margaret Gait, a missionary from the 
State of Illinois, by whom he has the fol- 
lowing children : Annabel, John Clendenin, 
Mary Happer, and Charles Kenyon. 

^\'illiam Alexander Eckels, the youngest 
son, was born Nov. 4, 1863, and prepared 
for college at West Nottingham Academy, 
Md. He then entered Dickinson College, 
from which institution he graduated as A. 
B. in 1883. After graduating he taught in 
academies, high schools and colleges of sev- 
eral diflferent States and in 1898 received the 
degree of Ph. D. from Johns Hopkins Uni- 
versity. He is now Professor of Greek in 
Miami University, at Oxford, Ohio. On 
June 24, 1904, at Shandon, Ohio, he mar- 
ried Anna Longlej' Williams, who was born 
at Kalgan, China, May 30, 1878. Her 
father. Rev. Mark Williams, D. D., has been 
since 1866 a missionary of the American 
Board (Congregational) in China, and is 
now a professor in the North China College/ 
at Tungcho. Her mother, Isabella (Riggs) 
Williams, was a daughter of Dr. Steplien R. 
Riggs, the veteran missionary to the Da- 
kotah Indians, compiler of the Dakotah Dic- 
tionary, who for a short time served in the 
capacity of chaplain at the Carlisle Indian 
School. 

CALVIN COULSON, in his lifetime 
an industrious farmer of South Middleton 
township, was the son of William Coulson, 
who located in Cumberland county about 
Ihirty-five years ago. 



128 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



\\'illiam Coulson was born in Yurk coun- 
t\-, Pa._, but came to Cumberland county, 
and engaged in farming. He died at the 
age of sixty-five years upon the same farm 
in South Middleton on which he made his 
first home upon coming- to the county. He 
was greatly respected fi>r his many excellent 
qualities, many of which were inherited by 
his son, the late Calvin Coulson. He was 
the father of the following children : Cahin ; 
Sarah J., married; Margaret, married; Lou- 
isa, married; Catherine R., married; Alex- 
andria, married: Jacob C, married; Levi 
S., married : Ira J.. n:arried ; and Anna May, 
married. 

Calvin Coulson was born in York coun- 
ty. Pa., and was brought to South Middleton 
township bv his father, working with him 
until his marriage. On Aug. 6, 1876, he 
married Rachel A. Johnson, daughter of 
William and Rebecca Johnson. After their 
marriage the young peo])le lived upon the 
Coulson fami, and then, after six years, 
they went West, settling in Kansas with the 
intention of farming, but after six months 
they returned to Cumberland county, and 
in 1880, Mr. Calvin Coulson bought the 
old SheafTer farm consisting of forty-nine 
acres, in South Middleton township. Upon 
this property he and his wife located, and 
lived very happily until his demise at his 
home in 1901. He left his widow and one 
child, Mima, now attending school, a very 
bright and charming girl. 

Mr. Coulson was a man of great energy, 
a hard worker, and a man universally re- 
spected. He died in the prime of life, and is 
deeplv lamented by many outside his home 
circle. 

CHRISTL\N DIETZ (deceased), who 
for many years was one of the representative 
men of Mechanicsburg, Pa., was born in 



York county, this State, Oct. 3, 1832. He 
was of German-American orig-in, being a son 
of Daniel and Lydia (Stoner) Dietz. whose 
ancestors came from Germany and were 
among the early settlers of the Keystone 
State. 

When Christian Dietz was but fi\'e vears 
of age his parents came to Cumberland 
county, settling in East Pennsboro township, 
in 18^7, \\\t\\ their six children: David, 
Mary, Zacharias, Christian, Lizzie and 
Nancy. All are now deceased except Xancy, 
now Mrs. Martin Brinton. 

On Jan. 24, 1856, Mr. Dietz married 
Miss Elizabeth Wilt, of Cumberland county, 
a daughter of John and Elizabeth Wilt, both 
natives of Lancaster county and descend- 
ants of German parents. The marriage oi 
Mr. and Mrs. Dietz was blessed with chil- 
dren as follows: George W. (deceased) 
married Elizabeth Shuman, and they had 
three children. Christian S., Frank and 
Walter. Alice J. married Fred S. Mumma, 
and had seven children, Ralph, Milton, 
Edith, Frederick, Frank, Rofiert and Will- 
iam. Rebecca married Frank Basehore, and 
had four children, Samuel, Mary, George 
and Mabel. Milton married Flora Schaef- 
fer, and they had two children, Wilber and 
George. Catherine married M. W. Hertz- 
ler, and had one daughter, Cora E. 

In politics Mr. Dietz was a Democrat, 
and served in various township offices, be-' 
ing a conscientious official. His religious 
affiliations were with the St. John Lutheran 
Church. At the time of his death he owned 
four of the best farms in Cumberland coun- 
ty, having been an active ancl prosperous 
farmer for many years. In 1889 he re- 
moved to Mechanicsburg, where he lived re- 
tired in his beautiful home at No. 319 East 
Main street. His death occurred in April, 
1902, and the city thereby lost one of its 




CHRISTIAN DIETZ. 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TU.DEN FOUNnATIONg 

B u 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



129 



solid, reliable men and excellent citizens, 
while in his home his memory is ever green. 
In addition to his other interests Mr. Dietz 
was president of the ^lutual Fire Insurance, 
Co., and in all his operations he displayed 
the traits of character which gained him 
success — sterling honesty, steadfastness of 
purpose and unlimited capacity for hard 
work. 

Since her husliand's death Mrs. Dietz 
has resided at her home on Main street. 
where she is surrounded by the comforts 
provided by his devotion, and dispenses a 
gracious hospitality to her large circle of 
friends, who admire her many \irtues. In 
the Lutheran Church she is a very active 
factor, and her charities are many, although 
oftentimes unknown except to the recipients. 

WILLIAM TRICKETT, LL. D., was 
born June 9, 1840, in Leicester, the capital 
of Leicestershire, in the heart of England. 
While he was only in his second year his 
parents removed to the United States, and 
settled in Philadelphia, where the son was 
brought up attending the primary, second- 
ary and grammar schools, and finally at 
thirteen, entering the Central high school, 
from which he graduated in his seventeenth 
year. When eighteen and a half years of 
age he became attached to the Philadelphia 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, ami for five or six years preached 
at various points in the States of Delaware, 
Maryland and Pennsylvania. His health 
failing about this time he found it necessarv' 
to adopt some other avocation, and, relin- 
ciuishing preaching, he entered upon a course 
in Dickinson College, from which institu- 
tion he graduated in 1868, remaining for 
one year after his graduation as principal of 
its preparatory school. In the summer of 
1869 he was elected an adjunct professor of 
9 



Philosophy in Dickinson College, a position 
he held for two years. In 187 1 he went to 
Europe, where he remained for sixteen 
months, traveling and studying in Germany, 
Switzerland and France. While thus en- 
gaged in Europe he was elected Professor in 
Dickinson College, which place he accepted 
on his return, in 1872, and filled until the 
fall of 1874, when he resigned it and took 
up the study of law. He prepared for the 
law at Carlisle, and was admitted to the 
Cumberland County Bar in 1875, ^"d to 
practice in the Supreme Court in 1877. A 
few years after entering upon the practice 
of his profession Mr. Trickett turned his 
attention to the writing of law books, at 
which he has kept assiduously ever since, and 
in which line he has won great distinction. 
In 1881 he produced in two volumes the 
Law of Liens in Pennsylvania, and in 1891 
an additional volume on the same subject; 
in 1884 the Law of Limitation and the Law 
of Assignments; in 1893, the Law of Bor- 
oughs, to which he added a supplementary 
volume in 1898; in 1894, the Law of High- 
ways; in 1900 the Law of Guardians and 
the Law of Partition; in 1901, the Law of 
Witnesses; and in 1904, the Law of Land- 
lord and Tenant, and at present he is en- 
gaged on several other important works. 

Mr. Trickett never sought office, but in 
1 89 1 he was elected to a Constitutional Con- 
vention, which convention, however, did not 
meet. In 1898 he was one of the Democratic 
nominees for Superior Court Judge and re- 
ceived 412,580 votes, while his colleagues on 
the ticket received an average of 353.117- 
His favorite studies in his earlier years were 
theology and philosophy ; in later years, law, 
sociology and politics in the Aristotelian 
sense. He is a member of the American Ear 
Association ; of the Pennsylvania Bar Asso- 
ciation; and of the American Academy of 



130 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Political and Social Science; in 1S90 De- 
Pauw University conferred upon him the 
degree of LL. D. 

In 1890 Dr. Trickett was elected dean of 
the Dickinson Law School, which had then 
just been incorporated to continue the work 
of an earlier school originated by Hon. John 
Reed, a former president judge of the Courts 
of Cumberland county. He has been dean 
continuously ever since, a period of thirteen 
years, during which time 300 lawyers have 
been trained in the school, who are now 
practicing their profession in Pennsylvania, 
Alaryland, New Jersey and other States. 
Besides the oversight of the school he has, 
during his incumbency, given lectures sev- 
eral hours daily on the law of Real Property, 
Contracts, E\-idence, Decedent's Estates, 
Bills and Notes, Corporations and Constitu- 
tional Law. During the first year of the 
school under its charter he did all the teacli- 
ing that was done. The school has, during 
the fourteen vears, reached a maximum of 
over 100 full students, besides students of 
the College who have taken a practical law 
course. 

FREDERICK SEIDLE, one of the 
leading representatives of the manufactur- 
ing interests of Mechanicsburg, Pa., was 
born in Philadelphia, Oct. 26, 1825, son of 
Frederick (Sr.) and Magdalena (Bergner) 
Seidle. both nf whom were natives of Wur- 
temberg, Germanv. These parents came to 
Philadelphia in 1825, where the father en- 
gaged in a prijduce business, both in that 
city and Lancaster until 1836, when he re- 
moved to Cumberland cnunty and purchased 
a farm in Silver Spring township. There he 
and his wife spent useful lives, and died firm 
in the faith of the Mennonite Church. Their 
family was as follows : Conrad, deceased ; 
Frederick ; ]\Iartha : Anne ; Lizzie and Cath- 



erine, the latter of whom is the wife of 
Christian Brenner, of Philadelphia. 

Until he ^^•as eighteen years of age, our 
' subject remained ujx^n the farm, receiving 
a limited common school education in Silver 
Spring township. At the age of nineteen 
years he came to }ilechanicsburg, and served 
an apprenticeship at the trade of carpenter 
and cabinetmaker. Although he started out 
in life with a very small capital, by hard 
work, good management and honest methods 
he has made a success of his life. He at- 
tended the Paris Exposition in 1878, with 
exhibits of his manufactured material, and 
received several gold medals. Mr. Seidle 
also traveled over France, Germany, Eng- 
land, Belgium, Holland and Switzerland, 
\'isiting many carriage and manufacturing 
establishments, and he took orders enough 
to keep his business running for over a year. 
Prior to the Civil war, Mr. Seidle en- 
gaged in business with Samuel Eberly, for 
the purpose of manufacturing wagon mate- 
rial, such as spokes and other articles per- 
taining to wagon making, and also hay 
rakes, sash and doors, and all kinds 
of building material. About this time 
he took out patents on what is 
known as the Seidle hay rake, and later 
made large sales of it throughoui the entn-e 
West. In i860, the partners closed their 
business, and engaged in bridge building 
for the United States government. After a 
year Mr. Seidle returned to Mechanicsburg, 
and engaged in the manufacture of hay rakes 
until i8f)5, when he again embarked in the 
spoke, hul) and wheel industry, from time to 
time enlarging his plant, until he is the leader 
in his line in this locality, and one of the 
largest in the United States. 

In November, 1850, Mr. Seidle married 
Miss Elizabeth Stevenson, born in Cuml;)er- 
land countv, near Harrisbiu-g, a daughter of 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



131 



David and Leah (Shriner) Stevenson, na- 
tives of Pennsylvania. Three children were 
born to them: Albert E., who married Miss 
Mary Rodgers, and has one son, Albert ; 
William D.. who assists his father in the 
businss ; and one child deceased. In Feb- 
ruary, 1898, Mr. Seidle lost his wife, whom 
he hourly misses, she having been an unusu- 
ally charming and cultivated lady. Through- 
out his business career, Mr. Seidle has made 
many warm friends as well as congenial bus- 
iness associates, and he is verv popular as 
well as ]irnminent in business and social 
circles. 

CHRISTIAN LONG. Few citizens of 
the Cumberland Valley were more widely 
known than the late Christian Long, and few- 
deserve more admiration for those sterling 
traits of character which enabled him, un- 
aided and alone, to rise from poverty and 
obscurity to where he dictated measures to 
legislative bodies, ruled corporations and 
owned land in a score of States. 

Christian Long was born in 1814, on the 
old Long farm, midway between ^lillers- 
town and Liverpool, in Pfoutz's Valley, 
Perry county, Pa., and he died at Shippens- 
burg, Jan. 16, 1892. His parents were 
Christian and Mary (Gable) Long, the lat- 
ter being of German descent. His earliest 
American ancestor was Isaac Long, but 
prior to him the family history consists prin- 
cipally of traditions more or less contradict- 
ory. According to some old records the 
Longs originally came from Baden, Ger- 
many; others indicate that they came from 
Normandy, in northern France, while still 
others show that they were of Scotch-Irish 
descent. All three traditions may, in some 
sense, be correct, and may be reconciled on 
the theory that the Longs were of Scotch 
origin, and to get away from religious per- 



secution migrated across the English Chan- 
nel to Normandy, and thence to Baden, and 
thence to Switzerland, where they espoused 
the cause of the Protestants, and finally emi- 
grated to America. As the Longs were 
found in the Mennonite communities of 
Lancaster county prior to the Revolution 
this explanation seems plausible. The family 
has furnished a number of names prominent 
in public affairs. Henry D. Long was for 
many years presiding judge of the Lancaster 
courts, and presented Lancaster City with a 
beautiful park bearing his name. He also 
established' an asylum for women at a cost 
of more than half a million dollars. Charles 
D. Long was for many years a member of 
the Supreme Court of Michigan, and Ches- 
ter I. Long a representative in Congress 
from \¥ichita, Kansas. 

In 1754, six miles northeast of Lancas- 
ter City, Isaac Long erected buildings that 
became historical through the great meet- 
ing held there in 1777, at wdiich the United 
Brethren Church was organized. These old 
buildings are still standing and in good re- 
pair. They are of stone, and the one in 
which the great mass meeting was held is a 
perfect square, 108 by 108 feet in size. The 
dwelling is also a large structure and built 
on the old fashioned colonial style. In 
Berger's "History of the United Brethren 
Church," reference is made to these build- 
ings and the masonry described as being "of 
a high order." Their original thatched 
roofs long ago gave way to more modern 
coverings. 

Isaac Long had a son David who was ed- 
ucated for the ministry, and in 181 1 settled 
near the Juniata- river in the sparsely popu- 
lated region of Cumberland county, from 
which Perry county was afterward formed. 
There he established a church, and acquired 
a farm that was afterward distributed to his 



132 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



cliildren, the mansion falling to the son 
Christian who married Mary Gable. 

Christian Long, son of Christian and 
Mary (Gable) Long, and the subject of this 
sketch, passed his boyhood and early man- 
hood at his home in Pfoutz's Valley. Start- 
ing out line dav with his grain cradle slung 
over his shoulder, and in his hand his stock of 
worldly effects bound up in a handkerchief, 
he made his first break into the world and 
success. Obtaining employment in a harvest 
field on a neighboring farm., he earned a few 
dollars with which he bought a nice fat calf. 
This he killed, and, peddling out the meat, 
made several dollars by the venture. En- 
couraged by his success he came into the 
eastern end of the Cumberland Valley, and 
went into the butchering business in earnest. 
He bought a horse and wagon and sold to the 
farmers, delivering to them fresh meat three 
and four times a week. Aljout this time he 
met at a farmhouse a stranger who was sell- 
ing a mantel clock, which was cheaply gotten 
up, but which kept good time. After some 
dickering with the stranger he accepted a 
proposition to sell clocks on commission. 
The clock sold readily, and he found the 
business so profitable that he promptly gave 
up butchering- and devoted himself exclu- 
sively to tlie selling of clocks. \n this new 
business of selling clocks he became ac- 
quainted with many prominent citizens who 
owned of the original stock of the Cumber- 
land Valley Railroad, which had depreciated 
so heavily that they were willing to part 
with it at a mere nominal figure. Being con- 
fident that the Cumberland Valley railroad 
was a valuable property, and that its stock 
was bound to recover, he took it in exchange 
for clocks, allowing for it from ten to fifteen 
cents on the dollar, and managing to receive 
in addition as much cash as the clocks cost 
him. In this way he quietly accumulated 



enough stock to entitle him to a share in the 
management of the road, and to enable him 
to dictate to its directors and other ofScials. 
He never sold any of his holdings, and the 
subsequent rise in the value of the stock 
made him a very rich man. This stock trans- 
action demonstrated that be possessed nat- 
ural business sagacity and foresight of a 
high order. It gave him reputation and in- 
fluence, and when the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company began to reach out for alliances 
with other corporations they sought Mr. 
Long's sen-ices, and it was he who secured 
the right of way for the Philadelphia & 
Erie railroad for a large part of the distance 
between Harrisburg and Erie. He was a 
stockholder in the Cumberland Valley, in 
tl-.e Pennsylvania and in the Northern Cen- 
tral railroads; and through the sale of his 
interest in the Somerset railroad, became a 
bondholder in the Baltimore & Ohio. Being 
always faithful to the corporations in which 
he held stock he was intrusted with some of 
their most important business, and he suc- 
cessfully negotiated and adjusted matters, 
which ordinarily would have been entrusted 
only to astute and experienced corporation 
lawyers. 

In many ways he was eccentric — a per- 
missiljle conditinn with those who are able 
to control great interests — and one of his 
eccentricities was his pride in being able to 
keep intact the confidences reposed in him. 
One of the incidents related of him was, 
that to perfect some secret arrangements 
he, upon one occasion, traveled thousands 
of miles without once stopping at a hotel, 
where sus]5icious lawyers would have had 
opportunities to interrogate him, and all the 
food he needed upon the entire trip he car- 
ried in his pocket. L^pon another occasion, 
when past three score years old. he made 
a trip from Harrisburg to Parker's Landing 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



133 



to settle a claim against the Allegheny Val- 
ley railroad. On arriving at Parker's Land- 
ing he learned that the party who held the 
claim lived at a place nine miles from the 
station, which he reached through the mud, 
made a settlement of a twenty-five thousand 
dollar claim for eight hundred dollars, se- 
cured a release and in less than twenty-four 
hours was on his way home. His life was 
full of incidents illustrating his close calcula- 
tion and wonderful business foresight. He 
bought land, and it turned out to be valuable 
oil fields ; he invested in small enterprises 
and they developed into great corporations. 
Business was his occupation and delight, but 
occasionally he interested himself in politics 
sufficiently to demonstrate that if he chose 
he could likewise be a potent factor in that 
turbulent field. 

As is not always the case Mr. Long had 
an entirely different side to his character. 
He was devoted to the welfare of his family, 
and he loveil his modest home, which with 
its familiar surroundings was most comfor- 
table to him, although his great wealth 
would have permitted much display bad he 
cared for ostentation. He made warm 
friends and kept them, and by his closest kin- 
dred was simply adored. 

1837 Mr. Long married Hannah Ellen 
Atkinson, a native of York county, who 
survived him, but passed away Oct. 28, 
1895. One son, Jra, died in the West, July 
6, 1 88 1, but the following of his children 
still survive: Mrs. Anna E. Geiger and 
Mrs. Ella M. Earner, of Shippensburg ; 
Mrs. Laura R. Loh, of Harrisburg; Mrs 
Fannie A. Williams, of Los Angeles, Cal., 
and Christian, Jr., of Shippensburg. 

Until the very last Mr. Long retained 
the bodily vigor and mental strength of one 
of but half his years, and had not a neglected 
cold prostrated him, and finally closed his 



activities, it is cjuite possible that he would 
have undertaken other and still larger enter- 
prises and probably have carried them to 
successful completion. His associates in 
business were men prominent in great af- 
fairs, who were not slow to testify to the 
high esteem in which they held him. For 
some years his son-in-law, John L. Earner, 
a prominent citizen of Shippensburg, had 
been associated with Mr. Long in the man- 
agement of his multitudinous interests. 

WILLIAM MILLER WALKER. One 
of the most familiar names upon the early 
records of Cumberland county is that of 
W^alker. There are, however, different 
branches of the family, and whether the 
search is directed backward or forward, care 
is required upon the part of the historian to 
keep the lines separate and distinct. As in 
the case of many of the first settlers of Penn- 
sylvania, the several branches of this family 
came from Ireland. Some time prior to the 
war of the Revolution there immigrated to 
this country from the North of Ireland a 
Walker, whose Christian name has become 
lost in the lapse of time, but who furnishes a 
worthy progenitor to the subject of this 
sketch. According to tradition he settled in 
the eastern part of the Province, and partic- 
ipated in the struggle for American inde- 
pendence. At the battle of Erandywine he 
was captured by the Eritish, who to prevent 
him from escaping bound him to the wheel 
of one of their gun carriages. This Revolu- 
tionary sire afterward had a son named 
Miller Walker, who married Mary Marsh, a 
native of Scotland, but of whose lineage 
nothing further is known. Miller and Mary 
(Marsh) Walker had children as follows: 
Joseph, Miller, Olive, Mary Ann, Ezekiel, 
John, Eenjamin Franklin and Thomas. 
It is the object of this historical sketch 



134 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



to deal ijrincipally with the Hne of Ezekiel 
Walker. He was born July 21, 1816, near 
the battlefield of Brandywine, in Chester 
county, where he grew to manhood, and for 
his life occupation learned the shoemaking 
trade. In 1839. when ready to take upon 
himself the serious duties of life, he located 
at Xew\-ille, Cumberland county, and there 
engaged in his \ocation of shoemaking, soon 
gaining for himself the reputation of being 
a very capable workman. He married Har- 
riet Rowe, of Green Spring, Newton town- 
ship, a native of the vicinity of Reading, and 
a daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Kendig) 
Rowe, of German ancestry. Subsecjuently 
he moved to the village of Oakville, and 
there continued his business of making and 
mending shoes. He was an industrious, 
frugal and upright man, lived a modest quiet 
life, and raised his family in comfort. He 
was reared in the Presbyterian Church, and 
in politics was a Democrat, firm in his polit- 
ical convictions, but never an active politi- 
cian. In his later years he removed from 
Oakville to Shippensburg, where in 1892 
he closed his long and well-spent life, and 
where his widow is still living, at the age of 
eighty. Ezekiel and Harriet (Rowe) Wal- 
ker, had the following children: William 
Miller is mentioned below. Jennie H. be- 
came the wife of H. J. Fosnot, of Lewis- 
town, Pa., where her husband is a promi- 
nent citizen, and editor and publisher of a 
Democratic newspaper. Simon H. is an 
employe in the Pennsylvania railroad shops 
at Altoona. Samuel C. is a clerk in the 
offices of the Pennsylvania Railway Com- 
pany at Altoona. Sarah H. is the wife of 
the Rev. H. Doner, of Shippensburg. Susan 
S. is the wife of Fred Kniley, of Lykens, 
Pa. Carrie E. is a teacher in the public 
schools of Lewistown, Pennsylvania. 

William Miller Walker, the eldest child 



of the family and the sul)ject of this sketch, 
was born Sept. 8, 1844. at Oakville, where 
he passed the years of his youth and young 
manhood. He was educated in the public 
schools, but at a comparatively early age 
was put to work in his father's shoemaking 
shop, and taught the art of making shoes, a 
training that has proved especially useful to 
him in the occupation in which he is now en- 
gaged. In 1879 '^^ entered upon ruitried 
fields. Going t(T Philadelphia, he secured a 
position as traveling salesman with B. Ayers 
& Co., and was a trusted employe of that 
house for seven years. He next engaged 
as traveling salesman with Potter & Right- 
ington, of Boston, Mass., in whose employ 
he continued for seven years, traveling over 
the States of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, 
Ohio, Indiana, West Virginia and Mary- 
land. In 1892 he came to Carlisle, and asso- 
ciated himself with the Lindner Shoe Com- 
pany, as general salesman, in which capac- 
ity he has ever since been engaged. His 
duties are of a responsible character, and re- 
quire him to canvass systematically a large 
section of the country, necessitating frequent 
trips and much traveling. Of his success a^i 
a salesman, and his fidelity and honesty as 
a representative of large business interests, 
his historian is forbidden to speak, but on 
that point the long terms of service which 
have passed to his credit are a testimonial 
sufficient to satisfy the -most interested 
reader. 

Although much from home and fre- 
quently at a great distance, Mr. \\'alker from 
a sense of duty and a natural affection al- 
ways tenderly cared for the aged parents, 
who tarried there. It was his especial pleas- 
ure to give to both, while they lived, the 
ministrations which contributed most to 
their comfort and joy, and since the father 
is P'one those same filial devotions go to the 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



135 



waiting motlier in double measure. Frater- 
nally, Mr. Walker is a I\Iason, belonging to 
Big Spring Lodge, No. 361, Newville ; St. 
John's Chapter, Xo. 171. Carlisle; St. John's 
Commander)', No. 8, of Carlisle; and Zembo 
Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of Harrisburg, 
Pa. In 1900 he married Annie E. Ander- 
son, daughter of David and Martlia (Don- 
nelly) Anderson, of Shippensburg, and they- 
live in a pleasant home of their own at No. 
555 North Hanover street, Carlisle. 

GEORGE HUMMEL, whose death 
occurred at Mechanicsburg, March 29, 1893, 
was one of the honest and upright business 
men, who was held in universal esteem, and 
whose death left a place not easily filled in 
the ranks of business, or in the hearts of 
kindred anrl friends. Mr. Hummel was born 
Feb. 7, 1822, in the city of Harrisburg, son 
of David and Susan (Kunkle) Hummel, 
the former of whom was born Sept. 8, 1784, 
at Hummelstown, and the latter May 31, 
1790, in Harrisburg, Dauphin county, Pa. 
Both families are of German extraction, and 
old settlers of Lancaster and Dauphin coun- 
ties. The children of David and Susan 
Hummel were : Catherine, David, Christian, 
Mary, Elizabeth, Susan, George, Albert, 
Anna, Emily, and others who died in child- 
hood. By trade David Hummel was a sad- 
dler, and at one time was a man of property 
in Harrisburg, owning a part of the land 
where the "Commonwealth Hotel" now 
stands. 

The late George Hummel was educated 
in the excellent schools of Harrisburg, com- 
ing later to Mechanicsburg, Cumberland 
county, to engage in the lumber and ware- 
house business, in which he continued many 
years, amassing a comfortable fortune. He 
was one of the directors of the First National 
Bank, of Mechanicsburg, and was its presi- 



dent at the time of his death. In politics, he 
was an active Republican, and served with 
much credit as a member of the council of 
Mechanicsburg, also filling odier offices of 
a public nature. In religious belief and ob- 
servance Mr. Hummel was a Lutheran. 

In 1850 Mr.' Hummel married Sarah 
Dietz, of York county, who was born Aug. 
19, 1825, and five children were born to 
them, as follows : Luther M., who died at 
the age of twenty-seven years ; Catharine 
D., of Mechanicsburg; Mary W. : Susan K. ; 
and Elizabeth G., who married John L. 
Shelley, an attorney at Mechanicsburg, and 
has six children, Sarah E., Elizabeth G., 
John L., Jr., D. Hummel, Paul Webster 
and Rachel. 

i\Ir. Hummel was always very active in 
church and Sunday-school work, and was 
liberal in his donations to all religious affairs. 
He was known as a man of high moral 
character, charitable to the poor and devoted 
to his home and family. His bereaved 
widow survived him until March, 1898, 
when she, too, met a Christian death. Both 
Mr. and Mrs. Hummel were widely known, 
and were considered with feelings of esteem 
and affection by a large circle. 

COL. JOSEPH TOTTON. Among 
the well known and highly respected citizens 
of Mechanicsburg, Pa., who has ser\'ed his 
country in war and peace. Col. Joseph Tot- 
ton is deserving of special mention. He Is 
now prominent in business circles in that 
city as the proprietor of the Totton livery 
stables, as well as the supporter of all meas- 
ures calculated to prove of benefit to his 
community. Col. Totton was born at Dills- 
burg, York county. Pa., July 8, 1823, son of 
John and Hattie (]\IcClure) Totton. 

John Totton was bom in Portadown, 
Ireland. Bv trade he was a shoemaker. He 



136 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



enlisted in the English army, and served nine 
years during the French war. when he was 
brought to America, in 1812. He. however, 
refused to fight the Americans, and became a 
citizen of the United States, settling at Dills- 
burg. York county, where he married. His 
death occurred there in 1847. when he was 
sixty vears of age. His wife, Hattie Mc- 
Clure. died in 1849. ^g^d fifty-eight years, 
a consistent member of the Presbyterian 
Church. Their family consisted of six chil- 
dren: Joseph, Margaret. David, Margery. 
Rachel and Mary Ellen. 

Col. Joseph Totton acquired an educa- 
tion in a little school house in Dillsburg. after 
which he learned the trade of shoemaker, 
and remained in his native town until 1S55, 
when he went to Shippensburg. In 1857 
he located in ]\Iechanicsburg and embarked 
in a boot and shoe l.nisiness, but at the out- 
break of the Rebellion he raised the Cumber- 
land Guards, which became Company H. 7th 
Pennsylvania Reserves, of which he was 
elected captain, and subsecpiently became a 
lieutenant-colonel. He remained with the 
regiment one year, when being compelled to 
resign on account of impaired health, he re- 
ceived an honorable discharge. He came 
home, and in a year opened his present livery 
stables. In 1873 he was elected sheriff of 
Cumberland county, and resided in Carlisle 
three years, during his term of office, since 
which time he has made Mechanicsburg his 
home. 

On June 8, 1848, at Dillsburg, Mr. Tot- 
ton was married to Miss Lydia Wagner, 
born in East Berlin, Adams Co., Pa., daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Lydia (Oyler) Wagner, 
of whom the former, a blacksmith, was born 
in Adams county, the latter in Hanover, 
York county. Mr. and Mrs. Totton have 
had eleven children, nine of whom grew to 
maturity: David E., born in Dillsburg, Oct. 



30. 1849; James M.. born in Monroe town- 
ship, Sept. 25. 1851; George B., born m 
Dillsburg. and now a fanuer in Silver Spring 
township; Ellen, deceased, wife of Talliot 
Crane, of Cumberland county ; Annie, of 
Mechanicsburg; Maggie, with her parents; 
Tosei)h. Jr. ; John and Frank, who both as- 
sist their father; Samuel M. and Hattie. de- 
ceased. ]\Irs. Totton is a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church, in which she is an active 
wcirker. I-'raternally. Col. Totton is a mem- 
ber of Mechanicsburg Lodge No. 215, I. 
O. O. F., and is the oldest member of that 
organization in the town, having been con- 
nected with the lodge for fifty-seven years. 
He is also a member of Carlisle Post No. 
201, G. A. R. Col. Totton is one of the 
prosperous business men of Mechanicsburg, 
and few are better or more favorably known 
in this locality than he. For the past fifty 
vears he has given the Democratic party his 
stanch sujiport. and he is an important fac- 
tor in its ranks. As a soldier and private 
citizen. Col. Totton has always done what he 
belie\-ed to be his duty, and has not only 
made a success of his life work, but placed 
himself in a \'ery enviable position in the 
esteem of his fellow townsmen. 

SAMUEL KUNKEL, whose death, 
]\Iarch 23, 1892, at his late home in Ship- 
pensburg. Cumberland county, removed one 
of the oldest and most highly respected citi- 
zens of that place, had lived a \ong and use- 
ful life, and will ever be recalled with feel- 
ings of veneration and esteem. 

Mr. Kunkel was born ]\Iay 26. 181 7. at 
Harrisburg. Pa., the youngest of a large 
family, whose only survivor at present is 
his elder sister. Airs. Ross, of Middletown. 
After the death of his father, when he was 
still small, he left Harrisburg and went to 
Middletown. where he assisted an older 





6i^^^^l^t<^ 




THE KEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AtTUK, LENOX AND 
TUDEN FOUNDATIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



X37 



brother in various business ways. In Feb- 
ruary, 1843, lie became a resident of Ship- 
pensburg, which was his home for ahnost a 
half century. Here lie at once entered upon 
an active business career. The energy- which 
was so marked in him ah his hfe was shown 
in the days of his early business career, but 
the sedentary life and close application ren- 
dered it necessary for him' later to make 
business changes. He began business in the 
room on W'est Main street now occupied by 
the Shy rock grocery store, in 1849, ^"^ con- 
tinued there for a few years, moving thence 
to a building of his own. 

Mr. Kunkel was a most devoted husband 
and father and was repaid by the tender re- 
gard of a loving family. As a lifelong 
memher of the Evangelical Lutheran Church 
he was not only a devout communicant, but 
also a useful ot^cial, and for many years was 
superintendent of the Sunday-school. He 
contril)uted largely to the erection of two 
church edifices during his residence in Ship- 
pensburg — one built in 1847, ^^'^'^ t'^^ present 
one, which was completed a few years prior 
to his decease. In borough affairs Mr. Kun- 
kel, in his younger years, took a very active 
part, serving in the council and as a mem- 
ber of the school board, discharging his du- 
ties with a conscientious regard for the pub- 
lic weal, irrespective of self-seeking. 

On May 26, 1842, Mr. Kunkel married 
Rachel Bomberger, who was born February 
26, 1821, in Middletown, Pa., and whose 
lamented death took place at her residence 
on \\'est Alain street, June 14, 1898. For 
some months she had been in failing health, 
but the immediate cause of death was an 
affection of the heart. This admirable 
woman had been a resident of Shippensburg 
ever since her husband had embarkeil in mer- 
cantile business here, and few residents were 
better known or more sincerely beloved. For 



many years a de\-out member of the 
Memorial Lutheran Church, her religion 
was not confined within its bounds, but 
overflowed to all who came within her kindly 
presence. It made her devoted to the wel- 
fare of her family and kind and generous to 
all in need. She survived her husband but 
si.x years, and is snr\-ived by the following 
named children : George J. and Mrs. Anna 
E. Montgomery, of Shippensburg; Charles 
A., of Harrisburg; Samuel, who, with his 
brother Charles, owns the Mechanics Bank 
at Harrisburg: Mrs. Serena Motter, of 
Frederick, Md., and Mrs. Lily Anghin- 
baugh, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. 

We are permitted to copy the testimonial 
of one who knew this most estimable woman 
well : 

"A gentle life has just been ended, a 
consistent Christian, a loving mother, a true 
friend, a kind neighbor, passed quietly on to 
the beatific vision of her Lord. Mrs. Kun- 
kel's piety was unobtrusive. Through the 
years of childhood and maidehhood were 
planted seeds that bore rich and precious 
fruits. Her children can recall the songs she 
sang at their cradles. Her soul ever longed 
for the House of God. She was there from 
love and from principle. Endowed with 
more than ordinary mental gifts, she had 
stored her memory with the great and pre- 
cious promises which, both in public and 
private prayer, she could plead effectually 
before God. Shrinking and distrustful of 
her own attainments in holiness, the prospect 
of death, at the first symptoms of illness, 
terrified her for the moment, but as the last 
enemy drew nearer and nearer, her lifelong 
faith asserted its supremacy, and with joy- 
ful breath she passed on, more than a con- 
queror through Him that loved her." 

The funeral services over the body of this 
righteous woman, like those above her late 



138 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



husliand. were of a simple Init impressive 
character. Her pastor, Re\-. George C. 
Henrv. spoke httingh' of her life and char- 
acter, and her remains were laid beside those 
of her husljand in the family lot in Spring 
Hill cemetery. Thus passetl away two of 
Shippensburg's old and honored residents. 
They had lived quiet, uneventful lives, con- 
lent to do good unostentatiousl)', filling the 
places in whic'n fortune had placed them, and 
lea\-ing the world better than they found it. 
Their virtues rear for them a monument 
in influence more enduring than stone or 
marble. 

WILLIA^I SENSEAIAX. one of the 
prominent business men of Boiling Springs, 
Cumlierland county, where he has long been 
engaged as a coal merchant, is of German 
ancestry, and was born Sept. 20, 1837, in 
Cumberland county. His great-grandpar- 
ents were natives of Germany, and, coming 
to America, settled in Lancaster county, Pa., 
wdiere his grandfather was born. He was a 
miller by trade, and followed same near 
Ephrata, in his native county. His family 
consisted of the following named children: 
John, Joseph, William, Samuel, Daniel, Re- 
becca L. and Hannah. 

Samuel Senseman, father of William, 
was born in 1796 in Ephrata, Lancaster 
county, and in early life learned the carpen- 
ter's trade. In 182S he removed to Cumber- 
land county, buying a farm in Silver Spring 
township, where he became well and favor- 
ably known. He enjoyed the confidence of 
his fellowmen to an tmusual degree, as was 
shown by the number of estates he was called 
upon to settle, all of which were wisely ad- 
ministered, every dollar being properly ac- 
counted for. He married Miss Elizabeth 
Haines, like himself a native of Lancaster 
county, and they became the parents of ten 



children: Susan, Jeremiah. John, Harriet, 
Lydia, Samuel, David, Adam, William and 
Sarah. The parents of this family were 
members of the Lutheran Church. The 
father was a Democrat in politics. 

William Senseman was reared on the 
farm and educated in the common schools. 
He has made his own way in the world from 
t'he age of fourteen years. After attaining 
his majority he went to Illinois, remaining 
in that State for three years, and returning 
to Cumberland county in 1863. In 1878 he 
commencetl the milling business, which he 
continued for two years; from 1880 to 1884 
he dealt in horses in company with A. R. 
I\Iay. In 1884 he again leased the mill, but 
gave up that branch of his business in 1888, 
and has since been engaged as a coal dealer. 
In 1872 he bought the home on Second 
street, in Boiling Springs, where he has 
ever since lived. He has become one of the 
active citizens of that place, and has been 
chosen a number of times for the offices of 
school director and township supervisor. 
His political support is given to the Demo- 
cratic party. 

On Nov. 6, 1865, Mr. Senseman was 
united in marriage with Miss Hettie Shuh, 
daughter of Benjamin and INIary (Landis) 
Shuh, of Dauphin county; the Shuh family 
is of German origin. [Mrs. Senseman passed 
away July 30, 1896, at the residence in Boil- 
ing Springs, aged forty-nine years, ten 
months and four days, and was laid to rest 
in the Churchtown cemetery. She had long 
been a zealous member of St. John's Luth- 
eran Church of Boiling Springs, and many 
were the evidences of affection shown at the 
time of her death, and during the long illness 
which preceded it. Having no family of her 
own, Mrs. Senseman devoted herself unspar- 
inglv to the welfare of others, and. Ijesides 
being a great church worker, was noted for 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



139 



her benevolences and kindliness. She had a 
cheerful and winning disposition which en- 
deared to lier aU who knew her, and looked 
at the bright side of everything, at the same 
time doing all in her power to make others 
do the same. She had charge of the infant 
department of St. John's Sunday-school, 
which passed the following resolutions at 
the time of her death : 

Where.'VS, It has pleased our Heavenly 
Father to take from our Sundaj* school and 
our church one of our most earnest and de- 
voted teachers, and who as the head of the 
infant class was ready to sacrifice time, labor 
and money in their behalf, Therefore, 

Resolved, That while we deplore the loss- 
of Mrs. Senseman from our midst we yet 
bow in submission to Him who doeth all 
things well, knowing that she rests from her 
labors and her works shall follow her. 

Resolved, That offering to her bereaved 
husband our earnest sympathy, we with him 
will cherish her memory, as one who in all 
her trials of sickness and pain never forgot 
her God, her church, or her beloved infant 
class. 

Resolved, That a copy of the above be 
entered upon the minutes and presented to 
the husband and the Carlisle papers for pub- 
lication. 

Mr. and Mrs. Senseman adopted twc 
children, namely: (i) John Cunningham 
received a good education, and in his early 
manhood taught Graham's school, in North 
Middleton township. He is now superin- 
tendent of the stores of the Iron Company, 
at Sparrows Point,i\Id., with which company 
he has been connected for ten years, during 
which, by hard work, he has pushed his way 
to the front, and become a valued employe; 
he has traveled considerably through Texas 
and the West, and for a time resided in Te- 
cumseh, Neb. He married Miss Grace 



Snyder of Sparrows Point. (2) Sadie 
Dean was born in Pennsylvania, and is now 
the wife of Charles Rider, a stock dealer of 
Monroe township. Cumberland county; they 
have the following named children : \\'il- 
liam. Mary, Ethel, Meda, Bertha and Olin. 
all living. 

On Sept. 21, 1898, Mr. Senseman mar- 
ried, for his second wife, Miss Agnes C. 
Sheaffer, who was born in Dickinson town- 
ship, Cumberland county, daughter of Jacob 
and Elizabeth (Dick) Sheaffer, of Adams 
county; Mr. Sheaffer was a miller by trade. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Senseman hold member- 
ship in the Lutheran Church of Boiling 
Springs, of which he is now serving as elder. 
He is a most respected man in every rela- 
tion of life, and holds a high place in the 
esteem of his fellow citizens. 

REV. THOMAS JAMES FERGU- 
SON was born in Dry Run, Franklin Co., 
Pa. His grandfather, David Ferguson, 
coming from the North of Ireland, located 
there in his young manhood. He belonged 
to the Scotch-Irish race that has given so 
many noble men to the State and nation. 
David Ferguson married Margaret Mc- 
Kibben, and of this union James Ferguson 
was born in 1809, and lived his years near 
his earlv home. 

James Ferguson was successful in busi- 
ness, a ruling elder in the United Presbyte- 
rian Church, and was held in high esteem by 
all who knew him. He was for several years 
Associate Judge of Franklin county, and he 
discharged the duties of the office with fidel- 
ity, and with credit to himself. He married 
Mary A. Doyle, and Thomas James Fergu- 
son was one of five children given to them. 

Thomas James Ferguson was born Oct. 
19, 1852, and he received his education at 
Chambersburg Academy, Westminster Col- 



I40 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



lege, and Western Theological Seminary. 
In October. 1878, he became pastor of the 
Silver Spring Presbyterian Church. 

To few ministers is it given to become a 
factor in the varying phases of country life, 
such as i\'Ir. Ferguson has been. His intlu- 
ence has been felt far beyond the confines of 
his church. There has been no movement 
for the betterment of the country that has 
not had his support and encouragement. 
He has been interested in better roads, better 
schools (serving as a school director for a 
number of years), and better farming. He 
has labored to unite the Christian forces of 
his locality, and to create closer fellowship 
among Christian people, and he has bade 
God speed to eveiy man who served His 
Master. He holds the respect and admira- 
tion of the entire community. 

On June 9. 1887, the Rev. Mr. Ferguson 
Avas married to Miss Grace Ewalt, whose 
family history is associated with the history 
of the \-alley from the beginning. Their 
children are Margaret, Mary McCormick 
and Virginia. 

SiL\T,R Spring Presbyterian Church. 
The first settlers in the Cumberland A'al- 
ley were Scotch-Irish and Irish, and were 
Presbyterians. Shortly after their coming 
came the Minister to preach the Gospel, and 
gather them together for regular worship. 
At a meeting of Donegal Presbytery held at 
Donegal Oct. 16, 1734, Mr. Alex. Craig- 
head was licensed and appointed to preach 
"over the river 2 or 3 Sabbaths in Novem- 
ber." This was the beginning of the Silver 
Spring Church. All this occurred before a 
public road was laid out through the Valley, 
and when the thoroughfares were the paths 
of the Indians — forty-two years before the 
Declaration of Independence. The Church 
was first known as "the people over the 
river;"' then "the people of the Conodoquin- 



net, or beyond the Susquehanna," at that 
time embracing- tw() settlements and the 
churches now known as Silver Spring and 
Carlisle ; then Lower Pennsboro. On Sept. 
25. 1786, the church was incorporated by an 
Act of Assemljlv under the name of the 
Silver Spring Presbvterian Church of Cum- 
berland County, Pennsyh'ania. The Church 
was supplied with preaching by the Presfiy- 
tery for several years. Mr. Thomson re- 
ported to the Presbytery April 14, 1736, that 
he "did not fulfill his appointment over the 
ri\-er by reason of the severity of the season, 
and the scarcity of provender in those parts." 
This speaks of sacrifices, and is in marked 
contrast with the abundance of all the good 
things which is now enjoyed. On Nov. 14, 
1739, their first pastor was installed, the 
Rev. Samuel Thomson, who remained until 
March 26, 1745. Mr. Thomson was born in 
Ireland. 

Rev. Samuel Cavon was installed Aug. 
5, 1749, and died Nov. 9, 1750. His body 
lies in the Church cemetery. There was a 
period of ten years or more that the cluu-ch 
was without a pastor. It was a period of 
trouble with the Indians. The Valley was 
the scene of massacres, the harvest of 1756 
was left to rot in the fields, and the people 
iled to safer places. 

On April 13, 1764, Carlisle and East 
Pennsboro churches united in a call for the 
services of Rew John Steel, who had been 
pastor of Conococheague, but his church was 
burned, and the congregation dispersed by 
the Indians. He, himself, had been commis- 
sioned a captain of the Provincial Troops 
March 25, 1756. On April 9, 1782, this 
congregation united with Monaghan (Dills- 
burg), and called the Rev. Samuel Waugh. 
lie 'remained until his death in January, 
1807. He was the first native American 
pastor, being born in Adams county. Pa., 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



141 



and it was during his pastorate, in 1783, that 
the present church edifice was built. 

Rev. John Hayes followed, being in 
charge from 1808, to May 6, 1814: Rev. 
Plenry R. \\'ilson, from Aug. 29, 1814, to 
Nov. 30, 1823; Rev, James Williamson, 
from 1824, until April 21, 1838. On Oct. 
31, 1838, a call was made out for Rev. 
George Morris, "a foreign Licentiate under 
the care of the Presbytery of Philadelphia," 
who remained until i860. Mr. Morris was 
from Scotland, and he was a rigid Presby- 
terian, and a profound Theologian. It was 
during his ministry, in 185 1, that the Manse 
was built, and the work done which led to 
the organization of the Presbyterian Church 
in Mechanicsburg. Rev. W, H. Dinsmore 
came Dec, 10, i860, and terminated his 
work in April, 1865, His successor was Rev. 
W. G. Hilman, who remained from April 
17, 1866, to October, 1867, and he was fol- 
lowed by Rev. W. B. McKee, who was pas- 
tor two years, beginning October, 1868, and 
Rev. R. P. Gibson, from Sept. 2~, 1872, 
until October. 1875. 

The present pastor. Rev. T. J. Ferguson, 
began his work Oct. i, 1878, and for more 
than a (piarter of a century has led this 
people in their work for God and humanity. 
During the present pastorate, in 1885, the 
beautiful Memorial Chapel was erected by 
Col. and Mrs. Henry McCormick. ' 

The Session of the church as at present 
constituted consists of W. J. Meily, M. S. 
]\Iunima, A. L. Brubaker. The trustees 
are: John Parker, William Bryson, Vance 
McCormick, George Mumper, Levi Bricker, 
Elmer Lower, W'illiam Meily, AI. S. 
i\Iumma and Samuel Lindsey. 

COL. FULTON A. EMBICK is one of 
the prominent citizens of Boiling Springs, 
Cumberland countv, and has been a resident 



of this county since 1880. He is a native 
of Franklin county, having been born at 
"Rose Hill," Antrim township, Frankhn 
Co., Pa., March 18,, 1843, a son of John and 
Sarah (Fohl) Embick. 

The Embick family dates back to Chris- 
topher Embick, who landed in the colonies 
from the Palatinate in 1753. From this an- 
cestor springs the large family of this name, 
scattered all over the United States. Chris- 
topher Embick had seven sons. 

John Embick, father of Col. Milton A., 
lost his father while he was an infant. His 
first work was hauling between Pittsburg 
and Baltimore, and later he learned the trade 
of blacksmithing, and shortly thereafter 
purchased the "Rose Hill" homestead that 
formerly belonged to his wife's father. Upon 
this property he spent most of his life, dying 
at the age of seventy-two, and his wife also 
passed away upon the farm. Ten children 
were born to them : Joanna E. married 
Simon Bear, a resident of Fulton, 111. ; Susan 
F. died, the wife of John Phillipy, who is 
now deceased ; Sarah C. died the wife of 
Capt. C. ,S. Derland, of Boiling Springs ; 
Martha J. died in infancy ; Keziah M. mar- 
ried E. W. Byers, of Williamsport, Md. ; 
Lisle F. died the wife of James H. Speer, of 
Abilene, Kan. ; Mary J. died the wife of Dr. 
A. R. Long, of Mt. Morris, 111., also de- 
ceased ; Col. M. A. is our subject ; Laura C. 
married Antoine Tegethoff, of Washington, 
D. C, who is now deceased; Emma C. mar- 
ried E. W. Humphrey, of El Reno, Okla- 
homa Territory. 

Col. Milton A. Embick was reared on the 
farm, and received a common school educa- 
tion, attending during the winter months, 
and later he spent some time in an academy 
at Lebanon, Pa. In 1862 he began teaching. 
During this time he was serving as a private 
in an independent home guard of cavalry. 



142 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



but in 1S64 he enlisted in the Union service, 
becoming a private in Company D, 209th 
P. \'. I., and was assigned to the Hartranft 
ch\'ision, serving until the close of the war. 
Returning home, he again taught school, 
and thus continued until the summer of 
1874, when he was nominated by the Demo- 
cratic party of Franklin county for the Leg- 
islature. He secured the nomination upon 
the first ballot, so popular was he with the 
people of his party, although there were 
seventeen candidates against him. He car- 
ried the county by a majority of 365, and this 
was in a county which had a normal Repuljli- 
can majority of 500. During the session 
of 1875-76, the first Legislature elected 
under the constitution adopted in 1873, ^^^ 
served upon the committee on Ways and 
JMeans, being its secretary. He was also 
upon and was secretary of the committee 
on Agricultural Matters. Col. Emljick was 
also secretary of the Democratic Legisla- 
tive Caucus ; a member of the Centennial 
committee from Franklin county, and was 
appointed a memlier of the special committee 
to investigate the State treasury under Rob- 
ert Mackey. After a most brilliant career 
as a legislator Col. Embick retired to private 
life, refusing to accept a re-nomination, re- 
suming his teaching and also engaging in 
farming. In die spring of 1880 he removed 
to Boiling Springs. 

In 1889 Col. Embick organized the 
209th Regiment, and acted as its secretary 
for four years. Having l^een appointed by 
Gen. Hartranft secretary of the 3d Division, 
he proceeded to organize that Division, and 
at its first re-union, March 25, 1890, he was 
presented with a fine gold watch by his com- 
rades. He was instrumental in securing the 
passage of the liill appn)priating $18,000 
for the purpose of erecting an ecpiestrian 
statue to the memory of Gen. Hartranft at 



Harrisburg, and served ujion the monument 
commission until the un\-eiling of the com- 
pleted statue. May 21, 1899, by his daugh- 
ter, ;\Iiss Mary Len(ire Embick. In church 
matters Col. Embick is a Lutheran, as are 
all his family and has represented the church 
in synod, local and general ; and has been 
very active in all things pertaining to the 
church. He takes a great interest in G. A. 
R. nratters. being a member of Capt. Colwell 
Post, No. 201, Carlisle, and has gained con- 
siderable fame as an orator on Decoration 
Day and other national holidavs. 

In 1902 Gov. Stone appointeil Col. Em- 
bick a member of the State board of health 
and vital statistics of Pennsylvania, and he 
was reappointed by Gov. Pennypacker for 
the term of six years. He has always been 
one of the most energetic members of the 
board. He is also a member of the Ameri- 
can Public Health Association, comprising 
the territory of the United States of America, 
the Dominion of Canada, the Republic of 
;\Ie.xico, and the Republic of Cuba, and with 
Dr. Benjamin Lee represented Pennsylva- 
nia as members of that Association at their 
convention held in Washington, D. C, in 
October. 1903. Col. Embick is adjutant of 
the Southern District Association, G. A. R., 
comprising the counties of Adams, Cumber- 
land, Franklin, Fulton, Juniata and Perry. 
He also served as aide-de-camp on the stafif 
of National Commanders Gen. Alger and 
Gen. Torrance. He is also a member of the 
Hamilton Historical Society of Carlisle. 

On Dec. 24, 1874, Col. Embick was mar- 
ried to Mary E. Dunbar, daughter of John 
and Agnes W. Dunbar. Four children have 
been born of this marriage: (i) J. Milton 
died in infancy. (2) Stanley Dunbar is a 
graduate of \\'est Point, class of February, 
1899, then entered the artillery, and saw ser- 
vice at Havana. In September of the same 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



143 



year he was stricken clown with yellow fever, 
but recovered. On May 8, 1901, he was 
promoted to the rank of first lieutenant, and 
ordered to the Presidio, California. In 1902 
he was ordered to Fortress Monroe to take 
a post-graduate course preparatory to his 
promotion to the rank of captain, and was 
graduated therefrom Aug. i, 1903, at the 
head of liis class, by the Secretary of War, 
and made assistant instructor at Fortress 
Mom'oe for the next year. He is now an 
instructor in that school. He is the author 
of a text-book on coast defense in war at 
that school. During the summer of 1903 
he was sent with his class to Maine to witness 
the naval and military demonstrations and 
was one of the two umpires to report on the 
same. On Dec. 29, 1902, he was married 
to Miss Ethel Wall, of "Walldene." Md.,an<l 
they have one child, Mary Elizabeth. (3) 
James Bayard, the third child, is holding a 
clerical position in the office of the general 
purchasing agent of the Standard Oil Co., 
at Baltimore, Md. (4) Mary Lenore is a 
graduate of Irving College, class of 1904. 

DuNB.\R. John Dunbar came from Scot- 
land in 1730, and located in Cumberland 
county, Pa., near Carlisle. He had a son, 
^\'illiam, who was the grandfather of Mrs. 
M. .\. Embick. \\'illiam Dunliar married 
Elizabeth Forbes, who was a native of Cum- 
berland county, and three children were born 
to them : John ; Ellen, who died in child- 
hood : and Jane, w ho married Mr. James 
Lindsay, of this county. William Dunbar 
was a wealthy farmer, living west of Car- 
lisle, in West Pennsboro township, and he 
was one of the founders of the first Presby- 
terian Church of Carlisle. His death oc- 
curred in 1844, when he was seventy-five 
years of age. His wife died in 1843, ^^^'^ '•'^ 
buried in the Meeting House cemetery. 

Tohn Dunbar, son of William, was born 



Feb. 16, 1803, and died Aug. 7, 1868. He 
married Nov. 20, 1834, Miss Agnes Waugh 
Greason, of Cumberland county, who was 
born May 28, 181 1, and comes of an old 
and prominent family. She was a daughter 
of James Douglas Greason, whose family 
came in 1728 to this county, being of Scotch- 
Irish descent. John Dunbar was a farmer, 
but later retired to Greason, where he died. 
During a long and useful life he was a con- 
sistent member of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle. His remains were in- 
terred in the same cemetery as his mother's. 
Nine children were born to himself and wife, 
of whom James Alfred, a graduate of Yale 
in the class of 1862, was admitted to the Bar 
and was engaged very successfully in the 
practice of his profession at Columbia, S. C, 
when he died at Aiken, S. C, at the age of 
thirty-eight years. Mary E.,^vife of Col. Em- 
bick, is the only other child who grew to 
maturity, the other seven having died in 
infancy. Mrs. Em]:)ick was educated at 
^^'ashington Seminary, \\'ashington. Pa., 
and at Dr. Nevin's Seminary, Carlisle, 
Pennsylvania. 

STEELE FAMILY. In 1762 there was 
upon the tax list of Carlisle a John Steele 
and also a Rev. John Steele. The former 
was assessed annually until 1767, in which 
year he is designated as "inn-holder." As 
that is his last appearance it is probable that 
he died about that time. At the breaking 
out of the Indian hostilities in 1755 Rev. 
John Steele was pastor of a charge near 
Maryland State line, and in September, 1756, 
was a captain in Armstrong's expedition 
against Kittanning. The Indians having 
driven him and his flock back from the 
frontier, he came to Carlisle in 1759, and 
was made pastor of the "old side" division of 
the Presbyterian Church, serving them until 



144 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



his death, in August. 1779. These two John 
Steeles may have been distantly related, but 
the matter at hand does not show that they 
were. 

John Steele, the layman, was married and 
left a family of three sons and one daughter. 
His widow afterward married a John Jor- 
dan, whom she also survived. Jordan was a 
justice of the peace and otherwise prominent 
in the affairs of Carlisle in the early days. 
The children of John Steele and Agnes, his 
wife, were John, Joseph, William, Jean. Jean 
on Oct. 9, 1792, married a man named Ger- 
sham Craft, a lawyer. John was born Aug. 
22. 1764, and never married. While yet a 
young man he enlisted in the army, and rose 
to the rank of captain in the 3d Regiment. 
United States Infantry. He died on Nov. 6, 
1800, leaving a will in which he names his 
brothers Joseph and William, his brother 
\\'illiam's son John, and his cousin, "Capt." 
William Steele. The executors of his will 
were his mother, Agnes Jordan, Ephraim 
Steele, mercliant, and Gersham Craft, of 
Trenton, X. J. His remains were interred 
in the Okl Graveyard at Carlisle antl their 
resting-place is marked by a tombstone which 
is still in good condition. Near it are other 
stones, from which time has almost entirely 
effaced the inscriptions and which in all prol)- 
ability mark where his father, and also his 
brothers are burietl. 

The Ephraim Steele mentioned in this 
will was an uncle of the testator. He first 
appears upon the tax list of Carlisle in 1769, 
but probably came while his brother John 
was yet living. Ephraim Steele resided in 
Carlisle for a period of forty-five years. He 
was a worthy and distinguished citizen, 
and this sketch is intended to deal principally 
with hiiu and his genealogical line. It was 
a rule with him to preserve letters, and in 
the course of Iiis long career there accumu- 



lated upon his hands a great mass of letters 
which have descended to his children and his 
children's children as an interesting heirloom. 
He has been dead about ninety years, but 
there yet remains in possession of his grand- 
daughters, ]\Iisses ]\Iaggie and ]\Iartha 
Steele, of Carlisle, a large number of these 
old letters, ranging in date from shortly 
after Ephraim Steele settled at Carlisle down 
to the time of his death. The writers thereof 
were his kin in Ireland and in the South, 
members of his family, friends, politicians 
and persons in high pul)lic position. These 
letters are a source of valuable information 
and are the chief record from which this 
sketch has been compiled. 

As the name indicates, the Steeles are of 
Scotch-Irish nationality. There was a family 
of eight sons and one daughter, whose par- 
ents, as near as can be ascertained, were Sam- 
uel and jMary (Stevenson) Steele. Of the 
children, John, Thomas, ^^'illiam, Juseph, 
Samuel and Ephraim came to America. 
Two brothers, Ninian, a preacher, and James, 
a farmer, remained in Ireland. "Jinny," 
the daughter, also remained in the old coun- 
try. She married a man named George 
Hogg, bore him four or five children, and 
died while yet a young woman. Her eldest 
daughter. Mary, and her eldest son, George, 
afterward also came to America. The fa- 
ther of this large family was probably dead 
when the older sons left home to seek their 
fortunes across the seas, but the mother li\'ed 
to be more than eighty years of age. In her 
widowhood she had her home in the family 
of her daughter till after her daughter's 
tleath. She then for a short time went to 
her son Ninian, and after that she and her 
g'randdaugliter, Alary Hogg, lived together 
in Londonderry, where ]\Iary followed man- 
tua-making and tenderly cared for her aged 
grandparent. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



145 



From the data at hand it is not deter- 
minable how these nine children ranked in 
reeard to ac'e. However, it is safe to assume 
that John, William. Thomas and Joseph carne 
to America soon after arriving at man's es- 
tate. All of them appear to have engaged 
in the affairs of their adopted land with com- 
mendable energy. John — as has been ob- 
served — settled in Carlisle. William and Jo- 
seph, probably after spending some time in 
Pennsylvania, settled in the South. Joseph 
resided at Hilton Head. S. C, and judging 
from his letters was a man of means and en- 
gaged in importing merchandise from the 
West Indies. He was married, but early in 
the ye:ir 1777 his wife died, leaving him 
with two small sons, Jackey and Joe. What 
became of Joseph Steele -is not known, as 
none of his relatives heard anything of him 
after the fall of Charleston in May, 1780. 

William Steele settled in Salisbury, N. 
C, where he married a widow, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth (Maxwell) Gillespie, whose first hus- 
band, Robert Gillespie, was killed by the 
Cherokee Indians in 1760. William Steele 
died Nov. i, 1773, at the age of thirty-nine 
years. He left one child, a son named John 
Steele, who was born in 1764. This son 
becime prominent in public affairs, was 
elected to the North Carolina Legislature at 
the age of t\\ enty-fixir. and afterward to the 
convention which was called to pass upon 
the l'"ederrd constitution. In 1790 he was 
elected to the first United States Congress, 
in which body he served two terms. He was 
a warm admirer of President Washington, 
who in 1796 appointed him the first Comp- 
troller of the United States Treasury, a posi- 
tion he held until 1802 with such acceiJtability 
that President Jefferson requested him to 
continue in the office. He was again a mem- 
ber of the North Carolina Legislature in 
1794 and in 1795. also in 1806, 181 1. 1812 
10 



and 1813. In 181 1 he was Speaker of the 
House. On Aug. 14, 181 5, he was again 
elected a member of the House, but died on 
the day he was elected. He was greatly ap- 
preciated by the State at large and was elected 
Major General of Militia by the Legislature, 
and is usually spoken of in history as Gen. 
Steele. 

Through the troublous times of the Rev- 
olution Elizabeth Steele kept a hotel in Salis- 
bury, and corresponded regularly with her 
relatives in Carlisle. Her letters were always 
directed to Ephraim Steele, whom she ad- 
dressed as "Dear Brother." They show her 
to have been a woman of deep piety, intelli- 
gence and good judgment, and withal prac- 
tical and patriotic. By her marriage with 
Robert Gillespie she had two children, a son 
and a daughter. The son, Robert Gillespie, 
was a soldier in the Revolution, but died 
without issue a year or two after his return 
from the army. The daughter, Margaret 
r;illespie, married Re\'. Samuel McCorkle, 
w ho became a distinguished Presbyterian di- 
\-ine and the progenitor of numerous descen- 
dants now scattered over the South. When 
CornwalHs's army passed through North 
Carolina the British soldiers plundered her 
of everything they could appropriate to their 
use, but the loss only intensified her love and 
devotion to the cause of liberty. One flay 
during the invasion Gen. Greene, of the 
.\merican army, alighted in front of her 
hotel. An army physician who had charge 
of the sick and wounded prisoners received 
him at the door and inquired after his well 
being. "Fatigued, hun,gry, alone and penni- 
less," was Greene's heavy-hearted reply. 
Elizabeth Steele overheard his desponding 
words and a little wdiile afterward, while 
the great man was sitting at her table, the 
noble-henrted woman entered the room, 
closed the door, and drawing from under her 



146 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



apron two bags of money placed them be- 
fore liim. saying: "General, take these, yon 
will want them, and I can do without them.'" 
The incident is related in Irving's "Life of 
Washington," but no allusion is made to it 
in any of Elizabeth Steele's interesting let- 
ters to Ephraim Steele. 

Elizabeth Steele had a brother named 
William Maxwell, who in the Colonial days 
lived in Pennsyhania. When a young man 
he went abroad to study me(licine and in 
England purchased large portraits of King 
George III and his queen, Charlotte, which 
he brought \.o America. These he presented 
to his sister Elizabeth, and upon the occasion 
of Gen. Greene's visit they were hanging in 
her parlor. The patriot General turned the 
King's face to the wall and with charcoal 
wrote on the back, "O, George! hide thy 
face and mourn." These old portraits are 
still in existence and are now owned by Will- 
iam J. Andrews, of Raleigh, N. C. Gen. 
Greene's handwriting, though badly rubbed, 
is still legible, and to prevent it from being 
entirely obliterated, Mr. Andrews has had 
a glass framed over it. 

A lineal descendant of William and Eliza- 
beth Steele, Hon. John Steele Henderson, is 
now living in Salisbury, within speaking dis- 
tance of where his illustrious great-great- 
grandmother, in the dark days of 1781, en- 
tertained Gen. Greene. Mr. Henderson is 
a lawyer, and like his hon()red great-grand- 
father has seen much of public life, having 
served in high State offices and also in the 
XLIXth, Lth, List. Llld and Lllld Na- 
tional Congresses. Through his kind as- 
sistance valuable data for this family history 
were obtained and others duly corroborated. 

