(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Biographical and portrait cyclopedia of Chester County, Pennsylvania : comprising a historical sketch of the county, by Samuel T. Wiley, together with more than five hundred biographical sketches of the prominent men and leading citizens of the county"

OENEAL.OGY 



COLl-EdTlON 



3 1833 01203 2196 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



PORTRAIT 




CHBSTKR COTTNTV 



PENNSY LVANIA , 



A HISTORICAL SKETCH OF THE COUNTY, 

P,Y SAMUEL T. WILEY . 

\utl\or of Histoiies of Niagara County, New Voric; Preston and Monongalia Counties. 

West Virginia; Fayette, Westmoreland, Blair, Indiana and 

Armstrong Coiintie";. Pennsylvania, etc. 

TCKIKTlIKi; WITH MdRK TIl.VN FIVK 111 NDIlEli 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OK THE PROMINENT MEN AND 
LEADING CITIZENS OE THE COUNTY. 



( AKKKl I.I.Y liKVISKO ANr) KDlTKIl 

l^Y WUvTFTELT) 8COTT GAENER. 



3Uit0tvrttc&. 



GKESHAM PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1'11I1.AI)K1,1MII.\. \'\. HICHMOM), 1NI>. 

1893. 



(HH'ACiO. ILL 



PRKSSES OK 

M. Cl'LLATON it CO., 
RicHMoxn, Ind. 



PREFACE. 

1158672 

HISTORY, the highest form of prose literature, is fast l)ecoiiiing one of the most 
popular and important l.ranches of human knowledge. It has rapidly risen 
from an empirical state to the rank of a science, and the great minds of this century 
\^ which have found a field for their activity in its hroad domain, have done much to 
, sweep away the early crudities and errors that clung about it, and have transformed 
& it from the Pactolus of the learned into the guiding star of modern civilization. In 
^\ it may be found the principles that govern the character and destiny of nations, and 
I that, properly applied, furnish a chart for statesmen and reformers. That department 
^ of history most valuable for the intelligent study of national life is biography, for it 
5^ affords one great means of historical generalization. History and biography— the life 
^ of the nation and the story of the individual — are inseparably connected, for history 
ft^ is the synthesis of biography and biography is the analysis of history. 
H) Biographical history has rapidly risen into prominence and importance since the 

Centennial year of the American Republic, when the Congress of the Tnited States 
recommended to every city, town and county, the duty of securing for preservation 
their local history and the biographies of their worthy citizens. Biography will have 
prominent place in the histories of the future, while the important and useful lessons 
that it teaches will never fail to excite interest or give pleasure. Biography teaches 
the highest good, by presenting examples worthy of emulation, as well as perpetuating 
the memories of those who are worthy of remembrance. It also preserves the names of 
thousands of men remarkable for wisdom, virtue, intelligence, energy and ability, and 
who only lacked opportunity to have won fame and distinction. 

Chester county occupies an important and commanding position in the grand old 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and demands the best work on the part of historian, 
biographer, and publishers. Neither time, labor, nor expense has been spared in the 
preparation of this volume, and it is placed in the hands of its patrons and the public 
with a belief that it will be found equal to any work of similar character ever published 
in this country. The development and progress of the county is not due to the efforts 
of any particular race, but is flie combined result of the brawn and brain of all the 



i 




iv PREFACE. 

nationalities whose home has been within her herders, since the days of Quaker 
settlement and English colonization on the banks of the Delaware. 

The geology given is mainly taken from the Chester county volume of the Second 
Geological Survey of Pennsylvania, and presents the leading theories and views of 
Professors Lesley, Rogers, Frazer and Hall ; while the military roster of the county . 
is one of which she may be justly proud, for her sons have served with honor and' 
distinction in all the wars of the Republic, from the early days of the mighty 
revolutionary struggle for independence to the closing hours of the late great civil war. 

Census statistics have been specially introduced to supply a feature that is wanting 
in so many county histories, and the series of Historical and Biographical C\-clopedias 
published by this Company, of which this volume is one, are the only works of the 
kind in the world that have ever gathered and given condensed and classified statistics 
of population, manufactures and agriculture. These statistics forcibly tell their own 
story, without need of illustration or explanation. 

The excellent Historical Sketch of Chester County which appears herein was 
prepared by Samuel T. Wiley, a native Pennsylvanian, who has written a number 
of county histories, and has for several years occupied the position of historian with 
this Company. The entire work has been edited, and several hundred of the sketches 
written, by Winfield Scott Garner, who has devoted nearly twenty years to literary and 
journalistic labors, and who has won considerable reputation as a writer. The press 
work is all that could be desired, and its excellence is due to the good taste of Martin 
Cullaton, who had the printing in charge. 

Chester county needs no eulogium, for the county that has given heroes to war, 
princes to song, and masters to art and literature, and that sustains a virtuous, 
intelligent, and thrifty population, has an enduring record of greatness, whose glory 
could not be made brighter by eulogy. We hope that the young and rising generation 
of Chester county may be incited to lead lives of virtue, worth, and usefulness, from 
tlie example of its many energetic and worthy citizens, whose life records are given 
in this volume, and the influence and inspiration of whose lives, like the far distant 
stars in the heavens, will -'shine on and on, for countless ages after they shall have 
ceased to exist." 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



GONTRNTS. 



HISTORICAL. 



PAGE. 

.■\cadian Exiles 39 

Agriculture 92 

Altitude 23-27 

Banks , 98 and 179 

Bibliography 177 

Boroughs 141 

Atglen 141 

Coatesville 141 

Downingtown 142 

Honeybrook 142 

Hopewell 143 

Kennett Square 143 

Malvern 144 

Oxford 144 

Parkesburg 144 

Phoenixville 145 

Spring City 146 

West Cliester 146 

Botany 29 

Bridges 180 

Census statistics 163-171 

Agriculture 167-170 

Manufacture 167 

Population 103 166 

Taxation and indebtedness 171 

Unclassified 171 

V'aluation 170 

Chester County, Historical Sketch of." 17 18.S 

Chester County Marbles 176 

Chester Springs Soldiers ( )rphan School 174 

Chester Valley 175 

Churches 95 97 

Baptist 96 



F.VGE. 

Churches, continued. 

Catholic 97 

Christian 97 

Disciple 97 

German Reformed 96 

Lutheran 96 

Mennonite 97 

Methodist Episcopal 96 

Presbyterian 96 

Protestant Episcopal 96 

Society of Friends 95 

Civil Roster — Associate Judges 105 

Clerks of Courts 100 

Commissioners 108 

Coroners 109 

District Attorneys 105 

President Judges 105 

Prothonotaries 106 

Recorders 106 

Registers of Wills 106 

Sherifls 107 

Treasurers 107 

Civil War, The 56 92 

Second Pennsylvania Infantry' 56 

Company G 57 

Ninth Pennsylvania Inlantry 57 

Company .\ 57 

Company E 58 

Company E 58 

Thirteenth Pennsylvania Infantry 59 

Company A 59 

Company C •><) 

Company G 61 



CONTENTS. 



Civil War, The, conliniied. page 

Thirty-third Pennsylvania Infantry 62 

Company K 62 

Forty-second Pennsylvania Infantry 63 

Company H 64 

Forty-ninth Pennsylvania Infantry 65 

Company B 65 

Company F 66 

Fifty-third Pennsylvania Infantry 68 

Company A 68 

Ninety-seventh Pennsylvania Infantry 69 

Company A 70 

Company B 71 

Company C 72 

Company D 73 

Company E 73 

Company F 74 

Company H 75 

Company K 77 

One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Pennsylvania 

Infantry 78 

Company A 78 

Company C 79 

Company E 80 

Company F 80 

Company G 81 

Company I 83 

Company K 82 

One Hundred and Seventy-fifth Pennsylvania 

Infantry y3 

Company B 83 

Company C 84 

Company D §5 

Company K 85 

Company F 86 

Company G 86 

Company I 87 

Company K 87 

Eleventh Pennsylvania Cavalry 88 

Company B 88 

Twentieth Pennsylvania Cavalry 89 

Companj M 89 

Chester men in other regiments 91 92 

Pennsylvania Militia 'Emergency men) 92 

Congress, Members of J87 

Conclusion j^y 



PAGE. 

County Formation 36 

County Home 180 

County Seat Removal 44 

County Societies 110 

Dutch Trading Posts 32 

Early Indian Traders 180 

Early Lawyers 1 86 

Early Railroads 55 

Early Roads 180 

Earlj Taverns . . 180 

Ercildoun Tornado 187 

Extinct Vertibrates 185 

First Cotton Factory 179 

Formation of Chester County 36 

Geology 18 

Historical Sketch of Chester County 17-188 

Historical (works published) 179 

Indian Occupation 30 

Trails 32 

Villages 32 

Indian Purchases 186 

Indian Traders, Early 180 

Intercolonial Wars 38 

Iron Industries 46 

LaFayette's Visit 55 

Lawyers, Early 186 

Mason and Dixon's Line 39 

Members of Congress 187 

Mesozoic Fossils 185 

Mexican War 56 

Minerals 27 

Newspapers of the County 94 

North Primal Rocks 179 

I'aoli Monument 179 

Penn's Purchase 35 

Political Roster 98 

Members of Assembly 98 

Members of Congress 187 

State Senators yg 

Postoffices 92-94 

Prehistoric Races 29 

Press, The 94 

Progress and Development 92 

Railroads, Early 55 

Removal of County Seat 44 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Revolutionary War 40-44 

Roads, Early ISjL, 

Schuylkill Canal 55 

Schools 97 

Secret Societies 110 

Free Masonry 110 

Knights of the Golden Eagle 110 

Odd Fellowship 110 

Patrons of Husbandry Ill 

Other Orders Ill 

Serpentine Beds 174 

Silk Culture 180 

Taverns, Early 180 

Taxables in 1693 37 

Territorial Changes 17 

Topography 22 

Turnpikes 46 

Townships 111-141 

Birmingham Ill 

Cain 112 

Charlestown 112 

East Bradford 113 

East Brandy wine , 113 

East Cain 114 

East Coventry 1 14 

East Fallowfield 115 

East Goshen 116 

East Marlborough 116 

East Nantmeal 117 

East Nottingham 117 

East Pikeland 118 

Easttown 118 

East Vincent 119 

East Whiteland 120 

Elk 134 

Franklin 120 

Highland 120 

Honeybrook 120 

Kennett 121 

London Britain 121 

Londonderry 122 

London Grove 123 

Lower Oxford 123 

New Garden 128 

Newlin 124 



Townships, conliniieJ. page 

New London 125 

North Coventry 125 

Penn 125 

Pennsbury 126 

Pocopson 126 

Sadsbury 126 

Schuylkill 127 

South Coventry 129 

Thornbury 130 

Tredyffrin 130 

Upper Oxford 131 

Upper Uwchlan 131 

Uwcblan 131 

Valley 182 

Wallace 132 

Warwick 133 

West Bradford 183 

West Brandywine 134 

West Cain 135 

West Fallowfield 135 

West Goshen 136 

West Marlborough 136 

West Nantmeal 137 

West Nottingham 137 

West Pikeland 138 

West Sadsbury 138 

Westtown 1 38 

West Vincent 139 

West Whiteland 139 

Willistown 139 

Underground Railroad 56 

Upland County 34 

Villages 151 

Avondale 151 

Barnestown 151 

Berwyn 151 

Birchrunville 151 

Black Horse 151 

Blue Rock 151 

Brandywine Manor 151 

Cain 151 

Cambria Station 152 

Cedar Knoll 152 

Cedarville 152 

Chatham 152 



CONTENTS. 



Villages, continuej. page. 

Chester Springs 152 

Chester Valley 152 

Chesterville 152 

Chrome 152 

Cloud 153 

Cochranville 153 

Collamer 153 

Cupola 153 

Devault 153 

Devon 153 

Dilworthtown 153 

Dorians Mills 153 

Doe Run 153 

Duffryn Mawr 153 

Dugdale 153 

East Coventry 154 

East Nantmeal 154 

Elk Mills 154 

Elk View 154 

Embreeville 154 

Ercildoun 154 

Exton 154 

Fairville 154 

Eont 154 

P'razer 154 

Fremont 155 

Glen Hall 155 

Glen Loch 155 

Glen Moore 155 

Glen Koy 155 

Goshenville 155 

Gum Tree ] 55 

Guthriesville 155 

Hamorton 155 

Hickory Hill 155 

Isabella 155 

Jennersville 156 

Kaolin 156 

Kelton 156 

Kemblesville 156 

Kenilworth 156 

Kimberion 156 

Landenburn 156 

Lenape 156 

Lenover 156 



Villages, conliniu-d "'AGE. 

Leonard 156 

Leopard 156 

Lewisville 1>'6 

Lincoln University 157 and 171 

Lionville 1 J ' 

Loag IJ' 

Lyndell 157 

Marsh 157 

Marshallton 157 

Martin's Corner 157 

Matthews 157 

Mendenhall 157 

Milford Mills 158 

Milltown 158 

Modena 158 

Mortonville 158 

Mount Vernon 158 

Nantmeal 158 

New London 158 

North Brook 158 

Norway 158 

Nottingham 159 

I'aoli 159 

Parker Ford 159 

Parkersville 159 

Paw! ing 159 

Pickering 159 

Pocopson 159 

Pomero) 159 

Pughtown 159 

Rockville 159 

Romansville 160 

Rosenvick 160 

Russellville 160 

Sadsburyvilie 160 

Saint Peters 160 

Schuylkill 160 

Shenkel 160 

Steelville 160 

Stricklersville 160 

Sugartown 160 

■Pliornbury 161 

Thorndale Iron Works 161 

ToughkenamoM 161 

Townsend 161 



CONTEXTS. 



Villages, continued. page. 

Unionville 161 

Valley Forge 161 

Wallace 161 

Warwick 161 

West Grove 161 

West Pikeland 162 

Westtown 163 

West Vincent 162 

Whitfod 163 

White Horse 163 

Windsor 162 

Willistown Inn 162 

Willowdale 162 

Other postoffices 163 

War of 1812 47 54 

Captain Beerbrowers Company 54 



War of 1S12, continued. 
Captaii 
Captai: 
Capta: 
Capta 
Capta 
Capta 
Capta: 
Capta 
Capta: 
Capta: 
Capta: 
Capta 



PAGE 

in Campbell's Company 49 

in Harris' Company 51 

in Hartman's Company 48 

in Holmes' Company 54 

in Lackey's Company 50 

in Steele's Company 52 

in Stuart's Company 52 

in Taylor's Company 47 

in Weatherby's Company 50 

in Wersler's Company 48 

in Wigton's Company 53 

in Wilson's Company 51 

Welsh Tract 188 

Whiskey Insurrection 45 

Witchcraft 184 

Zoology 28 



CONTENTS. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



PAGE. 

Abraham, Uavid 383 

Ackenbach. William 774 

Acker. Peter 431 

Aiken, James, M.D 420 

Allen, Edgar, M.D 206 

Allison, Francis, D D «17 

Anderson, Hon. Isaac 622 

.\rmor, Judson 825 

Armstrong, G. D., M.D 221 

Ashbridge. George D 590 

Baldwin, Caleb 819 

Baldwin, Joseph H 838 

Baldwin, William, M D 584 

Bait/., John Daniel 771 

Barker, Capt. Matthew 480 

Barnard, Hon Isaac D 204 

Bartholomew, Dr. John Cleaver 450 

Bartram, John ;i37 

Beale, Capt Horace A 857 

Bean. Capt. Benjamin Franklin 420 

Bean, Henry 346 

Beaumont, Theodore 571 

Beaver, Frank 795 

Beaver, George H 381 

Beck, Lorenzo 808 

Heitler. John, Jr 853 

Benjamin. Joseph H 266 

Bell, Hon. Thomas S. 577 

Benner, Daniel 801 

Bennett, George S 828 

Bingham, Edward Donaldson.. 626 
Hi/alli.Mi, rierre 516 



PAGE. 

Bliss, Rev. E W., A.M 829 

Bolmar, Antoine 563 

Bonzano. Adolphus 342 

Boyer, .\arou J 513 

Branson, William R 652 

Bremerman, L. T., A.M., M D. 363 

Brinton, Henry L 459 

Brooks, Capt. James C 613 

Brower, Rev Isaac Urner 252 

Brower. John L 714 

Brower, William. M D . 320 

Brown, A. Stanley 818 

Brownback, Garrett Elwnod .... 603 

Brownback, Harry X 860 

Brownback, Jacob C 832 

Brownback, Lewis C 555 

Buckwalter, John 243 

Buckwalter. John Henry 862 

Bull, Col. Thomas 588 

Burling, William 413 

Burns, W. H 787 

Buzzerd. Simeon 546 

Card well, George G 600 

Carpenter, Capt. J. T 364 

Catanach, Adam A 608 

Chandler, W. D 848 

Christman, Capt. Henry Evans. 289 

Christman, Jacob 359 

Cleaver, Isaac A 757 

Clemson, Rev. John Baker, D D. 734 

Cluwer, Maxwell 588 

Cochmn, Prof. Carlos B 265 



PAGE. 

Cochran, Isaac S 236 

Cochran, Dr. John 580 

Cohen, John B 331 

Colgan, David 358 

Colket, William W 609 

Cook, Charles L 616 

Cornog, John 872 

Cornwall, Robert Thompson . . . 614 

Coryell, William Price 373 

Cowan, Robert 230 

Cox, Thomas S 676 

Croskey, Knowles 858 

Cummiskey, Eugene 706 

Cutler, Levi 558 

Darlington, Dr. William. LL.D. 207 

Darlington, Frank P 197 

Darlington, Isaac G 560 

Darlington, John H 654 

Darlington, Stephen 248 

Davies, John J 812 

Davis, H. W 827 

Davis, Jesse B 643 

Davis, John H 405 

Davis, Mordecai 411 

Davis, Thompson 760 

Davis, W. Latta 43st 

Davis, William W 722 

Deery. Henry 845 

DeHaven, Hugh 498 

Denithorne, Capt. John 366 

Derr, Rev Calvin 821 

Detwiler, David 782 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Dewees, Jacob H 644 

Dewees, Thomas B 334 

Dickey, Rev. John Miller, D.D. 199 

Diehl, Henry J b73 

Dobson, Gen, John Kichesson. . 731 

Dotterer, Nathaniel F 290 

Downing, Samuel Rhoads 618 

Downing, Thomas 836 

Dunn, Thomas D., M.D 354 

Dutton, Isaac L 522 

Dyer, William C 794 

Eaches, John T 484 

Eachus, Homer 509 

Eachus, William H 520 

Eastwood, James B 725 

Egolf, San-.Uil H 878^ 

Eicholtz, Capt. George C. M. . . 783 

Eldridge, David 463 

EUicott, Richard T 245 

Ellis, Col. Nathaniel M 247 

Ellis, Jarvis 851 

Emack, Frank D , M D 299 

Emery, .\nthony Wayne 631 

Emery, E Clifford 767 

Kinery, William W 325 

Entriken, John C 723 

Kp|)ehimer, Henry 255 

Evans. Henry 1 574 

Evans, John King, M D 750 

Iv.ans. Rev. Joseph S 285 

Evans. Capt. Lewis II 68t) 

Evans, Newton 526 

Evans, Hon William 719 

Evans. William 551 

Everhart. Hon. James Bnwen.. 637 

Everhart, William 218 

Farley, Robert, M.D 380 

Fetters, Capt. .\braham 567 

Fetters. Isaiah Jr 584 

l-inkbiner, David 720 

Finkbiner, John 213 

Finkbiner, Samuel S . M.I) 454 



Fisher, Daniel W. , 
Fisher, Elwood W. 
Fitzpatrick, James. 
E'lint, Rev. John. . . 



PAGE. 

. . 793 
. . 675 
. . 586 
. . 353 



Floyd. George W 761 

Francis, Casper S 376 

F'rancis, John 803 

Frederick, Charles N., M.D .. 753 

Frick, Edwin 768 

Frick, Montgomery 246 

Friday, Washington 661 

Fritz, William H 583 

Fronefield, Joseph M 743 

Fulton, Hon. William T 416 

Funk, Harry D 558 

Funk. Jacob L 239 

Funk. Thomas D 8 55 

Futhey, Hon. J. Smith 767 

Futhey. James L 456 

Futhey, R. Agnew 313 

Futhey. Robert 654 

Gallagher, Edward 491 

Gallagher, Col. William 839 j 

Garrett, Harvey S 521 I 

Garrett, Jesse H 094 , 

Garrett. Joshua 1 541 I 

Cause, Jonathan 744 j 

(ieiger. Jacob H 823 I 

(iheen, L. W 545 

Gheen. K C 849 j 

Gilbert. Jacol> 515 

(iilfillan, John 300 

Gilkyson, Col. Hamilton H... 486 

CJilligan. Capt Edward I, 403 

Good, Abraham 561 

Green, Prof. Francis H 834 

Green, Jesse Cope 575 



(Jreen, Joseph C 

Green, William S 

Griflen. George S 

Griffith, Wilmar 

C;rover. Thomas D 

Gunkle, George Washington. . . 



279 

777 
866 
809 
605 
414 



PAGE 

Guss, J .\cker 804 

Gyger, John 730 

Haddaway, Rev. Charles M 434 

Haines, Hon. Townsend 560 

Halderman, Isaac R 315 

Hallman, Henry S 845 

Halteman, Benjamin H 799 

Hamill, Millard F 740 

Hannum, Curtis H 593 

Harlan, Hon. Abram Douglas.. 652 

Harlan, Dr. Justin E., D D S.. 610 

Harley. Edwin 818 

Harris, Malacbi 607 

Harris, William Smith 680 

Harry. Joshua P 688 

Hart, Harry C 824 

Hartman, William Dell, M D. . 876 

Hartman, Rev. William W 3.jG 

Hartshorne, Hon. Joshua 674 

Hastinas, Rev. John M . D D . 440 

Hause, J. Frank E 215 

Hause, Jesse 544 

Hawley Jesse 6i)3 

Heckel, FrederickWilliam. M D. 726 

Heistand. David H 683 

Hemphill. Hon Joseph 754 

Henderson, Joseph S 759 

Henderson, Robert J 371 

Henniss, John A 852 

Heron, Fred 656 

Hibberd, Joshua E 787 

Hibberd, Walter R 653 

Hickman, Hon John 200 

High. Jacob 273 

High. Samuel 085 

Highley. Charles C 6H9 

Hills. Rev.Geo. Heathcole.M A 204 

Himes, George 794 

Hodgson, William H 680 

Hogua. Thomas C 208 

Holman, Isaac 814 

Hoopes, Caleb 379 

Hoopes, )osiah 364 

Hoopes, Thomas . . 355 



CONIEN'IS. 



PAGE. 

Hootou, Col. Francis C 287 

Horning, Charles S., M.D 226 

Hoskins, Percy C, M D 259 

Howell, Charles H 494 

Hoy, John L 543 

Hurford, Eber H 442 

Ingram, Capt. Alexander H. . . . 741 

Ivison, Samuel, Jr 225 

Jacobs, Joseph 547 

Jacobs, Samuel 479 

Janeway, John L , C.E 815 

Johnson, George B 789 

Johnson, Joseph H 386 

Jones, Addison L 227 

Jones, Franklin 659 

Jones, Prof. Jacob K 422 

Jones, T. Franklin 582 

Kaler, Hon. Levi B 711 

Kauffraan, John F 606 

Kauffman, William J 807 

Keech, Frank W 562 

Keeley, Davis '. 517 

Keeley, Oliver B 796 

Keeley, William P 811 

Keira, George 272 

Keim, Jonathan H 530 

Kelton, Robert C 304 

Kephart. Jacob F 233 

Kepner, Solomon 384 

Kerr, Edward, M.D 383 

Knauer, Davis 784 

Koller, Mahlon S 442 

Kulp, Jonathan H 296 

Kurtz, Henry K 236 

LaFayetle, Marquis de 337 

Lamborn, Wendell P., D.D.S,. 826 

Lancaster, Thomas 839 

Landis, George W 308 

Latshaw, Enos P 682 

I,atta, John Y 622 



PAGE. 

Leary, Jonathan 519 

Leopold, Jeremiah S 278 

Lewis, Eli T 423 

% 

Lewis, Walter H 598 

Lippert, Moritz George, C.E. . . 471 

Little, Roger M 833 

Lobb, Preston W 498 

Long, Francis Donleavy, A.M. 579 

Ludwick, Frank B 781 

MacElree, Wilmer W 270 

MacFarland, David McConkey. 765 

MacFeat, Walter 766 

MacDonald, Walter A 199 

Mackelduff, Samuel C 634 

Manger, William R 841 

March, S. Robison 396 

Marshall, Humphry 559 

Marshall, Thomas 854 

Marshall, Thomas W 538 

Marshall, William P 690 

Margerum, Cyrus S 478 

Massey, Charles D 698 

Massey , Isaac, M D 341 

Masters, James W 202 

Matlack, Hon. Jesse 685 

Matlack, Joaquin B 736 

Matson, William G 425 

Maxwell, James Rea, M D 235 

May, Addison 533 

McCauley, Maj. L. G 213 

McCuUough, Sanders 213 

McClure, James 667 

McClurg, James 293 

McDowell, Rev. Thomas R 433 

McKean, Hon. Thomas, LL.D. 208 

Menkins, Henry J 493 

Menkins, Joseph 470 

Mercer, Henry 628 

Meredith, R. T 499 

Me\vhinney,Jas.Canipbfl],M D. 816 

Michener. Amos 324 

Michener Family 547 

Miller, .\ddison 810 



PAGE. 

Miller, Enos D 703 

Miller, Henry R 840 

Miller, Joseph K 733 

Mintzer, J. Bechtel, M D 697 

Mock, William 831 

Monaghan, Robert Emmet 194 

Monaghan, Robert Jones 636 

Montgomery, Thomas H 669 

Moore, Col. Daniel Foulke. . . . 426 

Moore, Hon. William 564 

Morris, Jonathan 842 

Moses, O. E 712 

Mosteller, William H., M D.. . . 869 

Mowrey, Joseph 1 850 

Mowry, B. Franklin 819 

Moyer, Jacob W 242 

Mullen, Alfred 488 

MuUin, John S 662 

Myer, George G 258 

Needham. Rev Benjamin C. . . 624 
Newlin, Ellis I' 769 

Oberholtzer, Le\i, M.D 369 

Opperman. David 548 

Owen, Rev, William () 360 

Painter, Henry 791 

Parke, Samuel D 817 

Parke, Samuel R 504 

Parker, James G 868 

Patrick, Ellwood, M.D 836 

Patterson, Rev. Robert Mayne, 

D.D., LL.D 718 

Paschal, Isaac 523 

Paxson, William L 395 

Pearson, Isaac M 664 

Pechin, Robert W 599 

Peters, George D 231 

Pennock, Samuel 665 

Pennypacker, James M 454 

Pennypacker, Matthias J.. M.D. 640 

Pennypacker, Wilmer E 412 

Philips, E. \'inton 381! 



CONTENIS. 



I'Af.E. 

Philips, George Morris, Ph D.. 474 

Phipps, James S 234 

Piersol, Lewis 704 

Potter, W. Atlee 503 

Pratt, John Marshal 1 457 

Price, Joseph T 598 

Prizer, John 780 

Prizer, Harman 310 

Prizer, Henry 806 

Pugh. Harold B 241 

Ralston, William 518 

Ramsey, Samuel D 201 

Kandall. Rev. Frederick William 578 

Rapp, George W 612 

Rayner, Dr. James B 224 

Read, Thomas Buchanan 702 

Reavey, John W 490 

Reel, Ida Virginia, M.D 585 

Rees, John ^. 786 

Reese, John 846 

Reid, Alfred P 311 

Reiff. WMlliam E 274 

Reinhart, Nathan E., VS 648 

Rennard, Henry 542 

Rennard, William M 715 

Rhoads, George 512 

Richard, J. Howard 260 

Rickabaugh, Jacob, M D 700 

Rinehart, Joshua 268 

Ringwalt, HE 683 

Robb, George S 651 

Roberts, Charles J., M.D 678 

Roberts, Hiram 370 

Roberts, Jacob 529 

Rothrock, Joseph T., M.D 446 

Rupert, Col. Alfred 864 

Rupert, Maj. George M 277 

Russell, Slater B 400 

Ruth, Gideon T 481 

Ruth, H. Morgan 789 

Savage, Frank N 280 

Savior, John C 892 



PAGE. 

Saylor. Willi;im H 433 

Schofield, Harry Banner 569 

Sellers, James C 305 

Shaffer, Vosburg Newton 535 

Sharpless, William 713 

Shoemaker, Kersey 554 

Sigman, Isaac K 489 

Sleichter, John 361 

Sloyer, Henry 844 

Smale, John E 480 

Smedley, John G 410 

Smedley, Oliver H 430 

Smith, George, Jr 390 

Smith. Hon. David L 699 

Smith, Hon. Persifor Frazer. . . 223 

Smith, Prof. A. Thomas 232 

Smith, Prof. John H 739 

Smith, William Brinton 663 

Snyder, Prof William H 216 

Snyder, Hon William Preston. 326 

Soule, Rev. Jacob B 362 

Spackman, Isaac 229 

Spratt, George R, M D 401 

Staufier, Frank H 572 

Staufler, Henry M 483 

Stem, Thomas W 595 

Steen, Hugh J 492 

Sterrett, Thomas K 298 

Stiteler, A. M. F 679 

Stiteler, George R 516 

Stiteler, I Newton 524 

Stiteler, William H 425 

Stockton, Rev.William R., D.D. 343 

Stout, D. B 707 

Stubbs, Hon. Theodore K. ... 351 

Supplee. Millard F 511 

Sweney, Capt. Benjamin H . . . . 317 

Talbot, Hon. D. Smith 747 

Taylor, David M 649 

Taylor, William Carroll 462 

Taylor, William S.. M.D 802 

Templeton, John 668 

Tencate, Fred A 315 



PAr.E 

Thomas, Charles T 497 

Thomas, Francis A 256 

Thomas, Frank P 473 

Thomas, George 537 

Thomas, John P 508 

Thomas, J. Preston 600 

Thomas, Mordecai 394 • 

Thomas, R. Newton 237 

Thompson, Nathan G , M D. . . 374 

Torbert, Benjamin J 307 

Townsend, Mark 244 

Townsend, Hon. Washington . . 770 

Townsend, William P 596 

Tripp, Isaac 562 

Tustin, Isaac J 276 

Tutton, Alexander P 581 

Urner, Eli 306 

Urner Family, The 467 

Waddel, Rev. James, D.D 490 

Waddell, Hon. William Bell. . . 191 

Wagoner, Christian W 846 

Wagoner, William J 327 

Waitneight, Henry P 250 

Walker, Joseph R 583 

Walker, Thomas U 587 

Walker, Prof William H 695 

Walters, Capt. Louis R 875 

Walters, George 406 

Walters, Horace W 863 

Walton, George R 800 

Walton, George W 404 

Warner, Levi E 880 

Warrington, Thomas 549 

Watson. James J 638 

Way, Marshall S 778 

Wayne, Anthony 193 

Webb, Rev. Edward 840 

Webster, Elwood 483 

Webster, Samuel L 488 

Weeks, Albert, M.D 253 

Weidal, Lincoln Washington... 543 
Weigel, William A 775 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Weldin, John L 8fil 

Wells, David G 381 

Wells, Oliver 269 

Wells, Peter 841 

Wersler, George 646 

West, Benjamin 336 

West, Wilmar W 271 

Whann, William E 870 

Wheeler, Rev. Henry, D,D 219 

Wheeler, Mary Sparkes 319 

White, Rev. Robert 360 

Whitson, Samuel 383 

Wickersham, James Pyle.LL.D. 193 



P.\GE. 

Williams. Andrew J 282 

Williams, B Franklin 453 

Williams, Granville 444 

Williams, Harry E., M D 460 

Williams, William, Jr 705 

Wilson, Rev. A I. 657 

Wilson, Addison .553 

Wilson, Amos G 822 

Wilson, Harry R 528 

Wilson, James 803 

Wilson, Nathan 716 

Wilson, Winfield Scott 748 

Wilds, John 443 



P.\GE 

Windle, David C 338 

Wintzer, Antoine 753 

Woodward, Charles E 288 

Woodward, William Marshall. . 830 

Worthington.Hon.Wilmer.M D 556 

Worrall, Prof. John Hunter . . 351 

Wynne, Samuel 503 

Yarnall, Nathan W 463 

Yeager, Allison E 843 

Yeager, Joseph 776 

Yerkes, Jonathan P 523 

Young, John 589 




COyTKSTS. 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



The Capitol at Wasliinptoii, Frontispiece. 



I'AtiE. 

Beale, Capt. Horace A facing 857 

Bean, Henry " 346 

Bean, JIary J " 351 

Brower, William, M. D " 320 

Brownhack, Garrett Elwood " B03 

Cornwell, Robert Tlionipson facing t)14 

Darlington, Stephen " 248 

Denithorne, Capt. John " 366 

Diehl, Henry J " 673 

Downing, Samuel Rhoails " 618 

Eaches, John T " 484 

Fetters, Capt. Abraham " 567 

Francis, Casper S " 376 

Fulton, Hon. AVilliam T " 416 

Futhey, Robert Agnew ■' 313 

Gilfillan, John " .300 

Gilkyson, Col. Hamilton H " 436 

Green, Jesse Cope " 575 

Hannura, Curtis H " 593 

Heckel, Frederick AVilliam, .M. D " 726 

Hodgson, William H " 680 

Howell, Charles H " 494 

Johnson, Joseph H " 386 

Kaler. Hon. Levi B " 711 



I'.VCiE. 

Keeley, Oliver B facing 796 

March, S. Robison " .396 

Marshall, Thomas W " 538 

Marshall, William P " 690 

MacFarland, David McConkey " 765 

McCauley, Major L. G " 213 

McClurg, John Russell, M. D " 293 

Miller, Joseph K on 733 

Monaghan, Robert Emmet facing 194 

Monaghan, Robert Jones " 636 

iloore, Col. Daniel Foulke " 426 

Parke, Samuel R " .504 

Philips, George -Morris, Ph. D " 474 

Rothrock, Joseph Trimble, M. D " 446 

Smith, Hon. Percifor Frazer "' 222 

State Capitol at Harrisburg " 98 

State Normal School at AVest Chester " 149 

Talbot, Hon. D.Smith " 747 

Urner, John R " 467 

AA'addell, Hon. William Bell " 191 

AA'alters, George " 406 

Walters, Louis R " 875 

AA'ay, Marshall S " 778 

AA'^illiams, Andrew J " 282 



HISTORICAL SKETCH 



Chester County, Pennsylyania, 



Boundaries and Are2 —Territorial Changes — Geol- 
ogy _ Topography — Mineralogy — Zoology— Bot- 
(iify —Prehis/oric Races —Indian Occupation — 
Dutch Trading Posts — Neiv Sweden — Upland 
County— Penn's Purchase — County Formation — 
J'Jarly Settlers — Intercolonial Wars — Mason and 
DLron's Line — Pevoliitionary War — Removal of 
County Seal — Whisky Insurrection — Turnpikes — 
fron Industries— War of \SV2 — Ixi Fayette's 
yisif — Schuylkill Canal — Early Railroads — 
Mexican War — Underground Railroad — The 
Ciinl War — Progress and Development — Agri- 
culture — Postoffices — The Press — Churches — 
Schools — Banks — Political and Civil Roster — 
County Societies — Secret Orders — Townships — 
Boroughs — Census Statistics — Miscellaneous. 

TXTHILE it is not witliin the scope of a 
** ** work of this character to treat exten- 
sively of liistory, yet tlic publisliers have 
deemed it most essential to present briefly 
the important events of the history and. 
development of this grand old county he- 
fore proceeding to record the biograpliical 
sketches of its representative citizens. 

Chester Cointy, Pennsylvania, iirst-born 
of the sixty-seven counties of the Keystone 
State, is in the southeastern, or garden part, 
of the Commonwealth, and lies between 39 ° 
4-2' and 40° 30' north latitude, and 75° 15' 
and 76° 15' west longitude from Green- 
wich, England, or 55" and 1° 40' east lon- 

•2 ( 



gitude from Washington city. As a politi- 
cal division of the State, it is bounded on 
the north by Berks and Montgomery coun- 
ties, on the east by Montgomery and Dela- 
ware counties, on the south by Newcastle 
county, Delaware and Cecil count}% Mary- 
land, and on the west by Lancaster and 
Berks counties. The width of Cliester 
county, measured along the Pennsylvania 
railroad, is tbirty miles; its extreme length, 
north and south, tbirty-six miles; and its 
area by the census of 1880, 760 square miles, 
or 486,400 acres. Its northern border line 
is fifteen miles; northeastern, twenty-one 
miles; southeastern, eighteen miles; south- 
ern, thirty miles; and western border line, 
twenty-eight miles; making its perimeter 
one hundred and twelve miles. 

Territorial Chxmges. — The territory of 
Chester county was organized as Upland 
county by the Swedes, and Penn changed 
the name to Chester, which was the name 
that he had allowed his friend Pearson to 
bestow upon the town of Upland in remem- 
brance of the city of Chester, the county 
seat of Cheshire county, in the west of 
England. The many English towns having 
this name, Chester, in their composition were 



BIOOMAPSY AND HISTORY 



originally Romau camps, and the Latin 
word castra and the Saxon ceaster in time 
changed to the English Chester. 

The territory of Chester county was a 
part of the following colonies for the re- 
spective times specified : 

ISTew Netherlands, from 1609 to 1638. 

New Sweden, from 1638 to 1655. 

New Netherlands, from 1655 to 1656. 

New Amstel, from 1656 to 1664. 

New York, from 1664 to 1673. 

New Netherlands, from 1673 to 1674. 

New York, (under the name of Upland 
county), from 1674 to 1682. 

Upland county, New York, became Ches- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, in 1682, but his- 
tory does not record the mouth and day, 
which tradition, however, affirms to have 
been November 25th. From 1729 to 1850 
the following twenty-five counties were 
taken — the first two directly and the other 
twenty-three indirectly — from the territory 
of Chester county : Lancaster, May 10, 
1729 ; Delaware, September 26, 1789 ; York, 
from Lancaster, August 19,1749; Cumber- 
land, from Lancaster, January 27, 1750 ; 
Bedford, from Cuinljerland, March 9, 1771 ; 
Westmoreland, from Bedfoi'd, February- 26, 
1773; Washington, from Bedford, March 
28, 1781.; Fayette, from Westmoreland, 
September 26, 1783 ; Franklin, from Cum- 
berland, September 9, 1784; Dauphin, from 
Lancaster, March 4, 1785 ; Huntingdon, from 
Bedford, September 20, 1787; Allegheny, 
September 24, 1788 ; Somerset, from Bed- 
ford, April 17, 1795; Greene, from Wash- 
ington, February 9, 1796; Beaver, March 
12, 1800; Butler, from Allegheny, March 
12, 1800; Erie, from Allegheny, March 
12, 1800; Mercer, from Allegheny, March 
12, 1800; Crawford, from Allegheny, March 
12, 1800; Cambria, from Allegheny, March 



26, 1804; Lebanon, February 16, 1813; 
Perry, from Cumberland, Marcb 22, 1820; 
Blair, Februarj- 26, 1846 ; Lawrence, March 
20, 1849 ; and Fulton, from Bedford, April 
19, 1850. 

In addition to the above counties, there 
were several others that were partly taken 
from Chester. 

Of the sixty-seven counties of the State, 
in order of age, Chester is tbe first ; in order 
of alphabetical designation, the fifteenth ; 
and in population ranks fourteenth. In 
geographical position Chester county is one 
of the soutlieastern counties of Pennsyl- 
vania, while its geographical center and 
center of population are not a great dis- 
tance apart, and both are said to be in the 
neighborhood of Cain postoffice, on the 
Pennsylvania railroad. 

The county is in the Sixth Congressional 
district, composed of the counties of Ches- 
ter and Delaware; constitutes the Nine- 
teenth Senatorial and Fifteenth Judicial dis- 
tricts, and is entitled to four members in the 
house of representatives of Pennsylvania. 

(.Teology. — Prof. J. P. Lesley, in his Geo- 
logical Hand Atlas of 1885, describes Ches- 
ter county as follows : 

"A perfectly straight valley, two miles 
wide on the Montgomery county line at the 
Schuylkill river, and less than one mile wide 
near the Lancaster county line, separates 
the northern from the southern townships. 
The Siluro-Cambrian limestones of No. II., 
which occupy this 'Chester county" or 
' Downingtown " valley, dip generally' 30° to 
50° southward, although small anticlinal 
rolls run diagonally across their general 
strike, and the white marble strata, con- 
fined to its southern edge, stand quite ver- 
tical. The North valley hill is made by the 



OF CHESIER COUNTY. 



19 



Pottsdaiii sandstone, No. I., rising northward 
from beneath the lowest limestones, and 
spreading in slieets an<l patches over a con- 
siderable gneiss region, enil)racing Ilone}'- 
hrook. East and West Nantmeai, West 
Vincent, East and West I'ikeland, Charles- 
town, Upper rwchlan, East and West 
Brandywine, and parts of West Cain and 
Sadsbury townships; and it is plain that 
the fundamental gneiss area now exposed 
was formerly entireh' covered \^y both 
the Potsdam quartzite and tiie overlying 
limestone. The South valley liili, on the 
contrary, is the edge of a low tableland 
(500' to 600' A. T.) composed (1 ) of a belt 
of magnesian-mica slate ; also vertical, or 
dipping at the highest angles southward, 
apparently in contact and conformity with 
and over the marble beds of the south edge 
of the valley, but possibly overturned and 
beneath the marble, in which latter case the 
valley is a synclinal trough, and the slates 
south of it are equivalent to the quartzite 
north of it; or else a fault runs along the 
south edge of the valley. The belt of 
South valley hill slate is only two miles 
wide at the Schuylkill end ; widens west- 
ward to three miles at West Chester; four 
and one-half at the West Branch Brandy- 
wine ; and then spreads over East and West 
Fallowfield, Highland, Londonderry, Up- 
per and Lower Oxford, and East and 
West Nottingham townships into Lancaster 
county; (2) a belt of older and newer 
gneisses and mica-schists occupying all the 
townships to the south aud east. Isolated 
areas of limestone, however, occur in this 
belt near West Chester, Doe Kun, Kennett's 
Square, Avondalc, Landeiiburg, etc. ; and 
I'otsdam ((uartzite .seems to be preserved 
around London (Jrove and at points on the 
Delaware State line. A long range of ser- 



pentine separates the two belts in East 
Goshen and Willistown t(jwnsliij)s, and an- 
other still more extensive serpentine belt 
ranges along the Maryland line into i^an- 
caster county, and carries deposits of chrome- 
iron sand. A trap dyke enters from J)ela- 
ware count}' at the south edge of the slate 
belt, and extensive outspreads of trap bowl- 
ders occur along the Berks county bound- 
ary, in the north; other local exhibitions of 
trap being numerous in various parts of the 
county. Between the Schuylkill river and 
French creek the country is wholly of mes- 
ozoic brown sandstone and shale ; and in the 
tunnel at Phcenixville through these rocks 
a large collection of fossil plants and rep- 
tiles was made by Dr. C. M. Wheatley. 
Copper, lead, and zinc veins have long been 
mined to a small extent along the contact 
line of the mesozoic and gneissic rocks. 
The large magnetic iron mines of Warwick, 
connected with both trap and New Red 
rocks, but really belonging to the underly- 
ing azoic floor, are still worked. Small 
quantities of brown hematite ore have also 
been obtained from the valley limestone. 
The white marble quarries are numerous, 
but none of them large." 

Professor Lesley further says tluit the 
limestone formation. No. II., was originally 
deposited over all southeastern Pennsyl- 
vania. There can be no doubt that the 
Lancaster county limestone formerly cov- 
ered the whole of northern Chester, and 
that it was removed by gradual erosion 
before tiie deposit of mesozoic sediments ; 
for there is no appearance of the limestone 
at the present edge of the mesozoic area 
along French creek, and there is ample 
evidence that the mesozoic it.self originally 
covered the district beyond its present 
limits. That the limestone fornuition, No. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



II., once overspread southern Lancaster, 
southern Chester, and Delaware counties, 
and the northern pai't of the State of Dela- 
ware also, is shown by the relics of it left 
at various places; and in all such places it 
is accompanied by its underlying Potsdam 
sandstone, Xo. I. The lowest palaeozoic 
formation in Pennsylvania, Xo. I., logically 
identified with the Potsdam sandstone of 
northern New York, makes its appear- 
ance in the Welsh mountain in northern 
Chester. 

Professor Lesley further says : •• The 
geology of southern Adams, York, Lan- 
caster, and Chester is still obscure — a region 
of metamorphic rocks — mica-schists, chlorite 
schists, and gneiss of various kinds, inter- 
terrupted by belts of serpentine and marble, 
and carrying deposits of kaolin and chrome 
iron sand. Where the Susquehanna river 
crosses Mason and Dixon's line a belt of 
roofing slate is extensively quarried, and 
a multitude of plant-like fossils have been 
found, pronounced by competent authority 
to be a buthrotrephis of Hudson river age, 
which looks as if the roofing slate forma- 
tion of Northampton and Lehigh counties 
once extended over southern Pennsylvania ; 
and this idea has been carried so far as to 
suppose that the talcose and micaceous and 
garnetiferous serpentine - bearing schists 
which form a wide border to the Chester 
county limestone valley from York east- 
ward along the South valley hill, and across 
tlie Schulykill to Chestnut hill in Philadel- 
phia, instead of being sub-calciferous, Pots- 
dam, sub-Potsdam, or Cambrian strata, are 
really metamorphosed Hudson river strata, 
overlying the limestones of the valley, the 
top layers of which would then be Trenton 
beds, turned to white marble." 

In "The Geology of Chester County," 



edited by J. I'. Lesley, after the surveys of 
Rogers, Frazer, and Hall, and published in 
1883, it is said that the great regularity of 
Mr. Rogers" belts, and the utter irregularity 
of Mr. Hall's areas, strikingly exemplify the 
difierence between the conclusions arrived 
at in a difficult region like this, by the earlier 
geologist, who made everything bend to his 
theory of parallel, overturned auti-clinals and 
synclinals, and the observations of the later 
geologist, who is fettered by no such theory, 
but is perhaps quite as strongly influenced by 
a different seutiment — that the azoic forma- 
tions spread out over one another with 
moderate inclinations unconformably, and 
that "tiie genuineness of the Potsdam sand- 
stone outliers in southern Chester seems to 
be proven by Doctor Frazer's discovery of 
numerous casts of the Scolithus linearis in 
its outcrops in London Grove township. 
Whatever may be thought of the structure 
of southern Chester county, all the indica- 
tions point towards a probaljility that the 
lowest or primal members of the Palseozoic 
system of formations (Siluro-Cambriau, Nos. 
1 and 2) once spread over the whole region, 
and have since been in great part eroded. 
But if the quartzite (Potsdam proper) of 
tlie North Valley hill varies so much as to be 
absent in the South Valley hill, and yet be 
present in townships to the south, while 
conformably enclosed between upper and 
lower primal slates (the latter of great 
thickness ), then we can no longer look upon 
this semi-metamorphosed sand and gravel 
bed as the universal shore deposit of the 
early Palseozoic sea, uncomformably resting 
on the schists and gneisses of preceding 
Huronian and Laurentian ages. In fact, it 
renders doubtful the existence of such a 
sea, and rather suggests a number of more 
or less isolated water basins, which were 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



not coinhinedinto an ocean until tlie opening 
of the niagnesian limestone age." The 
superficial covering of Chester county has 
been derived from the immediately under- 
lying rocks, Init, however, gravel deposits 
exist vv^hich are not referable to the mother 
rooks of the locality. 

Professor Lesley says: "It has been my 
duty to exhibit the obstacles which lie in 
the way of a true understanding of the 
structural geology of the Philadelphia-Bal- 
timore belt. Little more can be said than 
that the first geological survey did some- 
thing to reveal the structural geology of the 
Philadelphia-Baltimore belt; and that the 
second geological survey has added its mite 
to the revelation : but that a great deal 
more light must be thrown upon it before 
we can congratulate ourselves upon a proper 
and satisfactory knowledge of it." 

Two geological maps of Chester ct)unty 
have been printed: Prof. Persifor Frazer's. 
in 1880, and Prof. C. E. Hall's, in 18H2. 
They difter radically from each other, as 
well as from Prof. II. I). Rogers' State map 
of 1858. These three able geologists — 
Rogers, Frazer, and Hall — difter from eacli 
other in their views of the order and super- 
position of the formations, and leave several 
points of geology in almost as great obscur- 
ity as they found them. 

Proceeding from the sontii to the north 
l)oundary line, Chester county is divided 
into five distinctly marked geological re- 
gions: 1, southern gneiss; 2, mica-slate or 
South Valley hill: M, Dowuingtown valley 
limestone: 4. northern gneiss: A, S(;huylkill 
i>r mesozoic. 

1. The first region embraces the larger 
part of the county south of West Cliester, 
:ind consists of syenite. feld8|iathic. and 
porphyry rocks, gneiss, schists, and quartzite 



l)eds, witli patches of serpentine and crys- 
talline limestone, l)eds of impure limonite, 
jnire kaolin and corundum. 

2. The mica-slate region is from two to 
four miles wide, and lies between tlie soutli- 
ern and middle regions of the county, but 
its geological relationship to both is still in 
dispute. 

•3. Dowuingtown valley limestone, or 
central division, averages from one to two 
nules in width, and extends westward across 
the county from "Willow Grove, Montgomery 
county, to Quarry vi lie, Lancaster county. 
It is fifty-five miles in length, and has been 
generally classed by geologists as a lime- 
-stone basin or valley. Its geological features 
are in part simple and clearly defined, and 
in part so obscure as to lead to discussion 
and diversity of opinion. Tliis limestone 
is of formation Xo. XL, and is the same as the 
Calciferous, Chazy, and Trenton limestone 
formations of the New York survey, atul 
the Auroral limestone of Professor Rogers. 
It is the Knoxville limestone of the south and 
the Magnesian limestone of the west. It over- 
lies the Potsdam sandstone. Rogers claims 
a synclinal structure for the valley, while 
Hall insists upon its monoclinal character. 
There are numerous marble cpiarrics and 
iron-ore mines in this valley. Along its 
northern border extends the celebrated 
Potsdam sandstone. C. F. Hall found well 
developed areas of fjaurentian syenite, 
sandstone, (|uartzite, limestone, h\'dro-mica- 
scliist, and serpentine. There are sevei'al 
serpentini' (juarries .and chrome mines in 
this region, and tiie Brinton serjientine 
quarry, opened in 1730. which produces 
yearly from six to twenty thou.xand cubic 
feet of stone. From Brinton's and other 
serpentine quarries of south Chester, stone 
is sent to l'liil!t(lel))iiia. New York. Wiish- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



ington, Baltimore, and Chicago, where it 
has been used in the construction of some of 
the most prominent structures of those cities. 

4. The northern gneiss region embraces 
nearly all of northern Chester, and its north- 
eastern azoic border line passes from near 
Valley Forge, in a winding manner, through 
Schuylkill and East Pikeland to French 
creek, which it follows to the Berks county 
line. Pipe clay, graphite, and valuable 
veins of hematite iron ore exist in this 
region. Magnetic iron ore of good quality 
has been found in Honej'brook township. 

5. The Schuylkill or mesozoic region 
occupies the northeastern part and is the 
red sandstone region of Chester county. 
An arm of the ocean once stretched across 
Xew Jersey and southeastern Pennsylvania 
into Maryland and Virginia, in which one 
of the last sedimentary formations was the 
mesozoic red sandstone. The dip of these 
sandstones and their accompanying shales 
is one of the most difficult questions of 
American geology. The mesozoic sand- 
stone rests on a floor of gneiss which has 
faults, in which ti-ap dykes jilay an im- 
portant part. From the largest of these 
faults have been great outbursts of trap, 
which form high ridges, while the trap that 
issued from the smaller ones was unable to 
reach the surface. These hills of trap in 
the open rolling country of red sandstone 
are "the eroded outcrops of outbursts of 
igneous rock along cracks which go down 
to great depths beneath the floor of older 
rocks to some profounder reservoir of lava, 
now extinct, but similar to that which at 
the present time underspreads the western 
part of the United States, feeding active 
volcanoes and geysers, and producing earth- 
quakes and fractures of the crust of the 
eartli. Ancient volcanoes and geysers do 



not seem to have existed on the Atlantic 
border, but outbursts of lava took place 
through and between the layers of the 
mesozoic strata, and these now constitute 
the trap hills of the mesozoic region.'" The 
old name of trap was basalt, and Professor 
Rogers says it is " a union of augite, feld- 
spar, and titaniferous iron," the augite 
predominating. 

The fossils of this region include most of 
those generally found in the mesozoic for- 
mation. Many fossil bones, teeth and 
plants have been collected at Phcenixville, 
and at other places in the region, and Dr. 
W. D. Hartman says : " Immense flsh, prob- 
ably ichthyosaurus, or plesio saurus, visited 
this (Chester county sea) vast estuary." 

The mineral veins along the edge of the 
mesozoic, west of Valley Forge, are partly 
in the gneiss and partly in the mesozoic. 
These veins are of copper, lead, iron, and 
plumbago, and will be noticed in the history 
of the difl'erent townships. 

Professor Frazer makes nine distinct 
groups of rocks in Chester county, which, he 
states, cannot be arranged into an exact 
chronological scale at the present, owing to 
certain vexed questions of structure. Com- 
mencing with the lowest, he gives them as 
follows : Syenites and feldspar porphyries, 
imitation syenites, mica-schists, thin mica- 
schists, argillitic or hydro-mica-schists, lime- 
stones, serpentine, new red or mesozoic 
sandstone, trap-dykes, and gravels. 

Dr. Grotf, in his classiflcation, gives them 
as : gneiss, mica slate, talc slate, serpentine, 
limestone, sandstone, red sandstone, horn- 
blende rock, trap, and ([Uartz. 

Topograph;!. — The surface of the county 
is undulating and liiliy, the soil of every 
variety and liighly jirodnctivc. and it is well 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



wooded and well watered. The topography 
of the county will be given in the same 
order as its geology. The southern gneiss 
region, a beautiful and populous section of 
the county, is a rolling country of hill and 
ilale, with rich farms, got)d roads, and com- 
fortable dwelling houses, the latter mostly 
built of stone. This region embraces all of 
Londonderry, Penn, New London, Elk, 
West Marlborough, London (Trove, Frank- 
lin, Newlin, East Marlborough. New Gar- 
den, London Britain, Pocopson, Kennett, 
Pennsbury,West (ioshen,Westtown, Thorn- 
bury, and Birmingham ; and parts of Upper 
Oxford, Lower Oxford, East Nottingham, 
VYest Fallowiield, Highland, East Fallow- 
iield, West Bradford, East Bradford, East 
Goshen, Willistown and Easttown townships. 

Its general elevation above ocean level is 
about four hundred feet, wliile its streams 
have cut down to a ilepth of between one oi- 
two hundred feet. They flow between 
steep and sometimes rocky banks, and are 
crossed by high riiilway bridges and em- 
bankments. One railroad, the Philadelphia 
k Baltimore Central, crosses it from west 
to east in the southern part, while three 
roads cross it from north to south — the 
Pennsylvania & Delaware, in the west ; the 
Wilmington & Northern, in the centre; and 
tlieWest Chester & Philadelphia, in the east. 

The following carefully compiled table 
shows the altitude of a number of points 
ill the southern gneiss i'egion,all located on 
the different linesof railroad passing through 
that section of the county : 

• IN IMIII.AIIKLPHI.A A- BALTIMORE CENTRAL 
RAILROAD. 

Miles from Feet 
Phlla. above tide. 

(hadds Pord ( Brandywine 

creek) !♦! 129 

Kairville station 10 2.55 



Kosedale station 20 

Kennett Squai'e station 22 

Toughkenamon station 25 

Avondale station ( X P. & D.), 26 

West Grove station 29 

Penn station .32 

Elkview station 33 

Lincoln University station 35 

Oxford (junction of P. B.R.R.) 38 
Columbia and Pennsylvania D. 
junction Susquehanna river, 57 



312 
260 
283 
227 
444 
506 



ON WEST CHESTER .V IMIILADELPHIA RAILROAD. 



West Chester 

Hemphi 1 1 

Street road 

Cheney 

Glen Mill 

Darli ngton 

Baltimore Central R. R. jnnc... 

Lenni 

Glen Riddle 

Greenwood 

Media 

Manchester 

Walli ngford 

Swarthmore 

Morton 

Springhill 

Clifton 

Kellyville 

Darby road 

Fern wood 

A ngora 

Woodland street 

Philadeli»])ia Depot, Tliir.ty- 
tirst and Cbcstniit streets 







.406 
318 
252 
240 
199 
143 
133 
136 
160 
218 
210 
211.5 
168 
125 
121.5 
128 
109 
102 
103 

90 

74.5 

57 

14 



ON WIL.MIN(JTON A NORTHERN RAILROAD. 
Miles from Feet 
B. June, above tide. 

Coatesville (XPenn.R. R.).... 30.7 315 
Modena 33.3 278 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



Miles from Feet 
B June, above tide. 

Mortonville 36.1 260 

Laurel 241 

Embreeville 38.3 231 

Glenhall 41.4 218 

jSTorthbrook 209 

Seeds 43.3 195 

Lenape 45.2 183 

Pocopson 46 180 

Chadd's Ford 48 175 

Smith's bridge 53 209 

Centre 54.6 263 

Dupont's 60 282 

Wilmington 63 12 

ON PENNSYLVANIA & DELAWARE RAILROAD. 
Miles. Above tide. 

Pomeroy (junction P. R.R.)... 483 

Doe run 6 374 

Pusey's summit 10 470 

Pennoek's summit 463 

Avondale (X Phil. & Bait. Cent. 

R.R.) 15 282 

jS'ewark, in Delaware 26 118 

Delaware City .38 16 

The drainage of the disti-ictis good. All 
.of its rivers flow southeastward, and most 
of them furnish excellent water power for 
the numerous mills and factories situated 
on their banks. In the east, Darby, Crum, 
Ridley, and Chester creeks flow into the 
Delaware river; in the central part the 
east branch of the Brandywine river re- 
ceives the waters of Valley creek and 
Broad, Taylor's, Plum, and Radley's runs, 
while the west branch has as tributaries 
Ring's run and Red Clay and White Clay 
creeks; and in the west. Elk, Little Elk. 
and North East creeks flow south iiito 
Maryland. 

The mica-slate region borders the soutli- 
ern gneiss country on the north and west, 
and is a narrow belt of land which is often 



called the South valley hill, or hydro-mica 
schist belt. It traverses the county from 
east to west, with a width of from two to 
four miles, to the Wilmington & Northern 
railroad, and then suddenly widens out and 
sweeps down along the east side of Octo- 
raro creek with a breadtli of ten to thirteen 
miles. It embraces parts of West Notting- 
ham, East Nottingham, Lower Oxford, Up- 
per Oxford, West Fallowfield, Highland. 
East Fallowfield, West Bradford, East Brad- 
ford, West Whiteland, East Whiteland, 
East Goshen, Willistown, and Easttown. 
The surface of this region rises to the north- 
ward into the South valley hill or ridge, 
overlooking the Downingtown valley. The 
soil is well cultivated and produces good 
crops. The elevation of its highest hills 
is about six hundred feet above tide level. 
The railroads passing over its surface are 
the Pennsylvania and the old and new 
West Chester branches. 

The Pennsylvania railroad runs along 
the ridge from Radnor to Frazer, about 
thirteen miles, and then grades down the 
hill slope into the valley at Downingtown, 
as shown by the following table : 

PENNSYLVANIA RAILROAD. 

Miles from Feet 
Phila. above tide. 

Radnor station in Delaware Co. 12 409 

Edgewood 401 

Wayne 14 405 

Reeseville 16* 495 

Paoli 19' 534 

Greentree 543 

Summit 550 

Malvern 21 546 

Frazer (junction of W.C.K. R.) ... 490 

Glenlocic 25 453 

Ship bridge 411 

Walkertown 388 



OF CHE STEP COUNTY. 



lutersecition of Wuyiieshurg 

branch 256 

Downingtowii 82 266 

Gallagherville 83 298 

Thorndale 34 313 

Cain 36 359 

C'oatesvillo (X of Wilm. & 

Northern R. K.) 38 380 

Midway 396 

Ponieroy (E. junction of Peiin. 

&De1. R. R.) 42 483 

Parkesburg 44 537 

Summit west of Parkesljurg 562 

Penningtonville 47 500 

The streams of tliis i-egion flow, contrary 
to the general direction of drainage in the 
county, 1)3' heading west along tlie west 
border of tlie gneiss region, and thence into 
and through the liydro-Tuica-schist belt. It 
is drained b}' the Brandywine river and its 
tributaries, Bock and Doe runs, and Muddy 
and several smaller runs flowing westward 
into Octoi"aro creek. 

The Downingtown valley region is known 
as the "(Treat valley," and also as the 
•'Chester valley." It is a narrow \alley 
from five hundred to two thousand yards 
wide and from two hundred to four hun- 
dred feet dee]i,which extends from southwest 
to nortlieast. clear across Chester county. 
It extends through jiarts of West Sa<lsbury, 
West Fallowtieid, Sadsbnry, Highlaiid,Val- 
ley, East Failowficld, Cain, West Bradford, 
East Bradford. West Whiteland. East 
Whiteland. Wiilistown. Tredyffriii. and 
Easttowii tow nshi]is. Ijimestone and niar- 
I'lc form the floor of this valley, and extend 
to some distance up botli slopes. .Marble 
([Uarries and mines of browu hematite iron 
ore arc worked at iruiny places within the 
valley. Its soil possesses tliat great fertility 



which distinguishes all limestone areas. 
Its tide level does not exceed four hundred 
feet at any place within its rock-walled 
boundaries. The Pennsylvania railroad 
runs through it west from Downingtown, 
and from that place the Chester Valley 
railroad extends east to the Montgomery 
county line. In the following table wc 
give the altitude of the most important 
places along these lines in the county : 

PENNSYLVANIA RAILROAD. 

Miles from Feet 
Radnor, above tide. 

Gallagherville 22J 298 

Thorndale 23i 313 



Cain 



251 359 



Coatesville 27i 380 

Midway 394 

Pomeroy (easteiui junction)... 31 J 483 

Parkesburg 33i 537 

Summit 562 

Penningtonville 36i 500 

CHESTKK VALLEY RAILROAD. 

Miles. .Vljove tiili'. 

Bi'idgepoi't, opp. Norristown... 76 

Henderson's station 2 165 

King of Prussia station 3i 190 

Centreville station 6 202 

(iarden"s station 7 225 

Howell ville station ^ 221 

Paoli road station 9i 238 

Cedar Hollow station 10 246 

Lee's station lOA 279 

Valley Store station lli 295 

Mill Lane station 13 315 

White llor.'ic station ( Summit ) 14 339 

Kxton station 16 324 

Oakland .station IS 301 

Baldwin's station 19.1 299 

|)o\\niiigt(nvii station 2H 2(!7 

Tile valley has good drainagt-. Two 
iMM'i's — the SeiMixikill and Brandvwine — 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISTORY 



beside Buck run and Octoraro creek, flow 
south through eight gaps in its north and 
south walls. 

The northern gneiss region, the fourth 
topographical division of the county, is a 
rolling country of decomposing gneissoid 
rock, traversed by ridges of sandstone. It 
occupies the larger part of the county north 
of the Downingtown valley, from which it 
stretches northward to French creek.which 
is its northern boundary line for twelve 
miles. The remaining part of its north 
boundary line, nine miles in length to Val- 
lej' Forge, is marked only by change of soil. 
It embraces the townships of West Cain, 
Honeybi-ook, West Nantnieal, East Nant- 
meal, Wallace, West Brandywine, East 
Brandywiue, Upper Uwchlan, Lower TJwch- 
lan, and West Pikeland ; and parts of West 
Sadsbury, Sadsbury, Valley, Cain, East 
Cain, West Whiteland, East Whiteland, 
Tredyffrin, Charlestown, Schuylkill, East 
Pikeland, South Coventry, and Warwick. 
The southern boundary ridge is parti}' Pots- 
dam sandstone. Cojjper Mine ridge and 
Welsh mountain are of Potsdam sandstone, 
and there are areas of this stone in Lower 
Uwohlan. A large area of limestone is in 
Schuylkill and Charlestown townships,while 
copper, lead, iron ore, and kaolin exist in 
considerable quantities. The soil is most 
productive and yields fair crops. 

This region varies in height from four 
hundred to nine hundred feet al)Ove tide 
level. Four railways pass through it, and 
below we give the altitude of various points 
on the lines of three of these ditierent roads. 

WILMINGTON k NORTHERN RAILROAD. 

Miles from Feet 
Junction, above tide. 

Birdsborojunction.inBerksCo. 173 
Hampton station, " 2.7 223 

White Bear .station, " 4.(i 84fi 



Miles from Feet 
Junction above tide. 

Geigertown station, Berks Co., 6.2 432 

Cold Run station, " 7.7 525 

Joanna station, " 10.2 627 

Springfield station, in Chester 

county 12.4 645 

Conestoga station, in Chester 

county 13.7 647 

Isabella station, in Chester Co. 15.7 639 
East Brandywine and Waynes- 
burg railroad crossing 19 647 

Beaver Dam station, in Chester 

county 21.3 603 

Honeybrook station, in Chester 

county 23.1 596 

Manorstation, ill Chester Co... 25.9 572 

Hibernia station, " ... 27 530 

Brandywine station, " ... 27.6 556 

Coatesville, in the valley 30.7 315 

EAST BRANDYWINE A WAYNESBURG RAILROAD. 

Miles from Feet 
Downingtown. above tide. 

ISTew Holland, in Lancaster Co. 28.1 482 

East Earl. " 25.2 510 

Cedar Lane, " 24.6 552 

Beartown, " 22.0 763 

Churchtovvn road, " 20.7 867 

Honeybrook, in Chester county. 18.1 728 

End of track in 1877, " ' 18 741 

Waynesburg station, " ... 728 

Lancaster pike, " ... 696 

Buchanan's station, " 16.5 672 

Wilni.& Read, railroad crossing 16 645 

Dampman's station 15 628 

Forrest station 14.5 576 

Cupola station 14 565 

Lewis Mills station 13.5 542 

Barnestown station 12 486 

Moorestown station 9.5 443 

Springton station 405 

Cornog's station 7.5 361 

Brooklyn station 6 33] 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Miles from Feet 
Downingtown. above tidf. 

Reed's road stiitioii 4.5 309 

Dorian's station 4 280 

Dowlin's Forge station 274 

Shelniire's 1 246 

Downitigtowii junction Penn- 
sylvania railroad 2oti 

I'ICKEKlNi; VALLEY UAILROAD. 

Miles from Keet 
Phunixville. above tide. 

Byers Eagle Summit 11| 426 

Cambria station 9i 322 

Chester Springs station 7 J 278 

Pikeland station 7 272 

Kiinberton station 4 211 

French Creek station 2 128 

rhoenixville station 110 

The general tendency of the drainage of 
this region is eastward. The three principal 
streams, which rise close to each other, are 
the east and west branches of the Branily- 
wiiie and French creek. The main tribu- 
taries of the Brandywine are Birch, Rock, 
Marsh, Perkins', and Culbertson's runs, and 
Marsh and Beaver creeks. French and 
Pickering creeks enter the Schuylkill river. 

The Schuylkill or niesozoic region is a 
long triangle, one-half mile wide at A^alley 
Forge, and increasing to live miles in width 
on the I5erks county line. Its eastern 
border is the Schuylkill river, and its soutli- 
ern boundary line French creek and the 
edge of the gneiss district. It comprises all 
the townships of North Coventry and East 
Coventry, and parts of Warwick, South 
Coventry, East Vincent, East Pikeland, 
Charle.stown. and Schuylkill. It is every- 
where hilly, but at no place is over five 
litindred feet above tide level. Tlie altitude 
of several points in this region is given 
in the following tabic, together with tlu^ir 
distance from Philadelphia: 



Douglassville 44J 161 

Pottstown 40 150 

Limerick 34 138 

Royer'sFord 32 127 

Mingo m 116 

Phcenixville 27i 110 

Perkiomen Junction 25 109 

Valley Forge 23J 98 

Port Kennedy 21J 87 

Merion 19' 81 

Bridgeport, opp. Norristown... 17 76 

Philadelphia, Delaware front 28 

The surface of the mesozoic region is 
drained by the Schuylkill and the following 
of its triliutaries: Stony run and French, 
Pigeon, and Pickering creeks. 

Mineralogy. — The l^estaiid most accurate 
description of the minerals, rocks and ores 
of the county that we find, is contained in 
a table arranged by George G. Groft', M.D., 
natural science professor in West Chester 
State Normal school, and published in 1881, 
in Futhey & Cope's "History of Chester 
County." From this table we take the 
following lists of the minerals, rocks, and 
iron, lead, copper and zinc ores, of the 
county : 

MI.NKKALS. 

Quartz, chalcedony, jasper, calcite, dolo- 
mite, serpentine, talc, horn-blende, tourma- 
line, mica, feldspars, asbestos, garnet, cyan- 
ite, tremolite, actinolitc, magnesite, apatite, 
graphite, corundum, epidote. aragonitc. 
scapolite, jeft'erisite, dewylite, ttuorite, beryl, 
staurolite, zoisite, ziricon, kaolin, margaritc 
and chesterlite — tlie latter found first in 
poor-house quarry, and at Bailey's, in ?]ast 
Marlborough, and named from Chester 
countv. 



BIOGSAPHY AND HISTORY 



ROCKS. 

Gneiss, composed of quartz, mica, feld- 
spar; mica slate — quartz, mica, feldspar; 
talc slate — quartz, talc, feldspar; serpen- 
tine — same as mineral serpentine; lime- 
stone — impure calcite; sandstone — small 
,£jrain8 of quartz; red sandstone — small 
grains of quartz ; horn-blende rock — quartz, 
horn-blende, feldspar; trap (volcanic) — 
horn-blende, feldspar; and quartz — same 
as mineral quartz. 

IRON 0RE8. 

Pyrites, composed of iron, sulphur; limo- 
nite — iron, oxygen, water; hematite — 
iron, oxygen; magnetite — iron, oxygen; 
chromite — iron, chromium; and titanic 
iron — iron, titanium. 

LEAD ORE!?. 

Galena, composed of lead, sulphur; py- 
romorphite — lead, phosphorus ; cerussite — 
carbonate of lead; and anglesite — sulphate 
of lead. 

COPPER ORES. 

Calcopyrite, composed of copper, iron, 
sulphur; malachite — carbonate of copper; 
azurite — carbonate of copper; chrysocolla 
— copper, silica. 

ZINC ORES. 

Calamine, composed of silica, zinc,water ; 
sphalterite — zinc, sulphur; rutile (money- 
stone) — ^titanium, oxygen ; and pyrolusite — 
manganese, oxygen. 

Zooingif. — The zoology of the county is 
an interesting Held of study, in which Dr. 
Ezra Michener and others have labored 
with good success. Doctor Michiner, in his 
zoological catalogues, published in Futhey 
k Cope's " History of Chester County," has 
done very tlioronu'li work. In his ciitalooiu' 



of mammals he gives sixty-five species of the 
following eight orders : Insectivora, carni- 
vora, marsupiala, rodentia, ruminatia, sol- 
idungula, pacydermata, and proboscidia. In 
explanation of recording his species of ele- 
phants and mastodons, Doctor Michener 
says : " Perhaps many who will read this 
history may not know that the alluvial 
deposits of our county have for untold 
centuries been the custodians of the fossil 
remains here noticed. The elephant and 
the mastodon have each dropped us a molar 
tooth as a memoi'ial of their prior claim 
upon our soil. The former was obtained 
on the farm of John G. Jackson, in the 
Ilockesson valley, and the latter was thrown 
out by a flood in Wliite Clay creek, in the 
meadow of Howard L. Hoopes, near Avon- 
dale." The extinct animals of the county 
are : American panther. Canada wild cat, 
American wolf, black cat weasel, beaver, 
American porcupine, white rabbit, elk, red 
deer, American buffalo, elephant, and mas- 
todon ; while among rare animals are men- 
tioned the American wild cat, gray fox, and 
American otter. 

The ornithological catalogue of Doctor 
.Michener gives two hundred and thirty-two 
species of birds for Chester county, of which 
two hundred and twenty have been found. 
Among the birds given are : Iceland falcon, 
golden eagle, white headed eagle, snowy 
owl, Michener's warbler, Townsend's warb- 
ler, great Carolina wren, English sparrow. 
Townsend's sparrow, sand hill crane, night 
herron, summer duck, and greater shear- 
water. But one specimen of Townsend's 
sparrow is known, and it was pi'esented by 
Doctor Alichcner to the Smithsonian insti- 
tution. 

Of reptiles Doctor Michener catalogued 
lit'ty-foui' species, Itelonging to four orders: 



OF CHESIER COUNTY. 



39 



Batrachia, oi)lii(lia, lactTtilia, and tesstudin- 
ata. Of veiioiMOu.s snakes lie mentions the 
handed rattlesnake and the copperheatl. 

Prof. E. T). Cope says that about sixty 
species of so-called tislies are native to the 
waters of Chester conntj', and that the five 
following species have been introduced: 
Black bass, gold fish, carp, salmon, and 
California salmon. In his catalogue of na- 
tive lislies he divides them into eighteen 
families and sixty species, of which eight 
families, comprising nineteen species, are 
the best for food. The best resident food 
fishes are the pike, perch and trout, while the 
shad ranks best of the anadromus species. 

In the field of conchology Di-. W. D. 
irartman has labored zealously, and his 
illustrated catalogue of the terrestrial and 
tluviatile testaceous mollusks of Cliester 
county is a valuable contribution to the 
zoology of southeastern Pennsylvania. He 
gives one hundred and twenty-seven species 
of the three orders: Pulmonifera, pectini- 
brauchiata, and branchifera. Of these one 
hundred and twenty-seven species, one hun- 
ilred and twenty-three are illustrated. 

liotanij. — Dr. William Darlington's well 
known work, •• Flora Ccstrica," dcscribi's 
the flowering and filicoid plants of the 
county, while its cryptogamus plants are 
described by Dr. Ezra Micliener in his cata- 
logue of the "Cryptogamia of Chester 
County." He gives two hundred and fifty- 
three species of the four genera of acrogens 
or ferns, anophyta or mosses. Iiepatica or 
liverworts, and tliallophyta or lindiens. Dr. 
Michencr said that twelve hundred species 
of the genera of hysterophyta or fungi had 
been collected in the county, wliicfi lie had 
not the time to properly arrange in a cata- 
logue. 



Prehistoric Racefi. — Withiii the last quar- 
ter of a century some light has been thrown 
on the aboriginal and the earlier part of the 
savage period of America, as well as of the 
old world, by the researches in the field of 
archieology. Dr. Brinton, in his Icono- 
graphic Dictionary of the Arts and Sciences, 
says tliat prehistoric archieology is an inde- 
pendent branch of the general history of 
man, and is an indi8[)ensable introduction 
to the general history of culture, for the 
rude objects of ancient art are mute wit- 
nesses of a period of human existence back 
of the scope of written records, and that 
they supply the long-sought means of trac- 
ing man from almost his first appearance in 
the world down through his conquests over 
nature to the time when liistory takes up 
the thread of his career. 

De Mortillet divides prehistoric arclueol- 
ogy into the ages of stone, bronze and iron, 
and divides the first age into three periods: 

1. Etholithic, or fired stone. 

i. Palaeolithic, or chipped stone. 

o. Neolithic, or polished stone. 

The nomenclature of the arcliseology of 
the western hemispliere is eloselj' similar to 
that of the eastern, and the prehistoric is 
separated from the hi.storic by the discovery 
of America by Columbus; so that whatever 
ill the United States is ante-Columbian is 
also prehistoric. 

The prehistoric archaeology of the riiited 
States lies wholly within the age of stone 
as confined to the pahtolithie and neolithic 
periods. In the first of these two periods 
was the glacial age, wliose disappearance 
most of the geologists agree in placing at 
thirty thousand years ago. .Vmong the 
extinct animals of the palieolithic period 
were the true mammotii (JElcp/ia^ prhiil- 
gcnius), the mastodon, the great musk ox 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



(Ovibos bombifroms), the reindeer, a Luge 
lion, (Felis atrox), whose bones have been 
found near ISTatchez, and a large tiger which 
frequented the area of Texas, beside two 
species of the horse. 

It is generally accepted now that man 
existed in North America during the glacial 
epoch of the palaeolithic jjeriod ; and stone 
implements made by him have been found 
in the Trenton gravels, the Nebraska Loes 
beds, and the auriferous gravels of Califor- 
nia, which strengthen this view; as well as 
the finding of the celebrated Calaveras 
human skull, at the depth of one hundred 
and fifty feet, in a mining shaft in Cala- 
veras county, California. 

The art products of the aboriginal Amer- 
ican are represented by articles- in stone, 
clay, bone, and shell. Those of stone are 
arrow and spear heads, grooved hammers, 
and axes, gouges, semi-lunar knives, awls, 
scrapers, mortars and pestles, food vessels, 
spades, plummets, ornaments, pipes, images, 
and inscribed petroglyphs or tablets. The 
pottery of the Middle Atlantic States was 
rude in character and imperfectly Imrned. 
Bone was used for fish hooks, spoons, awls, 
and ornaments. Shells were used for cups, 
spoons, chisels, and knives. 

At what time the aboriginal period com- 
menced in America none with certainty can 
tell, while the fate of the aborigines and all 
of the prehistoric races of this country' ex- 
cept the Indian remains a mystery upon 
which history sheds no light. Of the races 
who passed away and left no record of their 
existence in any form of written language, 
archi\?ology alone has been successful in se- 
curing any knowledge of their life, charac- 
ter, and seats of empire. This it has ac- 
complished by researches among the ruins 
of their mounds, fortified heights, and town 



sites, and the careful examination of the 
tools and implements which they left. One 
theory makes the aborigines to include the 
Indians, while another holds them to be a 
difterent people from the Indians, credits 
them with being semi-civilized, and names 
them Mound -Ijuilders, on account of the 
earth mounds which they erected all over 
the Mississippi and Ohio valleys. Their 
mounds were of four classes : temple, altar, 
etfigy, and tomb mounds. 

Numerous theories have been advanced 
to account for the unknown fate of the 
mound builders. But whether they per- 
ished by war or famine, or went south to 
found the empires of Mexico and Peru, no 
one knows. 

The mound builders were never perma- 
nent residents in Chester count}', but arch- 
feology has discovered in the Trenton 
gravels the evidence of one or more pre- 
historic races having inhabited the banks 
of the Delaware long before the advent of 
the Indian into southeastern Pennsylvania. 
Who these races were, and how long they 
remained on the territory of Chester county 
and along the Delaware, none can tell. The 
Indian, with his unreliable traditions, is the 
only one of the prehistoric races of the 
county of whom we have any knowledge. 

Indian Occupation. — The savages of Brit- 
ish America and the United States consti- 
tute a single great race, from the Eskimo 
to the Comanches, while some authorities 
make the race to embrace the Mexic and 
South American semi-civilized Indians, and 
the stupid Patagonians ; but this subject, 
like many others of ethnography, must be 
considered as belonging to the yet undeter- 
mined and debatable domain of that science. 
The unity of the various Indian nations of 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



31 



the United States, as (lesfendants of a single 
stock, is proved philologieally by tlieir lan- 
guages. This unity is not manifest in the 
similarity of the words but in the structure 
of the difterent languages. Two of the eight 
Indian families of the United States were 
the Algonquins, who stretelied from \\v- 
ginia to New England, and the Huron- 
Iroquois, whose home was in Canada and 
in central and western New York. The 
most powerful confederation of the latter 
family was the Iricjuois, or famous Six 
Nations, who were the terror of the Algon- 
quins, and conquered the Delaware tribes 
of the latter family in eastern Pennsylvania. 

The Six Nations were the most intelli- 
gent and advanced, and also the most terri- 
ble and ferocious, of all the Indian nations 
of this country. Such was their great elo- 
quence and wonderful energy of character, 
and the extent of their conquests, that 
Volney called them the "Romans of the 
West." Parkham, the American historian, 
says: "The Iroquois were the Indians of 
Indians — a thorough savage, yet a finished 
and developed savage.'" He is, perhaps, an 
example of the highest elevation which man 
can reach without emerging from liis prim- 
itive condition of the hunter. 

The Iriquois were often called the Five 
Nations, until they were joined by the 
Tuscaroras, in 1712, after which they were 
designated the Six Nations. They called 
themselves Ho-de-no-sau-nee, or i'eople of 
the Long House. 

"The Iroquois were bound together by a 
remarkable league, which was the secret of 
their poAver and success. They constituted 
a confederacy, in some respects like our 
federal union, in which the nations repre- 
sented States, to whicli were reserved gen- 
eral powers of control, that the several 



nations exercised with great independence 
of each other, while certain other powers 
were yielded to the confederacy as a whole. 

" In each nation there were eight tribes, 
which were arranged in two divisions, and 
named as follows : 

Wolf, Bear, Beaver, Turtle, 
Deer, Snipe, Heron, Hawk. 
The division of the people of each nation 
into eight tribes, whether pre-existing, or 
perfected at the estaV)lishment of the con- 
federacy, did not terminate in its object with 
the nation itself. It became the means of 
effecting the most perfect union of separate 
nations 'ever devised by the wit of man." 
In this manner was constructed the Tribal 
League of the Hodenosaunee; in itself an 
extraordinary specimen of Indian legisla- 
tion, and it forms an enduring monument to 
that proud and progressive race, who reared, 
under its protection, a widespreail Indian 
sovereignty." 

The present territory of Chester county 
was occupied at the time of its first settle- 
ment by several small tribes of the Lenni 
Lenape, or Delaware nation, whose names 
have not been preserved — with the solitary 
exception of the Nanticoke tribe, that dwelt 
along the Brandywine river. These tribes 
were frequentl}' known to the early settlers 
l)y the names of the streams where they 
resided. The}' were most numerous in the 
Downingtown or "Great Valley," liut were 
evenly scattered over the rest of the county, 
except west of White Clay <Teek, whci-e 
they were few in numbers. 

In 1697 a Shawanese tribe came from the 
Carolinas and by permission of the Conesto- 
goe Indians, and Governor Markham, be- 
came resident on the waters of Pequa creek, 
Lancaster county, from which they soon 
exten<led into southern Chester. They had 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



villages at Steelville and Doe Run, tlie latter 
of wliich seems to have been their seat of 
power, as vrithin its boundaries was tlie 
council house of the nation. 

Trails. — The Delaware? had several trails 
or paths in the county, some of which after- 
ward were used as public roads by the white 
settlers. One of their leading trails was the 
Pequa and Chesapeake path, now known 
the Limestone road, which entered West 
Sadsbury township from Pequa valley, and 
ran through the southwestern part of the 
county to Cecil county, Maryland. This 
path ran on the dividing ridge between the 
waters of the Brandywine and Susquehanna 
rivers, crossed no stream, and passed through 
the townships of West Sadsbury, Highland, 
West Fallowtield, Upper Oxford, Lower 
Oxford, and East Nottingham. 

Villaqi's. — But little account has been pre- 
served of the many Indian villages, or clus- 
ters of bark wigwams, that were scattered 
through the county and generally located 
on the south hillsides, near springs of water. 
Of the Delaware villages or towns we have 
record of only three : one on the John B. 
Kinsey farm, in Upper Oxford township; 
another near the site of the present Baptist 
church, in Little Britain township; and the 
third (called Indiantown by the whites) on 
the old Henderson tract, in AVallace town- 
ship. Indiantown was a cluster of about 
thirty wigwams, situated near two fine 
springs ; and the Delaware Indians remained 
there until 1783, when they sold it, with a 
large tract of surrounding land, to Daniel 
and Alexander Henderson. The Hender- 
sons promised the Indians that their burial 
ground should never be disturbed, and the 
promise was kept by them and their chil- 
dren : l)Ut now the Indian gravevai'd. 



although but a quarter of an acre, is part 
of a cultivated field. 

After Penn"s treaty with the Indians in 
1682, a nundjer of those in Chester county 
abandoned nomadic habits to a considerable 
extent, and raised some corn and tobacco, 
and planted fruit trees, although they ob- 
tained their main subsistence by hunting, 
basket-making and fishing. The Delawares 
and Shawanese remained as teuants-at-will 
under the Six JTations of New York until 
1756, when they revolted under the lead of 
Teedyuskuug, and obtained the recognition 
of their independence from the great "Iro- 
quois Confederacy."" 

The Indians sold their lauds to the whites, 
and as the latter occupied them the red 
men removed from the county. At the 
opening of the French and Indian war. 
public feeling in eastern Pennsylvania be- 
came so bitter against all Indians that the 
remainiTig Delawares and Shawanese of 
Chester county became dissatisfied with the 
treatment which they received at the hands 
of the whites, and about 1755 removed 
westward to what is now Mercer county. 
The last of the Delawares in the county- 
was " Indian Hannah," as she was usually 
called. She was a niemlier of a family that 
called themselves Freeman, and had their 
wigwam near Anvil tavern, in Kennett 
township, and died in the Chester county 
poor house, March 20, 1802, aged seventy- 
one years. 

Dutch Tradhty Posts. — The Delaware bay 
was discovered by Henry Hudson, August 
28, 1609, and in the following year was 
entered by Lord Delaware, after whom it 
is named. It has also borne the names 
of New Port bay and Godyn's bay. In 
1()14 Capt. Cornelius Ilendrickson, in the 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



88 



yacht Kestless (the iirst vessel Imilt in 
America by Europeans), ascended tlie Dela- 
ware bay until he came to the Delaware 
river, which he explored for some distance. 
This river has been known by various 
names. By the Indians it was called Pau- 
taxat, Mariskitton, Makerish-Kisken, and 
Lenape Whitnck; by the Dutch, Zuyt, or 
South river, Nassau river, Prince Ilendrick 
river, and Charles river; Ijy the Swedes, 
New Swedeniand stream ;. and by the En- 
iflish, Delaware river. The Dutch claimed 
the country along the Delaware river, b}' 
light of Hudson's discovery and Hendrick's 
exploration, as a part of New Netherlands; 
and the Dutch \¥est India Company, in 
1624, sent Capt. Cornelius Mey to take 
possession of tlieir southland country. He 
ascended the Delaware, or Soutli river, to 
the mouth of Little Timber, in Gloucester 
county. New Jersey, where he erected Fort 
Nassau as a trading post. Four women 
and their husbands accompanied Mey, Init 
the fort was vacated for a time the next 
year, and the garrison recalled to strengthen 
the Manhattan colony. The Dutch West 
India Company, whose great object was 
reprisals on Spanish commerce, had no de- 
sire for planting colonies, and only estab- 
lished posts to secure the fur trade of tlie 
Indians; yet they became alarmed in 1633 
at the efforts of (lustavus A(h)lphus. of 
Sweden, to found a colony on tlie Delaware, 
or South river, wliich tliey endeavored to 
counteract by re-occupying Fort Nassau 
and establishing a colony in their southland 
possessions. Two of the directors of the 
company — Samuel Godyn and Samuel Blo- 
luaert — had, in 1680, planted a colony of 
nearly thirty souls near Lewistown, Dela- 
ware, but tlicy could not avoid contests 
with the Indians, and in less tlian two vears 



were destroyed by the savages. In 1634 
Fort Nassau was re-occupied and strength- 
ened, and other trading posts established 
by the Dutch; and during the next year 
tliey captured and sent to Manhattan a few 
English colonists who attcmjited to settle 
OTi the Delaware river. From 163.5 to 1638 
tlie Dutch held undisputed sway on the 
Delaware, where their jiossessions were 
often called the South county; but in the 
latter year a formidable foe appeared in a 
Swedish colony, led by Peter Minuet. 

Nair Sweden. — The English challenged 
the claims of the Dutch on pretense of 
earlier discovery, and the Swedes on account 
of non-settlement. Gustavus Adolphus. in 
1626, in the interests of the commerce of 
his kingdom, and in view of the advantages 
to be derived from populous and prosperous 
colonies, sought to organize a company to 
found a colony on the Delaware, where 
religious liberty should exist and slavery 
should never be allowed. Ilis death pre- 
vented the enterprise, and twelve years 
later Queen Christina and lier great minis- 
ter, Oxenstiern, took up the matter, wliich 
had been presentetl to the Swedish govern- 
ment by Fsselinx, the originator of the 
Dutch AVest India Company, with which he 
had become dissatisfied. Peter Minuet, the 
dismissed director of New Netherlands, was 
placed in charge of the colony of Swedes 
and Fins, wliich embarked on the Key of 
Calmar and the (Trittiii. lie landed in 
Delaware, and erecteil Fort Christina, near 
tlie mouth of Christiana creek. He pur- 
chased a large body of land along the Dela- 
ware river from the Indians, and laid the 
foundation.* of New Sweden, wliidi, Iiow- 
cver, enjoyed but a few jcars of existence. 
The Dutch protested, but wisely forbore 
active hostilities on a<-count of the prowess 



34 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



of Swedish arms, for Banner and Torsten- 
son were tlien humbling Austria and Den- 
mark. In 1642 the Swedish governor, 
Printz, built a fort on Tinicum island, just 
below Philadelphia. Three years later a 
Swedish settlement was made at Upland 
(Chester), in Delaware c-ounty, and thus was 
founded the tirst settlement in Chester 
county and the State of Pennsylvania. The 
Dutch held their several forts, or trading 
posts, on the east bank of the Delaware, 
and built Fort Casamir close to the bay, 
while the Swedes and Fins increased their 
settlements on the west side of the river 
and bay. In 1654 the Swedish Governor 
Rysingh took possession of Fort Casamir 
by pretended orders from the Dutch West 
India Company, and the next year, when 
Peter Stuyvesant, tlie great Dutch war 
governor of New Netherlands, ascertained 
the truth of the matter, he organized an 
expedition of seven hundred men for the 
recovery of Fort Casamir and the conquest 
of New Sweden. The Swedish forts sur- 
rendered to him witliout resistance, and the 
province of New Sweden passed under tlie 
rule of the Dutch. Sweden had become too 
weak to recover the province, and the 
Dntcli authorities of New Netherlands exer- 
cised control over the conquered territory, 
which then had about seven hundred pop- 
ulation, for one year; after which the Weat 
India Company sold its interests on the 
South river to the city of Amsterdam, 
which reorganized its acquired territory as 
the colony of New Amstel, wliose existence 
was terminated in 1664, when it was 
wrested from the Dutch liy the English 
under tlie Dnke of York. In 1673 a Dutch 
squadron recaptui'cd the country, but one 
year later Holland gave up her possessions 
south of the T^olaware to Enijland. Chris- 



tiana, the seat of Swedish power, whose 
name was New Amstel under the rule of 
Amstersdam, was named New Castle by the 
English ; and New Sweden, together with 
New Netherlands, was blotted from the 
map of the new world's colonies. 

Upland Counfij. — This county, or juris- 
diction, seems to have derived its name 
from Upland, its seat of justice, and the 
first settled town in the State. The word 
Upland is said by one writer to be derived 
from the Swedish word Upsala. It is said 
that many of the Swedes who came in 
1638 were from the Swedish province of 
Upsala, whose capital city of Upsala, in the 
midst of a vast and fertile plain, is the seat 
of the oldest university of Sweden, and 
during the middle ages was an ecclesiasti- 
cal capital of Scandinavia and northern 
Europe. 

Christiana, now New Castle, Delaware, 
was the capital of New Sweden, and the 
place of holding all courts until 1676, when 
courts of justice were established on the 
Delaware at New Amstel, Hoern Kill, and 
Upland. The jurisdiction of the Upland 
court "extended provisionally from the east 
and west lianks of the Kristina kill upwards 
unto the head of the river," and included 
nearly all of the present territory of Chester 
county. The first court for Upland county 
or jurisdiction was opened on November 
14, 1676, and two j'ears later it ordered a 
levy of twenty-six gilders to be made on 
every male inhabitant in the county between 
the ages of sixteen and sixty yeai's. This 
levy was payable in money, grain, tobacco, 
pork, or wampum. The '• tythables " re- 
turned, 136 in number, were as follows: 
Tacony district. 65; Carkoens Iloek, 11; 
Calkoens Hock, 14; Upland, 17; Marcus 
TTook, l!l; and Eastern Shonrc, 10. The 



OF CnEfiTEU COUNTY. 



35 



titliiiMf.s lit Upland were: Claes Sclirani, 
l\ol)lior(l Waetle, Jan Hondricx, Rich Bob- 
l)ingliton, James 8anderling & Slaiie, John 
Test and servant, Jurian Kien, Kicli Nohle, 
Neels Laerson & Son, Henry Hastings, Will 
Woodman and servant, Jolin Hayles, and 
Mifh.Vzard. We have been nnahle to find 
whii-h districts of the above named six 
embraced tiie present territory of Chester 
county. In 1680 the seat of justice was 
removed from Upland to Kingsesse, in the 
upper part of the county, where it remained 
l)ut one year. 

On the banks of the calin-tlowing Dela- 
ware, in 1633,CTUStavus Adolphus, the great- 
est of Swedish kings, sought to establish a 
mighty empire, free from slavery and reli- 
gious persecutioUjWhose power for the benefit 
of the human race should be felt throughout 
the civilized world. But to other hands, a 
half century later, was left the founding of 
this grand ideal State, and upon the weak 
and feeble New Sweden of the warrior 
nionarch was planted the strong, prosper- 
ous, and peaceful (Quaker province of Wil- 
liam Penn, which is now the powerful and 
populous Keystone State of the American 
republic. JLJLoo'3 *" <^ 

William Penn, the "Quaker King," in 
founding his province, provided an asylum 
for the good and oppressed of liis day, laid 
broad and deep the foundations of popular 
power and a lofty civilization, and contrib- 
uted in a large degree to the birth of a 
nation whose magnificent progress luis been 
the wonder of the world, and whose future 
career will largely control the destinies of 
humanity. Bancroft speaks eloquently of 
the faith of the people called (Quakers, and 
says of William Penn : " His fame is now 
wide as the world ; he is one of the few 
wlu) liave gained abiding glory." 



Prnri'K Purcha.n: — On March 4, 1H81, the 
province of Pennsylvania was granted to 
William Penn, in liquidation of a debt of 
sixteen thousand pounds which the P]nglish 
government owed to his distinguished 
father. Admiral Sir William Penn, in honor 
of whom Pennsylvania was so named by 
King Charles II. Penn appointed William 
Markham as his deputy governor, and on 
November 30, 1681, the latter was presid- 
ing over the courts of Upland. At another 
court at the same place, over which he 
presided on September 12, 1682, was callerl 
tlie first grand jury that ever sat in Penn- 
sylvania. Their names were: William 
Clayton, Thomas Brassey. John Symcock, 
Thomas Sary, Robert Wade, Lawrence 
Cock, Jolin Hart, Nathaniel Allen, William 
Woodmanson, Thomas Coebourne, John 
Otter, and Joshua Hastings. 

On August 30, 1682, William Penn sailed 
from Deal, England, for Pennsylvania, on 
board the ship AVelcome, in company witli 
over one hundred passengers, most of wliom 
were Quakers from Sussex. While tlie 
Mayfiower bore the Pilgrims to a rock- 
l)ound coast and the rigors of a winter 
which many never survived, yet the Wel- 
come, although bearing the Quakers to 
fertile fields in a warmer i-limate, was 
scourged by small pox, from whose ravages 
thirty of their number died. Of her pas- 
sengers Edward Armstrong has collected a 
partial list, of whom the following were 
males: John Barber, died on the way: 
William Bradford, earliest printer of the 
province; William Buckman. John Carvci-. 
Benjamin Chanihcrs, Thonuis Croasdah-, 
John Fislier, Thomas Fitzwater and sons 
Thomas. George, and Josiah. of whom the 
latter died on tl-.e voyage: Thomas (Tillett. 
Bartholomew (ireen, Nathaniel Harrison. 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISIORY 



Cuthbert Haj'lmrst, Thomas Ileriott, died 
on the voyage ; John Key, Ricliard Ingels, 
Isaac Ingram, died on the way; Thomas 
Jones, CTiles Knight and sou Joseph ; Wil- 
liam Lushington, Joshua Davis, David Og- 
den, Evan Oliver and sons David, John, 

Evan, and Seaborn; Pearson, whose 

Christian name is supposed to have been 
Robert, and at whose suggestion Penn 
changed the name of Vpland to that of 
Chester: Dennis Rochford, of county Wex- 
ford Ireland : John Rowland, Thomas Row- 
land, William Smith, John Songhurst, an 
eminent minister; John Stackhouse, George 
Thompson, Richard Townsend and son 
James ; William Wade, died on the voyage ; 
Thomas Walmesl}' and sons Thomas and 
Henry; Nicholas Wain, Joseph Woodroofe, 
Thomas Wrightsworth, and Thomas Wynne, 
of Wales. 

Penn landed at New Castle, Delaware, 
on the 27th of October, 1682, and either on 
the 28th or 29th of that month arrived at 
Upland. Upon his arrival there he turned 
to his friend Pearson and said : " Providence 
has brought us here safe. Thou hast been 
the companion of my perils. What wilt 
thou that I should call this placed" Pear- 
son said " Chester," in remembrance of the 
city in England from which he came. Penn 
answered that Chester it should be called, 
and that wlien he came to divide tlie land 
into counties, one of them should be called 
by the same name. While Penn deprived 
the Swedish county of a name recalling the 
pride and glory of an old city and a great 
seat of learning, he gave it one associated 
with the memories of the early history of 
west England, where the ancient city of 
Cliester was known in remote times by tlie 
M'^elsh name of Caerlleon Vawr. which 
meant the great camp of the legion on the 



Dee, and indicated a Roman origin as old 
if not older than that of Upsal in Sweden. 
Chester on the Dee, twenty miles from the 
open sea, stands where three Roman roads 
converged, and where the renowned XXth 
legion of Rome was encamped as early as 
the second century. It was fought over by 
Britons, Danes, and Saxons; was swept by 
the great plague of 1647, is memorable for 
its terrible siege lasting from 1643 to 1646, 
and has often been honored by the presence 
of its monarchs. But not to the glory of 
its militaiy record or to the proud distinc- 
tion that it is the only city in England 
which still retains its walls perfect in their 
circuit, was the city of Chester indebted to 
the honor of having the first town of Penn- 
sylvania named after it. It was the mem- 
ories of many scenes of peace and hours of 
sweet communion with absent Friends 
passed within its walls that caused Pear- 
son to wish to give its name to the forest- 
surrounded town of Upland in the new 
world. 

County Formation. — Chester county was 
created by Penn in 1682, and tradition says 
on November 25th. The county seat was 
establislied at Chester, and the first court 
was held in the same year by the following 
justices: John Simcock, Thomas Brassey, 
William Clayton, Robert AVade, John Be- 
zer. Otto Ernest Cock and Ralph Withers. 
A clerk of the court was appointed, and 
English courts were held regularly thereaf- 
ter at Chester, until the removal of the 
county seat to West Chester in 1786. 

Eaiif/ Settlrrx. — Of those who first settled 
on the territory of the present county we 
have obtained but little information. It is 
possible that some of the Swedes or Fins 
may have settled in the present southeast- 
ern townshijis of Chester county, but all the 



bP CHESTER gountV. 



Jrt 



accounts of early settlers that we liave re- 
late to the English, (lermans, Welsh and 
Scotch-Irish who settled in the county be- 
tween 1682 and 171o. The names of these 
early settlers, so far as we have been able 
to obtain them, will be given in the history 
of tlie respective townships in which they 
lived. 

The English settlers were chiefly (Qua- 
kers, and settled in the eastern and central 
parts of the county. They were a peacea- 
l)le, thrifty and law-abiding people. 

The Germans were mostly Lutherans, 
Uerman Reformed, Mennonites, Dunkers 
and Moravians ; and they made homes for 
themselves principally in what is now East 
and West Vincent townships, where they 
supplanted the few pioneer inhabitants of 
that section. They were honest, frugal and 
industrious, and soon became prosperous. 

Tlie Welsh were principally Baptist in 
religion, and settled on the famous "Welsh 
Tract," which embraces several of the town- 
ships in the eastern and northern parts of 
the county. Tliey were an intelligent, en- 
ergetic, and enterprising people, who made 
the best of citizens. 

The Scotch-Irish were of Presbyterian 
faith, and as early as 1790 commenced to 
come from the north of Ireland to the 
western part of Ciiester county. After 1718 
they gradually si)read over from the Mary- 
land line to the Welsh mountain. Tlie 
Scotch-Irish are of pure Scotch blood, and 
derive their name from settling in Ireland, 
where they largely occupied the province 
of rister, which was confiscated by James 
I. in ItilO, on account of the treason of its 
Irish proprietors. During the early part of 
the eighteenth century the English govern- 
ment persecuted the Scotch-Irisli, and they 
commenced to emigrate from the north of 



Ireland to the American colonies, where 
they became earnest patriots, and active in 
the cause of American independence at the 
very commencement of the revolutionary 
war. 

In 1693 Chester county, then including 
the present territory of Delaware and Lan- 
caster counties, had two hundred and 
seventy-six taxaliles in its fourteen town- 
ships, which were: "Ashtoune, Burning- 
ham, Chichester, Concord, Darbye, Edge- 
ment, Ilaverford, Marpoole, Middletowne, 
Neither Providence, Upper Providence, 
Ridle}', Springfield, and Thornbury." Of 
these townships five — Birmingham, Thorn- 
bury, Edgemont, Xewtown, and Radnor — 
are now the western townships of Delaware 
county, but as part of their territory was 
what is now the eastern part of Chester 
county, we give their lists of taxables for 
the year 1693 : 

BURNINOHAM. 



Peter Dix, 
Rich. Thatcher, 
.Ion. Thatcher, 
John Bennett, 



William Branton, sr., 
John Davis, 
Samuel Scott, 
Jon. Compton, 



William Branton. jr., Jolin Joans. 



THORNBURY. 



George Pearce, 
Edward Bennett. 
John Willis, 



Richard Woolworth 
Joseph Selsbee. 



EDGEMENT. 

Tiiomas Worolaw, John (Toldeii, 

John Worolaw, Roger Jackson, 

Joseph Baker. .loseph Baker, 
Philip Yarnell. for .lohn Fo.x. 

John Ilolston, 



NEWTOWN. 



Jenkin Grifeth 



^8 



JStOGHAPHY AiTb SlStOMY 



John Evans, 
David Meredith, 
John Evans, 
John Jarnian, 
John Morgan, 
William David, 
Richard Armes, 
Matthew Joans, 
Howell Jaimes, 



Philip Evans, 
David Evans. 
William Davis, 
Samuel Miles, 
Richard Miles, 
Evan Prothero, 
John Richard, 
Stephen Be van, 
Thomas Johns. 



In the period of time from 1693 to 1729, 
the population of the western part of the 
county had increased to such numbers that 
in the last named year it was erected into 
a separate county by the name of Lancas- 
ter. In 1736, when Thomas Cresap, in the 
interests of Maryland, invaded that part of 
Lancaster county which was claimed as 
Maryland territory, there were several per- 
sons in Chester county who sided with Cre- 
sap, and asserted that a portion of their 
own as well as Lancaster county belonged 
to Maryland. 

Intercolonial Wars. — The first two of 
these four wai's did not aflect Chester 
county, but when the third or King 
George's war commenced, in 1744, it caused 
some uneasiness in Southeastern Pennsyl- 
vania. While this war was in progress 
some apprehension was felt in Chester 
county that the Indians, who had joined 
the French to a considerable extent, might 
invade the territory of the county. This 
danger led to the voluntary organization of 
two regiments known as "Associators." 
Col. William Moore raised one of these 
regiments, principally in the townships of 
East and West Nantmeal, Uwchlan, West 
Cain and Charlestown. The officers of the 
two regiments were: Colonels — William 
Moore and Andrew McDowell: lieutenant 



colonels — Samuel Flower and John Frew; 
majors — John Mather, John Miller; cap- 
tains — David Parry, Roger Hunt, George 
Aston, William McKnight, Moses Dickey, 
Richard Richison, Andrew McDowell, John 
^IcCall, George Taylor, James Graham, 
Robert Grace, Hugh Kilpatrick, John Wil- 
liamson, John Mather, James Hunter, John 
Miller, William Clinton, Thomas Hubbert, 
jr., George Leggitt, Job Ruston, William 
Bell, Joseph Wilson, Henry Glassford, Wil- 
liam Boyd, William Reed and William Por- 
ter; lieutenants — Isaac Davis,Guyou Moore, 
Robert Morrell, Robert Anderson, John 
Boyd, John Cuthbert, John Cunningham, 
John Culbertson, John Vaughan, William 
Darlington, John Kent, William Buchanan, 
James McMahin, James Mather, Charles 
Moore, George Bentley, Morris Thomas, 
John Rees, Thomas Leggitt, Joseph Smith, 
Robert McMullin, James Cochran, Roliert 
Allison, John Culbertson, Thomas Hope 
and Robert Mackey ; ensigns — Nathaniel 
Davis, William Little, Edward Pearce, 
Samuel Love, James Montgomery, John 
Hambright, George McCuUough, James 
Scott, Robert Awl, Francis Gardner, Jacoli 
Free, William Cumming, John Johnson, 
Joseph Talbott, Benjamin Weatherby, 
Thomas Brown, William Carr, Anthony 
Pritchard, Archibald Young, James Dysart, 
Rowland Parry, Joseph Parke, John Em- 
mitt, John Donald, Tliomas Clarke and 
John Smith. These regiments were never 
called into service, as the Indians made no 
raids into the count}'. 

The French and Indian war, the last of 
the four intercolonial wars, opened in 1754, 
by the contest of the French and English 
over the territory of western Pennsylvania ; 
and while the Quakers in Chester county 
took no part in tin' war, yet they threw no 



OF GimSTjBR COUNTY. 



30 



obstacles in the way of tliose who wished 
to serve, altliough they ilisowned all ineiii- 
bers of their society who took ujj arms. 
There is no definite account of those who 
enlisted from Chester county, and of the 
militia raised in 175<j to defend the county 
from Indians, one company was formed as 
tlie !St. Vincent and Pikeland association. 
Its roll was: Captain — Adam Ileylman; 
lieutenant — John Hart; ensign — Adam 
Roontour; privates — John Lewis Ache, 
John Beker, John Bownd, Jacob Braun, 
Ritchard Brischert, Esaias Charles, Michael 
Conrad, Jacob Corner, Charles Cramp, John 
Crassert, Jacob Danefels, Jacob De Fran, 
Peter Dender, John Valentin Ernst, Yost 
Everliard, Ernst Fanstiel, Jacob Gebbard, 
George Good, Jacob Good, John Hartman, 
George Ilartz, Valentine Henry, William 
Henry, Balth. Ileylman, Jolin Ileylman, 
John Adam Ileylman, Frederick Hasserus, 
Philip Lewis, Jacob Losch, Adam McNally, 
John McNally, Frederick Mack, Jacob 
Mann, Adam Moses, Philip Muntz, George 
Nieler, Dietrich Roam, Michael Roth, Peter 
Selle, Conrad Sellner, Peter Sleider, Simon 
Sleider, Valentine Smidt, John Stein, Peter 
Steiger,Adam Stone, Frederick Swab, Adam 
Swerner, Jacob Thomas, Jacob Vine, Valen- 
tine Vittler, and George Weruy. This 
company saw no active service, as the In- 
dians liever made any raid on the western 
border of the county. 

Acadian Exiles. — In 1755 eight hundred 
Acadian exiles, or French neutrals, from 
Nova Scotia, were sent by the Brisish au- 
thorities to Philadelphia. Their ancestors 
had, in 1713, when Nova Scotia was taken 
from France, agreed to become British sub- 
jects on condition of never being called 
upon to take up arms in case of future war 
between France and England. After war 



broke out in 1754, the Englisli cruelly exiled 
these people on the ground of their ])eing 
secret enemies of the British government. 
From Philadelphia a nundier of them were 
sent, in 1756, to Chester county, where they 
suffered terribly, and where many of them 
died with small pox. They were Catholics, 
and desired to be sent to France. Their 
support cost the State over seven thousand 
pounds, and the three Chester county com- 
missioners for seeing after tlieir welfare 
were Nathaniel Pennock, Nathaniel Grubb 
and John llannum. 

In 1759 General Stanwix demanded 
sixty-five four-horse wagons from Chester 
county to haul provisions and army supplies 
from various points in the State to Fort 
Pitt, and the most of these wagons were 
finally obtained without resort to impress- 
ment. In the same year Wolfe took Que- 
bec, and the great struggle between France 
and England for supremacy in the new 
world was closed with the Englisli as victors. 

Mason and Dixon's Line. — We come now 
to make record of the south boundary line 
of the county. It is a part of a geographi- 
cal line which attained political significance 
in a State contest over its establishment, 
and came to be known by the name of its 
surveyors, Charles Mason and Jeremiali 
Dixon, two eminent English astronomers 
and surveyors, who came to America espe- 
cially to make that survey. Later this line 
came into national prominence, during the 
slavery agitation, as the dividing line be- 
tween the free and the slave States. To 
trace the history of this line of national 
fame and world-wide reputation, we must 
go back to the year lti09, when King James 
I. of England, by right of discovery, granted 
to the Virginia company all of the territory 
of Marvlaml. This irrant was revoked in 



JStOOitAPItY AND HtSTOIty 



1624, and ou June 20, 1632, Charles I. 
granted to Cecilius Calvert, the second Lord 
Baltimore, all the territory north of the 
Potomac river " to that part of the estuary 
of the Delaware on the north which lieth 
under the fortieth degree."' Lord Balti- 
more's charter restricted him to uncultivated 
and unsettled lands; and on the ground 
that the Dutch had settled in Delaware 
prior to 1632, and that Baltimore planted 
no settlement on the Delaware, leaving the 
Swedes to found Xew Castle, the Duke of 
York claimed Delaware and all of the 
Maryland peninsula, which controversy was 
settled by the King's council, deciding in 
1685 that the disputed territory should l)e 
divided by a line running north from a 
central point on a west line from Cape 
Henlopen to Chesapeake hay, and that the 
eastern part, or the present State of Dela- 
ware, should belong to the Duke of York. 

Penn, when he purchased his provmce, 
supposed that the 40° of north latitude was 
at some little distance below the site of his 
proposed city of Philadelphia ; but the Duke 
of York wanted to reserve a strip of coun- 
try for twenty or thirty miles north of New 
Castle on the Delaware, and Penn objected 
because this reservation would have includ- 
ed a part of the site of Philadelphia, and 
left Penn with no good harbor ground on 
the river. Penn proposed the present 
north boundary line of Delaware, extending 
westward and northward to the Delaware 
river, as a part of a circle drawn with a 
radius of twelve miles from New Castle as 
tlie center, which the Duke of York ac- 
cepted and placed in his charter. 

The half century from 1682 to 1732 was 
distinguished by a continuous struggle to 
establish the boundary line between Penn- 
sylvania and Maryland. On May lOtii of 



the last named year, the sons of William 
Penn and the great-grandson of the origin- 
al patentee of Maryland came to an agree- 
ment that the peninsula line should be run 
northward so as to form a tangent with the 
periphery of the semi-circle around New 
Castle, and then run further northward 
until it reached the latitude of a line due 
westward from a point tifteen miles due 
south from the then most southern part of 
Philadelphia; and from the point where the 
north met the west line, the great "due 
west line " between the provinces was to 
conmience. The peculiar north line ac- 
counts for the narrow wedge-shaped strip 
of Chester county lying between Maryland 
and Delaware. The west line became pro- 
longed afterward as the south boundary of 
Pennsylvania against Virginia. 

Although this boundary was agreed upon 
yet the survey was a subject of dispute 
until July 4, 1760, when it was finally set- 
tled, and the line was ordered to be run as 
directed in 1732. The progress of the sur- 
veyors was slow, and the proprietors be- 
coming impatient, in 1763 employed 
Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon, as be- 
fore stated, to complete the work. They 
landed in Philadelphia in 1763, and in 1767 
completed the line which bears their names 
and is so famous in the political history' of 
this country. 

Rerolationary War. — In 1774, when the 
port of Boston was closed, the citizens of 
Chester county contributed largely for the 
relief of the suffering people of that city, 
and the Friends were prominent in the 
movement, Chester monthly meeting alouc 
contributing seventy pounds. The county 
sent ten delegates to the Provincial con- 
vention of 1775. A powder mill was 
erected in 1776 by Cowpertliwaite & Biddle. 



OF CHESTER CO UNI Y. 



41 



The -'Associators" of the county were 
fully orgjiuized, but we can obtain no 
reliable lists of the men conMeoted with 
those organizations. In 1770 Anthony 
Wayne was commissioned as colonel and 
Francis Johnson as lieutenant-colonel of 
the 4th Pennsylvania battalion, many of 
whose men were raised in the county. Col. 
Samuel Atlee's Musket battalion of four 
hundred and forty-four men was largely re- 
cruited in Chester county, and sutt'ered 
great loss in the battle of Long Island. 
The militia of the county, in 1776, was di- 
vided into four battalions, and the next 
year the number of men returned as capa- 
ble of bearing arms was five tliousand, of 
whom several hundred were loyalists, and 
Friends who were opposed to all wars. 

On July 1, 1776, the Chester county Fly- 
ing Camp battalion was organized, with 
the following officers: Colonel — William 
Montgomery ; lieutenant-colonel — Thomas 
Bull; major — John Bartholomew; cap- 
tains — Joseph Gardner, i^amuel Wallace, 
Samuel Culbinson, James Boyiine, John 
McDowell, John Shaw, Matthew lioyd and 
John Beaton; first lieutenants — William 
Henry, Andrew Dunwoody, Thomas Henry, 
Benjamin Culbinson, Samuel Lindsay, Allen 
Cunningham, Joseph Strawbridge and 
Joseph Bartholomew; second lieutenants — 
Robert Filson, William Lockard, Thomas 
Davis, Samuel Hamill, Jere. Cloud, Joseph 
Wherry, David Curry and Alexander Mc- 
('arragher; ensigns — William Cunning- 
ham, John Grardtrencher, John Filling, 
Andrew Curry, Thomas James, Lazarus 
Finney, Archibald Desart and .John Llew- 
ellyn. 

In addition to the above organization, 
the militia of the county was organized into 
eight battalions. The officers and number 



of men eiirolleil in these battalions were as 
follows: 

First ljatta!it)ii : Lieutenant-colonel — 
Thomas Bull ; major — reterllartman ;num- 
l)er of men, six hundred and seventy-two. 
Second battalion: Lieutenant-colonel — 
John Bartholomew; major — Cromwell 
Pearce ; number of men, eight hundred and 
seventy-three. Third battalion : Lieuten- 
ant-colonel — George Pearce; major — Ed- 
ward Vernon ; number of men, five hun- 
dred and ten. Fourth battalion : Lieuten- 
ant-colonel — Richard Willing; major — 
William Brooke; number of men, six hun- 
dred and seventy. Fifth battalion : Lieuten- 
ant-colonel — John Gardner; major — John 
Culbertson; number of men, six hundred 
and twenty-three. Sixth battalion : Lieu- 
tenant-colonel — David McKey ; major — 
Samuel Evans ; nuuiber of men, four liundred 
and eighty-four. Seventh battalion : Lieu- 
tenant-colonel — Isaac Taylor; major — 
John Craig. Eighth battalion : Lieutenant- 
colonel — Joseph Speer; nuijor — John 
Boyd; numV)er of men, five hundred and 
seventy. 

The captains in the above battalions, 
serving at difterent periods, were : Thomas 
Carpenter, Joseph Mendenhall, William 
Whiteside, Joseph Luckey, Hugh Reed, 
John Boyd, John Bryan, David Curry, 
Robert Corry, Thomas Taylor, Joseph John- 
ston, Sampson Thonnis, Jomithan Rowland, 
Evan Anderson, William Harris, Isaac 
Thomas, Alexander Lockart, John Craig, 
Thomas Levis. John Flower, Jonathan \'er- 
non, John Lindsey, Kdward \'crn()ii. John 
Pitts, Mordecai Morgan, Joseph Bogg. .lohn 
Fleming, and captains Cyjiher, Willson, 
Hister, Boylan, Morrell, .Moore, Smith, 
Cochran, Henry, Marsh, McCloskey, (^uin, 
Kirk, I'rice, Kemp, Pierce, Huston. Dun- 



42 



BIOGRAPHY AND HI STORY 



uiug, Allen, Graham, Denny, Barker, El- 
ton, Seott, Beattj, Griffith, Carroll, Holl- 
man, Brumhack, Barber, Snyder, Eyry, 
Cummings, Jenkins, Kincaid, Corbie, Hays, 
Williamson, Blackburne, Colby, Ramsay, 
McKee, Fulton, Evans, Black, liamuge and 
Strode. 

The year 1777, although witnessing the 
surrender of Burgoyne, was nevertheless 
the darkest period of the revolutionary 
struggle, and the fate of the thirteen col- 
onies trembled in the balance upon the 
events that occurred in Chester county, 
from the fateful field of Brandywine, where 
disaster fell upon the Continental arms, to 
the winter horrors of Valley Forge, the 
midnight of the revolution. 

General Howe, in September, 1777, took 
his army around by sea and landed at the 
head of Chesapeake bay, in order to cap- 
ture Philadelphia. He purposed marching 
through the eastern part of Chester county, 
on account of its being a rich and populous 
section, inhabited largely by the Quakers, a 
peace-loving people, and by tories and luke- 
warm supporters of the American cause. 
As the British advanced into Chester, 
Washington fell back before them, and on 
September 8, 1777, Howe sent a column in 
front of Washington, while his main force 
halted at Milltown, with the intention of 
turning Washington's right the next day ; 
but the American Fabius divined the Brit- 
ish general's purpose, and by a masterly 
movcuieut took position on the high grounds 
above Chad's ford, on the north side of the 
Brandywine. A battery and a parapet 
guarded the ford. The American left, under 
General AVayne, rested on a forest along 
the Brandywine, whose banks were abrupt 
and high immediately below Chad's ford. 
On tlic right, the river was hidden by woods 



and the unevenness of the country, and 
Sullivan and his six brigades were stationed 
in echelons along that part of the river. 
On September 10th the British divisions of 
Knyphausen and Cornwallis formed a junc- 
tion at Kennett Square, and at five o'clock 
the next morning Howe and Cornwallis, 
with more than half of the British army, 
marched through a heavy fog up the Great 
Valley road, to cross the Brandywine at its 
forks, with the object of turning Washing- 
ton's right wing and driving it back upon 
the Brandywine, thus crusliiug the Ameri- 
can army between Cornwallis and Knyp- 
hausen's divisions. At ten o'clock Knyp- 
hausen marched to Chad's ford, drove Max- 
well's corps across the river, and opened 
with his cannon, but made no eft'ort to cross. 
Washington received infornuition of Howe's 
move, and Bancroft says that Washington 
then prepared to cross and attack Knyp- 
hausen, and sent Sullivan word to cross at 
a ford below the forks, and, while inter- 
cepting Howe's return, at the same time 
threaten the left flank of Knyphausen. But 
Sullivan thought the information was wrong, 
failed to obey orders, and checked Wash- 
ington's attack until Howe had crossed at 
the forks and threatened the American 
right. He then made such a bad disposition 
of his forces that in an hour the British 
had carried the field, and were only pre- 
vented from gaining the rear of the Amer- 
ican army by Washington, who withdrew 
Greene's division from the left and checked 
the British advance. From other good 
authorities we condense the following ac- 
count of Washington's movements after 
receiving word of Howe's flank movement : 
Washington purposed detaching Stirling 
and Sullivan to watch Cornwallis, and then 
crossing the Brandywine himself and de- 



0J> CHESTER CO UNI Y. 



4S 



stroyiiig Ktiypliauseii ; hut while iiisikiiig his 
disposition for these movements, received 
counter intelligence wliidi caused him to 
hesitate until Howe and C'ornwallis iiad 
crossed to attack Sullivan. lie then clianged 
his dispositions, ordered .Sullivan forward 
up the Brandywine to meet Cornwallis, and 
made Greene's division a reserve. Sullivan 
formed his own division ahove Birmingham 
meeting house, but had to give way, and 
the wtiole right was driven back in con- 
fusion. Washington then puslied forward 
with Greene's division to check tlie British. 
Colonel Stepliens" Virginia troops and Col- 
onel Stewart's Pennsylvania regiment did 
good service in checking Cornwallis, while 
a short distance back of them General 
Greene, with Muhlenberg's brigade, lield a 
narrow defile against the English long 
enough to permit the escape of the flying 
right. Knyphausen crossed at Chad's ford 
during the lieat of the engagement and 
attacked Wayne, who, to save his command, 
retreated in the direction of the present site of 
West C'liester, where he joined Washington. 
Washington retreated rapidly to German- 
town, and after receiving ammunition, re- 
crossed the Schuylkill and confronted 
Ilowe. Both were eager for a battle, which 
actually commenced near Goshen meeting 
house, but a heavy rain storm interrupted 
it, and so drenched tlie ammunition of the 
American army that Washington withdrew. 
On the 19th Washington left Chester 
county and crossed the Schuylkill at Park- 
er's ford. He left Wayne with about fifteen 
hundred troops to unite with (icncral Snndl- 
wood, who with a force of Maryland militia 
was in the rear of tlie British army, and 
then cut ott' the enemy's baggage train, thus 
delaying him until Washington could pass 
down the Schulkilll on tlie east side to con- 



test the passage of the river by llowe. On 
the IStli Wayne encamped near the site of 
the present Paoli monument, and on the 
lOtli made his arrangements to atta<'k the 
British rear on the next morning at 2 
o'clock, by which time he expected General 
Smallwood to join him. Tories in the 
neighborhood, who knew the precise loca- 
tion of Wayne's camp, informed Howe of 
the same; and he sent (4en. Charles Grey 
with aljout three thousand men to surprise 
and destroy Wayne's force. Grey failed in 
surprising Wayne, Init his sudden attack was 
so successful, on account of the blunders of 
one of Wayne's colonels, that the American 
retreat became a rout. The British attack 
was made with bayonets and light horse- 
men's swords, and with such ferocity that 
even the sick and wounded were not spared ; 
and many Americans were butchered after 
having thrown down their arms and called 
for quarters. This cold blooded cruelty of 
Grey has given the afi'air the name of the 
Paoli massacre. Wayne's loss was about 
one hundred and fifty killed and wounded, 
while the British only reported a loss of 
eight killed. A court-martial which Wayne 
demanded, examined carefully into the 
charges of negligence brought against tliat 
general at Paoli ; and acquitted him as hav- 
ing done, on that sad occasioji, all tliat an 
active, brave and vigilant ofiicer could have 
done. 

After the massacre of Paoli, llowc made 
a feint of turning Washington's right and 
seizing the military stores at Heading. 'I'iiis 
caused Washington to nuirch up the Schuyl- 
kill to Pottsgrove, and Howe, suddenly 
wheeling his army, crossed tlie river at 
Phujnixville and Fatland ford, and nnirched 
into Philadelpliia. Wasliington followed 
IIowc and made an unsiici-cssfnl attack 



44 



BIOOMAPHY AND HISTORY 



upon him at Gerrnautown, after wliich be 
withdrew to Whiteiiiarsh plains. 

In December Washington prepared to go 
into winter quarters, but was troubled to 
find a suitable place. He was without 
tents and there was no town near where he 
could lay so as to confine the British army 
to Philadelphia. He finally selected Valley 
Forge. It was only twenty-one miles from 
Philadelphia, was sheltered by two ridges 
of hills and well adapted to defense against 
artillery, while several routes were open 
from it for retreat. On December 19th, 
Washington marched his army there and 
the forest was cut down for timber with 
which to build cabins for winter quarters. 
Valley Forge was the midnight of the rev- 
olution. The story of the unparalleled suf- 
ferings and the matchless patriotism of that 
army need not be related here, for the 
orator, the historian, the poet and the 
novelist have told it with eloquence and 
power until it is known at every fireside 
throughout the American Union. 

It is impossible to compile a satisfactory 
roster of the Chester county soldiers who 
served in the revolutionary war from the 
"Archives of the Commonwealth." The 
following oflicers and men from the county 
were wounded, taken prisoner or otherwise 
disabled: George Wilson, Samuel Leslie, 
Samuel Smith, James Caruthers, Robert 
Turk, John Smith, Christian Cowpland, 
Thomas Swedy, Robert Cherry, Christopher 
Still, Capt. Jacob Hetherling, David Jack- 
son, James Corney, John Miller, Thomas 
Owen, Serg. Joshua Beeling, Samuel Ewing, 
Thomas Wallace and Michael Rigliter. 

The tories or loyalists were most numer- 
ous in the eastern and southern part of the 
county, and many of them suft'ered consider- 
able persecution at tlic hands of the whigs; 



while the Quakers, on account of their prin- 
ciples of non-resistance and opposition to 
war in every form, also suffered at the 
hands of their whig neighbors and the sol- 
diers of both armies. The Quakers before 
the revolutionary war were promineut in 
public afiairs, and advocated the American 
side of all questions between the colonies 
and the crown. During the revolutionary 
war they nuxintained a position of passive 
neutrality, and none of them would accept 
any public oflice until peace was declared. 
One of their number, John Roberts, was 
executed. Judge Futhey says, upon un- 
founded charges, and seven others were 
banished to Virginia. The Society of 
Friends promptly disowned all of their 
members who enlisted in either the Con- 
tinental or the British army. They were 
plundered alike by both sides, and lost 
most heavily in property, clothing and pro- 
visions during the march of Howe's army 
through the county, in September, 1777. 
From the 11th to the 16th of September 
the British army took and destroyed one 
hundred and ten thousand dollar's worth 
of property that was reported, but the 
amount is supposed to have been much 
larger, as the Quakers were the heaviest 
losers and generally refused to furnish any 
estimate of their losses. 

County Seat Boiwval. — For nearly a cent- 
ury the citizens of the western part of the 
county made no serious objection to the 
county seat being situated on the eastern 
edge of the county. But on January 28, 
1766, a petition was presented to the as- 
sembly asking for the removal of the seat 
of justice to, and the erection of a court 
house at, some point near the center of the 
county. Petitions and counter petitions 
were presented upon the subject, but no 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



45 



action was taken ; and liritisli invasions 
during the revolutionary war caused the 
matter to rest until 1780, when tlie assem- 
bly, on the 20th of March, passed an act 
empowering William Clingan, Thomas IJull, 
John Kinkead, Koger Kirk, .lohii Sellers, 
Jolin Wilson, anil Joseph Davis, or any four 
of them, to l)uy land ut some convenient 
place in the count}' and erect a new court 
house and prison. They purchased a lot of 
land in East C'aln township from Kusanna 
Sheward, but never proceeded to erect build- 
ings. On March 22, 1784, a supplement to 
the original act was passed, substituting John 
Hannum, Isaac Taylor, and John Jacobs in 
place of the first named commissioners ; 
and it contained a clause restricting them 
from erecting the court house and prison 
"at a greater distance than one mile and a 
half from the Turk's Head tavern, in the 
township of (-Joshen, and to the west or 
southwest of said Turk's Head tavern, and 
on or near the straight line from the ferry 
called tlie 'Corporation Ferry' on the 
Schuylkill, to the village of Strasburg." 
On May 1,1 784, Benjamin Trego, of Goshen, 
made a deed to the commissioners for a lot 
to erect county buildings on, for the sum of 
five shillings. Work was immediately com- 
menced, and by wnuter the walls of the 
court house were nearly completed. The 
anti-removalists procured a suspension act 
to be passe<l on Nfarch M), 178.'), which the 
removalists so far disregarded as to resume 
work on the new court house. This course 
of action angered the people of Chester to 
such an extent that they organized an ex- 
pedition to go and tear down the new court 
house. .Major .lohn Harper led tliis force, 
wliich was crpiijiped with a field piece, a 
barrel of whisky, and ]ilenty of small arms. 
He lialttMl his fon-c, and plaiitccl his i-annon 



near the court house, which was garrisoned 
by a consideral)le body of armed men under 
command of John Hannum; but a truce 
was called, and Major Harper's force was 
allowed to enter and inspect the building, 
after which it retired peacefully, as tradition 
says, upon the promise by Colonel Hannum 
that work should cease — a [iromise kept 
only until the anti-removalists were out of 
sight. The suspending act was repealed 
March 18, 1786, and on September 25tli an 
act was passed directing the sheriff to re- 
move the prisoners from the old to the new 
jail. The new county buildings were com- 
pleted by fall, and the first court was held 
on Novemljer 28, 1786, when West Chester 
began her existence as the county seat. As 
(,'hester county is indebted to Pearson for 
its name, so is West Chester to Colonel 
Hannum for its existence, and for being the 
county seat. A description of the different 
I'ounty ])uildings will be found in the history 
of West C-hester, and it oidy remains to say 
here that in 1788 the Sheward site for the 
county capital was sold, and that as a result 
of the trouble over the removal, the non- 
removalist secured the erection of the east- 
ern part of the county into Delaware county, 
with Chester for its capital. 

Whiskij Insunrcflori. — In 17tt4 President 
Washington called upon Penn.sylvania for 
five thousand two hundretl men to aid in 
putting down the •■ whisky insurrection," 
which was then at its height in southwestern 
Pennsylvania, where the insurgents had 
been in armed opposition for nearly three 
years to a law of Congress laying an excise 
upon all distilled spirits. Of Pennsylvania's 
quota, three hundred and twenty infantr}- 
and fifty-eight cavalry were to be diawn 
from Chester county, and form a \>nvt 
of the first brii'ade 'if (ieneral ii'viiie's 



46 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



division. The troops never saw any fight- 
ing, as the insurgents dispersed before the 
army arrived in the disafteoted district. The 
most of the Chester county companies 
seem to have never got farther westward 
than Carlisle and Shippensburg, where they 
were in camp for some time. 

Turnpikes. — The first roads in the county 
were the old Indian trails, and succeeding 
highways were laid out from time to time 
by the county court, being the only internal 
improvements attempted until the revolu- 
tion. After the treaty of peace in 1783, 
the subject of roads received considerable 
attention in the county, and on April 9, 
1792, the Philadelphia and Lancaster Turn- 
pike Company was chartered. It completed 
the Philadelphia and Lancaster turnpike 
in 1794, at a cost of $7,516 per mile. This 
famous old road, the first turnpike ever 
built in America, was opened to public 
travel in 1795. It soon became a leading 
thoroughfare, and enjoyed a wonderful 
career of prosperity until the Pemisylvania 
railroad took its travel and transportation 
of merchandise. There were three other 
early turnpikes built in the county: the 
Downingtown, Ephrata and Ilarrisburg 
turnpike, commenced in 1803 ; the Gap and 
Newport, in 1807; and the Little Conesto- 
ga, in 1809. 

Iron Industries. — The first forge in Penn- 
sylvania was erected by Thomas Rutter 
about 1716, upon Manatavvny creek, some 
three miles north from Pottstown. The 
second iron enterprise in the State was 
('oventry forge, which was erected about 
1717, on Freni'h creek, by Samuel Nutt, an 
English (^nakei'. It would seem, from all 
ac(;ounts, that ISumuol Nutt built a furnace 
on French creek, called Heading, al)out 
1720; and in 17;'><;. with William IJranson, 



erected a second Keading furnace on the 
same creek. Nutt died in 1737, and in his 
will made provisions for the erection of 
Warwick furnace, which was built in 1738 
by his widow, Anna Nutt, on the south 
branch of French creek. In the United 
States census reports of 1880, William 
Branson is credited with having built Vin- 
cent forge, and also having erected, before 
1750, on French creek, the first steel works 
ever built in Pennsylvania. These steel 
works are the plant probably referred to in 
1750 by the sheriff of Chester county as 
having been built by John Taylor in 1746. 
In 1751 Mount Joy forge was erected by 
Daniel Walker, Stephen Evans, and Joseph 
Williams. It afterwards became Potts, and 
then the famous Valley forge, which was 
burned by the British in 1777. In 1786 a 
forge and slitting mill was built below the 
old Valley forge, on the Chester county side 
of the Schuylkill river, by Isaac and David 
Potts, whose successors operated until about 
1816. In 1790 Benjamin Longstroth erected 
a rolling and slitting mill at Phoenixville, 
and it was the beginning of the present 
extensive works of the Phoenix Iron Com- 
pany. 

It was nearh' fifty years after the opening 
of tlie French ci-eek region before a forge 
fire was lighted in the Brandywine and 
Octoraro creek regions. Springton and 
Mary Ann forges were built on the Brandy- 
wine, north of Downingtown, respectively 
in 1766 and 1785. Federal slitting mill, or 
Rokeby rolling mill, four miles south of 
Coatesville, was erected in 1795 by Isaac 
Pennock; and it is claimed to have been 
the first rolling mill in America. In 1810 
Brandywine rolling mill was erected at 
Coatesville. and the Brandywine region 
bcciiiiii' ri'(Oi>iiizcd as an iron center. 



OF CHESTEE COUNTY. 



47 



The Octoraro creek region was not opened 
until the hegiiining of tiie present century. 
The Sadsbury forges, near Christiana, were 
huilt in 1800 and 1802; Pine Urove forge, 
sixteen miles soutli of Penningtonville, 
about 1802; and Ringwood forge, near 
Christiana, in 1810. In the last named year 
the nianufac'turc of charcoal iron was in 
snt'ccssful progress in ail of the iron regions 
of the county. 

War o/'1812. — Various offers of military 
services were made to Uovernor Snyder 
(hiring tlie year 1812, among which was 
one from Capt. James Rolston's cavalry 
company of Chester county. The 97th 
regiment of emergency men were sent, on 
May 5, 1813, to Elkton, Maryland, where 
it was discharged on the 21et. The vState 
rolls give no account of this regiment, and in 
papers in the possession of Hon. Robert P]. 
Monaghan, Judge Futhey found the names 
of the following Chester county men who 
served in Capt. Thomas Stewart's company 
of the 97th: Reazin Terry, Samuel Black, 
Robert Futhey, Archibald Thomas, George 
W. Parke, Peter Rambo, John Wallace, 
James Stewart, Israel Ilamill, Levi Mo- 
Connick, Silas Wilson, James Ramsey, and 
Enos Hughes. 