Ninian Steele, the preacher brother who 
remained in Ireland, was educated at Dublin 
University, and his letters indicate that he 
was a learned and dignified man. He began 



his ministerial career in the town of Derry, 
where he lived until after his third child was 
born. He then was transferred to Magher- 
afelt, near Lough Neagh, where he labored 
during the rest of his lifetime. He was mar- 
ried to Luc}- Madden, who bore him twelve 
children, eight of whom died in infancy and 
early youth. Among the children who grew 
to maturity was a son named William, who 
obtained a lucrative position in the Dublin 
custom house which he held for many vears. 
He married a lady named ^^lahon, and when 
his father last mentioned him, he had four 
children and was in easy circumstances. 
Samuel Madden, another son, while a mere 
boy entered the British army, and after ten 
years" hard service held the rank of lieuten- 
ant-captain. Frederick, his youngest son, 
also enlisted in the army while a boy, and 
after fi\-e years" ser\ice also was a lieutenant- 
captain. His daughter, Elizabeth, "the idol 
of her father"s heart," died unmarried at the 
age of twenty-four. Lucy, his youngest 
daughter, married a man named Joseph Mil- 
ler, and in her home the aged preacher spent 
his declining years. 

James Steele, the other brother who re- 
mained in the land of his birth, was a farmer 
and lived in County Donegal. He was not 
the intelligent man his Ijrother Ninian was, 
but he wrote frequently, and his letters 
teemed with information concerning family 
afifairs and the neighbors and friends of for- 
mer days. In his later letters he expresses 
deep regret that he Jiad not also come to 
America. He was married to a McCrea, a 
member of a well-to-do family, but in none 
of his letters does he mention his wife's first 
name. He had fi\'e children, four daughters 
and one son. The daughters in the order of 
their ages were named Catharine, Sarah, 
Jean and Mary. The son was John, a name 
which occurs in everv Steele familv in which 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



147 



there were male children. He was the sec- 
ond child and died at the age of twenty-one. 
Among the collection of letters which 
Ephraim Steele left as a legacy to his de- 
scendants, there are none from "Jinny," his 
only sister, and as there is nowhere any refer- 
ence to any that she wrote, the inference is 
that she never corresponded with her rela- 
ti\'es in America. Several of the family were 
displeased with her selection of George Hogg 
for a husband, her brother James having an 
especial aversion for him because of his un- 
kindness to mother ]\Iary Steele. "Jinny" 
died in 1787, and three years afterward 
George Hogg married a young woman 
named Healy. His second wife did not take 
kindly to his first wife's children and they 
conse(|uently were distributed among their 
mother's relatives and friends, and for this 
and other conduct George Hogg was severely 
condemned in some of these famous letters. 
Thomas Steele came to America early, 
but it can not be ascertained whether he ever 
permanently located anywhere. He was of 
a roving disposition, enjoyed the free wild 
life of the frontier, and as late as 1786 was 
living near the road to Fort Pitt. He was 
unmarried, and during the Revolution en- 
listed in the American army, but subsequently 
regretted the step. He died about 1790. 

Samuel Steele was one of the younger 
members of the family. When he came to 
America he left his wife and daughter in Ire- 
land, intending to either go back or send for 
them when he acquired the means to do so. 
It does not appear that he did either. He 
seems to also have been a rover and in 1786 
also moved in the direction of the frontier, 
going to Fort Pitt with James Parkinson 
and family. Judging from their anxious 
inquiries the two brothers in Ireland had 
doubts about the correctness of Samuel's 
habits. 



Ephraim Steele came to America with his 
cousin. Thomas Stephenson. It is probable 
that neither was yet of age and that they 
settled at Carlisle because of their relations 
that had preceded them, Ephraim Steele's 
brother, John, already living in Carlisle, and 
Stephenson's brother, John, in the nearby 
township of East Pennsboro. It can not now 
be definitely ascertained what Ephraim Steele 
engaged at when he came. His name first 
appears on the tax list in 1769, but as a free- 
man and with nothing to indicate what his 
employment was. In 1772 he was taxed 
with one cow, and his valuation kept on 
gradually increasing. In 1777 he purchased 
from the executors of Robert Callender, for 
£300, the lot lying in the southwest angle 
formed by Hanover street and the public 
square, it being the same lot which is now 
occupied by the well-known "Franklin 
House." Here he had his home and business 
place for many years. By 1779 he was a 
prominent storekeeper, taxed with merchan- 
dise and personal property and a large 
amount of real estate. That year his pastor. 
Rev. John Steele, the famous captain 
preacher, died, and Ephraim Steele was 
one of the executors of his will. By 
this time Ephraim Steele was one of 
the foremost citizens and business men of 
the town, active and influential in all the 
different walks of life. He stood well with 
the authorities of the Province and in June, 
1777, the Supreme Executive Council ap- 
pointed him a justice of the peace. For some 
reason unknown he then declined to accept 
but in October of- the next year Council is- 
sued to him a commission w hich he accepted 
and forthwith entered upon the duties nf the 
office. While not actually in the army during 
the Revolution, his services were at his coun- 
try's call, for he was enrolled as an Asso- 
ciator, and as a private of that organization 



148 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



was one of the representatives from Cumber- 
land county to a convention held at Lancaster 
on July 4. 1776, for the purpose of choosing 
two brigadier generals to command the forces 
of Pennsylvania. He was a member of the 
Committee of Inspection for Cumberland 
county, and when the first British prisoners 
held at Carlisle were exchanged he helpetl to 
escort them by way of Reading and Trenton 
to the nearest British camp in New Jersey. 
After the war was over he was elected a 
county commissioner, and a few years later 
a member of the lower branch of the State 
Legislature, and whether in or out of 
authority his name is associated with many 
public measures which came before the coun- 
try during his period of activity. He enjoyed 
an extended political accjuaintance and per- 
sons in high authority consulted him on State 
and National affairs. His business enter- 
prises flourished and at one time he was a 
wealthy man. but in after years he had re- 
verses which greatly reduced his means and 
made him in some respects uncomfortable. 
Li February, 18 13, the Governor of the Com- 
monwealth appointed him an associate judge 
for Cumberland county, but this honor he 
was not permitted to enjoy long, for he died 
in 18 14. His wife died in March, 1825, and 
both are buried in the Old Graveyard at 
Carlisle. 

Ephraim Steele married Esther Smith, of 
Philadelphia, the ceremony taking place in 
the First Presbyterian Church of that city in 
the month of June, 1771. Esther Smith was 
a daughter of Robert Smith, a hatter, who 
for many years carried on an extensive busi- 
ness at the corner of Thirtl and Market 
streets, Philadelphia. Many of the old letters 
from Ireland were sent in care of this 
same Robert Smith. Ephraim and Esther 
(Smith) Steele had five children, four sons 
and one daughter. The sons were, \\'illiam. 



Robert Smith. John and Ephraim. The 
daughter was Mary. William was the first- 
born and in some of the family correspond- 
ence is referred to as "Little Billy." When 
Capt. John Steele made his will he bequeathed 
his cocked hat and sword knot to his cousin, 
"Capt. William Steele." \\'illiam turned his 
attention to medicine and in 1796 was ap- 
pointed a surgeon's mate in the arm}'. Sub- 
sequently he turned up in the navy, and from 
April 5, 1807. to Aug. 12, 1808, served as 
surgeon's mate on the United States Frigate, 
"\\'asp," which afterward became so famoui 
by her capture of the British ship, "Frolic." 
He died at sea before the "Frolic" had 
achieved her great distinction. His brother, 
Robert Smith Steele, became a midshipman 
in the na^•y and was on the frigate, "Ches- 
apeake." when, on June 22. 1807. the British 
ship. "Leopard." fired upon her off the capes 
of Virginia. Fie came through the ordeal 
unscathed, and although he longed for an op- 
portunity to help avenge that insult to his 
country, the customs then prevailing in the 
navy were distasteful to him and he retired 
to civil life. He afterward settled in Missis- 
sippi and died in Xew Orleans. William and 
Robert Smith Steele never married. 

John Steele, the third son, learned the 
tanning trade and settled at Bardstown, Ky.. 
where he married and had one son. His v.ife 
died while yet a young woman, and his so'i, 
when eleven years of age, died with relations 
at Lancaster. Ohio. After the death of hi.-> 
wife, John Steele returned to Pennsylvania 
and spent some time in Harrisburg. Phil- 
adelphia and Carlisle. He died in Harris- 
burg within the fifties. 

The daughter, j\Iary, was the second 
child. She married Dr. George Delap 
Foulke, a member of a family which for 
many years was also prominent at Carlisle. 
Dr. Foulke began the practice of his profes- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



149 



sion at Bedford, Pa., but in 1805 removed to 
Carlisle, where both as a physician and a 
citizen he ranked high all his days. He died 
in August. 1849, at the age of sixty-nine 
years. His wife died in May, 1861, in her 
eightieth year. 

Ephraim Steele, the fourth son and 
youngest child of Ephraim and Esther 
(Smith) Steele, was born Nov. 13, 1795. 
He grew to manhood in Carlisle and became 
a watchmaker and jeweler. After complet- 
ing his trade he spent a number of years in 
visiting other towns to learn of their pros- 
pects and desirability as business places. In 
1817 he was for a brief time in Milton, 
Northumberland county. Soon after Perry 
countv was formed, and while Landisburg 
had hopes of becoming the county seat, he 
opened up a shop in that place, but another 
point became the county seat and Landis- 
burg's prospects for a business point were 
blasted. He next tried Berlin, Adams coun- 
tv. where he remained longer than anywhere 
else. In 1840 he came back to Carlisle and 
there embarked upon a successful business 
career which lasted the rest of his lifetime. 
His store for a long while was on the east 
side of South Hanover street, half way be- 
tween the public square and Pomfret street. 
In 1863 he removed his residence to the cor- 
ner of Hanover and Pomfret streets, and his 
business place next door on Hanover. He 
died April 12. 1868. and the surviving mem- 
bers of his family ever since have continued 
to live where he last had his home; for more 
than forty years it has been known as the 
"Steele Corner." 

In :\Iay, 1831, while living at Berlin, 
Ephraim Steele married Miss x-\nn Under- 
wood, a daughter of John and Sarah (Mor- 
rison) Underwood. The Underwoods were 
also of Scotch-Irish nationality. John Un- 
derwood was born in Countv Antrim. Ire- 



land. Oct. 14, 1739, and came to America 
in 1775, settling in Lancaster county. Pa. 
When he came the war for independence was 
alreadv in progress and he was soon found 
in the ranks of the patriots, battling for 
x\merican libert3^ On March 15, 1776, he 
was commissioned an ensign in the 5th Bat- 
talion of the Lancaster County Associators, 
and afterward he became a captain in the 
Continental army. About the year 1786 he 
removed to the banks of the Yellow Breeches 
creek, in Allen township, Cumberland county, 
where he lived for two years, after which he 
located in Carlisle and engaged in the iner- 
cantile business. He was twice married. 
His first wife was Janet McCord, by whom 
he had several children, only one of whom — 
a son named William B. — grew to maturity. 
His second wife was Sarah Tvlorrison, who 
also was a native of County Antrim. By her 
he had six children, among whom was Ann, 
who became the wife of Ephraim Steele, the 
watchmaker. John Underwood died Sept. 
I, 1827, his wife, Sarah Morrison, passing 
away June 24, 1837, and both are buried in 
the Old Graveyard at Carlisle. 

Ephraim and Ann (Underwood) Steele 
had children as follows : Sarah Esther, born 
May 9, 1832, who died unmarried Aug. 31, 
1872; Mary Foulke, born ;\Iarch 2-j. 1834, 
who died Sept. 22, 1873; Margaret Ann; 
Joseph Underwood ; John Ephraim, who died 
in infancy; Martha Jane; Morrison Under- 
wood, and John Ephraim. 

Joseph Underwood Steele was born on 
Jan. 5, 1837, and like his father before him 
became a watchmaker and jeweler, engaging 
for some years in that business in his native 
town. On Jan. 5, i860, he married Sarah 
Jane Brown of Carlisle, who bore him two 
children, named, respectively, \\'illiam and 
Joseph Underwood. The former died in in- 
fancy, but the latter grew to manhood and 



I50 



CUMBERLAXD CO UNTV. 



settled in Baltimore, wliere he marrietl Flur- 
ence Rice, 1jy whom he has one child, James 
Edgar Steele, born Jan. jo. 1886. IMoved 
by patriotic iminilse Joseph Underwood 
Steele, in July. 1862. enlisted as a recruit in 
Company A. ( Capt. James Colwell). 7th 
Pennsyh-ania Reserves (Col. R. M. Hender- 
son). He joined his regiment at Harrison's 
Landing and immediately entered upon hard 
and dangerous service. On the e\-ening of 
the r4th of the following September, near the 
close of the day, while charging up the 
rocky heights of South Mountain, he was 
sh(]t dead, a rifle ball striking him in the 
center of the forehead and splashing his life's 
blood over the brave men at his side. Three 
of his blood-bespattered comrades bore his 
body to the rear and buried it temporarily 
near the foot of the mountain. It was after- 
ward brought home and laid to rest in the 
Old Graveyard at Carlisle. 

Morrison Underwood Steele, the third 
son, was born May 13, 1843. \\'hen he 
reached man's estate he went to Lancaster. 
Ohio, and there was long a salesman in a 
dry-goods store. In after years, while on a 
visit to his friends in Carlisle, he took sick 
and died July 21. 1878. During the Civil 
War he rendered his State service with the 
emerg'ency troops. 

John Ephraim Steele, the youngest child 
of the family, was born Oct. 13. 1845, several 
years after the death of the brother who had 
borne the same favorite family name. He 
also learned the watchmaker's trade, and his 
father dying about the time the boy was 
budding into manhood, he inherited his fa- 
ther's business and engaged at it throughout 
his lifetime. He never married, and died 
on June i, 1898. 

The only children of Ephraim and 
Ann (Underwood) Steele that remain 
are Misses Margaret A. and ]\Iartha 



J. Steele, residing in the well known Steele 
homestead, corner of South Hanover 
anil Pomfret streets. They have lived 
nearly of all their days in Carlisle, are 
known by its entire community, and univer- 
sally loved and esteemed for their modest 
worth and kindly ways. They are faithful 
and prominent members of the I-'irst Pres- 
byterian Church, whose edifice was built 
while Rev. John Steele — of like name but 
not a kno\\-n relative — was a pastor of its 
congregation, and within the walls of which 
have worshipped all the different generations 
of this noted family since their first settle- 
ment in Carlisle. 

^\'ALTER STUART. S.x-.n after the 
formation of Cumberland countv there came 
from the North of Ireland to America one 
Walter Stuart. According to tradition he 
located in what is now Dickinson township, 
near where afterward was the famous hotel 
known as the "Stone House." Here he pre- 
empted land, built his cabin and lived alone, 
contentedly awaiting the development of the 
country. He wrote regularly home to his 
relatives, telling them of his possessions and 
of the advantages and opportunities of the 
new western world, but after a time his let- 
ters ceased to come. For several years his 
friends waited patiently and hopefully but 
heard nothing. Finally his brother Samuel 
came and made search for him, l)nt nnlv to 
find that he had died, and that without leav- 
ing data sufficient to give his heirs title to 
the land which he had pre-empted. 

Samuel Stuart then remained in this 
country, and settled near where his brother 
Walter had taken up his abode when he first 
came. There he lived for five or six years, 
and acquired a. considerable tract of land. 
In September, 1778, he purchased a house 
and lot on South Hanover street, Carlisle, 




W. STUART. 



THE >;K\V YORK 
PUBLIC MBKARY 



ASTOK, LBNOX AND 

TILOEN KIIIINOATIONS 

B •- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



151 



and removing to it was for a period of alaoul 
ten years a resident of the county seat, en- 
gaged in keeping hotel. In the year 1780 
he was burned out. which misfortune com- 
pelled him to move to the opposite side of the 
street and there temporarily continue his 
Inisiness. While in the hotel business he at 
one time boarded some of the Hessians who 
were held at Carlisle as prisoners of war. 
In May, 1791, he purchased a farm in what 
is now Dickinson township, and moving to 
it li\'ed there until the entl of his days. He 
died Sept. 11, 1828, at the age of eighty- 
three years, and was buried in the Old ( irave 
Yard in Carlisle. Samuel Stuart married 
Margaret Carson, and had children as fol- 
lows : James, Mary, Margaret, Ann, Sam- 
uel, Walter and Martha. 

Samuel Stuart, son of Samncl and Mar- 
garet, grew to manhood on his father's farm 
in Dickinson township, receiving such edu- 
cation as the country schools of his day af- 
forded. He engaged in farming as an oc- 
cupation, and was long a member of the 
Dickinson Presbyterian Church, where his 
remains lie interred. He died Jan.. 31. 1874, 
aged eighty-five years. He married Nancy 
Donaldson, whose father, William Donald- 
son, son of Andrew Donaldson, was also one 
of the early settlers of that part of the coun- 
ty in which the Stuarts first locatetl. Wil- 
liam Donaldson was a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution, a captain in the 2d Battalion 
of the Pennsylvania Militia that was called 
in August, 1780, and served under Wash- 
ington in the vicinity of New York. Capt. 
Donaldson married Jane Ramsey, l)y whom 
he had the following children : Robert, 
Nancy, Jane and Martha. Robert Donald- 
son married Jane, daughter of William and 
Jane (Mackinson) Huston, and by her had 
issue as follows : Montgomery, Martha, Isa- 
bella, Elizabeth Sprout, and Agnes Caroline. 



Samuel and Nancv (Donaldson) Stuart had 
issue as follows : Samuel, Walter and Jane 
Eliza. 

Samuel Stuart, son of Samuel and 
Nancy, was raised on the farm anti edu- 
cated in the country school of the section in 
which he was born. He was an energetic 
and progressive citizen and much respected 
for his integrity and honesty of purpose. 
Being in the prime of young manhood when 
yet able-bodied citizens were required to 
muster and train for soldiers he became a 
captain in the militia. The title fitted the 
man, and it ever afterward clung to him. In 
his latter years he was universally known as 
Capt. Samuel Stuart. and was so remembered 
for a long time after his death. He was a 
member of the Dickinson Presbyterian 
Church, was long one of its ruling elders, 
and is buried alongside his father in the 
confines of its graveyard. He died May 3, 
1873, ^^ the age of fifty-five. Capt. Stuart 
married Elizabeth Sprout Donaldson, 
daughter of Robert and Jane (Huston) 
Donaldson. Though the Donaldsons were 
among the earliest citizens of Dickinson 
township they did not always live there. 
About the year 1806 Robert Donaldson and 
his family removed to Franklin county, 
across the border from Middle Spring 
Church, where they lived almost thirty 
years, and then moved back to Dickinson 
It was while living in Franklin county that 
most of Robert Donaldson's children were 
born. Samuel and Elizabeth S. Stuart had 
the following children : James Ale.xander, 
born Nov. 9. 1849, fl'^** -"'^"8'- -6, 1862; 
Robert Donaldson, Imrn July 10, 1851, died 
March 12, i860: Samuel Carson, born Jan. 
12, 1855, died Feb. 9. i860; Walter was 
born July 2y, 1856; Huston Kennedy, born 
Feb. 15, 1859, died March 8, i860; and El- 
mer, born Jan. 16, 1862, died Oct. 6, 1867. 



15^ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



Walter Stuart, son nf Samuel and Eliza- 
beth S. Stuart, was born in Dickinson town- 
ship. He was the only one of six children to 
live to adult age. the others all dying in 
childhood and early youth. In the spring of 
1868 the Stuarts relinquished farming, and 
moved to Carlisle, where the boy Walter 
passed through the public schools and grew 
to man's estate. He graduated from the 
Carlisle high school in 1875. ^"<^1 then took a 
course at one of the leading business colleges 
of the country. In Jainiary, 1880. he was 
appointed to a clerkship in the Farmers' 
Bank of Carlisle and ever since has been 
connected with that institution, tilling every 
position in it from the clerkship in which he 
began to the cashiership to which he suc- 
ceeded on the death of J. C. Hoffer, in 1889. 
On the bank becoming merged into the 
Farmers' Trust Company he became a mem- 
ber of its board of directors and a memljer of 
its executive committee, and was also made 
secretary and treasurer of the company. The 
Farmers' Trust Company is the largest fin- 
ancial organization in the countv, being cap- 
italized at $150,000. 

Though deeply absorbed in the banking 
business Mr. Stuart finds time for public 
duties. He has long been a member of the 
Carlisle school l»ard, takes an active part in 
all its affairs, antl has several times been 
president of the body. He is a Republican, 
but not a politician, and has convictions upon 
all questions with which the citizen is obliged 
to deal. His religious views he inherited 
from his Scotch-Irish ancestry and conse- 
quently is a Presbyterian and a communi- 
cant in the Second Presbyterian Church of 
Carlisle. On Dec. 21, 1882, he married 
Barbara Ellen, a daughter of George Peter 
and Martha (Stuart) Searight, and a de- 
scendant of two of the oldest and most 
prominent families of South Middleton 



township. \\'alter and Barbara E. Stuart 
had issue as follows : George Searight, born 
Oct. 23, 1883 (died Sept. 6, 1884) : Samuel 
D(inal<lson, Dec. 30, 1884; Walter Searight, 
Sept. 22. 1886; and John Bruce. April 10, 
1888. 

Mrs. Barbara Ellen (Searight) Stuart 
was born in South ^Middleton .-\pril 13, i860, 
and at the time of her marriage lived in Car- 
lisle. Slie died Feb. 19, 1900, and her re- 
mains are interred beside those of her first 
child, in the Old Grave Yard at Carlisle. 
Walter Stuart, his aged mother, and his 
three boys now constitute the Stuart house- 
hold, and they live on South Hanover street, 
Cru-lisle. just one square from where Samuel 
Stuart long had his home 125 vears ago. 

REV. JOSEPH ALEXANDER MUR- 
RAY, D. D., was born in Carlisle, Pa., Oct. 
2, 181 5. His father, George Murray, only 
son of William and Susanna (Sly) Murray, 
born near Fort Pitt, March 17, 1762, was the 
first white child born within the limits of 
Pittsburg, Pa. Early left an orphan, he 
lived with his mother's parents on their farm 
in Westmoreland Co., Pa. .\t about twelve 
years of age, he came to Carlisle, assisting 
in driving cattle over the mountains and sub- 
sequently made it his residence, as an 
"Orphan in care of James Pollock, Thomas 
Alexander and George Stevenson." He 
learned the trade of blacksmith with Capt. 
Simon Boyd, whose partner and ultimate 
successor in an extensive business he became, 
as well as his brother-in-law. In 181 4 he 
was married, by Dr. Davidson, to IMary 
(Polly) Denny, daughter of \\'illiam and 
Agnes (Parker) Denny, sister of Major 
Ebenezer Denny, and sister-in-law of Capt. 
Boyd. W'illiam Denny was a prominent cit- 
izen of Carlisle, a coroner of the countv. and 
his wife a woman of marked character. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



153 



[See Ebenezer Denny.] George Murray was 
a model artisan. He died in Carlisle, May 
6, 1855, in his 94th year, highly esteemed for 
his high-toned and upright character. 

The subject of this sketch, Joseph Alex- 
ander Murray, the youngest of a family of 
four sons and one daughter, received his 
preparatory education in Carlisle, was for 
a time a student in Dickinson College and 
completed his college course at the Western 
Uni\-ersity of Pennsylvania, at Pittsburg, 
from which he was graduated in 1837, and 
at once entered the Western Theological 
Seminary of the Presbyterian Church at 
Allegheny, from which he was graduated in 
1840. During his student life, in college and 
seminarv. he was a member of the family of 
his cousin, Plon. Harmar Denny, a prom- 
inent lawyer, mayor of Pittsburg, member of 
Congress, and influential in national politics 
of that day. The contact of young Murray 
with many of the leading men of the Whig 
school, and the associations of his home, 
continued into his later years, and had much 
to do with imparting breadth to his character 
and information, and the courteous manners 
and dignified bearing which always charac- 
terized him. His pen was frequently effect- 
ively employed, even as a young man, in 
the political discussions of that day. He was 
licensed to preach by the Presbytery of 
Ohio in October. 1840, and supplied for some 
time a church at Miami, Ohio, and, although 
cordially urged to continue his work there, 
during a visit to Carlisle in 1842, he ac- 
cepted a call to the church at Dillsburg, Pa., 
where he became so attached to the church 
and its people that he continued with them 
until, by reason of impaired health, in 1858, 
he was obliged to give up the active pastorate. 
He had not only been a pastor to his charge, 
but as a model citizen, was interested in 



every enterprise promotive of the interests of 
the borough. He was especially active in 
regard to public education, and was presi- 
dent, for many years, of the Board of Di- 
rectors of public schools. He removed to 
Carlisle, and although his health improved, 
and seemed to be c|uite restored, he never 
felt at liberty again to resume the responsi- 
bility of a charge, but was always active in 
pulpit ministrations and all kinds of church 
work. He was a member of the General 
Assembly in 1844, 1861, 1865 and 1875. He 
was appointed, with Judge H. W. Williams, 
to defend an important decision of his Synod 
before the General Assembly in 1875, and 
was appointed a memlier of the Judicial com- 
mittee. In 1876 he was made moderator of 
the Synod of Harrisburg by acclamation. 
His scholarly habits and tastes led him into 
many fields of literary activity. He became 
especially known for his thorough, pains- 
taking, intelligent research in State and Na- 
tional, as well as local, history, and was re- 
garded as an authority on many historical, 
biographical and antiquarian questions, and 
accumulated a large amount of documentary 
material. He was readily accessible, and 
always ready to give information. He was a 
member of the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania, of the American Philosophical So- 
ciety of Philadelphia, Corresponding Mem- 
ber of the Numismatic and Antiquarian So- 
ciety of Philadelphia, and of other Historical 
Societies. He was the active secretary of 
the Hamilton Library Association, of Car- 
lisle, from its organization to his decease, and 
did much to direct and encourage the ac- 
cunuilation of local historical literature. His 
contributions to literary, historical and re- 
ligious periodicals have been numerous, and 
some of unique value. Many of his public 
addresses have been published. The Western 



154 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Theological Seminary conferred on him the 
degree of D. D. in 1869, and in 1886 he was 
elected a directiir nf that institution. 

In April. 1843. Dr. Murray married Miss 
Ann Hays Blair, daughter ol Andrew Blair. 
a prominent citizen of Carlisle. She died in 
1875, leaving a daughter, their only child, 
Mary Elizabeth, married in 1868 tn Prof. 
Charles F. Himes, Ph. D., of Dickinson Col- 
lege. In 1879 he was married to Miss Lydia 
Steele Foster, of Philadelphia, wdio siu'vives 
him. He ilied in Carlisle, Nov. 2y, 1S89, 
in his se\-enty-hfth vear. 

JACOB HURST was for many years 
numbered among the leading lousiness men 
of Mechanicsburg, where he conducted what 
was the leading dry goods estaljlishment in 
that city. He was born in Dillsburg, York 
Co.. Pa., Aug. 13, 1832, a son of Jacob B. 
and Susan (Herchfeldt) Hurst, the former 
of whom was also born at Dillsburg, Jan. 7, 
1808, a son of John and Catherine { Cocklin ) 
Hurst. The grandparents were among the 
early settlers of York county, and were the 
parents of four sons and three daughters who 
grew t(i maturity. 

Jacob B. Hurst, father of Jacob, resided 
upon the homestead until he was fifteen years 
of age, when he began to learn the tailoring 
trade with William Gilberthurp. Four years 
later he went to Harrisburg and Philadel- 
phia, following his trade for a number of 
years. Finally, in 183 1, he returned to Dills- 
burg- and established a tailoring establish- 
ment wdiich he continued to carry on until 
1855, when he opened a general store. In 
the spring of 1866, he removed to Mechan- 
icsburg and established the dry-goods house 
of J. B. Hurst & Son. He was a director of 
the First National Bank, and stood high in 
the communitv. Both he and his wife were 
earnest members of the Presbyterian Church, 



of which he was an elder for a numlier of 
^years. On Nov. 18, 1875, occurred the death 
of this most excellent man. His widow sur- 
vi\ed for some years. The follriwing chil- 
dren were born to this couple: Edwin W'.. a 
merchant tailor of Mechanicsburg; Jacob; 
Lydia B., who married W'illiam A. Spahr; 
Mary E., wife of William B. Nelson, a farm- 
er near Dillsburg, F'a. ; Templeton B., an ex- 
soldier of Company H, Pennsylvania Re- 
serves; Kate M., \\\\o married Robert B. 
Mateer, a hardware merchant of Harris- 
Ijurg, Pa.; and Melizena M., wdio married 
(ieorge W. Flackett, a merchant of Sun- 
bury, Pa. 

Jacob Hurst attended school until he was 
sixteen years of age, and then assisted his 
father in his merchant tailoring establishment 
and the general store until 1865. He then 
came to Mechanicsburg, and became the 
junior member of the firm of J. B. Hurst & 
Si3n. Three months after his father's death 
he purchased the entire stock, and continued 
to be the leading merchant of Alechanics- 
Ijurg until his death. 

In 1872 Mr. Hurst married Miss Julia 
\\ilson, of [Mechanicsburg, daughter of Ro- 
bert and Sarah (Shock) \\'ilson. members of 
good Cumberland county stock. Two sons 
were born of this marriage: Wilson of Me- 
chanicsburg, manager of the dry-goods house 
of the J. Hurst estate, married Miss Bessie 
Goodyear, of Carlisle, Pa. ; Corliss is also 
with the dry-goods house above mentioned. 

The death of Mr. Hurst occurred Feb. 
22, igo2, and he passed away firm in the 
belief of the Lutheran Church, of which he 
was elder. He was a man of high moral 
character, successful in business as well as 
prominent in church circles, and in him 'Me- 
chanicsburg lost one of its best citizens. 
Mrs. Hurst and her. two sons reside at the 
familv home on \\'est Main street, and are 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



155 



ver\- im|)()rtant factors in the life of ^lechan- 
icsljiirg, of which they are highly honored 
citizens. 



\MLIJA\I H. DOUGHERTY, ex- 

sheritf Of Cumherlancl county. resi(hng at 
Mechanicshurg. Pa., is one of tlie represen- 
tative men of that city, and is a native of 
Pennsylvania, having heen Ixirn in ^'ork 
ci>iintv. Ang. 5, 1840, a son of George 
Dougherty, whose father was born in Ire- 
land. 

Georg"e Dougherty was Ijorn in Adams 
county, in 1799. In 1826 he married Mary 
Ann Stallsmith. a native of Pennsylvania, of 
Scotch-Irish extraction, who died in 189S, 
at ;m acKanced age. 

William H. Dougherty was brought by 
his parents to Cumberland county when he 
was thirteen years of age, and he attended 
school at Shepherdstown. Leaving school 
in his sixteenth year, he began to learn the 
carpenter's trade, and upon completing his 
term of apprenticeship, he traveled about, 
working as journevman, and assisted in the 
constructitin of many of the buildings in the 
vicinity of Shiremanstown, and Mechanics- 
burg, including churches, schoolhouses and 
residences, and he built the' First National 
Bank building and also the high school build- 
ing of jNIechanicsburg. He continued build- 
ing and contracting until 1901, when he was 
n'ominated by the Democratic party as candi- 
date for the of^ce of sheriff, and was elected 
bv a handsome majority. During his term 
of service, he made an excellent officer, and 
justified the confidence his party placed in 
him. His term expired Jan. i. 1904. 

In 1865, Mr. Dougherty married Miss 
Sarah Ann Maust, of Shepherdstown, a na- 
tive of Cumberland county, and a daughter 
of Daniel Maust, a tailor by trade. After 
marriage, Mr. Dougherty located in Bow- 



mansdale, residing there until 18S5. when he 
remo\ed to Mechanicsburg, where he con- 
tinued his business as builder and contractor. 
Mr. Dougherty is a member of the Knights 
of Malta. He is a prominent Democrat, and 
has always taken an active part in local, 
county and state politics, and often is sent as 
delegate to the various conventions. He is a 
man who is very popular personally, and 
wields a strong influence in his party. 

On Nov. 16, 1869, a son, M. M. Dough- 
erty, was born to Mr. and Mrs. Dougherty, 
now Dr. M. M. Dougherty. After reading 
medicine with J. H. Boyer, of Mechanics- 
l)urg. Dr. Dougherty entered Jefferson Med- 
ical College of Pennsylvania, and was grad- 
uated in the class of 1891. He is now lo- 
cated at Mechanicsburg, and is actively en- 
gaged in a successful practice. He is a mem- 
ber of the Cumberland County Medical So- 
ciety, and of the American Medical Associa- 
tion. In 1893, Dr. Dougherty married Miss 
Gertrude Ritter, of Philadelphia, a daughter 
of John H. Ritter, a prominent citizen of 
Philadelphia. Two sons were born of this 
marriage, William R. and Fillmore Maust. 

GEORGE G. IRWIN, M. D. South 
iMiddleton township, Cumberland county, 
has been particularlv fortunate in the high 
class of professional men who have made 
their homes there. Not the least among these 
is Dr. George G. Irwin, whose conscientious 
devotion to his calling, and whose natural 
ability and high attainments, have won him 
a conspicuous place in the front rank of 
successful physicians and surgeons. 

Dr. Irwin comes of good Scotch-Irish 
stock, and his paternal great-grandfather 
passed his entire life in Ireland. Alexander 
Irwin, the Doctor's grandfather, was an early 
settler of Chester county. Pa., where he was 
engaged in trade. 



156 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



George Irwin, son of Alexander, was 
born in Ciiester county, and on reaching man- 
hood foHowed in his father's footsteps as a 
merchant, also carrying on farming, the lat- 
ter occupation occupying his entire time dur- 
ing the latter years of his life. His energy 
and foresight enabled him to find success in 
\vhate\-er he undertook. His death occurred 
Jan. 25, igoi, when he was seventy-five years 
of age. His wife, Harriet Gable, was born 
in Lancaster Co., Pa., and is still living 
now (1904) aged seventy-one years. Five 
children were born to George and Harriet 
(Gable) Irwin, namely:- J. Alexander, wlni 
is deceased ; Clarence C, deceased ; George 
G. ; Margaret G. ; and Mary M.. deceased. 
In religious belief the family all uniterl with 
the Presbyterian Church. George Irwin, the 
father, was a Republican in politics, and held 
a number of local offices, serving for some 
years as a justice of the peace. He was a 
man of sterling worth, and by his fidelitv to 
duty and his hig-h ideals of right living won 
the lasting esteem of his fellowmen. 

George G. Irwin was born in Oxford, 
Chester county, Nov. 2y. i860, and his early 
years were passed in his native town. The 
common schools gave him the rudiments of 
his education, which was furthered in 
Oxford Seminary and the broad school of 
experience, and by wide reading. After his 
graduation from Oxford Seminary, he re- 
turned to work upon his father's farm, but 
his ambitions led him to seek a professional 
career, and in 1889 he began to read medi- 
cine with Dr. J. W. Houston, an eminent 
practitioner of Lancaster county, with whom 
he continued until he matriculated in the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, at Bal- 
timore, Md. He was graduated from that 
school in 1892, with the degree of M. D., 
and at once returned to Oxford, there to be- 
gin an active practice among his old neigh- 



bors. A few months later substantial in- 
ducements led him to move to Mount Holly 
Springs, Cuml.ierland county, where he has 
since made his home, meeting with uncjues- 
tioned success in his work. He is a close 
student of the new discoveries in- medical 
science, and possesses a remarkable faculty 
of discernment in selecting the wheat from 
the chaff. His ability in diagnosis has 
brought him favorably before his brother 
physicians who have frequently availed 
themselves of his services in consultation. 

Professionally. Dr. Irwin belongs to the 
Cumlierland County and Pennsylvania State 
Medical Societies, and is always interested 
in the deliberations of those bodies. In his 
political faith he is a Republican, and he has 
given good ser\'ice as a menilier of the board 
of health. 

In 1895 Dr. Irwin was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Emma Black, daughter of 
Anthony and Sarah Black, both of whom 
died in Mrs. Irwin's childhood. The Doctor 
and his wife are delightfully hospitable, and 
have many warm friends throughout the 
county. 

JOHx\ LINDNER. Some of the most 
prominent and enterprising citizens of this 
country come from German ancestry. Con- 
spicuous among these, in Carlisle, Cumber- 
land county, is John Lindner, the famous 
shoe manufacturer, of whom we here give 
a brief history. 

Three generations ago there dwelt in 
Reidenhausen, Franken, Germany, Henry 
Lindner and Elizabeth, his wife. Both were 
natives and lifelong residents of that town, 
Mr. Lindner being employed in the govern- 
ment postal service all his active years, hav- 
ing charge of the postal service of the 
Province. To Henry and Elizabeth Lind- 
ner there was born, in 1820, a son, John, 




trqra.eo 0/ J » Hioe 4 Sons Ph,iddd 





<-£/\^ 



""'thk SKVv vdrk 
PUBIIO LIBIURY 



ASTOli, LKNOX AND 
TILV)EN FUUNDAIIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



157 



wlio grew to manliood in Reidenhausen. He 
was educated in the private schools of his 
native town, and upon completing his studies 
entered the employ of his fatlier in the ca- 
pacity of clerk. After considerable exper- 
ience in business he rose to be treasurer in 
the firm of Henry Lindner of Beikeburg, a 
position he filled until 1848, when he mar- 
ried Sophia M., daughter of Adolph Darni- 
hurst, of Beikeburg, and came to America. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lindner located in Newark, 
N. J., where he engaged in the manufacture 
of clothing, at which he was very successful. 
To John and Sophia M. Lindner were born 
the following children; Frederick William, 
of Louisville, Ky. ; Elizabeth B., wife of 
Frederick Heilman, of Waltham, Mass. ; 
and John, the subject of these lines. 

John Lindner was born in 1859, in 
Newark. N. J., in the house which has been 
the home of his parents ever since they set- 
tled in America. He was educated in the 
public schools of Newark and in the New 
Jersey Business College, and on laying aside 
his books he entered the employ of Banister 
& Tichner, shoe manufacturers of Newark, 
with whom he acquired knowledge of shoe 
manufacturing, and thoroughly equipped 
himself for a successful business career. In 
1882 he went into the employ of Reynolds 
Brothers, shoe manufacturers of Utica, N. 
Y., anfl applied himself so diligently and 
efficiently that he soon rose to the position 
of manager. Si.x years later he became su- 
perintendent of the G. W. Neidich & Co., 
of Carlisle. Pa., where he demonstrated his 
superior capability by, in three years' time, 
increasing the output of the factory seven- 
fold and making it one of the largest and 
best paying shoe plants in the country. His 
pronounced success encouraged him to try 
larger and more difficult undertakings, and 
in 189 1 he organized and had incorporated 



the Lindner Shoe Co., of Carlisle, Pr. . cap- 
italized at $35,000. A suitable building was 
erected a little to the north of and in easy 
sight of the Cumberland Valley railroad, at 
the western end of Carlisle. It was first con- 
structed to accommodate 100 hands, but from 
the very start business grew rapidly, and in a 
surprisingly short time the force having 
to be increased fivefold, it was correspond- 
ingly enlarged. It now consists of a struc- 
ture 430 feet long, 225 feet wide, and three 
stories high, and is a veritable hive of indus- 
try. In January, 1893, the capital stock of 
the company was increased to $50,000, and 
in 1901 it was raised to $125,000, and in 
August, 1904, it was increased to $200,000, 
at which figure it rests at present. The of- 
ficers of the company are: John Lindner, 
president; I. E. Greenwood, vice-president; 
M. L. Dunkleberger, secretary and treas- 
urer. The factory is a model of its kind; 
two large additions just completed make it 
America's largest factory making women's 
fine shoes, constructed and arranged to fa- 
cilitate the output and at the same time con- 
serve the health and comfort of its employes. 
It is equipped with the best machinery 
known, complete in every department and 
detail, and has a capacity to produce every 
year more than three million dollars worth 
of ladies' fine shoes, which are marketed to 
all parts of the country. It is by far the 
largest manufacturing enterprise in Carlisle, 
employs the most labor, and brings from a 
distance and distributes among its citizens 
more money than any other agency. 

But this great shoe factory is only one 
of Mr. Lindner's laudable enterprises. He 
has others to his credit. In 1902 he em- 
barked in the cultivation of. flowers on a 
scale characteristic of the man. He pur- 
chased a plot of ground in the western end 
of town, and upon it erected the largest and 



^58 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



finest greenhouses ever Iniilt in this part of 
Pennsylvania. Tliey are thoroughly mod- 
ern in every part of their construction, and 
of magnificent size, requiring more than 70,- 
000 square feet of glass to cover them. 
Fronting these greenhouses, and bordering 
on W'est Louther street, he has laid out a 
beautiful public park of artistic design. 
Macadamized roadways surround and cross 
it, granolithic pavements border its edges : 
through its well-kept lawns in graceful 
curves wind gravelled walks and shrubbery 
and plants and flower beds of variegated 
hue ornament and beautify it. In it is 
planted every species of tree kno^^■n to the 
Cumberland Valley, and with a few years of 
growth it will be a most delightful spot for 
rest and recreation. Every two weeks during 
the past summer, Saturday evening band 
concerts, provided by the same liberal hand 
that donated the park, were here given for 
the benefit of the public. The creation of 
this pleasure reflects the tastes of the man, 
and the fact that he throws both park and 
greenhouses wide open to the children of the 
public schools speaks eloquently of his gen- 
erosity. Not only do the public school chil- 
dren have free access, but the students of 
Dickinson College and the Indian Training 
School are also welcome, and such of them 
as delight in the mysteries of plant life are 
given the use of apparatus and standard 
works on botany to assist them in their study 
and analysis. 

Probably no employer of labor in the 
State of Pennsylvania entered more cor- 
dially into association and sympathy with 
his employes than does Mr. Lindner. He 
takes a personal interest in all that concerns 
tliem, and both contributes to and shares in 
their pleasures. For a number of years he 
annually gave his entire force of hands a 



day's outing, providing for them means of 
enjoyment, refreshments and music. 

Recognizing the iiriportance and necess- 
ity of higher education, Mr. Lindner fre- 
quently makes contributions to the local in- 
stitutions of learning, and quietly does much 
to encourage science and the arts. He takes 
a deep interest in the prosperity of the town 
and the general welfare of its citizens, 
always aiding and often leading in efforts 
to promote the public good. He was one of 
the organizers of the Board of Trade, and 
has been its president ever since it was or- 
ganized. He is a member of the National 
Association of Manufacturers ; of the Shoe 
Manufacturers Association of Pennsylvania; 
of the National Trade Exchange; of the 
National Association of Civics; of the State 
Forestry Association ; of the Manufacturers 
Club of Philadelphia ; of the Hamilton Li- 
brary Association of Carlisle; and long a 
valued member of the Philadelphia Museum. 
He is a Republican in politics but not an 
aspirant for political honors or preferment. 
As a public-spirited citizen he is much in 
favor with the people, and a few years ago 
was elected a member of the borough council 
of Carlisle, was elected president of that 
body, and at the expiration of his term was 
re-elected without opposition, and again 
without opposition in 1903. In religious 
belief he is a Lutheran and contributes liber- 
ally to that church and to Christian charities 
generally. 

In 1884 Mr. Lindner was married to 
Matilda B., daughter of C. W. and Matilda 
B. Metz, of Utica, N. Y., and to them one 
child has been born, a son, J. Austin Lind- 
ner. Their home is at the corner of Louther 
and College streets, in a most desirable part 
of town. On the outside it is conspictious 
by reason of its shrubbery and flowers and 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



159 



generally attracti\-e surroundings, and inside 
it is a model of comfort, culture and refine- 
ment. Here, among books and papers and 
rare paintings and bric-a-brac, the busy man 
finds rest and solace from the care and trials 
of his intensely active life. 

Lindner Park. — A public park located 
in the western end of Carlisle, contain- 
ing about five acres. The residence section 
surrounding it is known as the Lindner Park 
East and West. A beautiful residence sec- 
tion, land has Ijeen set aside for that pur- 
pose under restrictions, so as to give the 
entire neighborhood a larger scope of park 
effect. 

^\■ILLL\^I A. COX. Sr. After an 
acti\e Ijusiness life of over sixty years, 
and crowned with the esteem of his fellow 
citizens and the affection of his kindred, Wil- 
liam A. Cox, Sr., passed away at his home 
on East Orange street, Shippensburg, Cum- 
berland Co , Pa.. Sept. 10, 1903, aged eighty- 
three years, two months, twenty-two days. 

IVIr. Cox was born June 19, 1820, on his 
father's farm, near Middle Spring, the sec- 
ond son of John and Martha Cox. His educa- 
tional opportunities were confined to the local 
schools. About 1840 he went West, where 
he spent several years, and settled for some 
years at Xew Orleans. La. After his return, 
in 1846. he married, and for some vears en- 
gaged in farming in the vicinity of Middle 
Spring, but in the spring of 1857 he pur- 
chased the shoe store of G. B. Cole, which he 
conducted for a year. His next business 
partnership was with the late E. J. ]\IcCune, 
in the grocery, boot and shoe trade, which 
they conducted in what was formerly the 
Graybill room, now in the Shapley block. 
About this time he also filled a clerical posi- 
tion in the I-'armers and Mechanics Bank of 



Shippensburg, and was afterward for some 
nine months in the old Carlisle Deposit Bank. 
Later he entered into partnership with 
George H. Stewart in the drj'-goods trade, in 
the room now occupied by J. L. Hockersmith 
& Sons, grocers, several years later purchas- 
ing the interest of E. J. Forney, in the hard- 
ware firm of Forney & McPherson, which 
business was successfully conducted under 
the firm name of McPherson & Cox for more 
than three years, when Air. Cox retired, dis- 
posing of his interest to S. \\'. Means. In 
1872 he purchased the hardware store of 
Stevick & Rebuck, where he continued in 
business until 1900. 

Mr. Cox was essentially a man of busi- 
ness, and enjoyed its pursuit. Strictly hon- 
est and upright himself, he set up the same 
standard for others, and was disappointed 
when he discovered methods less honorable 
than his own. He never sought public office 
and accepted but one, that of membership on 
the Shippensburg school board, to the duties 
of which he devoted much attention, making 
many practical improvements. Though so 
busy about his own concerns, Mr. Cox was 
always willing to lead an ear to those in busi- 
ness complexities, and on many occasions 
gave advice and counsel that brought order 
out of chaos. 

On Nov. 26, 1846, Mr. Cox married Jane 
A. Young, of Shippensburg, who died in 
1896. Mr. Cox is survived by one daughter 
and three sons : Linda, Samuel P. and John 
A., of Gettysburg; and William A., of Ship- 
pensburg. One sister, Mrs. Sarah McClay, 
of Rolla, Mo., and one brother, John I., of 
Shippensburg, also survive. 

For many years Mr. Cox was a member 
of the Middle Spring Presbyterian church, 
in which he was elder and trustee and for 
vears had served as clerk of the sessions. He 



i6o 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



was a higlily venerated citizen, and must be 
classed with tliose who contributed materially 
to the upbuilding of the interests of the city 
of Shippensburg. 

JOHX IRW'IX COX,, a retired farmer of 
Shippensburg, was born Feb. 20, 1824, in 
Southampton township, Franklin Co., Pa., 
a son of John and IMartha (Paden) Cox, and 
grandson of Samuel and Mary (McComb) 
Cox. 

Samuel Cox was Irorn in 1755, at Ship- 
pensburg, Pa., and married (first) Alary 
McConib and (second) Annie Peebles; he 
was lier third husband. Col. Hugh Paden. 
the maternal grandfather of John I. Cox, was 
born near Mount Joy, Lancaster Co., Pa., 
married a Miss Boggs, and reared a family 
of seven daughters and two sons. The fam- 
ily is of Scotch-Irish extraction. 

John Cox, father of John Irwin Cox, 
was born June 17, 1781, in Franklin county. 
He carried on. in connection with his farm, 
the manuafcture of woolen goods at Middle 
Spring, using water-power, and the same 
site is now the location of the Shippensburg 
electric light plant. Air. Cox died Alarch 6, 
1854, in his seventy-third year, survived by 
his widow until Aug. 25, 1858; she was born 
Feb. 17, 1807, in Mount Joy, Lancaster Co., 
Pa. They were buried at Aliddle Spring in 
what is known as the lower graveyard. Their 
family consisted of the following children : 
Mary L.,'wife of Charles AlcClay; Sarah 
Jane, wife of Francis McClay, of another 
family ; Martha Ann, wife of John J. Young : 
Samuel P.. unmarried; William A., who 
married Jane A. Young and is deceased; 
John I., of this sketch ; and Hugh Paden, 
who died at San Francisco. 

John I. Co.x spent his youth on the farm 
and attended the district .school. At that 
time the sessions were held in an old log 



structure which has given way to a handsome 
brick one. Air. Cox recalls Robert Hunter 
as his first teacher. Later he attended the 
Shippensburg Academy, where he was pre- 
pareil for entrance to Jefferson College, at 
Canonsburg. Pa., where he was graduated 
in 1848. After graduation he began the 
study of medicine, but on account of failing 
health engaged in farming in Southampton 
township, Franklin county. He then formed 
a partnership with Hugh Paden. and they 
engaged in the manufacture of lumlier at 
Lyons City, Iowa, for some time. Tiring of 
this business. Air. Cox disposed of his in- 
terests in that locality. The next eight 
years were spent in farming in Whiteside 
county. 111., and he then returned to Ship- 
pensburg, where he has been connected with 
several business er.terprises, conducting a 
store for the sale of agricultural implements, 
and later a boot and shoe store. Since 1881 
he has lived retired. 

Air. Cox was married, April 13, 1858, to 
Keziah Al. AlcCune, of Aliddle Spring, who 
was born Oct. 11, 1832, daughter of Alexan- 
der and Alary (Colwell) AlcCune. There 
have been no. children by this marriage. 

In political sentiment Air. Cox is a Dem- 
ocrat, but in late years has cast his vote with 
the Prohibition party. Both he and his wife 
are members of the Presbyterian Church of 
Aliddle Spring, of which he has been a trustee 
many years. Although in the evening of 
life he is in command of all his faculties and 
not only enjoys good health, but the respect 
and affection of his fellow citizens. 

JACOB S. ZEARIXG. The name 
Zearing has appeared frequently upon the 
records of Cumberland county for a hundred 
years past. Henry Zearing was a citizen of 
East Pennsboro as early as 1808 and con- 
tinued to reside in that and the adjoining 




/ 



■J^. 



^ '^'^Te-**, 



f 



THE "SBW YORK 
PT3BL1C LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 
TILBEN IHJUNUATIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



i6i 



township down to the time of his death. He 
had a brother named Lewis who long resided 
in the vicinity of Mechanicsburg, and who 
was a private in Capt. George Hendel's com- 
pany in the War of 1812. Lewis Zearing 
was prominent in business and pubhc af^'airs 
and long held the office of justice of the 
peace. Afterward Henry Zearing in Allen 
township, and Martin Zearing in East 
Pennsboro, also were justices, and the title 
"Squire Zearing" for many years was a 
familiar sound throughout the county. 

The Henry Zearing of a hundred years 
ago had a family of six children, three sons 
and three daughters. The .sons were Jacob, 
Henry and John ; and the daughters were 
Mrs. Monosmith. Mrs. Temi)lin, and Mar- 
garet, the last named dying unmarried. The 
son Jacob by occupation was a cooper and a 
mason and always lived in the vicinity of 
Shiremanstown. He married Eliza Swiler, 
daughter of John and Catherine (Kreitzer) 
Swiler. and a granddaughter of Christian 
Swiler and Susan, his wife, who in 1792 
came from Lancaster countv and settled on 
the north side of the Conedoguinet creek in 
what is now Silver Spring township. The 
Kreitzers were also among the early settlers 
of the lower end of the county, but lived to 
the south of the Conedoguinet. Eliza 
Swiler's parents died while she was yet a 
young girl and she for years had her home 
with her Kreitzer relatives. Jacob Zearing 
died Dec. 31. 1883; he and his wife are 
buried in the cemetery of St. John's Church 
near Shiremanstown. Jacob and Eliza 
(Swiler) Zearing were the parents of the 
subject of this sketch, Jacob Swiler Zearing. 
They also had one other child, Henry Mono- 
smith Zearing, now living at Shiremans- 
town. 

Jacob S. Zearing was born at Shiremans- 
town, Jan. 18, 1843. He was educated in 
11 



the public schools of that place and in Den- 
linger's Academy, at Camp Hill, where he 
spent two or three terms. On leaving the 
academy he clerked for a short time for 
Rudy White, who kept a small general store 
at Camp Hill. He next secured a position 
as clerk in a general store in Shiremanstow^n, 
which he filled for two and a half years. 
With this preliminary training as a salesman 
he entered the drug store of Dr. G. W. 
Reily, located at No. 10 Market Square, 
Harrisburg, where he remained continuous- 
ly for fifteen years. While engaged in the 
drug store he read medicine with Dr. Reily; 
and, altliough he never entered upon the 
practice of the profession, among his friends 
and accjuaintances he has ever since been 
familiarly known as "Doctor Zearing." 
After leaving Harrisburg he engaged for a 
period of three years in the drug business 
with Dr. AL B. Musser, in Mechanicsburg. 
On Jan. 16, 1873, while in business in 
Mechanicsburg, Jacob S. Zearing was mar- 
ried to Kate Hannah Witmer, of Middle- 
sex township, who was a daughter of Jacob 
and Hannah (Senseman) Witmer, and a 
descendant of two well known representative 
families of Cumberland county. After his 
marriage he quit the drug business and 
began farming in Middlesex township and 
has so continued ever since. Along with his 
farming he has always taken an active inter- 
est in political affairs. He is a Republican, 
but liberal and progressive in all matters, 
and has always stood well with conservative 
citizens generally. Politically, the district in 
which he lives is strongly Democratic, yet 
notwithstanding his Republican affiliations 
he has been elected school director for 
twenty-one years and was never defeated for 
the office. In county affairs he enjoys a 
like successful prestige. In 1882 he was 
elected county auditor; in 1884 county com- 



1 62 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



niissiuner: and in 1887 was re-elected as 
county commissioner. In the performance 
of his pubHc duties he has always acted con- 
scientiously and without political bias or that 
fear of responsibility which governs the 
actions of many of our public servants. In 
the fall of 1903. in a hard-fought and close 
contest, he was elected director of the poor, 
which office he is now filling. 

Jacob S. and Kate H. (Witmer) Zear- 
ing had children as follows: Robert Wit- 
mer. born at Mechanicsburg, Jan. 4. 1874; 
Kathrine Hannah, born in [Middlesex town- 
ship. Dec. 29, 1878: and Nellie, born July 
30, 1877. who died .Aug. 19, 1878. Robert 
W. Zearing. the son. married Sallie Keyser, 
of Aliddlesex. who died a short time after 
their marriage. Kathrine H. Zearing, the 
daughter, married Frank E. Brennemau, of 
Middlesex, and they li\-e at Terra Alta, Pres- 
ton Co., W. Va., where Mr. Brenneman is 
engaged in the mercantile business as a 
traveling salesman. They ha\'e two children, 
Mari(jn and Pauline. 

Mr. Zearing's pleasant home is situated 
upnn a rise near Middlesex Station, on the 
Cumberland A'alley railroad, four miles east 
of Carlisle. Evergreen and other trees sur- 
round and shelter the house and so mark the 
place that it can easily be seen and rec- 
ognized from a distance. Here he has lived 
since in 1875 'I'l'^l here he expects to spend 
his remaining days. 

GOODYEAR BROTHERS. The 
Goodyeirs in Cumlierland county are of 
German extraction and probably descended 
from J. Henry Gutjahr, who landed at Phil- 
adelphia from the ship "St. ^Michael" in 
September, 1753. The family settled first 
in \\'arwick township, Lancaster county, but 
niore than a hundred vears ago came to 
Cuml)erland county, the first appearance of 



the name ujion the records in this cnunty 
being in 1799, when Peter Goodyear was as- 
sessed as land holder and resident in Allen 
( no\\- Alonroe) township. The next to ap- 
l)ear up'm the tax list was Frederick, also in 
Allen township. These two were located in 
the vicinitv of the present village of Church- 
town, where some of their descendants still 
reside. 

In December. 1803, a Ludwick Gutyear 
bought at sheriff sale a tract of land lying 
along the York road, in Middletown (now 
South Middleton) township, adjoining lands 
of James Hamilton and others. This tract 
contained 200 acres and was a part of the 
estate of Alexander Blaine, who was a 
brother of Col. Ephraim Blaine. Xine 
months after purchasing this farm Ludwick 
Gutyear died, and Rudolph Krysher and 
Frederick Goodyear, as administrators, set- 
tled up his estate. His wife survived him 
more than thirty vears. Both are buried in 
an old graveyard in Churchtown and their 
tombstones bear the following inscriptions : 
Ludwick Goodyear, born Oct. 20, 1757; died 
September 16. 1804. Regina Goodyear, born 
March 15, 1756. died January 5, 1836. 

Ludwick and Regina Goodyear had the 
following children : John, Jacob and Lena. 
At the time of their father's death none of 
these children were yet twenty-one years old, 
but the two sons were nearly so, and on 
reaching that age took the farm at the ap- 
praisement and owned it jointly for many 
years afterward. 

John Goodyear, the eldest of these three 
children, was born in Warwick township, 
Lancaster county, March 11, 1784, and was 
a young man when his parents settled in 
Cumberland county. On Dec. 24, 1805, he 
was married to Ann Burkholder. bv Rev. W. 
Helfenstine. pastor of the Reformed Church 
of Carlisle. Ann Burkholder was a daughter 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



163 



of Christian and Fronica Burkholder, who 
formerly' w ere of Dauphin county, and was 
born ]\Iarcii 16, 1783. They began their 
married Hfe on the farm in the eastern part 
of South Middleton township and lived there 
to the end of their days. John Goodyear 
died Dec. 29, 1864: his wife on Feb. 28. 
1 86 1, and their remains are buried in a grave- 
yard on the Lisburn road, where once stood a 
Mennonite church, three miles east of Car- 
lisle. They had the following children : 
David, John, Catharine, Jacob, Abraham. 
Samuel, Benjamin and Regina. 

Samuel Goodyear, son of John, was born 
July 16, 181 8, and grew to manhood on the 
farm in South Middleton township. He en- 
gaged at farming in South Middleton until 
1865, when he removed to Carlisle, w here he 
first followed leaking and later engaged at 
lime burning and dealing in coal. He mar- 
ried Mary Ann Morrett, who was a daughter 
of Jacob and Elizabeth (Strock) Morrett, of 
Cliurchtown. Jacob Morrett was a son of 
Hartman and Gertrude Morrett. both of 
whom are buried in the same graveyard in 
which Ludwick Goodyear and wife are 
burietl. Samuel Goodyear died Dec. 15, 1891 ; 
his wife died June 10, 1904, and their re- 
mains rest in Mt. Zion cemetery near 
Churchtown. 

To Samuel and I\Iary Ann (Alorrett) 
Goodyear were born the following children : 
^^'illiam. Jacob IMorrett, .Anna, John, Cath- 
arine and Rebecca : also Henry, Mary Jane, 
Regina Alice and Samuel, who died in in- 
fancy. 

Jacob ]\I. Goodye.\r was bom Nov. 21, 
1845 '" the eastern part of South Middleton 
township, on the farm which his great-grand- 
father, Ludwick Goodyear, bought in 1803. 
He grew to manhood on his father's farm and 
was educated in the country district school. 
In September, 1864, before he had reached 



the age of nineteen, he enlisted in Company 
A. 209th Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers. 
The regiment was immediately sent to the 
front and two weeks after he enrolled as a 
soldier he was under fire. On the night of 
the 17th of November, wdiile on duty on the 
picket line in front of Bermuda Hundred, 
he was captured and sent to Libby prison, 
wdiere be celebrated the nineteenth anniver- 
sary of his birth. From Libby prison he 
was transferred to Castle Thunder and 
thence sent to Salisbury, N. C. where lie was 
kept in prison until the latter part of the 
following F^ebruary, when he was sent back 
to Richmond, where he was again confined 
in Libby for a short period. In March, 1865, 
he was exchanged and furloughed home to 
recruit his health, which had been badly im- 
paired by his prison treatment. He soon 
afterward returned to the front, but by the 
time he reached his regiment it was dis- 
charged, the war being over. The regiment 
was mustered out of service at Alexandria, 
Va., but he received his discharge in Har- 
risburg. 

On returning from the army Mr. Good- 
year located in Carlisle, where for two years 
he engaged in the manufacture of pumps. 
He then removed to what is now South Dick- 
inson township, where for a period of five 
years he followed farming, after which he 
returned to Carlisle and embarked in the 
lime business, to which he later added a coal- 
yard. He continued in the lime and coal 
business until 1894. when he was elected 
sherifif of Cumberland county as a Democrat, 
to which party he always belonged, as did 
his fathers before him. As an official he was 
uniformlv courteous and efficient and dis- 
charged the important duties of his high 
office with genera! satisfaction. In munici- 
pal matters, as well as in the larger field of 
county afifairs, he has been an active factor. 



164 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



and was a member of the Carlisle town coun- 
cil for seven years continuously. Fraternally, 
he is a member of Carlisle Council, No. 574, 
Junior Order of United American Mechan- 
ics: of True I'ricnds Lndge, No. 56. Knights 
of Pythias ; als(j a member and past officer of 
Capt. Ciilwell Post. No. 201. Grand Army 
of the Republic. 

On Sept. 26, 1867, Jacob M. Goodyear 
married Ellen C. Miller, a daughter of Squire 
Levi Miller, of Mt. Holly Springs, and to 
them the following children have been born : 
Fisk, Samuel M., \Villiam H.. Annie, J. 
Frank, Carrie C, John J., Charles Albert, 
Norman S. and Norton Miller. Of these 
Norman is dead. 

Of this large family are Fisk Goodyear 
and Samuel M. Goodyear, the two brothers 
who comprise the firm whose name heads 
this historical sketch. Both were born while 
their parents lived in South Dickinson town- 
ship, Fisk on June 26, 1868, and Samuel M. 
on Sept. 13, 1870. After the family removed 
to Carlisle, and the boys had reached the 
proper age, they entered the Carlisle public 
schools, and in them received the principal 
part of their education, Fisk graduating from 
the high school in 1886. After leaving the 
high school he spent one year with a mer- 
cantile house in Philadelphia as clerk and 
bookkeeper. After that for five years he 
was an employe in various capacities at the 
Carlisle Indian Training School, resigning 
to go into business with his brother. 

Fisk Goodyear mingles much with the 
business and social life at Carlisle and is one 
of the town's substantial and most esteemed 
young citizens. He is a past captain of Capt. 
Beatty Camp, Sons of Veterans, of Carlisle: 
a past chancellor of True Friends Lodge, No. 
56, Knights of Pythias : a member of Lodge 
No. 91, L O. O. F. ; past master of Cum- 
berland Star Lodge, No. 197, F. & A. M.; 



a member of St. John's Chapter, No. 171, 
R. A. M. : past commander of St. John's 
Commandery, No. 8, Kinghts Templar; a 
member of the Order of Elks, and of the 
Rajah Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of 
Reading. 

On leaving the schools of Carlisle, Sam- 
uel AL Goodyear, the other brother, took a 
course in the Harrisburg Business College. 
He then secured a pdsition with the Gettys- 
burg & Harrisburg Railroad Company, in 
its office at Carlisle, which he held for four 
years, after which he secured a position as 
stenographer and clerk in the general office 
of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad 
Company, at Harrisburg, where he spent 
another four years. By this time his father 
had been elected sheriff and an opportunity 
arose for him to enter business on his own 
account. Like his older brother he is an 
active business and social factor in the com- 
munity in which he has lived since early 
childhood. He is a director in the Farmers 
Trust Company, the heaviest financial in- 
stitution in the Cumberland Valley ; a di- 
rector in the Hamilton Library Association 
and Cumberland County Historical Society, 
and has been a school director of Carlisle 
for seven consecutive years, six of which he 
has been secretary of the board. He is prom- 
inent in fraternal circles, being a member 
of the Knights of Pythias and the Masons. 
Li the Masonic fraternity, he has for 
years represented the Grand Lodge of Penn- 
sylvania as deputy for District No. 3, com- 
prised of the counties of Cumberland, Frank- 
lin and Fulton. Because of his rank and gen- 
eral good standing he is present at many of 
the social functions of the fraternity, and 
consequently has pleasant associations 
throughout the entire State of Pennsylvania. 