After the destruction of the capitol at 
Washington, it was feared tliat the Britisli 
would attack I^liihideiphia, and (Tovernor 
Snyder, on .\ugnst 27, 1814, directed the 
militia of Chester antl several other counties 
to be in readiness to march at a moment's 
notice. On September 13tli (ieneral Rloom- 
field ordered the Chester county militia to 
march to Camp Marcus Hook, where tliey 
remained until s<mie time in December. All 
fear of invasion having then pa.ssed away, 
they broke camp and returned home. The 
follnwinsr ijcncral ofticers wi-re from Clu'ster 



county : Major-generals — Cromwell Pearce, 
James Steel; l)rigadier-generals — William 
Harris, John W. Cunningham ; brigade in- 
spectors — James Steel, James Park. 

In the State archives the muster rolls of 
following Chester county companies are 
given : 

SECONn PENNSYLVANIA LIGHT INIANTKV. 

This volunteer regiment, under i-ommand 
of Colonel Louis Bache, served at Camp 
Marcus Hook from September to December, 
1814. Two companies were from Chester 
county. 
CAPT. tavliik's company (American Greys). 

Titus Taylor, captain. 

W. H. Taylor, sergeant. 

Ziba Darlington, sergeant. 

John Painter, sergeant. 

John Hall, sergeant. 

•lohn Logan, corporal. 

Russel Vibber, corporal. 

Eber Worthington, corporal. 

Henry Myers, corjioral. 

Jacob Burkers. musician. 

George Davis (colored), musician. 
privates. 
Bailey, Hiram. Frederick, William. 

Brinton, Joseph H. (Tamble, Robert. 
Brinton. Ethan. (ireer. James. 

Brinton, William. (Jar<liner. Archibald. 

Brinton, James. Hall, Lewis. 

Brinton, Thomas H. Iddings, .Joseph. 
Brinton, Joseph. Kechmie, Jacol). 

Brinton, John. Lindsay, .Fohn. 

IMack, Robert. NfarshalK Stephen. 

Cox, AVilliani. Matlack, Jonathan. 

Darlington, Amos. Matlack, Nathan. 
Dailey, William. Morrow, Hiram. 

DeWolf, Thomas. Myers, Henry. 

Ehrenzeller, Jacob. Nelson, Josepli. 
Evcnson. Eli. Xichols. Isaac. 



48 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Shields, AVilliani. 
Townsend, William. 
Townsend, G. S. 
Taylor, Vernon. 
Yearsly, Nathan. 



Pierce, Myers. 
Parry, Caleb. 
Pearson, Harper. 
Pearson, George. 
liice, Thomas. 
Sweeney, Thomas. 

CAPTAIN WER8LER's COMPANY 

John G. "Wersler, captain. 
James Watson, lieutenant. 
Richard Kelley, sergeant. 
John Griffith, sergeant. 
Robert McWilliams, sergeant. 
William Kelley, sergeant. 
Henry Laur, corporal. 
George Dunlap, musician. 
Samuel Williams, musician. 



Brewer, John. 
Bispham, Benj. 
Burns, Eleazer. 
Bane, Samuel. 
Bowen, William. 
Clarkson, Samuel. 
Caldwell, Thomas. 
Dhile, Joseph. 
Davis, Nicholas S. 
Davis, Jonathan. 
Ford, Caleb. 
Fritz, Christian. 
Griffith, Elijah. 
Heck, Jacob. 
Hippie, John. 
Hall, Jarvis. 
Ivester, Jesse. 
Kelley, James. 
King, George. 
McCoy, Dennis. 
McGraw, Lewis. 



McMinn, Alben. 
Markley, Nathaniel 
Peck, Charles. 
Parker, Henry. 
Potter, Joseph. 
Pearce, Edward. 
Quarll, John. 
Reese, John. 
Rinker, Jacolj. 
Rickman, John. 
Ryder, John. 
Richardson, Wm. 
Rowland, John. 
Richardson, Ezek. 
Smiley, Stephen. 
Stout, Charles. 
Watson, Elijah. 
Watson, John. . 
Watson, Joseph. 
Williams, Martin. 
Wliisler. John. 



SIXTY-FIFTH PENNSYLVANIA MIUTIA. 

This regijnent, under command of Lieut. 
Col. .lohn I'carson, served at Camp Marcui 



Hook. Five companies came from Chester 
county and were commanded respectively 
by Captains Wethersby, Lackey, Hartman, 
Harris and Campbell. 

CAPTAIN hartman's COMPANY (2d couipauy). 
George Hartman, captain. 
Jacob Moyer, lieutenant. 
John Emery, lieutenant. 
John Deeiy, lieutenant. 
Julius Anderson, ensign. 
Peter Rentgen, sergeant. 
Thomas Harris, sergeant. 
Simpson Davis, sergeant. 
Thomas Neal, sergeant. 
John Miller, sergeant. 
James Huston, corporal. 
John Hippie, corporal. 
Lewis Orner, corporal. 
Jacob Roads, corporal. 



Baughdekirk, H. 
Bigual, George. 
Bush, John. 
Betz, Philip. 
Beaver, William. 
Beekley, John. 
Clovver, Daniel. 
Campbell, George C. 
Custer, William. 
Creps, John. 
C?reps, Thomas. 
Christman, Henry. 
Davidheiser, Jacob. 
Deemer, Michael. 
Deery, George. 
Deeds, Frederick. 
Detrain, John. 
Evans, Owen. 
Essick, George. 
Emery, William. 
Evc'j'hart, Samuel. 



■ates. 
Fitzsimnions, C. 
Griffith, Ebeuezer. 
Gun, David. 
Griffith, Samuel. 
Gregory, John. 
Guest, William. 
Howell, Thomas. 
Heck, Jacob. 
Hoffman, George. 
Hippie, Peter. 
Hippie, Caspar. 
Hammer, Jacob. 
Helbert, Jacob. 
Hersh, Samuel. 
Harple, John. 
Hippie, George. 
Hippie, Henry. 
Ilouck, Henry. 
Himes, James. 
Irey, Peter. 
Kepler, Israel. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



49 



Keeley, George. 
Keiser, NieholuK. 
Kitiier, Henry. 
Leighton, Thoiiiaw. 
Lineingar, .faeoli. 
Lear, Jacol). 
Link, Daniel. 
Laccy, William. 
Leighton, Samuel. 
Lloyd, Samuel. 
Liggett, Samuel. 
Moses. .Tohn. 
Marcli, Nicholas. 
Miller, George. 
Moses, Henry. 
Martin, Samuel. 
Meeser, John. 
Miller, Isaac. 
Morrow, David. 
Mock, Jacoli. 
March, Henry. 
Matson, James. 
Powell, Ezekiel. 
Prizer, (ieorge. 
Roberts, Lewis. 
Uoot, Jacob. 
l{oot, Joseph. 
Roberts, Benjamin. 
Root, David. 



Roads, William. 
Smith, Henry. 
Smith, Henry. (■>) 
Strough, Samuel. 
Snyder, Peter. 
Snyder, Peter. (2) 
Scott, John. 
Sheeleigh, Val. 
Snyder, Thomas. 
Snyder, Henry. 
Slichter, Abraham. 
Sheeder, Fred. 
Starrett, William. 
Stauft'er, Jacob. 
Snyder, George. 
Townsend, Caleb. 
Thomas, Jesse. 
Turner, Henry. 
Watson, Gabriel. 
Wynn, John. 
Wynn, Jonatlian. 
Williams, William. 
Walter, John. 
Walter, Leonard. 
Walkingliood, David 
Watkin, Jesse. 
Widener, Samuel. 
AViant, John. 
Yeager, Peter. 



'.\I'TAIN CAMi'iiKLi.'s cuMPANV ( :^d comiiaiiy). 

Jacob Campbell, captain. 
John Buzzard, sergeant. 
Samuel Davis, sergeant. 
Sannon Davis, sergeant. 
John Staler, sergeant. 
John Hager, sergeant. 
Jacob Kurtz, corporal. 
James Williams, corporal. 
Jacob ifawk. corporal. 
John Cliristi>i)ber. corporal. 

4 



PR IV 

Anderson, Isaac. 
Adams, Davis. 
Atkins, James. 
Baits, Jonatluin. 
Buckwalter, Jacob. 
Bankus, Adam. 
Crozier, Morris. 
Courtney, James. 
Clemnions, Joseph. 
Carr, William. 
Chaffin, Pliilip. 
CMair, Philip. 
Clair, John. 
Davis, (G.) John. 
Davis, John. 
Davis, Isaac M. 
Evans, Daniel. 
Ewing, John. 
Fox, Joseph. 
Grifteth, John. 
Golder, John. 
Grub, Emanuel. 
Goodin, William. 
Grub, John. 
Himes, Charles. 
Hampton. David. 
Hartman, Peter. 
Hardy, John. 
Huston, James. 
Hampton, Thomas. 
Harner, Adam. 
Hawk, Benjamin. 
Hawk, John. 
Heck, Peter. 
Huzzard, Anthony. 
Harvey, Job. 
Hoffacker, Philip. 
Hemiger, Joseph. 
Jenkins. Enoch. 
Jones. Isaiali. 
Jones. .lohn. 



ATES. 

John, Oliver. 
Jones, Jolin. 
Jaquette, Nathaniel 
Knowles, Samuel. 
Keiter, (xeorgc. 
Kelly, John. 
King, <4eorge. 
Lupoid, Joseph. 
Lawre, Jo.seph. 
Miller, John. 
Morgan, Lewis. 
McCowan, Samuel. 
McCarraher, Alex. 
McEntire, Daniel. 
-Matthias, James. 
March, Jesse. 
Murry, Daniel. 
Murphy, Edward. 
Neily, John. 
O'Neil, Francis. 
Pliillips, Abraham. 
Parker, Ralph. 
I'ennypacker, Sam I 
I'rice, George. 
I'rice, Patrick, 
iieynolds, Henry. 
Rendey, Jacob. 
Rembey, Valentine. 
l{endjey, Cliristian. 
Rossiter, Thomas. 
Shriver, John. 
Sowersworth, Isaac 
Smitii, John E. 
Salyards, Armstront 
Snyder, (4eorge. 
Shingle, Jacob. 
Steward, William. 
StabI, Daniel, 
'riiomas, David. 
Turner, Samuel. 
\anderslice. Ed. |{. 



50 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Weaver, Christian. 


Walter, James. 


Jay, David. 


Russell, Samuel. 


Wertz, John. 


Walker, George. 


Jester, Vincent. 


Steel, Robert. 


Williams, Daniel. 


Young, John. 


Jones, Thomas. 


Smith, Peter. 


Wiles, John. 


Youngblood, John. 


Kelly, John. 


Smith, John. 


Williams, Charles. 




King, John. 


Smith, William. 


CAPT. weatherby's COMPANY (4th company). 


Lawrence, Aaron. 
Likens, Daniel. 


Smith, Charles. 
Smith, Aaron. 


Benjamin AVeathei 


•l)y, captain. 


Mitchel, James. 


Smedley, Abel. 


James McGuigan, 


sergeant. 


Murphy, Joseph. 


Stewart, Jacob. 


John Taylor, sergeant. 


McCrackin. Wm. 


Sill, Anthony N. 


John Peters, sergeant. 


McCoy, James. 


Scott, Joel. 


Thomas Ash, sergeant. 


McGarraty, Charles. 


Stimel, Frederick. 


Patrick McGuigan 


sergeant. 


McBride, George. 


Thomas, Marshall. 


Samuel Roberts, corporal. 


McGlaughlin, Wm. 


Tompkins, Isaac. 


Barney McGuigan 


corpoi-al. 


McKinster, Jesse. 


Torton, David. 


Benjamin Yaruall, 


corporal. 


McGlaughlin,W., sr. 


Torbet, Alex. 


PRIVATES. 


Mase, William. 
Mercer, Thomas. 


Taylor, James. 
Varley, John. 


Allison, Benjamin. 


Dick, Valentine. 


Marrow, Nicholas. 


Valentine, Robert. 


Alcott, John. 


Daugherty, Arch. 


Miles, Reuben. 


Wright, Cornelius. 


Bittle, Samuel. 


Dutton, Jeremiah. 


Ottenhamer, AVm. 


Weaver, Baldwin. 


Brown, Thomas. 


Esworth, Joseph. 


Price, John R. 


Wheeling, John. 


Burit, John. 


Fields, Felix. 


Parks, Alex. 


Weare, James. 


Barlow, Curtis. 


Griffith, Jehu. 


Pyle, John. 


Weare, James, jr. 


Bail, Aaron. 


Gorby, John. 


Rauzel, William. 


Weare, William. 


Burns, Giliad. 


Graff, William. 


Rattew, Eli. 


AVarnick, Richard. 


Bernard, Levan. 


Green, Jesse. 


Russel, George. 


Young, Jacob. 


Burnet, Samuel. 


Griffith, Joseph. 


Rizer, Jacob. 




Black, Andrew. 
Bean, Henry. 


Gibson, Jonathan. 
Green, Abel. 


CAPTAIN lackey's COMPANY (.5th couipanv). 


Bromell, Daniel. 


Hine, George. 


James Lackey, captain. 


Barlow, John. 


Hodge, James. 


PRIV 


\TES. 


Baker, Richard. 


Huff, James. 


Archer, John. 


Clare, Benjamin. 


Baker, Nehemiah. 


Hoops, John. 


Bankus, George. 


Chaffin, Thomas. 


Clayton, Richard. 


Hopkins, Matthew. 


Bowers, William. 


Conway, Joseph. 


Cornog, David. 


Hampton, Woodw'd. 


Burke, John. 


Cummins, James. 


Close, Frederick. 


Harper, Peter. 


Bucknell,AVilliam. 


Carter, Aaron. 


Collins, Henry. 


Hunter, Andrew. 


Bryan, Martin. 


Cross, John. 


Craig, John H. 


Hook, John. 


Bane, John. 


Cochran, Thomas. 


Davis, John. 


Harbiiison, Francis. 


Brothers, James. 


Crozier, Jonathan. 


Davis, William. 


Hannum, John S. 


Brook, Nathaniel. 


Carr, Henry. 


Davis, John S. 


lleiithornc, John, 


Channel, Powell. 


Cozens, Samuel. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Denipsey, William. 
Diivis, Mordecai. 
Davis, Emmor. 
Davis, George L. 
Day, James. 
Degraut, James. 
Egec, David. 
Eaclies, Isaac-. 
Essex, Jacob. 
Everson, Thomas. 
Epriglit, Samuel. 
Frame, John. 
Forwood, Jacob. 
Farrow, John. 
Farrow, Joseph. 
Farrow, George. 
Ford, Richard. 
Fiiiiterwise, John. 
Goodwin, Jacob. 
Griffith, Charles. 
Griffith, Evan. 
Griffith, Samuel. 
Galliuo, John. 
Garman, Heury. 
Gilmore, John. 
Hodge, AVilliam. 
ITersh, George. 
Hunter, .Joseph. 
Hoskins, William, 
lluivter, Thompson. 
Howell, Jacob. 
Himes, Francis. 
Hutcheson, Thomas. 
Heck, John. 
Ilannums, George. 
Haycock, John. 
Jackson, Hezekiah. 
Keiter, Jacob. 
Kelly, Thomas. 
Kitts, John. 
King, .John. 
Kimsey, David. 



Lawrence, Joseph H. 
Love, Hugh. 
Lewellyn, Thomas. 
McKinzy, Kenneth. 
McOray, William. 
McDonald, John. 
McKeown, Thomas. 
May, Edward. 
Miirry, Jeremiah. 
Morgan, Davis. 
Martin, William. 
Nickles, John. 
Pennell, Samuel. 
Patterson, John. 
Pierce, Timothy. 
Peck, Abraham. 
Pearson, Henry. 
Peterson, Peter. 
Potter, Atlee. 
Robeson, Edward W. 
Roberts, George. 
Rider, David. 
Rogers, Joseph. 
Rowland, Charles. 
Shearer, John. 
Snider, Casper. 
Smith, John. 
Salyards, Edward. 
Sharp, William. 
Sinquet, Samuel. 
Sinquet, Daniel. 
Sharpless, Jesse. 
Sill, Oswald. 
Shinier, Barthorw. 
Sullivan, Samuel. 
Stanley, Jacob. 
Sill, William. 
Scott, Matthew. 
Torton, Benjamin. 
Thomas, Davis. 
Thompson, Benj. 
Thompson. William. 



Trimble, Thomas. 
Taylor, Reuben. 
Wells, Edward. 
Wells, George. 
Williams, David. 
Wilson, Lawrence, 
Walker, .lohn. 
White, William. 



Williamson, David 
Waldravin, Levi. 
White, Isaac. 
Wizer, John. 
Work, Bejamin. 
Waidner, Lazarus, 
^'onm, William. 
Voung, Petei'. 



CAPTAIN HARRIS S CO.Ml'ANY. 



John Harris, captain. 
David Rees, lieutenant. 



PRIVATES. 



Bryant, Martin. 
Carter, Aaron. 
Davie, John \j. 
Essick, Jacob. 
Fau.x, William. 
Griffith, Evan. 
Huszard, Anthony. 
Hoskins, William. 
Hampton, Marshall. 
Himes, Francis. 
Harris, John, jr. 
Lunsford, Thomps'n. 



McKenzie, Kenneth. 
Nicholas, John. 
Patterson, John. 
Robeson, Edward. 
Roland, Charles. 
Schofield, William. 
Sinket, Samuel. 
Tompkins, Isaac. 
Torbet, Alexander. 
Thomas, John. 
Voung. Peter, jr. 



FIFTH BATTALIO.N PENN.'iVLVANIA .MIMTIA. 

This battalion was commanded by Major 
William McFarland; was a part of the 
First brigade, and served at York, this 
State, and near Baltimore, Maryland. In 
it were the companies of Captains Wilson, 
Stuart and Steele. 

CAPTAIN WII.SON's CO.MPAXV. 

Robert Wilson, captain. 
David Williamson, lieutenant. 
Joseph Miller, ensign. 
Jesse Lockhart, sergeant. 
James Simpson, sergeant. 
George Entriken, sergeant. 
James Moore, sergeant. 



53 



BIOQSAPHY AND HISTOBY 



John Oglesby, uorjjoral. 
John Bauni, corporah 
Andrew Redheifer, corporal. 
John Oarr, corporal. 



Allen, Isaac. 
Allison, William. 
Allison, Thomas. 
Atchless, Charles. 
Batter, John. 
Beagle, Henry. 
Balentine,Hamilton. 
Bellows, Thomas. 
Benner, David. 
Bath hurst, John. 
Bellows, Hii'am. 
Brown, Benjamin. 
Bnmbaugh, James. 
Buller, Cyrus. 
Carson, William. 
Criley, Daniel. 
Clevenstine, Henry. 
Coftrode, Jacob. 
Christy, Samuel. 
Cogle, Arnold. 
Criley, Peter. 
Col well, Andrew. 
Darling, Samuel. 
Donelson, Griffith. 
Essick, Bolser. 
Fleck, David. 
Graham, James, jr. 
Guy, John. 
Guy, George, 
(triffitli, Amos. 
(Jrubh, Al)raliani. 
(iibbcn, James. 
Griftey, David. 
Hause, Daniel. 
Hendrickson, Jacob. 
Harley, Benjamin. 



Irwin, Jonathan. 
Irvin, John. 
-Johnson, Barnard. 
Keeley, Matthias. 
Krider, Daniel. 
Lockhart, William. 
Lewis, James. 
Lamey, Edward. 
McDermont, Peter. 
McKinley, Samuel. 
McKinley, Thomas. 
^IcGinn, Peter. 
^flller, Joseph. 
Mowry, Joseph. 
Milligan, James. 
Miller, John. 
Miller, William. 
Miller, Daniel. 
Milligan, John. 
Manely, Hugh. 
Owen, Morris. 
Packingham, Saiiii. 
Phillips, Josiah. 
Pierce, Richard. 
Parker, William. 
Powell, Daniel. 
Riely, William. 
Reid, Joseph. 
Richards, Samuel. 
Sims, Joseph. 
Stepleton, Samuel. 
Stanford, James B. 
Smitli, Henry. 
Sims, William. 
Sherer, William. 
Snvdcr, John. 



Talbot, Calel). 
Uble, Frederick. 
Widener, Jacob. 
Waddle, Henrj-. 
Wilson, William. 
Williams, William. 



White, John. 
Worts, Peter. 
Wever, John. 
Widener, Peter. 
AVhitaker, Peter. 



(WPTAIN STUART S COMPANY. 

William Stuart, captain. 
James W. Potts, lieutenant. 
John D. Perry, lieutenant. 
Israel Bailey, ensign. 
John Rodgers, sergeant. 
Jacob G. Morton, sergeant. 
James Morton, sergeant. 
David Powel, sergeant. 



Bradley, Richard. 
Benner, Jacob H. 
Brackenridge, Saml. 
Cooper, David. 
Chalfant, William. 
Dunn, James. 
Davis, George. 
Hamil, John C. 
Harlan, Lewis. 
Murphy, John. 
McKee, William. 
Miller, Samuel. 
Melaney, AVilliam. 
Powell, John G. 



Powell, Abel. 
Powell, Aaron. 
Powell, John. 
Rolinson, Thoinas. 
Reed, AVilliam. 
Sweeney, James. 
Scatlin, James. 
Strand, Peter. 
Stone, William. 
Tinney, Neal. 
Thomas, Charles M. 
Windle, Moses. 
Watts, Joseph. 



CAPTAIN STEELE S COMPANY. 

William Steele, captain. 
David Wiley, lieutenant. 
Samuel Lefever, ensign. 
Robert Ram bo, sergeant. 
Robert Gibson, sergeant. 
Jesse Jones, sergeant. 
John Maxwell, sergeant. 
John R. Gibson, corporal. 
Isaac Russell, corporal. 



I 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



68 



John Ford, corporal. 
Samuel Patterson, corporal. 

PRIVATK.«. 

Armstrong, John W. Irwin, Benjamin. 

Bear, Henry. Irwin, William. 

Boyd, James. Kennedy, John. 

Brown, John. Lawrence, Henry. 

Brown, Joseph. Leming, Thomas. 

Bunting, James. Lewis, Absalom. 

Brukalwice, A. Lewis, Collin. 

Carswell, James. Lowry, James. 

Cliamherlain, Ohed. Mack, James. 

Cloud, George. Money, Charles. 

Cloud, Jacob. Mullin, Charles. 

Cochran, John. Murdook, John. 

Cooper, John. McCiellan, John. 

Correy, William K. McCracken, James. 

Cummins, Jesse. McGinnis, Joseph. 

Curtz, Jacob W. Nolen, Robert. 

Dance, Isaac. Porter, John. 

Darling, John. Powel, Thomas. 

Davis, John. (^uigley, Thomas. 

Dean, Matthias. Russell, James. 

Drenning, John. Sentman, Lawrence. 

Dugan, Philip. Shute, James. 

Dunlap, Enoch. Simcox, William. 

Fitzgerald, .lohn. Smitii. Joseph. 
Flemming, William. Smith, William. 

(Jibson, John R. Sorence, John. 

Gibson, William. Steward, James H. 

Gilmore, John. Stinson, William. 

Harris, Reuben. Stone, Garrett. 

Henderson, Arch. McWilliams, James. 

Hinton, Moses. Wilson, Robert. 

Hollis, George. Wood, William. 

Ifollowell, John. Wriglit, William. 
Irwin, Alex. 

EIOHTEENTH SECTION RtFI.ES. 

This section was commanded by Col. 
Thomas Humphrey, served at Camp Snyder, 
and iucliuh'd Captain Wigton's company. 



CAPTAIN WIGTON S COMPANY. 

Theodore Wigton, captain. 
David Trueman, sergeant. 
William Clingan, sergeant. 
Thomas Hollis, sergeant. 
David Stott, sergeant. 
John Piersol, corporal. 
John Rankin, corporal. 
Ezekiel Mann, corporal. 
Joshua Humphrey, corporal. 
Robert Hope, musician. 



Bryan, John. Mann, Samuel. 

C/Ochran, David. Mann, Eli. 

Cochran, Robert. Moore, David. 

Cunningham, Robt. Moore, Eli. 

Cowan, Jacob. McGinnis, Wm. 

Davis, Thomas. McKinn, David. 

Davis, Nathaniel. .McWilliams, Hobt. 

Date, George. Oglesby, Jonah. 

Eifort, Charles. Parker, John. 

Fleming, Joseph. Parke, William. 

Fleming, John S. Parker, David. 

Grier, John E. Richmond, Joseph. 

Gibson, Samuel C. Smith, Joseph. 

Gibson, Andrew. Scott, Thomas, 

(rlasgow, Samuel. Stott, Jesse. 

Haslett, James. Thompson, Jacob. 

Harry, Benajah. Wilson, John. 

Hope, Heslip. Wil.son, Boyd. 

Hoover, John. Witherow, William. 

Hanley, James. Welch, William. 

Hayburn, William. Whitclock, .lames. 

Jones, Richard. Wallace, Arthur. 

Little, Patrick. Way, Jacob. 
Lesley, John. 

Two other companies served from C!hes- 
ter county — Captain Beerbrowcr's at Mar- 
cus Hook, and Captain Holmes" volunteer 
company at York and Baltimoiv. 



54 



BIOORAPHY AND HISTORY 



CAPTAIN BEERBROWER S COMPANY. 



John Beerb rower, captain. 
Peter Smith, lieutenant. 



PRIVATES. 



Angrehen, James. 
Baker, Conrad. 
Baity, Miles. 
Brook, Nathan. 
Boyer, Jesse. 
Clemmens, Alex. 
Detrain, Jacob. 
Defrain, Peter. 
Donahower, Jacob. 
Dunbar, Matthew. 
Everhart, James. 
Evans, Joseph. 
Hause, Michael. 
Hoover, Jacol). 
Himes, Jesse. 
Kulp, Jacob. 
King, Peter. 
King, Jacob. 
King, Michael. 
Lynch, Samuel. 
Longaker, Henry. 
Lundy, James. 
Loid, Geoi'ge. 
Miller, Samuel. 
Miller,' Jacob. 



Miller, Samuel. 
Miller, Philip. 
Miller, Abraham. 
McKerscher, John. 
Possy, John. 
Poly, Adam. 
Rossiter, Abijah. 
Rossi ter, Malen. 
Royer, David. 
Root, Jacob. 
Saylor, John. 
Shofner, John. 
Smith, Jacob. 
Shut, Henry. 
Stoneback, Jacob. 
Stophelbine, Henry. 
Scott, Thomas. 
Shingle, John. 
Thomas, Mordecai. 
Williams, Abel. 
AValker, Samuel. 
Walker, John. 
White, John. 
Young, Daniel. 
Zeaber, Isaac. 



CAPTAIN HOLMES COMPANY. 

John Holmes, captain. 
John Downing, lieutenant. 
James Andrews, lieutenant. 
James Wilson, ensign. 
Arthur Andrews, jr., sergeant. 
Joseph Ramsey, sergeant. 
John Robb, sergeant. 
Robert Mashbank, sergeant. 
James Ross, corporal. 
William Robeson, corporal 



Francis Wallace, corporal. 
Robert Simpson, corporal. 



Andrews, James. 
Ankrim, Archibald. 
Alison, Oliver. 
Abbitt, Dennis. 
Alexander, Thomas. 
Boon, John. 
Brogan, Benjamin. 
Byers, Henry. 
Best, John. 
Caruth, Henry. 
Cooper, John. 
Carlisle, John. 
Cowen, David. 
Crosby, Nathaniel. 
Chinece, John. 
Corry, John. 
Dickey, Joseph. 
Davis, James. 
David, Willliam. 
Ewing, Alex. 
Fleshhalher, Martin. 
Fox, William. 
Farren, James. 
Ford, Charles. 
Guy, Samuel. 
Laughlen, John. 
Lefeber, Samuel. 
Lemmon, William. 
Lemon, Hector. 



Muse, Thomas. 
McNeal, William. 
Moore, John. 
McGee, Patrick. 
McLeny, William. 
Murdaugh, Robert. 
Nilson, John. 
Poisel, Henry. 
Pinkerton, Joseph. 
Pinkerton, William. 
Phillips, John. 
Quigg, James M. 
Robinson, John. 
Riece, Jacob. 
Ross, William. 
Ross, Isaac. 
Rogers, William. 
Russell, John. 
Rogers, Ebenezer. 
Robison, Robert. 
Simpson, William. 
Smith, Stewart. 
Slack, John. 
Steel, Samuel. 
Slegar, Nicholas. 
Turner, Joseph. 
Watt, David. 
Wilson, William. 
Worthington, John. 



Among the Chester county men who 
served during the war of 1812, in addition 
to those above named, were : Major Isaac 
D. Barnard, David AVilliams, Andrew Arm- 
strong, Christopher Shaner, John Purel, 
Thomas Maintland, William AVilsou, James 
W. Brown, Enoch Jenkin, James Parke 
(brigade-major), John Leslie, Joseph Dun- 
woody, George Brannan, Amos Griffith, 



OF CITESTER COUNTY. 



U 



iuul Ssiuiuicl Lindsay; while Jolin Hamil- 
ton and William Totten served in the navy. 

La Fayette's Visit. — In 1824 tlie Marquis 
(le La Fayette was invited by Prenident 
Monroe to visit this oonntry, whose inde- 
in'iidencc his sword had helped to win, and 
the American frigate Brandy wine, so named 
in honor of the Chester I'ounty battlefield 
where he was wounded, was sent to bear 
him across the Atlantic ocean. His journey 
through the tlien twenty-four States of the 
Tnion was a continual ovation; and the 
man who refused the crown of France 
received more than kingly honor in the 
" Ureat Republic " of the new world. He 
was invited by the citizens of Chester county 
(August 28, 1824) to visit the Brandy wine 
l)attlcfieid where lie was wounded, and ac- 
cepted the invitation. On July 2t!, 1825, iie 
visited the l)attlefield, pointed out every 
position of the contending arnues, and was 
escorted by troops of cavalry to West 
Chester, where he was received by fifteen 
companies of infantry. Nearly ten thousand 
people were assembled to greet tlie nation's 
guest. Karly the next day General La 
Fayette left for Lancaster, and "from his 
entrance into Chester county to his depart- 
ure therefrom his reception and progress 
were one continued scene of welcome, 
triumph, and joy." 

Sclnti/lkill CiiV'il. — The constructibi: of 
the rhiladel|)hia and Lancaster pike gave 
the people along the Brandy wine river an 
idea that canal-and-lock navigation from 
tide water, by the Brandywine, to tlie above 
named turnpike, would give an easier and 
cheaper route for sending their products to 
market than any that tlien existed. A 
company was incorporated in 17!l3 to con- 
struct this canal, but it never commenced 
\V(M-k. even it" it cxcr made anv survcvs. 



The Schuylkill Navigation C^ompanywas 
incorporated in 1815, and tlieir canal was 
openetl in 1825, amid great rejoicings in 
the county that flat-lioat navigation on the 
river and tiresome teaming on l)ad roads 
were gone, lliree years later the company 
constructed the Chester county canal, from 
the Black Hock dam to I'liO'iiixville. and 
in 1847 the steamboat General Taylor madi- 
daily trips on the Schuylkill canal from 
Phoenixville to Morristown, but tlie rail- 
ways, whose trains had commenced to run 
in 1882, soon took its passenger travel, 
leaving boats and canals to go down to- 
gether. 

EarJij Biiilrodd.-i. — The desire of the State 
to connect the western and eastern [larts of 
the Pennsylvania canal led to the survey 
and construction of the first railroad in 
Lancaster and Chester counties. The Col- 
umbia railroad, now a part of the Pennsyl- 
vania, was put under contract from Colum- 
bia to Philadelphia in 1880, and the first 
train of cars ran through on February 28, 
1884. The citizens of West Cliester, in 
1830, became interested in having their 
borough connected with the Columbia road, 
and took such measures as resulted in tlu' 
building of the West Chester railroad, which 
was incorporated March 28, 1881. It was 
formally opened Sejitember 18, 1882, al- 
tliougli the first car ran through from West 
Chester to the ''Intersection" on the ^th of 
August. 

The Philadelpliia & lieading railroad was 
agitated about the same time as the Penn- 
sylvania, and was constructed throngh 
Schuylkill townsliip between 18.33 ami 1887. 
A tunnel one thousand nine hnndred ami 
thirtv-twf) feet long, nineteen feet wide and 
seventeen feet in height, was cut through 
solid rock, ami the road was opened to the 



56 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



public on January 10, 1842. The Perkio- 
men branch was built some time afterward. 

Mexican War. — No company or organi- 
zation was recruited in Chester county for 
the Mexican war, but quite a number of 
her sons enlisted in companies recruited in 
other parts of the State, and served in the 
armies of Scott and Taylor. Among these 
men were : Corporal Levi P. Knerr, of the 
Ist United States Voltiguers, who was in 
nearly all the battles from Vera Cruz to 
the City of Mexico ; William S. Menden- 
hall, who was captain of Co. D, 97th Penn- 
sylvania infantry, during the late war; 
Thomas King, John Yokum, Capt. Colum- 
bus Penn Evans, 11th United States in- 
fantry; Kobert Taylor, of West Chester; 
and Irvin Parke, 6th Louisiana infantry. 

After the close of the Mexican war, 
Chester county improved gradually until 
the late war, and was only agitated during 
that period by the discussion of slavery. 

Underground Railroad . — Dr. Robert Smed- 
ley says that but little antagonism to slavery 
was manifested in Chester county until 
1804, when some kidnapping occurred at 
Columbia, this State. Some years after 
this several routes, with numerous stations, 
were established from York through Chester 
county, by which runaway slaves could 
make their way toward Canada. When 
these routes were arranged, the owners of 
escaping slaves found that they could trace 
their blacks only to York, and said in 
astonishment, " There must be an under- 
ground railroad somewhere." This gave 
rise to the term " by which this secret pass- 
age from bondage to freedom was known 
ever afterwards." Among tho.se who were 
active in operating this road were .lames 
Fulton, (lideon I'eirce, Thomas Bonsall. 
Thomas and John Vifkers, ami Esther 



Lewis. No fugitive slave was ever captured 
while passing over the underground rail- 
road, which was in active operation from 
! about 1830 to 1861, when the late war 
commenced, and slavery, by the arbitrament 
of the sword, passed away as an American 
institution. 

The Civil War. — In this great and mo- 
mentous struggle, from the fall of Fort 
Sumter to the surrender of Lee's veteran 
legions at Appomattox court house, thous- 
ands of Chester county soldiers fought nobly 
in the Union cause, but hundreds of them 
fell in defense of their country's liberties. 
These fallen heroes are fitly described in the 
poet's lines, when he says : 

" By fairy hands their knell is rung, 
By forms unseen their dirge is aung; 
There Honor comes, a pilgrim gray, 
To bless the turf that wraps their clay ; 
And Freedom shall a while repair 
To dwell, a weeping hermit, there." 

We give the following roster of the 
companies raised in Chester county, and 
also the names of man}' soldiers who were 
residents of the county, but enlisted in 
companies raised elsewhere : 

SECOND PENNSYLVANIA INFANTRY. 

This three months" volunteer regiment, 
in which Company G was from West Ches- 
ter, was organized April 21, 1861, with 
James Givin, who had been commissioned 
captain of Company G, as major of the 
regiment. It was stationed at York and 
Chambersburg, this State, and at Funks- 
town, Maryland, until July 2, when it 
crossed the Potomac and served under 
General Patterson in his advance to Mar- 
tinsburg, and thence to Bunker Hill, where 
it was mustered out of the service .Tuly 26, 
1861. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



ROLL OF COMPANY G. 

Beiijaniiii II. Sweney, captain. 
Christian Wyck, first lieutenant. 
Jolin ir. Babb, second lieutenant. 
Cliarles II. Arison, first sergeant. 
Charles T. Sweeney, second sergeant. 
Charles Keliey, third sergeant. 
George Marshall, fourth sergeant. 
John J. Iloopes, first corporal. 
Franklin Eachus, second corporal. 
John Si'hk'gel, third corporal. 
Joseph Sweeney, fourth cori)()ral. 
Austin Fithean, musician. 
George Brown, musician. 

I»RIVATE.<. 

Burns, George. Hanlon, James. 

Bennett, Jesse J. Hoopes, Franklin. 

Birdsell, Edwin. Harp, Wm. E. 

Baker. Harry. Hendrickson, Jos. 

Bucher, Jacob. Hibliard, Walter. 

Cosgrift", Thomas. Hillingsworth, Wait. 

Commite, Joseph. James, William W. 

Clark, Townsend. Kirk, William. 

Carter, Patrick. Lucas, Joseph M. 

Carr, William. Marshall. John (J. 

Coughlin, James. Marshall, Abraham. 

Cummins,l)ominick. McWilliams, James. 

Crawford. William. Mulligan, James. 

I)avidson,E(lward J). .McCartney, Abner. 

Dolly. Thomas. McWilliams, Ed. 

Dawney, Nathan. Miles, AVMlliam. 

Dritton. Smith. Mariarity, William. 

Entriken, Henry. McCartney, Patrick. 

Ferrill, Daniel. Preston, Thomas. 

Kisk. Uussel P. Kodeback, John. 

Flynn, John. Smith, Mahlon. 

(4raul, Jacob. Snyder, William B. 

(iillcspic. John. Smith, William F. 

Holmes, Samuel. Smith, (xeorge, F. 

Hennessey, Wm. 11. Serverd, Samuel. 

Harry, Amos. Steel, Joseph. 
4.1 



Sullivan. John. Warmoutli, John. 

Springer, John. Whiting, Charles. 

Steddem, Joseph. Watts, James. 

Taylor, Milton. West, James. 

Taylor, Josei.h H. Walton. Joseph H. 

Williams, Robert. Watters. William. 

Windle, Joseph M. ^'ough, Jacob. 

Wickersha!n,Casp'r. Young, Alfred. 

_ NINTH INFANTRY. 

Companies A, E and F, of the Hth Penn- 
sylvania volunteer infantry, were recruited 
at West Chester. The regiment was or- 
ganized April 22, 1861, served mostly be- 
tween Martinsburg, West Virginia, and 
Winchester, Virginia, and was mu8tere<l 
out July 24th. 

ROLI, OF COMPANY A. 

Henry R. Guss, cajitain. 
Francis M. Guss, first lieutenant. 
Richard 1). Townsend, second lieutenant. 
Lewis Y. Evans, first sergeant. 
John C. McKay, second sergeant. 
James Powell, third sergeant. 
Thonuis J. Townsend, fourtli sergeant. 
Ephraim E. Black, first corporal. 
Thonuis E. Webber, second corporal. 
Thomas McKay, third corporal. 
Abel Griffeth, fourth corporal. 
James St. John, musician. 
William S. St. John, musician. 

PKU AIKS. 

Abel, Wm. S. Dailey. Uayard. 

Baldwin, Johnson C. Davis, Hees. 

Birney. David. Duttoii. Alfred L. 

Pickings, Albanns. Dutton. liecse R. 

Caruthers.Hcniy W. Douley, James 1'. 

Dock. William H. Davis. John E. 

Daubnian, .huob. Fithian, R. P»)well. 

Donley. Jolm. Kcrrell. Wm. C. 

Davis, (icorgc. Fini-h, Isaac. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Ferrell, Morgan. 
Frame, Franklin. 
Floyd, William. 
Fawkes, Isaac. 
Gardner, Wm. 
George, William. 
Gill, Taylor. 
Hickman, F. Sharp. 
Hawkins, George. 
Hutchinson, David. 
Hall, Eobert J. 
Hamill, Robert A. 
Hopkins, Matt. M. 
Jenkins, Mahlon P. 
Johnson, T. Rhoads. 
Jenkins, George. 
Keech, Wm. K. 
Kennedy, John. 
Keech, James G. 
Linton, James. 
Lovell, William. 
Lupoid, John. 
Lewis, Phineas. 



McKay, William. 
Marris, John. 
Morgan, Elwood. 
Massey, Jefferson. 
Middleton,ElishaW. 
Martin, Wm. H. 
McDermott, Bern. 
Meteer, William. 
McNamel, John. 
Pearce, William H. 
Perry, Aaron B. 
Peace, Alfred. 
Peace, Samuel S. 
Pearson, William. 
Richardson, Taylor. 
Rudolph, Jervis J. 
Rogers, John. 
Strickland, O. E. 
Stone, Charles. 
Staekhouse, Benj. 
Stott, Sylvester. 
Taylor. Isaac B. 
Wright, Andrew K. 



ROLL OF COMPANY E. 

James F. Andress, captain. 
Be Witt C. Lewis, first lieutenant. 
W. Montgomery Hickson, second lieut. 
William McConnell, first sergeant. 
Davis E. Townsend, second sergeant. 
Samuel Burns, jr., third sergeant. 
Thomas L. Lewis, fourth sergeant. 
Samuel J. Thompson, first corporal. 
Cyrus D. Hoopes, second corporal. 
Hampton S. Thomas, third corporal. 
William W. Stott, fourth corporal. 
Casper Fahuestock, musician. 
John W. Way, musician. 

PRIVATES. 

Burns, William H. Baker, William. 
Buckley, Edmund. Boyles, John M. 
Baker, Henry 0. Betinett, Edward C. 



Brubaker, John. 
McBride, Robert. 
Chandler, David A. 
Connell, Patrick. 
Chandler, James L. 
Dunn, Martin H. 
Fimple, William. 
Ferguson, Robert. 
Futhey, Samuel D. 
Friel, James. 
Ferry, William. 
Gould, P. Atwood. 
Gammel, James. 
Glending, William. 
Hoopes, Jacob. 
Hale, Hugh. 
Hadley, James. 
Haines, Joseph. 
Huntsman, .lohn E. 
Kirk, Levi. 
Kennedy, William. 
Kirk, Chandler. 
Lapp, Isaac. 
Maxton, James L. 
Maxton, M. V. B. " 
McCormick, Wm. 
Moulder, Wilmer. 
Milhourn, Mark. 
McCoUough, James. 



McCue, John. 
Meredith, Lewis. 
McDowell, Clarkson. 
McCorkle, John D. 
Miles, George. 
Moore, James. 
Otiey, William. 
O'Brien, William. 
Phipps, Aaron J. 
Rockey, Benj. R. 
Kiley, James. 
Strickland, Wm. B. 
Springer, Charles D. 
Smith, Samuel D. 
Smith, George L. 
Smith, William. 
Smedley, Abiah T. 
Smedley, Isaac. 
Taggart, Jesse. 
Taylor, Charles E. 
Valentine, Henry C. 
Vernon, Isaac A. 
Vandever, Elwood. 
Wilson, George D. 
Wilson, Lewis. 
West, William W. 
Walton, .Fames B. 
Wright, William H. 



ROLL OF COMPANY F. 

Samuel Hutftey, jr.. captain. 
David Jones, first lieutenant. 
Joseph T. Burnett, second lieutenant. 
.Josiali Burnett, jr., first sergeant. 
Don Juan Wallings, second sergeant. 
Elijah B. Thonuis, third sergeant. 
Elwood B. Baldwin, fourth sergeant. 
George D. Townsend, first corporal. 
Joseph F. Townsend, second corporal. 
George F. Bailey, third corporal. 
Benjamin H. ])owning. fourth corpora 



Of CHESTER COUNTY. 



to 



Henry G. Yocuni, musician. 
Arthur B. Yoager, iiuisifiaii. 



Aim, Edwin T. 
Ahii, Bciijaniiii F. 
Bailey, Thonias \' . 
Bear, William W. 
Bittlcr. William L. 
Baldwin, Tiobert. 
Brown, FraniLs A. 
Brown, Elliott. 
Bontiold, (xeorge. 
Bailey, Josiiua. 
Black, Robert L. 
Clark, Jeptlia. 
Clark, William H. 
Carberry, John L. 
Caruthers, David R. 
Downing, Dennis W. 
Drunmiond, Ker. 11. 
Darlington, Ililbern. 
Ford, Lewis J. 
Ford, John. 
Ford, John I'. 
Frease, Daniel H. 
(xiiest, Thomas B. 
(ireiner, Frederick. 
TIarvcy, William. 
Hickman, John. 
Jlickman, Daniel. 
Henry, Jacob C. 
Haye.<. Job, jr. 
Howard. Wni. H. H. 
Irwin, (leorge W. 



PRIVATES. 

Jeffries, William D. 
Kern, Patrick. 
Kickliam, Theodore. 
Lewis, Joel. 
Mills. .Tohn. 
Matthews, (^co. I*. 
Miles, William C. 
Minster, Jolm H. 
McCafFerty, Enos. 
McClnre, John. 
Mile.s, Christian. 
McAfee, William D. 
O'Neill, Edward. 
Potts, David. 
Pinkerton, Lewis J. 
Pattzgrober, Henry. 
Robinson, David. 
Riley, Benjamin. 
Russell, Joseph. 
Rhodwalt, John II. 
Skeen, Benjamin F. 
Short, Thomas H. 
Skeen, Robert, jr. 
Smith, Cooper. 
Smith, Columbus. 
Wesley, (Tcorge W. 
Wynn, Coleman. 
Wilson, Henry C. 
Worrall, Lewis. 
Webster, Wm. D. 
Willard. Philip, jr. 

( First 



TlllKTIirni l'K.NNSYLV.\NIA l.NFA.NTKV 

iieservee). 

This was the first regiment of the Penn- 
sylvania Reserve corps ; was organized June 
St. IHtll, and left Maryland in 1862 to join 
the army of the Potomac. It was in the 
liuttlcs of Gaines' .Mill and Charles City 



Cross Roads, did good work at South 
Mountain, made a daring charge at Fred- 
ericksburg, fought bravely at Gettysburg, 
covered itself with honor at Spottsylvania 
court house, and was nmstered out on June 
13, 1864. Of its one thousand and eighty- 
four men one hundred and thirt^'-nine were 
killed and died in the tiekl; two hundred 
and thirty-three were wounded; two hun- 
dred and lifty-eight discharged for disability 
contracted in the service, ami one hundred 
and forty-eight re-enlisted as veterans. Two 
of its companies, A and G, were from 
Chester county; and one, C, was from 
Chester and Delaware counties. ' 

ROLL OF COMPANY A. 

Henry M. Mclntyre, captain, promoted 
to lieutenant-colonel. 

John W. Nields, cai)tain, i)romoted to 
lieutenant-colonel. 

Mott Hooton, captain, breveted major. 

Chas. B. Lamborn, tirst lieutenant, pro- 
moted to lieutenant-colonel. 

Cheney W. Nields, iirst lieutenant. 

Brinton J. Parke, first lieutenant, brev- 
eted captain. 

Philip Price, first sergeant, promoted to 
second lieutenant. 

William B. Hammond, sergeant. 

Joseph James, sergeant. 

Wilmer W. Miller, sergeant. 

Thomas J. Maloney, sergeant. 

Emmor B. Cope, sergeant, ])romoted to 
captain. 

James Vj. Moouey, sergeant. 

L. M. Woodward, sergeant. 

Benjamin II. .lenkins, sergeant, killed at 
Bethesda church. 

Luther Mendeidnill, corporal. 

Frank Shellady, corporal. 

(ieorgc Palmer, coiporal. 



60 



mOGttAPMY AND mSTOKY 



Isaac R. Smith, corporal. 

Joseph Darlington, corporal. 

Wilson M. Mattack, corporal. 

1-iohert Futhey, corporal, promoted to 
tirst lieutenant. 

Henry Walters, corporal. 

William H. Darlington, corporal. 

Rolph Marsh, corporal. 

J. Wallace Scott, corporal. 

Albert S. Evans, corporal. 

Charles S. Sheaft', corporal. 

George A. Mercer, corporal. 

John E. Gillespie, corporal. 

John N. Bennett, corporal. 

Hanford H. Rigg, corporal. 

Thomas S. Nields, corporal, killed at 
Second Bull Run. 

J.W.Oswald, corporal, killed at Antietam. 

Thomas C. Spackman, corporal, killed at 
(-rettysburg. 

(■. P. Cunningham, musician. 



Blains, Edward. 
Brinton, David R. P. 
Brinton, Lewis. 
Bugless, John K. 
Bugless, Thomas H. 
Brogan, William 0. 
Bugless, John. 
Barker, Mat. 
Buchanan, J. W., 

killed July 3, '63. 
Carpenter, Albert. 
Chalfant, Myers S. 
Cociiran, William C. 
(Caldwell, Charles. 
Creigh, .lames J. 
Catron, Eli K., died 

in prison. 
Deneane, Joseph W. 
Darlinorton, ('haiid'r. 



Davis, Edward. 
Fulton, John L. 
Fisher, John. 
Ferry, Thomas R. 
Gregg, Harman. 
Harvey, Perley W. 
Hickman, Charles H. 
Hoopes, Pierce, jr. 
Hanuum, Davis E. 
Hoopes, James G. 
Hennessey, W. H. 
Harlan, G. W. 
Hoopes, P. W. 
Herrington, J. W. 
Harkins, Thomas. 
Hood, Andrew. 
Hoopes, Abner. 
Ingram, Chas. H. 
Ii'wiii, Wilson. 



Jetferies, Edward E. 
Johnson, William C. 
Lamborn, Hadley. 
Law, John H. 
Large, George W. 
Mell, William G. 
Mercer, Pierson. 
Madden, Andrew. 
McAllister, Jas. T. 
Mclntyre, Jos. R. 
McCann, Thos. 
McLaughlin, J. 
McLaughlin, Jas. 
Otley, Albion P. 
Parker, Dilwyn. 
Proudfit, Jos. M. 
Prall, Lewis M. 
Paul, William R. 
J-*ratt, Jos. L., died 

of wounds. 
Robinson, Lewis R. 
Russel, Enos M. 



Rupert, Alfred, pro- 
moted to adjutant. 

Ruliven, H. 

Smith, Henry T. 

Smith, Samuel H. 

Smith, Levi. 

Stott, Joseph H. 

Stern, Charles S. 

Shellady, Jas. B. 

Snare, William S. 

Speakman, Charles. 

Steward, Joseph L. 

Scott, Joseph M. 

Turner, William H. 

Taylor, George P. 

Tinsley, Edward W. 

Tinsley, Abraham, 
died of wounds. 

Way, Joseph. 

Walters, William II. 

AV^elsh, Rees. 

Young, D. 



ROLL OF COMPANY C. 

Samuel A. Dyer, captain, promoted to 
lieutentant-colonel. 

Joseph R. T. Coates, captain, breveted 
major. 

Edward Larkin, first lieutenant, breveted 
captain. 

John H. Taylor, second lieutenant, killed 
at South Mountain. 

John M. Thompson, second lieutenant. 

J. Keen Vanghan, first sergeant, promoted 
to adjutant. 

Bernard W. Gause, first sergeant. 

A. Hamilton, sergeant. 

William 0. Ridgway, sergeant. 

C. Bonney, sergeant. 

Robert II. Welsh, sergeant. 

T. McNamee, sergeant. 

J. Ashbridge, corporal. 



OP CHESTER COUNTY. 



John Jones, corpoi 


al. 


Riley, James. 


Townsend, Charles. 


David LiiBconi, cor 


[loral. 


Rice, Tliomas. 


killed in 1863. 


Georu^o McAffec. c«iri)oral. 


Summers, David. 


Turner, Joseph. 


Edward E. Flavill, 


corporal. 


Stowe, William. 


\'an Zant, Thomas. 


J. H. Williams, eoi 


•poral. 


Suplee, Jesse. 


Williams, Sanmel. 


Lane Scliofield, cor 


|)oral. 


Stevenson, David. 


Worsley, (-ieorge. 


John McDonald, corporal. 


Stillwell, William. 


Walker, Collins. 


Abrani R. Van Zai 


t, musician. 


Stewart, James. 


Wilkinson, Tliomas. 


PR IV 


VTKS. 


Smith, William. 
Shaw, A. 


Wray, Thomas. 
Waters, Patrick. 


Alrich, William .1. 


Hurst, John. 


Scholield,J.T.,kille(l 


Wray, Robert. 


Ardis, Samuel. 


•lones, Ralph. 


in 1864. 


Webb, A. (i., killed 


Uutler, Edward. 


Johnson, John. 


Sanders, James. 


1862. 


Booth, John. 


Koeth, Henry. 


Saulsbury, Robert. 


Wesler. Solomon, 


Brophy, John. 


Lusby, J. 


Smith, John. 


killed in 1864. 


Bamford, AYilliam. 


Ijemnion, George. 


Stetsing, Anton. 


Welch, George. 


Clineft", William. 


Lammy, William. 


Taylor. William H. 


Wood, William. 


Coates, Aqnilla, died 
in 1801. 


Lord, Samuel. 
Murry, John H. 


ROLL OF 


JO.MPANV (i. 


("urry, William. 


Mills, R., died of 


Jolm R. Dobson, ci 


iptain, breveted major. 


Dougherty James. 


wounds. 


J. F. McCord, tirst lieutenant. 


Dougherty, Charles. 


Mills, Thomas. 


Joseph Taggart, first lieutenant, breveted 


Donelson, David. 


Martin, Joseph. 


captain. 




Dutton, W. 


McFate, Frank. 


Josiah White, second lieutenant, died in 


Devlin, John. 


McCoy, William. 


1864. 




Edwards, George. 


McCabe, Edward. 


William E. Chand 


er, tirst sergeant. 


Elliott, George. 


McGarvey, Thomas, 


Charles Armitage, 


tirst sergeant. 


P]lliott, E. 


died of wounds. 


James i'hillips, sei 


geant. 


Eversham, Tlios. 


McCluskey, Henry. 


William H. I'owers, sergeant. 


Fields, George. 


Niller, Peter. 


William L. Keeley 


, sergeant. 


Farrend, George. 


i'aist, William V. 


William H. Yergei 


, sergeant. 


Grady, Michael. 


I'orter, John, killed 


Charles Frey, sergeant. 


Helms, Isaac. 


in 1862. 


Ham. Vanderslice, 


sergeant. 


Hickman, Edward. 


l^)llock, James, died 


Geo. H. Powers, sergeant, died in 1862. 


Howard, William. 


of wounds. 


Bertiess Slott, corporal. 


Hinds, Samuel. 


Ri(U'r. William. 


(ieorge JL Findley 


, corporal. 


Hill. Uora.-c. 


Ross, William R. 


Franklin Harley, corporal. 


Huff, John. 


lioebuck, John. 


John T. Eaches, c( 


rporal. 


Holsten, Luke. 


lioyal, David. 


William J. Kenne< 


ly, corporal. 


Hohaugh, Harry, 


Ruddock, Robert, 


David Dettra, corporal. 


died in 18(J1. 


killed in 1802. 


Emanuel Ewing, corporal. 


Hudson, Ivohcrt. 


Uoacli. Matthew. 


.Iiilm Harttui, corp 


Dral. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Wm. Denithorne, corporal, died in 1861. 
James T. Nichols, musician. 
Charles Madden, musician. 



Baugh, Joseph. 

Bell, Amos. 

Bowers, John. 

Bannon, Charles. 

Benuet, Stephen. 

Buck, George. 

Bradley, William H. 

Batt, Henry, killed 
at Autietam. 

Buck, Bobert. 

Bradley, J. E., killed 
at Second Bull Run 

Conklin, Joseph. 

Coffman, Joseph. 

Cook, William G. 

Chantrey, AVilliam. 

Clegg, William H. 

Clay, Isaac. 

Dunbar, Maurice. 

Dormau, Francis. 

Davis, Samuel E. 

Dennis, I. 

Eisenbre}', Edward. 

Friday, Washington. 

Fritz, Edward. 

Force, George W. 

Fritz, Levi, died in 
1862. 

Force, Abel 8., killed 
at Gettysburg. 

Hunter, William. 

Hunter, James T. 

Haulthausen, Wm. 

Jones, John P. 

Jefters, Henry. 

Kurtz, Isaac W., pro- 
moted to sergeant- 
major. 



Keeley, Edward M. 
Livingston, Hugh. 
Lilley, Samuel C. 
Leslie, George. 
Lougacker, Jerome. 
Milliugton, William. 
March, Jacob M. 
Munshower, Thos. 
Mills, John. 
Miller, William. 
Miller, Milton IST., 

died in 1862. 
Miller, Xelson T., 

killed at Autietam 
McAdams, Thomas. 
McCoy, William M. 
McCoy, Washington 
McLaughlin, Cocli. 
McAtfee, William. 
McCoy, Michael. 
McCrackeu, Edward 
Neilor, John 1'. 
Oberholtzer, Isaac, 
rhillips, David M. 
I'owers, John M., 

killed at South 

Mountain. 
Kaysor, Frederick, 
lienshaw, George W. 
Stackhouse, N. E. 
Spotten, Ivobert. 
Spare, Gordon A. 
Spear, Andrew. 
Sloan, James. 
Schweuck, James. 
Smith, Mathias. 
Sliowalter, Wm. B. 



. Woodland, Benj. 
Widdicombe, W. P. 
Woodland, William. 
Watson, Joseph L. 
Williams, C. R. 
Weeks, John M. 
AVahel, J., killed at 
Bethesda church. 
Whiteman, Joseph. 
Yeager, John W. 



Smith, Joseph, killed 

at Charles City. 
Shaw, Benjaniin. 
Tencate, Fred. A. 
Vannaman, Joseph. 
Vanderslice, J no. A. 
Vanderslice, N. 
Vanderslice, Wm. T. 
Virtue, T., killed at 

Charles City. 
Watters, Morgan. 

THIRTY-THIKD PENNSYLVANIA INFANTRY 

(Fourth Reserves). 
Company K of this regiment was re- 
cruited in Chester county. The regiment 
was gallantly engaged at Charles City Cross- 
roads, Second Bull Run, South Mountain, 
and Fredericksburg; and served in the 
Shenandoah and Kanawha valleys, in the 
latter of which it encountered great hard- 
ships, privations, and severe lighting. It 
was mustered out on June 17, 1864. 

ROLL OF COMPANY K. 

William Babe, captain. 

Enos L. Christman, captain, promoted to 
major. 

N. A. Pennypacker, captain. 

Lewis H. Evans, first lieutenant. 

Charles Nice, lirst sergeant. 

Isaiah Throop, jr., sergeant. 

J. W. Snyder, sergeant, promoted to 
lieutenant. 

Joseph M. Conner, sergeant. 

N. Davis, sergeant, promoted to lieuten- 
ant. 

J. Louderback, sergeant. 

John Little, sergeant, died of wounds. 

Thomas W. Rowland, sergeant, killed at 
Charles City. 

William D. Mooney, sergeant, died of 
wounds. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



fit 



Joseph Stadden, corporal. 
S. iSmedley, corporal. 
J. K. Burnite, corporal. 
George W. Rapp, corporal. 
G. I'emiypackcr, corporal. 
]'. Wiley Keasjan, coriionil. 
John W. Schotield, corporal 
CUiarles llntt'naglc, coriioral. 
II. S. Willauer, corporal. 
B. F. Williams, iiiusic-iaii. 
B. F. Iloiick. iiiiisiciaii. 



Aiidorson, E. N. 
r>:ikci'. .lames. 
Heaver, .lacoh. 
lioran, Lycurgiis. 
Bixler, Benjamin F. 
Brannan, Wm. II. 
IJuller, Charles. 
Biisli, Uriah, killed 

at Cloyd mountain. 
Collier, James. 
Crager, Homer. 
Collier, D. 
Cachus, W. 
Codlings,, las., killed 

atCloyd mountain. 
I )iinaho\ver, (4eorgc. 
Davis, .loliii W'.,dicd 

of wounds. 
Dailey, .reremiaii, 

killed at Aiitietam. 
Farnwalt, Isaac. 
Fritz, .lohn. 
Fredericks, Joshua. 
Fauks, E. 
Foreman, Win., died 

of wounds. 
Fratt, David !{.. did 

of wountls. 
(tuest, Thomas L. 



Henry, William H. 
Iladdiman, Samuel. 
Ilamjiton, Sand. H. 
Hill, Isaac B. 
Ilermai'V, W'ni. II. 
Hines, N. F. 
Ii'viii, David. 
.Johnson, Emile. 
•lohnson, Samuel. 
Jester, George W. 
James, Joseph M. 
Kugler, John. 
Kugler, Joshph. 
Kungle, John B. 
Kelly, James S. 
Kirkner, S., killed 

at Charles C'ity. 
Lockard, William. 
Lacey, Joseph. 
Lewis, Jonathan M. 
Lindsay, .lohn. 
Lewis, Enos R. 
Lock, William. 
Manning, William. 
Monday, .lohn C. 
Morgan, .loseph W. 
Morgan, .lohn. 
Mood, Wm., killed 

at Charles Citv. 



Murray, Charles. 
Morrison, Isaac. 
McClure, Patrick. 
McCabe, Barney. 
McLaughlin, Jos. 
McLaughlin, J. A. 
Mc^Chesney, R. W., 

died in 1861. 
O'Brian, Matthew. 
Peck, Abraham. 
Peck, Thomas T. 
Penny packer, Jos. 
Khoades, Preston S. 
Register, David. 
Ritner, George W. 
Reese, John. 
Rossiter, Striker C. 
Rossi ter, B. F. 
Rossiter, B. F. (2) 
Ruthreu, Henry, died 

in 18ti8. 
Roberts, Benj. II., 

died in 1862. 



Rossiter, 1*. K. 
Snyder, J. 

Speakman, Thomas. 
Springer, I. 
Smith, Elijah .1., 

killed at Charles 

City. 
Smith. William F.. 

died in 1861. 
Thomas, Isaac P. 
Townscnd. M. II. 
X'anskite, Lewis II. 
Weller, B. F. 
Williams, David B. 
Williams, Edmund. 
Wall, Philip. 
Walters, Reuben II. 
Wise, William. 
Wollerton. Nelson 

T., died of wounds. 
Wilson, William. 
Young, Joseph G. 



KORTV-SKCUNK 1>KNNSVI,VAM.\ INF.AXTUV 

(Bucktails). 

This famous regiment, in whi<'h Co. H 
was from Chester county, was recruited by 
Col. Thomas L. Kane, brother of Dr. Kane, 
the Arctic explorer. The regiment was 
known by various names, among which 
were the -Thiiteenth reserves " and the 
" IJucktails." By the latter it was known 
throughout the country, on account of each 
soldier in it wearing a bucktail in his iiat. 
It fought gallantly at Drainesville, Gaines' 
Mill, Charles City C'ross-roads, Antietam. 
Fredericksburg, (Tcttysburg, anil the terrible 
Wilderness battles. At Gettysburg its 
colonel, Charles F. Taylor, a brother of 
Bayard Taylor, was killed while repulsing 
a Confederate charge. 



BIOGRAPHY AND JBTSTOBY 



ROLL OF COMPANY H. 

Charles F. Taylor, captain, promoted to 
colonel, and killed at Gettysburg. 

John D. Yerkes, captain, breveted 
major. 

Chandler Hall, lientenaiit, iiromoted to 
captain. 

T. J. Roney, first lieutenant. 

Evan P. Dixon, second lieutenant. 

Joel J. Swayne, second lieutenant, killed 
at Harrisonburg. 

Robert Maxwell, second lieutenant, died 
of wounds. 

William Baker, sergeant-major. 

S. Guthrie, first sergeant. 

A. S. Goodwin, first sergeant. 

R. Beebe, first sergeant. 

J. W. Pierce, first sergeant. 

Alfred Best, corporal. 

Albert Bah el, corporal. 

H. Willliams, corporal. 

Edwin A. Howell, corporal. 

J. J. Donahue, corporal. 

Phineas Malin, corporal. 

J. P. Young, corporal. 

E. Baker, corporal. 

Aaron Baker, corporal, killed at Spott- 
sylvania Court house. 



Alcott, David. 

Archer, L. T. 

Bahel, William. 

Brechit, Jona. 

Brockieus, Charles. 

Baker, William, pro- 
moted to sergeant- 
major. 

Brink, John B. 

Bnrrell, Wesley. 

Bahel, Thomas. 

Boozer, C. 



Birtsell, E. 
Billis, J. C. 
Best, A. A. 
Best, Thos. F. 
Barber, Joel M. 
Baker, Evan TI. 
Briggs, William. 
Butler, James, killed 

at Antietam. 
Brink, Taylor, died 

in 1864. 
Brown, George W. 



Cook, Adolphus. 
Creamer, Jacob. 
Chandler, T. 
Chambers, Pusey E. 
Chadwiek, Joseph P. 
Chadwick, J. 
Cessna, M. 
Coyle, James. 
Creamer, Hiraifi, 

died in 1863. 
C'oover, Andrew, 

killed at Fred'b'g. 
Carter, M. H. killed 

at Fredrickburg. 
Durgan, Thomas. 
Douglas, Benjamin. 
Davis, G. W. 
Davidson, E. S. 
Drummond, J. 
Davis, Marshall, died 

of wounds. 
Freel, Lorenzo D. 
Fogg, E. B. 
Foreman, M. H. 
Freel, James, died in 

1864. 
Gause, William T. 
Gause, L. T. 
Grace, James. 
Greenfield, E. 
Gross, T. P. 
Gross, E. P. 
Glisson, A. 
Grier, R. W. 
Goodwin, D. 
Gil more, Richard T., 

killed at Gettsh'g. 
Hardy, Ross. 
Huss, Samuel. 
Hunter, William C. 
Hanson, Thomas, 

died in 1SH2. 



Harrigan, Wm., died 
of wounds. 

Lewis, John S. 

Jacquette, Isaac G. 

Jackson, John A. 

Jackson, W. W. 

Jackson, Edward 1'. 

King, W. T. 

Lynch, James H. 

Land, T. 

Leedam, I. 

Maines, Thos. B. 

Montgomery, J. H. 

Mann, Persifor F. 

Milner, Robert. 

McCullough, G. W. 

Milner, G. D. 

McClurg, A. A., kill- 
ed at Fred'ks'bg. 

Muddy, W. B. 

Oskins, Robert. 

Oskins, J. E. 

Perry, Thomas. 

Peirce, William. 

Penhollow, Henry. 

Pusey, Joshua. 

Penhollow, Charles, 
killed at Getty'b'g. 

Pennington, T. L.. 
died of wounds. 

Page, Geo. W., killed 
at Bethesda C'ch. 

Pratt, Edward. 

Pettingill, Robert B. 

Rigdon, William. 

Roman Joseph A. 

Roniig, George W. 

Rigdon, John, killed 
at Fredericksburg. 

Kentz, Frederick. 

Steigleman, H. C. 

Smith, George. 



OP CBES1ER COUNTY. 



«/> 



Starr, Jeremiah J. 

Steigleniaii, J. AV. 

Stroble, H. 

Sherraaii,Roger, pro- 
moted to serg-niaj. 

Stevens, H. C. 

Taylor, Alfred. 

Taylor, Elwood. 

Taggart, Robert. 

Taylor, Isaac. 

Taylor, William. 

Taylor, James, died 
in 1862. 

Temple, Benj. F. 



Taylor, John, died 

in I860. 
L^rban, Charles. 
Watson, Ricliard. 
White, Henry C. 
West, Josejili D. 
Wilson, Samuel (t. 
Woodward, Milton. 
West, J. D. 
Way, L. E. 
Williamson, F. 
Watts, William. 
Widdoes, Heli. 
Younkins, Edward. 



FORTY-NINTH PENNSYI,V.\NI.\ INFANTRY. 

This regiment was organized September 
14, 1861, and served until July 15, 1865, 
when it was mustered out at Washington 
city. It received the thanks of Generals 
Hancock and McCleilan, at Williamsburg, 
for magnificent conduct, and fought bravely 
at Chaucellorsville, Spottsylvania Court- 
house, and Winchester. Companies B and 
F were from Chester county. 

ROLL OF COMPANY B. 

George F. Smith, captain. 
Wm. B. Freeman, captain, died of wounds. 
B. J. Hickman, captain, promoted to maj. 
Robert G. Barr, captain, died of wounds. 
John S. Bratton, captain. 
Isaac B. Barker, first lieutenant. 
Edward T. Swain, lieutenant, promoted 
to captain. 

Samuel H. Irvin, first lieutenant. 
B. 11. Downing, second lieutenant. 
John J. Ilight, second lieutenant. 
Joseph Ewing, first sergeant. 
J. B. Downing, first sergeant. 
William McAlevy, sergeant. 
Charles Fultz, sergeant. 



T. H. McFarland, sergeant. 

J. D. Cunningham, sergeant, killed at 
Cold Harbor. 

James II. (4ross, sergeant, died in isti:^,. 

R. S. Westbrook. sergeant. 

J. R. Ilackenberg, sergeant. 

L. S. Crownover, corporal. 

G. T. McCormick, corporal. 

Samuel G. Stetfey, corjioral. 

Lenmel Robertson, corporal. 

John C. Ross, corporal. 

George W. Hamere, corporal. 

Joseph L. Shugart, corporal. 

N. Harshbarger, corjioral, killed at Spott- 
sylvania Courthouse. 

T. Reider, corporal, killed at Spottsyl- 
vania Courthouse. 

Lewis M. Price, corporal, killetl at Spott- 
sylvania Courthouse. 

J. W. Campbell, corporal, died of wounds. 

Geo.W. Echard, corporal, died of wounds. 

Wm. C. Taylor, corporal, died in 1864. 

William II. Erwin, corporal. 

Thos. L. Taylor, <'orporal, died in 1862. 

Batton Marshall, corporal, killed inaction. 

Charles Smith, musician. 



PRIVATE.S. 



Aston, Robert M. 
Anspack,W. E. 
Bebarger, Joseph. 
Bolan, Lewis W. 
Bruce, Jacob. 
Bennetts, Jacob. 
Brooks, William. 
Burlew, John W. 
Blatt. William B.. 
died of wounds. 
Bennetts, William. 
Boticher, Josepli. 
Baker, Samuel. 
Barto, Jacob. 



Bumbaugli, Jacob. 
Cupp, Samuel, 
("urwin, Joseph .\I. 
Chaney, Benjamin F. 

died in 1863. 
Chilcote, Abram \'. 
Crawford, Josepii. 
Coulter, Francis .M. 
Claugiding, William. 
Carter, Lewis. 
Devore, George W. 
Dougherty, H. S. 
Dunnigan, James. 
Davis, Benjamin K. 



BtOOttAPHY AifD MlSTOBT 



Decker, Adolphus P. 
Davis, George W.. 

died in 1862. 
Ewing, Samuel. 
Esteriiue, David A. 
Everts, Nicholas, 

died of wounds. 
Estep, Henry C. 
Emerick, Levi. 
Fiffs, William. 
Fitzgerald, Wni. M. 
Futz, David. 
Farra, Xatlian, died 

in 1862. 
Ford, Nehemiali. 
Gray, William Y. 
Guither, John A., 

died of wounds. 
Gearhart, John S., 

died of wounds. 
Gray, Henry, died of 

wounds. 
Giant, Andrew J. 
Greenland, Hiram. 
Gray, Isaac L. 
Hunter, Simon H. 
Hill, Jacob L. 
Hunt, S. 
Houston, T. 
Holliday, John V. 
Hunt, Solomon. 
Hefther, Samuel D. 
Humphrey, John P. 
Hells, Aug. 
Harris, James E. 
Holliday, .John V. 
Jenkins, George E. 
Kougle, John. 
Kine, James L. 
Kenyon, Mat. H. 
Kitson, Thos. J., 

died in 1862. 



Kelley, G. W. 
Longnecker, Samuel 
Lykens, Samuel. 
Lego, Samuel W. 
xMatthews, S. K. 
Morgan, JohnjB. 
Megahen, GeorgeW. 
Miller, Edmund. 
Miller, William. 
Moore, John 0. 
Morningstar, J. H. 
Myerly, John. 
Martin, John D. 
Machamer, David J. 
McGall, G. W. B. 
McGonigle, Peter. 
McQuillen, Richard, 

killed at Rappa- 

liannock. 
McCord, W. H., died 

in 1865. 
McMurtrie, Jas. E. 
McCurdy, James. 
McDonald, Wm. H. 
McGrady, Daniel. 
Nerviugham, Chas. 
JSTale, Jacob E. 
Patterson, John N. 
Port, Levi W. 
Roseborough, J. R. 
Rutherford, R. D. 
Roach, W. L. 
Ross, James. 
Raymond, F. G. 
Roseborough, Wm., 

killed at Winc'st'r. 
Robinson, H. C. 
Ray, John. 
Ralin, William R. 
Rogers, Arthur. 
Ross, Samuel W. 
Rumbarger, O. S. 



Shields, J. W. 
Smith, Jacob G. 
Snyder, Stephen. 
Snyder, John W. 
Sherer, John G. 
Smiley, Israel W. 
Sturtsman, William. 
Stonebraker, S. M. 
Stephens, J. C. 
Smith, Samuel. 
Temple, William M. 
Temple, Oliver S. 
Vandivere, Enos, 
died in 1862. 



Wyble, James. 
Wiland, John. 
Ward, Rhudolphus. 
Wellers, Samuel. 
Williams, Thos. R. 
Wilson, William H. 
Wolf kill, Thomas. 
Wilson, William. 
Wilson, Jacob K. 
Wesley, Michael. 
White, Anthony. 
White, William H. 
Whitehead, Thomas. 



ROLL OF COMPANY F. 

Benjamin H. Sweeney, captain. 

William Sherwood, captain. 

Joseph B. Downing, captain. 

John H. Gray, tirst lieutenant. 

F. W. Wombacker, first lieutenant. 

Abraham T. Hilands, first lieutenant. 

Josiah L. Barton, first lieutenant. 

John D. Howell, first lieutenant. 

Don Juan Wallings, second lieutenant. 

Robert Davison, second lieutenant. 

William H. Glass, second lieutenant. 

Isaac F. Beaver, first sergeant. 

James Wharton, first sergeant, killed at 
Spottsylvauia Courthouse. 

William M. Irvin, sergeant, promoted to 
lieutenant. 

J. J. Cromer, first sergeant. 

Francis H. Taggart, first sergeant. 

Moses Starkey, sergeant. 

Atchasson, McClellan, sergeant. 

Samuel C. Steiner, sergeant. 

Jacob F. Walk, sergeant. 

Alexander Hight, sergeant. 

Joseph McQuillen, corporal. 

Joel B. Roberts, corporal. 

W. H. Washaliska, corporal. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



67 



Samuel Vanseyoc, corporal. 

Michael Walk, corporal. 

Winfield S. Pugh, corporal. 

Isaac Getz, corporal. 

J. R. 0. Montgojiiery, corporal. 

Robert A. Roach, corporal, killed at 
Spotteylvania Courthouse. 

(4ehara, Lebar, corporal, killed at Spott- 
sylvania Courthouse. 

Ueorge Stanford, corporal, died of 
wounds. 

D. M. Reynolds, corporal. 

W. H. Snyder, corporal. 

D. C. Chisholm, corporal. 



Aikey, Jacob. 
Angwine, Bennett. 
Alter, William A. 
Appleman, L. B., 

died in 1862. 
Bartley, W. K. 
Brown, E. 
Brown, Jolm H. 
Bridge, Jer. 
Bartells, F. 
Bouline, L. 
Batzell, George. 
Bressler, William. 
Boyer, Joseph. 
Brown, Cliarles 11. 
Brooks, John. 
Burdick, Joel 1)., 

killed at Spottsyl- 

vania. 
Beck, Joseph. 
Brand, Henry. 
Burthamer, George. 

died in 1864. 
Barger, Edward. 
Brown, W. F. 
Bickel. Samuel. 



Bowser, M. 
Brown, William C, 

died in 1861. 
Butler, Charles T.. 

died in 1862. 
Christ, J. B. 
Chappell, Wa-^li. 
Cell, H. 
Crook, H. 
Chilson, L. 
Cummings, Ale.v. M. 
Collins, Peter. 
Caldwell, Saml. \\. 
Crose, (icorgc. 
Cornelison, C. 
Dye, Richard. 
Diamond, Daniel. 
Dougherty. J. C. 
Diehl, M. H. 
Everhart, Joel. 
Emore, Peter. 
Ewing, James .\i. 
Franklin, K. 
Fickes, 11. 
Fisher, II. 
Frazer, W. I'. 



Ford, Darius, died in 

1864. 
Flickinger, B. R. 
Fimple, Wilmer W., 

died in 1862. 
Gill, .Tohn. 
Gregor, William. 
Giant, J. 
Holland, H. 
Hall, Stephen M. 
Henningway, 0. 
Helfrick, J., killed 

at Petersburg. 
Heston, Smith. 
Igo, James. 
Irvine, Peter R., died 

at Andersonville. 
Jarrett, J. 
Keifer. John. 
Kline, Matthias L. 
Kellerman, Elijah. 
Kaylor, John, died 

of wounds. 
Kugler, Samuel D.. 

died in 1864. 
Kenned}', William. 
Knode, John. 
Koser, Samuel. 
Kuhn. George. 
Kitzelnian. Maris. 
Ludwig, J. 
Lounsberry, John. 
Larrish, 6. W. 
Linn, C. 
Leib, Lewis L. 
Miller, J. B. 
Minnim, David C. 
Moyer, Richard. 

killed at Spotteyl- 
vania. 
Menseh, John, killed 

at Spottsylvania. 



Mease, Daniel, died 

in 1864. 
Mitchell, Henry. 
Magee, J. 
Moulder, Alfred. 
McCord, J. G. 
McCauley, Geo. W. 
Nesl.it, J. A. 
O'Reilly, John. 
Passmore, Lee W., 

died in 1862. 
Purcell, James. 
Rhoads, Isaac. 
Renner, William. 
Rabors, J., killed at 

Spottsylvania. 
Rovel, H. L., killed 

at Spottsylvania. 
Rosenbrock, Henry. 
Smith. John. 
Smitli, G. 
Sook, J. W. 
Sensor, T. B. 
Summers, S. 
Summers, J. 
Singley, Samuel. 
Sanner, D. 
Shaffer, David R., 

killed at Spottsyl- 
vania. 
Shepherd, Nelson, 

died in 1864. 
Skillington, Jolm. 

died in 1864. 
Stover, Samuel B.. 

died at Andeifon- 

ville. 
Smith. William. 
Seaman, H. (J. 
Sanderling. .\. 
Struble, G. 
Slinnwav. VVinslow. 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTORY 



Suttlemore, Wtii. 
Stevenson, James. 
Smith, Freeman, 

died in 1861. 
Toman, John. 
Trnmphour, Thos. 
Vanscyoc, B. 
Waughen, S., killed 

at Spottsylvania. 
Wirth, Jacob H., 

killed at Spottsyl - 



Wolf, D., killed at 

Petersburg. 
Waltman, D., killed 

at Spottsylvania. 
Whitus, Charles. 
Wakefield, Geo. M. 
Yoeuni, Joseph, 
Yeager, Arao8,killed 

at Spottsylvania. 
Young, Wm., killed 

at Spottsylvania. 



FIFTY-THIRD PENNSYLVANIA INFANTRY. 

This regiment, in which Company A was 
from Chester, and Company B from Chester 
and Montgomery counties, Avas organized 
in the fall of 1861, and served with dis- 
tinction until it was mustered out June 30, 
1865. It fouglit bravely on the Peninsula, 
ill the battle of Fredericksburg and through 
the Wilderness battles. 

ROLL OF COMPANY A. 

S. Octavius Bull, captain, promoted to 
majoi". 

Wm. M. Mintver, captain, promoted to 
lieutenant-colonel. 

Charles L. Geiger. captain. 

John T. Potts, first lieutenant. 

John H. Root, first lieutenant. 

Levi J. Fritz, first lieutenant. 

T. B. Schmearer, second lieutenant. 

Eli K. Nagle, first sergeant. 

Evan Fryer, sergeant. 

George W. Rahn, sergeant. 

Joseph Spang, sergeant. 

Jonas Brickart, sergeant. 

William P. Yergey, sergeant. 

(Tcorge W. Shingle, sergeant, killed in 
a<ttion. 

William il. (4raham, sorgeunt, killed at 
Cold Harbor. 



Edward K.Weand, sergeant, died in 1865. 

Joseph Davis, sergeant. 

Christian G. Lessig, corporal. 

David Houck, corporal. 

Benneville Harp, corporal. 

John H. Fryer, corporal, killed at Cold 
Harbor. 

James McFarland, corporal, killed in 
action. 

Josiah Godshall, corporal, died while 
prisoner. 

Cornelius Uxley, corporal. 

George Sheets, corporal. 

Frederick Boyer, corporal. 

Charles W. Gansline, corporal. 

Jonas W. Burns, musician. 

Franklin Detwiler, musician. 

Thomas Donohue, musician. 



Ayers, John. 
Ashdale, Joseph. 
Arnold, Peter. 
Bradford, Wallace. 
Brown, Philip. 
Beam, William. 
Brenneman, J. A. 
Burkensbrock, L. 
Backus, Justice. 
Boyle, James. 
Batchelder.Meredith 
Bradbury, Abner. 
Burdice, Jno. C. 
Burdice. Monroe. 
Butts, Henry F. 
Beddoe, William. 
Boston, James ('. 
Beiiner, Henry. 
Bechtell,G.\V., died 

in 1865. 
Beard, George \\'., 

died of wounds. 



Beeker, Lenaias S. 
Bell, Franklin, killed 

in action. 
Boyer, Jno. H. 
Boyer, James F. 
Boyer, Michael. 
Boyer, Jacob K. 
Boyer, Owen. 
Boyer, Collins. 
Brant, Milton, died 

in 1861. 
Brady, James. 
Collins, Patrick. 
Counterman, J. B. 
Clark, Thomas A. 
Cowen, McClure. 
Cratie, William. 
Crane, James. 
Carpenter, Geo. W. 
Clark, Thomas E. 
Campbell. Saml. H., 

killed in 1864. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Comfort, George, 

died in 1862. 
Cook, Elhannaii. 
Carr, William. 
Day, Boiijaniiii. 
Dye, James ]\. 
I")onolted, James. 
Dugaii, Charles. 
Detwiler, Jno. L. 
Dowd, James P. 
Dunwoodie, James. 
Dailey, Myers, died 

in 1862. 
Detwiler, Abel. 
Deagle,(}ott!iel),dieil 

in 1862. 
Davis, Solomon. 
Day, Thomas. 
Engie, Mahlon H. 
Kivel, Philip. 
Eastwood. Wm. H. 
Plngle, Epliraim. 
Kdwards, George. 
Fryer, Henry F. 
Foulk, James. 
Forest, Thomas. 
F'ielding, Samuel. 
Fansey. Joseph. 
Foreman, Daniel V>. 
Fryer, John XL, 

killed in action. 
Gabel, Richard. 
Garber, Francis S. 
Geiger, Jacob S. 
(luc, Owen R. A. 
Gallagcr, James. 
(TUthrie, Frederick, 
(■roldsmith. Jolin. 
(labricl, Richard. 
(4raham, Eli, killed 

at Fair Oaks. 
Holt, Henrv A. 



lloft'man, David G. 
Heft, John S. 
Heninger, John. 
Herman, Ferdinand. 
Hobart, Wm. L. 
Hendricks, Geo. O., 

died of wounds. 
Holt, Geo. W., died 

in 1864. 
Jones, Israel W. 
Johnson, Edward. 
Johnson, Wm. P. 
Keyser, Chas. W. I. 
Keim, Jonah. 
Kirkendal, Thos. 
Kleim, Henry. 
Linderman, Henry. 
Loutrenheiser, John. 
Linn, Sylvester J. 
Logan, David J. 
Leightin, Wayne. 
Longaker, Enos D., 

died of wounds. 
Lessig, Englebert. 
Lessig, William. 
Long, (tco. W. D. 
Moore, John. 
Miller, W. ('. 
Miles, Thomas. 
Maier, Thomas. 
Miller, Henry. 
Maillon, Edward. 
.Minker, Brooks, 
Martin, John. 
Missimer, Warren. 
Missimer, Sylvest. E. 
Maurice, Price, killed 

in action. 
Missimer, Hauser. 
.Missimer, Ambrose. 
McCain, Cornelius. 
McDonald. I'iitrick. 



McCallaher, . 

Nayler, George. 
Nagle, Jacob. 
Ott, Jolm J. 
Ogeard, Charles. 
Ox, John. 
Peyton, Benjamin. 
Parsons, William. 
Price, Thomas. 
Potts, Francis T. 
Potts, Holm an. 
Quinn, James. 
Robinson, David. 
Ruth, Jerome W. 
Rhoads, Rheinhold. 
Rhoads, William. 
Riley, William. 
Rutter, Jacob G. 
Retver, Richard D. 
Rutter, John H. 
Reynolds, R. R. 
Roberts, And. J. T. 
Ryan, Michael. 
Richardson, George. 
Russel, James. 
Roates, Henry G. 
Rutter, Samuel IL 
Royer, Augustus S. 
Reifsnyder, S. B. 
Spotts, Isaac. 
Smith, Presley. 
Sands, John D. 
Seiple, Thomas. 
Spangler, Edward. 
Shern)an, Frederick. 
Smith. Jacob. 
Saulcntine, (4cortrc. 



Sanbourn, Edward. 
Swartzlander, Elias. 
Smith, Henry. 
Seasholtz, Peter. 
Snyder, Morgan. 
Straub, Augustus (-i 
Siiiitli, William. 
Smith, Mahlon V. 
Sebold, Samuel. 
Skeam, Harvey. 
Summers, Robert. 
Schick, Francis. 
Sassaman, Andrew. 
Schajieley, Jacob. 
Seward, Henry. 
Thompson, Wm. J. 
Trine, Nathan. 
Trine, Levi. 
Taney, Jacob. 
Wismer, Elias. 
Wandlcr, Andrew. 
Weltz, Frederick. 
Williams, Geo. W. 
Weakley, J. 
Weakley, Wm. 
Wilhird, Chiis. W. 
Warley, Edward. 
Wallcigh, Levi. 
Widil, John. 
Ward. John. 
Weand. John S. 
Weand, Abraham. 
Williams, Davitl E. 
Voung, Henry D. 
Yocnm, William F. 
Vonntr, Lewis. 



MNKTV-SKVE.STll I'KNNSYI.V A.NI A liNKA.NTK^ . 

This favorite regiment of Chester county 
was recruited in 1H61, and contained seven 
companies from the county: .\. B. ('. E. F. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



H and K. The regiment made a fine record. 
It served in South Carolina and Florida, 
was engaged in the assault on Fort Wagner, 
and was then sent to the Army of the 
James, where it did some hard fighting in 
front of Petersburg. It fought with great 
bravery at the capture of Fort Fisher, 
helped take Wilmington, North Carolina, 
and on August 26, 1865, was mustered out 
of the service. Of its officers, from Chester 
county, were: Colonels — Henry R. Guss 
and Galusha Pennypacker; lieutenant-col- 
onels — A. P. Duehr and W. H. Martin ; 
major — Isaiah Price; adjutant — H. W. 
Caruthers; surgeon — Dr. J. R. Everhart; 
chaplain — Rev. Wm. M. Whitehead. 

ROLL OF COMPANY A (Guss Feucibles). 

Galusha Pennypacker, captain, promoted 
to major. 

Francis M. Guss, captain. 

William Martin, captain, promoted to 
major. 

Lewis E. Humpton, captain. 

L. Y. Evans, first lieutenant. 

William Pearce, first lieutenant. 

Abel Griffith, first lieutenant. 

Robert L. Black, lieutenant, promoted to 
captain. 

Thomas E. Weber, second lieutenant. 

Isaac J. Burton, second lieutenant. 

Frank C. Henry, second lieutenant. 

Joseph Phillips, first sergeant. 

Henry T. Gray, sergeant, promoted to 
lieutenant. 

James P. Smedley, sergeant. 

A. Gibson, sergeant. 

Jeptlia Clark, sergeant. 

John Harman, sergeant. 

Jervis J. Rudolph, sergeant. 

William L. Morris, sergeant. 

Thomas McKay, sergeant. 



B. F. Stackhouse, sergeant, died of 
wounds. ^ 

John T. Carpenter, corporal. 

Richardson Taylor, corporal. 

R. E. Welsh, corporal. 

Jacob Daubman, corporal. 

A. B. Pearce, corporal. 

H. L. Pyott, corporal. 

Nathaniel R. Cowan, corporal. 

Madison Lovett, corporal. 

John T. Taylor, corporal, killed near 
Petersburg. 

George Ellam, corporal. 

E. K. Eisenbeis, musician. 

W. S. St. John, musician. 

John McKay, musician. 



Anderson, William. 
Albright,Henry,died 

in 1864. 
Brady, James. 
Brubaker, John. 
Brower, Joseph G. 
Bavington, J. H., 

died in 1864. 
Burton, John. 
Chandler, Isaac P. 
Cass, George W. 
Clark, James Y. 
Chandler, A. M. 
Cochran, Lewis. 
Callin, Julius C. 
Clark, William H., 

died of wounds. 
Carpenter. James. 
Dowlin, John W. 
Dampman, John, 

died in 1865. 
Day, William, died 

at Andersonville. 
Evans, James. 



Eisenbeis, Robert, 

died of wounds. 
Ford, John W. 
Groff, John A. 
Given, Joseph D. 
Given, William. 
Gray, Issac W. 
Griffith, Jno M. 
Goodwin, Ezra G. 
Guest, John, killed 

in action. 
Hawkins, Geo. W. 
Hollahand, J. H. 
Hannum, George E. 
Humpton, R. H. 
Hutton, Samuel. 
Haines, J. M. 
Handwork, Henry, 

died of wounds. 
Hardcastle, Joseph, 

died of wounds. 
James, Jacob B. 
King, Jeremiah. 
Kirk, Charles. 



OF CHE&IER COUNTY. 



King, Benjamin F., 
died of wounds. 

Lawrence, J. 

Lane, Alfred. 

Matthews, G. P. 

Minster, G. M. 

Minster, Abner. 

Maris, Joseph P. 

Mercer, William. 

Mercer, John. 

Miller, T. J. 

McDonald, John. 

O'Neil, Edward. 

Pharaoh, Richard E. 

Pawling, I. M. 

Phillips, Johathan. 

Pomeroy, George. 

Parsons, Thos. C. 

Passmore, Horace, 
died in 1863. 

Ringler, Thomas. 

Ross, Ephraim L. 

Rennard, Harry C. 

Robinson, J. P. 

Ruhl, Augustus. 

Stone, Charles A. 

Shoemaker, Edw. 



Smedley, T. D. 
Starts, Wni. H. II. 
Stott, Sylvester. 
Stott, Joseph E. 
Strode, Jacob D. 
Stoops, Jesse C. D.. 

killed in action. 
Steele, J., killed at 

Deep Bottom. 
Talbot, Jacob B. 
Talley, H. P. 
Taylor, David M. 
Thomas, Joseph L. 
Thompson, G. W. 
Thompson, L. 
Townsend, Caleb. 
Taggart, (^eorge L. 
Valentine, Jos. E. 
Whiting, Benj. F. 
Wilkinson, Jos. N. 
Winkler, Joseph. 
Wright, Andrew K. 
Young, John S. 
Yarnall, Vernon, 

killed at Petersb'g 
Yocum, J. L. 



ROLL OF COMPANY B (Chester County Grays). 

William B. McCoy, captain. 

Jonas M. C. Savage, captain. 

Dallas Crow, captain. 

James T. Skiles, tirst lieutenant. 

David S. Harry, first lieutenant. 

James Hughes, second lieutenant. 

John Armstrong, second lieutenant. 

J. Lowr^-, second lieutenant. 

.John B. (Triffith, secon<l lieutenant. 

Andrew M. Strickland, first sergeant. 

J. Haines, sergeant. 

Gerhard Reeder, sergeant. 

H. Highet, sergeant. 



Taylor Archer, sergeant. 

N. P. Boyer, sergeant. 

H. M. Hutton, sergeant. 

W. A. Nichols, sergeant. 

Henry Kendig, jr., sergeant. 

W. A. Deiseni, sergeant. 

M. Happersett, sergeant. 

J. M. Jackson, sergeant. 

D. n. Birney, sergeant. 

Elisha Middleton, sergeant, died at Hilton 
Head. 

Samuel McCluskey, sergeant. 

J. W. Lilley, corporal. 

George McNelly, corporal. 

William T. Cooling, corporal. 

Robert B. Wallace, corporal. 

John C. Taggart, corporal. 

Edward F. Johnson, corporal. 

Andrew J. Graham, corporal. 

John DeLaugh, corporal. 

John T. Boughter, corporal. 

Miles S. Strickland, corporal, killed near 
Petersburg. 

R. Ferguson, corporal, died at Hilton 
Head. 

Joseph Stott. corporal, died at Fortress 
Monroe. 

John P. Rock, corporal. 

William Assay, musician. 

Benjamin K. Hutton, musician. 

William J. Irwin, musician. 



Amnion, Wm., died 

in 1863. 
Bentley, Joshua. 
Best, Wm. M.. died 

in 1862. 
Cosgrove, B. 
Clark, John. 
Chalfant, Amos N. 
Coates, Charles S. 



Drummonds, K. 11. 
Doubts, George. 
Detterline, Hiram. 
Day, iSaniuel J. 
Dunn, Henry, killed 

in action. 
Dorland, R. M.. <lied 

in 1864. 
English, James. 



72 


BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 


Emmersou, Jos. H. 


Musgrove, Chas. B. 


Isaac Smedley, second lieutenant. 


Edwards, Jesse. 


Moore, Henry W. 


H. KauflFman, jr., second lieutenant. 


English, Benjamin. 


Mews, Hugh C.died 


Charles Warren, second lieutenant. 


Esrey, Edmund. 


in 1863. 


Cyrus B. Showalter, first sergeant. 


Ferris, William. 


Mendenhall, Jon., 


John D. Beaver, first sergeant. 


Galloway, Samuel F. 


died of wounds. 


Cyrus M. Davis, sergeant. 


GrarreBS, Samuel J., 


Merton, Robert. 


Stephen H. Eachus, sergeant. 


killed at Petersb'g. 


Melius, Henry. 


Isaac A. Cleaver, sergeant. 


Grracy, Daniel, died 


McGiuness, Jos. 1). 


B. Lundy Kent, sergeant. 


in 1864. 


McClure, David. 


Richard B. Moore, sergeant. 


Harkins, Albert. 


McFarland, George. 


G. S. Hambleton, sergeant, died at Hilton 


Hapten, Wra. H. 


McNulty,James,died 


Head. 


Humphrey, E. W. 


in 1862. 


Joseph R. Acker, sergeant, killed at Ber- 


Howe, Nathan. 


McGraw, John. 


muda Hundred. 


Hardy, George G., 


Pindell, Robert R. 


Robert B. Wilson, sergeant, died of 


died in 1863. 


Russell, Benjamin F. 


wounds. 


Johnston, Joseph. 


Riley, John C. 


M. Davis Thomas, sergeant, died of 


Kerr, Henry. 


Richardson, Samuel. 


wounds. 


Keenan, James, died 


Renshaw, Wm. S., 


John Latch, corporal. 


in 1863. 


died in 1863. 


Henry II. Stiteler, corporal. 


Kendig, Abraham, 


Rees, Albert J. 


Davis 0. Taylor, corporal. 


died of wounds. 


Ray, James, died of 


Jesse D. Farra, corporal. 


Linton, Benjamin. 


wounds. 


Levis T. Beitler, corporal. 


Lamping, F. D. 


Sloyer, Thomas. 


Maris Pierce, corporal. 


Lamping, Henry A. 


Sweney, Joseph. 


Robert Holmes, corporal. 


Leaman, Alfred N. 


Supplee, George G. 


S. W. Hawley, corporal, promoted to 


Large, "Williana. 


Sullivan, David. 


sergeant-major. 


Lemley, Jacob D. 


Vance, Wesley. 


Joseph M. Lewis, corporal, died on trans- 


Moore, J. H. 


Wonderly, Geo. W. 


port Marion. 


Miles, S. 


Worrall, Theo. A. 


Hibbard Aitkin, corporal, died in 1862. 


Martin, Henry W. 


Wilsou, William H. 


C. B. Hambleton, corporal. 


ROLL OF COMPANY 


c (Paoli Guards). 


James J. Wilson, musician. 
William Pound, musician. 


Leonard R. Thomas, captain, promoted 
to major. 


PRIVATES. 


H. W. Caruthers, 


captain. 


Abel, Joseph. Catren, David B. 


Emmor G. Griffith 


, first lieutenant. 


Agg, William. Channel, 0. 


Francis I. Eaclms, 


first lieutenant. 


Bence, Joseph. Coburn, A. 


George W. Abel, 1 


eutenant, promoted to 


Beck, Alexander. Clark, William. 


captain. 




Coulter, Lewis B. Cole, Clinton. 


William Gardner, 


second lieutenant, died 


Creswell, Wm. J. Durnin, ISTicholas, 


on transport Boston. 




Clark, William. killed at Petersb'g. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



73 



Dean, John. 
Epright, Franklin. 
Griffith, E. 
Grimes, A. 
Griffitli, Elias 0. 
Kugler, Joseph. 
Gunkle,D.H.,kille<l 

at Fort Wagner. 
Hioknian,Enimor B. 
Hopkins, E. 
Hoffman, Francis. 
Jeffries, Thomas. 
Keys, Alexander. 
Keys, John. 
Kirkpatrick, Wm. 
Keeley, Levi. 
Kitselman, N. Davis. 
Kitts, J. L. 
Kinnard, A. M. 
Kinsey, C. J., died 

in 1863. 
Morris, M. E. 
March, Samuel A. 
Morgan, W. 
Montgomery, M. W. 
Myers, Norris P. 
Mendenhall, E. 
McGinley, H. 
McClellan, Benj. 
McLane, Wesley. 
Mcintosh, Jacob, 

died at Beaufort. 
McLane,William G., 

died at Beaufort. 
McKinley, J. R., died 

in 1862. 
I'ress, James, died in 

1863. 



Paschal 1, Isaac. 
I'ierce, Lewis C.,died 

in 1862. 
Quay, Ambrose. 
Ruth, David N.,died 

in 1862. 
Shingle, William. 
Still, J. J. 
Speakman, Wm. H. 
Showalter, Edvi\ R., 

died in 1863. 
Sliaw, Jos. A., killed 

in action. 
Thomas, Wm. D. 
Thornbury, T., died 

in 1862. 
Thornbury, L., died 

of wounds. 
Tolliver, Philip. 
Vickers, E. 
Vanmeter, Joel W. 
Worth, Charles C. 
Wilson, Henry. 
Wagner, Charles. 
Whistler, W. 
Weidncr, U. B. 
Wellman, H. 
Williams, J. G. 
Wilson, R. A. 
Wood, Mahlon. 
Walton, George W. 
Woodward, Samuel. 
Walker, Ezekiel, 

died in 1863. 
Wentz, C. K., died 

in 1863. 
Wothereil, Joseph, 

killed in action. 



James A. Allen, sergeant. 
Philip Gleane, corporal. 



ROLL OF COMPANY D (CoHcord Rifles). 

Isaac B. Taylor, captain. 
John E. Davis, sersroant. 



H 



Brown, William II. 

died in 1862. 
Butler, E. 
Cloud, S. J. 
Crosson, J. 
Harry, John B. 
Eavenson, G. W. 
Frame, Francis M. 
Hannum, Enoch. 
Higgius, H. 
Huey, John E. 
Hughes, B. 
Miles, George W. 



Moore, G. B. 
Pass, John. 
Riley, Patterson, 

died of wounds. 
Pyle, Ezra B. 
Russel, J., killed in 

action. 
Sharp, J. 
Smith, Jacob B. 
Smith, T. M. 
Smith, W. 
Stuckey, Jno. H. 
Tenney, Hugh. 



ROLL OF COMPANY E (Mulligan Guards). 

William McConnell, captain. 

Samuel D. Smith, captain. 

John II. Babb, first lieutenant. 

John McGrath, first lieutenant. 

John C. Nicholson, first lieutenant. 

John McNamee, second lieutenant. 

James Mc Williams, second lieutenant. 

John Sullivan, second lieutenant. 

Daniel Sullivan, first sergeant. 

Michael Rush, sergeant. 

•lames A. Riley, sergeant. 

John O" Brian, sergeant. 

David Signett, sergeant. 

Patrick Carter, sergeant. 

George L. Smith, sergeant. 

William H. Spicer, sergeant. 

James Coughlin, sergeant. 

i'eter Stewart, corporal. 

J. Biitler, corporal. 

G. Jenkins, corporal. 

William Gillen, corporal. 

Jer. Hennessey, corporal. 

William Eagan, corporal. 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTORY 



Thomas Foi'sytlie, corporal. 


Johnson, John. 


McDonald, Peter, 


William Glaiidiii_sf, 


corporal, died at An- 


Kickham, Thomas. 


died in 1862. 


(lersonville. 




Keelam, James. 


McNulty, Francis. 


Thomas Cumiuings 


, corporal, died at St. 


Kaver, James. 


McDermott, James. 


Helena island. 




Keefe, Patrick, died 


Nugent, Dennis, died 


Edward Corcoran, 


corporal, killed at 


in 1863. 


in 1863. 


James island. 




Light, William J. 


O'Connor, Michael. 


Francis Carter, corporal. 


Lynch, Edward, died 


O'Neil, Peter, died 


B. McDermott, corf 


oral, killed at Peters- 


in 1864. 


in 1862. 


burg. 




Logan,William, died 


O'Donnell, Hugh, 


Joseph Little, corporal. 


at Andersonville. 


died in 1862. 


James O'Day, corporal. 


Miles, Isaac. 


O'Neil, James. 


Charles Sharp, corj 


)oral. 


Murphy, Patrick, 


O'Brian, Patrick. 


C. Riley, jr., musician. 


died in 1863. 


Quigley, Charles. 


Hugh O'Donnell, j 


r., corporal, died at 


Morgan, David, died 


Rodgers, John. 


Hilton Head. 




in 1864. 


Riley, James. 


Jonathan Pine, corporal. 


McCue, Bernard. 


Rush, John M. 


PRIVATES. 


McGinley, Charles. 
McCall, Michael. 


Riley, Charles, died 
in 1862. 


Arters, Reese. 


Dallas, Thomas. 


McCabe, Patrick. 


Still, John W. 


Allen, Alexander. 


Davis, Peter, died in 


McCartney, Michael. 


Skifiington, Patrick. 


Brown, Matthew. 


186-2. 


McCormic, Michael. 


Sherman, Robert. 


Burns, William. 


Duftee, Francis. 


McCabe, Jno., killed. 


Walsh, Michael. 


Bell, Thomas. 


Ford, John. 


McHale, T. P., died 


Wauls, James. 


Bennett, John. 


Flannery, John, died 


in 1862. 


Walsh, Walter. 


Crawford, William. 
Cummins, Domini ck 


at Andersonville. 
Finnessey, Richard, 


ROLL OF COMPANY F 


(National Guards). 


Collins, Patrick. 


died of wounds. 


DeWitt C. Lewis, captain, breveted lieu- 


Carberry, Carmac. 


Grant, Patrick. 


tenant-colonel. 




Conner, Martin. 


Grant, Dennis. 


Lewis P. Malin, captain. 


Correll, Thomas. 


Gibbons, William, 


Joseph T. Burnett, 


first lieutenant. 


Cosner, John. 


killed on picket. 


John Wain Wright, 


lieutenant, breveted 


Conway, Geo., died 


Grace, George, died 


colonel. 




in 1862. 


of wounds. 


Isaac J. Nichols, first lieutenant. 


Conway, J no. F., (lied 


Haney, Thonuis. 


Oliver E. Stricklan 


d, second lieutenant. 


at Andersonville. 


Hall, Thomas. 


Thomas Cosgrift", second lieutenant. 


Chappie, Ovel, died 


Hill, Charles. 


John E. Huntsman 


, second lieutenant. 


in 1863. 


Huggins, Josiah G., 


Thomas E. Brown, 


first sergeant. 


Dunlavy, Michael. 


died of fever. 


John Kennedy, first sergeant. 


Dougherty, .Tames. 


Holt, Thomas. 


Thomas B. Guest, 


first sergeant, killed 


Duftee, Colom. 


.loyce, Patrick. 


at Bermuda Hundred 




Dougherty, Peter. 


Johnson, Robert. 


Jackson Meharry, sergeant. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



76 



David Mock, sergeant. 
James P. (Griffith, sergeant. 
Herman P. Brower, sergeant. 


Hale, Hugh. 
Ingram, Alban D. 
Jackson, William C, 


Reedy, J., killed in 

action. 
Sassaman, Tiiomas. 


Lee A. Stroud, sergeant. 


died of wounds. 


Scott, William L. 


Samuel Wynn, sergeant. 


Keeley, John W. 


Short, Tliomas 11. 


Caleb Mercer, sergeant. 


Kerr, Jacob. 


Scott, Samuel G. 


Josiali G. Garrett, corporal. 


Meeteer, Wm. T. 


Sclmyler, Alonzo. 


H. C. Regan, corjioral. 


Massey, Joseph. 


Stevenson, Abraham 


Tliomas Ray, corporal. 


Maxton, James H. 


Shewcy, Edward. 


Amos Divine, corporal. 


Mock, Jesse. 


Springer, Wilson G. 


Edward Townsend, corporal. 
J. R. Richardson, corporal. 
Jesse M. Boyles, corporal. 
George W. Ordaway, corporal. 
John H. Brower, corporal. 
John Webber, corporal. 


Minim, William. 
Milborne, Mark. 
Maxton, H., died in 

1862. 
McAfee, Davis. 
McCluen, James, 


Stiteler, William E. 
Starr, James S. 
Smith, E. H., died 

in 1862. 
Shannon, A\'. ('., died 

in 1863. 


James A. Fries, corporal, died of wounds. 


died of wounds. 


Stepliens, 11., died in 


James T. Terry, corporal, killed at Deep 


McCartney, Abner, 


1862. 


P>ottom. 

John 0. Smith, cor[ioral, killed at Deep 
Bottom. 

Jesse White, musician. 

Isaac F. Faro, musician. 


died in 1862. 
Navin, Jolm, killed 

in action. 
Opperman, John. 
Pharaoh, Evans. 


Thomas, Alualiam. 
Wilson,.!. W. 
Williamson, F. 
Winterbottom, J. P. 
Wolf, George AV. 


Thomas St. John, musician. 
J. D. Roberts, teamster. 


Perry, David C. 
Pierce, E.W.. killed 


Walker, John H. 
Woodsides, John. 


PRIVATES. 


in action. 


Woodward, Jesse, 


Abel, Theodore. Fisher, W. S., killed 


Peoples, .Tames. 


died in 1863. 


Barnes, Robert P. at Cold Harbor. 


killed in action. 


Wright, G.E.,kille<I 


Booth, Nathaniel. Graham, James. 


(^uigg, J., killed in 


in action. 


Brown, Joseph. Garvis, John. 


action. 


Wingate, Henry, kill- 


Collins, EbenozerD., (4reenfield, M.. died 


Reynolds, Eli. 


ed at F'ort Fisher. 


killed in action. in 18(33. 


Roatch, Lewis A. 


Williams. Robert M., 


Cook, George W., Guest, George W.. 
killed in action. died in I860. 


Roberts, William M. 
Rogan, Michael.. 


died of wounds. 
White, M. II., killed 


Cary, Joshua, killed Gatcliell, David K. 


killed in action. 


in action. 


at Petersburg. Hagley, Jolin. 
I>iffendart'er, Lewis. Haas, Frederick. 


KOLI, OF OOMl'ANV 1 


((Jreble (inarils). 


Dixon, William T. Hall, John. 


Charles ^^cIlvaine, 


I'aptain. 


Hdwards, John W. Haines, P'ranklin, 


Tbeo(h)re M. Sined 


ey, captain. 


Kstworthy. Tlios. T. died in L'-!t)4. 


David Jones, first lieutenant. 


Forrcli, Daniel W.. llnntsmaii, Thos. C., 


Thomas S. Taylor, 


first lientfuiMil. 


killed in aitinn. diod of wounds. 


Klwnod r. Bidilwin 


. tii'st lieutenaiii. 



76 



BIOQRAPBY AND HISTORY 



Phares P. Brown, first lieutenant. 


M. B. England, teamster. 


George H. Durnall, first lieutenant, killed 


Levi F. Snyder, teamster. 


at Bermuda Hundred. 






George A. Lemaister, second lieutenant. 


PRIVAlJJiB. 


Isaac L. Dutton, second lieutenant. 


Allison, Alfred C. 


GafFany, Terrence. 


Lewis H. Watkins, second lieutenant. 


Ainsworth, Robt. L. 


Gould, Payne A. 


killed at Bermuda Hundred. 


Billings, Wm. 


Griffith, Hanford T., 


Benjamin F. Smith, first sergeant. 


Bills, Abraham L. 


drowned, 1863. 


J. T. Massey, first sergeant. 


Boyd, Wm. H. 


Haley, Martin. 


Robert Walker, first sergeant. 


Busser, Jacob H. 


Hannessey, John. 


T. E. Dutton, sergeant. 


Biehler, Joseph 


Harrison, Charles. 


George H. Cook, sergeant. 


Burns, Charles. 


Heeley, Hugh. 


Edward A. Weidner, sergeant. 


Bellwoar, John 


Hoxendofel, F. 


John Thomas, sergeant. 


Bookman, Samuel. 


Harvey, Marshall. 


Joseph H. Walters, sergeant. 


Brubaker, F. T. 


Ileadley, Amos B. 


R. Skeen, jr., sergeant. 


Brown, Wm. 


Harbours, Alfred N. 


Robert J. Baldwin, sergeant. 


Curtis, John. 


Hart, Thomas. 


John A.Russell, sergeant, killed at Peters- 


Cross James. 


Hardin, William W. 


burg. 


Cross, J. 


Hesson, John. 


William Garver, sergeant, killed at Ber- 


Clark, Wm., killed 


Humphrey, Samuel. 


muda Hundred. 


in action. 


HemphilC Wm. C. 


George H. Bennett, sergeant, died of 


Dasey, Joseph. 


Hosmer, John L. 


wounds. 


Dean, Christopher. 


Heed, Harmon. 


William Mills, corporal. 


Davis, Isaac B. 


Hunter, Samuel,died 


J. McGuigan, corporal. 


Davis, James K.,died 


in 1863. 


William Shields, corporal. 


in 1862. 


Hughes, John G., 


John B. Allen, corporal. 


Dutton, Alfred L. 


died in 1863. 


George W. Dehoff, corporal. 


Davis W. P. 


Hanson, John. 


C. C. Courtney, corporal. 


Dunn, Thomas. 


Jones, John. 


William F. Smith, corporal. 


Donahue, Michael. 


Jackson, Milton. 


T. J. Henderson, corporal. 


Dalling, William. 


Jones, Peter T. 


T. W. Durnell, corporal. 


Davidson, Ezekiel. 


Jones, Thomas. 


I. T. Massey, corporal. 


Drumm, Edward. 


Kimes, James H. 


W. H. George, corporal. 


Evans, Abner. 


Kurl, Alfred. 


J. Wood, corporal. 


Everhart, James S. 


Lamory, Henry. 


Geo. W. Burns, corporal, died of wounds. 


Force, William H. 


Loud, Henry. 


James McConnell, corporal, died at Hil- 


Fields, David F. 


Loud, James. 


ton Head. 


Fithian, Austin M. 


Lovell, Richard M. 


Edward J. Hadley, musician. 


Ford, James G. 


Lovell, Wm. T., died 


Philip Richard, musician. 


Griffith, Oliver A. 


of wounds. 


Charles C. Taylor, musician. 


Gallagher, James S. 


Moore, Charles. 


Milton S. Taylor, musician. 


Garrett, George F. 


Miller, Abia C. E. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



rt 



Mulhollaiul, David. 
Mulliolliind, II. 
Myers, George W. 
Moore, Samuel, died 

in 1862. 
Maloney, Daii'i, died 

in 1864. 
Marshal, iSamuel. 
Marks, Thomas. 
McHenry, Harrison. 
McKeever, J. A. D. 
Mcllvaine, John J. 
McFalls, Amos. 
McGrinder, Joseph, 

killed in action. 
McDonald, George. 
O'Donald, Deter. 
I'yle, Levi B. 
Preston, Joseph. 
Patterson, Benj. 
Pointer, Thomas. 
Price, Joseph. 
Painter, Albert P. 
I'oulson, Isaac W., 

died in 1864. 



Richards, William. 
Riley, Edward. 
Roecker, Christian. 
Roecker, Bernard. 
Reed, Bernard. 
Shntmire, Joseph. 
Spencer, Thomas. 
Shay, William II. 
Steele, William M. 
Simpson, Milton. 
Sullivan, Ezra H. 
Slienk, Hiram. 
Steube, John. 
Smith, Samuel R., 

killed in action. 
Tarleton, Robert. 
Taylor, Edward 11. 
Taylor, John H. 
Tinsley, Alex., killed 

in action. 
Tobin, Martin H., 

died in 186-. 
Tackaberry, James, 

died in 1865. 
Wil8on,W. Granv'le. 



Kui,L OK COMPANY K (Wayiic Guards). 

William Wayne, captain. 
Samuel V. Black, captain. 
William S. Underwood, captain. 
John J. Barber, first lieutenant. 
Levi L. Marsh, first lieutenant, died of 
wounds. 

William L. Sullivan, first lieutenant. 
Jolin W. Thompson, second lieutenant. 
Marriott Brosius, second lieutenant. 
Charles A. Me3-er8, first sergeant. 
J. R. Montgomery, first sergeant. 
Lewis I). Hayes, sergeant. 
John W. Farra, sergeant. 
P. McLaughlin, sergeant. 
Reuben !'. Fithian, sei'ifoant. 



David P. Thomas, sergeant. 

James M. Griffith, sergeant, died of 
wounds. 

William E. Davis, corporal. 

Charles Miles, corporal. 

Isaac Miller, corporal. 

James W. Phillips, corporal. 

William Tajdor, corporal. 

Barnett R. Rapp, corporal. 

E. Lane Schofield, corporal. 

Henry R. Coates, corporal. 

David S. Christman, corporal, died at 
Hilton Head. 

Brinton Channing, corpcjral, killeil at 
Bermuda Hundred. 

Alfred J. Hartman, corporal, died of 
wounds. 

George H. Harrison, t'orporal. 

John H. KaufFman, musician. 

George W. Smith, musiciati. 

T. P. Williams, teamster. 



Beidler, Henry A. 
Bullock, Isaac. 
Beerbrower, Theo. 
Brown, Charles W. 
Bevan, Thos. R. 
Barber, G., killed in 

action. 
Cook, Jonathan. 
Criswell.T. B. died 

in 1863. 
Duey, Morris E. 
Davis, James E. 
Harman, Francis. 
Famous, John S. 
Fennings, Lawrence. 
Frock, Lucien. 
Freely, James. 
Foley, James W. 
(Griffith, Wm. 



Guthrie, J. C.,kdled 

in action. 
Harbour, Thos. 
Harner, Michael. 
Harper, Isaac. 
Harrison, Isaac. 
Harry, A. Y. 
Hoskins, James. 
Ilannuin, Jas., died 

of wounds. 
Harkins, T.. killed 

in action. 
Jcrmyn, Burrows. 
Keeley, S. 
(Tunkle, Chas. L. 
Law, Samuel J. 
Lewis, Wm. C. 
Lukens, Chas. A. 
Lemp, Jacob G. 



78 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Manamee, James. 
Miller, L. 
Miles. "Wm. 
Moore, Wm. P.. died 

of wounds. 
McCann, Jolm. 
MoCarter, W. J. 
McHenry, Samuel. 
Mclntyre, T. W. 
Noble, Samuel T. 
N'orton, Joseph Y., 

killed in action. 
Phipps, Aaron, died 

in 1863. 
Plumley, G. W. 
Raby, Charles E. 
Rapp, Silas S., died 

in 1862. 
Sellers, John. 



Smith, Wm. H. 
Shimp, Erancis. 
Smith, Wm. A. 
Thompson, H. W. 
Thomas, Henry B. 
Thompson, James. 
TJrmey, D. 
White, George. 
Wilson, James K. 
Wilson, Jos. C. 
Wilson, W. 
Wonderle, P. J., died 

in 1863. 
Wallace, Johnson, 

died of wounds. 
Walker, Levi B., died 

in 1864. 
Williams, Abner D., 

died a prisoner. 



ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-FOIRTH PENNSYL- 
VANIA INFANTRY. 

Of this regiment companies A, C, E, F, 
G, H, I and K were from Chester county. 
Of its officers. Col. Joseph Hawley, Lieut.- 
Col. W. B. Waddell, Adjutant J. C. Worth, 
Quartermaster W. T. Haines, Quartermaster 
George Malin, jr., Chaplain J. S. Evans, 
Serg.-Maj. J. H. Long, and Quartermaster- 
Sergeant Jesse Taggart, were residents of 
the county. 

The regiment was recruited for nine 
months, and no other volunteer organization 
for that length of time did better service. 
It fought with distinguished bravery in the 
two great liattles of Antietam and Chan- 
cellorsville. 

ROLL OF COMPANY A. 

Joseph W. Hawley, captain, promoted to 
colonel. 

Allan M. Davis, captain. 
Charles W. Roberts, captain. 



Samuel G. Smith, first lieutenant. 

John A. Groff, second lieutenant. 

Isaac Finch, second lieutenant, died of 
wounds. 

John M. Windle, first sergeant. 

Edward White, sergeant. 

John J. Glisson, sergeant. 

Joseph N. Woodward, sergeant. 

David H. Steiler, sergeant. 

Joseph Davis, corporal. 

Henry B. Wynn, corporal. 

William S. Wetherell, corporal. 

Albauos H. Bicking, corporal. 

Jacob H. Way, corporal. 

Powell Bailey, corporal. 

Richard F. Hill, corporal. 

Samuel B. Smiley, corporal. 

William R. Thomas, corporal. 

Davied S. Wilkinson, corporal. 

George Malin, jr., corporal, promoted to 
quartermaster. 

Riugold Carman, musician. 



Artes, James. 
Baily, Wm. H. 
Bentley, Wm. H. 
Baldwin, Eli H. 
Byers, Samuel. 
Bond, Harmon G. 
Brown, Townsend. 
Chambers, John F. 
Carman, John L. 
Collier, Wm. H. 
Collier, Hosea A., 
died of wounds. 
Davis, Edward G. 
Darnell, Wesley. 
Epright, AVilliam. 
Emory, Samuel B. 
Ford, Rufus D. 
Farra, Lewis. 



Faust, Daniel H. 
Farren, George. 
Griffith, Evan. 
Gill, Andrew J. 
Glisson, Wilmer W. 
Hawley, Bernard. 
Henderson, Alex. 
Hawley, Edward B. 
Heck, Edwin. 
Harp, W. H. 
Hoober, John. 
Hall, Lewis R. 
Hill, Charles C. 
Hartman, Morgan. 
Hughes, Joseph. 
Jester, John F. 
John, Edwin B. 
Jones, John. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Johnson, Wm. II., 


Rickford, LeonardV. 


Eli Gatchell, corporal, killed at Antietani. 


died in 1862. 


Stott, Jacob S. 


H. AV. Livingstone 


, musician. 


Kamerer, Henry M. 


Stamp,AVm. 


Beverly J. Gause, 


musician. 


Laniborn, F. H. 
Law, Robert C. 


Speakman, James. 
Steele, Canby S. 


PRIVATES. 


Lloyd, John L. 


Steitler, Geo. J. 


Aiken, James C. 


Iford, Wm., died in 


Morris, Joseph E. 


Steitler,Wm. I). 


Bowers, Thomas. 


1862. 


Morgan, John. 


Sullivan, John. 


Booth, Joshua M. 


Jones, William. 


Mullen, Alfred. 


Strong, Edward. 


Benderman, T. J. 


Kirk, David E. 


Mercer, Joseph W. 


Smith, Acker. 


Bayard, Geo. F. 


Kennedy, Amos. 


Nichols, Lewis R. 


Thorn, Samuel R. 


Brown, Thomas. 


Lynch, James, jr. 


Patterson, Chas. D. 


Tyson, George W. 


Broomell,Wm. C. 


Luke, John A. 


Pratt, John R. 


Thompson, Henry B. 


Baker, Geo. L. 


Law, Henry II. 


Peart, Roland M. 


Treen, Charles W. 


Bates, Wm. 


Missimer, John B. 


Pearce, Joseph T. 


Terry, Edwin F. 


Brown, John M. 


Mershon, John II. 


Pearce,Wm. H. H. 


Valentine, Jonathan, 


Coates, Samuel. 


McDonald, David. 


Pickhaver,Wni. B. 


died of wounds. 


Cowan, Richard F. 


McCarter, Sam'l II. 


Pinkerton, M. H., 


Walker, Plumcr E. 


Cole, Amos. 


McCullough,W. R. 


died in 1863. 


Wilson, Wm. G. 


Cooper, Thos. L. 


McDonald, Richard. 


Ranibo, Thomas. 


Walker, John W. 


Corkadale, Geo. F. 


McClurg, James H. 


Reynolds, Sanniel B. 


Wagner,Wm. II. 


Crossley, Henry. 


McClurg, Daniel H. 


Rushton, Chas. P. 


Voder, Jolin. 


Cooper, Lewis R. 


McLaughlin, Corn. 


RodenbaughjWm.L. 




Campbell, Robt. H. 


Mclntire, John T. 






Campbell, Jonn C. 


M'Clean, Allen. 


ROLL OF COMPANY C. 


Cummins, Thos. W. 


Mclntire, John P. 


James B. Whitcrafi 


, captain. 


Craig, William B. 


Newell, John K. 


J. C. Worth, lieut.. 


promoted to adjutant. 


Cresswell, Sam'el W. 


Pugh, Townsend. 


William C. Dickey 


first lieutenant. 


Coleman, Joseph. 


Pearson, William. 


Levi Crowl, second lieutenant. 


Deever, Lewis G. 


Pearson, David T. 


Francis P. Andrews, sergeant. 


Dickey, Samuel H. 


Price, Wm. II. 


Jacob Z. Webb, sergeant. 


Dilworth, Richard B. 


Powell, Allen. 


George G. Taylor, 


sergeant. 


Fadien,Thos. M. 


Rupert, John A. 


John M. Rhoads, sergeant. 


Fuller, James R. 


Rigdon, Chas. H. 


Samuel B. Walton, 


corporal. 


Ford, James. 


Robinson, Alex. 


James 11. Broomcl 


, corporal. 


Garrety, Daniel. 


Reyburn, Geo. W. 


Charles 11. Wilson, 


corporal. 


Garver, Samuel 11. 


Rigg, Peter ('., died 


Thomas Dilworth, 


corporal. 


Greenfield, Joel S. 


in 1863. 


John A. Smitli, corporal. 


Greenfield, John H. 


Spear, Chas. J. 


John M. Irvin, corporal. 


Gyles, Ebenezer T. 


Showalter, Jos.M. 


William A. Fleming, corporal. 


Hays, Gibbons. 


Taylor. John L. 


John T. Broadway 


corporal. 


Hughes, Joshua. 


Worth, W. H. 


Thomas W. Riday, 


corporal. 


Hardee, Caleb P. 


Woodside, Robt. G. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Wiuger, Bernard. 
Webster, Alfred. 



Williamson, James. 
Walker, Samuel. 



• ROLL OF COMPANY E. 

Edwin Otley, captain. 

Richard D. Townsend, captain. 

William Lynch, first lieutenant. 

Josiah Burnett, first lieutenant. 

Thomas J. Townsend, second lieutenant. 

William H. Burns, first sergeant. 

Samuel J. Thompson, sergeant. 

William Otley, sergeant. 

William Keech, sergeant. 

David K. Pierce, corporal. 

Franklin Frame, corporal. 

John G. Hoopes, corporal. 

William Moulder, corporal. 

William Auld, corporal. 

George F. Bailey, corporal. 

Thomas W. Taylor, corporal. 

Andrew Johnson, corporal. 

Thomas S. Foster, musician. 



Barton, Joseph. 
Benner, James. 
Brown, Moses M. 
Chamberland, P. 
Copeland, Elias W. 
Cox, David. 
Conway, Thomas. 
Cooper, Clement. 
Cunningham, Wm. 
Davis, Henry M. 
Dilworth, Chas. H. 
Dugan, Michael. 
Epright, John J. 
Entriken, James. 
Ferrell, John W. 
Ford, Peter. 
Foreman, Geo. B. 
Frame, Isaac T. 



Farra, Geo. D. 
Frame, Gibbons. 
Griflith, Ezekiel R. 
Gertley, Joseph. 
Greenfield, Jesse, 

died in 1863. 
Harvey, Isaac L. 
Hall, Joseph. 
Hampton, Joseph. 
Hanna, Wm. H. 
Hoffman, Thos. R. 
Harlan, Edward T. 
Howarth, Nathaniel 
Ilenthorne, Isaac, 

died in 1863. 
Ingram, Frederick. 
Jester, Vincent. 
Jefferson, Wm. 



Johnson, S. S. 
Kearns, Chas. S. 
Kitzelman, Chas. H. 
King, Temple, died 

in 1862. 
Mealey, James. 
Mercer Thos. B. 
Mercer, Wm. 
Mendenhall, Clark. 
Miles, Emmor. 
Moulder, David. 
Marion, Peter. 
Mullen, John. 
McFall, Franklin. 
McCullough, Chas. 
McFadden, Jacob E. 
McNelly, Jesse K. 
McFadden, Joseph. 
McConaughy, Dan'l. 
Nethery, Bayard B. 
O'Neil, James. 
Patterson, Frazier. 
Patterson, Oliver R. 
Passmore, Jones R. 
Pierce, Jonathan. 



Rox, Joseph. 
Rumer, Wm. H. 
Roberts, Jehu. 
Robb, James. 
Sourmilk, Valentine. 
Starr, Samuel. 
Talley, Emmor L. 
Thorn, Henry. 
Thompson, Geo. M. 
Townsend, Wm. 
Tucker, Francis. 
Taylor, Joseph B. 
Taylor, Chalkley, 

died in 1863. 
Vincent, Levi. 
Whitcraft, John G. 
Williams, Henry. 
Windle, Taylor. 
Wilson, James. 
Williamson, Morris. 
Woodward, Pyle. 
Worth, Joseph. 
Williamson, C. C. 
Young, Isaac. 



ROLL OF COMPANY F. 

Frank Crosby, captain. 
James A. Eicholtz, captain. 
William D. Christman, first lieutenant. 
W. H. Whitehead, second lieutenant. 
Stephen Blatchford, first sergeant. 
George R. Maxton, sergeant. 
James Keech, sergeant. 
John Brooke, sergeant. 
William W. Potts, sergeant. 
J. Haines Long, sergeant, promoted to 
sergeant-major. 

Patrick Berigen, corporal. 
Wm. P. Stephenson, corporal. 
Thomas T. Smith, corporal. 
William AVilliams, corporal. 



OF CHESTER OOVUfTY. 



81 



Richard Mercer, corporal. 
Reuben M. Mercer, corporal. 
Joseph P. Way, corporal. 
J. Albert Millner, corporal. 
Joseph Maitlaiul, corporal. 
Joseph W. Martin, musician. 



Allison, Joseph F. 
Bedlow, John. 
Bailey, Mifflin W. 
Bailey, Reese W. 
Baldwin, John S. 
Baltrin,Wm. H. 
Beatty, Andrew H. 
Bernboo, Mahlon. 
Bride, Robert. 
Brubaker, Abraham 
Burnett, Cyrus J. 
Bush, Wm. H. 
Bloom, Ingram P. 
Bennett, James. 
Chalt'ant, John J. 
Daller, Charles. 
Dowlin, Thomas P. 
Evans, Allen. 
Eavensoii, R. E. 
Fritz, Christian. 
Guest, Wm. H. 
Gamble, Peter. 
Hall, Joseph II. 
Iloftecker, Ilenr}'. 
Houston, David F. 
Hood, Joseph. 
Hopkins, John. 
Huttoii, Benj. R. 
Ingram, Albau. 
James, Caleb S. 
Iveoch, Chas. P. 
Kemble, John W. 
Leech, Michael. 
Love, .Tames. 



Lakay, Michael. 
Loughram, Michael. 
Laird, David. 
Mi lligan, Lewis T. 
Moore, David. 
Marshall, John W. 
Mercer, Evan A. 
Mercer,Townsend A. 
Mercer, Wills F. 
Martin, J. Walton. 
Meyers, John. 
Mouaghan, Ilamlt'n 

died of wounds. 
McCli ntock,T*atrick. 
Pagan, Hugh. 
Penniger, Sanmel. 
Pennypacker, A. F. 
Parker, Robert H. 
Potter, Henry. 
Price, Issacher. 
Potter, Wm. II. 
Quinter, George. 
Reed, William. 
Root, Peter. 
Ramstine, Thomas. 
Uambo, Abrani. 
Rutherford, John. 
Rcnnard, Wm. H. 
Ro.\l)orough, Chas., 

died in 1862. 
Siverd, William. 
Smith, Frank C. 
Simmons, Geo. B. 
Springer, Wm. G. 



Thomas, John. 
Vandever, Wm. 
Wack, James. 
Wack, Benjamin B. 
Weigles, Charles. 



Warner,Napoleon B. 
Warner, Henry ('. 
White, John W. 
Windle, David C. 
Voeum, William. 



ROLL OF COMPANY G. 

Edward F. James, captain. 

Philip D. Haines, first lieutenant. 

William S. Able, second lieutenant. 

John H. Naylor, first sergeant. 

Joseph N. Marshall, sergeant. 

Henry .J. Stager, sergeant. 

Charles J. Murray, sergeant. 

Markly Davis, sergeant. 

Jesse Taggart, sergeant, promoted to quar- 
termaster-sergeant. 

John W. Crothers, corporal. 

Alfred Brinton, corporal. 

Samuel Naylor, corporal. 

Jacob E. James, corporal. 

G. B. Underwood, corporal. 

Evan E. Underwood, corporal. 

Lorenzo D. Farra, corporal. 

Isaac N. Evans, corporal. 

Ellis W. Ford, musician. 

Wm.II. H.Smith, musician, died at Aquia 
Creek. 

PRIVATES. 



Addleman,W. H. H. 
Boyer, Collins. 
Baldwin, Bird L. 
Baldwin, Wm. P. 
Bishop, Wayne M. 
Brcnckinri'gcG.W., 

died in 1863. 
Brinton,~Thonuis. 
Brosius, Robert H.. 

died in 1863. 
Buelley, Jesse. 
Collins, Thomas. 
Carver, Nelson. 



Coole, Mordecai J. 
Case, Henry. 
Connor, George M. 
Dillinger, Samuel L. 
Daily, Thomas. 
Daily, John. 
Forbes, Raymond. 
Frailey, Charles W. 
Guinney, Jefferson. 
Grier, William. 
Guinney, Franklin. 
Gordon, Morgan. 
Holmes, Philip. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



Honck,Wm.H. 
Holmes, Daniel. 
Harrington, Corn. 
Hughes, Jacob. 
Ingram, John B. 
Ingram, James H. 
Irwin, Sanford. 
Jardine, Bethel. 
Jester, Edward B. 

Jardine, Amos C, 
died of wounds. 

Kaiser, George. 

Kent, Samuel R. 

Keeley,Enos. 

Kerr, Joseph. 

Lawrence, George. 

Lammey, Jos. E. 

Long, Robert W. 

Mills, Thos. R. 

Mills, John. 

Mercer, Jos. 

Martin, Edward N., 
died in 1863. 

Mendenhall,Wm. 

McElhaney, James. 

McCue, Amos W. 
McCafterty, Howard. 
Newbrough, Enos. 
Nields, Harvey C. 



Kields, Webb. 
O'Fiel, Henry. 
O'Niel, Wm. C. 
Pierce, Edwin. 
Pawling, Levi B. 
Peace, Samuel S. 
Powers, John. 

Root, Robert. 

Reese, Samuel B. 

Roke, James. 

Russell, Hugh P. 

Stanley, Wm. M. 

Scott, Wm. M. 

Sullivan, John H. 

Smith, Norris. 

Starkweather, 0. G. 

Sinn, Benjamin G. 

Stern, John. 

Sassaman, Thomas. 

Thornburg, R. 

Townsend, E. W. 

Underwood, J., jr. 

Worth, Henry M. 

Webster, Wn>. D. 
Wilson, John. 
Wright, John. 
Woodward, D. P. 
Wright, David S. 
Woods. Wilmer. 



ROLL OF COMPANY I. 

William M. Hinkson, captain. 
William V. Strickland, iirst lieutenant. 
William S. Snare, second lieutenant. 
W. J. Ilingworth, first sergeant. 
Henry C. Wilson, sergeant. 
Henry C. Valentine, sergeant. 
Alfred Fairlamb, sergeant. 
Coleman Wynn, sergeant. 
Joseph R. Strickland, corporal, 
.lonah B. Guthrie, corporal. 
Arnold M. Nichols, corporal. 



William R. T. Boggs corporal. 
Thomas M. Jefferis, corporal. 
Joseph B. Hinkson, corporal. 
John G. Reed, corporal, killed at Chau- 
cellorsville. 

David P. Caruthers, corporal. 
Edward D. Watkins, musician. 

PRIVATES. 

Alexander, Thomp. Moore, James W 
Arnold, John, died of 

wounds. 
Bailey, Benjamin H. 
Baldwin, George W. 
Baldwin, Joseph B. 
Cochrane, Robert. 
Cramer,Christopher. 
Cook. James. 



Connor, George M. 
Dowell, George W. 
Donley, Lewis. 
Duffy, Bernard. 
Doyle, William. 
Fidler, Christian. 
Garrigan, Nicholas. 
Hoopes, Coleman. 
Hoopes. Moses T. 
Hampton, William. 
Hughes, James. 
Hinkson, Wm. A. 
Holton, Alfred. 
Holton, Jesse. 
Keating, John G., 

died'in 186B. 
Kennedy, John. 
Johnson, Lewis T. 
Jenkins, Benjamin. 
Murphy, Daniel, died 

in 1863. 



McCluen, Edward L. 
McLane, James. 
McCabe, Owen. 
McBride, Samuel. 
McMullin, Patrick. 
Naylor, George. 
Pennell, Franklin. 
Pyle, Henry W. 
Reed, Matthew C. 
Ross, EnosW. 
Rigg, Isaac W. 
Rupp, Lewis. 
Reynolds, Wilmer. 
Simcox, William. 
Stineback, Jacob H. 
Smith, Samuel C. 

Sweeny, Michael. 

Taylor, Humphr'yY. 