On Oct. 10. 1894. Samuel M. Goodyear 
was married to Edna Grace Weibley, of Car- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



■65 



lisle, by Rev. W. Maslin Frysinger, D. D., 
pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
of Carlisle. Edna Grace Weibley is a 
daughter of Edward and Fanny (Haver- 
stick) Weibley, and a granddaughter of Jo- 
seph and Margaret (Shrom) Weibley. Fan- 
ny Haverstick was a daughter of Benjamin 
and Lydia (Mylin) Haverstick, who came 
from Lancaster countv. but were long prom- 
inent citizens of Silver Spring township, 
Cumberland count)'. Both lived to a great 
age, Mr. Haverstick dying in 1881 at the age 
of eighty-nine years, and his wife in 1903, at 
the age of ninety-six. ■ Samuel M. and E. 
Grace (Weibley) Goodyear have two sons: 
Jacob Morrett. Jr., born March 16. 1896; 
and Donald Haverstick. born March 26, 
1902. Mrs. Goodyear's parents and grand- 
parents were Methodists, but Ixith she and 
her iuisband belong to the First Futlieran 
Church of Carlisle, in which Mr. G(iodyear 
holds the position of vestryman. 

When Jacob M. Goodyear in 1894 was 
elected sheriff he transferred his lime, sand 
and coal business to these two sons, who, 
doing business under the firm name of Good- 
year Brothers, have proved most worthy 
successors. They are careful, systematic, 
well-trained business men and have bright 
prospects of success, for they practice the 
principles which bring success. 

HENRY EWALT. The records of 
Cumberland county show that a John 
Ewalt purchased from Edward West, on 
Jan. 6, 1796, 200 acres of land lying on 
the Juniata river. In the deed conveying it 
it is stated that John Ewalt was "of Juniata 
township." John Ewalt, then, was a citizen 
of Juniata township, Cumberland county 
(since 1S20 Perry county), as early as 1796. 
Nothing has been ascertained from any 
source to fix more definitely the time of his 



coining, nor where he had previously lived. 
There is a tradition that he came from the 
vicinity of the Trappe, Montgomery county, 
but as this is entirely without support it is 
hardly safe to unqualifiedly accept it. 

The name Ewalt is of German origin 
and in Germany persons bearing it have long 
been prominent as poets, theologians and 
professional men. The first appearance of 
the name in America was in 1733, when a 
Ludwig Ewalt and family arrived in Phil- 
adelphia. In September, 1753, a John 
Ewalt came, and the Provincial records 
show that on May 2, 1758, there was a John 
Ewald, a soldier "in Captain John Black- 
wood's company of the Pennsylvania regi- 
ment." He was thirty-six years old ; born in 
Germany; enlisted on May 16, 1758, and 
was a laborer. Prior to enlisting in Black- 
wood's cnmpan\- he l)el(inged to Clapham's 
Provincials. There was also a John Ewalt 
in Peters township, now Franklin county, 
as early as 1763, who after a few years' 
residence there removed to Bedford county, 
where in the early days he was a man of in- 
fluence and prominence. He died Nov. 12. 
1792, leaving a family of nine children, 
among them a son named John. According 
to tradition the Bedford John Ewalt, to es- 
cape religious persecution, fled from Ger- 
many to Holland and from Holland to 
America. 

The land which John Ewalt purchased 
from Edward West lay at the lower end of 
the present town of Newport, on the south 
bank of the Jvmiata. According to the best 
information at hand he lived there continu- 
ously from some time prior to 1 796 down to 
the time of his death. While there is noth- 
ing on the records to indicate that he ever 
lived in the Cumberland Valley there is a 
strong probability that prior to settling on 
the Juniata he spent some time there. His 



1 66 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



first wife was Mary Sample, daughter of 
a John Sample who died near where now is 
Hogestown, in October, 1794. The Sam- 
ples were among the first settlers of that sec- 
tion and it does not appear that the family 
of John Sample ever lived anywhere else. 
Consequently it is a natural inference that 
John Ewalt in his younger days either re- 
sided in that vicinity, or that he, through 
some special circumstances, was thrown into 
association with the Sample family. 

When John Ewalt settled on the Juniata 
he was not yet thirty years of age. That 
part of the State was then thinly populated, 
settlements were a long way apart, but he 
soon figured in public affairs, his name 
standing associated with those of persons 
of known influence and prominence, an indi- 
cation that he was a man of intelligence and 
force of character. Along about 1800 he 
was a member of the board of poor directors 
for Cumberland county and as early as 1807 
was advocated at public meetings and in the 
newspapers for county commissioner, an 
office that he held in the years 1810, 181 i, 
181 2 and 181 3, a period during which the 
building of public bridges was agitated. 
Both in the newspapers and on the records 
he is frequently referreil to as "Col. Ewalt," 
a title he probably acquired through being 
connected wnth the militia. 

Col. Ewalt's principal business was 
farming, but like many farmers in his day 
he also engaged in distilling. He frequently 
bought and sold real estate and during the 
twenty-five years of his greatest activity was 
taxed with variable amounts of farm and 
mountain land, which one year reached in 
the aggregate 530 acres. His business qual- 
ifications and credit were of the best, and in 
November, 1814, he was elected a director 
of the Pennsylvania Agricultural and Manu- 
facturing Bank, of Carlisle. He died at the 



house of John Koch, in Juniata township, 
on Saturday morning. Feb. 25, 1826. He 
had been ailing l:)ut was able to move about, 
and on the evening before set out frnm his 
home to go to a store a few miles distant. 
On the way he was suddenly attacked with a 
chill so violent that it was with great diffi- 
culty that he was enabled t(j reach the home 
of Mr. Koch. The chill continued unabated 
and was succeeded by a stupor that ended 
in death. A newspaper report of the inci- 
dent ends by saying: "He was lamented by 
all who knew him." His remains, it is gen- 
erally supposed, are buried in the Presby- 
terian graveyard at Middle Ridge. His 
first wife died ten or twelve years before he 
did and her remains are buried at the same 
place. After the death of his first wife. Col. 
h^walt married ]\Irs. Catharine Fahnestock, 
widow of Dr. Daniel Fahnestock, who long 
was a practicing physician and prominent 
business man of Juniata township. His sec- 
ond wife survived him. but bv her he had 
no children. 

John Ewalt and ]Mary Sample, his wife, 
had the following children : Jane, Sarah, 
Eliza, Henry and Susan. Jane married Jo- 
seph Tate, of Juniata township, where she 
and her family lived all her lifetime. Some 
of her descendants are still in that locality. 
Sarah married Robert Marlin, of Juniata 
township, and remained there for some 
years. Subsequently the Marlin family went 
to Oreg(jn, where Mr. jNIarlin died, after 
which his widow and children drifted south- 
ward and settled in Alameda county, Cal. 
Eliza married Joseph Trimmer, of Perry 
county, and for a long time lived in the vicin- 
ity of Newport. Susan married a Mr. Cole- 
man, who after several years mysteriously 
disappeared. 

Henry Ewalt, the only son of Col, 
John and Mary (Sample) Ewalt, and sub- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



167 



ject of this sketch, was horn May 10, 1800, 
on his father's farm on tlie lianks of the 
Juniata, where now is the town of Newport. 
Here lie was reared and trained to the lionor- 
able vocation of fanning. In 1826 he mar- 
ried ^hu-garet Loudon, a daugliter of Arch- 
ibald and JMargaret (Bines) Loudon. ALar- 
garet Loudon was liorn Sept. 15, 1796, near 
where is now the village of New Kingstown, 
in Cumberland county; but in the spring of 
1820 her parents moved to a farm lying on 
the north bank of the Juniata river, opposite 
Newport, and in easy sight of the Ewalt 
home. Here this young couple met, and mar- 
ried, and passed the first years of their wed- 
ded life. 

Mary (Sample) Ewalt had an unmarried 
brother named John, who in his life acquired 
title to a considerable portion of the land 
which originally was included in the Sample 
homestead. John Sample died in February. 
1824, leaving this land by will to his nephew, 
Henry Ewalt, on condition that he pay his 
four sisters each a certain amount of money. 
Li this way Henry Ewalt became possessed 
of this land, and it remained in his possession 
till his death. The land is located on the 
north side of the Conedoguinet creek, in Sil- 
ver Spring township. It is one of two farms 
included in a deep southward bend of that 
crooked stream and reaches entirely across 
the base of the peninsula, from the creek on 
the west to the creek on the east. Here 
Henry Ewalt did his best work and here 
he remained longer than anywhere else in 
the seventy-one years of his life. He moved 
to this place in 1832 and by years of close 
application and hard work made of it a pro- 
ductive farm and a pleasant home. He erect- 
ed buildings on an elevated point where they 
command a delightful view of the most Ijeau- 
tiful section of the valley, and where they 
form a conspicuous landmark to oljservers 



many miles distant. In the spring of 1863 
he quit his farm and retired to a home in 
Hogestown, where he lived out the balance 
of his days. He died Jan. 11, 1871 ; his wife 
(lied Feb. 5, 1874. and their remains are 
buried in the cemetery of the Silver Spring 
Church. 

Henry Ewalt was a man of strong per- 
sonality and a central figure in the commun- 
ity in which he lived. He was greatly ad- 
mired for his honor and integrity, for his 
word was his bond. In manner he was un- 
affected, frank and cheerful. His kindness 
was proverbial, and his strong sympathy and 
sociability made fast friends of his neighbors, 
who delighted in his companionship while he 
li\ed. and fondly cherished his memory after 
he was gone. He was fond of riding on 
horseback, and practiced the habit till late in 
life, ^\'hen his team would go to the moun- 
tain for wood or rails he would mount his 
riding horse and ride along and superintend 
the work. When the family had an errand to 
the store it generally fell to his lot to do it, 
and he invariably did it on horseback. And 
when time lay heavily on his hands from 
nothing to do, he would ride over to where 
his neighbor was plowing and with him com- 
pare notes and exchange news, and wherever 
he went there was life and good cheer. 

Henry and Margaret (Loudon) Ewa'r 
had children as follows : ^^'illiam Henry. 
Loudon Bines and Margaret. \A'illiam 
Henry, the eldest child, was born in March, 
1827, in Perry county, and remained with 
his parents on the farm during all of his 
single days. In i860 he married Martha 
Oliver, daughter of Dr. J. G. and Jane 
( Carothers) Oliver, and a member of one of 
the old representative families of Cumber- 
land county. To them the following chiF'ren 
were born : Jennie Oliver, Margaret Lou.lon, 
Grace, Walter Buchanan, and Ailsie 



1 68 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Carothers. Margaret Loudon died March 
6, 1892, and Walter Buchanan died Sept. 26, 
1890. On June 9. 1887, Grace Ewah mar- 
ried Rev. T. J- Ferguson, pastor of the Sil- 
ver Spring Presbyterian Church, and to their 
union have been born the following children : 
Margaret. Mary IMcCormick and A'irginia. 
After marrying. \\'illiam Henry Ewalt for 
several years engaged at farming, and after 
that at the mercantile business in Hogestown 
and Alechanicsburg. He died in Mechanics- 
burg in Feljruary. 1875. and he and his two 
deceased children are buried at Silver Spring. 

Loudon Bines Ewalt was born April 16. 
1836, in Silver Spring township. Cumberland 
county, and spent nearly all of his lifetime 
there. He died Nov. 2/, 1903, in IMechan- 
icsburg, unmarried, and is buried at Silver 
Spring. 

Margaret Ewalt was born in Silver 
Spring township, Cumberland county, Sept. 
22. 1838. On Dec. 16. 1863. she was mar- 
ried to Hiram K. Sample, of Allegheny coun- 
ty. Pa.. Rev. \\'illiam H. Dinsmore perform- 
ing the ceremony. After her marriage she 
removed with her husband to Allegheny 
county, where they always afterward lived. 

Hiram K. S.\mple was born July 19, 
1828, on a farm which bordered on the Alle- 
gheny river opposite the city of Pittsburg, 
Allegheny Co., Pa. He was the fifth son of 
John and Alargaret (McCord) Sample, and 
a grandson of James Sample, who was Ijorn 
in Cumberland county, Pa., March 25, 1756, 
on the old Sample homestead known as 
Chambers Sample farm. James Sample was 
a soldier in the Rex'olutionary war and in 
return for his services received from the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania a tract of 
land lying north and west of the AUeglieny 
river, in Allegheny county, to which he 
moved in 1789 or 1790, he being one of the 
first settlers in that district. Hiram K. Sam- 



ple recei\-ed a common school education and 
worked on his father's farm until 1852. when 
he learned the trade of iron roller and had 
charge of the muck rolls in the mill of Stew- 
art Lloyd & Co., from 1852 until 1857, when 
he again resumed farming. At the breakhig 
out of the war of the Rel)ellion he went with 
the 139th Ivegiment. Pennsylvania Volun- 
teers, and was in the commissary and mail 
department for three years. In politics, he 
was a stanch Republican, and he was elected 
a member of the State Legislature from the 
5th District, Allegheny county, in 1872 and 
1873, and again represented his district in 
1885 and 1887. Mr. Sample was an earn- 
est Christian and a charter member of the 
Millvale Presbyterian Church. He died 
Feb. 25, 1898, in the house in which he 
was born, having been in failing health for 
a number of years. He was a kind, loving 
husband and an indulgent father. His dis- 
position was bright and cheery, and he al- 
ways had a smile and a kind word for all 
with whom he came in contact. He was 
loved, respected and looked up to in the 
neighborhood in which he lived, and many 
were the disputes and family cjuarrels, 
among the people employed in the mills, re- 
ferred to him, and which he disposed of in a 
manner satisfactory to all parties concerned. 
In his public life he was likewise noted for 
his integrity and good sound judgment. A 
leading attorney at the Pittsburg Bar recent- 
ly said of him, "He was the only strictly 
lionest politician I ever knew." 

Five children were born to Hiram K. 
and Margaret (Ewalt) Sample, as follows: 
Harry Ewalt, born Xov. 30, 1864, attended 
Pittsburg Academy and graduated from the 
Iron City College. He is now engaged in 
the printing and publishing business. He 
married Lillian M. Robinson, Oct. 15, 1889, 
and to their union have been born the fol- 



THE "NEW YORK | 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX AND 
TU-DEN FOUNDATIONS 




^-/. ./^J-^^ 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



169 



lowing children: Hyde K., Marjorie, Ethel, 
Harriet Isabel. 

Margaret Alice, born Oct. 13, 1866, at- 
tended ^lillvale public schools and gradu- 
ated from Brook Hall Seminary, Media, 
Pa. On Oct. 24, 1889, she married Dr. 
Frank L. Ardary, by whom she had two 
children, Robert S. and Miriam. Mr. Ar- 
dary died June 2, 1894. 

Mary Stewart, born Aug. 14, 1869, was 
educated in the public schools and at Brook 
Hall Seminary. On Nov. 27, 1895, she 
married Samuel Morrow, and now resides 
in Oakland, Pittsburg. 

Hyde Glenn, born March 24, 1875, at- 
tended the Millvale public schools and Park 
Institute, and graduated from the Western 
University of Pennsylvania in 1896. In 
1899 he graduated from Pittsburg Law 
School, and the same year was admitted to 
the practice of law in Pittsburg. 

Clyde W., born Feb. 7, 1878, was edu- 
cated in the Millvale public schools, East 
Liberty Academy and the Western Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania. In 1903 he graduated 
from the Hahnemann IMedical College in 
Philadelphia, and is now practicing medi- 
cine in the city of Pittsburg. 

HON. WILBUR F. SADLER, one of 
the distinguished citizens of Carlisle, Pa., 
was born in Adams county, Ibis State, Oct. 
14, 1840, and the family from which he 
comes is among the oldest in his natal 
county. 

In 1746 one Richard Sadler came from 
England to Pennsylvania. He settled in 
what is now Adams county, and in 1750 
there pre-empted land, upon which he spent 
what of life remained to him, and which is 
still in possession of some of his descendants. 
He died in 1764, and his remains lie interred 
in the burying-ground of Christ Church, in 



Huntington township. Adams county. This 
Richard Sadler had a son named Isaac, who 
married a Mary Hammersly, and Isaac and 
Mary (Hammersly) Sadler had a son 
whom they named Richard, in honor of his 
grandfather. 

Richard Sadler (2) was a farmer, as 
were most of his ancestors. He married 
Rebecca Lewis, and early in life removed to 
Center county, where he lived for fifteen 
years, returning then to Adams county, 
where he died at the age of eighty-two. He 
was a man of strong personality and rare 
intellectual endowments. During his young 
manhood he was an Episcopalian, and his 
wife was a Presbyterian, but in after life 
both joined the Methodist Church. Richard 
and Rebecca (Lewis) Sadler had the follow- 
ing children: John L., Joshua, William R., 
Isaac, Elizabeth, Re1>ecca and Nancy. Of 
these children : 

John L. Sadler, the eldest son, became a 
farmer, went West and died at Galesburg, 
111., leaving a family of one son and four 
daughters. 

William R. Sadler was also an 'enter- 
prising farmer and followed that occupation 
in his native county throughout life. His 
interest in public affairs brought him into 
political prominence early in life and he was 
elected to the Pennsylvania State Senate, 
where he made a creditable record. He died 
near York Springs, Adams county, while 
yet in the full flush of young manhood, leav- 
ing two children, a son and a daughter. The 
son, John Durbin Sadler, was a youth of 
great promise, and was educated at Dickin- 
son College. At the outlireak of the Civil 
war he entered the army, was promoted to 
the rank of lieutenant in the ist Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Reserves, and was killed at 
the Batiile of . South Mountain, Sept. 15, 
1863. 



I/O 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Isaac Sadler was possessed of business 
qualities of a high order and became a man 
of wealth and position. In his retirement he 
made his home in Carlisle, and died there in 
September. 1886, at the age of eighty-three. 

Elizaljeth Sadler married Solomon Ben- 
der, and died in Chambersburc^, leaving one 
son, Re\-. H. R. Bender, who is filling a 
charge as pastor in Xew York State. 

Rebecca Sadler was twice married, first 
to Leonard Alarsden. by whom she had one 
child. After his death she married Max- 
Shelley, a large land owner of York. Pa., 
but had no children by him. 

Nancy Sadler married John Appleman, 
of Middletnwn, Md., where both she and 
her husband died and are buried. 

Joshua Sadler, the second son, was born 
at the ancestral home in Adams county, and 
was reared to farming, which usefid occu- 
pation he followed all his life. He married 
Harriet Stehley, a daughter of John Steh- 
ley, of Adams county, and by her had two 
sons. Wilbur F. and John L. Alxnit the 
}'ear 1841 Joshua Sadler moved into what 
is now Penn township, Cumberland county, 
and there sjient the balance of his davs. He 
died in Decemlier, 1862, at the age of sixty- 
one years. His wife died in January, 1868, 
and the remains of both are interred in Ash- 
land cemetery, at Carlisle. 

\Vilbur F. Sadler, elder son of Joshua 
and Harriet Sadler, was born in Adams 
county Oct. 14. 1840, and grew to manhood 
upon the farm in Penn township. Cumber- 
land county. In his youth he attended the 
public schools of his neighborhood and the 
academy in the village of Centerville, and 
subsequently he pursued his studies in Dick- 
inson Seminary, at Williamsport, Pa., from 
which institution he graduated in 1863. On 
returning home from school, -in the summer 
of 1863, he found southern Pennsylvania 



(n-errun by the Confederate army, and imme- 
diately enlisted in an emergency cavalry 
company to assist in repelling the invaders. 
He continued in the army until the fall of 
that year, when the regiment with which he 
was connected was mustered out of serxice. 
He then turned his attention to the law. and 
under the preceptorship of A. B. Sharpe 
and J. ^I. Weakley completed the prescriljed 
course of study, being admitted to the Cum- 
berland county Bar in 1864. He began prac- 
ticing at Carlisle, and by close attention and 
hard work soon acquired a large and lucra- 
tive business, which kept steadily growing 
until his elevation to the Bench, in 1884. 

Although deeply absorbed in his pro- 
fession, Mr. Sadler found time to take an 
active interest in politics, and early in his 
career became an influential factor in the 
affairs of the Republican party. In 1868 
he was nominated for State Senator in the 
district then composed of Cumberland and 
York counties. He was not elected, but 
made a showing that contributed very mate- 
rially to his reputation as a party leader, 
and ever afterward was kept at the front 
politically. In 1871 he was elected district 
attorney, and three years later was the Re- 
publican nominee for president judge of the 
Xinth Judicial District. Besides attending 
tu his legal practice he engaged extensively 
in business enterprises, was director in dif- 
ferent corporations, director and president 
of the Farmers' Bank, director of the public 
schools of Carlisle, trustee of Dickinson 
College, and filled other positions of trust 
and responsibility. In 1884 he was elected 
president judge, carrying Cumberland coun- 
ty by a majority of 1.325, while the Republi- 
can candidate for President lost it by a ma- 
jority of over 900. After bis election as 
Common Pleas judge he was twice a candi- 
date for Supreme Judge, and although not 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



171 



successful he each time cauie within a few 
votes of being nominated. After his retire- 
ment from the Bench he devoted himself to 
his practice, and, his reputation as a lawyer 
and counsellor having become widespread, 
his services were much called for from a dis- 
tance as well as from within the confines of 
his own county. He associated with him two 
of his sons, who .ire both young men of ac- 
knowledged ability, and have had a thorough 
practical training for the law. On June 8, 
1904, he was again nominated for president 
judge of the Ninth Judicial District of Penn- 
sylvania, and was elected Nov. 8th. 

In 1 87 1 Wilbur F. Sadler married ]\Iiss 
Sarah E. Sterrett, daughter of Rev. David 
Sterrett, a Presbyterian minister then living 
in Carlisle. To this union were born four 
children : ( i ) Wilbur F. has long been en- 
gaged in projecting and constructing street 
railways, at which he has achieved success 
and distinction. He resides at Trenton, N. 
J., where he is prominently identified with 
enterprises in his line. (2) Lewis S. was edu- 
cated at Yale College and the Dickinson 
School of Law at Carlisle, graduating from 
the latter in 1895, since when he has been 
actively engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion, and is regarded as one of the most in- 
dustrious and competent young attorneys at 
the Bar. For one term he was attorney for 
the Carlisle borough council. In June, 1902, 
he married Miss Mary Bosler, daughter of 
the late James W. Bosler. (3) Sylvester B. 
graduated from Yale in 1896 and from the 
Dickinson School of Law in 1898. He and 
his brother Lewis are partners with their 
father in the practice of law, and through 
their reputation as able, industrious and 
thoroughly trained lawyers the firm com- 
mands a large and constantly increasing bus- 
iness. Sylvester B. is professor of Criminal 
Law in the Dickinson School of Law. and 
author of a book on criminal procedure pub- 



lished by the Lawyers' Co-operative Publish- 
ing Company, of Rochester, N. Y. He is a 
member of the borough council, and takes a 
live interest in everything that pertains to 
the good of the community. (4) Horace T. 
graduated from the Dental Department of 
the University of Pennsylvania in 1901. 
After completing his course he spent a year 
inthe city of Philadelphia, and then located 
in Carlisle, where he is now engaged in suc- 
cessful practice. 

Mrs. Sadler died Jan. 10, 1895. A 
deeply pious and devoted wife and mother, 
her death naturally was a heavy blow to her 
family, but it did not disturb the sacred filial 
associations of the bereaved, for the beauti- 
ful residence on West College street, Car- 
lisle, continues to be their home in common, 
and only as new relations in life arise and 
demand it do they leave it. Judge Sadler 
and his sons are justly numbered among the 
representative citizens of Cumberland coun- 
ty. They grace the honorable professions of 
which they are members, are public-spirited 
and progressive, and are deservedly very 
popular with the masses. 

WILLIAM R. LINE. In the early days 
of this State there lived in Manheim town- 
ship, Lancaster county, a man named David 
Line. He was born June 10, 1753, and died 
Aug. 10, 1814. His wife, Ann, was born 
Jan. 12, 1758, and died Feb. 15, 1823. Both 
are buried in a graveyard in Manheim town- 
ship. David and Ann Line had the follow- 
ing children: Rachel, born Jan. 5, T777, 
died Sept. 17, 1814; John, born Dec. 25, 
1778, died Nov. 28, 1852; George, born Dec. 
2. 1780, died March 2, 1835; Daniel, born 
Jan. 12, 1782; William, born Oct. 15, 1785, 
(lied Nov. 16, 1868; Ann, born Oct. 29, 
1788; Jesse, born Dec. 23, 1790; Sarah, 
born Feb. 16, 1793; Rebecca, born Jan. 1, 
1796; Gabriel, born Aug. 10, 1798. Along 



172 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



almut 1 810, three of these ten children, John. 
George and Wilham, mo\-ed to Cumberland 
county. John and \\'i11iam settled in the 
part of Allen township that is now Monroe, 
where thev for a number of years taught 
school. George settled in the part of East 
Pennsboro that is now. Silver Spring. John 
and George continued to live in their respec- 
ti\-e localities the rest of their days, the 
former dying on Nov. 28. 1852. and the 
latter cm ^larch 2. 1835. Both are buried 
in the cemetery of the Trindle S]5ring 
Church. 

When these three sons of David and Ann 
Line came to Cumberland county there lived 
in the vicinity of Churchtown a man named 
Jacob Wise, who was a prominent citizen 
and possessed of much property. Jacob Wise 
and Ann, his wife, had the following chil- 
dren : Mary, Elizabeth, George, David, 
Nancy, Reliecca, Sally, Catherine, Jacol) and 
Samuel. Into this large family \\'illiam 
Line, the young school teacher, from Lan- 
caster county, came for a helpmeet. On 
April 2, 1812, he married Rebecca, daugh- 
ter of Jacob and Ann Wise, the Rev. Alfred 
Halfenstine, pastor of the Reformed Church 
at Carlisle, pronouncing" them man and wife. 
They took up housekeeping at Churchtown, 
then one of the most prosperous and promis- 
ing points in the large township of Allen. 
He continued to teach school and do survey- 
ing and scrivening up until 181 5. As the 
country was then rapidly becoming settled 
there was much surveying and conveyancing 
to do, and he consequently found it advan- 
tageous to reside at the county seat. He 
therefore moved to Carlisle, and located on 
West South street, in a brick house owned 
by one Patrick Phillips, father of the late 
Abram Phillips. While living here he 
bought a lot on the east side of South Han- 
over street, in the vicinity of the present 



Manse of the Second Presbyterian Church, 
and there he built himself a house and lived 
for several years. In December, 1819, he 
bought from Major Sterrett Ramsey at the 
eastern edge of town, forty-eight acres of 
land, a property that has since long been the 
home of the late James W. Bosler, and is 
now in the possession of his heirs. Later he 
purchased on the north side of the York 
Road in the same locality, a four-acre tract 
afterward owned 1)v the late Carev W. 
Ahl — upon which he li\-e(l for many years. 
Still later he purcliased the property opposite 
to where the Philadelijhia & Reading pas- 
senger depot now stands, now owned by 
his son Luther A., and there he spent the 
rest of his clays. He died on Nov. 16, 1868, 
after having lived out a long and useful 
career. From earh' in life he actively par- 
ticipated in public affairs, wielding great in- 
fluence and winning a prominence which few 
men locally attain. His true worth can best 
l)e judged by the number and character of 
the pul)lic trusts he filled, and to enable the 
reader to judge correctly we here enumerate 
the principal ones : In 1813 Governor Snyder 
appointed him a justice of the peace for 
Allen township; in 1814 the same governor 
appointed him deputy surveyor for Cumber- 
land county: in i8iS Governor Findlay ap- 
pointed him Recorder of Deeds and also 
Register of Wills; in 1828 Governor Shultz 
aijpointed him an .\ssociate Judge, and in 
Decemlier, 1833, he was again appointed 
Register of Wills by Governor Ritner. 
Through being so many years in the service 
of the public he became thoroughly familiar 
with public affairs, and a very ready and 
agreeable conversationalist. He was in a 
large sense a public servant, and for many 
years was popularly known as "Judge" 
Line. In his later years, after he had in a 
measure retired, he devoted his time and at- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



173 



tention principally to tlie culture of flowers 
and ornamental plants, and found much 
enjoyment in showing visitors through his 
gardens, greenhouses and nursery, and many 
persons called expressly to hear him talk 
on flowers and relate personal remin- 
iscences of which he had an inex- 
haustible store. To William Line and 
Rebecca, his wife, were Ix)rn children 
as follows : Washington, born ]\Iarch 
II, 1813; William Ramsey, born Dec. i. 
1814; Augustus Asbury, born ]\Iay 17, 
1819; and Amelia Ann, born June 6, 1823. 
Rebecca (Wise) Line died Feb. 18, 1826, and 
Oct. 12, 1830, Mr. Line married Mrs. Cath- 
erine King, widow of Dr. John King,and 
daughter of Dr. John Luther, of Harrisburg, 
by which marriage he had the following chil- 
dren : Cornelia Emily, born Sept. 13, 1831 ; 
Luther Alexander, born Dec. 21, 1835. 
Mrs. Catherine Line, Judge Line's second 
wife, died Jan. 24, 1854. and he and his two 
wives are buried on the same lot in Ashland 
cemetery. 

W'ashington, the oldest child by his first 
marriage, went West and for several years 
taught school near Dayton. Ohio, where he 
died when about thirty years of age. 

Augustus Asbury. the third son, lived 
all his days in the town of Carlisle where he 
was actively engaged in business and public 
affairs until late in life. He died Aug. 24, 
1903. 

Amelia Ann, William and Rebecca Line's 
only daughter, married John R. Elder, of 
Indianapolis, Ind.. who met her while he 
was a student at Dickinson College. He for 
a long time was editor of a paper in Indian- 
apolis. Mrs. Elder died in October, 1899, 
leaving her husband and three children. 

Cornelia Emily, the oldest child and only 
daughter of William and Catherine Line, 
died on May 26, 1899. 



Luther Alexander, the only son by the 
second marriage, is mentioned below. 

William Ramsey, second son of Judge 
William and Rebecca (Wise) Line, was 
born while his parents resided on \\'^est 
South street, Carlisle, and was named after 
the Hon. William Ramsey, an intimate 
friend of his father. He grew to manhood 
in, and has always lived near, the town. 
During his youth he attended the private 
schools which then flourished in Carlisle, 
chief among them being that conducted by 
a man named Gad Day. Among his school- 
mates in Gad Day's school were members 
of the families of Isaac Brown Parker, An- 
drew Holmes and Robert Irwin, all of whom 
are now dead. Meager as were the educa- 
tional advantages of the day William R. 
Line made good progress in his studies, and 
before he had reached manhood's years had 
acquired sufficient knowledge to teach school 
which he did for a number of years. His 
first teaching was done at the Red School 
House, now named Paradise, in South Mid- 
dleton township. He next taught the Wise 
School and subsequently the one located near 
the head of the Letort Spring, now known 
as the Bonny Brook school. He was suc- 
cessful from the first, and as his reputation 
as an instructor spread, patrons multiplied, 
and his school grew to large size, young 
men and women, some of them married, 
availing themselves of his teaching. This 
school was always well filled with studious 
and well-behaved pupils. The venerable 
William Barnitz and the late Wesley Miles 
were professional cotemporaries of his, Mr. 
Miles having preceded him as teacher of the 
school at Bonny Brook. Besides being a nat- 
ural scholar and instructor, he in his earlier 
vears had a mechanical bent of mind and 
worked in wood as a recreation from his 
studies and school duties. \\'hile teaching 



174 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



the Wise school lie spent much of his spare 
time ill the carpenter shop of Phihp Shissler 
nearby, and ;unong otlier useful things made 
himself a new liuggy. 

On July lo, 1845, William Ramsey Line 
married Mrs. Mary Simpson Campbell, the 
Rev. T. V. Moore, pastor of the Second 
Presbyterian Church, performing the cere- 
mony. Mrs. Campbell was the widow of 
Adams Campbell, of Elizabethtown, Lan- 
caster county, and a daughter of Samuel 
Elder and granddaughter of the Rev. Ji^hn 
Elder, who for fifty years was pastor of the 
' Paxton Presbyterian Church, Dauphin coun- 
ty, where in the early pioneer days he often 
preached with his loaded rifle in his pulpit 
ready for use in case of attacks from the 
Lidians. Soon after his marriage he moved 
to the farm lying on the Trindle Spring 
Road a short distance east of Carlisle, the 
ownership of which he has since accjuired. 
Here he has resided continuously ever since. 
His life has been quiet and uneventful, Init 
full of the kind deeds which let not the 
right hand know what the left hand doth. 
He is a man of excellent business judgment, 
and the fact that he is a director in an enter- 
l^rise inspires confidence in that enterprise 
in all who know the man. He was elected 
a director in the Carlisle Deposit Bank in 
1866, and with the e.xception of one or two 
intermissions of a year each, that were re- 
ciuired by a former charter, has been con- 
tinued a director ever since. Among his 
early associates in this institution were such 
well remembered citizens and business men 
as John Zug, Dr. W. W. Dale, Judge Hugh 
Stuart, John Stuart, Robert C. Wood- 
ward, Henry Saxton and Ju<lge R. M. 
Henderson, all of whom, excepting Judge 
Henderson, are now deceased. For a 
period of more than twenty years he has also 
been a director in the Allen and East Penns- 



boro Insurance Compam-, another of Cum- 
lierland county's substantial business insti- 
tutions. 

]\Ir. Line is a Republican in politics, but 
in no sense a partisan. He has never sought 
office, but in 1886 was elected Director of 
the Poor, being the only Republican on a 
large ticket that was elected. In religion he 
may be considered a Presbyterian. He holds 
a pew in the First Presbyterian Church, 
where, although not a communicant, he has 
alwa}'s, when physicallv alile, attended serv- 
ices. He has passed through the cares and 
trials of almost four score and ten years of 
life, and through all of that long journey he 
has performed every duty conscientiously 
and borne an unblemished character. He 
has been a good citizen and an honest man. 

LUTHER ALEXANDER LINE. In 
the biography of William R. Line it is stated 
that his father, William Line, was married 
a second time, his second wife being Mrs. 
Catherine King, widi>w of Dr. Jnhn King, 
and daughter of Dr. John Luther. \Villiam 
Line and Catherine, his second wife, had 
two children, Cornelia Emily and Luther 
Alexander. It is the object of this particu- 
lar sketch to treat principally of the latter. 

Luther A. Line was born Dec. 21, 1835, 
while his father lived at the eastern edge of 
Carlisle, upon the property he purchased 
from Major Sterrett Ramsey in 1819. There 
the child grew into youth, and the youth into 
manhood, and within a radius of n few hun- 
dred yards has always lived, and at this 
writing is still living. When the boy 
reached the prescribed age he was sent to 
the Carlisle schools, first to the private 
schools of Miss Harper, Miss Mains and 
others, and afterwards to the public schools. 
His education was limited to that provided 
by the common schools of the day. For em- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



175 



pliiyment and manual training he was jnit 
to work in his father's nursery and green- 
houses, and there occupied he gradually 
came into a thorough and practical knowl- 
edge of tlowers. shrubbery and plant life 
generally. Growing to manhood in this em- 
ployment, it naturally became his life work 
and his delight. He has engaged at it ever 
since in the immediate vicinity in which he 
started in it when a youth. While a young 
man he at one time thought he would like 
the drug business, and went to Philadelphia 
, and engaged at it for a short time, but the 
confinement incident to it not agreeing with 
his health, he abandoned all further efforts 
.to master it. 

In August, 1864, Mr. Line enlisted as 
a recruit in Company A, loist P. V. I.. 
under Capt. James Sheaffer, of Pittsburg, 
Colonel Morris, commanding. Peter 3\Ion- 
yer, William Lytle, Alfred Taylor and 
Henry D. Comfort, also of Carlisle, were 
some of his comrades in the same company. 
Soon after joining his regiment it was sent 
to Roanoke Island, North Carolina, and in 
that section was engaged in doing scouting 
duty and skirmishing until the close of the 
war. It was mustered out of service June 
25, 1865, at Newbern. North Carolina. 
Through soldiering in the Lowlands of 
North Carolina he contracted swamp fever, 
with which he was ailing for a long time 
after he returned to his home. After the 
recovery of his health he resumed his former 
occupation of florist and nurseryman at the 
old place, and nothing has since then oc- 
curred to seriously interrupt his labors. 

Luther A. Line's career has been quiet, 
and in a general sense uneventful, and yet 
some of his experiences are interesting and 
could be enlarged upon with entire propriety 
were his biographer given permission to do 
so. The natural modestv of the man re- 



stricts the writer to a simple recital of the 
bare facts of his life. Having always lived 
in Carlisle he is well known to its people 
generally, and he is greatly esteemed by all 
of them. As a life-long citizen of the place 
he has participated in the making of its his- 
tory, and has been an interested observer of 
its affairs. His home being in the part of the 
town where was located the United States 
military post known as the Carlisle Garri- 
son, he in his earlier years, became acquaint- 
ed with many young army officers who in 
the Civil war rose to distinction on one side 
or the other. Some of these he afterward 
met under memorable circumstances. On 
the evening of July i. 1863. after the Con- 
federates under General Ewell had retired, 
and the Union forces under General Smith 
had again come into possession of Carlisle, 
he was in his home quietly resting from the 
anxiety and dread through which' he had 
passed. His rest was disturbed by the en- 
trance into his room of a young man. whom 
he recognized as Samuel Weller. a former 
student of Dickinson College, who informed 
him that General Lee was outside and 
wanted to see him. Going out he met a 
Confederate officer who said he was General 
Fitzhugh Lee. and asked whether he knew 
him. Mr. Line replied that he knew a Lieu- 
tenant Lee who some years before had been 
stationed at the Carlisle Garrison. "WelP, 
answered the officer, "I am he." Lee^'as 
in charge of the advance of Gen, J. E. B. 
Stuart's command, which had come from 
Hanover by way of the York Road, with 
the view of joining the body of Confeder- 
ates that had come down the Cuniberland 
Valley. This body of Confederates having 
gone to Gettysburg, and the town being in 
possession of the Union forces, the progress 
of Stuart's command was halted in the road 
near the Line home. Later General Stuart 



1/6 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



also interviewed Mr. Line, and requested 
liim to convey his respects to Johnson Moore 
and Major Hastings, two of Carlisle's 
prominent citizens with whom Stuart had 
cordial relations while in former years he 
was stationed at the Carlisle Garrison. That 
night the Confederates treated the town to 
a vieorous bombardment and burned all the 
principal buildings at the Garrison, and also 
the gas house, which stood within a stone's 
throw of \vhere Mr. Line lived. Among the 
articles on Mr. Line's parlor table at the 
time was a picture of General Lee which Lee 
had presented to him while stationed at the 
Carlisle Garrison as a lieutenant. After the 
Confederates were gone he missed this pict- 
ure, and could account for it on no other 
theory than that Samuel Weller, recogniz- 
ing it as the likeness of his commander, had 
taken it. Weller was Sergeant of the Con- 
federate Signal Corps, and it is presumed 
was killed in the Battle of Gettysburg, at 
any rate he was never heard of afterward. 
Once, in recent years, when General Lee 
was on a visit to the Carlisle Indian Train- 
ing School, ]Mr. Line met him and took 
occasion to mention to him the loss of the 
picture. The distinguished ex-Confederate 
expressed regret at its loss, and promised 
to send him another, but as no picture ever 
came the probability is that he forgot all 
about it. 

On Dec. 22, 1870, Luther A. Line was 
married to Miss Caroline Goekeler, of Car- 
lisle, Rev. Dr. Joel Swartz, pastor of the 
First Lutheran Church, performing the 
ceremony. Caroline Goekeler was the 
daughter of Godfrey and Mary Magdalene 
(Thudium) Goekeler, both of whom were 
born in Wurtemberg, Germany, but after 
immigration to America met and married 
in Philadelphia, where their daughter Caro- 



line was born. Suljsequently they moved 
to Carlisle and lived there for some years. 

Luther A. and Caroline (Goekeler) Line 
became the parents of three children, two 
of whom died in infancy. The surviving 
child is William Ramsey Line, born at Car- 
lisle May 16, 1878. and educated in the pub- 
lic schools. Upon reaching early manhood 
he turned his attention to mechanics and be- 
came skilled in the manufacture of electrical 
appliances, and he now lives in Gloversville, 
X. Y., where he for some years has been 
successfully engaged in the bicycle and elec- 
trical business. On May 15, 1901, he mar- 
ried Miss Alae Johnson, of Gloversville. 
They have no children. 

HEYD. For nearly a century and a 
half the family of Heyd has been established 
in this part of Pennsylvania. Li 1760 
George Heyd emigrated from Germany and 
first settled in Lancaster county, moving 
thence to York county, and finally locating 
in Cumberland county, where he died and 
was buried. 

George Heyd (2), son of George, was 
born in Lancster county, and in childhood 
accompanied his parents to York county. 
After six years there he came to Cumberland 
county, which was his home for more than 
fifty years. He married Leah Grass, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Grass, of Adams county. His 
death occurred in Mechanicsburg in 1876, 
when he was aged eighty-two years. His chil- 
dren were: Jacob L. ; H. G.. of Mechanics- 
burg; George W., of the Baltimore Confer- 
ence; E. D., of Illinois; Elizabeth, widow of 
Henry Krall ; Rebecca, wife of Michael 
Myers, of Carlisle; and Mary, wife of Jacob 
P. Brandt, of Mechanicsburg. 

Jacob L. Heyd, son of George (2). was 
born in Upper Allen township, Cumberland 



THE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOl'NDATIONS 

K h 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



177 



county, in 1832. He remained at liome with 
his father until the time of his marriage, 
wiiicli occurred when lie was twenty-three. 
For three years he cuUivated his father's 
farm, and tlien moved to liis father-in-law's 
farm in York county, where he lived for a 
like period, at the end of that time purchas- 
ing a small farm in Upjier Allen township, 
Cumberland county, whither he removed. 
There he made his home for fifteen years, 
selling it in 1877 to buy the fine loo-acre 
farm on whicli he lived until his death, June 
29, 1902. He spent both time and money 
to make his home one of the best, as well as 
one of the most attractive, in the county. 
He married Catharine Coover, daughter of 
Jacob Coover, of near Dillsburg, York coun- 
ty, and she still resides at the home in Camp 
Hill. Of the children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Jacob L. Heyd two sons are living: Clin- 
ton G., who married Emily Thompson, and 
lives in Camp Hill, has three children, 
Luther K., Thompson J. and Martha Cath- 
erine. Coover \\. is mentioned below. 
Those deceased are: Laura, Calvin and 
John W'., all of whom died when quite 
young in Upper Allen township. Jacob L. 
Heyd served in a nuniljer of local offices, 
among them being justice of the peace and 
school director, and he was active in the 
movement to make Camp Hill a borough, 
that the children might have first-class school 
facilities. Both he and his wife belonged to 
the Mechanicsburg Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and Mrs. Heyd is still actively in- 
terested in all church work. She is a kind 
and sympathetic friend to those in trouble, 
and is greatly beloved by all who know 
her. 

CoovER W. Heyd, son of Jacob L., was 
born in Upper Allen township in 1872. He 
attended the district schools and was grad- 
uated from the Mechanicsburg .high school 
12 



in the class of 1886. Learning the machinist 
trade, he worked at it for ten years in New 
York State, and then for a short time 
worked in Harrisburg. In February, 1904, 
he entered the grain, coal, flour and feed 
business at Camp Hill, along the Cumberland 
\'alley railroad, where he is doing a fine 
business with every prospect of a most suc- 
cessful future. He is attentive to his work 
and most obliging to his customers, and has 
made many warm friends. 

In 1893 Mr. Heyd was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Edna May Traub, daughter 
of John A. and Matilda Traub, of Camp Hill, 
but formerly of Philadelphia. They have one 
daughter, Catherine Matilda, born May 31, 
1900. Politically, Mr. Heyd is a Republi- 
can, while religiously, he and his wife belong 
to the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Jacob Coover, father of Mrs. Catharine 
( Coover) Heyd, was born in Cumberland 
county, near Carlisle, and he followed farm- 
ing and distilling along the Yellow Breeches 
creek, in Monaghan township, York county. 
He married Elizabeth Morrett, daughter of 
Hatman Morrett, of Cumberland county. 
He died in York county at the age of sixty- 
five years, and his wife died at the age of 
sixty-two years. Their children were : Levi, 
who died unmarried at Camp Hill, Cumber- 
land county ; Susanna, who married Chris- 
tian Bowman, and died in York county; 
Michael, who, on March 14. 1904, celebrated 
his ninety-first birthday in Silver Spring, 
Cumberland county ; Jacob, who died in- 
York county. Pa. ; Mary Ann, who died in 
Camp Hill ; Eliza, who passed away in Dills- 
burg, York county ; John, who died in York 
county; Sarah Ann, who died in Cum- 
berland county; Samuel, living with his 
sister, Mrs. Heyd; Catharine, who became 
Mrs. Hevd; and Daniel, who died in York 
county. 



178 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



JOHN W. BOWMAN, M. D., one of 
the prominent physicians and surgeons of 
Cumberland county, was born at W'ormleys- 
burg, Cumberland Co., Pa.. Dec. 20, 1846, 
a son of Samuel Bowman and a grandson of 
'Christian Bowman. 

Christian Bowman was l:iorn and reared 
in Lancaster county, where he was a farmer 
at the time of his marriage with ^lary ls\o\\- 
ler. After his marriage he settled for a time 
near Boiling Springs, Cumberland county, 
and engaged in lime burning and the grain 
business, but in 1827 he bought a farm in 
East Pennsboro township, on which he lived 
for several vears. then purchasing another on 
the Jonestown roatl, near Harrisburg. 
At a still later date he remo\'ed to 
Miami county, Ind., where he died at 
the age of ninety-two years. His wife 
had died on the farm near Harris- 
burg, at the age of sixty years. The children 
of Christian and Mary (Mohler) Bowman 
were : Mary married John Longenecker, 
who was a farmer in East Pennsboro town- 
nntil 1856, when they removed to Randolph 
county. Ind.. where she died aged eighty- 
six years: John, who married Kate Longe- 
necker. died aged twenty-nine years, leaving 
three sons ; Samuel became the father of Dr. 
Bowman : Anna married Rev. David Bals- 
baugh. and thev lived in East Pennsboro 
township until 1856. then moving to [Miami 
•county. Iml.. where he became a noted 
preacher; Christian married Mary Brightbill. 
and they Ii\-ed in Dauphin county, where he 
was steward of the Dauphin County Home. 

Samuel Bowman, father of Dr. Bowman, 
\vas born at Boiling Springs. Cumberland 
Co., Pa.. May 13. 1S20, was reared on a 
farm and learned the cooper's trade, which 
he followed for six years. He then engaged 
in farming in East Pennsboro townsl'^ip, un- 
til he retired from active life. He lived at 



\\'c)rmleysburg from 1900 to IQ04, and then 
went to Riverton tu make his home \\ith a 
daughter. 

Li 185 1 Samuel Bowman marrie<l Susan 
Koons, daughter of Jacob Koons, of East 
Pennsboro township, and granddaughter of 
George Koons. who came from Baden, Ger- 
man}-, in 1764. George Koons married a 
daughter of Daniel Snyder, near relative of 
Gov. Synder. Samuel Bowman was orig- 
inally a Whig in political faith but became a 
Republican on the furmation of the party. 
The chilflren of Samuel Bijwman and his 
wife were: Dr. John W. ; Mary, who died 
in childhood : Susan. Mrs. David Mumma, 
of Ham])den township: Jacob, who died in 
infancy: Samuel, who married Rebecca 
Ivreitzler, daughter of Andrew Kreitzler, of 
Hampden township. ( he made the run into 
(Jklahoma and receiveil 160 acres of land 
near Cross) ; George, who married Lizzie 
Eslinger, and resides at West Fairview ; 
Katie, Mrs. Ira Bigler. of Riverton ; and 
Christian, also a resident of Riverton. 

John W. Bowman completed his acad- 
emic studies at the White Hall Academy and 
graduated at the age of nineteen years. After 
some work on his father's farm he accepted 
a clerkship in a store at Camp Hill and be- 
gan the studv of medicine, coming under the 
preceptorship of Dr. J. T. Criswell and Dr. 
J. D. Bowman, at Camp Hill. After one 
year's close reading- he entered Jefferson 
Medical College, at Philadelphia, in the fall 
of 1875, '^•'"^1 '^^"^s graduated with his class 
in 1877. He immediately entered into prac- 
tice and later succeeded Dr. Joseph Crone, 
at Hogestown, where he remained four 
years. At the solicitation of friends he re- 
moved to Camp Hill and became physician 
at the White Hall Soldiers Orphans School, 
p position he held from 1882 until its days of 
usefulness were over, in 1890. Dr. Bow- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



1 79 



man has been located at Riverton since 1890. 
He is surgeon for the Cumberland Valley 
Railroad and served for three years in tlie 
sa'TiC capacity for the Northern Central Rail- 
road. His practice extends all through this 
portion of the county. 

Dr. Bowman is a member of all the lead- 
ing medical organizations, the Cumberland 
County Medical Society, of which he was 
president in 1896 ;the State Medical Society; 
the American Medical Association, and the 
Harrisburg Academy of ' Medicine. He 
keeps in close touch with all the scientific 
discoveries of the day, which make this pro- 
fession the most enlightened of any. 

At Camp Hill, in 1871, Dr. Bowman 
married Annetta Oyster, daughter of George 
and Catherine (Smith) Oyster, both of 
whom are deceased. They have two chil- 
dren : David G., who is associated with the 
United Gas Improvement Co., at Harris- 
burg, married Mary Nichols, daughter of 
the late Dr. Nichols; William C, a graduate 
of the Shippensburg State Normal Sciiool, 
who is principal of a school at Wormleys- 
burg. married ]\Iiss Sartoris, daughter of 
Charles Smith, of Centerville. 

Dr. Bowman is one of the supporters of 
the Christian Church, in which he has been 
an elder since its organization, in 1894. He 
is a teacher in the Sunday-school and was 
formerly superintendent. In politics he is 
a Republican, and be served on die school 
board four years at Camp Hill and three 
years at Riverton. Fraternally, he is past 
master of Eureka Lodge, No. 302, A. F. & 
A. M. 

WILLIAM SPAHR has been a well- 
known citizen of Carlisle all his life, and he 
has been prominently identified with the so- 
cial and church life of the community as well 
as its business interests. 



John Spahr, grandfather of William, was 
born ALarch 17, 1782, and died in Carlisle 
Nov. 19, 1844. He was a hatter by trale. 
He married Elizabeth Wickart, who was 
born Oct. 12, 1783, and died Jan. 19, 1858. 
Their children w'ere as follows : John, the 
father of William : William, a brickmaker, 
who died in Carlisle ; Peter, who was en- 
.gaged in brickmaking in Carlisle all his life, 
and died there; and Eliza, who married 
James Liggett and was the grandmother of 
Clarence Liggett, of Carlisle. 

John Spahr, father of William, was born 
Nov. 3, 1807, in Carlisle. He learned the 
hatter's trade under his father, but did not 
follow it long, in early manhood commenc- 
ing to work at filing under John Proctor, 
who was a well-known figure in the indus- 
trial world of Carlisle in the early days ; 
he made bits when they were made and filed 
and plated by hand, silver money being 
melted to get material for the plating. Mr. 
S])ahr remained Vvith Mr. Proctor for a 
number of years, and was ever noted for his 
industry and thrift. For many years he was 
high constable in Carlisle, and he was active 
in church work as a member of the Lutheran 
Church, in which he served as deacon. He 
was sexton for many years. After erecting 
the family home on North East street, in 
Carlisle, he took up gardening, which he 
followed for the remainder of his days, dy- 
ing Dec. II, 1876. On April 3. 1828, Mr. 
Spahr married Elizabeth Stum, who was 
born March 3, 1811, and died April 8, 1875. 
Her parents came to this country from Ger- 
manv and died in Carlisle. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Spahr were born children as follows : ( i ) 
Lizzie, born Oct. 8, 1829, married John 
Egolf in 1850, and died in Carlisle. (2) 
John, born April 15, 1832, married Mary 
Black, April 13, 1856, and died in Carlisle, 
July 30, 1900. (3) William is mentioned 



i8o 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



below. (4) Catherine. Imrn March 17. 
1835. died in 1S36. ( 5 ) Mary H. born Alay 
29, 1837, married Cyrus D. Arnold, Oct. 
10, 1858, and is now a widow, living in 
Philadelphia. (6) Peter P., born May 5, 
1839, was twice married, first on March 4, 
1862, to Annie Ward, and on Dec. 19, 1872, 
to Emma Swigert, who survives him. (7) 
Sarah, Ijorn Dec. 21. 1840. married Sam- 
uel Minnich, and died in June, 1903, in Car- 
lisle. (8) Barbara E., born March 17, 1843, 
died IMarch 16, 1845. '9) Margaret J., 
born Dec. 21, 1844. died i\Pay 17, 1853. (10) 
George R., born Oct. i, 1846, died May 10, 
1853. (11) Julia Ann died in infancy. 

William Spahr was born June 24. 1834, 
in Carlisle, in a house which stood on the 
lot next to what afterward becan:e the fam- 
ily homestead, in North East street. His 
first literary instructiiin was recei\'ed in the 
school at the corner ol Bedford and Louther 
streets, under Mary Richter, and he was 
subsequently a pupil of Miss String, Mr. 
Gould, Gilbert Searight, ]Mr. Tripner and 
Dr. Neidig, under whom he closed his school 
life. As his help was needed at home he 
attended only during the winter after he was 
old enougli to be of practical use. During 
the summer season he was employed in the 
brickyard, beginning that work at the age of 
fourteen, at $4 per mrmth and board. His 
first work was what was called "off bearing," 
that is, taking away, and in time he acquired 
a thorough knowledge of all the details of 
the business, working for many years for 
his uncle Peter. In those days the work was 
all done by hand. Finally our subject, with 
his brothers John and Peter, formed the firm 
of Spahr Bros., brick manufacturers, and 
after the death of Peter, in 1891, the other 
two brothers continued the business until 
1897, when the firm went out of business. 
Peter Spahr was a memfier of the borough 



council cii Carlisle for twelve years. Will- 
iam Spahr was engaged in the actual work 
of brickmaking from his fourteenth year un- 
til 1 89 1, with the exception of an interval 
of three years din-ing which he was in the 
confectionery business with John H. Rheem; 
he was a molder from his twenty-first year. 
Since the plant was closed down Mr. Spahr 
has practically lived retired, though for the 
past year and a half he has run a tea wagon. 
During his active business life he enjoyed 
high standing among his associates and en- 
joyed a wide acciuaintance among Inisiness 
men in and around Carlisle. 

All the Spahr familv are musically in- 
clined and gifted, and William Spahr and 
all his brothers and sisters are singers, well 
known in that connection throughout this 
section. As was common during those days, 
he had no money of his own until after he 
attained his majority, his father settling his 
wages up to the close of his twenty-first 
year. After that he immediately commenced 
to save, and before long had enough to buy 
a small melodeon from Samuel Gould, which 
had been the property of the old-time music 
teacher, Mr. Skiles. Mr. Spahr paid ^2j 
for this instrument, and afterward sold it to 
be used as the old "barracks" singing class 
for $50. From early manhood he sang in 
the choir of the Lutheran Church, until John 
Rheem, the leader, went west, after which 
Mr. Spahr took charge of the choir for six- 
teen years, also leading the singing in the 
Sunday-school. Fi:)r manv vears he ga\"e his 
services now and then to the Mission Church. 
He remained with the Lutheran choir until 
seventeen years ago. For many years Mr. 
Spahr was the leader of the old original Car- 
lisle Band, in which he played first E flat 
cornet. After its reorganization it was led 
by Louis C. Faber. ^\'hen he left that band 
he Iiecame cornetist in \\'idner's Orchestra. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



i8i 



witli which he played for some years. His 
interest in musical matters has never waned, 
and although he is not now as active in mu- 
sical circles as he used to be he still has the 
same love for such things. As may be in- 
ferred from the above, Mr. Spahr's religious 
connection is with the Lutheran Church. In 
politics he has been a lifelong Democrat. 

On Dec. 23, i860, Mr. Spahr was mar- 
ried, by Rev. J. Fry, of the Lutheran Church 
to Miss Annie C. Ritter, who was torn in 
Carlisle, daughter of Henry S. and Mary 
(Wunderlich) Ritter. Her father, who died 
in 1888 in Carlisle, was a well-known mer- 
chant tailor of the town. The young couple 
commenced married life in a small house on 
North East street, where they lived only a 
short time, however, after which they moved 
to the present residence, which Mr. Spahr 
rented for fifteen years from John L'nder- 
wood, who was teller at the Carlisle Bank 
for many years. Mr. Spahr eventually 
bought the place from Mr. Underwood. 
Here Mrs. Spahr passed away Nov. 15, 
1878, in her forty-first year. She had grad- 
uated from the Carlisle high school in the 
class of 1856, being under the tuition there 
of IMrs. Annie Underwood, and was well 
known in Carlisle for her many endearing 
and ennobling traits of character. Her kind 
heart and devotion to her family and friends 
made her beloved by all who knew her, and 
she was sincerely mourned by a wide circle 
of friends and acquaintances. She was a 
working member of the Lutheran Church, 
sang in the choir from girlhood until her 
death, and for many years taught in the Sun- 
day-school. She and her husband became 
acquainted as members of the same church 
choir. Mr. and Mrs. Spahr became the par- 
ents of four children : Bella Arnold mar- 
ried A. R. Read, of Falling Springs, Perry 
county, and thev have had two children. 



.\nna Elizabeth and Harriet Spahr. Harry 
Ritter, who resides in Carlisle, married Har- 
riet Leffier. Charles William, of Carlisle, 
has been a clerk in the Bixler hardware store 
for twenty-two years ; he married Belle Har- 
ris, and they have one child, Charles Will- 
iam, Jr. Jennie AL is deceased. Mr. Spahr 
is a Democrat in political belief and has 
served six years on the borough council. 

CHARLES FREMONT MARKLEY, 
one of the prominent and representative 
citizens of Cumberland county, was born 
Aug, 29, 1856, in Butler township, Adams 
county, a .son of John C. and Isabella A. 
(W^eaver) Markley. 

John C. Markley was born in 183 1, in 
Franklin county, Pa., a son of Daniel and 
Anna (Cockley) Markley, of Lancaster 
county. Grandfather Markley removed to 
Cumberland county and engaged in farming 
near Slate Hill, in Lower Allen township, 
a few years afterward removing to Franklin 
county, where he farmed and owned a saw- 
mill. Later he moved to Idaville in Adams 
county, and then retired, being advanced in 
years. John C. Markley received an ex- 
cellent education, as his parents were in easy 
circumstances, and was reared to practical 
farming. He married Isabella A. Weaver, 
of Adams county, and after his marriage 
settled on a farm in Adams county which he 
operated until he engaged in the manufacture 
of windmills, of which he was a patentee. 
At a later date he resumed farming, in But- 
ler township, Adams county. He became 
one of the most prominent and respected 
men of that locality, and for twenty-two 
years served as a justice of the peace. His 
father, Daniel Markley, was also a justice 
of the peace for many years, and his brother, 
Daniel H., served as such at York Springs, 
for thirty years. John C. Markley died in 



182 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



November, 18Q4, ami was laid ti:i rest in the 
cemetery at the U. B. Church at Center 
Mills, Adams county. His widow still sur- 
vives. Children as folli_)ws were born to 
John C. Markley and his wife: Urith died 
young : IHorence married John Brame, of 
Butler townshi]!, Adams county: Charles 
Fremont is mentioned Ijelow ; Ruth Ann died 
young- : Harry is a resident of Lemoyne ; 
Georgia married Adam Hotz, of Harris- 
burg : Grace married Howard Newcomer, of 
Lemoyne: William, of Harrisburg, mar- 
ried Kitty Yoder. 

Charles F. Markley attended the district 
schools in Butler township until he was fif- 
teen vears of age and remained on the home 
farm until he reached maturity. At the age 
of fifteen he began to learn the milling busi- 
ness, which he followed for fourteen years. 
In 1883 he left .\dams count v and located at 
Oyster"s Mill, on the Yellow Breeches creek, 
near Jacksonville, Cumberland county, re- 
maining there for the best part of three 
years, operating the mill for Elias Oyster. 
He then operated the Henry Brechbill mill, 
near Mt. Holly, for one year, and then the 
Craighead mill, at Craighead Station, for 
four years. Mr. Markley then removed to 
Harrisburg for two years and was in the 
employ of the Reading Railroad Co., in the 
freight department, for about six vears. In 
1895 he came to Lemoyne. With Clarence 
Crow, and later with Robert Byers, he 
formed what was known as the Lemoyne 
Cigar Box Mfg. Co., an enterprise which 
was continued for three years. Since then 
Mr. Markley has followed contract plaster- 
ing. In 1900 he was elected to the office for 
which the members of this family seem, by 
nature, to be especially fitted, that of justice 
of the peace. His term of office continues 
until 1905, and doubtless he will fill the re- 
sponsible position for manv more years. 



Mr. Afarkley was married, in 1878, in 
Adams county, to Alice G. Frazier, a daugh- 
ter of Stephen S. Frazier, formerly a car- 
l)enter at York Springs, where he was born. 
Mr. Frazier followed carpenter work ami 
cabinetmaking until he enlisted for service 
in the Civil war. in 1802 entering Company 
I. \C)^\.h P. W. I., and he died in the hospital 
at Norfolk, Y'a., in 1863. .\t a later (b.te 
the members of his company, by whom he 
was much beloved, had his body embalmed 
and reljuried at York Springs, and in a Ijody 
followed the remains to their last resting 
place. He was a Republican in his political 
attitude, having been a Whig in earlier life, 
and in religion he was a consistent member 
of the Methodist Church. After an interval 
of fourteen years A'Irs. Frazier was married 
to Philip Beamer, who died in December, 
1892. Lhe children of Mr. and Mrs. I'Ya- 
zier were as follows : Ellen married Eli 
LaRue, of York Springs: Florence married 
Levi Smith, of Kansas City; Alice G. be- 
came Mrs. Markley; Stephen, of York 
Springs, married Alice ^Mengas. The Fra- 
zier family was established in the L'nited 
States Ijv John Frazier, the grandfather of 
Mrs. iMarkley, who was probably born in 
the North of Irelanc-l^of Scotch-Irish parent- 
age. He came to America in young man- 
hood, married (first) Pollv Proctor, and 
(second) Hannah Smith, and died at York 
Springs, of which he was one of the found- 
ers. The children of his first marriage were : 
Stephen S. ; Elizabeth, Mrs. Jacob Tanger, 
of Adams county; Proctor, who died young; 
and of his second union : Emily. ISIrs. Si- 
mon Musselman, of Dayton ; Eliza, Mrs. 
Samuel Greer, of Tadmor, Ohio; and Ellen, 
Mrs. Milton Singer, of Dayton, Ohio. 

Mr. and Mrs. Markley are members of 
the \5. B. Church at Wormleysburg, in which 
both are active, Mr. Markley being one of 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



183. 



the teacliers in the Sunday-school. Tliey 
lirive two chil(h-en. Clarence and Helen. Po- 
.litically, he is a Republican, and fraternally, 
he belongs to the Modern Woodmen. 

JAMES C. FLEMING, editor and pro- 
prietor of the Shippensburg Ncn's, was born 
April 30, 1 86 1, in the borough of Shippens- 
burg, son of George Fleming, and grandson 
of James Fleming, who was l)orn at Coates- 
ville, son of John Fleming, a native of 
Coatesville, Chester Co., Pa., of Scotch-Irish 
descent. 

George Fleming, father of James C, 
was born September 3, 1 818, at Coatesville. 
In early life he was associated with the iron 
business, and then became connected with 
the forwarding business on the Cumberland 
Valley Railroad, traveling from Shippens- 
burg to Philadelphia and Baltimore. After 
1862 he devoted himself to farming, and 
died Feb. 11, 1884. His family consisted 
of four sons. 

James C. Fleming completed the com- 
mon school course, and then spent two years 
in the Cumberland Walley State Normal 
school. Entered the printing office of the 
Annville Ga-citc, he remained there until 
he had learned th.e business. Upon his re- 
turn to Shippensburg he became foreman on 
the NcTCs, a position he held for six years. 
In June, 1900, he purchased the plant and 
good will, and is the proprietor of one of the 
leading journals in this section of the State. 
It is a folio. 26x40, Republican in politics, 
and has a large and constantly increasing 
circulation, both in the city and country. 
This newspaper was established in 1844, 
and has had the following editors and pro- 
prietors : John F. Weishample, from 1844 
to 1846; J. L. Baker, 1846- 1848; Jacob 
Bomberger, 1848-1853; Bomberger & D. 
K. Wagner, 1853-1854; D. K. Wagner, 



1 554-1855 ; Curriden, Aliller & Co., 1855- 
1856; Edward W. Curriden, 1 856-1 864; 
D. W. Thrush, 1864-1866; D. K. Wagner, 
1 866- 1 867; D. K. & J. C. Wagner, 1867- 
1803: and J. C. Wagner, 1893- 1900, when 
Mr. Fleming took charge. 