Taylor, Nathan Y. 

Thomas, Joseph W. 

Underwood, Joseph, 
killed at Antietam. 

White, George W. 

Woodward, Jacob H. 

Wilson, Charles L. 

Watkins, C.J. 

Wickersham, Wm. 

Worrall, Charles T., 
died in 1862. 



ROLL OF COMPANY K. 

William W. Stott, captain. 
George E. Newliu, first lieutenant. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Henry C. Wells, second lieutenant. 

David II. Fleming, first sergeant. 

William S. Walker, sergeant. 

Lewis Wilson, sergeant. 

Edward C. Bennett, sergeant. 

William A. Bair, sergeant. 

William W.Bair, sergeant. 

Augustine Birdsell, corporal. 

Adam J. Reese, corporal. 

John II. Baily, corporal. 

Henry C. Eby, corporal. 

Samuel F. Kennedy, corporal. 

Henry S. Barnes, corporal. 

Harrison liennard, corporal. 

John C. Boice, corporal. 

Jolin B. Taggert, corporal, died in 1862. 



Aim, David F. 
Adams, John Q. 
Baker, Enos C. 
Bair, John H. 
Brogan, Solomon. 
Bulack, John G. 
Burkhizer, Jacob. 
Bentley, Joshua M. 
Bird, Jesse. 
Cunningham, J. F. 
Connor, Samuel P. 
Channell, George W. 
Cornog, Henry E. 
Entriken, W. H. H. 
Foster, James. 
Finney, John W. 
Fish, Samuel R. 
Fox, Thomas V. 
Freel, Joseph C. 
Freed, W. II. H., 

died in 1862. 
Garrett, John T. 
Gilmore, Thomas J. 
Gordon, David E. 



Garrett, David. 
Greenleaf, Bruner. 
Hilton, Albert. 
Harkius, William. 
Ilolstein, John W. 
Ilacket, William. 
Harkins, George. 
Ilaydon, John. 
Ingram, James. 
Judge, John. 
Kimble, Joseph M. 
Kennedy, John W. 
Kane, William. 
Lukens, Clarkson. 
Lukens, Charles. 
Lawrence, Christ. 
Little, Samuel. 
Lamping, John. 
Lucas, Charles. 
Laml>orn, Marshall. 
Lancaster, W. W. 
Ludwick, Isaiah, 

died in 1862. 
Milligun, Smith A. 



Miller, William S. 
McFadden Milton. 
Northamer, Andr"w. 
Nicholson, John A. 
Nevvlin, Elisha H. 
Osborn, George L. 
Pyle, Joshua. 
Peters, Isaac. 
Paiste, Wm. H., died 

of wounds. 
Ray, James. 
Register, Henry 11. 
Ricker, George W. 
Reese, Judson. 



Stroud, Joseph J. 
Shaw, William P. 
Sharp, B. Frank. 
Shoemaker, Geo. W. 
Smith, William H. 
Shaw, William, died 

in 1862. 
Stroud, John W. 
Woodward, Ellis P. 
Wilkinson, Wm. D. 
Walters, Jesse. 
Walton, James B. 
Yoder, Andrew. 



ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-FIFTH PENN.SYL- 
VANIA INFANTRY. 

This regiment of nine months' drafted 
militia contained eight companies — B, C, D, 
E,F,G,IandK — from Chester county. The 
following of its officers were from Chester 
county: Lieut.-Col. F. C. Ilooton, Major 
Isaac McClure, Adj. J. T. Temple, Asst.- 
Surg. John F. Evans, Chaplain A. J. Row- 
land, Sergt.-Maj. J. F. Roberts, Quarter- 
master-Sergeant David Potts, Commissary- 
Sergeant J. S. Worrall,and Hospital-steward 
L. R. Brown. It served tirst in North Caro- 
lina, where it took part in two attempts to 
relieve the siege of Washington ; was then 
ordered to Washington, and afterward was 
sent to the upper Potomac, where at Har- 
per's Ferry it had a sharp skirmish with the 
12th Virginia cavalry. 

ROLL OF COMPANY II. 

Peter Colehower,jr., captain. 
Jeremiah H. Bender, first lieutenant. 
Anthony Irey, second lieutenant. 
Wm. D. McAfee, first sergeant. 
Wm. R. Epright, sergeant. 
Davis Mock, sergeant. 
David W. Jones, sergeant. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOItY 



Mahlon Sowers, sergeant- 
Thomas Hilborn, corporal. 
James Maharty, corporal. 
Edward F. Bickel, corporal. 
Charles C. Keebler, corporal. 
Jesse Sturges, corporal. 
Christian Emery, corporal. 
Wm. J. Wagoner, corporal. 
Alexander Hawk, musician. 
Gr. W. Wainwright, musician. 



Adams, Henry. 
Benjamin, John A. 
Beeler, Daniel T. 
Corle, Gabriel. 
Cramp, George. 
Davidson, Wm. H. 
Davidson, John H. 
Everly, Henry. 
Groff, J. C. N. 
Hippie, William. 
Hughes, Samuel. 
Hartman, Jesse. 
Hartenstine, Ebel. 
Hughes, Joseph. 
Jones, Thomas K. 
Jones, Henry L. 
Knapp, Henry. 
Knerr, George W. 
liudwick, William. 
Lukins, Chas. 
Link, Simon, 
Monshower, Enos L. 
Miller, William. 



ATES. 

March, Isaiah. 
Mintzler, David. 
Nyraan, Bernard. 
Nyman, Sylvester. 
Nichols, Eli as. 
Nichols, Samuel. 
Oberholtzer, H. S. 
Painter, Isaac. 
Quay, Theodore. 
Raysor, William. 
Rice, Jacob. 
Snell, Wm. D. 
Shaw, Henson L. 
Sowers, Theodore. 
Small, Charles. 
Stine, John K. 
Speakman, Henry. 
AVise, Alexander. 
Wadsworth, John E. 
Wagoner, Jacob B. 
Weedon, James. 
Year, Henry. 



ROLL OF COMPANY C. 

Levi Fetters, captain. 
John Lewis, first lieutenant. 
John P. Ford, second lieutenant. 
George King, jr., first sergeant. 
Milton Williams, first sergeant. 



Brown, Aaron. 
Broomall, Robert. 
Blondon, Ermount. 
Burns, Wm. H. 
Barrett, Isaac P. 
Barnett, Joseph. 
Broomall, John. 
Buckwalter, John C. 
Bartholomew, Ed. 
Bowen, John S. 
Courtney, James. 
Carter, Daniel. 
Coulter, Lewis. 
Detweiler, Abram. 
Davis, John H. 
Darbarrow, Isaac. 
Dresser, Isaac. 
Donald, John. 
Dougherty, Edward. 
Desmarest, Alfred. 
Evans, Levi P. 
Essick, Samuel. 
Earshaw, Joshua. 
Furnwalt, Samuel 0. 
Gunkle, William. 
Hines, Benjamin. 
Johnson, Thomas. 
Jardine, William C. 
King, Thomas S. 
Krauser, Lewis E. 
King, William, died 

in 1863. 
Lockhart, Samuel. 
Lynch, Henry. 
Law, Matthias P. 
Lowry, George. 
Landis, Peter. 
Lilly, Robert B. 
Myers, James. 



Moore, William. 
Miles, Evan. 
Mulholland, Israel. 
McCord, Augustus. 
McMinn, Alfred. 
McQuerns, Alex. 
McAlear, James. 
McCloskey, John. 
McCorkle, Thomas. 
McCartin, Michael. 
Oner, Augustus. 
Opperman, David. 
Pennypacker, Levi. 
Petermau, Bohlen. 
Powell, Evan. 
Powell, Abraham. 
Pixley, Howell. 
Pennypacker, A. 
Pechin, John A. 
Pearce, John. 
Rusk, Palmer. 
Rambo, Wm. V. 
Reeves, William. 
Regester, Jacob T. 
Robinson, James. 
Roberts, John F. 
Ryan, Charles. 
Snyder, George. 
Smedley, Taylor. 
Stepleton, William. 
Steitler, Wm. W. 
Trego, Lewis. 
Townsend, Eber. 
Thomas, Alfred. 
Townsend, Oliver. 
Trego, Harris. 
Wagner, Robert. 
Walker, Jones P. 
York, James. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



85 



ROLL OF COMPANY D. 

Joseph M. Thompson, captain. 
Nathaniel Sinnners, first lieutenant. 
Evan Sheeler, second lieutenant, died at 
Washington City. 

Richard G. Cook, second lieutenant. 
William Templin, sergeant. 
Samuel Handwork, sergeant. 
Lewis W. Millard, sergeant. 
Joseph Frainor, sergeant. 
John J. Wiilinar, corporal. 
John K. Wynn, corporal. 
George W. Reagan, corporal. 
Mordecai Boyer, corporal. 
Samuel Swinehart, corporal. 
Lewis Beiteman, corporal. 
Jonathan Kiiauer, musician. 
Lot Brown, musician. 



Barr, Marris L. 
Campbell, Coleman. 
Crosby, Lot E. 
Chram, Daniel. 
Collins, John. 
Cosgrave, James. 
Dolby, Abraham. 
Deece, Henry. 
Eaches, Wni. C. 
Ewing, William. 
Freed, Lafayette. 
Fatinger, Henry. 
Garvin, William. 
(Tresh, Enoch. 
Hofficker, Jesse. 
Hughes, Tliomas. 
Hughes, James. 
Handwork, Aaron. 
High. Jacob, 
llollickei* Cyril.-. 
Harple, David. 
Ueyle. I'hilip. 



Hughes, Ezekiel. 
Hartenstein, Rich. 
James, James H. 
Johnson, John. 
Jones, Francis M. 
Krauner, Jonah. 
Kepliart, John. 
Lentz, Samuel. 
Lowry, William. 
.Moyer, Samuel. 
Moser, John B. 
Munholland, Oliver. 
Moore, Henry. 
MeAlicher, Levi. 
M'Farland, Wm. 
I'ierson, David. 
Potts, Nathaniel. 
I'hipps, Lewis. 
Reynolds, Isaac 
Schlepf, Daniel. 
Shanner. George. 
Sheaver, .Folin. 



Simmers, John. 
Wright, John W. 

Wynn, James. 



Weidner, John. 
Whiteman, Andrew. 



ROLL OF COMPANY E. 

Theodore T. Woolens, captain. 
Joseph S. Wilson, first lieuteniint. 
David Mercer, second lieutenant. 
Nathan P. Walton, first sergeant. 
Joel T. Terry, sergeant. 
E. Featherman, sergeant. 
Alban Otley, sergeant. 
William A. Wiley, sergeant. 
Joseph Wilson, corporal. 
Wilson Smith, corporal. 
Samuel Bye, corporal. 
J. M. D. Thomson, corporal. 
Hiram D. Jeiuiess, i-orjioral. 
Frederick Clark, corporal. 
William Marris, corporal. 
Benjamin McDonald, corporal. 
Howard Buckalew, musician. 



Ayres, William I'. 
Bicking, E. Kelson, 

died in 186-3. 
Burnett, Jonathan. 
Bye, Enoch. 
Booth, John P. 
Boyd, James A. 
Brady Jackson W. 
Brown, Benjamin. 
Conn, George. 
Crowl, John A. 
Dunlap. .Tohn ('. 
Davis, William II. 
Ely, Charles. 
Farra. William II. 
Gregg. Josejili II. 
(irason, l)avi<l. 
Galloway. Wm. U. 



Gove, Nathan C. 
(Troves, Abram. 
Hutton, SaTuuel, 

died in 180:5. 
Hall, Jolin. 
Johnson, Isaac 
•lester. Win. 
Ivonni'tiy, Robert. 
Kay. Thomas. 
!.,aliy, Michael. 
.Miller. Jacob. 
Marris. I'liineas. 
Muiidall. David. 
Montgomery, Wm. 
NetliiTy, Le»'. 
ONeil, Jolin. 
Osborn, .ioscpli. 
I'iikt'rinsr, Wm. .1. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Pass, Thomas. 
Rambo, Robert. 
Sentman, Joseph. 
Strickland, Joseph. 
Spencer, David. 
Springer, George. 



Taylor, Chandler. 
Wingate, Jenner. 
Wort, Thomas J. 
Wilson, Matthew J. 
Wingate, Thomson. 



ROLL OF COMPANY F. 

W. N. Worthington, captain. 
Owen R. Horn, first lieutenant. 
John E. Miller, second lieutenant, died in 
1863. 

Samuel J. Wood, second lieutenant. 
Thomas H. P. West, sergeant. 
John Loupole, sergeant. 
Lewis Turner, sergeant. 
William McCormick, sergeant. 
Charles Paist, corporal. 
David Patterson, corporal. 
Patchall Evans, corporal. 
Stephen L. Smedley, corporal. 
Thomas Richards, corporal. 
W. M. Richards, corporal. 
William C. Wood, corporal. 
George Evison, musician. 



Anderson, Matth. J. 
Allison, Isaac. 
Beck, Joseph R. 
Bailey, George. 
Baldwin, Frank. 
Chattin, Martin. 
Coates, James. 
Conner, Samuel. 
Dodge, Francis L. 
Evanis, William M. 
Farra, Richard. 
Farr, Charles. 
Farrel, Jesse J. 
Gill, Charles. 
Hall, Samuel. 



Hannum, Amor. 
Kelly, Henry. 
Kennedy, Hayes. 
Lawrence, Smith. 
Leamy, Zacharias. 
Mercer, Geo. W. 
McCullough, James. 
McKinley, John. 
Milson, James E. 
Mollyneaux, Thos. 
Myers, John. 
Rigley, Samuel. 
Robinson, John. 
Rezer, Charles W. 
Reese, Ezekiel. 



Sample, Isaac W. Wack, John W. 



Savage, William. 
Shinier, William. 
Syphard, Samuel 0. 
Shap, John. 
Valentine, Wesley. 



Winsey, James A., 

died in 1863. 
Wells, William. 
White, Aaron S. 
Worrell, J. Seydon. 



ROLL OF COMPANY G. 

Josiah Jackson, captain. 

H. R. M. Whitman, first lieutenant. 

John Cox, second lieutenant. 

John B. Taylor, second lieutenant. 

William H. Shaner, first sergeant. 

Nathan N. Booth, sergeant. 

Elkannon Savage, sergeant. 

Mark Reinhart, sergeant. 

John Bachman, corporal, died in 1863. 

George F. Pickel, corporal. 

Wm. Carl, corporal. 

Samuel Missimer, corporal. 

John Rothrock, corporal. 

Adam Grander, corporal. 

William Hummell, musician. 

William Way, musician. 



Bell, Jonathan. 
Bachmann, Reuben. 
Brook, Firman C. 
Cauller, James. 
Cloud, John T. 
Cox, Miller. 
Cox, Jonathan. 
Curry, George. 
Cooper, Bayard T. 
Chandler, T. J. 
Conner, Anthony. 
Dickinson, Davis. 
Drumhiller, George. 
Evans, James. 
Fregh, Frederick. 
Fisher, Jacob. 



Frowheiser, Samuel. 
Faiese, George. 
I'Vock, Jacob. 
Fitzsimmons, Dan'i. 
Graves, Harvey. 
Heck, William. 
Hatfield, Jacob. 
Hobclaim, John. 
Harlan, Jones. 
Harlan, Henry. 
Harlan, Stephen W. 
Hamer, James. 
Irwin, William. 
Kendall, Samuel. 
Keller, Enos. 
Lfessig, David. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



87 



Mellon, James S. 
Maxwell, Franklin C 
Montgomery, G.F.C. 
Mutter, Samuel M. 
Mohiner, John. 
Murry, Levi. 
Nyman, Jacob. 
Noblet, Chas. H. 
Orr, William. 
Ottinger, Jacob. 
Potts, William. 
Peniiypaoker, H. S. 
Riese, Jefterson. 
Rhodes, Daniel. 
Ritmorer, Reuben. 



Rau, Henry. 
Sharpless, JSTath. W. 
8teel, Alexander. 
Smith, John. 
Smearer, William. 
Swinehart, John Y. 
Shaffer, Hiram, 
Shaner, Enos H. 
Strump, Cyrus. 
Taylor, William. 
Turner, John. 
Vernon, William G. 
Weaver, Samuel Y. 
Woodward, Milton. 
Yocum, Albert. 



ROLL OK (COMPANY 1. 

Thomas A. Hicks, captain. 
Robert Futbey, first lieutenant. 
Jesse G. Hicks, second lieutenant. 
John Hosmer, second lieutenant. 
Samuel Hershberger, first sergeant. 
John A. Morrow, sergeant. 
Barclay Hoopes, sergeant. 
Robert F. Wright, sergeant. 
Thaddeus Richardson, sergeant. 
Thomas Pierson, corporal. 
Stacey M. Eldridge, corporal. 
Thomas Martin, corporal. 
Lewis Evans, corporal. 
JoVin Hershberger, corporal. 
Aaron Miller, corporal. 
Enoch Gray, corporal. 



Anderson, Saml. C. 
Boyer, John .]. 
Bracken, John D. 
Bahel. Samuel W. 
Brown. Joseph. 
Cochran, James. 
Commons, James. 



Commons, John. 
Cunningham, \V 
Davis, John, 
(iladding, Levi, 
(^ray, John. 
Hanley, Floreiui 
Holt. Thomas. 



Hindman, Thos. B. 
Hilton, Isaac. 
Hension, Julius. 
Irwin, John. 
Lacklan, John. 
Macherett, Jonathan 
McCienachan, R. G. 
Pyle, William M. 
Pyle, Edward. 
Plumley, William. 



Reven, John. 
Snyder, Samuel. 
Stoner, David. 
Underwood, J. H. 
Weaver, Sylvester. 
Wear, William. 
Wagoner, Charles. 
Worrest, George. 
Webster, Asa. 



ROLL OK COiMl'ANV K. 

George W. Werntz, captain. 
Isaac Cook, first lieutenant. 
Edward Helms, second lieutenaTit. 
Charles W. Steward, first sergeant. 
Henry H. Fleming, sergeant. 
Jacob Aceret, sergeant. 
Maurice N. Hannum, sergeant. 
John S. Shoemaker, corporal. 
James H. Long, corporal. 
Benjamin F. Priley, corpoi-al. 
Charles Whittaker, corporal. 
Matthew S. Cain, corporal. 
W. C. McLaughlin, corporal. 



Barns, Jacob L. 

Businger, Godfricd. 

Bosser, Martin. 

Buckwalter, D. R. 

Brown, Louis R. 

Cairns. William. 

Christy, William I'. 

Chrystal. John. 

McF. Clower, James. 

Durham, George T. 

Docherty, John. 

Duniap, James E. 

Eberhart, Wm. R. 
' Higgins. Thomas F. 
I HoUowav, Francis. 



Hough, Edwin. 
Howard, Henry. 
Keeley, Joseph. 
Kerper, Jolin. 
Kiemer, John V. 
Ivirk, Jesse K. 
Klotz, Christian. 
Lawrence, Benj. 
i..emon, James. 
Lewis, Samuel, 
r^igget, John. 
Mattis. Moses. 
Mcndenliall, Saml. 
Middleton, Samuel. 
Miirrv. .lohn. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Reedy, John. 
Eoot, John. 
Robinson, John. 
Snyder, Jacob. 
Stanfler, Ephraini. 
Stone, Lewis. 
Strong, James W. 
Whiteman, Thomas. 



Munshower, Daniel. 
Murry, George. 
McClees, John. 
Mcllheney, John. 
McKenzie, Alex. 
McWilliams, S. R. 
Potts, David. 
Read, Isaac D. 
Reid, Morgan L. 

ELEVENTH CAVALRY (108th Regiment). 

This regiment, originally known as "Har- 
lan's Light Cavalry," was raised in 1861, 
underspecial autliority. Its companies were 
from Iowa, Ohio, New York, New Jersey, 
and Pennsylvania ; and Company B was from 
Chester county. The Eleventh cavalry did 
good service in the army of the James, par- 
ticipated in several dangerous expeditions, 
and fought bravely in many pitched battles 
and minor engagements. 

ROLL OF COMPANY B. 

George T. Cornog, captain, promoted to 
major. 

W. Dewees Roberts, captain, died of 
wounds. 

James E. McFarlan, captain, promoted to 
major. 

John W. Ford, captain. 

Hilborn Darlington, first lieutenant. 

Henry C. Brooks, second lieutenant. 

Samuel L. Monday, second lieutenant, 
died of wounds. 

William D. Irwin, second lieutenant. 

James M. Riggs, second lieutenant. 

George D. Gross, first sergeant. 

Stephen G. Slike, fii'st sergeant. 

Richard McFarlan, first sergeant, killed at 
South Anna river. 

RobertWarusliei',quartermaster-sergeant. 

George Robinson, coinuiissary sers^eant. 



Arthur B. Yeager, sergeant. 
John Allen, sergeant. 
Edward Furlong, sergeant. 
James G. Keech, sergeant. 
Mark R. Lloyd, sergeant. 
James E. McConnell, sergeant. 
Harlan D. Rigg, sergeant. 
Edward Vanosten, sergeant. 
Levi B. Yoder, sergeant. 
Benjamin Broomal, sergeant. 
Thomas V. Bailey, sergeant. 
Jonathan Worrell, corporal. 
George W. Sinn, corporal. 
Thomas D. Kerns, corporal. 
John W. Dumall, corporal. 
Edward Rushforth, corporal. 
John Henry, corporal. 
Bernard Yost, corporal. 
Thomas J. Handley, corporal. 
Robert Townsend, corporal. 
John D. Guthrie, corporal. 
George W. Mowday, corporal. 
Charles Painter, corporal. 
William C. Carpenter, corporal. 
Edward P. Rice, bugler. 
Jacob H. Storm, bugler. 



Amber, Ezra. 
Amber, Edwin. 
Ayers, James C. 
Bronson, Eli. 
Baker, Theodore. 
Binkley, Peter. 
Burns, John T. 
Bowman, David. 
Butler, Owen. 
Buller, Elliott. 
Bruce, Robert. 
Bishop, George H. 
Bride, Robert. 
Bewley, Jesse L. 



Burt, Hiram. 
Blake, James. 
Compton, John. 
Cross, Samuel. 
Comstock, Giles. 
Care, Henry. 
Clemens, Jonathan. 
Chrisman, Jona. H. 
Care, John. 
Carson, Harrison. 
Care, Clement B. 
Cowan, John. 
Clarke, Geo. E. A. 
Coyie, Edward. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



89 



Click, Will., (lied 

1864. 
Dugan, Dunicl. 
Dugaii, Tlioiiiiis. 
Day, Paiiiol. 
Dague, Win. S. 
Dedier, All)iiii,kil 

ill action. 
Dunn, Natliaii. killed 

in action. 
Everett, Reuben. 
P]ffrig, Matthew. 
Edwards, Daniel. 
Englertli, George. 
Eppehinier, Jacob. 
Fagan, Chris. 
Frank, Joseph. 
Foreman, Henry D. 
Ford, Isaac W. 
Good, John V\^ 
Gruber, Belthaser. 
Guiney, Franklin A 
Guie, William 11. 
Hammer, Joseph. 
Hughes, Jacob. 
Henlen, Henry. 
Heeler, Josepli. 
Hesler, John. 
Heckmaii, John. 
Heckuian, William. 
Helgert, John. 
Harlan, Geo. W. 
Houck, John. 
Howe, Nathan. 
Helfriok, Edward. 
Hock, Matthias. 
Hamilton, Owen. 
Hechlcr, Jacob. 
Hail, Lewis E. 
Hawk, N., kille.l i. 
action. 



1 High, Torbett. 

Hughes, Joseph, 
died a prisoner. 

Irwin, Andrew. 

Ingram, James. 

Irwin, Adam C. 
1 Jymison, John, 

killed in action. 

1 .Jones, William P... 

died of wounds. 

Johnson, John, died 
in 1864. 

. I ones, Patrick. 

Kenning, Chas. H. 

Kingle, Howard. 

Kennedy, Israel. 

Kelly, Jolm. 

Lowe, .Tames W. 

Long, Robert. 

Lawrence, Thomp. 

Leslie, Jacob P. 

Linderman, John B. 

Morgan, James P. 

Myers, John P. 

Mitchel, James E. 

Mowday, .lohn C. 

Minim, Samuel. 

Morris, John. 

Mimm, Isaac. 

McCurdy, J. H. 

Morrison, William. 

Mablon, Elijah H. 

Murry, Henry. 

Mitchell, Win. H. 

Morgan, Amos T. 

.Morgan, Ciiartes H., 
died of wounds. 

.Miller, .John H..died 
in 1K64. 

\filligan, I. M.. died 
in 1864. 



Mimm, Washington, 

died ill 1864. 
McCachran, Elias. 
McBride, William. 
Brannaii, McChaFr., 

died in 1862. 
Neely, Samuel H. 
O.xner, Luke. 
Palmer, Samuel. 
Painter, Cyrus. 
Parlanian, Edward. 
Rice, George W. 
Rowe, Chas. W. 
Reed, John. 
Reifsnyder, David. 
Rishnell, George D. 
Rishnell, Samuel. 
Rishnell, Henry H. 
Robinson, Richard. 
Ritiier, Samuel D. 



Seiverd, W. 
Seiverd, Samuel. 
Steele, .Joseph. 
Simpson, B. 
Scott, Hiram. 
Smith, Tlieodore. 
Shock, Philip. 
Shaw, Will. W. 
Spotts, John. 
Spotts, George M. 
Sides, Samuel R. 
Slike, David. 
Serfass, Reuben. 
Shuftenberger, John. 
Sweeten, Jackson. 
Thomas, George. 
Wilkinson, Isaac, 
killed in action. 
Yost, C. M. 
Ziegenfuss, T. J. 

TWK.NTiETH c.WALRY (ISlst Regiment). 

This regiment was raised in 1864, ami 
served until the close of the war. It was 
engaged in numerous skirmislies and lights, 
and bore itself gallantly at Dinwiddle 
Courthouse and Five Forks. Company M 
was from Chester county. 

ROLL OF COMPANY M. 

Lewis V. Evans, captain. 

Beiij. H. Sweney, lieutenant, promoted 
to captain. 

Alfred Brinton, first lieutenant. 

John H. Babb, second lieutenant. 

I'ayne A. Gould, second lieutenant. 

Isaac W. Sweney, first sergeant. 

Charles IT. Areson. quartermaster ser- 
geant. 

Henry C. Wilson, fpiartermaster sergeant. 

Robert R. Skeen, commissary sergeant. 

("heyney J. Watkins, sergeant. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



H. Curry, sergeant. 
Hibbard Stapleton, sergeant. 
Morgan L. Reed, sergeant. 
George W. Derrick, corporal. 
David S. Will, corporal. 
Adam Gabell, corporal. 
S. Walton Willams, corporal, died at An- 
dersonville. 

George W. Young, corporal. 
Alexander Mehaffle, corporal. 
Wm. F. Vandusen, corporal. 
G. M. D. Connor, corporal. 
Thomas R. Mills, corporal. 
Daniel Nevelling, corporal. 
J. Roland Smith, corporal. 
Fred. Shimp, corporal. 
William Hacker, bugler. 
Charles Moll, bugler. 



PRIVATES. 



Annent, Wm. H. 
Ackley, Benj. L. 
Adams, George W. 
Broodabelt, William. 
Bittler, Elwood. 
Boice, John C. 
Bailey, George W. 
Chidister, David. 
Congleton, Joseph. 
Cassey, Martin. 
Curry, James. 
Clenison, Milton. 
Conner, Samuel P. 
Clark, Milton M. 
Congleton, William. 
Clark, Addison M. 
Cain, William. 
Cox, William W. 
Cornell, Henry S. 
Cavanaugh, Philip. 
Caley, Bernard. 



Codon, Gideon. 
Donley, Lewis. 
Davis, Charles. 
Eckard, Edward E., 

died a prisoner. 
Evans, David. 
Faley, George W. 
Greenwood, Joseph, 

died a prisoner. 
Gill, Samuel H. 
Gegenheimer, Wm. 
Hughes, Andrew F. 
Huleistein, R. B. 
Hutton, Benj. K. 
Mutton, Hugh M. 
Hoopes, John G. 
Ireland, John P. 
Johnson, John H. 
Jenks, Wra. H., died 

in 1865. 
James, Jacob B. 



King, Silas. 
Lafferty, Edward. 
Mclntire, Edward P. 
McFarlan,Edwardr. 
McClain, David. 
McDermott, John. 
Mercer, Joseph R., 

died a prisoner. 
Martin, John. 
Meldone, Hugh. 
Mace, Alban. 
Mehaffle, Amor. 
Missimer, Geo. B. 
Martin, Charles. 
Nichols, Jesse J. 
Newman, George. 
Patterson, Elwood. 
Pyle, Charles H. 
Quinlin, John. 
Rhoades, Amos L. 
Royal, Wm. A. 
Richards, Henry. 
South wood, Thomas. 
Smith, James. 
Simons, Henr3'. 

In addition to the soldiers of the com- 
panies given, Chester county men served 
in the following Pennsylvania regiments: 
26th, 27th, 29th, 39th, 46th, 49th, 50th, 
51st, 54th, 55th, 58th, 61st, 63d, 67th, 68th, 
71st, 72d, 73d, 76th, 88th, 93d, 97th, 99th, 
102d, lOSd, 104th, 105th, 109th, 111th, 
115th, 116th, 130th, 131st, 133d, 139th, 
14l8t, 148d, 147th, 150th, 157th, 165th, 
179th, 183d, 184th, 187th, 188th, 189th, 
190th, 198th, 199th, 20.3d, and 213th in- 
fantry; 1st, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 11th, 
12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th, 18th, and 21st 
cavalry; and Ist and 2d artillery. 

We have account of the following offi- 
cers who served in the regiments named 



Senberger,W.W. 
Skeen, Benj. F. 
Scott, Joshua, killed 

in action. 
Smith, George. 
Springer, Wm. G. 
Stanert, Frank C. 
Shamberger, 0. F. 
Smith, Columbus. 
Salkeld, Henry. 
Stout, Edmund. 
Smith, John. 
Snyder, Jacob. 
Tennis, Israel. 
Torbert, John K. 
Townsend, Philip P. 
Townsley, Robert. 
Vanzant, Nehemiah. 
Valentine, Henry C. 
Wilt, Wm. H. 
Williams, Morgan B. 
Williams, HoratioA. 
Watson, Charles. 
Wagner, George W. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



•1 



above: Colonels — H. S. Thomas, W. M. 
McClure, and G. F. Smith; lieutenant-col- 
onels— C. B. Lamborn, T. S. Bell, and J. F. 
Andress; majors — Nathan Davis, .lames 
Given, W. B. Darlington, P. Hney, and 
George E. Gourand; c-aptaiiis — J. J. Fen- 
lin, P. F. Whitehead, Mitchell Smitli, E. E. 
Lewis, P. J. Phillips, W. C. Garrett, W. 
M. Hinkson, D. W. Ney, J. W. Russell, 
Charles Whiting, W. Slifer, J. E. Johnson, 
W. H. Forrest, J. B. Taylor, G. C. Mar- 
shall, W. M. Clark, Jolin L. Rees, J. M. 
Barclay, G. W. Ashenfelter, B. F. Bean, 
C. S. Carmack, Henry G. Dodge, X. A. 
Pennypacker, E. K. Ramsey and Joseph 
Taggart. 

The following privates served in Co. D of 
the 97th infantry: William H. Brown, E. 
Butler, S. J. Cloud, J. Crosson, John B. 
Harry, G.W. Evenson, F. M. Frame, Enoch 
Hannum, H. Higgins. Jolni E. Huey, B. 
Hughes, G. W. Miles, G. B. Moore, John 
Park, Patterson Riley, E. B. Pyle, J. Rus- 
sell, J. Sharp, Jacob R. Smith, T. M.Smith, 
W. Smith,.I.H. Stuckey and Hugh Tenney. 
In ('o. (4 of the same regiment were the 
following privates: G. W. Ross, Enoch Dun- 
lap, E. B. Frame, James Grindrod, John (t. 
Herkins, Charles Jones, Hugh McKenna, 
Thomas J. Otty, Frederick Thomas, and 
William Divine. 

The 192d Pennsylvania infantry, which 
served for one hundred days, contained two 
companies from Chester county : Co. N, 
commanded by Capt. B. N. Brooke; and 
Co. P, \inder Capt. J. N. Woodward. 

The Pennsylvania militia organizations 
of 1862 did good service, and several hun- 
dred of these men were in line of battle at 
Antietam. ready to advance if their services 
had been needed. The following militia 
companies were from Chester county: 



Regiment. 

Ist infantry. 

2d infantry. 

2d infantry. 
10th infantry. 
10th infantry. 
10th infantry. 
10th infantry. 
10th infantry. 
12th infantry. 
12th infantry. 
12th infantry. 
16th infantry. 
21st infantry. 
2l8t infantry. 
21st infantry. 
21st infantry. 
21st infantry. 

There were also three independent com- 
panies from the county, commanded by cap- 
tains W. A. Andrews, Joseph Umstead and 
Jacob Beamont. 

The Pennsylvania malitia organizations 
of 1863 that responded to Governor Cur- 
tin's call to resist Lee's second northern in- 
vasion, were known as " emergency" troops 
or Tiien. The following "emergency" com- 
panies were from Chester county: 



Companj 


Captain. 


c 


G. W. Gordon. 


B 


James Hughes. 


D 


G. B. Thomas. 


A 


Thomas Reed. 


B 


J. B. Everhart. 


C 


J. L. Carter. 


F 


W. A. Moore. 


G 


William Hanua. 


B 


W. R. Ash. 


F 


T. R. Thomas. 


G 


Abraham Fetter,jr 


K 


Joseph McMullin. 


D 


A. J. Rowland. 


E 


Peter Colehower. 


H 


Horace A. Beale. 


I 


Matthew Barker. 


K 


T. A. Hicks. 



Compnn> 


Captain. 


Regiment. 


K 


\V. R. Ash. 


27th 


infantry. 


.\ 


W. C. Dickey. 


29th 


infantry. 


B 


J. A. Eicholtz. 


29th 


infantry. 


D 


\V. M. Hinkson. 


29th 


infantry. 


E 


Jos. McMullen. 


29th 


infantry. 


K' 


T. W. Parker. 


29th 


infantry. 


A 


James Hughes. 


80th 


infantry. 


A 


C. W. Robei-ts. 


43d 


infantry. 


M 


J. W. Davis. 


43d 


infantry. 


C 


D. H. Cochran. 


43d 


infantry. 


E 


W. V. Sti-ickland. 


43d 


infantry. 


II 


G. W. Brannon. 


43d 


infantry. 


W 


G. K. Crozer. 


45th 


infantry. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



There were also three independent com- 
panies — two cavalry and one infantry — 
from the county, commanded by captains 
Wayne McVeagh, Alhan H. Myers, and 
Horace A. Beale. A large number of col- 
ored men from Chester county enlisted in 
Pennsylvania colored regiments and served 
for terms of one, two and three years. 

Progress and Development. — Chester coun- 
ty has passed through several consecutive 
periods of development, and while its 
progress has not been phenomenal yet it 
has been solid and substantial. The county 
ranks to-day with the older and progressive 
counties of the Union, is noted for the gen- 
eral intelligence and culture of its people, 
and is very rich in mineral and agricultural 
resources. Its iron and marble industries 
are important, while its mines of chrome, 
lead, glass sand and plumbago have been 
worked with profit. In manufactures, par- 
ticularly of iron, wood and brick, the 
county has made rapid advance within the 
last two decades, and several of its towns 
and t)oroughs have, in consequence, taken a 
new life and increased largely in population 
and wealth. Eighteen railroads passing 
through the county place every community 
within reach of good markets. Great im- 
provement has been made within the last 
few years in the schools and colleges of the 
county, while the farmers of the county have 
developed new lines of agriculture in hor- 
ticulture and dairy farming. Chester 
county has shown a progress worthy of this 
great land of development, and of which 
her highly intelligent citizens may be justly 
proud. 

Agriculture. — Chester county contains 
every variety of soil and surface, and the 
Downingtown or Great Valley is the one of 
the most beautiful and finest farniino- dis- 



tricts to be found in the United States. The 
county is essentially an agricultural one, 
although considerable attention has been 
given to the raising of fine stock. Spanish 
merino sheep were introduced in 1810, Dur- 
ham cattle in 1824, and the celebrated 
Chester white hog is a native of the county. 
Tobacco culture was introduced prior to 
1860, and twenty years later nearly five 
hundred acres were set out in plants. 
Dairy farming has developed into a promi- 
nent interest, and creameries have been 
established in many parts of the county. 
The nursery business has grown to large 
proportions, and among the early nurseries 
were: Jason M. Mahan's, established in 
1836 ; the Morris, about 1850 ; and the large 
Maple Avenue nurseries, of Hoopes, Bro. & 
Thomas, which were started in 1853, by the 
name of Cherry Hill. Of the other nurseries 
in the county was one owned by the Dingee 
& Conard Company, who are now the most 
extensive growers of roses in the United 
States. 

Irrigation was used to some extent in the 
early history of the county, and agricultural 
progress was naturally slow for many years. 
The farmers of Chester county to-day are 
so well acquainted with the seci"ets of pro- 
gressive agriculture that they not only keep 
their farms in a high state of productive- 
ness, but at the same time use the best 
methods known for retaining and preserv- 
ing the fertility of their lands. 

Post Offices. — The first office in the county 
was Downingtown, which was established 
April 1. 1798, with Hunt Downing as post- 
master. In 1810 there were thirteen ofiices 
in the county ; in 1820, twenty-four; 1830, 
fifty-six; 1840, sixty-three; 1850, seventy- 
nine; 1800, ninety-two; 1870, ninty-nine; 
1880, one hundred and tliirty-four, and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



1890, one hundred and sixty-iive. There 
are now one hundred and seventy offices in 
the county, wliose names are as follows: 



Aldhani. 

Anselnia. 

Ash. 

Atglen. 

Avondale. 

Bacton. 

Barneston. 

Barnsley. 

Berwyn. 

Birchrunville. 

Birdell. 

Black Horse. 

Blue Rock. 

Brandamore. 

Brandywine Manor. 

Buck Run. 

Cain. 

Cedar Knoll. 

Cedarville. 

Chadd's Ford June. 

Chatham. 

Chester Springs. 

Chester Valley. 

Chesterville. 

Chrome. 

Cloud. 

Coatesville. 

Cochranville. 

CoUamer. 

Compassville. 

Corinne. 

Cossart. 

Coventryville. 

Cupola. 

Devault. 

Devon. 

Dilworthtown. 

Doe Run. 

Downingtown. 



Duffryn Mawr. 

East Coventry. 

East Downingtown. 

East Nantnieal. 

Elk Mills. 

Elkview. 

Embreeville. 

Ercildoun. 

Everhart. 

Exton. 

Fagg's Manor. 

Fairville. 

Font. 

Frazer. 

Fremont. 

Glen Hall. 

Glenloch. 

Glen Moore. 

Glen Roy. 

Goshenville. 

Green Hill. 

Gum Tree. 

Guthriesville. 

Hamorton. 

Hickory Hill. 

Honey Brook. 

Hopewell Cotton 

Works. 
Isabella. 
Jennersville. 
Kaolin. 
Kelton. 
Kemhiesville. 
Kenilworth. 
Kennett Square. 
Kiinberton. 
Landenbiirg. 
Lenape. 
Leuover. 



Leonard. 

Leopard. 

Lewisville. 

Lincoln University. 

Lionville. 

Loag. 

Londonderry. 

London Grove. 

Longwood. 

Lyndell. 

Malvern. 

Marlborough. 

Marsh. 

Marsballton. 

Martin's Corner. 

Matthews. 

Mendenhall. 

Merlin. 

Milford Mills. 

Milltown. 

Modena. 

Mortonville. 

Mount Vernon. 

Nantmeal Village. 

New Centreville. 

New Garden. 

New London. 

Northbrook. 

Norway. 

Nottingham. 

Oakbourne. 

Oxford. 

Paoli. 

Parker Ford. 

Parkersville. 

Parkesburg. 

Pawling. 

Phcenixville. 

Pickering. 

Pocopson. 

Pomeroy. 

Pughtown. 



Roberts. 

Rockville. 

Roinansville. 

Rosenvick. 

Russellville. 

Sadsburyville. 

Saint Peter's. 

Schuylkill. 

Seal. 

Sheeder. 

Shenkel. 

Smedley. 

Spring City. 

Steelville. 

Strafford. 

Strickersville. 

Sugartown. 

Suplee. 

Tablet. 

Tanquy. 

Thornbury. 

Thorndale Iron Wks. 

Timicula. 

Toughkenanion. 

Townsend. 

Tweedale. 

Tnionville. 

Uwchlan. 

Valley Forgo. 

Vincent. 

Wagontown. 

Wallace. 

Warren Tavern. 

Warwick. 

Warwick Furnace. 

Wawaaet. 

West Chester (C.H.). 

West Grove. 

West Pikeland. 

Westtown. 

West Vincent. 

West Whiteland. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HIS20RY 



White Horse. 
Whitford. 
Wildbrier. 
Williams Coruer. 



Willistown Inn. 
AVillowdale. 
Wyebrook. 
Zerniatt. 



The Press.— In January, 1797, Philip Der- 
rick and Nathan H. Sharpless established a 
monthly magazine called the Literary Mus- 
eum or Monthly Magazine, but it only lived 
six months. Shortly after this, Derrick and 
two other printers — Jones and Hoft' — 
started the West Chester Gazette, which was 
soon suspended. The second paper in the 
county was the Temperate Zone, of Dowiug- 
town, whicli made its appearance in 1808, and 
in 1822 was removed, under the name of 
the American Repiihliean, to West Chester, 
where in 1833 it was consolidated with the 
Chester County Democrat that had been 
started in 1830, and has continued up to the 
present time. The paper started out as 
neutral in politics, afterwards became demo- 
cratic, and since the war has been repub- 
lican. The next paper in the county was 
the Chester and Delaware Federalist, that 
was started at West Chester, in 1809, by 
Dennis Whelen. In 1817 it became the 

Village Record, which has continued up to 
the present time, and is republican in poli- 
tics. In 1814 ]S"athan Jackman started the 
Eden Star,th2it was short-lived. From 1814 
to 1835 the following papers were estab- 
lished and run their courses: Independent 
Journal of Downingtown, in 1827 ; Anti- 
Masonic Examiner, and Anti-Masonic Regis- 
ter; Literary Casket, of Yellow Springs, in 
1829; Waynesburg Press, in 1834; and the 

Whig, on April 15, 1834, at West Chester, 
by Rev. Simeon Siegfried, who figured 
prominently as an editor in the county, and 
afterward in western Pennsylvania, western 
Virginia and eastern Ohio. In May, 1835, 
Rev. Siegfried started the Repuhlicnn Stand- 



ard and Democratic Journal, and it was suc- 
ceeded by the Temperance Advocate, General 
Advertiser of Coatesville (1836), American 
Star, Silk Grower s Listructor, Colonization 
Hercdd, and Bee and Independent Journal. 
In 1843 the present Jejf'ersonian of West 
Chester was established, and has been dem- 
ocratic ever since. In 1846 came thePhoenix 
Gazette, and the next year the Crystal Foun- 
tain, both of which died before 1850. 

In 1853, appeared the Day Spring, and 
the Independent Hercdd, which latter was 
consolidated in 1863 with the American 
Republican. From 1853 to 1880 we have 
record of the following papers, and the 
years in which they were established : Ken- 
nett Square Free Press, 1855 ; Weekly Phee- 
nix, 1857; Pennsylvania Guardian, 1860; 
Rural Economist, 1862; Chester Valley 
Union, 1863 ; American Stock Journal, 1864 ; 
Children's Friend, 1866 ; Oxford Press, 1866 ; 
Chester County Journal, 1866 ; Commercial 
Advertiser, 1867 ; Legal Tender, 1869 ; Phoe- 
nixville Republican, 1870 ; Phoenixville Mes- 
senger, 1871; Farmers' Club, 1871; Weekly 
Leader, 1871 ; Oxford Leader, 1872 ; Spring 
City Sun, 1872 ; Local News, 1872 ; Downing- 
town Independent, 1873 ; Oxford Republican, 
1874; Parkesburg Hercdd, 1874; Chester 
County Archive, 1875 ; Item, 1876; Kennett 
News,1877 ; Kennett Advance, 1877 ; The Ray, 
1877 ; Christian Sunbeam, 1878 ; Green Tree 
and Malvern Item, 1878 ; Chester County 
Farmer, 1879 ; Weekly Times, 1879 ; Honey- 
brook Graphic, 1879 ; Chester County Demo- 
crat, 1879; Our Monthly, 1879; Farmers 
Magazi)u, IHSO; Parkesburg Trade Journal, 
1880; Student, ISSO; Chester County i?t'- 
porter, 1880, and Scattered Seeds, in 1880. 

The present twenty-three newspapers 
published in the county, are: Times and 
Herald, utBerwyn; Chester Valley Union, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



9B 



and the Times, botli of Coatesville ; Archioc, 
Downingtowii ; (7 raphic, lloueyhrook.; Ken- 
iiett Adcaixr and Keniiett Ncwd and Adrer- 
//.s<T,Kennett Square; /I'fw*, Malveri) ; Press, 
Oxford ; Chester County Times, Parkes- 
hurg; IJessaigcr, Rcpuhlican (daily), and 
Slofdli I) AniiTih; (Hungarian), Ph(enix- 
ville; Sun, Spring City; A/iirrican licpubli- 
fdv, Chester County Democrat, Chester 
County Post (German), Chester County 
Village Record, Jeffersonian, Local J^eios 
(daily), Re-publican, Village Record, West 
Chester; and Independent, and Chester 
County Mirror, West Grove. 

Churches. — We compile the following 
table of tlie number of churches in the 
county from 1850 to 1870, from the United 
States census reports : 

NUMBER OF CHURCHES IN CHESTER COUNTY 
FROM 1850 TO 1870. 
Denomination. 185U. 1860. IS70. 

Friends 37 39 

Baptist 21 23 22 

Presbyterian 19 28 22 

Lutheran rt 6 4 

German Reformed ■"> 6 9 

Episcopalian 9 11 11 

Methodist 45 51 43 

Catholic 2 5 6 

Mennonite 4 4 

Free 1 

Christian 1 

Congregational 1 

United Presbyterian 1 

Union 4 

Totals 150 179 117 

In the census of 1870 no statistics were 
returned in Pennsylvania of the Friends, 
nor of the six last denominations mentioned 
in the table. 



Societjj of Fiiends. — This sect was founded 
in England by (ieorge Fox about the middle 
of the last century. The most important 
division in this society occurred in 1827, 
when Elias Hicks became the leader of that 
part of the body which is known to-day as 
tlie "Hicksite" Friends or Quakers. The 
organization of the Society emV)race wor- 
ship, preparative, monthly, quarterly and 
yearl}' meetings. All of the meetings in 
this county, except one, belong to the Phil- 
adelphia Yearly meeting, which was estab- 
lished in 1681. Rolicrt Wade settled at 
Upland in 1675, and William Edmunson 
held a meeting there in that year, which 
afterwards became Chester meeting. Ches- 
ter also became the place for the Chester 
Monthly and the Chester Quarterly meeting. 

In 1690 Birmingham meeting was estab- 
lished, and a few years later Birmingham 
meeting house was built. From that time 
on meetings increased, and we have record 
of the following meetings in the county and 
the time of their organization : Goshen, 
1701; Kennett, 1707; New Garden, 1712; 
Uwchlan, 1712; Valley, 1714; London 
Grove, 1714; Cain, 1715; Bradford, 1719; 
Sadsbury, 1724; Xautmeal, 1739; West 
Cain, 1756; Willistowu, 1769; West Grove, 
1 788 ; Fallowlield, 1795 ; Marlborough, 1801 ; 
Dowingtown, 1806; Doe Run, 1808; West 
Chester, 1810; East Sadsbury, 1810; Ken- 
nett Square, 1812; Whitcland, 1818; Schuyl- 
kill, 1818; Pennsgrove, 1828; Cambridge, 
1825; Little Elk, 1825; London Britain, 
1834; Homcville, 1839; Unionville, 1845; 
Romansville, 1846; Kimberton, 1857; Ox- 
ford, 1879; and Malvern meeting in 1879. 
The Progressive Friemls came into existence 
to do battle with slavery, intemperance and 
other evils, and established Longwood meet- 
ing prior to 1850. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Baptist. — Great Valley is the oldest and 
was the first Baptist church that was organ- 
ized in the present county of Chester. It 
was established April 22, 1711, with Hugh 
Davis as minister, and Alexander Owen 
and William Rees as elders. Since then 
the following churches of that denomina- 
tion have been established : 

Vincent, 1771; London Tract, 1780; Hep- 
zibah, 1810 ; Beulah, 1823 ; Bethesda, 1827 ; 
Goshen, 1827; Phcenixville, 1830; Glen 
Run, 1832; Windsor, 1833; Willistown, 
1833; West Chester, 1834; East jSTantmeal, 
1841; West Cain, 1842; East Brandy- 
wine, 1843; Pughtown, 1856; Lawrence- 
ville,1858; Coatesville,1867; Berean,1878; 
Oxford, 1881; and Green Valley in 1881. 

Presbyterian. — Great Valley is the oldest 
Presbyterian church in the county, and its 
congregation formed in 1710, was not regu- 
larly organized until 1714. Since its or- 
ganization we have record of the following 
churches: Upper Octoraro, 1720; Oxford, 
1725; ]S"ew London, 1728; Fagg's Manor, 
1730; Brandywine Manor, 1735; Doe Run, 
1740; Charlestown, 1742; West Chester, 
1834 ; Coatesville, 1834 ; Honeybrook, 1835 ; 
Fairview, 1839; East Whiteland, 1839; 
Phcenixville, 1846; Atglen,1852; Downing- 
town, 1859 ; Berwyn, 1862 ; Kennett Square, 
1862; Ashmun, 1867; Avondale, 1870; 
Second Oxford, 1874; Toughkenamon, 
1877; Dilworthtown, 1877; and London- 
grove, in 1878. 

Lutheran. — Zion church was organized 
prior to 1770, but its early records are lost, 
and the date of its establishment cannot be 
given. Of the other Lutheran churches in 
the county we have obtained the date of es- 
tablishment for the following: St. Peter's, 
1770; St. Matthew's, 1833; St. Paul's, 
1839; St. Peter's, of PikeJand township, 



1840; Centennial, 1876; Central, 1876; 
and Spring City in 1880. 

GermaM Reformed . — Brownback's, or the 
First Reformed church of Coventry, was 
organized prior to 1743, and of the churches 
since then in the county we have obtained 
the following information of their establish- 
ment : East Vincent, 1758 ; St. Peter's, 1811 ; 
St. Matthew's, 1833 ; Shenkle's, or Second 
Reformed of Coventry, 1837; St. Paul's, 
1838; and St. Vincent's in 1848. 

Protestant EpiscopaL — Radnor, or St. 
David's church, was established about 1685, 
by a Welsh colony that came from Radnor- 
shire Wales. Of the establishment of other 
Episcopal churches, w^e have the following : 
St. John's, 1729; St. Peters, 1744; St. 
John's, of -Peun township, 1744; St. Paul's, 
1828 ; St. Mark's, 1835 ; Holy Trinity, 1835 ; 
St. Peters, of Phcenixville, 1838 ; St. James", 
1838; and Trinity in 1868. 

31etlwdist Episcopal. — Isaac Rollins was 
the first Methodist minister to preach in the 
county. He came about 1772. Of the 
establishment of Methodist churches we 
give the following: Benson Chapel, 1774; 
Grove, 1774; Andersons, 1780; Laurel, 
1797 ; Romausville, between 1773 and 1811 ; 
Springfield, 1798 ; Hopewell, before 1805 ; 
Coatesville, 1817; Waynesburg, 1824; Elk 
Ridge, 1825; Marshallton, 1828; Oxford, 
about 1828 ; Flint Hill, 1829 ; Charlestown, 
1830 ; Valley Forge, 1831 ; Good Will, 1832 ; 
Salem, 1833; Downingtown, 1833; Sads- 
buryville, 1834; Unionville, about 1834; 
Hibernia, 1840 ; Temple, 1840 : Washington, 
about 1841; Bethel, !)efore 1844; Spring 
City, 1844; Glen Moore, before 1844; Lan- 
denburg, before 1848 ; New London, before 
1850; Penningtouville, before 1853; Ken- 
nett Square, 1853 ; Avondale, 1869; Saint 
James', 1871; Hamorton, before 1872; 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Piirkersburg, l)et'ore 1874; and Tlionidale 
about 1875. 

Catholic. — Tlie first luisBion of this cliurcli 
in ChestiT county was established l)etween 
1730 and 1757. A C'atliolic chapol was 
erected at West Cliester about 1794, and 
some years afterward St. Agnes" church was 
organized, with tlie parislies of I'arkesburg, 
Downingtown and Doe Run attached to it. 
St. Mary's church of Phaaiixvillc was built 
in 1841; St. Agnes', 1852; Our Lady of 
the Seven Dolors, 1854; Assumption of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary, 1873; and Sacred 
Heart in 1880. Besides these there are 
several snudler churches. 

Mennonitc. — There was a Mennonite 
church in East Coventry township in 1725, 
and another oue stood near Phoenix vi He. 
In 1794 thePhceuixville congregation erected 
a church which is still standing, but the 
society is weak and feeble. 

Christian. — This denomination was or- 
ganized in the county about 1848. Their 
only church is Mt. Olivet, two miles from 
Kemblesville. 

Disciple. — The Disciples or Campbellite 
society came into existence in the county in 
1839, through the preaching of Rev. George 
Austin. They have oue church — Chestnut 
Grove — which is about a mile and a half 
from New Londou. 

Between 1840 and 1844 the strange sect 
of the "Battle Axes" had a few followers 
iu the county. 

The Friends early cliurches were princi- 
pally founded by the English and Welsh ; 
the Presbyterian, by tiiat wonderful self- 
willed Scotch-Irish race; the Baptist, by 
the Welsh; the Episcopal, by the English; 
the Catholic, by tlie Germans and the Irish ; 
and the Lutheran Reformed and Mennonite, 
by the Germans. 



Schools. — Chester is not surpassed by any 
county in the Union for the general intelli- 
gence and culture of its people. The 
Friends were the pioneers in educational 
matters, and inipart6<l a solid education to 
all the youth of their respective neighbor- 
hoods. The Scotch-Irish, in the northern 
and western parts of the country, were re- 
nuirkablc for their love of learning and tlie 
establishment of classical schools, while the 
Welsh and Germans took interest in the 
education of their children. 

The Friends, in 1790, commenced their 
excellent system of boarding schools by 
the establishment of Westtown Boarding- 
school, which went into full operation in 
May, 1799, and from whose portals have 
gone forth over twelve thousand pupils. 
Of the other early boarding-schools estab- 
lished were: the New Garden, 1808 ; Bran- 
dywine, 1816; Downingtown, 1817; Kim- 
berton, 1817; West Chester, 1829; Iloopes", 
1834; and Mrs. Phelps" Young Ladies'. 
The early classical schools were Faggs 
Manor, established in 1739, and Upper Oc- 
toraro, in 1779 ; while the prominent acad- 
emies from 1743 to 1848 were: New Lon- 
don, founded in 1743; Nottingham, 1744; 
Braiidywine, 1793; Chester County, 1811; 
Moscow, 1826: Unionville, 1834; and Jor- 
dan Bank in 1847. 

The old suViscription sciiools were the 
best of their kind, and the succeeding com- 
mon school system, now known us the 
public school system, was rejected l>y a 
majority of the school districts in 1835, but 
in a short time thereafter was accepted by 
every district. In 1891 there were 406 
public schools in the county, in wliicli 414 
teachers were employed. 

Of the later educational institutions of 
the county three have attained State ami 



BIOGRAPHY AND BISTOR Y 



National reputation — the Chester Springs 
Soldiers' Orphan school ; the West Chester 
State Normal school, now under the able 
administration of Dr. George M. Phillips; 
and Lincoln university, an institution for 
the education of young men of color, whose 
secretary. Rev. Edward Webb, has done 
much for its prosperity and progress. 

Banks. — The " Bank of Chester "" was one 
of the forty-one new banks that were 
authorized by an act of legislature, in 1813, 
to be established in the State. Before the 
expiration of its last charter, in 1867, it was 
surrendered, and on October 25, 1864, it 
was organized under its present title, " The 
National Bank of Chester County." Since 
its incorporation, up to 1880, the following 
banks were organized : National bank of 
Chester county, at Coatesville, as Bank of 
Chester Valley, in 1857, National bank of 
Oxford, as Octoraro bank, 1858 ; National 
bank of Phoenixville, as Bank of Phoenix- 
ville, 1859 ; Downingtowu National bank, 
of Pennsylvania, 1861 ; First National bank 
of West Chester, 1864 ; First National bank 
of Dovvuingtown, 1864; First National bank 
of Honeybrook, 1868 ; Parkesburg National 
bank, 1869 ; Bank of Brandywine, 1871 ; 
Oxford Banking Company, 1872; National 
bank of Spi'ing City, 1872 ; and the Far- 
mers" & Mechanics' National bank of Phoe- 
nixville, in 1872. 

The names of the banks organized since 
1880 will be compiled and given under the 
head of miscellaneous. 

Political and Civil Hosier. — The history of 
Chester county commenced at the same time 
as tlie history of the State, and spans a 
period of three hundred years. We give 
the following lists of State senators and 
members of the assembly and the civil 
utHcers of the county, from 1682 to 1892: 



STATE SENATORS. 

1790, Richard Thomas; 1794, Dennis 
Whelen; 1797, Joseph McClellan; 1798, 
Dennis Whelen; 1802, John Heister; 1806, 
Isaac Wayne ; 1810, Isaac Wayne ; 1811, 
John Gemmill; 1814, Abraham Baily; 
1818, Samuel Cochran; 1820, Isaac D. Bar- 
nard; 1822, James Kelton; 1826, Joshua 
Hunt; 1830, William Jackson; 1834, Fran- 
cis James; 1838, Nathaniel Brooke; 1842, 
Joseph Baily; 1845, William Williamson; 
1851, Henry S. Evans; 1857, Thomas S. 
Beli; 1863, Dr.WilmerWorthington; 1866, 
Dr. Wilmer Worthington; 1870, Henry S. 
Evans; 1872, William B. AVaddell; 1874, 
Robert L. McClellan ; 1876, James B. Ever- 
hart; 1880, James B. Everhart; 1884, A. 
D. Harlan ; 1888, A. D. Harlan. 

MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY 1682-1892. 

1682. — John Simcock, Thomas Brassey, 
Ralph Withers, Thomas Usher. 

1683. — John Hastings, Robert Wade, 
George Wood, John Blunston, Dennis Roch- 
ford, Thomas Brassey, John Bezer, John 
Harding, Joseph Phipps. 

1684. — Joshua Hastings, Robert Wade, 
John Blunston, George Maris, Thomas 
Usher, Henry Maddock. 

1685. — John Blunston, George Maris, 
John Harding, Thomas Usher, Francis 
Stanfield, Josiah Fearn. 

1686. — Robert Wade, John Blunston, 
George Maris, Bartholomew Coppock, Sam- 
uel Lewis, Caleb Pusey. 

1687. — John Blunston, George Maris, 
Bartholomew Coppock, Caleb Pusey, Ed- 
ward Bezer, Randall Vernon. 

1688. — J ohu Blunston, James Sandelands, 
George Maris, Robert Pyle, Edward Carter, 
Thomas Coeburn. 

1689. — James Sandelands, Samuel Levis, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



John Bartram, Robert Pyle, Michael Blnii- 
ston, Jonathan Hayes. 

1690. — John Bristow, William Jenkin, 
Robert Pyle, Joshua Fearne, George Maris, 
Caleb Pusey. 

1692. — Philip Roman, George Maris, Bar- 
tholomew Coppock, Robert Pyle, Caleb 
Pusey, Thomas Withers. 

1693. — John Simcock, George Maris, 
David Lloyd. 

1694.— David Lloyd, Caleb Pusey, Sam- 
uel Levis. 

1696. — JohnBlun8ton,Bartholome\vCop- 
pock, William Jenkin, Robert Pyle, Walter 
Forest (Faucet?), Philip Roman. 

1696. — John Simcock (Speaker), John 
Blunston, Caleb Pusey. 

1697. — John Blunston (Speaker), Bar- 
tholomew Coppock, Thomas Worth, Jona- 
than Hayes. 

1698. — Caleb Pusey, Samuel Levis, Na- 
thaniel Nevvlin, Robert Carter. 

1699. — John Blunston (Speaker), Robert 
l*yle, John Worrilow, liobert Carter. 

1700. — John Blunston (Speaker), Robert 
Pyle, Richard Ormes, John Hood, Samuel 
Levis, Henry Lewis. 

1700. — Josej)!! Baker, Samuel Levis, Na- 
thaniel Newlin, Nicholas Pyle. 

1701. — John Blunston, Robert Pyle, Na- 
thaniel Newlin, Andrew Job. 

170.3.— Nicholas Pyle, John Bennett, An- 
drew Job, David Lewis, Nathaniel Xewlin, 
Joseph Baker, Roljert Carter, Joseph Wood. 

1704.— Nicholas Pyle, John Bennett, 
Nicholas Fairlamb, Joseph Cobourn, John 
Hood, Ricliard Hayes, Joseph Wood, Isaac 
Taylor. 

1705.— Robert i'yle. Ricliard Webb. Caleb 
Pusey, Nicholas Fairlaml), John Bennett, 
Isaac Taylor, Nathaniel Newlin, Joseph 
Coeburn. 



1706. — Samuel Levis, Richard Hayes, 
Francis Chadds, Joseph Baker, Evan Lewis, 
John Hood, George Pearce, William Gar- 
rett. 

1707. — Francis Chadds, William Smith. 
Samuel Levis, Richard Hayes, John Hood, 
William Garrett, John Bethell, Evan Lewis. 

1708. — Daniel Williamson, Samuel Levis, 
Henry Lewis, Richard Hayes, John Hood, 
Thomas Pearson, William Bartram, Daniel 
Hoopes. 

1709. — Samuel Levis, John Maris, John 
Hood, Henry Lewis, Daniel William.son, 
Daniel Hoopes, Richanl Hayes, William 
Smith. 

1710. — Nicholas Pyle, Joseph Baker, 
William Lewis, John Wood, Nathaniel 
Newlin, Ephraim Jackson, Caleb Pusey, 
Isaac Taylor. 

1711. — Franci8Yarnall,JohnBezer,Caleb 
Pusey, Nicholas Pyle, Nathaniel Newlin, 
Joseph Baker, Nicholas Fairlamb, David 
Lleweliu. 

1712.— Caleb Pusey, David Lloyd, Wil- 
liam Davis, Nicholas Fairlamb, John Wood, 
George Harlan, Isaac Taylor, John Maris. 

1713. — David Lloyd, William Davis, Jo- 
seph Baker, Nathaniel Newlin, Nicholas 
Fairlamb, Richard Ha\-es, William Hrinton. 
John Blunston, jr. 

1714.— David Lloyd (Speaker), Na- 
thaniel Newlin, Nicholas Pyle, Evan Lewis, 
John Miller, Benjamin Mendenhall, Samuel 
Garrett, Richard Maris. 

171.5. — David Lloyd, Samuel Garrett, 
Henry Lewis, Henry Hayes, William Pyle. 
Edward Bezer, i'hilip Taylor, David Lewis. 

1716.— David Lloyd, John Blunston, jr.. 
Henry Hayes, Joseph Pennock, David 
Harry, John Maris. John Worrall. Henry 
Oborn. 

1717. — David Movd, Nathaniel Newlin. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Richard Hayes, Samuel Garrett, James 
Gibbons, John Wood, George Maris, Henry 
Miller. 

1718. — David Lloyd, liichard Hayes, 
Nathaniel Newlin, John Wright, James 
Gibbons, Henry Lewis, William Lewis, 
Henry Oborn. 

1719. — Isaac Taylor, Joseph Pennock, 
Moses Key, John Bezer, Nathaniel Newlin, 
John Maris, James Gibbons, Evan Lewis. 

1720. — Joseph Pennock, Samuel Levis, 
jr., Isaac Taylor, Israel Taylor, John Maris, 
Ralph Pyle, Daniel Williamson, David 
Lewis. 

1721. — Samuel Levis, jr., William Pyle, 
Daniel Williamson, Isaac Taylor, David 
Lewis, Henry Oborn, Nathaniel Newlin, 
Israel Taylor. 

1722. — Sanmel Levis, jr., Joseph Pen- 
nock, David Lewis, William Pyle, Daniel 
Williamson, Israel Taylor, Nathaniel New- 
lin, Isaac Taylor. 

172-3. — Thomas Chandler, Sanmel Levis, 
jr., Samuel Nutt, John Crosby, Moses Key, 
William Webb, Joseph Pennock, David 
Lloyd (Speaker). 

1724. — Moses Key, Joseph Pennock, 
William Webb, William Pyle, Thomas 
Chandler, Elisha Gatchell, John Parry, 
John Crosby. 

1725. — Thomas Chandler, David Lloyd 
(Speaker), William Webb, John Wright, 
Samuel Hollingsworth, William Pusey, 
George Ashton, William Paschall. 

1726. — David Lloyd (Speaker), Samuel 
Nutt, Samuel Hollingswortli, John Wright, 
Richard Hayes, Joseph Pennock, Thomas 
Chandler, William Pusey. 

1727. — John Parry, Samuel Hollings- 
worth, David Lloyd (Speaker), Thomas 
Chandler, John Carter, Daniel Williamson, 
Simon Meredith, William Webb. 



1728.— Thomas Chandler, David Lloyd 
(Speaker), Samuel Hollingsworth, John 
Parry, William Webb, Philip Taylor, John 
Carter, Henry Hayes. 

1729. — Caleb Cowpland, Richard Hayes, 
Joseph Brinton, Thomas Chandler, William 
Webb, Samuel Gilpin, James James, Joseph 
Pennock. 

1730. — Henry Pierce, John Taylor, 
Samuel Lewis, John Parry, Thomas 
Chandler, Samuel Gilpin, William Webb, 
Henry Hayes. 

1731. — Joseph Harvey, John Parry, 
Samuel Lewis, Caleb Cowpland, John 
Taylor, Joseph Brinton, Henry Pierce, 
Evan Lewis. 

1732. — Caleb Cowpland, Joseph Harvey, 
Joseph Brinton, Thomas Thomas, William 
Webb, Joseph Pennock, John Davis, 
William Hewes. 

1733. — Caleb Cowpland, Joseph Harvey, 
Joseph Brinton, John Davis, Thomas 
Thomas, Joseph Pennock, John Owen, 
William Moore. 

1734. — Joseph Harvey, Joseph Brinton, 
Caleb Cowpland, John Evans, William 
Webb, William Moore, John Owen, Joseph 
Pennock. 

1735. — Joseph Harvey, William Moore, 
Joseph Pennock, Caleb Cowpland, John 
Evans, John Parry, Josepli Brinton, Thomas 
Cummings. 

1736. — Joseph Harvey, Thomas Cum- 
mings, John Evans, Caleb Cowpland, 
W^llliam Webb, William Moore, Thomas 
Chandler, John Parry. 

1737. — Thomas Chandler, Joseph Har- 
vey, John Evans, Thomas Cummings. 
William Moore, James Gibbons, William 
Hughes, Richard Hayes. 

1738. — William Moore, James Gibbons, 
Thonuis Chandler, Joseph Harvey, John 



OF CHEHTER COUNTY. 



101 



Owen, Thomas Tatiiall, William Hughes, 
Jeremiah Starr. 

1739. — James Gil)bon8, Thomas Cliaml- 
ler, Joseph Harvey, William Hughes, 
Jeremiah Starr, William Moore, Samuel 
Levis, John Owen. 

1740. — Thomas Chandler, Joseph Har- 
vey, James Gibbons, William Hughes, 
Samuel Levis, John Owen, Jeremiah Starr, 
Tliomas Tatnall. 

1741. — Joseph Harvey,Tlionias Chandler, 
James Gibbons, John Owen, Thomas Tat- 
nall, Samuel Levis, Willian) Hughes, Jere- 
miah Starr. 

1742. — James Gibbons, John Owen, Sam- 
uel Levis, Jeremiah Starr, Thomas Chandler, 
Joseph Harvey, William Hughes, Thomas 
Tatnall. 

1743. — Jeremiah Starr, James Gibbons, 
Thomas Chandler, Joseph Harvey, Samuel 
Levis, Joseph Pennock, George Ashbridge, 
jr., Francis Yarnall. 

1744. — George Ashbridge, Francis Yar- 
nall, Joseph Pennock, Samuel Levis, James 
Gibbons, Joseph Harvey,ThomasCummings, 
Thomas Chandler. 

1745. — Joseph Pennock, Thomas Cuni- 
mings, George Ashbridge, Francis Yarnall, 
Joseph Harvey, Samuel Levis, Robert Lewis, 
Thomas Chandler. 

1746. — Francis Yarnall, George Ash- 
bridge, Robert Lewis, Thomas Worth, Sam- 
uel Levis, Peter Dicks, Thomas Chandler, 
Jolin Owen. 

1747. — Samuel Levis, Francis Yarnall. 
George Ashbridge, Thomas Worth, Peter 
Dicks, John Owen, John Davis, 'i'homas 
Chandler. 

1748. — Thomas Worth, (Jeorge Ash- 
bridge, Francis Yarnall, .loiin Davis, John 
Owen, Joseph James, Thomas Chandler, 
Joseph (libbons. 



1749. — Joseph Gibbons, George Ash- 
bridge, Henry Hockley, Thomas Chandler, 
Nathaniel Grubb, Nathaniel Pennock, Roger 
Hunt, Thomas Cunimings. 

1750. — Joseph Gibbons, George Ash- 
bridge, Thomas Cnmmings, Henry Hockley, 
Thomas Chandler, Nathaniel Grubb, Na- 
thaniel Pennock, Peter Dicks. 

1751. — Joseph Gibbons, Thomas Cnm- 
mings, George Ashbridge, Nathaniel (irubb, 
Peter Dicks, Nathaniel Pennock, Henry 
Hockley, Thomas Chandler. 

1752. — Joseph Gibbons, Thomas Cnm- 
mings, Nathaniel P'cnnock, Peter Dicks, 
George Ashbridge, Nathaniel (irubb, Wil- 
liam Peters, Jacob Howell. 

1753. — Thomas Cummings, Nathaniel 
Pennock, George Ashbridge, Joseph Gib- 
bons, Nathaniel Grubb, Peter Dicks, William 
Peters, Joseph James. 

1754. — George Ashbridge, Joseph (iib- 
bons, Peter Dicks, Thomas Cummings, 
Nathaniel Pennock, Nathaniel Grubb, Joseph 
James, William Peters. 

1755. — Thomas Cunimings, (icorgs Ash- 
bridge, Nathaniel Pennock, Joseph James, 
Joseph (iibbons, Nathaniel (4rnbb, William 
Peters, I'eter Dicks. 

1756. — Josepli Gibbons, PeterDick8,John 
Morton, Roger Hunt, George Ashbridge, 
Hugh Trimble, Nathaniel Pennock, Na- 
thaniel Grubb. 

1757. — Joseph Gibbons, George Ash- 
bridge, John Morton, lioger Hunt, Isaac 
Wayne, Nathaniel (irubb, Hugh Triinble, 
Joshua Asli. 

1758. — Jos. (libbons, Jiio. .Morton, Geo. 
Ashbi>idge, ]{ogcr Hunt, Hugh Trimble, 
Joshua Ash, Nathaniel (4rubb, Isaac Wayne. 

17,59. — John Morton, (Jeorge .\shbridge, 
Joshua Ash, Joseph Gibbons, Hugh Trim- 
ble, Roger Hunt,Peter Dicks, Isaac Wayne. 



102 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



1760. — George Ashbridge, John Morton, 
lioger Hunt, Joshua Ash, Joseph Gibbons, 
Nathaniel Penuock, Isaac Wayne, William 
Boyd. 

1761. — Joseph Gibbons, George Ash- 
bridge, Nathaniel Pennock, Joshua Ash, 
John Morton, Isaac Wayne, Isaac Pearson, 
Roger Hunt. 

1762. — Nathaniel Pennock, George Ash- 
bridge, Joshua Ash, Isaac Pearson, John 
Morton, Isaac Wayne, Joseph Gibbons, 
John Jacobs. 

1763. — George Ashbridge, Joshua Ash, 
Isaac Pearson, John Morton, Nathaniel Pen- 
nock, John Jacobs, Isaac Wayne, Charles 
Humphreys. 

1764. — George Ashbridge, John Morton, 
Nathaniel Pennock, Joshua Ash, Isaac Pear- 
son, Charles Humphreys, John Jacobs, John 
Fairlamb. 

1765. — John Morton, George Aslibridge, 
John Jacobs, Nathaniel Pennock, John Fair- 
lamb, Charles Humphreys, Isaac Pearson, 
Joshua Ash. 

1766. — John Morton, George Ashbridge, 
Nathaniel Pennock, John Jacobs, Charles 
Humphreys, Isaac Pearson, Joshua Ash, 
John Minshall. 

1767. — Isaac Pearson, Charles Hum- 
phreys, George Ashbridge, John Minshall, 
Jonas Preston, John Jacobs, John Sellers, 
Nathaniel Pennock. 

1768. — John Jacobs, Nathaniel Pennock, 
George Ashbridge, Charles Humphreys, 
John Sellers, John Minshall, Isaac Pearson, 
John Crosby. 

1769. — George AsVibridge, Charles Hum- 
phreys, Isaac Pearson, John Sellers, John 
Jacobs, John Minshall, John Crosby, John 
Morton. 

1770. — Charles Humphreys, Isaac Pier- 
son, John Minshall, John Morton, John 



Jacobs, John Crosby, George Ashbridge, 
John Sellers. 

1771. — John Morton, Charles Hum- 
phreys, Isaac Pearson, John Jacobs, John 
Sellers, John Minshall, George Ashbridge, 
John Crosby. 

1772. — Charles Humphreys, Isaac Pear- 
son, John Morton, John Jacobs, John Min- 
shall, James Hockley, George Ashbridge, 
Benjamin Bartholomew. 

1773. — Isaac Pierson, Benjamin Bar- 
tholomew, John Jacobs, Charles Hum- 
phreys, John Morton, James Gibbs, John 
Minshall, Joseph Pennock. 

1774. — Benjamin Bartholomew, John 
Jacolis, Joseph Pennock, James Gibbons, 
Isaac Pearson, Charles Humphreys, John 
Morton, Anthony Wayne. 

1775. — John Morton (Speaker), Benja- 
min Bartholomew, James Gibbons, Isaac 
Pearson, John Jacobs, Charles Humphreys, 
Joseph Pennock, Joseph Pyle. 

1776. — John Jacobs, Caleb Davis, Joseph 
Gardner, John Fulton, Samuel Cunning- 
ham, John Sellers. 

1777. — Joseph Gardner, John Fulton, 
Samuel Cunningham, John Culbertson, 
Lewis Gronow, Stephen Cochran. 

1778. — Joseph Gardner, John Fulton, 
John Culbertson, Stephen Cochran, John 
Fleming, Patrick Anderson. 

1779.— John Fulton, David Thomas, 
Henry Hayes, James Boyd, Patrick Ander- 
son, Joseph Park, William Harris, Sketch- 
ley Morton. 

1780. — David Thomas, Henry Hayes, 
Joseph Park, William Harris, James Boyd, 
Patrick Anderson, John Culbertson, Evan 
Evans. 

1781. — Jno. Culbertson, Evan Evans, Jas. 
Moore, Persifor Frazer, Thos. Maftat, Pat- 
rick Anderson, Jno. Hannum, Jno. Lindsay. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



1782. — Persitbr Frazer, James Boyd, 
Evan Evans, Thomas Strawbridge, Benja- 
min Brannan, David Thomas, John Lind- 
say, Thomas Matfat. 

1783. — David Tliomas, Evan Evans, John 
Hanuum, Joseph Park, Richard Willing, 
Thomas Potts, Thomas Bull, Edward Jones. 

1784. — Richard Willing, Edward Jones, 
Anthony Wayne, Robert Ralston, James 
Moore, Thomas Potts, Persitbr Frazer, Jos- 
eph Strawbridge, Charles Humphreys. 

178o. — Anthony Wayne, Robert Ralston, 
James Moore, Thomas Bull, John Hannuni, 
Robert 8mith (Oxford), Samuel Evans, 
Jonathan Morris. 

1786-1787.— Robert Ralston, Richard 
Willing, James Moore, Samuel Evans, 
Richard Thomas, Townsend Whelen. 

1788. — Richard Thomas, James Moore, 
Mark Wilcox, John McDowell, Caleb 
James, Richard Downing, jr. 

1789.— Richard Thomas (2927 votes), 
Joliu McDowell (2306), Caleb James (2773), 
Richard Downing, jr. (2682). 

1790. — Richard Downing, Caleb James, 
John McDowell, James Boyd. 

1791. — Richard Downing, Caleb James, 
James Boyd, Samuel Evans. 

1792.— Dennis Whelen, Charles Dil- 
worth, John Ilannum, Samuel Sharp. 

1793. — Dennis Whelen, Thomas Bull. 
John Ross, Joseph Pierce. 

1794. — Thomas Bull, John Ross, Robert 
Frazer, Roger Kirk. 

1795. — Thomas Bull, Robert Frazer, 
Roger Kirk, Joseph Pierce, Abiah Taylor. 

1796. — Thomas Bull, Robert Frazer, 
Roger Kirk, Abiah Taylor, James Ilan- 
num. 

1797-98-99.— Thomas Bh|1, Roger Kirk, 
Abiah Taylor, James Ilannum, Joseph 
Hemphill. " 



1800.— Thomas Bull, Roger Kirk, Abiah 
Taylor, Isaac Wayne. 

1801.— Thos. Bull, J no. McDowell, Abiah 
Taylor, Isaac Wayne, William Gibbons. 

1802. — Joseph Park, James Fulton, Ed- 
ward Darlington, Thomas Taylor, Methuse- 
lah Davis. 

1803-04. — James Fulton, Edward Dar- 
lington, Methuselah Davis, John Boyd, 
Hezekiah Davis. 

1805-06. — John Boyd, Methuselah Davis, 
James Kelton, Francis Gardner, .John G. 
Bull. 

1807. — Joseph Park, James Kelton, Wil- 
liam Worthington, Isaac Darlington, George 
Evans. 

1808. — James Kelton, John G. Bull, Isaac 
Darlington, George Evans, Abraham Baily. 

1809. James Steele, John W. Cuuuing- 
ham, John Ramsay, Jacob Clemmons, Roger 
Davis. 

1810. — James Steele, John W. Cunning- 
ham, John Ram.say, Jacob Clemmons, Wil- 
liam Harris. 

1811. — Edward Darlington, Jacob Clem- 
mons, William Harris, John Reed, James 
Brooke. 

1812.— John G. Bull, Abraham Baily, 
John Menough, Nathan Pennypacker, Lea 
Pusey. 

1813. — Edward Darlington, John Harris, 
John Reed, James Brooke, James Ilindman. 

1814. — Nathan Pennypacker, John Me- 
nough, Lea Pusey, Jacob IIum[)lirey, James 
Roberts. 

1815. — John Menough, Jacob Humphrey, 
James Roberts, Joseph Siiarp, John Jones. 

1816-17. — John Menougii, Thomas Asli- 
bridge, Evan Evans, Joseph Sharp, Samuel 
Cochran. • 

1818. — Thomas Ashbridge, Wallace Boyd, 
John G. I'arke, Joseph Sharp, Joshua Hunt. 



104 



BIOQRAFHY AND HISTORY 



1 819. — James Kelton,Thoiiias Ashbridge, 
Joshua Hunt, Abraham Baily, Thomas 
Baird. 

1820. — James Keltou, Joshua Huut, 
Thomas Baird, Stephen Webb, Joshua 
Evans. 

1821.— Wallace Boyd, Timothy Kirk, 
Jonathan Jones, Elijah Lewis, Stephen 
Webb. 

1822.— Wallace Boyd, Timothy Kirk, 
Elijah Lewis, Jonathan Jones. 

1823. — Elijah Lewis, Joshua Hunt, David 
Potts, jr., John Chandler. 

1824-25. — Joshua Huut, David Potts, jr., 
John Chandler, William Thompson. 

1826-27.— William Thompson, Townsend 
Haines, Robert Miller, Matthias Penny- 
packer. 

1828. — Robert Miller, John Morgan, 
Isaac Trimble, Dr. Samuel McCleane. 

1829. — Joshua McMinn, Jesse James, 
Jesse Pugh, Gen. Matthew Stanley. 

1830. — Thomas Ashbridge, Matthias Pen- 
uypacker, Arthur Andrews, Dr. Benjamin 
Griffith. 

1831-32. — Thomas Ashbridge, Arthur 
Andrews, Dr. Benjamin Griffith, Elijah F. 
Pennypacker. 

1833. — Oliver Alison, Dr. Samuel Mc- 
Cleane, Dr. Wilmer Worthington, Dr. 
Thomas L. Smith. 

1834-35. — Elijah F.Pennypacker,Charles 
Brooke, John Hutchinson, John Parker. 

1836.— John Parker, Aln-aham R. Mcli- 
vaine, Maurice Richardson, Isaac Downing. 

1837. — Abraham R. Mcllvaine, Maurice 
Richardson, William H. Dillingham, Benja- 
min J. Passmore. 

1838. — Maurice Richardson, Richard ^1. 
Barnard, William K. Correy, Beynard Way. 

1839. — Joseph Baily, Joshua Ilartshorne, 
.lohn Morgan, Joel Swayue. 



1840.— John D. Steele, Robert Euthey, 
William K. Cofrey, Dr. John B. Chrisman. 

1841.— William K. Correy, Robert 
Futhey, Emmor Elton, Robert Laverty. 

1842. — Emmor Elton, Robert Parke, 
Jesse C. Dickey, John Beidler. 

1843. — Robert Parke, Jesse C. Dickey, 
Joseph Whitaker. 

1844. — Robert Parke, Jesse C. Dickey, 
William Price. 

1845. — William Price, Philip D. Thomas, 
George Ladley. 

1846-47. — George Ladley, Henry S. 
Evaus, Thomas K. Bull. 

1848.— Henry S. Evans, Thomas K. 
Bull, David J. Bent. 

1849.— David J. Bent, John S. Bowen, 
John Acker. 

1850.— David J. Bent, John S. Bowen, 
James M. Dorian. 

1851. — John Acker, William Chandler, 
Jesse James. 

1852. — WilPiam Chandler, Jesse James, 
Dr. Joseph Hickman. 

1853.— Robert E. Monaghan, Henry T. 
Evans, William Wheeler. 

1854. — Dr. Matthias J. Pennypacker, 
Mark A. Hodgson, William R. Downing. 

1855. — Andrew Buchanan, Joseph Dow- 
dall, Robert Irvin. 

1856. — Dr. Ebenezer V. Dickey, James 
Penrose, Paxon Vickers. 

1857. — John Hodgson, Eber W. Sharp, 
Morton Garrett. 

1858-59-60.— Isaac Acker, William T. 
Sliafer, Caleb Pierce. 

1861-62-63.— P. Frazer Smith, William 
Windle, Robert L. McClellan. 

1864-65-66.— Wm. B. Waddell, Nathan 
J. Sharpless, Dr. Nathan A. Pennypacker. 

1867. — John Hickman, James M. Phillips, 
Dr. Stephen M. Meredith. 



OF CHE82ER COUNTY. 



106 



1868.— James M. Phillips, Dr. Stephen 
M. Meredith, Arcliinicdes Robb. 

1869.— James C. Roberts, Josepli V. 
Keecl), Al)el Darlington. 

1870. — Joseph C. Keech, Levi I'rizer, 
Samuel II. Iloopes. 

1871. — Joseph C. Keech, Levi Prizer. 

1872-73— Levi Prizer, Dr. E. W. Bailey. 

1874.— E. W. Bailey, Peter G. Carey, 
John P. Edge, George F. Smith. 

1876.— Samuel Butler, William T. Ful- 
ton, Jesse Matlack, John 1^. Edge. 

1878.— Samuel Butler, William T. Ful- 
ton, Jesse Matlack, John A. Reynolds. 

1880.— John A. Reynolds, Theodore K. 
Stubbs, John T. Potts, William Wayne. 

1882— Levi Fetters, Theodore K. Stubbs, 
John T. Potts, William Wayne. 

1884.— Levi Fetters, Theodore K. Stubbs, 
William Wayne, Levi B. Kaled. 

1886.— AVilliam Evans, Lewis IL Evans, 
John W. Hickman. 

1888. — William Evans, Lewis II. Evans, 
John W. Hickman, W. W. McConnell. 

1890— W. P. Snyder, D. Smith Talbot, 
Joseph G. West, David H. Branson. 

PRESIDENT .riIDr,ES. 

1791, William Augustus Atlee; 1793, 
John Joseph Henry; 1800, John D. Cox ; 
1805, William Tilghman ; 1806, Bird Wil- 
son; 1818, John Ross; 1821, Isaac Dar- 
lington ; 1839, Thomas S. Bell ; 1846, John 
M.Forster; 1847, James Nil! ; 1848, Henry 
Chapman; 1851, Townsend Haines; 1861, 
William Butler; 1879, J. Smith Futhcy ; 
1889, William B. Waddell ; 1890, Joseph 
Hemphill, judge of tlie courts of common 
pleas. 

ASSOCIATE .lUDGES. 

1791, Joseph Siiippen, Walter Finney, 
James Moore; 1792, Benjamin Jacobs; 

7.» 



1798, Samuel Evans, James Boyd; 1802, 
John Ralston; 1803, John Davis; 1825, 
Cromwell Pearcc ; 1827, Jesse Sharp ; 1839, 
Thomas Jones; 1848, Ximrod Strickland; 
1849, Samuel Shafer; 1851, Samuel Shafer 
and Joseph Hodgson ; 1856, Rotjert Parke, 
appointed to till vacancy occasioned by the 
death of Judge Hodgson; 1856, Nimrod 
Strickland and William Wollerton ; 1858, 
Jaimary — John P. Bailey, appointed to fill 
vacancy occasioned by Judge Strickland's 
resignation; 1858, October — Robert Parke 
elected to fill vacancy; 1861, Robert Parke 
and John P. Bailey; 1863, Benjamin Pass- 
more, to succeed Judge Parke; 1866, John 
P. Bailey; 1871, Joel Hawley. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS. 

1793, Robert Frazer; 1800, John Ser- 
geant; 1803, Thomas Sergeant; 1803, Wil- 
liam Hemphill; 1809,'John Duer,jr.; 1816, 
Robert Frazer; 1817, Isaac D. Barnard: 
1821, Isaac Darlington; 1821, William H. 
Dillingham; 1824, Thomas S. Bell; 1828, 
Henry H. Van Amringe; 1829, Philip S. 
Marklcy; 1830, Henry II. Van Amringe ; 
1835, Joseph J. Lewis; 1836, William Dar- 
lington ; 1839, Joseph Hemphill; 1845, 
John Hickman; 1846, Joseph J. Lewis; 
1847, John Hickman; 1847, John H. Brin- 
ton ; 1848, Washington Townsend; 1849, 
J. Smitli Futhey; 1850, Paschall Wood- 
ward; 1853, J. Smith Futhey; 1856, Wil- 
liam Butler; 1859, Wayne McVeagh : 1862, 
Henry M. Mclntyre: 1863, James J. Creigh, 
appointed to fill a vacancy occasioned by 
Mclntyre's death ; 1863, James J. Creigh : 
186(!, Francis T. Hooton ; 1869, George F. 
Smith; 1872, Abraham Wanger; 1875, 
James H. Bull; 1879, Thoniivs W. Pierce; 

1883, ; 1887. ; 1890, 

Edward D. Bingham. 



106 



BIOQtiAPMY AND HlSTOBY 



PROTHONOTARIES. 

1712, Robert Asshetoii; 1733, Joseph 
Parker; 1770, Henry Hale Graham; 1777, 
Beiijamiu Jacobs ( declined to accept); 
1777, Caleb Davis ; 1791, William Gibbons ; 
1800, Daniel Hiester; 1809, Jesse John; 
1818, JohuG. Wersler; 1821,ThomasDavi8; 
182-t, William AVilliamson; 1827, David 
Townsend; 1827, Dr. William Darlington; 
1830, John W. Cunningham; 1836, Ben- 
jamin I. Miller ; 1838-9, 8amuel Pinkerton ; 
1842, Abner M. Chamberlain ; 1845, James 
Davis; 1848, Samuel B. Thomas; 1851, 
William Wollerton; 1854, James Bayard 
Jeiieris; 1857, Jacob Gilbough; 1860, Em- 
nior B. Lamborn; 1863, Franklin Haines; 
1866, Alfred Rupert; 1869, Seneca G. Wil- 
lauer; 1872, John A. Rupert; 1875, Han- 
nuni Baldwin; 1878, James Lynch; 1881, 
Davis K. Loomis; 1884, J. T. Carpenter; 
1887, Wm. P. Snyder; 1891, D. C. Windle. 

RECORDEKS 1688-1892. 

1688, John Bristow; 1691, Joshua Fearne; 
1693, Robert Eyre; 1695, John Childe; 
1700, Henry Holliugsworth ; 1706, Peter 
Evans ; 1707, broken record ; 1777, Thomas 
Taylor; 1782, John Beaton ; 1786, Persifor 
Frazer; 1792, Stephen Moylau; 1793, John 
Hannum; 1798, Richard M. Hannum; 1800, 
John Christie; 1804, James Bones; 1806, 
John Smith; 1809, Charles Kenny; 1818, 
Jesse Sharp; 1821, Daniel Hiester; 1824, 
Stephen Marshall; 1830, Nimrod Strick- 
land; 1833, Robert Ralston; 1836, Edward 
Bartholomew; 1839, George Hartman ; 
1842, Abner Williams; 1845, William Mc- 
Cullough; 1848, Edward H. Hibbard; 
1851, Thomas Walter; 1854, Robert F. 
Hoopes; 1857, Thomas S. Taylor; 1860, 
Jonas G. Bossert; 1863, David Andrews; 
1866, Dilwyn Parker; 1869, John A. Groft"; 



1872, C. Burleigh Hambleton ; 1875, Edwin 
Bateman, died, and S. M. Paxson acted; 

1877, Franklin P. Ash ; 1880, Harry Sloyer ; 
1883, Richard H. Plank; 1886, Sharpless 
M. Paxton; 1889, Hugh'Kenworthy, jr. 

REGISTERS OF WILLS. 

1714, John Simcock; 1716, Joseph 
Parker; 1759, Henry Hale Graham ; 1777, 
Thomas Taylor; 1782, John Beaton; 1786, 
Persifor Frazer; 1792, Stephen Moylan ; 
1793, John Hannum; 1798, Richard M. 
Hannum; 1800, John Christie; 1804, James 
Bones; 1806, John Smith; 1809, Charles 
Kenny; 1818, Jesse Sharp; 1821, Daniel 
Hiester; 1824, Joseph Pearce ; 1828, Eber 
Worthington; 1830, Robert Ralston ; 1833, 
Nimrod Strickland; 1836, James Walker: 
1839, Jesse Coulson; 1842, George W. 
Park ; 1845, Henry Buckwalter ; 1848, Wil- 
liam Baker; 1851, Alexander Leslie; 1854, 
Hickman James; 1857, Amariah Strick- 
land; 1860, Dr. Charles L. Seal; 1863, 
George C. M. Eicholtz ; 1866, Hampton S. 
Thomas; 1869, Levi G. McCauley; 1872, 
Lewis H. Evans; 1875, George H. Paxton ; 

1878, William S. Underwood; 1881, B. F. 
Widdicombe; 1884, B. Levis Hoopes; 
1887, N. J. Waitneight; 1890, F. A. 
Thomas. 

CLERKS OF COURTS. 

1681, Thomas Revel! ; 1683, Robert Eyre; 
1690, Joshua Fearne; 1693, John Childe; 
1700, Henry Holliugsworth; 1709, John 
Simcock; 1713, Richard Marsden ; 1717, 
George Yeates; 1719, Richard Marsden; 
1724, Joseph Parker; 1766, Henry Hale 
Graham ; 1777, Caleb Davis ; 1791, William 
Gibbons; 1800, Daniel Hiester; 1809, Jesse 
John; 1818, John G. Wersler; 1821, 
Thomas Davis; 1821, Henry Fleming; 1824, 
William Williamson; 1824, Joseph Pearce; 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



1826, Joseph Pearce; 1827, David Town- 
send ; 1827, Dr. William Darlington ; 1828, 
Simeon Siegfried; 1830, John W. Cunning- 
ham ; 1830, George Fisher; 1838, John W. 
Cunningham; 1833, George Fisher; 1835, 
P. Fraser Smith ; 1836, Horatio G. Worrail ; 
1839, James M. Kinnard; 1842, Cheyney 
Nields; 1845, Alexander Marshall; 1848, 
Thomas P. Williams ; 1851, James Sweney ; 
1854, Thomas W. Parker; 1857, Addis M. 
Ayars; 1860, Thomas P. Evans; 1863, 
Thomas H. Windle; 1866, James E. Mc- 
Farlan; 1869, William II. Guie; 1872, 
James H. Wynn ; 1875, William W. Scott; 
1878, Pierce Hoopes, jr.; 1881, Edward 
Paist; 1884, Davis 0. Taylor, killed in ex- 
plosion in 1887; 1887, Thomas W. Taylor; 
1890, H. Morgan Rutli. 



1676, Capt. Edmund Cantwell ; 1681, John 
Test; 1682, Thomas Usher; 1683, Thomas 
Wjthers: 1684, Jeremy CoUott; 1686, 
Thomas Usher; 1687, Joshua Fearne; 1689, 
George Foreman ; 1692, Caleb Pu.sey ; 1693, 
Joseph Wood; 1697, Andrew Job; 1701, 
John IIo.skins; 1708, John Simcock; 1709, 
John Hoskins; 1715, Henry Worley; 1717, 
Nicholas Fairlamb; 1720, John Crosby; 
1721, John Taylor; 1729, John Owen; 1732, 
John Parry ; 1735, John Owen ; 1738, John 
Parry; 1740, Benjamin Davis; 1743, John 
Owen; 1746, Benjamin Davis; 1749, John 
Owen; 1752, Isaac Pearson: 1755, Jolin 
Fairlamb; 1759, Benjamin Davis; 1762, 
John Fairlamb; 1764, Philip Ford; 1766, 
John Morton; 1769, Jesse Maris; 1772, 
Henry Hayes; 1774, Nathaniel Vernon; 

1777, Robert Smith ; 1778, Charles Dil worth ; 

1778, Robert Smitii ; 1779, David Mackey ; 
1780, John Gardner; 1783, William Gib- 
bons; 1786, Ezekiel Leonard; 1789, Charles 



Dilworth; 1792, Col. Joseph McClellan ; 
1795, Ezekiel Leonard; 1798, William 
Worthington; 1801, James Bones; 1801, 
James Kelton ; 1804, Jesse John; 1807, 
Titus Taylor ; 1810, George Hartman ; 1813, 
Jesse Good; 1816, Cromwell Pearce; 1819, 
Samson Babb; 1822, Jesse Sharp; 1825. 
Jonathan Jones; 1828, Oliver Alison ; 1831, 
Peter Osborne; 1834, Robert Irwin; 1837, 
Joseph Taylor ; 1840,William Rogers ; 1843, 
Nathan Frame; 1844, Clinton Frame; 1844, 
James Bayard Wood; 1847, Brinton Dar- 
lington; 1850, Davis Bishop; 1853, Lewis 
Ileffelfinger; 1856, David McNutt; 1859, 
Jacob Ileffelfinger; 1862,Rees Welsh ; 1865, 
Pusey J. Nichols; 1868, DeWitt Clinton 
Lewis; 1871, Davis Gill; 1875, William B. 
Morrison; 1877, James E.McFarlan ; 1880, 
George R. Hoopes; 1883, William Baker; 
1886, Benjamin Irey, died in office thirty- 
four hours after his induction ; his successor, 
George R. Hoopes, was appointed until 
1888; 1888, William Gallagher; 1891, 
James G. Parker. 

TREA.^URERS — 1695-1 892. 

1695, Jeremiah Collett ; 1697, Walter 
Marten; 1704, Caleb Pusey ; 1706, Walter 
Marten; 1720, Henry Pierce; 1724, Philip 
Taylor; 1740, Joseph Brinton; 1756, Rob- 
ert Miller; 1761, Humphry Marshall; 1765, 
Jesse Maris, jr. ; 1766, Lewis Davis; 1770, 
JameS Gibbons; 1770 ( '() Richard Thomas; 
1775, I'hilip Taylor: 1775, John Brinton; 
1778, Thomas Levis; 1779, William Evans; 
1780, Persifor Frazer; 1781, David Cloyd ; 
1782, no record; 17><5, .\ndrew Boyd and 
David Cloyd; 1786, William Evans; 1788, 
Andrew Boyd; 1790, William Ilaslett : 
1791, John Hannum; 1793, Elijah Mc- 
Clenachan : 1794, John Mcciiem ; 1795, 
Williani Triinlile; 1796, Samuel Cochran; 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



1797, George Davis; 1798, Eobert Miller; 
1799, James Kelton ; 1801, Evan Evans; 
1802, John Menough; 1803, Titus Taylor; 
1804, William Worthington ; 1806, John 
Rinehart; 1807, James Lockart; 1808, John 
C. Parke ;1809, Joshua Gibbons; 1810, David 
Denny; 1811, Jesse Good; 1812, William 
Evans; 1813, David Wilson; 1814, James 
Ramsey; 1815, Eber Worthington ; 1816, 
David Townsend ; 1817, Alexander Chand- 
ler; 1818, Jesse Mercer: 1819, Samuel 
Baldwin ; 1820, Maris Taylor ; 1821, Joshua 
Weaver; 1822, Benjamin Thomas; 1823, 
Jesse Pugh; 1824, Robert Miller; 1826, 
James Davis ; 1827, Abisha Clark ; 1828, 
Ezra Cope; 1829, Joseph Hughes; 1830, 
Benjamin Parker; 1831, Isaac Thomas; 
1832, Melchi Happersett; 1833, James 
Alexander ; 1834, Abraham Darlington, jr. ; 
1835, Joseph B. Jacobs; 1837, William 
Embree; 1840, Samuel M. Painter ; 1842, 
S. C. Jeft'eris; 1843. Samuel M. Painter; 
1844, Morgan Reese; 1846, James M. 
Hughes; 1848, Samuel Davis; 1850, George 
W. Pearce; 1852, Henry Beidler; 1854, 
Samuel Wickersham ; 1856, Townsend 
Walter; 1858, Charles Fairlamb; 1860, 
Joseph I. Tustin; 1862, Reuben Bernard; 
1864, C. H. Kinnard; 1866, John T. Potts; 
1868, Philip Price; 1870, Edwin Baker; 
1872, Frank Shellady ; 1874, Jesse E. 
Phillips; 1875, John G. Moses; 1878, John 
H. Buckwalter; 1881, Emmor Griffith; 
1884, David Cope; 1887, R. L. Hayes; 
1890, W. E. Pennypacker. 

COMMISSIONERS 1721-1892. 

1721, David Lloyd, John Wood, Nathan- 
iel Newliii, Henry Miller (in office); 1722, 
Robert Pyle ; 1723, Nathaniel Newlin ; 
1724, Samuel Hollingsworth ; 1725, Robert 
Pyle; 1726, Isaac Taylor; 1727, William 



Webb; 1728, Henry Miller, Evan Lewis; 
1729, Samuel Nutt; 1730, Evan Lewis; 
1731, Jacob Howell; 1732, Samuel Lewis; 
1733, George Aston; 1734, John Davis; 
1735, Richard Jones; 1736, Samuel Light- 
foot; 1737, John Parry, jr.; 1738, William 
Jefteris; 1739, John Davis; 1740, John 
Parry, jr. ; 1741, John Yarnall ; 1742, John 
Davis; 1743, Jacob Howell; 1744, Joseph 
Mendenhall; 1745, John Davis; 1746, 
Thomas Pennell ; 1747, Joshua Thompson ; 
1748, Isaac Davis; 1749, Thomas Pennell; 

1750, Edward Brinton, Samuel Bunting; 

1751, William Lewis; 1752, John Fair- 
lamb; 1753, Robert Miller; 1754, Thomas 
Pearson; 1755, Joseph Ashbridge : 1756, 
Joseph Davis; 1757, Joseph James; 1758, 
John Hannum ; 1759, Jonas Preston ; 1760, 
Joseph Pennock; 1761, John Griffith; 
1762, Lewis Davis; 1763, John Price; 
1764, Benjamin Bartholomew; 1765, 
Richard Baker; 1766, John Davis; 1767, 
Robert Pennell; 1768, John Webster; 
1769, John Evans; 1770, Jesse Bonsall ; 
1771, Robert Mendenhall; 1772, John 
Fleming; 1773, Thomas Levis; 1774, 
Thomas Taylor; 1775, William Evans; 
1776, Sketchley Morton; 1777, David 
Cloyd; 1778, Andrew Boyd; 1779, Benja- 
min Brannan ; 1780, John Bartholomew ; 
1781, Joseph Strawbridge; 1782, Caleb 
James; 1783, John Davis; 1784, Joseph 
McClelian : 1785, Caleb James; 1786, 
Caleb North; 1787, John Worth; 1788, 
Joseph Gibbons ; 1789, James Moore ; 1790, 
Elijah McClenachan ; 1791, John Mecham ; 
1792, William Trimble, jr.; 1793, Sam- 
uel Cochran; 1794, George Davis; 1795, 
George Miller; 1796, James Kelton; 
1797, William Rogers; 1798, Evan 
Evans; 1799, John Menough ; 1800, 
Titus Taylor; 1801, John Rinehart; 1802, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



John Ramsey; 1803, Thomas Taylor; 
1804, James Lockhart; 1805, John G. 
Parke; 1806, Joshua Gib])Ons; 1807, David 
Denny; 1808, Jesse Good; 1809, William 
Evans; 1810, David Wilson; 1811, James 
Ramsey; 1812, Eber Worthington ; 1813, 
David Townsend; 1814, Alexander Chan- 
dler; 1815, Jesse Mercer; 1816, Samuel 
Baldwin; 1817, Maris Taylor ; 1818, Joshua 
Weaver; 1819, Benjamin Thomas; 1820, 
Jesse Pugh; 1821, Isaac Trimble; 1822, 
James Davis; 1823, Abisliu Clark; 1824, 
Ezra Cope; 1825, Joseph Hughes; 1826, 
Benjamin Parker; 1827, Isaac Thomas; 
1828, Melchi Ilappersett; 1829, James Al- 
exander; 1830, George Gregg; 1831, Evan 
Evans; 1832, Josepli Wood; 1833, Walker 
Yarnall ; 1834, John Malin ; 1835, Alexan- 
der Correy ; 1836, Elijah Lewis ; 1837, John 
Beidler; 1838, John W. Passmore; 1839, 
Ilibbard Evans; 1840, John Templeton ; 
1841, Ilatton Mercer; 1842, John Worth; 
1843, Mordccai Lee: 1844, Enos Pennock ; 
1845, Smith Sliarpless ; 1846, David Byerly, 
1847, Daniel Thompson; 1848, John Ilan- 
num; 1849, Rees Welsh ; 1850, Joel Thomp- 
son ; 1851, Thomas Vandever; 1852, Jacob 
Kulp: 1853, Newton L Nichols; 1854, Al- 
bert Way; 1855, William G. Martland ; 
1856, Joseph Russell ;- 1857, Titus W. 
Gheen ; 1858, Benjamin Hartman ; 1859, 
Caleb Windle; 1860, Thomas Bateman ; 
1861, Joseph G. King; 1862, Andrew 
MitdioU; 1863, Lorenzo Beck; 1864. Levi 
II. Crouse: 1865, Thomas M. Charlton : 
1866, Josepli F. Hill: 1867. Joseph Doan : 
1868, Washington llaggerty : 1869, C. Mar- 
shall Ingram; 1870, Natlian <;. (Jrimm: 
1871, Alfred Wood; 1872, Matthew Barker: 
1873, Jolin Irey; 1874. David Ramsey; 
1875, David Ramsey, John Irey, John Mc- 
Williams; 1878, Jacob M. Zook, William 



M. Elliott, Edwin Otley; 1881, ; 

1884, ; 1887, J. C. Henderson, 

M. S. Fiedler, John D. Decker; 1890, S. 
D. White, Harrison Renard, David M. Cox. 

CORONERS — 1684-1892. 

1684, James Kennerly; 1696, Jacob Sim- 
cock; 1707, Henry Hollingsworth ; 1710, 
Henry Worley ; 1717, Jonas Sandelands; 
1721, Robert Barber; 1726, John Menden- 
hall; 1728, Robert Parke; 1729, Abraliam 
Darlington; 1730, John Wharton; 1732, 
AnthonyShaw; 1734, John Wharton ; 1737, 
Stephen Hoskins: 1738, Aubrey Bevan ; 
1743, Thomas Morgan; 1746, Isaac Lea; 
1751, Joshua Thomson ; 1752, John Kerlin ; 
1753, Joshua Thomson; 1761, Philip 
Ford; 1763, Davis Bevan; 1765, Abel 
Janney: 1766, John Trapnall ; 1768, 
Joseph Gibbons; 1771. John Crosby, jr.; 
1773, John Bryan; 1778, David Denny; 
1780, Allen Cuningham; 1782, Benjamin 
Rue; 1783, John Harper: 1785, Isaac 
Thomas: 1786, John Harper; 1787, John 
Underwood ; 1789, Nathan Scholfield ; 1794, 
James Bones; 1798, Joshua Weaver; 1800, 
Jacob Righter; 1803, Robert Miller; 1805, 
Ephraim Buffington ; 1808, Jacob Righter; 
1811, Joseph Pearce: 1814, Jesse McCall ; 
1817, Joel C. Bailey: 1820, Emmor Brad- 
ley ; 1826, Anthony W. Olwine ; 1829, Davis 
Brooke ; 1832, Benjamin J. Passmore ; 1835, 
Thomas Ervin : 1838, William Taggart ; 
1841. Hezekiah Jackson: 1S44. Daniel 
Nields: 1847, Thomas Walker: 1850. David 
Williams: 1853. Hasliabiab ('lemons: 1856. 
Robert McNeely: 1859. Benjamin Franklin 
Smith: 1862. .Joseph W. Harnard : 1869, 
William H.Turner: 1872. Joseph 15. Smith : 
1875, William V. Kambo ; 1878, Barclay 

Lear; 1881-1886, ; 1887, Ernest 

White; 1890, J. Jones McFailgen. 



BIO GRAPHY AND HISl OR Y 



County Societies. — The first county agri- 
cultural society is supposed to have been 
the one that was organized in 1820, and the 
present agricultural society held its first ex- 
hibition in 1853. The Chester County 
Cabinet of ISTatural Sciences was organized 
in 1826. The Chester and Delaware County 
Agricultural society was formed in 1838. 
The Chester County Horticultural society 
came into existence about 1845, and three 
years later built a hall which was afterwards 
used for teachers' institutes. The Chester 
County Mutual Live Stock Insurance Com- 
pany was incorporated May 1, 1866, and 
continued in existence until 1874. The 
Chester County Medical society was organ- 
ized February 5, 1828, and continued to 
hold meetings until 1831. It reorganized 
in 1847, and during the war its members 
patriotically attended, without charge, the 
families of all Union soldiers who were in 
the field. 

. Secret Societies. — The leading secret and 
beneficial orders are well represented in 
Chester county. 

Fi-ee Masonry. — We give the numbers, 
names, locations and years of institution of 
the following Masonic Lodges of the county : 



No. 


Name. 


Place. 


Year. 


75. 


Phoenix. 


Phcenixville. 


1798. 


309. 


Williamson. 


Downingtown. 


1857. 


322. 


Westchester. 


West Cliester. 


1858. 


340. 


Thomson. 


Green Tree. 


1860. 


343. 


Skerrett. 


Cochranville. 


1862. 


353. 


Oxford. 


Oxford. 


1864. 


383. 


Goddard. 


Coatesville. 


1867. 


405. 


Howell. 


Brookville. 


1867. 


446. 


Mt. Pickering 




1869. 


475. 


Kennet. 


Ken nett Square 


1875. 


545. 


New London. 


Xew London. 


1876. 


553. 


Spring City. 


Spring City. 


1877. 



In addition to these lodges in the county 
are Centennial Commandery, No. 55, and 
Phoenix (No. 198), Coatesville (No.207),and 
Oxford (No. 223) chapters. 

Odd Fellowship. ^We compile the follow- 
ing statistics of the lodges of this order in 
the county for 1891 : 

Relief 
No. Name. Members. Afforded. 

42. Westchester 145 $ 349 

199. Star of Hope 122 725 

212. Phojnixville 128 1,206 

290. Paoli 65 303 

316. Pocahontas 89 29 

324. Fairview 105 383 

359. Banner 116 886 

363. Pughtown 52 341 

370. Octoraro 100 1,194 

385. Chatham 38 , 379 

388. Brandywine 100 715 

394. Patterson 50 297 

402. Eastern Star 106 869 

404. Social Friends 66 283 

432. Ivanhoe 72 663 

437. Hebron 98 760 

455. Pilgrims 73 396 

459. Valley Forge 34 84 

502. Academy 51 190 

762. Vincent 102 329 

764. Parkesburg 118 233 

940. U.Birmingham 35 194 

998. Berwyn 57 82 

Totals 1,922 $10,130 

Besides these lodges in the county are: 
General Marion Encampment (No. 91) and 
other Encampments : and several degree 
lodges of the Daughters of Rebekah. 

Knights of the Golden Eagle. — We com- 
pile the following statistics of the castles 
of this order in the county for 1891 : 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



Ill 



ReUef 
No. Name. Members. Afforded. 

45 Washington 211 $ 82 

67 Stratford 85 180 

78 Goshen 36 60 

92 Windsor 102 130 

94 Coatesville Ill 71 

142 Ansonia 53 69 

213 Grove 58 8 

226 West Chester 66 104 

232 Oxford 95 205 

233 Russellvilie 108 106 

237 Highland 36 6 

243 Kennet 49 80 

273 Landenburg 85 75 

290 Evergreen 48 89 

Totals 1,143 $1,265 

Washington Castle was instituted Febru- 
ary 24, 1885, and Evergreen on November 
6, 1888. 

Patrons of Husbandry. — Of the granges 
organized in the county we have the fol- 
lowing statistics : 

Year 
No. Name. Organized. 

. 9. Pioneer 1873. 

19. Kennet 1873. 

23. Schuylkill 1873. 

53. Upper Uwchlan 1873. 

60. Brandywine 1873. 

63. LondonGrove 1874. 

67. 0.\ford 1874. 

77. Chester Valley 1874. 

91. Russellvilie 1874. 

114. Willistown 1874. 

121. Goshen 1874. 

123. New London 1874. 

130. Lincoln 1874. 

141. Franklin 1874. 

180. Lewisville 1874. 

271. East Lynn 18T4. 

I'ioneer Grange was organized at West 



Grove, July 30, 1873, and Pomona, No. 3, 
district grange, was instituted June 3, 1875. 

Of the organizations of the various other 
secret orders in the county we have account 
of the following : 

General McCail Post, No. 31, G. A. R; 
Brandywine Post, No. 54, G. A. R ; W. S. 
Thompson Post, No. 132, G. A. R: Estella 
Lodge, No. 131, K. of P; Onondago Tribe, 
No. 83, L O. of R. M; Tamenend Tribe, 
No. 192, I. 0. of R. M ; Yankton Tribe, 
No. 218, L O. of R. M. 

In 1891 the following fraternal and secret 
organizations in the United States and their 
membership were : Free Masons, 673,643 ; 
Odd Fellows, 647,641 ; Grand Army of the 
Republic, 398,270 ; Ancient Order of United 
Workmen, 267,611 ; Knights of Pythias, 
263,847: Knights of Honor, 138,256; Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, 111,644; Royal 
Arcanum, 118,454 ; Sons of Veterans, 100,- 
000 ; Patriotic Order Sons of America, 100,- 
000 ; Ancient Order of Foresters,. 90,000 ; 
Order of Chosen Friends, 38,821; and 
Catholic Mutual Benefit Association, 35,- 
000. 

Toiriiships. — The fifty-six townships of 
the county are situated as follows: seven 
range along the Downingtown valley, while 
eigliteen are north of it, and thirty lie to 
the south. 

Birmivgham Township. — It lies in the 
southeastern part of the county, and is 
bounded on the north by East Bradford, 
Westtown and Thornbury townships; on 
the east by Delaware county ; on the south 
by Pennsbury township and Delaware 
county; and on the west by Pennsbury and 
Pocopson townships. Geologically consid- 
ered it is in the southern gneiss region of 
the county, and rests on gneiss and serpen- 
tine rock formation.-*, while a small outcrop 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



of limestone occurs on a stream between 
Thomas Brinton's and Abraham Huey's. 
The township was in all probability named 
by William Briuton, an early settler, after 
his native town of Birmingham in England. 
It was surveyed in 1684, organized as a 
municipal district in 1686, and in 1689, upon 
the division of the county, the larger part 
of the original township fell into Delaware 
county. In 1856 a portion of EastBradford 
township was added to it. 

The land owners in Birmingham town- 
ship in 1774 were: Edward, Caleb, George 
and David Brinton, John Bennett, Obadiah 
Bonsell, Thomas Bullock, William Bold, 
Thomas, James and RoViert Chandler, Abra- 
ham Darlington, jr., Joseph Davis, sr., 
Joseph Davis, jr., Lydia, Charles, James and 
Joseph Dilworth, Robert Frame, Harry and 
John Gordon, Gideon Gilpin, Robert Green, 
William Harvey, Amos House, Thomas 
Hannum, John Henderson, William Jones, 
Benjamin Miller, Robert McElhoe, William 
Mason, Robert Messer, John Nicklin, Sam- 
uel Painter, James Russell, Robert Rankin, 
Benjamin and Nathaniel Ring, James and 
William Smith, Rachel Sail, James and 
Thomas Stroud, John Thatcher, John Wood- 
art, Rachel Warson, Nathaniel Yarnall, 
Thomas Jones, Elias Neals, John Perry, 
David Johnson, David May, Thomas and 
Benjamin McDaniel, James Lattimore, John 
McGloughlin, Robert Logan, James New- 
man, and Eras. Herberson. 

The battle of Brandywine was fought in 
this township, Chad's Ford being in Dela- 
ware, and Birmingham Meeting house in 
Chester county. 

Cain Township. — This township is 
bounded on the north by East and West 
Brandywine townships ; on the east by East 
Cain township ; on the south by West Brad- 



foi'd and East Fallowfield townships; and 
on the west by Valley township. It was 
named after the town of Calne in Wiltshire, 
England, and originally included the terri- 
tory of the Cain and Brandywine townships, 
and a part of Valley township. It was 
divided into East and West Cain, and in 
1868 the present township was taken from 
their territory. It lies in the Downingtown 
Valley, and contains limestone and mica 
schist rocks, clay deposits, and sand of 
superior quality which is found in pits. 

Surveys were made in 1702, and in 1715 
we have account of the following settlers : 
Joseph and William Cloud, John and 
Aaron Mendenhall, Peter and William 
Taylor, Thomas Moore, William Flemiu, 
James Swafter, Daniel Smith, Anthony 
Morris, Philip Roman, John Richards, 
Thomas Efibrd, and Richard Webb. 

Charlestown Township. — It is bounded on 
the northwest by East and West Pikeland 
townships; on the east by Schuylkill town- 
ship ; on the south by Tredyffrin, and East 
and West Whiteland townships ; and on the 
west by Lower Uwchlan township. The ' 
three principal geological formations in the 
township are the mesozoic sandstone, the 
azoic measures and the Potsdam sandstone. 
The township and Pickering creek, which 
flows through it, were named for Charles 
Pickering, of Asraore, Chester county, Eng- 
land, who discovered what he supposed to 
be silver ore on the creek that bears his 
name, and in consequence thereof obtained 
from Penn a grant of a large tract of land 
along the stream. He was afterwards 
drowned while crossing the ocean, and his 
land was divided among sixteen of his 
friends, in accordance to a will which he 
had made previous to setting sail. 

The landowners in 1774 were: Patrick 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



118 



Anderson, Joseph Alexander, John and 
Daniel Buckwalter, Frederick JJnssard, "Wil- 
liam Bodley, Benjamin Boyer8,Elias Brown, 
Anne Boyers, James Cloyd, Moses, Jona- 
than and Benjamin Coates, Joseph ('onrad, 
Alex. Campbell, John and Christopher Coon, 
Israel, Llewellyn, Jenkin and David Davis, 
William Deweese, Abner Evans, John 
Francis, Nich. Foose, Val. Foose, William 
Fussel, Fred. Gcerhart, William Graham, 
John Griffith, John Griffith (schoolmaster), 
Nich. and Christian Halderman, Samuel 
Harvey, John Humphrey, Jacob Hoomel, 
Nich. Halderman, jr., David John, Griffith 
Jones, David James, John Keiter, Benj. 
Longstrcth, George Late, Edwin Lane, 
William Moore, esq., Alex. McAuley, George 
McKenny, James and Joel Martin, Henry 
and Jacob Miller, Isaac Morgan, Christian 
Mary, Ant. Pritchard, Jacob i'ennypacker, 
Thos. Robinson, Daniel Rossiter, Thomas 
Roberts, John Richardson, Philip Rapp, 
Joseph Starr, Joseph Starr, jr., Joseph 
Smith, Joseph Showalter, Martin Shenbolk, 
Jacob Sturk, Andrew Turk, Amos, James 
and Benjamin Thomas, Richard Tompkins, 
John Varley, John Vergloth, Seltastian 
Wagoner, David and Thonuis Williams, 
James White, Christian Whittaker, Jon. 
Wells, John Youngblood, Robert Kennedy, 
James McCounell, Michael King, Jane 
Martin, Matthias Pennypacker, and Michael 
Holman. 

The early settlers were mostly Welsh, fol- 
lowed by some Germans, and in 182l! the 
eastern part of Charlestown was erected 
into Schuylkill township. 

East Bradford Toirnshlp. — It is bounded 
on the north by East Cain township; on the 
east by West Whiteland and West Goshen ; 
on the south by Westtowu and Birming- 
ham; and on the west by Pocopson and 
8 



West Bradford townships. It was formed, 
on Novend)er 31, 1731, from the eastern 
part of Bradford township ; and Richard 
Buffington is supposed to have been the 
first permanent English settler within its 
limits. A portion of its southern territory 
in 1856 was attached to Birmingham town- 
ship. 

The northern part of the township is 
entirely occupied by mica schists, while the 
southern part lies in the azoic slates. Lime- 
stone is found in the northeastern j)art, and 
a snuiU and narrow area of serpentine ex- 
ists in the southern part. It is well watered 
and lies between two railways. 

East Bradford's landowners in 1774 were 
as follows: Abiah, Deborah, John and 
Abram Taylor ; Abel Boake, Amos Davis, 
Abigail Fling, Benj. Hawley, Chas. Ryan, 
Daniel Davis, Emnior Jett'eris, Enoch Gray, 
Geo. Carter, Geo. Dunavan, Geo. Entriken, 
Henry Woodward, Hannah Carter, Joseph 
Khoades, Jas. Jeti'cris, Joseph, Samuel aixi 
Xathan Cope, Jos. Buffington, Jos. Parke, 
John Hannum, Jos. Temple, John Jones, 
James Wolerton, Joseph Wolerton, Joshua 
lIooj)S, Jas. Starr, John Townsend, Isaac 
Chapman, John Darlington, Joseph Under- 
wood, James Painter, Joseph Downing, 
Jacob Talbot, Mary Grubb, Jas. Robinson, 
John I'nderwood, Nathan Hoops, Nathan- 
iel Jett'eris, Richard Jones, Richard Strode, 
Richard Jett'eris, Samuel Painter, Susannah 
Davis, Samuel Entriken, Thos. Speakman. 
Thos. Worth, Thos. Hall, Thos. Carter, 
Wni. Messer, Samuel Osborn, Joseph Haw- 
ley*, and Joseph Strode. 

East Braiidijirine Township. — This town- 
ship is bounded on the north by Wallace; 
on the east by I'pper and Lower I'wchlan 
and East Cain townships; on the south by 
Cain ; and on the west by West Brandy wine 



BIOGRAPHY and: HISTORY 



township. It lies in the northern gneiss 
region and is entirely composed of the 
hornhlendic gneisses, feldspathic rocks and 
pseudo-conglomerates; except three small 
areas of Potsdam quartzite, which are found 
respectively around Guthriesville, in the 
northeastern part, and at the southeastern 
extremity of the township. 

East Brandywine is the eastern part of 
Brandywine township which was formed 
from East Cain in 1790, and divided into 
East and West Brandywine townships in 
1844. Its landholders in 1774 are included 
in the list given for East Cain. The West 
Brandywine river runs from north to south 
through the western part, and along its 
banks the Wilmington & Reading railroad 



East Cain Township. — It is bounded on 
the north by Lower Uwchlan ; on the east 
by West Whiteland ; on the south by East 
and West Bradford ; and on the west by 
Calii and East Brandywine townships. It 
lies principally in the Downiugtown valley. 
The limestone formations toward the north 
are bounded by the hydro-mica-schists of 
the northern gneiss region. Paint clays 
occur near Baldwin, and several marble 
quarries have been opened. East Cain is 
drained by the waters of the East Brandy- 
wine river, and three railways pass through 
its territory. 

The landholders in 1774 were: Joshua, 
John and William Baldwin, John, Joseph 
and Richard Downing, Jason Cloud,William 
Barry, George Buchanan, Abiah Parke, 
Rich. Cheyne, Henry Barker, Robert Val- 
entine, Jon. Parke, David Jenkins, Jona. 
Hoops,William Roberts, Isaac Webb, James 
Sheward, Samuel Hunt, James Hood, John 
Valentine, Anne Park, Obed Lewis, John 
Hoops, Griffith Meudenhail, Robert Valen- 



tine, jr., Curtis Lewis, Rachel Roman, Han- 
nah Pyni, Thomas Stalker, Warwick Mil- 
ler, esq., Thomas, Isaac and Moses Coats, 
Mary Hart, James Thompson, Alex., Joseph 
and Peter Fleming, Robert Elton, Andrew 
Cox, Thomas and Samuel White, Joseph 
Arbuckle, James McKelby, Andrew, Samuel 
and John Culbertson, James Clark, John 
Carmichael, William and Robert Wilson, 
George Kennedy, John Walker, John 
Proudfoot, Mary Cox, Francis Zook, Samuel 
Thompson, Joshua Mendenhall, Adam 
Guthry, William Iddings, Ludwick Liggett, 
Thomas AVindle, Richard Buffington, James 
Guthry, Andrew Elliott, Joseph McKinley, 
Thomas Fisher, Robert Darlington, Samuel 
Rolliday, William and Joseph Long, John 
Gileylen, James Stanley, John Smith, Henry 
Lewis, Isaac Green, Isabel, Arch, and Theop. 
Irwin, Robert and James Lockhart, James 
Hanson, William Todd, James McGlauglin, 
William Johnston, James and Charles Jack, 
and James and Michael Miller. 

East Coventry Township. — It is bounded 
on the northwest by North Coventry town- 
ship ; on the northeast by Montgomery 
county ; on the southeast by East Vincent 
township ; and on the southwest by East 
Vincent and South Coventry townships. It 
lies within the Schuj^lkill or mesozoic region 
of the county, and no other rocks occur in 
its territory than those that are characteris- 
tic of the mesozoic formation. 

East Coventry township was formed in 
1844 by a division of North Coventry town- 
ship, which had been created in 1841 by 
the division of Coventry township into 
North and South Coventr}' townships. The 
original township of Coventry was named 
by Samuel Nutt, an early settler, in honor 
of Coventry, in Warwickshire, England. 
East Coventry is drained by tributary 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



115 



streaiiisof the Schuylkill river. Theoriginal 
Coventry township in 1774 comprised the 
territorj' of North, South and East Coventry 
townships, and its landholders in that year 
were: James Arbuokle, Jacob and John 
Acker, Peter Amole, Abraham, Jacob, 
Henry, and Henry Brower, jr., Daniel and 
Eve Brower, Henry Banner, John Bowe, 
Henry Beer, Joseph Brooks, Daniel Beery, 
Peter Crumbaker, Adam Deam, Godfrey 
Dowenhauer, (Jeorge Ditlow, John Davis, 
James English, Owen Evans, Conrad Grim, 
George Grouse, Anna, Abraham, Henry and 
David Grubb, John Highter, liennard Gun- 
senhauser, Thomas Hockley, John High, 
Michael Haldernian, Nicholas Herwick, 
Stopher Halderman, John Imhoti', Allan 
Jack, Jacob Kittingher, Jacob Keringer, 
Jacob Light, Jacob Longacre, Justus Lin- 
dernian, Mary Keiser, Nicholas Keller, 
Nicholas, Villdy and Tobias Miller, Peter 
Mower, Martin Ornen, James Hockley & 
Potts, William Plaine, Christian Keiff, Rob- 
ert Milhouse, Simon Meredy (Meredith), 
Abraham Moore, Jonathan and John Pugh, 
John Kinnard, Frederick llinhard, Bastian 
Kutf, John Smith, Michael Swick, Abraham 
Sliver, Conrad Swither, Frederick Scholl, 
John Sowder, Ulrich Swither, John Switzer, 
Jacob Steger, John Varley, Martin Wofe, 
Susannah Wells, Jacob Fetterling, Jonas 
Rodrough, Richard Custard, Jacob Thomas, 
Henry Schenkel, Jacob Row, Jacob Live- 
good, Daniel Engle, Michael Smith, Fred- 
erick Hack, Rees John, Rudolph Sheneman, 
John Holsenberger, Ludwick Stophel, and 
Nicholas Munshowor. 

East Falloa'Jidd Towns/tip. — Thi.'< township 
is bounded on the north by Sadsbury, Val- 
ley and Cain ; on the east by West Bradford 
andNewlin townships ; on the south by West 
Marlborough ; and on the west by Highland 



townsliip. The rocks of this township are 
all mica-schists, and lie in the mica-slate or 
South Valley hill region. East Fallowfield 
was formed in 1743 by the division of Fal- 
lowfield township into East and West Fal- 
lowtield townships. Theoriginal Fallowtield 
township is said to have been named in 
honor of Lancelot Fallowfield of Great 
Strickland, England, who was one of the 
first purchasers of land from William Penn. 
It has two railways, one passing along its 
western border and the other through its 
eastern part. 

In 1774 the landowners of East Fallow- 
tield township were: Josejih and William 
Adams, Robert Burns, John Bell, William 
Banting, Robert Bell, Widow Bold, William 
Boggs, Patterson Bell, David Brooks, George 
Cowpland, Nathan, James, Robert, Stephen 
and George Cochran, John Caruthers, Rob- 
ert Cowden, John Danold, James Dunu, 
Samuel Futhey, Hugh Fearon, Archibald 
Guy, James and Adam Glendening, George, 
Alexander and Andrew Gibson, James 
Hannum, William Haslett, Nathan Hayes, 
Ebenozer Harper, RoVjort Hamill, Richard, 
John and Thomas Irwin, John, Andrew and 
Joseph Kirkjiatrick, William Kees, Thomas 
Love, James Laughead, James Logan, David 
and James Ligget, George MeGuire, James 
McCausland, Thomas .McClure, Patrick Mc- 
Laughlin, James McCormick, William Mc- 
Illhaney, Andrew Moore, Robert Noble, 
Thomas Officer, Ellis I'usey, Israel I'ember- 
ton, Arthur and John I 'ark, Andrew Reed, 
Francis Ruth, James Rankin, William Reed, 
James and John and James, jr.. Smith, 
James Scott, John Taylor, George Sloan, 
William, Joseph and William, jr.. Stringer, 
William Townsend, John Truman, William 
Vogan, Samuel and Joseph Wilson. Thomius 
Wallace, and Sarah Weldon. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOSY 



East Goshen TownsJdp. — It is bounded on 
the north by East and West Whiteland 
townships : on the east by Willistown ; on 
the south by Willistown and Westtown 
townships ; and on the west by West 
Goshen township. 

The northern part of the township lies 
in the mica-slate or South Valley hill region, 
and is separated by a narrow belt of ser- 
pentine from the azoic slate formation that 
spreads out over the central and southern 
parts of its territory. Its drainage is by 
several creeks which flow south to the Del- 
aware river. We find that the original 
Groshen township in 1774 included the ter- 
ritory of both East and West Goshen, and 
its landholders in that year were : George, 
Aaron and Joshua Ashbridge ; William 
Bane, Joseph Beaumont, Alexander Boggs, 
John Bowen, John Chapman, Jesse Canby, 
Stephen Cimes, Amos Davis, Thomas and 
John Darlington, Lawrence Cox, Lydia 
Davis, Jonathan Eldridge, Enoch Eacus 
(Eachus), William Eacus, jr., James, Jona- 
than, Joseph and William Garrett, Thomas 
Goodwin, Christopher Good, William GaK 
breath, Thomas, John, Samuel, Benjamin, 
George, Thomas, jr., and Aaron Hoops, 
Isaac Haines, John Harley, James Hemp- 
hill, Edward Hicks, Jarvis Hall, Joseph 
Hunt, James Hickey, Jacob James, William 
Jones, Joseph and William Johnson, Thomas 
Lewis, Thomas Maliii, jr., Nathaniel Moore, 
Isaiah, Jonathan and Amos Matlack, Jona- 
than Milleson, Isaac Macy, John Mechem, 
Samuel Oliver, Thomas Oakes, William 
Peters, George Pierce, William Patterson, 
Samuel Phipps, Abraham Pratt, Charles 
Ryan, William Rettew, Joseph Randies, 
Joseph Ray, Thomas Rees, William Shar- 
pies, Thomas Scofield, Thomas Speakman, 
George and John Smith, Benjamin Frego, 



Joshua Thompson, Thomas Williamson, 
Samuel Wain, and Isaac Williams. 

East Marlborough Township. — This town- 
ship is bounded on the northeast by 
itfewlin and Pocopson ; on the south- 
east by Pennsbury and Kennett; on the 
south by Kennett and New Garden ; and 
on the west by West Marlborough and 
London Grove townships. East Marlbor- 
ough lies in the southern gneiss region. 
Two narrow strips of limestone are in the 
northwestern part of the township, while 
another narrow strip extends, together with 
a small belt of Potsdam sandstone, across 
the township south of Taggart's Cross 
Roads. Fine specimens of garnets are 
found in a white conglomorate near Wash- 
ington Alexander's. East Marlborough is 
drained principally by streams flowing into 
the West Brandywine river. Its landown- 
ers in 1774 were: William Allen, Edward 
Bennett, Joel, Caleb, William and Isaac 
Bailey, Thomas Butler, Abner, Joshua, 
Mordecai and William Cloud, Stephen An- 
derson, John, jr., Caleb, Jesse, George, 
Thomas and Jonathan Jackson", Thomas 
and Samuel Hayes, Isaac and Caleb John- 
ston, William and Silas Harvey, Samuel 
Beverly, Thomas Campton, Peter Egnew 
(Agnew), Alexander Foreman, Enoch, 
James and Abel Wickersham, Jacob Wright, 
Richard, Henry and Thomas Woodward, 
John Taylor, James Mash, Jacob and Jos- 
eph Pyle, Joshua Pierce, Isaac Woodrow, 
Caleb, Edward, Samuel and William Swayne, 
Mordecai Vernon, William Windle, Daniel 
and Solomon Mercer, Moses, William and 
Joseph Pennock, John Russell, John Parker, 
Jacob Tagart, Henry Neale, Benjamin Way, 
John Webster, David and Thomas Pnsey, 
Thomas Shugers, Jonathan Morris, Ezekiel 
Webb, Caleb and Isaac Pierce, John Wil- 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



117 



son, James Jeff'eris, Tliomas Preston, Abrani 
Ileald, Isaac Mendeiiliall, James Nethery, 
and Cliarles Rndibaok. 

EaM Nantme.al Tomtshlp. — It is bounded 
on the north by Warwick ; on the north- 
east by South Coventry ; on the southeast 
by West Vincent ; on the south by Upper 
Uwchlan ; on the southwest by Wallace ; 
and on the west by West Nautmeal town- 
ships. It is nearly covered by azoic rocks. 
Feldspathic granite extends from both 
South Coventry and West Vincent a short 
distance into the township, but is soon re- 
placed by sand rocks, while a tew loose 
fragments are found near Marsh creek. 
East Nantmeal is drained by the waters of 
East Brandywine river and French creek. 
It was formed into a township in 1740, be- 
ing the eastern part of Nantmeal township, 
whose name was originally written Nant- 
mel, from Nantmel in Radnorshire, Wales, 
after wliich it was named. Surveys were 
made as early as 1715. The first settlers 
were Welsh, and in 1730 the Scotch-Irish 
commenced to settle in the western part. 

The landholders in 1774 were: James 
Old, Kutter & Potts, William Sterret, 
James Henderson, Hugh William, James 
Guest, Thomas Meredith, John Horn, Abner 
and Elihu Evans, William James, William 
Kirk, John Ligat (Liggett), Jonathan 
Wynn, Wm. Brown, John and Thos. Lloyd, 
Evan, Daniel, John, William and Abel 
Griffith, Branson Vanleer, Robert Stuard, 
James Pugh, William Thomas, Abram 
Bealy, Jacob, Daniel and David High, 
Benjamin Abram, John Xiel, Fimhance 
Beerbowcr, Borrick Peliolt, Michael. Piiilip 
and John Boyer, Andrew Kern, I'liiliii Cos- 
mer, Windle Donfclter, Stephen Dougliton, 
William Denison, Theodore Ellis, Christo- 
pher Fulker, John Getz, Isaac Jones, Tliomas 



John, John Knauer, Philip Lewis, Jacob 
Murrey, Henry Moses, Adam Miller, John 
McKiiight, George Price, Jolin Robison, 
Martin Rhoades, Thomas Rutter, Jacob 
Shuster, Henry Sheffer, David Steel, David, 
John and Joseph Stephen, John Festick, 
James Tod, William Temple, Frederick 
Walleigh, Jacob Wiseberger, Alexander 
McKee, John Woodrow, Mark Bird, esq., 
Peter Kimes, Thomas Bull, Jacob Vance, 
Peter Moses, Jacob Vinance, and Thomas 
Leightoii. 

East Noffi)ii//i(iiii Tom ski p. — This town- 
ship is l)oundod on the north by Lower 
Oxford township; on the east by New 
London and Elk townships; on the south 
by the State of Maryland ; and on tlie west 
by West Nottingham township. The north- 
ern and central portions of East Nottingham 
lie in the hydro-mica-schist formation of the 
South Valle}' hill region, while in the soutli- 
ern part two small areas of serpentine are 
separated by a tongue of gneiss extending 
up from the Maryland State line. It is 
drained by several small streams and lias 
two railways in the western part. It is tlie 
eastern and larger part of the original 
Nottingham township, is mentioned as early 
as 1718, and has lost territory successively 
by the formation of Oxford and Hopewell 
borouglis and Elk township. Its landown- 
ers in 1774 were: Robert Alexander. Henry 
Erskine, James Anderson. Jeremiah. David, 
William and Mercer Biovvn. Abraham Bunt- 
ing, William Bean. Tlios. Barrett. Andrew 
Boyd, Andrew Brians, Thos. Baldwin. Rol)- 
ert and James Calvin, (leorge, Thomas, 
William and John Chnrcliman, John Clen- 
dening. John Crawford, Elijah Cole. Benj. 
Chandlec, Samuel and Samuel, jr., Dickey, 
John Day, Robert Dorrongh, Joseph Drenin, 
Samuel England, John and Robert Erwin, 



118 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Henry, Robert and Thomas Ewing, John 
Fulton, Joseph Gardner, Thomas Gilliland, 
Robert Graham, Elisha Gatchell, William 
Gibson, Joseph and David Gatchel, Archi- 
bald Glover, John and James Hudders, 
James Harkness, Samuel Hutchinson, Sam- 
uel Hill, John Hathorn, Robert Harvey, 
Patrick Hamilton, William Hilles, Mary 
Hughs, Matthew Henderson, John Johnson, 
Mordecai James, David Junkins, Archibald 
Job, Timothy, Abner and Mary Kirk, Hugh 
Logan, John Lavpson, George Ligate, James 
McCorkle, John McClavery, James and 
Henry McCormick, Henry McCauley, James 
Morrow, Sampson JMoore, Jean McKee, 
Robert Maxwell, James Mealey, George 
Mitchell, John McConkey, James and Wil- 
liam Mackey, James Montgomery, John 
Mills, Finley McGrew, John McBeath, Geo. 
Monroe, James McLaughlin, John Ogleby, 
Robert Oldham, Margaret Patterson, George 
Passmore, John Pew, Joshua Pngh, William 
Pennell, Edward Parker, Josiah Porterlield, 
William and Rowland Rogers, William 
Rutherford, William Ramsey, Hezekiah 
Rolls, Isaac Rodgers, James Steel, Thomas 
Scott, Richard and Hugh Sidwell, James 
and Joseph Smith, Robert and William 
Shepherd, Thomas Sharp, Hugh Thompson, 
Joseph and Philip Tanner, Joseph Trimble, 
Francis, Jonathan, John and John, jr., 
White, Samuel, Robert, Benjamin, Thomas 
and James Wilson, David -Watt, Thomas 
Youl, and Charles Williams. 

East Pikdand Toivnshlp. — It extends 
northeast and southwest, and is bounded on 
the northeast by Montgomery county ; on 
the southeast by Schuylkill and Charles- 
town townships ; on the southwest by West 
Pikeland township; and on the north- 
west by East and West Vincent townships. 
The upper (northeastern) and longer por- 



tion of East Pikeland is composed of the 
mesozoic sandstones and shales; while the 
lower (southwestern) part lies entirely in 
the azoic series. Brown hematite iron ore 
is found in the southern part and has been 
opened southwest of Kimberton station, 
where the Raby mine has an output of six 
tons per day. 

East Pikeland is well drained by French 
and Pickering creeks, and the Pickering Val- 
ley railroad runs through the western and 
central parts of the township. 

In 1747 the following persons were land- 
holders: Thomas Milhouse, John Wells, 
Robert, Daniel and Richard, jr., Prichard; 
Edward Williams, John Bowen, John 
MaKee, Daniel Griffith, Thomas Taylor, 
William and Jeremiah Tomson, William 
Hail, Evan David, Adam Ramsower, Adam 
Halman, George Dery, John William, Hans 
Adam, Dugell McAntire, Robert Ilambil- 
town, William Hambiltown, Humphrey 
Bell, George Walker, John David, David 
Cadwaleder, John Thomas, John Gumry, 
Timothy Kirk, Philip Packer, Francis 
O'Neal, Joshua John, John Tribbey, Samuel 
Holday, Samuel Lightfoot, Robert Riche- 
son, John Glower, Adam Stone, Thomas 
and Samuel Daves, David David, Jeremiah 
Lewis, Michael Niel, Andrew Cummens, 
Richard Pi'ichard, sr., John Jones, and 
Philip Edwards. 

Easttoam Township. — -This township is 
bounded on the north by Tredyftrin town- 
ship; on the east by Tredytirin township 
and Delaware county ; on the south by 
Delaware county ; and on the west by 
Delaware county and Willistown township. 
"Taking a general view of the geology of ^ 
this township, it is noticeable that it consists 
mainly of two formations: mica-schists 
partially chloritic on the north, and dark 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



green or black syenites and hornblendic 
rocks interspersed with feldspar porpliyry 
on the south. Between these two, as if to 
form a natural barrier l)etween them, is a 
wall of dolerite, and on the north side of 
which a belt of serpentine is visible, and 
but a sliort distance from it." Easttown is 
drained by the headwaters of Darby creek, 
and a railroad passes through the northern 
part of the township. It was erected 
about the year 1704, and is most noted for 
being the home of Anthony Wayne, the 
county's most illustrious soldier. 

In 1774 the following landholders were 
returned on the assessment list of that 
year: Andrew Steel, Anthony Wayne. 
Lewis, John, Morris and James Morris, 
Whitehead Weatherby, Samuel Vanleer, 
Thomas McKean, Robert Stephen, Rob- 
ert McOoogin, David Rees, John Steel, 
Frederick Ijaiides, Benjamin Juiikin, Thos. 
Tucker, Evan Evans, William < Jriffith, I'hilip 
Sheatf, Martha Davis, Thomas and Jona- 
than Moore, William Meichior, Henry Fox, 
Jonathan Llewellyn, Michael Binger, Cas- 
per White, Abel Hammer, Thomas and 
Griffith Williams, Peter Uble, John Butler, 
David Morgan, Margaret Bell, Nathan 
Lewis, Thonuis Welch, Joseph and Thonuis 
Massey, Ann Ellis, and Abraham Davis. 

Etiaf Vinn-vf Toirnship. — It is bounded 
on the north by East Coventry township ; 
on tlie east by Montgomery county; on the 
southeast by East I'ikeland; on the south- 
west by West Vincent ; and on the north- 
west by South Coventry township. East Vin- 
cent lies wholly within the mesozoic series, 
and in its western part much loose sand 
is to be found. It is drained by the waters 
of the Schuylkill river and French creek. 
It is the northern part of what was origin- 
ally Vincent townsbiii, wliicb derived its 



name from Sir Matthias Vin(;ent. It was 
erected as a township in 1882, and its early 
permanent settlers were Germans. Its 
territory was diminished in 1872 by the 
erection of Springville. now Spring City 
borough. 

The landowners in the township in 
1774 were: Philip Arndorf, Anthony 
and Henry Acre, Paul and Henry Benard, 
John Bound, James and William Barber, 
Henry and Benjamin Brumback, Joseph 
Bosler, Henry Carl, Jacob Cover, Henry 
and Felix Chrisman, Michael C'ypher, 
William Cowan, Conrad C'arl, Peter De- 
train, John Dodson, David Davis, John 
David, George Deery, Henry Dasher, 
William, David and James Evans, Rudolph 
Essex (Essig?), Christian Everhart, William 
Eddy, George Fitzsimmons, Jacob Ginther, 
William Gordon, Nicholas Ground, .Michael 
Holman, Casper Himes, Henry IIetlier\', 
John Hause, Lawrence Hippie, Joseph 
Hoskins, Jonas Hicks, Joseph Hancock, 
Jacob Hofi'man, James John, David and 
John Jenkin, Sebastian Keeley, Henry 
Knerr, John Llo^'d, Philip, Henry and 
Peter Miller, John McFarlan, Samuel 
Morris, Alexander McAlister, John Adam. 
John and Enoch Meredith, Jacob Mawre 
(MowryV)i John McCracken, John Mel- 
cboir, John Olinger, John Philips, John 
Paul. Edward I'arker. Henry Rhoadcs. 
Robert Ralston, James Rogers. John 
Rhodes. Joseph Rodgers. <4eorge \io\\\ 
John Shinholds, Conrad Siiimer, Simeon 
and Conrad Shunk, Peter Steger. Hugh 
Strickland, Conrad Sharer, Casper Sni<ler. 
Frederick Slider, Henry Sharadan. Owen 
David. John and Hazael Thomas, Abraham 
Turner, Jacob Voges, Enoch and Ann 
Watkin, Thomas Wilson, John Young, and 
George Yeager. 



130 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



East Whiteland Township. — This township 
is bounded on the north by Charlestown ; 
on the east by Tredyffrin ; on the south by 
Willistown and East Goshen townships; 
and on the west by West Whiteland town- 
ship. East Whiteland extends from south 
to north across the widest part of the Down- 
ingtown valley limestone region. In its 
northern part are two small areas of Pots- 
dam sandstone, and the southern edge lies 
in the hydro-mica-schist formation. There 
are numerous limestone and marble quar- 
ries and brown hematite iron ore mines in 
the township. It is drained hy several 
tributary streams of the Delaware river, and 
traversed from west to east by two railroads. 
East Whiteland was erected February 26, 
1765, and is the eastern part of the original 
Whiteland township which was organized 
in 1704, and derived its name from Whit- 
ford Garden, in Flint8hire,Wales. Its early 
settlers were Welsh. 

In 1774 its landowners were: John 
Adams, Benjamin, John and Benjamin, 
jr., Bartholomew; John Blatchford, Ben- 
jamin and Joseph Bond, Widow Bowen, 
David Cloyd, John Coflman, Conrad 
Coleman, John Cinneka (Miller), Wid- 
ow Dilworth, Daniel Durborrow, John 
Fike, Josiah Hibbard, Thomas and 
Thomas, jr., Harris, Widow Ives, John 
Kerlin, Samuel Kennedy, Joseph Lewis, 
Michael Lapp, George Mereditli, Kandall 
Malin, Robert Powell, Widow Philips, 
Richard Richardson, James Robinson, Rob- 
ert Rook, Henry Sowers, John Smith, John 
Templeton, Andrew Todd, and Christian 
and John Zook. 

Franklin Tonms/iip. — It is bounded on 
the north by London Grove township ; on 
the east by New Garden and London Britain 
townships ; on the south l)y Maryland ; and 



on the west by Elk and New London 
townships. It lies entirely within the azoic 
slates of the southern gneiss region, and 
the soil is dark rich red and fertile. It was 
formed in 1852 from the southeast part of 
New London township. Surveys were 
made as early as 1720. 

The names of its landholders in 1774 are 
included in those of New London township 
for the same year. 

Highland Township. — This township is 
bounded as follows : on the north by West 
Sadsburj' and Sadsbury townships ; on the 
east by East Fallowfield township ; on the 
south by West Marlborough and London- 
derry townships ; and on the west by West 
Fallowfield township. Highland lies en- 
tirely within the South Valley hill region, 
and is composed of the mica-schist series. 
It is drained by the waters of Doe's run, 
and has a railroad running along its eastern 
border. It was formed from the eastern 
part of West Fallowfield township in 1853. 

The names of its landholders in 1774 are 
included in the list of that year given for 
West Fallowfield. 

Honeyhrook Toirnship. — It is bounded on 
the north by Lancaster county ; on the east 
by West Nantmeal and West Brandywine 
townships ; on the south by West Cain 
township ; and on the west by Lancaster 
county. It lies in the azoic slates of the 
northern gneiss region, and its extreme 
northern and southern parts are overspread 
with Potsdam sandstone. A small area of 
trap rock occurs in the northeastern part, 
and a short and narrow strip lies south of 
the center of the township. Limestone and 
iron ore have been found in small quantities. 
Honeyhrook is drained by the headwaters 
of East and West Brandywine rivers, and 
has two railroads running through it. The 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



township was formed in 1789 from tlie 
western part of West Nantraeai, and sur- 
veys were made within its present boun- 
daries as early as 1718. 

Its landowners of 1774 are included in 
the list of iandholdors given in that year 
for West Nantnieai township. 

Kennett Toirnshlp. — It is bounded on the 
north by East Marlborough and Pennsbury 
townships; on the east by I'ennsbury town- 
ship ; on the south by the State of Delaware, 
and on the west by New Garden township. 
It lies in the southern gneiss region with a 
northern and a southern area of Potsdam 
sandstone, and a middle one of Siluro-Cam- 
brian limestone. It is thus described : "A 
short synclinal and anticlinal of Potsdam 
in the northern part, bringing to view the 
limestone south of Kennett Square ; a dyke 
of syenite cutting oft' the eastern end of this 
limestone; and a synclinal of hurnblendic 
gneiss in the southern part bringing to view 
in its axis again the i'otsdam series." Its 
surface is drained by Red Clay creek, and 
the Philadelphia& Baltimore railroad passes 
through the township from west to cast. 
The first mention of Kennett as a township 
is made in the court records of 1805, 
and its name seems to have been derived 
from the village of Kcnnet in Wiltshire, 
England. In 1700 the greater part of this 
township was laid out for William and 
Letitia Penn, and the land was slowly dis- 
posed of to purchasers. 

The landholders in 1774 were: iiub- 
ert, Jacob and James Brown ; William 
Baldwin, Robert Barr, Peter Bell, Thos. 
Carlenton, Gabriel Clark, Calvin and Rob- 
ert Cooper, Jesse and Daniel Cloud, 
Isaac Chandler, Walter Craig, Enoch and 
Henry Dixon, Michael, Isaac, Solomon and 
Sarah (iregg, Jesse Harvey, John Harper, 



Joshua and Joseph Harlan, Zacheus Kay, 
William and Robert Lambory, William 
Lewis, Samuel Levis, Allen Langley, John 
Lambo2-n, John McFarlan, Charles Mc- 
Cauley, John Marshall, Thomas Milhous, 
George Meason, Jesse Miller, Jesse Men- 
denhall, John McElroy, Joseph Musgrave, 
Enoch and George Passniore, William and 
John Pyle, John Richison, Oliver andllugh 
Ru.ssell, Abraham and Caleb Taylor, Wil- 
liam Tate ; Joshua, Jacob and Joseph Sharp- 
less; Francis Swain; James, Joseph and 
Benjamin Walter ; Robert Way, Ezekiel and 
Sarah Webb, William Wiley, George and 
Joseph, jr., Walters, Andrew Yeatman, and 
Jacob Zemplier. 

London Britain Ton-nsliip. — This town- 
ship is bounded on the north by Franklin 
and New Garden townships; on the east 
by Delaware ; on the south by Maryland ; 
and on the west by Franklin township. It 
lies in the southern gneiss region, with a 
considerable area of Potsdam sandstone in 
the eastern part, which encloses a medium 
sized belt of Siluro-Cambrian limestone. 
It is drained by White Clay and other 
creeks; and tlie Pennsylvania & Delaware 
railroad passes along its eastern boundary 
line. A large portion of its territory once 
belonged to the London company, an«l it 
was erected as a township in 1725. Its 
early settlors were Welsh Baptists. 

The landowners of London Britain in 
1774 were: Evan Evans, esq., Hannah Mc- 
Echrani, Charles Black, John and Benja- 
min Whitting, John Willianjs, Charles 
Hughes, Catharine Crawford, Henry Smith, 
John Ross, James Reed, John Druniore, 
William Hopes, Thomas Lnnn, William 
Mccklen, John Beard, Margaret Crow, 
Morris Thomas, Murtough Menaugh, 
James Kennedy, Andrew McClelland, 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTOSY 



Robert Allen, John Chambers, James 
Taylor, John and William Alexander, John 
Reed, Elijah McCray, Moses and William 
Scott, John Rankin, John Whan, Rees 
Price, Isaac Johnston, Thomas Jordan, 
John Sutton, Andrew Bingham, John 
Murphy, and John McCoy. 

Londonderry Toirnship. — This township is 
bounded on the north by West Fallowfield 
and Highland : on the east by West Marl- 
borough and London Grove townships ; on 
the south by Peun township ; and on the 
west by Upper Oxford and West Fallow- 
tield townships. It lies in the mica-schist 
formations of the South Valley hill region. 
The land is high in the center near London- 
derry postoffice ( Daleville), and slopes in 
different directions toward its boundaries. 
Londonderry was separated from l^otting- 
ham in 1734, and its territory extended 
westward to Octoraro creek. In 1754 Ox- 
ford was taken from it on the west, and in 
1819 Penn was carved out of the southern 
part of its territory. In 1866 it received a 
small addition from London Grove and 
West Marlborough. Its early settlers were 
from Ireland. 

Londonderry's landowners in 1774 were: 
Moses Correy, Martha Shields, William Mc- 
Cracken, Alexander Fulton, William Mont- 
gomery, Richard Bailey, William, Ann and 
Thomas Thompson, John Wickersham, 
Richard Trontou, Jacob Wilson, Robert 
Gardner, James Poage, John Picken, Rachel 
Crosby, Robert Graham, David Bracken- 
ridge, William Chalfant, James Gibson, 
Elizabeth Hall, John and Thomas McGuire, 
John Flatcher, Mary Baily, Nathan Hays, 
James Craig, David Kiiikaid, Elizabeth 
McAdams, Robert Sloan, William Kerr, 
John Widows, William Cieeland, .James 
Law, John Watson, Joseph Hutchinson, 



Matthew Young, Agnes Rowan, Joseph 
Caldwell, Mary Moss, Josiah Allen, Benj. 
Hanway, James Gilliland, Francis and 
William Blair, William Love, John, Samuel 
and James Criswell, Robert Patterson, 
Montgomery Kennedy, John Matthews, 
Xathaniel Walker, David, Samuel and John 
Ramsay, John Swan, Daniel Jones, Elijah 
McClenahan, Joseph and Thomas Straw- 
bridge, Samuel Cross, John Alexander, 
Archibald Fleming, Robert Graham, Sam- 
uel and James Mackey, Henry and Eliza- 
beth Charlton. 

London Grove Tovmsldp. — It is bounded 
on the north by West Marlborough town- 
ship ; on the east by West Marlborough 
and New Garden townships ; on the south 
by Franklin township ; and on the west by 
New London, Penn and Londonderry 
townships. The southern part of London 
Grove is in the southern gneiss region, 
while the central and northern parts lie in 
the South Valley hill region, and have two 
considerable areas of Potsdam sandstone 
and Siluro-Cambrian limestone, and a small 
strip of serpentine near Avondale. It is 
drained by several small streams, while its 
facilities for market are excellent, it being 
crossed from north to south by the Penn- 
sylvania & Delaware, and from west to east 
by the Philadelphia & Baltimore railroads. 
The township was erected in 1723, and was 
then principally owned by the London 
compan}'. The early settlers were princi- 
pally Friends. 

The landholders of London Grove in 1774 
were : William and Joseph Allen, William 
Anderson, Aaron Baker, Charles Booth, 
John Baldwin, William Chandler, Robert 
Cain, Rebekah and Stephen Cook, Edward 
Crooks, William Derrickson, William 
Elliott, Hi chard Flower, Moses Frazer, 



OF CHES1ER COUNTY. 



138 



James Greenfield, Henry, David and 
Solomon Harlan, David Hunter, Jacob 
Ilalliday, Edward Henderson, Samuel, 
Eidiraini and William Jackson, Thomas 
Johnson, Joshua and Joseph Johnston, 
James Kelton, Alexander Lewis: Francis, 
Thomas, Kobert and Josiah Lamboru ; Jona. 
Lindiey, Thomas McKean, Thomas Morton, 
llobert Montgomery, Joseph and David 
Moore, David McCay, John Newborough, 
John and Joshua Pusey, George Passmore, 
Nathaniel Pen nock's executors, Jesse Pen- 
nock, James Kobinson, Joseph Richardson, 
.lohn Keed, Samuel Sharp, Moses Starr, 
Hugh Speakman, William Travilla, Jere- 
miah li^nderwood. Thomas AVard, Francis 
Wilkinson, Samuel and Thomas Woodward, 
William and Thomas Wood, Natlianiel 
Wallace, John Waugh, David Wiley, and 
John Williamson. 

Lower Oxfonl Toimshlp. — It is bounded 
on the north by Upper Oxford ; on tiie east 
by Penn township ; on the south by East 
and West Nottingham townships; and on 
the west by Lancaster county. It is situa- 
ted in the South Valley hill region, and its 
rocks are all mica-schist. A bed of chrome 
lies near the northern boundary line. The 
western part is drained by tlic waters of 
Octoraro creek, and the eastern !)}• tributa- 
ries of Big Elk creek. In 1797 Lower Ox- 
ford was erected out of the southern territory 
of Oxford township, which had been formed 
in 1754 from Londonderry. 

The names of the landliolders of 1774 
are included with those of Oxford township 
for that year, which were as follows: Alex- 
ander and William Pinkerton, Archibald 
Tagart, Allen and James Simpson, Archibald 
Fowles, Archibald Shields, Andrew Walker, 
Arthur and Arthur, jr.. Amlrews : Arthur 
and John McKissag ( .MiKissick'O, David 



Fleming, David Hays, David Watt, David 
Sympson, Francis Modral, Florence Scanlan, 
George Kitehey, (Jeorge Criswell, George 
McCullough,Hugli Luckey, George Church- 
man, Hugh Russell, Hugh Miller: James, 
Henry and Thomas Ewin : James and John 
Cooper, James Stockman, John Gray, John 
Wilson, James Peniberton, Thomas and 
John Wallace, James Kennedy, James 
Moore, John Smitli, John Richey, James 
Dysart, James Turner, James Henry, James 
McDowell, Jolin Gibson, John Guthrey, 
John McClenaghan, John Black, James 
McCleland, John Ross, John White, John 
Wallace, John Huston, James Gilleland, 
James Boyd, James Fleming, Robert and 
James Criswell, John Kinkead, Job Huston, 
Moses Edmiston, Robert McCrakcn, Robert 
Hogg, Robert Barnes, Robert Bunting, 
Robert Henderson, Robert Poston, Robert 
Law, Robert and Samuel Smith, Samuel 
Jackson, Samuel and William Robb, Samuel 
McMurrcy, Samuel McNeil, Thomas Mays, 
Thomas Arnistrong,ThomasBarrett,Thomas 
Whiteside, Thonuis Cooper, William Ram- 
sey, Walter Hood, William Woods, William 
Richey, William Nilson, William Maxwell, 
William Lowrey, William Merrett, William 
l{oss, William Porter, William Lucke}-, 
WilliamCarlisle, William -McMullin, William 
Jlolmcs, AVilliam Dickey, William Hewit, 
William (41en, William McClcary, William 
Donahy, William Bunting, Rachel Jordan, 
Thomas Cloyd, and Widow Hopkins. 

Neir Ganleii Toiriiahip. — This township 
is bounded on the north by London (irove. 
West Marlborough and East Marlborough 
townships; on the east b}' Kennett town- 
ship: on the soutii l)y the State of Dela- 
ware : and on the west by London Britain, 
Franklin and London Grove townshijis. It 
is situated in the southern gneiss region. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



The Kennett Square limestone extends from 
east to west through the northern part of 
the township, and limestone and Potsdam 
sandstone areas are in the southern part. 
The structure of this township has given 
the geologists quite an amount of trouble. 
Kaolin is found in the northern part, and 
also near Kaolin postoffice in the south, 
where the American Kaolin Company's pits 
were opened by Hamilton Graham in 1839. 
The township is drained by the waters of 
White and Red Clay creeks. The Balti- 
more & Philadelphia railroad runs from 
west to east across its territory, and the 
Pennsylvania & Delaware railway passes 
through from north to south. New Garden 
township derives its name from New Gar- 
den, in County Carlow, Ireland. It is an 
old township, and was named by Rev. John 
Lowden, of New Garden meeting, Ireland. 

In 1774 the following landholders were 
on the assessment list of New Garden town- 
ship : Isaac and Benjamin Allen, Stephen 
Anderson, Thomas Barrett, George Chan- 
dler, George Elliott, "William and Henry 
Dixon, Enoch Gregg ; Hannah, Samuel and 
Joseph Hurford, Thomas, Benjamin and 
Joseph Hutton, James and Charles Hall, 
David Hoopes, Joseph Hobson, Thomas 
Hanaway, John Haeket, Jonathan Johnston, 
William Knight, Isaac and Isaac, jr., Jack- 
son, Jacob Lindley, William, James, Sam- 
uel, John, Jesse and Joseph Miller, Samuel 
Moore, Matthew MeConnell, Andrew Me- 
Intire, John and James Millions, Matthew 
Ogletree, Thomas Parker, James Pile, 
Joshua Proctor, Samuel Riddle, William 
Rowe, James and Moses Roweu, Isaac and 
Nathaniel Richards, John and Nathaniel 
Scarlet, George, Samuel and Benjamin 
Sharp, and John and Ambrose Taylor. 

Newlin Toumship. — It is bounded on tlie 



north by West Bradford ; on the east by 
Pocopson township ; on the south by East 
and West Marlborough townships ; and on 
the west by East Fallowfield township. 
The smaller western part lies in the South 
Valley hill, and the larger eastern part in 
the southern gneiss region. Small strips 
of limestone are partly along the division 
line of the two regions, and in the eastern 
part are several short, narrow strips of 
serpentine, along one of which corundum 
has been found. A whetstone quarry has 
been opened by a Mr. Hayes, and chromic 
iron ore has been found. The township is 
drained by the East Brandywine river and 
several of its tributaries, while the Wil- 
mington & Reading railroad passes through 
its territory from north to south. On June 
10, 1724, Nathaniel Newlin purchased for 
£800, of the Free Society of Traders, 7,100 
acres of land, out of which this township 
that bears his name was erected. An 
Indian village was once in the township, 
and Newlin had some trouble with the 
Indians about a part of the land which he 
had bought, and that was also claimed by 
the Red men. 

The following were the landowners in 
1774: Thomas Buffington, James, John 
and Joseph Smith, William, William, jr., 
and Peter Wickersham, Charles Wilson, 
Jesse Taylor, John Buller, Thomas Bald- 
win, George and Joseph Pierce, Thomas 
Wilson, James Shields, William Nichols, 
Isaac Trimble, Mordecai, Joseph, Caleb 
and Henry Hayes, Richard Bernard, Job 
Pyle, Joel Harlan, John, Samuel and 
William Baily, Thomas Shoot, David and 
William Eckhofl", John McGuire, William 
Adkins, Jesse Bentley, Robert Chalfant, 
William Hannah, Robert Cowan, David 
Drennon, James Porter, Thomas Baldwin 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



(tailor), Ebenezer Spikeman, and Mary 
Shield. 

New London 'Township. — This towship is 
bounded on the north by Penn township; 
on the east by London Grove and Franklin 
townships; on the south liy Elk; and on 
the west by East Nottingham township. It 
lies in the southern gneiss region. "Frag- 
ments of gneissoid rock and quartz with 
deep red and brown clays cover the entire 
northern section." The mica increases in 
size and importance toward the southern 
boundary line. The township is drained by 
Big Elk creek and several of its tributaries. 
New London was formed prior to 1715 out 
of the territory of the London Company, 
and in 1726 London Britain was taken from 
its territory. 

The landowners in 1774 were: George 
Alexander, Francis Alison, Wm. Beatty, 
David Buchanan, David and Robert Correy, 
George and Thomas Campbell, Wm. Cuin- 
mings, Allen Cunningham, Patrick Culbert- 
son, John Dickey, Thomas Donelson, Walter 
Davis : Robert, Robert, jr., and AVaiter Fin- 
ney ; Thomas Fulton, Samuel Floyd, Joseph 
Furrey, James Falls, John (Tibson, Thomas 
Gilmore, I'eter (4obby, Robert (4iffin, Rob- 
ert Gilmore, Robert (iraham, James and 
David Hutchinson, James, Alexander and 
Thomas Hughs, Eliza Henderson, Alexan- 
der Johnston, esq., Samuel Kennedy, John 
Lemon, George Lesley, William, John, Rob- 
ert and Michael Montgomery, John, William 
and William, jr., McDowell, Ephriam and 
Alexander Morrison, James Moss, Arthur 
McClure, Thos. McConnel, Joseph and Rob- 
ert Moore, Jos. Morrison, Jno.Menongh, Geo. 
Mitchell, Charles Newcome, John Pennock, 
James and William Reed, John Robinson, 
John and Andrew Scott, William Steel, 
Jere. Starr, John Small, John Smith, John 



Todd, Joseph Thompson, Robert and 
Matthew Wilkins, Thomas Wiley, James 
Whitcraft, .'\rch. Woodside, and Agnes 
Young. 

North Coccntry Towtiship. — It is bounded 
on the north by Montgomery county; on 
the east by East Coventry township ; on 
the south by South Coventry and War- 
wick townsliips; and on the west by 
Berks county. It lies in the Schuylkill or 
mesozoic region, and there is no part of 
this township in which other rocks than 
those characteristic of the mesozoic forma- 
tion occur, although it is necessary to in- 
clude under these, the doleritic traps of 
which a narrow tongue from the large mass 
in the adjoining township of Warwick 
penetrates to the extreme western and 
southern border on the place of David 
Smith. It is drained by Pigeon creek and 
several runs that empty into the Schuylkill 
river. North Coventry was formed in 1841, 
and in 1844 East Coventry township was 
taken from its territory. 

The names of the landholders in 1774 
are included in the list given in East 
Coventry for that year. 

PennTotniship. — This township is bounded 
on the north by Londonderry ; on ttie east 
by London (xrove; on tiie south by New 
London township; and on the west by 
Lower and I'ppcr Oxford townships. "The 
nortliern portion lies in the mica-schists," 
and "south of Jennerville the formation 
seems to change to that of tlie gneissoid and 
felds[)athic rocks." Iron ore is found in the 
northeastern part of the townshi{). The 
drainage of Penn is by liig Elk and Wliite 
('lay creeks, and the Pliiladelphia iV Balti- 
more railroad crosses the southern part of 
its territory. Penn township was formed 
by a division of Londonderry in 1817. Sur- 



126 



BIOGRAPHY AND UISTORY 



veys were made in 1703, and its early set- 
tlers came from the north of Ireland. 

The names of those who owned land in 
1774 are in the list of Londonderry's land- 
holders for that year. 

Peymsbury Township. — It is bounded on 
the north by Pocopson township ; on the 
east by Birmingham township and Dela- 
ware county ; on the south by Delaware ; 
and on the west by Kennett and East Marl- 
borough townships. It lies in the southern 
gneiss region ; the rocks which it contains 
being the older hornblendic gneisses and 
limestone. The limestone is found in the 
central and northeastern parts. It is drained 
by the Brandywine river and several of its 
tributaries. The Philadelphia & Baltimore 
railroad passes through the central part of 
the township. Pennsbury was formed from 
the eastern partof Kennett township in 1770. 

The landowners in 1775 were: John and 
James Brinton, James* Bennett, George 
Brown, Jere. Cloud, Joseph Chamberlain, 
Henry Collins, Joseph Chandler, Amos 
Davis, Martha Fisher, John Fred, Samuel 
Grub, Thomas Gibson, Evan, James, Amos 
and William Harvey, John Heald, Michael 
Lightbody, Isaac Miller, Isaac, Moses, Caleb 
and Joseph Mendenhall, Benjamin McCall, 
Joseph and Joshua Pierce, David Reynolds, 
Adam Seeds, Thomas Temple's heirs, Ben- 
jamin Temple, Benjamin, Benjamin, jr., 
Isaac, Mary and Joseph Taylor, William 
White, jr., Jacob Way, jr., Jacob Way, 
Stephen Webb, William West, Conrad 
Sulsor, and Spolser Sulsor. 

Pocopson Township. — It is bounded on 
the north by West and East Bradford ; on 
the east by East Bradford and Birmingham ; 
on the south by Pennsbury and East Marl- 
borough; and on the west by East Marl- 
borough and Newlin townships. It lies in 



the southern gneiss region, and the main 
mass of the rocks is composed of gneisses 
of the lower series, among which several 
detached masses of serpentine are found. 
It is drained by West Brandywine river 
and Pocopson creek, and has the Wilming- 
ton & Heading railroad along its eastern 
border. Pocopson was formed in 1849 
from Pennsbury, Newlin, East Marlborough 
and West Bradford, and was named after 
the creek flowing through it. 

Its landowners of 1774 are included in 
the landholders of East Marlborough, 
Pennsbury, Newlin and West Bradford 
townships for that year. 

Sadsbury Township. — This township is 
bounded on the north by West Cain ; on 
the east by Valley township ; on the south hj 
East Fallowlield and Highland townships ; 
and on the west by West Sadsbury township. 
Its northern and central parts lie in the 
northern gneiss region, and are mainly 
covered with Potsdam sandstone, while the 
southern part is in the Downiugtown valley 
limestone region, excepting a small strip 
along the Highland township line which 
lies in the South Valley hill region. Sads- 
bury is drained by Buck run, and the Penn- 
sylvania railroad passes thi'ough its southern 
part. Sadsbury was organized in 1717, 
and in old records is mentioned as Sudbury, 
which name likely was given in remem- 
brance of Sudbury in England. In 1852 
Valley was taken from Sadsbury, and in 
1878 the western part was erected into 
West Sadsbury. Its early settlers were 
English Friends, followed by Scotch-Irish. 
In 1718 there were only nine taxables: 
William Grimson, James Hamer, Thomas 
Hayward, John and Moses Musgrave, 
William Smith, William Marsh, John 
Whitesides, and John Moor. 



OF CHES7ER COUNTY. 



127 



The landowners of 1774 were: William 
Armstrong, James Blelouk, James, Thomas, 
Andrew, Matthew and George Boyd, 
Thomas Bulla, Jonah Chamberlin, Robert, 
Hugh and Joseph Cowan, Samuel and 
James McClellan, David McClure, John 
Elton, Gideon and Josiah Erwin, Thomas 
Davis, Rev. William Foster, William Ful- 
ton, John Henry, Joseph Henderson, 
Robert Hope, Thomas Heslip, Charles Kin- 
kaid, George • Kenny, John and Andrew 
Moore, William and Henry Marsh, James 
Miller, Thomas Maxfield, William Moore, 
Samuel Martin, (4ravner Marsh, Robert 
and Alexander McPherson, Joseph Parke, 
esq., William Powell, William Pini, John 
Lee, John Lee jr., George Richmond, 
James and John Sharp, Andrew Stewart, 
John Scott, Thomas and John Truman, 
Joel Willis, James and Joseph Williams, 
William and John Wilkina, Anthony 
Robertson, George Robison, John Taylor, 
and Andrew Wilson. 

Schuijlkill Toiniship. — It is bounded on the 
northwest V)y East Pikeland township; on 
the northeast by Montgomery county, from 
which it is separated by the Schuylkill 
river; on the south by Tredyti'rin township ; 
and on the southwest by Charlcstown town- 
ship. The northern and central parts of 
the township lie in the Schuylkill or meso- 
zoic region, while the southern part is in 
the northern gneiss region, and has an area 
of Potsdam sandstone along the Tredyffrin 
township line. 

The geological formation of Schuylkill 
is described by Professor Frazer as follows: 
" The upper part of the township is covered 
by the mesozoic aeries and includes a locality 
in the vicinity of PhceLixville, celebrated 
for the discovery by Mr. Charles M. Wheat- 
ley of many mineral species and fossil 



forms, most of the latter having been 
studied and classified by the labors of Prof. 
E. D. Cope. The Reading railroad cuts 
through a long hill by means of a tunnel 
about half a mile long, and between certain 
beds in the tunnel were found the fossils 
just mentioned. The southern margin of 
the mesozoic is a waved line which divides 
it from the azoic to the south, and meets 
the river at a point a short distance south 
of Valley Forge. This line passes near the 
house of John Kane in Charlestown, and 
runs a little north of east, again descending 
near the resilience of John Christman, and 
nearly through the 'Chester County mine," 
skirting the mine of the 'New York and 
Boston Silver Lead Company,' crossing a 
brancii of Pickering creek in a direction 
a little north of east, and close by the 
school-house ; it follows very closely the 
Valley Forge road to its last deflection 
northward, and maintains its course straight 
across the long Valley Forge dam. Tlie 
southern boundary line between the azoic 
rocks and those of evident Potsdam age 
is much more irregular and waved. It en- 
ters the township near its extremest southern 
corner, and runs northeast for over a mile, 
at an acute angle with the State road, which 
it crosses, and bends southward slightly till 
it passes a fork from the State road leading 
to Valley Forge. After following this road 
to a point a short distance west of William 
Rossiter"s house, the boundary line again 
turns south, passing near the residence of 
James McGivene,whenit bends again north- 
ward, and after a few similar waves joins 
the boundary of the now red, west of the 
Baptist diurch. These waves are formed 
by the interlocking noses of liills of Pots- 
dam and hornblendic gneiss or quartzose 
conglomerate. From the New York and 



128 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Boston Silver Lead Company's mine on the 
west, to John G. Crawford's bouse, and 
thence east to the Forge dam, the azoic 
measures are composed of successive alter- 
nations of hornblendic gneiss and quartz 
conglomerate or feldspar porphyry. There 
is nothing of importance to remark about 
three-fourths of the township occupied by 
mesozoic rocks. But the border of this 
mesozoic area is made extremelj' interesting 
by the range of lead and copper mines east 
of Pickering creek, of which the old 
Wheatley, now (1880) New York and Bos- 
ton Silver Lead Company's mine is the 
|)rincipal." 

Schuylkill township was formed in 1826 
from Charlestown, and was named after the 
river which forms its eastern boundary. 
The borough of Phcenixville was taken 
from its territory in 1849. 

Its landholders of 1774 are included in 
the list of those owning land in Charles- 
town township for that year. 

The following description of the Picker- 
ing creek minerals we condense froiu a re- 
port made of them by Prof. H. D. Rodgers 
in 1853 : "It will be seen, upon consulting 
the map of the mining district of Mont- 
gomery and Chester counties, that the 
metalliferous lodes or veins extending from 
the Perkiomen mines in Montgomery 
county to the Charlestown mines in Chester 
county occur not far from the boundary 
which separates the gneissic rocks of this 
region from the middle secondary forma- 
tion of red shale and sandstone. Some of 
them would seem to lie entirely in the one 
set of strata, and some of them in the 
other; while others again, especially the 
interesting group of Pickering creek veins 
— on the economical prospects of which 
L propose to venture some opinions — 



are partly within the gneiss and partly 
within the red shale, penetrating the latter, 
however, to apparently a trivial extent. 
It would seem to be a pretty general fact, 
that such of these veins as are confined en- 
tirely or chiefly to the gneiss, bear lead as 
their principal metal, whereas those which 
are included solely within the red shale are 
characterized by containing the ores of 
copper. But the zinc ores, zinc-blende 
and calamine prevail in greater or less 
proportions in both sets of veins, existing, 
perhaps, in a rather larger relative amount 
in the copper-bearing lodes of the red 
shale. Thus the Perkiomen and Ecton 
lode, the United Mine lode, the Shannon- 
ville south lode, a small lode on French 
creek, a lode at Port Kennedy, and the 
Morris lode near Phooenixville, are genuine 
copper veins, and they are all, without ex- 
ception, in the red-shale formation. 

" A soft, white, and partially-decomposed 
granite is a very frequent associate of the 
stronger lead-bearing veins, particularly in 
their more productive portions; but this 
material belongs, in all probability, not to 
the ancient granitic injections of the gneiss, 
but to those much later metalliferous intru- 
sions which tilled long parallel I'ents in that 
formation with the lead ores and their 
associated minerals. 

"The 2;neissic strata and their granitic 
injections throughout this district, display 
a softened, partially decomposed condition, 
extending in many places to a depth of 
several fathoms. This rotted state does 
not, however, pervade these materials to as 
great a depth as it does in the belt of 
gneiss lying south of tha Chester county 
valley and nearer the level of the tide. To 
its influence we must impute the fertility 
of the soils resting on the formation, and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



12« 



the soft lines of the landscape. Its origin 
is flue, in part, at least, I think, to the 
action of the sea water, which once evi- 
dently rested over all this south edge of 
the low Atlantic slope of the country, dis- 
solving by chemical forces the more soluble 
ingredients of tlie feldspar, hornblende, 
and mica. 

"Of the one dozen or more lead and 
copper lodes of greater or less size brought 
to light in this quite limited region of five 
or six miles in length, and two or three miles 
breadth, the greater number are remarkably 
similar in their course, ranging N. 32°-35° 
E. and S. 82°-3o° W. ; and what is equally 
worthy of note, they dip, with scarcely an 
exception, towards tlie same quarter, (S.E.), 
though in some instances so steeply as to 
approach the perpendicular. Those which 
do not observe this direction seem, as far 
as traced, to range N. 52°-r)4° K.. and S. 
.V2°— '>4° W., and by their mutual parallel- 
ism to each other to constitute, as it were, 
a second subordinate group or system of 
veins. There are one or two other lodes, 
such as the counter-lode of the ITiiited 
mine, which range at even a less angle to 
the meridian than the first or priiuijial s(>t, 
namely about N. 2tj° E. 

"The metalliferous and other minerals 
found in these veins form quite a numerous 
list. 

"iSelectiiig the Wheatlcy lode as presi'iit- 
ing, perhaps, the greatest diversity of 
species, and as that whicli has received 
altogether the closest study, we find the 
mineralogy of these veins represented b\' 
the following large and interesting cata- 
logue : Sulphate of lead, carbonate of lead, 
phosphate of lead, arseniateof lead, niolyb- 
(late of lead, chromate of lead, chromo- 
molybdate of lead, arsenio-phospliate of 
9 



lead, sulpburet of lead, antinionial sid- 
pliuret of lead and silver, sulpburet of zinc, 
carbonate of zinc, silicrate of zinc, sulpburet 
of copper, green malachite, blue malachite, 
black oxide of (topper, native copper, 
oxide of manganese, native sulphur, native 
silver, quartz, cellular quartz, oxide of iron 
containing silver, hematite iron, brown 
spar, sulphate of barytes, iron pyrites, and 
two or three other species." 

South Cooeiilry Tounifhip. — It is bounded 
on the north by North Coventry townshiji; 
on the east by East Coventry and East Vin- 
cent town8hi{)s; on the south by West Vin- 
cent and Nantmeal ; and on the west by 
Warwick township. "The mesozoic rocks 
continue south over the greater part of the 
township down to French creek, which 
forms the boundary between them and the 
azoic series alluded to already on a previous 
page. In the northern part of the town- 
ship the.se rocks are yellow and red sand- 
stones and shales, showing wiierever ex-, 
posed ill place the dip usual to this part of 
the mesozoic sandstones ; but towards tlie 
southwest margin of the formation there 
occurs at man\" places large numbers of 
fragments and debris of the older and ad- 
ja(!cnt rocks, including the quartzites. and 
the rock of doubtful signification called 
alternately conglomerate, feldspar por|ihyry. 
\c. Besides this there are small detached 
collections of dolorite fragments, suggesting 
the presence of a <lyke, of wliicii the course 
and features are hidden beneath tlie soil." 
Southwest of rughtowii a plumbago vein 
runs through gneiss. After being mined 
and washed tiiis pluiiil)ago makes an ex- 
cellent fireproof mineral paint. South Cov- 
entry is draineil In- the waters of French 
creek. It was formed in 1844. by a division 
of North Coventry township. 



130 



BIOORAPMY AND HISTORY 



The names of those holding laud within 
the present boundaries of this township in 
1774, are included in the list of East Cov- 
entry landowners for that year. 

Thornbury Township. — This small town- 
ship is extremely irregular in shape, and is 
bounded on the northwest by Westtown 
township ; on the southeast by Delaware 
county ; and on the southwest by Birming- 
ham township. It lies in the southern 
gneiss region. The rocks are hornblendic 
gneisses and their concomitants. The 
eastern part is covered with fragments of 
syenite granite and hornblendic gneiss, 
while in the west there is much loose 
debris of quai'tzite fragments. Thornbury 
is principally drained by Chester creek. It 
was organized in 1687, and received the 
name of Thornbury in compliment to the 
wife of George Peirce, in honor of her 
birthplace, Thornbury, Gloucestershire, 
England. When Delaware county was 
erected in 1689, nearly three-fourths of the 
township became territory of that county, 
and Thornbury is to-day one of the smallest 
townships in Chester county. 

In 1774 the land owners of Thornbury 
were : John, Joseph and Thomas Cheyuey, 
Joshua Hoops, William Dunwoody, Joseph 
Hemphill, George Hunter, Daniel Broomal, 
John Kimbler, Persifor Frazer, William 
Elliott, Daniel Calvert, William Johnston, 
Dennis McCay, James Ramage, Jeremiah 
Pennell, Nehemiah and David Baker, Wil- 
liam Williamson, Benjamin Johnson, Ben- 
jamin Jones, Jacob Vernon, Thomas Hick- 
man, Richard Goodwin, Thomas Howell, 
William and Israel Pyle, William Beau- 
mont, Daniel Thompson, Henry Guest, 
Isaac, Thomas and Stephen Taylor, Samuel 
Mendenhall, Richard Parks, David Lewis, 
John Pierce, William Thatcher, John and 



Caleb Pierce, John, George and Caleb Brin- 
ton, William Reed, Jacob Sharpless, Ben- 
jamin Cox, sr., Benjamin Cox, jr., William 
Armen, Richard and George Evanson, Isaac 
Davis, Thomas Gibbons, Joseph Dilworth, 
George Fryer, William Hawley, Thomas 
Mercer, and John Woodward. 

Tredyffrin Toamship. — It is bounded on 
the north by Schuylkill and Charlestown 
townships ; on the east by Montgomery 
county ; on the south by Easttown town- 
ship and Delaware county ; and on the west 
by Willistown and West Whiteland town- 
ships. " This is the easternmost township of 
the valley tier. The outcrop line of the 
mesozoic descends to it from the north. 
The belt of serpentine and crystalline rocks 
crosses its southeastern part. The junction 
of the limestone and the Potsdam sandstone 
is at the northwest corner of Tredyffrin, as 
well as the small band of the latter which 
separates the limestone from the crystalline 
gneisses to the north. The valley attains a 
width here almost as great as that spoken 
of in East Whiteland, and at the northwest 
corner just mentioned is located one of the 
largest limestone quarries in the county." 
I'otsdam sandstone is quarried on the north 
line of the township by the Phoenix Iron 
Company. The principal stream of the 
township is Valley creek in the northern 
part. The Pennsylvania and the Chester 
Valley railroads cross it from west to east. 
Tredytt'rin township was organized prior to 
1707. Tredytt'rin is compounded from the 
Welsh words tre and dytfriu, meaning re- 
spectively "town" or "township," and "a 
wide cultivated valley." As a name the 
word is appropriate, for Tredytt'rin is a 
township in a wide cultivated valley. 
The township is a pai't of a large tract 
which was surveyed for the Welsh, and 



Of CHESTER COUNTY. 



181 



was principally taken up and settled by 
them. 

The iandiioiders in 1774 were: Ilenr}- 
Bear, John Brown, William Barnes, John 
Beaver, John Baker, Jacoh Baugh, Richard 
Carrie, Sarah Christie, William Clayton, 
John Cloyd, Henry Oastlebury ; Isaac, Ben- 
jamin, Dr. John, Rev. John, James, David 
and Samuel Davis ; Joel, Jonathan and 
Josiah Evans ; Jacob Frick, Adam Gider, 
John and Lewis Gronow, John, Samuel and 
David Havard, Adam Hate, David Howel, 
Jacob Huzzard, Richard Hortoii, David. 
Samuel and Levi John : Esier James, Stophel 
Kittleman, John Keck, William Potts, Aliel 
Thomas, Alexander Logan, I'etor Mather, 
Anthony Moore, Joseph Mitchell, James, 
Richard and Enos Miles, Dewees & Potts, 
John Peck, Thomas Pennington, Judith 
Rees, Samuel Richard, Abel Reese, John 
and Jonathan Rowland, Michael Reed, 
Adam Rickabaugh, Rev. John Sinionton, 
Jacob Sypber, Paul Sharaddin, Abijali 
Stephen, Peter Stikeler; Daniel. Felt}' and 
John Sliowalder: Conrad Snider, Benjamin 
Thomas, Philip Upright, Thomas Walter, 
Joseph and Jacob Walker, Joel Watts, 
John Wilson, Christian Workizor, Hannah 
Wetherby, Thomas Hampton, Mary Pngh, 
.lohn Maxfield. Caleb Smedley, Charles 
Ramsay, Charles Pennington, John Nailer 
and James Aspin. 

Upper Oxford Township. — This township 
is bounded on the north by West Fallow- 
tield township ; on the east by Londonderry 
and Penn townships ; on the south by Lower 
Oxford : and on the west Vjy Lancaster 
county. It lies within the South Valley 
hill region, and all of its rocks arc mica- 
schists, being chloritic in character. Its 
drainage is to the west by the waters of 
East Octoraro creek. Upper Oxford was 



formed by the division of Oxford township 
in 1797. 

The names of those who hold land in the 
township in 1774 arc included in the iand- 
iioiders given in Lower Oxff)rd for that 
year.. 

Upper Uirchlaii T<i(riisliip. — It is bounded 
on the nortli by East Nantmeal township ; 
on the east by West Vincent and West 
Pikeland townships: on the .south by Lower 
Twchlan : and on the west by East Bran<ly- 
wine and Wallace townships. \i lies in the 
northern gneiss region, and near the town 
of Windsor are some very tine graphite 
mines, while good beds of iron ore are in 
tlie same locality. It is drained by the 
waters of East Brandywine river. I'pper 
Uwchlan was formed in 1858 from the 
northern part of I'wchlan townsliip. 
Uwchlan means upland, and the term Up- 
per Uwchlan is a pleonasm. The estrly set- 
tlers were Welsh. 

The names of its landowners at the <om- 
mencement of the revolutionary war are 
given in the list of the landholders of 
Uwchlan for 1774. 

Uirchlan TowDs/iip. — This townsliip is 
bounded on the nortli by Upper Uwchlan 
township; on tlie east by West Pikeland 
and Cliarlostown townsiiiiis; on the south 
by West Whiteland and East Cain; and on 
the west by East Brandywine township. 
It lies in the northern gneiss region, and 
large areas of Potsdam sandstone exist in 
the southern part. Uwchlan is drained by 
several small streams, and the Waynesbiirg 
railroad runs through the western part of 
its territory. The word Uwchlan means 
upland, and the early settlers of tlie town- 
ship were Welsh, who came about 1712. 
In 1858 the northern part of Uwchlan was 
erected into the townsliipof U|iper I'wchlan. 



132 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISIORY 



The landowners of Uwcblan in 1774 were : 
William Denney, Joseph and John Mc- 
Clure, Richard and John Evans, Robert 
Carson, John Lewis, Matthias Keely, Wil- 
liam Milhouse, Miles Davis, Robert Alison, 
Charles Reede, William Byers : DanielvDavid 
Eliazer, Evan and David, jr., Evans; Peter 
Wills, Thomas Guest, David Pugh, William 
Owen, Joseph Philips, William Dillins, John 
and Robert Smith, Ruth Roberts, David and 
Robert Beaty, Robert Beaty, jr., Jacob 
Moses, Israel and John Wheelan, William, 
Noble, Benjamin and Enoch Butler; John 
Buler, David Lloyd, James Packer, John 
Benson, jr., James and James Benson, jr., 
John Miles, William and Samuel Griffith, 
Stephen Philips, Joseph Bentley, Thomas 
Evans, William Biddings, Christian Treat, 
Jacob Neeler, Dennis Whelan, John Young, 
David and John Philips, James Adams, 
Elizabeth Davis, Thomas Thomas, Jacob 
Haines, Christian King, Evan and Cadwal- 
ader Jones, Samuel Bond ; Reuben, Griffith 
and Daniel John ; George, Aaron, John and 
Jonathan Phipps ; Peter Ashifeler, Jonathan 
McVeagh, Dugal Cameron, Riet' Gatlive, 
Jacob Tianey, Thomas Martin, John Hos- 
kins, Richard Thomas, Edward and David 
Owen, David Davis, Robert McMinn, Rich- 
ard Downing, Isaac Lewis, and Esther 
Crosby. 

Valley Township. — It is liounded on the 
north by West Cain and West Brandywine 
townships ; on the east by Cain ; on the 
south by East Fallowtield township ; and on 
the west by Sadsbury and West Cain town- 
ships. It lies in the South Valley hill, the 
Downingtowu limestone, and the northern 
gneiss regions. The northern and central 
parts are covered with Potsdam rocks, while 
the limestone lies soutli of the Pennsyl- 
vania railroad, and has on its southern 



boundary line a narrow strip of mica-schist 
rocks. Valley is drained by the West 
Brandywine river, and the Pennsylvania 
and Wilmington & Reading railroads pass 
through its territory, affording easy ingress 
and egress to the inhabitants of every sec- 
tion of the township. Valley township was 
formed in 1852 from parts of East and West 
Cain, West Brandywine and Sadsbury town- 
ships. The territory of the borough of 
Coatesville was taken from it in 1867, and 
in the succeeding year its eastern part, with 
a portion of East Cain, was erected into the 
township of Cain. 

The names of the persons holding land 
within the territory of Valley township in 
1774 are included in the lists of landhold- 
ers for that year in East Cain, West Brand}-- 
wine and Sadsbury townships. 

Wallace Township. — This township is 
bounded on the north by East Nantmeal 
township ; on the east by East Nantmeal 
and Upper Uwchlan ; on the south by Up- 
per Uwchlan, East Brandywine ^nd West 
Brandywine; and on the west by West 
Brandywine and WestNantmeal townships. 
Wallace township "is without a semblance 
of other rocks in place except the horn- 
blendic gneisses and the quartz conglom- 
erate (Potsdam sandstone in the southeast- 
ern part), and the series that has been 
mentioned as concomitant with these." 
Wallace township is drained b}' the East 
Brandywine river, along whose banks the 
Waynesburg j'ailroad passes. It is six hun- 
dred feet above tide-water, has no marshes, 
and is remarkably healthy. Wallace was 
formed iu 1852 by a division of WestNant- 
meal, under the name of Springton, as it 
included nearly the same territory as the 
old manor of Springton. The next year 
the name was changed, by act of legislature. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



188 



from Springton to that of Wallace, after 
Robert Wallace, a Scotchman, who owned 
"Mormon Hollow." 

The early settlers of the township were 
Scotch-Irish, and the names of those who 
owned land within its present limits in 
1774 are iiu'luded in the list of that year 
given for West Nantnieal. 

WariricI; Toiimxhip — Is l)oundfd on the 
northeast by North and South Coventry 
townships; on the southeast l}y East Nant- 
nieal township: on the south by East and 
West Nantmeal townships ; and on the 
northwest by Berks county. Warwick lies 
in the Schuylkill or mesozoic region, and is 
drained by the headwaters of French creek. 
The French Creek Branch railroad runs 
nearly through the townsliip in a northeast 
direction from Berks county. Warwick 
township was formed in 1842 from the di- 
vision of East Xantmeal, and received its 
name from Wiirwick iron works, within its 
boundaries. The old Warwick furnace cast 
the celebrated "Franklin Stoves," an in- 
vention of Benjamin Franklin, and during 
the revolutionary war cast cannon and can- 
non balls for the American army. 

The names of the landowners of this 
township for 1774 are included in the list 
of landholders of East Nantnieal for the 
same year. 

"Warwick is one of the most interesting 
townships in the county on account of the 
great variety' of rocks exposed within its 
area, and also because of the importantiron 
ore mines which it contains. Two areas of 
mesozoic rocks cross it from the main 
body of that formation westward. One 
is a very narrow strip Iwunded on the 
soutii from Knauertown eastward, hv 
the north branch of French creek, and on 
the north by the great outburst of trap 



which covers about a third of the whole 
townsliip.. This thin strip penetrates witii 
a width of barely a hundred meters (or 
yards) almost to the extreme western limit 
of the township, but is cut oft' and obscured 
by the Potsdam a short distance west 
of St. Mary's ( Warwick postoflice ). 
The other belt of mesozoic measures 
fills the entire area of the township north 
of the north branch of French creek. 
This great area of trap is of irregular 
lenticular shape, and is not itself perfectly 
uniform as to character. The southern 
half appears to be doleritic — typically so; 
the fragments often being of great size; 
but whether large or small they exhibit the 
rough striation on a conchoidal surface so 
charai'teristic of dolerite and are in general 
very little weathered. The northern half 
of the area, however, is more syenitic in 
character and shows in places very well- 
defined syenite. The feldspathic granite 
or conglomerate rock is found in the 
neighborhood of the Hopewell iron mines, 
ill the extreme west. Half a mile south 
of Knauertown the rocks are composed of 
crystals of a green mineral, not determined, 
and Pegmatite." 

Of the iron mines of \\'arwick townshiji 
are the Hopewell mines, the Hopewell ore 
pits, the Warwick large mine, St. Mary's 
mines, tiie Warwick mine proper, and the 
French creek magnetic ore mines. Copper 
ore also exists in the township, and the 
Elizabeth copper mine near Knauertown 
was opened prior to 1854. 

WestBradfonl. — This township is iiounded 
on the north by Valley, Cain and East Cain 
townshijis: on the east liy East Bradford: 
on the south by Newlin : and on the wi-st 
by Kast Fallowtield township. It lies in 
tlie Soutli Valley hill region except the 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISTOBY 



southeastern part, which is iu the southern 
gneiss region. Along the liu§ dividing 
these two regions in the township are sev- 
eral detached strips of limestone extending 
in a straight line northeast by southwest. 
The township is drained by the East and 
West Brandywine rivers. West Bradford 
was formed on November 30, 1731, by the 
division of Bradford into the townships of 
East and West Bradford. 

The landowners in 1774 of West Brad- 
ford township were: Sarah Arnold, Ralph 
Ackison, Richard Baker, John Batton, John 
Buffington, James Brown, Joel Baily, Rob- 
ert Buffington, William Buffington, James 
Bane, John Batton, jr., James Bruce, Jona. 
Buffington, Richard Buffington, John Chal- 
fant, Joshua Clayton, William Clayton, 
John Clark, William Cooper, James Chal- 
fant, John Clayton, George Currey, John 
Dowdle, Robert Eastburn, Valentine Em- 
erick, William England, Thomas Ellis, 
Latham Engram, Abram Ford, James 
Galbraith, Thomas Green, Joseph Green, 
Geoi'ge Grosse, Joseph Hawley, Stephen 
Harlan, John Jordan, George Jacobs, Dan- 
iel Leonard, Walter Lilley, Mary Lewis, 
George Martin, Humphry Marshal, James 
Marshal, Martin Miller, Isaac Marshall, 
James McElhaney, Joseph Martin, John 
Marshal, James Millesou, Samuel Marshal, 
Abraham Pile, James Ramsey, Samuel Sel- 
lers, jr., Samuel Sellers, Thomas Shuart, 
James Trimble, Richard Townsend, Joseph 
Thornbury, Caleb Martin, Samuel Worth, 
John Woodward, Joseph Woodward, Sarah 
Woodward, William Woodward, William 
Woodward (carpenter), Robert Woodward, 
Robert Wilson, James Woodward, John 
Young, Archibald Young, John Young,jr. 

Elk Toivnsldp. — This township is bouuded 
on the noith by East Nottingham and New 



London ; on the east by Franklin township ; 
on the south by the State of Maryland ; 
and on the west by East Nottingham town- 
ship. Elk lies in the southern gneiss region, 
with a small area of mica-schist rocks and 
a large area of serpentine in the western 
part. "The serpentine southern boundary 
line crosses Barren Branch run a short dis- 
tance from the township line. Just west of 
the store at Rogers' mill-dam the rock frag- 
ments become more and more those of 
coarse mica-schist, the characteristic mineral 
being of a silvery white color. Southeast 
of the store by the mill the rocks are clay 
slates, with much mica, and at the mill a 
broad crystallized mica-schist dips uni- 
formly. On the south bank of the Big Elk, 
about half a mile from Bullock's fording, 
large bowlders of granitic gneiss with pink 
feldspar abound. The dip of the strata 
from which these came, is probably south 
very gentle, but this is not certain. This 
granitic character is observable in the north- 
ern part of the township as well. Thus ou 
the road from Randolph & Arthur's paper- 
mill, through Peacedale (Hickory Hill post- 
office), both the mica and feldspar are of 
brownish color, and the rock is very com- 
pact." 

Elk is drained by the waters of Little and 
Big Elk creeks, and has some very fertile 
farming lands along the Maryland State 
line. This township was formed in 1857, 
from East Nottingham, and received the 
name of Elk at the suggestion of Charles 
Ramsey. The names of its landholders in 
1774 are included in the list of that year 
given for East Nottingham. 

West Brandyicuic Tovimhip. — It is bounded 
on the north by Honeybrook, West Nant- 
meal and Wallace townships ; on the east 
by Wallace and East Brandywine ; on the 



OF CHESlJiR COUNIY. 



south by Cain and Valley ; and on the west 
by West Cain and Honeybrook townships. 
It lies iu the northern gneiss region, and 
contains but a single area of Potsdam sand- 
stone, which is in the nortliern part and 
seems to be isolated from the other Pots- 
dam rocks of that region. -West Brandy- 
wine is drained l)y the river of that name, 
along whose banks passes the Wilmington & 
Heading railroad. West Brandywine was 
erected in 1844, out of the western part of 
Brandywine township, which had been 
taken in 1790 from the northern part of 
East Cain. In 1853 a small portion of the 
southern part of West Brandywine was 
taken in the formation of Valley township, 
and in 1860 West Brandywine was enlarged 
by an addition to it on the north from 
Honeybrook and Wallace townships. It 
derives its name from the Brandywine river, 
and the names of its landowners in 1774 
are included with those of that year given 
for East Cain township. 

West Cain Township. — Tliis township is 
bounded on the nortli by Honeybrook ; on 
the east by West Cain township; on the 
south by Valley, Sadsbury and West Sads- 
bury townships; and on the west by Lan- 
caster county. West Cain lies in the north- 
ern gneiss region. The Potsdam sandstone 
extends over the entire territory of West 
Cain, excepting an area of gneiss in the 
east and a narrow tongue of Lancaster lime- 
stone in the west. West Cain was formed 
in 17-8, from Cain township, and tin- tirst 
names suggested for the new township wen- 
those of Spetford and Cain Grove. 

The landowners of West Cain in 1.774 
were : John Miller, esq., Th9mas Clark, 
William Mathers, Hugh Gib, jr., Robert 
Stanford, James Cooper, Evan Wilkinson, 
John Williams, John Davidson, James 



Wilson, William Martin, Oliver Crawford, 
William Thompson, Samuel and Robert 
Withrow, Caleb and Joshua Swain, James 
Way, George, John and William Sinkler, 
Nathaniel White, Evan Lewis, Joseph 
Bishop, sr., Williani Brown, Thomas Sharp, 
Hugh Slicarer, Hamilton Gamble, William 
McCown, Peter Bab, John Jack, Mary Doak, 
Henry Hunter, William Gregory, George 
and John Camhell, Samuel Love, Thomas 
and Alexander Rogers, John Roliinson, Wil- 
liam Dunn, jr., Thomas and Robert Kelly, 
William Dunn,sr., Elizabeth, William and 
Thomas Davidson, John Porter, Josias Cam- 
bell, James Cumens, Abraham and James 
Gibs, sr., Josias Wallis, Thomas Dawson, 
Richard Hope, Samuel Henry, Samuel Mc- 
Keece, Matthew Rogers, William Finley, 
John Forgus, Samuel Clyde, John Boyd, 
Joseph Clark, James Gaby, William Ham- 
ilton, Francis Jonson, William Clingan, 
Thonjas Brown, Joseph Bishop, Hugh Gibs, 
sr., William Ricliardson, John Harper, 
Edward Magnor, James (iuthric, John 
Love, James Jemison, Finley McCown, and 
James Keys. 

West FaUowfield Township. — It is bounded 
on the north by West Sadsbury township; 
on the east by Highland and Londonderry* 
townships; on tlie south by L'pper Oxford 
township; and on the west by Lancaster 
county. The township lies within the 
South ^'alley hill region, and its rocks are 
mica-schists with more or less chloritic. 
The township is drained by tlie waters of 
East Octoraro crei'k. West Fallowtield was 
formed in 1743 by a division of KallowHeld 
township, which was ereeted a.s early as 
1718. 

In 1774 the lanillioldcrs of the township 
were: Joseph and William Adams, Rolterl 
Burns, John. Robert and Patterson Bell : 



136 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISIORY 



William Banting, Widow Boid, William 
Boggs, David Brooks, George Cowplaud ; 
Nathan, James, Robert, Stephen and George 
Cochran ; John Caruthers, Robert Cowden, 
John Danold, James Dunn, Samuel Futhey, 
Hugh Fearon, Archibald Guy, James and 
Adam Glendening, George, Alexander and 
Andrew Gibson: James Hannuni, William 
Haslett, N'athan Hayes, Ebenezer Harper, 
Robert Hamill, Richard, John and Thomas 
Irwin; John, Andrew and Joseph Kirkpat- 
rick; William Kees, Thomas Love, James 
Langhead, James Logan, David and James 
Ligget, George McGuire, James McCaus- 
land, Thomas McClure, Patrick McLaugh- 
lin, James McCormick, William Mcllhaney, 
Andrew Moore, Robert Noble, Thomas Of- 
licer, Ellis Pusey, Israel Pemberton, John 
and Arthur Park, Andrew Reed, Francis 
Ruth, James Rankin, William Reed, James, 
John and James, jr.. Smith; James Scott, 
William, Joseph and William, jr., Stringer; 
George Sloan, John Taylor, William Town- 
send, John Truman, William Vogan, Samuel 
and Joseph Wilson, Thomas Wallace, and 
Sarah Weldon. 

West Goshen Township. — This township 
is bounded on the north by West White- 
land; on the east by East Goshen; on the 
south by Westtown ; and on the west by 
East Bradford township. West Goshen lies 
principally in the southern gneiss region. 
The northern part is composed of mica- 
schists that are partly separated from the 
azoic slates by a narrow strip of serpentine. 
The borough of West Chester is underlaid 
by syenites and sandy slates, while frag- 
ments of dolerites are frequent in the south- 
western part of the township. West Goshen 
is principally drained by the waters of Ches- 
ter creek, and two railways from West 
Ciiester, in the western part, connect with 



railroads running to Philadelphia. West 
Goshen was formed in 1817, by the division 
of Goshen township. 

The names of the landholders of 1774 are 
included in the list of landowners of East 
Goshen township for that year. 

West Marlboro tig k Township. — It is bounded 
on the north by Highland, East Fallowfield 
andlSTewlin townships; on the east by New- 
lin and East Marlborough ; on the south by 
New Garden and London Grove ; and on 
the west by Londonderry and Highland 
townships. It lies in the southern gneiss 
and South Valley hill regions, with a large 
body of limestone in the northern part, and 
a wide area of Potsdam sandstone in the 
central and southern portions of the town- 
ship. It is drained by Doe run and White 
Clay creek, and the Penn & Delaware rail- 
road passes along the Highland township 
line. West Marlborough was formed May 
27, 1729, by the division of Marlborough 
township, which was organized about 1704. 

The landowners of the township in 1774 
were: Aaron Baker, Arch McNeal, Caleb 
Pyle, Christopher Rix, Daniel Avery, Ed- 
ward Swayne, Elizabeth King, George Har- 
lan, George Taylor, Henry Chalfant, Hector 
McNeil, Hannali Baker, Hannah Baldwin, 
Joseph Williams, Joshua and Isaac Bailey, 
Joseph Peunock, Isaac Pyle, John Kell, 
John Bailey, Joshua Edwards, Jere. Barn- 
ard, Joseph Pyle, Jacob Starr, John Pass- 
more, John Montgomery, James Harlan, 
Isaac Powell, Joel and Josiah Baily, Jacob 
Wood, Lewis Pennock, Michael Harlan, 
Moses Edwards, Mary Pusey, Nathan Hayes, 
Richard Bernard, Samuel Baker, Thomas 
Bernard, Tristam Moore, Thomas Trevilla, 
AVilliam Davis, William Harlan, William 
Hays, William Bailey, and William Chal- 
fant. 



OF CHESIER COUNTY. 



187 



West Nantmeal Township. — This township 
is bounded on the iiortli by Berks county 
and Warwick township: on the east by 
Warwick and East Nantmeal tovvnsliips: 
on the south by Wallace ; and on the west 
by Iloneybrook township. West Xantmeal 
is in the nortiiern gneiss region, and a broad 
belt of trap, composed of dolerite, syenite 
and quartz, separates tlie azoic rocks from 
the Potsdam sandstone area that occupies 
the northern part of the townsliip. Iron 
ore exists at several places within its terri- 
tory. It is drained by East Brandywine 
river and French creek, and is crossed by 
two railroa<l8. West Nantmeal was formed 
in 1739, by a division of Nantmeal town- 
ship, which was erected about 1722. In 
1789 Iloneybrook was taken from West 
Nantmeal township, which suffered a furtlicr 
loss of territory when Wallace was Conned 
in 1852. 

West Nantmeals landowners in 1774 
were: John Ilanibleton, Samuel, James, 
Matthew and Andrew Buchanan : John, 
(ieorge and Jared Irwin : James Hare, John 
Gait, Michael Graham, sr., John Vanlossie, 
John Carson, William Meredith, James, sr., 
and James, jr., Graham ; James Keau, Jere- 
miah PiersoU, Michael (Traham, Matthew 
Curry, Nathaniel Portei", William (ribbons, 
James Ilambleton, James Nesbit, Andrew 
iSpence, John and James Starrett, Robert 
McConnaughey, (lain Wallace, Alexander 
Craig, Samuel and William Henderson, 
William and Thomas Kennedy. Thomas 
Alford, Samuel Tliomas, Joseph Trego, 
James and William Smith, Jolin Aston, 
Richard Piersoli, William Gilky, John 
Jones, Francis (ilardner, Edward Spice, 
James and Joseph Keere, Hans Henox, 
Christian CofI'man. Robert Matthews, Sam- 
uel Christy, J<}heph Maitin, John (iraiiam 



(cooper), John (iraham, Jacob Coft'man, 
Samuel Cunningham, Robert Lusk, James 
Hanna, William Trego, William Beale, 
William Scott, Francis Ale.xander, James 
Beatty, Samuel Milduff, Isaac (jribson, 
Joseph Darlington, John Strong, Peter and 
(ieorge Hunter, Joseph Long, Daniel Moore, 
George Pheale, William Irwin, l^eonard 
Frescoln, Mark Peter, John Iddings, John 
Moore, Isaac Philips, Ciiristian Tedwaler, 
James Anderson, William Logan, William 
Dunwoody, Matthew, Ephraim and Jolm 
Robeson; John Dunwoodie, Arcliibald 
Thomson, Robert Liggett, Samuel Caruth- 
ers, William Ralston, John Piersall, James 
Wilson, John Byers. James Moore, esq., 
James McClure, James Templeton. Thomas 
Miller, Paul McKnight, William Ferguson, 
William Rogers. James Wachlell. John 
Brown, Roljert Carson, Robert Wallace, 
James McCachren, John Henderson, Ben- 
jamin Jones, Isaac IMiipps, John Millison, 
Joseph Caldwell, Mordecai Piersall, John 
Gardner, Jeremiah and James Evans, and 
Nathaniel Holmes. 

West Nottingham Toicn.s/iip. — It is trian- 
gular in shape, and is bounded on the north- 
east by East Nottingham township; on the 
south by the State of Maryland; and on the 
northwest by Lancaster county. The north- 
ern and central parts of the township lie in 
the South Valley hill region, while the 
southern part is in a great belt of serpentine 
that passes into Lanca.ster county and the 
State of Maryland. The townsliip is drained 
by the waters of Octoraro creek, and the 
Philadelphia & Baltimore railroad passes 
through the eastern part of its territory. 
West Nottingham township was formed 
about ISIM, by the division of Nottingham 
township. 

West Nottingliams landholders in 1774 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISIOBY 



were : Alexander Boyd, AdaniMiller,Al)ner 
Kirk, Caleb Pears, Archibald and Daniel 
Job, David Moore, David Peak, Charles, 
Hugh, Henry, Joseph and Jaoob Sydwell ; 
David Edmison, Ephraim Blackburn; 
Elijah, John, George, Joseph, Isaac, Jos- 
eph ( ?) and Samuel Brown ; George Briggs, 
George Duglas, Henry, Jacob, Samuel and 
Jesse Renolds; Henry Anderson, John 
Cosgrey, James Maxwell, James Barns, 
John and James Crawford, John McMullen, 
John Dixon, John Blackburn, James 
Dougherty, Jonathan Edwards, James Bar- 
clay, John Johnson, Joseph Wood, John 
Butteriield, Jacob Haynes, Joseph Sidwell, 
Job, William, Isaac and Joseph Haines; 
John Dickey, John Welsh, William Allen, 
William Peak, William Maxwell, William 
Coulson, William Hari'is, William Knight, 
William Coale, William and Roger Kirk, 
William Givins, Robert Corthwait, John 
Knight, William Rogers, Samuel Reed, 
James Cummings, John Carmichael, Joseph 
Porter, John England, James McClaue, 
Joseph Nesbit, John Borland, James Scott, 
Joseph Coulson, James Ekin, Jeremiah 
Sergeant, John Glasgo, Johanes Huss, James 
Evans, Joakim Breakley, James Akin, 
James Patin, John McCullough, John Mc- 
Kelheue, Lucy Givens, Patrick Meloy, Rob- 
ert and Samuel Ilyneman, Robert Moore, 
Samuel Ewings, Samuel Glasgo, Samuel 
Scott, Thomas McCartney, Timothy Kirk, 
Thomas Scott, Thomas Coulson, Thomas 
Phillips, James Armstrong, Joseph Porter, 
Samuel Love, William Givin, and Henry 
Wood row. 

West Pikdand Township. — It is bounded 
on the northeast by West Vincent and East 
Pikeland townships; on the southeast by 
Charlestown township; on the soutliwest 
by Lower and Upper Uwchlan townships; 



and on the northwest by West Vincent 
township. Its territory lies in the northern 
gneiss region, contains a number of valuable 
kaolin and iron ore mines, and is drained 
principally by Pickering creek, along whose 
banks the Pickering Creek railroad runs. 
Chester Springs Soldiers" Orphan school is 
in this township. West Pikeland was 
formed in 1738, by a division of Pikeland 
township, whose territory was granted by 
Penn, in 1705, to Joseph Pike, merchant, 
of Cork, Ireland. 

The landowners of this township in 17-47 
are included in the landholders of Pikeland 
townshiiJ of that year, given under the 
head of East Pikeland. 

West Sadsbii)'!/ Township. — This township 
is bounded on the north by West Cain ; on 
the east by Sadsbury ; on the south by 
Highland and West Sadsbury townships ; 
and on the west by Lancaster county. The 
northern part of the township is occupied 
by Potsdam sandstone, the central part by 
azoic rocks, and the southern part b}' a nar- 
row belt of limestone and a strip of mica- 
schist slates. Its surface is drained by 
several small streams, and the Pennsylvania 
railroad passes through the southern part. 
West Sadsbury was erected in 1878, by a 
division of Sadsbury township. 

The landowners of West Sadsbury in 
1774 are included in the list of landholders 
in Sadsbury township for that year. 

Westtown Tuiimship. — This township is 
bounded on the northeast by Willistown : 
on the southeast by Thornbury; on the 
southwest by Birmingham; and on the 
northwest by East Bradford and West and 
East Goshen townships. Westtown is in 
the southern gneiss region, and is covered 
by hornblendic gneisses and syenites, except 
its eastern and western extremities, where 



OF CHESTER CO UNI Y. 



189 



deposits of serpentine appear. In the south- 
western part are the most important ser- 
pentine quarries in tlie State. Tlie town- 
ship is principally drained hy Chester creek, 
and has a railroad passing througli it. West- 
town was likely so named from its location 
relative to Easttown township, and was 
formed about 1715, if not earlier. 

In 1774 tlie landholders of Wosttown 
were : James and Joseph Gibbons, Thomas 
and Phebe Taylor, Thomas Mercer, Samuel 
and Peter Osborne, John and William Hunt, 
Joseph James, John Polus, Joseph, Isaiah 
and Isaac Hoops ; Benjamin and Francis 
Hickman, Moses Cock, John and Amos 
Davis, William Hawley, Jacob Sharpless, 
Samuel Entriken, James Iluey, William 
and William, jr., Jones; James Black, llich- 
ard Strowd, Thomas Darlington, Thomas 
Williamson, Edward and Richard Tliorn- 
l)ury, Joseph Curtain, Hannah Carter, Na- 
than Jefteris, Joshua Smith, Cornelius Wood, 
Joseph White, William Chamberlin, Rich- 
ard Few, Jesse Camby, John WooUey, and 
Robert Yearsley. 

WestVincevt Toiou.<liip. — This township is 
bounded on the north by South Coventry ; 
on the northeast by East Vincent; on the 
south by West Pikcland ; on tlie southwest 
by Upper Uwchlaii ; and on the northwest 
by East Nantmeal township. West Vincent 
is in the northern gneiss region, e.vcept the 
northeast, where a narrow band of mesozoic 
rocks exists. There are several iron ore 
mines in the township. West Vincent 
township was formed in 1832, by the divis- 
ion of Vincent, which derived its name 
from Sir .Matthias Vincent. 

The landholders of this township in 1774 
are included in the landowners of that year 
of Vincent township, which is given under 
the head of East \'iiicent township. 



West Whiteland Township. — It is bounded 
on the iK)rth by Lower Uwchan and 
Charlestown townships; on the east by East 
Whiteland ; on the south by East and 
West Goshen ; and on the west by P^ast 
Bradford and East Cain townships. The 
southern part of the township is occupied 
by hydro-mica schist rocks, while north of 
the center lies the Downingtown limestone, 
and in the northern part is a wide belt of 
I'ocono sandstone. There are numerous 
iron ore mines along the northern edge of 
the limestone. The township is drained by 
several small streams, and three railroads 
pass through its territory. West Wliiteland 
was formed, February 26, 1765, by tlie di- 
vision of Whiteland town.ship, wliich was 
originally organized about 1704. 

The landholders of West Whiteland in 
1774 were: Joseph and James (iibbons, 
Thomas Taylor, Tiiomas Mercer, Samuel 
and Peter Osborne, John and William Hunt, 
Joseph James, Joseph, Isaac and Isaiah 
Hoops: Benjamin Hickman, John Polus, 
Moses Cock, John Davis, William Hawley, 
Jacob Sharpless, Samuel Entrikin, James 
Huey, William Jones, William Jones, jr., 
James Black, Richard Strowd (Strode?), 
TMiebe Taylor, Amos Davis, Thomas Dar- 
lington, Edward and Richard Thornbury, 
Thomas Williani.son, Joseph Curtain. Han- 
nah Carter, Xathan Jetferis, Joshua Smith, 
Cornelius Wood, Joseph White, William 
Chamberlin, Richard Few, Jesse Caniby, 
John Woolley, Francis Hickman, and Rob- 
ert Yearsley. 

WHlisloint Toini!ihii>. — This township is 
bounded on the north by East Whiteland 
and TrcdyflVin : on the east by Tredytirin 
and Easttown; on the south by Delaware 
county: and on the west !»y Westtown and 
Kast Gothen townships. "At the extreme 



BIOORAPHY AND HISTORY 



northern angle runs tlie limestone belt ; 
below (south of) this are the mica-schists, 
bounded in their turn by a belt of serpen- 
tine ; south of the serpentine is a band of 
irregular width of quartz and feldspar por- 
phyry ; and southermost of all lies a broad 
band of syenitic granite and hornblendic 
gneiss, in which latter are dykes of dolerite." 
The township is drained by Crum creek. 
Willistown was organized as a township 
about 1704, and its early settlers were 
Welsh. 

The landowners in 1774 were: Joshua 
and David Ashbridge, John Brown, John 
Briggs, John Boggs, Levi and Ezekiel 
Bowen, Owen Brooks, Daniel Cornock, 
Joseph Cox, John Douglas, Moses David, 
Joshua and Jonathan Evans ; William Force 
William, William, jr., Isaac, Thomas, Jo- 
siah, Jesse, Samuel aLd Aaron Garrett : 
Johu and Benjamin Griffith, Nathaniel 
Grubb, Benjamin, Benjamin, jr., Phineas, 
Samuel and Caleb Hibberd ; Thomas Harris, 
Benjamin Hampton, Griffith and Thomas 
Jones, George King, John Longstretch, 
William and Arasmus Lloyd, Isaac, Abra- 
ham and Jacob Lewis ; Thomas, Isaac and 
Phineas Massey ; Samuel McGue, Isaac and 
Thomas Melliu, Caleb Maris, Benjamin 
Marple, Cromwell and Edward Pearce, 
Thomas Russell, Isaac Richard, William 
lieece, Joseph Rowland, Howel Roberts, 
John, George, Thomas, Anne, Caleb and 
Hannah Smedley : John Scott, Joseph and 
Isaac Thomas, John Taylor, Thonuis White, 
Anthony "Wayne, Lewis and John AVilliams, 
Amos, Amos, jr., Francis, Enijcli, Daniel, 
Nathan, Joshua, George, Isaac, Isaac, jr., 
Caleb and Joseph Yarnall. 

After speaking soiuewhat in detail of the 
fifty-six townships of Ciiestcr county, it lias 
been deemed advisable to present tliem 



chronologically, with the names of the town- 
ships from which they were taken, and the 
years in which they were organized : 

Township. From. Year. 

Westtown about 1685 

Birmingham 1686 

Thornbury 1687 

Willistown..^ about 1704 

Easttown 1704 

Kenuett before 1705 

Tredyffrin before 1707 

New Garden before 1715 

Charlestown before 1715 

New London before 1715 

Sadsbury before 1717 

E. Nottingham.... Nottingham 1718 

W. Nottingham . . .Nottingham 1718 

London Grove 1723 

LondonBritain ...New London 1725 

East Cain Cain 1728 

West Cain Cain 1728 

E. Marlborough. . .Marlborough 1729 

W. Marlborough. .Marlborough 1729 

E. Bradford Bradford 1731 

W. Bradford Bradford 1731 

Londondery Nottingham 1784 

Uwchlan before 1738 

E. Nantmeal Nantmeal 1740 

W. Nantmeal Nantmeal 1 740 

Newlin 1740 

E. Failowtield Fallowfield 1743 

W. Fal lowfield Failowtield 1 743 

E. Wliiteland Whiteland 1765 

W.Whiteland Whiteland 1765 

Pennsbury Kennett 1770 

Honeybrook W. Nantmeal 1789 

Upper Oxford Oxford 1797 

Lower Oxford Oxford 1797 

East (Toshen Goshen 1817 

West Goshen Goshen 1817 

I'enn Londonderry 1817 

Scliiivlkill Cliarlestowii 1826 



01 CHESTER COUNTY. 



Township. Krom. Yeiir. 

E. Vincent Vincent 1882 

W.Vincent Vincent 1832 

E. Pikeland Pikeland 1838 

W. Pikeland Pikeland 1838 

N. Coventry Coventry 1841 

S. Coventry Coventry 1 841 

Warwick E. Nantnieai 1842 

E.Coventry N. Coventry 1844 

E. Brandy\vine....Bran(ly\vine 1844 

W.Brandywine...I>randywine 1844 

Pocopson Newlin and others... 1849 

Wallace W. Nantineal 1852 

Franklin N. Londonderry 1852 

Valley Sadsbury 1852 

Highland W. Fallowfield 1853 

Elk E. Nottingham 1857 

Upper Uwchlan...Uwchlan 1858 

Cain E. and W. Cain 1868 

W. Sadsbury Sadsbury 1878 

The townsliips of the county that have 
passed out of existence by beinj; divided 
into other townsliips, together with the 
dates at which they existed, are shown in 
the following compilation: 

Towusliip. TiUH'. 

Marlborough 1 704-1 72it 

( ioshen 1 704-1817 

Bradford 1705-1731 

Nottingham 1715-1718 

Coventry 1718-1841 

Fallowfield 1718-1843 

Nantmeal 1 722-1 740 

Pikeland 1745-1838 

Oxford 1 754-1 797 

Bi'andy wine 1 790-1 844 

ii(iRor(iiis. 
The I'nited States census of 1890 only 
enumerates ten boroughs in Chester count\% 
wliile it classes Honeybfook as a village, 
and makes no mention of Berwyn or Mal- 
vern. 



Atglen Borougli. — Twenty miles west of 
the county seat, on the Pennsylvania rail- 
road in We.st Sadsbury township, near the 
headwaters of Octoraro creek, is situated 
the borougli of Atglen, which includes 
within its present limits the former village 
of Pennington. It was organized by a de- 
cree of court on J)ecend)er 2<l, 1875, and 
has four hundred popidation. It has one 
large manufacturing establishment, several 
ciiurches and a good graded school. Atglen 
is the tirst of several tlirifty and enter[)ri8- 
ing railroad towns in the great Chester 
county valley, extending from the Lancaster 
to the Montgomery county line. 

Coatesrille linroiK/li. — I'leasantly situated 
in Valley township, a few miles west of the 
center of the county, on the West Brandy- 
wine river, where the main line of the Penn- 
sylvania railroad forms a junction with the 
Wilmington & Northern, lies the borough 
of Coatesville, one of the centers of the iron 
industry of Chester county. It is fourteen 
miles from West Chester, thirty-three from 
Wilmington,thirty-eight from Philadeli)hia. 
thirty-nine from Reading, and sixty-tivc 
from Ilarrisburg. Coatesville was incor- 
porated as a borough in 18ti7, and includes 
the old village of Mi<lway, now known as 
West Coates, and wiiich derived its old 
name from the fact of being exactly half 
way between Philadelphia and Columbia, 
the original termini of the i'ennsylvania 
railroad. Coatesville was named for the 
Coates family, founded by Moses Coates, 
who came from Irelanil about 1717. The 
postoffice was established April 1, 1812, 
with .VIoses Coates as postmaster, and since 
that day the place has slowly grown from a 
post hamlet to a large and prosperous town. 
The borough is iiandsomc in appearance, 
has good hotels and schools, and possesses 



BIOGRAPBY AND HISIORY 



several iine churches. It is lighted by gas, 
possesses good water works and an efficient 
iire department, and has large iron manu- 
factories, besides tanneries, and flouring, 
planing, and woolen mills. It lies in a 
l)eautiful and rich valley, and the assessed 
valuation of its real and personal property 
is nearly three millions of dollars. A hand- 
some railroad bridge, nine hundred and 
sixty feet long and sixty feet high, spans 
the WestBrandywine river at this place. 

The population of Coatesville, by each 
United States census since 1870, has been 
as follows : 

U. S. Census. Population. White. Colored. 

1870. 2025 1897 128 

1880. 2766 

1890. 3680 

The population of the borough by wards 
in 1890 was: 

East Ward 1426 

Middle Ward TCSO 

West Ward 624 

Downingtown Borough. — This well known 
town of southeastern Pennsylvania, whose 
name is so familiar to the almost countless 
thousands of people who are borne over the 
main line of the Pennsylvania railroad, lies 
on the waters of the historic Brandy wine 
river, in the heart of the great Chester val- 
ley. Downingtowu, which went by the 
name of Milltown as early as 1784, was in- 
corporated as a borough May 12-, 1859, and 
is in East Cain township. It is seven miles 
from West Chester, thirty-three from Phil- 
adelphia, and seventy-three from Harris- 
burg, and lies at the junction of the 
Waynesburg with the Pennsylvania rail- 
road. Through the long years of its exist- 
ence as a village it increased slowly in 
wealth and population, but since municipal 
honors were awarded it, nearly half a cen- 



tury ago, its progress has been more rapid. 
The portion of the town on the east side of 
the Brandywine, known as Eastward, has a 
postoffiee separate from the town, the office 
being known as East Downingtown. The 
Downingtowu postoffiee was established 
April 1, 1798, with Hunt Downing as post- 
master, and is the oldest as well as the first 
established postoffiee in the county. The 
site of the town was largely owned at one 
time (1739) by Thomas Downing, from 
whom it derives its name. Downingtown 
has good banking, fine railroad and excel- 
lent school facilities. It is lighted by gas, 
well supplied with water, and has two flour- 
ing mills and various factories. 

The population of Downingtown since 
1860 has been as follows : 

U. S. Census. Population. White. Colored. 

1860. 761 705 56 

1870. 1077 1040 37 

1880. 1480 

1890. 1920 

The population of the borough by wards 
in 1890 was returned as follows : 

East ward 872 

West ward 1048 

Honeybrook Borough. — This thrifty and 
favorably located town is on the Waynes- 
burg branch of the Pennsylvania railroad, 
in Honeybrook township, eighteen miles 
northwest of West Chester. It has good 
schools and churches, and its population has 
increased from four hundred and seventy in 
1880 to five hundred and fourteen in 1890. 
It was formerly known as Waynesburg, and 
the following account of the place is given 
by Alexander Marshall : 

"About the year 1815 the ground on 
which the village of Waynesburg, in Honey- 
brook township, no^y stands was an old field 
or common that had not been fenced in 



OF CHESTER COVNIY. 



148 



since the nuikiiig of tlio Horseshoe turn- 
pike, on the north side of that road. On 
the south side of the turnpike was a tavern, 
called the 'General Wayne," with a square, 
old-fashioned sign hung to the breeze, on 
which was painted what purported to he a 
likeness of the general on horseback, dressed 
in revolutionary equipments, boots and 
spurs, mounted on a chestnut sorrel pranc- 
ing steed. The tavern-house stood on the 
left corner of a road that intersected with 
the turnpike leading to the Mariner's Com- 
pass, now called Compassville. On the 
right side of this road stood a stone store- 
house, kept by David Ilackett, a single 
man, who boarded at the tavern. The tav- 
ern was kept by Jonatlian Jones, who while 
living there represented, in part, Chester 
county in the lower house of the State legis- 
lature, and afterward was sheriff of Chester 
county. Beside these two buildings, there 
was a small two-story stone house on the 
north side of the turnpike, about one hun- 
dred yards farther west. There was a 
school-house that stood lower down the 
turnpike, on the south side, near where the 
railroad now crosses said pike, and was 
called the 'General Wayne School-house." 
This was about the position of things at the 
date above named. There was an Irish 
school master by the name of Stinson, who 
had saved some money by teaching in the 
neighborhood for some years. He bought 
this old iield by way of speculation, got it 
surveyed into town-lots, and made a lottery 
— lotteries were then fashionable and not 
unlawful. He sold the tickets mostly on 
credit, as almost everybody could buy on 
credit at that date. The lottery was drawn, 
and those who drew the lots fronting on the 
turnpike promptly paid for their tickets and 
received titles. Those who drew back lots 



were not so prompt, and many of tliem re- 
mained on Mr. Stinson's hands. In a short 
time some of the owners of front lots be- 
gan to build. This encouraged otliers, and 
then the back lots became more valuable." 

Jlopnrdl Boroiir/li. — On May 2, 1K5:5, 
Hopewell borough was incorporated. It 
was taken from Lower O.vford and P^ast 
Nottingham townships. Hopewell is thirty 
juiles southwest of West Chester, and lies 
on the Oxford & Peach Bottom railroad. 
It has a flouring mill, factory, two churches 
and a school. The postoffice is known as 
Hopewell Cotton Works. 

The population of Hopewell at each 
United States census since 1860 has been 
as follows : 

U. S. Census. I'uimlatioii. Whito. ColnptHi. 



1860. 


278 


262 


16 


1870. 


268 


260 


8 


1880. 


216 






1890. 


213 







Kenneit Square Borowjh. — At the head of 
Toughkenamon valley- on the line of the 
Philadelphia & Baltimore Central railroad, 
thirty-six miles southwest of Philadeipliia, 
eleven miles northwest of Wilmington, 
Delaware, and twelve miles southwest of 
West Chester, is Kennett Square, one of the 
most prosperous boroughs and leading edu- 
cational centers of the county. The bor- 
ough was incorporated in 1855, from Ken- 
nett township. The first mention of the 
name to be found is in a deed made by 
William Dixon to Joseph Musgrave, in 
1769. Kennett Square had grown in size 
to a fair village when the British camped 
about it on the night preceding tlie battle 
of Brandy wine in 1777. It has slowly in- 
creased in size and population from a small 
village to a thrifty horougli. During the 
days of chattel slavery it was a very "hot- 



BIOORAPBY AND BJSIORY 



bed of abolitionism."" Tiie inhabitants of 
the place are largely the descendants of the 
first settlers, and are widely known for their 
intelligence and culture. Kennett Square 
has a number of churches, a good graded 
school, and water works. It is well pro- 
vided with hotels, banks and newspapers, 
while its academy and seminary have a 
large attendance of pupils from a distance. 
It has several raanufacturingestablishments, 
of which the principal ones manufacture 
fertilizers, road machines and agricultural 
implements. The borough has an assessed 
valuation of over half a million dollars, 
with but little bonded indebtedness. 

The population of Kennett Square since 
1860, at each United States census, has been : 

U. S. Census. Population. White. Coloreii. 

1860. 606 474 132 

1870. 884 726 158 

1880. 1021 

1890. 1326 

Malvern Borough. — On elevated ground 
six hundred feet above tide water, nine 
miles northeast of West Chester, and situa- 
ted on the line of the Pennsylvania railroad, 
is the beautiful and thoroughly progressive 
borough of Malvern. It was founded in 
1866 by David Evans, who in connection 
with his nephew, W. P. Evans, built the 
present Malvern flouring mill, and inaugu- 
rated other business enterprises in the new 
village, that received the name of Malvern 
when it was made a station on the Pennsyl- 
vania railroad, February 21, 1873. Excel- 
lent water works were constructed in 1871, 
by D. & W. P. Evans, and pure soft water 
is furnished to the inhabitants from a large 
spring on the old Ruth farm. Malvern 
was organized as a borough between 1880 
and 1890, and in the latter year had a 
population of six hundred and fort^'-one. 



From its elevation it has a commanding 
view of the surrounding country and a part 
of the Chester and Schuylkill valleys, be- 
sides a portion of the southwestern part of 
the State of New Jersey. Malvern has 
several churches, good schools, and gives 
promise of growing into a place of prom- 
inence in the future. 

Oxford Borough. — In the western part of 
Chester county, twenty-eight miles south- 
west of "West Chester, and fifty-two miles 
west of Philadelphia, on the central divis- 
ion of the Philadelphia, Wilmington & 
Baltimore railroad, is situated the hand- 
some and flourishing boi'ough of Oxford. 
It was taken from Lower Oxford and East 
Nottingham townships, and was incorpora- 
ted as a borough by act of assembly on 
April 8, 1833. Oxford has tine graded 
schools, numerous churches, several hotels, 
banks and newspapers, while it possesses a 
good system of water works, and has sev- 
eral steam fire engines. It lies in the heart 
of one of the richest agricultural sections 
of the county, and possesses excellent ship- 
ping facilities. It is a manufacturing and 
mercantile town, and has many fine resi- 
dences and substantial business blocks. 

Oxford's population, by each United States 
census since 1850, has been as follows : 

U. S. Census. Population. 

i850. 186 

1860. 482 

1870. 1151 

1880. 1502 

1890. 1711 

Parkeshurg Borotigh. — It is one of the 
flourishing trade centers of the county, and 
increased in population from eight hundred 
and seventeen in 1880 to one thousand five 
hundred and fourteen in 1890. Parkes- 
hurg is situated on the Pennsylvania rail- 



White. 


Colored 


162 


24 


446 


36 


1060 


91 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



road, in Sadsbury township, eighteen miles 

west of West Chester, uiul forty-four miles 
from Piii!ii<lelphiii. It was incorporated as 
a borough March 1, 1872. The place re- 
ceived its name from the old and influential 
Parke family, that settled near its site in an 
early day. Parkesburg came into prom- 
inence when the State constructed the 
Columbia railroad from Philadelphia to 
Columbia and located its shops — known as 
the State shops — at the village. These 
shops remained at Parkesburg until 1861, 
when they were removed to Harrisburg. 
The old shop buildings were remodeled and 
enlarged by Horace A. Beale, who then 
turned them into a rolling mill, which he 
has successfully operated ever since. The 
I)orough lias several manufacturing estab- 
lishments, a graded school, and numerous 
churches and hotels, l)esides a bank and a 
newspaper. 

Phamixnllr Boroin/h. — In the northeast- 
ern part of Scliuylkill township, on the 
west bank of the Schuylkill river, at its 
confluence with French creek, lies Phoenix- 
ville, the most important manufacturing 
town of Chester county-, and one of the 
great industrial centers of Pennsylvania. 
It is on the main line of the Philadelpiiia 
& Reading railroad, at the terminus of the 
Pickering Valley branch of the same road, 
while along the opposite side of the river 
the Pennsylvania railroad pa.sses.- 

The site of Phoenixville was settled at an 
early day, and the small hamlet of the 
seventeenth century had so grown in size 
and importance as to become incorporated 
as a borough on March 16, 1849. The 
growth and prosperity- of the town are 
due to early iron works and later iron en- 
terprises. The first iron works was estab- 
lished in 1700, and there are now a number 
10 



of large furnaces and rolling mills, which 
employ many hundred hands, and have ad- 
ded in no small degree to the wealth of the 
prosperous borough. The largest bridge 
works in Pennsylvania is located here,while 
numerous other industries have been estab- 
lished and are in a flourishing condition. 
Phoenixville is little short of a modern city 
in advantages and facilities. It has good 
streets, a fine system of graded schools, and 
is well lighted by both gas and electricity, 
while it possesses a thoroughly equipped 
fire department. It is a trade center, as 
well as a manufacturing one, and a large 
number of wholesale, jobbing, and retail 
establishments enjoy a satisfactory annual 
patronage. It resounds with the hum of 
industry and the rush and roar of trains, 
while the lights of furnace, forge and mill 
illumine the darkness of night. Such is 
busy, bustling PhaMiixville — a center of 
unceasing activities and untiring energies, 
whose progress and prosperity has been 
largely accomplished and secured by home 
energy and home capital. PhaMiixville has 
two banks, the National bank of Phoenix- 
ville and the Farmers" and Mechanics' Na- 
tional bank; while its churches, eight in 
number, are : Central Lutheran, First Meth- 
odist, Phoenixville Baptist, PcenixviJle Pres- 
byterian, St. John's Evangelical Lutheran, 
St. John's Reformed, St. Mary "s Catholic, and 
St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal. The bor- 
ough has the following incorporated com- 
panies within its borough limits: Phajnix 
Bridge, Pha-nix Iron, Pha-nix Mutual Fire 
Insurance, PlKenixville Co-operative (asso- 
ciation), Phcenixville Electric Light and 
Power, Morris Cemetery, and Plia-nix Hose, 
Hook and Ladder, No. 1. It has three 
newspapers: The Mejisenger, au independent 
weekly: ffc/)'<6/)Vrtn, an evening daily : and 



B 10 QB A PHY AND HISTORY 



the Slovak v Amerike, a Hungarian weekly, 
recently established. The postoffice was 
established July 22, 1828, with Lewis ^X. 
Richards as postmaster. 

The secret societies of Phoenixville in 
1889 were : Phoenix Lodge, Xo. 75, F. and 
A.M. ; Phcenix Chapter, Xo. 198, R. A.M. ; 
Palestine Council, Xo. 8, R. and S. M. ; Jeru- 
salem Commandery, Xo. 15, K. T. ; Masonic 
Hall Association; Phoenix Lodge, Xo. 212, 
I. 0. of 0. F.; Lieut. Josiah "White Post, 
Xo. 45, G. A. R. ; Wayne Council, Xo. 46, 
Jr. 0. IT. A. M. ; Declaration Lodge, Xo. 76, 
A. P. A. ; Sankanac Lodge, Xo. 58, K. of 
P.; Phcenix Division, Xo. 100, S. of T.; 
Camp Xo. 123, P. 0. S. of A. ; Division Xo. 
1, A. 0. H. ; Stratford Castle, Xo. 67, K. of 
G. E. ; Ivanhoe Keep, Xo. 1, K. of B. ; 
Young Men's Literary Union ; Emerald 
Beneficial Association ; St. Joseph's Bene- 
ficial Association; and St. Mary's Temper- 
ance Cadets. 

The population of Phoenixville, by each 
United States census since 1850, has been as 
follows : 

U.S. Census. Population. White. Oilored. 

1850. 2,670 2,641 29 

1860. 4,886 4,851 35 

1870. 5,292 5,268 24 

1880. 6,682 

1890. 8,514 

The population of the borough by wards 
in 1880 and 1890 were: 

Wards. ISSO. Wards. 1800. 

Xorth ward... 2,515 First ward 1,801 

South ward... 4,167 Second ward .. 1,686 

Third ward... 2,127 

Total 6,682 Fourth ward... 1,724 

Fifth ward 1,176 

Spring City Borough. — On the right hand 
bank of the Schuylkill river, in East Vin- 
cent township, twenty miles north of West 



Chester, is the progressive town of Spring 
City, whose growth has been rapid and sub- 
stantial for the last two decades. It was in- 
corporated as the borough of Springville in 
1867, and in 1872 the name was changed to 
Spring City, to correspond with the name of 
the postoffice, which was established on Sep- 
tember 29, 1864, with David S. Taylor as 
postmaster. Manufacturing was commenced 
here as early as 1850, but slow jtrogress was 
made for upwards of twenty years, and then 
the importance of the place and its favor- 
able facilities drew the attention of several 
manufacturers, who located their establish- 
ments and inaugurated its present prosper- 
ous career. Situated in the heart of a ricli 
agricultural and mineral valley, with excel- 
lent railroad facilities and splendid induce- 
ments to offer to new" enterprises, and safe 
investments for the capitalist, the borough 
promises by the dawn of the next century 
to become one of the most important towns 
of the county. Its leading manufactures to- 
day are those of stoves, paper, glass, terra 
cotta, foundry facings, charcoal blooms, brick 
and flour. It enjoj^s modern conveniences, 
has good schools, and is well supplied with 
churches. It has an able newspaper and a 
substantial bank. Spring City has increased 
as rapidly- in population since 1880 as it has 
in wealth. From 1,112 inhabitants in 1880, 
it has increased to 1,797, as reported by the 
census of 1890. 

West Chester Borough. — One of the finest 
inland residence towns of the State, and the 
most important suburb of Philadelphia, is 
West Chester, the beautiful and pleasant 
county seat of Chester county, the first of 
the three original counties organized by 
William Penn. The territory comprising 
the present site of West Chester was erected 
into the countv town for Chester countv on 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



147 



March 3, 1788, and eleven years later the 
rapidly growing village was incorporated 
on March 28, 1790, as a borough. West 
Chester is situated on high ground, between 
Brandy wine and Chester creeks, and has an 
altitude of four hundred and lifty-six feet 
above tide. Its latitude is :19° 57' 31.3", 
north, and longitude 7o° 3C' 32.7" west from 
Greenwich, England, or 1° 24' o7" east from 
Washington city. , 

The original plan of the town was four 
contiguous squaresand two principal streets, 
hut in 1829 several additional streets were 
laid out, and the council commenced to 
make those improvements that have so 
much beautiiied the place. The first mar- 
ket house was built in 1802, and the first 
macadamizing of streets was done in 1829. 
The first court house, erected in 1786, was 
a very indift'erent building, and was torn 
down in 1847. The old jail was no better 
in construction than its companion, the old 
court house, and was torn down in 1838. 
The first court house and jail stood in the 
rear of the present public buildings. The 
present jail, a handsome and durable struc- 
ture, was completed in 1838, and has an- 
swered the purpose of its construction. The 
borough is si.xteen and one-half miles from 
Philadelphia, and rests on geological forma- 
tions of gneiss and syenite. The earliest 
account which we have of the country cross- 
roads around which has grown up the town 
of West Chester is that of Joseph Town- 
send, of Baltimore, who says: "The first 
knowledge that I had of the ground on 
which West Chester stands was about the 
year 1760. There was at that time a cross- 
roads (now the intersection of Gay and 
High streets) ; the one in an easterly direc- 
tion led to Philadelphia, southerly to Wil- 
mington, westerly to Jefteris' ford on the 



Brandywine, and northerly to the 'Great 
Valley." The northeasterly field was owned 
by Phineas Eachus; northwesterly one by 
Daniel Iloopes. The ground southwesterly 
had an orchard on, and belonged to the 
estate of David Haines; the ground south- 
easterly was a lot, on wliicli was a small 
one-story wooden house, in which a tavern 
was kept by the aforesaid Phineas Eaclius. 
There was a small log building connected 
with the south end of the shed and tavern- 
yard, in which was a store." Mr. Town- 
send further states that in the Hoopes field 
was erected a log school house, in which 
Ralph Forester, an Irishnum, taught for 
several years ; and that in 1770 John Hoopes 
built a brick tavern southeast of the old 
log one, while a retail store was opened by 
Henry Glass and Ebenezer Matthews in a 
two-story log building in the old orchard. 
Mr. Towiisend also recollected Cliarles Py- 
ant, William Sharpless, George Bostock and 
his wife, a reputed enchantress ; Peter 
Gowcn, a weaver; and Samuel Hoopes, a 
blacksmith, all of whom were residents near 
the Eachus tavern before 1782. 

Phineas Eachus obtained license in 1762, 
and in 1768 his tavern was referred to for 
the first time as the "Turk's Head,'' which 
name was soon applied to the little hamlet. 
Capt. John Clark succeeded Eachus in the 
log tavern, and John Harper opened the 
brick tavern in 1770, calling it the "Turk's 
Head." Clark's successors were Jacob 
James, Francis Trumbic, John Underwood, 
Xathan Sihofield and Isaac Webb. In 1786 
the county seat was established at the vil- 
lage of Turk's Head, whose name was then 
changed to that of West Chester. In 1787 
Isaac Matlack built the Green Tree tavern, 
and Col. John Hannuni erected the Wash- 
ington. The Bear was opened in 1788. and 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



in 1796 Isaac Webb removed to tbe Gen- 
eral Wayne, wbicli became the celebrated 
Whitehall tavern that was torn down in 1874. 

General LaFayette was splendidly enter- 
tained here in the court house, Tuesday, 
July 26, 1825, on which occasion he said in 
bis speech in reply to the address of wel- 
come: "The thought of its having been 
my first action under the American stand- 
ard, and under our great and good com- 
mander-in-chief, iu company with your 
gallant Chester countian, my friend General 
Wayne, and my other comrades — the honor 
to have mingled my blood with that of 
many American soldiers on the heights of 
Brandywine — had been to me a source of 
pride and delight, near half a century before 
it has lately become an occasion of the most 
honorable, kind, and gratif^nng remem- 
brance; as it is now an olyeet of your 
friendly congratulations. Happy I am, also, 
in 3'our testiiuouies of affection and esteen^, 
for my conduct in the vicissitudes of my 
life, on both hemispheres."' 

The present fine and handsome court 
house, on the corner of High and Market 
streets, was erected in 1846-17, under the 
direction of Mordecai Lee, Enos Peunock 
and Smith Sharpless, who were then the 
county commissioners. Thomas U. Walter 
was the architect, and William Ingram, 
Chalkley Jefteris, James Powell and David 
H. Taylor were the contractors. The cor- 
nerstone was laid July 4, 1846, and the 
structure was finished in 1847, at a total 
cost of $55,345.98, although the original 
contract was for only $45,000. In 1859 it 
was faced with Pictou stone at a cost of 
$21,000, and to-day is recognized as an ele- 
gant specimen of Corinthian architecture. 

The country surrounding West Chester 
is said to be the most beautiful in America, 



and to closely resemble the best portions of 
rural England. The classic Brandywine 
flows within two miles of the town, and the 
historic grounds of the Brandywine battle, 
Birmingham church, Osborne's Hill, Chad's 
Ford, Paoli and Valley Forge, are within 
easy driving distance. In addition to the 
charms of so many beautiful historic asso- 
ciations which invest this whole region, the 
natural scenery and pleasant drives along 
the Brandywine and Valley creeks equal 
in beauty those of the famous Wissahickon 
and elsewhere about Philadelphia and Ger- 
mantown. The Encyclopii?dia Brittauica 
says of Chester county : " The district which 
they (Quakers) inhabit is a veritable fairy- 
land, and its principal town. West Chester, 
has been for a long time one of the notable 
centers of scientific life in the State of 
Pennsylvania." 

The Ionic, the Tuscan and the Norman 
orders of architecture are to be seen in the 
elegant aud tasteful homes of many of the 
families of West Chester. Nearly all the 
houses are of brick and stone, with metal 
or slate roofs. The lawns and gardens, with 
terraces, flowers and trees, add curve and 
grace, color and beaut}-. The streets, the 
public clock, aud many of the stores, hotels 
aud residences, are illuminated by electricity, 
while gas supplies light to the remainder of 
the town and people. The streets are well 
macadamized, and the stone curbing aud 
brick sidewalks, with flagged crossings, are 
good. The average mean temperature in 
West Chester, during the last ten years, has 
been oO^',,",^ degrees Fahrenheit, and the rain- 
fall, during the same period, has averaged 
44/^/^ inches per year, as reported by Dr. 
Jesse C. Green, the official observer for the 
United States sign.il service. 

The town has an excellent system of 



OF (IHESIER COUNTY. 



149 



water works, and itn water, a.s imre as any 
in the workl, i^s brought from several strong 
si)rings tliree miles north of the horough. 
Tiie tire department is w'eli organized, and 
the oldest tire company, the West Chester, 
was formed in ITO'.t. The manufacturing 
interests of West Chester are extensive, and 
include the largest w'heel factor}- east of 
the Allegheny mountains, foundries and 
macliiiH' slio[is, planing mills, creameries 
and cigar factories. There are also many 
flower gardens and ornamental and fruit 
tree nurseries. A large elevator handles 
tlie grain export, and the present active and 
energetic hoard of trade was organized in 
1874. »There are several good hotels, up- 
wards of two hundred merchandise dealers, 
and the stores and markets are tirst-chtss. 
The principal hotels are : Green Tree, Man- 
sion, Turk's Head, Eagle, Sherman. West 
Chester and Magnolia. The borough has 
tirst-class telegraph and telephone service, 
and excellent railroad connections with all 
the great railways of .the country. 

West Chester has been famous for its 
schools since the opening of "West Chester 
academy in 1813. The public schools have 
a well arranged course of study, ending 
with a full four years' iiigh school course. 
The High street school building was com- 
pleted in 1887, at a cost of g80,(Ht(l. Dar- 
lington seminary is on the soutliern edge 
of the borough, while Worrall's Classical 
school is in Cabinet hall, and tlie Quakers 
have an excellent high school. The Cath- 
olics have two parochial schools, anil a 
kindergarten has been established. • 

We.st Chester is the seat of the State 
Normal school for the First district of 
Pennsylvania. It was opened in 1871, and 
has now grown to be tlie foremost and 
most successful seiiool of its class in the 



State, and (juc of the first in the whole 
country. It is situated on a beautiful 
campus of fourteen acres in the southern 
part of the town. The main sciiool build- 
ing is two hundred and fifty-six feet long 
and two hundred and thirty-seven feet deep. 
It is four stories high, and is built of green 
stone (serpentine) and white marble. It 
contains rooms for four hundred students, 
with (•hapel. dining rooms, library, and 
teachers' room.s. Near b}' is a fine new 
gymnasium, also of stoue, one hundred and 
four by .sixty-four feet, most completely 
equipped, and making, with the single ex- 
ception of the new gymnasium at Yale, the 
finest school or college gymnasium in Amer- 
i<a. The recitation hall is another beauti- 
ful green stone building, one hundred and 
eighty-five by seventy feet, three stories 
high, and containing many fine recitation 
rooms, laboratories, and work shops. A 
handsome piincipal's house also adorns the 
grounds, while a most complete school in- 
firmary and well equipped athletic grounds 
adjoin the campus. Its property has cost 
more than four hundred tliousand dollars, 
and is believed to be the finest nminal 
school property in the whole country. Its 
principal is Dr. G. M. Philips, wlio is a.s- 
sisted by a corps of thirty excellent teachers. 
Tlie school now enrolls above a thousand 
students each year, and is constantly grow- 
ing. Its students come not only from 
Pennsylvania, but from many other States. 
West Chester is well supplied with iiews- 
[lapers. Its daily Loral Neirs. Repulilica)i, 
and Village Record; and its weekly Villayr 
liecoiil, Ripablicati, Jeffersonian, and Iknio- 
rral, are modern newsiiapers. Tliey circu- 
late throughout the county, and arc always 
ready to render etticient help to every 
wortliy enterprise. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



The population of West Chester is highly 
intelligent. Scientiiic and literary societies, 
cabinets of science, private collections of 
minerals, shells, curiosities, relics, museums 
and libraries, are numerous, and some of 
them of great value; the schools are many 
and famous. There is a public library with 
free reading and lecture rooms, adorned with 
memorial windows and busts of celebrated 
men by native artists. Marshall j^ark con- 
tains a fine arboretum, also a fountain and a 
granite monument to the memory of the 
Chestercounty heroes of the late war. Prof. 
Joseph T. Rothrock, of the university of 
Pennsylvania, who is eminent authority on 
botany, forestry and arboriculture, pro- 
nounces this park "so far as regards the ad- 
mirable selection of its noble trees, the finest 
in North America." The park contains 
live and a half acres, and has one hundred 
and sixty different species of trees. 

The banks of West Chester are : Farmers" 
Xational, First Xational, aud the National 
bank of Chester county. Its incorporated 
companies are as follows : Mercer Nut Lock, 
Penn Mutual Fire Insurance, West Chester 
Gas; Chester County Guarantee, Trust and 
Safe Deposit; Hoopes, Bro. & Darlington 
Wheel ; Edison Electric Illuminating, West 
Chester Fire, No. 1 ; Good Will Fire, No. 2 ; 
and Fame Fire, No. 3. The borough has 
twelve churches within its limits : First Bap- 
tist, Second Baptist (colored). First Presby- 
terian, West Chester Methodist Episcopal, 
St. Agnes Catholic, Hicksite Friends, Ortho- 
dox Friends, Holy Trinity Protestant Epis- 
copal, Reformed Episcopal, Sure Foundation 
K. E., Bethel African Methodist Episcopal 
and Union African Methodist Episcopal. 
The town has six tasteful cemeteries : Oak- 
lands, St. Agnes, Orthodox Friends, Greeii- 
rnount, Chestnut Grove, and Friends". 



The following are the societies of West 
Chester: Star of the West (ladies), Fame 
Engine, Good Will, West Chester Philo- 
sophical, and West Chester Public Library. 
The secret organizations that meet in the 
borough are : West Chester Lodge, No. 
322, F. and A. M. ; Howell Chapter, No. 
202, R. A. M, ; Pocahontas Lodge, No. 316, 
L 0. of 0. F. ; Kenhawa Council, No. 248, 

0. U. A. M.; G. A. McCall Post, No. 31, 
G. A. R. ; G. F. Smith Post, No. 130, G. A. 
R. ; Uppowoc Tribe, No. 47, 1. 0. of R. M. ; 
West Chester Lodge, No. 42, L 0. of 0. F. ; 
General Marion Encampment, No. 91, I. 0. 
of 0. F. ; Stella Lodge, No. 131, K. of P. ; 
Bethlehem Lodge, Xo. 21, A. M. ; Harmony 
Lodge, No. 50, A. M. ; West Chester Castle, 
No. 226, K. G. E.; and Conclave, No. 61, 

1. 0. H. There are also several literarj^ 
scientific, musical, charitable and social 
societies. 

The population of West Chester since 
1800, at each United States census, has been 
as follows: 

U. S. Census Population. White Coloreil. 

1800. 374 

1810. 471 

1820. 053 

1830. 1,244 

1840. 2,152 

1850. 3,172 2,721 451 

1860. 4,757 4,196 561 

• 1870. 5,630 4,702 928 

1880. 7,046 

1890. 8,028 

The population of the liorough by wards 
in 1880 and 1890 were: 

Wards. Is^^O. 1S9(>. 

North Ward 1,343 1,324 

East Ward 1,732 2,157 

South Ward 1,849 2,314 

West Ward 2,122 2,233 



OF CHESIER COVNTY. 



151 



VILLAGES. 

We present the followiiiginteresting tacts 
regarding the more important of the large 
number of tliriving villages in tlie county: 

Acomhile. — This is an attractive village of 
over four hundred inliabitants, situated at 
tlie junction of the P. W. & B and B. P. k 
S. L. Ijranch of tiie Pennsylvania railroad. 
It is located fourteen miles southwest of 
West Chester, in London Grove township, 
and has good shipping facilities. It has a good 
school, several churches and hotels, and is 
noted for its large and valuable limestone 
(juarries. The postoiKce was established 
December :29, 1828. with Jacob Lindlcy as 
postmaster. 

Barncstoicn. — A pleasant little village is 
Barnestown, situated on the Waynesburg 
branch of the Pennsylvania railroad, sixteen 
miles northwest of West Chester, in West 
Xantmeal township. It has nearly one hun- 
dred inhabitants, and several stores. It has 
been a post village since October 29, 1869, 
when David Longacre became its first post- 
master. Isabella furnace is located near 
Barnestown. 

Brririjn. — This village is located on the 
Pennsylvania I'ailroad, in P^asttown town- 
ship, twelve miles northwest of West Ches- 
ter, and has nearly four hundred inhabitants. 
It has a flouring mill, several stores and 
other business (.'oncerns. It is a post village, 
and enjoys good school and church facilities. 
The postoffice was established l)y the name 
of Keesville on January 18, 1820, with C. A. 
Jarrett as postmaster. The name was 
changed to Berwyn on October 24, 1877. 

BirrhrniH'Ub'. — This village is in West 
N'ineent townshij), sixteen miles north of 
West Chester, and four miles east of Kim- 
berton. on the Pickering Creek ^'alley rail- 
road. It is a postal village, and has a good 



school, a general store and two flouring 
mills. The postoffice dates back to June 
10, 1868, with T. B. Dewees as postmaster. 

Black Horse. — This neat little town is sit- 
uated three and a half miles north of Parkes- 
burg, and twenty-two miles west of West 
Chester, in West Sadsbury townshij). It 
has over one Inindred population, and en- 
joys good school facilities. It has a general 
store and several other business concerns. 
Its postoffice was established January lo, 
1816, witli Wallace Boyd as postmaster. 
The name at first was Black Horse Tavern, 
but was changed to that of Black Horse on 
November 19, 1818. The office was discon- 
tinued in 1853 and re-established in 1856. 

Bhu Roc/c— The village of Blue Rock is 
a station on the W. & X. railroad in West 
Xantmeal township, twenty miles northwest 
of West Chester. The postoffice was estab- 
lished December 17, 1849, with Charles Ret- 
tew as postmaster. Blue Rock has about 
two hundred inhabitants, and there is a daily 
stage line from there to Chester Springs. 

Braitilyicine Manor. — In West Brandy- 
wine township, fourteen miles west of West 
Cliester, and thi-ee miles from Rockville 
railroad station, is the village of Brandy- 
wine Manor, which has a flouring mill, 
store, hotel, and other business concerns. 
The postoffice was established October 23, 
1816, with David Denny as postmaster. It 
now has a population of over one hundred. 

Cain. — This station and village, on the 
Pennsylvania railroad, is situated in Cain 
township, twelve miles northwest of West 
Chestei', and has about one hundred inhab- 
itants. The postoffice was cstai^lished De- 
cember 17, 1835. and Isaac C. Preston 
served as the first jiostmaster. Tlie office 
was discontinued February 23, 1H42. and 
re-established November 8, 1849. 



BIOGSAPHY AND HIST OS Y 



Cambria Station. — This small village is 
located on the P. V. branch of the P. & 1\. 
railroad, in West Pikelaud township, ten 
miles north of West Chester. It has a 
flouring mill, two general stores, and a 
creamery. 

Cedar Knoll. — In West Brandywine town- 
ship, sixteen miles northwest of West Ches- 
ter, is Cedar Knoll, which was established 
as a post village on June 18, 1879, with Z. 
W. Davis as postmaster. It has a flouring 
mill, and the population is nearly one 
hundred. 

Cedarrille. — This pleasant little village is 
in North Coventry township, only two miles 
from Pottstown, Montgomery county, and 
twenty-flve miles north of West Chester. 
It is a post village, contains two hundred 
population, and has a flouring mill and 
general store, while adjoining is a fruit tree 
imrsery. The postofdce was established 
April o, 1870, by the name of North Cov- 
entry, and so continued until March 26, 
1878, when it was changed to Cedarville. 

Chatham. — This place, which became a 
post village on April 1, 1803, with Robert 
Miller as postmaster, is sixteen miles south- 
west of West Chester, in London Grove 
township, on the Pennsylvania k Delaware 
branch of the Pennsylvania railroad. It 
lias a population of two hundred, and has 
two flouring mills, three stores, and a 
creamer}-. 

Che-^ter Springs. — This celebrated summer 
and health resort is twelve miles north of 
West Chester, in West Pikeland township, 
and on the Pickering Valley branch of the 
Pennsylvania railroad. It has a population 
of three hundred, and was formerly known 
as Yellow Springs. The medicinal proper- 
ties of its waters were known as early as 
1722, and a house of entertainment was 



opened in 1750. John Bailey and Thomas 
Euston Kennedy were the successive pro- 
prietors until 1806, when James Bones 
bought the property. He laid out a town 
in 1814, by the name of Bath, which never 
grew beyond the paper stage. The owners 
succeeding Mr. Bones, in unbroken line to 
the present time, have been : Mrs. Margaret 
Holman, Dr. George Lingen, Henry Neef 
k C. F. Hofl:endahl, Maria L. Neef, A. U. 
Snyder, Charles W. Dean, and the trustees 
of Chester Springs Soldiers' Orphans' 
School and Literary institute. In 1868 the 
property was closed as a watering place, 
and in 1869 it was titted up for a soldiers" 
orphans" home. The place has two flouring 
mills, a phosphate mill, and a general store. 
The postoflBce was established January 1, 
1815, as Yellow Springs, with Maxwell 
Kincaird as postmaster: l)ut on April 5, 
1827, the name was changed to Chester 
Springs, and Henry Olewine was appointed 
postmaster. 

Chester Valley. — This village, which has a 
population of over one hundred, is eleven 
miles northeast of the county seat, on the 
Chester Valley railroad, in Tredyflrin town- 
ship. It has two flouring mills and two 
stores, and the postoflice was established 
April 25, 1857, with Canby Smith as post- 
master. 

Chestercille. — In Franklin township, twen- 
ty miles southwest of the county seat, and 
two and one-half miles from Landenburg, 
lies the village of Chesterville. It has a 
population of nearly- one hundred, with two 
flouring mills and a general store. The 
postoflice was established November 30, 
1848, and Milton Shortlidge served as the 
first postmaster. 

Chrome. — This village is in East Notting- 
ham township, thirty miles southeast of 



OF CHESTER COUHTY. 



West Chester and two miles from Xotting- 
haiii railroad station. It has a general 
store, aiui has heeii a [>ost village since 
April 29, 1870, when John T. Williamson 
was couiinissioiied as its tirst postmaster. 

Cloud. — This is a farmers' postofRee, four 
miles west of West Chester, in East Goshen 
township. It has a general store, and was 
estahlished as a postoffiee January 20, 18^1, 
with Thomas H. Smedley as postmaster. 

Coc/uandKi: — This village is located in 
VVest Fallowfield township, twenty miles 
west of the county scat, and has a popula- 
tion of two hundred and titty. It has two 
general stoi-es, a drug store, and a creamery. 
The i)ostotttce was establislied January 1, 
1803. and James llollis served as its tirst 
postmaster. 

Collaiiier — Which is also known as IIo- 
merville, lies in Upper Oxford township, 
twenty-two miles west of the county scat 
and seven miles north of Oxford, its nearest 
shipping point. Its jiopnlation is aliout 
one hundred and thirty, and tlu' postoffiee 
was established Octolier 11, lS4li. with 
Thonias liaker as postmaster. It lias two 
flouring mills and a store. 

Cupolji. — This post village is in West 
Nautmeal township, seventeen miles north- 
west of West Chester, and has a general 
store and foundry. The postotKce was es- 
tablished October 21, 18t;!t. and Thomas K. 
Jones served as the tirst postmaster. 

Iji-niiilt. — The growing village of Bevault 
is situated in Charlestovvn township, eleven 
miles northeast of the county seat, and has 
a population of three hundred. It has a 
general store, a postoftice by the same name, 
and Si'veral lime and stone companies haye 
kilns and (juarries near the village. 

Dtroii. — This post village is situated in 
Eiisttown township, tifteon miles northeast 



of West Chester, and has an estimated 
population of thive hundred. It has a 
hotel, livery stable, drug store and general 
st(jre. 

l)ilir<iiil(l<,iri(. — This place contains a J'op- 
idation of one hundred, and is four and one- 
half miles southeast of West Chester, in 
Birmingham township. It has a general 
store and hotel. The {)Ostoffice was estali- 
lished March 80, 1822, with William Speak- 
man as postmaster. 

Dorian's M'dh. — This village takes its 
name from the Doi'lan Paper mills, which 
employ a considerable force of men. It is 
a station on the Waynesburg i)ranch of the 
Pennsylvania railroad, in I'wchlan town- 
ship, eleven miles northwest of the county 
seat, and has a general store and saw mill, 
in addition to the paper mills nientioiic(l 
above. 

Doc Jinn. — The village known as Doe Run 
is in West .Marlborough township, on the 
P. 1*1: N. P. and S. I,, branch of the I'enii- 
sylvania i-ailroad, twelve miles from West 
Chester. Its population is two hundred and 
fifty, and it has four flouring nnlls, two 
creameries, two paper mills, and a general 
store. Doe Run jiostoffit-e was established 
February 27, 1827, with Hayes Clark as 
postmaster. 

Diifnjn Mairr. — This post village is sit- 
uated eight miles from the county seat, in 
Willistown townsinp. on the Pennsylvania 
railroad, and has a population of two hun- 
dred and flfty. It has a general store and 
hotel. 

Dugilak. — This is a small village with a 
hotel and general store, lying in ¥.&»i Marl- 
borough township, eiglit miles .southwest 
of West Chester, and two and one-halt 
miles iVum Rose<lale laili'oad station. Tlie 
postoffiee, with John L.Smetiley for its flrst 



BIOGRAPSY AND HISTORY 



postmaster, was estaljlislied Fel>ruary 19, 
1879. 

East Coreiitry. — In East Marlborough 
towusliip, twenty miles north of West Ches- 
ter, and three miles from Pottstown, Mont- 
gomery county, is East Coventry, a village 
of nearly two hundred population. It has 
two flouring mills and a general store. The 
postoflice came into existence on October 
22, 1869, with Peter D. Pirclies as post- 
master. 

East Nantiiical. — This village of over two 
hundred population lies fourteen miles north 
of the county seat, and is located in the 
township of the same name. It has a gen- 
eral store, and the postoffice was established 
February 6, 1856, when Jesse Rarastine was 
commissioned as postmaster. The office 
was discontinued April 4, 1865, and re- 
established July 10, 1874. 

Elk Mills.— Th\a post village lies in Elk 
township, thirty-two miles southwest of 
West Chester, and six miles southeast of 
Oxford, which is its banking town and ship- 
ping station. It has two flouring mills, a 
store, and a bonnet l)oard manufacturing 
shop. The postofliee dates from October 
22, 1869, when Joseph R. Brown was ap- 
pointed as postmaster. 

El/: View.— The small village of Elk 
\'iew contains about fifty inhabitants, and 
lies thirty-six miles southwest of Westches- 
ter. It is situated in Penn township, on the 
Philadelphia \- Baltimore Central railroad. 
Its postofliee was established May 30, 1861, 
and Joseph Hodgson served as its first jiost- 
n I aster. 

Emlnrerillv. — A village of one hundred 
inhabitants, on the Wilmington & Northern 
I'ailroad, in Newlin township, eight miles 
west of the county seat, is Embreeville, 
which contains a flouring mill and two 



stores. Its postoflace dates back to Ma_y 
11, 1830, when William Embree was ap- 
pointed postmaster. 

Ercildoun. — This village is in East Fal- 
lowfield township, thirteen miles west of 
West Chester, and three miles south of 
Coatesville, its banking town and shipping- 
point. The postotfice was established Feb- 
ruary 12, 1850, with Gideon Pcirce as post- 
master. The place has two paper mills, 
two flour mills, a creamery, two general 
stores, and two straw board factories. Its 
population is estimated at one hundred and 
fifty. Its academy has an en viable reputation. 

Exton. — This is a small village on the 
Chester Valley railroad, iji West Whiteland 
township, five miles north of West Chester. 
Exton postoffice was established September 
4, 1861, and James Beale served as its first 
postmaster. The place contains three stores, 
a flouring mill and a creamer}-. 

Fairdlle. — This village, of nearly- one 
hundred inhabitants, is in Pennsbur}- town- 
ship, eight miles south of West Chester. It 
contains a flouring mill and general store, 
and the postoffice was established March 20, 
1849, with John E. Leonard as its first post- 
master. 

Font. — In Upper Uwchlan township, 
twelve miles from West Chester, is Font, 
locally known as Fairmont. It has a flour- 
ing mill, creamery, general store, and post- 
office by the same name. 

Frazer. — This thriving village is on the 
Pennsylvania railroad, in East Whiteland 
township, seven miles from West Chester, 
and has a population of iwo hundred. It 
has a general store. Frazer postoffice was 
established Deceniber 22, 1819, by the name 
of East Whiteland, with Joseph Phillips as 
postmaster. It was first located on the 
Lancaster turnpike, and on January 21, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



155 



1830, tlic iKiiitc was cliiingod to that of 
Frazer. Tlie ottiut' was rt'iiioved to Frazur 
in August, 1801. 

Fninont. — Tliirty-two iiiilos soutliwest of 
tlie I'ounty seat is Freinont, a village of two 
liuiidred iiibabitaiits, located in West Not- 
tingliam township. It lias a flouring mill 
and general store, and the postoliiee dates 
back to March -21, 1841, with Amos Carter 
as postmaster. 

Glen //('//.— Thi.s .station on the AV. .\: F. 
railroad iuNewlin t(>wnsyiip,six miles south- 
west of the county seat, has a population 
of nearly one hundred, and the postoffice 
dates back to April 10, 1871. AVilliam 11. 
Hall served as the first postmaster. 

Glen Loch. — The enterprising village of 
Glen Loch lies six miles north of West 
Chester, in East Whiteland township. It 
is on the Pennsylvania railroad, has over 
tliree hundred inhabitants, and contains a 
store and flouring mill. The postoffice was 
established May 17, 1869, with Mrs. Jane 
Waldron as postmaster. This office took 
the place of Frazer, whirb was removed to 
Frazer station in 1861. 

(7/(71 Moore. — This village of two hun- 
dred inhabitants is on the Waynesbui-g 
railroad, in Wallace township, sixteen miles 
northwest of the county seat, and contains 
two flouring mills and two general stores. 
The postoffice dates l)ack to August '1\, 
1869, when it was established by the name 
of Norwood. The name of the office was 
changed to that of (ilon .Nfoorc on July 17, 
1874. 

(lien linij. — The village f)f (ilen Koy is 
situated in West Xottinginim townsliij), 
thirty miles soutliwest of West Chester and 
two miles west of Xottingham, its railroad i 
station. It contains a floniing mill, cream- • 
cry and store, and the postoffice was estab- 



lishcil September 28, 18.')7, with .lesse li. 
Kirk as postmaster. 

Goshtncille. — On tiie Chester Connty rail- 
road in East Goshen township, four miles 
northeast of the county seat, is Goslienville. 
It has a flouring mill, store, and postoffice, 
the latter established November 4, 182.'), 
with A. S. Williams as postmastei'. 

Gum Tree. — This is a railroad village of 
nearly one hundred inhabitants, in High- 
land township, eighteen miles southwest of 
West Chester. It has a flouring mill, store, 
hotel and paper board factory. The post- 
office dates back to April 21, 1823, when it 
was established by the name of Clingan. 
Samuel McCann was the first postmaster. 
The name of the office was changed to that 
of (iium Tree on June 30, 1834. 

Gufhrle^cille. — This village of one hun- 
dred and fifty population, eleven miles 
northwest of West Chester and four miles 
from Downingtown, is in East I5randywine 
township, and has a flouring mill, store and 
woolen mill. The postoffice was cstablisiied 
January 7, 1831, and James 15. (Juthrie 
served as the first postmaster. 

H'lmorton. — In Kennett townshiji. eight 
miles southwest of West Chester, and one 
mile north of Fairville railroad station, is 
Hamorton, a village of two hundred [lopu- 
lation. It has two stores, and its postoffice 
dates back to January 7, 1831. .Vmos Ha- 
mor served at the first postmaster. 

Hickory Hill. — This village is in West 
Nottingham township, twenty-four mile.s 
soutliwest of the county seat, and four and 
one-half miles from Oxford. The postoffice 
was established June 18, 18.")0, witii William 
C. Shuler as postmaster. 

hahittii. — This is a [.rctly littli' railroad 
village, in West Xantmeal township, twenty- 
two miles northwest of West Chester, and it 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTORY 



liiis a flouring mill, store and postoffice, tlie 
latter of which was established April 13, 
1871. Samuel Loug wasthe first postmaster. 

JenncivviUe. — This village of one hundred 
liopulation is in Peun town, twenty miles 
southwest of the county seat, and has two 
flouring mills and a store. The postoffice 
dates back to December 22, 1814. Josiah 
Ankrini served as the first postmaster. 

Kuolin. — This postoffice, established De- 
cember 8, 1868, with William Foote, jr., as 
postmaster, is sixteen miles southwest of 
West C'hester, in New Garden township. 
Near it are located several kaolin mines, 
from which the office takes its name. 