Mr. Pleming has been associated in a 
business way with a number of the success- 
ful enterprises of Shippensburg, had been a 
member of the directing board of the Ship- 
pensburg Manufacturing Company, and 
was one of the seven original stockholders 
of the Shippensburg Electric Light, Heating 
and Power Company, which was organized 
Oct. 3, 1890, but has disposed of his inter- 
ests in both companies, confining his ener- 
gies to the production of a first-class news- 
paper. 

On Jan. 14, 1886, Mr. Fleming was mar- 
ried to Minnie F. Shade, second daughter 
of George W. and Mary C. (Elsrode) 
Shade, and they have two children, Nellie 
M. and George Clark. Fraternally, Mr. 
Fleming is a member of Cumberland Lodge 
No. 90, I. O. O. F., Valley Encampment, 
No. 34, I. O. O. F. : Hazel Rebekah Lodge, 
No. 82, I. O. O. F. ; and Shippensburg Coun- 
cil, No. 995, Royal Arcanum. 

MILTON R. PETERS, M. D., a prom- 
inent physician and surgeon of Boiling- 
Springs, is a native of Adams county. Pa., 
where he was reared, and received his edu- 
cation in Union Seminary, in which institu- 
tion he expected to prepare for the ministry- 
Later, howe\'er, he decided to take up the 
study of medicine, and entered the of^ce of 
J. H. Marsden, M. D., of Sulphur Springs, 
Pa. In 1878 he entered Hahnemann Col- 
lege of Medicine at Philadelphia, from which 
he graduated March 10, 1881. After re- 
ceiving his degree he located at Hanover, 
Pa., and from there moved to Gettysburg, 



i84 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



where he remained a year, in 1892 locating 
at Boihng Springs. Since coming here he 
has established an excellent practice, and is 
justly regarded as one of the leading' physi- 
cians of this part rif Cumlicrland county. 
Dr. Peters is a member of the Hahnemann 
Institute of Thiladelphia. and he is very pop- 
ular socially. He has erected a pleasant 
home for himself and family. \\ here their 
many friends are cordially welcomed. 

In 18S2 Dr. Peters married Miss Jen- 
nie A'irginia Collins, of Adams county, a 
daughter of John W. Collins. Dr. and Mrs. 
Peters have three children, Hale L., Lydia 
and Bender. They are members of the U. 
B. Church and \'ery prominent not only in 
Boiling Springs, but throughout the county. 

Dr. Peters comes of good German stock. 
His great-grandfather, Ulrich Peters, came 
from Germany and settled near Gettysburg. 
where he was engaged in horticulture, 
raising fruit trees. His family was a large 
one, and nearly all of his sons followed in 
his line of business. Some of the sons went 
West and established large nurseries at Troy 
and Carlisle, Ohio. 

John Peters, the Doctor's grandfather, 
was a nurseryman in Adams county. He 
married a Miss Group, by whom he had the 
following family : William, a farmer of 
Adams count}'; Daniel; David, who married 
and moved to New Carlisle, where he estab- 
lished a large nursery ; George, a nursery- 
man at Troy, Ohio; John, a nurseryman of 
Uriah, Cumberland county; Eliza; Susan, 
married to Rev. Mr. Schaff; Rachel, Mrs. 
Haskell ; Matilda, Mrs. Eppleman ; and Cath- 
erine, Mrs. Hewitt. 

Daniel Peters, the father of Dr. Peters, 
died in 1891, aged sixty-seven years. Dur- 
ing a number of years he followed farming 
and milling, and was an experienced machin- 
ist. He was also a local preacher of the 



Evangelical Church, and was a devout Chris- 
tian man. His wife, whose maiden name 
was Bender, died when alDOut forty-five years 
of age. She bore him seven children : Cath- 
erine, wife of C. E. Porter, a nurseryman 
of Bcndersville; John, a minister of the 
Presbyterian Church, stationed at Benards- 
ville, Texas: Milton R. ; Fillmore, of Center- 
\'ille; Clayton A., a professor of biology at 
the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, N. 
Y. ; Anna E., married to P. D. Richwine, 
of Boston, Mass. ; and one child that died in 
infancy. This family is well represented in 
the several professions as well as in business 
circles, and all have been successful. Drs. 
William, George anil John C. Peters, of 
New York City, the latter the author of sev- 
eral medical works, belong to the same fam- 
ily. The Rev. M. C. Peters, author and 
lecturer of Philadelphia, also belongs to this 
Iiranch of the Peters family. 

HON. J. CALVIN RUMMEL, Burgess 
of Shippensburg, Cumberland county. Pa., 
and president of Rummel, Himes & Co., 
manufacturers of clothing, is one of the 
prominent and enterprising citizens of this 
portion of the State. 

Mr. Rummel was born March 7, 1846, 
in Antrim township, Franklin county. Pa., 
son of John and Catherine (Miller) Rum- 
mel, also natives of Franklin county. They 
were most highly respected residents of their 
locality, and lifelong members of the Re- 
formed Church. 

J. Calvin Rummel attended the district 
school until eleven years of age, beginning 
his business career at that age as a clerk in 
the general store at Middleburg, Franklin 
county, where he was employed five years. 
He then accepted a position as clerk with 
Samuel Ogliby at Flagerstown, Md., remain- 
ing at Hagerstown five years. From there 




IP^ 



'^ 





, \hcL^iri^z) v^/^t-,^.,^^^^^^,^^^^^ 



THE ^'EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILUEN FOUNDATIONS 

B I. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



i8s 



he went to Philadelphia with the firm of 
Wood, Marsh, Haywood & Co., ami then 
located at Mercersburg. where he entered 
into a business partnership with John Kear- 
ick, which continued for five years under the 
firm name of Rearick & Rumniel, dealers in 
dry goods, and conductors of a general store. 
At the expiration of five years Mr. Rummel 
sold his interest and retired from the firm. 

After his marriage Mr. Rummel located 
at Newville, Cumberland county. Pa., em- 
barking in a mercantile business which he 
successfully conducted for two years, and 
then disposed of his stock to William R. 
Titler, who succeeded in the Inisiness. After 
a short residence in Franklin county Mr. 
Rummel came to Shippensburg, Aug. i8, 
1877, where he engaged in a mercantile 
business from 1877 to 1888, when he dis- 
posed of this business. At this time Mr. 
Rummel organized the Shippensburg Man- 
ufacturing Company, of which he was made 
president. In 1903 the name of the firm 
was changed to Rummel. Himes & Co., In- 
corporated, with J. C. Rummel, president, 
George W. Himes, treasurer, and Charles 
L. Rummel, secretary. Their factories are 
located at Shippensburg, Mongul and Fay- 
etteville, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Rummel has had other business in- 
terests, having been president of the Ship- 
pensburg Electric Light Co., and is now 
senior member of the firm controlling the 
People's Coal and Ice Co. However, his 
greatest interest, outside of politics, is in the 
business which he established, and which 
has grown to such large proportions. The 
present plant at this city is of brick, and is 
equipped with modern machinery, both 
water and steam power being used. Em- 
ployment is given to nearly two hundred. 
Mr. Rummel is also interested in a company 
operating an immense peach farm, probably 



the largest venture of the kind in Cumber- 
land county, and in the People's National 
Bank of Shippensburg. 

Since 1878 Mr. Rummel has been a 
member of the board of trustees of the Pres- 
byterian Church, and was a member of the 
building committee when the church and 
manse were erected, and for many years was 
superintendent of the Sabbath-school and a 
director in the Cumberland County Bible 
Society. In 1903 Mr. Rummel was elected, 
on the Prohibition ticket. Burgess of Ship- 
pensburg, a position he fills with dignity and 
efficiency. Since 1884 he has zealously 
worked for Prohibition principles in local 
as well as national issues. He has been 
for years State committeeman and county 
chairman, and was a candidate for his party 
for State senator, receiving a large vote in 
1896. 

Mr. Rummel married Miss Alice Parker 
Lowe, of Mercersburg, daughter of Charles 
Gillespie and Mary (McFarland) Lowe. 
Two children were born to this union: 
Charles L., a graduate of Shippensburg high 
school, who is secretary of Rummel, Himes 
& Co., was married June 17, 1903, to Miss 
Mary Bender, daughter of Dr. John W. Ben- 
der, of Shippensburg. Mary Catherine, a 
graduate of the Shippensburg high school, 
and also of Wilson College, at Chambers- 
burg, was married June 2, 1904, to Jeremiah 
S. Omwake, of Shippensburg. She is a lady 
of many accomplishments, and is gifted in 
music. 

ROBERT L. MYERS, of Camphill, 
Cumberland county, was born Nov. 16, 
1862, at Round Hill, Adams Co., Pa., where 
his great-great-grandfather, Philip Nich- 
olas Myers, settled in 1736. His father was 
the late Adam Smyser Myers, and his 
mother was Margaret Berkheimer, daughter 



1 86 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



of the late Samuel Bcrkheimer. of Mechan- 
icsburg. 

Mr. Myers was educated in the public 
schools of Adams county, at Baugher's 
Academy, Hanover, Pa., and graduated 
from the Pennsylvania State Normal School 
at Shippensburg, in the class of 1885. He 
taught and supervised schools in Adams, 
Cumljerland and Dauphin counties. He is 
the founder ami manager of the National 
Educational Bureau and senior member of 
the firm of Myers, Fishel & Co., educational 
publishers, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 

In 1887 Mr. Myers married Miss Joanna 
Bowman, daughter of the late Dr. J. D. 
Bowman, of Camphill, niece of H. N. Bow- 
man, Escj., of Camphill, of the late E.x-sher- 
iff George B. Eyster, of Cumberland county, 
antl of r^Irs. J. E. Barnitz, of Carlisle. His 
family consists of his wife and five children 
— Helen, Alice, John, Robert and Joanna. 

The Democratic party claims Mr. Myers 
as a member, and he represented Cumljer- 
land county in the Legislature for three con- 
secutive terms, 1899-1900, 1 901 -1902, and 
1903-1904. His activity in behalf of his 
constituents, his untiring loyalty to the best 
interests of the Commonwealth, and his un- 
yielding opposition to legislative crooked- 
ness secured for him the confidence of his 
constituents, and won praise from the best 
journals throughout the State. Although 
he gave due attention to every class of leg- 
islative work, yet he gave special attention to 
all educational legislation, and during his 
last two sessions every educational measure 
that he opposed was defeated, and every 
educational measure he championed was 
passed. To him the State owes the 
various measures, rendering the- town- 
ship high school law of 1895 effec- 
tive — ( I ) By the passage of the law provid- 
ing for the centralization of rural schools. 



the i)o(jr man's children as well as the rich 
man's children are afforded a means of 
reaching the central high school ; the "little 
tilts" as well as the liig boys and girls are 
brought within the cherished influence of the 
more cultured teacher of the high school ; 
the i^atrons have a common interest : and the 
whole communitv is drawn together. (2) 
The prolonged struggle for the passage of 
the Centralization Law won the support of 
the puljlic ]iress and resulted finally in se- 
curing a special appropriation of fifty thou- 
sand dollars for the encouragement of town- 
ship high schools, which, during the session 
of 1903, was increased to one hundred thou- 
sand dollars. (3) By inserting into the gen- 
eral appropriation bill the proviso, "That 
partici]3ation in the amount hereby appro- 
priated for the encouragement and support 
of township high schools shall not be made 
dependent upon the teaching of any dead 
or foreign language," he checked the Depart- 
ment of Puljlic Instruction in its tendency to 
hamper the growth of township high schools 
by its insistence upon an undue amount of 
Latin and German, which was required by 
the courses of study issued by the Depart- 
ment prior to 1901. 

In the course of his legislative career he 
delivered the following addresses, which 
were at the time notable : A eulogy on the 
death of his colleague, the Honorable Llenry 
W. Manning, delivered in the Hall of the 
House of Representatives, session of 1899;^ 
"Needed School Legislation," delivered be- 
fore the Cumberland county School Direc- 
tors' Association at its Midwinter meeting 
in 1899, in Mechanicsburg, — of which five 
thousand copies were printed and circulated ; 
"What Shall Our Public Schools Teach?" 
delivered before the Cumberland County 
School Directors' Association at its midwin- 
ter meeting in 1900, in the Shippensljurg 



C UMBERLAND COUNTY. 



1S7 



State Normal School ; "Does the Community 
Get the Worth of the Money It Expends on 
Its Schools?" delivered before the seventh 
annual convention of the Pennsylvania State 
School Directors' Association. Feb. 13,1902, 
in the Hall of the House of Representatives, 
Harrisburg, of which six tlmusand copies 
were printed and circulated ; an address in 
opposition to the measure which aimed to 
deprive teachers of their right to sell school 
supplies during their \'acations, session of 
1903, which was extensively quoted and 
commented upon by the newspapers of the 
State, irrespective of party. In addition to 
these more formal addresses, he spoke to 
large educational meetings in nearly half of 
the counties of the State, including Wash- 
ington, York, Clearfield and Clinton. 

Mr. Myers is serving his fourth term as 
a member of the Caniijhill School Board. 
He is a director in the Farmers" Trust Com- 
pany, Carlisle, Pa., a director in the Hamil- 
ton Library Association. Carlisle, a member 
of the Board of Trade of the City of Harris- 
burg. a life member of the Pennsylvania 
State School Directors" Association, and 
chairman of the Legislative committee for 
the years 1901, 1902 and 1903. 

CALEB S. BRINTON. In 1854 Caleb 
Brinton came to East Pennsboro. Cumber- 
land county, and for a period of ten years 
resided upon a farm owned by the late Rich- 
ard J. Haldeman, just south from West 
Fairview. For some years prior to his com- 
ing to Cumberland he had resided in Dau- 
phin county, near Harrisburg, but he was 
bom and reared in Chester county. Pa. From 
the information in hand the lineage is not 
clearlv established, but it is reasonal;>])' cer- 
tain, that Caleb Brinton was a descendant 
of William Brinton, who in 1684, landed at 
Newcastle on the* Delaware. That early 



Brinton ancestor came froin Birmingham, 
England, and, it is said, was already an old 
man with l(jng white hair when he came. 
Instead of remaining in the settlement at the 
landing place, he pushed into the wilderness 
and located on the Indian trail, twelve miles 
back from the river, where, during the first 
winter of his stay, he would have starved had 
not the Indians helped him out with game. 
The public records show that he subsequently 
acquired a large amount of land in that lo- 
cality, and was quite prominent as a citizen 
and as a member of the Society of Friends. 
He had a son \\'illiam. who had four sons, 
from whom sprang the manv Brintons now 
scattered over Chester, Lancaster and Cum- 
berland counties. Ever since their first set- 
tlement in America the Brintons have been 
known as an intellectual, progressive family, 
holding well-defined convictions upon all 
pulilic questions and possessing the courage 
to advocate and promote what they believed 
to be right and proper. The family name of 
Caleb has come down through many genera- 
tions, and is one of the signs that blaze the 
lineage through more than two hundred and 
twenty years of descent. 

The Caleb Brinton who settled in Cum- 
berland county in 1S54 married Lydia Alle- 
man. by whom he had children as follows : 
Martin is mentioned below : John, who was 
born in Dauphin county, near Harrisburg, in 
1835, died in 1897, leaving a family wdio 
continue to reside in that city ; Ellen, who 
married P. M. Hershey, resides in Har- 
risburg; Susan married Joseph DeWitt 
Sprout, of Cumberland county, and both 
have died, leaving two sons wdio reside in 
Harrisburg; Caleb, who during the Civil 
war entered the Union army from Illinois 
and rose to a position on the staff of Gen. 
John A. Logan, now lives at Helena. Mont. ; 
George was for many years in business in 



1 88 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Harrisliurg, where lie still Ii\'es, but is now 
retired from active business engagements; 
Elizabeth, who married Dr. B. F. Jones, of 
Cornell, Illinois, died in 1894: Henry N. 
is an active business man of Harrisburg. 

Martin Brinton, the eldest child of the 
family, was born Feli. 22. 1832, in Dauphin 
county, near Harrislnirg. He spent his 
youth and young manhood upon the farm, 
and received his education in the country dis- 
trict school. In 1862 he lu'arried Nanc}-, 
daughter of 'Daniel and Lydia (Stoner) 
Dietz, and granddaughter of George Dietz. 
Nancy Dietz's parents were natives of York 
countv, where her father and paternal grand- 
father were born on the same farm. In 1837 
while yet a citizen of York comity, Daniel 
Dietz bought from Alice Carothers a farm 
in East Pennsboro township, which her 
grandfather, William Carothers, in 1762, 
purchased from the proprietaries of the Prov- 
ince, and moving to it there lived out the rest 
of his days. He died Jan. 10, i860, at the 
age of sixty-two; his wife, Lydia Stoner, 
dird Aug. 31, 1866, at the age of sixty-eight, 
and their remains are buried in the grave- 
yard of the Brick Church near West Fair- 
view. 

Martin Brinton began his married life in 
the lower end of Hampden township, where 
he lived until 1868. when he Iiought, on the 
south side of the Conedoguinet creek in 
East Pennsboro, wdiat had been long known 
as the Bowman farm, which he farmed crni- 
tinuously for a period of thirty-four years, 
and which he still owns. In 1892 he retired 
from farming, and since then has been living 
in Camp Hill borough. 

To Martin and Nancy (Dietz) Brinton 
ha\-e been born the following children : Ca- 
leb S. ; John, who is a clerk in the Census 
Biu-eau in Washington, D. C. ; George, who 
is an employe of the Pennsylvania Railroad 



Company at Harrisburg; Martin, who is a 
draughtsman with the Westinghouse Elec- 
trical ^Manufacturing Company at Pittsburg; 
Anna, \\ho married Charles L. Bowman, 
and resides in Camp Hill ; and Christian, 
who is a draughtsman with a manufacturing 
company in the city of Chicago. 

Caleb S. Brinton was born on the farm in 
East Pennsboro, Aug. 20, 1868. His youth 
was passed upon the farm and in attending 
the country district school known as Brin- 
ton's School. He made rapid progress in his 
studies, antl early became ambitious for a 
thorough education. In 1884 he entered the 
Cumberland Valley State Normal School, 
and a year later was graduated from that 
institution. He then taught in the public 
schools of Cumberland county for two vears 
and afterward for three years was principal 
of the Second ward schools of Altoona. In 
1886, in a competitive examination, he won 
an appointment to the West Point Military 
.\cademy, but upon reporting for entrance 
failed because of defective eyesight. He 
next prepared for college in Dickinson Sem- 
inary, and entered Bethany College, in which 
institution he completed the course to the 
end of the Junior year, when he was coiu- 
j^elled to withdraw because of diis health. 
Subsequently, he was elected to the chair of 
English Eiterature and History in the Fac- 
ulty of the Cumberland Valley State Nonual 
School, -which position he held for three 
years. In 1893 '^^ registered as a student- 
at-law at Carlisle, and at the same time en- 
tered upon a course in the Dickinson School 
of Law. He graduated from the Dickinson 
Law School in 1805, and was admitted to 
the Cumberland County Bar. He imme- 
diately entered upon the practice of his pro- 
fession at Carlisle, wdiere he has actively en- 
gaged in it ever since. Shortly after his ad- 
mission to the courts of Cumberland county 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



189 



he was also admitted to the Supreme and Su- 
perior Courts of the State, and he is now in 
tlie enjoyment of a hicrative and stcatHly 
increasing law practice. 

Mr. Brinton is a Republican in politics, 
and has ever since his early manhood taken 
an active interest in the affairs of his party. 
In 1895 lis ^^''s elected chairman of the Re- 
publican county committee, and the cam- 
paign which followed resulted in the election 
of Arthur R. Rupley as district attorney, 
and the entire Republican ticket. In the 
following year he was nominated for the 
Legislature, but through a split in his party, 
and an independent candidacy, he was de- 
feated by a small majority. Smce then he 
has applied himself assiduouslv to the pro- 
motion of his law business, but has incident- 
ally given sufticient attention to politics to 
be considered one of the active Republicans 
of the county. His regularity has never been 
questioned, and in 1903 he was appointed 
postmaster at Carlisle, which office he accept- 
ably fills at present. 

On July 10, 1896, Caleb S. Brinton mar- 
ried Jean Elizabeth Gardner, daughter of 
John W. and Frances (Wagner) Gardner, 
of Harrisburg. The husband and wife com- 
prise the family. They are members of St. 
John's Episcopal Church, of Carlisle, and re- 
side in a beautiful home at No. 612 South 
Hanover street. 

THOMAS W. PRESTON, M. D., an 
able physician and graduate of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, who for the pa^t eight 
years has been practicing at Middlesex, was 
born in Canada, in the County of Halton, 
Province of Ontario, March 6, 1856. His 
father, James S. Preston, was for over thirty 
years prominent in the medical profession. 
He came of English stock, of a family lo- 
cated near Lancaster, England, and his an- 



cestors came to America in 181 7, settling in 
Canada. His wife, who was a Miss Isabella 
Hall, was likewise of English extraction. 

Thomas W. Preston passed his boyhood 
in the county of Halton, attending the public 
schools there until he was twelve years 
of age. Two years later the family left 
Canada, and spent four years in New Gar- 
den, N. C, where the }-oung man continued 
his studies in the Friends College at that 
place. When he was seventeen years of ag'e 
his father became the head of a sanitarium 
at Wernersville, Pa., remaining there one 
year. The following year, however, the 
family returned to Canada and remained 
there five years, or until 1879, in the course 
of which time Thomas W. took the collegiate 
work prescribed in Woodstock College. His 
first essay in the practice of medicine was 
made in Canada in 1879, under Dr. Buck, 
of Palermo, Out., and from then on till the 
winter of 1880, he was thus occupied. Re- 
turning then to Wernersville, he assisted his 
father in the Sunny Side Sanitarium, till 
February, 1881, when he went to Michigan, 
and established himself there. In a very few 
months he was called back to Wernersville 
by the illness of his father, and until the 
death of the latter in the spring of 1882, 
took his place in conducting the sanitarium. 

The following May Dr. Preston again 
went to Michigan, and for more than four 
years was located at Carsonville, Sanilac 
county, remaining there till December, 1886. 
During his residence there he also engaged 
in mercantile business, but was burnt out in 
1886, and lost everything. Discouraged by 
this misfortune he gave up all thought of 
continumg in business, went to New York 
for graduate work, and was there studying 
from December till the following April. In 
October, 1887, Dr. Preston settled in Phila- 
delphia, and remained there in practice sev- 



igo 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



eral vears. but finall\' removed to Middlesex, 
Pa., on account of the health of his family, 
and ha,s been there for the last nine years. 
(1904). 

Dr. Preston's marriage occurred in 
1886, in Canada, when he was united to 
Miss Louisa D. Brandreth. The Doctor, as 
well as his wife, is a menilier i)f the Baptist 
Church. In his political sentiments, he is 
strongly Republican. He is a member of 
the Masonic order and belongs to the Cum- 
berland county and State Medical Societies. 
Dr. Preston deserves great credit for his suc- 
cessful struggle with the world. He is 
strictly a self-made man who has worked his 
own way to his present position in the pro- 
fession. He is a most skillful physician, 
thoroughly posted on eminent medical topics 
and in close touch with the professional 
thought of the da}-. 

CORNELIUS ^^\ N D E R B I L T 
KELLEY, (deceased). For many years 
the honored gentleman whose name heads 
this sketch, resided on a fine farm in Ship- 
pensburg township, near Newville, where 
his death occurred Feb. 3, 1896. He was 
born in Cumberland county. Pa., on the farm 
near Big Spring, Nov. 26, 1822. 

Jiihn Kelley, his father, was a native of 
Pittsburg, Pa. He married Drusilla Van- 
derbilt. who was born at Oakville, Cumber- 
land Co., in 1829, and who died in her sixty- 
ninth year. Thev had the following chil- 
dren : James, Mary, Cornelius Vanderbilt, 
Jackson, ^Margaret, Isaljel, George, and two 
who died in infanc}'. 

Cornelius A'anderbilt Kelley received his 
primary education in the district school, and, 
after preparing for college, entered Dickin- 
son College at Carlisle, where he pursued 
his studies for some time. Later he began 
teaching-, and taught the Newville school for 



a nunilier of years, and for many years there- 
after was a meniber of the school board. 
iVfter his marriage he settled at Quarry Hill 
on a farm where he li\ed for a nun-ilier of 
years. In 1879 he bought what is known as 
the Robert Sharpe farni, and, mo\-ing to it 
he engaged in general farming and stock- 
raising. This farm crmtains 120 acres of 
good land, and there are a good residence, 
barn and other buildings upon it. In politics, 
he always was a loyal Deniocrat, and served 
very acceptably as super\-isor of Penn town- 
ship ; assessor of the same township, and held 
other lesser offices. For many years, he was 
a consistent member of the Presbyterian 
Church at Newville. 

In May, i860, Mr. Kelley married Miss 
Agnes Brown, a daughter of John and Mary 
(Ritchey) Brown, and she w-as born in 
Quarry Hill, in the vicinty of Springfield, 
Penn township, Aug. 14, 1832. She was 
educated in the public schools of Newville, 
and graduated from the high school at that 
place. At Mr. Kelley's death, his widow 
and several children survived him : Joseph 
Brown ; Mary Grizzilla ; Cornelius Lane ; 
John Tilyer. a graduate of the Cumberland 
\^alley State Normal School, class of 1S91 ; 
Martha Jane; Agnes B., a teacher and a 
graduate of the Cumberland Valley State 
Normal School, class of 1894; Annie Rit- 
chev, a teacher of music. Mrs. Kelley re- 
sitles on the Kelley homestead, with her two 
daughters, while two of her sons live on ad- 
joining farms. 

]\Irs. Kelley is one in the following fam- 
ily born to her parents: \\'illiam A., of 
Penn township; Mrs. E. Jane Kelso, of 
Southampton township; Joseph, deceased; 
Margaret Ann, deceased; Delia C. B., de- 
ceased on Dec. 3, 1903, the wife of Henry 
C. Beattie, of Southanipton township. Both 
the Brown and Kelley families are well 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



191 



known in tliis locality, and Mrs. Kelley is 
one of the most hig-hly respected ladies and 
consistent members of the Presbyterian 
Ciiurcli. 

HON. HARRY G. BROWN, mayor of 
Carlisle, was born in that city Sept. 14, 
1859, a son of Samuel R. and Elizabeth 
(Keck) Brown. 

William Brown, grandfather of Harry 
G., spent his early life in Lancaster county, 
living- for a time at Lititz, and about 1840 
or 1842 came to Cumberland county, set- 
tling at Shepherdstown, in the lower part of 
the county. For a short time he conducted 
a hotel, and prior to 1845 came to Carlisle 
and continued in the same business, locat- 
ing- on the present site of the "Wellington 
Hotel," and erecting a hotel. His death oc- 
curred in the town where he was so familiar 
a figure. 

Samuel R. Brown, the father of Harry 
G., was born in Lancaster county, and was 
about eighteen when the family came to 
Carlisle, and the remainder of his life was 
spent here. Having learned the trade of a 
cooper he pursued it until he took charge 
of Lewis's lime kilns, which he operated for 
a few years, but later he opened a restaurant 
on East High street, where Bixler & Sons 
hardware store is now located. This he 
conducted successfully for several years and 
then moved his establishment further east 
on East High street! continuing in the same 
line for fifteen or eighteen years. This es- 
tablishment was always a high-class one, 
and his patronage very large. Ten children 
were born to himself and wife, all of whom 
died in childhood but three: Samuel K.. a 
resident of Columbus, Ohio, and operator of 
planing-mills ; Harry G. : and Florence, wife 
of Jacob Mushier, of Carlisle. The father 
died March 13, 1893, aged seventy- four 



years, while the mother died Ivlay 22, 1894, 
aged sixty-eight. 

Harry G. Brown was educated in the 
public schools of Carlisle and in 1878 began 
to learn the trade of a carpenter. His work 
was upon the Carlisle market house, the 
building in which his present office is now lo- 
cated. He learned his trade with Capt. J. 
P. Brindle, and after serving his apprentice- 
ship went into the planing-mills and worked 
until he was thirty-one years of age, or in 
1890, at which time he was appointed letter 
carrier and served four years, resigning to 
go into business as a contractor and builder 
with H. G. Rinehart, under the firm name 
of Brown & Rinehart; this partnership 
lasted over seven years. Mr. Brown then 
embarked in business for himself and has 
erected some of the leading residences in the 
city and vicinity ; he does all kinds of build- 
ing. Without any doubt he stands at the 
head of his calling in Carlisle, and he also 
does slate roofing, a distinctive branch of his 
occupation. 

In public affairs, Mr. Brown has always 
been very active as a stanch Republican and 
has served a number of times as delegate to 
county and State conventions, wielding a 
strong influence in his party. He has served 
most efficiently as borough auditor of Car- 
lisle, and March 16, 1901, was appointed to 
fill an unexpired term as burgess of Car- 
lisle, in the spring of 1903 being elected on 
the Republican ticket to succeed himself in 
the same office, by a majority of 480 votes 
in a borough which is recognized as Demo- 
cratic. He is a member of the Goodwill 
Fire Co., in which he has also been trustee 
for the past twenty years; he has also held 
many other offices of trust and responsibil- 
ity in the county. Fraternally, he has been 
a member of the L O. O. F. for twenty-two 
years, belonging to Carlisle Lodge, No. 91, 



192 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



and has for twelve years been secretary of 
same ; is a member of the Encampment, No. 
183. of wliich he has been treasurer for the 
past fifteen years: was one of the organiz- 
ers of tiie K. of G. E., of which society he 
has served as first treasurer, filhng that office 
for nine years (he has represented tlie lodge 
for fifteen years) ; and is also a memljer of 
the A. F. &:'a. M., St. John Lodge. No. 260, 
St. John Chapter, No. 171, and St. John 
Commandery, No. 8. His home is most 
pleasant, located at No. 115 East High 
street. 

EDWARD CLOYD NEELY, M. D. 
Although ain(}ng the youngest practitioners 
of Cumljerlatid county. Pa., Dr. Neely stands 
out conspicuously on account of his ability 
and pleasant, genial manner. He was born 
in Juniata county, Pa., July 31, 1S74, a son 
of John and Margaret ( Ewing) Neely, the 
former of whom was born in Juniata county 

about 182S, and died Feb. 14, i , on his 

old farm. The mother was born in Center, 
Perry county. Pa., in 1830, and is still living, 
making her home in Juniata county. Her 
father was ^^'illiam Ewing. 

Dr. Neely was reared like many farmers' 
boys upon the farm, attending the district 
school whenever occasion offered, but he 
was different from some in that an ambition 
burned in his breast, and he struggled to 
qualify himself for the profession he had 
already chosen. In order to secure the nec- 
essary literary education he went to school 
at Academia, Juniata county, and later at- 
tended one in Path Valley, where he pre- 
pared for college. He then liegan his study 
of medicine under the tutelege of Dr. James 
G. Hedding, of Academia, and was gradu- 
ated from the Medico-Chirurgicai College 
at Philadelphia in the class of i8g8. After 
graduation he settled at Newville, Cumber- 



land county, where he has built up an excel- 
lent practice, and he is a great favorite with 
all classes. 

Dr. Neely is a member of the Cumber- 
land County -\Iedical Society and the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, and fraternally, 
is a member of Big Spring Lodge, No. 361, 
A. F. & A. M. ; of the I. O. O. F., Lodge No. 
371 ; of the Royal Arcanum, Big Spring 
Council, No. 1610, as well as of the Patriotic 
Sons of America, Neni Camp. Dr. Neely is 
unmarried. 

WATTS. The earliest tax list of Rye 
township, Cumberland county, in existence 
is that of 1768. Upon it there is enrolled 
the name of Frederick Watts. According to 
the records this is his first appearance in that 
part of the Province, but there is a strong 
probability that he was there earlier than the 
date named. 

Frederick Watts was the progenitor of a 
family who have been prominent in the his- 
tory of Cumberland county through four 
generations. He was born in Wales, and re- 
ceived a fair English education. About the 
year 1749 he married Jane Murray, niece of 
David Murray, Marcjuis of Tullibardine, 
and in 1760 came to America. He first set- 
tled in Chester county, but on Dec. 21, 1762, 
there was surveyed to him on a warrant 
dated June 4, 1762, a tract of 331 acres of 
bottom land, lying three miles above the 
mouth of the Juniata river, then in Cum- 
berland, now in Perry county. Upon this 
he made his home, and here he lived until 
his death. On the breaking out of the war 
of the Revolution he was appointed a mem- 
ber of the Cumberland county committee, 
and commissioned a lieutenant-colonel of 
one of the associated battalions. Upon the 
organization of the Hying camp, by direction 
of Congress, he was placed in command of 




(sC O- /^--^-^ 



THE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B I- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



193 



the battalion that was assigned to Cumber- 
land county, which was captured at the sur- 
render of Fort Washington, Nov. 16, 1776. 
He was soon exchanged and afterward 
served in various capacities. He was com- 
missioned justice of tlie peace April i, 1778; 
chosen representative to the Assembly in 
1779; appointed sub-lieutenant of Cumber- 
land county April 18. 1780; and on May 27, 
1782, commissioned brigadier general of the 
Pennsvlvania militia, in which capacity he 
did excellent service in protecting tlie fron- 
tier counties of the State from the ravages 
of the Indians and the Tories. He was a 
member of the supreme executive council 
from October, 1787, until the abolition of 
that body l)y the State constitution of 17(30. 
He died Sept. 2-/. 1795. It is not known 
when his wife, Jane Murray died. Accord- 
ing to general lielief and report the remains 
of both are interred in a little private grave- 
yar<l on the farm which they for so many 
years owned, and upon which they died. The 
children of Frederick and Jane (Murray) 
Watts were: Margery, Catherine, Mar- 
garet, Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Sarah and 
David. 

David \\''atts, only son of Frederick and 
Jane (Murray) Watts, was born Oct. 29, 
1764. He was reared on his father's farm 
on the Juniata, and educated at Carlisle, 
where he graduated from Dickinson College. 
After leax'ing college he read law with Will- 
iam Lewis, of Philadelphia, and was admit- 
ted to the Bar in that city. He then returned 
to Cumberland county, and practiced law at 
Carlisle during the rest of his life. In per- 
son Mr. Watts was a large man, possessed 
of a vigorous mind, and a voice of great 
volume and strength. He was a fluent, im- 
passioned speaker, and in handling a case 
would select merely the strong points in it 
and present them to the jury with a vehem- 

13 



ence approaching to fury. He long ranked 
as the leader of the Bar in central Pennsyl- 
vania, and his practice at its flood tide ex- 
tended over two-thirds of the State. As an 
advocate he was able and fearless, as a man 
sincere, generous and honorable, and was 
greatly esteemed alike by his brethren of the 
Bar and the general public. 

David Watts was married to Juliana Mil- 
ler, daughter of Gen. Henry Miller, who 
served with distinction in the Revolutionary 
war, and also the War of 181 2. To them 
were born the following children : Mary, 
Matilda. Frederick, Sarah Ann, Henry M., 
Edward, William M., Charles Octavius, Ju- 
liana and David Murray. He died Sept. 15, 
1819: his wife, Juliana, died Feb. 20, 1869, 
and both are buried in the Old Graveyard 
at Carlisle. 

Frederick Watts, eldest son of David 
Watts and Juliana Miller, and grandson of 
Gen. Frederick Watts and Jane Murray, was 
born at Carlisle, May 9, 1801, and always 
lived there. He received his education at 
Dickinson College, from which institution 
he graduated in 1819, at the age of eighteen. 
The two years immediately following his 
graduation from college he spent with his 
uncle, \\'illiam Miles, of Erie county, en- 
gaged at farming, which vocation possessed 
a special attraction for him throughout his 
long and busy life. In 182 1 he returned to 
Carlisle, entered the office of Andrew Car- 
others, Esq., as a student-at-law, and was 
admitted to the Bar in 1824. He became his 
preceptor's partner, and by his energy and 
abilitv soon won high rank as a lawyer. 
From 1S29 to 1834 he was a reporter of the 
decisions of the Supreme Court of Pennsyl- 
vania. The first three volumes issued bore 
his name in connection with that of Hon. 
C. B. Penrose; the next ten bore his name 
as sole reporter; and subsequently nine vol- 



194 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



limes I)' ire his name in connectiun witli that 
of Henry J. Seargeant, Esq. In 1S45 '^^ 
was made president oi the Cumberland Val- 
ley railruad, which hy his intelligent man- 
agement he raised fnnn a languishing condi- 
tion to a higher degree of efficiency, making 
it an imi)()rtant factor in the development 
of the sectiiin through which it passes. He 
retired frnm its presidency in 1S73, hut con- 
tinued a director in the company until his 
death. On March 9, 1849, '1^ ^^''^^ appointed 
president judge of the Ninth Judicial Dis- 
trict, then composed of the counties of Cum- 
Ijerland, Perry and Juniata. This office he 
tilled until 1852, when the elective judiciary 
besfan. He was an ardent friend of higher 
education, and from 1824 to 1828 was sec- 
retary of the board of trustees of Dickinson 
College, and from 1828 to 1832 a member 
of the board, and active and influential in 
all its proceedings. In 1S54 he was instru- 
mental in establishing the Pennsylvania State 
Agricultural College, and was elected first 
president of its board of trustees. He was 
in close touch with the farmers of his sec- 
tion, and constantly sought to advance the 
best interests of agriculture. For many years 
he was president of the Cumberland County 
Agricultural Society, and its most devoted 
friend and patron. In 1854 he projected 
the Carlisle Gas and Water Company, and 
for a long time was president of it. To in- 
dulge his tastes for agricultural pursuits 
he, in 1865, removed to one of his farms 
near Carlisle, and began gradually to relin- 
quish his law practice. In 1871 he was ten- 
dered the appointment of Commissioner of 
Agriculture. This he declined, but the offer 
being afterward renewed and urged upon 
him, he accepted and held the place until 
1877, when because of advancing years he 
retired from all active duties of life. 

Perha|)s no man left more lasting and 



favorable impressions upon the community 
in which his busy life was jjassed than Fred- 
erick \\'atts. As a lawyer he occupied a 
front rank for nearly half a century. F.x- 
cepting the time he was on the Bench there 
is not a report of the Supreme Court of 
Pennsylvania in forty-two years that does 
not contain his name as counsel. He was 
a man of great force of character and abid- 
ing self confidence. Whatever he believed he 
believed implicitlv, and whatever he under- 
took he did with all his might. He never 
sat down to the cjiuisel table that he did not 
impress the court and jury that he confident- 
ly expected to win his case. His power with 
the jury was great. PI is reputation for abil- 
ity, integrity and unblemished honor was 
known to every man in the counties in which 
he practiced, and he invariably sustained 
this reputation by a manner that was always 
dignified, and speech that was always clear, 
strong, convincing, and never tedious. He 
possessed the respect of his brethren of the 
Bar in an unusual degree, and as a man and 
a citizen he was universally regarded as un- 
selfish, pulilic-spirited and patriotic. 

Frederick Watts was twice married. He 
first married Eliza Cranston, of New Castle 
county, Del, who bore him three children: 
Marcia Ross, Laura Gold, and Eliza Crans- 
ton. Mrs. Watts died in November, 1832, 
and he afterward married Henrietta Ege, 
daughter of Michael Ege, of Cumberland 
county, wlio bore him the following chil- 
dren : \\'illiam Miles, Mary, Julia Miller, 
Frederick, Coleman Hall, Edward Biddle, 
Sarah Campbell, Edward Biddle (2), Sarah 
Campbell (2), Henrietta and Brown Par- 
ker. Judge Watts died .Vug. 17, 1889. His 
wife, Henrietta Ege, died March 7, 1890, 
and he and his two wives are buried in the 
old graveyard at Carlisle. 

Edward Biddle W.vtts, son of Fred- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



195 



erick and Henrietta (Ege) Watts, grand- 
son of David and Juliana (Miller) Watts, 
and great-grandson of Frederick and Jane 
(Murray) \\'atts, was born Sept. 13, 1851. 
in Carlisle, where he grew to manhood, and 
where he has always li\ed. When fourteen 
years old he entered the private school of 
Dr. Lyons, at West Haverford, near Phila- 
delphia, where he continued for three years. 
He then entered the Episcopal Academy at 
Cheshire, Conn., and pursued his studies in 
it for one year. At the end of the year which 
he spent in the Academy at Cheshire, Dr. 
Horton, the principal of the institution, re- 
quested him to take a tour with him in Eur- 
ope. He accepted and spent a season in for- 
eign travel. On his return from abroad he 
entered Trinity College at Hartford. Conn.. 
from which institution he graduated in 1873. 
After graduating from college he took up the 
study of the law in the office of John Hays. 
Esq.. at Carlisle, and was admitted to the 
Cumberland County Bar in 1875. He im- 
mediately began the practice of his profes- 
sion at Carlisle, where he has continued to 
practice ever since. From 1885 to 1888 he 
served as attorney to the county commission- 
ers, and during that period assisted that 
board of public officials in holding down the 
public expenses and reducing taxation. In 
1890 he was elected burgess of Carlisle in 
which capacity he served with general ac- 
ceptability, being progressive and public- 
spirited and a man of good business judg- 
ment. He is interested in the Cumberland 
Valley railroad, and a member of its board 
of directors. Long connected with the Na- 
tional Guard of Pennsylvania, he was cap- 
tain of Company G, 8th Regiment, for eight 
years, and in 1893 was promoted to major, 
and held that rank for five years. When in 
the spring of 1898 his regiment volunteered 
for the Spanish-American war he was made 



its lieutenant-colonel, and as such served un- 
til mustered out of service at the close of the 
war. Since then he has been giving his time 
and attention to his profession and to civil 
duties. In politics. Colonel Watts is a Re- 
liulilican, firm in his convicitons, but liljeral 
in his treatment of the views of others. In 
religion, he is an Episcopalian, and holds the 
position of vestryman in St. John's Epis- 
copal Church, of Carlisle. 

LEVI J. SHAMBAUGH. The Sham- 
ijaugh name has been upon the Cumberland 
county records since in 1793. That year a 
Philip Shambaugh was taxed with a hun- 
dred acres of land and two horses and two 
cows in the part of West Pennsboro town- 
ship, that is now included in Frankford. He 
may have been in the county prior to this, 
but this entry is the first documentary evi- 
dence of him having been here. It does not 
appear where he had li\-ed before coming to 
Cumberland, but according to family tra- 
ditions he came here from Dauphin county, 
and his ancestor, named George Sham- 
baugh, came from Germany in 1749, and 
first settled in Montgomery county. Pa. 
Philip Shambaugh died in 1844, at the age 
of eighty-three. For several years prior to 
his death he was totally blind. His wife 
survived him. and died in the home of her 
son George, in Frankford township, at the 
age of eighty-nine years. Both are buried 
in the graveyard of the Stone Church in 
Lower Frankford. Of the history of his 
wife's family not much can be ascertained. 

This Philip Shambaugh had children as 
follows : Peter, George, Philip, Barbara, 
Stephen, Anna, Mary, Hannah and Mar- 
garet. Of these children Stephen and Anna 
died young; Barbara married Jac<ib Reigle, 
and moved to Ohio ; Mary married Martin 
Mountz, of Frankford ; Hannah married a 



196 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Mr. J.eopard, of Perry county and Mar- 
garet married a Mr. Shugart, of Perry 
county. 

Philip Shanibaugli's son, Philip, was 
born Oct. 8, 1789, and was yet a little child 
when his parents settled in Cumberland 
county. On April 24. 1826, he married Anna 
Margaretta Wert, who was born in Upper 
Paxton township, Dauphin county, March 
31, 1802, and was a daughter of Joseph and 
Barbara (Kitch) Wert, among the early 
pioneers of Pennsyh-ania. Joseph A\'ert was 
a man of more than ordinary talent and 
shrewdness, of a peaceable turn of mind 
and a great favorite with the Indians, who 
sh.ared his hospitality, and when in trouble 
sought his counsel. They were pliable un- 
der his influence, and upon one occasion, 
when a Ijand of them came to his home in 
war paint, determined to avenge certain 
wrongs in his neighborhood, he gave them 
food, spoke kindly and begged them to spare 
the li\es of those they intended to destroy, 
and by these means persuaded them not to 
commit the depredations they contemplated. 
He and his entire family, Mrs. Shambaugh 
alone excepted, moved to Ohio about the 
year 1825, and became pioneers of a section 
which includes Bucyrus and Massillon. 
Philip Shambaugh, the son, died April 15, 
1846, at the age of fifty-seven years. He 
was a man who was held in high esteem bv 
his neighbors for his integrity, modesty and 
general good character. His wife, Anna 
Margaretta, died in June, 1871, and their 
remains are buried in the graveyard of the 
Stone Church in Lower Frankford. 

Philip and Anna Margaretta (Wert) 
Shambaugh had children as follows: Sarah, 
John, Rebecca, Jacob, Elvina, Samuel, Philip 
A. and Levi J. Sarah married Adam Finken- 
binder, and lived in West Pennsboro. She 
and her husband died near Elliottson. John 



married Eva A. Ressler, and moved to Clin- 
ton county, Iowa. Rebecca married George 
B. Orris, of Frankford, where both she and 
her husband lived and died. Jacob, when a 
young man, went to Iowa, and there enlisted 
in the army, and was killed in the battle of 
luka, ]\Iiss., Sept. 19, 1862. Elvina died 
at the age of sixteen. Samuel married Jane 
E. Brown, of Xorth Middleton, and moved 
to Missouri, but after five years' stay there 
returned to Frankford township, where both 
he and his wife died. Philip A. enlisted in 
Company C, 158th P. V. I., and after a nine 
months' service came home with impaired 
health. He afterward went West and lo- 
cated near Oakley, Macon Co., 111., where he 
married Xannie Phillips, and is still resid- 
ing. 

Le\'i J. Shambaugh, the youngest child, 
and subject of this sketch, was born Sept. 
14, 1843, on his father's farm on the north 
bank of the Conedoguinet creek, in Frank- 
ford township, a short distance to the north- 
west of Plainfield. His father died while 
he was yet less than three years of age, and 
he was left entirely to the care of his mother. 
He was sent to the countrv district school 
until old enough to do manual labor, and 
then lived out on a farm at two dollars a 
month during summers, but was brought 
home and sent to school in the winters. He 
was thus employed for six successive sum- 
mers, at the end of which time he had accum- 
ulated a bank account amounting to lifty 
dollars. He then made an effort to obtain 
an education, and for three terms, two win- 
ters and one summer, attended Prof. Gil- 
lelen's select school at Greason, by which 
time his money was exhausted. Having no 
one to advance the necessary cash, or to give 
him ad\ice. he again hiretl on a farm. The 
Civil war being in progress he enrolled his 
name in a company of home guards at Plain- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



197 



field, and acquired some rudimentary mili- 
tary training. That fall he was urged to 
apply for the position of teacher of the Lo- 
gan school in Frankford township. He re- 
luctantly entered the class for> examination, 
but secured a certificate and successfully 
taught that school for one term. That was' 
an important period in his lifetime, and he 
has often since regretted that he did not then 
put his mind to hard and continuous study, 
and make an efl^ort to obtam a higher edu- 
cation. He felt so inclined, but the great 
excitement of the war enticed him into other 
channels, and he went to Harrisburg and 
engaged at drixing government teams. At 
this he continued until the fall of 1864, and 
then enlisted in Company F, 209th P. V. 
I., in which he served as sergeant to the close 
of the war. He participated in all the hard 
marches, skirmishes and battles that stand 
to the credit of the Hartranft Division of the 
9th Army Corps, the most important en- 
gagements being the battles of Ft. Steadman 
and Petersburg. In the battle of Petersburg 
he responded from the sick call, at the re- 
quest of his commanding officer. First Lieu- 
tenant H. A. ■ Bigler, the captain being a 
prisoner in Libby. and the Second Lieuten- 
ant disabled at Ft. Steadman. In front of 
Petersburg his company were in the thick 
of the fight, and two of his bunk mates were 
wounded, and all of his superior officers put 
out of action, but he came through the or- 
deal unscathed. On its way homeward his 
regiment encamped at Alexandria, and tak- 
ing advantage of the opportunity he visited 
the celebrated Marshall House, in that town. 
and viewed the staff from which Colonel 
Ellsworth tore the rebel flag May 2},. 1861. 
Another of his memorable experiences was 
his participation in the Grand review, which 
was given in \\'ashington City in celebra- 



tion of the ending of the war, May 23-24, 
1865. He reached Harrisburg on his way 
home May 31. 1865. 

After returning from the war Mr. 
Shambaugh bought from J. C. Keiser a half 
interest in a general store at Greason, and 
formed a partnership with Mr. Keiser un- 
der the firm name of Keiser & Shambaugh. 
They rented the warehouse at Good Hope, 
now Elliottson, and for one year conducted 
a mercantile, forwarding and coal business 
at that place. At the earnest request of 
friends who offered him financial suppoi^t, 
Mr. Shambaugh, in the spring of 1867, took 
the entire lousiness upon himself, and con- 
tinued in it for three years with marked 
success. Prices then were extremely high. 
Wheat commanded as much as $3-15 a 
bushel, and other grains were proportion- 
ately high. Prints sold for as much as 
thirty cents a yard, and muslins for seventy- 
five cents. In the spring of 1870 he bought 
of John Greider a farm located in Frank- 
ford township, and moved to it. This 
change he has always considered a mistake, 
as in purchasing the farm he contracted a 
debt which the panic of 1873, with its con- 
sequent decline of values, made burdensome. 
In December, 1879, he exchanged his farm 
and personal property, excepting his house- 
hold goods, for the store house and stock of 
store goods of George H. Greider, at Bloser- 
ville. On taking possession he built a new 
dwelling and store house, and also bought 
the adjoining property and remodeled the 
house upon it. He now again entered the 
mercantile business and gave to it all his at- 
tention until 1894, when, owing to failing 
health, he transferred his business to his two 
oldest sons. Mr. Shambaugh is a Democrat 
in politics, but has never been a partisan. 
He has never sought public position, but in 



198 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



his time has filled nearl_\- c\"ery township of- 
fice there is on' the hst. He was elected jus- 
tice of the peace for four times in succession, 
and was often urged to become a candidate 
for county treasurer and f(ir the Legislature, 
but ne\'er }'et yielded, except tii serve the last 
term as justice of the peace. 

On Jan. 7. 1868. Le\i J. Shambaugh 
married Mary E. Shuff. daughter of James 
I\I. and Elizabeth (Shaeffer) Shuff. James 
M. Shuff was a native of Aflams county. 
His parents died wliile he was yet a child 
and he was raised in the home of friends 
named Gardner. He married Elizabeth 
Shaeffer. who was born in Germany. After 
his marriage he settled in West Pennsboro, 
Cumberland county, where he lived until the 
end of his days. He died Sept. 27. iSSg, 
and his remains are buried at Plainfield. 
His widow still survives and resides at Car- 
Hsle. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Shambaugh the fol- 
lowing children were born; Mervin James; 
John Edwin; Charles Albert; William Ira; 
Clara Elizabeth, who died when two years 
old; and one who died in infancy. Mervin 
J., the oldest son, married Elizabeth Burg- 
ner, and is in the mercantile business in 
York. John E. married Flora K. Fry, and is 
in business in Blosen'ille. Charles Albert 
graduated from Dickinson College, anrl 
from the Dickinson Law School and is a 
memljer of the Cumberland countv Bar; he 
is unmarried and lives at home with his 
parents. William Ira is a member of the 
United Evangelical Churcli, and now pastor 
of a charge at Scranton ; he married Mary 
M. Mundis, of York. 

In the .spring of 1904 Mr. and Mrs. 
Shambaugh moved from Bloserville to Car- 
lisle, and now reside in a pleasant home on 
North Pitt street in that town. 



.\BRAHA^I HOSTETTER, one of the 
venerable residents of Shippen.sburg. was 
born ,\pril 27, 181 S. in Franklin county. 
Pa., within eight miles of Chambersburg. 
His father, .\braham Hostetter, was born in 
17SS in Lancaster county. 

The Hostetter family originated in 
Switzerland, and the first member to esc:i])e 
the religious persecutions of the time in his 
nati\-e land, was one Jacob Hostetter, wdio 
reached America in 171J, settling at Cones- 
toga, Lancaster county, and died at Lan- 
caster in 1 761. He purchased a large tract 
of land, a part of which is now the site of 
the [present city of Lancaster. Possessing 
not onlv business aliilitv, but also a fine edu- 
cation, he naturally became somewhat of a 
leatler among his countrymen, and the fam- 
ily has continued to be a prominent one to 
the ]iresent day. 

Jacob Hostetter, the grandfather of our 
subject, was one of the pioneer settlers in 
that part of Pennsylvania. He married ^la- 
ria Kreider, who was born at Lebanon, a 
daughter of Jacob Kreider, and their five 
sons were: Abraham, John, Jacob, Benja- 
min and David. 

Abraham Hostetter, son of Jacob and fa- 
ther of Abraham, was born in 1788, in Lan- 
caster county. He died when his son Abra- 
ham was seven years of age, and his wife 
died in i860. Two sons and two daughters 
had been born to them : Abraham ; Jacob, 
who was a teacher, merchant and man of 
large property holdings ; Anna, who married 
Christian Sollenberger ; and Mary, who mar- 
ried Joseph Dohner, and settled near Day- 
ton. Ohio. 

Abraham Hostetter \\-as reared in Frank- 
lin county. He received only common- 
school advantages, and for a time attended 
school when the sessions were held in an 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



199 



old log church, clay being used for the 
"chinking and daubing." All that was re- 
quired of a teacher in those days was that he 
should be able to instruct in the three "R's" 
and triumphantly engineer his pupils 
through the "Douljle Rule of Three." He 
contitnied to attend school and work on the 
farm until tiie age of sixteen years, when he 
was apprenticed to learn the tailoring trade, 
with a Mr. Betchtel. of Strasburg. After 
completing his term of apprenticeship, ac- 
cording to the practice of the time, he started 
out to work as a journeyman, and finally 
reached Pittsburg, where he made his home 
for two years. While in Pittsburg he made 
the acquaintance of Elizabeth Patchel, 
whom lie married in 1847, when they re- 
moved to Shippensburg, and he turned his 
attention for a time to farming, but later 
formed a business partnership with Samuel 
Patchel, under the firm n;uue of Hostetter & 
Patchel. This continued until Mr. Patchel 
went into the army, but Mr. Hostetter con- 
tinued the Inisiness and built up a large cloth- 
ing trade. In 1864 he tlisposed of his busi- 
ness, fears being entertained at that time 
that Shippensburg would suiter the same 
fate as did Chambersburg, which had been 
burned by the Confederate troops. Business 
was at a standstill. It was during this time 
of business depression and public inaction 
that men like Mr. Hostetter came to the 
front. He had been elected burgess of Ship- 
pensburg. and, with a just sense of his re- 
sponsibility, he used every precaution and 
planned every possible measure which he 
could carry out to save the city. Suiiicient 
to say that Shippensburg was not burned, 
although an army of 90,000 men marched 
through its streets, and one of those who 
suffered a loss of hundreds of dollars worth 
from their looting, was Air. Hostetter. 

After the close of the war Mr. Hostetter 



was elected justice of the peace for a term 
of five years. While administering that 
office he embarked in the dry-goods business 
which he continued for three years. For 
some years he was connected with a private 
bank, which was known as the Farmers and 
Mechanics Bank. He still owns much prop- 
erty, and since the early days of Shippens- 
burg, lias been more or less connected with 
the city's financial institutions. His fine 
farm of eighty acres is under rental, as is a 
large amount of property in the city. 

Mr. Hostetter has been twice married, 
his first wife passing away in early married 
life. On May 22, 1865, he married Eliza- 
beth Reside, of Shippensburg, born in 
Franklin county. No children were born 
to either marriage. Mr. Hostetter has al- 
ways worked with the Democratic party, 
being a zealous supporter of its doctrines and 
privileges, and claims that his party is the 
founder of one of the best governments that 
ever existed. During the past twenty-five 
years he has diverged somewhat, conscien- 
tiously considering the claiius of the Prohi- 
bition party. Both our subject and his es- 
timable wife are members of the Church of 
God, of which he has been a communicant 
for more than sixty years. Although the 
snows of many winters rest upon his honored 
head. Time has touched him gently. \\'ith 
faculties all intact, and blessed with health 
and strength, he is a fine example of hale 
and vigorous age. 

CHARLES PETER ADDAMS, of 
Carlisle, is descended from mixed English 
and German ancestry. One of his paternal 
ancestors, Robert Adams, came from Ox- 
fordshire, England, shortly after the convey- 
ance of 500 acres of land to him by William 
Penn, by deed dated Dec. 22, 1681, and lo- 
cated in what is now the city of Philadelphia. 



200 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



William Adams, his paternal great-great- 
grandfather, settled in Lancaster county, 
and in 1761 founded the borough of Adams- 
town. His son, Isaac, the great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch, was a captain 
of light infantry, in the Revolutionary army. 
He had six sons : \Villiam, the eldest, served 
in the Legislature, twice as presidential 
elect(.)r, commissioner, associate judge, and 
two terms in Congress. Another son, Gen- 
eral John Addams, in the second war with 
Great Britain, commanded one of the two 
brigades of State troops furnished by Penn- 
sylvania for the defense of the nation. An- 
other son was the grandparent of James 
Addams Beaver, Governor of this State 
from 1887 to 1891. Another son, Peter, the 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was a presidential elector for Jackson in 
1825, and for Harrison in 1840, and in 1848 
ran on the Whig ticket, with Henry Clay 
for President, as the candidate for Congress 
from the Berks district against W^illiam 
Strong, afterward Justice of the Supreme 
Court of the United States. George E. 
Addams, the father of the subject of this 
sketch, was a well known clergyman of the 
Reformed Church. 

T!ie name Addams was originally 
spelled with one d, as is customary, but 
Richard Adams, in order to distinguish the 
family, added a second d. and this mode of 
spelling the name has been followed for 
nearly a century. 

On the maternal side Mr. Charles F. 
Addams is of German ancestry, dating back 
to 1765, when one of his lineal ancestors 
came from Germany with Pastorious and 
settletl at Germantown. 

Charles Peter Addams was born at Car- 
lisle in 1863; graduated from Dickinson 
College, Carlisle, in 1884; read law with 
Henderson and Havs. was admitted to the 



Bar of Cumberland county in 1887, and lo- 
cated at Carlisle where he now resides. He 
took an active interest in politics, and served 
as chairman of the Republican county com- 
mittee from 1887 to 1 89 1, and again from 
1901 to 1904, inclusive. He was a delegate 
to the Republican State Convention of 1894, 
which nominated Daniel H. Hastings for 
Governor. He was chief clerk in the At- 
torney General's Department, at Harrisburg. 
from 1895 to 1899 and law clerk since 1899. 
In December, 1888, Mr. Addams was 
married to Laura, daughter of Franklin and 
Sarah Jane Gardner, of Carlisle, and has 
one son, Lawrence Gray. 

GEORGE WASHINGTON HAUCK 
was bom in Mechanicsburg, Pa., on the 6th 
day of May, 1841. He was the second son 
of Adam and Susannah (W'onderly) Hauck, 
being one of four children. Adam Hauck 
was a founder and iron manufacturer and 
manufacturer of stoves. He often took his 
son George, then a mere boy, with him, 
when he drove through the adjoining and 
more remote counties of the State, looking 
after his interest in the iron trade. When 
George was a boy fourteen years old, his 
father died. 

Mr. Hauck obtained his early education 
at the Mechanicsburg public schools. When 
he was eighteen, he went to the Cumberland 
Valley Institute, where he remained between 
one and two years, studying Latin and the 
higher branches, and displaying a high and 
rare order of talent. Being a natural and 
able mathematician, he finished higher alge- 
bra before he was twelve years old. Between 
the ages of fifteen and nineteen he learned 
the tinner's trade with his uncle, William 
Wonderly, and afterward formed a part- 
nership with his uncle, Frederick Wonderly. 
Mr. Hauck worked at his trade in a number 




'\fefnae M Mai^c 



THE ^EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 
TILDEN PnniMnvTIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



20 1 



of cities, among which were tiie following: 
Cincinnati, Rochester, Wabash (Ind.), 
Washington (D. C. ), and Harrisbnrg. 

In 1869 George Hauck and his brother 
Samuel formed a partnership in the stove 
and tin business, under the firm name of 
Hauck & Co. In August, 1878, George and 
Samuel Hauck and J. K. Seifert bought out 
the hardware stand of George Bobb, on 
West Main street, and formed the new firm 
of Seifert & Hauck. The iMessrs. Hauck, 
Seifert and S. H. Coover, in 1881. organized 
the Huston Net Company, for the manufact- 
ure and sale of a high grade of leather fly- 
nets. Mr. Coover soon resigned from the 
fly-net business, and several years later the 
Messrs. Hauck purchased Mr. Seifert's in- 
terests in both the fly-net and the hardware 
business. Both of these the Haucks together 
conducted until the death of Mr. George 
W. Hauck, on the 15th of May, 1902. The 
flv-net business continued under the old 
name, and the name of the hardware busi- 
ness, upon the resignation of Mr. Seifert, 
was changed to Hauck Brothers. Under the 
Haucks the hardware trade grew rapidly. 
In seven years the business had doubled. 
They became cramped for space, and they 
decided to erect a new, larger and finer build- 
ing. In 1889 they built the commodious and 
imposing structure that now stands on West 
Main street. It is four stories high. 190 feet 
long and 44 feet wiile, is built of brick with 
handsome Indiana limestone front; and. al- 
together, it is one of the finest hardware 
houses in Pennsylvania. Three of the floors, 
besides several warehouses, are used for the 
hardware business, and the salesroom occu- 
pies the entire first floor. Hauck Brothers 
did an immense wholesale and retail busi- 
ness, the territory covered by their salesmen 
including the Cumberland Valley, south- 
eastern Pennsylvania, and portions of 



Maryland, West Virginia and Virginia. 
Mr. George Hauck managed the fly- 
net business, and made the "Huston 
net"' famous from Maine to Cali- 
fornia. He found a market for his fly-net 
in almost every State of the Union, and had 
even shipped some of them to Australia. He 
personally inspected the materials and super- 
vised the workmanship ; and so successful 
was he in placing a good article upon the 
market that he commanded from five to fif- 
teen per cent more than any other manufact- 
urer and employed, in the busy season, more 
than a hundred work people. 

During the summer of 1892 George W. 
Hauck, in company with S. F. Huston and 
J. D. Landis, went to Howard, Center 
county. Pa., to examine into the condition 
of a manufacturing concern with a view to 
its possible, or probable, removal to Mechan- 
icsburg, if everything should prove satis- 
factory. The results of this trip were the 
location of the D. Wilcox Mfg. Co. (manu- 
facturers of fifth wheels, carriage hardware, 
bicycle forgings, and other kinds of drop 
forgings) in Mechanicsburg and the recap- 
italization and complete reorganization of 
the company. To the untiring efforts of 
Mr. Hauck, aided by Messrs. Huston and 
Landis, is due the credit for bringing this, 
Mechanicsburg's largest and foremost in- 
dustry, into our midst, and securing the cap- 
ital necessary to equip the plant properly. 
The people of Mechanicsburg had enough 
of confidence in the integrity, foresight and 
business ability of Mr. Hauck to believe that, 
when he said a thing was right, it was right, 
and to risk their capital in any venture in 
which he invested his capital, so that Mr. 
Hauck had no trouble to raise the funds nec- 
essary to bring the Wilcox plant to this 
place. The growtli of the business of this 
company was phenomenal from the start, 



202 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTV. 



ami since its organization, its success has 
been tmchecked. It worked througli the last 
panic with a full force of workmen. Its 
business grew from a small beginning with 
great rapidity, and kept doubling itself e\'ery 
three or four years, until now it is the largest 
carriage-hardware factory in the I'nited 
States, sends its forgings to every State in 
the Union and to many of the Provinces of 
Canada, and employs a small army of men. 
Darius Wilcox was its first president ; Mr. 
Hauck was its first vice-president. When 
Mr. Wilcox died in 1896, Mr. Hauck became 
its president and was reelected to that ofiice 
every year until his own death, in 1902. 

It is the able, shrewd, trained man of 
afifairs that Ijrings success to an imdertak- 
ing of any kind, be it large or small, and not 
the man that does the mechanical part. ]\Ir. 
Hauck was just such an able and trained 
business man. A lightning calctilator, an 
expert mathematician, a quick, exact and 
able thinker, a man of broad experience in 
the iron industry, he possessed all the ref|ui- 
sites for success in any business enterprise 
he might undertake. The whole history of 
the Wilco.x Co. is essentially a part of the 
history of this man. He employed able as- 
sistants and trained men to take his place in 
the management of the concern when he no 
longer should be here to manage it himself. 
However, one of his ablest and proudest 
acts as its president was his purchase of a 
large quantity of steel, just before the price 
rose in 1898, on which he made for the com- 
pany the great sum of $30,000. Mr. Hauck 
owned nearly a fourth of the capital stock 
at the time of his death, and was the largest 
single stockholder in the concern. 