Kdton. — The village of Kelton is situated 
in Penn township, twenty-two miles south- 
west of the county seat. It has a store and 
a creamery, and the postoffice dates back to 
April 10, 1871. The first postmaster was 
Robert C. Kelton. 

Keiiiblcsrillf. — This village of two hun- 
dred inhabitants, lying twenty-four miles 
southwest of West Chester, in Franklin 
township, has three flouring mills, a store, 
hotel and potter^'. The postoffice was es- 
tablished Auo'ust 16, 1S23, with George 
Kemble as postmaster. 

Kenilwoiih. — The North Coventi-y town- 
ship village of Kenilworth, whose popula- 
tion is three hundred and twenty-five, lies 
twenty-five miles north of the county seat, 
and one and a fourth miles from Pottstown, 
Montgomery county, which is its nearest 
shipping station. It has a store and gro- 
cery, and a postoffice of the same name. 

Kihiberfon. — This is an East Pikeland 
township village of one hundred and forty 
inhal)itants, situated on the Pickering Val- 
ley I'ailroad, sixteen miles noi'tli of West 
C'hester, and lour miles west of Phcenixville. 
It has several flouring mills, a planing mill 



and a general store. Kimberton postoffice 
was established as early as January 15, 1820, 
and Emmor Kimber served as the first post- 
master. 

Landcnbiinj. — This prosperous village of 
New Garden township is twenty miles south- 
west of the county-seat, and is located at the 
junction of the D. k W. with the Penn & 
Delaware branch of the Pennsylvania rail- 
road. According to the census of 1880, it 
had a population in that year of three hun- 
dred and fifty-three. It enjoys considerable 
trade, and has a good school, a hotel, two 
flouring mills, and a general store. Landen- 
burg postoffice was established November 
17, 1848, with Jacob Hobson as postmaster. 
The office was first called Chandlerville, 
but the name was changed to Landenburg 
on September 20, 1869. 

Lcuapc. — The village of Lenape -; four 
miles southwest of West Chester, in T3ir- 
mingham township. It has two flouring 
mills and two general stores, with a post- 
office of the same name, which date- back 
to January 21, 1870, with John P. Sager as 
postnuister. 

Lrnorcr. — This little village is situated 
twenty miles west of the county seat, in 
WestSadsbury township, and has two stores 
and flouring mills. 

Jjcoiiard. — A lately established postoffice 
of New Garden township is Leonard, which 
is one mile north of Toughkenanion, its 
nearest shipping point. It has a hotel and 
store. 

Liiipard. — Northeast of West Chester ten 
miles, and in Easttown township, is located 
the village of Leopard, which has three 
general stores and a postoffice of the same 
name, established April 2, LS6(>. .lolin ^\'. 
Ilayman served as the first postmaster. 

Lcwisrille. — In Elk township, thirty miles 



OF a If ESTER COUNTY. 



southwest of the county seat, is Lewisville, 
a. village of over two hnndred inhabitants, 
whose l)anking town is Oxford, and whose 
shipping point is Elkton, Maryland. It 
has a store, two newspapers and two flour- 
ing mills. Lewisville postoftiee was estab- 
lished rel)ruary 7, 1848, and J.B. McDowell 
was commissioned as the first postmaster. 

Lincoln Uiticcrsit)/. — This railroad village 
of over two hundred population, is situated 
in Lower O.xford townsliip, twenty-five 
miles southwest of West Chester. It derives 
its name from Lincoln university, a school 
for colored people, which is within the 
limits of the town. It lias tliree general 
stores, three flouring mills, and a fruit tree 
nursery. The post office dates back to July 
tl, 1860, and George Kigdon was the first 
postmaster. (See Miscellaneous.) 

Li(/)\rillr. — The village of Lionville con- 
tained ji pdpiilatiiin of one hundred and 
fourteen, according to the census of 1880, 
and_ is situated in Uwchlan township, nine 
mi■fc.^■■ north of the county seat, and two 
and one-half miles from Oakland railroad 
station. There is a hotel and two general 
stores at this place. The postoflice was 
established May 26, 1826, and William 
Rogers served as tlie first postmaster. 

Loag. — Eighteen miles northwest of the 
county seat, and in West Nantmeal town- 
ship, is Loag, a village of nearly one liun- 
dred inluibitants. It has a store, a liotel, 
and a postotHce by the same name, wliich 
<'ame into existence on November 2.'), 1828, 
with Samuel E. Williams as postmaster. 

fjyr\<1clL — This railroad village is in Kast 
Brandywine township, twelve miles north- 
west of West Chester, and has a flouring 
mill, woolen mill, and general store. The 
post-office was established August 30, 1880, 
with .Tames Rea as postmaster. 



Marsh. — In East Nantmeal township, 
eighteen miles north of the county seat, and 
three miles from Springfield railroad station, 
is Marsh, a village of over 100 inhabitants. 
It has a general store and two flouring mills. 
The postoflice dates back to March 2."), 1828, 
when Watters Dewees was appointed as its 
first postmaster. The postoflice was discon- 
tinued on November 12, 18.')1, and re-estab- 
lished April 22, 1864. 

MiirrihaUfiii). — This place, containing three 
hundred inhabitants, is in West Bradfonl 
township, and lies ver3' near tlie center 
of the county. It is four miles west of 
West Chester, and two miles from North- 
brook, its nearest railroad station. It is in 
the midst of a rich agricultural district, and 
lias good school and church facilities. It 
has a mill, hotel and several business houses. 
Marshallton postoflice was estaldished July 
1, 180."), and the first postmaster was Abra- 
liam Baily. 

M'irfhi's Cnrvir. — The growing village of 
Martin's Corner is situated in West Cain 
townshij), seventeen mi les northwest of AVest 
Chester, and one and three-fourth miles 
from Cedar Knoll, its nearest railroad ship- 
ping point. It is a place of over one hun- 
dred people, and has two general stores, and 
a postoflice by the same name, that came 
into existence February 24. 1871, with Ziba 
C. Wollarton as postnuister. 

Matthews. — This village is situated in 
West Vincent township, thirteen miles 
north of the county seat and two miles 
from Candiria railroad station. It has a saw 
mill, a general store, and an agricultural 
imi)lenient house. The postoflice was es- 
tablished March 2.j, 1881, and James Lumis 
served as the first postmaster. 

Mendenhnll. — At the little railroad ham- 
let of Fairyille. on the rhiladelphia & Bid- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



timore Central, in Kennett township, a post- 
office was established March 14, 1881, and 
named Mendenhall. George M. Thomson 
was appointed postmaster. The village lies 
ten miles south of West (yhester, and eon- 
tains a store and creamery. 

Milford Mills. — This Upper Uwchlan 
township village, containing over one hun- 
dred inhabitants, is situated on Marsh creek 
and the Waynesburg railroad, twelve miles 
northwest of West Chester and five miles 
north of Downingtown. It has a general 
store and two stocking manufacturing es- 
tablishments. The postoffice was established 
October 22, 1869, and Evan B. Evans served 
as the first postmaster. 

MiUlown. — In East Goshen township, 
three miles east of West Chester, is the 
village of Milltown, whose population now 
exceeds one hundred. It has a general 
store, flouring mill and woolen mill. The 
postoffice dates Ijack to September 2.3, 1849, 
and Jesse Matlack served as the first post- 
master. 

3Ioiltnia. — This village, which had a pop- 
ulation of one hundred and twenty-six in 
1880, according to the census of that year, 
is located in East Fallowfield township, ten 
miles west of the county seat, and two and 
a half miles south of Coatesville. It has a 
general store and paper mill. Modena post- 
office was established March 24, 1873, and 
Robert B. Daniels was appointed as the first 
postmaster. 

3Io)io)irille. — The village of Mortonville 
is situated in Newlin township, ten miles 
west of the county seat, and four miles south 
of Coatesville. The place has a general 
store, flouring mill and hotel. The post- 
office dates back to February 6, 1852, with 
Crosby P. Morton as postmaster. 

MniintVcrnon. — Three miles north of Ox- 



ford and twenty-five miles southwest of 
West Chester, lies the little village of 
Mount Vernon, whose postoffice of the same 
name was established March 1, 1823, with 
Joseph Dickey as postmaster. This place 
has a store and paper board manufacturing- 
establishment. 

Nantmeal Villxge. — This railroad station, 
located in East Nantmeal township, seven- 
teen miles north of West Chester, has a gen- 
eral store and a saw mill. The population of 
the place is estimated at two hundred. The 
postoffice was established February 15,1876, 
and Davis K. Loomis served as the first 
postmaster. 

7\V?ii London. — This is one of the older 
villages of the county, and lies in New Lon- 
don township, twenty-two miles southwest 
of West Chester, and six miles west of Ox- 
ford, while its nearest railroad station is 
Elk View, two and a half miles distant. It 
has a hotel, drug store, and two general 
stores. It has an estimated population of 
nearly three hundred. The postoffice dates 
back to January 2, 1803, when it was estab- 
lished by the name of New London Cross 
Roads. The name was changed to New 
London on October 27, 1847. 

North Brook. — This is a railroad village in 
Pocopson township, seven miles southwest 
of West Chester, with about seventy-five in- 
habitants. It has a general store, and the 
postoffice was established January 27, 1871, 
with R. H. Marshall as postmaster. 

Norway. — This village, containing about 
fifty population, is on the Philadelphia & 
Baltimore Central railroad, in Kennett town- 
ship, ten miles southwest of West Chester, 
and two and a half miles east of Kennett 
Square. The postoffice dates back to Jan- 
uary 31, 1871, and E. B. Darlington served 
as the first postmaster. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



150 



Nottinghmn. — Situated on a branch of tlie 
Octoraro creek, where the Phihidelphia & 
Baltimore Central railroad crosses it, on the 
northern boundary line of West Nottingham 
township, is the village of Xottinghani, 
whose inhabitants number about fifty. It 
is twenty-eight miles southwest of West 
('he8ter,and has a general store and a cream- 
ery. The postoffice was established x\ugust 
7, 18.31, and Daniel Stubbs was commis- 
sioned as the first postmaster. 

Paoli. — This flourishing little vilhige is 
situated in Tredyft'rin township, abouteleven 
miles northeast of West Chestei', and has a 
drug store, a general store, and three fiour- 
ing mills. The postoifice dates back to De- 
cend)er 0, 1826, with Joshua Evans as post- 
n Ulster. 

Parker Ford. — Tliis ini|K)rtant village, of 
nearly five hundred inhabitants, is in East 
Coventry township, twenty-two miles north 
of the county seat. It is near the Schuyl- 
kill Valley railroad, and has two flouring 
mills, several general stores, and a lately es- 
tablished postoffice by the same name. 

Parkersrillc. — On the Wilmington & Read- 
ing railroad, in I'ennsbury township, and 
seven miles .«6uthwest of West Chester, is 
I'arkersville, a place of over one hundred 
iidiabitants. [t has a general store, saw 
mill and flouring mill. The postofBce dates 
back to January 1, 1828, witli John Parker, 
jr., as postmaster. 

Pdwllti;/. — Fifteen miles northeast of West 
Chester, and three miles south of Phmiix- 
ville, is Pawling, a village of Schuylkill 
township, and a place of about two hundred 
inhabitants. It lias a flouring mill, general 
store, and a postoffice by the same name, 
which was established May 21, 18(39, with 
M. J. Ramsey as postmaster. 

Piel;rrhi(f. — This is a village of about one 



hundred iidiabitants, situated in Charles- 
town township, thirteen miles northeast of 
tlie county seat, and four miles southwest 
of Phoenixvilic, its shipping point. It has 
a cotton mill, a flouring mill, and three 
general stores. The postoffice dates back 
to December 28, 183-3. Robert Hughes 
served as its first postmaster. 

Pocopson. — This place is a station on the 
Wilmington & Reading railroad, in Pocop- 
son township, and five miles south of West 
Chester. Two general stores and a saw 
mill are its main business enterprises. The 
j)Ostoffice was established as Paintcr'sBridge 
on Decemlier 19, 1870, and the name was 
changed to Pocopson on September 2, 1880. 

Pomrrtijj. — This village is in Sadsbury 
township, fifteen miles northwest of the 
count}- seat, and has a woolen mill, flouring 
mill, grocery, and two general stores. The 
postoffice was established October 13,1864, 
as Buck Run, but the name was changed to 
that of Pomeroy on January 17, 18f!(i. 

Pacjldown. — Pughtown is one of the older 
villages of the county and has a population 
of over one hundred. It is in South Cov- 
entry township, eighteen miles north ol' 
West Chester, and si.x miles soutli of Potts- 
town, Montgomery county, which is its 
banking town and shipping station. It 
has four flouring mills, two general stores, 
and a creamery. The postoffice has existed 
since January 1, 1800, and David Townsond 
served as the first postmastei-. 

linr/.rillr. — This village is located in the 
southeastern part of 1 loncy Brook township, 
on the Waynesburg railroad, si.xteen miles 
from West Chester. It contains two gen- 
eral stores, and a postt)ffice by the same 
name, which dates back to January 18, 1832, 
at which time Jacob Ilappersett wn.s ap- 
pointed as its first postmaster. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



SomaiisriUc. — This place was formerly 
known as Kildeer, and is situated in West 
Bradford township, seven miles west of the 
county seat, and one and one-half miles 
from Embreeville, its railway shippingpoint. 
It has a flouring mill, a general store, and a 
postoffice of the same name, which was es- 
tablished October 25, 1880, and T. W. Bald- 
win served as the iirst postmaster. 

Bosenrick. — In highland township, fifteen 
miles southwest of the county seat, and two 
miles from Doe Run railway station, nestles 
the little village of Rosenvick. It has a 
general store, and a postoffice by the same 
name, which was established July 26, 1872, 
with John C. Ferron as postmaster. 

BiisseUriUt'. — In Upper Oxford township, 
twenty-four miles southwest of West Ches- 
ter, and four miles north of Elkview railway 
station, is Russellville, a village of over one 
hundred population. It has a saw mill, ho- 
tel, two general stores, and a grocery. The 
postoffice was established March 15, 1823. 
Jacob Hopple was the first postmaster. 

Sadxhurycillc. — This village of two hun- 
dred inhabitants is situated in the township 
of Sadsbury, eighteen miles west of the 
county seat. It has a flouring mill, a plaster 
mill and two general stores. The postoflice 
has been in existence since April 22, 1825, 
and John Kendig served as the first post- 
master. 

Saii)t Peter's. — This village, often called 
Knauertown, is a station on the French 
C^reek Branch railroad, in Warwick town- 
ship, twenty-two miles northwest from the 
county seat. It contains about one hundred 
inhaVjitants, and has two saw mills, two 
hotels, and two general stores. Several 
granite quarries are near the place, and the 
postoflice dates back to February 19, 1851, 
with Joseph Millard as postmaster. 



Si'lmylkill. — This is a place of one hun- 
dred population, in the township of the same 
name, sixteen miles northeast of West Ches- 
ter, and one mile from Phoenixville. It has 
two flouring mills, two creameries, and two 
general stores. Schuylkill postoffice was 
established December 31, 1826, and Thomas 
Matlack served as the first postmaster. 

ShenkcL — This village is located in North 
Coventry township, twenty miles north of 
West Chester and four miles west of Potts- 
town, Montgomery county, and has over 
one hundred inhabitants. It has a general 
store, and a postoflice by the same name, 
established June 28, 1880, with Lewis L. 
Bachman as postmaster. 

SteelviUe. — This place of seventy inhab- 
itants is in West Fallowfield township, 
twenty-two miles southwest of West Ches- 
ter, and five miles south of Atglen, its rail- 
road point of shipment. It has two general 
stores and a cigar factory. SteelviUe post- 
oflice was established February 1, 1841, and 
Thomas Woods served as the first post- 
master. 

Strkklersrille. — This village is situated in 
London Britain township, twenty-six miles 
southwest of the county seat, and has a pop- 
ulation of one hundred. It lies four miles 
north of Newark, Delaware, which is its 
nearest shipping point. There is a flouring 
mill here, a general store, and a lately es- 
tablished postoflice by the same name. 

Sugartmon. — The village known as Sugar- 
town is in Willistown township, northeast 
from West Chester, and three miles south 
of Malvern, its railroad shipping point. It 
has a flouring mill, a general store, and 
platinum works. The postoflice dates back 
to October 5, 1831, when it was established 
as Willistown. On July 7, 1835, the name 
was changed to Sugartown. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



161 



Tluiriihitnj. — This promising village is in 
the township of the same name, three miles 
south of West Cliester and two miles west 
of Westtowii. It has a general store and a 
creamery. The postoflice was establislied 
March 12, 1831, and Thomas W. Stephens 
served as the first postmaster. 

Thonidalc Iron Wm-hs. — This village de- 
rives its name from the celebrated iron 
works of that name, located near it, and is 
in Cain township, northwest of West Clies- 
ter, on the Pennsylvania raili'oad. The 
postoftice was established Juiu' '1\, 18J4, 
with David K. Baugh as postmaster. 

T<iUt/Ii/irtiaiiiO)(. — In New Garden town- 
ship, iifteen miles southwest of West Ches- 
ter, is the thrifty village of Toughkenamon, 
which has a iiopulation of nearly foiii' hun- 
dred. It has a hotel, two general .-tores, a 
grocery, creamery and wheel factory. The 
Toughkenamon seminary located here is 
well kown as a lirst class educational insti- 
tution. Toughkenamon post ufHce was es- 
tablished December 8, I8(j8. 

Toioiscnd. — Twenty-four miles northeast 
of West Chester, in Lower O.xford town- 
ship, is the small village of 'i'ownsend. It 
is two and a half miles distant tVom O.xford, 
its shipping point, and has a flouring mill 
and one general stoi'e. 'I'he postotHce dates 
back to February 18, 1881, with Henry 
Powley as postmaster. 

Unionrilli'. — This village of about four 
hundred inhabitants is located in East .\Iarl- 
borougli township, in the southern part of 
Chester county, nine milt.ssouthwest of West 
Chester, and two and a half miles from(ilen- 
hall, tlie nearest shipping point, on the Wil- 
mington & Northern railroad. There are good 
seliool and i-hurch facilities, and it is a point 
of i-onsiderable trade, liiionville postoftice 
11 



was established December 5, 1820, and Wil- 
liam Sharpe served as the first postnia.ster. 

V'll/ci/Fonfc. — In the township of Schuyl- 
kill, on the Philadelphia & Reading railroad, 
si.vteen miles northeast of West Chestei', is 
situated the village of Valley Forge. The 
})opulation of this place is nearly four hun- 
dred, and it lias a cotton mill and various 
other business establishments. N'allcy Forge 
[jostottice is one of the older postotHces of 
the county, and was established January 1-3. 
1820. Emmor Ivimber was the first post- 
master. 

W'llliiii . — This village is situated in the 
township of the same name. It is fourteen 
miles northwest of the county seat, and two 
miles from Glen Moore, its place of shij)- 
ment, on the Waynsburg railroad. The 
postottice was established January K!, 1820, 
with John Workizer as postmaster. 

Wiinriil;. — This entor|)rising village is 
situated in the township of the same name, 
eighteen miles northwest of West Chestei', 
on the Fi'cnch Cri'ck branch of the Wil- 
mington & Northern railroad. Its [)Opula- 
tion is estinnitedat three liundred. Warwick 
has several thriving industries and gives 
promise of becoming an important place in 
the great French Creek iron region ofChes- 
tcr county. The postoftice was establshed. 
by the name of St. Mary's, February 7, 
1824, witi) Lewis Evans as postmaster. The 
name was changed July 'I'i. 1868, from St. 
Mary's to Warwick. 

Wi'it(jroii. — In London Grove townsiiip. 
twenty-one miles south of West Cliester 
and forty-one miles west ot Philadelphia, 
on the central division of tin- I'iiiladelpiiia 
\- Baltimore Central railroad, is the pros- 
' perous village of West (Jrove. It is a place 
I of about three hundred iniialdtants, has a 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOMY 



good school and several churches, and pos- 
sesses excellent hotel and banking facilities. 

Wci'fPikdaiid. — This place is in the town- 
ship of the same name, ten miles north of 
AVest Chester, on the Pickering Valley rail- 
road. It has an estimated population of 
one hundred. The postoffice was established 
July 26, 1872, with John S. Hines as post- 
master. 

Wc!<ttiiini. — This small and flourishing 
village is in Thornbury township, live miles 
southeast of West Chester, on the P. W. & 
B. railroad. Westtown postoffice was es- 
tablished March 4, 1859, and Marshall A. 
Taylor served as the first postnuister. 

Wed Vincent. — This place of one hundred 
population is situated in West Vincent town- 
ship, fourteen miles southwest of West 
Chester and two and a half miles from 
Bj'er's station on the Pickering Valley rail- 
road. The postoffice at this place has an 
interesting history. It was established May 
26, 1826, as East Nantmeal, with Samuel 
Kirk as postmaster. Seventeen years later, 
on March 25, 1843, the nanxe was changed 
to that of West Vincent, and David West 
was appointed postnuister, but ere a month 
had passed the spirit of change prevailed 
again, and on April 22, the name of East 
Nautmeal was restored, and David AVest 
was succeeded as postmaster by James 
Leighton. At the end of nearly three 
years, on April 7, 1846, the last cliange was 
made, and the name of West A'incent once 
more replaced that of East Nantmeal. 

Whitford. — This village is on the Penn- 
sylvania railroad, in West Wliiteland town- 
ship, four and a half miles north of West 
Chester. Its population is estimated atone 
hundred and fifty. The postoffice is West 
Whitcland, and was established April 4, 
1826, with Levi Evans as postmaster. 



Wliitc Horse. — In Willistown township, 
seven miles east of West Chester and four 
miles north of Malvern, is the village of 
White Horse. It has three fiouring mills, 
two general stores, and a creamery. White 
Horse postoffice was established October 1, 
1804, with Edward Porter as postmaster. 

Windsor. — This village is at the terminus 
of the Pickering Valley railroad, in Upper 
Uwchlan township, ten miles north of West 
Chester. AVindsqr is also known as Byer's 
station. It has a population of one hundred 
and sixty. The postoffice is Uwchland, and 
was established March 11, 1825, with Isaac 
Evans as postnuister. 

Willistown Inn. — This place is situated in 
Willistown township, five and a half miles 
east of West Chester and three miles north 
of Cheyney, its railroad shipping point. The 
postoffice has been in existence since June 
7, 1854, and Samuel Sinquet served as the 
first postmaster. 

Willowdale. — This small village of East 
Marlborough towMiship is ten miles south- 
west of West Chester, and two miles from 
Kennett Square, its banking town and ship- 
ping point. Willowdale postoffice was es- 
tablished May 21, 1869. The first post- 
master was Joseph S. Pyle. 

Aiuong the postoffices not mentioned 
above are the following: Avondale, which 
is in New Garden township, was established 
December 29, 1828, with Jacob Lindley as 
postmaster. Londonderry, in the township 
of the same name, was established January 
5, 1848, with William Fox as postmaster. 
New Centreville is in TredyHVin township, 
and dates back to April 2, 1857, with Evans 
Kendall as postmaster. New Garden, in the 
township of the same name, was established 
January 1 , 1 80o. (Jilbert Pritcliard was the 
first postmaster. Supplee is in Honey 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



163 



Brook township, imd was establislied Jan- 
uary 27, 1871, with Horatio J. Siippiee as 
postmaster. Vincent, in East Vincent town- 
sliip, dates back to February 13, 1821. Peter 
Miller was the tirst postmaster. Wagon- 
town is in West Cain townshi[>, and was 
established January 80, 1828, with Joseph 
Hughs as i)OStmaster. Wild Brier i)ostuf}it-e, 
in West Brandy wine township, was estaij- 
lished May 21, 18G!t, with Levi Allison as 
l)Ostniaster. 

C< nsu-tSfatistivs. — We haw earefiilly com- 
piled, with eonsideraljle labor, from tlie 
Tnited iStates census reports, the following 
statistics regarding the population, manu- 
factures, and agriculture of Chester county: 

I. STATISTICS OF POPULATION. 

TOTAL POPir.ATlON. 
Census. Whiti'. 

1790 27,249 

1800 •M),m-i 

1810 87, 77'. 

1820 41,71(1 

1830 47,911 

1840 .■)3,872 

18r)0 ()1.21.') 

18(10 ti8,tj71 

1870 71,.3t)9 

1880 7,042 

1890 



Colored. 


Tiilal. 


t)88 


27,987 


1.191 


82,098 


1,821 


39,o9tJ 


2,741 


44,4.-) 1 


2,999 


50,910 


4,148 


57, 515 


.j.228 


66,488 


■),907 


74,578 


0,288 


77,805 


7,it78 


88,481 




89,877 



SKX AM) NATIVITY. 



Coiisus Mules. 

1850 88,414 

I860 87,887 

1870 88,5!i4 

1880 41,249 

18tt<l 

NATIVITY l!V 



Kemiilcs, 


Nativ.-. 


Kiiivigii. 


88,024 






87,241 


(;7,H82 


6,746 


39,211 


71, 049 


6,156 


42,232 


77,5!)1 


5, 8! 10 



Born in the State 67.821 

Maryland l,.".2'.i 

New Jersey 451 



:TATK or COINTHV. 

(Vii3ii» IS70. rciunia l!0«. 

72,250 



1,767 



Flaw. 

New ^'ork 

Virginia 

Ohio 

British Anieric; 



Census I,S7ii. 

264 

261 

!t8 

64 



Ireland 4.4! 

England and Wales.... 7'i 

Germany 

Scotland 

F^-ance 

Sweden and Norway.. 

Switzerland 

Holland 

Poland 



5S:; 
114 



Celisil> IWdl. 

810 
26li 
168 

S.'i 

4.1 17 

7S4 

611!) 

101 

Jii 

12 



•i\ii. i>i\i.<ii 



; 1S5(I AMI 



.MINOK 

Tim ii-hip .11- Ik.riiiiKli. l-^"'". 

Birmingliam 828 

Chark'stown 97!* 

IJowningtown boro 

East Bradford I.8811 

Kast Brandywini' 1.115 

East Cain 2.2!t2 

East ( "oventry 1 .288 

P:ast Fallowtield 1.28!i 

East Goshen 70S 

East Marlborougli 1,425 

East Nantmeal 1*21 

East Nottingham 2,412 

East Pikeland 722 

Easttown 71h 

East Vincent 1,505 

East Whitelaiid I,l!t4 

Elk 

Franklin 

Highland 

Hoi)ewell boro 

Kennctt 1.7tt6 

London Uritain 6K(i 

Londonderry 643 

London Grove 1.425 

Lower O.xford 1,841 

New (Jardcn 1,:>!'1 



18611. 

5.50 

!164 

761 

1.175 

1.(18!' 

l.dls 

1.4(11 

1.44(1 

S44 

1,476 

!Mif> 

1.861 

708 

72S 

1.6S1 

1.1 s7 

1.(127 

!I74 

l,«»!t4 

27S 

1,91(5 

65! t 

711 

1.642 

1.421 

1.540 



164 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



TowDship or Borough. 18o(). 

JSTewliii 738 

N"ew London -Ifi^i 

iSTorth Coventry !t85 

Oxford boro 186 

Peuusbury 761 

Penn ' 738 

Phcenixville boro 2,670 

I'ocopson 592 

Sadsbury 2,767 

Schuylkill 1,403 

South Coventry 711 

Thornbury 233 

Tredyffi-iu 1,727 

Upper Oxford 1,021 

Upper [Jwchlan 

Uwchlan 1,528 

Yalley 

Wallace 

Warwick 1,391 

West Bradford 1,585 

West Brandy wine 771 

West Cain 1,508 

West Goshen 940 

West Chester 3,172 

West Marlboro 1,13U 

West Nantmeal 1,803 

West N'ottinghanj 721 

West Pikeland 881 

Westtown 789 

West Vincent 1,350 

West Wiiiteland 1 ,141 

Willistown 1,463 



791 

943 

1,058 

482 

847 

725 

4,886 

617 

2^589 

1,439 

650 

253 

1,938 

1,105 

836 

810 

2,125 

758 

1,410 

1,734 

828 

1,290 

1,067 

3,172 

1,175 

1,032 

829 

905 

659 

1,407 

1,214 

1,521 



Totals (i6,438 74,578 

MINnl! civil, IIIVISKINS. 1870,1880 AMJ 1890. 

Towiisbi]) or liurougli. 1n7(i. 1S.s<i. isiHi 

At 0^1 en boro 347 397 

Birniingliani 450 503 458 

Cain 9!M; S63 1,05:! 

Charlestowii 907 902 7!I0 



Township or Borougb. 

Coatesville boro 

East ward 

Middle ward....- 

West ward 

Downingtown boro.. 

East ward 

Westward 

East Bradford 

EastBrandywine 

East Cain 

East Coventry 

East Fallowiield 

East Goshen 

East Marlborough.... 

East Nantnieal 

East Nottingham 

East Pikeland 

Easttown 

East Vincent 

East Whiteland 

Elk 

Franklin 

Highland 

Honeybrook 

Hopewell boro 

Kennett Square boro. 

Kennett 

London Britain 

Londonderry 

London Grove 

Lower Oxford 

Malvern boro 

New Garden 

Newlin 

New London 

North Coventry 

Oxford boro 

Parkesburg buro 

Pt'iinsbury 

Penn 



1S7II. 

2,025 



I8S0, 

2,766 



1,077 1,480 



1,033 

1,011 

233 

1,320 

1,290 

696 

1,401 

920 

1,400 

826 

737 

1,961 

1,223 

839 

922 

957 

1,958 

268 

897 

1,308 

660 

714 

1,804 

1,500 



1,750 

778 

912 

1,251 

1,152 



1,054 

1,011 

539 

1,259 

1,461 

724 

1,337 

936 

1,351 

804 

845 

1,252 

1,273 

830 

966 

896 

1,849 

216 

1,021 

1,287 

621 

727 

2,148 

1,429 

1,942 
779 
891 
1,441 
1,502 
817 
795 
739 



1890 

3,680 

1,426 

1,630 

624 

1,920 

872 

1,048 

1,043 

995 

256 

1,219 

1,505 

684 

1,327 

837 

1,305 

823 

1,682 

1,285 

1,157 

789 

791 

910 

1,876 

213 

1,326 

1,185 

607 

661 

2,613 

1,384 

641 

2,126 

680 

789 

1 ,605 

1,711 

1,514 

773 

632 



OF CHESTER COVNIY. 



Township or Borough. 1R70. 

I'lioPiiixville boro 5,292 

First ward 

Second ward 

Tliird ward 

Fourtli ward 

Fiftli ward 

Poi'opson 573 

Sadsbury 2,403 

Schuylkill 1,596 

Soutli Coventry (i51 

Spring City boro 

Thoriibury 235 

Tredyftrin 1,897 

Upper Oxford 1,08(1 

Upper Uwelilan 783 

Uwcblan 794 

Valley 1,165 

Wallace 748 

Warwick 1,206 

West Bradford 1,538 

West Brandywine 933 

West Cain 1,308 

West Chester boro.... 5,630 

Rast ward 

Nortli ward 

South ward 

West ward 

West Fullowlield 1,159 

West Goshen 953 

West Marlborough.... 1,185 

West Xantnieal 1,082 

West Xotlingham 880 

WestPikcland 1,202 

West Sadsbury 

Westtown 819 

West Vincent 1,298 

West Whitcland 1,177 

Wil list own 1.552 



18WI. 


1890. 


6.682 


8.514 




1,801 




1,686 




2,127 




1,724 




1.176 


5(i4 


513 


749 


843 


1.416 


1,254 


569 


493 


1,112 


1,797 


262 


251 


1,975 


2,549 


1,096 


1,096 


848 


824 


698 


689 


1,187 


1,072 


711 


662 


1,267 


1,487 


1,620 


1,281 


874 


723 


1,275 


1,146 


7,046 


8,028 


1,732 


2,157 


1,343 


1,324 


1,849 


2,314 


2,122 


2,233 


1,048 


1,039 


1,133 


1,111 


1,146 


1,041 


1,027 


995 


864 


817 


1,005 


664 


693 


774 


848 


895 


1,23H 


1,081 


1,345 


1,096 


1,620 


1.390 



Totals 77.805 83,841 89,377 



BY NATIVITY AND COLOR IN 

Tiiuiisliip or BorouKh. Nfttlvr. Fortjlgii 

Birmingham 379 71 

Coatesville boro 1,885 140 

Cain 912 72 

Cliarlestown 877 30 

Dowingtown boro.. 963 114 

E.Bradford 897 186 

E. Brandywine 894 117 

E. Cain 209 23 

E. Coventry 1,280 38 

E. Fallowtield 1,262 29 

E. Goshen 653 43 

E. Marlborough 1,370 31 

E. JSTantmeal 908 12 

E. Nottingham 1,337 63 

E. Pikeland 772 54 

Easttovvn 680 56 

E. Vincent 1,873 88 

E. Whiteland 1,014 208 

Elk 794 45 

Franklin 886 36 

Higliland 936 22 

Honeybrook 1,907 50 

Hopewell boro 262 6 

Kennctt 1,208 10(t 

Kennett boro 841 43 

London Britain 617 46 

Londonderry 683 31 

London Grove 1,668 136 

Lower Oxford 1 ,396 53 

New Garden 1,609 181 

Newlin 732 43 

New London 878 33 

North Coventry 1,218 33 

Oxford boro 1,084 67 

Penn 656 36 

Pennsbury 710 57 

Phwnixville boro. ..3,810 1.482 

Pocopson 526 47 

Sadsburv 2.260 140 



1870. 




. \Vhite. 


Colori'il 


400 


50 


1,897 


128 


900 


84 


846 


^W 


1,040 


37 


945 


87 


983 


28 


210 


22 


1,298 


20 


1,188 


103 


64fi 


47 


1,141 


259 


896 


24 


1,319 


81 


817 


it 


694 


42 


1,946 


15 


1,124 


98 


829 


10 


840 


82 


843 


115 


1,887 


70 


260 


8 


1,138 


170 


726 


158 


615 


48 


677 


37 


1,515 


289 


1,141 


307 


1,462 


328 


709 


66 


805 


106 


1.248 


3 


1,060 


91 


612 


80 


670 


97 


5,268 


24 


441 


132 


2.221 


179 



BIOGRAPHY AND BISTOBV 



Township or Borough. Native. Foreign. ^Vhite. Colored. 

Schuylkill 1,430 im 1,506 87 

South Coventry 637 12 .)90 50 

Thornbury 205 :!0 211 24 

Tredyftrin 1,675 222 1,778 119 

Upper Oxford 1,053 26 956 123 

Upper rwchliin 795 22 772 9 

rwchlaii 775 19 698 9ij 

Valley 1,043 122 1,040 125 

Wallace 725 21 738 8 

Warwick 1,250 16 1,250 16 

W.Bradford 1,454 82 1,361 175 

W. Brandy wine 900 33 921 12 

W. Cahi 1,321 77 1,307 91 

W. Fallowfield 1,077 82 1,115 44 

West Chester horo.. 5, 150 480 4,702 928 

W.Goshen 838 106 753 191 

W. Marlborough. ..1,073 116 1,021 168 

W. Xantnieal 1,054 16 1,069 1 

W. Xottinghani 845 34 840 39 

W. Pikeland 1,095 106 1,178 23 

Westtown 728 90 747 71 

W. Vincent 1,237 19 1,231 25 

W. Whiteland 1.039 138 1,021 156 

Willistown 1,440 112 1,495 57 

The following unincorporated places were 
returned separatel}^ by the enumerators of 
Chester county in 1880. The figures can 
be considered as only approximate, as the 
limits of such places are not .sharply delined. 

Village. Tipwnship. Populalion. 

Avondale London Grove 329 

Berwyu Easttown 158 

Cedarville North Coventry.... 184 

Charlestown Charlestown 50 

Cliatham London Grove 123 

Cochransville West Fallowfield. . . 122 

Coventryville South Coventry 110 

Ercildoun East Fallowfield.. . . 1 26 

Fremont West Nottingham.. 59 

Gallagherville East Cain 107 

Haniorton Kennett 1 59 



Village. Township. Popiilatiou. 

Harve3'ville Schuylkill 78 

Howell ville. Tredyffrin 114 

.Jennersville Penn 87 

Kindierton East Pikeland 82 

Landenburg New Garden 353 

Lawrenceville East Coventry 152 

Lionville Uwchlan 114 

Madison North Coventry.... 164 

Mavshallton West Bradford 278 

Modena East Fallowfield.... 126 

Mortonville East Fallowfield.... 130 

Nottingham AVest Nottingham.. 62 

Pomeroy Sadsbury 77 

Pottstown North Coventry 214 

Pughtown South Coventry 80 

Kock Run Valley 755 

Eockville Honeybrook 26 

Rornanville West Bradford 64 

Russellville Upper Oxford 98 

Sad.sbury ville Sadsbuiy 212 

Springfield West Nantmeal 21 1 

Steelville West Fallowfield... 79 

Toughkenamon...New Garden 241 

Valley Forge Schuylkill 184 

Whiteland AVest AVhiteland. . . 112 

SCHOOL, MILITARY AXIi VOTING AOES. 

The follo\^'ing table gives the number of 
pupils, persons subject to military duty, and 
the voters in the county from 1850 to 1880 : 

U.S. Census. school. Military. Voters. 

1850 20,432 12,626 16,653 

1860 21,518 13,476 

1870 22,633 14,276 19,768 

1880 23,307 15,811 21,912 

The statistics of 1850 and 1860, in the 
above table, are approximated. The school 
age of 1870 and 1880 is given in the United 
States reports from five to seventeen years 
of age, instead of six to twenty-one years, 
the true school age of the State. No sta- 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



167 



tistics of 18!t0 are given, as the part of the 
census reports of that year relating to these 
subjects has not been issued yet by the 
I'nited States government. In 1H70 there 
were 10,951 males above twenty-one years 
of age, of whom 183 were unnaturalized ; 
and in 1H8(> the number had increased to 
22,212, of whom 300 were unnaturalized. 

IT. STATISTICS OF MANUFACTURE. 

K.<TAI!LI.*HMEXTS ANIi KMIM.OVKKS. 
<Vosiis. K^tablishments. Kraployees. 

1860 664 4,154 

1870 !i9ti 6,548 

1880 737 4,861 

CAPITAL, MATERIAI, A.ND PUdlUCTS. 
Ci'iisus. l'ii|iitiil. Material. I'riKlucts. 

1860...|4,3!I7,782 $3,977,316 $6,386,277 
1870... 5,277,561 7,650,940 11,494,548 
1880... 6,411,853 6,674,978 10,404,331 

These tables include every mechanical or 
manufacturing establishment in Chester 
county, returned at the Tenth census as 
having liad during 1880 a product of five 
hundred dollars. In comparisons of values 
of 1870 and 1880, it must be recollected 
that the values of 1870 were expressed in a 
currency which was at a great discount in 
gold, and for purposes of com[)arison the 
values of 1870 should be reduced one-fifth. 
Also, while capital, products and the num- 
ber of employee.'* increased largely from 
1870 to 1880, that there was not an appre- 
ciable increase of the number of establish- 
ments, on account of the concentration of 
labor and capital in large shops and factories. 
No United States census has ever embraced 
in its statistics of manufactures the full pro- 
ductions of the hand trades of mason, car- 
penter.blacksmith, cooper, painter, plumber, 
and several others of less importance. 



SKI.KCTEI) .^rATISTK S (IF M ANMFACTl'RK. 

ISO I. IKTO. ISM I. 

Agricultural implements 10 11 6 

Boots and shoes 54 

Brass foundings 1 1 

Bread -1 4 14 

Brick 6 14 

Carriages and wagons 45 32 Ht 

Cars . . .?. 1 

Cotton goods 10 .') 

Flour and meal 144 99 Iti? 

Foundry and machine shops 14 

Furniture 19 19 ]:; 

Iron blooms 6 1 

Iron castings :> 7 

Leather 13 t; 4 

Lumber M') i'-\ O-J 

Pottery ware 4 

Stoves 1 1 

Ship and boat building 2 -1 

Spokes and wheels 4 

Tin, copper, sheet iron ware. 18 29 23 

Woolen goods 15 Id li* 

Wagons 1 111 

The results of the last census, taken nearly 
three years ago, are not yet published. 

The methods used in taking the different 
census reports lack uniformity, some items 
being dropped and others taken up under 
tlie management of each succeeding super- 
intendent. The result is apparent in the 
preceding table, and elsewhere in tiiese 
statistics, by the numerous gaps which oc- 
cur. No statistics have ever been gathered 
by the census officials regarding the nund)er 
of dairies and creameries in the county. 

III. STATISTICS OF A(4RICULTURE. 

In these tables, as in many other compil- 
ations in this work, no statistics for 1890 
can be given, because the government has 
not yet (1893) issued those parts of the 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



census containing the required information. 
Strange as it may appear, it seems impossi- 
ble for the United States government to get 
one census completely issued until it is time 
to undertake its successor. 

FARM AREAS. 
Census. No. Farms. Acres Impr.ivi-il. Acres Inimp'rl. 

1850 833,572 S9,713 

18fi0 5,145 .353,434 89,609 

1870 4,831 374,759 62,161 

1880 6,116 401,714 66,288 

In 1880 of the 6,116 farms in the county, 
4,662 wei'e cultivated by their owners, while 
869 were rented, and 585 were tilled for a 
share of their products. In the same year, 
of improved land, 41,649 acres were in per- 
manent meadows, pastures, orchards and 
vineyards. By a comparison of the aggre- 
gate of 423,285 acres of improved and unim- 
proved land reported in 1850, and the ag- 
gregate of 468,002 acres of the same lands 
returned by the census enumerators of 1880, 
it will be seen that there is a reported in- 
crease of 44,713 acres, or nearly sixty-nine 
square miles of land, for which we find no 
reason assigned. This would certainly in- 
dicate some error in one or the other of the 
two censuses referred to in the above com- 
parison. By the census of 1880 there were 
360,065 acres tilled, 58,897 acres in wood- 
land and forest, and 7,371 acres in old fields 
not growing wood. 

FARMS AND IMPROVEMENTS. 
Census. Cash Value Farms. Value Improvements. 

1850 $25,425,957 $ 809,363 

1860 37,243,640 1,133,424 

1870 46,737,688 1,806,211 

1880 39,217,513 1,620,567 

Farms, as referred to in tlie last table, in- 
clude all considerable nurseries, orchards, 
and market gardens: and no tract of land 



less than three acres in extent is considered 
as a farm, unless the value of its yearly pro- 
duct is five hundred dollars or more. 

The cost of building and repairing fences 
for 1879 was $214,134, and the cost of fer- 
tilizers used during that year was $319,948, 
while the value of all farm products con- 
sumed, sold, or on hands, was placed at 
$5,970,229. The forest products of the 
county for 1879 were 33,440 cords of wood, 
the total value of which, either consumed 
or sold, was estimated at $120,659. 

TRUCK FARMIXli. 

^, Value \'alue 

'-'^'■'■'*"'*- Orchard Products. Market Gardens. 

1850 1 39,689 $ 3,457 

1860 59,055 12,229 

1870 232,279 35,163 

1880 92,882 20,303 

The census schedules prior to 1860 did 
not embrace orchard or market garden val- 
ues, and a thorough report of the subject 
was never made until 1880. An improve- 
ment might be made to the present report 
of value by adding the acreage. 

CEREALS. 
Census. Bush. Wheat. Bush. Corn. Bush. Oats. 

1850 547,498 1,339,466 1,145,712 

1860 800,663 1,589,844 1,226,658 

1870 753,803 1,540,125 1,034,430 

1880 775,312 1,964,582 1,137,089 

In 1880 there were 43,285 acres of land 
in wheat, 47,097 acres in corn, and 33,283 
acres in oats. 

Census. Bush. Rye. Harley. Buckwheat. 

1850 52,417 1,913 12,558 

I860 32,084 4,971 17,405 

1870 ■ 12,481 1,581 2,446 

1880 19,694 871 5,067 

In 1880 there were 1,466 acres of land 
in rye, 33 acres in barley, and 335 acres in 
buckwlieat. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



MEADOW PRODOCTS. 

,,„„„,_ Tons Bushels liiisliuls 

^*"™'- Hay. ridvcrScocl. Clriiss Si'eil. 

1850 P6,31o 0,77o 8,122 

1860 04,108 8,770 6,867 

1870 114,898 4,832 5,528 

1880 126,170 2,067 2,716 

Tlie grass crop is the greatest of all the 
crops of tlie county, and in addition to the 
pasturage the value of the hay crop exceeds 
that of the greatest of the cereals. 

TOBACCO AND RROOMCORN . 
Census, Lbs, Tobacco. Llis. Brnomcorn. 

1860 1,227 

1870 . 1,217 

1880 683,632 6.167 

Pl'LSK AM) ROOT CRol'. 
Census. Bus Pens ami Ben n~ Irish I'otati pes. Sweet Potatoes. 

1850...... 372 170,620 5,290 

I860....'.. 1,302 271,328 13.453 

1870 1,412 404,363 7,076 

1880 1,055 408.176 7,791 

In 1880 there were 4,354 acres of land in 
Irish potatoes, and 233 acres in sweet pota- 
toes, while of the 1,055 bushels of the pulse 
crop, 802 bushels were peas, and 253 bushels 
were V)eans. 

DAIRY I'ROnrCTS. 
Census. I,t>s. Hutler. liols. of Milk Sold I.bs. Cheese. 

1850 2,092,019 33,012 

1860 2,730,391 30,527 

1870 2,848,243 1,597,892 8,526 

1880 4,246,655 5,758,814 11,296 

SIOAR .\M> .MoLASSKS. 

Not a pound of maple sugar, and not a 
gallon of maple molasses, is given in any 
census from 1850 to 1880. Of sorghum 
molasses there were reported in 1860, 12,- 
837 gallons; in 1870, 12,741 gallons, and 
in 1880, 1,169 gallons. 



APIARY AXD VrXEYARD PROPICTS. 

Census. I.bs. Honey. I.hs. Beeswax. lials. Wine. 

1850 389 

1860 16,296 826 1,744 

1870 4,835 295 1,598 

1880 14,503 569 

Til 185(» there was no separate enumera- 
tion of lioney and beeswax. an<l the aggre- 
gate given ill that year of both was 10.81.') 
pounds. pon.TRY .vxn Kdfis. 

In 1879 there were 267,808 fowls in the 
county, of which 229,093 were barn-yard or 
common stock. The product of eggs for 
that year was 1,174,630 dozen. The statis- 
tics of poultry and eggs were gathered, for 
the first time in the United States, by the 
census of 1880, which showed that there 
were over 125,000,000 fowls in the country 
ill that year. 

WOOL, IIOI'S ANIi FI,.\X. 
Census. I.bs Wool. Lbs. Hops. Lbs. Flax. lius. Flaxsee<l 

1850 22,738 2,364 2,974 131 

1860 33,574 1.037 231 11 

1870 31,776 497 4 

1880 81,853 11 

In 1880 there was reported 15,149 fleeces 
of wool as the spring clip of that year. 

1,1 VK STOCK. 
Census. Horses. Mules. Milch Cows iiiher Catllc. 

1850 11,830 76 19,604 30,244 

1860 13,779 420 25,900 24,962 

1870 14,086 708 32,670 18,545 

1880 16,578 867 42,370 17,365 

In the table given above, oxen are not in- 
cluded with other cattle. Of oxen there 
were in 1850, 5,228; in I860. 4.952; in 
1870, 3,371, and in 1880, 1,020. 

Census. Sheep. Snine. Val. Live Stock, slaugbt. Stock. 

1850.. .13,364 36,591 «2,548,694 % 495.19(t 

1860... 11,666 31,515 3,534,983 783,811 

1870... 13,069 28,165 5,192,517 2,181,799 

1880.. .15,149 38.959 Not given. Not given. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOMY 



The number of sheep reported in 1880 
does not include the spring lambs of that 
year. 

The animals reported in the agricultural 
census are those which are found on farms 
only. The number of sheep and cattle thus 
omitted is so small as not to be worth con- 
sideration, while the numberof milch cows is 
not inconsiderable, and the number of horses 
employed in trade and owned b}- profes- 
sional men, livery stable keepers and others 
not farmers, is large. The number of swine 
not kept by farmers exceed all other ani- 
mals kept elsewhere than on the farm. 

VALUATION AGGREGATE. 

Census. Real Estate. Personal Property. Total Valuation. 

1860..$46,789,659 $20,174,639 $66,964,298 
1870.. 46,800,000 23,200,000 70,000,000 
1880.. 45,040,725 7,275,684 52,316,409 

Tiie census of 1870 gave an assessed val- 
uation of $27,075,534, as well as the true 
one of $70,000,000. 

VALIATION MIXOK ClVll, DIVISIONS. 

Township. Ileal Estate. Personal Property. Total. 

Birmingham .. $420,381 $124,260 $544,641 

Cain 539,900 66,207 606,107 

Charlestown... 568,091 72,525 640,616 

Easttown 559,580 45,870 605,450 

EastBradford 1,000,801 60,125 1,060,926 

E. Br'ndywine 471,333 76,495 547,828 

East Cain 211,145 15,404 226,549 

East Coventry 552,866 81,352 634,218 

E. Fallowtield 720,940 66,837 787,777 

East Goshen .. 608,285 248,070 856,355 

E. Marlbor'gh 83t;,710 384,919 1,221,629 

E. Nantmeal.. 616,624 63,676 680,300 

E.ISrottingli'm 620,300 52,627 672,927 

E. Pikeland... 587,652 86,530 674,182 

East Vincent.. 747,477 111,145 858,622 

E. Whiteland. 727,831 94,333 822,164 

Elk 350,443 19,766 370,209 



Townsliip Real Estate. Personal Property. Tot:il. 

Franklin $476,081 $69,095 $545,176 

Highland 597,950 35,135 633,085 

Honeybrook... 1,043,079 155,851 1,198,930 

Kennett 936,369 136,250 1,072,619 

London Brit'n 366,739 78,521 445,260 

Londonderry.. 415,629 34,181 449,810 

London Grovel,233,515 191,334 1,424,849 

Lower Oxford 583,677 44,403 628,080 

?few Garden.. 935,087 228,236 1,163,323 

I^Tewlin 547,687 49,520 597,207 

New London.. 493,185 56,245 549,430 

]Sr. Coventry... 582,845 101,530 684,375 

Penn 387,610 30,865 418,475 

Pennsbury 640,894 196,796 837,690 

Pocopson 415,796 46,700 462,496 

Sadsbury 273,410 26,228 299,638 

Schuylkill 604,867 41,655 646,522 

S. Coventry... 220,120 33,438 - 253,558 

Thornbury.... 264,374 20,194 284,568 

Tredyffrin 1,172,117 108,777 1,280,894 

Uwchlan 435,265 76,002 511,267 

Upper O.Kford 552,031 24,586 576,617 

U. Uwchlan... 616,854 125,551 742,405 

Valley 378,103 16,205 394,308 

Wallace 505,069 30,380 535,449 

Warwick 632,278 47,191 679,469 

Westtown 577,876 70,544 648,420 

W. Bradford.. 733,836 139,213 873,055 

W.Brndywine 512,532 58,736 571,268 

West Cain 605,308 47,263 652,571 

W. Fallowtield 535,295 29,392 564,687 

W. Goshen.... 809,263 84,693 893,956 

W.Marlbor'gh 815,750 105,561 921,311 

W.Nantmeal.. 569,594 90,002 650,556 

W.Nott'gham 250,830 23,270 274,100 

W. Pikeland.. 468,958 57,076 526,034 

W. Sadsbury.. 407,186 38,451 445,687 

W. Vincent... 803,876 96,435 900,311 

•W. WhiteVnd 645,463 105,713 751,176 

Willistown.... 1,152,602 142,567 1,295,169 

Borough. 

Coatesville... .1,171,041 182,819 1,353,860 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



171 



Boroughs. Real Estate. Personal PropcTty. Total. 

Downingtowii* 534,005 $105,890 $ 639,895 
KennettSq're. 433,9(10 129,020 5ti2,980 

Oxford 668,500 113,603 782,103 

Phwiiixville ...2,089,430 49,185 2,138,615 
Spriiio^ City... 369,900 33,070 402,970 
West Chester.4,932,300 1,856,605 6,788,905 
Towns iiiulor 

1,000 5(12,270 41,56(1 543,830 



Totals, 45,040,725 7,275,684 52.316,4(19 

T.\X.\TIOX. 
<'fiisii.s. Slatf. County. Town. 

1870 $24,046 $130,161 $286,283 

1880 23,737 148,259 278,571 

The aggregate tax for 1870 was $440,490 : 

and for 188(1 it was $450,567. 

INI>KliTEJ)NKS.<. 
Census. Comity. Town. .Ml (Hlur. 

1870 $641,972 $185,092 $12,265 

1880 418,020 482,563 53,307 

The total iiidehtedness for 1870 was $839,- 
339; and in 1880 it was $953,890. 

PllilJC .SCHOOLS. 

Since 1850 no county statistics of public 
schools have been given in census reports, 
ijut the growth of the public school system 
in Chester county for the last forty years 
may be seen by a comparison of the follow- 
ing statistics, the first taken from the census 
of 1850, and the latter from the State su- 
perintendent's report for 1891 : 

Vcnr. Numbor. Toachen*. I^ipil:). 

1850 251 265 11,360 

1891 406 414 17,803 

IINCI,.\SSIKIKI) .ST.ATI.«TICS. 

In 1850 there were 11,580 dwellings in 
Chester county, occupied l»y 11,859 families. 
In tliat year tlicre were 1,453 white per- 
.sons, and 1,01 1 colored, who could not read ; | 
and 633 of the total number of 2,464 were | 
foreign born. From June 1, 1849, to June i 



1, 1850, there were 1,701 births, 511 mar- 
riages, and 866 deaths in the county. 

In 1860 there were 12,603 families in 
Chester county, but the number of dwellings 
was not reported. 

In 1870 there were 3,708 persons wlio 
could not write, of Avhoni 1,534 were of for- 
eign birth. 

Misnrlhnniitis. — Under this lieading will 
be given some additional information that 
may be of interest to the citizens of the 
count}-. 

TJ>,irro.— Iu 1881 J. B.Killebrew, special 
agent of the tenth census on the culture 
and curing of tobacco in the United States, 
reported as follows of tobacco in Chester 
county: "Tobacco is principally grown in 
those townships adjoining Lancaster county, 
and sandy loams are preferred, tliongh lime- 
stone and slaty soils are employed in its 
production. Tobacco culture has increased 
very rapidly. In 1878 but little more than 
100 acres were planted; in 1879 the returns 
show 487 acres, yielding 633,632 pounds. 
The crop of 1879 far exceeded any other in 
quantity as well as quality, the varieties 
planted being the same as those ( Pennsyl- 
vania seed-leaf, Glessner and Connecticut 
seed-leaf) grown in Lancaster county. To- 
bacco barns are of a poor character, mere 
temporary make-shifts. The market for 
tobacco is Lancaster. The cost of producing 
an acre is variously estimatad at from $5(i 
to $67, and the yield per acre is 1,301 
pounds." 

Uticohi Uiiirirt<ili/. — Tiic following inter- 
esting description of this splendid educa- 
tional institution was written for this work 
by Kev. Edward Webb, of Oxfonl, who. for 
a number of years, has been officially con- 
nected with the university, and lias done 
much for its advan<enient and success. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Lincoln Fniversity, in Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, had its origin in the heart and 
conscience of the christian church. The 
resolution to undertake it was passed by the 
Xew Castle Presbytery October o, 1853. 
Tills resolution was introduced and warmly 
advocated by Rev. John M. Dickey, D. D., 
pastor of the Presbyterian church at Ox- 
ford, Pennsylvania. He was the living, 
moving spirit of the enterprise, and for 
twenty-five years, until his death, in 1878, 
continued with zeal and self-sacrifice to fos- 
ter it. 

The university was planned and created 
to give a superior academic and professional 
training to Negro young men, carefully se- 
lected as to character and ability. It was 
the issue of an organized eftbrt — the first 
in this or in any country — to provide for 
JSTegroes, here and in Africa, educated lead- 
ers and teachers from among their own 
kindred. In 1854 it was incorporated by 
the Pennsylvania legislature, with the name 
of " Ashmun Institute." Twelve years later, 
in 1866, when emancipation had opened a 
way for Christian love and philanthropy to 
four millions of freedmen, the charter of 
1854 was amended. New and larger powers 
were given to the trustees, and the name 
was changed to Lincoln University. For 
four years more it remained under the con- 
trol of the New Castle Presbytery, but in 
1870 its board of trustees became indepen- 
dent and self-perpetuating, and the control 
of its Theological department was trans- 
ferred to the General assembly of the Pres- 
byterian Church of the United States of 
America. Its relation to the assembly re- 
mains to the present time unchanged. Its 
board, of twenty-one trustees, has now on 
its roll fourteen clergymen and seven laymen. 
There are three courses of instruction: 



preparatory, academic, and theological. De- 
partments for both law and medicine were 
organized, and for several years maintained, 
and would be resuscitated if sufficient sup- 
port were assured. The preparatory de- 
partment is a feeder of the academic. Its 
graded course, which includes Latin and 
Greek grammar, with the English studies 
usually taught in our high schools, formerly 
extended over three years, but is now com- 
pleted in one. Good academics in the 
South, conducted by our graduates, enable 
us to raise the standard of admission to 
this department. 

The Academic course, of four classes — 
freshmen, sophomore, junior, and senior 
years — includes the classics, mathematics, 
science and philosophy, taught in other col- 
leges. It is the fixed purpose of the faculty to 
advance the standard of this course of study. 
But caution is demanded lest, in view of the 
facilities of preparation accessible to the 
Negroes of the south, the grade become 
too high, and ability that should have its 
opportunity be thus excluded. 

In the Theological department there is a 
course embracing all the studies of other 
schools of theology. This is regarded as 
the very heart of the whole work, the nucleus 
and scope of all the instruction. 

Including that of the president, Kev. I. 
N. Rendall, D. D., there are nine chairs of 
instruction. They are Greek, Latin, Math- 
ematics, History and Hebrew, Rhetoric and 
Homiletics, Theology, English Version of 
the Bible, and Natural Science. The Fac- 
ulty consists of nine professors, assisted oc- 
casionally by non-resident lecturers, and by 
a number of colored instructors. 

In this year (1892) there are two hundred 
and forty-one students. In 1888 the number 
was one hundred andsixt3'-8ix. Every dor- 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



173 



initory is now occ-upied. Hereafter approved 
candidates waiting, and eagerly seeking ad- 
mission, must be refused, unless an additional 
dormitory is provided. Who will give the 
$20,000 needed for this building? These 
young men come from twenty-nine of our 
states and territories — sixteen southern 
states and thirteen in the north and west. 
They have come from Canada, from Liberia, 
and the Gaboon, in Africa; from Korea, 
South America, and several of the West In- 
dia Islands. In 1801 one hundred and sev- 
enty-two were soutliern Negroes, forty were 
from the north and west, and ten from for- 
eign countries. Three hundred and eighty- 
eight have been graduated from the full col- 
lege course. Two hundred and three of the 
theological students have received ordina- 
tion — one hundred and fourof these in the 
Presl>yterian church, ninety-iiine as Metho- 
dists, Baptists, Episcopalians or Congrega- 
tionalists, and thirteen have gone as mission- 
aries to Africa. 

IJesides these acaileniic and tlRH)lugical 
graduates, a large numlter of un<iergradu- 
ates and preparatory students are turning 
to good account in the soiithei ii States, and 
elsewhere, the partial instruction they have 
obtained. Induiling these, more than one 
thousand young men have received instruc- 
tion in this university — a culture of body 
as well as of s(jul, of heart anil I'liaracter, 
as well as of intellect. 

It may very properly lie asked wiiat the 
life and sei'vice of these men lias been. 
Wbei'e arc they, what are tliey <lning. and 
how are they doing it 'r Are they well re- 
ceived'' l)o their own pi'ople low and prize 
tln'ir services? Are they respected and 
honort'd l>y others? If space were allowed 
here, replies could ite given which would 
fully justify the time aiul labor and money 



bestowed on their training. The university 
is not ashamed of them. It looks upon 
their work with satisfaction and assured 
hope. From many prominent citizens in 
the south the testimony borne to the purity 
of tiieir lives, to the wisdom and prudence 
of their deportment, and to the value of the 
service they are rendering, is clear and 
strong. Besides their direct evangelical 
work in the churches of the various denom- 
inations, tliey are leaders in all educational 
enterprises, presiding over academies, high 
schools, and State normal schools. In 
Columbia, South Carolina, and in Salisbury. 
North Carolina, tlie^' have organized and 
are successfully conducting well-equipiied 
colleges. 

The value of the real estate and invested 
funds, now held by the trustees, is about 
$6lJ0,O0O. The real estate, including cam- 
pus and buildings, is estimated at ?il:2,00(i. 
The fuml )br support of professors is 8184,- 
000; and for iiermanent scholai'ships, s;i4.- 
OOO. There are seven public buildings and 
nine well constructed residences for tlie 
faiiilty. Four of the public buildings are 
chiefly occupied I)y students as dormitories. 
There is one temporary frame structure 
to aeeoMimoilate the lai'ge assemblies on 
commencement days. .\ beautiful i-hapel, 
dedicated in 18!MI, is the magniticent gift of 
.Mrs. Mary Dod Brown, of j'rinceton. New 
•lersey. A new hall, ol' ample dimensions, 
completi'il an<l occupied in 181i:i. provides 
accomodation for all tin- ela.sses and foi- the 
entire educational work of the university. 
It contains fifteen class I'ooms, an office for 
the president and a trustees" room. 

This enterprise, now in its tliirty-sixth 
year, is no longer tentative or experimental. 
It appeals confidently to the llionghtfnl in- 
telligence of all our citizens, and challenges 



174 



BIOaBAPHY AND HISTORY 



the hearty sympathy and cooperation of 
every friend of the Xegro. 

Chester Sproigs Soldiers' Orpliuii School. — 
Of tlie once large number of these schools 
hut four remain, and one of the most pros- 
l)erous of them is the Chester Springs 
school. It was established in 1869, and 
after varying vicissitudes is now under the 
supervision of Prof. John H. Sniitli, one of 
the most progressive and successful educa- 
tors of the State. 

Serpentine Beds. — Col. Joseph Wilcox, 
in a report on the serpentine beds of Ches- 
ter and Delaware counties, and their asso- 
ciated minerals, says: 

"The origin of these (serpentine) rocks 
in Pennsylvania has not been satisfactorily 
determined. Though probably eroded to 
a considerable extent, they still exist in 
great thickness, having been penetrated to 
the depth of seven hundred feet, at the 
chrome mines in Lancaster county. 

"Serpentine is now used extensively for 
building purposes, and it is acquiring popu- 
larity on account of its color, and its soft- 
ness, which permits it to be easily chiseled 
or sawed into blocks and other desirable 
forms. 

"On account of its light weight, it is easily 
handled and transported. Its softness has 
sometimes excited a suspicion in regard to 
its (lurability. The proofs of its endurance 
are abundant. The walls of houses in 
Chester county, built with this stone, dur- 
ing the last century, manifest no indication 
1)1' erosion or decay: and in that respect it 
is superior to marble. In northern ?few 
^'ork and Canada serpentine is often mixed 
with the white limestone. 

" Among the products resulting from the 
decomposition of serpentine rocks in Ches- 
ter and Delaware counties, cellular quartz 



and limonite may be classed as the most 
abundant. These minerals may often be 
seen in the different stages of alteration, 
and in various degrees of combination, from 
limonite to pure quartz. 

" Limonite hasbeen mined at several local- 
ities in Middletown township, in Delaware 
county, in the serpentine beds; Imt not 
with profitable results. 

"Chromic iron is more or less to be found 
in the serpentine rocks. By the decompo- 
sition of these rocks a large amount of this 
ore has been liberated, chiefly in small crys- 
tals, which has been transported to the 
valleys below, and deposited in the gravel. 
Corundum is one of the most interesting, 
as well as valuable minerals, found in con- 
nection with serpentine. 

"Until 1870,whencorundum was found in 
considerable quantity, and of great beauty, 
in K^orth Carolina, the crystals of that min- 
eral, from Chester and Delaware counties, 
were much prized by mineralogists in this 
country and in Europe. In Newlin, near 
Unionville, in Chester county, corundum 
has been found more abundantly. 

"The extent of the serpentine bed, at this 
place, exceeds 100 acres. Corundum has 
been obtained in many places there, and fine 
crystals were found during man}- years be- 
fore its commercial value was known. 

"Fron\ my friend, Mr. William W. Jef- 
feris, of West Chester, I have obtained tlie 
following history concerning this interesting 
locality : 

" 'John and Joel Bailey claim to have dis- 
covered corundum at that place sometime 
between the years 1822 and 1825. The 
former person still preserves the original 
specimens. About that time William Jack- 
son also obtained specimens.' 

"Dr. Thomas Seal, of Unionville, also a 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



175 



collector of minerals, obtained specimen!? of 
corundum there about tlie year 188:^. 

"Mr. Jeft'eris states that his first visit to the 
locality was made in 1837 or 1838, and at 
that time large lumps of corundum could 
i)e seen in the fields and fence corners. 'In 
1848 Mr. Lewis AV. Williams sent to Liv- 
erpool a larsfc lumi) of the mineral, which 
weighed more than b,'lW pounds." 

"In the spring of 188t) John Leslie dug 
up about five tons of corundum, which he 
sold for $H0 per ton." 

"Soon after tliat time the mineral was in 
great demand for certain purposes, being 
much harder than emery, and the price ad- 
vanced to fifty cents per pound. 

'• In 1872 .Tohn II. Smedley, while engaged 
in exploring for corundum, on the farm of 
Messrs. I'usey, Ball & (Mnindler, discovered 
a lai'ge mass of it, which weighed about two 
hundred tons. It was found on the margin 
of tile serpentine bed." 

C^orundum is still n>ined to a small extent 
.in Xewlin. 8ome portions of it are lai'gciy 
mixed with nuirgaritc, (hunonrite lesleyite, 
albite, tourmaline and spinel. 

Feldspar is another mineral often associ- 
ated with serpentine, it has also been 
mined near the corundum locality in Newlin 
township. It is accompanied largely with 
(piartz, and spai'ingly with mica. 

Asbestos and steatite, or soajistonc, arc 
also associates of serpentine. 

J'rof. J. 1'. Lesley says, "Serpentine is 
an exactly eijual compound of silii'a (43. U) 
and magnesia (43.4) charged with ai)out 
one-seventh (13.0) of water," and that "it 
is evident that the corundum in Xewlin 
township is a metamorphosed part of the 
gneiss comiiosed more exclusively of :iln- 
mina than tiie rest.'" 

'• .\mong other mi morals of less importance 



found with the serpentine in rciin.sylvania. 
I will mention brucite, picrolite, bronzite, 
enstatite, anthophyllite, actinolite, talc, and 
chlorite in many varieties, the most l>eauti- 
ful of which are clinociilore and ripidolite." 

Brinton's serpentine quarry, at Avonilale, 
three miles soutii of West Chester, was 
opened in 1730, and the estimated quantity 
of green serpentine quarried since that date 
has been 000,000 cubic yards. The largest 
block ever taken out was a three feet square 
section, sixteen feet in length. 

Of the prominent structures built of tiiis 
stone, is the university of Pennsylvania, 
the academy of natural sciences, and about 
twenty churches in I'hiladelphia ; and the 
eonrt house of Wilmington, Delaware. 

The Carter and Reynold"s serpentine 
quarry was opened in 187-'), and produces a 
stratified, i-honibic, fine-grained, homogen- 
ous building-stone, which is used in IMiila- 
delphia and Baltimore. 

t'laderViillrij. — This valley, winch is often 
spoken of as the "Great Valley," and geo- 
locally as the "Downingtown Ijimcstone 
\'alley,'" if pictured on a map would resem- 
ble a slender garfish, fins and ail, witii its 
tapering jaws asunder. It is fifty-eiglit 
miles long, witii an average widtli of two 
and a iialt miles. Prof. II. D. Rogers de- 
scribes it as follows: "Externally the tract, 
witli its liighly cultivated farms, numerous 
thriving villages, factoi'ies, furnaces, and 
mills t"ull of jirospcrous industry, presents a 
scene unsurpassed in the United States. 
Tile soft, picturesque beauty of tiie plain or 
i)cd of tiie valley is mucii enlianced l>y tiie 
two ranges of siate liiils, stiii ciotiied witii 
tiie remnants of tiie natural forests. It lies 
between tiiese lii\e the deck of a slender, 
siiallow boat l)etween its sloping sides, its 
surface is in almost every part irrigateil 



176 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



with running brooks of pure, transparent 
water, and it is crossed by several swift- 
tlowing, sparkling streams, as large as the 
rivers of some countries. The grandest of 
these is the Schuylkill. It is here a broad 
current, and bears deservedl}- the title of 
river. The enclosing hills, or two edges of 
the general upland, between which this 
valley lies, at an average depression of 
nearly three hundred feet, are superbly 
carved into innumerable wooded ravines 
and narrow dells. This is especially true 
of the slope overlooking the valley on the 
south. From any point on the southern 
table-land near the head of one of its ra- 
vines, the view is truly enchanting; broad 
slopes of foliage and a shady dell fill the 
foreground of the picture ; wheatfields and 
pastures, orchards and snug, tidy farm- 
houses, many of them of the dignity of 
country mansions, occupy for miles the 
middle distance ; and the extended back- 
ground is a rich succession of lading hills 
and far-stretching mountains. Breaking 
what might otherwise approach to monot- 
ony in the curves of the landscape are here 
and there deeper gorges in the north and 
south barriers of the valley, furnishing 
waterway for the larger streams, the Schuyl- 
kill, the Wissahickon, the Brandywine in 
both its branches, and the Octoraro. The 
narrower parts of some of these are precip- 
itous, and so shut in and wild as to present 
a most graceful contrast in their tangled 
foliage, rough rocks, and mossy cliffs, with 
tlie neighboring scenes of open pastures and 
sunny corn fields." 

Cldsltr Coindij 31urblis. — The Chester 
county white marlile is nearly a pure car- 
lionate of lime mixed with silex, and con- 
tains little or no earthy matter and no talc, 
hence it is hard and durable, will not disin- 



tegrate, stain, or blemish ; finishes smoothly, 
retains its color, and is very valuable for 
carving and monumental purposes. Mar- 
bles of all shades, from pure white to gray, 
blue, dark blue, and pure black, are all 
found within the county. 

These marbles are found principally in the 
Downingtown limestone valley. ■' Through- 
out this limestone basin the southern steeply 
upturned outcrop exhibits a far higher de- 
gree of metamorpMsin by heat than the 
northern, and this alteration appears greater 
where the strata approach most nearly the 
vertical position, and is greater still where 
they are invei-ted, that is to say, between 
the Wissahickon and the Brandywine. It 
is chiefly within these limits that the else- 
where bluish and yellowish limestone is in 
a condition of crystalline and granular mar- 
ble, white, shaded or mottled, from the dis- 
persing and segregating action of a high 
temperature upon its changeable ingredients. 
An examination will show- that all the mar- 
ble quarries hitherto opened are included 
within this steepl^^ upturned or overturned 
outcrop, the best of them lying within half 
a mile of the southern edge of the forma- 
tion, or of some sharp inverted anticlinal 
like that of the Conshohocken ridge." 

Hocuh. — The county contains numerous 
roads, which are kept in good condition. 

Four turnpike roads traverse it : all of them 
nuide by incorp)orated companies to facilitate 
the transport of the rich agricultural pro- 
ductions to the Philatlelphia nuirket. 

TheUapand Newportturnpike crossesthe 
southern part of the county from north- 
west to south-east, through I'cnningtonvillc 
and Cochranville. 

The Philadelphia and Lancaster turnpike 
crosses the south valley hill to Downing- 
town, follows the valley to Coatesville, and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



then to the top of the north valley hill west- 
ward. 

The Harrisburg pike leaves the P. and L. 
pike at Dovvningtown, and follows the high 
divide, between the Brandywines, north- 
westward to Waynesburg. 

The Conestoga pike leaves the P. and L. 
pike west of Paoli, crosses the valley and 
nortli valley hill, and runs through Spring 
field. 

Bihliograp/ii/. — Chester county is noted 
for the number of authors which she has 
furnished. Over four hundred and fifty 
bound volumes, written by natives and res- 
dents of the county, liave issued from the 
press. We have compiled the following 
list, which includes nearly all these authors, 
and opposite their names have placed the 
character of their works and the period of 
publication. In some cases, where there 
has been only one production, its name is 
given : 

Herioii 
Author. C'hariicter of Work. of Publication. 

F.A.Allen Geo_graphical... 18-52-1864 

Eliz'th Ashbridge. Religious 1846 

Samuel Alsop Surveying 1857 

M. M. Auge Historical 1879 

Rev. Sam'l Blair.. Religious 1752 

Rev. John Blair... Religious 1766-1770 

John Bartram Botanical 1751-176}t 

Wm. Bartram Travels 1791 

\Vm. Baldwin Botanical 

Titus Bennett Arithmetical... 1824 

Anthony B()lmar..P]ducational.... 1838-1850 

Robert Bailey Autobiograpliical 1822 

Jane Bettlc Memoir 1848 

Thomas Baldwin. .Gazetteer 1845 

Dr. I). G. Brinton.. Scientific 1866-1 878 

Xelson P. Boyer..Live Stock 1869 

Rev. R. P. Duboi8..Genealogy 1858 

Capt.W.H. Bell. ..Travels 1873 

L. K. Brown Religious 1875 

12 



Author. 

Jane W. Bruner. 

Mrs. D.Boyd 

Fannie H. Bent.. 

W. E. Bailey 

T. K. Brown 

E. A. Barber 

Gilbert Cope 

Moi'ris Cope 

John Chui'chman. 
John Churchinau. 

John Comly 

Thos.Carrington. 

John Creswell 

Rev. J. Crowell... 
Dr. J.W. Cooper... 

Gilbert Cope 

Rebecca Conai'd... 

Jesse Conard 

Dr. W.Darlington. 
Rev.R.P.DuBois 
W. W. Dewees . . . 
Fred'k S.Dickson. 
Rev. David Evans . 
Dr. Sam'l Emliii... 
Dr. E. C.Evans.. 
J. B. Everhart.... 
J. Smith Futhey. 
John Gummere.. 
Prof. F. <;iass.... 
Dr.Wm. Gibbons. 
Mrs. M.J.Guthrie 
H. W. (Gilbert.... 
Prof.G.G.Groff... 
Dr.W.D.Hartman 
Gen. J. Harlan.... 

Rachel Hunt 

Noble Heath 

Mrs. G.M.Hoopes, 
Mrs. LP. Huston.. 
Dr. I. I. Hayes.... 
Hon. A.D.Harlan. 



Character of Work. nf Puhlioatioti. 

"Fi'ee Prisoners" 1877 

Romance 1857-1879 

Romance 1863-1881 

•'Modern Rhymes" 1879 

Algebraical 1879 

Scientific 1877-1878 



1881 
1858 
1779 
1794 
1803 
177H 
1820 
1849 
1869 



.Historical 

.Religious 

.Religious 

.Atlas 

.Grammatical... 

.Religious 

.Essays 

Religious 

"Game Fowls" 

Genealogy 1861-1892 

Poetry 1875 

Romance 1834-1848 

Botanical 1820-1862 

Genealogy 186tl 

WesttownScliool" 1872 

Legal 1872-1875 

" Law and Gospel " 1746 
"Yellow Fever" 1819 

Chemistry 1854 

Literary 1H62-1874 

Historical 1881 

Surveying 1814 

"Washington" 1814 

Religious 1823-1832 

"Silver Lining," 1872 
"Aldornere,".. 1872 

Scientific 1881-1892 

Scientific 1874-1892 



Travels 


1842 


Poetrv 


1843 


Arithmetical 


1855 


.Memoir 


1862 


Poetrv 


1873 


Travels 


..1860-1875 


.Political 


1873 



BIOQBAPHY AND HISTOBY 



Author. Character of Work. nf Publication. 

W. p. Hazard Annals 1879 

W. T. Haines Legal 1860 

Hugh Judge Memoirs 1841 

Dr. Sani'l Jackson.Medical 1827-1869 

John Jones Religious 1829 

Joshua Jones Grammatical... 1833 

Halliday Jackson. Religious 1830 

Dr. Wm. Johnston. Medical 1841 

John M. Jenkins. .Journalistic... 1881 

Jesse Kersey Religious 1815 

Dr. T. F. Kloz Medical 1837 

Susan'a Lightfoot. Religious 1 844 

Enoch Lewis Educational ...1810-1856 

Joseph T. Lewis. .Historical 1824 

Susan Lukens Literary 1873 

John E. Leonard.. Poetical 1871 

Charlton T.Lewis.Literary 1866-1879 

(leorge Lippard... Romance 1842-1854 

Benj. Mason Religious 1790 

.John Miliis Farriery 1764 

H. Marshall Botanical 1785-1786 

Alex. Maitland... Political 1833 

Charles Miner Essays 1815 

Dr. E. Michener. . .Literary 1860-1874 

Jason W. Mahan.. Mathematical.. 1836 

Kev. G.L Miles... Religious 1836 

Dr. M. Matson.... Literary 1829-1845 

Gen.G.A.McCall.Letters 1868 

James Monaghan.Law 1880 

Rev. W. E. Moore..Religious 1861 

Mrs. H. F. Moore.. Religious 1 868 

Mary A. Moore ...Poetry 1873 

Benjamin Na^^lor. Scientific 1850 

Rev. Wm. Newton Religious 1859 

Mrs.S.L.Oberholtzer..Poetry 1873 

Caleb Pusey Religious 1675-1706 

John Pierce Religious 1720 

Henry B.Pearson. Educational .... 1837 

Barclay Pennock. .Literary 1854 

Issacher Price Poetry 1856 

Evan Pugh Chemical 1861 



1867 

.1861-1878 

1875 

1873 



Author. 

B. and J. Price Literary 

Eli K.Price Legal 

Ann S. Paschall. .. Religious .... 

Lewis Palmer Genealogy .. 

Howard Painter.. .Mineralogy 1875 

Maj. Isaiah Price.Historical 1875 

S. W.Pen nypack'r Historical 1872 

Dr. Thos. Ruston.Medical 1768 

John Rutter Astronomical.. 1833 

T. Buchanan Read.Poetical 1847-1865 

J. L. Ringwalt.... "Printing" 1871 

Dr. J. T. Rothrock.Botanical 1867-1893 

John Rutter "Peach Culture." 1880 

Phebe Speakman. Travels 

Joseph Sharpless.. Genealogy 1816 

Dr. T. L. Smith... Romance 1829 

S. P. Sharpless Chemistry 1866 

Cyrus Sterne Genealogy 

John R. Sweeney..Musical 1872-1882 

Isaac Sharpless ...Geometrical.... 1879 

Hon. P. F. Smith. .Legal 1862-1876 

Bayard Taylor .. . .Literary 1844-1878 

Dr. I. P. Trimble.Horticulture... 

Esther J. Trimble.Literature 1875-1882 

John Vanderslice. Travels 1876 

Dr. H. Williamson Literary 1810-1820 

Thos. Woodward.Literary 1819 

Wm. Whitehead..Historical 1859-1872 

J. P. Wickersham. Educational. ...1864-1891 

E. H. Williamson .Romance 1859-1879 

Dr. L. Woodward.Genealogy 1869 

Dr. J. G. Young ...Genealogy 1869 

J. Russell Young.. Travels 1877-1879 

Genealogies have been published of the 
Kirk, Phillips and Jackson families. 

The most voluminous authors have been : 
Bayard Taylor, whose volumes number 50 ;, 
Mrs. M. D. R. Boyd, 32 ; George Lippard, 
20; Enoch Lewis, 16; T. Buchanan Read, 
15; Fannie H. Bent, 12 ; John R. Sweenev, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



12; Daniel fr. Brinton, 11: ami William 
Darlington, 10. 

Chester county authors wiio have acliieved 
world-wide reputation are : Dr. Willaini 
Darlington, John Bartrani, Humphry Mar- 
shall, Bayard Taylor, T. Buchanan Read, 
James 1'. Wiekersham and Joseph T. Roth- 
rock. 

HistnriraJ. — "The History of Chester 
county, Pennsylvania," hy J. Smith Futhey 
and Gilbert Cope, was issued in 1881. The 
work is a large quarto volume of eight hun- 
dred and twenty-six double-column pages. 
It contains four hundred and sixt}' pages of 
carefully prepared history of the county, 
and three hundred and twenty-two pages of 
interesting biographical and genealogical 
sketches of prominent citizens and old fam- 
ilies, to which is attached an appendix giv- 
ing the roster of tlie Chester county soldiers 
in the civil war, from 1861 to 18t).'). To 
this work Dr. Ezra Michener, Dr. W. I). 
Hartman, Prof. G. G. Groff and Prof. E. D. 
Cope contributed valuable articles. 

The "Annals of Phoenixville," by Samuel 
W. Pennypacker, is a large 8vo volume of 
two hundred and ninety-five pages. It not 
only gives a full and accurate history of 
Phopuixville, but contains much valuable 
in formation concerning the Schuylkill valley. 

First Cotton FuHonj. — The first cotton fac- 
tory west of the Schuylkill river is said to 
have been built, at an early day, b}' Samuel 
Dickey, on liis farm in West Nottingham 
township. This factory was a crude afl'air, 
whose motive power was furnished by horses. 
About the commencement of the present 
century Mr. Dickey removed to Hopewell, 
where he erected a cotton factory that was 
afterward destroyed by fire. 

North Primal Rocks. — There are three 
principal areas of these primal or Potsdam 



rocks north of the Chester valley. One of 
these, bounded by the gneiss on tlie north 
and the limestone on the south, stretches 
through Cain, East Cain, West Whiteland. 
East Wliiteland, and Tredyffrin townships. 
Another, bounded by the gneiss, stretches 
from the southern part of Honeyhrook to 
Coatesville. Here it borders the A'alley 
limestone through Valley township to Poni- 
eroy, makes a high northern loop around 
Pomeroy and Sadsburyville and down to 
Parkesburg, whence it runs westward into 
Lancaster county, between the north and 
south boundary lines of Sadsl)ury township. 
A third crosses from Lancaster county 
into West Nantmeal near the town of 
Springfield in contact with the southern 
limit of the dolerite mass occurring there. 
Thence it enters and turns back from War- 
wick, and passing through the northwestern 
part of West Nantmeal and Honey Brook, 
re-enters Lancaster county. 

Banks. — During the last twelve years the 
following banks have been established in 
the county : Farmers' National bank of West 
Chester, National bank of West Grove; 
Dime and Savings bank of West Chester, 
Farmers" National bank of Oxford. Down- 
ingtown National bank, the National bank 
of Kennett Square, and National bank of 
Malvern. 

Paoli Moninmnt. — On the centennial an- 
niversary of the massacre of Paoli — Sep- 
tember 20, 1877 — tiie present monument 
on the illfated field was dedicated with ap- 
propriate military exercises. The crowd 
present on the occasion numbered nearly 
ten thousand. The monument is of Quincy 
granite, twenty-two and a half feet in height, 
chaste in design, and impressive in sim- 
plicity. Appropriate inscriptions are on its 
sides. It was erected by the citizens of 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Chester and Delaware counties, and the old 
monument, nine feet in height, which was 
dedicated September 11, 1817, still stands. 

Silk Culture. — In 1771 Chester countj- 
produced three hundred and thirty-five 
pounds of cocoons. In 1836 the "Chester 
County Silk Company" was organized, with 
a capital of $50,000. The company pur- 
chased sixteen acres of land at West Ches- 
ter, erected a large cocoonery, and set out 
iive acres of white Italian mulberry trees. 
About this time the Chinese mulberry, 
morus muUicauhis, was introduced, and such 
rash speculation was indulged in raising it 
that a loss of confidence in eilk culture soon 
prevailed. This unfavorable change of 
public opinion led to the dissolution of the 
''Chester County Silk Company," before it 
liad made a full test of the Italian trees. 

^rt/7// Indian Tradrrs.—Fvom 1 722 to 1 726 
the following persons, all of whom were 
recommended by the court of Chester 
county to the governor as proper persons to 
be licensed as Indian traders, received license 
to trade with the Indians: James Le Tort, 
James Patterson, Thomas Perrin, Jonah 
Davenport, Joseph Cloud and John Burt. 

Connt;/ Home. — On February 27, 1798, 
the legislature of Pennsylvania passed an 
act providing for the erection of poor 
houses in Chester and Lancaster counties, 
and the election of six directors in each 
county. The commissioners for Chester 
county were: Joshua Ashbridge, Edward 
Darlington, Moses Marshall, Robert Miller, 
John Davis, John Rinehart, James M. Gib- 
bons, Samuel Carter and James Johnson. 
They selected the present county home farm, 
in West Bradford township, on November 
21, 1798, and purchased it from Stephen 
Harlan for £-3,000. The farm contained 
three hundred and twenty -five and one-half 



acres, from which forty-five and one-half 
acres were sold in 1801. 

The first county home building erected 
was a brick structure, forty by one hundred 
feet in dimensions. It was succeeded in 
1855 by the present structure. 

Early Tarernf-. — Of the early taverns we 
find the following account in Futhey and 
Cope's "History of Chester County:" 

"Our early inn-keepers, in giving names 
to their houses, adopted those to which they 
were accustomed in the old country. Dur- 
ing the war of the revolution, and for some 
time afterward, the names of the patriot 
generals who had figured prominently in 
that contest, became favorite appellations, 
and many of the old time-honored names 
gave place to them. In these latter days 
the names given to new houses are not so 
euphonious as those given by our fathers. 
Time has not made an}' improvement in this 
respect. With the decrease in the number 
of public houses many of the old names 
have disappeared, and are being rapidly for- 
gotten. In order to preserve them from 
oblivion, reference will be made to some of 
those which were borne by well-known hos- 
tel ries in former days. 

"On the 'Old Lancaster road" there were 
the Buck, Plow, Admiral Vernon (after- 
ward the Warren), White Horse, Ship 
(nowDr. Eshleman's, westof Downingtown), 
Wagon (now Wagontowu), and Mariner's 
Compass (now Compassville). 

"On the Paxtang road, leading from 
Downingtown toward the settlements at 
and near Ilarrisburg, or its successor, the 
Horseshoe pike, were the Buck, Cross Keys 
(changed to Washington), Olive Branch, 
Spread Eagle (Rockville), Leopard, Bull's 
Head (afterward General Wayne), Black 
Horse, Risins: Sun, Red Lion. From 1792 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



to 1800 there was a tavern kept in the house 
wliere Gen. Matthew Stanley long resided. 
The 'Brick' was opened in 1807, and was 
the first brick building erected in that sec- 
tion of the county. 

"On the Lancaster turnpike were (among 
others) the Spread Eagle, Spring House, 
Bear, J'aoli, Green Tree, AVarren, General 
\Vayne, Steamboat, Sheaf of Wheat, Ship, 
General AVashington, Swan, Prussian Eagle, 
Midway, States' Arms, Rainbow, Washing- 
ton, Black Horse, Cross Keys. The'Shiji" 
was originally west of Downingtown, at a 
point where tlie old Lancaster road, and the 
more modern Lancaster turnpike, occupied 
the same ground. The sign, after this house 
ceased to be kept as a tavern, was taken to 
the new house of the same name on the 
turnpike in West Whiteland. The *Ship" 
tavern was one of the oldest as well as 
most noted pul)lic houses in the county, 
l>eing much frequented by persons on public 
business. During the revolution the host 
remained loyal to the crown, ami on one 
occasion some Continentals, not liking the 
usage they had received of him, deliber- 
ately shot thirteen bullets thi'ough the effigy 
of the ship, and the old sign carried the 
marks as long as it swung at the old stand 
or at the new one in West Whiteland. 

"The Downing hotel, or -stage-office," the 
name it was generally known by, was at tiie 
cast end of the village of Downingtown, 
and for many years a noted stoi)ping-place. 
Its swinging sign bore the effigy of Wash- 
ington and a civilian standing side by side. 
Here presidents, governors, supreme judges, 
and all kinds of dignitaries ate and slept. 
It was kept by Hunt Downing until 1816, 
by William Erame and Jesse Evans until 
1827, and by Isaac I>owning until lS8tI. 

"On the Strasburg road there were the 



Sheaf of Wheat, Black Horse, Centre 
House (Marshallton), General Wayne, (iol - 
den Eagle (Worths), White IIorsc( Youngs), 
Dravo (Humphreyville), Eountain Inn 
( Parkesburg), Swan. 

"About the beginning of the jiresent ii-n- 
tury there was a house, known as the 
'Peggy Bann Inn,' at the foot of the hill on 
the Strasburg road as you leave Voungs- 
burg, in East Fallowfield townshij), going 
east. It is still standing in a somewhat 
dilapidated condition, but not used as a pub- 
lic-house. According U> tradition, the origin 
of the name of this house was in this wise: 
A son of Erin opened for the mutual lienefit 
of the public and himself this wayside inn. 
When the sign came to be painted, which, 
by the way, was a most important part ot 
the tavern in those days, the proprietor had 
the artist portray the imaginary lineaments 
of the former's sweetheart. Peggy Bann, 
whom he had left in Ireland. Afterward 
the name of the house was changed to that 
of the -Three Stripes," and the new sign 
painted over the other. It was |-eniarke<i 
by the residents of the neighhorlmod tbr 
many years subseqni-ntly that no matter 
how well the sign was kept painted the 
lineaments of Peggy would still peep 
through the striiies. It was kept for some 
years by James and ivobert ^'onng: hut the 
latter erected a new puijiic house a siiort 
distance west of it prior to 18i'(t, and the 
old house was no longer used as a jilace 
whereat to cheer nnm and beast. 

"Among other public houses were tlie 
Anvil, Unicorn, and Plow, in Kennett : 
Hammer and Trowel, in New (Janien; 
Half-way House (now Cliathani), and White 
Horse, in Londongrovc : Stage ami Leopard, 
inEasttown: Buck, in Coventry : Land), in 
Wallace; Gum Tree, Sorrel Horse (formerly 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Spimiiug-whecl), and Mason's Arms, in 
West Fiillovvtield; General Green, Boot, 
and Tliree Tuns, in East Goshen; Cross 
Keys and Fox Chase and Drove, in East 
Marlborough ; Globe, in AVest Notting- 
ham : Rising Sun, Washington, and Yellow 
Springs, in West Pikeland; Bull, Fountain 
Inn, Valley Forge, General Pike, and Gen- 
eral Lafayette, in Schuylkill; Red Lion 
and Eagle, in Uwchlan ; Seven Stars, Cap- 
tain Lawrence, and Poplar Tree, in Vin- 
cent; Lidian King and Grove, in AVest 
Whiteland : Dolphin (now Dilworthtown), 
in Birnruighani ; White Horse and William 
Penn, in Willistown; and Eel's Foot, in 
East Bradford, near Jefi'eris' Ford. In 
West Chester were the Turk's Head, Wash- 
ington, Cross Keys (afterward White Hall), 
Black Bear, Green Tree, Eagle, and Trav- 
elver's Rest (afterward the Star). The 
present Mansion house was originally called 
the Chester County hotel. The name was 
not improved by the change.'" 

Earlji Roads. — The earliest highways 
were the Indian trails. The Swedish au- 
thorities provided for "good and passable 
ways" in 1078, and in the early days 
of provincial government the public roads 
Avere laid out by the grand jury. The " Old 
Street road" was laid out by William Penn, 
who named it "Marlborough street,'' and 
Ziba Darlington states that it ran nearly, if 
not (juite, straight its whole distance, a 
stretch of some five miles, beginning in the 
Pennsbury line, east of the Red Lion tav- 
ern, and ending at Marlborough Friends' 
meeting-house premises. The Street road 
is now a name applied to the highway from 
Market street bridge, Philadelphia, to Mc- 
Clall's Ferry, on the Susquehanna. 

Of other early public roads. Judge Futhey 
says: 



"At a very early period a public road, 
familiarly known as the 'Old Lancaster,' or 
'Provincial' road, was laid out from Phila- 
delphia to Lancaster. It passed (in Ches- 
ter county) the present Eagle station, on 
the Pennsylvania railroad, Paoli, Admiral 
Warren, White Horse, Moore's Mill (Down- 
ingtown), Ship (now Dr. Eshleman's), Cain 
Friends' meeting. Wagon ( now Wagon- 
town ), and Mariner's Compass. A part of 
the bed of this road is occupied by the Lan- 
caster turnpike, but the greater portion of 
it is still used as an ordinary public road. 
The 'Swede's Ford' road ran from a ford- 
ing over the Schuylkill just below Norris- 
town westward, and joined the Old Lancas- 
ter road in East Whiteland township, near 
the present residence of Joseph A. Malin. 
The road known as the 'Boot road' ran 
from the ferry, at Philadelphia, by way of 
the 'Boot tavern,' in Goshen, to Moore's 
mill (Downingtown). The Great Chester 
road, running north from Chester, inter- 
sected this road at the 'Boot," and is said to 
have been laid on an old Indian trail. A 
road ran from Moore's mill westward, being 
a continuation of the Boot road, crossing 
the west branch of the Brandj'wine near 
Coatesville, and Buck run at Pomeroy, and 
leaving the valley at the farm late of Cyrus 
Cooper, and running north of the valley 
to the 'Gap.' The 'Strasburg road' was 
laid out at diflerent times, and, as at pres- 
ent used, in its entirety, it dates from 1794. 
It existed, however, as a higliway, varying 
from its present course in places, long be- 
fore that year. Part of the original road is 
what is now known as the 'Goshen street,' 
forming the northern line of the borough 
of West Chester, uniting in its westward 
course with the present Strasburg road at 
the foot of the Black Horse hill, in East 



OF CHESTER COUNT V. 



18)) 



Bradford, and pai^sing eastwardly Ijy tlie 
residence of William P. Mursliall and Fern 
Hill station, on the old. West Chester rail- 
road. That portion of this I'oad hetweon 
High street, "West Chester, and its western 
junction with the Strasburg road has been 
closed. The road from Wilmington to 
Reading, passing through West Chester, 
has existed from a very early period. A 
road ran from Downingtovvn, by way of 
Waynesburg, to the Conestoga settlements. 
Tlie 'Horseshoe turnpike" runs on the line 
of this last-mentioned road, and in places 
occupies its l)ed. The road from Philadel- 
phia, by way of Concord, Chad's Ford, 
Hamorton, Kenuett Square and New Lon- 
don to Baltimore is an early road, and was 
long a leading stage route between Phila- 
delphia and the south. A road led from 
Wilmington, by way of Hamorton, I'nion- 
ville. Doe Run, Ercildoun, Humphreyville 
and Hadsburyville to the Pequea valley. 
.Vnother road intersected this at Humph- 
reyville, and led past Upper Octoraro 
<liurih and the old Black Horse tavern 
noithward. Tlie -Oap and Newport road' 
led from the *<^iap," in Lancaster county, to 
Newport, in tlie State of Delaware, and was 
long a leading road from Lancaster to Wil- 
mington. I'arts of this old road are still in 
use. A road ran from West Chester in a 
southwest direction, crossing the Brandy- 
wine at Jetferis' ford, known as the 'Oil 
Mill road,' from an oil mill whicli stood on 
the farm now of Edwin James. This road 
was suiierseiled by a State road, laid out in 
1H:!0, from New Hope, on the Delaware 
river, through Doylcstown. Norristown, 
West Chester, rnionville. White Horse, 
and U.xford, to the ^Lvrylalld line, in a direc- 
tion toward Ualtimore. The 'Limestone 
road,' in the westerfi part of tlie county, 



was an old Indian trail, and is iiclievcd 
never to liave been laid out. Li !«(•!• a 
road was authorized by a<t of assembly 
from .lohn G. I'arke's ( imw I'arkeslmrg ) 
to McCall's ferry, on the Susfiuebaima. 
This road runs along the -(ircat valley," and 
is known as the ^'alley. or NfcCalls P'cny 
road." 

Bridyt.^. — Of the early bridges in the 
county we liave but little account, ami of 
the bridges wliose time of construction is 
unknown are: Meconky"s. in Last l^rad- 
ford township : WortlTs, in Lower (^.xforrl ; 
Old Lancaster, over the west branch of 
the Brandy wine; Kirk"s, on the road from 
Kirk"s mill to 0.\ford ; Milford, on th.> 
east branch of the Brandy wine: Chester 
Springs, across Pickering creek ; I'Dghtown, 
stone arch bridge; Kmbreeville, ovi'i- the 
west branch of the Braiidywine; llattield".- 
covercd bridge; BaldwiiTs flood bridge: 
Valley Forge stone bridge; Kapps. on 
Pickering creek ; Taylors Hun stone bridge ; 
Pocopson, on I'ocopson creek: Stcelvillc 
coveretl bridge; Cliad"s Ford, on the Braii- 
dywine; Moorehall stone bridge : Plaiikin- 
ton"s, over the west branch of Red Clay 
creek: Miller"s. on the east branch of White 
Clay creek: Richardson"s,on Big Elk creek : 
NeviiTs, on west bank of White Clay creek ; 
Penm)ck"s Font flood bridge: .Vlilltown 
stone bridge: Bull Uoail covered bridge; 
Mount Rocky, over Little Elk: and (Tar- 
rett's Paper Mill bridge. 

The following bridges in Chester county 
were built in the yeais given after their 
names: Downiugs. 1741: Crum Creek, 
1769; French Creek. 1771: Brandywinc, 
1772, Marshall"s. 17it'. ; Keener".*, 17t»«; 
Elk, lS(l:i: Pigeon Civek, IHii;?; Cope"s, 
1807, at a cost of !«-JG,.")it7 : Kelly"s Mill, 
1813; Charlestown, 1814, at a cost of 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



$5,000; Andrews', 1814; Garrett's, 1818; 
KiiauertowM, 1819; Moorestown, 1819; 
Mortonville, 1826; McCleiiacban's, 1829; 
Cliristinairs, 1884; Seed's, 1834; Wilson's, 
1835; Beaver Creek, 1885; Hattield's, 
1837 ; Coventry viUe, 1837 ; Dorian's, 1842 ; 
Richardson's. 1842; Street Road, 1845; 
Pine Grove Rolling Mills, 1846; Phcenix- 
ville, 1847: Cornog's, 1849; Lee's, 1849; 
Vandever's, 1849; Elk Dale, 1850; Buck 
Run, 1850; Sugar's, 1850; Hutchinson's, 
1850; Bell's Ford, 1850; Lawrenceville, 
1851; Sharpless, 1851; Taylor's, 1852; 
Pennypaeker's, 1852; Hoopes', 1852; Os- 
mond's, 1852; Harvey's, 1858; Mode's, 
1853; Pickering Creek, 1853; Mackey's 
Mill, 1853; Charlestown, 1858; Reed's, 
1854; Waterloo Mills, 1854: Brinton's, 
1854; Reifi's, 1855; McDonald's, 1855; 
Tustin's, 1855; Nivin's, 1855; Wicker- 
sham's, 1855 ; McDowell's, 1855 ; Sager's, 
1856 ; Kennedy's, 1856 ; Pyle's Ford, 1856 ; 
Huston's, 1857; Evans', 1857; Painter's, 
1857: Valley Forge Dam, 1857; Milford, 
1857; Ashbridge road, 1858; Roberts' Ford, 
1858; Marshall's, 1858; Grosstowu Ford; 
Davis", 1859 ; Hickman's Ford, 1859 ; Jordan, 
1859 ; Stubbs', 1860 ; McCreary's Mill, 1860 ; 
Shaw's, 1862; Mount Vernon, 1865; Den- 
ny's, 1866; Snyder's, 1866: Twaddle's, 
1866; Bartram's, 1866; Sinclair's, 1867; 
Cupola Station, 1867 ; Worrall's Mill, 1867 ; 
Dowliu's Ford, 1867; Strawbridge's, 1868; 
Massey's Ford, 1868; Parker's, 1869; Ken- 
nett Borough, 1869; (iibson's Ford, 1870; 
Phoenixviile, 1870; Young's Ford, 1870; 
North Bend, 1870; Rokeby, 1874; Lig- 
gett'sMill, 1876; Coatesvill'e, 1877; Sager's 
Mill, 1877; Ackland's Mill, 1877 ; Savior's 
Mill, 1879; Buck Run, 1880; Elk Creek, 
1880, and Mercer's Ford, 1880. 

Witchi-nift. — As late as 1760 there were 



persons in Chester county who believed in 
witches, and we have the following account 
of a persecution for witchcraft in that 
year, near West Chester: 

"There lived in a log cabin on the bar- 
rens, a few miles from where West Chester 
now stands, an inoft'ensive old woman, 
named MollyOtley, who was superstitiously 
characterized as a witch. A daughter of 
Joshua Ashbridge, who had become de- 
mented, acted strangely, uttering at the 
same time unintelligible sounds, which were 
construed into ' molotly, molotly.' This was 
conclusive evidence that she was bewitched, 
and by Moll Otley. So one Seventh-day 
the populace assembled for her trial — not 
a judicial one, but « \a Judge Lynch — and 
it is said the whole country-side were there, 
'gentle, simple, learned, and ignorant,' all 
carried away by the then popular belief in 
witchcraft. James Gibbons (then living on 
what has since been known as the'Westtown 
School farm,') was deputized to bring the 
old woman. During his absence some were 
to draw her image on a board, and fire at it 
with pieces of silver (for lead would not 
hurt a witch ) ; wherever the image was hit 
there the witch would be wounded. Mr. 
Gibbons was charged to notice if she mani- 
fested any pain or uneasiness by the way. 
After riding some distance she complained 
and said she would rather walk, and did so 
the rest of the way. Arriving at the door 
of the house (over which a horseshoe had 
been nailed, the Hoor newly scrubbed, and 
salt sprinkled on the threshold), Molly- 
turned around to clean her shoes, when the 
cry went foi'th, 'she's a witcli, and can't 
pass over the salt until she performs some 
conjuration." They then took her to the 
mill, put her in one scale and the bible in 
the other, for it was held that the holy bible 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



would always outweigh a witcli. She re- 
marked, 'Children, I "11 outweigh that book," 
an<l she did. She was next examined by a 
jury of matrons to see if her body bore any 
marks from the silver pieces fired at her 
image ; but none were found. The next or- 
deal proposed was to throw her into the 
luill-dam, believing that if slie was a witch 
she would swim out quickly: otherwise, 
sink. Mr. (tibbons and others prevailed 
with the crowd to desist from tliis under- 
taking. But the final act in this farce, 
which had already well-nigh proved a trag- 
edy, was yet to come. In accordance with 
a current superstition ( that if the bewitched 
could draw blood on the witch above the 
breath — i. r., above the nostrils — and the 
witched would pray for the recovei-y of the 
'possessed,' they would recover), she was 
carried to Ashbridge"s, into the presence of 
the child, in whose hand the father put a 
pcu-knife ; but Molly said, 'Joshua, I will 
not let thy crazy child cut ine ; take it and 
tut me thyself." But as the blood must be 
drawn by the bewitched, and none other, 
Molly was held while the child scratched 
her face with her finger-nails until it bled 
|)rofusely. Then she was compelled to pray, 
which she did in these words: '() my God I 
have mercy on tliis child, and restore her to 
liealth!' 'No I not th;/ God, for he is the 
devil, but to my God and the child"s God." 
Finally satisfied, they released her; she de- 
[larted, and the crowd disjiersed, no doubt 
confident in the belief that they had to do 
with as veritable a witch as that of Endor, 
whom the bible .-^ays Saul consulted." 

Mcsozolc Fossih. — In the Connecticut val- 
ley immense numbers of foot prints, mostly 
of three-t(jed animals, have been found in 
the ijuarries of the mesozoic fornuitioii. 
These animals were at first supposed to be 



birds, and a few of them gigantic batrachians 
(frogs); but subsequent discoveries in many 
parts of the world, and especially in the 
western territories of the United States, 
have proved them to be large sauroid (lizard- 
like) animals with certain bird-like features. 
Some of these foot prints may have been 
made by earl}- forms of birds, but the ma- 
jority of them were undoubtedly made by 
reptiles, some of which were furnished with 
wings. This is proved by the sudden com- 
mencement and termination of the rows of 
foot prints, sliowing that the creatures 
alighted ou and again rose from the shore 
Tnud into the air. 

In Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, saurian 
bones were found, described by Dr. Isaac 
Lea, under the name of Chpsii^nnrii-' pep/i- 
sylcaniruf. 

"At Plupuixvillt', while the tunnel was 
made, many fossil bones, teeth and plants 
were thrown out, and collected by Mr. 
Charles M. Wheatley. I'rof. Rogers found 
here a tooth, which he figures, Geol.Pa. II., 
page 698. Dr. Lea supposed this tooth to 
have belonged either to a Clepumiurnf, or to 
another lizaid called Centemodon .■^ulratun, 
found in New Jersey." (lanoid fisii scales 
have also been found at I'ha-nixville. 

Exlbirt VtTfilirutrts. — Uf the thirty species 

of vertibrate animals of northern Chester 

county examined by Prof. E. D. Cope (see 

Proc. Amer. Piiilosoph. Soc. Xll.. p. 15, 

February 3, 1S71) there were serpents, 

(mostly harndess), and tortoises of several 

species. Among tlie rodents was beaver. 

Among the ruminants were several Inpliv 

! and a small horse, .\mong the carnivora 

was a cat of large size, and a large bear 

i {Lekh/'.i Ursii.< pr!.'<liiius) entirely distinct 

j from the cave bear orlivingspeciesof Europe 

I and America. Three species of sloths were 



186 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



found, mostly gigantic ; one was new, and 
named by Prof. Cope Megalonyx wheatleyi; 
two were Mylodons, and one of these was 
probably new. Teeth and tusks of a mas- 
todon [Tnlophoihm ohioticus), which had fal- 
len into the fissure of a large limestone cav- 
ern, or been swept into it, were also found. 
None of the bones were gnawed, and the 
fissure had never been used by or known to 
the aborigines or predacious beasts, being 
completely' concealed until exposed by 
quarrymen. 

Indian Fiin-husis.— In lt)8>5 Penn pur- 
chased of an Indian chief, Wingabone, all 
of his land that was west of the Schuylkill 
river. In the same year two Indian chiefs, 
Secane and Icquoquehan, conveyed to 
Penn the lands lying between the Schuyl- 
kill river and Chester creek, while Kekel- 
lappan sold Penn half of his land between 
the Delaware and Susquehanna rivers. Two 
years later, on July 30, 1685, Shakahoppoh, 
Secane, Malibor, and Tangoras, Indian 
"sakemakers," sold all of the central and 
northern parts of Chester county to Penn. 
In 1706 the commissioners of property paid 
one hundred pounds to the Indian chief, 
Sheehonickan, for a strip of land along the 
Brandywine; and on September 17, 1718, 
a deed of release was made by several Del- 
aware chiefs for all the laud within the 
county. 

Earhi LuiOi/crs. — The following list em- 
braces the names of all the mend^ers of the 
bar admitted at West Chester from 1787 to 
1821: 

1787. — David Smith, James Wade, John 
Joseph Henry, William R. Atlee, W. Mont- 
gomery, Sampson Levy, James Hopkins, 
Samuel Roberts, Samuel Bayard, Matthias 
Baldwin and James A. Bayard. 

1788. — Thomas Armstrong, Peter S. Dii- 



ponceau, Jasper Yeates, Peter Hoofnagle, 
Joseph Hubley, William Graham. 

1789. — John Hallowell, Joseph Thomas, 
Robert Porter, Charles Healty, Anthony 
Morris, John Craig Wells, John Cadwalla- 
der, John Moore. 

1790.— Thomas B. Dick, Abraham Chap- 
man, John Thompson, Marks John Biddle, 
David Moore, Isaac Telfair. 

1791.— Robert H. Durkin, Seth Chapn)an. 

1792. — Miles Merion. Robert Frazer, 
John Price. 

1793._Thomas W. Tallman, John H. 
Brinton, Evan Rice Evans, Joseph Hemp- 
hill, Michael Kepple, John Shippen, Henry 
Kelmuth, A. W. Foster. 

1794. — Jacob Richards, Joseph B. Hop- 
kinson, William Martin. 

1795. — J. Harvey Hurst, James Hunter, 
jr., James Milner, James Lattimer, jr., John 
Cloyd, Joseph Reid, Isaac Wayne. 

1797. — W. Lee Hannum. 

1798.— C. Chauncey, jr. 

1799.— Jonathan f. Haight, John Tay- 
lor, William Hemphill. 

1800.— Jonathan W. Condy, John Ser- 
geant, T. Barton Zantzinger, William De- 
wees. 

1801. — Isaac Darlington. 

1803. — James D. Bernard, Thomas Ser- 
geant, Samuel Jacobs, John Ewing Porter. 

1804.— John Duer. 

1800. — John Edwards, Charles W. Hum- 
phrey. 

1807. — Reuben Eachns. 

1808.— Ziba Pyle. 

1809.— Jcfferis Mooro, Mattliias Morris, 
Daniel Addis. 

1810.— Blathwaite J. Sliobcr, .Archibald 
T. Dick. 

1811.— Piiilip y. Marklcy, .Michael \V. 
Ash. 



OF CHESTEIi COUM'y. 



187 



1813. — Bi'iijainin 'I'llirlinijin. 'riionias 
Hrciiitiiail. 

1S14. — Jaiiu's Madison I'orter, William 
B. Smitli, Clonieiit B. Buckley, Henry Sliip- 
peii, John Kerlin, Benjamin Evans. 

ISI'). — Georg'e B. I'orter, Samuel Kd- 
wanls. 

l^lU.— George C. Willing, William 11. 
Dillingliani, Isaac J). Bernard, Thomas Kit- 
tera, Thomas A. Mayl)in. 

1H18. — Tovvnsend Haines. 

181!'. — Jesse Conani. 

1820.— William Williamson. 

1821.— AViliiam S. Haines, David Paul 
Hrown. Thomas S. Bell, Edward Darling- 
ton, Henry n. Van Amringe, John Freedley 
and Raniiiel Parke. 

Mcinhcrs of Congress. — The following is a 
list of the members of Congress from Chester 
county, with the years in which they were 
fleeted, the numher of the Congress in 
which they served, and their term of service : 

^'i-ui Nu. Congre.»i-s Nmhu- 

17!I4. Fourth liicliard Thomas. 

1796. Fifth Kicliard Thomas. 

1798. Sixth Richard Thomas. 

1800. Seventh Joseph Hemphill. 

1802. Eighth Lsaac Anderson. 

1804. Nintli Isaac Anderson. 

180ti. Tenth John Ileister. 

1808. Eleventh Daniel Ileister. 

181(1. Twelfth Dr. Roger Davis. 

1812. Thirteenth Dr. Roger Davis. 

1814. Fourteenth Dr. W. Darlington. 

181H. Fifteenth Isaac Darlington. 

1818. Sixteenth Dr. W. Darlington. 

1820. Seventeenth Dr. W. Darlington. 

1822. Eighteenth Col. Isaac Wayne. 

1824. Nineteenth Charles Miner. 

182«). Twentieth Charles Miner. 

1828. Twenty-tirst Joshua Evans. 

1830. Twenty-second ..Joshua Evun.s. 



Year. No. Ciingrc.v.s. Xanu-. 

188(1. Twenty-sei'ond.. David Potts, jr. 

ls:V2. Twenty-third.. ..David Potts, jr. 

l.s:34. Twenty-fourth. ..David Potts, jr. 

1886. Twenty-fifth David Potts, jr. 

1838. Twenty-sixth. ...Francis James. 

1840. Twenty-seventh Francis James. 

1843. Twenty-eighth. .A. R. Mcllvaine. 

1844. Twenty-ninth ....A. R. Mcllvaine. 

184»>. Thirtieth A. R. Mcllvaine. 

1348. Thirty-tirst Jesse C. Dickey. 

1850. Thirty-seconil ...Dr. J. A. Morrison. 

18o2. Thirty-third William Everhart. 

18.34. Thirty-fourth John Hickman. 

18.j6. Thirty-tifth John Hickman. 

1858. Thirtli-sixth John Hickman. 

186(1. Thirty-seventh ..John Hickman. 

1862. Thirty-eighth. ..Jno. M. Broomall. 

1864. Thirty-ninth Jno. M. Broomall. 

1866. Fortieth Jno. M. Broomall. 

1868. Forty-tirst W. Townsend. 

1870. Forty-second ....W. Townsend. 

1872. Forty-third W. Townsend. 

1874. Forty-fourth W. Townsend. 

1876. Forty-Hfth William Ward. 

1878. P'orty-sixth William Ward. 

1880. ?'orty-.sevcnth... William Ward. 

1882. Forty-eighth lames B. Everhart. 

18S4. Forty-ninth James B. Everhart. 

1886. Fiftietii Smedley Darlington 

1888. Fifty-tirst Smedley Darlington 

1890. Fifty-second John li. Rohin.son. 

1892. Fifty-third John B. Rohinson. 

Ercililoun Toniailo. — At 8 o'clock on the 
afternoon of July 1, 1877, a terrible tor- 
nado commenced at a point tliree-fourtlis of 
a mile southeast of tiie(tap Station, on tiie 
Pennsylvania railroad, ami about two miles 
west of the Chester county line. It swept 
a tract from fifty to two Imnilri-d yards in 
width, from the Chester county line to 
Broa«l run in West Brailford township, a 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



distance of about twenty-two miles. The 
path of the tornado was marked witli fear- 
ful destruction, and while several persons 
were badly injured, only one — Mary Hop- 
kins, a ne_^ro woman — was killed. The 
storm-cloud in its course passed along the 
southern limit of Parkesburg, overthrowing 
several frame buildings. Four miles east of 
Parkesburg it struck Ercildoun, destroying 
one-half of the houses in that place. The 
loss of property in C'hester county by this 
tornado amounted to ove_r thirty-six thous- 
and dollars. It has since been known as 
"the Ercildoun tornado." 

Welsli Trad. — The large survey known as 
the Welsh Tract included the townships of 
Haverford and Radnor in Delaware county ; 
Merlon, in Philadelphia county, and Tredy- 
ffrin, Whiteland, Willistown, Easttown, 
(Toshen, and part of Westtown, in Chester 
county. It comprised forty thousand acres, 
and was sold prior to 1684, by William 
Penn, to a colony of Welsh, from Haver- 
fordshire, Shropsliire and Cheshire, Wales. 



Conduslon. — Chester county is rich in its 
possibilities of production, and for nearly 
two centuries has been noted for the energy 
and enterprise of its business men and the 
virtue and intelligence of its people. First 
born of the sixty-seven counties of the 
great Keystone State, Chester was early 
settled by English, Welsh, German, and 
Scotch-Irish emigrants, who, however they 
dift'ered in matters of opinion, were alike 
possessed of remarkable thrift, sterling in- 
tegrity, and all the sterner virtues which 
characterize a high-minded, honorable and 
self-reliant people. Their mental and moral 
qualities have been transmitted to later 
generations, and to-day the people of Ches- 
ter constitute an intelligent, refined, and 
cultured population; while the record of 
the county's progress and development, 
from its earliest existence to the present 
hour, forms one of the brightest pages in 
the eventful history of the gi'and old Com- 
monwealth of Pennsylvania. 

Samuel T. Wiley. 




©^^. m/iiam (^e//Wr,Me//. 



CHESTER COUNTY 



^^BIOQRAPHIES.^ 



HON.WILLIAM BELL WADDELL, 
president judge of the Fifteentli judi- 
cial district of Penusylvaiiiii, and who has 
served with distinction in the legislature 
and senate of the "Keystone State," is an 
able lawyer and fine jurist, and has presided 
over the courts of Chester county with abil- 
ity, efficiency and impartiality. lie is a son 
of Robert and Mary (Bell) Waddcll, and 
was born in the city of Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, September 21, 1828. The Wad- 
dell family is of Scotch-Irish origin and 
traces its transatlantic ancestry back to the 
historic north of Ireland, where its Presby- 
terian ancestors were distinguished for brav- 
ery, firmness, intelligence and the love of 
liberty. One member of the family who 
was born in Ireland was the eloquent Dr. 
•lames Waddell, who, as -'The Blind 
Preacher" of William Wirt, will live for- 
ever in Virginia's eventful history. Another 
niemberofthe family in Ireland was William 
Waddell, the grandfather of Judge AVaddell, 
and the founder of one of the Waddell fam- 
ilies of the United States. lie was a com- 
patriot with Robert Emmet in the attempted 
struggle for Irish independence in 1803. 
and only escaped the fate of Emmet, whose 
dying words of eloquence will live until the 
end of time, by being helped out of prison, 

(19 



and escaping from Ireland on a vessel bound 
for the United States. He brought hie son 
Robert with him, and settled in Baltimore. 
There Robert Waddell (fatlier) j^rew to 
manhood, and learned the trade of wood 
carver. After attaining his majority, he 
followed his trade in Philadelpliia and 
Trenton, New Jersey, in which latter city 
he died on April 10, 1881, when in the 
eightieth year of his age. He married 
Mary S. Bell, who was a native of Philadel- 
phia, and passed away May 19, 1841, at 
thirty-five years of age. 

William Bell Waddell at six years of age 
was taken by his parents from Philadelphia 
to Trenton, New Jersey, where his mother 
died seven ycai-s later, and he was then sent 
to West Ciiester to prei)are for college. He 
pursued his academic studies in the private 
school of James Croweil, and in 1846 en- 
tered Prinqpton college, from which time- 
honored institution of learning he was 
graduated in the class of 1849. I^eaving 
college he returned to West Chester, where 
he read law with Joseph Ifcmphill. father 
of Judge Josepli Hemphill. He was admit- 
ted to the bar March 2, 18o2,and was steadily 
engaged in the practice of his profession at 
West Chester until his elevation to the 
bench in 1887. 
1) 



BIOGBAPUY AND HISTORY 



On December 27, 1855, Judge Waddell 
was united in marriage witli Mary Jane 
Wortliington, daughter of Carver AVortli- 
ington, and a member of the old and highly 
respected Worthington family, of Chester 
county. They have two children : Robert 
8. and Ruth R. Robert K. Waddell was 
graduated from Princeton college in the 
class of 1882, read law with his father, and 
was admitted to the Chester county bar on 
January 5, 1885, since which time he has 
been engaged in the active practice of his 
chosen profession at West Chester. 

In politics. Judge Waddell is a repub- 
lican, and his political career commenced in 
1864, when he was elected as a member of 
the house of representatives, of which body 
he was a member until 1867. During his 
second year as a member of the house, he 
was made chairman of the committee on 
judiciary, and during histhird year he served 
as chairman of the committee of ways and 
means, and was one of the candidates nom- 
inated for speaker, but was defeated. In 
1871 he was elected to the State senate and 
served until the close of his term in 1873, 
when he resumed his law practice, and gave 
his attention to it up to 1887. In that ^-ear 
the office of additional law judge was created 
for Chester county, and Mr. Waddell was 
unanimously recommended by the members 
of the bar. He had no opposition or com- 
petition, and was appointed by the governor 
to serve as additional law judge until the 
fall election of 1887. At that election he 
was elected for a term of ten years to com- 
mence in 1888 and expire in 1898. Upon 
the death of Judge J. Smith Futhey, in 
1888, by right of succession he became 
president judge of the Fifteenth judicial 
district, and has served acceptably in that 
position ever since. 



Judge Waddell is popular with his party 
and represented his district in the Repub- 
lican national convention of 1880 at Chi- 
cago, where he was the leader of the Blaine 
forces of Pennsylvania, and faithfully la- 
bored among his own delegation in the 
cause of the "Plumed Knight,'" in obedience 
to the instructions of bis district, and tlie 
sentiment of the State, although his own 
preference was for John Sherman, of Ohio, 
whom he admired as a statesman and finan- 
cier. As a legislator he was ever true to 
the interests of his constituents, and never 
neglectful of the public welfare. 

In religious belief Judge Waddell leans 
to the doctrines and teachings of the Presby- 
terian church, in wdiose faith his Scotch- 
Irish ancestors lived and died. In the 
municipal and financial aftairs of West Ches- 
ter he has always taken interest, and while 
refusing to accept any borough office, yet 
has served for several years as a director of 
the National bank of Chester county. His 
high reputation as a lawyer is well deserved. 
He is clear, logical and practical, and by 
close and exhaustive study, always fully 
prepared his cases for trial. 

Able as a jurist, courteous as a citizen, 
honorable as a man, upright as a judge, 
William Bell Waddell has discharged all 
his duties to his country, his fellow-citizens, 
and society, in a manner that has caused 
him to be feared by evil doers, respected 
by the law-abiding, and popular with the 
great masses of the people. 



□ NTHONY WAYNE. The fearless 
courage and desperate energy of Gen. 
Anthony Wayne obtained for him, among 
his countrymen, the title of "Mad Anthony ;" 
and some of his exploits entitle him to the 



OF CHESTER COVNTY. 



19S 



distinction. He was born in Easttown, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, on the Ist of 
January, 1745. He was educated with con- 
siderable care, in Pliiladelphia, became pro- 
ficient in mathematics, and commenced the 
business of surveying, in liis native town, 
at the age of aV)out eighteen years. iSkill 
and popularity in his profession soon estab- 
lished his reputation permanently; and in 
176.'>, wlien only twenty years of age, he 
was sent by a company of gentlemen to lo- 
cate lands for them in Nova Scotia. They 
made him superintendent of the settlement, 
but after remaining there about two years, 
he returned home, married, and resumed 
his business of surveyor, in his native county. 
His talent attracted general attention, and, 
in 1773, he was elected to a seat in the 
Pennsylvania assembly. He continued in 
that service until 177''), when he left the 
council for the field, having been appointed 
<-olonel in the Continental army. He ac- 
lompanied General Thomas to Canada, in 
the spring of 1776, and at the close of ser- 
vice there, he was promoted to brigadier. 
After a year of active service, he was en- 
gaged efficiently with the commander-in- 
chief in the battles of Brandywine, Ger- 
niantown, and Monmouth, in all of which 
his skill and valor were conspicuous. In 
1779 he made a night attack upon the strong 
fortress at Stony Point, on the Hudson, and 
the entire garrison were made prisoners. It 
was one of the most brilliant achievements 
(jf the war, and congress rewarded him witli 
its thanks and a gold medal. It made him 
the most i.>opular man in the army, below 
the commander-in-chief,and his praises were 
spoken in every part of the land. 

He conquered the western Indians iu 
1794, and died at Presque Isle (now Erie), 
on the shore of Lake Erie. December 14, 



1796, where his remains were tirst interred, 
but in 1809 they were removed and en- 
tombed in the family cemetery at St. David's 
church, in Chester county. 

•'Mad Anthony Wayne," wise in council, 
brave in danger, and terrible in battle, has 
left behind him a name that will live through 
all the centuries, and his momory will ever 
be cherished throughout the earth wlierever 
patriotism, duty and high moral worth are 
known and appreciated. 



JTAMES PILE WICKEKSHAM, 
LL.D., one of the leading educators of 
the United States, was a son of Caleb Wick- 
ersham, and was born in Newlin township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, March .'>. 
1825. The Wickersham family is a brandi 
of the old Wickersham family of Bolney 
parish, England, from which Thomas 
Wickereham came to Marlborough town- 
ship, where he bought a thousand acre 
tract of land. Fifth in descent from him 
was Caleb Wickersham (father), who mar- 
ried a Miss Pyle, of Quaker faith. 

James Wickershanfs education was ob- 
tained mainly in common schools and at the 
Unionville academy. At the age of six- 
teen he began to teach school, and while he 
taught he worked harder than any of his 
pupils, and by the time he was twenty he 
had become a good general scholar; being 
w'ell versed in mathematics and in some of 
the natural sciences, and reading with 
facility several of the ancient and modern 
languages. 

As a teacher, Mr. Wiekershams success 
was marked from the beginning. The 
common scliools he taught were considered 
among the very best. In 1845 lie became 
principal of the Marietta academy, Lancas- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



ter county, in which position he was very 
successful, and remained ten years. Upon 
the establishment of the office he was 
elected county superintendent of schools 
in the county where he lived, and a year 
thereafter founded the Normal institute, 
at Millersville, out of which eventually de- 
veloped the first State Normal school in 
Pennsylvania, and, in fact, the whole nor- 
mal school system. In 1856 he became the 
permanent principal of this 'school, and 
made it, in the ten years he remained at its 
head, one of the most flourishing institu- 
tions in the county, running the number of 
students in attendance up to a thousand. 
In 1866 he accepted the position of State 
superintendent of common schools, and 
served until 1881. During his adminis- 
tration Pennsylvania made great progress in 
her school affairs, and became the acknowl- 
edged peer in this respect of any State in the 
Union. The educational exhibition made 
under his direction at the Centennial was 
unequaled by that of any other State or 
nation. While serving as State superintend- 
ent he was repeatedly offered important and 
honorable educational positions in other 
States, but always declined to accept them. 
During President Arthur's administration 
Dr. Wickersham served as minister to 
Denmark, and after his return to the United 
States, was actively engaged in educational 
work until his death, which occurred at 
Lancaster, this State, March 25, 1891, at 
sixty-six years of age. In 1863 he com- 
manded an emergency regiment during the 
Gettysburg campaign. He served twice as 
president of the National association of 
teachers, and was the author of three valu- 
able educational works, two of which — 
School Economy and Methods of Teaching 
— are of world-wide reputation. 



nOBERT EMMET MONAGHAN is 
a leading member of the Chester 
county bar. He has always taken a deep 
interest in the business enterprises of the 
country, and the political affairs of his 
county and State. He is a son of James 
and Catharine (Streeper) Monaghan, and 
was born on the 24th of July, 1822, in 
West Fallowfield township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. His father was a native of 
county Fermanagh, Ireland, from whence 
he came to America about 1799, when he 
was nineteen years of age. He had been 
engaged in the rebellion in Ireland, under 
the leadership of Robert Emmet, and was 
secretary of one of the United Irishmen's 
associations, and took an active part in 
their contest against the British govern- 
ment. When Emmet failed, the young 
secretary was compelled to flee to the 
United States. He landed with other fugi- 
tives, at New Castle, Delaware, without 
funds and among strangers. Being pos- 
sessed of a liberal education he taught 
school in Delaware State, and in Chester 
county, Pennsylvania; and for a consider- 
able period was a clerk in a store and a 
" nail-works." He subsequently became a 
farmer in Chester county, and resided on 
his farm in the same county until his death 
in October, 1841. He took an active part 
in the various enterprises of his neighbor- 
hood, and in the politics of his adopted 
country. He was an earnest and positive 
democrat. For many years he was a jus- 
tice of the peace, and was nominated by 
the Democratic party as a candidate for the 
State legislature in 1836, and lacked only 
thirty votes of being elected. He was 
twice married. His first wife was Hannah 
Jackson, a sister of the Hon. William Jack- 
son, who was, at one time, a state senator, 




(^^<?2^/ -^mme/ (^0c/madan. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



By tliis marriage he liad tlirec cliildrcii ; 
John, Williaju and Hannah, all of wlioni 
are deceased. His second wife was of Oer- 
nian descent, and was liorn in Montijoniery 
county. Pennsylvania. Ifer maiden name 
was Catliarine 8treepei-. I'hey liad ten 
children: James. Jonathan J., .\laigaret S., 
Mai-y J., K. Montgomery. Andrew J., Cath- 
arine S., Robert I'lmmet, Alicia it., and E. 
Kandolph. Six of these still snrvi\e. and 
all reside in their native county of Chester. 
Robert Emmet Monaglian was horn on 
his father's farm and grew up as a practical 
farmer's hoy until he was over twenty years 
of age. lie received his education in the 
neighhorliood of his birthplace and at the 
academies of [^nionville and New London, 
in Chester county, and Strasburg. in Lan- 
caster county. He commenced his business 
life b^- teaching school in liis native I'ounty 
for twenty dollars per month. He also 
assisted to teacli in Xew London and 
Inionville academies. After teaching for 
a time lie was ofiered the position of col- 
lector on the reniisyivania canal, at Liver- 
pool, I'erry county, whicli office he occu- 
pied for three years, during which period 
lie read law under the instruction of Hon. 
Hamilton Aldricks, of Harrisl)urg. Being 
of a studious character and industrious 
habits, ami possessing a full measure of 
the Irish gift of eloquence, he began the 
practice of tlie law at West Cliester some 
forty years ago. The earnest manner in 
which he adopted the cause of liis clients 
soon gave iiim pronnnence in his profes- 
sion; and his frank, fearless and indepen- 
dent manner of sjieech, and the honest ad- 
herence to his every conviction, gained the 
confidence of the citizens in all parts of 
his county. During the whole of his pro- 
fessional life he lias retained tlie support 



and highi'st regards of lijc pc()|ilc. 11 i> 
name is connected with a iinmi)er of lead- 
ing cases found in the iipiiit> of th.- Su- 
pi-eme court of the State. 

He is. and always has been, an aidcnl and 
leading democrat, and has taken an acli\e 
and influential [lart in the councils of the 
party for many years, lie represented the 
county of Cliester in the legislature when 
quite a young man ; has been ninny times 
a representative in the State <(iii\(iitioiis. 
and was chairman of the ennveiitions of 
187IJ and 1880, which elected the delegates 
to the National conventions that nominated 
Samuel J. Tilden and (ieneral Hancock. 
He was elector at large on the Hancock 
electoral ticket in 1880, and reeeiveil the 
highest nnnd>er of votes of any candidate 
on the ticket. He was twice delegate to 
the National conventions of his jiarty, and 
was an original Tilden delegate in the 
St. Louis convention, in 1876, wdiich nom- 
inated Mr. Tilden. He has been several 
times a member of the Democratic State 
Central Committee. He was a member 
of that committee in the eventful cam- 
paign of 1860, and diil all in his pow'er to 
unite his party in the State, so as to defeat 
the election of Mr. Lincoln, on the ground, 
as he then said, "to prevent a conflict be- 
tween the sections of tlie Union.'" He was 
an influential member of the committee of 
thirty-four, sent by the Democratic State 
convention at Harrisburg, to Washington 
city, in the month of February, 18111, whose 
mission was to aid in eft'ecting some com- 
promise among the States, and. if possible, 
to save the country from the civil strife be- 
tween the North and South, wliich after 
wards desolated the States. He was a can- 
didate for Congress in 18()8.but was defeated 
by Hon. Washington Tt>wnseiid. He and 



BIOORAPHY AND HISTORY 



Mr. Townsend stumped the district in joint 
discussion, with credit to themselves and 
great satisfaction to their friends. And to 
their great honor they were better friends 
at the close of the campaign than at the 
commencement of the contest. Their warm 
personal friendship continues undinimed bj' 
years. Mr. Mouaghan was nominated 
against Hon. Wayne MacVeagh for the 
office of District attorney in Chester county, 
and was beaten by about five hundred votes 
in the county, which gave thousands of a 
majority against his party. lie has served 
in the councils of the borough of West 
Chester, for twelve j-ears was a trustee of 
the Normal school of West Chester, and 
for a portion of the time he was president 
of the board of trustees. He always gave 
his influence in favor of such projects as 
would develop and advance the best inter- 
ests of the people. He has been and is 
director in several of the local improvements 
of his county. He was one of the first di- 
rectors of the Electric Light Company in 
West Chester. He is a member of the 
board of public charities. He is also the 
president of the West Chester Gentleman's 
club, and the Assembly Building associa- 
tion, of which he was one of the originators. 
He is now president, and one of the active 
managers, of the Chester County Agricul- 
tural society. He was one of the corpor- 
ators of the Union Trust Company of Phil- 
adelphia, and has been, and is, a member of 
its board of directors from its organization 
to the present time. His name was twice 
before the Democratic State convention and 
received a respectable vote as a candiate for 
the office of governor. In 1891 he was 
placed on the Democratic State ticket as a 
delegate at large to the proposed Constitu- 
tional convention, and was elected, leading 



his ticket in the State by over four hundred 
votes. In 1890 he was appointed by Gov- 
ernor Beaver a member of the joint com- 
mission from the States of Pennsylvania 
and Delaware, composed of Hon. Wayne 
MacVeagh, W. H. Miller, Esq., and himself, 
of Pennsylvania, and Hon. Thomas F. Bay- 
ard, Dr. B. L. Lewis, and Hon. John H. 
Hoftiecker, of tlie State of Delaware. The 
duties of these commissioners are to define, 
settle and mark the dividing line between 
the two States. Recently he has been ap- 
pointed by Governor Pattison on the impor- 
tant commission, with Hon. Charles R. 
Buckalew and Ovid F. Johnson, Esq., for 
the "Promotion of the uniformity of legis- 
lation in the United States." He adheres 
to the teachings of the fathers of democracy. 
He is for tariff reform, l:)y the absolute re- 
duction of duties to the needs of the gov- 
ernment, conducted on the sti'ictest princi- 
ples of economy, and opposed to the increase 
of salaries of public officers. In politics he 
adheres to the doctrines and principles ad- 
vocated by Jefferson and sustained by Jack- 
son. He believes that taxation should be 
equal to be just, and fairness should be done 
as well to agriculturists as to manufacturers 
and the other active pursuits of the people. 
He favors the Jackson standard of hard 
money, l)oth gold and silver. On the cur- 
rency question he adheres to the position 
he took in 1876, when, as president of the 
Democratic State convention, at Lancaster, 
he declared in his address at the opening of 
the convention, "My best judgement is that 
we should have a sound currency' based 
upon gold andsilver,the recognized commer- 
cial representatives of exchange througout 
the nations of the world." He believes, 
with Senator Daniels, of Virginia, and other 
leading democratic statesmen, that free and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



fair coinage of silver is demanded by the 
atrriculturists and others of the producing 
and hiboring classes; and that the time has 
come when it is impossible to keep the sil- 
ver question from being one of the leading 
issues of the hour; and that the people of 
the north, south, east and west have forced 
it to the front, and that neither Wall street 
money changers, nor the managers of cor- 
porations and monopolies, nor the gamblers 
in stocks, can divert the people from the 
contest. 

In addition to his legal business Mr. Mon- 
aghan has always taken an active interest 
in farming. In his earlier years he invested 
his savings in land, which constitutes the 
foundation of the large farming interests he 
has been conducting for the past fifteen 
years in the State of Missouri. Mr. Mon- 
aghan has eaten no bread of idleness. He 
has lived a very busy life of constant indus- 
try and activity. He is a man of positive 
character, and of undoubted ability, and 
wliose honesty of purpose has gained for 
him a high place in the estimation of the 
community in which he lives, and through- 
out tlie State wherever he is known. 



FRANK P. DAKLIN(iT()N, one of 
the leading business men of West 
Chester, who is vice president of tlie West 
Chester board of trade, and prominently 
identified with a nundier of important gw- 
terprises in the borough, is fourth of the 
five sons of Amos II. and Sarah II. ( Strode) 
Darlington, and was liorn June 1, 1850, in 
East Bradford township. Chester county, 
Pcunsylvania. He grew to maidiood in 
this county, and received a superior English 
education at Fairville institute. After leav- 
ing school he engaged for a time in farming 



on the old homestead in East Bradfonl 
townshi}), and then accepted a position as 
bookkeeper with the dry goods firm of >s. 
II. Brown & Co., in the city of IMiiladd- 
phia. At the end of two years he became 
salesman for the same company and spent 
about two years in that capacity, after 
which lie returned to West Chester, this 
county, and in 1871 embarked in the 
grocery and provision business at this place. 
His store is located on the corner of Market 
and Church streets, and contains at all 
times a full stock of everything connected 
with his line. Being a man of fine execu- 
tive ability, sound judgment and strict in- 
tegrit}', he has succeeded in building up a 
large trade, and now finds himself at the 
head of a lucrative and constantly growing 
business. In addition to this he is largely 
connected with a number of other enter- 
prises, being secretary and treasurer of the 
Cooper Medicine Company; vice president 
of the West Chester board of trade; and 
a director in the West Chester Electric 
Light Company, besides other business in- 
terests here and elsewhere. Mr. Darlington 
has always taken an active part in every 
enterprise calculated to increase the pros- 
perity of the borough, and as a business 
man and citizen stands deservedly high. 
Politically he is a republican, and has served 
as a member of the borough council two 
terms, during the latter of which he acted 
as second burgess, and in the absence of 
the chief burge.ss served as chief burgess 
for a time. 

On April 30, 187ft, Mr. Darlington was 
united in marriage to Annie D. Tate, a 
daughter of Joseph G. Tate, a well-known 
and prosperous business man of riiiladcl- 
phia. To Mr. and Mrs. Darlington have 
been born three sons: Herbert T., born 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



SeptemV)er 11, 1880; J. Benson, born Au- 
gust 3, 1887: and Irwin, l>orn May 10, 
1890. 

The Darlingtons of Cliester county are 
ileseenrled from Job and Mary Darlington, 
of Darnhall, Cheshire, England, two of 
whose sous, Abraham and John, emigrated 
to America prior to 1711, and settled near 
the town of Chester, in what is now T)ela- 
wai'e county. John, the younger of these 
two brothers, finally removed to Maryland, 
and his history and that of his descendants, 
if any, has become obscure and uncertain. 
Abraham Darlington married Deborah Car- 
ter, a daughter of Joseph Carter, and after 
her death without issue, in 1716, he wedded 
Klizabeth ITillVjorn, a daughter of Thomas 
and Klizabeth Ilillborn, of Bucks county, 
and l)ecame the progenitor of the numer- 
ous family of Darlingtons in Chester county 
and vicinit}', now numbering nearly two 
thousand souls. He had learned the sad- 
dler's trade in England, l>ut it is supposed 
he did not devote much attention to it after 
locating on the farm in Chester county. 
He, however, became widely known as a 
physician and surgeon, being very skillful 
in the treatment of disease, and apparantly 
a natural born surgeon. After his mar- 
riage Abraham lived in Ashton township, 
then Chester, now Delaware county, until 
1723, wlien he removed to a farm on the 
loft bank of Brandywine creek in Birming- 
ham township, about half a mile above 
Chad's Ford. Here he purchased two hun- 
dred acres of land for eighry pounds ster- 
ling, and resided upon it until his death, 
February 9, I77fi. His wife died December 
28,1771. Their children were ten in num- 
ber: Mary, Deborah, Elizabeth, Abraham, 
Thomas (great-grandfather), John, Hannah, 
Hachel, Job and Rebecca. The farm de- 



scended to the eldest son, Abraham Dar- 
lington (2), and lias since passed out of the 
family, the principal portion of it being 
now the property of Clement Biddle. 

Thomas Darlington (great-grandfather), 
married, April 25, 1754, Hannah Brintou, a 
daughter of Edward Brintou, of Birming- 
ham, and settled in East Bradford, on one 
hundred acres of his father's land, purchased 
from John Strode in 1750. Their children 
were : Edward, Abraham, Thomas, Jesse, 
Amos, George, Stephen, Hannah, Elizabeth. 
Emanuel and Brintou. Emanuel Darlington 
(grandfather) was born June 28, 1775, in 
East Bradford township, tliis county, and 
after attaining manhood engaged in agri- 
culture, and followed that pursuit all his life. 
Politicalh' he was an old-line whig, and 
in religion a strict member of the Society 
of Friends. He married Martha House, 
and had a family of live children, one son 
and four daughters : Sarah, Hannah, Phoebe, 
Mar^' and Amos Darlington (father). The 
latter was a native of East Bradford town- 
ship, born in 1814. He was reared on the 
home farm and educated in the subscription 
schools of his neighborhood. After leaving 
school he engaged in farming and made 
that the principal business of his life. He 
died at his home in East Bradford township, 
April 20, 1866, aged fifty-two years, and 
greatly respected by a wide circle of friends. 
In politics he was an active republican, and 
held many of the offices in his township. 
He was a life long member of the Society 
of Friends, and married Sarah II. Strode, 
a daughter of Richard Strode. She was 
born in East Bradford township in 1810, 
and is still living in her native township, 
being very active for a woman of her great 
age. Her father was born in Westtown 
towMiship, but lived during the latter part of 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. IIW 



lii.s lift' ill West Clicstor, fh'iii«>- tliero at uii [ I'resbytciiaii miiii-lrv. tVom tlic iiiiintiiii:' "t" 

inlvaiicod age. He was a t'armer and mir- j liis license to preaeii. in ISi's. to iiis di'nlli, 

servnnm. By liis marriage witli Harali 11. wliieli oecurred in IsTs. wlnn ju \\;is in \\'^■ 

Strode .VIr. Darlington had a family of live seventy-second year of liir^ agf. He \va> ilic 

cliildreii, all sons: Kieliard S., wlio serve<l founder of Oxford seminary, a training 

in the State militia during the civil war, and I school for women as teachers. ;inil Ashiniiii. 

is now su[ierintendent of the West Chester | now Lincoln, university, fni- lljc cduciiiinn 

hriek ami tile works at West Chester: Ku- i of Negro teachers ami ministers to >cr\c 

gene, now a resident of Oreenwood, Ken- ! their race in every quarter of the \\<irld. 
tuoky. where he is cngagcil in nicrchandis- Mr. Dickey was ;i stmng almlil lunist. 

ing: l''dwiii. a [irosperons farmer residing i heli)ed found the .Xatiniial hank ol' n.\rniil. 

on the (lid homestead in Kast Bratlfortl i and was --a leading spirit in all depart nts 

township: l''rank I*., the snhjecf of this ! of jiuhlic usefulness in which he was 

sketch ; an<l S. Uarnard. now a clerk and engaged." 

hookkeepei" in the employ of his hrother, 

Frank ?. Darlington, at West Chester. i 'U/AJ.TEK A. MaoDONA LI), who is 



now serving his second term as county 
I surveyor of Cliester county, is the youngest 

nEV. .lOlIN .^IILLEK DICKEY, l>. son of .lohn and .lane ( Lilley) .MacDmiaM. 
1)., a distingnislu'd i'resliyterian divine. and was Imni at Coi-hranvillc. Chester 
and the principal founder of LiiKoln iini- county, Pennsylvania, Se|>teinl)er "in. ls.")!t. 
versity, the tirst Xegro college in the w(.rl<l. ; His early education was ohtaim-d in the 
was a .son of Rev. Eheiiezer Dickey, and was puhlic sehnols ol' rcny county, lu which his 
born at Oxford. Chester county. I'eiinsyl- jiaicnts had removed, and he siilisei|Ueutly 
vania, DeeemljerHl, isod. He wasof Scotch- I entenMl tin- ( 'umherlaud \allcy institute, at 
Irisli descent, and his great-grandfatlier, i Meciianicshurg. Cumherland county, where 
Samuel Dickey, sr., came in an early day he took a thorough course of training uinlcr 
from the north of Ireland to West Xotting- the tutelage of Dr. Kgc. and studied siir- 
ham township, whcreliisson, Samuel Dickey veying and civil engineering. -M'lcreom- 
(gramlfather). huilt the tirst cotton factory | jdeting his studies he was engaged for a 
west of the Schuylkill river. Samuel Hickey time witli the Harrishurg city surveying 
married, ami his son, Hev. Ehenezer Dickey corps in active >crvi.-e at the State capital, 
(father), was a prondnent i'reshyterian miii- l.att'r he laine to Chester county and cn- 
ister of Chester county. Kev. Elienezer I gaged in teaching for two or three years. 
Dickey married an<l reared a family of three j In ]!S.S;> lie assisted in making the surveys 
sons and tlirec daughters. Tlie sons. Kcv. of Cliester county from which the <-.\cellent 
.John M., Hev. Samuel, and Dr. Khenezer V., county map of that year was prepared, and 
were all very prominent and higidy useful tlie following year he was connected with 
nn-n in Chestei- cmiiity. the city surveying corjis of Ui^ading. I'enn- 

• lidin \l. Dickey was a graduate of Diek- sylvania. During ISS] he was in the cm- 
in.son college and I'rincelon 'I'hcologieal ploy of the I'ennsylvania Uailroad Com- 
seniinary, ami spent half a ceiituiy in the pany, engaged in surveying their extensions 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



in Centre connty, and in tlie spring of 1885 
was appointed borougli surveyor of West 
Chester, this county. In 1886 Mr. Mac- 
Donakl was elected county surveyor of 
Chester county, and discharged the duties 
of that position with such distinguished 
ability that he was reelected in 1889 for a 
second term. He has served at the same 
time as borough surveyor for West Chester, 
and does a large amount of outside surve}-- 
ing and civil engineering, among which has 
been eonsidei'al>le lu'idge work. He is un- 
married. 

Archibald MacDonald, paternal grand- 
father of Walter A., was born in the high- 
lands of Scotland, amid scenes nuxde forever 
famous by the immortal Burns, and grew 
up and was educated there. Ere middle 
life was i-eached he determined to leave his 
native land and seek a newer home in that 
new world which scientists believe to be the 
old. He came to America, and was led by 
circumstances to Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he settled near Coatesville, 
and passed the remainder of his life. Im- 
Vjued b}" early associations and ^inherited 
tendencies, with a love for out-door exist- 
ence and personal independence, he devoted 
his life to agricultural pursuits, and became 
prosperous and influential. He reared a 
large family, of whom John MacDonald 
(father) was one. Tlie latter was born in 
Chester county, near Coatesville, in 1811, 
grew to manhood on the fai'm, and re- 
ceived such education as was aftbrded by 
the schools of that early day. After leav- 
ing school he learned the trade of mill- 
wright, and in 1844 was married to Jane 
Lilley, by whom he had a family of four 
children, lie worked at his trade in this 
county for a number of years, but while his 
children were yet small removed to Perry 



county, and continued to reside there until 
his death, in 1887, at the advanced age of 
seventy-six years. In later life he became 
a farmer and was quite successful. Politi- 
I'ally he was a republican, and active!}' sup- 
ported that party in all its efibrts to pre- 
serve the unity of this country, free the 
slaves, and establish the government on a 
firm and enduring Ijasis. For many years 
he was a prominent member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, and earnest in his 
support of all ettorts intended to benefit his 
fellow man. Many still live who can tes- 
tify to his kindlj' nature and frequent acts 
of benevolence and hearty good will for his 
neighbors and all with whom he was ac- 
quainted. His wife preceded him to the 
tomb, dying in 1871, at the age of sixty 
years. Their two daughters are Lizzie A. 
and Lydia A., twins, the former of whom 
married Thomas Pennell, a prosperous 
farmer residing near Duncannon, Perry 
county, and the latter living also at Dun- 
cannon. The two sons are John Wesley, 
now with the Kent Iron and Hardware 
company at Wilmington, Delaware, and 
Walter A., the principal subject of the fore- 
going sketch, who to-day stands among the 
most successful, useful, and highly re- 
spected young men of Chester county. 



HON. JOHN HICKMAN, who won 
I^ational reputation, and whose con- 
gressional speeches attracted universal at- 
tention by their force and keenness of satire, 
was a son of John and Sarah (Jefteris) Hick- 
man, and was born in what is now Pocopson 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
September 11, 1810. Francis and Elizabeth 
Hickman came from England to Chester 
county prior to 1085. Their son, Ben- 



OP CHESTER COUNTY. 



201 



jamiii Ilickniiin, married Ann Buffington, 
and their son, Francis llifkinan, wedded 
Ann Marshall, and reared a family of several 
children, one of whom was John Hickman, 
the father of the subject of tliis sketch. 

John Hickman received his education at 
"Bragg Hill" under the instruction of a 
private instructor, who was a graduate of 
Edinburgli university. He read law with 
Townsend Haines, was admitted to the bar 
in 1882, and his career as a lawyer was one 
of eminent success. 

Mr. Hickman was a iliaruiing and win- 
ning speaker, and soon became popular in 
the Democratic party. He held the office 
of district attorney for tliree terms, and 
served as a member of Congress from 1^.35 
to 1863. His vote was recorded against 
admitting Kansas as a State under the Lc- 
compton constitution, and in the Tliirty- 
si.\th Congress he voted with the republi- 
cans. He was a prominent candidate for 
tiie republican nomination for the vice-pres- 
idency in 18t)0, and in 1X68 declined a re- 
election to Congress. Mr. Hickman was a 
merciless opponent of slavery and secession, 
and sarcastically referred to the Jolin Brown 
raid as an event in which the whole State 
of A'irgiuia was frightened by seventeen 
men and a cow. He also asked the State's 
rights leaders in Congress, during 18G0. if 
eighteen millions uf northern men, with all 
the appliances of art, would not be able to 
cope with eight millions of southern men 
without those apjiliances. Huring the war 
his views of public poliry were in advance 
of his political contemporaries. While lie 
gave National reputation to his district, was 
firm as a rock, eloquent, and of undoubted 
integrity, yet he lacked some qualities es- 
sential to jiolitical leadership, and never 
reached tiic higher positions in govern- 



mental afi'airs for which he was (|Ualified by 
ability and scholarship. Hewaswell known 
throughout the country for his remarkable 
mental power and brilliant scintilations of 
wit, and died at his home at West Chester, 
March 28, 187.3. 



QAMUELD.KAMSEV,wli<..-ca.tivL- in- 
tellect was early attracted by the myster- 
iesof that profession towhicb Biackstonede- 
voted his powerful mind, has for more than a 
score of years maintained a jiosition of prom- 
inence at the West Chester bar. lie is the 
second son of James K. aii<i .Mary (Dickey) 
liamsey, being born .fuly 24, 1848, in tlie 
borough of Hopewell, Chester count}', Penn- 
sylvania. The Ramseys areof Celtic origin, 
the great-grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch. William Ramsfy. having been born 
in Ireland, but emigrated from that country 
while yet a lad and located at East Notting- 
ham, this county. After reaching man's es- 
tate he married and reared a fiimily, but con- 
tinued to residf at East Xottinglianj until 
his death at an advanced age. \V\> sun 
William Ramsey (grandfatiier), was born in 
East Nottingham township, this county, but 
after attaining mauliond icniovcd to Lan- 
caster county and scttieil near Georgetown, 
wliere he died. He was a merchant, and 
mari'icd Rebecca Wilson, by whom he had a 
family of two children, one son and a tlaugh- 
ter: James R. (father) and Ann. James R. 
Ramsey was born February 14.1sl.j.in Lan- 
caster county, this State. He received winil 
was considered a good education in that day, 
and became an energetic ami successful busi- 
ness man. He engage<i in a number of en- 
terprises, all of which seemed to prospci-in 
his hands. During the last twenty years (») 
his life he served as treasurer of the Phila- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



(leipliia & BaltiiiLorf Central liailroad Com- 
pany. He died December 24, 1871, at bis 
iiome near Oxford, tbis county. Politically 
lie was a rei>ublican, and served during tbe 
(lark (lays of tbe civil war as president of 
tiic Inion League of Oxford. He held a 
number of minor offices, and was a promi- 
nent member of tbe Presbyterian cburcli, 
sei'ving as trustee for many years. He mar- 
ried Mary Dickey, and to tbeni was born a 
lamily of tbi-ee sons: William W., now a 
well known business man in tbe city of Cbi- 
cago and [)resident of tbe corporation of 
Ramsey, Riiodes A: Co.: Samuel J>.. tbe 
principal subject of tbis sketcb : and .1. 
Everton, casliier of tiie National bank of 
Oxford, tbis county. 

Samuel D. Pamsey was educated at Hope- 
well acailemy and Oxford semimiry,and after 
completing bis academic education lie, in 
April, 18mi, entered tbe office of tiiat dis- 
tinguislied attorney and stutesnian, tlje Hon. 
Wayne Mac\'eagli. in West Chester, and 
liegan tbe study of law. After two years 
of careful |ii-eparation be was admitted to 
tbe baron .\]iril i'4, iSTl.and immediately 
ojpcncd an office in West Chester for the 
j)ractice of bis profession. Being endowed 
witii great native ability and the energy of 
character necessary to develop and cultivate 
bis powers, be soon became quite successful 
and won an honorable position at the bar. 
lie early learned tbe truth of tbe adage that 
tbere is no excellence without great labor, 
and gives to every cause he undertakes that 
tliorough consideration which is necessary 
to enable an advocate to handle his case with 
>kill and success. He has now been in con- 
tinuous practice in tbe courts of this county 
for more iban twenty years, and enjoys a 
lai'ge and cmislanlly increasing clientage. 

On December il, IS7T, Mi\ Ramsey was 



united in marriage to Sarah M. Brinton, of 
tbe borough of West Chester. This union 
has been blessed by the l»irth of two daugh- 
ters: Eleanor B. and Edith M. In religion 
be is a Presbyterian, and a leading mendjer 
of that denomination in tlie place of bis resi- 
dence. Politically he is a stanch republican, 
and always gives bis support and intluence 
to that great party. He is a member of 
Oxford Lodge, No. 35?}, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and occupies an enviable position 
botii in his profession and as a useful, enter- 
jtrising and influential citizen of Chester 
county. 

JAMES W. MASTERS, proprietor of 
tbe Malvern creamery in East Wliite- 
bihd township, tbis county, and a well known 
liusiness man of l'biladelid:ia, is the second 
son of Joseph and Sarah (Edwards) Mastei's, 
and was born February 12, 1845, in Colum- 
bia county, Pennsylvania. His paternal 
grandfather, David Masters, was a native of 
the same cfuinty, and was a son of James 
Masters, wbo, it is thought, was born in 
Chester county, and went from there into 
Columbia county among the tirst settlers. 
At any rate James Masters was among the 
early pioneers of Columbia county, where 
be cleared out a tine farm, upon which In' 
lived and died. His son, David (grand- 
father), imrcbased the homestead after his 
father's death, and jjassed the remainder of 
bis life there, dying in 1858, aged nearly 
seventy-five years. He was a farmer by 
occupation, and all tbe family were sti-ict 
mendjcrs of the Society of Friends. His 
wife was Mary Eves, a member of a numei- 
ons and prominent family of that county, 
and by her bi' bad a family of eight chil- 
dren : (ieorge, James, Joseph. I'arvin, Sarali, 
Mari^aret, Elizabeth and Maiy. Tbe lliiid 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



siiii. .losi-jili Masters (fatluM'i. was lioni on 
tlic nld liouifsti'ad ill Cohiiiiliia cdmity in 
ISl);, wlici-i' 111' ui-fW td maturity, and was 
fdnt-atod in tlii' siil)scri[)tii>n sellouts of tliat 
day. In earl}' inaiiliood lie learned the 
niillini.'' I'U.sinesf; ami divided liis time be- 
tween that oeeu|iation and tarminji-, heing 
(|uite successful in each. In later life he 
removed to Jjyconiinjj county, this State, 
where he <lied aliout iss?. rulitically he 
wa.s a stanch rcimhlican. and in relig'ion a 
prominent niciniier of the orthoihix Society 
of Friends. lie married Sarah Edwards, 
a daughter of .loel and Ann ((irecii) VA- 
wards, and to Mr. and Mrs. Ma.sters was 
horn a family of nine children : Morris, who 
owns a fine farm atljoining the old home- 
stead in Coliimhia county: .lames, the siih- 
ject of this sketch; i'arvin, now a hook- 
kee|>er in tlie city of Chicago: David, a res- 
ident of \Viliiiingt<jn. Delaware: Dnhi'c. 
now foreman in the glass factory of Whitall. 
Tatum .V: Co., at .Millville, New .Jersey: 
.leiinie. mari'icfl <u'orgc I'im. a farmer of 
.Marsliallton. tliis eoiinty; Anna: Kliza- 
heth. married Henry Ferris, a ])rinter ami 
luiblisher of riiiladelphia : and Harriet, 
who married -loseidi Uhodej, of Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, now a memher td' the fac- 
ulty of Westtown hoarding sehool. 

•lames W. Masters was reared in-inei|ially 
on the farm, and educated in tln' Westtown 
hoarding school, wliich he left in isi;:', to 
assist his fatiier on the rarni. hel|. tor tlii> 
being hard to [irociirc during the war. In 
18ti7 he engaged in the mcrehantile inisi- 
noss in liVconiing county, where he re- 
mained Iwoyeaiv. In isii'.i he reiiio\c(| to 
the city of l'hiladcl|diia and emiiarked in 
the grocery Inisiiiess, anci afterward i-ngageil 
ill tiie milk, huHer. and ^.-^^'j: Iraile. « hieh he 
ha,s successfully conducted for nearly twenty 



years. IK' now emiiloys fifteen men regu- 
larly, and twelve horses are used in the <le- 
livery of the produce he handles. He estah- 
lished a creamery in East Whiteland town- 
ship in 18H7, witii a ea[)acity for using tive 
thousand pounds of milk per day, and has 
since been largely engaged in the manu- 
facture of butter, in addition to his general 
business in I'hiladelphia. He is a man of 
untiring activity, and has been very suc- 
cessful in liis business career. 

On the 1st day of .May, ixdT, .Mr. Mas- 
ters was united in marriage to Rebecca 
Kite, a (hiughter of .lames and ]..ydia (Bas- 
sett) Kite, and a direct ilesi-eiident cd' Sir 
Admiral Kite, an flnglish haronet in the 
time of Oliver Cromwell. One of the l>ar- 
onet's sons, .lames Kite, came to .\nieriea 
and settled in I'hiladelphia, and from him 
the present Kite family is descemled. Mrs. 
.Masters" mother, Lydia Jiassett, was of Xcw 
England stock, and a i-ecommended minis- 
ter ill the Society of Friends. Mrs. .Masters 
is also a recommended minister in the So- 
ciety, and was e<liieated at the Friends" 
\Vestt(.)wn Ixjarding school. Shi- is now 
one of" the managing committee of that in- 
stitution. To Mr. and Mrs. Masters have 
been horn si.\ childri'ii. one son and Hve 
daughters. The eldest, Marian, died at the 
age of nine years, and two others are also 
dc.'case.l. Th-.s.' living are ll.len I!.. .\. 
Oertriide. and Ilerlieit W. 

In polities Mr. Masters i^ an ardent ri'- 
pnbliean, taking an active part in support- 
ing the |>arty of his clioiee. His mime has 
fre(piently been menticmed in conm-ction 
with a nomination for assemldyman anil the 
city council, hut he has always declined to 
become a candidate. He i- "Iricllya -I'lf- 
madc man, and deserves great cicdil l"or 
what he has accomplished by his ability and 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



perseverance. He and his family are niem- 
hers of the ortliodox Society of Friends, 
and reside in Philadelphia during the winter. 



HON. ISAAC D. BARNARD, United 
States senator from 1827 to 1831, and 
the most distinguished of his name, was 
born in 1791 at West Chester, where lie died 
February 18, 1834. The Barnard family 
takes its name from Roche-Bernard, of Nor- 
mandy, France, in which couutrj- Barnard 
has been a baptismal name since the eighth 
century, having been derived from northern 
mythology, signifying boldness. Richard 
Barnard, the great-grandfather of Senator 
Barnard, came to Chester county prior to 
1686. Many of his descendants have been 
active and prominent in t-ivil, political and 
military afl'airs. 

Isaac D. Barnard received a good educa- 
tion, was admitted to the bar May 1,1816, 
and practiced his profession for many years. 
He served with great bravery and distinc- 
tion at Plattsburg and Lyon Creek in the 
war of 1812, and was promoted from captain 
to major for meritorious service. Leaving 
the army lie served successively as district 
attorney, State senator and secretary of 
the Commonwealth. He was elected to the 
L^^nited States senate in 1827, but resigned 
in 1831 on account of ill health, while the 
New York papers were demanding for him 
a seat in tlie cabinet. He served as a major- 
general of militia, declined the judgeship of 
Chester county, and was barely defeated for 
the nomination for governor in 1829 by ii 
slight but jealous defection in his own 
county. Isaac D. Barnard, by his courage, 
boldness and dauntless character was always 
[)opular with the people, whose interests he 
ever protected and defended. 



nEV. GEORGE HEATHCOTE 
HIIiLS, M.A., a scholarly and cour- 
teous gentleman, and the present able and 
efficient rector of the church of the Holy 
Trinity, West Chester, is a son of Dr. 
George Morgan and Sarah (Dows ) Hills, 
and was born in Syracuse, New York, .luly 
6, 1862. His paternal grandfather, Horace 
Hills, was a native of East Hartford, Con- 
necticut. He became one of the early set- 
tlers of Auburn, New York, and married 
Alniira Wilcox, b3' whom he had five chil- 
dren, two sons and three daughters. His 
son, Rev. George Morgan Hills, D.D., was 
born in Auburn, New York, October 10, 
1825. He was graduated from Trinity col- 
lege, Hartford, Connecticut, in 1847 : was 
ordered deacon September 22, 1850, by Rt. 
Rev. W. H. De Lancy, bishop of western 
New York, and ordained priest September 
21, 1851. Dr. Hills' first charge was at 
Lyons, New York, which he left to accept 
a call to Watertown, same State. He was 
rector of St. Paul's church at Syracuse, New 
York, from 1857 to 1870, and rector of St. 
Mary's church, Burlington, New Jersey, 
from 1870 to 1890. He died at Tacoma, 
Washington, October 15, 1890, while trav- 
eling on the Pacific slope for his health. 
Dr. Hills had high standing as a man <>t' 
great ability and spotless life. His mind 
was quick to perceive and ready to retain, 
while he had the disposition and capacity 
for energetic and persistent endeavor. He 
was an eloquent, scholarly preacher, a mag- 
nificent reader, and a faithful and devoted 
parish priest. For his work and holy liic 
he will be long remembered in Burlington, 
where he commanded the respect of all. 
He received the honorary degi-ee of doctoi- 
of divinity from his ahno nutter, July 13, 
1871, and was made a member, lioitoritf 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



causa, of the Peiiiisylvtinia Historical society 
in 187fi. Dr. Hills lield iiiuny important 
offices in the clitirch. in all of wliieli ho ac- 
quitted himself with honor. Ho was a 
trustee of the General Theological seminary 
of New York from 18ti2 to 1884, served as ' 
deputy to the General convention from 
western New York in 1865, and was presi- 
dent of the standing committee of the dio- 
cese of central New York from 18(18 to 
1870. He was dean of Burlington from 
1874 to 1888, archdeacon from 1888 to 
1890, and served as deputy to the General 
convention from New Jersey in 1877, 1880, 
1883, 1886, and 188!t. He was chairman 
of the committee on the state of the church 
from 1888 to 1890, and also served as com- 
missioner from New Jersey of the American 
church building fund commission, and was 
a member of the commission of fifteen on 
Christian nnity from 1886 to 1890. Dr. 
Hills was a man of literary ability, and 
gave considerable time and attention U> the 
history of his church and the defense of its 
pi'inei[iles. Ho wrote several books and 
pamphlets, beside many historical papers, 
and was tlie author of an excellent history 
of the church in Burlington, New Jersey. 
On OctoV^er 7, 18-32, in St. Bartholomew's 
church, in New York city, Dr. Hills was 
united in marriage with Sarah Dows, who 
was born in Jersey City, February 19, 1832. 
To Dr. and Mrs. Hills were bom si.\ chil- 
dren, of whom two died in infancy. Their 
oldest living diild is Hev. John Dows Hills. 
a graduate of Trinity college, and Mdodiis 
torian of the class of 'IX. 

George Heathcoto Hill- wa^. |iropared foi- 
college at Burlington college, the Protes- 
tant Episco[ial academy of IMiiiadeljihia, 
and by private tutors, after wliieh be en- 
tered tlu' linie-honorefl walls of Trinity 



college, Hartford, Connecticut, from which 
he was graduated B. A., mm honore, in the 
class of 1884. He was ordered deacon in 
St. Mary's church, Burlington, New Jer- 
sey, on June 11, 1885, by Rt. Rev. John 
Scarborough, bishop of New Jersey, an<l 
advanced to the priestliood in the same 
church May 12, 1887, by the same bishoji. 
He was curate of St. Marys church, Bur- 
lington, New Jersey, from 1885 to 1887, 
when bo became assistant at St. James" 
church, New York city, where ho sei'ved 
acceptably until 1888. In that year he re- 
signed to become rector of Christ church, 
Riverton, New Jersey, wliere he remained 
until October, 1891, wlien he accepted a call 
to become rector of tlie church of the Holy 
Trinity, West Chester. In this field he has 
labored zealously and successfully for the 
establishment of thtf pi'inciples of morality, 
civilization and Christianity. 

On May 24, 1887, Rev. Mr. Hills was 
united ill marriage in St. James church. 
New York city, with Carrie Loni.se Tear- 
st)n. daughter of James B. and Ellen Jose- 
phine ( Ferree ) i'earson, of that city. Rev. 
and Mrs. Hills liave three children, one son 
and two (laugblers: Beatrice Heatlicott' 
Hills, born in New York city, March 21, 
1888: Pearson Heathcoto Hills, born at 
Rivorton. New Jersey, October 5. 1S8!': 
and Violet Heathcoto Hills, born at Rivor- 
ton, June 13, 1891. 

Rev. George Heatlieote Hills received his 
degree of M.A. from 'frinil'y college in 
1887. He is a mendu-r ot tlw fraternity of 
Alpha iMlla Phi. was chaplain of tlie Girl.s" 
Fiiendly society of tiie diocese of New Jer- 
sey from 1889 to 1891, and registrar of that 
important diocese in l>'.M. Mr. Hills' 
|ireacliing is characterized liy an eaiMiost- 
ness and sincerity that makes it impressive 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOHY 



and convincing. His sermons are scriptural 
and practical, and so well arranged and 
clearly expressed as to be understood by all 
tliouglitfnl hearers. He always keeps in 
sight the great object ot his important mis- 
sion, and as a conse(pience his ministry has 
been fruitful of good results. With him 
I'eligion is something that concerns the 
understanding as well as the emotions, and 
through his well directed labors his congre- 
gation is well instructed in the great truths 
of fliristianity and the distinctive do<'trines 
of the Episcopal church. 



CDOAR ALLEN, M. D., ;. graduate 
from Jefferson Medical college. I'hila- 
delphia, wiio has been in active practice in 
this county since early in 1891, and has 
already won considerable distinction in his 
profession, is a son of John and Catharine 
( Dalrymple) Allen, and a native of Hunter- 
don county, New Jersey, where he was born 
April 2, 1861. He attended the common 
schools of Bloomsbury, ^J^Tew Jersey, during 
his boyhood, where he made rapid progress, 
and when about fifteen years of age secured 
a position as clerk in a dry goods store at 
Easton, Pennsylvania, where he pursued his 
studies of evenings in a night school, wliilc 
clerking during the day. J'ossessed of an 
earnest and ambitious disposition, and de- 
termined to secure an education and become 
a useful inend»er of society, he i-apidly mas- 
tered the ordinary branches, and in ISS.j 
began the study of medicine with l)i-. .V. L. 
Xotz, of Easton. Later lie matriculated at 
Jefferson Medical college, Philadelphia, and 
was gi-adi'.ated from that well known insti- 
tutinn in the spi'ing nf IS'.KI. H,. returned 
111 i'^aslDii ;ind iliini.'iliulely upeiied an nlliee 
Tur the prnetice of the liealiug art. After 



one year's practice at that place he removed 
in 1891 to St. Mary's, Warwick township, 
Chester county, where he has been success- 
fully engaged in the duties of his profession 
es'cr since. Having thoroughly prepared 
himself and naturally possessing many traits 
which mark the true [ihysician, he has been 
successful in building up a lucrative practice 
that has aggregated over three thousand 
dollars in the short time he has been locate<l 
here. Dr. Allen is inclined toward inde- 
pendence in political action, and in religion 
is a mendier of the (Tcrman Keformed 
church. He is also a niendier of Pughtown 
Lodge, Xo. 369, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and of Washington Camp, No. 335, 
Patriotic Order Sons of America, at the 
village of Nantmeal. 

On October 80, 1884, Dr. Allen was wedded 
to Lizzie PL Lattig, a daughter of Simon 
H. Lattig, of Northampton county, this State. 
To the Doctor and Mrs. Allen has been born 
one child, a daughtei', named Katharine 
Ruth, whose natal day was July 16, 1892. 

The Aliens are of Holland descent, lint 
have been m'.tives of New Jersey since the 
early days of that Commonwealth. John ]>. 
Allen, paternal grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, was a nativi.' of Hunterdon 
county. New Jersey, where he lived all his 
life, anil died at a good old age. In early 
life he learned the shoemaker's tratle and 
worked at that occupation nearly all his 
(lays. I'olitically he was a Jacksoinan dem- 
ocrat, and soon after attaining his nnijority 
mari'ied a Miss McCidlom. ;i initive of New 
Jersey, by whom lie bad a family i)f nine 
ehildren. One of his sons was John Allen 
(father), who was born in 1 1 unterdon county. 
New .lersey. in ISlS.and died Aprilt;. 1 S!t| . 
at his lioiiie on ihe old Allen lioliieslea.l in 
that county, i le was a carpenter anil i milder 



OF VHKSTER VOVNTY. 



207 



by oci'Upiitioii. a stniicli iloiuncrat in politios, 
aixl ill I'oliirioii a mcmlicr of the ( 'liristiaii 
elmrcli. Ilo inarricd Catiiariiiv l>ali'\ iniili', 
a daugiitei' of Wiliiam J)airyiiiiili-, a [inirt- 
peroiis farinor of Iliintordoii comity, wliiTe 
lie lived ail liis life. l)eeoiniii!i' iiiHiicntial and 
prominent. Jjy his marriage with Miss 
Dalrymjile Mr. Allen lia<l a family of eight 
ehildren. tive sons and three ilaughters : 
William II., Tiieodorc (\. and David B. arc 
engaged in contracting and hnilding in the 
city of Xewark, New Jersey, where tliey 
reside: Charles S. is a druggist at Blooms- 
• bury, in Hunterdon county, that State; Dr. 
Edgar, the subject of tbis sketch : Mary E. : 
Elnora, died in ini'ancy; and ('hristiana, 
deceased at the age of twenty-three. Mrs. 
(,'athai'ine Allen (mother) is still liviim-. 



I^K. WILLIAM l)AKLIN(iTON, LL. 

I)., whose name is kiKjwii and respected 
throughout the liotanical world, was the eld- 
est child of Edward and Hannah (Townsend) 
I)arlington,andwasborn nearDilworthtown, 
Birmingham township, Chester county, 
I'ennsylvania, April 28, 1782. He was tlie 
first meilical student to graduate from the 
medical department of the university of 
Pennsylvania. He always resided in his na- 
tive eounty.and while practicing his profes- 
sion tu some e.vtent, yet gave his time 
chiefly to botanical research. In 182ti he 
published bis "Cestrica." and in 1847 his 
•• Agricultural Botany." Besides tliese he 
published many interesting l)otanical papers. 
In 182.J he was ajuong the first tliat were 
interested in State canals and railroads. Dr. 
Darlington served in the Fourteenth, Si.\- 
teenth and Seventeenth Congresses of the 
United States, and was opposed to the e.v- 
tension of slavery, lie died April 2-"i, 18(>8. 



and tlif memorial stoiii> over his remains in 
Oakland cemetery hears the following lines 
w littcn by himself twenty years before his 
death: "'riie plants of Chester, which he 
lo\cd and described, may they blossdiu tui-- 
ever above his tomb." 



toKNJAMIN .1. TOKBEKT, a well re 
spected citizen of I )owniiigtown, and 
who served as an ofiicer in an emergency 
company wlien Le<' invaded I'ennsylvania 
in 1863, is a sun o\' William ami Hannah 
( Jjcwis) Torbert.aiid was born at (lallagher- 
ville, Chester cniinty. Pennsylvania, .January 
7, 183(1. His paternal grandfather, William 
Torbert, sr., born .lanuary 1. 17'»tl, was a 
native of Ireland, and in the latter part of 
the eighteenth century came to Montgomery 
county. He was a democrat, a farmei' and 
hotel keeper. On April 18, 1782, he mar- 
ried Jane Oliver, who was born February 
21, 17'}!*, and had a family of seven chil- 
dren : Alexander, William, Samuel, Benja- 
min, .ranies, Andrew and Mary Gallagher. 
William Torbert (father) was l)orn near 
Spring House tavern, on the Lam-aster pike, 
in Montgomery county, November 1. 17M!*. 
In early life he came to Chester county, 
where he was engaged in farming near 
(Tallagherville, until his death in 1873, at 
eighty-four years of age. He was a demo- 
crat in politics, and served as an American 
soldier in the war of 1812, during which 
great <rontest he participatetl in several 
severe battles. lie married Hannah Lewis, 
atul to their union were born seven cliil- 
dren : William, Jane. Hester, Benjamin J., 
Oliver. Andrew and Obed. Mrs. Torbert 
was a niemlier of the Society of Friends, 
and died August 2, 188t>, when in the 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



ninety-tirst year of her age. She was a 
(laughter of William Lewis, and a grand- 
daughter of Lewis Lewis, a native of Wales. 
William settled near Downingtown, and 
followed farming. He was a democ-rat and 
Presbyterian, and served in the Federal 
army, while his brother entered the Con- 
federate ranks. He married and had three 
children: Joseph, William, and Mrs. Han- 
nah Torbert. 

Benjamin J. Torbert was reared on the 
farm, attended the common schools, and 
then engaged in farming and stock raising, 
which he followed successfully near Galla- 
gherville, until 1891. In that year he re- 
moved to Downingtown, where he has 
resided ever since. During Lee's invasion 
of Pennsylvania in 1868, Mr. Torbert en- 
listed in Co. H, 21st regiment of Pennsyl- 
vania militia, and served as a corporal 
until his regiment was mustered out of 
service. 

On January 24, 1854, Mr. Torbert mar- 
ried Erameline Jones, daughter of Samuel 
Jones, of Honeybrook, Pennsylvania, whose 
ancestors came from England. To their 
union have been born four children, one 
son and three daughters : William, a farmer 
of near Unionville, this county ; Hester L. ; 
Rachel, now dead, who was the wife of 
Charles H. Fahnestock, a business man of 
Philadelphia; and Hannah P. 

In politics Benjamin J. Torbert has 
always been a strong democrat, who be- 
lieves in the principles of the Democratic 
party as advocated by Thomas Jefferson, 
and in an economical administration of the 
government of the United States. By 
honesty, good judgment and judicious man- 
agement, Mr. Torbert has acquired a com- 
petency, and is now well situated to enjoy 
life. 



HON. THOjMAS McKEAN, L,L. D., 
governor of Pennsylvania for three 
successive terms, and a signer of tlie im- 
mortal Declaration of Independence, was a 
son of William and Letilia (Finney) Mc- 
Kean, and was born in New Loudon town- 
ship, Chester county, Pennsylvania, March 
19, 1734. He received his education at 
Rev. Francis Alison's academy, and then 
removed to New Castle, Delaware, where 
he practiced law and was variously em- 
ployed in public positions until 1773. He 
then removed to Philadelphia, where he 
died June 24, 1817, aged eighty-three years.' 
Thomas McKcan was a member of the 
Colonial Congress of 1765, and of the Con- 
tinental Congress during its entire exist- 
ence. In 1777 he was commissioned chi»f 
justice of Pennsylvania, although serving at 
that time as speaker of the assembly, presi- 
dent of the State of Delaware, and a mem- 
ber of Congress. In 1799 Mr. McKean was 
elected governor of Pennsylvania, and 
served as such until 1808. He wrote the 
Urst constitution of Delaware, and was a 
member of the convention that framed the 
Pennsylvania constitution of 1790. A dis- 
tinguished patriot and an eminent jurist, it 
was his proud distinction to have solidified 
the Delaware delegation in favor of separa- 
tion from England, and thus secured the 
passage of the Declaration of Independence 
by the unanimous act of the thirteen 
colonies. 



■T^HOMAS C. HOGUE is one of whom 
it may be said without detracting aught 
from any other representative business man 
of southeastern Pennsylvania, that his hon- 
esty and energy, his great industry and re- 
markable success in life, and his public spir- 
ited interest in the material development 



OF CHESTER COVNIY. 



and substiintial prosperity of liis lioronfi^l), 
county and State, furnisli an example worthy 
of study by the young men of to-day who 
afipire to an honorable, honest and progres- 
sive business career, lie is a son of Levi 
and Mary (Hirst) Ilogue, and was born in 
Belmont county, Ohio, Fei)ruary -Ih, 184.'). 
When the great northwest territory which 
Virginia had ceded to the Union was opened 
to settlers, among those who left the "Old 
Dominion" to seek their fortunes north of 
the Ohio river, was "William Ilogue, the 
paternal grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch and a son of William Hogue, sr., who 
was of Welsh descent. William Ilogue was 
a native of Loudon count}-, Virginia, where 
he learned the trade of tanner, and from 
which he removed about 1800 to Flushing, 
iielmont county, Ohio. After his removal 
he embarked in the tanning business upon 
what was an extensive scale for that early 
day. He was ingenious and inventive, and 
a skilled workman whose leather was noted 
all over his and adjacent counties for its 
durability and excellent finish. He was a 
whig, and a member of the Society of Or- 
thodox Friends, and died about 184t!, at an 
advanced age. He married Sarah Crawford, 
who was borti in his native county, and 
rearedafamily of five children : Levi, P^lisha, 
John, Mary Holloway, and Eunice Holloway. 
Of these children only John and Eunice are 
living. The eldest son, Levi Hugne (father), 
was born atFlushing,Ohio, wherche learned 
the trade of tanner, which he followed until 
his marriage. He then engaged in farming, 
which received his attention until his death, 
which occurred April 5, 1857. He was a 
man of sterling integrity, a strict member 
and regular attendant of the Society of 
Friends, and supported the old Whig party. 
He married Mary Hirst, who was a daughter 



of David and Ann Hirst, and who died 
April 27,1855. Their children were : David, 
who was born October 10, 1839, and died 
August 12, 18.')0; Asa, born February 2:>, 
1842, married liutli .\. Crew, and isafarincr 
of Belmont county, Ohio; Thomas C. ; Re- 
becca Wright, born October 22, 1847, and 
is the wife of Josliua (Gilbert, a merchant of 
West Branch, Iowa; John Barclay, born 
January 9, 1850, married Mary Lochery, 
and is a druggist of St. Clairsville, Ohio; 
and Joseph Scattergood, born October 18, 
1852, married Anna M. Steer, and resides at 
Barnesville, Ohio, where lie is engaged in 
farming and dealing in fine and imported 
stock. 

Thomas C. Ilogue attended st-loct schools 
at his native town until he was fifteen years 
of age, an<l then entered Mt. Pleasant Board- 
ing school of Jefferson t'ounty, Ohio, which 
he attended two winter terms. Soon after 
leaving this school he became a teacher in 
the public schools of that State. At the end 
of one year's teaching, in October, 1864, he 
came to Chester county, Pennsylvania, where 
he completed his academical course at^Vest- 
town Boarding school. He was then pro- 
moted to tutor, which position he occupied 
one year, when he was again advanced to 
the position of regular teacher in that old 
institution. He occupied the latter position 
for four years, to the entire satisfaction of 
the board of managers. Leaving that ex- 
cellent educational in.stitution in 1870, he 
resolved upon entering into an active busi- 
ness life in some particular line in the great 
commercial world, and in order to more 
fully qualify himself for his new undertak- 
ing he took a course at Bryant & Stratton's 
Business college in Philadelphia. Immedi- 
ately af"ter taking his commercial course of 
studies lie came to West Chester, as a dcsir- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



able Incation. and after an oxamination (if 
various lines of business, selected that of 
groceries as the most favorable iield i n which 
to eiiiliark. He then purchased the interest 
of T. Elwood Townsend in the grocery firm 
of Thatcher & Tow^nsend, whose business 
stand was the oldest in the town and dated 
back prior to the tirst year of the present 
century, when it was founded as a general 
store by John Townsend. The new firm 
became Thatcher & Ilogue. At the end of 
a year Mr. Ilogue purchased his partner's 
interest and has conducted a constantly in- 
creasing business ever since. 

On .January 4. l«81,Mr. Hoguewas united 
in marriage with Martlut J., a daughter of 
John and Susan Woolley of West Chester. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hogne have tliree children : 
Julia S., born October 17, 18!Sl : Mary J., 
October 12, 18H8 : and Helena M.,Jnne 2?., 
188;',. 

The wholesale and retail grocery estab- 
lishment of Mr. Hogue is situated on the 
southeast corner of Gay and High streets. 
The store building is three stories high with 
a basement, and fronts forty-eight feet on 
Gay street while it extends back twenty- 
eight feet on Higli street. He is the only 
mercliant of AVest Chester who owns his 
own warehouse, which is a four story struc- 
ture on Chestnut street, lying along the 
tracks of the Pennsylvania railroad, and 
has a capacity of ten car loads of barrelled 
goods. In addition to this warehouse he 
has to rent a part of the old depot, where 
lie has a storage capacity of five car loads 
of goods. He carries pure and fresh lines 
of fine and staple groceries, spices, canned 
goods, provisions, fruits, produce, oils, paints 
and varnishes. His establishment is well 
equipped with all necessary devices for sav- 
ing time and labor, and for tlie proper dis- 



play of his choice and large stock. Al- 
though young in years as a merchant, yet 
he is old in practical experience and enjoys 
perfected facilities and influential trade con- 
nections. His remarkal)le success is an in- 
teresting instance of visible growth, com- 
mencing with a small business but built on 
the solid foundation of knowing what his 
patrons wanted, and growing into a wonder- 
fully large town and country trade. He 
employs six clerks and runs two delivery 
wagons in order to accommodate his custo- 
mers and fill his orders. In addition to his 
large mercantile operations Mr. Hogue takes 
a great interest in growing hot house grapes. 
Among the leading and late varieties which 
he grows are : Gross Coleman, Black Ham- 
burg, Muscat Hamburg, Flame Tokay, Bo- 
wood-Muscat, Golden Hamburg, Zinfindall, 
Gross Morock, Aninwick see<lling. Black 
Trince, Champion Hamburg and Totenham 
Muscat. The Gross Coleman, his latest va- 
riety, is a grape that is one and one-quarter 
inches in diameter, and the clusters vary in 
weight from one to five pounds, and sell late 
in winter at from two to five dollars per 
pound. 

In politics Mr. Hogue is a republican. 
He is a member of the Horticultural so- 
ciety of Philadelphia, and the Orthodox 
Society of Friends, in which he is an. active 
and eftective worker, often accompanying 
the ministers of his denomination in their 
travels in difterent parts of the United 
States. 

Thomas C. Hogue is a man of quiet num- 
ners and pleasing address, of consistent 
morals, and of well known liberality. He 
makes himself useful in society, in the busi- 
ness world, the cause of temperance, the 
work of his church, and in the cause of 
Christianity. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



dll 



T\ LiFRED P. KEID, a prominent uieni- 
Ijer of the West Chester V)ar, who i.* 
closely identified witii tlie tinanciiil, insur- 
ance and educational afi'airs of the county, 
and who has liad a hiru'c intiuencc in cstali- 
lishinj? several of the most important and 
leading hanks of southeastern Pennsylva- 
nia, is a son of James and Hannah (Mc- 
Caughey) lieid, and was imrn on a farm in 
Highland township, Chester county. I'lun- 
sylvania, Septemher 3, 1842. He is of 
iSeotch-lrish lineage, and his paternal grand- 
father, Adam Reid, came from the north of 
Ireland to Philadelphia, where he kept a 
grocery store for many years. He was a 
I'reshyterian in religions faith, like nearly 
all of the sturdy and energetic race from 
which he was descended. James Reid was 
born in Philadelphia, and removed to High- 
land township, this county, where he served 
as a school director, and held various other 
local offices. He married Hannah Mc- 
C'aughey, a daughter of Nathaniel Mc- 
Caughey, wlio was a farmer, came, in 1797, 
from Londonderry, Ireland, and settled in 
AVest Sadshury township, where he married 
Jeaimette Stewart, a grand-daughter of 
Walter and Margaret (Andrew) Stewart, 
residents of Chester county as early as 
1720. 

Alfred I'. Reid grew to manhood <>n the 
farm, and attended the district schools. He 
was prepared for college in I'arkesimrg, 
Coatesville and West Chester academies, 
and tlien entered Lafayette college, from 
whicli well known institution of learning 
lie was graduated in the class of 18H4. He 
then read law with Judge Futhey, of West 
Chester, was admitted to the har on August 
14, IHljtl, and has l)een engaged ever since 
in the successful practice of his profession 
in West Chester. His practice is second to 

14 



none in the county, and is surpassed liy few 
in the eastern part of the State. 

On June 15, 1870, Mr. Rei<l was united 
in marriage with Emma Bowman, a grand- 
daughter of John Comly, the author of the 
celebrated Condy spelling hook that was so 
remarkahly pojiular in its day in Pennsyl- 
vania. Mr. and Mrs. lieid have three chil- 
dren, one son and two daughters: Arthur 
I*., Edith C., and Laura I>. 

Mr. Reid is a republican in politics, and 
a member and elder of Westminster Pres- 
byterian church of West Chester. As a 
lawyer he practices in his own and adjoin- 
ing counties, and thus comes in contact 
with some of the ablest lawyers of Penn- 
sylvania. While prominent, active and 
progressive in his profession, he fimls time 
to devote considerable attention to educa- 
tional an<l liusiness aftairs. He is president 
of the board of trustees of the West Chester 
State Normal school and the Penn Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, which was incor- 
porated in 1867, and now operates in this 
and adjoining counties. He owns consid- 
erable real estate in the county. Alfred 
1'. Reid's chief line of business has been 
Ijanking, in whose development in south- 
eastern Pennsylvania he has been a potent 
factor. He has attained to distinction as a 
finaiu'ier of ability and correct business 
methods. From being a stockholder and 
<lirector in several banking institutions, his 
advice and counsels in difficult financial 
transactions were so judicious and well- 
timed to the directors of the banks with 
which he was then connected, tliat in re- 
cognition of his special fitness and unusual 
aiiility for the immagement of banking 
operations, he became vice-iiresident and 
presitlent of several of those banks. He is 
m)W serving as vice-president of the First 



S12 



BIOORAPSY AND HtSTORY 



National Ijank of West Cliestei', and presi- 
dent of the Dime and Saving bank of West 
Chester, wViich he was instrumental in or- 
ganizing and having ineorj)0i'ated in 1890, 
nnder tiie genei'al l)anking laws of Pennsyl- 
vania. The Dime and Saving \nu\k is 
purely a benevolent organization for tlie 
benefit of thousands whose small savings at 
the end of the week would not be accept- 
able as deposits at most of the banks. This 
bank has branches at Phoenixville and other 
important towns in this section of the State, 
and has about $30,000 of deposits. It loans 
its money on real estate, and is in a very 
prosperous condition. Mr. Reid, in bank 
management, is conservative and progres- 
sive, and while neglecting no point of 
efficiency demanded by modern commercial 
practice, yet at the same time carefull}^ 
guards the interests of the depositors, by 
scrupulously protecting them against any 
possibility of i-isk. 

He has also made it a point that the 
banks with which he is connected are pro- 
vided with every facility to meet the legiti- 
mate necessities of the communities in 
which they are situated. By ability, by 
energy, by perseverance and integrity, Mr. 
Tleid has carved out for himself a success- 
ful, distina:nished and enviable career. 



QANDERS McCULLOUGH, who 

turned his attention chiefly and suc- 
cessfully to agricultural pursuits, and who 
was a highly respected citizen of Oxford, 
was a son of Hugh and Grace (Bell) Mc- 
Cullough, and was born in Lancaster county, 
February 27, 1809. Hugh McCullough was 
born and reared in Lancaster county, of 
which he was a life-long resident. He 
passed his life on the farm on which lie was 



born, and died May 3, 1848, when well ad- 
vanced in the seventy-seventh year of his 
age. He was an extensive farmer for his 
day, and a man who was progressive in agri- 
cultural affairs. He was a strong democrat, 
trained in the -Teffersonian school, and an 
ardent supporter of Jackson. He married 
Grace Bell, and reared a family of four 
^children. 

Sanders McCullough grew to manhood 
on his father's farm in Lancaster county, 
and received his education in the schools of 
his neighborhood. He assisted his father 
for a few years in the management and cul- 
tivation of the home farm, and then en- 
gaged in farming for himself, which he fol- 
lowed successfully in his native county until 
April, 1874, when he removed to Oxford, 
this county, where he resided until his 
death, in 1885. 

On May 19, 1840, Mr. McCullough mar- 
ried Sarah Rowlands, who died April 10, 
1849, and on January 16, 1851, he wedded 
Jeannette King, who is a daughter of John 
King, a native and life-long resident of 
Lancaster county, where he died in January, 
1847, when in the fifty-fourth year of his 
age. Mr. King was a prosperous farmer, a 
strong democrat, and a strict and useful 
member of the Presbyterian church. He 
married Isabella MeSparran, and reared a 
family of two children : Mrs. Jeannette Mc- 
Cullough and Mrs. Eleanor Sides. 

Sanders McCullough was a successful 
farmer and business man. He took delight 
in farming, did all of his work well, and 
was industrious, hospitable, and charitable. 
He died on June 26, 1885, and his reinains 
were entombed in a beautiful spot in Chest- 
nut Level cemetery. He was an old-time 
democrat in politics, and an active and 
prominent member and ruling elder of the 




c// 



(c^r(f//eu. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



did 



Presbyterian (.•liurcli. .\[r. MoCiillougli lion- 
ored the responsible i)Osition wlfu-li lie bel<i 
in a ohnrch that has always called to the 
eldersbip men of Ijlanieloss character and 
npriglitness in life. lie was a liigiily re- 
spected citizen, an earnest Christian, and a 
nseful man, whose death was sincerely ile- 
plored by all who knew liim. 



jJOHN FINKBINER, one of the oldest 
and most highly respected citizens of 
Spring City, and who was successfully en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits in East Vin- 
(a'lit township for nearly tifty years, is a son 
of Jacob and Mary (Chi"istman) Finkbiner, 
and was born in East Vincent township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, August >^, 
1«18. 

John Finkbiner was reared on the pater- 
nal acres in his native township, and re- 
ceived his education in the elenientarj' 
schools of his neighborhood and Trappe 
lioarding school of Montgomery county. At 
eighteen years of age he left the farm and 
became a clerk in the general mercantile 
store of James Rogers and others of Spring- 
ville (now Spring City), where he remained 
about nine years. At the end of that time 
lie engaged in farming for Miss Eliza Yost 
and Susanna P^inkbiner, which he followed 
successfully in East Vincent township until 
1HH7, when he retired from active life. 
Since then he has been a resident of Spring 
City, whose borougli limits now include the 
larger part of the above farm of Yost and 
Finkbiner. This valuable farm of seventy- 
tive acres of land has all been sold in builil- 
ing lots, with a numi)er of houses on it. 

•John Finkbiner is a prohibitionist in 
politics, and believes that the old parties 
have outlived tin' davs of their usefulness. 



and that pulitical action alone can remove 
the curse of intemperance from tlie land 
and bring lasting [irosperity to the country. 
lie is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church of Spring City, and ranks as one of 
the substantial and reliable citizens of the 
borough. When Mr. Finkbiner first came 
to Spring City in 18-37, it contained but 
four houses, and he has lived to see it grow 
from a small and oljscure hamlet to a thrifty 
and flourishing borough of nearly twenty- 
five hundred population. 



lUTAJ. L. <i. MiCAULEY, one of tlu^ 
■^ surviving Tnion officers who was a 
prisoner in the celebrated Libby prison, of 
Ridnnond, is a prominent and leading re- 
publican of Chester county, whose useful- 
ness as a citizen and county official, ami 
whose success in business life is due to liis 
ability, supplemented by an energy that 
enables him to make the best i)0S8ible use 
of such opportunities as come within his 
grasp, lie is a son of John and Lvdia 
( (-tbeen ) Mt-Canley, and was born in West 
Wbitcland township, Chester county, Peini- 
sylvania, September 2, 1837. The .\Ic- 
Cauley family is of Scotch-Irish (descent, 
and Jolin McCauley was born at Concord, 
Delaware county, this State, July 29, 18(14. 
He grew to nianliood and received his edu- 
cation in his native county, which he left in 
early life to settle in East Goshen township, 
Chester county, lie died at West Chester. 
Septendjer 11, 18t;!t, when in the eighty- 
sixth year of his age. In 1H44 .Mr. Mc- 
Cauley remove<l to Ilarrislmrg, where he 
was sergeant-at-arms of tlie State senate 
until 1846. when he went to Victoria Iron 
works, Dauphin county. »jf which he was 
sreneral nnimiifci' until the conMiienccmenl 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



of the late war. He then raised two hun- 
dred men for a Pennsylvania regiment, of 
which Governor Curtin declined to com- 
mission him colonel on account of his age. 
He was an active and energetic business 
man. He married Lydia Gheen, who was 
born August 31, 1815, in East Goshen 
township, and died in Luzerne county. 
April 24, 1850, at thirt3'-five years of age. 
She was a daughter of Levi Gbeen,who was 
born and reared in East Goshen township, 
and married Mary Chamberlain, a native of 
Chester county. Mr. and Mrs. McCauley 
reared a family of ten children, seven sous 
and three daughters. Four of the sons 
served in the Union army : William Cooper, 
who served in the 31st New Jersey; John 
Roberts, enlisted in the 15th N"ew Jersey, 
and was shortly afterwards detached as a 
member of General Penrose's staff; Maj. 
L. G. ; and Lieut. James Neil, now dead, 
who served in Co. F, 7th Pennsylvania 
reserves. 

L. (j. McCauley was reared on the farm, 
received his education in the public schools 
and Wyoming seminary, and at eighteen 
years of age went to the Vulcan Iron works, 
where he spent three years in learning me- 
chanical engineering. At the end of that 
time he entered the employ of the New 
York & Erie Railroad Company at Susque- 
hanna, and worked for them one year at 
Susquehanna station, which place he left in 
the spring of 1859 to go to Alabama, where 
be was successfully engaged in the iron busi- 
ness until the spring of 1861, when the war 
of the great rebellion came and paralyzed 
the industries of the land. Mr. McCauley 
hurriedly left Alabama, and before the ave- 
nues of travel northward were closed liast- 
ened home to take up arms in defense of 
the imperilled liberties of his country. He 



entered the command which his father was 
raising, but after arriving at Harrisburg he 
declined to be mustered into the service in 
that regiment, and went to Wilkesbarre, 
Luzerne county, where he enlisted in what 
was afterwards known as Co. F, 7th Penn- 
sylvania reserves. He was sworn into the 
United States service June 13, 1861, as first 
sergeant, and on January 14, 1862, was pro- 
moted to first lieutenant. He was in the fam- 
ous peninsular campaign, and participated 
in the battles of Mechanicsburg, Gaines" 
Mill, and the stubbornly contested Seven 
Days fight. He was next engaged in the 
fight at Charles City Cross Roads, where he 
commanded his company, and where he re- 
ceived a gunshot wound in his right elbow, 
which necessitated the amputation of his 
arm, and which operation was performed by 
Dr. Kittenger, of Lockport, New York. The 
next morning lie was captured by "Stone- 
wall" Jackson's corps, and after remaining 
seven days in the field hospital he was taken 
to Savage Station, and from thence sent to 
the celebrated LiV)by prison, of Richmond, 
where he was held as a prisoner for seventy 
days before he was paroled. After being 
paroledhe was sent by the Federal authorities 
to Harrisburg, in which city he was employed 
in the recruiting service until in January, 
1863, when he was exchanged, and reported 
for active duty at Washington city. He 
was promoted to captain July 20, 1863, and 
served in the department of Washington 
until June, 1866, when his services were no 
longer needed, and he was honorably dis- 
charged from the United States service. 
He returned the same year to West Chester, 
where he has resided ever since, and with 
whose business interests he has been prom- 
inently identified for the last decade. 

On October 6, 1870, Mr. McCauley was 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



miitcMl in niarria^e with IsaUeihi Darliiisi- 
toii, dauglitt'i- of tilt' late William and 
Ciitherinc Darlington, of AVest Chester. 

In politics Major MeCaiiley has always 
iieeii an earnest and leading worker in the 
Keimhlican jiarty, whose prinoi[)les he has 
always maintained and advocated ever since 
lie cast his first vote in 1858 for (Jalusha A. 
(i row. for Congress. In 1807-118 he served 
as assistant sergeant-at-arms of the State 
senate of Pennsylvania, and the next year 
was elected as register of wills of Chester 
county, for a term of three years, which he 
served in a very acceptable manner tu all 
who had business witli the office during 
that time. He was chairman of the repub- 
lican county committee during the years 
188t;, 1887, 1888 and 1889, and then de- 
clined any farther re-election. Major Mc- 
( 'aidey has also starved freciuentiy as a del- 
egate to the republican county, congres- 
sional, and State conventions, and in 1890, 
by his hard work and good generalship, 
held Chester county solid in tlie guberna- 
torial contest in the State convention for 
(iencral Hastings, the "Hero of the Johns- 
town flood." He is a member of the Mili- 
tary Onler of the Loyal Legion, of Penn- 
sylvania, and a mendier and past com- 
mander of McCall I'ost, Xo. 31, (irand 
Army of tlie Republic. In military and 
political life he has well borne his part. 
Major McCauley has been most useful to his 
lity and county. He is one of those men 
whose ability and energy allow them not to 
be idle in the educational life and business 
prosperity of their communities, whose in- 
tellectual and material advancement is as 
dear to them as tlie triumph of their own 
most cherished i>ians of individual success, 
lieis a trustee of the West Chester State Nor- 
mal school, and a director of the Farmers' 



National bank and the Coatesville Gas 
("ompany. In 1S7;5 he was elected to his 
present jiosition of general manager of 
the West Chester (Jas Company, and 
is still a member of the Good Will 
Fire company, of which he was presi- 
dent for five years. Major McCaidey is 
now in the midst of an active career in 
various lines of business, and brings to their 
successful management the wise foretliought 
and judgment which have ever been his 
distinguishing characteristics. 



Jt FRANK K. HAUSE, a graduate from 
the law department of the University 
of Pennsylvania, and a rising young lawyei- 
of the C'hester county bar, is the eldest son 
of Davis and Catharine ( Waitneight ) Hause, 
and was born November 26. 18til. in East 
Pikeland township, one mile north of I'lm- 
nixvillc, Chester county. Pennsylvania. His 
great-grandfather, John Hause, was a son 
of John Hause. sr., who was a native of 
Germany, and who left the Fatherland to 
find a home in the new world, and shortly 
after his arrival in America located in then 
Vincent, now East Vincent township, this 
county. John Hause was a farmer, and 
reared a large family, among whom was 
James Hause (grandfather), who was born 
in East \'incent township, Chester county, 
and in early life learned the trade of wheel- 
wright, at which he worked formally years. 
Ill later life he became a farmer, and inher- 
iting tlie sturdy characteristics of industry 
an<l frugality, he accumulated considerable 
property. In politics he was a Jacksonian 
democrat, and in religion a strict member 
of the liiitlieran church. He married ?<liza- 
beth Wagoni'r, by whom he had a family of 
six cliildron. and tlied in 1878 at an 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISIORY 



advanced age. Davis Hause (father) was 
born in East Vincent township, tiiis county, 
in 1830, and lived there until 1860, wlien he 
removed to East Pikeland township, re- 
maining one year, and then removed to 
Spring City, where he resided for a perfod 
of nineteen years. In April, 1881, he came 
to West Chester, and has resided in this 
borough ever since. When a young man 
he learned the carpenter trade, and worked 
at that business for fifteen years, teaching 
school iu the winter season, and followed 
these occupations until 1864, part of that 
time being employed as a teacher in East 
Vincent academy. After locating at Spring 
City he was elected to the position of jus- 
tice of the peace, and opened a real estate 
and conveyancing office, continuing that 
business until his removal to West Chester, 
and serving as a magistrate for ten years. 
Soon after coming to this borough he em- 
barked in the genei'al insurance business, in 
which he has been very successful, and has 
also served here as a justice of the peace by 
appointment. In religion he was formerly 
a Lutheran, but after removing to West 
Chester he identified himself with the Pres- 
byterian church. He nnxrried Catharine 
Waitneight, a daughter of Jonathan Wait- 
neight, of this county, and to this union was 
born a family of three children : J. Frank 
E., the snbject of this sketch ; Harry H., a 
professional stenographer : and a daughter, 
who died in infanc'V. 

.T. Frank E. Hause received a superior 
English and classical education in the Spring 
City High school, and aftei' leaving school 
entered the office of R. Jones Monaghan 
and began the study of law. Later he be- 
came a student in the law department of 
the university of Pennsylvania, from which 
he was graduated in June, 1883. Having 



thoronghly prejiared himself for the legal 
profession and passed the usual examina- 
tion, he was admitted to the bar of Chester 
county, October 25, 1883, and immediately 
opened a law office in West Chester witli 
his preceptor, where he has been success- 
fully engaged iu practice ever since. He 
possesses many of the mental traits that go 
to make the able lawyer, which, combined 
with his industry and upright character, 
have won him honorable standing as a citi- 
zen and an influential position at the bar. 
In politics Mr. Hause is a stanch democrat, 
giving his party an active and intelligent 
support on all general questions, and in re- 
ligion he is a member and liberal supporter 
of the Lutheran church. 

On October 20, 1887, Mr. Hause was 
united in marriage to Eva Rupert, a daugh- 
ter of Col. Alfred Rupert, of the borough of 
West Chester, and to Mr. and Mrs. Hause 
have been born two daughters : Helen 
Xoble, born October 6, 1888; and Eliza- 
beth, born March 21, 1892. 



13ROF. WILLIAM H. SNYDER, 

principal of the public schools of Ox- 
ford, this county, and a successful teacher 
who has become widely known for his ability 
as an educator, is a son of Abraham and 
Catharine (Wolmer) Snyder, and was born 
May 16, 1839, nearNorristown, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania. The American an- 
cestry of the Snyder family is traced back 
to Peter Snyder (great-grandfather), who 
lived in East Pikeland township, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, at the close of the rev- 
olutionary war. He had two older brothers, 
Casper and John, whose father, with other 
Germans, settled in this locality before the 
revolution. I'cter Snyder was born in this 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



317 



leffioii. lie was a farmer by oieupatioii, 
and lived in East Pikeland towiisliip until 
his death at an advanced age. His sort, 
Henry Snyder (grandfatlier), was born in 
that township alxjiit 17Ho. After attaining 
nianiioo<I iu' pnrcliasc a t'ariii in Pikeland 
township, but sold out in a few years; 
i-hanged to A'alley Forge in 1S25, and in 
1830 removed to Norristown, Montgomery 
eounty, where he died in 1850, at the age 
of sixty-tive years. He was by turns a 
farmer, blaeksmitii. and iiiarhinist, and was 
a man of great energy and untiring indus- 
try. In polities he was a democrat, and in 
religion a membei- of the (German Reformed 
church of N'inceiit township. He married 
Catharine Carl, by whom he had a family 
of nine children, four sons and five daugh- 
ters. One of these sons was Abraham 
Snyder (father), who was born on the old 
liomestead in East I'ikeland township, this 
lounty, Fei)ruary lo, 1812, but removed 
with liis father's family td Xonistow n, 
.Montgomery eounty, while yet a lad. lie 
is still living in that county, and is now well 
advanced in his eighty-first year. In early 
life he learned tiie trade of l)lack8mith, and 
was engaged in that otciipation until the 
infirmities of age i'onipelle<l him t<ia))andon 
active work. He is a republican in politics, 
and voted for John C. Fremont, and in 
religion is a strict adherent of the I'resby- 
terian church. In 18:58 he nnirried Cath- 
arine Wolmi'r, and to them was born a 
family of eight children, of whom three 
were sons and five were daughters. Mrs. 
Snyder is a native of Montgomery county, 
and is still li\ing. i)eing in her seventy- 
seventii year. 

Professor William 11. Snyder was reaied 
piincijially near Norristown, .Montgomery 
countv. this State, and received his educa- 



tion in the i)ublic sdiools there and al 
Washington Hall institute, Trappe, con- 
ducted by Prof. Abel Rambo. Ife afterward 
took a course of training in the West 
Chester State Nornial school, receiving a 
State certificate in tlie class of 1877. For 
soiue years previous he had been engaged 
in teaching, having been employed in the 
academic department of Ursinus college 
from 1870 to 1873. In the latter year he 
came to Oxford as principal of the public 
schools here, a positioii which lie has ac- 
ceptably filled ever since. 

In 1861 Prof. Snyder, then twenty-one 
years of age, left his Montgomery county 
home and enlistc<l in the 2d Pennsylvania 
reserves as a member of the regimental 
band. He served in that capacity until thi' 
autumn of 1862, when he was discharged, 
and immediately eidistetl witli the emer- 
gency men who were aiding to drive (tcn- 
eral Lee out of Pennsylvania. In 1863 he 
enlisted inCo. C, 8-ith Pennsylvania infantry, 
being commissioned first lieutenant of his 
company. He finally became acting adju- 
tant of his i-egiment. He was witii the 
army of the I'otonnic during the peninsular 
cam]iaign, participating in tlie historic seven 
day's tight at and near Mechanicsville. He 
was dischargi'd at Harrison's Landing, \'ir- 
ginia, on the 10th of .\ngust, 1862, by act 
of Congress discontinuing regimental bands. 

On the 7th of Septendier, lS(i4. I'rofessor 
Snyder married .Martha A.lievan.of Slnin- 
nonville, .Montgomery county, tiiis State. 
To their union wsis l)orn an only daughter, 
Bella B., now tiie wife of Wilnicr l\. Bird, 
of Rising Sun, Maryland. She was married 
.May 20. 1801, and herhusbanil is a memiier 
of the foundry firm of .1. C. Bird & Sons 
at Rising Sun. 

In |iolitical st'ntinienl Prof, ."^nydcr is a 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



republican, and was appointed by Governor 
lloyt, in 1883, as notary public, which po- 
sition he still holds. He served as deputy 
collector of internal revenue for the sixth 
congressional district from 1863 to 1866, 
under collectors David Newport and Ben- 
jamin Hancock, father of General Hancock. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian church, 
in which he has been a ruling elder for 
twelve years, and takes an active part in 
the Sunday school work of his denomina- 
tion, having served as superintendent since 
1874. As a citizen Prof. Snyder is highly 
respected, and as an educator he takes higli 
rank. 



TA/ILLIAM EVERHART was born on 
the 17th of May, 1785, in Vincent 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, and 
was the eldest son of James Everhart, of 
whom an obituary notice in the Phihidel- 
phia North American thus speaks : "It was 
at a very critical period, when failure seemed 
imminent, just after the defeat of Brandy- 
wine and the massacre of Paoli ; when the 
enemy had the strongholds of the country ; 
when the most zealous were dishearted and 
the lukewarm turned back, and the disaf- 
fected withheld provisions from the army and 
l)etrayed its movements, deserters thinned, 
that James Everhart volunteered, atthe early 
age of seventeen years. His gun with the 
lock tied on, his uniform his leather 
breeches, his knapsack his pocket, his bed 
the ground, his covering the sky: exposed 
day and night to the rigors of winter, some- 
times marching through the storm without 
shoes, sometimes sleeping under the snow 
without a blanket ; always without pay, 
often without food, struggling against na- 
ture, the elements and the enemy: against 
fatigue, frost, famine, and the British. Thus 



schooled and thus tried, he exhibited the 
vigor and virtue of those heroic days. 
Rigidly temperate and just, he had a con- 
stitution free from disease and a character 
beyond reproach." 

William Everhart, before he had reached 
his majority, entered into the mercantile 
business on his own account. On the decla- 
ration of war against England, he raised 
and drilled a rifle coi'ps, l)ut peace was con- 
cluded without an opportunity being afforded 
for active service. Soon afterward, for the 
purpose of making arrangements for im- 
porting merchandise, lie sailed from New 
York for Liverpool in the packet ship 
Albion. The wreck of that vessel on the 
coast of Ireland, by which so many dis- 
tinguished lives were lost, was made still 
more remarkable by the marvelous preser- 
vation of Mr. Everhart. Such a terrible 
wreck and loss of life, and on the part of 
Mr. Everhart such a miraculous preserva- 
tion, excited the puldic sensibility through- 
out Europe and America. When he landed 
at Liverpool it was difficult for him to get 
along the streets, the people crowded around 
in such numbers to see the only passenger 
"saved from the wreck of the Albion." 
When Mr. Everhart recovered from sick- 
ness, being in a strange land and perfectly 
destitute by the loss of $10,000, although 
that amount was found and freely and 
earnestly offered to him by the agents of 
the government, as it was most probably 
his, he nevertheless refused it for fear he 
might be mistaken in its identity. To 
this. Master James Pedmond Barry, esq., of 
Glanmore House, Ireland, thus refers in a 
note to a friend, as well as to another inci- 
dent in this connection, that after the lapse 
of aquarterof a century, duringthe late Irish 
famine, Mr. Everhart had the gratification 



OI CHESTER COUNTY. 



of coiitrilmtiiig to tin- lil)eriil aid which 
liis native country designedly sent to 
the very neighborhood where he had been 
so kindly cared for. Mr. Everhart's name 
is and has l)ecn reverenced for many years 
by all who remember the event of 1822, 
when he evinced proofs of that upright and 
virtuous mind, which has since then dictated 
his nol)le exertions in diri'cting the attention 
of his generous countrymen to the wants of 
our distressed community. That he and 
they may long enjoy every blessing tliat this 
world can afford, and still greater liappiness 
hereafter — these are and have been the 
l)rayers of thousands wlio have participated 
in the bounty of the Chester count}' dona- 
tions, and they have a cordial response from 
one, who to the end of his life will never 
forget the name of Everiiart. When Mr. 
K\-erhart returned from England he re- 
moved to West ('hester, then a small vil- 
lage, lie bouglit an adjoining [jroperty, 
and in a liberal i)ul)lic spirit laid it out in 
wide streets at his own expense, included 
many elegant buildings, and gave such an 
impetus to improvement that in a few years 
llic town more than doubled its e.xtent, and 
is now one of the most handsome and in- 
teresting in Pennsylvania. In the fall of 
1852 Mr. Evcrhart, with a well known 
character for business discretion and in- 
tegrity, was chosen to represent the district, 
composed of Chester and Delaware coun- 
ties, in the lK)Use of i-eprcsentatives of the 
United States. Ilis majority was very con- 
siderably above the rest of the ticket, and 
in his own town far exceeded that of any 
jirevious candidate of his i)arty. 

We may aptly conclude this sketch by a 
new8pa|>er aitidc from tlie press of tlie 
Hon. Charles Miner, the venerabh> author 
of tlie liistory of Wyoming, distinguished 



no less for his talents tlian for the excellent 
qualities of his heart. He says, in speaking 
of Mr. Everliart's nomination for Congress 
in Chester county : •■ It will give pleasure 
to many attached friends in Luzerne. A 
holder of valuable |)roperty in this county, 
he is a frequent, a respected and ever wel- 
come visitor. One of the most extensive 
merchants in West Chester — he has been 
an importer for thirty years — lias visited 
Europe, and the name will be recollected 
by many with interest, who have not the 
pleasure of an acquaintance with him, b^' 
the fact tliat he was the only passenger 
saved from the disastrous wreck of the ill- 
fated All)ion. It showed his unshakened 
mind, that amid the appalling horrors that 
surrounded him, he saw everything, re- 
membered everything, and the public is 
indebted to liis clear narrative for the 
deei>ly affecting circumstances attending 
that melancholy event. Simple in mannei-s, 
pleasing and unostentious, he was a man of 
bold and successful enterprise." 

West Chester, that has grown from a 
village to a populous and beautiful city, 
owes its wonderful increase in a great meas- 
ure to his purchase of the Wollerton farm. 



13EV. HEXKY WHEELEK, I). 1)., 

^ jiastor of the Methodist Episcopal 
ciiurch at I'liO'iiixville, Penn.-^ylvania, was 
born in Wedmore, Somersetshire, Englaml. 
in 1835. His childhood and youth were 
spent amid the beautiful scenery of liis na- 
tive country, with the Mendip hills on the 
east and north, the Bristol Channel on the 
west, and the mountains of Wales Iieyond. 
He was reared in the establishe<l church, 
and was educated in its schools. When 
about Hfteeii vears of aire he <'hanced to 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



visit the Wesleyan cliapel, aud became in- 
terested in the Sunday school. A little 
later he united with the Methodist society. 
At sixteen he hecanie a teacher in the 
Sunday school, and distributed tracts from 
house to house, occasionally holding jirayer 
7iieetings in the cottages of the poor. At 
eighteen he was licensed as a local or lay 
[ireacher, and was placed on the circuit 
plan, preaching in the surrounding villages 
ten Sundays in thirteen. His youthful ap- 
pearance attracted large audiences. At 
twenty he was recommended to the district 
meeting to be educated for admission to 
the conference, but turning his attention to 
the United States, he came to this country 
in June, 1855. In August of the same 
year he was sent by the presiding elder 
to the JSTorthmoreland cii'cuit as junior 
preacher. This circuit had fifteen appoint- 
ments in Luzerne and Wyoming counties, 
Peimsylvania. In 1856 he joined the Wy- 
oming conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. A part of that year and the fol- 
lowing he was a student in the Wyoming 
seminary under its president. Dr. Reuben 
Nelson. After his marriage in 1858, to 
Miss Mary Sparkes, of Binghamton, New- 
York, he served as pastor at Flainsville, 
Great Bend, and Waymart, in Pennsylva- 
nia, leaving this work to become chaplain 
of the 17th Pennsylvania cavalry, in which 
capacity he served in 1862 and, 1863. After 
his return from the army lie was stationed 
at the Central church, Wilkesbarre, Penn- 
sylvania ; at Wyoming, Pennsylvania; at 
Waverly, New York ; Owego, New York, 
and Norwich, New York. At the two last 
named places lie was engaged in building 
churches, whicli now stand among the finest 
church edifices in that part of the State. 
He was then made presiding (.■Idur of Otsego 



district, and later pastor of the church in 
Kingston, Pennsylvania. In 1872 he was 
elected reserve delegate to the general con- 
ference held in Brooklyn, and served in 
that body for a time in place of an absent 
delegate, Dr. R. Nelson. In 1876 he was 
elected delegate to the general conference 
which met in Baltimore. In 1879 he was 
transferred to the Philadelphia conference, 
at the urgent request of the church in 
Columbia, which church he served for three 
years. He has served a full term each 
Christ church and Cumberland street church 
in the city of Philadelphia. In 1888 he was 
asked for and sent as pastor to the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, Phoeuixville, and at 
the present writing is serving that church 
for the fifth year. He is popular with his 
people, and loved throughout the community. 
Dr. Wheeler is widely known in his de- 
nomination as an author. In 1883 the 
Western Methodist Book concern published 
from his pen "Methodism and the Temper- 
ance Reformation," whicli has ever since 
ranked as a standard authority upon that 
subject. A year later "Rays of Light in 
the Valley of Sorrow " was published by 
P. W. Ziegler & Co., Philadelphia, which 
has had a wide sale. In 1889 the Methodist 
Book Concern of New York published 
" Deaconesses : Ancient and Modern." 
Bishop Hurst says of this book : " It is the 
first, so far as I know, in English, which 
gives a history of this important move- 
ment, and shows its place in the life and 
work of the church." These works have 
received flattering notice in this country 
and England. In 1891 the Methodist Book 
concern published from his pen, in tract 
form, '• One Hundred Questions and Answers 
(111 till' History. Polity, and Usages of tlu' 
Methodist Kpiscopal Church," which is 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



231 



being used very largely by young people's 
societies and cbildren's classes. A writer 
in tlie Evening Call, of Pbiladelphia, says 
in u review of Dr. Wlieeler and bis work : 
" lie is a clear, brigbt, strong, vivacious 
man, and tlic cbureb of wbicli lie is pastor 
is one of tlic most progressive, and exerts a 
wide inHuence in tlic part of tlie city in 
wliicb it is located." 

Dr. Wlieeler. is still in tlic prime of life, 
and gives no evidence of abatement in zeal 
or labor. He is still busy witb bis peri, 
preparing a bistorical work for tbe use of 
tbe denomination. 

In 18it() tbe bonoraiy degree of Doctor 
of Divinity was conferred ou bim by tbe 
Little Rock university, a well deserved 
recognition of bis literary work. 

Dr. Wbeeler bas tbree cbildren : ' One 
daugbter, Mrs. Minnie W. Newbury, A.M., 
wife of T. P. Newbury, of tlic Pbi]a(Udpbia 
conference of tbe Metbodist Episcopal 
cburch; II. S.Wbeeier, M. D., and George 
P. Wbocler. [Tniversity Fellow in Englisb, 
IVim-ctoii university. 



Q 1). ARMSTRONG, M. 1)., one of 

tbe oldest i)bysicians in Cbester 
county, wbo graduated from .Tefferson Med- 
ical college in 188!t, and bas been in con- 
tinuous practice since tbat time, is a son of 
William and Jane (Little) Armstrong, and 
was born in Newcastle cnuiity. Delaware, 
•lanuary 22, 181.J. His fatlur was a life- 
long resifU'iit of tlie state of Delaware, and 
died tliere about 1834, aged sixty-five years. 
He was a prosperous farmer, an old-line 
wbig in politics, and a mendicr of Lower 
iiraiidywine Prcsliyterian cbureb, in wbicb 
beserve<Iasan elder for man v vears. He mar- 



ried Jane Little, bv wbom be bad a familv of i 



six children, four sons and two daugbtcrs, 
among whom was Dr. (4. D. Armstrong, tbe 
subject of tbis sketcb. 

Dr. (i. 1). Armstrong received bis educa- 
tion at Mosco aca<lemy and Delaware col- 
lege, under tbe tutorage of Hev. Francis 
Latta. After leaving college be read medi- 
cine witb Dr. II. F. Askew, of Wilmington. 
Delaware, and later matriculated at Jeffer- 
son Medical college, Pbiladelpbia, from 
wbicb institution be was graduated witb 
tbe degree of M. D. in tbe spring of 1839. 
He soon afterward began practicing in New 
London townsliip, Cliester county, wliere 
be has been successful Iv engaged in tbe line 
of bis profession ever since, and is now one 
of tbe oldest pbysicians in tbe county. He 
bas always been inclined toward agricultural 
pursuits, also, and now owns two tine farms 
comprising one bundred and twenty acres 
of valuable land, biglily improved, and in a 
good state of cultivation. His buildings 
are commodious and comfortalile, and be 
takes great pleasure in superintending liis 
farm operations, frequently lending a baud 
himself during tbe busy season. He owns 
stock in tbe Oxford National bank, and bas 
been a director in tbat institution for a 
number of years. 

On January 9, 1840, Dr. Armstroiig mar- 
ried Anna M. .Morrison, a native of Wil- 
mington, Delaware. To tliis union was 
born an only child, a daughter name<l M. 
J., wbo marrieil (leorge D. Hodgson, now 
deceasetb Mrs. Hodgson now resides witb 
lier parents in their comfortable home in 
New London town.«!liip. 

in political sentiment l)r. Armstrong is a 
pronouncctl rejmblican, but bas never felt 
inclined to take a very active part in prac- 
tical ])olitics, preferring to devote his time 
and attention to tlie reipiirenieiitt< of his 



232 



BIOGBAPMY AND HISTORY 



profession. In religion lie lias followed the 
traditions of his ancestoi's, and is connected 
with the New London Preshyterian church, 
which he is now serving as a member and 
secretary of its board of trustees. Dr. 
Armstrong is a man of medium height, 
stout build, and wonderful energy, being 
yet active and energetic, although now in 
the seventy-seventh year of what has been 
a busy and successful life. 



HON. PERSIFOR FKAZER SMITH 
w^as born in Philadelphia, January 
23, 1808, and died at West Chester, this 
county, on the 25tli day of May, 1882, aged 
seventy-four years. His father was Joseph 
Smith, son of Robert Smith, of Uwchlan, 
Chester county. Ilis mother was Mary 
(Frazer) Smith, a daughter of Col. Persifor 
Frazer, of Thornbury, then Chester county, 
but now Delaware county. From a carefully 
prepared pamphlet by Joseph S. Harris on 
tlie life of Robert Sniitli, reprinted from the 
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Bi- 
ography, we glean many of the following 
interesting facts : 

Robert Smith was of Scotch descent. 
Little is known of the history of his family 
prior to the emigration to Pennsylvania, 
except that the family name was originally 
Macdonald, and that the branch of it from 
which he was descended formed an import- 
ant part of the earliest Scottish emigration 
across the North Channel into Ireland, in 
the time of James I., of England. Near 
the end of tlie seventeenth century Robert 
Smith's grandfather lived in the northeast- 
ern part of Ireland. Just before the battle 
of the Boyne, as the soldier king, William 
III., was personally reconnoitering the local- 
ity, which was soon to become famous, his 



horse cast a shoe. There was, of course, no 
farrier in attendance to replace it; but 
Macdonald, in whose neighborhood the 
accident occurred, and who, like many other 
farmers in thinly-peopled districts, was 
something of a blacksmith, volunteered to 
repair the injuries, shod the horse, and so 
enabled the king to proceed. 

His neighbors, who, like himself, were in 
sympathy with the cause of which William 
was the champion, dubbed Macdonald "the 
Smith." Such a change of name would not 
now be considered a compliment, as Smiths 
are so numerous that the name confers no 
special distinction ; but in that district there 
was a surfeit of Macdonalds; all the possi- 
ble changes had been rung on the name, 
and still there were hardly enough names 
to individualize the members of the clan. 
Smith was a novelty, and the branch of trade 
it represented has always been an honore<l 
one, especially in primitive society, and this 
particular Scotchman, proud to have his 
name linked with that a great man, and a 
decisive battle, as that of Boynewater was 
soon known to be, accepted the cognomen, 
and handed it down to his posterity as the 
family name. 

The Macdonalds held their lands in Ire- 
land by tenant right, and while they, with 
the rest of their countrymen, were subduing 
the savage land which they then called home, 
they lived in obscurity. 

The Scotch-Irish emigration to I'ennsyl- 
vania in the iirst half of the eighteenth 
century, which gave to that colony so many 
of its best citizens, and which has done 
almost as much to determine tlie character 
of the State as the Puritan emigi-ation did 
to decide the character of New England, 
included among its number the parents of 
Ivobert Smith — John and Susanna — who 




(^<^M. (^^/Ja^/ ^^JazM ^/m. 



OF aHESTER COUNTY. 



It'ft their homes in 17:20, one year after the 
enforcement of "The Tefit," and whose 
special grievance was not the raising of the 
rent of tlieir homestead, Init tlie ahsolnte 
refusal of tlieir landlord to renew their lease 
unless they would comply with the require- 
ments of that hated act. 

Thougli the voyage was stormy and un- 
usually long, even for those (hiys of dull 
sailors, tradition tells of no losses of life on 
the journey, wliile there was certainly one 
life gained, for liohert Smith was horn at 
sea. Inanediately after landing at Phila- 
delphia, the emigrants pushed westward 
thirty miles into Chester county-, and [lassing 
hy tJie fertile <TreatValley, already partly peo- 
pled h}- Welsh settlers, heavily wooded, and 
prohahly at that time not free from the ma- 
laria wiiich the early emigrants had so much 
reason to dreail, took up lands to the north- 
wanl, in the hilly country of Uwchlan 
township, in a locality long known as the 
Brandy wine settlement. 

With lierhrother John came Mary Smith, 
who married Alexander Fulton, removed to 
Little Britain, Lancaster county, and to 
wliom in due time was horn a grandson, 
Uohert Fulton, who lias indissolubly linked 
his name with the liistory of steam naviga- 
tion. 

His next appearance is in the coimnence- 
nient of the revolution, in August. 177'). lie 
took an active part in supervising tlie erection 
of military defences, and afterward sat in the 
convention which, on tlie 28th of Septem- 
ber, 1776, adopted tlie first State constitu- 
tion of Pennsylvania. He was at this time 
a man of consid('ral>le wealth, great energy, 
and extensive influence. On the 12tii of 
March, 1777, the supreme executive council 
of Pennsylvania selected him as colonel of 
the militarv forces of Ciiester count v- He 



took an active part'in the struggles of colo- 
nial times and the eventful years whicii 
followed, was a meiiiiicr of the State assem- 
bly in 178."), and held various other offices 
of honor and trust, and died in 1803. at the 
age of eighty-three years. 

His sou Joseph, father of the subject of 
this article, was an iron shipping merchant 
in Philadelphia. The maternal grandfather, 
Col. Persifor Frazer, was in tlie American 
army during tlie revolution, where he serve<l 
with much gallantry and distinction. It 
will thus be seen that Mr. Smith is the 
direct lineal descendant of the early settlers 
of this country, who became famous in his- 
tory for their intelligence and patriotism. 

He was educated in Philadelphia, priiu-i- 
pally in the classical school of Dr. Samuel 
B. Wylie and Joseph P. Engles. He grail- 
uated at the university of Pennsylvania on 
the 31st of July, 1824, and in the same year 
removed with his father to East Whiteland, 
Ciiester county, Pennsylvania. In October, 
1826, he eommence<l the study of law in 
the office of William II. Dillingham, esq., 
and was admitted to practice in the courts 
of Chester county at the November term, 
182!'. He was a(lniitte<l to the supreme 
court in December, 1831, and in October of 
the following year to the circuit court of 
the United States for what was then known 
as the Third circuit of Pennsylvania. He 
was married on the 24th of July, 1833. to 
Tiiomasine S. Fairlamb. daughter of Dr. 
George A. Fairlamb, of Downingtown,Clics- 
ter county. In May. 1835, he was ap- 
pointed clerk of the Orphans" court of 
Chester county by (Governor George Wolf, 
and on February 25, 1839. was appointed 
prosecuting attorney for Delaware county 
by Ovid F. Johnson, attorney-general under 
Governor David K. Porter. His progress 



BIOGRAPHY AND HtSTOtlY 



was steadily mai'ked, a'lid his valuable sei-- 
vices were in general demand. lie was not 
allowed to remain long out of official posi- 
tions, and it is to his credit that in every 
instance he fuliilled the various duties as- 
signed him with integrity, punctuality, and 
signal ability. In February, 1849, he was 
admitted to practice before the supreme 
court of the United States. He studiously 
followed tlie practice of his profession, and 
became extensively known by lawyers and 
judges. He maintained a very high posi- 
tion at the bar, and was long recognized as 
one of its leaders, both in the county and 
State. His opinion on the perplexing ques- 
tions constantly arising in the practice of 
.the law were largely sought for by his pro- 
fessional brethren. In 1801, during the 
stirring times which marked the beginning 
of the civil war, he was elected a member 
of the legislature, and the fact that he was 
returned bj' his constituents for the years 
of 1862-3-4, shows the high esteem in 
which he was held, having been chosen four 
years in succession at a time when the term 
of that office was for one year only. Dur- 
ing the civil war he was one of the most 
stanch supporters of the Union cause. In 
the year 1866 he was honored, as was also 
the county, by his appointment as state re- 
porter of the supreme court of Pennsyl- 
vania, which position he filled with recog- 
nized fidelity and ability, and relinquished 
it in May, 1876. There is not a law library 
in any court or lawyer's office in Pennsyl- 
vania which does not contain the thirty-two 
volumes of State reports compiled and ar- 
ranged during the ten years he filled that 
arduous and responsible office. lie was 
also the author of the valuable legal text 
book entitled, "Forms of Procedure." 
While Mr. Smith never engaged in any 



occupation which was not in the line of the 
profession of his choice, he took great in- 
terest in local and general politics, and in 
every project calculated to develop the 
country. By his varied reading and close 
observation he kept himself abreast with 
all that ti-anspired in the literary and scien- 
tific world. His life was one of unwearied 
activity, and he was time and again called 
by his fellow citizens and those in authority 
to fill grave and responsible trusts. Mr. 
Smith was warmly identified with every 
good word and work calculated to enhance 
the interests and increase the usefulness of 
his town and county. His legal career ex- 
tended over more than half a century. He 
literally "died in the harness," for his death 
occurred in the courthouse at West Chester 
on the 25th day of May, 1882, while argu- 
ing a case before Judge Futhey. 

His son, George Fairlamb Smith, who 
served with distinction in the civil war, 
and was afterward elected district at- 
torney for Chester county, and still later 
served as it member of the legislature 
of Pennsylvania, was for several years asso- 
ciated with his father in the practice of the 
law. He died October 18, 1877. Mr. 
Smith's youngest and only surviving son 
and namesake, Persifor Frazer Siuith, who 
now resides in Allegheny City, Pennsyl- 
vania, is president of the Wellsville Plate 
& Iron Company, whose plant is located at 
Wellsville, Ohio. The only surviving 
daugliter is the wife of Robert Emmet 
Monoghan, of West Chester. 



t^K. JAMES B. RAYNER, a graduate 
of the Veterinary college of Philadel- 
phia, and one of the founders of the United 
States Veterinary Medical association, and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



who lias succc'sst'iilly iifiu-tiuod Iiin profession 
ill West Chester siiu-e 1864, is a son of Dr. 
Williiuu and Mary (Buckley) Rayner, and 
was l)oni in Lancasliirc, Knghind, March 
18, iXiit;. His paternal j^randjiarents were 
natives and iife-lonuj residents of f^nghmd. 
iris father was horn and reared in Lanca- 
shire, wliere he re(-eived his edncation. At 
an early age he turned his attention to the 
study of the veterinary science, and soon 
became proficient therein. He married 
Nfary Buckley, of his native country, who 
died in 1868, aged seventy-six years. In 
1842, with his wife and their ten eliildren, 
he came to Pennsylvania, where he settled 
at Manayunk, above the city of Philadel- 
phia, of which i>lace be was a resident until 
his death, in 1866, wlien he was in the 
seventy-second year of his age. He was a 
very successful veterinary surgeon, and 
one of his six sons. Dr. Oeorge Rayner, 
served as a veterinary surgeon in the 
Federal army during the last great civil 
war. Dr. William Rayner was a useful 
citizen, well qualified for his veterinary 
work, and after coming to this county, be- 
came an active republii-an in politics. 

James B. Rayner was reared in Lanca- 
shire, received his education in the schools 
of his neighborhood, and pursued his veter- 
iiuiry studies under liis father, l)oth in Kn- 
glanil and the United Stiites. He accom- 
l)anied his father, in 1842, from Lancashire 
to Manayunk, and in 1853 commence<l the 
practice of his profession, which he foMowed 
until 1863, when, to fully perfect himself as 
a veterinary surgeon, lie entered the Veter- 
inar}^ college of Philadelphia, from wliieh 
he was graduated in 1864. After graduation 
he came to West Chester, where he lias built 
up his present extensive practice. 

On March 29th, 1846. Doctor Ravner 



married Sarah Jackson, of Lower Merioii, 
Montgomery county, who died in 1881, aged 
fifty-five years. After her death lie wedded, 
on dune ID, 188!t, Mrs. Lizzie T. Tlurford, a 
daughter of .Joseph D. Taylor, of Kennett 
township, Chester county, I'ennsylvania. 

Dr. James B. Rayner is a republican in 
politics. He is a member of West Chester 
Lodge, No. 322, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Lodge Xo. 130, Indepeiulent (Jrder of Odd 
Fellows; Tamened Tribe, Xo. 192, Im- 
proved Order of Red Men; (loshen Castle, 
Xo. 78, Knights of tlie Golden Eagle ; and 
Estella Lodge, Xo. 131, Knights of Pythias. 
He is one of the oldest Odd Fellows in tlie 
county, having become a member of tliat 
order in 1847. Doctor Rayner is one of 
the founders and ii member of the Veter- 
inary association of Pennsylvania, and is 
one of the founders and active members of 
the [^nited States Veterinary Medical asso- 
ciation. He is skillful and successful in his 
line of work, and ranks among those who, 
by energy and labor, have won merited 
success. 

QAMUEL IVISON, jr., one of Oxford's 
successful merchants, and a man of good 
business qualifications, is a son of Samuel 
and Rebecca (Henderson) Ivison, ami was 
liorn in the city of Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, Xovember 10, 18.51. His paternal 
grandfather, John Ivison, was born in Kn- 
gland, where he was reared and received 
his education. He learned the ti'ade of 
printer, which he followed in his native 
countr}' until 1830, when he came to Phila- 
delphia, where he died in 1870. at the 
ailvanced age of eighty-four years. He was 
a repulilican in politics, and a member of 
the .Methodist Episcopal church, and mar- 
ried .\nna Sargason. The\- were the parents 



226 



BtOOMAPHY AND HISTORY 



of eleven children, one son and ten daugh- 
ters. The son, Samuel Ivison (father), was 
born, in 1821, in England, and came with his 
parents, in 1830, to Philadelphia, where he 
received his education. After attaining his 
majority he engaged in lousiness, and is now 
a cotton goods manufacturer of the " (Quaker 
City." He is a supporter of the principles 
of the Republican party, and in religious 
belief and church membership is a Meth- 
odist. He married Rebecca Henderson, and 
their union was blessed with live children, 
three sons and two daughters : Dr. John, of 
Coatesville ; Isaac, proprietor of the Chester 
house, of Media; Mary McDowell ; Samuel, 
jr. ; and Anna E. Johnson. 

Samuel Ivison, jr., was reared in Phila- 
delphia, and received his education in the 
public schools and Lincoln grammar school 
of that city. He was graduated from the 
last named school, and then engaged in the 
wholesale notion business with 0. J. Baily 
& Co. At the end of one year he left this 
tirm and went to Delaware county, in which 
he was engaged in agricultural pursuits up 
to 1876. In that year lie came to New 
Garden, this county, where he embarked in 
the general mercantile business, which he 
followed there until tlie succeeding year, 
when he removed to Lincoln. At that 
place he conducted a general mercantile 
store for five years, and then was engaged 
in the sale of fertilizers until 1887. In that 
year he came to Oxford and became a 
member of the present lirm of Josiah Cojje 
& Co.' They deal in grain, ha}' and fertil- 
izers, and have a large and lucrative trade. 
They handle lirst-class grades of goods, make 
a specialty of securing whatever their pa- 
trons desire, and have a constant and in- 
creasing demand for everything which they 
carry in stock. 



(-)n November 20, 1875, Mr. Ivison married 
Marguerite Sharpless, who was a daughter 
of Joel Sharpless, of Delaware county, and 
died October 27, 1880, leaving two children : 
John M. and Marion S. Five years later, 
on November 25, 1885, he wedded Mary 
Gibson, and to this second union have been 
born two children, a son and a daughter: 
Josiah H. and Josephine V. 

In politics Mr. Ivison is a stanch republi- 
can, who is ever active in tlie intei'ests of 
his party. lie has served for three years as 
a member of the town council, and his name 
has been favorably mentioned by many of 
his own party in connection with the office 
of register of wills, on account of his busi- 
ness ability and special qualifications for 
that important position. He is a past 
master of Oxford Lodge, No. 353, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and a past high priest 
of Oxford Chapter, No. 223, Royal Arch 
Masons. 

QHARLES S. HORNING, M. D., is a 

graduate from the Hahnemann Medi- 
cal college, of Philadelphia, who has been 
in active and successful practice since 1881. 
He was liorn at Shannonville, in Montgom- 
ery county, this State, on the 12th of March, 
1858, and reared principally at Norristown, 
that county. His general education was 
obtained in the public schools of his native 
county, and after leaving school he began 
the study of medicine in the office of Dr. 
Thomas L. Pratt, now deceased, at Norris- 
town. Later he entered the Hahnemann 
Medical college, at Philadelphia, and was 
graduated from that institution in the spring 
of 1881. He began practice at Phcenix- 
ville, tliis county, and remained here until 
1886, when he removed for a time to Shan- 
nonville, Montgomery county, though he 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



still attended to his practice at Phcenixville. 
After a resideiico of three years in Moiit- 
i^oinery founty he returned to liis old loca- 
tion here, and has ever since resided in 
I'ha-nixvilk'. He possesses many charac- 
teristics of the successful physician, and 
;ilrcady enjoys .i good practice, which is 
imreas'ing every year. He takes rank with 
the rising young physicians of Chester 
>-ounty, and hids fair to write his name 
pi'oniincntiy in the medical history of tliis 
section. 

Dr. Horning is a member of the Knights 
of the (lolden Eagle, and of the order of 
I'ente. anil in political sentiment is a stanch 
democrat. He is unmarried. 

The Hornings are descended from an 
ancient Holland family, and trace their 
American ancestry hack through eight ov 
ten generations to one Louis Horning, who 
(laine over from Holland among the earliest 
settlers of this country. Tliej- have a good 
degree of that activity, thrift, and enter- 
prise for which their sturdy race is noted, 
:iM<l havel>een useful and honorahle citizens. 
• lames Horning, the paternal grandfatherof 
the suhject of this sketch, was a native of 
Montgomery county. I'enns^'lvania, and 
taught sdiool in that county wlien a young 
man. ' He was afterward engaged in the 
manufacture <jf linseed oil in I)au]diin 
county, and fnrnisiied t.lie oil used in paint- 
ing tiie State hospital at Harrishurg. Polit- 
ically he was a .Tacksonian <lemocrat, and 
died su<ldcidy in lHti4, while on a visit to 
the old hijuiestead in Montgomery county. 
in the si.xty-tifth year of his age. His son. 
Ik'njamin Franklin Horning (father), was 
tiorn in Mittiin county, this State, in 1H80. 
hut moved with his fathers family to 
Montgomery county while yet a iioy. and 
lived there until IH.'),'), wlien In- cann- to 



l*lncni.\ville. Chester county, wlii're he now 
resides. In early life he learned the trade 
of wheelwriglit, and followed that occupa- 
tion for many years, hut is now engaged in 
the insurance business. Like his father, Ik- 
is a democrat in [)olitics. In 185:} lie mar- 
ried Jane E. Armstrong, a native of Millers- 
burg, Dauphin county, Pennsylvania, who 
is still living, being now in the sixty-third 
year of her age. To them was born a 
family of three children, all sons, of whom 
Dr. Charles S. Horning is the second. 
The oldest son, J. Oscar Horning, married 
JiUia Friedly, from Carlisle, Pennsylvania. 
He was formerly enijiloyed as photfig- 
rapher at the State Insane asylum at Nor- 
ristown. The younger son, Lewis Horn- 
ing, married Carrie Davis, of I'hienixville. 
He is now carrying on the photograph 
l)usiness in his nativi- town, that of Plm-nix- 
ville. J. Oscar Horning now has cliarge of 
the House of Refuge at (ilen Mills. Dela- 
ware county, Penns3'lvania. 



riDDISOX L. .lOXES, superintendent 
of till' jiublic schools of the city of 
West Chester, was born near Norristown. 
Montgomery county, Penn.sylvania,ou .Jan- 
uary 20. 18.')*), and is tiie eldest of the two 
sons born to Samuel and .Mary ( Landes) 
Jones. This branch of the Jones family is 
of (Jennan lineage, being planted in tiiis 
country by Peter Jones (great-grandfatlier ), 
wlio was horn in Hesse-I>armstadt, (!ci-- 
iriany, but leaving the Fatherland in miildle 
life emigraterl to .\merica and establishc<l 
himself in Montginnery county, rennsyi- 
vania. He wius a Mennonite prea«-her. mar- 
ried and reared a family, one of his sons 
being Samuel Jones ( grandfather ). who was 
born in Montiromerv <<>unty, this State. 



1.') 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



where he grew to manhood and became a 
farmer, passing his life principally in the 
cultivation of the soil. He married Anna 
Kolb, by whom he had a, family of six chil- 
dren, iive sons and a daughter: John, de- 
ceased ; Henry, also dead ; Nathan, now 
living in Norristown ; Samuel (father), who 
resides on a farm near Norristown ; Joseph, 
also a resident of Norristown ; and Maria, 
who married Abraham Poole, of Schwenks- 
ville, Montgomery county, this State. Sam- 
uel Jones (father) was born March 23,1828, 
and while a boy learned the trade of caltinet 
maker, at which he worked for a time, but 
later began farming, and devoted most of 
his life to tliat occupation. He retired 
from active business some years ago, and 
now resides quietly in Norristown. He is 
a member of the Mennonite church, and a 
republican in political conviction. He mar- 
ried Mary Landes, who was born March 20, 
1830, in the northern part of Montgomery 
county. To them was born a family of two 
sons, the elder being Addison L., the sub- 
ject of this sketch, and the younger San)uel 
L., who married Emma J. Gaumer, and 
now resides in the city of Trenton, New 
Jersej'. 

Addison L. Jones was reared on a farm 
in Montgomery county, and i-eceived his 
education in the public schools of his neigh- 
borhood. Possessing an active mind, and 
inclined to earnest study, he made rapid 
progress, and when fifteen years of age 
began teacliing in bis ruitive county, liaving 
charge of the school in his own district for 
a period of seven years. During this time 
he diligently pursued liis studies, and later 
came to West Chester and entered the 
State Normal school, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1881. He was 
then tendered, and accepted, the position of 



principal of the Unionville High school, in 
this county, and remained in charge of that 
institution for a period of tive years, doing 
excellent work and acquiring considerable 
reputation as an educator. For a few 
months he was principal teacher in the Sol- 
diers' Orphans' school at Chester Springs, 
but, liking public school work better, he re- 
signed. In the autumn of 1886 he came to 
the West Chester State Normal school as 
assistant teacher in the English branches, 
and served in that capacity for a term of 
two years, after which he assumed charge 
of the Conshohocken public schools for one 
year, and was then elected superintendent 
of the public schools of West Chester, which 
position he has ever since filled in an able 
and acceptable manner. 

Superintendent Jones was united in mar- 
riage on December 22, 1886, to Clara Pyle 
Loller, a daughter of C. Wilson Loller, of 
Unionville, and to them has been born 
one child, a daughter, named Marguerite 
Landes. 

In politics Superintendent Jones is a re- 
publican, but too deeply concerned in his 
educational work to give much attention to 
political matters. He is a member of the 
Presbyterian church, and has for several 
years served as president of the Chester 
County Teachei's' association, and also of 
tlie Second District association of Chester 
county. He has also been president of the 
University Extension association of West 
Chester, and is a member of the Philo- 
sopfiical society of the county. As may bo 
seen from this condensed stutement of what 
fie has accomplisbed. Superintendent Jones 
tias been an active and progressive teacfier, 
taking a prominent part in all matters pei-- 
taining to his work, and gaining an lionor- 
af)le standing in fiis jirofession. 



OP CHESTER COUNTY. 



ISAAC SPACK3IAN, a woll (qualified 
business man, and wlio lias served for 
twelve years as secretary of the old and 
reliable Chester -County Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Conii)aiiy, is a son of Thomas and 
Hannah (Maxton) Sjiackman, and was born 
in what is now Cain township, (Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, December !», 1829. 
His paternal great-grandparents, Isaac and 
Esther (Beale) Spacknian, were residents 
of Ilaiikerton. neai- Malnisbury. in Wilt- 
shire, England, whci-c the husband, who 
was a worsted coiiiiier, died about 174t!,and 
left hiswidow and seven children in straight- 
ened circumstances. Their son, Isaac Spack- 
nian (grandfather), was born November 21, 
1789, and in 17o() was brought by his uncle. 
William Beale, to rennsylvania, where he 
was bound out to sci'vicc for a sufRcii'ut 
length of tinu- to pay for his {)assagt'. He 
grew to manhood in Chester county, and in 
17Ho purchased the farm in Cain township 
which bis grandson, the sultjcct of this 
sketcli. now owns. He died .Vpril l.>, 1823, 
aged eighty-foui- years, lie married, April 
21. 17tJ8, Susanna Clayton, of West Brad- 
ford, and their children were : (ieorge. Ann, 
James, Isaac, Mary, Susanna, Thomas, and 
Edith. Thomas Spacknum (father), the 
youngest son, was boi-n in 1782, and died 
February 20. 184H, at sixty-four yeais of 
age. lie was a prosperous farmer, and 
always resided on the home farm. He was 
a member of tlie Society of Friends, and an 
old-line wliig in politics, and served as one 
of the early school directors of his towii- 
shiji. He marrie<l Hannah Maxton. a na- 
tive of Bradford township, who <lied Sep- 
tember 17, 1884, when in the eighty-second 
year of her age. They had six children, 
one son and five daughters. 

IsaH<- Spacknian grew to manhood on the 



home farm, received bis education in the 
t'onimon and boarding schools, and was en- 
gaged in farming for fifty years, excepting 
two winters, during which he taught school. 
In 1880 he was elected as secretary of tlie 
Chester County Mutual Fire Insurance 
Coni|>any, and removed to Coatesvilic. 
where he has resided ever since. 

On January o. 1854, Mr. Spacknian niar- 
rie<l Ann Eliza Branson, daughter of James 
(4. and Elizabeth Branson, of West Brandy- 
wine township. Mr. and Mrs. Spacknian 
have six children : Thomas, Horace B., 
George If., AVilliam W.. John E., and 
Owen F. 

Isaac Spacknian is a repui)lican in poli- 
tics, and a niembei' of the Presbyterian 
church. While residing in Cain towii.ship 
he served one term as assessor, three years 
as supervisor, sixteen years as school direc- 
tor, and eight years as county auditor. He 
does some land sur\eving, still owns tlie old 
homestead farm, and is a good business 
man. In September. 18(i2. he served as a 
soliliei- in (iiie of the eiiicrgeiicy militia 
regiments that were called out by Pennsyl- 
vania to repel Lee's threatened invasion of 
the State. 

The Chester County .Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company was organized in 1S40, has 
had its otHce at Coatesvilic since 18t)l, 
and has twciity-tive million dollars insur- 
ance, with over eight humireil thoiisanil 
dollars of storm insurance. The aim of the 
company has been to furnish insiii-ance at 
the lowest possible cost, which it has done 
successfully. It has paid ov«'r one million 
dollars of losses to its members, and has a 
membershi]) of over nine thousand. Its 
operations are mainly confined to Chester 
county, and it is consider(>d as otie of the 
best managed and most solid and sin-cessfnl 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISIOBY 



tire insurance companies in the United 
■States. Its popularity and prosperity are 
on the increase, and much of its able man- 
agement and success is due to the efforts of 
its present secretary, who has labored most 
faithfully in its interests. Isaac Spackman 
is a man of tliorough experience, as well 
as energy and excellent business ability, and 
has always served creditably in any busi- 
ness enterprise in which he has ever been 
engaged. He is pleasant and courteous, 
easily approached, and is known throughout 
the count}' as an honest citizen and an 
upright man. 



nOBERT COWAN, deceased, was a 
representative in the generation now 
passed away, of that sturdy, independent, 
industrious element, to which the common- 
wealth of Pennsylvania owes much of her 
progress and development. He was the 
son of Adam and Elizabeth (Withrow) 
Cowan, and was born in what was then 
Sadsbury township, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, on October 14, 1792. He was 
reared on the farm and attended the public 
school in winter until his sixteenth year, 
when he went to what is now Coatesville, 
this county, and set in to learn the black- 
smith's trade. His education was limited 
and he spent his leisure time while learning 
Viis trade in efforts to improve his mind h\ 
reading and study. Having a remarkable 
memory he easily retained what lie ac- 
quired, and came to be a man of wide 
intelligence and much general information. 
He passed five years as an apprentice, thor- 
oughly mastering liis trade in all its 
branches, and then worked as a journey- 
man until 1823, when be married Mary 
Cowan, of Sadsbury township, and return- 



ing to his native place, took charge of 
the home farm, where he continued to 
reside during the remainder of his life. In 
connection with his farm he conducted a 
blacksmith shop, where he did a great deal 
of work. He was a strict adherent of the 
Presbyterian church, and took an active 
part in supporting all its charitable and 
religious interests. In politics be was a 
democrat until the breaking out of the 
civil war, when he became a republican, and 
ever afterward supported the policy of that 
political organization. He was elected to 
the office of justice of the peace in Sadsbury 
township and served one term. In business 
his energy, industry and aljility rendered 
him successful, and he was a man of broad 
sympathies and generous impulses. No one 
was ever turned away empty-handed from 
his door, and his memory is yet fondly 
cherished by many whom he befriended 
during his active and useful life. By his 
marriage to Mary Cowan he had a family 
of eight children, four sons and four 
daughters, of whom four are still living: 
Elizabeth, who married William Birnpson, 
and now resides in Parkesburg, this t-ounty ; 
Margaret, also I'esiding in Parkesburg, 
unmarried ; Caroline, the wife of Kobert 
Irwin, of Coatesville ; and Robert Calvin, 
now engaged in the harness making busi- 
ness at Atglen. Miss Margaret Cowan, or 
Maggie Cowan, as she is familiarly known, 
was educated principally at select private 
schools in this county, and in 1S78 came to 
Parkesburg, where she has resided ever 
since. She is now the president of the 
Woman's Christian Tempei'ance Union, of 
Parkesburg, and has been a member of the 
Independent Order of Good Templars since 
1862. She is an active and successful Sun- 
day school worker, liaving been engaged 



OF CHESIER COUNlY. 



in the Sunday school nearly all her lifo, 
eitiier as scholar or teacher. 

The Cowan family is of Irish extraction. 
The paternal grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, whose name was also Robert, 
came from the north of Ireland at an early 
day, and settled in Sadshurv townsliip, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, where he 
purchased a large tract of land, the deed 
for which i.s dated in 1770, and is now 
in possession of his great-granddaugliter, 
Margaret Cowan. Adam Cowan (father) 
was born in Sadsbury township, where he 
died in IHQ'I, aged fifty-tivc years. His wife, 
by whom he had a family of four children, 
died in 1834, in her eighty-third year. The 
maternal great-grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch was Hugh Cowan, also an 
emigrant from the north of Ireland, and 
probably remotely connecteil with tlie 
paternal side of Robert Cowan's family. 
He settled in Sadsbury township, this 
county, previous to the coming of Robert's 
paternal grandfather, and was a prosperous 
farmer and intluential citizen in his day. 
The Cowans were among the earliest set- 
tlers here, and were active and well known 
among the early militia of tlie county. 



QEORGE I). PETERS, burgess of 
Spring City, and one of the active and 
progressive young business men of that 
prosperous borough, is a son of diaries and 
Mary (Diemer) Peters, and was born in 
l'bihidcli)hia, Pennsylvania, ?\^bruary 27, 
IStU. His paternal grandfather, Charles 
I'eters, was born and reared in the city of 
Bordeau.v, France, from which lie came 
in 1814 to Philadelphia, where he resided 
for a number of ^-ears. when he removed to 
Spring City, where he died. He was a 



book-binder l)y trade, and married Ann 
\\'arnock, and hail a family of three sons 
aiul two daughters: Theodore, Charles, 
Josephine, Virginia, and Joseph. Charles, 
the second son and father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born November 9, 1825, 
and learned the trade of book-binder, wliich 
he followed at various places until 1866, 
wlien he came to Spring City and was suc- 
cessively engaged in the general mercantile 
and hotel business. His hotel stood on tlie 
site of 'S'eager & lluntei-"s foundry, and was 
known as the '-Springville Hotel." Witliin 
the last few years Mr. Peters has retired 
from active life, and still resides at Spring 
City, lie is a democrat in politics, and 
while residing in Philadelphia served two 
years as assessor and the same length of 
time as clerk to the engineer of water- 
works. He married Mary Diemer, daugiiter 
of Michael and Rachel Diemer. and to 
them were born four children, two sons and 
two daughters. 

George D. Peters was reared principally 
at Spring City, and received his education 
in the public schools and tiie higli scliool of 
that place. Leaving school he went to 
Philadelphia and entered Pierce's Business 
college, from which he was graduated in the 
spring class of 1881. He then became 
book-keeper for the stove manufacturing 
tirm of 0. B. Keeley & Co., of Spring City, 
and went with them when they removed 
their works to Columbia, where he re- 
mained but two months. At the end of 
that time he accepted a position as book- 
keeper with James Sjiear, stove manufac- 
turer, of Philadelphia, and six months later 
resigned to engage with S. M. Reynolds & 
Co., of Middletown, Delaware, where he 
remained but three months. Ue then, in 
1884, accepted a position in the Spring City 



333 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Xiitional bank, wliicli lif resigned two \'ears 
later to engage witli Yeager & Hunter, in 
whose employ he remained until October 1, 
1889, when he returned to the bank, of 
which he has been teller ever since. 

On Feliruary 8, 1889, Mr. Peters was 
united in marriage with Florence Sheeler, 
daughter of John Sheeler, who was form- 
erly a stove manufacturer of Rover's Ford, 
Montgomery county. 

In politics Mr. Peters is a strong demo- 
crat, and served as a member of the council 
for three years and auditor for three years. 
He was elected burgess in February, 1892, 
and has been discharging the duties of that 
position very successfully ever since being 
inducted in office. He is a member of 
Spring City Lodge, Xo. -553, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Ph«nix Chapter, 'Ro. 198, 
Royal Arch Masons; Palestine Council, No. 
8, Royal and Select Masters, and Jerusalem 
Commandery, No. 15, Knights Templar. 
He is also a mend)er and deacon of the 
Evangelical Lutheran church, and has been 
serving for some time as president of the 
Spring City Fire Company. George ]>. 
Peters has rapidly won his way to the front 
rank of the successful j'oung business men 
of his borough by energy, hard work and a 
genius for overcoming difficulties. 



t3ROF. A. THOMAS 8MITH, vice 
principal of West Chester State Nor- 
mal school, in which he has' held the chair 
of pedagogy for seven years, is a son of 
P^rasmus P. and Elizabeth (Baker) Snuth, 
and was born at Jeffersonville, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, September 10, 1862. 
A. Thomas Smith was reared in Mont- 
gomery county, and received his education 
ill the pnl)lic schools, the "West Chester 



State Normal school, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1883, and in 
special stud\' under Dr. W. II. Payne and 
Dr. Jerome Allen. Immediately after 
graduation he was ofiered and accepted the 
position of iirst assistant in the Soldiers" 
Orphan school of Chester Springs, this 
county, which he held until the autumn of 
1884. He was then elected principal and 
served until January, 1885, when he resigned 
to take the chair of pedagogy in West 
Chester State Normal school, which he has 
held ever since. The studies in his depart- 
ment embrace psychology', logic, ethics, 
methods of culture and instruction, school 
economy and educational history, and are 
so arranged and classified as to thoroughly 
treat of the science of pedagogics. Pro- 
fessor Smith has systematized his work and 
brought it up to a high standard, and the 
successful results of his teaching have been 
such as to cause a great demand for his 
services as a county institute instructor 
throughout Eastern Pennsylvania aud in 
the States of New Jersey and Delaware. 

On August7,1888, Prof. Smith was united 
in marriage with Lizzie Fenton Ogden, 
daughter of George Ogden, of Cape May 
Court House, New Jersey, and who was 
graduated from the West Chester State 
Normal school in the class of 1886. Mrs. 
Smith is now a teacher of geography and 
history in her Alma mater. 

Professor Smith is a republican in politics, 
and a charter member of the Westminster 
Presbyterian church of West Chester, in 
which organization he was chosen one of 
the six original ruling elders. His time 
is given chiefly to his profession, in which 
he has always been an active and zealous 
worker. Professor Smith is in touch with 
the educational thous'lit of the age, and con- 



OF CHESTER COUNTy. 



staiitly seeks to enlarge tlie bounclaries of 
his knowledge in tlie nolile field of linman 
learning in wiiieh he labors. lie is a 
member of the West Chester Philosophical 
society, and now in the enjoyment of a 
year's leave of absence, a resident member 
of the school of i)edagogy of the I'niversity 
of the city of New York. 

We cannot estimate ton highly the ser- 
vices rendered to the cause of education in 
Pennsylvania by her State Normal schools, 
of which West Chester has deserved right 
to rank high. One of the most important 
departments of West Chester .State Normal 
school is that of pecUigogics, which, under 
the charge of Prof. A. Thomas Smith, has 
achieved enviable reputation. Professor 
Smith is in the early prime of life, and has 
before him long years of activity and useful- 
ness in a noble sphere of action. 



J"ACOB F. KEPHART, whose business 
career spans half a century, and who 
lias been connected with the Schuylkill 
Valley Stove Company of Spring City since 
its organization, is a son of John and 
E.sther ( Fox ) Kephart, and was born in 
Limerick township, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, August 28, 1826. His pater- 
nal grandfather, Adam Kephart, was a 
native of Lehigh county, and in addition to 
serving as a soldier in the revolutionary 
war, he furnished several cavalry horses and 
a team for the use of the Continental arm}'. 
Some years after peace was declared in 
1783, he removed to Limerick township, 
.Montgomery county, where he followed 
farming until his death. lie married 
Susanmdi Shuman, and to them were born 
four sons and one daughter. The sons 
were Andrew, .Tohn. Adam, and Christian, 



of whom Andrew and Adam served as sol- 
diers in the war of 1812. John Kephart, 
the second son, and father of Jacob F. Kep- 
hart, was born in 1788, in Lehigh county, 
and settled in Limerick township, where he 
died June G, 18ti8, at four score years of 
age. He liiinicd the trade of stone-mason, 
which he followed for nearly fifty years. 
He was a democrat in politics and a mem- 
ber of the Evangelical Lutheran church, 
and nnirried Esther Fox, who died June 7, 
1878, aged eighty years, and was a daugh- 
ter of Jacol) Fox, a native of Berks, and a 
resident farmer of Montgomery county. 
Mr. and Mrs. Kephart were the parents of 
four children : Susanna, Jacob F., Enos, 
who married Maria Walters, and Esther, 
widow of William B. Kugler, who resides 
at Pottstown, this State. 

Jacob F. Kephart was reared in his 
native township, received a practical edu- 
cation in the schools of his neighborhood, 
and then learned the trade of blacksmith, 
at which he worked until 1847. In that 
year he was given charge of the l)lacksmith 
shops at *• Yankee Dam," on the canal three 
miles above S{)ring City, which position he 
held until 1851, when he went to Reading, 
where he was engaged in the manufacture of 
farming implements for two years. He 
was then successively engaged in the same 
line of business at Lebanon for three years, 
and at Harrisburg for nine years. At the 
end of that time, in 1865, he embarked in 
farming ami in the grain threshing machine 
business, which he followed until 187W, when 
he sold his farm and resided at ditt'erent 
places for ten years. He then (1889) be- 
came a member and ilirector of the present 
Schuylkill Valley Stove Company, of Spring 
City. This company was organized in the 
spring of 1889. and purchased its present 



2S4 



BtOGitAPHY AND HISTORY 



plant, whicli had been built three years pre- 
vious aud run until that time under the au- 
spices of the Knights of Labor. The plant 
covers a large area, and its principal buildings 
are a four-story warehouse, an engine and 
boiler house, a cleaning room, a two-story 
cupola house, and a molding room. The 
company employs eighty-five skilled work- 
men, turns out annually over one hundred 
thousand dollars" worth of stoves, and has 
a large patronage in nearly every State in 
the Union. 

In political sentiment Mr. Kephart is a 
democrat, but in local politics supports men 
and measures independent of party consid- 
eration. He is a member of the Evangeli- 
cal Lutheran church, and has had many 
years of valuable and successful experience 
in different manufacturing enter[)rises. 



JAMES S. PHIPPS, for many years a 
prominent and prosperous farmer of 
Uwchlaii township, but since 1877 a resident 
of the city of West Chester, is a son of 
Jonathan and Isabella (Peters) Phipps, and 
was born February 6, 1823, on the old 
Phipps homestead in Uwchlan township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. There he 
grew to manhood, receiving his education 
in the common schools, and after leaving 
school engaged in farming. For a number 
of years he taught during the winter season, 
and at one time was widely known and 
popular as a teacher. After some eight or 
ten years spent in this manner he abandoned 
teaching and devoted bis entire attention to 
agricultural pursuits until 1877, when he 
removed to the city of West Chester, 
where he has since resided, practically re- 
tired from active business. He still owns 
and directs the operations of two fine farms 



in Uwchlan townsliip, one consisting of one 
hundred and ten acres of valuable land 
and the other containing about one hundred 
and thirty acres. Both are well improved 
and in a good state of cultivation. Mr. 
Phipps is a member of the orthodox Society 
of Friends, and a republican in his political 
t)pinions. He is a man of sound judgment, 
strict integrity, and great uprightness of 
character, and has been called on by a large 
number of his friends to serve in the posi- 
tion of guardian and trustee. He now has 
in his keeping many trusts of this kind. 
He was elected justice of the peace in 1866, 
and remained in office until removing from 
the township. 

On November 31, 1849, Mr. Phipps was 
wedded to Hannah James, a daughter of 
Hon. Jesse James, of West Nantmeal town- 
ship, this county. To their union was born 
a family of two children, one son and a 
daughter: Margaret, who married J. E. 
Armstrong, now a large oil operator resid- 
ing at Petrolia, Ontario, Dominion of Can- 
ada; and Jesse, who died February, 1872, 
aged four years. Mrs. Phipps died in April, 
1877, in the forty-seventh year of her age. 
The Phipps family is of English extrac- 
tion, and was planted in America by John 
Phipps (paternal great-grandfather), who 
came over from England in 1686 and settled 
in Uwchlan township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. He took up one thousand 
acres of land, which is now owned in part 
by the subject of this sketch and his sister. 
Joseph Phipps (grandfather) was born in 
1750, and after his father's death inherited 
the latter's estate and spent his entire life 
in agricultural pursuits. He was accidently 
killed while on his way home from court. 
In politics he was an old-Hue whig, and in 
i-eligion a Friend, or Quaker. He married 



Of CHESTER COUNTY. 



986 



Mary Ann Keeley, l>y whom he had a 
family of nine (^hiidron, four sons and tivo 
ihiughters. One of these sons was .lonatlian 
Pliipps (fatlier), who was horn on the old 
liomestead in 1790, and l)eing left an orplian 
at an early age, by the death of his father, 
he was reared and educated by his mother. 
After attaining manhood lie engaged in 
farming, and passed his (hiys in the cultiva- 
tion of tlie soil. He was a wliig and re- 
publican in politics, a strict adherent of the 
Society of Friends, and died in 1866 at the 
advanced age of seventy-six years. In 
January, 181X, he married Isabella Peters, 
of Delaware county, and to them was born 
a family of eight children, only two of whom 
now survive. They were all mend)ers of 
the Society of Friends, and livi'd active, 
useful, and honorable lives. 



JAMES REA MAXWELL, M. D., a 

graduate of Jefferson Medical college, 
and a rising young [)hysician of Parkes- 
burg, is a son of Robert and Mary (Rea) 
Maxwell, and was born Septeml)er 20, 1862, 
near the (Jap, in Lancaster count}', Penn- 
sylvania. The Maxwells are of English 
extraction, and trace their American ances- 
try back to William Maxwell, wlio came 
over from England long prior to tlie revo- 
lutionary war, and settled at iStewartstown, 
New Jersey. They are of the same Max- 
well family from whom sprung ()cnci-al 
Maxwell, who distinguished himself during 
the revolutionary struggle. William .Max- 
well (grandfather) removed from New Jer- 
sey at a very early day, and locate<l in 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, where he 
purchased a large farm, on which he resided 
until his death at the age of sixty years, 
and where his descendants have become 



numerous and the family taken a prominent 
place. Among his sons was liobert Max- 
well (father), who is a prosperous farmer of 
Lancaster county, owning the old homestead 
on which he resides, being now in his 
seventieth year, lie is a republican in 
politics, and for many years has been a 
member and elder in the Presbyterian 
church. In 185.3 he married Mary Rea, a 
member of the Presbyterian church, and a 
native of Gap, who died November 10, 1890, 
at the advanced age of sixty-six years. To 
them was born a family of three children, 
two of whom died in infancy. 

James Rea Maxwell was reared on the 
farm, and obtained his education in the com- 
mon schools and the State Normal school at 
Millersville, Pennsylvania. After leaving 
the Normal school he engaged inteacliingfor 
a couple of years, after which he entered the 
office of Dr. John B. Martin, at Bart, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania, and began the 
study of medicine, toward which he had 
been inclined since early youth. After an 
assiiluous course of reading with Doctor 
.Martin he entered the Jefferson Medical 
college of I'biladclpbia, and in 1888 was 
graduated from that popular institution 
with the degree of M. D. He immediately 
located at Parkesburg, this county, where 
he has conducted an active practice ever 
since, and where he has won a good degree 
of success by his skill ajid devotion to the 
important profession of his choice. 

At the time of the Johnstown tiood Dr. 
Maxwell went to that stricken city and 
spent a week of hard work in the hospital 
there, endeavoring to alleviate the suffer- 
ings of the survivors of that awful catas- 
trophe. He is a member of the Chester 
County Medical society, ami takes an active 
interest in its jiroceedings. IK' is also a 



236 



BtOGMAPHY AND HISTORY 



member of the Presbyterian church of 
Parkesburg, and an earnest Sunday school 
worker, having been superintendent of the 
Sunday school at Lenover ever since its 
organization. In politics he is a stanch 
republican, and occupies the position of 
notary public at Parkesburg. He is also a 
member of Keystone Lodge, j^o. 569, Free 
and Accepted Masons. Dr. Maxwell is 
unmarried. As a citizen and as a physician 
he has the confidence of the community, 
and bids fair to occupy au important page 
in the medical history of Chester county. 



HENRY K. KURTZ, a member of the 
iron firm of W. W. Kurtz & Sons, has 
general charge of the Valley Iron works at 
Coatesville. He is a son of William W. and 
Annie (Bunn) Kurtz, and was born in the 
city of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, August 
2, 1857. 

William W. Kurtz (father) is a native of 
Gettysburg, this State, but in early man- 
hood removed to the City of Philadelphia, 
where he has resided ever since. After 
becoming a resident of Philadelphia he 
engaged in the dry goods business, which 
he very successfully managed for a number 
of years. He then became a banker, and 
for nearly a quarter of a century conducted 
a large general banking business in the 
city of Philadelphia, under the firm name 
of W. W. Kurtz & Co., bankers and bj-okers, 
No. 131 South Fourth street. 

He was engaged for some time in his 
father's banking house in Philadelphia and 
then accepted a position as superintendent 
of the Allentown Gas works, at Allentown, 
Lehigh county, this State, where he re- 
mained in charge for a period of six years. 
He then returned to Philadelphia and was 



engaged with his father in the banking 
business until 1889. In that year the iron 
firm of M''. W. Kurtz & Sons was organized 
and succeeded to the business of C. E. 
Pennock & Co., known as the Valley Iron 
works, at .Coatesville, this county. Henry 
K. Kurtz, became a member of this firm, 
was appointed manager of the business, 
and has had general charge of the works 
ever since. The mill furnishes a superior 
qualitj' of boiler, bridge, ship and tank 
plate, and has a capacity of ten thousand 
tons yearly. The firm is composed of 
William W. Kurtz, William B. Kurtz and 
Henry K. Kurtz. 

In 1884, Henry K. Kurtz married Leila 
Longaker, a daughter of Hon. A. B. Lon- 
gaker, of Allentown, Lehigh county, Penn- 
sylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Kurtz have three 
children, two sons and a daughter : William 
W., Leila, and Henrj- K., jr. 



TSAAC S. COCHRAN, a prominent citi- 
zen of Chester county, residing in West 
Chester, who enjoys the distinction of being 
the oldest and largest live stock dealer in 
the county, is. the eldest son of William L. 
and Eliza (Stanley) Cochran, and was born 
near Media, Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 28, 1826. His paternal 
grandfather, Isaac Cochran, was also a na- 
tive of Delaware county, but in later life 
removed to Chester county, where he died 
about 1862. He was a farmer during his 
earlier years, but became an inn-keeper 
and for many years was proprietor of the 
Rose Tree hotel, near Media. In politics 
he was an old-time whig, and so popular in 
Delaware county that he was elected to the 
responsible position of sherift", and served 
one term with entire satisfaction to the 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



aS7 



jmhlir unci credit to liiiiiselt". He married, 
and had a family of seven i-liildreii. AVil- 
liam L. Cocliraii (fatlier) was horn in J)el- 
aware county in 1799, Imt removed to Ches- 
ter county ahout 1882, where lie continued 
to reside until his death, in 1869, at the 
ripe old age of seventy years, fie was a 
cattle dealer and farmer in Willistown 
township, and possessing soniul judgment 
and great linsiness energy, he became suc- 
cessful and prosperous. In politics he was 
first a whig and later a repulilican, always 
taking considerable interest in i)ulilic ques- 
tions, lie married Eliza Stanley, a ilangli- 
ter of Jacob Stanley, of England, and to 
them was born a family of eight children, 
four sons and a like number of daughters, 
of whom Isaac S., the subject of' this sketch, 
is the eldest. 

Isaac S. Cochran received his education 
in the academy conducted by Joseph Strode, 
in this county — at that time a well-known 
hoarding school for boys ami young men — 
and after comjileting his studies and leaving 
school he began life on his own account as 
a dealer in live-stock, baying and selling 
cattle. At one time he owned and ojierated a 
large stock farm near the borough of West 
Chester. He has handled stock more or 
less all his life, and is an expert judge of 
cattle. His business lias grown to sucli an 
extent that it is perhajis true tluit he buys 
and sells a larger innnber of animals every 
year than any other man or firm in Chester 
county. 