Mr. Hauck was a director of the Me- 
chanicsburg Gas & Water Company, and 
was its second largest shareholder. He was 
also a member of the board of directors of 



the Second National Bank, of the same place, 
uj) to tile time of his death, and an honorary 
member of the Washington Steam Fire En- 
gine Company. For many years he was the 
owner of a one-fourth interest in the large 
general store of H. H. Lamb & Co., at Shep- 
herdstown, one of the largest and Ijest 
equipped "country stores" in Cumberland 
county. He was also interested in many 
other enterprises of the town in which he 
lived, and he was sought by many of the 
town's business men for advice in their busi- 
ness affairs. In politics he was a stanch, 
strong and consistent Republican : and he 
believed thoroughly in the principles which 
dominate that great party. He was also a 
member of Col. H. I. Zinn Post, No. 415. 
G. A. R. 

George W. Hauck was of German de- 
scent principally, and he possessed that qual- 
ity, peculiar to the Germans, of continuing 
without intermission at the severest kind of 
mental labor. Mr. Hauck's great-grand- 
father resided at Ephrata during the Revolu- 
tionary war. and was a personal friend of 
George Washington, who often visited the 
Haucks at Ephrata while the .American 
army was encamped at Valley Forge. Henry 
Hauck, deputy superintendent of public edu- 
cation for Pennsylvania, and Congressman 
Hauck, of Tennessee, are relatives of this 
family. 

In 1869 Mr. Hauck married .Alice Starr, 
daughter of Reuben L. and Elizabeth 
( Lloyd) Starr, of Lewisberry, York county. 
Mrs. Hauck is of Quaker descent, and is a 
distant blood relative of Bayard Taylor, the 
great traveler and man of letters. She is 
the granddaughter of Hiram Starr, who in 
the ante-bellum days took an active part in 
running the "underground railwaj','" where- 
bv many slaves escaped into freedom. She 
is a woman of ability. She has always taken 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



203 



an active part in temperance work, having 
filled a nnmber of otifices in the \V. C. T. U. 
For many years she has been a member of 
the Wonians Relief Corps, having filled 
the oftices of department, instituting 
and installing oflicer ; department patri- 
otic instructor, and junior vice-pres- 
ident. In 1897 she was elected to 
the office of department president of 
Pennsylvania. On account of her fine ex- 
ecutive ability and business experience more 
money was saved the department than in any 
previous year. She was also a director of 
the Brook\ille Memorial tor two consecu- 
tive years, an institution maintained and 
supported by the W. R. C. of Pennsylvania. 
Mrs. Hauck.is a prominent member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, having been a 
steward in the church for the past eighteen 
years. After the death of her husband, she 
was elected a member of the board of direc- 
tors of the D. Wilcox Mfg. Co., to fill the 
place made vacant by his deatli. She is 
prominently identified with church and char- 
itable work. Mr. and ]\Irs. Hauck had 
five chiklren: Syh'an S., who died in in- 
fancy ; Walter Lloyd, a graduate of Dick- 
inson College and Dickinson School of Law, 
and an ex-secretary of the Republican stand- 
ing committee of Cumberland county : Ed- 
win Starr, who is a traveling salesman (he 
was also a student of Dickinson College) ; 
and Susanna Elizabeth and George W'ash- 
ington Hauck, who are attending the "Me- 
chanicsburg Normal and Classical School," 
where they are preparing themselves for en- 
trance to Dickinson College. Mr. Hauck 
owned a beautiful brick residence fitted up 
the most modern style, where his family 
now reside. 

George Washington Hauck was Me- 
chanicsburg's ablest business man. as well 
as one of the ablest business men of the 



Cumberland Valley. He did more to aid 
the growth and prosperity of his native town 
than any other one man has ever done. He 
was the brains of every business undertak- 
ing with which he ever became identified ; 
and to-day Mechanicsburg feels his loss 
keenly. He was a man possessed of a vast 
amount of knowledge on almost all sul.ijects. 
He was a great reader, an able conversation- 
alist, and a keen observer of men and affairs. 
Although he was unostentatious and of a 
somewhat retiring disposition, he was one 
of the most approachable of men. He had 
a kind heart, was liberal and charitable, and 
was one of the best of men and one of the 
best of citizens. He was a kind and loving 
father and husband, and he possessed the 
highest esteem of all who knew him. 

DR. ROBERT M. McGARY, one of 
the leading physicians and highly esteemed 
citizens of Mechanicsljurg, who is also en- 
gaged in the drug business here, was born 
Oct. 27, 1858, at Shiremanstown, Cumber- 
land county, son of David and Elizabeth 
( Mateer) McGary. 

John McGary, grandfather of Dr. Robert 
^L, was a resident of Shiremanstown, for 
a long period, following his trade of wheel- 
wright, and also engaged in farming. His 
three children. Mary, Henry and David, 
have long since passed away. John McGary 
was a consistent member of the Presbyterian 
Church. 

David McGary, son of John and father 
of Dr. Robert AL, was born Sept. 18, 1818. 
He was a contractor in Hampden township 
for many years, and he died July 5, 1874. 
On reaching manhood he married Eliza- 
beth Mateer, a member of one of the oldest 
families of Scotch-Irish extraction, of the 
Cumberland Valley. Eight children were 
born to them, three of whom grew to matur- 



204 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



ity, namely: Mary R.. wife of Samuel A. 
Balmer. of Harrisburg; H. W., of Harris- 
burg; and Dr. Robert M. 

Dr. !McGary was reared in Shiremans- 
town. and was educated in the public schools. 
Not caring to follow an agricultural life, he 
took the direction of his career into his own 
hands, and came to Mechanicsburg. enter- 
ing the drug store of Dr. ]\I. B. 
Mosser, and in the meantime studying 
medicine. His efiforts at securing a 
medical education met with success, and ni 
1884 he was graduated at Jefferson 3iledical 
College at Philadelphia, immediately enter- 
ing into practice at ^lechanicsburg. In 1889 
he opened a drug store in this borough, and 
carries a large and varied stock of goods 
usually found in first-class establishments of 
this kind, in connection with a large selec- 
tion of pure drugs. 

In politics. Dr. !McGary is a stanch Re- 
publican. He is a Mason of high degree, 
having been made a 32nd degree Mason in 
1892. He is also one of the oldest members 
of the Singer Band of Mechanicsburg. Dr. 
McGary has won his own way in the world 
through perseverance and industry, and 
stands today as one of the leading and most 
respected citizens of Mechanicsburg. 

ANDREW BLAIR. The name of Blair 
signifies "a cleared field," and the New Eng- 
land branch of the family has a tradition 
that the Blair coat of arms was granted by 
King Malcolm, of Scotland, for signal 
bravery in battle, for clearing the field of the 
enemy. Many of the name were among 
those who resented the attempt to supplant 
the Presbyterian form of worship by that 
of the English Church early in the sixteenth 
century. When in 1612 King James divided 
millions of acres into small holdings and 
offered them to the British, Sir William 



Brereton was visiting James Blair at Irvine, 
Scotland, and wrote that crowds of discon- 
tented people were passing through Irvine. 
A band of young men, of whom several bore 
the name of Blair, from Argyllshire, passed 
over to Londonderry, and other parts of 
Ulster, Ireland. These were the fathers of 
a Scotch-Irish generation, Covenanters, who 
were indomitable fighters for their religion, 
their homes and their adopted country. 
Lieut. -Col. Blair, Capt. James Blair and 
Lieut. David Blair were conspicuous for 
their bravery during these religious perse- 
cutions. 

Blair Castle, at Blair Atholl, in Perth- 
shire, the ancestral country seat of His Grace 
of Atholl, is a spacious and splendid resi- 
dence. Part of the castle dates back to the 
thirteenth century. King James V of Scot- 
land came there to hunt the red deer, and 
Mary Queen of Scots was royally enter- 
tained beneath its roof. The castle has never 
been deprived of the features which recall 
its ancient traditions, as a place of arms, and 
as the guardian fortress of the approaches 
to the main chain of the Grampians. It un- 
derwent several sieges, notably during the 
Cromwellian wars and the Jacobite rebel- 
lion, mementoes of which exist to this day. 
One of the turrets of the castle is adorned 
with the copper plated finial that surmounted 
the dome of the Mabdi's tomb at Omdur- 
man. Blair Castle is precisely the kind of 
ancestral home that one would expect of a 
Scottish duke who maintains a bodyguard 
of his own. The Duke of Atholl has a pri- 
vate guard of five hundred men, to whom its 
colors were presented by Queen Victoria in 
person. Every man stands over six feet. 
The corps is recruited from among the 
Duke's retainers and tenants, clad, accou- 
tered and armed at his expense, and officered 
bv his eldest son and kinsman. "The Atholl 





f 




1 










m ■ ^~ 














- t 




^ 








P^ T- ^B 


1 






EkS'T-' 


i^F 


f 



(?j4>tj^(^3- f'S'ceo 



L£u^ 



THE "SEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B I. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



205 



Regiment" presents a magnificent appear- 
ance when marching with the long swinging 
Highland stride, to the strains of the regi- 
mental band of sixteen pieces. 

Andrew Blair, the subject of this sketch, 
■ lived and died at the corner of Hanover and 
South streets, Carlisle. He was a son of 
William Blair and Sarah Holmes, his wife, 
and was born July 10. 1789. William Blair, 
the father of Andrew, was a son of William 
Blair, of Carlisle, and Mary Cowen. his wife, 
who was from Lancaster county. Sarah 
Holmes, his mother, was a daughter of An- 
drew Holmes, of Bonny Brook. \Mlliam 
Blair, father of Andrew, died March 21, 
1792, at the age of thirty-two years ; his wife 
survived him about thirty-five years and 
reared their four children to honor the mem- 
ory of herself and consort. 

\\'illiam Blair, the grandfather of An- 
drew, was a trustee of the Carlisle Academy 
as early as 1781. He was also a trustee of 
the Associated Presbyterian Church of Car- 
lisle, and with two others, in 1796, pur- 
chased from the Penns the ground upon 
which to erect that church, a stone structure 
which is still standing on South West street, 
for £6. Afterward this was long known as 
the "Seceder Church." This William Blair 
died at Carlisle on Dec. 7, 1802, at the age 
of seventy-three years, and is buried in the 
family plot in the "Old Graveyard," sacred 
ground, given by the Penns to Carlisle for 
a place of burial. It is not known when his 
wife, Mary Cowen, died. She may be 
buried by the side of her husband, but there 
is no tombstone indicating that she is. Wil- 
liam Blair's son. Dr. Isaac Blair, was a mem- 
ber of the first class that graduated from 
Dickinson College. He located in Wash- 
ington, Pa., where he practiced his profes- 
sion until his death. His son, Dr. Alexan- 
der Blair, succeeded him. 



Jane, the only daughter of William and 
Sarah (Holmes) Blair, died Aug. 13, 1864, 
at the age of seventy-nine years. She was 
the wife of John McClure, Esq., who lived 
at Willow Grove on the Letort Spring, on 
the southern outskirt of Carlisle, where their 
old stone mansion, built by the pioneer Mc- 
Clures, is still standing and in good condi- 
tion. The McClures were an army family, 
and their mansion at "The Willows" long 
was a rendezvous for social culture. At one 
time all the land extending from Carlisle 
south as far as the toll-gate on the Balti- 
more turnpike was in the McClure name. 

William, the eldest son of William and 
Sarah (Holmes) Blair, died unmarried on 
Sept. 29, 1 86 1, in his seventy-fifth year. 

Henry Cowen, their youngest son, died 
in 1 814, unmarried, at the age of twenty- 
two years. The remains of all of the family 
rest in the Old Grave Yard at Carlisle. 

Andrew Blair, the second son, was or- 
dained as a ruling elder in the First Presby- 
terian Church, Carlisle, Dec. 25, 1825. He 
was one of the originators of the movement 
which resulted in the organization of the 
Second Presbyterian Church in 1832, and 
was one of the first elders of that church. 
One of his pastors, the Rev. Dr. A. T. ]\Ic- 
Gill, a late president of Princeton College, 
New Jersey, said of him : "Andrew Blair 
was always a prince among the elders of the 
church." One of our clergic historians 
wrote of him : "His fellow worshippers 
confided in him as a practical follower of 
Christ ; they trusted his leadership and were 
devoted to him as a friend in joy or sorrow. 
They revered him as an oracle amongst 
them." By the poor of the community he 
was termed "the pastor of the town." He 
was an enthusiastic supporter of the free 
school system, and for twenty-five years was 
president of the board of school directors of 



206 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Carlisle. Both in school and in church af- 
fairs he was associated with the late James 
Hamilton, Esq. He was a soldier in the war 
of 1812 and was granted lands Ijy the gov- 
ernment for his services. 

Andrew Blair was of stately form and 
commanding presence ; a hulwark within 
himself and a natural leader of men. He 
possessed a clear-cut individuality; was 
nohle-hearted and open-handed, and his dig- 
nity of person always dissoh'ed into the kind 
Christian friend in the presence of physical 
or mental suffering. He was of stanch 
Presbyterian people whom intolerance and 
persecution drove from Scotl:ind to Ireland 
and early in the eighteenth century from 
Ireland to America. Whe;i the ancestor 
of Andrew Blair came to Pennsylvania he 
brought with him, among otiier household 
goods, their grandfather clock, later named 
"Old Billy," and that old clock is still chim- 
ing the hours in the home of William Blair, 
the fifth of America. Many years ago "Old 
Billy" was used for a gun cupboard and an 
accidental discharge made a bullet hole in 
his l)ody. If animate the clock might relate 
some soul-stirring tales of Indian savagery 
in Cumberland county. The Cowen ances- 
trv alsci brought their grandfather clock 
across the ocean, and it now is in the home 
of one of their name living in Chester coun- 
ty. Pa. Those were the days of sailing ves- 
sels, and the ancestors wrapped their clock 
in a feather bed, to make it se.i proof, that it 
might tick to Young America. 

Andrew Blair on March 31, 181 2, was 
married to Elizaljeth Hays, the Rev. Dr. 
Davidson performing the ceremony. Eliza- 
beth Hays was a daughter of Joseph Hays, 
of Carlisle, and had a brother, Adam Hays, 
who graduated from the medical department 
of Pennsylvania University, was an assist- 
ant surgeon in the American army in the war 



of 1812, and afterward for some time prac- 
ticed his profession in Carlisle, living where 
the Second Presbyterian church now stands. 
To the unir)n of .\ndrew Blair and Eliza- 
beth Hays there was born a large family. 
Andrew Blair, "the grand old man," peace- 
fully passed away July 21, 1861, after 
months of intense ])hvsical suffering which 
he bore with true Christian fortitude. His 
memory lingers and the goodness of his life 
will long perpetuate his memory. — [\\ ith 
highest esteem, a granddaughter, Jenny 
Bl.\ir, Carlisle, Pennsylvania. 

J. O. SAXTON (deceased) was long 
one of the most prominent and highly valued 
citizens of Mechanicsburg, a man whose 
sterling traits of character won the respect 
iif all with whom he came in contact. Mr. 
Saxton belonged to one of the oldest fam- 
ilies of Cumberland county, and was born 
July 3, 1833, on the homestead farm in Sil- 
ver Spring townshi]), near the town of New 
Kingstown, while his death occurred at his 
home on W'est Main street, in September, 
1903. 

His parents John and Nancy (Saxton) 
Saxton were people of substance and were 
held in high esteem by all who knew them. 
John Saxton was also born in Silver Spring 
township, Cumberland county, and early in 
life engaged in farming, which occupation 
he continued until his death in 1843, when 
he was thirty-six years of age. His 
widow died some years later in Mechanics- 
burg. Mr. and Mrs. Saxton were the par- 
ents of three children: John O., Josephine, 
and Mary. 

The late John O. Saxton was reared 
upon the homestead. He received his pre- 
liniinarv education in the local schools, and 
later graduated from Dickinson college, 
after which he taught school for four years 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



207 



in Harrisburg. He then resumed farming 
in Silver Spring township. 

On Nov. 18. 1856, Mr. Saxton was hap- 
])ily marriedi to Miss Ellen Dunlap, born 
April 14, 1830, of Scotch-Irish ancestry, and 
a daughter of James and Margaret (Mateer) 
13unlap, members of one of the oldest 
families in Cumberland county. After their 
marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Saxton moved to 
Mechanicsburg, where Mr. Saxton soon Ije- 
came prominent. Six children were born to 
them: Caroline S., born Oct. 3, 1872 ; Lynn, 
born Dec. 4, 1874; Margaret D., born Oct. 
4, 1878; and three who died in chilillioiHl. 

Mr. Saxton was one of the most active 
Democrats of his locality, and held many 
positions of trust and responsibility. He 
served as school director; in the town coun- 
cil for a number of years, and also occu])ied 
various offices of less importance. In 1880 
he was Democratic elector from the iQtli 
Congressional district of Pennsylvania. For 
some time he served as a burgess of Me- 
chanicsburg, and in all the positions he oc- 
cupied, displayed the same calm, judicious 
ability which characterized his general ac- 
tions. He was on the board of managers 
of the Mechanicsburg Agricultural Society. 
Fraternally, he was a Mason, and was past 
high priest of Mechanicsburg Chapter, R. A. 
M. ; past officer of the I. O. O. F. lodge and 
Encampment, and served as district deputy 
Grand Master for Cumberland county two 
terms. In the Presbyterian Church he held 
many offices, and was treasurer for the Me- 
chanicsburg Bible and Tract Society for 
thirty years. In August, 1886, he was hon- 
oreil by appointment from Governor Pat- 
tison as delegate from the 19th Congres- 
sional district to the Farmers National Con- 
gress held at St. Paul, Minnesota. 

At the time of his death, Mr. Saxton 
owned two large farms in Cumberland 



county, and was one of the wealthy men of 
that locality as well as one of the most popu- 
lar. Mr. Saxton was identified with many 
public movements, and was always inter- 
ested in what would improve or beautify his 
city. For a number of years he was presi- 
dent of Chestnut Hill Cemetery Association, 
as well as director, and ne\'er hesitated to 
contribute freely of his time and money 
\vhene\'er he thought that either were re- 
quired. 

Mrs. Saxton passed away in 1900, and 
was deeply mourned by the devoted husband 
who so soon followed her. She had but 
one sister, Mrs. James McCallister Ralston, 
a widow. 

The death of Mr. Saxton is of so recent 
date that the people of Mechanicsburg have 
not yet adjusted themselves to the sad fact. 
For so many years he has been so import- 
ant a factor in both business and political 
life, that it is difficult for his associates to 
realize that the energetic, capable, broad- 
minded man of affairs is no longer among 
them to act, advise and execute. In the 
record of his blameless and useful life, Mr. 
Saxton has left to his children a monument 
more lasting than granite, and has written 
his name broadly across the page of his city's 
history. 

HENRY LEWIS HECKER (de- 
ceased) was a lifelong resident of Carlisle, 
where as a successful business man and hon- 
ored public servant he was long prominent. 
He was born Feb. 16, 1831, on South Han- 
over street, in the south end of the town, 
and was a son of Andrew and Charlotte 
(Wahl) Hecker, natives of Germany, who 
came to the L'nited States when young, and 
were married in this country. Mr. Hecker 
learned the trade of locksmith in the Father- 
land, and followed it there and in the United 



208 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



States. He and his wife had a large family 
of twelve or fourteen children. 

Henry L. Hecker attended the Carlisle 
schools in his youth, but his educational op- 
portunities were none too plentiful, for he 
began life a poor boy. He early learned the 
trade of shoemaker, which he followed wdien 
a young man. and in iS6i he enlisted for 
service in the Union army, becoming a pri- 
vate in Company A, 7th Pa. Inf., Volunteer 
Reserves, which went out under Capt. Rob- 
ert M. Henderson, who had raised the com- 
pany and was commissioned captain April 
2 1 St. He was with his command up to the 
night of the fourth day of the Seven Days 
fight before Richmond, when he lost his 
right arm and was taken prisoner. After 
three months' confinement in Libby prison, 
he was exchanged and returned home to 
recuperate, having 'experienced hardships 
and suffering which would have meant death 
to many a man. He was given no water to 
bathe his wounded arm, and was so weak 
that he had to crawl on his stomach to a 
small stream. During his active service he 
served through the Peninsular Campaign, 
was in the battle of Mechanicsville, Gaines 
Mills, Charles City Cross Roads and Mal- 
vern Hill, after which the regiment was at 
Harrison's Landing for a time. After the 
Reserves joined the army of Northern Vir- 
ginia, under Gen. Pope, they took part in 
the Second battle of Bull Run. In 1865, 
Mr. Hecker was made captain, and put in 
charge of 300 men who were guarding the 
railroad at Alexandria, Va., and he re- 
mained in the service for another vear, when 
his command was called in. After his re- 
turn home he engaged in the bakery and 
confectionery business on the site of his 
widow's present home, in South Hanover 
street, and continued the same successfully 
until his death, which occurred in 1882. 



Capt. Hecker took a prominent part in the 
public affairs of his city, and served as 
mayor of Carlisle after the war. In 1864 
he was doorkeeper to the National House 
of Representatives in Washington. His 
political sympathies were with the Demo- 
cratic party. 

Capt. Hecker was married in Carlisle, 
to Miss Julia Sites, of that place, daughter 
of Joseph and j\Iary (Thompson) Sites, 
the former a nati\'e of Frankford township, 
Cumberland county, and a member of an 
old family, the latter a native of Baltimore, 
Md. Three children were born to Capt. 
and Mrs. Hecker, ]\Iary A., Fanny G., and 
Florence Bertram. Mrs. Hecker and her 
children are members of St. Patrick's 
Church, of Carlisle, but Mr. Hecker was a 
Presbyterian. Socially, he united with the 
I. O. O. F. and the G. A. R. post at Carlisle. 
He was a man esteemed in every walk of 
life, in the domestic circle and among his 
friends as well as in business and public 
life, and was ever ranked among the most 
substantial and reliable citizens of Carlisle 
where he is well remembered e\en to this 
date. 

JACOB KOST. Among the early set- 
tlers of what is now North Middleton town- 
ship. Cumberland county, was a George 
Kost. In 1764 he was taxed in Middleton, 
which then included North Middleton, with 
a warrant calling for 200 acres of land, and 
from that date to 1793 his name a])pears 
on the record of every assessment. From 
1766 to 1793 he is taxed with both 
land and personal property, showing that he 
was a resident as well as a land holder. The 
exact locality of his home was in the vicinity 
of Grissinger's, in the northwest part of 
North Middleton. There were other Kosts 
in Cumberland countv very early, and their 




/^^L.^2:^A^ .-i^^Z^-.'^^''^^^- 



THE "NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOli, LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOI'NDATIONS 

B L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



209 



number and the different forms of spelling 
the name are confusing to the genealogist. 
The history of the George Kost who settled 
"six miles west of Carlisle," however, is 
pretty definitely settled. He was born in 
Saxony and came to America in the ship 
"Edinburgh," James Russell, master, land- 
ing at Philadelphia Sept. 16, 1751. On the 
ship's list he stands recorded as "Hans Georg 
Kast." There is nothing to show where he 
was between the date of his landing in the 
country and the date of his first appearance 
upon the records of Middleton township, 
but it is probable that he spent some time 
in the eastern counties of the Province, as 
did many of the early settlers of Cumber- 
land county. It is said that he was employed 
as a messenger between Conrad Weisher 
the famous Indian interpreter, and Gov. 
Hamilton, also that he served as a quarter- 
master in the Colonial army. This George 
Kost died in 1798, leaving a will in which 
his name is written "Cosht," and from which 
it. appears that his w'ife's name was Mary 
Ann, and that he had four sons : Jacob, 
Philip, ]\Iichael and Leonard. The son 
Michael died in May, 1804, leaving among 
other children a son named George, as well 
as John, Mary and Elizabeth. 

George Kost w'as born in Middleton 
township, and learned the tanning trade with 
Leonard Minnich, in Frankford township. 
When he reached man's estate he settled 
upon a property in Frankford township 
which formerly belonged to his father. Here 
he farmed and also worked at tanning for 
Leonard Minnich, the man \\\{\\ whom he 
learned his trade. In 1828 he built a tan- 
nery upon his own property, and founded 
a tanning business- which is yet in existence 
and which has been in the Kost name con- 
tinuously ever since. 

George Kost was married first to Eliza- 

14 



beth Snyder, by whom he had the following 
children: Michael (deceased), John, Solo- 
mon, William (deceased), Samuel (de- 
ceased), George (deceased), Mary, and 
Margaret. His first wife dying, he married 
(second) Mary Nickey, a daughter of David 
and Anna (Wax) Nickey, of Frankford 
township. David Nickey was born near 
Womelsdorf, Berks county, and his wife, 
Anna Wax, was born in Perry county. 
George and Mary (Nickey) Kost had the 
following children : Jacob, mentioned be- 
low ; Elizabeth, living in North Middleton 
township; Sarah Ann, who died in 1850; 
David and James, in Illinois ; Elias, in Kan- 
sas; Simon, in Oklahoma; Alfred, in York 
county. Pa. ; Amanda, in Perry county. Pa. ; 
and Qiarles who died at the age of five. 
George Kost died in 1889 on the old home- 
stead, and his wife died there Nov. 12, 1900. 
Jacob Kost, the subject of this sketch, 
was the eldest child of George and Maiy 
(Nickey) Kost. He was born Dec. 21, 
1838, in Frankford township, Cumberland 
county, in the home in which he has always 
li\ed. In his boyhood he attended the coun- 
try district school, and being apt and studi- 
ous readily accjuired suflicient education to 
obtain a certificate certifying that he was 
qualified to teach in the public schools. He 
first taught the Stone Church school in 
Frankford township, and after teaching sev- 
eral terms in Frankford and in the adjoin- 
ing township of North Middleton he spent 
two terms at the Newville Normal School,. 
in which he was under the instruction of such 
able teachers as George Swartz, D. E. Kast, 
S. B. Heiges- and William R. Linn. Sub- 
sequently, he taught the ]Mt. Zion school in 
Frankford township for five successive 
terms, and then relinquished teaching and 
turned his attention to the tanning business, 
which he had learned under his father. 



210 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



About the year iS^o he [turchased the tan- 
nery his fatlier I.iuilt in 1S28, went into busi- 
ness on his own account and has continued 
at it steadfastly ever since, a period of over 
forty years. Tlie old Kost tannery he has 
■enlarged to four times its original capacity, 
introduced new machinery and new pro- 
cesses as rapidly as their usefulness became 
knoA\-n. and, by keeping in touch with the 
spirit of progress and giving to his business 
-all his time and attention, has succeeded in 
spLte of the trusts and combinations that 
, have so unmercifully been crushing out the 
individual enterprises of the country. He is 
.a farmer as well as a tanner and gives to his 
farming interests the same intelligent care 
and direction that he does to his leather 
manufacturing. He has erected new build- 
ings, improved his old ones, and drained 
:and fertilized his lands, making two blades 
'of grass grow where one grew before. Nor 
lias he been the exclusive beneficiary of his 
enterprise. It affords employment to many 
persons around him. and he finds special 
pleasure in long retaining in his service faith- 
ful employes. One man who at this writing 
is one of his trusted employes has been con- 
tinuously in his service for twenty-eight 
years, another for twenty-four years, and 
another for eighteen years. 

Mr. Kost is a Democrat in politics, but 
liberal in his views and independent in his 
actions, and when his party makes bad nomi- 
nations considers it a duty as well as a priv- 
ilege to withhold his vote or vote against 
them if there be better ones to vote for. He 
takes a live interest in the affairs of his dis- 
trict, has several times served as school di- 
rector and often been urged to be a candi- 
date for other offices but positively declined. 
He has never married, but is domestic in his 
liabits, and even without a wife his home is 



a place of such solid comfort, pleasure and 
contentment, that he never finds it necessary 



to go to the sea shore. 



THE BOSLER FAMILY. Abr.^ham 
BosLER. Johan Wilhelm Bossier was the 
earliest American ancestor of the Bosler 
family of Cumberland county. He came 
from Hano\-er, Germany, and landed at 
Philadelphia, Oct. 2S. 1738, from the ship 
"Bilander Thistle," and was the only person 
of his name on the vessel. In fact, he is the 
only Bosler that appears anywhere upon the 
immigrant records of Pennsylvania. He was 
yet quite young when he arrived in this 
country and it is not definitely known where 
he first settled and what occupation he fol- 
lowed. By 1 761 he was living in Lancaster 
county, between Elizabethtown and May- 
town, where he married a Miss Longenecker, 
by whom he had a large family. Among 
their children was a son John, born Nov. 14, 
1765, who married Catharine Gish, of Lan- 
caster county, and engaged at farming. In 
1794 he came to Cumberland county, and 
settled on the north side of the Conedoguinet 
Creek, in what is now Silver Spring town- 
ship. He purchased from John and James 
Buchanan the farm that is now owned by 
David R. \'ogelsong, and made it his home 
during the rest of his days. He also after- 
ward acquired the ownership of two other 
farms, adjoining this one on the north, and 
for thirty years was a prominent and influen- 
tial citizen of that part of the county. He 
died Nov. 21, 1824, his wife, Catharine 
(Gish) Bosler, died Feb. 15, 1829, aged 
fifty-seven years, and the remains of both are 
buried in the cemetery of the Sih'er Spring 
Presbyterian Church. 

John and Catharine (Gish) Bosler had 
five children, three sons and two daughters. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



211 



The sons were Jacob D., John and Abra- 
ham : and the daughters were Nancy and 
CatTiarine. Jacob was a physician and for a 
time had a drug store and practiced his pro- 
fession in Meclianicsburg. He married Ann 
D. Herman, daughter of Martin and Ehza- 
beth (Bowers) Herman, and removed to 
Dayton, Ohio, where lie lived to a great age 
and where some of his descendants are still 
living. John was married twice. His first 
wife was a daughter of Rev. Jacob Keller, 
and his second a daughter of George Web- 
htxt. Nancy was also married twice; her 
first husband was John Rife, and her second 
Melchoir Webbert. Catharine married Dr. 
John Fahnestock on Oct. 23, 1827. 

Abraham Bosler was the youngest child. 
He was born Aug. 19, 1806, on the farm 
which his father purchased from the Buch- 
anans in the part of East Pennsboro town- 
ship that is now included in Silver Spring. 
Here he grew to manhood and received such 
education as the district schools of that sec- 
tion afforded. Although reared on the farm 
and trained to that vocation he had scarcely 
reached the years of maturity when he 
turned his attention to merchandising. He 
engaged at merchandising in the village of 
Hogestown for several years and then 
formed a partnership with Francis Porter in 
the produce and forwarding business, ship- 
ping by arks and boats to Baltimore by way 
of the Susquehanna river, and by canal to 
Philadelphia. He also was a large dealer in 
cattle, which he purchased in Ohio and west- 
ern Pennsylvania and then drove them to the 
Eastern markets. His business ventures 
were quite successful, but he still retained his 
interest in farming. For some years he 
farmed a farm which adjoins Hogestown on 
the northwest, now owned by the McCor- 
mick estate, and in March, 1838, bought a 
fine farm from Martha Cunningham. This 



farm lies next to the place on which he was 
born, in a peninsula on the north side of the 
Conedoguinet, due niorth of Hogestown, and 
since Mr. Bosler has parted with it it has 
been owned by the IMussers. Here he 
farmed, manufactured brick, erected new 
buildings and made other improvements, and 
lived twelve of the most strenuous years of 
his entire career. In April, 1850, he sold his 
possessions in Silver Spring township, 
moved his family to his wife's brother, 
Christian Herman, near New Kingston, and 
went West. He made an extended trip and 
purchased a large tract of land near what is 
now Monmouth, 111., and then returned to 
Pennsylvania for his family. His wife, 
however, was averse to going West, so in 
the spring of 1852 he moved to South Mid- 
dleton township, a short distance south from 
Carlisle, where the fall previous he had pur- 
chased a farm, a mill and a distillery. He 
engaged in these various branches of indus- 
try in that locality until 1863, when the 
revenue taxes became exorbitant and he 
closed his distillery. Later he sold his inter- 
ests at this place to his son, J. Herman Bos- 
ler, and in 1872 moved to Carlisle, where, 
under the firm name of A. Bosler & Dale, he 
engaged in the grain and coal business for 
seven or eight years and then retired. 

On Feb. 25. 1830, Mr. Abraham Bosler 
was married to Miss Eliza Herman, by Rev. 
James Williamson, pastor of the Silver 
Spring Presbyterian Church. Eliza Her- 
man was a daughter of Martin and Elizabeth 
(Bowers) Herman, and a member of a 
prominent Silver Spring family whose his- 
tory appears in another part of these annals. 
Soon after their marriage they connected 
with the Presbyterian Church at Silver 
Spring, where they continued faithful at- 
tendants until they removed to South Mid- 
dleton, w'hen by certificate they transferred 



212 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



tlieir meml;>ership to tlie Second Presby- 
terian Church of Carhsle, of which cliurch 
tliey were devout memliers and hberal sup- 
porters until tlie end of Hfe. Mr. Bosler died 
Dec. 21, 1883; his wife died Dec. 7, 1885, 
aged seventy-five years, and tlieir remains 
rest in the family plot in Ashland cemetery 
in Carlisle. They had eight children, name- 
ly : John Herman, James Williamson, Ben- 
jamin C, Joseph, Elizabeth Bowers, Mary 
Catharine, George ]Morris and Charles A. 
The last-named died in infancy, but the 
rest all grew to maturity. Elizabeth B. is 
unmarried and a resident of Carlisle. Mary 
C. married Joseph R. Stonebraker and re- 
sides in Baltimore, and George AI. resides in 
Carlisle, where he has extensive business in- 
terests. Benjamin C. was reared upon the 
farm and in 1857 went to Illinois, where he 
resided until the early 'sixties, when he re- 
moved to California and died in a mining 
camp in 1862. He was unmarried. 

Abraham Bosler was a strong character 
in the business and social life of Cumberland 
county, and his activity, honesty of purpose 
and integrity won for him an honorable place 
in its history. 

JOHN HERMAN BOSLER was the 
oldest child of Abraham and Eliza (Her- 
man) Bosler. He \yas born Dec. 14, 1830, 
near Hogestown, in Silver Spring township. 
His childhood and youth were spent upon 
the farm and at the Hogestown district 
school. When seventeen years of age he en- 
tered Cumberland Academy, a preparatory 
school then in existence at New Kingston, 
from which be entered Dickinson College, 
where he pursued his studies through the 
years of 1850 and 1851. Being predisposed 
to business rather than books, he then with- 
drew from college and entered into partner- 
ship with his father in the milling and dis- 
tilling business, in which he ciintinued for 



fi\-e years. He next engaged at the manu- 
facture of iron in Huntingdon county for a 
period of two years, after which he returned 
to Cumljerland county and again engaged at 
milling, and also at buying and shipping 
grain. 

On Oct. I, 1856, J. Herman Bosler was 
married to Miss Mary J. Kirk, of Mifflin- 
town, Juniata county. ?^Iary J. Kirk was a 
daughter of James and ^Martha (Sager) 
Kirk, and a descendant (if an old and promi- 
nent family of central Pennsylvania. Will- 
iam Kirk, Sr., was born in the North of Ire- 
land. He immigrated to America at an early 
date, married Mary McConnel, and settled 
near East Waterford, Lack township, in 
what is now Juniata county, at the same time 
that other members of his family settled in 
what is now Fulton county. He died in 
1781. His son, William Kirk (2), was 
married twice, first to Mary Elliott and sec- 
ond to Jane Clark. He died on the old home- 
stead in La(:k township in 1843. 

James Kirk, a son of William Kirk (2), 
by Mary Elliott, was born in Lack township 
and grew to manhood in that locality. He 
w;is educated in the common schools and 
under the private tuition of a Mr. White, an 
old Scotch teacher who had his home in the 
Kirk family for many years. When sixteen 
years old he left home to fight life's battles 
for himself, going first to Churchtown, Cum- 
berland county, where he taught school a 
term. He next went to Mifilintown, and 
there for a while clerked in the store of Rob- 
ert Gallagher. From Mifflintown he went 
to Fulton county, where he and a cousin, also 
named James Kirk, for a short time jointly 
engaged in the mercantile business. He then 
returned to Mifflintown, and on June 9, 
1835, was married to Martha Sager. .Vfter 
his marriage he went back to Fulton county 
and there spent two years more in the mer- 
cantile business, after which he for the third 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



213 



time went to Mifflintown, and there — first 
with Joseph Patterson and afterward by 
himself — conducted a general store until his 
death. He died in Mifilintown in September. 
1870: his wife. Martha (Sager) Kirk, died 
at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Bosler, in 
Carlisle, March 16, 1884. Mr. Kirk was a 
Democrat, was active and prominent in poli- 
tics, and was treasurer of Juniata county one 
term. 

J. Herman Bosler continued in Inisiness 
in the vicinity of Carlisle for fifteen years 
with marked success. In 1869 he l)ecame in- 
terested in stock ranching in Nebraska and 
Wyoming with his brother, James W., in- 
vesting heavily in the cattle business. They 
were the pioneer representatives of the west- 
ern cattle business in Cumberland county 
and were very successful. Afterward J. 
Herman and George M. Bosler, with others, 
purchased a large body of land near the 
growing city of Omaha. This land subse- 
quently was transferred to the South Omaha 
Land Company, of which J. Herman Bosler 
became vice-president and one of the heaviest 
stockholders. This proved to be a most for- 
tunate purchase, for upon it was founded the 
town of South Omaha, which at first was 
three miles from the center of Omaha prop- 
er, but since has become a corporate part of 
the city itself. It today stands as a testi- 
monial to the judgment and foresight of its 
founders. Mr. Bosler also interested him- 
self in business enterprises as far away as 
the Pacific coast. In 1891 he and others, 
under the corporate designation of South 
San Francisco Land and Improvement Com- 
pany, bought a large tract of land in San 
Mateo county, Cal., near the city of San 
Francisco. Subsequently this company made 
a second and much larger purchase of lands, 
w'ith the view of developing its natural re- 
sources and establishing upon it, on an ex- 
tensive scale, such industries as the rapid 



growth of that section calls for. This com- 
pany has a capital of $2,000,000. 

In his search for business opportunities 
Mr. Bosler flid not overlook those which his 
own locality afforded. He assisted in organ- 
izing the Carlisle Manufacturing Company, 
which for many years provided steady em- 
ployment to a large force of hands and was 
the means of bringing much needed money 
to the town. He was also president of the 
Carlisle Shoe Factory, a director of the 
Carlisle Deposit Bank; of the Merchants' 
National Bank ; of the Carlisle Gas & Water 
Company; of the Cumberland Valley Rail- 
road Company, and president of the Carlisle 
Land & Improvement Company, an enter- 
prise which built up a large addition to the 
town of Carlisle and established some impor- 
tant manufacturing industries. He owned 
a number of valuable farms in different parts 
of the county, in the management of which 
he found great pleasure, chiefly because it 
afforded him a restful diversion from busi- 
ness. Through his farming interests, and 
his close association with others similarly in- 
terested, he was induced to join the Cumber- 
land County Agricultural Society and 
proved himself a most influential friend and 
patron of that useful organization. 

Although a man constantly vexed with a 
great load of business cares and responsibili- 
ties, Mr. Bosler was possessed of most agree- 
able social qualities. He was genial, affable 
and kind. He had a pleasant word for 
everybody and few people were more gener- 
ally known or more highly esteemed and 
popular. He was a man of excellent habits 
and character, took a deep interest in re- 
ligious affairs, was a member of the Second 
Presbyterian Church of Carlisle, and gave 
liberally to its support and the support of 
all its charities. In politics he was a stanch 
Democrat and supported his party and its 
policies zealously, but never sought office. 



214 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



In 1888 he was the Democratic Presidential 
elector from the Nineteenth Congressional 
district and was frequently urged to stand 
for higher office, hut always declined because 
of the pressure of his many business inter- 
ests. He died on Nov. 18, 1897, and his 
remains are interred in Ashland cemetery. 
He was one of the most honored and most 
conspicuous citizens of his section of the 
State, and few men in this country have won 
the measure of business success that he 
achie\e(l. 

As a lasting memorial to Mr. Bosler. his 
widow and five children erected a handsome 
public library building in Carlisle, known as 
"The J. Herman Bosler Memorial Library." 
Entirely completed and equipped with furni- 
ture and books, it was formally transferred 
to trustees on Jan. 30, 1900, together with 
an endowment fund of $20,000. The pre- 
sentation address was made by Herman E. 
Bosler. son of the deceased, at a large and 
representative assemblage in the building 
which was presided over by Hon. Edward 
W. Biddle, President Judge of the county. 
Addresses were made by the chairman and 
by Rev. George Xorcross, pastor of the Sec- 
ond Presbyterian Church of Carlisle, and by 
Rev. Dr. George Edward Reed, president of 
Dickinson College and State Librarian. The 
building has a frontage on West High street 
of 57 feet and a depth of 88 feet, standing on 
a lot 63 by 1 10 feet. It is a handsome >peci- 
men of classic architecture,, the front being- 
constructed of Avondale marble with a mas- 
sive columned entrance. About 4,400 books 
are now upon its shelves under the care of the 
efficient and popular librarian, W. Homer 
Ames. The trustees are: Rev. Dr. George 
Norcross, president ; Hon. Edward W. Bid- 
die, vice-president; John ^I. Rhev, secre- 
tary; Edward B. \\'atts, treasurer: J. Kirk 
Bosler; Mrs. Edward W. Biddle; Charles F. 



Himes : Joseph Bosler; Mrs. Ellen A. Park- 
er; John B. Landis ; I\Irs. Florence P. 
Mclntire. 

To John Herman and ^Mary J. (Kirk> 
Bosler the following children were born : 
Gertrude D. ; Herman E. ; Lila ]\IcClellan ; 
Jean ]\I. ; Fleta K., and J. Kirk. There were 
also four others who died in infancy. Ger- 
trude D. is the wife of Judge Edward W. 
Biddle, whose biography appears in anothe:' 
part of this volume. Herman E. was secre • 
tary and treasurer of the Fidelity «& Deposit 
Company of Baltimore until ill health com- 
pelled him to give up the position four years 
ago. He married Carolyn Dickey Dulany 
and resides in Baltimore. Lila McClellan 
married Edward Hooker, of Omaha. She 
died April 3, 1896, without issue. Jean M. 
is the wife of James I. Chamberlain, Esq., 
attorney at law, of Harrisburg, and Fleta K. 
is the wife of Chester C. Basehore, Esq., 
attorney at law of Carlisle. 

JAMES KIRK BOSLER. youngest 
child of J. Herman and Mary J. (Kirk) 
Bosler, was born Oct. 11, 1876, in Carlisle, 
and has always resided there. He was edu- 
cated at Dickinson College, entering the 
preparatory department in 1890, and grad- 
uating from the college proper in 1897. He 
then took a course in the Dickinson Law 
School, from which he graduated in 1899, 
and was admitted to practice in the Cumber- 
land coimty courts on June 3, 1899. He is 
president of the Carlisle Paper Bo.x Com- 
pany, and secretary of the Carlisle Shoe 
Company; also a director in the Farmers' 
Trust Company, of Carlisle, and his time is 
occupied chiefly in attending tO' his various 
manufacturing and business interests. He 
W'as married on Nov. 19, 1903, to Miss 
Alary A. Mullin. daughter of Hon. Charles 
H. Mullin. of Mt. Holly Springs. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



215- 



JAMES WILLIAMSON BOSLER was 
the third son of Abraliam and Eliza (Her- 
man) Bosler, and was born on April 4, 1833, 
near Hogestown, in Silver Spring township, 
Cumberland county. He was a grandson of 
John and Catharine (Gish) Bosler, who in 
1794 came from Lancaster county and set- 
tled in what is now Silver Spring township. 
He grew up on the farm and received the 
rudiments of his eilucation in the public 
school of the neighborhood. Later he at- 
tended the Cumberland Academv at New 
Kingston, and still later took a partial 
course at Dickinson College. In 1852 he left 
college and went to Moultrie, Columbiana 
Co., Ohio, where during the winter of 1853- 
54 he taught school. From Moultrie he went 
to Wheeling, Va. (now West Virginia), 
where he read law and was admitted to the 
Bar. Although prepared for it, he did not 
naturally incline toward the practice of the 
law and instead of entering upon a profes- 
sional career he for a while- clerked in a 
store in Wheeling, which, coming at the 
time it did, was a valuable bit of experience, 
for it taught him self-reliance and encour- 
aged him to venture into business on his owri 
account. He bought a store in Columbiana 
county, Ohio, near where he had taught 
school, laid in a stock of goods and bid for 
trade. He gave to his mercantile enterprise 
all his time and attention, but before suc- 
cess had time to wait upon him a disastrous 
fire wiped out his business and ended his 
career as a merchant. With the hope 
of changing his luck he now decided to 
change his location, and removed to Sioux 
City, Iowa. The change was advantageous, 
for it proved to be the beginning of his re- 
markably successful business career. He 
formed a partnership with Charles E. 
Hedges in the real estate business, and later 
the two established the "Sioux City Bank," 



under the firm name of Bosler & Hedges. 
They did a general banking business, and 
also furnished supplies for the Interior and 
War Departments of the Government on 
the North Missouri river. Sioux City was 
then on the frontier and much of the busi- 
ness of its citizens had connection with gov- 
ernment operations. Large numbers of In- 
dians were confined to near-by reservations 
and these were fed by the Government under 
treaty, and to do so vast amounts of sup- 
plies were necessary, and Bosler & Hedges,, 
and afterward Mr. Bosler alone, provided a 
large share of these supplies by contract. 
The boundless plams just beyoufl the Mis- 
souri river, where erstwhile roamed myriads 
of buffalo, were blooming into national 
pasture fields and upon them it was easy and 
very profitable to raise and fatten cattle. 
Here was an exceptional opportunity, and' 
James W. Bosler was among the first to 
recognize and take advantage of it. He be- 
came one of the pioneer spirits in the new 
industry of raising cattle on the \Vestem 
ranges, invested in it heavily and reaped: 
golden profits by it. Besides being active in 
real estate, banking and cattle raising, he at 
times engaged in building operations and by 
contract erected both the public school build- 
ing and the jail of Sioux City. He also in- 
terested himself in politics and one year was 
the Democratic nominee for state treasurer 
of Iowa. He was not elected to this office,, 
but at another time was elected a member of 
the Iowa State Legislature, and in i860 was 
a delegate to the National Democratic Con- 
vention, held at Charleston, S. C, where "a 
distempered individual broke down one of 
the great parties of the country and made 
civil war inevitable." Having accumulated 
a large fortune, he carefully organized his. 
various interests, and in 1866 returned to his 
native county in Pennsylvania and made ar- 



2l6 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



rangenients for the domestic jieace and cijm- 
fort of his later years. He built himself a 
beautiful residence in the suburbs of Car- 
lisle, where, although still continuing his 
extensive business in the West, he resided 
until his death. After becoming permanent- 
ly settled at Carlisle, he became one of the 
most active and efficient promoters of busi- 
ness enterprises about his home. He helped 
to organize the Carlisle Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and was its first president ; he was a 
director in the Carlisle Deposit Bank, a di- 
rector of the Carlisle Gas & Water Company, 
and also owned extensive farm interests in 
dififerent parts of the county. He also was 
one of the incorporators of the Independent 
National Bank, of Philadelphia, and a di- 
rector of it until his death. His active, gen- 
erous spirit promoted business directly and 
indirectly, for he not only invested person- 
ally but freely and cheerfully extended finan- 
cial aid to persons who engaged in business, 
or bought property about him, and never dis- 
tressed them when adversity came. And 
when he gave it was with a liberal hand. At 
the centenary anni\'ersary of Dickinson Col- 
lege, in 1883, at a meeting of the trustees, he 
subscribed ten thousand dollars for the en- 
dowment of a Prof. McClintock chair. He 
died before this bequest was carried into 
execution, but after his death his widow, 
emphasizing her husband's generous motives 
seven-fold, gave to the institution the splen- 
did "James W. Bosler Memorial Hall," 
which now stands upon the college campus 
as a monument to his memorv. 

Early in his career James W. Bosler 
was a Democrat, but his associations and 
business relations during and immediately 
after the Civil war being largely with influ- 
ential Republicans, he about that time allied 
himself with the Republican party. Pos- 
sessed of wonderful resource and tact, and 



Ijeing a good judge of men, he was very use- 
ful to the organization and for years was 
much sought after in close and doubtful cam- 
paigns. He was in close touch with a large 
number of the most distinguished members 
of the party and was frequently entrusted 
with their most important political secrets. 
He was a warm personal friend of Hon. 
James G. Blaine, and at the Republican Na- 
tional Convention in 1880 was one of a com- 
mittee of three — the other two being John 
Roach, the shipbuilder, and Senator Chaffee, 
of Colorado — who had charge of Mr. 
Blaine's interests as a candidate for the 
Presidency. Mr. Blaine did not upon this 
occasion receive the nomination, but every 
time he made a campaign for the Presi- 
dency James W. Bosler was his unswerving 
friend, and not only contributed heavily 
himself, but made others give up to his 
measure. For this substantial friendship Mr. 
Blaine showed due appreciation all through 
life and when Mr. Bosler's remains were 
borne to the tomb he was a mourner at the 
side of his bier. Several years afterward, in 
writing to Mrs. Bosler, he said : "As the 
years go by I realize more and more how 
great was iny own loss in the death of your 
husband, and from that I can realize in 
some faint degree how inestimable was your 
affection. He was the dearest and most un- 
selfish of friends, and I keep his memory 
green in my heart." Although the friend 
he so loyally championed at the National 
Convention of 1880 was defeated, Mr. Bos- 
ler did not sulk or withhold his support from 
the nominee. He promptly went to the front 
and gave proof of the sincerity of his ac- 
quiescence by giving liberally to the cause. 
Through his example other men became 
equally generous, and to him, as much as to 
any man in the United States, the election of 
Gen. Garfield was due. One of the great 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



217 



public men in Pennsylvania that James W. 
Bosler was on intimate terms with was Ben- 
jamin Harris Brewster. He ranked high as 
a lawyer, had held important public positions 
and aspired to a cabinet position. In Decem- 
ber, 1 88 1, President Arthur appointed Mr. 
Brewster Attorney-General of the United 
States, and since his death extracts from let- 
ters written by him have been made public 
showing that he relied princijxdly upon* Mr. 
Bosler's influence to obtain the appointment 
to this high office. 

In 1882 Mr. Bosler was nominated by 
the Republicans of the 32d District, com- 
posed of the counties of Cumberland and 
Adams, for State senator. The district then 
was Democratic by about 1,800, and al- 
though he was not elected, Mr. Bosler re- 
duced this large majority to 136. His whole 
career shows that he cared more for the 
political success of his friends than he did 
for his own, and in public affairs he pre- 
ferred to act through others, yet, had he 
been elected State senator, there is reason 
to believe, that, with his great influence and 
extensive acquaintance with public men and 
public affairs, the public interests would 
have been well served. 

In i860 James W. Bosler married Helen 
Beltzhoover, daughter of Michael G. and 
Mary (Herman) Beltzhoover, of near Boil- 
ing Springs, Cumberland county. Going to 
the far west they began their married life in 
Sioux City and lived there for six years. On 
the completion of their new home at Carlisle 
they removed to it and there li\-ed the rest of 
their days. Mr. Bosler's end came suddenly 
on Monday, Dec. 17, 1883. He a few days 
l^efore had returned from an exhausting 
business trip and on the afternoon of the day 
named was in his office, on the beautiful 
grounds of his residence, when he was 



stricken down with apoplexy and died before 
he could be removed to his house. He was 
in the prime of life, in the floodtide of use- 
fulness, and his unexpected death was a 
shock to the entire community, and drew the 
warmest expressions of sympathy from far 
and near. Messages of regret and condolence 
came to the bereaved family from Charles 
B. Lore. James G. Blaine, Stephen B. El- 
kins, Thomas Beaver, Jacob Tome, Enoch 
Pratt and others of the same class, and in the 
immense throng at his funeral a few days 
afterward were .some of the most distin- 
guished men of the land. His wife, Helen 
(Beltzhoover) Bosler, died on Oct. 5, 1890, 
and their remains rest side by side in 
the family plat in Ashland cemetery. 

To James W. and Helen (Beltzhoover) 
Bosler five children were born, viz. : Charles, 
Frank C, Mary Eliza, DeWitt Clinton and 
Helen Louisa. Charles died in December, 
1870, in the seventh year of his age. D. 
Clinton was born April 25, 1873, graduated 
from Harvard College in 1897, and died 
Dec. 22, 1903. 

Frank C. Bosler was born May i, 1869, 
and graduated from Harvard College in the 
class of 1894, and, being the only son living, 
it is upon him that chiefly rests the responsi- 
bility of caring for the large estate that de- 
scended to him and his sisters from his 
father. He is largely interested in business 
enterprises and is a director in the Carlisle 
Deposit Bank, and the Farmers' Trust Com- 
pany of Carlisle, and is the principal owner 
in the Iron Mountain Ranch Company of 
Wyoming. Mary Eliza is the wife of Lewis 
S. Sadler, Esq., a member of the law firm 
of Sadler & Sadler, of Carlisle. Frank C. 
and Helen L. are unmarried, and all of them 
reside at "Cottage Hill," the beautiful home 
their father built in the suburbs of Carlisle 



2l8 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



in 1866. Like tlie family for generations 
past they adhere to the Presbyterian faith 
and are all members of the Second Presby- 
terian Church of Carlisle. 

JOSEPH BOSLER was born March 23, 
1838, and like many farmer boys alternated 
working upon the farm with attendance at 
the district school, and later was given the 
advantage of a course in the preparatory de- 
partment of Dickinson College. \\'hen he 
was fourteen he went to Columbiana county, 
Ohio, where he assisted his brother in a store, 
but after a few years returned home, and 
remained upon the farm until the outbreak 
of the Civil war, when he went West and 
located at Sioux City, Iowa. Later he was 
at Omaha, Neb., with his brother . James, 
filling contracts for Indian supplies for the 
Government. Again his heart turned toward 
Pennsylvania, and he settled in Carlisle, 
where he formed a partnership with his 
brother, J. Herman, in a grain, coal and 
flour business, which lasted eight years, 
when the young men sold out to their father 
and Mr. Dale. In the meanwhile Mr. Bosler 
was making annual trips to the West to look 
after his interests there, and when he dis- 
posed of his grain business he and his 
brother James established a cattle ranch at 
Big Bend on the Missouri river, in South 
Dakota, and conducted it for several years. 
Joseph Bosler then retired, and has so lived 
for the past fifteen years, but he has large 
realty holdings in Nebraska, the Dakotas and 
Virginia, and he is a director of the Car- 
lisle Deposit bank and of the Allen & East 
Pennsboro Fire Insurance Co. Politically, 
he is a Democrat, and he is very influential 
in the city. 

On Nov. 4. 1868, Mr. Bosler married 
Miss Sarah E. Lemen, of Berkeley countv, 
W. Va., a daughter of Thomas Newton and 



Margaret ( Billmyer) Lemen, both natives of 
Jefferson county, W. Va., the family being 
an old one in the State. Mrs. Bosler was 
reared in her nati\-e State, and was married 
there. Mr. and Mrs. Px^sler have six living 
children : Margaret, widow of John H. Mur- 
rav, of Milton, Pa., who was a native of 
Berlin, Germany, has one son, Samuel Wil- 
son Murray ; Joseph, Jr., who has lived in 
Nebraska since 1899, engaged in a real- 
estate and insurance business, graduated 
from Dickinson College and filled the ofifice 
of clerk in the revenue office at Lancaster, 
Pa., for five years before going W'est. where 
he is proving a very successful and enterpris- 
ing young man; E. Herman, an art student, 
graduated from the Art Students' League, 
of New York, and has also studied in Paris ; 
Mary is a graduate of the S. Weir Mitchell 
Hospital; Susan L. is at h(.inie; Newton L., 
a very promising j'oung fellow, is also at 
home. Two other children of this family 
died in childhood, Bessie L. and Catherine N. 
The family are all members of the Pres- 
byterian Church, with which they have been 
prominently connected for many years, and 
Mr. Bosler has well sustained the honor and 
prestige of his family. Needless to say that 
Mr. and Mrs. Bosler are among the most 
highly esteemed people of Carlisle, or that 
they are leaders in the best circle of social 
life. 

HON. HARRY MANNING. The 
^Mannings are of English descent and came 
to America at various times, some at a very 
early date. Capt. John Manning, a sol- 
dier in the British army, was at Boston as 
early as 1650. In 1664 he came to New- 
York, where later his government granted 
him the island in the East river that is now 
known as Blackwell's island. Formerly it 
was known as Manning's island. 



THE 'NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILDEN POIINBATIONB 

B «, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



219 



A Robert Manning, who was born at 
Salem, Mass., and died there in 1842, 
achieved great distinction as a poinologist. 
He had a sister EHzaljeth who became the 
mother of Nathaniel Hawthorne, who was 
educated at the expense of Mr. Manning. 

A William Manning who was born in 
England settled at Cambridge, Mass., in 
1692. He descended from an ancient fam- 
ily who had their origin in Saxony, Ger- 
many, and settled in England in tlie fourth 
century. This member of the family was 
extensively interested in navigation, was 
prominent in the church and became the 
founder of a large American posterity. He 
was one of the selectmen of Cambridge and 
by appointment of the Colonial government 
he and Deacon John Cooper directed the 
erection of Harvard hall, and collected and 
disbursed the moneys that were raised for 
its construction. 

A James Manning, who was born at 
Elizabeth, N. J., in 1738, graduated 
from Princeton with the second honors of 
his class, became a Baptist minister and 
figured prominently as a preacher and edu- 
cator in the colony of Rhode Island during 
the Revolutionary period. He represented 
Rhode Island in the Congress of the Con- 
federation after the Revolution and it was 
largely through his influence that Rhode 
Island eventually came into the Union. 

Randolph Manning, who was born in 
Plainfield, N. J., became a lawyer in New 
York City. He afterward settled in Pon- 
tiac, Mich., and was a delegate to the first 
Constitutional Convention of that State; 
also served as State senator, as secretary of 
State, as chancellor of the State and as 
associate justice of the Supreme court of 
the State. He was a descendant of Jeffrey 
Manning, who settled in New Jersey as 
early as 1676. 



Richard Irving Manning, who was born 
in Clarendon, S. C, in 1789, served as a 
captain in the war of 1812, as a member of 
the Legislature, and afterward became gov- 
ernor of South Carolina. While governor 
he entertained at his house Gen. LaFayette 
on the occasion of his second visit to this 
country. He afterward was elected Con- 
gressman and while holding that position 
died in Philadelphia in 1836. His wife tore 
the unusual distinction of being the wife of 
a governor, the sister of a governor, the niece 
of a governor, the mother of a governor, and 
the aunt and foster mother of a governor. 
Their oldest son married a daughter of Gen. 
Wade Hampton, served several years in the 
Assembly and Senate of South Carolina, and 
was elected governor in 1852. He was 3 
delegate to the convention that nominated 
Buchanan for the Presidency and a member 
of the committee that notified him of his 
nomination. Mr. Buchanan tendered him 
the mission to St. Petersburg, which he 
declined. In the Civil war he served on 
Gen. Beauregard's staff. In 1865 he was 
chosen United States senator, but was not 
permitted to take his seat. Lawrence Man- 
ning, the father of Richard Irving Man- 
ning, served in the Revolution under "Light 
Horse Harry" Lee, who mentions him in his 
"Memoirs." 

Thomas Courtland Manning, born in 
North Carolina, in 1831, became a lawyer 
and removed to Louisiana, where he had 
a distinguished and honorable career. In 
the Civil war he rose to the rank of lieu- 
tenant-colonel in the Confederate service, 
and later was appointed adjutant-general of 
the State with the rank of brigadier-general. 
In 1864 he was appointed an associate 
justice of the Supreme court of the State 
and served till the close of the war. In 
1876 he was vice president of the National 



220 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



convention that nominated Samuel J. Til- 
den; in 1877 he was appointed chief justice 
of the Supreme court, serving until in 1880. 
In 1882 he was a third time placed on the 
Supreme Bench and served until in 1886, 
when President Cleveland appointed him 
United States minister to Mexico, which 
post he held until his death, in 1887. 

A Jacob Alerrill Manning, born at 
Greenwood, N. Y.. in 1824, graduated at 
Amherst, became a distinguished clerg)-man 
in the Congregational church, and for a 
long time was pastor of Old South Church 
in Boston. He was chaplain to the Massa- 
chusetts State Senate, chaplain to the 43d 
Massachusetts Regiment in 1862-63, for six- 
years an overseer of Harvard, for seventeen 
years a trustee of the State library and for 
six years a lecturer at Andover Theological 
Seminary. He died in Portland, Maine, 
in 1882. 

Daniel Manning, born at Albany, N. Y., 
was educated in the public schools until in 
his twelfth year, when he entered the office 
of an Albany newspaper and rose step by 
step until he reached the position of presi- 
dent of the company that owned it. He also 
became director of several banks; president 
of the National Commercial Bank of Al- 
bany, and interested in a railroad. Becom- 
ing a leader in Democratic politics he rose 
to great prominence and influence and in 
1885 was appointed secretary of the treas- 
ury by President Cleveland. 

It is not the purpose of this article to 
show the relationship of these different 
branches of this distinguished family; but 
as it may l)e within the range of possibility 
to do so reference is made to them with the 
view of lending assistance to the genealo- 
gist of the future. Besides, it may also add 
interest to what the writer hereof has to 



relate about the Pennsyh-ania family that 
is the special subject of this sketch. 

The American progenitor of the Penn- 
sylvania Mannings settled in Lancaster 
county some time prior to the war of the 
Revolution. He married a lady of German 
ancestry and both lived in that part of the 
State to the end of their days. Among his 
children was a son George who was born in 
Manor township, Lancaster county, some- 
time between the years 1788 and 1790. 
He married Mary Kendig, a member of a 
representative Lancaster county family, and 
subsequently moved to the vicinity of Mid- 
dletown, Dauphin county. George and 
Mary (Kendig) ^Manning had the follow- 
ing children : John. Christian, Martin and 
Elizabeth. John, the oldest of these four 
children, was born in 1813. in Dauphin 
county. In 1832 he married Lydia Gulp, 
of Lancaster county, whose mother was a 
Boughter, and the member of a family who 
rendered valiant service in the war of the 
Revolution. Soon after his marriage he 
began farming and farmed upon his father's 
farm near Middletown until in 1837, when 
he moved to Silver Spring township, Cum- 
berland county, and followed farming there. 
In his latter years he engaged at milling 
with his son. He died on July 16, 1892; 
his wife, Lydia (Gulp) Manning, died June 
26, 1864, in the fifty-second year of her 
age, and the remains of both are buried in 
the graveyard of the Silver Spring Church. 
John and Lydia (Culp) Manning had seven 
children, viz.: Henry, born Oct. 29, 1834; 
Samuel, March 25, 1837 (died Jan. 20, 
1841) ; Abraham, in 1839 (married Emma 
Leeds, of Carlisle) ; John, in 1842 (married 
Emma Sanderson, of Newville) ; Sarah, in 
1846 (married William Hauck, of Silver 
Spring township; died in January, 1904) ; 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



221 



Lillie, in 1852 (married Levi Baer, of Silver 
Spring township), and J. Anderson, wlio 
married Lucy Clapper. With a single ex- 
ception all of their children were lx)rn in 
Silver Spring township, Cuml)crland county. 
Henry, the oldest child, was born near Mid- 
dletown, Dauphin county, and nearly all 
his life was popularly known as Harry 
Manning. His childhood and youth were 
spent with his parents upon the farm, do- 
ing such work as usually falls to the lot of 
farmer lx)ys and attending the country dis- 
trict school. When sixteen years of age 
he went to the milling trade, at which he 
served a two j-ears' apprenticeship. He then 
went to Ohio and there worked at milling 
a year. Returning to Cumlierland county, 
he worked a year in the mill of Thomas B. 
Bryson of Hampden township, and then 
began business on his own account at the 
Silver Spring Mill, located on the turn- 
pike a short distance east of Hogestovvn. 
He then was not yet twenty-ojie years old, 
but he applied himself so diligently and tried 
so hard to please that he from the very start 
made good progress. In 1862 he formed a 
partnership with J. H. Singiseo, of Me- 
chanicsburg, and bought the mill at the head 
of the Big Spring and jointly carried on a 
milling business there until in 1867, when 
Mr. ]\Ianning sold his interest to his partner 
and purchased the warehouse property at 
Oakdale. Here he engaged extensively in 
the grain and forwarding business, also 
handled coal and lumber, and achieved a 
wide reputation as an honorable and suc- 
cessful dealer. In 1891 he sold out at 
Oakville and a year afterward, with his 
son, entered upon the same line of business 
at Newville, where he continued until his 
death. 

Mr. Manning was essentially a busi- 
ness man, delighted in business, directed all 



his attention and energies upon his business 
enterprises and in every sense of the word 
was a successful business man. He was a 
Democrat both by inheritance and convic- 
tion, but up until in his latter years figured 
in politics only to serve his party and his 
friends. In the summer of 1896, after much 
pressure, he consented to stand as a candi- 
date for the Legislature. He was nomin- 
ated and elected and his official course was 
so satisfactory that two years afterward 
he was renominated and re-elected by a 
large vote. With the experience of his 
former term he returned to his post more 
zealous than ever to render to his con- 
stituency acceptable service, but just as the 
avenue was widening before him, beckon- 
ing him onward to greater usefulness and 
higher honors, an unseen hand stretched 
forth and removed him from earthly scenes 
fore\-er. He died at his home in Newville 
on Jan. 27, 1899, of pneumonia, after an 
illness of less than a week. His remains 
were interred on Jan. 30th in the cemetery 
of the Big Spring Presbyterian Church, the 
church with which he and his family affil- 
iated. Among the large concourse present 
to pay their last respects were special com- 
mittees from the Senate and House of Rep- 
resentatives at Harrisburg. besides many 
other members of both branches of the 
Legislature. The House subsequently held 
special memorial services, at which ad- 
dresses were made and resolutions passed 
expressive of the high esteem held regard- 
ing the deceased. The Democratic Stand- 
ing Committee of Cumberland county, at 
the first meeting it held after his death, also 
gave formal expression of the deceased's 
public services and high personal character. 
In person Mr. Manning was tall and 
spare, and in manner modest and reserved. 
He was not a product of the schools, but 



222 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



liis l(ing Inisiness experience and free inter- 
course with all classes of people gave him a 
training which served him well in whatever 
si)here he was called upon to act. He was 
not a man of many words, l)ut when he 
spoke he expressed himself with a dignity 
and deliberation that gave his words peculiar 
weight and secured respectful attention. 

On Feb. iS, 1862, ]\Ir. Manning was 
married to Margaret Beistline. at the hands 
of Rev. William H. Dinsmore. pastor of 
the Silver Spring Presbyterian Church. 
Margaret Beistline was a daughter of 
George and Sarah (Wynkoop) Beistline 
and a member of an old representative Sil- 
ver Spring family. To their union two chil- 
dren were born, both sons : George, born 
Nov. 20. 1862, who died Oct. 20, 1865 ; and 
Edgar S., who survives and with his mother 
comprises all that remains of the family of 
the late Hon. Harry Manning. 

HON. EDGAR STUART MAN- 
NING, son of Harry and Margaret (Beist- 
line) Manning, was born at Oakville, Cum- 
berland county, on Oct. 8, 1865. He grew 
to manhood in his native village and was 
educated in its public schools and in the 
Cumberland Valley State Normal School at 
Shippenslnu-g. Besides these scholastic ad- 
vantages he at the same time received a busi- 
ness training of a most practical kind. As 
soon as it was safe for him to go outside the 
front yard gate he was given the range of 
his father's office and warehouse, where he 
whiled away the leisure hours of his early 
years as in a iilayhouse, drinking in a 
knowdedge of his father's business in the 
way of entertainment and recreation. By 
the same natural and easy gradation came 
the practice, and by the time he reached the 
years of young manhood he, by taste, habit, 
education and inheritance, was a grain and 



forwarding merchant, and in every sense 
qualified Jo share the cares and responsibil- 
ities of his father. He was given an interest 
in the business, the firm becoming H. ]Man- 
ning & Son. Manning & Son remained at 
Oakville until 1891, when they sold out with 
a view of finding a field in wdiich they could 
operate upon a more extensive scale. In 
1S92 they located at Newville, where they 
purchased property and erected a large 
warehouse and elevator and the business 
has continued in successful operation ever 
since. Although the senior member of the 
firm died in 1900 the firm name is still H. 
Manning & Son, and has earned a perma- 
nent and honorable place in the business his- 
tory of the Cumberland Valley. 

In politics as in case of business the son 
followed in the footsteps of the father. He 
early espoused the cause of Democracy, 
promptly took rank with its most zealous 
young workers and when his father died 
was nominated for the vacancy in the lower 
house of the State Legislature caused by 
his death. Owing to the peculiar condition 
of State politics at the time extraordinary 
efforts were made to elect a Republican, yet 
Mr. Manning won by the phenomenal ma- 
jority of 1998 votes, the largest any candi- 
date of either party received in the county 
in many years. His public services began 
immediately and under exacting circum- 
stances. During his first term he served 
upon the committees on Elections, Corpora- 
tions. Law and Order and Judiciary Local, 
and was one of the most conspicuous young 
members of the House, notwithstanding 
the fact that it was his first term in the 
body. The following year he was re-nomin- 
ated and re-elected and in his second term 
served upon the following committees : Cor- 
porations, Education. Iron and Coal, Rail- 
roads and Judiciary Local. He was a mem- 





^H^ 




'-er 



THE HEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASrOR, LKNOX AND 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

B !< 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



223 



ber of the Pennsylvania Commission of the 
Louisiana Piircliase Exposition at St. 
L<niis : he also acted as a substitute for Com- 
missioner George R. Dixon, at the Charles- 
ton Exposition in 1901. He frequently 
takes extensive excursions during summer 
and has visitetl Colorado, California, Ore- 
gon, the Puget Sound country, Canada and 
other scenic sections. Fraternally he be- 
longs to the Masonic order, being a member 
of Cumberland Star Lodge, No. 197, F. 
& A. M., St. John's Chapter, No. 171, R. 
A. M., and St. John's Commandery, No. 8, 
K. T., of which he is a Past Commander, 
serving in the year 1902; Harrisburg Con- 
sistory, A. A. S. R., and Zembo Temple, 
Mystic Shrine. Harrisburg, Pa. ; he has at- 
tained to the thirty-second degree. He is 
also a member of Lodge No. 163, L O. O. 
F., of Newville, Pa.; Camp No. 413, P. 
O. S. of A., and Big Spring Council, No. 
1910, Royal Arcanum, and is District 
Deputy Grand Regent of the 32d district. 
Royal Arcanum, of Pennsylvania. 

JOHN BEETEM (deceased), a well- 
known resident of Centerville. Cumberland 
county, whose family still reside at that place, 
was born May 12, 1820, at Huntsdale, this 
county and was a son of Capt. Abram and 
Elizabeth (Smith) Beetem. Of their chil- 
dren we have record of Joseph, deceased, 
formerly of Carlisle ; Abram, of Carlisle ; 
Samuel, of North Middleton ; Miss Mary, of 
Carlisle, and Mrs. Daniel Sellers, of North 
^liddleton. 

John Beetem received only a common 
school education, and as he was but nine 
years of age when his father died he felt 
the responsibilities of life at an early age. 
When fifteen he entered upon an apprentice- 
ship to the carpenter's trade, which he fol- 
lowed for a number of years, becoming quite 



noted as a builder and contractor throughout 
Cumberland county and all this section. 
During that period he erected many of the 
finest barns in the county. For a time he 
was engaged in the grain business at Carlisle, 
and during the Civil war he did quite a lucra- 
tive business furnishing hay to the Govern- 
ment by contract. In his later years he fol- 
lowed the occupation of farming, settling on 
the farm at Centerville, where his widow and 
several of his children now make their home, 
and there he died April 2, 1898. The place 
comprises 148 acres of valuable land, and 
the dwelling is admirably situated, com- 
manding a beautiful view of South Moun- 
tain. The Philadelphia & Reading railroad 
skirts the farm. 

Mr. Beetem was twice married, his first 
union being with Elizabeth Ann Crebs, by 
whom he had the following named children : 
Catherine, now the wife of Charles L. Hal- 
bert, of Carlisle ; Abram Luther, of Car- 
lisle; William Elder, formerly of Philadel- 
phia, deceased ; and Laura, widow of Harry 
Evans, living in Carlisle. The mother of 
this family passed away Oct. 4, 1867, and 
on April 6, 1879, Mr. Beetem was united in 
marriage w'ith Miss Eliza Ann Fickel, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Hurd) 
Fickel, who lived at York Springs, Adams 
county, this state. Mr. and Mrs. Fickel are 
now deceased. Both were devout Chris- 
tians, holding to the doctrines of the Ger- 
man Reformed Church. Besides Mrs. 
Beetem they had the following named chil- 
dren : James Oliver, who is a resident of 
Adams county ; Silas Gilbert, of Adams 
county; Daniel Webster, of Adams county; 
John Conrad, who lives in Texas; Martha 
Jane, deceased, wife of Samuel Baker; 
Emma Catherine, wife of Charles Webb ; Ed- 
win Francis, living in Adams county ; and 
George Calvin, of York county. To John 



224 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



and Elizabeth Ann (Mckel) Beetem were 
born children as follows : Sarah May, who 
is a trained nurse in Philadelphia ; and Sam- 
uel, Charles Keller, Emma Jane, George 
Franklin and Harry Smith, all at home. 

Mrs. Beetem continues to worship in the 
Lutheran Cliurch at Centerville, of which her 
husband was long a prominent member, and 
it was he who gave the land upon which the 
present edifice of that congregation stands, 
same being a portion of the Beetem farm. 
He was well and favorably known all over 
this and adjoining counties, and was noted 
everywhere for honor and integrity in all 
his dealings. He was unselfish and kind- 
hearted, always ready to help his fellow men, 
and was sincerely mourned in many places 
outside of his home circle. He was laid to 
rest in Centerville cemetery. 

JOHN SCOTT STERRETT, who 
passed away Feb. lo, 1868, is still remem- 
bered among the older business men of Car- 
lisle and Cumberland county. Fie was born 
June 4, 1803, in Lancaster county, and there 
grew to manhood. His first business venture 
was merchandising in Mt. Joy. that county, 
and he was a man of thirty-five when he 
came to Cumberland county, wdiere he re- 
sided on the farm in Dickinson township 
now occupied by his children. This place 
came into the possession of its present own- 
ers (heirs and children of John Scott Ster- 
rett) through the mother, to whom it had 
been presented by her father, Capt. Samuel 
Woods, who was known as "the poor man's 
friend." Capt. Woods earned his title 
through service in the war of 1812. He 
was a prosperous, generous and kind-hearted 
man, and his death was sincerely mourned 
by scores of people, the friends wdio admired 
him and the numerous recipients of his be- 
nevolence. He married Lillias Ker. 



John S. Sterrett married Mary Jane 
Woods, daughter of Capt. Samuel and Lil- 
lias CKer) \Voods, and to this union were 
born the following named children : Lillias, 
who is living at the old home; Martha E., 
wife of A. booster ^Mullen, of Mt. Holly 
Springs, this county; Samuel Woods, of 
Rochester, N. Y., a lumber merchant; Mary 
E., at the old home; William Ker, who died 
in childhood; J. Thomas, deceased; J. Cal- 
vin, living retired at the old home; and Alice 
Irene, who died in childhood. The mother, 
who was a devout Christian woman, passed 
away Dec. 26, 1880. Mr. Sterrett was an 
earnest member of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle and a Christian who 
lived up to the principles he professed. He 
was well A-ersed in the Scriptures and made 
a practice of holding family worship in his 
home. 

Mr. Sterrett was well known in financial 
circles in Carlisle as a bank officer and organ- 
izer, and his ability and integrity in such 
matters were never questioned. 

ALBERT ALLEN LINE, a successful 
photographer at No. 18 West Main street, 
Carlisle, was born Jan. 20, 1850, in Dickin- 
son township, a son of Emanuel Line, Jr., 
and Catherine Ann (Myers) Line, the lat- 
ter a daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Hile- 
man) Myers. 

Peter Myers came from Germany and 
settled in Rossville, York Co., Pa., and there 
spent the remainder of his life, engaged at 
cabinetmaking ; he lived to an advanced age. 
He was a good citizen, a Christian man, 
and died full of years and the honor of a 
well-spent life. He was a consistent mem- 
ber of the Lutheran Church. 

Emanuel Line, Jr., was the son of 
Emanuel Line, Sr., who was born Dec. 5, 
1 78 1. He was regarded as a most worthy 





('7 



(^^^;-'^^^^*''^-'<^ a^ v^»,T_£^ 





"y / 



V:<?^ 



TfiE >fEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK, LENOX A NO 
MtDBN FOP.vrnTinNS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



225 



citizen, a kind and affectionate parent, an 
obliging and prudent neighbor, and, in his 
dealings with men, just and fair. He be- 
came a member of the church in early life, 
and ever remained a consistent and faithful 
Christian. He died in his seventieth year. 
Elizabeth Myers, born Jan. 12, 1786, was 
married to Emanuel Line March 20, 1806, 
and this union was blessed with three sons, 
Abraham M., William and Emanuel, Jr., 
and two daughters, Maria and Jnliann. 

Emanuel Line, Jr., was born in Dickin- 
son township, on what is known as the 
Savannah farm, April 15, 1S18, and spent 
his life there until the spring of 1868, when 
he came to Carlisle; he died in this town 
Oct. 20, 1 87 1. During his active j-ears he 
was a farmer. He obtained his education 
in the local schools. This most excellent 
man lived a good, honest life and set an ex- 
ample to his son and those who came after 
him. In politics he was a Democrat and re- 
vered the memory of Andrew -Jackson. In 
1845 he married Catherine Ann Myers, who 
was born in Rossville. York county, Pa., 
April 15, 1820, and died Aug. 13, 1869. 
She was a member of the First Lutheran 
Church of Carlisle. Three children were 
born of this union, namely : Elizabeth, who 
died young; Catherine, who died young; 
and Albert Allen, our subject. Mrs. Line 
was one of the good Samaritans in her com- 
munity, always willing to assist in alleviat- 
ing the sufferings of humanity, spending 
much of her time in the sickroom of her 
neighbors, with that helpfulness that 
brought many safely through the most criti- 
cal periods of sickness. Her Christian 
benevolence entered into many lives, which 
were always gladdened by coming to the 
door of her home. 

Albert Allen Line was educated in the 
district schools and Dickinson Commercial 

15 



College, at Carlisle, and prepared for Dick- 
inson College, but on account of poof 
health he gave up this project. However, 
he is a graduate of the Chautauqua Literary 
and Scientific Circle, Vincent class, 1883. 
In 1869 he took up the study and practice 
of photography with Dr. C. L. Lochman, 
who was one of the leading photographers 
of that day, and has made it his life work, 
although he also superintends his farming 
and fruit growing on the old homestead. In 
his photographic work he includes a num- 
ber of its many branches, but takes greatest 
delight in outdoor pliotography, seeking the 
beauties of nature, and loving to catch her 
choicest vistas and enchanting scenes in 
the midst of her solitude. In 1884, i" com- 
pany with Prof. Charles F. Himes, Ph. D.. 
he assisted in establishing a Summer School 
of Amateur Photography at Mountain Lake 
Park, Md., and after two years he was 
called to assume sole charge, and has con- 
tinued it ever since. Mr. Line has been 
connected with the Y. M. C. A. at Carlisle 
since 1868 and has served faithfully as sec- 
retary and president for a portion of the 
time, and he is also on the board of man- 
agers. In church work he is connected with 
the First Lutheran Church, and has been 
since i86q, and he has served for many 
years in the council of that body, acting as 
president for a number of years, as well as 
superintendent of the Sunday-school: he 
was assistant superintendent for years, and 
superintendent for a period of twenty-one 
years. Mr. Line was one of the organizers 
of the Cumberland Valley Sabbath School 
Assembly, serving as secretary of the organ- 
ization for fifteen years. In 1885, when 
Hon. W. F. Sadler was elected President 
Judge of Cumberland county, Mr. Line was 
called to fill the unexpired term of Judge 
Sadler on the school board of Carlisle and 



226 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



■was afterward elected, and re-elected, serv- 
ing for a period of thirteen years; for a 
great part of the time he acted as financial 
secretary to the board. In 1878 Mr. Line 
was chosen as a member of the board of 
directors in the Farmers Bank of Carlisle, 
and served in that capacity for more than 
twenty-one years, when he resigned. He 
was also one of the organizers of the Cum- 
berland County Temperance Alliance and 
served as secretary to this organization for a 
number of years. 

On Oct. 12, 1876, Mr. Line was united 
in marriage with i\Iiss ALary L. Johnson, a 
daughter of Samuel A. Johnson, of Phila- 
delphia, Pa. iNIrs. Line was a consecrated 
Christian lady, always ready to assist in 
missions of mercy, caring for the needy, 
and living for the Christian welfare of hu- 
manity, and her beautiful Christian spirit 
drew many to her assistance in the work 
for the Master's kingdom. At the age of 
twenty-three years, on Christmas Day, 1877, 
she passed away, deeply mourned by her 
family and large circle of friends. 

Mr. Line is one of the progressive, pub- 
lic-spirited business men of Carlisle, whose 
time is not so occupied, however, that he 
cannot assist in good works, or show forth 
in his life the faith he supports so stren- 
uously and liberally. 

ABRAHAM L. ROHLAND. For over 
twenty-two years Silver Spring township has 
had a farmer dwelling in its midst, a man 
highly respected by a wide circle of friends, 
and a man who for a decade after a happy 
marriage, followed his trade of a carpenter 
before settling down to the life of a farmer. 
A life-long Republican, he has helped to 
elect many of the candidates of its party, but 
has never accepted offite himself. The farm 
owned and operated by the gentleman of 



whom we write. Al)raham L. Rohland, con- 
sists of 150 acres of land, ninety of which has 
been brought to a hig'h state of cultivation, 
and the remaining acres are in valuable 
timber. The buildings upon it are new, and 
the entire place is in the excellent condition 
which bespeaks good management. 

Abraham L. Rohland was born in Lon- 
donderry, Lebanon Co., Pa., Xov. 22, 1843. 
His paternal grandfather, Jacob Rohland, 
was born and reared in Lebanon county, and 
there followed farming. His maternal grand- 
father was Joseph ^\'alters who was also a 
farmer of Lebanon county. Jacob Rohland 
married Catherine Boltz, daughter of J. C. 
Boltz of Lebanon county. Six children were 
born of this marriage: Henry; Abraham 
married Mary Jane Miller, of Dauphin 
county, and had no children; Jacob married 
a !Miss Linsley, had three sons and four 
daughters : ]\Iary married William Bealey, 
of Dauphin county, and had one child, Cur- 
tis ; Miss Jane ; Kate married Paul Linnell, 
of Dauphin county, and had no children. 

Henry Rohland. father of our subject, 
was born in Lebanon county and was there 
educated in the common schools, and at the 
same time learned the trade of carpenter and 
cabinetmaker. He followed these callings 
for about twenty years, and then began 
farming. In 1838, he married Lydia Wal- 
ters, daughter of Joseph and Polly Walters, 
of Lebanon county, and the following chil- 
dren were born of this marriage : John, now 
residing at Harrisburg, married Caroline 
Shuey, of Lebanon county, and has one child, 
Edward, unmarried and living at home ; Ab- 
raham L. ; Alelinda married Henry Beaver, 
of Dauphin county, and has one child, 
Emma; Alfred, unmarried, is a resident of 
Lebanon county. 

Abraham L. Rohland received his edu- 
cation in the common schools of his native 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



227 



county, which he attended until he was 
tweh'e years of age, when he moved to 
Daupliin county, and there went to scliool 
until he was seventeen, at which time he 
learned to be a carpenter and painter with his 
father, and continued along these lines for 
twenty years. 

On March 13, 1873, ]\Ir. Rohland was 
married to Miss Barbara Stouffer, daughter 
of Jacob and Barbara (Ebersole) Stouffer, 
of Dauphin county. Children as follows were 
born to them: Clarence died in childhood; 
Anna married David Shearer, of Mechanics- 
burg, and has two children ; Walter died in 
infancy; Miss Grace is at home; Walter is a 
saddler located at Bridgeport, Conn., and is 
unmarried; Ida married Edward Richmond, 
of Perry county, and has two children, Anna 
and Daisy, both at home ; Alice married Jo- 
seph Entzmere, of Perry county; Elmer is 
unmarried and at home ; John died in child- 
hood; and Misses Agnes and Mary are at 
home. The family are all members of the 
Lutheran Church. 

JOSEPH McCORD MEANS, known 
as "McCord Means," the tenth child of a 
family of thirteen born to Joseph McCord 
Means, known as "Squire Means," and Jane 
Woods, his wife, was born at Newburg, 
Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, May 22, 
1834, being the third child of this name in 
this family. The first of this name was 
drowned in his third year and the second 
lived but three months. John, his eldest 
brother, died in early manhood unmarried. 
Three brothers died in infancy. The nine 
remaining children, five boys and four girls, 
lived to maturity, married and raised fami- 
lies, and remained within the limits of Cum- 
berland and Franklin counties, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

The tradition that has passed from one 



generation to the next among the descend- 
ants of John Means, who is said to have set- 
tled in Bucks county. Pa., about the year 
1720, that three Means brothers came to 
this country from Ireland together and set- 
tled in what was then one of the three coun- 
ties that William Penn organized in 1682, 
seems to be confirmed by the records of 
Bucks and Dauphin counties. Pa. It is 
probable that they were of the second colony 
of Scotch-Irish that landed at Boston in the 
year 17 18 — the first, known as the London- 
derry colony of 319 families, which sailed in 
five vessels from Londonderry, Ireland, in 
March of that year ; the second colony 
landed at Boston Oct. 14, 1 718. It is known 
that some of these colonists settled in Penn- 
sylvania after having wintered at Boston 
and it seems probable that the Means broth- 
ers were among the latter colony. George 
Means, of Clarion county. Pa., wrote in , 
1853 that John Means and family of chil- 
dren came from County Fermanagh, Ireland, 
It is now known that John Means died near 
Makefield, Bucks Co., Pa., in 1739, and 
Hugh Means died near Bensalem, in same 
county, in 1745, and Samuel Means died in 
Dauphin Co., Pa., in 1746. Robert Means, 
who also came over in 171 8 and wintered at 
Falmouth, now Portland, Maine, and died 
at Old Orchard, Maine, Dec. 29, 1769, in 
his eightieth year, may have been another 
brother, but the relationship cannot now be 
ascertained. 

The will of Samuel Means was probated 
in Harrisburg, Pa., March 9, 1746. It men- 
tions his wife Grizzle, who is made one of 
the executors, his daughters Nellie, Marga- 
ret, Jane and Isabella, and his sons Andrew, 
Samuel, Adam and John. There is a tradi- 
tion in this family that two girls, Martha 
and Mary Means, were captured by the In- 
dians. The men of the family were all away 



228 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



at the time; the home was burned and an 
infant child of one of the sisters was dashed 
to pieces before their eyes. The mother 
could not travel fast enough and she was 
cruelly put to death. The sisters were com- 
pelled to marry Indians who entertained 
themselves and their friends by hearing the 
sisters sing. They often sang the 137th 
Psalm, which is very applicable to their case. 
One task imposed upon them was the gath- 
ering of wood, which enabled them to leave 
camp for some time. They finally conceived 
the idea of escaping by means of this absence. 
They built a rude shelter of branches, and 
every time they went out carried something 
along, staying away a little longer than 
usual and making some excuse on their re- 
turn until at last they escaped and in time 
came back to their own people. These 
names are not mentioned in Samuers will. 
Samuel Means died Feb. 26, 1746, and his 
wife Grizzle in November of the same year. 
John Means, the youngest child of this 
couple, and the grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in 1745. He mar- 
ried Martha Ramsav, one of the first mem- 
bers of Donegal Church, lived in Dauphin 
county, Pa., and died Oct. 3, 1795, and is 
buried in the church-yard at Paxton, near 
Harrisburg, and his grave is marked with a 
tombstone. In 1798 his widow moved to a 
farm near Library, Allegheny county. Pa., 
and died Sept. 13, 1849, aged nearly ninety- 
eight years. 

The will of John Means is on record in 
Dauphin county, Pa. He was one of the 
subscribers to the first church built at Pax- 
ton (Peixtan, Peshtank) or Paxtang). He 
was known as "John Means of Swatara." 
He was a private in Capt. Joseph Sherer's 
Company, of Col. James Burd's Battalion 
of the organized "Associators" of Lancaster 
county, Pa., which company was in active 



service during the whole of the spring and 
summer campaign of 1776, and a number of 
the men were wounded in a skirmish with a 
party of British cavalry near Ambov, N. J. 
[Pa. Archives, 2d Series, Vol. XIII, 309- 
10.] He was a private in the company of 
Capt. John Murray of Paxtang township, of 
the Second Battalion — Lieutenant Col. Dan- 
iel Broadhead's — of the Pennsylvania Rifle 
Regiment, which took part in the battle of 
Long Island, Aug. 27, 1776. [Pa. Archives, 
2d Series, Vol. X, 193-219.] He was at 
home in 1778 and took and signed the oath 
of allegiance to the State of Pennsylvania, 
prescribed by the Act of Assembly of June 
^3i ^777- [P'"^- Archives, 2d Series, Vol. 
XIII, 395-6.] Subsequently he was a mem- 
ber of Capt. Samuel Cochran's Company of 
the Tenth — Col. Robert Elder's — Battalion 
of Lancaster county. Pa. Militia. [Pa. Ar- 
chives, 2(1 Series, Vol. XIII, 387-9.] In 
1 78 1 he enlisted in Capt. Campbell's Com- 
pany of the Pennsylvania Line, and formed 
part of Col. Thijmas Craig's detachment, 
which marched for Yorktown, Va., in the 
fall of 1 78 1, and thence to Georgia and 
North Carolina, taking part in Gen. Greene's 
southern campaign of 1782, and returning 
by sea to Pennsylvania in 1783. [Pa. Ar- 
chives, 2d Series, Vol. X, 382-390.] 

Joseph McCord Means, the youngest 
child of "John Means of Swatara," and the 
father of the subject of this sketch, was born 
Feb. 10, 1796. His history is related in the 
sketch in this publication entitled James 
Ramsey Means. Such were the antecedents 
of the Means family of Cumberland county. 
Pa. — men and women of Scotch-Irish lin- 
eage and Presbyterian faith. 

Tlie early education of McCord IMeans 
was such as could be obtained in the Dublic 
school of his native village. Born in the 
year the "Common School" Act was passed. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



229 



it is not strange that at his arrival at school 
age such an institution should be found in a 
Scotch-Irish Presbyterian community. The 
building — octagonal in shape — is still stand- 
ing in Newburg. Originally the pupils sat 
facing the outer wall, but later this was. 
changed and the pupils sat facing inward 
with a writing desk in front — the smaller 
children being seated on low benches within. 



Here, when not 



engaged 



in grinding 



took 

his 

The 



bark in his father's tanyard, Mr. Means 
gained some knowledge and the rudiments 
of an education. The school generation of 
to-day can form little correct idea of the 
conditions surrounding village life even 
so limited a ' number of years ago. 
The shoemaker came to the home, 
his measures, and made the shoes, 
liench being placed in the kitchen, 
clothing was made from what 
they called "thick cloth." The wool, after 
being carded at the mill into rolls, was spun 
into yarn and woven into cloth by his mother 
and sisters. Four miles away, at Middle 
Spring, was the church. In good weather 
he and his brothers walked to church. He 
says, "It was not safe not to listen to the 
sermon when there, as father always exam- 
ined us on where the text was and how many 
heads Rev. John Moodey divided his sermon 
into and what he said on firstly, secondly, 
etc., until he got through." The father's 
training, the pastor's teaching and the pious 
mother's example, with the blessing of the 
Spirit, led Mr. Means to unite with this 
church at an early age and he has remained 
a member of this denomination to this day. 
That with these early settlers, the fact that 
their religion, although perhaps stern and in 
keeping with the difficulties of their sur- 
roundings, was to them real and worthy of 
the Divine source they recognized, is too 
well attested to need weak words here. One 



of the writer's earliest recollections is of 
standing in the family pew in this same Mid- 
dle Spring Church and hearing this sainted 
grandmother raise her thin and quavering 
voice in praise to one she knew would hear, 
receive and answer. In 1856 he moved with 
his brother James to South Middleton town- 
ship, and worked on a farm, remaining until 
1861, when he moved to his father's farm 
near Shippensburg. In 1863 he built the 
new buildings on land purchased in Frank- 
lin county, just across the Middle Spring 
from this property. It was customary when 
possible, as in this case, to cut the timber 
for these large bank-barns in the vicinity, 
haul it to the spot and frame it on the 
ground. This remained the homestead until 
1 899, when he moved into Shippensburg, and 
later built a house on the west side of Nor- 
mal avenue. From 1856 to 1899 Mr. Means 
carried on practically the work of farming. 
In the earlier portion of this period but little 
improved farm machinery was in use. Nor 
would it have been possible to use much of 
it in the then broken condition of the ground. 
By untiring effort] the land was brought 
under cultivation and the rocks, stumps and 
stones removed, making it possible to intro- 
duce much new farm machinery as brought 
into general use. 

On Dec. 9, 1858, Joseph McCord Means 
and Catherine Eliza McClelland were united 
in marriage at the McClelland homestead, 
near Upper Strasburgh, Franklin county. 
Pa., this being the second union between 
members of the Means and McClelland 
families. To them were born the following 
five sons and two daughters : John McClel- 
land, Joseph Chalmers, Jane Agnes, Thomas 
Cummins, Charles McCord, James Smith 
and Martha Isabella, all of whom ^re living 
except Thomas Cummins, who died in in- 
fancy. For almost forty-three years. 



230 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



through the joys and trials incident to the 
times and circumstances, this couple lived 
and labored together. On Sept. 3, 1901, 
the union was sundered by death and the 
earnest, unselfish, truly Christian wife and 
mother passed to her reward and was laid to 
rest in Spring Hill cemetery at Shippens- 
burg. 

Beyond that which attends the quiet 
efforts of the upright citizen Mr. Means's 
best work lias been in behalf of education. 
For a number of years he was school direc- 
tor in Southampton township, Franklin 
Co., Pa., ani.l during his incumltency by his 
interest and example, both with his fellow 
directors and with the patrons, did much to 
raise the standard of work and attainment 
in this section. In May, 1873, he was ap- 
pointed a State trustee of Cumberland Val- 
ley State Normal School and served on 
the Committee of House, Buildings and 
Grounds, and from 1874 to 1895 on the 
Discipline and Instruction Committee. Fol- 
lowing a most successful and auspicious 
early career there came to this institution a 
period requiring effort and wise determina- 
tion of a high order to pilot it through finan- 
cial and other shoals. Mr. Means gave with- 
out any financial return his time and best 
efforts to the upbuilding upon a stable finan- 
cial, and a practical educational, basis of this 
institution. When, as here, strong-minded 
men are pitted against each other, differ- 
ences of opinion must exist. The unbiased 
historian summing up this period will with- 
out question give Mr. Means credit for hon- 
esty of intention, firmness of conviction and 
strength of character to stand for his opin- 
ions. The subsequent success of the institu- 
tion seems to speak for the correctness of 
the views for which he and those with him 
stood. Since 1895 Mr. Means has been the 
institution's treasurer. But it was not only 



in this public capacity that he exhibited his 
strong desire to impress the need of an edu- 
cation. At no little sacrifice of time and 
money each child was sent to school and 
kept in school. Feeling the lack of this early 
training himself, recognizing its value and 
availability, he left no suitable oppurtunitv 
pass to impress these needs upon his chil- 
dren, and to give them every opportunity 
within his power. As elsewhere stated Mr. 
Means has been a lifelong member of the 
Presbyterian Church, first at ]\Iiddle Spring 
and later at Shippensburg. In both churches 
he served at different periods as trustee. 

On March 5, .1903, Mr. Means took to 
wife in a second marriage umon Miss Danna 
McCullough, of near Newville. She is the 
daughter of James McCullough and his wife 
Jane Hays, and was born Oct. 15. 1846. 

Such, briefly, is the life of Joseph Mc- 
Cord Means. For over the allotted three 
score years and ten he has lived virtually in 
this one community ; a stern man of strong 
convictions and high ideals ; a man not easily 
known nor always understood ; a faithful 
and loving husband and father ; a Christian 
citizen. 

JOSEPH F. BARTON, A. M., Sc. D.. 
Vice-Principal and Professor of Natural 
Sciences of the Cumberland Valley State 
Normal School, at Shippensburg, is one of 
the leading educators of the State. He was 
born Oct. 11, 1851, at Derry Station, West- 
moreland county. Pa., the eldest of the ten 
children of Baltzer E. and Nancy (Chilcote) 
Barton. The other children were : Dr. 
George C, who is Dean of the Medical De- 
partment of Hamline University and Pro- 
fessor of Gynecology of the same institu- 
tion, Gynecologist to the Minneapolis City 
Hospital, to the St. Barnabas and Swedish 
Hospitals; Elijah, a prominent attorney of 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



22>i 



Minneapolis, Minn. ; Humphrey, one of the 
leading attorneys of St. Paul ; John C, 
household decorator and furnisher at Seat- 
tle, Wasli. ; \\\ P. Barton, Secretary Board of 
Charities and Corrections and Superintend- 
ent of the Poor, Minneapolis; Rebecca, wife 
of William Bohn, of North Yakima, Wash. ; 
Malinda, wife of W. B. Watt, of North 
Yakima ; C. Albert, assistant manager 
Northland Pine Co. and Mississippi and 
Rum Riyer Boom Co., at Minneapolis; 
and Adeline, who married W. B. Dudley, of 
North Yakima, Wash. Baltzer E. Barton, 
the father, died in August, 1895, but the 
mother still survives. 

While young Dr. Barton accompanied 
his parents when they removed to Fulton 
county, Pa., and there was educated in a 
private school until he became a student at 
Rainsburg, Bedford county. For two years 
after leaving school he engaged in teaching 
in both Fulton and Bedford counties, and 
was principal of the Hopewell -public schools. 
In 1 88 1 he had so gained the confidence of 
the public that he was elected county super- 
intendent of Fulton county for a term of 
three years, and a merited re-election caused 
him to fill that responsible position for six 
consecutive years. At the expiration of this 
time, in 1887, he was elected a professor in 
the Cumberland Valley Normal School, in 
his second year being given the chair of 
Natural Science. 

Dr. Barton was well equipped for such 
honor, having graduated in 1874 from this 
institution, later taking the degree of A. M. 
at Mercersburg College, and the honorary 
degree of Doctor of Science in 1894, at 
Franklin & Marshall College, at Lancaster. 
Pa. He has long been classed with the 
State's scholarly men, and was one of a com- 
mittee of three appointed to examine and 
pass upon school work from Pennsylvania 



sent to the World's Fair at Chicago, in 
1893. 

Dr. Barton has been identified with the 
Democratic party, has served as chairman 
of the Democratic County Committee of 
Fulton county, and as a member of 
the Democratic State Central Committee. 
He fills many lecture engagements at the 
various county institutes in the State, in 
which work he is particularly happy and suc- 
cessful. However, a part of his vacation is 
always devoted to his relatives in Minneap- 
olis, where he is a very much loved mem- 
ber of the home circle. There he has mem- 
bership with the First Presbyterian Church. 
Fraternally, Dr. Barton is a Mason of high 
degree, being affiliated with Lodge No. 315, 
Shippensburg ; George Washington Chapter, 
No. 176, R. A. M. ; Continental Command- 
ery. No. 56, K. T. ; and is a member of 
Zembo Temple, A'. A. O. N. M. S., of Har- 
risburg. Pa. He also belongs to Cumberland 
Valley Lodge, L O. O. F. it 

GEORGE B. COLE, of Shippensburg, 
was born Nov. 6, 1835, at Freemansburg, 
Pa., a son of Jacob B. and Mary Ann (Mes- 
senkop) Kohl. The Kohl family is of Ger- 
man-Holland extraction and the grandpar- 
ents of our subject were Jacob and Eliza- 
beth (Buck) Kohl, of Nockaniixon, Bucks 
Co., Pa. Jacob B. Kohl was a coachmaker 
by trade. He died in Bucksville,Pa., July 18, 
1838, in his thirty- fourth year, and is buried 
in the grave yard attached to St. John's 
Church, Haycock, Pa. The mother of our 
subject was a daughter of George Messen- 
kop, a prominent citizen of Lancaster, who 
for a long time was city treasurer. She died 
in 1888. 

George B. Cole, while living in Baltimore, 
in 1857, changed the spelling of his name 
from Kohl to Cole, on account of mail com- 



232 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



plications. He was educated in the public 
schools of Lancaster and then came to Ship- 
pensburg, where he attended the academy. 
In 1852 he entered the employ of Arnold & 
Co., dry-goods merchants, as a clerk, later 
pttrchasing an interest in the establishment, 
and the name became D. W. Totten & Co. 
Later he sold his interest to Dr. Alexander 
Stewart, and, in i860, embarked in the ])oot, 
shoe and hat business^ which he continued 
for over thirty years, doing a most success- 
ful business, having the leading establish- 
ment in this line of trade. 

In 1895 Mr. Cole, with Col. J. A. Knn- 
kel, of New York, organized the Shippens- 
burg Odorless Cold Storage Egg Case 
Filler Alanufactnrnig Co., associating with 
them prominent business men. Mr. Cole is 
secretary, treasurer and general manager of 
this company. The business is in a flourish- 
ing condition, a large force being employed^ 
and they have a large trade in this and 
foreign countries. Besides his interest in 
this company, Mr. Cole is a stockholder 
and one of the directors of the People's Na- 
tional Bank of Shippensburg ; vice-president 
of the Shippensburg Gas & Electric Co. : a 
member of the board of trustees of the Cum- 
berland Valley State Normal School; a di- 
rector in the Baltimore & Cumberland Val- 
ley Railroad Company, a branch of the 
Wabash System ; a member and president of 
the city council ; and was at one time a mem- 
ber of the school board. 

In 1856 Mr. Cole married Miss Eliza- 
beth Trone, of Shippensburg, daughter of 
George Trone. At her early death she left 
one daughter, Anna, who married Dr. Clark 
Cramer, of Newburg, Pa. Mr. Cole mar- 
ried (second) Miss Mary E. Gish, also of 
Shippensburg, daughter of John and Lydia 
Gish, and six children were born to the 
union, two of whom are deceased; Katie is 



the wife of S. \V. Means, of St. Paul, 
Minn. ; Lou M. is the wife of Jacob H. 
Stoner, cashier of the People's Bank of 
\Vayiiesbor,i, Pa. ; Edith is at home; George 
is in the employ of the Bell Telephone Com- 
pany. 

Fraternally Mr. Cole is a member of 
Cumberland Valley Masonic Lodge, No. 
315; St. John's Chapter; and St. John's 
Commandery, Knights Templar ; and is also 
a member of the Scottish Rite branch in 
Philadelphia. He is one of the leading cit- 
izens of .Shippensburg and the owner of 
property in the town and vicinity, and is 
considered a man of progressive ideas and 
much public spirit. 

JOHN DEPPEN GREYBILL. Con- 
spicuous among Carlisle's energetic and en- 
terprising business men is the merchant 
miller whose name introduces this sketch. 
He was born at Abbeville, on the Little 
Conestoga creek, one mile west from Lan- 
caster city, on Sept. 27, 185 1. 

According to tradition there came from 
Switzerland at an early date six Greybill 
brothers, who settled in different parts of 
Lancaster county. All of them were Men- 
nonites and brought with them the habits of 
industry and frugality characteristic of that 
sect. One of these six brothers, John Grey- 
bill, settled in Heidelberg township, Lan- 
caster (now Lebanon) county, where he 
purchased 600 acres of land. Here, on April 
25, 1748, was born John D. Greybill's great- 
grandfather, Michael Greybill, who married 
Anna Brubaker, born Jan. 29, 1 756. Michael 
and Anna (Brubaker) Greybill had seven 
daughters and one son. The son was born 
on Dec. 18, 1789, in Heidelberg township, 
and was named John. This John Grevbill, 
on reaching manhood, married Susanna 
Brubaker, who was born June 20, 1791. 



TBE ^E\V YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 
TU-DEiV FOn.ND.iTIONS 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



233 



John and Susanna fBrubaker) GrcylMll 
lived all their days in Heidelberg township, 
and among their other children had a son 
named Henry Brnbaker Greybill, who was 
born Oct. 15, 1825, grew to manhood in 
Heidelberg township, and learned the mill- 
ing trade. He married Elizabeth Royer 
Deppen, who was born Dec. 8, 1826, a 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Royer) 
Deppen, of near Wernersville, Berks county. 
Samuel Deppen's family was among the 
early settlers of Berks county. Mary Royer's 
parents were from the vicinity of Ephrata, 
Lancaster county, and belonged to the Ger- 
man Baptist Church. By occupation both 
the Deppens and Royers were farmers. 

About the year 1849 Henry B. Greybill 
bought of Mrs. Livergood a gristmill located 
on the Little Conestoga creek, one mile west 
of Lancaster city. The mill stands where 
the Columbia Turnpike crosses that stream, 
and is an historical landmark, as it was built 
in 1 71 7 by John Brubaker, the great-grand- 
father of Susanna Brubaker, who married 
John Greybill. Here he lived and engaged at 
milling for three years, and then sold out and 
bought a mill situated on the Conestoga, in 
West Earl township. The West Earl mill 
was another historical landmark, having 
been built as early as 1767. On moving to 
his West Earl purchase Mr. Greybill en- 
gaged in various enterprises, including mill- 
ing, farming and merchandising. He was 
a business man in the fullest sense of the 
term, centered all his energies upon his busi- 
ness enterprises, and naturally was success- 
ful and prosperous. He died in October, 
1894, but his wife, at this writing, is still 
living. 

Henry B. and Elizabeth R. (Deppen) 
Greybill had children as follows : Emma, 
who died at three years of age ; John Dep- 



pen, the subject of this sketch ; Samuel D., 
who is farming the homestead farm in West 
Earl township, and Rufus D., who is a miller 
and is operating the old mill which his father 
purchased in West Earl in 1852. 

John D. Greybill, the eldest son, was 
educated in the common schools, and at the 
Millersville State Normal School, where he 
spent one term. He inherited business en- 
terprise and early directed his attention into 
business channels. In 1873 he rented his 
father's mill and began milling on his own 
account. He was making fair progress, but 
was anxious to do better. Early in the year 
1875, in the banking house of Blair & Shenk, 
in Lancaster city, he saw an advertisement of 
a large mill property for sale at Middlesex, 
Cumberland county. He looked it over, be- 
came interested and called his father's atten- 
tion to it. After some consideration they 
came to Middlesex and investigated, and on 
April 6, 1875, bought the property. That 
same spring John D. Greybill took charge 
of the new mill, which he operated for seven 
years. Like the two mills with which he 
previously was associated the Middlesex mill 
was a famous historical landmark. It was 
built long before the war of the Revolution 
by John Chambers, from whom it descended 
to his sons, who conveyed it to Robert Cal- 
lendar. Callendar was an Indian trader in 
this section prior to the formation of Cum- 
berland county, and rich and prominent. 
Robert Callendar died in 1776 and in the 
hands of his executors the property was sold 
at sheriff's sale, being purchased by Ephraim 
Blaine, who was the great-grandfather of the 
late James G. Blaine. Ephraim Blaine de- 
vised it to his grandson, Ephraim L. Blaine, 
who in 1 818 sold it to Judge James Hamil- 
ton, whose executors sold it to Charles B. 
Penrose, grandfather of present United 



234 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



States Senator Boies Penrose, whose ex- 
ecutrix sold it to Jacob Stouffer, whose as- 
signs sold it to the Greybills. 

In 1879 John D. Greybill visited the Mil- 
lers' Expositirm lield in Cincinnati, and new 
processes there exhibiterl convinced him that 
a new epoch in milling had arrived and that 
to succeed millers would have to adopt these 
new inventions. He acted promptly. In 
1882 he and the late Charles R. Woodward 
formed a partnership, and in Carlisle built 
the first roller mill that was erected in the 
Cumberland Valley. It is of one hundred 
and fifty barrel capacity and besides being 
the first roller mill also enjoys the distinctiot. 
of being the largest merchant mill in the val- 
ley. The firm at first w^as composed of 
Charles R. \\'oodward. John D. Greybill and 
John G. Robb, all of Carlisle, and known by 
the name of Woodward, Greybill & Co. In 
about a year and a half after its formation 
Major Robb withdrew, and the firm became 
Woodward & Greybill, which was further 
simplified in 1 890 by Mr. Woodward sell- 
ing his entire interest in the property and the 
business to Mr. Greybill. In 1892 Mr. Grey- 
bill associated with him Mr. J. A. Davis, 
who for some time had been milling at the 
head of the Big Spring, Cumberland county, 
but was formerly of Ohio. Mr. David con- 
tinued a partner in the business until in 1899, 
when he withdrew, and since then Mr. Grey- 
bill has been the sole owner and operator. 
He is a miller in every acceptation of the 
term, manufacturer and merchant as well. 
He inherited the handicraft and principles 
of the business from his father and has per- 
sistently practiced them from early manhood 
down to the present day. The improve- 
ments and new milling processes which have 
come up in the progress of time he adopted 
as their usefulness and advantages were 
proven, and his present large establishment 



is an all around up-to-date mill, owned and 
personally managed l)y a man who is master 
of all the details of the milling business. He 
is also interested in enterprises aside from 
his milling business. In 1887 he helped to 
organize the Millers' ]\Iutual Fire Insurance 
Company, the home office of which is at 
Wilkesbarre, Pa., and has been a director in 
it ever since it was begun. Although a com- 
paratively new organization, this company 
carries risks amounting in the aggregate to 
over three millions of dollars, and its fin- 
ancial credit is of the best. He was long a 
director in the Farmers' Bank of Carlisle, 
and when it was merged into the Farmers' 
Trust Company became a director and vice- 
president of the new organization, the heav- 
iest financial institution in the Cumberland 
Valley. 

John D. Greybill married, first, Salinda 
Rupp Grabill, a daughter of Isaac H. and 
Phianna (Rupp) Grabill, of West Earl town- 
ship, Lancaster county. By this marriage 
he had one child, a daughter named Salinda 
May, who was born Feb. 27, 1875. She 
married Monroe P. Haverstick, and has a 
daughter named May. Mr. and Mrs. Hav- 
erstick reside in Manheim township, Lan- 
caster county. Mrs. Salinda R. Greybill 
died March 8, 1875, in Lancaster county, 
and on Jan. 16, 1877, John D. Grey- 
bill married for his second wife ^liss 
Barbara Hertzler, daughter of John and 
Fanny (Erb) Hertzler, of South Middleton 
township, Cumberland count3% by whom he 
has had children as follows : Deppen Hertz- 
ler, born Jan. 18, 1881, who died in infancy; 
Harry Hertzler, born July 22, 1882; John 
Roscoe, born Sept. 5, 1885, and Florence 
Elizabeth, born April 2, 1892. Harry 
Hertzler Greybill, the eldest son, at this 
writing is a student in the .Senior class at 
Dickinson College; the next son, John Ros- 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



235 



coe, is a member of the Sophomore class at 
Dickinson, and the daughter, Florence Eliza- 
beth, is attending public school in Carlisle. 

Mr. and I\Irs. Greybill are both of Men- 
nonite ancestry, but circumstances making it 
inconvenient for them to keep up their re- 
lations with that denomination the family 
now worship in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Carlisle, where they are members 
and regular attendants. In the matter of 
politics Mr. Greybill follows his convictions 
rather than party bias and it is a little diffi- 
cult to classify him. He is of Repulilican 
antecedents, but by profession and practice 
a Prohibitionist, and reserves to himself the 
privilege to vote for honest men and honest 
measures, no matter under what party Hag 
he finds them. 

HON. WILLIAM ALFRED PEFFER 
was born on the Peffer ancestral homestead 
in Dickinson township, Cumberland Co., 
Pa., on Sept. 10, 1831. He was the young- 
est child of John and Elizabeth (Souder) 
Peffer, and a grandson of the Philip Peffer, 
who settled upon the Yellow Breeches in 
Cumberland county in 1773. He received 
no educational training beyond that afforded 
by the country district school, but he natur- 
ally inclined to reading and study, and by 
the time he reached his twentieth year he 
had accumulated a considerable library of 
miscellaneous books. At fifteen he taught 
his first school, at McAllister's, on the turn- 
pike a few miles west of Carlisle. After- 
ward he taught for two years among the 
Quakers of Lancaster county. Pa., where he 
acquired habits of thought and expression, 
and imbibed principles, which remained with 
him all through life. When seventeen years 
of age he was offered a course in Dickinson 
College, to be followed by two years at the 
law school, tuition to be payable out of earn- 



ings in the profession after graduation. The 
offer was declined because of a belief that a 
successful lawyer could not be honest with 
himself. In company with a few other 
young Cumberland countians, he in 1850 
went to the California gold mines, and in 
the autumn of the following year was slated 
for election to the first Legislature of that 
State, but refused to stand because of his 
age. In 1852 he returned to Pennsylvania, 
and in December of that year married Sarah 
Jane Barber, daughter of William Barber, 
the founder nf Papertown, now Mount 
Holly Springs. In 1853 he moved to north- 
ern Indiana and began opening a farm in the 
thick woods of that section. There he be- 
came acquainted with Schuyler Colfax and 
was a delegate to a convention that named 
that gentleman for Congress. Mr. Peffer 
was born a Democrat, and cast his first vote 
for Franklin Pierce for President, but like 
many others of his party was opposed to 
the repeal of the IMissouri Compromise, and 
in the campaign of 1856 took an active part 
for Fremont and Dayton. From 1857 to 
1859 times were hard in Indiana, and with 
the hope of bettering his condition he re- 
moved to southwestern Missouri, where he 
bought land and continued farming, and, 
during the fall and winter months, taught 
school. Here on July 4, i860, he delivered 
an address in which he advocated the Union 
cause. War coming on the next year he re- 
moved his family to Illinois, where, after 
securing them against want, he enlisted in 
Company F, 83d Illinois Regiment, and was 
made fifth sergeant. Because of his knowl- 
edge of military tactics he was detailed to 
drill the company and instruct the men in 
handling arms. In March, 1863, he was ap- 
pointed to a lieutenancy, and from that time 
on was on detailed duty almost continuously 
until mustered out at the close of the war. 



236 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



He acted as quartermaster, adjutant, post 
adjutant, Judge Advocate of a military com- 
mission, and depot quartermaster of the en- 
gineering department at Nashville, Tenn., 
in which last named capacity he had charge 
of all engineer supplies for the military di- 
vision of the Mississippi. He was in two 
engagements, tlie second battle of Donelson, 
in February, 1863, and the battle of Nash- 
ville, in Decemljer, 1S64. 

While on post duty he at odd hours read 
law and concluded to enter that profession, 
and after the war made his home in Tennes- 
see. Shortly after leaving the army he was 
admitted to the Bar at Clarksville, began 
practice there, and was soon retained in some 
import.'uit cases involving questions of con- 
stitutional law growing out of the war. He 
was conservative and disposed to assist the 
people in restoring peace and good will, and 
witii that end in view opposed the radicalism 
of Gov. Brownlow and avoided all occa- 
sions for needless irritation. By special re- 
quests of citizens he delivered a series of 
public addresses in the counties of middle 
Tennessee, counseling good-natured acqui- 
escence in the new regime. Mr. Peffer was 
making satisfactory progress in the prac- 
tice of the law in Tennessee, but social con- 
ditions there then were not agreeable to 
northern people, and so early in 1870 he 
moved his family to Wilson county, Kans. 
Taking up a claim near the covinty seat, he 
opened a law office, and later established the 
Fredonia Journal, putting two of his chil- 
dren to work at setting type for the paper. 
That country was then new and he interested 
himself in agriculture and politics, as well 
as literature and the law. He organized the 
Republicans of the county, held several fairs 
at his own expense, and personally collected 
material for Wilson county's exhibit at the 
Centennial Exposition. His activity gave 



him prominence and public preferment fol- 
lowed. Fie was elected to the Kansas State 
Senate for the term covering the years 1875 
and 1876, and in that body was chairman of 
the committee on Corporations, was third on 
the Judiciary committee and managed the 
bill appropriating money for the State's dis- 
play at the Centennial fair. His district 
comprised two counties, Wilson and Mont- 
gomery, and in 1875 he sold out and moved 
into Montgomery, where he established the 
Coffeyville Journal, and continued his ef- 
forts at promoting the best interests of his 
adopted State. In 1880 he was presidential 
elector of the Garfield ticket, and while his 
prospects in general were encouraging his 
field was circumscribed and far away from 
political centers, so he quit the law and in 
1 88 1 accepted the editorship of the Kansas 
Farmer, an agricultural paper of wide cir- 
culation, published at Topeka, the capital of 
the State. This position he retained ten 
years, during most of which time he was also 
an editorial writer on the Daily Capital, the 
leading Republican paper in Kansas. 

The Farmers Alliance movement reached 
its greatest development in Kansas in 1890, 
and Mr. Peffer being in sympathy with it, 
he was in constant demand as speaker at 
Alliance meetings. In response to these 
calls he that year delivered more than a 
hundred speeches, and did his editorial work 
"on the wing," writing on his knees, on 
benches in waiting rooms, on wagon seats, 
on the open prairies, wherever, during the 
day or the night, a moment could be devoted 
to writing. There was no system about the 
Alliance meetings. They were scattered 
over the State at random, with no direction 
from any organized head, except that each 
county chose the time for its own meetings 
and without reference to the others. The 
Alliance, however, worked a revolution in 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



237 



Kansas politics. A large majority of the 
members of the Legislature chosen that year 
were members of the organization, and 
when the time came they all voted for Mr. 
Peffer to represent the State in the United 
States Senate. This was the beginning of 
the People's or Populist party. In May, 
1 89 1, there was held at Cincinnati, Ohio, 
a national conference comprised of about 
fourteen hundred delegates, representing 
the Alliance and other various farm and la- 
bor organizations. Of this large conference 
Mr. Peffer was made permanent chairman, 
and by it arrangements were made for the 
formation of the National People's party, 
which held its first nominating convention 
at Omaha, Neb., July 4, 1892. 

Mr. Peffer's election to the Senate was 
wholly without his seeking, and did not cost 
him one cent. His career in the Senate was 
marked chiefly by advocacy of doctrines he 
had taught in editorial writings and public 
addresses. He believed in organization 
among farmers, in public warehouses, and 
in use of warehouse receipts for grain and 
cotton as temporary currency. He believed 
in public banks and that the government 
should lend money to needy people on good 
security at an interest rate that would pay 
for the attendant expenses; in government 
ownership, or control, of all means of public 
transportation, and that coal mines ought to 
be owned by State or national government 
and operated in the interest of consumers. 
He believed that public utilities, such as 
water works and lighting plants, like school- 
houses, ought to belong to the people and be 
subject to tlieir control. He favored the use 
of paper money for all sums of one dollar 
and its multiples, making the precious metals 
commodities to be bought and sold by 
weight ; and also favored the submission of 
all great public questions to the people for 



ratification before being enacted into laws. 
The first rrteasure he introduced proposed an 
investigation into the necessary expense of 
the business of lending money, outside 
the value of the money lent, with the view 
of ascertaining what public banking would 
cost, and his last bill provided for a system 
of government banking. One of his bills 
provided for the construction of govern- 
ment freight railroads; another for organiz- 
ing the present railway system under one 
management, subject to national supervis- 
ion. He urged the investigation of the 
management of banks during the panic of 

1893, and secured passage of a resolution to 
investigate the bond sales to syndicates in 

1894, 1895 and 1896. He also proposed a 
measure to abolish the present practice of 
conducting funeral, obsequies and proces- 
sions on the death of Senators and Con- 
gressmen. 

Mr. Peffer's tastes from boyhood ran in 
literary and political lines, and the labors of 
the after years of his life, in the main, have 
been confined to the same channel. In 1869 
he published a national story in blank verse 
called "Myriorama" ; and another in prose 
entitled "The Carpetbagger in Tennessee." 
Prior to his election to the United States 
Senate he found sufficient time from his 
pressing edito'rial duties to do much literary 
work. In 1883 he published a story called 
"Geraldine," or "What May Happen." in 
which he reproduced on paper many of the 
social customs of the good people of old 
Cumberland, apple butter boilings, spelling 
schools, rope making, etc. This he followed 
up with sketclies of the settlement of Kan- 
sas, leading into the great war of 1861, and 
concluding with a description of the growth ■ 
and development of the State he had chosen 
for his home. In 1888 he published his 
"Tariff Manual"; in 1889 he contrib- 



238 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



uted an article to the Foniiii, entitled 
" The Farmers' Defensive Movement," 
and in 1890 his pamphlet, "The Way 
Out." appeared, followed in 1891 by 
"The Farmers' Side." \VhiIe in the Senate, 
he. at tlie request of magazine publishers, 
wrote several articles for them^ and since his 
retirement he has devoted his time entirely 
to literary work. Some of his later pro- 
ductions have attracted much attention, nota- 
bly "The Passing of the People's Party," 
"The United States Senate," "Republic in 
the Philippines," "Imperialism, America's 
Historic Policy," and "Americanism and 
the Philippines." This last named work, at 
the request of the Republican National Com- 
mittee, in 1900, he condensed into a cam- 
paign document, of which the first edition 
printed consisted of a million copies. In 
1902 he began the preparation of an index, 
by subjects, to the discussions which have 
taken place in Congress from the beginning 
in 1789 down to date. He was engaged on 
that work when this sketch was written and 
estimated that four years more would be 
required to complete it. 

]\Ir. Peffer's theories were so new and 
in some respects so startling, and his coming 
into national prominence so sudden, that, 
naturally he was much talked about and 
belabored on all sides. His long and heavy 
beard, besides being good matter for car- 
toonists, furnished a descriptive symbol to 
the party to which he belonged. It is doubt- 
ful whether, during the time that he was in 
the public eye, any other man was more fre- 
quently held up in pictures. While his theo- 
ries were new, Senators soon discovered that 
he was honest and sincere. His manner was 
diffident rather than aggressive, he respected 
the great body of which he was a member 
and the body respected him. He was tem- 
perate in his habits, modest in demeanor, 



was never absent without leave, was never 
paired, antl answered to every roll call. 

^Ir. Peffer is a firm believer in the Chris- 
tian religion, is a Master Mason, and a 
member of the Episcopal Church. He is 
the father of ten children : Winnie Alice, 
William Barber, }ilay Keller, Charles Theo- 
dore, Douglas Marmion, William Alfred, 
Emma Milburn, John Sherman, Nellie Mc- 
Mullen and Ellwood Souder, William Bar- 
ber being deceased. 

JOSEPH SHARPS HEAIPHILL, one 
of the successful farmers and stock raisers 
of Newton township, and a prominent rep- 
resentative of one of the old and honored 
families of Cumberland county, was born 
Nov. 5, 1847, ''"^ Southampton township, 
on a farm four miles east of Shippensburg, 
son of Moses and Margery (Clarke) Hemp- 
hill. 

James Hemphill, the paternal grand- 
father of our subject, was born in North- 
ampton county, Pa., and he died and was 
buried at Middle Spring. He was one of the 
leading members of the Presbyterian Church 
in that locality. He married Cynthia Jane 
Jack, of Newton township. 

Moses Hemphill, father of our subject, 
was born in 1799, in Hopewell township. 
Cumberland county. On March 25, 1830, 
he married Margery Clarke, born in 181 1, 
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Fulton) 
Clarke, early settlers of Cumberland county, 
of Irish extraction. Moses Hemphill died 
in March, 1865, survived by his widow until 
1872. They were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, all of whom survived to maturity, 
namely : Elizabeth, wife of James Ouigley, 
of Hopewell township; Cynthia J., widow of 
David Ouigley, of Hopewell township; 
Mary, who married the late Judge David 
McCulloch, of Peoria, III, and died in 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



239 



1903: Caroline, deceased; James, a resident 
of Kansas; Robert, a farmer of Page Co., 
Neb. ; William Jack, who died in 1865 ; 
Charles, wiio removed to Illinois and died 
there ; Joseph S. ; and Margaret Belle, who 
is matron of the ladies dormitory, C. V. 
S. N. S., at Shippensburg, Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Sharpe Hemphill received a com- 
mon school education, and attended the 
school at Thorn Grove,, in Southampton 
township, and later took a course at Acade- 
mia Academy in Juniata county, where he 
remained one year. After this he returned 
to Southampton township and engaged in 
farming with his brother, until the spring 
of 1870. In 1871 he located on a part of the 
McCulloch homestead, where he is found 
to-day. Mr. Hemphill is recognized as one 
of the first-class farmers of the county, mak- 
ing use of modern methods and improved 
machinery, and keeping his stock up to the 
highest grade. He has an especial liking for 
Jersey cattle. Since his marriage Mr. 
Hemphill has resided on a part of what is 
known as the old McCulloch homestead. 
This farm contains loi acres, and is well- 
improved, with fine home and substantial 
bank barn,, which was erected by the late 
James McCulloch. In addition to that farm 
he owns another, containing 104 acres, the 
latter being known locally as the Thomas 
McCulloch farm. 

In the autumn of 1870, Mr. Hemphill 
married Belle McC\illoch. daughter of James 
and Martha (Brown) McCulloch, both of 
Avhom are deceased. They have a family of 
five children, namely : Margery Clarke, wife 
of Oliver Myers, of West Pennsboro town- 
ship ; James McCulloch, a farmer in Newton 
township ; William Jack, at home ; Thomas, 
engaged in teaching; and Joseph Sharpe, Jr., 
a student. In politics Mr. Hemphill is in 
sympathy with the Republican party, his an- 
cestors havmg been Old Line Whigs. Both 



he and wife are members of the Big Spring 
Presbyterian Church, of which he has been 
a trustee for many years. Mr. Hemphill 
stands as one of the responsible and repre- 
sentative men of the township, the kind of 
man who is sure to be mentioned by those 
who wish to point out its wealth, intelligence 
and good citizenship. 

LEMUEL BRENNEMAN, a promi- 
nent farmer and dairyman of Middlesex 
township, was born on the family homestead 
in that township, May 26, 1859. 

The paternal grandfather, Melchor 
Brenneman, was born in Lebanon county, 
Pa., married a Miss Killinger, and in 1824, 
when their son Henry was seven years old, 
removed with his family to Cumberland 
county, where he settled on a farm in Mid- 
dlesex township, and lived there till his 
death. Henry, the father of Lemuel, born 
Jan. 24. 1 81 7, was brought up to farm life, 
and was so occupied during all his active 
years, though at one time he also kept a 
hotel on his farm. This place, known as 
the Black Horse Inn, was a favorite stop- 
ping place for travelers between Pittsburg 
and Philadelphia. In 1855 he married Miss 
Henrietta Cassel, born in Dauphin county, 
Pa., the daughter of Henry and Eva (Bock- 
enstoe) Cassel. Three children were the 
issue of this union, namely : Annie, who 
died aged seventeen; Lemuel; and Newton, 
who died at Mt. Holly, Pa., in 1900. Henry 
Brenneman's life was brought to its close 
in 1900. Religiously he was for over twen- 
ty-five years a member of the Lutheran 
Church, politically he w^as a Repul)lican 
and a good citizen, but not an active poli- 
tician. 

Lemuel Brenneman grew up on his 
father's farm and from early boyhood was 
accustomed to assist in the farm work. 
From the age of six he was sent to the 



240 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



public schools of the locality, and later spent 
one year in a Normal school. In 1880 he 
undertook the management of the home 
farm, and has ever since operated it for 
himself. For many years he ran the largest 
dairy in that section of the county, but in 
October, 1903, sold the entire business. Mr. 
Brenneman was married in 1879 to Miss 
Florence Hertzler, daughter of Christian 
and Rebecca (Eterly) Hertzler. both of 
whom are deceased. Five children were 
born to this union : Harriet, Anna, Ro- 
mayne, Lester and Mary, all of whom are 
musical and proficient players on the piano. 
Mr. Brenneman is not only a success- 
ful and prosperous farmer, but a man of 
wide interests. Socially he is a member of 
the Modern Woodmen, on religious ques- 
tions is a Lutheran, and politically is an 
adherent of the Republican part}-. Li all 
directions he is intelligent, wide-awake and 
forceful, and is well known throughout the 
locality. 

IRA E. SHALTLL, an energetic young 
business man of Carlisle, where he carries 
on a real estate and contracting business, is 
native to Cumberland county, born at the 
old family homestead at West Fairview. 
His father passed away Dec. 6, 1890. 

Mr. ShauU received his literary edu- 
cation in the public schools, attending until 
he was nineteen years old. During vaca- 
tions he assisted his father, who was a con- 
tractor, and when twenty years old he be- 
came pressman's apprentice in the Evangeli- 
cal Publishing House at Harrisburg, where 
he remained altogether ten years. He then 
took up his father's work, contracting on 
his own account, and has also engaged suc- 
cessfully in the real estate business, in this 
connection having been agent for the past 
two years, of the Rupley estate. Mr. 
Shaull is a selfmade man in every respect 



of the word. He began with nothing, but 
by enterprise and industry has gained a good 
standing in the business world and enjoys 
the confidence of all his associates. His 
ambitious spirit displayed itself early in life, 
when he commenced working in Harris- 
burg; he recei\ed only three dollars a week, 
and he made the trip to and from his work 
daily on foot. For one year Mr. Shaull was 
engaged at butchering, but he seems to have 
his place in his present line of work, and is 
improving his opportunities to the utmost. 
On July 18, 1 90 1, Mr. Shaull was mar- 
ried to Miss Clara Mann, daughter of 
George S. and Sarah Mann. Mr. and Mrs. 
Shaull hold membership in the United 
Brethren Church at West Fairview. In 
political sentiment he is a strong Republi- 
can, active in the local councils of his party, 
and is at present serving as county com- 
mitteeman. 