On Decendier :51, 18.')1, Mr. Cochran was 
united in marriage to I'hu-be Shinier, a 
ilaughter of Edward Shinu-r, of this county. 
To their union was born a family of four 
children, three sons (two sons are now de- 
ceased) and a daughter. The daughter, 
Laura, is now the wife of U. II. .lohiison, a 



contractor and Viuilder, of Wayne, Delaware 
county, this State. The son, Harry Coch- 
ran, married Clara Smith, and resides with 
his father, being also engaged in buying 
and selling live-stock. In politics Mr. 
Cochran is a republican, but is too busy 
with business affairs to take any active part 
in politics. 

t3 N'KWTON THOMAS, the senior 
T* member of the tiriii of R. X. Thomas 
& Co., which is extensively engaged in the 
coal, feed, grain and flour business at West 
Chester, is a son of David li. and Isabella 
(Doyle) Thonuis, and was born at New 
London, Chester county, Pennsylvania, Jan- 
uary 1, 1843. The Thomas family of 
Chester county, of which the suljject of this 
sketch is a member, was founded by \)v. 
David Thomas (grandfather), who was born 
in Hilltown, Bucks county, Penn.sylvania, 
in 1759, where he resided until 1808, when 
he settled in Lower Oxford township, Clies- 
ter county, in which he died in 1824, aged 
sixty-five years. He was a physician, and 
served as a i)rivate in the revolutionary war 
and surgeon in the war of 1812. He was a 
strong democrat, and a leading Baptist in 
tlie community where he resided, and in 
1791 nuirried Mary Jones, of Bucks county. 
His son, David K. Thomas (father), was 
born at Hilltown, Bucks county, May 8, 
1803, and died in Wilmington, Delaware, 
February 20, 1874, when in the seventy- 
first year of his age. He was a tanner and 
leather currier by trade, and worked for 
many years at Wilmington, Delaware. He 
was a consistent Methodist, and in politics 
left the Democratic party on the subject of 
slavery to identify himself with the repub- 
licans. In 18o6 he married Isabella Doyle, 
who is now in the eighty-fourth year of lier 



BIOGRAPHY AND SISTORY 



age. To Mr. and Mrs. Thomas were born 
eleven children : Mary Jane, wife of 
Thomas Kennedy, and now dead ; Euphe- 
mia A., 'wife of John Edwards: John W. 
(dead); Margaret, widow of Anthony Don- 
nan; Joseph L., who was a Union soldier 
in the late war, and died in Missouri, April 
24, 1886; Francis A., now register of wills 
of Chester county (see his sketch); R. 
Newton ; L. Fletcher, who served in three 
Pennsylvania regiments during the last 
war, and then was engaged in Philadelphia 
in the hide and tallow business until his 
death, on April 26, 1890; Charles W., a 
member of the furniture firm of Clark, 
Thomas & Co., of Philadelphia; Tacey M., 
who married Lewis Lenderman ; and James 
M., now engaged in the wholesale butcher 
business in Wilmington, Delaware. 

R. Newton Thomas spent his boyhood 
days in Xew London townsiiip, received 
his education at New London, this count}', 
and at eighteen years of age quit working 
on tlie farm to learn the trade of currier 
and tanner with his father, in Lower Ox- 
ford, Chester county. After learning his 
trade he did journey work for his father 
until 1862, when he enlisted in one of the 
independent companies of emergency men, 
which was raised to help repel Lee"s in- 
vasion of Pennsylvania. Again, in 1863, 
when Lee threatened Pennsylvania a second 
time, he enlisted and served three months 
in Co. A, 29tii regiment of Emergency men. 
Returning from his second service in the 
army, he resumed journey work with his 
father, which he followed until 1865. He 
then did journey work for John Way, at 
Chatham, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
and with M. B. Chambers, Marshallton, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, until 1869, 
when he became deputy sherift" of Chester 



county under Sherift" D. W. C. Lewis, and 
at the end of his term accepted a position 
in the United States mint at Philadelphia, 
which he held for nine months. In 1872 
Mr. Thomas became a member of the firm 
of R. N. Thomas & Co., and engaged in the 
coal business, to which, in 1878, he added 
the handling of grain, fiour and feed. The 
firm have their office on Chestnut street, 
and have built up a very fine trade in their 
diti'erent lines of business. 

On October 10, 1872, Mr. Thomas was 
united in marriage with Margaretta Dicks, 
a daughter of James Dicks, of West Goshen 
township, and to their union have been 
born four children : Lavina H., Ada L, 
Anita M., and Clara M. 

R. Newton Thomas is a republican in 
politics. He is a member of Goshen Castle, 
No. 78, Knights of the Golden Eagle; Ban- 
ner Lodge, No. 359, Indepoiulent Order of 
Odd Fellows (with which he united in 1 864), 
and Gen. George A. McCall Post, No. 31, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of which he 
is a past commander. At an early age Mr. 
Thomas developed those business habits 
which became the foundation of his present 
success in life. 



QHARLES E. WOODWARD, M. D., 

an active, skilled and popular phy- 
sician of West Chester, is a son of William 
P. and Rachel (England) Woodward. He 
was born at Marshallton, in West Bradford 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
January 8, 1846. His paternal grandfather, 
Eli Woodward, was born and reared in 
Chester county, where he followed farming 
during all the years of his active life. He 
owned a good farm near Marshallton, in 
West Bradford township, where he died. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



dsg 



His 8011, Williiim P. Woodwunl (father), 
was born in 1H17 on tlie lioiuestead, wliere 
he pas^scd liis hovliood days. He died in 
tlie siuniner of 1863, on liis farm near 
Marslialltoii, Chester count3\ Fennsylvaiiia, 
in tlie foi'ty-sixth year of his ag-e. He was 
actively engaged in fanning and iiier- 
eliandisiiig at the time of iiis deatli. He 
was one of the early abolitionists of Eastern 
Pennsylvania, wlio so determinedly and 
persistenti}' opposed human servitude, and 
lived to see slavery pass from the institu- 
tions of the Amerieaii KepuVilic. During 
the latter years of his life he was identified 
with the re[)ul'liean part}' and served for 
some time as a member of the school-board 
of his township. He was a consistent 
member of the Society of Friends, and 
married Rachel England, a daughter of 
Thomas England, a native of England, who 
came with his father and settled near Eli 
Woodward (paternal grandfather), in West 
Bradford townsliiji. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Woodward were born five chikh'en, two 
sons and three daughters: Dr. Charles E., 
Lydia D., wife of I'aschai Worth, a farmer 
of Chester county ; Mary E., who married 
John M. Sager, and is dead; Lindley and 
Anna, who died in infancy. 

Charles E. Woodward was reared in liis 
native count}', receive<l his education at 
Westtown Boarding school, and then at- 
tended tin- college of pharmacy of Philadel- 
phia, from which he graduated in 1867. In 
a short time after this he commence<l the 
study of medicine, and IHTii entered the med- 
ical department of the university of Penn- 
sylvania, from whicli he was gradiiatecl in 
the class of 1874. Immediately after gradua- 
tion he came to West Cliester, where he 
has been engaged ever since in the active 
and successful practice of his profession. 



On June 7, 1876, Dr. Woodward was 
united in marriage with Ellen L. James, a 
daughter of "Wellington C. James, now a 
retired businessman of West Chester. Dr. 
and Mrs. Woodwanl have two children, 
a son and a flaughter: Florence and Wel- 
lington. 

Dr. Woo<lward is a republican in politics. 
He is a member of West Chester Lodge, 
No. 322, Free and Accei>ted Masons, and 
West Chester Lodge, No. 42, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. Dr. Woodward has 
ever taken a deep interest in the profession 
of his choice and has never failed to 
improve any offering opportunity within 
his reach in the field of medical progress 
and advancement. He is a member of the 
West Chester, Chester county, and Penn- 
sylvania State medical societies, and of the 
pension examining board of Chester county, 
and a member of the college of Pliysiciaus 
of Philadelphia, attending physician tf> 
Chester county prison, and lately elected to 
the medical staff of the West Chester 
hospital. To his profession he has given 
nearly a quarter of a century of close 
application and hard labor, and while allow- 
ing nothing to command much of his time 
from his professional labors, yet he has 
taken such interest always in the welfare 
anil progress of his borough, that he is 
highly esteemed as a citizen as well as 
deservedly popular as a pliysician. 



JA<"OH L. Fl'NK, one of the .solid and 
substantial citizens of Fast Coventry 
township, this county, and a leading mem- 
ber of the Mennonite church, is the eldest 
son of .John and Susan (Latshaw) Funk, 
and was born April 4, 1824, in Wasliington 
townshiji, Berks county, I'ennsylvania. His 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



paternal great-grandfather was Henry Punk, 
who removed to BuckinghaDi county, Vir- 
ginia, about 1786, and I'esided there until 
his death. He married Barbara Showalter, 
a native of Germany, who died in 1824. 
They had eleven children : Jacob, Christian, 
John, Henry, Daniel, Joseph, Susan, Eliza- 
betli. Hester, Samuel, and Catherine. Their 
eldest son. Rev. Jacob Funk (grandfather), 
was born May 30, 1761, in Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, but removed in early life to 
East Vinceut township, this county, where 
he passed the remainder of his life, and 
died July 22, 1817, aged fifty-six years. He 
was a member and minister of the Meunon- 
ite church, and died immediately after re- 
turning home from preaching a friend's 
funeral. He was twice married, first wed- 
ding Mary Shelley, who died April 27, 
1809, leaving a family of nine children : 
Elizabeth, who married Abram Haldeman, 
a minister of the Menuonite church, who 
preached in Chester and Juniata counties; 
Susan, married John Longacee, a farmer 
of Montgomer}' county : Fannie, married 
Benjamin Haldeman, who was a farmer 
residing at Vincent, this county; Mary, 
married John Wise, a farmer of Butler 
county; Barbara, uuirried John Siiowaltcr, 
and lives near Ph<enixville, this county; 
Katie, married Frank Shelley, a prosperous 
farmer of Berks county; JacoVj, married 
Anna Heistand, and resided in East Vincent 
township, this county, where he was engaged 
in farming; John, father of the subject of 
this sketch : and Rev. Henry, who united in 
marriage with a Miss High, and resided in 
Berks county. All the family were strict 
members of the Mennonite church. After 
the death of Mrs. Funk, Rev. Jacob Funk 
wedded the second time, but had no children 
by his sectond marriage. 



John Funk (father) was l)orn July 12, 
1800, in that part of Vincent which is now 
East Vincent township, this county, where 
he resided until a short time before his 
marriage, when he removed to Washington 
township, Berks county. In 1825 he re- 
turned to Chester county, locating in East 
Coventry township, and later went to North 
Coventry, where he died October 26, 1877, 
aged seventy-seven years. He was a farmer 
all liis life, a republican in political faith, 
and in religion a strict member of the 
Mennonite church, in the various interests 
of which he was always active and ever 
read}' to do his part in any good work. On 
March 2, 1823, he married Susan Latshaw, 
who was born March 11, 1800, and died 
August 2, 1885. They had two children : 
Jacob L., the subject of this sketch, and 
Hannah, who was born January 23, 1831, 
and on December 22, 1853, married George 
W. Landis, who was born June 13, 1832, 
and is now feed and stock agent for the 
Philadelphia & Reading railroad. Mr. and 
Mrs. Landis had two children : John D., 
born June 29, 1859: and Sue, born Decem- 
ber 8, 1861. The former married Florence 
May Swindles, of Philadelphia, on October 
14, 1886, bj' whom he has one child — 
Harold Landis, born July 18, 1887 — and 
he is now cliief clerk in the passenger 
agents" depai'tmcnt of the Philadelphia dt 
Reading railroad, and resides in Philadelphia. 

Jacob L. Funk was reared partly in East 
and partly in North Coventry townships, re- 
ceiving his education in the common schools. 
He has been a farmer, fruit grower, and 
stockman all his life, and owns a large 
lumber yard and four houses. In political 
sentiment he is a stanch republican, and in 
religious belief follows the traditions of his 
ancestors, and is a prominent member of 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



tlie Mcimonitf clmrcli. of wliicli lie is 
treasurer. 

On May 6, 1847, Mr. Funk married Eliz- 
abeth Gable, a daughter of Henry and Eliz- 
abeth Gable, who was born Oetober 29, 
1827, and died June 1, 1881, aged tifty-*""""" 
years. By this marriage he had a family 
of five ehildren : (1 ) Lavina, born July 20, 
1848, and died May 19, 1857; (2) John, a 
fanner of East Coventry townshij), who 
was born ,fune 9, 1851, and on Septend^er 
14, 1876, married Kate Delwiter, by whom 
ho has two children — Emma L.. born June 
17, 1877, and Etna E., born May G, 1879; 
( H ) Hannah L., born July 29, 1858, married 
John Haldeman Scptendjer 28, 1882. and 
has three children — Ollie R., born July 28, 
1884 ; Floreneo M., born November 1, 1886 ; 
and Martha L., born Oetober 19, 1887; (4) 
llattie. born September 12, 1863, married 
W. II. Saylor September 11, 1884, and has 
four ehildren; and (5) Sue, born October 
17. 1865, and on July 19. 1892, married 
John E. Latshaw, of Spring Oity. who was 
born August 1, 1865, and is a carpenter 
employed in the foundry of Buckwalter & 
Slaufter. 



HAKOLI) B. FKwll, on* of the suc- 
sessful young lousiness men of Chester 
county, and the senior mendier of the well 
known Jordan Bank creamery firm of TI. 
15. \- E. A. Tngh of Oxford, is a son of 
William and Mary PL (Brown) Pngh, and 
was born in East Nottingham townshijt. 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. .Vlay 28, 
1864. His ]>aternal great-grandfather. Jesse 
Pugh. was of Welsh descent, and of the 
third generation from the emigrant ancestor 
John Pugh. His son, Abner Pugh (grand- 
father), was born in East Nottingham town- 



shi[), where he purchased the farm now 
owned by his grandsons. He was an early 
abolitionist and a mendier of the Hicksite 
branch of the Society of Friends. He fol- 
lowed farming and married Charlotte Mich- 
ner, and reared a family of six children, one 
son and five daughters: Rebecca Reynolds, 
now dead ; Rachel, who married Dr. Jacob 
Way; Elizabeth, the second wife of Josepii 
T. Reynolds ; Esther, now dead ; William 
and Annie, now also deceased. The son, 
William Pugh (father), was Ijorn Septem- 
ber 18, 1836. in East Nottingham township, 
where he resided during the greater part of 
his life. He was a farmer and dairyman 
by occupation, a pronounced republican in 
politics and a member of the Hicksite 
branch of tlu' Society of Friends. He 
owned and operated the well known Jordan 
Bank dairy (which was established in 1866), 
and died June 3, 1892, aged fifty-six years. 
He was very successful in dairying and 
other agricultural pursuits, and married 
Mary E. Biown, a native of Lancaster 
county, wlu) was born August 31, 1842. 
and received her education in tiic public 
schools and Millersville State Normal 
school. She died January 28, 1883, at 
forty years of age. To their tiiiion were 
born three children : Harold B. and Edwin 
A., managers of the home farm and mem- 
bers of the creamery firm of II. B. \- E. \. 
\ Pugh ; and Charles E.. who is assistant 
I teller in West Grove National bank of 
Chester county. Mrs. .Mary E. Pugli 
(mother) was a dauglitcr of Elisha Brown, 
wlio was a prosperous farmer and resided 
I near Fultfm house. Lancaster county. He 
1 was a republican and a member of tlie 
' Society of Friends, and married Rachel W. 
Bradway. by whom he had six children : 
; Slater F.. Thomas B., of the firm of Pvlc * 



242 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTORY 



Brown, of West Chester, this <'Ounty, who 
is president of the Southern Kansas Mort- 
gage Companj', of Wellington, Kansas, and 
of the Dingee & Conrad Company, of West 
Grove, this county ; Charles H., who was a 
successful business man in Philadelphia, I)ut 
is now dead; Mrs. Mary E. Pugh : Walter 
W., cashier of the West Grove National 
bank; and Worthington, who is now dead. 

Harold B. Pugh was reared on the farm 
and received his education in the public 
schools and a Friend's select school in 
Oxford, Pennsylvania. In the spring of 
1884 he engaged in the creamery business 
with his father, which he continued until 
1888, when he formed a partnership with 
his brother, Edwin A., under the firm name 
of H. B. & E. A. Pugh, and they have con- 
ducted a most successful creamery lousiness 
ever since. They have the home dairy 
where they keep sixty cows, and own and 
operate the well known and celebrated 
Jordan Bank creamery, whose product is so 
popular in Philadelphia, Baltimore and 
Washington. During the year 1891 they 
paid out over twenty-five thousand dollars 
for milk, and sent one hundred and twenty- 
five thousand pounds of butter to market. 
They are also extensively engaged in farm- 
ing and raising thoroughbred and registered 
•lersey dairy stock. 

On October 23, 1890, Mr. Pugh was 
united in nuirriage with Clara L. Kirk, 
daughter of Isaac S. and Fannie L. Kirk, 
of Fremont, this State. 

Harold B. Pugh is a republican in 
politics, and a member of the Oxford meet- 
ing of the Society of Friends, as is also his 
wife. He is one of the trustworthy and 
reliable. citizens of East Nottingham, and 
has been remarkably successful in his various 
liusiness enterprises. He is at present vice- 



president of the National Creamery, Butter- 
makers and Factory Cheesemakers asso- 
ciation for the State of Pennsylvania. 



JACOB W. MOYEK, a prominent 
farmer of East Vincent township and a 
leading member of the German Reformed 
church, is the second child and eldest son 
of William and Deborah (Wagoner) Moyer, 
and was born in East Pikeland township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, November 
12, 1831. He grew to manhood on his 
father's farm, received his training in the 
public schools, and resided in his native 
township until 1877, when he removed to 
East Vincent township, where he now 
lives. Here he owns a fine farm, contain- 
ing sixty-nine acres, and has it well im- 
proved, supplied with good buildings, and 
in a high state of cultivation. In his polit- 
ical faith Mr. Moj^er is a stanch democrat, 
and ill religion a strict member of the Ger- 
man Reformed church, of which he has 
been a deacon for many years, first in East 
Pikeland, and later in East Vincent town- 
ship. 

On December 23, 1856, Mr. Moyer was 
married to Mary E. Vanderslice, a daugh- 
ter of Joseph Vanderslice, of East Vincent 
townshiji. To them was born a family of 
three cliildreii, one son and two daughters: 
Deborah, luarried Davis Brownback, a car- 
penter, residing at Phcenixville, this county, 
and has one child — Chester; Sallie, who 
wedded .lames Kimes. a prominent under- 
taker at Spring City; and Irviii, who was 
united in marriage with Anna Rapp, and 
now lives with his father on the farm in 
East Vincent township, and has one I'hild. 
a daughter named Myrtle. 

The paternal grandfather of the subject 



op CItESTER COVNtY. 



344 



of this sketch, .Jacob Moyer, was a resident 
of East J'ikehinil township, this county, and 
died there about 1849, at tlie advanced age 
of seventy years. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation, and passed his long and active 
life in the cultivation of tiiesoii and raising 
good stock. Politically he was a deniotTat 
of the old school, and served as liupervisor 
of his township for many years. He was a 
Lutheran in religion and took an active 
part in supporting tiie interests of his 
church. He served in the war of 1812, 
and was a member of the National guards. 
His wife was Mariah Shade, by whom he 
had two children : William, and a daugh- 
ter named Elizabeth, who married a man 
named Yager, and is now deceased. Wil- 
liam Moyer ( father), was born in East I'ike- 
hmd township in 1803, and lived there all 
his life. He was a farmer and slioemaker, 
and Ijecame quite prosperous. He died in 
1874, aged about seventy-two years. Fol- 
lowing the political traditions of liis family, 
he was an active democrat, and served his 
township as assessor and supervisor. In 
religion he was a strict member of the 
Evangelical Lutheran church, and married 
Deborah Wagoner, a daughter of Jacob 
Wagoner, of East i'ikeland township, this 
county. To them was born a family of 
children, six of whom lived to reach matur- 
ity and became useful and respected citi- 
zens of this county : Mariah, married 
(jeorge Walker ( now deceased ), lias one 
ihild, and lives in East I'ikeland townsliip; 
•lacob, the subject of this sketch; William, 
a farmer of East I'ikeland townsliip, who 
married Louisa Yager, and has tliree chil- 
dren ; IJenjamin, a carpenter, who married 
Andora Whitby, has two children, and re- 
sides at I'lKcnixville ; Lsaac, who married 
Hannali tjtarr, lias four ciiildren, and is now 

it) 



a member of tiie police force at Koxl)orough, 
IMiiladelphia county; aw\ KIwood. who 
wedded Manda Har[)e!, and is engaged 
in farming on the old honistea<l in East 
i'ikeland township, this county. 

•loseph Vandersliee, tiie father of Mrs. 
Moyer, was born in P^ast I'ikeland town- 
ship, this county, in tlie year 180H. He 
was a tailor by trade, but engaged in farm- 
ing during his later years, and lived in this 
county all his life. In politics he was a 
democrat, and resided in East N'incent 
township at the time of his death. He was 
killed l)y a train on the Philadelphia k 
Reading railroad, in December, 1882, when 
in the seventy-sixth year of his age. His 
wife was Sarah Custer, and they reared a 
family often children, seven sons and three 
daughters, four of wliom still survive: 
Xi(tliolas, William, Hamilton, and Mary E., 
the wife of tlie subject of this sketch. 



JOHN BUCKWALTEK, one of the 

enterprising and useful citizens re- 
siding in the vicinity of Kenilwortli, is tlie 
eldest son and second child of William and 
Catherine ( Lotshaw ) Bu<'kwalter. and was 
Itorn in East Coventry township, Ciiester 
county, Pennsylvania, January 27, 1856. 
The Buckwaltcr family in America was 
founded by Francis Buckwalter, a Protestant 
refugee from (n'rmany wlio settled on the 
Manavon ttact, at what is now Pli(cnixville, 
in 1720. Tliere he purchased six hundred 
and fifty acres of land from David Lloyd, 
the patentee, for one hundred an<l ninety- 
live pounds. His children were Joseph. 
Jacob, Johannes, Mary and Yost, and from 
tliem are descended tlie numerous Buck- 
waiter family of this section. They have 
intermarried with some of the oldest and 



2U 



BIOGMAPHY AND BISTORY 



best families in Chester county, and among 
them have been a number who have dis- 
tinguished themselves in various lines of 
activity, includiug stock raising, finance, 
merchandising and official station. David 
Buckwalter, paternal great-grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, was born in Chester 
county, and passed his entire life within 
her borders, actively engaged in agriculture. 
He married a Miss Ziegler, by whom he 
had a family of seven children : John, 
Daniel, David, Samuel, Joseph, Jacob and 
Barbara. Samuel Buckwalter (grandfather), 
was born on the old Buckwalter farm near 
Phcenixville, this county, about 1782, and 
died in East Vincent township in 1877, 
aged nearly ninety-five years. He was a 
wheelright by trade, and in politics a whig 
and republican. For a number of years he 
served as school director in his township, 
and was a member of the Mennonite church. 
He married Mary Johnson, and had a 
family of fourteen children : Samuel, Annie, 
David, Joseph, Jacob, William (father), 
Mary, Barbara, Samuel (2), Nathan, Seth 
and Sarah ( twins), Benjamin and Lovina. 

William Buckwalter (father) was born 
in Upper Providence township, Mont- 
gomery county, this State, January 2, 1818, 
where he grew to manhood and received a 
common school education. He then learned 
the trade of carpenter, but has worked very 
little at that business, preferring agricultural 
pursuits. While yet a young man he 
removed to Chester county and has con- 
tinued his residence here ever since, for the 
last ten years residing with his son in North 
Coventry township. In politics he is a 
pronounced republican with whig anteced- 
ents, and in religion a strict adherent of 
the Mennonite church. On St. Valentine's 
day, 1850, he was united in wedlock with 



Catherine Lotshaw, a daughter of Jacob 
Lotshaw, of East Pikeland township. To 
this marriage was born a familj- of four 
children, three sons and one daughter: 
Annie, now the wife of Seneca Mowry, a 
prosperous farmer of East Vincent town- 
ship, by whom she has four children — 
Samuel Howard, William Ashley, Milton 
and Newton; John (subject); Theodore, 
who died in infancy, and Hiram, who 
wedded Elma Grubb, resides in East Vin- 
cent township, and has five children — Ada, 
William, Bessie, Russell and Annie. The 
mother, Mrs. Catherine Buckwalter, died in 
1882, aged nearly fifty-seven years. 

John Buckwalter was reared principally 
in this couutj', and received his education 
in the public schools of East Coventry town- 
ship. After attaining manhood he began 
life on his own account as a farmer and 
has followed that vocation all his life, 
meeting with good success and accumu- 
lating some property. In his political afiilia- 
tions he is a republican, and in 1892 was 
elected to the office of school director. 
Religiously he is a Dunkard, or Cerman 
Baptist, and has long been an active and 
useful memlier of that denomiiiation. On 
December 13, 1879, Mr. Buckwalter was 
married to Ella Prizer, a daughter of 
Harmon Prizer, of East Coventry township, 
and the fruit of their union has been two 
children : Clifton, born September 28, 1880 ; 
and Wilmer, born November 22, 1885. 



lyiARK TOWNSEND, an industrious 
^ citizen and a successful fruit grower 
of Oxford, is a son of Henry and Anna 
(Davis) Townsend, and was born in Wilt- 
shire, England, February 11, 1830. His 
paternal grandfather, John Townsend, was 



OP CHESTER COUNTV. 



345 



Itorii aiul reared in the town of Melkshaiu, 
Wiltshire, Enijland. wlicre he followed haul- 
ing. He married and had six sons and one 
daughter: .Fohn, Henry, James, Thomas, 
Richard, (reorge, and Ann. Thomas, 
George and dames were soldiers in the 
British army for several years, and James 
fought at the battle of Waterloo^ These 
sons received a good education, and the 
second one, Henry (father), was a builder 
by trade. He married Ann Davis, a daugh- 
ter of James Davis, of Tedbury, Gloucester 
county, England, and reared a family of ten 
children : James, now deceased, was a tailor 
and linen draper; Jane, wife of William 
Edwards, a gardener of Ambledon, Hamp- 
shire county, England ; Eliza, wife of Boaz 
Shepard, of Trowbridge, Wiltsliire county, 
England; Henry, (deceased): George, a 
builder, who married a Miss Brooks, and 
now resides in Melksham, Wiltshire county, 
England; Thomas who died young; Henry 
(2) now dead; Hannah and Job, who also 
died young. 

Mark Townsend was reared in his native 
country, received a good practical education 
in the elementary and the private schools 
of Wiltshire, and then learned the trade of 
builder. He worked as a builder and (!on- 
tractor in his native country for several 
years, and in 1873 came to the United 
States and settled at Ridgeway, North 
Carolina, where he was engaged in farming 
and fruit growing until 1889. In that year 
he came to his present farm near O.xford, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, where he lias 
been successfully engaged in fruit growing 
up to this time. 

On January 30, 1854, .Mr. Townsend 
luarried Mary A. Davis, a daughter of Job 
Davis, of England. To their union have 
been born seven children, four .sons and 



the fruit business at liidgeway, North Caro- 
lina: Wesley J., station agent at Marion, 
tiiat State: Mary .lane, wife of J. H. Mor- 
rison, of Oxford, Pennsylvania ; Caroline and 
Sydney' who died in infancy : and Albert 
E. and Lizzie A., wlio reside in (Oxford, 
this State. Mark Townsend yet gives his 
time principally' to his prosperous and 
rapidly increasing fruit business. 



nICHAKI) T. ELLICOTT, one of the 
older and higlih- respected citizens of 
Chester county, is the only .son of Nathaniel 
H. and Tanison (Roberts-Trimble) Ellicott, 
and was born at Ellicott City, .Maryland, on 
January 18, 1844. lie is descended from the 
old Ellicott family so well known in Mary- 
land, and received his education in the 
Friends" school at Providence, Rhode Island. 
After leaving school he associated himself 
with Col. John Clark, in the contracting 
business, in which they were very success- 
ful, both retiring very comfortably well off. 
.lonathan Ellicott, for whom Ellicott Citv 
(.Maryland) was named, was the paternal 
grandfather of Richard T. Ellicott, and his 
brother, Andrew Ellicott, was a prominent 
surveyor of that day, and as such was en- 
gaged in laying out the city of Washington 
about 1792. Nathaniel H. Ellicott (father) 
was born at what is now Ellicott City, 
Maryland, in 1791, where he was reared 
and educated. About 1849 he removed to 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, and settled 
at West ('hester, in the house now occupied 
by the subject of this sketch, where he 
continued to reside until his deatli in 1861, 
when in his seventieth year. He was a 
miller by trade, and a strong abolitionist, 
believing that the •■ peculiar institution " 



346 



blOOMAPHY AND HISTOMV 



was the sum of all iniquity, and that part 
of the constitution which supported it a 
•' league with hell." In his religious con- 
victions he was a Quaker, and a life-long 
member of the Society of Friends. Not- 
withstanding his adherence to that organi- 
zation, there was a strong military side to 
his character, and in 1814, when less than 
fourteen years of age, he took part in the 
engagement at Fort McHenry, at the time 
Scott Keys wrote his now famous song, 
" The Star Spangled Banner," while a pris- 
oner on board at British man-of-war. In 
1821 he married Thamazine Roberts, nee 
Trimble, a daughter of Richard Trimble, 
who was the founder of the free school 
system of New York city. By this mar- 
riage Mr. Ellicott had two children : Rich- 
ard T., and a daugliter named Jane T., who 
married Joseph P. Wilson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilson are now dead. They had a family 
of three children, one son and two daugh- 
ters : Cornelia T., who married R. Jones 
Monaghan, now a well known member of 
the bar at West Chester; Marj', wedded J. 
Townsend Fairlamb, now deceased, who 
was formerly western manager of the 
Pennsylvania Investment Company ; and 
Henry George. 



lUrONTGOMERY FRICK, one of the 

* yomig and successful business men of 
Spring City, and secretary of the well 
known Schuylkill Valley Stove Manufactur- 
ing Company, is a son of Charles and Mary 
Ann (Evans) Frick, and was born at Linfiekl, 
Limerick township, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, March 31, 1860. The Frick 
family, which, was settled in Pennsylvania 
at an early day during the last century, is of 
Swiss origin, and Hon. Benjamin Frick 



(grandfather), was a prominent man iu his 
day. He owned several boats on the old 
canal, then was interested in the con- 
struction of a railroad, and his popularity 
was such that he was elected as a republican 
member of the State senate from Mont- 
gomery county when it was strongly demo- 
cratic. He was very active and influential 
in politics, and married Ellen Davis, by 
whom he had six children, of whom one was 
Charles Frick, father of Montgomer}- Frick. 
Charles Frick was born in 1828, at Lintield, 
where he still resides. He has been engaged 
for many years in general business, but 
making specialties of lumber and coal. He 
.is a republican in politics, served for several 
years as postmaster of Liniield, and takes 
an active part in the political aftairs of his 
count}'. He is a member of the Baptist 
church, and married Mary Ann Evans, who 
is a daughter of Ezekiel Evans. To them 
were born four children: Benjamin, now 
dead; Lewis, who is engaged in business at 
Linfiekl ; Montgomery and Mary. 

Montgomery Frick was reared at Linfield, 
received his education in the public schools 
and Millersville State Normal school, and 
then was engaged in business with his 
father until 1889, when he helped to 
organize the Schuylkill Valley Stove Manu- 
facturing Company, of Spring City, of 
which he has served as secretary ever since. 

On October 28, 1885, Mr. Frick was 
united in marriage with Savilla Thomas, 
daughter of John Thomas, of Limerick, 
Montgomery county, and to them has been 
born (1892) one child, a son, named Charles 
Thomas. 

Montgomery Frick is a republican in 
politics, but does not take a very active 
part in political affairs and gives his time to 
the business enterprise in which he is en- 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



gaged. The Schuylkill Valley Stove ^[aIlll- 
tacturiiig Company was organized early in 
the year 1889, and [nirchased their present 
plant which had been erected and operated 
up to that time under the ausjiices of the 
Knights of Labor. This extensive plant, 
which covers an area ot' tiiree ami a half 
acres of ground, is situated in the southern 
part of the borough, on the Schuylkill river 
and Schuylkill \'alley railroad. The main 
buildings are brick, and comj)rise a four- 
story ware-house, an engine and boiler 
house, a cleaning room, a two-story cupola 
house and a molding room, all of which 
are thorouglilj^ equi{)ped with the latest 
and most approved machinery for stove 
manufacturing. The company cmjiloys 
eighty-live skilled workmen, has an annual 
output of one hundred thousand dollars' 
worth of stoves from their works, and liave 
a large patronage in nearly every State of 
the I'nion. Mr. Frick has pursued a con- 
servative but perfectly safe financial policy, 
ami has thus contributed largely to the 
remarkable success of the company. 



QOL. NATHANIEL M. ELLIS, a 

.soldier and financier, was born at Potts- 
town, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, 
February 20. 1H21. His parents were 
< 'hristophcr ami Margaret (Missimer) Ellis, 
the former of English and the latter of 
(Jerman descent. Christopher Ellis was 
one of the early settlers of .Montgomery 
county, this State, a shoemakei- by tratle. 
and lived at Pottst<nvn. lie was a demo- 
crat in politics, and served in the war of 
1812. He died about 1850, aged si.xty-four 
years. :ind his wife passed away in 1824, in 
the thirty-secomi year of her age. The 
subject of this sketch. Col. .Nathaniel M. 



Ellis, received his early education in the 
public schools of Pottstown, and completed 
liis studies under jirivate tution in the city 
of Philadelphia. At the early age of twelve 
and a half years he entered the service of 
the Heading Railroad Company, in the 
location, and was first emplo^-ed in taking 
cross sections of the road. When it was 
completed from Pottstown to Norristown 
he was placed in temporar}- charge of the 
station at Phceni.wille. He soon afterward 
left the employ of the company and re- 
sumed his studies in I'hihulelpbia, where he 
remained for one year engaged m perfecting 
his education. In 1838 he returned to active 
service on the road, and Pha-nixville having 
become an important point lie was ap- 
pointed general agent of the company at 
this place, having charge of all the various 
departments. He continued in the satis- 
factory discharge of the multitudinous duties 
connected with tliis responsible position 
until 1873, when he was comjielled to 
resign on account of his health. 

In 1842 Mr. Ellis was elected and com- 
missioned as nuijoi- of volunteers, and ap- 
pointed in I860 oifl-rlr-fomp to Governor 
Packer during his term of office. He has 
held many offices of public trust and honor, 
aniong them burgess of Pha-nixville, ]>resi- 
dent of the town council, l)orough engineer, 
and president of the school Itoard, of which 
latter he was a member for many years, 
having always taken a profound interest in 
the great cause of popular e<lucation. In 
his political affiliations he has always been 
democratic, ami was an active supporter of 
.Judge Dotiglas in his contest for tli«' 
presidency in 18(1(1. .\t the breaking out 
ofthe<ivil war be took an active part in 
politics, deeming it his duty to at once 
openlv espouse the cause his conscience 



BIOQUAPHY AND HISTORY 



held to be right. He was prominent in the 
organizatiou of the Phceuixville National 
bank, and was one of its directors for a 
number of years, and also served as a 
director of the Morris Cemetery Company, 
which he helped to organize. In addition 
to these he was also a director in the 
Masonic Hall association of Phoenixville. 
As a business man he was noted, during an 
active career extending from 1835 to 1872, 
for stability of purpose and strict iutegritj' 
in all his dealings. In religious belief he is 
a Baptist, and is a prominent member of 
Phoenix Lodge, No. 75, Free and Accepted 
Masons. He has about retired from active 
business, and resides in a beautiful home, 
which he erected in 1844, at the corner of 
Main and Morgan streets. During all his 
life he has been known for the firmness of 
his friendships, and is among the most highly 
esteemed citizens of Phfunixville and Ches- 
ter county. 

In February, 1842, C'olonel Ellis was 
united in marriage with Mary Morgan, 
a daughter of Hon. John Morgan, of Phoenix- 
ville, who was a prominent man in his day. 
To the Colonel and Mrs. Ellis was born a 
family of three children, one son and two 
daughters : Mordicai, who is now chief 
clerk in the office of the Pha?nixville Bridge 
Company ; Mary, who married Dr. William 
T. Porter, of this borough ; and Sallie, living 
at home with her parents. 



QTEPHEN DARLINGTON, who was 

a constant student, a ripe scholar and 
one of the finest linguists of Pennsylvania, 
ranked high as a scientific and progressive 
farmer. He was a son of George and Lydia 
Barnard Darlington, and was born in what 



is now Pocopson township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, October 28, 1799. The pri- 
mogenitor of the Darlington family in 
Chester county was Abraham Darlington, 
who came from England about the year 
1708. He was reared on a farm and learned 
the trade of saddler, but after coming to 
this county he settled east of the Brandy- 
wine on a farm of two hundred acres. His 
second wife was Elizabeth Hillborn, and 
their fifth child, Thomas Darlington, re- 
moved higher up on the Branywine, where 
he settled on a farm now owned by one of 
his grandsons. Thomas Darlington married 
Hannah Brinton, and their sixth son, George 
Darlington (father), who was a farmer and 
miller by occupation and trade, settled, near 
the close of the last century, west of the 
Brandywine, on the Pocopson stream. He 
married Lydia Barnard, and his children in 
the order of age were : Hannah, Richard, 
Stephen, Cyrus, George, Joseph B., Hill- 
born, Lydia, and Eliza. 

Stephen Darlington was reared on the 
farm, received a good education, and then 
engaged in farming and the study of 
mathematics. He settled on a farm border- 
ing the Brandywine, and between that 
stream and his father's home, which had 
been previously owned by Henry Hoopes. 
This farm was in poor condition when Mr. 
Darlington o-ame into possession of it, but he 
immediately commenced the fertilization of 
its soil and the improvement of its fences 
and buildings, and in fifty years he had 
brought it up to such a state that it ranks as 
one of the best farms of Pennsylvania. He 
brought the soil up to garden richness, 
and while his buildings were not orna- 
mental, they were permanently finished 
and roofed with slate, from the dwelling to 
the pig sty. His fences were constructed 




W(?j^ne/i ^€fi/f//a/c'^/. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



349 



of iron and placed upon a stone basis so 
securely as to stand the test of a century. 

On September 15, 1825, Mr. Darlington 
married Ann Mendenliall, who was born 
October 27, 1804, and died March !», 1885, 
aged eighty years. Siie was a (huighter of 
Aaron Mendenhall, vvlio owned a line farm 
in Pennsbury township, wliicli had de- 
scended as a (latrimonial estate from his 
father, Isaac, who inherited it from his father, 
Joseph, one of the sons of the immigrant 
Benjamin, who came about lti86, from 
Married Hill, Wiltsliire, England, with his 
brother John, and settled in Pennsylvania, 
and from wliom all of the name of Menden- 
hall now in America are descended. Mr. 
and Mrs. Darlington liad live cliildren : 
Fenelon, Sarah, Louisa, Emma, and Lamar- 
tine. Mr. Darlington was fortunate in tlie 
choice of a partner, who contributed her 
full share to the success of out-door as well 
iis household operations. She was tidy in 
tiic extreme, and liusied in usefulness from 
morn to bed time. She with her husband 
uniformly attended meetings of Avorship 
and business in tlie Society of Friends, of 
which they were members. She rarely 
took up a book or paper unless in the 
afternoon of the first day of the week. 
Notwithstanding this full timing of her 
hours, she was foremost in looking after 
those in sufi'ering or in want, and was free 
in administering unto these by heart, hand 
and purse. 

A inenK)rable occasion of Stcphi-n l)ar- 
lington's life was his golden wedding which 
was celebrated Wednesday. September 15, 
1H75, with appro[>riate and interesting 
ceremonies, a full account of which ap- 
peared in the JMih/ Local Nrirs. It was 
really a grand reunion of the Darlingtons 
aixi Mendenhalls, families so noted for 



punctuality and honesty that it is a common 
expression "as punctual as a Darlington or 
as honest as a Mendenhall." A magnificent 
repast was furnished in the commodious 
barn to acommodate the large number that 
were present. Addresses were delivereil 
and poems read by several of the guests, 
but two of the most distinguishing events 
of the occasion were the marriage of Saraii 
D., the eldest daughter of Mr. Darlington, 
to Samuel Augc, of West Chester, who 
was a guest at the original wedding, fifty 
years before, and the address of welcome 
from Mr. Darlington and his wife, which 
was a poetical effort on the part of Stephen 
Darlington of so much merit that we repro- 
duce it as it appeared in the public press : 

" When noble LaFayette from beyond the sea, 
Reviewed the land himself had helped to free, 
Received the plaudits of a grateful shore, 
Which scarcely ever man received before; 
T'was then in early youth, as man and wife, 
We ventured ou the doubtful path of life; 
Poor and of small account, we took our stand, 
Rut thanks to toil and Heaven's protecting hand, 
Enough of comfort 'round o'jr home appears, 
To satisfy the needs of closing years; 
Enough of fame our mode.-tt cause attends, 
.\nd not the least, a list of valued friends ; 
And now .since fifty suns have passed away. 
Gladly we greet you on this bridal day: 
You who with us have shared the early moru, 
Or, who the bloom of later years adorn - 
To all we wish a long and prosperous life, 
A noble husband, or a worthy wife." 

Stephen Darlington was a republiean in 
politics. He gave close attention to the 
e<lucation of his children, and at the close 
of the ilay's lalior after exantining their 
work and progress in their studies, he gave 
them a lesson in the languages as a general 
rule. In early nnmhood he cxliibited the 
taste and well-read scholarship of tlu' poet, 
the ]iersevering tact and thrift and effort of 
the matln-mati<-ian : aiid tratbcrcd the self- 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISTORY 



sought siiid self-found gems and treasures in 
language — while he shrunk not from the 
dull and slow and sturdy rounds of the 
practical farmer. In his early studies each 
new effort was crowned with a new joy 
(such as he only knows who ascends the 
golden pathway of art, of science or of 
duty), hut in later life he confined his 
efforts mainly to farming operations and the 
study of the classics. Stephen Darlington's 
long and practically useful life closed on 
May 16, 1884, when he passed away from 
the scenes of liis earthly labors. His re- 
mains were interred in a lieautiful lot in 
Birmingham cemetery, but he will be long- 
remembered in the community where he 
resided. A successful teacher of the county 
pays the following beautiful and well de- 
served tribute to his memory : •' While 
Stephen Darlington was a model agricul- 
turalist, he was also a constant student, a 
ripe scholar, and as a linguist had few equals, 
if anv, in his native State." 



IJENRY p. WAITNEIGHT, one of 

' the young and energetic members of 
of the Chester county bar, is a son of 
William "Walters and Margaret C. (Broom- 
all) Waitneight, and was born in Phcenix- 
ville, Chester county, Pennsylvania, Sep- 
tember 6, 1861. The Waitneight family is 
of German lineage, but is American by 
residence for over a century. Its founder 
was Jacob Waitneight, who came from 
Germany, and, after serving in the Ameri- 
caTi army during the revolutionary struggle 
for separation from the mother country and 
political independence, he married Cath- 
arine Grate, and settled in ('hester county, 
where he followed farming for a livlihood. 
Mis son, Jonathan Waitneight. the paternal 



grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was born in East Pikeland township, where 
he also followed farming, and died at an 
early age. He was an old-line whig in po- 
litical sentiment, and married Maria Wal- 
ters, sister of the late George Walters, for 
so many years civil engineer for tlie Phamix 
Iron company, and bad children. His old- 
est son, William W. Waitneight, was born 
July 19th, 1820, and at twenty years of age 
came to Pboenixville, which he made his home 
until his death, which occurred Februarj' 
6th, 1886. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
and worked for many years for the Phoenix 
Iron company. Mr. Waitneight took con- 
siderable interest in municipal and county 
affairs, and served frequently as a member 
of the town council, of which he was presi- 
dent for several years. He was a whig and 
republican in politics, and served as the first 
superintendent of the water works. He was 
a member of Zion Evangelical Lutheran 
church, and Phoenix Lodge, No. 212, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of which 
he had been secretary for twenty -five years. 
He married Margaret (1 Broomall, a mem- 
ber of the old Broomall family of Delaware 
county, and to their union were born seven 
children. Mrs. Waitneight, who still re- 
sides at Pboenixville, was born in Delaware 
county, June 16, 1823; her mother was 
Hannah (Trisvvold (Conner) Broomall, who 
died in Pluenixville in 1879, at the advanced 
age of ninety-two; and has been a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church since 
her early youth. , 

Henry P. Waitneight was reared at 
Pboenixville, and after he was graduated 
from the High school in tlie class of 1879, 
he entered Dickinson college, of Carlisle, 
this State, where he took a classical course. 
Leaving college he made choice of the legal 



OF CHESTEH COVNTY. 



961 



profession as liis life work. He read law 
with the firm of Moiiagiiiiii & Hause, was 
admitted to the bar in 1886, and since then 
has heen engaged in suecessful practice in 
('hester county, and has gained an envial)le 
reputation as a careful and conservative ad- 
viser. In politics lie is a standi and pro- 
nounced republican, who l)elieves in an en- 
ergetic support of the cardinal principles of 
his party. He luis heen many times a dele- 
gate to county conventions, and was a dele- 
gate to the Harrisburg convention in April, 
1892, which nominated Hon. John Dean, 
of Blair county, for supreme judge. He is 
a vestryman of St. J'eter's I'rotestant Epis- 
copal church, and a member of I'lKcnixville 
Lodge, No. 212, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. Mr. Waitneight takes a deep in- 
terest in educational affairs as well as polit- 
ical matters. He was appointed in 1889 to till 
a vacancy in the school V)oard, occasioned by 
the death of Dr. L. B. Hawley, and in 
1890 was elected for a full term of three 
years as a member of the board, of which 
he has twice been made president by a 
uiumimons vote. Mr. VV^uitneight, althougli 
young in years, is prominently identified 
with the progress of Thcenixville, whose 
best interests he has always at heart. He 
is a recognized advocate of learning and 
ability in his chosen profession, and has 
gainefl reputation as an interesting speaker 
and as a man of broad and liberal views on 
all jiublic (|uestions of interest or import- 
ance. 

pKOK. .JOHN HUNTER VVOK- 
RALL, tfie widely known educator, 
wlio early won deserved recognition in his 
chosen profession, has been connected witli 
tlie educational interests of this <-ounty 
Biuce 185*>. He is a son <>f FrcdiTii-k and 



Sarali ( Hunter) Worralhand was born near 
what is now Strafibrd, Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania, in the first half of the present 
century. His grandfather. Elisha Worrall, 
was also a native of Delaware county, born 
near Middletown, wfiere he was reared and 
passed most of his active and useful life. 
He was a farmer by vocation, and died near 
Strofferd, tlien called the Old Spread Eagle, 
at an advanced age. Frederick Worrall 
(father) was born near Concord, Delaware 
county, and spent his life in agricultural 
pursuits. He was a federalist and whig in 
politics, and married Sarah Hunter, a 
(hiughter of James Hunter, of Delaware 
county. By this union lie had a family of 
five children, four sons and one daughter: 
Elisha, a farmer, who removed to Mont- 
gomery county, where he died in October, 
1890 ; William, a miller by occupation, who 
died near (Jollegeville, Montgomery county ; 
Joscfdi L., whose residence is in the city of 
Philadelphia; Martha Ann, married Caleb 
B. Ring, a farmer of Chadd's Ford, this 
county; and John Hunter, the subject of 
this sketch. Frederick Worrall died near 
the Old Spread Eagle hotel in Delaware 
count}', in April, 1847. aged sixty-eight 
years. 

John Hunter Worrall began his studies 
at Dr. Rollins' private school in Newtown 
township, Chester county, and later enteretl 
a like institution under the management of 
Thomas Connard. in Philadidphia, where 
he remained for two years. He then went 
to New Haven, Connecticut, and, under the 
instruction of Edwanl rmstcad. prepared 
to enter Yale college, from which institu- 
tion he was graduated with honors in the 
class of 185tj. He immediately came to West 
Chester, this county, where he began teach- 
ing in the West Chester academy, and re- 



BIOORAPBT AND HISTORY 



mained three years. Returuing to New 
Haven at the end of that time, he entered 
on a post-graduate course, which occupied 
nearly three years, and from which he was 
graduated with the degree of Ph. D. Pro- 
fessor Worrall then returned to West Ches- 
ter and tilled the chair of mathematics in 
the Pennsylvania Military academy for a 
period of two years. In 1864 he again be- 
came connected with the West Chester 
academy, and, in connection with Eugene 
Pauline, conducted that institution until 
1870, when the trustees sold the property, 
and adding the fund derived from its sale to 
the appropriation made by the State, erected 
the West Chester Normal school building. 
Professor Worrall was then called to the 
chair of mathematics in the Normal school, 
but after one year in that position he re- 
tired and organized Worrall's Classical and 
Mathematical academy at West Chester, 
which he continued until the autumn of 
1891, when failing health compelled him to 
relinquish its care. lie still gives lessons 
in his rooms to a limited number of pupils, 
and many of the successful young business 
and professional men of this countj' have 
been prepared for the active duties of life 
under his care and instruction. 

Professor Worrall is a leading member of 
the Episcopal church, in which he served as 
vestryman for a period of fifteen years, and 
as accounting warden for more than a de- 
cade. The mental equipments with which 
he began active life were indicated in the 
fact that in his freshman year he took first 
prize in his class in mathematics, and em- 
phasized this triumph by repeating it in the 
sophomore year. He also received the gold 
medal on graduation for work done and 
high standing in mathematics. These early 
promises received ample fnlfillment \n the 



active career of Professor Worrall, who 
soon became widely known for his.scholastic 
attainments and greatly valued for his un- 
usual merit as a teacher. He takes rank 
with the best and most popular educators 
in this part of Pennsylvania, and notwith- 
standing his recognized ability — rather, 
perhaps, on account of it — he is modest 
and unassuming in deportment. His popu- 
lai'ityis co-extensive with his acquaintance, 
and is founded no less on his admirable 
qualities as a man than on his brilliant ac- 
quirements as an educator. 



nEV. ISAAC URNER BROWER, a 
minister of the German Baptist or 
Brethren's church, and a well respected 
citizen of Parker Ford, is a son of Gilbert 
and Lydia (Urner) Brower, and was born in 
East Coventry township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, January 7, 1844. The Brower 
family of Chester county is a branch of the 
old Brower family of Holland, and was 
founded in Chester county by Henry Brower 
about the year 1740. Gilbert Brower, a 
great-grandson of the above mentioned 
Henry Brower, was the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch. 

Gilbert Brower was l)orn February o, 
1815. and died December 18, 1890. He 
married Lydia Urner, and to their union 
were born three sons and two daughters : 
Harrison, the eldest (now deceased); Dr. 
William, whose sketch appears elsewhere in 
this volume, and in which is given a full 
history of both the Brower and Urner 
families ; Rev. Isaac U. ; Sallie H. (now 
deceased) ; and Elizabeth, who died in early 
childhood. 

Mrs. Lydia (Urner) Brower, was born 
Doceniber 20, 1818, and died December 28, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



1881, a^ed sixty-thret' years and ei^ht 
days. She was descended from the old and 
historic- Urnerfaniily of Canton Uri, Switzer- 
land, one of wliose members, LTlrick Urner, 
went in 1672 to Alsace, France, from which 
his three sons, John, Bishop Martin, and 
.Facob, came to Philadelphia in 1708. Jacob 
Trner died in 1744, and his son, the second 
Bishop Martin L'rner, was the father of 
Martin Urner, whose son, John, married 
Elizabeth Grubb, and was the father of 
Mrs. Lydia Brower, the mother of the 
subject of this sketch. 

Isaac Urner Brower received his educa- 
tion in the common schools, Freeland semin- 
ary (now Ursinus college), and the Millers- 
ville State Normal school, and tauglit twelve 
terms in the public schools of liis own and 
adjoining counties. He was ordained as a 
minister of the Brethren's chnrch in 1875. 
He has i-esided since 1867 on his present 
farm, near I'arker Ford, of whose German 
Baptist or Brethren's chnrch he has been 
one of the pastors for the past seventeen 
years. On January 2, 1868, Rev. Isaac 
Urner Brower married Mary A. Johnson, 
and this union has been blessed with 
one child, Charles J., born June 29, 1871, 
and who graduated from Spring City High 
school in the class of 1890, and is now 
(1892) reading medicine with his uncle. 
Dr. William Brower, having attended one 
course itf lectures at Jefferson Medical 
college, from whicli institution lie will 
graduate in class of 1894. Mrs. Mary A. 
Brower, daughter of Abraham and Eliza- 
beth (Weikel) Johnson, was born in Upper 
Providence. Montgomery county. Penn- 
sylvania, Marcli 16, 1848. 

Rev. Isaac U. Brower has served since 
1875, as treasurer of East Coventry Union 
chunih and cemetery. In politi<!S he Ib a 



conservative republican, but takes no part 
in political affairs, giving his time to his 
farm and to his ministerial labors. 



rrLBERT WEEKS, M. D., a graduate 
of the Jefferson Medical college of 
Philadelphia, who has been in successful 
general practice at Phoenixville for more 
than ten years, is a son of JoVj and Hannah 
(Adams) Weeks, and was born in Burling- 
ton county, New Jersey, June 15, 1858. 
The paternal great-grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this sketcl> was a native of England, 
but came to the United States one hundred 
and twenty years ago and settled in New 
Jersey, where he died at an advanced age. 
His son, Job Weeks (grandfather), was born 
in Burlington county, that State, and was 
a farmer all his life. He died on liis farm 
there about 1862, in tlie sixtieth year of his 
age. In politics he was a whig and re- 
publican, and an active member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church for many years. 
He married and reared a large family, among 
them being Job Weeks (father), wlio is also 
a native of Burlington county, New Jersey, 
where he still resides. He owns a large 
farm, and was for many years an extensive 
contractor and buihler, but is now practi- 
cally retired from active business, being in 
his seventy-second year. I'olitically he is 
an ardent repul)lican, and has held nearly 
all the offices of his townshiji. In religion 
he is a strict adherent of the .Methodist 
Episcopal church, anil has served as superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school for a number 
of years. In 1842 he married Hannah 
Adams, a native of Burlington county, New- 
Jersey, by whom he had a family of eleven 
children. She is still living, being now in 
the seventy-second year of her age. She is 



254 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



a member of the same church as her 
husband, and greatly esteemed for her 
kindliness and splendid Christian character. 

Dr. Albert Weeks was reared in Burling- 
ton county, New Jersey, and received a 
good English education in the excellent 
public schools of that State. After leaving 
school he entered a drug store in the city of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he re- 
mained for two years as clerk and salesman. 
At the end of that time he began reading 
medicine with the eminent Dr. D. D. Rich- 
ardson, then of Philadelphia, but now 
superintendent of the State asylum for the 
insane at Wilmington, Delaware. Later he 
matriculated at Jefferson Medical college, 
Philadelphia, from which well known in- 
stitution he was graduated in the spring of 
1880, with tlie degree of M. D. After 
graduation he became first assistant phy- 
sician in the insane department of the 
Philadelphia hospital, and occupied that 
position two years. April 1, 1882, he re- 
moved to Phoenixville, this county, where 
he immediately opened an office, and has 
been continuousI_y engaged in the prac^tice 
of his profession ever since. His thorough 
knowledge of medicine and acquired skill 
in its administration have given him great 
success as a physician, and he has conse- 
quently built up a practice which is now 
quite large and correspondingly lucrative. 

On August 2, 1882, Dr. Weeks was united 
in marriage with Mary Unistead, a daugliter 
of Joseph and Sarah Unistead, of the city 
of Philadelpliia. To the Dr. and Mrs. 
Weeks have been born two children, both 
daughters: Sarah lone and Vivian. 

In his political affiliations Dr. Weeks is 
republican, thougli taking no very active 
jiart in politics; and he is a strict member 
of the Metliodist Episcopal diurch of 



Phoenixville, and also a member of Castle, 
No. 67, Knights of the Golden Eagle. Dr. 
Weeks' ability and standing in his pro- 
fession is acknowledged wherever he is 
known, and he is a prominent member of 
the Chester County Medical society, and of 
the Inter-County Medical society. In ad- 
dition to giving strict attention to the 
arduous duties connected with his large 
private practice, he is also serving as official 
examiner for several leading life insurance 
companies doing business in Pha?nixville. 



'T'HOMAS D. DUNN, M. D., a promi- 
nent and active physician and surgeon 
of West Chester, and who has had ten years 
of successful practice in the hospitals of 
Philadelphia, and at the county seat of 
Chester county, is the son of Rev. Thomas 
H. and Diantha M. (Curtis) Dunn, and was 
born in Crawford count}', Pennsylvania, 
January 30, 1855. The Dunns trace their 
trans-Atlantic ancestry to Scotland, from 
which country Philip Dunn, the paternal 
great-grandfather of Dr. Dunn, came to 
Pennsylvania during the last century and 
settled in New Jersey. In a short time he 
left that State to become one of the pioneer 
settlers of Crawford county, whose territory' 
was then scarcely free from the incursion 
of the Indian tribes of what is now the 
State of Ohio. He took up a large tract of 
land aiul cleared out a good farm, on wliich 
he resided until his death. His son, Gideon 
Dunn (grandfather), was born in New Jer- 
sey, served in the land forces of the Unite<l 
States along the northern border during the 
war of 1812, and followed farming until his 
death in Crawford county, to which he had 
removed in early life with his father. He 
married Rachel Holton, the only white 



OP CHESTER country. 



356 



woman who escaped in the Indian massacre 
at Sandusky, Ohio, and reared a family of 
two children : Rev. Thomas II. and Philip. 
Rev. Thomas II. Dunn (father), was born 
on his father's Crawford county farm in 
1826, received his education at Allgheny 
college of Meadville, Pennsylvania, and 
served for many years as a minister of the 
Seventh Day Baptist church. He was a 
man of influence in his ncigliborhood, and 
a republican in politics, and died August 
29th, 1><81, aged fifty -five years. He mar- 
ried Diantlia M. Curtis, now resident of 
Meadville, Crawford county, wlio was a 
daughter of Miles Curtis, of New York, 
and was born in Crawford county in 1832. 
To them were born a family of four children, 
tliree sons and one daughter: Elizabeth K., 
Hr. Thomas D., Dr. Ii'a J., who was gradu- 
ated from the medical department of the 
university of Pennsylvania in 1891, and 
Arthur D., now seventeen yesirs of age and 
at home. 

Thomas D. Dunn attended the public 
schools and then entered the Northwestern 
State Normal school of Edinboro", Erie 
county, from which institution he was grad- 
uated in the class of 187-'). Leaving the 
normal school he took a special cf)nrse at 
Allegheny college, and having made choice 
of a professional career, became a medical 
student in the office of Dr. Jacob Price, of 
West Chester, whose sketch appears else- 
where in this volume. After completing 
the required course of reading lie entered 
the medical department of the university 
of Pennsylvania, of Philadelphia, from 
which he was graduated in 1881. Immedi- 
ately after gradinition he entered the Uni- 
versity hospital as resident physician, where 
he served one year. After a term of si.\ 
months at the Childrens hospital, Philadel- 



phia, he settled to the practice of his chosen 
profession in West Chester. 

On the 28th of Novendier, 1883, Dr. Dunn 
was united in marriage with Kate E. Cobb, 
daughter of T. B. Cobb, of Tionesta, For- 
est county. Their union has ticen blessed 
with one child, a daughter, named Rachel, 
who was born April 4, 188.5. 

Dr. Dunn is a republican in politics, but 
has never aspired to political preferment or 
sought office at the hands of his fellow- 
citizens. He is a member of tVie Philadel- 
phia Pathological society, the college of 
Physicians of Philadelphia, and of the 
Pennsylvania State Medical society. 



HENRY EPPEHIMER,a reliable busi- 
ness man, and vice-president of the 
Schuylkill Valley Stove .Manufacturing 
C'Ompany, of Spring City, is a son of George 
and Eliza (Ortlip) Eppehimer, and was born 
at Lawrenceville, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, June 11, 1835. His paternal great- 
grandfather, Eppehimer, was a native of 
Switzerlanil, and left his mountain home to 
settle in .Montgomery county, where his 
son, Valentine Eppehimer (grandfather), 
was born and reared. Valentine Eppehimer 
learned the trade of blacksmith, which he 
followed in his native county until the con- 
struction of the Schuylkill Canal, when he 
was employed as tool dresser, and died from 
malaria caught while thus engaged. He 
married a Miss Yokum, by whom he had 
four children, three sons and one daughter: 
Mary, George, Jonas and John, (leorge 
Eppehimer, the second son and fatiier of 
the subject of this sketch, was born in 1809. 
in Potts Grove township, Montgomery 
county, and at fifteen years of age went to 
Philadelphia, where he learned the trade of 



356 



mOGJlAPMY Al^D HISTOHy 



tailor, which he followed until 1832. In 
that year he came to Lawrenceville, this 
county, and opened a tailoring establish- 
ment, which he conducted up to his death 
in October, 1879, when he was well ad- 
vanced in the seventy-first year of his age. 
He was a democrat in politics until 1856, 
when he identified himself with the Republi- 
can party, which he ever afterwards sup- 
ported. He married Eliza Ortlip, who 
died in May, 1875, aged fifty-nine years. 
To their union were born five sons and one 
daughter : Henry ; William, who was killed 
in a steamboat explosion on the Delaware 
river in 1854 ; Frank, who operated a stove 
foundry for some years, and is now engaged 
in general mercantile business at Royer's 
Ford; Mary, married Albert Hartman, and 
after his death wedded Andrew Anderson, 
who is now dead; Howard P., who is in the 
employ of the Schuylkill Valley Stove Mau- 
faeturing Company of Spring City ; and 
Addison, who is a merchant tailor of Royer's 
Ford, Montgomery county. 

Henry Eppehimer was reared at Law- 
renceville, received his education in the 
common schools of Chester county, and 
learned the trade of molder, which he fol- 
lowed at various places until 1889. In that 
year he became a member of the Schuylkill 
Valley Stove Manufacturing Company, of 
which has served as vice-president ever 
since. 

On May 1, 1858, Mr. Eppehimer married 
a Miss Schueck, daughter of Matthias 
Schueck, of Montgomery county. Mr. and 
Mrs. Eppehimer liave eight children, four 
sons and four daughters : Alice, wife of 
Lewis Caldwell, of Philadelphia; Minerva, 
William K., Harry C, Edmund S., Stella, 
Maggie M., and (reorge. 

The Schuylkill Valley Stove Manufactur- 



ing Company was organized in the spring 
of 1889, and purchased its present plant of 
a company which had erected it under the 
auspices of the Knights of Labor. The 
plant is in the southern part of the borough, 
and consists of a large four story ware- 
house, an engine and boiler house, a clean- 
ing room, a two story cupola house, and a 
molding room. The buildings are all of 
brick, and have been tlioroughly equipped 
throughout with the best of machinery for 
the manufacture of stoves. The company 
employs a force of eighty-five skilled work- 
men, and the annual output of their works 
is valued at one hundred thousand dollars. 
The company has been remarkably success- 
ful, and has a steady demand for its stoves 
in nearly every State of the Union. 

Henry Eppehimer is a republican in 
political sentiment, and has been a member 
for several years of Spring City Lodge, 
No. 553, Free and Accepted Masons. He 
is a skilled workman and a thorough-going 
business man. He is fully conversant with 
every detail and feature of his important 
industry, and ranks as a substantial and 
useful citizen of his borough. 



FRANCIS A. THOMAS, a successful 
business man of West Chester", a Union 
soldier of the late civil war, and the present 
register of wills of Chester county, whose 
term of oflice will expire in 1895, is a son 
of David R. and Isabella ( Doyle ) Thomas, 
and was born at Jennersville, Chester coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, May 24, 1841. His pater- 
nal grandfather. Dr. David Thomas, was 
born in Hilltown, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1759, and after reaching manhood, 
he left in 1808 to settle in Lower Oxford 
township, this county, where he died in 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



mtn 



1 824, at sixty-five years of age. He was 
ii physician, and served as a private in the 
American armj' during the last years of the 
levolntioiiarv war, and in tlic war of 1812 
served as surgeon. He was a democrat in 
politics and a consistent member of the 
Baptist churdi, in whicii lie was a pillar of 
strength. He married Mary Jones, of 
Bucks (•ouiity, in 1791, and reared a family 
of sons and daugliters. Their son, David 
R. Thomas, the father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born at Hilltown, Bucks 
county, Ma\' 8, 1803, and came with 
his father to Twaddell, in Lower Ox- 
ford township, this county, where he 
learned the trade of tanner and leather 
currier, which he followed in Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, until a few years before 
his death. He was a democrat in politics 
until the slavery question became prominent 
in politics, when he identified himself with 
the republican party and supported its prin- 
ciples ever afterwards. He died February 
20, 1873, aged seventy-one years. He was 
a strict meml)er of the ^[ethodist Episcopal 
church, and married Isabella Doyle, who 
was born in Philadelphia, October 28,1808, 
and now resides with her son, R. Newton 
Thomas, of West Chester. Mr. and Mrs. 
Thomas had a family of eleven children: 
Mary Jane, born March 28, 1832, married 
Thomas Kennedy, and is now dead ; Enphe- 
mia A., wife of John Edwards of Chester, 
Delaware county, born February 14, 1834; 
John W., born in June, 1835, and died in 
1842; Margaret, born March 14, 1837, and 
now widow of Anthony Donnan, of Phila- 
delpliia, where she now resides; Joseph L., 
born June 27, 1839, served three years in 
the Federal army during the late war, and 
afterward went to Missouri, where he died 
April 24, 1886; Francis A.; R. Xewton 



(see his sketch); L. Fletcher, born Decem- 
ber 6, 1844, who served during the late war 
in the 124th Pennsylvania infantry, 43d 
regiment emergency men, and the 192d 
Pennsylvania infantry, and after the war 
went to Philadeli)hia, where he was en- 
gaged in the hide and tallow business until 
his death in 1890; Charles W., born Janu- 
ary 3, 1847, a nuMiilier of the firm of Clark. 
Thomas & Co., manufacturers and dealers 
in furniture at Twenty-third and Passyunk 
streets, Philadelphia; Tacy M., born June 
28, 1849, and married Lewis Lenderman, of 
Wilmington, Delaware ; and James M., who 
was born July 16, 1852, and is engaged in 
the wholesale butcher business at Wilming- 
ton, Delaware. 

Francis A. Thomas was reared in Chester 
county, received his education in tlie com- 
mon schools of his native township, and 
learned the trade of wheelwright, which he 
followed until the commencement of the 
late civil war, when, on September 1, 1861, 
he enlisted in PurnelVs Legion of Maryland 
volunteers. He participated in many of the 
hard battles of the Army of the Potomac, 
received a flesh wound in the face at Cold 
Harbor, and was wounded in the left arm 
at the Weldon railroad fight. He was hon- 
orabl}' dischargeil from the Federal service 
on October 28, 1864, at Baltimoi-e, Maryland, 
and returned to Chester county, where he 
was engaged in farming until 1871, when 
he again engaged at his trade, but was com- 
pelled to quit it on account of impaired 
health. He then accepted a position with 
his brother, R. Newton, who was engaged 
in the flour, feed, coal and grain business in 
West Chester, and remained with him until 
January 1, 1891, when he entered ujion the 
duties of his office ius register, to which 
he had been elected on the republican 



258 



BIOGRAPHY AND MtSTOBy 



ticket at the preceding November election 
of 1890. 

On January 8, 1866, Mr. Thomas married 
Grace Squire, daughter of William Squire, 
of Hopewell borough, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, and to their union have been born 
two children : William S. and David R. 

Francis A. Thomas is a stanch and active 
republican in politics. He is a member of 
West Chester Lodge, No. 322, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and West Chester Castle, 
No. 226, Knights of the Golden Eagle. 
Mr. Thomas has discharged well all of the 
many duties of his present responsible posi- 
tion, and is an honorable and respected citi- 
zen of West Chester, ever doing all in his 
power for the business interests and the 
prosperity of his city and county. 

He is past post commander of Post 31, 
Grand Army of the Republic, West Chester ; 
member of Minqua Tribe, No. 8, Improved 
Order of Red Men, Wilmington, Delaware; 
and past-chancellor commander of Oriental 
Lodge, No. 13, Knights of Pythias, Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, and member of Veteran Le- 
gion, No. 2, Philadelphia. 



QEORGE G. MYER, now serving his 
fifth year as justice of the peace at 
Coatesville, is one of our veteran soldiers 
who saw active service during the entire 
progress of the civil war. He was among 
those who "went out first and came in last." 
He is a prominent Mason and an intelligent, 
useful and highly respected citizen. Squire 
Myer is a son of John and Catharine (Bream) 
Myer, and was born in the city of New York, 
June 8, 1839. John Myer (father) was a 
native of Baden, Germany, but left the 
Fatherland in early life to seek a home in 
the new world. Upon his arrival in America 



he settled in New York city and remained 
there until 1850, when he removed to Lan- 
caster citj', Pennsylvania. He lived in Lan- 
caster, where he was engaged in the shoe 
business, until June, 1877, when he went to 
Missouri, where he remained for twelve 
years, and where he died in his sixty-seventh 
year. In politics he was a democrat, and in 
religious faith a follower of Martin Luther, 
being a member of the Evangelical Luth- 
eran church for many years previous to his 
death. His wife, Catharine Bream, was also 
a native of Germany and a member of the 
Lutheran church. She died at Lancaster in 
1878, aged sixty-four years. One of their 
sons, Gustavus, now resides in Lancaster 
city, this State, and their only surviving 
daughter, Josephine, is also a resident of 
that city. 

George G. Myer was reared in the city of 
New York until his eleventh year, when he 
came with his parents to Lancaster city, 
this State. He received a good English 
education in the common schools, and after 
leaving school was associated with his father 
in the shoe business at Lancaster until 1861. 
Early in that year, April, 1861, he volun- 
teered as a musician in the 1st Pennsylvania 
infantry, and on the expiration of his term 
of service re-enlisted for nine months in 
Co. A, 122d Pennsylvania infantry, as cor- 
poral, and afterward in Co. F, 9th Pennsyl- 
vania cavalry. He was wounded at the 
battle of Chancel lorsville, was with General 
Sherman on his famous march to the sea, 
and served until the Confederacy collapsed 
and the great civil war had gone into his- 
tory. Returning to his home in Pennsyl- 
vania with shattered health, he rested for a 
time and then learned the barber's trade 
and engaged in that occupation at Lancaster 
until 1868, when he removed to Coatesville, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



360 



Chester county, where he has resided ever 
since, conducting a large barber shop with 
gratifying success and a constantly increas- 
ing business. 

In political sentiment Squire Myer is a 
democrat, but broad and liberal in his views 
and popular beyond his party. Although 
the borough is largely republican, he has 
been elected and served one term as chief 
burgess of Coatesville, three terms as couu- 
cilmau, school director for three years, and 
is now serving his fifth year as justice of the 
peace. He is the first democrat ever elected 
to all tliese offices, and the simple statement 
of this fact is a most eloquent testimonial 
to the character and high standing of Squire 
Myer in the community where he has so 
long resided. 

On December 26, 1859, Mr. Myer was 
married to Anna Cochran, a daughter of 
Oliver Cochran, of Marietta, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania. 

In the Masonic circles of Chester county 
Squire Myer is well known, being past- 
master of Goddard Lodge, Jfo. .383, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Coatesville Chapter, 
No. 207, Royal Arch Masons; and eminent 
commander of Centennial Commandery, 
No. 55, Knights Templar. lie is also a 
member of Onondaga Tribe, No. 83, Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, and of Brandy- 
wine Post, No. 54, Grand Army of the 
Republic. 

I3ERCY C. HOSKINS, M. D., of W est 

Chester, who has achieved an enviable 
reputation in his profession and is an active 
member of the Pennsylvania State Medical 
society, is a son of Dr. John R. and Hannah 
(Cheever) Hoskins, and was born in East 
Goshen township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania. December 17, 1852. Interest always 

17 



attaches to those who have been the found- 
ers of well known and substantial families 
in any State or county, and the Hoskins 
family which was planted in eastern Penn- 
sylvania during the last century, is of Welsh 
descent. The first of the name in the State 
was the great-grandfather of Dr. Hoskins, 
and who married and reared a family. One 
of his grandsons, Dr. John R. Hoskins, was 
born in 1820, at Village Green, then known 
as Seven Stars, in Delaware county. In 
early life he shipped on board a trading 
vessel commanded by Captain Cheyney of 
his native county, and made a voyage to the 
Isle of France and the city of Calcutta, the 
metropolis of British India. After leaving 
the ocean he read medicine and entered 
Jeft'erson Medical college, from which he 
was graduated in the class of 1844. Im- 
mediately upon graduation he opened an 
office at Sugartown, but soon removed to 
East Goshen, where he remained until 1877, 
when he came to West Chester, in which 
city he died on March 4, 1884, at sixty-four 
years of age. He was a member of the 
Protestant Episcopal church, and a Jetfer- 
sonian democrat in politics, and married 
Hannah Cheever, who was born in 1832, 
and is still living. Dr. and Mrs. Hoskins 
were the parents of two children, a son and 
a daughter: Sarali P., wife of sheriff James 
G. Parker, whose sketch appears in this vol- 
ume ; and Dr. Percy C, the subject of tliis 
sketch. 

Percy C. Hoskins was reared in East 
Goslien township, received his education in 
West Chester academy and West Chester 
State Normal school, and then determined 
upon medicine as a life vocation. He read 
with his father and upon completing the re- 
quired course entered .Fefferson Medical 
college of Philadelphia, from which time- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



honored institution he was graduated with 
high standing in his class on March 13, 
1875. After graduation he opened an office 
in East Goshen township, where he soon had 
an extensive practice, which he relinquished 
in 1883, to remove to West Chester. He 
has steadily built up a very fine practice at 
the county seat, and is regarded as one of 
the most successful physicians of the bor- 
ough. 

On October 16, 1877, Dr. Hoskins mar- 
ried Stella M. Locke, daughter of Thomas 
M. Locke, of Philadelphia, and to their 
union have been born five children, three 
sons and two daughters : Emily L., John R., 
Thomas L., Percy C, jr., who died August 
17, 1887; and Phyllis C. 

Dr. Hoskins is a democrat in politics, and a 
member and vestryman of Holy Trinity I'rot- 
estant Episcopal church of West Chester. He 
is a member of Tamenend Tribe, No. 197, 
Independent Order of Red Men, and West 
Chester Lodge, No. 42, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and a member and past 
master of Thompson Lodge, No. 340, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Dufiryn Mawr. 
Dr. Hoskins is a member of the West Ches- 
ter Medical society, secretary of the Chester 
County Medical association, and has held 
membership for several years in the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical society. During 
President Cleveland's administration he 
served as a member of the board of pension 
examiners for Chester county. Dr. Percy 
C. Hoskins is an afl:able gentleman, and a 
highly respected citizen of his city and 
county, and ranks as an able and skillful 
l^hysician in a section of the "Keystone" 
State, where merit only commands prom- 
inence; was division surgeon under General 
Dobson of the tenth division of National 
Guards of Pennsylvania, which figured in 



the riots of 1877, at Pittsburg, was in this 
during 1876 and 1877, or until the State 
militia was reorganized. 



jr HOWARD RICHARD, a well 
known business man, and president 
of the Schuylkill Valley Stove Company, 
of Spring City, is a son of Anthony and 
Elizabeth (Ammon) Richard, and was born 
in the city of Reading, Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, July 80, 1850. Anthony Richard 
was born near Hagerstown, Maryland, in 
1807, and died at Pottstown, Montgomery 
county, this State, August 28, 1870, when in 
the sixty-third year of his age. He was a 
man of good business ability, and served for 
many years as superintendent of the ship- 
ping department of the Reading railroad 
at Pottstown. He was a republican in 
politics, and a Baptist in religious belief and 
church membership. He married Elizabeth 
Ammon, a native of Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, who died November 19, 1878, aged 
sixty-eight years. They had a family of 
three children : Henry A., of Pottstown, 
who is a real estate superintendent for the 
Reading Railroad Company ; Howard ; and 
John, who died in infancy. 

J. Howard Richard was reared princi- 
pally in Montgomery county, received a 
common school and academic education, 
and after leaving Pottstown academy en- 
tered the service of the Reading Railroad 
Company as a fireman. After serving for a 
necessary length of time as fireman he was 
promoted to locomotive engineer, and con- 
tinued in that capacity until 1875, when he 
resigned to engage in the bakery business 
at Collegeville, Montgomery county, which 
he followed successfully up to 1888. In that 
vear he went to Pottstown, but not findins: 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



sufficient inducements at that place to enter 
into any kind of business there he came 
to Spring City, in the the spring of 1889, 
and was instrumental in organizing the 
present Schuylkill Valley Stove Company, 
of which he was treasurer and superin- 
tendent up to January, 1892, when he was 
elected president. 

On May 24, 1873, Mr. Richard was united 
in marriage with Sallie M., daughter of 
James and Sarah Duiilop, of Linlield, Mont- 
gomery county. 

J. Howard Richard is a republican in 
politics, and has served as a member of the 
borough council. He has been prominent 
in the Masonic fraternity for some years, 
and is a member of Warren Lodge, No. 310, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Trappe, 
Montgomery county ; Pottstown Chapter, 
No. 271, Royal Arch Masons; and Hutchin- 
son Commandery, No. 32, Knights Templar. 
Besides his business affairs at Spring City, 
he is interested in financial matters at 
Royer's Ford, of whose Industrial Savings 
hank he lias served as a trustee ever since 
it was organized. 

The Schuylkill Valley Stove and Manu- 
facturing Company (limited), was organized 
in the spring of 1889, with J. Howard 
Richard, as treasurer and superintendent; 
Henry Eppehimer, president; and Mont- 
gomery Frick as secretary, who, together 
with John W. Gephart, E. W. Poley, 
William F. Stephen and L. L. Esenhower, 
constitute the present board of directors, 
and with C. C. Armpriester, treasurer, are 
the chief stockholders of the company. The 
company's plant was built and operated for 
a short time under the auspices of the 
Knights of Labor, and was bought of the 
Knights of Labor in the spring of 1889, by 
the Schuvlkill Vallev Stove and Manu- 



facturing Company (limited). It ie situated 
in the southern part of the borough, on the 
Schuylkill canal and Schuylkill Valley rail- 
road. The plant consists of the following 
brick buildings: a large four story ware- 
house, 60x90 feet; an engine and boiler 
house, 36x36 feet; a cleaning room, 24x45 
feet ; a two story cupola house, 24x36 feet ; 
and a molding room, 80x160 feet. It is 
one of the finest equipped plants of its 
kind in the country, and furnishes regular 
employment to a force of eighty-five skilled 
workmen. Its annual output is valued at 
one hundred thousand dollars, and the 
company's stoves find a ready market, being 
sold in nearly every State of the Union. 
In building up this enterprise to its present 
prosperous condition Mr. Richard has been 
very active. He has given to it that care 
and attention which are necessary to suc- 
cess, while liis management has l)een both 
skillful and judicious. 



jJOHN SLEICHTER, one of the prosper- 
ous and progressive young farmers of 
North Coventry township, is the eldest son 
and second child of Isaac and Mary (Kullp) 
Sleichter, and was born June 17, 1859, in 
East Coventry township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. The family is of German 
descent, the first of the name to come to 
America, so far as we have any account, 
being Michael Sleichter, paternal great- 
grandfather, who left his native home in the 
Fatherland at an early day to seok his for- 
tune in the newer west. He came to the 
United States and settled in East Vincent 
township, this county, where he lived until 
his death. He was a farmer by vocation, 
and reared a large family, among whom 
was Abram Sleichter (grandfiither). The 



BIOOSAPHY AND HISTORY 



latter was reared on the farm, and after at- 
taining manhood married Sai-ah Hau8e,and 
to them was born a family of six children, 
two sons and four daughters : Isaac, father 
of the subject of this sketch ; Abram, a 
laborer who lives in East Vincent township ; 
Kate, deceased ; Mary, also dead ; Hettie, 
who married William Lukens, now deceased ; 
and Dessie, who is now the widow of Ben- 
jamin Boyer. Abram Sleichter was a farmer 
all his life and died in East Vincent town- 
ship. His wife is also dead. Their sou, 
Isaac (father), was born in Eaet Vincent 
township in 1839, of which he is still a resi- 
dent. He grew up on the farm, receiving 
his education in the common schools, and 
has followed agricultural pursuits all his 
life. In politics he is a republican and has 
served his township as school director. He 
takes an active and intelligent interest in 
all public questions and keeps well posted 
on the progress of current events. In re- 
ligious faith he is a Mennonite, and always 
ready to do his part in the support of his 
church and its difterent religious and char- 
itable interests. He married Mary Kullp, 
a daughter of John Kullp, of East Vincent. 
By this marriage he had a family of live 
children, two sons and three daughters: 
Sarah, married Harry Steyer, a successful 
farmer of East Vincent township, and has 
two children — Webster and Mary; John, 
the subject of this sketch ; Webster, who 
wedded Lily Finkbiner, a daughter of David 
Finkbiner, of Spring City (whose sketch 
appears elsewhere in this volume), and has 
two sons — Walter and Grant; and Lizzie 
and Annie, both of whom are living at home 
with their parents. 

John Sleichter was reared on his father's 
farm in East Coventry township, and re- 
ceived a good English education in the ex- 



cellent public schools of his neighborhood. 
He was not one of that numerous class of 
farmer's sons who desert the farm for un- 
derpaid employment in the town or city, as 
soon as they can get away ; but on the con- 
trary became early impressed with the dig- 
nity and independence of farm life, and 
determined to devote his attention to the 
cultivation of the soil and kindred pursuits. 
In April, 1886, he purchased the farm on 
which he now resides, located on the Schuyl- 
kill road in Horth Coventry township. It 
consists of seventy-three acres of valuable 
land, iinely improved and supplied with all 
necessary farm buildings. The soil is rich 
and productive, and the place is kept in a 
high state of cultivation. In connection 
with bis other operations he carries on a 
small dairying business, owning ten fine 
cows. He is active, energetic and enter- 
prising, and finds little cause to help swell 
the popular wail that " farming does n't 
pay." In 1883 Mr. Sleichter was united in 
marriage with Kate Prizer, a daughter of 
Harman Prizer, of East Coventry township. 
The union of Mr. and Mrs. Sleichter has 
been blessed by the birth of one child, a 
daughter, named Mary, who was born Feb- 
ruary 10,1884. In politics Mr. Sleichter is 
an ardent republican, giving his party a 
hearty support on all leading questions, 
while in religious faith he is a strict mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church at 
Pottstown. 

nEV. JACOB B. SOUIiE, the present 
popular, earnest and efficient pastor of 
Parker Ford Baptist church, who has a 
wide reputation as a pulpit orator, is what 
may rightly be termed a model minister, 
and an affable, cultivated and agreeable 
gentleman. He was born September 18, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



aes 



1825, in Buffalo township, Pcrrj' county, 
Pennsylvania, and is the eldest son of John 
and Nancy (Lackey) Soule. The faniil}' is 
of German origin, but American by a resi- 
dence of several generations. Jacob Soule, 
paternal grandfather, was born in Loraine, 
Germany, but came early to the United 
States, and settled, in all probability, within 
the Ijounds of Chester county, where he 
remained but a sliort time and then removed 
to Perry county. He was a fiirmer by 
occupation, and purchasing land in Perry 
county, lived there until his death at an 
advanced age. In early life he was a 
Catholic in religion, but afterward left that 
church and embraced the I'rotestant faith. 
His son, John Soule (father), was born on 
the homestead in Buffalo township, Perry 
county, September 11, 1804, and was reared 
on the farm and educated in the common 
schools of his neighborhood. After leaving 
school he learned the carpenter's trade, and 
for a number of years devoted his time and 
attention to that vocation. He afterward 
purchased a farm, and gave his later years 
to agricultural pursuits. In politics he was 
a democrat until the organization of the 
republican party, when he identified him- 
self with the latter, and always took an 
active and patriotic interest in political 
affairs. He was reared in the Protestant 
faith and became a member of the Church 
of God, in which he was prominent, active 
and useful for many years. He died at his 
home in Carroll township, near Bloomficld. 
Perry county, in 1878, at the age of seventy- 
one years, having passed his whole life in 
that county. In 1824 he married Nancy 
Lackey, a daughter of Henry Lackey, a 
native of tlie Kmerald Isle, who came to 
America and settled iu Perry county, Penn- 
sylvania, at an oarly day, where he lived 



until his death. By this marriage Mr. 
Soule had a family of four children, three 
sons and a daughter, all of whom lived to 
reach maturity and become useful and in- 
fluential nieml)ers of society. The eldest 
was Rev. Jacob B., the subject of this 
sketch. The second was a son named 
Henry L., who acquired a fine classical and 
theological education, and is now a minister 
of the Church of God, actively' engaged in 
his chosen work in South Dakota. He is 
a distinguished scholar and fine linguist. 
The third son, John Wesley, resides in 
Perry county, this State, and is a teacher of 
high standing. He also owns a fine farm 
there, to the management of which lie 
devotes part of his time. The only daughter, 
named for her mother, Nancy, received a 
good education, and after reaching woman- 
hood became the wife of John Carberry, of 
Huntingdon county, this State. 

Rev. Jacob B. Soule was reared in Perry 
county, where be received an academic 
education. In later life he took up the 
Chautauqua course of study, graduating in 
theology under Rev. Dr. Townsend, the 
eminent theologian and one of the Chautau- 
qua professors, on March 1, 1888. He had 
completed his Greek studies under Rev. 
Alfred A. Wright, February 28 of the 
same year. For a number of years he had 
been engaged in teaching, having been 
superintendent of the model departnjent of 
a normal school in Perry county. He also 
taught music in connection with iiis other 
duties. In 18.54 he was ordained to the 
ministry in the Church of (iod, and began 
prcaching,hisfirst(harge being at Shippens- 
burg, this State. From there he went to 
Wooster, Ohio, and next to Decatur, Illinois. 
He subsequently served his church suc- 
cessivelv at (Mianibersbiirff, Carlisle and 



BIOGBAPHY AND HISTORY 



Lancaster city. He then joined the Baptist 
church, and served the following churches : 
Colerain, Lancaster county ; Atglen, Chester 
county, and in the city of Little York, 
York county, Pennsylvania. On June 15, 
1888, he came to Parker Ford, where he 
has been successfully engaged in doing the 
work of his divine Master ever since. In 
connection with his ministerial labors he 
publishes a small monthly paper called 
The Quiver, devoted to the religious and 
church interests of his people. He has 
always been earnest and successful in his 
work, possessing more than the ordinary 
degree of energy and will power, and many 
admirable traits of character which qualify 
him for his duties and contribute to his 
influence and success. In politics he is a 
prohibitionist, and a prominent member of 
the Good Templars and Knights of Honor. 
He is a member of the Union League, and 
was elected chaplain, which office he holds 
to this day. 

Rev. Jacob B. Soule has been twice 
married. His first wife was Mary Stam- 
baugh, a daughter of Daniel Stambaugh, 
the lirst sherift" of Perry county. To that 
union was born a family of three children : 
Frances Amanda, who died in infancy; 
William Alexander, also deceased at an 
early age ; Jane Mary, living at home with 
her father. After the death of his first 
wife. Rev. Mr. Soule wedded Mrs. Rebecca 
Smetlz, 7iee Hoftman. He has no children 
by this marriage. 



JOSIAH HOOPES, senior member of 
the great nursery firm of Hoopes, 
Brother & Thomas, of West Chester, who 
in addition to his great reputation as a suc- 
<'cssful business man, is known throughout 



the United States and Europe as a botanist 
of considerable repute, is the eldest son of 
Pierce and Sarah (Andrews) Hoopes, and 
was born in the city of West Chester, Penn- 
sylvania, on the 9th of November, 1832. 
The Hoopes are descended from English 
Quaker stock, the first of the name to come 
to America being Joshua Hoopes, who left 
his native town in Yorkshire, England, 
about 1683, and settled in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, with his wife Isabel and three 
children — Daniel, Margaret and Christian. 
Daniel married Jane Worrilow, and had a 
large family of twenty-one children. Three 
of his sons came to the immediate vicinity 
of West Chester, and from them have de- 
scended the very numerous and highly re- 
spected family of Hoopes now found in 
Chester county. Thomas Hoopes, the pa- 
ternal great-grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, was born on the old Hoopes 
homestead in the edge of West Chester, and 
was the son of Nathan and Margaret 
Hoopes. Here his son, Abner Hoopes 
(grandfather), was born, lived and died. 
Here, too, in 1801, was born Pierce Hoopes 
(father), who received the best education 
afforded by the common schools of that day 
and afterward attended for a time that an- 
cient and popular Quaker institution of 
learning, the Westtown academy. Until 
that time the occupation of this branch of 
the family had been universally that of till- 
ers of the soil, but after finishing his educa- 
tion Pierce Hoopes engaged in the mercan- 
tile business in West Chester, and success- 
fully conducted a general store in that place 
from 1830 to 1885. In the latter year he 
removed to the city of Philadelphia, where 
he embarked in the lumber trade and be- 
came quite prosperous. He continued to 
reside and do business in Philadelphia until 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



86S 



1850, when a desire possessed him to return 
to the old homestead in Chester county, part 
ofwliich lie then purchased. Here lie lived 
for a number of years, surrounded by all the 
comforts of life and enjoying that happy 
and peaceful contentment which comes to 
crown a life well spent. He was a quiet, 
unassuming man, possessing many good 
qualities and universally esteemed for his 
personal worth and kindly disposition. His 
death occurred August 20, 1888, in the 
eighty-seventh year of his age. In 1831 
he married Sarah Andrews, a daughter of 
James Andrews, of Wilmington, Delaware, 
whose ancestors came to America with 
William Penn and settled in the old village 
of Darby, near Philadelphia. To them was 
born a family of two sons, the elder being 
the subject of this sketch, and the younger, 
Abner Hoopes, now a member of the well- 
known and popular nursery firm of Hooi)es, 
Brother & Thomas, of West Chester. 

Josiali Hoopes was reared principally in 
Philadelphia, where his father was engaged 
in business, and received a superior English 
and classical education in the high schools 
of that city. His chief delight was in the 
study of botany, and he early became an 
enthusiast on that subject. Following his 
inclinations, in 1853 he built a small green- 
house, which he filled with specimens of 
the flora of the world, laboriously gathered 
from all parts of the continent. To this 
collection he continued to add, aso[iportun- 
ity and circumstances permitted, until it 
finally developed into the present large and 
prosperous nursery business, which occu jiies 
at least five hundred acres of the best land 
in the vicinity of West Chester, devoted to 
the production of every variety of flower or 
fruit tliat will succeed in tliis climate. This 
vast priidni'tis presented to the general jmli- 



lic l)y a large corps of trained salesmen who 
travel through all parts of the United States. 
In their line the firm of Hoopes, Brother & 
Thomas is among the largest dealers in this 
country. 

Liberally educated himself, Mr. Hoopes 
has always manifested a lively interest in 
the great question of popular education, 
and for a number of years served as trustee 
of the West Chester State Normal school. 
He is an active member of the board of 
trade in this city, and being a man of sound 
judgment and keen business insight, his 
services are in almost universal demand 
among advisory committees and others 
connected with the management of the 
various public and private institutions of 
the place. He takes a special delight, 
however, in the scientific development 
of his chosen work, and never wearies in 
his experiments and researches along the 
line of botanical or scientific investiga- 
tion. He has written much on horticulture, 
botany and kindred subjects, being for many 
years a regular contributor to the horticul- 
tural department of the New York Tribune 
and other publications. He has traveled 
extensively in Europe, visiting nearly all the 
famous flower gardens, parterres and botan- 
ical collections of the old world, and making 
himself familiar with the flora of all lands. 
In 1868 he published his valuable " Book 
of Evergreens," a practical treatise on the 
conifera, or cone-bearing plants of the world, 
which has since been recognized as author- 
itv on this class of trees in America. 



pROF. CARLOS li. COl'HRAN, a 

graduate of the Michigan State univer- 
sitv at Ann Arbor. Michigan, and now at 
the bead iif the siicntilic dcparliiniil of the 



266 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Pennsylvania State Normal school at West 
Chester, Pennsylvania, is the eldest son of 
Isaac Cook and Julia Augusta (Bingham) 
Cochran, and was born July 1, 1854, at 
Albion, Michigan. His paternal grand- 
father, Isaac Cochran, was a native of Scot- 
land, born and reared on the historic high- 
lands of that ancient country, who in middle 
life emigrated to America and settled among 
the green mountains of Vermont, where he 
passed the remainder of his days. His son, 
Isaac C. Cochran (father), was born in Ver- 
mont in 1822, but removed to Michigan 
while yet a boy. He entered Albion col- 
lege, at Albion, that State, and after gradua- 
tion became a teacher in the college, and 
was thus employed for »nie years. Later 
he entered the ministry of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. He diedatUtica, Mich- 
igan, in 1868, aged forty-six years. In 1853 
he united in marriage with Julia Augusta 
Bingham, a daughter of Nathaniel D. Bing- 
ham, who was a native of New York. By 
this marriage he had a family of four chil- 
dren, two sons and two daughters : Carlos 
B., the subject of this sketch : Flora Grace, 
now deceased ; Alice and Alfred. 

Prof. Carlos B. Cochran was educated at 
the Ann Arbor university, Ann Arbor, Mich- 
igan, finishing the classical course and being 
graduated from that institution in the sum- 
mer of 1877. He took a post-graduate 
course in the sciences and then matriculated 
in the medical department of the university. 
His medical studies were continued until 
within oneyearofgraduation,when,in 1879, 
he was prevailed on to abandon them and 
accept a position as professor of natural 
science in the scientific department of the 
Pennsylvania State Normal school at West 
Chester. At the same time he is connected 
with the Pennsylvania State board of ag- 



riculture as inspector of food, being as- 
sociated in the latter with Dr. Henry 
Lefi'man, of the city of Philadelphia. 
Their function is to make analysis of 
meats, butter, and other food products, 
for the Pennsylvania State board of ag- 
riculture. In addition to his other du- 
ties Professor Cochran is frequently called 
upon for work in his line as a chemist. He 
has been a close student, has an excellent 
mental equipment for his work, and ranks 
high among his scientific associates. 

On July 16, 1885, Professor Cochran was 
united in marriage to Sarah Marshall, a 
daughter of Abraham Marshall, of Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, and their union has 
been blessed by the birth of one child, a 
daughterj named Flora Grace. In politics 
Professor Cochran is a stanch republican, 
but his professional duties are such as to 
preclude any active participation in prac- 
tical politics. 



J-OSEPH H. BENJAMIN, a member of 
the fire brick manufacturing firm of 
Rogers, Benjamin & Co., of Spring City, and 
whose services were freely given for the de- 
fense of his State when Governor Curtin 
called for emergency men in 1863, was born 
October 4, 1841, in East Vincent township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, and is a son 
of Daniel A. and Rebecca ( Wanamaker ) 
Benjamin, natives respectively of the city of 
Philadelphia and Lehigh county. Mr. Ben- 
jamin was reared in his native township, 
received his education in the common schools 
and then learned the trade of painter, which 
he followed with fair success for three years. 
He then became manager of the Moorbead 
clay works, at Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



where his services were of such a desirable 
character that he held his position for 
eighteen consecntive years. At the end of 
tliat time, in 1884, Mr. Benjamin resigned 
and came to Spring City, which has been 
his home ever since. His object in coming 
to the latter named place was to engage in 
the tire-brick business. He and Allen 
Rogers formed a partnership, and after ex- 
amining various works and sites, purcliased 
the l)rick plant of Custer & VanLeer,which 
they tittcd uji and thoroughly efjuipped for 
the manufacture of tire-brick and stove 
linings. Two years later the tirni name 
changed from Rogers & Benjamin to Rogers, 
Benjamin & Co. Their plant is situated on 
First avenue, and lies along the tracks of the 
Reading railroad. From time to time since 
coming in possession of their works, as 
their increased trade demanded or they 
perceived some new method worthy of trial, 
they have enlarged their plant and placed 
improved machinery within their l)uildings 
until they now have one of the best equipped 
plants of its kind in the State. Their main 
building is a solid Ijrick structure, two stories 
high, with a basement, and is 50 feet in 
width by 120 feet in length. Almost ad- 
joining it is a three-story brick tire-proof 
building, 40x50 feet in dimensions, and at 
various other places on the plant are situa- 
ted all other buildings necessary to the 
manufacture of their products. They em- 
ploy from twelve to fifteen men. The repu- 
tation of their tire-brick and stove linings 
and the demand for the same extends over 
a considerable area of country. Their clay 
is of tirst-class quality, their productions arc 
manufactured with the utmost care by ex- 
perienced and skilled workmen, and tlieir 
trade has been rapidly increasing from year 
to year. Mr. Benjamin is a member and 



trustee of the Spring City Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and has held membership for 
several years in Marble Hall Lodge, Xo.351, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In 
politics he is a prohibitionist, who believcR 
in aggressive political action as the surest 
means to wipe out the curse of intemperance 
in this country. 

In February, 1868, Mr. Benjamin was 
united in marriage with Hester A. Steltz, 
daughter of Ileiuy Steltz, a farmer of Mont- 
gomery county. 

The Benjamin family of which Joseph H. 
Benjamin is a member, is of Jewisli descent. 
His grandfather, Alexander Benjamin, came 
to Philadelpliia, where his son, Daniel A. 
Benjamin (father), was born, in 1801. 
Daniel A. Benjamin was reared principally 
in East A^ncent township, Chester county, 
and learned the trade of blacksmith, which 
he followed for several years. He was a 
democrat and a member of the Reformed 
church, and died at Spring City in 1882, 
aged eighty-one years. He married Rebecca 
Wanamaker, a daughter of Casper Wana- 
maker, a farmer of Lynn township, Lehigh 
county. To Mr. ami Mrs. Benjamin were 
born seven children : Elizabeth and Susan, 
who are both dead ; John, of Spring City, 
who served in Co. B, 175th Pennsylvania 
infantry, during the late war; Mary A., de- 
cease<l ; Joseph H., the subject of this 
ski'tch : Franklin, a resident of Philadelphia, 
and in tiie employ of a leading railway 
company; and Rachel, who is now dead. 

Josei)h I!. Benjamin served in 18H8 in 
Co. C, ;^Hd regiment of Pennsylvania militia, 
which was called out by Governor Curtin to 
protect Pennsylvania from Lee's invading 
legions. Mr. Benjamin is one of Spring 
C'ity's well-known business men and reliable 
citizi-ns. 



BIOGRAPHY AND MISIORY 



J^OSHUA RINEHART, one of the 

older, substantial and prosperous farm- 
ers of East Coventry township, is a repre- 
sentative of that sturdy German element 
which has always been prominent in the 
material development and growth of the 
old Keystone State. He was born March 6, 
1813, iuthe township where he now resides, 
and has given nearly all his long and active 
life to agricultural pursuits. During his 
boyhood he attended the eai'ly public 
schools, where he acquired a good practical 
education, and afterward became an ap- 
prentice and learned the useful trade of 
carpenter. For a period of four years he 
followed that occupation in the city of 
Philadelphia, and then returned to this 
county, where he has engaged in it more 
or less ever since, except when attending to 
the requirements of his agricultural work 
on the farm where he resides. He has met 
with good success in his combined employ- 
ments, and is now in condition to take life 
easy and comfortable. In politics he is a 
republican, and has been elected and served 
as school director of his township for three 
years. 

On April 15, 1841, Mr. Rineliart married 
Amelia S. Dare, a daughter of David and 
Mary Dare, of Cumberland county, New 
Jersey, and to them was born a family of 
four children, two sous and a like number 
of daughters. The eldest son, Howard, 
married Annie Wauger, by whom he has 
iive children. He is now engaged in farm- 
ing, and resides on the Schuylkill road in 
East Coventry township. Cornelia, the 
eldest daughter, married J. Irwin White, 
who is engaged in the insurance business at 
Millersville, in Lancaster county. The 
youngest daughter, Francina, is still at 
home, while Edgar, the youngest son, 



married Lavinia Sowders, and is engaged 
in farming in East Coventry township. He 
has a family of three children. Mrs. 
Amelia S. Rinehart died March 23, 1891, 
in the eighty-third year of her age. 

Joshua Rinehart is one of the eight sons 
born to Abram and Catharine (Brower) 
Rinehart, who had also three daughters. 
Abram Rinehart's paternal grandfather, 
[Jlrich Rinehart, was a native of Germany, 
who left the Fatherland in early life (1733) 
to seek his fortunes in the newer world, 
then, as now, attracting the attention of 
enterprising men in all parts of Europe, 
who were desirous of improving their cir- 
cumstances and bettering their condition in 
life. After landing in America Ulrich 
Rinehart spent some time in considering 
the advantages offered by different sections, 
and finally settled in East Coventry town- 
ship, Chester county, Pennsylvania, where 
he continued to reside until his death. His 
son, John Rinehart (grandfather), was a 
hard working, industrious man, and cleared 
out and cultivated a large farm, beside 
owning and operating one of the earliest 
mills in his neighborhood. His son Abram 
(father) was born on the home farm in 
East Coventry township, where he was 
reared and educated, and where he spent 
his entire life. He was an extensive and 
prosperous farmer, and also engaged to 
some extent in the business of distilling. 
In politics he was an old line whig, and in 
religion a member and local preacher of the 
German Baptist church. In 1792 he mar- 
ried Catharine Brower, a daughter of Henry 
Brower, of East Coventry, and of their 
eleven children only two now survive. 
Abram Rinehart died in 1 842, aged seventy- 
two years, and his wife in 1849, when in 
the seventy-seventh year of her age. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



3«9 



QLIVER WELLS is the youngest son 
and sixth ohikl of James and Margaret 
(Unistead) Wells, and was horn Septeniher 
28, 1827, in that part of Coventry whidi is 
now Nortli Coventry townsliip, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania. The family is de- 
scended from English Quaker stock, and was 
planted in America hy John Wells, paternal 
great-grandfather of Oliver, who was horn 
near Bath, England, l)ut in early life hid a 
long farewell to his native shores and souglit 
to make himself a " local hahitation and a 
name" in the new world. He was naturally 
attracted to Pennsvlvania and settled in the 
eastern part of the State, where he lived 
and died, and where his descendants have 
become numerous. One of his sons, Joseph 
Wells (grandfather), was born in Robinson 
township, Berks county, this State. He was 
a farmer by occupation and became pros- 
perous and influential in liis community. 
In religion he was a strict member of the 
Society of Orthodox Friends, and maintained 
a high reputation for honesty, integrity and 
general iijirightness of character. He mar- 
ried Margaret Wells, and reared a family of 
ten children, all of whom attained maturity 
and lived honorable, useful lives. Only one 
of the family now survives, David Wells, 
who resides in Jforth Coventry township, 
near Price's meeting house. He was a car- 
penter for many years, but devoted the latter 
part of his life to agricultural pursuits, and 
is now almost ninety years of age. 

Janjes Wells (father) was born on the 
old homestead in Robinson township, Berks 
county. Pennsylvania, in March, 17H0. Tiierc 
he grew to manhood and received a care- 
ful religious training and such education 
as was furnished by the schools of that 
day. He was a young man of great energy 
and wonderful industry, and an al)ility far 



above the average. After leaving school he 
learned the trade of carpenter, and followed 
that occupation most of liis life. In 1825 
he removed from Berks to Chester county, 
and settled in North C'oventry township, 
where lie continued to live until his death, 
June 14, 1853. By birthright he was a 
member of the Society of Friends, but in 
1846 he joined the German Baptist Brethren 
church, of which he remained a faithful ad- 
herent the remainder of his life. He was 
married twice — first to Margaret Umstead, 
a daughter of Samuel Tmstead, a prosper- 
ous farmer of Union township, Berks county. 
By this union he had a family of nine 
children, four sons and five daughters : Sam- 
uel, deceased; Umstead, also dead; Chris- 
tiana, married Gfeorge Keim, a farmer of 
North Coventry township; Herman, now 
deceased, who was for many years paymas- 
ter on the Philadelphia & Reading railroad ; 
Hannah, married John A. Pennypacker, of 
Pha'nixville ; Oliver, whose mime introduces 
this sketch ; Elmira, died May 26, 1892, at 
the age of sixty-one years; Margaret, now 
the wife of Joseph Cox, of Philadelphia; 
and Elizabeth, who wedded John Cox, of the 
same city. The mother of these children, 
Mrs. Margaret Wells, died March 27, 1847, 
and Mr. Wells afterward, February, 1850, 
married Sarah Rinewalt, now also deceased. 
Oliver Wells was reared principally in 
North Coventry township, this county, and 
received a good practical education in the 
common schools of liis neighborhood. After 
attaining his majority he engaged in busi- 
ness for himself as a lumber merchant, and 
having the native energy and ability which 
constitutes the best working capital of life, 
he has met with good success, and is now 
ill comfortable circumstiinces. H' he is re- 
markable for any one thing, it is probably 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



the modesty with which he regards his own 
achievements and liis reticence in speaking, 
or rather in never speaking, of them. 

On December 26, 1854, Mr. Wells was 
united in marriage with Katherine Mintzer, 
a daughter of Henry Mintzer, of Pottstown, 
Montgomery county, this State. To them 
was born a family of eight children : Jose- 
phine, married James K. Huey,an employee 
of Pottstown Iron Company, residing in 
j^orth Coventry township ; Sophie, the wife 
of Rev. William Rader, a Congregationalist 
minister, now located at Biddeford, Maine; 
Harry M., James Edgar, Herman and Olivia, 
all four of whom died of diphtheria within 
one week, in March, 1872 ; Horace 0., who 
has just graduated (1892) from Phillips 
academy, at Andover, Massachusetts, and 
will at once enter Williams college at Wil- 
liamstown, that State, where he proposes to 
take a full course ; and Cheyney T., resid- 
ing at home with his parents and attending 
school. Mrs. Wells is an earnest, capable 
woman, and is now in the fifty-eighth year 
of her age, having been born in North 
Coventry township, Chester county, in Eeb- 
ruahy, 1835. 



TA>IIiMER W. MacELREE is a son of 

James and Mariah (Bufhngton) Mac- 
Elree, and was born at West Chester, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, December 17, 1859. 
His paternal grandfather, George MacEli-ee, 
was a native of Ireland, and died on board 
the vessel on which he had embarked for 
America. His son, James MacElree (father), 
was born in 1826, in Ireland, where he 
received an excellent education. He is a 
good scholar and a line linguist. In 1847 
he came to Pennsylvania, and settled in 
Lancaster county, where he taught school 



for several years, and worked some little at 
the carpenter trade, which he had learned 
in his native country before coming to 
America. In 1852 he came to West Chester, 
where he has resided ever since. He 
married Mariah Buffington, a member of 
the old and well known Buffington family, 
of Chester county, and to their union have 
been born two children : Wilmer W., and 
Dr. George A., who was graduated from 
the university of Pennsylvania, and is now 
engaged in the successful practice of his 
profession in Kansas. 

Wilmer W. MacElree grew to manhood 
in his native city, received his education in 
the public schools, and took special courses 
in languages under the tutorship of Prof. J. 
Hunter Worrall. He read law with John 
J. Pinkerton, was admitted the bar in 
1880, and since then has been actively 
engaged in the practice of his profession at 
West Chester. 

On January 18, 1884, Mr. MacElree was 
united in marriage with Ella Eyre, a 
daughter of David Eyre, of West Chester. 
To their union have been born three chil- 
dren, two sons and one daughther: Mary 
E., Willmer H., who died March 19, 1892, 
and J. Paul. 

Wilmer W. MacElree is a republican in 
politics upon the leading political issues of 
the day, but in State and local aflairs is in- 
clined to be rather independent in his sup- 
port of men and measures. He is a member 
of the Knights of Pythias, of West Chester 
Lodge, No. 42, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and the Westminster Presbyterian 
church, of AVest Chester. Wilmer W. Mac- 
Elree has always realized the importance of 
the Sunday school as a potent factor in the 
growth of the church and the advancement 
of Christianity and civilization. He has 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



labored arduously and successfully in es- 
tablishing Sunday schools in different parts 
of the county, where they had never 
existed or had gone down for want of 
necessary support. He has done consider- 
able lecturing on literary subjects through- 
out the county and in Phihulelpliia, and 
has interested himself in all efforts to 
promote or extend the beneficent influences 
of the religion of the Nazarene, which 
" the fishermen of Galilee brought to the 
throne of the Csesai's." 



TA>ILMAR W. WEST, one of the 

prominent farmers and esteemed citi- 
zens of Sheeder, and a brother of Hon. 
Joseph G. West, is a son of David and 
Elizabeth (Green) West, and was born 
June 8, 1832, in East Pikeland township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. His pater- 
nal grandfather, David West, was a native 
of Chester county, and lived and died within 
her borders. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
and married and had an only son, David 
West (father), who was born in Goshen 
township, this county, January 1, 1803, 
where he was reared, and received tlie 
limited education afforded by the schools 
of that early day. Upon reaching his 
majority he engaged in farming, and some 
years later sold his farm of thirty acres and 
removed to East Pikeland township, and 
from there to East Vincent, on April 1, 
1851. He continued to reside in East 
Vincent township until 1867, when he once 
more removed and settled at Kemblesville, 
Franklin township, where he died January 
1, 1870, aged sixty-seven years. His life 
was principally devoted to agricultural pur- 
suits, and he owned a farm of one hundred 
andfortv-three acres in East Pikeland town- 



ship, and another of a hundred and forty- 
two acres in East Vincent. He was a 
democrat in early life, but changed to the 
opposition during the Harrison campaign 
of 1840, and adhered firmly to the republi- 
can party from its formation. For a number 
of years he served as justice of the peace 
in East Pikeland township, and was a man 
of strong will and good judgment, holding 
the respect of ail who knew him. In 
religion he was a Quaker, and for many 
years an active and influential member of 
the Society of Friends. He married Eliza- 
beth Green, a daughter of John Green, 
of Vincent township, and was the father of 
six children, five sons and a daughter: 
Anna, now the widow of Levi Pennypacker ; 
Thomas G., who married Edith Green (now 
deceased), and lives in Wisconsin ; J. Pierce, 
(deceased) was a farmer and justice of the 
peace in this county, and married Elizabeth 
J. Maris, who survives him and now 
resides in Philadelphia, where her husband 
was for some time a clerk in the office of 
the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, and 
where he died January 22, 1886, aged 
fifty-seven years ; William, deceased in 
early life ; Wilmar W., the subject of this 
sketch; and Dr. Joseph G., who married 
P^lla Haynes (now deceased), and lives in 
Franklin township, this county, practically 
retired from active business. Dr. Joseph 
G. West was born May 2, 1834, educated 
at Pughtown, Oakdale seminary, and 
Strobe's school, then managed by T'rofessor 
Levis; taught school in Lebanon county 
one winter, and afteward read medicine 
with Dr. Maurice Fussell, of Chester 
Springs. Later he entered the medical 
department of the university of Penn- 
sylvania, and was graduated from tliat 
institution with the degree M. D.. in the 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



class of 1860. He located at Kemblesville, 
tins county, in the fall of that year, where 
he was successfully engaged in practice 
and also conducted a drug store until 1889, 
when he retired and was succeeded by his 
son. Dr. Frederick West. Dr. Joseph G. 
"West served as postmaster at Kemblesville 
for a number of years, and in 1890 was 
elected by the republicans of Chester 
county as a member of the house of repre- 
sentatives of Pennsylvania, running one 
hundred and four votes ahead of his ticket, 
and receiving a total vote of ten thousand 
four hundred and sixty-four. He is now 
(1892) a candidate for re-election. 

Wilmar W. West was reared principally 
in East Pikeland township, and came to 
East Vincent with his father's family when 
about nineteen years of age, and has resided 
here ever since. His education was obtained 
in the public schools of his neighborhood, 
and after leaving school he settled down to 
farming, and has been exclusively engaged 
in agricultural pursuits, in which he has 
been successful. He is a man of marked 
intelligence, and in his political affiliations 
has always been republican, though never 
taking an active part in politics. 

On September 5, 1885, Mr. West united 
in marriage with Elizabeth Green, a daugh- 
ter of John Green, of Chester county, this 
State. To them was born a family of four 
children : John G., who married Flora 
Pennypacker and resides on the old home- 
stead; William G., wedded Anna Barker 
and now lives at Sylmar, Cecil county, 
Maryland; David, now a clerk in the office 
of the Western Publishing Company, at 
Chicago, Illinois; and Ada, who married 
Chester Smith, a prosperous farmer of East 
Vincent township, this county. Mrs. Eliza- 
beth West died June 21, 1862, at the early 



age of twenty-seven years, and on May 18, 
1864, Mr. West wedded Joanna Rowland, 
a daughter of Joseph Rowland, of East 
Vincent township. By this second mar- 
riage he had three children, two sons and 
a daughter: Charles 0., deceased; Jen- 
nie B., also dead; and Elton G., now a 
machinist and pipe repairer in the city of 
Philadelphia. 

J. Pierce West had three children by his 
marriage with Elizabeth J. Maris, one son 
and two daughters: Levi G., who married 
Caroline H. Burrell, and now resides in the 
city of Philadelphia, where he is engaged 
in the flour and feed business; Anna, mar- 
ried William C. Passmore, a well-to-do 
farmer of London Britain township, this 
county; and Emma F., who has acquired 
considerable skill and reputation as a teacher 
of the deaf, and is now traveling in Europe, 
studying the methods in use among such 
teachers on the continent. 



QEORGE KEIM, one of the oldest and 
best known farmers in the vicinity of 
Keuilworth, is the fifth child and third son 
of Jacob and Hannah (Swetzer) Keim, and 
saw the light first, June 29, 1814, in Nantmeal 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania. 
He was reared on the farm, where he be- 
came familiar with " hard work and plenty 
of it," and received his education in the 
common schools of the neighborhood. After 
leaving school he learned the carpenter 
trade and has worked at that business a 
great deal, though engaged in farming to 
some extent, and also in boating and burn- 
ing lime. When a young man he run a 
boat on the Schuylkill canal for some nine 
years, and afterward operated a lime-kiln in 
this county for nearly a quarter of a ceu- 



OF CHESTER CO UNI Y. 



tury, manufacturing building lime and sup- 
plying Pottstown with his product for many 
years before there was a railroad in this 
section. In his political opinions he is a 
republican, and has served as school director 
for two terms in North Coventry township. 
He is a strict adherent of the religious de- 
nomination known as the Brethren or 
Dunkards, and takes an active part in sup- 
porting its various interests. 

On January 14, 1841, Mr. Keim was mar- 
ried to Christina Wells, a daughter of James 
Wells, a prosperous farmer of North Cov- 
entry township, and the fruit of their union 
was a family of five children : James W., 
formerly a merchant at Kenilworth, but now 
deceased ; Elizabeth, also deceased ; Her- 
man, likewise dead ; Mary, married Wiley 
Ragan, a grocer at Pottstown, Montgomery 
county, where they reside ; and Martha, 
now the wife of James A. Healy, a member 
of the coal and lumber firm of J. A. Healy 
& Bro., of Pottstown. The mother, Mrs. 
Christina Keim, is a native of North Cov- 
entry township, this county, and was born 
December 13, 1817. She is consequently 
now in her seventy-fifth year, and remark- 
ably active for a woman of her age. 

The paternal grandfather of the present 
George Keim was also named C4eorge. He 
was a native of Chester county, where he 
lived all his life, and died in East Xantnieal 
township about 1822, at an advanced age. 
By occupation he was a farmer and stock 
raiser, and married Catharine Shingle, by 
whom he had a family of eight children, 
three sons and five daughters. One of his 
sons, Jacob Keim (father), was born about 
1777, in Chester county, and lived in Naut- 
meal township, where he died al)out 1822, 
at the early age of forty-five years. He 
was also devoted to agricultural pursuits. 



was an old-line whig in politics, and served 
as tax collector of East Nantmeal township. 
In religious faith and church membership 
he was a Dunkard or (Terman Baptist, as 
was his wife, Hannah Swetzer. They liad 
a family of six children, four sons and two 
daughters: David, who resides in Warwick 
township, and is now in his eighty-ninth 
year; Samuel, who lived on the old home- 
stead in Warwick township, but is now de- 
ceased ; Esther, also deceased ; Kessiah, who 
married David Wells, a farmer of North 
Coventry township ; George, the principal 
subject of tliis sketch ; and Jonathan, who 
now resides in Montgomery county. 

James Wells, the father of Mrs. Keim, 
was a native of Berks county, this State, 
born March 25, 1790, in Robinson township. 
He learned the trade of carpenter when a 
young man, and in later life removed to 
Chester county and became a farmer. He 
died at his home in this county June 25, 
1853, aged sixty-three years. Politically 
he was a whig, and in religion a Dunkard, 
or German Baptist. He married Margaret 
Umstead, bj' whom he had a family of nine 
children, four sons and five daughters: Sam- 
uel, Umstead and Herman, deceased ; Oliver, 
Christiana, and Hannah, living; Elmira, 
deceased; Margaret and Elizabeth, living. 



V JACOB HIGH, an excellent farmer and 
deservedly popular citizen of this county, 
residing near Vincent, was born in Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, December 31, 1827, 
and is the second son of Henry and Anna 
(East) High. He was reared on the farm, 
inured to hard work, and lias spent a long 
and rather active life in agricultural pur- 
suits, in which he has been remarkably suc- 
cessful. He now owns two fine farms in 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



East Vincent township, one containing sev- 
enty-two acres and the other eighty-two. 
Each is well improved and valuable. His 
education was obtained in the common 
schools of his neighborhood, and he has al- 
ways manifested considerable interest in 
public questions and kept himself well 
posted on passing events. Though never 
taking an active part in politics he is a 
stanch republican, and being a man of deep 
religious convictions, has long been a strict 
member of the German Reformed church, 
which he has served for many years in the 
capacity of elder. 

In 1857 Mr. High was wedded to Hannah 
Keyser, a daughter of Isaac Keyser, of Vin- 
cent, and by that union had two children. 
The eldest, Anna E., married John W. Gulp, 
who now resides with Mr. High. The 
younger child was a son named William H., 
who is now deceased. Mrs. High died in 
1862, at the early age of thirty years, and 
on Christmas eve, 1865, Mr. High married 
Elizabeth Tyson, a daughter of Mathias 
Tyson, of East Vincent township. To them 
was born two daughters : Mary F., now the 
wife of Winfield S. Wismer, a prosperous 
farmer of East Coventry township ; and 
Lilia B., living at home with her parents. 
Mrs. High's father, Mathias Tyson, was born 
in 1809, in Worcester township, Montgom- 
ery county, this State, where he lived until 
1840, when he removed to Chester county, 
settling in East Vincent township, where he 
died in 1874, aged sixty-seven. He belonged 
to the yeomanry of the land and spent his 
life principally in the cultivation of the soil. 
In politics he was a whig and republican, 
and by religious conviction and church mem- 
bership a Dunkard or German Baptist. 
He married Kezia Ranck, of Lancaster 
county, in 1838, and had a family of four 



children: Aniia, deceased; Elizabeth, now 
Mrs. High ; Susan, who married David G. 
Burgey ; and Emaline, now deceased. 

The Highs are of German descent, but 
have been native Pennsylvanians for many 
generations. Jacob High, paternal grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, was 
born in Cumberland county, this State, 
where he lived all his life and where he died 
at an advanced age. He was a farmer and 
stock raiser, and in politics identified him- 
self with what is known as the old-line 
whigs. He married Magdalene Gable, by 
whom he had a family of two children, and 
after her death married again, and had a 
family of four or five children. Henry 
High (father) was born in East Vincent 
township, this county, about 1798, and died 
at his home in North Coventry township in 
November, 1858, aged sixty years. He was 
a farmer by occupation, a whig and repub- 
lican politically, and a member of the Men- 
nonite church. In 1825 he married Anna 
East, a daughter of Samuel East, of Berks 
county, and to them was born a family of 
nine children, three sons and six daughters : 
Samuel, Jacob and Henry, the latter now 
deceased ; Mary, Sarah and Leah, also dead ; 
Elizabeth, the wife of Adam Mench, of 
Upper Providence, Montgomery county; 
Kate, now the wife of John Mench, of Potts- 
town, Montgomery county, and Anna, un- 
married. 

The High family is an old one in Penn- 
sylvania, and has given the Commonwealth 
a number of useful, industrious and honor- 
able citizens. 



TjillAAAM E. REIFF, secretary and 
treasurer of the Keystone Agricul- 
tural works of Pottstown, who is also in- 
terested in various other enterprises in this 



OF CHESTMR COVNIY. 



876 



State and elsewhere, is the seiioiul child and 
only son of Rudolph and Magdalena (East) 
Reitt', and was born March 3, 1836, near 
Pottstown, ill North Coventry township, 
Chester county, renusylvania. He was 
reared principally' on the farm and received 
his early education in the common schools 
of his neighborhood, completing his studies 
in Freeiaiid seminary, at wliat is now called 
Collegeville, Moiitgonicrv county. At tlie 
close of the civil war he embarked in tlie 
lumbering business on his own account in 
J^orth Carolina, as a member of the iirm of 
Landis, Whitman & Co. He remained there 
only one year, and then returned to his old 
home in Pennsylvania and opened a grocery 
store at Pottstown Landing, which he suc- 
cessfully conducted for more tlian twelve 
years, building up a large and lucrative trade 
and becoming quite prosperous. In 1881 
he became secretary and treasurer of the 
Keystone Agricultural works at Pottstown. 
a position which he has continued to till 
with ability and distinction ever since. He 
is a stockholder in the business, and to his 
energy, enterprise and executive talents is 
due in a large measure the growing success 
of this manufacturing concern. Mr. Reift' 
is also a stockholder and director in the 
Pottstown National Iron l)ank, and a mem- 
ber of the Pottstown Land and Improve- 
ment Company, in which he is likewise a 
director. In addition to liis other business 
enterprises he is interested in the Montgom- 
ery Lead and Zinc Mining Company, of 
Joplin, Jasper county, Missouri, tlie business 
of which is owned principally by Pennsyl- 
vania capitalists. 

On February 24, 18G!», .\lr. Rciff was 

united in marriage witli Emma M. Law, a 

daughter of Davis and Rebecca (Urner) 

Law, of this county. In his political aflilia- 

18 



tions he has always been a republican, and 
while he is no politician and entertains a 
distaste for what is known as practical poli- 
tics, he is at all times well posted on current 
questions, and exercises a good deal of in- 
fluence in his party. 

The Reift's are of Cerman descent, but 
have been honored citizens of the Coni- 
moiiwealth of Pennsylvania since early 
times. The paternal grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, Joseph Reiff, was 
born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, hie 
ancestors having removed from Leacock 
township, Lancaster county, to this county, 
about 17o(), and settled in North Coventry 
township. There he continued to reside 
until his death in 1838, at which time he 
had attained the age of nearly sixty-one 
years. He was a farmer b^' occupation and 
became very prosperous, owning large tracts 
of land and conducting his operations on an 
extensive scale. In religious faith he was 
a Mennonite, and a life-long member of that 
church, while politically he adhered to the 
old whig party. He married Sarah Harley, 
and was the father of ten children. 

Rudolph Reili( father) was born in North 
Coventry township, this county, in 1808, 
and passed his entire life in that township. 
He was reared on the farm, educated in the 
common schools of that day, and devoted 
his life to the cultivation of the soil and 
stock raising. His farm contained one hun- 
drcil and thirty-six acres of excellent land, 
to which he afterward added ten acres, and 
was always well cultivated and carefully 
managed. Ho died at his home in North 
Coventry township in 1884, aged seventy- 
six years. Politically he was a wliig and 
republican, and in religion a strict member 
of the Mennonite church. He was an active 
man, of sound judgment and good business 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



ability, and served as director of the Potts- 
town Mutual Insurance Company for many 
years, and was also a director in the Potts- 
town Bridge Company. He married Mag- 
dalena East, of Berks county, Pennsylvania, 
by whom he had a family of three children, 
one son and two daughters. Tho eldest 
was Mary A., who married Isaac Delwiter, 
a prosperous farmer residing at Charleston 
village, this county. They have three 
children. The other daughter, Sarah, 
wedded William W. Yarnell, a farmer of 
North Coventry township, this county, and 
has three children. The mother, Mrs. Mag- 
dalena Reift", died in 1840, in the twenty- 
ninth year of her age, and greatly respected 
and beloved by her neighbors and friends. 



TSAAC J. TUSTIN, one of the active 
business men of Phoenixville, and who 
has been a large dealer in agricultural im- 
plements since 1880, is a son of Jones and 
Elizabeth (Pennypacker) Tustin, and was 
born in Schuylkill township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, August 19, 1854. He was 
reared on the farm, received his education 
in the common schools of his native county, 
and was engaged in farming until 1880. 
In that year he removed to Phoenixville, 
and established his present business house, 
which is located on Bridge street. He 
handles agricultural implements of all kinds, 
has a heavy and well selected stock of 
reapers, mowers, horse rakes, plows and 
improved cultivators ; also deals in fine 
carriages and wagons, and commands a 
good trade in the northern part of Chester 
and the western part of Montgomery county. 
He has good facilities for shipment over a 
wide area of surrounding country, and 
being a practical farmer is specially qualified 



to select the best and most useful farm 
machinery to be had in the market. Mr. 
Tustin has made himself master of his 
business, in which he takes great delight 
to serve the best interests of his numerous 
patrons. His business is marked by a 
steady annual increase, and its present pros- 
perity augurs well for the future. He is a 
republican in politics. 

On September 6, 1882, Mr. Tustin was 
uuited in marriage with Hannah L., daugh- 
ter of Reuben and Mary Caveny, of Juniata 
county. 

Isaac J. Tustin, as the name of Tustin 
would imply, is of Welsh lineage, and his 
grandfather, Isaac Tustin, was a farmer and 
life-long resident of Chester county. He 
was an old-line whig, and a member of 
the Baptist church. He married a Miss 
Jones, by whom he had five children : Jones, 
Joseph, Isaac (now deceased), John (dead), 
and Rachel. Jones Tustin, the first son 
and father of the subject of this sketch, 
was born at Chester Springs, in West Pike- 
land township, September 10, 1816. He 
was engaged extensivelj' in farming until 
about ten years ago, when he retired from 
active business life. He is a republican 
and Lutheran, and still takes an active 
part in the affairs of his party and 
church. In 1838 Jones Tustin wedded 
Elizabeth Pennypacker, who was a con- 
sistent member of the Evangelical Lu- 
theran church, and passed away from this 
earthly life and its troubles on January 26, 
1877, when in the fifty-eighth year of her 
age. To their union were born three 
chi idren, two sons and one daughter : Milton, 
now clerk in the employ of the Phoenix Iron 
Company ; Annie, wife of James Anderson, 
a farmer of this county ; and Isaac J. 

The Tustin family possesses the same 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



87? 



characteristics that have distinguished the 
imrnerons old and highly respected Welsh 
fiimiiit's of this county, some of whom 
came over with l*eiiii, and all of whom are 
noted for thrift, energy and honesty. 



lyr A.J. GEORGE M. RUPERT, a mem- 
^ ber of the Chester county l)ar, who has 
been engaged since 1850 in the active 
practice of his profession at West Chester, 
is a son of William and Rachel (Achuft") 
Rupert, and was born in Upper Oxford 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
October 12, 1835. His paternal grand- 
father, William Rupert, sr., was born and 
reared in Philadelphia county, ere the city 
limits had become identical with the county 
boundary lines. He received a good edu- 
cation in the select and academic schools of 
the "Quaker City," which he left about 
1820, to settle in Upper Oxford township, 
this county, where he purchased a farm. 
He followed teaching, was enthusiastically 
devoted to his profession, and was one of 
the most successful teachers of his day. He 
was a useful and well respected citizen 
in the community where he resided. He 
married and reared a family of industrious 
and respectable sons and daughters. His 
son, William Rupert, the father of the 
subject of this sketch, was born in 1808, in 
Philadelphia county, and at twelve years of 
age was brought by his parents to Upper 
Oxford township. He received a good 
English education and after arriving at 
manhood's estate removed to West Fallow- 
Held, where he was engaged in the general 
mercantile business, and whicli he re- 
linquished some years before liis death, 
which occured in April, 1878, when he 
was in the seventieth year of his age. He 



was an active and thorough-going man, and 
in addition to merchandising, was engaged 
to some extent in farming. He married 
Rachel Achuff, who died April 13, 1890, 
aged seventy-eight years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Rupert were the parents of seven children, 
of whom six grew to maturity : Noah, who 
is engaged in farming in Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania; George M., Alfred, a justice 
of the peace and stationer of West Chester, 
who has served as prothonotary of the 
county, and whose sketch appears in this 
volume ; Charles A., who is postmaster at 
Ercildoun, East Fallowtield township, where 
he has served for several years as general 
manager of a large mercantile establish- 
ment; David H., who holds a position in 
the office of the Philadelphia Street Trac- 
tion Railway Company ; and Martha J., who 
married John Y. Latta, a cattle dealer and 
prominent business man of Sadsbury town- 
ship, and died a few years ago. 

George M. Rupert grew to manhood in 
his native county, received his education at 
Hopewell academy, and then made choice 
of the legal profession as his life vocation. 
He read law with Judge William Butler, 
then of Chester county, but now a United 
States District judge at Philadelphia, and 
under his instruction acquired a good 
theoretical and practical knowledge of law, 
as Judge Butler had an extensive clientage 
and tried many important cases in the 
different courts of Pennsylvania. 

He was admitted to the bar on October 
20, 1859, and has been engaged in the 
active and successful practice of his pro- 
fession at West Chester ever since. He 
believes that willingness and application 
are among the main things necessar}- to 
success in the practice of the law. He is a 
republican in politics, but gives his time 



278 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



chiefly to his professoual labors. He is a 
member of Holy Trinity Protestant Episco- 
pal church, and West Chester Lodge, No. 
822, Free and Accepted Masons. 

When Lee threatened the fair iields of 
the Keystone State in 1862. Mr. Rupert left 
his practice and enlisted in a regiment 
of Emergency men, of which he was made 
major. Again in 1863, when Lee poured 
his legions into Maryland, Mr. Rupert 
hastened to oft'er his services to the au- 
thorities of his native State, and was 
detailed to serve at Harrisburg under 
Greneral Couch, who commanded the depart- 
ment of the Susquehanna. 

On June 15, 1871, Mr. Rupert was united 
in marriage with Anne B. Brinton, daugh- 
ter of John B. Brinton, of West Chester. 
To their union have been born three 
children, one son and two daughters : 
Bessie B., Anne B., and George H. 



J^EREMIAH S. LEOPOLD, now de 

ceased, was a prosperous farmer who 
lived an active and useful life, serving numy 
years as president of the Pottsgrove Live 
Stock Insurance company, and becoming 
widely known in this part of the Keystone 
State. He was the only son of Jacob and 
Catharine (Strunk) Leopold, and was born 
January 8, 1818, in North Coventry town- 
ship, Chester county, Pennsylvania. He 
was reared on the farm and received the 
best education afforded by the country 
schools of that day. After leaving school 
he devoted himself almost exclusively to 
agricultural pursuits, except a few years 
spent in running a market in the city of 
Philadelphia, and became the owner of a 
line farm of one hundred and six acres in 
his native township of North Coventry, in 



the management of which he was very suc- 
cessful. He was a man of good business 
ability and sound judgment, and for a period 
of eighteen years he served as president of 
the Pottsgrove Live Stock Insurance com- 
pany, of Pottstown. In political sentiment 
he was an ardent democrat, and while never 
taking a very active part in politics, was al- 
ways found supporting the great principles 
of equality and justice enunciated by the 
founders and early leaders of his party. 
His was an intensely religious nature, and 
for many years he was a strict member of 
the Evangelical Lutheran church, and later 
became attached to Shenkel's Reformed 
church. He died on his farm June 24, 1887, 
in the seventieth year of his age, and greatly 
respected and beloved by a wide circle of 
friends, old and young. 

On October 6, 1864, Mr. Leopold was 
married to Sallie Stauffer, a daughter of 
John and Susan (Benuer) Stauffer, of Ches- 
ter county. To Mr. and Mrs. Leopold was 
born a family of five children, two sons and 
three daughters : Emma K., born January 
2,1866; Annie L., born September 30, 1869 ; 
A. Howard, born February 18, 1871; G. 
Wa'rren, boru July 15, 1873 ; and Mary H., 
born August 19, 1876. Mrs. Sallie A. Leo- 
pold is a native of East Coventry township, 
this county, born May 23, 1841, and is con- 
sequently now in the fifty-first year of her 
age. After the death of Mr. Leopold the 
family removed to South Pottstown, where 
they now reside, and where they have a 
commodious, well arranged and beautiful 
home, which in every part displays the 
great care and excellent taste with which it 
is kept. 

Jacob Leopold, father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born July 2, 1790, in North 
Coventry township, Chester county, where 



OF chests; Ji COUNTY. 



tn 



he lived all his life, flying March 11, 1872, 
at the advanced age of eighty-two years. 
He was a farmer by occupation, but worked 
wome at the mason's trade, which he had 
learned when a young man. In political 
faith he was a Jacksonian democrat, and in 
religious life a strict member of the Evan- 
gelical Lutheran church, which he served 
as elder for many years. He married Cath- 
arine Strunk, February 21, 1817, and was 
the father of three children, one son and 
two (laughters. The eldest of these was 
Jeremiali S., whose brief biography has here 
been given. The second was Mary A., born 
October 19, 1820, who married Arnold Pen- 
nypacker (now deceased), and lives at Vin- 
cent, this county. The youngest daughter 
was Elizabeth A., whose natal day was 
December 20, 1831. John Leopold, father 
of Jacob Leopold, came to this country from 
Germany when a bo}', and lived on the same 
farm till an advanced age. Three genera- 
tions lived and died on the same farm. 