JOHN F. SENSEMAN, a retired sales- 
man and farmer, who now resides at Me- 
chanicsburg, was born Feb. 21, 1822, near 
Ephrata. Lancaster Co., Pa., a son of Sam- 
uel and Elizabeth (Haines) Senseman. His 
grandfather, John Senseman, was a mill- 
wright by trade. His children were: John, 
William, Samuel, Daniel, Rebecca, Lydia 
and Hannah. 

Samuel Senseman, the father of John F., 
was born July 25, 1796, and died in Me- 
chanicsburg April 7, 1877. He married 
Elizabeth Haines, daughter of William 
Haines, a native of Lancaster countv, of 
Irish descent, and they had the following 
children : John F. ; Susan, deceased ; Jere- 
miah, deceased; Harriet, deceased; Lydia, a 
widow with three children ; Adam, of Phila- 
delphia ; William, of Boiling Springs ; and 
David, who was a soldier in the Civil war 
and was killed at the battle of Chattanooga, 
in 1863, while serving as sergeant major of 





y>^ 



// ig^i^^i^>^-^^?-n^^^--(_- 



TEE \EW YORK ^ 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASIfta. LENOX .AN» 

HUWiV PortMMTFrtNS 

* I. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



241 



the 271)1 111. \'ol. Inf. After their marriage 
Sanuiel Sensenian and his wife settled near 
Ei)hrata, where he followed the carpenter's 
trade nntil 1826, at that time moxiiig to 
Cumherland county and settling on a farm 
of 100 acres in Silver Spring township. 
Here lie resided a numljer of years, engaged 
in farming and stockraising. anil tlien bought 
propertx- in ]\leclianicsl)urg to which he 
mo\'ed antl wliereon he resided until the 
close of his life. He was a Jcffer.sonian 
Democrat in pnliiics and held a number of 
the minor oliices in liis township, such as 
assessor and su])cr\-isor, also acting as ad- 
mmistrator and executor of manv estates. 
His wife died Feb. 2\. 1879. 

John F. Senseman spent his boyhood 
on liis father's farm and during the winter 
nil tilths attended llic district schools of Sil- 
ver Spring township until his seventeenth 
year, when he settled down to assist his 
father, with whom he remained until his 
twenty-second \ear. Then he went to Ohio, 
taking a boat at I'ittsburg for Cincinnati, 
and went from there to Dayton, where he 
found his uncle, William Senseman. This 
gentleman had a large farm and gladly 
accepted his nephew's ser\ices for two years. 
Then he returned to Cumberland county and 
for a time did farm work, recei\-ing" $45 per 
annum, but two years later he entered the 
em]jlov of George W . Rathliurn, a manu- 
facturer of stoves. His duties of traveling 
salesman lirouglit him ,$15 a nunith and e.x- 
penses, and a commission of $1 a stove. Mr. 
Senseman found himself well cpialified for 
this work and made a success of it, and after 
three years with this company he was em- 
]3loyed by the .\merican Sto\-e Co. on a 
liigber s;ilar\-, continuing in this business 
for a number of vears. 

In 1S54 Mr. Senseman married Mary 
Landis. second daughter of Jacob and Mary 

16 



(Mohler) Landis, and a member of a promi- 
nent old family of Lancaster county, al- 
though Jacob Landis was born in York 
county. ^Irs. Senseman was born Feb. 10, 
1 83 1, and was educated in the district school 
in Allen township. Mr. and Mrs. Sensenian 
have had the following children : Charles, 
deceased: George W.. of Erie, Pa.; Harry 
H., who is deceased; Anna, deceased; and 
David, a machinist in York. 

After marriage Mr. Senseman settled on 
100 acres in Monroe township and success- 
fully engaged in general farming and stock 
raising. This property cost him ,$18,600, and 
is imjiroved with excellent buildings, which 
he has under rental. He is a stockholder in 
the First National Bank of Mechanicsburg. 
Politically Mr. Senseman is a Jeffersonian 
Democrat, but has never consented to accept 
political office. He is a man well versed on 
general subjects and has improved his op- 
portunities when traveling. His last trip 
was taken in 1878, with his friend, b'rank 
Sjdel. Together they went abroad and en- 
joyed the r^aris Exposition for ten days, 
and then \isited London, Manchester, Liver- 
])ool and other points. Mr. .Senseman has 
many friends, who find in him a pleasant, 
genial gentleman. His wife is a consistent 
member of the Bethel Church. 

PETER i'LANK (deceased) was for a 
number of years engaged in the nursery busi- 
ness at Trindle Spring, near Mechanicsburg, 
in Cumberlaiul county, and was one of the 
successful men of the locality in his day. His 
widow has made lier home in Carlisle since 
his decease, and is one of the most highly 
esteemed residents of that place. 

Air. Plank was born in 1828 in South 
Micldleton t<iwnshi]i, this couiit\', and was 
a son of Jaci ib and .\iina Marv ( Keifsnyder ) 
Plank, who were natives of Lancaster coun- 



242 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



ty, Pa., and Xewxille, Cumljerland Co., Pa., 
respectively, and were married in Cumber- 
land county. Jaciib Plank was a farmer by 
occupation, and followed that calling in 
South Middleton and Mom"oe townships, 
this county. When he retired from agricul- 
tural pursuits he took up his home in 
Churchtown, this county, where he died, and 
his wife passed away at the home of a daugli- 
ter, in McKnightstown, Adams Co., Pa. 
'Jliev were the parents of nine children, 
namely : Samuel is deceased. Dr. Jacob 
died in York Springs. AJjraham is a resi- 
dent of Churchtown, Cumberland county. 
Daniel !i\cs in York Springs. David, 
M. D., died in Bedford county, Pa. Peter is 
mentioned below. Anna married Rev. 
Aimer Kramer, and lives in Bedford county. 
Mary E., ]Mrs. Gressinger, has her home in 
North Middleton township. Sarah C. is 
the wife of John C. Lawer, and resides in 
Hagerstown, Maryland. 

Peter Plank attended the district schools 
in Monroe township, whither his parents 
removed when he was a small boy, and dur- 
ing his voung' manhood he taught school for 
a short time. He grew up on the farm, and 
was reared to agricultural pursuits. Shortly 
before his marriage he located near Lynch- 
burg, Campbell Co., Va., where he engaged 
in the nursery business. Returning to Cum- 
berland county in 1855 he luarried and took 
his bride back to Virginia with him, the 
young couple remaining near Lynchburg 
until ,the Ci\'il war broke out, when Mr. 
Plank sold his business interests to his 
brother .\braham, who had married a South- 
ern woman. Coming back to Cumberland 
county, he embarked in the nursery business 
at Trindle Spring, near Mechanicsburg, and 
■did a very successful business until his death, 
which occurred at his home there Oct. 
.20, 1865. Though still a young man he had 



gained fine standing as a substantial citizen 
and influential resident of his section of the 
county, and he was esteemed by all his asso- 
ciates, whether in business or private life. 
He was a stanch Republican in political faith, 
and he attended the Presbyterian Church 
with his wife. On October 16, 1855, Mr. 
Plank married Miss Jane ]\I. Mcllhenny, 
and three children blessed this union : Two 
died in infancy, and Williams died when 
fourteen years old. 

John Mcllhenny, father of Mrs. Plank, 
was a native of Adams county. Pa., and was 
married at I'ine Grove, Pa., to Jane (Ege) 
Cox, of Pine Grove, after that event settling 
near Greenville, Darke Co., Ohio, where his 
daughter, Mrs. Plank, was born. He died 
at that place, and his wife, who survived 
him, died at Newark, Licking Co., Ohio. 
Mrs. Plank was a young child when her 
father died, anil she grew to womanhood 
in Cumberland county. Pa., where during 
young womanhood she engaged in teaching, 
keeping a private school for two terms. She 
is a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Carlisle, in whose work she has 
taken an active part, and is well known for 
her kindness of heart and charitable dispo- 
sition. 

JOHN A. SOLLENBERGER, D.D.S., 

who is located at No. 105 North Hanover 
street, in Carlisle, was born in York county. 
Pa., Dec. 26, 1847, son of Joseph M. and 
Mary Ann (Helsel) Sollenl:)erger, natives of 
Cumberland and York counties, respectively. 
Dr. Sollenberger was reared to farm life 
and received his early education in the com- 
mon schools, later going to normal school, 
and in the fall of 1869 he removed to Fulton 
county. 111., where he taught school at first. 
In the following August he entered a g'eneral 
store at Astoria, where he was employed for 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



243 



two and one-half years. He again turned to 
scliool teaching, but after a term resumed 
clerking, and was employed in various ca- 
])acities until 1874, when he entered the office 
<if Dr. T. W. Atkinson, at Astoria, 111., where 
he took up the study of dentistry, continuing 
liis association, with Dr. Atkinson for eight 
years. In the fall of 1883 he returned to 
Pennsylvania, and took a course of lectures 
at the University of Pennsylvania, and in 
1884 he located in Mt. Holly and began the 
jjractice of his profession. After seven 
months he removed to Mooredale, and re- 
mained two years, at which time he settled 
in Carlisle, and has since been engaged in 
luiilding up a large and \-ery prosperous 
practice. 

In 1872 Dr. Sollenberger was married 
to Miss Fannie Brubaker, daughter of Jacob 
Brubaker, who was born in Lancaster coun- 
ty, but was brought to Cumberland county 
when a child. They have a family of seven 
children : Guy A. married Clara Hartzel, 
and they reside in Carlisle, where he is a 
silk and carpet weaver ; Clarence R. is prop- 
erty man for the King Dramatic Opera Co. : 
Charles M., who resides at Steelton, Pa., in 
the employ of the Steelton Co., married Sa- 
rah Bolinger, and has three children, Roy, 
Lawrence and an infant ; Grace E. is at home ; 
Harry resides at Steelton, where he is book- 
keeper; Annie V. is at home; Maud E. is at 
home. Dr. Sollenberger is one of the suc- 
cessful, substantial men of Carlisle, and both 
as a professional man and a private citizen 
he is honored and respected by a large circle 
of acquaintances and friends. 

JOSEPH BEETEM, who throughout 
the greater part of his active life was en- 
gaged in business in Carlisle, Cumberland' 
county, was a native of Centerville (now 
Huntsdale), this county, born Dec. 16, 1830. 



His parents, Abraham and Elizabeth 
(Smith) Beetem, are more fully mentioned 
elsewhere. 

Mr. Beetem received all his education in 
his native place, attending school until he 
was fifteen. His father died when he was 
only two years old, leaving a family of eight 
children, the oldest but fourteen, who were 
([uite naturally thrown early on their own 
resources. After leaving school Joseph com- 
menced to learn the carpenter's trade with 
his brothers, Samuel, Jacob, George and 
Abraham, though the first named worked 
principally as a millwright. Prior to his 
marriage he followed his trade in the coun- 
try around his native place, and later came 
to Carlisle, engaging in contracting and 
building in company with his brothers, going 
into business on his own account two years 
before he married. He continued in that ' 
line for a few years following his marriage, 
and he and his brother Abraham then went 
into the grain business, their grain house 
being on the site of the present home of 
Judge Biddle. They met with continued 
success in that enterprise, carrying it on until 
the death of Joseph Beetem, in 1894. Mr. 
Beetem was a man of marked business 
ability, as his career would indicate, and he 
was ever a public-spirited and valuable citi- 
zen, giving his influence toward every move- 
ment for the general welfare. But his dis- 
position was quiet, and he was kind and 
charitable in his dealings with all, whether in 
business or in pri\-ate life. 

Mr. Beetem was married in Carlisle, in 
1869, to Miss Hetty Hemminger. who was . 
bom in South Middleton township, Cum- 
berland county, daughter of John and Eliza 
Hemminger, and received her education in 
the district schools of that locality. She was 
a young woman when her parents removed 
to Carlisle. Mr. and Mrs. Beetem settled in 



244 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



the home at Xf>. 112 South West street, 
where she still resides, and two children 
came ti_) their union: Samuel Harvey is a 
business man of Omaha. Xeh. ; Frank H.. 
who is engaged as a hank clerk in Carlisle, 
married Miss Sarah Kimmel. of ]\Iechanics- 
burg. Pa. Mr. Beetem in religious connec- 
tion was a meml:>er of the h'irst Lutheran 
Church of Carlisle, in the work of which 
congregation he was (juite acti\-e, holding 
rifhce tor man\- \x'ars. His pc.ilitical svnipa- 
th\' was always with the Heniocratic party, 

SAMUEL H. JACKSOX. of the firm of 
James Jackson &• Son. dealers in agriculttu'al 
implements at Xo. 46 West Louther street, 
Carlisle, traces his lineage hack to his grand- 
father. Samuel Jackson, who for a number 
of years was a resident of Shermans Dale, 
Perry Co.. V;\. He was a cooper bv trade. 
In middle life he remoxed to Cumberland 
County, and settled on what is known as the 
LIap]j\" Retreat, where he died at the age of 
alxnit fifty-five or sixty years. He married a 
]Miss Abirtan. of Perrv countv. and thev had 
four daughters and three sons: fames: 
.\ancy. marrieil to John Cu.se. of Fairview : 
I'lichard. deceased: Annie, deceased: Rose. 
of Scranton : Samuel Parker, a stock 
dealer of Carlisle: Emaline, widow of Sam- 
uel Shearer, of Carlisle. 

James Jackson was born in Perr\- county 
in 1838. and was brought up to work upon 
the larni in the sumiuer and attended sch':>ol 
in the winter. and learned the coopering trade 
with his father. When about twenty-one 
years ukl he married, and he followed farm- 
ing until 1901. when he retired from active 
business life. 'l"he homestead farm is pleas- 
antly located two and one-half miles north- 
west of Carlisle, and has l)een held bv four 
different owners since 1863, but since it 
passed into the possession of Mr. fackson. 



in 1882. it has been much improved, \bout 
that time he also began to sell farm imple- 
ments, and until 1892 he transacted his busi- 
ness at home, then moving liis office to Car- 
lisle. He enjoys the distinction of selling 
the largest number of binders in Cumberland 
county, as well as other farm machinery, his 
sales sometimes reaching as many as sixty- 
four in a season. 

Janies Jackson married Sarah Ann 
Snyder, of .\orth Middleton. a daughter of 
Henrv Snvder. an alderman and leading 
undertaker in his day, and she died in May, 

1884, aged forty years, leaving five children : 
Samuel LL : Sinum P... a nuller of Carlisle: 
Annie, who married John Raudabaugh. of 
Xorth Middlet(^n township, this county; 
Mary Ellen, who married William Bry- 
messer. of Xorth Middleton t(}wnship: and 
Emma J., unmarried, a teacher in the pul>- 
lic schools of this county. 

Samuel H. Jackson was born Sept. 12. 
1 86 1, and was educated in the pulilic schools. 
His bo)-hood was spent upon the farm, but 
he early learned to sell machinerv, and w hen 
the business was moved to Carlisle, in 1892. 
he assumed full charge, it having been con- 
ducted under the name of James Jackson 
& Son from the time he was twentv-one years 
of age. rile business is a \'erv hirge one. 
and is constant!}' increasing, while the stock 
carried is large and C(implete. 

In 1882 Mr. Jackson was married to 
Miss .\nnie Wise, a daughter of Isaac Wise, 
a farmer of Middleton township, and they 
had one child. Clarence E. ]\Irs. Jacksin 
died in the spring- of 1884. On Dec. 31. 

1885. he married Miss Ida Sutton, a ilaugh- 
ter of Jonathan D. Sutton, of Tidioute, W'iw- 
ren Co., Pa., and they reside at X"o. 134 
Xorth Pitt street. ]\Ir. Jackson is one of 
the most progressive men of Carlisle, and is 
\ery highly esteemed. His son graduated 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



245 



at tlie Villa Nova College in the class of 
HJ03. in the commercial course, taking 
honors of the class, and is a \ery promising 
young fellow. 

j. CLAVTOX RILEV. of the tirni of 
Morris & Riley, tin and stove merchants, 
Carlisle, is well-known throughout the coun- 
ty, where he has made his home since his 
I'elurn from the Civil war. wiiere he made 
a most honorahle record as a patriotic soldier 
of his country. He was born near Cham- 
1)er.';hurg. Franklin Co., Pa.. Sept. 5, 1845, 
a ilescendant of the sturdy stock of North 
of Ireland Presbyterians. 

John Riley, father of J. Clayton, was 
born in Pennsylvania, but was reared partly 
in Oldtown, Md.,with his grandfather Riley. 
wild attained the remarkable age of one 
hundred and four years, and died at Old- 
town. He had been a soldier in the war of 
181 2. J<ihn Riley in early life followed 
farming, but his last years were spent as a 
hotel keeper in Hagerstown, Md., where he 
died at the age of seventy-four. He mar- 
ried Sarah Stone, a native of New Jersey, 
who bore him nine .children, and who died 
in Hagerstown, Md.. aged sixty-eight years. 

The early training of J. Clayton Riley 
was in the line of farm work. His educa- 
tion was all acquired in the common schools 
of Franklin county, and he was early placed 
under the instruction of Jacob B. Miller 
to learn the tinner's trade. In this he suc- 
ceeded admirably, and long before most 
boys of today would think of leaving the 
sch(3ol room he had mastered the trade that 
was to be his life work. Before he was 
eighteen years of age the fires of patriotism 
had burned in him with unquenchable flame, 
and he ran away from home to enlist in the 
Union army. In August, 1864, he became a 
private in Company G, 8th Pa. Vet. Vol. 



Cav., under Capt. John S. Howard, who 
was killed at Dinwiddie Court House, in 
the campaign in front of Petersburg. In that 
battle, March 5. 1865. Company G entered 
with thirty-two men, and after the fight and 
subsequent siege lasting until April 9th fol- 
lowing, the Company was able to show six 
privates and two sergeants at roll call. Lieut. 
Col. Corry was in command of the regiment. 
Col. Hughey at that time being a prisoner 
of war. Among the Ijattles and skirmishes 
in which Mr. Riley participated with his 
company may be mentioned Black Swamp 
or Jerusalem Plank Road (his first fight), 
Wyatt House. 1st Hatcher's Run. Dinwiddie 
Court House, 2d Hatcher's Run, 2d Din- 
widdie Court House. Five Forks, Sailor's 
Creek, Amelia Springs, Farmville, and the 
surrender of Lee at .Vppomattox Court 
House. After the close of war the regiment 
was discharged at Lynchburg, Va., June 17, 
1865. The men were paid off in Richmond, 
and while waiting for their pay, they 
boarded at Libby Prison. During the time 
he was in the army, the Rebels had attacked 
Chambersburg, Pa., and had burned his pa- 
rents' home. They moved to Carlisle then, 
and there the soldier-son joined them. 

Mr. Riley at once sought work at his 
trade, finding employment with Rhinesmith 
& Rupp, and later with G. W. Rhinesmith, 
remaining with the latter for twenty-five 
years. Having by this time acquired suffi- 
cient capital t(j enter the business world for 
himself, he in partnership with Peter W. 
Morris, under the firm name of Morris & 
Riley, started a tin and stove business, in 
which they have met with pronounced suc- 
cess. The business is conducted on the 
lines of strict integrity and unfailing prompt- 
ness, and easily ranks as one of the most 
important in its line in the city. The pro- 
prietors are thorough business men, fully 



246 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



conversant witli the goods handled, and botli 
are pleasant, genial men, with whom it is 
a pleasure to do Inisiness. 

Mr. Riley is. like his parents before him, 
a member of the Iveformed Church, and is 
active in all the good work undertaken by 
his Church. Fraternally, he belongs to Post 
No. 201, G. A. R., and to Lodge Xo. 56, 
K. of P. PI is political faith is that of the 
party of Lincoln, and he is one of its stanch 
supporters. 

In Carlisle, in i86q. "Six. Riley was 
united in marriage with F.llen H. Harris, 
who was born in that city, daughter of 
Robert and Ellen (Cornman) Harris, the 
former now deceased, but the latter still 
living, having attained tn more than four 
score years. Mrs. Riley died April ji. igoo. 
in the faith of the Reformed Church. Six 
children blessed their union : Josephine 
Clare, who married William Harper, and 
Hves near Pittsliurg: Morris T.. who li\-es 
near Pittsburg; Mollie E., wife of William 
G. Mahon. of Carlisle ; and John C. Xora 
L. and Sarah Kathleen, all at home. 

WILLIAM ALEXANDER (deceased) 
was, in his day, one of the prosperous farm- 
ers and business men of Carlisle, wliere he 
died in 1865. He was of the third genera- 
tion of the family in Cumberland county. 
his grandfather having settled here on his 
emigration from the Xorth of Ireland, where 
he was born. He was one of five brothers, 
four of whom came to America, the oth^r 
remaining' in Ireland to care for the widowed 
mother. The Alexanders came to this cou.n- 
try about the same time as the Eges. who 
were also from Ireland, but the latter fam- 
ily settled in the mountains, where they en- 
gaged in burning charcoal, while the Alex- 
anders devoted their time to tilling the soil. 

John Alexander, father of William, was 



born Aug. 14. 1753. and was a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. On May 8, 1781, 
he married Jane Byers. who was born April 
27, 1758, and they became the parents of ten 
children, of whom we have the following- 
record: I i) John, born ,\pril 21. 1782. be- 
came a distinguished attorney of Greens- 
burg. Pa. He married a Miss Smith. (2) 
James, born ]\Iay 22. 1783. died unmar- 
ried. (3) Thomas, born Oct. 9. 1784, died 
unmarried. (4) Isabella, born Sept. 2. 
17B6, married Andrew Carruthers, of Car- 
lisle, who was known as the "honest lawyer." 
She died in Carlisle. (5) Rebecca, born 
May 9. 1788. married Eli Coulter, of 
Cireensburg, Pa., and dietl there. (6) \\'ill- 
iam is mentioned below. (7.) Samuel, burn 
Sept. 20. 1792. married Ann Susan Blaine. 
a descendant of Col. Ephraim Blaine, and 
cousin of James G. Blaine. Samuel Alex- 
ander was a noted attorney in Carlisle, was 
in command of the In luie militia, and became 
known as Gen. Alexander. (8) Robert, 
born Aug. 13. 1794. died the next day. 

(9) Jane Mary, born Oct. 11. 1795, mar- 
ried Rev. \Villiam Anderson, a Presbvterian 
minister, and died in the West. Their son. 
John, was also a Presbyterian minister. 

(10) Margaret Elizabeth, born Dec. 8, 
1800, married Joseph Kuhns. an attorney 
of Greensburg, where she died. 

William Alexander was born May 7, 
1790. in Dickinson township, on the Spring 
road, on what is known as the old Byers 
home farm. He was reared to farming, and 
received only a limited education, for he was 
obliged to begin wnrk earlv. being a mere 
boy when his father died. Learning the 
saddler's trade, he followed same for some 
years, and after his marriage bought the 
home in which his daughters now live, at 
the corner of East and Louther streets, a 
strongly built house of stone, and gave up 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



M7 



his trade to engage in farming witli liis 
brother-in-law, George W. Sliaffer. They 
bouglit land in South Middleton township, 
which they cultivated, and ]\Ir. Alexander 
also had a brewery on North East street, 
which he carried on for a number of years, 
continuing thus until his death, which oc- 
curred at the old home just mentioned in 
June, 1865. He was a successful business 
man. and one of the most respected citizens 
of his day, and a faithful supporter of the 
Whig and Republican parties in politics. 

On Dec. 5, 1803, j\Ir. Alexander married 
Mary Aughinbaugh, who preceded him to 
the grave, her death occurring June 30, 
1850, at the old home. Their family con- 
sisted of six children, viz: Jane Alary, John 
B.. William G.. Samuel. Annie I. and Laura 
K.. all deceased but the two last named, 
who now occupy the old home. Miss Annie 
1. Alexander is a member of the First Pres- 
byterian Church of Carlisle. Both ladies are 
among the most highly respected residents 
of that place, sharing the esteem in which all 
the members of this family have been held. 

FRANK R. SPECK, the well-known 
superintendent of the Goodyear Department 
of the Lindner Shoe Company, Carlisle, is 
a native-born son of Cumberland county. 
ha\ing been born in North East street. Car- 
lisle, May 13, 1861, son of Daniel and Maria 
(Kuhn) Speck, of Franklin county. Pa., 
and Germany, respectively. 

Daniel Speck was born in the town of 
Roxbury, Franklin county, in 1824, and 
from his early boyhood was trained to the 
arduous duties of a farmer's life. In young 
manhood he settled at Carlisle, where he 
carried on farming, but for the last nineteen 
years of his life he was engaged in the bot- 
tling business. He was a soldier in the 



Mexican war, and during his service came 
near dying with the dread yellow fever, an 
enemy to the soldier as much to be dreaded 
as the bullet of a foe. During the Civil war 
he served as a private, being given the re- 
sponsible position of wagon master. He 
was married in Carlisle to Maria Kuhn, who 
was born in Germany in 1826, and was 
brought by her parents to America, when she 
was but six years of age. Daniel Speck 
died in 1898, preceded by his wife, who 
passed away in 1891. They were the ]3a- 
rents of ten children, namely: Christian; 
Miss Mary; ALaj. William, of Carlisle; 
John, who went to .\rizona when he was 
seventeen, and has since remained there; 
George, who died in Texas in 1902; Adelia, 
deceased ; Frank R. ; Sarah, wife of Charles 
W. Kaufman, of Carlisle; Charles, of Car- 
lisle; and Fullerton. of the same city. 

Frank R. Speck has made his home in 
Carlisle all his life. He received his educa- 
tion in the public schools, attending until 
he had reached the age of fifteen, when he 
began to assist in his own support by doing 
whatever he could find to do. He continued 
in this way until be was twenty-two, when 
he entered the lasting department of the 
shoe factory of G. \Y. Neidich & Co.. where 
he applied himself industriously to master- 
ing that trade. He remained with that firm 
(which is now known as the Carlisle Shoe 
Company) until July, 1891. For the last 
two years he was in the employ of that firm 
he was superintendent of the lasting depart- 
ment. Fie then became superintendent of 
tile Lindner Shoe Company, a position he 
continues to fill to the present time to the 
very great satisfaction of the members of 
the firm. From a small beginning Mr. 
Speck has. by his own industry and fidelity, 
risen to the top round in the profession he 



248 



Cl'MBERLA ND CO UN T i ' 



lias clioscn. His success is due to no one 
l>ut liimself. and is the natural reward of 
honest worth. 

Fraternally .Mr. Speck is a Mason, be- 
longing- to Cumberland Star Lodge, Xo. 
IQ/, and is a jjast (.)fl"icer in all the Masonic 
bodies. He also ijelongs to the Mystic 
Shrine. He is past chancellor of the K. of 
P.: past grand of the I. O. O. F. ; first ex- 
alted ruler of Lodge Xo. 578, B. P. O. E., 
Carlisle: and is a member of the P. O. S. of 
A., and of the Maccabees. His religious con- 
nection is with the Reformed Church. In 
his i)olitical views he is a stanch Republi- 
can. His first \ote was cast for James G. 
Blaine for President, and he has never 
swerved in his allegiance to the part}-. He 
is verv jiatriotic, and believes it to be tlie 
duty of every good citizen of the country to 
take an active interest in the various move- 
ments that alYect, or seem to af¥ect, the 
nation's welfare. He is thoroughly posted 
on all public questions, and w^hile rather re- 
ticent about expressing his opinions, is able 
to maintain them w-ith logical arguments 
when once expressed. For seventeen years 
he served in the Eighth Regiment, P. N. G., 
and rose to the rank of battalion sergeant- 
major. His life has been an upright one, 
and in the city w-here it has been passed and 
his every deed known he is held in high 
esteem. 

ROBERT J. LAWTOX, who was 
known throughout the Cumberland \''alley as 
;i grain merchant, died at his home July 2\, 
]88o. He was born near Orrstown, Franklin 
county, and for a number of years was en- 
gaged in mercantile business in that borough. 
For twenty-five years he was engaged in busi- 
ness in Shippensburg as a grain merchant, 
for some time, in partnership with his father- 
in-law, Hon. Henry Ruby, dealing in both 



grain and produce. Later the firm became 
Lawton & Stewart, the latter member being 
Georg-e H. Stewart. They were the largest 
grain shippers in the \'alley, and the result 
of their ventures was niost gratifying. 

.\t the time of bis death 'Sir. Lawton was 
a du'ector in the b'irst Xational Bank of 
Shippensburg. He was very progressive 
and public-spirited, and from time t(i time 
held offices of honi.ir and trust in the com- 
u-iunity. for a long time being an active 
an.d efficient member of the school board. 
He w-as a member of the Presbyterian 
Church, and took a keen interest in the w-el- 
fare of the Sunday-school. Genial and pleas- 
ant ii-i disposition, Mr. I^aw-ton was a w-el- 
come addition to any social gathering. He 
w-as kind and charitable to the poor and 
needy, who in his death lost a valued friend. 
Flis honor was without stain, and in every 
walk of life, in business or in society or at 
home, he was the same simple, straightfor- 
ward man, true to every trust. 

On Dec. 18, 1855, Mr. Lawton wedded 
Elouisa Ruby, daughter of Hon. Henry 
Ruby, and their marriage was blessed by a 
daughter, Alice Jane, who died in 1884; she 
was the wife of William Adams, of Shippens- 
burg. 

We append herewith the eulogy of one 
who knew Robert J. Lawton w-ell. and wdiich 
appeared in a local paper at the time of bis 
death : 

Robert J. Lawton, the trusted business 
man, the honored citizen, the true friend, the 
devoted husband and father, the consistent 
Christian, has passed away. As you truly 
said in your last issue, this community w-as 
never more profoundly stirred than when it 
was announced that IMr. Lawton was dead. 
.-\ pM of sadness seemed to fall upon the 
town, and I saw- many shedding tears who 
rarely do such a thing. X^o man in all this 




ROBERT J. LAWTON. 



THE XEW YOR* 
PUBLIC LIBBi^^f 



BIDEN FOIINlMTtftNi 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



249 



region was more universally respected and 
beloved than was Mr. Lawton. He was 
the friend of everybody and e\'erybody's 
friend. The principal facts and dates of his 
business career have already been made pnl)- 
lic. It is my desire, therefore, simply to 
pay a slight tribute to the worth of one 
who was "a man among a tlnnisand." 

As a business man Mr. Lawton was "the 
soul of hoiK>r."' His word was as good as 
his bond. Whatever he said might be de- 
pended on. He never tried to take the ad- 
vantage of anyone. The firm of Law-ton & 
Stewart was the most widely known of any 
firm in the Cmnberland \'alley, and did the 
largest business. Farmers came from far 
and near to sell and buy. Many letters of 
symi)athy and regret were recei\'ed by the 
familv and Mr. Lawton's partnei', from l)usi- 
ness houses in Philadelphia, Xew York, 
Baltimore, etc. Mr. Law-ton was thus widely 
known and everywhere esteemed as a man 
of the strictest integrity in business. Be- 
sides this he was a gentleman in the highest 
sense of that word. He was courteous, 
aflfable and kind. No matter how badly he 
may have felt (and there is little doubt now^ 
that he often did feel badly, his disease be- 
ing of longer standing than anyone thought) 
he was always the same. He had a smile 
and pleasant word for everyone. It was a 
pleasure to meet him on the street, for his 
cheery face and active step did one good. 
I can hardlv realize that I shall never see 
him again as he briskly walked from his 
house to his place of business. As a citizen 
lie was interested in the welfare of the town 
in which he lived. He never stood in the 
way of public progress. .\t the time of his 
death he was bank director, school director 
and president of the Gas Light Company of 
this place. He was a warm and steadfast 
friend. He was faithful at all times. You 



could trust him implicitly. In the social 
circles his company was always sought. He 
was exceedingly kind to the poor. What 
he did he ditl unostentatiously not to be seen 
of men. \\'hat he did in this way will not be 
known, in many instances, until the judg- 
ment of the last day. In his quiet, unas- 
suming way he went about continually doing 
good. His home life, too, was just as 
beautiful as his life before the world. He 
was not the affable gentleman away from 
home and the churl at home as so many men 
are. Wife and tlaughter had never a more 
loving, devoted and indulgent husband and 
father than was he. WHiile his home was 
filled with every temporal comfort w hich one 
could desire, yet he was preeminently its 
light and joy. His evenings were always 
spent at home, so far as possible. His con- 
stant thought was for the comfort and happi- 
ness of his wife and daughter. Self was 
forgotten in his care and love for them. But 
after all the chief charm of Mr. Lawton's 
character was in his deep-toned piety. Mr. 
Lawton was pre-eminently a Christian. No 
one who knew him intimately could for a 
moment doubt this fact. After his conver- 
sion a great change came over him. While 
outwardly he was the same honest, upright 
man he had been before, yet, from this on 
there was a new spirit within him: he was 
actuated in all he did with new motives and 
desires. His one aim was to glorify his 
Divine T^Iaster. He was a true type of the 
business man, in that he was "diligent in 
business, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord." 
He was honest, not merely because it was 
the best policy, but because it was right in 
itself and well-pleasing to God. Like his 
Saviour in whom he trusted and whom he 
followed, he "did all things to please Him." 
There was not one shred of self righteous- 
ness about Mr. Lawton, although he might 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



have pointed to his moral Hfe, and trusted 
in that, as so many do. yet his whi.ile trust 
was in a Saviour crucified. He felt that 
his righteousness was but filthy rags. He 
was as humble, unassuming and as teachable 
in his Christian life as a little child. It seems 
to me he came up as nearly to the standard 
set by Christ, as any man I ever knew : 
"Excejit \e be converted and become as 
little children. }e shall not enter into the 
kingdom of hea\-en." He was converted 
and had become as a little child. The char- 
acter of the man is well illustrated by a little 
])oem which was found in his pocket after 
his death, and which he had carried for 
years until it was almost worn out with use. 
He would often read it to his wife and say 
that it expressed his feelings. It is based 
(in a declaration and invitation of Christ: 
"I am the door;" "Him that cometh to me 
I will in no wise cast out." It is as follows: 

The mistakes of my life are many. 
The sins of my heart are more. 

.\nd I scarce can see for weeping. 
But I come to tlic open door. 

1 am lowest of thos'e who love Hini, 

I am weakest of those who pray. 
But I'm coming as He has bidden, 
And He will not say me "nay." 

My mistakes His love will cover, 
My sins He will wash away. 

And the feet that shrink and falter. 
.Shall walk throngh the gates of day. 

If I tnrn not from His whisper, 

H I let not go His hand. 
I shall see Him in His beauty 

The King in the far-off land. 

The mistakes of my life are many. 

And my soul is sick with sin. 
And I scarce can see for weeping. 

But the Lord will let me in. 

Think of a man like Robert J- Lawton 
saying, "I am lozccst of those that love Him ; 



and weakest of them that pray," yet this 
man! Who can d<]ul)t that 

Those feet which shrank and faltered 
Have walked thr<jugh the gates of day? 

Another favorite hymn of Mr. Lawton 
was Bliss' Last Hymn. This expressed the 
same filial, childlike, trustful spirit. He was 
ever anxious to learn more of Christ. His 
Bible was his constant companion. He was 
never absent, unless sick or away from 
home, from church, the prayer-meeting and 
the Bible class. He literally 'adorned his pro- 
fession by a godly walk and con\-ersation. 
His business partner told me that in the 
many years they were associated together, 
he had never heard an impure c>r improper 
word pass his lips. This is remarkable testi- 
mony. He was pure in heart. Every one 
who came in contact with him was impressed 
with his goodness. It seemed as though he 
was too pin-e for earth. He "walked with 
God," and he was not, for God took him. 
He was a man of prayer. His wife told 
me he rarelv. if ever, left his house at noon 
to go to his place of business, without re- 
tiring to his room and spending a short 
time in prayer. Thus regularly, three times 
a day, morning, noon and night, like Daniel 
of old, he prayed to his God, This was the 
man wdiose loss every one mourns. He will 
be missed in the community, in the business 
circles, in the church, by his partner in 
business who loved him as a brother, and 
especially in his home. But no one can doubt 
that our loss is his eternal gain. He is to- 
dav in the Paradise of Gofl, one of the 
blood-bought and blootl-washed throng. He 
bears that new name which none Iiut they 
who receive it know. He rejoices in the 
presence of Christ, and his body awaits the 
resurrection of the just. 

I have thus written fullv of Air. Lawton, 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



25* 



not for the sake of praising him, for 1 know 
that he would tleprecate sucli a tiling, hut 
hecanse I feel that such a life as his should 
be held up for an example. Such lives are 
\ery rare in this world. If one sinner de- 
stroys much good, the value of one hoh-, 
consecrated life, in inestimable. "The 
righteous shall be held in everl;isting remem- 
brance." W'c ba\'e a rich legacv in bis 
memory. 

CHARLES D. M.VRQUETTE, one of 
the patriotic soldiers of the Civil war, who 
when peace was declared, laid down his 
arms and resumed the work he abandoned 
when his cnunlry called, is one of the suc- 
cessful tailors of Carlisle, where he has 
lieen engaged in business for many years, 
conducting his establishment in such a man- 
ner as to win the high praise of the business 
men of the town. He is of Erencb Huguenot 
stock, his grandfather. Henry, or his great- 
grandfather being a native of France. 
Henry I\Iar((uette was a dry goods merchant 
in Lebanon, Pa., where he died. His fam- 
ily consisted of five children. 

Henry Marquette (2), son of Henry, 
was born in Lebanon, Pa., and he received 
his education in the schools there. By trade 
he was a blacksmith, and for forty-five years 
])ursued that calling in Campbellstown. His 
fame as a workman spread all over that sec- 
tion of the State, and be was called upon to 
jjerform work for those who came many 
miles to profit by his skill. When he re- 
tired he went to Churchtown. and made his 
home with a daughter, Mrs. Dunkle. He 
married Elizabeth Douglas, a descendant of 
the historic Douglas clan in Sc itland. She 
was born in Dauphin county, on the Horse- 
shoe Pike between Campbellstown and Hum- 
melstown. and died in 1872, aged about 
sixty-five years. Henry Marquette ( 2 ) died 



about 1869. He and bis wife attended the 
Lutheran and Methodist Churches, but they 
themselves were Presbyterians. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and served one term as 
poor director. They were the parents of 
fourteen children : ( i ) John died young. 
(2) Mary died in infancy. (3) William 
died at Harrisburg. (4) Henry lives in 
Callaway county, Mo. ( 5 ) Daniel died at 
his home in Shamokin, Pa., in 1904. (6) 
Kate married Peter Dunkle, and died in 
Churchtown. Pa. (7) Caroline is Mrs. 
Christian Herman, of Harrisburg. (8) 
John (2) was a soldier in the Civil war. 
He enlisted first for three months, and 
served as cor[)oral and sergeant; then re- 
enlisted in the nine months' service, and in 
1863 enlisted for three years or during the 
war in Company V. 93d P. V. L In the 
first day's fight in the Wilderness he was 
wounded five times in the left leg, and was 
first cared for in the field hospital, then in 
the general hospital, and was finally sent to 
hospitals in Fredericksburg, Washington. 
D. C. ;md I'hiladelphia. After the close 
of the war he located in Chicago, moving- 
thence to Fort Dodge, low^a. He married 
Ella Boyer. (9) Joseph died in the fall of 
1862. ■ (10) Charles D. was next in the 
order of h'wih. (11) Mary married John 
Hornung. and died in 1902 in Harrisburg. 
(12) Sally became Mrs. Lewis Raber, and 
lives in Omaha, Neb. (13) Samuel resides 
in Philadelphia. (14) James is a postal 
railway clerk. 

Charles D. Marquette was born in Camp- 
bellstown. Pa., Feb. 9, 1845. His literary 
training was all recei\ed in the public schools 
of Lebanon county, which, bow'ever, were 
exceptionally good for the times. One of 
his first teachers was Henry Hough, a w^ell 
known educator of that day. At the age of 
thirteen he began to learn the tailor's trade 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



with Edward Kinimel. of Leljaiioii, but at 
the end of his first year he was stricken with 
tvphoid fever, and after a somewhat lengthy 
convalescence, lie again took up the same 
trade, this time under Raber & Bro., where 
he worked about two years. The outbreak 
iif the Civil war changed all his plans. On 
lulv 4. 1861. he enlisted in Company F. 93d 
P. y. [.. under Capt. Lung and Col. J. M. 
McCarter. Tie was luustered into service at 
Lebanon Se])t. 23. iSfM. The regiment was 
known as the Lebanim infantry. They were 
first sent to \\'ashington. D. C. and after 
a brief sta\' at Soldier's Rest went to 
Camp Fort Good Hope. Their first arms 
were Belgian rifles, but in tlie Peninsular 
canipaigTi the}' were given Springfield rifles. 
In the beginning they were assigned tn 
Peck's Brigade. Couch's Command. 4th 
Corps, all under the command of Gen. E. D. 
Keyes. On ]\Iarch 10. 1862. the regiment 
started on the Manassas campaign, and then 
on March 20th on the Peninsular campaign. 
In the battle of Williamsburg the regiment 
k)St six killed, and twent\- wounded, Capt. 
George B. Shro\e being among the killed, 
while Lieut. Col. Johnston had his horse 
shot under him. At Fair Oaks the regiment 
distinguished itself and suffered twenty 
killed, one htmdred and eight wounded and 
eight missing. At Chantilly it supported a 
I)attery. At Fredericksburg, the regiment, 
now^ in the 6th Corps, under Gen. Smith, 
of Franklin's Grand Division, crossed the 
river and was held in reserve during the en- 
gagement. At Salem Heights the 93d, to- 
gether with the I02d P. V. I., was under a 
terrible fire the whole time. The 93d par- 
ticipated in all the skirmishes and battles in 
the campaign following Lee into Pennsyl- 
\ania. At Gettysburg it was stationed at 
the Stone Fence and Peach Orchard, then 



lieing muler ib.e cnmmand uf Gen. Wheaton. 
.Vfter the fight at Aline Run. the men were 
sent into camp at Brandy Station. In 
the fight at Sailiir's Creek, Mr. Alar- 
i|uette was wounded Ijv a musket ball. In 
1862 he was made sergeant, and at lirandy 
Station he w'as detailed as orderly sergeant 
and pro\'Ost guard at Gen. Wheatcm's head- 
([uarters. one of his duties being the carry- 
ing oi Division Headrinarters' flag on march 
and in battle. On Feb. 7. 18O4. ^^^ Harper's 
Ferry, Mr. Mar(|uette, with three- fourths of 
the regiment re-enlisted, and then weiU home 
on furlough. recei\'ing a great o\at;on at 
Lebanon. On Alarch loth following the 
regiment asseml:)led at Caiup Curtin, and 
eight days later rejoined the Brigade at Hall- 
town, eight hundred strong. They took part 
in the fight at Todd's Ta\-ern. Spott- 
sylvania Court House, and in the 
campaigns from the Rappahannock to 
the James, later playing a conspicuous part 
in the Chickahominy and Petersburg battles. 
They were also at Weldon railroad. Hatch- 
er's Run, and supported Sheridan at Five 
Forks. From May 4, 1864, to June 2d, 
they marched 350 miles in 26 marches, and 
\vere fifteen days without regular rations. 
In this time they dug thirty rifle pits, fought 
eight distinct battles, and for only five days 
of the time were they free from the shots of 
the emeny. The officers did not take off 
their clothes or lay aside their accoutrements. 
When clothes and shoes were worn out they 
were replaced liy those of the dead. 

This was followed bv Winchester. At 
Cedar Creek Mr. Marquette as orderly had 
his horse shot under him. In Bates' "His- 
tory of Pennsylvania Regiments." appears 
an account from in front of Petersl)nrg, at 
daybreak, April 2, 1865 : "Jn the first charge 
upon the enemy's breastworks. Sergeant 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



253 



Charles Marquette distinguished himself hy 
capturing a rebel flag, for which he received 
a medal of honor." 

Mr. Marquette had just returned fnjm 
headquarters and rejoined his company and 
regiment, to be lieutenant of his company, 
but on March 1. 1865, he entered the fight 
with his regiment and his promotion was 
overlooked. On June 27, 1865, he was 
mustered out at Ariington Heights, Virginia. 

Returning to liis home in Lebanon, he 
enjoyed a short rest, and then entered the 
Xormal School at Palmyra, where he closely 
ajiplied himself fur a year and a half. He 
next went to Caird. 111., where bis friend, 
John O. Harmon, then mayor of Cairo, 
found work for him at bis trade. In 1868 
bis health failed, .and be returned to his 
home in PcnnsvKania. Bv recommendation 
of Superintendent Nichols, he secured a posi- 
tion as brakeman on the Reading Railroad, 
which position he tilled two years. Upon 
bis recoverv be hrst located at \\'rights\ille, 
\'ork county, and there be remained seven- 
teen years engaged in the tailoring business 
for himself. In 1883 he moved to Carlisle 
succeeding to the establisbiuent of John C. 
Haas, on East High street. In 1888 he 
]nu"chased his present building from the as- 
signees of J. D. Leidicb, and mo\ed his 
business into its more modern and commo- 
dious quarters. I'rom 1883 to 1900 be had 
as a partner P". C. Schindel. Mr. Marquette 
is a man of the highest integrit\\ and con- 
ducts his affairs in a most business like man- 
ner. He is a natural artist, and having a 
thorough knowledge of his calling, is able 
to please his customers to the greatest de- 
gree. . 

In the spring of 1870. at \\'rights\'ille, 
Mr. Marquette was married to Emma M. 
W'eller. a native of Baltimore, l\Id. Two 
children came to brighten their bonie, but 



one, Herbert, passed away in infancy : the 
other, Miss Mary E., is at home. Mr. Mar- 
(luette and his family are active in the work 
of the Presbyterian Church, to which they 
all belong. Though born in the ranks of the 
Democratic party, he has had a change of 
heart, and now gives hearty support to the 
]>rinciples of the Republican party. He is a 
man who finds his greatest pleasure in bis 
home, where he delights to greet bis friends. 
His fraternal orders are the Grand Army of 
the Republic, of which be is an honored 
member, being enrolled in Post No, 201, at 
Carlisle, and the Masons, he being a mem- 
ber and past master of St. John's Lodge. No. 
260, I*". & A. M. ; past high priest, St. John's 
Cba]5ter. No. 171 ; member of St. John's 
Comm;in(ler\-, No. 8; and Lulu Shrine, at 
Philadcl])bia. He also belongs to True 
Friend Lodge, No. 56, K. P. In all the 
relations of life Mr. Mar(|uette has endeav- 
ored to do bis whole duty as he saw it. and 
he has not been found wanting in the field, in 
l)usiness or in bis home. 

\\ILLL\M B. RICE, who conducts a 
shoe store at Xo. 420 North West street, 
Carlisle, is one of the most respected resi- 
dents of that place. He has been identified 
with its Inisiness interests for many years 
and has always borne the highest reputation 
for honor and integrity, whether in commer- 
cial transactions, or in any of the other re- 
lations of life. 

Mr. Rice was born Aprrl 27, 1834, in 
Sa\ille township. Perry Co.. Pa., and comes 
of an I lid family of that count\'. He is a 
grandson of Adam and Betsey Rice, the 
former of whom settled in Perry county 
at an early day, and both li\ed to advanced 
age. He was a wagonmaker by occupation. 
Joseph Rice, father of William B., was also 
a wagonmaker. He married Elizabeth Bird, 



254 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



and botli died in Perry county, about five 
miles aljove Xew Bloomfield. Tliey were 
n^embers of tlie Reformed Church. Their 
family consisted of ten children, all but three 
of whom still survi\e. 

William B. Rice remained at the place 
of his birth until grown to manhood, and 
(luring boyhood attended the district schools, 
receiving a good practical education. When 
Init thirteen years old he commenced to 
learn the shoemaker's trade, and in time 
started in the business for himself, at Linn's 
Mills. Perry county, where he remained un- 
til 1856. He then followed carpentering 
for a time, and later put up post fences, do- 
ing the boring by hand. In 1863 he entered 
the L'nion armv for service in the Civil 
war, enlisting for ninety days in Company 
B, 202d P. V. I., in which he served one 
year. On his return from the army Mr. 
Rice located in Carlisle, Cumberland county, 
and bought a tract of land which he farmed 
for a time, finally embarking again in the 
shoe business. For three years he was lo- 
cated on South Pitt street, thence moving 
to Main street, where he continued to do 
business for twenty-five years. At the end 
of that period he sold out and moved to 
Washington, D. C, where he bought a home 
and resided for several years, until after the 
death of his wife, which occurred in Wash- 
ington in 1899. Mr. Rice then returned 
to Carlisle, where he has since carried on 
his present store, in which he has met with 
the success which attended all his business 
ventures. However, he has deserved all his 
l)rosperity, for he is hard-working, and an 
excellent manager, and he neglects nothing 
which might contribute to the good of his 
business or the accommodation of his 
patrons. 

Mr. Rice was married in Perry county, 
about 1856, to Ahina Keck, who was bom 



there, daughter of Daniel and Lydia (Dick) 
Keck, and two children blessed this union : 
Elmira Jane is the wife of William Wagner, 
of Carlisle; Kieft'er E. married Aliss Cathe- 
rine Masonhamer, and also resides in Car- 
lisle. ]\Irs. Rice was a member of the Re- 
formed Church, to which her husband also 
belongs. He is a Republican in political 
sentiment, but not active in party matters 
or public affairs of any kind. 

HEXRY GOTTWERTH. one of the 
most substantial residents of Carlisle, where 
he has been engaged in business for many 
years, is a native of the Fatherland, from 
which a number of the best citizens of that 
place have come. He was born May 18, 
1845. in Rauschenberg, Hessen-Cassel, son 
of Louis Gottwerth, who was also a resi- 
dent of Carlisle for many years. 

Louis Gottwerth was born in Lehrbavtgh, 
Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany, learned the 
trade of dyer, and in connection with that 
pursuit owned and conducted a hotel. Hav- 
ing joined the Revolutionary movement of 
the latter "forties he was obliged to flee the 
country, and he came to America in 1847, 
making his permanent home in Carlisle, 
Cumberland Co., Pa. Here he followed the 
work of gardener and remained until his 
death, which occurred in 1872. ^Ir. Gott- 
werth married for his first wife ]\Iary 
Klingenhoffer, who died when her son 
Henry, our subject, was born, and after 
coming to America he married, in Carlisle, 
Miss ]\Iary Slape (now deceased). To this 
union also came one child, George L., who 
is a resident of Carlisle. 

As Henry Gottwerth was but two years 
old when his father left Germanv for the 
L'nited States, he went to live with his ma- 
ternal grandparents, Johannes and Margaret 
(Kratz) Klingenhoffer. The grandfather 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



-OD 



was a baker by trade, had a stillhouse and 
brewery, and also kept a hotel. He and 
his wife both died in (jermany. Henry at- 
tended the public schools until he was four- 
teen years old, after which, for three years, 
he served at the tailor's trade, the expense 
of his apprenticeship being borne by his 
grandfather. Continuing at his trade as a 
journeyman, he followed it in Germany until 
1866, in which year he decided to join his 
father in .America. Leaving Hamburg in 
tlie sailing vessel "Electric," he landed in 
New York Cit}' after a tedious voyage of 
eight weeks and four days, and came direct 
to his father at Carlisle, Pa., where he at 
once went to work at his trade. Before 
long he had opened a tailor shop of his own, 
on Main street, which he carried on for a 
number of years, becoming one of the suc- 
cessful business men of the city. To his 
credit be it said, he is a self-made man, for 
he had no capital to begin on, and what he 
has accumulated has been acquired by 
earnest effort and unceasing diligence. He 
now owns several good properties, and is in 
comfortable circumstances, and throughout 
his career he has maintained a high reputa- 
tion, commanding the respect of all who have 
had dealings with him. In 1892 Mr. Gott- 
werth rented the "Farmers & Drovers 
Hotel," which he subsequently purchased ; in 
1899 he leased the place, and in 1903 sold 
it to Harry Beetem. 

On Feb. 15, 1870, Mr. Gottwerth was 
married, in Carlisle, to Miss Anna Margaret 
Shubert, a native of Chambersburg, Pa., 
who was a daughter of Bruno and Elizabeth 
(J^Iiller) Shubert. Air. Shubert passed away 
in 1870, but Airs. Shubert still survives. 
Mrs. Gottwerth died Alay 13, 1903, at the 
age of fifty-fi\e years, the mother of two 
children : ( i ) Charles E., born Nov. 20, 
1870, received an excellent education in the 



public schools, and was also thoroughly 
trained in music. During the Spanish- 
American war he was clarinet player in the 
band of the 201st New York Volunteers, 
and died Nov. 13, 1899, as the result of ex- 
posure, etc., during his service. (2) Alary, 
born Alarch 15, 1872, is the wife of Grant 
Weller, and resides in Philadelphia. 

Socially Air. Gottwerth holds member- 
ship in the I. O. R. AI., with which he has 
been affiliated since 1868, having joined in 
Harrisburg. He was a charter member of 
the local lodge, No. 108. His political sup- 
port is given to the Democratic party, and in 
religion he clings to the faith of his fore- 
fathers, being a member of the Second Lu- 
theran Church. His wife was a member of 
St. Patrick's Catholic Church. 

CFIARLEY D. SIPE, a prominent shoe 
dealer located at No. 18 North Hanover 
street, Carlisle, established this business in 
1899, and now has one of the finest houses 
of the kind in the county. His birth oc- 
curred Sept. 28, 1872, in Carlisle, and he 
is a son of Robert F. and Alamie A. ( Heck- 
indorn) Sipe, both of whom are living in 
Carlisle. Robert F. Sipe was born and 
reared in Carlisle, where he learned the trade 
of cabinet-maker with his father, David Sipe. 
After completing his trade he and his brother 
Albert succeeded the father in the business, 
and since that time they have worked along 
these lines, although Robert Sipe is now 
living practically retired. He married Alamie 
Heckindorn, a daughter of Leonard Heckin- 
dorn, and they had the following family : 
Charles D. ; William F., a finisher at the 
Carlisle Shoe Co. ; and Robert, who died at 
the age of four years. Air. and Airs. Robert 
F. Sipe attend the First Lutheran Church, 
of which she is a member. 

Charley D. Sipe attended the city schools 



256 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTV. 



until he was thirteen, when he entered tlie 
shoe store of C. W". Strohni as a clerk, and 
spent five years there. He then entered the 
drug store of John Sipe. After two years 
he clerked for H. W. Lare. shoe dealer, and 
then opened his own lousiness, as above 
stated. He is one of the live, progressive 
young Inisiness men of the city. Fraternally 
he is a member of the A. F. & A. AI.. St. 
John Lodge, No. 260, and of the I. O. O. F. 
Lodge. Xii. ()]. and is very popular in l)oth 
organizations. 

In Xi)\-eniber. 1897, Mr. Sipe married 
Sarah E. Beetem. daughter of George 
Beetem, of Carlisle, and to them has been 
liorn line child, Robert B. They are con- 
sistent memliers of the First Lutheran 
Church I if Carlisle. Their residence is at 
Xo. 234 South Hanover street, Carlisle. 
Air. and Mrs. Sipe have made many friends 
and are important factors in the social life 
cif the ciimmunitv. 

RE\'. HENRY XEIDIG FEGLEV, 
pastor of St. Mark's Lutheran Church, and 
Professor of Mental and Abiral Science, Ger- 
man and Literature at Irving College, Me- 
chanicsburg, Pa., is (lue of the distinguished 
citizens of his communitx'. He was Imrn 
Xov. [S, 1S48, in Boyertown, Berks county, 
a son of Stephen and Lavina ( Neidig) Feg- 
ley, the former of whom was born in Berks 
county and the latter in Montgomery countv, 
near the Berks line. After their marriage 
Mr. and Mrs. Fegley located in Berks, where 
the father carried on farming for .some time, 
and then mined to Alontgomerx- countv. 
when their son Henry had reached school 
age. 

Completing the common schi.iol course, 
Henry N. Fegley, a bright student, attended 
1^'rederick Institute and Boyertown .\cademy. 
and later entered the Sopliomore class at the 



University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, 
where he remained from 1866 to 1869, grad- 
uating in the latter year. After his gradua- 
tion he entered the Theological Seminary 
at Mt. Airy, in the vicinity of Philadelphia, 
where he was graduated in 1872, and soon 
afterward was ordained. Shortly after the 
young clergyman came to Cumberland coun- 
ty and located at Mechanicsburg, where he 
became pastor of St. ALark's Lutheran 
Churcii, a congregation \\ bich has increased 
under his pastorate to 215 meiubers. Since 
1892 he has also filled the position of Pro- 
fessor of Mental and Moral Science at Irving 
College, anil since 1895. 'I'^s (.iccupied, in 
addition, the chair of German rmcl Litera- 
ture. He is ciue of the able and scholarly 
men of his chiuxii. 

In 1875 Dr. Fegley married Miss Belinda 
C. Reichard. of Allentown, a daughter of 
Jonathan and Rebecca Reichard, and the two 
children of this union are: Charles, a grad- 
uate of Muhlenberg College, at Allentown ; 
and Edith Elizaljeth, a graduate of Irving- 
College, ;it Mechanicsljurg, and a teacher 
in the city schools. 

Re\'. Dr. Fegley has been honored on 
more than one occasion by the various edu- 
cational institutions with which he has been 
more or less connected. For a long period 
he has held the degree of A. M.. and in 1903 
the Roanoke College, of Virginia, conferred 
that of 1). D. His reputation as an educator 
extends beyond the State and he is no less 
noted as a pastor. Few citizens of Mechan- 
icsburg are lietter known, and few are more 
closely identified with its religious and educa- 
tional life. 

WILLIAM BL.MR McCOMMON. 
late member of the real estate and in.sur- 
ance firm of Stock & McCommon. and for a 
number of years one of the leading business 





'■y-^ 



THE ^'E\V YOrF 
J*UBIIC LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 
^TltDEN FOUNDATIONS 
I. 



CUMBERLAND CO UXTY. 



257 



men of the city of Carlisle. Cumberland , 
county, was born in 1836, a son of James 
and Annie (Cornman) ]\[cComnion. His 
father died when our subject was a lad of 
cis'lit years, in 1844. he being then forty- 
three. By occupation he was a farmer, and 
spent his life in Cumberland county. The 
mother died in 1852. aged about forty-eight 
or fifty years. Both were members of the 
Co\-enant Church. The cliildren born to 
them were thirteen in number, but only nine 
grew lo maturity: John, a school teacher, 
died in 1852; Ann C. died unmarried; Len- 
nox Hogue is a retired farmer of Missouri : 
Sarah married A. B. Bcisel. of Carlisle; 
William Blair is mentioned below: James 
S. (deceased), was a resident of Mt. Holly, 
and was a carpenter: Mary E. (deceased), 
married George Brougher, of Cumberland 
county; Margaret J. married a ^Ir. Rambo. 
of Philadelphia: Amos (j. is ;i wood worker 
of Mt. Holly. 

\\'illiam Blair McConimon was reared 
on the farm and received but a limited edu- 
cation in tlie common schools, continuing 
thus until seventeen, when he settled in Car- 
lisle and api)renticed himself to the carpen- 
ter's trade. He afterward worked as a 
journeyman for some time, and then began 
l)usiness for himself as a contractor and 
builder, following this branch ni commercial 
industry for thirty-five years in Cumberland 
county. In 1887 he was elected to the of- 
fice of register of Cumberland county, and 
filled that fiffice very acceptably for three 
years, as the Democratic incumbent. He 
aivvaj'S took a deep interest in politics, was 
a memljer of the Democratic county com- 
mittee and ser\-ed as a nicmber nf the bo:u"d 
of council of Carlisle. He was known far 
and wide as a public-spirited citizen, always 
willing ti_) assist in everxthing tending 
toward the Ijeltermenl of hum;inity. I'ra- 

17 



ternally he was a Mason, belonging to St. 
John Lodge, No. 260, St. John Chapter, 
Xo. 171. St. John Commandery. Xo. 8. and 
Rajah Temple, of Reading, and he repre- 
se!ited his lodge to the Grand Lodge. His 
death, which occurred March 9, 1904. left 
a \'oid in many circles. 

On Oct. 28, 1858, Mr. McCommon mar- 
ried Miss Martha Baker, who was born in 
Cumberland county Feb. 2, 1839. daughter 
of Daniel and Elizabeth (Glenn) Baker, 
and six children were born of this union, 
three now living : Ella F. married Charles 
H. Sipe. of Carlisle, who is with the Cum- 
berland \'alley Railroad Co. ; Anna S. is at 
home: Harry C. who lives at .\ltO(jna. mar- 
ried Mame Weibley, and is a machinist in 
the Pennsylvania railroad shops. The fam- 
ily all affiliate with the Lutheran Church. 
They reside at Xo. 133 East Main street. 
Carlisle, where they show a gracious and 
pleasing hospit.'dity to their many friends. 

GEORGE W. PHLTON, who is en- 
gaged in a confectionery business at Xo. 
T,^ \\'est IMain street, Carlisle, belongs to 
one of the leading families of the city. He 
is a son of (jeorge W. and Emeline 
(Gibbs) Hilton, the former of whom was 
born in 18 18. at Hull, England, and was. 
brought to Manchester, ALaine. by his pa- 
rents. George W. and Mercy (Fuller) Hil- 
ton, the latter a cousin of Chief Justice 
Fuller. Grandfather Hilton was a native 
of the Isle of Wight and there followed 
the vocation of ship blacksmith until he 
emigrated to America with his family, set- 
tling on a M:tine farm in tlie \'icinity of 
^Manchester. There he remained, dving at 
the age of ninety-nine years, his widow- 
passing the century mark. Both were mem- 
bers of the Episcopal Church. They were 
people of eflucation, and gax'e their thirteen 



=58 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



cliildrcn all advantages possible, and all were 
taught some self-supporting trade and en- 
couraged to spent! their e\-enings in study. 

George W . Hilton {_>), son of George, 
and the father of uiw suljject, was placed 
with a Boston firm of oil-cloth manufac- 
lurers. He soi^n \v(jn his way inti.i the con- 
fidence of the firm and was entrusted with 
a large stock of giiods to dispose of. travel- 
ing by wagon, accortling to the custom of 
the times, o\-er the country. His journey- 
ings brought him to Carlisle, and the loca- 
tion and jiriispects of the city, as well as the 
encouragement given him by Cleiuent Mc- 
Farland, then the host of the old "Mansion 
House," induced him to consider favorably 
a proposition to make his home here. .Ac- 
cepting I\Ir. [Md'arland's offer of a positicin 
in the hotel, he made his wagon and team the 
nucleus of a liverv, and met with so much 
success that he continued to increase his 
transportation facilities until he owned a 
fine stable and plenty of coaches to meet the 
demands of trade. He then had the fore- 
sight to establish a stage line to Harrisburg 
and to Baltimore. \ia Hanover and Gettys- 
burg, and operated the same most pros- 
perously until the Iniilding of the railroads. 

In the meantime, Air. Hilton purchased 
a tract of timber land just east of the city, 
which he cleareil, selling the wood and tim- 
l)er. and adding to his acreage until the 
amount reached 128 acres of some of the 
finest land in the county. Here he made an 
ideal country home. His Inisiness instincts 
had led him to in\'est in property in and 
around Carlisle, all of which advanced in 
value. He was of i)rogressive spirit and 
worked hard for the development of Car- 
lisle and her commercial interests. Mr. Hil- 
ton was the first resident of the city to erect 
a modern residence here anil introduce 
plumbing, bath and heating ajjparatus. He 



, was one of the first stockholders in the Cum- 
berland \'alley railroad and supplied the ties 
at this place. .\t the age of about si.xty 
\-e:irs he removed to his farm, decitling to 
spend his last years among congenial rural 
scenes. He delighted in agriculture and 
operated his farm with the greatest enjoy- 
ment and most satisfactory results. Prior 
to this time he had erected a four-story 
building in Carlisle with the itlea of using 
it for manufacturing purposes and he util- 
ized it for the manufacture of a wagon 
slide seat, under a patent of his own, the 
btisiness assuming large proportions. The 
distributing point was in Kansas and large 
shipments were made to that point for many 
years. Mr. Hilton died in i8gi. In 1847 
he married Emeline Gibbs, a daughter of 
Henry Gibbs, an old and prominent citizen 
of Lancaster. She died at the age of seven- 
ty-three years, in iSqq. Thev reared a fam- 
ily of four children, naiuely : Miss Mary, a 
resident of Carlisle; Nannie, wife of J. S. 
Orrick, of Baltimore, Md. ; George \\'., of 
this sketch; and Sarah, wife of Samuel C. 
Boyer, of Port Clinton, Pennsylvania. 