J'OSEPH C. GREEN, a well known 
general merchant of Piightown, is the 
eldest son of John and Sarah (Morrison) 
Green, and was born in P^ast Vincent town- 
ship, Chester county. Pennsylvania. Octo- 
ber 18th, 1H2H. His paternal grandfatlier, 
(George Green, was a native of Edgemont, 
Delaware coHnty, this state, and lived and 
(tieil on tin- farm where In- was born. He 
spent bis life in agricultural pursuits, wa.s a 
large land owner, and died about 1842, in 
his eiglitieth year, leaving an estate valued 
at eighty thousaml dollars. Politically lie | 
WHS an old-line whig and be^-ame prominent 
in the politics of Jiis section. He was elected 
lo the position of commissioner of Delaware 
county, and served in that ca]>acity a num- 



ber of 3'ears. In religious faith he was a 
Quaker, and was a life-long member of the 
Society of Friends. He married Mar\' 
Chaney, who was also a Quaker, and who, 
being gifted in speech, frequently preached 
for the Friends in that county. They reared 
a family of seven children : Chaney, Edith, 
John, Jesse, Hiram, Isaac, and Mary A., all 
of whom are now deceased. John Green 
(father) was born on the old Green home- 
stead in Delaware county in 1801, from 
which he removed to East Vincent town- 
ship, Chester county, in the spring of 1826. 
He was an intelligent, progressive farmer, 
and did much to encourage improved meth- 
ods among the farmers of his neighborhood, 
being among the first in Chester county to 
introduce and use lime on his lands. His 
farm was always well kept and carefully 
cultivated, and he became very successful 
and prosperous. He died at his home in 
East Vincent township, Octol'cr 10th, 1875, 
at the good old age of seventy-four years. 
In politics he was a whig and republican, 
and served as supervisor and constable of 
his township. In 18 — he married Sarah 
Morrison, a daughter of John Morrison, of 
Delaware county, and to them was born a 
family of ten children, four sons and six 
daughters : Joseph C the subject of this 
sketch: Hannah, who married Levi Penny- 
packer, and is now <leceased : Mary, also 
dead; Edith, married Thomas (i. West, anil 
died in 18!tl : (ieorge. also deceaseil ; Eliza- 
beth, weihled Wilmer W. West, and is now 
deail ; Martha, also deceased : Uebecca, now 
the wife of Isaac V. Davis, a farmer of East 
Vincent township: John, now in tlie grocery 
business in Philadelphia, who served three 
years as a musician in th«- army during the 
civil war, and later married Bell I'enny- 
paeker. l")y whom he lias a family of children : 



BIOORAPHY AND HISTORY 



and George, a machinist of Pottstown, who 
married Lovina Staufer and has three chil- 
dren living and one dead. 

Joseph C. Green was reared principally 
on his father's farm in East Vincent town- 
ship, and received the best education ob- 
tainable in the public schools of this county. 
After leaving school he engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits to some extent, and remained 
a resident of his native township for half a 
century. In 1877 he removed to Pughtown, 
where he conducted a hotel for one year, 
and then embarked in the general mer- 
chandise business, which he has very suc- 
cessfully managed ever since. He owns the 
handsome building in which he does busi- 
ness, and also the building now occupied by 
the public school, and sixteen acres of valu- 
able laud upon which is a handsome brick 
residence adjoining Pughtown. Politically 
he is a republican, but takes no active part 
in politics. He is a member of Strichter 
Lodge, No. 254, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Pottstown, and also of Yankton Tribe, 
No. 218, Improved Order of Red Men, at 
Pughtown, of which latter he has served as 
treasurer. In 1866 Mr. Green was married 
to Leah Priser, a daughter of Henry and 
Elizabeth Priser, of South Coventry town- 
ship. 

FRANK N. SAVAGE, one of the lead- 
ing young farmers of East Coventry 
township, now residing on the old Savage 
lioTiiestead near Parker Ford, is the young- 
est son of Davis and Aquilla (HarLey) Sav- 
age, and was born in East Coventry town- 
ship, Chester county, Pennsylvania, April 
26, 1863. The paternal grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, Zenus Savage, was a 
native of Chester county, and for many 
years a farmer of East Coventry township. 



where he died at an advanced age, on the • 
old homestead now in possession of Frank 
N. Savage. He was a democrat in political 
opinion, and married Rebecca March, by 
whom he had a family of four children : 
Washington, now deceased, but a resident 
of East Coventry township during life, 
where he was engaged as a farmer and car- 
penter, having also been connected with the 
foundry and stove manufacturing business; 
Davis (father) ; Emaline, married George 
Missuiner, and after his death wedded Hern 
Dietrick; and Elias Swortley, who now re- 
sides in Florida. Davis Savage (father) was 
born at the old homestead in East Coventry 
township, December 29, 1828. He was 
educated in the common schools and after- 
ward taught one term himself, when he set- 
tled down to farmiug in East Coventry 
township. There he continued to reside, 
engaged in agricultural pursuits, until his 
death, February 5, 1890, when in his sixty- 
second year. Politically he was a repub- 
lican, and his sound judgment and other 
stable qualities caused him to be elected 
justice of the peace in his township, an office 
he administered with satisfaction to the pub- 
lic and credit to himself during an entire 
decade. In 1850 he married Aquilla Har- 
ley, a daughter of Benjamin Harlej', of 
North Coventry township, who was a farmer 
in early life, a butcher in his later days, and 
served for fifteen years as a justice of the 
peace in his township. By this marriage 
Mr. Savage had a family of five children : 
Wilniot, born October 17, 1851, and died 
November 14, 1851 ; Rebecca, born October 
9, 1852, married Christian Miller, of Seattle, 
State of Washington, a contractor and 
builder in the employ of the Puget Sound 
Improvement Company, who has four chil- 
dren — Davis, Chanceford, Edmund and Tiia 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



281 



Kate; Allen, born March 7, 1854, deceased 
August 25, 1861; Caroline, born November 
23. 1856, married Elvvood Leopold, a pros- 
perous farmer of East Coventry township, 
and has one child — Stella; and Frank N., 
tlie subject of this sketch. The mother, 
Mrs. Aquilla Savage, was born July 11, 
1829, and passed away from earth August 
27, 1891, at almost the exact age at which 
her husband died in 1890. 

Frank N. Savage was reared at the old 
homestead in East Coventry- township, this 
county, inured to farm labor and familiar 
with all the varied processes of successful 
agriculture. He received a good English 
education in the public schools of the neigh- 
borhood, and after leaving scliool determ- 
ined to becoine a farmer, and has spent all 
bis life in the cultivation of the soil. He 
MOW owns a tine farm of forty-two acres of 
valuable land, splendidly improved and sup- 
plied with all necessary farm buildings. In- 
heriting the energy and enterprise of his 
ancestors, he promises to attain still greater 
success in the years to come. 

On Christmas day, 1883, Mr. Savage was 
wedded to Amelia J. Reagan, a daughter 
of Washington Reagan, residing nearPugh- 
town, this county. Their union has V)een 
blessed l»y the birth of one child, a son 
named Davis Washington, who was born 
Jannarv 9, 1885. 



I^AVIl) <i. WELLS, tirst burgess of 
Spring City, and one of the substantial 
business men of tlie Schuylkill valley, ie a 
son of Jesse and Mary ((iruhb) Wells. He 
was born on Se))tember 12, 1825, in North 
Coventry township, this county, wlicre he 
was reared on the farm and received a good 



practical English education. Arriving at 
man's estate he saw no opening in any busi- 
ness that was then within his reach that 
was more profitable than farming, and pur- 
chased his father's farm, which he owned 
and tilled for two years. He then sold the 
farm and was engaged successfully at Spring 
City for four years in the general mercan- 
tile business with his brother, Joseph Wells, 
and David S. Taylor. At the end of that 
time, in 1861, he became a member of the 
iirni of Smith, Francis & Wells, which leased 
the Spring City foundry for ten years, but 
after seven years of that time had elapsed, 
he withdrew from the company to engage 
ill farming in North Coventry township, 
where he remained one year. He then pur- 
chased a farm in the neighborhood of Kim- 
berton. East Pikeland township, which he 
disposed of four years later to l)uild a bakery 
at Spring City, which lie owned for two 
years. He was then interested in various 
lines of business until 1874, when he pur- 
chased his present dairy farm of sixteen 
acres, and has been engaged in dairying 
ever since. In 1862, when Lee was pushing 
his veteran columns northward across the 
State of Maryland, Mr. Wells was one of 
those who volunteered to defend his country 
and State from Confederate invasion. He 
was commissioned as second lieutenant of 
('o. C, 21st Pennsylvania militia, and served 
until the army of Northern Virginia wsis 
defeated at A ntietam and driven back across 
the Potomac. .Mr. Wells serveil two con- 
secutive terTiis as burgess of Spring City, 
and at present is a member of the borougli 
scliool board, of wliicb body be lias been 
treasurer and secretary. He is a prohibi- 
tionist ill politics, and lias been an active 
member for eighteen years of the (leriiiaii 
Ba}>tist cliurch of Coventry, of whose Sun- 



BIOOSAPMY AND HISTORY 



day school he has served as superintendent 
for several terms. 

In 1851 Mr. Wells married Emeliue, 
daughter of Jacob Shantz, a farmer of 
Parker Ford. To their union wa& born 
eleven children, live sons and six daughters : 
Isaac Erwin, Samuel, Enos Milton, Clara, 
Joseph, George, Ella, Annie, Emma, Katie, 
and one daughter who died in infancy. 
After the death of his first wife, on the 4th 
of June, 1890, David G. Wells married 
Sarah A. Grubb, formerly of Coventry, lat- 
terly of Philadelphia. She was a daughter 
of Peter and Catharine Grubb, of Coventry, 
both now deceased, and granddaughter of 
David Grubb, herein mentioned. 

David G.Wells is known as an intelligent, 
honest and reliable man. He traces his 
paternal ancestry back to the old Quaker 
Wells family of Chester county, of which 
his grandfather, Joseph Wells, was a mem- 
ber. Joseph Wells was a farmer by occu- 
pation, and an old-line whig in politics, and 
removed to Joanna Heights in Berks county, 
where he died. He married and reared a 
family of ten children : Isaac, Samuel, Wil- 
liam, James, Edmund, Jesse, Joseph, David, 
Ann and Hannah. Jesse Wells, the sixth 
son, and the father of the subject of this 
sketch, was born in 1798, at Joanna Heights, 
where he was reared and grew to manhood, 
after which he removed to North Coventry 
township, opposite Pottstown. He there 
learned the trade of weaver, which was then 
a much more profitable business than at the 
present day. He purchased a small farm 
soon after removing to North Coventry, 
where he was engaged in farming and weav- 
ing from 1828 to 1840, when he went to 
Berks county, in which he remained two 
years. lie then came to East Vincent town- 
ship and purchased a farm of eighty acres, 



one mile west of Spring City, on which he 
resided until 1855, when he came to the 
above named borough, where he died in 
1876, aged seventy-eight years. While liv- 
ing in North Coventry township, Jesse 
Wells married Mary Grubb, who was a 
daughter of David Grubb, and died in 1883, 
aged eighty-seven years. They reared a 
family of three children : Lieut. David G. ; 
Joseph, a merchant of Spring City, who 
died in September, 1858 ; and Mary A., 
widow of Samuel B. Taylor, and now a resi- 
dent of Spring City. The Wells family is 
widely known for its industry and thrift, 
and its reputation is ably sustained by David 
G. Wells, whose name heads this sketch. 



riNDKEW J. WILLIAMS, general 
manager for the Parkesburg Iron 
Company, and a successful business man 
who has done much for the upbuilding of 
his town and county, and the development 
of the industrial interests of this section, 
is a son of David D. and Esther (Way) Wil- 
liams, and was born in West Cain township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, April 16, 
1840. Ilis paternal grandfather, Andrew 
Williams, was a native of Scotland, where 
he married and from whence he came with 
his wife to the United States about 1800, 
and settled in Baltimore, Maryland, where 
they resided only a short time before re- 
moving to Chester county, Pennsylvania. 
He was a tailor by trade, and engaged in 
that occupation for many years near Fogg's 
Manor, this county, where he died in 1855, 
at an advanced age. During the war of 
1812 he served as a soldier in the American 
army, was a democrat in politics, and a mem- 
ber of the United Presbyterian church. 
His son, David D. Williams (father) was u, 




(^ne/iem ^^ ^^f^^md^. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



M6 



luitive of this county, born near Fogg's 
Manor in 1809, and reared and educated at 
that phice. After attaining manliood he 
married Eetlier Way, and Ijecame a prosper- 
ous farmer of West Cain township, this 
county, where he lived until his death in 
1849, at the early age of forty years. Like 
his father he was a democrat and a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Wil- 
liams was born near Cochransville, this 
county, was a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and died in 1843. 

Andrew J. Williams was left an ui-phan 
when only three years old, and was reared 
on a farm in West Cain township until he 
had attained his eighteenth year. He at- 
tended the public schools in boyhood, and 
later took a course of instruction in the 
academy at New Bloomfield, Perry county, 
linishing by two terms at the Coatesville 
academy. After leaving school he engaged 
in teaching for nearly three years, and in 
1863 entered the employ of the Ilibernia 
Iron Works in West Cain township as a 
clerk, where he remained until 1872. In 
that year he came to Parkesburg as super- 
intendent of the iron works here, and since 
1882 has occupied the position of general 
manager of the Parkesburg Iron Company 
in which he is a stockholder and director. 
This extensive industrial concern was es- 
tablished in 1873, and in 1882 was in- 
corporated and the present organization 
effected. The product consists [)rincipatly 
of tube skelp, which is iron used for l»oiler 
tubes, and tlie output is about ten th(nisand 
tons every year. The mills are fitted up 
with improved appliances, railroad .switches 
pass through the yards, incandescent lights 
are used, telephonic connection is had, and 
an average force of two hundred and fifty 
workmen are employed. The product of 



these works is known as of a superior or- 
der, and is much sought after by consumers 
all over the country. Mr. Williams is also 
a stockholder in the Parkesburg Water 
Company and the Coatesville Opera House 
Company, and is treasurer of the Parkes- 
burg Building and Loan association. 

In January, 1879, Mr. Williams was mar- 
ried to Sarah L. Wilson, a daughter of Ol- 
iver P. Wilson, of Sadsbury township, this 
county. To Mr. and Mrs. Williams have 
been born one son and two daughters: El- 
len B., Augusta H., and Horace A. 

Politically Mr. Williams is an ardent re- 
publican, always giving his party a loyal 
and active support, and has served as a 
member of the borough council. He is a 
member of Coatesville Lodge, No. 564, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; and of the 
Parkesburg Beneficial association, of which 
latter he is now vice president. In 1863 he 
enlisted at Coatesville in an independent 
cavali'y company, called the Continental 
troop, and was sworn into the service of the 
United States, but never assigned to any 
regiment. They served for two or three 
months as a body guard for Gen. Baldy 
Smith. Mr. Williams is treasurer of the 
Episcopal church of Parkesburg. 



13 KV. JOSEPH S. EVANS, an honored 
▼ minister and respected <'itizen of West 
Chester, and who has served continuously 
for thirty-two years as the pastor of the 
Goshen Baptist church of West Goshen 
township, is a son of Thomas and Phtebe 
(Spragg) Evans, and was born in Mount 
Holly, New Jersey, September 15, 1831. 
The Evans family of Chester county, of 
whom the subject of this sketch is a mem- 
ber, is of Welsh descent, and was founded 



BIOOBAPHY AND HISTOBY 



by Lot Evans, who came from Wales and 
settled in Uwchland township, wliere he fol- 
lowed fai'ining until his Unal summons to 
rest from earthly labor came to him. His 
son, Jesse Evans (grandfather), was born 
and reared in Uwchland township, where he 
was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 
his death. He married and reared a family 
of childi'en. One of bis sons, Thomas Evans 
(father), was born in 1786, and learned the 
trade of blacksmith, which he followed for 
some years. Being a man of far more than 
ordinary intelligence, he soon became active 
and prominent in his community. He was 
a whig in politics, and served for several 
years as deputy sheriff of Chester county. 
He was a member of the Society of Friends, 
and died March 31, 1838, when in the 
tifty-second year of his age. He married a 
Miss Graves, who died at an early age, and 
he then wedded Phoebe Spragg, a daughter 
of Jesse Spragg, who was a native of New 
Jersey, and at the time of his death a resi- 
dent of West Chester, where his widow lived 
to be over one hundred years of age. Mrs. 
Phcebe (Spragg) Evans was born September 
28, 1797, and died July. 16, 1886, aged 
eighty-nine years. By his second marriage 
Thomas Evans had seven children, four sons 
and three daughters : Martha, wife of Adam 
Webber, of West Chester ; Catharine, widow 
of Chambers Heck, of West Chester ; Cha- 
rity, widow of James Pope, of Burlington, 
New Jersey, and now a resident of the city 
of Philadelphia; Rev. Joseph S. Evans, and 
Lewis Y. Evans, now residing in Chester 
county, Pennsylvania. 

Joseph S. Evans received his education 
at Lewisburg (now Bucknell) university, 
which he was compelled by impaired health 
to leave some time before his class was 
graduated. Leaving, college he returned 



to the farm, where he remained until he was 
twenty-four years of age, and then having 
regained his health to some extent, he en- 
gaged in teaching, which he followed for 
ten yeai'S, the last six of which he was prin- 
cipal of one of the West Chester schools. 
During the lattei' years of his teaching he 
studied for the ministry. He was licensed 
to preach on November 17, 1860, and on 
November 14, 1861, was ordained to the 
ministry, in which he has continued to serve 
Goshen Baptist church up to the present 
time, excepting about one year that he 
spent in the Union army during the last 
war, as a chaplain and teacher. In 1866 
Mr. Evans opened a first class drug store at 
No. 9 North Church street, which he has 
operated successfully ever since. He keeps 
a choice stock of fresh and pure drugs, has 
courteous clerks, and makes a specialty of 
tilling prescriptions. 

On February 9, 1859, Mr. Evans married 
Ruth Anna Peirce, daughter of Richard- 
son Peirce, of Westtown, this county, and to 
their union have been born six children, one 
son and five daughters : Sallie, (dead) ; Mary, 
Willie Anna, now dead; Sarah, Ruth, de- 
ceased ; and Joseph 8., attending Ilaverford 
college, Pennsylvania, from which time-hon- 
ored institution of learning he will be gradu- 
ated in the class of 1895. 

Rev. Joseph S. Evans is a republican in 
politics, but no aspirant for office and never 
takes any part in party contests, although a 
close observer of political matters, upon 
which he keeps well informed. He enlisted 
in the United States service in 1862 as chap- 
lain of the 124th Pennsylvania infantry, and 
served for nearly one year. He has acted 
for twenty years as chaplain of Gen. George 
A. McCall Post, No. 31, Grand Army of the 
Republic, of West (^hester, and has served 



OF CHESTER COVNTY. 



Wl 



since 1890 as oliaplaiii of the Penusylvaiiia 
Comniandery of the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion. 

The Goshen Baptist church is situated in 
West Goshen township, at the junction of 
the old Philadelphia and Strasburg roads, 
and some two miles from West Chester. 
The first church building was erected in 
1809, for the use of all denominations, until 
the Baptists should be strong enough to 
organize a church, which they did January 
20, 1827. Its pastors have been Revs. 
Simeon Sigfried, Robert Compton, A. G. 
Conipton, Charles E. Moore, Enos Barker, 
Thomas Griffith, Henry Essick, Josiah Phil- 
lips, George W. Mitchell, F. Jasinky, John 
Reece, J. W. Warwick, and Joseph S. Evans 
since November 14, 1861. 

When Kev. Evans became pastor of 
Goslien church it was not in a very flourish- 
ing condition, but under his labors it has 
increased from thirty-five members in 1861 
to over two hundred at this time. The old 
church building having been damaged by 
fire in February, 1874, Rev. Evans then ad- 
vocated the erection of a new church, and 
was so successful in his efforts that he se- 
cured $3,200, witli whicli the present hand- 
some stone church was erecte<l on the site 
of the old one. He moved with so much 
expedition in the undertaking that the new 
church was dedicated on November 25, 
1874, having been erected in leSs than six 
montlis. Rev. Evans is a sound logician, a 
clear thinker, and an interesting and enter- 
taining speaker. He is a hard student, and 
has given to liis church the best years of his 
life and a thoroughly coiiscientiou.s and 
faithfni ministry. Jose[)h S. Evans is a 
zealous and untiring worker in the vine- 
yard of his Divine Master, where his labors 
liavebecn crowned with abnnchmt suciess. 



QOL. FRANCIS C. HOOTON, a popu- 
lar republican leader of Pennsylvania, 
and who commanded the 175th Peun.syl- 
vania infantry during the Peninsula cam- 
paign, is an ex-district attorney of Chester 
county, and is one of tlie oldest members of 
the West Chester bar. He is the son of 
Mott and Eliza (Carpenter) Hooton, and was 
born in the city of Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 31, 1836. The Hootons are 
of English (Quaker stock, of Yorksliire, 
England, and settled in New Jersey at an 
early day in the history of that State, while 
the Carpenters trace their lineage to Glou- 
cestershire, from which country the founder 
of the Chester county branch of the family 
came to America. Colonel Hooton's great- 
grandfather, Capt. John Hooton, was com- 
missioned as a captain in the Kings Ameri- 
can dragoons, and served in the English 
cavalry during the revolutionary war. At 
the close of tliat great struggle between the 
Thirteen Colonies and tlie "Mother Coun- 
try," Captain Hooton was transferred with 
the English forces that were sent to Nova 
Scotia, where he soon retired as a cavalry 
officer on half-pay. He was a native of New 
Jersey, and married and reared a family. 
His son, Andrew Hooton (paternal grand- 
father), was born in Nova Scotia, and in 
early life came to Morrestown, New Jersey. 
He went from tlience to Pliila<lelphia, where 
lie was a conveyancer and real estate agent 
for many years. He served as alderman at 
Philadelphia, and removed about 1H40 to 
Iowa, where he served a-s a member of the 
first Constitutional convention of tliat State. 
His son, Mott Hooton, father of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in 1813, in the city 
of Philadelphia, where lie died in 1838, ami 
where his remains were interreil in the cem- 
etery of St. Andrew's chnrcli. He was a 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



hardware merchant, and married Anna 
Eliza Carpenter, by whom he had two chil- 
dren : Colonel Francis and Captain Mott,the 
latter enlisted as iirst sergeant in April, 1861, 
and at the close of the war entered the reg- 
ular army, in which he is now serving as 
captain of Co. F, 22d U. S. infantry, at Fort 
Keogh, Montana. Mrs. Hooton, after her 
husband's death, married Maris Rhoads, a 
farmer of Delaware county, and had two 
children by her second marriage : Sallie, and 
Anna who married Morton Chase, and died 
in 1888, leaving two children. Mrs. Rhoads 
died March 8, 1892, at seventy-eight years of 
age. She was a daughter of John Carpen- 
ter and a granddaughter of Capt. Thomas 
Carpenter, who commanded Co. A, 6th regi- 
ment Pennsylvania Militia, and entered the 
Continental army, where he commanded a 
company with distinction at Long Island 
and Monmouth. He was a native of Ches- 
ter county, and his remains were interred in 
Friends burying ground at Marshalltown. 
His son, John Carpenter (maternal grand- 
father), was born in Chester county, and 
removed to Philadelphia, where he engaged 
in business. 

Francis C. Hooton received his education 
iu the Friends' Select school of Philadelphia, 
Bolmar's institute for young men of West 
Chester, and Fairmount seminary of ISTorris- 
tovvn. He read law with Hon. John Hick- 
mau, JudgeW. B.Waddell, and was admitted 
to the bar on October 30, 1857. He has 
practiced his profession successfully at West 
Chester ever since, except when serving in 
defense of his country's liberties during 
the last great civil war. He was appointed 
by President Lincoln as a draft commis- 
sioner and conducted the first draft ordered 
for the county of Chester in 1862, and in 
the autumn of that year was elected as 



lieutenant-colonel of the 175th Pennsylvania 
infantry, which served bravely in North 
Carolina, and in the Peninsula and Mary- 
land campaigns of 1862 and 1863. The 
colonel of the regiment resigned early in 
Jul}', and Lieutenant-Colonel Hooton was 
promoted to colonel, and led his regiment in 
several severe engagements. The regiment 
was mustered out of the Federal service in 
August, 1863, and Colonel Hooton returned 
to the active practice of his chosen profes- 
sion. 

On June 29, 1870, Colonel Hooton mar- 
ried Anna, daughter of the late John R. 
Penrose, of Philadelphia, and they have 
one child, a daughter, named Mary Penrose. 

In politics Colonel Hooton is a pro- 
nounced and leading republican, who ener- 
getically advocates the cardinal principles 
of his party. He was elected district at- 
torney of Chester county in 1867, and ren- 
dered good satisfaction as a public official 
during his term of service. He was the 
republican presidential elector of his district 
in 1868, served as chairman of the repub- 
lican county committee for 1876, 1877 and 
1878, and was chairman of the republican 
State central committee in 1879. His rec- 
ord of service for his party is one to which 
his friends can point M'ith justifiable pride. 
He is a member of the West Chester Lodge, 
No. 322, Free and Accepted Masons, and is 
its present representative to tlie grand lodge 
of the State. He is also a member of Mc- 
Call Post, No. 31, Grand Army of the Re- 
public; P. H. R. A. Chapter, No. 198, 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion ; and 
the Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the 
Revolution, which numbers only four hun- 
dred and forty in membership. While Col- 
onel Hooton's revolutionary progenitors on 
the paternal side were loyalists to the cause 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



of Great Britain, his maternal ancestors 
were among tlie stoutest hearts ami bravest 
whigs who drew their swords first in the 
cause of colonial rights and afterwards for 
American independence, ("ol. Francis C. 
Ilooton is a inemljer of the I'rotestant 
Episcopal church of West Cliester. He is 
intelligent and well read in his profession, 
active and energetic, and has made good 
use of his time and opportunities. In 1869 
he prepared a small work, entitled "The 
(ieneral and Special Pennsylvania Koad 
Laws," wliich was published at West 
Chester. It met with such approval 
that, in 1872, he wrote a second and 
larger work upon roads, entitled "The 
Supervisor's Guide," which was pub- 
lished by Kay & Brother, of Philadelphia, 
and is regarded throughout the State as a 
standard authority upon the subjects of 
which it treats; also " Ilooton's Justice and 
Legal Guide," published by Rees, Welsh & 
Co. Colonel Hooton manages his cases 
with tact and judgment, and has made a 
good record in the field of Ids chosen pro- 
fession. 

QAPT. henry EVANS CHRIST- 
MAN, one of the substantial and pro- 
gressive farmers of Chester county, and a 
man who stands high as a citizen, is the 
youngest son of Col. Jacob and Margaret 
(Evans) Christman, and was born in East 
Vincent township, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, April 8, 1822. He was reared on 
the farm, and received his education in the 
public schools and at the Trappe academy 
in Montgomery county, then conducted by 
the Rev. Mr. Rodenbaugh. After leaving 
school he engaged in farming for his father, 
and managed his estate until 1873, when he 
purchased the farm and began business on 



his own account. He now owns and oper- 
ates a splendid farm containing two hundred 
and seventy-six acres of as fine land as can 
be found in this section, all well improved 
except about fifty acres, on which stands a 
dense growtli of valuable timber. The farm 
is carefully cultivated, yields excellent crops, 
and is supplied with handsome, commodious, 
and elegant farm buildings, and all the 
necessary improved farm machinery. His 
present residence was erected in 1880, and 
his farm is a part of the Callowhill Manor 
property' of one thousand acres on French 
creek, which was (conveyed by the proprie- 
tary under Penn, April 16, 1686, to Robert 
Thompson ; and this tract of two hundred 
and seventy-six acres was purchased at 
judicial sale, in the settlement of the Hazel 
Thomas estate, by Henry Christman, the 
paternal grandfather of Henry E. Christ- 
man, the deed being dated February 26, 
1819. 

On June 18, 1877, Mr. Christman uniterl 
in marriage with Martha Christman, a 
daughter of John Christman, of this county. 
In politics he is an ardent democrat, has 
been a school director, and was elected as 
justice of the peace, but did not serve. He 
is a regular attendant and liberal supporter 
of the Evangelical Lutheran church. 

The family to wliich Mr. Christman be- 
longs is of German origin, tracing its 
ancestry back to the Fatherland, from 
whence came Daniel Christman in the good 
ship Alexander, William Clymer, master, 
" from Rotterdam, last from Cowes," as the 
vessel's report shows. He landed in Amer- 
ica September 5, 1730, and settled in Wor- 
cester township, then part of Philadelphia 
county, but now comprised in the county 
of Montgomery. He afterward removed to 
Frederick township, Montgomery county, 



390 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



where he died. He was a fanner by occu- 
pation, a member of the Lutheran church, 
and his remains lie entombed at Leedy's 
burying-ground in Frederick township. 
His children were : Anna E., married Jo- 
hannes Grobb in December, 1749, and lived 
in East Coventry township, this county ; 
Felix, born in 1733, and removed to Vin- 
cent township; Elizabeth, born in 1734; 
Jacob, born in 1737, and died February 27, 
1804; George, born in 1739, was a farmer, 
and lived in Frederick township, Mont- 
gomery county; and Henry (grandfather), 
who was born in Frederick township, that 
county, in 1744. At an early age the latter 
came with his father's family to Vincent 
township, this county, where he continued 
to reside until his death, September 16, 
1823, at the age of seventy-nine. In early 
life he learned the saddler's trade, and 
followed that occupation nearly all his life. 
He was a stanch democrat, and a firm 
adherent of the Lutheran church, and being 
a man of enthusiasm and great activity, be 
became prominent in both political and 
religious circles. By his industry and good 
business management he accumulated con- 
siderable wealth. He married Susan Keely, 
by whom he had a family of ten children : 
Susan, born February 25, 1750, married 
Henry Ohristman, and died September 19, 
1823; Elizabeth, born May 29, 1768; Cath- 
arine, born July 19, 1770; Susan, born 
October 24, 1773 ; Magdalena, born April 
28, 1776; Henry, born March 14, 1779; 
Margaret, born February 6, 1782; Mary 
W., born January 7, 1785; Jacob, born 
May 5, 1788; and George, born May 9, 
1793. Jacob Christman, father of Henry 
E., was born in Vincent township, and died 
there March 2, 1871. He spent his life 
principally in agricultural pursuits, and 



took rank with the most advanced farmers 
of his day. In politics he was a democrat, 
and served as school director and filled 
other local oflBces at dift'erent times. He 
was a member of the State militia for many- 
years, serving for a time as colonel of his 
regiment. On January 30, 1809, he married 
Margaret Evans, a daughter of farmer John 
Evans, of this county, who was of Welsh 
extraction. To them was born a family of 
five children, three sons and two daughters : 
Susan, born July 8, 1810; Elizabeth, born 
October 23, 1812, and died June 21, 1853; 
Samuel (deceased), born February 16, 1814 ; 
Jacob, born July 16, 1815 ; and Henry E., 
the subject of this sketch. Some of the 
Christman families have dropped the "t" 
from the name, but their German ancestors 
all inserted it as indicating their lielief in 
Christ and their church connections. 

Henry E. Christman often heard his 
parents tell the story of his grandmother 
Christman's experience during the revolu- 
tionary war. In the autumn of 1777, after 
the battle of Brandywine and the massacre 
at Paoli, while the colonial troops were re- 
treating over the Warwick hills, she on one 
occasion used her oven all day baking bread 
for the hungry soldiers. Her children be- 
came impatient and cried, but they had to 
wait until the patriots were served. 



lU ATHANIEL F. DOTTERER, a pros- 
* perous farmer residing near Pottstown, 
who for some years has been serving as 
justice of the peace in North Coventry 
township, and is a valuable and highly es- 
teemed citizen of Chester county, is the 
eldest son of Michael and Caroline (Fegley) 
Dotterer, and was born in Frederick town- 
ship, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, 



OF CHES2ER COUNTY. 



April 6, 1839. He was reared on liis 
father's farm, where he early became accus- 
tomed to hard work, and learned those 
habits of industry, frugality and honesty 
that lie at the base of all honorable success 
in life. His education was received in the 
common schools of his neighborhood, and 
after leaving school he learned the trade of 
millwright, and followed that occupation 
about three years, when he for five years 
following worked at the carpenter trade 
during tlie summer seasons and teaching 
public school during the winter — teaching 
two terms in Frederick township, Mont- 
gomery county, and three terms in Chester 
county. In 1862 he entered the employ of 
the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Com- 
pany as a carpenter, and in 18ti.5 was pro- 
moted to the position of assistant to the 
superintendent of their shops at Pottstown. 
Later he was given i-harge of the railway 
trains and engines, and the machine shop 
at Pottstown, on the main line division of 
that road, and also at the same time served 
as shipping clerk, having charge of the 
roadway materials which were principally 
all distributed from Pottstown by trains for 
the main line and all branches operated by 
tiie company until 1878, at which time the 
work shops, train department and material 
yards were vacated at Pottstown, moved to 
Reading, taken in charge of and operated 
by the Transportation department. Dur- 
ing 1883 and 1884 he had charge of the 
laying of tracks on the 8hamokin, Sunbury 
& Lewisburg railroad — a line of thirty-two 
miles in length, and running from Shamo- 
kin to West Milton; also the building of 
newside-tracksat Williamsportandat New- 
berry — improvements made to facilitate and 
improve the anthracite coal trade westward, 
and wliioh are operated by the Philadelphia 



k Reading Railroad Company. He was af- 
terward employed for some time as super- 
visor of the Port Richmond wharves of the 
Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Com- 
pany, at Philadelphia, but resigned during 
the labor troubles of 1887, and in 1887 pur- 
chased a farm of one hundred and seven- 
teen acres of valuable land in Nortli Cov- 
entry township, since which time he has 
devoted his attention entirely to agricul- 
tural pursuits, and has been very successful. 

On April 25th, 1860, Mr. Dotterer was 
united in marriage witli Caroline L. Rudy, 
a daughter uf Jacob Rudy, then residing in 
Frederick township, Montgomery county, 
this State, though a native of Switzerland. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Dotterer has been born a 
family of five children, one son and four 
daughters: Alice, Florence, Edgar, Laura 
and Emma. The latter two are twins. 
The second daughter, Florence, died Octo- 
ber 15, 1865, aged 7 weeks, and the other 
children are all living at home with their 
parents on the farm. 

Politically Squire Dotterer has always 
been a republican, but is inclined toward 
independence in politics. He has served 
one term as school director of bis township, 
and in the autumn of 1889 was elected to 
the responsible position of justice of the 
peace, the duties of which office he is 
now discharging with ability and a jus- 
tice that gives general satisfaction. Squire 
Dotterer is a member of Stichter Lodge, 
No. 254, Free and Accepted Masons, at 
Pottstown, of which he is past master. 

Squire Dotterer's paternal grandfather 
was Conrad Dotterer, a native of Mont- 
gomery county, this State, where he lived 
all liis life, and died in 1827, at the age of 
tifty-eiglit years. He was a millwright by 
trade, and also engaged to some extent in 



398 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



agriculture. Politically he was a democrat, 
and in religious faith an adherent of the Ger- 
man Reformed church. He was married to 
Catharine Younkin, by whom he had six 
children. Michael Dotterer (father) was 
born in Frederick township, Montgomery 
county, this State, June 18, 1811, and was 
a resident of that township until 1858, 
when he came to Chester county and settled 
in East Coventry township. Later he re- 
moved to North Coventry township, where 
he now resides with his son, the subject of 
this sketch. He has always been engaged 
in the cultivation of the soil, is a democrat 
in his political belief, and following the re- 
ligious traditions of his ancestors is a be- 
liever in the faith of the the German Re- 
formed church. In 1837 he married Caro- 
line Fegley, of New Hanover township, 
Montgomery county. She died January 
25, 1887, in her seventieth year. To them 
was born a family of six sons and daughters, 
of whom the subject of this sketch is the 
eldest. The others are : Sophia, who mar- 
ried Moses M. Grubb ; Catharine, who 
wedded Joshua Frederick; Benjamin, de- 
ceased ; Milton, and Caroline, who married 
Joseph Engall. 

The following genealogy of the family 
was compiled and furnished by N. F. Dot- 
terer : 

First generation : George Philip Dotterer, 
Veronica (maiden name unknown), his wife; 
George Philip Dotterer died in Frederick 
township, Montgomery county, Nov. 6th, 
1741 ; Veronica Dotterer died before De- 
cember 9, 1752; they were born in Europe 
— where we know not; do not know when 
they arrived in Pennsylvania, but think in 
1722 — certainly not later. Children : Mich- 
ael' Dotterer, born in Europe in spring of 
1698 ; Bernhardt Dotterer, died in New 



Hanover township, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, "between January 20, 1758 
and April 12, 1758; Anna Elizabeth' Dot- 
terer, married (first) Michael Zimmerman, 
married (second) Jacob Korr; Heironimus'' 
Dotterer, died in Falkner Swamp, in No- 
vember, 1727; Barbara- Dotterer, married 
Jacob Markley; Conrad^ Dotterer, born in 
September, 1712, died in Frederick town- 
ship, in January, 1801. 

Second generation : Michael- Dotterer, 
born in Europe, in spring of 1698 ; died in 
Frederick township, April 7, 1786; aged 
87 years, 11 months, and several days ; Anna 
Maria ( Fisher) Dotterer, his wife. Children : 
Anna Sophia" Dotterer, born March 5,1726 ; 
Anna Veronica'' Dotterer, born September 
5, 1727; George Philip' Dotterer, born Au- 
gust 30, 1729; John Conrad' Dotterer, born 
May 10, 1731; Maria Margaretta' Dotterer, 
born June 27,1738; John MichaeP Dot- 
terer, born October 31, 1735 ; John Jacob' 
Dotterer, born July 4,1787; A son (no 
name), born January 22, 1789; Johannes' 

and twins, born November 18, 1741 ; 

Anna Maria' Dotterer, born January 4, 
1745. 

Third generation : John Michael' Dot- 
terer, born October 31, 1735 ; died in Fred- 
erick township, March 12, 1811; first wife, 
Anna (Reiff) Dotterer, born in 1740; died 
January 30, 1766 ; second wife, Catherine 
(Reift) Dotterer (sister to foregoing Anna 
Reiff), born February, 11, 1745; died No- 
vember 16, 1820. Children by first wife: 
Philippina* Dotterer, born June 22, 1761; 
Philip* Dotterer, born July 17,1763; Peter' 

Dotterer, born ; Michael* Dotterer, 

born January 30, 1766. Children by second 

wife: John* Dotterer, born ; died June 

25, 1836 ; Conrad* Dotterer, born April 9, 
1769; Anna Maria' Dotterer, born May 11, 




't^n-n 



l/uia, (^mC. 



OP CSESTSR COUNTY. 



318 



1773; Catharine* Dotterer, born August 6, 
1778. 

Fourth genenition : Conrad* Dotterer, born 
April 9,17t)9; born, lived and died in Fred- 
erick township ; died September 29, 1827; 
\vifc,('atharine ( Younkin) Dotterer, born in 
Buck's county, August 25, 1777; died in 
Frederick township, September Hi, 1840. 

Children: John'' Dotterer, born ; died 

; SaraueP Dotterer. born Septembers, 

1801; died February 21, 1854; Eliza' Dot- 
terer, born August 18, 1805 ; died February 
19, 1867; Philip' Dotterer, born August 4, 
1809, died July 21,1884; MichaeP Dotterer, 
(father of subject) born June 18, 1811; still 
living; Sophia' Dotterer, born December 3, 
1819, died October 23, 1884. 



JTAMES McCLUKG, of Newton Stew- 
art, County Galloway (now Wigton), 
Scotland, was the father of Dr. Walter 
McClurg, a surgeon in the royal navy, who 
married and settled at Hampton, Virginia, 
prior to 1746, and who resigned, lived, and 
(lied there in 1783. His only son. Dr. 
.lames McClurg, M. D., was born at Hamp- 
ton, Virginia, in 1746, graduated from 
William and Mary college, 1762; as M. D. 
University of Edinburgh, 1770; and stud- 
ied in Paris during 1771-2. He was urged 
to locate in London, but was prevented by 
liis strong Americanism. Keturning to 
Virginia in 1773, he located at Williams- 
burg, Virginia. Elected a member of the 
American Philosophical society of Phila- 
delphia, 1774. Appointed a surgeon in the 
Virginia navy, 1776, and later in the year 
physician general of hospitals of the south- 
ern department, at Williamsburg. Ap- 
pointed professor of anatomy and medicine 
in the William and Mary college, 1779. 

19 



Declined the chair of medicine in tlie 
University of Pennsylvania. Removed to 
Richmond, Virginia, in 1783. In 1787 was 
appointed a member of the Federal conven- 
tion, sitting in Philadelphia, to frame a 
constitution for the Ignited States. He 
here acted with the Washington-Madison 
group. Duty called him home before the 
linal adoption. Received a grant of land 
and back pay for services during the revo- 
lution. His only son, Walter, died in 1810. 
Was thrown from his carriage, severely in- 
jured, and died July 9, 1823. Thus the 
elder line became extinct. 

.James McClurg's younger son, John 
McClurg, was born at Xewton Stewart, 
Scotland, November 14, 1726. Came to 
Hampton, Virginia, in 1752, and thence to 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. On the 20th 
of October, 1752, he was granted by the 
Pennsylvania proprietaries one hundred 
acres of land in Londonderry (now Lower 
Oxford) township, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, for £15 lOs., with the yearly 
quitrent of one half penny sterling for 
every acre thereof. One hundred and nine- 
teen and one-half acres were surveyed 
November 10, 1752, an<l settled by him. 
In the county records of 1754 he is rated 
as "a land owner and taxpayer." In 1753 
he married Eliza Jackson, (daughter of 
Samuel Jackson, who had come to Chester 
county prior to 1737, and who was a prom- 
inent land owner and elder in the Presby- 
terian church,) and their <"hildren were: 
Samuel ; William, who " went west," to Pitts- 
burg, it is believed; Elizabeth, no record: 
and John, who removed to Slateridge,York 
county, Pennsylvania, where ho married 
and died, leaving two children, William 
and Mary, the former of whom was killed 
bv a horse, and the male line is extinct. 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



John McClurg died in Lower Oxford 
township, Friday, July 12, 1799. 

Samuel McClurg, oldest son of John and 
Eliza McClurg, was born on his father's 
farm in Lower Oxford township, Tuesday, 
Jul}' 9, 1754. He removed to i^lateridge, 
York county, Pennsylvania, and purchased 
a farm. In 1787 he married Agnes Foulis, 
of Lower Oxford township, Chester county, 
daughter of Archibald and Mary Foulis. 
It is told how this devout Presbyterian 
couple would, on each communion Sunday, 
ride on horseback by way of McCall's 
Ferry, Susquehanna river, to Oxford, a dis- 
tance of at least thirty miles. He died 
Wednesday, April 4, 1810, of chronic pneu- 
monia, resulting from exposure. 

Agnes Foulis was born Tuesday, May 
24, 1763, in Scotland. Her father, Archi- 
bald Foulis, and James Patton, both loved 
Mary Wilson, who married the latter, and 
before he died, in 1760, bore him eight 
children. Archibald Foulis, meanwhile 
lived in Belfast, Ireland, having left Scot- 
land when rejected, and now returued and 
married the widow. Agues being their only 
child. They soon went to Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, and in 1772, his name is on 
the list of "land owners and taxpayers." 
After the death of her husband, Agnes, 
with her children, removed to a homestead 
near Oxford, Pennsylvania, where, in 1811, 
her name appears on the church records, 
among the heads of families. Died at Ox- 
ford, Saturday, December 8, 1849. Their 
children were : Mary, married James Rey- 
burn ; Elizabeth, married William Os- 
mond ; Archibald; Jane, married Joseph 
Kelso; Rachel, married George Irwin; 
Nancy, married John Pollock; John, born 
Thursday, January 27, 1803, and died Mon- 
day. December 20, 1869 — and who married, 



first, Martha Moore — second, Nancy Jane 
Mclntire ; and Sarah, married James 
Smith. Archibald McClurg, elder son of 
Samuel and Agnes McClurg, was born at 
Slateridge, York county, Pennsylvania, on 
his father's farm, on Tuesday, March 25, 
1794. Removed in 1810 to Lower Oxford 
township. Was a farmer, and assisted in 
building the then large bridge over the 
Susquehanna river, at McCall's Ferry. On 
February 27, 1819, he bought forty acres 
of land near Oxford, Pennsylvania, from 
his mother. On Thursday, November 25, 
1819, he married Sarah Russell, of Russell- 
ville, Chester county, Pennsylvania. In 
1825, he bought a tract of land at Mill 
Creek Hundred, Delaware, which he soon 
sold. In 1839 he bought "a plantation of 
one hundred and fourteen acres in West 
Nottingham township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, (near Glenroy), subject to 
the payment of the original patent.'" In 
religion he was a Presbyterian, in politics, 
a whig, and later a republican ; and in his 
earlier life, was an enthusiastic militiaman. 
Died on his farm, at West Nottingham, 
Saturday, May 8, 1864, of acute gastroeon- 
teritis. Sarah Russell, his wife, was born 
Thursday, April 10, 1797, at Russellville, 
and died at her home, in West Nottingham, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, on Sunday, 
January 4, 1852. Her father, John Russell, 
esquire, was born in Chester county, in 1759, 
and died Wednesday, May 16, 1804. Her 
mother, Margaret McNeil, was born in 
Chester county in 1770, and died at Rus- 
sellville, Friday, December 9, 1814. The 
children of Archibald and Sarah McClurg 
were : John Russell ; Nancy, born 1822, 
married Edward Llo^-d ; Samuel, born 1823, 
died unmarried; Margaret, born 1825, mar- 
ried Marshal Wright ; Sarah Elizabeth, born 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



396 



1 828, married William Wright ; Jane, born 
1839, unmarried; James Hervey, born 
1832, married Elizabeth Grier — two chil- 
dren, Blanche and James Patterson ; Wil- 
liam, born 1834, bachelor; Mary, born 
1836, died unmarried ; Archibald Alexan- 
der, born at the Battle of Fredericksburg, 
\'a., December 13, 1862; and Hanna Eu- 
phemia, born 1844, unmarried. 

John Kussell McClurg, M. 1).. was the 
oldest child of the foregoing; and born in 
Lower Oxford township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, Saturday, September 23, 
1820. Reared on his father's farms, and 
educated at the public schools, and the New 
London, Pennsylvania, and x^ewark, Dela- 
ware, academies. He taught in the public 
schools and in the Xewsyk acadeni}'. Stu- 
died medicine under Dr. David W. Hutch- 
inson, of Oxford, Pennsylvania, and gradu- 
ated from the Jeti'erson Medical college, 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as an M. D., 
March 14, 1846. Located at Chandlers- 
ville (now Landenberg), Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, and there practiced his pro- 
fession until 1858. Removed to Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, in 18o9. After a suc- 
cessful examination before an army medical 
board, he was commissioned major and sur- 
geon, United States volunteers, October 4, 
1862. His record of service was: Tempo- 
rary duty at .fetferson barracks, St. Louis, 
Missouri, November 11 to November 21, 
1862, when he was ordered to establish and 
take charge of a United States general hos- 
pital at Cleveland, Ohio. This duty was 
performed in such a thorough and expedi- 
tious manner, as to win him much commen- 
dation from his superiors. Wiiile stationed 
here, be delivered a course of lectures on 
military surgery at the Cleveland Medical 
college. He was commended by Governor 



Brough, of Ohio, for arming a number of 
convalescents in the hospital and sending 
them to enforce the draft. Was presented 
with a sword by the inmates of the hospi- 
tal as a token of their appreciation. Was 
ordered, September 4, 1864, to Jackson, 
Michigan, as inspector of recruiting, and 
here unearthed many frauds, and on De- 
cember 8, 1864, to similar duty at Detroit, 
Michigan. On December 17. 1864, was 
ordered, by telegraph, to Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, and established and took charge of 
the ^transfer general hospital. On March 
25, 1865, was ordered to the charge of the 
"Joe Holt " United States general hospital, 
together with the eruptive hospitals, at 
Louisville, Kentucky, and Jetfersonville, 
Indiana, aggregating about three thousand 
beds. On July 29, 1865, ordered to the ad- 
ditional duty of president of an examining 
board for assistant surgeons. On August 
7, 1865, was ordered to close all hospitals, 
destroy infected stores, etc. On September 
19, 1865, ordered home. Breveted lieu- 
tenant colonel. United States volunteez's, 
October 6, 1865 ; and honorably mustered 
out October 7, 1865. In November 1865, 
located at West Grove, Pennsylvania, and 
practiced his profession there until May. 
1870, when ho removed to West Chester. 
Pennsylvania, where he has since resided, 
and successfully practiced his profession. 
A perminent member of the American 
Medical association, a member of the Ches- 
ter County Medical society, of the O.xford 
Medical society, honorary member of the 
Lancaster city and Count}- Medical society, 
of the biological and microscopical section 
of the Academy of Sciences, of Piiiladel- 
phia, an associate member of the Victoria 
Institute, or Philosophical society of Great 
Britain, a founder of the Philosophical 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOIty 



society of West Chester. Pennsylvania, a 
member of the Bi-Centenial executive 
committee, 187fi, and a (Companion of the 
Military Order of the Loyal Le,e:ion. Was 
married on January 1, 1851, at Mont- 
gomeryville, Montgomery county, Pennsyl- 
vania, .to Ruth Ann Higgins, daughter of 
the Rev. George Higgins and Mary (born 
Laudreth), his wife. They have two chil- 
dren, Walter Audubon; and Frank Lay- 
ard, born March 7, 1857. 

Ruth Ann Higgins was born at Mil- 
ton, Northumberland couuty, Pennsylvania, 
Wednesday, March 2, 1831. She was the 
daughter of the Rev. George Higgins, a 
noted Baptist clergyman, born at Philadel- 
phia, Monday, December 16, 1799, died 
at Montgomeryville, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, Tuesday, March 9, 1869, and 
Mary Landreth, his wife, born at Philadel- 
phia, Monday, August 20, 1804, and died 
at Philadelphia, Thursday, April 6, 1848. 
The only child of George Higgins, a native 
of England, who married Margaret Trim- 
ble, at Philadelphia, in 1799, and died the 
same year at Cape May, ISew Jersey, of 
the yellow fever. Mary Landreth was the 
daughter of Cuthbert Landreth, who mar- 
ried Pelatiah Burroughs, at Philadelphia, 
Saturday. May 25, 1793. 

Walter Audubon McClurg, eldest son of 
the foregoing, was born Wednesday, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1852, at Chandlersville (now Lan- 
denberg), Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
educated at the public schools, Cleveland, 
Ohio, Military academy, the Kennett Square 
academy, and the Millersville State Normal 
school ; studied medicine under his father, 
and graduated as an M. D. on (Saturday, 
March 9, 1872, from Jefferson Medical col- 
lege, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Practiced 
his profession for nearly two years at West 



Chester, Pennsylvania, then passed a suc- 
cessful examination before the Naval Medi- 
cal Examining board, and was commissioned 
an assistant surgeon. United States navy, 
(ranking with Ensign), February 8, 1874. 
Promoted to passed assistant surgeon (lieu- 
tenant J. G.), November 2, 1877, and to 
surgeon (lieutenant), January 25, 1889. 

Record of service : Naval hospital, Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, June 12 to Novem- 
ber 18, 1874; Flagship Pensacola, Pacific 
Station, and Tuscarora, Pacific Station, 
November 18, 1874, to September 14, 1876 ; 
Steamer Plymouth, North Atlantic Station, 
January 26, to July 7, 1877; Store-ship 
New Hampshire, Port Royal, South Caro- 
lina, December 10, 1877, to January 6, 
1879 ; Naval Hospital, Washington, Janu- 
ary 6, to December 2, 1879 ; Flagship Ten- 
uessee. North Atlantic Station, December 
2, 1879, to December 2, 1882; Naval 
academy, Annapolis, December 7, 1882, to 
May, 1883; Practice-ship Dale, May to 
September 2, 1883 ; Naval academy, Sep- 
tember 1, 1883, to October 7, 1884; Naval 
hospital, Philadelphia, October 7, 1884, 
to January 6, 1886; Steamer Tallapoosa, 
South Atlantic Station, January 6, 1886, 
to March 7, 1889 ; Bureau of Medicine and 
Surgery, Navy department, Washington, 
June 1, 1889, on special duty. 



JONATHAN H. KULP, the represen- 
tative of an old Holland faniily which 
has been resident in this Commonwealth for 
nearly two hundred years, is the seventh 
child and fourth son of Samuel and Cath- 
arine (Hunsberger) Kulp, and was born 
in Limerick (now Rogersford) township, 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, August 
9, 1833. When he was only eight months 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



old the family removed to Chester county 
and settled on the farm near Pottstown, 
where he now resides, and which has ever 
since been his home. Here he acquired a 
good practical education in the excellent 
public schools, and then settled down to 
farm life, unattracted by tlie temptations 
which were even then luring many young 
men from the farm to engage in other pur- 
suits in our larger towns and cities. The 
homestead, which has been owned by Mr. 
Kulp since 1874, contains one hundred acres 
of as good land as can be found in this sec- 
tion, and is all improved. It is very pro- 
ductive, and in its management Mr. Kulp 
has been successful and prosperous. Polit- 
ically he is a stanch republican, and has 
served two terms as school director of his 
township. In religious faith he is a Meii- 
nonite and actively supports the various in- 
terests of that church, to wViich his people 
have belonged for many generations. 

On the Slst of October, 1859, Mr. Kulp 
was wedded to Harriet Amole, a daughter 
of Jonas and Rachel Amole, of North Cov- 
entry township, this county. To their union 
was born a family of six children, three sons 
and three daughters: Jonas, who nuirried 
Ida Reigner, and now resides at Royer's 
Ford, Montgomery county ; Henry, still 
living at home; Emma, now the wife of 
John L. Kulp, a farmer of Royer's Ford; 
Katie, Sallie, and Ernest, the three latter 
also living at home with their parents. 

The KulpK are descended from an old 
Holland family, and trace their American 
ancestry Vjack to three brothers, Peter, 
Martin and Henry Kulp, Mennonite preach- 
ers, who emigrated from Holland in 1707. 
and settled in and near (Termantown, I'cnii- 
sylvania. The paternal great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch was Dielman 



Kulp, a grandson of one of those brothers, 
and a native of Worcester township, Mont- 
gomery county, where he lived and died. 
He married Wilmina Rellenhouse, by whom 
he bad a family of eight children : Esther. 
Magdalena, Wilmina, Henry, Daniel, Ma- 
thias, Martin and Isaac. Daniel Kulp 
(grandfather) was born in Worcester town- 
ship, Montgomery (-ouiity, where he lived 
most of his life, but removed to Norton 
township some time previous to his death. 
He was a farmer by occupation, and in relig- 
iousfaith and church membership a Mennon- 
ite. Politically he was a whig and federalist. 
and married Elizabeth Funk,l)y whom he ha<l 
a family of seven children, four sons and three 
daughters: Jacob, Daniel, David, Samuel. 
Magdalena, Wilmina and Anna, all of whom 
are now deceased. Samuel Kulp (father) 
was born in 1798, on the old homestead in 
Worcester township, Montgomery county, 
where he grew up and was educated in the 
common schools. He also inclined toward 
agricultural pursuits, and after leaving 
school became a farmer in Montgomery 
county, where he continued to live until 
1853, when he removed to Chester county 
and settled in North Coventry township. 
At his home there he died in 187"2, after an 
active life comprising nearly three quarters 
of a century. In political sentiment he was 
tirst a whig and later a republican, and mar- 
ried Catharine Ihuisberger, a <laugbter ol 
Samuel Hunsberger, of Montgomery county. 
They hail a family of nine children, four 
sons and five daughters: Catharine, de- 
ceased: Ann, married Samuel Staufier, now 
a retired farmer residing at Pottstown : 
Daniel H.. a sketch of whom ajipears else- 
where in this volume: Sarah, now tin- wife 
of Samuel High, a retired farmer of North 
Coventrv township: Samuel, deceased; Da- 



298 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



vid, who wedded Emily Wells and resides in 
North Coventry township, where he is en- 
gaged in farming; Jonathan H., the prin- 
cipal subject of this sketch ; Elizabeth, mar- 
ried William P. Staufter, a prosperous 
farmer of East Coventry township ; and 
Mary A., the wife of Abraham L. Delwiler, 
a miller by vocation who now resides in East 
Coventry township. 



T^HOMAS K. STERRETT, deceased, 
was one of the active, talented, and 
prosperous men of the last generation, who. 
inheriting great business ability, possessed 
also the rarer gift of utilizing each power 
of mind and making every faculty con- 
tribute to his usefulness and success in life. 
He was a son of John and Margaret 
(Hagar) Sterrett, and was boru May 6, 
1830. in Warwick township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. His early education was 
obtained in the common schools, but he 
subsequently took a full academic course, 
and acquired a fine classical education, to- 
gether with a practical business training. 
Leaving school, he accepted a responsible 
position with the iirm of A. M. Campbell 
& Co., of the city of Philadelphia, in whose 
business his father, John Sterrett,was owner, 
where he became book-keeper and general 
manager. This position gave him ample 
scope for the exercise of those accurate 
methods in looking after details and that 
fine executive ability which became his 
distinguishing characteristics. To his watch- 
ful care and able management was largely 
due the great success of this prosperous 
firm, and with it he remained for a period 
of between twenty and twenty-five years. 
In May, 1879, he practically retired from 
active bn.siness, and returninsi; to his native 



county, settled at Warwick Furnace, where 
he was afterward appointed postmaster, 
and served in that capacity for a number of 
years. It was a matter of comment that the 
postal afiairs of the town were never more 
accurately managed nor more satisfactorily 
conducted than during his administration 
of the otfice. Mr. Sterrett was also a large 
stockholder in the Pottstown National Iron 
bank, and was serving as director of that 
financial institution at the time of his death. 
He died at his home in Warwick April 21, 
1890, in the sixtieth year of his age. In 
political faith he was a democrat, and his 
sympathies were always with the great 
mass of the people. He was broad and 
liberal in his views, but devotedly attached 
to the idea of popular government — a gov- 
ernment which should secure equal rights 
for all and allow special privileges to none. 
On July 2, 1867, Mr. Sterrett was united 
in marriage with Mary R. Baker, a daughter 
of Bassett and Catherine Baker, of the city 
of Philadelphia. This union was blessed 
by the birth of one child, a daughter, named 
Mary Maud, who was born September 30, 
1868, in Philadelphia. On September 27, 
1892, Mary Maud Sterrett was united in 
marriage with H. Clarence McMichael, son of 
Belinda and William McMichael, of Upper 
Uwchlan, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
and they now live with her mother in their 
handsome home at Warwick. Mrs. Mary 
A. Sterrett was born July 17, 1836, in 
Philadelphia, is a woman of intelligence 
and refinement, and possesses remarkable 
business capacity. She is sole manager of 
a fine farm containing five hundred acres 
of valuable land, beside which she owns 
part of a!iother excellent farm, and controls 
an interest in the business of a prosperous 
firm in Philadelphia. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



aw 



John Sterrett, father of the subject of 
this sketch, was horn in Warwick township, 
tliis county, August 81, 1796, where he 
4^rew to manhood. His occupation was that 
of miller, and he erected and for many years 
operated the mill now owned by Frank 
James. He sold out, came to the city, and 
when Thomas K. Sterrett married, lived 
with his son, also coming back with him to 
Warwick, at which place lie died March 
26, 1888. He was placed in St. Mary's 
cemetery. He was a man of great energy 
and good business ability, and became very 
prosperous in later life. He married Mar- 
garet Hagar, and was the father of six 
cliildren, all now deceased, of whom Thomas 
K., the subject of this sketch, was the 
youngest. The others were Margaret, James, 
Catharine, William, and John R. Politically 
.John K. Sterrett wa.s a stanch democrat, 
kept well posted on the questions of his 
day, and was always active in support of 
democratic principles. In religious taith 
and church membership he was an Episco- 
palian, and liis death occurred at liis liome 
in Warwick township, March 26, 1880, at 
the advanced age of eighty-four years. His 
funeral took place on Easter Sunday, March 
28, at which time his remains were followed 
to their last resting place in St. Mary's 
cemetry by a large concourse of relatives, 
friends, and neighbors, among whom his 
entire life hail been spent, and in whose 
hearts his memory was deeply cherished. 



FKANK D. EMACK, M. D., a son .)f 
Elbert (i. and .Vlargaret (Turner) 
Kmack, was born April 22, 1850 in Prince 
George county, Maryland. He was reared 
on the farm. He entered CoUunVtia college 
at Wasliintfton, I)istrict of Colunibia. and 



took a thorough course of training in that 
institution, after which lie read medicine in 
his native county, and was graduated from 
the medical department of the University 
of Maryland, at Baltimore, in 1875. Im- 
mediately after receiving his degree he was 
appointed one of the resident physicians of 
the Bayview asylum in Baltimore, which 
position he held for several months, and 
then resigned to locate in Schuylkill 
county, Pennsylvania, for the practice of 
his profession. He was engaged in con- 
tinuous practice in that county until 1881, 
when he removed to PUcenixville, Chester 
I'ounty. Here he soon acquired a large 
general practice, which he has successfully^ 
conducted ever since. He is a prominent 
member of the Chester County Medical 
society and the American Medical associa- 
tion. Doctor Emack has been a close 
student of medicine and its allied sciences, 
has made many original investigations and 
accurate observations, and his standing as a 
physician is deservedly high. 

In 1884 Doctor Emack was united in 
marriage to Clara L. Love, a daughter of 
John B. Love, of the city of Philadelphia. 
To the Doctor and Mrs. Emack have been 
born two children, one son and a daughter: 
Margaret C. and John Beresford. In poli- 
tics the Doctor is a stanch democrat, and in 
religion a strict Episcopalian, being a mem- 
ber and vestryman of St. Peter's Episco|ial 
church of Pha*nixville. 

The Emacks are of Scotch-Irish origin, 
and have been residents of the United 
States for three generations. The tir.st of 
the name to come to America was William 
Emack, paternal grandfather of Dr. Frank 
D. Emack. He was born in the nortli of 
Ireland (County Tyrone), of Scotih-Irish 
parentage, :inil while yet a young man lel't 



300 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



the Emerald Isle and emigrated to this 
country, settling in Washington city. His 
wife was Ann Jackson Duke, of the Mor- 
duit family, England. He was a merchant, 
and continued to reside and do business in 
Washington until his death in 1833, then in 
the sixtieth year of his age. He reared a 
family, one of whom, Elbert G. Eniack 
(father), became a merchant, and engaged 
in business in his native city of Washing- 
ton until 1840, when he removed to Prince 
George county, Maryland. There he pur- 
chased a large farm, and engaged in agri- 
cultural pursuits during the remainder of 
his life. He died September 12, 1886, at 
the advanced age of eighty-three years. 
For forty years he was vestryman in the 
Episcopal church, and always took an active 
part in supporting the varied interests of 
his denomination. In politics he was first 
a whig, and later became a democrat. He 
was elected and served as a member of the 
constitutional convention of 1868, but al- 
ways declined to accept any political office. 
In 1836 he married Margai'et Turner, a 
native of Baltimore county, Maryland, by 
whom he had a family of nine children. 
She is a member of the Episcopal church, 
and still resides on the old homestead in 
Prince George county, Maryland, being yet 
hale and hearty, though now in the seventy- 
seventh year of her age. Her father, Hon. 
James Turner, maternal grandfather of 
Doctor Emack, was a native of Harford 
county, Maryland, who became a resident of 
Baltimore county when a young man, where 
he died March 27, 1861, aged sixty-six years. 
He was an extensive and prosperous farmer, 
owning over one thousand acres of tine 
land in Baltimore county. In politics he 
was a democrat, and became a prominent 
and influential leader in his party. He 



represented his district in the lower house 
of the legislature of Maryland, and also in 
the State senate, and afterward served four 
years as a member of Congress at Wash- 
ington. The maternal great-grandfather 
of Doctor Emack was James Calder, a 
brother of Admiral Sir Robert Calder. 
They were of Scotch-Irish descent, and 
their mother was a Miss Stewart. 



JOHN GILFILLAN, a well known and 
prominent business man of Coatesville 
and Chester county, and a worthy descen- 
dant of that wonderful Scotch-Irish race, so 
noted for firmness, temperance and honesty, 
is a son of James and Ann (Scobey) Gilfil- 
lan,and was born near Londonderry, County 
Derry, province of Ulster, Ireland, Novem- 
ber, 1815. Two centuries ago three Gilfil- 
lan brothers left Scotland, and settled in 
the north of Ireland, which, at that time, 
was a land of refuge for the persecuted 
Scottish Covenanters. The land on which 
these brothers settled is still in the hands 
of their descendants, and one of them 
founded the family of which James Gilfillan 
(father) was a member. James Gilfillan 
passed his life on his farm, which was with- 
in five miles of Londonderry, and died in 
1872, at eighty-eight years of age. He was 
a conscientious man, and a strict member 
of the Presbyterian church, and married 
Ann Scobey, who died when in the seven- 
t3'-fourth year of her age. 

John Gilfillan was reared on his father's 
farm, and, after attending private schools, 
entered Temple Moyle agricultural college, 
where the higher mathematics and modern 
languages were taught. On alternate days 
his class worked on the college farm, and 




^^o4f?- W'i/ji^n. 



OF CHESTER COVNTY. 



aoe 



thus, hy this plan, he received both a 
thorougli literary and practical agricultural 
education. This college at that time was 
one of the leading agricultural institutions 
of Great Britain, whose students were care- 
fully instructed in the latest and most ap- 
proved methods of successful farming. Leav- 
ing college, and having no great taste for 
agricultural pursuits, Mr. Giilillan turned 
his eyes toward the United States, as a 
wider and more favorable field for success 
in business life than what was aftbrded him 
at home or on the continent of Europe. In 
1834 lie set sail for Philadelphia, accom- 
panied by his uncle, David Scol>ey, who be- 
came a prosperous merchant of Schuylkill 
county, where he died a few years ago ; and 
his cousin, Robert Gilfillan, who established 
a grocery house in Philadelphia, and is now 
dead. Mr. (Tilfillan. in a few days after land- 
ing at Philadelphia, came to C-ochransville, 
where he learned the trade of tanner, with 
James Wilson, to whom he had letters of 
introduction from Ireland. In 1837 Mr. 
Wilson removed to East Fallowfield town- 
ship, and Mr. Gilfillan and Samuel Wilson 
purchased the tannery, which they ran very 
successfully until 1839. In that year Mr. 
Gilfillan bought his partner's interest, and 
operated the tannery until 1872, when he 
gave over its management to his sons, with 
the view of retiring from business, and resid- 
ing at I'arke.'tburg, where he had purchased 
property. His intentions of ii retired life 
were, however, defeated by the following 
circumstances: He was appointed, on ac- 
count of his knowleilge of tanning, to settle 
the estate of John Shely, at Coatesville. A 
part of the estate was the Coatesville tan- 
nery, which Mr. (Tilfillan perceived was in 
such shape, and so situated, as to otter a fine 
liUMiuews opening, and after settling nji the 



estate, he purchased it, and has operated it 
successfully ever since. 

In 1841 Mr. Gilfillan married Anna C. 
Steel, who died ten months later, and on 
September 26, 1843, he wedded Jane, 
daughter of Robert Wilson. By his sec- 
ond marriage he has had nine children, of 
whom seven are living: J. B., a leather 
dealer, at Cochransville ; F. P., now in 
Philadelphia ; Rev. Joel S., who has charge 
of the Presbyterian church of Livermore, 
California; Robert, of Virginia; John P. ; 
Emma, wife of Joseph R. Kcnworthy; and 
Lucinda. 

John Gilfillan is a democrat in politics. 
He was appointed in 1857 as collector of 
tolls at Parkesburg, served two terms as 
justice of the peace at Cochransville; and 
was a member of the town council of 
Coatesville from 1878 to 1879. He has al- 
ways been an earnest advocate of popular 
education, was among the first to recom- 
mend the establishment of a graded school 
in every district, and while serving as a 
school director of Coatesville, was largely 
instrumental in having the school debt of 
that j)lace refunded in five per cent, bonds, 
in place of those issued at seven per cent. 
Mr. Gilfillan is a director of the Pcnn Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Companj' of West Ches- 
ter, and the National bank of Coatesville, 
and has acted as administrator during the 
last twenty years, in settling up many large 
estates. He is a member of the Presbyte- 
rian church of Coatesville; Skerrett Lodge. 
No. 343. Free and Accepted Miisons of 
Cochransville; and Hebron Lodge, No. 437, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is 
also a Royal Arch Mason, and the repre- 
sentative of Skerrett Lodge to the Masonic 
(trand Lodge of Pennsylvania. The Coates- 
ville Umnery plant of Mr. Gilfillan was en- 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISIOBY 



tablished in 1830, by a Mr. Temple. The 
main buildings are two in number, with a 
large tan yard in cover between them. He 
employes four skilled workmen, and is ex- 
tensively engaged in the manufacture of all 
kinds of leather, except 'sole leather, which 
however, he keeps in stock. Altogether a 
self-made man, in the truest sense of the 
word, he has slowly but steadily pushed on- 
ward in the busy world, and his labors, in 
his own particular line of business, have 
been crowned with marked success. ' 



-pOBERT C. KELTON, the founder of 
▼^ the thriving village of Kelton and one 
of the older and most highly respected citi- 
zens of Penn township, is a son of Capt. 
John M. and Elizabeth (Correy) Kelton, and 
was born at West Grove, London Grove 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
November 3, 1819. He spent his boyhood 
years on the farm, attended the public and 
private schools of his neighborhood, and 
upon attaining his majority, engaged in 
farming in London Grove townshija, which 
he followed but one year. He then went to 
Wilmington, Delaware, where he was in 
the grocery business for four years. At the 
end of that time, in 1859, he came to the 
site of the present station of Kelton, which 
bears his name, and is forty-three miles 
south of Philadelphia on the Philadelphia 
& Baltimore Central railroad. He has been 
station ageut there for thirty-live years, and 
was the iirst postmaster of the place, serv- 
ing from 1874 to 1889. He has a good farm 
of seventy acres, and in connection with 
farming owns a warehouse, which was built 
on his land in 1868. He has been active 
and industrious throughout his life, and has 
seen Kelton grow from a single log hut to a 



small village of good buildings and enjoy- 
ing such a present amount of business as to 
warrant it size and prosperity in the future. 
Mr. Kelton was formerly a democrat, but is 
now a republican in politics. His patriot- 
ism was attested in 1863, when he enlisted 
in the Pennsylvania militia and served in 
defending the State against Lee's second 
northern invasion. He is a member of 
New London Presbyterian church and was 
a trustee of New London church while re- 
siding near it. Mr. Kelton has always been 
faithful to every trust reposed in him and 
has lived such a life as to honor his church 
and reflect credit on the old and honest 
Scotch Kelton family from which he is de- 
scended. 

On March 21, 1848, Mr. Kelton married 
Martha E. Nelson, a daughter of William 
Nelson, of Penn township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. To their union have been 
born five children : Mary and May, who 
died in childhood ; William, a farmer of 
New Garden township, who married Anna 
Brown, of New Garden township; John, 
married Elizabeth Bari-ett, of Arlington, 
Illinois, and is now engaged in farming in 
South Dakota; and Ellie, manager of the 
telegraph office at Kelton. 

Robert C. Kelton is a lineal descendant 
of James Kelton, who was born in Scotland 
in 1695, and came from the north of Ireland 
to Chester county in the early part of the 
last century. He purchased five, hundred 
acres of land near West Grove, built a 
house which is still standing, and was a 
Jefiersonian democrat in politics. He died 
in 1781, aged eighty-six years. After the 
death of his first wife Margaretta, he mar- 
ried Mary Hackett, of Loudon Grove town- 
ship, daughter of James Hackett, by whom 
he had two children: Hon. James, jr., and 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



806 



Margaret, wife of James Menongh. Hon. 
James Kelton, jr. (grandfather), was one of 
the prominent men of liis day in eastern 
Penn.sylvania. lie was born in 1776; was 
sheriti" for tiiree years, served ten years in 
tlie assembly and four in the 8tate senate, 
and died I^ovember 25, 1844, aged sixty- 
eight years. He was the first postmaster of 
West Grove, serving as such for twenty 
years, and acted for a long time as a stock- 
holder of the first stage route in the 
United States, and which was between 
Philadelphia and Baltimore. He was a 
democrat and a Pre8l)yterian, and on Feb- 
ruary 7, 1793, married Agnes Mackey, who 
was a daughter of David Mackey, and died 
May 16, 1823. Tlieir children were: David, 
Capt. John M., .James, Mary Jackson, Rob- 
ert, Joseph, Agnes Lambson, Margaretta, 
George, Julia, and Rachel McCienahan. 
Capt. Jolin M. Kelton ( father) was born 
February 1, 1795, and died December 10, 
1886, when in the ninety-second year of his 
age. He was both prominent and useful as 
a man and a citizen. He was a republican 
and a Presbyterian. He served as justice of 
the peace for forty years; was director of 
the poor for eleven years ; and was one of 
the founders of Lincoln (then Ashton) uni- 
versity, and a promoter of tiie building of 
the Piiiladelpbia & Baltimore Central rail- 
road. John M. Kelton organized and was 
commissioned captain of a company during 
the war of 1812, but it was never called 
into active service. Captain Kelton, on De- 
cember 10, 1818, nuirried Elizabeth Correy, 
who died August 7, 1872, in her seventy- 
ninth year. To their union was born two 
children : Uobcrt C, whose name apjiears 
at the head of this sketcli. and Ellen, wife 
of James Mackey, who resides at Avondalr, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. 



.TAMES C. SELLERS, a graduate of 
Yale college, and a prominent lawyer 
of Philadelphia and West Chester, who has 
been in active and successful practice since 
the centennial year, is the only son of James 
and Emmelinc B. (Smith) Sellers, and was 
born May 4, 1854, at South Orange, New 
Jersey. The Sellers are descended from 
old English Quaker stock, the family hav- 
ing been planted in America by Samuel 
Sellers, a weaver, who came over from Der- 
byshire, England, in one of the vessels that 
crossed the Atlantic with "William Penn in 
1682. He took up one liumlred acres of 
land, and established himself in the weav- 
ing business, in Darby, then Chester, now 
Delaware county. From him the now num- 
erous Sellers family of this State have de- 
scended. The first in America to weave 
wire into sieves and screens was his grand- 
son, John Sellers (1728 to 1804), who be- 
came distinguished for his mechanical in- 
genuity, was a member of the American 
Philosophical society, and occupied several 
important official places, being a member 
of the Provincial assembly from 1767 to 
1771, of the Constitutional Convention of 
1789, and of the State senate in 1790. 

James Sellers, paternal grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, and a graiulson 
of the John Sellers above mentioned, was a 
native of Delaware County, this State, but 
removed to the city of Philadelphia, where 
he engaged in the wire weaving business 
and became an inventor of considerable 
note. He was a memlter of the Society of 
Friends — as were all the Sellers — and mar- 
ried Elizabetli Cad wallader, of Bucks county, 
by wliom lie had a family of fourteen chil- 
dren. One of these was James Sellers 
(father), who was born in Philadelphia in 
1H2:'>. He received a liiieral education. 



BIOGRAPHY AND MJSIORY 



studied medicine in the university of Penn- 
sylvania and at the college of physicians 
and surgeons in New York, and after grad- 
uation located at South Orange, New Jer- 
sey, where he died in 1854, when but thirty 
years of age. He was a man of strong 
anti-slavery proclivities, and a firm friend 
of the negro race. He married Emmeline 
B. Smith, a daughter of Captain John 
Holly Smith, and by this marriage had an 
only son, James C. Captain Smith (ma- 
ternal grandfather) was a native of Stam- 
ford, Connecticut, and served for a number 
of years as captain in the regular United 
States navy. His wife, Louisa Ireland, be- 
longed to the old New York family of that 
name. 

James C. Sellers received his early edu- 
cation in the West Chester academy, where 
he proved himself an apt pupil and an 
earnest student. After leaving this school 
he entered Yale college, from which he was 
graduated with honors in the class of 1874. 
He then began the study of law in the 
office of Henry Wharton, Philadelphia, was 
admitted to the bar in December, 1876, and 
has been actively engaged in the practice 
of his profession ever since, principally in 
the city of Philadelphia, though he also 
practices at the West Chester bar. As a 
lawyer he is distinguished for the thorough- 
ness with which he works up his cases, and 
the ability he displays in handling them in 
court. 

On April 25, 1878, Mr. Sellers was mar- 
ried to Elma A. Townsend, a daughter of 
Hon. Washington Townsend, of the borough 
of West Chester. She died April 5, 1881, 
leaving one son, James C, jr., and on June 
18, 1889, Mr. Sellers wedded Eleanor C. 
Barber, daughter of William E. Barber, 
deceased, of West Chester, and by this 



second marriage has one child, a daughter 
named Marie. He resides in West Chester, 
having his law office in Philadelphia. 

Politically Mr. Sellers is an ardent repub- 
lican, taking an active interest in the spread 
of those principles and the triumph of 
that policy which distinguishes the party of 
his choice. He is in frequent demand for 
the stump, has served as president of the 
Young Men's Republican club of West 
Chester, but has never been a candidate for 
public office. He has long been connected 
with the Episcopal church, and is serving 
as a member and secretary of the vestry of 
his church, being also superintendent of the 
Sunday school, and secretary and treasurer 
of the convocation of Chester. For a num- 
ber of years he has been assistant secretary 
of the convention of the diocese of Penn- 
sylvania, and a member of the Executive 
Board of the Sunday school association of 
the diocese of Pennsylvania. He is also 
connected with the local council of the 
Brotherhood of St. Andrew, and a member 
of its executive committee, and is one of 
the trustees of the Advancement society of 
Pennsylvania. In every relation of life Mr. 
Sellers has sustained a high character, and 
has won an enviable standing in his pro- 
fession, and as a useful and influential citi- 
zen. He is an aflable gentleman, of pleas- 
ing address, and very popular wherever 
known. 

~EhLiI UKNEK, the well-known farmer 
and business man of Pughtown, and a 
representative of one of the oldest families 
in this State, is the eldest child and only 
son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Halderman) 
Urner, and was born in Warwick township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, June 27, 
1821. He was reared on his father's farm 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



am 



and educated in the public schools of his 
neighborhood. After leaving home he en- 
gaged in the butchering business some live 
or six years, and then became a stock dealer 
and drover. He was and is yet an expert 
judge of good stock. He then purchased a 
farm in Warwick, and spent another ten 
years in agricultural pursuits in that town- 
ship, after which he removed to South 
Coventry township. Here he farmed for a 
year or two and then once more engaged in 
the butchering business, in which he con- 
tinued for fifteen years. In 1889 he pur- 
chased a farm (the old homestead) of two 
hundred and twelve acres in Warwick town- 
ship, and again gave his attention to the 
cultivation of the soil. In 1881 he moved 
into Bucktown, where he now resides. 
Politically he is an ardent republican, taking 
an active interest in all public questions and 
attending nearly all the conventions and 
public meetings of his party. He is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
During the civil war he was connected with 
the quartermaster's department for two or 
three years. He is an intelligent, affable 
gentleman, and a popular and highly es- 
teemed member of his community. 

On September 19, 1842, Mr. Truer was 
united in marriage with Sarah Richards, a 
daughter of Samuel Richards, of Warwick 
township, this county, and to them was born 
a family of seven children wlio lived to 
reach maturity: Oliver N., who married 
Sarah Murphy, and now resides at Norris- 
town, this State, where he is serving as jus- 
tice of the peace; John, now deceased; 
Hannah E., wedded Lewis Burgoyne, a 
farmer of South Coventry townsliip, this 
county ; Allen, married Deborah Shick, re- 
sides at "The Buck," and is agent for the 
Mount Penn Stove works of Reading, Penn- 



sylvania; Filmore, who wedded Anna Fred- 
erick and lives in South Coventry township, 
where he is engaged in farming; Webster, 
who married Millie Bradford, and resides 
at Spring City, proprietor of the^Hoosier 
Manufacturing Company, at Royer's Ford, 
Montgomery county, and Mary A., deceased. 
The Unier family is of Swiss descent, 
coming originally from the canton of Uri, 
Switzerland — whence the name. (See 
Schiller's poem entitled " Wilhelm Tell.") 
Three brothers, John, Martin and Jacob, 
sons of Uriah Urner, were driven from their 
homes in the Swiss valleys by religious per- 
secutions, and settled for a time in the prov- 
ince of Alsace, now comprised in the Ger- 
man empire, but later — some time between 
1708 and 1712 — came to America and set- 
tled in Chester county, Pennsylvania. John 
Urner died unmarried in 1743, and was 
the first person buried in the Brethren 
graveyard of Coventry. Martin Urner and 
his wife were two of the first six persons 
ever baptized by the Brethren in this 
country, this rite being performed in the 
Wissahickon, at Philadelphia, in 1723. In 
1724 he removed to Coventry, this county, 
where he organized the Coventry church of 
the Brethren, over which he presided ae 
preacher andibishop until the time of his 
death in 175.5. and in the cemetery of which 
his remains now sleep. His descendants 
are now found in various parts of Vir- 
ginia, Missouri and New York. The third 
brother, Jacob, settled originally in Potts- 
grove township, near Ringing Hill, Mont- 
gomery county. He died in 1744, leaving 
a wife, Ann, and three children : Elizabetli, 
who married Jacob Frick ; Hester, who be- 
came the wife of Ulrich Switzer; and Mar- 
tin, who wedded Barbara Switzer, and 
became the second preacher and bishop of 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



the Brethren's church at Coventry, which 
he served as such from 1755 to 1799. At 
his death he left four children : Martin, 
grandfather of Eli Urner; Jonas; Mary, 
who married David Reinhart, of Maryland ; 
and Elizabeth, who became the wife of Abra- 
ham Titlow, of Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania. Martin Urner (grandfather) was 
born in Coventry township, Chester county, 
in 1762, and died in North Coventry town- 
ship in 1838, aged seventy-six years. He 
was a farmer by vocation, an old-line whig 
in politics, a member of the German Bap- 
tist church, and married Barbara Baugh,by 
whom he had four sons: John, Daniel, 
Israel and Jacob, all of whom are now de- 
ceased. John, the eldest, was born in 1784 
and died in 1827. lie was twice married, 
tirst to Susannah Grubb, who died without 
issue, and later to Elizabeth Grubb, by 
whom he had two cliildren : Lydia, who 
married Gilbert Brower; and Isaac N. 
Jacob Urner (father) was born in Coventry 
township in the initial year of this century, 
and lived there until 1828, when with his 
familj' he moved to Warwick township, 
dying February 16, 1868, in his sixty-eighth 
year. He also was a farmer, and devoted 
his life principally to agricultural pursuits, 
in which he was very succe^s-ful. In both 
religion and politics he followed the tradi- 
tions of his family, and was a staiich whig 
and republican, and a member of the Ger- 
man Baptist or Dunkard church. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Ilalderman in 1820, and was 
the father of three children, one son and 
two daughters: Eli, the subject of this 
sketch ; Hannah B., who married Lewis C. 
Templin, and now resides in Warwick town- 
ship ; and Elizabeth, the wife of J. L.Wells, 
of Warwick township. The daughters were 
educated at Kimberton's seminary. 



Among the descendants of the other sons 
of Bishop Martin Urner was Milton G. 
Urner, a member from Virginia of the 
forty-sixth and forty-seventh congresses of 
the United States; and Isaac jST. Urner, LL. 
D., a graduate from Dickinson college, who 
was president of the Mississippi Baptist 
college from 1851 to 1867. 



QEORGE W. LANDIS, a successful 
business man of Pottstown Landing, 
and one of the progressive farmers of Ches- 
ter county, is the eldest of the two sons of 
David and Catharine (Latshaw) Landis, 
and was born near Boyertown, Berks county, 
Pennsylvania, July 13, 1832. He was 
principally reared in North Coventry town- 
ship, this county, and received his education 
in the public schools there and in Samuel 
Aaron's boarding school at Norristown. 
After leaving school he learned the trade of 
coachmaker with Isaac Heistand, near 
Phoenixville, but followed it only one year. 
In 1854 he embarked in the mercantile 
business at Madisonville and Pottstown 
Landing, and soon drifted into the coal and 
lumber business also at the latter place, in 
connection with the store. This combined 
enterprise he successfully continued until 
about 1866, when he disposed of it and went 
to North Carolina, where he engaged with 
several others in the manufacture of lumber 
in connection with a grist mill and general 
store, on the Pantego river, in Beaufort 
county. After conducting these mills for a 
year and a half an opportunity was aftbrded 
to dispose of them, which was done. Re- 
turning to Pennsylvania he was again, for 
a period of three years, in the coal and 
lumber business at Pottstown Landing. In 
1868 he was made superintendent of teams 



OF CHESIER COUNTY. 



309 



for the Scluiylkill Navigation Oompauy, 
which position he tilled until this company 
sold out to the Philadelphia & Reading 
Railroad Company, in 1870, when he he- 
came and remained superintendent for the 
latter company until 1876. (Since the latter 
year he has heen purchasing the mules, feed 
and other like supplies for the canal and 
railroad company, as well as for the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Coal and Iron Company. 
Mr. Laudis also owns and operates a tine 
farm of one hundred and eighty-two acres 
of highly productive land in Xorth Coven- 
try township. In his political affiliations 
lie has always been a republican, and served 
as justice of the peace from 1865 to 1870. 
The following year he was again re-elected, 
hut resigned the position in 1874, and de- 
clined to serve longer. In religion he fol- 
lows the footsteps of his ancestors, and is a 
member of the Menuonite church. 

On December 22, 1853, Mr. Landis was 
married to Hannah L. Funk, a daughter of 
John Funk, of East Coventry township, 
Chester county. To Mr. and Mrs. Landis 
were born two children, one son and a 
daughter. The sou, John D. F., was born 
June 29, 1859, and on October 14, 1886, 
wedded Florence M. Swindells, a daugh- 
ter of Rev. W. Swindells, D. D. He is 
now chief clerk in the office of the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Railroad Company, and 
resides at Trovose, Bucks county. The 
daughter is Susanna F.. now living at home 
with her parents. 

David Landis (father) was also a native 
of Berks county, born near Boyertown 
May 15, 1804. In that county he passed 
his life, principally engaged in the tannery 
business, thougli he owned and successfully 
managed a tine farm. He was a man of en- 
ergy ami good business ability, lived an ac- 



tive and useful life, and passed away on 
October 4, 1839, at the early age of thirty- 
five years. Almost in boyhood he embraced 
the political doctrines of the old whig party, 
and remained an ardent supporter of that 
organization all his life. In religious faith 
he was a Menuonite and an active member 
of that church. April 21, 1831, he married 
Catharine Latshaw, a daughter of John 
Latshaw, of this county, and to this union 
were born two sons, George W.,the subject 
of this sketch, ami Rev. John L., who now 
resides at Cape May, Xew Jersey, where he 
is engaged in pastoral work as a minister 
of the Presbyterian church. The latter 
was educated at CoUegeville, and early 
adopted the gospel ministry as his chosen 
life work. He married Florence Miles, of 
Potter county, Pennsylvania. Three years 
after the death of David Landis, April 28, 
1842, Mrs. Catharine Landis married Rudolph 
Reiti', who died January 12, 1884, aged sev- 
enty-six, having been i)oru April 3, 1808. 
She now lives at Pottstown Landing, having 
reached the eighty-second year of her age 
in Jaimary last. 

The maternal grandfather of George W. 
Landis, John Latshaw, was a native of 
Chester Springs, this county, born March 
26, 1785. He purchased a large farm near 
Chester Springs, where he was engaged in 
farming. For a time he lived near Pott-s- 
town Landing, retired, but returned to Ches- 
ter Springs, where he died May 13, 1860, 
aged seventy-five years. He was a whig 
and repuiilican in politics, and a member of 
tiie Menuonite church, in which he was 
trustee for many years. He married Susan 
High, and reared a family of two sons and 
six daughters, the eldest of whom became 
the wife of David Landis, and the mother 
of George W. The others were : Madeline, 



310 



BIOOMAPBY AND mSTORY 



married John McCnrdy, a farmer, justice of 
the peace, surveyor, and real estate dealer 
(now deceased), and now lives in Tredyffrin 
township, this county ; Susan, who wedded 
Rudolph Harley, a retired farmer of Cairo, 
Illinois; Jacob B., deceased; Elizabeth, 
married Isaac Heistand, and they are both 
BOW deceased ; Mary, wedded Israel Beidler, 
a Mennonite minister (now dead), and lives 
in Cleveland, Ohio ; John, a farmer of West 
Pikeland township, who married Elizabeth 
Jones; and Sarah, who wedded Horatio 
Adams, a machinist, residing in the city of 
Philadelphia. 



HARM AN PRIZER, one of the enter- 
prising and successful citizens of East 
Coventry, and a gentleman widely known 
among the business men of this section 
of the old Keystone State, is the fourth 
child and only son of Henrj' and Elizabeth 
(Diffendaft'er) Prizer. He was born on the 
old homestead in East Coventry township, 
this county, ITovember 5, 1832, and educated 
in the public schools there. After attaining 
manhood he was engaged for a time in op- 
erating the home farm, on which G. W. 
Shantz now resides, and has devoted his 
whole life to agricultural and kindred pur- 
suits. In 1862 he purchased the Heister 
property, and owns one of the most desir- 
able farms in this locality, containing one 
hundred and twenty acres of choice land, 
nearly all improved. He keeps a number 
of fine cows and is engaged to some extent 
in shipping milk to Philadelphia, besides 
which he was a stockholder and director in 
the East Coventry — now "Elgin" — cream- 
ery, having been among the earliest pro- 
moters of that enterprise, and oflicially con- 
nected therewith since its organization in 



the spring of 1883. Mr. Prizer is also a 
stockholder and director in the Citizen's 
National bank of Pottstown, and has held 
that relation since the organization of the 
bank in March, 1892. In his political affil- 
iations he is a republican, though an ardent 
temperance advocate, and has been school 
director three terms and also served as 
town clerk, and made the first and second 
military enrolln)ents in East Coventry 
township. He is now a member of Brown- 
back's German Reformed church and super- 
intendent of the Sabbath school, though 
formerly connected with New Bethel Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, in which he served as 
trustee. 

On October 28, 1855, Mr. Prizer was 
united in marriage to Mary A. Wanger, a 
daughter of Abraham and Mai-y (Bergey) 
Wanger, of North Coventry township, 
Chester county. This union was blessed by 
a family of eleven children, six sons and 
five daughters: L. Ella, born 1856, mar- 
ried John Buckwalter, who resides at 
Kenilworth, and a sketch of whose life ap- 
pears on another page of this book ; H. 
Clifton, born October 5, 1857, married Mary 
Guest, and is a prosperous farmer of South 
Coventry township ; Flora K., born Febru- 
ary 19, 1859, wedded John Schlichter,whose 
biography will b^ found elsewhere in this 
volume; William W., born September 15, 
1860, and died in infancy ; William A., born 
September 10, 1861, married Anna R. Hall- 
man, and now resides near Staufter's shops 
in East Coventry township, where he is en- 
gaged in farming; G. Milton, born July 19, 
1863, wedded Emma High and farms at 
home; Anna L., born June 15, 1865, who 
became the wife of Addison Miller, now re- 
siding at Sheeder; Rose M., born March 
29, 1868, and died at the age of four 




, @4^ 



nem ^^ume\ 



Mfneu. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



31S 



vears and one month ; N. Bella, horn Au- 
gust 29, 1869 ; F. Newton, born February 
6, 1874 ; and Irvin W., who died in iiitaiicy. 
For a detailed statement of the ancestral 
history of the Prizer family, see the sketch 
iif Henry Prizer, father of Ilarman Prizer, 
whieb appears elsewhere in this work. 



nAONEW FUTHEY is a representa- 
tive of one of tlie oldest families of 
(^hester county, who has the distinction of 
liaviiig been the tirst school superintendent 
of the county, and was for many years con- 
nected with lier l)anking interests. He was 
long an active, intelligent and successful 
man of affairs, hut for some years has becu 
living in retirement at his elegant home in 
i'arkesburg. He is the eldest son of Saiu- 
uel and Ann (Parkinson) Futhey, and was 
born September 2, 1824, in what was then 
West Fallowfield, but is now Highland 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania. 
Tiie Futhcys are of original Scotch descent, 
but the American branch is of Scotch-Irish 
parentage. Their home in the seventeeth 
century was near Arbroath, on the eastern 
coast of Scotland, whei'c they owned lands 
liearing the same name. The family was 
prominent and influential, two of its mem- 
bers — Ale.xanderand Henry — beiiigin par- 
liament during the reign of Charles II., 
while others tilled positions of honor and 
trust. Robert Futhey emigrated from Scot- 
land to the north of Ireland in tlie latter 
part of the seventeenth century, and his 
son, also named Robert, came from Ireland 
to America between 1725 and 1730, and 
settled in tlie soutiiern part of Chester 
county, Pennsylvania. He died soon after 
his arrival, leaving four children — Robert, 

2U 



Samuel, Margery and Henry — from whom 
have descended the numerous Futhey 
family now scattered in all parts of the 
United States. Robert removed to tlie 
Cumberland valley about 1770, and his de- 
scendants can be found throughout western 
Pennsylvania and in some of the southern 
and western States. Henry removed to the 
western part of North Carolina, and has de- 
scendants in both the Carolinas. Samuel, 
who was born in 1725, remained in Ches- 
ter county, where he became promineut 
and took an active part in aiding the 
American cause during the revolution. In 
January, 1750, he married Ruth Steele, 
of New London township, and in 1763- 
purchased and removed to a farm of 
two hundred acres in West Fallow- 
field (now Highland) township. He died 
January 27, 1790, and was buried in the 
family burying ground at New London. At 
his death he left two survivingchildren, Ann 
and Samuel. Samuel's brother, Robert 
Futhey, served in the American army dur- 
ing the revolution, and died soon afterward 
from exposure while in the service. Ann 
Futhe}' married Samuel Dale, who became 
an influential citizen of the Buffalo valley, 
an<l served in the house of representatives 
of Pennsylvania ten years and in tlie State 
senate six years. Samuel Futhey (2) (grand- 
father) had considerable taste for military 
life, and served five campaigns in the revo^ 
lutionary war. In 1794 he was adjutant 
of a regiment of cavalry that took part in 
suppressing the whisky insurrection in 
western Pennsylvania. He subsequently 
filled the office of brigade inspector for 
seven years, with the rank of major, by 
which title he was ever afterward addressed. 
He was a member of the Presbyterian 
church and an old-line whig in politics. In 



314 



BIOORAPHY AND SISTORY 



1782 lie married Margaret McPlierson, who 
died in 1784, and in 1788 lie wedded Martha 
Smith. Major Futhey died February 22, 
1812, leaving five children : Robert, Jane, 
Sarah, Samuel and John S. Robert Futhey 
was born January 21, 1789, served in the 
war of 1812, was a member of the Pennsyl- 
vania legislature in 1841-42, and died July 
29, 1870. Ho married Margaret Parkinson, 
of Carlisle, this State, and at his death left 
live children : J. Smith, James L., Martha, 
Elizabeth J. and Robert. His eldest son, 
Judge J. Smith Futliey (now deceased), was 
one of the authors of the history of Chester 
county, published by Louis H. Evarts, at 
Philadelphia, in 1881, and for a number of 
years president judge of the courts of Ches- 
ter county. John S. Futhey, the Major's 
youngest son, was born December 20,1796. 
He resided for many years in Wrightsville, 
York county, and during his later life in 
West Chester, where he died August 18, 
1867. He married Juliann Heintzelman, a 
sister of the late Gen. Samuel P. Heintzel- 
man, but left no descendants. Samuel 
Futhey (3) (father) was born February 2, 
1794, in what was then West Fallowfield 
township, this county, and was a prosperous 
farmer there until his death, March 29,1855, 
at tVie advanced age of sixty-two years. He 
owned and occupied the old homestead, was 
a member of the Upper Octoraro Presby- 
terian church, a whig in politics, and a great 
admirer of Henry Clay. By his marriage 
to Ann Parkinson — who was a sister of his 
brother Robert's wife — he had a family of 
three children : Robert Agnew, the subject 
of this sketch ; Mary A. ; and Samuel Dale. 
Mrs. Futhey was a native of Cumberland 
county, this State, a devoted member of the 
Presbyterian church, and died April 27, 
1871, in the seventy-fourth year of her age. 



Robert Agnew Futhey was reared on the 
old homestead in Highland township, pur- 
suing his primary studies in the common 
scliools and receiving his academic educa- 
tion at New London and Unionville acad- 
emies. After leaving school he engaged in 
teaching, and was assistant teacher under 
Prof. Myers at the old West Chester acad- 
emy until 1854, when he was elected county 
superintendent of public schools, being the 
first superintendent ever elected in Chester 
county. He held his position three years, 
during which time his father died, and at 
the expiration of his term of office he re- 
turned to the old homestead and took charge 
of the farm. He continued to be occupied 
in agricultural pursuits until 1868, when he 
removed to the vicinity of Parkesburg. In 
the following year was organized the private 
banking house of Parke, Smith & Co., at 
Parkesburg, and Mr. Futhey accepted a 
position as clerk in that institution. He 
served for one year in that capacity and was 
then made cashier, in which position he re- 
mained until 1883, when he retired from ac- 
tive business. In 1870 he moved . into 
Parkesburg, where he lias one of the hand- 
somest and most finely appointed residences 
in the borough. 

In December, 1855, Mr. Futhey was 
united in marriage to Sarah P. Taylor, a 
daughter of Jacob Taylor, of this county. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian church 
and a stanch republican in politics. Many 
times he has been called on to fill local of- 
fices, and has served as burgess of Parkes- 
burg, school director, and member of the 
borough council. He is a worthy represen- 
tative of a worthy family, and is passing 
his declining years surrounded by comfort 
and luxury, and enjoying the respect and 
esteem of a wide circle of steadfast friends. 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



815 



TSAAC R. HALDERMAN, one of the 

old and lioiiored citizens of North Cov- 
entry township, residing near Pottetown, is 
the eldest son of John and Rebecca (Rein- 
hart) llaldermau, and was born January 2, 
1828, in Nortli Coventry township, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, where he has always 
resided. He was reared on the farm, edu- 
cated in the common schools, and has divi- 
ded liis attention between farming and mill- 
ing, being successful in both occupations. 
He now owns two hundred and live acres 
of valuable improved land in that township, 
and also owns and operates a grist mill and 
saw mill on pigeon creek — the same mill 
erected by his father about 1814, and the 
first ever built on this creek. 

Isaac R. Haldernian has been twice wed- 
ded. His tirst wife was Magaret Sabold, 
wliom he married on Christmas day, 1855, 
and by whom he had three children — one 
son and two daughters : Valeria, born Oc- 
tober 21, 1856, and died May 1, 1859 ; John 
H., a sketch of whom will be found on an- 
other page of this work ; and Arabella, born 
April 14, 1860, and passed away November 
16, 1861. Mrs. Halderman died April 7, 
1852, aged thirty-one years, and on March 
24, 1864, Mr. Halderman wedded Hannah 
Keini, who was born April 19, 1831, and is 
a daughter of Samuel Keim, of Warwick 
township, Chester county. By this mar- 
riage Mr. Halderman had two sons and a 
daughter : Wilmar K., born July 20, 1865 ; 
Alice K., l)orn December 17, 1868, gradu- 
ated in June, 1892, from the Normal school 
at Kutztown, and is now engaged in teach- 
ing; and Maurice S., born March 18, 1877. 
The Halderman family is of German de- 
scent and is an old family in Pennsylvania, 
having been resident liere for many genera- 
tions. The paternal grandfather of the sub- 



ject of this sketch, Samuel Halderman, was 
a native of Berks county, this State, where 
he died at the early age of twenty-eight 
years. He was a democrat in politics, a 
farmer by occupation, and married Magda- 
lena Wanger, by wliom he had two chil- 
dren, who lived to maturity: John W., and 
Susan, who nuirried John Rinehart. John 
W. Halderman (father ), was born on the olil 
'• Felix farm "" in Berks county, on January 3, 
1799, and after his father's death, when only 
six or eight years of age, came to Ches- 
ter county with his motlier, and was reared 
in North Coventry township. There he 
passed the remainder of his life, dying Feb- 
ruary 18, 1880, in the eighty-first year of 
his age. He was by turns, a farmer, shoe- 
maker, and miller, and in 1814 erected the 
first mill ever built on Pigeon creek, which 
he successfully conducted for a number of 
years. In politics he was a democrat. He 
married Rebecca Rinehart, a daughter of 
Abraham Rinehart, of East Coventry, Ches- 
ter county, and had a family of six chil- 
dren : Isaac R., the subject of this sketch : 
Nathan R., deceased; William R., born 
November 25, 1829, and died January 8. 
1845; Ann Amelia, born July 17, 1831, 
and died August 21, 1855 ; Catharine, born 
August 31, 1833, and died September 1, 
1856 ; and Valeria, who was born .March 
28, 1835. Mrs. Rebecca (Rinehart) Hal- 
derman was born March 10, 1807, and is 
yet living, being now in the eighty-sixth 
year of her age. 



FRED A. TENCATE, cashier of the 
Pha-nix Iron Company, of Phcenix- 
ville, is a veteran of the civil war 
and ati energetic, useful and prominent 
citizen of Chester county, who is en- 



316 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



titled to rank with the self-made men of 
whom this Commonwealth is justly proud. 
He is a son of John E. and Frances S. (Cal- 
loway) Tencate, and was Ijorn January 3, 
1842, on the isle of Guernsey, Gi'eat Britain. 
His parents were both natives of England, 
but emigrated to America in the summer of 
1852, and located at Phcenixville, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, where they continued 
to reside until called away by death. The 
father died August 17, 1879, aged lifty-niue 
years and eight months. He was a shoe- 
maker by occupation, a member of the Pres- 
byterian church, and a stanch republican in 
politics. Mrs. Tencate died June 27, 1890, 
in the seventy-iirst year of her age. She 
also was a devoted and faithful member of 
the Presbyterian church. 

Fred A. Tencate came to Phcenixville 
with his parents when only ten years old, 
and at that early age began working with 
his father at the shoemaking trade, which 
he followed for three years. He then se- 
cured employment in the rolling mills of 
what is now Phcenix Iron works of this 
town, where he remained until June 6, 1861, 
working through all grades up to a finish- 
ing roller. In 1861, when only nineteen 
years of age, he enlisted in Co. G, Ist Penn- 
sylvania reserve corps, as a private, and at 
Harrison Landing, Virginia, August 4, 1862, 
was promoted to be regimental commissary 
sergeant and servedas such until November, 
1863, when after the Urst advance in the 
Mine Run expedition, he was sent back to 
Washington as disabled and unfit for field 
duty. Up to this time he had never lost 
a day from active duty, and after reaching 
Washington he was assigned to duty as ex- 
ecutive clerk for the board of examining 
surgeons of the Veteran Reserve Corps, 
lie held this position until the expiration of 



his term of enlistment, when he re-enlisted 
as first sergeant, and at the request of the 
board of surgeons was continued as their 
clerk. In October, 1864, he procured a 
furlough and visited Philadelphia, desiring 
to become a citizen of the Pnited States, 
and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln 
in the following November. He was granted 
final naturalization papers October 8, 1864, 
having already done three years and four 
months active military duty, which was in 
the sti'ictest sense the purely voluntary ser- 
vice of an alien. At the request of Mr. 
Tencate he was assigned to duty as chief 
clerk at the military prison at Louisville, 
Kentucky. December 15, 1864, he was com- 
missioned captain of Co. B, 124th colored 
infantry, and while holding that rank served 
in the position of assistant adjutant general 
at Camp Nelson, Kentucky, and also as pro- 
vost marshal and as provost marshal- 
general of the first division, department 
of Kentucky, with headquarters at Lex- 
ington. September 14, 1865, he took 
charge of his regiment and was in command 
until it was mustei'ed out of the service. 
He was discharged October 24, 1865, at 
Louisville, Kentucky, and returning to Penn- 
sylvania was commissioned first lieutenant 
of tiie 5th coloi'ed cavalry. Finding him- 
self physically unfit for work in the rolling 
mills, he accepted the commission and joined 
the regiment at Helena, Arkansas, March 
9, 1866. At the mustering out of the 5th 
colored cavalry he was assigned to duty as 
superintendent of the bureau of refugees at 
Hamburg, Ashley county, Arkansas, and 
served in that capacity until July 9, 1866, 
when he resigned and returned to Phcenix- 
ville to accept the position of assistant cash- 
ier with the Phoenix Iron Company. He 
occupied that place until March, 1879,when 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



817 



on the death of J. B. McAllister, Mr Teii- 
cate was made cashier by the company 
and has acceptably tilled this position ever 
since. 

On January 17, 1866, Mr. Tencate was 
united in marriage to Jennie E. Bradley, a 
daughter of Kev. Joel E. Bradley, of Phoe- 
nixville. To their union has been born a 
family of six children, two sons and four 
daughters : Joel E., Francis J., a graduate 
from the State Normal school at West Ches- 
ter, I'ciinsylvania. and now teaching in the 
grammar department of the public schools 
of I'lia-nixvilie ; Jennie, Mary. Caroline Vi'., 
and one deceased. 

Politically Mr. Tencate is an ardent re- 
publican and an active, untiring worker for 
the success of his party. Pie has been a 
member of the Baptist church since his 
eighteenth year, and is a prominent teacher 
in its Sabbath school. He has also served his 
town as school director and president of the 
town councils, lie is also secretary and 
treasurer of the following enterprises: tlie 
Ph(cnix Pottery; Kaolin and Fire Brick 
Company, and Pluenixville Land and Im- 
provement Company, in tlie latter of which 
he is financially interested. He is a mem- 
ber of Stratford Castle, No. 67, Knights of 
the (iolden Eagle, of whidi he is past noble 
chief. Mr. Tencate has always had a mili- 
tary side to his character, and in 1870. in 
association with (tcii. J. R. Dobson, began the 
present military organization of the Penn- 
sylvania National (iuards i n ( 'hester and Lan- 
caster counties, being ajipointed April 27, 
1870, as second lieutenant of tlie Reeves 
Rifles, of Phd-nixville. On June 80. 1S70. 
lie was promoted to first lieutenant, and 
.Vpril 22, 1871. was made lieutentant-col- 
onel and a.ssistant adjutant general, third 
division of the unifoi ined militia of Cliester 



and Lancaster counties. September 15, 
1873, he was commissioned major of the 
first provisional battalion, third division 
National Guards, and April 4, 1874, was 
promoted to the rank of lieutenant-colonel 
of this battalion. He became colonel of 
the 11th regiment. National Guardsof Penn- 
sylvania, on September 8, 1874, which com- 
mission he resigned February 22, 1877, hav- 
ing served about five years in tlie United 
States service, and nearlj- seven years in the 
State service. He was a charter member of 
Lieut. Josiah White Post, No. 45, Grand 
Army of the Republic, and is now com- 
mander of his i)ost. 



QAPT. BENJAMIN H. SWENEY, an 

honored veteran of the civil war and 
one among the oldest and best known busi- 
ness men of the city of West Chester, is the 
eldest son of John H. and Ann ( Hodgson) 
Sweney, and was born at West Chester, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, on the 10th 
of September, 1829. The paternal great- 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch was 
Thomas Sweney, a resident of Bucks county, 
who was descended from Scotch-Irish stock, 
and served in the revolutionary war, being 
attached for a time to the staff of General 
Washington. He was a farmer by vocation, 
devoted his efforts after the war to winning 
a livelihoo<l from the soil, until the advanc- 
ing infirmities of old age compelled him to 
desist. His son, Thomas Sweney (grand- 
father), was a resident of Chester county, 
making West t'hester liis home after liis 
marriage. He died in West Cluster in 
1856. Mr. Sweney served in the war of 
1812, and died after an active ami laborious 
life of nearh' ciirhtv vears. He i-cai'eil a 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



large family, among whom was John H. 
Sweney (father), who was born in West 
Chester, this county, in 1805, and died here 
March 26, 1881, at the advanced age of 
seventy-six years. He was a tailor by trade, 
and married Ann Hodgson, a daughter of 
Rev. William Hodgson, a Methodist min- 
ister, who came to West Chester in 1812 
from Yorkshire, England, where Mrs. 
Sweney was born July 16, 1806. By this 
marriage John H. Sweney had a family of 
nine children, the eldest being Capt. Ben- 
jamin H. Sweney. 

Captain Sweney was reared in West 
Chester, and received his education in the 
public schools of that borough and atBolinas 
academy. After leaving school he became 
an apprentice to the baker's trade, which he 
thoroughly learned and followed as an oc- 
cupation for a number of years. He then 
engaged in the grocery and provision trade 
at West Chester, and successfully conducted 
that business for a period of fifteen years. 
Later he again opened a bakery in the city, 
and is still engaged in that useful calling. 
His energy and business ability are well 
known and such as would insure a cred- 
itable success in any line of endeavor. 

At the very beginning of the great civil 
war, impelled by that spirit of patriotism 
which moved the people of the ]!Torthern 
States as if touched by the hand of some 
divine magician, Benjamin H. Sweney en- 
listed in his country's service, becoming a 
member of Co. G, 2d Penn.sylvania infantry, 
and on the organization of tlie company was 
elected and commissioned as captain. This 
was the first company raised in Chester 
county. At tiie expiration of their three 
months' term of service. Captain Sweney re- 
enlisted in Co. F, 49th Pennsylvania in- 
fantry, and served as captain of that com- 



pany until November 19, 1863, when this 
regiment was consolidated, and he entered 
the cavalry arm of the service in the 20th 
Pennsylvania cavalry, with which he served 
until the close of the war, being mustered 
out as captain on July 16, 1865. During 
his service with the infantry Captain 
Sweney took part at the head of his com- 
pany in the battles of Williamsburg, the 
Wilderness, Autietam, Fredericksburg, 
White Oak Swamp and Malvern Hill, be- 
sides numerous less important engagements 
and skirmishes. As a member of the cav- 
alry force he was engaged in the battles of 
second Winchester, ISTew Market, Piedmont, 
and Sheridan's raid, and also took part in 
Hunter's raid. He was in the battle at Five 
Forks, and was present at the surrender of 
General Lee at Appomatox. 

On February 22, 1853, Captain Sweney 
married Mary Ingraham, who died Januarj' 
28, 1856, leaving one child, a daughter 
named Hester A., who married William 
Savidge and had one daughter, Mary S. 
Li 1873 he was again married, wedding 
Jane E. Taylor, a daughter of John H. Tay- 
lor, of West Chester. By this second mar- 
riage he has three daughters : Carrie M., 
Sarah T. and Catherine D. 

Politically Captain Sweney has always 
been a republican, and after coming out of 
the army served for some time as deputy 
collector of internal revenue for this dis- 
trict. He and his family are members of 
the Reformed Episcopal church, and liberal 
in their support of all church interests. He 
is a member of General McCall Post, No. 31, 
Grand Army of the Republic, has been 
identified with the Masonic order for over 
thirty-two years, being now a member of 
West Chester Lodge, No. 322, Free and 
Accepted Masons. 



OF CHESTER COVNTY. 



319 



IWTARY SPARKES WHEELER, au 

^ tlior, poet and preacher, was born near 
Tintonabbey,England,Jane21,183.5. When 
six years of apje she came to the United States 
with her parents and settled in Binghaniton, 
New York, where her childhood and youth 
were spent. Bishop Newman, of Washing- 
ton, District of Columbia, speaking of her 
father, represents him as "a man of sturdy 
piety and heroic faith, with robust intellect 
and large culture, whose familiarity with 
great authors, dead and living, enables him 
to give to the world rare books." 

Mrs. Wlieeler holds among her treasures 
an autograph letter received by her father 
from Mr. GhuLstonc, of England, in com- 
mendation of one of his works. Her mother 
was a woman of clear intellect, refined sen- 
sibilities and devoted to her family and her 
church. 

One of Mrs. Wheeler's sisters. Miss Fan- 
nie J. Sparkes, spent twenty years in India 
as a missionary, first as president of a large 
orphanage and boarding school in Bareilly, 
and later founded a home for higli caste 
women in Muttra. 

In childhood Mrs. Wheeler showed great 
fondness for books, nearly always being at 
the head of her classes. Wlien very small 
her teachers took delight in "showing her 
oft'" on all important occasions in mathe- 
mati(^s and astronomy. These studies were 
her especial delight. In composition she 
excelled, and began writing for the press at 
a very early age. In former years she 
wrote more poetry than prose, and is author 
of a volume entitled "Poems for the Fire- 
side," published by Walden & Stowe, Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio. Some of these poems have 
been republished and extensively used by 
elocutionists, especially her "Charge of the 
Uuni Brigade," 



The lamented P. P. Bliss, Profs. Sweeney, 
Kirkpatrick, and others, have set many of 
her poems to music. By request of Prof. 
Sweeney, who composed the music, she wrote 
tlie two well known soldiers' decoration 
hymns, "Peacefully Uest" and "Scatter 
Loves' Beautiful Garlands above Them." 
These are known throughout the nation. 
Previous to her marriage to Rev. Henry 
Wheeler (see liis sketch), which occurred 
April 13, 1858, she was principal of the 
largest school in the city of Binghaniton. 

Never were husband and wife more united 
in heart, in life, and purpose — each a help- 
meet for tlie other. After her marriage, 
for many years her time was given mostly 
to her children, who were in delicate health, 
having inherited frail constitutions. Of the 
seven born to them but three now survive. 

Mrs. Wheeler has an innate love for the 
beautiful — is a lover of art. She has spent 
mucli time with her pencil and brush, and 
has in her possession a diploma awarded her 
for the best crayons and oil paintings at a 
State exhibition. Her home is a bower of 
beauty, decorated largely with the work of 
lier own hands. Her china painting has at- 
tracted much attention by the lovers of art 
in Philadelphia. 

The New York daily Tribune, 'wt August. 
1890, said: "Mrs. Mary Sparkes Wheeler 
is one of the prominent workers at Ocean 
Grove. She is tiie author of three books : 
'The First Decade of the Woman's Foreign 
Missionary Society," 'Modern Cosmogony 
and the Bible,' and 'Poems for the Fire- 
side' — and is an industrious contributor to 
periodical literature. She is president of 
the Philadelphia branch of the Woman's 
Foreign Missionary society of the Metliodist 
Episcopial churcli, and has for ten years hail 
supervision of this work in two States — 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTORY 



Pennsylvania and Delaware. She is also 
National evangelist of the Woman's Chris- 
tian Temperance union, and a member of 
the !N^ational Lecture bureau in Chicago, 
Illinois. Her special delight is in preaching 
and conducting evangelistic services. Here 
she is at her best, and is eminently success- 
ful. She has spoken in many of the largest 
churches in the land, from Boston, east, to 
Lincoln, Nebraska, west. She has also ad- 
dressed large audiences in the open air in 
such summer resorts as Thousand Island 
park and Ocean Grove. She is an eloquent 
and forcible speaker, of medium height, 
dignified in bearing, refined in manner, with 
a clear, strong voice, and never fails to win 
and hold her audiences. When not en- 
gaged in public speaking she is busy with 
her pen, preparing another volume which 
will soon be ready for the press." 



TOILLIAM BR0WER,M.D., a worthy 

descendant of two old and honorable 
families of Chester county, and one of the 
most active public men of Spring City, is 
a man who stands high in the medical 
profession, and enjoys a very extensive 
practice in eastern Chester and western 
Montgomery counties. He is a son of 
Gilbert and Lydia (Urner) Brower, and 
was born in East Coventry township, Ches- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, February 25, 1842. 
The first ancestor of Dr. William Brower 
in this country, on the paternal side, Henry 
Brower, who was born February 14, 1720, 
and died October 14, 1784, came originally 
from Holland about the year 1740, and 
settled along the river Schuylkill, in what 
is now East Coventry township, in Chester 
county. He was a man of considerable 
local prominence, as the early colonial 



records show. He was twice married, hav- 
ing seven children, five sons and two daugh- 
ters. Abraham, the eldest of the five sons, 
born April 1, 1745, and died October 21, 
1805, was the father of ten children, two 
sons and eight daughters. He was a pros- 
perous farmer and an active and consistent 
member of the Mennonite church. Henry 
Brower, one of the two sons, who was born 
September 29, 1785, and died April 23, 
1833, was the grandfather of Dr. William 
Brower, the subject of this biography. 
Henry Brower, grandfather of Dr. Brower, 
had seven children, six sons and one daugh- 
ter. One of these sons, Gilbert Brower 
(father), was born on the old ancestral farm, 
February 5, 1815, and died December 18, 
1890, when well advanced in the seventy- 
sixth year of his age. He was a life-long 
resident of East Coventry township, except- 
ing a few years in earlier life spent in 
Berks county. He was a farmer by occu- 
pation, and a whig and republican in poli- 
tics, and during the early days of the 
agitation of the slavery question was a 
prominent and pronounced abolitionist. An 
early and earnest friend of the temperance 
movement, he strongly sympathized in his 
latter years with every effort looking toward 
the complete prohibition of the liquor 
traffic. 

He was was a useful member of the 
Brethren's church, and married Lydia Ur- 
ner, by whom he had five children, three 
sons and two daughters: Harrison, the 
eldest, who died February 15, 1877; Dr. 
William; Rev. Isaac U. (see his sketch): 
Sallie, who died June 29, 1888; and Eliza- 
beth, who died in early childhood. Dr. 
William Brower, on his maternal side, traces 
his ancestry back six generations, to Ulricli 
Urner, a member of the patriotic, honor- 




'^. ^^^fmffm (^lf/c^me4 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



iible, and celebrated Urner family of Can- 
ton Uri, in Switzerland, whose inluibitants 
were called I'rners, which fact is stated 
in Schiller's " Wilhelni Tell." LTlrich 
Urner was driven out of Switzerland by 
the religious persecution of 1672, and settled 
in the then province of Alsace, France, 
from which his three sons, John, Bishop 
Martin, and Jacob, came to Pennsylvania 
about 1708. John died, unmarried, in 
1743. Bisliop Martin Urner and his wife 
were two of the first six persons baptized 
by the Brethren in America. They were 
baptized in the Wissahickon, at Philadel- 
j)hia, in 1723, and during the next year 
removed to Chester county, where he or- 
ganized the Coventry Brethren church, over 
whicii he presided as preacher and bishop 
until his death in 1755. The third brother, 
Jacob Urner, died in 1744, at an early age, 
in Montgomery county, and left three chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, Hester, and Bishop Mar- 
tin, who purcliased the farm of his uncle, 
the tirst Bishop Urner, and married Barbara 
Switzer. He left four children : Martin, 
Jonas, Mary, and Elizabeth. Martin, the 
eldest son, who was born in 1762, and died 
in 1838, married Barbara Baiigh, and left 
four sons: John, Daniel, Israel, and Jacob. 
John Urner, the eldest son, was l)orn in 
1784, and died in 1827. He married Susan- 
nah Grubb, and after her death wedded 
Elizabeth Grubb, by whom he had two 
children: Isaac N., president of "Missis- 
sippi college" from 1851 to 1867; and 
Lydia, who married Gilbert Brower, and 
was the mother of Dr. William Brower. 
Lydia Brower (mother) was born Decem- 
ber 20, 1818. and died December 28, 1881. 
The boyhood days of William Brower 
were spent on tlie paternal acres. He re- 
ceived his academic education at Oakdale 



andFreeland seminaries, and in 1861 entered 
the Millersville State Normal school, where 
he was in attendance in 1802 and 1863, at 
which time he was a member of the senior 
class. He taught school for six terms, and 
in the spring of 1865 made choice of the 
medical profession as a life vocation. He 
read medicine with Dr. A. R. Savidge, of 
Parker Ford, and entered Jefferson Medical 
college of Philadelphia, from which old 
and well known institution he was grad- 
uated on March 9, 1867. Immediately after 
graduation he came to Spring City, where 
he has been engaged ever since in the active 
and successful practice of his chosen pro- 
fession. He is a member of the Brethren's 
church. On September 18, 1869,Dr.Brower 
was united in marriage witli Sallie M. 
Kendall, daughter of Joseph and Elizal>etli 
Kendall, of Liniield, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania. Dr. and Mrs. Brower have 
one child, a daughter named Blanche. In 
politics Dr. Brower is a prohibitionist, lie 
is an earnest friend of poj)ular education, 
has served continuously for twenty-five 
years as a member of his borough school 
board, and has been largely instrumental in 
building up the public schools of Spring 
City, until the}' are now among tlie best in 
the county, and compare favorably with 
those of any town in the State. He has 
served almost continuously either as presi- 
dent or secretary of the board. A man of 
energy and activity, he lias always taken 
interest and part in every enterprise or 
movement that would benefit his borougii 
or county. He is a director of the National 
bank of Spring City, president of the Spring 
City Foundry association, president of Oak 
Grove Cemetery association, and president of 
the Spring City Building and Loan associ- 
ation. .Such confidence is reposed in him. 



3U 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISIOSY 



and such high opinion entertained of his 
business as well as professional ability, that 
he has been frequently called upon to act as 
administrator and executor in settling up 
estates in his community. Dr. Brower is 
an affable and highly respected gentleman, 
who is well versed in his profession and 
skilled in his practice. He holds high 
standing in his profession, ranks as a repre- 
sentative citizen, and is deservedly popular 
in the county. 



riMOS MICHENEK, secretary of the 
Parkesburg Iron company, is a pros- 
perous business man, an expert accountant, 
and a useful and influential citizen of Ches- 
ter county. He is a son of William and Han- 
nah (Cain ) Michener, and was born August 
5, 1819, in Penn township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. The Micheuers are descend- 
ed from English Quaker stock, the present 
generation tracing their American ancestry 
back to John and Sarah Michener, who came 
over about the time of William Penu, and 
settled ill Philadelphia, where the public 
records bear the name as early as 1686. In 
1715 they removed with their family to 
Abington. Their son, William, married 
Margery Kester, and settled at Plumstead, 
Bucks county. They had ten children, 
among whom was a son named John, who 
married Mary Hayworth and reared a fam- 
ily of nine children, two of whom — Mahlon 
and Arnold — removed to and settled in 
Chester county. Other members of the 
family came afterward, and their descen- 
dants have become very numerous, and are 
now scattered through nearly every State 
in the Union. Joseph Michener (grand- 
father) was born November 19, 1757, mar- 
ried Anna, daughter of Ralph and Anna 



Dunn, by whom he had five children, and 
after her death wedded Rebecca Good, to 
whom were born four children. He settled 
in Chester county about the time of the 
revolution, and owned an extensive farm 
in London Grove township, adjoining the 
West Grove meeting property. He was a 
stanch whig in politics, and a member of 
the Society of Friends. He died August 
10, 1853, lacking only four years of being a 
centenarian. William Michener (father) 
was born and reared on the old homestead 
in West Grove township, and was a farmer 
all his life. He settled in Penn township, 
and became quite prosperous, residing there 
until his death in 1833, at the early age of 
forty-five years. In politics he was a dem- 
ocrat, and in religious faith a Friend, or 
Quaker. He married Hannah Cain, a na- 
tive of New London township, this count}', 
and had a family of eight children. She 
died December 23, 1858, at the advanced 
age of seventy -five years. 

Amos Michener was reared on the farm 
on which he was born, in Penn township, 
this county, and received a good English 
education in the common schools and at 
the New London academy. After leaving 
school he engaged in teaching for a time, 
and later became a book-keeper, being con- 
tinuously employed in his native county, 
except three years, during which he was 
in the employ of an iron firm in Hunting- 
don county. At the end of that time he 
returned to this county, and for ten years 
was book-keeper at the Thorndale Iron 
works. lu 1873 he came to Parkesburg, 
as book-keeper for the Parkesburg Iron 
Company, and since the present organiza- 
tion was effiected, in 1882, he has been sec- 
retary of the company, and is one of the 
stockholders in the concern. He is an ac- 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



896 



curate accountant, and has made a fine 
reputation as a successful business man. 

On Marcli 23, 1848, Mr. Michener was 
married to Elizabeth Town.send, a daughter 
of William Townsend, of Penn township, 
this county. To them was born a family 
of three children, one son and two daugh- 
ters: "William C, Mary A. and Caroline D. 

All the family are strict members of tlie 
Presl)yterian church, and active in support 
of the various interests of tlieir denomina- 
tion. In politics Mr. Michener is an ardent 
republican, and has twice been called to fill 
the ofiice of burgess in Parkesburg. He 
has also served as member of the borough 
council, and, in short, has been connected 
with the local government in some official 
capacity ever since coming to Parkesburg. 
Mr. Michener is also serving as secretary of 
the Parkesburg Building and Loan associa- 
tion, and is treasurer of the Parkesburg 
Iron Works Beneficial association. lie is 
a pleasant, aftable gentleman, and, by his 
energy, industry and ability, has won a 
large measure of success in life, and secured 
the esteem of all who know him. 



fjMlLLIAM W. E^LERY, a leading 
boot and shoe dealer of Spring 
City and the secretary of tlie Spring Cit\- 
Bloom Works Company, is a son of Jacob 
and Anna (Moses) Emery, natives respect- 
ively of East and West Pikeland townships. 
He was born near Kimberton, this county, 
September 2.'), 1862, and received his educa- 
tion in thccomi«on and private schools and 
West Chester State Normal school, whidi 
lie attended for one year. He had taught 
one term previous to entering the West 
Chester Normal school, and after leaving 



that favorably known educational institu- 
tion, was engaged in teaching one year. He 
then, in the spring of 1885, came to Spring 
City, where he embarked in the boot and 
shoe business, in which he has continued 
successfully ever since. His business house 
is located on the corner of Main and Hall 
streets. He carries a first-class stock of 
footwear in all grades and styles, and makes 
specialties of rubber goods, overshoes, slip- 
pers and patent leather and russet leather 
shoes, and t]je celebrated Chandler and Sus- 
sex goods. His salesroom is l.")x3U feet in 
dimensions, and has been well fitted up for 
the display of his large stock of goods. He 
commands a good trade, makes a specialty 
of custom work, and has been successful in 
life as a business man. Mr. Emery is a 
member and elder of the Lutheran church 
of Spring City, of whose Sunday school he is 
assistant superintendent. He is a democrat 
in politics and has served for three years as 
treasurer of his borough. He is a member 
of Spring City Lodge, No. 553, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; and Vincent Lodge, No. 
762, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and Phoenix Encampment, No. 79, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and is past 
officer in last two named. The Spring 
City Bloom Works Company, of which lie 
is secretary, has been in existence since 
1885. Their plant is large and well 
equipped, and their products of charcoal 
blooms for boiler plates and other machine 
shop work are of a superior ipiality. Their 
enterprise is one of importance and the re- 
sults of its establishment at Spring City 
lias been to add largely to the present pros- 
perity of that thriving town. 

The Emery family is of German descent, 
and Mr. Emery's father, Jacob Emery, is a 
native of East Pikeland townsliip, but has 



BIOORAPHY AND SISTORY 



resided and followed farming in West Pike- 
land township since 1863. He wasl boi'u 
March 16, 1833, is a member of Camp No. 
275, Patriotic Order Sons of America, and a 
trustee and deacon of the Evangelical Luth- 
eran church of Spring City. He has always 
been a democrat, is now serving on his 
fourth term as justice of the peace, was 
formerly a collector and director of the 
PhcBnixville Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, and has served for several years as a 
director of the Phcenixville N^ational bank. 
Mr. Emery has settled a large number of 
estates, and is a prominent citizen and active 
business man of the community in which 
he resides. He married Anna, daughter of 
John Moses, a carpenter and farmer of West 
Pikeland township, who has seen his eighty- 
fourth birthday, and is a Jeftersoniau demo- 
crat in politics. They have had seven chil- 
dren: Eugene C, of near Birchruuville, 
who married Anna Ralston ; William W. ; 
Ambrose; Gertrude; John,who died young: 
Alda Irene ; and Clarence K. Jacob Emery 
is a son of Jacob Emery, sr., whose father, 
Philip Emery, came from Germany to Penn- 
sylvania. Jacob Emery, sr., was born near 
Kimberton, in East Pikeland township, 
where he died in 1860. He was a farmer 
and democrat, and served as a justice of the 
peace for several years. He was a Lutheran, 
and married Abigail Sawyer, by whom he 
had six children : Simon, of West Vincent 
township ; Eliza, married Peter E. Deery, 
and is now dead ; Esther, who married John 
McWilliams, and died some years ago; 
Martha, wife of John Yeager ; Jacob, father 
of the subject of this sketch, and Albert, 
now dead. Jacob Emery, sr., was a man of 
integrity and usefulness, and many of his 
descendants are good business men and well 
respected citizens. 



HON. WILLIAM PRESTON SNY- 
DER, M. D., a member of the Penn- 
sylvania house of representatives from 
Chester county, and one of the most ener- 
getic, active and useful citizens of Spring 
City, is the only child of George and Maria 
(Shenkel) Snyder, and was born in East 
Vincent township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 7, 1851. The Snyder family, 
of which Dr. Snyder is a member was 
founded by a Snyder who was a native of 
Germany, and came to the United States at 
some time during the latter part of the last 
century. His son John Snyder (grand- 
father), was a resident for many years of 
Chester county, where he died in East Vin- 
cent township. He followed teaching dur- 
ing the early part of his life and then en- 
gaged in farming, which he followed until 
his death. He was a democrat in politics, 
married and reared a family of children. 
His son, George Snyder (father), was born 
in East Pikeland township, April 21, 1821. 
He was reared and received his education 
in his native township, and then learned the 
trade of stone mason, which he followed for 
some years. At the end of that time he 
engaged in farming and afterward removed 
to Spring City and embarked in the manu- 
facture of brick, which he has followed suc- 
cessfully ever since. He was originally a 
whig, and when that political organization 
went down, identified himself with the 
Republican party, which he has supported 
up to the present time. He is a member of 
the Reformed church, and married Maria 
Shenkel, who is a daughter of Samuel 
Shenkel, of German lineage, who was born 
in 1790 in North Coventry township, and 
died in East Vincent township, March 10, 
1858, aged sixty-eight years. 

William P. Snyder was reared on the 



OF CHESTER COUNTY. 



887 



home farm and received his education in the 
common schools, Millersviile iState Normal 
school, and Ursinus college of Montgomery 
county. Leaving college he taught one 
term in the common schools, and then made 
choice of medicine for a profession. He 
read medicine with Dr. F. W. Heckel, of 
Kast Vincent township, and entered the 
medical department of the University of 
Tennsylvania, from which he was graduated, 
March 18, 1878. Immediately after gradu- 
ation he opened an office at Spring City, 
where he was in active and successful prac- 
tice until 1886. In February of that year 
he became medical examiner or the Schuyl- 
kill division of the Pennsylvania railroad, 
which position he held until December, 
1887, when he resigned to take charge of 
the prothonotary's office of Chester county, 
having been elected prothonotary in Novem- 
ber, 1887. He so conducted the office that 
i)efore the expiration of his term he was 
nominated by the republicans and elected 
as a member of the house of representatives 
of Pennsylvania. On the day of his nomi- 
nation for the legislature he resigned as 
••hairman of the Republican county com- 
mittee, and on November 4, 1890, was elected 
l)y nearly three thousand majority. Dr. 
Snyder served creditably in the ClXth ses- 
sion of the legislature, from January 6 to 
May 28,1891, and was ainember of several 
important committees. He served as post- 
master of Spring City from 1888 to 1885, 
and was a delegate to the Republican State 
conventions which nominated (ieneral Hoyt 
in 1878, and General Beaver in 1882, for 
governor. On tiie 6th of September, 1892, 
he was nominated V)y liis party for State 
senator. 

On September 5, 1876, Dr. Snyder was 
united in marriage with Elizabeth, daughter 



of John Fridy, of Lancaster county, and 
they have one child, Thomas B. Snyder, who 
was born January 16, 1882. 

Dr. Snyder is a stanch republican in poli- 
tics and has always been prominent, useful 
and influential in the councils of his party 
in local and county aitairs. He is a mem- 
ber of Spring City Lodge, No. 553, Free 
and Accepted Masons; Phoenix Chapter, 
No. 198, Royal Arch Masons; and Jerusa- 
lem Comiuandery, No. 15, Xiiights Templar, 
of Phoenixville. Dr. Snyder has always 
been active in the interests of his town and 
county and their development and improve- 
ment. He has been identitied in large 
measure with the material prosperity of 
Spring City, and is never lacking in ettbrt, 
when opportunity is presented, in any en- 
terprise calculated to advance its interests 
or to add to its prosperity. 



TA/ILLIAM J. WAGONER, cashier 
of the Spring City National bank, 
and a member of the stove manufacturing 
tirm of Floyd, Wells & Co., of Royer's 
Ford, Montgomery county, is one of the 
popular and successful business men of the 
county. He is a son of John and Catherine 
(Walters) Wagoner, and was born in East 
Vincent township, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, March 12, 1840. His paternal 
grandfather. John Wagoner, was of Ger- 
man origin, and passed his lite in East Vin- 
cent towiishij), where he died in 1852, aged 
seventy-three years. He lived on a small 
farm which ho cultivated in addition to 
following his trade of stone mason. He 
married Catherine Miller, and reared a fam- 
ily of three children, one son and two 
daughters : Margaret, who married Fred- 
erick Rhodewalt, and died leaving three 



BIOGRAPHY AND HISTOBY 



children, one of whom, Frederick, is a 
farmer of East Pikeland township ; Eliza- 
beth, now dead, who married the late James 
Hause, and one of their children, Davis 
Hause, is the father of Frank Hause, of 
West Chester, whose sketch appears in this 
volume ; and John, the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch. John Wagoner was 
I'eared on the farm and learned the trade of 
shoemaker, which he followed in connection 
with farming. He, like his father before 
him, was a democrat in politics and a mem- 
ber of the Evangelical Lutheran church, of 
which he was a trustee for several years. 
He was a useful citizen, and died March 8, 
1876, when in the sixty-ninth year of his 
age. He married Catherine Walters, a 
daughter of William and Catherine Wal- 
ters. To their union were born four sons, 
and one daughter who died in infancy. 
The sons were : Nathan, now dead, who 
was a member of the firm of Kaler & Wag- 
oner, of Phcenixville ; John F., a stone 
mason a