George \\'. Hilton, bearing the family 
name, was born Jan. 14, iS6g. at Carlisle, 
and was educated in the public schools of 
the city, later taking an academic course 
and a business course at Peirce Business 
College, Philadelphia, Pa. While attending 
the latter he spent his evenings as a window 
draper for the millionaire merchant. John 
W'anamaker. The few hours intervening 
between his daily studies and evening duties 
were ne\-er wasted, as he acted then as col- 
lector, being employed by such business con- 
cerns as J. B. Lippincott & Co., Stephen 
Whitman, Benjamin Teller and W. O. Wil- 
ber & Sons. After completing his business 
course he continued for seven years the oc- 
cupations referred to, making Philadelphia 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



259 



tlie scene of liis operations. For three sum- 
mers he was also employed as a window- 
draper, by Lord & Taylor, of New York, his 
taste and ingenuity making; him very de- 
siral>le in this position, which reciuircd much 
artistic ability. For the past half dozen 
years he has had charge of this department 
of many of the leading houses in the Cum- 
berland Valle}'. 

I'pon the death of his father Mr. Hil- 
son was called home to take charge of tlie 
estate and act as executor and he gave his 
niothcr filial care until the close of her life. 
On May i, 1902, lie embarked in the con- 
fectionery business, operating the only first- 
class establishment of its kind in the city, 
which he has fitted u]) to ser\-e all the deli- 
cacies demanded by a most desiral)le trade, 
carrying creams of all kinds. Fluyler's and 
Whitman's productions, and manufactur- 
ing- mai-iy dainties and sweetmeats himself. 
He is very popular in Carlisle, his pleasant 
manner and obliging disposition making 
iiim many friends. He remains unmarried, 
and resides in a pleasaiit home at Xo. 14 
South Hanover street. 

CLARENCE AL LIGGETT, a pros- 
perous real estate dealer and insurance agent, 
with offices at No. 8 Court House avenue, 
Carlisle, is a native of the city, where he was 
born July 13, 1871, a son of Jacob L. and 
Emma L. (Leidig) Liggett. The father is 
now deceased, but the mother resides in 
Carlisle. 

Mr. Liggett's life has been spent in Car- 
lisle, where he was reared and attended 
school until he was seventeen years old, 
when he accepted a clerkship in the store of 
J. W. I'lank. remaining there for eighteen 
months. He then removed to Philadelphia 
and took a clerkship in the office of a whole- 
sale iron, steel and tin plate importing firm, 



with which he remained two years. Re- 
turning to Carlisle, he opened an office at 
his present address and established hin-iself 
in a real-estate and insurance business, meet- 
ing with remarkable success. He represents 
the leading fire insurance companies. and also 
conducts a large realtv business, attending to 
conveyancing and kindred business, and is 
most justly regarded as one of the leading 
young business n-ien of Carlisle. Politically 
he is a Democrat, and has served as treasurer 
of the l)oard of poor directors, and secretary 
of the York & Gettysburg railroad, of which 
he was one of the incorporators. 

On Oct. 25, 1900, Mr. Liggett was mar- 
ried to Miss Annie L. Robertson, of Phila- 
delphia, daughter of Henry E. and Oelia Z. 
(Dunn) Robertson. Two children have been 
born of this union, namely, Oella Isabel and 
Clare Robertson. Religiously, they affiliate 
with the Evangelical Lutheran Church and 
are \'ery prominent in that body. Their 
pleasant home is located at No. 654 North 
Hanover street, Carlisle. 

REUBEN BRUBAKER. president of 
the Beetem Lumber & Mfg. Co., of Car- 
lisle, Pa., was born in Lancaster county, Pa., 
near Ephrata, May 24, 1844, a son of John 
and Mariah (Kemper) Brubaker,and grand- 
son of Daniel Brubaker, who was a well 
known man of his day. The father of our 
subject died in 1854, aged thirty-two years, 
and the mother, died in Cumberland county 
aged sixty-two years. Mr. Brubaker was a 
farmer by occu])ati(in. The following chil- 
dren were born to this couple : Reuben ; Levi, 
a carpenter of Carlisle ; Jesse, a carpenter, 
living at Jennings, La. ; Henry, a carpenter 
of Decatur, 111. ; Fannie, deceased; and Mar- 
tin, a farmer of Brown county, Kansas. 

When only a lad of thirteen Reuben 
Brubaker was brought to Cumberland conn- 



26o 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



ty. where lie lias since made his home. His 
eckication was ohtaincd in the puljhc schools, 
which Ik- atlemleil nntil he was seventeen 
years old wlien lie learned the trade of car- 
penter. After a few years he hegan con- 
tracting and Iniilding, and has followed this 
calling e\er since upon an extensive scale 
throughout Cumherland county, having had 
the contract for the erection of many of the 
most ])retentious huildings in Carlisle. Since 
his election I'l the presidency of the Beetem 
Lumber Co. he has concentrated liis energies 
upiin the development of that business. 

The Ijeetem Lumber & Mfg. Co. of Car- 
lisle, Pa., with office and mill at Xns. 428 to 
442 East Xorth street, yards corner Louther 
and Spring Garden streets, manufacturers of 
sash, (1(11 irs. lilinds and hunlier of all kinds, 
has the f( illciwing officers: Reuben Bru- 
baker. president: Newt(>n C. Wert, secre- 
tary and treasurer. The company was in- 
corpdrated in i8()5 with a cajiital stock (^f 
$40,000. The business was originated liy 
(jeorge S. Beetem, in 1880, and at his death, 
in 1892. the tirni name changed to H. (j. 
P)eetem (& Cn.. thus remaining until the in- 
corporation, as given above. The board of 
directors is composed of men of prominence 
in the commercial world of Carlisle; H. G. 
IJeeteni. John F. Kerr. ). W. Wetzel, Calvin 
Wagner and R. Brubaker. 

In politics Air. Bruliaker is a stanch Re- 
publican, and one of the most acti\'e sup- 
porters of his party. I"or some rears he 
served as president of the board of health 
and has always borne his part in all public 
impr()\eiuents. 

Mr. Brubaker was married in 1866 to 
Miss Mary Wert, daughter of Joseph Wert. 
Mr. and i\Irs. Brubaker arc members of the 
Lutheran Church and fur the ]):ist twenty- 
five years Ah-. Brubaker has been a member 
of the official board, and was chairman o? 



the building committee when the present 
handsome edifice was put up in Carlisle, The 
pleasant hoiue of the family is at No. 137 
East Xorth street, where both Mr. and Mrs. 
Brubaker welcome their numerous friends 
with genial hospitality. 

H-\RRY HERTZLER. clerk of Cum- 
berland countv, and (jiie of the prominent 
residents of Carlisle, was born one and a 
(piarter miles e:ist of Carlisle Nov. 8. 1S61. 
a son of John and I'annie ( Erb ) Hertzler. 

The father (if oiu" subject was born and 
reared on what is known as the Strickler 
farm, and received a public school educa- 
tion. After his marriage he locatetl on the 
Erb farm, east of Carlisle, and later pur- 
chased this ])roi)ertv of his father-in-law. 
consisting oi 13(1 acres, whereon he fol- 
lowed farming until liis retirement, in 1873, 
after an unbroken record of fifty years as an 
agriculturist. Cpon his retirement he mo\ed 
to Carlisle. In ach.lition to farming he was 
a large h(jrse dealer, and was successful in 
all of his \entures. Mr. Hertzler was a 
kind-hearted, public-spirited man, jjrompt to 
assist the unfortunate and to further any 
measure calculated to pro\-e of Ijenelit to 
the community in general. Both he and 
his excellent wife were memlx'rs of the Men- 
nonite Church. Both are now deceased, Mr. 
Hertzler passing away in December. 1896. 
aged seventy-se\en \ears, and the mother 
May 13, i8()(), aged se\'enty-six years. She 
was a nati\-e (.)f Lancaster countv, daughter 
of John Erb. wIkt resided near Mavtown, 
but was buried on the old farm in Cumber- 
Irmd countv. 

Xine children were bom to this worthy 
couple: Mary married J(iseph Ruhl, of Mid- 
dlesex townshii), Cumljerland countv; Abra- 
ham is a resident of Indianola, low-a. a 
farmer and cattle dealer: John E., residing 



CUMBERLAND COUNTy. 



261 



1)11 the (lid honifstead. is a farmer; Samuel, 
was until rccentl}', proprietor of the "Frank- 
lin House" at Carlisle, Pa. ; Annie married 
Rev. J. M. Herr. of Monroe township ; Bar- 
bara married John D. Cireybill, of Carlisle; 
Daniel is a dealer of Carlisle; Harr\- is men- 
tioned below; Catherine died in infancy. 

Harry Hertzler was reared upon the 
farm, and like his fatlier was educated in the 
l)ublic schools. In iS/f) he came to Car- 
lisle witli bis parents and kiter was assistant 
to his brother-in-law J. 1). Creybill. at the 
Middlesex mills, and at the Carlisle mills. 
In 1884 he engaged in a 1i\ery business in 
Carlisle which he conducted until 1894. and 
he was also interested in handling luirses 
in company witli his brother Daniel, ship- 
ping from the West to Eastern markets. 
This branch of the business is still continued, 
but he retired from the livery business in 
1894. At th;it time he took charge of the 
"Franklin House" at Carlisle, which he con- 
ducted for five years, or .until i8(j9, when 
he assumed management uf the bottling 
works. These he operated until Dec. 23, 
1902, when he sold the plant in order to 
give all bis attention to liis official duties 
as clerk of the court and recorder of deeds, 
having been elected to the olifice in the fall 
of 1902, upon the Republican ticket. He has 
also served as a member of the council for 
two years. He has been auditor and assist- 
ant burgess, being elected to the latter office 
by a majority of seventy-two, and council- 
man from the Third ward by a majority of 
forty-nine. At the November election in 
1902 he carried e\ery ward in the city, thus 
demonstrating his wonderful personal popu- 
larity. He has represented bis party in coun- 
ty and State conventions and is a very im- 
portant factor in its ranks. 

Fraternally, Mr. Hertzler is a member of 
the Masonic order, Cumberland Star Lodge, 



Xo. i()y: St. John L'liapter. Xo. 191; St. 
John Commandery, No. 8 (of which he is 
trustee) ; Harrisburg Consistory. S. P. R. S., 
32d degree; and Lulu Temple, Xobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia. He is a 
member and treasurer of Two F'riends 
Lodge, No. 56, K.. of P. ; treasurer of the 
K. of G. E., No. 1 10; member and trustee 
of the B. P. O.' E. ; and a member of the 
Carlisle Club. 

In addition to his other interests Mr. 
Hertzler acts as secretary of the Star Street 
Railroad Company and the Steelton, New 
Cumberland & Mechanicsburg Street Rail- 
way Comiiany ; is treasurer of the Carlisle 
Horse Protecti\'e As,sociati(jn, and is active 
in all of the leading enterprises of the city. 
There lia\-e been few movements success- 
fully carried out within the past decade or 
two in Carlisle \\ hich have not directly or in- 
directly owed their consummation in some 
measure at least to the influence and enter- 
prise of Mr. Hertzler, and the city certainly 
owes much to this eminentlv enterprising 
and broad-gauged man. 

On Dec. 24. 1885, Mr. Hertzler was 
united in marriage to Miss Katie Foreman, 
a daughter of ex-Sherif¥ James K. Foreman. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hertzler have a beautiful home 
at No. 560 South Llanover street, where 
they show to their many friends a most 
gracious and la\-ish hospitality. 

DR. EPHRAIM SHULENBERGER, 
who lias offices at No. 150 West High 
street, Carlisle, is a nati\-e of Mifflin town- 
shii), Cunfljerland County, born Nov. 2, 
i860, and is a son of John Beatty Sliulen- 
berger, a resident of Shipjiensburg. 

After receiving a common-school edu- 
cation Dr. Shulenberger graduated from the 
academy at Newville, taught school for two 
terms, and then commenced the study of 



262 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



dentistry with Dr. D. S. McCoy, of New- 
ville. In i88j he wns enaljled to enter the 
Pennsylvania Cnhege of Dental Snrg'ery, 
Philadelphia, fmni which he was graduated 
in March, 1885, witli the degree of 
D. D. S., and cm April 7, 1885, he 
located in Carlisle, where he has since 
l)uilt up a practice which is constant- 
ly increasing. Dr. Shnlenherger kee]is 
in touch with the latest discoveries and im- 
provements in his pn)fession, and is a \'alned 
contrihutor in numerous dental journals 
throughout the country. He is a member 
of the State Dental Associaticm and alsD the 
Alumni Association nf his Alma Mater. 

In 1897 the Doctor erected his beautiful 
home on West High street, where he re- 
sides. He married in 1886 Miss Lillie, 
daughter of Rew J. Marion Mickley, of the 
Reformed Church of Xewbru'g, now of Mc- 
Knightstown, Adams county. Both the 
Doctor and his wife affiliate with the Re- 
formed Church, in which he has served for 
a number of years as deacon, and for thir- 
teen years has been an elder. He is a Dem- 
ocrat in political belief. 

GEORGE \V. RINESMITH, one of 
the leading and successful business men of 
Carlisle, was born in Perry county, this 
State, Aug. 28. 1840. a .son of Henry Rine- 
smith. The father was a weaver Iiy trade, 
but later in life liecame a farmer, and died 
in 1845, ^^^^ mother passing away the Mav 
of the same year. They had nine children, 
namely: John, who ilied in I'erry countv, 
was a farmer and merchant; David (de- 
ceased), was a cariienter, but became a 
farmer, and still later a hotelkeeper : Samuel, 
of Blaine, I'a.. is retired (he served in the 
Civil war) ; William, a resident of Carlisle, 
served for three years in the Civil war; 
Henry, who died in r>l;nne, w.as a farmer: 



George W. is mentioned below ; Mary ( de- 
ceased) married Solomon Gutshall ; Susan 
is the widow of Frederick Gutshall, of 
Blaine, Pa. ; Elizal:)eth died unmarried, in 
Carlisle. 

George W. Rinesmith was onl\- five 
years of age when he lost his parents, and 
he was bound out to Isaac Buttorff of Perry 
ctiunty, who two years later moved into 
Cumberland c<iunty. The lad remained 
with his master until after he was eighteen, 
and only recei\'ed a \-ery limited education. 
In the spring of 1859 he went to IMechanics- 
burg and entered as an apprentice in a tin 
shop, as he desired to le:n'n the trade of tin- 
smith. There he remained until July, i8fii, 
when he went t(_i Washington, D. C, and 
joined the Quartermaster's Department as 
assistant wagonmaster, soon afterward l)e- 
coming wagonmaster, and remaining in the 
department until July. 1864, when he was 
honorably discharged. He located in Car- 
lisle, purchasing the tin and stove business 
of Mrs. Monroe Mijrris, next door to his 
present location, and carried on the business 
at the original location until 1870, when he 
built the structure he now occupies. His 
business de\'eloped yearly until it reached 
its present magnitude, and he now carries 
the heaviest stock in the city, handling al- 
most everything in his line from a sto\-e to 
the smallest kitchen contrivance. Owing to 
his close application to aft'airs he has been 
enabled to raise himself from poverty to 
wealth, and during these years has also 
managed to exert his influence for good in 
the community, .\lthough he still super- 
vises the business, the acti\e work has been 
done by his sons since 1888. In addition to 
other interests Mr. Rinesmith is a director 
of the Farmers' Trust Co. He has also 
done a great amount of building, having 
erected fifteen residences, in addition to some 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTV. 



263 



business blocks, whlie his nwn residence, at 
No. 48 East Louther street, is especially 
comfortable and commodious. He has been 
a ])ublic benefactor and o;iven lilierally to- 
ward objects of worth. For some years he 
has been a worthy member of the council, 
as a representative of the Democratic party. 
Fraternally, he is a member of the I. O. O. 
F., Carlisle Lodge, No. qi. 

On March 24, 18^)4, Mr. Rinesmith 
married Miss Alice Plater, daughter of 
(jeorge Mater, and six children have been 
born of the marriage: Harry ¥.. a tinner, 
married Lillian Moucly, and has one child. 
Fay ; Clayton R., who with Harry, conducts 
the father's business, married Minnie Leop- 
ard : Adaline ni.nrricd Roliert Rupp, of Co- 
lumbia, Pa.; Charles li\es at home: Her- 
man, a cutter at the Lindner shoe factory, 
is at home; William W'., who is in the poul- 
try and egg business in Carlisle, married 
Mary Ritner, and they ha\-e had three chil- 
dren, Mildred, Lester and an infant. 

FRANK P. STROCK is senior mem- 
ber of the firm of F. P. Strock & Co., 
dealers in furniture, located at No. 27 South 
Hano\-er street, Carlisle, a house of relia- 
bility and business enterprise, one of the 
leading ones in the city. It was established 
March 2, 1901. and occupies three floors 
of the present Iniilding, the dimensions of 
which are 120 x 28 fet, with two additional 
storage buildings used as warehouses. A 
full line of first-class reliable furniture of 
all kinds is carried, as well as pictin-es and 
frames of all kinds. The firm is composed 
of F. P. Strock and E. R. Hutton. both old 
"knights of the grip."' 

Frank P. Strock is a native of Cumber- 
land county. Pa., born March 5, 1864. and 
was reared in Carlisle. His parents, Jacob 
H. and Angeline (Fissel) Strock. were both 



residents of Carlisle. ]\[r. Strock was edu- 
cated in the puljlic schools and in \Sj(> 
entered the mercantile establishment of John 
E. Burkholder, as a clerk, and remained 
some four years, going then in the same ca- 
pacity to Niles M. Fissel, with whom he 
continued two years. He then spent three 
years learning the trade of carriage trim- 
ming, after which he engaged as a clerk in 
the dry-goods establishment of Leidigh & 
Birnie, going later to J. \V. Plank. About 
one year- afterward he left Carlisle and en- 
gaged with the dry-goods house of Lyter 
& Fahnestock, at Harrisburg, as manager, 
continuing with that firm five years. Mr. 
Strock then went out as a tra\-eling sales- 
man for three years, at the end of that period 
locating at Sacramento. Cal., where he had 
charge of the silk and dress goods depart- 
ment of the house of Wienstock, Lul)in & 
Co.. for one year. Upon his return to Car- 
lisle he was again employed with Mr. Plank 
for some two years, and then embarked in 
his present business. His long experience 
in dealing with the public has given him con- 
fidence and thorough comprehension of 
what best pleases the buyer, and with this 
knowledge and a plea.sant, accommodating 
manner, and honest, first-class goods, he 
has made his personal venture a complete 
success. 

In politics ]\Ir. Strock is an ardent Dem- 
ocrat and a very useful member of his party. 
He belongs to a number of fraternal organi- 
zations, the Masons, the Royal Arcanum, 
the P. O. S. of A., and the B. P. O. E., No. 
578, being a charter member of the latter. 
In 1859 the Empire Hook 'and Ladder Co. 
of Carlisle was formed, and although but a 
lad of eleven years he joined the organiza- 
tion, in which he has ever since been active, 
has served as trustee and secretary, and ii> 
November, 1902, was elected president. 



264 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTY. 



In 18S5 ^Ir. Strock was married to 
Alaud Josephine Reese, a daughter of John 
M. Reese, of Harrislaurg, and they have one 
son, Leroy, still a student. Mr. and ■Mrs. 
Strock belong to the Lutheran Cnurch, lib- 
erally contributing to its support. He is 
one of the progressive and public-spirited 
men of the city and is justly held in esteem. 

J. C. AlEXTZER, one of the extensive 
land owners of I'rankford township. Cum- 
berland county, and a man widely and favor- 
ably known, is a son of John J. Mentzer, 
and grandson of Henry IMentzer. The fam- 
ily is of German descent, Init the exact lime 
of its establishment upon American soil is 
not definitely known. 

John J. ^lentzer was born in C\imber- 
land county, Feb. 21, 1830, and located in 
North Middleton township. He followed 
the blacksmith trade all his life. In 1852 
he married .\nnie B. Beistline, daughter of 
Michael and Catharine (Zimmerman) Beist- 
line, and in 1853 he removed to Frankford 
township, where he purchased a farm. He 
met his death by falling off a wagon, Tan. 
21. 1885. His widow is living with her 
son, in Frankford township. Children as fol- 
lows were born to Mr. and Mrs. J. J. i\Ient- 
zer : J. C. is mentioned below : Anna C. died 
in Illinois : Laura J. married W. W. Thum- 
ma, and lives in Frankford township ; !\Iaggie 
M. married Charles Bowiuan and li\es in 
North Aliddleton township; John H. died 
in Frankford township. 

J. C. Mentzer was born in 1852, in North 
Middleton township, this county, and as he 
grew up attended the schools of Frankford 
township until he was nineteen years of age. 
Then he devoted himself to farming, and 
remained at home until he was twentv-two 
years old, when he went to Illinois. He re- 
mained there for two years, engaged in farm- 



ing, and returning home at the expiration of 
that time worked for two years for his father. 
He then w ent to work for Jacob Kost, in his 
tannery, where he is still employed, being 
varcl Ijoss of the plant and engineer. iMr. 
Mentzer owns three line farms in Frankford 
townshil). but does not farm them for him- 
self, his time being entirely occupied by his 
duties at the tannery'. 

On Feb. 17, 1887, Mr. Mentzer married 
Annie S. Erford, daughter of J. J. Erford, 
an extended sketch of whom appears else- 
where, and one child, Olivia Blanch, was 
born to them Feb. 12, 1888. 

In politics Mr. Mentzer is a Democrat, 
although he does not confine himself strictly 
to party lines, preferring to vote for the man 
he deems best suited to the position in tpies- 
tion. He is a man of probity, uprightness 
and integrity, well (jualified for his position 
of trust, and one capable of maintaining his 
own uniler any circumstances. 

JOSEPH H. SNYDER, junior mem- 
ber of the mercantile firm of Behney & Sny- 
der, of Carlisle, was born Jan. 8, 1866, at 
Reading, Pa., a son of John B. and Rebecca 
CHildebrandt) Snyder. Grandfather Sny- 
der married a Miss Bertolet, a member of 
one of the old Huguenot fainilies of Berks 
county, and he was long a popular hotel 
keeper in Reading, in which city the family 
is an old one. It was supposedly founded 
by Huguenot refugees. 

John B. Snyder was also born at Read- 
ing, Pa., and was mainly educated at the 
Norristown Academy. By trade he was 
a mechanic, but his interest in and talent 
for music gave him other occupation. For 
a number of years he was leader of the Ring- 
gold band, and for some twenty-five years 
led the orchestra in the Reading Opera 
House. His proficiency in Iiand music gave 





^o^ 



THE "NEW YORK 
PlJBllC LIBRARY 



ASrOR, LENOX AND 

L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY 



26-, 



him a wide reputation, and lie had liis hands 
full instructing all through his own and 
neighboring counties, sometimes composing 
music. He was well known in Reading, 
where for years he was tax collector and 
held other civic otSces, on more than one 
cccasion being a useful member of the city 
council. In politics he was a Repul)lican 
and acli\e in work for the party. He died 
No\-. I, lyoo, aged sixty-three years. 
Mr. Snyder married Rebecca Hildebrandt, 
(laughter of Joseph Hildeljrandt. a well- 
known hat manufacturer, and the ])ioncer 
"in that business at Reading. Mr. and 
Mrs. Snyder had a family of seven chil- 
dren, of whom six siu'vive: George II., a 
tax collector of Reading; Bertolet H., who 
died aged thirty-two years (he was a master 
of the cornet and traveled all o\-er the coun- 
try with his inslnnnent) : ?\linnic K., wife 
of J. C. Behney, of the firm of Behney & 
Snyder; Joseph H. ; Laura, wife of George 
C. Straub, of Reading: John II., a manu- 
facturer of jewelry, of Reading; and Ar- 
thur G., manager and part owner of the 
King Dramatic Co. 

Joseph H. Snyder sjient his boyhood 
and earlv life in Reading and obtained his 
education in the Reading schools. At the 
age of twenty he went West and worked 
at the machinist's trade for se\'eral years at 
St, Paul, Minn., and for three years was 
identified with the Chicago & Great West- 
ern Railroad. Later he accepted a profit- 
able mercantile clerkship in which he re- 
mained until i8<y). when he returned to 
Reading, and in the same year became asso- 
ciated with J. C. Behney, the present part- 
nership Ijeing formed. Mr. Snyder is a 
young man full of business enterprise, a 
member of the Carlisle Board of Trade, 
and one of tlie busy and public-spirited citi- 
zens of that place. 



In 1889, in Reading, he \vas married to 
Maggie, daughter of Jacob Doughty, and 
the two children of this union are : Arthur 
B., fifteen years old, and Jennie M., eleven 
years old, both bright students in the local 
schools. Religiously, the family is asso- 
ciated with the Reformed Church. 

SAMUEL J. H.\RRIS, ex-sherii¥ of 
Cumberland county, and a very prominent 
man of Carlisle, w-as born at Sbippensburg 
Xov. 20, 1843, son of Samuel and Eliza 
(Line) Harris. 

Samuel Harris was born Sept. 10, 181 1. 
and died Nov, 12, 1877. \\'hen a boy he 
came to Cumberland count)- and here passed 
the rest of his life. He was a blacksmith 
and followed that trade successfully all his 
life, being a thorough mechanic and pos- 
sessed of considerable inventive genius. 
About 1867 he invented the Harris double 
harpoon hay fork. Lie was a hard-working 
industrious man, and no doubt hastened his 
death liy overwork. He was one of the pro- 
gressive men of his county, always ready 
to assist in anything for the public good, was 
a devout Christian and an earnest worker 
in the Church of God, and a close student 
of the Bible, with wdiich he was very famil- 
iar being able to quote from almost any part 
of the Scriptures. In politics he affiliated 
with the Democratic jiarty. He served five 
years as justice of the peace at .Shippens- 
burg. 

Samuel Harris married Eliza Line, and 
th.eir family consisted of eleven children, as 
follows: Daniel, who died at Oakville, 
Cumberland county, in 1885, when about 
fifty-three, was a blacksmith, althnugh be 
had retired at the time of his demise ( dur- 
ing the Civil war be served in the Union 
cause, enlisting in August, 1862, and after 
serving three months, assisted in raising 



266 



C UMBERLAND CO UNTV 



Company D, 130th P. ^^ I.) : Martha is the 
widmv of John C. Martin ; W'ilHam chetl 
young: Elizabeth died young; [Miss Sarah 
is a resident of Shipijensburg; Samuel J. is 
mentioned below ; Elizal.ieth became the 
wife of Horace A. Tolhelm. of Philadel- 
phia; Jdlin W. li\es in Creston. Iowa, and 
is a blacksmith; IMary died young; Jennie 
married F. X. Christman, of Harrisburg; 
\\'illiam (J), w Iim died in Williamsport, 
was a blacksmith. 

Samuel J. Harris was reared to' the 
work of a blacksmith, and received but a 
limited education, but owing to close ob- 
servation and natiu'al intelligence he is never 
the less a very well posted man. His busi- 
ness career liegan when he was fourteen, 
when he went into the shop with his father. 
In 1862. when he was only nineteen, he en- 
listed in Company D. 130th P. V. I., for 
nine months, and ser\'ed as corporal, par- 
ticipatir.g in the battles of .\ntietam and 
Chancellorsville ; at the former battle he 
was wounded in the groin with a shell. 
.\fter the close of his term of ser\-ice he 
returned to his farm and assisted his father 
under the firm name of Harris & Sons. 
After his father died the business was con- 
ilucted b}- Harris «S: Bro., and still later by 
Samuel J. Harris. He continued in busi- 
ness until 1897. when he was elected sherit^ 
of Cumberland county, serving a term of 
three years. He has always been a stanch 
Democrat, and when he was elected he had 
the handsome majority of goo, thus prov- 
ing his personal popularity. Mr. Harris is 
a member of Capt. Colwell Post. fj. .\. R.. 
No. 201; and of the T. O. O. P., Cumber- 
land Lodge, No. 90. and Encampment Xo. 
34. He has represented his lodge t(j the 
(Irand Lodge, and has been a member of 
the order since he was twenty-one years of 
age. Since 1878 he has been a trustee of 



the Shippensburg Xormal School, and he is 
very jjopular in all the relations of life. 

On October 31. 1868, ^Ir. Harris was 
married to Laura B. Haller, daughter of 
Henry Haller, of Shippensburg, who died 
January 16, 1875, leaving one child, Carrie 
A., now the wife of Frank Gates, of Ship- 
pensburg. On Jan. 11. 1880. ^Ir. Harris 
was married to Sallie Diflenderfer. daugh- 
ter of John and Rel)ecca Dift'enderfer. and 
they ha\-e three children. Roy D.. Rebecca 
and Samuel. Jr. The family affiliate with 
the Church of God. 

BEXJA:MIN W. HOSLER. one of the 
li\'e. active business men of Carlisle, was 
born in Xorth Middleton township. Cum- 
berland county. Jan. 13, i860, a son of Ben- 
jamin and Elizabeth ( Alordorf) Hosier. 

The Hosier family is of German de- 
scent, and was founded in America at an 
early day. Benjamin Hosier, the father, 
was a native of Lancaster county. Pa., came 
to Ctnnberland county with his mother 
when a young man. and here learned the 
trade of a carpenter and builder, and for 
years was one of the leading contractors of 
Cumberland county. His home was about 
one and one-half miles north of Carlisle, 
where he owned a small farm on which 
many of the buildings standing to-day are 
evidences of his enterprise and thrift. 
About 1849 f*'' 1850 he went to California, 
and engaged in gold mining for some eigh- 
teen months. In 1873 he went to the east- 
ern part of Xorth Carolina. locating near 
Xewbern. and manufactured lumber for 
seventeen years. Returning to Carlisle, he 
associated his son Benjamin \\'. with him 
in a creamery business. ]\lr. Hosier died 
Jan. 20, 1902. aged eighty years, and his 
excellent wife, who was a native of Cumber- 
land county, died in 1876, aged fifty-eight 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



267 



years. Both were members (it the German 
Reformed Church. Their children were as 
follows: John T., deceased; Amanda, wife 
of Adam Egolf, of Harrisburg: Sarah, who 
married Jerome Kantfman of Carlisle; and 
Benjamin W. 

Benjamin \\". Hosier, the youngest of 
the family, was re;n-ed on the farm and edu- 
cated in the public schools. Like many an- 
other farmer's boy, ui)on ending his public 
school career he began to teach school him- 
self, continuing thus for nine years in Cum- 
berland cciuntv, after which he s]ient three 
years in North Carolina with his father. 
Returning to Carlisle, in i8yo, he engaged 
in the creamery business, and since about 
1893 'i'^ 'i'^'' 'i'^'^ charge of the entire Inisi- 
ness, operating several creameries, includ- 
ing one in Carlisle which he fi.iunded upon 
locating in the city in i8y_^. He manufact- 
ures butter, the jiroduct being marketed to 
Philadelphia and Camden, and also oper- 
ates a milk department which is one of the 
best in the city. In 1899 '^^ l)egan the man- 
ufacture of ice cream, which enterprise has 
grown to considerable proportions. JNIr. 
Hosier selling at wholesale in different por- 
tions of the country, as well as to the retail 
trade. In the spring of 1903 he estal)lished 
a wholesale and retail milk and ice cream 
depot at Harrisburg ( the ice cream being- 
manufactured in Carlisle), and he also has 
an extensive creamery at or near Cain- 
bridge, in Lancaster county. 

Mr. Hosier has taken considerable in- 
terest in politics as a Republican, and rejire- 
sents the First ward in the council, although 
that ward is strongly Democratic : he 
carried it by a majority of 13^. ]-"rater- 
nally he is a member of the A. F. & A. M.. 
Cumberland Star Lodge, No. 197, and St. 
John Chapter; of the I. O. O. F., Lodge 
No. 91 ; of the K. of P., No. 56; of the I. 



O. R. M., Letort Lodge; of the Royal Ar- 
canum, and the Fraternal Mystic Circle. 

In 1883 Mr. Hosier was married to JMiss 
Lizzie Gutshall, a daughter of Jacob Gut- 
slwll, of Cumberland county, and four chil- 
dren have been born to them : Edith, Edna. 
Harold, and Norman, deceased. They are 
all members of the Reformed Church, in 
the work of which they take an active part, 
and their pleasant home is at No. 535 North 
Bedford street, where they welcome their 
many friends. 

ALBERT W. SIPE. The Sipe Family 
is one of the oldest in Cumberland county. 
Pa., its representatives having lived here 
for over a century. The grandfather of 
.\. W. Sipe, Peter Sipe, was born in 1771 
at Lancaster, Pa., came to this county with 
his parents when a lad, antl located \\\th 
them near Mt. Holly Springs. Peter Sipe 
was a farmer, and a carpenter by trade. He 
and his wife Mary were Dunkards in re- 
ligious faith. He died of old age when he 
was ninety-one, and his wife was aijout 
eighty-six, when she passed away ; they were 
buried in the liurying-ground of Baker's 
Church. The following children were born 
to them: Sarah, born in 1816, married 
William Kinard, of Cumberland county, and 
both are buried at Mechanicsburg ; Eliza- 
beth, born in 1806, married Levi How'e, of 
Cumberland county, and both are buried at 
Moler's Church: Mary, Ijorn in 18 15, mar- 
ried Jacob Shaffer, and died at York Springs. 
Adams Co.. Pa.; Susannah, born in 1807, 
married Jacob Steinhaur, and they are buried 
at Mechanicsburg, in Chestnut Hill ceme- 
tery; John, born in 1809, went to Illinois 
and lived to advanced age upon a farm near 
Monmouth ; Daniel was a farmer in Adams 
county, where he died in early life; Samuel, 
])crn in 181 3. was a tanner, and died in 



268 



CyMBERLAND COUNTY. 



Carlisle; David, was tlic frilbcr of Albert 
\\^ Sipe. 

David Sipe. horn in jS](S, was reare<l 
upon a farm, and he received a very limited 
education, onlv attending- school two terms. 
When he was a young- n-ian he learned the 
Inide of a cabinet-maker, which he follnwed 
until he retired, a few years ])rior to his 
dea.th. In conjunction with his business in 
this line, which was a l.-n-gc one. en-iployment 
being given to fifteen to t\\ent_\- men. Mr. 
Sipe conducted an undertaking business, and 
for some rears carried on a carpet and wall- 
paper estalilishn-ient. lie also dealt largely 
in real estate, and to-day there are a number 
of substantial houses standing in Carlisle 
wdiich he erected. In all of his ventures 
he was eminentlv successful. Xot only was he 
an excellent business man, hut he managed 
the affairs of the town intrnstcd to him in 
the same successful n-ianner. It was he who 
adx'ocated and carried tlu-ough the proposi- 
tion to put in brick walks in Carlisle, and 
n-iany other equally important improvements 
owed their conception and fulfillment to 
him. In religion he was a consistent 
Lutheran and for years was a member 
of the advisory board, flei-ierous and char- 
itable to a fault, he not onlv ga\-e liberally, 
but reared in his own home several destitute 
ch.il clren. 

David Sipe married Ann Catherine 
^\^eibIy, a daughter of Peter and Elizalicth 
( Bowers) Weibly, and she sur\'ived until 
May, 1888, Mr. Sipe dyii-ig in December, 
1883, Five children were born to them: 
]\Iary, who died in childhood ; Rol)ert, a cabi- 
net-maker of Carli.sle; Albert W. : Charles 
H., a conductor on the Cumberland Valley 
railroad; and \\'illian-i. who died in child- 
hood. 

Albert W. Sipe w-as born Julv 2. 1S52, 
and was educated in the public schools of 



Carlisle. When he was fonrteen he began 
to earn his lixing at farm work, and at 
se\-enteen he began to learn the carpenter 
trade with San-iuel and Ephraim Wetzel, 
serving an apprenticeship of three years. Six 
months thereafter he began working with his 
father, and for hxe vears was engaged in 
cabinet-making, after which he went back 
to the carpenter's trade. L'ntil iQor he w-as 
one of the successful carpei-iters of Carlisle, 
hut since then he has lived retired. He has 
also dealt largelv in real estate, and is one 
of the solid, substantial men of the county. 
Fraternally he is a member of the I. O. 
O. F.. Carlisle Lodge. No. 91. and Fncanip- 
ment, Xo. 25(1. and is \cr\ ])opular in the 
order. 

In iSjC) 'Wr. Si lie ^vas married to Miss 
Harriet Brenneman. a daughter of Isaac and 
Mary Brenneman, and one child has Ijeen 
Ixirn to them, Harry B.. wIki resides in 
Carlisle. This voung man was married to 
Miss Leo ]\Iyers, a most charming lady of 
Carlisle. He is a tailor, conveniently located 
on \\'est Main street. 'Die men-ibers of the 
family are all connected with the Lutheran 
Church, and uphold the customs of the fam- 
ily in taking an active part in its good w-ork. 
Albert \\'. Si])e is justlv numliered as one of 
the leading men of the community. In poli- 
tics, like his father, he is a Democrat ; the 
father w-as formerlv a \\ big. The Sipe fam- 
ily is one which stands well in Cumberland 
conntv, and its representatives have been 
men of good business ability, integrity of 
l>urpose and possessed of marked aptitude 
in son-ie direction or other. 

JOHN A. HILDEBRANDT. one of the 
leading residents r)f Carlisle. Cumberland 
Co., Pa., was born in that city July 24, 1866, 
a son of Henry and Elmira ( Adan-is ) Hildc- 
brandt. 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



269 



The father was born in I lesse-Darni- 
stadt. Clermany. Aug. 9, 1835, and when a 
lad of eighteen years came to America and 
located in Xew York City, where for three 
years he worked in a confectionery store. 
In 1858 he enhsted in the United States 
regular army, in which lie continued until 
■1868, being a musician in the cavalr}- de- 
partment. His term of service included the 
entire period of the Civil war. After his 
discharge he located in Carlisle and engaged 
in a grocery business on East Main street for 
ten years. He then purchased a lot on the 
ncjrtheast corner of Bedford and North 
streets, and there he erected a busi- 
ness block and residence combined and 
continued his grocery establishment un- 
til 1886, when he was succeeded by 
his son John A. and retired. During a long 
and useful life he had amassed considerable 
IMTiperty through his own efforts. Like so 
many df his countrymen he was a 
tine nuisician. ;md from earliest childhood 
was carefuly trained in music. He passed 
away .\ug. 23, 1895. ^ consistent member of 
the Lutheran Church. His wife, who was 
born in Perry county. Pa.. Oct. 15, 1847, 
.still survives. A family of f\\<^ children 
was born to them: John A., our subject; 
Mary, unmarried, who is at home; Harrv, 
unmarried, at home, anfl two deceased. 

John A. Hildebrandt was reared in Car- 
lisle and educated in the public schools, and 
when he was fourteen years of age began 
to learn the carpenter's trade, continuing 
to work at same for five years. When only 
nineteen years of age he succeeded his 
father and for nine years carried on the 
business successfully, retiring at the end 
of that time. He is one of the broad-gauged, 
public-sjiirited men of the city, and wields 
considerable inlluence among his fellow citi- 
zens. In additiiin ti > other interests he owns I 



seven excellent properties in Carlisle, and 
has a life interest in thirteen others, .\fter 
retiring from his grocery business Air. 
Hildebrandt embarked in a poultr}- enter- 
prise which has been very successful, es- 
tablishing the Carlisle Poultry Farm, lo- 
cated two and one-half miles northeast of 
the city. This farm drntains no acres 
of land well adapted for the purpose. In 
politics Mr. Hildebrandt is a Democrat, and 
he represents the First ward in the city coun- 
cil, having been \ery acti\c in public affairs. 
Fraternally he is a member of the K. of G. 
E., Xo. no; I. O. O. F., Xo. 91. and Royal 
Arcanum, X'o. 502. 

On Sept. 18, 1890, ]\Ir. Hildebrandt was 
married to Aliss Elizabeth Jane McFeaters, 
daughter of P. W. and Rosa CReeder) Mc- 
I^'eaters, who was born in Juniata countv, 
Pa., May 16, 1869, and two children have 
been bom of this union. Harry W. and 
John R. The family reside in a beautiful 
home at Xo. 207 X'orth Bedford street. 
They are consistent members of the First 
Lutheran Church of the cit_\-. 

EDWARD J. WEI DM AX. one of the 
successful business men of Carlisle. Cum- 
l)erland Co.. Pa., is a native of that town, 
born July 6, 1858, and is a son of Louis 
rmd Catherine (Barrack) XN'eidman, both of 
whom are now deceased. 

The father was born March 25. 1827, in 
Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany where he grew 
to manhood and adopted the calling of an 
engineer, to which he gave his life. After 
coming to America, in 1857, before his 
marriage, he located in Carlisle on account 
of having friends here, finding employment 
in the foundry on East Main street where 
he remained for forty-two years. At first 
he was in the blacksmith shop, but after- 
ward took charge of the engine room, and, 



270 



CCMBERLAXD COiW'TV 



Ijeing a mechanical genius, especially in the 
line of wood work, his spare time was spent 
in making furniture, and the turning of 
balusters and articles <if a similar nature. 
His son Edward J. has several pieces of 
furniture made liy his father which he prizes 
\erv highly. 

Louis W'eidman married Catherine Bar- 
rack, wild was 1)1 >rn on a farm thiee and 
one-half miles east of Carlisle, daughter of 
Henry and Catherine Barrack, and died in 
Aia\', 1897. Thev had five children: Ed- 
wa.rd J.; Charles S., a resident of Jeannette, 
Pa., a glass packer; Katie, who married 
Edward Rensler of Carlisle; Louis, de- 
ceased in infancy ; and Carrie, who died at 
the age of three years. The father was a 
member of the Lutheran Church, while the 
mother belonged to the Albright Church. 

Edward J. Weidman was born and 
reared in Carlisle and attended the public 
schools until be was f(iurteen, when he be- 
gan to learn the trade of barber in Pitts- 
burg with his uncle. On Nov. 2^, 1875, 
he started in business on East Main street, 
opposite the county jail, and has since con- 
tinued in this line in Carlisle. He has al- 
ways taken a deep interest in public affairs, 
especially in educati()nal matters, and when, 
in Februar}', 1900, he was elected to the 
city council, the people felt that the right 
man was in the place, and so satisfied were 
they with his work that thev returned him in 
1903. During his term of office he has held 
the important position of chairman of the 
Finance committee, and has also served upon 
several of the other leading committees. 
Mr. W'eidman is a stanch Democrat, but 
has many warm friends in the ranks of both 
parties, and he is representing the Second 
ward in the city council. 

On Sept. 8, 1881, Mr. Weidman was 
married to Miss Lulu M. Groam, daughter 



of Thomas and Rachel ( Eply ) Groam, who 
are now of Carlisle, liut formerly were of 
York county. Mr. and Mrs. Weidman have 
two children ; Ivachel G. ( a pupil in the high 
school ) and Louis E. They all reside at No. 
76 East Pomfret street, where he owns six 
\'ery valuable houses which he erected. Mr. 
\\'eidman owns some very desiraljle resi- 
dence and business ])roperty, antl is justly 
regarded as one ni Carlisle's substantial and 
highly respected residents. 

LUTHER B. HALBERT, proprietor of 
the cigar store and billiard and pool rooms at 
No. 29 Main street. Carlisle, has been es- 
tablished in that business since 1898. He is 
a native of Carlisle, born March 20, 1869, 
son of Charles and Catherine ( Beetum) 
Halbert. and grandson of Joseph Halbert. 
B(.ith his parents were natives of Cumber- 
land county, the father ha\-ing l)een born in 
Carlisle, and the mother near Centerville. 
The father died in 1872, a young man, as 
he was only born in 1845. During his busi- 
ness life he was a furniture dealer and was 
quite successful. He was a prominent mem- 
Ijer of the First Presliyterian Church and 
for years leader of the choir. His family 
consisted of three children, namelv: Fannie 
E.. wife of C^lviii Neilson, of Washington, 
D. C. ; Luther B. ; and Charles, a grocer and 
liutcher of West street. The mother, wdio 
is still li\ing. is a daughter of John Beetum. 

Luther B. Halbert was reared in Carlisle 
and recei\'ed his education in the pulilic 
schools. He learned the printer's trade, 
which he later followed for fourteen years 
in Carlisle and elsewhere. However, in 
1898 he embarked in his present business 
which he has continued \-ery successfully 
ever since. Li September. 1904. he built 
a bowding alley in the rear of his establish- 
ment, with double alleys. He is a member 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



271 



of the A. F. & A. M., belonging to Cumljer- 
land Star Lodge of tlie Knights of Pythias. 
No. 56, and of the B. P. O. E.. No. 578. 

In 1900 Mr. Hailiert was married to Miss 
M. Elizabeth Jones, daughter of Richard 
and Martha Jones, and their pleasant home 
is located at No. 12 West Main street, where 
the friends of the family are warmly wel- 
comed. They are all consistent members 
of the First Presbyterian Church. 

PHILIP L. GEBHARD. the proficient 
barber at No. 7 Market House a\-enue, Car- 
lisle, is a native of this place, born Aug. 10, 
1866. His parents,'; Jacob and Annie 
(Smith) Gebhard, were Imth born in Ger- 
many, and the mother is still living in Car- 
lisle. She came to this country when a 
young girl. The father died in May, 1867. 
He was reared in Germany, and on coming 
to .\merica located in Chambersburg, w^here 
he was engaged in brewing ale. Later he 
came to Carlisle and operated his own plant 
on the corner of Pomfret and East street, 
following the brewing of_ ale until his 
death. He was successful, and died verv 
well off, the owner of valuable propertv. 
Politically he was a Democrat. Fraternally 
he was a Mason and a member of the Odd 
Fellows (lodge and encampment), and al- 
ways took an active part in the latter order. 
At his death he left a family of five children : 
Amanda (deceased) married John A. 
Floyd, of Carlisle; George H. is a steam- 
fitter of Carlisle: Margaret married James 
M. Bixler, of Carlisle; William B., at Har- 
risburg, is employed in the Pennsylvania 
railroad shops; Philip L. is the subject 
proper of these lines. 

Lentil he was thirteen years of age Pliilip 
L. Gebhard attended the public schools in 
his native town, and then he began to earn 
his li\-ing by working in a brickyard. He 



was next employed in learning the trade of 
a machinist, and thus continued for two 
years. The energetic young mrm then 
learned the trade of barber with Jacob 
Spath, of Carlisle, beginning in 1880. By 
1892 he was sufficiently known politically 
to be given a position as private messenger 
to the clerk of the House of Representatives 
at Washington, D. C. and served in that 
position for four years. After his return 
to Carlisle he opened the shop where he may 
l)e found to-day, and it is generally recog- 
nized that he has the best equippeil shaving 
parlors in Carlisle. 

Ever since attaining his majoritv Mr. 
(iebliard has been active along political lines, 
being a strong Democratic worker, although 
not an office-seeker. Fraternally he is very 
well known, belonging to Cumberland Star 
Lodge, No. 197, A. F. & A. M. : the L O. 
O. F. Lodge, No. 91 ; and the K. of P. 
Lodge, No. 56, Carlisle, having passed all 
the chairs in the latter order. 

On December 21, 1887, Mr. Gebhard 
was married to Miss Ida Elmer, daugh- 
ter of \A'illiam Elmer, of Carlisle, and 
one child has Ijeen born to them, 
Vena. The family affiliates with St. 
Paul Lutheran Church. Their pleas- 
ant home is located at No. 55 South 
East street, which Mr. Gebhard erected in 
1887. Since January, 1902, Mr. Gebhard 
has been serving as treasurer of the county 
almshouse, and as usual acquitting himself 
creditably. He has an unusually large num- 
ber of warm personal friends by wdiom he 
is highly esteemed, as he is by all who have 
the pleasure of his acquaintance. 

CHARLES H. SIPE, one of the pros- 
perous business men of Carlisle, Pa., was 
born Aug. 14, 1859, in the house he now 
occupies. His education was obtained in 



-/- 



CL'MBERLAXD COUNTY 



the local schools of Ca!ii^le, and while still 
a vouiig man he succeeded to his father's 
large carpet and wall-paper business, carry- 
ing it on for se\-eral years, until failing 
health compelled him to seek a warmer cli- 
mate. Fcu' three \e;u's he lived in Florida. 
Returning to Carlisle, he engaged in the 
confectioner}" business for three }ears. and 
then entei'cd the employ of the Cumberland 
\'alley Railroad Company as conductor. 

In Januar)', 1884, ]\Ir. Sipe was mar- 
ried to Miss Ella F., daughter of W. B. and 
Martha McComniim. and one child has 
been born to this union, Anna Catherine. 
Both Mr. and ^Irs. Sipe are members of the 
Lutheran Church, in the work of wdiich 
the}' take an active part. They both ha\e 
man}- friends throughout the city and are 
deserxedly popular. 

\\'ILLL\M T. S. JAMISON. \\'hen 
the sad news of the d6ath of William T. S. 
Jamison was recei\-ed, April 14. 1894, e\er\- 
citizen of the town felt a sense of personal 
loss. The entire Cumberland \'alley lost a 
familiar figure in the commercial world, and 
those who knew him best were bereft of a 
firm friend and wise counselor. He was a 
courteous, considerate gentleman, generous 
and charitable to all. In his busine.ss he was 
aggressive and enterprising-, yet strictlv 
honest in his methods. His word w-as as 
good as his bond, and his honor was un- 
tarnished. Mv. Jamison was born in Indian- 
apolis. Ind., July 3, 1843, son of John and 
Mary Jane (Snodgrass) Jamison. 

John Jan-ii.son was one of the twelve 
men who located on and cleared the land 
where now- stands Indianapolis, Ind., and he 
felled the first tree. He owned seven and 
one-half acres, where the- Blind Asvlum is 
now located. In 1841 he married 'Sla.ry 
Jane Snodgrass. who was born in Chanibers- 



l)urg Dec. (>. 18 15. daughter of William T. 
and Jane ( Alorrow ) Snodgrass. He died 
in 1843, before the birth of their only child, 
William T. S.. and the widow-ed young 
mother returned ti > her father's home in 
Shippensburg. 

Willian-i T. S, Jamison was only a few 
months old when his mother brought him to 
Shippensburg, which was his home for the 
rest of his life. His school days past, he at 
once began to learn the rudiments of mer- 
cantile Ijusiness as a clerk for J. & J. B. 
Reddig. b^roni his mother he inherited a 
n;itiu-al talent for business, and in a very 
sliort time had n-iastered the general methods 
of business transactions. During the Civil 
war he was a clerk in the office of the iirovost 
niarshal at Harrisburg, and for a short time 
clerked in a drv-goods store ii-i the same 
city. His time had so far Ijeen spent in 
preparation for the career he had determined 
u]ion. His earnings had been saved, and in 
18O7 he o])ened up a dry-goods store for 
himself, in the old Rankin property in Ship- 
pensburg. now occupied by Cofifey Bros. 
This was succeeded by a room fitted up in 
his own hon-ie, a few doors east. Business 
came to him rajjidh-, and soon he found him- 
self cramped for mom. In 1884 he pur- 
chased the Cri swell property, on the south- 
east corner of ]\Iain and Railroad streets, 
and erected the present handsome and coni- 
modious" building, whither his stock was re- 
moved the sanie }ear. Jamison's Bazaar be- 
came a household word to people in the 
Cumberland N'alley. Mr. J;unison was es- 
sentially a merchant. He left nothing hon- 
orable undone to increase and extend his 
business, and he was a liberal advertiser, 
alwavs, howe\-er. ad\ei-tising his wares as 
they reallv were. He ne\-er permitted his 
clerks to misreiM-esent any thing. Courtesy 
to patrons and honest representation w^ere 





'i^2yy<;rz^^od^!^^-c^ 



THE "SEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOB, LENOX AND 

TILDEN Flli'Nn\TT0N8 

B L 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



273 



two of his fixed rules. His place in the es- 
timation of husiness rivals and associates was 
shown in the closing of all places of busi- 
ness in the cit_\' during his funeral. W hen 
the time came to pay the last tribute of 
respect to William T. S. Jamison a large con- 
course of friends as.sembled. I'Jev'. W. A. 
McCarrell, of the Presbyterian Church, as- 
sisted by other ministers of the borough, 
spoke words of comfort to the sorrowing 
widow ami the many friends, and amid a 
wealth of J^lowers the mortal remains of the 
beloxed husband, successful merchant, up- 
right citizen and noble Christian gentleman 
were laid to rest in Spring Hill cemetery. 

■ On Jan. 23. 1883. by Rev. J. M. Carvel! , 
Mr. Jamison was married to Emily J. Daley, 
of Shippensburg. who survives him. Rev. 
R. L. jamis')n i>f the Methodist Church of 
Kidder, Mo., a half brother, survived him 
for one year. In his religious belief Mr. 
Jamison was a consistent Presbyterian. l"ra- 
ternall}- he was a ]\Iason and an Odd 
Fellow. 

Mrs. i\I.\RY J.vxE (Snodcras-s) J.vmi- 
SON entered into rest at midnight, Aug. 23, 
1898. in the eighty-third year nf her age. 
Thus passed another familiar figure from the 
busy daily life of Shippensburg. Mrs. Jami- 
son was born in Chambersburg. Dec. 6, 181 5, 
a daughter of William T. and Jane ('Mor- 
row) Snodgrass, worthy pioneers of Scotch- 
Irish descent, who were married Dec. 20, 
1809, bv Re\-. Dr. John Moodey. She was 
but a few weeks old when her parents re- 
moved to Sbippensl)urg. where her father 
conducted a mercantile business, and wa-s 
lirominent in the welfare and advancement 
of the Presbyterian Church. In 184 1 she 
married John Jamison, of Indiana))olis. Ind.. 
where they resided until Mr. Jamison's 
death, which occurred in 1843. when -he re- 



turned to Shippensburg with her infant son, 
William T. S. 

Mrs. Jamison was a woman of remark- 
able business ability, and was one of the 
first, if not the first, ladies to become a sales- 
woman, as she entered her father's store in 
early life, subsequently her brother's, and 
finally her son's. The latter became one of 
the leading merchants in the Cumberland 
Valley, and with him .she remained until his 
death, when she retired. Her pleasant, 
heart}' welcome was sadly missed bv the 
shoppers, and when death came they spoke 
feelingly of her efiforts in their behalf, of 
her kindly guidance and counsel, which 
helped to mold their lives in safer and surer 
ways. Her last years were made pleasant 
through the loving care of her daughter-in- 
law, ^'^r;. Emily J. Jamison, who w-as most 
devoted to her. Her brother, Robert Snod- 
grass. of Philadelphia, is the onlv surviving 
member of the famil}-. 

In early life Mrs. Jamison united with 
the Presbyterian Church, and was always 
faithful in the discharge of her Christian 
duties. She was very charitable, her great 
wonianly heart symjiathizing with every cry 
of distress. Her remains rest in Spring Hill 
cemetery. 

HEXRY GARDNER, one of the well 
known and much esteemed residents of the 
city of Carlisle, comes of one of the old and 
honorable early families of York county, 
where he was Ijorn Aug. 26, 1827, a son of 
]\Iartin and ]\Iary (Thomas) Gardner. 

]\Iartin Gardner, his grandfather, prob- 
ably came from Germany, but he certainly 
was a very early settler in York county, 
and owned farming land in the low er part. 
His son Martin was one of several children, 
and was born aljout 1775 in York county, 



18 



274 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



dying in 1S37 in the city of York. He was 
a man of i)r(imiiience in his community, and 
for eight years ])rior to his death had been 
steward at the Yori< county ahushouse. For 
manv years lie conducted a farm situated 
between York and Wrightsville. Mr. 
Gardner was noted for the commendable 
spirit he displayed in all public enterprises 
and he was active in his promotion of all 
movements looking to the improving of the 
pulilic highways and the furthering of re- 
ligious and educational matters. He mar- 
ried Mary Thomas, and they had a family 
of eight cliildren born to them, as follows: 
Franklin (deceased) was a manufacturer 
at Carlisle: Israel, who was a blacksmith, 
died at Carlisle: Martin died at .Vltoona, 
where he worked as a nn >lder in a foundry ; 
Henry is mentioned below; Albert is a ma- 
chinist living at .Mtoona ; Lucy (deceased) 
was the wife of Danford Edmonds; two 
died in childhood. 

Henry Gardner was a lad in his teens 
Avhen the family removed from York to 
Cumlierland ci:)unty and he was educated in 
the schools at Carlisle. When he was eigh- 
teen years old he entered a foundry at Car- 
lisle and remained there until he had learned 
the trade of molder, to which occupation he 
gave some fifty }-ears of bis life. During 
this time he was connected with various 
large shops and accumulated a competency. 
Since 1899 '^*^ 'i'*^ lived retired from activ- 
ity, in the enjoyment of the ease won by 
past industry. 

On July \2. 1849, J^Ii'- Gardner was 
united in marriage with Miss Leah Kreider, 
who was born Oct. 7, 1827, in Warwick 
township, Lancaster Co., Pa., and died Feb. 
4, 1901. She was a daughter of Benjamin 
and Elnora (McColm) Kreider, of Lititz, 
Pa., the former of whom was appointed 
prothonotary of Lancaster county by Gov. 



Wolf; he and his wife were interred in the 
old, ^Moravian graveyard at Lititz. Mrs. 
Gardner was a consistent member of the 
Lutheran Church, with which her husband 
is also connected. A family of ten children 
was born to them, as follows : Wilhelmina. 
who resides in Philadelphia, is the widow 
of Franklin Hutter, who died at Harris- 
burg /\pril 7, 1879, and whom she married 
Alay 14, 1872; Mary was married July 14, 
1874, to Robert Mclvor, of Carlisle, who 
died Sept. 23, 1876; Benjamin, a resident 
of Harrisburg, married Emma Longsdorf 
Feb. 20, 1883: Harry is mentioned later; 
Catherine died March 13, 1863 unmarried; 
James Monroe died July 14, 1856; Ella N. 
was married March 20, 1897, to William 
\Vooster, of Harrisburg, who was a casket 
maker, and died Feb, 7, 1901, his widow 
now residing with her father; Anna M. died 
Aug. 13, 1864; George, who is a book- 
keeper for a Xew York business firm, on 
April 25, 1899, married America Glanville, 
and they reside at East Orange, N. J. ; Rena 
is a saleslady in the Bowman mercantile es- 
tablishment at Carlisle. 

Harry Gardner, son of Henry and 
Leah (Kreider) Gardner, is one of the city's 
representati\'e citizens. He was born Dec. 
6, 1853, and was educated in the public 
schools of Carlisle, after leaving which 
he engaged for a time in clerking and then 
learned the trade of carpenter and builder, 
following the same very profitably for some 
years. In 1881 he made a trip to Mexico, 
wliere he remained .some eighteen months, 
employed at car building, in 1882 return- 
ing to Carlisle and resuming work in the 
city. On Aug. 11, 1884. he entered the 
carpentry department at the Indian School 
at Carlisle, and some two years later was 
made foreman of that department of this 
great industrial institution. Not all men 



CUMBERLAND COUNTY. 



275 



possess the qualifications necessary to suc- 
ceed in such a position, but these Mr. Gard- 
ner evidently possesses, as he is held in the 
highest esteem 1)0th by employers and em- 
ployes. 

On Dec. 30, 1879, Mr. Gardner married 
Miss Ellen Longsdorf, daughter of Eman- 
uel A. and Catherine (Wanderly) Longs- 
dorf, who removed from Cumberland coun- 
ty in 1SS5 to Kansas, and Mr. Longsdorf 
.died at Wichita, that State, Dec. 21, 1898, 
aged fifty-seven years. The mother of i\Irs. 
Gardner resides at Columbia, Lancaster 
county. By trade ]\Ir. Longsdorf was a 
shoemaker, and he followed same the greater 
l>art of his life. For se\'eral years he served 
as disciplinarian at the \\'hite Hall Orphan 
School. Mr. and Mrs. Longsdorf had the 
following children born to them : Sherman, 
a resident of Mt. Pleasant, Utah ; Ellen, 
Mrs. Gardner; Michael H. (named for his 
grandfather), a resident of Kansas City, 
Mo.; Emma J., who married B. F. Gardner, 
of Harrisburg; Flora, who married Warren 
Stiker, of Grottoes, Va. ; Bertie, who mar- 
ried Dr. Levi Coak, of Nevada, Mo. ; 
George, deceased; Lizzie, who married 
George Wageck, of Ponca City, Okla. ; Wil- 
liam, residing at Wichita, Kan. ; and Alice, 
deceased. 

Mr. and Mrs. Gardner have one son, 
\\'alter Monroe, a machinist, engaged at 
Pittsburg. They are consistent members 
of the Lutheran Church. Li politics Mr. 
Gardner is identified with the Democratic 
party, and fraternally he belongs to the 
Knights of the Mystic Circle. He has taken 
an active interest in civic affairs and has 
ably served on the borough council. The 
hands(^me and hospitable family residence 
is situated at No. 601 North Hanover 
street, in Carlisle. 



SAMUEL L. EPPLEY, proprietor of 
the livery, feed and sales stables located at 
No. 21 \\'est South street, Carlisle, was 
Ijorn in ^\'est Pennsboro townshi]), Cum- 
berland county, four miles west of Carlisle, 
Sept. 5, 1852, a son of Samuel and Amanda 
(Hoon) Eppley. His grandfather, Jacob 
Eppley, died in York county, and was a 
man prominent for his day. The father 
was a native of York county, and when a 
young man of about twenty years came to 
Cumberland county, becoming a farmer. 
He was a public-spirited man and became 
very prominent in the county, serving as a 
useful member of the school board, and fill- 
ing the various minor township offices, as 
well as that of county commissioner. \n 
politics he was a strong Republican, and in- 
fluential in his party. He died May 8, 1901, 
aged eighty-two years. His wife was born 
in Mifffin township, this county, about 1826, 
and is still living, residing in North Mid- 
dleton, Pa. The following children were 
born to these worthy people : George, de- 
ceased; William H., a retired merchant of 
Carlisle; Samuel L. ; James W^, of Plain- 
field, Pa.; Oscar W., of Middlesex town- 
ship, a farmer; Charles C, of Carlisle; Al- 
fred, a clerk of Carlisle ; Lizzie, deceased ; 
and Ulysses G., proprietor of the "United 
States Hotel," Mt. Holly. 

Samuel L. Eppley was reared upon the 
homestead farm and educated in the com- 
mon schools of bis neighborhood. In 1901 
he moved into Carlisle, and since then has 
devoted his attention to his livery stables, 
which he established in 1900. His farming 
operations were largely carried on in West 
Pennsboro township, his property lying four 
and one-half miles west of Carlisle, where 
he owns 132 acres. Li his livery business 
he keeps a well equipped stable and does a 



276 



CUMBERLAND CO UNTY 



large Ijusiness in sellins^' horses, as well as 
in his boarding department. In pnlitics he 
is an acti\e Ke]iul)h'can, and he has lieen a 
member <if the Rejuiblican crmnty central 
committee ami acted as delegate to various 
coiint\- and State conventions. He has ably 
filled the cltice nf schonl director several 
terms, and has also been director of tlie 
poor. 

On June 1 i, i!^74, ^Ir. Epi)ley was mar- 
ried til Anna ^I. Hear, daughter of Jona- 
than and Mariah ( liear ) Bear, and three 
children ha\e been born to this union: 
Grace E.. wife uf Dr. 1). W. \'an Camp, of 
Plainfield, Pa. : Carrie i'>., uf Dickinson Col- 
lege and a graduate of the S]ii]ipensburg 
Normal School . a teacher of three years' 
standing; and Ma\me V., A\h<i taught 
school for two years in Monroe town.ship, 
attended jMillersville State Normal, at Mil- 
lersville, Lancaster countv, from which she 
was graduated, and then retmaiing to Mon- 
roe towaiship taught a \ear and also in Car- 
lisle where she is now a popular teacher in 
the public schools. The family reside in a 
very pleasant home at No. 142 South Han- 
over street. Carlisle, where their many 
friends are cordially welcomed. 

ROBERT F. NOBLE (deceased) was 
only a young man at the time of his death, 
but he is still remembered by the older citi- 
zens of Carlisle as one of great promise. 
He was born Oct. i, 1831. in the old Noble 
homestead on North Hanover street, in Car- 
lisle, where his i)arents, John and Julia Ann 
('Lechler) Xoble. lived for a time after their 
marriage. The father was an extensive 
meat dealer in Carlisle, and accumulated a 
fortune in that business. He furnished 
meat to the barracks. John No1)le died in 
Carlisle. 

Robert V. .Xoble attended school in Car- 



lisle, but he had a restless disposition, caring 
little for study, and early in life commenced 
to help his father in his large business, 
shtiwing himself to be possessed (if great 
ability in that line. Indeed, he was an im- 
portant factor